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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair; Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. Hopkins; Leslie L. Lilley; 

E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; 

Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Mark J. Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

December 2016 through February 2018 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

33:9 December 7, 2016 December 26, 2016 

33:10 December 19, 2016 (Monday) January 9, 2017 

33:11 January 4, 2017 January 23, 2017 

33:12 January 18, 2017 February 6, 2017 

33:13 February 1, 2017 February 20, 2017 

33:14 February 15, 2017 March 6, 2017 

33:15 March 1, 2017 March 20, 2017 

33:16 March 15, 2017 April 3, 2017 

33:17 March 29, 2017 April 17, 2017 

33:18 April 12, 2017 May 1, 2017 

33:19 April 26, 2017 May 15, 2017 

33:20 May 10, 2017 May 29, 2017 

33:21 May 24, 2017 June 12, 2017 

33:22 June 7, 2017 June 26, 2017 

33:23 June 21, 2017 July 10, 2017 

33:24 July 5, 2017 July 24, 2017 

33:25 July 19, 2017 August 7, 2017 

33:26 August 2, 2017 August 21, 2017 

34:1 August 16, 2017 September 4, 2017 

34:2 August 30, 2017 September 18, 2017 

34:3 September 13, 2017 October 2, 2017 

34:4 September 27, 2017 October 16, 2017 

34:5 October 11, 2017 October 30, 2017 

34:6 October 25, 2017 November 13, 2017 

34:7 November 8, 2017 November 27, 2017 

34:8 November 21, 2017 (Tuesday) December 11, 2017 

34:9 December 6, 2017 December 25, 2017 

34:10 December 19, 2017 (Tuesday) January 8, 2018 

34:11 January 3, 2018 January 22, 2018 

34:12 January 17, 2018 February 5, 2018 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 

Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-20, 

Administration of Medical Assistance Services. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to promulgate a regulation 

related to reconsideration of a final agency decision in 

accordance with Chapter 694 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 2.2-4023.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 25, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4817; Filed December 6, 2016, 2:46 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-

50, Amount, Duration, and Scope of Medical and 

Remedial Care and Services. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to permit the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services to cover low-dose computed tomography (LDCT) 

screenings for high-risk adults as a preventive service, 

thereby enabling the department to help make further 

reductions in lung cancer morbidity and mortality. 

Additionally, the action will align the regulation with 

established federal recommendations that support LDCT 

screening. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC §1396 et seq. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 25, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, Policy Division, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4949; Filed December 6, 2016, 2:48 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-

120, Waivered Services. The purpose of the proposed action 

is to ensure that Medicaid authorization and reimbursement 

for consumer-directed personal care, respite, and companion 

services is limited to 40 hours per week for an attendant 

serving a single consumer, in accordance with Item 306 PPPP 

of Chapter 780 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 2016 

Appropriation Act. This action will also clarify that the limit 

will not be applied to live-in attendants consistent with the 

U.S. Department of Labor's requirements under the Fair 

Labor Standards Act, as set out in Fact Sheet 79B. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 25, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4749; Filed December 6, 2016, 2:49 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC30-105. Regulations Banning 

Concealed Firearms in Offices Owned or Occupied by 

Executive Branch Agencies (adding 1VAC30-105-10 

through 1VAC30-105-80).  

Statutory Authority: § 2.2-1102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 27, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Rhonda Bishton, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of General Services, 1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3311, FAX (804) 

371-8305, or email rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulation prohibits concealed firearms in offices and 

workplace facilities under the ownership, lease, or control 

of an executive branch agency and includes a requirement 

for posting signs to this effect.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 105 

REGULATIONS BANNING CONCEALED FIREARMS IN 

OFFICES OWNED OR OCCUPIED BY EXECUTIVE 

BRANCH AGENCIES 

1VAC30-105-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to ban the carrying of 

concealed firearms in offices occupied by executive branch 

agencies, with certain exceptions as set forth herein.  

1VAC30-105-20. Applicability. 

A. This chapter applies to all buildings owned, leased, or 

controlled in whole or in part by or for an executive branch 

agency. This chapter is intended to be consistent with the 

Virginia Department of Human Resource Management Policy 

1.80 – Workplace Violence, which prohibits state employees 

from possessing, brandishing, or using a weapon that is not 

required by the employee's position while on state premises 

or engaged in state business.  

B. This chapter applies to the concealed carrying of 

firearms; the Department of General Services has issued a 

guidance document elsewhere prohibiting the open carrying 

of firearms. 

C. The prohibition against carrying a concealed firearm does 

not apply to law-enforcement officers, authorized security 

personnel, or military personnel when such individuals are 

authorized to carry a firearm in accordance with their duties 

and when they are carrying the firearm within that authority. 

It also does not apply to state employees where the 

employee's position requires carrying a concealed firearm. 

D. This chapter does not apply to individuals who are on 

public hunting lands, are engaged in lawful hunting, and are 

in compliance with the Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries hunting and trapping regulations found in 4VAC15, 

regarding allowable firearms and hunting license 

requirements. 

1VAC30-105-30. Definitions. 

"Authorized security personnel" means a natural person who 

is employed to (i) perform the functions of observation, 

detection, reporting, or notification of appropriate authorities 

or designated agents regarding persons or property on the 

premises he is assigned to protect; (ii) safeguard and protect 

persons and property; or (iii) deter theft, loss, or concealment 

of any tangible or intangible personal property on the 

premises he is assigned to protect. 

"Concealed firearm" means a firearm hidden from common 

observation, including a firearm hidden when it is observable 

but is of such deceptive appearance as to disguise the 

firearm's true nature.  

"Executive branch agency" means any administrative unit of 

state government in the executive branch, including any 

department, institution, commission, board, council, 

authority, or other body, however designated. 

"Firearm" means any handgun, pistol, revolver, or other 

weapon designed or intended to propel a missile of any kind 

by action of an explosion of any combustible material. 

"Law-enforcement officer" means the same as that term is 

defined in § 18.2-307.1 of the Code of Virginia. This shall 

also include retired law-enforcement officers certified 

pursuant to § 18.2-308.016 of the Code of Virginia. 

"State office" means any building or portion of a building 

owned, leased, or controlled by or for an executive branch 

agency. This includes that portion of any building open to 

others and then used exclusively for functions or activities 

sponsored by an executive branch agency tenant or tenants 

while such functions are taking place. It shall not include 

parking facilities, lodges or cabins owned by the 

Commonwealth and used solely for the public for recreational 

activities, any buildings that serve as living quarters for 
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Commonwealth employees, or any buildings at a rest area on 

an interstate highway.  

1VAC30-105-40. Possession of firearms prohibited. 

Possession or carrying of any concealed firearm by any 

person is prohibited in state offices. Entry upon a state office 

in violation of this prohibition is expressly forbidden. This 

prohibition does not apply to law-enforcement officers, 

authorized security personnel, or military personnel when 

such individuals are authorized to carry a firearm in 

accordance with their duties and when they are carrying the 

firearm within that authority. It also does not apply to state 

employees where the employee's position requires carrying a 

concealed firearm.  

1VAC30-105-50. Required lease terms for state offices. 

All leases entered into where an executive branch agency is 

the lessor shall contain a prohibition on concealed firearms 

consistent with this chapter. All leases entered into for the 

benefit of an executive branch agency shall contain this 

prohibition to indicate the lessor's acknowledgment. 

Exceptions may be allowed where approved in writing by the 

Governor or his designee. 

1VAC30-105-60. Posting of signs. 

A. Posting location. Signs shall be posted at all state offices 

indicating the prohibition against carrying concealed firearms. 

Where the entire premises are owned or occupied by an 

executive branch agency, signs shall be displayed at every 

entrance. Where only a portion of the premises are leased for 

an executive branch agency, the signs shall be displayed 

within the leased space. If an executive branch agency is 

using an office open to others, temporary signs shall be 

displayed at or near the entry to the office during the time the 

office is being used exclusively for Commonwealth 

sponsored functions or activities while such functions are 

taking place. 

B. Size and design. Signs shall be of a size and design 

approved by the Department of General Services. Agencies 

shall be responsible for obtaining signage design from the 

Department of General Services and for posting of the signs. 

1VAC30-105-70. Enforcement. 

The occupying agency shall be responsible for enforcing this 

chapter. 

1VAC30-105-80. Exemptions. 

A. A state institution of higher education is exempt from this 

chapter if the institution has implemented its own policies or 

regulations governing firearms. 

B. Members of the Virginia National Guard (the guard) who 

possess a valid concealed handgun permit shall be exempt 

from this chapter while at facilities owned by the guard or 

under contract or lease to the guard. This exemption may be 

withdrawn by the commanding officer of any member while 

such member is participating in any training or other 

exercises where the commanding officer determines that (i) 

such possession would interfere with the conduct of such 

training or other exercises, (ii) such possession may result in 

mission impairment, or (iii) the member is unfit to carry a 

handgun. 

C. The Governor or his designee may otherwise grant 

exemptions from the requirements of this chapter. To qualify 

for an exemption, the applying executive branch agency must 

show that an alternative policy consistent with the 

Commonwealth's policy against firearms in state offices is 

appropriate. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4572; Filed December 6, 2016, 4:36 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Education is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 

agency discretion is involved. The State Board of Education 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-22. Licensure Regulations for 

School Personnel (amending 8VAC20-22-40, 8VAC20-22-

110).  

Statutory Authority: § 22.1-298.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 25, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Morris, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Education, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2117, or email 

elizabeth.morris@doe.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 649 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendment requires every person seeking initial licensure 

or renewal of a license to complete awareness training on 

the indicators of dyslexia and the evidence-based 

interventions and accommodations for dyslexia. 

8VAC20-22-40. Conditions for licensure. 

A. Applicants for licensure must: 

1. Be at least 18 years of age; 

2. Pay the appropriate fees as determined by the Board of 

Education and complete the application process; 

3. Have earned a baccalaureate degree (with the exception 

of the Technical Professional License) from a regionally 

accredited institution of higher education and meet 

requirements for the license sought. Persons seeking initial 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 26, 2016 

872 

licensure who graduate from Virginia institutions of higher 

education shall only be licensed as instructional personnel 

by the Board of Education if the endorsement areas offered 

at such institutions have been assessed by a national 

accrediting agency or by a state approval process with final 

approval by the Board of Education; and 

4. Possess good moral character (free of conditions 

outlined in Part VII (8VAC20-22-690 et seq.) of this 

chapter). 

B. All candidates who hold at least a baccalaureate degree 

from a regionally accredited college or university and who 

seek an initial Virginia teaching license must obtain passing 

scores on professional teacher's assessments prescribed by the 

Board of Education. With the exception of the career switcher 

program that requires assessments as prerequisites, 

individuals must complete the professional teacher's 

assessments within the three-year validity of the initial 

provisional license. Candidates seeking a Technical 

Professional License, the International License, the School 

Manager License, or the Pupil Personnel Services License are 

not required to take the professional teacher's assessments. 

Individuals who hold a valid out-of-state license (full 

credential with no deficiencies) and who have completed a 

minimum of three years of full-time, successful teaching 

experience in a public or accredited nonpublic school 

(kindergarten through grade 12) in a state other than Virginia 

are exempted from the professional teacher's assessment 

requirements. 

C. All individuals seeking an initial endorsement in 

early/primary education preK-3, elementary education preK-

6, special education-general curriculum, special education-

hearing disorders, special education-visual impairments and 

individuals seeking an endorsement as a reading specialist 

must obtain passing scores on a reading instructional 

assessment prescribed by the Board of Education. 

D. Licensure by reciprocity is set forth in 8VAC20-22-100. 

A school leader's assessment prescribed by the Board of 

Education must be met for all individuals who are seeking an 

initial endorsement authorizing them to serve as principals 

and assistant principals in the public schools. Individuals 

seeking an initial administration and supervision endorsement 

who are interested in serving as central office instructional 

personnel are not required to take and pass the school leaders 

assessment prescribed by the Board of Education. 

E. Individuals seeking initial licensure must demonstrate 

proficiency in the use of educational technology for 

instruction, complete study in child abuse recognition and 

intervention in accordance with curriculum guidelines 

developed by the Board of Education in consultation with the 

Department of Social Services, and receive professional 

development in instructional methods tailored to promote 

student academic progress and effective preparation for the 

Standards of Learning end-of-course and end-of-grade 

assessments. 

F. Every person seeking initial licensure of a license shall 

provide evidence of completion of certification or training in 

emergency first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and the 

use of automated external defibrillators. The certification or 

training program shall be based on the current national 

evidenced-based emergency cardiovascular care guidelines 

for cardiopulmonary resuscitation and the use of an 

automated external defibrillator, such as a program developed 

by the American Heart Association or the American Red 

Cross. The Virginia Board of Education shall provide a 

waiver for this requirement for any person with a disability 

whose disability prohibits such person from completing the 

certification or training. 

G. Every teacher seeking an initial license in the 

Commonwealth with an endorsement in the area of career and 

technical education shall have an industry certification 

credential, as defined in 8VAC20-22-10, in the area in which 

the teacher seeks endorsement. If a teacher seeking an initial 

license in the Commonwealth has not attained an industry 

certification credential in the area in which the teacher seeks 

endorsement, the board may, upon request of the employing 

school division or educational agency, issue the teacher a 

provisional license to allow time for the teacher to attain such 

credential. 

H. Effective July 1, 2017, every person seeking initial 

licensure or renewal of a license shall complete awareness 

training, provided by the Department of Education, on the 

indicators of dyslexia, as that term is defined by the board 

pursuant to regulations, and the evidence-based interventions 

and accommodations for dyslexia. 

8VAC20-22-110. Requirements for renewing a license. 

A. The Division Superintendent, Postgraduate Professional, 

Collegiate Professional, Technical Professional, Pupil 

Personnel Services, and School Manager Licenses may be 

renewed upon the completion of 180 professional 

development points within a five-year validity period based 

on an individualized professional development plan that 

includes ongoing, sustained, and high-quality professional 

development. Every person seeking renewal of a license shall 

complete all renewal requirements, including professional 

development in a manner prescribed by the board, except that 

no person seeking renewal of a license shall be required to 

satisfy any such requirement by completing coursework and 

earning credit at an institution of higher education. 

B. Virginia public school divisions and public education 

agencies must report annually to the Department of Education 

that instructional personnel have completed high quality 

professional development each year as set forth by the 

Virginia Department of Education. 

C. Any individual licensed and endorsed to teach (i) middle 

school civics or economics or (ii) high school government or 

history who is seeking renewal of such license is required to 

demonstrate knowledge of Virginia history or state and local 

government by completing a module or professional 
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development course specifically related to Virginia history or 

state and local government that has a value of five 

professional development points. This requirement applies for 

purposes of the individual's next or initial renewal occurring 

after July 1, 2014. 

D. Every person seeking renewal of a license shall provide 

evidence of completion of certification or training in 

emergency first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and the 

use of automated external defibrillators. The certification or 

training program shall be based on the current national 

evidenced-based emergency cardiovascular care guidelines 

for cardiopulmonary resuscitation and the use of an 

automated external defibrillator, such as a program developed 

by the American Heart Association or the American Red 

Cross. The Virginia Board of Education shall provide a 

waiver for this requirement for any person with a disability 

whose disability prohibits such person from completing the 

certification or training. 

E. Effective July 1, 2017, every person seeking renewal of a 

license shall complete awareness training, provided by the 

Department of Education, on the indicators of dyslexia, as 

that term is defined by the board pursuant to regulations, and 

the evidence-based interventions and accommodations for 

dyslexia. 

E. F. Professional development points may be accrued by 

the completion of professional development activities to 

improve and increase instructional personnel's knowledge of 

the academic subjects the teachers teach or the area assigned 

from one or more of the following eight options. 

1. College credit. Acceptable coursework offers content 

that provides new information and is offered on-campus, 

off-campus, or through extension by any regionally 

accredited two-year or four-year college or university. 

College coursework must develop further experiences in 

subject content taught, teaching strategies, uses of 

technologies, leadership, and other essential elements in 

teaching to high standards and increasing student learning. 

Instructional personnel must complete coursework to 

improve and increase the knowledge of the academic 

subjects or endorsement areas in which they are assigned. 

No person seeking renewal of a license shall be required to 

complete coursework and earn credit at an institution of 

higher education. 

2. Professional conference. A professional conference is a 

workshop, institute, or seminar of four or more hours that 

contributes to ongoing, sustained, and high-quality 

professional development. 

3. Curriculum development. Curriculum development is a 

group activity in which the license holder contributes to the 

improvement of the curriculum of a school, a school 

division, or an education institution in the teaching area 

assigned. This includes the alignment of curriculum 

frameworks, instructional materials, and assessments to 

provide a system with clear expectations of what is to be 

taught and learned. 

4. Publication of article. The article must contribute to the 

education profession or to the body of knowledge of the 

license holder's teaching area or instructional position. 

Grant reports that present the results of educational 

research are acceptable provided the license holder had an 

active role in planning, analyzing, interpreting, 

demonstrating, disseminating, or evaluating the study or 

innovation. The article must be published in a recognized 

professional journal. 

5. Publication of book. Books must be published for 

purchase and must contribute to the education profession 

or to the body of knowledge of the license holder's 

teaching area or instructional position. The published book 

must increase the field of content knowledge, planning and 

assessment for evaluating and providing students with 

feedback that encourages student progress and measures 

student achievement, instruction, safety and learning 

environment, communication and community relations 

working with students, parents, and members of the 

community to promote broad support for student learning. 

Points will not be awarded for books self-published. 

6. Mentorship. Mentoring is the process by which an 

experienced professional, who has received mentorship 

training, provides assistance to one or more persons for the 

purpose of improving their performance. Assistance may 

involve role modeling, direct instruction, demonstration, 

observation with feedback, developing of plans, and 

consultation to promote instructional excellence and 

increased student achievement. Mentoring may include the 

supervision of a field experience of a preservice student 

teacher or an intern in an approved teacher/principal 

preparation program, as well as mentoring as part of the 

induction process for a beginning teacher or a first-year 

administrator. Individuals serving in this role and 

submitting documentation for license renewal based on the 

mentorship option shall receive training as a mentor prior 

to the assignment and at least once during the five-year 

renewal cycle. 

7. Educational project. Educational projects must be 

planned, focused projects based on high standards of 

teaching and learning. Projects must result in a written 

report or other tangible product. Projects must contribute to 

the education profession or to the body of knowledge of 

the license holder's teaching area or instructional position. 

A project could include participation in new professional 

responsibilities, such as leading a school improvement 

initiative. 

8. Professional development activity. Professional 

development activities must focus on student learning and 

achievement, schoolwide educational improvement, 

leadership, subject content, teaching strategies, and use of 

technologies and other essential elements in teaching to 
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high standards. Activities must be planned, rigorous, 

systematic, and promote continuous inquiry and reflection. 

Local employing educational agencies are encouraged to 

design professional development activities that are 

conducted in school settings and linked to student learning 

and achievement. 

F. G. Points may be accrued by activities drawn from one or 

more of the eight renewal options. Renewal work is designed 

to provide licensed personnel with opportunities for 

professional development relative to the grade levels or 

teaching fields to which they are assigned or for which they 

seek an added endorsement. Such professional development 

encompasses (i) responsible remediation of any area of an 

individual's knowledge or skills that fail to meet the standards 

of competency and (ii) responsible efforts to increase the 

individual's knowledge of new developments in his field and 

to respond to new curricular demands within the person's area 

of professional competence. 

G. H. The proposed work toward renewal in certain options 

must be approved in advance by the chief executive officer or 

designee of the employing educational agency. Persons who 

are not employed by an educational agency may renew or 

reinstate their license by submitting to the Office of 

Professional Licensure, Department of Education, their 

individualized renewal record and verification of points, 

including official student transcripts of coursework taken at 

an accredited two-year or four-year college or university. 

H. I. Accrual of professional development points shall be 

determined by criteria set forth by the Virginia Department of 

Education. 

I. J. Persons seeking license renewal as teachers must 

demonstrate proficiency in the use of educational technology 

for instruction. 

J. K. Virginia school divisions and nonpublic schools will 

recommend renewal of licenses using the renewal point 

system. The renewal recommendation must include 

verification of demonstrated proficiency in the use of 

educational technology for instruction. 

K. L. Training in instructional methods tailored to promote 

academic progress and effective preparation for the Standards 

of Learning tests and end-of-grade assessments is required for 

licensure renewal. 

L. M. If they have not already met the requirement, persons 

seeking licensure renewal as teachers must complete study in 

child abuse recognition and intervention in accordance with 

curriculum guidelines developed by the Board of Education 

in consultation with the Department of Social Services that 

are relevant to the specific teacher licensure routes. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4940; Filed November 29, 2016, 1:36 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-20. Administration of 

Medical Assistance Services (adding 12VAC30-20-570).  

Statutory Authority: § 2.2-4023.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: December 6, 2016, through June 5, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 

which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or 

federal law or federal regulation requires that a regulation 

be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, and the 

regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 

A 4 of the Code of Virginia. Chapter 694 of the 2016 Acts 

of Assembly, which enacted § 2.2-4023.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, establishes a reconsideration process by which 

appellants may petition the agency director to reconsider 

the final agency decision made pursuant to the § 2.2-4020 

of the Code of Virginia. Chapter 694 specifically 

authorizes the agency to promulgate emergency 

regulations to specify the scope of the reconsideration 

review. This emergency regulation adding 12VAC30-20-

570 is needed to accomplish the goal of establishing and 

defining the scope of review for reconsiderations 

conducted in accordance with § 2.2-4023.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. The reconsideration shall not authorize the 

reopening of the formal administrative hearing or 

acceptance of evidence or testimony not part of the record 

of the case in accordance with 1st Stop Health Services v. 

DMAS, 63 Va. App. 266, 756 S.E.2d 183 (2014).  

This regulatory action is essential to protect the health, 

safety, and welfare of citizens by ensuring the integrity of 

the Department of Medical Assistance Services appeals 

process by ensuring that it is in accordance with the Code 

of Virginia so that individuals and providers may 

challenge health care determinations made by the state 

Medicaid agency. 

Prior to the enactment of § 2.2-4023.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, there was no process by which an appellant 

could petition the agency director to reconsider a final 

agency case decision made pursuant to § 2.2-4020 of the 

Code of Virginia.   
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12VAC30-20-570. Reconsideration of final agency 

decision. 

A. Reconsiderations of a DMAS final appeal decision issued 

on a formal appeal conducted pursuant to § 2.2-4020 of the 

Code of Virginia shall be conducted in accordance with § 2.2-

4023.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The DMAS director's review shall be made upon the case 

record of the formal appeal. Testimony or documentary 

submissions that were not part of the formal appeal case 

record prior to issuance of the final agency decision shall not 

be considered.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4817; Filed December 6, 2016, 2:46 p.m.  

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and 

Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (amending 

12VAC30-50-220).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC §1396 et seq. 

Effective Dates: December 6, 2016, through June 5, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, Policy Division, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 

which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or 

federal law or federal regulation requires that a regulation 

be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, and the 

regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 

A 4 of the Code of Virginia. Item 306 OOOO of Chapter 

780 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 2016 Appropriation 

Act, directs the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) to cover low-dose computed tomography lung 

cancer screenings for high-risk adults. The amendments 

conform the regulation to this requirement. 

12VAC30-50-220. Other diagnostic Diagnostic, screening, 

preventive, and rehabilitative services, i.e., other than 

those provided elsewhere in this plan.  

A. Diagnostic services are provided but only when 

necessary to confirm a diagnosis.  

B. Screening services.  

1. Screening mammograms for the female recipient 

population aged 35 and over shall be covered, consistent 

with the guidelines published by the American Cancer 

Society.  

2. Screening PSA (prostate specific antigen) and the 

related DRE (digital rectal examination) for males shall be 

covered, consistent with the guidelines published by the 

American Cancer Society.  

3. Screening Pap smears shall be covered annually for 

females, consistent with the guidelines published by the 

American Cancer Society.  

4. Screening services for colorectal cancer, specifically 

screening with an annual fecal occult blood test, flexible 

sigmoidoscopy or colonoscopy, or in appropriate 

circumstances radiologic imaging, in accordance with the 

most recently published recommendations established by 

the American College of Gastroenterology, in consultation 

with the American Cancer Society, for the ages, family 

histories, and frequencies referenced in such 

recommendations.  

5. Low-dose computed tomography lung cancer screening 

shall be covered annually for individuals between the ages 

of 55 years and 79 years who are current smokers, have 

quit smoking within the last 15 years, or have a history of 

smoking at least one pack of cigarettes per day for 30 or 

more years.  

C. Maternity length of stay and early discharge.  

1. If the mother and newborn, or the newborn alone, are 

discharged earlier than 48 hours after the day of delivery, 

DMAS will cover one early discharge follow-up visit as 

recommended by the physicians in accordance with and as 

indicated by the "Guidelines for Perinatal Care," 4th 

Edition, August 1997, as developed by the American 

Academy of Pediatrics and the American College of 

Obstetricians and Gynecologists. The mother and newborn, 

or the newborn alone if the mother has not been 

discharged, must meet the criteria for early discharge to be 

eligible for the early discharge follow-up visit. This early 

discharge follow-up visit does not affect or apply to any 

usual postpartum or well-baby care or any other covered 

care to which the mother or newborn is entitled; it is tied 

directly to an early discharge.  

2. The early discharge follow-up visit must be provided as 

directed by a physician. The physician may coordinate 

with the provider of his choice to provide the early 

discharge follow-up visit, within the following limitations. 

Qualified providers are those hospitals, physicians, nurse 

midwives, nurse practitioners, federally qualified health 

clinics, rural health clinics, and health departments' clinics 

that are enrolled as Medicaid providers and are qualified 

by the appropriate state authority for delivery of the 

service. The staff providing the follow-up visit, at a 

minimum, must be a registered nurse having training and 

experience in maternal and child health. The visit must be 

provided within 48 hours of discharge.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4949; Filed December 6, 2016, 2:48 p.m.  
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Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-135. Demonstration Waiver 

Services (adding 12VAC30-135-400 through 12VAC30-

135-498).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia 

Section; 42 USC § 1396 et seq. and 42 USC § 1315. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 24, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 

Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) to administer and amend the Plan for Medical 

Assistance according to the board's requirements. The 

Medicaid authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 

Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority 

for payments for services. Section 1115 of the Social Security 

Act (42 USC § 1315) provides authority for DMAS to create 

a demonstration program of limited services that waives 

certain designated federal Medicaid requirements, and DMAS 

has secured federal approval, with the concomitant federal 

funding, to waive the following standard Title XIX 

requirements to implement this program: 

1. Amount, Duration, and Scope of Services – Section 

1902(a)(10)(B) allowing Virginia to offer individuals in the 

Governor's Access Plan Demonstration Waiver for 

Individuals with Serious Mental Illness (GAP) a benefit 

package that differs from the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance. 

2. Freedom of Choice – Section 1902(a)(23)(A) (42 CFR 

431.51) allowing Virginia the flexibility to assign program 

individuals to the most appropriate program provider partner 

for peer supports GAP case management, including allowing 

Virginia to provide different delivery systems for the 

population under this demonstration for peer supports. 

3. Reasonable Promptness – Section 1902(a)(8) allowing 

Virginia to limit enrollment via modification to eligibility 

thresholds. Section 1902(a)(8) provides that all individuals 

wishing to make application for medical assistance under the 

plan shall have opportunity to do so, and that such assistance 

shall be furnished with reasonable promptness to all eligible 

individuals; 

4. Methods of Administration – Transportation – Section 

1902(a)(4) insofar as it incorporates 42 CFR 431.53 allowing 

Virginia, to the extent necessary, to not provide 

nonemergency transportation to and from providers for 

individuals. 

5. Retroactive Eligibility – DMAS is waiving the 

requirements of § 1902(a)(34) (42 CFR 435.914) regarding 

retroactive eligibility for demonstration participation.  

This action complies with the legislative mandates set out in 

the Item 306 XXX of Chapter 780 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly, effective July 1, 2016, as well as the Governor's 

original directive to DMAS. 

Purpose: This program proposes to provide individuals who 

have diagnoses of serious mental illness access to some basic 

medical and behavioral health services. The three main goals 

of this initiative are (i) improve access to health care for a 

segment of the uninsured population in Virginia who have 

significant behavioral and medical needs; (ii) improve health 

and behavioral health outcomes of demonstration 

participants; and (iii) serve as a bridge to closing the 

insurance coverage gap for uninsured Virginians.  

This program was originally proposed to provide uninsured 

individuals who have diagnoses of serious mental illness 

access to medical and behavioral health care in order to 

improve their health and lives in their families and 

communities. 

Substance: The regulations that are affected by this action are 

the Governor's Access Plan Demonstration Waiver for 

Individuals with Serious Mental Illness (12VAC30-135-400). 

On September 5, 2014, DMAS submitted a request to the 

Governor requesting his approval pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of 

the Code of Virginia to promulgate emergency regulations to 

address the emergency. In the letter, DMAS Director Cynthia 

B. Jones stated the following: 

"It has come to our attention that the lack of health 

insurance coverage for approximately one half of the 

population of the Commonwealth has created an urgent 

situation that necessitates the implementation of 

emergency regulations to speedily address the significant 

medical needs of Virginia's uninsured population. 

The primary concern is the need for accessible mental 

health care for Virginians who suffer with serious mental 

illness. It is estimated that about 308,000 Virginia adults 

have experienced a serious mental illness (SMI) during the 

past year. Of that number, approximately 54,000 are 

uninsured. While these individuals face profound 

difficulties in accessing treatment, almost half of them also 

have a co-occurring substance use disorders and have 

increased risk for medical conditions such as diabetes, 

heart disease and obesity. The average lifespan of an 

individual with SMI is 25 years shorter than those without. 

More importantly, Virginia's recent history with the 

shootings at Virginia Tech, and the tragedy experienced by 

State Senator Creigh Deeds, point to the dire consequences 

that may arise from the lack of effective treatment of SMI. 

Providing persons with SMI access to behavioral health 
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and needed medical services would help prevent the 

reoccurrence of such tragedies, and it would provide a 

means for such individuals to recover and participate fully 

in the community." 

The emergency regulations were approved, and this action is 

to promulgate replacement regulations.  

The proposed demonstration waiver program uses an income 

limit of 80% of the federal poverty level on the incomes of 

persons applying for this assistance. DMAS determines 

financial eligibility via its current modified adjusted gross 

income financial and household composition rules. This 

program also covers a wide range of medical and behavioral 

health services, including outpatient physician and clinic 

services, specialists, diagnostic procedures, laboratory 

procedures, and pharmacy services.  

The proposed regulation provides uninsured individuals who 

have diagnoses of serious mental illness access to medical 

and behavioral health care to improve their health and lives in 

their families and communities. Uninsured individuals, who 

have diagnoses of serious mental illness, can have profound 

difficulties accessing basic medical and behavioral health 

services, including prescription medications, and often have 

co-morbidities of substance abuse and chronic health 

conditions. Such individuals often have reduced life spans as 

well as limited parenting capabilities and community (jobs, 

schooling) participation. 

Issues: There are no advantages or disadvantages to private 

citizens in this program. The advantage to uninsured citizens, 

who have diagnoses of serious mental illness, will be the 

accessing of basic health care and behavioral health care 

services, including prescriptions. Helping such affected 

individuals with these services will stabilize their lives, 

enabling them to parent and maintain employment, schooling, 

or both. The advantages to the agency, the Commonwealth, 

and the public are that the GAP program improves access to 

health care for a segment of the uninsured population in 

Virginia who have significant behavioral and medical needs, 

improves health and behavioral health outcomes of 

participants, and serves as a bridge to closing the insurance 

gap for uninsured Virginians.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. On 

behalf of the Board of Medical Assistance Services (Board), 

the Director of the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services (DMAS) proposes to promulgate a replacement for 

an emergency regulation that will expire December 29, 2016. 

This regulation, and the emergency regulation it replaces, sets 

rules for the Governor's Access Plan (GAP) Demonstration 

Waiver for Individuals with Serious Mental Illness (SMI) 

which provides specified medical benefits to uninsured 

individuals who meet specified mental health, financial and 

non-financial criteria. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 

ascertain whether benefits will outweigh costs for this 

proposed regulation. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The emergency regulation that 

implemented the GAP SMI program became effective 

January 1, 2015. The Director of DMAS now proposes this 

regulation which will replace the emergency regulation that is 

set to expire on December 29, 2016. This proposed 

regulation, and the emergency regulation that it replaces, sets 

requirements for seriously mentally ill individuals to receive a 

number of defined services that include insurance coverage 

for: 1) primary care office visits, 2) outpatient specialty care, 

3) outpatient hospital coverage (including observation and 

ambulatory diagnostic procedures), 4) outpatient laboratory 

tests, 5) outpatient pharmacy, 6) outpatient and behavioral 

telemedicine, 7) medical equipment and supplies for diabetes 

treatment, 8) outpatient psychiatric treatment, 9) GAP case 

management, 10) psychosocial rehabilitation assessment and 

treatment, 11) mental health crisis intervention and 

stabilization, 12) therapeutic or diagnostic injections, 13) 

outpatient substance abuse treatment and 14) intensive 

outpatient substance abuse treatment.
1
 

In order to receive these services, individuals must have 

household income that does not exceed 80% of the federal 

poverty level.
2
 These individuals must also have been 

diagnosed with one of the following serious mental illnesses: 

1) a schizophrenia spectrum disorder or other psychotic 

disorder (with the exception of substance/medication induced 

psychotic disorder), 2) major depressive disorder, 3) bipolar 

and related disorders (with the exception of cyclothymic 

disorder)
3
 or 4) post-traumatic stress disorder. They also must 

either 1) be expected to require services for an extended 

duration, 2) have undergone psychiatric treatment more 

intensive than outpatient care more than once in their lifetime 

or 3) have experienced an episode of continuous supportive 

residential care other than hospitalization for a long enough 

period that their normal living situation was significantly 

disrupted. 

In order to be eligible for the GAP SMI program, individuals 

must also be 1) between the ages of 21 and 64, 2) U.S. 

citizens or lawfully residing aliens, 3) residents of Virginia, 

4) uninsured and currently ineligible for any state or federal 

health insurance program and 5) not current residents of a 

nursing home, mental health facility or penal institution.
4
  

DMAS staff reports that, as of October 22, 2016, there are 

9,434 GAP SMI enrollees, that the per enrollee cost is $439 

per month and that total costs for this program were expected 

to be $38.2 million in fiscal year (FY)2016 and $58.6 million 

in FY2017. Virginia currently covers half the costs of this 

program and the federal government covers the other half. 

DMAS staff also reports that health care professionals who 

provide care to GAP SMI program participants would have to 

maintain standard health care records but that such 

professionals are unlikely to incur additional costs they are 
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not already subject to since records are required to be 

maintained under other Medicaid rules. 

DMAS reports that some of the individuals who are eligible 

for the GAP SMI program are homeless or transient and may 

be eligible to sign up for other programs such as Social 

Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) and Medicaid once they 

are stabilized under the waiver program. Given this, some 

individuals will likely only be in the GAP SMI program for a 

short time. All individuals who are eligible for this program 

will likely benefit from being enrolled as it will allow them to 

receive regular medical, mental health and substance abuse 

treatment that they might not otherwise be able to access. To 

the extent that uninsured individuals who would be eligible 

for the GAP SMI program would already be receiving health 

care (likely on an emergency basis), enrollment in the GAP 

SMI program may allow federal funds to be partially 

substituted for state funds (as costs for indigent care is 

covered by the state). This substitution may or may not lead 

to a net savings of state funds as these individuals will likely 

be using more health care services once enrolled in the GAP 

SMI program than they would if they remained uninsured. 

Implementation of this program may also provide the benefit 

of reduced public safety costs in Virginia if the individuals 

enrolled in the GAP SMI program receive treatment that 

stabilizes their behavior and allows them to avoid committing 

crimes that might lead to their arrest and incarceration. There 

is not enough specific information, however, to accurately 

quantify the benefits of this program. Therefore, there is 

insufficient information to ascertain whether the benefits of 

this program will outweigh its costs.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. This proposed regulatory 

program affects individuals with serious mental illnesses who 

meet criteria for the GAP SMI program. DMAS staff reports 

that 9,434 individuals have met the requirements for the 

program and been enrolled since January 1, 2015.   

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory program.  

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No small business health care 

professionals are likely to incur additional bookkeeping costs 

for treating GAP SMI enrollees above what they already incur 

for adding new patients and these professionals have the 

choice of whether to treat these enrollees. Health care 

professionals would be unlikely to take on these patients 

unless they expected the benefits of doing so to outweigh the 

costs. Given this, no small businesses will be adversely 

affected by these proposed regulatory changes. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 

businesses will be adversely affected by these proposed 

regulatory changes.  

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. No businesses will be adversely affected by these 

proposed regulatory changes. 

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 

see any adverse impacts on account of these proposed 

regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely 

affected by these proposed changes. 

____________________________________ 
1 Intensive outpatient substance abuse treatment is provided in a day 
treatment setting that is much longer in duration that outpatient substance 

abuse treatment that consists of office visits with professionals providing 

substance abuse treatment. 
2 This percentage has been changed several times. The initial 

Emergency/NOIRA regulation that became effective January 1, 2015 set the 

required income level at 100% of the federal poverty level. This percentage 
was changed to 60% (effective July 1, 2015) and was changed again, 

effective October 28, 2016, to 80%. Both of the changes to this percentage 

were on account of legislative mandates. Currently, yearly household income 
that meets 100% of the poverty level for one person is $11,880. Eighty 

percent of this would be $9,504. Additional information on poverty level by 

household size can be found at: 
https://www.uscis.gov/sites/default/files/files/form/i-864p.pdf. 
3 Cyclothymic disorder is a type of chronic mood disorder that is considered 

milder and a subthreshold form of bipolar disorder. 
4 Prisoners who are being released from a jail or prison would be considered 

for eligibility. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget and raises no 

issues with this analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed action establishes the Governor's Access 

Plan (GAP) Demonstration Waiver for Individuals with 

Serious Mental Illness to provide individuals who have 

diagnoses of serious mental illness access to certain basic 

medical and behavioral health services. Under the 

proposed regulation, an individual must meet the GAP 

serious mental illness, financial, and nonfinancial criteria 

to qualify for the program. The serious mental illness 

criteria include specific diagnoses, for example, 

schizophrenia, bipolar disorders, post-traumatic stress 

disorder; specific duration of illnesses; specific levels of 

impairment; and consistent need for help in accessing 

https://www.uscis.gov/sites/default/files/files/form/i-864p.pdf
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health care services. Other criteria include that an eligible 

individual (i) is an adult between the ages of 21 years and 

64 years; (ii) is a United States citizen or lawfully residing 

alien; (iii) is a resident of the Commonwealth; (iv) is 

uninsured; (v) is ineligible for any state or federal health 

insurance programs; (vii) is not a current resident of a 

nursing facility, a mental health facility, or a penal 

institution; and (viii) has a household income, as 

determined by the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services (DMAS) current modified adjusted gross income 

methodology, of less than or equal to 80% of the federal 

poverty level in accordance with Item 306 XXX of Chapter 

780 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly. 

The proposed regulation provides a wide range of benefits, 

including (i) primary care office visits including diagnostic 

and treatment services performed in the physician's office; 

(ii) outpatient specialty care, consultation, and treatment; 

(iii) outpatient hospital including observation and 

ambulatory diagnostic procedures; (iv) outpatient 

laboratory; (v) outpatient pharmacy; (vi) outpatient 

telemedicine; (vii) medical equipment and supplies for 

diabetic treatment; (viii) outpatient psychiatric treatment; 

(ix) GAP case management; (x) psychosocial rehabilitation 

assessment and psychosocial rehabilitation services; (xi) 

mental health crisis intervention; (xii) mental health crisis 

stabilization; (xiii) therapeutic or diagnostic injection; 

(xiv) behavioral telemedicine; (xv) outpatient substance 

abuse treatment services; and (xvi) intensive outpatient 

substance abuse treatment services. Care coordination, 

recovery navigation (peer supports), crisis line, and prior 

authorization for services are provided through the DMAS 

behavioral health services administrator. 

Part III 

Governor's Access Plan Demonstration Waiver for 

Individuals with Serious Mental Illness 

12VAC30-135-400. Definitions. 

The following words and terms as used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Action" means an action by DMAS, Cover Virginia, the 

service authorization contractor, or the BHSA that constitutes 

(i) a denial in whole or in part of payment of a covered 

service; or (ii) a termination or denial of eligibility or services 

or limited authorization of a service authorization request 

including (a) type or level of service; (b) reduction, 

suspension, or termination of a previously authorized service; 

(c) failure to act on a service request; (d) denial in whole or in 

part of coverage for a service; or (e) failure by Cover 

Virginia, the service authorization contractor, or the BHSA to 

render a decision within the required timeframes. 

"Agency" means DMAS. 

"Alternative home care" means mental health services more 

intensive than outpatient services provided (i) in the 

individual's home or (ii) in a therapeutic living setting that 

provides intensive mental health services such as residential 

crisis stabilization if the individual is temporarily (less than 

two weeks) placed in that setting.  

"Appellant" means an applicant for or recipient of GAP 

benefits who seeks to challenge an action regarding 

eligibility, services, or coverage determinations. 

"Behavioral health" means mental health and substance use 

disorder services.  

"BHSA" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-50-226. 

"Care coordination" means the collaboration and sharing of 

information among health care providers who are involved 

with an individual's health care to (i) improve the health and 

wellness of an individual with complex and special care needs 

and (ii) integrate services around the needs of such individual 

at the local level by working collaboratively with all partners, 

including the individual, his family, and providers.  

"Care coordinator" means an individual or entity that 

provides care coordination services. 

"Case manager" means the person or entity that provides 

GAP case management as defined in this section. 

"CAT" means computer aided tomography. 

"Certified prescreener" means an employee of the local 

community services board or behavioral health authority or 

its designee who is skilled in the assessment and treatment of 

mental illness and who has completed a certification program 

approved by DBHDS. 

"Client" means an applicant for, or recipient of, GAP 

benefits. 

"Client appeal" means an individual's request for review of 

an eligibility or coverage determination and is an individual's 

challenge to the actions regarding benefits, services, and 

coverage determinations provided by the department, its 

service authorization contractor, Cover Virginia, or the 

BHSA. 

"Cover Virginia" or "Cover VA" means a department 

contractor that receives applications for the GAP 

Demonstration Waiver for Individuals with SMI, determines 

eligibility, and attends and defends its eligibility decisions at 

appeal hearings. 

"CSB" means the local community services board or 

behavioral health authority agency, which is the entry point 

for citizens into behavioral health services as established in 

Chapter 5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) and Chapter 6 (§ 37.2-600 et 

seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services consistent with Chapter 3 (§ 37.2-

300 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Department" or "DMAS" means the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services consistent with Chapter 10 

(§ 32.1-323 et seq.) of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia, or 

its designee. 
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"Direct services" means the provision of direct behavioral 

health and medical treatment, counseling, or other supportive 

services not included in the definition of care coordination or 

case management services. 

"DSM-IV-TR" means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual 

of Mental Disorders, Fourth Edition, Text Revision, copyright 

2000, American Psychiatric Association. 

"DSM-5" means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of 

Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, copyright 2013, American 

Psychiatric Association. 

"Duration of illness" means the individual (i) is expected to 

require treatment and supportive services for the next 12 

months; (ii) has undergone psychiatric treatment more 

intensive than outpatient care such as crisis response services, 

alternative home care, partial hospitalization, or inpatient 

hospitalization more than once in his lifetime; or (iii) has 

experienced an episode of continuous, supportive residential 

care, other than hospitalization, for a period long enough to 

have significantly disrupted his normal living situation.  A 

significant disruption of a normal living situation means the 

individual has been unable to maintain his housing or has had 

difficulty maintaining his housing due to being in a 

supportive residential facility or program that was not a 

hospital.  This includes group home placement as an 

adolescent and assisted living facilities but does not include 

living situations through the Department of Social Services.  

"Eight dimensions of wellness" means the same as found on 

the website for the Substance Abuse and Mental Health 

Services Administration at 

http://www.promoteacceptance.samhsa.gov/10by10/dimensio

ns.aspx. 

"Enrollee" means an individual who has applied for the GAP 

SMI program, was determined eligible, and was enrolled in 

the GAP SMI program. 

"Ex parte renewal" means the same as set forth in 42 CFR 

435.916(a)(2). 

"Expedited appeal" means an appeal that must have a 

decision issued within a shortened timeframe when the 

treating provider indicates that taking the time for a standard 

resolution could seriously jeopardize the individual's life, 

physical health, mental health, or ability to attain, maintain, or 

regain maximum function. 

"Final decision" means a written determination pertaining to 

client appeals by a department hearing officer that is binding 

on the department.  

"FPL" means the federal poverty level. 

"FQHC" means a federally qualified health center.  

"GAP" means Governor's Access Plan. 

"GAP case management" means services to assist 

individuals in solving problems, if any, in accessing needed 

medical, behavioral health, social, educational, vocational, 

and other supports essential to meeting basic needs, including 

(i) assessment and planning services, including developing an 

individual service plan (does not include performing medical 

and psychiatric assessment but does include referral for such 

assessment); (ii) linking the individual to services and 

supports specified in the individual service plan; (iii) assisting 

the individual for the purpose of locating, developing, or 

obtaining needed services and resources; (iv) coordinating 

services and service planning with other agencies and 

providers involved with the individual; (v) enhancing 

community integration by contacting other entities to arrange 

community access and involvement, including opportunities 

to learn community living skills, and use vocational, civic, 

and recreational services; (vi) making collateral contacts with 

the individual's significant others to promote implementation 

of the service plan and community adjustment; (vii) follow-

up and monitoring to assess ongoing progress and to ensure 

services are delivered; and (viii) education and counseling 

that guides the individual and develops a supportive 

relationship that promotes the service plan.  

"GAP screening entity" means the entity that conducts the 

SMI screening for the GAP SMI program and shall be a CSB, 

participating FQHC, participating free clinic, inpatient 

psychiatric hospital, general hospital with an inpatient 

psychiatric unit, local or regional jail, or the Department of 

Corrections and shall be conducted for the purpose of 

determining eligibility for participation in the GAP SMI 

program. 

"GAP SMI program" means the program within the 

Governor's Access Plan Demonstration Waiver for 

individuals with serious mental illness. 

"Good cause" means to provide sufficient cause or reason 

for failing to file a timely appeal or for missing a scheduled 

appeal hearing. The existence of good cause shall be 

determined by the hearing officer. 

"Grievance" means an expression of dissatisfaction about 

any matter other than an action. A grievance shall be filed and 

resolved at Cover Virginia, the service authorization 

contractor, or the BHSA. Possible subjects for grievances 

include the quality of care or services provided, aspects of 

interpersonal relationships such as rudeness of a provider or 

employee, or failure to respect an enrollee's rights. 

"Hearing" means an informal evidentiary proceeding 

conducted by a hearing officer during which an individual has 

the opportunity to present his concerns with or objections to 

an action taken by Cover Virginia, the service authorization 

contractor, or the BHSA. 

"Hearing officer" means an impartial decision maker who 

conducts evidentiary hearings on behalf of the department. 

"High intensity case management" means the same as GAP 

case management and is reimbursed for months in which a 

face-to-face contact with the individual takes place in a 

community setting outside of the GAP case management 

office. 

http://www.promoteacceptance.samhsa.gov/10by10/dimensions.aspx
http://www.promoteacceptance.samhsa.gov/10by10/dimensions.aspx
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"Individual" means the client, enrollee, or recipient of 

services described in this section, and these terms are used 

interchangeably.  

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC30-50-226.  

"Intensive outpatient services" means the same as set forth 

in 12VAC30-50-228 A 2 b. 

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means 

the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20.  

"LMHP-resident" or "LMHP-R" means the same as 

"resident" as defined in (i) 18VAC115-20-10 for licensed 

professional counselors; (ii) 18VAC115-50-10 for licensed 

marriage and family therapists; or (iii) 18VAC115-60-10 for 

licensed substance use disorder treatment practitioners. An 

LMHP-resident shall be in continuous compliance with the 

regulatory requirements of the applicable counseling 

profession for supervised practice and shall not perform the 

functions of the LMHP-R or be considered a "resident" until 

the supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific site 

has been preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of 

Counseling. For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to their 

supervisors for services provided by such residents, they shall 

use the title "Resident" in connection with the applicable 

profession after their signatures to indicate such status. 

"LMHP-resident in psychology" or "LMHP-RP" means the 

same as an individual in a residency program as defined in 

18VAC125-20-10 for clinical psychologists. An LMHP-

resident in psychology shall be in continuous compliance 

with the regulatory requirements for supervised experience as 

found in 18VAC125-20-65 and shall not perform the 

functions of the LMHP-RP or be considered a "resident" until 

the supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific site 

has been preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of 

Psychology. For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement by 

supervisors for services provided by such residents, they shall 

use the title "Resident in Psychology" after their signatures to 

indicate such status. 

"LMHP-supervisee in social work" or "LMHP-S" means the 

same as "supervisee" as defined in 18VAC140-20-10 for 

licensed clinical social workers. An LMHP-supervisee in 

social work shall be in continuous compliance with the 

regulatory requirements for supervised practice as found in 

18VAC140-20-50 and shall not perform the functions of the 

LMHP-S or be considered a "supervisee" until the 

supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific site is 

preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of Social Work. 

For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to their supervisors 

for services provided by supervisees, these persons shall use 

the title "Supervisee in Social Work" after their signatures to 

indicate such status. 

"MAGI" means modified adjusted gross income and is an 

eligibility methodology for how income is counted and how 

household composition and family size are determined. 

MAGI is based on federal tax rules for determining adjusted 

gross income. 

"MRI" means magnetic resonance imaging. 

"Peer support services" or "peer support" means supportive 

services provided by adults who self-disclose as living with 

or having lived with a behavioral health condition and 

includes (i) planning for engaging in natural community 

support resources as part of the recovery process, (ii) helping 

to initiate rapport with therapists, and (iii) increasing teaching 

and modeling of positive communication skills with 

individuals to help them self-advocate for individualized 

services to promote successful community integration 

strategies.  

"PSN" means a peer support navigator who has self-declared 

that he is living with or has lived with a behavioral health 

condition. PSNs assist individuals to successfully remain in 

or transition back into their communities from inpatient 

hospital stays, help them avoid future inpatient stays, and 

increase community tenure by providing an array of linkages 

to peer run services, natural supports, and other recovery 

oriented resources. 

"Qualified mental health professional-adult" or "QMHP-A" 

means the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

"Qualified mental health professional-eligible" or "QMHP-

E" means the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20.  

"Register" or "registration" means notifying DMAS or its 

designee that an individual will be receiving services that do 

not require service authorization. 

"Regular case management" means the same as GAP case 

management and is reimbursed for months in which the 

minimum requirements are met for GAP case management.  

"Remand" means the return of a case by the hearing officer 

to Cover Virginia, the service authorization contractor, or the 

BHSA for further review, evaluation, and action. 

"Representative" means an attorney or other individual who 

has been authorized to represent an applicant or enrollee 

pursuant to this part. 

"Reverse" means to overturn the action of Cover Virginia, 

the service authorization contractor, or the BHSA and direct 

that eligibility or requested services be fully approved for the 

amount, duration, and scope of requested services.  

"Serious mental illness" or "SMI" means, for the purpose of 

this part, a diagnosis of (i) schizophrenia spectrum disorders 

and other psychotic disorders but not substance/medication 

induced psychotic disorder; (ii) major depressive disorder; 

(iii) bipolar and related disorders but not cyclothymic 

disorder; (iv) post-traumatic stress disorder; (v) obsessive-

compulsive disorder; (vi) agoraphobia; (vii) panic disorder; 

(viii) anorexia nervosa; or (ix) bulimia nervosa.  

"Service authorization" means the same as defined in 

12VAC30-50-226. 
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"Service-specific provider intake" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC30-50-130. 

"State fair hearing" means the DMAS evidentiary hearing 

process as administered by the DMAS Appeals Division. 

"State Plan" or "the Plan" means the document required by § 

1902(a) of the Act. 

"Sustain" means to uphold the action of Cover Virginia, the 

service authorization contractor, or the BHSA. 

"Title XIX of the Social Security Act" or "the Act" means 

the United States Code beginning at 42 USC § 1396. 

"Virtual engagement" means electronic and telephonic 

communications between a peer support navigator and GAP 

enrolled individual to discuss and promote engagement with 

resources that may be available to the individual to promote 

his recovery.  

