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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair; Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. Hopkins; Leslie L. Lilley; 

E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; 

Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Mark J. Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

October 2016 through August 2017 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

33:4 September 28, 2016 October 17, 2016 

33:5 October 12, 2016 October 31, 2016 

33:6 October 26, 2016 November 14, 2016 

33:7 November 9, 2016 November 28, 2016 

33:8 November 22, 2016 (Tuesday) December 12, 2016 

33:9 December 7, 2016 December 26, 2016 

33:10 December 19, 2016 (Monday) January 9, 2017 

33:11 January 4, 2017 January 23, 2017 

33:12 January 18, 2017 February 6, 2017 

33:13 February 1, 2017 February 20, 2017 

33:14 February 15, 2017 March 6, 2017 

33:15 March 1, 2017 March 20, 2017 

33:16 March 15, 2017 April 3, 2017 

33:17 March 29, 2017 April 17, 2017 

33:18 April 12, 2017 May 1, 2017 

33:19 April 26, 2017 May 15, 2017 

33:20 May 10, 2017 May 29, 2017 

33:21 May 24, 2017 June 12, 2017 

33:22 June 7, 2017 June 26, 2017 

33:23 June 21, 2017 July 10, 2017 

33:24 July 5, 2017 July 24, 2017 

33:25 July 19, 2017 August 7, 2014 

33:26 August 2, 2017 August 21, 2017 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-260. Water Quality 

Standards. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

33 USC § 1251 et seq.; 40 CFR Part 131. 

Name of Petitioner: McChesney Goodall, IV. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Designate a segment of Laurel 

Fork in Highland County, the majority of which is within the 

property boundary of Rifle Ridge Farm, LP as Exceptional 

State Waters. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: Public comment will 

be accepted until November 7, 2016. The State Water Control 

Board will decide whether or not to move forward with the 

rulemaking at either its last quarterly meeting of 2016 or first 

quarterly meeting of 2017. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 7, 2016. 

Agency Contact: David Whitehurst, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4121, or email 

david.whitehurst@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-04; Filed September 23, 2016, 2:56 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Deborah R. Blanchard, DDS. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The request is to eliminate the 

requirement for posting of a copy of a dentist's registration 

issued by the Drug Enforcement Administration to avoid 

opportunity for individuals to use the number for illegal 

purposes. 

Agency Decision: Request granted. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The request to amend 

regulations relating to the posting of a dentist's registration 

from the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) was 

considered by the board at its meeting on September 16, 

2016. Board members were also given copies of public 

comment on the petition. The board decided to initiate 

rulemaking to amend the requirement for posting of a 

dentist's DEA registration. The amendment will require a 

dentist to maintain a copy of the DEA registration in a readily 

retrievable manner at each practice location. While the 

amendment will be submitted as a "fast-track" action, it is 

likely that the regulatory process will take several months 

before it becomes final. The board will notify licensees when 

the amended regulation is effective. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, 

email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-28; Filed September 21, 2016, 11:05 a.m. 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Rachel Warrick. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend 18VAC90-20-35 to 

replace the requirement that nurses include first and last name 

on identification badges with a requirement for only first 

name and last initial. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition to amend 18VAC90-20-35 was 

posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov. It has also been filed with the 

Registrar of Regulations for publication on October 17, 2016. 

Comment on the petition from interested parties is requested 

until November 8, 2016. Following receipt of all comments 

on the petition, the request will be considered by the Board of 

Nursing at its meeting on November 15, 2016, to decide 

whether to make any changes to the regulatory language. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 8, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4515, 

or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-05; Filed September 19, 2016, 12:25 p.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services intends to consider promulgating 

2VAC5-115, Regulations for Determining Whether a 

Private Animal Shelter Meets the Purpose of Finding 

Permanent Adoptive Homes for Animals. The purpose of 

the proposed action is to promulgate a regulation in 

accordance with Chapter 319 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, 

which requires the Board of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services to adopt a regulation for use in determining whether 

a private animal shelter meets the purpose of finding 

permanent adoptive homes for animals. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia; 

Chapter 319 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 16, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Carolynn Bissett, Interim Program 

Manager, Animal Care and Emergency Response, 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 102 

Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-

4001, FAX (804) 371-2380, or email 

carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4927; Filed September 26, 2016, 10:44 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Juvenile Justice 

intends to consider amending 6VAC35-101, Regulation 

Governing Juvenile Secure Detention Centers. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to amend the regulation to 

reflect changes in practices and procedures in secure juvenile 

detention centers; update the definitions section and terms 

used for clarity and consistency with other regulations; 

remove references to obsolete regulations; and incorporate 

appropriate cross references to statutes, regulations, and 

guidance documents. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-322.7 and 66-10 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

Public Comment Deadline: November 16, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Kristen Peterson, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Juvenile Justice, 600 East Main Street, 20th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 588-3902, 

FAX (804) 371-6497, or email 

kristen.peterson@djj.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4832; Filed September 23, 2016, 5:36 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 

consider amending 12VAC5-520, Regulations Governing 

the State Dental Scholarship and Loan Repayment 

Programs. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

comprehensively review and revise the regulation, which has 

not been done in over a decade. This regulatory action is also 

necessary to amend the regulation to conform to similar 

regulatory chapters. There are several scholarship and loan 

repayment programs administered by the Virginia 

Department of Health, and this regulation as currently written 

does not resemble those other programs. The proposed 

amendments are intended to make the regulatory chapter 

consistent with similar programs.  

This Notice of Intended Regulatory Action serves as the 

report of the findings of the regulatory review pursuant to 

§ 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-122.9 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 16, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Susan Puglisi, Policy Analyst, Department 

of Health, Virginia Department of Health, 109 Governor 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7175, 

FAX (804) 864-7647, or email 

susan.puglisi@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4924; Filed September 23, 2016, 5:33 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Virginia Board for Asbestos, 

Lead, and Home Inspectors intends to consider amending 

18VAC15-20, Virginia Asbestos Licensing Regulations. 

The purpose of the proposed action is to amend the 

regulations to (i) clarify how asbestos analytical laboratories 

and their branch or firm locations are licensed; (ii) simplify 

the requirements for entities that change their organizational 

status; and (iii) clarify requirements for final clearance 

reporting by project monitors. The board may make other 

changes it identifies as necessary during the regulatory review 

process. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 16, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email 

alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4855; Filed September 23, 2016, 4:29 p.m.  

BOARD OF NURSING 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Nursing intends to 

consider amending 18VAC90-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing. The purpose of the proposed action 

is to require all prelicensure registered nursing education 

programs in Virginia to have accreditation or candidacy status 

with a national accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. 

Department of Education by the year 2020. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 16, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4925; Filed September 23, 2016, 9:15 p.m.  

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Veterinary Medicine 

intends to consider amending 18VAC150-20, Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Veterinary Medicine. In 

accordance with provisions of Chapter 306 of the 2016 Acts 

of the Assembly, the purpose of the proposed action is to 

promulgate regulations for a faculty license and an intern or 

resident license for persons providing clinical care to animals 

at the veterinary college at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and 

State University. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3804 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 16, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4468, FAX 

(804) 527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4926; Filed September 23, 2016, 9:16 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Elections is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 8 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts agency action relating to the conduct of elections or 

eligibility to vote. 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC20-60. Election Administration 

(amending 1VAC20-60-30, 1VAC20-60-40, 1VAC20-60-

50).  

Statutory Authority: § 24.2-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 4, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Brooks Braun, Policy Analyst, Department 

of Elections, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 864-8924, or email 

brooks.braun@elections.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) clarify the use of electronic devices in 

the polling place and (ii) establish the process for 

emptying an overfull ballot container during an election. A 

proposed amendment, establishing that a ballot is cast for 

provisional ballots when the voter relinquishes possession 

of a completed provisional ballot envelope containing the 

ballot to the possession of an officer of election, was 

removed for the final stage of the regulation. 

1VAC20-60-30. Electronic devices in polling place. 

A. [ Representatives of candidates and political parties 

authorized to observe the election may use cell phones or 

other electronic devices provided that the ] device contains no 

camera or video recording capacity [ camera function is not 

used within the polling place. The officers of election are ] 

responsible [ authorized to monitor the use of electronic 

devices for observation of the election and may regulate or 

prohibit any use the officers determine will hinder or delay a 

voter or officer of election or otherwise impede the orderly 

conduct of the election. 

Whether a particular call or calls by any authorized 

representative is deemed to interfere or disrupt the voting 

process is within the discretion of the officers of election at 

each ] precinct [ polling place as a majority. Any authorized 

representative may be required to cease the call, make or 

receive any such calls outside the ] precinct [ polling place, or 

be removed from the polling ] precinct [ The use of electronic 

devices inside the polling place is generally permitted. 

However, representatives of candidates and political parties 

authorized to observe the election are prohibited from taking 

photos or video within the polling ] place. 

B. Use of cell phones and other electronic devices by other 

persons at polling places shall be monitored by the officers of 

election who may regulate or prohibit any use the officer 

determines will hinder or delay a voter or officer of election 

or otherwise impede the orderly conduct of the election. Use 

of electronic devices may not interfere nor disrupt the voting 

process, nor attempt to solicit or attempt to influence any 

person in casting his vote. At no time may any person use a 

camera or the camera function on an electronic device to film, 

digitally capture, or take pictures within the polling place 

unless such person is an authorized member of the media 

filming in accordance with § 24.2-604 J of the Code of 

Virginia. Once a voter enters the prohibited area at the polls 

as designated in § 24.2-604 of the Code of Virginia, the use 

of a cell phone or other electronic communication device may 

be prohibited if deemed a violation of § 24.2-1006 of the 

Code of Virginia, or if otherwise deemed disruptive to the 

voting process. [ Voters are permitted to use cameras or audio 

or visual recording devices inside the polling place. Officers 

of election may regulate or restrict the use of these devices by 

voters if the use hinders, delays, or disrupts the voting 

process, or the voter attempts to intimidate other voters 

through use of the device. 

Whether a voter's use of a device is deemed in violation of 

this subsection is within the discretion of the officers of 

election at each polling place as a majority. Any voter may be 

required to cease using the device, but no voter may be 

removed from the polling place for using a device until after 

the voter has cast his ballot. Officers of election are 

authorized to monitor the use of an electronic device by any 

individual in the polling place. Officers of election may 

restrict the use of an electronic device by any individual if 

that use hinders, delays, or disrupts the voting process; if that 

use attempts to solicit or in any manner attempts to influence 

any person in casting his vote; or if the individual attempts to 

intimidate another individual through use of an electronic 

device. Whether use of an electronic device by an individual 

is deemed in violation of this section is within the discretion 

of the majority of officers of election at each polling place. 

Upon determination of a violation of this section, the officers 

of election may (i) require any individual to cease the use of 

an electronic device, (ii) require any individual to limit the 

use of an electronic device to outside the polling place, or (iii) 

remove any individual from the polling place. ]  
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C. [ Grounds for regulating ] or prohibiting [ the use of 

electronic devices by authorized representatives of candidates 

and political parties include ] but are not limited to [ (i) the 

making or receiving of calls that interfere with or become 

disruptive to the voting process; (ii) the making or receiving 

of calls in an attempt to solicit or influence any person in 

casting his vote; or (iii) the ] usage of the camera function to 

film within the polling place or beyond the 40-foot prohibited 

area; or (iv) the [ person using the device is conducting 

himself in a noisy or riotous manner at or about the polls so 

as to disturb the election. No voter may be removed from the 

polling place for the use of an electronic device until after the 

voter has cast his ballot. ]  

D. An officer of election may require any individual using 

an electronic device subject to regulation under subsection C 

of this section to cease such use, make or receive calls outside 

the precinct polling place, or remove the use of the device 

from the polling place. [ No policy disallowing use of all 

electronic devices by all voters is allowed. The determination 

of the officers of election of any dispute concerning the use of 

an electronic device shall be subject to immediate appeal to 

the local electoral board. ]  

[ E. ] Any action taken pursuant to this section is within the 

judgment of the officers of election as a majority. [ An 

electoral board may not enact any policy that disallows the 

use of any electronic device by all individuals. ]  

F. [ E. The determination of the officers of election of any 

dispute concerning the use of electronic devices shall be 

subject to immediate appeal to the local electoral board. ]  

1VAC20-60-40. When ballot cast. 

A. A voter, voting in person on election day or voting 

absentee in-person, has not voted until a permanent record of 

the voter's intent is preserved. 

B. A permanent record is preserved by a voter (i) pressing 

the vote or cast button on a direct recording electronic 

machine, (ii) inserting an optical scan ballot into an electronic 

counter, [ or ] (iii) placing a paper ballot in an official ballot 

container [ , or (iv) relinquishing possession of a completed 

provisional ballot envelope containing the ballot to the 

possession of an officer of election ]. 

C. A vote has not been cast by the voter unless and until the 

voter or an officer of election or assistant at the direction of 

and on behalf of the voter pursuant to § 24.2-649 of the Code 

of Virginia completes these actions to preserve a permanent 

record of the vote. 

D. If any voter's ballot was not so cast by or at the direction 

of the voter, then the ballot cannot be cast by any officer of 

election or other person present. Notwithstanding the 

previous sentence, if a voter inserts a ballot into an optical 

scanner and departs prior to the ballot being returned by the 

scanner due to an undervote or overvote, the officer of 

election may cast the ballot for the absent voter. 

E. An absentee voter who votes other than in person shall be 

deemed to have cast his ballot at the moment he personally 

delivers the ballot to the general registrar or electoral board or 

relinquishes control over the ballot to the [ United States 

U.S. ] Postal Service or other authorized carrier for returning 

the ballot as required by law. 

1VAC20-60-50. Overfull optical scan ballot container. 

If an optical scan reader in use in a registrar's office or a 

polling place malfunctions because the connected ballot 

container includes too many ballots, election officials may 

open the ballot container and empty the ballots with the 

following safeguards: 

1. The optical scan ballot container shall be opened in plain 

sight of any authorized party representatives or other 

observers and, once the ballots have been deposited into an 

auxiliary ballot container, both ballot containers shall 

remain in plain sight in the polling place. 

2. Any such auxiliary ballot container used shall meet the 

requirements of § 24.2-623 of the Code of Virginia. 

3. A In a general, special, or dual-party primary election, a 

minimum of two officers of election, not representing both 

the same political parties party, shall execute such a 

transfer of ballots. In a single-party primary election, the 

transfer shall be conducted by a minimum of two officers 

of election who may [ be members of represent ] the same 

party. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3932; Filed October 3, 2016, 3:58 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Elections is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 8 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts agency action relating to the conduct of elections or 

eligibility to vote. 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC20-80. Recounts and Contested 

Elections (amending 1VAC20-80-20).  

Statutory Authority: § 24.2-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 4, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Brooks Braun, Policy Analyst, Department 

of Elections, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 864-8949, FAX (804) 786-0760, or email 

brooks.braun@elections.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments (i) modify the duties and responsibilities 

of the State Board of Elections, the Department of 

Elections, and the Commissioner of Elections and (ii) 

update certain terminology. The amendments conform to 

changes in the Code of Virginia enacted by Chapter 542 of 

the 2013 Acts of Assembly and Chapters 540 and 576 of 

the 2014 Acts of Assembly. 
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1VAC20-80-20. Recounts and contested elections. 

A. Standards for any recounts or contests requested in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia shall be governed by Chapter 8 

(§ 24.2-800 et seq.) of Title 24.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Upon notification by the court that a recount request has 

been filed pursuant to § 24.2-801 of the Code of Virginia, the 

State Board Department of Elections shall promptly transmit 

to the appropriate court and electoral board or boards copies 

of the instructions corresponding to the types of ballots and 

equipment used in each county or city involved in the 

recount. 

C. In preparation for the recount and pursuant to § 24.2-802 

A of the Code of Virginia, the clerks of the circuit courts 

shall: 

1. Secure all paper printed ballots and other election 

materials in sealed boxes; 

2. Place all of the sealed boxes in a vault or room not open 

to the public or to anyone other than the clerk and his staff; 

3. Cause such vault or room to be securely locked except 

when access is necessary for the clerk and his staff; and 

4. Certify that these security measures have been taken in 

whatever form is deemed appropriate by the chief judge. 

D. After a recount has been requested pursuant to § 24.2-801 

of the Code of Virginia, and prior to the preliminary hearing 

specified in § 24.2-802 B of the Code of Virginia, the 

electoral board of each county or city in which the recount is 

to be held shall provide the court and all parties to the recount 

with: 

1. The recommended location and number of recount 

teams needed to recount paper printed ballots and to 

redetermine the votes cast on direct recording electronic 

devices of the type that prints returns for the election 

district at large in which the recount is being held. 

2. The recommended location and number of recount 

teams needed to insert the ballots read by an electronic 

counting device a ballot scanner machine into one or more 

counting devices scanners that have been programmed to 

count only votes cast for parties to the recount or for or 

against the question in a referendum recount. Such 

machines shall also be programmed to reject all undervoted 

and overvoted ballots as required by § 24.2-802 D of the 

Code of Virginia. The examination of undervoted and 

overvoted ballots may take place at the same location 

before the votes are totaled for that precinct, if so directed 

by the court. If a different team of officers would be used 

to examine the undervoted and overvoted ballots, such 

teams shall be included in the total number recommended 

for this item. 

3. A complete list of all officers of election who served at 

the election to be recounted, with the political party they 

represented at that election listed beside their names, the 

precinct where each officer served, each officer's address 

and phone number or numbers, and an indication of which 

officers served as chief or assistant chief officers. Such list 

shall note recommended recount officials who the court 

may appoint if the officials and alternates recommended by 

the parties to the recount are not of sufficient number to 

conduct the recount within a reasonable period. Such list 

shall be provided by the local electoral boards for both 

parties to the recount, or by the Secretary Commissioner of 

the State Board Department of Elections in the case of a 

recount for federal or statewide office or a statewide ballot 

issue, prior to the preliminary hearing, or as soon thereafter 

as possible, to assist them in preparing their selections of 

officers to be recount officials or alternates. 

4. A list of the members of the electoral board and the 

political parties they represent. Such list shall be provided 

by the local electoral boards to both parties to the recount 

or by the Secretary Commissioner of the State Board 

Department of Elections in the case of a recount for federal 

or statewide office or a statewide ballot issue. 

E. To facilitate the conduct of any pending or expected 

recount for a federal or statewide office or statewide ballot 

issue, the Secretary Commissioner of the State Board 

Department of Elections may coordinate the gathering of the 

recommendations and information from the electoral boards 

and provide such recommendations and information to the 

court prior to the preliminary hearing specified in § 24.2-802 

B of the Code of Virginia on behalf of the electoral boards. 

The electoral board of each county or city in which the 

recount is to be held shall provide the requested information 

to the Secretary Commissioner of the State Board Department 

of Elections [ or directly to the court if so requested ]. 

F. Pursuant to § 24.2-802 A of the Code of Virginia, the 

procedures issued by the State Board of Elections, and any 

other procedures directed by the court, shall be as uniform as 

possible throughout the entire district in which the recount is 

being conducted, given the differences in types of equipment 

and ballots used in the election. 

G. For any [ paper printed ] ballot that is to be counted 

manually and can be counted manually, the guidelines 

adopted by the State Board of Elections for hand-counting 

shall be used in determining the voter's intent ("Ballot 

Examples for Handcounting Paper or Paper-Based Ballots for 

Virginia Elections or Recounts"). 

H. The State Board of Elections, Department of Elections, 

and the appropriate electoral boards shall provide any other 

assistance requested by the court. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4650; Filed October 3, 2016, 3:58 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 17, 2016 

441 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-620. Pertaining to Summer 

Flounder (amending 4VAC20-620-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-210 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Agency Contact: Alicia Nelson, Fisheries Management, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 

247-8155, or email alicia.nelson@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Effective Dates: October 3, 2016, through November 1, 2016. 

Preamble: 

The amendments establish the landing units for the fall 

2016 summer flounder season. 

4VAC20-620-40. Commercial vessel possession and 

landing limitations. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer 

flounder outside of Virginia's waters to do any of the 

following, except as described in subsections B, C, D, and E 

of this section: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of 10% by weight of Atlantic 

croaker or the combined landings, on board a vessel, of 

black sea bass, scup, squid, scallops and Atlantic mackerel. 

2. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of 1,500 pounds landed in 

combination with Atlantic croaker. 

3. Fail to sell the vessel's entire harvest of all species at the 

point of landing. 

B. Nothing in this chapter shall preclude a vessel from 

possessing any North Carolina vessel possession limit of 

summer flounder in Virginia; however, no vessel that 

possesses the North Carolina vessel possession limit of 

summer flounder shall offload any amount of that possession 

limit, except as described in subsection J of this section. 

C. From the second Wednesday in March through June 6, it 

shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer flounder 

outside of Virginia waters to do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivisions 3 and 4 of 

this subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina 

landing limit or trip limit.  

2. Land summer flounder in Virginia for commercial 

purposes more than twice during each consecutive period, 

with the initial period beginning on the second Wednesday 

in March.  

3. Land in Virginia more than a total of 7,500 pounds of 

summer flounder during the initial 30-day period 

beginning on the second Wednesday in March. 

4. Land in Virginia more than a total of 5,000 pounds of 

summer flounder during the 60-day period beginning on 

April 8. 

5. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period.  

D. From November 1 through December 31 of each year, or 

until it has been projected and if it has not been announced 

that 85% of the allowable landings have been taken, it shall 

be unlawful lawful for any person harvesting summer 

flounder outside of Virginia waters to do any of the 

following:  

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivisions 3 and 4 

subdivision 2 of this subsection and the amount of the legal 

North Carolina landing limit or trip limit.  

2. Land summer flounder in Virginia for commercial 

purposes more than twice during each consecutive 30-day 

period, with the first 30-day period beginning on 

November 1.  

3. 2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 10,000 7,500 

pounds of summer flounder during the first 30-day period, 

with the first 30-day period beginning on from November 

1 10 through December 31.  

4. Land in Virginia more than a total of 5,000 pounds of 

summer flounder during the second 30-day period with the 

second 30-day period beginning on December 1.  

5. 3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder 

more than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

E. From January 1 through December 31 of each year, any 

boat or vessel issued a valid federal summer flounder 

moratorium permit and owned and operated by a legal 

Virginia Commercial Hook-and-Line Licensee that possesses 

a Restricted Summer Flounder Endorsement shall be 

restricted to a possession and landing limit of 200 pounds of 

summer flounder, except as described in 4VAC20-620-30 F. 

F. Upon request by a marine police officer, the seafood 

buyer or processor shall offload and accurately determine the 

total weight of all summer flounder aboard any vessel landing 

summer flounder in Virginia. 

G. Any possession limit described in this section shall be 

determined by the weight in pounds of summer flounder as 

customarily packed, boxed and weighed by the seafood buyer 

or processor. The weight of any summer flounder in pounds 

found in excess of any possession limit described in this 

section shall be prima facie evidence of violation of this 

chapter. Persons in possession of summer flounder aboard 

any vessel in excess of the possession limit shall be in 

violation of this chapter unless that vessel has requested and 

been granted safe harbor. Any buyer or processor offloading 
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or accepting any quantity of summer flounder from any vessel 

in excess of the possession limit shall be in violation of this 

chapter, except as described by subsection J of this section. A 

buyer or processor may accept or buy summer flounder from 

a vessel that has secured safe harbor, provided that vessel has 

satisfied the requirements described in subsection J of this 

section.  

H. If a person violates the possession limits described in this 

section, the entire amount of summer flounder in that person's 

possession shall be confiscated. Any confiscated summer 

flounder shall be considered as a removal from the 

appropriate commercial harvest or landings quota. Upon 

confiscation, the marine police officer shall inventory the 

confiscated summer flounder and, at a minimum, secure two 

bids for purchase of the confiscated summer flounder from 

approved and licensed seafood buyers. The confiscated fish 

will be sold to the highest bidder and all funds derived from 

such sale shall be deposited for the Commonwealth pending 

court resolution of the charge of violating the possession 

limits established by this chapter. All of the collected funds 

will be returned to the accused upon a finding of innocence or 

forfeited to the Commonwealth upon a finding of guilty.  

I. It shall be unlawful for a licensed seafood buyer or 

federally permitted seafood buyer to fail to contact the Marine 

Resources Commission Operation Station prior to a vessel 

offloading summer flounder harvested outside of Virginia. 

The buyer shall provide to the Marine Resources Commission 

the name of the vessel, its captain, an estimate of the amount 

in pounds of summer flounder on board that vessel, and the 

anticipated or approximate offloading time. Once offloading 

of any vessel is complete and the weight of the landed 

summer flounder has been determined, the buyer shall contact 

the Marine Resources Commission Operations Station and 

report the vessel name and corresponding weight of summer 

flounder landed. It shall be unlawful for any person to offload 

from a boat or vessel for commercial purposes any summer 

flounder during the period of 9 p.m. to 7 a.m.  

J. Any boat or vessel that has entered Virginia waters for 

safe harbor shall only offload summer flounder when the state 

that licenses that vessel requests to transfer quota to Virginia, 

in the amount that corresponds to that vessel's possession 

limit, and the commissioner agrees to accept that transfer of 

quota.  

K. After any commercial harvest or landing quota as 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 has been attained and 

announced as such, any boat or vessel possessing summer 

flounder on board may enter Virginia waters for safe harbor 

but shall contact the Marine Resources Commission 

Operation Center in advance of such entry into Virginia 

waters.  

L. When it is projected and announced that 85% of the 

allowable landings have been taken, it shall be unlawful to 

land summer flounder in Virginia, except as described in 

subsection A of this section. 

M. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer 

flounder outside of Virginia waters to possess aboard any 

vessel, in Virginia, any amount of summer flounder, once it 

has been projected and announced that 100% of the quota 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 A has been taken. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4935; Filed September 28, 2016, 4:18 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-650. Establishment of Oyster 

Sanctuary Areas (amending 4VAC20-650-30).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Alicia Nelson, Fisheries Management, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 

247-8155, or email alicia.nelson@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment specifies that the gear that is prohibited in 

the oyster sanctuary area is hand scrape, dredge, or patent 

tong gear. 

4VAC20-650-30. Closure of sanctuary areas.  

A. All Oyster Sanctuary Areas shall be closed to the harvest 

of oysters, except that Seaside of the Eastern Shore Oyster 

Sanctuary Areas shall be closed to the harvest of all shellfish. 

Any person harvesting oysters or shellfish from the specified 

areas shall be guilty of a violation of this chapter.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any hand 

scrape, dredge, or patent tong gear that could be used to 

harvest shellfish on public or unassigned oyster grounds 

within 100 feet of any oyster sanctuary area, and such 

possession shall be considered as prima facie evidence of a 

violation of this chapter.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4934; Filed September 28, 2016, 12:38 p.m.  

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-720. Pertaining to 

Restrictions on Oyster Harvest (amending 4VAC20-720-

15).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-210 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Agency Contact: Alicia Nelson, Fisheries Management, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

8155, or email alicia.nelson@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Effective Dates: October 3, 2016, through November 1, 2016. 
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Preamble: 

The amendments clarify the transfer eligibility of the oyster 

resource user fee.  

4VAC20-720-15. Control date, license moratorium, 

transferability, and agents. 

A. The commission hereby establishes July 1, 2014, as the 

control date for management of all public oyster fisheries in 

Virginia. Participation by any individual in any public oyster 

fishery after the control date may not be considered in the 

calculation or distribution of oyster fishing rights should entry 

limitations be established. Any individual entering the public 

oyster fishery after the control date will forfeit any right to 

future participation in the public oyster fishery should further 

entry limitations be established by the commission. 

B. Beginning February 23, 2016, only individuals who have 

paid the oyster resource user fee described in clause (ii) of 

subsection A of § 28.2-541 of the Code of Virginia in 

previous years may pay that fee for the current year. Those 

individuals who are eligible to pay the oyster resource user 

fee described in clause (ii) of subsection A of § 28.2-541 of 

the Code of Virginia shall do so by April 30, 2017, in 2017 

and by January 1 in subsequent years in order to maintain 

their eligibility.  

C. Should the number of people eligible to pay the oyster 

resource user fee described in clause (ii) of subsection A of 

§ 28.2-541 of the Code of Virginia in any given year fall 

below 600, a random drawing shall be held to award 

eligibility to pay that oyster resource user fee to individuals 

who were not previously eligible until the number of persons 

eligible to pay the fee reaches 600. Any Commercial 

Fisherman Registration Licensee may apply for the random 

drawing. 

D. Any person eligible to pay the oyster resource user fee 

described in clause (ii) of subsection A of § 28.2-541 of the 

Code of Virginia, or such person's legal representative, may 

transfer the eligibility to pay such user fee, provided to: 

1. The A transferee who is the transferor's spouse, sibling, 

parent, child, grandparent, or grandchild and who 

possesses a current Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License and intends to participate in the public oyster 

fishery. 

2. The A transferee other than a person described in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection if the transferor shall have 

has documented by mandatory reporting and buyers reports 

40 days or more of public oyster harvest during the 

previous calendar year. All transfers shall be documented 

on a form provided by Marine Resources Commission. 

3. In the case of death or incapacitation, the licensee may 

transfer such eligibility to an individual who meets the 

requirements found in subdivision 1 or 2 of this subsection.  

All transfers under this subsection shall be documented on a 

form provided by the Marine Resources Commission. 

E. Exceptions to subsection B of this section shall only 

apply to those individuals who previously paid the oyster 

resource user fee described in clause (ii) of subsection A of 

§ 28.2-541 of the Code of Virginia and shall be based on 

documented medical hardships or active military leave that 

prevented the fisherman from fully satisfying the 

requirements of subsection B of this section.  

F. No person shall serve as an agent for any public oyster 

gear licensee. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4937; Filed September 28, 2016, 4:14 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Criminal Justice Services 

Board is claiming an exclusion from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 

are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 

where no agency discretion is involved. The Criminal Justice 

Services Board will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-90. Rules Relating to 

Regional Criminal Justice Training Academies (amending 

6VAC20-90-20).  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Department of 

Criminal Justice Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 225-4503, FAX (804) 786-0410, or 

email barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment adds the Skyline Regional Criminal 

Justice Academy, a new regional criminal justice academy 

serving the Counties of Clarke, Frederick, and Warren; the 

City of Winchester; the Towns of Berryville, Front Royal, 

Middletown, Stephens City, and Strasburg; the 

Northwestern Adult Detention Center; and the Frederick 

County Emergency Communications Center, to the list of 

regional academies eligible to receive state funding. The 

amendment conforms the regulation to Item 398 of 

Chapter 780 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly. 

6VAC20-90-20. Designation.  

A. The regional academies set forth below are designated as 

regional academies and are eligible to receive allocated funds 

from the department.  
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Cardinal Criminal Justice Academy  

Salem, Virginia  

Central Shenandoah Criminal Justice Training Academy  

Waynesboro, Virginia  

Central Virginia Criminal Justice Academy  

Lynchburg, Virginia  

Crater Criminal Justice Academy  

Petersburg, Virginia  

Hampton Roads Regional Academy of Criminal Justice  

Newport News, Virginia  

New River Criminal Justice Training Academy  

Radford, Virginia  

Northern Virginia Criminal Justice Academy  

Ashburn, Virginia  

Piedmont Regional Criminal Justice Training Academy  

Martinsville, Virginia  

Rappahannock Regional Criminal Justice Academy  

Fredericksburg, Virginia  

Skyline Regional Criminal Justice Academy 

Front Royal, Virginia 

Southwest Law Enforcement Academy  

Bristol, Virginia  

Piedmont Regional Criminal Justice Training Academy  

Martinsville, Virginia  

B. Jurisdictions may operate their own independent training 

academies; however, no state funds will be available for such 

academies. A jurisdiction, within or without the 

Commonwealth, may join a regional academy at any time 

subject to complying with the policies established by the 

board.  

C. A regional academy site may be changed by the academy 

governing body with the approval of the board.  

D. Training, where practical, shall be conducted at 

designated satellite locations throughout the geographical 

confines of the regional academy to ensure minimum travel 

for student officers.  

E. The board shall define geographical boundaries of 

designated regional academies.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4750; Filed September 22, 2016, 3:40 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Criminal Justice Services Board 

is claiming an exclusion from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency 

discretion is involved. The Criminal Justice Services Board will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-230. Regulations Relating to 

Special Conservator of the Peace (amending 6VAC20-230-

40, 6VAC20-230-60, 6VAC20-230-70, 6VAC20-230-120, 

6VAC20-230-140, 6VAC20-230-150).  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-150.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 16, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Shannon Dion, Director of Policy and 

Legislative Affairs, Department of Criminal Justice Services, 

1100 East Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 225-4300, FAX (804) 786-0588, or email 

shannon.dion@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 551 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments (i) require each individual seeking an initial 

or renewal registration as a special conservator of the 

peace (SCOP) to submit a fingerprint card, fingerprint 

application, fingerprint fee, and all necessary 

documentation for a criminal history records background 

search; (ii) disqualify an individual who is prohibited from 

possessing, transporting, or purchasing a firearm from 

registering or continuing to serve as a SCOP; and (iii) 

require an individual to notify the department and the chief 

law-enforcement officer of all the localities in which he is 

authorized to serve as a SCOP within three days of 

becoming ineligible for registration or appointment. 

6VAC20-230-40. Fingerprint processing.  

A. Before appointment by the circuit court, each Each 

individual applying for seeking an initial or renewal 

registration as a special conservator of the peace shall submit 

to the department:  

1. One completed fingerprint card provided by the 

department or another electronic method approved by the 

department;  

2. A fingerprint processing application;  

3. The applicable nonrefundable fee; and  

4. All criminal history conviction information on a form 

provided by the department.  

B. The department shall submit those fingerprints to the 

Virginia State Police for the purpose of conducting a Virginia 

Criminal History Records search and a National Criminal 

Records search to determine whether the individual has a 

record of conviction or is prohibited from possessing, 

transporting, or purchasing a firearm.  

C. Fingerprint cards that are found to be unclassifiable will 

suspend action on the application pending the resubmittal of a 

classifiable fingerprint card. The applicant shall be notified in 

writing and shall submit a new fingerprint card before the 

processing of his application will resume. However, the 

applicable, nonrefundable fee may be required if the 

department is assessed additional processing fees.  
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D. If the applicant is denied by DCJS, the department will 

notify the applicant by letter regarding the reasons for the 

denial.  

6VAC20-230-60. Application procedures and 

requirements.  

Every applicant for special conservator of the peace shall 

submit all requirements for a criminal history records 

background search and initial or renewal registration 

requirements.  

6VAC20-230-70. Renewal registration application.  

A. Applications for registration renewal should be received 

by the department at least 30 days prior to expiration. The 

department will provide a renewal notification to the last 

known mailing address of the registered individual. However, 

if the individual does not receive a renewal notification, it is 

the responsibility of the individual to ensure that renewal 

requirements are filed with the department. Registration 

renewal applications received by the department after the 

expiration date shall be subject to all applicable, 

nonrefundable renewal fees plus reinstatement fees.  

B. Each person applying for registration renewal shall meet 

the minimum requirements for eligibility as follows:  

1. Successfully complete the in-service training, and 

firearms retraining if applicable, pursuant to the in-service 

training requirements set forth by this chapter; and  

2. Be in good standing in every jurisdiction where 

appointment is granted. This subdivision shall not apply to 

any probationary periods during which the individual is 

eligible to operate under the registration.  

C. The department may renew a registration when the 

department receives the following:  

1. A properly completed renewal application provided by 

the department;  

2. The applicable, nonrefundable registration renewal fee; 

and  

3. Fingerprint card, application form, and applicable 

nonrefundable fee pursuant to 6VAC20-230-40; and 

4. A copy of the court order granting special conservator of 

the peace authority and jurisdiction if changed from the 

original filed with the department.  

D. Upon completion of the renewal registration application 

requirements, the department may issue a registration letter 

for a period not to exceed 12 months. This registration letter 

shall be submitted by the applicant to a specified entity for a 

state-issued photo identification card, or a decal will be 

provided by the department.  

E. Any renewal application received by the department shall 

meet all renewal requirements prior to the expiration date of a 

registration or shall be subject to the reinstatement 

requirements set forth in 6VAC20-230-90.  

6VAC20-230-120. Denial, probation, suspension and 

revocation.  

A. The department may deny a registration for any person 

with a criminal conviction for a misdemeanor involving (i) 

moral turpitude, (ii) assault and battery, (iii) damage to real or 

personal property, (iv) controlled substances or imitation 

controlled substances as defined in Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et 

seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, (v) 

prohibited sexual behavior as described in Article 7 (§ 18.2-

61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, 

(vi) firearms, or (vii) any felony. Any plea of nolo contendere 

shall be considered a conviction for the purposes of this 

chapter. The record of a conviction authenticated in such 

form as to be admissible in evidence under the laws of the 

jurisdiction where convicted shall be admissible as prima 

facie evidence of such conviction.  

B. The department may deny a registration in which any 

individual has not maintained good standing in the 

jurisdiction where appointed by the circuit court; had a 

registration that was denied upon initial application, 

suspended, revoked, surrendered, or not renewed; or has 

otherwise been disciplined in connection with a disciplinary 

action prior to applying for registration in Virginia.  

C. Any false or misleading statement on any state 

application or supporting documentation is grounds for denial 

or revocation and may be subject to criminal prosecution.  

D. A registered individual shall be subject to disciplinary 

action for violations or noncompliance with the Code of 

Virginia or this chapter. Disciplinary action shall be in 

accordance with procedures prescribed by the Administrative 

Process Act. The disciplinary action may include but is not 

limited to a letter of censure, fine, probation, suspension or 

revocation.  

E. The department may deny a registration for any 

individual who tests positive on the submitted drug and 

alcohol screening.  

F. The department shall deny a registration for any person 

who is prohibited from possessing, transporting, or 

purchasing a firearm. 

6VAC20-230-140. Registered individual administrative 

requirements.  

A. A registered individual shall:  

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter;  

2. Maintain at all times with the department his mailing 

address, e-mail email and phone number, if applicable. 

Written notification of any address change, e-mail email 

address or phone number shall be in writing and received 

by the department no later than 10 days after the effective 

date of the change;  

3. Inform the department in writing within 10 days after 

pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or 

found guilty of any felony or a misdemeanor;  
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4. Inform the department in writing within 10 days after 

having been found guilty by any court or administrative 

body of competent jurisdiction to have violated the special 

conservator of the peace statutes or regulations of that 

jurisdiction, there being no appeal therefrom or the time for 

appeal having elapsed;  

5. Inform the department of any incident in which any 

registrant has discharged a firearm while on duty, 

excluding any training exercise. This report shall be made 

within 24 hours of the incident;  

6. Within 10 days, inform the department and circuit court 

where the individual was appointed that the individual has 

left employment; and  

7. Submit documentation of jurisdiction of appointment to 

the department within 30 days from appointment of the 

circuit court; and  

8. Notify the department and the chief law-enforcement 

officer of all localities in which he is authorized to serve 

within three days of becoming prohibited from possessing, 

transporting, or purchasing a firearm, or otherwise 

becoming ineligible for registration or appointment as a 

special conservator of the peace. 

B. An individual's appointment from the circuit court shall 

not exceed four years under any one appointment.  

6VAC20-230-150. Registered individual standards of 

conduct.  

A. A registered individual shall:  

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter;  

2. Not violate or aid and abet others in violating the 

provisions of Article 1 4 (§ 9.1-138 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of 

Title 9.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter;  

3. Not commit any act or omission that results in a 

registration being suspended, revoked, not renewed or 

being otherwise disciplined in any jurisdiction;  

4. Not obtain a special conservator of the peace registration 

or registration renewal through any fraud or 

misrepresentation;  

5. Carry a valid registration or valid temporary 

authorization letter at all times while on duty;  

6. Carry the private security state authorized identification 

card at all times while on duty once the authorization has 

been approved from the department;  

7. Perform those duties authorized by the circuit court only 

while employed and in the jurisdiction of appointment, and 

perform only those duties authorized in the circuit court 

ordered appointment;  

8. Maintain a valid firearms verification if he carries or has 

immediate access to firearms while on duty and is 

authorized by the circuit court. He may carry only those 

firearms that he has been trained on and is qualified to 

carry;  

9. Carry a firearm concealed while on duty only with the 

expressed authorization of the circuit court that appoints 

the registrant and only in compliance with § 18.2-308 18.2-

308.01 of the Code of Virginia;  

10. Transport, carry and utilize firearms while on duty only 

in a manner that does not endanger the public health, safety 

and welfare;  

11. Make arrests in full compliance with the law and using 

only the minimum force necessary to effect an arrest;  

12. Display his registration while on duty in response to 

the request of a law-enforcement officer, department 

personnel or client;  

13. Not perform any unlawful or negligent act resulting in 

a loss, injury or death to any person;  

14. If a uniform is required, wear the uniform required by 

the employer. If wearing a uniform while employed as a 

special conservator of the peace, the uniform must:  

a. Only have the title "police" on any badge or uniform 

when the circuit court order indicates and to the extent 

the displayed words accurately represent a special 

conservator of the peace; and  

b. Have a name plate or tape bearing, as a minimum, the 

individual's last name attached on the outermost garment, 

except on rainwear worn only to protect from inclement 

weather.  

15. Act only in such a manner that does not endanger the 

public health, safety and welfare;  

16. Not represent as one's own a special conservator of the 

peace registration issued to another individual;  

17. Not falsify, or aid and abet others in falsifying, training 

records for the purpose of obtaining a registration;  

18. Not engage in acts of unprofessional conduct in the 

practice of special conservator of the peace services;  

19. Not engage in acts of negligent and/or or incompetent 

special conservator of the peace services; and  

20. Maintain at all times current liability coverage at least 

in the amount prescribed by the Code of Virginia.  

B. No person with a criminal conviction for a misdemeanor 

involving (i) moral turpitude, (ii) assault and battery, (iii) 

damage to real or personal property, (iv) controlled 

substances or imitation controlled substances as defined in 

Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of the 

Code of Virginia, (v) prohibited sexual behavior as described 

in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, (vi) firearms or (vii) any felony from 

which no appeal is pending, the time for appeal having 

elapsed, shall be registered as a conservator of the peace. Any 

plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for 

the purpose of this chapter. The record of conviction certified 

or authenticated in such form as to be admissible in evidence 

under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be 

prima facie evidence of such guilt.  
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C. No person who is prohibited from possessing, 

transporting, or purchasing a firearm shall be registered as a 

special conservator of the peace. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4912; Filed September 26, 2016, 9:11 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-160. Regulations Governing 

Secondary School Transcripts (amending 8VAC20-160-

30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-253.13.3 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 16, 2016. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Joseph A. Wharff, School Counseling 

Specialist, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 225-3370, or email 

joseph.wharff@doe.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 22.1-253.13:3 of the Code of Virginia 

authorizes the Board of Education to promulgate regulations 

governing standards for accrediting public schools. The 

board's overall regulatory authority to promulgate regulations 

as may be necessary to carry out the board's powers and 

duties and the provisions of Title 22.1 of the Code of Virginia 

is found in § 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The amendment to add an opt-out policy is a result 

of numerous educator and constituent calls expressing 

concern with the mandate to send standardized test scores as a 

part of the official transcript. Parents and students want the 

ability to choose whether the standardized test scores are sent 

by the school or through the College Board, or at all, based on 

college admission requirements. There is no impact on the 

public's health, safety, or welfare. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

fast-track rulemaking process is for regulations expected to be 

noncontroversial. This revision is noncontroversial because 

its only purpose is to add flexibility to an already existing 

transcript item. Time is of the essence in amending this 

regulation because students send transcripts to postsecondary 

institutions continuously throughout the year, and some 

postsecondary institutions have already omitted the 

requirement for sending standardized scores. In addition, it is 

probable that more postsecondary institutions will omit this 

requirement in the future. 

Substance: Changes in professional practice in postsecondary 

institutions have necessitated a change to one item in the 

regulation governing secondary school transcripts. The 

amendment allows for flexibility in the mandate regarding 

sending standardized test scores to postsecondary institutions 

by adding language to information for transcripts that requires 

each local school board to adopt a policy setting forth the 

procedure by which parents, guardians, or others having legal 

control or charge can elect in writing to have their child's test 

record excluded from the student transcript. 

Issues: There are no disadvantages to the public, the agency, 

or the Commonwealth. The advantages to the agency is that 

the amendment adds flexibility to an already existing 

transcript mandate. The opt-out policy will allow students and 

parents the ability to choose whether they have their 

standardized test scores sent to postsecondary institutions 

based on local policy rather than it being mandatory that the 

scores are sent. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Education (Board) proposes to amend the list of 

required information for secondary school transcripts to allow 

parents, guardians, or others having legal control or charge to 

elect in writing to have their child's college performance-

related standardized test results for the SAT and ACT 

excluded from the student transcript. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current regulation includes 

the following on the list of required information for 

secondary school transcripts: "25. Test record, to include at 

least the highest score earned, if applicable, on college 

performance-related standardized tests such as SAT and 

ACT, excluding Standards of Learning (SOL) test scores;" 

The Board proposes to add the following language to the end 

of this item: "except that each local school board shall adopt a 

policy setting forth the procedure by which parents, 

guardians, or others having legal control or charge can elect 

in writing to have their child's test record excluded from the 

student transcript (opt out);". 

The proposed amendment will be beneficial for individuals 

who believe their scores on college performance-related 

standardized tests do not reflect as well on their aptitude than 

do the other elements of their high school transcript such as 

courses taken and grades. In applying for jobs or other 

purposes where a high school transcript is required, but SAT 

scores are not, this would allow such individuals to make 

their best case without adding unasked for information that 

may detract from their presentation. Not including college 

performance-related standardized test scores such as from the 

SAT and ACT on the transcripts for students who have opted 

out will not likely significantly increase required staff time or 

other costs for local school boards. Thus the benefits likely 

exceed the costs for the proposed amendment. 
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Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

pertains to all 132 local school divisions in the 

Commonwealth. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

does not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment does not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 

does not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment does not 

affect small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment does not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect other entities. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis completed 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. The agency will 

continue to examine the economic and administrative impact 

of the regulations as they progress through the regulatory 

process. 

Summary: 

The amendment adds an opt-out provision to the list of 

required information for secondary school transcripts that 

allows parents, guardians, or others having legal control 

or charge to elect in writing to have their child's college 

performance-related standardized test results for the SAT 

and ACT excluded from the student transcript. 

8VAC20-160-30. Format options.  

Localities have options for the secondary school transcript 

format. They may use the Department of Education model or 

develop their own following board regulations. Localities 

may also use a digital data exchange format for electronic 

transcript transmission. The accreditation status of a high 

school shall not be included on the student transcript provided 

to colleges, universities, or employers. 

The required information is as follows: 

1. Name of school division; 

2. Student legal name; 

3. State Testing Identifier (STI); 

4. Birthdate; 

5. Gender; 

6. Home address; 

7. Home telephone number; 

8. Graduation date; 

9. Type of diploma, to include "Advanced Studies," 

"Standard," or "Other Diplomas Authorized by the Board 

of Education"; 

10. Type of industry certification credential and date of 

completion, if applicable; 

11. Certificate of Program Completion and award date, if 

applicable; 

12. Notation of Early College Scholar Designation; 

13. Notation of Commonwealth Scholar Designation;  

14. Name, address, email address, and telephone number of 

schools student attended each year; 

15. Number of days absent within given school year; 

16. Course work listed by year with grades; 

17. Total credits earned by year; 

18. A list of verified credits earned, including any credits 

earned by substitution; 

19. Credits to date; 

20. Grade point average; 

21. Credit summary for entire school experience; 

22. Key to symbols and abbreviations used to denote 

accelerated courses, advanced-level courses, 

Commonwealth College Course Collaborative course 

courses, honors courses, and summer school courses, or 

credits earned by substitution; 

23. Notification of whether school/program ranks students; 

if so, the rank in class with given number of semesters used 

for computation; 

24. Final driver education grade; 

25. Test record, to include at least the highest score earned, 

if applicable, on college performance-related standardized 

tests such as SAT and ACT, excluding Standards of 

Learning (SOL) test scores, except that each local school 

board shall adopt a policy setting forth the procedure by 

which parents, guardians, or others having legal control or 

charge can elect in writing to have their child's test record 

excluded from the student transcript (opt out); 

26. Signature and title of school official; 

27. Date of school official signature; 

28. School name;  
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29. School address; 

30. Telephone number of school; 

31. Fax number of school; 

32. The school's Department of Education 7-digit code 

number. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4751; Filed September 15, 2016, 2:02 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-521. Regulations Governing 

Reduction of State Aid When Length of School Term 

below 180 Teaching Days or 990 Teaching Hours 

(amending 8VAC20-521-40, 8VAC20-521-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 22.1-98 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 16, 2016. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Melissa Luchau, Director for Board 

Relations, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 101 

North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 225-2924, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 

melissa.luchau@doe.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia vests the 

Board of Education with the authority to promulgate such 

regulations as may be necessary to carry out its powers and 

duties and the provisions of Title 22.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. Section 22.1-98 of the Code of Virginia prescribes 

the circumstances under which state aid to school divisions 

shall be reduced when the length of the school term falls 

below 180 teaching days or 990 teaching hours. Chapter 706 

of the 2015 Acts of Assembly amended § 22.1-98 to permit 

the Board of Education to waive the requirement that school 

divisions provide additional teaching days or teaching hours 

to compensate for school closings resulting from severe 

weather conditions or other emergency situations. At present, 

the authority to waive the requirement only extends to school 

closings resulting from a declared state of emergency. 

