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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair; Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. Hopkins; Leslie L. Lilley, 

E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; 

Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Mark J. Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

August 2016 through August 2017 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

32:25 July 20, 2016 August 8, 2016 

32:26 August 3, 2016 August 22, 2016 

33:1 August 17, 2016 September 5, 2016 

33:2 August 31, 2016 September 19, 2016 

33:3 September 14, 2016 October 3, 2016 

33:4 September 28, 2016 October 17, 2016 

33:5 October 12, 2016 October 31, 2016 

33:6 October 26, 2016 November 14, 2016 

33:7 November 9, 2016 November 28, 2016 

33:8 November 22, 2016 (Tuesday) December 12, 2016 

33:9 December 7, 2016 December 26, 2016 

33:10 December 19, 2016 (Monday) January 9, 2017 

33:11 January 4, 2017 January 23, 2017 

33:12 January 18, 2017 February 6, 2017 

33:13 February 1, 2017 February 20, 2017 

33:14 February 15, 2017 March 6, 2017 

33:15 March 1, 2017 March 20, 2017 

33:16 March 15, 2017 April 3, 2017 

33:17 March 29, 2017 April 17, 2017 

33:18 April 12, 2017 May 1, 2017 

33:19 April 26, 2017 May 15, 2017 

33:20 May 10, 2017 May 29, 2017 

33:21 May 24, 2017 June 12, 2017 

33:22 June 7, 2017 June 26, 2017 

33:23 June 21, 2017 July 10, 2017 

33:24 July 5, 2017 July 24, 2017 

33:25 July 19, 2017 August 7, 2017 

33:26 August 2, 2017 August 21, 2017 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Greg Huber. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To eliminate the allowance for 

a person to reactivate or reinstate a license by payment of the 

required fee within one renewal cycle. The regulation appears 

to allow a person to let his license lapse and then pay the 

reinstatement fee without meeting the requirements for 

continued competency for renewal of licensure. 

Agency Decision: Request granted. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At its meeting on July 19, 

2016, the board decided to issue a Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action in response to the petition. The board 

recognized that there was some inconsistency between 

regulations for renewal of licensure and those for reactivation 

and reinstatement. The intent is to add the requirement for 

continuing competency for those who reinstate or reactivate 

within one renewal cycle. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-22; Filed July 20, 2016, 9:53 a.m. 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC105-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Optometry. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Joseph Spivey. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Add a requirement for an 

optometrist to provide a patient's pupillary distance as 

measured by the optometrist to the patient upon request. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The board decided to take 

no action on the petition for rulemaking because the 

measurement of pupillary distance is not required for an eye 

examination. Therefore, it would not be appropriate for 

regulations to require an optometrist to furnish the patient's 

pupillary distance upon request by a patient. The pupillary 

distance is part of the fitting for eye glasses and is typically 

performed by an optician. If an optometrist chooses to 

measure pupillary distance as part of an eye examination, 

such information would be part of the medical record, a copy 

of which can be requested by a patient. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-20; Filed July 18, 2016, 12:37 p.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Roger St. Clair. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To authorize use of electronic 

devices in lieu of manual emergency drug kits and stat-drug 

boxes to provide for initiating therapy prior to the receipt of 

ordered drugs from the pharmacy. Current regulation does not 

designate electronic devices being utilized as unit dose 

systems purely for first dose non-routine versus automated 

dispensing devices utilized for full or routine dispensing in 

long term care facilities. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition has been filed with the Registrar of 

Regulations and will be published on August 8, 2016. 

Comment on the petition may be sent by email, regular mail, 

or posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov. Comment will be requested until 

August 31, 2016. Following receipt of all comments on the 

petition to amend regulations, the board will decide whether 

to make any changes to the regulatory language in 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Pharmacy. This matter 

will be on the board's agenda for its meeting scheduled for 

September 7, 2016, and the petitioner will be informed of the 

board's decision after that meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 31, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-32; Filed July 15, 2016, 1:20 p.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Safety and Health Codes Board 

intends to consider amending 16VAC25-50, Boiler and 

Pressure Vessel Regulations. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to provide increased protection of human life and 

property from the unsafe or dangerous construction, 

installation, inspection, operation, and repair of boilers and 

pressure vessels in the Commonwealth of Virginia by 

adopting the most current version of industry standards to 

take advantage of the latest technical advances in safety. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-51.6 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 7, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Ed Hilton, Director, Boiler Safety 

Compliance, Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street 

Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-3169, FAX (804) 371-2324, or email 

ed.hilton@doli.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4679; Filed July 8, 2016, 4:19 p.m.  

 ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Virginia Board for Asbestos, 

Lead, and Home Inspectors has WITHDRAWN the Notice of 

Intended Regulatory Action for 18VAC15-40, Virginia 

Certified Home Inspectors Regulations, which was 

published in 32:1 VA.R. 4 September 7, 2015. As a result of 

legislative changes enacted by Chapters 161 and 436 of the 

2016 Acts of Assembly, the amendments in this action will be 

incorporated into a new regulatory action slated to be 

effective July 1, 2017. This new regulatory action will (i) 

incorporate the language from this regulatory action that 

establishes the new training requirements for new residential 

structure inspections and (ii) include other amendments to 

convert the current voluntary certification program to a 

mandatory licensing program. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Agency Contact: Trisha L. Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (804) 350-5354, or email 

alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4423; Filed July 11, 2016, 4:17 p.m.  

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Optometry has 

WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action for 

18VAC105-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Optometry, which was published in 32:7 VA.R. 1136 

November 30, 2015. The amendments described in the Notice 

of Intended Regulatory Action were included in amendments 

to § 54.1-3219 of the Code of Virginia by Chapter 89 of the 

2016 Acts of Assembly. Therefore, the board can amend 

regulations by an exempt action and withdraw this Notice of 

Intended Regulatory Action. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4508, FAX (804) 

527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4466; Filed July 19, 2016, 1:55 p.m.  

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol32/iss01/v32i01.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol32/iss07/v32i07.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol32/iss07/v32i07.pdf
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1090. Pertaining to Licensing 

Requirements and License Fees (amending 4VAC20-1090-

30).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 30, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 

247-2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to § 28.2-226.2 of the Code of Virginia, the 

amendment separates the five crab pot recreational license 

into two categories, one with a terrapin excluder device 

($36) and one without such device ($46). 

4VAC20-1090-30. License fees. 

The following listing of license fees applies to any person 

who purchases a license for the purposes of harvesting for 

commercial purposes, or fishing for recreational purposes, 

during any calendar year. The fees listed below include a 

$1.00 agent fee. 

1. COMMERCIAL LICENSES 

Commercial Fisherman Registration License $190.00 

Commercial Fisherman Registration License 

for a person 70 years or older $90.00 

Delayed Entry Registration  $190.00 

Delayed Entry Registration License for a 

person 70 years or older  $90.00 

Seafood Landing License for each boat or 

vessel $175.00 

For each Commercial Fishing Pier over or 

upon subaqueous beds (mandatory) $83.00 

Seafood Buyer's License -- For each boat or 

motor vehicle $63.00 

Seafood Buyer's License -- For each place of 

business $126.00 

Clam Aquaculture Product Owner's Permit $10.00 

Oyster Aquaculture Product Owner's Permit $10.00 

Clam Aquaculture Harvester's Permit $5.00 

Oyster Aquaculture Harvester's Permit $5.00 

Nonresident Harvester's License $444.00 

2. OYSTER RESOURCE USER FEES 

Any licensed commercial fisherman harvesting 

oysters by hand $50.00 

For any harvester using one or more gear types 

to harvest oysters or for any registered 

commercial fisherman who solely harvests or 

possesses any bushel limit described in 

4VAC20-720-80, only one oyster resource 

user fee, per year, shall be paid $300.00 

On any business shucking or packing no more 

than 1,000 gallons of oysters $500.00 

On any business shucking or packing more 

than 1,000 but no more than 10,000 gallons of 

oysters $1,000.00 

On any business shucking or packing more 

than 10,000 but no more than 25,000 gallons 

of oysters $2,000.00 

On any business shucking or packing more 

than 25,000 gallons of oysters $4,000.00 

On any oyster buyer using a single truck or 

location $100.00 

On any oyster buyer using multiple trucks or 

locations $300.00 

Commercial aquaculture operation, on riparian 

assignment or general oyster planting grounds $50.00 

3. OYSTER HARVESTING, SHUCKING, RELAY, AND 

BUYERS LICENSES 

Any person purchasing oysters caught from the 

public grounds of the Commonwealth or the 

Potomac River, for a single place of business 

with one boat or motor vehicle used for buying 

oysters $50.00 
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Any person purchasing oysters caught from the 

public grounds of the Commonwealth or the 

Potomac River, for a single place of business 

with multiple boats or motor vehicles used for 

buying oysters $100.00 

For each person taking oysters by hand, or 

with ordinary tongs $10.00 

For each single-rigged patent tong boat taking 

oysters $35.00 

For each double-rigged patent tong boat taking 

oysters $70.00 

Oyster Dredge Public Ground $50.00 

Oyster Hand Scrape $50.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for any number of 

gallons under 1,000 $12.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 1,000 gallons, 

up to 10,000 $33.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 10,000 gallons, 

up to 25,000 $74.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 25,000 gallons, 

up to 50,000 $124.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 50,000 gallons, 

up to 100,000 $207.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 100,000 

gallons, up to 200,000 $290.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 200,000 gallons 

or over $456.00 

One-day permit to relay condemned shellfish 

from a general oyster planting ground $150.00 

4. BLUE CRAB HARVESTING AND SHEDDING LICENSES, 

EXCLUSIVE OF CRAB POT LICENSES 

For each person taking or catching crabs by 

dip nets $13.00 

For ordinary trotlines  $13.00 

For patent trotlines $51.00 

For each single-rigged crab-scrape boat $26.00 

For each double-rigged crab-scrape boat $53.00 

For up to 210 peeler pots $36.00 

For up to 20 tanks and floats for shedding 

crabs $9.00 

For more than 20 tanks or floats for shedding 

crabs $19.00 

For each crab trap or crab pound $8.00 

5. CRAB POT LICENSES 

For up to 85 crab pots $48.00 

For over 85 but not more than 127 crab pots $79.00 

For over 127 but not more than 170 crab pots $79.00 

For over 170 but not more than 255 crab pots $79.00 

For over 255 but not more than 425 crab pots $127.00 

6. HORSESHOE CRAB AND LOBSTER LICENSES 

For each person harvesting horseshoe crabs by 

hand  $16.00 

For each boat engaged in fishing for or landing 

of lobster using less than 200 pots  $41.00 

For each boat engaged in fishing for or landing 

of lobster using 200 pots or more  $166.00 

7. CLAM HARVESTING LICENSES 

For each person taking or harvesting clams by 

hand, rake, or with ordinary tongs $24.00 

For each single-rigged patent tong boat taking 

clams $58.00 

For each double-rigged patent tong boat taking 

clams $84.00 

For each boat using clam dredge (hand) $19.00 

For each boat using clam dredge (power) $44.00 

For each boat using hydraulic dredge to catch 

soft shell clams $83.00 

For each person taking surf clams $124.00 

Water Rake Permit $24.00 

8. CONCH (WHELK) HARVESTING LICENSES 

For each boat using a conch dredge $58.00 

For each person taking channeled whelk by 

conch pot $51.00 

9. FINFISH HARVESTING LICENSES 

Each pound net $41.00 

Each stake gill net of 1,200 feet in length or 

under, with a fixed location $24.00 

All other gill nets up to 600 feet $16.00 

All other gill nets over 600 feet and up to 

1,200 feet  $24.00 

Each person using a cast net or throw net or 

similar device $13.00 

Each fyke net head, weir, or similar device $13.00 

For fish trotlines $19.00 
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Each person using or operating a fish dip net $9.00 

On each haul seine used for catching fish, 

under 500 yards in length $48.00 

On each haul seine used for catching fish, from 

500 yards in length to 1,000 yards in length $146.00 

For each person using commercial hook and 

line $31.00 

For each person using commercial hook and 

line for catching striped bass only $31.00 

For up to 100 fish pots  $19.00 

For over 100 but not more than 300 fish pots  $24.00 

For over 300 fish pots  $62.00 

For up to 100 eel pots $19.00 

For over 100 but not more than 300 eel pots $24.00 

For over 300 eel pots $62.00 

10. MENHADEN HARVESTING LICENSES  

Any person purchasing more than one of the following licenses, as 

described in this subsection, for the same vessel, shall pay a fee 

equal to that for a single license for the same vessel. 

On each boat or vessel under 70 gross tons 

fishing for the purse seine menhaden reduction 

sector $249.00 

On each vessel 70 gross tons or over fishing 

for the purse seine menhaden reduction sector $996.00 

On each boat or vessel under 70 gross tons 

fishing for the purse seine menhaden bait 

sector $249.00 

On each vessel 70 gross tons or over fishing 

for the purse seine menhaden bait sector $996.00 

11. COMMERCIAL GEAR FOR RECREATIONAL USE 

Up to five crab pots with a terrapin excluder 

device $36.00 

Up to five crab pots without a terrapin 

excluder device $46.00 

Crab trotline (300 feet maximum) $10.00 

One crab trap or crab pound $6.00 

One gill net up to 300 feet in length $9.00 

Fish dip net $7.00 

Fish cast net $10.00 

Up to two eel pots $10.00 

12. SALTWATER RECREATIONAL FISHING LICENSE 

Individual, resident $17.50 

Individual, nonresident $25.00 

Temporary 10-Day, resident $10.00 

Temporary 10-Day, nonresident $10.00 

Recreational boat, resident $48.00 

Recreational boat, nonresident, provided a 

nonresident may not purchase a recreational 

boat license unless his boat is registered in 

Virginia $76.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, resident, six or less 

passengers $190.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, nonresident, six or 

less passengers $380.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, resident, more than 

six passengers, plus $5.00 per person, over six 

persons $190.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, nonresident, more 

than six passengers, plus $5.00 per person, 

over six persons $380.00 

Rental Boat, resident, per boat, with maximum 

fee of $703 $14.00 

Rental Boat, nonresident, per boat, with 

maximum fee of $1270 $18.00 

Commercial Fishing Pier (Optional) $632.00 

Disabled Resident Lifetime Saltwater License $10.00 

Disabled Nonresident Lifetime Saltwater 

License $10.00 

Reissuance of Saltwater Recreational Boat 

License $5.00 

13. COMBINED SPORTFISHING LICENSE 

This license is to fish in all inland waters and tidal waters of the 

Commonwealth during open season. 

Residents $39.50 

Nonresidents $71.00 

14. COMBINED SPORTFISHING TRIP LICENSE 

This license is to fish in all inland waters and tidal waters of the 

Commonwealth during open season for five consecutive days. 

Residents $24.00 

Nonresidents $31.00 

15. TIDAL BOAT SPORTFISHING LICENSE 

Residents $126.00 

Nonresidents $201.00 
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16. LIFETIME SALTWATER RECREATIONAL FISHING 

LICENSES 

Individual Resident Lifetime License $276.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime License $500.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License  

age 45 - 50 $132.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime License  

age 45 - 50 $240.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License  

age 51 - 55 $99.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime License  

age 51 - 55 $180.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License  

age 56 - 60 $66.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime License  

age 56 - 60 $120.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License  

age 61 - 64 $35.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime License  

age 61 - 64 $60.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License  

age 65 and older $5.00 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4787; Filed July 27, 2016, 12:38 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC25-35. Certification 

Requirements for Mineral Miners (amending 4VAC25-

35-110).  

Statutory Authority: § 45.1-161.292:19 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 7, 2016. 

Effective Date: September 22, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Michael Skiffington, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 

1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, 

telephone (804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 45.1-161.292:19 of the Code of Virginia 

allows the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy 

(DMME) to require certification of persons who work in 

mineral mines and to promulgate regulations necessary to the 

certification process. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulation is to allow coal 

miners and mine inspectors to easily transition to other areas 

of the mining industry. Promoting economic development is 

one of the core functions of DMME, and increasing the 

number of certified mineral mine inspectors could help 

support the mineral mine industry and thus the welfare of the 

Commonwealth's citizens. Other existing regulations serve to 

protect public health and safety. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

rulemaking is noncontroversial because it removes 

unnecessary and duplicative barriers to certification. The 

training needed to properly inspect a coal mine is virtually 

identical to the training needed to safely inspect a mineral 

mine site. This regulatory action would give coal mine 

inspectors the opportunity to seamlessly obtain DMME 

certification. 

Substance: The only substantive change in this regulation 

allows for coal mine inspectors with a valid certification to 

obtain mineral mine inspector certification without going 

through training they have already received. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the Commonwealth are 

removing unnecessary and duplicative barriers to certification 

and allowing for employees in a depressed industry to more 

smoothly transition to another industry. There are no known 

disadvantages. The primary advantages to the welfare of the 

citizens of the Commonwealth are removing unnecessary and 

duplicative barriers to certification and allowing for 

employees in a depressed industry to more smoothly 

transition to another industry. There are no known 

disadvantages to public health, safety, and welfare.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy proposes to 

amend this regulation to specify that applicants who already 

possess a valid coal mine inspector certification will be 

deemed to also have met the requirements for mineral mine 

inspector certification.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Under the current regulation all 

applicants for mineral mine inspector certification must pass 

an examination demonstrating knowledge and competence in 

the various systems of working and ventilating underground 

mineral mines and working surface mineral mines, the control 

of mine roof and ground control, methods of rescue and 

recovery in mining operations, application of electricity and 

mechanical loading in mining operations, equipment and 

explosives used in mining; and mine haulage. The proposed 

amendment to specify that applicants who already possess a 

valid coal mine inspector certification will be deemed to also 

have met the requirements for mineral mine inspector 

certification will enable certified coal mine inspectors to 

become certified mineral mine inspectors without taking this 

examination.  
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According to the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy 

(DMME), the knowledge and competence needed to properly 

inspect a coal mine is virtually identical to that needed to 

safely inspect a mineral mine site. Coal mine inspector 

certification, among other requirements, does require the 

passing of an examination. Thus the proposal will save 

certified coal mine inspectors who wish to become certified 

mineral mine inspectors the time involved for preparing and 

taking an additional examination (and a $10 fee), without 

putting the public at risk of having inspectors who have not 

demonstrated the necessary knowledge and competence 

needed to properly inspect mineral mines. Therefore the 

proposed amendment creates a net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

potentially affects the 34 certified coal mine inspectors in the 

Commonwealth in that their costs of becoming certified 

mineral mine inspectors is reduced. Mineral mine inspectors 

work for DMME; thus the proposal does not directly affect 

businesses.  Lowering the cost of having mineral mine 

inspectors available may help speed approvals of mineral 

mine activity by DMME. Therefore indirectly the proposal 

may also benefit mineral mine firms. There are 444 existing 

mineral mine permits in Virginia; approximately 150 of those 

are held by small businesses.
1
  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

could potentially affect all localities in the Commonwealth 

that have mineral mines. According to DMME, 91% of 

Virginia’s counties have mineral mines. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

would reduce the cost for certified coal mine inspectors to 

gain employment as mineral mine inspectors, but would not 

likely significantly affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment does not directly affect the use and 

value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 

lowers the cost of having mineral mine inspectors available, 

and thus may help speed approvals of mineral mine activity. 

This may moderately reduce the cost of developing mineral 

mines.  

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment does not 

increase costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment does not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect other entities. 

______________________________________________ 
1
Data source: Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy concurs with the 

economic impact analysis conducted by the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendment specifies that an applicant who possesses 

a valid coal mine inspector certification is deemed to have 

met the requirements for mineral mine inspector 

certification. 

4VAC25-35-110. Mine inspector.  

In addition to the requirements set forth in § 45.1-

161.292:11 of the Code of Virginia, mine inspector applicants 

shall demonstrate knowledge and competence in those areas 

specified in § 45.1-161.292:12 of the Code of Virginia 

through the examination process. A certificate will not be 

issued until an applicant is employed by the department. 

Applicants who already possess a valid coal mine inspector 

certification pursuant to 4VAC25-20-180 shall be deemed to 

have met the requirements of this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4677; Filed July 7, 2016, 7:19 a.m.  

 ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 7. ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

DEPARTMENT OF SMALL BUSINESS AND 
SUPPLIER DIVERSITY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Small Business 

and Supplier Diversity is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 B 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts regulations relating 

to the award or denial of state contracts, as well as decisions 

regarding compliance therewith. 

Titles of Regulations: 7VAC10-21. Regulations to Govern 

the Certification of Small, Women-, and Minority-Owned 

Businesses (repealing 7VAC10-21-10 through 7VAC10-

21-610). 