"Warm line" means a peer-support telephone line that 

provides peer support for adult individuals who are living 

with or have lived with behavioral health conditions. The peer 

support navigators shall have specific training to provide 

telephonic support, and such systems may operate regionally 

or statewide and beyond traditional business hours. 

"Withdrawal" means a written request from the applicant or 

enrollee or his representative for the department to terminate 

the appeal process without a final decision on the merits. 

12VAC30-135-410. Administration; authority; waived 

provisions. 

A. DMAS shall cover a targeted set of services as set forth 

in 12VAC30-135-440 for currently uninsured individuals 

who have diagnoses of serious mental illnesses with incomes 

less than or equal to 80% of the federal poverty level (FPL) 

using the MAGI eligibility methodology. All individuals 

already enrolled in the GAP SMI program with incomes 

between 61% and 100% of the FPL as of May 15, 2015, who 

continue to meet other program eligibility rules shall maintain 

enrollment in the GAP SMI program until their next 

eligibility renewal period or July 1, 2016, whichever comes 

first. 

B. Consistent with § 1115 of the Social Security Act (42 

USC § 1315), the department covers certain limited services 

specified in 12VAC30-135-440 for certain targeted 

individuals specified in 12VAC30-135-420. 

C. The Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Resources has waived compliance for the department 

with the following for the purpose of the GAP SMI program: 

1. Consistent with § 1902(a)(10)(B) of the Act, the amount, 

duration, and scope of services covered in the State Plan 

for Medical Assistance shall be waived. The department 

shall cover a specified set of benefits for the individuals 

who are determined to be eligible for the GAP SMI 

program. 

2. Consistent with § 1902(a)(23)(A) of the Act, the 

participating individual's freedom of choice of providers of 

services shall be waived for peer supports and GAP case 

management.  

3. Consistent with § 1902(a)(23) of the Act, the services 

shall be provided by a different delivery system than 

otherwise used for full State Plan services for peer supports 

and GAP case management. 

4. Consistent with § 1902(a)(4) of the Act, insofar as it 

incorporates 42 CFR 431.53 permitting the 

Commonwealth to waive providing nonemergency 

transportation to and from participating providers for 

eligible, participating individuals. 

5. Consistent with § 1902(a)(35) of the Act, permitting the 

Commonwealth to waive offering eligible, participating 

individuals retroactive eligibility for the GAP SMI 

program. 

D. The GAP SMI program shall operate statewide. 

E. The GAP SMI program shall operate for at least two 

years beginning January 2015 and continuing through 

January 2017 or until the Commonwealth implements an 

alternative plan to provide health care coverage to all 

individuals having incomes less than or equal to 80% of the 

FPL using the MAGI eligibility methodology. 

F. The GAP SMI program shall not affect or modify 

components of the Commonwealth's existing medical 

assistance or children's health insurance programs.  

12VAC30-135-420. Individual eligibility; limitations; 

referrals; eligibility determination process. 

A. The GAP SMI program eligibility determination process 

shall have two parts: (i) a determination of whether the 

applicant meets the GAP nonfinancial eligibility criteria 

including a diagnosed SMI and (ii) a determination of 

whether the applicant meets the GAP SMI Program financial 

eligibility criteria. 

1. A person may apply through Cover Virginia for GAP by 

phone or through a provider-assisted web portal. 

2. If an applicant is found not to meet GAP eligibility 

criteria, either the GAP financial eligibility criteria or the 

GAP SMI program nonfinancial eligibility criteria, then the 

applicant shall be sent a letter with appeal rights. Such 

applicants shall be assessed and referred for eligibility 

through Medicaid, FAMIS MOMS, or the federal 

marketplace for private health insurance as appropriate.  

B. Applicants shall have a screening conducted by a DMAS-

approved GAP screening entity for the determination of SMI.  

C. To be eligible for the GAP SMI program, applicants shall 

be assessed to determine whether their diagnosed condition is 

a serious mental illness. The serious mental illness shall be 

diagnosed according to criteria defined in the DSM-IV-TR or 

DSM-5. LMHPs, including LMHP-supervisees, LMHP-

residents, and LMHP-residents in psychology, shall conduct 

the clinical screening required to determine the applicant's 

diagnosis if one has not already been made. At least one of 
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the following diagnoses shall be documented for the applicant 

to be approved for GAP SMI program services:  

1. Schizophrenia spectrum disorders and other psychotic 

disorders with the exception of substance/medication 

induced psychotic disorders; 

2. Major depressive disorder; 

3. Bipolar and related disorders with the exception of 

cyclothymic disorder; 

4. Post-traumatic stress disorder; or 

5. Obsessive compulsive disorder, panic disorder, 

agoraphobia, anorexia nervosa, or bulimia nervosa.  

D. To be eligible for this program, applicants shall meet at 

least one of the following criteria to reflect the duration of 

illness: 

1. The applicant is expected to require treatment and 

supportive services for the next 12 months; 

2. The applicant has undergone psychiatric treatment more 

intensive than outpatient care, such as crisis response 

services, alternative home care, partial hospitalization, or 

inpatient hospitalization for a psychiatric condition, more 

than once in his lifetime; or  

3. The applicant has experienced an episode of continuous, 

supportive residential care, other than hospitalization, for a 

period long enough to have significantly disrupted the 

normal living situation. A significant disruption of a 

normal living situation means the applicant has been 

unable to maintain his housing or had difficulty 

maintaining his housing due to being in a supportive 

residential facility or program that was not a hospital. This 

includes group home placement as an adolescent and 

assisted living facilities but does not include living 

situations through the Department of Social Services.  

E. To be eligible for this program, applicants shall 

demonstrate a significant level of impairment on a continuing 

or intermittent basis. Evidence of severe and recurrent 

impairment resulting from mental illness shall exist. The 

impairment shall result in functional limitation in major life 

activities. Due to the mental illness, the applicant shall meet 

at least two of the following:  

1. The applicant is either unemployed or employed in a 

sheltered setting or a supportive work situation, has 

markedly limited or reduced employment skills, or has a 

poor employment history; 

2. The applicant requires public and family financial 

assistance to remain in his community; 

3. The applicant has difficulty establishing or maintaining 

a personal social support system;  

4. The applicant requires assistance in basic living skills 

such as personal hygiene, food preparation, or money 

management; or  

5. The applicant exhibits inappropriate behavior that often 

results in intervention by the mental health or judicial 

system. 

F. The applicant shall require assistance to consistently 

access or to utilize needed medical or behavioral, or both, 

health services and supports due to the mental illness.  

G. In addition, the applicant shall:  

1. Be an adult 21 years through 64 years of age; 

2. Be a United States citizen or lawfully residing 

immigrant; 

3. Be a resident of the Commonwealth;  

4. Be uninsured;  

5. Be ineligible for any state or federal benefits health 

insurance program including Medicaid, Children's Health 

Insurance Program (CHIP/FAMIS), Medicare, or TriCare 

Federal Military benefits; 

6. Have household incomes less than or equal to 80% of 

the federal poverty level using the MAGI eligibility 

methodology. Reported income shall be verified via 

reliable electronic sources or if not available electronically, 

by pay stubs or other income documents accepted under 

Medicaid policy. All individuals enrolled in the GAP SMI 

program with incomes between 61% and 100% of the FPL 

using the MAGI eligibility methodology as of May 15, 

2015, who continue to meet other program eligibility rules 

shall maintain enrollment in the GAP SMI program until 

their next eligibility renewal period or July 1, 2016, 

whichever comes first. Pursuant to federal authority under 

the § 1115 waiver, should expenditures for the GAP SMI 

program compromise the program's budget neutrality, 

DMAS may amend the waiver to maintain budget 

neutrality by reducing income eligibility levels to below 

80% of the FPL; and 

7. Not be a current resident of a long-term care facility, 

mental health facility, or penal institution. 

H. GAP enrollees shall have 12 months of continuous 

coverage regardless of household or income changes unless 

the individual becomes 65 years of age, becomes eligible for 

Medicare or full Medicaid benefits, moves out of the 

Commonwealth, dies, or is unable to be located. 

I. Individuals who are enrolled in the GAP SMI program 

who require hospitalization shall not be disenrolled from the 

GAP SMI program during their hospitalization.  

J. If a GAP enrollee secures Medicare or Medicaid/FAMIS 

MOMS coverage, his GAP enrollment shall be canceled to 

align with the effective date of the Medicare or Medicaid 

coverage. Enrollees who gain other sources of health 

insurance, other than Medicare or Medicaid/FAMIS MOMS, 

shall not be disenrolled from the GAP SMI program during 

their 12-month enrollment period; however, in such instances, 

the GAP SMI program shall be the payer of last resort.  
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K. DMAS or its designee shall verify income data via 

existing electronic data sources, such as Virginia 

Employment Commission and TALX. Citizenship and 

identity shall be verified through the monthly file exchange 

between DMAS and the Social Security Administration. The 

applicant's age, residency, and insurance status shall be 

verified through self-attestation. Applicants shall be permitted 

90 days to resolve any citizenship discrepancies resulting 

from the Social Security Administration matching process, in 

any of the information provided, and in the verification 

process findings of DMAS or its designee. 

12VAC30-135-430. Individual screening requirements; 

enrollment process. 

A. All applicants shall be screened by a GAP screening 

entity using the screening tool, DMAS P603, and shall meet 

the requirements identified in the screening tool to meet the 

SMI criteria. Screenings shall be provided to persons without 

regard to whether they have serious mental illness. Screenings 

may be either limited or a full screening depending on the 

applicant's prior history of serious mental illness.  

B. Two types of screenings shall be conducted: 

1. Limited screenings shall be conducted for those 

applicants who have had a diagnostic evaluation within the 

past 12 months, and this evaluation is available to the 

screener. These limited screenings may be conducted by 

either an LMHP, a QMHP-A, or QMHP-E. 

2. Full screenings shall be conducted for those applicants 

who have not had a diagnostic evaluation within the past 

12 months or for whom the evaluation is not available to 

the screener. These full screenings shall be conducted by 

an LMHP. 

C. All SMI screenings shall be submitted to the BHSA. The 

diagnostic evaluation shall be signed and contemporaneously 

dated by the LMHP who completed it. 

D. Once an applicant's eligibility has been determined 

consistent with all of the requirements set out in 12VAC30-

135-420, his coverage shall become effective on the first day 

of the same month in which his signed application was 

received. No retroactive eligibility shall be permitted in the 

GAP SMI program. No service coverage shall begin prior to 

the first day of the month that the applicant's signed and dated 

application for the GAP SMI program is received.  

E. Once an applicant is determined to be eligible for the 

GAP SMI program, his eligibility shall remain effective for 

12 continuous months except if the individual becomes 65 

years of age, becomes eligible for Medicare or Medicaid, 

moves out of the Commonwealth, dies, or is unable to be 

located. 

F. The renewal of an enrollee's eligibility for this GAP SMI 

program shall be redetermined prior to the end of the 12-

month coverage period. No additional determination of 

serious mental illness shall be required to complete a renewal 

for program eligibility. 

G. GAP SMI program enrollees shall not be required to 

report changes in their financial circumstances during their 

12-month coverage period but only at the time of their 

renewal application. 

1. If an ex parte renewal cannot be completed for the GAP 

SMI program enrollee, a pre-filled paper renewal 

application will be generated, and the enrollee shall be 

given 30 days to return the completed renewal with the 

requested verification documentation. If the enrollee fails 

to provide the completed renewal and documentation in the 

designated timeframe, his GAP enrollment shall be 

canceled for failure to complete his renewal process. 

2. Such an individual shall be permitted a three-month 

grace period in which to supply the required 

documentation to have his GAP enrollment reinstated at 

the first of the month following cancellation. 

H. The new application determination process shall be 

completed within 45 days except in cases of unusual 

circumstances as described in this subsection:  

1. Unusual circumstances include administrative or other 

emergency beyond the control of DMAS or its designee. In 

such case, DMAS or its designee shall document in the 

applicant's record the reasons for delay. DMAS or its 

designee shall not use the time standards as a waiting 

period before determining eligibility or as a reason for 

denying eligibility because it has not determined eligibility 

within the time standards.  

2. Incomplete new applications shall be held open for a 

period of 45 calendar days to enable applicants to provide 

outstanding information needed for an eligibility 

determination. Any applicant who fails to provide within 

45 calendar days of the receipt of the initial application 

information or verifications necessary to determine 

eligibility shall have his application for GAP SMI program 

denied.  

I. Cover Virginia shall mail a notice to the applicant 

following the eligibility determination. An approval notice 

shall include the applicant's identification number, enrollment 

periods, and a member handbook. A denial notice shall 

include information about appeal rights. 

J. Following an approval notice, the BHSA shall mail the 

enrollee's GAP identification card to the address provided on 

the application.  

12VAC30-135-440. Covered services; limitations; 

restrictions. 

A. GAP SMI program coverage shall be limited to 

outpatient medical, behavioral health, pharmacy, GAP case 

management, and care coordination services for individuals 

determined to meet the GAP SMI program eligibility criteria. 

This program intends that such services will significantly 

decrease the severity of the serious mental illnesses of these 

individuals so that they can recover, work, parent, learn, and 

participate more fully in their communities.  
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B. These services are intended to be delivered in a person-

centered manner. The individuals who are receiving these 

services shall be included in all service planning activities.  

C. Medical services including outpatient physician and 

clinic services, telemedicine services, specialists services, 

diagnostic procedures, laboratory procedures, and pharmacy 

services shall be covered as follows:  

1. Outpatient physician services and medical office visits, 

which include (i) evaluation and management, (ii) 

diagnostic and treatment procedures performed in the 

physician's office, and (iii) therapeutic or diagnostic 

injections. The requirements of 12VAC30-50-140 shall be 

met in order for these services to be reimbursed by DMAS. 

2. Outpatient clinic services, which include (i) evaluation 

and management, (ii) treatment and procedures performed 

in the clinic's office, and (iii) medically necessary 

therapeutic and diagnostic injections. The requirements of 

12VAC30-50-180 shall be met in order for this service to 

be reimbursed by DMAS. 

3. Outpatient specialty care, consultation, management, 

and treatment, which include (i) evaluation and treatment, 

(ii) procedures performed in the physician's office, and (iii) 

medically necessary therapeutic or diagnostic injections 

consistent with 12VAC30-50-140. 

4. Outpatient diagnostic services, which include 

ultrasounds, electrocardiogram, service-authorized CAT 

and MRI scans, and diagnostic services that can be 

performed in a physician's office with the exception of 

colonoscopy procedures and other services listed as not 

covered in 12VAC30-135-450. The requirements of 

12VAC30-50-140 O shall be met as they pertain to GAP 

services for these services to be reimbursed by DMAS. 

CAT and MRI scans shall be covered if the service is 

authorized by either DMAS or the service authorization 

contractor. 

5. Outpatient laboratory services consistent with 

12VAC30-50-120.  

6. Outpatient pharmacy services consistent with 

12VAC30-50-210.  

7. Outpatient family planning consistent with 12VAC30-

50-130 D; sterilization procedures and abortions shall not 

be covered. 

8. Outpatient telemedicine, which is covered the same as 

Medicaid for services that are not otherwise excluded from 

GAP coverage. 

9. Outpatient durable medical equipment and supplies 

coverage shall be limited to diabetic equipment and 

supplies consistent with 12VAC30-50-165. 

10. Outpatient hospital procedures shall be limited to (i) 

diagnostic ultrasound procedures; (ii) electrocardiogram 

(EKG/ECG) including stress tests; and (iii) radiology 

procedures except for positron emission tomography (PET) 

scans, colonoscopy, and radiation treatment procedures.  

D. Behavioral health services shall be covered as follows: 

1. Behavioral health services shall be subject to service 

authorization or registration as specified 12VAC30-50-

226.  

2. GAP case management as defined in 12VAC30-135-

400.  

a. GAP case management shall be provided by CSB case 

managers with consultation and support from BHSA care 

coordinators. This service shall be targeted to individuals 

who are expected to benefit from assistance with 

medication management and appropriate use of 

community resources. The CSB GAP case managers 

shall have the same knowledge, skills, and abilities as set 

out in 12VAC30-50-420 E 2 e and the CSB shall 

maintain all licenses required by DBHDS in 12VAC35-

105. GAP case management shall not include the 

provision of direct treatment services and shall have two 

levels of service intensity: regular and high intensity case 

management, as defined in 12VAC30-135-400. GAP 

care management shall be focused on assisting 

individuals to access needed medical, behavioral health 

(psychiatric and substance use disorder services), social, 

education, vocational, and other support services. 

b. Reimbursement shall be provided only for active case 

management individuals. An active individual for GAP 

case management purposes means an individual for 

whom there is a current ISP that requires regular direct or 

client-related contacts or activity or communication with 

the individuals or families, significant others, service 

providers, or others. Billing may be submitted only for 

months in which direct or individual-related contacts, 

activity, or communications occur. Regular case 

management shall be reimbursed for months in which the 

minimum requirements as described in 12VAC30-135-

410, are met for case management. High intensity case 

management shall be reimbursed for months in which a 

face-to-face contact with the individual takes place in a 

community setting outside of the case management 

office. 

c. Case management shall not be billed for enrollees 

while they are in institutions for mental disease. 

d. The case management entity shall collaborate monthly 

with the BHSA for care coordination efforts. 

3. Crisis intervention shall be covered consistent with the 

limits and requirements set out in 12VAC30-50-226 B 3 

and 12VAC30-60-143.  

4. Crisis stabilization shall be covered consistent with the 

limits and requirements set out in 12VAC30-50-226 B and 

12VAC30-60-143 except that service authorization shall be 

required in place of registration.  

5. Psychosocial rehabilitation service-specific provider 

intake and services shall be covered consistent with the 

limits and requirements set out in 12VAC30-50-226 B 4.  
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E. Outpatient psychotherapy services shall be covered 

consistent with 12VAC30-50-140 D 2 through D 5. 

F. Community substance use disorder services shall be 

covered as follows:  

1. Services shall include intensive outpatient services and 

opioid treatment services. These services shall be rendered 

to individuals consistent with the criteria for these two 

services specified in 12VAC30-50-228 A 2. 

2. Evaluations required. Prior to initiation of intensive 

outpatient or opioid treatment services, an evaluation shall 

be conducted consistent with 12VAC30-60-180 C.  

G. Care coordination, crisis phone line, and peer supports 

shall be administered through the BHSA as follows: 

1. Care coordination shall be provided by the BHSA care 

coordinators. BHSA-LMHP care coordinators shall work 

closely with behavioral health providers including local 

CSB staff to provide information to the enrollee in 

accessing covered services, provider selection, and how to 

access all services including noncovered services.  

2. The BHSA shall provide crisis phone lines 24 hours per 

day and seven days per week including access to a licensed 

care coordinator during a crisis. 

3. The BHSA or its designee shall provide peer support 

services seven days per week. A telephonic support shall 

be staffed by peer support navigators who have been 

trained specifically in telephonic support operations and 

resources. The telephonic support associated with the peer 

support services shall offer extended hours, toll-free 

access, and dedicated data collection capabilities. The 

BHSA shall provide trained peer navigators as part of its 

care coordination team or may contract with other entities 

to do so. The BHSA shall utilize community-based peer 

navigators to work in provider settings, community 

settings, and peer-run organizations. The scope of peer 

support services shall include: 

a. Visiting enrollees in inpatient settings to develop the 

peer relationship.  

b. Describing and developing a plan for engaging in peer 

and natural community support resources as part of the 

recovery process.  

c. Initiating rapport, teaching, and modeling positive 

communication skills with enrollees to help them self-

advocate for an individualized services plan and assisting 

the enrollee with the coordination of services to promote 

successful community integration strategies.  

d. Assisting in developing strategies to decrease or avoid 

the need for future hospitalizations by offering social and 

emotional support and an array of individualized 

services.  

e. Providing social, emotional, and other supports framed 

around the eight dimensions of wellness as defined in 

12VAC30-135-400.  

12VAC30-135-450. Noncovered medical and behavioral 

health services.  

A. Noncovered medical services shall include:  

1. Inpatient hospital treatment including psychiatric 

facilities and psychiatric facility partial hospitalization 

programs; 

2. Emergency room treatment; 

3. Ambulatory surgical centers; 

4. Military treatment facilities; 

5. Outpatient hospital procedures other than diagnostic 

procedures; 

6. Positron emission tomography (PET) scans; 

7. Home health;  

8. Skilled and intermediate nursing facilities; 

9. Long-term care including home and community-based 

care waiver services, custodial care facilities, and 

intermediate care facilities for individuals with intellectual 

disabilities; 

10. Residential substance use disorder treatment facilities; 

11. Psychiatric residential treatment centers; 

12. Comprehensive inpatient/outpatient rehabilitation 

facilities;  

13. End-stage renal disease treatment facilities;  

14. Hospice;  

15. Ambulance (including land, air, and water);  

16. Early and periodic screening diagnosis and treatment 

(EPSDT) services;  

17. Dental services;  

18. Nonemergency transportation;  

19. Physical therapy (PT), occupational therapy (OT), and 

speech therapies;  

20. Obstetrics/maternity care including birthing centers 

(gynecology services are covered);  

21. Routine eye exams;  

22. Abortions, sterilization (vasectomy or tubal ligation);  

23. Chemotherapy, radiation therapy;  

24. Colonoscopy;  

25. Dialysis;  

26. Durable medical equipment (DME) and supply items 

(other than those required to treat diabetes); orthotics; 

prosthetics; home IV therapy; nutritional supplements; 

27. Cosmetic procedures;  

28. Eyeglasses, contact lenses, hearing aids;  

29. Private duty nursing;  

30. Assisted living;  

31. Other unspecified facilities;  
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32. Services specifically excluded under Virginia 

Medicaid;  

33. Services not deemed medically necessary;  

34. Services that are considered experimental or 

investigational;  

35. Services from non-Medicaid-enrolled providers; and  

36. Any medical services not otherwise defined as covered. 

B. Noncovered traditional behavioral health services shall 

include: 

1. Inpatient hospital or partial hospital services, hospital 

observation services, emergency room services;  

2. Electroconvulsive therapy and related services (e.g., 

anesthesia and hospital charges); 

3. Residential treatment services;  

4. Psychological and neuropsychological testing; 

5. Smoking and tobacco cessation and counseling;  

6. Transportation; 

7. Services specifically excluded under Virginia Medicaid;  

8. Services not deemed medically necessary; 

9. Services that are considered experimental or 

investigational;  

10. Services from non-Medicaid-enrolled providers; and 

11. Any behavioral health or substance use disorder 

services not otherwise defined as covered. 

C. Noncovered nontraditional behavioral health services 

shall include:  

1. Substance use disorder case management, substance use 

disorder day treatment for pregnant women, substance use 

disorder residential treatment for pregnant women, 

substance use disorder day treatment, and substance use 

disorder crisis intervention; 

2. Day treatment partial hospitalization, mental health skill 

building services, and intensive community treatment;  

3. Treatment foster care case management;  

4. Virginia Independent Clinical Assessment Program 

assessments;  

5. Transportation;  

6. Services specifically excluded under Virginia Medicaid;  

7. Services not deemed medically necessary;  

8. Services that are considered experimental or 

investigational;  

9. Services from non-Medicaid-enrolled providers; and 

10. Any behavioral health or substance use disorder 

treatment services not otherwise defined as covered. 

12VAC30-135-460. (Reserved.) 

12VAC30-135-470. Provider qualifications; requirements. 

The provider qualifications and requirements for GAP-

covered services shall be the same as those set forth for each 

service in 12VAC30-50. 

12VAC30-135-475. Individual service plan requirements. 

A. Individual service plans shall contain all of the elements 

as set out in 12VAC30-50-226. ISPs that do not contain the 

specified elements shall be considered by DMAS to be 

incomplete and not adequate to support service 

reimbursement. 

B. Prior to the development of an ISP: 

1. A service-specific provider intake shall be completed for 

the following services: (i) psychosocial rehabilitation, (ii) 

crisis intervention, and (iii) crisis stabilization. 

2. An evaluation consistent with 12VAC30-60-180 C shall 

be completed for substance use disorder intensive 

outpatient and opioid treatment services. 

3. DBHDS licensure requirements for assessment and 

planning as defined in 12VAC35-105-650 shall be 

completed for GAP case management. 

12VAC30-135-480. Utilization review. 

A. The utilization requirements of this section shall apply to 

all GAP covered services unless otherwise specified. 

B. DMAS, or its designee, shall perform reviews of the 

utilization of all GAP-covered services in accordance with 42 

CFR 440.260 and 42 CFR Part 456. 

C. DMAS shall recover expenditures made for covered 

services when provider documentation does not comport with 

standards specified in state and federal Medicaid 

requirements. 

D. The utilization review requirements for GAP-covered 

services shall be the same as those set forth for each service 

in 12VAC30-60. 

12VAC30-135-485. Reimbursement. 

A. All services covered in the GAP SMI program shall be 

billed and reimbursed through the existing Medicaid/CHIP 

fee-for-service methodology and claims process. 

B. Reimbursement for substance use disorder services shall 

be consistent with subdivisions 1 through 6 of 12VAC30-80-

32. 

C. Service authorization shall not guarantee payment for the 

service. 

12VAC30-135-487. Client appeals. 

A. Notwithstanding the provisions of 12VAC30-110-10 

through 12VAC30-110-370, the regulations for client appeals 

described in this section through 12VAC30-135-495 govern 

state fair hearings for GAP SMI program applicants and 

enrolled individuals. Appeal procedures for GAP SMI 

providers are set out in 12VAC30-135-496. 

B. GAP SMI program applicants and enrollees shall have 

the right to a hearing pursuant to 42 CFR 431.220.  
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C. Applicants shall be notified in writing of the appeals 

process at the time of the request for enrollment by Cover 

Virginia. Enrollees shall be notified in writing of the appeals 

process upon receipt of an adverse decision in a notice of 

action from the BHSA or the service authorization contractor. 

D. An appellant shall have the right to representation by an 

attorney or other individual of his choice at all stages of an 

appeal at the administrative agency level. 

1. For those appellants who wish to have a representative, a 

representative shall be designated in a written statement 

that is signed by the appellant whose GAP SMI program 

benefits were adversely affected. If the appellant is 

physically unable to sign a written statement, the DMAS 

Appeals Division shall allow a family member or other 

person acting on the appellant's behalf to be the 

representative. If the appellant is mentally unable to sign a 

written statement, the DMAS Appeals Division shall 

require written documentation that a family member or 

other person has been appointed or designated as his legal 

representative. 

2. If the representative is an attorney or a paralegal 

working under the supervision of an attorney, a signed 

statement by such attorney or paralegal that he is 

authorized to represent the appellant, prepared on the 

attorney's letterhead, shall be accepted as a designation of 

representation. 

3. A member of the same law firm as the designated 

representative shall have the same rights as the designated 

representative. 

4. An appellant may revoke representation by another 

person at any time. The revocation is effective when the 

DMAS Appeals Division receives written notice from the 

appellant. 

E. Any written communication from an applicant or enrollee 

or his representative that clearly expresses that he wants to 

present his case to a reviewing authority shall constitute an 

appeal request.  

1. The written communication should explain the basis for 

the appeal of the action taken by Cover Virginia, the 

BHSA, or the service authorization contractor. 

2. The appellant or his representative may examine 

witnesses or documents, or both, provide testimony, 

submit evidence, and advance arguments during the 

hearing. 

F. Appeals to the state fair hearing process shall be made to 

the DMAS Appeals Division in writing, with the exception of 

requests for expedited appeals, and may be made via U.S. 

mail, fax transmission, hand-delivery, or electronic 

transmission. 

G. Cover Virginia, the BHSA, or the service authorization 

contractor shall attend and defend its decisions at all appeal 

hearings or conferences, whether in person or by telephone, 

as deemed necessary by the DMAS Appeals Division.  

H. Requests for expedited appeals referenced in subsection 

K of this section may be filed by telephone or by any of the 

methods set forth in subsection F in this section. 

I. The agency shall continue benefits while the appeal is 

pending when all of the following criteria are met: 

1. The enrollee or his representative files the appeal within 

10 calendar days, plus five mail days, of the date the notice 

of action was sent by the agency; 

2. The appeal involves the termination, suspension, or 

reduction of eligibility or a previously authorized course of 

treatment; 

3. In the case of services, the services were ordered by an 

authorized provider, and the original period covered by the 

initial authorization has not expired; and 

4. The enrollee or his representative requests continuation 

of benefits. 

J. After the final resolution and if the final resolution of the 

appeal is adverse to the enrollee (e.g., the agency's action is 

upheld), the department may recover the costs of services 

furnished to the enrollee while the appeal was pending to the 

extent they were furnished solely because of the pending 

appeal. 

K. The department shall maintain an expedited process for 

appeals when the treating provider of an appellant certifies in 

writing that taking the time for a standard resolution could 

seriously jeopardize the appellant's life, physical health, 

mental health, or ability to attain, maintain, or regain 

maximum function. DMAS will make every effort to 

facilitate an expedited hearing and appeal decision process to 

accommodate the serious health condition of the appellant.  

1. For eligibility matters, the hearing officer shall render 

appeal decisions within a reasonable amount of time. In 

setting timeframes, the hearing officer shall consider the 

need for expedited appeals that meet criteria described in 

this subsection. 

2. For health services matters, the hearing officer shall 

ensure that appeals that meet the criteria for expedited 

resolution are completed no later than 72 hours after the 

agency receives a fair hearing request. The hearing officer 

may extend the timeframes for resolution of an expedited 

appeal by up to 14 calendar days if the appellant or the 

appellant's representative requests the extension, or if the 

hearing officer: 

a. Shows that there is a need for additional information 

and how the delay is in the appellant's best interest; 

b. Promptly notifies the appellant of the reason for an 

extension and provides the date the extension expires; 

and 

c. Resolves the appeal as expeditiously as the appellant's 

health condition requires and no later than the date the 

extension expires.  



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 26, 2016 

889 

12VAC30-135-489. Appeal timeframes. 

A. Appeals to the Medicaid state fair hearing process shall 

be filed with the DMAS Appeals Division within 30 days of 

the date the notice of action was sent by the agency, unless 

the time period is extended by DMAS upon a finding of good 

cause in accordance with subsection G of this section. 

B. It is presumed that applicants or enrollees will receive the 

notice of action five days after the agency or its designee 

mails it, unless the applicant or enrollee shows that he did not 

receive the notice within the five-day period. For purposes of 

calculating the five-day period, it is presumed that the notice 

was mailed by the agency on the date that is indicated on the 

notice.  

C. A request for appeal on the grounds that the agency or its 

designee has not acted with reasonable promptness in 

response to an eligibility or service request may be filed at 

any time until the agency or its designee has acted. 

D. The date of filing shall be (i) the date the request is 

postmarked if by U.S. mail or (ii) the date the request is 

received by the department if delivered other than by U.S. 

mail.  

E. Documents postmarked on or before a time limit's 

expiration shall be accepted as timely.  

F. In computing any time period under 12VAC30-135-487 

through 12VAC30-135-495, the day of the act or event from 

which the designated period of time begins to run shall be 

excluded and the last day included. If a time limit would 

expire on a Saturday, Sunday, or state or federal holiday, it 

shall be extended until the next regular business day. 

G. An extension of the 30-day period for filing a request for 

appeal may be granted for good cause shown. Examples of 

good cause include the following situations: 

1. The appellant was seriously ill and was prevented by 

illness from contacting the department;  

2. The notice of action completed by the agency was not 

sent to the appellant. The agency may rebut this claim by 

evidence that the decision was mailed to the appellant's last 

known address or that the notice was received by the 

appellant; 

3. The appellant sent the request for appeal to another 

government agency in good faith within the time limit; or 

4. Unusual or unavoidable circumstances prevented a 

timely filing of the appeal request. 

H. Appeals shall be heard and decisions issued within 90 

days of (i) the postmark date if delivered by U.S. mail or (ii) 

the receipt date if delivered by any method other than U.S. 

mail.  

I. Exceptions to standard appeal resolution timeframes. 

Decisions may be issued beyond the standard timeframe 

when the appellant or his representative requests or causes a 

delay. Decisions may also be issued beyond the standard 

appeal resolution timeframe when any of the following 

circumstances exist: 

1. The appellant or representative requests to reschedule or 

continue the hearing; 

2. The appellant or representative provides good cause for 

failing to keep a scheduled hearing appointment and the 

DMAS Appeals Division reschedules the hearing; 

3. Inclement weather, unanticipated system outage, or the 

department's closure that prevents the hearing officer's 

ability to work; 

4. Following a hearing, the hearing officer orders an 

independent medical assessment as described in 

12VAC30-110-200; 

5. The hearing officer leaves the hearing record open after 

the hearing to receive additional evidence or argument 

from the appellant or representative; 

6. The hearing officer receives additional evidence from a 

person other than the appellant or his representative, and 

the appellant or representative requests to comment on 

such evidence in writing or to have the hearing reconvened 

to respond to such evidence; or 

7. The hearing officer determines that a need for additional 

information exists and documents how the delay is in the 

appellant's interest. 

J. For delays requested or caused by an appellant or his 

representative, the delay date for the decision will be 

calculated as follows: 

1. If an appellant or representative requests or causes a 

delay within 30 days of the request for a hearing, the 90-

day time limit will be extended by the number of days 

from the date when the first hearing was scheduled until 

the date to which the hearing is rescheduled. 

2. If an appellant or representative requests or causes a 

delay within 31 to 60 days of the request for a hearing, the 

90-day time limit will be extended by 1.5 times the number 

of days from the date when the first hearing was scheduled 

until the date to which the hearing is rescheduled. 

3. If an appellant or representative requests or causes a 

delay within 61 to 90 days of the request for a hearing, the 

90-day time limit will be extended by two times the 

number of days from the date when the first hearing was 

scheduled until the date to which the hearing is 

rescheduled. 

K. Post hearing delays requested or caused by an appellant 

or representative (e.g., requests for the record to be left open) 

will result in a day-to-day delay for the decision date. The 

hearing officer shall provide the appellant and representative 

with written notice of the reason for the decision delay and 

the delayed decision date, if applicable. 
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12VAC30-135-491. Prehearing decisions. 

A. If the DMAS Appeals Division determines that any of the 

conditions as described in this subsection exist, a hearing will 

not be held and the client appeal process shall be terminated.  

1. A request for appeal may be invalidated if: 

a. The request was not filed within the time limit 

imposed by 12VAC30-135-489 A or extended pursuant 

to 12VAC30-135-489 G, and the hearing officer sends a 

letter to the appellant for an explanation as to why the 

appeal request was not filed timely, and: 

(1) The appellant or his representative did not reply to the 

request within 10 calendar days for an explanation of 

why good cause criteria were met for the untimely filing; 

or 

(2) The appellant or his representative replied within 10 

calendar days of the request and the DMAS Appeals 

Division had sufficient facts to determine that the reply 

did not meet good cause criteria pursuant to 12VAC30-

135-489 G. 

b. The individual who filed the appeal ("filer") is not the 

appellant or parent of a minor appellant and the DMAS 

Appeals Division sends a letter to the filer requesting 

proof of his authority to appeal on behalf of the 

appellant, and: 

(1) The filer did not reply to the request for authorization 

to represent the appellant within 10 calendar days; or 

(2) The filer replied within 10 calendar days of the 

request and the hearing officer determined that the 

authorization submitted was insufficient to allow the filer 

to represent the appellant under the provisions of 

12VAC30-135-487 D. 

2. A request for appeal may be administratively dismissed 

if: 

a. The action being appealed was not taken by Cover 

Virginia, BHSA, or the service authorization contractor; 

or 

b. The sole issue is a federal or state law requiring an 

automatic change adversely affecting some or all GAP 

SMI program applicants or enrollees. 

3. An appeal case may be closed if: 

a. The hearing officer schedules a hearing and sends a 

written schedule letter notifying the appellant or his 

representative of the date, time, and location of the 

hearing, the appellant or his representative failed to 

appear at the scheduled hearing, and the hearing officer 

sends a letter to the appellant for an explanation as to 

why he failed to appear, and: 

(1) The appellant or his representative did not reply to the 

request within 10 calendar days with an explanation that 

met good cause criteria; or 

(2) The appellant or his representative replied within 10 

calendar days of the request and the DMAS Appeals 

Division determined that the reply did not meet good 

cause criteria. 

b. The hearing officer sends a written schedule letter 

requesting that the appellant or his representative provide 

a telephone number at which he can be reached for a 

telephonic hearing and the appellant or his representative 

failed to respond within 10 calendar days to the request 

for a telephone number at which he could be reached for 

a telephonic hearing. 

c. The appellant or his representative withdraws the 

appeal request in writing. 

d. Cover Virginia, the BHSA, or the service authorization 

contractor approves the full amount, duration, and scope 

of services requested. 

e. Evidence in the record shows that the decision made 

by Cover Virginia, the BHSA, or the service 

authorization contractor was clearly in error and that the 

case should be fully resolved in the appellant’s favor. 

B. Remand to Cover Virginia, the BHSA, or the service 

authorization contractor. If the hearing officer determines 

from the record, without conducting a hearing, that the case 

might be resolved in the appellant's favor if Cover Virginia, 

the BHSA, or the service authorization contractor obtains and 

develops additional information, documentation, or 

verification, the hearing officer may remand the case to Cover 

Virginia, the BHSA, or the service authorization contractor 

for action consistent with the hearing officer's written 

instructions pursuant to 12VAC30-135-494. 

C. The appellant shall have no opportunity to seek judicial 

review except in cases where the hearing officer receives and 

analyzes a response from the appellant or representative as 

described in subdivisions A 1 a (2), A 1 b (2), A 3 a (2), and 

subsection B of this section. 

D. A letter shall be sent to the appellant or his representative 

that explains the determination made on his appeal. 

12VAC30-135-494. Evidentiary hearings and final 

decisions. 

A. All hearings shall be scheduled at a reasonable time, date, 

and place, and the appellant and his representative shall be 

notified in writing at least 15 days before the hearing. 

1. The hearing location shall be determined by the DMAS 

Appeals Division. 

2. A hearing shall be rescheduled at the appellant's request 

no more than twice unless compelling reasons exist. 

3. Rescheduling the hearing at the appellant's or his 

representative's request will result in automatic waiver of 

the 90-day deadline for resolution of the appeal. The delay 

date for the decision will be calculated as set forth in 

12VAC30-135-489 J. 

B. The hearing shall be conducted by a department hearing 

officer. The hearing officer shall review the complete record 

for all Cover Virginia, BHSA, or service authorization 
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contractor actions that are properly appealed; conduct 

informal, fact-gathering hearings; evaluate evidence 

presented; research the issues; and render a written final 

decision. 

C. Subject to the requirements of all applicable federal and 

state laws regarding privacy, confidentiality, disclosure, and 

personally identifiable information, the appeal record shall be 

made accessible to the appellant and his representative at a 

convenient place and time at least five working days before 

the date of the hearing and during the hearing. The appellant 

and his representative may examine the content of the 

appellant's case file and all documents and records the 

department will rely on at the hearing except those records 

excluded by law.  

D. Appellants or their representatives who require the 

attendance of witnesses or the production of records, 

memoranda, papers, and other documents at the hearing may 

request in writing the issuance of a subpoena. The request 

must be received by the hearing officer at least 10 working 

days before the scheduled hearing. Such request shall include 

(i) the witness or respondent's name, home and work 

addresses, and county or city of work and residence if the 

subpoena is for witnesses, (ii) a description of the specific 

records requested if the subpoena is for records, and (iii) the 

name and address of the sheriff's office that will serve the 

subpoena.  

E. The hearing officer shall conduct the hearing; decide on 

questions of evidence, procedure, and law; question 

witnesses; and assure that the hearing remains relevant to the 

issue or issues being appealed. The hearing officer shall 

control the conduct of the hearing and decide who may 

participate in the hearing.  

F. Hearings shall be conducted in an informal, 

nonadversarial manner. The appellant or his representative 

shall have the right to bring witnesses, establish all pertinent 

facts and circumstances, present an argument without undue 

interference, and question or refute the testimony or evidence, 

including the opportunity to confront and cross-examine 

agency representatives.  

G. The rules of evidence shall not strictly apply. All 

relevant, nonrepetitive evidence may be admitted, but the 

probative weight of the evidence will be evaluated by the 

hearing officer.  

H. The hearing officer may leave the hearing record open for 

a specified period of time after the hearing to receive 

additional evidence or argument from the appellant or his 

representative. 

1. The hearing officer may order an independent medical 

assessment when the appeal involves medical issues such 

as a diagnosis, an examining physician's report, or a 

medical review team's decision, and the hearing officer 

determines that it is necessary to have an assessment by 

someone other than the person or team who made the 

original decision (e.g., to obtain more detailed medical 

findings about the impairments, to obtain technical or 

specialized medical information, or to resolve conflicts or 

differences in medical findings or assessments in the 

existing evidence). A medical assessment ordered pursuant 

to this subsection shall be at the department's expense and 

shall become part of the record. 

2. The hearing officer may receive evidence that was not 

presented by either party if the record indicates that such 

evidence exists, and the appellant or his representative 

requests to submit it or requests that the hearing officer 

secure it. 

3. If the hearing officer receives additional evidence from 

an entity other than the appellant or his representative, the 

hearing officer shall (i) send a copy of such evidence to the 

appellant and his representative and to Cover Virginia, the 

BHSA, or the service authorization contractor and (ii) 

provide each party the opportunity to comment on such 

evidence in writing or to have the hearing reconvened to 

respond to such evidence. 

4. Any additional evidence received will become a part of 

the hearing record, but the hearing officer must determine 

whether it will be used in making the decision. 

I. After conducting the hearing, reviewing the record, and 

deciding questions of law, the hearing officer shall issue a 

written final decision that either (i) sustains or reverses, in 

whole or in part, the action of Cover Virginia, the BHSA, or 

the service authorization contractor or (ii) remands the case 

for further evaluation consistent with the hearing officer's 

written instructions. Some decisions may be a combination of 

these dispositions. The hearing officer's final decision shall be 

considered as the department's final administrative action 

pursuant to 42 CFR 431.244(f). The final decision shall 

include:  

1. Identification of the issue or issues; 

2. Relevant facts, to include a description of the procedural 

development of the case;  

3. Conclusions of law, regulations, and policy that relate to 

the issue or issues;  

4. Discussions, analysis of the accuracy of the agency's 

action, conclusions, and the hearing officer's decision;  

5. Further action, if any, to be taken by the agency to 

implement the decision;  

6. The deadline date by which further action must be taken; 

and  

7. A cover letter informing the appellant and representative 

of the hearing officer's decision. The letter must indicate 

that the hearing officer's decision is final and that the final 

decision may be appealed directly to circuit court. 

J. A copy of the hearing record shall be forwarded to the 

appellant and his representative with the final decision. 

K. An appellant who disagrees with the hearing officer's 

final decision as defined in this section may seek judicial 
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review pursuant to the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-

4026 of the Code of Virginia) and Rules of the Supreme 

Court of Virginia, Part Two A. Written instructions for 

requesting judicial review must be provided to the appellant 

or representative with the hearing officer's decision, and upon 

request by the appellant or representative. 

12VAC30-135-495. Department of Medical Assistance 

Services Appeals Division appeal records. 

A. No person shall take from the DMAS Appeals Division's 

custody any original record, paper, document, or exhibit that 

has been certified to the division except as the division's 

director or his designee authorizes, or as may be necessary to 

furnish or transmit copies for other official purposes.  

B. Information in the appellant's record can be released only 

to the appellant or the appellant's authorized representative; 

Cover Virginia, the BHSA, or the service authorization 

contractor; and other persons named in a release of 

information authorization signed by an appellant or his 

representative. 

C. The fees to be charged and collected for any copies of 

DMAS Appeals Division records will be in accordance with 

Virginia's Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia) or other controlling law. 

D. When copies are requested from records in the division's 

custody, the required fee shall be waived if the copies are 

requested in connection with an appellant's own appeal. 

12VAC30-135-496. Provider appeals. 

A. GAP SMI program provider appeals shall be conducted 

in accordance with the department's provider appeal 

regulations in Part XII (12VAC30-20-500 et seq.) of 

12VAC30-20, § 32.1-325 et seq. of the Code of Virginia, and 

the Virginia Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia). 

B. The department's appeal decision shall be binding on and 

shall not be subject to further appeal by Cover Virginia, the 

BHSA, and the service authorization contractor.  

12VAC30-135-498. Individual rights. 

A. Individuals who have been found eligible for and have 

been enrolled in the GAP SMI program shall have the right to 

be treated with respect and dignity by health care provider 

staff and to have their personal health information kept in 

confidence per the Health Insurance Portability and 

Accountability Act. 

B. No premiums, copayments, coinsurance, or deductibles 

shall be charged to individuals who have been found to be 

eligible for and are enrolled in the GAP SMI program. 

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of the form 

with a hyperlink to access it. The form is also available from 

the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (12VAC30-135) 

Governor's Access Plan (GAP) Serious Mental Illness (SMI) 

Screening Tool, DMAS-P603 (eff. 11/14) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(12VAC30-135) 

Child Adolescent Functional Assessment Scale (Uniform 

Assessment Instrument), Functional Assessment Systems, 

2000. 

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 

(DSM-IV-TR), Fourth Edition, Text Revision, copyright 

2000, American Psychiatric Association, 1000 Wilson 

Boulevard, Suite 1825, Arlington, Virginia 22209, 

http://www.psychiatry.org  

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 

(DSM-5®), Fifth Edition, copyright 2013, American 

Psychiatric Association, 1000 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 1825, 

Arlington, Virginia 22209, http://www.psychiatry.org/dsm5 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4171; Filed December 6, 2016, 2:50 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-190. Rules Governing the 

Reporting of Cost and Utilization Data Relating to 

Mandated Benefits and Mandated Providers (amending 

14VAC5-190-10, 14VAC5-190-20, 14VAC5-190-30, 

14VAC5-190-50, 14VAC5-190-60, 14VAC5-190-70; 

repealing 14VAC5-190-40, Appendix A, Appendix B).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-233 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 31, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Eric Lowe, Policy Advisor, Bureau of 

Insurance, State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1157, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9628, FAX (804) 

371-9944, or email eric.lowe@scc.virginia.gov. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7cc6f004171~2&typ=40&actno=004171&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7cc6f004171~2&typ=40&actno=004171&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bb758004171~4&typ=40&actno=004171&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bb758004171~4&typ=40&actno=004171&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bb758004171~4&typ=40&actno=004171&mime=application/pdf
http://www.psychiatry.org/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b09c3004171~4&typ=40&actno=004171&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b09c3004171~4&typ=40&actno=004171&mime=application/pdf
http://www.psychiatry.org/dsm5
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Summary: 

Section 38.2-3419.1 of the Code of Virginia requires that 

certain insurers, health services plans, and health 

maintenance organizations report to the commission no 

less often than biennially cost and utilization information 

for each of the mandated benefits and providers set forth in 

Article 2 (§ 38.2-3408 et seq.) of Chapter 34 of Title 38.2 

of the Code of Virginia. The proposed amendments 

streamline the reporting process related to costs and 

utilization associated with mandated benefits and 

mandated providers, while continuing to provide the 

information required by § 38.2-3419.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

AT RICHMOND, DECEMBER 5, 2016 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2016-00223 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 

Amending the Rules Governing the Reporting of 

Cost and Utilization Data Relating to 

Mandated Benefits and Mandated Providers 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides 

that the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall 

have the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 

enforcement and administration of all laws within its 

jurisdiction, and § 38.2-223 of the Code provides that the 

Commission may issue any rules and regulations necessary or 

appropriate for the administration and enforcement of Title 

38.2 of the Code. 

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission 

pursuant to § 38.2-223 of the Code are set forth in Title 14 of 

the Virginia Administrative Code.  A copy may also be found 

at the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case.  

The Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") has submitted to the 

Commission proposed amendments to rules set forth in 

Chapter 190 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code, 

entitled Rules Governing the Reporting of Cost and 

Utilization Data Relating to Mandated Benefits and Mandated 

Providers, 14 VAC 5-190-10 et seq. ("Rules"), which amend 

the Rules at 14 VAC 5-190-10 through 14 VAC 5-190-30, 

and 14 VAC 5-190-50 through 14 VAC 5-190-80; and repeal 

the Rules at 14 VAC 5-190-40. In addition, forms have been 

repealed and a new form added. 

Section 38.2-3419.1 of the Code requires that certain 

insurers, health services plans, and health maintenance 

organizations report to the Commission, no less often than 

biennially, cost and utilization information for each of the 

mandated benefits and providers set forth in Article 2 of 

Chapter 34 of Title 38.2 of the Code. The amendments to the 

Rules are necessary to make the reporting process related to 

costs and utilization associated with mandated benefits and 

mandated providers more efficient, while continuing to 

provide the information required by § 38.2-3419.1 of the 

Code. 

NOW THE COMMISSION is of the opinion that the 

proposed amendments submitted by the Bureau to amend the 

Rules at 14 VAC 5-190-10 through 14 VAC 5-190-30 and  

14 VAC 5-190-50 through 14 VAC 5-190-80; repeal the 

Rules at 14 VAC 5-190-40 and forms; and add a new form, 

should be considered for adoption. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposal to amend the Rules at 14 VAC 5-190-10 

through 14 VAC 5-190-30 and 14 VAC 5-190-50 through 

14 VAC 5-190-80; repeal the Rules at 14 VAC 5-190-40 and 

forms; and add a new form, is attached hereto and made a part 

hereof. 

(2) All interested persons who desire to comment in support 

of or in opposition to, or request a hearing to consider the 

amendments to the Rules, shall file such comments or hearing 

request on or before January 31, 2017, with Joel H. Peck, 

Clerk, State Corporation Commission, c/o Document Control 

Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218. Interested 

persons desiring to submit comments electronically may do 

so by following the instructions at the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. All comments shall refer to 

Case No. INS-2016-00223. 

(3) If no written request for a hearing on the proposal to 

amend the Rules is received on or before January 31, 2017, 

the Commission, upon consideration of any comments 

submitted in support of or in opposition to the proposal, may 

amend the Rules. 

(4) The Bureau forthwith shall provide notice to all health 

insurance issuers licensed to issue policies of accident and 

sickness insurance, subscription contracts, or evidences of 

coverage in this Commonwealth, and to all interested persons. 

(5) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the 

proposal to amend the Rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia 

Registrar of Regulations for appropriate publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(6) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall make available this Order and the attached proposed 

amendment to the Rules on the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case.  

(7) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 

an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of 

Ordering Paragraph (4) above. 

(8) This matter is continued.  

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 

the Commission to: Kiva B. Pierce, Assistant Attorney 

General, Division of Consumer Counsel, Office of the 

Attorney General, 202 North Ninth Street, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219; and a copy hereof shall be delivered to the 
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Commission's Office of General Counsel and the Bureau of 

Insurance in care of Deputy Commissioner Althelia P. Battle. 

14VAC5-190-10. Purpose.  

The purpose of this regulation is to implement § 38.2-3419.1 

of the Code of Virginia with respect to mandated health 

insurance benefits and providers:  

This regulation is designed to:  

1. Provide the format for the reporting of costs and 

utilization associated with mandated benefits and 

providers;  

2. Describe the system for reporting such data; 3. Define 

the information that is required to be reported; and  

4. Report 3. Describe general data reporting elements 

related to costs and utilization associated with mandated 

benefits and mandated providers. However, due to the 

numerous means of filing claims through various 

procedure codes, the regulation limits the data requested to 

that information required to be submitted.  

14VAC5-190-20. Scope.  

This regulation shall apply to every insurer, health services 

plan and health maintenance organization health insurance 

issuer licensed to issue policies of accident and sickness 

insurance, subscription contracts, or evidences of coverage in 

this Commonwealth.  

14VAC5-190-30. Definitions.  

For the purposes of this regulation The following words and 

terms when used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Applicable policy" or "contract" means any accident and 

sickness insurance policy providing hospital, medical and 

surgical, or major medical coverage on an expense incurred 

basis or any accident and sickness subscription contract or 

evidence of coverage or any health care plan provided by a 

health maintenance organization issued or issued for delivery 

in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

 "Covered lives" means the total number of covered lives 

reported by a health insurance issuer on the National 

Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) 

Supplemental Health Care Exhibit for Individual 

Comprehensive Health Coverage, Small Group Employer 

Comprehensive Health Coverage, and Large Group Employer 

Comprehensive Health Coverage combined as defined in the 

NAIC Annual Statement Instructions, or equivalents in a 

successor form. 