Purpose: Amendments to these regulations are necessary in 

order to comport with changes made by Chapter 706 of the 

2015 Acts of Assembly, which expanded the circumstances 

under which the Board of Education is authorized to waive 

the requirement that school divisions provide additional 

teaching days or teaching hours to compensate for school 

closings, to include closings resulting from severe weather 

conditions or other emergency situations. At present, such 

waiver authority is only applicable to school closings 

resulting from a declared state of emergency. The regulations 

were revised to reflect amendments to the Code of Virginia, 

and there is no direct impact to the public health, safety, or 

welfare. The regulations simply address the scheduling needs 

of localities impacted by severe weather. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

fast-track rulemaking process is for regulations expected to be 

noncontroversial. This revision is noncontroversial because 

its only purpose is to address legislation that was adopted 

during the 2015 Session of the General Assembly. 

Substance: The amendments to this regulation simply expand 

the circumstances under which the Board of Education is 

authorized to waive the requirement that school divisions 

provide additional teaching days or teaching hours to 

compensate for school closings. These amendments are 

necessary to comport with Chapter 706 of the 2015 Acts of 

Assembly. Virginia law specifies the minimum number of 

instructional hours or days required for local school divisions 

to receive basic aid funding from the state. Section 22.1-98 of 

the Code of Virginia requires the length of every school's 

term in every school division to be at least 180 teaching days 

or 990 teaching hours in any school year but specifies certain 

exceptions to the minimum days or hours. When severe 

weather conditions or other emergency situations have 

resulted in school closings, the schedule of make-up days in 

this section requires (i) full make up of lost days when lost 

instructional time has been for five or fewer days, (ii) make 

up of the first five days plus one day for each additional two 

days missed when lost time equals six days or more, (iii) 

instructional hours equivalent to such missed teaching days to 

meet the minimum 990 teaching hour requirement, or (iv) a 

Board of Education waiver from providing additional 

teaching days or teaching hours if the closings resulted from a 

declared state of emergency or severe weather conditions or 

other emergency situations. 

While Chapter 706 expanded the circumstances under which 

the board may grant a waiver, to include closings resulting 

from severe weather conditions or other emergency 

situations, the Board of Education must still determine 

whether school division requests meet that standard. In 

addition, school divisions must still provide evidence of 

efforts to reschedule as many days as possible and 

certification by the division superintendent and chairman of 

the local school board that every reasonable effort for making 

up lost teaching days or teaching hours was exhausted before 

requesting a waiver. If the waiver is approved, the regulations 

authorize the Superintendent of Public Instruction to approve 

reductions in the school term without a proportionate 

reduction in the amount paid by the Commonwealth from the 

Basic School Aid Fund. 

It is important to note that § 22.1-98 of the Code of Virginia, 

as well as the regulations currently in effect, contain the 

following definitions that are pertinent to this regulatory 

action: ""Declared state of emergency" means the declaration 

of an emergency before or after an event by the Governor or 

by officials in a locality that requires the closure of any or all 

schools within a school division. "Severe weather conditions 

or other emergency situations" means those circumstances 

presenting a threat to the health or safety of students that 

result from severe weather conditions or other emergencies, 

including, but not limited to, natural and man-made disasters, 

energy shortages or power failures." 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 17, 2016 

450 

Issues: There are no disadvantages to the public, the agency, 

or the Commonwealth. The amendments are required by 

changes in the Code of Virginia adopted by the Virginia 

General Assembly. The advantage to all parties is that the 

amended regulation will comport with the Code of Virginia 

by specifying that the Board of Education has the authority to 

waive the requirement that school divisions provide 

additional teaching days or teaching hours to compensate for 

school closings resulting from severe weather conditions or 

other emergency situations. When the length of the school 

term falls below 180 teaching days or 990 teaching hours, 

there is a proportionate reduction in the amount paid by the 

Commonwealth from the Basic School Aid Fund unless the 

school division is able to secure a waiver from the Board of 

Education. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to 2015 legislation, the Board of Education (Board) 

proposes to indicate in this regulation that it may waive the 

requirement that school divisions provide additional teaching 

days or teaching hours to compensate for closings resulting 

from severe weather conditions or other emergency 

situations. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 706 of the 2015 

Virginia Acts of Assembly
1
 expanded the circumstances 

under which the Board is authorized to waive the requirement 

that school divisions provide additional teaching days or 

teaching hours to compensate for school closings to include 

closings resulting from severe weather conditions or other 

emergency situations. Prior to the legislation, such waiver 

authority was only applicable to school closings resulting 

from a declared state of emergency. The proposed additional 

language for the regulation does not expand upon that which 

is explicitly stated in the Code of Virginia.
2
 Thus the 

proposed addition to the regulation does not affect rules in 

practice, but may be beneficial in that members of the public 

who only read the regulation and not the statute will be better 

informed concerning the Board's authority to waive the 

requirement that school divisions provide additional teaching 

days or teaching hours to compensate for closings.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

pertains to all 132 local school divisions in the 

Commonwealth. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

does not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment does not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 

does not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment does not 

affect small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment does not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect other entities. 

____________________ 
1 See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?151+ful+CHAP0706 
2 See § 22.1-98.E: http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/22.1-98 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis completed 

by the Department of Planning and Budget.  

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 706 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments (i) expand the board's waiver authority to 

include school closings resulting from severe weather 

conditions or other emergency situations in addition to a 

declared state of emergency and (ii) eliminate the 

proportionate reduction in the amount paid by the 

Commonwealth from the Basic School Aid Fund if a local 

school division obtains a waiver for closings resulting 

from severe weather conditions or other emergency 

situations. 

8VAC20-521-40. Waivers for a declared state of 

emergency, severe weather conditions, or other 

emergency situations.  

A. The Board of Education may waive the requirement that 

school divisions provide additional teaching days or teaching 

hours to compensate for closings resulting from a declared 

state of emergency, severe weather conditions, or other 

emergency situations.  

B. If the local school board desires a waiver for days missed 

as the result of a declared state of emergency, severe weather 

conditions, or other emergency situations, it shall submit a 

request for a waiver to the Board of Education. The request 

shall include evidence of efforts that have been made by the 

school division to reschedule as many days as possible.  
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C. The division superintendent and the chair of the local 

school board shall certify that every reasonable effort for 

making up lost teaching days or teaching hours was 

exhausted before requesting a waiver of the requirement.  

D. The Board of Education authorizes the Superintendent of 

Public Instruction to approve, in compliance with these 

regulations this chapter, reductions in the school term for a 

school or the schools in a school division.  

E. If the waiver is denied, the school division shall make up 

the missed instructional time in accordance with 8VAC20-

521-30 and § 22.1-98 of the Code of Virginia.  

8VAC20-521-50. Funding.  

A. There shall be no proportionate reduction in the amount 

paid by the Commonwealth from the Basic School Aid Fund 

if a local school division:  

1. Completes instructional time in accordance with 

8VAC20-521-30 and § 22.1-98 of the Code of Virginia; or  

2. Obtains a waiver for closings resulting from a declared 

state of emergency, severe weather conditions, or other 

emergency situations in accordance with 8VAC20-521-40.  

B. The local appropriations for educational purposes 

necessary to fund 180 teaching days or 990 teaching hours 

shall not be proportionally reduced by any local governing 

body due to a reduction in the length of the term of any 

school if the missed days are made up in accordance with 

8VAC20-521-30 or the schools in a school division have 

been granted a waiver in accordance with 8VAC20-521-40.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4578; Filed September 15, 2016, 2:04 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The State Air Pollution Control 

Board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC5-20. General Provisions (Rev. 

G16) (amending 9VAC5-20-204). 

9VAC5-30. Ambient Air Quality Standards (Rev. G16) 

(amending 9VAC5-30-55). 

9VAC5-151. Regulation for Transportation Conformity 

(Rev. G16) (amending 9VAC5-151-20). 

9VAC5-160. Regulation for General Conformity (Rev. 

G16) (amending 9VAC5-160-30).  

Statutory Authority:  

§ 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; §§ 110 and 182 of the 

federal Clean Air Act; 40 CFR Part 51 (9VAC5-20-204). 

§ 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; §§ 108, 109, 110, 182, 

and 302 of the federal Clean Air Act; 40 CFR Parts 50, 51, 

53, and 58 (9VAC5-30-55). 

§ 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; §§ 110, 176(c), and 182 

of the federal Clean Air Act; 40 CFR Part 51 (9VAC5-151-

20). 

§ 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; §§ 110, 176(c), and 182 

of the federal Clean Air Act; 40 CFR Part 51 (9VAC5-160-

30). 

Effective Date: November 16, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 

698-4510, or email karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

On March 6, 2015 (80 FR 12264), the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency (EPA) established a final rule for 

implementing the 2008 ozone national ambient air quality 

standards (NAAQS). This rule addresses a range of 

nonattainment area state implementation plan (SIP) 

requirements for the 2008 ozone NAAQS, including how to 

address the revoked 1997 ozone NAAQS. The board's 

ambient air quality regulation must be amended 

accordingly, as well as the list of nonattainment areas, to 

reflect this change. Clarifying text has also been added to 

the Regulation for Transportation Conformity and the 

Regulation for General Conformity. 

9VAC5-20-204. Nonattainment areas.  

A. Nonattainment areas are geographically defined below by 

locality for the criteria pollutants indicated. Following the 

name of each ozone nonattainment area, in parentheses, is the 

classification assigned pursuant to § 181(a) of the federal 

Clean Air Act (42 USC § 7511(a)), 40 CFR 51.903(a), and 40 

CFR 51.1103(a).  

1. Ozone (1-hour).  

Northern Virginia Ozone Nonattainment Area (severe).  

Arlington County 

Fairfax County 

Loudoun County 

Prince William County 

Stafford County 

Alexandria City 

Fairfax City 

Falls Church City 

Manassas City 

Manassas Park City 
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2. Ozone (8-hour, 0.08 ppm).  

Northern Virginia Ozone Nonattainment Area (moderate).  

Arlington County 

Fairfax County 

Loudoun County 

Prince William County 

Alexandria City 

Fairfax City 

Falls Church City 

Manassas City 

Manassas Park City 

3. Ozone (8-hour, 0.075 ppm). 

Northern Virginia Ozone Nonattainment Area (marginal).  

Arlington County 

Fairfax County 

Loudoun County 

Prince William County 

Alexandria City 

Fairfax City 

Falls Church City 

Manassas City 

Manassas Park City 

4. All other pollutants.  

None.  

B. Subdivision A 1 of this section shall not be effective after 

June 15, 2005.  

C. Subdivision A 2 of this section shall not be effective after 

April 6, 2015. 

9VAC5-30-55. Ozone (8-hour, 0.08 ppm).  

A. The primary and secondary ambient air quality standard 

is 0.08 parts per million, daily maximum 8-hour average.  

B. Ozone shall be measured by the reference method 

described in Appendix D of 40 CFR Part 50, or other method 

designated as such, or by an equivalent method.  

C. The 8-hour primary and secondary ozone ambient air 

quality standards are met at an ambient air quality monitoring 

site when the average of the annual fourth-highest daily 

maximum 8-hour average ozone concentration is less than or 

equal to 0.08 ppm, as determined in accordance with 

Appendix I of 40 CFR Part 50.  

D. The standard set forth in subsection A of this section 

shall no longer apply to an area for transportation conformity 

purposes after July 20, 2013 April 6, 2015. The standard set 

forth in subsection A of this section shall continue to remain 

applicable to all areas for all other purposes notwithstanding 

the standard set forth in 9VAC5-30-56 A or the designation 

of areas for the standard set forth in 9VAC5-30-56 A 3. Area 

designations and classifications with respect to the revoked 

standard set forth in subsection A of this section are set forth 

in 9VAC5-20-204 A 2. 

Part II  

General Provisions  

9VAC5-151-20. Applicability.  

A. The provisions of this chapter shall apply to the 

following actions:  

1. Except as provided for in subsection C of this section or 

40 CFR 93.126, conformity determinations are required 

for:  

a. The adoption, acceptance, approval or support of 

transportation plans and transportation plan amendments 

developed pursuant to 23 CFR Part 450 or 49 CFR Part 

613 by a MPO or USDOT;  

b. The adoption, acceptance, approval or support of TIPs 

and TIP amendments developed pursuant to 23 CFR Part 

450 or 49 CFR Part 613 by a MPO or USDOT; and  

c. The approval, funding, or implementation of 

FHWA/FTA projects.  

2. Conformity determinations are not required under this 

chapter for individual projects that are not FHWA/FTA 

projects. However, 40 CFR 93.121 applies to the projects if 

they are regionally significant.  

3. This chapter shall apply to conformity determinations 

for which the final decision is made on or after the 

program approval date. For purposes of applying this 

subdivision, the program approval date of the regulation 

adopted by the board on March 26, 2007, shall be the date 

30 days after the date on which a notice is published in the 

Virginia Register acknowledging that the administrator has 

approved the regulation adopted by the board on March 26, 

2007.  

B. The provisions of this chapter shall apply in all 

nonattainment and maintenance areas for transportation-

related criteria pollutants for which the area is designated 

nonattainment or has a maintenance plan. The provisions of 

this chapter shall not apply in nonattainment and maintenance 

areas that were designated nonattainment or maintenance 

under a federal standard that has been revoked (see 9VAC5-

20-204 B). 

1. The provisions of this chapter apply with respect to 

emissions of the following criteria pollutants: ozone, 

carbon monoxide (CO), nitrogen dioxide (NO2), particles 

with an aerodynamic diameter less than or equal to a 

nominal 10 micrometers (PM10); and particles with an 

aerodynamic diameter less than or equal to a nominal 2.5 

micrometers (PM2.5).  

2. The provisions of this chapter also apply with respect to 

emissions of the following precursor pollutants:  

a. Volatile organic compounds (VOCs) and nitrogen 

oxides (NOX) in ozone areas;  

b. NOX in nitrogen dioxide areas;  

c. VOCs or NOX or both, in PM10 areas:  
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(1) If the EPA Regional Administrator or the DEQ 

Director has made a finding that transportation-related 

emissions of one or both of these precursors within the 

nonattainment area are a significant contributor to the 

PM10 nonattainment problem and has so notified the 

MPO and USDOT; or  

(2) If the applicable implementation plan (or 

implementation plan submission) establishes an approved 

(or adequate) budget for such emissions as part of the 

reasonable further progress, attainment or maintenance 

strategy;  

d. NOX in PM2.5 areas:  

(1) Unless both the EPA Regional Administrator and the 

DEQ Director have made a finding that transportation-

related emissions of NOX within the nonattainment area 

are not a significant contributor to the PM2.5 

nonattainment problem and have so notified the MPO 

and USDOT, or  

(2) The applicable implementation plan (or 

implementation plan submission) does not establish an 

approved (or adequate) budget for such emissions as part 

of the reasonable further progress, attainment or 

maintenance strategy; and  

e. VOC, sulfur dioxide (S02) and/or ammonia (NH3) in 

PM2.5 areas either:  

(1) If the EPA Regional Administrator or the DEQ 

Director has made a finding that transportation-related 

emissions of any of these precursors within the 

nonattainment area are a significant contributor to the 

PM2.5 nonattainment problem and has so notified the 

MPO and USDOT, or  

(2) If the applicable implementation plan (or 

implementation plan submission) establishes an approved 

(or adequate) budget for such emissions as part of the 

reasonable further progress, attainment or maintenance 

strategy.  

3. The provisions of this chapter apply to PM2.5 

nonattainment and maintenance areas with respect to PM2.5 

from re-entrained road dust if the EPA Regional 

Administrator or the DEQ Director has made a finding that 

re-entrained road dust emissions within the area are a 

significant contributor to the PM2.5 nonattainment problem 

and has so notified the MPO and USDOT, or if the 

applicable implementation plan (or implementation plan 

submission) includes re-entrained road dust in the 

approved (or adequate) budget as part of the reasonable 

further progress, attainment or maintenance strategy. Re-

entrained road dust emissions are produced by travel on 

paved and unpaved roads (including emissions from anti-

skid and deicing materials).  

4. The provisions of this chapter apply to maintenance 

areas through the last year of the area's maintenance plan 

approved under § 175A(b) of the federal Clean Air Act, 

unless the applicable implementation plan specifies that the 

provisions of this chapter shall apply for more than 20 

years.  

C. In order to receive any FHWA/FTA approved or funding 

actions, including NEPA approvals, for a project phase 

subject to this chapter, a currently conforming transportation 

plan and TIP must be in place at the time of project approval 

as described in 40 CFR 93.114, except as provided by 

40 CFR 93.114(b).  

D. For areas or portions of areas that have been continuously 

designated attainment or not designated for any National 

Ambient Air Quality Standard for ozone, CO, PM10, PM2.5 or 

NO2 since 1990 and are subsequently redesignated to 

nonattainment or designated nonattainment for any National 

Ambient Air Quality Standard for any of these pollutants, the 

provisions of this chapter shall not apply with respect to that 

National Ambient Air Quality Standard for 12 months 

following the effective date of final designation to 

nonattainment for each National Ambient Air Quality 

Standard for such pollutant.  

Part II  

General Provisions  

9VAC5-160-30. Applicability.  

A. The provisions of this regulation chapter shall apply in all 

nonattainment and maintenance areas for criteria pollutants 

for which the area is designated nonattainment or has a 

maintenance plan. Conformity requirements for newly 

designated nonattainment areas are not applicable until one 

year after the effective date of the final nonattainment 

designation for each national ambient air quality standard and 

pollutant in accordance with § 176(c)(6) of the federal Clean 

Air Act. 

B. The provisions of this chapter apply with respect to 

emissions of the following criteria pollutants: ozone, carbon 

monoxide, nitrogen dioxide, particles with an aerodynamic 

diameter less than or equal to a nominal 10 micrometers 

(PM10), and particles with an aerodynamic diameter less than 

or equal to a nominal 2.5 micrometers (PM2.5). The provisions 

of this chapter shall not apply in nonattainment and 

maintenance areas that were designated nonattainment or 

maintenance under a federal standard that has been revoked 

(see 9VAC5-20-204 B). 

C. The provisions of this chapter apply with respect to 

emissions of the following precursor pollutants: 

1. For ozone: 

a. Nitrogen oxides, unless an area is exempted from 

nitrogen oxides requirements under § 182(f) of the 

federal Clean Air Act, and 

b. Volatile organic compounds. 

2. For PM10, those pollutants described in the PM10 

nonattainment area applicable implementation plan as 

significant contributors to the PM10 levels. 
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3. For PM2.5, (i) sulfur dioxide in all PM2.5 nonattainment 

and maintenance areas, (ii) nitrogen oxides in all PM2.5 

nonattainment and maintenance areas unless both the 

department and EPA determine that it is not a significant 

precursor, and (iii) volatile organic compounds and 

ammonia only in PM2.5 nonattainment or maintenance 

areas where either the department or EPA determines that 

they are significant precursors. 

D. Conformity determinations for federal actions related to 

transportation plans, programs, and projects developed, 

funded, or approved under Title 23 USC or the Federal 

Transit Act (49 USC § 5301 et seq.) shall meet the procedures 

and criteria of 9VAC5-151 (Regulation for Transportation 

Conformity), in lieu of the procedures set forth in this 

chapter. 

E. For federal actions not covered by subsection D of this 

section, a conformity determination is required for each 

criteria pollutant or precursor where the total of direct and 

indirect emissions of the criteria pollutant or precursor in a 

nonattainment or maintenance area caused by a federal action 

would equal or exceed any of the rates in subdivision 1 or 2 

of this subsection. 

1. For the purposes of this subsection, the following rates 

apply in nonattainment areas: 

  Tons per year 

Ozone (VOCs or NOX):   

Serious nonattainment areas 50 

Severe nonattainment areas 25 

Extreme nonattainment areas 10 

Other ozone nonattainment areas 

outside an ozone transport region 
100 

Other ozone nonattainment areas inside 

an ozone transport region: 
  

VOC 50 

NOX 100 

Carbon monoxide, all nonattainment 

areas 
100 

Sulfur dioxide or nitrogen dioxide, all 

nonattainment areas 
100 

PM10:   

Moderate nonattainment areas 100 

Serious nonattainment areas 70 

PM2.5:   

Direct emissions 100 

Sulfur dioxide 100 

Nitrogen oxides (unless determined 

not to be significant precursors) 
100 

Volatile organic compounds or 

ammonia (if determined to be 

significant precursors) 

100 

Lead, all nonattainment areas 25 

2. For the purposes of this subsection, the following rates 

apply in maintenance areas:  

  Tons per 

year 

Ozone (NOx), sulfur dioxide, or nitrogen 

dioxide, all maintenance areas 
100 

Ozone (VOCs):   

Maintenance areas inside an ozone 

transport region 
50 

Maintenance areas outside an ozone 

transport region 
100 

Carbon monoxide, all maintenance areas 100 

PM10, all maintenance areas 100 

PM2.5:   

Direct emissions 100 

Sulfur dioxide 100 

Nitrogen oxides (unless determined not 

to be a significant precursor) 
100 

Volatile organic compounds or ammonia 

(if determined to be significant 

precursors) 

100 

Lead, all maintenance areas 25 

F. The requirements of this section shall not apply to the 

following federal actions: 

1. Actions where the total of direct and indirect emissions 

are below the emissions levels specified in subsection E of 

this section. 

2. The following actions which would result in no 

emissions increase or an increase in emissions that is 

clearly de minimis: 

a. Judicial and legislative proceedings. 

b. Continuing and recurring activities such as permit 

renewals where activities conducted shall be similar in 

scope and operation to activities currently being 

conducted. 

c. Rulemaking and policy development and issuance. 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 17, 2016 

455 

d. Routine maintenance and repair activities, including 

repair and maintenance of administrative sites, roads, 

trails, and facilities. 

e. Civil and criminal enforcement activities, such as 

investigations, audits, inspections, examinations, 

prosecutions, and the training of law-enforcement 

personnel. 

f. Administrative actions such as personnel actions, 

organizational changes, debt management, internal 

agency audits, program budget proposals, and matters 

relating to administration and collection of taxes, duties, 

and fees. 

g. The routine, recurring transportation of materiel and 

personnel. 

h. Routine movement of mobile assets, such as ships and 

aircraft, in home port reassignments and stations (when 

no new support facilities or personnel are required) to 

perform as operational groups and for repair or overhaul 

or both. 

i. Maintenance dredging and debris disposal where no 

new depths are required, applicable permits are secured, 

and disposal shall be at an approved disposal site. 

j. With respect to existing structures, properties, 

facilities, and lands where future activities conducted 

shall be similar in scope and operation to activities 

currently being conducted at the existing structures, 

properties, facilities, and lands, actions such as relocation 

of personnel, disposition of federally-owned existing 

structures, properties, facilities, and lands, rent subsidies, 

operation and maintenance cost subsidies, the exercise of 

receivership or conservatorship authority, assistance in 

purchasing structures, and the production of coins and 

currency. 

k. The granting of leases, licenses such as for exports and 

trade, permits, and easements where activities conducted 

shall be similar in scope and operation to activities 

currently being conducted. 

l. Planning, studies, and provision of technical assistance. 

m. Routine operation of facilities, mobile assets, and 

equipment. 

n. Transfers of ownership, interests, and titles in land, 

facilities, and real and personal properties, regardless of 

the form or method of the transfer. 

o. The designation of empowerment zones, enterprise 

communities, or viticultural areas. 

p. Actions by any of the federal banking agencies or the 

federal reserve banks, including actions regarding 

charters, applications, notices, licenses, the supervision 

or examination of depository institutions or depository 

institution holding companies, access to the discount 

window, or the provision of financial services to banking 

organizations or to any state, agency, or instrumentality 

of the United States. 

q. Actions by the Board of Governors of the federal 

reserve system or any federal reserve bank to effect 

monetary or exchange rate policy. 

r. Actions that implement a foreign affairs function of the 

United States. 

s. Actions or portions thereof associated with transfers of 

land, facilities, title, and real properties through an 

enforceable contract or lease agreement where the 

delivery of the deed is required to occur promptly after a 

specific, reasonable condition is met, such as promptly 

after the land is certified as meeting the requirements of 

the Comprehensive Environmental Response, 

Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA), 42 USC 

9601 et seq., and where the federal agency does not 

retain continuing authority to control emissions 

associated with the lands, facilities, title, or real 

properties. 

t. Transfers of real property, including land, facilities, 

and related personal property from a federal entity to 

another federal entity, and assignments of real property, 

including land, facilities, and related personal property 

from a federal entity to another federal entity, for 

subsequent deeding to eligible applicants. 

u. Actions by the Department of the Treasury to effect 

fiscal policy and to exercise the borrowing authority of 

the United States. 

v. Air traffic control activities and adopting approach, 

departure, and en route procedures for aircraft operations 

above the mixing height specified in the applicable 

implementation plan. Where the applicable 

implementation plan does not specify a mixing height, 

the federal agency may use the 3,000 feet above ground 

level as a default mixing height, unless the agency 

demonstrates that use of a different mixing height is 

appropriate because the change in emissions at and above 

that height caused by the federal action is de minimis. 

3. Actions where the emissions are not reasonably 

foreseeable, such as the following: 

a. Initial outer continental shelf lease sales which are 

made on a broad scale and are followed by exploration 

and development plans on a project level. 

b. Electric power marketing activities that involve the 

acquisition, sale, and transmission of electric energy. 

4. Individual actions which implement a decision to 

conduct or carry out a program that has been found to 

conform to the applicable implementation plan, such as 

prescribed burning actions which are consistent with a 

conforming land management plan, that has been found to 

conform to the applicable implementation plan. The land 

management plan shall have been found to conform within 

the past five years. 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 17, 2016 

456 

G. Notwithstanding the other requirements of this section, a 

conformity determination is not required for the following 

federal actions or portions thereof: 

1. The portion of an action that includes major or minor 

new or modified stationary sources that require a permit 

under the new source review program. 

2. Actions in response to emergencies that are typically 

commenced on the order of hours or days after the 

emergency and, if applicable, that meet the requirements of 

subsection H of this section. 

3. Research, investigations, studies, demonstrations, or 

training (other than those exempted under subdivision F 2 

of this section), where no environmental detriment is 

incurred, or the particular action furthers air quality 

research, as determined by the department. 

4. Alteration and additions of existing structures as 

specifically required by new or existing applicable 

environmental legislation or environmental regulations (for 

example, hush houses for aircraft engines and scrubbers for 

air emissions). 

5. Direct emissions from remedial and removal actions 

carried out under CERCLA and associated regulations to 

the extent the emissions either comply with the substantive 

requirements of the new source review program, or are 

exempted from other environmental regulation under the 

provisions of CERCLA and applicable regulations issued 

under CERCLA. 

H. Federal actions which are part of a continuing response to 

an emergency or disaster under subdivision G 2 of this 

section and which are to be taken more than six months after 

the commencement of the response to the emergency or 

disaster under subdivision G 2 of this section are exempt from 

the requirements of this subsection only if: 

1. The federal agency taking the actions makes a written 

determination that, for a specified period not to exceed an 

additional six months, it is impractical to prepare the 

conformity analyses which would otherwise be required 

and the actions cannot be delayed due to overriding 

concerns for public health and welfare, national security 

interests, and foreign policy commitments; or 

2. For actions which are to be taken after those actions 

covered by subdivision H 1 of this section, the federal 

agency makes a new determination as provided in 

subdivision H 1 of this section, and: 

a. Provides a draft copy of the written determinations 

required to affected EPA regional offices, the affected 

states and air pollution control agencies, and any 

federally recognized Indian tribal government in the 

nonattainment or maintenance area. Those organizations 

shall be allowed 15 days from the beginning of the 

extension period to comment on the draft determination; 

and 

b. Within 30 days after making the determination, 

publish a notice of the determination by placing a 

prominent advertisement in a daily newspaper of general 

circulation in the area affected by the action. 

3. If additional actions are necessary in response to an 

emergency or disaster under subdivision G 2 of this section 

beyond the specified time period in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection, a federal agency may make a new written 

determination as described in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection for as many six-month periods as needed, but in 

no case shall this exemption extend beyond three six-

month periods except where an agency provides 

information to EPA and the department stating that the 

conditions that gave rise to the emergency exemption 

continue to exist and how such conditions effectively 

prevent the agency from conducting a conformity 

evaluation. 

I. Notwithstanding other requirements of this chapter, 

actions specified by individual federal agencies that have met 

the criteria set forth in subdivision J 1, J 2, or J 3 of this 

section and the procedures set forth in subsection K of this 

section are presumed to conform, except as provided in 

subsection M of this section. Actions specified by individual 

federal agencies as presumed to conform shall not be used in 

combination with one another when the total direct and 

indirect emissions from the combination of actions would 

equal or exceed any of the rates specified in subdivisions 

subdivision E 1 or E 2 of this section. 

J. The federal agency shall meet the criteria for establishing 

activities that are presumed to conform by fulfilling the 

requirements set forth in either subdivision 1, 2, or 3 of this 

subsection. 

1. The federal agency shall clearly demonstrate, using 

methods consistent with this regulation, that the total of 

direct and indirect emissions from the type of activities 

which would be presumed to conform would not: 

a. Cause or contribute to any new violation of any 

standard in any area; 

b. Interfere with the provisions in the applicable 

implementation plan for maintenance of any standard; 

c. Increase the frequency or severity of any existing 

violation of any standard in any area; 

d. Delay timely attainment of any standard or any 

required interim emissions reductions or other milestones 

in any area including, where applicable, emission levels 

specified in the applicable implementation plan for 

purposes of: 

(1) A demonstration of reasonable further progress; 

(2) A demonstration of attainment; or 

(3) A maintenance plan. 

2. The federal agency shall provide documentation that the 

total of direct and indirect emissions from the future 
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actions would be below the emission rates for a conformity 

determination that are established in subsection B of this 

section, based, for example, on similar actions taken over 

recent years. 

3. The federal agency shall clearly demonstrate that the 

emissions from the type or category of actions and the 

amount of emissions from the action are included in the 

applicable implementation plan and the department 

provides written concurrence that the emissions from the 

actions along with all other expected emissions in the area 

will not exceed the emission budget in the applicable 

implementation plan. 

K. In addition to meeting the criteria for establishing 

exemptions set forth in subdivision J 1, J 2, or J 3 of this 

section, the following procedures shall also be complied with 

to presume that activities shall conform: 

1. The federal agency shall identify through publication in 

the Federal Register its list of proposed activities that are 

presumed to conform, and the basis for the presumptions. 

The notice shall clearly identify the type and size of the 

action that would be presumed to conform and provide 

criteria for determining if the type and size of action 

qualifies it for the presumption; 

2. The federal agency shall notify the appropriate EPA 

regional office or offices, department, and local air quality 

agencies and, where applicable, the lead planning 

organization, and the metropolitan planning organization 

and provide at least 30 days for the public to comment on 

the list of proposed activities presumed to conform. If the 

presumed to conform action has regional or national 

application (e.g., the action will cause emission increases 

in excess of the de minimis levels identified in subsection 

E of this section in more than one EPA region), the federal 

agency, as an alternative to sending it to EPA regional 

offices, may send the draft conformity determination to 

EPA, Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards; 

3. The federal agency shall document its response to all the 

comments received and make the comments, response, and 

final list of activities available to the public upon request; 

and  

4. The federal agency shall publish the final list of such 

activities in the Federal Register. 

L. Emissions from the following actions are presumed to 

conform: 

1. Actions at installations with facility-wide emission 

budgets meeting the requirements in 9VAC5-160-181 

provided that the department has included the emission 

budget in the EPA-approved applicable implementation 

plan and the emissions from the action along with all other 

emissions from the installation will not exceed the facility-

wide emission budget. 

2. Prescribed fires conducted in accordance with a smoke 

management program that meets the requirements of EPA's 

Interim Air Quality Policy on Wildland and Prescribed 

Fires (April 1998) or an equivalent replacement EPA 

policy. 

3. Emissions for actions that the department identifies in 

the EPA-approved applicable implementation plan as 

presumed to conform. 

M. Even though an action would otherwise be presumed to 

conform under subsection I or L of this section, an action 

shall not be presumed to conform and the requirements of 

9VAC5-160-110 through 9VAC5-160-180, 9VAC5-160-182 

through 9VAC5-160-184, and 9VAC5-160-190 shall apply to 

the action if EPA or a third party shows that the action would: 

1. Cause or contribute to any new violation of any standard 

in any area; 

2. Interfere with provisions in the applicable 

implementation plan for maintenance of any standard; 

3. Increase the frequency or severity of any existing 

violation of any standard in any area; or 

4. Delay timely attainment of any standard or any required 

interim emissions reductions or other milestones in any 

area including, where applicable, emission levels specified 

in the applicable implementation plan for purposes of (i) a 

demonstration of reasonable further progress, (ii) a 

demonstration of attainment, or (iii) a maintenance plan. 

N. Any measures used to affect or determine applicability of 

this chapter, as determined under this section, shall result in 

projects that are in fact de minimis, shall result in the de 

minimis levels prior to the time the applicability 

determination is made, and shall be state or federally 

enforceable. Any measures that are intended to reduce air 

quality impacts for this purpose shall be identified (including 

the identification and quantification of all emission reductions 

claimed) and the process for implementation (including any 

necessary funding of the measures and tracking of the 

emission reductions) and enforcement of the measures shall 

be described, including an implementation schedule 

containing explicit timelines for implementation. Prior to a 

determination of applicability, the federal agency making the 

determination shall obtain written commitments from the 

appropriate persons or agencies to implement any measures 

which are identified as conditions for making the 

determinations. The written commitment shall describe the 

mitigation measures and the nature of the commitment, in a 

manner consistent with the previous sentence. After this 

regulation is approved by EPA, enforceability through the 

applicable implementation plan of any measures necessary for 

a determination of applicability shall apply to all persons who 

agree to reduce direct and indirect emissions associated with a 

federal action for a conformity applicability determination. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4815; Filed September 14, 2016, 1:46 p.m.  
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Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The State Air Pollution Control 

Board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC5-20. General Provisions (Rev. 

F16) (amending 9VAC5-20-21). 

9VAC5-40. Existing Stationary Sources (Rev. F16) 

(amending 9VAC5-40-6250, 9VAC5-40-6440, 9VAC5-40-

6520).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; 

§§ 110, 111, 123, 129, 171, 172, and 182 of the Clean Air 

Act; 40 CFR Parts 51 and 60. 

Effective Date: November 16, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 

698-4510, or email karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

On June 23, 2016 (81 FR 40956), the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency (EPA) amended the emissions 

guidelines for commercial/industrial/solid waste 

incinerators at Subpart DDDD of 40 CFR Part 60. The 

amendments were made to (i) revise the definitions of 

"continuous emission monitoring system data during 

startup and shutdown periods" and "kiln," (ii) revise the 

particulate matter limit for the waste-burning kiln 

subcategory, (iii) revise the fuel variability factor for coal-

burning energy recovery units, and (iv) remove the 

provisions for affirmative defense. Virginia implements 

Subpart DDDD in Article 45 (9VAC5-40-6250 et seq.) of 

9VAC5-40, Existing Stationary Sources. Although the 

provisions of Subpart DDDD are adopted by reference 

into Article 45, some revisions to Article 45 are necessary 

for the regulation to accurately track the EPA revisions. 

9VAC5-20-21. Documents incorporated by reference.  

A. The Administrative Process Act and Virginia Register 

Act provide that state regulations may incorporate documents 

by reference. Throughout these regulations, documents of the 

types specified below have been incorporated by reference. 

1. United States Code. 

2. Code of Virginia. 

3. Code of Federal Regulations. 

4. Federal Register. 

5. Technical and scientific reference documents. 

Additional information on key federal regulations and 

nonstatutory documents incorporated by reference and their 

availability may be found in subsection E of this section. 

B. Any reference in these regulations to any provision of the 

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) shall be considered as the 

adoption by reference of that provision. The specific version 

of the provision adopted by reference shall be that contained 

in the CFR (2014) (2016) in effect July 1, 2014 2016. In 

making reference to the Code of Federal Regulations, 40 CFR 

Part 35 means Part 35 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations; 40 CFR 35.20 means § 35.20 in Part 35 of Title 

40 of the Code of Federal Regulations. 

C. Failure to include in this section any document referenced 

in the regulations shall not invalidate the applicability of the 

referenced document. 

D. Copies of materials incorporated by reference in this 

section may be examined by the public at the central office of 

the Department of Environmental Quality, Eighth Floor, 629 

East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, between 8:30 a.m. and 

4:30 p.m. of each business day. 

E. Information on federal regulations and nonstatutory 

documents incorporated by reference and their availability 

may be found below in this subsection. 

1. Code of Federal Regulations. 

a. The provisions specified below from the Code of 

Federal Regulations (CFR) are incorporated herein by 

reference. 

(1) 40 CFR Part 50 -- National Primary and Secondary 

Ambient Air Quality Standards. 

(a) Appendix A-1 -- Reference Measurement Principle 

and Calibration Procedure for the Measurement of Sulfur 

Dioxide in the Atmosphere (Ultraviolet Fluorescence 

Method). 

(b) Appendix A-2 -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Sulfur Dioxide in the Atmosphere 

(Pararosaniline Method). 

(c) Appendix B -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Suspended Particulate Matter in the 

Atmosphere (High-Volume Method). 

(d) Appendix C -- Measurement Principle and 

Calibration Procedure for the Continuous Measurement 

of Carbon Monoxide in the Atmosphere (Non-Dispersive 

Infrared Photometry). 

(e) Appendix D -- Measurement Principle and 

Calibration Procedure for the Measurement of Ozone in 

the Atmosphere. 

(f) Appendix E -- Reserved. 

(g) Appendix F -- Measurement Principle and Calibration 

Procedure for the Measurement of Nitrogen Dioxide in 

the Atmosphere (Gas Phase Chemiluminescence). 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 17, 2016 

459 

(h) Appendix G -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Lead in Suspended Particulate Matter 

Collected from Ambient Air. 

(i) Appendix H -- Interpretation of the National Ambient 

Air Quality Standards for Ozone. 

(j) Appendix I -- Interpretation of the 8-Hour Primary 

and Secondary National Ambient Air Quality Standards 

for Ozone. 

(k) Appendix J -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Particulate Matter as PM10 in the 

Atmosphere. 

(l) Appendix K -- Interpretation of the National Ambient 

Air Quality Standards for Particulate Matter. 

(m) Appendix L -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Fine Particulate Matter as PM2.5 in the 

Atmosphere. 

(n) Appendix M -- Reserved. 

(o) Appendix N -- Interpretation of the National Ambient 

Air Quality Standards for PM2.5. 

(p) Appendix O -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Coarse Particulate Matter as PM in the 

Atmosphere. 

(q) Appendix P -- Interpretation of the Primary and 

Secondary National Ambient Air Quality Standards for 

Ozone. 

(r) Appendix Q -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Lead in Suspended Particulate Matter 

as PM10 Collected from Ambient Air. 

(s) Appendix R -- Interpretation of the National Ambient 

Air Quality Standards for Lead. 

(t) Appendix S -- Interpretation of the Primary National 

Ambient Air Quality Standards for Oxides of Nitrogen 

(Nitrogen Dioxide). 

(u) Appendix T -- Interpretation of the Primary National 

Ambient Air Quality Standards for Oxides of Sulfur 

(Sulfur Dioxide). 

(v) Appendix U -- Interpretation of the Primary and 

Secondary National Ambient Air Quality Standards for 

Ozone. 

(2) 40 CFR Part 51 -- Requirements for Preparation, 

Adoption, and Submittal of Implementation Plans. 

(a) Appendix M -- Recommended Test Methods for State 

Implementation Plans. 

(b) Appendix S -- Emission Offset Interpretive Ruling. 

(c) Appendix W -- Guideline on Air Quality Models 

(Revised). 

(d) Appendix Y -- Guidelines for BART Determinations 

Under the Regional Haze Rule. 

(3) 40 CFR Part 55 -- Outer Continental Shelf Air 

Regulations. 

(4) 40 CFR Part 58 -- Ambient Air Quality Surveillance. 

Appendix A -- Quality Assurance Requirements for 

SLAMS, SPMs and PSD Air Monitoring. 

(5) 40 CFR Part 59 -- National Volatile Organic 

Compound Emission Standards for Consumer and 

Commercial Products. 

(a) Subpart C -- National Volatile Organic Compound 

Emission Standards for Consumer Products. 

(b) Subpart D -- National Volatile Organic Compound 

Emission Standards for Architectural Coatings, Appendix 

A -- Determination of Volatile Matter Content of 

Methacrylate Multicomponent Coatings Used as Traffic 

Marking Coatings. 

(6) 40 CFR Part 60 -- Standards of Performance for New 

Stationary Sources. 

The specific provisions of 40 CFR Part 60 incorporated 

by reference are found in Article 5 (9VAC5-50-400 et 

seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5-50 (New and Modified 

Stationary Sources). 

(7) 40 CFR Part 61 -- National Emission Standards for 

Hazardous Air Pollutants. 

The specific provisions of 40 CFR Part 61 incorporated 

by reference are found in Article 1 (9VAC5-60-60 et 

seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant 

Sources). 

(8) 40 CFR Part 63 -- National Emission Standards for 

Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories. 

The specific provisions of 40 CFR Part 63 incorporated 

by reference are found in Article 2 (9VAC5-60-90 et 

seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant 

Sources). 

(9) 40 CFR Part 64 -- Compliance Assurance 

Monitoring. 

(10) 40 CFR Part 72 -- Permits Regulation. 

(11) 40 CFR Part 73 -- Sulfur Dioxide Allowance 

System. 

(12) 40 CFR Part 74 -- Sulfur Dioxide Opt-Ins. 

(13) 40 CFR Part 75 -- Continuous Emission Monitoring. 

(14) 40 CFR Part 76 -- Acid Rain Nitrogen Oxides 

Emission Reduction Program. 

(15) 40 CFR Part 77 -- Excess Emissions. 

(16) 40 CFR Part 78 -- Appeal Procedures for Acid Rain 

Program. 

(17) 40 CFR Part 152 Subpart I -- Classification of 

Pesticides. 

(18) 49 CFR Part 172 -- Hazardous Materials Table. 

Special Provisions, Hazardous Materials 

Communications, Emergency Response Information, and 

Training Requirements, Subpart E, Labeling. 
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(19) 29 CFR Part 1926 Subpart F -- Fire Protection and 

Prevention. 

b. Copies may be obtained from Superintendent of 

Documents, P.O. Box 371954, Pittsburgh, PA 15250-

7954; telephone (202) 783-3238. 

2. U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. 

a. The following documents from the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency are incorporated herein by reference: 

(1) Reich Test, Atmospheric Emissions from Sulfuric 

Acid Manufacturing Processes, Public Health Service 

Publication No. PB82250721, 1980. 

(2) Compilation of Air Pollutant Emission Factors (AP-

42). Volume I: Stationary and Area Sources, stock 

number 055-000-00500-1, 1995; Supplement A, stock 

number 055-000-00551-6, 1996; Supplement B, stock 

number 055-000-00565, 1997; Supplement C, stock 

number 055-000-00587-7, 1997; Supplement D, 1998; 

Supplement E, 1999. 

(3) "Guidelines for Determining Capture Efficiency" 

(GD-35), Emissions Monitoring and Analysis Division, 

Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards, January 9, 

1995. 

b. Copies of the document identified in subdivision E 2 a 

(1) of this section, and Volume I and Supplements A 

through C of the document identified in subdivision E 2 a 

(2) of this section, may be obtained from U.S. 

Department of Commerce, National Technical 

Information Service, 5285 Port Royal Road, Springfield, 

VA 22161; telephone 1-800-553-6847. Copies of 

Supplements D and E of the document identified in 

subdivision E 2 a (2) of this section may be obtained 

online from EPA's Technology Transfer Network at 

http://www.epa.gov/ttn/index.html. Copies of the 

document identified in subdivision E 2 a (3) of this 

section are only available online from EPA's Technology 

Transfer Network at 

http://www.epa.gov/ttn/emc/guidlnd.html. 

3. United States government. 

a. The following document from the United States 

government is incorporated herein by reference: Standard 

Industrial Classification Manual, 1987 (U.S. Government 

Printing Office stock number 041-001-00-314-2). 

b. Copies may be obtained from Superintendent of 

Documents, P.O. Box 371954, Pittsburgh, PA 15250-

7954; telephone (202) 512-1800. 

4. American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM). 

a. The documents specified below from the American 

Society for Testing and Materials are incorporated herein 

by reference. 

(1) D323-99a, "Standard Test Method for Vapor Pressure 

of Petroleum Products (Reid Method)." 

(2) D97-96a, "Standard Test Method for Pour Point of 

Petroleum Products." 

(3) D129-00, "Standard Test Method for Sulfur in 

Petroleum Products (General Bomb Method)." 

(4) D388-99, "Standard Classification of Coals by Rank." 

(5) D396-98, "Standard Specification for Fuel Oils." 

(6) D975-98b, "Standard Specification for Diesel Fuel 

Oils." 

(7) D1072-90(1999), "Standard Test Method for Total 

Sulfur in Fuel Gases." 

(8) D1265-97, "Standard Practice for Sampling Liquefied 

Petroleum (LP) Gases (Manual Method)." 

(9) D2622-98, "Standard Test Method for Sulfur in 

Petroleum Products by Wavelength Dispersive X-Ray 

Fluorescence Spectrometry." 

(10) D4057-95(2000), "Standard Practice for Manual 

Sampling of Petroleum and Petroleum Products." 

(11) D4294-98, "Standard Test Method for Sulfur in 

Petroleum and Petroleum Products by Energy-Dispersive 

X-Ray Fluorescence Spectroscopy." 

(12) D523-89, "Standard Test Method for Specular 

Gloss" (1999). 

(13) D1613-02, "Standard Test Method for Acidity in 

Volatile Solvents and Chemical Intermediates Used in 

Paint, Varnish, Lacquer and Related Products" (2002). 

(14) D1640-95, "Standard Test Methods for Drying, 

Curing, or Film Formation of Organic Coatings at Room 

Temperature" (1999). 

(15) E119-00a, "Standard Test Methods for Fire Tests of 

Building Construction Materials" (2000). 

(16) E84-01, "Standard Test Method for Surface Burning 

Characteristics of Building Construction Materials" 

(2001). 

(17) D4214-98, "Standard Test Methods for Evaluating 

the Degree of Chalking of Exterior Paint Films" (1998). 

(18) D86-04b, "Standard Test Method for Distillation of 

Petroleum Products at Atmospheric Pressure" (2004). 

(19) D4359-90, "Standard Test Method for Determining 

Whether a Material is a Liquid or a Solid" (reapproved 

2000). 

(20) E260-96, "Standard Practice for Packed Column 

Gas Chromatography" (reapproved 2001). 

(21) D3912-95, "Standard Test Method for Chemical 

Resistance of Coatings Used in Light-Water Nuclear 

Power Plants" (reapproved 2001). 

(22) D4082-02, "Standard Test Method for Effects of 

Gamma Radiation on Coatings for Use in Light-Water 

Nuclear Power Plants." 
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(23) F852-99, "Standard Specification for Portable 

Gasoline Containers for Consumer Use" (reapproved 

2006). 

(24) F976-02, "Standard Specification for Portable 

Kerosine and Diesel Containers for Consumer Use." 

(25) D4457-02, "Standard Test Method for 

Determination of Dichloromethane and 1,1,1-

Trichloroethane in Paints and Coatings by Direct 

Injection into a Gas Chromatograph" (reapproved 2008). 

(26) D3792-05, "Standard Test Method for Water 

Content of Coatings by Direct Injection Into a Gas 

Chromatograph." 

(27) D2879-97, "Standard Test Method for Vapor 

Pressure-Temperature Relationship and Initial 

Decomposition Temperature of Liquids by Isoteniscope" 

(reapproved 2007). 

b. Copies may be obtained from American Society for 

Testing Materials, 100 Barr Harbor Drive, West 

Conshohocken, PA 19428-2959; telephone (610) 

832-9585. 

5. American Petroleum Institute (API). 

a. The following document from the American Petroleum 

Institute is incorporated herein by reference: Evaporative 

Loss from Floating Roof Tanks, API MPMS Chapter 19, 

April 1, 1997. 

b. Copies may be obtained from American Petroleum 

Institute, 1220 L Street, Northwest, Washington, DC 

20005; telephone (202) 682-8000. 

