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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair; Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. Hopkins; Leslie L. Lilley; 

E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; 

Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Mark J. Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

January 2017 through February 2018 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

33:11 January 4, 2017 January 23, 2017 

33:12 January 18, 2017 February 6, 2017 

33:13 February 1, 2017 February 20, 2017 

33:14 February 15, 2017 March 6, 2017 

33:15 March 1, 2017 March 20, 2017 

33:16 March 15, 2017 April 3, 2017 

33:17 March 29, 2017 April 17, 2017 

33:18 April 12, 2017 May 1, 2017 

33:19 April 26, 2017 May 15, 2017 

33:20 May 10, 2017 May 29, 2017 

33:21 May 24, 2017 June 12, 2017 

33:22 June 7, 2017 June 26, 2017 

33:23 June 21, 2017 July 10, 2017 

33:24 July 5, 2017 July 24, 2017 

33:25 July 19, 2017 August 7, 2017 

33:26 August 2, 2017 August 21, 2017 

34:1 August 16, 2017 September 4, 2017 

34:2 August 30, 2017 September 18, 2017 

34:3 September 13, 2017 October 2, 2017 

34:4 September 27, 2017 October 16, 2017 

34:5 October 11, 2017 October 30, 2017 

34:6 October 25, 2017 November 13, 2017 

34:7 November 8, 2017 November 27, 2017 

34:8 November 21, 2017 (Tuesday) December 11, 2017 

34:9 December 6, 2017 December 25, 2017 

34:10 December 19, 2017 (Tuesday) January 8, 2018 

34:11 January 3, 2018 January 22, 2018 

34:12 January 17, 2018 February 5, 2018 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Rachel Warrick. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend 18VAC90-20-35 to 

replace the requirement that nurses include first and last name 

on identification badges with a requirement for only first 

name and last initial. 

Agency Decision: Request granted. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At its meeting on 

November 16, 2016, the board decided to issue a Notice of 

Intended Regulatory Action (NOIRA) to initiate rulemaking. 

The board recognized the strong support for the requested 

change but decided it needed to consider various options and 

to gather additional information. Those options may include, 

but are not limited to, maintaining the current language, 

amending to require first name and last initial, amending to 

require identification of the title under which one is practicing 

(RN, LPN, etc.), or eliminating the name tag provision 

completely. The board will be submitting a NOIRA for the 

Governor's approval. Once approved for publication, there 

will be a 30-day comment period, and the board will consider 

what, if any, amendment to propose. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4515, 

or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-05; Filed January 5, 2017, 3:17 p.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medicine intends to 

consider amending 18VAC85-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 

and Chiropractic. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

propose regulations for licensure by endorsement for 

physicians who hold licenses in other states and who meet 

certain requirements established in regulation. The goal of the 

planned action is establishment of an expedited process for 

licensure of qualified physicians who want to practice in 

Virginia, either in person or by telemedicine. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2017. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX 

(804) 527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4970; Filed December 30, 2016, 8:12 p.m.  

BOARD OF NURSING 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Nursing intends to 

consider amending 18VAC90-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing. The purpose of the proposed action 

is to respond to a petition for rulemaking that requested an 

amendment to allow use of first name and last initial on a 

name tag for nurses in all settings. The board's intent is to 

gather additional information about requirements in other 

states and from other boards in Virginia and to solicit 

comment from employers. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-05; Filed December 30, 2016, 8:14 p.m.  

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Long-Term Care 

Administrators intends to consider amending 18VAC95-20, 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Nursing Home 

Administrators. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

protect public health, safety, and welfare and to ensure that 

the regulation is clearly written and easily understandable. To 

that end, many of the considered amendments are editorial or 

intended to clarify existing language. In addition, however, 

the board intends to (i) include the Health Services Executive 

(HSE) credential as a qualification for licensure; the HSE is a 

new credential approved by the National Association of 

Long-Term Care Administrator Boards; (ii) expand the 

grounds for disciplinary actions or denial of licensure to 

include causes that would be considered unprofessional 

conduct but are not explicitly listed in the current regulation; 

and (iii) adopt causes or grounds for action currently listed in 

regulations of other boards, such as the Board of Nursing, 

with the goal of a greater ability to fulfill the mission of 

public protection by citing more specific grounds for action in 

disciplinary cases.  

This Notice of Intended Regulatory Action serves as the 

report of the findings of the regulatory review pursuant to 

§ 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 

(804) 367-4595, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 

corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4984; Filed December 30, 2016, 8:13 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Physical Therapy 

intends to consider amending 18VAC112-20, Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Physical Therapy. The purpose 

of the proposed action is to decide whether to replace the 

Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy Practice 

Review Tool, which as of November 30, 2016, is no longer 

offered, with a self-assessment tool called oPTion that allows 

physical therapists to compare their knowledge, skills, and 

abilities to entry-level general physical therapy practice. The 

oPTion assessment report categorizes the therapist's 

performance into levels one through four. If this replacement 

is made, the board will determine if a specific level of 
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performance will be required for the purpose of licensing 

therapists who have not been engaged in active practice or for 

granting credit to licensees for continuing education.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4674, FAX (804) 

527-4413, or email ptboard@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4983; Filed December 30, 2016, 8:14 p.m.  

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Counseling intends to 

consider amending 18VAC115-30, Regulations Governing 

the Certification of Substance Abuse Counselors and 

Substance Abuse Counseling Assistants. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to (i) clarify certain provisions, (ii) add 

more specific requirements for supervised practice to better 

ensure accountability and quality in the experience, (iii) add 

time limits for completion of experience to avoid perpetual 

supervisees who may continue to practice without passage of 

an examination and completion of certification, (iv) add 

requirements for continuing education as a requisite for 

renewal to ensure on-going competency to practice, and (v) 

place additional standards of practice in regulation to address 

issues the board has seen in complaints and disciplinary 

proceedings and for consistency with other professions in 

behavioral health. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4945; Filed December 30, 2016, 8:11 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Education is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 

agency discretion is involved. The State Board of Education 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-22. Licensure Regulations for 

School Personnel (amending 8VAC20-22-10, 8VAC20-22-

50).  

Statutory Authority: § 22.1-298.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 22, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Patty Pitts, Assistant Superintendent for 

Teacher Education and Licensing, Department of Education, 

101 North 14th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-2522, or email patty.pitts@doe.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 642 and 651 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments provide for the issuance of a 

three-year license to qualified individuals to teach high 

school career and technical education courses in specific 

subject areas for no more than 50% of the instructional 

day or year, on average.  

Part I  

Definitions  

8VAC20-22-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings indicated unless the 

context clearly implies otherwise: 

"Accredited institution" means an institution of higher 

education accredited by a regional accrediting agency 

recognized by the United States U.S. Department of 

Education. 

"Alternate route to licensure" means a nontraditional route 

to licensure available to individuals who meet the criteria 

specified in 8VAC20-22-90. 

"Approved program" means a professional education 

program recognized as meeting state standards for the content 

and operation of such programs so that graduates of the 

program will be eligible for state licensure. The Board of 

Education has the authority to approve programs in Virginia. 

"Cancellation" means the withdrawal of a teaching license 

following the voluntary return of the license by the license 

holder. 

"Career and Technical Education License" means a 

nonrenewable license issued for a three-year validity period 

to a qualified individual to teach high school career and 

technical education courses in a specific subject area for no 

more than 50% of the instructional day or year, on average. 

Individuals to whom this license is issued shall meet the 

requirements specified in 8VAC20-22-50.  

"Certified provider" means a provider certified by the 

Department of Education to provide preparation and training 

for applicants seeking the Provisional License specified in 

8VAC20-22-90. 

"Collegiate Professional License" means a five-year, 

renewable license available to an individual who has satisfied 

all requirements for licensure, including the professional 

teacher's assessments prescribed by the Board of Education. 

"Content area coursework" means courses at the 

undergraduate level (i.e., two-year or four-year institution) or 

at the graduate level that will not duplicate previous courses 

taken in the humanities, history and social sciences, the 

sciences, mathematics, health and physical education, and the 

fine arts. These courses are usually available through the 

college or department of arts or sciences. 

"Denial" means the refusal to grant a teaching license to a 

new applicant or to an applicant who is reapplying after the 

expiration of a license. 

"Division Superintendent License" means a five-year, 

renewable license available to an individual who has 

completed an earned master's degree from an accredited 

institution of higher education and meets the requirements 

specified in 8VAC20-22-600. The individual's name must be 

listed on the Board of Education's list of eligible division 

superintendents. 

"Experiential learning" means a process of applying for an 

initial license through the alternate route as prescribed by the 

Board of Education and meeting the criteria specified in 

8VAC20-22-90 E to be eligible to request experiential 

learning credits in lieu of the coursework for the endorsement 

(teaching) content area. 

"Industry certification credential" means an active career 

and technical education credential that is earned by 

successfully completing a Board of Education-approved 

industry certification examination, being issued a professional 
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license in the Commonwealth, or successfully completing an 

occupational competency examination. 

"International Educator License" means a three-year cultural 

exchange opportunity for Virginia students and international 

teachers. The International Educator License is a professional, 

teaching license issued for no more than three years to an 

exchange educator with citizenship in a nation other than the 

United States of America and employed as an educator in a 

Virginia public or accredited nonpublic school, to teach for 

up to three consecutive years. 

"Licensure by reciprocity" means a process used to issue a 

license to an individual coming into the Commonwealth from 

another state when that individual meets certain conditions 

specified in the Board of Education regulations. 

"Mentor" means a classroom teacher hired by the local 

school division who has achieved continuing contract status 

or other instructional personnel including retired teachers who 

meet local mentor selection criteria. The mentor should work 

in the same building as the beginning teacher or be 

instructional personnel who is assigned solely as a mentor. A 

mentor should be assigned a limited number of teachers at 

any time. Instructional personnel who are not assigned solely 

as mentors should not be assigned to more than four teachers 

at any time. Mentors guide teachers in the program through 

demonstrations, observations, and consultations. 

"Postgraduate Professional License" means a five-year, 

renewable license available to an individual who has qualified 

for the Collegiate Professional License and who holds an 

appropriate earned graduate degree from a regionally 

accredited institution. 

"Professional teacher's assessment" means those tests or 

other requirements mandated for licensure as prescribed by 

the Board of Education. 

"Provisional License" means a nonrenewable license valid 

for a period not to exceed three years issued to an individual 

who has allowable deficiencies for full licensure as set forth 

in these regulations this chapter. The individual must have a 

minimum of an undergraduate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university (with the exception of those 

individuals seeking the Technical Professional License). The 

Provisional License, with the exception of those individuals 

seeking licensure through a career switcher program who will 

be issued a one-year Provisional License, will be issued for 

three years. Individuals must complete all requirements for a 

renewable license within the validity period of the license.  

"Pupil Personnel Services License" means a five-year, 

renewable license available to an individual who has earned 

an appropriate graduate degree from a regionally accredited 

institution with an endorsement for guidance counselor, 

school psychologist, school social worker, or vocational 

evaluator. This license does not require teaching experience. 

"Renewable license" means a license issued by the Board of 

Education for five years to an individual who meets the 

requirements specified in the Board of Education regulations. 

"Revocation" means the withdrawal of a teaching license. 

"Suspension" means the temporary withdrawal of a teaching 

license. 

"Teach For America License" means a two-year provisional 

license available to an individual who is a participant in 

Teach For America and meets the requirements specified in 

8VAC20-22-50. 

"Technical Professional License" means a five-year, 

renewable license available to an individual who has 

graduated from an accredited high school (or possesses a 

General Education Development Certificate); has exhibited 

academic proficiency, technical competency, and 

occupational experience; and meets the requirements 

specified in 8VAC20-22-50. 

8VAC20-22-50. Types of licenses; dating licenses. 

A. The following types of licenses are available: 

1. Provisional License. The Provisional License is a 

nonrenewable license valid for a period not to exceed three 

years issued to an individual who has allowable 

deficiencies for full licensure as set forth in these 

regulations this chapter. The individual must have a 

minimum of an undergraduate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university (with the exception of 

those individuals seeking the Technical Professional 

License).The Provisional License, with the exception of 

those individuals seeking licensure through a career 

switcher program, will be issued for three years. 

Individuals must complete the requirements for the regular, 

five-year license within the validity period of the 

Provisional License. 

2. Collegiate Professional License. The Collegiate 

Professional License is a five-year, renewable license 

available to an individual who has satisfied all 

requirements for licensure, including an earned 

undergraduate degree from a regionally accredited college 

or university and the professional teacher's assessments 

prescribed by the Board of Education. 

3. Postgraduate Professional License. The Postgraduate 

Professional License is a five-year, renewable license 

available to an individual who has qualified for the 

Collegiate Professional License and who holds an 

appropriate earned graduate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university. 

4. Technical Professional License. The Technical 

Professional License is a five-year, renewable license 

available to a person who has graduated from an accredited 

high school (or possesses a General Education 

Development Certificate); has exhibited academic 

proficiency, skills in literacy and communication, technical 

competency, and occupational experience; and has 
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completed nine semester hours of specialized professional 

studies credit from a regionally accredited college or 

university. The nine semester hours of professional studies 

coursework must include human growth and development 

(three semester hours), curriculum and instructional 

procedures (three semester hours), and applications of 

instructional technology or classroom and behavior 

management (three semester hours). The Technical 

Professional License is issued at the recommendation of an 

employing educational agency in the areas of career and 

technical education, educational technology, and military 

science. Individuals seeking military science must have the 

appropriate credentials issued by the United States 

military. In addition to demonstrating competency in the 

endorsement area sought, the individual must: 

a. Hold a license issued by the appropriate Virginia board 

for those program areas requiring a license and a 

minimum of two years of satisfactory experience at the 

journeyman level or an equivalent; 

b. Have completed a registered apprenticeship program 

and two years of satisfactory experience at the 

journeyman level or an equivalent level in the trade; or 

c. Have four years of work experience at the management 

or supervisory level or equivalent or have a combination 

of four years of training and work experience at the 

management or supervisory level or equivalent. 

Individuals holding the Technical Professional License 

who seek the Collegiate Professional or Postgraduate 

Professional License must meet the professional teacher's 

assessments requirement. 

5. School Manager License. The school manager license is 

a five-year, renewable license intended to provide for the 

differentiation of administrative responsibilities in a school 

setting. A school manager is licensed to administer 

noninstructional responsibilities in an educational setting. 

For example, a school manager is restricted from 

evaluating teachers, supervising instruction, developing 

and evaluating curriculum, and serving as a school's 

student disciplinarian. The license is available to a 

candidate who holds a baccalaureate degree from a 

regionally accredited college or university; has three years 

of successful managerial experience; and is recommended 

for the license by a Virginia school division 

superintendent. 

6. Pupil Personnel Services License. The Pupil Personnel 

Services License is a five-year, renewable license available 

to an individual who has earned an appropriate graduate 

degree from a regionally accredited college or university 

with an endorsement for guidance counselor, school 

psychologist, school social worker, or vocational evaluator. 

This license does not require teaching experience. 

7. Division Superintendent License. The Division 

Superintendent License is a five-year, renewable license 

available to an individual who has completed an earned 

master's degree from a regionally accredited college or 

university and meets the requirements specified in 

8VAC20-22-600. The individual's name must be listed on 

the Board of Education's list of eligible division 

superintendents. 

8. International Educator License. The International 

Educator License provides a three-year cultural exchange 

opportunity for Virginia students and international 

teachers. The International Educator License is a 

professional, teaching license issued for no more than three 

years to an exchange educator with citizenship in a nation 

other than the United States of America, and employed as 

an educator in a Virginia public or accredited nonpublic 

school, to teach for up to three consecutive years. This 

license does not require professional teacher's assessments; 

however, the individual will be subject to assessment 

requirements if the individual seeks a five-year renewable 

license. To be issued the International Educator License an 

individual must: 

a. Be employed by a Virginia public or accredited 

nonpublic school; 

b. Hold non-U.S. citizenship and be a nonpermanent 

resident; 

c. Serve as an exchange teacher for a time period not to 

exceed three consecutive years; and 

d. Meet the following requirements as verified by a state-

approved, federally-designated Exchange Visitor 

Program (22 CFR Part 62): 

(1) Be proficient in written and spoken English; 

(2) Demonstrate competence in the appropriate academic 

subject area(s) areas; 

(3) Hold the U.S. equivalent of a baccalaureate degree or 

higher as determined by an approved credential agency; 

and 

(4) Hold U.S. or foreign educator credentials and 

completed at least one year of successful teaching 

experience that: 

(a) Enables the educator to fulfill a similar assignment in 

his home country; or 

(b) Is comparable to those requirements for Virginia 

teachers. 

9. Teach For America License. The Teach For America 

License is a two-year provisional license.  

a. This provisional license is available to any participant 

in Teach For America, a nationwide nonprofit 

organization focused on closing the achievement gaps 

between students in high-income and low-income areas, 

who submits an application and meets the following 

requirements:  

(1) Holds, at minimum, a baccalaureate degree from a 

regionally accredited institution of higher education;  
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(2) Has met the requirements prescribed by the Virginia 

Board of Education for all endorsements sought or has 

met the qualifying scores on the content area assessment 

prescribed by the board for the endorsements sought;  

(3) Possesses good moral character according to criteria 

developed by the Virginia Board of Education;  

(4) Has been offered and has accepted placement in 

Teach For America;  

(5) Has successfully completed pre-service training and 

is participating in the professional development 

requirements of Teach For America, including teaching 

frameworks, curricula, lesson planning, instructional 

delivery, classroom management, assessment and 

evaluation of student progress, classroom diversity, and 

literacy development;  

(6) Has an offer of employment from a local school 

board to teach in a public elementary or secondary school 

in the Commonwealth or a preschool program that 

receives state funds pursuant to subsection C of § 22.1-

199.1 of the Code of Virginia; and  

(7) Receives a recommendation from the employing 

school division for a Teach For America License in the 

endorsement area in which the individual seeks to be 

licensed.  

b. In addition to the criteria set forth in subdivision 9 a of 

this subdivision 9 subsection, any individual who seeks 

an endorsement in early childhood, early/primary, or 

elementary education shall either (i) agree to complete 

such coursework in the teaching of reading as may be 

prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education pursuant 

to 8VAC20-22-130 during the first year of employment 

or (ii) achieve a passing score on a reading instructional 

assessment prescribed by the Virginia Board of 

Education.  

c. Teachers issued a Teach For America provisional 

license shall not be eligible for continuing contract status 

while employed under the authority of a Teach For 

America license and shall be subject to the probationary 

terms of employment specified in § 22.1-303 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

d. The Virginia Board of Education may extend any 

Teach For America License for one additional year upon 

request of the employing school division, provided that 

no Teach For America License shall exceed a total of 

three years in length. 

e. Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, 

upon completion of at least two years of full-time 

teaching experience in a public elementary or secondary 

school in the Commonwealth or a preschool program that 

receives state funds pursuant to subsection C of § 22.1-

199.1 of the Code of Virginia, an individual holding a 

Teach For America License shall be eligible to receive a 

renewable license if he has (i) achieved satisfactory 

scores on all professional teacher assessments required 

by the Virginia Board of Education and (ii) received 

satisfactory evaluations at the conclusion of each year of 

employment.  

f. Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, 

the Virginia Board of Education shall issue a Teach For 

America License to any individual who (i) has completed 

two years of successful teaching in the Teach For 

America program in another state, (ii) is not eligible to 

receive a renewable license, and (iii) meets the criteria in 

subdivision 9 a of this subdivision 9 subsection. 

10. Career and Technical Education License. The Career 

and Technical Education License is a nonrenewable license 

issued for a three-year validity period. 

a. The Career and Technical Education License is 

available to a qualified individual who has been 

employed to teach high school career and technical 

education courses in specific subject areas for no more 

than 50% of the instructional day or year, on average, 

and who meets the following requirements:  

(1) Submits an application in the form prescribed by the 

board that includes a recommendation for such a license 

from the local school board; 

(2) Meets certain basic conditions for licensure as 

outlined in 8VAC20-22-40; 

(3) Meets one of the following requirements:  

(a) Holds, at a minimum, a baccalaureate degree from a 

regionally accredited institution of higher education and 

has completed coursework in the career and technical 

education subject area in which the individual seeks to 

teach;  

(b) Holds the required professional license in the specific 

career and technical education subject area in which the 

individual seeks to teach, where applicable; or  

(c) Holds an industry certification credential, as that term 

is defined in § 22.1-298.1 of the Code of Virginia, in the 

specific career and technical education subject area in 

which the individual seeks to teach; 

(4) Has at least four years of full-time work experience or 

its equivalent in the specific career and technical 

education subject area in which the individual seeks to 

teach; and 

(5) Has obtained qualifying scores on the communication 

and literacy professional teacher's assessment prescribed 

by the board. 

b. The employing school board shall assign a mentor to 

supervise an individual issued a Career and Technical 

Education License pursuant to this subsection during the 

first year of teaching. 

c. Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 10 d of 

this subsection, any individual issued a Career and 

Technical Education License pursuant to this subsection 
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may be granted subsequent three-year extensions of such 

license by the board upon recommendation of the local 

school board.  

d. Any individual issued a Career and Technical 

Education License pursuant to this subsection who 

completes: 

(1) Nine semester hours of specialized professional 

studies credit from a regionally accredited institution of 

higher education; or  

(2) An alternative course of professional studies 

proposed by the local school board and approved by the 

Department of Education shall be granted a three-year 

extension of such license by the board and may be 

granted subsequent three-year extensions of such license 

by the board upon recommendation of the local school 

board. Any such specialized professional studies credit or 

alternative course of professional studies may be 

completed through distance learning programs and shall 

include human growth and development; curriculum, 

instructional, and technology procedures; and classroom 

and behavior management. 

e. No Career and Technical Education License issued by 

the board pursuant to this subsection shall be deemed a 

provisional license or a renewable license, as those terms 

are defined in § 22.1-298.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

f. Individuals issued a Career and Technical Education 

License pursuant to this subsection shall not be eligible 

for continuing contract status while teaching under such 

license and shall be subject to the probationary terms of 

employment specified in § 22.1-303 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

g. The provisions of § 22.1-299.6 of the Code of Virginia 

and of board regulations governing the denial, 

suspension, cancellation, revocation, and reinstatement of 

licensure shall apply to a Career and Technical Education 

License issued pursuant to this subsection. 

B. All licenses will be effective from July 1 in the school 

year in which the application is made. A Virginia employing 

education division or agency is required to notify employees 

in writing at the time of employment of the need to meet 

appropriate assessment requirements for licensure.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4986; Filed December 21, 2016, 11:46 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 14 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts adoption, amendment, or repeal of 

wasteload allocations by the State Water Control Board pursuant to State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) if the board (i) provides public notice in the Virginia Register; (ii) if requested by the public during the initial public 

notice 30-day comment period, forms an advisory group composed of relevant stakeholders; (iii) receives and provides 

summary response to written comments; and (iv) conducts at least one public meeting. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-720. Water Quality Management Planning Regulation (amending 9VAC25-720-90).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 33 USC § 1313(e) of the Clean Water Act. 

Effective Date: February 22, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Craig Lott, Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4240, or email craig.lott@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments revise two existing total maximum daily load wasteload allocations in the Tennessee-Big Sandy River.  

9VAC25-720-90. Tennessee-Big Sandy River Basin.  

A. Total maximum daily loads (TMDLs).  

TMDL 

# 

Stream 

Name 
TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA

1
 Units 

1. Guest River 
Guest River Total 

Maximum Load Report 
Wise P11R Sediment 317.92 LB/YR 
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2. Cedar Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Development for Cedar 

Creek, Hall/Byers Creek 

and Hutton Creek 

Washington O05R Sediment 1,789.93 LB/YR 

3. 
Hall/Byers 

Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Development for Cedar 

Creek, Hall/Byers Creek 

and Hutton Creek 

Washington O05R Sediment 57,533.49 LB/YR 

4. 
Hutton 

Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Development for Cedar 

Creek, Hall/Byers Creek 

and Hutton Creek 

Washington O05R Sediment 91.32 LB/YR 

5. Clinch River 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for the 

Upper Clinch River 

Watershed 

Tazewell P01R Sediment 206,636 LB/YR 

6. Lewis Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for the 

Lewis Creek Watershed 

Russell P04R Sediment 21,732 LB/YR 

7. Black Creek 

General Standard Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Black 

Creek, Wise County, 

Virginia 

Wise P17R Manganese 2,127 KG/YR 

8. 
Dumps 

Creek 

General Standard Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Dumps 

Creek, Russell County, 

Virginia 

Russell P08R 

Total 

dissolved 

solids 

1,631,575 KG/YR 

9. 
Dumps 

Creek 

General Standard Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Dumps 

Creek, Russell County, 

Virginia 

Russell P08R 

Total 

suspended 

solids 

322,234 KG/YR 

10. 
Beaver 

Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for the 

Beaver Creek Watershed 

Washington, 

Bristol 
O07R Sediment 

784,036 

310.91 

LB/YR 

T/YR 

11. Stock Creek 

General Standard 

(Benthic) Total Maximum 

Daily Load Development 

for Stock Creek 

Scott P13R Sediment 0 T/YR 

12. Lick Creek 

Lick Creek TMDLs for 

Benthic Impairments-

Dickenson, Russell and 

Wise Counties 

Dickenson, 

Russell, Wise 
P10R Sediment 63 T/YR 
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13. 
Cigarette 

Hollow 

Lick Creek TMDLs for 

Benthic Impairments-

Dickenson, Russell and 

Wise Counties 

Dickenson, 

Russell, Wise 
P10R Sediment 0.4 T/YR 

14. 
Laurel 

Branch 

Lick Creek TMDLs for 

Benthic Impairments-

Dickenson, Russell and 

Wise Counties 

Dickenson, 

Russell, Wise 
P10R Sediment 3.9 T/YR 

15. Right Fork 

Lick Creek TMDLs for 

Benthic Impairments-

Dickenson, Russell and 

Wise Counties 

Dickenson, 

Russell, Wise 
P10R Sediment 1.3 T/YR 

16. 

Middle Fork 

Holston 

River 

Bacteria and Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Middle 

Fork Holston River 

Washington, 

Smyth 
O05R Sediment  100.4 T/YR 

17. Wolf Creek 

Bacteria and Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Wolf 

Creek 

Washington O06R Sediment 301.6 T/YR 

18. 

North Fork 

Holston 

River 

Mercury Total Maximum 

Daily Load Development 

for the North Fork Holston 

River, Virginia 

Scott, 

Washington, 

Smyth, Bland, 

Tazewell, 

Russell 

O10R Total mercury 11.9 G/YR 

19. 
Laurel 

Creek 

Bacteria and Sediment 

TMDL Development 

Lower Clinch River 

Watershed, VA 

Russell, 

Tazewell 
P05R Sediment 0.26 T/YR 

20. 
Thompson 

Creek 

Bacteria and Sediment 

TMDL Development 

Lower Clinch River 

Watershed, VA 

Russell P07R Sediment 0.22 T/YR 

21. 
Beaver 

Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for the 

Beaver Creek Watershed 

Washington, 

Bristol 
O07 E. coli 

1.23E+12 

4.38E+12 
cfu/year 

22. 

Black Creek 

and 

tributaries 

General Standard TMDL 

Development for Black 

Creek 

Wise P17 Alkalinity 0 kg/year 

23. 
Callahan 

Creek 

Fecal Bacteria and General 

Standard Total Maximum 

Daily Load Development 

for Callahan Creek 

Wise P17 E. coli 1.74E+09 cfu/year 

24. 

Hutton 

Creek and 

tributaries 

Fecal Coliform TMDL 

Development for Cedar, 

Hall, Byers, and Hutton 

Creeks 

Washington O05 Fecal coliform 0 cfu/year 
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25. Cedar Creek 

Fecal Coliform TMDL 

Development for Cedar, 

Hall, Byers, and Hutton 

Creeks 

Washington O05 Fecal coliform 1.55E+10 cfu/year 

26. 
Hall/Byers 

Creek 

Fecal Coliform TMDL 

Development for Cedar, 

Hall, Byers, and Hutton 

Creeks 

Washington O05 Fecal coliform 7.85E+10 cfu/year 

27. Stock Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development Clinch River 

and Cove Creek 

Watershed 

Scott P13 E. coli 2.15E+12 cfu/year 

28. 
Blackwater 

Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development Clinch River 

and Cove Creek 

Watershed 

Lee P16 E. coli 1.13E+13 cfu/year 

29. 
North Fork 

Clinch River 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development Clinch River 

and Cove Creek 

Watershed 

Scott P13, P15 E. coli 1.90E+13 cfu/year 

30. Moll Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development Clinch River 

and Cove Creek 

Watershed 

Russell, Scott P14 E. coli 2.29E+13 cfu/year 

31. Clinch River 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development Clinch River 

and Cove Creek 

Watershed 

Russell, Scott P13, P14 E. coli 2.92E+14 cfu/year 

32. 

Clinch River 

and Plum 

Creek (near 

Tazewell) 

E. coli Total Maximum 

Daily Loads in the Upper 

Clinch River Watershed 

Tazewell P01, P02 E. coli 2.09E+13 cfu/year 

33. 

Clinch 

River, Coal 

Creek, and 

Middle 

Creek (near 

Richlands) 

E. coli Total Maximum 

Daily Loads in the Upper 

Clinch River Watershed 

Tazewell 
P01, 

P02, P03 
E. coli 6.29E+13 cfu/year 

34. 
Garden 

Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for 

Garden Creek 

Buchanan Q04 E. coli 3.86E+11 cfu/year 

35. 

Crab 

Orchard 

Creek 

Bacteria TMDLs for 

Sepulcher Creek, Toms 

Creek and Crab Orchard 

Branch 

Wise P11 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

36. 
Little Toms 

Creek 

Bacteria TMDLs for 

Sepulcher Creek, Toms 

Creek and Crab Orchard 

Branch 

Wise P11 E. coli 1.04E+10 cfu/year 
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37. 
Sepulcher 

Creek 

Bacteria TMDLs for 

Sepulcher Creek, Toms 

Creek and Crab Orchard 

Branch 

Wise P11 E. coli 1.39E+10 cfu/year 

38. Toms Creek 

Bacteria TMDLs for 

Sepulcher Creek, Toms 

Creek and Crab Orchard 

Branch 

Wise P11 E. coli 2.61E+10 cfu/year 

39. Indian Creek 

Bacteria Total Maximum 

Daily Load Development 

for Indian Creek 

Tazewell P02 E. coli 1.75E+10 cfu/year 

40. 

Knox Creek 

and Guess 

Fork 

Fecal Bacteria and General 

Standard Total Maximum 

Daily Load Development 

for Knox Creek and 

Pawpaw Creek 

Buchanan Q03 E. coli 4.53E+10 cfu/year 

41. Slate Creek 

E. coli, Phased Benthic, 

and Phased Total PCB 

TMDL Development for 

Levisa Fork, Slate Creek, 

and Garden Creek 

Buchanan Q07 E. coli 5.29E+11 cfu/year 

42. Levisa Fork 

E. coli, Phased Benthic, 

and Phased Total PCB 

TMDL Development for 

Levisa Fork, Slate Creek, 

and Garden Creek 

Buchanan 

Q04, 

Q05, 

Q06, 

Q07, 

Q08 

E. coli 7.69E+12 cfu/year 

43. 

Lick Creek, 

Laurel 

Branch, 

Cigarette 

Hollow 

Bacteria Total Maximum 

Daily Load Development 

for Lick Creek 

Russell, 

Dickenson 
P10 E. coli 2.42E+11 cfu/year 

44. Little Creek 
Fecal Coliform TMDL for 

Little Creek Watershed 

Washington, 

Bristol 
O07 Fecal coliform 8.29E+09 cfu/year 

45. Bear Creek 

Bacteria and Sediment 

TMDL Development 

Lower Clinch River 

Watershed 

Wise P11 E. coli 2.31E+12 cfu/year 

46. 

Clinch 

River, Little 

Stoney 

Creek, 

Staunton 

Creek, Fall 

Creek 

Bacteria and Sediment 

TMDL Development 

Lower Clinch River 

Watershed 

Russell, Scott P13, P14 E. coli 3.14E+12 cfu/year 

47. 
Russell 

Creek 

Bacteria and Sediment 

TMDL Development 

Lower Clinch River 

Watershed 

Russell, Wise P09, P10 E. coli 8.38E+12 cfu/year 
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48. Guest River 

Bacteria and Sediment 

TMDL Development 

Lower Clinch River 

Watershed 

Norton, Wise P11 E. coli 9.49E+12 cfu/year 

49. Stony Creek 

Bacteria and Sediment 

TMDL Development 

Lower Clinch River 

Watershed 

Scott P12 E. coli 1.00E+13 cfu/year 

50. 

Elk Garden 

Creek, Loop 

Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for the 

Middle Clinch River and 

Tributaries 

Russell P06 E. coli 6.36E+12 cfu/year 

51. 
Swords/Hess 

Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for the 

Middle Clinch River and 

Tributaries 

Russell P04 E. coli 7.04E+12 cfu/year 

52. 
Dumps 

Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for the 

Middle Clinch River and 

Tributaries 

Russell P08 E. coli 9.90E+12 cfu/year 

53. 

Big Cedar 

Creek, 

Burgess 

Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for the 

Middle Clinch River and 

Tributaries 

Russell P06 E. coli 1.34E+13 cfu/year 

54. Lewis Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for the 

Middle Clinch River and 

Tributaries 

Russell P04 E. coli 1.53E+13 cfu/year 

55. Clinch River 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for the 

Middle Clinch River and 

Tributaries 

Tazewell, 

Russell 

P01, 

P02, 

P03, 

P04, 

P05, 

P06, P07 

E. coli 1.64E+13 cfu/year 

56. 

Middle Fork 

Holston 

River (VAS-

O03R-02) 

Bacteria and Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Middle 

Fork Holston River 

Smyth O03 E. coli 2.61E+10 cfu/year 

57. 

Middle Fork 

Holston 

River (VAS-

O03R-01) 

Bacteria and Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Middle 

Fork Holston River 

Smyth O03 E. coli 5.29E+10 cfu/year 

58. 

Middle Fork 

Holston 

River 

Bacteria and Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Middle 

Fork Holston River 

Smyth, 

Washington 

O03, 

O04, 

O05 

E. coli 7.62E+12 cfu/year 
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59. 

Middle Fork 

Holston 

River 

Bacteria and Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Middle 

Fork Holston River 

Smyth 
O03, 

O04 
E. coli 1.04E+13 cfu/year 

60. 

Middle Fork 

Holston 

River 

Bacteria and Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Middle 

Fork Holston River 

Smyth 

O03, 

O04, 

O05 

E. coli 3.56E+13 cfu/year 

61. 
Abrams 

Creek 

TMDL Development 

North Fork Holston River 

Watershed 

Washington O12 E. coli 6.83E+10 cfu/year 

62. 
Possum 

Creek 

TMDL Development 

North Fork Holston River 

Watershed 

Scott O13 E. coli 2.74E+11 cfu/year 

63. 

Big 

Moccasin 

Creek 

TMDL Development 

North Fork Holston River 

Watershed 

Scott, Russell O14 E. coli 4.43E+11 cfu/year 

64. 

North Fork 

Holston 

River, Upper 

TMDL Development 

North Fork Holston River 

Watershed 

Bland, 

Washington, 

Smyth, 

Tazewell 

O09, 

O10, 

O11, 

O12 

E. coli 1.06E+13 cfu/year 

65. 

North Fork 

Holston, 

lower Lower 

TMDL Development 

North Fork Holston River 

Watershed 

Bland, 

Washington, 

Smyth, 

Tazewell, 

Scott, Russell 

O09, 

O10, 

O11, 

O12, 

O13, 

014 O14 

E. coli 1.33E+13 cfu/year 

66. 
Laurel 

Creek 

TMDL Development 

North Fork Holston River 

Watershed 

Tazewell O10 Temperature 2.85 J/m
2
/s 

67. 

South Fork 

Powell 

River 

E. coli and Phased Benthic 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for 

Powell River and 

Tributaries (N.F. Powell 

River, S.F. Powell River, 

Butcher Fork, and Wallen 

Creek) 

Wise P18 E. coli 1.08E+11 cfu/year 

68. 
Butcher 

Fork 

E. coli and Phased Benthic 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for 

Powell River and 

Tributaries (N.F. Powell 

River, S.F. Powell River, 

Butcher Fork, and Wallen 

Creek) 

Wise P18 E. coli 3.08E+11 cfu/year 

69. 
Wallen 

Creek 

E. coli and Phased Benthic 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for 

Powell River and 

Lee P22 E. coli 1.16E+12 cfu/year 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations January 23, 2017 

1197 

Tributaries (N.F. Powell 

River, S.F. Powell River, 

Butcher Fork, and Wallen 

Creek) 

70. 

North Fork 

Powell 

River 

E. coli and Phased Benthic 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for 

Powell River and 

Tributaries (N.F. Powell 

River, S.F. Powell River, 

Butcher Fork, and Wallen 

Creek) 

Lee P20 E. coli 2.17E+12 cfu/year 

71. 

Upper 

Powell 

River 

E. coli and Phased Benthic 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for 

Powell River and 

Tributaries (N.F. Powell 

River, S.F. Powell River, 

Butcher Fork, and Wallen 

Creek) 

Wise P17 E. coli 4.39E+12 cfu/year 

72. 

Middle 

Powell 

River 

E. coli and Phased Benthic 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for 

Powell River and 

Tributaries (N.F. Powell 

River, S.F. Powell River, 

Butcher Fork, and Wallen 

Creek) 

Wise, Lee 
P17, 

P18, P19 
E. coli 9.65E+12 cfu/year 

73. 

Lower 

Powell 

River 

E. coli and Phased Benthic 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for 

Powell River and 

Tributaries (N.F. Powell 

River, S.F. Powell River, 

Butcher Fork, and Wallen 

Creek) 

Wise, Lee 

P17, 

P18, 

P19, 

P20, P21 

E. coli 1.51E+13 cfu/year 

74. 
Straight 

Creek 

Fecal Bacteria and General 

Standard Total Maximum 

Daily Load Development 

for Straight Creek 

Lee P20 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

75. 

Mainstem 

North Fork 

Holston 

River 

General Standard 

(Benthic) Total Maximum 

Daily Load Development 

for Upper North Fork 

Holston River 

Bland, Smyth, 

Tazewell 

O09, 

O10, 

O11 

Chloride 862466 kg/year 

76. Wolf Creek 

Bacteria and Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Wolf 

Creek 

Washington O06 E. coli 7.31E+13 cfu/year 
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77. 

South Fork 

Holston 

River 

E. coli TMDL 

Development for South 

Fork Holston River 

Smyth, 

Washington 

O01, 

O02 
E. coli 7.52E+12 cfu/year 

Notes: 
1
The total WLA can be increased prior to modification provided that DEQ tracks these changes for bacteria TMDLs where 

the permit is consistent with water quality standards for bacteria. 

B. Non-TMDL wasteload allocations. 

Water 

Body 

Permit No. Facility Name Receiving 

Stream 

River 

Mile 

Outfall 

No. 

Parameter 

Description 

WLA Units 

WLA 

VAS-

Q13R 
VA0061913 Pound WWTP 

Pound 

River 
33.26 001 

CBOD5, JUN-

NOV 

28 KG/D 

CBOD5, DEC-

MAY 

47 KG/D 

TKN, JUN-NOV 28 KG/D 

VAS-

Q14R 
VA0026565 

Clintwood 

WWTP 

Cranes 

Nest River 
9.77 001 BOD5 30 KG/D 

VAS-

O06R 
VA0026531 

Wolf Creek 

Water 

Reclamation 

Facility 

Wolf 

Creek 
7.26 001 CBOD5 249.8 KG/D 

VAS-

P01R 
VA0026298 

Tazewell 

WWTP 

Clinch 

River 
346.26 001 

CBOD5, JUN-

NOV 
76 KG/D 

VAS-

P03R 
VA0021199 

Richlands 

Regional 

WWTF 

Clinch 

River 
317.45 001 

BOD5, JUN-

NOV 
273 KG/D 

VAS-

P06R 
VA0020745 

Lebanon 

WWTP 

Big Cedar 

Creek 
5.22 001 BOD5 91 KG/D 

VAS-

P11R 
VA0077828 

Coeburn 

Norton Wise 

Regional 

WWTP 

Guest 

River 
7.56 001 

CBOD5, JUN-

NOV 

303 KG/D 

CBOD5, DEC-

MAY 

379 KG/D 

VAS-

P15R 
VA0029564 

Duffield 

Industrial Park 

WWTP 

North Fork 

Clinch 

River 

21.02 001 BOD5 36 KG/D 

VAS-

P17R 
VA0020940 

Big Stone Gap 

Regional 

WWTP 

Powell 

River 
177.38 001 

CBOD5, JUN-

NOV 
110 KG/D 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5012; Filed December 22, 2016, 8:51 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The State Board of Health will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-481. Virginia Radiation 

Protection Regulations (amending 12VAC5-481-390, 

12VAC5-481-400, 12VAC5-481-421, 12VAC5-481-480, 

12VAC5-481-1210, 12VAC5-481-3120).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-229 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 22, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Steve Harrison, Director - Office of 

Radiological Health, Department of Health, 109 Governor 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8151, 

FAX (804) 864-8155, or email 

steve.harrison@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

As an agreement state with the federal Nuclear Regulatory 

Commission (NRC), Virginia is required to ensure that its 

regulations are compatible with Title 10, Energy, of the 

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). This regulatory 

action amends 12VAC5-481 to implement revisions of Title 

10 of CFR from 2011 until 2013.  

The amendments (i) clarify and update the requirements 

for advance notification of shipment of irradiated reactor 

fuel and nuclear waste; (ii) add or correct citations; and 

(iii) make other technical corrections. 

Article 2  

Exemptions from the Regulatory Requirements  

12VAC5-481-390. Source material.  

A. Common and contract carriers, freight forwarders, 

warehousemen, and the U.S. Postal Service are exempt from 

this part and the requirements for a license set forth in this 

chapter to the extent that they transport or store radioactive 

material in the regular course of the carriage for another or 

storage incident thereto. 

B. Any person is exempt from Part III (12VAC5-481-380 et 

seq.) of this chapter to the extent that such person receives, 

possesses, uses, owns, transfers, or delivers source material in 

any chemical mixture, compound, solution, or alloy in which 

the source material is by weight less than 0.05% of the 

mixture, compound, solution or alloy. The exemption 

contained in this chapter does not apply to Australian-

obligated radioactive material, nor does it include byproduct 

materials as defined in 12VAC5-481-10. 

C. Any person is exempt from Part III (12VAC5-481-380 et 

seq.) of this chapter to the extent that such person receives, 

possesses, uses, or transfers unrefined and unprocessed ore 

containing source material; provided that, except as 

authorized in a specific license, such person shall not refine or 

process such ore. 

D. Any person is exempt from Parts III (12VAC5-481-380 

et seq.), IV (12VAC5-481-600 et seq.), and X (12VAC5-481-

2250 et seq.) of this chapter to the extent such person 

receives, possesses, uses, or transfers: 

1. Any quantities of thorium contained in (i) incandescent 

gas mantles, (ii), vacuum tubes; (iii) welding rods; (iv) 

electric lamps for illuminating purposes provided that each 

lamp does not contain more than 50 milligrams of thorium; 

(v) germicidal lamps, sunlamps, and lamps for outdoor or 

industrial lighting provided that each lamp does not contain 

more than 2 grams of thorium; (vi) rare earth metals and 

compounds, mixtures, and products containing not more 

than 0.25% by weight thorium, uranium, or any 

combination of these; or (vii) personnel neutron dosimeters 

provided that each dosimeter does not contain more than 

50 milligrams of thorium. 

2. Source material contained in the following products: 

a. Glaze ceramic tableware manufactured before August 

27, 2013, provided that the glaze contains not more than 

20% by weight source material; 

b. Piezoelectric ceramic containing not more than 2.0% 

by weight source material; 

c. Glassware containing not more than 2.0% by weight 

source material or for glassware manufactured before 

August 27, 2013, 10% by weight source material, but not 

including commercially manufactured glass brick, pane 

glass, ceramic tile, or other glass or ceramic used in 

construction; or 

d. Glass enamel or glass enamel frit containing not more 

than 10% by weight source material imported or ordered 

for importation into the United States, or initially 

distributed by manufacturers in the United States, before 

July 25, 1983. (On July 25, 1983, the exemption of glass 

enamel or glass enamel frit was suspended. The 

exemption was eliminated on September 11, 1984.) 

3. Photographic film, negatives, and prints containing 

uranium or thorium. 