"Earned premiums" means the aggregate of the earned 

premium on all policies during a given period. The figure is 

calculated by adding the premiums written to the unearned 

premiums as of the beginning of the period and subtracting 

the unearned premiums as of the end of the period.  

"Health insurance issuer" means an insurance company or 

insurance organization (including a health maintenance 

organization) that is licensed to engage in the business of 

insurance in the Commonwealth and is subject to the laws of 

the Commonwealth that regulate insurance within the 

meaning of § 514(b)(2) of the Employee Retirement Income 

Security Act of 1974 (29 USC § 1144 (b)(2)). Such term does 

not include a group health plan. 

"Incurred claims" means the total losses sustained whether 

paid or unpaid.  

"Insurer" means any association, aggregate of individuals, 

business, corporation, individual, joint-stock company, 

Lloyds type of organization, organization, partnership, 

receiver, reciprocal or interinsurance exchange, trustee or 

society engaged in the business of making contracts of 

insurance, as set forth in § 38.2-100 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Mandated benefits" means those benefits that must be 

included or offered in policies delivered or issued for delivery 

in the Commonwealth as required by §§ 38.2-3409 through 

38.2-3419 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Mandated providers" means those practitioners that are 

listed in §§ 38.2-3408 and 38.2-4221 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Paid claims" means the aggregate of loss payments, less 

deductions for all credits, except that no deduction is made 

for reinsurance recoveries, during a given period.  

"Reporting period" means the two individual calendar year 

years immediately preceding the May 1 reporting date, 

reported separately.  

"Written premiums" means gross premiums written minus 

premiums on policies cancelled and all returned premiums 

during a given period. Premiums paid to reinsurance carriers 

on reinsurance ceded are not deducted.  

14VAC5-190-40. Reporting requirements. (Repealed.)  

A. Full report required. Except as set forth in subsections B 

and C of this section, all insurers, health services plans and 

health maintenance organizations licensed to issue policies of 

accident and sickness insurance or subscription contracts in 

the Commonwealth of Virginia must file a full and complete 

Form MB-1 report in accordance with the provisions of 

14VAC5-190-50.  

B. Exemption: No report required. Any insurer, health 

services plan or health maintenance organization whose total 

Virginia annual written premiums for all accident and 

sickness policies or subscription contracts, as reported to the 

commission on its Annual Statement for a particular reporting 

period is less than $500,000 shall, for that reporting period, 

be exempt from filing a report as required by these rules, and 

shall not be required to notify the commission of such 

exemption other than through the timely filing of its Annual 

Statement.  

C. Eligibility to file abbreviated report. Any insurer, health 

services plan or health maintenance organization that does not 

qualify for an exemption under subsection B of this section 

may file an abbreviated report, as described in subsection D 

of this section if its Virginia annual written premiums for 

applicable policies or contracts, as defined in 14VAC5-190-
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30 of these rules, that were subject to the requirements of § 

38.2-3408 or § 38.2-4221, and the requirements of §§ 38.2-

3409 through 38.2-3419 of the Code of Virginia during the 

reporting period total less than $500,000.  

D. Abbreviated report defined. The abbreviated report shall 

include a completed first page of the Form MB-1 report 

format prescribed by the commission in Appendix A of this 

chapter, or as later modified pursuant to 14VAC5-190-60, 

along with a breakdown of the insurer's, health services 

plan's, or health maintenance organization's Virginia written 

premiums for all accident and sickness policies or contracts 

for the reporting period by policy type (e.g., Medicare 

supplement, major medical, disability income, limited 

benefit) and by situs (e.g., Virginia, Illinois).  

14VAC5-190-50. Procedures Reporting and filing 

requirements. 

A. Each insurer, health services plan or health maintenance 

organization shall submit a full and complete Form MB-1 

report to the Bureau of Insurance by May 1, of each year 

unless: 1. It is exempted from this requirement by 14VAC5-

190-40 B; or 2. It is eligible to file an abbreviated report 

pursuant to 14VAC5-190-40 C. Abbreviated reports must be 

submitted by May 1 of each year Beginning May 1, 2017, and 

every other year thereafter, any health insurance issuer 

licensed to issue an applicable policy or contract in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia who reported greater than 5,000 

covered lives in Virginia during either of the individual 

calendar years comprising the reporting period shall file with 

the Bureau of Insurance a separate Form 190-A report for 

each calendar year in the reporting period.  

B. The Form MB-1 190-A report may be obtained on the 

Bureau of Insurance's webpage at 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/co/health/mandben.aspx, and 

shall be filed in the format prescribed in Appendix A of this 

chapter electronically in accordance with the instructions that 

appear on the Bureau of Insurance's webpage. Information 

shall be converted to the required coding systems by the 

insurer, health services plan or health maintenance 

organization prior to submission to the Bureau of Insurance.  

C. Reports may be filed by use of machine readable 

computer diskettes issued by the Bureau of Insurance 

expressly for this purpose, although typewritten reports are 

acceptable provided that the exact format set forth in this 

chapter, and as subsequently modified as set forth in 

14VAC5-190-60, is utilized.  

14VAC5-190-60. Annual notification and modification of 

reporting form.  

The Bureau of Insurance shall be permitted to modify the 

data requirements of the MB-1 reporting form Form 190-A 

report and data reporting instructions on an annual basis. Any 

such modifications, including but not limited to the addition 

of new benefit or provider categories as necessitated by the 

addition of new mandated benefit or provider requirements to 

the Code of Virginia, as well as instructions related to 

tracking and compiling data through medical procedure and 

diagnostic codes, shall be provided to all entities the health 

insurance issuers described in 14VAC5-190-20, in the form 

of an administrative letter sent by regular mail to the entity's 

mailing address shown in the bureau's records 14VAC5-190-

50 A via letter or on the Bureau of Insurance's webpage. 

Failure by an entity to receive or review such annual notice 

notification shall not be cause for exemption or grounds for 

noncompliance with the reporting requirements set forth in 

these rules this chapter.  

14VAC5-190-70. Penalties.  

The failure by an insurer, health services plan or health 

maintenance organization, unless exempt pursuant to 

14VAC5-190-20 B, a health insurance issuer to file a 

substantially complete and accurate report as required by this 

chapter by the required date may be considered a willful 

violation and is subject to an appropriate penalty in 

accordance with §§ 38.2-218 and 38.2-219 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

APPENDIX A. FORM MB-1 INSTRUCTIONS AND 

INFORMATION. (Repealed.) 

Cover Sheet:  

The figure entered for Total Premium for all Accident and 

Sickness Lines should be consistent with the total accident 

and sickness premium written in Virginia for all accident and 

sickness lines including credit accident and sickness, 

disability income, and all others, whether subject to §§ 38.2-

3408 or 38.2-4221 and §§ 38.2-3409 through 38.2-3419 of 

the Code of Virginia or not, as reported in the Company's 

Annual Statement for the reporting period. This figure should 

not be adjusted.  

The figure entered for Total Premiums on Applicable 

Policies and Contracts should be the total accident and 

sickness premiums written in Virginia on applicable policies 

and contracts, as defined in 14VAC5-190-30 that are subject 

to §§ 38.2-3408 or 38.2-4221 and §§ 38.2-3409 through 38.2-

3419 for the reporting period. Written premium on applicable 

policies only should be included. Policies sitused outside of 

Virginia, and policies sitused in Virginia, but not subject to 

Mandated Benefits as provided in § 38.2-3408 or § 38.2-4221 

and § 38.2-3409 through § 38.2-3419 are not considered 

applicable policies.  

Report Type (Abbreviated or Complete) - the company must 

determine eligibility to file an abbreviated report under 

14VAC5-190-40 C or a complete report for this reporting 

period. Companies submitting an abbreviated report must 

submit the cover sheet of Form MB-1 as well as the 

information required by 14VAC5-190-40 D.  

Part A: Claim Information - Benefits  

Part A requires disclosure of specific claim data for each 

mandated benefit and mandated offer for both individual and 

group business. Carriers are reminded that the basis on which 

claim data is presented, either "Paid" or "Incurred" must 
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always be completed. This is entered at the top of the form, 

and the basis must be consistent throughout the report.  

Total claims paid/incurred for individual contracts and 

group certificates refers to all claims paid or incurred under 

the types of policies subject to the reporting requirements. 

This figure should not be the total of claim payments entered 

in column c, rather a total of all claims paid or incurred under 

the applicable contracts or certificates. This number has been 

omitted by several carriers reporting previously. The Bureau 

can not compile the information reported without this 

number. It is imperative that this number be entered.  

Columns a and b - "Number of Visits" or "Number of Days" 

refers to the number of provider and physician visits, and the 

number of inpatient or partial hospital days, as applicable. 

The numbers reported should be consistent with the type of 

service rendered. For example, number of days (column b) 

should not be reported unless the claim dollars being reported 

were paid or incurred for inpatient or partial hospitalization.  

Claims reported for § 38.2-3409, Handicapped Dependent 

Children should include only those claims paid or incurred as 

a result of a continuation of coverage because of the criteria 

provided in this section of the Code of Virginia.  

Claims reported for § 38.2-3410, Doctor to Include Dentist, 

should include only claims for treatment normally provided 

by a physician, but which were provided by a dentist. Claims 

for normal or routine dental services should not be reported.  

Column c -Total Claims Payments - companies should enter 

the total of claims paid or incurred for the mandate.  

Column d - Number of Contracts  

Individual business - companies should report the number of 

individual contracts in force in Virginia which contain the 

benefits and providers listed. The number of contracts should 

be consistent throughout column d, except in the case of 

mandated offers, which may be less.  

Group business - companies should report the number of 

group certificates in force in Virginia which contain the 

benefits and providers listed, not the number of group 

contracts. This number should also be consistent except for 

mandated offers, which may be less.  

Column e - Claim Cost Per Contract/Certificate. This figure 

is computed by dividing the amount entered in column c by 

the figure entered in column d. It is no longer necessary for 

reporting companies to enter this figure. The Bureau's 

software will compute this figure automatically.  

Column f - Annual Administrative Cost should only include 

1996 administrative costs (not start-up costs, unless those 

costs were incurred during the reporting period).  

Column g - Percent of Total Health Claims is the claims 

paid or incurred for this benefit as a percentage of the total 

amount of health claims paid or incurred subject to this 

reporting requirement. It is no longer necessary for reporting 

companies to enter this figure. The Bureau's software will 

compute this figure automatically.  

Part B: Claim Information - Providers  

In determining the cost of each mandate, it is expected that 

claim and other actuarial data will be used. A listing of the 

CPT-4 and ICD-9CM Codes which should be used in 

collecting the required data is attached for your convenience.  

Column a - Number of Visits is the number of visits to the 

provider group for which claims were paid or incurred.  

Column b - Total Claims Payments is the total dollar amount 

of claims paid to the provider group.  

Column c - Cost Per Visit is computed by dividing the 

amount entered in column b by the figure entered in column 

a. It is no longer necessary for reporting companies to enter 

this figure. The Bureau's software will compute this figure 

automatically.  

Column d - Number of Contracts  

Individual business - report the number of individual 

contracts subject to this reporting requirement.  

Group business - report the number of group certificates 

subject to this reporting requirement.  

Column e - Claim Cost Per Contract/Certificate - (both 

group and individual business) is the amount entered in 

column b divided by the figure entered in column d. It is no 

longer necessary for reporting companies to enter this figure. 

The Bureau's software will compute this figure automatically.  

Column f - Annual Administrative Cost should only include 

1996 administrative costs (not start-up costs, unless those 

costs were incurred during the reporting period).  

Column g - Percent of Total Health Claims is the claims 

paid or incurred for services administered by each provider 

type as a percentage of the total amount of health claims paid 

or incurred subject to this reporting requirement. It is no 

longer necessary for reporting companies to enter this figure. 

The Bureau's software will compute this figure automatically.  

Part C: Premium Information  

Standard Policy  

Use what you consider to be your standard individual policy 

and/or group certificate to complete the deductible amount, 

the coinsurance paid by the insurer, and the 

individual/employee out-of-pocket maximum. These amounts 

should be entered under the heading of Individual Policy 

and/or Group certificates, as applicable, in the unshaded 

blocks.  

For your standard health insurance policy in Virginia, 

provide the total annual premium that would be charged per 

unit of coverage assuming inclusion of all of the benefits and 

providers listed. A separate annual premium should be 

provided for Individual policies and Group certificates, both 

single and family.  

Premium Attributable to Each Mandate  

Provide the portion (dollar amount) of the annual premium 

for each policy that is attributable to each mandated benefit, 
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offer and provider. If the company does not have a "Family" 

rating category, coverage for two adults and two children is to 

be used when calculating the required family premium 

figures.  

Please indicate where coverage under your policy exceeds 

Virginia mandates. It is understood that companies do not 

usually rate each benefit and provider separately. However, 

for the purpose of this report it is required that a dollar figure 

be assigned to each benefit and provider based on the 

company's actual claim experience, such as that disclosed in 

Parts A and B, and other relevant actuarial information.  

Number of Contracts/Certificates  

Provide the number of individual policies and/or group 

certificates issued or renewed by the Company in Virginia 

during the reporting period in the appropriate fields under 

each heading.  

Provide the number of individual policies and/or group 

certificates in force for the company in Virginia as of the last 

day of the reporting period in the appropriate fields under 

each heading.  

Annual Premium for Individual Standard Policy (30 year old 

male in Richmond)  

Enter the annual premium for an individual policy with no 

mandated benefits or mandated providers for a 30 year old 

male in the Richmond area in your standard premium class in 

the appropriate line. Enter the cost for a policy for the same 

individual with present mandates in the appropriate line. 

(Assume coverage including $250 deductible, $1,000 stop-

loss limit, 80% co-insurance factor, and $250,000 policy 

maximum.) If you do not issue a policy of this type, provide 

the premium for a 30 year old male in your standard premium 

class for the policy that you offer that is most similar to the 

one described and summarize the differences from the 

described policy in a separate form. The premium for a policy 

"with mandates" should include all mandated benefits, offers, 

and providers.  

Average Dollar Amount for Converting Group to Individual  

Companies should provide information concerning the cost 

of converting group coverage to an individual policy. 

Information should be provided only as relevant to your 

company's practices.  

If the company adds an amount to the annual premium of a 

group policy or certificate to cover the cost of conversion to 

an individual policy, provide the average dollar amount per 

certificate under the "group certificate" heading in the fields 

for single and family coverages, as appropriate.  

If the cost of conversion is instead covered in the annual 

premium of the individual policy, provide the average dollar 

amount attributable to the conversion requirement under the 

heading "Individual Policy" in the fields for single or family 

coverages, as appropriate. If the cost of conversion is instead 

covered by a one-time charge made to the group policyholder 

for each conversion, provide the average dollar amount under 

the heading "Group Certificates" in the fields for single or 

family coverages, as appropriate.  

Part D - Utilization and Expenditures for Selected 

Procedures by Provider Type  

Selected Procedure Codes are listed in Part D to obtain 

information about utilization and costs for specific types of 

services. Please identify expenditures and visits for the 

Procedure Codes indicated. Other claims should not be 

included in this Part. Individual and group data must be 

combined for this part of the report.  

Claim data should be reported by procedure code and 

provider type. "Physician" refers to medical doctors.  

Data should only reflect paid claims. Unpaid claims should 

not be included.  

It is no longer necessary to report the Cost Per Visit. The 

Bureau's software will compute this figure automatically.  

General  

Information provided on Form MB-1 should only reflect the 

experience of policies or contracts delivered or issued for 

delivery in the Commonwealth of Virginia and subject to 

Virginia mandated benefit, mandated offer and provider 

statutes.  

Note the addition of data to be reported for Coverage of 

Procedures Involving Bones and Joints, § 38.2-3418.2. This is 

the first reporting year for this information. Refer to 

Administrative Letter 1996-16, dated December 4, 1996.  

EDITOR'S NOTE: Form MB-1 is not shown below, but is 

being stricken. 

APPENDIX B. CPT-4, ICD-9CM, AND UB-82 

REFERENCES. (Repealed.) 

A. CPT and ICD-9CM Codes  

Va. Code Section 38.2-3410: Doctor to Include Dentist  

(Medical services legally rendered by dentists and covered 

under contracts other than dental)  

ICD Codes  

520 - 529 Diseases of oral cavity, salivary glands and 

jaws  

Va. Code Section 38.2-3411: Newborn Children  

(children less than 32 days old)  

ICD Codes  

740 - 759 Congenital anomalies  

760 - 763 Maternal causes of perinatal morbidity and 

mortality  

764 - 779 Other conditions originating in the perinatal 

period  

CPT Codes  

99295 Initial NICU care, per day, for the evaluation and 

management of a critically ill neonate or infant  
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99296 Subsequent NICU care, per day, for the evaluation 

and management of a critically ill and unstable neonate 

or infant  

99297 Subsequent NICU care, per day, for the evaluation 

and management of a critically ill though stable neonate 

or infant  

99431 History and examination of the normal newborn 

infant, initiation of diagnostic and treatment programs 

and preparation of hospital records  

99432 Normal newborn care in other than hospital or 

birthing room setting, including physical examination of 

baby and conference(s) with parent(s)  

99433 Subsequent hospital care, for the evaluation and 

management of a normal newborn, per day  

99440 Newborn resuscitation: provision of positive 

pressure ventilation and/or chest compressions in the 

presence of acute inadequate ventilation and/or cardiac 

output  

Va. Code Section 38.2-3412.1: Mental/Emotional/Nervous 

Disorders  

(must use UB-82 place-of-service codes from Section B of 

this Appendix to differentiate between inpatient, partial 

hospitalization, and outpatient claims where necessary)  

ICD Codes  

290, 293 - 294 Organic Psychotic Conditions  

295 - 299 Other psychoses  

300 - 302, 306 - 316 Neurotic disorders, personality 

disorders, sexual deviations, other non-psychotic mental 

disorders  

317 - 319 Mental retardation  

CPT Codes  

99221 - 99223 Initial hospital care, per day, for the 

evaluation and management of a patient  

99231 - 99233 Subsequent hospital care, per day, for the 

evaluation and management of a patient  

99238 Hospital discharge day management; 30 minutes 

or less  

99241 - 99255 Initial consultation for psychiatric 

evaluation of a patient includes examination of a patient 

and exchange of information with primary physician and 

other informants such as nurses or family members, and 

preparation of report.  

99261 - 99263 Follow up consultation for psychiatric 

evaluation of a patient  

90801 Psychiatric diagnostic interview examination 

including history, mental status, or disposition  

90820 Interactive medical psychiatric diagnostic 

interview examination  

90825 Psychiatric evaluation of hospital records, other 

psychiatric reports, psychometric and/or projective tests, 

and other accumulated data for medical diagnostic 

purposes  

96100 Psychological testing (includes psychodiagnostic 

assessment of personality, psychopathology, 

emotionality, intellectual abilities, e.g., WAIS-R, 

Rorschach, MMPI) with interpretation and report, per 

hour  

90835 Narcosynthesis for psychiatric diagnostic and 

therapeutic purposes  

90841 Individual medical psychotherapy by a physician, 

with continuing medical diagnostic evaluation, and drug 

management when indicated, including insight oriented, 

behavior modifying or supportive psychotherapy; (face to 

face with the patient); time unspecified  

90842 approximately 75 to 80 minutes (90841)  

90843 approximately 20 to 30 minutes (90841)  

90844 approximately 45 to 50 minutes (90841)  

90845 Medical psychoanalysis  

90846 Family medical psychotherapy (without the 

patient present)  

90847 Family medical psychotherapy (conjoint 

psychotherapy) by a physician, with continuing medical 

diagnostic evaluation, and drug management when 

indicated  

90849 Multiple family group medical psychotherapy by a 

physician, with continuing medical diagnostic evaluation, 

and drug management when indicated  

90853 Group medical psychotherapy by a physician, with 

continuing medical diagnostic evaluation and drug 

management when indicated  

90855 Interactive individual medical psychotherapy  

90857 Interactive group medical psychotherapy  

90862 Pharmacologic management, including 

prescription, use, and review of medication with no more 

than minimal medical psychotherapy  

Other Psychiatric Therapy  

90870 Electroconvulsive therapy, single seizure  

90871 Multiple seizures, per day  

90880 Medical hypnotherapy  

90882 Environmental intervention for medical 

management purposes on a psychiatric patient's behalf 

with agencies, employers, or institutions  

90887 Interpretation or explanation of results of 

psychiatric, other medical examinations and procedures, 

or other accumulated data to family or other responsible 

persons, or advising them to assist patient  

90889 Preparation of report of patient's psychiatric 

status, history, treatment, or progress (other than for legal 

or consultative purposes) for other physicians, agencies, 

or insurance carriers  
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Other Procedures  

90899 Unlisted psychiatric service or procedure  

Va. Code Section 38.2-3412.1: Alcohol and Drug 

Dependence  

ICD Codes  

291 Alcoholic Psychoses  

303 Alcohol dependence syndrome  

292 Drug Psychoses  

304 Drug dependence  

305 Nondependent abuse of drugs  

CPT Codes  

Same as listed above for Mental/Emotional/Nervous 

Disorders, but for above listed conditions.  

Va. Code Section 38.2-3414: Obstetrical Services  

Normal Delivery, Care in Pregnancy, Labor and Delivery  

ICD Codes  

650 Delivery requiring minimal or no assistance, with or 

without episiotomy, without fetal manipulation [e.g., 

rotation version] or instrumentation [forceps] of 

spontaneous, cephalic, vaginal, full-term, single, live 

born infant. This code is for use as a single diagnosis 

code and is not to be used with any other code in the 

range 630 - 676  

CPT Codes  

Any codes in the maternity care and delivery range of 

59000-59899 associated with ICD Code 650 listed above  

All Other Obstetrical Services  

ICD Codes  

630 - 677, Complications of pregnancy, childbirth, and 

the puerperium  

CPT Codes  

Incision, Excision, Introduction, and Repair  

59000 Amniocentesis, any method  

59012 Cordocentesis (intrauterine), any method  

59015 Chorionic villus sampling, any method  

59020 Fetal contraction stress test  

59025 Fetal non-stress test  

59030 Fetal scalp blood sampling  

59050 Fetal monitoring during labor by consulting 

physician (ie., non-attending physician) with written 

report (separate procedure); supervision and 

interpretation  

59100 Hysterotomy, abdominal (e.g., for hydatidiform 

mole, abortion)  

59120 Surgical treatment of ectopic pregnancy; tubal or 

ovarian, requiring salpingectomy and/or oophorectomy, 

abdominal or vaginal approach  

59121 tubal or ovarian, without salpingectomy and/or 

oophorectomy (59120)  

59130 abdominal pregnancy (59120)  

59135 interstitial, uterine pregnancy requiring total 

hysterectomy (59120)  

59136 interstitial, uterine pregnancy with partial 

resection of uterus (59120)  

59140 cervical, with evacuation (59120)  

59150 Laparoscopic treatment of ectopic pregnancy; 

without salpingectomy and/or oophorectomy  

59151 with salpingectomy and/or oophorectomy (59150)  

59160 Curettage, postpartum (separate procedure)  

59200 Insertion of cervical dilator (e.g., laminaria, 

prostaglandin) (separate procedure)  

59300 Episiotomy or vaginal repair, by other than 

attending physician  

59320 Cerclage or cervix, during pregnancy; vaginal  

59325 abdominal (59320)  

59350 Hysterorrhaphy of ruptured uterus  

Vaginal Delivery, Antepartum and Postpartum Care  

59400 Routine obstetric care including antepartum care, 

vaginal delivery (with or without episiotomy, and/or 

forceps) and postpartum care  

59409 Vaginal delivery only (with or without episiotomy 

and/or forceps)  

59410 including postpartum care (59409)  

59412 External cephalic version, with or without 

tocolysis  

59414 Delivery of placenta (separate procedure)  

59425 Antepartum care only; 4-6 visits  

59426 7 or more visits (59425)  

59430 Postpartum care only (separate procedure)  

Cesarean Delivery  

59510 Routine obstetric care including antepartum care, 

cesarean delivery, and postpartum care  

59514 Cesarean delivery only  

59515 including postpartum care (59514)  

59525 Subtotal or total hysterectomy after cesarean 

delivery (list in addition to 59510 or 59515)  

Abortion  

99201-99233 Medical treatment of spontaneous complete 

abortion, any trimester  

59812 Treatment of incomplete abortion, any trimester, 

completed surgically  

59820 Treatment of missed abortion, completed 

surgically; first trimester  

59821 second trimester (59820)  
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59830 Treatment of septic abortion, completed surgically  

59840 Induced abortion, by dilation and curettage  

59841 Induced abortion, by dilation and evacuation  

59850 Induced abortion, by one or more intra-amniotic 

injections (amniocentesis-injections), including hospital 

admission and visits, delivery of fetus and secundines;  

59851 with dilation and curettage and/or evacuation 

(59850)  

59852 with hysterotomy (failed intra-amniotic injection) 

(59850)  

Other Procedures  

59870 Uterine evacuation and curettage for hydatidiform 

mole  

59899 Unlisted procedure, maternity care and delivery  

Anesthesia  

00850 Cesarean section  

00855 Cesarean hysterectomy  

00857 Continuous epidural analgesia, for labor and 

cesarean section  

Va. Code Section 38.2-3418: Pregnancy from Rape/Incest  

Same Codes as Obstetrical Services/Any Other Appropriate 

in cases where coverage is provided solely due to the 

provisions of § 38.2-3418 of the Code of Virginia  

Va. Code Section 38.2-3418.1: Mammography  

CPT Codes  

76092 Screening Mammography, bilateral (two view 

film study of each breast)  

Va. Code Section 38.2-3411.1: Child Health Supervision, 

Services  

(Well Baby Care)  

CPT Codes  

90700 Immunization, active; diphtheria, tetanus toxoids, 

and acellular pertussis vaccine (DTaP)  

90701 Diphtheria and tetanus toxoids and pertussis 

vaccine (DTP)  

90702 Diphtheria and tetanus toxoids (DT)  

90703 Tetanus toxoid  

90704 Mumps virus vaccine, live  

90705 Measles virus vaccine, live, attenuated  

90706 Rubella virus vaccine, live  

90707 Measles, mumps and rubella virus vaccine, live  

90708 Measles, and rubella virus vaccine, live  

90709 Rubella and mumps virus vaccine, live  

90710 Measles, mumps, rubella, and varicella vaccine  

90711 Diphtheria, tetanus toxoids, and pertussis (DTP) 

and injectable poliomyelitis vaccine  

90712 Poliovirus vaccine, live, oral (any type (s))  

90716 Varicella (chicken pox) vaccine  

90720 Diphtheria, tetanus toxoids, and pertussis (DTP) 

and Hemophilus influenza B (HIB) vaccine  

90737 Hemophilus influenza B  

New Patient  

99381 Initial preventive medicine evaluation and 

management of an individual including a comprehensive 

history, a comprehensive examination, 

counseling/anticipatory guidance/risk factor reduction 

interventions, and the ordering of appropriate 

laboratory/diagnostic procedures, new patient; infant (age 

under 1 year)  

99382 early childhood (age 1 through 4 years) (99381)  

99383 late childhood (age 5 through 11 years) (99381)  

Established Patient  

99391 Periodic preventive medicine reevaluation and 

management of an individual including a comprehensive 

history, comprehensive examination, 

counseling/anticipatory guidance/risk factor reduction 

interventions, and the ordering of appropriate 

laboratory/diagnostic procedures, established patient; 

infant (age under 1 year)  

99392 early childhood (age 1 through 4 years) (99391)  

99393 late childhood (age 5 through 11 years) (99391)  

96110 Developmental testing; limited (e.g., 

Developmental Screening Test II, Early Language 

Milestone Screen), with interpretation and report  

81000 Urinalysis, by dip stick or tablet reagent for 

bilirubin, glucose, hemoglobin, ketones, leukocytes, 

nitrite, pH, protein, specific gravity, urobilinogen, any 

number of these constituents; non-automated, with 

microscopy  

84030 Phenylalanine (PKU), blood  

86580 Tuberculosis, intradermal  

86585 Tuberculosis, tine test  

Va. Code Section 38.2-3418.1:1: Bone Marrow Transplants  

(applies to Breast Cancer Only)  

ICD Codes  

174 through 174.9 - female breast 175 through 175.9 - 

male breast  

CPT Codes  

36520 Therapeutic apheresis (plasma and/or cell 

exchange)  

38241 autologous  

86950 Leukocyte transfusion  

The Bureau is aware that because of the changing and 

unique nature of treatment involving this diagnosis and 

treatment procedures, reporting only those claim costs 

associated with these codes will lead to significant under 
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reporting. Accordingly, if one of the ICD Codes and any of 

the CPT codes shown above are utilized, the insurer should 

report all claim costs incurred within thirty (30) days prior to 

the CPT Coded procedure as well as all claim costs incurred 

within ninety (90) days following the CPT Coded procedure.  

Va. Code Section 38.2-3418.2: Procedures Involving Bones 

and Joints  

ICD Codes  

524.6 - 524.69 Temporomandibular Joint Disorders  

719 - 719.6, 719.9 Other and Unspecified Disorders of 

Joint  

719.8 Other Specified Disorders of Joint  

CPT Codes  

20605 Intermediate joint, bursa or ganglion cyst (e.g., 

temporomandibular, acromioclavicular, wrist, elbow or 

ankle, olecranon bursa)  

21010 Arthrotomy, temporomandibular joint  

21050 Condylectomy, temporomandibular joint (separate 

procedure)  

21060 Meniscectomy, partial or complete, 

temporomandibular joint (separate procedure)  

21070 Coronoidectomy (separate procedure)  

21116 Injection procedure for temporomandibular joint 

arthrography  

21125 Augmentation, mandibular body or angle; 

prosthetic material  

21127 With bond graft, onlay or interpositional (includes 

obtaining autograft)  

21141 Reconstruction midface. LeFort I  

21145 single piece, segment movement in any direction, 

requiring bone grafts  

21146 two pieces, segment movement in any direction, 

requiring bone grafts  

21147 three or more pieces, segment movement in any 

direction, requiring bone grafts  

21150 Reconstruction midface, LeFort II; anterior 

intrusion  

21151 any direction, requiring bone grafts  

21193 Reconstruction of mandibular rami, horizontal, 

vertical, "C", or "L" osteotomy; without bone graft  

21194 With bone graft (includes obtaining graft)  

21195 Reconstruction of mandibular rami and/or body, 

sagittal split; without internal rigid fixation.  

21196 With internal rigid fixation  

21198 Osteotomy, mandible, segmental  

21206 Osteotomy, maxilla, segmental (e.g., Wassmund 

or Schuchard)  

21208 Osteoplasty, facial bones; augmentation 

(autograft, allograft, or prosthetic implant)  

21209 Reduction  

21210 Graft, bone; nasal, maxillary or malar areas 

(includes obtaining graft)  

21215 Mandible (includes obtaining graft)  

21240 Arthroplasty, temporomandibular joint, with or 

without autograft (includes obtaining graft)  

21242 Arthroplasty, temporomandibular joint, with 

allograft  

21243 Arthroplasty, temporomandibular joint, with 

prosthetic joint replacement  

21244 Reconstruction of mandible, extraoral, with 

transosteal bone plate (e.g., mandibular staple bone plate)  

21245 Reconstruction of mandible or maxilla, 

subperiosteal implant; partial  

21246 Complete  

21247 Reconstruction of mandibular condyle with bone 

and cartilage autografts (includes obtaining grafts) (e.g., 

for hemifacial microsomia)  

21480 Closed treatment of temporomandibular 

dislocation; initial or subsequent  

21485 Complicated (e.g., recurrent requiring 

intermaxillary fixation or splinting), initial or subsequent  

21490 Open treatment of temporomandibular dislocation  

29800 Arthroscopy, temporomandibular joint, diagnostic, 

with or without synovial biopsy (separate procedure)  

29804 Arthroscopy, temporomandibular joint, surgical  

69535 Resection temporal bone, external approach (For 

middle fossa approach, see 69950-69970)  

70100 Radiologic examination, mandible; partial, less 

than four views  

70110 Complete, minimum for four views  

70328 Radiologic examination, temporomandibular joint, 

open and closed mouth; unilateral  

70330 Bilateral  

70332 Temporomandibular joint arthrography, 

radiological supervision and interpretation  

70336 Magnetic resonance (e.g., proton) imaging, 

temporomandibular joint  

70486 Computerized axial tomography, maxillofacial 

area; without contrast material(s)  

70487 With contrast material(s)  

70488 Without contrast material, followed by contrast 

material(s) and further sections  
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B. Uniform Billing Code Numbers (UB-82)  

PLACE OF SERVICE CODES 

Field 

Values 

  Report As: 

10q Hospital, inpatient Inpatient 

1S Hospital, affiliated 

hospice 

Inpatient 

1Z Rehabilitation hospital, 

inpatient 

Inpatient 

20 Hospital, outpatient Outpatient 

2F Hospital-based 

ambulatory surgical 

facility 

Outpatient 

2S Hospital, outpatient 

hospice services 

Outpatient 

2Z Rehabilitation hospital, 

outpatient 

Outpatient 

30 Provider's office Outpatient 

3S Hospital, office Outpatient 

40 Patient's home Outpatient 

4S Hospice (Home hospice 

services) 

Outpatient 

51 Psychiatric facility, 

inpatient 

Inpatient 

52 Psychiatric facility, 

outpatient 

Outpatient 

53 Psychiatric day-care 

facility 

Partial 

Hospitalization 

54 Psychiatric night-care 

facility 

Partial 

Hospitalization 

55 Residential substance 

abuse treatment facility 

Inpatient 

56 Outpatient substance 

abuse treatment facility 

Outpatient 

60 Independent clinical 

laboratory 

Outpatient 

70 Nursing home Inpatient 

80 Skilled nursing 

facility/extended care 

facility 

Inpatient 

90 Ambulance; ground Outpatient 

9A Ambulance; air Outpatient 

9C Ambulance; sea Outpatient 

00 Other unlisted licensed 

facility 

Outpatient 

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of the form 

with a hyperlink to access it. The form is also available from 

the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (14VAC5-190) 

Form 190-A. 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/co/health/mandben.aspx. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4880; Filed December 6, 2016, 2:01 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC41-20. Barbering and 

Cosmetology Regulations (amending 18VAC41-20-10, 

18VAC41-20-20, 18VAC41-20-30, 18VAC41-20-50, 

18VAC41-20-60, 18VAC41-20-80 through 18VAC41-20-

140, 18VAC41-20-160, 18VAC41-20-180, 18VAC41-20-

200, 18VAC41-20-210, 18VAC41-20-220, 18VAC41-20-

240 through 18VAC41-20-280; repealing 18VAC41-20-

190, 18VAC41-20-230). 

18VAC41-40. Wax Technician Regulations (repealing 

18VAC41-40-10 through 18VAC41-40-260).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Demetrios J. Melis, Executive Director, 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, 

FAX (804) 527-4295, or email 

barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments are the result of a periodic review; repeal 

18VAC41-40, Wax Technician Regulations, and 

incorporate wax technician regulations into 18VAC41-20; 

and include clarifying changes to text to ensure 

consistency with other board regulations and state and 

federal laws and compliance with current industry 

standards. The amendments (i) add new definitions; (ii) 

require disclosure of felonies, certain misdemeanors, and 

disciplinary actions; (iii) require individuals to apply for 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/co/health/mandben.aspx
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licensure within five years of taking the exam; (iv) allow 

the board to decline to issue licenses, temporary permits, 

and temporary instructor permits if grounds exist that 

would allow the board to deny licensure; (v) require 

voided licenses to be returned to the board within 30 days 

of the license being voided and clarify what circumstances 

may lead to voiding a license; (vi) allow for board 

inspection of shops, salons, and schools during reasonable 

hours; (vii) require schools to provide specific information 

to the board, including changes to curriculum, and within 

required time periods; (viii) provide grounds for discipline 

for several prohibited actions; and (ix) update sanitation 

requirements, including a requirement that businesses 

provide a bathroom with hot and cold running water for 

clients.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Part I  

General  

18VAC41-20-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. All terms defined in Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-

700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia are 

incorporated in this chapter.  

"Business entity" means a sole proprietorship, partnership, 

corporation, limited liability company, limited liability 

partnership, or any other form of organization permitted by 

law.  

"Direct supervision" means that a Virginia licensed barber, 

cosmetologist, or nail technician, or wax technician shall be 

present in the barbershop, cosmetology salon, or nail 

technician salon, or waxing salon at all times when services 

are being performed by a temporary permit holder or 

registered apprentice.  

"Endorsement" means a method of obtaining a license by a 

person who is currently licensed in another state.  

"Firm" means any business entity recognized under the laws 

of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Licensee" means any person, partnership, association, 

limited liability company, or corporation sole proprietorship, 

partnership, corporation, limited liability company, limited 

liability partnership, or any other form of organization 

permitted by law holding a license issued by the Board for 

Barbers and Cosmetology, as defined in § 54.1-700 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

"Post-secondary educational level" means an accredited 

college or university that is approved or accredited by the 

[ Southern Association of Colleges and Schools ] 

Commission on Colleges or by an accrediting agency that is 

recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education.  

"Reciprocity" means a conditional agreement between two 

or more states that will recognize one another's regulations 

and laws for equal privileges for mutual benefit.  

"Reinstatement" means having a license or certificate 

restored to effectiveness after the expiration date has passed.  

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license 

or certificate for another period of time.  

"Responsible management" means the following 

individuals: 

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship; 

2. The partners of a general partnership; 

3. The managing partners of a limited partnership; 

4. The officers of a corporation; 

5. The managers of a limited liability company; 

6. The officers or directors of an association or both; and 

7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under 

the laws of the Commonwealth as having a fiduciary 

responsibility to the firm. 

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation, 

who is trading under his own name, or under an assumed or 

fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of §§ 59.1-69 

through 59.1-76 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Virginia state institution" for the purposes of these 

regulations means any institution approved by the Virginia 

Department of Education or the Virginia Department of 

Corrections.  

Part II  

Entry  

18VAC41-20-20. General requirements for a barber, 

cosmetologist, or nail technician, or wax technician 

license.  

A. In order to receive a license as a barber, cosmetologist, or 

nail technician, an applicant must Any individual wishing to 

engage in barbering, cosmetology, nail care, or waxing shall 

obtain a license in compliance with § 54.1-703 of the Code of 

Virginia and shall meet the following qualifications:  

1. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed 

barber, cosmetologist, or nail technician, or wax technician 

in every jurisdiction Virginia and all other jurisdictions 

where licensed. The applicant shall disclose to the board at 

the time of application for licensure, any disciplinary 

action taken in another jurisdiction Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions in connection with the applicant's practice as a 

barber, cosmetologist, or nail technician, or wax 

technician. This includes [ but is not limited to ] monetary 

penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a 

license in connection with a disciplinary action, or 

voluntary termination of a license. The applicant shall 

disclose to the board at the time of application for licensure 

whether if he has been previously licensed in Virginia as a 
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barber, cosmetologist, or nail technician, or wax 

technician.  

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant wherein the board deems the applicant is unfit or 

unsuited to engage in barbering, cosmetology, nail care, or 

waxing. The board will decide each case by taking into 

account the totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo 

contendere or comparable plea shall be considered a 

disciplinary action for the purposes of this section. The 

applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, 

decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory agency, or 

board with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, 

or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as 

prima facie evidence of such disciplinary action.  

2. The applicant shall disclose his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable.  

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia barber and cosmetology license 

laws and the regulations of the board this chapter.  

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

the each applicant shall not have been convicted in any 

jurisdiction of a misdemeanor or felony which directly 

relates to the profession of barbering, cosmetology, or nail 

care. The board shall have the authority to determine, 

based upon all the information available, including the 

applicant's record of prior convictions, if the applicant is 

unfit or unsuited to engage in the profession of barbering, 

cosmetology, or nail care. The board will decide each case 

by taking into account the totality of the circumstances. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purposes of this section. The applicant 

shall provide a certified copy of a final order, decree or 

case decision by a court or regulatory agency with the 

lawful authority to issue such order, decree or case 

decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such conviction. This record shall be 

forwarded by the applicant to the board within 10 days 

after all appeal rights have expired disclose the following 

information regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and 

all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury within [ three two ] years of the date of the 

application; and 

b. All felony convictions [ during the applicant's lifetime 

within 20 years of the date of application ]. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall provide evidence satisfactory to the 

board that the applicant has passed the board approved 

board-approved examination, administered either by the 

board or by independent examiners.  

B. Eligibility to sit for board-approved examination.  

1. Training in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Any person 

completing an approved barber, cosmetology, or nail 

technician, or wax technician training program in a 

Virginia licensed barber, cosmetology, or nail technician, 

or wax technician school, respectively, or a Virginia public 

school's barber, cosmetology, or nail technician, or wax 

technician program approved by the State Virginia 

Department of Education shall be eligible for examination.  

2. Training outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia, but 

within the United States and its territories.  

a. Any person completing a barber or cosmetology 

training program that is substantially equivalent to the 

Virginia program but is outside of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia must submit to the board documentation of the 

successful completion of 1,500 hours of training to be 

eligible for examination. If less than 1,500 hours of 

barber or cosmetology training was completed, an 

applicant must submit a certificate, diploma, or other 

documentation acceptable to the board verifying the 

completion of a substantially equivalent barber or 

cosmetology course and documentation of six months of 

barber or cosmetology work experience in order to be 

eligible for examination.  

b. Any person completing a nail technician training 

program that is substantially equivalent to the Virginia 

program but is outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

must submit to the board documentation of the successful 

completion of 150 hours of training to be eligible for 

examination. If less than 150 hours of nail technician 

training was completed, an applicant must submit a 

certificate, diploma, or other documentation acceptable to 

the board verifying the completion of a substantially 

equivalent nail technician course and documentation of 

six months of nail technician work experience in order to 

be eligible for the nail technician examination.  

c. Any person completing a wax technician training 

program that is substantially equivalent to the Virginia 

program but is outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

must submit to the board documentation of the successful 

completion of 115 hours of training to be eligible for 

examination. If less than 115 hours of wax technician 

training was completed, an applicant must submit a 

certificate, diploma, or other documentation acceptable to 

the board verifying the completion of a substantially 

equivalent wax technician course and documentation of 

six months of wax technician work experience in order to 

be eligible for the wax technician examination.  
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18VAC41-20-30. License by endorsement.  

Upon proper application to the board, any person currently 

licensed to practice as a barber, cosmetologist, or nail 

technician, or wax technician who is a barber, [ cosmetology 

or cosmetologist, ] nail technician, or wax technician 

instructor, or who is a licensed instructor in the respective 

profession in any other state or jurisdiction of the United 

States and who has completed both a training program and a 

written and practical examination that is substantially 

equivalent to that required by these regulations this chapter, 

may be issued a barber, [ cosmetology cosmetologist ], or nail 

technician, or wax technician license or a barber, 

cosmetology or, nail technician, or wax technician instructor 

certificate, respectively, without an examination. The 

applicant must also meet the requirements set forth in 

18VAC41-20-20 [ A and 18VAC41-20-100 ].  

18VAC41-20-50. Exceptions to training requirements.  

A. Virginia licensed cosmetologists with a minimum of two 

years of work experience shall be eligible for the barber 

examination; likewise, a Virginia licensed barber with a 

minimum of two years of work experience shall be eligible 

for the cosmetology examination.  

B. Virginia licensed barbers with less than two years of 

work experience and Virginia barber students enrolling in a 

Virginia cosmetology training school shall be given 

educational credit for the training received for the 

performances completed at a barber school; likewise, licensed 

Virginia cosmetologists with less than two years of work 

experience and Virginia cosmetology students enrolling in a 

Virginia barber training school shall be given educational 

credit for the training received for the performances 

completed at a cosmetology school.  

C. Any barber, cosmetologist, or nail technician, or wax 

technician applicant having been trained as a barber, 

cosmetologist, or nail technician, or wax technician in any 

Virginia state institution shall be eligible for the respective 

examination.  

D. Any barber, or cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax 

technician applicant having a minimum of two years 

experience in barbering, or cosmetology, nail care, or waxing 

in the United States armed forces and having provided 

documentation satisfactory to the board of that experience 

shall be eligible for the respective examination.  

18VAC41-20-60. Examination requirements and fees.  

A. Applicants for initial licensure shall pass both a practical 

examination and a written examination approved by the 

board. The examinations may be administered by the board or 

by a designated testing service.  

B. Any applicant who passes one part of the examination 

shall not be required to take that part again provided both 

parts are passed within one year of the initial examination 

date.  

C. Any candidate failing to appear as scheduled for 

examination shall forfeit the examination fee.  

D. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

contracted charges to the board by an outside vendor. These 

contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained for in 

compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-

4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may be adjusted 

and charged to the candidate in accordance with these 

contracts. The fee shall not exceed $225 per candidate.  

E. Any candidate failing to apply for initial licensure within 

five years of passing both a practical examination and a 

written examination shall be required to retake both portions. 

Records of examinations shall be maintained for a maximum 

of five years.  

18VAC41-20-80. Examination administration.  

A. The examinations shall be administered by the board or 

the designated testing service. The practical examination shall 

be supervised by a chief examiner.  

B. Every barber, cosmetology, or nail technician, or wax 

technician examiner shall hold a current Virginia license in 

[ their his ] respective [ professions profession ], have three or 

more years of active experience as a licensed professional, 

and be currently practicing in that profession. Examiners shall 

attend training workshops sponsored by the board or by a 

testing service acting on behalf of the board.  

C. No certified barber, cosmetology, or nail technician, or 

wax technician instructor who is currently teaching, or is a 

school owner, or is an apprentice sponsor shall be an 

examiner.  

D. Each barber, cosmetology, and nail technician, and wax 

technician chief examiner shall hold a current Virginia license 

in his respective profession, have five or more years of active 

experience in that profession, have three years of active 

experience as an examiner, and be currently practicing in his 

respective profession. Chief examiners shall attend training 

workshops sponsored by the board or by a testing service 

acting on behalf of the board.  

E. The applicant shall follow all procedures established by 

the board with regard to conduct at the examination. Such 

procedures shall include any written instructions 

communicated prior to the examination date and any 

instructions communicated at the site, either written or oral, 

on the date of the examination. Failure to comply with all 

procedures established by the board and the testing service 

with regard to conduct at the examination may be grounds for 

denial of application.  

18VAC41-20-90. Barber, cosmetology, and nail 

technician, and wax technician temporary permits.  

A. A temporary permit to work under the supervision of a 

currently licensed barber, cosmetologist or, nail technician, or 

wax technician may be issued only to applicants for initial 

licensure that who the board finds eligible for examination. 

There shall be no fee for a temporary permit.  
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B. The temporary permit shall remain in force for 45 days 

following the examination date. The examination date shall 

be the first test date after the applicant has successfully 

submitted an application to the board that an examination is 

offered to the applicant by the board.  

C. Any person continuing to practice barbering, 

cosmetology, or nail care services, or waxing services after a 

temporary permit has expired may be prosecuted and fined by 

the Commonwealth under §§ 54.1-111 A 1 and 54.1-202 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

D. No applicant for examination shall be issued more than 

one temporary permit.  

E. Temporary permits shall not be issued where grounds 

may exist to deny a license pursuant to § 54.1-204 of the 

Code of Virginia or 18VAC41-20-20.  

18VAC41-20-100. General requirements for a barber 

instructor certificate, cosmetology instructor certificate, 

or nail technician instructor certificate, or wax technician 

instructor certificate.  

A. Upon filing an application with the Board for Barbers 

and Cosmetology, any person meeting the qualifications set 

forth in this section shall be eligible for a barber, 

cosmetology, or nail technician instructor certificate, if the 

person: Any individual wishing to engage in barbering 

instruction, cosmetology instruction, nail care instruction, or 

waxing instruction shall meet the following qualifications: 

1. Holds a current Virginia barber, cosmetology, or nail 

technician license, respectively; and The applicant shall be 

in good standing as a licensed barber, cosmetologist, nail 

technician, or wax technician, and instructor, respectively, 

in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where licensed. The 

applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the 

applicant's practice as a barber, cosmetologist, nail 

technician, or wax technician, or in the practice of teaching 

any of those professions. This includes [ but is not limited 

to ] monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, 

surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary 

action, or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant 

shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure if the applicant has been previously licensed in 

Virginia as a barber instructor, cosmetology instructor, nail 

technician instructor, or wax technician instructor.  

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant wherein the board deems the applicant is unfit or 

unsuited to engage in the instruction of barbering, 

cosmetology, nail care, or waxing. The board will decide 

each case by taking into account the totality of the 

circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or comparable 

plea shall be considered a disciplinary action for the 

purposes of this section. The applicant shall provide a 

certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a 

court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority 

to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and such copy 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

disciplinary action; 

2. Passes The applicant shall hold a current Virginia 

barber, cosmetology, nail technician, or wax technician 

license, respectively; 

3. The applicant shall: 

a. Pass a course in teaching techniques at the post-

secondary educational level; or  

3. Completes b. Complete an instructor training course 

approved by the Virginia Board for Barbers and 

Cosmetology under the supervision of a certified barber, 

cosmetologist, or nail technician, or wax technician 

instructor in a barber, cosmetology, or nail technician, or 

wax technician school, respectively; or  

4. Passes c. Pass an examination in barber, cosmetology 

or, nail technician, or wax technician instruction 

respectively, administered by the board or by a testing 

service acting on behalf of the board.; and 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information 

regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury within [ three two ] years of the date of the 

application; and 

b. All felony convictions [ during the applicant's lifetime 

within 20 years of the date of application ]. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

B. Applicants passing the examination for a barber, 

cosmetology or nail technician instructor certificate 

Instructors shall be required to maintain a barber, 

cosmetology, or nail technician, or wax technician license, 

respectively. 

18VAC41-20-110. Student instructor temporary permit.  

A. A licensed barber, cosmetologist, or nail technician, or 

wax technician may be granted a student instructor temporary 

permit to function under the direct supervision of a barber 

instructor, cosmetology instructor, or nail technician 

instructor, or wax technician instructor respectively. A 

licensed nail technician or wax technician may also be 

granted a student instructor permit to function under the direct 

supervision of a cosmetology instructor.  
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B. The student instructor temporary permit shall remain in 

force for not more than 12 months after the date of issuance 

and shall be nontransferable and nonrenewable. 

C. No applicant for examination shall be issued more than 

one student instructor temporary permit.  

D. Failure to maintain a barber, cosmetology, or nail 

technician, or wax technician license shall disqualify an 

individual from holding a student instructor temporary 

permit.  

E. Temporary permits shall not be issued where grounds 

may exist to deny a license pursuant to § 54.1-204 of the 

Code of Virginia or 18VAC41-20-100.  

18VAC41-20-120. Shop General requirements for a shop 

or salon license.  

A. Any individual firm wishing to operate a barbershop, 

cosmetology or salon, nail salon, or waxing salon shall obtain 

a shop or salon license in compliance with § 54.1-704.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. and shall meet the following qualifications 

in order to receive a license:  

1. The applicant [ and all members of the responsible 

management ] shall be in good standing as a licensed shop 

or salon in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where 

licensed. The applicant [ and all members of the 

responsible management ] shall disclose to the board at the 

time of application for licensure any disciplinary action 

taken in Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection 

with the applicant's operation of any barbershop, 

cosmetology salon, nail salon, or waxing salon or practice 

of the profession. This includes [ but is not limited to ] 

monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, 

surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary 

action, or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant 

shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure if the applicant [ or any member of the 

responsible management ] has been previously licensed in 

Virginia as a barbershop, cosmetology salon, nail salon, or 

waxing salon.  

Upon review of the applicant's [ and all members of the 

responsible management's ] prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or 

unsuited to engage in the operation of a barbershop, 

cosmetology salon, nail salon, or waxing salon. The board 

will decide each case by taking into account the totality of 

the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or 

comparable plea shall be considered a disciplinary action 

for the purposes of this section. The applicant shall provide 

a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by 

a court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful 

authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and 

such copy shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of 

such disciplinary action.  

2. The applicant shall disclose his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia barber and cosmetology license 

laws and this chapter.  

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information 

about the firm and all members of the responsible 

management regarding criminal convictions in Virginia 

and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions [ involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury ] within [ three two ] years of the date of the 

application; and 

b. All felony convictions [ within 20 years of the date of 

application ]. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible 

management.  