6. American Conference of Governmental Industrial 

Hygienists (ACGIH). 

a. The following document from the ACGIH is 

incorporated herein by reference: 1991-1992 Threshold 

Limit Values for Chemical Substances and Physical 

Agents and Biological Exposure Indices (ACGIH 

Handbook). 

b. Copies may be obtained from ACGIH, 1330 Kemper 

Meadow Drive, Suite 600, Cincinnati, OH 45240; 

telephone (513) 742-2020. 

7. National Fire Prevention Association (NFPA). 

a. The documents specified below from the National Fire 

Prevention Association are incorporated herein by 

reference. 

(1) NFPA 385, Standard for Tank Vehicles for 

Flammable and Combustible Liquids, 2000 Edition. 

(2) NFPA 30, Flammable and Combustible Liquids 

Code, 2000 Edition. 

(3) NFPA 30A, Code for Motor Fuel Dispensing 

Facilities and Repair Garages, 2000 Edition. 

b. Copies may be obtained from the National Fire 

Prevention Association, One Batterymarch Park, P.O. 

Box 9101, Quincy, MA 02269-9101; telephone (617) 

770-3000. 

8. American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). 

a. The documents specified below from the American 

Society of Mechanical Engineers are incorporated herein 

by reference. 

(1) ASME Power Test Codes: Test Code for Steam 

Generating Units, Power Test Code 4.1-1964 (R1991). 

(2) ASME Interim Supplement 19.5 on Instruments and 

Apparatus: Application, Part II of Fluid Meters, 6th 

edition (1971). 

(3) Standard for the Qualification and Certification of 

Resource Recovery Facility Operators, ASME 

QRO-1-1994. 

b. Copies may be obtained from the American Society of 

Mechanical Engineers, Three Park Avenue, New York, 

NY 10016; telephone (800) 843-2763. 

9. American Hospital Association (AHA). 

a. The following document from the American Hospital 

Association is incorporated herein by reference: An 

Ounce of Prevention: Waste Reduction Strategies for 

Health Care Facilities, AHA Catalog no. W5-057007, 

1993. 

b. Copies may be obtained from American Hospital 

Association, One North Franklin, Chicago, IL 60606; 

telephone (800) 242-2626. 

10. Bay Area Air Quality Management District 

(BAAQMD). 

a. The following documents from the Bay Area Air 

Quality Management District are incorporated herein by 

reference: 

(1) Method 41, "Determination of Volatile Organic 

Compounds in Solvent-Based Coatings and Related 

Materials Containing Parachlorobenzotrifluoride" 

(December 20, 1995). 

(2) Method 43, "Determination of Volatile 

Methylsiloxanes in Solvent-Based Coatings, Inks, and 

Related Materials" (November 6, 1996). 

b. Copies may be obtained from Bay Area Air Quality 

Management District, 939 Ellis Street, San Francisco, 

CA 94109, telephone (415) 771-6000. 

11. South Coast Air Quality Management District 

(SCAQMD). 

a. The following documents from the South Coast Air 

Quality Management District are incorporated herein by 

reference: 

(1) Method 303-91, "Determination of Exempt 

Compounds," in Manual SSMLLABM, "Laboratory 

Methods of Analysis for Enforcement Samples" (1996). 

(2) Method 318-95, "Determination of Weight Percent 

Elemental Metal in Coatings by X-Ray Diffraction," in 
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Manual SSMLLABM, "Laboratory Methods of Analysis 

for Enforcement Samples" (1996). 

(3) Rule 1174 Ignition Method Compliance Certification 

Protocol (February 28, 1991). 

(4) Method 304-91, "Determination of Volatile Organic 

Compounds (VOC) in Various Materials," in Manual 

SSMLLABM, "Laboratory Methods of Analysis for 

Enforcement Samples" (1996). 

(5) Method 316A-92, "Determination of Volatile Organic 

Compounds (VOC) in Materials Used for Pipes and 

Fittings" in Manual SSMLLABM, "Laboratory Methods 

of Analysis for Enforcement Samples" (1996). 

(6) "General Test Method for Determining Solvent 

Losses from Spray Gun Cleaning Systems," October 3, 

1989. 

b. Copies may be obtained from South Coast Air Quality 

Management District, 21865 E. Copley Drive, Diamond 

Bar, CA 91765, telephone (909) 396-2000. 

12. California Air Resources Board (CARB). 

a. The following documents from the California Air 

Resources Board are incorporated herein by reference: 

(1) Test Method 510, "Automatic Shut-Off Test 

Procedure for Spill-Proof Systems and Spill-Proof 

Spouts" (July 6, 2000). 

(2) Test Method 511, "Automatic Closure Test Procedure 

for Spill-Proof Systems and Spill-Proof Spouts" (July 6, 

2000). 

(3) Method 100, "Procedures for Continuous Gaseous 

Emission Stack Sampling" (July 28, 1997). 

(4) Test Method 513, "Determination of Permeation Rate 

for Spill-Proof Systems" (July 6, 2000). 

(5) Method 310, "Determination of Volatile Organic 

Compounds (VOC) in Consumer Products and Reactive 

Organic Compounds in Aerosol Coating Products 

(Including Appendices A and B)" (May 5, 2005). 

(6) California Code of Regulations, Title 17, Division 3, 

Chapter 1, Subchapter 8.5, Article 1, § 94503.5 (2003). 

(7) California Code of Regulations, Title 17, Division 3, 

Chapter 1, Subchapter 8.5, Article 2, §§ 94509 and 

94511 (2003). 

(8) California Code of Regulations, Title 17, Division 3, 

Chapter 1, Subchapter 8.5, Article 4, §§ 94540-94555 

(2003). 

(9) "Certification Procedure 501 for Portable Fuel 

Containers and Spill-Proof Spouts, CP-501" (July 26, 

2006). 

(10) "Test Procedure for Determining Integrity of Spill-

Proof Spouts and Spill-Proof Systems, TP-501" (July 26, 

2006). 

(11) "Test Procedure for Determining Diurnal Emissions 

from Portable Fuel Containers, TP-502" (July 26, 2006). 

b. Copies may be obtained from California Air Resources 

Board, P.O. Box 2815, Sacramento, CA 95812, 

telephone (906) 322-3260 or (906) 322-2990. 

13. American Architectural Manufacturers Association. 

a. The following documents from the American 

Architectural Manufacturers Association are incorporated 

herein by reference: 

(1) Voluntary Specification 2604-02, "Performance 

Requirements and Test Procedures for High Performance 

Organic Coatings on Aluminum Extrusions and Panels" 

(2002). 

(2) Voluntary Specification 2605-02, "Performance 

Requirements and Test Procedures for Superior 

Performing Organic Coatings on Aluminum Extrusions 

and Panels" (2002). 

b. Copies may be obtained from American Architectural 

Manufacturers Association, 1827 Walden Office Square, 

Suite 550, Schaumburg, IL 60173, telephone (847) 

303-5664. 

14. American Furniture Manufacturers Association. 

a. The following document from the American Furniture 

Manufacturers Association is incorporated herein by 

reference: Joint Industry Fabrics Standards Committee, 

Woven and Knit Residential Upholstery Fabric Standards 

and Guidelines (January 2001). 

b. Copies may be obtained from American Furniture 

Manufacturers Association, P.O. Box HP-7, High Point, 

NC 27261; telephone (336) 884-5000.  

15. Petroleum Equipment Institute. 

a. The following document from the Petroleum 

Equipment Institute is incorporated herein by reference: 

Recommended Practices for Installation and Testing of 

Vapor-Recovery Systems at Vehicle-Fueling Sites, 

PEI/RP300-09 (2009). 

b. Copies may be obtained from Petroleum Equipment 

Institute, 6931 S. 66th E. Avenue, Suite 310, Tulsa, OK 

74133; telephone (918) 494-9696; www.pei.org. 

16. American Architectural Manufacturers Association 

(AAMA). 

a. The following documents from the American 

Architectural Manufacturers Association are incorporated 

herein by reference:  

(1) Voluntary Specification, Performance Requirements 

and Test Procedures for High Performance Organic 

Coatings on Aluminum Extrusions and Panels, 

publication number AAMA 2604-05. 

(2) Voluntary Specification, Performance Requirements 

and Test Procedures for Superior Performing Organic 

Coatings on Aluminum Extrusions and Panels, 

publication number AAMA 2605-05. 
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b. Copies may be obtained from American Architectural 

Manufacturers Association, 1827 Walden Office Square, 

Suite 550, Schaumburg, IL 60173-4268; telephone (847) 

303-5774.  

Article 45  

Emission Standards for Commercial/Industrial Solid Waste 

Incinerators (Rule 4-45)  

9VAC5-40-6250. Applicability and designation of affected 

facility.  

A. The affected facilities to which the provisions of this 

article apply are (i) commercial/industrial solid waste 

incinerator (CISWI) units and air curtain incinerators that 

commenced construction on or before November 30, 1999,; 

(ii) CISWI units and air curtain incinerators that commenced 

construction after November 30, 1999, but no later than on or 

before June 4, 2010, or that commenced reconstruction or 

modification on or after June 1, 2001, but no later than 

August 7, 2013; or (iii) CISWI units other than incinerator 

units that commenced construction on or before June 4, 2010, 

or commenced modification after June 4, 2010, but no later 

than August 7, 2013.  

B. The provisions of this article apply throughout the 

Commonwealth of Virginia.  

C. Exempted from the provisions of this article are those 

units that meet the criteria listed in 40 CFR 60.2555. 

D. The provisions of this article do not apply to a CISWI 

unit if the owner makes changes that meet the definition of 

modification or reconstruction after August 7, 2013, at which 

point the CISWI unit becomes subject to subpart CCCC of 40 

CFR Part 60.  

E. If the owner makes physical or operational changes to an 

existing CISWI unit primarily to comply with this article, 

subpart CCCC of 40 CFR Part 60 does not apply to that unit. 

Such changes do not qualify as modifications or 

reconstructions under subpart CCCC of 40 CFR Part 60.  

F. Each owner shall submit an application for a federal 

operating permit in accordance with the provisions of 40 CFR 

60.2805. Owners to whom this section applies should contact 

the appropriate regional office for guidance on applying for a 

federal (Title V) operating permit.  

G. The requirement under 40 CFR 60.2555(g)(1) with 

regard to obtaining a permit under § 3005 of the Solid Waste 

Disposal Act (42 USC § 6901 et seq.) may be met by 

obtaining a permit from the department as required by 

9VAC5-60 (Virginia Hazardous Waste Management 

Regulations Air Pollutant Sources).  

9VAC5-40-6440. Facility and control equipment 

maintenance or malfunction.  

A. With regard to the emission standards set forth in 

9VAC5-40-6360 A, 9VAC5-40-6370 A, 9VAC5-40-6380, 

and 9VAC5-40-6390, the provisions of 9VAC5-20-180 

(Facility and control equipment maintenance or malfunction) 

apply.  

B. With regard to the emission limits in 9VAC5-40-6270, 

9VAC5-40-6360 B, and 9VAC5-40-6370 B, the following 

provisions apply: 1. of 9VAC5-20-180 apply, with the 

exception of subsections E, F, and G; and 2. 40 CFR 60.2685.  

9VAC5-40-6520. Documents incorporated by reference. 

A. The United States U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 

(EPA) regulations promulgated at Subpart DDDD (Emissions 

Guidelines and Compliance Times for Commercial and 

Industrial Solid Waste Incineration Units that Commenced 

Construction On or Before November 30, 1999) Units) of 40 

CFR Part 60 and designated in subsection B of this section 

are incorporated by reference into this article. The 40 CFR 

section numbers appearing in subsection B of this section 

identify the specific provisions incorporated by reference. 

The specific version of the provisions incorporated by 

reference shall be that contained in the CFR in effect as 

specified in 9VAC5-20-21 B. 

B. The following documents from the United States U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency are incorporated herein by 

reference: 

Model Rule, Increments of Progress 

§ 60.2575, What are my requirements for meeting 

increments of progress and achieving final compliance? 

§ 60.2580, When must I complete each increment of 

progress?  

§ 60.2585, What must I include in the notifications of 

achievement of increments of progress?  

§ 60.2590, When must I submit the notifications of 

achievement of increments of progress? 

§ 60.2595, What if I do not meet an increment of 

progress? 

§ 60.2600, How do I comply with the increment of 

progress for submittal of a control plan? 

§ 60.2605, How do I comply with the increment of 

progress for achieving final compliance? 

§ 60.2610, What must I do if I close my CISWI unit and 

then restart it? 

§ 60.2615, What must I do if I plan to permanently close 

my CISWI unit and not restart it? 

Model Rule, Waste Management Plan 

§ 60.2620, What is a waste management plan? 

§ 60.2625, When must I submit my waste management 

plan? 

§ 60.2630, What should I include in my waste 

management plan? 

Model Rule, Operator Training and Qualification 

§ 60.2635, What are the operator training and 

qualification requirements? 

§ 60.2640, When must the operator training course be 

completed? 
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§ 60.2645, How do I obtain my operator qualification? 

§ 60.2650, How do I maintain my operator qualification? 

§ 60.2655, How do I renew my lapsed operator 

qualification? 

§ 60.2660, What site-specific documentation is required? 

§ 60.2665, What if all the qualified operators are 

temporarily not accessible? 

Model Rule, Emission Limitations and Operating Limits 

§ 60.2670, What emission limitations must I meet and by 

when? 

§ 60.2675, What operating limits must I meet and by 

when? 

§ 60.2680, What if I do not use a wet scrubber, fabric 

filter, activated carbon injection, selective noncatalytic 

reduction, an electrostatic precipitator, or a dry scrubber 

to comply with the emission limitations? 

§ 60.2685, Affirmative Defense for Violation of 

Emission Standards During Malfunction. 

Model Rule, Performance Testing 

§ 60.2690, How do I conduct the initial and annual 

performance test? 

§ 60.2695, How are the performance test data used? 

Model Rule, Initial Compliance Requirements 

§ 60.2700, How do I demonstrate initial compliance with 

the amended emission limitations and establish the 

operating limits? 

§ 60.2705, By what date must I conduct the initial 

performance test? 

§ 60.2706, Reserved By what date must I conduct the 

initial air pollution control device inspection? 

Model Rule, Continuous Compliance Requirements 

§ 60.2710, How do I demonstrate continuous compliance 

with the amended emission limitations and the operating 

limits? 

§ 60.2715, By what date must I conduct the annual 

performance test? 

§ 60.2716, Reserved By what date must I conduct the 

annual air pollution control device inspection? 

§ 60.2720, May I conduct performance testing less often? 

§ 60.2725, May I conduct a repeat performance test to 

establish new operating limits? 

Model Rule, Monitoring 

§ 60.2730, What monitoring equipment must I install and 

what parameters must I monitor? 

§ 60.2735, Is there a minimum amount of monitoring 

data I must obtain? 

Model Rule, Recordkeeping and Reporting 

§ 60.2740, What records must I keep? 

§ 60.2745, Where and in what format must I keep my 

records? 

§ 60.2750, What reports must I submit? 

§ 60.2755, When must I submit my waste management 

plan? 

§ 60.2760, What information must I submit following my 

initial performance test? 

§ 60.2765, When must I submit my annual report? 

§ 60.2770, What information must I include in my annual 

report? 

§ 60.2775, What else must I report if I have a deviation 

from the operating limits or the emission limitations? 

§ 60.2780, What must I include in the deviation report? 

§ 60.2785, What else must I report if I have a deviation 

from the requirement to have a qualified operator 

accessible? 

§ 60.2790, Are there any other notifications or reports 

that I must submit? 

§ 60.2795, In what form can I submit my reports? 

§ 60.2800, Can reporting dates be changed? 

Model Rule, Title V Operating Permits 

§ 60.2805, Am I required to apply for and obtain a Title 

V operating permit for my unit? 

Model Rule, Air Curtain Incinerators 

§ 60.2810, What is an air curtain incinerator? 

§ 60.2815, What are my requirements for meeting 

increments of progress and achieving final compliance? 

§ 60.2820, When must I complete each increment of 

progress? 

§ 60.2825, What must I include in the notifications of 

achievement of increments of progress? 

§ 60.2830, When must I submit the notifications of 

achievement of increments of progress? 

§ 60.2835, What if I do not meet an increment of 

progress? 

§ 60.2840, How do I comply with the increment of 

progress for submittal of a control plan? 

§ 60.2845, How do I comply with the increment of 

progress for achieving final compliance? 

§ 60.2850, What must I do if I close my air curtain 

incinerator and then restart it? 

§ 60.2855, What must I do if I plan to permanently close 

my air curtain incinerator and not restart it? 

§ 60.2860, What are the emission limitations for air 

curtain incinerators? 

§ 60.2865, How must I monitor opacity for air curtain 

incinerators? 
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§ 60.2870, What are the recordkeeping and reporting 

requirements for air curtain incinerators? 

Model Rule, Definitions 

§ 60.2875, What definitions must I know? 

TABLES 

Table 2 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60, Model Rule, 

Emission Limitations that Apply to Incinerators on or 

after Before February 7, 2018. 

Table 3 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60, Model Rule, 

Operating Limits for Wet Scrubbers. 

Table 4 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60, Model Rule, Toxic 

Equivalency Factors. 

Table 5 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60, Model Rule, 

Summary of Reporting Requirements.  

Table 6 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60, Emission 

Limitations that Apply to Incinerators on and after 

February 7, 2018. 

Table 7 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60, Emission 

Limitations that Apply to Energy Recovery Units After 

May 20, 2011, on or after February 7, 2018. 

Table 8 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60, Emission 

Limitations that Apply to Waste-Burning Kilns after 

February 7, 2018. 

Table 9 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60, Emission 

Limitations that Apply to Small, Remote Incinerators 

after February 7, 2018.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4814; Filed September 14, 2016, 1:43 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Air Pollution Control 

Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

4 b of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 

are required by order of any state or federal court of 

competent jurisdiction where no agency discretion is 

involved. The State Air Pollution Control Board will receive, 

consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at 

any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC5-80. Permits for Stationary 

Sources (Rev. E16) (amending 9VAC5-80-250, 9VAC5-80-

650).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; 

§§ 110, 112, 165, 173, and 182, and Title V of the Clean Air 

Act; 40 CFR Parts 51, 61, 63, 70, and 72. 

Effective Date: November 16, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 

698-4510, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 

karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

On June 12, 2015, the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency (EPA) issued a final state implementation plan call 

concerning treatment of excess emissions in state rules by 

sources during periods of startup, shutdown, or 

malfunction (SSM), including Virginia's SSM rules at 

9VAC5-20-180 G. The U.S. Court of Appeals for the 

District of Columbia Circuit in NRDC v. EPA (No. 10-

1371) reviewed the EPA's action and held that the 

affirmative defense provisions were impermissible because 

they exceeded EPA's statutory authority. Therefore, state 

plans must be amended accordingly. EPA's Title V 

operating permit program at 40 CFR Part 70 contains 

affirmative defense provisions that the EPA is now 

proposing to remove. Virginia's operating permit 

regulations (Articles 1 and 3 of Part II of 9VAC5-80), 

which are based on 40 CFR Part 70, also contain an 

affirmative defense for malfunctions that also must now be 

removed. A number of minor administrative amendments 

are also made for more consistency with 9VAC5-20-180. 

9VAC5-80-250. Malfunction.  

A. A malfunction constitutes an affirmative defense to an 

action brought for noncompliance with technology-based 

emission limitations if In the event of a malfunction, the 

owner may demonstrate that the conditions of subsection B of 

this section are met.  

B. The affirmative defense of malfunction shall be 

demonstrated by the permittee may, through properly signed, 

contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant evidence 

that, show the following:  

1. A malfunction occurred and the permittee can identify 

the cause or causes of the malfunction.  

2. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 

operated.  

3. During the period of the malfunction, the permittee took 

all reasonable steps to minimize levels of emissions that 

exceeded the emission standards or other requirements in 

the permit.  

4. The permittee notified the board of the malfunction 

within two working days following the time when the 

emission limitations were exceeded due to the malfunction. 

This notification shall should include a description of the 

malfunction, any steps taken to mitigate emissions, and 

corrective actions taken. The notification may be delivered 

either orally or in writing. The notification may be 

delivered by electronic mail, facsimile transmission, 

telephone, telegraph, or any other method that allows the 

permittee to comply with the deadline. This notification 

fulfills the requirements of 9VAC5-80-110 F 2 b to report 

promptly deviations from permit requirements. This 

notification does not release the permittee from the 

malfunction reporting requirements under 9VAC5-20-180 

C.  
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C. In any enforcement proceeding, the permittee seeking to 

establish the occurrence of a malfunction shall have the 

burden of proof.  

D. The provisions of this section are in addition to any 

malfunction, emergency or upset provision contained in any 

applicable requirement.  

9VAC5-80-650. Malfunction.  

A. A malfunction constitutes an affirmative defense to an 

action brought for noncompliance with technology-based 

emission limitations if In the event of a malfunction, the 

owner may demonstrate that the conditions of subsection B of 

this section are met.  

B. The affirmative defense of malfunction shall be 

demonstrated by the permittee may, through properly signed, 

contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant evidence 

that, show the following:  

1. A malfunction occurred and the permittee can identify 

the cause or causes of the malfunction.  

2. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 

operated.  

3. During the period of the malfunction the permittee took 

all reasonable steps to minimize levels of emissions that 

exceeded the emission standards, or other requirements in 

the permit.  

4. The permittee notified the board of the malfunction 

within two working days following the time when the 

emission limitations were exceeded due to the malfunction. 

This notification shall should include a description of the 

malfunction, any steps taken to mitigate emissions, and 

corrective actions taken. The notification may be delivered 

either orally or in writing. The notification may be 

delivered by electronic mail, facsimile transmission, 

telephone, telegraph, or any other method that allows the 

permittee to comply with the deadline. This notification 

fulfills the requirements of 9VAC5-80-490 F 2 b to report 

promptly deviations from permit requirements. This 

notification does not release the permittee from the 

malfunction reporting requirements under 9VAC5-20-180 

C.  

C. In any enforcement proceeding, the permittee seeking to 

establish the occurrence of a malfunction shall have the 

burden of proof.  

D. The provisions of this section are in addition to any 

malfunction, emergency or upset provision contained in any 

applicable requirement.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4804; Filed September 14, 2016, 1:40 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Air Pollution Control 

Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with (i) § 2.2-4006 

A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 

are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 

where no agency discretion is involved and (ii) § 2.2-4006 A 

4 c of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 

are necessary to meet the requirements of federal law or 

regulations provided such regulations do not differ materially 

from those required by federal law or regulation. The State 

Air Pollution Control Board will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC5-140. Regulation for Emissions 

Trading Programs (Rev. D16) (repealing 9VAC5-140-

1010 through 9VAC5-140-3880).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-1308 and 10.1-1322.3 of the 

Code of Virginia; §§ 108, 109, 110 and 302 of the Clean Air 

Act; 40 CFR Part 51. 

Effective Date: November 16, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 

698-4510, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 

mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The Clean Air Interstate Rule (CAIR) was an emissions 

trading program intended to control nitrogen oxides (NOx) 

and sulfur dioxide (SO2), which contribute to harmful 

levels of fine particle matter and ozone in downwind states. 

On August 8, 2011, the Environmental Protection Agency 

(EPA) replaced CAIR with the Cross-State Air Pollution 

Rule (CSAPR), which is being implemented in Virginia 

under the associated federal implementation plan (FIP). 

Chapter 291 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly requires that 

§§ 10.1-1327 and 10.1-1328 of the Code of Virginia and 

any regulations implementing CAIR be repealed when 

facilities in the Commonwealth become subject to the 

requirements of a FIP adopted by EPA in response to the 

remand of CAIR. Because CAIR has been replaced by 

CSAPR, and Virginia is subject to the CSAPR FIP, 

Virginia may now, as required by Chapter 291, repeal its 

CAIR regulations. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4727; Filed September 14, 2016, 1:33 p.m.  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exclusion from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 

agency discretion is involved. The State Water Control Board 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 
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Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-840. Erosion and Sediment 

Control Regulations (amending 9VAC25-840-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15:52 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 17, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Frederick Cunningham, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4285, FAX (804) 

698-4032, or email frederick.cunningham@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 66 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments clarify that erosion and sediment control 

plans approved on and after July 1, 2014, and that are in 

accordance with the grandfathering or time limits on 

applicability of approved design criteria provisions of the 

Virginia Stormwater Management Program (VSMP) 

Regulation shall meet the flow rate capacity and velocity 

requirements of the Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control 

Program. 

9VAC25-840-40. Minimum standards. 

A VESCP must be consistent with the following criteria, 

techniques and methods:  

1. Permanent or temporary soil stabilization shall be 

applied to denuded areas within seven days after final 

grade is reached on any portion of the site. Temporary soil 

stabilization shall be applied within seven days to denuded 

areas that may not be at final grade but will remain 

dormant for longer than 14 days. Permanent stabilization 

shall be applied to areas that are to be left dormant for 

more than one year.  

2. During construction of the project, soil stock piles and 

borrow areas shall be stabilized or protected with sediment 

trapping measures. The applicant is responsible for the 

temporary protection and permanent stabilization of all soil 

stockpiles on site as well as borrow areas and soil 

intentionally transported from the project site.  

3. A permanent vegetative cover shall be established on 

denuded areas not otherwise permanently stabilized. 

Permanent vegetation shall not be considered established 

until a ground cover is achieved that is uniform, mature 

enough to survive and will inhibit erosion.  

4. Sediment basins and traps, perimeter dikes, sediment 

barriers and other measures intended to trap sediment shall 

be constructed as a first step in any land-disturbing activity 

and shall be made functional before upslope land 

disturbance takes place.  

5. Stabilization measures shall be applied to earthen 

structures such as dams, dikes and diversions immediately 

after installation.  

6. Sediment traps and sediment basins shall be designed 

and constructed based upon the total drainage area to be 

served by the trap or basin.  

a. The minimum storage capacity of a sediment trap shall 

be 134 cubic yards per acre of drainage area and the trap 

shall only control drainage areas less than three acres.  

b. Surface runoff from disturbed areas that is comprised 

of flow from drainage areas greater than or equal to three 

acres shall be controlled by a sediment basin. The 

minimum storage capacity of a sediment basin shall be 

134 cubic yards per acre of drainage area. The outfall 

system shall, at a minimum, maintain the structural 

integrity of the basin during a 25-year storm of 24-hour 

duration. Runoff coefficients used in runoff calculations 

shall correspond to a bare earth condition or those 

conditions expected to exist while the sediment basin is 

utilized.  

7. Cut and fill slopes shall be designed and constructed in a 

manner that will minimize erosion. Slopes that are found to 

be eroding excessively within one year of permanent 

stabilization shall be provided with additional slope 

stabilizing measures until the problem is corrected.  

8. Concentrated runoff shall not flow down cut or fill 

slopes unless contained within an adequate temporary or 

permanent channel, flume or slope drain structure.  

9. Whenever water seeps from a slope face, adequate 

drainage or other protection shall be provided.  

10. All storm sewer inlets that are made operable during 

construction shall be protected so that sediment-laden 

water cannot enter the conveyance system without first 

being filtered or otherwise treated to remove sediment.  

11. Before newly constructed stormwater conveyance 

channels or pipes are made operational, adequate outlet 

protection and any required temporary or permanent 

channel lining shall be installed in both the conveyance 

channel and receiving channel.  

12. When work in a live watercourse is performed, 

precautions shall be taken to minimize encroachment, 

control sediment transport and stabilize the work area to 

the greatest extent possible during construction. 

Nonerodible material shall be used for the construction of 

causeways and cofferdams. Earthen fill may be used for 

these structures if armored by nonerodible cover materials.  

13. When a live watercourse must be crossed by 

construction vehicles more than twice in any six-month 

period, a temporary vehicular stream crossing constructed 

of nonerodible material shall be provided.  

14. All applicable federal, state and local requirements 

pertaining to working in or crossing live watercourses shall 

be met.  

15. The bed and banks of a watercourse shall be stabilized 

immediately after work in the watercourse is completed.  

16. Underground utility lines shall be installed in 

accordance with the following standards in addition to 

other applicable criteria:  
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a. No more than 500 linear feet of trench may be opened 

at one time.  

b. Excavated material shall be placed on the uphill side 

of trenches.  

c. Effluent from dewatering operations shall be filtered or 

passed through an approved sediment trapping device, or 

both, and discharged in a manner that does not adversely 

affect flowing streams or off-site property.  

d. Material used for backfilling trenches shall be properly 

compacted in order to minimize erosion and promote 

stabilization.  

e. Restabilization shall be accomplished in accordance 

with this chapter.  

f. Applicable safety requirements shall be complied with.  

17. Where construction vehicle access routes intersect 

paved or public roads, provisions shall be made to 

minimize the transport of sediment by vehicular tracking 

onto the paved surface. Where sediment is transported onto 

a paved or public road surface, the road surface shall be 

cleaned thoroughly at the end of each day. Sediment shall 

be removed from the roads by shoveling or sweeping and 

transported to a sediment control disposal area. Street 

washing shall be allowed only after sediment is removed in 

this manner. This provision shall apply to individual 

development lots as well as to larger land-disturbing 

activities.  

18. All temporary erosion and sediment control measures 

shall be removed within 30 days after final site 

stabilization or after the temporary measures are no longer 

needed, unless otherwise authorized by the VESCP 

authority. Trapped sediment and the disturbed soil areas 

resulting from the disposition of temporary measures shall 

be permanently stabilized to prevent further erosion and 

sedimentation.  

19. Properties and waterways downstream from 

development sites shall be protected from sediment 

deposition, erosion and damage due to increases in volume, 

velocity and peak flow rate of stormwater runoff for the 

stated frequency storm of 24-hour duration in accordance 

with the following standards and criteria. Stream 

restoration and relocation projects that incorporate natural 

channel design concepts are not man-made channels and 

shall be exempt from any flow rate capacity and velocity 

requirements for natural or man-made channels:  

a. Concentrated stormwater runoff leaving a development 

site shall be discharged directly into an adequate natural 

or man-made receiving channel, pipe or storm sewer 

system. For those sites where runoff is discharged into a 

pipe or pipe system, downstream stability analyses at the 

outfall of the pipe or pipe system shall be performed.  

b. Adequacy of all channels and pipes shall be verified in 

the following manner:  

(1) The applicant shall demonstrate that the total drainage 

area to the point of analysis within the channel is one 

hundred 100 times greater than the contributing drainage 

area of the project in question; or  

(2) (a) Natural channels shall be analyzed by the use of a 

two-year storm to verify that stormwater will not overtop 

channel banks nor cause erosion of channel bed or banks.  

(b) All previously constructed man-made channels shall 

be analyzed by the use of a 10-year storm to verify that 

stormwater will not overtop its banks and by the use of a 

two-year storm to demonstrate that stormwater will not 

cause erosion of channel bed or banks; and  

(c) Pipes and storm sewer systems shall be analyzed by 

the use of a 10-year storm to verify that stormwater will 

be contained within the pipe or system.  

c. If existing natural receiving channels or previously 

constructed man-made channels or pipes are not 

adequate, the applicant shall:  

(1) Improve the channels to a condition where a 10-year 

storm will not overtop the banks and a two-year storm 

will not cause erosion to the channel, the bed, or the 

banks; or  

(2) Improve the pipe or pipe system to a condition where 

the 10-year storm is contained within the appurtenances;  

(3) Develop a site design that will not cause the pre-

development peak runoff rate from a two-year storm to 

increase when runoff outfalls into a natural channel or 

will not cause the pre-development peak runoff rate from 

a 10-year storm to increase when runoff outfalls into a 

man-made channel; or  

(4) Provide a combination of channel improvement, 

stormwater detention or other measures which is 

satisfactory to the VESCP authority to prevent 

downstream erosion.  

d. The applicant shall provide evidence of permission to 

make the improvements.  

e. All hydrologic analyses shall be based on the existing 

watershed characteristics and the ultimate development 

condition of the subject project.  

f. If the applicant chooses an option that includes 

stormwater detention, he shall obtain approval from the 

VESCP of a plan for maintenance of the detention 

facilities. The plan shall set forth the maintenance 

requirements of the facility and the person responsible 

for performing the maintenance.  

g. Outfall from a detention facility shall be discharged to 

a receiving channel, and energy dissipators shall be 

placed at the outfall of all detention facilities as 

necessary to provide a stabilized transition from the 

facility to the receiving channel.  

h. All on-site channels must be verified to be adequate.  
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i. Increased volumes of sheet flows that may cause 

erosion or sedimentation on adjacent property shall be 

diverted to a stable outlet, adequate channel, pipe or pipe 

system, or to a detention facility.  

j. In applying these stormwater management criteria, 

individual lots or parcels in a residential, commercial or 

industrial development shall not be considered to be 

separate development projects. Instead, the development, 

as a whole, shall be considered to be a single 

development project. Hydrologic parameters that reflect 

the ultimate development condition shall be used in all 

engineering calculations.  

k. All measures used to protect properties and waterways 

shall be employed in a manner which minimizes impacts 

on the physical, chemical and biological integrity of 

rivers, streams and other waters of the state.  

l. Any plan approved prior to July 1, 2014, that provides 

for stormwater management that addresses any flow rate 

capacity and velocity requirements for natural or man-

made channels shall satisfy the flow rate capacity and 

velocity requirements for natural or man-made channels 

if the practices are designed to (i) detain the water quality 

volume and to release it over 48 hours; (ii) detain and 

release over a 24-hour period the expected rainfall 

resulting from the one year, 24-hour storm; and (iii) 

reduce the allowable peak flow rate resulting from the 

1.5, 2, and 10-year, 24-hour storms to a level that is less 

than or equal to the peak flow rate from the site assuming 

it was in a good forested condition, achieved through 

multiplication of the forested peak flow rate by a 

reduction factor that is equal to the runoff volume from 

the site when it was in a good forested condition divided 

by the runoff volume from the site in its proposed 

condition, and shall be exempt from any flow rate 

capacity and velocity requirements for natural or man-

made channels as defined in any regulations promulgated 

pursuant to § 62.1-44.15:54 or 62.1-44.15:65 of the Act.  

m. For plans approved on and after July 1, 2014, the flow 

rate capacity and velocity requirements of § 62.1-

44.15:52 A of the Act and this subsection shall be 

satisfied by compliance with water quantity requirements 

in the Stormwater Management Act (§ 62.1-44.15:24 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia) and attendant regulations, 

unless such land-disturbing activities (i) are in 

accordance with provisions for time limits on 

applicability of approved design criteria in 9VAC25-870-

47 or grandfathering in 9VAC25-870-48 of the Virginia 

Stormwater Management Program (VSMP) Regulation, 

in which case the flow rate capacity and velocity 

requirements of § 62.1-44.15:52 A of the Act shall apply, 

or (ii) are exempt pursuant to subdivision C 7 of § 62.1-

44.15:34 C 7 of the Act. 

n. Compliance with the water quantity minimum 

standards set out in 9VAC25-870-66 of the Virginia 

Stormwater Management Program (VSMP) Regulation 

shall be deemed to satisfy the requirements of this 

subdivision 19. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4916; Filed September 23, 2016, 12:21 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 11. GAMING 

BOARD OF CHARITABLE GAMING 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC15-40. Charitable Gaming 

Regulations (amending 11VAC15-40-10, 11VAC15-40-30, 

11VAC15-40-50, 11VAC15-40-60, 11VAC15-40-70, 

11VAC15-40-80, 11VAC15-40-110, 11VAC15-40-120, 

11VAC15-40-130, 11VAC15-40-147, 11VAC15-40-150, 

11VAC15-40-210, 11VAC15-40-280; adding 11VAC15-40-

440, 11VAC15-40-450, 11VAC15-40-460, 11VAC15-40-

470, 11VAC15-40-480, 11VAC15-40-490, 11VAC15-40-

500, 11VAC15-40-510, 11VAC15-40-520, 11VAC15-40-

600, 11VAC15-40-610; repealing 11VAC15-40-420, 

11VAC15-40-430).  

Statutory Authority: § 18.2-340.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 17, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Michael Menefee, Program Manager, 

Charitable and Regulatory Programs, Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, 102 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3983, FAX (804) 

371-7479, or email michael.menefee@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 36 and 350 of the 2013 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments establish a new bingo game 

called "network bingo." The regulations (i) prescribe the 

conditions under which organizations may conduct 

network bingo; (ii) establish a percentage of the proceeds 

derived from network bingo sales that must be allocated to 

prize pools, the organization conducting the network 

bingo, and the network bingo provider; and (iii) establish 

procedures for retaining and distribution of any unclaimed 

prize. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  

Definitions 

11VAC15-40-10. Definitions. 

In addition to the definitions contained in § 18.2-340.16 of 

the Code of Virginia, the words and terms below when used 

in this regulation shall have the following meanings unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise:  



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 17, 2016 

470 

"Agent" means any person authorized by a supplier, network 

bingo provider, or manufacturer to act for or in place of such 

supplier, network bingo provider, or manufacturer.  

"Board" means the Virginia Charitable Gaming Board.  

"Board of directors" means the board of directors, managing 

committee, or other supervisory body of a qualified 

organization.  

"Calendar day" means the period of 24 consecutive hours 

commencing at 12:00:01 a.m. and concluding at midnight.  

"Calendar week" means the period of seven consecutive 

calendar days commencing at 12:00:01 a.m. on Sunday and 

ending at midnight the following Saturday.  

"Cash" means United States currency or coinage.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

"Concealed face bingo card" means a nonreusable bingo 

card constructed to conceal the card face.  

"Conduct" means the actions associated with the provision 

of a gaming operation during and immediately before or after 

the permitted activity, which may include, but not be limited 

to (i) selling bingo cards or packs, electronic bingo devices, 

instant bingo or pull-tab cards, electronic pull-tab devices, 

electronic pull-tabs, network bingo cards, or raffle tickets; (ii) 

calling bingo games; (iii) distributing prizes; and (iv) any 

other services provided by game workers.  

"Control program" means software involved in any critical 

game function. 

"Daubing" means covering a square containing a number 

called with indelible ink or otherwise marking a number 

called on a card or an electronic facsimile of a card.  

"Deal" means each separate package or series of packages 

consisting of one game of instant bingo, pull-tabs, or seal 

cards with the same serial number.  

"Decision bingo" means a bingo game where the cost to a 

player to play is dependent on the number of bingo numbers 

called and the prize payout is in direct relationship to the 

number of participants and the number of bingo numbers 

called, but shall not exceed statutory prize limits for a regular 

bingo game.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services, Division of Consumer Protection, 

Office of Charitable Gaming.  

"Designator" means an object used in the bingo number 

selection process, such as a ping-pong ball, upon which bingo 

letters and numbers are imprinted.  

"Discount" means any reduction in cost of admission or 

game packs or any other purchases through use of coupons, 

free packs, or other similar methods.  

"Disinterested player" means a player who is unbiased.  

"Disposable paper card" means a nonreusable, paper bingo 

card manufactured with preprinted numbers.  

"Distributed pull-tab system" means a computer system 

consisting of a computer or computers and associated 

equipment for the use of distributing a finite number of 

electronic pull-tabs, a certain number of which entitle a player 

to prize awards at various levels.  

"Door prize" means any prize awarded by the random 

drawing or random selection of a name or number based 

solely on attendance at a charitable gaming activity.  

"Electronic bingo device" means an electronic unit that uses 

proprietary software or hardware or, in conjunction with 

commonly available software and computers, displays 

facsimiles of bingo cards and allows a player to daub such 

cards or allows for the automatic daubing of such cards.  

"Electronic games of chance system" means a distributed 

pull-tab system.  

"Electronic pull-tabs" means an electronic version of a 

single instant bingo card or pull-tab. An electronic pull-tab is 

a predetermined game outcome in electronic form, distributed 

on-demand from a finite number of game outcomes by a 

distributed pull-tab system.  

"Electronic pull-tab device" means an electronic unit used to 

facilitate the play of an electronic pull-tab. An electronic pull-

tab device may take the form of an upright cabinet or a 

handheld device or may be of any other composition as 

approved by the department.  

"Equipment and video systems" means equipment that 

facilitates the conduct of charitable gaming such as ball 

blowers, flashboards, electronic verifiers, and replacement 

parts for such equipment. Equipment and video systems shall 

not include dispensing devices, electronic bingo devices, and 

electronic pull-tab devices.  

"Event game" means a bingo game that is played using 

instant bingo cards or pull-tabs in which the winners include 

both instant winners and winners who are determined by the 

random draw of a bingo ball, the random call of a bingo 

number, or the use of a seal card, and that is sold in its 

entirety and played to completion during a single bingo 

session. 

"Fiscal year" or "annual reporting period" means the 12-

month period beginning January 1 and ending December 31 

of any given year.  

"Flare" means a printed or electronic display that bears 

information relating to the name of the manufacturer or logo, 

name of the game, card count, cost per play, serial number, 

number of prizes to be awarded, and specific prize amounts in 

a deal of instant bingo, pull-tab, seal cards, or electronic pull-

tabs.  

"Free space number," "perm number," "center number," 

"card number," or "face number" means the number generally 

printed in the center space of a bingo card that identifies the 

unique pattern of numbers printed on that card.  

"Game program" means a written list of all games to be 

played including, but not limited to, the sales price of all 
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bingo paper, network bingo cards, and electronic bingo 

devices, pack configuration, prize amounts to be paid during a 

session for each game, and an indication whether prize 

amounts are fixed or are based on attendance.  

"Game set" means the entire pool of electronic pull-tabs that 

contains predefined and randomized game results assigned 

under a unique serial number. This term is equivalent to 

"deal" or "deck." 

"Game subset" means a division of a game set into equal 

sizes. 

"Immediate family" means one's spouse, parent, child, 

sibling, grandchild, grandparent, mother or father-in-law, or 

stepchild.  

"Interested persons" means the president, an officer, or a 

bingo game manager of any qualified organization that is 

exempt or is a permit applicant or holds a permit to conduct 

charitable gaming; or the owner, director, officer, or partner 

of an entity engaged in supplying charitable gaming supplies 

to organizations, engaged in providing network bingo 

supplies to organizations, or engaged in manufacturing any 

component of a distributed pull-tab system that is distributed 

in the Commonwealth.  

"IRS" means the United States U.S. Internal Revenue 

Service.  

"Management" means the provision of oversight of a 

gaming operation, which may include, but is not limited to, 

the responsibilities of applying for and maintaining a permit 

or authorization; compiling, submitting, and maintaining 

required records and financial reports; and ensuring that all 

aspects of the operation are in compliance with all applicable 

statutes and regulations.  

"Manufacturer" means a person who or entity that assembles 

from raw materials or subparts a completed piece of bingo 

equipment or supplies, a distributed pull-tab system, or other 

charitable gaming equipment or supplies. "Manufacturer" also 

means a person who or entity that modifies, converts, adds, or 

removes parts to or from bingo equipment or supplies, a 

distributed pull-tab system, or other charitable gaming 

equipment or supplies to further their promotion or sale for 

the conduct of charitable gaming.  

"OCG number" means a unique identification number issued 

by the department. 

"Operation" means the activities associated with production 

of a charitable gaming activity, which may include, but is not 

limited to, (i) the direct on-site supervision of the conduct of 

charitable gaming; (ii) coordination of game workers; and 

(iii) all responsibilities of charitable gaming designated by the 

organization's management.  

"Organization number" means a unique identification 

number issued by the department. 

"Owner" means any individual with financial interest of 

10% or more in a supplier, network bingo provider, or a 

manufacturer of a distributed pull-tab system distributed in 

the Commonwealth.  

"Pack" means sheets of bingo paper or electronic facsimiles 

assembled in the order of games to be played. This shall not 

include any raffle.  

"Prize" means cash, merchandise, certificate, or other item 

of value awarded to a winning player.  

"Progressive bingo" means a bingo game in which the prize 

is carried forward to the next game if a predetermined pattern 

is not completed within a specified number of bingo numbers 

called. 

"Progressive seal card" means a seal card game in which a 

prize is carried forward to the next deal if not won when a 

deal is completed.  

"Remuneration" means payment in cash or the provision of 

anything of value for goods provided or services rendered.  

"Seal card" means a board or placard used in conjunction 

with a deal of the same serial number that contains one or 

more concealed areas that, when removed or opened, reveal a 

predesignated winning number, letter, or symbol located on 

that board or placard.  

"Selection device" means a manually or mechanically 

operated device used to randomly select bingo numbers.  

"Serial number" means a unique number assigned by the 

manufacturer to each set of bingo cards or network bingo 

cards; each instant bingo, pull-tab, or seal card in a deal; each 

electronic bingo device; each door prize ticket; each game set 

and game subset of electronic pull-tabs; and each electronic 

pull-tab device.  

"Series number" means the number of unique card faces 

contained in a set of disposable bingo paper cards, network 

bingo cards, or bingo hard cards. A 9000 series, for example, 

has 9000 unique faces.  

"Session" means a period of time during which one or more 

bingo games are conducted, and during which instant bingo, 

pull-tabs, seal cards, or electronic pull-tabs may be sold and 

redeemed. A session begins with the sale of instant bingo, 

pull-tabs, seal cards, electronic pull-tabs, electronic bingo 

devices, network bingo cards, or bingo cards or packs.  

"Treasure chest" means a raffle including a locked treasure 

chest containing a prize that a participant, selected through 

some other authorized charitable game, is afforded the chance 

to select from a series of keys a predetermined key that will 

open the locked treasure chest to win a prize.  

"Use of proceeds" means the use of funds derived by an 

organization from its charitable gaming activities, which are 

disbursed for those lawful religious, charitable, community, 

or educational purposes. This includes expenses relating to 

the acquisition, construction, maintenance, or repair of any 

interest in the real property involved in the operation of the 

organization and used for lawful religious, charitable, 

community, or educational purposes.  
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"Voucher" means a printed ticket tendered to the player, 

upon request, for any unused game plays and/or winnings that 

remain on the electronic pull-tab device.  

"WINGO" means a variation of a traditional bingo game that 

uses visual devices rather than a verbal caller and is intended 

for play by hearing impaired persons.  

11VAC15-40-30. Permit application process. 

A. Any organization anticipating gross gaming receipts that 

exceed the amount set forth in § 18.2-340.23 of the Code of 

Virginia shall complete a department-prescribed application 

to request issuance or renewal of an annual permit to conduct 

charitable gaming. Organizations shall submit a 

nonrefundable fee payable to the Treasurer of Virginia in the 

amount of $200 with the application, unless the organization 

is exempt from such fee pursuant to § 18.2-340.23 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

B. The department may initiate action against any 

organization exempt from permit requirements when it 

reasonably believes the organization is not in compliance 

with the provisions of charitable gaming laws or this chapter.  

C. Permit holders requiring a special permit pursuant to 

§ 18.2-340.27 E of the Code of Virginia shall convey their 

request on a form prescribed by the department. 

Organizations shall submit a fee payable to the Treasurer of 

Virginia in the amount of $50 with the request for a special 

permit, unless the organization is exempt from such fee 

pursuant to § 18.2-340.23 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. Permits shall be valid for a period of one year from the 

date of issuance or for a period specified on the permit. The 

department may issue permits for periods of less than one 

year.  

E. Permits shall be granted only after a background 

investigation of an organization or interested persons, or both, 

to ensure public safety and welfare as required by § 18.2-

340.25 of the Code of Virginia. Investigations shall consider 

the nature, the age and severity, and the potential harm to 

public safety and welfare of any criminal offenses. The 

investigation may include, but shall not be limited to, the 

following:  

1. A search of criminal history records for the chief 

executive officer and chief financial officer of the 

organization. Information and authorization to conduct 

these records checks shall be provided in the permit 

application. In addition, the department shall require that 

the organization provides assurances that all other 

members involved in the management, operation, or 

conduct of charitable gaming meet the requirements of 

subdivision 13 of § 18.2-340.33 of the Code of Virginia. 

Applications may be denied if:  

a. Any person participating in the management of any 

charitable gaming has ever been:  

(1) Convicted of a felony; or  

(2) Convicted of any misdemeanor involving fraud, theft, 

or financial crimes within the preceding five years.  

b. Any person participating in the conduct of charitable 

gaming has been:  

(1) Convicted of any felony in the preceding 10 years; or  

(2) Convicted of any misdemeanor involving fraud, theft, 

or financial crimes within the preceding five years;  

2. An inquiry as to whether the organization has been 

granted tax-exempt status pursuant to § 501(c) by the 

Internal Revenue Service and is in compliance with IRS 

annual filing requirements;  

3. An inquiry as to whether the organization has entered 

into any contract with, or has otherwise employed for 

compensation, any persons for the purpose of organizing or 

managing, operating, or conducting any charitable gaming 

activity;  

4. Inquiries into the finances and activities of the 

organization and the sources and uses of funds; and  

5. Inquiries into the level of community or financial 

support to the organization and the level of community 

involvement in the membership and management of the 

organization.  