7VAC13-20. Regulations to Govern the Certification of 

Small, Women-Owned, and Minority-Owned Businesses 

(adding 7VAC13-20-10 through 7VAC13-20-230).  
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Statutory Authority: § 2.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 8, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Reba O'Connor, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Small Business and Supplier Diversity, 101 

North 14th Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 593-2005, or email 

reba.oconnor@sbsd.virginia.gov. 

Background: 

Chapter 482 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly abolished the 

Department of Minority Business Enterprise and the 

Department of Business Assistance effective January 1, 

2014, and created the Department of Small Business and 

Supplier Diversity. The act transferred the regulations 

adopted by the Director of the Department of Minority 

Business Enterprise to the Department of Small Business 

and Supplier Diversity and provided that regulations in 

effect as of July 1, 2013, and that pertain to the subject of 

the act remain in full force and effect until altered, 

amended, or rescinded by the Director of the Department 

of Small Business and Supplier Diversity (7VAC13). 

Through this action, the Department of Small Business and 

Supplier Diversity is repealing 7VAC10-21 adopted by the 

Department of Minority Business Enterprise and adopting 

7VAC13-20, Regulations to Govern the Certification of 

Small, Women-Owned, and Minority-Owned Businesses.  

Summary: 

This regulatory action (i) repeals Regulations to Govern 

the Certification of Small, Women- and Minority-Owned 

Businesses (7VAC10-21) and (ii) creates a new regulation 

with provisions (a) establishing minimum requirements for 

the certification of small, women-owned, and minority-

owned businesses pursuant to Chapter 16.1 (§ 2.2-1603 et 

seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia and (b) providing 

a process for evaluating local, state, private sector, and 

federal certification programs that meet those 

requirements. 

CHAPTER 20 

REGULATIONS TO GOVERN THE CERTIFICATION OF 

SMALL, WOMEN-OWNED, AND MINORITY-OWNED 

BUSINESSES 

7VAC13-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Affiliate" means a business that is connected in some way, 

whether financially or legally, to a business that has applied 

to the department for certification as a small, women-owned, 

or minority-owned business (see the federal Small Business 

Administration regulations, 13 CFR Part 121). The following 

requirements, conditions, and factors are applicable: 

1. Businesses are affiliates of each other when, either 

directly or indirectly: 

a. One business controls or has the power to control the 

other;  

b. A third party controls or has the power to control both;  

c. An identity of interest between or among parties exists 

such that affiliation may be found; or 

d. One business or company has ownership, direct or 

indirect, of 10% or more of the voting stock of another 

business. (See the Investment Company Act, 15 USC 

§ 80a-2.) 

2. In determining whether affiliation exists, it is necessary 

to consider all appropriate factors, including common 

ownership, common management, and contractual 

relationships. Affiliates must be considered together in 

determining whether a concern meets small business size 

criteria and the statutory cap on the participation of firms 

in the small, women-owned, or minority-owned business 

certification program. 

"Agent" means a person that (i) has the authority to act on 

behalf of a principal in transactions with third parties; (ii) is 

subject to the principal's control; and (iii) does not have title 

to the principal's property. 

"Appeal" means a written request by an applicant to 

reconsider a denial or revocation of certification. 

"Applicant" means any business that applies to the 

department for certification or recertification as a small, 

women-owned, or minority-owned business.  

"Application" means the documents the department requires 

the applicant to submit in the course of certification or 

recertification, including the application form the applicant 

submits under penalty of perjury, which may include any 

additional documentation that the department requests that the 

applicant submit, and any information or report that the 

department generates during or upon completion of an onsite 

visit.  

"Broker" means a person who acts as an intermediary 

between a buyer and seller.  

"Business" means any legal entity organized in the United 

States or a commonwealth or territory of the United States 

that regularly engages in lawful commercial transactions for 

profit.  

"Certification" means the same as that term is defined in 

§ 2.2-1604 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Certified" means the status accorded to an applicant upon 

the department's determination that the applicant has satisfied 

the requirements for certification as a small, women-owned, 

or minority-owned business.  

"Control" means the power to direct the operation and 

management of a business as evidenced through governance 

documents and actual day-to-day operation. 

"Corporation" means a legal entity that is incorporated under 

the law of a state, the United States, or a commonwealth or 

territory of the United States. 
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"Day" means any day except Saturday, Sunday, and legal 

state holidays unless otherwise noted.  

"Dealer" means a person or business that has the exclusive 

or nonexclusive authority to sell specified goods or services 

on behalf of another business. 

"Department" means the Department of Small Business and 

Supplier Diversity. 

"Director" means the Director of the Department of Small 

Business and Supplier Diversity or his designee.  

"Expiration" means the date on which the director specifies 

that a certified business will cease to be certified.  

"Franchise" means a contractual arrangement characterized 

by the authorization granted to someone to sell or distribute a 

company's goods or services in a certain area. 

"Franchisee" means a business or group of businesses 

established or operated under a franchise agreement. 

"Individual" means a natural person. 

"Joint venture" means a formal association of two or more 

persons or businesses for the purpose of carrying out a time-

limited, single business enterprise for profit, in which the 

associated persons or businesses combine their property, 

capital, efforts, skills, or knowledge, and in which the 

associated persons or businesses exercise control and 

management and share in profits and losses in proportion to 

their contribution to the business enterprise. 

"Limited liability company" means a specific type of legal 

entity that is in compliance with the applicable requirements 

of the law of its state of formation. 

"Manufacturer's representative" means an agent whose 

principal is a manufacturer or group of manufacturers.  

"Minority individual" means the same as that term is defined 

in § 2.2-1604 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Onsite visit" means a visit by department representatives to 

the applicant's physical place of business to verify the 

applicant's representations submitted to the department in the 

course of certification or recertification.  

"Ownership" means an equity, a partnership, or a 

membership interest in a business.  

"Partnership" means an association of two or more persons 

to carry on as co-owners a business for profit. 

"Person" means a natural person or a business. 

"Principal" means a person who contracts with another to act 

on the contracting person's behalf subject to that person's 

control. 

"Principal place of business" means the physical business 

location where the business maintains its headquarters, where 

the business's books and records are kept, and where the 

natural persons who direct, control, and manage the business's 

day-to-day operations are located. If the offices from which 

management is directed and where the business records are 

kept are in different locations, the department will determine 

the principal place of business. 

"Pro forma" means as a matter of form or assumed 

information. 

"Recertification" means the process by which a business 

applies to the department for renewed or continued status as a 

certified business.  

"Record" means the materials submitted in support of an 

application for certification or recertification, which may 

include the application, supporting documentation, and 

additional materials obtained by the department in the course 

of the application, certification, or recertification process. 

"Sole proprietorship" means a business whose assets are 

wholly owned by a single person.  

"Virginia-based business" means a business that has its 

principal place of business in Virginia. 

7VAC13-20-20. Confidentiality. 

A. The department shall take necessary steps to ensure the 

confidentiality of documents submitted in support of an 

application for certification that are not public records within 

the definition of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act 

(§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

B. Any financial records of a business, including balance 

sheets and financial statements, that are not generally 

available to the public through regulatory disclosure or 

otherwise, or trade secrets as defined in the Uniform Trade 

Secrets Act (§ 59.1-336 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), 

provided to the department as part of any application for 

certification or recertification as a small, women-owned or 

minority-owned business are excluded from the provisions of 

the Virginia Freedom of Information Act pursuant to § 2.2-

3705.6 of the Code of Virginia, but may be disclosed by the 

department in its discretion where such disclosure is not 

prohibited by law.  

C. In order for such financial records or trade secrets to be 

excluded from the Virginia Freedom of Information Act, the 

business shall (i) invoke such exclusion upon submission of 

data or other materials for which protection from disclosure is 

sought; (ii) identify the data or other materials for which 

protection is sought; and (iii) state the reason why protection 

is necessary.  

7VAC13-20-30. False or misleading information. 

A. Any applicant that knowingly provides false or 

misleading information on an application for certification or 

recertification or in supporting documentation shall be denied 

certification and shall not be permitted to reapply for 

certification.  

B. In addition, the applicant may be referred to the 

Commonwealth's Attorney for the City of Richmond for 

possible criminal prosecution for a misdemeanor or a felony 

under § 18.2-213.1 or 18.2-498.3 of the Code of Virginia. 
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7VAC13-20-40. Eligible small business. 

In general, a business may be certified as a small business if 

it meets the definition of small business provided in § 2.2-

1604 of the Code of Virginia. 

7VAC13-20-50. Eligible micro business. 

A business may be certified as a micro business if it is first 

certified as a small business pursuant to 7VAC13-20-40 and, 

together with its affiliates, has 25 or fewer employees and 

average annual gross receipts of $3 million or less averaged 

over the previous three years. 

7VAC13-20-60. Eligible women-owned business. 

In general, a business may be certified as a women-owned 

business if it meets the definition of women-owned business 

as provided in § 2.2-1604 of the Code of Virginia. 

7VAC13-20-70. Eligible minority-owned business. 

A. In general, a business may be certified as a minority-

owned business if: 

1. It meets the definition of minority-owned business 

provided in § 2.2-1604 of the Code of Virginia; and 

2. The minority owner is regarded as such by the 

community of which the person claims to be a part. 

B. Being born in a country does not, by itself, define an 

individual as a minority individual pursuant to § 2.2-1604 of 

the Code of Virginia. In making the determination whether a 

person is a minority individual, the department may be 

required to determine whether the person is regarded as a 

minority individual by the community of which he claims to 

be a part. In making this determination, the department may 

consider whether: 

1. The person regularly describes himself, in printed 

materials and orally, as a member of the community; 

2. Whether the person historically has held himself out as a 

member of the community; 

3. Whether the individual is a member of and actively 

participates in business, educational, charitable, civic, or 

community organizations, or activities made up of or 

traditionally identified with or attended by members of the 

community; and  

4. Whether other members of the community describe the 

person as a fellow member of the community.  

C. The department may request such additional information 

as it may reasonably need to support an individual's claim that 

he is a minority individual. In determining whether a minority 

individual is regarded as such by the community, the 

department shall consider all the facts in the record viewed as 

a whole. 

7VAC13-20-80. Eligible out-of-state business enterprise. 

The department may certify a non-Virginia-based business 

if: 

1. It meets the applicable eligibility standards for 

certification as a small, women-owned, or minority-owned 

business; and 

2. The state in which the business has its principal place of 

business does not deny a like certification to a Virginia-

based small, women-owned, or minority-owned business 

or provide a preference to small, women-owned, or 

minority-owned firms that is not available to Virginia-

based businesses.  

7VAC13-20-90. General provisions. 

A. In determining ownership and control, the department 

will consider all the facts in the record, viewed as a whole, as 

they appear at the time of the application.  

B. An eligible applicant will not be refused certification 

based solely on historical information indicating a lack of 

51% ownership or control of the applicant by individuals in 

the case of a small business or by a woman or women or by a 

minority individual or individuals at some time in the past if 

the applicant meets the ownership and control standards at the 

time of application. A business will not be certified, however, 

if it appears from the record that the business was organized 

or its ownership structure or control changed for the purpose 

of qualifying for certification as a small, women-owned, or 

minority-owned business. 

C. An eligible applicant will not be refused certification 

solely on the basis that it is a newly formed business.  

7VAC13-20-100. Ownership. 

A. The ownership by women, minority, or individual owners 

(in the case of a small business) must be real, substantial, and 

continuing going beyond the pro forma ownership of the 

business. 

B. Records of the applicant's business arrangements must 

demonstrate that the women, minority, or individual owners 

who the applicant claims to have ownership interests in the 

applicant's business share in all risks and profits in proportion 

to their ownership interests. 

C. Women, minority, or individual owners who the 

applicant claims to have an ownership interest in the 

applicant's business as evidenced by securities must hold the 

securities directly or in a trust as described in subsection I of 

this section. 

D. Contribution of capital or expertise. 

1. Contribution of capital, expertise, or both by women, 

minority, or individual owners to acquire their ownership 

interest shall be real and substantial and be in proportion to 

the interests acquired. 

2. Insufficient contributions shall include promises to 

contribute capital or expertise in the future; a note or notes 

payable to the business or its owners who are not 

themselves women, minority, or individual owners; or the 

mere participation as an employee. 
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E. In a sole proprietorship, the woman, minority, or 

individual applying for certification must own 100% of the 

business and its assets. 

F. Corporations. 

1. In a corporate form of organization, women, minority, or 

individual owners must own at least 51% of each class of 

voting stock outstanding and 51% of the aggregate of all 

stock outstanding. 

2. Any voting agreements among the shareholders must not 

dilute the beneficial ownership, the rights, or the influence 

of the women, minority, or individual owners of the stock 

or classes of stock of the corporation. 

3. Women, minority, or individual owners shall possess the 

right to all customary incidents of ownership (e.g., ability 

to transfer stock, title possession, enter binding 

agreements, etc.). 

G. Partnerships. 

1. General partnership. In a general partnership, women, 

minority, or individual owners must own at least 51% of 

the partnership interests. 

2. Limited partnership. 

a. In a limited partnership, the women, minority, or 

individual owners who are general partners must own at 

least 51% of the general partnership interest and exert at 

least 51% of the control among general partners. The 

women, minority, or individual owners who are general 

partners must receive at least 51% of the profits and 

benefits, including tax credits, deductions, and 

postponements distributed or allocable to the general 

partner.  

b. In addition, the women, minority, or individual owners 

who are limited partners must own at least 51% of the 

limited partnership interests and receive at least 51% of 

the profits and benefits, including tax credits, deductions, 

and postponements distributed or allocable to the limited 

partners. 

H. Limited liability companies. 

1. In a limited liability company, women, minority, or 

individual owners must own at least 51% of membership 

interests and have at least 51% of the management and 

control among the members. 

2. The women, minority, or individual owners must also 

participate in all risks and profits of the organization at a 

rate commensurate with their membership interests. 

I. Trusts. In order to be counted as owned by women, 

minority, or individual owners, securities held in a trust must 

meet the following requirements, as applicable:  

1. Irrevocable trusts. The beneficial owner of securities 

held in an irrevocable trust is a woman, a minority 

individual, or an individual who is not a minor and all the 

trustees are women, minority individuals, or individuals 

provided that a financial institution may act as trustee. 

2. Revocable trusts. The beneficial owner of securities held 

in a revocable trust is a woman, a minority individual, or 

an individual who is not a minor; all the grantors are 

women, minority individuals, or individuals; and all the 

trustees are women, minority individuals, or individuals 

provided that a financial institution may act as trustee. 

3. Employee stock ownership plans (ESOPs). Securities 

owned by women, minority individuals, or individuals who 

are participants in an employee stock ownership plan 

qualified under 26 USC § 401, Internal Revenue Code, 

1986, as amended, and held in a trust where all or at least 

51% or more of the trustees are women, minority 

individuals, or individuals provided that a financial 

institution may act as trustee. 

4. Other requirements. Businesses whose securities are 

owned in whole or part in a trust are not thereby exempt 

from the other requirements of this chapter. 

J. Joint venture. In a joint venture, the women, minority, or 

individual owners must own at least 51% of the business 

venture, exert at least 51% of the control of the venture, and 

have made at least 51% of the total investment. 

7VAC13-20-110. Control. 

The applicant must show evidence that the women, 

minority, or individual owners have control of the business. 

The following factors will be examined in determining who 

controls an applicant's business: 

1. Governance. 

a. The organizational and governing documents of an 

applicant (e.g., limited liability company operating 

agreements, partnership agreements, or articles of 

incorporation and bylaws) must not contain any 

provision that restricts the ability of the women, 

minority, or individual owners from exercising 

managerial control and operational authority of the 

business. 

b. In reviewing governance documents and issues, 

special attention shall be given to: 

(1) The composition of the business's governing body 

(e.g., board of directors or management committee); 

(2) The functioning of the governing body; 

(3) The content of shareholder's agreements, bylaws, or 

state incorporation statutes, and the extent to which such 

agreements, bylaws, or statutes affect the ability of the 

women, minority, or individual owners to direct the 

management and policy of the business; and 

(4) In a business seeking certification as a women-owned 

or minority-owned business, a woman or a minority 

owner must hold the highest executive officer position in 

the company by whatever title.  

2. Operation and management. 

a. The women, minority, or individual owners must 

possess the power to direct or cause the direction of the 
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management and policies of the business and to make the 

day-to-day decisions as well as major decisions on 

matters of management, policy, and operations. The 

business must not be subject to any formal or informal 

restrictions that limit the customary discretion of the 

women, minority, or individual business owners. 

b. A previous or continuing employer-employee 

relationship between or among present owners shall be 

carefully reviewed to ensure that the woman, minority, or 

individual employee-owner has management 

responsibilities and capabilities. 

c. In the event that the actual management of the business 

is contracted or carried out by individuals other than the 

women, minority, or individual owners, those persons 

who have the ultimate power and expertise to hire and 

fire the managers can for this purpose be considered as 

controlling the business. 

d. The applicants must show evidence that the women, 

minority, or individual owners have operational authority 

and managerial control of the applicant.  

(1) Operational authority. For purposes of this section, 

"operational authority" means the extent to which the 

women, minority, or individual owners actually operate 

the day-to-day business. Assessments of operational 

control will rest upon the peculiarities of the industry of 

which the business is a part. In order to ascertain the 

level of operational control of the women, minority, or 

individual owners, the following will be considered: 

(a) Experience. The women, minority, or individual 

owners shall have education, demonstrable working 

knowledge, or experience in the area of specialty or 

industry claimed in the certification application. 

(b) Responsibility for decision making. The women, 

minority, or individual owners shall be able to 

demonstrate a role in making basic decisions pertaining 

to the daily operation of the business. 

(c) Technical competence. The women, minority, or 

individual owners shall have technical competence in the 

industry or specialty of the applicant business or a 

working knowledge of the technical requirements of the 

business sufficient enough to critically evaluate the work 

of subordinates. 

(2) Managerial control. For purposes of this section, 

"managerial control" is the demonstrated ability to make 

independent and unilateral business decisions necessary 

to guide the future and destiny of the business. 

Managerial control may be demonstrated in a number of 

ways. For women, minority, or individual owners to 

demonstrate the extent of their managerial control, the 

department will consider the following (not intended to 

be all inclusive) areas of routine business activity: 

(a) The women, minority, or individual owners must 

produce documents that clearly indicate control of basic 

business functions (e.g., authority to sign payroll checks 

and letters of credit, signature responsibility for insurance 

or bonds, authority to negotiate and execute contracts and 

financial services). 

(b) Agreements for support services that do not impair 

the woman, minority, or individual owner's control of the 

company are permitted as long as the owner's power to 

manage the company is not restricted or impaired as 

determined by the department in its sole administrative 

discretion. 

3. Independence.  

a. Performance. 

(1) The woman, minority, or individual owner's expertise 

must be indispensable to the business's potential success. 

(2) The woman, minority, or individual owner shall have 

the ability to perform in the applicant's area of specialty 

or expertise without substantial reliance upon finances 

and resources (e.g., equipment, automobiles, facilities, 

etc.) of businesses that are not eligible for certification. 

b. Test of independence. Recognition of the applicant as 

a separate and distinct entity by governmental taxing 

authorities shall not be a sole determinant of any 

applicant's assertions of independence. Test criteria 

include the following: 

(1) Applicant's use of employees, equipment, expertise, 

facilities, etc., "shared" with or obtained from a company 

not eligible for certification. 

(2) Financial transactions, such as accounts receivable, 

accounts payable, billing, order processing, are 

performed by a business that is not eligible for 

certification. 

(3) Applicant's relationship with a business that is not 

eligible for certification that involves any long-term 

contract or lease agreements. 

(4) Applicant's status as a party to any contract or lease 

agreement on terms at variance with industry standards 

or prudent business practices. 

(5) Interlocking ownership of the applicant and a 

business not eligible for certification in the same 

industry. 

(6) Common directors, officers, or members between the 

applicant and a business not eligible for certification. 

(7) Receipt by the business not eligible for certification 

of financial benefits (i.e., profits, wages, etc.) that are not 

commensurate with the duties performed. 

(8) Dependence on licenses, permits, insurance, or all 

three held by a business not eligible for certification in 

order to operate; failure to possess all legal requirements 

necessary to legally conduct business.  

c. An agent, broker, dealer, or manufacturer's 

representative, unless it is the standard for the industry, 

generally does not qualify for certification.  
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d. A business that adds no material value or does not 

perform a commercially useful function in the provision 

of the products or services being supplied; has no 

ownership, financial responsibility, or legal liability; or 

does not possess or handle the item being procured with 

its own employees, equipment, or facilities generally 

does not qualify for certification, unless the business 

structure is the standard in the industry. 

7VAC13-20-120. Certifying franchises. 