B. A barbershop, cosmetology, or nail salon license Shop or 

salon licenses are issued to firms as defined in this chapter 

and shall not be transferable and shall bear the same name 

and address of the business. Any changes in the name, or 

address, or ownership of the shop or salon shall be reported to 

the board in writing within 30 days of such changes. New 

owners shall be responsible for reporting such changes in 

writing to the board within 30 days of the changes. The board 

shall not be responsible for the licensee's, certificate holder's, 

or permit holder's failure to receive notices, communications, 

and correspondence caused by the licensee's, certificate 

holder's, or permit holder's failure to promptly notify the 

board in writing of any change of name or address or for any 

other reason beyond the control of the board. 

C. In the event of a closing of a barbershop or cosmetology 

or nail salon, the board must be notified by the owners in 

writing within 30 days of the closing, and the license must be 

returned by the owners to the board. Whenever the legal 

business entity holding the license is dissolved or altered to 

form a new business entity, the original license becomes void 

and shall be returned to the board within 30 days of the 

change. Additionally, the firm shall apply for a new license, 

within 30 days of the change in the business entity. Such 

changes include [ but are not limited to ]:  

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 
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2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited 

partnership; and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 

limited liability company, an association, or any other 

business entity recognized under the laws of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

D. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of 

a limited liability company, or officers or directors of an 

association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 

days of the change. 

E. The board or any of its agents shall be allowed to inspect 

during reasonable hours any licensed shop or salon for 

compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter. For 

purposes of a board inspection, "reasonable hours" means the 

hours between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.; however, if the licensee 

generally is not open to the public substantially during the 

same hours, "reasonable hours" shall mean the business hours 

when the licensee is open to the public. 

18VAC41-20-130. School General requirements for a 

school license.  

A. Any individual firm wishing to operate a barber, 

cosmetology, or nail technician, or wax technician school 

shall submit an application to the board at least 60 days prior 

to the date for which approval is sought, obtain a school 

license in compliance with § 54.1-704.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. All instruction and training of barbers, 

cosmetologists, or nail technicians shall be conducted under 

the direct supervision of a licensed barber, cosmetologist, or 

nail technician, respectively., and meet the following 

qualifications in order to receive a license:  

1. The applicant [ and all members of the responsible 

management ] shall be in good standing as a licensed 

school in Virginia and all other jurisdiction where licensed. 

The applicant [ and all members of the responsible 

management ] shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the 

applicant's operation of any barbering, cosmetology, nail, 

or waxing school or practice of the profession. This 

includes [ but is not limited to ] to monetary penalties, 

fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in 

connection with a disciplinary action, or voluntary 

termination of a license. The applicant shall disclose to the 

board at the time of application for licensure if the 

applicant [ or any member of the responsible 

management ] has been previously licensed in Virginia as a 

barbering, cosmetology, nail, or waxing school. 

Upon review of the applicant's [ and all members of the 

responsible management's ] prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant wherein the board deems the applicant is unfit or 

unsuited to engage in the operation of a barbering, 

cosmetology, nail, or waxing school. The board will decide 

each case by taking into account the totality of the 

circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or comparable 

plea shall be considered a disciplinary action for the 

purposes of this section. The applicant shall provide a 

certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a 

court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority 

to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and such copy 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

disciplinary action.  

2. The applicant shall disclose the applicant's physical 

address. A post office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia barber and cosmetology license 

laws and this chapter.  

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information 

about the firm and all members of the responsible 

management regarding criminal convictions in Virginia 

and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions [ involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury ] within [ three two ] years of the date of the 

application; and 

b. All felony convictions [ within 20 years of the date of 

application ]. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible 

management.  

B. A barber Barber, cosmetology, or nail technician, and 

wax technician school license licenses are issued to firms as 

defined in this chapter, shall not be transferable, and shall 

bear the same name and address as the school. Any changes 

in the name or the address of record or principal place of 

business of the school shall be reported to the board in 

writing within 30 days of such change. The board shall not be 

responsible for the licensee's, certificate holder's, or permit 

holder's failure to receive notices, communications, and 

correspondence caused by the licensee's, certificate holder's, 

or permit holder's failure to promptly notify the board in 

writing of any change of name or address or for any other 

reason beyond the control of the board. The name of the 

school must indicate that it is an educational institution. All 

signs, or other advertisements, must reflect the name as 

indicated on the license issued by the board and contain 

language indicating it is an educational institution.  
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C. In the event of a change of ownership of a school, the 

new owners shall be responsible for reporting such changes in 

writing to the board within 30 days of the changes.  

D. In the event of a school closing, the board must be 

notified by the owners in writing within 30 days of the 

closing, and the license must be returned.  

C. Whenever the legal business entity holding the license is 

dissolved or altered to form a new business entity, the 

original license becomes void and shall be returned to the 

board within 30 days of the change. Additionally, the firm 

shall apply for a new license within 30 days of the change in 

business entity. Such changes include [ but are not limited 

to ]:  

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited 

partnership; and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 

limited liability company, an association, or any other 

business entity recognized under the laws of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

D. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of 

a limited liability company, or officers or directors of an 

association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 

days of the change. 

E. Barber schools, cosmetology schools, nail schools, or 

waxing schools under the Virginia Department of Education 

shall be exempted from licensure requirements.  

F. The board or any of its agents shall be allowed to inspect 

during reasonable hours any licensed school for compliance 

with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia or this chapter. For purposes of a 

board inspection, "reasonable hours" means the hours 

between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.; however, if the licensee generally 

is not open to the public substantially during the same hours, 

"reasonable hours" shall mean the business hours when the 

licensee is open to the public. 

Part III  

Fees  

18VAC41-20-140. Fees.  

The following fees apply:  

FEE TYPE 

AMOUNT 

DUE 

September 1, 

2016, 

through 

August 31, 

2018 

AMOUNT 

DUE 

September 1, 

2018, and 

after 

WHEN DUE 

Individuals: 

Application $75 $105 
With 

application 

License by 

Endorsement 
$75 $105 

With 

application 

Renewal: 

Barber $75 $105 

With renewal 

card prior to 

expiration 

date 

Cosmetologist $75 $105 

With renewal 

card prior to 

expiration 

date 

Nail 

technician 

Technician 

$75 $105 

With renewal 

card prior to 

expiration 

date 

Wax 

Technician 
[ $75 ]  $105 

With renewal 

card prior to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$150* 

*includes $75 

renewal fee 

and $75 

reinstatement 

fee 

$210* 

*includes 

$105 renewal 

fee and $105 

reinstatement 

fee 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

Instructors: 

Application $100 $125 
With 

application 

License by 

Endorsement 
$100 $125 

With 

application 

Renewal $100 $150 

With renewal 

card prior to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$200* 

*includes 

$100 renewal 

fee and $100 

reinstatement 

fee 

$300* 

*includes 

$150 renewal 

fee and $150 

reinstatement 

fee 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

Facilities: 

Application $130 $190 
With 

application 

Renewal $130 $190 

With renewal 

card prior to 

expiration 

date 
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Reinstatement 

$260* 

*includes 

$130 renewal 

fee and $130 

reinstatement 

fee 

$380* 

*includes 

$190 renewal 

fee and $190 

reinstatement 

fee 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

Schools: 

Application $140 $220 
With 

application 

Add Program $100 $100 
With 

application 

Renewal $140 $220 

With renewal 

card prior to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$280* 

*includes 

$140 renewal 

fee and $140 

reinstatement 

fee 

$440* 

*includes 

$220 renewal 

fee and $220 

reinstatement 

fee 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

Part IV  

Renewal/Reinstatement  

18VAC41-20-160. License renewal required.  

A. All barber licenses, cosmetology licenses, nail technician 

licenses, barbershop licenses, cosmetology salon licenses, and 

nail technician salon licenses A license or certificate issued 

under this chapter shall expire two years from the last day of 

the month in which they were it was issued.  

B. All barber instructor certificates, cosmetology instructor 

certificates, and nail technician instructor certificates shall 

expire on the same date as the certificate holder's license 

expiration date.  

C. All school licenses shall expire on December 31 of each 

even-numbered year.  

18VAC41-20-180. Failure to renew.  

A. When a licensed or certified individual or business entity 

fails to renew its license or certificate within 30 days 

following its expiration date, the licensee or certificate holder 

shall apply for reinstatement of the license or certificate by 

submitting to the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation a reinstatement application and 

renewal fee and reinstatement fee.  

B. When a barber, cosmetologist, or nail technician licensed 

or certified individual or business entity fails to renew his its 

license within two years following the expiration date, 

reinstatement is no longer possible. To resume practice, the 

former licensee or certificate holder shall apply for licensure 

or certification as a new applicant, and shall meet all current 

application requirements, shall pass the board's current 

examination and shall receive a new license. Individuals 

applying for licensure under this section shall be eligible to 

apply for a temporary permit from the board under 

18VAC41-20-90 entry requirements for each respective 

license or certificate.  

C. When a barber instructor, cosmetology instructor, or nail 

technician instructor fails to renew his certificate within two 

years following the expiration date, reinstatement is no longer 

possible. To resume practice, the former certificate holder 

shall apply as a new applicant, meet all current application 

requirements, and receive a new license or temporary permit 

from the board. Upon receiving the new license, the 

individual may apply for a new instructor's certificate.  

D. C. The application for reinstatement for a school shall 

provide (i) the reasons for failing to renew prior to the 

expiration date, and (ii) a notarized statement that all students 

currently enrolled or seeking to enroll at the school have been 

notified in writing that the school's license has expired. All of 

these materials shall be called the application package. 

Reinstatement will be considered by the board if the school 

consents to and satisfactorily passes an inspection of the 

school and if the school's records are maintained in 

accordance with 18VAC41-20-240 and 18VAC41-20-250 

and 18VAC41-20-260 by the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation. Pursuant to 18VAC41-20-190 

18VAC41-20-130, upon receipt of the reinstatement fee, 

application package, and inspection results, the board may 

reinstate the school's license or require requalification or 

both. If the reinstatement application package and 

reinstatement fee are not received by the board within six 

months following the expiration date of the school's license, 

the board will notify the testing service that prospective 

graduates of the unlicensed school are not acceptable 

candidates for the examination. Such notification will be sent 

to the school and must be displayed in a conspicuous manner 

by the school in an area that is accessible to the public. No 

student shall be disqualified from taking the examination 

because the school was not licensed for a portion of the time 

the student attended if the school license is reinstated by the 

board.  

E. D. The date a renewal fee is received by the Department 

of Professional and Occupational Regulation, or its agent, 

will be used to determine whether [ a penalty fee or ] the 

requirement for reinstatement of a license or certificate is 

applicable.  

F. E. When a license or certificate is reinstated, the licensee 

or certificate holder shall be assigned an expiration date two 

years from the date of the last day of the month of 

reinstatement except for school licenses that shall expire on 

December 31 of each even-numbered year.  

G. F. A licensee or certificate holder who that reinstates his 

its license or certificate shall be regarded as having been 

continuously licensed or certified without interruption. 

Therefore, a licensee or certificate holder shall be subject to 

the authority of the board for activities performed prior to 

reinstatement.  
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H. G. A licensee or certificate holder who that fails to 

reinstate his its license or certificate shall be regarded as 

unlicensed or uncertified from the expiration date of the 

license or certificate forward. Nothing in these regulations 

this chapter shall divest the board of its authority to discipline 

a licensee or certificate holder for a violation of the law or 

regulations during the period of time for which the individual 

was licensed or certified.  

Part V  

Barber and, Cosmetology, Nail, and Waxing Schools  

18VAC41-20-190. Applicants for state approval. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Any person, firm, or corporation desiring to operate a 

barber, cosmetology, or nail school shall submit an 

application to the board at least 60 days prior to the date for 

which approval is sought.  

B. Barber schools, nail schools, or cosmetology schools 

under the Virginia Department of Education shall be 

exempted from licensure requirements.  

18VAC41-20-200. General requirements.  

A barber, cosmetology, or nail, or waxing school shall:  

1. Hold a school license for each and every location.  

2. Hold a salon license if the school receives compensation 

for services provided in its clinic.  

3. Employ a staff of [ and ensure all training is conducted 

by ] licensed and certified barber, cosmetology, or nail 

technician, or wax technician instructors, respectively. 

[ Licensed and certified cosmetology instructors may also 

instruct in nail and waxing programs. ]  

4. Develop individuals for entry level competency in 

barbering, cosmetology, or nail care, or waxing.  

5. Submit its curricula for board approval. [ All changes to 

curricula must be resubmitted and approved by the board. ]  

a. Barber curricula shall be based on a minimum of 1,500 

clock hours and shall include performances in 

accordance with 18VAC41-20-220.  

b. Cosmetology curricula shall be based on a minimum 

of 1,500 clock hours and shall include performances in 

accordance with 18VAC41-20-220.  

c. Nail technician curricula shall be based on a minimum 

of 150 clock hours and shall include performances in 

accordance with 18VAC41-20-220.  

d. Wax technician curricula shall be based on a minimum 

of 115 clock hours and shall include performances in 

accordance with 18VAC41-20-220. 

6. Inform the public that all services are performed by 

students if the school receives compensation for services 

provided in its clinic by posting a notice in the reception 

area of the shop or salon in plain view of the public.  

7. Classroom Conduct classroom instruction must be 

conducted in an area separate from the clinic area where 

practical instruction is conducted and services are 

provided.  

8. Possess the necessary equipment and implements to 

teach the respective curriculum. If any such equipment or 

implement is not owned by the school, then a copy of all 

agreements associated with the use of such property by the 

school [ the ] shall be provided to the board.  

18VAC41-20-210. Curriculum requirements.  

A. Each barber school shall submit with its application a 

curriculum including [ , but not limited to, ] a course syllabus, 

a detailed course content outline, a sample of five lesson 

plans, a sample of evaluation methods to be used, and a 

breakdown of hours and performances for all courses to be 

taught that will lead to licensure. The outline for barbering 

shall include [ , but not be limited to, ] the following:  

1. School policies;  

2. State law, regulations, and professional ethics;  

3. Business and shop management;  

4. Client consultation;  

5. Personal hygiene;  

6. Cutting the hair with a razor, clippers, and shears;  

7. Tapering the hair;  

8. Thinning the hair;  

9. Shampooing the hair;  

10. Styling the hair with a hand hair dryer;  

11. Thermal waving;  

12. Permanent waving with chemicals;  

13. Shaving;  

14. Trimming a moustache or beard;  

15. Applying hair color;  

16. Lightening or toning the hair;  

17. Analyzing skin or scalp conditions;  

18. Giving scalp treatments;  

19. Giving basic facial massage or treatment;  

20. Sanitizing and maintaining implements and equipment; 

and  

21. Honing and stropping a razor.  

B. Each cosmetology school shall submit with its 

application a curriculum including [ , but not limited to, ] a 

course syllabus, a detailed course content outline, a sample of 

five lesson plans, a sample of evaluation methods to be used, 

and a breakdown of hours and performances for all courses to 

be taught that will lead to licensure. The outline for 

cosmetology shall include [ , but not be limited to, ] the 

following:  

1. Orientation:  

a. School policies;  

b. State law, regulations, and professional ethics;  
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c. Personal hygiene; and  

d. Bacteriology, sterilization, and sanitation.  

2. Manicuring and pedicuring:  

a. Anatomy and physiology;  

b. Diseases and disorders;  

c. Procedures to include both natural and artificial 

application; and  

d. Sterilization.  

3. Shampooing and rinsing:  

a. Fundamentals;  

b. Safety rules;  

c. Procedures; and  

d. Chemistry, anatomy, and physiology.  

4. Scalp treatments:  

a. Analysis;  

b. Disorders and diseases;  

c. Manipulations; and  

d. Treatments.  

5. Hair styling:  

a. Anatomy and facial shapes;  

b. Finger waving, molding, and pin curling;  

c. Roller curling, combing, and brushing; and  

d. Heat curling, waving, braiding and pressing.  

6. Hair cutting:  

a. Anatomy and physiology;  

b. Fundamentals, materials, and equipment;  

c. Procedures; and  

d. Safety practices.  

7. Permanent waving-chemical relaxing:  

a. Analysis;  

b. Supplies and equipment;  

c. Procedures and practical application;  

d. Chemistry;  

e. Recordkeeping; and  

f. Safety.  

8. Hair coloring and bleaching:  

a. Analysis and basic color theory;  

b. Supplies and equipment;  

c. Procedures and practical application;  

d. Chemistry and classifications;  

e. Recordkeeping; and  

f. Safety.  

9. Skin care and make-up:  

a. Analysis;  

b. Anatomy;  

c. Health, safety, and sanitary rules;  

d. Procedures;  

e. Chemistry and light therapy;  

f. Temporary removal of hair; and  

g. Lash and brow tinting.  

10. Wigs, hair pieces, and related theory:  

a. Sanitation and sterilization;  

b. Types; and  

c. Procedures.  

11. Salon management:  

a. Business ethics; and  

b. Care of equipment.  

C. Each nail school shall submit with its application a 

curriculum including [ , but not be limited to, ] a course 

syllabus, a detailed course content outline, a sample of five 

lesson plans, a sample of evaluation methods to be used, and 

a breakdown of hours and performances for all courses to be 

taught that will lead to licensure. The outline for nail care 

shall include [ , but not be limited to, ] the following:  

1. Orientation:  

a. School policies;  

b. State law, regulations, and professional ethics;  

2. Sterilization, sanitation, bacteriology, and safety;  

3. Anatomy and physiology;  

4. Diseases and disorders of the nail;  

5. Nail procedures (i.e., manicuring, pedicuring, and nail 

extensions); and 

6. Nail theory and nail structure and composition.  

D. Each waxing school shall submit with its application a 

curriculum including [ , but not limited to, ] a course syllabus, 

a detailed course content outline, a sample of five lesson 

plans, a sample of evaluation methods to be used, and a 

breakdown of hours and performances for all courses to be 

taught that will lead to licensure. The outline for waxing shall 

include [ , but not be limited to, ] the following:  

1. Orientation:  

a. School policies;  

b. State law, regulations, and professional ethics; and 

c. Personal hygiene. 

2. Skin care and treatment:  

a. Analysis;  

b. Anatomy and physiology;  

c. Diseases and disorders of the skin;  

d. Health sterilization, sanitation, bacteriology, and safety 

including infectious disease control measures; and 

e. Temporary removal of hair.  
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3. Skin theory, skin structure, and composition.  

4. Client consultation:  

a. Health conditions;  

b. Skin analysis;  

c. Treatments;  

d. Client expectations; and 

d. Health forms and questionnaires.  

5. Waxing procedures for brow, lip, facial, legs, arms, 

underarm, chest, back, and bikini areas:  

a. Fundamentals;  

b. Safety rules; and  

c. Procedures. 

6. Wax treatments:  

a. Analysis;  

b. Disorders and diseases;  

c. Manipulations; and  

d. Treatments.  

7. Salon management:  

a. Business ethics; and  

b. Care of equipment. 

18VAC41-20-220. Hours of instruction and performances.  

A. Curriculum and performance requirements shall be 

offered over a minimum of 1,500 clock hours for barbering 

and cosmetology, and 150 clock hours for nail care, and 115 

clock hours for waxing.  

B. The curriculum requirements for barbering must include 

the following minimum performances:  

Hair and scalp treatments 10 

Hair styling 320 

Tinting 15 

Bleaching and frosting 10 

Temporary rinses 10 

Semi-permanent color 10 

Cold permanent waving or chemical 

relaxing 

25 

Hair shaping 50 

Wig care, styling, placing on model 5 

Finger waving and thermal waving 30 

Facials Basic facials and waxings 5 

TOTAL 490 

C. The curriculum requirements for cosmetology must 

include the following minimum performances:  

Hair and scalp treatments 10 

Hair styling 320 

Tinting 15 

Bleaching and frosting 10 

Temporary rinses 10 

Semi-permanent color 10 

Cold permanent waving or chemical 

relaxing 

25 

Hair shaping 50 

Wig care, styling, placing on model 5 

Finger waving and thermal waving 30 

Manicures/ and pedicures 15 

Facials Basic facials and waxings 5 

Sculptured nails/, nail tips/, and wraps 20 

TOTAL 525 

D. The curriculum requirements for nail care must include 

the following minimum performances:  

Manicures 30 

Pedicures 15 

Individual sculptured nails/ and nail tips 200 

Individual removals 10 

Individual nail wraps 20 

TOTAL 275 

E. The curriculum requirements for waxing must include the 

following minimum performances:  

Arms 4 

Back 2 

Bikini area 6 

Brows 12 

Chest 1 

Facial (i.e., face, chin, and cheek and lip) 6 

Leg 3 

Underarm 2 

TOTAL 36 

18VAC41-20-230. School identification. (Repealed.) 

Each barber, cosmetology, or nail care school approved by 

the board shall identify itself to the public as a teaching 

institution.  
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18VAC41-20-240. Records.  

A. Schools are required to keep upon graduation shall 

maintain on the premises of each school and available for 

inspection by the board or any of its agents the following 

records for the period of a student's enrollment through five 

years after the student's completion of the curriculum, 

termination, or withdrawal, written records of hours and 

performances showing what instruction a student has received 

for a period of five years after the student terminates or 

completes the curriculum of the school. These records shall 

be available for inspection by the department. All records 

must be kept on the premises of each school.:  

1. Enrollment application containing student's signature 

and a [ 2x2 two-inch by two-inch ] color head and 

shoulders photograph; 

2. Daily record of attendance containing student's 

signature; 

3. Student clock hours containing student's signature and 

method of calculation; 

4. Practical performance completion sheets containing 

student's signature; 

5. Final transcript; and 

6. All other relevant documents that account for a student's 

accrued clock hours and practical applications. 

B. Schools shall produce to the board or any of its agents 

within 10 days of the request any document, book, or record 

concerning any student, or for which the licensee is required 

to maintain records, for inspection and copying by the board 

or its agents. The board may extend such [ time frame 

timeframe ] upon a showing of extenuating circumstances 

prohibiting delivery within such 10-day period. 

C. Schools shall, within 21 days upon receipt of a written 

request from a student, provide documentation of hours and 

performances completed by the student as required to be 

maintained by subsection A of this section. 

D. Prior to a school changing ownership or a school closing, 

the school is required to provide to current students 

documentation of hours and performances completed. 

E. For a period of one year after a school changes 

ownership, the school shall provide, within 21 days upon 

receipt of a written request from a student, documentation of 

hours and performances completed by a current student. 

18VAC41-20-250. Hours reported Reporting.  

A. Schools shall provide, in a manner, format, and 

frequency prescribed by the board, a roster of all current 

students and a roster of students who attended in the 

preceding six months prior to the reporting deadline. 

B. Within 30 days of the closing of a licensed barber school, 

cosmetology school, or nail care school, for any reason, 

ceasing to operate, whether through dissolution or alteration 

of the business entity, the school shall provide a written 

report to the board on performances and hours of each of its 

students who have not completed the program.  

Part VI  

Standards of Practice  

18VAC41-20-260. Display of license.  

A. Each shop [ owner ], salon [ owner, ] or school [ owner ] 

shall ensure that all current licenses, certificates or permits 

issued by the board shall be displayed in plain view of the 

public either in the reception area or at individual work 

stations of the shop, salon, or school in plain view of the 

public. Duplicate licenses, certificates, or permits shall be 

posted in a like manner in every shop, salon, or school 

location where the regulant provides services.  

B. Each shop [ owner ], salon [ owner, ] or school [ owner ] 

shall ensure that no employee, licensee, student, or apprentice 

performs any service beyond the scope of practice for the 

applicable license.  

C. All licensees, certificate holders, and permit holders shall 

operate under the name in which the license, certificate, or 

permit is issued.  

D. Unless also licensed as a cosmetologist, a barber is 

required to hold a separate nail technician or wax technician 

license if he will be performing nail care or waxing manicures 

or pedicures or applying artificial nails.  

E. All apprenticeship cards issued by the Department of 

Labor and Industry (DOLI) shall be displayed in plain view 

of the public either in the reception area or at individual work 

stations of the shop or salon. The apprentice sponsor shall 

require each apprentice to wear a badge clearly indicating 

[ their his ] status as a DOLI registered apprentice.  

18VAC41-20-270. Sanitation and safety standards for 

shops, salons, and schools.  

A. Sanitation and safety standards. Any shop, salon, school, 

or facility where barber, cosmetology, or nail services or 

waxing services are delivered to the public must be clean and 

sanitary at all times. Compliance with these rules does not 

confer compliance with other requirements set forth by 

federal, state, and local laws, codes, ordinances, and 

regulations as they apply to business operation, physical 

construction and maintenance, safety, and public health. 

Licensees shall take sufficient measures to prevent the 

transmission of communicable and infectious diseases and 

comply with the sanitation standards identified in this section 

and shall [ insure ensure ] that all employees likewise comply.  

B. Disinfection and storage of implements.  

1. A wet disinfection unit is a container large enough to 

hold a disinfectant solution in which the objects to be 

disinfected are completely immersed. A wet disinfection 

unit must have a cover to prevent contamination of the 

solution. The solution must be a hospital [ (grade) grade ] 

and tuberculocidal disinfectant solution registered with the 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Disinfectant 

solutions shall be used according to manufacturer's 
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directions. Disinfection is to be carried out in the following 

manner:  

2. Disinfection of multiuse items constructed of hard, 

nonporous materials such as metal, glass, or plastic that the 

manufacturer designed for use on more than one client, 

including [ but not limited to ] clippers, scissors, combs, 

and nippers is to be carried out in the following manner 

prior to servicing a client: 

a. Remove hair and all foreign matter from the object, 

utilizing a brush if needed. Drill bits are to be soaked in 

acetone and scrubbed with a wire brush to remove all 

foreign matter.  

b. Wash thoroughly with hot water and soap.  

c. Rinse thoroughly with clean water and dry thoroughly 

with a clean paper towel.  

d. Fully immerse instruments implements into solution 

for a minimum of 10 minutes, and  

e. After immersion, rinse articles, thoroughly dry with a 

clean paper towel, and store in a clean predisinfected and 

dry cabinet, drawer, or nonairtight covered container, or 

leave instruments in an EPA-registered 

disinfection/storage solution used according to 

manufacturer's directions.  

3. Single-use items designed by the manufacturer for use 

on no more than one client should be discarded 

immediately after use on each individual client, including 

[ but not limited to ] powder puffs, lip color, cheek color, 

sponges, styptic pencils, or nail care implements. The 

disinfection and reuse of these items is not permitted and 

the use of single-use items on more than one client is 

prohibited. 

2. 4. For the purpose of recharging, rechargeable clippers 

may be stored in an area other than in a closed cabinet or 

container. This area shall be clean and the cutting edges of 

any clippers are to be disinfected.  

3. 5. Electrical clipper blades shall be disinfected before 

and after each use. Disinfection is to be carried out in the 

following manner:  

a. Remove all hair and foreign matter;  

b. Remove blade and all hair and foreign matter under 

blade; and  

c. Completely immerse clipper blade into an EPA-

registered hospital (grade) and tuberculocidal disinfectant 

solution for not less than 10 minutes. Wipe the entire 

handle down with the solution.  

d. If the clipper blade cannot be removed, the use of a 

spray or foam used according to the manufacturer's 

instructions will be acceptable provided that the 

disinfectant is an EPA-registered hospital [ (grade) grade ] 

and tuberculocidal disinfectant solution, and that the entire 

handle is also disinfected by wiping with the disinfectant 

solution.  

4. All materials including cosmetic and nail brushes, 

sponges, chamois, spatulas and galvanic electrodes must be 

cleaned with warm water and soap or detergent to remove 

all foreign matter. Implements should then be rinsed, 

thoroughly dried with a clean paper towel, and completely 

immersed in an EPA-registered hospital (grade) and 

tuberculocidal disinfectant solution. Such implements shall 

be soaked for 10 minutes or more, removed, rinsed, dried 

thoroughly and stored in a predisinfected and dry drawer, 

cabinet or nonairtight covered container, or left in an EPA-

registered disinfection/storage solution used according to 

manufacturer's directions.  

5. 6. All wax pots will shall be cleaned and disinfected 

with an EPA-registered hospital [ (grade) grade ] and 

tuberculocidal disinfectant solution with no sticks left 

standing in the wax at any time. The area immediately 

surrounding the wax pot shall be clean and free of clutter, 

waste materials, spills, and any other items which may 

pose a hazard. 

6. 7. Each barber, cosmetologist, and nail technician, and 

wax technician must have a wet disinfection unit at his 

station.  

7. Nail brushes, nippers, finger bowls, disinfectable or 

washable files and buffers and other instruments must be 

washed in soap and water (files are to be scrubbed with a 

brush to remove all foreign matter), rinsed, thoroughly 

dried with a clean paper towel, and then completely 

immersed in an EPA-registered hospital (grade) and 

tuberculocidal disinfectant solution for 10 minutes after 

each use. After disinfection they must be rinsed, dried 

thoroughly with a clean paper towel, and placed in a dry, 

predisinfected, nonairtight covered receptacle, cabinet or 

drawer, or left in an EPA-registered disinfectant/storage 

system used according to manufacturer's directions.  

8. Drill bits are to be soaked in acetone and scrubbed with 

a wire brush to remove all foreign matter. All foreign 

matter must be removed. The drill bits must then be 

cleaned with warm water and soap or detergent and rinsed, 

dried thoroughly with a clean paper towel, and completely 

immersed in an EPA-registered hospital (grade) and 

tuberculocidal disinfectant solution. Such implements shall 

be soaked for 10 minutes or more, removed, rinsed, dried 

thoroughly, and stored in a pre-disinfected and dry drawer, 

cabinet or nonairtight covered container, or left in an EPA-

registered disinfection/storage solution used according to 

manufacturer's directions.  

8. Sinks, bowls, tubs, whirlpool units, air-jetted basins, 

pipe-less units, and non-whirlpool basins used in the 

performance of nail care shall be maintained in accordance 

with manufacturer's recommendations. They shall be 

cleaned and disinfected immediately after each client in the 

following manner: 

a. Drain all water and remove all debris;  
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b. Clean the surfaces and walls with soap or detergent to 

remove all visible debris, oils, and product residue and 

then rinse with water;  

c. Disinfect by spraying or wiping the surface with 

an [ appropriate EPA-registered hospital grade and 

tuberculocidal ] disinfectant; and 

d. Wipe dry with a clean towel.  

C. General sanitation and safety requirements.  

1. All furniture, walls, floors, and windows shall be clean 

and in good repair. Wash basins and shampoo sinks shall 

be clean Service chairs, wash basins, shampoo sinks, 

workstations and workstands, and back bars shall be clean. 

2. The floor surface in the immediate all work area areas 

must be of a washable surface other than carpet. The floor 

must be kept clean, and free of hair, nail clippings, dropped 

articles, spills and, clutter, trash, electrical cords, other 

waste materials, and any other items which may pose a 

hazard;  

3. Walls All furniture, fixtures, walls, floors, windows, and 

ceilings in the immediate work area must be shall be clean 

and in good repair, and free of water seepage and dirt. Any 

mats shall be secured or shall [ lay lie ] flat;  

4. A fully functional bathroom in the same building with a 

working toilet and sink [ must be available for clients shall 

be maintained exclusively for client use ]. There must be 

hot and cold running water. Fixtures must be in good 

condition. The bathroom must be lighted and sufficiently 

ventilated. If there is a window, it must have a screen. 

There must be antibacterial soap and clean individual 

single-use towels or hand air-drying device for the client's 

use. Laundering of towels is allowed, space permitting. 

The bathroom must not be used as a work area or for the 

open storage of chemicals [ . For facilities newly occupied 

after January 1, 2017, the bathroom shall be maintained 

exclusively for client use ];  

5. General areas for client use must be neat and clean with 

a waste receptacle for common trash;  

6. Electrical cords shall be placed to prevent entanglement 

by the client or licensee; and 7. Electrical electrical outlets 

shall be covered by plates;  

7. All sharp tools, implements, and heat-producing 

appliances shall be in safe working order at all times, 

safely stored, and placed so as to prevent any accidental 

injury to the client or licensee;  

8. The salon area shall be sufficiently ventilated to exhaust 

hazardous or objectionable airborne chemicals, and to 

allow the free flow of air; and 

9. Adequate lighting shall be provided.  

D. Equipment sanitation.  

1. Service chairs, wash basins, shampoo sinks and 

workstations shall be clean. Floors shall be kept free of 

hair, nail product, and other waste materials. Combs, 

brushes, towels, razors, clippers, scissors, nippers, and 

other instruments shall be cleaned and sanitized after every 

use and stored free from contamination.  

2. The top of workstands or back bars shall be kept clean;  

3. The work area shall be free of clutter, trash, and any 

other items that may cause a hazard;  

4. Heat-producing appliances and equipment shall be 

placed so as to prevent any accidental injury to the client or 

licensee; and  

5. Electrical appliances and equipment shall be in safe 

working order at all times.  

E. D. Articles, tools, and products.  

1. Clean towels and, robes, or other linens shall be used for 

each patron. Clean towels, robes, or other linens shall be 

stored in a clean predisinfected and dry cabinet, drawer, or 

nonairtight covered container. Soiled towels and, robes, or 

smocks other linens shall be stored in an enclosed a 

container enclosed on all sides including the top, except if 

the towels are stored in a separate laundry rooms. room; 

2. Whenever a haircloth is used, a clean towel or neck strip 

shall be placed around the neck of the patron to prevent the 

haircloth from touching the skin.; 

3. Scissors, razors, clippers, nippers, and all sharp-edged 

cutting instruments shall be sanitized after each use with a 

disinfectant in accordance with the manufacturer's 

instructions.  

4. Hair brushes and combs shall be washed in soap and hot 

water and sanitized after each use. Cleaned instruments, 

such as combs, hair brushes, shears, towels, etc., shall be 

kept free from contamination.  

5. No alum or other astringent shall be used in stick form. 

Liquid or powder astringent must be used.  

6. Permanent wave rods shall be rinsed after each use. End 

papers shall not be reused and shall be destroyed after each 

use.  

7. 3. Soiled implements must be removed from the tops of 

work stations immediately after use;  

8. Clean spatulas, other clean tools, or clean disposable 

gloves shall be used to remove bulk substances from 

containers;  

9. Powder puffs, lip color, cheek color, sponges, or styptic 

pencils that cannot be sanitized or sterilized are prohibited 

from being used on more than one client;  

10. 4. Lotions, ointments, creams, and powders shall be 

[ labeled and ] kept in closed containers. A clean spatula, 

other clean tools, or clean disposable gloves shall be used 

to remove bulk substances such as creams or ointments 

from jars. Sterile cotton or sponges shall be used to apply 

creams, lotions, and powders. Cosmetic containers shall be 

recovered covered after each use;  
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11. 5. For nail care, if a sanitary container shall be is 

provided to each for a client. Emery boards shall be 

discarded after use on each individual client, the sanitary 

container shall be labeled and implements shall be used 

solely for that specific client. Disinfection shall be carried 

out in accordance with subdivisions B 1 and B 2 of this 

section; 

12. All sharp tools, implements, and heat-producing 

appliances shall be safely stored;  

13. Pre-sanitized tools and implements, linens and 

equipment shall be stored for use in a sanitary enclosed 

cabinet or covered receptacle;  

14. Soiled towels, linens and implements shall be 

deposited in a container made of cleanable materials and 

separate from those that are clean or pre-sanitized;  

15. 6. No substance other than a sterile styptic powder or 

sterile liquid astringent approved for homeostasis and 

applied with a sterile single-use applicator shall be used to 

check bleeding; and  

16. 7. Any disposable material making contact with blood 

or other body fluid shall be disposed of in a sealed plastic 

bag and removed from the shop, salon, school, or facility 

in accordance with the guidelines of the Department of 

Health.  

F. E. Chemical storage and emergency information.  

1. Shops, salons, schools, and facilities shall have in the 

immediate working area a binder with all [ Material ] 

Safety Data Sheets [ (MSDS) (SDS) ] provided by 

manufacturers for any chemical products used;  

2. Shop, salons, schools, and facilities shall have a blood 

spill clean-up kit in the work area that contains at 

minimum latex gloves, two [ 12x12 12-inch by 12-inch ] 

towels, one disposable trash bag, bleach, one empty spray 

bottle, and one mask with face shield or any Occupational 

Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) approved blood 

spill clean-up kit;  

3. Flammable chemicals shall be [ labeled and ] stored in a 

nonflammable storage cabinet or a properly ventilated 

room; and  

4. Chemicals that could interact in a hazardous manner 

(oxidizers, catalysts and solvents) shall be [ labeled and ] 

separated in storage.  

G. F. Client health guidelines.  

1. All employees providing client services shall cleanse 

their hands with an antibacterial product prior to providing 

services to each client. Licensees shall require that clients 

for nail care services shall cleanse their hands immediately 

prior to the requested nail care service;  

2. An artificial nail shall only be applied to a healthy 

natural nail;  

3. A nail drill or motorized instrument shall be used only 

on the free edge of the nail;  

4. No shop, salon, school, or facility providing 

cosmetology or nail care services shall have on the 

premises cosmetic products containing hazardous 

substances that have been banned by the U.S. Food and 

Drug Administration (FDA) for use in cosmetic products.  

5. No product shall be used in a manner that is disapproved 

by the FDA; and  

6. All regulated services must be performed in a facility 

that is in compliance with current local building and 

zoning codes.  

H. G. In addition to any requirements set forth in this 

section, all licensees and temporary permit holders shall 

adhere to regulations and guidelines established by the 

Virginia Department of Health and the Occupational Safety 

and Health Compliance Division of the Virginia Department 

of Labor and Industry.  

I. H. All shops, salons, schools, and facilities shall 

immediately report the results of any inspection of the shop, 

salon, or school by the Virginia Department of Health as 

required by § 54.1-705 of the Code of Virginia.  

J. I. All shops, salons, schools, and facilities shall maintain a 

self-inspection form on file to be updated on an annual basis, 

and kept for five years, so that it may be requested and 

reviewed by the board at its discretion.  

18VAC41-20-280. Grounds for license revocation or 

suspension; denial of application, renewal or 

reinstatement; or imposition of a monetary penalty.  

A. The board may, in considering the totality of the 

circumstances, fine any licensee, certificate holder, or permit 

holder; suspend or revoke or refuse to renew or reinstate any 

license, certificate, or permit; or deny any application issued 

under the provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia and the regulations of the board 

this chapter if the board it finds that the licensee, certificate 

holder, permit holder, or applicant:  

1. The licensee, certificate holder, permit holder or 

applicant is Is incompetent, or negligent in practice, or 

incapable mentally or physically, as those terms are 

generally understood in the profession, to practice as a 

barber, cosmetologist, or nail technician, or wax 

technician, or to operate a [ barbershop, cosmetology 

salon, nail salon, or waxing salon shop, salon, or school ];  

2. The licensee, certificate holder, permit holder or 

applicant is Is convicted of fraud or deceit in the practice 

or teaching of barbering, cosmetology, or nail care, or 

waxing or fails to teach the curriculum as provided for in 

this chapter;  

3. The licensee, certificate holder, permit holder or 

applicant attempted Attempts to obtain, obtained, renewed 

or reinstated a license, certificate, or permit temporary 

license by false or fraudulent representation;  

4. The licensee, certificate holder, permit holder or 

applicant violates Violates or induces others to violate, or 
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cooperates with others in violating, any of the provisions of 

these regulations this chapter or Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or any local 

ordinance or regulation governing standards of health and 

sanitation of the establishment in which any barber, 

cosmetologist, or nail technician, or wax technician may 

practice or offer to practice; 

5. Offers, gives, or promises anything of value or benefit to 

any federal, state, or local employee for the purpose of 

influencing that employee to circumvent, in the 

performance of his duties, any federal, state, or local law, 

regulation, or ordinance governing barbering, cosmetology, 

nail care, or waxing as defined in § 54.1-700 of the Code 

of Virginia; 

6. Fails to respond to the board or any of its agents or 

provides false, misleading, or incomplete information to an 

inquiry by the board or any of its agents; 

7. Fails or refuses to allow the board or any of its agents to 

inspect during reasonable hours any licensed shop, salon, 

or school for compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 

54.1-700 et seq.) or this chapter; 

5. The licensee, certificate holder, permit holder or 

applicant fails 8. Fails to produce, upon request or demand 

of the board or any of its agents, any document, book, 

record, or copy thereof in a licensee's or owner's 

possession or maintained in accordance with these 

regulations;  

6. A licensee, certificate holder, or permit holder fails 9. 

Fails to notify the board of a change of name or address in 

writing within 30 days of the change for each and every 

license, certificate, or permit. The board shall not be 

responsible for the licensee's, certificate holder's, or permit 

holder's failure to receive notices, communications and 

correspondence caused by the licensee's, certificate 

holder's, or permit holder's failure to promptly notify the 

board in writing of any change of name or address or for 

any other reason beyond the control of the board;  

7. The licensee, certificate holder, permit holder or 

applicant publishes 10. Makes any misrepresentation or 

publishes or causes to be published any advertisement that 

is false, deceptive, or misleading;  

8. The licensee, certificate holder, permit holder or 

applicant fails 11. Fails to notify the board in writing 

within 30 days of the suspension, revocation, or surrender 

of a license, certificate, or permit in connection with a 

disciplinary action in any [ other ] jurisdiction or of any 

license, certificate, or permit that has been the subject of 

disciplinary action in any [ other ] jurisdiction; or  

9. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

the licensee, certificate holder, permit holder or applicant 

has been convicted in any jurisdiction of a misdemeanor or 

felony that directly relates to the profession of barbering, 

cosmetology, or nail care. The board shall have the 

authority to determine, based upon all the information 

available, including the applicant's record of prior 

convictions, if the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage 

in the profession of barbering, cosmetology, or nail care. 

The board will decide each case by taking into account the 

totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere 

shall be considered a conviction for the purposes of this 

section. The applicant shall provide a certified copy of a 

final order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory 

agency with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree 

or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as 

prima facie evidence of such conviction. This record shall 

be forwarded by the applicant to the board within 10 days 

after all appeal rights have expired.  

12. Has been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the 

manner of adjudication in Virginia or any other jurisdiction 

of the United States, of a misdemeanor involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury or any felony, there being no appeal pending 

therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. Review of 

convictions shall be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-

204 of the Code of Virginia. Any plea of nolo contendere 

shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 

subdivision. The record of a conviction certified or 

authenticated in such form as to be admissible in evidence 

under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction or 

guilt; 

13. Fails to inform the board in writing within 30 days of 

pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or 

found guilty regardless of adjudication of any convictions 

as stated in subdivision 12 of this section; 

14. Allows, as [ an owner or operator responsible 

management ] of a shop, salon, or school, a person who has 

not obtained a license or a temporary permit to practice as 

a barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician 

unless the person is duly enrolled as a registered 

apprentice; 

15. Allows, as [ an owner or operator responsible 

management ] of a school, a person who has not obtained 

an instructor certificate or a temporary permit to practice as 

a barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician 

instructor; 

16. Fails to take sufficient measures to prevent 

transmission of communicable or infectious diseases or 

fails to comply with sanitary requirements provided for in 

this chapter or any local, state, or federal law or regulation 

governing the standards of health and sanitation for the 

practices of barbering, cosmetology, nail care, or waxing, 

or the operation of barbershops, cosmetology salons, nail 

salons, or waxing salons; or 

17. Fails to comply with all procedures established by the 

board and the testing service with regard to conduct at [ the 

any board ] examination. 
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B. The board may, in considering the totality of the 

circumstances, revoke, suspend or refuse to renew or reinstate 

the license of any school or impose a fine as permitted by 

law, or both, if the board finds that:  

1. An instructor of the approved school fails to teach the 

curriculum as provided for in these regulations;  

2. The owner or director of the approved school permits or 

allows a person to teach in the school without a current 

instructor certificate; or  

3. The instructor, owner or director is guilty of fraud or 

deceit in the teaching of barbering, cosmetology or nail 

care.  

C. The board may, in considering the totality of the 

circumstances, revoke, suspend or refuse to renew or reinstate 

the license of any barbershop, cosmetology or nail salon or 

impose a fine as permitted by law, or both, if the board finds 

that: 

1. The owner or operator of the shop or salon fails to 

comply with the sanitary requirements of barbershops or 

cosmetology or nail salons provided for in these 

regulations or in any local ordinances; or  

2. The owner or operator allows a person who has not 

obtained a license or a temporary permit to practice as a 

barber, cosmetologist, or nail technician unless the person 

is duly enrolled as a registered apprentice.  

D. The board may, in considering the totality of the 

circumstances, revoke, suspend or refuse to renew or reinstate 

the license of any licensee or impose a fine as permitted by 

law, or both, if the board finds that the licensee fails to take 

sufficient measures to prevent transmission of communicable 

or infectious diseases or fails to comply with any local, state 

or federal law or regulation governing the standards of health 

and sanitation for the practices of barbering, cosmetology, or 

nail care.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC41-20)  

Barber – Barber Instructor Examination & Instructor 

Application, A425-1301_02EXLIC (eff. 9/2011) 

Cosmetology – Cosmetology Instructor Examination & 

License Application, A425-1201_04EXLIC (eff. 9/2011) 

Nail Technician – Nail Technician Instructor Examination & 

License Application, A425-1206_07EXLIC (eff. 9/2011) 

Temporary Permit Application, A425-1213TP (eff. 9/2011) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v9 

(rev. 9/2016)  

[ Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-

1213TREXP (eff. 9/2011) ]  

Individuals - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v8 

(rev. 9/2016) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement 

Application A450-1213BUS-v8 (rev. 9/2016) 

Salon, Shop & Spa Self Inspection Form, A425-

1213_SSS_INSP (eff. 9/2011) 

Instructor Certification Application, A450-1213INST-v7 

(rev. 9/2016) 

School License Application, A450-1213SCHL-v9 (rev. 

9/2016) 

School Reinstatement Application, A450-

1213SCHL_REIN-v2 (rev. 9/2016) 

[ School Self Inspection Form, A425-1213SCH_INSP (eff. 

9/2011) ]  

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v6 (rev. 9/2016) 

[ Barber – Barber Instructor Examination & License 

Application, A450-1301_02EXLIC-v13 (rev. 2/2017) 

Cosmetology – Cosmetology Instructor Examination & 

License Application, A450-1201_04EXLIC-v16 (rev. 2/2017) 

Nail Technician – Nail Technician Instructor Examination & 

License Application, A450-1206_07EXLIC-v14 (rev. 2/2017) 

Wax Technician – Wax Technician Instructor Examination 

& License Application, A450-1214_15EXLIC-v13 (rev. 

2/2017) 

Temporary Permit Application, A450-1213TEMP-v2 (rev. 

2/2017) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v10 

(rev. 2/2017) 

Training & Experience Verification Form, A450-

1213TREXP-v6 (eff. 2/2017) 

Individuals – Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v9 

(rev. 2/2017) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement 

Application A450-1213BUS-v9 (rev. 2/2017) 

Salon, Shop & Spa Self Inspection Form, A450-

1213_SSS_INSP-v2 (eff. 5/2016) 

Instructor Certification Application, A450-1213INST-v8 

(rev. 2/2017) 

Student Instructor – Temporary Permit Application A450-

1213ST_TEMP-v2 (rev. 2/2017) 

School License Application, A450-1213SCHL-v10 (rev. 

2/2017) 

School Reinstatement Application A450-1213SCHL-REIN-

v3 (eff. 2/2017) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=10dc5003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=10dc5003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=db4a0003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=db4a0003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cef63003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cef63003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=487d5003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=487d5003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=487d5003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9a80c003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9a80c003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f701b003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f701b003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=88c0e003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=88c0e003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8444d003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8444d003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d02cf003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d02cf003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ab3e4003107~14&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ab3e4003107~14&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c1624003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c1624003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bfd57003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bfd57003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b39d4003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b39d4003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a2fb0003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a2fb0003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
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School Self-Inspection Form, A450-1213_SCH_INSP-v4 

(eff. 5/2016) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v7 (rev. 1/2017) 

Change of Responsible Management Application, A450-

1213CRM-v1 (rev. 2/2017) ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3107; Filed December 2, 2016, 11:54 a.m.  

CEMETERY BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC47-11. Public Participation 

Guidelines (amending 18VAC47-11-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 54.1-201 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 25, 2017. 

Effective Date: February 13, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, 

Cemetery Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (866) 826-8863, 

or email cemetery@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates 

each agency develop, adopt, and use public participation 

guidelines for soliciting the input of interested parties in the 

formation and development of its regulations. The Cemetery 

Board is authorized under § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia 

to promulgate regulations necessary to assure continued 

competency, to prevent deceptive or misleading practices by 

practitioners, and to effectively administer the regulatory 

system administered by the board. 

Purpose: The change to 18VAC47-11-50 conforms the 

agency's Public Participation Guidelines to the change in the 

Administrative Process Act pursuant to Chapter 795 of the 

2012 Acts of Assembly. Participation by the public in the 

regulatory process is essential to assist the board in the 

promulgation of regulations that will protect the public health 

and safety. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: As the 

change merely conforms the regulation to the underlying 

statute, the rulemaking is not expected to be controversial 

and, therefore, appropriate for the fast-track rulemaking 

process. 

Substance: The change to 18VAC47-11-50 provides that 

interested persons may be accompanied by and represented 

by counsel or other representative when presenting their 

views in the promulgation of any regulatory action. 

Issues: As the change merely conforms the regulation to 

§ 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia, the primary advantage 

is to ensure consistency between the law and regulation, 

which should reduce the chance of any confusion. There are 

no anticipated disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly,
1
 the 

Cemetery Board (Board) proposes to specify in this 

regulation that interested persons shall be afforded an 

opportunity to be accompanied by and represented by counsel 

or other representative when submitting data, views, and 

arguments, either orally or in writing, to the agency.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current Public Participation 

Guidelines state that: "In considering any nonemergency, 

nonexempt regulatory action, the agency shall afford 

interested persons an opportunity to submit data, views, and 

arguments, either orally or in writing, to the agency." The 

Board proposes to append "and (ii) be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other representative."  

Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly added to § 2.2-

4007.02. "Public participation guidelines" of the Code of 

Virginia that interested persons also be afforded an 

opportunity to be accompanied by and represented by counsel 

or other representative. Since the Code of Virginia already 

specifies that interested persons shall be afforded an 

opportunity to be accompanied by and represented by counsel 

or other representative, the Board's proposal to add this 

language to the regulation will not change the law in effect, 

but will be beneficial in that it will inform interested parties 

who read this regulation but not the statute of their legal 

rights concerning representation.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

potentially affects all individuals who comment on pending 

regulatory changes. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

does not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment does not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 

does not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment does not 

affect costs for small businesses. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c3d1f003107~15&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c3d1f003107~15&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bbe6c003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=53a19003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=53a19003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
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Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment does not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect other entities. 

_____________________________________ 
1 See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121+ful+CHAP0795+hil 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the approval of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia, the 

amendment provides that interested persons submitting 

data, views, and arguments on a regulatory action may be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or another 

representative. 

Part III  

Public Participation Procedures  

18VAC47-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 

action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 

opportunity to (i) submit data, views, and arguments, either 

orally or in writing, to the agency; and (ii) be accompanied by 

and represented by counsel or other representative. Such 

opportunity to comment shall include an online public 

comment forum on the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 

copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 

issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 

fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 

public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 

to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 

submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 

the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 

as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 

(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 

publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 

publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 

of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 

listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 

substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 

he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 

calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 

changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 

Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 

description of public comment to all public commenters on 

the proposed regulation at least five days before final 

adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 

Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4930; Filed November 28, 2016, 12:07 p.m.  

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry (amending 18VAC60-21-10, 

18VAC60-21-260, 18VAC60-21-280; adding 18VAC60-21-

279).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 25, 2017. 

Effective Date: February 10, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 

email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Board of Dentistry the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to 

eliminate some requirements that are not necessary for patient 

safety with the administration of only nitrous oxide but to 

retain those that are essential to protect patients, especially 

pediatric patients. For example, dentists report that they have 

had to stop procedures on children because current rules 

require continuous monitoring of vital signs, and the child 

refused to keep a blood pressure cuff on his arm. The intent is 

to maintain the recommended procedures, equipment, and 

monitoring requirements for inhalation analgesia but 

eliminate requirements that are not necessary for that level of 

sedation and represent a deterrent to provision of dental 

services in some situations. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121+ful+CHAP0795+hil
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Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

amendments represent a reduction in the regulatory burden 

and have been requested by the regulated dental community. 