F. The permit application for an organization that has not 

previously held a permit shall include:  

1. A copy of the articles of incorporation, bylaws, charter, 

constitution, or other appropriate organizing document;  

2. A copy of the determination letter issued by the IRS 

under § 501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code, if 

appropriate, or a letter from the national office of an 

organization indicating the applicant organization is in 

good standing and is currently covered by a group 

exemption ruling. A letter of good standing is not required 

if the applicable national or state office has furnished the 

department with a listing of member organizations in good 

standing in the Commonwealth as of January 1 of each 

year and has agreed to promptly provide the department 

any changes to the listing as they occur;  

3. A copy of the written lease or proposed written lease 

agreement and all other agreements if the organization 

rents or intends to rent a facility where bingo is or will be 

conducted. Information on the lease shall include name, 

address, and phone number of the landlord; maximum 

occupancy of the building; and the rental amount per 

session; and  

4. An authorization by an officer or other appropriate 

official of the organization to permit the department to 

determine whether the organization has been investigated 

or examined by the IRS in connection with charitable 

gaming activities during the previous three years.  

G. Copies of minutes of meetings of the organization and 

any contracts with landlords or, suppliers, network bingo 

providers, or manufacturers to which the organization is or 
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may be a party may be requested by the department prior to 

rendering a permitting decision.  

H. Organizations applying to renew a permit previously 

issued by the department shall submit articles of 

incorporation, bylaws, charter, constitution, or other 

organizing document, and IRS determination letter only if 

there are any amendments or changes to these documents that 

are directly related to the management, operation, or conduct 

of charitable gaming.  

I. Organizations may request permits to conduct joint bingo 

games as provided in § 18.2-340.29 of the Code of Virginia. 

1. In the case of a joint game, each organization shall file a 

permit application.  

2. The nonrefundable permit fee for joint games shall be a 

total of $200. However, no permit application fee is due if 

each of the organizations is exempt from the application 

fee pursuant to § 18.2-340.23 of the Code of Virginia.  

3. A single permit shall be issued in the names of all the 

organizations conducting a joint game. All restrictions and 

prohibitions applying to single organizations shall apply to 

qualified organizations jointly conducting bingo games 

pursuant to § 18.2-340.29 of the Code of Virginia.  

4. No charitable gaming shall be conducted prior to the 

issuance of a joint permit.  

5. Applications for joint games shall include an 

explanation of the division of manpower, costs, and 

proceeds for the joint game.  

J. An organization wishing to change dates, times, or 

locations of its charitable gaming shall request an amendment 

to its permit. Amendment requests shall be made in writing 

on a form prescribed by the department in advance of the 

proposed effective date.  

K. An organization may cancel its charitable gaming due to 

inclement weather, disasters, or other circumstances outside 

the organization's control without an amendment to its permit.  

L. An organization may sell raffle tickets for a drawing to be 

held outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia in the United 

States provided:  

1. The raffle is conducted by the organization in 

conjunction with a meeting outside the Commonwealth of 

Virginia or with another organization that is licensed to 

conduct raffles outside the Commonwealth of Virginia;  

2. The raffle is conducted in accordance with [ these 

regulations this chapter ] and the laws and regulations of 

the state where the drawing is to be held; and  

3. The portion of the proceeds derived from the sale of 

raffle tickets in the Commonwealth is reported to the 

department.  

M. Any permitted organization that ceases to conduct 

charitable gaming shall immediately notify the department in 

writing and provide the department a report as to the 

disposition of all unused gaming supplies on a form 

prescribed by the department. 

Article 2 

Conduct of Games, Rules of Play, Electronic Bingo  

11VAC15-40-50. Conduct of bingo, instant bingo, pull-

tabs, seal cards, event games, network bingo, and raffles. 

A. Organizations subject to this chapter shall post their 

permit at all times on the premises where charitable gaming is 

conducted.  

B. No individual shall provide any information or engage in 

any conduct that alters or is intended to alter the outcome of 

any charitable game.  

C. Individuals under 18 years of age may play bingo 

provided such persons are accompanied by a parent or legal 

guardian. It shall be the responsibility of the organization to 

ensure that such individuals are eligible to play. An 

organization's house rules may further limit the play of bingo 

or purchase of raffle tickets by minors.  

D. Individuals under the age of 18 may sell raffle tickets for 

a qualified organization raising funds for activities in which 

they are active participants.  

E. No individual under the age of 18 may participate in the 

management or operation of bingo games. Individuals 14 

through 17 years of age may participate in the conduct of a 

bingo game provided the organization permitted for charitable 

gaming obtains and keeps on file written parental consent 

from the parent or legal guardian and verifies the date of birth 

of the minor. An organization's house rules may further limit 

the involvement of minors in the conduct of bingo games.  

F. No qualified organization shall sell any network bingo 

cards, instant bingo, pull-tab, seal card, or electronic pull-tab 

to any individual under 18 years of age. No individual under 

18 years of age shall play or redeem any network bingo cards, 

instant bingo, pull-tab, seal card, or electronic pull-tab.  

G. Unless otherwise prohibited by the Code of Virginia or 

this chapter, nonmembers who are under the direct 

supervision of a bona fide member may participate in the 

conduct of bingo.  

H. All game workers shall have in their possession a picture 

identification, such as a driver's license or other government-

issued identification, and shall make the picture identification 

available for inspection upon request by a department agent 

while participating in the management, operation, or conduct 

of a bingo game.  

I. A game manager who is a bona fide member of the 

organization and is designated by the organization's 

management as the person responsible for the operation of the 

bingo game during a particular session shall be present any 

time a bingo game is conducted.  

J. Organizations shall ensure that all charitable gaming 

equipment is in working order before charitable gaming 

activities commence.  



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 17, 2016 

474 

K. Any organization selling bingo, instant bingo, pull-tabs, 

seal cards, network bingo supplies, or electronic pull-tabs 

shall:  

1. Maintain a supplier's, network bingo provider's, or 

manufacturer's invoice or a legible copy thereof at the 

location where the gaming is taking place and cards are 

sold. The original invoice or legible copy shall be stored in 

the same storage space as the gaming supplies. All gaming 

supplies shall be stored in a secure area that has access 

limited only to bona fide members of the organization; and  

2. Pay for all gaming supplies only by a check drawn on 

the charitable gaming account of the organization.  

A complete inventory of all such gaming supplies shall be 

maintained by the organization on the premises where the 

gaming is being conducted.  

L. A bingo session game worker may receive 

complimentary food and nonalcoholic beverages provided on 

premises, as long as the retail value of such food and 

beverages does not exceed $15 for each session.  

M. Permitted organizations shall not commingle records, 

supplies, or funds from permitted activities with those from 

instant bingo, pull-tabs, seal cards, or electronic pull-tabs sold 

in social quarters in accordance with § 18.2-340.26:1 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

N. Individuals who are not members of an organization or 

are members who do not participate in any charitable gaming 

activities may be paid reasonable fees for preparation of 

quarterly and annual financial reports.  

O. Except as allowed pursuant to § 18.2-340.34:1 of the 

Code of Virginia, no free packs, free electronic bingo devices, 

free network bingo cards, discounts, or remuneration in any 

other form shall be provided directly or indirectly to game 

workers, members of their family, or individuals residing in 

their household. The reduction of tuition, dues, or any fees or 

payments due as a result of a member or shareholder, or 

anyone in their household, working bingo games or raffles is 

prohibited.  

P. Individuals providing security for an organization's 

charitable gaming activity shall not participate in the 

charitable gaming activity and shall not be compensated with 

charitable gaming supplies or network bingo cards or with 

rentals of electronic bingo devices or electronic pull-tab 

devices.  

Q. No organization shall award any prize money or any 

merchandise valued in excess of the amounts specified by the 

Code of Virginia.  

R. Multiple bingo sessions shall be permitted in a single 

premises as long as the sessions are distinct from one another 

and are not used to advertise or do not result in the awarding 

of more in prizes than is permitted for a single qualified 

organization. All leases for organizations to conduct 

charitable gaming in a single premises shall ensure each 

session is separated by an interval of at least 30 minutes. 

Bingo sales for the subsequent session may take place during 

the 30-minute break once the building is cleared of all patrons 

and workers from the previous session.  

S. All bingo and instant bingo, pull-tabs, seal card, or 

electronic pull-tab sales, play, and redemption must occur 

within the time specified on the charitable gaming permit. 

Network bingo card sales must occur within the time 

specified on the charitable gaming permit. 

T. Instant bingo, pull-tabs, seal cards, or electronic pull-tabs 

shall only be sold in conjunction with a bingo session, except 

as authorized by § 18.2-340.26:1 or 18.2-340.26:2 of the 

Code of Virginia. No instant bingo, pull-tabs, seal card, or 

electronic pull-tab sales shall take place more than two hours 

before the selection of the first ball for the first bingo game or 

more than two hours after the selection of the last ball for the 

last bingo game. If multiple sessions are held at the same 

location, no instant bingo, pull-tab, seal card, or electronic 

pull-tab sales shall be conducted during the required 30-

minute break between sessions. The department may take 

action if it believes that a bingo session is not legitimate or is 

being conducted in a manner such that instant bingo, pull-

tabs, seal cards, or electronic pull-tabs are not being sold in 

conjunction with a bingo session.  

U. Only a game worker for a qualified organization may 

rent, exchange, or otherwise provide electronic bingo devices 

or electronic pull-tab devices to players.  

V. A qualified organization shall conduct only bingo games, 

network bingo, and raffles listed on a game program for that 

session. The program shall list all prize amounts. If the prize 

amounts are determined by attendance or at the end of a 

game, the game program shall list the attendance required for 

the prize amount or disclose that prizes shall be determined at 

the end of a game and the method for determining the prize 

amount. In such case, the organization shall announce the 

prize amount at the end of the game. The percentage of the 

gross receipts from network bingo cards allocated to the prize 

pool shall be listed on the game program along with the 

maximum allowable prize amount for network bingo. 

W. A qualified organization selling instant bingo, pull-tabs, 

seal cards, or electronic pull-tabs shall post a flare provided 

by the manufacturer at the location where such cards are sold. 

All such sales and prize payouts shall be in accordance with 

the flare for that deal.  

X. Only qualified organizations, facilities in which qualified 

organizations play bingo, network bingo providers, and 

suppliers permitted by the department shall advertise a bingo 

game. Providing players with information about network 

bingo or bingo games through printed advertising is 

permitted, provided the name of the qualified organization 

shall be in a type size equal to or larger than the name of the 

premises, the hall, or the word "bingo." Printed 

advertisements shall identify the use of proceeds percentage 

reported in the past quarter or fiscal year.  
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Y. Raffles that award prizes based on a percentage of gross 

receipts shall use prenumbered tickets.  

Z. The following rules shall apply to instant bingo, pull-tab, 

or seal card dispensing devices:  

1. A dispensing device shall only be used at a location and 

time during which a qualified organization holds a permit 

to conduct charitable gaming. Only cards purchased by an 

organization to be used during the organization's charitable 

gaming activity shall be in the dispensing device.  

2. Keys to the dispensing area and coin/cash box shall be in 

the possession and control of the game manager or 

designee of the organization's board of directors at all 

times. Keys shall at all times be available at the location 

where the dispensing device is being used.  

3. The game manager or designee shall provide access to 

the dispensing device to a department agent for inspection 

upon request.  

4. Only a game worker of an organization may stock the 

dispensing device, remove cash, or pay winners' prizes.  

AA. Organizations shall only rent, lease, or purchase 

charitable gaming supplies from a supplier, network bingo 

supplies from a network bingo provider, or electronic pull-

tabs from a manufacturer or supplier who has a current permit 

issued by the department.  

BB. An organization shall not tamper with bingo paper 

received from a supplier.  

CC. The total amount of all discounts given by any 

organization during any fiscal year shall not exceed 1.0% of 

the organization's gross receipts.  

11VAC15-40-60. Rules of play. 

A. Each organization shall adopt "house rules" regarding 

conduct of the game session. The "house rules" for the 

network bingo game shall be adopted by a mutual agreement 

among all of the organizations participating in a particular 

network bingo or by the network bingo provider. Such rules 

shall be consistent with the provisions of the law and this 

chapter. "House rules" shall be conspicuously posted or 

printed on the game program.  

B. All players shall be physically present at the location 

where the bingo numbers for a bingo game are drawn to play 

the game or to claim a prize, except when the player, who has 

purchased a network bingo card, is participating in network 

bingo. Seal card prizes that can only be determined after a 

seal is removed or opened must be claimed within 30 days of 

the close of a deal. All other prizes must be claimed on the 

game date.  

C. The following rules of play shall govern the sale of 

instant bingo, pull-tabs, and seal cards:  

1. No cards that have been marked, defaced, altered, 

tampered with, or otherwise constructed in a manner that 

tends to deceive the public or affect the chances of winning 

or losing shall be placed into play.  

2. Winning cards shall have the winning symbol or number 

defaced or punched immediately after redemption by the 

organization's authorized representative.  

3. An organization may commingle unsold instant bingo 

cards and pull-tabs with no more than one additional deal. 

The practice of commingling deals shall be disclosed to the 

public via house rules or in a similar manner. Seal card 

deals shall not be commingled.  

4. If a deal is not played to completion and unsold cards 

remain, the remaining cards shall be sold at the next 

session the same type of ticket is scheduled to be sold. If 

no future date is anticipated, the organization shall, after 

making diligent efforts to sell the entire deal, consider the 

deal closed or completed. The unsold cards shall be 

retained for a minimum of three years following the close 

of the fiscal year and shall not be opened.  

5. All seal card games purchased shall contain the sign-up 

sheet, the seals, and the cards packaged together in each 

deal.  

6. Progressive seal card prizes not claimed within 30 days 

shall be carried forward to the next progressive seal card 

game in progress and paid to the next progressive seal card 

game prize winner.  

D. No one involved in the conduct of bingo may play bingo, 

play network bingo, or purchase network bingo cards at any 

session they have worked or intend to work. No one involved 

in the sale or redemption of any instant bingo, pull-tabs, seal 

cards, or electronic pull-tabs may purchase directly or through 

others instant bingo, pull-tab, seal card, or electronic pull-tab 

products from organizations they assist on the day they have 

worked or from any deal they have helped sell or redeem, 

whichever occurs later. 

E. Electronic bingo.  

1. Electronic bingo devices may be used by bingo players 

in the following manner:  

a. Players may input into the device each number called 

or the device may automatically daub each number as the 

number is called; 

b. Players must notify the game operator or caller of a 

winning pattern of bingo by a means other than use of the 

electronic bingo device;  

c. Players are limited to playing a maximum of 54 card 

faces per device per game; 

d. Electronic bingo devices shall not be reserved for 

players. Each player shall have an equal opportunity to 

use the available electronic bingo devices on a first come, 

first served basis;  

e. Each electronic bingo device shall produce a player 

receipt with the organization name, date, time, location, 

sequential transaction or receipt number, number of 

electronic bingo cards loaded, cost of electronic bingo 

cards loaded, and date and time of the transaction. 
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Images of cards or faces stored in an electronic bingo 

device must be exact duplicates of the printed faces if 

faces are printed;  

f. Department agents may examine and inspect any 

electronic bingo device and related system. Such 

examination and inspection shall include immediate 

access to the electronic bingo device and unlimited 

inspection of all parts and associated systems and may 

involve the removal of equipment from the game 

premises for further testing;  

g. All electronic bingo devices must be loaded or enabled 

for play on the premises where the game will be played;  

h. All electronic bingo devices shall be rented or 

otherwise provided to a player only by an organization 

and no part of the proceeds of the rental of such devices 

shall be paid to a landlord, or his employee, agent, or 

member of his immediate family; and  

i. If a player's call of a bingo is disputed by another 

player, or if a department agent makes a request, one or 

more cards stored on an electronic bingo device shall be 

printed by the organization.  

2. Players may exchange a defective electronic bingo 

device for another electronic bingo device provided a 

disinterested player verifies that the device is not 

functioning. A disinterested player shall also verify that no 

numbers called for the game in progress have been keyed 

into the replacement electronic bingo device prior to the 

exchange.  

F. The following rules of play shall govern the conduct of 

raffles:  

1. Before a prize drawing, each stub or other detachable 

section of each ticket sold shall be placed into a receptacle 

from which the winning tickets shall be drawn. The 

receptacle shall be designed so that each ticket placed in it 

has an equal chance to be drawn.  

2. All prizes shall be valued at fair market value.  

G. The following rules shall apply to "decision bingo" 

games:  

1. Decision bingo shall be played on bingo cards in the 

conventional manner.  

2. Players shall enter a game by paying a predetermined 

amount for each card face in play.  

3. Players shall pay a predetermined fee for each set of 

three bingo numbers called for each card in play.  

4. The prize amount shall be the total of all fees not to 

exceed the prize limit set forth for regular bingo in § 18.2-

340.33 of the Code of Virginia. Any excess funds shall be 

retained by the organization.  

5. The predetermined amounts in subdivisions 2 and 3 of 

this subsection shall be printed in the game program. The 

prize amount for a game shall be announced before the 

prize is paid to the winner.  

H. The following rules shall apply to "treasure chest" games:  

1. The organization shall list the treasure chest game on the 

bingo game program as a "Treasure Chest Raffle."  

2. The organization shall have house rules posted that 

describe how the game is to be played.  

3. The treasure chest participant shall only be selected 

through some other authorized charitable game at the same 

bingo session.  

4. The organization shall account for all funds as treasure 

chest/raffle sales on the session reconciliation form.  

5. If the player does not open the lock on the treasure chest, 

the game manager or his designee shall proceed to try 

every key until the correct key opens the treasure chest 

lock to show all players that one of the keys will open the 

lock.  

I. The following rules shall apply to progressive bingo 

games: 

1. Bingo paper sold for use in progressive bingo games 

shall conform to the standards set forth in 11VAC15-40-

130. 

2. Organizations shall not include in admission packs the 

bingo paper intended for use in progressive bingo games. 

3. Any progressive bingo game, its prize, and the number 

of bingo numbers to be called shall be clearly announced 

before the progressive bingo game is played and shall be 

posted on the premises where the progressive bingo game 

is played during each session that a progressive bingo 

game is played. 

4. Pricing for a progressive bingo game card or sheet shall 

be listed on the game program. 

5. If the predetermined pattern is not covered within the 

predetermined number of bingo numbers to be called, then 

the number of bingo numbers called will increase by one 

number for each subsequent session the progressive bingo 

game is played. 

6. If the predetermined pattern is not covered within the 

predetermined number of bingo numbers to be called for 

that progressive bingo game, then the game will continue 

as a regular bingo game until the predetermined pattern is 

covered and a regular bingo prize is awarded. 

7. The prize for any progressive bingo game shall be in 

accordance with the provisions of subdivision 10 of § 18.2-

340.33 of the Code of Virginia. 

J. The following rules shall apply to "WINGO":  

1. "WINGO" shall be played only for the hearing-impaired 

players.  

2. "WINGO" shall utilize a visual device such as an 

oversized deck of cards in place of balls selected from a 

blower.  
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3. A caller must be in an area visible to all players and 

shall randomly select cards or other visual devices one at a 

time and display them so that all players can see them.  

4. The organization must have house rules for "WINGO" 

and the rules shall identify how players indicate that they 

have won.  

5. All financial reporting shall be consistent with reporting 

for a traditional bingo game.  

K. The following rules of play shall apply to event games: 

1. No instant bingo cards or pull-tabs that have been 

marked, defaced, altered, tampered with, or otherwise 

constructed in a manner that tends to deceive the public or 

affect the chances of winning or losing shall be placed into 

play. 

2. Instant bingo cards and pull-tabs used in an event game 

shall not be offered for sale or sold at a purchase price 

other than the purchase price indicated on the flare for that 

particular deal. 

3. The maximum prize amount for event games shall not 

exceed the amount set forth in subdivision 9 of § 18.2-

340.33 of the Code of Virginia for instant bingo, pull-tab, 

or seal card. 

4. A sign-up sheet is not required for event games in which 

the winner or winners are determined using a seal card.  

5. Organizations shall determine the winner or winners of 

event games during the same bingo session in which the 

instant bingo cards or pull-tabs are sold. 

6. An authorized representative of the organization shall 

deface or punch the winning instant bingo cards or winning 

pull-tabs immediately after redemption. 

7. If unsold bingo cards or unsold pull-tabs remain, the 

unsold cards shall be retained for a minimum of three years 

following the close of the fiscal year and shall not be 

opened.  

Article 3 

Bank Accounts, Recordkeeping, Financial Reporting, Audits, 

Fees 

11VAC15-40-70. Bank accounts. 

A. A qualified organization shall maintain a charitable 

gaming bank account that is separate from any other bank 

account and all gaming receipts shall be deposited into the 

charitable gaming bank account.  

B. Disbursements for expenses other than prizes and 

reimbursement of meal expenses shall be made by check 

directly from a charitable gaming account. However, 

expenses related to a network bingo game may be disbursed 

through an electronic fund transfer to the network bingo 

provider provided that such an arrangement is agreed upon by 

both the qualified organization and the network bingo 

provider. A written agreement specifying the terms of this 

arrangement shall be required prior to any electronic fund 

transfer occurring between the two parties. 

C. All charitable gaming bank account records, including 

but not limited to monthly bank statements, canceled checks 

or facsimiles thereof, and reconciliations, shall be maintained 

for a minimum of three years following the close of a fiscal 

year.  

D. All receipts from each session of bingo games and instant 

bingo, network bingo games, pull-tabs, seal cards, or 

electronic pull-tabs shall be deposited by the second business 

day following the session at which they were received. 

E. Raffle proceeds shall be deposited into the qualified 

organization's charitable gaming bank account no later than 

the end of the calendar week following the week during 

which the organization received the proceeds.  

11VAC15-40-80. Recordkeeping. 

A. In addition to the records required by § 18.2-340.30 D of 

the Code of Virginia, qualified organizations conducting 

bingo shall maintain a system of records for a minimum of 

three years from the close of the fiscal year, unless otherwise 

specified, for each gaming session on forms prescribed by the 

department, or reasonable facsimiles of those forms approved 

by the department, that include:  

1. Charitable gaming supplies or network bingo supplies 

purchased and used;  

2. A session reconciliation form, an instant bingo, pull-tab, 

or seal card reconciliation form, and an electronic pull-tab 

reconciliation form completed and signed within 48 hours 

of the end of the session by the bingo game manager;  

3. All discounts provided;  

4. A reconciliation to account for cash received from floor 

workers for the sale of extra bingo sheets for any game, or 

network bingo cards;  

5. The summary report that electronic bingo systems are 

required to maintain pursuant to 11VAC15-40-130 D 11;  

6. An admissions control system that provides a cross-

check on the number of players in attendance and 

admission sales. This may include a ticket control system, 

cash register, or any similar system; 

7. All operating expenses including rent, advertising, and 

security. Copies of invoices for all such expenses shall also 

be maintained; 

8. Expected and actual receipts from games played on hard 

cards and number of games played on hard cards;  

9. A record of the name and address of each winner for all 

seal cards; in addition, the winning ticket and seal card 

shall be maintained for a minimum of 90 days after the 

session; 

10. A record of all door prizes awarded; and 

11. For any prize or jackpot of a value that meets or 

exceeds the reporting requirements in the Internal Revenue 

Service's Publication 3079, the name and address of each 

individual to whom any such prize or jackpot is awarded 

and the amount of the award.  
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B. Qualified organizations conducting raffles shall have a 

recordkeeping system to account for cash receipts, cash 

disbursements, raffle tickets purchased or sold, and prizes 

awarded. All records shall be maintained for a minimum of 

three years from the close of the fiscal year. The 

recordkeeping system shall include: 

1. Invoices for the purchase of raffle tickets, which shall 

reflect the following information: 

a. Name and address of supplier; 

b. Name of purchaser; 

c. Date of purchase;  

d. Number of tickets printed; 

e. Ticket number sequence for tickets printed; and 

f. Sales price of individual ticket; 

2. A record of cash receipts from raffle ticket sales by 

tracking the total number of tickets available for sale, the 

number issued to sellers, the number returned, the number 

sold, and reconciliation of all raffle sales to receipts;  

3. Serial numbers of tickets for raffle sales initiated and 

concluded at a bingo game or sequentially numbered 

tickets, which shall state the name, address, and telephone 

number of the organization, the prize or prizes to be 

awarded, the date of the prize drawing or selection, the 

selling price of the raffle ticket, and the charitable gaming 

permit number; 

4. For any raffle prize of a value that meets or exceeds the 

reporting requirements in the Internal Revenue Service's 

Publication 3079, receipts on which prize winners must 

provide printed name, residence address, and the amount 

and description of the prize received; and  

5. Deposit records of the required weekly deposits of raffle 

receipts.  

C. All raffle tickets shall have a detachable section; be 

consecutively numbered with the detachable section having 

the same number; provide space for the purchaser's name, 

complete address, and telephone number; and state (i) the 

name and address of the organization; (ii) the prize or prizes 

to be awarded; (iii) the date, time and location of the prize 

drawing; (iv) the selling price of the ticket; and (v) the 

charitable gaming permit number. Winning tickets and unsold 

tickets shall be maintained for a minimum of three years from 

the close of the fiscal year.  

D. All unused charitable gaming supplies or network bingo 

supplies shall either be returned for refund to the original 

supplier in unopened original packaging in resalable 

condition as determined by the supplier or destroyed 

following notification to the department on a form prescribed 

by the department. The organization shall maintain a receipt 

for all such supplies returned to the supplier or destroyed.  

Article 4 

Rent 

11VAC15-40-110. Requirements regarding renting 

premises, agreements, and landlord participation. 

A. No organization shall rent or use any leased premises to 

conduct charitable gaming unless all terms for rental or use 

are set forth in a written agreement and signed by the parties 

thereto prior to the issuance of a permit to conduct charitable 

gaming. A qualified organization that leases a building or 

other premises that is utilized in whole or in part for the 

purpose of conducting charitable gaming more frequently 

than two calendar days in one calendar week shall only lease 

such premises directly from (i) a qualified organization that is 

exempt from taxation pursuant to § 501(c) of the Internal 

Revenue Code or (ii) any county, city, or town.  

B. Organizations shall not make payments to a landlord 

except by check drawn on the organization's charitable 

gaming account.  

C. No landlord, his agent or employee, member of his 

immediate family, or person residing in his household shall 

make directly or indirectly a loan to any officer, director, 

game manager, or entity involved in the management, 

operation, or conduct of charitable gaming of an organization 

in Virginia that leases its charitable gaming facility from the 

landlord.  

D. No landlord, his agent or employee, member of his 

immediate family, or person residing in his household shall 

make any direct or indirect payment to any officer, director, 

game manager, or entity involved in the management, 

operation, or conduct of charitable gaming conducted at a 

facility rented from the landlord in Virginia unless the 

payment is authorized by the lease agreement and is in 

accordance with the law.  

E. No landlord, his agent or employee, member of his 

immediate family, or person residing in the same household 

shall at charitable games conducted on the landlord's 

premises:  

1. Participate in the management, operation, or conduct of 

any charitable games;  

2. Sell, lease, or otherwise provide any bingo charitable 

gaming supplies including, but not limited to, bingo cards, 

pull-tab cards, electronic pull-tabs, network bingo cards, or 

other game pieces; or  

3. Require as a condition of the lease or contract that a 

particular manufacturer, distributor, network bingo 

provider, or supplier of bingo charitable gaming supplies is 

used by the organization.  

"Bingo Charitable gaming supplies" as used in this chapter 

shall not include glue, markers, or tape sold from concession 

stands or from a location physically separated from the 

location where bingo charitable gaming supplies are normally 

sold.  
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F. No member of an organization involved in the 

management, operation, or conduct of charitable gaming shall 

provide any services to a landlord or be remunerated in any 

manner by the landlord of the facility where an organization 

is conducting its charitable gaming.  

Part III 

Suppliers 

11VAC15-40-120. Suppliers of charitable gaming 

supplies: application, qualifications, suspension, 

revocation or refusal to renew permit, maintenance, and 

production of records. 

A. Prior to providing any charitable gaming supplies, a 

supplier shall submit an application on a form prescribed by 

the department and receive a permit. A $1,000 application fee 

payable to the Treasurer of Virginia is required. In addition, a 

supplier must be authorized to conduct business in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, which may include, but not be 

limited to, registration with the State Corporation 

Commission, the Department of Taxation, and the Virginia 

Employment Commission. The actual cost of background 

investigations for a permit may be billed by the department to 

an applicant.  

B. The department may refuse to issue a permit or may 

suspend or revoke a permit if an officer, director, employee, 

agent, or owner:  

1. Is operating without a valid license, permit, or certificate 

as a supplier, network bingo provider, or manufacturer in 

any state in the United States;  

2. Fails or refuses to recall a product as directed by the 

department;  

3. Conducts business with unauthorized entities or is not 

authorized to conduct business in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia;  

4. Has been convicted of or pleaded nolo contendere to any 

crime as specified by § 18.2-340.34 B of the Code of 

Virginia; has had any license, permit, certificate, or other 

authority related to activities defined as charitable gaming 

in the Commonwealth suspended or revoked in the 

Commonwealth or in any other jurisdiction; has failed to 

file or has been delinquent in excess of one year in the 

filing of any tax returns or the payment of any taxes due 

the Commonwealth; or has failed to establish a registered 

office or registered agent in the Commonwealth if so 

required by § 13.1-634 or 13.1-763 of the Code of 

Virginia. As this provision relates to employees or agents, 

it shall only apply to individuals involved in sales to or 

solicitations of customers in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia;  

5. Fails to notify the department within 20 days of the 

occurrence, knowledge, or receipt of the filing of any 

administrative or legal action relating to charitable gaming 

or the distribution of charitable gaming supplies involving 

or concerning the supplier, any officers or directors, 

employees, agent, or owner during the term of its permit;  

6. Fails to provide to the department upon request a current 

Letter for Company Registration on file with the U.S. 

Department of Justice-Gambling Devices Registration Unit 

Justice, if required in accordance with the Gambling 

Devices Act of 1962 (15 USC 1171-1178) for any device 

that it sells, distributes, services, or maintains in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia; or  

7. Has been engaged in conduct that would compromise 

the department's objective of maintaining the highest level 

of integrity in charitable gaming.  

C. A supplier shall not sell, offer to sell, or otherwise 

provide charitable gaming supplies for use by anyone in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia other than to an organization with 

a permit from the department or another permitted supplier. 

However, a supplier may:  

1. Sell charitable gaming supplies to an organization that 

expects to gross the amount set forth in § 18.2-340.23 of 

the Code of Virginia or less in any 12-month period, 

providing that the amount of such purchase would not be 

reasonably expected to produce more than the amount set 

forth in § 18.2-340.23 of the Code of Virginia in gross 

sales. For each such organization, the supplier shall 

maintain the name, address, and telephone number. The 

supplier shall also obtain a written and signed statement 

from an officer or game manager of such organization 

confirming that gross receipts are expected to be the 

amount set forth in § 18.2-340.23 of the Code of Virginia 

or less. Such statement shall be dated and kept on file for a 

minimum of three years from the close of a fiscal year.  

2. Sell bingo cards and paper to persons or entities other 

than qualified organizations provided such supplies shall 

not be sold or otherwise provided for use in charitable 

gaming activities regulated by the department or in 

unlawful gambling activities. For each such sale, the 

supplier shall maintain the name, address, and telephone 

number of the purchaser. The supplier shall also obtain a 

written statement from the purchaser verifying that such 

supplies will not be used in charitable gaming or any 

unlawful gambling activity. Such statement shall be dated 

and kept on file for a minimum of three years from the 

close of a fiscal year. Payment for such sales in excess of 

$50 shall be accepted in the form of a check.  

3. Sell pull-tabs, seal cards, and electronic pull-tabs to 

organizations for use only upon the premises owned or 

exclusively leased by the organization and at such times as 

the portion of the premises in which the pull-tabs, seal 

cards, or electronic pull-tabs are sold is open only to 

members and their guests as authorized by § 18.2-340.26:1 

of the Code of Virginia. Each such sale shall be accounted 

for separately and the accompanying invoice shall be 

clearly marked: "For Use in Social Quarters Only."  
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All such sales shall be documented pursuant to subsection H 

of this section and reported to the department pursuant to 

subsection J of this section. This provision shall not apply to 

the sale to landlords of equipment and video systems as 

defined in this chapter.  

D. A supplier shall not sell, offer to sell, or otherwise 

provide charitable gaming supplies to any individual or 

organization in the Commonwealth of Virginia unless the 

charitable gaming supplies are purchased or obtained from a 

manufacturer or another permitted supplier. Suppliers may 

take back for credit and resell supplies received from an 

organization with a permit that has ceased charitable gaming 

or is returning supplies not needed.  

E. No supplier, supplier's agent, or employee may be 

involved in the management, operation, or conduct of 

charitable gaming in the Commonwealth of Virginia. No 

member of a supplier's immediate family or person residing 

in the same household as a supplier may be involved in the 

management, operation, or conduct of charitable gaming of 

any customer of the supplier in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia. No supplier, supplier's agent, or employee may 

participate in any charitable gaming of any customer of the 

supplier in the Commonwealth of Virginia. For the purposes 

of this regulation, servicing of electronic bingo devices or 

electronic pull-tab devices shall not be considered conduct or 

participation.  

F. The department shall conduct a background investigation 

prior to the issuance of a permit to any supplier. The 

investigation may include, but shall not be limited to, the 

following:  

1. A search of criminal history on all officers, directors, 

and owners; and  

2. Verification of current compliance with Commonwealth 

of Virginia tax laws.  

If the officers, directors, or owners are domiciled outside of 

the Commonwealth of Virginia, or have resided in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia for fewer than five years, a 

criminal history search conducted by the appropriate authority 

in any state in which they have resided during the previous 

five years shall be provided by the applicant.  

G. Appropriate information and authorizations shall be 

provided to the department to verify information cited in 

subsection F of this section.  

H. Suppliers shall document each sale or rental of charitable 

gaming supplies to an organization in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia on an invoice, which reflects the following:  

1. Name, address, and OCG organization number of the 

organization;  

2. Date of sale or rental and location where bingo 

charitable gaming supplies are shipped if different from the 

billing address;  

3. Name, form number, and serial number of each deal of 

instant bingo, pull-tabs, seal cards, electronic pull-tabs, or 

bundles and the quantity of cards in each deal;  

4. Quantity of deals sold, the cost per deal, the selling price 

per card, the cash take-in per deal, and the cash payout per 

deal;  

5. Serial number of the top sheet in each pack of disposable 

bingo paper, the quantity of sheets in each pack or pad, the 

cut and color, and the quantity of packs or pads sold;  

6. Serial number for each series of uncollated bingo paper 

and the number of sheets sold;  

7. Detailed information concerning the type, quantity, and 

individual price of any other charitable gaming supplies or 

related items including, but not limited to, concealed face 

bingo cards, hard cards, markers or daubers and refills, or 

any other merchandise. For concealed face bingo cards, the 

quantity of sets, price per set, and the serial number of each 

set shall be included;  

8. Serial number of each electronic pull-tab device, a 

description of the physical attributes of the electronic pull-

tab device, the quantity of electronic pull-tab devices sold 

or rented, and the physical address to which each electronic 

pull-tab device is shipped or delivered;  

9. Serial number and description of any other equipment 

sold or rented that is used to facilitate the distribution, play, 

and redemption of electronic pull-tabs and the physical 

address to which the equipment is shipped or delivered; 

and 

10. Any type of equipment, device, or product 

manufactured for or intended to be used in the conduct of 

charitable games including, but not limited to, designators, 

designator receptacles, number display boards, selection 

devices, dispensing machines, and verification devices. 

I. Suppliers shall ensure that two copies of the detailed 

invoice are provided to the customer for each sale of 

charitable gaming supplies.  

J. Each supplier shall provide a report to the department by 

March 1 of each year on sales of charitable gaming supplies 

for the fiscal year ending December 31 of the previous year to 

each organization in the Commonwealth of Virginia. This 

report shall be provided to the department via a department-

approved electronic medium. The report shall include the 

name and, address, and organization number of each 

organization and the following information for each sale or 

transaction:  

1. Bingo paper sales including purchase price, description 

of paper to include quantity of sheets in pack and quantity 

of faces on sheet, and quantity of single sheets or packs 

shipped;  

2. Deals of instant bingo, pull-tabs, seal cards, electronic 

pull-tabs, or any other raffle sales including purchase price, 

deal name, deal form number, quantity of tickets in deal, 
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ticket price, cash take-in per deal, cash payout per deal, 

and quantity of deals;  

3. Electronic bingo device sales including purchase or 

rental price and quantity of units;  

4. Equipment used to facilitate the distribution, play, and 

redemption of electronic pull-tabs including purchase or 

rental price, description of equipment, quantity of units of 

each type of equipment, and the physical address to which 

the equipment is shipped or delivered; and  

5. Sales of miscellaneous items such as daubers, markers, 

and other merchandise including purchase price, 

description of product, and quantity of units.  

K. The department shall set manufacturing and testing 

criteria for all electronic bingo devices and other equipment 

used in the conduct of charitable gaming. An electronic bingo 

device shall not be sold, leased, or otherwise furnished to any 

person in the Commonwealth of Virginia for use in the 

conduct of charitable gaming until an identical sample device 

containing identical proprietary software has been certified by 

a testing facility that has been formally recognized by the 

department as a testing facility that upholds the standards of 

integrity established by the department. The testing facility 

must certify that the device conforms, at a minimum, to the 

restrictions and conditions set forth in these regulations. Once 

the testing facility reports the test results to the department, 

the department will either approve or disapprove the 

submission and inform the manufacturer of the results within 

10 business days. If any such equipment does not meet the 

department's criteria, it shall be recalled and shall not be 

distributed in the Commonwealth of Virginia. The cost of 

testing shall be borne by the manufacturer of such equipment.  

L. Department employees shall have the right to inspect all 

electronic and mechanical equipment used in the conduct of 

charitable gaming.  

M. Suppliers, their agents and employees, members of the 

supplier's immediate family, or persons residing in their 

household shall not make any loan directly or indirectly to 

any organization or officer, director, game manager, or entity 

involved in the management, operation, or conduct of 

charitable gaming of a supplier's customer located in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia.  

N. No supplier, supplier's agent, or employee shall directly 

or indirectly provide a rebate, discount, or refund to any 

person other than an organization that purchases supplies or 

leases or purchases equipment from the supplier. All such 

transactions shall be recorded on the supplier's account books.  

O. A supplier shall not rent, sell, or otherwise provide 

electronic bingo devices or equipment used to distribute, play, 

or redeem electronic pull-tabs unless the supplier possesses a 

valid permit in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

P. A written agreement specifying the terms of lease or 

rental shall be required for any electronic bingo devices or 

equipment used to distribute, play, or redeem electronic pull-

tabs provided to an organization. 

11VAC15-40-130. Construction and other standards for 

bingo, instant bingo, pull-tabs, seal cards, raffles, 

electronic bingo devices, and instant bingo, pull-tab, and 

seal card dispensers. 

A. No supplier shall knowingly sell or otherwise provide to 

an organization and no organization shall knowingly use 

bingo charitable gaming supplies unless they conform to the 

following construction standards:  

1. Disposable paper sold shall be of sufficient weight and 

quality to allow for clearly readable numbers and to 

prevent ink from spreading, bleeding, or otherwise 

obscuring other numbers or cards.  

2. Each sheet of disposable bingo paper shall be comprised 

of cards bearing a serial number. No serial number shall be 

repeated on or in the same style, series, and color of cards 

within a three-year period.  

3. Disposable bingo paper assembled in books or packs 

shall not be separated except for single-sheet specials. This 

provision does not apply to two-part cards on which 

numbers are filled by players and one part is separated and 

provided to an organization for verification purposes.  

4. Each unit of disposable bingo paper shall have an 

exterior label listing the following information:  

a. Description of product; 

b. Number of packs or loose sheets; 

c. Series numbers; 

d. Serial number of the top sheet; 

e. Number of cases; 

f. Cut of paper; and 

g. Color of paper. 

5. "Lucky Seven" bingo cards or electronic facsimiles 

thereof shall have a single face where seven numbers shall 

be chosen. "Lucky Seven" sheets or electronic facsimiles 

thereof shall have multiple faces where seven numbers 

shall be chosen per face.  

B. No supplier shall knowingly sell or otherwise provide to 

an organization and no organization shall knowingly use 

instant bingo, pull-tab, or seal cards unless they conform to 

the following construction standards:  

1. Cards shall be constructed so that concealed numbers, 

symbols, or winner protection features cannot be viewed or 

determined from the outside of the card by using a high 

intensity lamp of 500 watts, with or without utilizing a 

focusing lens.  

2. Deals shall be designed, constructed, glued, and 

assembled in a manner to prevent determination of a 

winning or losing ticket without removing the tabs or 

otherwise uncovering the symbols or numbers as intended.  
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3. Each card in a deal shall bear the same serial number. 

Only one serial number shall be used in a deal. No serial 

number used in a deal shall be repeated by the same 

manufacturer on that same manufacturer's form within a 

three-year period. The flare of each deal shall accompany 

the deal and shall have affixed to it the same serial number 

as the tickets in such deal.  

4. Numbers or symbols on cards shall be fully visible in 

the window and shall be placed so that no part of a number 

or symbol remains covered when the tab is removed.  

5. Cards shall be glued on all edges and around each 

window. Glue shall be of sufficient strength and type to 

prevent the undetectable separation or delamination of the 

card. For banded tickets, the glue must be of sufficient 

strength and quality to prevent the separation of the band 

from the ticket.  

6. The following minimum information shall be printed on 

a card:  

a. Break open pull-tab and instant bingo cards:  

(1) Name of the manufacturer or its distinctive logo;  

(2) Name of the game;  

(3) Manufacturer's form number;  

(4) Price per individual card or bundle;  

(5) Unique minimum five-digit game serial number 

printed on the game information side of the card; and  

(6) Number of winners and respective winning number or 

symbols and specific prize amounts unless accompanied 

by a manufacturer's preprinted publicly posted flare with 

that information.  

b. Banded pull-tabs:  

(1) Manufacturer;  

(2) Serial number;  

(3) Price per individual card or bundle unless 

accompanied by a manufacturer's preprinted publicly 

posted flare with that information; and  

(4) Number of winners and respective winning numbers 

or symbols and prize amounts or a manufacturer's 

preprinted publicly posted flare giving that information.  

7. All seal card games sold to organizations shall contain 

the sign-up sheet, seals, and cards packaged together in 

each deal.  

C. Raffle tickets used independent of a bingo game session 

must conform to the following construction standards:  

1. Each ticket shall have a detachable section and shall be 

consecutively numbered.  

2. Each section of a ticket shall bear the same number. The 

section retained by the organization shall provide space for 

the purchaser's name, complete address, and telephone 

number.  

3. The following information shall be printed on the 

purchaser's section of each ticket:  

a. Dates and times of drawings;  

b. Locations of the drawings;  

c. Name of the charitable organization conducting the 

raffle;  

d. Price of the ticket;  

e. Charitable gaming permit number; and  

f. Prizes.  

Exceptions to these construction standards are allowed 

only with prior written approval from the department. 

D. Electronic bingo.  

1. The department, at its discretion, may require additional 

testing of electronic bingo devices at any time. Such 

additional testing shall be at the manufacturer's expense 

and shall be a condition of the continued use of such 

device.  

2. All electronic bingo devices shall use proprietary 

software and hardware or commonly available software 

and hardware and shall be enabled for play on the premises 

where the game is to be played.  

3. Each electronic bingo device shall have a unique 

identification number securely encoded into the software 

of the device. The unique identification number shall not 

be alterable by anyone other than the manufacturer of the 

electronic bingo device. Manufacturers of electronic bingo 

devices shall employ sufficient security safeguards in 

designing and manufacturing the devices such that it may 

be verified that all proprietary software components are 

authentic copies of the approved software components and 

all functioning components of the device are operating 

with identical copies of approved software programs. The 

electronic bingo device must also have sufficient security 

safeguards so that any restrictions or requirements 

authorized by the department or any approved proprietary 

software are protected from alteration by unauthorized 

personnel. The electronic bingo device shall not contain 

hard-coded or unchangeable passwords. Security measures 

that may be employed to comply with these provisions 

include, but are not limited to, the use of dongles, digital 

signature comparison hardware and software, secure boot 

loaders, encryption, and key and callback password 

systems.  

4. A firewall or equivalent hardware device configured to 

block all inbound and outbound traffic that has not been 

expressly permitted and is not required for the continued 

use of the electronic bingo system must exist between the 

electronic bingo system and any external point of access.  

5. Electronic bingo devices shall not allow a player to 

create a card by the input of specific numbers on each card. 

Manufacturers shall ensure that an electronic bingo device 
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does not allow for the play of any bingo card faces other 

than those verifiably purchased by the patron.  

6. Electronic bingo devices shall not accept cash, currency, 

or tokens for play.  

7. Electronic bingo devices shall require the manual entry 

of numbers as they are called, the manual verification of 

numbers as they have been electronically transmitted to the 

device, or the full automatic daubing of numbers as each 

number is called. During the play of a bingo game, the 

transmission of data to electronic bingo devices shall be 

limited to one-way communication to the electronic bingo 

device and shall consist only of publicly available 

information regarding the current game.  

8. A device shall not allow the play of more than 54 cards 

per device per game.   

9. The electronic bingo device system shall record a 

sequential transaction number or audit tracking number for 

each transaction. The system shall not allow the manual 

resetting or changing of this number.  

10. The system shall produce a receipt for each electronic 

bingo device rented or otherwise provided containing the 

following: 

a. Organization name; 

b. Location of bingo game; 

c. Date and time of the transaction; 

d. Sequential transaction or receipt number; 

e. Description of each electronic bingo product loaded. 

The description must include the quantity of bingo card 

faces that appear on each electronic bingo product (i.e., 9 

Jackpot) and the sales price of each electronic bingo 

product; 

f. Quantity of each electronic bingo product loaded; and 

g. Total sales price of the transaction. 

11. The system shall maintain and make available on 

demand a summary report for each session that includes 

the following: 

a. Organization name; 

b. Location of bingo game; 

c. Date and time of each transaction; 

d. Sequential transaction or receipt number of each 

transaction; 

e. Description of each electronic bingo product loaded 

each session. The description must include the quantity 

of bingo card faces that appear on each electronic bingo 

product and the sales price of each electronic bingo 

product; 

f. Quantity of each electronic bingo product loaded; 

g. Total sales price of each electronic bingo product 

loaded; [ and ]  

h. Total sales price for each transaction; 

i. A transaction history correlating the sequential 

transaction number of each electronic bingo device sale 

to the unique identification number of the electronic 

bingo device on which the sale was played; 

j. Sufficient information to identify voids and returns, 

including the date and time of each voided transaction 

and return, the sequential transaction number, and the 

cost of voided transactions and returns; and 

k. Total gross receipts for each session.  

12. Each electronic bingo device shall be programmed to 

automatically erase all stored electronic bingo cards at the 

end of the last game of a session, within a set time from 

their rental to a player, or by some other clearance method 

approved by the department.  

13. All electronic bingo devices shall be reloaded with 

another set of electronic bingo cards at the beginning of 

each session if the devices are to be reused at the same 

location.  

E. In instances where a defect in packaging or in the 

construction of deals or electronic bingo devices is discovered 

by or reported to the department, the department shall notify 

the manufacturer of the deals or electronic bingo devices 

containing the alleged defect. Should the department, in 

consultation with the manufacturer, determine that a defect 

exists, and should the department determine the defect affects 

game security or otherwise threatens public confidence in the 

game, the department may, with respect to deals or electronic 

bingo devices for use still located within the Commonwealth 

of Virginia, require the supplier to:  

1. Recall the deals or electronic bingo devices affected that 

have not been sold or otherwise provided; or  

2. Issue a total recall of all affected deals or electronic 

bingo devices.  

F. No supplier shall knowingly sell or otherwise provide to 

an organization and no organization shall knowingly use an 

instant bingo, pull-tab, or seal card dispenser unless the 

dispenser conforms to the following standards:  

1. Each dispenser shall be manufactured in a manner that 

ensures a pull-tab ticket is dispensed only after insertion of 

United States currency or coinage into the dispenser. Such 

ticket and any change due shall be the only items dispensed 

from the machine.  

2. Each dispenser shall be manufactured in a manner that 

ensures the dispenser neither displays nor has the 

capability of displaying or otherwise identifying an instant 

bingo, pull-tab, or seal card winning or nonwinning ticket.  

3. Each dispenser shall be manufactured in such a manner 

that any visual animation does not simulate or display 

rolling or spinning reels or produce audible music or 

enhanced sound effects.  

4. Each dispenser shall be equipped with separate locks for 

the instant bingo, pull-tab, or seal card supply modules and 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 17, 2016 

484 

money boxes. Locks shall be configured so that no one key 

will operate both the supply modules and money boxes.  

G. The department may require testing of a dispensing 

device at any time to ensure that it meets construction 

standards and allows for fair play. Such tests shall be 

conducted at the cost of the manufacturer of such dispensing 

devices.  

H. The face value of the instant bingo, pull-tab, or seal cards 

being dispensed shall match the amount deposited in the 

currency/coin acceptor less change provided.  