4. Any finished product or part fabricated of, or containing 

tungsten-thorium or magnesium-thorium alloys, provided 

that the thorium content of the alloy does not exceed 4.0% 

by weight and that the exemption shall not be deemed to 

authorize the chemical, physical, or metallurgical treatment 

or processing of any such product or part.  
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5. Uranium contained in counterweights installed in 

aircraft, rockets, projectiles, and missiles, or stored or 

handled in connection with installation or removal of such 

counterweights provided that: 

a. Each counterweight has been impressed with the 

following legend clearly legible through any plating or 

other covering: "Depleted Uranium";  

b. Each counterweight is durably and legibly labeled or 

marked with the identification of the manufacturer, and 

the statement: "Unauthorized Alterations Prohibited" 

(The requirements of this subdivision need not be met by 

counterweights manufactured prior to December 31, 

1969, provided that such counterweights were 

manufactured under a specific license issued by the 

Atomic Energy Commission and were impressed with 

the legend required by 10 CFR 40.13(c)(5)(ii) in effect 

on June 30, 1969); and 

c. The counterweights are not manufactured for a 

military purpose using Australian-obligated source 

material The exemption contained in this subsection shall 

not be deemed to authorize the chemical, physical, or 

metallurgical treatment or processing of any such 

counterweights other than repair or restoration of any 

plating or other covering. 

6. Natural or depleted uranium metal used as shielding 

constituting part of any shipping container, provided that: 

a. The shipping container is conspicuously and legibly 

impressed with the legend: "CAUTION—

RADIOACTIVE SHIELDING—URANIUM", and 

b. The uranium metal is encased in mild steel or equally 

fire-resistant metal of minimum wall thickness of 1/8 

inch (3.2 mm). 

7. Thorium or uranium contained in or on finished optical 

lenses and mirrors, provided that each lens or mirror does 

not contain more than 10% by weight thorium or uranium 

or, for lenses manufactured before August 27, 2013, 30% 

by weight of thorium; and that the exemption contained in 

this paragraph does not authorize either: 

a. The shaping, grinding, or polishing of such lens or 

mirror or manufacturing processes other than the 

assembly of such lens or mirror into optical systems and 

devices without any alteration of the lens or mirror; or 

b. The receipt, possession, use, or transfer of uranium or 

thorium contained in contact lens, spectacles, or 

eyepieces in binoculars or other optical instruments. 

8. Thorium contained in any finished aircraft engine part 

contained nickel-thoria alloy, provided that: 

a. The thorium is dispersed in the nickel-thoria alloy in 

the form of finely divided thoria (thorium dioxide); and 

b. The thorium content in the nickel-thoria alloy does not 

exceed 4.0% by weight. 

9. The exemptions in this subsection do not authorize the 

manufacture of any products described. 

10. No person may initially transfer for sale or distribution 

a product containing source material to persons exempt 

under this section subsection or equivalent regulations of 

the NRC or another agreement state, unless authorized by 

the NRC with a license issued under 10 CFR 40.52 to 

initially transfer such products for sale or distribution. 

a. Persons initially distributing source material in 

products covered by the exemptions in this section before 

August 27, 2013, without specific authorization may 

continue such distribution for one year beyond adoption 

of this subdivision this date. Initial distribution may also 

be continued until the NRC takes final action on a 

pending application for license or license amendment to 

specifically authorize distribution submitted no later than 

one year beyond adoption of this chapter this date. 

b. Persons authorized to manufacture, process, or 

produce these materials or products containing source 

material, and persons who import finished products or 

parts, for sale or distribution shall be authorized by an 

NRC license issued under 10 CFR 40.52 for distribution 

only and are exempt from the requirements of 12VAC5-

481-450 and Parts IV (12VAC5-481-600 et seq.) and X 

(12VAC5-481-1170 (12VAC5-481-2250 et seq.) of this 

chapter. 

12VAC5-481-400. Radioactive material other than source 

material. 

A. Exempt concentrations.  

1. Except as provided in subdivisions 3 and 4 of this 

subsection, any person is exempt from the requirements for 

a license set forth in this part to the extent that such person 

receives, possesses, uses, transfers, owns, or acquires 

products or materials containing radioactive material in 

concentrations not in excess of those listed in 12VAC5-

481-3720. 

2. This subsection shall not be deemed to authorize the 

import of radioactive material or products containing 

radioactive material. 

3. A manufacturer, processor, or producer of a product or 

material is exempt from the requirements for a license set 

forth in this part to the extent that this person transfers 

radioactive material (i) contained in a product or material 

in concentrations not in excess of those specified in 

12VAC5-481-3720 and (ii) introduced into the product or 

material by a licensee holding a specific license issued by 

the NRC expressly authorizing such introduction. This 

exemption does not apply to the transfer of radioactive 

material contained in any food, beverage, cosmetic, drug, 

or other commodity or product designed for ingestion or 

inhalation by or application to a human being. 

4. No person may introduce radioactive material into a 

product or material knowing or having reason to believe 
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that it will be transferred to persons exempt under this 

subsection or equivalent regulations by the NRC or another 

agreement state except in accordance with a license issued 

under 12VAC5-481-480. 

B. Exempt quantities.  

1. Except as provided in subdivisions 3, 4, and 5 of this 

subsection, any person is exempt from the requirements of 

this chapter to the extent that such person receives, 

possesses, uses, transfers, owns, or acquires radioactive 

material in individual quantities, each of which does not 

exceed the applicable quantity set forth in 12VAC5-481-

3730. 

2. Any person who possesses radioactive material received 

or acquired before September 25, 1971, under the general 

license provided in 12VAC5-481-430 is exempt from the 

requirements for a license set forth in this part and from the 

regulations contained therein to the extent that this person 

possesses, uses, transfers, or owns radioactive material. 

3. This subsection does not authorize for purposes of 

commercial distribution the production, packaging, 

repackaging, or transfer of radioactive material or the 

incorporation of radioactive material into products 

intended for commercial distribution. 

4. No person may, for purposes of commercial distribution, 

transfer radioactive material in the individual quantities set 

forth in 12VAC5-481-3730, knowing or having reason to 

believe that such quantities of radioactive material will be 

transferred to persons exempt under this part or equivalent 

regulations of the NRC or another agreement state, except 

in accordance with a license issued under 12VAC5-481-

480, which license states that the radioactive material may 

be transferred by the licensee to persons exempt under this 

part or the equivalent regulations of the NRC or another 

agreement state. 

5. No person may, for purposes of producing an increased 

radiation level, combine quantities of radioactive material 

covered by this exemption so that the aggregate quantity 

exceeds the limits set forth in 12VAC5-481-3730, except 

for radioactive material combined within a device placed in 

use before May 3, 1999, or as otherwise permitted by this 

part. 

C. Exempt items.  

1. Except for persons who apply radioactive material to or 

persons who incorporate radioactive material into the 

following products, or persons who initially transfer for 

sale or distribution the following products containing 

radioactive material, any person is exempt from this 

chapter to the extent that such person receives, possesses, 

uses, transfers, owns, or acquires the following products: 

a. Timepieces or hands or dials containing not more than 

the following specified quantities of radioactive material 

and not exceeding the following specified quantities: 

(1) 25 mCi (925 MBq) of tritium per timepiece; 

(2) 5 mCi (185 MBq) of tritium per hand; 

(3) 15 mCi (555 MBq) of tritium per dial (bezels when 

used shall be considered as part of the dial); 

(4) 100 μCi (3.7 MBq) of promethium 147 per watch or 

200 μCi (7.4 MBq) of promethium 147 per any other 

timepiece; 

(5) 20 μCi (0.74 MBq) of promethium 147 per watch 

hand or 40 μCi (1.48 MBq) of promethium 147 per other 

timepiece hand;  

(6) 60 μCi (2.22 MBq) of promethium 147 per watch dial 

or 120 μCi (4.44 MBq) of promethium 147 per other 

timepiece dial (bezels when used shall be considered as 

part of the dial); 

(7) The levels of radiation from hands and dials 

containing promethium 147 will not exceed, when 

measured through 50 milligrams per square centimeter of 

absorber: 

(a) For wrist watches, 0.1 millirad per hour (1 microgray 

per hour) at 10 centimeters from any surface, 

(b) For pocket watches, 0.1 millirad per hour (1 

microgray per hour) at 1 centimeter from any surface, or 

(c) For any other timepiece, 0.2 millirad per hour (1 

microgray per hour) at 10 centimeters from any surface; 

or 

(8) 1 μCi (37 kBq) of radium-226 per timepiece in intact 

timepieces manufactured prior to November 30, 2007. 

b. Other products including:  

(1) Static elimination devices that contain, as a sealed 

source or sources, radioactive material consisting of a 

total of not more than 500 μCi (18.5 MBq) of polonium-

210 per device; 

(2) Ion generating tubes designed for ionization of air 

that contain, as a sealed source or sources, radioactive 

material consisting of a total of not more than 500 μCi 

(18.5 MBq) of polonium-210 per device or of a total of 

not more than 50 mCi (1.85 GBq) of hydrogen-3 

(tritium) per device; and 

(3) Such devices authorized before October 23, 2012, for 

use under the general license then provided in 12VAC5-

481-430 and equivalent regulations of the NRC or 

another agreement state and manufactured, tested, and 

labeled by the manufacturer in accordance with the 

specifications contained in a specific license issued by 

the agency, the NRC, or another agreement state. 

c. Balances of precision containing not more than 1 mCi 

(37 MBq) of tritium per balance or not more than 0.5 

mCi (18.5 MBq) of tritium per balance part 

manufactured before December 17, 2007. 

d. (Reserved.) 

e. Marine compasses containing not more than 750 mCi 

(27.8 GBq) of tritium gas and other marine navigational 
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instruments containing not more than 250 mCi (9.25 

GBq) of tritium gas manufactured before December 17, 

2007. 

f. (Reserved.) 

g. Ionization chamber smoke detectors containing not 

more than 1 μCi (37 kBq) of americium-241 per detector 

in the form of a foil and designed to protect life and 

property from fires. 

h. Electron tubes (includes: spark gap tubes, power tubes, 

gas tubes including glow lamps, receiving tubes, 

microwave tubes, indicator tubes, pickup tubes, radiation 

detection tubes, and any other completely sealed tube 

that is designed to conduct or control electrical currents), 

provided that each tube does not contain more than one 

of the following specified quantities: 

(1) 150 mCi (5.55 GBq) of tritium per microwave 

receiver protector tube or 10 mCi (370 MBq) of tritium 

per any other electron tube; 

(2) 1 μCi (37 kBq) of cobalt-60; 

(3) 5 μCi (185 kBq) of nickel-63; 

(4) 30 μCi (1.11 MBq) of krypton-85; 

(5) 5 μCi (185 kBq) of cesium-137; or 

(6) 30 μCi (1.11 MBq) of promethium-147; and 

(7) Provided further that the levels of radiation dose from 

each electron tube containing radioactive material do not 

exceed 1 millirad per hour (10 microgray per hour) at 1 

centimeter (0.39 inches) from any surface when 

measured through 7 milligrams per square centimeter of 

absorber. 

i. Ionizing radiation measuring instruments containing, 

for purposes of internal calibration or standardization, 

one or more sources of radioactive material, provided 

that: 

(1) Each source contains no more than one exempt 

quantity set forth in 12VAC5-481-3730, and 

(2) Each instrument contains no more than 10 exempt 

quantities. For purposes of this subdivision, an 

instrument's source or sources may contain either one 

type or different types of radionuclides and an individual 

exempt quantity may be composed of fractional parts of 

one or more of the exempt quantities in 12VAC5-481-

3730, provided that the sum of such fractions shall not 

exceed unity. 

(3) For purposes of this subdivision, 0.05 μCi (1.85 kBq) 

of americium-241 is considered an exempt quantity 

under 12VAC5-481-3730. 

j. (Reserved.) 

2. Any person who desires to apply radioactive material to, 

or to incorporate radioactive material into, the products 

exempted in subdivision 1 of this subsection, or who 

desires to initially transfer for sale or distribution such 

products containing radioactive material, should apply for 

a specific license pursuant to 12VAC5-481-480 C, which 

license states that the product may be distributed by the 

licensee to persons exempt from the regulations pursuant to 

subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

D. Self-luminous products containing radioactive material.  

1. Except for persons who manufacture, process, produce, 

or initially transfer for sale or distribution self-luminous 

products containing tritium, krypton-85, or promethium-

147, or except as provided in subdivision 3 of this 

subsection, any person is exempt from the requirements for 

a license set forth in this part to the extent that such person 

receives, possesses, uses, transfers, own, or acquires 

tritium, krypton-85, or promethium-147 in self-luminous 

products manufactured, processed, produced, or initially 

transferred in accordance with a specific license issued 

pursuant to 12VAC5-481-480 D, which license authorizes 

the initial transfer of the product to persons who are 

exempt from regulatory requirements. 

2. Any person is exempt from this chapter to the extent that 

such person receives, possesses, uses, transfers, or owns 

articles containing less than 0.1 microcurie (3.7 kBq) of 

radium-226 acquired prior to September 1, 1980. 

3. Any person who desires to manufacture, process, 

produce, or initially transfer for sale or distribution self-

luminous products containing tritium, krypton-85, or 

promethium-147 for use under subdivision 1 of this 

subsection should apply for a license and for a certificate 

of registration in accordance with 12VAC5-481-480 D. 

4. The exemption in subdivision 1 of this subsection does 

not apply to tritium, krypton-85, or promethium-147 used 

in products primarily for frivolous purposes or in toys or 

adornments. 

E. Gas and aerosol detectors containing radioactive material.  

1. Except for persons who manufacture, process, produce, 

or initially transfer for sale or distribution gas and aerosol 

detectors containing radioactive material, any person is 

exempt from this chapter to the extent that such person 

receives, possesses, uses, transfers, owns, or acquires 

radioactive material in gas and aerosol detectors designed 

to protect health, safety, or property from fires and 

airborne hazards provided that the detectors containing 

radioactive material shall have been manufactured, 

processed, produced, or initially transferred in accordance 

with a specific license issued under 12VAC5-481-480 E, 

which license authorizes use under this subsection. This 

exemption also covers gas and aerosol detectors 

manufactured or distributed before November 30, 2007, in 

accordance with a specific license issued by the NRC or 

another agreement state under provisions comparable to 

12VAC5-481-480 C authorizing distribution to persons 

exempt from regulatory requirements. 
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2. Any person who desires to manufacture, process, or 

produce gas and aerosol detectors containing radioactive 

material, or to initially transfer such products for use under 

subdivision 1 of this subsection E, should apply to the 

agency for a license in accordance with 12VAC5-481-480 

C and for a certificate of registration with the NRC in 

accordance with 10 CFR 32.210. 

3. Gas and aerosol detectors previously manufactured and 

distributed to general licensees in accordance with a 

specific license issued by an agreement state shall be 

considered exempt under subdivision 1 of this subsection, 

provided that the device is labeled in accordance with the 

specific license authorizing distribution of the generally 

licensed device, and provided further that they meet the 

requirements of 12VAC5-481-480 C.  

4. Gas and aerosol detectors containing NARM previously 

manufactured and distributed in accordance with a specific 

license issued by the NRC or another agreement state shall 

be considered exempt under subdivision 1 of this 

subsection, provided that the device is labeled in 

accordance with the specific license authorizing 

distribution, and provided further that they meet the 

requirements of 12VAC5-481-480 C.  

F. Radioactive drug: Capsules containing carbon-14 urea for 

"in-vivo" diagnostic use for humans.  

1. Except as provided in subdivision 2 of this subsection, 

any person is exempt from the requirements for a license 

set forth in this part, provided that such person receives, 

possess, uses, transfers, owns, or acquires capsules 

containing 1 μCi (37 kBq) carbon-14 urea (allowing for 

nominal variation that may occur during the manufacturing 

process) each for "in vivo" diagnostic use for humans. 

2. Any person who desires to use the capsules for research 

involving human subjects shall apply for and receive a 

specific license pursuant to Part VII (12VAC5-481-1660 et 

seq.) of this chapter. 

3. Any person who desires to manufacture, prepare, 

process, produce, package, repackage, or transfer for 

commercial distribution such capsules shall apply for a 

license under and a certification of registration in 

accordance with 12VAC5-481-480 I. 

4. Nothing in this subsection relieves persons from 

complying with applicable U.S. Food and Drug 

Administration (FDA), other federal, and state 

requirements governing receipt, administration, and use of 

drugs. 

G. Carriers. Common and contract carriers, freight 

forwarders, warehousemen, and the U.S. Postal Service are 

exempt from this part to the extent that they transport special 

nuclear material in the regular course of carriage for another 

or storage incident thereto. This exemption does not apply to 

the storage in transit or transport of material by persons 

covered by a general license issued under 12VAC5-481-430 

E. 

H. Certain industrial devices. 

1. Except for persons who manufacture, process, 

produce, or initially transfer for sale or distribution 

industrial devices containing radioactive material 

designed and manufactured for the purpose of detecting, 

measuring, gauging, or controlling thickness, density, 

level, interface location, radiation, leakage, or qualitative 

or quantitative chemical composition, or for producing an 

ionized atmosphere, any person is exempt from the 

requirements for a license set forth in § 32.1-229 of the 

Code of Virginia and in Parts III (12VAC5-481-380 et 

seq.), IV (12VAC5-481-600 et seq.), V (12VAC5-481-

1170 et seq.), VII (12VAC5-481-1660 et seq.), X 

(12VAC5-481-2250 et seq.), XII (12VAC5-481-2660 et 

seq.), and XIV (12VAC5-481-3140 et seq.) of this 

chapter to the extent that such person receives, possesses, 

uses, transfers, owns, or acquires radioactive material, in 

these certain detecting, measuring, gauging, or 

controlling devices and certain devices for producing an 

ionized atmosphere, and manufactured, processed, 

produced, or initially transferred in accordance with a 

specific license issued by the NRC under 10 CFR 32.30, 

which license authorizes the initial transfer of the device 

for use under this subsection. This exemption does not 

cover sources not incorporated into a device, such as 

calibration and reference sources. 

2. Any person who desires to manufacture, process, 

produce, or initially transfer for sale or distribution 

industrial devices containing radioactive material for use 

under subdivision 1 of this subsection, should apply to 

the NRC for a license under 10 CFR 32.30 and for a 

certificate of registration in accordance with 10 CFR 

32.210. 

12VAC5-481-421. Requirements for license to initially 

transfer source material for use under the small quantities 

of source material general license. 

A. An application for a specific license to initially transfer 

source material for use under 12VAC5-481-420 A or 

equivalent regulations of the NRC or another agreement state 

will be approved if: 

1. The applicant satisfies the general requirements 

specified in 12VAC5-481-450; and 

2. The applicant submits adequate information on, and the 

agency approves the methods to be used for quality 

control, labeling, and providing safety instructions to 

recipients. 

B. Conditions of licenses to initially transfer source material 

for use under the small quantities of source material general 

license: quality control, labeling, safety instructions, and 

records and reports. 
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1. Each person licensed under subsection A of this section 

shall label the immediate container of each quantity of 

source material with the type of source material and 

quantity of material and the words, "radioactive material." 

2. Each person licensed under subsection A of this section 

shall ensure that the quantities and concentrations of source 

material are as labeled and indicated in any transfer 

records. 

3. Each person licensed under subsection A of this section 

shall provide the information specified in this paragraph 

subdivision to each person to whom source material is 

transferred for use under 12VAC5-481-420 A or 

equivalent provisions of the NRC or another agreement 

state. This information shall be transferred before the 

source material is transferred for the first time in each 

calendar year to the particular recipient. The required 

information includes: 

a. A copy of 12VAC5-481-420 A and 12VAC5-481-570, 

or relevant equivalent regulations of the NRC or another 

agreement state. 

b. Appropriate radiation safety precautions and 

instructions relating to handling, use, storage, and 

disposal of the material. 

4. Each person licensed under subsection A of this section 

shall report transfers as follows: 

a. File a report with the Director, Office of Federal and 

State Materials and Environmental Management 

Programs, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, 

Washington, DC 20555. The report shall include the 

following information: 

(1) The name, address, and license number of the person 

who transferred the source material; 

(2) For each general licensee under 10 CFR 40.22 or 

equivalent agreement state provisions to whom greater 

than 50 grams (0.11 lb) of source material has been 

transferred in a single calendar quarter, the name and 

address of the general licensee to whom source material 

is distributed; a responsible agent, by name, position, or 

both and phone number, of the general licensee to whom 

the material was sent and the type, physical form, and 

quantity of source material transferred; and 

(3) The total quantity of each type and physical form of 

source material transferred in the reporting period to all 

such generally licensed recipients. 

b. File a report with the agency and other agreement state 

agencies that identifies all persons operating under 

provisions equivalent to 12VAC5-481-420 A to whom 

greater than 50 grams (0.11 lb) of source material has 

been transferred within a single calendar quarter. The 

report shall include the following information specific to 

those transfers made to the agreement state to which the 

report is being made: 

(1) The name, address, and license number of the person 

who transferred the source material;  

(2) The name and address of the general licensee to 

whom source material was distributed; a responsible 

agent, by name, position, or both and phone number, of 

the general licensee to whom the material was sent; and 

the type, physical form, and quantity of source material 

transferred; and 

(3) The total quantity of each type and physical form of 

source material transferred in the reporting period to all 

such generally licensed recipients within the agreement 

state. 

c. Submit each report by January 31 of each year 

covering all transfers for the previous calendar year. If no 

transfers were made to persons generally licensed under 

12VAC5-481-420 A or equivalent NRC and other 

agreement state provisions during the current period, a 

report shall be submitted to the agency indicating so. If 

no transfers have been made to general licensees of the 

NRC or in a particular agreement state during the 

reporting period, this information shall be reported to the 

NRC or responsible agreement state agency upon request 

of the agency. 

5. Each person licensed under subsection A of this section 

shall maintain all information that supports the reports 

required by this section concerning each transfer to a 

general licensee for a period of one year after the event is 

included in a report to the agency, the NRC, or another 

agreement state. 

12VAC5-481-480. Special requirements for a specific 

license to manufacture, assemble, repair, or distribute 

commodities, products, or devices that contain radioactive 

material.  

A. Reserved. 

B. Licensing the distribution of radioactive material in 

exempt quantities. (Authority to transfer possession or control 

by the manufacturer, processor, or producer of any 

equipment, device, commodity, or other product containing 

radioactive material whose subsequent possession, use, 

transfer, and disposal by all other persons are exempted from 

regulatory requirements may be obtained only from the 

Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Washington, D.C. DC 

20555-0001.)  

C. Licensing the manufacture or initial transfer of devices to 

persons generally licensed under 12VAC5-481-430 B.  

1. An application for a specific license to manufacture or 

initially transfer devices containing radioactive material, 

excluding special nuclear material, to persons generally 

licensed under 12VAC5-481-430 B or equivalent 

regulations of the NRC, or another agreement state will be 

approved if:  

a. The applicant satisfies the general requirements of 

12VAC5-481-450;  
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b. The applicant submits sufficient information relating 

to the design, manufacture, prototype testing, quality 

control, labels, proposed uses, installation, servicing, leak 

testing, operating and safety instructions, and potential 

hazards of the device to provide reasonable assurance 

that:  

(1) The device can be safely operated by persons not 

having training in radiological protection;  

(2) Under ordinary conditions of handling, storage, and 

use of the device, the radioactive material contained in 

the device will not be released or inadvertently removed 

from the device, and it is unlikely that any person will 

receive in any period of one calendar quarter a dose in 

excess of 10% of the limits specified in 12VAC5-481-

640; and  

(3) Under accident conditions such as fire and explosion 

associated with handling, storage, and use of the device, 

it is unlikely that any person would receive an external 

radiation dose or dose commitment in excess of the dose 

to the appropriate organ as specified in 12VAC5-481-

3580, Column IV;  

c. Each device bears a durable, legible, clearly visible 

label or labels approved by the agency, which contain in 

a clearly identified and separate statement:  

(1) Instructions and precautions necessary to assure safe 

installation, operation, and servicing of the device; 

documents such as operating and service manuals may be 

identified in the label and used to provide this 

information;  

(2) The requirement, or lack of requirement, for leak 

testing, or for testing any "on-off" mechanism and 

indicator, including the maximum time interval for such 

testing, and the identification of radioactive material by 

isotope, quantity of radioactivity, and date of 

determination of the quantity; and  

(3) The information called for in one of the following 

statements, as appropriate, in the same or substantially 

similar form:  

(a) The receipt, possession, use, and transfer of this 

device, Model __________, Serial No. __________, are 

subject to a general license or the equivalent and the 

regulations of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission or a 

state with which the Nuclear Regulatory Commission has 

entered into an agreement for the exercise of regulatory 

authority. This label shall be maintained on the device in 

a legible condition. Removal of this label is prohibited.  

CAUTION—RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL  

____________________Name of manufacturer or initial 

transferor  

(b) The receipt, possession, use, and transfer of this 

device, Model __________, Serial No. ___________, are 

subject to a general license or the equivalent, and the 

regulations of a licensing state. This label shall be 

maintained on the device in a legible condition. Removal 

of this label is prohibited. (The model, serial number, and 

name of the manufacturer or distributor may be omitted 

from this label provided the information is elsewhere 

specified in labeling affixed to the device.)  

CAUTION—RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL  

____________________Name of manufacturer or initial 

transferor;  

d. Each device having a separable source housing that 

provides the primary shielding for the source also bears, 

on the source housing, a durable label containing the 

device model number and serial number, the isotope and 

quantity, and the words, "Caution Radioactive Material," 

the radiation symbol described in 12VAC5-481-850, and 

the name of the manufacturer or initial distributor; 

e. Each device meeting the criteria of 12VAC5-481-430 

B 4 m bears a permanent (e.g., embossed, etched, 

stamped, or engraved) label affixed to the source housing 

if separate, or the device if the source housing is not 

separable, that includes the words, "Caution Radioactive 

Material," and, if practicable, the radiation symbol 

described in 12VAC5-481-850; and 

f. The device has been registered in the Sealed Source 

and Device Registry. 

2. In the event the applicant desires that the device be 

required to be tested at intervals longer than six months, 

either for proper operation of the "on-off" mechanism and 

indicator, if any, or for leakage of radioactive material or 

for both, the applicant shall include in the application 

sufficient information to demonstrate that such longer 

interval is justified by performance characteristics of the 

device or similar devices and by design features that have a 

significant bearing on the probability or consequences of 

leakage of radioactive material from the device or failure 

of the "on-off" mechanism and indicator. In determining 

the acceptable interval for the test for leakage of 

radioactive material, the agency will consider information 

that includes, but is not limited to:  

a. Primary containment or source capsule;  

b. Protection of primary containment;  

c. Method of sealing containment;  

d. Containment construction materials;  

e. Form of contained radioactive material;  

f. Maximum temperature withstood during prototype 

tests;  

g. Maximum pressure withstood during prototype tests;  

h. Maximum quantity of contained radioactive material;  

i. Radiotoxicity of contained radioactive material; and  

j. Operating experience with identical devices or 

similarly designed and constructed devices.  
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3. In the event the applicant desires that the general 

licensee under 12VAC5-481-430 B, or under equivalent 

regulations of the NRC, or another agreement state, be 

authorized to install the device, collect the sample to be 

analyzed by a specific licensee for leakage of radioactive 

material, service the device, test the "on-off" mechanism 

and indicator, or remove the device from installation, the 

applicant shall include in the application written 

instructions to be followed by the general licensee, 

estimated calendar quarter doses associated with such 

activity or activities, and basis for such estimates. The 

submitted information shall demonstrate that performance 

of such activity or activities by an individual untrained in 

radiological protection, in addition to other handling, 

storage, and use of devices under the general license, is 

unlikely to cause that individual to receive a calendar 

quarter dose in excess of 10% of the limits specified in 

12VAC5-481-640.  

4. Each person licensed under this subsection to distribute 

devices to generally licensed persons shall:  

a. Furnish a copy of the general license contained in 

12VAC5-481-430 B to each person to whom he directly 

or through an intermediate person transfers radioactive 

material in a device for use pursuant to the general 

license contained in 12VAC5-481-430 B;  

b. Furnish a copy of the general license contained in the 

NRC's, or another agreement state's, regulation 

equivalent to 12VAC5-481-430 B, or alternatively, 

furnish a copy of the general license contained in 

12VAC5-481-430 B to each person to whom he directly 

or through an intermediate person transfers radioactive 

material in a device for use pursuant to the general 

license of the NRC, or another agreement state. If a copy 

of the general license in 12VAC5-481-430 B is furnished 

to such a person, it shall be accompanied by a note 

explaining that the use of the device is regulated by the 

NRC, or another agreement state, under requirements 

substantially the same as those in 12VAC5-481-430 B;  

c. Report to the agency all transfers of such devices to 

persons for use under the general license in 12VAC5-

481-430 B. Such report shall identify each general 

licensee by name and address, an individual by name 

and/or position who may constitute a point of contact 

between the agency and the general licensee, the type and 

model number of device transferred, and the quantity and 

type of radioactive material contained in the device. If 

one or more intermediate persons will temporarily 

possess the device at the intended place of use prior to its 

possession by the user, the report shall include 

identification of each intermediate person by name, 

address, contact, and relationship to the intended user. If 

no transfers have been made to persons generally 

licensed under 12VAC5-481-430 B during the reporting 

period, the report shall so indicate. The report shall cover 

each calendar quarter and shall be filed within 30 days 

thereafter;  

d. Furnish reports to other agencies.  

(1) Report to the NRC all transfers of such devices to 

persons for use under the NRC's general license in 10 

CFR 31.5.  

(2) Report to the responsible state agency all transfers of 

devices manufactured and distributed pursuant to this 

subsection for use under a general license in that state's 

regulations equivalent to 12VAC5-481-430 B.  

(3) Such reports shall identify each general licensee by 

name and address, an individual by name and/or position 

who may constitute a point of contact between the 

agency and the general licensee, the type and model of 

the device transferred, and the quantity and type of 

radioactive material contained in the device. If one or 

more intermediate persons will temporarily possess the 

device at the intended place of use prior to its possession 

by the user, the report shall include identification of each 

intermediate person by name, address, contact, and 

relationship to the intended user. The report shall be 

submitted within 30 days after the end of each calendar 

quarter in which such a device is transferred to the 

generally licensed person.  

(4) If no transfers have been made to NRC general 

licensees during the reporting period, this information 

shall be reported to the NRC.  

(5) If no transfers have been made to general licensees 

within a particular state during the reporting period, this 

information shall be reported to the responsible state 

agency upon request of that agency; and  

e. Keep records showing the name, address, and the point 

of contact for each general licensee to whom he directly 

or through an intermediate person transfers radioactive 

material in devices for use pursuant to the general license 

provided in 12VAC5-481-430 B, or equivalent 

regulations of the NRC or another agreement state. The 

records shall show the date of each transfer, the 

radionuclide and the quantity of radioactivity in each 

device transferred, the identity of any intermediate 

person, and compliance with the report requirements of 

subdivision 4 of this subsection.  

f. If a notification of bankruptcy has been made under 

12VAC5-481-500 E or the license is to be terminated, 

each person licensed under this section shall provide, 

upon request, to the agency, the NRC and to any 

appropriate agreement state, records of final disposition 

required under subdivision 4 e of this subsection. 

g. The licensee shall maintain all information concerning 

transfers and receipts of devices that supports the reports 

required by this section. Records required by this section 

shall be maintained for a period of three years following 

the date of the recorded event. 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations January 23, 2017 

1207 

D. Special requirements for the manufacture, initially initial 

transfer, assembly, or repair of luminous safety devices for 

use in aircraft. An application for a specific license to 

manufacture, assemble, or repair luminous safety devices 

containing tritium or promethium-147 for use in aircraft, for 

distribution to persons generally licensed under 12VAC5-

481-430 D will be approved if:  

1. The applicant satisfies the general requirements 

specified in 12VAC5-481-450.  

2. The applicant submits sufficient information regarding 

each device pertinent to evaluation of the potential 

radiation exposure, including: 

a. Chemical and physical form and maximum quantity of 

tritium or promethium-147 in each device; 

b. Details of construction and design; 

c. Details of the method of binding or containing the 

tritium or promethium-147; 

d. Procedures for and results of prototype testing to 

demonstrate that the tritium or promethium-147 will not 

be released to the environment under the most severe 

conditions likely to be encountered in normal use; 

e. Quality assurance procedures to be followed that are 

sufficient to ensure compliance with subdivision 8 of this 

subsection; and 

f. Any additional information, including experimental 

studies and tests, required by the NRC to facilitate a 

determination of the safety of the device. 

3. Each device will contain no more than 10 curies of 

tritium or 300 millicuries of promethium-147. The levels 

of radiation from each device containing promethium-147 

will not exceed 0.5 millirad per hour at 10 centimeters 

from any surface when measured through 50 milligrams 

per square centimeter of absorber.  

4. The agency determines that: 

a. The method of incorporation and binding of the tritium 

or promethium-147 in the device is such that the tritium 

or promethium-147 will not be released under the most 

severe conditions likely to be encountered in normal use 

and handling of the device; 

b. The tritium or promethium-147 is incorporated or 

enclosed so as to preclude direct physical contact with it 

by any person; 

c. The device is so designed that it cannot easily be 

disassembled; and 

d. Prototypes of the device have been subjected to and 

have satisfactorily passed the tests required by 

subdivision 4 d 5 of this subsection. 

5. The applicant shall subject at least five prototypes of the 

device to tests as follows: 

a. The devices are subjected to tests that adequately take 

into account the individual, aggregate, and cumulative 

effects of environmental conditions expected in service 

that could adversely affect the effective containment of 

tritium or promethium-147, such as temperature, 

moisture, absolute pressure, water immersion, vibration, 

shock, and weathering. 

b. The devices are inspected for evidence of physical 

damage and for loss of tritium or promethium-147 after 

each stage of testing using methods of inspection 

adequate for determining compliance with the criteria in 

subdivision 5 c of this subsection. 

c. Device designs are rejected for which the following 

has been detected for any unit: 

(1) A leak resulting in a loss of 0.1% or more of the 

original amount of tritium or promethium-147 from the 

device;  

(2) Surface contamination of tritium or promethium-147 

on the device of more than 2,200 disintegrations per 

minute per 100 square centimeters of surface area; or 

(3) Any other evidence of physical damage. 

6. The device has been registered in the Sealed Source and 

Device Registry. 

7. Labeling.  

a. A person licensed to manufacture, assemble, or 

initially transfer devices containing tritium or 

promethium-147 for distribution to persons generally 

licensed under 12VAC5-481-430 D, except as provided 

in subdivision 7 b of this subsection, shall affix to each 

device a label containing the radiation symbol prescribed 

by 12VAC5-481-850, such other information as may be 

required by the agency including disposal instructions 

when appropriate, and the following or a substantially 

similar statement that contains the information in the 

following statement:  

The receipt, possession, use, and transfer of this device, 

Model* ___________, Serial No.*_______, containing 

____________ (Identity and quantity of radioactive 

material) are subject to a general license or the equivalent 

and the regulations of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory 

Commission or of a state with which the NRC has 

entered into an agreement for the exercise of regulatory 

authority. Do not remove this label. 

CAUTION--RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL 

____________________________________________ 

(Name of manufacturer, assembler, or initial transferor.)* 

*The model, serial number, and name of manufacturer, 

assembler, or initial transferor may be omitted from this 

label provided they are elsewhere specified in labeling 

affixed to the device. 

b. If the agency determines that it is not feasible to affix a 

label to the device containing all the information called 

for in subdivision 7 a of this subsection, it may waive 

those requirements and require in the following: 
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(1) A label is affixed to the device identifying: 

(i) The manufacturer, assembler, or initial transferor; and 

(ii) The type of radioactive material; and 

(2) A leaflet bearing the following information be 

enclosed in or accompany the container in which the 

device is shipped: 

(i) The name of the manufacturer, assembler, or initial 

transferor; 

(ii) The type and quantity of radioactive material; 

(iii) The model number; 

(iv) A statement that the receipt, possession, use, and 

transfer of the device are subject to a general license or 

the equivalent and the regulations of the U.S. NRC or of 

an agreement state; and 

(v) Such other information as may be required by the 

agency, including disposal instructions when appropriate. 

8. Quality assurance; prohibition of transfer. 

a. Each person licensed under this subsection shall 

visually inspect each device and shall reject any that has 

an observable physical defect that could adversely affect 

containment of the tritium or promethium-147. 

b. Each person licensed under this subsection shall: 

(1) Maintain quality assurance systems in the 

manufacture of the luminous safety device in a manner 

sufficient to provide reasonable assurance that the safety-

related components of the distributed devices are capable 

of performing their intended functions; and 

(2) Subject inspection lots to acceptance sampling 

procedures, by procedures specified in subdivision 8 c of 

this subsection and in the license issued under this 

subsection, to provide at least 95% confidence that the lot 

tolerance percent defective of 5.0% will not be exceeded. 

c. The licensee shall subject each inspection lot to the 

following: 

(1) Tests that adequately take into account the individual, 

aggregate, and cumulative effects of environmental 

conditions expected in service that could adversely affect 

the effective containment of tritium or promethium-147, 

such as absolute pressure and water immersion. 

(2) Inspection for evidence of physical damage, 

containment failure, or for loss of tritium or promethium-

147 after each stage of testing using methods of 

inspection adequate for applying the following criteria 

for defective: 

(i) A leak resulting in a loss of 0.1% or more of the 

original amount of tritium or promethium-147 from the 

device; 

(ii) Levels of radiation in excess of 0.5 millirad (5 

microgray) per hour at 10 centimeters from any surface 

when measured through 50 milligrams per square 

centimeter of absorber if the device contains 

promethium-147; and 

(iii) Any other criteria specified in the license issued 

under this subsection. 

d. No person licensed under this subsection shall transfer 

to persons generally licensed under 12VAC5-481-430 D 

or under an equivalent general license of the NRC or 

other agreement state: 

(1) Any luminous safety device tested and found 

defective under any condition of a license issued under 

subdivisions 1 through 6 or this subdivision 8 of this 

subsection, unless the defective luminous safety device 

has been repaired or reworked, retested, and determined 

by an independent inspector to meet the applicable 

acceptance criteria; or 

(2) Any luminous safety device contained within any lot 

that has been sampled and rejected as a result of the 

procedures in subdivision 8 b (2) of this subsection, 

unless: 

(i) A procedure for defining sub-lot size, independence, 

and additional testing procedures is contained in the 

license issued under this subsection; and 

(ii) Each individual sub-lot is sampled, tested, and 

accepted in accordance with subdivisions 8 b (2) and d 

(2) (i) of this subsection and any other criteria that may 

be required as a condition of the license issued under this 

subsection. 

9. Transfer reports. 

a. Each person licensed under this subsection shall file an 

annual report with the agency, which shall state the total 

quantity of tritium or promethium-147 transferred to 

persons generally licensed under 12VAC5-481-430 D. 

The report shall identify each general licensee by name, 

state the kinds and numbers of luminous devices 

transferred, and specify the quantity of tritium or 

promethium-147 in each kind of device. Each report shall 

cover the year ending June 30 and shall be filed within 

30 days thereafter. If no transfers have been made to 

persons generally licensed under 12VAC5-481-430 D 

during the reporting period, the report shall indicate so. 

b. Each person licensed under this subsection shall report 

annually all transfers of devices to persons for use under 

a general license in the NRC or another agreement state's 

regulations that are equivalent to 12VAC5-481-430 D to 

(i) the NRC at Director, Office of Federal and State 

Materials and Environmental Management Programs 

Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards, ATTN: 

Document Control Desk/GLTS, by an appropriate 

method listed in 10 CFR 30.6(a) and (ii) the responsible 

agreement state agency. The report shall state the total 

quantity of tritium or promethium-147 transferred, 

identify each general licensee by name, state the kinds 

and numbers of luminous devices transferred, and specify 
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the quantity of tritium or promethium-147 in each kind of 

device. If no transfers have been made to the NRC or 

particular agreement state during the reporting period, 

this information shall be reported to the NRC and 

responsible agreement state agency. 

E. Special requirements for license to manufacture or 

initially transfer calibration sources containing americium-

241, plutonium or radium-226 for distribution to persons 

generally licensed under 12VAC5-481-430 F. An application 

for a specific license to manufacture calibration and reference 

sources containing americium-241, plutonium or radium-226 

to persons generally licensed under 12VAC5-481-430 F will 

be approved if:  

1. The applicant satisfies the general requirement of 

12VAC5-481-450.  

2. The applicant submits sufficient information regarding 

each type of calibration or reference source pertinent to 

evaluation of the potential radiation exposure, including: 

a. Chemical and physical form and maximum quantity of 

americium 241 or radium-226 in the source; 

b. Details of construction and design; 

c. Details of the method of incorporation and binding of 

the americium-241 or radium-226 in the source; 

d. Procedures for and results of prototype testing of 

sources, which are designed to contain more than 0.005 

microcurie (0.185 kilobecquerel) of americium-241 or 

radium-226, to demonstrate that the americium-241 or 

radium-226 contained in each source will not be released 

or be removed from the source under normal conditions 

of use; 

e. Details of quality control procedures to be followed in 

manufacture of the source; 

f. Description of labeling to be affixed to the source or 

the storage container for the source; and 

g. Any additional information, including experimental 

studies and tests, required by the NRC to facilitate a 

determination of the safety of the source. 

3. Each source will contain no more than 5 microcuries of 

americium-241 or radium-226. 

4. The agency determines, with respect to any type of 

source containing more than 0.005 microcurie (0.185 

kilobecquerel) of americium-241 or radium-226, that: 

a. The method of incorporation and binding of the 

americium-241 or radium-226 in the source is such that 

the americium-241 will not be released or be removed 

from the source under normal conditions of use and 

handling of the source; and 

b. The source has been subjected to and has satisfactorily 

passed appropriate tests required by subdivision 5 of this 

subsection. 

5. The applicant shall subject at least five prototypes of 

each source that is designed to contain more than 0.005 

microcurie (0.185 kilobecquerel) of americium-241 or 

radium-226 to tests as follows: 

a. The initial quantity of radioactive material deposited 

on each source is measured by direct counting of the 

source. 

b. The sources are subjected to tests that adequately take 

into account the individual, aggregate, and cumulative 

effects of environmental conditions expected in service 

that could adversely affect the effective containment or 

binding of americium-241 or radium-226, such as 

physical handling, moisture, and water immersion. 

c. The sources are inspected for evidence of physical 

damage and for loss of americium-241 or radium-226 

after each stage of testing using methods of inspection 

adequate for determining compliance with the criteria in 

subdivision 5 d of this subsection. 

d. Source designs are rejected for which the following 

has been detected for any unit (i) removal of more than 

0.005 microcurie (0.185 kilobecquerel) of americium-

241 or radium-226 from the source or (ii) any other 

evidence of physical damage. 

6. Labeling of devices. Each person licensed under this 

subsection shall affix to each source or storage container 

for the source a label that shall contain sufficient 

information relative to safe use and storage of the source 

and shall include the following statement or a substantially 

similar statement which contains the information in the 

following statement:  

"The receipt, possession, use, and transfer of this source, 

Model, Serial No., are subject to a general license and the 

regulations of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 

(NRC) or of a state with which the NRC has entered into 

an agreement for the exercise of regulatory authority. Do 

not remove this label. 

CAUTION - RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL - THIS 

SOURCE CONTAINS AMERICIUM-241 (or RADIUM-

226). DO NOT TOUCH RADIOACTIVE PORTION OF 

THIS SOURCE. 

_________________________________ 

(Name of manufacturer or initial transferor)" 

7. Leak testing of each source. Each person licensed under 

this subsection shall perform a dry wipe test upon each 

source containing more than 0.1 microcurie (3.7 

kilobecquerel) of americium-241 or radium-226 before 

transferring the source to a general licensee under 

12VAC5-481-430 F or under equivalent regulations of the 

NRC or another agreement state. This test shall be 

performed by wiping the entire radioactive surface of the 

source with a filter paper with the application of moderate 

finger pressure. The radioactivity on the filter paper shall 

be measured using methods capable of detecting 0.005 

microcurie (0.185 kilobecquerel) of americium-241 or 

radium-226. If a source has been shown to be leaking or 
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losing more than 0.005 microcurie (0.185 kilobecquerel) of 

americium-241 or radium-226 by the methods described in 

this section, the source shall be rejected and shall not be 

transferred to a general licensee under 12VAC5-481-430 F, 

or equivalent regulations of the NRC or another agreement 

state. 

F. Reserved.  

G. Manufacture and distribution of radioactive material for 

certain in vitro clinical or laboratory testing under general 

license. An application for a specific license to manufacture 

or distribute radioactive material for use under the general 

license of 12VAC5-481-430 G will be approved if:  

1. The applicant satisfies the general requirements 

specified in 12VAC5-481-450.  