A business operating under a franchise or license agreement 

may be certified if it meets the eligibility requirements. In 

addition: 

1. The franchise agreement between the franchisor and the 

franchisee seeking certification must not contain any 

provision that unreasonably restricts the ability of the 

women, minority, or individual owners from exercising 

managerial control and operational authority of the 

business. 

2. In reviewing the franchise agreement, special attention 

shall be given to circumstances that, for certification 

purposes, shall be considered as restricting control and 

authority of the women, minority, or individual owners. 

These include: 

a. Termination of the franchise agreement by the 

franchisor without cause; 

b. Lack of ownership of receivables by the franchisee; 

c. Exclusive ownership of account receivables, contracts, 

or both by the franchisor;  

d. Restrictions on the sale of the business below market 

value; 

e. Terms and conditions not related to the brand or 

systems that can be altered without franchisee's 

notification, approval, or both; 

f. Contracts are prepared and approved by the franchisor; 

g. Management decisions cannot be made independently 

by the franchisee; 

h. No financial risk is borne by the franchisee; 

i. Hiring and firing decisions cannot be made 

independently by the franchisee; or 

j. Equity interest in the franchise is owned by the 

franchisor. 

3. Where there are inconsistencies between the standards 

and procedures in this section and other sections within 

this regulation, this section will prevail.  

7VAC13-20-130. General provisions. 

A. Applications for certification or recertification and other 

forms are available from and should be submitted to the 

Virginia Department of Small Business and Supplier 

Diversity at its principal place of business or through the 

department's website if available. 

B. A business may withdraw its application for certification 

or recertification without prejudice at any time prior to the 

department's determination. The request to withdraw the 

application must be in writing and addressed to the director. 

An application for certification or recertification may be 

administratively closed or placed in inactive status by the 

department when:  

1. The applicant has submitted insufficient information or 

failed to submit information in response to a written 

request for information by the department;  

2. The applicant has voluntarily withdrawn its application; 

or 

3. The business has been closed or is no longer operating.  

7VAC13-20-140. Procedures for initial certification of 

businesses previously certified by other qualifying local, 

state, private sector, or federal certification programs. 

A. A business certified by the department under this section 

shall be certified for a period of up to three years unless:  

1. The certification is revoked by the department or the 

program issuing the original certification;  

2. The business is no longer in business; or  

3. The business is no longer eligible as a small, women-

owned, or minority-owned business. 

B. A business certified under this section is responsible for 

notifying the department of any change in legal structure, 

ownership, control, management, or status of the business or 

its certification within 30 calendar days of such change. 

Failure to do so may be grounds for revocation of 

certification.  

C. It shall be the responsibility of the certified business to 

notify the department of any change of name, address, or 

contact information and to keep the department informed of 

its current address and contact information. Changes of name 

and address must be reported to the department in writing 

within 30 calendar days of such change. Failure to do so may 

be grounds for revocation of certification. The department 

shall not be liable or responsible if a certified business fails to 

receive notices, communications, or correspondence based 

upon the certified business's failure to notify the department 

of any change of address or to provide correct address and 

contact information.  

7VAC13-20-150. Procedures for initial certification. 

A. Any business that meets the criteria for certification may 

file an official application with the department.  

B. The application will be reviewed initially for 

completeness. The department may conduct an onsite visit of 

the business to obtain or clarify any information. The onsite 

visit may be scheduled or unannounced.  

C. The department may request the applicant to provide 

additional information or documentation to provide 

clarification and substantiation of certain criteria or to resolve 

any ambiguities or inconsistencies in an application.  
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D. The department may impose a time limit in which the 

applicant must provide the requested information. A 

reasonable extension may be given by the department for 

good cause shown by the applicant. Requests for time 

extensions must be made to the department in writing and 

should specify the length of time for which the extension is 

being requested and the reasons for the request. Failure to 

provide such information or documentation shall render the 

application administratively closed.  

E. After reviewing the application, the department shall 

issue either a notice of certification or a notice of denial of 

certification stating the reasons for denial and offering the 

applicant the opportunity for an informal hearing pursuant to 

§ 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia.  

F. A business certified by the department under this section 

shall be certified for a period of three years unless (i) the 

certification is revoked before the end of the three-year 

period, (ii) the business is no longer in business, or (iii) the 

business is no longer eligible as a small, women-owned, or 

minority-owned business.  

G. The applicant shall be responsible for notifying the 

department immediately of any change in legal structure, 

ownership, control, management, or status of the business 

within 30 calendar days of such change. Failure to do so may 

be grounds for revocation of certification.  

H. It shall be the responsibility of the applicant, the certified 

business, or both to notify the department of any change of 

name, address, or contact information and to keep the 

department informed of the current address and contact 

information. Changes of name and address must be reported 

to the department in writing within 30 calendar days of such 

change. Failure to do so within 30 calendar days of such 

change may be grounds for revocation of certification. The 

department shall not be liable or responsible if a certified 

business fails to receive notices, communications, or 

correspondence based upon the certified business's failure to 

notify the department of any change of address or to provide 

correct address and contact information.  

7VAC13-20-160. Procedures for renewal of certification 

or recertification. 

A. To maintain its certification status, a certified business 

must apply to renew its certification prior to the end of the 

three-year certification period using the forms and procedures 

specified by the department.  

B. The certification of a business that fails to apply for 

renewal or recertification prior to the end of the three-year 

certification period shall terminate automatically on the 

expiration of the certification.  

C. The department may, but in no event shall be required to, 

notify the business of the pending expiration of its 

certification prior to the certification expiration. 

7VAC13-20-170. Department-initiated evaluation. 

The department may at its discretion evaluate any local, 

state, private sector, or federal certification program to 

determine whether it meets the minimum eligibility, 

ownership, and control requirements for certification of small, 

women-owned, and minority-owned businesses as set forth in 

this chapter. 

7VAC13-20-180. Denial of certification. 

The department may deny an application for certification or 

recertification for any of the following reasons: 

1. The department determines that the applicant fails to 

meet the eligibility, ownership, or control standards for 

certification; 

2. The applicant fails to furnish the department with 

requested information within the allotted time; or  

3. The applicant knowingly provides false or misleading 

information to the department. 

7VAC13-20-190. Notice of denial. 

The department shall notify the applicant of the denial of its 

application for certification or recertification in writing no 

later than 15 days from the date of the decision by the 

department. The notice shall state the reasons for the denial of 

certification or recertification and offer the applicant the 

opportunity to appeal the decision as provided in the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia).  

7VAC13-20-200. Criteria for revocation of certification. 

The department may revoke the certification of a business 

that it finds no longer qualifies as a small, women-owned, or 

minority-owned business. Grounds for revocation of 

certification may include the following: 

1. The organization, structure, management, or control of 

the certified women-owned or minority-owned business 

has changed to the extent that it no longer satisfies the 

requirement of ownership, control, and active management 

of the business by women or minority individuals.  

2. The number of employees or revenues exceeds the 

requirements for certification of a small business or the 

small business no longer satisfies the requirements to be 

independently owned and operated. 

3. The business fails to submit the required documentation 

or to comply with a reasonable request from the 

department for records or information within the allotted 

time. 

4. The business knowingly provides false or misleading 

information in support of its initial application or its 

application for recertification or in response to the 

department's request for records or information. 

5. The business is based in a state that denies like 

certifications to Virginia-based small, women-owned, or 

minority-owned businesses or that provides a preference 
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for small, women-owned, or minority-owned businesses 

that is not available to Virginia-based businesses. 

7VAC13-20-210. Revocation procedure. 

A. Initiation of the revocation process.  

1. The department may, at the request of any state agency 

or at its own discretion, examine any certified business to 

verify that it continues to meet the applicable eligibility 

requirements for certification as a small, women-owned, or 

minority-owned business.  

2. Any individual or firm that believes that a business 

certified by the department does not qualify under the 

standards of eligibility for certification may request that the 

department undertake a review to verify that the certified 

business continues to meet the eligibility requirements for 

certification. Such requests must be written and signed and 

must contain specific identification of the affected business 

and the basis for the belief that the business does not meet 

the eligibility standards. After reviewing the request, the 

department shall determine whether to conduct a review of 

the business. The department's decision may not be 

appealed by the party seeking such verification. Written 

requests for verification of continued eligibility of a 

certified business for certification should be sent to the 

Virginia Department of Small Business and Supplier 

Diversity at its principal place of business. 

B. Review procedure.  

1. If the department determines to conduct a review of a 

business's certification, the department shall notify the 

business in writing that the department is reviewing its 

certification, explaining the basis for its decision to 

conduct a review. 

2. The department may request records or other 

documentation from the business, may conduct an onsite 

visit of the business facilities, and may question other 

parties during its review. 

3. The department may impose a time limit of not less than 

15 days in which the business must respond to a request for 

records or other documentation. A reasonable extension 

may be given by the department for good cause shown by 

the business. Requests for time extensions should be made 

in writing to the department and should specify the length 

of time for which the extension is being requested and the 

reason for the request. If the business fails to provide the 

information in the time requested, the department shall 

issue a notice of intent to revoke the certification. 

4. Upon completion of the review, a written report shall be 

prepared, which shall include: 

a. A statement of the facts leading to the review; 

b. A description of the process followed in the review; 

c. The findings of the review; and 

d. A conclusion that contains a recommendation for 

disposition of the matter. 

7VAC13-20-220. Reapplication. 

A. A business whose application for certification has been 

denied may reapply for the same category of certification 12 

months after the date on which the business receives the 

notice of denial if no appeal is filed or 12 months after the 

appeal is exhausted. An applicant denied certification as a 

women-owned or minority-owned business may reapply for 

certification as a small business without delay if otherwise 

eligible. 

B. The applicant may request a waiver of the 12-month 

reapplication period from the department director by 

submitting a written request for reconsideration and providing 

a reasonable basis for the waiver. The director or his 

designee, in his discretion, shall render a final decision 

regarding the request for reconsideration and waiver within 

30 days, which determination shall not constitute a case 

decision subject to appeal. 

C. A business whose certification has been revoked may not 

reapply for certification in the same classification. 

7VAC13-20-230. Appeals from a denial of recertification 

or revocation of certification. 

A. An applicant whose application for recertification has 

been denied by the department, or a certified business whose 

certification has been revoked by the department 

(complainant), shall have the right to an informal fact-finding 

proceeding before the designated representative of the 

department to present the grounds upon which the 

complainant believes the denial of certification should be 

reconsidered. A decision of the department will only be 

reconsidered if the complainant can demonstrate that a 

material mistake of fact formed the basis for the department's 

review of the application or other relevant record, or if the 

department's decision was not in accordance with applicable 

laws or regulations.  

B. Any request for an informal fact-finding proceeding 

pursuant to subsection A of this section must be submitted in 

writing to the department within 10 days of the date on which 

the notice of denial of recertification or the notice of 

revocation was sent by the department. The request for an 

informal fact-finding proceeding shall include a clear, brief 

summary of all factual errors and legal grounds upon which 

the complainant intends to rely. Within 30 days of the receipt 

of a timely request for an informal fact-finding proceeding, 

the department shall issue a notice stating the date and time of 

the informal fact-finding proceeding. The informal fact-

finding proceeding will not be scheduled less than seven and 

not more than 45 days from the date of the notice. Within 60 

days from the date on which the informal fact-finding 

proceeding was held, the department shall issue a notice, in 

writing, stating the final decision of the department.  

C. Either party to the informal fact-finding proceeding is 

entitled to have counsel present, but no party shall be required 

to be represented by counsel at or in connection with the 

informal fact-finding proceeding. 
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NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (7VAC13-20) 

Documents Required for All Certification Applicants (rev. 

3/2016) 

Online Certification Application - complete online at 

https://egov1.virginia.gov/mbe_cert/cgi-bin/intro.cgi 

Owner Title Sheet - SWaM and Micro Business 

Certification Program (rev. 1/2015) 

Third Party Challenges or Complaints - Form A: 

Preliminary Information (undated) 

Request for Informal Hearing (rev. 7/2015)  

Notice of Change of Contact Information (rev. 1/2016) 

Request for Additional Certified SWaM Type (undated) 

Virginia Employment Service Organization Certification 

Application (rev. 7/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4774; Filed July 15, 2016, 9:20 a.m.  

 ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-610. Groundwater 

Withdrawal Regulations (Rev. A15) (amending 9VAC25-

610-10; adding 9VAC25-610-42).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-256 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: September 7, 2016. 

Effective Date: September 22, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Gary Graham, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4103, FAX (804) 

698-4019, or email gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 62.1-44.15 of the State Water Control Law 

(Chapter 3.1 of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia) and 

subdivision 8 of § 62.1-256 of the Virginia Groundwater 

Management Act (Chapter 25 of Title 62.1 of the Code of 

Virginia) authorize the State Water Control Board to adopt 

such regulations as it deems necessary to administer and 

enforce the provisions of these chapters. 

Subdivision 3 of § 62.1-256 of the Code of Virginia provides 

that the State Water Control Board shall study, investigate, 

and assess groundwater resources and all problems concerned 

with the quality and quantity of groundwater located within 

the Commonwealth. 

Subdivision 4 of § 62.1-256 of the Code of Virginia allows 

the board to require any person withdrawing groundwater for 

any purpose anywhere in the Commonwealth, whether or not 

declared to be a groundwater management area, to furnish to 

the board such information with regard to such groundwater 

withdrawal and the use thereof as may be necessary to carry 

out the provisions of Chapter 25. 

Subdivision 9 of § 62.1-256 of the Code of Virginia provides 

that the board has the power to delegate to its executive 

director, with some exceptions, any of the powers and duties 

invested in it to administer and enforce the provisions of 

Chapter 25. 

Chapter 465 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly amended § 62.1-

258 of the Code of Virginia to require that each private well, 

as defined in § 32.1-176.3 of the Code of Virginia, that is 

constructed in a groundwater management area be registered 

by the certified water well systems provider with the board 

within 30 days of the completion of the construction and that 

such registration shall be in a format prescribed by the board. 

It further requires the board and the State Board of Health to 

develop joint registration forms and processes. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulation is to protect the water 

quality and quantity in aquifers within the Commonwealth of 

Virginia and thereby to protect the health, safety, and welfare 

of its citizens. 

The purpose of this regulatory action is to incorporate the 

statutory changes in Chapter 465 of the 2015 Acts of 

Assembly, which amended § 62.1-258 of the Code of 

Virginia to require registration of private wells constructed in 

groundwater management areas. Private well withdrawals 

make up an estimated one-third of all groundwater withdrawn 

from the aquifer system. These withdrawals are growing at a 

faster rate than all other uses of groundwater. The information 

provided will identify the location of the wells and the aquifer 

from which the private wells are taking groundwater, 

allowing the impact of these withdrawals to be evaluated and 

taken into consideration in future groundwater management 

decisions. The proposed amendment will also provide some 

necessary implementation and information provisions. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: Except 

for the specific information to be required on the registration 

form and some minor implementation provisions, the 

language of Chapter 465 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly 

allows little leeway in developing the regulatory 

requirements. Certified water well systems providers are 

already familiar with the types of registration information 

required of other types of wells and the Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) and the Department of Health 

have already reached agreement concerning the information 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=20bc8004774~1&typ=40&actno=004774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=20bc8004774~1&typ=40&actno=004774&mime=application/pdf
https://egov1.virginia.gov/mbe_cert/cgi-bin/intro.cgi
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=63e48004774~3&typ=40&actno=004774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=63e48004774~3&typ=40&actno=004774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=37080004774~6&typ=40&actno=004774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=37080004774~6&typ=40&actno=004774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f381b004774~2&typ=40&actno=004774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6e5cb004774~4&typ=40&actno=004774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=45d7d004774~7&typ=40&actno=004774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=efdff004774~6&typ=40&actno=004774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=efdff004774~6&typ=40&actno=004774&mime=application/pdf
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to be required for registration of private wells. Controversy is 

not expected. 

Substance: A new section is added to 9VAC25-610 to require 

registration of private wells to specify who must submit the 

registration and to whom it must be submitted, to specify in 

what time period the registration must be submitted, and to 

list the minimum information that DEQ needs to identify the 

wells in the field and to evaluate the impact of private well 

water withdrawals. In addition, two definitions are added to 

an existing section, which are necessary to support the new 

requirements. 

Issues: There are no advantages or disadvantages for the 

public at large resulting from this amendment. The 

amendment will ensure that the resource is better managed for 

all users and the public in areas where the sustainability of 

groundwater is threatened. 

The advantage to the department is better information about 

the potential for private well water withdrawals resulting in 

better management of groundwater resources. There is no 

disadvantage to the department resulting from this 

amendment. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Chapter 465 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly amended § 62.1-

258 of the Code of Virginia, in part, to add a requirement that 

private wells constructed in a ground water management area 

be registered with the State Water Control Board (Board) by 

the certified water well systems provider within 30 days of 

the completion of well construction. Consequently, the Board 

proposes to amend this regulation to: 1) include the above 

statutory requirement for registration, 2) specify that the 

registration be submitted to the Department of Environmental 

Quality (DEQ) on a form, paper or electronic, provided by 

DEQ, 3) list the information required for registration, and 4) 

add relevant definitions. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Including the statutory 

requirement for registration, specifying that the registration 

be submitted to DEQ, list the information required for 

registration, and adding relevant definitions all are beneficial 

in improving clarity and do not add costs. The required 

registration of private wells constructed in a ground water 

management area enables DEQ to track the growth of private 

well water withdrawals and evaluate the relative impact of 

private wells on the aquifer system. This will result in a more 

robust understanding of the demands on the aquifers in areas 

where the sustainability of groundwater is threatened, and it 

will help ensure that the resource is better managed for all 

users and the public. 

Water well systems providers must already obtain a pre-

construction permit from the Virginia Department of Health 

(VDH) prior to construction of a new well. The process of 

getting a well drilled requires that the provider collect 

information at many parts of that process. Much of the 

required information is known before drilling starts, since it is 

determined by well owner's needs, what is known in advance 

about the water table and substrate, the detail necessary for a 

contract, and professional well construction standards. Other 

required information is collected during the well drilling 

process and some is collected after the well is drilled. Thus 

the majority of the information required for the registration 

form falls into one of these categories and would either be 

known or easily obtained as part of that process. In most 

cases, the providers already collect this information. 

The information that is most likely new and something that 

may have to be researched is the well location information. 

But nowadays, latitude, longitude, map numbers, and 

sometimes subdivision plat information are either available 

using a GPS phone or are readily available on the Internet. 

Additionally, according to DEQ staff, VDH and DEQ staff 

are prepared to readily assist with obtaining this location 

information, so it is not expected that the provider would 

have to spend a large amount of time doing new research to 

collect the required information. 

Thus, considering the benefit for managing aquifers in areas 

where the sustainability of groundwater is threatened and the 

relatively small additional time cost for water well systems 

providers, the benefits likely exceed the costs for all proposed 

changes. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

affect water well systems providers that construct private 

wells. There are approximately 50 such firms, all of which 

qualify as small businesses, in the Commonwealth.
1
 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

particularly affect localities within ground water management 

areas. Two ground water management areas are established in 

9VAC25-600-20, the Eastern Virginia Groundwater 

Management Area and the Eastern Shore of Virginia 

Groundwater Management Area. The Eastern Virginia 

Groundwater Management Area consists of the Counties of 

Charles City, Essex, Gloucester, Isle of Wight, James City, 

King George, King and Queen, King William, Lancaster, 

Mathews, Middlesex, New Kent, Northumberland, Prince 

George, Richmond, Southampton, Surry, Sussex, 

Westmoreland, and York; the areas of Caroline, Chesterfield, 

Fairfax, Hanover, Henrico, Prince William, Spotsylvania, and 

Stafford Counties east of Interstate 95; and the Cities of 

Chesapeake, Franklin, Hampton, Hopewell, Newport News, 

Norfolk, Poquoson, Portsmouth, Suffolk, Virginia Beach, and 

Williamsburg. The Eastern Shore of Virginia Groundwater 

Management Area consists of the Counties of Accomack and 

Northampton. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 
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Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 

use and value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 

costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Chapter 465 of the 2015 Acts of 

Assembly amended § 62.1-258 of the Code of Virginia, in 

part, to add a requirement that private wells constructed in a 

ground water management area be registered with the State 

Water Control Board. The proposed amendments to the 

regulation specify registration requirements that will require 

small water well systems providers to fill out and submit a 

registration form (online in practice) for each such completed 

well. This introduces a time cost for these small firms; but 

since the required information should in most cases be readily 

available, the time cost will in most cases be small. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no apparent alternative method that will meet the intended 

policy goal at a smaller cost for small businesses.  