I. A dispensing device shall only dispense instant bingo, 

pull-tab, or seal cards that conform to the construction 

standards established in subsection B of this section and the 

randomization standards established in 11VAC15-40-140.  

J. Suppliers and manufacturers of instant bingo, pull-tab, or 

seal card dispensers shall comply with the requirements of the 

Gambling Devices Act of 1962 (15 USC §§ 1171-1178).  

Part IV 

Electronic Games of Chance Systems 

Article 1 

Manufacturers 

11VAC15-40-147. Manufacturers of electronic games of 

chance systems: application, qualifications, suspension, 

revocation or refusal to renew permit, maintenance, and 

production of records. 

A. As used in this section, "manufacturer" means a person or 

entity that assembles from raw materials or subparts an 

electronic games of chance system. 

B. Prior to providing any electronic games of chance 

system, a manufacturer shall submit an application on a form 

prescribed by the department and receive a permit. A $1,000 

application fee payable to the Treasurer of Virginia is 

required. In addition, a manufacturer must be authorized to 

conduct business in the Commonwealth of Virginia, which 

may include, but not be limited to, registration with the State 

Corporation Commission, the Department of Taxation, and 

the Virginia Employment Commission. The actual cost of 

background investigations for a permit may be billed by the 

department to an applicant.  

C. The department may refuse to issue a permit or may 

suspend or revoke a permit if an officer, director, employee, 

agent, or owner:  

1. Is operating without a valid license, permit, or certificate 

as a supplier, network bingo provider, or manufacturer in 

any state in the United States;  

2. Fails or refuses to recall a product as directed by the 

department;  

3. Conducts business with unauthorized entities or is not 

authorized to conduct business in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia;  

4. Has been convicted of or pleaded nolo contendere to any 

crime as specified by § 18.2-340.34 B of the Code of 

Virginia; has had any license, permit, certificate, or other 

authority related to activities defined as charitable gaming 

in the Commonwealth suspended or revoked in the 

Commonwealth or in any other jurisdiction; has failed to 

file or has been delinquent in excess of one year in the 

filing of any tax returns or the payment of any taxes due 

the Commonwealth; or has failed to establish a registered 

office or registered agent in the Commonwealth if so 

required by § 13.1-634 or 13.1-763 of the Code of 

Virginia. As this provision relates to employees or agents, 

it shall only apply to individuals involved in sales to or 

solicitations of customers in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia;  

5. Fails to notify the department within 20 days of the 

occurrence, knowledge, or receipt of the filing of any 

administrative or legal action relating to charitable gaming 

or the distribution of electronic games of chance systems 

involving or concerning the manufacturer, any officers or 

directors, employees, agent, or owner during the term of its 

permit;  

6. Fails to provide to the department upon request a current 

Letter for Company Registration on file with the U.S. 

Department of Justice - Gambling Devices Registration 

Unit [ , ] if required in accordance with the Gambling 

Devices Act of 1962 (15 USC §§ 1171-1178) for any 

device that it distributes in the Commonwealth of Virginia; 

or  

7. Has been engaged in conduct that would compromise 

the department's objective of maintaining the highest level 

of integrity in charitable gaming.  

D. A manufacturer shall not distribute electronic games of 

chance systems for use by anyone in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia other than to a permitted charitable gaming 

organization or a permitted supplier. However, a 

manufacturer may:  

1. Distribute an electronic games of chance system to an 

organization that expects to gross the amount set forth in 

§ 18.2-340.23 of the Code of Virginia or less in any 12-

month period, providing that the amount of such purchase 

would not be reasonably expected to produce more than 

the amount set forth in § 18.2-340.23 of the Code of 

Virginia in gross sales. For each such organization, the 

manufacturer shall maintain the name, address, and 

telephone number. The manufacturer shall also obtain a 

written and signed statement from an officer or game 

manager of such organization confirming that gross 

receipts are expected to be the amount set forth in § 18.2-

340.23 of the Code of Virginia or less. Such statement 

shall be dated and kept on file for a minimum of three 

years from the close of a fiscal year.  

2. Distribute electronic games of chance systems to an 

organization for use only upon the premises owned or 

exclusively leased by the organization and at such times as 

the portion of the premises in which electronic pull-tabs 
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are sold is open only to members and their guests as 

authorized by § 18.2-340.26:1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Each such distribution shall be accounted for separately 

and the accompanying invoice shall be clearly marked: 

"For Use in Social Quarters Only."  

All such distributions shall be documented pursuant to 

subsection H of this section and reported to the department 

pursuant to subsection J of this section.  

E. No manufacturer of electronic games of chance systems, 

the manufacturer's agent, or the manufacturer's employee may 

be involved in the management, operation, or conduct of 

charitable gaming in the Commonwealth of Virginia. No 

member of a manufacturer's immediate family or person 

residing in the same household as a manufacturer may be 

involved in the management, operation, or conduct of 

charitable gaming of any customer of the manufacturer in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. No manufacturer of electronic 

games of chance systems, the manufacturer's agent, or the 

manufacturer's employee may participate in any charitable 

gaming of any customer of the manufacturer in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. For the purposes of this 

regulation, servicing of electronic games of chance systems 

shall not be considered conduct or participation.  

F. The department shall conduct a background investigation 

prior to the issuance of a permit to any manufacturer. The 

investigation may include, but shall not be limited to, the 

following:  

1. A search of criminal history records on all officers, 

directors, and owners; and  

2. Verification of current compliance with Commonwealth 

of Virginia tax laws.  

If the officers, directors, or owners are domiciled outside of 

the Commonwealth of Virginia, or have resided in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia for fewer than five years, a 

criminal history search conducted by the appropriate authority 

in any state in which they have resided during the previous 

five years shall be provided by the applicant.  

G. Appropriate information and authorizations shall be 

provided to the department to verify information cited in 

subsection F of this section.  

H. Manufacturers shall document each distribution an 

electronic games of chance system to any person for use in 

the Commonwealth of Virginia on an invoice, which reflects 

the following:  

1. Name, address, and OCG organization number of the 

organization or supplier;  

2. Date of sale or rental and location where the electronic 

games of chance system is shipped or delivered, if different 

from the billing address;  

3. Name, form number, and serial number of each deal of 

electronic pull-tabs;  

4. Quantity of deals sold, the cost per deal, the selling price 

per card, the cash take-in per deal, and the cash payout per 

deal;  

5. Serial number of each electronic pull-tab device, a 

description of the physical attributes of the electronic pull-

tab device, the quantity of electronic pull-tab devices sold 

or rented, and the physical address to which each electronic 

pull-tab device is shipped or delivered; and 

6. Serial number and description of any other equipment 

sold or rented that is used to facilitate the distribution, play, 

and redemption of electronic pull-tabs and the physical 

address to which the equipment is shipped or delivered. 

I. Manufacturers shall ensure that two copies of the detailed 

invoice are provided to the customer for each distribution of 

electronic games of chance systems.  

J. Each manufacturer shall provide a report to the 

department by March 1 of each year on distribution of 

electronic games of chance systems for the fiscal year ending 

December 31 of the previous year to each organization and 

permitted supplier in the Commonwealth of Virginia. This 

report shall be provided to the department via a department-

approved electronic medium. The report shall include the 

name and, address, and organization number of each 

organization and permitted supplier and the following 

information for each sale or transaction:  

1. Deals of electronic pull-tabs including purchase price, 

deal name, deal form number, quantity of electronic pull-

tabs in deal, electronic pull-tab price, cash take-in per deal, 

cash payout per deal, and quantity of deals; and 

2. Equipment used to facilitate the distribution, play, and 

redemption of electronic pull-tabs including purchase or 

rental price, description of equipment, quantity of units of 

each type of equipment, and the physical address to which 

the equipment is shipped or delivered. 

K. A manufacturer, its agents and employees, members of a 

manufacturer's immediate family, or persons residing in a 

manufacturer's household shall not make any loan directly or 

indirectly to any organization or officer, director, game 

manager, or entity involved in the management, operation, or 

conduct of charitable gaming of the manufacturer's customer 

located in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

L. A manufacturer, its agent, or its employee shall not 

directly or indirectly provide a rebate, discount, or refund to 

any person other than an organization that purchases, rents, or 

leases an electronic games of chance system from the 

manufacturer. All such transactions shall be recorded on the 

manufacturer's account books.  

M. A written agreement specifying the terms of lease or 

rental shall be required for any equipment used to distribute, 

play, or redeem electronic pull-tabs provided to an 

organization or permitted supplier.  
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Article 2  

General Requirements 

11VAC15-40-150. Approval of distributed pull-tab 

systems, validation systems, point-of-sale stations, and 

redemption terminals; approval of game themes and 

sounds. 

A. The department shall set manufacturing and testing 

criteria for all distributed pull-tab systems, validation 

systems, point-of-sale stations, redemption terminals, and 

other equipment used in the conduct of charitable gaming. A 

distributed pull-tab system, validation system, point-of-sale 

station, redemption terminal, or other equipment shall not be 

sold, leased, or otherwise furnished to any person in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia for use in the conduct of 

charitable gaming until an identical sample system or 

equipment containing identical software has been certified by 

a testing facility that has been formally recognized by the 

department as a testing facility that upholds the standards of 

integrity established by the department. The testing facility 

must certify that the distributed pull-tab system and 

associated hardware and software conform, at a minimum, to 

the requirements set forth in this chapter. Once the testing 

facility reports the test results to the department, the 

department will either approve or disapprove the distributed 

pull-tab system or system components and inform the 

manufacturer of the results within 10 business days. If any 

such system or equipment does not meet the department's 

criteria, it shall be recalled and shall not be distributed in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. The cost of testing shall be borne 

by the manufacturer of such equipment. 

B. No supplier or manufacturer shall knowingly sell or 

otherwise provide to an organization and no organization 

shall knowingly use a distributed pull-tab system, validation 

system, point-of-sale station, redemption terminal, or other 

equipment used to conduct charitable gaming unless it 

conforms to the requirements set forth in this regulation. 

C. If a defect in a distributed pull-tab system, validation 

system, point-of-sale station, redemption terminal, or other 

equipment used to conduct charitable gaming is discovered 

by or reported to the department, the department shall notify 

the manufacturer of the system or equipment containing the 

alleged defect. Should the department, in consultation with 

the manufacturer, determine that a defect exists and should 

the department determine the defect affects game security or 

otherwise threatens public confidence in the game, the 

department may, with respect to any distributed pull-tab 

system, validation system, point of sale station, redemption 

terminal, or other equipment used to conduct charitable 

gaming still located within the Commonwealth of Virginia, 

require the supplier or manufacturer to issue a recall of all 

affected distributed pull-tab systems, validation systems, 

point-of-sale stations, redemption terminals, or other 

equipment. 

D. All game themes, sounds, and music shall be approved 

by the department prior to being available for play on an 

electronic pull-tab device in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

[ 11VAC15-40-210. Security requirements. 

A. A distributed pull-tab system computer must be in a 

locked, secure enclosure with key controls in place.  

B. A distributed pull-tab system shall provide a means for 

terminating the game set if information about electronic pull-

tabs in an open game set has been accessed or at the 

discretion of the department. In such cases, traceability of 

unauthorized access including time and date, users involved, 

and any other relevant information shall be available.  

C. A distributed pull-tab system shall not permit the 

alteration of any accounting or significant event information 

that was communicated from the electronic pull-tab device 

without supervised access controls. In the event financial data 

is changed, an automated audit log must be capable of being 

produced to document the following:  

1. Data element altered;  

2. Data element value prior to alteration;  

3. Data element value after alteration;  

4. Time and date of alteration; and  

5. Personnel that performed alteration.  

D. A distributed pull-tab system must provide password 

security or other secure means of ensuring data integrity and 

enforcing user permissions for all system components 

through the following means:  

1. All programs and data files must only be accessible via 

the entry of a password that will be known only to 

authorized personnel;  

2. The distributed pull-tab system must have multiple 

security access levels to control and restrict different 

classes; 

3. The distributed pull-tab system access accounts must be 

unique when assigned to the authorized personnel and 

shared accounts amongst authorized personnel must not be 

allowed;  

4. The storage of passwords and PINs must be in an 

encrypted, nonreversible form; and  

5. A program or report must be available that will list all 

registered users on the distributed pull-tab system 

including their privilege level.  

E. All components of a distributed pull-tab system that allow 

access to users, other than end-users for game play, must have 

a password sign-on with two-level codes comprising the 

personal identification code and a personal password.  

1. The personal identification code must have a length of at 

least six ASCII characters; and  

2. The personal password must have a minimum length of 

six alphanumeric characters, which should include at least 

one nonalphabetic character.  



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 17, 2016 

487 

F. A distributed pull-tab system must have the capability to 

control potential data corruption that can be created by 

multiple simultaneous log-ons by system management 

personnel.  

1. A distributed pull-tab system shall specify which of the 

access levels allow for multiple simultaneous sign-ons by 

different users and which of the access levels do not allow 

for multiple sign-ons, and, if multiple sign-ons are 

possible, what restrictions, if any, exist; or  

2. If a distributed pull-tab system does not provide 

adequate control, a comprehensive procedural control 

document must be drafted for the department's review and 

approval.  

G. Distributed pull-tab system software 

components/modules shall be verifiable by a secure means at 

the system level. A distributed pull-tab system shall have the 

ability to allow for an independent integrity check of the 

components/modules from an outside source, and an 

independent integrity check is required for all control 

programs that may affect the integrity of the distributed pull-

tab system. This must be accomplished by being 

authenticated by a third-party device, which may be 

embedded within the distributed pull-tab system software or 

having an interface or procedure for a third-party application 

to authenticate the component. This integrity check will 

provide a means for field verification of the distributed pull-

tab system components.  

H. A distributed pull-tab system may be used to configure 

and perform security checks on electronic pull-tab devices, 

provided such functions do not affect the security, integrity, 

or outcome of any game and meets the requirements set forth 

in this regulation regarding program storage devices.  

11VAC15-40-280. Point of sale; validation terminal. 

A. A distributed pull-tab system may utilize a point-of-sale 

and/or or validation terminal that is capable of facilitating the 

sale of the organization's pull tab outcomes or used for the 

redemption of credits from player accounts or vouchers. The 

point of sale may be entirely integrated into a distributed pull-

tab system or exist as a separate entity.  

B. Point-of-sale use is only permissible when the device is 

linked to an approved validation system or distributed pull-

tab system.  

C. If a distributed pull-tab system utilizes a point of sale, it 

shall be capable of printing a receipt for each sale, void, or 

redemption. 1. The receipt shall contain the following 

information:  

a. 1. Date and time of the transaction;  

b. 2. Dollar value of the transaction;  

c. 3. Validation number, if applicable;  

d. 4. Quantity of associated products, if applicable;  

e. 5. Transaction number;  

f. 6. Account number, if applicable; and  

g. 7. Point-of-sale identification number or name.  

D. The following point-of-sale or validation terminal reports 

shall be generated on demand:  

1. Sales Transaction History Report transaction history 

report shall show all sales and voids by session and include 

the following information:  

a. Date and time of the transaction;  

b. Dollar value of the transaction;  

c. Quantity of associated products;  

d. Transaction number; and  

e. Point of sale identification number or name;. 

2. Voucher Redemption Report redemption report shall 

detail individual voucher redemptions paid by the 

validation terminal or point of sale by session and include 

the following information:  

a. Date and time of the transaction;  

b. Dollar value of the transaction;  

c. Validation number;  

d. Transaction number; and  

e. Point of sale identification number or name. ]  

Part V 

Administrative Process 

11VAC15-40-420. Procedural rules for the conduct of 

fact-finding conferences and hearings. (Repealed.) 

A. As used in this section, "manufacturer" means a person or 

entity that assembles from raw materials or subparts an 

electronic games of chance system. 

B. Fact-finding conference; notification, appearance, and 

conduct.  

1. Unless automatic revocation or immediate suspension is 

required by law, no permit to conduct charitable gaming, to 

sell charitable gaming supplies, or to distribute electronic 

games of chance shall be denied, suspended, or revoked 

except after review and approval of such proposed denial, 

suspension, or revocation action by the board, and upon 

notice stating the basis for such proposed action and the 

time and place for a fact-finding conference as set forth in 

§ 2.2-4019 of the Administrative Process Act. 

2. If a basis exists for a refusal to renew, suspend, or a 

revoke a permit, the department shall notify by certified 

mail or by hand delivery the interested persons at the 

address of record maintained by the department.  

3. Notification shall include the basis for the proposed 

action and afford interested persons the opportunity to 

present written and oral information to the department that 

may have a bearing on the proposed action at a fact-finding 

conference. If there is no withdrawal, a fact-finding 

conference shall be scheduled at the earliest mutually 

agreeable date, but no later than 60 days from the date of 

the notification. Organizations, suppliers, or manufacturers 
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who wish to waive their right to a conference shall notify 

the department at least 14 days before the scheduled 

conference.  

4. If, after consideration of evidence presented during an 

informal fact-finding conference, a basis for action still 

exists, the interested persons shall be notified in writing 

within 60 days of the fact-finding conference via certified 

or hand-delivered mail of the decision and the right to a 

formal hearing. Parties to the conference may agree to 

extend the report deadline if more time is needed to 

consider relevant evidence.  

C. Hearing; notification, appearance, and conduct.  

1. If, after a fact-finding conference, a sufficient basis still 

exists to deny, suspend, or revoke a permit, interested 

persons shall be notified by certified or hand-delivered 

mail of the proposed action and of the opportunity for a 

hearing on the proposed action. If an organization , 

supplier, or manufacturer desires to request a hearing, it 

shall notify the department within 14 days of receipt of a 

report on the conference. Parties may enter into a consent 

agreement to settle the issues at any time prior to, or 

subsequent to, an informal fact-finding conference.  

2. If an interested party or representative fails to appear at a 

hearing, the hearing officer may proceed in his absence and 

make a recommendation.  

3. Oral and written arguments may be submitted to and 

limited by the hearing officer. Oral arguments shall be 

recorded in an appropriate manner.  

D. Hearing location. Hearings before a hearing officer shall 

be held, insofar as practicable, in the county or city in which 

the organization, supplier , or manufacturer is located. If the 

parties agree, hearing officers may conduct hearings at 

locations convenient to the greatest number of persons or by 

telephone conference, video conference, or similar 

technology, in order to expedite the hearing process.  

E. Hearing decisions.  

1. Recommendations of the hearing officer shall be a part 

of the record and shall include a written statement of the 

hearing officer's findings of fact and recommendations as 

well as the reasons or basis for the recommendations. 

Recommendations shall be based upon all the material 

issues of fact, law, or discretion presented on the record.  

2. The department shall review the recommendation of the 

hearing officer and render a decision on the 

recommendation within 30 days of receipt. The decision 

shall cite the appropriate rule, relief, or denial thereof as to 

each issue.  

F. Agency representation. The commissioner's designee may 

represent the department in an informal conference or at a 

hearing.  

11VAC15-40-430. Reporting violations. (Repealed.) 

A. As used in this section, "manufacturer" means a person or 

entity that assembles from raw materials or subparts an 

electronic games of chance system. 

B. Unless otherwise required by law, the identity of any 

individual who provides information to the department or its 

agents regarding alleged violations shall be held in strict 

confidence.  

C. Any officer, director, or game manager of a qualified 

organization or any officer or director of a supplier or 

manufacturer shall immediately report to the department any 

information pertaining to the suspected misappropriation or 

theft of funds or any other violations of charitable gaming 

statutes or these regulations.  

D. Failure to report the information required by subsection C 

of this section may result in the denial, suspension, or 

revocation of a permit.  

E. Any officer, director, or game manager of a qualified 

organization involved in the management, operation, or 

conduct of charitable gaming shall immediately notify the 

department upon being convicted of a felony or a crime 

involving fraud, theft, or financial crimes.  

F. Any officer, director, partner, or owner of a supplier or 

manufacturer shall immediately notify the department upon 

being convicted or pleading nolo contendere to a felony or a 

crime involving gambling or an action against any license or 

certificate held by the supplier in any state in the United 

States. 

G. Failure to report information required by subsection E or 

F of this section by any officer, director, or game manager of 

a qualified organization or by any supplier or manufacturer 

may result in the denial, suspension, or revocation of a 

permit.  

H. Any officer, director, or game manager of a qualified 

organization involved in charitable gaming shall immediately 

report to the department any change the Internal Revenue 

Service makes in the tax status of the organization, or if the 

organization is a chapter of a national organization covered 

by a group tax exempt determination, the tax status of the 

national organization.  

I. All organizations regulated by the department shall 

display prominently a poster advising the public of a phone 

number where complaints relating to charitable gaming may 

be made. Such posters shall be in a format prescribed by the 

department. 
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Part V 

Network Bingo 

Article 1 

Network Bingo Providers 

11VAC15-40-440. Network bingo providers: application, 

qualifications, suspension, revocation or refusal to renew 

permit, maintenance, and production of records. 

A. Prior to providing network bingo, a network bingo 

provider shall submit an application on a form prescribed by 

the department and receive a permit. A $500 application fee 

payable to the Treasurer of Virginia is required. In addition, a 

network bingo provider must be authorized to conduct 

business in the Commonwealth of Virginia, which may 

include, but not be limited to, registration with the State 

Corporation Commission, the Department of Taxation, and 

the Virginia Employment Commission. The actual cost of 

background investigations for a permit may be billed by the 

department to an applicant.  

B. The department may refuse to issue a permit or may 

suspend or revoke a permit if an officer, director, partner, 

employee, agent, or owner: 

1. Is operating without a valid license, permit, or certificate 

as a supplier, manufacturer, or network bingo provider in 

any state in the United States;  

2. Fails or refuses to recall a product as directed by the 

department;  

3. Conducts business with unauthorized entities or is not 

authorized to conduct business in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia;  

4. Has been convicted of or pleaded nolo contendere to any 

crime as specified by § 18.2-340.34:2 B of the Code of 

Virginia; has had any license, permit, certificate, or other 

authority related to activities defined as charitable gaming 

in the Commonwealth suspended or revoked in the 

Commonwealth or in any other jurisdiction; has failed to 

file or has been delinquent in excess of one year in the 

filing of any tax returns or the payment of any taxes due 

the Commonwealth; or has failed to establish a registered 

office or registered agent in the Commonwealth if so 

required by § 13.1-634 or 13.1-763 of the Code of 

Virginia. As this provision relates to employees or agents, 

it shall only apply to individuals involved in sales to or 

solicitations of customers in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia;  

5. Fails to notify the department within 20 days of the 

occurrence, knowledge, or receipt of the filing of any 

administrative or legal action relating to charitable gaming 

or network bingo involving or concerning the network 

bingo provider, any officers or directors, employees, agent, 

or owner during the term of its permit;  

6. Fails to provide to the department upon request a current 

Letter for Company Registration on file with the U.S. 

Department of Justice, if required in accordance with the 

Gambling Devices Act of 1962 (15 USC §§ 1171-1178) 

for any device that it distributes in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia; or  

7. Has been engaged in conduct that would compromise 

the department's objective of maintaining the highest level 

of integrity in charitable gaming.  

C. A network bingo provider shall not distribute a network 

bingo system, network bingo supplies, or other incidental 

items to perform network bingo to anyone in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia or to an organization for use upon 

the premises owned or exclusively leased by the organization 

in which the portion of the premises are qualified to sell pull-

tabs to members and their guests only as authorized by 

§ 18.2-340.26:1 of the Code of Virginia. However, a network 

bingo provider may: 

1. Distribute such a system, supply, or item to a qualified 

organization authorized to conduct charitable gaming for 

use during a session that is open to the public and not 

limited to members and their guests only. 

2. Distribute such a system, supply, or item to an 

organization that expects to gross the amount set forth in 

§ 18.2-340.23 of the Code of Virginia or less in any 12-

month period, providing that the amount of such purchase 

would not be reasonably expected to produce more than 

the amount set forth in § 18.2-340.23 of the Code of 

Virginia in gross sales. For each such organization, the 

network bingo provider shall maintain the name, address, 

and telephone number. The network bingo provider shall 

also obtain a written and signed statement from an officer 

or game manager of such organization confirming that 

gross receipts are expected to be the amount set forth in 

§ 18.2-340.23 of the Code of Virginia or less. Such 

statement shall be dated and kept on file for a minimum of 

three years from the close of a fiscal year.  

All such distributions shall be documented pursuant to 

subsection G of this section and reported to the department 

pursuant to subsection I of this section.  

D. No network bingo provider, its agents, or its employees 

may be involved in the management, operation, or conduct of 

charitable gaming in the Commonwealth of Virginia. A 

network bingo provider, its agents, or its employees may call 

a network bingo game or distribute network bingo prizes 

associated with the network bingo provider's network bingo 

system. No member of a network bingo provider's immediate 

family or person residing in the same household as a network 

bingo provider may be involved in the management, 

operation, or conduct of charitable gaming of any customer of 

the network bingo provider in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia. No network bingo provider, its agents, or its 

employees may participate in any charitable gaming of any 

customer of the network bingo provider in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. For the purposes of this chapter, 

servicing of the network bingo system shall not be considered 

conduct or participation.  
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E. The department shall conduct a background investigation 

prior to the issuance of a permit to any network bingo 

provider. The investigation may include, but shall not be 

limited to, the following:  

1. A search of criminal history records on all officers, 

directors, and owners; and  

2. Verification of current compliance with Commonwealth 

of Virginia tax laws.  

If the officers, directors, owners, or partners are domiciled 

outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia, or have resided in 

the Commonwealth of Virginia for fewer than five years, a 

criminal history search conducted by the appropriate authority 

in any state in which they have resided during the previous 

five years shall be provided by the applicant.  

F. Appropriate information and authorizations shall be 

provided to the department to verify information cited in 

subsection E of this section.  

G. Network bingo providers shall document each sale of 

network bingo supplies, equipment, and other incidental 

items to perform network bingo to any person for use in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia on an invoice, which reflects the 

following: 

1. Name, address, and organization number of the 

organization; 

2. Date of sale, lease, or rental and location where the 

network bingo supplies, equipment, and other incidental 

items to perform network bingo is shipped or delivered, if 

different from the billing address; 

3. Form number, serial number, quantity, and purchase or 

rental price of the network bingo supplies, equipment, and 

other incidental items to perform network bingo; 

4. Quantity of network bingo cards sold, the cost per card, 

and the selling price per card; and 

5. Date of the network bingo game in which the qualified 

organization participated, the start time and end time of the 

game, and the number of balls called during the game. 

H. Network bingo providers shall ensure that two copies of 

the detailed invoice are provided to the customer for the sale 

of network bingo supplies, equipment, and other incidental 

items to perform network bingo. 

I. Each network bingo provider shall provide a report to the 

department by March 1 of each year on the sale of network 

bingo supplies, equipment, and other incidental items to 

perform network bingo for the fiscal year ending December 

31 of the previous year to each organization in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. This report shall be provided to 

the department via a department-approved electronic medium. 

The report shall include the name, address, and organization 

number of each organization and the following information 

for each sale or transaction: 

1. Date of sale, lease, or rental and location where the 

network bingo supplies, equipment, and other incidental 

items to perform network bingo is shipped or delivered, if 

different from the billing address; 

2. Serial number, quantity, and purchase or rental price of 

the network bingo supplies, equipment, and other 

incidental items to perform network bingo; 

3. Quantity of network bingo cards sold, the cost per card, 

and the selling price per card; 

4. Date of the network bingo game in which qualified 

organizations participated, the start time and end time of 

the game, the number of balls called during the game, the 

total gross receipts for the game; and 

5. Prize amount awarded to the winning player and which 

organization sold the winning network bingo card. 

J. A network bingo provider shall maintain documentation 

on all deposits and disbursements into the prize pool for the 

network bingo game. 

K. A network bingo provider, its agents, and its employees; 

members of a network bingo provider's immediate family; or 

persons residing in a network bingo provider's household 

shall not make any loan directly or indirectly to any 

organization or officer, director, game manager, or entity 

involved in the management, operation, or conduct of 

charitable gaming of the network bingo provider's customer 

located in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

L. A network bingo provider, its agent, or its employee shall 

not directly or indirectly provide a rebate, discount, or refund 

to any person other than an organization that purchases, rents, 

or leases network bingo supplies, equipment, and other 

incidental items to perform network bingo. All such 

transactions shall be recorded on the network bingo provider's 

account books. 

M. A network bingo provider shall not rent, sell, or 

otherwise provide network bingo supplies, equipment, and 

other incidental items to perform network bingo unless the 

network bingo provider possesses a valid permit in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

N. A written agreement specifying the terms of lease or 

rental between the network bingo provider and the qualified 

organization shall be required for any equipment used to 

perform network bingo. 

O. A network bingo provider shall record the following 

information on each winner of a network bingo game: 

1. Name and address of the winner; 

2. Name of the qualified organization that sold the winning 

network bingo card;  

3. Date and time when the winning network bingo card 

was purchased by the winner; and 

4. Location where the winning network bingo card was 

purchased by the winner. 
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Article 2  

General Requirements 

11VAC15-40-450. Approval of equipment used to perform 

network bingo. 

A. The department shall set manufacturing and testing 

criteria for all equipment used to perform network bingo. 

Equipment used to perform network bingo shall not be sold, 

leased, or otherwise furnished to any person in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia for use as part of network bingo 

until an identical sample [ of ] equipment containing identical 

proprietary software has been certified by a testing facility 

that has been formally recognized by the department as a 

testing facility that upholds the standards of integrity 

established by the department. The testing facility must 

certify that the equipment conforms, at a minimum, to the 

requirements set forth in this chapter. Once the testing facility 

reports the test results to the department, the department will 

either approve or disapprove the equipment and inform the 

network provider of the results. If any such equipment does 

not meet the department's criteria, it shall be recalled and 

shall not be distributed in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

The cost of testing shall be borne by the network provider of 

such equipment. 

B. No network bingo provider shall knowingly sell or 

otherwise provide to an organization and no organization 

shall knowingly use equipment to perform network bingo 

unless it conforms to the requirements set forth in this 

chapter. 

C. If a defect in any equipment used to perform network 

bingo is discovered by or reported to the department, the 

department shall notify the network bingo provider that is 

using the equipment containing the alleged defect. Should the 

department, in consultation with the network bingo provider, 

determine that a defect exists and should the department 

determine the defect affects game security or otherwise 

threatens public confidence in the game, the department may, 

with respect to any equipment used to perform network bingo 

still located within the Commonwealth of Virginia, require 

the network bingo provider to issue a recall of all affected 

equipment. 

D. Department employees shall have the right to inspect all 

equipment used to perform network bingo. The department, at 

its discretion, may require additional testing of any equipment 

to perform network bingo at any time. Such additional testing 

shall be at the network provider's expense and shall be a 

condition of the continued use of such equipment. 

E. Equipment used to perform network bingo shall have a 

permanently affixed identification badge that cannot be 

removed without leaving evidence of tampering. This badge 

shall be affixed to the exterior of the equipment and shall 

include the following information:  

1. Manufacturer name;  

2. A unique serial number;  

3. The equipment model number;  

4. The date of manufacture; and  

5. Any other information required by the department. 

Article 3  

System Requirements 

11VAC15-40-460. Location of equipment. 

All equipment used to perform network bingo must be 

physically located within the boundaries of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

11VAC15-40-470. Communications and network 

requirements. 

A. Where the network bingo system components are linked 

with one another in a network, communication protocols shall 

be used that ensure that erroneous data or signals will not 

adversely affect the operations of any such system 

components.  

B. All data communication shall incorporate error detection 

and correction scheme to ensure the data is transmitted and 

received accurately.  

C. Connections between all components of the network 

bingo system shall only be through the use of secure 

communication protocols that are designed to prevent 

unauthorized access or tampering, employing Advanced 

Encryption Standard, or equivalent encryption.  

D. A firewall or equivalent hardware device configured to 

block all inbound and outbound traffic that has not been 

expressly permitted and is not required for continued use of 

the network bingo system must exist between the network 

bingo system and any external point of access. 

E. The minimum width (size) for encryption keys is 112 bits 

for symmetric algorithms and 1024 bits for public keys. 

F. There must be a secure method implemented for changing 

the current encryption key set. It is not acceptable to only use 

the current key set to "encrypt" the next set.  

G. There must be a secure method in place for the storage of 

encryption keys. Encryption keys must not be stored without 

being encrypted themselves.  

H. If a wireless network is used, wireless products used in 

conjunction with any gaming system or system component 

must meet the following minimum standards:  

1. Employ a security process that complies with the 

Federal Information Processing Standard 140-2 (FIPS 140-

2); or  

2. Employ an alternative method, as approved by the 

department. 

11VAC15-40-480. Backup and recovery. 

A. A network bingo system shall have a separate physical 

medium for securely storing data for the network bingo game, 

which shall be mirrored in real time by a backup medium.  
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B. All data required to be available or reported by this 

chapter must be retained for a period of not less than three 

years from the close of the fiscal year. 

C. All storage of critical data shall utilize error checking and 

be stored on a nonvolatile physical medium.  

D. The database shall be stored on redundant media so that 

no single failure of any portion of the system would result in 

the loss or corruption of data.  

E. In the event of a catastrophic failure when the network 

bingo system cannot be restarted in any other way, it shall be 

possible to reload the network bingo system from the last 

viable backup point and fully recover the contents of that 

backup, to consist of at least the following information:  

1. All significant events;  

2. All accounting information;  

3. Auditing information, including all sales and 

disbursements; and  

4. Employee files with access levels. 

11VAC15-40-490. Security requirements. 

A. A network bingo system shall not permit the alteration of 

any accounting or significant event information that was 

communicated from a point-of-sale terminal without 

supervised access controls. In the event financial data is 

changed, an automated audit log must be capable of being 

produced to document the following:  

1. Data element altered;  

2. Data element value prior to alteration;  

3. Data element value after alteration;  

4. Time and date of alteration; and  

5. Personnel that performed alteration.  

B. A network bingo system must provide password security 

or other secure means of ensuring data integrity and enforcing 

user permissions for all system components through the 

following means:  

1. All programs and data files must only be accessible via 

the entry of a password that will be known only to 

authorized personnel;  

2. The network bingo system must have multiple security 

access levels to control and restrict different classes; 

3. The network bingo system access accounts must be 

unique when assigned to the authorized personnel and 

shared accounts amongst authorized personnel must not be 

allowed;  

4. The storage of passwords and PINs must be in an 

encrypted, nonreversible form; and  

5. A program or report must be available that will list all 

registered users on the network bingo system including 

their privilege level.  

C. All components of a network bingo system that allow 

access to users, other than the player, must have a password 

sign-on with at least two-level codes comprising the personal 

identification code and a personal password.  

1. The personal identification code must have a length of at 

least six ASCII characters; and  

2. The personal password must have a minimum length of 

six alphanumeric characters, which should include at least 

one nonalphabetic character.  

D. A network bingo system must have the capability to 

control potential data corruption that can be created by 

multiple simultaneous log-ons by system management 

personnel.  

1. A network bingo system shall specify which of the 

access levels allow for multiple simultaneous sign-ons by 

different users and which of the access levels do not allow 

for multiple sign-ons, and if multiple sign-ons are possible, 

what restrictions, if any, exist; or  

2. If a network bingo system does not provide adequate 

control, a comprehensive procedural control document 

must be drafted for the department's review and approval.  

E. Network bingo system software components/modules 

shall be verifiable by a secure means at the system level. A 

network bingo system shall have the ability to allow for an 

independent integrity check of the components/modules from 

an outside source and an independent integrity check is 

required for all control programs that may affect the integrity 

of the network bingo system. This must be accomplished by 

being authenticated by a third-party device, which may be 

embedded within the network bingo system software or 

having an interface or procedure for a third-party application 

to authenticate the component. This integrity check will 

provide a means for field verification of the network bingo 

system components.  

F. A network bingo system may be used to configure and 

perform security checks on the point-of-sale terminals, 

provided such functions do not affect the security, integrity, 

or outcome of any game and meets the requirements set forth 

in this chapter regarding program storage devices. 

11VAC15-40-500. Randomization. 

A. As used in this section, unless the context requires a 

different meaning: 

"Card position" means the first card dealt, second card 

dealt in sequential order.  

"Number position" means the first number drawn in 

sequential order.  

B. A network bingo system shall utilize randomizing 

procedures in the creation of network bingo cards.  

C. Any random number generation, shuffling, or 

randomization of network bingo cards used in connection 

with a network bingo system must be by use of a random 

number generation application that has successfully passed 

standard tests for randomness and unpredictability including 

but not limited to:  
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1. Each card position or number position satisfies the 99% 

confidence limit using the standard chi-squared analysis. 

"Chi-squared analysis" is the sum of the ratio of the square 

difference between the expected result and the observed 

result to the expected result.  

2. Each card position or number position does not produce 

a significant statistic with regard to producing patterns of 

occurrences. Each card position or number position will be 

considered random if it meets the 99% confidence level 

with regard to the "run test" or any similar pattern testing 

statistic. The "run test" is a mathematical statistic that 

determines the existence of recurring patterns within a set 

of data.  

3. Each card position or number position is independently 

chosen without regard to any other card or number drawn 

within that game play. This test is the "correlation test." 

Each pair of card positions or number positions is 

considered random if it meets the 99% confidence level 

using standard correlation analysis.  

4. Each card position or number position is independently 

chosen without reference to the same card position or 

number position in the previous game. This test is the 

"serial correlation test." Each card position or number 

position is considered random if it meets the 99% 

confidence level using standard serial correlation analysis.  

11VAC15-40-510. Point of sale terminal. 

A. A network bingo system may utilize a point-of-sale 

terminal that is capable of facilitating the sale of network 

bingo cards. The point of sale may be entirely integrated into 

a network bingo system or exist as a separate entity.  

B. Point-of-sale use is only permissible when the device is 

linked to an approved network bingo system.  

C. If a network bingo system utilizes a point of sale, it shall 

be capable of printing a receipt for each sale or void. The 

receipt shall contain the following information:  

1. Date and time of the transaction;  

2. Dollar value of the transaction;  

3. Validation number, if applicable;  

4. Quantity of network bingo cards purchased;  

5. Transaction number;  

6. Point-of-sale identification number or name; and 

7. Date and time when the network bingo game will begin. 

D. The following point-of-sale [ reports report ] shall be 

generated on demand. Sales [ Transaction History Report 

transaction history report ] shall show all sales and voids by 

session and include the following information: 

1. Date and time of the transaction; 

2. Dollar value of the transaction; 

3. Quantity of network bingo cards sold; 

4. Transaction number; 

5. Point of sale identification number or name; and 

6. Date and time of the network bingo game.  

11VAC15-40-520. Game play requirements. 

A. Any device that sells network bingo cards shall be clearly 

labeled so as to inform the public or game worker that no one 

younger than 18 years of age is allowed to play or redeem a 

network bingo card. 

B. A network bingo provider shall have physical on-site 

independent supervision while the numbers for a network 

bingo game are called by a live caller. This independent 

supervision shall be unbiased in verifying the outcome of the 

network bingo game and uphold the department's objective of 

maintaining the highest level of integrity in charitable 

gaming. A written agreement specifying the terms of any 

arrangement between the entity or person providing the 

physical on-site independent supervision and the network 

bingo provider shall be required prior to any supervision 

being performed on the network bingo game. This written 

agreement shall be maintained by the network bingo provider 

for a minimum of three years from the close of the fiscal year, 

unless otherwise specified. 

C. A network bingo provider shall ensure qualified 

organizations participating in its network bingo comply with 

§ 18.2-340.28:1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

D. A network bingo provider or the live caller shall 

announce the prize amount and the predetermined pattern to 

players immediately before the start of the network bingo 

game. Each location where a qualified organization is selling 

network bingo cards shall be equipped to visually display the 

broadcast or signal of the numbers as they are being called by 

a live caller. 

E. Gross receipts from the sale of network bingo cards shall 

be allocated in the following manner: 

1. Up to 50% of such receipts to the organization selling 

network bingo cards; 

2. Up to 50% of gross receipts to the prize pool; and 

3. Any remaining amount to the network bingo provider. 

However, if the prize pool reaches the maximum prize 

limitation, then the network bingo provider shall enable the 

organization to retain those gross receipts normally allocated 

to the prize pool. 

F. All written agreements specifying the terms of any 

arrangement between the qualified organization and network 

bingo provider shall be maintained by both parties for a 

minimum of three years from the close of the fiscal year, 

unless otherwise specified. 

G. Network bingo prizes must be claimed by the player 

within 30 days of winning the game and if not, the network 

bingo provider shall roll the unclaimed prize into the prize 

pool for the next network bingo game. The network bingo 

provider shall pay the prize by check to the winning player 

within 30 days. If the outcome of a network bingo game 
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results in multiple winning players, then the prize amount 

shall be equally divided among them. 

H. No single network bingo prize shall exceed the prize 

limitation set forth in § 18.2-340.28:1 I of the Code of 

Virginia.  

Part VI 

Administrative Process 

11VAC15-40-600. Procedural rules for the conduct of 

fact-finding conferences and hearings. 

A. As used in this part, "manufacturer" means a person or 

entity that assembles from raw materials or subparts an 

electronic games of chance system. 

B. Fact-finding conference; notification, appearance, and 

conduct.  

1. Unless automatic revocation or immediate suspension is 

required by law, no permit to conduct charitable gaming, 

sell charitable gaming supplies, or distribute electronic 

games of chance shall be denied, suspended, or revoked 

except after review and approval of such proposed denial, 

suspension, or revocation action by the board, and upon 

notice stating the basis for such proposed action and the 

time and place for a fact-finding conference as set forth in 

§ 2.2-4019 of the Administrative Process Act. 

2. If a basis exists for a refusal to renew, suspend, or a 

revoke a permit, the department shall notify by certified 

mail or by hand delivery the interested persons at the 

address of record maintained by the department.  

3. Notification shall include the basis for the proposed 

action and afford interested persons the opportunity to 

present written and oral information to the department that 

may have a bearing on the proposed action at a fact-finding 

conference. If there is no withdrawal, a fact-finding 

conference shall be scheduled at the earliest mutually 

agreeable date, but no later than 60 days from the date of 

the notification. Organizations, suppliers, or manufacturers 

who wish to waive their right to a conference shall notify 

the department at least 14 days before the scheduled 

conference.  

4. If, after consideration of evidence presented during an 

informal fact-finding conference, a basis for action still 

exists, the interested persons shall be notified in writing 

within 60 days of the fact-finding conference via certified 

or hand-delivered mail of the decision and the right to a 

formal hearing. Parties to the conference may agree to 

extend the report deadline if more time is needed to 

consider relevant evidence.  

C. Hearing; notification, appearance, and conduct.  

1. If, after a fact-finding conference, a sufficient basis still 

exists to deny, suspend, or revoke a permit, interested 

persons shall be notified by certified or hand-delivered 

mail of the proposed action and of the opportunity for a 

hearing on the proposed action. If an organization, 

supplier, or manufacturer desires to request a hearing, it 

shall notify the department within 14 days of receipt of a 

report on the conference. Parties may enter into a consent 

agreement to settle the issues at any time prior to, or 

subsequent to, an informal fact-finding conference.  

2. If an interested party or representative fails to appear at a 

hearing, the hearing officer may proceed in his absence and 

make a recommendation.  

3. Oral and written arguments may be submitted to and 

limited by the hearing officer. Oral arguments shall be 

recorded in an appropriate manner.  

D. Hearing location. Hearings before a hearing officer shall 

be held, insofar as practicable, in the county or city in which 

the organization, supplier, or manufacturer is located. If the 

parties agree, hearing officers may conduct hearings at 

locations convenient to the greatest number of persons or by 

telephone conference, video conference, or similar 

technology, in order to expedite the hearing process.  

E. Hearing decisions.  

1. Recommendations of the hearing officer shall be a part 

of the record and shall include a written statement of the 

hearing officer's findings of fact and recommendations as 

well as the reasons or basis for the recommendations. 

Recommendations shall be based upon all the material 

issues of fact, law, or discretion presented on the record.  

2. The department shall review the recommendation of the 

hearing officer and render a decision on the 

recommendation within 30 days of receipt. The decision 

shall cite the appropriate rule, relief, or denial thereof as to 

each issue.  

F. Agency representation. The commissioner's designee may 

represent the department in an informal conference or at a 

hearing.  

11VAC15-40-610. Reporting violations. 

A. Unless otherwise required by law, the identity of any 

individual who provides information to the department or its 

agents regarding alleged violations shall be held in strict 

confidence.  

B. Any officer, director, or game manager of a qualified 

organization or any officer or director of a supplier or 

manufacturer shall immediately report to the department any 

information pertaining to the suspected misappropriation or 

theft of funds or any other violation of charitable gaming 

statutes or this chapter.  

C. Failure to report the information required by subsection B 

of this section may result in the denial, suspension, or 

revocation of a permit.  

D. Any officer, director, or game manager of a qualified 

organization involved in the management, operation, or 

conduct of charitable gaming shall immediately notify the 

department upon being convicted of a felony or a crime 

involving fraud, theft, or financial crimes.  
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E. Any officer, director, partner, or owner of a supplier or 

manufacturer shall immediately notify the department upon 

being convicted or of pleading nolo contendere to a felony or 

a crime involving gambling or an action against any license 

or certificate held by the supplier in any state in the United 

States. 

F. Failure to report information required by subsection D or 

E of this section by any officer, director, or game manager of 

a qualified organization or by any supplier or manufacturer 

may result in the denial, suspension, or revocation of a 

permit.  

G. Any officer, director, or game manager of a qualified 

organization involved in charitable gaming shall immediately 

report to the department any change the IRS makes in the tax 

status of the organization, or if the organization is a chapter of 

a national organization covered by a group tax exempt 

determination, the tax status of the national organization.  

H. All organizations regulated by the department shall 

display prominently a poster advising the public of a phone 

number where complaints relating to charitable gaming may 

be made. Such posters shall be in a format prescribed by the 

department. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (11VAC15-40) 

GAME MANAGEMENT FORMS 

Bingo Session Reconciliation Summary, Form 103 (rev. 

1/2011) 

Admission Sales Reconciliation - Paper, Form 104-A (rev. 

1/2011) 

Floor Sales Reconciliation - Paper, Form 104-B (rev. 

1/2011) 

Decision Bingo Reconciliation, Form 104-C (rev. 1/2011) 

Raffle/Treasure Chest Sales Reconciliation - Bingo 

Session, Form 104-D (rev. 1/2011) 

Instant Bingo/Seal Cards/Pull-Tabs Reconciliation, Form 

105 (rev. 1/2011) 

Storeroom Inventory Issue - Paper, Form 106-A (rev. 

7/2008) 

Storeroom Inventory Issue - Instant Bingo/Seal Cards/Pull-

Tabs, Form 106-B (rev. 7/2008) 

List of Volunteer Workers, Form 107 (rev. 7/2008) 

Prize Receipt, Form 108 (rev. 7/2008) 

Storeroom Inventory - Paper, Form 109-A (rev. 1/2011) 

Storeroom Inventory - Instant Bingo/Seal Cards/Pull-Tabs, 

Form 109-B (rev. 1/2011) 

ORGANIZATION LICENSING FORMS  

Charitable Gaming Permit Application - New Applicants 

Only, Form 201 - N (rev. 1/2011) 

Charitable Gaming Permit Application - Renewal 

Applicants Only, Form 201 - R (rev. 1/2011) 

Permit Amendment (rev. 1/2011) 

Gaming Personnel Information Update (rev. 7/2008) 

Report of Game Termination (rev. 7/2008) 

MANUFACTURER OF ELECTRONIC GAMES OF 

CHANCE SYSTEMS AND, SUPPLIER, AND NETWORK 

BINGO PROVIDER LICENSING FORMS 

Manufacturer of Electronic Games of Chance Systems and 

Charitable Gaming Supplier Permit Application, Form 301 

(rev. 6/12).  

Annual Supplier/Manufacturer Sales and Transaction 

Report, Form 302 (rev. 6/12) 

Charitable Gaming Supplier Permit Application, Form 301 

(rev. 7/2013) 

Annual Supplier/Manufacturer Sales and Transaction 

Report, Form 302 (rev. 8/2013) 

Certification of Non-Permit Holder, Form 303 (rev. 

7/2013) 

Certification of Non-Charitable Gaming/Gambling, Form 

304 (rev. 7/2013) 

Manufacturer of Electronic Pull-tab System Permit 

Application, Form 305 (rev. 10/2012) 

Manufacturer of Electronic Pull-tab System Permit 

Application - Personal Information, Form 305A (rev. 