2. The radioactive material is to be prepared for 

distribution in prepackaged units of:  

a. Carbon-14 in units not exceeding 370 kBq (10 μCi) 

each.  

b. Cobalt-57 in units not exceeding 370 kBq (10 μCi) 

each.  

c. Hydrogen-3 (tritium) in units not exceeding 1.85 MBq 

(50 μCi) each.  

d. Iodine-125 in units not exceeding 370 kBq (10 μCi) 

each.  

e. Mock iodine-125 in units not exceeding 1.85 kBq 

(0.05 μCi) of iodine-129 and 185 Bq (0.005 μCi) of 

americium-241 each.  

f. Iodine-131 in units not exceeding 370 kBq (10 μCi) 

each.  

g. Iron-59 in units not exceeding 740 kBq (20 μCi) each.  

h. Selenium-75 in units not exceeding 370 kBq (10 μCi) 

each.  

3. Each prepackaged unit bears a durable, clearly visible 

label:  

a. Identifying the radioactive contents as to chemical 

form and radionuclide, and indicating that the amount of 

radioactivity does not exceed 370 kBq (10 μCi) of 

iodine-125, iodine-131, carbon-14, cobalt-57, or 

selenium-75; 1.85 MBq (50 μCi) of hydrogen-3 (tritium); 

740 kBq (20 μCi) of iron-59; or mock iodine-125 in units 

not exceeding 1.85 kBq (0.05 μCi) of iodine-129 and 185 

Bq (0.005 μCi) of americium-241 each; and  

b. Displaying the radiation caution symbol described in 

12VAC5-481-850 and the words, "CAUTION, 

RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL," and "Not for Internal or 

External Use in Humans or Animals."  

4. One of the following statements, as appropriate, or a 

substantially similar statement that contains the 

information called for in one of the following statements, 

appears on a label affixed to each prepackaged unit or 

appears in a leaflet or brochure that accompanies the 

package:  

a. This radioactive material may be received, acquired, 

possessed, and used only by physicians, veterinarians, 

clinical laboratories or hospitals and only for in vitro 

clinical or laboratory tests not involving internal or 

external administration of the material, or the radiation 

therefrom, to human beings or animals. Its receipt, 

acquisition, possession, use, and transfer are subject to 

the regulations and a general license of the Nuclear 

Regulatory Commission or of a state with which the 

Nuclear Regulatory Commission has entered into an 

agreement for the exercise of regulatory authority.  

____________________ Name of manufacturer  

b. This radioactive material may be received, acquired, 

possessed, and used only by physicians, veterinarians, 

clinical laboratories or hospitals and only for in vitro 

clinical or laboratory tests not involving internal or 

external administration of the material, or the radiation 

therefrom, to human beings or animals. Its receipt, 

acquisition, possession, use, and transfer are subject to 

the regulations and a general license of a licensing state.  

____________________ Name of manufacturer  

5. The label affixed to the unit, or the leaflet or brochure 

which accompanies the package, contains adequate 

information as to the precautions to be observed in 

handling and storing such radioactive material. In the case 

of the Mock Iodine-125 reference or calibration source, the 

information accompanying the source shall also contain 

directions to the licensee regarding the waste disposal 

requirements set out in 12VAC5-481-910.  

H. Licensing the manufacture and distribution of ice 

detection devices. An application for a specific license to 

manufacture and distribute ice detection devices to persons 

generally licensed under 12VAC5-481-430 H will be 

approved if:  

1. The applicant satisfies the general requirements of 

12VAC5-481-450;  

2. The applicant submits sufficient information regarding 

each type of device pertinent to evaluation of the potential 

radiation exposure, including: 

a. Chemical and physical form and maximum quantity of 

strontium-90 in the device; 

b. Details of construction and design of the source of 

radiation and its shielding; 

c. Radiation profile of a prototype device; 

d. Procedures for and results of prototype testing of 

devices to demonstrate that the strontium-90 contained in 

each device will not be released or be removed from the 

device under the most severe conditions likely to be 

encountered in normal handling and use; 
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e. Details of quality control procedures to be followed in 

manufacture of the device; 

f. Description of labeling to be affixed to the device; 

g. Instructions for handling and installation of the device; 

h. Any additional information, including experimental 

studies and tests, required by the Agency agency to 

facilitate a determination of the safety of the device; 

3. Each device will contain no more than 50 microcuries of 

strontium-90 in an insoluble form; 

4. Each device will bear durable, legible labeling that 

includes the radiation caution symbol prescribed by 

12VAC5-481-850, a statement that the device contains 

strontium-90 and the quantity thereof, instructions for 

disposal and statements that the device may be possessed 

pursuant to a general license, that the manufacturer or civil 

authorities should be notified if the device is found, that 

removal of the labeling is prohibited, and that disassembly 

and repair of the device may be performed only by a 

person holding a specific license to manufacture or service 

such devices; 

5. The agency determines that: 

a. The method of incorporation and binding of the 

strontium-90 in the device is such that the strontium-90 

will not be released from the device under the most 

severe conditions which that are likely to be encountered 

in normal use and handling of the device; 

b. The strontium-90 is incorporated or enclosed so as to 

preclude direct physical contact by any individual with it 

and is shielded so that no individual will receive a 

radiation exposure to a major portion of his body in 

excess of 0.5 rem in a year under ordinary circumstances 

of use; 

c. The device is so designed that it cannot be easily 

disassembled; 

d. Prototypes of the device have been subjected to and 

have satisfactorily passed the tests required by 

subdivision 6 of this subsection. 

e. Quality control procedures have been established to 

satisfy the requirements of subdivision 8 of this 

subsection; 

6. The applicant shall subject at least five prototypes of the 

device to tests as follows: 

a. The devices are subjected to tests that adequately take 

into account the individual, aggregate, and cumulative 

effects of environmental conditions expected in service 

that could adversely affect the effective containment of 

strontium-90, such as temperature, moisture, absolute 

pressure, water immersion, vibration, shock, and 

weathering. 

b. The devices are inspected for evidence of physical 

damage and for loss of strontium-90 after each stage of 

testing, using methods of inspection adequate for 

determining compliance with the criteria in subdivision 6 

c of this subsection. 

c. Device designs are rejected for which the following 

has been detected for any unit: 

(1) A leak resulting in a loss of 0.1% or more of the 

original amount of strontium-90 from the device; or 

(2) Surface contamination of strontium-90 on the device 

of more than 2,200 disintegrations per minute per 100 

square centimeters of surface area; or 

(3) Any other evidence of physical damage; 

7. The device has been registered in the Sealed Source and 

Device Registry; and 

8. Quality assurance; prohibition of transfer. 

a. Each person licensed under this subsection shall 

visually inspect each device and shall reject any which 

that has an observable physical defect that could affect 

containment of the strontium-90. 

b. Each person licensed under this subsection shall test 

each device for possible loss of strontium-90 or for 

contamination by wiping with filter paper an area of at 

least 100 square centimeters on the outside surface of the 

device, or by wiping the entire surface area if it is less 

than 100 square centimeters. The detection on the filter 

paper of more than 2,200 disintegrations per minute of 

radioactive material per 100 square centimeters of 

surface wiped shall be cause for rejection of the tested 

device. 

c. Each person licensed under this subsection shall: 

(1) Maintain quality assurance systems in the 

manufacture of the ice detection device containing 

strontium-90 in a manner sufficient to provide reasonable 

assurance that the safety-related components of the 

distributed devices are capable of performing their 

intended functions; and 

(2) Subject inspection lots to acceptance sampling 

procedures by procedures specified in subdivision 8 d of 

this subsection and in the license issued under this 

subsection, to provide at least 95% confidence that the lot 

tolerance percent defective of 5.0% will not be exceeded. 

d. Each person licensed under this subsection shall 

subject each inspection lot to: 

(1) Tests that adequately take into account the individual, 

aggregate, and cumulative effects of environmental 

conditions expected in service that could possibly affect 

the effective containment of strontium-90, such as 

absolute pressure and water immersion. 

(2) Inspection for evidence of physical damage, 

containment failure, or for loss of strontium-90 after each 

stage of testing using methods of inspection adequate to 

determine compliance with the following criteria for 

defective (i) a leak resulting in a loss of 0.1% or more of 

the original amount of strontium-90 from the device and 
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(ii) any other criteria specified in the license issued under 

this subsection. 

e. No person licensed under this subsection shall transfer 

to persons generally licensed under 12VAC5-481-430 H, 

or under an equivalent general license of the NRC or 

another agreement state: 

(1) Any ice detection device containing strontium-90 

tested and found defective under the criteria specified in 

a license issued under this subsection unless the defective 

ice detection device has been repaired or reworked, 

retested, and determined by an independent inspector to 

meet the applicable acceptance criteria; or 

(2) Any ice detection device containing strontium-90 

contained within any lot that has been sampled and 

rejected as a result of the procedures in subdivision 8 c 

(2) of this subsection, unless: 

(i) A procedure for defining sub-lot size, independence, 

and additional testing procedures is contained in the 

license issued under this subsection; and 

(ii) Each individual sub-lot is sampled, tested, and 

accepted in accordance with subdivision subdivisions 8 c 

(2) and 8 e (2) (i) of this subsection and any other criteria 

as may be required as a condition of the license issued 

under this subsection. 

I. Manufacture, preparation, or transfer for commercial 

distribution of drugs containing radioactive material for 

medical use under Part VII (12VAC5-481-1660 et seq.) of 

this chapter. 

1. An application for a specific license to manufacture, 

prepare, or transfer for commercial distribution drugs 

containing radioactive material for use by persons 

authorized pursuant to Part VII (12VAC5-481-1660 et 

seq.) of this chapter will be approved if: 

a. The applicant satisfies the general requirements 

specified in 12VAC5-481-450; 

b. The applicant submits evidence that the applicant is at 

least one of the following: 

(1) Registered with the U.S. Food and Drug 

Administration (FDA) as the owner or operator of a drug 

establishment that engages in the manufacture, 

preparation, propagation, compounding, or processing of 

a drug under 21 CFR 207.20(a); 

(2) Registered or licensed with a state agency as a drug 

manufacturer; 

(3) Licensed as a pharmacy by the Virginia Board of 

Pharmacy;  

(4) Operating as a nuclear pharmacy within a federal 

medical institution; or 

(5) A PET drug production facility registered with a state 

agency. 

c. The applicant submits information on the radionuclide; 

the chemical and physical form; the maximum activity 

per vial, syringe, generator, or other container of the 

radioactive drug; and the shielding provided by the 

packaging to show it is appropriate for the safe handling 

and storage of the radioactive drugs by medical use 

licensees; and 

d. The applicant satisfies the following labeling 

requirements: 

(1) A label is affixed to each transport radiation shield, 

whether it is constructed of lead, glass, plastic, or other 

material, of a radioactive drug to be transferred for 

commercial distribution. The label shall include the 

radiation symbol as described in 12VAC5-481-850 and 

the words "CAUTION, RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL" 

or "DANGER, RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL"; the name 

of the radioactive drug or its abbreviation; and the 

quantity of radioactivity at a specified date and time. For 

radioactive drugs with a half-life greater than 100 days, 

the time may be omitted. 

(2) A label is affixed to each syringe, vial, or other 

container used to hold a radioactive drug to be 

transferred for commercial distribution. The label shall 

include the radiation symbol as described in 12VAC5-

481-850 and the words "CAUTION, RADIOACTIVE 

MATERIAL" or "DANGER, RADIOACTIVE 

MATERIAL" and an identifier that ensures that the 

syringe, vial, or other container can be correlated with 

the information on the transport radiation shield label. 

2. A licensee authorized to manufacture, prepare or transfer 

for commercial distribution radioactive drugs shall ensure 

that any individual preparing the drugs is one of the 

following: 

a. An authorized nuclear pharmacist (ANP) as defined in 

12VAC5-481-10; 

b. An individual that who meets the requirements 

specified in 12VAC5-481-1770 and 12VAC5-481-1790, 

and the licensee has received an approved license 

amendment identifying this individual as an ANP;  

c. A pharmacist, as defined in 12VAC5-481-10, 

designated as an ANP if: 

(1) The individual was a nuclear pharmacist preparing 

only radioactive drugs containing accelerator-produced 

radioactive material; and 

(2) The individual practiced at a pharmacy at a 

government agency or federally recognized Indian Tribe 

before November 30, 2007, or at all other pharmacies 

before August 8, 2009, or an earlier date as noticed by 

the NRC; or 

d. An individual under the supervision of an ANP as 

specified in 12VAC5-481-1710. 

3. Shall provide to the agency no later than 30 days after 

the date that the licensee allows, under subdivision 2 a or c 

of this subsection, the individual to work as an ANP: 
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a. The individual's certification by a specialty board 

whose certification process has been recognized by the 

NRC with the written attestation signed by a preceptor as 

required by 12VAC5-481-1770; 

b. An NRC or another agreement state license;  

c. NRC master materials licensee permit;  

d. The permit issued by a licensee or NRC master 

materials permittee of broad scope or the authorization 

from a commercial nuclear pharmacy authorized to list 

its own authorized nuclear pharmacist; or 

e. Documentation that only accelerator-produced 

radioactive materials were used in the practice of nuclear 

pharmacy at a government agency or federally 

recognized Indian Tribe before November 30, 2007, or at 

all other locations of use before August 8, 2009, or an 

earlier date as noticed by the NRC; and 

f. The Virginia Board of Pharmacy's license. 

4. A licensee shall possess and use instrumentation to 

measure the radioactivity of radioactive drugs. The 

licensee shall have procedures for use of the 

instrumentation. The licensee shall measure, by direct 

measurement or by combination of measurements and 

calculations, the amount of radioactivity in dosages of 

alpha, beta, or photon-emitting radioactive drugs prior to 

transfer for commercial distribution. In addition, the 

licensee shall: 

a. Perform tests before initial use, periodically, and 

following repair, on each instrument for accuracy, 

linearity, and geometry dependence, as appropriate for 

the use of the instrument; and make adjustments when 

necessary; and 

b. Check each instrument for constancy and proper 

operation at the beginning of each day of use. 

5. Nothing in this subsection relieves the licensee from 

complying with applicable FDA, other federal, and state 

requirements governing radioactive drugs. 

6. Each licensee preparing technetium-99m 

radiopharmaceuticals from molybdenum-99/technetium-

99m generators or rubidium-82 from strontium-

82/ryubidium-82 generators shall test the generator eluates 

for molybdenum-99 breakthrough or strontium-82 and 

strontium-85 contamination in accordance with 12VAC5-

481-1930. The licensee shall record the results of each test 

and retain each record for three years after the record is 

made. 

J. Manufacture and distribution of sources or devices 

containing radioactive material for medical use. An 

application for a specific license to manufacture and 

distribute sources and devices containing radioactive material 

to persons licensed pursuant to Part VII (12VAC5-481-1660 

et seq.) of this chapter for the medical use of radioactive 

material or use as a calibration, transmission or reference 

source will be approved if:  

1. The applicant satisfies the general requirements in 

12VAC5-481-450;  

2. The applicant submits sufficient information regarding 

each type of source or device pertinent to an evaluation of 

its radiation safety, including:  

a. The radioactive material contained, its chemical and 

physical form, and amount;  

b. Details of design and construction of the source or 

device;  

c. Procedures for, and results of, prototype tests to 

demonstrate that the source or device will maintain its 

integrity under stresses likely to be encountered in 

normal use and accidents;  

d. For devices containing radioactive material, the 

radiation profile of a prototype device;  

e. Details of quality control procedures to assure that 

production sources and devices meet the standards of the 

design and prototype tests;  

f. Procedures and standards for calibrating sources and 

devices;  

g. Legend and methods for labeling sources and devices 

as to their radioactive content; and  

h. Instructions for handling and storing the source or 

device from the radiation safety standpoint; these 

instructions are to be included on a durable label attached 

to the source or device or attached to a permanent storage 

container for the source or device provided, that 

instructions that are too lengthy for such label may be 

summarized on the label and printed in detail on a 

brochure that is referenced on the label;  

3. The label affixed to the source or device, or to the 

permanent storage container for the source or device, 

contains information on the radionuclide, quantity, and 

date of assay, and a statement that the source or device is 

licensed by the agency for distribution to persons licensed 

pursuant to Part VII (12VAC5-481-1660 et seq.) of this 

chapter for the medical use of radioactive material or under 

equivalent licenses of the NRC, or another agreement state, 

provided that such labeling for sources that do not require 

long term long-term storage may be on a leaflet or 

brochure that accompanies the source;  

4. In the event the applicant desires that the source or 

device be required to be tested for leakage of radioactive 

material at intervals longer than six months, the applicant 

shall include sufficient information to demonstrate that 

such longer interval is justified by performance 

characteristics of the source or device or similar sources or 

devices and by design features that have a significant 

bearing on the probability or consequences of leakage of 

radioactive material from the source;  
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5. In determining the acceptable interval for test of leakage 

of radioactive material, the agency will consider 

information that includes, but is not limited to:  

a. Primary containment or source capsule;  

b. Protection of primary containment;  

c. Method of sealing containment;  

d. Containment construction materials;  

e. Form of contained radioactive material;  

f. Maximum temperature withstood during prototype 

tests;  

g. Maximum pressure withstood during prototype tests;  

h. Maximum quantity of contained radioactive material;  

i. Radiotoxicity of contained radioactive material; and  

j. Operating experience with identical sources or devices 

or similarly designed and constructed sources or devices; 

and 

6. The device has been registered in the Sealed Source and 

Device Registry. 

K. Requirements for license to manufacture and distribute 

industrial products containing depleted uranium for mass-

volume applications.  

1. An application for a specific license to manufacture 

industrial products and devices containing depleted 

uranium for use pursuant to 12VAC5-481-420 C or 

equivalent regulations of the NRC or another agreement 

state will be approved if:  

a. The applicant satisfies the general requirements 

specified in 12VAC5-481-450;  

b. The applicant submits sufficient information relating 

to the design, manufacture, prototype testing, quality 

control procedures, labeling or marking, proposed uses, 

and potential hazards of the industrial product or device 

to provide reasonable assurance that possession, use, or 

transfer of the depleted uranium in the product or device 

is not likely to cause any individual to receive in any 

period of one calendar quarter a radiation dose in excess 

of 10% of the limits specified in 12VAC5-481-640; and  

c. The applicant submits sufficient information regarding 

the industrial product or device and the presence of 

depleted uranium for a mass-volume application in the 

product or device to provide reasonable assurance that 

unique benefits will accrue to the public because of the 

usefulness of the product or device.  

2. In the case of an industrial product or device whose 

unique benefits are questionable, the agency will approve 

an application for a specific license under this subsection 

only if the product or device is found to combine a high 

degree of utility and low probability of uncontrolled 

disposal and dispersal of significant quantities of depleted 

uranium into the environment.  

3. The agency may deny any application for a specific 

license under this subsection if the end use(s) use or uses 

of the industrial product or device cannot be reasonably 

foreseen.  

4. Each person licensed pursuant to subdivision 1 of this 

subsection shall:  

a. Maintain the level of quality control required by the 

license in the manufacture of the industrial product or 

device, and in the installation of the depleted uranium 

into the product or device;  

b. Label or mark each unit to:  

(1) Identify the manufacturer or initial transferor of the 

product or device and the number of the license under 

which the product or device was manufactured or 

initially transferred, the fact that the product or device 

contains depleted uranium, and the quantity of depleted 

uranium in each product or device; and  

(2) State that the receipt, possession, use, and transfer of 

the product or device are subject to a general license or 

the equivalent and the regulations of the NRC or another 

agreement state;  

c. Assure that the depleted uranium before being installed 

in each product or device has been impressed with the 

following legend clearly legible through any plating or 

other covering: "Depleted Uranium";  

d. Do the following:  

(1) Furnish a copy of the general license contained in 

12VAC5-481-420 C and a copy of agency form 

"Certificate - Use of Depleted Uranium under a General 

License" to each person to whom depleted uranium in a 

product or device for use pursuant to the general license 

contained in 12VAC5-481-420 C is transferred; or  

(2) Furnish a copy of the general license contained in the 

NRC's or another agreement state's regulation equivalent 

to 12VAC5-481-420 B and a copy of the NRC's or 

another agreement state's certificate, or alternatively, 

furnish a copy of the general license contained in 

12VAC5-481-420 C and a copy of agency form 

"Certificate - Use of Depleted Uranium under a General 

License" to each person to whom depleted uranium in a 

product or device for use pursuant to the general license 

of the NRC or another agreement state is transferred, 

with a note explaining that use of the product or device is 

regulated by the NRC or another agreement state under 

requirements substantially the same as those in 12VAC5-

481-420 C;  

e. Report to the agency all transfers of industrial products 

or devices to persons for use under the general license in 

12VAC5-481-420 C. Such report shall identify each 

general licensee by name and address, an individual by 

name and/or position who may constitute a point of 

contact between the agency and the general licensee, the 

type and model number of device transferred, and the 
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quantity of depleted uranium contained in the product or 

device. The report shall be submitted within 30 days after 

the end of each calendar quarter in which such a product 

or device is transferred to the generally licensed person. 

If no transfers have been made to persons generally 

licensed under 12VAC5-481-420 C during the reporting 

period, the report shall so indicate;  

f. Do the following:  

(1) Report to the NRC all transfers of industrial products 

or devices to persons for use under the NRC general 

license in 10 CFR 40.25;  

(2) For devices transferred to another agreement state, 

report to the responsible state agency all transfers of 

devices manufactured and distributed pursuant to this 

subsection for use under a general license in that state's 

regulations equivalent to 12VAC5-481-420 C;  

(3) Such report shall identify each general licensee by 

name and address, an individual by name and/or position 

who may constitute a point of contact between the 

agency and the general licensee, the type and model 

number of the device transferred, and the quantity of 

depleted uranium contained in the product or device. The 

report shall be submitted within 30 days after the end of 

each calendar quarter in which such product or device is 

transferred to the generally licensed person;  

(4) If no transfers have been made to NRC licensees 

during the reporting period, this information shall be 

reported to the NRC; and  

(5) If no transfers have been made to general licensees 

within another agreement state during the reporting 

period, this information shall be reported to the 

responsible state agency upon the request of that agency; 

and keep records showing the name, address, and point 

of contact for each general licensee to whom he transfers 

depleted uranium in industrial products or devices for use 

pursuant to the general license provided in 12VAC5-481-

420 C or equivalent regulations of the NRC or another 

agreement state. The records shall be maintained for a 

period of two years and shall show the date of each 

transfer, the quantity of depleted uranium in each product 

or device transferred, and compliance with the report 

requirements of this section.  

L. Serialization of nationally tracked sources. Each licensee 

who manufactures a nationally tracked source shall assign a 

unique serial number to each nationally tracked source. Serial 

numbers shall be composed only of alpha-numeric characters. 

12VAC5-481-1210. Performance requirements for 

industrial radiography equipment.  

A. Equipment used in industrial radiographic operations 

must meet the following minimum criteria:  

Each radiographic exposure device, source assembly or 

sealed source, and all associated equipment must meet the 

requirements specified in American National Standard 

Institute, N432-1980 "Radiological Safety for the Design and 

Construction of Apparatus for Gamma Radiography," 

(published as NBS Handbook 136, issued January 1981);. 

This publication may be purchased from the American 

National Standards Institute, Inc., 25 West 43rd Street, New 

York, NY 10036; telephone: (212) 642-4900. 

B. In addition to the requirements specified in this section 

the following requirements apply to radiographic exposure 

devices, source changers, source assemblies and sealed 

sources;: 

1. The licensee shall ensure that each radiographic 

exposure device has attached to it a durable, legible, 

clearly visible label bearing the:  

a. Chemical symbol and mass number of the radionuclide 

in the device;  

b. Activity and the date on which this activity was last 

measured;  

c. Model or product code and serial number of the sealed 

source;  

d. Name of the manufacturer of the sealed source; and  

e. Licensee's name, address, and telephone number.  

2. Radiographic exposure devices intended for use as Type 

B packages must meet the applicable transportation 

requirements of Part XIII (12VAC5-481-2950 et seq.) of 

this chapter.  

3. Modification of radiographic exposure devices, source 

changers, and source assemblies and associated equipment 

is prohibited, unless approved by the agency or other 

approval body.  

C. In addition to the requirements specified in subsections A 

and B of this section, the following requirements apply to 

radiographic exposure devices, source assemblies, and 

associated equipment that allow the source to be moved out 

of the device for radiographic operations or to source 

changers;:  

1. The coupling between the source assembly and the 

control cable must be designed in such a manner that the 

source assembly will not become disconnected if cranked 

outside the guide tube. The coupling must be such that it 

cannot be unintentionally disconnected under normal and 

reasonably foreseeable abnormal conditions.  

2. The device must automatically secure the source 

assembly when it is cranked back into the fully shielded 

position within the device. This securing system may only 

be released by means of a deliberate operation on the 

exposure device.  

3. The outlet fittings, lock box, and drive cable fittings on 

each radiographic exposure device must be equipped with 

safety plugs or covers that must be installed during storage 

and transportation to protect the source assembly from 

water, mud, sand or other foreign matter.  
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4. Each sealed source or source assembly must have 

attached to it or engraved on it, a durable, legible, visible 

label with the words:  

"DANGER—RADIOACTIVE."  

The label may not interfere with the safe operation of the 

exposure device or associated equipment.  

5. The guide tube must be able to withstand a crushing test 

that closely approximates the crushing forces that are likely 

to be encountered during use, and be able to withstand a 

kinking resistance test that closely approximates the 

kinking forces that are likely to be encountered during use.  

6. Guide tubes must be used when moving the source out 

of the device.  

7. An exposure head or similar device designed to prevent 

the source assembly from passing out of the end of the 

guide tube must be attached to the outermost end of the 

guide tube during industrial radiography operations.  

8. The guide tube exposure head connection must be able 

to withstand the tensile test for control units specified in 

ANSI N432-1980.  

9. Source changers must provide a system for ensuring that 

the source will not be accidentally withdrawn from the 

changer when connecting or disconnecting the drive cable 

to or from a source assembly.  

D. All radiographic exposure devices and associated 

equipment in use after January 10, 1996, must comply with 

the requirements of this section; and. 

E. As an exception to subsection A of this section, 

equipment used in industrial radiographic operations need not 

comply with 8.9.2(c) of the Endurance Test in American 

National Standards Institute N432-1980, if the prototype 

equipment has been tested using a torque value representative 

of the torque that an individual using the radiography 

equipment can reasonably exert on the lever or crankshaft of 

the drive mechanism.  

12VAC5-481-3120. Advance notification of transport of 

nuclear waste.  

A. Prior to the transport of any nuclear waste outside of the 

confines of the licensee's facility or other place of use or 

storage, or prior to the delivery of any nuclear waste to a 

carrier for transport, each licensee shall provide advance 

notification of such transport.  

B. Advance notification for transport of licensed material is 

required when:  

1. The licensed material is required to be in Type B 

packaging for transportation;  

2. The licensed material is being transported through 

Virginia to or across state boundary en route to a disposal 

facility or to a collection point for transport to a disposal 

facility; and  

3. The quantity of licensed material in a single package 

exceeds:  

a. 3000 times the A1 value of the radionuclides as 

specified in 12VAC5-481-3770;  

b. 3000 times the A2 value of the radionuclides as 

specified in 12VAC5-481-3770; or  

c. 1000 terabecquerel (27,000 curies).  

C. Each advance notification required by subsections A and 

B of this section shall contain the following information:  

1. The name, address, and telephone number of the 

shipper, carrier, and receiver of the shipment;  

2. A description of the nuclear waste contained in the 

shipment as required by 49 CFR 172.202 and 172.203(d);  

3. The point of origin of the shipment and the seven-day 

period during which departure of the shipment is estimated 

to occur;  

4. The seven-day period during which arrival of the 

shipment at state boundaries or tribal reservation 

boundaries is estimated to occur;  

5. The destination of the shipment, and the seven-day 

period during which arrival of the shipment is estimated to 

occur; and  

6. A point of contact with a telephone number for current 

shipment information.  

D. The notification required by subsections A and B of this 

section shall be made in writing to the each office of the 

governor or governor's designee, the office of each 

appropriate tribal official or tribal official's designee, and to 

the agency. A notification delivered by mail shall be 

postmarked at least seven days before the beginning of the 

seven-day period during which departure of the shipment is 

estimated to occur. A notification delivered by messenger any 

other means than mail shall reach the each office of the 

governor or governor's designee, the office of each 

appropriate tribal official or tribal official's designee, and the 

agency, at least four days before the beginning of the seven-

day period during which departure of the shipment is 

estimated to occur. A copy of the notification shall be 

retained by the licensee for three years.  

1. A list of names and mailing addresses of the governors' 

designees receiving advance notification of transportation 

of nuclear waste was published in the Federal Register on 

June 30, 1995 (60 FR 34306). 

2. Contact information for each state, including telephone 

and mailing addresses of governors and governors' 

designees, and participating tribes, including telephone and 

mailing addresses of tribal officials and tribal officials' 

designees, is available on the NRC website at: 

https://scp.nrc.gov/special/designee.pdf. 

3. A list of the names and mailing addresses of the 

governors' designees and tribal officials' designees of 

participating tribes is available on request from the 

Director, Division of Material Safety, State, Tribal and 

Rulemaking Program, Office of Nuclear Material Safety 

https://scp.nrc.gov/special/designee.pdf
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and Safeguards, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, 

Washington, DC 20555-0001. 

E. The licensee shall notify the governor or governor's 

designee, the office of each appropriate tribal official or tribal 

official's designee, and the agency of any changes to schedule 

information provided pursuant to subsections A and B of this 

section. Such notification shall be by telephone to a 

responsible individual in the office of the governor or 

governor's designee, the office of each appropriate tribal 

official or tribal official's designee, and the agency. The 

licensee shall maintain for three years a record of the name of 

the individual contacted.  

F. Each licensee who cancels a nuclear waste shipment, for 

which advance notification has been sent, shall send a 

cancellation notice, identifying the advance notification that 

is being canceled, to the governor or governor's designee, the 

office of each appropriate tribal official or tribal official's 

designee, and to the agency. A copy of the notice shall be 

retained by the licensee for three years.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4897; Filed December 29, 2016, 8:17 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-30. Groups Covered and 

Agencies Responsible for Eligibility Determination 

(amending 12VAC30-30-20). 

12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and Scope of Medical 

and Remedial Care Services (amending 12VAC30-50-

130). 

12VAC30-135. Demonstration Waiver Services (repealing 

12VAC30-135-10 through 12VAC30-135-90).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Date: February 22, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Victoria Simmons, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-6043, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

victoria.simmons@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Item 301 UU of Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts 

of Assembly, the amendments move the family planning 

program from demonstration waiver regulations to state 

plan regulations. The amendments (i) increase the income 

level for eligibility for the program; (ii) authorize use of 

the Department of Medical Assistance Services Central 

Processing Unit or other contractor for determining 

eligibility, provided that DMAS determines that this is the 

most practicable approach; (iii) clarify that individuals 

eligible for full-benefit coverage under Medicaid or 

FAMIS are not eligible under this program; and (iv) 

authorize coverage for additional testing, beyond the 

initial testing, for sexually transmitted infections and 

newer methods of cervical cancer screening. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

12VAC30-30-20. Optional groups other than the 

medically needy. 

The Title IV A agency determines eligibility for Title XIX 

services.  

1. Caretakers and pregnant women who meet the income 

and resource requirements of AFDC but who do not 

receive cash assistance.  

2. Individuals who would be eligible for AFDC, SSI or an 

optional state supplement as specified in 42 CFR 435.230, 

if they were not in a medical institution.  

3. A group or groups of individuals who would be eligible 

for Medicaid under the plan if they were in a NF or an 

ICF/MR, who but for the provision of home and 

community-based services under a waiver granted under 

42 CFR Part 441, Subpart G would require 

institutionalization, and who will receive home and 

community-based services under the waiver. The group or 

groups covered are listed in the waiver request. This option 

is effective on the effective date of the state's § 1915(c) 

waiver under which this group(s) group is covered. In the 

event an existing § 1915(c) waiver is amended to cover this 

group(s) group, this option is effective on the effective date 

of the amendment.  

4. Individuals who would be eligible for Medicaid under 

the plan if they were in a medical institution, who are 

terminally ill, and who receive hospice care in accordance 

with a voluntary election described in § 1905(o) of the Act.  

5. The state does not cover all individuals who are not 

described in § 1902(a)(10)(A)(i) of the Act, who meet the 

income and resource requirements of the AFDC state plan 

and who are under the age of 21. The state does cover 

reasonable classifications of these individuals as follows:  

a. Individuals for whom public agencies are assuming 

full or partial financial responsibility and who are:  

(1) In foster homes (and are under the age of 21).  

(2) In private institutions (and are under the age of 21).  

(3) In addition to the group under subdivisions 5 a (1) 

and (2) of this section, individuals placed in foster homes 

or private institutions by private nonprofit agencies (and 

are under the age of 21).  

b. Individuals in adoptions subsidized in full or part by a 

public agency (who are under the age of 21).  

c. Individuals in NFs (who are under the age of 21). NF 

services are provided under this plan.  

d. In addition to the group under subdivision 5 c of this 

section, individuals in ICFs/MR (who are under the age 

of 21).  
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6. A child for whom there is in effect a state adoption 

assistance agreement (other than under Title IV-E of the 

Act), who, as determined by the state adoption agency, 

cannot be placed for adoption without medical assistance 

because the child has special care needs for medical or 

rehabilitative care, and who before execution of the 

agreement:  

a. Was eligible for Medicaid under the state's approved 

Medicaid plan; or  

b. Would have been eligible for Medicaid if the standards 

and methodologies of the Title IV-E foster care program 

were applied rather than the AFDC standards and 

methodologies.  

The state covers individuals under the age of 21.  

7. Section 1902(f) states and SSI criteria states without 

agreements under §§ 1616 and 1634 of the Act.  

The following groups of individuals who receive a state 

supplementary payment under an approved optional state 

supplementary payment program that meets the following 

conditions. The supplement is:  

a. Based on need and paid in cash on a regular basis.  

b. Equal to the difference between the individual's 

countable income and the income standard used to 

determine eligibility for the supplement.  

c. Available to all individuals in each classification and 

available on a statewide basis.  

d. Paid to one or more of the following classifications of 

individuals:  

(1) Aged individuals in domiciliary facilities or other 

group living arrangements as defined under SSI.  

(2) Blind individuals in domiciliary facilities or other 

group living arrangements as defined under SSI.  

(3) Disabled individuals in domiciliary facilities or other 

group living arrangements as defined under SSI.  

(4) Individuals receiving a state administered optional 

state supplement that meets the conditions specified in 42 

CFR 435.230.  

The supplement varies in income standard by political 

subdivisions according to cost-of-living differences.  

The standards for optional state supplementary payments 

are listed in 12VAC30-40-250.  

8. Individuals who are in institutions for at least 30 

consecutive days and who are eligible under a special 

income level. Eligibility begins on the first day of the 30-

day period. These individuals meet the income standards 

specified in 12VAC30-40-220.  

The state covers all individuals as described above.  

9. Individuals who are 65 years of age or older or who are 

disabled as determined under § 1614(a)(3) of the Act, 

whose income does not exceed the income level specified 

in 12VAC30-40-220 for a family of the same size, and 

whose resources do not exceed the maximum amount 

allowed under SSI.  

10. Individuals required to enroll in cost-effective 

employer-based group health plans remain eligible for a 

minimum enrollment period of one month.  

11. Women who have been screened for breast or cervical 

cancer under the Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention Breast and Cervical Cancer Early Detection 

Program established under Title XV of the Public Health 

Service Act in accordance with § 1504 of the Act and need 

treatment for breast or cervical cancer, including a pre-

cancerous condition of the breast or cervix. These women 

are not otherwise covered under creditable coverage, as 

defined in § 2701(c) of the Public Health Services Act, are 

not eligible for Medicaid under any mandatory 

categorically needy eligibility group, and have not attained 

age 65.  

12. Individuals who may qualify for the Medicaid Buy-In 

program under § 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XV) of the Social 

Security Act (Ticket to Work Act) if they meet the 

requirements for the 80% eligibility group described in 

12VAC30-40-220, as well as the requirements described in 

12VAC30-40-105 and 12VAC30-110-1500. 

13. Individuals under the State Eligibility Option of P.L. 

111-148 § 2303 who are not pregnant and whose income 

does not exceed the state established income standard for 

pregnant women in the Virginia Medicaid and CHIP State 

Plan and related waivers, which is 200% of the federal 

poverty level, shall be eligible for the family planning 

program. Services are limited to family planning services 

as described in 12VAC30-50-130 D. 

12VAC30-50-130. Skilled nursing facility services, 

EPSDT, school health services and family planning. 

A. Skilled nursing facility services (other than services in an 

institution for mental diseases) for individuals 21 years of age 

or older. 

Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 

performed within the scope of a license of the practitioner of 

the healing arts. 

B. Early and periodic screening and diagnosis of individuals 

under 21 years of age, and treatment of conditions found. 

1. Payment of medical assistance services shall be made on 

behalf of individuals under 21 years of age, who are 

Medicaid eligible, for medically necessary stays in acute 

care facilities, and the accompanying attendant physician 

care, in excess of 21 days per admission when such 

services are rendered for the purpose of diagnosis and 

treatment of health conditions identified through a physical 

examination. 

2. Routine physicals and immunizations (except as 

provided through EPSDT) are not covered except that 

well-child examinations in a private physician's office are 
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covered for foster children of the local social services 

departments on specific referral from those departments. 

3. Orthoptics services shall only be reimbursed if 

medically necessary to correct a visual defect identified by 

an EPSDT examination or evaluation. The department 

shall place appropriate utilization controls upon this 

service. 

4. Consistent with the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act 

of 1989 § 6403, early and periodic screening, diagnostic, 

and treatment services means the following services: 

screening services, vision services, dental services, hearing 

services, and such other necessary health care, diagnostic 

services, treatment, and other measures described in Social 

Security Act § 1905(a) to correct or ameliorate defects and 

physical and mental illnesses and conditions discovered by 

the screening services and which are medically necessary, 

whether or not such services are covered under the State 

Plan and notwithstanding the limitations, applicable to 

recipients ages 21 and over, provided for by the Act § 

1905(a). 

5. Community mental health services. These services in 

order to be covered (i) shall meet medical necessity criteria 

based upon diagnoses made by LMHPs who are practicing 

within the scope of their licenses and (ii) are reflected in 

provider records and on providers' claims for services by 

recognized diagnosis codes that support and are consistent 

with the requested professional services.  

a. Definitions. The following words and terms when used 

in this section shall have the following meanings unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" means personal care activities 

and includes bathing, dressing, transferring, toileting, 

feeding, and eating. 

"Adolescent or child" means the individual receiving the 

services described in this section. For the purpose of the 

use of these terms, adolescent means an individual 12-20 

years of age; a child means an individual from birth up to 

12 years of age.  

"Behavioral health services administrator" or "BHSA" 

means an entity that manages or directs a behavioral 

health benefits program under contract with DMAS.  

"Care coordination" means collaboration and sharing of 

information among health care providers, who are 

involved with an individual's health care, to improve the 

care.  

"Certified prescreener" means an employee of the local 

community services board or behavioral health authority, 

or its designee, who is skilled in the assessment and 

treatment of mental illness and has completed a 

certification program approved by the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 

"Clinical experience" means providing direct behavioral 

health services on a full-time basis or equivalent hours of 

part-time work to children and adolescents who have 

diagnoses of mental illness and includes supervised 

internships, supervised practicums, and supervised field 

experience for the purpose of Medicaid reimbursement of 

(i) intensive in-home services, (ii) day treatment for 

children and adolescents, (iii) community-based 

residential services for children and adolescents who are 

younger than 21 years of age (Level A), or (iv) 

therapeutic behavioral services (Level B). Experience 

shall not include unsupervised internships, unsupervised 

practicums, and unsupervised field experience. The 

equivalency of part-time hours to full-time hours for the 

purpose of this requirement shall be as established by 

DBHDS in the document entitled Human Services and 

Related Fields Approved Degrees/Experience, issued 

March 12, 2013, revised May 3, 2013.  

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services and its contractor or contractors. 

"Human services field" means the same as the term is 

defined by DBHDS in the document entitled Human 

Services and Related Fields Approved 

Degrees/Experience, issued March 12, 2013, revised 

May 3, 2013. 

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means the same as the 

term is defined in 12VAC30-50-226.  

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means 

a licensed physician, licensed clinical psychologist, 

licensed professional counselor, licensed clinical social 

worker, licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner, 

licensed marriage and family therapist, or certified 

psychiatric clinical nurse specialist.  

"LMHP-resident" or "LMHP-R" means the same as 

"resident" as defined in (i) 18VAC115-20-10 for licensed 

professional counselors; (ii) 18VAC115-50-10 for 

licensed marriage and family therapists; or (iii) 

18VAC115-60-10 for licensed substance abuse treatment 

practitioners. An LMHP-resident shall be in continuous 

compliance with the regulatory requirements of the 

applicable counseling profession for supervised practice 

and shall not perform the functions of the LMHP-R or be 

considered a "resident" until the supervision for specific 

clinical duties at a specific site has been preapproved in 

writing by the Virginia Board of Counseling. For 

purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to their supervisors 

for services provided by such residents, they shall use the 

title "Resident" in connection with the applicable 

profession after their signatures to indicate such status. 

"LMHP-resident in psychology" or "LMHP-RP" means 

the same as an individual in a residency, as that term is 

defined in 18VAC125-20-10, program for clinical 

psychologists. An LMHP-resident in psychology shall be 

in continuous compliance with the regulatory 
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requirements for supervised experience as found in 

18VAC125-20-65 and shall not perform the functions of 

the LMHP-RP or be considered a "resident" until the 

supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific site 

has been preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of 

Psychology. For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement by 

supervisors for services provided by such residents, they 

shall use the title "Resident in Psychology" after their 

signatures to indicate such status. 

"LMHP-supervisee in social work," "LMHP-supervisee," 

or "LMHP-S" means the same as "supervisee" as defined 

in 18VAC140-20-10 for licensed clinical social workers. 

An LMHP-supervisee in social work shall be in 

continuous compliance with the regulatory requirements 

for supervised practice as found in 18VAC140-20-50 and 

shall not perform the functions of the LMHP-S or be 

considered a "supervisee" until the supervision for 

specific clinical duties at a specific site is preapproved in 

writing by the Virginia Board of Social Work. For 

purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to their supervisors 

for services provided by supervisees, these persons shall 

use the title "Supervisee in Social Work" after their 

signatures to indicate such status.  

"Progress notes" means individual-specific 

documentation that contains the unique differences 

particular to the individual's circumstances, treatment, 

and progress that is also signed and contemporaneously 

dated by the provider's professional staff who have 

prepared the notes. Individualized and member-specific 

progress notes are part of the minimum documentation 

requirements and shall convey the individual's status, 

staff interventions, and, as appropriate, the individual's 

progress, or lack of progress, toward goals and objectives 

in the ISP. The progress notes shall also include, at a 

minimum, the name of the service rendered, the date of 

the service rendered, the signature and credentials of the 

person who rendered the service, the setting in which the 

service was rendered, and the amount of time or 

units/hours required to deliver the service. The content of 

each progress note shall corroborate the time/units billed. 

Progress notes shall be documented for each service that 

is billed. 

"Psychoeducation" means (i) a specific form of education 

aimed at helping individuals who have mental illness and 

their family members or caregivers to access clear and 

concise information about mental illness and (ii) a way of 

accessing and learning strategies to deal with mental 

illness and its effects in order to design effective 

treatment plans and strategies.  

"Psychoeducational activities" means systematic 

interventions based on supportive and cognitive behavior 

therapy that emphasizes an individual's and his family's 

needs and focuses on increasing the individual's and 

family's knowledge about mental disorders, adjusting to 

mental illness, communicating and facilitating problem 

solving and increasing coping skills. 

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-

C" means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-

105-20.  

"Qualified mental health professional-eligible" or 

"QMHP-E" means the same as the term is defined in 

12VAC35-105-20 and consistent with the requirements 

of 12VAC35-105-590.  

"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or 

"QPPMH" means the same as the term is defined in 

12VAC35-105-20 and consistent with the requirements 

of 12VAC35-105-1370. 