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. Pursuant to legislation, the proposed amendments 

to the regulation specify registration requirements that will 

require water well systems providers to fill out and submit a 

registration form (online in practice) for each such completed 

well. This introduces a time cost for these firms; but since the 

required information should in most cases be readily 

available, the time cost will in most cases be small. 

Localities. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 

adversely affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 

adversely affect other entities. 

__________________ 
1
Data Source: DEQ 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

department has reviewed the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget and has 

no comment. 

Summary: 

Chapter 465 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly requires that 

private wells constructed in a groundwater management 

area be registered with the State Water Control Board by 

the certified water well systems provider within 30 days of 

the completion of well construction. To conform to the 

chapter, the amendments (i) require registration of private 

wells; (ii) specify that the registration be submitted to the 

Department of Environmental Quality on a form, paper or 

electronic, within 30 calendar days of completion of well 

construction; (iii) establish the minimum information 

necessary for the department to identify the wells in the 

field and to evaluate the impact of private well water 

withdrawals; and (iv) add two definitions to support the 

new requirements. 

Part I  

General  

9VAC25-610-10. Definitions.  

Unless a different meaning is required by the context, the 

following terms as used in this chapter shall have the 

following meanings:  

"Act" means the Ground Water Management Act of 1992, 

Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Adverse impact" means reductions in groundwater levels or 

changes in groundwater quality that limit the ability of any 

existing groundwater user lawfully withdrawing or authorized 

to withdraw groundwater at the time of permit or special 

exception issuance to continue to withdraw the quantity and 

quality of groundwater required by the existing use. Existing 

groundwater users include all those persons who have been 

granted a groundwater withdrawal permit subject to this 

chapter and all other persons who are excluded from permit 

requirements by 9VAC25-610-50.  

"Agricultural use" means utilizing groundwater for the 

purpose of agricultural, silvicultural, horticultural, or 

aquacultural operations. Agricultural use includes 

withdrawals for turf farm operations, but does not include 

withdrawals for landscaping activities or turf installment and 

maintenance associated with landscaping activities. 

"Applicant" means a person filing an application to initiate 

or enlarge a groundwater withdrawal in a groundwater 

management area.  

"Area of impact" means the areal extent of each aquifer 

where more than one foot of drawdown is predicted to occur 

due to a proposed withdrawal.  

"Beneficial use" includes, but is not limited to domestic 

(including public water supply), agricultural, commercial, and 

industrial uses.  

"Board" means the State Water Control Board.  

"Consumptive use" means the withdrawal of groundwater, 

without recycle of said waters to their source of origin.  

"Department" means the Department of Environmental 

Quality.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality.  

"Draft permit" means a prepared document indicating the 

board's tentative decision relative to a permit action.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality.  
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"Geophysical investigation" means any hydrogeologic 

evaluation to define the hydrogeologic framework of an area 

or determine the hydrogeologic properties of any aquifer or 

confining unit to the extent that withdrawals associated with 

such investigations do not result in unmitigated adverse 

impacts to existing groundwater users. Geophysical 

investigations include, but are not limited to, pump tests and 

aquifer tests.  

"Groundwater" means any water, except capillary moisture, 

beneath the land surface in the zone of saturation or beneath 

the bed of any stream, lake, reservoir or other body of surface 

water wholly or partially within the boundaries of this 

Commonwealth, whatever the subsurface geologic structure 

in which such water stands, flows, percolates or otherwise 

occurs.  

"Human consumption" means the use of water to support 

human survival and health, including drinking, bathing, 

showering, cooking, dishwashing, and maintaining hygiene. 

"Mitigate" means to take actions necessary to assure that all 

existing groundwater users at the time of issuance of a permit 

or special exception who experience adverse impacts continue 

to have access to the amount and quality of groundwater 

needed for existing uses.  

"Permit" means a groundwater withdrawal permit issued 

under the Ground Water Management Act of 1992 permitting 

the withdrawal of a specified quantity of groundwater under 

specified conditions in a groundwater management area.  

"Permittee" means a person who that currently has an 

effective groundwater withdrawal permit issued under the 

Ground Water Act of 1992. 

"Person" means any and all persons, including individuals, 

firms, partnerships, associations, public or private institutions, 

municipalities or political subdivisions, governmental 

agencies, or private or public corporations organized under 

the laws of this Commonwealth or any other state or country.  

"Practicable" means available and capable of being done 

after taking into consideration cost, existing technology, and 

logistics in light of overall project purposes. 

"Private well" means, as defined in § 32.1-176.3 of the Code 

of Virginia, any water well constructed for a person on land 

that is owned or leased by that person and is usually intended 

for household, groundwater source heat pump, agricultural 

use, industrial use or other nonpublic water well. 

"Public hearing" means a fact finding proceeding held to 

afford interested persons an opportunity to submit factual 

data, views and comments to the board pursuant to § 62.1-

44.15:02 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Salt water intrusion" means the encroachment of saline 

waters in any aquifer that creates adverse impacts to existing 

groundwater users or is counter to the public interest.  

"Special exception" means a document issued by the board 

for withdrawal of groundwater in unusual situations where 

requiring the user to obtain a groundwater withdrawal permit 

would be contrary to the purpose of the Ground Water 

Management Act of 1992. Special exceptions allow the 

withdrawal of a specified quantity of groundwater under 

specified conditions in a groundwater management area.  

"Supplemental drought relief well" means a well permitted 

to withdraw a specified amount of groundwater to meet 

human consumption needs during declared drought 

conditions after mandatory water use restrictions have been 

implemented. 

"Surface water and groundwater conjunctive use system" 

means an integrated water supply system wherein surface 

water is the primary source and groundwater is a 

supplemental source that is used to augment the surface water 

source when the surface water source is not able to produce 

the amount of water necessary to support the annual water 

demands of the system. 

"Water well systems provider" means any individual who is 

certified by the Board for Contractors in accordance with 

§ 54.1-1128 et seq. of the Code of Virginia and who is 

engaged in drilling, installation, maintenance, or repair of 

water wells, water well pumps, ground source heat 

exchangers, and other equipment associated with the 

construction, removal, or repair of water wells, water well 

systems, and ground source heat pump exchangers to the 

point of connection to the ground source heat pump. 

"Well" means any artificial opening or artificially altered 

natural opening, however made, by which groundwater is 

sought or through which groundwater flows under natural 

pressure or is intended to be withdrawn.  

"Withdrawal system" means (i) one or more wells or 

withdrawal points located on the same or contiguous 

properties under common ownership for which the 

withdrawal is applied to the same beneficial use or (ii) two or 

more connected wells or withdrawal points which are under 

common ownership but are not necessarily located on 

contiguous properties.  

9VAC25-610-42. Private well registration. 

A. Each certified water well systems provider shall register 

with the board each private well, as defined in 9VAC25-610-

10, that is constructed in a groundwater management area 

after September 22, 2016.  

B. The registration shall be made within 30 calendar days of 

the completion of well construction. 

C. Such registration shall be submitted to the department on 

a form, paper or electronic, provided by the department for 

registration purposes. 

D. The following information, at a minimum, shall be 

required for each registration: 

1. Contact information, including: 

a. The well owner's name and mailing address; and 

b. The certified water well system provider's name and 

mailing address.  
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2. The well location, including: 

a. The physical address, tax map number, or grid parcel 

identification number (GPIN) of the property at which 

the well is located; 

b. The subdivision name and appropriate section, block 

and lot numbers, if applicable; and  

c. The latitude, longitude, and datum of the well. 

3. The type of use of the well water. 

4. Well construction information, including: 

a. The well designation name or number; 

b. The start and completion dates of well construction; 

c. The depth of the well and borehole depth; 

d. Borehole sizes; 

e. Height of casing above the land surface, if applicable; 

f. Size, depth, and material weight per foot or wall 

thickness of the casing, if applicable; 

g. Size, type, and mesh of the screen or water zones, if 

applicable; and 

h. The type of grout, grouting method, and type of seal, if 

applicable.  

5. If a pump test is conducted, the pump test information, 

including: 

a. Date and duration of test; 

b. Pre-pumped static water level; and 

c. Stabilized measured pumping level and yield. 

6. Production pump intake depth, if applicable. 

7. Drillers log. 

8. The certified water well system provider's certification 

statement.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4469; Filed July 8, 2016, 1:41 p.m.  

 ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards 

for Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care 

(amending 12VAC30-80-110).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 7, 2016. 

Effective Date: September 22, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance, and 

§ 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the Director of 

the Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance 

according to the board's requirements. The Medicaid 

authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social Security 

Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority for 

payments for services. 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to incorporate into the 

Virginia Administrative Code the current reimbursement 

practices for targeted case management. The reimbursement 

methodologies were required and approved by the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) effective September 

10, 2013, and have been in place since that time.  

In addition, references to community mental health services 

that used to include targeted case management, but no longer 

do, have been removed to correct a conflict between the 

community mental health regulations and the case 

management regulations. These regulations protect the health, 

safety, and welfare of the public in that they clarify 

reimbursement for targeted case management services that 

coordinate health care for high risk pregnant women, infants, 

and children; individuals with serious mental illness; and 

individuals with intellectual or developmental disabilities. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

regulatory action is being promulgated as a fast-track action 

because it is expected to be noncontroversial. The 

reimbursement practices contained in this regulation have 

been in place since September 2013 and were required and 

approved by CMS. 

Substance: Currently, the Virginia Administrative Code does 

not include information on reimbursement practices for 

targeted case management for (i) high risk pregnant women, 

infants, and children up to age two years; (ii) seriously 

mentally ill adults, emotionally disturbed children, or youth at 

risk of serious emotional disturbance; (iii) individuals with 

intellectual disability; and (iv) individuals with 

developmental disability. 

This regulatory action describes the reimbursement practices 

for each of these types of targeted case management. The 

regulations contain a description of how reimbursement for 

each service is calculated, a description of the unit of service, 

a statement that private and governmental providers are 

reimbursed according to the same methodology, a prohibition 

of billing of overlapping case management services, and a 

requirement for providers to maintain information to support 

future rate updates. Including this information in the Virginia 
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Administrative Code will make these reimbursement 

practices transparent to Medicaid providers, Medicaid 

members, and the public.  

In addition, references to community mental health services 

that used to include targeted case management, but no longer 

do, have been removed to correct a conflict between the 

community mental health regulations and the case 

management regulations. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this regulatory action is that 

it will make current DMAS reimbursement practices for 

targeted case management transparent to Medicaid providers, 

Medicaid members, and the public. The changes will also 

remove a conflict between community mental health 

regulations and targeted case management regulations. This 

regulatory action does not create any disadvantages to the 

public, the agency, or the Commonwealth, as it does not 

change reimbursement practices that have been in effect since 

September 2013. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

proposed regulation will clarify reimbursement methodology 

for targeted case management for certain groups and remove 

obsolete language. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Prior to September 2013, the 

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) required 

the Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) to 

specifically address the reimbursement methodology for 

targeted case management for high risk pregnant women, 

infants, and children up to age two; seriously mentally ill 

adults, emotionally disturbed children, and youth at risk of 

serious emotional disturbance; and individuals with 

intellectual or developmental disability. DMAS adopted 

specific language in the state plan reflecting the 

reimbursement methodologies for these groups and CMS 

approved the changes on September 10, 2013. The changes 

requested by CMS simply clarified then existing 

methodology in practice and had no effect on reimbursement 

rates. DMAS now proposes to incorporate the specific 

language that has been in the state plan and that has been 

followed in practice since 2013 into the regulation. Thus, no 

significant economic effect is expected other than improving 

the clarity of the regulation. 

In addition, the proposed changes will remove obsolete 

references to community mental health services in the 

targeted case management section. The community mental 

health services and regulations included targeted case 

management in the past, but both the services and regulations 

have been amended to remove those references on January 

30, 2015.
1
 However, the references to targeted case 

management have been inadvertently left in the current 

regulation. The obsolete references to community mental 

health services are now being removed from these case 

management regulations to remove the conflict between the 

sections. This change is also not expected to create any 

significant economic effect other than improving the clarity 

of the regulation. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The providers of targeted 

case management include Virginia Department of Health, 40 

Community Services Boards, and approximately 98 private 

support coordinators. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No impact on employment 

is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 

on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Most of the support coordinators are 

small providers. The proposed amendments do not impose 

costs on them but will benefit them by improving the clarity 

of the regulation. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No 

adverse impact on small businesses is expected. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

____________________________________________ 
1
See http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=6536 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. The agency 

concurs with this analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments incorporate the reimbursement 

methodology for targeted case management for (i) high 

risk pregnant women, infants, and children up to age two 

years; (ii) seriously mentally ill adults, emotionally 

disturbed children, or youth at risk of serious emotional 

disturbance; (iii) individuals with intellectual disability; 

and (iv) individuals with developmental disability. The 

amendments also remove obsolete references to community 
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mental health services to resolve a conflict between the 

community mental health regulations and the case 

management regulations.  

12VAC30-80-110. Fee-for-service: case management.  

A. Targeted case management for high-risk pregnant women 

and infants up to two years of age, for community mental 

health and intellectual disability services, and for individuals 

who have applied for or are participating in the Individual and 

Family Developmental Disability Support Waiver program 

(IFDDS Waiver) shall be reimbursed at the lowest of: state 

agency fee schedule, actual charge, or Medicare (Title XVIII) 

allowances.  

B. A. Targeted case management for early intervention (Part 

C) children. 

1. Targeted case management for children from birth to 

three years of age who have developmental delay and who 

are in need of early intervention is reimbursed at the lower 

of the state agency fee schedule or the actual charge 

(charge to the general public). The unit of service is 

monthly one month. All private and governmental fee-for-

service providers are reimbursed according to the same 

methodology. The agency's rates are effective for services 

on or after October 11, 2011. Rates are published on the 

agency's website at www.dmas.virginia.gov. 

2. Case management shall not be billed when it is an 

integral part of another Medicaid service including, but not 

limited to, intensive community treatment services and 

intensive in-home services for children and adolescents. 

3. 2. Case management defined for another target group 

shall not be billed concurrently with this case management 

service except for case management services for high risk 

infants provided under 12VAC30-50-410. Providers of 

early intervention case management shall coordinate 

services with providers of case management services for 

high risk infants, pursuant to 12VAC30-50-410, to ensure 

that services are not duplicated. 

4. 3. Each entity receiving payment for services as defined 

in 12VAC30-50-415 shall be required to furnish the 

following to DMAS, upon request: 

a. Data, by practitioner, on the utilization by Medicaid 

beneficiaries of the services included in the unit rate; and 

b. Cost information used by practitioner. 

5. 4. Future rate updates will be based on information 

obtained from the providers. DMAS monitors the 

provision of targeted case management through post-

payment review (PPR). PPRs ensure that paid services 

were rendered appropriately, in accordance with state and 

federal policies and program requirements, provided in a 

timely manner, and paid correctly. 

B. Reimbursement for targeted case management for high 

risk pregnant women and infants and children. 

1. Targeted case management for high risk pregnant 

women and infants up to two years of age defined in 

12VAC30-50-410 shall be reimbursed at the lower of the 

state agency fee schedule or the actual charge (charge to 

the general public). The unit of service is one day. All 

private and governmental fee-for-service providers are 

reimbursed according to the same methodology. The 

agency's rates were set as of September 10, 2013, and are 

effective for services on or after that date. Rates are 

published on the agency's website at 

www.dmas.virginia.gov. 

2. Case management may not be billed when it is an 

integral part of another Medicaid service. 

3. Case management defined for another target group shall 

not be billed concurrently with the case management 

service under this subsection except for case management 

for early intervention provided under 12VAC30-50-415. 

Providers of case management for high risk pregnant 

women and infants and children shall coordinate services 

with providers of early intervention case management to 

ensure that services are not duplicated. 

4. Each provider receiving payment for the service under 

this subsection will be required to furnish the following to 

the Medicaid agency, upon request: 

a. Data on the hourly utilization of this service furnished 

to Medicaid members; and 

b. Cost information used by practitioners furnishing this 

service. 

5. Rate updates will be based on utilization and cost 

information obtained from the providers. 

C. Reimbursement for targeted case management for 

seriously mentally ill adults and emotionally disturbed 

children and for youth at risk of serious emotional 

disturbance. 

1. Targeted case management services for seriously 

mentally ill adults and emotionally disturbed children 

defined in 12VAC30-50-420 or for youth at risk of serious 

emotional disturbance defined in 12VAC30-50-430 shall 

be reimbursed at the lower of the state agency fee schedule 

or the actual charge (charge to the general public). The unit 

of service is one month. All private and governmental fee-

for-service providers are reimbursed according to the same 

methodology. The agency's rates were set as of September 

10, 2013, and are effective for services on or after that 

date. Rates are published on the agency's website at 

www.dmas.virginia.gov. 

2. Case management for seriously mentally ill adults and 

emotionally disturbed children and for youth at risk of 

serious emotional disturbance may not be billed when it is 

an integral part of another Medicaid service. 
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3. Case management defined for another target group shall 

not be billed concurrently with the case management 

services under this subsection. 

4. Each provider receiving payment for the services under 

this subsection will be required to furnish the following to 

the Medicaid agency, upon request: 

a. Data on the hourly utilization of these services 

furnished to Medicaid members; and 

b. Cost information used by the practitioner furnishing 

these services. 

5. Rate updates will be based on utilization and cost 

information obtained from the providers. 

D. Reimbursement for targeted case management for 

individuals with intellectual disability or developmental 

disability. 

1. Targeted case management for individuals with 

intellectual disability defined in 12VAC30-50-440 and 

individuals with developmental disabilities defined in 

12VAC30-50-450 shall be reimbursed at the lower of the 

state agency fee schedule or the actual charge (the charge 

to the general public). The unit of service is one month. All 

private and governmental fee-for-service providers are 

reimbursed according to the same methodology. The 

agency's rates were set as of September 10, 2013, and are 

effective for services on or after that date. Rates are 

published on the agency's website at 

www.dmas.virginia.gov 

2. Case management for individuals with intellectual 

disability or developmental disability may not be billed 

when it is an integral part of another Medicaid service. 

3. Case management defined for another target group shall 

not be billed concurrently with the case management 

service under this subsection. 

4. Each provider receiving payment for the service under 

this subsection will be required to furnish the following to 

the Medicaid agency, upon request: 

a. Data on the hourly utilization of this service furnished 

to Medicaid members; and 

b. Cost information by practitioners furnishing this 

service. 

5. Rate updates will be based on utilization and cost 

information obtained from the providers.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4522; Filed July 11, 2016, 12:44 p.m.  

 ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-345. Rules Governing Rate 

Stabilization in Property and Casualty Insurance (adding 

14VAC5-345-10 through 14VAC5-345-70).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Phyllis Oates, Principal Insurance Market 

Examiner, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation 

Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 371-9279, FAX (804) 371-9279, or email 

phyllis.oates@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The new rules implement the provisions of § 38.2-1906 F 

of the Code of Virginia, including the amendments enacted 

in Chapter 277 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, that allow 

limits on rate increases and decreases. The new rules 

establish uniform standards for all rate stabilization plans, 

filing requirements, and prohibited actions for insurers 

that elect to set limits on rates.  

AT RICHMOND, JULY 14, 2016 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2016-00071 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Adopting 

New Rules Governing Rate Stabilization 

In Property and Casualty Insurance 

ORDER ADOPTING RULES 

By Order to Take Notice ("Order") entered May 5, 2016, all 

interested parties were ordered to take notice that subsequent 

to July 1, 2016, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") would consider the entry of an order to adopt 

new rules at Chapter 345 of Title 14 of the Virginia 

Administrative Code entitled "Rules Governing Rate 

Stabilization in Property and Casualty Insurance," which are 

to be set out at 14 VAC 5-345-10 through 14 VAC 5-345-70 

with forms ("Rules"). 

The Rules were proposed by the Commission's Bureau of 

Insurance ("Bureau") to implement the provisions of § 38.2-

1906 F of the Code of Virginia, in particular the amendments 

to enacted Chapter 277 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly (HB 
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324) that allow limits on rate increases and rate discounts. 

The Rules establish standards, filing requirements and 

prohibited actions for insurers who wish to set limits on rates. 

The Order required that any person requesting a hearing on 

the Rules shall have filed such request for a hearing with the 

Clerk of the Commission ("Clerk") on or before July 1, 2016, 

and that all interested persons file with the Clerk their 

comments in support of or in opposition to the amendments to 

the Rules on or before this same date.  No request for a 

hearing was filed with the Clerk. 