The amendments need to be expedited to allow dentists to 

continue providing nitrous oxide in their practices without 

incurring some of the current requirements associated with 

minimal sedation. There should not be any controversy since 

the amendments will result in are less cost and less 

burdensome regulations. 

Substance: A new section is being promulgated for the 

administration of only inhalation analgesia (nitrous oxide), 

and minimal sedation is redefined as inhalation analgesia 

when used in combination with any anxiolytic agent 

administered prior to or during a procedure. Requirements for 

administration of only inhalation analgesia differ from those 

for minimal sedation as follows: 

1. The dentist does not have to have education and 

training in the medications used, including dosages, 

complications, and interventions. 

2. A dental hygienist can be delegated administration of 

nitrous oxide under indirect supervision. 

3. No pulse oximeter is required for continuous 

monitoring. 

4. Baseline vital signs do not need to include respiratory 

rate and may be omitted if there are extenuating 

circumstances documented in the patient record (such as 

a child who refuses to keep a blood pressure cuff on his 

arm). 

5. Continual clinical observation is required but not 

continuous monitoring of vital signs. 

In addition, the general provisions for administration of 

sedation or anesthesia are amended to specify that the 

"current conditions" of a patient includes his weight and 

height, and if appropriate the body mass index. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is less burdensome 

regulations that will facilitate the use of nitrous oxide for all 

patients, especially pediatric patients for whom some of the 

current requirements are burdensome and unnecessary. There 

are no disadvantages. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. Under 

the current regulation minimal sedation encompasses both 

antianxiety medication and inhalation analgesia.
1
 The Board 

of Dentistry (Board) proposes to establish a set of 

requirements for when only inhalation analgesia is 

administered. The proposed regulation would be less 

restrictive for administration of only inhalation analgesia. 

Additionally, the Board proposes to clarify that information 

in the patient record should include the patient's height and 

weight, and, if appropriate, the Body Mass Index. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Under the proposed regulation 

versus the current regulation, the effective changes for 

administration of only inhalation analgesia include: 1) no 

pulse oximeter is required for continuous monitoring; 2) 

baseline vital signs do not need to include the respiratory rate 

and may be omitted if there are extenuating circumstances 

documented in the patient record (such as a child who refuses 

to keep a blood pressure cuff on his arm); and 3) continual 

clinical observation is required but not continuous monitoring 

of vital signs. The Board believes that the proposed less 

restrictive requirements for administration of only inhalation 

analgesia will have no impact on health risks.
2
 Inhalation 

analgesia is considered the safest form of sedation.
3
 

All of these proposed changes will reduce costs, in dollars or 

staff time, for dental practices that only administer inhalation 

analgesia. The cost of a pulse oximeter could be saved. 

Different models of pulse oximeters vary greatly in price. A 

basic pulse oximeter can be purchased for approximately $30. 

No longer requiring that the respiratory rate be included in 

baseline vital signs, and no longer requiring continuous 

monitoring of vital signs would save staff time. Given the 

cost savings and apparent lack of significant increase in 

health risk, the proposed less restrictive requirements for 

administration of only nitrous oxide should produce a net 

benefit.  

The proposal to clarify that information in the patient record 

should include the patient's height and weight, and, if 

appropriate, the Body Mass Index would not affect 

requirements, but would be beneficial in that the actual 

requirements will be more easily understood by both 

practitioners and the public.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

potentially affect the 7,292 dentists and 5,722 dental 

hygienists licensed in the Commonwealth, as well as their 

practices.
4
 As of 2012 there were 3,049 dental offices in 

Virginia, all of which qualified as small businesses.
5
 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

will not likely have a significant impact on employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments may moderately increase the 

likelihood that some dental practices will use inhalation 

analgesia. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
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(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed less restrictive 

requirements for administration of only nitrous oxide will 

reduce costs for dental practices that administer only nitrous 

oxide.  

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 

businesses.  

Adverse Impacts:   

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect other entities. 

___________________________ 
1 Inhalation analgesia: the inhalation of nitrous oxide and oxygen to produce 
a state of reduced sensation of pain with minimal alteration of consciousness 
2 Source: Department of Health Professions 
3 Ibid 
4 Data source: Department of Health Professions 
5 Data source: Virginia Employment Commission 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Dentistry concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) establish a set of requirements for 

when only inhalation analgesia (nitrous oxide) is 

administered and (ii) clarify that information in the patient 

record should include the patient's height and weight, and, 

if appropriate, the body mass index. 

Part I 

General Provisions 

18VAC60-21-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2700 of 

the Code of Virginia:  

"Board"  

"Dental hygiene" 

"Dental hygienist" 

"Dentist" 

"Dentistry" 

"License" 

"Maxillofacial" 

"Oral and maxillofacial surgeon" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"AAOMS" means the American Association of Oral and 

Maxillofacial Surgeons.  

"ADA" means the American Dental Association. 

"Advertising" means a representation or other notice given 

to the public or members thereof, directly or indirectly, by 

a dentist on behalf of himself, his facility, his partner or 

associate, or any dentist affiliated with the dentist or his 

facility by any means or method for the purpose of 

inducing purchase, sale, or use of dental methods, services, 

treatments, operations, procedures, or products, or to 

promote continued or increased use of such dental 

methods, treatments, operations, procedures, or products. 

"CODA" means the Commission on Dental Accreditation 

of the American Dental Association. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia. 

"Dental assistant I" means any unlicensed person under the 

direction of a dentist or a dental hygienist who renders 

assistance for services provided to the patient as authorized 

under this chapter but shall not include an individual 

serving in purely an administrative, secretarial, or clerical 

capacity. 

"Dental assistant II" means a person under the direction 

and direct supervision of a dentist who is registered by the 

board to perform reversible, intraoral procedures as 

specified in 18VAC60-21-150 and 18VAC60-21-160.  

"Mobile dental facility" means a self-contained unit in 

which dentistry is practiced that is not confined to a single 

building and can be transported from one location to 

another. 

"Nonsurgical laser" means a laser that is not capable of 

cutting or removing hard tissue, soft tissue, or tooth 

structure. 

"Portable dental operation" means a nonfacility in which 

dental equipment used in the practice of dentistry is 

transported to and utilized on a temporary basis at an out-

of-office location, including patients' homes, schools, 

nursing homes, or other institutions. 

"Radiographs" means intraoral and extraoral radiographic 

images of hard and soft tissues used for purposes of 

diagnosis.  

C. The following words and terms relating to supervision as 

used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Direct supervision" means that the dentist examines the 

patient and records diagnostic findings prior to delegating 

restorative or prosthetic treatment and related services to a 

dental assistant II for completion the same day or at a later 

date. The dentist prepares the tooth or teeth to be restored 

and remains immediately available in the office to the 

dental assistant II for guidance or assistance during the 

delivery of treatment and related services. The dentist 
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examines the patient to evaluate the treatment and services 

before the patient is dismissed.  

"Direction" means the level of supervision (i.e., immediate, 

direct, indirect, or general) that a dentist is required to 

exercise with a dental hygienist, a dental assistant I, or a 

dental assistant II or that a dental hygienist is required to 

exercise with a dental assistant to direct and oversee the 

delivery of treatment and related services. 

"General supervision" means that a dentist completes a 

periodic comprehensive examination of the patient and 

issues a written order for hygiene treatment that states the 

specific services to be provided by a dental hygienist 

during one or more subsequent appointments when the 

dentist may or may not be present. Issuance of the order 

authorizes the dental hygienist to supervise a dental 

assistant performing duties delegable to dental assistants I. 

"Immediate supervision" means the dentist is in the 

operatory to supervise the administration of sedation or 

provision of treatment. 

"Indirect supervision" means the dentist examines the 

patient at some point during the appointment and is 

continuously present in the office to advise and assist a 

dental hygienist or a dental assistant who is (i) delivering 

hygiene treatment, (ii) preparing the patient for 

examination or treatment by the dentist, or (iii) preparing 

the patient for dismissal following treatment. 

"Remote supervision" means that a dentist is accessible 

and available for communication and consultation with a 

dental hygienist employed by such dentist during the 

delivery of dental hygiene services but such dentist may 

not have conducted an initial examination of the patients 

who are to be seen and treated by the dental hygienist and 

may not be present with the dental hygienist when dental 

hygiene services are being provided. For the purpose of 

practice by a public health dental hygienist, "remote 

supervision" means that a public health dentist has regular, 

periodic communications with a public health dental 

hygienist regarding patient treatment, but such dentist may 

not have conducted an initial examination of the patients 

who are to be seen and treated by the dental hygienist and 

may not be present with the dental hygienist when dental 

hygiene services are being provided. 

D. The following words and terms relating to sedation or 

anesthesia as used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Analgesia" means the diminution or elimination of pain. 

"Conscious/moderate sedation" or "moderate sedation" 

means a drug-induced depression of consciousness, during 

which patients respond purposefully to verbal commands, 

either alone or accompanied by light tactile stimulation. 

Reflex withdrawal from a painful stimulus is not 

considered a purposeful response. No interventions are 

required to maintain a patent airway, and spontaneous 

ventilation is adequate. Cardiovascular function is usually 

maintained. 

"Deep sedation" means a drug-induced depression of 

consciousness during which patients cannot be easily 

aroused but respond purposefully following repeated or 

painful stimulation. Reflex withdrawal from a painful 

stimulus is not considered a purposeful response. The 

ability to independently maintain ventilatory function may 

be impaired. Patients may require assistance in maintaining 

a patent airway, and spontaneous ventilation may be 

inadequate. Cardiovascular function is usually maintained. 

"Enteral" means any technique of administration in which 

the agent is absorbed through the gastrointestinal tract or 

oral mucosa (i.e., oral, rectal, sublingual). 

"General anesthesia" means a drug-induced loss of 

consciousness during which patients are not arousable, 

even by painful stimulation. The ability to independently 

maintain ventilator function is often impaired. Patients 

often require assistance in maintaining a patent airway, and 

positive pressure ventilation may be required because of 

depressed spontaneous ventilation or drug-induced 

depression of neuromuscular function. Cardiovascular 

function may be impaired.  

"Inhalation" means a technique of administration in which 

a gaseous or volatile agent, including nitrous oxide, is 

introduced into the pulmonary tree and whose primary 

effect is due to absorption through the pulmonary bed. 

"Inhalation analgesia" means the inhalation of nitrous 

oxide and oxygen to produce a state of reduced sensation 

of pain with minimal alteration of consciousness. 

"Local anesthesia" means the elimination of sensation, 

especially pain, in one part of the body by the topical 

application or regional injection of a drug. 

"Minimal sedation" means a drug-induced state during 

which patients respond normally to verbal commands. 

Although cognitive function and physical coordination 

may be impaired, airway reflexes, and ventilator and 

cardiovascular functions are unaffected. Minimal sedation 

includes "anxiolysis" (the diminution or elimination of 

anxiety through the use of pharmacological agents in a 

dosage that does not cause depression of consciousness) 

and includes "inhalation analgesia" (the inhalation of 

nitrous oxide and oxygen to produce a state of reduced 

sensibility to pain without the loss of consciousness) when 

used in combination with any anxiolytic agent 

administered prior to or during a procedure.  

"Moderate sedation" (see the definition of 

conscious/moderate sedation). 

"Monitoring" means to observe, interpret, assess, and 

record appropriate physiologic functions of the body 

during sedative procedures and general anesthesia 

appropriate to the level of sedation as provided in Part VI 

(18VAC60-21-260 et seq.) of this chapter.  
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"Parenteral" means a technique of administration in which 

the drug bypasses the gastrointestinal tract (i.e., 

intramuscular, intravenous, intranasal, submucosal, 

subcutaneous, or intraocular).  

"Titration" means the incremental increase in drug dosage 

to a level that provides the optimal therapeutic effect of 

sedation. 

"Topical oral anesthetic" means any drug, available in 

creams, ointments, aerosols, sprays, lotions, or jellies, that 

can be used orally for the purpose of rendering the oral 

cavity insensitive to pain without affecting consciousness. 

Part VI 

Controlled Substances, Sedation, and Anesthesia 

18VAC60-21-260. General provisions. 

A. Application of Part VI. This part applies to prescribing, 

dispensing, and administering controlled substances in dental 

offices, mobile dental facilities, and portable dental 

operations and shall not apply to administration by a dentist 

practicing in (i) a licensed hospital as defined in § 32.1-123 of 

the Code, (ii) a state-operated hospital, or (iii) a facility 

directly maintained or operated by the federal government. 

B. Registration required. Any dentist who prescribes, 

administers, or dispenses Schedules II through V controlled 

drugs must hold a current registration with the federal Drug 

Enforcement Administration. 

C. Patient evaluation required.  

1. The decision to administer controlled drugs for dental 

treatment must be based on a documented evaluation of the 

health history and current medical condition of the patient 

in accordance with the Class I through V risk category 

classifications of the American Society of 

Anesthesiologists (ASA) in effect at the time of treatment. 

The findings of the evaluation, the ASA risk assessment 

class assigned, and any special considerations must be 

recorded in the patient's record. 

2. Any level of sedation and general anesthesia may be 

provided for a patient who is ASA Class I and Class II. 

3. A patient in ASA Class III shall only be provided 

minimal sedation, conscious/moderate sedation, deep 

sedation, or general anesthesia by: 

a. A dentist after he has documented a consultation with 

the patient's primary care physician or other medical 

specialist regarding potential risks and special monitoring 

requirements that may be necessary;  

b. An oral and maxillofacial surgeon who has performed 

a physical evaluation and documented the findings and 

the ASA risk assessment category of the patient and any 

special monitoring requirements that may be necessary; 

or 

c. A person licensed under Chapter 29 (§ 54.1-2900 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code who has a specialty in 

anesthesia. 

4. Minimal sedation may only be provided for a patient 

who is in ASA Class IV by:  

a. A dentist after he has documented a consultation with 

the patient's primary care physician or other medical 

specialist regarding potential risks and special monitoring 

requirements that may be necessary; or 

b. An oral and maxillofacial surgeon who has performed 

a physical evaluation and documented the findings and 

the ASA risk assessment category of the patient and any 

special monitoring requirements that may be necessary. 

5. Conscious/moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general 

anesthesia shall not be provided in a dental office for 

patients in ASA Class IV and Class V.  

D. Additional requirements for patient information and 

records. In addition to the record requirements in 18VAC60-

21-90, when conscious/moderate sedation, deep sedation, or 

general anesthesia is administered, the patient record shall 

also include:  

1. Notation of the patient's American Society of 

Anesthesiologists classification; 

2. Review of medical history and current conditions, 

including the patient's weight and height or, if appropriate, 

the body mass index; 

3. Written informed consent for administration of sedation 

and anesthesia and for the dental procedure to be 

performed; 

4. Preoperative vital signs; 

5. A record of the name, dose, and strength of drugs and 

route of administration including the administration of 

local anesthetics with notations of the time sedation and 

anesthesia were administered;  

6. Monitoring records of all required vital signs and 

physiological measures recorded every five minutes; and 

7. A list of staff participating in the administration, 

treatment, and monitoring including name, position, and 

assigned duties. 

E. Pediatric patients. No sedating medication shall be 

prescribed for or administered to a patient 12 years of age or 

younger prior to his arrival at the dentist office or treatment 

facility. 

F. Informed written consent. Prior to administration of any 

level of sedation or general anesthesia, the dentist shall 

discuss the nature and objectives of the planned level of 

sedation or general anesthesia along with the risks, benefits, 

and alternatives and shall obtain informed, written consent 

from the patient or other responsible party for the 

administration and for the treatment to be provided. The 

written consent must be maintained in the patient record. 

G. Level of sedation. The determinant for the application of 

the rules for any level of sedation or for general anesthesia 

shall be the degree of sedation or consciousness level of a 

patient that should reasonably be expected to result from the 
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type, strength, and dosage of medication, the method of 

administration, and the individual characteristics of the 

patient as documented in the patient's record. The drugs and 

techniques used must carry a margin of safety wide enough to 

render the unintended reduction of or loss of consciousness 

unlikely, factoring in titration and the patient's age, weight, 

and ability to metabolize drugs. 

H. Emergency management. 

1. If a patient enters a deeper level of sedation than the 

dentist is qualified and prepared to provide, the dentist 

shall stop the dental procedure until the patient returns to 

and is stable at the intended level of sedation. 

2. A dentist in whose office sedation or anesthesia is 

administered shall have written basic emergency 

procedures established and staff trained to carry out such 

procedures.  

I. Ancillary personnel. Dentists who employ unlicensed, 

ancillary personnel to assist in the administration and 

monitoring of any form of minimal sedation, 

conscious/moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general 

anesthesia shall maintain documentation that such personnel 

have: 

1. Training and hold current certification in basic 

resuscitation techniques with hands-on airway training for 

health care providers, such as Basic Cardiac Life Support 

for Health Professionals or a clinically oriented course 

devoted primarily to responding to clinical emergencies 

offered by an approved provider of continuing education as 

set forth in 18VAC60-21-250 C; or 

2. Current certification as a certified anesthesia assistant 

(CAA) by the American Association of Oral and 

Maxillofacial Surgeons or the American Dental Society of 

Anesthesiology (ADSA). 

J. Assisting in administration. A dentist, consistent with the 

planned level of administration (i.e., local anesthesia, minimal 

sedation, conscious/moderate sedation, deep sedation, or 

general anesthesia) and appropriate to his education, training, 

and experience, may utilize the services of a dentist, 

anesthesiologist, certified registered nurse anesthetist, dental 

hygienist, dental assistant, or nurse to perform functions 

appropriate to such practitioner's education, training, and 

experience and consistent with that practitioner's respective 

scope of practice.  

K. Patient monitoring.  

1. A dentist may delegate monitoring of a patient to a 

dental hygienist, dental assistant, or nurse who is under his 

direction or to another dentist, anesthesiologist, or certified 

registered nurse anesthetist. The person assigned to 

monitor the patient shall be continuously in the presence of 

the patient in the office, operatory, and recovery area (i) 

before administration is initiated or immediately upon 

arrival if the patient self-administered a sedative agent, (ii) 

throughout the administration of drugs, (iii) throughout the 

treatment of the patient, and (iv) throughout recovery until 

the patient is discharged by the dentist.  

2. The person monitoring the patient shall: 

a. Have the patient's entire body in sight; 

b. Be in close proximity so as to speak with the patient; 

c. Converse with the patient to assess the patient's ability 

to respond in order to determine the patient's level of 

sedation;  

d. Closely observe the patient for coloring, breathing, 

level of physical activity, facial expressions, eye 

movement, and bodily gestures in order to immediately 

recognize and bring any changes in the patient's 

condition to the attention of the treating dentist; and  

e. Read, report, and record the patient's vital signs and 

physiological measures. 

L. A dentist who allows the administration of general 

anesthesia, deep sedation, or conscious/moderate sedation in 

his dental office is responsible for assuring that: 

1. The equipment for administration and monitoring, as 

required in subsection B of 18VAC60-21-291 or 

subsection C of 18VAC60-21-301, is readily available and 

in good working order prior to performing dental treatment 

with anesthesia or sedation. The equipment shall either be 

maintained by the dentist in his office or provided by the 

anesthesia or sedation provider; and 

2. The person administering the anesthesia or sedation is 

appropriately licensed and the staff monitoring the patient 

is qualified.  

18VAC60-21-279. Administration of only inhalation 

analgesia (nitrous oxide). 

A. Education and training requirements. A dentist who 

utilizes nitrous oxide shall have training in and knowledge of: 

1. The appropriate use and physiological effects of nitrous 

oxide, the potential complications of administration, the 

indicators for complications, and the interventions to 

address the complications. 

2. The use and maintenance of the equipment required in 

subsection D of this section. 

B. No sedating medication shall be prescribed for or 

administered to a patient 12 years of age or younger prior to 

his arrival at the dental office or treatment facility. 

C. Delegation of administration.  

1. A qualified dentist may administer or use the services of 

the following personnel to administer nitrous oxide: 

a. A dentist; 

b. An anesthesiologist;  

c. A certified registered nurse anesthetist under his 

medical direction and indirect supervision;  

d. A dental hygienist with the training required by 

18VAC60-25-100 B and under indirect supervision; or  
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e. A registered nurse upon his direct instruction and 

under immediate supervision. 

2. Preceding the administration of nitrous oxide, a dentist 

may use the services of the following personnel working 

under indirect supervision to administer local anesthesia to 

numb an injection or treatment site: 

a. A dental hygienist with the training required by 

18VAC60-25-100 C to parenterally administer Schedule 

VI local anesthesia to persons 18 years of age or older; or 

b. A dental hygienist, dental assistant, registered nurse, or 

licensed practical nurse to administer Schedule VI topical 

oral anesthetics.  

D. Equipment requirements. A dentist who utilizes nitrous 

oxide only or who directs the administration by another 

licensed health professional as permitted in subsection C of 

this section shall maintain the following equipment in 

working order and immediately available to the areas where 

patients will be sedated and treated and will recover: 

1. Blood pressure monitoring equipment;  

2. Source of delivery of oxygen under controlled positive 

pressure; 

3. Mechanical (hand) respiratory bag; and 

4. Suction apparatus.  

E. Required staffing. When only nitrous oxide/oxygen is 

administered, a second person in the operatory is not required. 

Either the dentist or qualified dental hygienist under the 

indirect supervision of a dentist may administer the nitrous 

oxide/oxygen and treat and monitor the patient.  

F. Monitoring requirements. 

1. Baseline vital signs, to include blood pressure and heart 

rate, shall be taken and recorded prior to administration of 

nitrous oxide analgesia and prior to discharge, unless 

extenuating circumstances exist and are documented in the 

patient's record.  

2. Continual clinical observation of the patient's 

responsiveness, color, respiratory rate, and depth of 

ventilation shall be performed. 

3. Once the administration of nitrous oxide has begun, the 

dentist shall ensure that a licensed health care professional 

or a person qualified in accordance with 18VAC60-21-260 

I monitors the patient at all times until discharged as 

required in subsection G of this section. 

4. Monitoring shall include making the proper adjustments 

of nitrous oxide/oxygen machines at the request of or by 

the dentist or by another qualified licensed health 

professional identified in subsection C of this section. Only 

the dentist or another qualified licensed health professional 

identified in subsection C of this section may turn the 

nitrous oxide/oxygen machines on or off. 

5. Upon completion of nitrous oxide administration, the 

patient shall be administered 100% oxygen for a minimum 

of five minutes to minimize the risk of diffusion hypoxia.  

G. Discharge requirements. 

1. The dentist shall not discharge a patient until he exhibits 

baseline responses in a post-operative evaluation of the 

level of consciousness. Vital signs, to include blood 

pressure and heart rate, shall be taken and recorded prior to 

discharge.  

2. Post-operative instructions shall be given verbally and in 

writing. The written instructions shall include a 24-hour 

emergency telephone number. 

3. Pediatric patients shall be discharged with a responsible 

individual who has been instructed with regard to the 

patient's care. 

18VAC60-21-280. Administration of minimal sedation 

(anxiolysis or inhalation analgesia). 

A. Education and training requirements. A dentist who 

utilizes minimal sedation shall have training in and 

knowledge of: 

1. Medications The medications used, the appropriate 

dosages, the potential complications of administration, the 

indicators for complications, and the interventions to 

address the complications. 

2. Physiological The physiological effects of nitrous oxide 

minimal sedation, the potential complications of 

administration, the indicators for complications, and the 

interventions to address the complications. 

3. The use and maintenance of the equipment required in 

subsection D of this section. 

B. No sedating medication shall be prescribed for or 

administered to a patient 12 years of age or younger prior to 

his arrival at the dental office or treatment facility. 

C. Delegation of administration.  

1. A qualified dentist may administer or use the services of 

the following personnel to administer minimal sedation: 

a. A dentist; 

b. An anesthesiologist;  

c. A certified registered nurse anesthetist under his 

medical direction and indirect supervision;  

d. A dental hygienist with the training required by 

18VAC60-25-90 B or 18VAC60-25-100 C only for 

administration of nitrous oxide/oxygen and under indirect 

supervision with the dentist present in the operatory; or  

e. A registered nurse upon his direct instruction and 

under immediate supervision. 

2. Preceding the administration of minimal sedation, a 

dentist may use the services of the following personnel 

working under indirect supervision to administer local 

anesthesia to numb an injection or treatment site: 

a. A dental hygienist with the training required by 

18VAC60-25-90 18VAC60-25-100 C to parenterally 

administer Schedule VI local anesthesia to persons 18 

years of age or older; or 
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b. A dental hygienist, dental assistant, registered nurse, or 

licensed practical nurse to administer Schedule VI topical 

oral anesthetics.  

3. If minimal sedation is self-administered by or to a 

patient 13 years of age or older before arrival at the dental 

office or treatment facility, the dentist may only use the 

personnel listed in subdivision 1 of this subsection to 

administer local anesthesia.  

D. Equipment requirements. A dentist who utilizes minimal 

sedation or who directs the administration by another licensed 

health professional as permitted in subsection C of this 

section shall maintain the following equipment in working 

order and immediately available to the areas where patients 

will be sedated and treated and will recover: 

1. Blood pressure monitoring equipment; 

2. Source of delivery of oxygen under controlled positive 

pressure; 

3. Mechanical (hand) respiratory bag; 

4. Suction apparatus; and  

5. Pulse oximeter. 

E. Required staffing. 1. The treatment team for minimal 

sedation other than just inhalation of nitrous oxide/oxygen 

shall consist of the dentist and a second person in the 

operatory with the patient to assist the dentist and monitor the 

patient. The second person shall be a licensed health care 

professional or a person qualified in accordance with 

18VAC60-21-260 I; or. 

2. When only nitrous oxide/oxygen is administered for 

minimal sedation, a second person is not required. Either 

the dentist or qualified dental hygienist under the indirect 

supervision of a dentist may administer the nitrous 

oxide/oxygen and treat and monitor the patient.  

F. Monitoring requirements. 

1. Baseline vital signs to include blood pressure, 

respiratory rate, and heart rate shall be taken and recorded 

prior to administration of sedation and prior to discharge.  

2. Blood pressure, oxygen saturation, respiratory rate, and 

pulse shall be monitored intraoperatively continuously 

during the procedure. 

3. Once the administration of minimal sedation has begun 

by any route of administration, the dentist shall ensure that 

a licensed health care professional or a person qualified in 

accordance with 18VAC60-21-260 I monitors the patient 

at all times until discharged as required in subsection G of 

this section. 

4. If nitrous oxide/oxygen is used in addition to any other 

pharmacological agent, monitoring shall include making 

the proper adjustments of nitrous oxide/oxygen machines 

at the request of or by the dentist or by another qualified 

licensed health professional identified in subsection C of 

this section. Only the dentist or another qualified licensed 

health professional identified in subsection C of this 

section may turn the nitrous oxide/oxygen machines on or 

off. 

5. If any other pharmacological agent is used in addition to 

nitrous oxide/oxygen and a local anesthetic, requirements 

for the induced level of sedation must be met.  

G. Discharge requirements. 

1. The dentist shall not discharge a patient until he exhibits 

baseline responses in a post-operative evaluation of the 

level of consciousness. Vital signs, to include blood 

pressure, respiratory rate, and heart rate shall be taken and 

recorded prior to discharge.  

2. Post-operative instructions shall be given verbally and in 

writing. The written instructions shall include a 24-hour 

emergency telephone number. 

3. Pediatric patients shall be discharged with a responsible 

individual who has been instructed with regard to the 

patient's care. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4690; Filed December 7, 2016, 10:43 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry (amending 18VAC60-21-240, 

18VAC60-21-250). 

18VAC60-25. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Dental Hygiene (amending 18VAC60-25-190).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 25, 2017. 

Effective Date: February 10, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 

email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Board of Dentistry the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system with a specific mandate 

enacted by Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly to 

include provisions for the satisfaction of board-required 

continuing education for individuals registered, certified, 

licensed, or issued a multistate licensure privilege by a health 

regulatory board through delivery of health care services, 

without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 

health services through a local health department or a free 

clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of 

those health services. 

Sections 54.1-2709 and 54.1-2729 of the Code of Virginia 

require the board to promulgate regulations requiring 

continuing education for any dental or dental hygienist 

license renewal or reinstatement. The board may grant 

exceptions or exemptions from these continuing education 

requirements. 
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Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to comply 

with the mandate of the General Assembly and to provide an 

incentive for licensees to volunteer professional services to 

free clinics or public health centers. While a licensee can 

satisfy up to two hours of continuing education with six hours 

of volunteer service, the licensee is still required to have 13 

hours of approved continuing education necessary to acquire 

new knowledge and skills. Therefore, public health is served 

by a potential increase in badly needed volunteer service for 

dental care, but public safety is not sacrificed by eliminating 

most or all of the continuing education hours required for 

renewal. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

allowance of hours for volunteer service to be counted 

towards the continuing education requirement is a mandate of 

the General Assembly. A licensee is not required to provide 

volunteer service but may be credited with continuing 

education hours for doing so. The provision for an extension 

of hours benefits licensees who may have reasons for needing 

additional time for completion of the requirement. Both 

provisions are permissive and neither is controversial. 

Substance: To comply with the mandate of Chapter 82 of the 

2016 Acts of Assembly, the board has adopted a regulation to 

allow dentists and dental hygienists to count up to two hours 

of the 15 hours required for annual renewal to be satisfied 

through delivery of dental services, without compensation, to 

low-income individuals receiving health services through a 

local health department or a free clinic organized in whole or 

primarily for the delivery of those services. One hour of 

continuing education may be credited for three hours of 

providing such volunteer services, as documented by the 

health department or free clinic. 

In addition, the board is including provisions for granting an 

extension of the continuing education requirement for up to 

one year for good cause and upon written request received 

prior to the renewal deadline. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is the incentive given for 

dentists and dental hygienists to volunteer their services in 

exchange for credit towards meeting continuing education 

requirements.  There are no disadvantages to the public. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 General Assembly,
1
 the 

Board of Dentistry (Board) proposes to allow six hours of 

volunteer work to be substituted for up to two hours of 

continuing education annually. The Board also proposes to 

clarify that it can grant an extension for up to one year to 

fulfill the continuing education requirements. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly requires all health boards to promulgate regulations 

to accept volunteer work provided to low-income individuals 

through local health departments or free clinics in lieu of the 

required continuing education. Pursuant to the legislative 

mandate, the Board proposes to accept three hours of 

volunteer work in satisfaction of one hour of continuing 

education from dentists and dental hygienists. The limit on 

the continuing education hours that can be satisfied by 

volunteer work is two hours per year. Currently, dentists and 

dental hygienists are required to take 15 hours of continuing 

education per year for annual renewal of their licenses. 

The proposed change will allow dentists and dental hygienists 

to substitute volunteer work for continuing education. The 

educational value of volunteer services may vary depending 

on each person's experience. However, the two-hour limit on 

the continuing education hours that can be gained through 

this method is a relatively small portion of the annually 

required 15 hours. 

Also, it is not clear whether the ratio of required three hours 

per continuing education hour is sufficient by itself to provide 

enough incentives to offer volunteer service. It appears easier 

for practitioners to spend one hour acquiring continuing 

education than to spend three hours providing free 

services.  However, the Department of Health Professions 

notes that dentists and dental hygienists generally provide a 

significant amount of volunteer work which is indicative of 

the existence of other reasons in this profession to provide it. 

Thus, it is reasonable to expect that the additional incentive 

provided by the proposed regulation would lead to increased 

volunteer hours by convincing practitioners who are 

indecisive at the margin about providing such services. The 

proposed regulation will also help those practitioners who 

have already been providing volunteer services at the 

qualified locations by allowing them to earn continuing 

education credit for their charity work. 

In any event, the proposed regulation allows substitution of 

volunteer work for continuing education, but does not 

mandate it. A practitioner choosing to do volunteer work in 

lieu of the continuing education reveals that he or she benefits 

more from doing so. 

Finally, the proposed regulation clarifies that the Board can 

grant an extension for up to one year to fulfill the continuing 

education requirements. The Board already has this authority 

and can exercise it without this change. Thus, this change is 

not expected to create any significant economic impact other 

than improving the clarity in the regulation regarding the 

Board's existing authority. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, there are 7,292 

dentists and 5,722 dental hygienists licensed in Virginia. 

According to data provided by the Virginia Employment 

Commission, there are 3,049 dental offices in the 

Commonwealth, all of which satisfy small business criteria. 
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The number of dental continuing education providers is not 

known. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

may lead to a decrease in demand for continuing education 

services. However, the two-hour limit on the continuing 

education hours that can be gained through this method is a 

relatively small portion of the annually required 15 hours.  In 

addition, the substitution of voluntary work for continuing 

education hours is voluntary and may not be exercised by all 

practitioners. Thus, the potential decrease in demand for 

continuing education services appears to be small. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

potential impact on the asset value of continuing education 

providers is not known with certainty, but appears to be 

small. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. All of the dental offices are small 

businesses. The proposed amendments do not impose costs 

on them. Most providers of dental continuing education 

services are probably small businesses as well. The proposed 

regulation may decrease the demand for their services by a 

small amount. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no known alternative that minimizes the potential small 

adverse impact on providers of dental continuing education 

services while achieving the same goals. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

______________________________ 
1 http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Dentistry concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments allow dentists and dental hygienists to 

substitute six hours of volunteer work for up to two hours 

of continuing education annually. In addition, the 

amendments clarify that the Board of Dentistry can grant 

an extension for up to one year to fulfill the continuing 

education requirements. 

Part V 

Licensure Renewal 

18VAC60-21-240. License renewal and reinstatement. 

A. The license or permit of any person who does not return 

the completed renewal form and fees by the deadline shall 

automatically expire and become invalid, and his practice of 

dentistry shall be illegal. With the exception of practice with a 

current, restricted volunteer license as provided in § 54.1-

2712.1 of the Code practicing in Virginia with an expired 

license or permit may subject the licensee to disciplinary 

action by the board. 

B. Every person holding an active or inactive license and 

those holding a permit to administer conscious/moderate 

sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia shall annually, 

on or before March 31, renew his license or permit. Every 

person holding a faculty license, temporary resident's license, 

a restricted volunteer license, or a temporary permit shall, on 

or before June 30, request renewal of his license. 

C. Any person who does not return the completed form and 

fee by the deadline required in subsection B of this section 

shall be required to pay an additional late fee.  

D. The board shall renew a license or permit if the renewal 

form, renewal fee, and late fee are received within one year of 

the deadline required in subsection B of this section provided 

that no grounds exist to deny said renewal pursuant to § 54.1-

2706 of the Code and Part II (18VAC60-21-50 et seq.) of this 

chapter. 

E. Reinstatement procedures.  

1. Any person whose license or permit has expired for 

more than one year or whose license or permit has been 

revoked or suspended and who wishes to reinstate such 

license or permit shall submit a reinstatement application 

and the reinstatement fee. The application must include 

evidence of continuing competence.  

2. To evaluate continuing competence, the board shall 

consider (i) hours of continuing education that meet the 

requirements of subsection G H of 18VAC60-21-250; (ii) 

evidence of active practice in another state or in federal 

service; (iii) current specialty board certification; (iv) 

recent passage of a clinical competency examination 

accepted by the board; or (v) a refresher program offered 

by a program accredited by the Commission on Dental 

Accreditation of the American Dental Association.  

3. The executive director may reinstate such expired 

license or permit provided that the applicant can 

demonstrate continuing competence, the applicant has paid 

the reinstatement fee and any fines or assessments, and no 

grounds exist to deny said reinstatement pursuant to 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082
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§ 54.1-2706 of the Code and Part II (18VAC60-21-50 et 

seq.) of this chapter. 

18VAC60-21-250. Requirements for continuing education. 

A. A dentist shall complete a minimum of 15 hours of 

continuing education, which meets the requirements for 

content, sponsorship, and documentation set out in this 

section, for each annual renewal of licensure except for the 

first renewal following initial licensure and for any renewal of 

a restricted volunteer license.  

1. All renewal applicants shall attest that they have read 

and understand and will remain current with the laws and 

regulations governing the practice of dentistry and dental 

hygiene in Virginia.  

2. A dentist shall maintain current training certification in 

basic cardiopulmonary resuscitation with hands-on airway 

training for health care providers or basic life support 

unless he is required by 18VAC60-21-290 or 18VAC60-

21-300 to hold current certification in advanced life 

support with hands-on simulated airway and megacode 

training for health care providers. 

3. A dentist who administers or monitors patients under 

general anesthesia, deep sedation, or conscious/moderate 

sedation shall complete four hours every two years of 

approved continuing education directly related to 

administration and monitoring of such anesthesia or 

sedation as part of the hours required for licensure renewal. 

4. Continuing education hours in excess of the number 

required for renewal may be transferred or credited to the 

next renewal year for a total of not more than 15 hours. 

5. Up to two hours of the 15 hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through delivery of dental 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals 

receiving health services through a local health department 

or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the 

delivery of those services. One hour of continuing 

education may be credited for three hours of providing 

such volunteer services, as documented by the health 

department or free clinic.  

B. To be accepted for license renewal, continuing education 

programs shall be directly relevant to the treatment and care 

of patients and shall be: 

1. Clinical courses in dentistry and dental hygiene; or 

2. Nonclinical subjects that relate to the skills necessary to 

provide dental or dental hygiene services and are 

supportive of clinical services (i.e., patient management, 

legal and ethical responsibilities, and stress management). 

Courses not acceptable for the purpose of this subsection 

include, but are not limited to, estate planning, financial 

planning, investments, business management, marketing, 

and personal health. 

C. Continuing education credit may be earned for verifiable 

attendance at or participation in any course, to include audio 

and video presentations, that meets the requirements in 

subsection B of this section and is given by one of the 

following sponsors: 

1. The American Dental Association and the National 

Dental Association, their constituent and 

component/branch associations, and approved continuing 

education providers; 

2. The American Dental Hygienists' Association and the 

National Dental Hygienists Association, and their 

constituent and component/branch associations; 

3. The American Dental Assisting Association and its 

constituent and component/branch associations; 

4. The American Dental Association specialty 

organizations and their constituent and component/branch 

associations; 

5. A provider accredited by the Accreditation Council for 

Continuing Medical Education for Category 1 credits; 

6. The Academy of General Dentistry, its constituent and 

component/branch associations, and approved continuing 

education providers; 

7. A college or university that is accredited by an 

accrediting agency approved by the U.S. Department of 

Education or a hospital or health care institution accredited 

by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 

Organizations; 

8. The American Heart Association, the American Red 

Cross, the American Safety and Health Institute, and the 

American Cancer Society; 

9. A medical school accredited by the American Medical 

Association's Liaison Committee for Medical Education; 

10. A dental, dental hygiene, or dental assisting program or 

advanced dental education program accredited by the 

Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American 

Dental Association;  

11. State or federal government agencies (i.e., military 

dental division, Veteran's Administration, etc.); 

12. The Commonwealth Dental Hygienists' Society;  

13. The MCV Orthodontic Education and Research 

Foundation; 

14. The Dental Assisting National Board and its affiliate, 

the Dental Auxiliary Learning and Education Foundation; 

or 

15. A regional testing agency (i.e., Central Regional Dental 

Testing Service, Northeast Regional Board of Dental 

Examiners, Southern Regional Testing Agency, Council of 

Interstate Testing Agencies, or Western Regional 

Examining Board) when serving as an examiner.  

D. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 
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disasters. A written request with supporting documents must 

be submitted prior to renewal of the license.  

E. The board may grant an extension for up to one year for 

completion of continuing education upon written request with 

an explanation to the board prior to the renewal date. 

E. F. A licensee is required to verify compliance with the 

continuing education requirements in his annual license 

renewal. Following the renewal period, the board may 

conduct an audit of licensees to verify compliance. Licensees 

selected for audit must provide original documents certifying 

that they have fulfilled their continuing education 

requirements by the deadline date as specified by the board. 

F. G. All licensees are required to maintain original 

documents verifying the date and subject of the program or 

activity, the sponsor, and the amount of time earned. 

Documentation shall be maintained for a period of four years 

following renewal. 

G. H. A licensee who has allowed his license to lapse, or 

who has had his license suspended or revoked, shall submit 

evidence of completion of continuing education equal to the 

requirements for the number of years in which his license has 

not been active, not to exceed a total of 45 hours. Of the 

required hours, at least 15 must be earned in the most recent 

12 months and the remainder within the 36 months preceding 

an application for reinstatement. 

H. I. Continuing education hours required by board order 

shall not be used to satisfy the continuing education 

requirement for license renewal or reinstatement. 

I. J. Failure to comply with continuing education 

requirements may subject the licensee to disciplinary action 

by the board. 

18VAC60-25-190. Requirements for continuing education. 

A. In order to renew an active license, a dental hygienist 

shall complete a minimum of 15 hours of approved 

continuing education. Continuing education hours in excess 

of the number required for renewal may be transferred or 

credited to the next renewal year for a total of not more than 

15 hours. 

1. A dental hygienist shall be required to maintain evidence 

of successful completion of a current hands-on course in 

basic cardiopulmonary resuscitation for health care 

providers. 

2. A dental hygienist who monitors patients under general 

anesthesia, deep sedation, or conscious/moderate sedation 

shall complete four hours every two years of approved 

continuing education directly related to monitoring of such 

anesthesia or sedation as part of the hours required for 

licensure renewal. 

3. Up to two hours of the 15 hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through delivery of dental 

hygiene services, without compensation, to low-income 

individuals receiving health services through a local health 

department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily 

for the delivery of those services. One hour of continuing 

education may be credited for three hours of providing 

such volunteer services, as documented by the health 

department or free clinic. 

B. An approved continuing education program shall be 

relevant to the treatment and care of patients and shall be:  

1. Clinical courses in dental or dental hygiene practice; or 

2. Nonclinical subjects that relate to the skills necessary to 

provide dental hygiene services and are supportive of 

clinical services (i.e., patient management, legal and 

ethical responsibilities, risk management, and 

recordkeeping). Courses not acceptable for the purpose of 

this subsection include, but are not limited to, estate 

planning, financial planning, investments, and personal 

health. 

C. Continuing education credit may be earned for verifiable 

attendance at or participation in any course, to include audio 

and video presentations, that meets the requirements in 

subdivision B 1 of this section and is given by one of the 

following sponsors: 

1. The American Dental Association and the National 

Dental Association and their constituent and 

component/branch associations; 

2. The American Dental Hygienists' Association and the 

National Dental Hygienists Association and their 

constituent and component/branch associations; 

3. The American Dental Assisting Association and its 

constituent and component/branch associations; 

4. The American Dental Association specialty 

organizations and their constituent and component/branch 

associations; 

5. A provider accredited by the Accreditation Council for 

Continuing Medical Education for Category 1 credits; 

6. The Academy of General Dentistry and its constituent 

and component/branch associations; 

7. Community colleges with an accredited dental hygiene 

program if offered under the auspices of the dental 

hygienist program; 

8. A college or university that is accredited by an 

accrediting agency approved by the U.S. Department of 

Education or a hospital or health care institution accredited 

by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 

Organizations; 

9. The American Heart Association, the American Red 

Cross, the American Safety and Health Institute, and the 

American Cancer Society; 

10. A medical school accredited by the American Medical 

Association's Liaison Committee for Medical Education or 

a dental school or dental specialty residency program 

accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of 

the American Dental Association; 
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11. State or federal government agencies (i.e., military 

dental division, Veteran's Administration, etc.); 

12. The Commonwealth Dental Hygienists' Society; 

13. The MCV Orthodontic Education and Research 

Foundation; 

14. The Dental Assisting National Board and its affiliate, 

the Dental Auxiliary Learning and Education Foundation;  

15. The American Academy of Dental Hygiene, its 

constituent and component/branch associations; or 

16. A regional testing agency (i.e., Central Regional Dental 

Testing Service, Northeast Regional Board of Dental 

Examiners, Southern Regional Testing Agency, Council of 

Interstate Testing Agencies, or Western Regional 

Examining Board) when serving as an examiner. 

D. Verification of compliance. 

1. All licensees are required to verify compliance with 

continuing education requirements at the time of annual 

license renewal.  

2. Following the renewal period, the board may conduct an 

audit of licensees to verify compliance.  

3. Licensees selected for audit shall provide original 

documents certifying that they have fulfilled their 

continuing education requirements by the deadline date as 

specified by the board. 

4. Licensees are required to maintain original documents 

verifying the date and the subject of the program or 

activity, the sponsor, and the amount of time earned. 

Documentation shall be maintained for a period of four 

years following renewal. 

5. Failure to comply with continuing education 

requirements may subject the licensee to disciplinary 

action by the board. 

E. Exemptions. 

1. A licensee is exempt from completing continuing 

education requirements and considered in compliance on 

the first renewal date following the licensee's initial 

licensure. 

2. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially 

declared disasters. A written request with supporting 

documents must be submitted at least 30 days prior to the 

deadline for renewal. 

F. The board may grant an extension for up to one year for 

completion of continuing education upon written request with 

an explanation to the board prior to the renewal date. 

F. G. Continuing education hours required by board order 

shall not be used to satisfy the continuing education 

requirement for license renewal or reinstatement. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4716; Filed December 7, 2016, 10:43 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC76-20. Regulations Governing 

the Prescription Monitoring Program (amending 

18VAC76-20-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2520 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 25, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Ralph Orr, Program Manager, Department 

of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4523, FAX 

(804) 527-4470, or email ralph.orr@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update the required version for reporting 

data electronically to the Prescription Monitoring 

Program, require several new data elements in the report, 

and allow dispensers at least 90 days from notification by 

the director to comply when a new file layout with new 

data elements is prescribed.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

18VAC76-20-40. Standards for the manner and format of 

reports and a schedule for reporting.  

A. Data shall be transmitted to the department or its agent 

within seven days of dispensing as provided in the Electronic 

Reporting Standard for Prescription Monitoring Programs, 

Version 4.1 (November 2009) 4.2 (September 2011) of the 

American Society of Automation in Pharmacy (ASAP), 

which are hereby incorporated by reference into this chapter.  

B. Data shall be transmitted in a file layout provided by the 

department and shall be transmitted by a media acceptable to 

the vendor contracted by the director for the program. Such 

transmission shall begin on a date specified by the director, 

no less than 30 90 days from notification by the director to 

dispensers required to report.  

C. Under extraordinary circumstances, an alternative means 

of reporting may be approved by the director.  

D. Data not accepted by the vendor due to a substantial 

number of errors or omissions shall be corrected and 

resubmitted to the vendor within five business days of 

receiving notification that the submitted data had an 

unacceptable number of errors or problems.  

E. Required data elements shall include those listed in 

subsection B of § 54.1-2521 of the Code of Virginia and the 

following: 

1. The Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) 

registration number of the dispenser; 

2. The National Provider Identifier of the prescriber; 

3. The total number of refills ordered; 

3. 4. Whether the prescription is a new prescription or a 

refill; and  
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5. Whether the prescription is a partial fill; 

6. The gender code; 

7. The species code; 

8. The Electronic Prescription Reference Number, and the 

Electronic Prescription Order Number if it is an electronic 

prescription; and 

4. 9. The date the prescription was written by the 

prescriber. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(18VAC76-20)  

Implementation Guide ASAP Standard (Electronic 

Reporting Standard) for Prescription Monitoring Programs, 

Version 4, Release 1 2, November 2009 September 2011, 

American Society for Automation in Pharmacy, 

492 Norristown Road, Suite 160, Blue Bell, PA 19422 

(http://www.asapnet.org). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4370; Filed December 6, 2016, 2:46 p.m.  

BOARD FOR HEARING AID SPECIALISTS AND 
OPTICIANS 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC80-20. Board for Hearing Aid 

Specialists Regulations (amending 18VAC80-20-10, 

18VAC80-20-30, 18VAC80-20-40, 18VAC80-20-70, 

18VAC80-20-220, 18VAC80-20-230, 18VAC80-20-250, 

18VAC80-20-270; repealing 18VAC80-20-280).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Demetrios J. Melis, Executive Director, 

Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 527-4295, or email 

hearingaidspec@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) modify the definitions of "hearing aid 

specialist" and "licensee" and other provisions to align 

them with statutory definitions found in § 54.1-1500 of the 

Code of Virginia, (ii) exempt correspondence protected by 

law from the requirement that correspondence be sent to 

both the permit holder and sponsor, (iii) eliminate the 

examination fee cap and authorize examination fees to be 

set by agreement between the Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation and the examination vendor 

provided that the vendor is chosen in accordance with 

Virginia Procurement Act, (iv) eliminate fees for wall 

certificates and consolidate the licensure fee for 

reciprocity with the initial license fee, (v) require a hearing 

aid specialist to disclose nonrefundable fees and prohibit 

the fees from being a percentage of the purchase price of 

the hearing aid, (vi) expand the standard testing 

frequencies to include 6000 – 8000 hertz, (vii) expand the 

grounds for disciplinary action to include probation and 

refusal to renew, (viii) clarify that temporary permit 

holders are subject to discipline by the board, and (ix) 

make other clarifying changes. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

CHAPTER 20  

BOARD FOR HEARING AID SPECIALISTS 

REGULATIONS  

Part I  

Definitions  

18VAC80-20-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Audiologist" means any person who engages in the practice 

of audiology as defined by § 54.1-2600 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Board" means Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and 

Opticians.  

"Department" means Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation.  

"Hearing aid specialist" means a person who engages in the 

practice of fitting and or dealing in hearing aids or who 

advertises or displays a sign or represents himself as a person 

who practices the fitting and or dealing of in hearing aids.  

"Licensed sponsor" means a licensed hearing aid specialist 

who is responsible for training one or more individuals 

holding a temporary permit.  

"Licensee" means any person holding a valid license issued 

by the Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians for 

the practice of fitting and or dealing in hearing aids, as 

defined in § 54.1-1500 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Otolaryngologist" means a licensed physician specializing 

in ear, nose, and throat disorders.  

"Reciprocity" means an agreement between two or more 

states to recognize and accept one another's regulations and 

laws.  

"Reinstatement" means having a license restored to 

effectiveness after the expiration date has passed.  

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license 

for another period of time.  

"Temporary permit holder" means any person who holds a 

valid temporary permit under this chapter.  

Part II  

Entry Requirements  

18VAC80-20-30. Basic qualifications for licensure.  

A. Every applicant for a license shall provide information on 

his application establishing that:  

1. The applicant is at least 18 years of age.  

http://www.asapnet.org/
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2. The applicant has successfully completed high school or 

a high school equivalency course.  

3. The applicant has training and experience that covers the 

following subjects as they pertain to hearing aid fitting and 

the sale of hearing aids, accessories, and services:  

a. Basic physics of sound;  

b. Basic maintenance and repair of hearing aids;  

c. The anatomy and physiology of the ear;  

d. Introduction to psychological aspects of hearing loss;  

e. The function of hearing aids and amplification;  

f. Visible disorders of the ear requiring medical referrals;  

g. Practical tests utilized for selection or modification of 

hearing aids;  

h. Pure tone audiometry, including air conduction, bone 

conduction, and related tests;  

i. Live voice or recorded voice speech audiometry, 

including speech reception threshold testing and speech 

discrimination testing;  

j. Masking when indicated;  

k. Recording and evaluating audiograms and speech 

audiometry to determine the proper selection and 

adaptation of hearing aids;  

l. Taking earmold impressions;  

m. Proper earmold selection;  

n. Adequate instruction in proper hearing aid orientation;  

o. Necessity of proper procedures in after-fitting 

checkup; and  

p. Availability of social service resources and other 

special resources for the hearing impaired.  

4. The applicant has provided one of the following as 

verification of completion of training and experience as 

described in subdivision 3 of this subsection:  

a. A statement on a form provided by the board signed by 

the licensed sponsor certifying that the requirements have 

been met; or  

b. A certified true copy of a transcript of courses 

completed at an accredited college or university, or other 

notarized documentation of completion of the required 

experience and training.  

5. The applicant shall has not have been convicted or found 

guilty of any crime directly related to the practice of fitting 

and or dealing in hearing aids, regardless of the manner of 

adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the United States. 

Except for misdemeanor convictions that occurred five or 

more years prior to the date of application, with no 

subsequent convictions, all criminal convictions shall be 

considered as part of the totality of the circumstances of 

each applicant. The applicant review of prior convictions 

shall be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-204 of the 

Code of Virginia. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be 

considered a conviction for purposes of this subdivision. 

The record of a conviction authenticated in such form as to 

be admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 

where convicted shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such conviction or guilt.  