"Service-specific provider intake" means the face-to-face 

interaction in which the provider obtains information 

from the child or adolescent, and parent or other family 

member or members, as appropriate, about the child's or 

adolescent's mental health status. It includes documented 

history of the severity, intensity, and duration of mental 

health care problems and issues and shall contain all of 

the following elements: (i) the presenting issue/reason for 

referral, (ii) mental health history/hospitalizations, (iii) 

previous interventions by providers and timeframes and 

response to treatment, (iv) medical profile, (v) 

developmental history including history of abuse, if 

appropriate, (vi) educational/vocational status, (vii) 

current living situation and family history and 

relationships, (viii) legal status, (ix) drug and alcohol 

profile, (x) resources and strengths, (xi) mental status 

exam and profile, (xii) diagnosis, (xiii) professional 

summary and clinical formulation, (xiv) recommended 

care and treatment goals, and (xv) the dated signature of 

the LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or 

LMHP-RP.  

b. Intensive in-home services (IIH) to children and 

adolescents under age 21 shall be time-limited 

interventions provided in the individual's residence and 

when clinically necessary in community settings. All 

interventions and the settings of the intervention shall be 

defined in the Individual Service Plan. All IIH services 

shall be designed to specifically improve family 

dynamics, provide modeling, and the clinically necessary 

interventions that increase functional and therapeutic 

interpersonal relations between family members in the 

home. IIH services are designed to promote 

psychoeducational benefits in the home setting of an 

individual who is at risk of being moved into an out-of-

home placement or who is being transitioned to home 

from an out-of-home placement due to a documented 

medical need of the individual. These services provide 

crisis treatment; individual and family counseling; 

communication skills (e.g., counseling to assist the 

individual and his parents or guardians, as appropriate, to 

understand and practice appropriate problem solving, 
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anger management, and interpersonal interaction, etc.); 

care coordination with other required services; and 24-

hour emergency response.  

(1) These services shall be limited annually to 26 weeks. 

Service authorization shall be required for Medicaid 

reimbursement prior to the onset of services. Services 

rendered before the date of authorization shall not be 

reimbursed. 

(2) Service authorization shall be required for services to 

continue beyond the initial 26 weeks. 

(3) Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 

the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during 

the entire duration of services. Services based upon 

incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific 

provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 

Requirements for service-specific provider intakes and 

ISPs are set out in this section. 

(4) These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 

QMHP-C, or a QMHP-E. 

c. Therapeutic day treatment (TDT) shall be provided 

two or more hours per day in order to provide therapeutic 

interventions. Day treatment programs, limited annually 

to 780 units, provide evaluation; medication education 

and management; opportunities to learn and use daily 

living skills and to enhance social and interpersonal skills 

(e.g., problem solving, anger management, community 

responsibility, increased impulse control, and appropriate 

peer relations, etc.); and individual, group and family 

counseling.  

(1) Service authorization shall be required for Medicaid 

reimbursement. 

(2) Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 

the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during 

the entire duration of services. Services based upon 

incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific 

provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 

Requirements for service-specific provider intakes and 

ISPs are set out in this section. 

(3) These services may be rendered only by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 

QMHP-C, or a QMHP-E. 

d. Community-based services for children and 

adolescents under 21 years of age (Level A). 

(1) Such services shall be a combination of therapeutic 

services rendered in a residential setting. The residential 

services will provide structure for daily activities, 

psychoeducation, therapeutic supervision, care 

coordination, and psychiatric treatment to ensure the 

attainment of therapeutic mental health goals as 

identified in the individual service plan (plan of care). 

Individuals qualifying for this service must demonstrate 

medical necessity for the service arising from a condition 

due to mental, behavioral or emotional illness that results 

in significant functional impairments in major life 

activities in the home, school, at work, or in the 

community. The service must reasonably be expected to 

improve the child's condition or prevent regression so 

that the services will no longer be needed. The 

application of a national standardized set of medical 

necessity criteria in use in the industry, such as 

McKesson InterQual
®

 Criteria or an equivalent standard 

authorized in advance by DMAS, shall be required for 

this service. 

(2) In addition to the residential services, the child must 

receive, at least weekly, individual psychotherapy that is 

provided by an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-

resident, or LMHP-RP. 

(3) Individuals shall be discharged from this service 

when other less intensive services may achieve 

stabilization. 

(4) Authorization shall be required for Medicaid 

reimbursement. Services that were rendered before the 

date of service authorization shall not be reimbursed.  

(5) Room and board costs shall not be reimbursed. 

DMAS shall reimburse only for services provided in 

facilities or programs with no more than 16 beds. 

(6) These residential providers must be licensed by the 

Department of Social Services, Department of Juvenile 

Justice, or Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services under the Standards for 

Licensed Children's Residential Facilities (22VAC40-

151), [ Standards for Interim Regulation of Children's 

Residential Facilities (6VAC35-51) Regulation 

Governing Juvenile Group Homes and Halfway Houses 

(6VAC35-41) ], or Regulations for Children's Residential 

Facilities (12VAC35-46). 

(7) Daily progress notes shall document a minimum of 

seven psychoeducational activities per week. 

Psychoeducational programming must include, but is not 

limited to, development or maintenance of daily living 

skills, anger management, social skills, family living 

skills, communication skills, stress management, and any 

care coordination activities.  

(8) The facility/group home must coordinate services 

with other providers. Such care coordination shall be 

documented in the individual's medical record. The 

documentation shall include who was contacted, when 

the contact occurred, and what information was 

transmitted. 

(9) Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 

the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during 

the entire duration of services. Services based upon 

incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific 

provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 
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Requirements for intakes and ISPs are set out in 

12VAC30-60-61. 

(10) These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 

QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, or a QPPMH. 

e. Therapeutic behavioral services (Level B). 

(1) Such services must be therapeutic services rendered 

in a residential setting that provides structure for daily 

activities, psychoeducation, therapeutic supervision, care 

coordination, and psychiatric treatment to ensure the 

attainment of therapeutic mental health goals as 

identified in the individual service plan (plan of care). 

Individuals qualifying for this service must demonstrate 

medical necessity for the service arising from a condition 

due to mental, behavioral or emotional illness that results 

in significant functional impairments in major life 

activities in the home, school, at work, or in the 

community. The service must reasonably be expected to 

improve the child's condition or prevent regression so 

that the services will no longer be needed. The 

application of a national standardized set of medical 

necessity criteria in use in the industry, such as 

McKesson InterQual
®
 Criteria, or an equivalent standard 

authorized in advance by DMAS shall be required for 

this service. 

(2) Authorization is required for Medicaid 

reimbursement. Services that are rendered before the date 

of service authorization shall not be reimbursed. 

(3) Room and board costs shall not be reimbursed. 

Facilities that only provide independent living services 

are not reimbursed. DMAS shall reimburse only for 

services provided in facilities or programs with no more 

than 16 beds.  

(4) These residential providers must be licensed by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (DBHDS) under the Regulations for Children's 

Residential Facilities (12VAC35-46). 

(5) Daily progress notes shall document that a minimum 

of seven psychoeducational activities per week occurs. 

Psychoeducational programming must include, but is not 

limited to, development or maintenance of daily living 

skills, anger management, social skills, family living 

skills, communication skills, and stress management. 

This service may be provided in a program setting or a 

community-based group home.  

(6) The individual must receive, at least weekly, 

individual psychotherapy and, at least weekly, group 

psychotherapy that is provided as part of the program.  

(7) Individuals shall be discharged from this service 

when other less intensive services may achieve 

stabilization. 

(8) Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 

the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during 

the entire duration of services. Services that are based 

upon incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific 

provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 

Requirements for intakes and ISPs are set out in 

12VAC30-60-61. 

(9) These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 

QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, or a QPPMH. 

(10) The facility/group home shall coordinate necessary 

services with other providers. Documentation of this care 

coordination shall be maintained by the facility/group 

home in the individual's record. The documentation shall 

include who was contacted, when the contact occurred, 

and what information was transmitted. 

6. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be covered for 

individuals younger than age 21 for medically necessary 

stays for the purpose of diagnosis and treatment of mental 

health and behavioral disorders identified under EPSDT 

when such services are rendered by: 

a. A psychiatric hospital or an inpatient psychiatric 

program in a hospital accredited by the Joint Commission 

on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations; or a 

psychiatric facility that is accredited by the Joint 

Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 

Organizations, the Commission on Accreditation of 

Rehabilitation Facilities, the Council on Accreditation of 

Services for Families and Children or the Council on 

Quality and Leadership. 

b. Inpatient psychiatric hospital admissions at general 

acute care hospitals and freestanding psychiatric 

hospitals shall also be subject to the requirements of 

12VAC30-50-100, 12VAC30-50-105, and 12VAC30-60-

25. Inpatient psychiatric admissions to residential 

treatment facilities shall also be subject to the 

requirements of Part XIV (12VAC30-130-850 et seq.) of 

Amount, Duration and Scope of Selected Services. 

c. Inpatient psychiatric services are reimbursable only 

when the treatment program is fully in compliance with 

42 CFR Part 441 Subpart D, as contained in 42 CFR 

441.151 (a) and (b) and 441.152 through 441.156. Each 

admission must be preauthorized and the treatment must 

meet DMAS requirements for clinical necessity. 

7. Hearing aids shall be reimbursed for individuals younger 

than 21 years of age according to medical necessity when 

provided by practitioners licensed to engage in the practice 

of fitting or dealing in hearing aids under the Code of 

Virginia. 

C. School health services. 

1. School health assistant services are repealed effective 

July 1, 2006. 

2. School divisions may provide routine well-child 

screening services under the State Plan. Diagnostic and 

treatment services that are otherwise covered under early 
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and periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment services, 

shall not be covered for school divisions. School divisions 

to receive reimbursement for the screenings shall be 

enrolled with DMAS as clinic providers. 

a. Children enrolled in managed care organizations shall 

receive screenings from those organizations. School 

divisions shall not receive reimbursement for screenings 

from DMAS for these children. 

b. School-based services are listed in a recipient's 

individualized education program (IEP) and covered 

under one or more of the service categories described in 

§ 1905(a) of the Social Security Act. These services are 

necessary to correct or ameliorate defects of physical or 

mental illnesses or conditions. 

3. Service providers shall be licensed under the applicable 

state practice act or comparable licensing criteria by the 

Virginia Department of Education, and shall meet 

applicable qualifications under 42 CFR Part 440. 

Identification of defects, illnesses or conditions and 

services necessary to correct or ameliorate them shall be 

performed by practitioners qualified to make those 

determinations within their licensed scope of practice, 

either as a member of the IEP team or by a qualified 

practitioner outside the IEP team. 

a. Service providers shall be employed by the school 

division or under contract to the school division.  

b. Supervision of services by providers recognized in 

subdivision 4 of this subsection shall occur as allowed 

under federal regulations and consistent with Virginia 

law, regulations, and DMAS provider manuals.  

c. The services described in subdivision 4 of this 

subsection shall be delivered by school providers, but 

may also be available in the community from other 

providers. 

d. Services in this subsection are subject to utilization 

control as provided under 42 CFR Parts 455 and 456.  

e. The IEP shall determine whether or not the services 

described in subdivision 4 of this subsection are 

medically necessary and that the treatment prescribed is 

in accordance with standards of medical practice. 

Medical necessity is defined as services ordered by IEP 

providers. The IEP providers are qualified Medicaid 

providers to make the medical necessity determination in 

accordance with their scope of practice. The services 

must be described as to the amount, duration and scope.  

4. Covered services include: 

a. Physical therapy, occupational therapy and services for 

individuals with speech, hearing, and language disorders, 

performed by, or under the direction of, providers who 

meet the qualifications set forth at 42 CFR 440.110. This 

coverage includes audiology services. 

b. Skilled nursing services are covered under 42 CFR 

440.60. These services are to be rendered in accordance 

to the licensing standards and criteria of the Virginia 

Board of Nursing. Nursing services are to be provided by 

licensed registered nurses or licensed practical nurses but 

may be delegated by licensed registered nurses in 

accordance with the regulations of the Virginia Board of 

Nursing, especially the section on delegation of nursing 

tasks and procedures. The licensed practical nurse is 

under the supervision of a registered nurse.  

(1) The coverage of skilled nursing services shall be of a 

level of complexity and sophistication (based on 

assessment, planning, implementation and evaluation) 

that is consistent with skilled nursing services when 

performed by a licensed registered nurse or a licensed 

practical nurse. These skilled nursing services shall 

include, but not necessarily be limited to dressing 

changes, maintaining patent airways, medication 

administration/monitoring and urinary catheterizations.  

(2) Skilled nursing services shall be directly and 

specifically related to an active, written plan of care 

developed by a registered nurse that is based on a written 

order from a physician, physician assistant or nurse 

practitioner for skilled nursing services. This order shall 

be recertified on an annual basis.  

c. Psychiatric and psychological services performed by 

licensed practitioners within the scope of practice are 

defined under state law or regulations and covered as 

physicians' services under 42 CFR 440.50 or medical or 

other remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. These 

outpatient services include individual medical 

psychotherapy, group medical psychotherapy coverage, 

and family medical psychotherapy. Psychological and 

neuropsychological testing are allowed when done for 

purposes other than educational diagnosis, school 

admission, evaluation of an individual with intellectual 

disability prior to admission to a nursing facility, or any 

placement issue. These services are covered in the 

nonschool settings also. School providers who may 

render these services when licensed by the state include 

psychiatrists, licensed clinical psychologists, school 

psychologists, licensed clinical social workers, 

professional counselors, psychiatric clinical nurse 

specialist, marriage and family therapists, and school 

social workers. 

d. Personal care services are covered under 42 CFR 

440.167 and performed by persons qualified under this 

subsection. The personal care assistant is supervised by a 

DMAS recognized school-based health professional who 

is acting within the scope of licensure. This practitioner 

develops a written plan for meeting the needs of the 

child, which is implemented by the assistant. The 

assistant must have qualifications comparable to those 

for other personal care aides recognized by the Virginia 

Department of Medical Assistance Services. The 

assistant performs services such as assisting with 
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toileting, ambulation, and eating. The assistant may serve 

as an aide on a specially adapted school vehicle that 

enables transportation to or from the school or school 

contracted provider on days when the student is receiving 

a Medicaid-covered service under the IEP. Children 

requiring an aide during transportation on a specially 

adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the IEP. 

e. Medical evaluation services are covered as physicians' 

services under 42 CFR 440.50 or as medical or other 

remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. Persons performing 

these services shall be licensed physicians, physician 

assistants, or nurse practitioners. These practitioners shall 

identify the nature or extent of a child's medical or other 

health related condition.  

f. Transportation is covered as allowed under 42 CFR 

431.53 and described at State Plan Attachment 3.1-D. 

Transportation shall be rendered only by school division 

personnel or contractors. Transportation is covered for a 

child who requires transportation on a specially adapted 

school vehicle that enables transportation to or from the 

school or school contracted provider on days when the 

student is receiving a Medicaid-covered service under the 

IEP. Transportation shall be listed in the child's IEP. 

Children requiring an aide during transportation on a 

specially adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the IEP.  

g. Assessments are covered as necessary to assess or 

reassess the need for medical services in a child's IEP 

and shall be performed by any of the above licensed 

practitioners within the scope of practice. Assessments 

and reassessments not tied to medical needs of the child 

shall not be covered. 

5. DMAS will ensure through quality management review 

that duplication of services will be monitored. School 

divisions have a responsibility to ensure that if a child is 

receiving additional therapy outside of the school, that 

there will be coordination of services to avoid duplication 

of service.  

D. Family planning services and supplies for individuals of 

child-bearing age. 

1. Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 

performed within the scope of the license of a practitioner 

of the healing arts. 

2. Family planning services shall be defined as those 

services that delay or prevent pregnancy. Coverage of such 

services shall not include services to treat infertility nor or 

services to promote fertility. Family planning services shall 

not cover payment for abortion services and no funds shall 

be used to perform, assist, encourage, or make direct 

referrals for abortions.   

3. Family planning services as established by 

§ 1905(a)(4)(C) of the Social Security Act include annual 

family planning exams; cervical cancer screening for 

women; sexually transmitted infection (STI) testing; lab 

services for family planning and STI testing; family 

planning education, counseling, and preconception health; 

sterilization procedures; nonemergency transportation to a 

family planning service; and U.S. Food and Drug 

Administration approved prescription and over-the-counter 

contraceptives, subject to limits in 12VAC30-50-210.  

Part I  

Family Planning Waiver (Repealed) 

12VAC30-135-10. Definitions. (Repealed.) 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Creditable health coverage" means "creditable coverage" as 

defined under § 2701(c) of the Public Health Service Act 

(42 USC § 300gg(c)) and includes coverage that meets the 

requirements of § 2103 provided to a targeted low-income 

child under Title XXI of the Social Security Act or under a 

waiver approved under § 2105(c)(2)(B) (relating to a direct 

service waiver). 

"Family planning" means those services necessary to 

prevent or delay a pregnancy. It shall not include services to 

promote pregnancy such as infertility treatments. Family 

planning does not include counseling about, 

recommendations for or performance of abortions, or 

hysterectomies or procedures performed for medical reasons 

such as removal of intrauterine devices due to infections. 

"FAMIS" means the Family Access to Medical Insurance 

Security Plan described in 12VAC30-141. 

"Over-the-counter" means drugs and contraceptives that are 

available for purchase without requiring a physician's 

prescription. 

"Third party" means any individual entity or program that is 

or may be liable to pay all or part of the expenditures for 

medical assistance furnished under the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance. 

12VAC30-135-20. Administration and eligibility 

determination. (Repealed.) 

A. The Department of Medical Assistance Services shall 

administer the family planning demonstration waiver services 

program under the authority of § 1115(a) of the Social 

Security Act and 42 USC § 1315. 

B. Local departments of social services or a department 

contractor shall be responsible for determining eligibility of 

and for enrolling eligible individuals in the family planning 

waiver. Local departments of social services or a department 

contractor shall conduct periodic reviews and 

redeterminations of eligibility at least every 12 months while 

recipients are enrolled in the family planning waiver. 

12VAC30-135-30. Eligibility. (Repealed.) 

A. To be eligible under the family planning waiver, an 

individual must meet the eligibility conditions and 

requirements found in 12VAC30-40-10, have family income 
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less than or equal to 133% of the federal poverty level, not 

have creditable health coverage, and not be eligible for 

enrollment in a Medicaid full benefit coverage group or 

FAMIS. 

B. Individuals who have received a sterilization procedure 

or hysterectomy are ineligible under the waiver. 

C. Individuals enrolled in the family planning waiver will 

not be retroactively eligible. 

D. A recipient's enrollment in the family planning waiver 

shall be terminated if the individual receives a sterilization 

procedure or hysterectomy or is found to be ineligible as the 

result of a reported change or annual redetermination. The 

recipient's enrollment in the family planning waiver also shall 

be terminated if a reported change or annual redetermination 

results in eligibility for Virginia Medicaid in a full benefit 

coverage group or eligibility for FAMIS. A 10-day advance 

notice must be provided prior to cancellation of coverage 

under the family planning waiver unless the individual 

becomes eligible for a full benefit Medicaid covered group or 

FAMIS. 

12VAC30-135-40. Covered services. (Repealed.) 

A. Services provided under the family planning waiver are 

limited to: 

1. Family planning office visits including annual 

gynecological or physical exams (one per 12 months), 

sexually transmitted diseases (STD) testing, cervical 

cancer screening tests (limited to one every six months); 

2. Laboratory services for family planning and STD 

testing; 

3. Family planning education and counseling; 

4. Contraceptives approved by the Food and Drug 

Administration, including diaphragms, contraceptive 

injectables, and contraceptive implants; 

5. Over-the-counter contraceptives; and 

6. Sterilizations, not to include hysterectomies.  

B. Services not covered under the family planning waiver 

include, but are not limited to: 

1. Performance of, counseling for, or recommendations of 

abortions; 

2. Infertility treatments; 

3. Procedures performed for medical reasons; 

4. Performance of a hysterectomy; and 

5. Transportation to a family planning service. 

12VAC30-135-50. Provider qualifications. (Repealed.)  

Services provided under this waiver must be ordered or 

prescribed and directed or performed within the scope of the 

licensed practitioner. Any appropriately licensed Medicaid 

enrolled physician, nurse practitioner, or medical clinic may 

provide services under this waiver.  

12VAC30-135-60. Quality assurance. (Repealed.)  

The Department of Medical Assistance Services shall 

provide for continuing review and evaluation of the care and 

services paid by Medicaid under this waiver. To ensure a 

thorough review, trained professionals shall review cases 

either through desk audit or through on-site reviews of 

medical records. Providers shall be required to refund 

payments made by Medicaid if they are found to have billed 

Medicaid for services not covered under this waiver, if 

records or documentation supporting claims are not 

maintained, or if bills are submitted for medically 

unnecessary services.  

12VAC30-135-70. Reimbursement. (Repealed.) 

A. Providers will be reimbursed on a fee-for-service basis. 

B. All reasonable measures including those measures 

specified under 42 USC § 1396 (a) (25) will be taken to 

ascertain the legal liability of third parties to pay for 

authorized care and services provided to eligible recipients. 

C. A completed sterilization consent form, in accordance 

with the requirements of 42 CFR Part 441, Subpart F, must be 

submitted with all claims for payment for sterilization 

procedures. 

12VAC30-135-80. Recipients' rights and right to appeal. 

(Repealed.)  

Individuals found eligible for and enrolled in the family 

planning waiver shall have freedom of choice of providers. 

Individuals will be free from coercion or mental pressure and 

shall be free to choose their preferred methods of family 

planning. The client appeals process at 12VAC30-110 shall 

be applicable to applicants for and recipients of family 

planning services under this waiver.  

12VAC30-135-90. Sunset provision. (Repealed.)  

Consistent with federal requirements applicable to this § 

1115 demonstration waiver, these regulations shall expire 

effective with the termination of the federally approved 

waiver.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-2866; Filed December 30, 2016, 2:23 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Extension of Public Comment Period 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-60. Administrative 

Regulation for the Virginia Occupational Safety and 

Health Program (amending 16VAC25-60-30, 16VAC25-

60-90, 16VAC25-60-110 through 16VAC25-60-150, 

16VAC25-60-245, 16VAC25-60-260).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 40.1-6 and 40.1-22 of the Code of 

Virginia. 
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The Department of Labor and Industry noticed a public 

comment period on amendments to the Administrative 

Regulation for the Virginia Occupational Safety and Health 

Program (16VAC25-60) in the November 28, 2016, issue of 

the Virginia Register of Regulations (33:7 VA.R. 731–740 

November 28, 2016).  

The public comment period has been extended to February 17, 

2017, using the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website, 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov. Please include the full name 

of the person commenting and any organization represented. To 

be considered, written comments must be submitted using the 

Town Hall online comment forum at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/comments.cfm?stageid=752

0 by 11:59 p.m. on February 17, 2017. 

A public hearing will be held on February 16, 2017, at 

10 a.m., Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street 

Centre, 600 East Main Street, 12th Floor Conference Room 

South, Richmond, VA 23219. Oral and written comments are 

accepted at the public hearing. 

Agency Contact: Holly Raney, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Labor and Industry, 600 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2631, FAX (804) 

371-2324, or email holly.raney@doli.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4561; Filed December 21, 2016, 3:42 p.m.  

Extension of Public Comment Period 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-200. Virginia Voluntary 

Protection Program (adding 16VAC25-200-10 through 

16VAC25-200-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 40.1-22 and 40.1-49.13 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

The Department of Labor and Industry noticed a public comment 

period on amendments to the Virginia Voluntary Protection 

Program (16VAC25-200) in the December 12, 2016, issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations (33:8 V.A.R. 812–824 

December 12, 2016).  

The public comment period has been extended to February 17, 

2017, using the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website, 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov. Please include the full name 

of the person commenting and any organization represented. To 

be considered, written comments must be submitted using the 

Town Hall online comment forum at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/comments.cfm?stageid=752

1 by 11:59 p.m. on February 17, 2017. 

A public hearing will be held on February 16, 2017, at 

10 a.m., Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, 12th Floor 

Conference Room South, Richmond, VA 23219. Oral and 

written comments are accepted at the public hearing.  

Agency Contact: Holly Raney, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Labor and Industry, 600 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2631, FAX (804) 

371-2324, or email holly.raney@doli.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4468; Filed December 21, 2016, 1:42 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC30-21. Regulations Governing 

Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (amending 

18VAC30-21-100).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2017. 

Effective Date: March 9, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-4630, FAX (804) 527-4471, or email 

audbd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology to 

promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system 

with a specific mandate enacted by Chapter 82 of the 2016 

Acts of Assembly to include provisions for the satisfaction of 

board-required continuing education through the delivery of 

health care services, without compensation, to low-income 

individuals receiving health services through a local health 

department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily 

for the delivery of those health services. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to comply 

with the mandate of the General Assembly and provide an 

incentive for licensees to volunteer professional services to 

free clinics or public health centers. While a licensee can 

satisfy up to one hour of continuing education with three 

hours of volunteer service, he is still required to have nine 

hours of approved continuing education necessary to acquire 

new knowledge and skills. Therefore, the public health is 

served by a potential increase in badly needed volunteer 

service for health care, but public safety is not sacrificed by 

eliminating most or all of the continuing education hours 

required for renewal. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

allowance of hours for volunteer service to be counted 

towards the continuing education requirement is a mandate of 

the General Assembly. A licensee is not required to provide 

volunteer service but may be credited with continuing 

education hours for doing so. The provisions are permissive 

and not controversial. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title16/agency25/chapter60/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol33/iss07/v33i07.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol33/iss07/v33i07.pdf
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/comments.cfm?stageid=7520
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/comments.cfm?stageid=7520
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol33/iss08/v33i08.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol33/iss08/v33i08.pdf
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/comments.cfm?stageid=7521
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/comments.cfm?stageid=7521
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Substance: The board has adopted amended regulations to 

allow audiologists and speech-language pathologists to count 

up to one of the 10 hours required for annual renewal to be 

satisfied through delivery of health care services, without 

compensation, to low-income individuals receiving health 

care services through a local health department or a free clinic 

organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of those 

services. One hour of continuing education may be credited 

for three hours of providing such volunteer services, as 

documented by the health department or free clinic. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is the incentive given for 

audiologists and speech-language pathologists to volunteer 

their services in exchange for credit towards meeting 

continuing education requirements. There are no 

disadvantages to the public. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly,
1
 the 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (Board) 

proposes to allow three hours of volunteer work to be 

substituted for one hour of continuing education annually for 

audiologists and speech-language pathologists. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly requires all health boards to promulgate regulations 

to accept volunteer work provided to low-income individuals 

through local health departments or free clinics in lieu of the 

required continuing education. Pursuant to the legislative 

mandate, the Board proposes to accept three hours of 

volunteer work in satisfaction of one hour of continuing 

education from audiologists and speech-language 

pathologists. The limit on the continuing education hours that 

can be satisfied by volunteer work is one hour per year. 

Currently, audiologists and speech-language pathologists are 

required to take 10 hours of continuing education per year for 

annual renewal of their licenses. 

The proposed change will allow affected professionals to 

substitute volunteer work for continuing education. The 

educational value of volunteer services may vary depending 

on each person's experience. However, the one-hour limit on 

the continuing education hours that can be gained through 

this method is a relatively small portion of the annually 

required 10 hours. 

Also, it is not clear whether the ratio of required three hours 

per continuing education hour is sufficient by itself to provide 

enough incentives to offer volunteer service. It appears easier 

for practitioners to spend one hour acquiring continuing 

education than to spend three hours providing free services. 

However, it is reasonable to expect that the additional 

incentive provided by the proposed regulation would lead to 

increased volunteer hours by convincing practitioners who are 

indecisive at the margin about providing such services. The 

proposed regulation will also help those practitioners who 

have already been providing volunteer services at the 

qualified locations by allowing them to earn continuing 

education credit for their charity work. 

In any event, the proposed regulation allows substitution of 

volunteer work for continuing education, but does not 

mandate it. A practitioner choosing to do volunteer work in 

lieu of the continuing education reveals that he or she benefits 

more from doing so. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, there are 513 

audiologists and 4,365 speech-language pathologists licensed 

in Virginia. According to data provided by the Virginia 

Employment Commission, there are 898 establishments in the 

industry category of the affected entities, which include other 

independent health practitioners not directly affected by the 

proposed regulation (e.g., occupational and physical 

therapists, etc.). All of the 898 establishments in that category 

satisfy the small business criteria. The number of continuing 

education providers is not known. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

may lead to a decrease in demand for continuing education 

services. However, the one-hour limit on the continuing 

education hours that can be gained through this method is a 

relatively small portion of the annually required 10 hours. In 

addition, the substitution of voluntary work for continuing 

education hours is voluntary and may not be exercised by all 

practitioners. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

potential impact on the asset value of continuing education 

providers is not known with certainty, but appears to be 

small. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. All of the affected audiologists and 

speech-language pathologist establishments are small 

businesses. The proposed amendments do not impose costs 

on them. Most providers of continuing education services are 

probably small businesses as well. The proposed regulation 

may decrease the demand for their services by a small 

amount. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no known alternative that minimizes the potential small 

adverse impact on providers of continuing education services 

while achieving the same goals. 
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Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

_________________________ 
1 http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082 

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology concurs with 

the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments allow audiologists and speech-language 

pathologists to substitute six hours of volunteer work for 

two hours of continuing education annually. 

18VAC30-21-100. Continuing education requirements for 

renewal of an active license. 

A. In order to renew an active license, a licensee shall 

complete at least 10 contact hours of continuing education 

prior to December 31 of each year. Up to 10 contact hours of 

continuing education in excess of the number required for 

renewal may be transferred or credited to the next renewal 

year. One hour of the 10 hours required for annual renewal 

may be satisfied through delivery of professional services, 

without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 

health services through a local health department or a free 

clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of 

those services. One hour of continuing education may be 

credited for three hours of providing such volunteer services, 

as documented by the health department or free clinic.  

B. Continuing education shall be activities, programs, or 

courses related to audiology or speech-language pathology, 

depending on the license held, and offered or approved by 

one of the following accredited sponsors or organizations 

sanctioned by the profession:  

1. The Speech-Language-Hearing Association of Virginia 

or a similar state speech-language-hearing association of 

another state;  

2. The American Academy of Audiology;  

3. The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association;  

4. The Accreditation Council on Continuing Medical 

Education of the American Medical Association offering 

Category I continuing medical education;  

5. Local, state, or federal government agencies;  

6. Colleges and universities;  

7. International Association of Continuing Education and 

Training; or  

8. Health care organizations accredited by the Joint 

Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations.  

C. If the licensee is dually licensed by this board as an 

audiologist and speech-language pathologist, a total of no 

more than 15 hours of continuing education are required for 

renewal of both licenses with a minimum of 7.5 contact hours 

in each profession.  

D. A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing education 

requirements for the first renewal following the date of initial 

licensure in Virginia under 18VAC30-21-60.  

E. The licensee shall retain all continuing education 

documentation for a period of three years following the 

renewal of an active license. Documentation from the sponsor 

or organization shall include the title of the course, the name 

of the sponsoring organization, the date of the course, and the 

number of hours credited.  

F. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 

continuing education requirements, for up to one year, for 

good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 

prior to the renewal date of December 31. 

G. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 

licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters. 

H. The board shall periodically conduct an audit for 

compliance with continuing education requirements. 

Licensees selected for an audit conducted by the board shall 

complete the Continuing Education Activity and Assessment 

Form and provide all supporting documentation within 30 

days of receiving notification of the audit.  

I. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject the 

licensee to disciplinary action by the board. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4865; Filed January 3, 2017, 9:34 a.m.  

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC48-10. Public Participation 

Guidelines (amending 18VAC48-10-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02, 54.1-201, and 54.1-2349 

of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2017. 

Effective Date: March 13, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Common Interest Community Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8510, 

FAX (866) 490-2723, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates 

each agency develop, adopt, and use public participation 

guidelines for soliciting the input of interested parties in the 

formation and development of its regulations. The Common 

Interest Community Board is authorized under § 54.1-201 of 

the Code of Virginia to promulgate regulations necessary to 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082
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assure continued competency, to prevent deceptive or 

misleading practices by practitioners, and to effectively 

administer the regulatory system administered by the board. 

Purpose: The change conforms the agency's public 

participation guidelines to the change in the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of 

Assembly. Participation by the public in the regulatory 

process is essential to assist the board in the promulgation of 

regulations that will protect the public health and safety. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: As the 

change merely conforms the regulation to the underlying 

statute, the rulemaking is not expected to be controversial 

and, therefore, appropriate for the fast-track rulemaking 

process. 

Substance: The change to 18VAC48-10-50 provides that 

interested persons may be accompanied by and represented 

by counsel or other representative when presenting their 

views in the promulgation of any regulatory action. 

Issues: As the change merely conforms the regulation to 

§ 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia, the primary advantage 

is to ensure consistency between the law and regulation, 

which should reduce the chance of confusion. There are no 

anticipated disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly,
1
 the 

Common Interest Community Board (Board) proposes to 

specify in this regulation that interested persons shall be 

afforded an opportunity to be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other representative when 

submitting data, views, and arguments, either orally or in 

writing, to the agency.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current Public Participation 

Guidelines state that: "In considering any nonemergency, 

nonexempt regulatory action, the agency shall afford 

interested persons an opportunity to submit data, views, and 

arguments, either orally or in writing, to the agency." The 

Board proposes to append "and (ii) be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other representative."  

Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly added to § 2.2-

4007.02. "Public participation guidelines" of the Code of 

Virginia that interested persons also be afforded an 

opportunity to be accompanied by and represented by counsel 

or other representative. Since the Code of Virginia already 

specifies that interested persons shall be afforded an 

opportunity to be accompanied by and represented by counsel 

or other representative, the Board's proposal to add this 

language to the regulation will not change the law in effect, 

but will be beneficial in that it will inform interested parties 

who read this regulation but not the statute of their legal 

rights concerning representation.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

potentially affects all individuals who comment on pending 

regulatory changes. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

does not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment does not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 

does not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment does not 

affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment does not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect other entities. 

________________________________ 
1 See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121+ful+CHAP0795+hil 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget.  

Summary: 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia, the 

amendment provides that interested persons submitting 

data, views, and arguments on a regulatory action may be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or another 

representative. 

Part III  

Public Participation Procedures  

18VAC48-10-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 

action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 

opportunity to (i) submit data, views, and arguments, either 

orally or in writing, to the agency; and (ii) be accompanied by 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121+ful+CHAP0795+hil
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and represented by counsel or other representative. Such 

opportunity to comment shall include an online public 

comment forum on the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 

copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 

issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 

fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 

public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 

to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 

submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 

the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 

as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 

(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 

publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 

publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 

of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 

listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 

substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 

he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 

calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 

changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 

Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 

description of public comment to all public commenters on 

the proposed regulation at least five days before final 

adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 

Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4889; Filed December 27, 2016, 12:02 p.m.  

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry (amending 18VAC60-21-30).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2017. 

Effective Date: March 9, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 

email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Dentistry the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amendment is to reduce the 

possibility of fraud in the acquisition of prescription drugs by 

illegal use of a dentist's Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) 

number. The board's amendment maintains access to the DEA 

registration for purposes of inspection or investigation but 

eliminates the posting requirement that made the DEA 

information readily accessible for any potential illegal 

prescriptions. The goal of protection of the health and safety 

of the public is enhanced by the security of a dentist's DEA 

registration. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

proposal is in response to a petition for rulemaking, which 

was supported by comments from 56 dentists. It will not be 

controversial because it is fully supported by the dental 

community and the board. 

Substance: The posting requirements amendments allow a 

dentist who administers, prescribes, or dispenses Schedules II 

through V controlled substances to maintain a copy of his 

current registration with the federal Drug Enforcement 

Administration in a readily retrievable manner at each 

practice location rather than displaying it to the public along 

with his current license. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is less risk of the illegal 

use of a dentist's DEA number to obtain controlled 

substances. There are no disadvantages. There are no 

advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. In 

response to a 2016 petition for rulemaking, the Board of 

Dentistry (board) is proposing a fast-track action to eliminate 

a posting requirement for dentists.
1
 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, dentists who 

administer, prescribe, or dispense Schedules II through V 

controlled substances are required to post copies of their 

registrations that are issued by the United States Drug 

Enforcement Administration (DEA). The regulation requires 

licensees to display their current registrations with their 

current active licenses where they are "conspicuous and 

readable by patients in each dental practice setting." 
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The petitioner raised a concern that this information might be 

used for illegal purposes and thus requested that the board 

consider eliminating the posting requirement for DEA 

registrations. Accordingly, the board is proposing to amend 

the regulation to remove the "display" requirement and 

replace it with one that imposes a duty to maintain a copy of 

the current registration "in a readily retrievable manner at 

each practice location." The proposed amendment does not 

significantly affect costs. To the extent that not requiring the 

display of the DEA registration reduces the likelihood of 

fraud in the acquisition of prescription drugs by illegal use of 

a dentist’s DEA number, the proposal is beneficial. Thus the 

proposed amendment likely produces a net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

would affect the 7,147 licensed dentists
2
 and 3,201 dental 

offices
3
 in the Commonwealth. All of the dental offices 

qualify as small businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

will not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment will not significantly affect the use and 

value of private property.  

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 

does not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment does not 

significantly affect costs.  

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment does not adversely affect small 

businesses.  

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect other entities. 

________________________________________________ 
1 More information about the petition for rulemaking is available on the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewpetition.cfm?petitionid=246. 
2 Data source: Department of Health Professions 
3 Data source: Virginia Employment Commission 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Dentistry concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments allow a dentist who administers, 

prescribes, or dispenses Schedules II through V controlled 

substances to maintain a copy of his current registration 

with the federal Drug Enforcement Administration in a 

readily retrievable manner at each practice location rather 

than displaying it to the public along with his current 

license. 

18VAC60-21-30. Posting requirements. 

A. A dentist who is practicing under a firm name or who is 

practicing as an employee of another dentist is required by 

§ 54.1-2720 of the Code to conspicuously display his name at 

the entrance of the office. The employing dentist, firm, or 

company must enable compliance by designating a space at 

the entrance of the office for the name to be displayed.  

B. In accordance with § 54.1-2721 of the Code a dentist 

shall display his dental license where it is conspicuous and 

readable by patients in each dental practice setting. If a 

licensee practices in more than one office, a duplicate license 

obtained from the board may be displayed. 

C. A dentist who administers, prescribes, or dispenses 

Schedules II through V controlled substances shall display 

maintain a copy of his current registration with the federal 

Drug Enforcement Administration with his current active 

license in a readily retrievable manner at each practice 

location.  

D. A dentist who administers conscious/moderate sedation, 

deep sedation, or general anesthesia in a dental office shall 

display his sedation or anesthesia permit issued by the board 

or certificate issued by AAOMS. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-28; Filed January 3, 2017, 9:37 a.m.  

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC65-20. Regulations of the Board 

of Funeral Directors and Embalmers (amending 

18VAC65-20-151).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2017. 

Effective Date: March 9, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4479, FAX (804) 527-4471, or email 

fanbd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewpetition.cfm?petitionid=246
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Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system with a specific 

mandate enacted by Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly 

to include provisions for the satisfaction of board-required 

continuing education through the delivery of health care 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals 

receiving health services through a local health department or 

a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery 

of those health services. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to comply 

with the mandate of the General Assembly and provide an 

incentive for licensees to volunteer professional services to 

free clinics or public health centers. While a licensee can 

satisfy up to one hour of continuing education with one hour 

of volunteer service, he is still required to have four hours of 

approved continuing education necessary to acquire new 

knowledge and skills. Therefore, the public health is served 

by a potential increase in badly needed volunteer service for 

health professional services, but public safety is not sacrificed 

by eliminating most or all of the continuing education hours 

required for renewal. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

allowance of hours for volunteer service to be counted 

towards the continuing education requirement is a mandate of 

the General Assembly. A licensee is not required to provide 

volunteer service but may be credited with continuing 

education hours for doing so. The provisions are permissive 

and not controversial. 

Substance: The board has adopted amended regulations to 

allow funeral service licensees, funeral directors, and 

embalmers to count one hour of the five hours required for 

annual renewal to be satisfied through delivery of 

professional services, without compensation, to low-income 

individuals receiving health services through a local health 

department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily 

for the delivery of those services. One hour of continuing 

education may be credited for one hour of providing such 

volunteer services, as documented by the health department 

or free clinic. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is the incentive given for 

funeral service licensees, funeral directors, and embalmers to 

volunteer their services in exchange for credit towards 

meeting continuing education requirements. There are no 

disadvantages to the public. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly,
1
 the 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers (Board) proposes 

to allow one hour of volunteer work to be substituted for one 

hour of continuing education annually for funeral service 

licensees, funeral directors, and embalmers. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly requires all health boards to promulgate regulations 

to accept volunteer work provided to low-income individuals 

through local health departments or free clinics in lieu of the 

required continuing education. Pursuant to the legislative 

mandate, the Board proposes to accept one hour of volunteer 

work in satisfaction of one hour of continuing education from 

funeral service licensees, funeral directors, and embalmers. 

The limit on the continuing education hours that can be 

satisfied by volunteer work is one hour per year. Currently, 

funeral service licensees, funeral directors, and embalmers are 

required to take five hours of continuing education per year 

for annual renewal of their licenses. 

The proposed change will allow affected practitioners to 

substitute volunteer work for continuing education. The 

educational value of volunteer services may vary depending 

on each person's experience. In addition, the area of expertise 

of the affected practitioners may not be directly related to the 

services needed at local health departments or free clinics.  

Also, it is not clear whether the ratio of required one hour of 

volunteer work per continuing education hour is sufficient by 

itself to provide additional incentives to offer volunteer 

service. Spending one hour acquiring continuing education 

would take the same amount of time providing one hour of 

free services. The proposed regulation will however help 

those licensees, directors, and embalmers if they have already 

been providing volunteer services at the qualified locations by 

allowing them to earn continuing education credit for their 

charity work. 

In any event, the proposed regulation allows substitution of 

volunteer work for continuing education, but does not 

mandate it. A service licensee, a director, or an embalmer 

choosing to do volunteer work in lieu of the continuing 

education reveals that he or she benefits more from doing so. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, there are 1,533 

funeral service providers, 43 funeral directors, and 2 

embalmers licensed in Virginia. According to data provided 

by the Virginia Employment Commission, there are 349 

funeral home and service establishments in Virginia. All of 

the establishments satisfy the small business criteria. The 

number of continuing education providers is not known. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

may lead to a decrease in demand for continuing education 

services. However, the one-hour limit on the continuing 

education hours that can be gained through this method 

should not produce a significant negative impact. In addition, 

the substitution of voluntary work for continuing education 

hours is voluntary and may not be exercised by all affected 

practitioners. 
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Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

potential impact on the asset value of continuing education 

providers is not known with certainty, but appears to be 

small. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. All of the affected establishments 

are small businesses. The proposed amendments do not 

impose costs on them. Most providers of continuing 

education services are probably small businesses as well. The 

proposed regulation may decrease the demand for their 

services by a small amount. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no known alternative that minimizes the potential small 

adverse impact on providers of continuing education services 

while achieving the same goals. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

____________________________ 
1 http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082 

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Funeral Directors and Embalmers concurs with the 

analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments allow funeral service licensees, funeral 

directors, and embalmers to substitute one hour of 

volunteer work for one hour of continuing education 

annually.  

18VAC65-20-151. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of an active license.  

A. Funeral service licensees, funeral directors or funeral 

embalmers shall be required to have completed a minimum of 

five hours per year of continuing education offered by a 

board-approved sponsor for licensure renewal in courses that 

emphasize the ethics, standards of practice, preneed contracts 

and funding, or federal or state laws and regulations 

governing the profession of funeral service. One hour per 

year shall cover compliance with laws and regulations 

governing the profession, and at least one hour per year shall 

cover preneed funeral arrangements. One hour of the five 

hours required for annual renewal may be satisfied through 

delivery of professional services, without compensation, to 

low-income individuals receiving health services through a 

local health department or a free clinic organized in whole or 

primarily for the delivery of those services. One hour of 

continuing education may be credited for one hour of 

providing such volunteer services, as documented by the 

health department or free clinic. For the purposes of 

continuing education credit for volunteer service, an approved 

sponsor shall be a local health department or free clinic. 

B. Courses must be directly related to the scope of practice 

of funeral service. Courses for which the principal purpose is 

to promote, sell or offer goods, products or services to funeral 

homes are not acceptable for the purpose of credit toward 

renewal.  

C. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing education 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 

the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee 

of the continuing education requirement.  

D. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements for one renewal cycle due 

to circumstances determined by the board to be beyond the 

control of the licensee.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4953; Filed January 3, 2017, 9:37 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Health 

Professions is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 B 18 of the Code 

of Virginia, which exempts regulations for the 

implementation of the Health Practitioners' Monitoring 

Program, Chapter 25.1 (§ 54.1-2515 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC76-10. Regulations Governing 

the Health Practitioners' Monitoring Program for the 

Department of Health Professions (amending 18VAC76-

10-20, 18VAC76-10-65).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2516 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 22, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Peggy Woods, Program Manager, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-

4418, FAX (804) 527-4475, or email 

peggy.woods@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments clarify the director's authority to appoint 

and remove members of the Health Practitioners' 

Monitoring Committee, change the number of members 

that constitutes a quorum from four to five, and make a 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082


Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations January 23, 2017 

1234 

technical correction changing the title "program 

coordinator" to "program manager." 

18VAC76-10-20. Organization of committee.  

A. Members shall be appointed by the director for a term of 

four years and shall be eligible for reappointment for one 

additional four-year term. A member who is appointed to fill 

a vacancy for the remainder of an unexpired term shall be 

eligible for two full four-year terms. Terms of appointment 

shall begin on July 1 of each calendar year. The director shall 

have authority to remove a member for cause. 

B. Members of the committee shall not be current members 

of a health regulatory board within the department.  

C. The committee shall schedule meetings as necessary to 

conduct its business. Four Five members shall constitute a 

quorum. The committee may adopt bylaws to govern its 

operations as it deems necessary to conduct its business and 

as consistent with law and regulations.  

D. Each health regulatory board within the department shall 

designate, in accordance with subdivision 8 of § 54.1-2400 of 

the Code of Virginia, a liaison to the committee.  

18VAC76-10-65. Authority of the chairperson of the 

committee.  

A. The chairperson of the committee, following consultation 

with and briefing by the program coordinator manager, shall 

advise the relevant board that a participant is noncompliant 

and is no longer eligible for a stay. 

B. The chairperson may act on behalf of the committee 

when a scheduled meeting is canceled due to failure to 

convene a quorum.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4979; Filed January 3, 2017, 9:39 a.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 

and Chiropractic (amending 18VAC85-20-235).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2017. 

Effective Date: March 9, 2017.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX 

(804) 527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Board of Medicine to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system with a specific mandate 

enacted by Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly to 

include provisions for the satisfaction of board-required 

continuing education through the delivery of health care 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals 

receiving health services through a local health department or 

a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery 

of those health services. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to comply 

with the mandate of the General Assembly and provide an 

incentive for doctors of medicine, osteopathic medicine, 

podiatry, and chiropractic to volunteer professional services 

to free clinics or public health centers. While a licensee can 

satisfy up to 15 hours of continuing education with hours of 

volunteer service, he is still required to have 30 hours of Type 

I approved continuing education necessary to acquire new 

knowledge and skills and an additional 15 hours of Type 2 

continuing competency activities. All of the 60 hours required 

for biennial renewal may be Type 1 hours. Therefore, the 

public health is served by a potential increase in badly needed 

volunteer service for health care, but public safety is not 

sacrificed by eliminating most or all of the continuing 

education hours required for renewal. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

allowance of hours for volunteer service to be counted 

towards the continuing education requirement is a mandate of 

the General Assembly. A licensee is not required to provide 

volunteer service but may be credited with continuing 

education hours for doing so. The provisions are permissive 

and not controversial. 

Substance: The board has adopted amended regulations to 

allow doctors of medicine, osteopathic medicine, podiatry, 

and chiropractic to count up to 15 of the 30 Type 2 hours 

required for biennial renewal to be satisfied through delivery 

of health care services, without compensation, to low-income 

individuals receiving health services through a local health 

department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily 

for the delivery of those services. One hour of continuing 

education may be credited for one hour of providing such 

volunteer services, as documented by the health department 

or free clinic. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is the incentive given for 

doctors of medicine, osteopathic medicine, podiatry, and 

chiropractic to volunteer their services in exchange for credit 

towards meeting continuing education requirements. There 

are no disadvantages to the public. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly,
1
 the 

Board of Medicine (Board) proposes to allow one hour of 

volunteer work to be substituted for one hour of continuing 

education up to 15 hours biennially for doctors of medicine, 

osteopathic medicine, podiatry, and chiropractic. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 
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Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly requires all health boards to promulgate regulations 

to accept volunteer work provided to low-income individuals 

through local health departments or free clinics in lieu of the 

required continuing education. Pursuant to the legislative 

mandate, the Board proposes to accept one hour of volunteer 

work in satisfaction of one hour of continuing education from 

doctors of medicine, osteopathic medicine, podiatry, and 

chiropractic. The limit on the continuing education hours that 

can be satisfied by volunteer work is 15 hours every two 

years. Currently, doctors of medicine, osteopathic medicine, 

podiatry, and chiropractic are required to take 60 hours of 

continuing education every two years for biennial renewal of 

their licenses. 

The proposed change will allow affected practitioners to 

substitute volunteer work for continuing education. The 

educational value of volunteer services may vary depending 

on each person's experience.  

Also, it is not clear whether the ratio of required one hour of 

volunteer work per continuing education hour is sufficient by 

itself to provide additional incentives to offer volunteer 

service. Spending one hour acquiring continuing education 

would take the same amount of time providing one hour of 

free services. The proposed regulation will however help 

affected practitioners if they have already been providing 

volunteer services at the qualified locations by allowing them 

to earn continuing education credit for their charity work. 

In any event, the proposed regulation allows substitution of 

volunteer work for continuing education, but does not 

mandate it. A practitioner choosing to do volunteer work in 

lieu of the continuing education reveals that he or she benefits 

more from doing so. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, there are 36,818 

doctors of medicine, 3,053 doctors of osteopathic medicine, 

773 doctors of chiropractic, and 521 doctors of podiatry 

licensed in Virginia. According to data provided by the 

Virginia Employment Commission, there are 4,471 

establishments in the industry category of the doctors of 

medicine and osteopathic medicine, which include 

establishments of other health practitioners (e.g., offices of 

acupuncturists, allergists, anesthesiologists, etc.) not directly 

affected by the proposed regulation. All but four of the 4,471 

establishments in that category satisfy the small business 

criteria. There are also 698 chiropractors' offices and 150 

podiatry offices all of which satisfy the small business 

criteria. The number of continuing education providers is not 

known. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

may lead to a decrease in demand for continuing education 

services. In addition, the substitution of voluntary work for 

continuing education hours is voluntary and may not be 

exercised by all affected practitioners. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

potential impact on the asset value of continuing education 

providers is not known with certainty, but appears to be 

small. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Most of the affected establishments 

are small businesses. The proposed amendments do not 

impose costs on them. Most providers of continuing 

education services are probably small businesses as well. The 

proposed regulation may decrease the demand for their 

services. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no known alternative that minimizes the potential adverse 

impact on providers of continuing education services while 

achieving the same goals. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

______________________________ 
1 http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082 

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Medicine concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments allow doctors of medicine, osteopathic 

medicine, podiatry, and chiropractic to substitute one hour 

of volunteer work for one hour of continuing education for 

up to 15 hours of the 30 Type 2 hours required for biennial 

renewal. 

18VAC85-20-235. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of an active license.  

A. In order to renew an active license biennially, a 

practitioner shall attest to completion of at least 60 hours of 

continuing learning activities within the two years 

immediately preceding renewal as follows:  

1. A minimum of 30 of the 60 hours shall be in Type 1 

activities or courses offered by an accredited sponsor or 

organization sanctioned by the profession.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082
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a. Type 1 hours in chiropractic shall be clinical hours that 

are approved by a college or university accredited by the 

Council on Chiropractic Education or any other 

organization approved by the board.  

b. Type 1 hours in podiatry shall be accredited by the 

American Podiatric Medical Association, the American 

Council of Certified Podiatric Physicians and Surgeons 

or any other organization approved by the board.  

2. No more than 30 of the 60 hours may be Type 2 

activities or courses, which may or may not be approved 

by an accredited sponsor or organization but which shall be 

chosen by the licensee to address such areas as ethics, 

standards of care, patient safety, new medical technology, 

and patient communication. Up to 15 of the Type 2 

continuing education hours may be satisfied through 

delivery of services, without compensation, to low-income 

individuals receiving services through a local health 

department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily 

for the delivery of health services. One hour of continuing 

education may be credited for one hour of providing such 

volunteer services. For the purpose of continuing education 

credit for voluntary service, documentation by the health 

department or free clinic shall be acceptable.  

B. A practitioner shall be exempt from the continuing 

competency requirements for the first biennial renewal 

following the date of initial licensure in Virginia.  

C. The practitioner shall retain in his records all supporting 

documentation for a period of six years following the renewal 

of an active license.  

D. The board shall periodically conduct a random audit of 

its active licensees to determine compliance. The practitioners 

selected for the audit shall provide all supporting 

documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the 

audit.  

E. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 

the licensee to disciplinary action by the board.  

F. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 

continuing competency requirements for up to one year for 

good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 

prior to the renewal date.  

G. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 

licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters.  

H. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for a licensee who: 

1. Is practicing solely in an uncompensated position, provided 

his practice is under the direction of a physician fully licensed 

by the board; or 

2. Is practicing solely as a medical examiner, provided the 

licensee obtains six hours of medical examiner training per 

year provided by the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4947; Filed January 3, 2017, 9:40 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-40. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Respiratory Therapists (amending 

18VAC85-40-66).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2017. 

Effective Date: March 9, 2017.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Board of Medicine to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system with a specific mandate 

enacted by Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly to 

include provisions for the satisfaction of board-required 

continuing education through the delivery of health care 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals 

receiving health services through a local health department or 

a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery 

of those health services. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to comply 

with the mandate of the General Assembly and provide an 

incentive for respiratory therapists to volunteer professional 

services to free clinics or public health centers. While a 

licensee can satisfy two hours of continuing education with 

six hours of volunteer service, he is still required to have 18 

hours of approved continuing education necessary to acquire 

new knowledge and skills. Therefore, the public health is 

served by a potential increase in badly needed volunteer 

service for health care, but public safety is not sacrificed by 

eliminating most or all of the continuing education hours 

required for renewal. 

Inclusion of continuing education credit for post-licensure 

academic courses may encourage respiratory therapists to 

further their education to become more competent in and 

knowledgeable about new techniques and therapies to benefit 

the health of the patients they treat.  

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

allowance of hours for volunteer service to be counted 

towards the continuing education requirement is a mandate of 

the General Assembly. A licensee is not required to provide 

volunteer service but may be credited with continuing 

education hours for doing so. The provisions are permissive 

and not controversial. 

The inclusion of credit for post-licensure academic courses is 

also permissive and will expand the opportunities for 

completion of continuing competency requirements. 
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Substance: The board has adopted amended regulations to 

allow respiratory therapists to count up to two of the 20 hours 

required for biennial renewal to be satisfied through delivery 

of health care services, without compensation, to low-income 

individuals receiving health services through a local health 

department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily 

for the delivery of those services. One hour of continuing 

education may be credited for three hours of providing such 

volunteer services, as documented by the health department 

or free clinic. 

The board, upon the recommendation of the advisory board, 

also amended the regulation to allow continuing education 

credit for completion of post-licensure academic courses at an 

accredited college or university. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is the incentive given for 

respiratory therapists to volunteer their services in exchange 

for credit towards meeting continuing education 

requirements. There are no disadvantages to the public. There 

are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly,
1
 the 

Board of Medicine (Board) proposes to allow six hours of 

volunteer work to be substituted for up to two hours of 

continuing education biennially for respiratory therapists. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly requires all health boards to promulgate regulations 

to accept volunteer work provided to low-income individuals 

through local health departments or free clinics in lieu of the 

required continuing education. Pursuant to the legislative 

mandate, the Board proposes to accept three hours of 

volunteer work in satisfaction of one hour of continuing 

education from respiratory therapists. The limit on the 

continuing education hours that can be satisfied by volunteer 

work is two hours every two years. Currently, respiratory 

therapists are required to take 20 hours of continuing 

education every two years for biennial renewal of their 

licenses. 

The proposed change will allow affected professionals to 

substitute volunteer work for continuing education. The 

educational value of volunteer services may vary depending 

on each person's experience. However, the two-hour limit on 

the continuing education hours that can be gained through 

this method is a relatively small portion of the biennially 

required 20 hours. 

Also, it is not clear whether the ratio of required three hours 

per continuing education hour is sufficient by itself to provide 

enough incentives to offer volunteer service. It appears easier 

for respiratory therapists to spend one hour acquiring 

continuing education than to spend three hours providing free 

services. However, it is reasonable to expect that the 

additional incentive provided by the proposed regulation 

would lead to increased volunteer hours by convincing 

respiratory therapists who are indecisive at the margin about 

providing such services. The proposed regulation will also 

help those practitioners who have already been providing 

volunteer services at the qualified locations by allowing them 

to earn continuing education credit for their charity work. 

In any event, the proposed regulation allows substitution of 

volunteer work for continuing education, but does not 

mandate it. A practitioner choosing to do volunteer work in 

lieu of the continuing education reveals that he or she benefits 

more from doing so. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, there are 3,930 

respiratory therapists licensed in Virginia. According to data 

provided by the Virginia Employment Commission, there are 

376 establishments in the industry category of the affected 

entities, which include establishments of other health 

practitioners (e.g., offices of acupuncturists, dental hygienists, 

massage therapists, etc.) not directly affected by the proposed 

regulation. All of the 376 establishments in that category 

satisfy the small business criteria. The number of continuing 

education providers is not known. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

may lead to a decrease in demand for continuing education 

services. However, the two-hour limit on the continuing 

education hours that can be gained through this method is a 

relatively small portion of the biennially required 20 hours. In 

addition, the substitution of voluntary work for continuing 

education hours is voluntary and may not be exercised by all 

practitioners. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

potential impact on the asset value of continuing education 

providers is not known with certainty, but appears to be 

small. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. All of the respiratory therapy 

establishments are small businesses. The proposed 

amendments do not impose costs on them. Most providers of 

continuing education services are probably small businesses 

as well. The proposed regulation may decrease the demand 

for their services by a small amount. 
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Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no known alternative that minimizes the potential small 

adverse impact on providers of continuing education services 

while achieving the same goals. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

__________________________ 
1 http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082 

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Medicine concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments allow respiratory therapists to (i) substitute 

six hours of volunteer work for two hours of continuing 

education biennially and (ii) obtain continuing education 

credit by completion of a post-licensure academic course 

at an accredited college or university.  

18VAC85-40-66. Continuing education requirements.  

A. In order to renew an active license as a respiratory 

therapist, a licensee shall attest to having completed 20 hours 

of continuing education within the last biennium as follows: 

1. Courses approved and documented by a sponsor 

recognized by the AARC or in courses;  

2. Courses directly related to the practice of respiratory 

care as approved by the American Medical Association for 

Category 1 CME credit within the last biennium; or 

3. A credit course of post-licensure academic education 

relevant to respiratory care offered by a college or 

university accredited by an agency recognized by the U.S. 

Department of Education. 

Up to two continuing education hours may be satisfied 

through delivery of respiratory therapy services, without 

compensation, to low-income individuals receiving services 

through a local health department or a free clinic organized in 

whole or primarily for the delivery of health services. One 

hour of continuing education may be credited for three hours 

of providing such volunteer services. For the purpose of 

continuing education credit for voluntary service, the hours 

shall be approved and documented by the health department 

or free clinic.  

B. A practitioner shall be exempt from the continuing 

education requirements for the first biennial renewal 

following the date of initial licensure in Virginia.  

C. The practitioner shall retain in his records the completed 

form with all supporting documentation for a period of four 

years following the renewal of an active license.  

D. The board shall periodically conduct a random audit of 

its active licensees to determine compliance. The practitioners 

selected for the audit shall provide all supporting 

documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the 

audit.  

E. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 

the licensee to disciplinary action by the board.  

F. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 

continuing competency requirements, for up to one year, for 

good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 

prior to the renewal date.  

G. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 

licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4948; Filed January 3, 2017, 9:40 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-80. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Occupational Therapists (amending 

18VAC85-80-71).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2017. 

Effective Date: March 9, 2017.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Board of Medicine to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system with a specific mandate 

enacted by Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly to 

include provisions for the satisfaction of board-required 

continuing education through the delivery of health care 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals 

receiving health services through a local health department or 

a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery 

of those health services. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to comply 

with the mandate of the General Assembly and provide an 

incentive for occupational therapists and occupational therapy 

assistants to volunteer professional services to free clinics or 

public health centers. While a licensee can satisfy two hours 

of continuing education with six hours of volunteer service, 

he is still required to have at least 10 hours of Type 1 

approved continuing education necessary to acquire new 

knowledge and skills and an additional eight hours of Type 2 

continuing competency activities. All of the 20 hours required 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082
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for biennial renewal may be Type 1 hours. Therefore, the 

public health is served by a potential increase in badly needed 

volunteer service for health care, but public safety is not 

sacrificed by eliminating most or all of the continuing 

education hours required for renewal. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

allowance of hours for volunteer service to be counted 

towards the continuing education requirement is a mandate of 

the General Assembly. A licensee is not required to provide 

volunteer service but may be credited with continuing 

education hours for doing so. The provisions are permissive 

and not controversial. 

Substance: The board has adopted amended regulations to 

allow occupational therapists and occupational therapy 

assistants to count two hours of the 10 Type 2 hours required 

for biennial renewal to be satisfied through delivery of health 

care services, without compensation, to low-income 

individuals receiving health services through a local health 

department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily 

for the delivery of those services. One hour of continuing 

education may be credited for three hours of providing such 

volunteer services, as documented by the health department 

or free clinic. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is the incentive given for 

occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants to 

volunteer their services in exchange for credit towards 

meeting continuing education requirements. There are no 

disadvantages to the public. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly,
1
 the 

Board of Medicine (Board) proposes to allow six hours of 

volunteer work to be substituted for up to two hours of 

continuing education biennially for occupational therapists 

and occupational therapy assistants. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly requires all health boards to promulgate regulations 

to accept volunteer work provided to low-income individuals 

through local health departments or free clinics in lieu of the 

required continuing education. Pursuant to the legislative 

mandate, the Board proposes to accept three hours of 

volunteer work in satisfaction of one hour of continuing 

education from occupational therapists and occupational 

therapy assistants. The limit on the continuing education 

hours that can be satisfied by volunteer work is two hours 

every two years. Currently, occupational therapists and 

occupational therapy assistants are required to take 20 hours 

of continuing education every two years for biennial renewal 

of their licenses. 

The proposed change will allow affected practitioners to 

substitute volunteer work for continuing education. The 

educational value of volunteer services may vary depending 

on each person's experience. However, the two-hour limit on 

the continuing education hours that can be gained through 

this method is a relatively small portion of the biennially 

required 20 hours. 

Also, it is not clear whether the ratio of required three hours 

per continuing education hour is sufficient by itself to provide 

enough incentives to offer volunteer service. It appears easier 

for practitioners to spend one hour acquiring continuing 

education than to spend three hours providing free services. 

However, it is reasonable to expect that the additional 

incentive provided by the proposed regulation would lead to 

increased volunteer hours by convincing practitioners who are 

indecisive at the margin about providing such services. The 

proposed regulation will also help those practitioners who 

have already been providing volunteer services at the 

qualified locations by allowing them to earn continuing 

education credit for their charity work. 

In any event, the proposed regulation allows substitution of 

volunteer work for continuing education, but does not 

mandate it. A practitioner choosing to do volunteer work in 

lieu of the continuing education reveals that he or she benefits 

more from doing so. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, there are 3,801 

occupational therapists and 1,384 occupational therapy 

assistants licensed in Virginia. According to data provided by 

the Virginia Employment Commission, there are 898 

establishments in the industry category of the affected 

entities, which include establishments of other health 

practitioners (e.g., offices of audiologists, pathologists, 

physical therapists, etc.) not directly affected by the proposed 

regulation. All of the 898 establishments in that category 

satisfy the small business criteria. The number of continuing 

education providers is not known. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

may lead to a decrease in demand for continuing education 

services. However, the two-hour limit on the continuing 

education hours that can be gained through this method is a 

relatively small portion of the biennially required 20 

hours.  In addition, the substitution of voluntary work for 

continuing education hours is voluntary and may not be 

exercised by all practitioners. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

potential impact on the asset value of continuing education 

providers is not known with certainty, but appears to be 

small. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 
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Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. All of the occupational therapy 

establishments are small businesses. The proposed 

amendments do not impose costs on them. Most providers of 

continuing education services are probably small businesses 

as well. The proposed regulation may decrease the demand 

for their services by a small amount. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no known alternative that minimizes the potential small 

adverse impact on providers of continuing education services 

while achieving the same goals. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

_______________________________ 
1 http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082 

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Medicine concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget.  

Summary:  

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments allow occupational therapists and 

occupational therapy assistants to substitute six hours of 

volunteer work for two hours of the 10 Type 2 hours of 

continuing education required for biennial renewal. 

18VAC85-80-71. Continued competency requirements for 

renewal of an active license.  

A. In order to renew an active license biennially, a 

practitioner shall complete the Continued Competency 

Activity and Assessment Form that is provided by the board 

and that shall indicate completion of at least 20 contact hours 

of continuing learning activities as follows:  

1. A minimum of 10 of the 20 hours shall be in Type 1 

activities offered by a sponsor or organization recognized 

by the profession and may include in-service training, self-

study courses, continuing education courses, specialty 

certification, or professional workshops.  

2. No more than 10 of the 20 hours may be Type 2 

activities, which may include consultation with another 

therapist, independent reading or research, preparation for 

a presentation, or other such experiences that promote 

continued learning. Up to two of the Type 2 continuing 

education hours may be satisfied through delivery of 

occupational therapy services, without compensation, to 

low-income individuals receiving services through a local 

health department or a free clinic organized in whole or 

primarily for the delivery of health services. One hour of 

continuing education may be credited for three hours of 

providing such volunteer services as documented by the 

health department or free clinic. 

B. A practitioner shall be exempt from the continuing 

competency requirements for the first biennial renewal 

following the date of initial licensure in Virginia.  

C. The practitioner shall retain in his records the completed 

form with all supporting documentation for a period of six 

years following the renewal of an active license.  

D. The board shall periodically conduct a random audit of at 

least one to two percent of its active licensees to determine 

compliance. The practitioners selected for the audit shall 

provide the completed Continued Competency Activity and 

Assessment Form and all supporting documentation within 30 

days of receiving notification of the audit.  

E. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 

the licensee to disciplinary action by the board.  

F. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 

continuing competency requirements for up to one year for 

good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 

prior to the renewal date.  

G. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 

licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4958; Filed January 3, 2017, 9:41 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-101. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Radiologic Technology (repealing 

18VAC85-101-50, 18VAC85-101-61).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2956.8:1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2017. 

Effective Date: March 9, 2017.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Medicine the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system, and § 54.1-

2956.8:1 of the Code of Virginia, which provides that it is 

unlawful to practice radiologic technology without a license. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082
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Purpose: The existence of regulatory language for 

traineeships for unlicensed graduates has created confusion 

for some applicants who believe they can practice radiologic 

technology before passage of the licensing examination. The 

law specifies that licensure is required for practice, with the 

exception of radiologic technologists employed by a hospital. 

To ensure that a person is fully qualified to engage in practice 

defined as "the application of ionizing radiation to human 

beings for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes," the sections 

allowing for traineeships are being repealed to protect the 

health and safety of patients in the Commonwealth. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: Since 

the promulgation of 18VAC85-101-50 in 1996 and 

18VAC85-101-61 in 2003, staff can only recall one time a 

traineeship has been granted, and that was years ago when 

examinations were only offered three times a year. Graduates 

are now allowed to sit for the licensing examination any day 

of the work week, so the need for a traineeship no longer 

exists but does cause confusion for a few persons. 

Accordingly, repeal of 18VAC85-101-50 and 18VAC85-101-

61 will not be controversial. 

Substance: The board is repealing 18VAC85-101-50 and 

18VAC85-101-61 on traineeships for unlicensed graduates. 

Issues: There are no advantages or disadvantages to the public 

because there are no traineeships currently being granted. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Medicine (Board) proposes to repeal 50 

(Traineeship for unlicensed graduate) and 60 (Traineeship for 

an applicant for licensure as a radiologic technologist-limited) 

of 18VAC85-101. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Code of Virginia (Code) § 54.1-

2956.8:1 states that "it shall be unlawful for a person to 

practice…as a radiologist technologist or radiologist 

technologist, limited...unless he holds a license as such issued 

by the Board." The Code section provides for one exception 

for individuals employed by a hospital who are practicing as 

radiologic technologists. 

The existence of regulatory language for traineeships for 

unlicensed graduates (in sections 50 and 60) has created 

confusion for some applicants who believe they can practice 

radiologic technology before passage of the licensing 

examination. As described above, the law specifies that 

licensure is required for practice, with the exception of 

radiologic technologists employed by a hospital. According to 

the Department of Health Professions, since the enactment of 

the sections staff can only recall one time a traineeship has 

been granted, and that was when examinations were only 

offered three times a year. Graduates are now allowed to sit 

for the licensing examination any day of the work week; so 

the need for a traineeship no longer exists. Thus the proposed 

repeal of the sections would have no impact in practice other 

than reduce potential confusion among readers of the 

regulation. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed repeal of the 

sections would reduce the likelihood of confusion among 

readers of the regulation. Individuals considering licensure as 

a radiologist technologist or radiologist technologist-limited 

are the most likely to be interested in the sections. Each year 

approximately 430 new licenses are issued for radiologist 

technologists and 45 new licenses are issued for radiologist 

technologists-limited.
1
 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments do not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 

significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect other entities. 

_______________________ 
1 Data source: Department of Health Professions. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Medicine concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments repeal provisions on traineeships for 

unlicensed graduates for consistency with § 54.1-2956.8:1 

of the Code of Virginia. 
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18VAC85-101-50. Traineeship for unlicensed graduate. 

(Repealed.) 

A. An applicant who is an unlicensed graduate of an ARRT 

acceptable program may be employed as a trainee under the 

direct supervision of a licensed radiologic technologist, or 

doctor of medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic, or podiatry. 

B. The graduate shall submit an application for a traineeship 

to the board for review and approval by the Chairman of the 

Advisory Board on Radiological Technology or his designee. 

C. The traineeship shall terminate 14 working days after 

receipt by the candidate of the licensure examination results. 

The unlicensed graduate may reapply for a new traineeship 

while awaiting to take the next examination. 

D. An unlicensed graduate may serve in a traineeship for a 

period not to exceed two years or through three unsuccessful 

attempts of the licensure examination, whichever comes first. 

After such time, the graduate shall apply to the Advisory 

Board on Radiological Technology for approval to continue 

in practice as a trainee. 

18VAC85-101-61. Traineeship for an applicant for 

licensure as a radiologic technologist-limited. (Repealed.) 

A. An applicant who is seeking licensure as a radiologic 

technologist-limited may be employed as a trainee under the 

direct supervision of a licensed radiologic technologist, 

doctor of medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic or podiatry.  

B. The person shall submit an application for a traineeship 

to the board for review and approval by the Chairman of the 

Advisory Board on Radiological Technology or his designee.  

C. The traineeship shall terminate 14 working days after 

receipt by the candidate of the licensure examination results 

or, if training for limited licensure in bone densitometry or 

abdomen and pelvis, 14 working days after completion of the 

required number of procedures. The trainee may reapply for a 

new traineeship while waiting to take the next examination or 

for satisfactory completion of the required number of 

procedures.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4946; Filed January 3, 2017, 9:42 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-101. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Radiologic Technology (amending 

18VAC85-101-150).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2017. 

Effective Date: March 9, 2017.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Board of Medicine to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system with a specific mandate 

enacted by Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly to 

include provisions for the satisfaction of board-required 

continuing education through the delivery of health care 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals 

receiving health services through a local health department or 

a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery 

of those health services. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to comply 

with the mandate of the General Assembly and provide an 

incentive for a radiologic technologist, a radiologic 

technologist-limited, and a radiologist assistant to volunteer 

professional services to free clinics or public health centers. 

While a licensee can satisfy two hours of continuing 

education with six hours of volunteer service, he is still 

required to have hours of approved continuing education 

necessary to acquire new knowledge and skills, as follows: 24 

hours for a radiologic technologist, 12 hours for a radiologic 

technologist-limited, and 50 hours for a radiologist assistant. 

Therefore, the public health is served by a potential increase 

in badly needed volunteer service for health care, but public 

safety is not sacrificed by eliminating most or all of the 

continuing education hours required for renewal. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

allowance of hours for volunteer service to be counted 

towards the continuing education requirement is a mandate of 

the General Assembly. A licensee is not required to provide 

volunteer service but may be credited with continuing 

education hours for doing so. The provisions are permissive 

and not controversial. 

Substance: The board has adopted amended regulations to 

allow a radiologic technologist, a radiologic technologist-

limited, and a radiologist assistant to count two hours of the 

hours required for biennial renewal to be satisfied through 

delivery of health care services, without compensation, to 

low-income individuals receiving health services through a 

local health department or a free clinic organized in whole or 

primarily for the delivery of those services. One hour of 

continuing education may be credited for three hours of 

providing such volunteer services, as documented by the 

health department or free clinic. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is the incentive given for 

a radiologic technologist, a radiologic technologist-limited, or 

a radiologist assistant to volunteer his services in exchange 

for credit towards meeting continuing education 

requirements. There are no disadvantages to the public. There 

are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly,
1
 the 
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Board of Medicine (Board) proposes to allow six hours of 

volunteer work to be substituted for up to two hours of 

continuing education biennially for radiologist assistants, 

radiological technologists, and radiologic technologists-

limited. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly requires all health boards to promulgate regulations 

to accept volunteer work provided to low-income individuals 

through local health departments or free clinics in lieu of the 

required continuing education. Pursuant to the legislative 

mandate, the Board proposes to accept three hours of 

volunteer work in satisfaction of one hour of continuing 

education from radiologist assistants, radiological 

technologists, or radiologic technologist-limited. The limit on 

the continuing education hours that can be satisfied by 

volunteer work is two hours every two years. Currently, 

radiologist assistants, radiological technologists, and 

radiologic technologists-limited are required respectively to 

take 24, 12, or 50 hours of continuing education every two 

years for biennial renewal of their licenses. 

The proposed change will allow affected practitioners to 

substitute volunteer work for continuing education. The 

educational value of volunteer services may vary depending 

on each person's experience. However, the two-hour limit on 

the continuing education hours that can be gained through 

this method is a relatively small portion of the biennially 

required hours. 

Also, it is not clear whether the ratio of required three hours 

per continuing education hour is sufficient by itself to provide 

enough incentives to offer volunteer service. It appears easier 

for affected practitioners to spend one hour acquiring 

continuing education than to spend three hours providing free 

services. However, it is reasonable to expect that the 

additional incentive provided by the proposed regulation 

would lead to increased volunteer hours by convincing 

affected practitioners who are indecisive at the margin about 

providing such services. The proposed regulation will also 

help those practitioners who have already been providing 

volunteer services at the qualified locations by allowing them 

to earn continuing education credit for their charity work. 

In any event, the proposed regulation allows substitution of 

volunteer work for continuing education, but does not 

mandate it. A practitioner choosing to do volunteer work in 

lieu of the continuing education reveals that he or she benefits 

more from doing so. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, there are 12 

licensed radiologist assistants, 4,292 radiologic technologists, 

and 644 radiologic technologists-limited in Virginia. 

According to data provided by the Virginia Employment 

Commission, there are 4,471 establishments in the industry 

category of the affected entities, which include establishments 

of other health practitioners (e.g., offices of acupuncturists, 

allergists, anesthesiologists, etc.) not directly affected by the 

proposed regulation. All but four of the 4,471 establishments 

in that category satisfy the small business criteria. The 

number of continuing education providers is not known. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

may lead to a decrease in demand for continuing education 

services. However, the two-hour limit on the continuing 

education hours that can be gained through this method is a 

relatively small portion of the biennially required hours. In 

addition, the substitution of voluntary work for continuing 

education hours is voluntary and may not be exercised by all 

practitioners. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

potential impact on the asset value of continuing education 

providers is not known with certainty, but appears to be 

small. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Most if not all of the radiologic 

technology establishments are small businesses. The 

proposed amendments do not impose costs on them. Most 

providers of continuing education services are probably small 

businesses as well. The proposed regulation may decrease the 

demand for their services by a small amount. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no known alternative that minimizes the potential small 

adverse impact on providers of continuing education services 

while achieving the same goals. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

________________________________ 
1 http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082 

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Medicine concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments allow a radiologic technologist, a radiologic 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082
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technologist-limited, and a radiologist assistant to 

substitute six hours of volunteer work for two hours of 

continuing education biennially.  

Part VIII 

Renewal of Licensure  

18VAC85-101-150. Biennial renewal of license. 

A. A radiologist assistant, radiologic technologist, or 

radiologic technologist-limited who intends to continue 

practice shall renew his license biennially during his birth 

month in each odd-numbered year and pay to the board the 

prescribed renewal fee. 

B. A license that has not been renewed by the first day of the 

month following the month in which renewal is required shall 

be expired.  

C. An additional fee as prescribed in 18VAC85-101-25 shall 

be imposed by the board.  

D. In order to renew an active license as a radiologic 

technologist, a licensee shall attest to having completed 24 

hours of continuing education as acceptable to the ARRT 

within the last biennium.  

E. In order to renew an active license as a radiologic 

technologist-limited, a licensee shall attest to having 

completed 12 hours of continuing education within the last 

biennium that corresponds to the anatomical areas in which 

the limited licensee practices. Hours shall be acceptable to the 

ARRT, or by the ACRRT for limited licensees whose scope 

of practice is chiropractic, or by any other entity approved by 

the board for limited licensees whose scope of practice is 

podiatry or bone densitometry.  

F. In order to renew an active license as a radiologist 

assistant, a licensee shall attest to having completed 50 hours 

of continuing education as acceptable to the ARRT within the 

last biennium. A minimum of 25 hours of continuing 

education shall be recognized by the ARRT as intended for 

radiologist assistants or radiologists and shall be specific to 

the radiologist assistant's area of practice. Continuing 

education hours earned for renewal of a radiologist assistant 

license shall satisfy the requirements for renewal of a 

radiologic technologist license. 

G. Up to two continuing education hours may be satisfied 

through delivery of radiological services, without 

compensation, to low-income individuals receiving services 

through a local health department or a free clinic organized in 

whole or primarily for the delivery of health services. One 

hour of continuing education may be credited for three hours 

of providing such volunteer services. For the purpose of 

continuing education credit for voluntary service, 

documentation by the health department or free clinic shall be 

acceptable.  

H. Other provisions for continuing education shall be as 

follows:  

1. A practitioner shall be exempt from the continuing 

education requirements for the first biennial renewal 

following the date of initial licensure in Virginia.  

2. The practitioner shall retain in his records the Continued 

Competency Activity and Assessment Form available on 

the board's website with all supporting documentation for a 

period of four years following the renewal of an active 

license.  

3. The board shall periodically conduct a random audit of 

its active licensees to determine compliance. The 

practitioners selected for the audit shall provide all 

supporting documentation within 30 days of receiving 

notification of the audit.  

4. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 

the licensee to disciplinary action by the board.  

5. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 

satisfying continuing competency requirements, for up to 

one year, for good cause shown upon a written request 

from the licensee prior to the renewal date.  

6. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 

licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4959; Filed January 3, 2017, 9:41 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-140. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Polysomnographic Technologists 

(amending 18VAC85-140-100).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2017. 

Effective Date: March 9, 2017.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Board of Medicine to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system with a specific mandate 

enacted by Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly to 

include provisions for the satisfaction of board-required 

continuing education through the delivery of health care 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals 

receiving health services through a local health department or 

a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery 

of those health services. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to comply 

with the mandate of the General Assembly and provide an 

incentive for polysomnographic technologists to volunteer 

professional services to free clinics or public health centers. 

While a licensee can satisfy up to two hours of continuing 
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education with six hours of volunteer service, he is still 

required to have 18 hours of approved continuing education 

necessary to acquire new knowledge and skills. Therefore, the 

public health is served by a potential increase in badly needed 

volunteer service for health care, but public safety is not 

sacrificed by eliminating most or all of the continuing 

education hours required for renewal. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

allowance of hours for volunteer service to be counted 

towards the continuing education requirement is a mandate of 

the General Assembly. A licensee is not required to provide 

volunteer service but may be credited with continuing 

education hours for doing so. The provisions are permissive 

and not controversial. 

Substance: The board has adopted amended regulations to 

allow polysomnographic technologists to count up to two 

hours of the 20 hours required for biennial renewal to be 

satisfied through delivery of professional services, without 

compensation, to low-income individuals receiving health 

services through a local health department or a free clinic 

organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of those 

services. One hour of continuing education may be credited 

for three hours of providing such volunteer services, as 

documented by the health department or free clinic. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is the incentive given for 

polysomnographic technologists to volunteer their services in 

exchange for credit towards meeting continuing education 

requirements. There are no disadvantages to the public. There 

are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly,
1
 the 

Board of Medicine (Board) proposes to allow six hours of 

volunteer work to be substituted for up to two hours of 

continuing education biennially for polysomnographic 

technologists. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly requires all health boards to promulgate regulations 

to accept volunteer work provided to low-income individuals 

through local health departments or free clinics in lieu of the 

required continuing education. Pursuant to the legislative 

mandate, the Board proposes to accept three hours of 

volunteer work in satisfaction of one hour of continuing 

education from polysomnographic technologists. 

Polysomnographic technologists perform overnight, daytime, 

or home sleep studies on individuals with suspected sleep 

disorders. The limit on the continuing education hours that 

can be satisfied by volunteer work is two hours every two 

years. Currently, polysomnographic technologists are 

required to take 20 hours of continuing education every two 

years for biennial renewal of their licenses. 

The proposed change will allow affected professionals to 

substitute volunteer work for continuing education. The 

educational value of volunteer services may vary depending 

on each person's experience. However, the two-hour limit on 

the continuing education hours that can be gained through 

this method is a relatively small portion of the biennially 

required 20 hours. 

Also, it is not clear whether the ratio of required three hours 

per continuing education hour is sufficient by itself to provide 

enough incentives to offer volunteer service. It appears easier 

for polysomnographic technologists to spend one hour 

acquiring continuing education than to spend three hours 

providing free services. However, it is reasonable to expect 

that the additional incentive provided by the proposed 

regulation would lead to increased volunteer hours by 

convincing polysomnographic technologists who are 

indecisive at the margin about providing such services. The 

proposed regulation will also help those practitioners who 

have already been providing volunteer services at the 

qualified locations by allowing them to earn continuing 

education credit for their charity work. 

In any event, the proposed regulation allows substitution of 

volunteer work for continuing education, but does not 

mandate it. A practitioner choosing to do volunteer work in 

lieu of the continuing education reveals that he or she benefits 

more from doing so. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, there are 425 

polysomnographic technologists licensed in Virginia. 

According to data provided by the Virginia Employment 

Commission, there are 4,471 establishments in the industry 

category of the affected entities, which include establishments 

of other health practitioners (e.g., offices of acupuncturists, 

allergists, anesthesiologists, etc.) not directly affected by the 

proposed regulation. All but four of the 4,471 establishments 

in that category satisfy the small business criteria. The 

number of continuing education providers is not known. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

may lead to a decrease in demand for continuing education 

services. However, the two-hour limit on the continuing 

education hours that can be gained through this method is a 

relatively small portion of the biennially required 20 

hours.  In addition, the substitution of voluntary work for 

continuing education hours is voluntary and may not be 

exercised by all practitioners. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

potential impact on the asset value of continuing education 

providers is not known with certainty, but appears to be 

small. 
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Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Most if not all of the 

polysomnographic technologist establishments are small 

businesses. The proposed amendments do not impose costs 

on them. Most providers of continuing education services are 

probably small businesses as well. The proposed regulation 

may decrease the demand for their services by a small 

amount. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no known alternative that minimizes the potential small 

adverse impact on providers of continuing education services 

while achieving the same goals. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

_______________________________ 
1 http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082 

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Medicine concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments allow licensed polysomnographic 

technologists to substitute six hours of volunteer work for 

two hours of continuing education biennially.  

18VAC85-140-100. Continuing education requirements. 

A. In order to renew an active license as a 

polysomnographic technologist, a licensee shall attest to 

having successfully completed 20 hours of continuing 

education in courses directly related to the practice of 

polysomnographic technology as approved and documented 

by a provider recognized by one of the following: 

1. The Board of Registered Polysomnographic 

Technologists Education Advisory Board (BRPT-EAC); 

2. The American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM); 

3. The American Medical Association for Category 1 

continuing medical education credit; 

4. The American Association of Sleep Technologists 

(AAST); 

5. The American Society of Electroneurodiagnostic 

Technologists, Inc. (ASET);  

6. The American Association for Respiratory Care 

(AARC);  

7. The American Nurses Association (ANA); or 

8. The American College of Chest Physicians (ACCP). 

B. Up to two continuing education hours may be satisfied 

through delivery of polysomnographic technology services, 

without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 

services through a local health department or a free clinic 

organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of health 

services. One hour of continuing education may be credited 

for three hours of providing such volunteer services. For the 

purpose of continuing education credit for voluntary service, 

the hours shall be approved and documented by the health 

department or free clinic. 

C. A practitioner shall be exempt from the continuing 

education requirements for the first biennial renewal 

following the date of initial licensure in Virginia.  

C. D. The practitioner shall retain the completed form with 

all supporting documentation in his records for a period of 

four years following the renewal of an active license.  

D. E. The board shall periodically conduct a random audit of 

its active licensees to determine compliance. The practitioners 

selected for the audit shall provide all supporting 

documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the 

audit. 

E. F. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 

the licensee to disciplinary action by the board.  

F. G. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 

continuing competency requirements, for up to one year, for 

good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 

prior to the renewal date.  

G. H. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of 

the requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 

licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4960; Filed January 3, 2017, 9:43 a.m.  

BOARD OF NURSING 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-60. Regulations Governing 

the Registration of Medication Aides (amending 

18VAC90-60-110).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2017. 

Effective Date: March 9, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082
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Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Nursing the authority to promulgate 

regulations. In addition, there is statutory authority for the 

board to approve training and curriculum for medication aide 

programs and to establish standards of conduct regulations to 

administer the regulatory system in § 54.1-3005 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Purpose: The amendments clarify that subcutaneous 

administration of medication is not within the scope of 

practice for a medication aide, with the exception of three 

medications essentially used for emergencies and as taught in 

the medication aide curriculum. The amendments ensure that 

medication aides do not inappropriately administer drugs by a 

subcutaneous route. Since medication aides work solely in 

assisted living facilities, clearly worded regulations are 

necessary to protect a very vulnerable population in a facility 

where it is unlikely that another health care provider is 

present. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

board is using the fast-track rulemaking process because the 

change will ensure that medication aides can administer 

certain medications that may save the life of a resident in an 

assisted living facility. Therefore, the board would like to 

promulgate those amendments as soon as possible. There 

should be no opposition to the amendment, so a fast-track 

rulemaking action is appropriate. 

Substance: 18VAC90-60-110 is amended to clarify that 

medication aides are not allowed to administer by 

subcutaneous route except for insulin medications, glucagon, 

or auto-injectable epinephrine. An exception for insulin and 

glucagon is already listed for administration by intramuscular 

or intravenous routes, but it is more appropriately a 

subcutaneous administration. 

Issues: The primary advantage is to residents of assisted 

living facilities, which are the only settings in which 

medication aides practice, for trained individuals to be able to 

administer a potentially life-saving drug. There are no 

primary disadvantages to the public. The primary advantage 

to the Board of Nursing is the clarification about whether 

medication aides may administer by a subcutaneous route. 

Such administration is not taught in the training programs and 

is not part of the curriculum, with the exception of limited 

rescue medications.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Nursing (Board) proposes to clarify that medication 

aides
1
 may not administer any medications other than insulin, 

glucagon and auto-injectable epinephrine by subcutaneous
2
 

route. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for this 

proposed change. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulation prohibits 

medication aides from transmitting verbal orders to 

pharmacies; making an assessment of a client or deviating 

from the medication regime ordered by the prescriber; or 

mixing, diluting or reconstituting two or more drug products 

(with the exception of insulin and glucagon). Medication 

aides are also currently prohibited from administering any 

medication except glucagon via nasogastric or percutaneous 

endoscopic gastric tube and any medications by intramuscular 

or intravenous routes. Although medication aides are not 

allowed to administer any medications by intravenous or 

intramuscular injection, they are currently trained to 

administer three types medication via subcutaneous 

injections: insulin, glucagon and auto-injectable epinephrine.  