On July 1, 2016, general comments were filed by 

representatives for Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company 

and the Property Casualty Insurers Association of 

America.  These comments did not request changes to the 

proposed new Rules, but instead, sought to clarify several 

terms used in the proposed new Rules as well as several 

requirements pertaining to the capping of individual rating 

factors.  The Bureau provided clarification of these issues in 

its Response to Comments, which it filed with the Clerk on 

July 11, 2016, and recommends that no changes be made to 

the Rules and that they be adopted as proposed. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered this matter, 

is of the opinion that the Rules should be adopted. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The Rules Governing Rate Stabilization in Property and 

Casualty Insurance which are set out at 14 VAC 5-345-10 

through 14 VAC 5-345-70 with forms, which are attached 

hereto and made a part hereof, are hereby ADOPTED to be 

effective September 1, 2016.  

(2) AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, shall be sent by the 

Clerk of the Commission to the Bureau in care of Deputy 

Commissioner Rebecca Nichols, who forthwith shall give 

further notice of the adopted rules by mailing a copy of this 

Order to all insurers licensed in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia to sell property and casualty insurance, and to all 

interested parties.  

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the 

Rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations for appropriate publication in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations.  

(4) This Order and the attached adopted Rules shall be 

posted on the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case.  

(5) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 

an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of 

Ordering Paragraph (2) above. 

CHAPTER 345 

RULES GOVERNING RATE STABILIZATION IN 

PROPERTY AND CASUALTY INSURANCE 

14VAC5-345-10. Purpose and applicability. 

A. The purpose of this chapter is to establish rules for the 

implementation of the provisions of § 38.2-1906 F of the 

Code of Virginia that allows an insurer to file with the 

commission rate or supplementary rate information to limit 

rate increases or rate decreases on (i) its renewal policies; (ii) 

policies acquired by an insurer from another insurer pursuant 

to a written agreement of acquisition, merger, or sale that 

transfers all or part of the other insurer's book of business; or 

(iii) policies acquired by an agent book of transfer. This 

practice shall be known as a rate stabilization plan or capping. 

B. This chapter shall apply to the classes of insurance 

defined in §§ 38.2-110 through 38.2-118, 38.2-120, 38.2-121, 

38.2-122, 38.2-124 through 38.2-128, and 38.2-130 through 

38.2-133 of the Code of Virginia and all insurers subject to 

the scope of Chapter 19 (§ 38.2-1900 et seq.) of Title 38.2 of 

the Code of Virginia as identified in § 38.2-1902 of the Code 

of Virginia. This chapter does not apply to workers' 

compensation and employers' liability insurance.  

14VAC5-345-20. Definitions. 

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission. 

"Rate" means any rate of premium, policy fee, membership 

fee, or any other charge made by an insurer for or in 

connection with a contract or policy of insurance. The term 

"rate" shall not include a membership fee paid to become a 

member of an organization or association, one of the benefits 

of which is the purchasing of insurance coverage. 

"Rate stabilization plan" or "capping" means a way to 

control or cap the impact of premium changes to renewals 

due to the insurer's (i) revision of its own rating plan; (ii) 

introduction of a new rating plan that replaces an existing 

rating plan; (iii) acquisition from another insurer pursuant to a 

written agreement of acquisition, merger, or sale that transfers 

all or part of the other insurer's book of business; or (iv) 

acquisition by an agent book of transfer. 

"Rate stabilization rule" means the rating methodology filed 

by an insurer to describe the application of a rate stabilization 

plan. 

"Renewal" means the continuation of an insurer's current 

policies; policies acquired by an insurer from another insurer 

pursuant to a written agreement of acquisition, merger, or sale 

that transfers all or part of the other insurer's book of 

business; or policies transferred by an agent or agency 

pursuant to an agent book of transfer. 

"Supplementary rate information" includes any manual or 

plan of rates, experience rating plan, statistical plan, 

classification, rating schedule, minimum premium, or 

minimum premium rule, policy fee, rating rule, rate-related 

underwriting rule, and any other information not otherwise 

inconsistent with the purposes of Chapter 19 (§ 38.2-1900 et 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
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seq.) of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia, this chapter, or as 

required by the commission. 

"Tier" means mutually exclusive pricing levels within the 

same insurer that are based on an indivisible group of risk 

characteristics. 

14VAC5-345-30. General standards. 

A. An insurer may utilize rate capping to stabilize insurance 

rates charged to (i) its renewal policies; (ii) policies acquired 

from another insurer pursuant to a written agreement of 

acquisition, merger, or sale that transfers all or part of the 

other insurer's book of business; or (iii) policies acquired by 

an agent book of transfer. 

B. A rate stabilization plan shall be unambiguous and 

applied uniformly and fairly to all renewal policies affected 

by such plan. 

C. A rate stabilization plan may cap increases in premium 

only or increases and decreases in premium, but not decreases 

only. Caps on increases and decreases are not required to be 

equivalent. 

D. A rate stabilization plan is expected to result in individual 

policy premiums converging with the insurer's uncapped 

rates. A rate stabilization plan shall achieve this result within 

five years unless the insurer initially requests a shorter period 

or justifies a longer period in the rate stabilization plan filing. 

E. A rate stabilization rule may be amended within the 

original rate stabilization plan period. 

F. A rate stabilization rule may be filed in conjunction with 

a routine rate filing or as a separate rule filing. 

G. In each rate filing subsequent to the implementation of a 

rate stabilization plan, the insurer shall demonstrate that the 

actuarial indication does not redundantly measure rate need 

by demonstrating that premiums at current rate level 

underlying the actuarial indication are on an uncapped basis. 

H. An insurer may file a rate level change or modify rating 

factors or other supplementary rate information while a rate 

stabilization plan is in effect. The insurer shall explain 

whether: 

1. The existing rate stabilization plan will continue to apply 

for the filed duration; or 

2. The rate stabilization plan will be amended. 

14VAC5-345-40. Filing requirements. 

A. A rate stabilization rule shall be filed as supplementary 

rate information in accordance with the provisions of § 38.2-

1906 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. A rate stabilization rule shall detail the application of the 

rate stabilization plan. This rule shall be clear and shall 

specify: 

1. The source of the renewals subject to the rate 

stabilization plan; 

2. The process to be used for the rate stabilization, 

including an example to illustrate the process; 

3. The amount of the rate increase or increase and decrease 

to be limited; 

4. Whether the rate stabilization plan is designed to 

converge with uncapped rates in subsequent rate filings; 

5. The effect, if any, of the rate stabilization rule on any 

midterm changes; 

6. Any limitations on tier movement that will be utilized 

for rate stabilization;  

7. The commencement date of the rate stabilization plan; 

8. The duration of the rate stabilization plan; and 

9. The expiration date of the rate stabilization plan. 

C. The filing shall clearly identify that a rate stabilization 

plan is included.  

D. The insurer shall file and certify to the commission using 

the Rate Stabilization Plan Certification (Form 345-A), the 

impact of the proposed capped rate changes over future 

renewal periods until the capping period ends. The filing 

should include projections of the effects of the caps on 

premiums, percentage changes, dollar changes, and the 

number of policies impacted for each future renewal period. 

In calculating the impact, the insurer may make the 

assumption that its current book of business is fully retained 

and renewed into the future until the rate stabilization period 

ends. 

E. If a rate stabilization plan exceeds five years, an 

explanatory memorandum shall be filed demonstrating the 

need for such plan. The explanatory memorandum shall 

contain details to justify the period of time identified in which 

the uncapped rates for each policyholder will be achieved. 

14VAC5-345-50. Prohibited actions. 

A. A rate stabilization rule shall not apply to any changes 

impacting an individual's premium other than insurer initiated 

rate increases or decreases. 

B. A rate stabilization rule shall not apply to any decrease as 

a result of the application of the provisions of § 38.2-1904 D 

of the Code of Virginia. 

C. A rate stabilization plan shall not be designed to generate 

more total revenue than would otherwise be generated in the 

absence of the plan, resulting in an undue benefit to the 

insurer. 

D. A rate stabilization rule shall not apply to any decrease as 

a result of the application of the provisions of §§ 38.2-2126 

(property) and 38.2-2234 (personal auto) of the Code of 

Virginia. 

E. A rate stabilization plan shall not apply for an undefined 

or unlimited period of time. 

F. No more than one rate stabilization plan shall apply to 

any one policy at any given time. 

G. A rate stabilization plan shall not be used to control 

increases or decreases in rates or premiums based on 
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predicted price elasticity of demand on individual 

policyholders. 

14VAC5-345-60. Certification. 

A. In any filing proposing a rate stabilization plan, the 

insurer shall complete, certify, and include the Rate 

Stabilization Plan Certification (Form 345-A). 

B. In any rate filing made subsequent to the implementation 

of a rate stabilization plan where historical premiums have 

been capped (whether increases or decreases), the insurer's 

actuary shall provide a signed statement certifying that the 

actuarial indication does not redundantly measure rate need. 

14VAC5-345-70. Severability. 

If any provision of this chapter or its application to any 

person or circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid by 

a court, the remainder of this chapter and the application of 

the provisions to other persons or circumstances shall not be 

affected. 

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of the form 

with a hyperlink to access it. The form is also available from 

the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (14VAC5-345) 

Rate Stabilization Plan Certification, Form 345-A, (eff. 

9/2016) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4678; Filed July 15, 2016, 11:21 a.m.  

 ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 17. LIBRARIES AND CULTURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF HISTORIC RESOURCES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 17VAC5-20. Regulations Governing 

Permits for the Archaeological Removal of Human 

Remains (amending 17VAC5-20-30 through 17VAC5-20-

60).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-2205 and 10.1-2305 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 20, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Pullen, Executive Assistant, 

Department of Historic Resources, 2801 Kensington Avenue, 

Richmond, VA 23221, telephone (804) 482-6085, FAX (804) 

367-2391, or email jennifer.pullen@dhr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 588 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments revise the regulations so that permit 

applications include (i) proof of ownership of the property 

of the archaeological site upon which the field 

investigation will be conducted, (ii) a signed statement 

confirming both financial and other resources for reburial 

in an appropriate location, and (iii) a current email 

address.  

The amendments also require the permit applicant to (i) 

publish notice in a local newspaper, post notice of the 

planned activity and other information at the investigation 

site, and provide notice to local historical and 

genealogical commissions and societies; (ii) provide notice 

of at least one public hearing; and (iii) include in the 

notice a statement regarding the reason for the proposed 

relocation and the street address of one or more locations 

in the project vicinity where a copy of the complete 

application can be viewed by members of the general 

public during regular business hours. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

17VAC5-20-30. General provisions.  

Any person conducting any field investigation involving the 

removal of human remains or associated artifacts from any 

unmarked human burial on an archaeological site shall first 

obtain a permit from the director.  

1. No field investigation involving the removal of human 

remains or associated artifacts from any unmarked human 

burial on an archaeological site shall be conducted without 

a permit.  

2. In cases where a field investigation may reasonably be 

anticipated to involve the excavation and removal of 

human remains or associated artifacts, the person 

conducting such investigation may obtain a permit prior to 

the actual discovery of human burials.  

3. In any case where human remains are encountered in a 

field investigation without having received a permit, all 

work on the burial or burials shall cease until a permit has 

been obtained.  

4. No field investigation involving the removal of human 

remains or associated artifacts from any unmarked human 

burial on an archaeological site shall be performed except 

under the supervision and control of an archaeologist 

meeting the qualifications stated in 17VAC5-20-40.  

5. Any human remains removed in the course of field 

investigations shall be examined by a skeletal biologist or 

other specialist meeting the qualifications stated in 

17VAC5-20-40.  

6. Any approved field investigation shall include an 

interim progress report summarizing the field portion of 

the permitted investigation within 60 days of completion of 

the removal of all human remains and associated artifacts. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ba3be004678~2&typ=40&actno=004678&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ba3be004678~2&typ=40&actno=004678&mime=application/pdf


Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 8, 2016 

3425 

Reports indicating progress on analysis and report 

preparation shall be submitted to the department at 90-day 

intervals until the final report and disposition are 

accomplished.  

7. The applicant shall make the site and laboratory 

available to the department for purposes of monitoring 

progress and compliance with this chapter as requested by 

the department.  

8. A copy of the final report including the analysis of 

materials removed from the burial shall be delivered to the 

director according to the timetable described in the 

application.  

9. Documentation of final disposition as required by the 

permit shall be delivered to the department within 15 days 

of such disposition.  

10. Work conducted under a permit will not be considered 

complete until all reports and documentation have been 

submitted to and reviewed by the department to meet all 

conditions cited in this chapter or specified as part of an 

approved permit.  

11. Failure to complete the conditions of the permit within 

the permitted time limit may result in revocation of the 

permit and constitute grounds for denial of future 

applications.  

11. 12. The applicant may apply for an extension or change 

to the conditions of the permit, including changes in 

research design, principal personnel or disposition, for 

good cause. Granting such an extension or alteration will 

be at the discretion of the director, after consultation with 

interested parties.  

17VAC5-20-40. Permit application.  

A. Application for a permit shall be in such form as required 

by the director, but shall include the following basic 

information:  

1. Name, address, email address, phone number, and 

institutional affiliation of the applicant.  

2. Location and description of the archaeological site for 

which field investigation is proposed, including site 

number if assigned.  

3. Proof of ownership of the archaeological site or the 

property on which the field investigation is to be 

conducted. 

3. 4. A written statement of the landowner's permission 

both to conduct such research and to remove human 

remains on his the landowner's property, and allowing the 

director or his the director's designee access to the field 

investigation site at any reasonable time for the duration of 

the permit. The landowner's signature should to the written 

statement shall be notarized.  

4. 5. Applicant shall provide evidence indicating a signed 

statement confirming that adequate resources (financial 

and otherwise) are available to carry out the approved 

research design including respectful reburial in an 

appropriate location.  

5. 6. Applicant shall indicate whether or not this permit is 

being requested as part of a federal, state, or local 

government undertaking and, if so, shall provide a brief 

description of the undertaking.  

B. A statement of goals and objectives of the project and 

proposed research design shall be provided as part of the 

permit application. The research design shall, at a minimum, 

address the following:  

1. How the research design adheres to professionally 

accepted methods, standards, and processes used to obtain, 

evaluate, and analyze data on mortuary practices in 

particular and cultural practices in general.  

2. Field documentation which shall include, but not be 

limited to (i) photographs, (ii) maps, (iii) drawings, and 

(iv) written records. Collected information shall include, 

but not be limited to (i) considerations of containment 

devices, (ii) burial shaft or entombment configuration, (iii) 

burial placement processes, (iv) skeletal positioning and 

orientation, (v) evidence of ceremonialism or religious 

practices, and (vi) grave items or artifacts analyses.  

To the extent possible, the cultural information shall be 

examined at the regional level with appropriate archival 

research. The results of the evaluation, along with the 

osteological analysis, will be submitted in report form to 

the director for review, comment, and final acceptance.  

3. The planned osteological examination of the human 

skeletons which shall include determinations of age, sex, 

racial affiliation, dental structure, and bone inventories for 

each individual in order to facilitate comparative studies of 

bone and dental disease. Said inventories shall provide to 

the extent possible a precise count of all skeletal elements 

observed, as well as the degree of preservation (complete 

or partial); separate tabulation of the proximal and distal 

joint surfaces for the major long bones should be recorded.  

The research design should also address at a minimum the 

following additional analytical techniques and when they 

will be used: under what circumstances will bone be 

examined and x-rayed if necessary, to detect lesions or 

conditions resulting from disease, malnutrition, trauma, or 

congenital defects; the presence of dental pathological 

conditions including carious lesions, premortem tooth loss, 

and alveolar abscessing to be recorded: craniometric and 

postcraniometric data to be obtained in a systematic format 

that provides basic information such as stature; and other 

techniques as appropriate. Although the initial focus 

concerns description and documentation of a specific 

sample, the long-term objective is to obtain information 

that will facilitate future comparative research. The report 

based on the osteological analysis should identify the 

research objectives, method of analysis, and results. 

Specific data (e.g., measurements, discrete trait 

observations) supplementing those traits comprising the 
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main body of the report may be provided in a separate file 

including, for example, tables, graphs, and copies of 

original data collection forms. Unique pathological 

specimens should be photographed as part of basic 

documentation.  

4. The expected timetable for excavation, analysis and 

preparation of the final report on the entire investigation.  

C. A resume, vitae, or other statement of qualification shall 

be provided as part of the permit application demonstrating 

that the persons planning and supervising the field 

investigation and subsequent analysis meet the minimum 

qualifications consistent with the federal standards as cited in 

36 CFR 61 and 43 CFR 7, as follows:  

1. The qualifications of the archaeologist performing or 

supervising the work shall include a graduate degree in 

archaeology, anthropology, or closely related field plus:  

a. At least one year of full-time professional experience 

or equivalent specialized training in archaeological 

research, administration, or management;  

b. At least four months of supervised field and analytic 

experience in general North American archaeology; and  

c. Demonstrated ability to carry research to completion.  

In addition, a prehistoric archaeologist shall have at least 

one year of full-time experience at a supervisory level in 

the study of archaeological resources of the prehistoric 

period. An historic archaeologist shall have at least one 

year of full-time experience at a supervisory level in the 

study of archaeological resources of the historic period.  

2. The qualifications of the skeletal biologist needed to 

undertake the types of analyses outlined in subdivision B 3 

of this section should have at least a Masters degree with a 

specialization in human skeletal biology, bioarchaeology, 

forensic anthropology, or some other field of physical 

anthropology, plus two years of laboratory experience in 

the analysis of human skeletal remains. The individual 

must be able to develop a research design appropriate to 

the particular circumstances of the study and to conduct 

analyses of skeletal samples (including age, sex, race, 

osteometry, identification of osteological and dental 

disease, and the like), employing state-of-the-art 

technology. The individual must have the documented 

ability to produce a concise written report of the findings 

and their interpretation.  

D. Under extraordinary circumstances, the director shall 

have the authority to waive the requirements of research 

design and professional qualifications.  

E. The permit application shall also include a statement 

describing the curation, which shall be respectful, and the 

proposed disposition of the remains upon completion of the 

research. When any disposition other than reburial is 

proposed, then the application shall also include a statement 

of the reasons for alternative disposition and the benefits to be 

gained thereby. In the absence of special conditions, 

including those that may come to light during excavation or 

analysis, this disposition shall be reburial within a two-year 

period from the date of removal unless requested otherwise 

by next of kin or other closely affiliated party.  

F. When a waiver of public notice or other requirement 

based on an emergency situation is requested by the applicant 

then the permit application must include:  

1. A statement describing specific threats facing the human 

skeletal remains or associated artifacts. This statement 

must make it clear why the emergency justifies the 

requested waiver.  

2. A statement describing the known or expected location 

of the burials or the factors that suggest the presence of 

burials.  

3. A statement describing the conservation methods that 

will be used, especially for skeletal material. Note that 

conservation treatment of bones should be reversible.  

17VAC5-20-50. Public comment.  

A. Upon receiving notice from the director that the permit 

application is complete, the applicant shall arrange for public 

notification as deemed appropriate by the department.  

B. In all cases, the applicant shall publish, or cause to be 

published, a notice in a newspaper of general circulation in 

the area where the field investigation will occur written notice 

in the following manners: notice in at least one local 

newspaper of general circulation in the area where the field 

investigation will occur; notice posted at the site of the 

graveyard or burial; notice to any historic preservation or 

other such commission, as well as area historical and 

genealogical societies; and notice of at least one public 

hearing. This Each notice shall include:  

1. Name The name and address of applicant.; 

2. Brief A brief description of proposed field 

investigation.; 

3. A statement regarding the reason for the proposed 

relocation; 

4. A statement informing the public reader that they the 

reader can request a public meeting.; 

4. 5. A contact name, address, email address, and the 

phone number where they the reader can get more 

information, including a location in the project vicinity 

where a copy of the complete application can be viewed.; 

6. The street address of one or more locations in the project 

vicinity where a copy of the complete application can be 

viewed by members of the general public during regular 

business hours;  

5. 7. A statement that the complete application can also be 

reviewed and copied at the department. or on the 

department's website; 

6. When any disposition other than reburial is proposed, 

this must be stated in the public notice. The notice should 

contain a 8. A statement of regarding the proposed 
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disposition and of any human remains and associated 

funerary objects recovered during the permitted recovery 

process. If any disposition other than reburial is proposed, 

the notice must specifically request public comment on this 

aspect of the application.; and 

7. Deadline 9. The deadline for receipt of comments.  

The notice shall be of a form approved by the director and 

shall invite interested persons to express their views on all 

aspects of the proposed field investigation to the director by a 

date certain prior to the issuance of the permit. Such notice 

shall be published once each week for four consecutive 

weeks.  

C. Such The public notice requirement may be waived:  

1. If the applicant can document that the family of the 

deceased has been contacted directly and is in agreement 

with the proposed actions.  