10/2012) 

Manufacturer of Electronic Pull-tab System Permit 

Renewal Application, Form 306 (rev. 10/2013) 

Manufacturer of Electronic Pull-tab System Permit 

Renewal Application - Personal Information, Form 306A 

(rev. 10/2013) 

Network Bingo Provider Permit Application, Form 307 

(eff. 5/2014) 

Network Bingo Provider Permit Application - Personal 

Information, Form 307A (eff. 5/2014) 

BINGO MANAGER AND BINGO CALLER 

REGISTRATION FORMS 

Charitable Gaming Bingo Caller Certificate of Registration 

Application, Form 401 (rev. 1/2011) 

Charitable Gaming Bingo Manager Certificate of 

Registration Application, Form 402 (rev. 1/2011) 

Amendment to Certificate of Registration – Registered 

Bingo Callers and Bingo Managers (rev. 1/2011) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=31674002560~3&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=31674002560~3&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=22af0002560~4&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=22af0002560~4&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ce5c6002560~5&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ce5c6002560~5&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8a2c7002560~6&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d9351002560~7&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d9351002560~7&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3ab00002560~8&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3ab00002560~8&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=aaf54002560~9&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=aaf54002560~9&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a4f17002560~10&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a4f17002560~10&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=420ce002560~11&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2432e002560~12&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a8785002560~13&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e805e002560~14&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e805e002560~14&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c410e002560~15&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c410e002560~15&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f8659002560~16&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f8659002560~16&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=959e0002560~17&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e52bc002560~18&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9638e002560~19&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b2c02003873~2&typ=40&actno=003873&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b2c02003873~2&typ=40&actno=003873&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d8d78003873~10&typ=40&actno=003873&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d8d78003873~10&typ=40&actno=003873&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6a956003873~3&typ=40&actno=003873&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6a956003873~3&typ=40&actno=003873&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60125003873~4&typ=40&actno=003873&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60125003873~4&typ=40&actno=003873&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ad6d003873~1&typ=40&actno=003873&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ad6d003873~1&typ=40&actno=003873&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3f2e2003873~5&typ=40&actno=003873&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3f2e2003873~5&typ=40&actno=003873&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3f2e2003873~5&typ=40&actno=003873&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a57ed003873~6&typ=40&actno=003873&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a57ed003873~6&typ=40&actno=003873&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=de19a003873~12&typ=40&actno=003873&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=de19a003873~12&typ=40&actno=003873&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=de19a003873~12&typ=40&actno=003873&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5546c003873~9&typ=40&actno=003873&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5546c003873~9&typ=40&actno=003873&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc6ef003873~10&typ=40&actno=003873&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc6ef003873~10&typ=40&actno=003873&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=313e0002560~22&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=313e0002560~22&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=40669002560~23&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=40669002560~23&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e7b7d002560~24&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e7b7d002560~24&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
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Personal Information Update – Registered Bingo Callers 

and Registered Bingo Managers, Form 404 (rev. 7/2007) 

Bona Fide Member Verification, Form 405 (rev. 5/2011) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3873; Filed September 26, 2016, 10:37 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-40. Eligibility Conditions 

and Requirements (amending 12VAC30-40-290; adding 

12VAC30-40-370).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: December 16, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 

Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) to administer and amend the Plan for Medical 

Assistance according to the board's requirements. The 

Medicaid authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 

Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority 

for payments for services.  

The Item 307 T of Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts of the 

Assembly directed DMAS to modify its eligibility regulations 

to exempt sterilization compensation, awarded to individuals 

who had been involuntarily sterilized under previous state 

policy, from consideration during the Medicaid eligibility 

determination process. Item 313 Q of Chapter 780 of the 

2016 Acts of the Assembly continued funding for the 

sterilization compensation program. 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to allow individuals 

who are compensated for their involuntary sterilization to 

accept their monetary compensation without losing their 

eligibility for Medicaid. This regulation is essential to protect 

the health, safety, and welfare of the public in that it helps 

assure that low income individuals are able to maintain their 

Medicaid benefits if they receive a payment to compensate 

them for involuntary sterilization. 

Substance: The proposed amendments add language to 

12VAC30-40-290 and create the new section 12VAC30-40-

370 to disregard compensation payments received by 

individuals who were involuntarily sterilized pursuant to the 

Virginia Eugenical Sterilization Act and who are living as of 

February 1, 2015. Receipt of federal authority to disregard 

these payments in the Medicaid eligibility determination 

mean that these payments will have no impact on eligibility 

for new or current enrollees who receive this payment. 

Unless otherwise exempted by state or federal requirements, 

all income an individual receives must be counted in the 

Medicaid eligibility determination. Similarly, all money an 

individual has at the beginning of a month either in his hand 

or in a financial institution account must be considered a 

resource in the Medicaid eligibility determination. Money an 

individual has cannot be counted as both income and a 

resource in the same month, so payments received by 

individuals are counted as income the month received, and if 

the money is retained, counted as a resource in following 

months. 

Current policy would require payments (awards, settlements) 

made to individuals who had been involuntarily sterilized as a 

result of the Virginia Eugenical Sterilization Act to be 

counted as income in the month of receipt of the payment 

and, if the money was retained, counted as a resource in 

following months. Counting this payment as income in the 

month of receipt and a resource thereafter could result in an 

individual losing Medicaid eligibility. 

Issues: There are no advantages or disadvantages to the public 

of this action. The advantage to the individuals who were 

subjected to involuntary sterilization is that they will be 

compensated to some degree for their pain and suffering. In 

receiving this General Assembly-authorized compensation, 

individuals will not risk losing their Medicaid eligibility. 

There are no disadvantages to the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(Director) proposes to amend this regulation to not count 

payments made to compensate individuals who were 

involuntarily sterilized as income
1
 for the purpose of 

determining Medicaid eligibility. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 665, item 307 T of the 

2015 Acts of Assembly
2
 required the Director to exempt 

involuntary sterilization compensation from Medicaid 

eligibility determinations through an emergency regulation. 

Accordingly, the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

promulgated an emergency regulation on November 23, 2015, 

which is scheduled to be effective through May 22, 2017. 

This action replaces that regulation on a permanent basis. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a3bb5002560~25&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a3bb5002560~25&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e8c01002560~26&typ=40&actno=002560&mime=application/pdf
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From 1924 to 1979, at least 7,325 individuals were sterilized 

in Virginia under the Virginia Eugenical Sterilization Act 

(1924). Of those sterilized about half were deemed "mentally 

ill" and the other half deemed "mentally deficient." 

Approximately 62% of those sterilized were female. Some 

estimate the total number of sterilizations to be as high as 

8,300 individuals.
3
 In 2015, the Virginia Appropriation Act 

provided compensation to these individuals involuntarily 

sterilized and who were living as of February 1, 2015. 

Chapter 780, item 313 Q of the 2016 Acts of Assembly 

continued the funding for the sterilization compensation 

program. Each qualified applicant receives $25,000. 

Disregarding payments for the purpose of Medicaid eligibility 

determinations made to compensate individuals who were 

involuntarily sterilized increases the likelihood that such 

individuals will qualify for Medicaid. Thus far 24 individuals 

have been awarded compensation through the program, while 

two individuals are currently having their claims reviewed.
4
 

The Medicaid applications do not ask applicants to report 

whether or not they have received sterilization compensation. 

Consequently it is not known whether any of the 24 

compensation recipients have applied for Medicaid while the 

emergency regulation has been in effect. 

The Commonwealth pays approximately fifty percent of 

Medicaid costs, with the federal government paying for the 

other fifty percent. The average annual cost for individuals in 

the Aged, Blind and Disabled category
5
 of Medicaid is 

approximately $17,000.
6
 Thus if disregarding the 

compensation enables a recipient to qualify for Medicaid who 

otherwise would not have, the additional cost to Virginia 

would on average be about $8,500 per such individual.
7
  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

applies to individuals involuntarily sterilized and who were 

living as of February 1, 2015. Thus far 24 individuals have 

been awarded compensation through the program, while two 

individuals are currently having their claims reviewed. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

does not significantly affect employment.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment does not significantly affect the use and 

value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 

does not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment does not 

affect small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment does not affect small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not affect 

businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment does not affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect other entities. 

__________________________________________ 
1 Specifically, the Board proposes to state that "For all aged, blind, or 
disabled individuals, both categorically needy and medically needy, the 

Commonwealth shall disregard as resources amounts received as payment for 

involuntary sterilization under the Virginia Eugenical Sterilization Act, 
beyond the allowable nine-month exclusion by the SSI program's resource 

methodologies." 
2 See http://budget.lis.virginia.gov/item/2015/1/HB1400/Chapter/1/307/ 
3 For more information, see 

https://www.uvm.edu/~lkaelber/eugenics/VA/VA.html 
4 Source: Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 
5 All (or almost all) surviving individuals who were sterilized in Virginia 

under the Virginia Eugenical Sterilization Act are aged, and would therefore 

fall into the Aged, Blind and Disabled category. Additionally, as stated in 
note 1 above, the proposed amendment is for "For all aged, blind, or disabled 

individuals …" 
6 Source: 2015 Virginia Medicaid and CHIP Data Book, Department of 
Medical Assistance Services 
7 The actual cost for each person can vary widely.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency 

concurs with this analysis. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Item 307 T of Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts of 

Assembly (and continued as Item 313 Q of Chapter 780 of 

the 2016 Acts of Assembly), the proposed amendments 

require that payments made to compensate individuals who 

were involuntarily sterilized pursuant to the Virginia 

Eugenical Sterilization Act and who are living as of 

February 1, 2015, (i) are disregarded for the purpose of 

Medicaid eligibility determinations and (ii) increase the 

basic personal needs allowance.  

12VAC30-40-290. More liberal methods of treating 

resources under § 1902(r)(2) of the Act: § 1902(f) states. 

A. Resources to meet burial expenses. Resources set aside to 

meet the burial expenses of an applicant/recipient or that 

individual's spouse are excluded from countable assets. In 

determining eligibility for benefits for individuals, 

disregarded from countable resources is an amount not in 

excess of $3,500 for the individual and an amount not in 

excess of $3,500 for his spouse when such resources have 

been set aside to meet the burial expenses of the individual or 

his spouse. The amount disregarded shall be reduced by: 

http://budget.lis.virginia.gov/item/2015/1/HB1400/Chapter/1/307/
https://www.uvm.edu/~lkaelber/eugenics/VA/VA.html
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1. The face value of life insurance on the life of an 

individual owned by the individual or his spouse if the cash 

surrender value of such policies has been excluded from 

countable resources; and 

2. The amount of any other revocable or irrevocable trust, 

contract, or other arrangement specifically designated for 

the purpose of meeting the individual's or his spouse's 

burial expenses. 

B. Cemetery plots. Cemetery plots are not counted as 

resources regardless of the number owned. 

C. Life rights. Life rights to real property are not counted as 

a resource. The purchase of a life right in another individual's 

home is subject to transfer of asset rules. See 12VAC30-40-

300. 

D. Reasonable effort to sell. 

1. For purposes of this section, "current market value" is 

defined as the current tax assessed value. If the property is 

listed by a realtor, then the realtor may list it at an amount 

higher than the tax assessed value. In no event, however, 

shall the realtor's list price exceed 150% of the assessed 

value. 

2. A reasonable effort to sell is considered to have been 

made: 

a. As of the date the property becomes subject to a 

realtor's listing agreement if: 

(1) It is listed at a price at current market value; and 

(2) The listing realtor verifies that it is unlikely to sell 

within 90 days of listing given the particular 

circumstances involved (e.g., owner's fractional interest; 

zoning restrictions; poor topography; absence of road 

frontage or access; absence of improvements; clouds on 

title, right of way or easement; local market conditions); 

or 

b. When at least two realtors refuse to list the property. 

The reason for refusal must be that the property is 

unsaleable at current market value. Other reasons for 

refusal are not sufficient; or 

c. When the applicant has personally advertised his 

property at or below current market value for 90 days by 

use of a "Sale By Owner" sign located on the property 

and by other reasonable efforts, such as newspaper 

advertisements, or reasonable inquiries with all adjoining 

landowners or other potential interested purchasers. 

3. Notwithstanding the fact that the recipient made a 

reasonable effort to sell the property and failed to sell it, 

and although the recipient has become eligible, the 

recipient must make a continuing reasonable effort to sell 

by: 

a. Repeatedly renewing any initial listing agreement until 

the property is sold. If the list price was initially higher 

than the tax-assessed value, the listed sales price must be 

reduced after 12 months to no more than 100% of the 

tax-assessed value. 

b. In the case where at least two realtors have refused to 

list the property, the recipient must personally try to sell 

the property by efforts described in subdivision 2 c of 

this subsection for 12 months. 

c. In the case of a recipient who has personally advertised 

his property for a year without success (the newspaper 

advertisements and "for sale" sign do not have to be 

continuous; these efforts must be done for at least 90 

days within a 12-month period), the recipient must then: 

(1) Subject his property to a realtor's listing agreement at 

price or below current market value; or 

(2) Meet the requirements of subdivision 2 b of this 

subsection which are that the recipient must try to list the 

property and at least two realtors refuse to list it because 

it is unsaleable at current market value; other reasons for 

refusal to list are not sufficient. 

4. If the recipient has made a continuing effort to sell the 

property for 12 months, then the recipient may sell the 

property between 75% and 100% of its tax assessed value 

and such sale shall not result in disqualification under the 

transfer of property rules. If the recipient requests to sell 

his property at less than 75% of assessed value, he must 

submit documentation from the listing realtor, or 

knowledgeable source if the property is not listed with a 

realtor, that the requested sale price is the best price the 

recipient can expect to receive for the property at this time. 

Sale at such a documented price shall not result in 

disqualification under the transfer of property rules. The 

proceeds of the sale will be counted as a resource in 

determining continuing eligibility. 

5. Once the applicant has demonstrated that his property is 

unsaleable by following the procedures in subdivision 2 of 

this subsection, the property is disregarded in determining 

eligibility starting the first day of the month in which the 

most recent application was filed, or up to three months 

prior to this month of application if retroactive coverage is 

requested and the applicant met all other eligibility 

requirements in the period. A recipient must continue his 

reasonable efforts to sell the property as required in 

subdivision 3 of this subsection. 

E. Automobiles. Ownership of one motor vehicle does not 

affect eligibility. If more than one vehicle is owned, the 

individual's equity in the least valuable vehicle or vehicles 

must be counted. The value of the vehicles is the wholesale 

value listed in the National Automobile Dealers Official Used 

Car Guide (NADA) Book, Eastern Edition (update monthly). 

In the event the vehicle is not listed, the value assessed by the 

locality for tax purposes may be used. The value of the 

additional motor vehicles is to be counted in relation to the 

amount of assets that could be liquidated that may be 

retained. 
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F. Life, retirement, and other related types of insurance 

policies. Life, retirement, and other related types of insurance 

policies with face values totaling $1,500 or less on any one 

person 21 years old and over are not considered resources. 

When the face values of such policies of any one person 

exceeds exceed $1,500, the cash surrender value of the 

policies is counted as a resource. 

G. Long-term care partnership insurance policy (partnership 

policy). Resources equal to the amount of benefits paid on the 

insured's behalf by the long-term care insurer through a 

Virginia issued long-term care partnership insurance policy 

shall be disregarded. A long-term care partnership insurance 

policy shall meet the following requirements: 

1. The policy is a qualified long-term care partnership 

insurance policy as defined in § 7702B(b) of the Internal 

Revenue Code of 1986. 

2. The policy meets the requirements of the National 

Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) Long-

Term Care Insurance Model Regulation and Long-Term 

Care Insurance Model Act as those requirements are set 

forth in § 1917(b)(5)(A) of the Social Security Act 

(42 USC § 1396p). 

3. The policy was issued no earlier than May 1, 2007. 

4. The insured individual was a resident of a partnership 

state when coverage first became effective under the 

policy. If the policy is later exchanged for a different long-

term care policy, the individual was a resident of a 

partnership state when coverage under the earliest policy 

became effective. 

5. The policy meets the inflation protection requirements 

set forth in § 1917(b)(1)(C)(iii)(IV) of the Social Security 

Act. 

6. The Insurance Commissioner requires the issuer of the 

partnership policy to make regular reports to the federal 

Secretary of Health and Human Services that include 

notification of the date benefits provided under the policy 

were paid and the amount paid, the date the policy 

terminates, and such other information as the secretary 

determines may be appropriate to the administration of 

such partnerships. Such information shall also be made 

available to the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services upon request.  

7. The state does not impose any requirement affecting the 

terms or benefits of a partnership policy that the state does 

not also impose on nonpartnership policies. 

8. The policy meets all the requirements of the Bureau of 

Insurance of the State Corporation Commission described 

in 14VAC5-200. 

H. Reserved. 

I. Resource exemption for Aid to Dependent Children 

categorically and medically needy (the Act 

§§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(III), (IV), (VI), (VII); 

§§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(VIII), (IX); § 1902(a)(10)(C)(i)(III)). 

For ADC-related cases, both categorically and medically 

needy, any individual or family applying for or receiving 

assistance may have or establish one interest-bearing savings 

or investment account per assistance unit not to exceed 

$5,000 if the applicant, applicants, recipient or recipients 

designate that the account is reserved for purposes related to 

self-sufficiency. Any funds deposited in the account shall be 

exempt when determining eligibility for medical assistance 

for so long as the funds and interest remain on deposit in the 

account. Any amounts withdrawn and used for purposes 

related to self-sufficiency shall be exempt. For purposes of 

this section, purposes related to self-sufficiency shall include, 

but are not limited to, (i) paying for tuition, books, and 

incidental expenses at any elementary, secondary, or 

vocational school, or any college or university; (ii) for 

making down payment on a primary residence; or (iii) for 

establishment of a commercial operation that is owned by a 

member of the medical assistance unit. 

J. Disregard of resources. The Commonwealth of Virginia 

will disregard all resources for qualified children covered 

under §§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(I), 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(III), 

1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(VIII), and 1905(n) of the Social Security 

Act. 

K. Household goods and personal effects. The 

Commonwealth of Virginia will disregard the value of 

household goods and personal effects. Household goods are 

items of personal property customarily found in the home and 

used in connection with the maintenance, use and occupancy 

of the premises as a home. Examples of household goods are 

furniture, appliances, televisions, carpets, cooking and eating 

utensils and dishes. Personal effects are items of personal 

property that are worn or carried by an individual or that have 

an intimate relation to the individual. Examples of personal 

property include clothing, jewelry, personal care items, 

prosthetic devices and educational or recreational items such 

as books, musical instruments, or hobby materials. 

L. Determining eligibility based on resources. When 

determining Medicaid eligibility, an individual shall be 

eligible in a month if his countable resources were at or below 

the resource standard on any day of such month. 

M. Working individuals with disabilities eligible for 

assistance under § 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XV) of the Act who 

wish to increase their personal resources while maintaining 

eligibility for Medicaid shall establish Work Incentive (WIN) 

accounts. The Commonwealth will disregard up to the current 

annual SSI (Social Security Act, § 1619(b)) threshold amount 

(as established for Virginia by the Social Security 

Administration) held in WIN accounts for workers with 

disabilities eligible for assistance under 

§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XV) of the Act. To be eligible for this 

resource disregard, WIN accounts are subject to the following 

provisions: 
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1. Deposits to this account shall derive solely from the 

individual's income earned after electing to enroll in the 

Medicaid Buy-In (MBI) program. 

2. The balance of this account shall not exceed the current 

annual SSI (Social Security Act § 1619(b)) threshold 

amount (as established for Virginia by the Social Security 

Administration). 

3. This account will be held separate from nonexempt 

resources in accounts for which prior approval has been 

obtained from the department, and for which the owner 

authorizes regular monitoring and reporting including 

deposits, withdrawals, and other information deemed 

necessary by the department for the proper administration 

of this provision. 

4. A spouse's resources will not be deemed to the applicant 

when determining whether or not the individual meets the 

financial eligibility requirements for eligibility under this 

section. 

5. Resources accumulated in the Work Incentive account 

shall be disregarded in determining eligibility for aged, 

blind, and disabled Medicaid-covered groups for one year 

after the individual leaves the Medicaid Buy-In program. 

6. In addition, excluded from the resource and asset limit 

include amounts deposited in the following types of IRS-

approved accounts established as WIN accounts: 

retirement accounts, medical savings accounts, medical 

reimbursement accounts, education accounts and 

independence accounts. Assets retained in these WIN 

accounts shall be disregarded for all future Medicaid 

eligibility determinations for aged, blind, or disabled 

Medicaid-covered groups. 

N. For all aged, blind, or disabled individuals, both 

categorically needy and medically needy, the Commonwealth 

shall disregard as resources amounts received as payment for 

involuntary sterilization under the Virginia Eugenical 

Sterilization Act, beyond the allowable nine-month exclusion 

by the SSI program's resource methodologies.  

12VAC30-40-370. Variations from the basic personal 

needs allowance. 

For victims of Virginia's eugenical program, the 

Commonwealth shall, in addition to the basic personal needs 

allowance (PNA), increase the basic PNA by amounts 

received as payments for involuntary sterilization under the 

Virginia Eugenical Sterilization Act.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4351; Filed September 26, 2016, 7:50 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-90. Methods and Standards 

for Establishing Payment Rates for Long-Term Care 

(amending 12VAC30-90-44).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 16, 2016. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance and to 

make, adopt, promulgate, and enforce regulations to 

implement the state plan. Section 32.1-324 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes the Director of the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) to administer and amend the 

Plan for Medical Assistance according to the board's 

requirements. The Medicaid authority as established by 

§ 1902(a) of the Social Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) 

provides governing authority for payments for services.  

The elimination of inflation for nursing facilities is required 

by Item 301 IIII of Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts of 

Assembly, which states that DMAS "shall amend the State 

Plan for Medical Assistance to eliminate nursing facility 

inflation for fiscal year 2016. This shall apply to nursing 

facility operating rates."  

The implementation of the "hold harmless provision" is 

required by Item 301 KKK 6 of Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts 

of Assembly, which states that DMAS "shall amend the State 

Plan for Medical Assistance to reimburse the price-based 

operating rate rather than the transition operating rate to any 

nursing facility whose licensed bed capacity decreased by at 

least 30 beds after 2011 and whose occupancy increased from 

less than 70 percent in 2011 to more than 80 percent in 2013." 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to prevent additional 

Medicaid expenditures for nursing facility inflation costs 

beginning on July 1, 2015, and to implement the "hold 

harmless provision," which allows nursing facilities with 

decreased bed capacity but increased demand to be 

reimbursed at a price-based rate rather than the lower 

transition operating rate. This regulation is essential to protect 

the health, safety, and welfare of the public in that it seeks to 

maintain access to nursing facility providers by creating the 

fairest distribution of the limited funds that are available for 

nursing facility reimbursement. This regulatory action seeks 

to prevent a decrease in the number of nursing facility 

providers in the Medicaid program, which would cause 

Medicaid members to have difficulty accessing the health 

care services that they need.  

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

regulatory action was mandated by Chapter 665 of the 2015 

Acts of Assembly. The changes have been reviewed and 

approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 
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and the changes have been in effect since July 1, 2015. 

DMAS has not received any comments, concerns, or other 

indicators of controversy from providers, members, or the 

public since the changes went into effect. As a result, this 

regulatory action is being promulgated via the fast-track 

rulemaking process because it is not expected to be 

controversial. 

Substance: The amendments eliminate inflation for nursing 

facilities for the period between July 1, 2015, and June 30, 

2016, and allow nursing facilities with decreased bed capacity 

but increased demand to be reimbursed at a price-based rate 

rather than the lower transition operating rate. This carve-out 

for facilities that meet the requirements for bed capacity and 

occupancy was designed with substantial input from a nursing 

facility stakeholder group. 

Issues: The primary advantages of these changes are that they 

reduce additional Medicaid expenditures for nursing facility 

inflation and implement a stakeholder group's 

recommendation related to reimbursement for nursing 

facilities with a decrease in the number of beds and an 

increase in occupancy. There are no disadvantages to the 

public or the Commonwealth as a result of these changes. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) proposes two changes to its regulation governing 

payment rates for long term care. The Board proposes to add 

language to reflect that the inflation adjustment for nursing 

facility operating rates was set to zero percent for fiscal year 

2016 (July 1, 2015 through June 30, 2016) and to allow 

nursing homes with specified decreased bed capacity, but 

increased demand, to be reimbursed at a higher, price-based 

rate
1
 rather than at the lower transition operating rate.

2
 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for this 

proposed change. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Item 301 IIII of Chapter 665, 

2015 Acts of the Assembly, required DMAS to "amend the 

State Plan for Medical Assistance to eliminate nursing facility 

inflation [adjustments to payments] for fiscal year 2016." 

Item 301 KKK(6) of this Chapter required the DMAS to 

"amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance to reimburse 

the price-based operating rate rather than the transition 

operating rate to any nursing facility whose licensed bed 

capacity decreased by at least 30 beds after 2011 and whose 

occupancy increased from less than 70 percent in 2011 to 

more than 80 percent in 2013." DMAS submitted these two 

changes to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 

(CMS) and they have been approved. Now the Director of 

DMAS, acting on behalf of the Board of Medical Assistance 

Services, proposes to amend this regulation to harmonize it 

with Chapter 665. 

As the elimination of the inflation adjustment for nursing 

facilities was only in effect from July 1, 2015 to June 30, 

2016, no nursing facilities are likely to incur any costs or 

reduced reimbursements
3
 after June 30, 2016. Board staff 

reports that nursing facility reimbursements in fiscal year 

were reduced by $19.6 million
4
 on account of the elimination 

of inflation adjustments for that year. Board staff reports that 

one nursing facility has thus far seen an increased 

reimbursement from the expedited changeover to price-based 

operating rate reimbursement required by Item 301 KKK(6) 

of Chapter 665. This nursing facility received $320,000 more 

in reimbursements in fiscal year 2016 than they would have 

seen under transition operating rate reimbursement. Board 

staff reports that they know of no other nursing facilities that 

would be affected by Item 301 KKK(6) before all nursing 

facilities would move to 100 percent price-based operating 

rate reimbursement at the beginning of fiscal year 2018 (July 

1, 2017). All affected entities will benefit from this regulation 

being harmonized with relevant requirements in Chapter 665 

as this will eliminate any confusion as to what standards have 

to be followed. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports there are 

approximately 265 nursing facilities that are affected by 

changes in reimbursement. Board staff further reports that 

220 of these nursing facilities are part of a chain or hospital 

and would likely not be small businesses. The remaining 

approximately 40 nursing facilities likely are small 

businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by these regulatory changes.  

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to have any impact on employment in 

the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

proposed regulation is unlikely to have any impact on the use 

or value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This proposed regulation is 

unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No small business is likely to incur 

ongoing costs on account of these proposed regulatory 

changes. In fiscal year 2016, nursing facilities were 

reimbursed $19.6 million less on account of the elimination 

of an inflation adjustment for that year. One small business 

nursing facility thus far has benefited from the early change 

to price-based reimbursement for nursing homes that 

experienced reductions in capacity of at least 30 beds after 

2011 but whose occupancy increased (from less than 70 

percent to greater than 80%) between 2011 and 2013. 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 17, 2016 

502 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 

business is likely to incur compliance costs on account of 

these proposed regulatory changes.  

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. No business is likely to incur compliance costs on 

account of these proposed regulatory changes. In fiscal year 

2016, nursing facilities were reimbursed $19.6 million less on 

account of the elimination of an inflation adjustment for that 

year. One nursing facility thus far has benefited from the 

early change to price-based reimbursement for nursing homes 

that experienced reductions in capacity of at least 30 beds 

after 2011 but whose occupancy increased (from less than 70 

percent to greater than 80%) between 2011 and 2013. 

Localities. No locality is likely to be adversely affected by 

these proposed regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to suffer any 

adverse impact on account of this proposed regulation. 

__________________________________ 
1 Price-based nursing facility reimbursement methodology is described in 

12VAC30-90-44 (A) at http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title12 

/agency30/chapter90/section44/. 
2 Transition operating rate reimbursement is described in 12VAC30-90-44 

(B) at http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title12/agency30/chapter90 

/section44/. This transition rate will be phased completely out at the end of 
fiscal year 2017 as all nursing facility will be reimburse 100% at an adjusted 

price-based rate starting in fiscal year 2018. 
3Reduced from what they would have been had they been subject to an 
inflation adjustment. 
4This represents a savings of $9.8 million in state general fund expenditures. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency 

concurs with this analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) eliminate inflation for nursing 

facilities, pursuant to Item IIII of Chapter 665 of the 2015 

Acts of Assembly, to prevent additional Medicaid 

expenditures for these inflation costs and (ii) implement the 

"hold harmless provision" for nursing facilities, pursuant 

to Item KKK 6 of Chapter 665, which allows nursing 

facilities with decreased bed capacity but increased 

demand to be reimbursed at a price-based rate rather than 

the lower transition operating rate.  

12VAC30-90-44. Nursing facility price-based 

reimbursement methodology.  

A. Effective July 1, 2014, DMAS shall convert nursing 

facility operating rates in 12VAC30-90-41 to a price-based 

methodology. The department shall calculate prospective 

operating rates for direct and indirect costs in the following 

manner: 

1. The department shall calculate the cost per day in the 

base year for direct and indirect operating costs for each 

nursing facility. The department shall use existing 

definitions of direct and indirect costs. 

2. The initial base year for calculating the cost per day 

shall be cost reports ending in calendar year 2011. The 

department shall rebase prices in fiscal year 2018 and 

every three years thereafter using the most recent, reliable 

calendar year cost-settled cost reports for freestanding 

nursing facilities that have been completed as of September 

1. No adjustments will be made to the base year data for 

purposes of rate setting after that date. 

3. Each nursing facility's direct cost per day shall be 

neutralized by dividing the direct cost per day by the raw 

Medicaid facility case-mix that corresponds to the base 

year by facility. 

4. Costs per day shall be inflated to the midpoint of the 

fiscal year rate period using the moving average Virginia 

Nursing Home inflation index for the fourth quarter of 

each year (the midpoint of the fiscal year). Costs in the 

2011 base year shall be inflated from the midpoint of the 

cost report year to the midpoint of fiscal year 2012 by 

prorating fiscal year 2012 inflation and annual inflation 

after that. Annual inflation adjustments shall be based on 

the last available report prior to the beginning of the fiscal 

year and corrected for any revisions to prior year inflation. 

Effective July 1, 2015, through June 30, 2016, the inflation 

adjustment for nursing facility operating rates shall be 

0.0%. 

5. Prices will be established for the following peer groups 

described in this section using a combination of Medicare 

wage regions and Medicaid rural and bed size 

modifications based on similar costs. 

6. The following definitions shall apply to direct peer 

groups. The Northern Virginia peer group shall be defined 

as localities in the Washington DC-MD-VA MSA as 

published by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services (CMS) for skilled nursing facility rates. The Other 

MSA peer group includes localities in any MSA defined by 

CMS other than the Northern Virginia MSA and non-MSA 

designations. The Rural peer groups are non-MSA areas of 

the state divided into Northern Rural and Southern Rural 

peer groups based on drawing a line between the following 

points on the Commonwealth of Virginia map with the 

coordinates: 37.4203914 Latitude, 82.0201219 Longitude 

and 37.1223664 Latitude, 76.3457773 Longitude. Direct 

peer groups are: 

a. Northern Virginia,  

b. Other MSAs, 

c. Northern Rural, and 

d. Southern Rural. 

7. The following definitions shall apply to indirect peer 

groups. The indirect peer group for Northern Virginia is 

the same as the direct peer group for Northern Virginia. 

Rest of State peer groups shall be defined as any localities 

other than localities in the Northern Virginia peer group for 

nursing facilities with greater than 60 beds or 60 beds or 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title12/agency30/chapter90/section44/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title12/agency30/chapter90/section44/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title12/agency30/chapter90/section44/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title12/agency30/chapter90/section44/
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less. Rest of State - Greater than 60 Beds shall be further 

subdivided into Other MSA, Northern Rural and Southern 

Rural peer groups using the locality definitions for direct 

peer groups. Indirect peer groups are:  

a. Northern Virginia MSA, 

b. Rest of State - Greater than 60 Beds, 

c. Other MSAs, 

d. Northern Rural, and 

e. Southern Rural. 

Rest of State - 60 Beds or Less. 

8. Any changes to peer group assignment based on changes 

in bed size or MSA will be implemented for 

reimbursement purposes the July 1 following the effective 

date of the change. 

9. The direct and indirect price for each peer group shall be 

based on the following adjustment factors: 

a. Direct adjustment factor - 105.000% of the peer group 

day-weighted median neutralized and inflated cost per 

day for freestanding nursing facilities. 

b. Indirect adjustment factor - 100.735% of the peer 

group day-weighted median inflated cost per day for 

freestanding nursing facilities. 

10. Facilities with costs projected to the rate year below 

95% of the price shall have an adjusted price equal to the 

price minus the difference between the facility's cost and 

95% of the unadjusted price. Adjusted prices will be 

established at each rebasing. New facilities after the base 

year shall not have an adjusted price until the next 

rebasing.  

11. Individual claim payment for direct costs shall be based 

on each resident's Resource Utilization Group (RUG) 

during the service period times the facility direct price. 

12. Resource Utilization Group (RUG) is a resident 

classification system that groups nursing facility residents 

according to resource utilization and assigns weights 

related to the resource utilization for each classification. 

The department shall use RUGs to determine facility case-

mix for cost neutralization as defined in 12VAC30-90-306 

in determining the direct costs used in setting the price and 

for adjusting the claim payments for residents.  

a. The department shall neutralize direct costs per day in 

the base year using the most current RUG grouper 

applicable to the base year. 

b. The department shall utilize RUG-III, version 34 

groups and weights in fiscal years 2015 through 2017 for 

claim payments. 

c. Beginning in fiscal year 2018, the department shall 

implement RUG-IV, version 48 Medicaid groups and 

weights for claim payments. 

d. RUG-IV, version 48 weights used for claim payments 

will be normalized to RUG-III, version 34 weights as 

long as base year costs are neutralized by the RUG-III 34 

group. In that the weights are not the same under RUG-

IV as under RUG-III, normalization will ensure that total 

direct operating payments using the RUG-IV 48 weights 

will be the same as total direct operating payments using 

the RUG-III 34 grouper. 

B. Transition. The department shall transition to the price-

based methodology over a period of four years, blending the 

adjusted price-based rate with the facility-specific case-mix 

neutral cost-based rate calculated according to 12VAC30-90-

41 as if ceilings had been rebased for fiscal year 2015. The 

cost-based rates are calculated using the 2011 base year data, 

inflated to 2015 using the inflation methodology in 

12VAC30-90-41 and adjusted to state fiscal year 2015. In 

subsequent years of the transition, the cost-based rates shall 

be increased by inflation described in this section. 

1. Based on a four-year transition, the rate will be based on 

the following blend: 

a. Fiscal year 2015 - 25% of the adjusted price-based rate 

and 75% of the cost-based rate. 

b. Fiscal year 2016 - 50% of the adjusted price-based rate 

and 50% of the cost-based rate. 

c. Fiscal year 2017 - 75% of the adjusted price-based rate 

and 25% of the cost-based rate. 

d. Fiscal year 2018 - 100% of the adjusted price-based 

(fully implemented). 

2. During the first transition year for the period July 1, 

2014, through October 31, 2014, DMAS shall case-mix 

adjust each facility's direct cost component of the rates 

using the average facility case-mix from the two most 

recent finalized quarters (September and December 2013) 

instead of adjusting this component claim by claim. 

3. Cost-based rates to be used in the transition for facilities 

without cost data in the base year but placed in service 

prior to July 1, 2013, shall be determined based on the 

most recently settled cost data. If there is no settled cost 

report at the beginning of a fiscal year, then 100% of the 

price-based rate shall be used for that fiscal year. Facilities 

placed in service after June 30, 2013, shall be paid 100% 

of the price-based rate. 

4. Effective July 1, 2015, nursing facilities whose licensed 

bed capacity decreased by at least 30 beds after 2011 and 

whose occupancy increased from less than 70% in 2011 to 

more than 80% in 2013 shall be reimbursed the price-based 

operating rate rather than the transition operating rate. 

C. Prospective capital rates shall be calculated in the 

following manner: 

1. Fair rental value (FRV) per diem rates for the fiscal year 

shall be calculated for all freestanding nursing facilities 

based on the prior calendar year information aged to the 

fiscal year and using RS Means factors and rental rates 

corresponding to the fiscal year as prescribed in 12VAC30-
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90-36. There will be no separate calculation for beds 

subject to or not subject to transition. 

2. Nursing facilities that put into service a major 

renovation or new beds may request a mid-year fair rental 

value per diem rate change.  

a. A major renovation shall be defined as an increase in 

capital of $3,000 per bed. The nursing facility shall 

submit complete pro forma documentation at least 60 

days prior to the effective date, and the new rate shall be 

effective at the beginning of the month following the end 

of the 60 days. 

b. The provider shall submit final documentation within 

60 days of the new rate effective date, and the 

department shall review final documentation and modify 

the rate if necessary effective 90 days after the 

implementation of the new rate. No mid-year rate 

changes shall be made for an effective date after April 30 

of the fiscal year. 

3. These FRV changes shall also apply to specialized care 

facilities. 

4. The capital per diem rate for hospital-based nursing 

facilities shall be the last settled capital per diem. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4649; Filed September 26, 2016, 7:56 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 13. HOUSING 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

following regulation have been filed by the Department of 

Housing and Community Development. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-112. Enterprise Zone Grant 

Program Regulation. 

Contact Information: Jordan Snelling, Department of Housing 

and Community Development, 600 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7030, or email 

ezone@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (13VAC5-112)  

Tax Credit Qualification Form -- Existing Forms (EZ-6E); 

revised 2006.  

Job Grant Qualification Form (EZ-6J); revised 2006.  

Tax Credit Qualification Form -- New Form (EZ-6N); 

revised 2006.  

Investment Tax Credit Qualification Form (EZ-6I); revised 

2006.  

Application for 2005 Enterprise Designation Form (EZ-1); 

revised 2004.  

Joint Application Agreement Form (EZ-1-JA); revised 2004.  

Enterprise Zone Amendment Application (EZ-2); revised 

2005.  

Joint Amendment Application Agreement Form (EZ-2-JA); 

revised 2005.  

Job Creation Grant Application Form (EZ-JCG); revised 

2006.  

Real Property Investment Grant Application Form (EZ-

RPIG); revised 2006.  

Form EZ-3-AR; revised 2006.  

Application for Enterprise Designation Form, EZ-1 (rev. 

2/2015) 

Joint Application Agreement Form, EZ-1-JA, (rev. 2/2015) 

Enterprise Zone Amendment Application, EZ-2 (undated, 

filed 9/7/2016) 

Joint Amendment Application Agreement Form, EZ-2-JA 

(undated, filed 9/1/2016) 

Local Enterprise Zone Annual Report Form, EZ-3-AR (rev. 

5/2016), online form available at 

https://dmz1.dhcd.virginia.gov/camsportal/Login.aspx 

Form EZ-3-AR Business Activity Worksheet (rev. 5/2016) 

Job Creation Grant Application Form, EZ-JCG (rev. 

11/2015) 

Job Creation Grant Application Form, EZ-JCG-HUA (rev. 

11/2015) 

Real Property Investment Grant Application Form and 

Supplements, EZ-RPIG (rev. 11/2015) 

General Income Tax Credit Application for Existing Firms, 

EZ-6E (undated, filed 9/7/2016), online form available at 

https://dmz1.dhcd.virginia.gov/EZApplication/Application6E.

aspx 

General Income Tax Credit Application for New Firms, EZ-

6N (undated, filed 9/7/2016), online form available at 

https://dmz1.dhcd.virginia.gov/EZApplication/Application6N

.aspx 

Investment Tax Credit Qualification Form, EZ-6I (rev. 

1/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4890; Filed September 20, 2016, 12:53 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

mailto:ezone@dhcd.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42fdb004890~1&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42fdb004890~1&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=55aaa004890~2&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
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http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7b1c6004890~5&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
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http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28539004890~6&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
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TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Safety and Health Codes Board 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-85. Recording and 

Reporting Occupational Injuries and Illnesses (amending 

16VAC25-85-1904.39). 

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Holly Raney, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 

East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, or email 

holly.raney@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In a revised final rule, federal Occupational Safety & 

Health Administration (OSHA) made revisions to 29 CFR 

1904.39 to reportable work-related injuries and illness 

events. Specifically, every inpatient hospitalization 

resulting from a work-related incident required reporting 

within 24 hours of the hospitalization and each amputation 

and loss of an eye resulting from a work-related incident 

required reporting within 24 hours of the incident. Due to 

an inadvertent error, the timeframe in 16VAC25-85-

1904.39 for these required reports was established as eight 

hours in 2015. In this regulatory action, the Safety and 

Health Codes Board is establishing the reporting 

timeframe as within 24 hours of the hospitalization or the 

incident to conform to the federal rule. 

Note on Incorporation by Reference: Pursuant to § 2.2-4103 

of the Code of Virginia, 29 CFR Part 1904 (Recording and 

Reporting Occupational Injuries and Illnesses) is declared a 

document generally available to the public and appropriate 

for incorporation by reference. For this reason this document 

will not be printed in the Virginia Register of Regulations. A 

copy of the document is available for inspection at the 

Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street Centre, 

600 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, and in the 

office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly 

Building, 201 North 9th Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Statement of Final Agency Action: On September 13, 2016, 

the Safety and Health Codes Board adopted federal OSHA's 

revised final rule for 29 CFR 1904.39, Reporting fatalities, 

hospitalizations, amputations, and losses of an eye as a result 

of work-related incidents to OSHA, as published in 79 FR 

56187 and 79 FR 56188 on September 18, 2014, with an 

effective date of December 1, 2016. 

Federal Terms and State Equivalents: When the regulations as 

set forth in the amendment to 29 CFR 1904.39, Reporting 

fatalities, hospitalizations, amputations, and losses of an eye 

as a result of work-related incidents to OSHA, are applied to 

the Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry 

or to Virginia employers, the following federal terms shall be 

considered to read as follows: 

Federal Terms VOSH Equivalent 

29 CFR VOSH Standard 

Assistant Secretary Commissioner of Labor and 

Industry 

Area Office Regional Office  

Agency Department 

January 1, 2015 December 1, 2016 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4907; Filed September 21, 2016, 12:07 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Safety and Health Codes Board 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-85. Recording and 

Reporting Occupational Injuries and Illnesses (amending 

16VAC85-1904.35, 16VAC85-1904.36, 16VAC85-1904.41; 

add Appendix A to Subpart E of Part 1904). 

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates:  

December 1, 2016, for 16VAC85-1904.35 and 16VAC85-

1904.36. 

January 1, 2017, for 16VAC85-1904.41 and Appendix A to 

Subpart E of Part 1904.  

Agency Contact: Regina P. Cobb, Agency Management 

Analyst Senior, Department of Labor and Industry, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-0610, FAX (804) 786-8418, or email 

regina.cobb@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In a final rule, federal Occupational and Safety Health 

Administration (OSHA) revised its Recording and 
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Reporting Occupational Injuries and Illnesses to require 

employers in certain industries to submit electronically to 

OSHA injury and illness data that employers are already 

required to keep under existing OSHA regulations. The 

frequency and content of the establishment-specific 

submissions is dependent on the size and industry of the 

employer. OSHA intends to post the data from these 

submissions on its secure, publicly accessible website and 

to remove personally identifiable information before the 

data is released to the public. OSHA is phasing in 

implementation of the data collection system from July 1, 

2017, through March 2, 2019.  

The final rule also (i) mandates that an employer inform its 

employees of the employees' right to report work-related 

injuries and illnesses to the employer free from retaliation, 

(ii) clarifies that the employer's procedure for reporting 

work-related injuries and illnesses must be reasonable and 

not deter or discourage employees from reporting, and (iii) 

incorporates explicitly the existing statutory prohibition on 

retaliating against an employee for reporting work-related 

injuries or illnesses. 

In this regulatory action, the board is adopting the 

revisions to this final rule. The board also is adopting 

OSHA's compliance schedule to implement the data 

collection system.  

Note on Incorporation by Reference: Pursuant to § 2.2-4103 

of the Code of Virginia, 29 CFR Part 1904 (Recording and 

Reporting Occupational Injuries and Illnesses) is declared a 

document generally available to the public and appropriate 

for incorporation by reference. For this reason this document 

will not be printed in the Virginia Register of Regulations. A 

copy of the document is available for inspection at the 

Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 

East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, and in the 

office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly 

Building, 201 North 9th Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Statement of Final Agency Action: On September 13, 2016, 

the Safety and Health Codes Board adopted federal OSHA's 

amendments to Recording and Reporting Occupational 

Injuries and Illnesses, as published in 81 FR 29691 through 

81 FR 29694 on May 12, 2016, and the correction to 29 CFR 

1904.35(b)(2) published in 81 FR 31854 and 81 FR 31855 on 

May 20, 2016, with an effective date of December 1, 2016, 

for 16VAC85-1904.35 and 16VAC85-1904.36 and January 1, 

2017, for 16VAC85-1904.41.  

Federal Terms and State Equivalents: When the regulations as 

set forth in the revised final rule for Recording and Reporting 

Occupational Injuries and Illnesses is applied to the 

Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry or to 

Virginia employers, the following federal terms shall be 

considered to read as follows: 

Federal Terms VOSH Equivalent 

29 CFR VOSH Standard 

Assistant Secretary Commissioner of Labor and 

Industry 

Agency Department 

Effective Dates: 

29 CFR 1904.35 - November 1, 

2016  

29 CFR 1904.36 - August 10, 

2016  

29 CFR 1904.41 - January 1, 

2017  

Effective Dates: 

16VAC85-1904.35 - December 1, 

2016 

16VAC85-1904.36 - December 1, 

2016 

16VAC85-1904.41 - January 1, 

2017  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4910; Filed September 21, 2016, 12:05 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Safety and Health Codes Board 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 16VAC25-90. Federal Identical 

General Industry Standards (amending 16VAC25-90-

1910.1000, 16VAC25-90-1910.1053). 

16VAC25-100. Federal Identical Shipyard Employment 

Standards (amending 16VAC25-100-1915.1000, 

16VAC25-100-1915.1053). 

16VAC25-175. Federal Identical Construction Industry 

Standards (amending 16VAC25-175-1926.55, 16VAC25-

175-1926.1153). 

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: John J. Crisanti, Policy and Planning 

Manager, Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street 

Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-4300, FAX (804) 786-8418, or email 

john.crisanti@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In a final rule, federal Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration (OSHA) revised its existing standards for 

occupational exposure to respirable crystalline silica. The 

final rule establishes a new permissible exposure limit of 

50 micrograms of respirable crystalline silica per cubic 

meter of air (50 µg/m3) as an eight-hour time-weighted 

average in all industries covered by the rule, with the 

exception of agricultural operations covered under 29 

CFR Part 1928. The final rule also includes other 

provisions to protect employees, such as requirements for 

exposure assessment, methods for controlling exposure, 

respiratory protection, medical surveillance, hazard 
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communication, and recordkeeping. OSHA has issued a 

silica standard for general industry and maritime and a 

separate silica standard for construction to tailor 

requirements to the circumstances found in these sectors. 

In this regulatory action, the board is adopting the final 

rule. 

Note on Incorporation by Reference: Pursuant to § 2.2-4103 

of the Code of Virginia, 29 CFR Part 1910 (Occupational 

Safety and Health Standards), 29 CFR 1915 (Shipyard 

Employment Standards), and 29 CFR Part 1926 (Construction 

Industry Standards) are declared documents generally 

available to the public and appropriate for incorporation by 

reference. For this reason these documents will not be printed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations. A copy of each 

document is available for inspection at the Department of 

Labor and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main 

Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, and in the office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 

North 9th Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Statement of Final Agency Action: On September 13, 2016, 

the Safety and Health Codes Board adopted federal OSHA's 

Final Rule on the Occupational Exposure to Respirable 

Crystalline Silica, as published in 81 FR 16861 through 81 

FR 16890 on March 25, 2016, with an effective date of June 

23, 2016.  

Federal Terms and State Equivalents: When the regulations as 

set forth in the revised final rule for Occupational Safety and 

Health Standards, Shipyard Employment Standards, and 

Construction Industry Standards are applied to the 

Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry or to 

Virginia employers, the following federal terms shall be 

considered to read as follows: 

Federal Terms VOSH Equivalent 

29 CFR VOSH Standard 

Assistant Secretary Commissioner of Labor and 

Industry 

Agency Department 

June 23, 2016 

Startup dates for specific 

provisions are set in 

§ 1910.1053(l) for general 

industry and maritime and 

in § 1926.1153(k) for 

construction. 

December 1, 2016  

Startup dates for specific 

provisions are set in 

16VAC25-90-1910.1053(l) 

for general industry and 

maritime and in 16VAC25-

175-1926.1153(k) for 

construction. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4904; Filed September 20, 2016, 11:03 a.m.  

 

 

 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Safety and Health Codes Board 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 16VAC25-90. Federal Identical 

General Industry Standards (amend 16VAC25-90-1910.6, 

16VAC25-90-1910.133). 

16VAC25-100. Federal Identical Shipyard Employment 

Standards (amend 16VAC25-100-1915.5, 16VAC25-100-

1915.153). 

16VAC25-120. Federal Identical Marine Terminals 

Standards (amend 16VAC25-120-1917.3, 16VAC25-120-

1917.91). 