Board staff reports that they have had inquiries from both 

medication aides, and the assisted living facilities where they 

are employed, as to whether they are allowed to administer 

any subcutaneous injections other than insulin, glucagon or 

auto-injectable epinephrine. Section 54.1-3408 M of the Code 

of Virginia requires, among other things, that medication 

aides practice in accordance with regulations governing their 

practice promulgated by the Board of Nursing. Board of 

Nursing regulation 18VAC90-60-120 (2) (b) prohibits 

medication aides from "assuming duties and responsibilities 

within the practice of medication aides without adequate 

training or when competency has not been maintained." 

Because of this language in the COV and regulation, it is the 

Board's position that medication aides may not administer any 

subcutaneous injections other than the three on which they are 

specifically trained. To clarify this, the Board now proposes 

to add administering any subcutaneous injections, other than 

of insulin, glucagon and auto-injectable epinephrine, to the 

list of prohibited acts for medication aides. 

Board staff reports that no assisted living facilities are known 

to currently allow medication aides to administer 

subcutaneous injections other than those for which they are 

specifically trained. Therefore, no assisted living facilities are 

likely to incur any costs on account of this proposed 

regulatory change. Medication aides and assisted living 

facilities, as well as the clients at such facilities, will benefit 

from this change as it will clear up any confusion that might 

exist about the limits of practice for medication aides vis-a-

vis subcutaneous injections.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that 

there are approximately 6,000 registered medication aides 

currently registered with the Board. All of these individuals, 

as well as any individuals who become registered in the 

future, will be affected by this proposed regulatory change. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes.  
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Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

change is unlikely to affect employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

proposed change will likely not affect the use or value of 

private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This proposed regulatory 

change is unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No small businesses are likely to 

incur any additional costs on account of this clarifying 

change. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 

businesses are likely to incur any additional costs on account 

of this clarifying change.  

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. No businesses are likely to incur any additional 

costs on account of this clarifying change. 

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 

see any adverse impacts on account of this proposed 

regulatory change. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely 

affected by this proposed change. 

______________________________________ 
1 Medication aides are registered with the Board of Nursing, work in assisted 

living facilities licensed by the Board of Social Services and are authorized 

by Code to administer drugs that would normally be self-administered by 
residents of such facilities. 
2 Subcutaneous means located beneath the skin. Subcutaneous injections 

deliver medication to the fatty tissue just under the skin.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Nursing concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendment clarifies that medication aides may not 

administer any medications other than insulin, glucagon, 

or auto-injectable epinephrine by subcutaneous route. 

18VAC90-60-110. Standards of practice. 

A. A medication aide shall: 

1. Document and report all medication errors and adverse 

reactions immediately to the licensed health care 

professional in the facility or to the client's prescriber; 

2. Give all medications in accordance with the prescriber's 

orders and instructions for dosage and time of 

administration and document such administration in the 

client's record; and 

3. Document and report any information giving reason to 

suspect the abuse, neglect, or exploitation of clients 

immediately to the licensed health care professional in the 

facility or to the facility administrator. 

B. A medication aide shall not: 

1. Transmit verbal orders to a pharmacy; 

2. Make an assessment of a client or deviate from the 

medication regime ordered by the prescriber; 

3. Mix, dilute, or reconstitute two or more drug products, 

with the exception of insulin or glucagon; or 

4. Administer by intramuscular or intravenous routes or 

medications via a nasogastric or percutaneous endoscopic 

gastric tube except for administration of glucagon; or 

5. Administer by subcutaneous route, except for insulin 

medications, glucagon, or auto-injectable epinephrine. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4696; Filed January 3, 2017, 9:44 a.m.  

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC95-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing Home Administrators (amending 

18VAC95-20-175). 

18VAC95-30. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Assisted Living Facility Administrators (amending 

18VAC95-30-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2017. 

Effective Date: March 9, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 

(804) 367-4595, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 

corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Board of Long-Term Care Administrators to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system with a specific 

mandate enacted by Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly 

to include provisions for the satisfaction of board-required 

continuing education through the delivery of health care 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals 

receiving health services through a local health department or 

a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery 

of those health services. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to comply 

with the mandate of the General Assembly and provide an 

incentive for licensees to volunteer professional services to 

free clinics or public health centers. While a licensee can 
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satisfy two hours of continuing education with two hours of 

volunteer service, he is still required to have 18 hours of 

approved continuing education necessary to acquire new 

knowledge and skills. Therefore, the public health is served 

by a potential increase in badly needed volunteer service for 

health care, but public safety is not sacrificed by eliminating 

most or all of the continuing education hours required for 

renewal. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

allowance of hours for volunteer service to be counted 

towards the continuing education requirement is a mandate of 

the General Assembly. A licensee is not required to provide 

volunteer service but may be credited with continuing 

education hours for doing so. The provisions are permissive 

and not controversial. 

Substance: The board has adopted amended regulations to 

allow nursing home administrators and assisted living facility 

administrators to count two hours of the 20 hours required for 

annual renewal to be satisfied through delivery of services, 

without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 

health services through a local health department or a free 

clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of 

those services. One hour of continuing education may be 

credited for one hour of providing such volunteer services, as 

documented by the health department or free clinic. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is the incentive given for 

nursing home administrators and assisted living facility 

administrators to volunteer their services in exchange for 

credit towards meeting continuing education requirements. 

There are no disadvantages to the public. There are no 

advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly,
1
 the 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators (Board) proposes 

to allow two hours of volunteer work to be substituted for up 

to two hours of continuing education annually for nursing 

home and assisted living facility administrators. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly requires all health boards to promulgate regulations 

to accept volunteer work provided to low-income individuals 

through local health departments or free clinics in lieu of the 

required continuing education. Pursuant to the legislative 

mandate, the Board proposes to accept one hour of volunteer 

work in satisfaction of one hour of continuing education from 

nursing home and assisted living facility administrators. The 

limit on the continuing education hours that can be satisfied 

by volunteer work is two hours per year. Currently, nursing 

home and assisted living facility administrators are required 

to take 20 hours of continuing education per year for annual 

renewal of their licenses. 

The proposed change will allow affected professionals to 

substitute volunteer work for continuing education. The 

educational value of volunteer services may vary depending 

on each person's experience. In addition, the administrators' 

area of expertise may not be directly related to the services 

needed at local health departments or free clinics. However, 

the two-hour limit on the continuing education hours that can 

be gained through this method is a relatively small portion of 

the annually required 20 hours. 

Also, it is not clear whether the ratio of required one hour of 

volunteer work per continuing education hour is sufficient by 

itself to provide additional incentives to offer volunteer 

service. Spending one hour acquiring continuing education 

would take the same amount of time providing one hour of 

free services. The proposed regulation will however help 

those administrators if they have already been providing 

volunteer services at the qualified locations by allowing them 

to earn continuing education credit for their charity work. 

In any event, the proposed regulation allows substitution of 

volunteer work for continuing education, but does not 

mandate it. An administrator choosing to do volunteer work 

in lieu of the continuing education reveals that he or she 

benefits more from doing so. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, there are 864 

nursing home administrators and 602 assisted living facility 

administrators licensed in Virginia. According to data 

provided by the Virginia Employment Commission, there are 

286 establishments in the industry category of the affected 

administrators, which include other nursing and rehabilitative 

services not directly affected by the proposed regulation (e.g., 

rest homes, retirement homes, etc.). All but one of the 286 

establishments in that category satisfy the small business 

criteria. The number of continuing education providers is not 

known. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

may lead to a decrease in demand for continuing education 

services. However, the two-hour limit on the continuing 

education hours that can be gained through this method is a 

relatively small portion of the annually required 20 hours.  In 

addition, the substitution of voluntary work for continuing 

education hours is voluntary and may not be exercised by all 

administrators. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

potential impact on the asset value of continuing education 

providers is not known with certainty, but appears to be 

small. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 
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Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Almost all of the affected 

establishments are small businesses. The proposed 

amendments do not impose costs on them. Most providers of 

continuing education services are probably small businesses 

as well. The proposed regulation may decrease the demand 

for their services by a small amount. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no known alternative that minimizes the potential small 

adverse impact on providers of continuing education services 

while achieving the same goals. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

_____________________________ 
1 http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082 

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Long-Term Care Administrators concurs with the analysis 

of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments allow nursing home administrators and 

assisted living facility administrators to substitute two 

hours of volunteer work for two hours of continuing 

education annually.  

18VAC95-20-175. Continuing education requirements. 

A. In order to renew a nursing home administrator license, 

an applicant shall attest on his renewal application to 

completion of 20 hours of approved continuing education for 

each renewal year. 

1. Up to 10 of the 20 hours may be obtained through 

Internet or self-study courses and up to 10 continuing 

education hours in excess of the number required may be 

transferred or credited to the next renewal year. 

2. Up to two hours of the 20 hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through delivery of services, 

without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 

health services through a local health department or a free 

clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of 

those services. One hour of continuing education may be 

credited for one hour of providing such volunteer services, 

as documented by the health department or free clinic. 

3. A licensee is exempt from completing continuing 

education requirements and considered in compliance on 

the first renewal date following initial licensure. 

B. In order for continuing education to be approved by the 

board, it shall (i) be related to health care administration and 

shall be approved or offered by the National Association of 

Long Term Care Administrator Boards (NAB), an accredited 

institution, or a government agency, or (ii) as provided in 

subdivision A 2 of this section. 

C. Documentation of continuing education. 

1. The licensee shall retain in his personal files for a period 

of three renewal years complete documentation of 

continuing education including evidence of attendance or 

participation as provided by the approved sponsor for each 

course taken. 

2. Evidence of attendance shall be an original document 

provided by the approved sponsor and shall include: 

a. Date or dates the course was taken; 

b. Hours of attendance or participation; 

c. Participant's name; and 

d. Signature of an authorized representative of the 

approved sponsor. 

3. If contacted for an audit, the licensee shall forward to 

the board by the date requested a signed affidavit of 

completion on forms provided by the board and evidence 

of attendance or participation as provided by the approved 

sponsor. 

D. The board may grant an extension of up to one year or an 

exemption for all or part of the continuing education 

requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the 

administrator, such as a certified illness, a temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters. 

18VAC95-30-70. Continuing education requirements. 

A. In order to renew an assisted living administrator license, 

an applicant shall attest on his renewal application to 

completion of 20 hours of approved continuing education for 

each renewal year.  

1. Up to 10 of the 20 hours may be obtained through 

Internet or self-study courses and up to 10 continuing 

education hours in excess of the number required may be 

transferred or credited to the next renewal year.  

2. Up to two hours of the 20 hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through delivery of services, 

without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 

health services through a local health department or a free 

clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of 

those services. One hour of continuing education may be 

credited for one hour of providing such volunteer services, 

as documented by the health department or free clinic. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082
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3. A licensee is exempt from completing continuing 

education requirements for the first renewal following 

initial licensure in Virginia.  

B. In order for continuing education to be approved by the 

board, it shall (i) be related to the domains of practice for 

residential care/assisted living and approved or offered by 

NAB, an accredited educational institution, or a governmental 

agency, or (ii) as provided in subdivision A 2 of this section.  

C. Documentation of continuing education.  

1. The licensee shall retain in his personal files for a period 

of three renewal years complete documentation of 

continuing education including evidence of attendance or 

participation as provided by the approved sponsor for each 

course taken.  

2. Evidence of attendance shall be an original document 

provided by the approved sponsor and shall include:  

a. Date or dates the course was taken;  

b. Hours of attendance or participation;  

c. Participant's name; and  

d. Signature of an authorized representative of the 

approved sponsor.  

3. If contacted for an audit, the licensee shall forward to 

the board by the date requested a signed affidavit of 

completion on forms provided by the board and evidence 

of attendance or participation as provided by the approved 

sponsor.  

D. The board may grant an extension of up to one year or an 

exemption for all or part of the continuing education 

requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the 

administrator, such as a certified illness, a temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4862; Filed January 3, 2017, 9:38 a.m.  

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC105-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Optometry (amending 18VAC105-20-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2017. 

Effective Date: March 9, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4508, FAX (804) 

527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Board of Optometry to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system with a specific mandate 

enacted by Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly to 

include provisions for the satisfaction of board-required 

continuing education through the delivery of health care 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals 

receiving health services through a local health department or 

a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery 

of those health services. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to comply 

with the mandate of the General Assembly and provide an 

incentive for licensees to volunteer professional services to 

free clinics or public health centers. While a licensee can 

satisfy up to two hours of continuing education with six hours 

of volunteer service, he is still required to have 18 hours of 

approved continuing education necessary to acquire new 

knowledge and skills. Therefore, the public health is served 

by a potential increase in badly needed volunteer service for 

health care, but public safety is not sacrificed by eliminating 

most or all of the continuing education hours required for 

renewal. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

allowance of hours for volunteer service to be counted 

towards the continuing education requirement is a mandate of 

the General Assembly. A licensee is not required to provide 

volunteer service but may be credited with continuing 

education hours for doing so. The provisions are permissive 

and not controversial. 

Substance: The board has adopted amended regulations to 

allow optometrists to count up to two hours of the 20 hours 

required for annual renewal to be satisfied through delivery of 

professional services, without compensation, to low-income 

individuals receiving health services through a local health 

department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily 

for the delivery of those services. One hour of continuing 

education may be credited for three hours of providing such 

volunteer services, as documented by the health department 

or free clinic. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is the incentive given for 

optometrists to volunteer their services in exchange for credit 

towards meeting continuing education requirements. There 

are no disadvantages to the public. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly,
1
 the 

Board of Optometry (Board) proposes to allow six hours of 

volunteer work to be substituted for up to two hours of 

continuing education annually for optometrists. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly requires all health boards to promulgate regulations 

to accept volunteer work provided to low-income individuals 

through local health departments or free clinics in lieu of the 
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required continuing education. Pursuant to the legislative 

mandate, the Board proposes to accept three hours of 

volunteer work in satisfaction of one hour of continuing 

education from optometrists. The limit on the continuing 

education hours that can be satisfied by volunteer work is two 

hours per year. Currently, optometrists are required to take 20 

hours of continuing education per year for annual renewal of 

their licenses. 

The proposed change will allow affected practitioners to 

substitute volunteer work for continuing education. The 

educational value of volunteer services may vary depending 

on each person's experience. However, the two-hour limit on 

the continuing education hours that can be gained through 

this method is a relatively small portion of the annually 

required 20 hours. 

Also, it is not clear whether the ratio of required three hours 

per continuing education hour is sufficient by itself to provide 

enough incentives to offer volunteer service. It appears easier 

for practitioners to spend one hour acquiring continuing 

education than to spend three hours providing free services. 

However, it is reasonable to expect that the additional 

incentive provided by the proposed regulation would lead to 

increased volunteer hours by convincing practitioners who are 

indecisive at the margin about providing such services. The 

proposed regulation will also help those practitioners who 

have already been providing volunteer services at the 

qualified locations by allowing them to earn continuing 

education credit for their charity work. 

In any event, the proposed regulation allows substitution of 

volunteer work for continuing education, but does not 

mandate it. A practitioner choosing to do volunteer work in 

lieu of the continuing education reveals that he or she benefits 

more from doing so. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, there are 1,658 

optometrists licensed in Virginia. According to data provided 

by the Virginia Employment Commission, there are 486 

offices of optometrists. All of them satisfy the small business 

criteria. The number of continuing education providers is not 

known. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

may lead to a decrease in demand for continuing education 

services. However, the two-hour limit on the continuing 

education hours that can be gained through this method is a 

relatively small portion of the annually required 20 hours. In 

addition, the substitution of voluntary work for continuing 

education hours is voluntary and may not be exercised by all 

practitioners. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

potential impact on the asset value of continuing education 

providers is not known with certainty, but appears to be 

small. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. All of the affected offices of 

optometrists are small businesses. The proposed amendments 

do not impose costs on them. Most providers of continuing 

education services are probably small businesses as well. The 

proposed regulation may decrease the demand for their 

services by a small amount. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no known alternative that minimizes the potential small 

adverse impact on providers of continuing education services 

while achieving the same goals. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

______________________________ 
1 http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082 

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Optometry concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget.  

Summary:  

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments allow licensed optometrists to substitute six 

hours of volunteer work for two hours of continuing 

education annually.  

18VAC105-20-70. Requirements for continuing education. 

A. Each license renewal shall be conditioned upon 

submission of evidence to the board of 20 hours of continuing 

education taken by the applicant during the previous license 

period. A licensee who completes more than 20 hours of 

continuing education in a year shall be allowed to carry 

forward up to 10 hours of continuing education for the next 

annual renewal cycle. 

1. The 20 hours may include up to two hours of 

recordkeeping for patient care, including coding for 

diagnostic and treatment devices and procedures or the 

management of an optometry practice, provided that such 

courses are not primarily for the purpose of augmenting the 

licensee's income or promoting the sale of specific 

instruments or products.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082
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2. For optometrists who are certified in the use of 

therapeutic pharmaceutical agents, at least 10 of the 

required continuing education hours shall be in the areas of 

ocular and general pharmacology, diagnosis and treatment 

of the human eye and its adnexa, including treatment with 

new pharmaceutical agents, or new or advanced clinical 

devices, techniques, modalities, or procedures. 

3. At least 10 hours shall be obtained through real-time, 

interactive activities, including in-person or electronic 

presentations, provided that during the course of the 

presentation, the licensee and the lecturer may 

communicate with one another.  

4. A licensee may also include up to two hours of training 

in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR).  

5. Two hours of the 20 hours required for annual renewal 

may be satisfied through delivery of professional services, 

without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 

health services through a local health department or a free 

clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of 

those services. One hour of continuing education may be 

credited for three hours of providing such volunteer 

services, as documented by the health department or free 

clinic. 

B. Each licensee shall attest to fulfillment of continuing 

education hours on the required annual renewal form. All 

continuing education shall be completed prior to December 

31 unless an extension or waiver has been granted by the 

Continuing Education Committee. A request for an extension 

or waiver shall be received prior to December 31 of each 

year. 

C. All continuing education courses shall be offered by an 

approved sponsor or accrediting body listed in subsection G 

of this section. Courses that are not approved by a board-

recognized sponsor in advance shall not be accepted for 

continuing education credit. For those courses that have a 

post-test requirement, credit will only be given if the 

optometrist receives a passing grade as indicated on the 

certificate.  

D. Licensees shall maintain continuing education 

documentation for a period of not less than three years. A 

random audit of licensees may be conducted by the board 

which will require that the licensee provide evidence 

substantiating participation in required continuing education 

courses within 14 days of the renewal date.  

E. Documentation of hours shall clearly indicate the name of 

the continuing education provider and its affiliation with an 

approved sponsor or accrediting body as listed in subsection 

G of this section. Documents that do not have the required 

information shall not be accepted by the board for 

determining compliance. Correspondence courses shall be 

credited according to the date on which the post-test was 

graded as indicated on the continuing education certificate.  

F. A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing 

competency requirements for the first renewal following the 

date of initial licensure by examination in Virginia.  

G. An approved continuing education course or program, 

whether offered by correspondence, electronically or in 

person, shall be sponsored, accredited, or approved by one of 

the following:  

1. The American Optometric Association and its 

constituent organizations.  

2. Regional optometric organizations.  

3. State optometric associations and their affiliate local 

societies.  

4. Accredited colleges and universities providing 

optometric or medical courses.  

5. The American Academy of Optometry and its affiliate 

organizations.  

6. The American Academy of Ophthalmology and its 

affiliate organizations.  

7. The Virginia Academy of Optometry.  

8. Council on Optometric Practitioner Education (COPE).  

9. State or federal governmental agencies. 

10. College of Optometrists in Vision Development.  

11. The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical 

Education of the American Medical Association for 

Category 1 credit.  

12. Providers of training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation 

(CPR).  

13. Optometric Extension Program.  

H. In order to maintain approval for continuing education 

courses, providers or sponsors shall:  

1. Provide a certificate of attendance that shows the date, 

location, presenter or lecturer, content hours of the course 

and contact information of the provider or sponsor for 

verification. The certificate of attendance shall be based on 

verification by the sponsor of the attendee's presence 

throughout the course, either provided by a post-test or by 

a designated monitor.  

2. Maintain documentation about the course and attendance 

for at least three years following its completion. 

I. Falsifying the attestation of compliance with continuing 

education on a renewal form or failure to comply with 

continuing education requirements may subject a licensee to 

disciplinary action by the board, consistent with § 54.1-3215 

of the Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4915; Filed January 3, 2017, 9:45 a.m.  
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BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Pharmacy is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 13 of the Code 

of Virginia, which exempts amendments to regulations of the 

board to schedule a substance in Schedule I or II pursuant to 

subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of Virginia. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-322).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3443 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 22, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments add eight compounds into Schedule I of 

the Drug Control Act as recommended by the Virginia 

Department of Forensic Science pursuant to § 54.1-3443 

of the Code of Virginia. The compounds added by this 

regulatory action will remain in effect for 18 months or 

until the compounds are placed in Schedule I by legislative 

action of the General Assembly. 

18VAC110-20-322. Placement of chemicals in Schedule I. 

A. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-

butanamide (other name: butyryl fentanyl). 

2. Flubromazolam. 

3. 5-methoxy-N,N-methylisopropyltryptamine (Other 

name: 5-MeO-MIPT). 

4. Cannabimimetic agents: 

a. N-(1-Amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-[(4-

fluorophenyl)methyl]-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide (other 

name: ADB-FUBINACA); 

b. Methyl 2-[1-[(4-fluorophenyl)methyl]-1H-indazole-3-

carboxamido]-3,3-dimethylbutanoate (other name: 

MDMB-FUBINACA); and 

c. Methyl 2-[1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-

carboxamido]-3,3-dimethylbutanoate (other names: 5-

fluoro-ADB, 5-Fluoro-MDMB-PINACA). 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until December 14, 2017, unless enacted into law in 

the Drug Control Act.  

B. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Beta-keto-N,N-dimethylbenzodioxolylbutanamine (other 

names: Dibutylone, bk-DMBDB); 

2. 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(ethylamino)-1-pentanone 

(other name: N-ethylpentylone); 

3. 1-[1-(3-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexyl]piperidine (other 

name: 3-methoxy PCP); 

4. 1-[1-(4-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexyl]piperidine (other 

name: 4-methoxy PCP); 

5. 4-Chloroethcathinone (other name: 4-CEC); 

6. 3-Methoxy-2-(methylamino)-1-(4-methylphenyl)-1-

propanone (other name: Mexedrone); 

7. 3,4-dichloro-N-[2-(dimethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-

methyl-benzamide (other name: U-47700); 

8. 3,4-dichloro-N-{[1-(dimethylamino)cyclohexyl] 

methyl}benzamide (other name: AH-7921); 

9. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-

pentanamide (other name: Pentanoyl fentanyl); 

10. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-2-

furancarboxamide (other name: Furanyl fentanyl); 

11. N-(3-fluorophenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-

propanamide (other name: 3-fluorofentanyl);  

12. Clonazolam; and 

13. Cannabimimetic agents: 

a. Methyl 2-({1-[(4-fluorophenyl)methyl]-1H-indazole-

3-carbonyl}amino)-3-methylbutanoate (other names: 

AMB-FUBINACA, FUB-AMB); 

b. N-(adamantan-1-yl)-1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indazole-

3-carboxamide (other name: FUB-AKB48); 

c. N-(adamantan-1-yl)-1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-

carboxamide (other name: 5F-AKB48); 

d. Naphthalen-1-yl 1-pentyl-1H-indazole-3-carboxylate 

(other name: SDB-005); and 

e. N-(1-amino-3-methyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-

(cyclohexylmethyl)indole-3-carboxamide (other name: 

AB-CHMICA). 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until March 7, 2018, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act.  

C. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 1-propionyl lysergic acid diethylamide (other name: 1P-

LSD); 

2. (2-Methylaminopropyl)benzofuran (other name: 

MAPB); 
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3. Ethyl phenyl(piperidin-2-yl)acetate (other name: 

Ethylphenidate); 

4. 2-(3-fluorophenyl)-3-methylmorpholine (other name: 3-

fluorophenmetrazine); and 

5. N-(4-fluorophenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-

butanamide (other name: para-fluorobutyrylfentanyl), its 

optical, positional, and geometric isomers, salts and salts of 

isomers. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until May 10, 2018, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

D. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(dimethylamino)-1-

pentanone (other names: N,N-Dimethylpentylone, 

Dipentylone); 

2. 4-chloro-alpha-Pyrrolidinovalerophenone (other name: 

4-chloro-alpha-PVP); 

3. 4-methyl-alpha-Pyrrolidinohexiophenone (other name: 

MPHP); 

4. 4-fluoro-alpha-Pyrrolidinoheptiophenone (other name: 

4-fluoro-PV8); 

5. 1-(4-methoxyphenyl)-2-(pyrrolidin-1-yl)octan-1-one 

(other name: 4-methoxy-PV9); 

6. 4-allyloxy-3,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (other name: 

Allylescaline); 

7. 4-methyl-alpha-ethylaminopentiophenone; and  

8. N-(4-fluorophenyl)-2-methyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-

piperidinyl]-propanamide (other name: para-

fluoroisobutyryl fentanyl). 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until August 22, 2018, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4992; Filed December 29, 2016, 7:28 p.m.  

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC115-20. Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Professional Counseling 

(amending 18VAC115-20-105). 

18VAC115-50. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Marriage and Family Therapy (amending 18VAC115-50-

95). 

18VAC115-60. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners 

(amending 18VAC115-60-115).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2017. 

Effective Date: March 9, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Board of Counseling to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system with a specific mandate 

enacted by Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly to 

include provisions for the satisfaction of board-required 

continuing education through the delivery of health care 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals 

receiving health services through a local health department or 

a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery 

of those health services. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to comply 

with the mandate of the General Assembly and provide an 

incentive for licensees to volunteer professional services to 

free clinics or public health centers. While a licensee can 

satisfy up to two hours of continuing education with six hours 

of volunteer service, he is still required to have 18 hours of 

approved continuing education necessary to acquire new 

knowledge and skills. Therefore, the public health is served 

by a potential increase in badly needed volunteer service for 

mental health care or substance abuse treatment, but public 

safety is not sacrificed by eliminating most or all of the 

continuing education hours required for renewal. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

allowance of hours for volunteer service to be counted 

towards the continuing education requirement is a mandate of 

the General Assembly. A licensee is not required to provide 

volunteer service but may be credited with continuing 

education hours for doing so. The provisions are permissive 

and not controversial. 

Substance: The board has adopted amended regulations to 

allow licensed professional counselors, marriage and family 

therapists, and substance abuse treatment practitioners to 

count up to two hours of the 20 hours required for annual 

renewal to be satisfied through delivery of mental health or 

substance abuse treatment services, without compensation, to 

low-income individuals receiving health services through a 

local health department or a free clinic organized in whole or 

primarily for the delivery of those services. One hour of 

continuing education may be credited for three hours of 

providing such volunteer services, as documented by the 

health department or free clinic. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is the incentive given for 

licensed professional counselors, marriage and family 

therapists, and substance abuse treatment practitioners to 

volunteer their services in exchange for credit towards 

meeting continuing education requirements. There are no 

disadvantages to the public. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly,
1
 the 

Board of Counseling (Board) proposes to allow six hours of 

volunteer work to be substituted for up to two hours of 

continuing education annually for counselors, marriage and 

family therapists, and substance abuse treatment practitioners. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly requires all health boards to promulgate regulations 

to accept volunteer work provided to low-income individuals 

through local health departments or free clinics in lieu of the 

required continuing education. Pursuant to the legislative 

mandate, the Board proposes to accept three hours of 

volunteer work in satisfaction of one hour of continuing 

education from counselors, marriage and family therapists, 

and substance abuse treatment practitioners. The limit on the 

continuing education hours that can be satisfied by volunteer 

work is two hours per year. Currently, counselors, marriage 

and family therapists, and substance abuse treatment 

practitioners are required to take 20 hours of continuing 

education per year for annual renewal of their licenses. 

The proposed change will allow affected professionals to 

substitute volunteer work for continuing education. The 

educational value of volunteer services may vary depending 

on each person's experience. However, the two-hour limit on 

the continuing education hours that can be gained through 

this method is a relatively small portion of the annually 

required 20 hours. 

Also, it is not clear whether the ratio of required three hours 

per continuing education hour is sufficient by itself to provide 

enough incentives to offer volunteer service. It appears easier 

for practitioners to spend one hour acquiring continuing 

education than to spend three hours providing free services. 

However, it is reasonable to expect that the additional 

incentive provided by the proposed regulation would lead to 

increased volunteer hours by convincing practitioners who are 

indecisive at the margin about providing such services. The 

proposed regulation will also help those practitioners who 

have already been providing volunteer services at the 

qualified locations by allowing them to earn continuing 

education credit for their charity work. 

In any event, the proposed regulation allows substitution of 

volunteer work for continuing education, but does not 

mandate it. A practitioner choosing to do volunteer work in 

lieu of the continuing education reveals that he or she benefits 

more from doing so. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, there are 4,567 

counselors, 870 marriage and family therapists, and 179 

substance abuse treatment practitioners licensed in Virginia. 

According to data provided by the Virginia Employment 

Commission, there are 601 establishments in the industry 

category of the affected entities, which include other social 

assistance services not directly affected by the proposed 

regulation (e.g., services for crisis intervention, mediation, 

etc.). All of the 601 establishments in that category satisfy the 

small business criteria. The number of continuing education 

providers is not known. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

may lead to a decrease in demand for continuing education 

services. However, the two-hour limit on the continuing 

education hours that can be gained through this method is a 

relatively small portion of the annually required 20 hours. In 

addition, the substitution of voluntary work for continuing 

education hours is voluntary and may not be exercised by all 

practitioners. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

potential impact on the asset value of continuing education 

providers is not known with certainty, but appears to be 

small. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. All of the affected counselors, 

marriage and family therapists, and substance abuse treatment 

practitioners are small businesses. The proposed amendments 

do not impose costs on them. Most providers of continuing 

education services are probably small businesses as well. The 

proposed regulation may decrease the demand for their 

services by a small amount. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no known alternative that minimizes the potential small 

adverse impact on providers of continuing education services 

while achieving the same goals. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

_____________________________ 
1 http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082 

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Counseling concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082
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Summary:  

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments allow licensed professional counselors, 

marriage and family therapists, and substance abuse 

treatment practitioners to substitute six hours of volunteer 

work for two hours of continuing education annually.  

18VAC115-20-105. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of a license.  

A. After July 1, 2004, licensed Licensed professional 

counselors shall be required to have completed a minimum of 

20 hours of continuing competency for each annual licensure 

renewal. A minimum of two of these hours shall be in courses 

that emphasize the ethics, standards of practice, or laws 

governing behavioral science professions in Virginia.  

B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing competency 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 

the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee 

of the continuing competency requirement.  

C. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing competency requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters.  

D. Those individuals dually licensed by this board will not 

be required to obtain continuing competency for each license. 

Dually licensed individuals will only be required to provide 

the hours set out in subsection A of this section or, subsection 

A of 18VAC115-50-95 in the Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy, or subsection A of 

18VAC115-60-115 in the Regulations Governing the Practice 

of Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners.  

E. Up to two hours of the 20 hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through delivery of counseling 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals 

receiving health services through a local health department or 

a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery 

of those services. One hour of continuing education may be 

credited for three hours of providing such volunteer services, 

as documented by the health department or free clinic. 

18VAC115-50-95. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of a license.  

A. Marriage and family therapists shall be required to have 

completed a minimum of 20 hours of continuing competency 

for each annual licensure renewal. A minimum of two of 

these hours shall be in courses that emphasize the ethics, 

standards of practice, or laws governing behavioral science 

professions in Virginia.  

B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing competency 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 

the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee 

of the continuing competency requirement.  

C. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing competency requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters.  

D. Those individuals dually licensed by this board will not 

be required to obtain continuing competency for each license. 

Dually licensed individuals will only be required to provide 

the hours set out in subsection A of this section or, subsection 

A of 18VAC115-20-105 in the Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Professional Counseling, or subsection A of 

18VAC115-60-115 in the Regulations Governing the Practice 

of Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners.  

E. Up to two hours of the 20 hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through delivery of counseling 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals 

receiving health services through a local health department or 

a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery 

of those services. One hour of continuing education may be 

credited for three hours of providing such volunteer services, 

as documented by the health department or free clinic. 

18VAC115-60-115. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of a license.  

A. Licensed substance abuse treatment practitioners shall be 

required to have completed a minimum of 20 hours of 

continuing competency for each annual licensure renewal. A 

minimum of two of these hours shall be in courses that 

emphasize the ethics, standard of practice, or laws governing 

behavioral science professions in Virginia.  

B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing competency 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 

the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee 

of the continuing competency requirement.  

C. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing competency requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters.  

D. Those individuals dually licensed by this board will not 

be required to obtain continuing competency for each license. 

Dually licensed individuals will only be required to provide 

the hours set out in subsection A of this section or, subsection 

A of 18VAC115-50-95 in the Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy, or subsection A of 

18VAC115-20-105 in the Regulations Governing the Practice 

of Professional Counseling. 

E. Up to two hours of the 20 hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through delivery of counseling 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals 

receiving health services through a local health department or 

a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery 

of those services. One hour of continuing education may be 
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credited for three hours of providing such volunteer services, 

as documented by the health department or free clinic.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4858; Filed January 3, 2017, 9:35 a.m.  

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC125-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Psychology (amending 18VAC125-20-121).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2017. 

Effective Date: March 9, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 327-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Board of Psychology to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system with a specific mandate 

enacted by Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly to 

include provisions for the satisfaction of board-required 

continuing education through the delivery of health care 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals 

receiving health services through a local health department or 

a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery 

of those health services. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to comply 

with the mandate of the General Assembly and provide an 

incentive for licensees to volunteer professional services to 

free clinics or public health centers. While a licensee can 

satisfy up to two hours of continuing education with six hours 

of volunteer service, he is still required to have 12 hours of 

approved continuing education necessary to acquire new 

knowledge and skills. Therefore, the public health is served 

by a potential increase in badly needed volunteer service for 

health care, but public safety is not sacrificed by eliminating 

most or all of the continuing education hours required for 

renewal. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

allowance of hours for volunteer service to be counted 

towards the continuing education requirement is a mandate of 

the General Assembly. A licensee is not required to provide 

volunteer service but may be credited with continuing 

education hours for doing so. The provisions are permissive 

and not controversial. 

Substance: The board has adopted amended regulations to 

allow licensed psychologists to count up to two hours of the 

14 hours required for annual renewal to be satisfied through 

delivery of professional services, without compensation, to 

low-income individuals receiving health services through a 

local health department or a free clinic organized in whole or 

primarily for the delivery of those services. One hour of 

continuing education may be credited for three hours of 

providing such volunteer services, as documented by the 

health department or free clinic. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is the incentive given for 

psychologists to volunteer their services in exchange for 

credit towards meeting continuing education requirements. 

There are no disadvantages to the public. There are no 

advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly,
1
 the 

Board of Psychology (Board) proposes to allow six hours of 

volunteer work to be substituted for up to two hours of 

continuing education annually for psychologists 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly requires all health boards to promulgate regulations 

to accept volunteer work provided to low-income individuals 

through local health departments or free clinics in lieu of the 

required continuing education. Pursuant to the legislative 

mandate, the Board proposes to accept three hours of 

volunteer work in satisfaction of one hour of continuing 

education from psychologists. The limit on the continuing 

education hours that can be satisfied by volunteer work is two 

hours per year. Currently, psychologists are required to take 

14 hours of continuing education per year for annual renewal 

of their licenses. 

The proposed change will allow affected professionals to 

substitute volunteer work for continuing education. The 

educational value of volunteer services may vary depending 

on each person's experience. However, the two-hour limit on 

the continuing education hours that can be gained through 

this method is a relatively small portion of the annually 

required 14 hours. 

Also, it is not clear whether the ratio of required three hours 

per continuing education hour is sufficient by itself to provide 

enough incentives to offer volunteer service.  It appears easier 

for practitioners to spend one hour acquiring continuing 

education than to spend three hours providing free services. 

However, it is reasonable to expect that the additional 

incentive provided by the proposed regulation would lead to 

increased volunteer hours by convincing professionals who 

are indecisive at the margin about providing such services. 

The proposed regulation will also help those psychologists 

who have already been providing volunteer services at the 

qualified locations by allowing them to earn continuing 

education credit for their charity work. 

In any event, the proposed regulation allows substitution of 

volunteer work for continuing education, but does not 
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mandate it. A psychologist choosing to do volunteer work in 

lieu of the continuing education reveals that he or she benefits 

more from doing so. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, there are 3,291 

clinical psychologists, 102 school psychologists, and 32 

applied psychologists licensed in Virginia. According to data 

provided by the Virginia Employment Commission, there are 

444 offices of mental health practitioners. All of them satisfy 

the small business criteria. The number of continuing 

education providers is not known. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

may lead to a decrease in demand for continuing education 

services. However, the two-hour limit on the continuing 

education hours that can be gained through this method is a 

relatively small portion of the annually required 14 hours.  In 

addition, the substitution of voluntary work for continuing 

education hours is voluntary and may not be exercised by all 

practitioners. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

potential impact on the asset value of continuing education 

providers is not known with certainty, but appears to be 

small. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. All of the affected offices of 

psychologists are small businesses. The proposed 

amendments do not impose costs on them. Most providers of 

continuing education services are probably small businesses 

as well. The proposed regulation may decrease the demand 

for their services by a small amount. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no known alternative that minimizes the potential small 

adverse impact on providers of continuing education services 

while achieving the same goals. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

____________________________ 
1 http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082 

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Psychology concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget.  

Summary:  

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments allow licensed psychologists to substitute six 

hours of volunteer work for two hours of continuing 

education annually.  

18VAC125-20-121. Continuing education course 

requirements for renewal of an active license. 

A. Licensees shall be required to have completed a 

minimum of 14 hours of board-approved continuing 

education courses each year for annual licensure renewal. A 

minimum of 1.5 of these hours shall be in courses that 

emphasize the ethics, laws, and regulations governing the 

profession of psychology, including the standards of practice 

set out in 18VAC125-20-150. A licensee who completes 

continuing education hours in excess of the 14 hours may 

carry up to seven hours of continuing education credit 

forward to meet the requirements for the next annual renewal 

cycle. 

B. For the purpose of this section, "course" means an 

organized program of study, classroom experience or similar 

educational experience that is directly related to the practice 

of psychology and is provided by a board-approved provider 

that meets the criteria specified in 18VAC125-20-122.  

1. At least six of the required hours shall be earned in face-

to-face or real-time interactive educational experiences. 

Real-time interactive shall include a course in which the 

learner has the opportunity to interact with the presenter 

and participants during the time of the presentation. 

2. The board may approve up to four hours per renewal 

cycle for specific educational experiences to include: 

a. Preparation for and presentation of a continuing 

education program, seminar, workshop or course offered 

by an approved provider and directly related to the 

practice of psychology. Hours may only be credited one 

time, regardless of the number of times the presentation 

is given, and may not be credited toward the face-to-face 

requirement. 

b. Publication of an article or book in a recognized 

publication directly related to the practice of psychology. 

Hours may only be credited one time, regardless of the 

number of times the writing is published, and may not be 

credited toward the face-to-face requirement. 

3. The board may approve up to two hours per renewal 

cycle for membership on a state licensing board in 

psychology.  

C. Courses must be directly related to the scope of practice 

in the category of licensure held. Continuing education 

courses for clinical psychologists shall emphasize, but not be 

limited to, the diagnosis, treatment and care of patients with 

moderate and severe mental disorders. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082


Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations January 23, 2017 

1260 

D. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing education 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 

the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee 

of the continuing education requirement. 

E. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements for one renewal cycle due 

to circumstances determined by the board to be beyond the 

control of the licensee. 

F. Up to two of the 14 continuing education hours required 

for renewal may be satisfied through delivery of 

psychological services, without compensation, to low-income 

individuals receiving mental health services through a local 

health department or a free clinic organized in whole or 

primarily for the delivery of those health services as verified 

by the department or clinic. Three hours of volunteer service 

is required for one hour of continuing education credit. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4942; Filed January 3, 2017, 10:19 a.m.  

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Social Work (amending 18VAC140-20-

105).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2017. 

Effective Date: March 9, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-

4435, or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Board of Social Work to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system with a specific mandate 

enacted by Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly to 

include provisions for the satisfaction of board-required 

continuing education through the delivery of health care 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals 

receiving health services through a local health department or 

a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery 

of those health services. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to comply 

with the mandate of the General Assembly and to provide an 

incentive for licensees to volunteer professional services to 

free clinics or public health centers. While a licensed clinical 

social worker or a licensed social worker can satisfy two 

hours of continuing education with six hours of volunteer 

service, the clinical social worker is still required to have 28 

hours and the social worker is required to have 13 hours of 

approved continuing education necessary to acquire new 

knowledge and skills. Therefore, the public health is served 

by a potential increase in badly needed volunteer service for 

health care, but public safety is not sacrificed by eliminating 

most or all of the continuing education hours required for 

renewal. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

allowance of hours for volunteer service to be counted 

towards the continuing education requirement is a mandate of 

the General Assembly. A licensee is not required to provide 

volunteer service but may be credited with continuing 

education hours for doing so. The provisions are permissive 

and not controversial. 

Substance: The board has adopted amended regulations to 

allow licensed clinical social workers to count two hours of 

the 30 hours and licensed social workers to count two hours 

of the 15 hours required for annual renewal to be satisfied 

through delivery of professional services, without 

compensation, to low-income individuals receiving health 

services through a local health department or a free clinic 

organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of those 

services. One hour of continuing education may be credited 

for three hours of providing such volunteer services, as 

documented by the health department or free clinic. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is the incentive given for 

clinical social workers and social workers to volunteer their 

services in exchange for credit towards meeting continuing 

education requirements. There are no disadvantages to the 

public. There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly,
1
 the 

Board of Social Work (Board) proposes to allow six hours of 

volunteer work to be substituted for up to two hours of 

continuing education biennially for clinical and non-clinical 

social workers. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly requires all health boards to promulgate regulations 

to accept volunteer work provided to low-income individuals 

through local health departments or free clinics in lieu of the 

required continuing education. Pursuant to the legislative 

mandate, the Board proposes to accept three hours of 

volunteer work in satisfaction of one hour of continuing 

education from clinical and non-clinical social workers. The 

limit on the continuing education hours that can be satisfied 

by volunteer work is two hours every two years. Currently, 

clinical and non-clinical social workers are required to take 

30 and 15 hours of continuing education every two years 

respectively for biennial renewal of their licenses. 
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The proposed change will allow affected professionals to 

substitute volunteer work for continuing education. The 

educational value of volunteer services may vary depending 

on each person's experience. However, the two-hour limit on 

the continuing education hours that can be gained through 

this method is a relatively small portion of the biennially 

required 30 or 15 hours. 

Also, it is not clear whether the ratio of required three hours 

per continuing education hour is sufficient by itself to provide 

enough incentives to offer volunteer service.  It appears easier 

for social workers to spend one hour acquiring continuing 

education than to spend three hours providing free services. 

However, it is reasonable to expect that the additional 

incentive provided by the proposed regulation would lead to 

increased volunteer hours by convincing social workers who 

are indecisive at the margin about providing such services. 

The proposed regulation will also help those professionals 

who have already been providing volunteer services at the 

qualified locations by allowing them to earn continuing 

education credit for their charity work. 

In any event, the proposed regulation allows substitution of 

volunteer work for continuing education, but does not 

mandate it. A professional choosing to do volunteer work in 

lieu of the continuing education reveals that he or she benefits 

more from doing so. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, there are 6,458 

clinical social workers and 739 social workers licensed in 

Virginia. According to data provided by the Virginia 

Employment Commission, there are 444 establishments in the 

industry category of the affected entities, which include 

mental health services not directly affected by the proposed 

regulation (e.g., clinical psychologists' and psychoanalysts' 

offices, etc.). All of the 444 establishments in that category 

satisfy the small business criteria. The number of continuing 

education providers is not known. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

may lead to a decrease in demand for continuing education 

services. However, the two-hour limit on the continuing 

education hours that can be gained through this method is a 

relatively small portion of the biennially required 30 or 15 

hours.  In addition, the substitution of voluntary work for 

continuing education hours is voluntary and may not be 

exercised by all practitioners. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

potential impact on the asset value of continuing education 

providers is not known with certainty, but appears to be 

small. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. All of the affected social work 

establishments are small businesses. The proposed 

amendments do not impose costs on them. Most providers of 

continuing education services are probably small businesses 

as well. The proposed regulation may decrease the demand 

for their services by a small amount. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no known alternative that minimizes the potential small 

adverse impact on providers of continuing education services 

while achieving the same goals. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

_____________________________ 
1 http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082 

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Social Work concurs with the analysis of the Department 

of Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments allow licensed clinical social workers and 

social workers to substitute six hours of volunteer work for 

two hours of continuing education required by the Board 

of Social Work.  