2. 1. In cases where the applicant has demonstrated that, 

due to the rarity of the site or its scientific or monetary 

value and where security is not possible, there is a 

likelihood it is likely that looting or other damage to the 

burial or surrounding site would occur as a result of the 

public notice.  

3. If 2. In the case of an emergency and if, in the opinion of 

the director, the severity of a demonstrated emergency is 

such that compliance with the above public notice 

requirements may result in vandalism, looting, or the loss 

of significant information, or that the publication of such 

notice may substantially increase the threat of such loss 

through vandalism, the director, in such cases, may issue a 

permit prior to completion of the public notice and 

comment requirements. In such cases the The applicant 

shall provide for such public notice and comment as 

determined by the director to be appropriate under the 

circumstances.  

D. In cases of marked burials where a permit is sought 

pursuant to a court order subject to § 57-38.1 or 57-39 of the 

Code of Virginia, and in accordance with § 10.1-2305 C of 

the Code of Virginia, the applicant shall provide evidence of a 

reasonable effort to identify and notify next of kin.  

E. In addition to the notification described in subsection B 

of this section, in the case of both prehistoric and historic 

Native American burials, the department shall inform the 

Virginia Council on Indians and the appropriate tribal leaders 

of state-recognized and federally recognized tribes.  

F. The department shall maintain a list of individuals and 

organizations who have asked to be notified of permit actions. 

This list will be updated annually and notices sent to all 

parties currently listed. In all cases notification shall be sent 

to the appropriate local jurisdiction.  

G. Prior to the issuance of a permit, the director may elect to 

hold a public meeting on the permit application. The purpose 

of the public meeting shall be to obtain public comment on 

the proposed field investigations. The director shall decide 

whether or not to hold a public meeting on a case-by-case 

basis, and will include any requests following from the public 

notice in such considerations.  

17VAC5-20-60. Issuance or denial of permit.  

A. Upon completion of the public comment period, the 

director shall decide whether to issue the permit within a 30-

day review period. In the event the director received no 

adverse public comment, no further action is required prior to 

decision.  

B. The director shall consider any comment received and 

evaluate it in the light of the benefits of the proposed 

investigation, the severity of any emergency, or the amount of 

scientific information which may be lost in the event no 

permit is issued. The director may also take such comments 

into account in establishing any conditions of the permit. In 

considering such comment, the director shall give priority to 

comments and recommendations made by individuals and 

parties most closely connected with the human burials subject 

to the application.  

C. In making his a decision on the permit application, the 

director shall consider the following:  

1. The level of threat facing the human skeletal remains 

and associated cultural resources.  

2. The appropriateness of the goals, objectives, research, 

design, and qualifications of the applicants to complete the 

proposed research in a scientific fashion. The director shall 

consider the United States Secretary of the Interior's 

Standards and Guidelines for Archaeology and Historic 

Preservation, set out at 48 FR 44716 (September 29, 1983), 

in determining the appropriateness of the proposed 

research and in evaluating the qualifications of the 

applicants.  

3. Comments received from the public.  

4. The appropriateness of the proposed disposition of 

remains upon completion of the research. The director may 

specify a required disposition as a condition of granting the 

permit.  

5. The performance of the applicant on any prior permitted 

investigation.  

6. The applicability of other federal, state and local laws 

and regulations.  

D. Failure to adequately meet all conditions in a previous 

permit shall be grounds for denial of any subsequent permit 

applications.  

E. In the event the director proposes to deny a permit 

application, the director shall conduct an informal conference 

in accordance with § 9-6.14:11 2.2-4019 of the 

Administrative Process Act.  

F. The permit shall contain such conditions which, in the 

judgment of the director, will protect the excavated human 

remains or associated artifacts.  
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G. A permit shall be valid for a period of time to be 

determined by the director as appropriate under the 

circumstances.  

H. The director may extend or change the period or 

conditions of the permit or the period of analysis as noted in 

subdivision 11 12 of 17VAC5-20-30. In order to obtain such 

an extension or change the applicant must submit a written 

request demonstrating good cause. "Good cause" may include 

but not be limited to situations in which many more burials 

were encountered than were expected in the original permit 

application or where a new analytical technique or question 

will be applied within an expanded term of the permit. In 

making any decision to extend a permit, the director will 

consult with appropriate interested parties as identified in the 

initial public review.  

I. The director may revoke any permit issued under this 

chapter for good cause shown. Such revocation shall be in 

accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Process 

Act.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3990; Filed July 6, 2016, 4:03 p.m.  

 ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Notice of Objection to Fast-Track Rulemaking 
Action 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Pursuant to § 2.2-4012.1 of the 

Code of Virginia, the Board of Medicine has filed a notice of 

objection to the fast-track rulemaking action published in 

32:21 VA.R. 2695-2697 June 13, 2016. The board intends to 

proceed with the normal promulgation process set out in 

Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of the 

Administrative Process Act with the initial publication of the 

fast-track regulation serving as the Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-80. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Occupational Therapists (amending 

18VAC85-80-71).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2912.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

The Virginia Board of Medicine is hereby filing a notice of 

objection to the fast-track rulemaking for regulation 

18VAC85-80, Regulations Governing the Licensure of 

Occupational Therapists. The proposed fast-track regulation 

was published in Volume 32, Issue 21, page 2695-2697 of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations, dated June 13, 2016. A 45-

day comment period was provided and public comment was 

received through July 13, 2016. 

The fast-track regulation was intended to (i) allow 

occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants to 

fulfill licensure continued competency requirements by 

maintenance of current certification by the National Board of 

Certification in Occupational Therapy and (ii) clarify that 

licensees are not required to complete the Continued 

Competency Activity and Assessment Form to renew 

licensure biennially.  

The board received the requisite 10 or more objections to the 

amendments; commenters do not believe this action has been 

adequately discussed by stakeholders. There were questions 

about the process of audits and the interpretation of 

competency assessment activities. Finally, the commenters 

believe there are differences between the National Board for 

Certification in Occupational Therapy requirements and state 

requirements for continuing competency.  

Due to the objections, the board is terminating the fast-track 

rulemaking process and intends to promulgate the 

amendments under the Administrative Process Act, utilizing 

the fast-track notice as its Notice of Intended Regulatory 

Action.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4544; Filed July 13, 2016, 3:00 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Pharmacy is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 13 of the Code 

of Virginia, which exempts amendments to regulations of the 

board to schedule a substance in Schedule I or II pursuant to 

subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of Virginia. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-322).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3443 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 7, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments place 17 compounds into Schedule I of 

the Drug Control Act. The added compounds will remain 

in effect for 18 months or until the compounds are placed 

in Schedule I by action of the General Assembly. The 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/toc.aspx?voliss=32:21
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-3443/
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amendments also remove the listings of compounds 

scheduled in the Drug Control Act by the General 

Assembly in 2016. 

18VAC110-20-322. Placement of chemicals in Schedule I. 

A. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following 

substances in Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Cannabimimetic agents: 

a. N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-

(cyclohexylmethyl)indazole-3-

carboxamide (other names: ADB-CHMINACA, MAB-

CHMINACA); 

b. Methyl 2-(1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-

carboxamido)-3-methylbutanoate (other name: 5-fluoro-

AMB); 

c. 1-naphthalenyl 1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indole-3-

carboxylate (other name: NM-2201); and 

d. 1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-3-(2,2,3,3-

tetramethylcyclopropylmethanone)indole (other name: 

FUB-144). 

2. Substituted cathinones: 

a. 4-bromomethcathinone (other name: 4-BMC); and 

b. 4-chloromethcathinone (other name: 4-CMC). 

The placement of drugs in this subsection shall remain in 

effect until February 11, 2017, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

B. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Acetyl fentanyl (other name: desmethyl fentanyl).  

2. Etizolam.  

3. 4-Iodo-2, 5-dimethoxy-N-[(2-hydroxyphenyl) methyl]-

benzeneethanamine (other name: 25I-NBOH). 

4. Cannabimimetic agent: 

1-(5-fluoropentyl)-3-(4-methyl-1-naphthoyl) indole 

(MAM-2201). 

5. Substituted cathinones: 

a. Alpha-Pyrrolidinohexiophenone (other name: alpha-

PHP); and  

b. Alpha-Pyrrolidinoheptiophenone (other name: PV8). 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until June 1, 2017, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act.  

C. A. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code 

of Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-

butanamide (other name: butyryl fentanyl). 

2. Flubromazolam. 

3. 5-methoxy-N,N-methylisopropyltryptamine (Other 

name: 5-MeO-MIPT). 

4. Cannabimimetic agents: 

a. N-(1-Amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-[(4-

fluorophenyl)methyl]-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide (other 

name: ADB-FUBINACA); 

b. Methyl 2-[1-[(4-fluorophenyl)methyl]-1H-indazole-3-

carboxamido]-3,3-dimethylbutanoate (other name: 

MDMB-FUBINACA); and 

c. Methyl 2-[1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-

carboxamido]-3,3-dimethylbutanoate (other names: 5-

fluoro-ADB, 5-Fluoro-MDMB-PINACA). 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until December 14, 2017, unless enacted into law in 

the Drug Control Act.  

B. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Beta-keto-N,N-dimethylbenzodioxolylbutanamine (other 

names: Dibutylone, bk-DMBDB); 

2. 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(ethylamino)-1-pentanone 

(other name: N-ethylpentylone); 

3. 1-[1-(3-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexyl]piperidine (other 

name: 3-methoxy PCP); 

4. 1-[1-(4-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexyl]piperidine (other 

name: 4-methoxy PCP); 

5. 4-Chloroethcathinone (other name: 4-CEC); 

6. 3-Methoxy-2-(methylamino)-1-(4-methylphenyl)-1-

propanone (other name: Mexedrone); 

7. 3,4-dichloro-N-[2-(dimethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-

methyl-benzamide (other name: U-47700); 

8. 3,4-dichloro-N-{[1-

(dimethylamino)cyclohexyl]methyl}benzamide (other 

name: AH-7921); 

9. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-

pentanamide (other name: Pentanoyl fentanyl); 

10. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-2-

furancarboxamide (other name: Furanyl fentanyl); 

11. N-(3-fluorophenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-

propanamide (other name: 3-fluorofentanyl); and 

12. Clonazolam; and 

13. Cannabimimetic agents: 

a. Methyl 2-({1-[(4-fluorophenyl)methyl]-1H-indazole-

3-carbonyl}amino)-3-methylbutanoate (other names: 

AMB-FUBINACA, FUB-AMB); 

b. N-(adamantan-1-yl)-1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indazole-

3-carboxamide (other name: FUB-AKB48); 

c. N-(adamantan-1-yl)-1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-

carboxamide (other name: 5F-AKB48); 
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d. Naphthalen-1-yl 1-pentyl-1H-indazole-3-carboxylate 

(other name: SDB-005); and 

e. N-(1-amino-3-methyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-

(cyclohexylmethyl)indole-3-carboxamide (other name: 

AB-CHMICA). 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until March 7, 2018, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4753; Filed July 12, 2016, 2:41 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation is claiming an exclusion from 

Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance 

with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which 

excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to changes 

in Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion is 

involved. The Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 

any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC120-40. Virginia Professional 

Boxing and Wrestling Events Regulations (amending 

18VAC120-40-10 through 18VAC120-40-85, 18VAC120-

40-110 through 18VAC120-40-140, 18VAC120-40-170, 

18VAC120-40-180, 18VAC120-40-190, 18VAC120-40-210, 

18VAC120-40-220, 18VAC120-40-411.1, 18VAC120-40-

411.5, 18VAC120-40-411.7).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-831 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 7, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (866) 465-6206, or email 

boxing@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

To conform to Chapter 756 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, 

the amendments exempt amateur boxing from requirements 

of the chapter and revise the requirements for sanctioning 

organizations to receive authorization from the director of 

the agency to oversee amateur martial arts events. 

Part I  

Scope  

18VAC120-40-10. Scope.  

This chapter contains procedures and requirements for the 

licensure of individuals and firms to engage in the conduct of 

professional boxing, martial arts, and wrestling events as 

provided for in Chapter 8.1 (§ 54.1-828 et seq.) of Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia.  

The director of the department is empowered to (i) 

promulgate this chapter, (ii) issue licenses, (iii) investigate to 

determine compliance with this chapter, and (iv) take 

disciplinary action, in accordance with the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act, against those who fail to comply 

with this chapter. Furthermore, to the extent applicable, this 

chapter shall be construed in accordance with and governed 

by Virginia's Administrative Process Act. The director is also 

empowered to contract with a vendor to perform certain tasks 

on the director's behalf. These tasks include examining and 

recommending licensure, investigating and ensuring that 

events are conducted in compliance with statutes and 

regulations, performing clerical duties, collecting fees, 

maintaining records, developing proposed regulations, and 

recommending enforcement actions. 

18VAC120-40-15. Applicability. 

As referenced in this chapter and in § 54.1-828 of the Code 

of Virginia, boxing includes boxing, kick boxing, mixed 

martial arts, or similar contests. Individuals participating in 

these events are required to be licensed as a boxer. 

Requirements to obtain a boxer license are set forth in 

18VAC120-40-70 and 18VAC120-40-80. Event licensing and 

conduct standards for boxing are set forth in 18VAC120-40-

85, and 18VAC120-40-230 through 18VAC120-40-410. 

Event licensing and conduct standards for kick boxing and 

other similar contests, including mixed martial arts, are set 

forth in 18VAC120-40-85, and 18VAC120-40-411 through 

18VAC120-40-411.21. 

Individuals participating in wrestling events are required to 

be licensed as a wrestler. Requirements to obtain a wrestler 

license are set forth in 18VAC120-40-70 and 18VAC120-40-

90. Event licensing and conduct standards for wrestling are 

set forth in 18VAC120-40-415 through 18VAC120-40-415.3. 

Part II  

General Provisions  

18VAC120-40-20. Definitions.  

A. Section 54.1-828 of the Code of Virginia provides 

definitions of the following terms: 

Boxer 

Boxing 

Cable television system 

Contractor 

Department 

Director 

Event 

License 

Manager 

Martial artist 

Martial arts or mixed martial arts 

Matchmaker 

Person 
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Promote 

Promoter 

Regulant 

Trainer, second, or cut man 

Wrestler 

Wrestling  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Assistant event inspector" means the individual assigned to 

assist the event inspector.  

"Boxer registry" or "martial artist registry" means any entity 

certified by the Association of Boxing Commissions for the 

purposes of maintaining records and identification of boxers 

and martial artists.  

"Charity event" means an event where all or a portion of the 

proceeds are donated to a charitable organization that is tax-

exempt under § 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. 

"Contest," "bout," or "match" means the portion of an event 

wherein specific individuals (two boxers, two martial artists, 

or two or more wrestlers) engage in boxing or wrestling 

which ends when a decision is reached.  

"Event," as defined in § 54.1-828 of the Code of Virginia, 

begins when a promoter takes possession or control of a 

facility or area as specified in the contract between the 

promoter and the facility and lasts until the promoter releases 

control of the facility or area. One event shall not exceed one 

24-hour period.  

"Event inspector" means the individual assigned to be in 

overall charge of the conduct of an event to assure 

compliance with this chapter.  

"Event license" means a method of regulation whereby any 

promoter arranging or conducting a boxing or wrestling event 

is required to obtain a prior authorization from the 

department.  

"Event officials" means those individuals assigned to carry 

out the duties of an event inspector, assistant event inspector, 

inspector, referee, timekeeper, judge, or ringside physician as 

established by this chapter.  

"Firm" means any sole proprietorship, general partnership, 

limited partnership, limited liability company, association, 

corporation, or other business entity.  

"Inspector" means the individual assigned to assist the event 

inspector as provided for in this chapter.  

"Judge" means an individual assigned to score a boxing or 

martial arts contest as provided for in this chapter.  

"Licensed event" means an event that has been issued a 

license from the department in accordance with this chapter.  

"Rabbit punch" means a blow delivered by a boxer or 

martial artist against his opponent that strikes the back of the 

opponent's neck or head with a chopping motion or punch.  

"Referee" means the event official assigned to a boxing or 

martial arts contest to assure the proper conduct of the contest 

and the safety of the contestants or the licensed wrestler 

assigned to a wrestling contest to assure the safety of the 

spectators as provided for in this chapter.  

"Responsible management" means the following 

individuals:  

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship;  

2. The partners of a general partnership;  

3. The general partners of a limited partnership;  

4. The officers of a corporation;  

5. The managers of a limited liability company; or  

6. The officers and directors of an association.  

"Ringside physician" means the medical doctor assigned to 

assure the medical health and safety of each boxer or martial 

artist as provided for in this chapter.  

"Task force" means the professional boxing, martial arts, 

and wrestling task force.  

"Ten point must system" means the winner of the round 

must receive 10 points. 

"Timekeeper" means the individual assigned to time each 

round and the interval between rounds, and to count for 

knockdowns as provided for in this chapter.  

18VAC120-40-40. License expiration and renewal.  

A. Except as set out in subsection B of this section, each 

license, other than an event license or a limited boxer, martial 

artist, or wrestler license, shall expire on December 31 of the 

year in which the license was issued, except that licenses 

issued during the last 45 days of any calendar year shall 

expire on December 31 of the following calendar year.  

B. Each license to conduct a boxing, martial arts, or 

wrestling event issued to a licensed promoter shall be valid 

only for the duration of the event described in the application 

for licensure. Each limited license issued to a boxer, martial 

artist, or wrestler shall be valid only for the duration of one 

specifically identified event or two specifically identified 

events held on consecutive days at the same location.  

C. Prior to the expiration date shown on the license, each 

licensee desiring to renew the license shall cause the 

department or its contractor to receive a photocopy of his 

license and the fee specified in 18VAC120-40-50.  

D. The department may deny renewal of a license for the 

same reasons as it may refuse initial licensure or discipline a 

current licensee.  

18VAC120-40-50. Fees.  

A. Each applicant shall submit the following fee along with 

the application for licensure:  

  Boxer $40 

  Boxer--limited $30 
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  Martial artist $40 

  Martial artist--limited $30 

  Wrestler $40 

  Wrestler--limited $30 

  Manager $50 

  Promoter $500 

  Trainer, second, and cutman cut man $40 

  Matchmaker $50 

B. Each application for a boxing event license shall be 

accompanied by the following fee:  

1. Scheduled events of 42 rounds or fewer, with no more 

than one nontitle 10- 10-round or 12-round bout—$1,500.  

2. Scheduled events exceeding 42 rounds, with more than 

one nontitle 10- 10-round or 12-round bout or any event 

with a title bout—$2,000.  

C. Each application for a wrestling event license shall be 

accompanied by a fee of $125.  

D. All fees are nonrefundable.  

18VAC120-40-70. Application requirements.  

A. Applicants shall apply on forms supplied by the 

department or its contractor.  

B. Individual applicants shall be at least 18 years of age.  

C. The applicant shall disclose the following information 

about himself, in the case of an individual, or about the firm 

and every member of the responsible management of the 

firm, in the case of a firm:  

1. Any guilty finding by the department, or by a court of 

any competent jurisdiction, of any material 

misrepresentation while engaged in boxing, martial arts, 

wrestling, or other athletic activities, or any conviction, 

guilty plea, or finding of guilty, regardless of adjudication 

or deferred adjudication, of any felony or misdemeanor;  

2. Any disciplinary action taken by the department or 

another jurisdiction in connection with the applicant's 

participation in or promotion of professional athletic 

contests or activities including, but not limited to, 

monetary penalty, fine, suspension, revocation, or 

surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary 

action; and  

3. Any currently or previously held boxing, martial arts, or 

wrestling licenses issued by this Commonwealth or any 

other jurisdiction.  

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purposes of this subsection. A certified 

copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a court or 

regulatory agency with the lawful authority to issue such 

order, decree, or case decision shall be admissible as prima 

facie evidence of such conviction or discipline. Subject to 

the provisions of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, the 

department may deny an application for a license if, in its 

judgment, the actions disclosed in subdivisions 1 and 2 of 

this subsection would render the applicant unfit or unsuited 

to engage in boxing, wrestling, or other athletic activities.  

D. Each individual applicant shall disclose his physical 

address and each firm applying for licensure shall disclose the 

physical addresses of the firm and the firm's responsible 

management. A post office box shall not be accepted in lieu 

of a physical address.  

E. The fee established by 18VAC120-40-50 A shall 

accompany the application and shall not be refunded.  

F. The receipt of an application and the deposit of fees in no 

way indicates indicate approval by the department.  

Part III  

Individual Licensing Standards  

18VAC120-40-80. Entry requirements for boxer and 

martial artist.  