6. The applicant is in good standing as a licensed hearing 

aid specialist in every jurisdiction where licensed. The 

applicant must disclose if he has had a license as a hearing 

aid specialist that was suspended, revoked, or surrendered 

in connection with a disciplinary action or that has been the 

subject of discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying 

for licensure in Virginia. At the time of application for 

licensure, the applicant must also disclose any disciplinary 

action taken in another jurisdiction in connection with the 

applicant's practice as a hearing aid specialist. The 

applicant must also disclose whether he has been 

previously licensed in Virginia as a hearing aid specialist.  

7. The applicant has disclosed his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable.  

8. The nonresident applicant for a license has filed and 

maintained with the department an irrevocable consent for 

the department to serve as service agent for all actions filed 

in any court in Virginia.  

9. The applicant has submitted the required application 

with the proper fee as referenced in 18VAC80-20-70 and 

signed, as part of the application, a statement that the 

applicant has read and understands Chapter 15 (§ 54.1-

1500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and the 

regulations of the board this chapter.  

B. The board may make further inquiries and investigations 

with respect to the qualifications of the applicant or require a 

personal interview or both. The board may refuse initial 

licensure due to the applicant's failure to comply with entry 

requirements. The licensee is entitled to a review of such 

action. Appeals from such actions shall be in accordance with 

the provisions of the Administrative Process Act, Chapter 40 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC80-20-40. Qualifications for a temporary 

Temporary permit.  

A. Any individual may apply for a temporary permit, which 

is to be used solely for the purpose of gaining the training and 

experience required to become a licensed hearing aid 

specialist in Virginia. The licensed sponsor shall be identified 

on the application for a temporary permit and the licensed 

sponsor shall comply strictly with the provisions of 

subdivision 2 of this [ subsection B subdivisions B 1 and B 

2 ] of this section.  

1. A temporary permit shall be issued for a period of 12 

months and may be extended once for not longer than six 

months. After a period of 18 months an extension is no 

longer possible and the former temporary permit holder 

shall sit for the examination in accordance with this 

section.  
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2. The board may, at its discretion, extend the temporary 

permit for a temporary permit holder who suffers serious 

personal illness or injury, or death in his immediate family, 

or obligation of military service or service in the Peace 

Corps, or for other good cause of similar magnitude 

approved by the board. Documentation of these 

circumstances must be received by the board no later than 

12 months after the date of the expiration of the temporary 

permit or within six months of the completion of military 

or Peace Corps service, whichever is later.  

2. B. Every applicant for a temporary permit shall provide 

information on upon application establishing that:  

a. 1. The applicant for a temporary permit is at least 18 

years of age.  

b. 2. The applicant for a temporary permit has successfully 

completed high school or a high school equivalency 

course.  

3. The applicant shall has not have been convicted or found 

guilty of any crime directly related to the practice of fitting 

and or dealing in hearing aids, regardless of the manner of 

adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the United States. 

Except for misdemeanor convictions that occurred five or 

more years prior to the date of application, with no 

subsequent convictions, all criminal convictions shall be 

considered as part of the totality of the circumstances of 

each applicant. Review of prior convictions shall be 

subject to the requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subdivision. The record of a 

conviction authenticated in such form as to be admissible 

in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where 

convicted shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of 

such conviction or guilt.  

4. The applicant for a temporary permit is in good standing 

as a licensed hearing aid specialist in every jurisdiction 

where licensed. The applicant for a temporary permit must 

disclose if he has had a license as a hearing aid specialist 

that was suspended, revoked, or surrendered in connection 

with a disciplinary action or that has been the subject of 

discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure 

in Virginia. At the time of application, the applicant for a 

temporary permit must also disclose any disciplinary 

action taken in another jurisdiction in connection with the 

applicant's practice as a hearing aid specialist. The 

applicant for a temporary permit must also disclose 

whether he has been licensed previously in Virginia as a 

hearing aid specialist.  

5. The applicant for a temporary permit has disclosed his 

physical address. A post office box is not acceptable.  

6. The applicant for a temporary permit has submitted the 

required application with the proper fee referenced in 

18VAC80-20-70 and has signed, as part of the application, 

a statement that the applicant has read and understands 

Chapter 15 (§ 54.1-1500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia and the regulations of the board this chapter.  

B. C. The licensed hearing aid specialist who agrees to 

sponsor the applicant for a temporary permit shall certify on 

the application that as sponsor, he:  

1. Assumes full responsibility for the competence and 

proper conduct of the temporary permit holder with regard 

to all acts performed pursuant to the acquisition of training 

and experience in the fitting and or dealing of hearing aids;  

2. Will not assign the temporary permit holder to carry out 

independent field work without on-site direct supervision 

by the sponsor until the temporary permit holder is 

adequately trained for such activity;  

3. Will personally provide and make available 

documentation, upon request by the board or its 

representative, showing the number of hours that direct 

supervision has occurred throughout the period of the 

temporary permit; and  

4. Will return the temporary permit to the department 

should the training program be discontinued for any 

reason.  

C. D. The licensed sponsor shall provide training and shall 

ensure that the temporary permit holder under his supervision 

gains experience that covers the following subjects as they 

pertain to hearing aid fitting and the sale of hearing aids, 

accessories, and services:  

1. Basic physics of sound;  

2. Basic maintenance and repair of hearing aids;  

3. The anatomy and physiology of the ear;  

4. Introduction to psychological aspects of hearing loss;  

5. The function of hearing aids and amplification;  

6. Visible disorders of the ear requiring medical referrals;  

7. Practical tests utilized for selection or modification of 

hearing aids;  

8. Pure tone audiometry, including air conduction, bone 

conduction, and related tests;  

9. Live voice or recorded voice speech audiometry, 

including speech reception threshold testing and speech 

discrimination testing;  

10. Masking when indicated;  

11. Recording and evaluating audiograms and speech 

audiometry to determine the proper selection and 

adaptation of hearing aids;  

12. Taking earmold impressions;  

13. Proper earmold selection;  

14. Adequate instruction in proper hearing aid orientation;  

15. Necessity of proper procedures in after-fitting checkup; 

and  

16. Availability of social service resources and other 

special resources for the hearing impaired.  
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D. E. The board may make further inquiries and 

investigations with respect to the qualifications of the 

applicant for a temporary permit or require a personal 

interview, or both.  

E. F. All correspondence from the board to the temporary 

permit holder not otherwise exempt from disclosure, shall be 

addressed to both the temporary permit holder and the 

licensed sponsor and shall be sent to the business address of 

the licensed sponsor.  

18VAC80-20-70. Fees.  

A. All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The 

date of receipt by the board or its agent is the date which that 

will be used to determine whether or not it is on time.  

B. Application and examination fees must be submitted with 

the application for licensure.  

C. In the event that a check, money draft, or similar 

instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 

regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 

named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit 

fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus the additional 

processing charge established by the department.  

The following fees apply:  

Application Fee $30 to be paid by all 

applicants for initial 

licensure except 

reciprocal applicants 

Examination Fee $110   

Licensure Fee for 

Reciprocity 

$140 includes exam fee 

Temporary Permit 

Fee 

$30   

Re-examination Fee $95 per written or practical 

part  

Renewal $20   

Reinstatement $50   

Duplicate Wall 

Certificate 

$25   

D. The written examination fee shall be established in 

compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-

4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). The practical 

examination fee shall be established by the department that is 

sufficient to cover expenses for the administration of the 

examination in compliance with subdivision A 4 of § 54.1-

201 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC80-20-220. Purchase agreement.  

A. Each hearing aid shall be sold through a purchase 

agreement which that shall:  

1. Show the licensee's business address, license number 

and, business telephone number, and signature;  

2. Comply with federal and Virginia laws and regulations, 

United States U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) 

regulations, the Virginia Home Solicitation Sales Act 

(Chapter 2.1 (§ 59.1-21.1 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of the Code 

of Virginia), and the Virginia Consumer Protection Act 

(Chapter 17 (§ 59.1-196 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of the Code 

of Virginia);  

3. Clearly state, if the hearing aid is not new and is sold or 

rented, that it is "used" or "reconditioned," whichever is 

applicable, including the terms of warranty, if any. The 

hearing aid container shall be clearly marked with the same 

information contained in the purchase agreement.  

4. Identify the brand names and model of the hearing aid 

being sold, and the serial number of the hearing aid shall 

be provided, in writing, to the purchaser or prospective 

purchaser at the time of delivery of the hearing aid;  

5. Disclose the full purchase price;  

6. Disclose the down payment and periodic payment terms 

in cases where the purchase price is not paid in full at 

delivery;  

7. Disclose any nonrefundable fees established in 

accordance with § 54.1-1505 of the Code of Virginia. 

Nonrefundable fees shall not be a percentage of the 

purchase price of the hearing aid;  

8. Disclose any warranty;  

9. Explain the provisions of § 54.1-1505 of the Code of 

Virginia, which entitles the purchaser to return the hearing 

aid, in the 10-point bold face type that is bolder than the 

type in the remainder of the purchase agreement; and  

10. Disclose that the licensee or temporary permit holder is 

not a physician licensed to practice medicine in Virginia 

and that no examination or representation made shall be 

regarded as a medical examination, opinion or advice;. 

B. Subdivision A 10 of this section shall not apply to sales 

made by a licensed hearing aid specialist who is a physician 

licensed to practice medicine in Virginia.  

18VAC80-20-230. Fitting and or sale of hearing aids for 

children.  

1. Any person engaging in the fitting and or sale of hearing 

aids for a child under 18 years of age shall ascertain whether 

such child has been examined by an otolaryngologist or 

licensed physician within six months prior to fitting.  

2. No child under 18 years of age shall be initially fitted 

with a hearing aid or hearing aids unless the licensed hearing 

aid specialist has been presented with a written statement 

signed by an otolaryngologist stating the child's hearing loss 

has been medically evaluated and the child may be considered 

a candidate for a hearing aid. The medical evaluation must 

have taken place within the preceding six months.  
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3. No child under 18 years of age shall be subsequently 

fitted with a hearing aid or hearing aids unless the licensed 

hearing aid specialist has been presented with a written 

statement signed by a licensed physician stating the child's 

hearing loss has been medically evaluated and the child may 

be considered a candidate for a hearing aid. The medical 

evaluation must have taken place within the preceding six 

months.  

18VAC80-20-250. Testing procedures.  

It shall be the duty of each licensee and holder of a 

temporary permit engaged in the fitting and sale of hearing 

aids to use appropriate testing procedures for each hearing aid 

fitting. All tests and case history information must be retained 

in the records of the specialist. The established requirements 

shall be:  

1. Air Conduction Tests A.N.S.I. standard frequencies of 

500-1000-2000-4000-6000-8000 Hertz. Intermediate 

frequencies shall be tested if the threshold difference 

between octaves exceeds 15dB. Appropriate masking must 

be used if the difference between the two ears is 40 dB or 

more at any one frequency.  

2. Bone Conduction Tests are to be made on every client--

A.N.S.I. standards at 500-1000-2000-4000 Hertz. Proper 

masking is to be applied if the air conduction and bone 

conduction readings for the test ear at any one frequency 

differ by 15 dB or if lateralization occurs.  

3. Speech testings shall be made before fittings and shall 

be recorded with type of test, method of presentation and 

the test results.  

4. The specialist shall check for the following conditions 

and, if they are found to exist, shall refer the client to a 

licensed physician unless the client can show that his 

present condition is under treatment or has been treated:  

a. Visible congenital or traumatic deformity of the ear.  

b. History of active drainage from the ear within the 

previous 90 days.  

c. History of sudden or rapidly progressive hearing loss 

within the previous 90 days.  

d. Acute or chronic dizziness.  

e. Unilateral hearing loss.  

f. Audiometric air bone gap equal to or greater than 15 

dB at 500 Hertz, 1000 Hertz, and 2000 Hertz.  

g. Visible evidence or significant cerumen accumulation 

or a foreign body in the ear canal.  

h. Tinnitus as a primary symptom.  

i. Pain or discomfort in the ear.  

5. All tests shall have been conducted no more than six 

months prior to the fitting.  

6. Post-fitting testing shall be made and recorded with type 

of test, method of presentation and the test results.  

18VAC80-20-270. Grounds for discipline.  

The board may, in considering the totality of the 

circumstances, fine any temporary permit holder or licensee 

or, and suspend, place on probation, or revoke, or refuse to 

renew any temporary permit or license or deny any license 

application issued under the provisions of Chapter 15 (§ 54.1-

1500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and the 

regulations of the board this chapter. Disciplinary procedures 

are governed by the Administrative Process Act, Chapter 40 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. In 

exercising its disciplinary function, the board will consider 

the totality of the circumstances of each case. Any licensee is 

subject to board discipline for any of the following:  

1. Improper conduct, including but not limited to:  

a. Obtaining or, renewing, or attempting to obtain a 

license by false or fraudulent representation;  

b. Obtaining any fee or making any sale by fraud or 

misrepresentation;  

c. Employing to fit and or sell hearing aids a person who 

does not hold a valid license or a temporary permit, or 

whose license or temporary permit is suspended;  

d. Using, causing, or promoting the use of any 

misleading, deceptive, or untruthful advertising matter, 

promotional literature, testimonial, guarantee, warranty, 

label, brand, insignia, or any other representation, 

whether disseminated orally or published;  

e. Advertising a particular model or type of hearing aid 

for sale when purchasers or prospective purchasers 

responding to the advertisement cannot purchase the 

advertised model or type;  

f. Representing that the service or advice of a person 

licensed to practice medicine or audiology will be used in 

the selection, fitting, adjustment, maintenance, or repair 

of hearing aids when that is not true;, or using the words 

"physician," "audiologist," "clinic," "hearing service," 

"hearing center," or similar description of the services 

and products provided when such use is not accurate;  

g. Directly or indirectly giving, or offering to give, 

favors, paid referrals, or anything of value to any person 

who in his professional capacity uses his position to 

influence third parties to purchase products offered for 

sale by a hearing aid specialist; or  

h. Failing to provide expedient, reliable and, or 

dependable services when requested by a client or client's 

guardian.  

2. Failure to include on the purchase agreement a statement 

regarding home solicitation when required by federal and 

state law.  

3. Incompetence or negligence, as those terms are 

generally understood in the profession, in fitting or selling 

hearing aids.  
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4. Failure to provide required or appropriate training 

resulting in incompetence or negligence, as those terms are 

generally understood in the profession, by a temporary 

permit holder under the licensee's sponsorship.  

5. Violating or cooperating with others in violating any 

provisions of Chapters 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 2 (§ 54.1-200 

et seq.), 3 (§ 54.1-300 et seq.), and 15 (§ 54.1-1500 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or any regulation of 

the board this chapter.  

6. The licensee, temporary permit holder, or applicant shall 

not have has been convicted or found guilty of any crime 

directly related to the practice of fitting and or dealing in 

hearing aids, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in 

any jurisdiction of the United States. Except for 

misdemeanor convictions that occurred five or more years 

prior to the date of application, with no subsequent 

convictions, all criminal convictions shall be considered as 

part of the totality of the circumstances of each applicant. 

Review of prior convictions shall be subject to the 

requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Any 

pleas of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for the purpose of this subdivision. The record of a 

conviction authenticated in such form as to be admissible 

in evidence of the law of the jurisdiction where convicted 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

conviction or guilt.  

18VAC80-20-280. Accountability of licensee. (Repealed.) 

A licensee shall be responsible for the acts or omissions of 

his staff in the performance of the fitting and dispensing of 

hearing aid services.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC80-20)  

License Application, 21LIC (rev. 10/03).  

Temporary Permit Application, 21TPER (eff. 10/03).  

Reinstatement Application, 21REI (rev. 10/03).  

Reexamination Application, 21REEX (rev. 12/00).  

[ Hearing Aid Specialist License Application, A440-

2101LIC-v3 (rev. 3/2016) 

Hearing Aid Specialist Temporary Permit Application, 

A440-2102TP_PKG-v4 (rev. 3/2016) 

Hearing Aid Specialist License Reinstatement Application, 

A440-2101REI-v3 (rev. 3/2016) 

Hearing Aid Specialist License Application, A440-

2101LIC-v3 (rev. 2/2017)  

Hearing Aid Specialist Temporary Permit Application, 

A440-2102TP_PKG-v4 (rev. 2/2017) 

Hearing Aid Specialist License Reinstatement Application, 

A440-2101REI-v3 (rev. 2/2017) ]  

Hearing Aid Specialist Re-examination Application, A440-

2101REEX-v2 (rev. 9/2013) 

Hearing Aid Specialist Training & Experience Form, A440-

21TREXP-v2 (eff. 9/2013) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3984; Filed December 2, 2016, 3:41 p.m.  

BOARD OF NURSING 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing (amending 18VAC90-20-225, 

18VAC90-20-230).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 25, 2017. 

Effective Date: February 10, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia establishes 

the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards 

including the responsibility to (i) promulgate regulations that 

are reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the 

regulatory system; (ii) establish the qualifications for 

registration, certification, licensure or the issuance of a 

multistate licensure privilege in accordance with the 

applicable law that are necessary to ensure competence and 

integrity to engage in the regulated professions; and (iii) issue 

inactive licenses or certificates and promulgate regulations to 

carry out such purpose, which shall include the qualifications, 

renewal fees, and conditions for reactivation of licenses or 

certificates. 

Purpose: On April 13, 2016, a petition for rulemaking was 

received requesting that the Board of Nursing consider 

amending the sections on reactivation and reinstatement 

because requirements in those sections appear to allow a 

person to let his license lapse and then pay the reinstatement 

fee without meeting the requirements for continued 

competency for renewal of licensure. 

The board concurred with the petitioner and voted to amend 

its regulations using the fast-track rulemaking process. While 

the board currently expects nurses reactivating or reinstating 

within one renewal cycle to meet the continuing competency 

requirements, the regulations do not specifically include that 

provision. As such, regulations may not adequately ensure the 

current competency of a person seeking reactivation or 

reinstatement. To protect the health and safety of patients, the 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2c84b003984~6&typ=40&actno=003984&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2c84b003984~6&typ=40&actno=003984&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=926a7003984~6&typ=40&actno=003984&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=926a7003984~6&typ=40&actno=003984&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=922e0003984~6&typ=40&actno=003984&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=922e0003984~6&typ=40&actno=003984&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bfda8003984~2&typ=40&actno=003984&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bfda8003984~2&typ=40&actno=003984&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2e9de003984~1&typ=40&actno=003984&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2e9de003984~1&typ=40&actno=003984&mime=application/pdf


Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 26, 2016 

940 

board must require some evidence that the nurse is competent 

to resume active practice. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: There 

was only one comment on the petition for rulemaking; a 

comment in support was received from the petitioner. 

Therefore, the board is confident that the rulemaking is 

noncontroversial and should be promulgated as a fast-track 

rulemaking action. 

Substance: The amendments clarify that when a nurse 

reactivates an inactive license or reinstates a lapsed license 

with one renewal period of going inactive or allowing the 

license to lapse, he must provide evidence of completion of at 

least one of the learning activities or courses specified in 

18VAC90-20-221 during the two years immediately 

preceding reactivation or reinstatement. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public of the 

amendment is better assurance that nurses returning to active 

practice have minimal competency to provide services to 

patients in Virginia. There are no disadvantages to the public.  

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

proposed regulation will clarify that compliance with 

continuing education requirements is required to reactivate an 

inactive license and to reinstate a lapsed license. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Board of Nursing (Board) 

currently expects nurses reactivating or reinstating their 

licenses within one renewal cycle to meet the continuing 

education requirements for nurses renewing their active 

licenses. That is a nurse who has not kept his or her 

knowledge and skills up-to-date is expected to obtain 30 

hours of continuing education and a nurse who actively 

practiced in another state and is returning to Virginia is 

expected to obtain 15 hours of continuing education. 

However, the current regulation does not specify these 

requirements. The proposed language clarifies that nurses 

reactivating or reinstating their licenses are subject to the 

same continuing education requirements established in 

subdivisions 8 and 9 of 18VAC90-20-221. Since compliance 

with the proposed requirements is already expected by the 

Board and enforced, no significant economic effect is 

expected other than improving the clarity of the regulation. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. In June 2016, there were 

217,195 registered nurses and 29,718 licensed practical 

nurses in Virginia. Of this population, 1,013 registered nurses 

and 631 licensed practical nurses had their licenses go 

inactive or lapse and, later, in fiscal year 2016, applied for 

reactivation or reinstatement. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No impact on employment 

is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 

on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No costs or other effects on small 

businesses are expected. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not have an adverse impact on 

small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect other entities. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Nursing concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments clarify that compliance with continuing 

education requirements is required to reactivate an 

inactive license and to reinstate a lapsed license. 

18VAC90-20-225. Inactive licensure. 

A. A registered nurse or licensed practical nurse who holds a 

current, unrestricted license in Virginia may, upon a request 

on the renewal application and submission of the required fee, 

be issued an inactive license. The holder of an inactive license 

shall not be entitled to practice nursing in Virginia or practice 

on a multistate licensure privilege but may use the title 

"registered nurse" or "licensed practical nurse." 

B. Reactivation of an inactive license. 

1. A nurse whose license is inactive may reactivate within 

one renewal period by payment: 

a. Payment of the difference between the inactive 

renewal and the active renewal fee; and 

b. Providing attestation of completion of at least one of 

the learning activities or courses specified in 18VAC90-

20-221 during the two years immediately preceding 

reactivation.  
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2. A nurse whose license has been inactive for more than 

one renewal period may reactivate by: 

a. Submitting an application; 

b. Paying the difference between the inactive renewal 

and the active renewal fee; and 

c. Providing evidence of completion of at least one of the 

learning activities or courses specified in 18VAC90-20-

221 during the two years immediately preceding 

application for reactivation. 

3. The board may waive all or part of the continuing 

education requirement for a nurse who holds a current, 

unrestricted license in another state and who has engaged 

in active practice during the period the Virginia license 

was inactive. 

4. The board may request additional evidence that the 

nurse is prepared to resume practice in a competent 

manner. 

5. The board reserves the right to deny a request for 

reactivation to any licensee who has been determined to 

have committed an act in violation of § 54.1-3007 of the 

Code of Virginia or any provision of this chapter. 

18VAC90-20-230. Reinstatement of lapsed licenses or 

license suspended or revoked. 

A. A nurse whose license has lapsed may be reinstated 

within one renewal period by payment:  

1. Payment of the current renewal fee and the late renewal 

fee; and 

2. Providing attestation of completion of at least one of the 

learning activities or courses specified in 18VAC90-20-

221 during the two years immediately preceding 

reinstatement. 

B. A nurse whose license has lapsed for more than one 

renewal period shall: 

1. File a reinstatement application and pay the 

reinstatement fee;  

2. Provide evidence of completing at least one of the 

learning activities or courses specified in 18VAC90-20-

221 during the two years immediately preceding 

application for reinstatement; and 

3. Submit a criminal history background check as required 

by § 54.1-3005.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. The board may waive all or part of the continuing 

education requirement for a nurse who holds a current, 

unrestricted license in another state and who has engaged in 

active practice during the period the Virginia license was 

lapsed. 

D. A nurse whose license has been suspended or revoked by 

the board may apply for reinstatement by filing a 

reinstatement application, fulfilling requirements for 

continuing competency as required in subsection B of this 

section, and paying the fee for reinstatement after suspension 

or revocation. A nurse whose license has been revoked may 

not apply for reinstatement sooner than three years from entry 

of the order of revocation. 

E. The board may request additional evidence that the nurse 

is prepared to resume practice in a competent manner. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-22; Filed December 7, 2016, 10:44 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physical Therapy (adding 18VAC112-20-

121).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

February 7, 2017 - 9:30 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 

Floor Conference Center, Board Room 4, Henrico, VA 

23233 

Public Comment Deadline: February 24, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4674, FAX (804) 

527-4413, or email ptboard@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Board of Physical Therapy the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. In the 

statutory definition of physical therapy, the practice of dry 

needling is not addressed, but treatment may be interpreted to 

include such practice. 

Purpose: The purpose of the proposed action is to specify the 

qualifications for and limitations of the practice of dry 

needling as performed by physical therapists. For physical 

therapists, dry needling is not an entry level skill for which 

competency has been assured through an accredited 

educational program and national examination. It is an 

advanced procedure that requires additional training, referral 

and direction, and informed consent. Without a regulatory 

standard, the board cannot hold a physical therapist 

accountable for requirements specific to dry needling. 

Therefore, the board has determined that regulations are 

necessary to protect the health and safety of patients who may 

receive dry needling in the course of a physical therapy 

treatment. 

Substance: The proposed action adds a new section on the 

performance of dry needling that includes reference to the 

statutory requirement for referral and direction from a 

medical practitioner, requirements for additional training and 

the content of such training, a requirement of informed 

consent, and the disclosure to patients on the difference 

between acupuncture and dry needling.  

Issues: The board believes the proposed regulation offers 

protection for patients who receive a dry needling procedure 
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during the course of physical therapy treatment. Regulatory 

requirements for referral, training, and informed consent 

provide greater assurance of competency and accountability 

than the guidance document that currently exists. The board 

does not believe there are disadvantages to the public as the 

procedure is limited in scope and relatively safe to perform. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Physical Therapy (the board) proposes to add to its 

main regulation provisions regarding the practice of dry 

needling including referral, training, informed consent, and 

disclosure requirements. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Dry needling is a technique used 

in the practice of physical therapy to treat muscle tension and 

pain by inserting a special type of needle into areas of the 

muscle known as trigger points. According to the board, dry 

needling has been performed by physical therapists in 

Virginia for more than a decade. Currently, physical 

therapists performing the procedure are subject to the board's 

guidance document 112-9 which sets out referral, training, 

informed consent, and disclosure requirements for practice of 

dry needling.
1
 The board proposes to add to this regulation 

provisions that are substantially similar to those in the 

guidance document. Adding these provisions to the regulation 

should not create any significant economic effects as there 

will be no change in practice. One notable exception is that 

54 hours of post professional training is required under the 

guidance while the proposed regulation does not state a 

specific number of training hours. This provision is not being 

added because it is understood that all physical therapy 

educational programs now cover the practice of dry needling. 

According to the board, if a physical therapist who has not 

received education and training in dry needling chooses to 

add it as a modality for his/her patients, there are a variety of 

courses offered.  Most involve multi-day seminars with 

hands-on training and cost approximately $1,000. Thus, under 

the regulations some physical therapists may be able to obtain 

sufficient training at less than the current cost while some 

others may have to incur a larger cost. In any event, practice 

of dry needling is voluntary and by choosing to offer it as a 

modality, a therapist reveals that expected benefits to him or 

her are greater than the expected costs. 

The board also notes that without a regulatory standard, a 

physical therapist cannot be held accountable for 

requirements specific to dry needling. Thus, having the 

requirements in regulations could improve enforcement 

should there be a violation.
2
 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, there are 7,786 

physical therapists licensed in Virginia. Not all of the 

physical therapists perform dry needling. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No impact on employment 

is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 

on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses: 

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Most if not all of the physical 

therapists work in offices that are small business.  

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No 

adverse impact on small businesses is expected. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

________________________________ 
1 This guidance document posted on the Regulatory Town Hall on August 

2010 can be found at: 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:\TownHall\docroot\Guida
nceDocs\223\GDoc_DHP_3650_v2.pdf. 
2 DHP is unaware of any complaints regarding the practice of dry needling by 

physical therapists at least since 2010 when the guidance was adopted. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Physical Therapy concurs with the analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

This action establishes the qualifications for and 

limitations of the performance of dry needling by physical 

therapists, including referral and direction from a medical 

practitioner, training, informed consent, and disclosure to 

patients regarding the difference between acupuncture and 

dry needling. 

18VAC112-20-121. Practice of dry needling. 

A. Dry needling is an invasive procedure that requires 

referral and direction in accordance with § 54.1-3482 of the 

Code of Virginia. Referral should be in writing; if the initial 

referral is received orally, it shall be followed up with a 

written referral. 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs/223/GDoc_DHP_3650_v2.pdf
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs/223/GDoc_DHP_3650_v2.pdf
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B. Dry needling is not an entry level skill but an advanced 

procedure that requires additional training. The training shall 

be specific to dry needling and shall include emergency 

preparedness and response, contraindications and precautions, 

secondary effects or complications, palpation and needle 

techniques, and physiological responses. 

C. Prior to the performance of dry needling, the physical 

therapist shall obtain informed consent from the patient or his 

representative. The informed consent shall include the risks 

and benefits of the technique and shall clearly state that the 

patient is not receiving an acupuncture treatment. The 

informed consent form shall be maintained in the patient 

record. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4433; Filed December 6, 2016, 3:28 p.m.  

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC130-11. Public Participation 

Guidelines (amending 18VAC130-11-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02, 54.1-201, and 54.1-2013 

of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 25, 2017. 

Effective Date: February 13, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 

Estate Appraiser Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (866) 

826-8863, or email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates 

each agency develop, adopt, and use public participation 

guidelines for soliciting the input of interested parties in the 

formation and development of its regulations. The Real Estate 

Appraiser Board is authorized under § 54.1-201 of the Code 

of Virginia to promulgate regulations necessary to assure 

continued competency, to prevent deceptive or misleading 

practices by practitioners, and to effectively administer the 

regulatory system administered by the board.  

Purpose: The change to 18VAC130-11-50 conforms the 

agency's Public Participation Guidelines to the change in the 

Administrative Process Act pursuant to Chapter 795 of the 

2012 Acts of Assembly. Participation by the public in the 

regulatory process is essential to assist the board in the 

promulgation of regulations that will protect the public health 

and safety. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: As the 

change merely conforms the regulation to the underlying 

statute, the rulemaking is not expected to be controversial 

and, therefore, appropriate for the fast-track rulemaking 

process. 

Substance: The change to 18VAC130-11-50 provides that 

interested persons may be accompanied by and represented 

by counsel or other representative when presenting their 

views in the promulgation of any regulatory action. 

Issues: As the change merely conforms the regulation to § 

2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia, the primary advantage is 

to ensure consistency between the law and regulation, which 

should reduce the chance of confusion. There are no 

anticipated disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly,
1
 the 

Real Estate Appraiser Board (Board) proposes to specify in 

this regulation that interested persons shall be afforded an 

opportunity to be accompanied by and represented by counsel 

or other representative when submitting data, views, and 

arguments, either orally or in writing, to the agency.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current Public Participation 

Guidelines state that: "In considering any nonemergency, 

nonexempt regulatory action, the agency shall afford 

interested persons an opportunity to submit data, views, and 

arguments, either orally or in writing, to the agency." The 

Board proposes to append "and (ii) be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other representative."  

Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly added to § 2.2-

4007.02. "Public participation guidelines" of the Code of 

Virginia that interested persons also be afforded an 

opportunity to be accompanied by and represented by counsel 

or other representative. Since the Code of Virginia already 

specifies that interested persons shall be afforded an 

opportunity to be accompanied by and represented by counsel 

or other representative, the Board's proposal to add this 

language to the regulation will not change the law in effect, 

but will be beneficial in that it will inform interested parties 

who read this regulation but not the statute of their legal 

rights concerning representation.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

potentially affects all individuals who comment on pending 

regulatory changes. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

does not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment does not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 

does not affect real estate development costs. 
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Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment does not 

affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment does not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect other entities. 

_______________________________________ 
1 See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121+ful+CHAP0795+hil 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the approval of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia, the 

amendment provides that interested persons submitting 

data, views, and arguments on a regulatory action may be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or another 

representative. 

Part III  

Public Participation Procedures  

18VAC130-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 

action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 

opportunity to (i) submit data, views, and arguments, either 

orally or in writing, to the agency; and (ii) be accompanied by 

and represented by counsel or other representative. Such 

opportunity to comment shall include an online public 

comment forum on the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 

copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 

issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 

fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 

public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 

to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 

submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 

the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 

as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 

(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 

publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 

publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 

of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 

listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 

substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 

he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 

calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 

changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 

Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 

description of public comment to all public commenters on 

the proposed regulation at least five days before final 

adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 

Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4932; Filed November 28, 2016, 12:12 p.m.  

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Veterinary Medicine (amending 

18VAC150-20-10, 18VAC150-20-30 through 18VAC150-

20-140, 18VAC150-20-172 through 18VAC150-20-220; 

adding 18VAC150-20-201).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

February 8, 2017 - 9 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 

Floor Conference Center, Board Room 1, Henrico, VA 

23233 

Public Comment Deadline: February 24, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4468, FAX 

(804) 527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121+ful+CHAP0795+hil
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Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia establishes 

the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards, 

including the Board of Veterinary Medicine, and includes the 

responsibility to promulgate regulations. 

The specific authority of the board relating to practical 

training for students of veterinary medicine is found in 

§ 54.1-3804 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: Issues relating to informed consent, practice by 

preceptees and the accountability of supervising veterinarians, 

drug security, responsibilities of a veterinarian-in-charge, and 

standards for veterinary establishments have been addressed 

during the periodic review and in the proposed amendments 

in this action. Concerns about patient health and safety in 

veterinary care and about the lack of security for prescription 

drugs were the major foci of the review. The goal of the 

planned action is to update and clarify rules in such a manner 

to address the concerns expressed by members of the public 

and the issues identified by the department inspectors and 

board members through the inspection and the disciplinary 

process. 

Substance: Proposed amendments include: 

18VAC150-10. Definitions are added, deleted, or modified to 

update terminology used in regulation. 

18VAC150-70. Requirements for licensure renewal are 

amended to clarify that falsification of compliance with 

continuing education requirements may subject the licensee to 

disciplinary action. 

18VAC150-110. Requirements for licensure by examination 

are reorganized; there are no new requirements proposed. 

18VAC150-115: Specifying the examination acceptable to 

the board and clarifying the board's authority to deny 

licensure for acts that constitute unprofessional conduct. 

18VAC150-120: Requirements for licensure by endorsement 

for a veterinarian are amended to eliminate the need for an 

applicant to meet all the requirements for licensure by 

examination, so the endorsement process will be less onerous. 

Provisions for attestation of reading the laws and regulations 

and having committed no acts that would constitute 

unprofessional conduct are added for consistency with 

licensure by examination and for public safety. Other 

amendments are clarifying. 

18VAC150-121. Requirements for licensure by endorsement 

for veterinary technicians are amended similarly to provisions 

for veterinarians. 

18VAC150-130. Requirements for practical training in a 

preceptorship or externship are amended to (i) specify that the 

supervising veterinarian must be in the operatory when a 

preceptee is performing or assisting in surgery; (ii) that a 

veterinarian must disclose to owners when there is a 

preceptee working in the establishment; and (iii) that the 

supervising veterinarian remains responsible for the care and 

treatment of the patient.  

18VAC150-140. Regulations stating causes for 

unprofessional conduct are amended for clarification of 

certain provisions and to add a cause for action in the failure 

to submit evidence of correction resulting from a violation 

noted in an inspection within 14 days unless an extension has 

been granted. 

18VAC150-172. The delegation of duties to an unlicensed 

assistant is amended to specify that an assistant cannot be 

delegated the induction of sedation or anesthesia, and to 

restrict monitoring of a sedated patient, unless a licensee 

remains on premises. Other amendments clarify current 

provisions. 

18VAC150-173. The text ", preceptee, or extern" is added. 

18VAC150-180. Regulations for veterinary establishments 

are amended to change the categories from full service or 

restricted service to stationery or ambulatory to be more 

descriptive and consistent with current practice. 

18VAC150-181. Requirements for the veterinarian-in-charge 

(VIC) of an establishment are amended to clarify that the VIC 

must be regularly on-site as often as necessary to provide 

oversight for patient safety and compliance with law and 

regulation. A new subsection is proposed to incorporate 

current language about patient records upon sale or closure of 

a practice (in 18VAC150-20-195) and to add a notification to 

the board about the location of records and disposition of 

scheduled drugs. 

18VAC150-185. The requirements for renewal of an 

establishment permit are amended to clarify that practicing on 

an expired permit may subject the permit holder or licensee to 

disciplinary action. 

18VAC150-190: Requirements for drug storage, dispensing, 

destruction, and records are amended to incorporate 

recommendations for strengthening the security and integrity 

of prescription drugs. Amendments are proposed for 

veterinary establishments consistent with other types of 

establishments in which prescription drugs are stored and 

dispensed. Those amendments include (i) clarification that 

only the veterinarian or licensed veterinary technician has 

access to Schedule II through V drugs; (ii) specification about 

the storage in a securely locked cabinet or safe that is not 

easily movable; (iii) provision to allow Schedule II through V 

drugs that are in direct possession of licensed personnel and 

necessary for use during business hours to be maintained 

outside of a locked container; (iv) provision that all general 

and working stock and prescriptions dispensed but not 

delivered are securely stored after business hours; (v) 

allowance for prescriptions that have been dispensed to be 

maintained in a place not accessible to the public and 

deliverable to an owner by an unlicensed person; (vi) more 

specificity about the process to follow when a loss or theft of 

drugs occurs; (vii) more specificity about refrigerated drugs 

and their security; (viii) requirements for inventories and 

maintenance of records, including drug invoices; and (ix) 

provisions for records of drug distribution if a limited or 
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ambulatory practice uses the facilities of another veterinary 

establishment. 

18VAC150-195. Amendments to the recordkeeping 

requirements incorporate provisions related to records that are 

currently found in other sections and a more specific 

requirement for the content of the record. 

18VAC150-20-200. The current terminology for "full-

service" establishments is changed to "stationary" 

establishments to distinguish them from those that are mobile. 

Requirements are reorganized for ease of understanding and 

compliance, and the specific listing of laboratory services is 

eliminated. A subsection is added with requirements to ensure 

that patients receive appropriate care at establishments that 

are open to the public 24 hours a day; a disclosure is required 

if an establishment is not open 24 hours a day and the 

establishment does not have continuous staffing. All 

stationary establishments must provide continuity of care 

when transferring a patient to another facility. 

18VAC150-20-201. The current terminology for "large 

animal" and "small animal" establishments is changed to 

"ambulatory" in the categories of "agricultural or equine" and 

"house call or proceduralist." Requirements for such 

establishments are consistent with current requirements and 

with the services provided. 

18VAC-150-220: Requirements for continuing education for 

equine dental technicians are amended for consistency with 

other regulants of the board in the conditions for granting 

exemptions or exceptions and the timeframe for provision of 

continuing education documentation. 

The board may propose other amendments as a result of 

public comment or in the review of its draft language 

resulting from the periodic review of regulations. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the public are more 

security for drug stocks and more specificity about patient 

records. There are no disadvantages to the public. There are 

no advantages and disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As a 

result of a periodic review of this regulation,
1
 the Board of 

Veterinary Medicine (the Board) proposes to 1) make 

licensure by endorsement less burdensome, 2) strengthen the 

security and integrity of prescription drugs, and 3) clarify a 

number of existing practices and requirements. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. One of the proposed changes 

will make licensure by endorsement less burdensome for both 

veterinarians and technicians. Currently, transcripts and 

national exam scores must be submitted for licensure by 

endorsement. The Board proposes to eliminate the 

requirement to submit those documents. The Board contends 

that the consistency of licensure requirements among all 

states makes it virtually certain that the applicant has met 

those qualifications. Additionally, the minimal competency is 

assured by the requirement that the license is unrestricted, 

that the applicant has been in active practice, and that he or 

she has completed hours of continuing education. In addition, 

provisions for attestation of reading the laws and regulations 

and having committed no acts that would constitute 

unprofessional conduct are proposed for consistency with 

licensure by examination and for public safety. 

The Board also proposes requirements to strengthen the 

security and integrity of prescription drugs. The proposed 

amendments include adding specificity about the storage in a 

securely locked cabinet or safe that is not easily movable, a 

provision to allow working stock of drugs during business 

hours to be maintained outside of a locked container, a 

provision that all general and working stock and prescriptions 

dispensed but not delivered are securely stored after business 

hours, an allowance for prescriptions that have been 

dispensed to be maintained in a place not accessible to the 

public and deliverable to an owner by an unlicensed person, 

more specificity about the process to follow if there is a loss 

or theft of drugs; more specificity about refrigerated drugs 

and their security, new requirements for inventories and 

maintenance of records, including drug invoices; and 

provisions for records of drug distribution if a limited or 

ambulatory practice uses the facilities of another veterinary 

establishment. While some of these requirements are more 

restrictive and some may introduce small administrative 

costs, some of the other changes are less restrictive and would 

benefit veterinary establishments. 

The remaining changes include updating the regulation to 

reflect changes in stationary and ambulatory veterinary 

establishments, clarifying the delegation of duties; clarifying 

the responsibilities of the veterinarian in charge, and updating 

a number of definitions. None of these amendments represent 

a change in practice and consequently are not expected to 

create any significant economic effects other than improving 

the clarity of the regulation. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are 4,042 

veterinarians and 1,930 veterinary technicians currently 

licensed and 22 equine dental technicians registered in 

Virginia. There are 329 veterinary establishments with 

restricted licenses and 770 establishments with full licenses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No impact on employment 

is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 

on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 
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Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Almost all of the veterinary 

establishments would be considered small businesses. The 

effects on affected small businesses are the same as discussed 

above. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No 

adverse impact on small businesses is expected. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

________________________________ 
1 http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1372. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Veterinary Medicine concurs with the analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

As a result of a periodic review, the proposed amendments 

(i) organize requirements for greater clarity, (ii) update 

the descriptions and requirements for veterinary 

establishments consistent with current practices, (iii) 

specify rules in accordance with board interpretation for 

ease of compliance, (iv) adjust requirements for licensure 

by endorsement, and (v) increase accountability and 

security for prescription drugs. 

Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC150-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"AAVSB" means the American Association of Veterinary 

State Boards. 

"Animal shelter" means a facility, other than a private 

residential dwelling and its surrounding grounds, that is used 

to house or contain animals and that is owned, operated, or 

maintained by a nongovernmental entity including, but not 

limited to, a humane society, animal welfare organization, 

society for the prevention of cruelty to animals, or any other 

organization operating for the purpose of finding permanent 

adoptive homes for animals. 

"Automatic emergency lighting" is lighting that is powered 

by battery, generator, or alternate power source other than 

electrical power, is activated automatically by electrical 

power failure, and provides sufficient light to complete 

surgery or to stabilize the animal until surgery can be 

continued or the animal moved to another establishment.  

"AVMA" means the American Veterinary Medical 

Association.  

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine.  

"Companion animal" means any dog, cat, horse, nonhuman 

primate, guinea pig, hamster, rabbit not raised for human food 

or fiber, exotic or native animal, reptile, exotic or native bird, 

or any feral animal or animal under the care, custody or 

ownership of a person or any animal that is bought, sold, 

traded, or bartered by any person. Agricultural animals, game 

species, or any animals regulated under federal law as 

research animals shall not be considered companion animals 

for the purposes of this chapter. 

"CVMA" means the Canadian Veterinary Medical 

Association. 

"DEA" means the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration. 

"Full-service establishment" means a stationary or 

ambulatory facility that provides surgery and encompasses all 

aspects of health care for small or large animals, or both.  

"Immediate and direct supervision" means that the licensed 

veterinarian is immediately available to the licensed 

veterinary technician or assistant, either electronically or in 

person, and provides a specific order based on observation 

and diagnosis of the patient within the last 36 hours.   

"NBVME" means the National Board of Veterinary Medical 

Examiners. 

"Owner" means any person who (i) has a right of property in 

an animal; (ii) keeps or harbors an animal; (iii) has an animal 

in his care; or (iv) acts as a custodian of an animal. 

"Pound" means a facility operated by the state or a locality 

for the purpose of impounding or harboring seized, stray, 

homeless, abandoned, or unwanted animals; or a facility 

operated for the same purpose under a contract with a locality 

or an incorporated society for the prevention of cruelty to 

animals. 

"Preceptee" or "extern" means a student who is enrolled and 

in good standing in an AVMA accredited college of 

veterinary medicine or AVMA accredited veterinary 

technology program and who is receiving practical experience 

under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian or licensed 

veterinary technician. 

"Preceptorship" or "externship" means a formal arrangement 

between an AVMA accredited college of veterinary medicine 

or an AVMA accredited veterinary technology program and a 

veterinarian who is licensed by the board and responsible for 

the practice of the preceptee. A preceptorship or externship 

shall be overseen by faculty of the college or program. 

"Private animal shelter" means a facility that is used to 

house or contain animals and that is owned or operated by an 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1372
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incorporated, nonprofit, and nongovernmental entity, 

including a humane society, animal welfare organization, 

society for the prevention of cruelty to animals, or any other 

organization operating for the purpose of finding permanent 

adoptive homes for animals. 

"Professional judgment" includes any decision or conduct in 

the practice of veterinary medicine, as defined by § 54.1-3800 

of the Code of Virginia.  

"Public animal shelter" means a facility operated by the 

Commonwealth, or any locality, for the purpose of 

impounding or sheltering seized, stray, homeless, abandoned, 

unwanted, or surrendered animals, or a facility operated for 

the same purpose under a contract with any locality. 

"Restricted service establishment" means a stationary or 

ambulatory facility which does not meet the requirements of a 

full-service establishment. 

"Specialist" means a veterinarian who has been awarded and 

has maintained the status of diplomate of a specialty 

organization recognized by the American Board of Veterinary 

Specialties of the American Veterinary Medical Association, 

or any other organization approved by the board.  

"Surgery" means treatment through revision, destruction, 

incision or other structural alteration of animal tissue. Surgery 

does not include dental extractions of single-rooted teeth or 

skin closures performed by a licensed veterinary technician 

upon a diagnosis and pursuant to direct orders from a 

veterinarian. 

"Veterinarian in charge" means a veterinarian who holds an 

active license in Virginia and who is responsible for 

maintaining a veterinary establishment within the standards 

set by this chapter, for complying with federal and state laws 

and regulations, and for notifying the board of the 

establishment's closure. 

"Veterinary establishment" means any fixed stationary or 

mobile ambulatory practice, veterinary hospital, animal 

hospital, or premises wherein or out of which veterinary 

medicine is being conducted.  

"Veterinary technician" means a person licensed by the 

board as required by § 54.1-3805 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC150-20-30. Posting of licenses; accuracy of address. 

A. All licenses, and registrations and permits issued by the 

board shall be posted in a place conspicuous to the public at 

the establishment where veterinary services are being 

provided or available for inspection at the location where an 

equine dental technician is working. Licensees who do relief 

or temporary work in an establishment shall carry a license 

with them or post it at the establishment. Ambulatory 

veterinary practices that do not have an office accessible to 

the public shall carry their licenses and permits registrations 

in their vehicles. 

B. It shall be the duty and responsibility of each licensee, 

registrant, and holder of a registration permit to operate a 

veterinary establishment to keep the board apprised at all 

times of his current address of record and the public address, 

if different from the address of record. All notices required by 

law or by this chapter to be mailed to any veterinarian, 

veterinary technician, registered equine dental technician, or 

holder of a permit registration to operate a veterinary 

establishment, shall be validly given when mailed to the 

address of record furnished to the board pursuant to this 

regulation. All address changes shall be furnished to the 

board within 30 days of such change. 

18VAC150-20-70. Licensure renewal requirements. 

A. Every person licensed by the board shall, by January 1 of 

every year, submit to the board a completed renewal 

application and pay to the board a renewal fee as prescribed 

in 18VAC150-20-100. Failure to renew shall cause the 

license to lapse and become invalid, and practice with a 

lapsed license may subject the licensees licensee to 

disciplinary action by the board. Failure to receive a renewal 

notice does not relieve the licensee of his responsibility to 

renew and maintain a current license. 

B. Veterinarians shall be required to have completed a 

minimum of 15 hours, and veterinary technicians shall be 

required to have completed a minimum of eight hours, of 

approved continuing education for each annual renewal of 

licensure. Continuing education credits or hours may not be 

transferred or credited to another year. 

1. Approved continuing education credit shall be given for 

courses or programs related to the treatment and care of 

patients and shall be clinical courses in veterinary medicine 

or veterinary technology or courses that enhance patient 

safety, such as medical recordkeeping or compliance with 

requirements of the Occupational Health and Safety 

Administration (OSHA). 

2. An approved continuing education course or program 

shall be sponsored by one of the following:  

a. The AVMA or its constituent and component/branch 

associations, specialty organizations, and board certified 

specialists in good standing within their specialty board;  

b. Colleges of veterinary medicine approved by the 

AVMA Council on Education;  

c. International, national, or regional conferences of 

veterinary medicine;  

d. Academies or species-specific interest groups of 

veterinary medicine;  

e. State associations of veterinary technicians;  

f. North American Veterinary Technicians Association;  

g. Community colleges with an approved program in 

veterinary technology;  

h. State or federal government agencies;  

i. American Animal Hospital Association (AAHA) or its 

constituent and component/branch associations;  
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j. Journals or veterinary information networks recognized 

by the board as providing education in veterinary 

medicine or veterinary technology; or  

k. An organization or entity approved by the Registry of 

Approved Continuing Education of the American 

Association of Veterinary State Boards AAVSB.  

3. A licensee is exempt from completing continuing 

education requirements and considered in compliance on 

the first renewal date following his initial licensure by 

examination.  

4. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially 

declared disasters.  

5. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up 

to one year for the completion of continuing education 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior 

to the renewal date. Such an extension shall not relieve the 

licensee of the continuing education requirement.  

6. Licensees are required to attest to compliance with 

continuing education requirements on their annual license 

renewal and are required to maintain original documents 

verifying the date and subject of the program or course, the 

number of continuing education hours or credits, and 

certification from an approved sponsor. Original 

documents must be maintained for a period of two years 

following renewal. The board shall periodically conduct a 

random audit to determine compliance. Practitioners 

selected for the audit shall provide all supporting 

documentation within 10 14 days of receiving notification 

of the audit unless an extension is granted by the board.  

7. Continuing education hours required by disciplinary 

order shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements.  

8. Falsifying the attestation of compliance with continuing 

education on a renewal form or failure to comply with 

continuing education requirements may subject a licensee 

to disciplinary action by the board, consistent with § 54.1-

3807 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. A licensee who has requested that his license be placed 

on inactive status is not authorized to perform acts that are 

considered the practice of veterinary medicine or veterinary 

technology and, therefore, shall not be required to have 

continuing education for annual renewal. To reactivate a 

license, the licensee is required to submit evidence of 

completion of continuing education hours as required by 

§ 54.1-3805.2 of the Code of Virginia and this section equal 

to the number of years in which the license has not been 

active for a maximum of two years.  

18VAC150-20-75. Expired license; reinstatement; practice 

with an expired or lapsed license not permitted.  

A. A license may be renewed up to one year after the 

expiration date, provided a late fee as prescribed in 

18VAC150-20-100 is paid in addition to the required renewal 

fee. A license shall automatically lapse if the licensee fails to 

renew by the expiration date. The practice of veterinary 

medicine without a current, active license is unlawful and 

may subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the board. 

B. Reinstatement of licenses expired for more than one year 

shall be at the discretion of the board. To reinstate a license, 

the licensee shall pay the reinstatement fee as prescribed in 

18VAC150-20-100 and submit evidence of completion of 

continuing education hours as required by § 54.1-3805.2 of 

the Code of Virginia and 18VAC150-20-70 equal to the 

number of years in which the license has been expired, for a 

maximum of two years. The board may require additional 

documentation of clinical competency and professional 

activities.  

18VAC150-20-100. Fees. 

The following fees shall be in effect: 

Veterinary application for licensure $200 

Veterinary license renewal (active) $175 

Veterinary license renewal (inactive) $85 

Veterinary reinstatement of expired 

license 

$255 

Veterinary license late renewal $60 

Veterinarian reinstatement after 

disciplinary action 

$450 

Veterinary technician application for 

licensure 

$65 

Veterinary technician license renewal $50 

Veterinary technician license renewal 

(inactive) 

$25 

Veterinary technician license late 

renewal 

$20 

Veterinary technician reinstatement of 

expired license 

$95 

Veterinary technician reinstatement after 

disciplinary action 

$125 

Equine dental technician initial 

registration 

$100 

Equine dental technician registration 

renewal 

$70 

Equine dental technician late renewal $25 

Equine dental technician reinstatement $120 

Initial veterinary establishment permit 

registration 

$300 

Veterinary establishment renewal $200 
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Veterinary establishment late renewal $75 

Veterinary establishment reinstatement $75 

Veterinary establishment reinspection $300 

Veterinary establishment -- change of 

location 

$300 

Veterinary establishment -- change of 

veterinarian-in-charge 

$40 

Duplicate license $15 

Duplicate wall certificate $25 

Returned check $35 

Licensure verification to another 

jurisdiction 

$25 

Part II  

Licensure for Veterinarians and Veterinary Technicians  

18VAC150-20-110. Requirements for licensure by 

examination as a veterinarian.  