18VAC140-20-105. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of an active license.  

A. Licensed clinical social workers shall be required to have 

completed a minimum of 30 contact hours of continuing 

education and licensed social workers shall be required to 

have completed a minimum of 15 contact hours of continuing 

education prior to licensure renewal in even years. Courses or 

activities shall be directly related to the practice of social 

work or another behavioral health field. A minimum of two 

of those hours must pertain to ethics or the standards of 

practice for the behavioral health professions or to laws 

governing the practice of social work in Virginia. Up to two 

continuing education hours required for renewal may be 

satisfied through delivery of social work services, without 

compensation, to low-income individuals receiving health 

services through a local health department or a free clinic 

organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of those 

services, as verified by the department or clinic. Three hours 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082
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of volunteer service is required for one hour of continuing 

education credit. 

1. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up 

to one year for the completion of continuing education 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior 

to the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the 

licensee of the continuing education requirement. 

2. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially 

declared disasters upon written request from the licensee 

prior to the renewal date. 

B. Hours may be obtained from a combination of board-

approved activities in the following two categories:  

1. Category I. Formally Organized Learning Activities. A 

minimum of 20 hours for licensed clinical social workers 

or 10 hours for licensed social workers shall be 

documented in this category, which shall include one or 

more of the following: 

a. Regionally accredited university or college academic 

courses in a behavioral health discipline. A maximum of 

15 hours will be accepted for each academic course. 

b. Continuing education programs offered by universities 

or colleges accredited by the Council on Social Work 

Education. 

c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the 

behavioral health field offered by federal, state or local 

social service agencies, public school systems or licensed 

health facilities and licensed hospitals. 

d. Workshops, seminars, conferences or courses in the 

behavioral health field offered by an individual or 

organization that has been certified or approved by one 

of the following: 

(1) The Child Welfare League of America and its state 

and local affiliates. 

(2) The National Association of Social Workers and its 

state and local affiliates. 

(3) The National Association of Black Social Workers 

and its state and local affiliates. 

(4) The Family Service Association of America and its 

state and local affiliates. 

(5) The Clinical Social Work Association and its state 

and local affiliates. 

(6) The Association of Social Work Boards. 

(7) Any state social work board. 

2. Category II. Individual Professional Activities. A 

maximum of 10 of the required 30 hours for licensed 

clinical social workers or a maximum of five of the 

required 15 hours for licensed social workers may be 

earned in this category, which shall include one or more of 

the following: 

a. Participation in an Association of Social Work Boards 

item writing workshop. (Activity will count for a 

maximum of two hours.)  

b. Publication of a professional social work-related book 

or initial preparation/presentation of a social work-related 

course. (Activity will count for a maximum of 10 hours.) 

c. Publication of a professional social work-related article 

or chapter of a book, or initial preparation/presentation of 

a social work-related in-service training, seminar, or 

workshop. (Activity will count for a maximum of five 

hours.) 

d. Provision of a continuing education program 

sponsored or approved by an organization listed under 

Category I. (Activity will count for a maximum of two 

hours and will only be accepted one time for any specific 

program.) 

e. Field instruction of graduate students in a Council on 

Social Work Education-accredited school. (Activity will 

count for a maximum of two hours.) 

f. Serving as an officer or committee member of one of 

the national professional social work associations listed 

under subdivision B 1 d of this section or as a member of 

a state social work licensing board. (Activity will count 

for a maximum of two hours.) 

g. Attendance at formal staffings at federal, state, or local 

social service agencies, public school systems, or 

licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals. (Activity 

will count for a maximum of five hours.) 

h. Individual or group study including listening to audio 

tapes, viewing video tapes, reading, professional books 

or articles. (Activity will count for a maximum of five 

hours.) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4954; Filed January 3, 2017, 10:19 a.m.  

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS AND ONSITE SEWAGE 

SYSTEM PROFESSIONALS 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC160-20. Board for 

Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and 

Onsite Sewage System Professionals Regulations 

(repealing 18VAC160-20-10 through 18VAC160-20-150). 

18VAC160-30. Waterworks and Wastewater Works 

Operators Licensing Regulations (adding 18VAC160-30-

10 through 18VAC160-30-370). 

18VAC160-40. Onsite Sewage System Professionals 

Licensing Regulations (adding 18VAC160-40-10 through 

18VAC160-40-510).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2301 of the Code 

of Virginia. 
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Effective Date: April 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, Board 

for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 

Sewage System Professionals, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX 

(866) 350-5354, or email waterwasteoper@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments repeal the existing regulations and create 

two separate chapters: 18VAC160-30 (Waterworks and 

Wastewater Works Operators Licensing Regulations) and 

18VAC160-40 (Onsite Sewage System Professionals 

Licensing Regulations). The regulations include (i) 

definitions; (ii) fees; (iii) standards of practice and 

conduct; (iv) qualifications for licensure; (v) requirements 

for application, examination, continuing education, and 

renewal and reinstatement of licenses; and (vi) approval 

and maintenance of training courses. This regulatory 

action introduces new master and journeyman categories 

for onsite sewage system professional licensees. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 30 

WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER WORKS 

OPERATORS LICENSING REGULATIONS 

Part I 

Definitions 

18VAC160-30-10. Definitions. 

A. Section 54.1-2300 of the Code of Virginia provides 

definitions of the following terms and phrases as used in this 

chapter: 

"Board" 

"Onsite sewage system" 

"Operator" 

"Owner" 

"Wastewater works [ " ]  

"Waterworks" 

B. The following words, terms, and phrases when used in 

this chapter shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Applicant" means an individual who submits an application 

with the appropriate fee and other required documentation. 

"Application" means a completed, board-prescribed form 

submitted with the appropriate fee and other required 

documentation.  

"Category" means a profession under the board's purview, 

which includes waterworks and wastewater works as 

applicable to the licensure of waterworks and wastewater 

works operators. 

"Classification" means the division within each category of 

license as it relates to the classified facility. Class 1 represents 

the highest classification for each category of license.  

"Contact hour" means 50 minutes of participation in a 

structured training activity.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation.  

"DEQ" means the Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality.  

"Direct supervision" means being immediately available and 

fully responsible for the provision of waterworks and 

wastewater works operation regulated pursuant to Chapter 23 

(§ 54.1-2300 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and 

this chapter.  

"Direct supervisor" means a licensed waterworks or 

wastewater works operator who assumes the responsibility of 

direct supervision. 

"Licensee" means an individual holding a valid license 

issued by the board.  

"Licensure" means a method of regulation whereby the 

Commonwealth, through the issuance of a license, authorizes 

a person possessing the character and minimum skills to 

engage in the practice of a profession or occupation 

that [ without such license ] is unlawful to practice [ without 

such license ].  

"Maintenance" or "maintain" means performing adjustments 

to equipment and controls and in-kind replacement of normal 

wear and tear parts such as light bulbs, fuses, filters, pumps, 

motors, or other like components. Maintenance includes 

pumping the tanks or cleaning the building sewer on a 

periodic basis. [ Maintenance shall not include replacement of 

tanks, drainfield piping, or distribution boxes or work 

requiring a construction permit and a licensed onsite sewage 

system installer. ] 

"Operate" means the act of (i) placing into or taking out of 

service a unit process or unit processes or (ii) making or 

causing adjustments in the operation of a unit process at 

a [ treatment waterworks or wastewater ] works.  

"Renewal" means the process and requirements for 

periodically approving the continuance of a license. 

"Training credit" means a unit of board-approved training or 

formal education completed by an individual that may be 

used to substitute for experience when applying for a license.  

"Treatment works" means any device or system used in the 

storage, treatment, disposal, or reclamation of sewage or 

combinations of sewage and industrial wastes including [ , 

but not limited to, ] pumping power and other equipment and 

appurtenances, septic tanks, and any works, including land, 

that are or will be (i) an integral part of the treatment 

processes or (ii) used for ultimate disposal or residues or 

effluent resulting from such treatment.  

"VDH" means the Virginia Department of Health.  
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Part II 

Entry 

18VAC160-30-20. Application procedures. 

A. All applicants seeking licensure shall submit an 

application with the appropriate fee specified in 18VAC160-

30-40. Application shall be made on forms provided by the 

board or its agent. By submitting the application to the 

department, the applicant certifies that the applicant has read 

and understands the applicable statutes and the board's 

regulations. The receipt of an application and the deposit of 

fees by the board does not indicate approval of the application 

by the board. 

B. The board may make further inquiries and investigations 

with respect to the applicant's qualifications to confirm or 

amplify information supplied. All applications shall be 

completed in accordance with the instructions contained 

[ herein in this chapter ] and on the application. Applications 

will not be considered complete until all required documents 

are received by the board. An applicant will not be permitted 

to sit for the applicable board-approved examination until the 

application is complete and approved. 

C. The applicant will be notified within 30 days of the 

board's receipt of an initial application if the application is 

incomplete. An individual who fails to complete the 

application process within 12 months of receipt of the 

application in the board's office must submit a new 

application. An applicant has 12 months from approval of the 

application to pass the board-approved examination. Failure 

to pass the board-approved examination within 12 months of 

approval will result in the applicant being required to submit 

a new application to be considered for licensure. 

D. The applicant shall immediately report all changes in 

information supplied with the application, if applicable, prior 

to issuance of the license or expiration of the application or 

examination period.  

18VAC160-30-30. General fee requirements. 

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The 

date on which the fee is received by the department or its 

agent will determine whether the fee is on time. Checks or 

money orders shall be made payable to the Treasurer of 

Virginia.  

18VAC160-30-40. Fee schedule. 

Fee Type Fee Amount When Due 

Initial application 

(for each 

profession, class, 

and category of 

license) 

$100 
With 

application 

Renewal (for each 

profession, class, 

and category of 

license) 

[ $100 $80 ] 
With renewal 

application 

Reinstatement (for 

each profession, 

class, and category 

of license) 

[ $125 $105 ] 

(renewal fee + 

$25 reinstatement 

fee) 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

18VAC160-30-50. Examination fee. 

The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

charges to the department by an outside vendor based on a 

contract entered into in compliance with [ the ] Virginia 

Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). Fees may be adjusted and charged to the candidate 

in accordance with this contract.  

18VAC160-30-60. General requirements for licensure. 

A. In addition to the specific qualifications for each category 

and classification of licensure, each applicant for licensure 

shall meet the requirements provided in this section.  

1. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old.  

2. The applicant shall disclose his mailing address. A post 

office box is only acceptable as a mailing address when a 

physical address is also provided. 

3. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information.  

a. All felony convictions. 

b. All misdemeanor convictions in any jurisdiction that 

occurred within three years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere or finding of guilt regardless 

of adjudication or deferred adjudication shall be considered 

a conviction for the purposes of this section. The record of 

conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be 

admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 

where convicted shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such guilt.  

B. The board, at its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

C. The applicant shall report [ suspensions, revocations, or 

surrendering any suspension, revocation, or surrender ] of a 

license, certification, or registration in connection with a 

disciplinary action or that has been the subject of discipline in 

any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure. The board, at 

its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant based on 

prior suspensions, revocations, or [ surrender surrenders ] of 

licenses based on disciplinary action by any jurisdiction.  

18VAC160-30-70. Examination procedures and conduct. 

A. Upon approval of the application, the board will notify 

the applicant of his eligibility to take the applicable 

examination. The license will not be issued prior to receipt of 

a passing score for the applicable examination.  

B. An applicant who does not receive a passing score within 

one year after the date of approval of the application by the 

board to sit for the examination, must submit a new 
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application and meet the entry requirement in effect at the 

time of submittal of the new application.  

C. The applicant shall follow all rules established by the 

board with regard to conduct at the examination. Such rules 

shall include all written instructions communicated prior to 

the examination date and all instructions communicated at the 

site, either written or oral, on the date of examination. Failure 

to comply with all rules established by the board and the 

testing organization with regard to conduct at the examination 

may be grounds for denial of the application, voiding of 

examination scores, or any combination thereof.  

18VAC160-30-80. Individuals certified or licensed in 

another jurisdiction. 

[ Any An ] applicant holding a valid license or certificate in 

another jurisdiction who meets the requirements of this 

chapter, including having equivalent experience and 

education, shall pass [ the appropriate Virginia a board-

approved ] examination to become licensed.  

18VAC160-30-90. License required. 

A. No individual shall serve as [ an the ] operator of a 

waterworks or wastewater works without possessing a valid 

category of license issued by the board in a classification 

equal to or greater than the classification of the [ applicable ] 

waterworks or wastewater works [ to be operated ].  

B. An individual cannot simultaneously hold two licenses of 

different classifications in the same category.  

C. Experience used to qualify for licensure must be obtained 

under the direct supervision of an operator holding a valid 

license of the same category and of a classification equal to or 

higher than the classification of the waterworks or wastewater 

works at which the experience was gained.  

[ D. Except as provided in subsection E of this section, 

experience limited solely to the operation and maintenance of 

wastewater collection systems and water distribution systems, 

laboratory work, plant maintenance, and other nonoperating 

duties shall not be counted as experience as an operator or an 

operator-in-training. 

E. D. ] Experience operating and maintaining water 

distribution systems shall only be considered for Class 5 or 

Class 6 waterworks operator license applicants.  

[ Except as provided in subsection E of this section, 

experience E. Experience limited solely to the operation and 

maintenance of wastewater collection systems, laboratory 

work, plant maintenance, and other nonoperating duties shall 

not be counted as experience as an operator or an operator-in-

training. ] 

F. Provisional licensure alone shall not authorize an 

individual to serve as the operator of a classified waterworks 

or wastewater works facility.  

18VAC160-30-100. Full-time experience or equivalent. 

For the purposes of this part, experience requirements are 

expressed in terms of calendar periods of full-time 

employment as an operator or as an operator-in-training at a 

waterworks or wastewater works in the same category for 

which licensure is sought [ pursuant to this chapter ]. 

1. A year of full-time employment is defined as a 

minimum of 1,760 hours during a 12-month period or a 

minimum of 220 workdays in a 12-month period. A 

workday is defined as attendance at a waterworks or 

wastewater works to the extent required for proper 

operation. More than 1,760 hours or 220 workdays during 

a 12-month period will not be considered as more than one 

year of full-time employment. 

2. Partial credit may be given for actual hours of work [ or 

workdays ] experience if the applicant works as an 

operator or as an operator-in-training less than [ full-time 

full time ]. 

 

18VAC160-30-110. Qualifications for examination approval. 

A. An applicant for licensure as a waterworks or wastewater works operator shall furnish acceptable documentation that one 

of the following qualifications has been met. 

TABLE 1 

Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operator Experience and Education 

Classes 
Education 

Required 

Current 

License 

Minimum 

Experience 
Facility Type 

Experience with 

Substitutions 

Class 6 

(Waterworks 

Operator 

Only) 

High 

school 

diploma or 

GED 

N/A 
Six 

months 
Class 6 or higher facility N/A 

No high 

school 

diploma or 

GED 

N/A One year Class 6 or higher facility N/A 
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Class 5 

(Waterworks 

Operator 

Only) 

High 

school 

diploma or 

GED 

N/A 
Six 

months 
Class 5 or higher facility N/A 

No high 

school 

diploma or 

GED 

N/A One year Class 5 or higher facility N/A 

  

Class 4 

High 

school 

diploma or 

GED 

N/A 
Six 

months 
Class 4 or higher facility N/A 

No high 

school 

diploma or 

GED 

N/A One year Class 4 or higher facility N/A 

  

Class 3 

Bachelor's 

or master's 

degree 

N/A 
Six 

months 
Class 4 or higher facility N/A 

Associate's 

degree 
N/A 

Nine 

months 
Class 4 or higher facility Six months 

High 

school 

diploma or 

GED 

N/A One year Class 4 or higher facility Six months 

No high 

school 

diploma or 

GED 

Class 4 

license 

Three 

years 
Class 3 or higher facility One and one-half years 

  

Class 2 

Bachelor's 

or master's 

degree 

N/A One year Class 3 or higher facility Six months 

Associate's 

degree 
N/A 18 months Class 3 or higher facility Nine months 

High 

school 

diploma or 

GED 

N/A Two years Class 3 or higher facility One year 

No High 

school 

diploma or 

GED 

Class 3 

license 
Five years Class 2 or higher facility Three and one-half years 
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Class 1 

Bachelor's 

or master's 

degree 

Class 2 

license 
Two years Class 2 or higher facility One year 

Associate's 

degree 

Class 2 

license 

Three 

years 
Class 2 or higher facility One and one-half years 

High 

school 

diploma or 

GED 

Class 2 

license 
Four years Class 2 or higher facility Two years 

No high 

school 

diploma or 

GED 

Class 2 

license 
Nine years Class 2 or higher facility Four and one-half years 

Where applicable, the current license held, minimum experience, and the facility type must coincide with the category of 

license for which the application is being submitted. 

B. The direct supervisor shall certify the experience on the application form as accurate and relevant to the classification and 

category of license for which is being submitted. In the event that a licensed operator is not available to certify the experience 

of the applicant, the experience may be certified by a representative of the facility owner with first-hand knowledge of the 

applicant's experience.  

18VAC160-30-120. Provisional licensure for nonclassified 

facility operation. 

An applicant for licensure as a provisional waterworks or 

wastewater works operator shall furnish acceptable 

documentation of having met all of the requirements of 

18VAC160-30-110 except that the experience requirement 

may be met through experience gained as an operator or 

operator-in-training of a nonclassified facility. Such 

experience must be gained under the following conditions: 

1. The experience is obtained at a nonclassified facility that 

is comparable in size and in treatment process as described 

in 18VAC160-30-360 and 18VAC160-30-370, as 

applicable.  

2. The experience is obtained while performing 

nonclassified facility operation duties that provide 

experience comparable to that obtained at a classified 

facility. [ Experience limited solely to the operation and 

maintenance of wastewater collection systems and water 

distribution systems, laboratory work, plant maintenance, 

and other nonoperating duties shall not be counted as 

qualifying experience for Class 1, Class 2, Class 3, or 

Class 4 provisional licenses but may be counted for a 

provisional Class 5 or Class 6 license Experience operating 

and maintaining water distribution systems shall only be 

considered for a Class 5 or Class 6 provisional waterworks 

operator license. Experience limited solely to the operation 

and maintenance of wastewater collection system, 

laboratory work, plant maintenance, and other 

nonoperating duties shall not be counted as experience as a 

provisional operator or operator-in-training ]. 

3. Any individual holding a provisional license may apply 

for licensure by submitting evidence of having met 50% of 

the experience required by 18VAC160-30-110 and 

submitting the appropriate application.  

18VAC160-30-130. Experience substitutions. 

A. Experience obtained as a [ licensed alternative onsite 

sewage system operator before April 1, 2017, or a ] master 

alternative onsite sewage system operator may be substituted 

for the Class 4 wastewater works operator-in-training 

experience requirements.  

B. 18VAC160-30-110 A provides the maximum experience 

substitutions that may be applied for each applicable class of 

license.  

1. Experience gained in either waterworks or wastewater 

works operations may be substituted for up to one-half of 

the required experience in the alternate category so long as 

the experience was gained in an equivalent or higher class 

of facility.  

2. Education may [ be substituted substitute ] for part of the 

required experience in the category of license applied for at 

a rate of one month of experience credit for each semester 

hour of college credit. Coursework must be relevant to the 

category and classification of the license being sought. The 

college credit must be from an accredited college or 

university that is approved or accredited by the 

Commission [ of on ] Colleges [ of the Southern 

Association of Colleges and Schools ], a regional or 

national accreditation association, or by an accreditation 

agency that is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of 

Education.  

3. Board-approved waterworks or wastewater works 

operator training [ courses ] may be [ substituted utilized ] 

for experience at a rate of one month experience for each 

training credit approved by the board.  
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C. Substitutions shall not exceed 50% of the total experience 

required for licensure.  

18VAC160-30-140. Education. 

A. Applicants seeking to qualify for licensure based on 

completion of an associate's, bachelor's, or master's degree 

shall submit an official transcript from the school where the 

applicable degree was obtained. Only degrees from an 

accredited college or university that is approved or accredited 

by the Commission on Colleges [ of the Southern Association 

of Colleges and Schools ], a regional or national accreditation 

association, or by an accrediting agency that is recognized by 

the U.S. Secretary of Education will be considered. Formal 

education used to meet a specific education requirement for 

license entry cannot also be used as a training credit for 

experience substitution. 

B. The following degrees shall be considered to qualify in 

accordance with 18VAC160-30-110: 

1. Bachelor's or master's degree in engineering or 

engineering technology in a related physical, biological, 

environmental, or chemical science; 

2. Bachelor's degree in a related physical, biological, 

environmental, or chemical science that includes a 

minimum 40 semester credit hours in any combination of 

science and math; 

3. Master's degree in a related physical, biological, 

environmental, or chemical science, and a bachelor's 

degree in any major such that the combined degrees 

include a minimum 40 semester credit hours in any 

combination of science and math; or 

4. Associate's degree in waterworks, in wastewater works, 

or in a related physical, biological, environmental, or 

chemical science that includes a minimum of 20 credit 

hours in any combination of science and math. 

Part III 

Renewal and Reinstatement 

18VAC160-30-150. Expiration and renewal. 

A. Licenses for waterworks operators shall expire on the last 

day of February of each odd-numbered year. Licenses for 

wastewater works operators shall expire on the last day of 

February of each even-numbered year. 

B. Prior to the expiration date shown on the license, the 

board shall mail a renewal notice to the licensee's address of 

record. The licensee shall return to the board a renewal notice 

and the applicable renewal fee. Failure to receive a renewal 

notice from the board does not relieve the licensee of the 

obligation to renew. If the licensee fails to receive the renewal 

notice, a copy of the license may be submitted with the 

required fee as an application for renewal.  

C. By submitting the renewal or reinstatement fee, the 

licensee is certifying his continued compliance with the 

Standards of Practice and Conduct (Part VI (18VAC160-30-

290 et seq.) of this chapter, as established by the board. In 

addition, by submitting the renewal or reinstatement fee, 

licensees are certifying compliance with the continuing 

professional education requirements of this chapter.  

18VAC160-30-160. Reinstatement. 

A. If all of the requirements for renewal of the license as 

specified in 18VAC160-30-150 are not completed within 30 

days of the license expiration date, a reinstatement fee shall 

be required as established in 18VAC160-30-40. 

B. A license may be reinstated for up to one year following 

the expiration date of the license. [ Any licensee An 

individual ] who fails to reinstate the license within 12 

months after the expiration date shall apply for a new license 

and meet entry requirements in effect at the time of the 

submittal of the new application. Such individual shall be 

deemed to be eligible to sit for the examination for the same 

category and classification of license as the expired license.  

C. Any regulated activity conducted subsequent to the 

license expiration date may constitute unlicensed activity and 

be subject to the prosecution under Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC160-30-170. Status of license during period prior to 

reinstatement. 

A licensee who applies for reinstatement of the license shall 

be subject to all laws and regulations as if the licensee had 

been continuously licensed. The licensee shall remain under 

and be subject to the disciplinary authority of the board 

during this entire period.  

18VAC160-30-180. Board discretion to deny renewal or 

reinstatement. 

The board may deny renewal or reinstatement of a license 

for the same reasons as the board may refuse initial licensure 

or discipline a licensee. [ The licensee has the right to request 

further review of any such action by the board under the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). ]  

The board may deny renewal or reinstatement of a license if 

the licensee has been subject to a disciplinary proceeding and 

has not met the terms of an agreement for licensure, has not 

satisfied all sanctions, or has not fully paid monetary 

penalties and costs [ , ] imposed by the board. 

Part IV 

Continuing Professional Education 

18VAC160-30-190. Continuing professional education. 

A. Each licensee shall have completed the following number 

of continuing professional education (CPE) contact hours 

during each renewal cycle. CPE provisions do not apply for 

the renewal of licenses that were held for less than two years 

on the date of expiration [ . ]  

1. Class 1, Class 2, and Class 3 waterworks and wastewater 

works operators shall obtain a minimum of 20 contact 

hours. 
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2. Class 4 waterworks and wastewater works operators 

shall obtain a minimum of 16 contact hours. 

3. Class 5 waterworks operators shall obtain a minimum of 

eight contact hours. 

4. Class 6 operators shall obtain a minimum of four contact 

hours.  

B. CPE contact hours completed during the license period 

immediately prior to the expiration date of the license shall be 

acceptable in order to renew the license. CPE contact hours 

completed during a licensing renewal cycle to satisfy the CPE 

requirements of the preceding licensing renewal cycle shall 

be valid only for that preceding license renewal cycle and 

shall not be accepted for any subsequent renewal cycles.  

C. The licensee will not receive CPE credit for completing 

the same continuing education course with the same content 

more than once during a license period. 

D. A licensee may receive CPE credit for teaching a course 

that otherwise meets the requirements of this chapter; 

however, additional credit shall not be given for subsequent 

offerings of a course or activity with the same content within 

the same licensing cycle. In addition, a licensee may receive 

two hours of CPE no more than once during a single licensing 

cycle for the initial development or substantial updating 

of [ the a ] CPE course. 

E. Safety subjects shall not count for more than [ one half 

one-half ] of the total required CPE hours. 

18VAC160-30-200. CPE subject matter for waterworks 

operators. 

A. The following course topics will be accepted for CPE 

credit for waterworks operators: 

1. Waterworks operations; 

2. Monitoring, evaluating, and adjusting treatment 

processes and systems; 

3. Operating and maintaining equipment; 

4. Security and safety procedures; 

5. General science and mathematical principles; 

6. Administrative processes and procedures applicable to 

licensure; and 

7. Laws and regulations applicable to the profession. 

B. Of the total 20 hours required, a minimum of five content 

hours pertaining to utility management is required of Class 1 

and Class 2 waterworks operators.  

18VAC160-30-210. CPE subject matter for wastewater 

works operators. 

A. The following course topics will be accepted for CPE 

credit for wastewater works operators: 

1. Wastewater works operations; 

2. Monitoring, evaluating, and adjusting treatment 

processes and systems; 

3. Operating and maintaining equipment; 

4. Security and safety procedures; 

5. General science and mathematical principles; 

6. Administrative processes and procedures applicable to 

licensure; and 

7. Laws and regulations applicable to the profession. 

B. Of the total 20 hours required, a minimum of five content 

hours pertaining to utility management is required of Class 1 

and Class 2 wastewater works operators.  

18VAC160-30-220. Use of training credits and formal 

education for CPE credit. 

Any course approved by the board for substitution as 

training credits or formal education semester hours, as 

provided for in Part V (18VAC160-30-240 et seq.) of this 

chapter, shall also be acceptable on an hour-for-hour basis for 

CPE contact hours. One semester hour of college credit shall 

equal 15 CPE contact hours, and one-quarter hour of college 

credit shall equal 10 CPE credit hours. 

18VAC160-30-230. Maintenance of CPE. 

A. For a period of at least two years following the end of the 

license renewal cycle for which the CPE was taken, the 

following evidence shall be maintained to document 

completion of the required hours of CPE: 

1. Evidence of completion of a structured training activity, 

which shall consist of the name, address, and telephone 

number of the sponsor; 

2. The dates the licensee participated in the training; 

3. Description of the subject matter presented; and 

4. A statement from the sponsor verifying the number of 

hours completed.  

B. The board may conduct an audit of its licensees to ensure 

compliance with the applicable CPE requirements. Licensees 

who are selected for audit shall provide the necessary 

documentation stipulated in this section. 

Part V 

Training Course Approval 

18VAC160-30-240. Approval of training courses. 

A. Training courses may be substituted for experience 

pursuant to the provisions of Part II (18VAC160-30-20 et 

seq.) of this chapter. With the exception of training courses 

provided pursuant to 18VAC160-30-280, training courses 

that may be substituted for required experience must be 

approved by the board prior to commencing. 

B. Each training provider seeking course approval shall 

submit an application for approval on a form provided by the 

board. [ Training courses for which experience credit may be 

granted must be conducted in general conformance with the 

guidelines of the International Association for Continuing 

Education and Training (association). The board reserves the 

right to waive any of the requirements of the association's 

guidelines on a case-by-case basis. ] Only classroom, 

laboratory, and field trip contact time will be used to compute 
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training credits. No credit will be given for breaks, meals, or 

receptions.  

1. Organization. The board will only approve training 

offered by a [ sponsor provider ] that is an identifiable 

organization with a mission statement outlining its 

functions, structure, process, and philosophy and that has a 

staff of one or more persons with the authority to 

administer and coordinate a training course.  

2. Training course records. The board will only approve 

training offered by a [ sponsor provider ] that maintains 

training course records for all participants for a minimum 

of seven years and that has a written policy on retention 

and release of training course records.  

3. Instructors. The board will only approve training 

conducted by personnel who have demonstrated 

competence in the subject being taught, an understanding 

of the learning objective, and knowledge of the learning 

process to be used.  

4. Objectives. The board will only approve courses that 

have a series of stated objectives that are pertinent to the 

tasks performed by a licensee. The training course content 

must be consistent with those objectives.  

5. Course completion requirements. For successful 

completion of a training course, participants must attend 

90% or more of the class contact time and must 

demonstrate their learning through written examinations, 

completion of a project, oral examination, or other similar 

assessment technique. 

18VAC160-30-250. Application for training course 

approval. 

A. The board shall consider the following information, to be 

submitted by the course [ sponsor provider ] or instructor on 

forms provided by the board:  

1. Course information.  

a. Course title;  

b. Planned audience;  

c. Name of [ sponsor provider ];  

d. Name, physical address, email address, and phone 

number of contact person;  

e. Scheduled presentation dates;  

f. Detailed course schedule, hour-by-hour, including start 

and ending times; 

g. List of planned breaks;  

h. Scheduled presentation location; and  

i. Identification of the category and classification of 

license to which the course is applicable and relevancy to 

the identified license type.  

2. Instructor qualifications.  

a. Name of instructor;  

b. Title; 

c. Employer;  

d. Board license number or numbers, if applicable; and  

e. Summary of qualifications to teach the course.  

3. Training materials.  

a. Course objectives. A listing of the course objectives 

stated in terms of the skills and knowledge the participant 

will be able to demonstrate as a result of the training.  

b. Course outline. A detailed outline showing the planned 

activities that will occur during the training course, 

including major topics, planned presentation sequence, 

laboratory and field activities, audiovisual presentation, 

and other major activities.  

c. Course reference materials. A list of the name, 

publisher, and publication date for commercially 

available publications. For reference materials developed 

by the course [ sponsor provider ] or available 

exclusively through the course, a copy of the reference.  

d. Audiovisual support materials. A listing of any 

commercially available audiovisual support material that 

will be used in the program. A brief description of any [ 

sponsor provider ] or instructor generated audiovisual 

material that will be used.  

e. Handouts. Identification of all commercially available 

handout materials that will be used, as well as copies of 

all other planned handouts.  

4. Determination of successful completion. A description 

of the means that will be used to assess the learning of each 

participant to determine successful completion of the 

training program, such as examinations, projects, personal 

evaluations by the instructor, or other recognized 

evaluation techniques. Correspondence and other distance 

learning courses must include appropriate testing 

procedures to verify completion of the course. 

B. Recurring training programs. If there are plans to present 

the same course of instruction routinely at multiple locations 

with only minor modifications and changes, the board may 

approve the overall program rather than individual 

presentations if so requested by the [ sponsor provider ].  

1. The board shall consider all of the information listed in 

subsection A of this section except those items related to 

specific offerings of the course. 

2. Board approval will apply only to those specific 

offerings certified by the [ sponsoring organization 

provider ] as having been conducted by instructors meeting 

the established criteria and in accordance with the board-

approved course outlines and objectives. 

18VAC160-30-260. Maintenance of training approval. 

A. At times established by the board, the board may require 

that course providers that have previously obtained course 

approval provide the board with evidence, in a form set forth 

by the board, that the provider continues to comply with the 

requirements of this chapter. Failure to continue to comply 
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with the board's requirements or respond to such a request 

may result in the board withdrawing its approval.  

B. Substantial modifications or changes to the information 

provided in 18VAC160-30-240 and 18VAC160-30-250 must 

be reported to the board within 30 days of the change. Failure 

to report the changes as required may result in the withdrawal 

of approval by the board. 

C. Any change of the address of the training provider shall 

be reported in writing within 30 days of the change. 

D. The board may conduct an audit of the training provider 

to ensure compliance with this chapter. 

18VAC160-30-270. Withdrawal of approval. 

The board may withdraw approval of any provider for the 

following reasons:  

1. The courses being offered no longer meet the standards 

established by the board.  

2. The provider, through an agent or otherwise, advertises 

its services in a fraudulent or deceptive [ way manner ].  

3. The provider, instructor, or designee of the provider 

falsifies any information relating to the application for 

approval, course information, and student records. 

4. The provider fails to respond to the board or any of its 

agents. 

18VAC160-30-280. Training courses offered by certain 

entities; board approval not required. 

A. Training courses provided by (i) federal, state, or local 

government agencies; (ii) accredited colleges or universities 

approved or accredited by the Commission on Colleges [ of 

the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools ]; (iii) a 

regional or national accreditation association; or (iv) an 

accrediting agency that is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of 

Education do not require board approval to be used for 

experience substitution, provided the training course 

information submitted to the board includes the following: 

1. The course must include the continuing education units 

awarded by the entity. 

2. The [ course course's subject matter ] must be related to 

the license category and classification, if applicable, for 

which experience substitution is sought. 

B. The board may request additional information from the 

provider as necessary to ensure compliance with this section. 

If such assurance cannot be made by the board, the training 

course may not be used for experience substitution, or the 

provider may pursue board approval pursuant to this chapter. 

Part VI 

Standards of Practice and Conduct 

18VAC160-30-290. Grounds for disciplinary action. 

The board may place a licensee on probation; impose a 

monetary penalty in accordance with § 54.1-202 A of the 

Code of Virginia; or revoke, suspend, or refuse to renew any 

license when the licensee has been found to have violated or 

cooperated with others in violating any provision of the 

regulations of the board or Chapter 23 (§ 54.1-2300 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC160-30-300. Maintenance of license. 

A. No license issued by the board shall be assigned or 

otherwise transferred.  

B. A licensee shall report, in writing, all changes of address 

and name to the board within 30 days of the change and shall 

return the license to the board. In addition to the address of 

record, a physical address is required for each license. If the 

licensee holds more than one license, the licensee shall 

inform the board of all licenses, certificates, and registrations 

affected by the address change. The board shall not be 

responsible for the licensee's failure to receive notices or 

correspondence due to the licensee's failure to report a change 

of address. 

C. Any change in any of the requirements and qualifications 

for licensure found in Part II (18VAC160-30-20 et seq.) or 

Part III (18VAC160-30-150 et seq.) of this chapter shall be 

reported to the board within 30 days of the change. 

18VAC160-30-310. Notice of adverse action. 

A. Licensees shall notify the board of the following actions 

against the licensee:  

1. Any disciplinary action taken by any jurisdiction, board, 

or administrative body of competent jurisdiction, including 

[ but not limited to ] any reprimand, license or certificate 

revocation, suspension or denial, monetary penalty, 

requirement for remedial education, or other corrective 

action.  

2. Any voluntary surrendering of a related license, 

certificate, or registration done in connection with a 

disciplinary action in another jurisdiction. 

3. Any conviction, finding of guilt, or plea of guilty, 

regardless of adjudication or deferred adjudication, in any 

jurisdiction of the United States of any [ (i) ] misdemeanor 

involving lying, cheating, stealing, sexual offense, drug 

distribution, or physical injury, [ or ] relating to the 

practice of the profession, or [ of any (ii) ] felony, there 

being no appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal 

having lapsed. Review of convictions shall be subject to 

the requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purpose of this section. 

B. The notice must be made to the board in writing within 

30 days of the action. A copy of the order or other supporting 

documentation must accompany the notice. The record of 

conviction, finding, or case decision shall be considered 

prima facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. 

18VAC160-30-320. Prohibited acts. 

The following acts are prohibited and any violation may 

result in disciplinary action by the board: 
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1. Violating, inducing another to violate, cooperating with 

another to violate, or combining or conspiring with or 

acting as agent, partner, or associate for another to violate 

any of the provisions of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 2 

(§ 54.1-200 et seq.), or 23 (§ 54.1-2300 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or any of the regulations of 

the board.  

2. Allowing a license issued by the board to be used by 

another. 

3. Obtaining or attempting to obtain a license by false or 

fraudulent representation, or maintaining or renewing a 

license by false or fraudulent representation. 

4. A licensee having been convicted, found guilty, or 

disciplined in any jurisdiction of any offense or violation 

enumerated in 18VAC160-30-310. Review of convictions 

shall be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-204 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

5. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days 

that the licensee was convicted, found guilty, or disciplined 

in any jurisdiction of any offense or violation enumerated 

in 18VAC160-30-310. 

6. Not demonstrating reasonable care, judgment, or 

application of the required knowledge, skill, and ability in 

the performance of the licensee's duties.  

7. Having undertaken to perform or performed a 

professional assignment that the licensee is not qualified to 

perform by education, experience, training, or any 

combination thereof. 

8. Failing to report a change as required by 18VAC160-30-

300. 

9. Negligence, misconduct, or incompetence in the practice 

of the profession. 

10. Making any misrepresentation or engaging in acts of 

fraud or deceit in providing professional services.  

11. Failing to adequately supervise and review work 

performed by licensed or unlicensed employees under 

direct supervision of the licensee. 

12. Submitting or recording or assisting another in the 

submission or recording of false or misleading operational 

information relating to the performance and monitoring 

requirements of a waterworks or wastewater works. 

13. Failing to act in providing waterworks and wastewater 

works operator services in a manner that safeguards the 

interests of the public. 

18VAC160-30-330. Conflicts of interest. 

The licensee shall:  

1. Promptly and fully inform an employer or client of any 

business association, interest, or circumstance that may 

influence the licensee's judgment or the quality of service. 

2. Not accept compensation, financial or otherwise, from 

more than one party for services on or pertaining to the 

same project, unless the circumstances are fully disclosed 

to and agreed to by all interested parties in writing. 

3. Neither solicit nor accept financial or other valuable 

consideration from material or equipment suppliers for 

specifying their products or services. 

4. Not solicit or accept gratuities, directly or indirectly, 

from contractors or their agents or other parties dealing 

with a client or employer in connection with work for 

which the licensee is responsible.  

18VAC160-30-340. Licensee responsibility. 

A. The primary obligation of the licensee is to the public. If 

the licensee's judgment is overruled and not adhered to when 

advising appropriate parties of circumstances of a substantial 

threat to the public health, safety, or welfare, the licensee 

shall inform the employer or client, as applicable, of the 

possible consequences and notify appropriate authorities.  

B. The licensee shall not knowingly associate in a business 

venture with, or permit the use of the licensee's name by, any 

person where there is reason to believe that person is 

engaging in activity of a fraudulent or dishonest nature or is 

violating any law or regulation of the board.  

C. A licensee who has direct knowledge that another 

individual may be violating any of the provisions of this 

chapter or the provisions of Chapter 23 (§ 54.1-2300 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia shall immediately 

inform the board in writing and shall cooperate in furnishing 

any further information or assistance that may be required.  

18VAC160-30-350. Response to inquiry and provision of 

records. 

A. A licensee must respond within 10 days to a request by 

the board or any of its agents regarding any complaint filed 

with the department. 

B. Unless otherwise specified by the board, a licensee of the 

board shall produce to the board or any of its agents within 10 

days of the request any document, book, or record concerning 

any transaction pertaining to a complaint filed in which the 

licensee was involved, or for which the licensee is required to 

maintain records. The board may extend such timeframe upon 

a showing of extenuating circumstances prohibiting delivery 

within such 10-day period.  

C. A licensee shall not provide a false, misleading, or 

incomplete response to the board or any of its agents seeking 

information in the investigation of a complaint filed with the 

board. 

D. With the exception of the requirements of subsections A 

and B of this section, a licensee must respond to an inquiry by 

the board or its agent within 21 days. 

18VAC160-30-360. Wastewater works. 

A. A Class 4 wastewater works licensee may operate any 

wastewater works as follows: 

1. A wastewater works employing biological mechanical 

methods (i.e., mechanical treatment process defined as 
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those containing aerated and mixed flows using electrical 

or outside energy sources) with a design hydraulic capacity 

greater than 1,000 gallons per day but equal to or less than 

.04 MGD;  

2. A wastewater works employing natural treatment 

methods (referenced in 9VAC25-790-870 as land treatment 

utilizing a secondary process for pretreatment followed by 

irrigation, overland flow infiltration-percolation, or 

combination thereof or aquatic ponds or constructed 

wetlands) with a design hydraulic capacity greater than 

1,000 gallons per day but equal to or less than 1.0 MGD; or 

3. Any other wastewater works classified by DEQ or VDH 

as a Class 4 wastewater works.  

B. A Class 3 wastewater works licensee may operate any 

wastewater works as follows: 

1. A wastewater works using biological treatment methods 

consisting of but not limited to (i) suspended growth 

reactors, (ii) aerated lagoons, (iii) constructed wetlands, 

(iv) filters or other attached growth contractors, (v) 

processes utilizing biological nutrient control, or (vi) 

processes utilizing land treatment having a design 

hydraulic capacity greater than 0.04 MGD, but equal to or 

less than 0.5 MGD; 

2. A wastewater works using natural treatment methods 

(referenced in 9VAC25-790-870 as land treatment utilizing 

a secondary process for pretreatment followed by 

irrigation, overland flow infiltration-percolation, or 

combination thereof or aquatic ponds or constructed 

wetlands) with a design hydraulic capacity greater than 1.0 

MGD; 

3. A wastewater works using advanced waste treatment 

methods consisting of but not limited to (i) ammonia 

stripping, (ii) breakpoint chlorination, (iii) carbon 

adsorption, (iv) chemical coagulation, (v) flocculation, (vi) 

precipitation, (vii) filtration, or (viii) demineralization (i.e., 

ion exchange, reverse osmosis, or electrodialysis) having a 

design hydraulic capacity greater than 1,000 gallons per 

day but equal to or less than 0.1 MGD; or 

4. A wastewater works classified by DEQ or VDH as a 

Class 3 or Class 4 wastewater works facility.  

C. A Class 2 wastewater works licensee may operate any 

wastewater works as follows: 

1. A wastewater works using biological treatment methods 

consisting of but not limited to (i) suspended growth 

reactors, (ii) aerated lagoons or constructed wetlands, (iii) 

filters or other attached growth contactors, (iv) processes 

utilizing biological nutrient control, or (v) processes 

utilizing land application having a design hydraulic 

capacity greater than 0.5 MGD but equal to or less than 5.0 

MGD; 

2. A wastewater works using advanced waste treatment 

methods consisting of but not limited to (i) ammonia 

stripping, (ii) breakpoint chlorination, (iii) carbon 

adsorption, (iv) chemical coagulation, (v) flocculation, (vi) 

precipitation, (vii) filtration, (viii) demineralization (i.e., 

ion exchange, reverse osmosis, or electrodialysis) and 

having a hydraulic capacity greater than 0.1 MGD but 

equal to or less than 2.5 MGD; or 

3. A wastewater works classified by DEQ or VDH as a 

Class 2, Class 3, or Class 4 wastewater works.  

D. A Class 1 wastewater works licensee may operate any 

wastewater works as follows: 

1. A wastewater works using biological treatment methods 

consisting of but not limited to (i) suspended growth 

reactors, (ii) aerated lagoons or constructed wetlands, (iii) 

filters or other attached growth contactors, (iv) processes 

utilizing biological nutrient control, (v) processes utilizing 

land treatment and having a hydraulic capacity greater than 

5.0 MGD; 

2. A wastewater works using advanced waste treatment 

methods consisting of but not limited to (i) ammonia 

stripping, (ii) breaking chlorination, (iii) carbon adsorption, 

(iv) chemical coagulation, (v) flocculation, (vi) 

precipitation, (vii) filtration, (viii) demineralization (i.e., 

ion exchange, reverse osmosis, or electrodialysis) and 

having a design capacity greater than 2.5 MGD; 

3. A wastewater works classified by DEQ or VDH as a 

Class 1, Class 2, Class 3, or Class 4 wastewater works. 

18VAC160-30-370. Waterworks. 