Each applicant for a license as a boxer or martial artist shall 

submit a completed application as described in 18VAC120-

40-70 and shall:  

1. Have a satisfactory record of professional boxing, 

professional martial arts, or, in the case of applicants who 

have participated in fewer than five professional boxing or 

professional martial arts bouts, evidence of competency in 

the elements of offense and defense. Such evidence may 

take the form of signed statements from individuals who 

have provided training to the applicant or records of the 

applicant's conduct in amateur as well as professional 

boxing or professional martial arts competition and shall be 

sufficient to satisfy the department that the applicant has 

the ability to compete.  

2. Submit the following certification:  

"I understand as a professional boxer or professional 

martial artist I should be aware that this sport includes 

many health and safety risks, in particular the risk of brain 

injury. As such I will take the necessary medical exams 

that detect brain injury. If I need further information about 

these exams I will ask my doctor or staff of the 

department." 

3. Submit a complete professional record or, if amateur just 

turning professional, an amateur record, an amateur 

passbook recognized by USA Boxing for boxers, or a letter 

from the applicant's trainer certifying the applicant's 

boxing or martial arts experience, skill level, physical 

condition, and current training program. 

4. Submit a certification from a licensed physician within 

the past six months certifying that the applicant is in good 

physical health and that the physician has not observed any 

abnormalities or deficiencies that would prevent the 

applicant from participation in a boxing or martial arts 

event or endanger the applicant, the public, officials, or 

other licensees participating in the event. The department 
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may require additional medical tests to determine the 

fitness of a boxer or martial artist upon receipt of reliable 

information of a preexisting condition that may present a 

danger to the boxer or martial artist.  

18VAC120-40-85. Requirements for boxer, martial artist, 

or contestant prior to an event or contest. 

Each boxer or contestant shall provide the department a 

negative test for the following prior to an event or contest: 

1. Antibodies to the human immunodeficiency virus; 

2. Hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg); and 

3. Antibodies of virus hepatitis C. 

Such tests shall be conducted within the 180 days preceding 

the event. A boxer, martial artist, or contestant who fails to 

provide the department with the required negative test results 

shall not be permitted to compete in the event or contest. The 

provisions of this section shall not apply to participants in a 

wrestling or martial arts event.  

18VAC120-40-110. Entry requirements for matchmaker.  

Each applicant for a license as a matchmaker shall submit a 

completed application as described in 18VAC120-40-70 and 

a statement that the applicant does not employ and does not 

otherwise have a financial interest in or commercial 

connection with any wrestler, boxer, martial artist, manager, 

trainer, or second, except that which may be necessary to 

arrange a wrestler's or, boxer's, or martial artist's participation 

in a specific event. The department shall approve and issue all 

licenses in accordance with the standards established by the 

federal Professional Boxing Safety Act of 1996 (15 USC 

§ 6301 et seq.), as amended.  

18VAC120-40-120. Entry requirements for promoter.  

Each applicant for a license as a promoter shall submit a 

completed application as described in 18VAC120-40-70, a 

statement that the applicant possesses knowledge of this 

chapter, and the following certification:  

"I understand that I am not entitled to compensation in 

connection with a boxing or martial arts match, including 

gate fees, until I provide the department with a copy of any 

agreement in writing to which I and any boxer or martial 

artist participating in the match are parties; a statement 

made under penalty of perjury that there are no other 

agreements; a statement of fees, charges, and expenses that 

will be assessed by or through me on the boxer or martial 

artist, including any portion of the boxer's or martial artist's 

purse that I receive and training expenses; all payments, 

gifts, or benefits I am providing to any sanctioning 

organization affiliated with the event; and any reduction in 

the boxer's or martial artist's purse contract to a previous 

agreement between myself and the boxer or martial artist. 

Further, I understand that I am not entitled to compensation 

in connection with a boxing or martial artist match until I 

provide the boxer or martial artist I promote with the 

amounts of any compensation or consideration that I have 

contracted to receive from such match; all fees, charges, 

and expenses that will be assessed by or through me on the 

boxer or martial artist pertaining to the event, including 

any portion of the boxer's or martial artist's purse that I will 

receive and training expenses; and any reduction in a 

boxer's or martial artist's purse contract to a previous 

agreement between myself and the boxer or martial artist."  

The department shall approve and issue all licenses in 

accordance with the standards established by the federal 

Professional Boxing Safety Act of 1996 (15 USC § 6301 et 

seq.), as amended.  

18VAC120-40-130. Entry requirements for trainer, 

second, or cut man.  

Each applicant for a license as a trainer, second, or cut man 

shall submit a completed application as described in 

18VAC120-40-70 and evidence of a knowledge of:  

1. This chapter;  

2. The treatment of injuries;  

3. Physical conditioning, health care, nutrition, training, 

first aid, and the effects of alcohol as it relates to boxing 

and martial arts; and  

4. The bandaging of a boxer's or martial artist's hand.  

The required evidence may take the form of the applicant's 

official record from a state regulatory agency, signed 

statements from current or former client or clients, or other 

documentary evidence that establishes that the applicant is 

competent. The department shall approve and issue all 

licenses in accordance with the standards established by the 

federal Professional Boxing Safety Act of 1996 (15 USC 

§ 6301 et seq.), as amended.  

Part IV  

Official Approval and Assignment to Events  

18VAC120-40-140. Requirements for approval to act as 

an event official.  

A. To qualify to act on the department's behalf as an event 

official, a person must:  

1. Be at least 18 years of age;  

2. Not have been convicted or found guilty, regardless of 

adjudication, of any felony or other crime involving lying, 

cheating, or stealing, or involving illegal drugs or other 

acts involving the sport of boxing or martial arts. Any plea 

of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the 

purposes of this chapter. The record of conviction, 

authenticated in such form as to be admissible as evidence 

under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted, shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction; and  

3. Submit verifications from three persons of his 

proficiency as an event inspector, locker room inspector, 

referee, judge, or timekeeper, whichever is appropriate. 

Evidence of approval by the department, its contractor, or 

another jurisdiction with a regulatory program substantially 

equivalent to this chapter, may be submitted in lieu of the 

verifications from three persons.  
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B. In addition to requirements set forth in subsection A of 

this section, each referee or judge shall submit the following 

certification:  

"I understand that I am not entitled to receive any 

compensation in connection with a boxing or martial arts 

match until I provide the department a statement of all 

consideration, including reimbursement for expenses that 

will be received from any source for participation in the 

match."  

Part V  

Duties of Event Officials for Boxing, Kick Boxing and 

Similar Contests  

18VAC120-40-170. Duties of event inspectors.  

A. An event inspector shall be assigned by the department or 

its contractor to each event and shall be in overall charge of 

the conduct of the event and shall assure that all assigned 

inspectors, referees, timekeepers, judges, and ringside 

physicians are present and perform their duties.  

B. The event inspector shall officiate at weigh-in to assure 

that all boxers or martial artists are properly weighed and 

licensed, and shall assure that the boxers or martial artists 

have no weights or other objects which could influence the 

accuracy of the weighing.  

C. The assigned event inspector shall comply with all 

procedures established by the department and assure 

compliance with Chapter 8.1 (§ 54.1-828 et seq.) of Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

D. The assistant event inspector shall perform all duties 

assigned by the event inspector.  

18VAC120-40-180. Duties of locker room inspectors. 

A. Locker room inspectors shall be assigned to each event to 

assist the event inspector in the discharge of his duties.  

B. Locker room inspectors shall be assigned by the event 

inspector to be in charge of the locker room and the corners 

and shall accompany the boxers or martial artists to the 

corner. A locker room inspector shall remain in each corner 

and assure compliance with this chapter.  

C. A locker room inspector shall assist the event inspector 

during the weigh-in and, when requested, assist the ringside 

physician during the physical examination.  

D. Locker room inspectors shall comply with all procedures 

established by the department and perform other duties as 

assigned to assure compliance with this chapter.  

18VAC120-40-190. Duties of referees.  

An assigned referee shall pass a prefight physical performed 

by the ringside physician in accordance with 18VAC120-40-

220, comply with all procedures established by the 

department, perform other duties as assigned to assure 

compliance with this chapter, and perform the following 

duties before, during, and after each assigned contest:  

1. Provide the prefight instructions to boxers or martial 

artists;  

2. Assure that each boxer or martial artist is properly 

gloved and wearing the required safety equipment;  

3. Exercise supervision over the conduct of the contest to 

assure compliance with this chapter and to take immediate 

corrective action when a failure to comply is observed;  

4. Immediately stop any contest when, in his judgment, one 

of the boxers or martial artists is outclassed by the other, 

injured, or otherwise unable to safely continue to 

participate in the contest;  

5. Endeavor to perform his duties in a manner which does 

not impede the fair participation of either boxer or martial 

artist;  

6. Consult, when he feels it appropriate, with the ringside 

physician on the advisability of stopping the contest if 

either boxer or martial artist appears injured or unable to 

continue;  

7. Count for knockdowns and knockouts as provided for in 

18VAC120-40-340;  

8. Determine fouls and stop contests as provided in 

18VAC120-40-342 and 18VAC120-40-350;  

9. Immediately stop any contest and notify the 

department's representative or contractor present at the 

event if one or both of the boxers or martial artists is not 

putting forth his best effort; and  

10. Assure the health and well-being of the boxers and 

martial artists to the greatest extent possible.  

18VAC120-40-210. Duties of timekeepers.  

An assigned boxing or martial arts timekeeper shall comply 

with all procedures established by the department, perform 

other duties as assigned to assure compliance with this 

chapter, and perform the following duties before, during, and 

after each assigned contest:  

1. Provide a chronometer of a type suitable for timing the 

rounds of a boxing or martial arts contest;  

2. Assure that a warning is sounded 10 seconds before the 

start of each round by blowing a whistle or other sound 

easily heard by the boxers and martial artists and distinct 

from the sound signaling the beginning and end of each 

round;  

3. Assure that each round and the interval between each 

round is are correctly and uniformly timed and that a bell 

or gong with a distinctive tone which is easily heard by the 

boxers or martial artists is sounded at the beginning and 

end of each round;  

4. Assist the referee in the counting for a knockdown to 

assure the downed boxer or martial artist receives the 

correct amount of time allowed by this chapter to return to 

the contest; and  

5. Report to the event inspector or his designee promptly at 

the time directed.  
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18VAC120-40-220. Duties of ringside physicians.  

The assigned ringside physician shall comply with all 

procedures established by the department and perform the 

following duties before, during, and after each assigned 

contest: 

1. Conduct a physical examination of each referee 

immediately before the contest to assure his fitness to act 

as a referee. 

2. Conduct a physical examination and take a medical 

history of each boxer or martial artist immediately before 

the contest to assure his fitness to compete;  

3. Report to the event inspector or his designee promptly at 

the time directed and remain at ringside during the entire 

duration of all contests assigned; 

4. Signal the referee immediately in the event an injury is 

observed which the referee has not observed and enter the 

ring only after the referee has stopped or suspended the 

action; 

5. Render immediate medical aid to any boxer or martial 

artist injured during a contest and, where appropriate, 

accompany the boxer or martial artist to the hospital or 

other place where competent medical aid may be delivered. 

In no case shall the assigned ringside physician cease the 

direct application of his skills as a physician to an injured 

boxer or martial artist until such time as the ringside 

physician, in his best medical judgment, determines that 

his services are no longer necessary or the injured boxer or 

martial artist is under the care of other medically 

competent individuals;  

6. Assure all substances in the possession of seconds, 

trainers, or cut men are appropriate for use on boxers or 

martial artists during the course of the contest; and  

7. Report immediately to the department or its contractor 

his determination of the fitness of each boxer or martial 

artist to participate in the boxing or martial arts contest. A 

written report summarizing the results of his examination 

of each boxer or martial artist shall be provided to the 

department or its contractor within 24 hours after the date 

of the licensed boxing or martial arts event.  

18VAC120-40-411.1. Equipment to be provided by 

promoters. 

The promoter shall assure that each event shall have the 

following: 

1. A fighting ring that will be in the shape of a square, a 

hexagon, or an octagon. A square ring shall not be less 

than 18 feet square inside the ropes and shall not exceed 20 

feet square inside the ropes. A hexagon or octagon ring 

shall not be less than 18 feet (from any side to the opposite 

side) inside the ropes and shall not exceed 32 feet (from 

any side to the opposite side) inside the ropes. 

The ring floor shall be padded with ensolite one inch think 

thick or another similar closed-cell foam. The padded ring 

floor must extend at least 18 inches beyond the ropes and 

over the edge of the platform with a top covering of canvas 

or other similar material tightly stretched and laced to the 

ring platform. Material that tends to gather in lumps or 

ridges shall not be used.  

The ring platform shall not be more than five feet above 

the floor of the building and shall have suitable steps for 

use of the contestants in their corners and by the ringside 

physician in a neutral corner.  

Ring posts shall be of metal, not more than three inches in 

diameter, extending from the floor of the building to a 

height of 58 inches above the ring floor. The ring posts 

shall be at least 18 inches away from the ring ropes.  

There shall be four ring ropes, no more than one inch in 

diameter, evenly spaced, with the bottom ring rope not less 

than 18 inches above the ring floor and the top ring rope 

not more than 52 inches above the ring floor. The bottom 

ring rope must be padded with a padding of closed cell 

padding of not less than 1/2 inch (recommend (it is 

recommended that all ring roped be padded of the same 

thickness and material). Ropes are to be connected with 

soft rope ties six feet apart. All ring ropes are to be tight 

and approved.  

All corners must be padded with approved pads. All 

turnbuckles are to be covered with a protective padding. 

A ring stool and bucket shall be provided for each 

contestant's corner. The ring shall have bright lights and 

light all four corners and middle of the ring equally. No 

lights shall shine into the face of the contestants or ringside 

judges, lights may only shine downward and not shine at 

any angle directly into the fighting ring area that may blind 

the contestants or judges.  

The promoter shall provide a ringside restrictive barrier 

between the first row of ringside seats and the event 

official's area that will prevent the crowd from confronting 

either the contestants or event officials. The ringside 

barrier must be a minimum of eight feet from the outside 

edge of the ring. 

2. A bell or gong located at the ring no higher than the 

floor level of the ring. The bell or gong must produce a 

clear tone easily heard by the contestants. 

3. Locker rooms adequate in number and equipment to 

reasonably facilitate the contestant's activities before and 

after the contest. Separate locker rooms shall be provided 

when both male and female contestants are scheduled to 

compete. Locker rooms shall have restroom facilities easily 

available. 

4. A fully equipped ambulance with a currently trained 

ambulance crew at the site of any event for the entire 

duration of the event. 

5. A notice to the nearest hospital and the persons in charge 

of its emergency room of the date, time, and location of 

event. 
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6. Boxing gloves Gloves of the proper weight that are set 

by weight classification by rule. Boxing gloves Gloves 

must have laces to secure proper fit. Gloves must have an 

attached thumb to the body of the glove. Gloves must be 

clean, free of cuts, and have good laces, with no 

displacement or lumping of padding material. Gloves used 

in world title fights shall be new and taken from the 

package just prior to issuing to the contestants. Gloves 

shall be inspected by the event inspector or his designee 

before each contest and those found defective shall be 

replaced before the contest. 

7. A clear plastic water bottle, a bucket containing ice, 

surgeon's adhesive tape, and surgical gauze for each 

contestant. 

8. A sealed OTC over-the-counter pregnancy test kit, 

approved by the Food and Drug Administration, for each 

female boxer that will be given to the event inspector or his 

designee. 

9. A solution of one part bleach and nine parts water for 

disinfecting blood on the ring canvas or ropes shall be 

available ringside for use by staff stationed ringside to 

clean the ring canvas and ropes as needed. 

10. The promoter shall provide each corner with 

biohazardous material bags and, after the event, shall 

discard all regulated medical waste in the proper manner in 

accordance with the Regulated Medical Waste 

Management Regulations (9VAC20-120) issued by the 

Virginia Waste Management Board and available from the 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

18VAC120-40-411.5. Contest approval; request for 

reconsideration. 

A. The department or its contractor shall obtain information 

on each contestant from a boxer martial arts registry and 

examine that information, for records, experience, and 

consecutive losses. Boxers or martial artists with 10 or more 

consecutive losses must obtain a special exception before 

being placed on the fight card. The results of the prefight 

physical, and any other pertinent information available 

including the boxing or martial arts severity index, will be 

used to determine, to the extent possible, that both contestants 

are substantially equal in skills and ability and are medically 

fit to compete. No contest shall take place without the 

approval of the event inspector and the ringside physician 

assigned to the event by the department or its contractor. 

B. No contestant shall participate in a contest who has: 

1. Been knocked out in the 60 days immediately preceding 

the date of the contest; 

2. Been technically knocked out in the 30 days preceding 

the date of the contest; 

3. Been a contestant in a boxing, kick boxing, or martial 

arts event of more than six rounds during the 15 days 

preceding the date of the contest or six or fewer rounds 

during the seven days preceding the date of the contest; 

4. Suffered a cerebral hemorrhage; 

5. Suffered a serious head injury or other serious physical 

injury. The department or its contractor may require an 

additional, specific medical examination to determine the 

contestant's suitability;  

6. Been found to be blind in one eye or whose vision in one 

eye is so poor that a physician recommends the contestant 

not participate in the contest. A boxer or martial artist who 

is totally unsighted (uncorrected vision worse that 20/400) 

in one or both eyes shall be prohibited from competing; or 

7. Been denied a license or approval to fight by another 

jurisdiction for medical reasons.  

C. No contestant shall participant in an event while under 

suspension from a commission of another jurisdiction of the 

United States due to: 

1. A recent knockout or series of consecutive losses; 

2. An injury, requirement for a medical procedure, or 

physician denial of eligibility to compete; 

3. Failure of a test for drugs or controlled substances; or 

4. The use of false aliases or falsifying, or attempting to 

falsify, official identification cards or documents. 

D. Any promoter or contestant may request reconsideration 

by the director of the event inspector's decision by 

immediately providing in writing additional information or 

contradictory evidence concerning the contestant's skill, 

ability, or medical fitness. 

E. A contestant who is suspended by a commission of 

another jurisdiction of the United States may be allowed to 

compete if: 

1. The contestant was suspended for a knockout, technical 

knockout, series of consecutive loses, an injury, a 

requirement of a medical procedure, or physician denial of 

certification and the time interval for knockouts and 

technical knockouts in subsection B of this section has 

been met and further proof of sufficiently improved, 

medical or physical condition has been furnished; 

2. The contestant was suspended for the failure of a drug 

test or the use of false aliases or falsifying, or attempting to 

falsify, official identification cards or documents and that a 

suspension was not, or is no longer, merited by the facts; or 

3. The contestant was suspended for any reason other than 

those mentioned in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection 

and the department or the department's contractor notifies 

the suspending commission in writing and consults with 

the designated official of the suspending commission prior 

to the grant of approval for such contestant to participate in 

a contest. 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 8, 2016 

3437 

18VAC120-40-411.7. Weight classes, weigh-ins and 

prefight meeting. 

A. Weight classes are as follows: 

Weight Class 
Weight 

in Lbs 

Weight 

in KG 

Max 

Weight 

Spread 

Glove 

sizes 

Atomweight 
112 & 

below 

50.9 & 

below 

3 lbs - 

1.36kg 

8-10 

oz 

Flyweight 
112.1 - 

117 

50.95 - 

53.18 

3 lbs - 

1.36 kg 

8-10 

oz 

Bantamweight 
117.1 - 

122 

53.22 - 

55.45 

4 lbs - 

1.8 kg 

8-10 

oz 

Featherweight 
122.1 - 

127 

55.50 - 

57.72 

4 lbs - 

1.8 kg 

8-10 

oz 

Lightweight 
127.1 - 

132 

57.77 - 

60 

4 lbs - 

1.8 kg 

8-10 

oz 

Super 

Lightweight 

132.1 - 

137 

60.04 - 

62.27 

5 lbs - 

2.3 kg 

8-10 

oz 

Light 

Welterweight 

137.1 - 

142 

62.31 - 

64.51 

5 lbs - 

2.3 kg 

8-10 

oz 

Welterweight 
142.1 - 

147 

64.59 - 

66.8 

7 lbs - 

3.2 kg 

8-10 

oz 

Super 

Welterweight 

147.1 - 

153 

66.9 - 

69.5 

7 lbs - 

3.2 kg 
10 oz 

Light 

Middleweight 

153.1 - 

159 

69.6 - 

72.3 

7 lbs - 

3.2 kg 
10 oz 

Middleweight 
159.1 - 

165 

72.4 - 

75 

7 lbs - 

3.2 kg 
10 oz 

Super 

Middleweight 

165.1 - 

172 

75.1 - 

78.2 

7 lbs - 

3.2 kg 
10 oz 

Light 

Heavyweight 

172.1 - 

179 

78.3 - 

81.4 

7 lbs - 

3.2 kg 
10 oz 

Light 

Cruiserweight 

179.1 - 

186 

81.5 - 

84.5 

7 lbs - 

3.2 kg 
10 oz 

Cruiserweight 
186.1 - 

195 

84.6 - 

88.6 

12 lbs - 

5.5 kg 
10 oz 

Heavyweight 
195.1 - 

215 

88.7 - 

97.7 

20 lbs - 

9.1 kg 
10 oz 

Super 

Heavyweight 

215.1 

and up 

97.8 

and up 

No 

limit 
10 oz 

B. No contestant may engage in a contest without the 

approval of the department or its contractor if the difference 

in weight between the contestants exceeds the allowance in 

subsection A of this section. 