A. The applicant, in order to be licensed by the board to 

practice veterinary medicine, shall:  

1. Have received a degree in veterinary medicine from a 

college or school of veterinary medicine accredited by the 

AVMA or have fulfilled the requirements of the 

Educational Commission of Foreign Veterinary Graduates 

(ECFVG) of the AVMA or any other substantially 

equivalent credentialing body as determined by the board., 

as verified by an official transcript from the applicant's 

college or school, indicating completion of the veterinary 

degree; and 

2. Have passed the North American Veterinary License 

Examination (since the fall of 2000) or the National Board 

Examination and the Clinical Competency Test (prior to 

the fall of 2000) of the NBVME or any other substantially 

equivalent national examination as approved by the board 

with a score acceptable to the board. 

3. In lieu of a degree from an accredited college or school, 

an applicant may submit verification that he has fulfilled 

the requirements of the Educational Commission of 

Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) of the AVMA or 

the Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education 

Equivalence (PAVE) of the AAVSB or any other 

substantially equivalent credentialing body as determined 

by the board. 

2. File the following documents with the board: B. All 

applicants shall also: 

a. A 1. Submit the application fee specified in 18VAC150-

20-100 and a complete and notarized application on a form 

obtained from the board;  

b. An official copy, indicating veterinary degree, of the 

applicant's college or school transcript;  

c. Certification of a full and unrestricted 2. Provide 

verification that any license to practice veterinary medicine 

by each board from which the applicant holds a license. 

issued by a board of veterinary medicine in another state or 

United States jurisdiction is in good standing; 

3. Pass the North American Veterinary License 

Examination or the National Board Examination and the 

Clinical Competency Test approved by the American 

Association of Veterinary State Boards or any other 

substantially equivalent national examination as approved 

by the board with a score acceptable to the board.  

4. 3. Sign a statement attesting that the applicant has read, 

understands, and will abide by the statutes and regulations 

governing veterinary practice in Virginia.; and  

5. 4. Have committed no acts which that would constitute a 

violation of § 54.1-3807 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. C. If the application for licensure has not been 

successfully completed within one year from the date of 

initial submission, a new application and fee shall be 

required.  

18VAC150-20-115. Requirements for licensure by 

examination as a veterinary technician. 

A. The applicant, in order to be licensed by the board as a 

veterinary technician, shall: 

1. Have received a degree in veterinary technology from a 

college or school accredited by the AVMA or the CVMA. 

2. Have filed with the board the following documents: 

a. A complete and notarized application on a form 

obtained from the board; 

b. An official copy, indicating a veterinary technology 

degree, of the applicant's college or school transcript; and 

c. Certification Verification that the applicant is in good 

standing by each board in another state or United States 

jurisdiction from which the applicant holds a license, 

certification, or registration to practice veterinary 

technology.  

3. Pass a Have passed the Veterinary Technician National 

Examination approved by the AAVSB or any other board-

approved, national board examination for veterinary 

technology with a score acceptable to the board.  

4. Sign a statement attesting that the applicant has read, 

understands, and will abide by the statutes and regulations 

governing veterinary practice in Virginia.  

5. Have committed no acts that would constitute a violation 

of § 54.1-3807 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The application for licensure shall be valid for a period of 

one year after the date of initial submission, after which time 

a new application and fee shall be required.  
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18VAC150-20-120. Requirements for licensure by 

endorsement as a veterinarian. 

A. The board may, in its discretion, grant a license by 

endorsement to an applicant who is licensed to practice 

veterinary medicine in another state, the District of Columbia, 

or possessions or territories of the United States, provided 

that the applicant:  

1. All licenses are in good standing. Holds at least one 

current, unrestricted license in another jurisdiction of the 

United States and is not a respondent in any pending or 

unresolved board action in any jurisdiction;  

2. The applicant has been Provides documentation of 

having been regularly engaged in clinical practice for at 

least two of the past four years immediately preceding 

application; and  

3. The applicant has met all applicable requirements of 

18VAC150-20-110, except foreign-trained veterinarians 

who have attained specialty recognition by a board 

recognized by the AVMA are exempt from the 

requirements of ECFVG or any other substantially 

equivalent credentialing body as determined by the board. 

Provides documentation of completion of at least 30 hours 

of continuing education requirements during the preceding 

four years;  

4. Signs a statement attesting that the applicant has read, 

understands, and will abide by the statutes and regulations 

governing veterinary practice in Virginia; and  

5. Has committed no acts that would constitute a violation 

of § 54.1-3807 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. Provided that the applicant has met the requirements of 

subsection A of this section, the board may, in its discretion, 

waive the requirement that the applicant pass the national 

board exam or the clinical competency test, or both.  

18VAC150-20-121. Requirements for licensure by 

endorsement for veterinary technicians. 

In its discretion, the board may grant a license by 

endorsement to an applicant who is licensed, certified or 

registered to practice as a veterinary technician in another 

state, the District of Columbia, or possessions or territories of 

the United States, provided that the applicant:  

1. All licenses, certificates or registrations are in good 

standing Holds at least one current and unrestricted license, 

certification, or registration in another jurisdiction of the 

United States and that he is not a respondent in any 

pending or unresolved board action in any jurisdiction;  

2. The applicant has been Provides documentation of 

having been regularly engaged in clinical practice as a 

licensed, certified, or registered veterinary technician for at 

least two of the past four years immediately preceding 

application; and  

3. The applicant has Has received a degree in veterinary 

technology from a college or school accredited by the 

AVMA or the CVMA or has passed a the Veterinary 

Technician National Examination approved by the AAVSB 

or any other board-approved national board examination 

for veterinary technology with a score acceptable to the 

board.; 

4. Provides documentation of completion of at least 12 

hours of continuing education requirements during the 

preceding four years; 

5. Signs a statement attesting that the applicant has read, 

understands, and will abide by the statutes and regulations 

governing veterinary practice in Virginia; and 

6. Has committed no acts that would constitute a violation 

of § 54.1-3807 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC150-20-130. Requirements for practical training in 

a preceptorship or externship. 

A. The practical training and employment of qualified 

students of veterinary medicine or veterinary technology shall 

be governed and controlled as follows: 

1. A veterinary student who is duly enrolled and in good 

standing in a veterinary college or school accredited or 

approved by the AVMA may be engaged in a 

preceptorship or externship. A veterinary preceptee or 

extern may perform duties that constitute the practice of 

veterinary medicine for which he has received adequate 

instruction by the college or school and only under the on-

premises supervision of a licensed veterinarian. 

2. A veterinary technician student who is duly enrolled and 

in good standing in a veterinary technology program 

accredited or approved by the AVMA may be engaged in a 

preceptorship or externship. A veterinary technician 

preceptee or extern may perform duties that constitute the 

practice of veterinary technology for which he has received 

adequate instruction by the program and only under the on-

premises supervision of a licensed veterinarian or licensed 

veterinary technician. 

B. Whenever a veterinary preceptee or extern is performing 

surgery on a patient, either assisted or unassisted, the 

supervising veterinarian shall be in the operatory during the 

procedure. Prior to allowing a preceptee or extern in 

veterinary medicine to perform surgery on a patient 

unassisted by a licensed veterinarian, a licensed veterinarian 

shall receive written approval from the owner.  

C. When there is a preceptee or extern practicing in the 

establishment, the supervising veterinarian shall disclose such 

practice to owners.  The disclosure shall be by signage clearly 

visible to the public or by inclusion on an informed consent 

form.   

D. A veterinarian or veterinary technician who supervises a 

preceptee or extern remains responsible for the care and 

treatment of the patient. 
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18VAC150-20-135. Voluntary practice by out-of-state 

practitioners.  

Any veterinarian who seeks registration to practice on a 

voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly supported all 

volunteer, nonprofit organization that sponsors the provision 

of health care to populations of underserved people shall:  

1. File a complete application for registration on a form 

provided by the board at least five business days prior to 

engaging in such practice. An incomplete application will 

not be considered;  

2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in 

each state in which he has held a license and a copy of 

every current license;  

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates 

and location of the voluntary provision of services;  

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and  

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of 

the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with 

provisions of subdivision 4 of § 54.1-3801 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

Part III  

Unprofessional Conduct  

18VAC150-20-140. Unprofessional conduct. 

Unprofessional conduct as referenced in subdivision 5 of 

§ 54.1-3807 of the Code of Virginia shall include the 

following:  

1. Representing conflicting interests except by express 

consent of all concerned given after a full disclosure of the 

facts. Acceptance of a fee from both the buyer and the 

seller is prima facie evidence of a conflict of interest. 

2. Practicing veterinary medicine or equine dentistry where 

an unlicensed person has the authority to control the 

professional judgment of the licensed veterinarian or the 

equine dental technician. 

3. Issuing a certificate of health unless he shall know of his 

own knowledge by actual inspection and appropriate tests 

of the animals that the animals meet the requirements for 

the issuance of such certificate on the day issued. 

4. Revealing confidences gained in the course of providing 

veterinary services to a client, unless required by law or 

necessary to protect the health, safety, or welfare of other 

persons or animals. 

5. Advertising in a manner which that is false, deceptive, 

or misleading or which that makes subjective claims of 

superiority. 

6. Violating any state law, federal law, or board regulation 

pertaining to the practice of veterinary medicine, veterinary 

technology or equine dentistry. 

7. Practicing veterinary medicine or as an equine dental 

technician in such a manner as to endanger the health and 

welfare of his patients or the public, or being unable to 

practice veterinary medicine or as an equine dental 

technician with reasonable skill and safety. 

8. Performing surgery on animals in an unregistered 

veterinary establishment or not in accordance with the 

establishment permit registration or with accepted 

standards of practice. 

9. Refusing the board or its agent the right to inspect an 

establishment at reasonable hours. 

10. Allowing unlicensed persons to perform acts restricted 

to the practice of veterinary medicine, veterinary 

technology, or an equine dental technician including any 

invasive procedure on a patient or delegation of tasks to 

persons who are not properly trained or authorized to 

perform such tasks. 

11. Failing to provide immediate and direct supervision to 

a licensed veterinary technician or an assistant in his 

employ. 

12. Refusing to release a copy of a valid prescription upon 

request from a client an owner, unless there are medical 

reasons documented in the patient record and the 

veterinarian would not dispense the medication from his 

own practice. 

13. Misrepresenting or falsifying information on an 

application or renewal form. 

14. Failing to report suspected animal cruelty to the 

appropriate authorities. 

15. Failing to release a copy of patient records when 

requested by the owner; a law-enforcement entity; or a 

federal, state, or local health regulatory agency. 

16. Committing an act constituting fraud, deceit, or 

misrepresentation in dealing with the board or in the 

veterinarian-client-patient veterinarian-owner-patient 

relationship, or with the public. 

17. Representing oneself as a "specialist" without meeting 

the definition set forth in 18VAC150-20-10 or using the 

words "specialist" or "specialty" in the name of a 

veterinary establishment unless there is a veterinarian on 

staff who meets the definition of a "specialist." 

18. Failure to submit evidence of correction resulting from 

a violation noted in an inspection or reported by another 

agency within 14 days, unless an extension is granted by 

the board. 

18VAC150-20-172. Delegation of duties. 

A. A licensed veterinarian may delegate the administration 

(including by injection) of Schedule VI drugs to a properly 

trained assistant under his immediate and direct supervision. 

The prescribing veterinarian has a specific duty and 

responsibility to determine that the assistant has had adequate 

training to safely administer the drug in a manner prescribed. 

B. Injections involving anesthetic or chemotherapy drugs, 

subgingival scaling, or the placement of intravenous catheters 

shall not be delegated to an assistant. An assistant shall also 
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not be delegated the induction of sedation or anesthesia by 

any means. The monitoring of a sedated or anesthetized 

patient may be delegated to an assistant, provided the patient 

is no longer intubated and provided a veterinarian or licensed 

veterinary technician remains on premises until the patient is 

fully recovered. 

B. Additional C. The following tasks that may be delegated 

by a licensed veterinarian to a properly trained assistant 

include but are not limited to the following: 

1. Grooming; 

2. Feeding; 

3. Cleaning; 

4. Restraining; 

5. Assisting in radiology; 

6. Setting up diagnostic tests; 

7. Prepping for surgery Clipping and scrubbing in 

preparation for surgery; 

8. Dental polishing and scaling of teeth above the gum line 

(supragingival); 

9. Drawing blood samples; or 

10. Filling of Schedule VI prescriptions under the direction 

of a veterinarian licensed in Virginia. 

C. D. A licensed veterinarian may delegate duties 

electronically, verbally, or in writing to appropriate veterinary 

personnel provided the veterinarian has physically examined 

the patient within the previous 36 hours. 

D. E. Massage therapy or, physical therapy, or laser therapy 

may be delegated by a veterinarian to persons qualified by 

training and experience by an order from the veterinarian.  

E. F. The veterinarian remains responsible for the duties 

being delegated and remains responsible for the health and 

safety of the animal. 

18VAC150-20-173. Informed consent for surgery. 

A. Before surgery is performed, informed consent shall be 

obtained from the owner and documented in the patient 

record. Veterinarians shall inform an owner of the risks, 

benefits, and alternatives of the recommended surgery that a 

reasonably prudent practitioner in similar practice in Virginia 

would tell an owner.  

B. An exception to the requirement for consent prior to 

performance of surgery may be made in an emergency 

situation when a delay in obtaining consent would likely 

result in imminent harm to the patient.   

C. If a veterinary student, preceptee, or extern is to perform 

the surgery, the informed consent shall include that 

information. 

Part V  

Veterinary Establishments  

18VAC150-20-180. Requirements to be registered as a 

veterinary establishment. 

A. Every veterinary establishment shall apply for 

registration on a form provided by the board and may be 

issued a permit registration as a full-service or restricted 

service stationary or ambulatory establishment. Every 

veterinary establishment shall have a veterinarian-in-charge 

registered with the board in order to operate. 

1. Veterinary medicine may only be practiced out of a 

registered establishment except in emergency situations or 

in limited specialized practices as provided in 18VAC150-

20-171. The injection of a microchip for identification 

purposes shall only be performed in a veterinary 

establishment, except personnel of public or private animal 

shelters or pounds may inject animals while in their 

possession. 

2. Applications for permits registration must be made to 

the board 45 days in advance of opening or changing the 

location of the establishment or requesting a change in the 

establishment category to a full-service establishment 

listed on the registration. 

3. Any addition or renovation of a stationary establishment 

or an ambulatory establishment that involves changes to 

the structure or composition of a surgery room shall 

require reinspection by the board and payment of the 

required fee prior to use. 

B. A veterinary establishment will be registered by the board 

when: 

1. It is inspected by the board and is found to meet the 

standards set forth by 18VAC150-20-190 and 18VAC150-

20-200 or 18VAC150-20-201 where applicable. If, during 

a new or routine inspection, violations or deficiencies are 

found necessitating a reinspection, the prescribed 

reinspection fee will be levied. Failure to pay the fee shall 

be deemed unprofessional conduct and, until paid, the 

establishment shall be deemed to be unregistered. 

2. A veterinarian currently licensed by and in good 

standing with the board is registered with the board in 

writing as veterinarian-in-charge and has paid ensures that 

the establishment registration fee has been paid. 

18VAC150-20-181. Requirements for veterinarian-in-

charge.  

A. The veterinarian-in-charge of a veterinary establishment 

is responsible for:  

1. Regularly being on site on a schedule of no less than 

monthly and providing as necessary to provide routine 

oversight to the veterinary establishment for patient safety 

and compliance with law and regulation.  

2. Maintaining the facility within the standards set forth by 

this chapter.  
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3. Performing the biennial controlled substance inventory 

and ensuring compliance at the facility with any federal or 

state law relating to controlled substances as defined in § 

54.1-3404 of the Code of Virginia. The performance of the 

biennial inventory may be delegated to another licensee, 

provided the veterinarian-in-charge signs the inventory and 

remains responsible for its content and accuracy. 

4. Notifying the board in writing of the closure of the 

permitted registered facility 10 days prior to closure.  

5. Notifying the board immediately if no longer acting as 

the veterinarian-in-charge.  

6. Ensuring the establishment maintains a current and valid 

permit registration issued by the board. 

B. Upon any change in veterinarian-in-charge, these 

procedures shall be followed:  

1. The veterinarian-in-charge registered with the board 

remains responsible for the establishment and the stock of 

controlled substances until a new veterinarian-in-charge is 

registered or for five days, whichever occurs sooner.  

2. An application for a new permit registration, naming the 

new veterinarian-in-charge, shall be made five days prior 

to the change of the veterinarian-in-charge. If no prior 

notice was given by the previous veterinarian-in-charge, an 

application for a new permit registration naming a new 

veterinarian-in-charge shall be filed as soon as possible, 

but no more than 10 days, after the change.  

3. The previous establishment permit registration is void 

on the date of the change of veterinarian-in-charge and 

shall be returned by the former veterinarian-in-charge to 

the board five days following the date of change.  

4. Prior to the opening of the business, on the date of the 

change of veterinarian-in-charge, the new veterinarian-in-

charge shall take a complete inventory of all Schedule II-V 

II through V drugs on hand. He shall date and sign the 

inventory and maintain it on premises for two three years. 

That inventory may be designated as the official biennial 

controlled substance inventory.  

C. Prior to the sale or closure of a veterinary establishment 

involving the transfer of patient records to another location, 

the veterinarian-in-charge shall: 

1. Follow the requirements for transfer of patient records in 

accordance with § 54.1-2405 of the Code of Virginia; and 

2. Provide to the board information about the location of 

patient records and the disposition of all scheduled drugs. 

18VAC150-20-185. Renewal of veterinary establishment 

permits registrations.  

A. Every veterinary establishment shall be required to renew 

the registration permit by January 1 of each year and pay to 

the board a registration fee as prescribed in 18VAC150-20-

100.  

B. Failure to renew the establishment permit registration by 

January 1 of each year shall cause the permit registration to 

expire and become invalid. Practicing veterinary medicine in 

an establishment with an expired registration may subject a 

licensee or registration holder to disciplinary action by the 

board. The permit registration may be reinstated without 

reinspection within 30 days of expiration, provided the board 

receives a properly executed renewal application, renewal fee, 

and a late fee as prescribed in 18VAC150-20-100.  

C. Reinstatement of an expired permit registration after 30 

days shall be at the discretion of the board and contingent 

upon a reinspection and payment of the late fee, the 

reinspection fee, the renewal fee and the veterinary 

establishment permit registration reinstatement fee.  

18VAC150-20-190. Requirements for drug storage, 

dispensing, destruction, and records for all 

establishments, full service and restricted.  

A. All drugs shall be maintained, administered, dispensed, 

prescribed and destroyed in compliance with state and federal 

laws, which include § 54.1-3303 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), applicable parts of the federal Food, Drug, and 

Cosmetic Control Act (21 USC § 301 et seq.), the 

Prescription Drug Marketing Act (21 USC § 301 et seq.), and 

the Controlled Substances Act (21 USC § 801 et seq.), as well 

as applicable portions of Title 21 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations. 

B. All repackaged tablets and capsules dispensed for 

companion animals shall be in approved safety closure 

containers, except safety caps shall not be required when any 

person who requests that the medication not have a safety 

cap, or in such cases in which the medication is of such form 

or size that it cannot be reasonably dispensed in such 

containers (e.g., topical medications, ophthalmic, or otic). A 

client An owner request for nonsafety packaging shall be 

documented in the patient record. 

C. All drugs dispensed for companion animals shall be 

labeled with the following:  

1. Name and address of the facility;  

2. Name First and last name of client owner;  

3. Animal identification and species;  

4. Date dispensed;  

5. Directions for use;  

6. Name, strength (if more than one dosage form exists), 

and quantity of the drug; and  

7. Name of the prescribing veterinarian.  

D. All drugs shall be maintained veterinary establishments 

shall maintain drugs in a secured secure manner with 

precaution taken to prevent theft or diversion. Only the 

veterinarian or licensed veterinary technician shall have 

access to Schedule II through V drugs. 

1. All Schedule II through V drugs shall be maintained 

under lock at all times, with access to the veterinarian or 

veterinary technician only, but not to any unlicensed 
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personnel In a stationary establishment, the general stock 

of Schedule II through V drugs shall be stored in a securely 

locked cabinet or safe that is not easily movable.  

2. The establishment may also have a working stock of 

Schedule II through V drugs that shall be kept in (i) a 

securely locked container, cabinet, or safe when not in use 

or (ii) direct possession of a veterinarian or veterinary 

technician. A working stock shall consist of only those 

drugs that are necessary for use during a normal business 

day or 24 hours, whichever is less.  

3. Whenever the establishment is closed, all general and 

working stock of Schedule II through V drugs and any 

dispensed prescriptions that were not delivered during 

normal business hours shall be securely stored as required 

for the general stock.  

4. Prescriptions that have been dispensed and prepared for 

delivery shall be maintained under lock or in an area that is 

not readily accessible to the public and may be delivered to 

an owner by an unlicensed person, as designated by the 

veterinarian. 

2. 5. Whenever a veterinarian discovers a theft or any 

unusual loss of Schedule II, III, IV, or through V drugs is 

discovered, he the veterinarian-in-charge, or in his absence, 

his designee, shall immediately report such theft or loss to 

the Board of Veterinary Medicine and the Board of 

Pharmacy and to the U.S. Drug Enforcement 

Administration DEA. The report to the boards shall be in 

writing and sent electronically or by regular mail. The 

report to the DEA shall be in accordance with 21 CFR 

1301.76(b). If the veterinarian-in-charge is unable to 

determine the exact kind and quantity of the drug loss, he 

shall immediately take a complete inventory of all 

Schedule II through V drugs. 

E. Schedule II, III, IV and through V drugs shall be 

destroyed by (i) transferring the drugs to another entity 

authorized to possess or provide for proper disposal of such 

drugs or (ii) destroying the drugs by burning in an incinerator 

that is in compliance with applicable local, state, and federal 

laws and regulations. If Schedule II through V drugs are to be 

destroyed, a DEA drug destruction form shall be fully 

completed and used as the record of all drugs to be destroyed. 

A copy of the destruction form shall be retained at the 

veterinarian practice site with other inventory records.  

F. The drug storage area shall have appropriate provision for 

temperature control for all drugs and biologics, including. If 

drugs requiring refrigeration are maintained at the facility, 

they shall be kept in a refrigerator with the interior 

thermometer maintained between 36°F and 46°F. If a 

refrigerated drug is in Schedule II through V, the drug shall 

be kept in a locked container secured to the refrigerator, or 

the refrigerator shall be locked. Drugs stored at room 

temperature shall be maintained between 59°F and 86°F.  

G. The stock of drugs shall be reviewed frequently, and 

expired drugs shall be removed from the working stock of 

drugs at the expiration date and shall not be administered or 

dispensed.  

G. H. A distribution record shall be maintained in addition 

to the patient's record, in chronological order, for the 

administration and dispensing of all Schedule II-V II through 

V drugs. 

This record is to be maintained for a period of two three 

years from the date of transaction. This record shall include 

the following:  

1. Date of transaction;  

2. Drug name, strength, and the amount dispensed, 

administered, and wasted;  

3. Client Owner and animal identification; and  

4. Identification of the veterinarian authorizing the 

administration or dispensing of the drug.  

H. I. Original invoices for all Schedule II, III, IV and 

through V drugs received shall be maintained in 

chronological order on the premises where the stock of drugs 

is held, and the actual date of receipt is shall be noted. 

Invoices for Schedule II drugs shall be maintained separately 

from other records. All drug records shall be maintained for a 

period of two three years from the date of transaction. 

I. J. A complete and accurate inventory of all Schedule II, 

III, IV and through V drugs shall be taken, dated, and signed 

on any date that is within two years of the previous biennial 

inventory. Drug strength must be specified. This inventory 

shall indicate if it was made at the opening or closing of 

business and shall be maintained on the premises where the 

drugs are held for two three years from the date of taking the 

inventory.  

K. Inventories and records, including original invoices, of 

Schedule II drugs shall be maintained separately from all 

other records, and the establishment shall maintain a 

continuous inventory of all Schedule II drugs received, 

administered, or dispensed, with reconciliation at least 

monthly. Reconciliation requires an explanation noted on the 

inventory for any difference between the actual physical 

count and the theoretical count indicated by the distribution 

record. A continuous inventory shall accurately indicate the 

physical count of each Schedule II drug in the general and 

working stocks at the time of performing the inventory.  

J. L. Veterinary establishments in which bulk reconstitution 

of injectable, bulk compounding, or the prepackaging of 

drugs is performed shall maintain adequate control records 

for a period of one year or until the expiration, whichever is 

greater. The records shall show the name of the drug(s) drugs 

used; strength, if any; date repackaged; quantity prepared; 

initials of the veterinarian verifying the process; the assigned 

lot or control number; the manufacturer's or distributor's name 

and lot or control number; and an expiration date. 

M. If a limited stationary or ambulatory practice uses the 

facilities of another veterinary establishment, the drug 

distribution log shall clearly reveal whose Schedule II 
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through V drugs were used. If the establishment's drug stock 

is used, the distribution record shall show that the procedure 

was performed by a visiting veterinarian who has the patient 

record. If the visiting veterinarian uses his own stock of 

drugs, he shall make entries in his own distribution record 

and in the patient record and shall leave a copy of the patient 

record at the other establishment. 

18VAC150-20-195. Recordkeeping. 

A. A legible, daily record of each patient treated shall be 

maintained by the veterinarian at the permitted veterinary 

establishment and shall include pertinent medical data such as 

drugs administered, dispensed or prescribed, and all relevant 

medical and surgical procedures performed. Records should 

contain at a minimum: 

1. Name of the patient and the owner; 

2. Identification of the treating veterinarian and of the 

person making the entry (Initials may be used if a master 

list that identifies the initials is maintained.); 

1. 3. Presenting complaint/reason for contact; 

4. Date of contact; 

2. 5. Physical examination findings, if appropriate; 

3. 6. Tests and diagnostics performed and results; 

4. 7. Procedures performed/treatment given and results; 

and 

5. 8. Drugs (and their dosages) administered, dispensed, or 

prescribed, including quantity, strength and dosage, and 

route of administration. For vaccines, identification of the 

lot and manufacturer shall be maintained;  

9. Radiographs or digital images clearly labeled with 

identification of the establishment, the patient name, date 

taken, and anatomic specificity. If an original radiograph or 

digital image is transferred to another establishment or 

released to the owner, a record of this transfer or release 

shall be maintained on or with the patient's records; and 

10. Any specific instructions for discharge or referrals to 

other practitioners. 

B. Individual records An individual record shall be 

maintained on each patient, except that records for economic 

animals or litters of companion animals under the age of four 

months may be maintained on a per client owner basis. Client 

Patient records, including radiographs or digital images, shall 

be kept for a period of three years following the last office 

visit or discharge of such animal from a veterinary 

establishment.  

C. An animal identification system must be used by the 

establishment.  

D. Upon the sale or closure of a veterinary establishment 

involving the transfer of patient records to another location, 

the veterinarian shall follow the requirements for transfer of 

patient records in accordance with § 54.1-2405 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

E. C. An initial rabies certification for an animal receiving a 

primary rabies vaccination shall clearly display the following 

information: "An animal is not considered immunized for at 

least 28 days after the initial or primary vaccination is 

administered." 

18VAC150-20-200. Standards for stationary veterinary 

establishments.  

A. Full-service Stationary establishments. A full-service 

stationary establishment shall provide surgery and encompass 

all aspects of health care for small or large animals, or both. 

All full-service stationary establishments shall meet the 

requirements set forth below in this subsection:  

1. Buildings and grounds must be maintained to provide 

sanitary facilities for the care and medical well-being of 

patients.  

a. Temperature, ventilation, and lighting must be 

consistent with the medical well-being of the patients. 

b. Water and waste. There shall be on-premises: 

(1) Hot and cold running water of drinking quality, as 

defined by the Virginia Department of Health; 

(2) An acceptable method of disposal of deceased 

animals, in accordance with any local ordinance or state 

and federal regulations; and 

(3) Refrigeration exclusively for carcasses of companion 

animals that require storage for 24 hours or more. 

c. Sanitary toilet and lavatory shall be available for 

personnel and clients owners.  

2. Areas within building. The areas within the facility shall 

include the following:  

a. A reception area separate from other designated 

rooms;  

b. Examination room or rooms containing a table or 

tables with nonporous surfaces;  

c. Surgery room. There shall be a A room which that is 

reserved only for surgery and used for no other purpose. 

The walls of the surgery room must be constructed of 

nonporous material and extend from the floor to the 

ceiling. In order that surgery can be performed in a 

manner compatible with current veterinary medical 

practice with regard to anesthesia, asepsis, life support, 

and monitoring procedures, the surgery room shall:  

(1) Have walls constructed of nonporous material and 

extending from the floor to the ceiling; 

(2) Be of a size adequate to accommodate a surgical 

table, anesthesia support equipment, surgical supplies, 

the veterinarian, an assistant, and the patient and all 

personnel necessary for safe performance of the surgery;  

(2) (3) Be kept so that storage in the surgery room shall 

be limited to items and equipment normally related to 

surgery and surgical procedures;  

(4) Have a surgical table made of nonporous material; 
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(5) Have surgical supplies, instruments, and equipment 

commensurate with the kind of services provided; 

(6) Have surgical and automatic emergency lighting to 

facilitate performance of procedures; and 

(3) (7) For small animal facilities establishments that 

perform surgery on small animals, have a door to close 

off the surgery room from other areas of the practice. 

d. Laboratory. 3. The veterinary establishment shall have, 

as at a minimum, proof of use of either in-house laboratory 

service or outside laboratory services for performing the 

following lab tests, consistent with appropriate 

professional care for the species being treated:.  

(1) Urinalysis, including microscopic examination of 

sediment;  

(2) Complete blood count, including differential;  

(3) Flotation test for ova of internal parasites;  

(4) Skin scrapings for diagnosing external parasites;  

(5) Blood chemistries;  

(6) Cultures and sensitivities;  

(7) Biopsy;  

(8) Complete necropses, including histopathology; and  

(9) Serology.  

e. Animal housing areas. These shall be provided with 4. 

For housing animals, the establishment shall provide:  

a. An animal identification system at all times when 

housing an animal; 

b. Accommodations of appropriate size and construction 

to prevent residual contamination or injury;  

(1) Separate compartments constructed in such a way as 

to prevent residual contamination;  

(2) c. Accommodations allowing for the effective 

separation of contagious and noncontagious patients; and  

(3) d. Exercise runs which areas that provide and allow 

effective separation of animals or walking the animals at 

medically appropriate intervals. 

3. Radiology. 5. A veterinary establishment shall: a. Either 

either have radiology service in-house or documentation of 

outside services for obtaining diagnostic-quality 

radiographs. b. If radiology is in-house:  

(1) Each radiograph shall be permanently imprinted with 

the identity of the facility or veterinarian, patient and the 

date of exposure. Each radiograph shall also be clearly 

labeled by permanent imprinting to reflect anatomic 

specificity.  

(2) Document, the establishment shall: 

a. Document that radiographic equipment complies with 

Part VI (12VAC5-481-1580 (12VAC5-481-1581 et seq.), 

Use of Diagnostic X-Rays in the Healing Arts, of the 

Virginia Radiation Protection Regulations of the Virginia 

Department of Health, which requirements are adopted 

by this board and incorporated herewith by reference in 

this chapter. 

c. Maintain radiographs as a part of the patient's record. 

If a radiograph is transferred to another establishment or 

released to the client, a record of this transfer must be 

maintained on or with the patient's records.  

b. Maintain and utilize lead aprons and gloves and 

individual radiation exposure badges for each employee 

exposed to radiographs. 

4. Equipment; minimum requirements. 6. Minimum 

equipment in the establishment shall include:  

a. Examination room containing a table with nonporous 

surface.  

b. Surgery suite.  

(1) Surgical table with nonporous surface;  

(2) Surgical supplies, instruments and equipment 

commensurate with the kind of surgical services 

provided;  

(3) Automatic emergency lighting;  

(4) Surgical lighting;  

(5) Instrument table, stand, or tray; and  

(6) Waste receptacle.  

c. Radiology (if in-house).  

(1) Lead aprons and gloves;  

(2) Radiation exposure badges; and  

(3) X-ray machine.  

d. General equipment.  

(1) Steam pressure sterilizer or an a. An appropriate 

method of sterilizing instruments;  

(2) b. Internal and external sterilization monitors, if 

steam pressure sterilizers are used;  

(3) c. Stethoscope;  

(4) Thermometer;  

(5) d. Equipment for delivery of assisted ventilation 

appropriate to the species being treated, including but not 

necessarily limited to: (a) A resuscitation bag; and (b) 

Endotracheal endotracheal tubes.; 

(6) Scales e. Adequate means of determining patient's 

weight; and  

(7) f. Storage for records.  

B. Additional requirements for stationary establishments. 

1. A stationary establishment that is open to the public 24 

hours a day shall have licensed personnel on premises at all 

times and shall be equipped to handle emergency critical 

care and hospitalization. The establishment shall have 

radiology/imaging and laboratory services available on 

site.  

2. A stationary establishment that is not open to the public 

24 hours a day shall have licensed personnel available 
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during its advertised hours of operation and shall disclose 

to the public that the establishment does not have 

continuous staffing in compliance with § 54.1-3806.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

3. All stationary establishments shall provide for continuity 

of care when a patient is transferred to another 

establishment. 

Restricted C. Limited stationary establishments. When the 

scope of practice is less than full service, a specifically 

restricted limited establishment permit registration shall be 

required. Upon submission of a completed application, 

satisfactory inspection, and payment of the permit registration 

fee, a restricted limited establishment permit registration may 

be issued. Such restricted establishments shall have posted in 

a conspicuous manner the specific limitations on the scope of 

practice on a form provided by the board.  

1. Large animal establishment, ambulatory practice. A 

large animal ambulatory establishment is a mobile practice 

in which health care of large animals is performed at the 

location of the animal. Surgery on large animals may be 

performed as part of a large animal ambulatory practice 

provided the facility has surgical supplies, instruments and 

equipment commensurate with the kind of surgical services 

provided. All large animal ambulatory establishments shall 

meet the requirements of a full-service establishment in 

subsection A of this section with the exception of those set 

forth below:  

a. All requirements for buildings and grounds.  

b. All requirements for an examination room and surgery 

suite.  

c. Equipment for assisted ventilation.  

d. Scales.  

2. Small animal establishment, house call practice. A small 

animal house call establishment is a mobile practice in 

which health care of small animals is performed at the 

residence of the owner of the small animal. Surgery may 

be performed only in a surgical suite that has passed 

inspection. Small animal house call facilities shall meet the 

requirements of a full-service establishment in subsection 

A of this section with the exception of those set forth 

below:  

a. All requirements for buildings and grounds.  

b. All requirements for an examination room or surgery 

suite.  

c. Steam pressure sterilizer.  

d. Internal or external sterilization monitor.  

3. Small animal establishment, outpatient practice. A small 

animal outpatient establishment is a stationary facility or 

ambulatory practice where health care of small animals is 

performed. This practice may include surgery, provided the 

facility is equipped with a surgery suite as required by 

subdivision A 2 c of this section. Overnight hospitalization 

shall not be required. All other requirements of a full-

service establishment shall be met.  

C. D. A separate facility permit registration is required for 

separate practices that share the same location. 

18VAC150-20-201. Standards for ambulatory veterinary 

establishments. 

A. Agricultural or equine ambulatory practice. An 

agricultural or equine ambulatory establishment is a mobile 

practice in which health care is performed at the location of 

the animal. Surgery on large animals may be performed as 

part of an agricultural or equine ambulatory practice provided 

the establishment has surgical supplies, instruments, and 

equipment commensurate with the kind of surgical 

procedures performed. All agricultural or equine ambulatory 

establishments shall meet the requirements of a stationary 

establishment for laboratory, radiology, and minimum 

equipment, with the exception of equipment for assisted 

ventilation. 

B. House call or proceduralist establishment. A house call or 

proceduralist establishment is an ambulatory practice in 

which health care of small animals is performed at the 

residence of the owner of the small animal or another 

establishment registered by the board. A veterinarian who has 

established a veterinarian-owner-patient relationship with an 

animal at the owner's residence or at another registered 

veterinary establishment may also provide care for that 

animal at the location of the patient. 

1. Surgery may be performed only in a surgical suite at a 

registered establishment that has passed inspection.  

2. House call or proceduralist establishments shall meet the 

requirements of a stationary establishment for laboratory, 

radiology, and minimum equipment, with the exception of 

equipment for assisted ventilation.  

C. Mobile service establishment. A mobile service 

establishment is a veterinary clinic or hospital that can be 

moved from one location to another and from which 

veterinary services are provided. A mobile service 

establishment shall meet all the requirements of a stationary 

establishment appropriate for the services provided.  

D. A separate establishment registration is required for 

separate practices that share the same location. 

18VAC150-20-210. Revocation or suspension of a 

veterinary establishment permit registration. 

A. The board may revoke or suspend or take other 

disciplinary action deemed appropriate against the 

registration permit of a veterinary establishment if it finds the 

establishment to be in violation of any provisions provision of 

laws or regulations governing veterinary medicine or if: 

1. The board or its agents are denied access to the 

establishment to conduct an inspection or investigation; 

2. The licensee holder of a registration does not pay any 

and all prescribed fees or monetary penalties; 
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3. The establishment is performing procedures beyond the 

scope of a restricted limited establishment permit 

registration; or 

4. The establishment has no veterinarian-in-charge 

registered with the board. 

B. The Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia) shall apply to any determination under this 

section. 

Part VI  

Equine Dental Technicians  

18VAC150-20-220. Requirements for registration as an 

equine dental technician. 

A. A person applying for registration as an equine dental 

technician shall provide a recommendation from at least two 

veterinarians licensed in Virginia who attest that at least 50% 

of their practice is equine, and that they have observed the 

applicant within the past five years immediately preceding the 

attestation and can attest to his competency to be registered as 

an equine dental technician. 

B. The qualifications for registration shall include 

documentation of one of the following: 

1. Current certification from the International Association 

of Equine Dentistry; 

2. Completion of a board-approved certification program 

or training program; 

3. Completion of a veterinary technician program that 

includes equine dentistry in the curriculum; or 

4. Evidence of equine dental practice for at least five years 

and proof of 16 hours of continuing education in equine 

dentistry completed within the five years immediately 

preceding application for registration. 

C. In order to maintain an equine dental technician 

registration, a person shall renew such registration by January 

1 of each year by payment of the renewal fee specified in 

18VAC150-20-100 and attestation of obtaining 16 hours of 

continuing education relating to equine dentistry within the 

past three years. 

1. Equine dental technicians shall be required to maintain 

original documents verifying the date and subject of the 

continuing education program or course, the number of 

continuing education hours, and certification of completion 

from a sponsor. Original documents shall be maintained 

for a period of two years following renewal. The board 

shall periodically conduct a random audit to determine 

compliance. Practitioners selected for the audit shall 

provide all supporting documentation within 10 14 days of 

receiving notification of the audit, unless granted an 

extension by the board. 

a. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the technician, such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially 

declared disasters.  

b. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up 

to one year for the completion of continuing education 

requirements upon written request from the technician 

prior to the renewal date. Such an extension shall not 

relieve the technician of the continuing education 

requirement.  

2. Registration may be renewed up to one year after the 

expiration date, provided a late fee as prescribed in 

18VAC150-20-100 is paid in addition to the required 

renewal fee. 

3. Reinstatement of registration expired for more than one 

year shall be at the discretion of the board. To reinstate a 

registration, the applicant shall pay the reinstatement fee as 

prescribed in 18VAC150-20-100 and submit evidence of 

completion of continuing education hours equal to the 

number of years in which the registration has been expired, 

for a maximum of two years. The board may require 

additional documentation of clinical competency and 

professional activities. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4496; Filed December 7, 2016, 8:35 a.m.  

BOARD FOR WASTE MANAGEMENT FACILITY 
OPERATORS 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC155-20. Waste Management 

Facility Operators Regulations (amending 18VAC155-20-

10, 18VAC155-20-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2211 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Waste Management Facility Operators, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8511, 

FAX (866) 430-1033, or email wastemgt@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments consolidate all composting requirements 

of Class I and Class II licenses into the Class I license. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  

General  

18VAC155-20-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Board" means the Board for Waste Management Facility 

Operators.  
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"Class I license" means the authorization from the board to 

act as a waste management facility operator of a transfer 

station, a material recovery facility receiving mixed waste, an 

experimental facility, or a composting facility receiving yard 

waste.  

"Class II license" means the authorization from the board to 

act as a waste management facility operator of a facility that 

composts municipal solid waste, a sanitary landfill, an 

industrial landfill, a construction landfill, or a debris landfill.  

"Class III license" means the authorization from the board to 

act as a waste management facility operator of an infectious 

waste incinerator or autoclave.  

"Class IV license" means the authorization from the board to 

act as a waste management facility operator of a municipal 

waste combustor.  

"Contact hour" means 50 minutes of participation in a group 

program or 60 minutes of completion time for a project.  

"Department" means the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation. 

"Full-time employment" means 1,760 hours per year or 220 

work days per year.  

"License" means an authorization issued by the board to an 

individual to practice as a waste management facility operator 

who meets the provisions of this chapter.  

"Municipal solid waste" means that waste that is defined as 

"municipal solid waste" in 9VAC20-81-10.  

"Municipal waste combustor" means a mass burn or a refuse 

derived fuel incinerator or facility designed or modified for 

the purpose of noninfectious solid waste combustion.  

"Operation" means any waste management facility that is 

under construction, treating, processing, storing, or disposing 

of solid waste, or in the act of securing a facility for closure 

as defined in 9VAC20-81-10.  

"Organized program" means a formal learning process 

designed to permit a participant to learn a given subject or 

subjects through interaction with an instructor in a formal 

course, seminar or conference as approved by the board. 

"Owner" means the person who owns a solid waste 

management facility or part of a solid waste management 

facility.  

"Solid waste" means any of those materials identified as 

nonhazardous solid waste in 9VAC20-81-95.  

18VAC155-20-110. License classification.  

A. The applicant shall apply for at least one classification of 

license as outlined in this subsection:  

1. An individual operating a facility that is defined in 

9VAC20-81-10 as a transfer station, a materials recovery 

facility receiving mixed waste, an experimental facility, or 

a composting facility receiving yard waste shall hold a 

Class I license. An individual who has obtained a Class II, 

III or IV license may also operate a facility listed under 

Class I.  

2. An individual operating a facility that composts 

municipal solid waste, or is defined in 9VAC20-81-10 as a 

sanitary landfill, industrial waste landfill, 

construction/demolition/debris (CDD) landfill, shall hold a 

Class II license.  

3. An individual operating a facility regulated under 

9VAC20-120, Regulated Medical Waste Management 

Regulations, shall hold a Class III license.  

4. An individual operating a facility defined in 9VAC5-40-

6560 as a municipal waste combustion unit shall hold a 

Class IV license.  

B. A licensee may not operate a facility outside of his 

classification other than that defined by subdivision A 1 of 

this section.  

C. An individual operating a solid waste management 

facility that has been issued a permit by the Department of 

Environmental Quality but for which the board has not 

established training and licensure requirements shall hold a 

Class I license until the board establishes the training and 

licensing requirements by regulation.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3909; Filed December 1, 2016, 5:27 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-111. Standards for Licensed 

Family Day Homes (amending 22VAC40-111-10, 

22VAC40-111-30, 22VAC40-111-50, 22VAC40-111-60, 

22VAC40-111-90, 22VAC40-111-100, 22VAC40-111-130, 

22VAC40-111-140, 22VAC40-111-150, 22VAC40-111-200, 

22VAC40-111-210, 22VAC40-111-230, 22VAC40-111-650, 

22VAC40-111-760, 22VAC40-111-800, 22VAC40-111-810, 

22VAC40-111-820, 22VAC40-111-830, 22VAC40-111-850, 

22VAC40-111-870, 22VAC40-111-990).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-1734 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 24, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Sharon Smith-Basey, Program Consultant, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7037, FAX (804) 

726-7132, or email sharon.basey@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Sections 63.2-100, 63.2-203, 63.2-217, and 63.2-1734 

of the Code of Virginia provide the legal authority for the 

State Board of Social Services to adopt regulations and 

requirements for licensed family day homes. The Code of 
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Virginia mandates "promulgation of regulations for the 

activities, services, and facilities to be employed by persons 

and agencies required to be licensed…which shall be 

designed to ensure that such activities, services and facilities 

are conducive to the welfare of the children under the custody 

or control of such persons or agencies." Section 63.2-1734 

further mandates that: "Such regulations shall be developed in 

consultation with representatives of the affected entities and 

shall include, but need not be limited to, matters relating to 

the sex, age, and number of children and other persons to be 

maintained, cared for, or placed out as the case may be, and to 

the buildings and premises to be used, and reasonable 

standards for the activities, services and facilities to be 

employed. Such regulations shall not require the adopting of a 

specific teaching approach or doctrine or require the 

membership, affiliation, or accreditation services of any 

single private accreditation or certification agency." 

Purpose: The proposed amendments update the regulation 

and align it with new federal requirements described in the 

Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 2014. 

Adding these federal health and safety requirements is 

essential to protect the health, safety, or welfare of citizens. 

The goals of this proposed action are to (i) update regulations 

to comply with new federal requirements for child care 

providers; (ii) update current licensing regulations to ensure 

consistency with requirements for Child Care and 

Development Fund recipients; and (iii) present a clearly 

written regulation that reflects current federal guidelines and 

practices in child care. Amendment of the existing regulation 

was determined by the State Board of Social Services as the 

most efficient and effective way to make the necessary 

changes to achieve clarity and consistency and to protect 

children. 

Substance: Provisions included in the amended standards to 

be considered include revisions to address federal law 

changes that necessitate the development of new standards in 

current areas as well as areas not previously considered to 

address ever-changing national health and safety guidelines 

and practices. Substantive proposed amendments to the 

regulations include the following areas: 

1. Grace period for immunization requirements for 

homeless children or foster care children. 

2. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 

and allergic reactions. 

3. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

trauma. 

4. Revised emergency preparedness plan requirements. 

5. Orientation training for all caregivers with content 

including health and safety requirements. 

6. Updated annual training requirements to include health 

and safety topics. 

7. Revised cardiopulmonary resuscitation and first aid 

training requirements.  

Issues: The primary advantages of the proposed regulatory 

action are to ensure that parents have sufficient information to 

make informed decisions when choosing to place their child 

in licensed family day homes that incorporate new standards 

that reflect federal health and safety requirements. The new 

regulations ensure consistent requirements for Child Care and 

Development Fund recipients.  

The proposed regulatory action requires all child care 

providers to have current certification in cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation and first aid, which increases the health and 

safety of all children in care. The total number of orientation 

and annual training hours will increase for all providers to 

strengthen their professional development.  

The advantage to the Commonwealth is that the proposed 

action increases protections of the health, safety, and welfare 

of children receiving care in licensed family day homes. 

Additionally, the proposed changes promote consistency with 

other child care regulations. There are no disadvantages to the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Social Services (Board) proposes several 

amendments to the Standards for Licensed Family Day 

Homes in order to align the regulation with federal 

requirements and the Code of Virginia, and to improve 

clarity.  

Result of Analysis. Some proposed amendments do increase 

costs for licensed family day homes. Given the likely benefits 

for the health and safety of children, and the necessity of the 

amendments to maintain federal funding, the benefits of the 

proposed changes likely exceed the costs. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The federal Child Care and 

Development Block Grant Act of 2014 requires specific 

health and safety topics to be addressed for providers 

receiving Child Care and Development Funds. Currently 

Virginia receives about $110 million from this program per 

fiscal year. In order to continue to receive federal funding 

under the Child Care and Development Fund, the federal 

requirements must be adopted under Virginia rules. Licensed 

family day homes (FDHs) are eligible to apply for subsidies 

under the program. According to the Virginia Department of 

Social Services (DSS), 37% of licensed family day homes in 

the Commonwealth are approved subsidy vendors. 

Consequently the Board proposes amendments such as 

adding: 1) a requirement for FDH licensees to post with 

parental approval a current list of allergies, sensitivities and 

dietary restriction, 2) a new requirement that while 

transporting children, the driver will have the allergy care 

plan and emergency contact information to prevent an allergic 

reaction, be aware of food allergies and sensitivities when 

preparing food and not serve prohibited food to a child, 3) a 

new provision allowing providers to keep attendance records 

as hard copy or electronically, 4) a new requirement for FDH 
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licensees to keep a written record of a child in attendance as 

arrival and departure occurs, 5) exceptions for homeless 

children without documentation of immunizations or physical 

examination to attend FDHs during a grace period of 90 days, 

6) 4 additional required hours of annual training for 

caregivers, 7) a new requirement for all caregivers to have 

current certification in CPR and first aid, and 8) a requirement 

that caregivers complete a DSS-sponsored orientation course 

within 90 days of employment. 

Allergies: The proposals to add requirements for providers to 

post with parental approval a current list of allergies, 

sensitivities and dietary restriction, and for drivers 

transporting children to have the allergy care plan and 

emergency contact information to prevent an allergic reaction 

and be aware of food allergies, etc., would require a small 

additional amount of staff time and materials for licensed 

FDHs. The proposed requirements would likely increase 

awareness of health risks for children under care and decrease 

the probability that children's health is put at risk due to 

ignorance or carelessness.  

Attendance Records: Under the current regulation FDHs must 

keep a written record of children in attendance each day. The 

proposal to allow providers to keep attendance records as 

hard copy or electronically reduces storage and potentially 

time costs for those FDHs that prefer to keep records 

electronically. The proposal to require licensees to keep the 

written record of each child in attendance as arrival and 

departure occurs would produce a small cost in that staff will 

have less flexibility as to when to record attendance. It would 

also be beneficial in that emergency responders will be better 

equipped in the event of an emergency to identify children in 

attendance.   

Homeless Children: Under the current regulation before any 

child may attend an FDH, the licensee must obtain 

documentation that the child has been immunized according 

to the requirements of § 32.1-46 A of the Code of Virginia 

and applicable State Board of Health regulations. 

Additionally, the provider must have documentation of a 

physical examination by or under direction of a physician 

within 30 days after the first day of attendance of the child. 

The proposal to permit providers to accept homeless children 

without immunization or physical examination 

documentation for up to 90 days would be beneficial in that it 

would reduce barriers for homeless children to attend licensed 

child care while their families are taking necessary actions to 

comply with health and safety requirements. Enabling 

children's attendance at FDHs helps enable parents and 

guardians in homeless families to work or seek work and 

potentially gain homes. 

Training: Under the current regulation FDH caregivers must 

have 16 clock hours of annual training. The Board proposes 

to increase the annual requirement to 20 clock hours. 

Childcare workers earn on average $10.79 per hour in 

Virginia.
1
 Assuming the value of a childcare workers' time is 

their wage, the time cost of requiring 4 additional hours of 

training is $43.16
2
 annually per FDH caregiver. DSS offers 

online child care courses as part of an agreement with 

Virginia's Community College Workforce; these classes 

currently cost $20 for 4 clock hours of training.
3
 Thus the 

total cost for 4 additional hours of required training per year 

can be estimated to be about $63 annually per FDH caregiver. 

The current regulation requires the person issued the FDH 

license and assistants who are left alone with the children in 

care to have current certification in first aid and CPR 

appropriate to the age of children in care. The proposed 

regulation requires that all caregivers have such certification. 

The American Red Cross website lists the fee for a class that 

includes pediatric first aid and CPR as $110. The course takes 

approximately 7 hours of caregivers' time.
4
 Childcare workers 

earn on average $10.79 per hour in Virginia.
5
 Assuming the 

value of a childcare workers' time is their wage, the time cost 

of the requirement is $75.53.
6
 Thus the cost of the proposed 

CPR and first aid requirement for each child care worker in a 

licensed FDH would be $185.53 per two year certification, or 

$92.77 per year. Caregivers, such as the licensee, who already 

have current certification in CPR and first aid and would have 

continued to have done so without the new requirement 

would not incur this cost. Additionally, the CPR and first aid 

class can count toward the required 20 hours of training a 

year. 

According to DSS, the proposed required DSS-sponsored 

orientation course takes 10 hours and is provided without a 

fee. Assuming the value of a childcare workers' time is their 

wage, the time cost of the requirement is $107.90. The 10 

hours can count toward the required 20 hours of training 

during the first year of employment.  