16VAC25-130. Federal Identical Longshoring Standards 

for Hazard Communications (amend 16VAC25-130-

1918.3, 16VAC25-130-1918.101). 

16VAC25-175. Federal Identical Construction Industry 

Standards (amend 16VAC25-175-1926.6, 16VAC25-175-

1926.102). 

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2016.  

Agency Contact: John J. Crisanti, Policy and Planning 

Manager, Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street 

Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-4300, FAX (804) 786-8418, or email 

john.crisanti@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In a final rule, federal Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration (OSHA) updated eye and face protection 

requirements in OSHA's general industry, shipyard 

employment, marine terminals, and longshoring standards 

by incorporating the 2010 ANSI/International Safety 

Equipment Association (ANSI) standard on occupational 

and educational eye and face protection devices (ANSI 

Z87.1-2010) to replace the 1989 version of the standard. 

Two other prior versions of this consensus standard, ANSI 

Z87.1-2003 and ANSI Z87.1-1989 (R-1998), were also 

incorporated as an alternative means of compliance with 

OSHA's eye and face protection requirements. OSHA also 

updated the construction industry standard by 

incorporating ANSI Z87.1-2010, ANSI Z87.1-2003, and 

ANSI Z87.1-1989 (R-1998) to replace the 1968 version of 

the standard. In addition, OSHA modified certain existing 

language to make it nearly identical to the general industry 

standard's eye and face protection provisions and retained 
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provisions unique to the construction standard that are not 

covered in the incorporated ANSI standards.  

In this regulatory action, the board is adopting this final 

rule. 

Note on Incorporation by Reference: Pursuant to § 2.2-4103 

of the Code of Virginia, 29 CFR Part 1910 (Occupational 

Safety and Health Standards), 29 CFR 1915 (Shipyard 

Employment Standards), 29 CFR 1917 (Marine Terminals 

Standards), 29 CFR 1918 (Safety and Health Regulations for 

Longshoring), and 29 CFR Part 1926 (Construction Industry 

Standards) are declared documents generally available to the 

public and appropriate for incorporation by reference. For this 

reason these documents will not be printed in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. A copy of each document is 

available for inspection at the Department of Labor and 

Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219, and in the office of the Registrar 

of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Statement of Final Agency Action: On September 13, 2016, 

the Safety and Health Codes Board adopted federal OSHA's 

Final Rule Updating OSHA Standards Based on National 

Consensus Standards; Eye and Face Protection for CFR Parts 

1910, 1915, 1917, 1918, and 1926, as published in 81 FR 

16090 through 81 FR 16093 on March 25, 2016, with an 

effective date of December 1, 2016.  

Federal Terms and State Equivalents: When the regulations as 

set forth in the revised final rule for Occupational Safety and 

Health Standards; Shipyard Employment Standards; Marine 

Terminals Standards; Safety and Health Regulations for 

Longshoring; and Construction Industry Standards are 

applied to the Commissioner of the Department of Labor and 

Industry or to Virginia employers, the following federal terms 

shall be considered to read as follows: 

Federal Terms VOSH Equivalent 

29 CFR VOSH Standard 

Assistant Secretary Commissioner of Labor and 

Industry 

Agency Department 

April 25, 2016 December 1, 2016 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4902; Filed September 20, 2016, 10:46 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 17. LIBRARIES AND CULTURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF HISTORIC RESOURCES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 17VAC10-20. Evaluation Criteria and 

Procedures for Nominations of Property to the National 

Register or for Designation as a National Historic 

Landmark (amending 17VAC10-20-130, 17VAC10-20-

140, 17VAC10-20-150, 17VAC10-20-200).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-2202 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 17, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Pullen, Executive Assistant, 

Department of Historic Resources, 2801 Kensington Avenue, 

Richmond, VA 23221, telephone (804) 482-6085, or email 

jennifer.pullen@dhr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments address the process of owner objection to 

designation of properties by the State Review Board for 

inclusion in the National Register of Historic Places or 

designation as a National Historic Landmark. The 

amendments (i) clarify that written notification of the 

nomination and written notification of the public hearing 

will be sent to property owners listed within 90 days prior 

to the notification in official land recordation records or 

tax records; (ii) require property owners to submit their 

formal objections seven business days prior to the board 

meeting; (iii) require that the objection letter, in addition 

to being notarized, be attested and reference the property 

by address or parcel number, or both; and (iv) require that 

an objecting party who was not listed on the official land 

recordation records or tax records submit a copy of the 

recorded deed evidencing transfer of ownership with the 

attested and notarized statement to be counted by the 

director as a property owner.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Part IV  

Public Notice and Public Hearings  

17VAC10-20-130. Written notice of proposed 

nominations.  

In any county, city, or town where the director proposes to 

nominate property to the National Park Service for inclusion 

in the National Register of Historic Places or for designation 

as a National Historic Landmark, the department shall give 

written notice of the proposal to the governing body and to 

the owner, owners, or the owner's agent of (i) property 

proposed to be nominated as a historic landmark building, 

structure, object, or site, or to be included in a historic 

district, and to the owners, or their agents, of (ii) all abutting 

property and property immediately across the street or road or 

across any railroad or waterway less than 300 feet wide. The 
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list of such owners shall be obtained from either the official 

land recordation records or tax records, whichever is more 

appropriate, within 90 days prior to the notification of the 

proposal. The department shall send this written notice at 

least 30 but not more than 75 days before the State Review 

Board meeting at which the nomination will be considered.  

17VAC10-20-140. Public hearing for historic district; 

notice of hearing.  

A. Prior to the nomination of a historic district, the 

department shall hold a public hearing at the seat of 

government of the county, city, or town in which the 

proposed historic district is located or within the proposed 

historic district. The public hearing shall be for the purpose of 

supplying additional information to the director. The time and 

place of such hearing shall be determined in consultation with 

a duly authorized representative of the local governing body, 

and shall be scheduled at a time and place that will reasonably 

allow for the attendance of the affected property owners.  

B. The department shall publish notice of the public hearing 

once a week for two successive weeks in a newspaper 

published or having general circulation in the county, city, or 

town. Such notice shall specify the time and place of the 

public hearing at which persons affected may appear and 

present their views, not less than six days or more than 21 

days after the second publication of the notice in such 

newspaper.  

C. In addition to publishing the notice, the department shall 

give written notice of the public hearing at least five days 

before such hearing to the owner, owners, or the owner's 

agent of (i) each parcel of real property to be included in the 

proposed historic district, and to the owners, or their agents, 

of (ii) all abutting property, and property immediately across 

the street or road, or across any railroad or waterway less than 

300 feet wide pursuant to 17VAC10-20-130. Notice required 

to be given to owners by this section may be given 

concurrently with the notice required to be given to the 

owners by 17VAC10-20-130. A complete copy of the 

nomination report and a map of the historic district showing 

the boundaries shall be sent to the local jurisdiction for public 

inspection at the time of notice. The notice shall include a 

synopsis of why the district is significant.  

D. The department shall make and maintain an appropriate 

record of all public hearings held pursuant to this section.  

17VAC10-20-150. Mailings and affidavits; concurrent 

state and federal notice.  

The department shall send the required notices by first class 

mail to the last known address of each person entitled to 

notice, as shown on the current real estate tax assessment 

books pursuant to 17VAC10-20-130. A representative of the 

department shall make an affidavit that the required mailings 

have been made. In the case where property is also proposed 

for inclusion in the Virginia Landmarks Register pursuant to 

designation by the Virginia Board of Historic Resources, the 

department may provide concurrent notice of the proposed 

state designation and the proposed nomination to the National 

Register.  

17VAC10-20-200. Owner objections.  

A. Upon receiving the notification required by 17VAC10-

20-130, the owners of property proposed for nomination shall 

have the opportunity to concur in or object to the nomination.  

B. Any owner or owners of a private property who wish to 

object shall submit to the director a written, attested, and 

notarized statement certifying of objection. The statement of 

objection shall (i) reference the subject property by address or 

parcel number, or both; (ii) certify that the objecting party is 

the sole or partial owner of the private property, as 

appropriate,; and (iii) certify that the objecting party objects 

to the listing. The statement of objection must be received by 

the director at least seven business days prior to the meeting 

of the State Review Board at which the property is considered 

for nomination  

C. If an owner objecting party whose name did not appear 

on the current real estate tax assessment list official land 

recordation records or tax records used by the director 

pursuant to 17VAC10-20-150 certifies in a written, attested, 

and notarized statement that the party is the sole or partial 

owner of a nominated private property, such owner shall be 

counted by the director in determining whether a majority of 

the owners has objected. The statement of objection must be 

received by the director at least seven business days prior to 

the meeting of the State Review Board at which the property 

is considered for nomination.  

D. If (i) the owner of a private property, or (ii) the majority 

of the owners of a single private property with multiple 

owners, or (iii) the majority of the owners in a district, have 

has objected to the nomination prior to the submittal of a 

nomination, the director shall submit the nomination to the 

keeper only for a determination of eligibility for the National 

Register. In accordance with the National Historic 

Preservation Act, the keeper shall determine whether the 

property meets the National Register criteria for evaluation, 

but shall not add the property to the National Register.  

E. Each owner of private property in a district has one vote 

regardless of how many properties or what part of one 

property that party owns and regardless of whether the 

property contributes to the significance of the district.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4260; Filed September 26, 2016, 11:59 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Dentistry is claiming 

an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 

agency discretion is involved. The Board of Dentistry will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry (amending 18VAC60-21-430).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.-2400 and 54.1-2708.3 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 16, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 

email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments exempt certain types of clinics (i) 

operated by federally qualified health centers, (ii) operated 

by free health clinics or health safety net clinics, and (iii) 

providing dental services via mobile model from the 

requirements for registration as a mobile dental clinic or 

portable dental operation. The amendments conform the 

regulation to changes to § 54.1-2708.3 of the Code of 

Virginia enacted by Chapter 78 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly. 

18VAC60-21-430. Exemptions from requirement for 

registration. 

The following shall be exempt from requirements for 

registration as a mobile dental clinic or portable dental 

operation: 

1. All federal, state, or local governmental agencies; and 

2. Dental treatment that is provided without charge to 

patients or to any third party payer; 

3. Clinics operated by federally qualified health centers 

with a dental component that provide dental services via 

mobile model to adults and children within 30 miles of the 

federally qualified health center;  

4. Clinics operated by free health clinics or health safety 

net clinics that have been granted tax-exempt status 

pursuant to § 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code that 

provide dental services via mobile model to adults and 

children within 30 miles of the free health clinic or health 

safety net clinic; and  

5. Clinics that provide dental services via mobile model to 

individuals who are not ambulatory and who reside in 

long-term care facilities, assisted living facilities, adult 

care homes, or private homes. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4841; Filed September 27, 2016, 7:58 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Dentistry is claiming 

an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 

agency discretion is involved. The Board of Dentistry will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry (amending 18VAC60-21-10, 

18VAC60-21-110, 18VAC60-21-140). 

18VAC60-25. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Dental Hygiene (amending 18VAC60-25-10, 18VAC60-25-

60, 18VAC60-25-110).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 16, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 

email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform to Chapter 497 of the 2016 Acts 

of Assembly, which authorizes dental hygienists to 

practice, with certain requirements and restrictions, under 

the remote supervision of a licensed dentist. The 

amendments add a definition of remote supervision by 

dentists of dental hygienists, establish a limitation on 

employment of dental hygienists under remote supervision, 

address the delegation of duties under such supervision, 

and require documentation of remote supervision in the 

patient's record.  

Part I 

General Provisions 

18VAC60-21-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2700 of 

the Code of Virginia:  

"Board"  

"Dental hygiene" 

"Dental hygienist" 

"Dentist" 

"Dentistry" 

"License" 

"Maxillofacial" 
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"Oral and maxillofacial surgeon" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"AAOMS" means the American Association of Oral and 

Maxillofacial Surgeons.  

"ADA" means the American Dental Association. 

"Advertising" means a representation or other notice given 

to the public or members thereof, directly or indirectly, by 

a dentist on behalf of himself, his facility, his partner or 

associate, or any dentist affiliated with the dentist or his 

facility by any means or method for the purpose of 

inducing purchase, sale, or use of dental methods, services, 

treatments, operations, procedures, or products, or to 

promote continued or increased use of such dental 

methods, treatments, operations, procedures, or products. 

"CODA" means the Commission on Dental Accreditation 

of the American Dental Association. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia. 

"Dental assistant I" means any unlicensed person under the 

direction of a dentist or a dental hygienist who renders 

assistance for services provided to the patient as authorized 

under this chapter but shall not include an individual 

serving in purely an administrative, secretarial, or clerical 

capacity. 

"Dental assistant II" means a person under the direction 

and direct supervision of a dentist who is registered by the 

board to perform reversible, intraoral procedures as 

specified in 18VAC60-21-150 and 18VAC60-21-160.  

"Mobile dental facility" means a self-contained unit in 

which dentistry is practiced that is not confined to a single 

building and can be transported from one location to 

another. 

"Nonsurgical laser" means a laser that is not capable of 

cutting or removing hard tissue, soft tissue, or tooth 

structure. 

"Portable dental operation" means a nonfacility in which 

dental equipment used in the practice of dentistry is 

transported to and utilized on a temporary basis at an out-

of-office location, including patients' homes, schools, 

nursing homes, or other institutions. 

"Radiographs" means intraoral and extraoral radiographic 

images of hard and soft tissues used for purposes of 

diagnosis.  

C. The following words and terms relating to supervision as 

used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Direct supervision" means that the dentist examines the 

patient and records diagnostic findings prior to delegating 

restorative or prosthetic treatment and related services to a 

dental assistant II for completion the same day or at a later 

date. The dentist prepares the tooth or teeth to be restored 

and remains immediately available in the office to the 

dental assistant II for guidance or assistance during the 

delivery of treatment and related services. The dentist 

examines the patient to evaluate the treatment and services 

before the patient is dismissed.  

"Direction" means the level of supervision (i.e., immediate, 

direct, indirect, or general) that a dentist is required to 

exercise with a dental hygienist, a dental assistant I, or a 

dental assistant II or that a dental hygienist is required to 

exercise with a dental assistant to direct and oversee the 

delivery of treatment and related services. 

"General supervision" means that a dentist completes a 

periodic comprehensive examination of the patient and 

issues a written order for hygiene treatment that states the 

specific services to be provided by a dental hygienist 

during one or more subsequent appointments when the 

dentist may or may not be present. Issuance of the order 

authorizes the dental hygienist to supervise a dental 

assistant performing duties delegable to dental assistants I. 

"Immediate supervision" means the dentist is in the 

operatory to supervise the administration of sedation or 

provision of treatment. 

"Indirect supervision" means the dentist examines the 

patient at some point during the appointment and is 

continuously present in the office to advise and assist a 

dental hygienist or a dental assistant who is (i) delivering 

hygiene treatment, (ii) preparing the patient for 

examination or treatment by the dentist, or (iii) preparing 

the patient for dismissal following treatment. 

"Remote supervision" means that a dentist is accessible 

and available for communication and consultation with a 

dental hygienist employed by such dentist during the 

delivery of dental hygiene services but such dentist may 

not have conducted an initial examination of the patients 

who are to be seen and treated by the dental hygienist and 

may not be present with the dental hygienist when dental 

hygiene services are being provided. For the purpose of 

practice by a public health dental hygienist, "remote 

supervision" means that a public health dentist has regular, 

periodic communications with a public health dental 

hygienist regarding patient treatment, but such dentist may 

not have conducted an initial examination of the patients 

who are to be seen and treated by the dental hygienist and 

may not be present with the dental hygienist when dental 

hygiene services are being provided. 

D. The following words and terms relating to sedation or 

anesthesia as used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Conscious/moderate sedation" or "moderate sedation" 

means a drug-induced depression of consciousness, during 

which patients respond purposefully to verbal commands, 

either alone or accompanied by light tactile stimulation. 

Reflex withdrawal from a painful stimulus is not 

considered a purposeful response. No interventions are 
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required to maintain a patent airway, and spontaneous 

ventilation is adequate. Cardiovascular function is usually 

maintained. 

"Deep sedation" means a drug-induced depression of 

consciousness during which patients cannot be easily 

aroused but respond purposefully following repeated or 

painful stimulation. Reflex withdrawal from a painful 

stimulus is not considered a purposeful response. The 

ability to independently maintain ventilatory function may 

be impaired. Patients may require assistance in maintaining 

a patent airway, and spontaneous ventilation may be 

inadequate. Cardiovascular function is usually maintained. 

"Enteral" means any technique of administration in which 

the agent is absorbed through the gastrointestinal tract or 

oral mucosa (i.e., oral, rectal, sublingual). 

"General anesthesia" means a drug-induced loss of 

consciousness during which patients are not arousable, 

even by painful stimulation. The ability to independently 

maintain ventilator function is often impaired. Patients 

often require assistance in maintaining a patent airway, and 

positive pressure ventilation may be required because of 

depressed spontaneous ventilation or drug-induced 

depression of neuromuscular function. Cardiovascular 

function may be impaired.  

"Inhalation" means a technique of administration in which 

a gaseous or volatile agent, including nitrous oxide, is 

introduced into the pulmonary tree and whose primary 

effect is due to absorption through the pulmonary bed. 

"Local anesthesia" means the elimination of sensation, 

especially pain, in one part of the body by the topical 

application or regional injection of a drug. 

"Minimal sedation" means a drug-induced state during 

which patients respond normally to verbal commands. 

Although cognitive function and physical coordination 

may be impaired, airway reflexes, and ventilator and 

cardiovascular functions are unaffected. Minimal sedation 

includes "anxiolysis" (the diminution or elimination of 

anxiety through the use of pharmacological agents in a 

dosage that does not cause depression of consciousness) 

and includes "inhalation analgesia" (the inhalation of 

nitrous oxide and oxygen to produce a state of reduced 

sensibility to pain without the loss of consciousness).  

"Moderate sedation" (see the definition of 

conscious/moderate sedation). 

"Monitoring" means to observe, interpret, assess, and 

record appropriate physiologic functions of the body 

during sedative procedures and general anesthesia 

appropriate to the level of sedation as provided in Part VI 

(18VAC60-21-260 et seq.) of this chapter.  

"Parenteral" means a technique of administration in which 

the drug bypasses the gastrointestinal tract (i.e., 

intramuscular, intravenous, intranasal, submucosal, 

subcutaneous, or intraocular).  

"Titration" means the incremental increase in drug dosage 

to a level that provides the optimal therapeutic effect of 

sedation. 

"Topical oral anesthetic" means any drug, available in 

creams, ointments, aerosols, sprays, lotions, or jellies, that 

can be used orally for the purpose of rendering the oral 

cavity insensitive to pain without affecting consciousness. 

Part III 

Direction and Delegation of Duties 

18VAC60-21-110. Utilization of dental hygienists and 

dental assistants II. 

A. A dentist may utilize up to a total of four dental 

hygienists or dental assistants II in any combination 

practicing under direction at one and the same time. In 

addition, a dentist may permit through issuance of written 

orders for services, additional dental hygienists to practice 

under general supervision in a free clinic or a public health 

program, or on a voluntary basis. 

B. In accordance with § 54.1-2724 of the Code of Virginia, 

no dentist shall employ more than two dental hygienists who 

practice under remote supervision at one time. 

18VAC60-21-140. Delegation to dental hygienists. 

A. The following duties shall only be delegated to dental 

hygienists under direction and may only be performed under 

indirect supervision:  

1. Scaling, root planing, or gingival curettage of natural 

and restored teeth using hand instruments, slow-speed 

rotary instruments, ultrasonic devices, and nonsurgical 

lasers, with any sedation or anesthesia administered.  

2. Performing an initial examination of teeth and 

surrounding tissues including the charting of carious 

lesions, periodontal pockets, or other abnormal conditions 

for assisting the dentist in the diagnosis.  

3. Administering nitrous oxide or local anesthesia by 

dental hygienists qualified in accordance with the 

requirements of 18VAC60-25-100. 

B. The following duties shall only be delegated to dental 

hygienists and may be performed under indirect supervision 

or may be delegated by written order in accordance with 

§§ 54.1-2722 D and 54.1-3408 J of the Code to be performed 

under general supervision:  

1. Scaling, root planing, or gingival curettage of natural 

and restored teeth using hand instruments, slow-speed 

rotary instruments, ultrasonic devices, and nonsurgical 

lasers with or without topical oral anesthetics.  

2. Polishing of natural and restored teeth using air 

polishers.  

3. Performing a clinical examination of teeth and 

surrounding tissues including the charting of carious 

lesions, periodontal pockets, or other abnormal conditions 

for further evaluation and diagnosis by the dentist.  
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4. Subgingival irrigation or subgingival application of 

topical Schedule VI medicinal agents pursuant to § 54.1-

3408 J of the Code.  

5. Duties appropriate to the education and experience of 

the dental hygienist and the practice of the supervising 

dentist, with the exception of those listed as nondelegable 

in 18VAC60-21-130, those restricted to indirect 

supervision in subsection A of this section, and those 

restricted to delegation to dental assistants II in 18VAC60-

21-150. 

C. Delegation of duties to a dental hygienist practicing under 

remote supervision shall be in accordance with provisions of 

§ 54.1-2722 F of the Code. However, delegation of duties to a 

public health dental hygienist practicing under remote 

supervision shall be in accordance with provisions of § 54.1-

2722 E.  

Part I 

General Provisions 

18VAC60-25-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2700 of 

the Code of Virginia:  

"Board" 

"Dental hygiene" 

"Dental hygienist" 

"Dentist" 

"Dentistry" 

"License" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Active practice" means clinical practice as a dental 

hygienist for at least 600 hours per year. 

"ADA" means the American Dental Association.  

"Analgesia" means the diminution or elimination of pain in 

the conscious patient.  

"CDAC" means the Commission on Dental Accreditation of 

Canada. 

"CODA" means the Commission on Dental Accreditation of 

the American Dental Association. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia. 

"Dental assistant I" means any unlicensed person under the 

direction of a dentist or a dental hygienist who renders 

assistance for services provided to the patient as authorized 

under this chapter but shall not include an individual serving 

in purely an administrative, secretarial, or clerical capacity.  

"Dental assistant II" means a person under the direction and 

direct supervision of a dentist who is registered to perform 

reversible, intraoral procedures as specified in 18VAC60-21-

150 and 18VAC60-21-160.  

"Direction" means the level of supervision (i.e., direct, 

indirect, or general) that a dentist is required to exercise with 

a dental hygienist or that a dental hygienist is required to 

exercise with a dental assistant to direct and oversee the 

delivery of treatment and related services. 

"General supervision" means that a dentist completes a 

periodic comprehensive examination of the patient and issues 

a written order for hygiene treatment that states the specific 

services to be provided by a dental hygienist during one or 

more subsequent appointments when the dentist may or may 

not be present. Issuance of the order authorizes the dental 

hygienist to supervise a dental assistant performing duties 

delegable to dental assistants I. 

"Indirect supervision" means the dentist examines the 

patient at some point during the appointment and is 

continuously present in the office to advise and assist a dental 

hygienist or a dental assistant who is (i) delivering hygiene 

treatment, (ii) preparing the patient for examination or 

treatment by the dentist, or (iii) preparing the patient for 

dismissal following treatment. 

"Inhalation" means a technique of administration in which a 

gaseous or volatile agent, including nitrous oxide, is 

introduced into the pulmonary tree and whose primary effect 

is due to absorption through the pulmonary bed.  

"Inhalation analgesia" means the inhalation of nitrous oxide 

and oxygen to produce a state of reduced sensibility to pain 

without the loss of consciousness.  

"Local anesthesia" means the elimination of sensation, 

especially pain, in one part of the body by the topical 

application or regional injection of a drug. 

"Monitoring" means to observe, interpret, assess, and record 

appropriate physiologic functions of the body during sedative 

procedures and general anesthesia appropriate to the level of 

sedation as provided in Part VI (18VAC60-21-260 et seq.) of 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry. 

"Nonsurgical laser" means a laser that is not capable of 

cutting or removing hard tissue, soft tissue, or tooth structure.  

"Parenteral" means a technique of administration in which 

the drug bypasses the gastrointestinal tract (i.e., 

intramuscular, intravenous, intranasal, submucosal, 

subcutaneous, or intraocular). 

"Remote supervision" means that a dentist is accessible and 

available for communication and consultation with a dental 

hygienist employed by such dentist during the delivery of 

dental hygiene services but such dentist may not have 

conducted an initial examination of the patients who are to be 

seen and treated by the dental hygienist and may not be 

present with the dental hygienist when dental hygiene 

services are being provided. For the purpose of practice by a 

public health dental hygienist, "remote supervision" means 

that a public health dentist has regular, periodic 

communications with a public health dental hygienist 

regarding patient treatment, but such dentist may not have 
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conducted an initial examination of the patients who are to be 

seen and treated by the dental hygienist and may not be 

present with the dental hygienist when dental hygiene 

services are being provided. 

"Topical oral anesthetic" means any drug, available in 

creams, ointments, aerosols, sprays, lotions, or jellies, that 

can be used orally for the purpose of rendering the oral cavity 

insensitive to pain without affecting consciousness. 

18VAC60-25-60. Delegation of services to a dental 

hygienist. 

A. In all instances and on the basis of his diagnosis, a 

licensed dentist assumes ultimate responsibility for 

determining with the patient or his representative the specific 

treatment the patient will receive, which aspects of treatment 

will be delegated to qualified personnel, and the direction 

required for such treatment, in accordance with this chapter, 

Part III (18VAC60-21-110 et seq.) of the Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Dentistry, and the Code.  

B. Dental hygienists shall engage in their respective duties 

only while in the employment of a licensed dentist or 

governmental agency or when volunteering services as 

provided in 18VAC60-25-50.  

C. Duties that are delegated to a dental hygienist under 

general supervision shall only be performed if the following 

requirements are met:  

1. The treatment to be provided shall be ordered by a 

dentist licensed in Virginia and shall be entered in writing 

in the record. The services noted on the original order shall 

be rendered within a specified time period, not to exceed 

10 months from the date the dentist last performed a 

periodic examination of the patient. Upon expiration of the 

order, the dentist shall have examined the patient before 

writing a new order for treatment under general 

supervision.  

2. The dental hygienist shall consent in writing to 

providing services under general supervision.  

3. The patient or a responsible adult shall be informed prior 

to the appointment that a dentist may not be present, that 

only topical oral anesthetics can be administered to manage 

pain, and that only those services prescribed by the dentist 

will be provided.  

4. Written basic emergency procedures shall be established 

and in place, and the hygienist shall be capable of 

implementing those procedures.  

D. An order for treatment under general supervision shall 

not preclude the use of another level of supervision when, in 

the professional judgment of the dentist, such level of 

supervision is necessary to meet the individual needs of the 

patient. 

E. Delegation of duties to a dental hygienist practicing under 

remote supervision shall be in accordance with provisions of 

§ 54.1-2722 F of the Code. However, delegation of duties to a 

public health dental hygienist practicing under remote 

supervision shall be in accordance with provisions of § 54.1-

2722 E.  

Part III 

Standards of Conduct 

18VAC60-25-110. Patient records; confidentiality. 

A. A dental hygienist shall be responsible for accurate and 

complete information in patient records for those services 

provided by a hygienist or a dental assistant under direction to 

include the following:  

1. Patient's name on each page in the patient record;  

2. A health history taken at the initial appointment, which 

is updated when local anesthesia or nitrous 

oxide/inhalation analgesia is to be administered and when 

medically indicated and at least annually; 

3. Options discussed and oral or written consent for any 

treatment rendered with the exception of prophylaxis;  

4. List of drugs administered and the route of 

administration, quantity, dose, and strength;  

5. Radiographs, digital images, and photographs clearly 

labeled with the patient's name, date taken, and teeth 

identified; 

6. A notation or documentation of an order required for 

treatment of a patient by a dental hygienist practicing 

under general supervision as required in 18VAC60-25-60 

C; and  

7. Notation of each treatment rendered, date of treatment, 

and the identity of the dentist and the dental hygienist 

providing service.  

B. A dental hygienist shall comply with the provisions of 

§ 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code related to the confidentiality and 

disclosure of patient records. A dental hygienist shall not 

willfully or negligently breach the confidentiality between a 

practitioner and a patient. A breach of confidentiality that is 

required or permitted by applicable law or beyond the control 

of the hygienist shall not be considered negligent or willful. 

C. A dental hygienist practicing under remote supervision 

shall document in the patient record that he has obtained (i) 

the patient's or the patient's legal representative's signature on 

a statement disclosing that the delivery of dental hygiene 

services under remote supervision is not a substitute for the 

need for regular dental examinations by a dentist and (ii) 

verbal or written permission of any dentist who has treated 

the patient in the previous 12 months and can be identified by 

the patient.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4680; Filed September 27, 2016, 7:57 a.m.  
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Health 

Professions is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 B 18 of the Code 

of Virginia, which exempts regulations for the 

implementation of the Health Practitioners' Intervention 

Program, Chapter 25.1 (§ 54.1-2515 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC76-10. Regulations Governing 

the Health Practitioners' Monitoring Program for the 

Department of Health Professions (amending 18VAC76-

10-20 through 18VAC76-10-50, 18VAC76-10-65, 

18VAC76-10-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2516 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 16, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Peggy Wood, Program Coordinator, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-

4418, FAX (804) 527-4475, or email 

peggy.wood@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments address (i) the organization of the Health 

Practitioners' Monitoring Program Committee and 

authority of its chairperson, (ii) the eligibility criteria for 

the program and for a stayed disciplinary action, and (iii) 

the participation contract. 

18VAC76-10-20. Organization of committee.  

A. Members shall be appointed for a term of four years and 

shall be eligible for reappointment for one additional four-

year term. A member who is appointed to fill a vacancy for 

the remainder of an unexpired term shall be eligible for two 

full four-year terms. Terms of appointment shall begin on 

July 1 of each calendar year.  

B. Members of the committee shall not be current members 

of a health regulatory board within the department.  

C. The committee shall schedule meetings as necessary to 

conduct its business. Four members shall constitute a quorum. 

The committee may adopt bylaws to govern its operations as 

it deems necessary to conduct its business and as consistent 

with law and regulations.  

D. Except in the event of an emergency, any member who is 

unable to attend a scheduled meeting shall give notice to the 

program coordinator as soon as practical but no later than 48 

hours prior to that scheduled meeting.  

E. The director shall have the authority to remove a member 

and shall report such removal to the Board of Health 

Professions at its next scheduled meeting. Failure of any 

member to attend two successive meetings without reasonable 

excuse or failure to give notice as required in subsection D of 

this section shall constitute grounds for removal.  

F. By December 31 of each calendar year, each D. Each 

health regulatory board within the department shall designate, 

in accordance with subdivision 8 of § 54.1-2400 (8) of the 

Code of Virginia, a liaison to the committee for a term of one 

year. Likewise, each board shall select an alternate to serve in 

the absence of the liaison.  

18VAC76-10-30. Eligibility.  

A. In order to become eligible for the program and to 

maintain eligibility, an impaired practitioner shall hold a 

current, active license, certification, a registration issued by a 

health regulatory board in Virginia or a multistate licensure 

privilege, with the exception that an applicant for initial 

licensure, certification, or registration or for reinstatement 

shall be eligible for participation for up to one year from the 

date of receipt of the application by a health regulatory board. 

B. Individuals who are practicing exclusively outside of 

Virginia shall not participate in the program, except as may 

be required by specific board order or by permission between 

party states pursuant to the Nurse Licensure Compact (Article 

6 (§ 54.1-3030 et seq.) of Chapter 30 of Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia). 

C. A practitioner who has been previously terminated for 

noncompliance from this or any other state-sponsored 

monitoring program may be considered eligible at the 

discretion of the committee or its designee. 

D. For the purposes of eligibility for the program, 

impairment shall not include kleptomania, pyromania, 

transvestism, transsexualism, pedophilia, exhibitionism, 

voyeurism, gender identity disorders not resulting from 

physical impairments, sexual behavioral disorders, 

homosexuality and bisexuality.  

E. D. The practitioner shall sign a participation contract with 

the committee. Failure to adhere to the terms of the contract 

may subject the practitioner to termination from the program.  

18VAC76-10-40. Eligibility for stayed disciplinary action.  

A. The committee or its designee shall consult with the 

board liaison for the purpose of determining whether 

disciplinary action shall be stayed. If an applicant for the 

program is not eligible for a stay and evidence of a violation 

has been reported to the committee, the committee shall make 

a report of the violation to the department. If found ineligible 

for stayed disciplinary action by the relevant board or the 

committee, the practitioner may remain eligible for 

participation in the program.  

B. Prior to making a decision on stayed disciplinary action, 

the committee or its designee shall review any applicable 

notices or orders and shall consult with the department 

relevant board on any pending investigations. The relevant 

board shall have final authority in the granting of a stay of 

disciplinary action. 

C. Disciplinary action may be initiated by the appropriate 

health regulatory board upon receipt of investigative 

information leading to a determination of probable cause that 
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impairment constitutes a danger to patients or clients or upon 

a determination that the decision for stayed disciplinary 

action is not consistent with provisions for a stay pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2516 C of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC76-10-50. Participation contract.  

A. The participation contract between the committee and the 

practitioner shall include:  

1. The monitoring plan to be followed by the practitioner;  

2. Any provisions for withdrawal from practice or 

limitations on the scope of practice;  

3. Consequences of failure to comply with the terms of the 

participation contract;  

4. Any releases for seeking information or records related 

to the impairment from family, peers, medical personnel or 

employers;  

5. A brief written history of the The nature of the 

impairment; and  

6. Any other terms or requirements as may be deemed 

necessary by the committee.  

B. The participation contract shall specify that costs 

accruing to the individual practitioner, including but not 

limited to treatment and body fluid screens, shall not be the 

responsibility of the program.  

18VAC76-10-65. Authority of the chairperson of the 

committee.  

A. The chairperson of the committee, following consultation 

with and briefing by the program coordinator, shall have the 

authority to act, including immediately vacating a stay, in 

cases where a program participant has been granted a stay or 

has been placed on probation, or both, by order of a health 

regulatory board and information has been received that a 

program participant no longer satisfies the conditions of § 

54.1-2516 C of the Code of Virginia. Further, the advise the 

relevant board that a participant is noncompliant and is no 

longer eligible for a stay. 

B. The chairperson may act on behalf of the committee 

when a scheduled meeting is canceled due to failure to 

convene a quorum.  

18VAC76-10-70. Procedures for consultation with liaisons 

of health regulatory boards.  

The committee or its designee shall consult with the liaison 

of the relevant health regulatory board prior to making a 

determination on stayed disciplinary action; such consultation 

may include the following:  

1. Eligibility of a practitioner for stayed disciplinary 

action;  

2. The implications of the impairment on practice in the 

profession;  

3. The circumstances of the impairment related to a 

possible violation of laws or regulation; or  

4. Any other issues related to disciplinary action or the 

eligibility, treatment, and recovery of a practitioner.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4760; Filed September 23, 2016, 10:20 a.m.  

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC105-11. Public Participation 

Guidelines (amending 18VAC105-11-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 54.1-2400 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: November 16, 2016. 

Effective Date: December 5, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4508, FAX (804) 

527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Board of Optometry is authorized under § 54.1-

2400 of the Code of Virginia to promulgate regulations that 

are reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the 

regulatory system. The action conforms the board's regulation 

to Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of the Assembly  

Purpose: The purpose is clarity and conformity to the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). Participation by the public in the regulatory process 

is essential to assist the board in the promulgation of 

regulations that will protect the public health and safety. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

amendment was recommended by the Department of 

Planning and Budget and is intended to merely conform the 

regulation to the statute. Therefore, there is no controversy in 

its promulgation. 

Substance: The board has amended subsection A of 

18VAC105-11-50 to provide that interested persons may be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or other 

representative when presenting their views in the 

promulgation of any regulatory action. 

Issues: Other than conformity and consistency between law 

and regulation, there are no primary advantages or 

disadvantages to the public in implementing the amended 

provisions, since the provisions are already in the Code of 

Virginia. There are no primary advantages or disadvantages 

to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of the Assembly,
1
 

the Board of Optometry (Board) proposes to add language to 

its public participation guidelines to allow interested parties 

who are responding to a regulatory action to have counsel or a 

representative with them. 
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Result of Analysis. Benefits outweigh costs for all proposed 

changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. In 2012, the General Assembly 

passed legislation that allows interested parties who are 

commenting on proposed regulations to have their counsel or 

other representative with them while they are presenting 

"data, views and arguments." The Board now proposes to 

change its regulation that governs public participation to 

conform regulation to this statutory change. Benefits likely 

outweigh costs for this change as it will inform interested 

parties who turn to this regulation before commenting that 

they may bring a representative with them when commenting.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. This proposed regulatory 

change will affect all individuals who comment on pending 

regulatory changes. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes.  

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed changes will likely not affect the use or value of 

private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No small businesses are likely to 

incur any additional costs on account of these clarifying 

changes. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 

businesses are likely to incur any additional costs on account 

of these clarifying changes.  

Adverse Impacts:   

Businesses. No businesses are likely to incur any additional 

costs on account of these clarifying changes. 

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 

see any adverse impacts on account of these proposed 

regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely 

affected by these proposed changes. 

________________________ 
1http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121+ful+CHAP0795  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Optometry concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia, the 

amendment provides that interested persons submitting 

data, views, and arguments on a regulatory action may be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or another 

representative. 

Part III  

Public Participation Procedures  

18VAC105-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 

action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 

opportunity to (i) submit data, views, and arguments, either 

orally or in writing, to the agency; and (ii) be accompanied by 

and represented by counsel or other representative. Such 

opportunity to comment shall include an online public 

comment forum on the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 

copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 

issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 

fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 

public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 

to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 

submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 

the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 

as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 

(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 

publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 

publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 

of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 

listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 

substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 

he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 

calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 

changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 

Virginia.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121+ful+CHAP0795
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E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 

description of public comment to all public commenters on 

the proposed regulation at least five days before final 

adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 

Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4762; Filed September 23, 2016, 9:20 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Pharmacy is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 13 of the Code 

of Virginia, which exempts amendments to regulations of the 

board to schedule a substance in Schedule I or II pursuant to 

subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of Virginia. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-322).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3443 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 16, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

As specified in § 54.1-3443 of the Code of Virginia, the 

amendments place five compounds into Schedule I of the 

Drug Control Act. The placement by regulatory action will 

remain in effect for 18 months or until the compounds are 

placed in Schedule I by legislative action of the General 

Assembly.  

18VAC110-20-322. Placement of chemicals in Schedule I. 

A. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-

butanamide (other name: butyryl fentanyl). 

2. Flubromazolam. 

3. 5-methoxy-N,N-methylisopropyltryptamine (Other 

name: 5-MeO-MIPT). 

4. Cannabimimetic agents: 

a. N-(1-Amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-[(4-

fluorophenyl)methyl]-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide (other 

name: ADB-FUBINACA); 

b. Methyl 2-[1-[(4-fluorophenyl)methyl]-1H-indazole-3-

carboxamido]-3,3-dimethylbutanoate (other name: 

MDMB-FUBINACA); and 

c. Methyl 2-[1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-

carboxamido]-3,3-dimethylbutanoate (other names: 5-

fluoro-ADB, 5-Fluoro-MDMB-PINACA). 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until December 14, 2017, unless enacted into law in 

the Drug Control Act.  

B. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Beta-keto-N,N-dimethylbenzodioxolylbutanamine (other 

names: Dibutylone, bk-DMBDB); 

2. 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(ethylamino)-1-pentanone 

(other name: N-ethylpentylone); 

3. 1-[1-(3-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexyl]piperidine (other 

name: 3-methoxy PCP); 

4. 1-[1-(4-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexyl]piperidine (other 

name: 4-methoxy PCP); 

5. 4-Chloroethcathinone (other name: 4-CEC); 

6. 3-Methoxy-2-(methylamino)-1-(4-methylphenyl)-1-

propanone (other name: Mexedrone); 

7. 3,4-dichloro-N-[2-(dimethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-

methyl-benzamide (other name: U-47700); 

8. 3,4-dichloro-N-{[1-(dimethylamino)cyclohexyl]methyl} 

benzamide (other name: AH-7921); 

9. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-

pentanamide (other name: Pentanoyl fentanyl); 

10. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-2-

furancarboxamide (other name: Furanyl fentanyl); 

11. N-(3-fluorophenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-

propanamide (other name: 3-fluorofentanyl);  

12. Clonazolam; and 

13. Cannabimimetic agents: 

a. Methyl 2-({1-[(4-fluorophenyl)methyl]-1H-indazole-

3-carbonyl}amino)-3-methylbutanoate (other names: 

AMB-FUBINACA, FUB-AMB); 

b. N-(adamantan-1-yl)-1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indazole-

3-carboxamide (other name: FUB-AKB48); 

c. N-(adamantan-1-yl)-1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-

carboxamide (other name: 5F-AKB48); 

d. Naphthalen-1-yl 1-pentyl-1H-indazole-3-carboxylate 

(other name: SDB-005); and 

e. N-(1-amino-3-methyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-

(cyclohexylmethyl)indole-3-carboxamide (other name: 

AB-CHMICA). 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until March 7, 2018, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act.  

C. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 
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1. 1-propionyl lysergic acid diethylamide (other name: 1P-

LSD); 

2. (2-Methylaminopropyl)benzofuran (other name: 

MAPB); 

3. Ethyl phenyl(piperidin-2-yl)acetate (other name: 

Ethylphenidate); 

4. 2-(3-fluorophenyl)-3-methylmorpholine (other name: 3-

fluorophenmetrazine); and 

5. N-(4-fluorophenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-

butanamide (other name: para-fluorobutyrylfentanyl), its 

optical, positional, and geometric isomers, salts and salts of 

isomers. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until May 10, 2018, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4746; Filed September 22, 2016, 3:10 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Pharmacy is 

claiming an exclusion from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 

agency discretion is involved. The Board of Pharmacy will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-680).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 16, 2016.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform to Chapter 88 of the 2016 Acts 

of Assembly by requiring registration of nonresident 

medical equipment suppliers. 

18VAC110-20-680. Medical equipment suppliers.  

A. A medical equipment supplier's location shall be 

inspected by the board prior to engaging in business. The 

location shall be clean and sanitary and shall have a system of 

temperature control to provide for specified storage 

conditions for any Schedule VI drug or device.  

B. Hypodermic needles and syringes and Schedule VI drugs 

shall not be placed on open display or in an open area where 

patrons will have access to such items. No Schedule VI 

devices shall be placed in an area where responsible parties 

cannot exercise reasonable supervision and control.  

C. A medical equipment supplier shall receive a valid order 

from a practitioner prior to dispensing and shall maintain this 

order on file on the premises for a period of two years from 

date of last dispensing. The original order may be kept at a 

centralized office as long as it is readily retrievable within 48 

hours and a copy of the order is kept on the premises of the 

dispensing supplier. In lieu of a hard copy, an electronic 

image of an order may be maintained in an electronic 

database provided it preserves and provides an exact image of 

the order that is clearly legible and made available within 48 

hours of a request by a person authorized by law to have 

access to prescription information. 

D. Medical equipment suppliers shall make a record at the 

time of dispensing. This record shall be maintained on the 

premises for two years from date of dispensing and shall 

include:  

1. Name and address of patient;  

2. Item dispensed and quantity, if applicable; and  

3. Date of dispensing.  

E. A nonresident medical equipment supplier shall register 

and practice in accordance with § 54.1-3435.3:1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4831; Filed September 27, 2016, 7:58 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-30. Regulations for 

Practitioners of the Healing Arts to Sell Controlled 

Substances (amending 18VAC110-30-15, 18VAC110-30-

20, 18VAC110-30-30, 18VAC110-30-50 through 

18VAC110-30-90; adding 18VAC110-30-21).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400, 54.1-3304.1, and 54.1-

3307 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 12, 2016 - 9:05 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

201, Board Room 2, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: December 16, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 527-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

health regulatory boards to promulgate regulations in 

accordance with the Administrative Process Act.  

The specific authority to issue permits and regulate facilities 

in which practitioners of the healing arts dispense controlled 

substances is found in § 54.1-3304.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

which authorizes the Board of Pharmacy to license and 

regulate the dispensing of controlled substances by 

practitioners of the healing arts.  

Purpose: The Board of Pharmacy licenses individual 

physicians to sell controlled substances to their own patients 

and already has regulations for security, recordkeeping, 

storage and other requirements relating to the facility from 

which physicians licensed to sell drugs dispense. Oversight of 
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physicians selling drugs was relatively simple when there 

were approximately 100 licensees, but the total is now over 

600 and continues to increase. The increase is due to an 

increasingly larger supply of drugs on the market repackaged 

specifically for physicians to sell, an increase in the number 

of urgent care centers that dispense drugs when treating 

patients, and an increase in drugs available to treat popular 

dermatological issues. 

The practice of physicians selling drugs is analogous to 

pharmacies dispensing drugs. In regulating the practice of 

pharmacy, the board licenses both pharmacists and 

pharmacies. This level of oversight for both the individuals 

and the facility works well, and this proposal seeks to mirror 

this level of oversight for physicians selling drugs. 

Additionally, during inspections of facilities where multiple 

licensed physicians sell drugs, it is reasonable to hold the 

facility responsible for any possible violations and not an 

individual physician. This proposed process is also analogous 

to the inspection process currently used for pharmacies. 

Failure to promulgate regulations would perpetuate the Board 

of Pharmacy's difficulty in overseeing a growing number of 

physicians who are now licensed to dispense drugs and limit 

the board's ability for whom it may take disciplinary action 

when violations are noted during routine inspections. With a 

facility permit, which is similar to a pharmacy permit, the 

board can hold the permit holder responsible and accountable 

for the stock of drugs. Clearer regulation and accountability 

will foster public protection in assuring the safety and 

integrity of prescription drugs. 

Substance: Regulations set fees for approval of applications, 

renewal of permits, and reinstatement of lapsed permits. 

Requirements for inspections, physical standards for the 

facility, and notification to the board now fall to the facility 

permit rather than the individual licensee. For an individual 

license, the fee is reduced from $240 to $180, since the 

facility permit fee will now help cover the cost of inspections. 

For a facility permit, the application fee is $240, which is 

similar to a pharmacy application and is intended to help 

cover the cost of an initial inspection. 

The only change in physical requirements is specificity about 

the availability of hot and cold water, which must be within 

20 feet of the selling and storage area and not located within 

an examination room or restroom. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is more 

accountability and consistency in the maintenance and 

security of controlled substances in physician practices that 

are selling drugs to their patients. The primary advantage to 

the agency is a single entity to hold accountable when there 

are complaints or inspection violations rather than trying to 

assign responsibility to a physician within a multi-practitioner 

group. Also, promulgation of regulations for the issuance of 

permits to facilities is a statutory mandate. There are no 

disadvantages. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As 

mandated by Chapter 117 of the 2015 Acts of the Assembly, 

the Board of Pharmacy (Board) proposes to promulgate a 

replacement regulation for an emergency regulation that will 

expire on June 6, 2017. The emergency and replacement 

regulations: 1) rearrange portions of the regulation so that 

classes of fees are grouped together, 2) clarify that required 

sinks with hot and cold running water must be within 20 feet 

of the selling and storage area of the facility and may not be 

in a bathroom or examination room, 3) lower fees for initial 

individual licensure for doctors of medicine, osteopathic 

medicine or podiatry
1
 to sell control substances, and 4) 

institute permit fees for most facilities
2
 where practitioners of 

the healing arts sell controlled substances. 

Result of Analysis. For most proposed changes, benefits 

likely outweigh costs. For one change, there is insufficient 

information to ascertain whether benefits outweigh costs for 

all affected entities. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Many of the Board's proposed 

regulatory changes, including rearranging regulatory sections 

and expanding language outlining the requirement for a sink 

in the immediate vicinity of a facility's controlled substance 

selling and storage area, do not change current rules or 

practice. For instance, the Board already requires a sink 

within 20 feet of the selling and storage area and does not 

allow that sink to be in a bathroom
3
 or an examination room.

4
 

For these changes, no entities are likely to incur any costs. 

Interested parties, however, will likely benefit from the 

additional clarity these changes bring to the regulation. 

Before the emergency changes to this regulation became 

effective, individual practitioners of the healing arts paid 

$240 to be initially licensed to sell controlled substances and 

$90 each year to renew that license. Additionally, individuals 

who missed their renewal date but renewed their license 

within a year of its expiration date paid a $30 late renewal fee 

in addition to their regular renewal fee. Individuals who 

missed their renewal date by more than a year had to pay a 

$210 reinstatement fee in addition to their renewal fee. 

Because part of these individual fees were meant to cover 

inspection of the facility from which individuals would be 

selling controlled substances, and because the Board 

instituted facility permit fees that would cover the cost of 

those inspections instead, the Board proposes to lower half of 

the individual fees.  