C. If one of the two boxers contestants in a contest is above 

or below the weights shown in subsection A of this section, 

both boxers contestants shall wear the gloves of the higher 

weight. 

D. When weigh-ins occur within 24 hours, but not less than 

12 hours prior to the event's scheduled start time, the boxer 

contestant shall not exceed the weight specified in his 

contract with the promoter. If a boxer contestant exceeds the 

weight specified in the contract he shall not compete unless 

he: 

1. Loses the weight exceeded in the contract at least 12 

hours prior to the event's scheduled start time; 

2. Loses all but two pounds of the weight exceeded in the 

contract at least 12 hours prior to the event's scheduled 

start time and loses the final two pounds at least six hours 

prior to the event's scheduled start time; or  

3. Renegotiates the contract.  

Boxers Contestants who weigh-in 24 hours prior to the 

scheduled event shall be required to re-weigh two hours prior 

to the event's scheduled start time and will not be permitted to 

exceed the weight specified in the contract by more than 10 

pounds. 

E. When weigh-ins occur less than 12 hours prior to an 

event's scheduled start time, the boxer contestant shall not 

exceed the weight specified in the contract. No boxer 

contestant shall be permitted to lose more than two pounds 

within 12 hours of a contest. If a boxer contestant weighs 

more than two pounds over the weight specified in the 

contract, he shall not compete unless he: 

1. Loses up to two pounds at least six hours prior to the 

event's scheduled start time; or  

2. Renegotiates his contract. 

F. All contestants and their seconds must be present at the 

official weigh-in. The time, date, and location of the weigh-in 

will be approved by the department. Contestants will be 

allowed to witness their opponent's weigh-in. All contestants 

and their seconds must be present at the prefight meeting. 

Any second who does not attend the prefight meeting will not 

be permitted in the corner of their contestant.  

G. All contestants will report to the event location and their 

locker rooms at the specified time on the night of the event. 

Once the contestant reports to the event facility and to the 

locker room he will be disqualified if he leaves the locker 

room before time for the bout or leaves the facility before the 

end of the bout. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
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Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC120-40) 

Wrestling License Application, A511-4101LIC-v2 (eff. 

1/2015) 

Boxing License Application, A511-4102LIC-v2 (eff. 

1/2015) 

Boxing Manager/Matchmaker License Application, A511-

4103_04LIC (eff. 9/2012) 

Trainer, Second or Cut Man License Application, A511-

4105LIC-v2 (eff. 1/2015) 

Wrestling Promoter License Application, A511-4106LIC-v2 

(eff. 9/2013) 

Wrestling Event License Application, A511-4107LIC-v2 

(eff. 1/2014) 

Boxing Event License Application, A511-4108LIC-v2 (eff. 

1/2014) 

Boxing Promoter License Application, A511-4110LIC-v1 

(eff. 9/2012) 

Limited (Temporary) Wrestling License Application, A511-

4121LIC-v2 (eff. 1/2015) 

Limited (Temporary) Boxing License Application, A511-

4122LIC-v2 (eff. 1/2015) 

Martial Arts Boxing License Application, A511-4123LIC-

v2 (eff. 1/2015) 

Amateur Boxing - Sanctioning Organization Approval 

Application, A511-4130AB_SO-v1 (eff. 10/2015) 

Amateur Martial Arts - Sanctioning Organization Approval 

Application, A511-4130AMA_SOA-v1 (eff. 10/2015) 

Amateur Event Notification Form, A511-4130EVE-v1 (eff. 

10/2015) 

Amateur Sanctioning Organization - Experience 

Verification Form, A511-4130EXP-v1 (eff. 10/2015) 

Martial Arts License Application, A511-4123LIC-v4 (rev. 

8/2016) 

Martial Arts License Application - Onsite, A511-4123LIC-

v5 (rev. 8/2016) 

Amateur Martial Arts - Sanctioning Organization Approval 

Application, A511-4130AMA_SOA-v3 (rev. 7/2016) 

Amateur Sanctioning Organization - Experience 

Verification Form, A511-4130EXP-v2 (rev. 7/2016) 

Event Cash Bond Form, A511-41ECBOND (eff. 9/2012) 

Event Surety Bond Form, A511-41EVBOND (eff. 9/2012) 

Event Card Additions and/or Deletions Form, A511-

41EVCHG (eff. 9/2012) 

Promoter Payout Report, A511-41PAYREP (eff. 9/2012) 

Promoter's Fee Report, A511-41PFR (eff. 9/2012) 

Gate Fee Report, A511-41GFR-v2 (eff. 10/2015) 

Criminal Conviction Reporting Form, A406-01CCR-v1 (eff. 

5/2015)  

Disciplinary Action Reporting Form, A406-01DAR-v1 (eff. 

5/2015) 

Denial of Licensure Reporting Form, A406-01DEN-v1 (eff. 

5/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4781; Filed July 8, 2016, 3:38 p.m.  
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 57 (2016) 

Development of Carbon Reduction Strategies for 
Electric Power Generation Facilities 

Part I -Importance of the Initiative 

Though our coastal communities may be the first to witness 

the effects of climate change, the risks presented by 

increasingly fierce storms, severe flooding, and other extreme 

weather events are not confined to a single geographic area. 

Neither are their causes. The economic implications are 

significant, and we must do all we can to protect our critical 

military infrastructure, our ports, our homes, and our 

businesses. It is only by acting together with common 

purpose that the Commonwealth can effectively adapt and 

stave off the most severe consequences of climate change. 

One key step forward is to continue with a strategic goal of 

reducing carbon emissions. Virginia has already made 

meaningful strides - between 2005 and 2014, Virginia 

reduced its carbon emissions from power plants by 21 

percent. However, the electric sector is still responsible for 

approximately 30 percent of the carbon dioxide pollution in 

the Commonwealth. Moreover, electric companies are 

including carbon regulation projections in their long-term 

plans. The electric sector is changing rapidly through 

increasing reliance on low and zero carbon resources. As 

such, it is vital that the Commonwealth continue to facilitate 

and engage in a dialogue on carbon reduction methods while 

simultaneously creating a pathway for clean energy initiatives 

that will grow jobs and help diversify Virginia's economy. 

Accordingly, by virtue of the authority vested in the Governor 

under Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and under the 

laws of the Commonwealth, I hereby direct the Secretary of 

Natural Resources to convene a Work Group, chaired by the 

Secretary, to study and recommend methods to reduce carbon 

emissions from electric power generation facilities. The 

Secretary shall receive input from interested stakeholders. 

Such methods shall align with the Virginia Air Pollution 

Control Board's power to promulgate regulations abating, 

controlling and prohibiting air pollution throughout or in any 

part of the Commonwealth. 

Part II -Scope and Guidance 

In preparing their recommendations, the Secretary and the 

Work Group shall consider the following:  

(1) the establishment of regulations for the reduction of 

carbon pollution from existing electric power generation 

facilities pursuant to existing authority under Virginia Code 

§ 10.1-1300 et seq.;  

(2) the carbon reduction requirements for existing electric 

power generation facilities established under § 11l(d) of the 

federal Clean Air Act, which are currently stayed pending 

final disposition;  

(3) the interaction between electric utilities and regional 

markets, including PJM Interconnection;  

(4) the impact any reduction requirements place on the 

reliability of the electric system; 

(5) the impact any reduction of carbon pollution may have 

on electric rates and electric bills;  

(6) the impact of reducing carbon pollution on low income 

and vulnerable communities; 

(7) the cost effectiveness of pollution reduction 

technologies that may be deployed;  

(8) the economic development opportunities associated 

with deployment of new carbon reduction technologies;  

(9) the implementation and administration of carbon 

reduction regulations; and  

(10) flexibility in achieving the goals of any carbon 

reduction regulation.  

The Secretary of Natural Resources shall complete her work, 

including the development of recommendations as to viable 

carbon reduction methods for the electric power generation 

facilities by April 30, 2017.  

The Secretary of Natural Resources shall provide a report on 

the recommendations to the Governor by May 31, 2017.  

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 

shall remain in full force and effect for one year after its 

signing unless amended or rescinded by further executive 

order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 28th Day of June, 2016. 

/s/ Terence R. McAuliffe 

Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Sappony Solar LLC Notice of Intent - Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) Permit by Rule 

Sappony Solar LLC has notified the Department of 

Environmental Quality of its intent to submit the necessary 

documentation for a permit by rule for a small renewable 

energy project (solar) in Sussex County, Virginia, pursuant to 

9VAC15-60. The project will be located on 371 acres, across 

multiple parcels, on land south of Route 40 between the two 

intersections with Booth Road. The site continues south 

across Booth Road to Palestine Road. The solar project 

conceptually consists of 88,209 320-watt panels plus nine 

2.5-megawatt inverters, which will provide a maximum 20 

megawatts of nameplate capacity. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 

698-4510, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Scott-II Solar LLC Notice of Intent - Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) Permit by Rule 

Scott-II Solar LLC has notified the Department of 

Environmental Quality of its intent to submit the necessary 

documentation for a permit by rule for a small renewable 

energy project (solar) in Powhatan County, Virginia, pursuant 

to 9VAC15-60. The project will be located on a portion of a 

720-acre across parcel, on land surrounded by Old 

Buckingham Road to the north and west, Pierce Road to the 

south, and Mill Quarter to the east. The solar project 

conceptually consists of 88,209 320-watt panels plus 10 2.2-

megawatt inverters, which will provide a maximum 20 

megawatts of nameplate capacity. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 

698-4510, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA INFORMATION TECHNOLOGIES AGENCY 

Proposed IMSAC Guidance Documents on 
Electronic Authentication and Authenticators and 

Lifecycle Management 

Notice of action: The Virginia Information Technologies 

Agency (VITA) is announcing an opportunity for public 

comment on two proposed guidance documents that were 

developed by the Identity Management Standards Advisory 

Council (IMSAC) (§ 2.2-437 of the Code of Virginia). 

IMSAC was established by the Virginia General Assembly in 

2015 and advises the Secretary of Technology on the 

adoption of identity management standards and the creation 

of guidance documents pursuant to § 2.2-436 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Regulations affected: There are no regulations affected or 

proposed by this action. 

Purpose of notice: IMSAC is seeking comment on whether 

the two proposed guidance documents should be submitted as 

is, or if revisions should be made before the final posting. The 

guidance documents have been developed by VITA, acting on 

behalf of the Secretary of Technology and at the direction of 

IMSAC. IMSAC recommends to the Secretary of Technology 

guidance documents relating to (i) nationally recognized 

technical and data standards regarding the verification and 

authentication of identity in digital and online transactions; 

(ii) the minimum specifications and standards that should be 

included in an identity trust framework, as defined in § 59.1-

550 of the Code of Virginia, so as to warrant liability 

protection pursuant to the Electronic Identity Management 

Act (§ 59.1-550 et seq. of the Code of Virginia); and (iii) any 

other related data standards or specifications concerning 

reliance by third parties on identity credentials, as defined in 

§ 59.1-550. 

Purpose statement for Electronic Authentication Guidance 

Document: 

The purpose of this document is to establish minimum 

specifications for electronic authentication within an identity 

management system. The document assumes that the identity 

management system will be supported by a trust framework, 

compliant with applicable law.
*
 The minimum specifications 

have been stated based on language in NIST SP 800-63-3. 

The document defines minimum requirements, components, 

process flows, assurance levels, and privacy and security 

provisions for electronic authentication. The document 

assumes that specific business, legal, and technical 

requirements for electronic authentication will be established 

in the trust framework for each distinct identity management 

system, and that these requirements will be designed based on 

the identity assurance level and authenticator assurance level  

requirements for the system. 

The document limits its focus to electronic authentication. 

Minimum specifications for other components of an identity 

management system will be defined in separate IMSAC 

guidance documents in this series, pursuant to §§ 2.2-436 and 

2.2-437 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose statement for Authenticators & Lifecycle 

Management Guidance Document: 

The purpose of this document is to establish minimum 

specifications for authenticators and lifecycle management 

within an identity management system. The document 

assumes that the identity management system will be 

supported by a trust framework, compliant with applicable 

tel:%28804%29698-4423
tel:%28804%29698-4510
tel:%28804%29698-4510
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
tel:%28804%29698-4423
tel:%28804%29698-4510
tel:%28804%29698-4510
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter4.3/section2.2-437/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-436/
https://www.vita.virginia.gov/uploadedFiles/VITA_Main_Public/About/IMSAC/ITRMGuidanceElectronicAuthenticationDLSAugust8.pdf
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https://www.vita.virginia.gov/uploadedFiles/VITA_Main_Public/About/IMSAC/ITRMGuidanceDocumentAuthenticatorsLifecycleManagementDLSAugust8.pdf
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law.
*
 The minimum specifications have been stated based on 

language in NIST SP 800-63B. 

The document defines minimum requirements, assurance 

levels, and privacy and security provisions for authenticators 

and lifecycle management. The document assumes that 

specific business, legal and technical requirements for 

authenticators will be established in the trust framework for 

each distinct identity management system, and that these 

requirements will be designed based on the identity assurance 

level and authenticator assurance level requirements for the 

system. 

The document limits its focus to authenticators and lifecycle 

management. Minimum specifications for other components 

of an identity management system will be defined in separate 

IMSAC guidance documents in this series, pursuant to §§ 

2.2-436 and 2.2-437 of the Code of Virginia. 

The proposed guidance documents are also available with 

comments and proposed changes by the IMSAC council on 

the VITA website at https://www.vita.virginia.gov 

/About/default.aspx?id=6442474173. 

Public comment period: August 8, 2016, through September 

9, 2016. 

Public hearing: A public meeting will be held on September 

12, 2016, at 11 a.m. The meeting will be held at the 

Commonwealth Enterprise Solutions Center, 11751 

Meadowville Lane, Chester VA 23836. 

Public comment stage: The two guidance documents were 

developed by the IMSAC and are being posted as general 

notices pursuant to § 2.2-437 C of the Code of Virginia. 

Proposed guidance documents and general opportunity for 

oral or written submittals as to those guidance documents 

shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and 

published in the Virginia Register of Regulations as a general 

notice following the processes and procedures set forth in 

§ 2.2-4031 B of the Code of Virginia. IMSAC shall allow at 

least 30 days for the submission of written comments 

following the posting and publication of the notice and shall 

hold at least one meeting dedicated to the receipt of oral 

comment no less than 15 days after the posting and 

publication. 

For the purpose of defining the timeframe for public 

participation and comment, VITA is defining "days" as 

"calendar days."  IMSAC will receive public comment at its 

September 2016 meeting. For additional information in the 

definition of "days," please reference page 6 of 15 of VITA's 

Information Technology Resource Management (ITRM), 

Policies, Standards and Guidelines (PSGs) Briefs and 

Supporting Documents found at 

https://www.vita.virginia.gov/uploadedFiles 

/VITA_Main_Public/Library/PSGs 

/ITRMPSG_Brief_Supportdocs.pdf. 

IMSAC will hold a meeting dedicated to the receipt of oral 

comment on September 12, 2016. Meeting details will be 

posted on the Commonwealth Calendar and the VITA 

website at https://www.vita.virginia.gov/About 

/default.aspx?id=6442474171. 

Description of proposal: The proposed guidance documents 

are being posted for review by the general public with an 

opportunity for public comment.  

Federal information: No federal information.  

How to comment: IMSAC accepts written comments by 

email and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments 

must include the full name, address, and telephone number of 

the person commenting and be received by VITA by the last 

day of the comment period. All materials received are part of 

the public record. 

To review regulation documents: The proposed guidance 

documents and any supporting documents are available on the 

VITA website at https://www.vita.virginia.gov 

/About/default.aspx?id=6442474173. The documents may 

also be obtained by contacting the VITA representative 

named below.  

Contact Information: Janice Akers, Virginia Information 

Technologies Agency, 11751 Meadowville Lane, Chester, 

VA 23836, telephone (804) 416-6083, or email 

janice.akers@vita.virginia.gov. 

______________________________ 

*For the purpose of this guidance document, the term 

"Applicable Law" shall mean laws, statutes, regulations and 

rules of the jurisdiction in which each participant in an 

identity management system operates. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Scheduling Chemicals in Schedule I 

Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443, the Board of 

Pharmacy is giving notice of a public hearing to consider 

placement of chemical substances in Schedule I of the Drug 

Control Act. The public hearing will be conducted at 9 a.m. 

on September 7, 2016, at the Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 201, Richmond, VA 23233. Public comment 

may also be submitted electronically or in writing prior to 

June 10, 2016, to the contact listed at the end of this notice. 

As specified in § 54.1-3443, the Virginia Department of 

Forensic Science (DFS) has identified six compounds for 

recommended inclusion by the Board of Pharmacy into 

Schedule I in the Code of Virginia. A brief description and 

chemical name for each compound is as follows: 

The following compounds are classified as research 

chemicals. Drugs of this type have been placed in Schedule I 

https://www.vita.virginia.gov/About/default.aspx?id=6442474173
https://www.vita.virginia.gov/About/default.aspx?id=6442474173
https://www.vita.virginia.gov/uploadedFiles/VITA_Main_Public/Library/PSGs/ITRMPSG_Brief_Supportdocs.pdf
https://www.vita.virginia.gov/uploadedFiles/VITA_Main_Public/Library/PSGs/ITRMPSG_Brief_Supportdocs.pdf
https://www.vita.virginia.gov/uploadedFiles/VITA_Main_Public/Library/PSGs/ITRMPSG_Brief_Supportdocs.pdf
https://www.vita.virginia.gov/About/default.aspx?id=6442474171
https://www.vita.virginia.gov/About/default.aspx?id=6442474171
https://www.vita.virginia.gov/About/default.aspx?id=6442474173
https://www.vita.virginia.gov/About/default.aspx?id=6442474173
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(subdivision 3 of § 54.1-3446 of the Code of Virginia) in 

previous legislative sessions. 

1-propionyl lysergic acid diethylamide (other name: 1P-

LSD) 

(2-Methylaminopropyl)benzofuran (other name: MAPB) 

The following compounds are classified as stimulants. Other 

drugs of this type have been placed in Schedule I (subdivision 

5 of § 54.1-3446 of the Code of Virginia) in previous 

legislative sessions. 

Ethyl phenyl(piperidin-2-yl)acetate (other name: 

Ethylphenidate) 

2-(3-fluorophenyl)-3-methylmorpholine (other name: 3-

fluorophenmetrazine) 

The following compounds are powerful synthetic opioids. 

DFS recommends placing these compounds into Schedule I 

(subdivision 6 of § 54.1-3446 of the Code of Virginia). 

N-(4-fluorophenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-

butanamide (other name: para-fluorobutyrylfentanyl) 

4-chloro-N-[1-[2-(4-nitrophenyl)ethyl]-2-piperidinylidene]-

benzenesulfonamide (other name: W-18) 

If approved by the Board of Pharmacy, the placement of these 

substances in Schedule I in the Virginia Drug Control Act 

shall remain in effect for a period of 18 months from the date 

of board action and shall then be de-scheduled unless the 

Drug Control Act is amended by enactment of legislation by 

the General Assembly. 

A 31-day comment forum will begin on August 1, 2016, and 

will end at midnight on September 1, 2016, 

Contact Information: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive 

Director, Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4578, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Lake Chesdin 
Camp Ground, LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Lake Chesdin 

Camp Ground, LLC, for Lake Chesdin Camp Ground in 

Dinwiddie County, Virginia, for violations of the State Water 

Control Law. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Russell 

Deppe will accept comments by email at 

russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 698-4277, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, Central 

Office, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, from July 11, 

2016, to August 11, 2016. 

Proposed Consent Order for the City of Manassas in 
Prince William County 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the City of 

Manassas in Prince William County, Virginia. The consent 

order describes a settlement to resolve violations of State 

Water Control Law and the applicable regulations associated 

with the City of Manassas Water Treatment Plant. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Daniel Burstein will accept 

comments by email at daniel.burstein@deq.virginia.gov, 

FAX at (703) 583-3821, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from August 9, 2016, 

through September 8, 2016. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 
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