Overall: Several of the proposed amendments introduce some 

additional costs in terms of time, materials and/or fees. All of 

the proposed changes likely will have some positive impact 

on health and safety. The extent of the impact on health and 

safety is not known. Thus a definitive comparison of the 

likely benefits with the more easily estimated costs cannot be 

made. Taking into consideration the need to make these 

amendments in order to maintain federal funding, which 

contributes to FDH subsidies, the benefits of the proposed 

regulation likely exceed the costs. 

Businesses and Entities Affected.  The proposed amendments 

affect the 1,279 licensed family day homes in the 

Commonwealth, their staff, and their clients.
7
 All licensed 

family day homes are small businesses.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to have a large impact on employment. The 

proposal to require that all caregivers have current 

certification in first aid and CPR appropriate to the age of 

children in care may moderately increase employment for 

providers of such certification. 
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Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to have a large impact on 

the use and value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. As described in the Estimated 

Economic Impact section, the proposals to add 1) a 

requirement for FDH licensees to post with parental approval 

a current list of allergies, sensitivities and dietary restriction, 

2) a new requirement that while transporting children, the 

driver will have the allergy care plan and emergency contact 

information to prevent an allergic reaction, be aware of food 

allergies and sensitivities when preparing food and not serve 

prohibited food to a child, 3) a new requirement for FDH 

licensees to keep a written record of a child in attendance as 

arrival and departure occurs, 4) 4 additional required hours of 

annual training for caregivers, 5) a new requirement for all 

caregivers to have current certification in CPR and first aid, 

and 6) a requirement that caregivers complete a DSS-

sponsored orientation course within 90 days of employment, 

all increase costs for licensed family day homes. The proposal 

to allow providers to keep attendance records as hard copy or 

electronically reduces costs for some FDH licensees. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. In order 

to comply with the federal Child Care and Development 

Block Grant Act, the Board is proposing amendments that 

will increase costs for some family day homes, all of which 

are small businesses. There is no clear alternative that will 

both satisfy federal law and reduce the adverse impact on 

these small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses. As discussed above, some proposed amendments 

will increase costs for businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 

adversely affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 

adversely affect other entities. 

________________________________________ 
1 Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' May 2015 State Occupational 
Employment and Wage Estimates (the most recent available data). See: 

http://www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes_va.htm 
2 $10.79 x 4 = $43.16 
3 Source: Department of Social Services 
4 The American Red Cross class is listed as taking six hours and twenty 

minutes. Assuming 40 minutes roundtrip travel time, the caregiver would 
spend 7 hours to satisfy this requirement. 
5 See note 1, supra 

6 $10.79 x 7 = $75.53 
7 Data source: Department of Social Services 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Social Services reviewed the economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget 

and concurs. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments align requirements of licensed 

programs with specific federal health and safety standards 

for providers receiving funds from the Child Care and 

Development Fund under the federal Child Care and 

Development Block Grant Act of 2014. Proposed 

amendments include (i) a requirement for family day home 

licensees to post with parental approval a current list of 

allergies, sensitivities, and dietary restrictions; (ii) 

requirements that while transporting children a driver will 

have the allergy care plan and emergency contact 

information and that the family day home be aware of food 

allergies and sensitivities when preparing food and not 

serve prohibited food to a child; (iii) a provision allowing 

providers to keep attendance records as hard copy or 

electronically; (iv) a requirement for family day home 

licensees to keep a written record of a child in attendance 

as arrival and departure occurs; (v) exceptions for 

homeless children without documentation of immunizations 

or physical examination to attend family day homes during 

a grace period of 90 days; (vi) four additional required 

hours of annual training for caregivers and a requirement 

that prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

trauma be part of initial orientation; (vii) a requirement 

for all caregivers to have current certification in CPR and 

first aid; (viii) a requirement that caregivers complete a 

Department of Social Services-sponsored orientation 

course within 90 days of employment; and (ix) provisions 

adding lockdown to the family day home's emergency 

preparedness plan. 

22VAC40-111-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Accessible" means capable of being entered, reached, or 

used. 

"Adult" means any individual 18 years of age or older. 

"Age-appropriate" means suitable to the chronological age 

and individual needs of a child. 

"Assistant" means an individual who helps the provider or 

substitute provider in the care, protection, supervision, and 

guidance to children in the home. 

"Body fluids" means urine, feces, vomit, blood, saliva, nasal 

discharge, and tissue discharge. 

"Caregiver" means an individual who provides care, 

protection, supervision, and guidance to children in the home 

and includes the provider, substitute provider, and assistant. 

http://www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes_va.htm
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"Child" means an individual under 18 years of age. 

"Child day program" means a regularly operating service 

arrangement for children where, during the absence of a 

parent or guardian, a person or organization has agreed to 

assume responsibility for the supervision, protection, and 

well-being of a child under the age of 13 for less than a 24-

hour period. 

"Child with special needs" means a child with 

developmental disabilities, intellectual disabilities, emotional 

disturbance, sensory or motor impairment, or significant 

chronic illness who requires special health surveillance or 

specialized programs, interventions, technologies, or 

facilities. 

"Cleaned" means treated in such a way as to remove dirt and 

debris by scrubbing and washing with soap and water or 

detergent solution and rinsing with water. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Virginia 

Department of Social Services. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services. 

"Department's representative" means an employee or 

designee of the Virginia Department of Social Services, 

acting as the authorized agent of the commissioner. 

"Evacuation" means movement of occupants out of the 

building to a safe area near the building. 

"Family day home" means a child day program offered in 

the residence of the provider or the home of any of the 

children in care for one through 12 children under the age of 

13, exclusive of the provider's own children and any children 

who reside in the home, when at least one child receives care 

for compensation. A family day home serving five through 12 

children, exclusive of the provider's own children and any 

children who reside in the home, shall be licensed. A family 

day home caring for more than four children under the age of 

two years, including the provider's own children and any 

children who reside in the home, shall be licensed or 

voluntarily registered. A family day home where the children 

in care are all related to the provider by blood or marriage 

shall not be required to be licensed.  

"Good character and reputation" means knowledgeable and 

objective people agree that the individual (i) maintains 

business, professional, family, and community relationships 

that are characterized by honesty, fairness, and truthfulness; 

and (ii) demonstrates a concern for the well-being of others to 

the extent that the individual is considered suitable to be 

entrusted with the care, guidance, and protection of children. 

Relatives by blood or marriage, and people who are not 

knowledgeable of the individual, such as recent 

acquaintances, shall not be considered objective references. 

"High school program completion or the equivalent" means 

an individual has earned a high school diploma or General 

Education Development (G.E.D.) certificate, passed a high 

school equivalency examination approved by the Board of 

Education in accordance with §§ 22.1-223, 22.1-224, and 

22.1-225  of the Code of Virginia, or has completed a 

program of home instruction in accordance with § 22.1-254.1 

of the Code of Virginia equivalent to high school completion. 

"Homeless child" means a child who lacks a fixed, regular, 

and adequate nighttime residence and who is: 

1. Living in a car, park, public space, abandoned building, 

substandard housing, bus or train station, or similar setting; 

2. Sharing the housing of other persons due to loss of 

housing, economic hardship, or a similar reason; 

sometimes referred to as doubled-up; 

3. Living in motels, hotels, trailer parks, or camping 

grounds due to lack of alternative adequate 

accommodations; 

4. Living in congregate, temporary, emergency, or 

transitional shelters; 

5. Awaiting or in foster care placement; 

6. A migratory child who qualifies as homeless because he 

is living in circumstances described in the federal 

Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965, P.L. 

89-10 (20 USC § 6399); and 

7. Living in a primary nighttime residence that is a public 

or private place not designed for, or ordinarily used as, a 

regular sleeping accommodation for human beings. 

"Inaccessible" means not capable of being entered, reached, 

or used. 

"Infant" means a child from birth up to 16 months of age. 

"Lockdown" means a situation where children are isolated 

from a security threat and access within and to the home is 

restricted. 

"Nighttime care" means care provided between 7 p.m. and 6 

a.m. 

"Parent" means the biological, foster or adoptive parent, 

legal guardian, or any individual with responsibility for, or 

custody of a child enrolled in or in the process of being 

enrolled in a family day home. 

"Physician" means an individual licensed to practice 

medicine in any of the 50 states or the District of Columbia. 

"Preschool" means children from two years up to the age of 

eligibility to attend public school, age five by September 30 

of that same year. 

"Programmatic experience" means time spent working 

directly with children in a group that is located away from the 

child's home. Work time shall be computed on the basis of 

full-time work experience during the period prescribed or 

equivalent work time over a longer period. Experience 

settings may include [ , but not be limited to, ] a child day 

program, family day home, child day center, boys and girls 

club, field placement, elementary school, or a faith-based 

organization. 
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"Provider" means an individual who is issued the family day 

home license by the Department of Social Services and who 

has primary responsibility in providing care, protection, 

supervision, and guidance of children in the family home. 

"Relocation" means movement of occupants of the building 

to a safe location away from the vicinity of the building. 

"Residence" means principal legal dwelling or abode that is 

occupied for living purposes by the provider and contains the 

facilities necessary for sleeping, eating, cooking, and family 

living. 

"Sanitized" means treated in such a way as to remove 

bacteria and viruses from inanimate surfaces through first 

cleaning and secondly using a solution of one tablespoon of 

bleach mixed with one gallon of water and prepared fresh 

daily or using a sanitizing solution approved by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency. The surface of the item is 

sprayed or dipped into the sanitizing solution and then 

allowed to air dry for a minimum of two minutes or according 

to the sanitizing solution instructions.  

"School age" means eligible to attend public school, age five 

or older by September 30 of that same year. 

"Serious injury" means a wound or other specific damage to 

the body such as, but not limited to, unconsciousness; broken 

bones; dislocation; deep cut requiring stitches; poisoning; 

concussion; and a foreign object lodged in eye, nose, ear, or 

other body orifice. 

"Shaken baby syndrome" or "abusive head trauma" means a 

traumatic injury that is inflicted upon the brain of an infant or 

young child. The injury can occur during violent shaking, 

causing the child's head to whip back and forth, the brain to 

move about, and blood vessels in the skull to stretch and tear.  

"Shelter-in-place" means movement of occupants of the 

building to designated protected spaces within the building. 

"Substitute provider" means an individual who meets the 

qualifications of a provider; is designated by the provider; and 

who provides care, protection, supervision, and guidance for 

children in the family day home when the provider is absent 

from the home for more than two hours. 

"Time out" means a discipline technique in which a child is 

moved for a brief time away from the stimulation and 

reinforcement of ongoing activities and other children in the 

group to allow the child who is losing self-control to regain 

composure. 

"Toddler" means a child from 16 months of age up to 24 

months of age. 

22VAC40-111-30. Operational responsibilities. 

A. The provider shall ensure compliance with these 

standards and the terms of the current license issued by the 

department and with relevant federal, state or local laws, and 

other relevant regulations. 

B. The provider will ensure compliance with the home's 

policies that have been disclosed to the parents as required by 

22VAC-40-111-70. 

C. The provider shall be of good character and reputation. 

Character and reputation investigation includes, but is not 

limited to, background checks as required by §§ 63.2-1702 

and 63.2-1721 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. The provider shall meet the requirements specified in 

22VAC40-191, Background Checks for Child Welfare 

Agencies. 

E. The provider shall ensure that the home's activities, 

services, and facilities are conducive to the welfare of 

children in care. 

F. The provider shall be responsible for the home's day-to-

day operation. 

G. The provider shall post with parental approval, a current 

list of all children's allergies, sensitivities, and dietary 

restrictions. 

G. H. The provider shall ensure that any advertising is not 

misleading or deceptive as required by § 63.2-1713 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

H. I. The provider shall meet the requirements specified in 

22VAC40-80, General Procedures and Information for 

Licensure. 

22VAC40-111-50. General recordkeeping. 

A. The family day home shall keep a written record of 

children in attendance each day. 

B. The provider's records A. Records required by this 

regulation may be kept as hard copy or electronically and 

shall be maintained in the home and made accessible to the 

department's representative. 

B. The family day home shall maintain a written record of 

daily attendance that documents the arrival and departure of 

each child in care as it occurs.  

C. Information contained in a child's record shall be 

privileged and confidential. The provider shall not distribute 

or release information in a child's record to any unauthorized 

person without the written consent of the child's parent. 

D. Children's records shall be made available to a child's 

parent upon request, unless otherwise ordered by the court. 

E. Records and reports on children, caregivers, and 

household members required by this chapter shall be 

maintained and made accessible to the department's 

representative for two years from the date of termination of 

services for a child, date of separation from employment for 

caregivers, or date of termination of residence for a household 

member, or unless specified otherwise. 

22VAC40-111-60. Children's records. 

A. The provider shall maintain an up-to-date record at the 

family day home for each enrolled child. 

B. A child's record shall contain the following information: 
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1. Child's full name, nickname (if any), sex, address, and 

birth date; 

2. Emergency contact care information including: 

a. Name, home address, and telephone number of each 

parent who has custody; 

b. Name, address, and telephone number of each 

custodial parent's place of employment; 

c. Name, office address, and telephone number of the 

child's physician; 

d. Name, address, and telephone number of two 

designated persons to contact in case of an emergency if 

the parent cannot be reached; 

e. Information on allergies and intolerance to food, 

medication, or any other substances, and actions to take 

in an emergency situation;  

f. A written care plan for each child with a diagnosed 

food allergy, to include instructions from a physician 

regarding the food to which the child is allergic and the 

steps to be taken in the event of a suspected or confirmed 

allergic reaction; 

g. Name and policy number of the child's medical 

insurance, if applicable; 

g. h. Names of persons other than the custodial parents 

who are authorized to pick up the child; 

h. i. Appropriate legal paperwork when a custodial parent 

does not authorize the provider to release the child to the 

other parent; and 

i. j. Chronic physical problems, pertinent developmental 

information, and any special accommodations needed; 

3. First and last dates of attendance; 

4. Parent's signed acknowledgement acknowledgment of 

the receipt of the information required by 22VAC40-111-

70; 

5. Proof of the child's age and identity and the names and 

addresses of previously attended child day care and schools 

as required by 22VAC40-111-80; 

6. Immunization records for the child as required by 

22VAC40-111-90; 

7. Results of the health examination for the child as 

required by 22VAC40-111-100; 

8. 6. Written authorization for emergency medical care 

should an emergency occur and the parent cannot be 

located immediately unless the parent presents a written 

objection to provision of medical treatment on religious or 

other grounds;  

9. 7. Written authorization if a caregiver is to administer 

prescription or nonprescription medication to the child as 

required by 22VAC40-111-700 A 2; 

10. 8. Written authorization if the child is to participate in 

swimming or wading activities as required by 22VAC40-

111-660 B; 

11. 9. Written authorization if the child is taken off the 

premises of the family day home as required by 22VAC40-

111-980; 

12. 10. Special instructions to the provider including, but 

not limited to, exception to an infant's sleeping position as 

required in 22VAC40-111-590 A, recommendations for 

the care and activities of a child with special needs as 

required in 22VAC40-111-620 A, and exception to an 

infant's being fed on demand as required in 22VAC40-111-

960 A; 

13. 11. Record of any accidents or injuries sustained by the 

child while at the family day home as required by 

22VAC40-111-840; and 

14. 12. Documentation of the review of the child's 

emergency contact information as required by 22VAC40-

111-780 B; 

13. Immunization records for the child as required by 

22VAC40-111-90; and 

14. Results of the health examination for the child as 

required by 22VAC40-111-100.  

22VAC40-111-90. Immunizations for children. 

A. Before a child may attend the family day home, the 

provider shall obtain documentation that the child has been 

adequately immunized according to the requirements of 

§ 32.1-46 A of the Code of Virginia and applicable State 

Board of Health regulations. 

1. The provider may allow a child to attend contingent 

upon a conditional enrollment. Documentation related to 

the child's conditional enrollment shall be maintained in 

the child's record. 

2. Conditional enrollment means the enrollment of a child 

for a period of 90 days contingent upon the child having 

received at least one dose of each of the required vaccines 

and the child possessing a plan, from a physician or local 

health department, for completing his immunization 

requirements within the ensuing 90 calendar days. If the 

child requires more than two doses of hepatitis B vaccine, 

the conditional enrollment period, for hepatitis B vaccine 

only, shall be 180 calendar days.  

3. If a child is homeless and does not have documentation 

of the required immunizations, the provider may allow the 

child to attend during a grace period of no more than 90 

days to allow the parent or guardian time to obtain 

documentation of required immunizations. Enrollment of a 

homeless child without the required immunizations must 

be documented in the child's record.  

B. Pursuant to subsection C of § 22.1-271.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, documentation of immunizations is not required for 

any child whose: 

1. Parent submits an affidavit to the family day home on 

the current form approved by the Virginia Department of 

Health stating that the administration of immunizing agents 
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conflicts with the parent's or child's religious tenets or 

practices; or 

2. Physician or a local health department states on a 

Department of Health-approved form that one or more of 

the required immunizations may be detrimental to the 

child's health, indicating the specific nature and probable 

duration of the medical condition or circumstance that 

contraindicates immunization.  

C. The family day home shall obtain documentation of 

additional immunizations for a child who is not exempt from 

the immunization requirements according to subsection B of 

this section: 

1. Once every six months for children under the age of two 

years; and  

2. Once between each child's fourth and sixth birthdays. 

22VAC40-111-100. Physical examinations for children. 

A. The provider shall obtain documentation of a physical 

examination by or under the direction of a physician prior (i) 

to a child's attendance or (ii) within 30 days after the first day 

of attendance. 

If a child is homeless and does not have documentation of a 

physical examination, the provider may allow the child to 

attend during a grace period of no more than 90 days to allow 

the parent or guardian time to obtain documentation of the 

required physical examination. Enrollment of a homeless 

child without documentation of a physical examination must 

be documented in the child's record.  

B. The physical examination prior to attendance shall have 

been conducted within: 

1. Two months prior to attendance for children six months 

of age or younger; 

2. Three months prior to attendance for children age seven 

months through 18 months; 

3. Six months prior to attendance for children age 19 

months through 24 months;  

4. Twelve months prior to attendance for children two 

years of age through five years of age; or 

5. Twenty-four months prior to attendance for children six 

years of age and above older.  

EXCEPTIONS:  

1. A new physical examination is not required if a copy of 

the physical examination is available to the admitting family 

day home for a child transferring from a facility licensed by 

the Virginia Department of Social Services, approved by a 

licensed family day system, voluntarily registered by the 

Virginia Department of Social Services or by a contract 

agency of the Virginia Department of Social Services, or 

transferring from a Virginia Department of Education-

approved child care program. 

C. When a child transfers from a facility licensed by the 

Virginia Department of Social Services, approved by a 

licensed family day system, voluntarily registered by the 

Virginia Department of Social Services, or approved by the 

Virginia Department of Education, a new physical 

examination is not required if a copy of the physical 

examination from the originating program is maintained in 

the child's record.  

2. D. Pursuant to subsection D of § 22.1-270 of the Code of 

Virginia, physical examinations are not required for any child 

whose parent objects on religious grounds. The parent must 

submit a signed statement noting that the parent objects on 

religious grounds and certifying that to the best of the parent's 

knowledge the child is in good health and free from 

communicable or contagious disease. 

3. E. For a school age child, a copy of the physical 

examination required for his entry into a Virginia public 

kindergarten or elementary school is acceptable 

documentation to meet the requirements of this section. 

22VAC40-111-130. General qualifications for caregivers. 

A. Caregivers shall: 

1. Be of good character and reputation; 

2. Be physically and mentally capable of carrying out 

assigned responsibilities; 

3. Be courteous, respectful, patient, and affectionate 

toward the children in care; 

4. Be able to speak, read, and write in English as necessary 

to: 

a. Carry out assigned job responsibilities, and  

b. Communicate effectively with emergency responders; 

and 

5. Meet the requirements specified in 22VAC40-191, 

Background Checks for Child Welfare Agencies. 

B. Caregivers shall have current certification in 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) as appropriate to the 

age of the children in care from an organization such as the 

American Red Cross, American Heart Association, American 

Safety and Health Institute, or National Safety Council. The 

training shall include an in-person competency 

demonstration. 

C. Unless a caregiver is a registered nurse or licensed 

practical nurse with a current license from the Board of 

Nursing, the caregiver shall have current certification in first 

aid from an organization such as the American Red Cross, 

American Heart Association, American Safety and Health 

Institute, or National Safety Council. 

22VAC40-111-140. Qualifications and requirements for 

providers and substitute providers. 

A. Providers and substitute providers shall be 18 years of 

age or older. 

B. Providers licensed after and substitute providers 

employed after June 30, 2010, shall have: 
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1. (i) A high school program completion or the equivalent 

or (ii) evidence of having met the requirements for 

admission to an accredited college or university; and 

2. Three months of programmatic experience;. 

3. Current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation 

(CPR), as appropriate to the age of the children in care, 

from the American Red Cross, American Heart 

Association, American Safety and Health Institute, or the 

National Safety Council, or current CPR certification 

issued within the past two years by a community college, a 

hospital, a rescue squad, or a fire department; and 

4. Current certification in first aid from the American Red 

Cross, American Heart Association, American Safety and 

Health Institute, or the National Safety Council, or current 

first aid certification issued within the past three years by a 

community college, a hospital, a rescue squad, or a fire 

department. 

EXCEPTION: A provider or substitute provider who is a 

registered nurse or licensed practical nurse with a current 

license from the Board of Nursing shall not be required to 

obtain first aid certification. 

C. Use of a substitute provider shall be limited to no more 

than a total of 240 hours per calendar year. 

D. A substitute provider shall record and sign the time of 

arrivals and departures on each day that the substitute 

provider works. 

22VAC40-111-150. Qualifications and requirements for 

assistants. 

A. Assistants shall be 16 years of age or older. 

B. An assistant under the age of 18 years of age shall always 

work under the direct supervision of the provider or substitute 

provider. Direct supervision means being able to hear or see 

the assistant and children at all times. 

C. An assistant 18 years of age or older shall not be left 

alone with children in care for more than two hours per day. 

D. An assistant 18 years of age or older who is left alone 

with children in care shall have: 

1. Current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation 

(CPR), as appropriate to the age of the children in care, 

from the American Red Cross, American Heart 

Association, American Safety and Health Institute, or 

National Safety Council, or current CPR certification 

issued within the past two years by a community college, 

a hospital, a rescue squad, or a fire department; and 

2. Current certification in first aid from the American 

Red Cross, American Heart Association, American 

Safety and Health Institute, or National Safety Council, 

or current first aid certification issued within the past 

three years by a community college, a hospital, a rescue 

squad, or a fire department. 

EXCEPTION: An assistant who is a registered nurse or 

licensed practical nurse with a current license from the Board 

of Nursing shall not be required to obtain first aid 

certification.  

E. D. An assistant 18 years of age or older who meets the 

requirements for a substitute provider may act as the 

substitute provider when the provider is absent from the home 

for more than two hours. 

22VAC40-111-200. Orientation. 

A. The provider shall orient the substitute provider and 

assistant by the end of their first week of assuming job 

responsibilities.  

B. The orientation shall cover the following topics: 

A. Caregivers shall complete a minimum of 16 hours of 

orientation training in areas relevant to their job 

responsibilities.  

B. The Virginia Department of Social Services-sponsored 

orientation course shall be completed within 90 business days 

of employment. 

C. Orientation shall include, but not be limited to, all topics 

within this section. 

D. The provider shall orient the substitute provider and 

assistants on the following topics prior to working alone with 

children and within seven days of the date of hire: 

1. Job responsibilities; 

2. Requirements for parental notifications listed in 

22VAC40-111-650; 

3. Standards in this chapter that relate to the substitute 

provider's or assistant's responsibilities; 

4. Emergency evacuation, relocation, and shelter-in-place 

procedures; 

5. 4. Location of emergency numbers, first aid kit, and 

emergency supplies;  

6. 5. Confidential treatment of information about children 

in care and their families; and 

7. Requirement for reporting suspected child abuse and 

neglect. 

6. Recognizing child abuse and neglect and the legal 

requirements for reporting suspected child abuse as 

required by § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia; 

7. The provider's policies and procedures on the 

administration of medication; 

8. Emergency preparedness and response planning for 

emergencies resulting from a natural disaster, or a human-

caused event such as violence at a family day home and the 

home's specific emergency preparedness plan as required 

by 22VAC40-111-800 through 22VAC40-111-830; 

9. Prevention and control of infectious diseases; 

10. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of 

safe sleep practices; and  



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 26, 2016 

969 

11. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

trauma including procedures to cope with crying babies or 

distraught children. 

E. The provider shall orient the substitute provider and 

assistant by the end of the first 30 days of assuming job 

responsibilities in the following topics: 

1. Child development including, but not limited to: 

physical, cognitive, social, and emotional development; 

behavior management; and positive guidance techniques; 

2. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 

and other allergic reactions including: 

a. Recognizing the symptoms of an allergic reaction; 

b. Responding to allergic reactions; 

c. Preventing exposure to the specific food and other 

substances to which the child is allergic; and 

d. Preventing cross-contamination. 

3. Building and physical premises safety, including 

identification of and protection from hazards that can cause 

bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of water, 

and vehicular traffic; 

4. Handling and storage of hazardous materials and the 

appropriate disposal of diapers and other items 

contaminated by body fluids; and 

5. Precautions in transporting children, if applicable.  

C. F. Documentation of the orientation shall be signed and 

dated by the provider and substitute provider or by the 

provider and assistant. 

G. Caregivers who are employed prior to (the effective date 

of this chapter) shall complete the Virginia Department of 

Social Services-sponsored orientation training as required in 

subsection B of this section within one year of (the effective 

date of this chapter). This training may count towards annual 

training requirements in section 22VAC40-111-210. 

22VAC40-111-210. Annual Ongoing training. 

A. In addition to satisfactory completion of first aid training 

and CPR training, caregivers shall obtain a minimum of eight 

clock hours of training annually in areas relevant to their job 

responsibilities. 

1. Effective July 1, 2011, caregivers shall obtain 12 clock 

hours of training annually. 

2. Effective July 1, 2012, caregivers shall obtain 14 clock 

hours of training annually. 

3. Effective July 1, 2013, caregivers shall obtain 16 clock 

hours of training annually. 

B. The annual training shall cover areas such as, but not 

limited to: 

1. Physical, intellectual, social, and emotional child 

development; 

2. Behavior management and discipline techniques; 

3. Health and safety in the family day home environment; 

4. Art and music activities for children;  

5. Child nutrition; 

6. Recognition and prevention of child abuse and neglect;  

7. Emergency preparedness as required by 22 VAC 40-

111-800 C; or  

8. Recognition and prevention of the spread of 

communicable diseases. 

A. Caregivers shall complete a minimum of 20 hours of 

training annually. 

B. Annual training shall include topics relevant to the 

caregiver's job responsibilities and the care of children.  

C. Training on the following health and safety topics shall 

be completed every two years: 

1. Child development including but not limited to: 

physical, cognitive, social, and emotional development; 

2. Behavior management and positive guidance techniques; 

3. Prevention and control of infectious diseases; 

4. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of 

safe sleep practices; 

5. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 

and other allergic reactions including: 

a. Recognizing the symptoms of an allergic reaction; 

b. Responding to allergic reactions; 

c. Preventing exposure to the specific food and other 

substances to which the child is allergic; and  

d. Preventing cross-contamination. 

6. The home's policies and procedures on the 

administration of medication; 

7. Building and physical premises safety, including 

identification of and protection from hazards that can cause 

bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of water, 

and vehicular traffic; 

8. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

trauma including procedures to cope with crying babies or 

distraught children; 

9. Signs and symptoms of child abuse and neglect and 

requirements for mandated reporters; 

10. Emergency preparedness and response planning for 

emergencies resulting from a natural disaster, or a human-

caused event such as violence at a family day home and the 

home's specific emergency preparedness plan as required 

by 22VAC40-111-800 through 22VAC40-111-830. 

Training on the home's emergency preparedness plan shall 

be completed annually and each time the plan is updated; 

11. Handling and storage of hazardous materials and the 

appropriate disposal of diapers and other items 

contaminated by body fluids; 

12. Precautions in transporting children, if applicable; and  
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13. If applicable, the recommended care requirements 

related to the care and development of children with 

special needs.  

D. CPR and first aid training may count towards the annual 

training hours required in subsection A of this section if 

requirements in 22VAC-40-111-230 B are met.  

22VAC40-111-230. Documentation of education and 

training. 

A. The provider shall maintain written documentation of 

each caregiver's applicable education and programmatic 

experience, applicable first aid and CPR certification, 

orientation, annual training, and applicable medication 

administration training. 

B. Written documentation of annual training shall include: 

1. Name of the caregiver; 

2. Name of the training session Training topic; 

3. Evidence that training in each topic required in 

22VAC40-111-210 C has been completed; 

4. Date and total hours of the session; and 

4. 5. Name of the organization that sponsored the training 

and the trainer. 

22VAC40-111-650. Parent notifications. 

A. The provider shall provide written notification to the 

parent within 10 business days after the effective date of the 

change when there is no longer liability insurance in force on 

the family day home operation. 

1. The provider shall obtain the parent's written 

[ acknowledgement acknowledgment ] of the receipt of this 

notification, and 

2. A copy of the parent's written 

[ acknowledgement acknowledgment ] of the receipt of this 

notification shall be maintained in the child's record. 

B. Caregivers shall provide information daily to parents 

about the child's health, development, behavior, adjustment, 

or needs. 

C. The provider shall give parents prior notice when a 

substitute provider will be caring for the children. 

D. Caregivers shall notify parents when persistent 

behavioral problems are identified and such notification shall 

include any disciplinary steps taken in response. 

E. The provider shall notify the parent immediately when 

the child: 

1. Has a head injury or any serious injury that requires 

emergency medical or dental treatment; 

2. Has an adverse reaction to medication administered; 

3. Has been administered medication incorrectly; 

4. Is lost or missing; or 

5. Has died. 

F. The provider shall notify a parent the same day whenever 

first aid is administered to the child. 

G. When a child has been exposed to a communicable 

disease listed in the Department of Health's current 

communicable disease chart, the provider shall notify the 

parent within 24 hours or the next business day of the home's 

having been informed, unless forbidden by law, except for 

life-threatening diseases, which must be reported to parents 

immediately. The provider shall consult the local health 

department if there is a question about the communicability of 

a disease. 

H. A parent shall be notified immediately of any confirmed 

or suspected allergic reaction and the ingestion of prohibited 

food even if a reaction did not occur. 

I. Parents shall be informed of any changes in the home's 

emergency preparedness and response plan. 

I. J. Except in emergency evacuation or relocation 

situations, the provider shall inform the parent and have 

written permission as required by 22VAC40-111-980 

whenever the child will be taken off the premises of the 

family day home, before such occasion. 

J. K. If an emergency evacuation or relocation is necessary, 

the parent shall be informed of the child's whereabouts as 

soon as possible. 

22VAC40-111-760. First aid and emergency medical 

supplies. 

A. The following emergency supplies shall be in the family 

day home, accessible to outdoor play areas, on field trips, in 

vehicles used for transportation, and wherever children are in 

care: 

1. A first aid kit that contains at a minimum: 

a. Scissors; 

b. Tweezers; 

c. Gauze pads; 

d. Adhesive tape; 

e. Adhesive bandages, assorted sizes; 

f. Antiseptic cleaning solution or pads; 

g. Digital thermometer; 

h. Triangular bandages; 

i. Single use gloves such as surgical or examination 

gloves;  

j. In homes located more than one hour's travel time from 

a healthcare facility, activated charcoal preparation (to be 

used only on the direction of a physician or the home's 

local poison control center); and 

k. j. First aid instructional manual. 

2. An ice pack or cooling agent.  

B. The first aid kit shall be readily accessible to caregivers 

and inaccessible to children.  
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22VAC40-111-800. Emergency preparedness and 

response plan. 

A. The family day home shall have a written emergency 

preparedness and response plan that: 

1. Includes emergency evacuation, emergency relocation, 

and shelter-in-place, and lockdown procedures; 

2. Addresses the most likely to occur scenarios, 

including but not limited to fire, severe storms, flooding, 

tornadoes, and loss of utilities, earthquakes, intruders, 

violence on or near the premises, chemical spills, and 

facility damage and other situations that may require 

evacuation, shelter-in-place, or lockdown; and  

3. Includes provisions for a responsible person who is 18 

years of age or older and is able to arrive at the family day 

home within 10 minutes for emergency backup care until 

the children can be picked up by their parents. 

B. The provider shall review the emergency plan at least 

annually and update the plan as needed. The provider shall 

document in writing each review and update to the emergency 

plan. 

C. The provider shall ensure that each caregiver receives 

training regarding the emergency evacuation, emergency 

relocation, and shelter-in-place, and lockdown procedures by 

the end of his first week of assuming job responsibilities, on 

an annual basis, and at the time of each plan update. 

22VAC40-111-810. Evacuation and relocation procedures. 

Evacuation procedures shall include: 

1. Methods to alert caregivers and emergency responders; 

2. Designated primary and secondary routes out of the 

building; 

3. Designated assembly point away from the building; 

4. Designated relocation site; 

5. Methods to ensure all children are evacuated from the 

building and, if necessary, moved to a relocation site; 

6. Methods to account for all children at the assembly point 

and relocation site; 

7. Methods to ensure essential documents, including 

emergency contact information, medications, and supplies 

are taken to the assembly point and relocation site;  

8. Method of communication with parents and emergency 

responders after the evacuation; and 

9. Method of communication with parents after the 

relocation; 

10. Accommodations or special requirements for infants, 

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their 

safety during evacuation or relocation; and  

11. Procedures to reunite children with a parent or 

authorized person designated by the parent to pick up the 

child. 

22VAC40-111-820. Shelter-in-place and lockdown 

procedures. 

A. Shelter-in-place procedures shall include: 

1. Methods to alert caregivers and emergency responders; 

2. Designated safe location within the home; 

3. Designated primary and secondary routes to the safe 

location;  

4. Methods to ensure all children are moved to the safe 

location; 

5. Methods to account for all children at the safe location; 

6. Methods to ensure essential documents, including 

emergency contact information, and supplies are taken to 

the safe location; and 

7. Method of communication with parents and emergency 

responders; 

8. Accommodations or special requirements for infants, 

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their 

safety during shelter-in-place; and  

9. Procedure to reunite children with a parent or authorized 

person designated by the parent to pick up the child.  

B. Lockdown procedures, to include facility containment, 

shall include: 

1. Methods to alert caregivers and emergency responders; 

2. Methods to account for all children at the lockdown 

location; 

3. Methods of communication with parents and emergency 

responders; 

4. Accommodations or special requirements for infants, 

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their 

safety during lockdown; and  

5. Procedure to reunite children with a parent or authorized 

person designated by the parent to pick up the child.  

22VAC40-111-830. Emergency response drills. 

A. The emergency evacuation procedures shall be practiced 

monthly with all caregivers and children in care during all 

shifts that children are in care. 

B. Shelter-in-place procedures shall be practiced a minimum 

of twice per year. 

C. Lockdown procedures shall be practiced at least annually. 

D. Documentation shall be maintained of emergency 

evacuation and, shelter-in-place, and lockdown drills that 

includes: 

1. Identity of the person conducting the drill; 

2. The date and time of the drill; 

3. The method used for notification of the drill; 

4. The number of caregivers participating; 

5. The number of children participating; 

6. Any special conditions simulated; 
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7. The time it took to complete the drill; 

8. Problems encountered, if any; and 

9. For emergency evacuation drills only, weather 

conditions.  

D. E. Records of emergency evacuation and, shelter-in-

place, and lockdown drills shall be maintained for one year. 

22VAC40-111-850. Reports to department. 

A. The provider shall report to the department within 24 

hours inform the department's representative as soon as 

possible but not to exceed one business day of the 

circumstances surrounding the following incidents: 

1. Lost or missing child when local authorities have been 

contacted for help; 

2. Serious injury to a child while under the family day 

home's supervision; and 

3. 2. Death of a child while under the family day home's 

supervision; and 

3. The suspension or termination of all child care services 

for more than 24 hours as a result of an emergency 

situation and any plans to resume child care. 

B. The provider shall inform the department's representative 

as soon as practicable, but not to exceed two business days, of 

any serious injury to a child while under the home's 

supervision.  

C. A written report shall be completed and submitted to the 

department within five working days of the date the incident 

occurred. 

22VAC40-111-870. General requirements for meals and 

snacks. 

A. Meals and snacks shall be served in accordance with the 

times children are in care, which include:  

1. For family day homes operating less than four 

consecutive hours at least one snack shall be served.  

2. For family day homes operating four to seven 

consecutive hours at least one meal and one snack shall be 

served.  

3. For family day homes operating seven to 12 consecutive 

hours at least one meal and two snacks or two meals and 

one snack shall be served.  

4. For family day homes operating 12 to 16 consecutive 

hours at least two meals and two snacks or three meals and 

one snack shall be served.  

B. A family day home shall ensure that children arriving 

from a half-day, morning program who have not yet eaten 

lunch receive a lunch.  

C. The family day home shall schedule have scheduled 

snacks or meals so there is a period of at least 1-1/2 hours, but 

no more than three hours, between each meal or snack unless 

there is a scheduled rest or sleep period for children between 

the meals and snacks. 

D. Children shall be served small-sized portions. 

E. Food shall be prepared, stored, served, and transported in 

a clean and sanitary manner. 

F. E. Leftover food shall be discarded from individual plates 

following a meal or snack.  

G. F. Tables and high chair trays shall be cleaned after each 

use, but at least daily. 

G. Food shall be prepared, stored, served, and transported in 

a clean and sanitary manner. 

H. When food is prepared that a child in care is allergic to, 

the caregiver shall take steps to avoid cross-contamination in 

order to prevent an allergic reaction. 

I. Caregivers who prepare and serve food to children, or 

supervise meals, shall be aware of the food allergies, 

sensitivities, and dietary restrictions for each child.  

J. Caregivers shall not serve prohibited food to a child. 

22VAC40-111-990. Requirements for drivers. 

A. Drivers must be 18 years of age or older. 

B. The provider shall ensure that during transportation of 

children the driver has: 

1. A valid driver's license; 

2. The name, address, and telephone number of the family 

day home;  

3. A copy of the parent's written permission to transport the 

child; 

4. A copy of each child's emergency contact care 

information as required in 22VAC40-111-60 B 2; 

5. Allergy care plan and information as required in 

22VAC40-111-60 B 2; 

5. 6. Emergency supplies as required in 22VAC40-111-

760; and 

6. 7. A mechanism for making telephone calls to 

emergency responders and parents (e.g., change, calling 

card, cellular phone) such as a cellular phone. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4604; Filed December 7, 2016, 8:57 a.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 

a small business impact review of 2VAC5-130, Rules and 

Regulations Governing Laboratory Fees for Services 

Rendered or Performed, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained in its current form. The Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services is publishing its report of 

findings dated October 18, 2016, to support this decision in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

There is a continuing need for this regulation in order to 

support the operation of the Animal Health Laboratory 

System. There have been no complaints from the public 

concerning the regulation. The regulation is necessarily 

uncomplicated. There is no overlap with federal or state law 

or regulations. Technology, economic conditions, and other 

factors have not impacted the need for this regulation but, in 

fact, make the existence of this regulation even more 

necessary as economic conditions have resulted in the Animal 

Health Laboratory System being more dependent on fee 

revenue to provide the current technology needed to offer 

services to clients. The primary effect on small business is a 

beneficial one as veterinary practices, agricultural businesses, 

and livestock and animal owners in the Commonwealth are 

able to obtain laboratory services nearby and at an affordable 

price. Therefore, the agency has determined to retain the 

regulation in its current form. 

Contact Information: Dr. Joseph Garvin, Program Manager, 

Office of Laboratory Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-9202, FAX (804) 371-2380, or email 

joseph.garvin@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 

a small business impact review of 2VAC5-205, Rules and 

Regulations Pertaining to Shooting Enclosures, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services (VDACS) is publishing its report of findings dated 

October 18, 2016, to support this decision in accordance with 

§ 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

There is a continued need for this regulation because there is 

still one shooting enclosure currently operating in the 

Commonwealth. There have been no complaints from the 

public concerning this regulation. This regulation is detailed 

but is clearly written and easily understandable. This 

regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal 

or state law or other regulation but expands upon § 3.2-6039 

of the Code of Virginia. There have been no technologic, 

economic, or other factors that have changed in the area 

affected by the regulation since the last review period. This 

regulation necessarily impacts small business, as the 

operators of shooting enclosures are for-profit private 

businesses. However, the impact is appropriate and necessary 

in order to protect public health, welfare, and safety. The 

collection of a small annual fee from shooting enclosure 

operators is necessary in order to offset any cost to VDACS 

for administering the provisions of the regulation. Therefore, 

the agency has determined to retain the regulation in its 

current form. 

Contact Information: Dr. Carolynn Bissett, Program 

Manager, Office of Veterinary Services, Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-4560, FAX (804) 

371-2380, or email carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 

a small business impact review of 2VAC5-230, Rules and 

Regulations Applicable to Controlled Atmosphere (CA) 

Apples, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services is publishing its report of findings 

dated October 17, 2016, to support this decision in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

The regulation has minimal impact on small businesses. The 

agency is recommending that the regulation should remain in 

effect without change. The regulation promotes the welfare of 

citizens by making available to the public better quality fruit 

throughout the year, and it provides equitable pricing for fruit 

producers and sellers. The agency has not received any 

comments or complaints regarding the regulation. The 

regulation does not duplicate any state or federal laws or 

regulations. The regulation is not overly complex. The agency 

has determined that no changes have occurred in the area 

affected by this regulation since the last periodic review that 

would make it necessary to amend or repeal the regulation. 

The agency believes the current version of the regulation is 

the least burdensome and least intrusive alternative for the 

apple industry and affected small businesses. 

Contact Information: Dennis Clary, Program Manager, 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 

1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-1933, FAX 

(804) 371-7785, or email dennis.clary@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 

a small business impact review of 2VAC5-250, Rules and 

Regulations Relating to Grain Dealers Licensing and 

mailto:joseph.garvin@vdacs.virginia.gov
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Bonding Law, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services is publishing its report of findings 

dated November 15, 2016, to support this decision in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

Because the selling of grain in Virginia is tremendously 

important to the state's economy, there is a continued need for 

this regulation. The agency has determined that this 

regulation is effective in achieving its goals of protecting 

Virginia farmers against loss when selling their grain. The 

agency has not received any complaints or comments 

concerning this regulation. The regulation is not 

unnecessarily complex. The regulation does not conflict with 

state or federal law. The agency has determined that no 

change occurred in the area affected by the regulation 

subsequent to the agency's previous periodic review that 

would necessitate the amendment or repeal of this regulation. 

This regulation is still very important in ensuring fair and 

prompt payment for grain transactions between buyer and 

seller. 

Contact Information: Randy Sanford, Grain Law Supervisor, 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 

1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-3939, FAX 

(804) 371-7785, or email randy.sanford@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 

a small business impact review of 2VAC5-300, Rules and 

Regulations for the Enforcement of the Virginia Seed 

Potato Standards, and determined that this regulation should 

be retained in its current form. The Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services is publishing its report of findings 

dated October 17, 2016, to support this decision in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

The regulation has minimal impact on small businesses. The 

agency is recommending that the regulation should remain in 

effect without change. The regulation assists in ensuring the 

quality of the seed potatoes shipped into Virginia and is 

necessary to support the economic welfare of potato 

producers. The agency has not received any comments or 

complaints regarding the regulation. The regulation does not 

duplicate any state or federal laws or regulations. The 

regulation is not overly complex. The agency has determined 

that no changes have occurred in the area affected by this 

regulation since the last periodic review that would make it 

necessary to amend or repeal the regulation. The agency 

believes the current version of the regulation is the least 

burdensome and least intrusive alternative for the potato 

industry and affected small businesses. 

Contact Information: Dennis Clary, Program Manager, 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 

1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-1933, FAX 

(804) 371-7785, or email dennis.clary@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 

a small business impact review of 2VAC5-370, Rules and 

Regulations for Enforcement of the Virginia Animal 

Remedies Law, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services is publishing its report of findings 

dated October 21, 2016, to support this decision in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

The provisions of this regulation establish general 

requirements that are consistent with current industry 

practices and that are not unnecessarily burdensome. The 

agency has determined that this regulation should be retained 

in order to continue to protect public health, safety, and 

welfare. The agency has not received any complaints or 

comments from the public concerning this regulation. The 

agency has determined that this regulation is not 

unnecessarily complex and that the complexity of this 

regulation is not such that it would have an economic impact 

on small businesses. This regulation does not overlap, 

duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 

The agency has determined that no change in the animal 

remedy industry has occurred subsequent to the agency's 

previous periodic review of this regulation that would 

necessitate the amendment or repeal of this regulation. 

Contact Information: Debra Martin, Program Manager, Office 

of Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-3515, FAX (804) 371-7793, or email 

debra.martin@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 

a small business impact review of 2VAC5-380, Rules and 

Regulations for the Enforcement of the Virginia Dealers 

in Agricultural Products Law, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services is 

publishing its report of findings dated October 21, 2016, to 

support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 

Code of Virginia. 

The provisions of this regulation establish notice and written 

receipt requirements and are not unnecessarily burdensome. 

The agency has determined that this regulation should be 

retained in order to continue to protect and support the 

economic welfare of producers of agricultural produce. The 

agency has not received any complaints or comments from 

the public concerning this regulation. The agency has 

determined that this regulation is not unnecessarily complex, 
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and that the complexity of this regulation is not such that it 

would have an economic impact on small businesses.  

The federal Perishable Agricultural Commodities Act (7 USC 

§ 499a et seq.) (Act) requires any person who buys or sells 

more than 2,000 pounds of fresh or frozen fruits and 

vegetables in any given day to be licensed. Rules and 

Regulations for the Enforcement of the Virginia Dealers in 

Agricultural Products Law (2VAC5-380) does not appear to 

overlap, duplicate, or conflict with the requirements of the 

Act or with any other federal or state law or regulation. The 

agency has determined that no change in the affected industry 

has occurred subsequent to the agency's previous periodic 

review of this regulation that would necessitate the 

amendment or repeal of this regulation. 

Contact Information: Debra Martin, Program Manager, Office 

of Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-3515, FAX (804) 371-7793, or email 

debra.martin@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 

a small business impact review of 2VAC5-405, Regulations 

for the Application of Fertilizer to Nonagricultural Lands, 

and determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services is publishing its report of findings dated October 20, 

2016, to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-

4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency determined these requirements are not 

unnecessarily burdensome and provide an important means of 

ensuring the proper training, certification, and recordkeeping 

for licensees and contractor-applicators who apply fertilizer 

for commercial purposes to nonagricultural lands. The 

regulation also provides a means of enforcing reporting 

requirements for certain fertilizer applications and is 

necessary to minimize the risk of environmental harm 

resulting from the improper application of fertilizers to 

nonagricultural lands. The agency has determined that this 

regulation is not unnecessarily complex, and that the 

complexity of this regulation is not such that it would have an 

economic impact on small businesses.  

Regulations for the Application of Fertilizer to 

Nonagricultural Lands (2VAC5-405) does not appear to 

overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any federal or state law or 

regulation. The agency has determined that no change in the 

affected industry has occurred since the regulation was last 

amended in February 2012 that would necessitate the 

amendment or repeal of this regulation. 

Contact Information: Debra Martin, Program Manager, Office 

of Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-3515, FAX (804) 371-7793, or email 

debra.martin@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 

a small business impact review of 2VAC5-520, Rules and 

Regulations Governing Testing of Milk for Milkfat, 

Protein, and Lactose Content by Automated Instrument 

Methods, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services is publishing its report of findings 

dated October 18, 2016, to support this decision in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

There is a continuing need for this regulation as it provides 

for alternative testing methods for determining the 

composition of milk or other fluid dairy products that are 

cost-effective to the industry. The agency has not received 

any complaints or comments concerning the regulation from 

the public. The regulation is simple and easily understood. 

The regulation is not mandated by any federal law or 

regulation but is authorized by and expands upon state law. It 

does not conflict with any federal or state laws or regulations. 

No changes to agency or industry practices have occurred that 

would necessitate any modifications. The most current testing 

method technologies are supported by this regulation. The 

economic impact of the regulation on small businesses is 

favorable in that small laboratory equipment companies can 

offer for sale alternative testing equipment that meets 

regulatory guidelines. In addition, the regulation is effective 

in providing alternative, cost-effective testing methods for 

determining the composition of milk or other fluid dairy 

products. Therefore, the agency has determined that the 

regulation should be retained in its current form. 

Contact Information: Robert Trimmer, Program Supervisor, 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 

1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-1452, FAX 

(804) 371-7792, or email robert.trimmer@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery were 

filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on December 

7, 2016. The orders may be viewed at the Virginia Lottery, 

900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of 

the Registrar of Regulations, 201 North 9th Street, 2nd Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia. 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Sixty-Two (16) 

Virginia Lottery's "Farm Fresh Season's Winnings 

Promotion" Final Rules for Operation (effective December 1, 

2016, through the end promotion date) 

mailto:debra.martin@vdacs.virginia.gov
mailto:debra.martin@vdacs.virginia.gov
mailto:robert.trimmer@vdacs.virginia.gov
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Director's Order Number One Hundred Sixty-Three (16) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1729 "Diamond Dig" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective November 18, 2016) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Sixty-Four (16) 

Virginia Lottery's "Farm Fresh Big Money Super Ticket 

Promotion" Final Rules for Operation (effective February 1, 

2017, through the end promotion date) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Sixty-Five (16) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1670 "Jumbo Bucks" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective November 18, 2016) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Sixty-Six (16) 

Virginia Lottery's "2017 Super Teacher Awards Contest" 

Final Rules for Operation (effective January 2, 2017) 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Special Order for Bland 
Development Corporation 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Bland 

Development Corporation for violations at Eagle Preserve at 

Jordan on the James in Prince George, Virginia. The State 

Water Control Board proposes to issue a special order by 

consent to Bland Development Corporation to address 

noncompliance with the State Water Control Law and 

regulations. A description of the proposed action is available 

at the Department of Environmental Quality office named 

below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Carla Pool will 

accept comments by email at carla.pool@deq.virginia.gov, 

FAX at (804) 698-4277, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Central Office, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, from December 26, 2016, to January 

25, 2017. 

Proposed Consent Order for Harrisonburg Port 
Road Station Tanks 450, LLC (Port Road) 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Harrisonburg 

Port Road Station Tanks 450, LLC (Port Road) for violations 

at Valley's 21 in Harrisonburg, Virginia. The State Water 

Control Board proposes to issue a consent order to Port Road 

for noncompliance with State Water Control Law. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Tiffany Severs will accept 

comments by email at tiffany.severs@deq.virginia.gov, FAX 

at (540) 574-7878, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Valley Regional Office, P.O. Box 

3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, from December 26, 2016, to 

January 25, 2017. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Amadas 
Industries, Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Amadas 

Industries, Inc. (Suffolk) for alleged violations of the State 

Water Control Law. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Jennifer 

Coleman, Esq. will accept comments by email at 

jennifer.coleman@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-2009, 

or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from December 26, 2016, to 

January 27, 2017. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Marple Run LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Marple Run 

LLC, for Marple Run Subdivision in Hampton, Virginia, for 

violations of the State Water Control Law. A description of 

the proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Russell Deppe will accept comments 

by email at russell.deppe@deq.virginia.com, FAX at (804) 

698-4277, or postal mail at Department of Environmental 

Quality, Central Office, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, from December 26, 2016, to January 25, 2017. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:carla.pool@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:tiffany.severs@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:Jennifer.Coleman@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:Russell.deppe@deq.virginia.com
file://legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-70. Other Provisions. 

Publication: 33:8 VA.R. 786-788 December 12, 2016. 

Correction to Fast-Track Regulation: 

Page 788, 3VAC5-70-20, subsection C, end of line 7, after 

"7.0%" delete "of" and insert "or"  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4756; Filed December 15, 2016, 11:47 a.m. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-431. Sanitary Regulations for 

Hotels. 

Publication: 17:22 VA.R. 3259-3269 July 16, 2001. 

Correction to Proposed Regulation: 

Page 3268, 12VAC5-431-390, after "specified in" delete 

"12VAC5-430-30" and insert "12VA 5-431-30"  

Page 3268, 12VAC5-431-400, subsection A, after "specified 

in" delete "12VAC5-430-30" and insert "12VAC5-431-30" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R94-256; Filed December 14, 2016, 12:24 p.m. 
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