Under this proposed regulation, individual licensees will pay 

$180 for initial licensure to sell controlled substances, $90 to 

renew their licenses each year, $30 for late renewal and $150 

for reinstatement after a license has lapsed for more than a 

year. Licensees will benefit from these fee reductions as they 

will either lower individual costs for licensure absolutely and 

will partially or completely offset new facility permit fees for 

individual practitioners who are in partnership private 
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practices where partners are responsible for splitting business 

expenses. 

The Board also proposes to institute new fees for facility 

permits. The fee for an initial permit is $240 and annual 

renewal of that permit is also $240 so long as the permit is 

renewed in a timely manner. If business owners renew the 

their facility permit after the renewal date but within one year, 

they will have to pay an additional $40; the reinstatement fee 

for renewing a facility permit more than a year after it lapsed 

is $240 additional to the on time renewal fee.  

Both Chapter 117, and this regulation, exempt sole proprietor 

practitioners from paying permit fees although they still have 

to obtain a permit and will have to pay to be individually 

licensed. Because of this exemption, no sole proprietor 

practitioner is likely to incur any additional fees, either upon 

initial licensure/permitting or when they renew their licenses 

or permits, on account of this proposed change.  

Partnership practices with two or three partners
5
 will incur net 

extra costs of $120
6
 and $60

7
 respectively to be initially 

licensed/permitted when comparing higher individual 

licensure fees paid before the emergency stage of this 

regulation to lower individual fees plus the newly required 

facility permit paid under this proposed regulation. 

Partnership practices with four partner practitioners are at a 

point of indifference because combined fees to be initially 

licensed/permitted would be the same $960 under the old 

regulation and under this proposed regulation.  

All partnerships with more than four partners and where the 

business is actually owned by the partners will see cost 

savings on account of lower combined initial fees under the 

proposed regulation. Board staff reports that many practices 

are owned by corporations or hospitals; for those practices, all 

individual practitioners will see lower initial licensure costs 

and the corporation or hospital practice owner will incur the 

additional facility permit fee.  

All licensed practitioners except for sole practitioners, or the 

businesses that they work for, will incur additional fee costs 

upon renewal of their facility permits because individual 

renewal fees remain the same but permit fees need to 

additionally be paid. There is insufficient information to 

ascertain whether the benefits of requiring facility permits 

will outweigh the higher costs that some individuals or 

businesses will accrue. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that 

there are approximately 200 facilities which are permitted to 

sell controlled substances in the state and that the Board 

licenses 624 practitioners of the healing arts to sell controlled 

substances. All of these licensees, all future licensees and all 

businesses that need facility permits are affected by this 

proposed regulation. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes.  

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The facility 

permit fees in this regulation will raise total fees costs very 

marginally for some businesses in the Commonwealth. To the 

extent that those small costs are not passed on to patients in 

the form of slightly higher cost of care, those businesses will 

see a very marginal decrease in value. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Small business partnerships will 

likely incur additional costs on account of the new facility 

permit fee in this proposed regulation. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There 

are no alternatives that would both lower costs and meet the 

legislative mandate for facility permits.  

Adverse Impacts:   

Businesses. Physician practices will likely incur additional 

costs on account of the new facility permit fee in this 

proposed regulation. 

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 

see any adverse impacts on account of these proposed 

regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely 

affected by these proposed changes. 

____________________________________ 
1 These entities are practitioners of the healing arts for the purposes of this 
regulation. 
2 By statute and this regulation, sole practitioners who sell controlled 

substances must pay individual licensure fees but are exempt from having to 
pay facility permit fees (although they will have to pay licensure fees).  
3 Board staff reports that sinks in bathrooms are not sanitary enough for 

mixing medications. 
4 Board staff reports that this is not allowed because doctors may need to 

access the sink when the examination room is occupied by a patient. 
5 This math is assuming partnerships where the individual partners own the 

business and will split business expenses. 
6 For a partnership with two doctors licensed to sell controlled substances, the 
doctors paid a $480 combined to be initially licensed ($240 for each doctor's 

individual license x 2)  under pre-emergency regulation and now pay $600 

under the proposed regulation to be initially licensed ($180 for each doctor's 
individual license plus $240 for the facility license). 
7 For partnerships with three doctors licensed to sell control substances, the 

doctors paid $720 combined to be initially licensed ($240 for each doctor's 
individual license x 3) under pre-emergency regulation and now pay $780 

under the proposed regulation to be initially licensed ($180 for each doctor's 

individual license plus $240 for the facility license). 
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Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: In general, 

the Board of Pharmacy concurs with the analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget on proposed amended 

regulations for 18VAC110-30, Regulations for Practitioners 

of the Healing Arts to Sell Controlled Substances. 

The cost/benefit analysis fails to take into account the 

financial benefit that accrues to a facility in which 

practitioners are selling controlled substances to their 

patients. The increase in $120 and $60 per year for 

partnerships of two or three practitioners is an insignificant 

cost for a business that may resemble a small pharmacy in the 

number of drugs being stored and sold to patients. 

The agency also disagrees with the adverse impact 

notification to the General Assembly. The board has acted in 

compliance with the second enactment clause of Chapter 117 

of the 2015 Acts of the Assembly, which required the board 

to promulgate regulations to implement the requirement of 

law that practitioners of the healing arts must dispense 

controlled substances in permitted facilities. As a nongeneral 

fund agency, the board establishes a fee schedule intended to 

cover the cost of administering a regulatory program. Any 

adverse impact of such regulation was a mandate of the 

General Assembly and the Code of Virginia, so there should 

be no need for notification. 

Summary: 

The Board of Pharmacy is proposing amendments to its 

regulations to implement the requirements of Chapter 117 

of the 2015 Acts of Assembly that practitioners of the 

healing arts must dispense controlled substances in 

permitted facilities. The proposed amendments (i) institute 

permit fees for most facilities where practitioners of the 

healing arts sell controlled substances; (ii) lower fees for 

initial individual licensure for doctors of medicine, 

osteopathic medicine, or podiatry to sell controlled 

substances; (iii) place requirements for inspections, 

physical standards for the facility, and notification to the 

board with the permitted facility rather than the individual 

licensee; and (iv) clarify that required sinks with hot and 

cold water must be available within 20 feet of the selling 

and storage area of the facility and may not be located 

within an examination room or restroom. 

18VAC110-30-15. Fees.  

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable.  

B. Fee for initial license for a practitioner of the healing arts 

to sell controlled substances Initial application fees. 

1. The application fee for initial licensure shall be $240 

License for practitioner of the healing arts to sell controlled 

substances: $180. 

2. The application fee for reinstatement of a license that 

has been revoked or suspended indefinitely shall be $500 

Permit for facility in which practitioners of the healing arts 

sell controlled substances: $240. 

C. Renewal of license for a practitioner of the healing arts to 

sell controlled substances Annual renewal fees. 

1. The annual fee for renewal of an active license shall be 

$90. For the annual renewal due on December 31, 2009, 

the fee shall be $50 License for practitioner of the healing 

arts to sell controlled substances: $90. 

2. The late fee for renewal of a license within one year 

after the expiration date is $30 in addition to the annual 

renewal fee Permit for facility in which practitioners of the 

healing arts sell controlled substances: $240. 

3. The fee for reinstatement of a license expired for more 

than one year shall be $210.  

D. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in 

addition to the current renewal fee to renew an expired 

license within one year of the expiration date. 

1. License for practitioner of the healing arts to sell 

controlled substances: $30. 

2. Permit for facility in which practitioners of the healing 

arts sell controlled substances: $40. 

E. Reinstatement fees. Any person or entity attempting to 

renew a license or permit more than one year after the 

expiration date shall submit an application for reinstatement 

with any required fees. 

1. License for practitioner of the healing arts to sell 

controlled substances: $150. 

2. Permit for facility in which practitioners of the healing 

arts sell controlled substances: $240. 

3. Application fee for reinstatement of a license or permit 

that has been revoked or suspended indefinitely: $500. 

F. Facilities in which only one practitioner of the healing 

arts is licensed by the board to sell controlled substances shall 

be exempt from fees associated with obtaining and renewing 

a facility permit.  

D. G. The fee for reinspection of any facility shall be $150.  

E. H. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

Part II  

Licensure Requirements  

18VAC110-30-20. Application for licensure.  

A. Prior to engaging in the sale of controlled substances, a 

practitioner shall make application on a form provided by the 

board and be issued a license. After June 7, 2016, the 

practitioner shall engage in such sale from a location that has 

been issued a facility permit. 

B. In order to be eligible for a license to sell controlled 

substances, a practitioner shall possess a current, active 

license to practice medicine, osteopathic medicine, or 

podiatry issued by the Virginia Board of Medicine. Any 

disciplinary action taken by the Board of Medicine against the 

practitioner's license to practice shall constitute grounds for 

the board to deny, restrict, or place terms on the license to 

sell.  
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C. For good cause shown, the board may issue a limited-use 

license, when the scope, degree or type of services provided 

to the patient is of a limited nature. The license to be issued 

shall be based on conditions of use requested by the applicant 

or imposed by the board in cases where certain requirements 

of regulations may be waived. The following conditions shall 

apply:  

1. A policy and procedure manual detailing the type and 

volume of controlled substances to be sold and safeguards 

against diversion must accompany the application. The 

application shall list the regulatory requirements for which 

a waiver is requested and a brief explanation as to why 

each requirement should not apply to that practice; and  

2. The issuance and continuation of such license shall be 

subject to continuing compliance with the conditions set 

forth by the board.  

18VAC110-30-21. Application for facility permit. 

A. After June 7, 2016, any location at which practitioners of 

the healing arts sell controlled substances shall have a permit 

issued by the board in accordance with § 54.1-3304.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. A licensed practitioner of the healing arts 

shall apply for the facility permit on a form provided by the 

board.  

B. For good cause shown, the board may issue a limited-use 

facility permit when the scope, degree, or type of services 

provided to the patient is of a limited nature. The permit to be 

issued shall be based on conditions of use requested by the 

applicant or imposed by the board in cases where certain 

requirements of this chapter may be waived.  

1. The limited-use facility permit application shall list the 

regulatory requirements for which a waiver is requested, if 

any, and a brief explanation as to why each requirement 

should not apply to that practice. 

2. A policy and procedure manual detailing the type and 

volume of controlled substances to be sold and safeguards 

against diversion shall accompany the application.  

3. The issuance and continuation of a limited-use facility 

permit shall be subject to continuing compliance with the 

conditions set forth by the board. 

C. The executive director may grant a waiver of the security 

system when storing and selling multiple strengths and 

formulations of no more than five different topical Schedule 

VI drugs intended for cosmetic use. 

18VAC110-30-30. Renewal of license or permit.  

A. A license or facility permit so issued shall be valid until 

December 31 of the year of issue. Renewal of the license 

shall be made on or before December 31 of each year.  

B. If a practitioner fails to renew his license or facility 

permit to sell within the Commonwealth by the renewal date, 

he must pay the renewal fee plus the late fee. He may renew 

his license or facility permit by payment of these fees for one 

year from the date of expiration.  

C. Failure to renew the license or facility permit to sell 

within one year following expiration shall cause the license or 

permit to lapse. The selling of controlled substances with a 

lapsed license or permit shall be illegal and may subject the 

practitioner to disciplinary action by the board. To reinstate a 

lapsed license or permit, a practitioner shall submit an 

application for reinstatement and pay the reinstatement fee, 

plus the reinspection fee if a reinspection is required as set 

forth in subsection D of this section. Reinstatement is at the 

discretion of the board and may be granted by the executive 

director on the board's behalf provided no grounds exist to 

deny said reinstatement.  

D. Prior to reinstatement of a license facility permit that has 

been lapsed for more than one year, a reinspection of the 

storage and selling area shall be conducted unless another 

practitioner at the same location has held an active license to 

sell controlled substances during that period. A practitioner 

seeking reinstatement of a facility permit shall not stock 

drugs until approved by the board or its authorized agent.  

E. The selling of controlled substances without a current, 

active license or facility permit is unlawful and shall 

constitute grounds for disciplinary action by the board.  

18VAC110-30-50. Licensees ceasing to sell controlled 

substances; inventory required prior to disposal.  

A. Any licensee who intends to cease selling controlled 

substances shall notify the board 10 days prior to cessation 

and surrender his license, and his license will be placed on 

expired status. If no other practitioner of the healing arts 

licensed to sell controlled substances intends to sell controlled 

substances from the same location, the practitioner shall also 

surrender the facility permit, and the permit will be placed on 

expired status. 

B. Any Schedule II through V controlled substances shall be 

inventoried and may be disposed of by transferring the 

controlled substance stock to another licensee or other person 

authorized by law to possess such drugs or by destruction as 

set forth in this chapter.  

C. The licensee or other responsible person shall inform the 

board of the name and address of the licensee to whom the 

controlled substances are transferred.  

D. A licensee who has surrendered his license or facility 

permit pursuant to this section may request that it be made 

current again at any time within the same renewal year 

without having to pay an additional fee, provided the licensee 

is selling from the same location or from another location that 

has been inspected and approved by the board.  
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Part III  

Inspection Requirements, Standards, and Security for Storage 

Areas; Disposal of Controlled Substances  

18VAC110-30-70. Maintenance of a common stock of 

controlled substances Practitioner in charge in a 

permitted facility.  

Any two or more licensees who elect to maintain a common 

stock of A facility with a permit for practitioners of the 

healing arts to sell controlled substances for dispensing shall:  

1. Designate a licensee practitioner with a license to sell 

controlled substances who shall be the primary person 

responsible for the stock, the required inventory, the 

records of receipt and destruction, safeguards against 

diversion and compliance with this chapter;  

2. Report to the board the name of the licensee and the 

location of the controlled substance stock on a form 

provided by the board;  

3. Upon a change in the licensee so designated, an 

inventory of all Schedule II through V controlled 

substances shall be conducted in the manner set forth in § 

54.1-3404 of the Drug Control Act of the Code of Virginia 

and such change shall immediately be reported to the 

board; and  

4. Nothing shall relieve the other individual licensees who 

sell controlled substances at the location of the 

responsibility for the requirements set forth in this chapter.  

18VAC110-30-80. Inspection and notice required.  

A. The area designated for the storage and selling of 

controlled substances shall be inspected by an agent of the 

board prior to the issuance of the first license to sell 

controlled substances from that site. Inspection prior to 

issuance of subsequent licenses at the same location shall be 

conducted at the discretion of the board.  

B. Applications for licenses which facility permits that 

indicate a requested inspection date, or requests which that 

are received after the application is filed, shall be honored 

provided a 14-day notice to the board is allowed prior to the 

requested inspection date.  

C. Requested inspection dates which that do not allow a 14-

day notice to the board may be adjusted by the board to 

provide 14 days for the scheduling of the inspection.  

D. At the time of the inspection, the controlled substance 

selling and storage area shall comply with 18VAC110-30-90, 

18VAC110-30-100, 18VAC110-30-110, 18VAC110-30-120, 

and 18VAC110-30-130.  

E. If an applicant substantially fails to meet the requirements 

for issuance of a license facility permit and a reinspection is 

required, or if the applicant is not ready for the inspection on 

the established date and fails to notify the inspector or the 

board at least 24 hours prior to the inspection, the applicant 

shall pay a reinspection fee as specified in 18VAC110-30-15 

prior to a reinspection being conducted.  

F. No license facility permit shall be issued to sell controlled 

substances until adequate safeguards against diversion have 

been provided for the controlled substance storage and selling 

area and approved by the the inspector or board staff.  

G. The licensee shall notify the board of any substantive 

changes to the approved selling and storage area including 

moving the location of the area, making structural changes to 

the area, or making changes to the alarm system for the area 

prior to the changes being made and pay a reinspection fee. 

An inspection shall be conducted prior to approval of the new 

or altered selling and storage area.  

18VAC110-30-90. Physical standards.  

Physical standards for the controlled substance selling and 

storage area:  

1. The building in which the controlled substances selling 

and storage area is located shall be constructed of 

permanent and secure materials. Trailers and other 

movable facilities shall not be permitted;  

2. There shall be an enclosed area of not less than 40 

square feet that is designated as the controlled substances 

selling and storage area, which shall be used exclusively 

for storage, preparation, and dispensing. Records related to 

the sale of controlled substances may be maintained 

outside the selling and storage area with access limited to 

the licensee and those persons authorized to assist in the 

area. The work space used in preparation of the drugs shall 

be contained within the enclosed area. A controlled 

substance selling and storage area inspected and approved 

prior to November 3, 1993, shall not be required to meet 

the size requirement of this chapter;  

3. Controlled substances maintained for ultimate sale shall 

be maintained separately from any other controlled 

substances maintained for other purposes. Controlled 

substances maintained for other purposes such as 

administration or samples may be stored within the selling 

and storage area provided they are clearly separated from 

the stock maintained for sale;  

4. The selling and storage area, work counter space and 

equipment in the area shall be maintained in a clean and 

orderly manner;  

5. A sink with hot and cold running water shall be 

available within the immediate vicinity 20 feet of the 

selling and storage area and not located within an 

examination room or restroom; and  

6. The entire area described in this chapter shall be well 

lighted and ventilated; the proper storage temperature shall 

be maintained to meet official specifications for controlled 

substance storage.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
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agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC110-30) 

Application for a License to Sell Controlled Substances by a 

Practitioner of the Healing Arts (rev. 8/07). 

Application for a License to Sell Controlled Substances by a 

Practitioner of the Healing Arts (rev. 12/2015) 

Application for a Facility Permit for Practitioner(s) of the 

Healing Arts to Sell Controlled Substances (rev. 12/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4532; Filed September 26, 2016, 8:35 a.m.  

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Real Estate Appraiser Board 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC130-20. Real Estate Appraiser 

Board Rules and Regulations (amending 18VAC130-20-

30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2013 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 

Estate Appraiser Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 

527-4298, or email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments require that real estate appraiser license 

applicants submit to fingerprinting and a background 

check to ensure the applicant does not have a conviction 

that would call into question the applicant's fitness for 

licensure. The amendments are necessary to comply with 

changes to The Real Property Appraiser Qualification 

Criteria by the Appraiser Qualification Board (AQB), 

which are set to become effective January 1, 2017. Under § 

1116 of the Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery and 

Enforcement Act of 1989, AQB is the body that establishes 

minimum education, experience, and examination 

requirements for real property appraisers.  

18VAC130-20-30. General qualifications for licensure.  

Every applicant to the Real Estate Appraiser Board for a 

certified general, certified residential, or licensed residential 

real estate appraiser license shall meet the following 

qualifications:  

1. The applicant shall be of good moral character, honest, 

truthful, and competent to transact the business of a 

licensed real estate appraiser in such a manner as to 

safeguard the interests of the public.  

2. The applicant shall meet the current educational and 

experience requirements and submit a license application 

to the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation or its agent prior to the time the applicant is 

approved to take the licensing examination. Applications 

received by the department or its agent must be complete 

within 12 months of the date of the receipt of the license 

application and fee by the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation or its agent.  

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement verifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia real estate appraiser license law 

and the regulations of the Real Estate Appraiser Board.  

4. The applicant shall be in good standing as a real estate 

appraiser in every jurisdiction where licensed or certified; 

the applicant may not have had a license or certification 

that was suspended, revoked or surrendered in connection 

with a disciplinary action or that has been the subject of 

discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure 

in Virginia. 

5. The applicant may not have shall possess a background 

that would not call into question the public trust. Each 

applicant shall submit to fingerprinting. A background 

investigation shall be conducted, which shall not reveal 

that he has been convicted, found guilty, or pled guilty, 

regardless of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of a 

misdemeanor involving moral turpitude or of any felony or 

nolo contendere to a crime that would call into question his 

fitness or suitability to engage in the profession. The 

applicant must disclose the following: 

a. All felony convictions; and 

b. All misdemeanor convictions in any jurisdiction that 

occurred within five years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere or finding of guilt regardless 

of adjudication or deferred adjudication shall be considered 

a conviction for purposes of this subdivision. A certified 

copy of a final order, decree, or case decision, by a court 

with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or 

case decision shall be admissible as prima facie evidence 

of such conviction.  

6. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old.  

7. The applicant shall have successfully completed 150 hours 

for the licensed residential classification, 200 hours for the 

certified residential classification, and 300 hours for the 

certified general classification of approved real estate 

appraisal courses, including the 15-Hour National Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice course, from 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=14ce8004532~1&typ=40&actno=004532&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=14ce8004532~1&typ=40&actno=004532&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=450fb004532~2&typ=40&actno=004532&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=450fb004532~2&typ=40&actno=004532&mime=application/pdf
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accredited colleges, universities, junior and community 

colleges; adult distributive or marketing education programs; 

local, state or federal government agencies, boards or 

commissions; proprietary schools; or real estate appraisal or 

real estate related organizations. The required core curriculum 

for the certified general or certified residential real estate 

appraiser is a bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited 

college or university. The required core curriculum for the 

licensed residential real estate appraiser is an associate's 

degree or higher from an accredited college, junior college, 

community college, or university. In lieu of the required 

degree, the licensed residential real estate appraiser applicant 

must complete 30 semester hours of college-level education 

from an accredited college, junior college, community 

college, or university. The classroom hours required for the 

licensed residential real estate appraiser may include the 

classroom hours required for the appraiser trainee. The 

classroom hours required for the certified residential real 

estate appraiser may include the classroom hours required for 

the appraiser trainee or the licensed real estate appraiser. The 

classroom hours required for the certified general real estate 

appraiser may include the classroom hours required for the 

appraiser trainee, the licensed residential real estate appraiser, 

or the certified residential real estate appraiser.  

All applicants for licensure as a certified general real estate 

appraiser must complete an advanced level appraisal course of 

at least 30 classroom hours in the appraisal of nonresidential 

properties.  

8. The applicant shall, as part of the application for 

licensure, verify his experience in the field of real estate 

appraisal. All applicants must submit, upon application, 

sample appraisal reports as specified by the board. In 

addition, all experience must be acquired within the five-

year period immediately preceding the date application is 

made and be supported by adequate written reports or file 

memoranda, which shall be made available to the board 

upon request.  

a. Applicants for a licensed residential real estate 

appraiser license shall have a minimum of 2,000 hours 

appraisal experience, in no fewer than 12 months. Hours 

may be treated as cumulative in order to achieve the 

necessary 2,000 hours of appraisal experience.  

b. Applicants for a certified residential real estate 

appraiser license shall have a minimum of 2,500 hours of 

appraisal experience obtained during no fewer than 24 

months. Hours may be treated as cumulative in order to 

achieve the necessary 2,500 hours of appraisal 

experience.  

c. Applicants for a certified general real estate appraiser 

license shall have a minimum of 3,000 hours of appraisal 

experience obtained during no fewer than 30 months. 

Hours may be treated as cumulative in order to achieve 

the necessary 3,000 hours of appraisal experience. At 

least 50% of the appraisal experience required (1,500 

hours) must be in nonresidential appraisal assignments 

and include assignments that demonstrate the use and 

understanding of the income approach. An applicant 

whose nonresidential appraisal experience is 

predominately in such properties that do not require the 

use of the income approach may satisfy this requirement 

by performing two or more appraisals on properties in 

association with a certified general appraiser that include 

the use of the income approach. The applicant must have 

substantially contributed to the development of the 

income approach in such reports and shall provide 

evidence or verification of such contribution.  

9. Within 12 months after being approved by the board to 

take the examination, the applicant shall have registered 

for and passed a written examination developed or 

endorsed by the Appraiser Qualifications Board and 

provided by the board or by a testing service acting on 

behalf of the board. Successful completion of the 

examination is valid for a period of 24 months. 

10. Applicants for licensure who do not meet the 

requirements set forth in subdivisions 4 and 5 of this 

section may be approved for licensure following 

consideration of their application by the board.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC130-20) 

Appraiser License Application, A461-4001LIC-v4 (rev. 

8/15)  

Appraiser License Application, A461-4001LIC-

v5_01-01-2017 (rev. 1/2017) 

Experience Log, A461-40EXP-v1 (rev. 7/13) 

Appraiser Trainee License Application, A461-4004TRLIC-

v4 (rev. 8/15) 

Trainee Supervisor Verification Form, A461-40TRSUP-v2 

(rev. 1/15) 

Business Registration Application, A461-4008BUS-v2 (rev. 

8/15) 

Pre-License Education Course Application, A461-

4006CRS-v2 (rev. 8/15) 

Pre-License Education Course Renewal Application, A461-

4006RENCRS-v2 (rev. 8/15) 

Instructor Certification Application, A461-4002INSTR-v2 

(rev. 8/15) 

Activate License Application, A461-4001AT-v1 (rev. 7/13) 

Temporary Appraiser License Application, A461-

4005TLIC-v2 (rev. 8/15)  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4892; Filed September 15, 2016, 2:09 p.m.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a2a70004892~2&typ=40&actno=004892&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a2a70004892~2&typ=40&actno=004892&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=03dcd004118~4&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6b170003187~2&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6b170003187~2&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5a3dc004118~2&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5a3dc004118~2&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=30b42003187~3&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=30b42003187~3&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=261eb003187~4&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=261eb003187~4&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3fd75003187~6&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3fd75003187~6&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2f090003187~5&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2f090003187~5&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7bbad004118~9&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=58160003187~7&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=58160003187~7&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 59 (2016) 

Declaration of a State of Emergency for the 
Commonwealth of Virginia as a Measure for 

Uninterrupted Gasoline Distribution 

Importance of the Issue 

On September 9, 2016, Colonial Pipeline shut down its main 

lines in Shelby County, Alabama to investigate a potential 

system integrity issue. The investigation uncovered a pipeline 

breach resulting in a spill of 252,000 gallons of gasoline in a 

remote area of the county. This pipeline will remain shut 

down until repairs can be made, the system tested, and 

cleanup complete. The shutdown of this pipeline may result 

in gasoline supply disruptions to various retailers throughout 

the Commonwealth, since the pipeline is the only source of 

gasoline into Virginia for many of these retailers. While 

current gasoline reserves in the Commonwealth are sufficient 

to address any immediate supply concerns, it is necessary, in 

accordance with § 44-146.17, that the Commonwealth take 

appropriate measures to prevent any resource shortage 

occasioned by this disaster. 

The health and general welfare of the citizens of Virginia 

require that state action be taken to help prevent any potential 

resource shortages or fuel supply disruptions caused by this 

situation. The effects of this incident constitute a disaster, as 

defined in § 44-146.16 of the Code of Virginia. 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by § 44-

146.17 of the Code of Virginia, as Governor and as Director 

of Emergency Management, and subject always to my 

continuing and ultimate authority and responsibility to act in 

such matters, I hereby confirm, ratify, and memorialize in 

writing my verbal orders issued on this day, September 16, 

2016, whereby I proclaimed that a state of emergency exists, 

and I directed that appropriate assistance be rendered by 

agencies of state government to alleviate any impediments to 

the transport of gasoline. 

In order to marshal public resources and appropriate 

preparedness, response, and recovery measures to meet this 

threat and recover from its effects, and in accordance with my 

authority contained in § 44-146.17 of the Code of Virginia, I 

hereby order the following measures: 

A. The authorization of the Departments of State Police, 

Transportation, and Motor Vehicles to grant temporary 

overweight, over width, registration, or license exemptions to 

all carriers transporting gasoline in any area of the 

Commonwealth in order to support delivery of this 

commodity, regardless of its point of origin or destination. 

Such exemptions shall not be valid on posted structures for 

restricted weight. 

All over width loads, up to a maximum of 12 feet, and over 

height loads up to a maximum of 14 feet must follow Virginia 

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) hauling permit and 

safety guidelines. 

In addition to described overweight/over width transportation 

privileges, carriers are also exempt from registration with the 

Department of Motor Vehicles. This includes vehicles in 

route and returning to their home base. The above-cited 

agencies shall communicate this information to all staff 

responsible for permit issuance and truck legalization 

enforcement. 

Authorization of the State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management to grant limited exemption of hours of service 

worked by any carrier when transporting gasoline in any area 

of the Commonwealth in order to support delivery of this 

commodity, regardless of its point of origin or destination, 

pursuant to § 52-8.4 of the Code of Virginia and Title 49 

Code of Federal Regulations, Section 390.23 and Section 

395.3. In no event shall the relief from hours of service last 

more than fifteen (15) days, unless a new declaration is 

issued. Motor carriers that have a Federal Out of Service 

Order in effect cannot take advantage of the relief from 

regulations that this declaration provides under 49 CFR 

390.23. 

The foregoing overweight/over width transportation 

privileges as well as the regulatory exemption provided by 

§ 52-8.4 A of the Code of Virginia, and implemented in 

19VAC30-20-40 B of the "Motor Carrier Safety 

Regulations," shall remain in effect until November 1, 2016, 

or until emergency relief is no longer necessary, as 

determined by the Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland 

Security in consultation with the Secretary of Transportation, 

whichever is earlier. 

The authorization of the Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services to grant a temporary waiver of the 

maximum vapor pressure prescribed in emergency regulation 

2VAC5-425 et seq., and to prescribe a vapor pressure limit it 

deems reasonable. The temporary waiver shall remain in 

effect until November 1, 2016, or until emergency relief is no 

longer necessary, as determined by the Commissioner of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services.  

B. The discontinuance of provisions authorized in paragraph 

A above may be implemented and disseminated by 

publication of administrative notice to all affected and 

interested parties. I hereby delegate to the Secretary of Public 

Safety and Homeland Security, after consultation with other 

affected Cabinet-level Secretaries, the authority to implement 

this order as set forth in § 2.2-104 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. The activation of the statutory provisions in § 59.1-525 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia related to price gouging. Price 

gouging at any time is unacceptable. I have directed all 

applicable executive branch agencies to take immediate 

action to address any verified reports of price gouging of 

gasoline. I make the same request of the Office of the 
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Attorney General and appropriate local officials. I further 

request that all appropriate executive branch agencies 

exercise their discretion to the extent allowed by law to 

address any pending deadlines or expirations affected by or 

attributable to this resource shortage.   

Effective Date of this Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective September 16, 2016, 

and shall remain in full force and effect until November 1, 

2016, or whenever the emergency no longer exists, which 

ever time is shorter, unless sooner amended or rescinded by 

further executive order. Termination of the Executive Order is 

not intended to terminate any federal-type benefits granted or 

to be granted due to injury or death as a result of service 

under this Executive Order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 16th day of September, 

2016. 

/s/ Terence R. McAuliffe 

Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Emergency Waiver of Reid Vapor Pressure 
Requirements in Virginia 

Effective date: September 16, 2016 

Expiration date: October 1, 2016, or until emergency relief is 

no longer necessary as determined by the Commissioner of 

Agriculture. 

Purpose: The purpose of this order is to provide a waiver to 

the ASTM Reid Vapor Pressure specifications for ethanol 

blended gasoline due to an emergency situation involving the 

Colonial Pipeline. 

Background: On September 16, 2016, Governor Terence R. 

McAuliffe declared a state of emergency for the 

Commonwealth of Virginia as a measure for uninterrupted 

gasoline distribution following an incident in Alabama 

requiring Colonial Pipeline to shut down its Pipeline 1, which 

routes gasoline to the East Coast.  In Executive Order 59, 

Governor McAuliffe, pursuant to his authority under § 44-

146.17 of the Code of Virginia, authorizes the Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services to grant a temporary 

waiver of the maximum vapor pressure requirement 

prescribed in emergency regulation 2VAC5-425, Vapor 

Pressure Requirements for Gasoline Ethanol Blends, and to 

prescribe a vapor pressure limit it deems reasonable. 

Executive Order 59 (2016) provides that the temporary 

waiver shall remain in effect until October 1, 2016, or until 

emergency relief is no longer necessary as determined by the 

Commissioner of Agriculture. 

Definitions: "Volatility class C" means fuel with a vapor 

pressure and distillation designation of "C" set forth in Table 

1 Vapor Pressure and Distillation Class Requirements of 

ASTM D4814-16d. 

"Volatility class D" means fuel with a vapor pressure and 

distillation designation of "D" set forth in Table 1 Vapor 

Pressure and Distillation Class Requirements of ASTM 

D4814-16d. 

Required vapor pressure limits for September 16, 2016, 

through September 30, 2016: 

Pursuant to the authority granted in Executive Order 59 

(2016), the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services waives the vapor pressure limit for gasoline ethanol 

blends prescribed by reference to ASTM D4814-16d in 

emergency regulation 2VAC5-425, Vapor Pressure 

Requirements for Gasoline Ethanol Blends, for the period of 

September 16, 2016, through September 30, 2016. 

For the period of September 16, 2016, through September 30, 

2016, when gasoline is blended with ethanol, the blend's 

maximum vapor pressure shall not exceed the ASTM D4814-

16d limits for volatility class C or volatility class D. 

By Order of: Sandra Adams, Commissioner, Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 

1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-3501, FAX 

(804) 371-2945, TDD (800) 828-1120. 

BOARD OF CORRECTIONS 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Board of Corrections is 

currently reviewing each of the regulations listed below to 

determine whether the regulation should be repealed, 

amended, or retained in its current form. The review of each 

regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 

17 (2014). Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

6VAC15-11, Public Participation Guidelines 

6VAC15-70, Standards for Community Residential 

Programs 

The comment period begins October 17, 2016, and ends 

November 16, 2016. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, and a report of 

the small business impact review will be published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Jim Bruce, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Drive, 

Richmond, VA 23261-6963, telephone (804) 887-8215, or 

email james.bruce@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery were 

filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on September 

28, 2016. The orders may be viewed at the Virginia Lottery, 

900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of 

the Registrar of Regulations, 201 North 9th Street, 2nd Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia. 

mailto:james.bruce@vadoc.virginia.gov
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Director's Order Number One Hundred Sixteen (16) 

"Redskins Hospitality Tickets Contest" Virginia Lottery 

Retailer Incentive Program Requirements (effective October 

1, 2016) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seventeen (16) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1705 "Amazing 8s" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective September 14, 2016) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Eighteen (16) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1710 "Million $$ Match" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective September 20, 

2016) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Nineteen (16) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1716 "Tripling Bonus 

Crossword" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 

September 20, 2016) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Twenty (16) 

Virginia Lottery's "Game Guy Player Experience Promotion" 

Final Rules for Operation (effective September 16, 2016) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Twenty-One (16) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1739 "2017" Final Rules for 

Game Operation (effective September 20, 2016) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Twenty-Two (16) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1753 "CH-CH-CH-CHIA 

CASH" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective September 

20, 2016) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Twenty-Three (16) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1726 "Season's Winnings" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective September 20, 

2016) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Twenty-Four (16) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 

Blackjack" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 

October 9, 2016) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Twenty-Five (16) 

Virginia's Computer-Generated Lottery Game "Print 'n Play 

Bonus Bingo" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 

October 9, 2016) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Twenty-Six (16) 

Virginia's Computer-Generated Lottery Game "Print 'n Play 

Daily Crossword" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 

October 9, 2016) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Twenty-Seven (16) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 

Extreme Crossword" Final Rules for Game Operation 

(effective October 9, 2016) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Twenty-Eight (16) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 

Platinum Crossword" Final Rules for Game Operation 

(effective October 9, 2016) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Thirty-Five (16) 

Virginia Lottery's "Q2 FY17 eXTRA Chances Scratcher 

Promotion" Final Rules for Operation (effective October 1, 

2016) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Forty-Six (16) 

Virginia Lottery's "Social Media Promotion" Final Rules for 

Operation (effective September 26, 2016) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Forty-Eight (16) 

Virginia Lottery's "We're Game for Education" Promotion 

Final Rules for Operation (effective October 1, 2016) 

BOARD OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES 

Application Available for New Graduate Medical 
Education Program for Primary Care and High Need 

Specialties 

Item 306 of Chapter 780 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly 

authorizes the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) to make supplemental payments for new graduate 

medical education (GME) residency slots effective July 1, 

2017. Supplemental payments shall be made for up to 25 new 

medical residencies in state fiscal year (SFY) 2018. The 

supplemental payment for each new qualifying residency slot 

will be $100,000 annually for three years. Payments will be 

made quarterly. Thirteen of the slots will be for primary care 

and 12 will be for high need specialties. Preference will be 

given for residencies located in underserved areas of the 

Commonwealth that serve Medicaid beneficiaries. 

Institutions should complete and submit an application for 

each desired residency slot. This requirement stands 

regardless of the specialty mix of requested slots. For 

example, if an institution requests one general pediatrician 

slot, one family practice slot, and a general surgery slot, it 

should complete three separate applications. Additional 

instructions and information are provided in the application. 

The timeline for the application is as follows: 

September 15, 

2016 

DMAS makes application form available 

to programs and sponsoring institutions. 

October 17, 

2016 

Applications are due to DMAS 30 days 

after release of final application. 
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November 11, 

2016 

DMAS notifies programs and sponsoring 

institutions of award selection. 

June 1, 2017 Approved institutions provide 

documentation to DMAS that they meet 

the criteria for supplemental payment and 

have filled all awarded residency slots. 

July 1, 2017 DMAS awards new GME supplemental 

payments and residents begin. 

The application form is available at 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_pgs/pr-gme.aspx. 

Contact Information: Beth Jones, Health Care 

Reimbursement Manager, Provider Reimbursement, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 298-3864, 

FAX (804) 371-8892, or email 

beth.jones@dmas.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERAL AND ENERGY 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy is currently reviewing each of the 

regulations listed below to determine whether the regulation 

should be repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. 

The review of each regulation will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 17 (2014). Public comment is sought on 

the review of any issue relating to each regulation, including 

whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 

performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable 

law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

4VAC25-90, Rules and Regulations Governing the Use of 

Diesel-Powered Equipment in Underground Coal Mines 

4VAC25-145, Regulations on the Eligibility of Certain 

Mining Operators to Perform Reclamation Projects 

4VAC25-160, Virginia Gas and Oil Board Regulations 

4VAC25-170, Geothermal Energy Regulations 

The comment period begins October 17, 2016, and ends 

November 7, 2016. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, and a report of 

the small business impact review will be published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Michael Skiffington, Policy and 

Planning Manager, Department of Mines, Minerals and 

Energy, 1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23223, 

telephone (804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, or email 

mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Public Notice for Technical Advisory Committee 
Meeting for the James River Watershed in 

Lynchburg 

Purpose of notice: To announce a technical advisory 

committee (TAC) meeting on a water quality study by the 

Department of Environmental Quality for the James River 

watershed in Lynchburg, Virginia. The general public is 

welcomed to attend. 

TAC time and location: Tuesday, October 25, 2016, from 

10 a.m. to 12 p.m. at the Region 2000 Local Government 

Council office, 828 Main Street, 12th Floor, Lynchburg, 

Virginia.  

Description of study: Virginia agencies are working to 

identify sources of fecal bacteria contamination in stream 

segments from the James River watershed in Central 

Virginia. This contamination exceeds water quality standards 

and thus impairs or decreases the quality of the water. 

The streams segments that will be included in the study are: 

10.53 miles James River, 20.8 miles Ivy Creek, 5.89 miles 

Tomahawk Creek, 6.89 miles Burton Creek, 3.43 miles 

unnamed tributary to Burton Creek, 10.54 miles Judith Creek, 

5.44 miles Fishing Creek, 10.3 miles Blackwater Creek, 8.5 

miles Beaver Creek, 7.72 miles Harris Creek, 4.69 miles 

Dreaming Creek, 3.04 miles Opossum Creek, 6.37 miles 

Williams Run, 5.17 miles Graham Creek, and 9.46 miles 

Pedlar River.  

Meeting purpose: During the meeting the TAC and public 

will be presented the draft total maximum daily load (TMDL) 

study document for review and discussion.  

Questions: To learn more about the TMDL study or the 

pending TAC meeting, contact Paula Main at the Virginia 

Department of Environmental of Quality, Blue Ridge 

Regional Office, 7705 Timberlake Road, Lynchburg, VA 

24502, by telephone (434) 582- 6216, or by email 

paula.main@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Order for Allied Aviation Fueling 
of National Airport, Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Allied Aviation 

Fueling of National Airport, Inc. for violations of the State 

Water Control Law and regulations in Arlington, Virginia. 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_pgs/pr-gme.aspx
mailto:Beth.Jones@dmas.virginia.gov
mailto:mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov
mailto:paula.main@deq.virginia.gov
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order to resolve violations associated with an unauthorized 

discharge of oil from the Ronald Reagan Washington 

National Airport fuel farm facility. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Stephanie Bellotti will accept 

comments by email at stephanie.bellotti@deq.virginia.gov, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 

VA 22193, from October 18, 2016, through November 17, 

2016. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Elizabeth River 
Crossings OPCO, LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Elizabeth River 

Crossings OPCO, LLC for the Midtown Elizabeth River 

Tunnel for alleged violations of the State Water Control Law 

in Norfolk, Virginia. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Jennifer 

Coleman will accept comments by email at 

jennifer.coleman@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-2009, 

or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from October 17, 2016, to 

November 16, 2016. 

Proposed Consent Order for National Capital Area 
Council, Boy Scouts of America 

An enforcement action has been proposed for National 

Capital Area Council, Boy Scouts of America (BSA) for 

violations at the Goshen Scout Reservation in Goshen, 

Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a 

consent order to National Capital Area Council, BSA to 

address noncompliance with State Water Control Law. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Tamara Ambler will accept 

comments by email at tamara.ambler@deq.virginia.gov, FAX 

at (540) 574-7878, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Valley Regional Office, P.O. Box 

3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, from October 17, 2016, to 

November 17, 2016. 

Proposed Consent Order for Robert Woodall 
Chevrolet 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Robert Woodall 

Chevrolet for violations of the State Water Control Law and 

regulation in the City of Danville, Virginia. The State Water 

Control Board proposes to issue a consent order to Robert 

Woodall Chevrolet to resolve violations regarding a 

petroleum spill that occurred in the automobile repair shop. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. G. Marvin Booth, III will 

accept comments by email at 

marvin.booth@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (434) 582-5125, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 7705 

Timberlake Road, Lynchburg, VA 24502 from October 17, 

2016, to November 17, 2016. 

Public Comment Period and Public Meeting - 
FY 2017 Virginia Clean Water Revolving Loan Fund 

Intended Use Plan and Project Priority List 

Introduction: Section 606(c) of the Water Quality Act of 1987 

requires the state to develop an Intended Use Plan (IUP) that 

identifies the uses of its Clean Water Revolving Loan Fund 

and to prepare a list of projects targeted for financial 

assistance with those funds. Following public comment and 

final board action, the list of targeted projects for financial 

assistance becomes the State's yearly clean water revolving 

loan project priority list (PPL) in the IUP. 

FY 2017 program development: On June 1, 2016, the staff 

solicited applications from the Commonwealth's localities and 

wastewater authorities as well as potential stormwater 

management, living shoreline projects, land conservation and 

Brownfield remediation clientele. July 15, 2016, was 

established as the deadline for receiving applications. Based 

on this solicitation, DEQ received 24 wastewater 

improvement applications requesting $126,677,274, one 

application for a stormwater management project for 

$4,307,361; and one living shorelines application for an 

additional $250,000, bringing the total amount requested to 

$131,234,635. 

All 24 wastewater applications were evaluated in accordance 

with the program's funding distribution criteria. In keeping 

with the program objectives and funding prioritization 

criteria, the staff reviewed project type and impact on state 

waters, the locality's compliance history and fiscal stress, and 

the project's readiness to proceed. The one stormwater 

application was reviewed in accordance with the board's 

priority ranking criteria for stormwater projects. Living 

shoreline projects are not ranked. All wastewater and 

stormwater applications are considered to be of good quality 

and should provide significant water quality and 

environmental improvement. 

The list of applications in Attachment A of the document 

linked below is shown by project type in priority funding 

order based on the board's prioritization criteria. Note that 

each project type (wastewater and stormwater) has separate 

priority ranking point systems that are not intended to be 

numerically compared from one type to the other. All 

applications are considered to be of good quality and should 

provide significant water quality and environmental 

improvement. Based on these considerations, on September 

22 the board approved the staff recommendation to target 

funding for $131,234,635 for all 26 projects as shown on 

Attachment B of the document linked below and present the 

proposed PPL and IUP for public comment. 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:stephanie.bellotti@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:jennifer.coleman@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:tamara.ambler@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:marvin.booth@deq.virginia.gov
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The list of applications and the target funding list are 

available at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water 

/CleanWaterFinancingAssistance/FY2017AnnualSolicitation.

aspx. 

Public Participation: The board is presenting its draft list of 

targeted FY 2017 loan recipients and Intended Use Plan for 

public review and comment. A public meeting will be held at 

2 p.m., Monday, October 24 at the Department of 

Environmental Quality, 11th Floor Conference Room, 629 

East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. The public 

review and comment period will end immediately following 

the public meeting. Comments or questions should be 

directed to the DEQ contact person listed below. Written 

comments should include the name, address, and telephone 

number of the commenter. 

Contact Information: Walter Gills, Clean Water Financing 

and Assistance Program, Department of Environmental 

Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 698-4133, or email walter.gills@deq.virginia.gov. 

Public Comment Period - Proposed Revisions to the 
Stormwater Local Assistance Fund Guidelines 

On behalf of the State Water Control Board, the Department 

of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is presenting draft revisions 

to the Stormwater Local Assistance Fund (SLAF) Guidelines 

for public review and comment. The public review and 

comment period ends November 1, 2016. 

The fund, which provides matching grants to local 

governments for the implementation of stormwater best 

management practices, was created by the General Assembly 

in 2013, and the board approved the original SLAF 

Guidelines September 30, 2013. The General Assembly 

recently amended the Code of Virginia to expand SLAF 

eligibility to include the acquisition of non-point source 

nutrient credits, which necessitated revisions to the SLAF 

Guidelines. DEQ staff determined that additional changes 

would be beneficial to improve the SLAF program during this 

revision process. 

The draft revisions to the guidelines and the memo to the 

board highlighting the changes are now available for public 

review and comment at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/programs/water/cleanwaterFinan

cingAssistance.aspx. 

Public comments may be submitted through November 1, 

2016. 

All written comments or questions should include the name, 

address, and telephone number of the commenter and be 

directed to the contact person below. 

Contact Information: Walter Gills, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4133, or email 

walter.gills@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 

Waste Management Board conducted a small business impact 

review of 9VAC20-190, Litter Receptacle Regulations, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Virginia Waste Management Board is 

publishing its report of findings dated September 12, 2016, to 

support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 

Code of Virginia. 

This regulation continues to be needed to protect human 

health and the environment. This regulation requires litter 

receptacles to be placed and maintained for the public to use. 

These receptacles are a critical component of the prevention 

of litter in the Commonwealth. Without these receptacles, the 

public would have no place to deposit their trash while in 

public. This would potentially lead to an increase in littering 

in the Commonwealth and associated negative impacts to 

human health and the environment.  

Comments received during the public comment period for the 

periodic review of this regulation were only received from the 

James City Clean County Commission. The commission was 

concerned with three key issues, cigarette butt disposal 

containers, the need for additional litter receptacles due to 

receptacles being full, and additional requirements for litter 

containers and a portable toilet at construction sites. The 

regulations address the minimum requirements for litter 

receptacles, including placement and maintenance of these 

receptacles. Enforcement of this regulation is conducted by 

local law enforcement. The Code of Virginia directs the 

Virginia Waste Management Board to adopt regulations 

containing guidelines for the use of litter receptacles in public 

places. Virginia is a diverse state, and this regulation provides 

minimum standards for the placement of litter receptacles. 

Some localities may experience more challenges with 

preventing litter than others. Localities may choose to impose 

requirements that are more stringent than these requirements 

to address local issues with litter. Enforcement of this 

regulation is conducted by local law enforcement, and 

localities are able to implement additional measures to 

address specific litter issues in their communities.  

This regulation is not complex. It requires placement of litter 

receptacles at certain places throughout the Commonwealth. 

In most cases the regulation requires a minimum of one litter 

receptacle to be placed at locations where litter needs to be 

deposited to prevent it from being improperly discarded. The 

regulation allows the entity that is required to provide and 

maintain litter receptacles the ability to decide the appropriate 

number of litter receptacles needed to collect the litter and the 

frequency for them to be emptied.  

This regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 

any state law or other state regulation.  

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/CleanWaterFinancingAssistance/FY2017AnnualSolicitation.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/CleanWaterFinancingAssistance/FY2017AnnualSolicitation.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/CleanWaterFinancingAssistance/FY2017AnnualSolicitation.aspx
mailto:walter.gills@deq.virginia.gov
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A periodic review was last conducted on this regulation in 

2012. Since that time, changes to technology and economic 

conditions have not impacted this regulation.  

The Director of the Department of Environmental Quality, on 

behalf of the Virginia Waste Management Board, 

recommends that this regulation be retained. As currently 

written, the regulation meets the requirements of state law 

while minimizing the impacts on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Policy Analyst, 

Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX (804) 

698-4019, or email melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code Sections 

Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing regulation 

sections that have been amended, added, or repealed in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations were 

originally published or last supplemented in the print version of 

the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-72. Standards for Licensed 

Assisted Living Facilities. 

Publication: 33:2 VA.R. 259-260 September 19, 2016. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 259, Effective Date, change to read "November 15, 

2016." 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4734; Filed September 29, 2016, 10:13 a.m. 
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