A. A Class 6 waterworks licensee may operate any 

waterworks as follows: 

1. A waterworks serving fewer than 400 persons that 

provides no treatment or employs one or more of the 

following treatment processes: (i) hypochlorination for 

disinfection, (ii) corrosion control with calcite or 

magnesium oxide contactors or solution feed except with 

caustic, or (iii) sequestration by solution feed; or 

2. A waterworks classified by VDH as a Class 6 

waterworks. 

B. A Class 5 waterworks licensee may operate any 

waterworks as follows: 

1. A waterworks serving 400 or more persons that provides 

no treatment or employs one or more of the following 

treatment processes: (i) hypochlorination for disinfection, 

(ii) corrosion control with calcite or magnesium oxide 

contactors or solution feed except with caustic, or (iii) 

sequestration by solution feed; or 

2. A waterworks classified by VDH as a Class 5 

waterworks. 

C. A Class 4 waterworks licensee may operate any 

waterworks as follows: 

1. A waterworks or treatment facility serving fewer than 

5,000 persons or having a treatment facility capacity of less 

than 0.5 MGD and employing one or more of the 

following: (i) disinfection other than with 
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hypochlorination, (ii) caustic soda feed, (iii) iron and 

manganese removal, (iv) ion exchange, (v) slow sand 

filtration, (vi) aeration, (vii) rechlorination other than with 

hypochlorination, (viii) activated carbon contactors, (ix) 

membrane or other filtration technologies without chemical 

coagulation, or (x) fluoridation with a saturator; or 

2. A waterworks classified by VDH as a Class 4 

waterworks.  

D. A Class 3 waterworks licensee may operate any 

waterworks as follows: 

1. A waterworks or treatment facility serving fewer than 

5,000 persons or having a treatment facility capacity less 

than 0.5 MGD, whichever is greater, and employing 

conventional filtration or chemical coagulation in 

combination with membrane filtration; 

2. A waterworks or treatment facility serving 5,000 or 

more persons or having a treatment facility capacity of 0.5 

MGD or more, whichever is greater, and employing one or 

more of the following: (i) disinfection other than with 

hypochlorination, (ii) caustic soda feed, (iii) iron and 

manganese removal, (iv) ion exchange, (v) slow sand 

filtration, (vi) aeration, (vii) rechlorination other than with 

hypochlorination, (viii) activated carbon contactors, (ix) 

membrane or other filtration technologies without chemical 

coagulation, or (x) fluoridation with a saturator or acid 

feed; 

3. A waterworks or treatment facility employing 

fluoridation with other than a saturator not considered a 

Class 1 or Class 2 waterworks; or 

4. A waterworks classified by VDH as a Class 3 

waterworks.  

E. A Class 2 waterworks licensee may operate any 

waterworks as follows: 

1. A waterworks or treatment facility serving 5,000 or 

more persons but fewer than 50,000 persons or having a 

treatment facility capacity of 0.5 MGD or more but less 

than 5.0 MGD, whichever range applies, and employing 

rapid rate conventional filtration chemical coagulation in 

combination with membrane filtration; 

2. A waterworks or treatment facility serving fewer than 

50,000 persons or having a treatment facility capacity of 

less than 5.0 MGD employing high rate 

conventional  filtration; or 

3. A waterworks classified by the VDH as a Class 2 

waterworks. 

F. A Class 1 waterworks licensee may operate any 

waterworks as follows: 

1. A waterworks or treatment facility serving 50,000 or 

more persons or having a treatment facility capacity of 5.0 

MGD or more and employing conventional filtration or 

chemical coagulation in combination with membrane 

filtration; or 

2. A waterworks classified by VDH as a Class 1 

waterworks. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC160-30) 

[ Waterworks Operator License Application, A436-

1955LIC-v3 (eff. 7/2016) 

Provisional Waterworks Operator License Application, 

A436-1955PLIC-v2 (eff. 7/2016) 

Wastewater Works Operator License Application, A436-

1965LIC-v2 (eff. 7/2016) 

Provisional Wastewater Works Operator License 

Application, A436-1965PLIC-v2 (eff. 7/2016) 

Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operator - Upgrade 

Provisional License Application, A436-1955_65UPG-v3 (eff. 

7/2016) 

Waterworks Operator License Application, A436-1955LIC-

v3 (eff. 4/2017) 

Provisional Waterworks Operator License Application, 

A436-1955PLIC-v2 (eff. 4/2017)  

Wastewater Works Operator License Application, A436-

1965LIC-v2 (eff. 4/2017) 

Provisional Wastewater Works Operator License 

Application, A436-1965PLIC-v2 (eff. 4/2017) 

Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operator - Upgrade 

Provisional License Application, A436-1955_65UPG-v3 (eff. 

4/2017) ]  

Out-of-State Facility Description and Experience 

Verification Application, A436-19STATE_EXP-v3 (eff. 

4/2015) 

Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operator Experience 

Verification Application, A436-19WWEXP-v3 (eff. 1/2014) 

Provisional Description and Experience Verification 

Application, A436-1955_65PEXP-v3 (eff. 12/2014) 

Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Application - 

Certificate of Completion, A436-19CPE-v3 (eff. 10/2015) 

[ Training Course Approval Application, A465-19CRS-v2 

(eff. 5/2013) 

Education and Training Substitution Form, A436-19EDTR-

v3 (eff. 1/2014) 

Training Course Approval Application, A465-19CRS-v3 

(eff. 2/2016)] 

Education and Training Substitution Form, A436-

19EDTRv4, (eff. 4/2017) ]  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3816a004114~21&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3816a004114~21&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ee595004114~21&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ee595004114~21&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e4e18004114~21&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e4e18004114~21&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=83edb004114~21&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=83edb004114~21&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=78da4004114~21&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=78da4004114~21&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=78da4004114~21&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d6dbd004114~6&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d6dbd004114~6&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d6dbd004114~6&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=95200004114~7&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=95200004114~7&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=693a8004114~8&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=693a8004114~8&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=be56c004114~9&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=be56c004114~9&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e3040004114~21&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e3040004114~21&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=54d23004114~11&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=54d23004114~11&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
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CHAPTER 40 

ONSITE SEWAGE SYSTEM PROFESSIONALS 

LICENSING REGULATIONS 

Part I 

Definitions 

18VAC160-40-10. Definitions. 

A. Section 54.1-2300 of the Code of Virginia provides 

definitions of the following terms and phrases as used in this 

chapter: 

"Board" 

"Onsite sewage system" 

"Operator" 

"Wastewater works" 

B. The following words, terms, and phrases when used in 

this chapter shall have the following [ meaning meanings ] 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Alternative onsite sewage system" means a treatment works 

that is not a conventional onsite sewage system and does not 

result in a point source discharge. 

"Alternative onsite sewage system installer" means an 

individual licensed by the board to construct, install, and 

repair conventional and alternative onsite sewage systems.  

"Alternative onsite sewage system operator" means an 

individual licensed by the board to operate and maintain 

conventional and alternative onsite sewage systems.  

"Alternative onsite soil evaluator" means an individual 

licensed by the board to evaluate soils and soil properties in 

relationship to the effect of these properties on the use and 

management of these soils [ and as ] the locations for 

conventional and alternative onsite sewage systems, to certify 

in accordance with applicable state regulations and local 

ordinances that sites are suitable for conventional and 

alternative onsite sewage systems, and to design conventional 

and alternative onsite sewage systems suitable for the soils.  

"Applicant" means an individual who submits an application 

with the appropriate fee and other required documentation. 

"Application" means a completed, board-prescribed form 

submitted with the appropriate fee and other required 

documentation.  

"Authorized onsite soil evaluator" means an individual 

holding an authorized onsite soil evaluator certification issued 

by the Virginia Department of Health that was valid on June 

30, 2009.  

"Category" means journeyman or master as applicable to the 

professionals under the board's purview.  

"Class" means conventional or alternative as applicable to 

the professionals under the board's purview.  

"Contact hour" means 50 minutes of participation in a 

structured training activity.  

"Conventional onsite sewage system" means a treatment 

works consisting of one or more septic tanks with gravity, 

pumped, or siphoned conveyance to a gravity distributed 

subsurface drainfield.  

"Conventional onsite sewage system installer" means an 

individual licensed by the board to construct, install, and 

repair conventional onsite sewage systems.  

"Conventional onsite sewage system operator" means an 

individual licensed by the board to operate and maintain [ a ] 

conventional onsite sewage [ system systems ]. 

"Conventional onsite soil evaluator" means an individual 

licensed by the board to evaluate soils and soil properties in 

relationship to the effects of these properties on the use and 

management of these soils as the locations for conventional 

and alternative onsite sewage systems, to certify in 

accordance with applicable state regulations and local 

ordinances that sites are suitable for conventional and 

alternative onsite sewage systems, and to design conventional 

onsite sewage systems suitable for the soils.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation.  

"Direct supervision" means being immediately available and 

fully responsible for the provision of onsite sewage system 

services regulated pursuant to Chapter 23 (§ 54.1-2300 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 and this chapter.  

"Interim license" refers to the initial issuance of professional 

licenses during the implementation of the onsite sewage 

system [ professional professionals ] licensure program. Such 

licenses were limited to four years and not renewable.  

"Journeyman" means an individual who possesses the 

minimum skills and competency to [ assist with the 

installation or maintenance of install or maintain ] onsite 

sewage systems or assist in the evaluation of soil sites as 

suitable for conventional and alternative onsite sewage 

systems and to design [ conventional ] onsite sewage systems 

under the direct supervision of a master licensee. 

"Licensee" means an individual holding a valid license 

issued by the board.  

"Licensure" means a method of regulation whereby the 

Commonwealth, through the issuance of a license, authorizes 

a person possessing the character and minimum skills to 

engage in the practice of a profession or occupation 

that [ without such license ] is unlawful to practice [ without 

such license ].  

"Maintenance" or "maintain" means performing adjustments 

to equipment and controls and in-kind replacement of normal 

wear and tear parts such as light bulbs, fuses, filters, pumps, 

motors, or other like components. Maintenance includes 

pumping the tanks or cleaning the building sewer on a 

periodic basis. Maintenance shall not include replacement of 

tanks, drainfield piping, or distribution boxes or work 

requiring a construction permit and a licensed onsite sewage 

system installer.  

"Master" means an individual who possess the minimum 

skills and competency to install or maintain onsite sewage 
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[ system systems ] or evaluate soil sites as suitable for 

conventional and alternative onsite sewage systems and to 

design conventional and alternative onsite sewage systems.  

"Operate" means the act of (i) placing into or taking out of 

service a unit process or unit processes or (ii) making or 

causing adjustments in the operation of a unit process at a 

treatment works.  

"Profession" means the practice of onsite soil evaluation, 

onsite sewage system installation, and onsite sewage system 

operation.  

"Professional" means an onsite sewage system installer, 

onsite sewage system operator, or onsite soil evaluator who is 

licensed pursuant to the provisions of this chapter and is in 

good standing with the board to practice his profession in this 

Commonwealth.  

"Renewal" means the process and requirements for 

periodically approving the continuance of a license. 

"Sewage" means water-carried and nonwater-carried human 

excrement or kitchen, laundry, shower, bath, or lavatory 

wastes separately or together with such underground, surface, 

storm, or other water and liquid industrial wastes as may be 

present from residences, buildings, vehicles, industrial 

establishments, or other places.  

"Training credit" means a unit of board-approved training or 

formal education completed by an individual that may be 

used to substitute for experience when applying for a license.  

"Treatment works" means any device or system used in the 

storage, treatment, disposal, or reclamation of sewage or 

combinations of sewage and industrial wastes including [ , 

but not limited to, ] pumping power and other equipment and 

appurtenances, septic tanks and any works, including land, 

that are or will be (i) an integral part of the treatment 

processes or (ii) used for ultimate disposal or residues or 

effluent resulting from such treatment.  

"VDH" means the Virginia Department of Health.  

Part II 

Entry 

18VAC160-40-20. Application procedures. 

A. All applicants seeking licensure shall submit an 

application with the appropriate fee in 18VAC160-40-40. 

Applications shall be made on forms provided by the board.  

By submitting the application to the department, the 

applicant [ certified certifies ] that the applicant has read and 

understands the applicable statutes and the board's 

regulations.  

The receipt of an application and the deposit of fees by the 

board does not indicate approval of the application by the 

board.  

B. The board may make further inquiries and investigations 

with respect to the applicant's qualifications to confirm or 

amplify information supplied. All applications shall be 

completed in accordance with the instructions contained 

[ herein in this chapter ] and on the application. Applications 

will not be considered complete until all required documents 

are received by the board. If an examination is required for 

licensure, the applicant will not be permitted to sit for the 

applicable board-approved examination until the application 

is complete and approved.  

C. The applicant will be notified within 30 days of the 

board's receipt of an initial application if the application is 

incomplete. An individual who fails to complete the process 

within 12 months of receipt of the application in the board's 

office must submit a new application. If applicable, the 

applicant has 12 months from approval of the application to 

pass the board-approved examination. Failure to pass the 

board-approved examination within 12 months of approval 

will result in the applicant being required to submit a new 

application to be considered for licensure.  

D. The applicant shall immediately report all changes in 

information supplied with the application, if applicable, prior 

to the issuance of the license or expiration of the application 

or examination period.  

18VAC160-40-30. General fee requirements. 

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The 

date on which the fee is received by the department or its 

agent will determine whether the fee is on time. Checks or 

money orders shall be made payable to the Treasurer of 

Virginia.  

18VAC160-40-40. Fee schedule. 

Fee Type Fee Amount When Due 

Initial application 

(for each 

profession, class, 

and category of 

license) 

$100 
With 

application 

Renewal (for each 

profession, class, 

and category of 

license) 

[ $100 $80 ]  
With renewal 

application 

Reinstatement 

(for each 

profession, class, 

and category of 

license) 

[ $125 $105 ] 

(renewal fee + $25 

reinstatement fee) 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

18VAC160-40-50. Examination fee. 

The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

charges to the department by an outside vendor based on a 

contract entered into in compliance with the Virginia Public 

Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

Fees may be adjusted and charged to the candidate in 

accordance with this contract.  
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18VAC160-40-60. General requirements for licensure. 

A. In addition to the specific qualifications for each 

profession, class, and category of licensure, each applicant for 

licensure shall meet the requirements provided in this section: 

1. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old.  

2. The applicant shall disclose his mailing address. A post 

office box is only acceptable as a mailing address when a 

physical address is provided.  

3. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information: 

a. All felony convictions. 

b. All misdemeanor convictions that occurred within 

three years of the date of application.  

Any plea of nolo contendere or finding of guilt regardless 

of adjudication or deferred adjudication shall be considered 

a conviction for the purposes of this section. The record of 

conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be 

admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 

where convicted shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such guilt.  

B. The board, at its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

C. The applicant shall report [ suspensions, revocations, or 

surrendering any suspension, revocation, or surrender ] of a 

license, certification, or registration in connection with a 

disciplinary action or that has been subject of discipline in 

any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure. The board at 

its discretion may deny licensure to any applicant based on 

prior suspensions, revocations, or [ surrender or surrenders 

of ] licenses based on disciplinary action by any jurisdiction. 

18VAC160-40-70. Education and training for experience. 

A. Each individual applying for a license may receive credit 

for up to half of the required experience for: 

1. Satisfactory completion of postsecondary courses in 

wastewater, biology, chemistry, geology, hydraulics, 

hydrogeology, [ engineering, environmental science, 

agronomy, earth science, environmental health ], or soil 

science at the rate of one month per semester hour or two-

thirds of a month per quarter hour; or 

2. Satisfactory completion of board-approved onsite 

sewage system installer or operator or onsite soil 

evaluation training courses, as applicable to the license 

sought, at the rate of one month for each training credit 

earned. Up to one training credit is awarded for each 10 

hours of classroom contact time or for each 20 hours of 

laboratory exercises and field trip contact time. Training 

credit is not earned for breaks, meals, receptions, and time 

other than classroom, laboratory, and field trip contact 

time.  

B. Education used to meet the education requirements to 

qualify for licensure may not be substituted for experience.  

18VAC160-40-80. Examination procedures and conduct. 

A. Upon approval of the application, the board will notify 

the applicant of his eligibility to take the applicable 

examination. The license will not be issued prior to the 

receipt of a passing score for the applicable examination.  

B. An applicant who does not receive a passing score within 

one year after the date of approval of the application by the 

board to sit for the examination must submit a new 

application and meet entry requirements in effect at the time 

of the submittal of the new application.  

C. In those instances where the applicant is required to take 

an examination for licensure, the applicant shall follow all 

rules established by the board with regard to conduct at the 

examination. Such rules shall include written instructions 

communicated prior to the examination date and instructions 

communicated at the site, either written or oral, on the date of 

the examination. Failure to comply with all rules established 

by the board and the testing organization with regard to 

conduct at the examination shall be grounds for denial of the 

application, voiding of examination scores, or any 

combination thereof. 

18VAC160-40-90. Individuals certified or licensed in 

another jurisdiction. 

Any applicant holding a valid license or certificate in 

another jurisdiction shall meet the requirements of this 

chapter, including having equivalent experience and 

education. The applicant shall pass the appropriate [ Virginia 

board-approved ] examination [ to become licensed ] in those 

instances where an examination for licensure is required.  

18VAC160-40-100. Full-time experience or equivalent. 

For the purpose of this part, experience requirements are 

expressed in terms of calendar periods of full-time 

employment as an operator, installer, or onsite soil evaluator 

in the same class for which licensure is sought.  

1. A year of full-time employment is defined as a 

minimum of 1,760 hours during a 12-month period or a 

minimum of 220 workdays in a 12-month period. A 

workday is defined as performing or assisting in the duties 

of an installer, operator, or onsite soil evaluator to the 

extent required for the proper installation or maintenance 

of onsite sewage systems or the evaluation of soil and soil 

properties for suitability as locations for onsite sewage 

systems. More than 1,760 hours or 220 workdays during a 

12-month period will not be considered as more than one 

year of full-time employment.  

2. Partial credit may be given for actual hours of work [ or 

workdays ] experience if the applicant works less than full 

time.  

[ 18VAC160-40-105. Master licenses; conversion of 

licenses on April 1, 2017. 

A. An individual holding a current license issued by the 

board that was valid on March 31, 2017, will be issued a 
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master license in the same class and category of license, and 

with the same expiration date.  

1. A conventional onsite sewage system installer license 

that is current on March 31, 2017, will be converted to a 

master conventional onsite sewage system installer license. 

2. An alternative onsite sewage system installer license that 

is current on March 31, 2017, will be converted to a master 

alternative onsite sewage system installer license. 

3. A conventional onsite sewage system operator license 

that is current on March 31, 2017, will be converted to a 

master conventional onsite sewage system operator license. 

4. An alternative onsite sewage system operator license 

that is current on March 31, 2017, will be converted to a 

master alternative onsite sewage system operator license. 

5. A conventional onsite soil evaluator license that is 

current on March 31, 2017, will be converted to a master 

conventional onsite soil evaluator license. 

6. An alternative onsite soil evaluator license that is current 

on March 31, 2017, will be converted to a master 

alternative onsite soil evaluator license. 

B. Any license issued pursuant to this section may be 

subject to disciplinary action in accordance with this chapter 

for any violation of the regulations that occurred under the 

license held prior to conversion in accordance with this 

section. ]  

Part III 

Onsite Sewage System Installers 

18VAC160-40-110. License required. 

A. No individual shall install a conventional or alternative 

onsite sewage system without a valid [ master ] onsite sewage 

system installer license issued by the board [ in the 

appropriate class ].  

B. An individual cannot simultaneously hold valid master 

and journeyman onsite sewage system installer licenses in the 

same class. Issuance of a master onsite sewage system 

installer license in a specific class shall void the journeyman 

onsite sewage system installer license in the same class.  

C. An individual cannot simultaneously hold valid 

conventional and alternative master onsite sewage system 

installer licenses or [ convention conventional ] and 

alternative journeyman [ onsite sewage system installer ] 

licenses. Issuance of a master alternative onsite sewage 

system installer license shall void the conventional onsite 

sewage system installer license.  

D. A journeyman onsite sewage system installer must work 

under the direct supervision of a licensed master onsite 

sewage system installer [ with the appropriate class of 

license ]. A master onsite sewage system installer is 

responsible for supervising the provision of onsite sewage 

system installations by any journeyman onsite sewage system 

installers under his direct supervision. 

E. Experience used to qualify for licensure cannot be 

verified by a journeyman onsite sewage system installer.  

 

18VAC160-40-120. Qualifications for journeyman conventional onsite sewage system installer licenses. 

An applicant for licensure as a journeyman conventional onsite sewage system installer shall furnish acceptable 

documentation that one of the following qualifications has been met: 

 
Prerequisites 

Exam 

Required 

Education 

Required 
Documented Qualifying Experience 

1. Employee, owner, director, or 

officer of a properly licensed 

contractor with a sewage disposal 

system (SDS) specialty issued by 

the Virginia Board for Contractors 

No No Six months of full-time experience assisting 

with the installation of conventional or 

alternative onsite sewage systems verified 

by one or more of the following: an onsite 

soil evaluator, an onsite sewage system 

installer, a professional engineer, or an 

authorized onsite soil evaluator [ certified 

by VDH before July 1, 2009 ]  

2. None No No One year of full-time experience assisting 

with the installation of conventional or 

alternative onsite sewage systems verified 

by one or more of the following: an onsite 

soil evaluator, an onsite sewage system 

installer, a professional engineer, or an 

authorized onsite soil evaluator [ certified 

by VDH before July 1, 2009 ] 
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18VAC160-40-130. Qualifications for master conventional onsite sewage system installer licenses. 

An applicant for licensure as a master conventional onsite sewage system installer shall furnish acceptable documentation that 

one of the following qualifications has been met: 

 
Prerequisites 

Exam 

Required 

Education 

Required 
Documented Qualifying Experience 

1. Employee, owner, 

director, or officer of a 

properly licensed 

contractor with a sewage 

disposal system (SDS) 

specialty issued by the 

Virginia Board for 

Contractors  

Yes 20 hours of 

training approved 

by the board 

covering basic 

installation of 

conventional or 

alternative onsite 

sewage systems 

One year of full-time experience installing 

conventional or alternative onsite sewage 

systems verified by one or more of the 

following: an onsite soil evaluator, an onsite 

sewage system installer, a professional 

engineer, or an authorized onsite soil evaluator 

[ certified by VDH before July 1, 2009 ] 

2.  Employee, owner, 

director, or officer of a 

properly licensed 

contractor with a sewage 

disposal system (SDS) 

specialty issued by the 

Virginia Board for 

Contractors 

Yes No Two years of full-time experience installing 

conventional or alternative onsite sewage 

systems verified by one or more of the 

following: an onsite soil evaluator, an onsite 

sewage system installer, a professional 

engineer, or an authorized onsite soil evaluator 

[ certified by VDH before July 1, 2009 ] 

3. Interim installer or 

journeyman license 

Yes 20 hours of 

training approved 

by the board 

covering basic 

installation of 

conventional or 

alternative onsite 

sewage systems 

Two years of full-time experience installing 

conventional or alternative onsite sewage 

systems verified by one or more of the 

following: an onsite soil evaluator, an onsite 

sewage system installer, a professional 

engineer, or an authorized onsite soil evaluator 

[ certified by VDH before July 1, 2009 ] 

4. Interim installer or 

journeyman installer 

license 

Yes No Three years of full-time experience installing 

conventional or alternative onsite sewage 

systems verified by one or more of the 

following: an onsite soil evaluator, an onsite 

sewage system installer, a professional 

engineer, or an authorized onsite soil evaluator 

[ certified by VDH before July 1, 2009 ] 

[ 18VAC160-40-140. Qualification for exemption from examination for master conventional onsite sewage system 

installer applicants. (Reserved.) 

Applicants seeking licensure as a conventional onsite sewage system installer may be exempt from the examination, provided 

the board receives the applicable application before July 1, 2016, and the applicant: 

1. Is able to satisfactorily demonstrate that he has been actively engaged in performing the duties of a conventional onsite 

sewage system installer for at least eight years within the 12-year period immediately preceding the date of the application. 

Documentation of qualifying experience may be verified by a conventional or alternative onsite soil evaluator, a 

conventional or alternative onsite sewage system installer, a professional engineer, or an authorized onsite soil evaluator 

certified by VDH before July 1, 2009; and 

2. Meets the requirements of 18VAC160-40-60. ]  

18VAC160-40-150. Qualifications for journeyman alternative onsite sewage system installer licenses. 

An applicant for licensure as [ an a journeyman ] alternative onsite sewage system installer shall furnish acceptable 

documentation that one of the following qualifications has been met: 
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Prerequisites Exam Required 

Education 

Required 
Documented Qualifying Experience 

1. Employee, owner, director, 

or officer of a properly 

licensed contractor with a 

sewage disposal system 

(SDS) specialty issued by 

the Virginia Board for 

Contractors  

No No One year of full-time experience assisting 

with the installation of alternative onsite 

sewage systems verified by one or more 

of the following: an alternative onsite soil 

evaluator, an alternative onsite sewage 

system installer, a professional engineer, 

or an authorized onsite soil evaluator 

[ certified by VDH before July 1, 2009 ] 

2. None No No Two years of full-time experience 

assisting with the installation of 

alternative onsite sewage systems verified 

by one or more of the following: an 

alternative onsite soil evaluator, an 

alternative onsite sewage system installer, 

a professional engineer, or an authorized 

onsite soil evaluator [ certified by VDH 

before July 1, 2009 ] 

18VAC160-40-160. Qualifications for master alternative onsite sewage system installer licenses. 

An applicant for licensure as a master alternative onsite sewage system installer shall furnish acceptable documentation that 

one of the following qualifications has been met: 

 
Prerequisites Exam Required 

Education 

Required 
Documented Qualifying Experience 

1. Employee, owner, 

director, or officer of a 

properly licensed 

contractor with a sewage 

disposal system (SDS) 

specialty issued by the 

Virginia Board for 

Contractors 

Yes No Two years of full-time experience 

installing alternative onsite sewage 

systems verified by one or more of the 

following: an alternative onsite soil 

evaluator, an alternative onsite sewage 

system installer, a professional engineer, 

or an authorized onsite soil evaluator 

[ certified by VDH before July 1, 2009 ]  

[ 2. Employee, owner, director, 

or officer of a properly 

licensed contractor with a 

sewage disposal system 

(SDS) specialty issued by 

the Virginia Board for 

Contractors 

Yes 20 hours of 

training 

approved by 

the board 

covering the 

basic 

installation of 

alternative 

onsite sewage 

systems 

18 months of full-time experience installing 

alternative onsite sewage systems verified 

by one or more of the following: an 

alternative onsite soil evaluator, an 

alternative onsite sewage system installer, a 

professional engineer, or an authorized 

onsite soil evaluator ]  

[ 2. 3. ] No Yes 20 hours of 

training 

approved by 

the board 

covering basic 

installation of 

alternative 

onsite sewage 

systems 

Three years of full-time experience 

installing alternative onsite sewage 

systems verified by one or more of the 

following: an alternative onsite soil 

evaluator, an alternative onsite sewage 

system installer, a professional engineer, 

or an authorized onsite soil evaluator 

[ certified by VDH before July 1, 2009  
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3. 4. ]  Interim alternative onsite 

sewage system installer or 

conventional onsite 

sewage system installer 

license 

Yes No 18 months of full-time experience 

installing alternative onsite sewage 

systems verified by one or more of the 

following: an alternative onsite soil 

evaluator, an alternative onsite sewage 

system installer, a professional engineer, 

or an authorized onsite soil evaluator 

[ certified by VDH before July 1, 2009 ] 

[ 4. No Yes 20 hours of 

training 

approved by 

the board 

covering the 

basic 

installation of 

alternative 

onsite sewage 

systems 

18 months of full-time experience 

installing alternative onsite sewage 

systems verified by one or more of the 

following: an alternative onsite soil 

evaluator, an alternative onsite sewage 

system installer, a professional engineer, 

or an authorized onsite soil evaluator 

certified by VDH before July 1, 2009 ]  

Part IV 

Onsite Sewage System Operators 

18VAC160-40-170. License required. 

A. No individual shall operate a conventional or alternative onsite sewage system without a valid [ master ] onsite sewage 

system operator license issued by the board [ in the appropriate class ].  

B. An individual cannot simultaneously hold valid master and [ journeyman ] onsite sewage system operator licenses in the 

same class. Issuance of a master onsite sewage system operator license in a specific class shall void the journeyman onsite 

sewage system operator license in the same class.  

C. An individual cannot simultaneously hold valid conventional and alternative [ master ] onsite sewage system operator 

licenses or conventional and alternative journeyman onsite sewage system operator licenses. Issuance of a master alternative 

onsite sewage system operator license shall void the conventional onsite sewage system operator license.  

D. A journeyman onsite sewage system operator must work under the direct supervision of a licensed master onsite sewage 

system operator [ with the appropriate class of license ]. [ An A master ] onsite sewage system operator is responsible for 

supervising the operation of the onsite sewage system by any journeyman onsite sewage system operator under his 

responsibility.  

E. Experience used to qualify for licensure cannot be verified by a journeyman onsite sewage system operator.  

[ F. No individual shall act as an alternative onsite sewage system operator of an alternative onsite sewage system that exceeds 

10,000 gallons per day design flow without possessing a Class 4 or higher wastewater works operator license in addition to an 

alternative onsite sewage system operator license. ]  

18VAC160-40-180. Qualifications for journeyman conventional onsite sewage system operator licenses. 

An applicant for licensure as a journeyman conventional onsite sewage system operator shall furnish acceptable 

documentation that the following qualification has been met: 

Prerequisites Exam Required 
Education 

Required 
Documented Qualifying Experience 

None No No Six months of full-time experience assisting with 

the operation and maintenance of conventional or 

alternative onsite sewage systems verified by one 

or more of the following: an onsite soil evaluator, 

an onsite sewage system operator, a professional 

engineer, or an authorized onsite soil evaluator 

[ certified by VDH before July 1, 2009 ] 
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18VAC160-40-190. Qualifications for master conventional onsite sewage system operator licenses. 

An applicant for licensure as a master conventional onsite sewage system operator shall furnish acceptable documentation that 

one of the following qualifications has been met: 

 
Prerequisites 

Exam 

Required 

Education 

Required 
Documented Qualifying Experience 

1. Wastewater works 

operator license 

Yes No None 

2. No Yes 10 hours of 

education 

approved by the 

board covering 

the basics of 

operation and 

maintenance of 

conventional 

onsite sewage 

systems 

Six months of full-time experience in the operation 

and maintenance of conventional or alternative 

onsite sewage systems verified by one or more of the 

following: an onsite soil evaluator, an onsite sewage 

system operator, a professional engineer, or an 

authorized onsite soil evaluator [ certified by VDH 

before July 1, 2009 ] 

3.  No Yes No One year of full-time experience in the operation and 

maintenance of conventional or alternative onsite 

sewage systems verified by one or more of the 

following: an onsite soil evaluator, an onsite sewage 

system operator, a professional engineer, or an 

authorized onsite soil evaluator [ certified by VDH 

before July 1, 2009 ] 

18VAC160-40-200. Qualification for exemption from examination for master conventional onsite sewage system 

operator applicants. 

Applicants seeking licensure as a master conventional onsite sewage system operator may be exempt from the examination 

provided the applicant: 

1. Is able to satisfactorily demonstrate that he has been actively engaged in performing the duties of a conventional onsite 

sewage system operator for at least four years. Documentation of qualifying experience may be verified by a [ master ] 

conventional or alternative [ onsite ] soil [ evaluation evaluator ], a [ master ] conventional or alternative onsite sewage 

system operator, a professional engineer, or an authorized onsite soil evaluator [ certified by VDH before July 1, 2009 ]; and  

2. Meets the requirements of 18VAC160-40-60. 

18VAC160-40-210. Qualifications for journeyman alternative onsite sewage system operator licenses. 

An applicant for licensure as a journeyman alternative onsite sewage operator shall furnish acceptable documentation that one 

of the following qualifications has been met: 

 
Prerequisites Exam Required Education Required Documented Qualifying Experience 

1. None No 20 hours of education 

approved by the board 

covering the basics of 

operation and 

maintenance of 

alternative onsite 

sewage systems 

One year of full-time experience assisting 

with the operation and maintenance of 

alternative onsite sewage systems verified by 

one or more of the following: an alternative 

onsite soil evaluator, an alternative sewage 

system operator, a professional engineer, or 

an authorized onsite soil evaluator [ certified 

by VDH before July 1, 2009 ] 

2. None No None Two years of full-time experience assisting 

with the operation and maintenance of 

alternative onsite sewage systems verified by 

one or more of the following: an alternative 
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onsite soil evaluator, an alternative sewage 

system operator, a professional engineer, or 

an authorized onsite soil evaluator [ certified 

by VDH before July 1, 2009 ] 

18VAC160-40-220. Qualifications for master alternative onsite sewage system operator licenses. 

An applicant for licensure as a master alternative onsite sewage system operator shall furnish acceptable documentation that 

one of the following has been met: 

 
Prerequisites Exam Required Education Required 

Documented Qualifying 

Experience 

1. Held or holds a 

conventional onsite 

sewage system operator 

license 

Yes 10 hours of training 

approved by the board 

covering the basics of 

operation and 

maintenance of 

alternative onsite sewage 

systems 

One year of full-time experience 

in the operation and maintenance 

of onsite sewage systems verified 

by one or more of the following: 

an alternative onsite soil 

evaluator, an alternative onsite 

sewage system operator, a 

professional engineer, or an 

authorized onsite soil evaluator 

[ certified by VDH before July 1, 

2009 ] 

2. Held or holds a 

conventional onsite 

sewage system operator 

license 

Yes No [ One year 18 months ] of full-

time experience in the operation 

and maintenance of onsite 

sewage systems verified by one 

or more of the following: an 

alternative onsite soil evaluator, 

an alternative onsite sewage 

system operator, a professional 

engineer, or an authorized onsite 

soil evaluator [ certified by VDH 

before July 1, 2009 ] 

3. None Yes 20 hours of training 

approved by the board 

covering the basics of 

operation and 

maintenance of 

alternative onsite sewage 

systems 

Two years of full-time 

experience in the operation and 

maintenance of onsite sewage 

systems verified by one or more 

of the following: an alternative 

onsite soil evaluator, an 

alternative onsite sewage system 

operator, a professional engineer, 

or an authorized onsite soil 

evaluator [ certified by VDH 

before July 1, 2009 ] 

4. Wastewater works 

operator license 

Yes No Six months of full-time experience 

in the operation and maintenance 

of onsite sewage systems verified 

by one or more of the following: an 

alternative onsite soil evaluator, an 

alternative onsite sewage system 

operator, a professional engineer, 

or an authorized onsite soil 

evaluator [ certified by VDH 

before July 1, 2009 ] 
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5. Wastewater works 

operator license 

Yes 20 hours of training 

approved by the board in 

basics of operation and 

maintenance of 

alternative onsite sewage 

systems 

No 

Part V 

Onsite Soil Evaluator 

18VAC160-40-230. License required. 

A. Notwithstanding the provisions of Chapter 4 (§ 54.1-400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, no individual shall 

[ evaluate soils and soil properties for suitability as locations for or design conventional or alternative onsite sewage systems 

perform the duties of an onsite soil evaluator ] without possessing a valid license issued by the board.  

B. An individual cannot simultaneously hold master and journeyman onsite soil evaluator licenses in the same class. Issuance 

of a master onsite soil evaluator license in a specific class shall void the journeyman onsite soil evaluator license in the same 

class.  

C. An individual cannot simultaneously hold valid conventional and alternative [ master ] onsite soil evaluator licenses or 

conventional and alternative journeyman onsite soil evaluator licenses. Issuance of an alternative master onsite soil evaluator 

license shall void the conventional onsite soil evaluator license.  

D. A journeyman onsite soil evaluator must work under the direct supervision of a master onsite soil evaluator [ with the 

appropriate class of license ]. A master onsite soil evaluator of an equal or greater class is responsible for supervising the 

provision of onsite soil evaluations and designs by any journeyman onsite soil evaluator under his responsibility.  

E. Experience to qualify for licensure cannot be verified by a journeyman onsite soil evaluator.  

18VAC160-40-240. Qualifications for journeyman conventional onsite soil evaluator licenses. 

An applicant for licensure as a journeyman conventional onsite soil evaluator shall furnish acceptable documentation that one 

of the following has been met: 

 
Prerequisites 

Exam 

Required 

Education 

Required 
Documented Qualifying Experience 

1. Virginia professional soil 

scientist license 

No No No 

2. No No No One and one-half years of full-time experience 

assisting in the evaluation of site and soil 

conditions and design of conventional onsite 

sewage systems verified by one or more of the 

following: an authorized soil evaluator [ certified 

by VDH before July 1, 2009 ], a professional 

engineer, or an onsite soil evaluator  

3. No No VDH onsite 

[ sewage ] 

system 

training 

[ program ]  

One year of full-time experience assisting in the 

evaluation of site and soil conditions and design of 

conventional onsite sewage systems verified by 

one or more of the following: an authorized soil 

evaluator [ certified by VDH before July 1, 2009 ], 

a professional engineer, or an onsite soil evaluator 
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18VAC160-40-250. Qualifications for master conventional onsite soil evaluator licenses. 

An applicant for licensure as a master conventional onsite soil evaluator shall furnish acceptable documentation that one of the 

following qualifications has been met: 

  Prerequisites 
Exam 

Required 
Education Required Documented Qualifying Experience 

1. No Yes Master's or bachelor's 

degree 

[ One and one-half Two ] years of full-time 

experience evaluating site and soil conditions and 

designing conventional onsite sewage systems 

verified by one or more of the following: an 

authorized onsite soil evaluator [ certified by VDH 

before July 1, 2009 ], a professional engineer, or an 

onsite soil evaluator  

2. No Yes Associate's degree Three years of full-time experience evaluating site 

and soil conditions and designing conventional 

onsite sewage systems verified by one or more of 

the following: an authorized onsite soil evaluator 

[ certified by VDH before July 1, 2009 ], a 

professional engineer, or an onsite soil evaluator 

3. No Yes VDH onsite sewage 

system [ training ] 

program 

Two years of full-time experience evaluating site 

and soil conditions and designing conventional 

onsite sewage systems verified by one or more of 

the following: an authorized onsite soil evaluator 

[ certified by VDH before July 1, 2009 ], a 

professional engineer, or an onsite soil evaluator 

4. Journeyman or 

interim 

conventional 

onsite soil 

evaluator 

Yes No Three years of full-time experience evaluating site 

and soil conditions and designing conventional 

onsite sewage systems verified by one or more of 

the following: an authorized onsite soil evaluator 

[ certified by VDH before July 1, 2009 ], a 

professional engineer, or an onsite soil evaluator 

[ 5. Virginia 

professional soil 

scientist license 

Yes No One year of full-time experience evaluating site and 

soil conditions and designing conventional onsite 

sewage systems verified by one or more of the 

following: an authorized onsite soil evaluator, a 

professional engineer, or an onsite soil evaluator. ]  

18VAC160-40-260. Qualifications for journeyman alternative onsite soil evaluator licenses. 

An applicant for licensure as a journeyman alternative onsite soil evaluator shall furnish acceptable documentation that one of 

the following qualifications has been meet: 

 
Prerequisites Exam Required 

Education 

Required 
Documented Qualifying Experience 

1. Virginia professional soil 

scientist license 

No No One year of full-time experience assisting in 

the evaluation of site and soil conditions and 

design of alternative onsite sewage systems 

verified by one or more of the following: an 

authorized onsite soil evaluator [ certified by 

VDH before July 1, 2009 ], a professional 

engineer, or an alternative soil evaluator  
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2. Possess or held either a 

valid interim alternative 

onsite soil evaluator license 

or a conventional onsite soil 

evaluator license 

No No One year of full-time experience assisting in 

the evaluation of site and soil conditions and 

design of alternative onsite sewage systems 

verified by one or more of the following: an 

authorized onsite soil evaluator [ certified by 

VDH before July 1, 2009 ]  a professional 

engineer, or an alternative soil evaluator 

3. An authorized onsite soil 

evaluator [ certified by 

VDH before July 1, 2009 ] 

No No One year of full-time experience assisting in 

the evaluation of site and soil conditions and 

design of alternative onsite sewage systems 

verified by one or more of the following: an 

authorized onsite soil evaluator [ certified by 

VDH before July 1, 2009 ], a professional 

engineer, or an alternative soil evaluator 

4. No No No Two years of full-time experience assisting in 

the evaluation of site and soil conditions and 

design of alternative onsite sewage systems 

verified by one or more of the following: an 

authorized onsite soil evaluator [ certified by 

VDH before July 1, 2009 ], a professional 

engineer, or an alternative soil evaluator 

18VAC160-40-270. Qualifications for master alternative onsite soil evaluator licenses. 

An applicant for licensure as a master alternative onsite soil evaluator shall furnish acceptable documentation that one of the 

following qualifications has been met:  

  Prerequisites Exam Required Education Required Documented Qualifying Experience 

1. No Yes Master's or bachelor's 

degree 

[ One and one-half Two ] years of full-time 

experience evaluating site and soil conditions 

and designing alternative onsite sewage 

systems verified by one or more of the 

following: an authorized onsite soil evaluator 

[ certified by VDH before July 1, 2009 ], a 

professional engineer, or an alternative onsite 

soil evaluator  

2. No Yes Associates degree Three years of full-time experience 

evaluating site and soil conditions and 

designing alternative onsite sewage systems 

verified by one or more of the following: an 

authorized onsite soil evaluator [ certified by 

VDH before July 1, 2009 ], a professional 

engineer, or an alternative onsite soil 

evaluator 

3. Held or holds a 

conventional 

onsite soil 

evaluator license 

[ , interim 

alternative onsite 

soil evaluator 

license, 

journeyman 

alternative onsite 

Yes No Two years of full-time experience evaluating 

site and soil conditions and designing 

alternative onsite sewage systems verified by 

one or more of the following: an authorized 

onsite soil evaluator [ certified by VDH 

before July 1, 2009 ], a professional 

engineer, or an alternative onsite soil 

evaluator 
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soil evaluator 

license, or 

authorized onsite 

soil evaluator 

license ]  

4. No Yes No [ Three Four ] years of full-time experience 

evaluating site and soil conditions and 

designing alternative onsite sewage systems 

verified by one or more of the following: an 

authorized onsite soil evaluator [ certified by 

VDH before July 1, 2009 ], a professional 

engineer, or an alternative onsite soil 

evaluator 

5. [ An authorized 

onsite soil 

evaluator 

certified by VDH 

before July 1, 

2009 Virginia 

licensed 

professional soil 

scientist ]  

Yes No Two years of full-time experience evaluating 

site and soil conditions and designing 

alternative onsite sewage systems verified by 

one or more of the following: an authorized 

onsite soil evaluator [ certified by VDH 

before July 1, 2009 ], a professional 

engineer, or an alternative onsite soil 

evaluator 

[ 18VAC160-40-275. Verification of experience by 

authorized onsite soil evaluators. 

An authorized onsite soil evaluator who is verifying 

experience pursuant to Part II of this chapter and who holds 

no other license listed as qualified to verify experience may 

only verify experience obtained before July 1, 2009. ]  

18VAC160-40-280. Acceptable degree programs and 

verification procedures. 

A. Applicants seeking to qualify for licensure based on 

completion of an associate's, bachelor's, or master's degree 

shall submit an official transcript [ form from ] the school 

where the applicable degree was obtained. Only degrees from 

an accredited college or university that is approved or 

accredited by the Commission on Colleges [ of the Southern 

Association of Colleges and Schools ], a regional or national 

accreditation association, or by an accrediting agency that is 

recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education will be 

considered. The following degrees shall be considered to 

qualify in accordance with 18VAC160-40-250 and 

18VAC160-40-270: 

1. Bachelor's or master's degree in soil science, biology, 

chemistry, engineering, environmental science, geology, 

agronomy, earth science, or environmental health. 

2. Associate's degree in wastewater works, environmental 

science, or engineering technology. 

3. Bachelor's degree in a related physical, biological, 

environmental, or chemical science that includes a 

minimum of 40 semester credit hours in any combination 

of science and math. 

B. Any applicant who has earned a degree from an 

institution outside of the United States shall have the degree 

authenticated and evaluated by an education credential 

evaluation services. The board reserves the right to reject any 

evaluation submitted by the applicant.  

Part VI 

Renewal and Reinstatement 

18VAC160-40-290. Expiration and renewal. 

A. A license shall expire two years from the last day of the 

month in which it was issued.  

B. Prior to the expiration date shown on the license, the 

board shall mail a renewal notice to the licensee's address of 

record. The licensee shall return a renewal notice and the 

applicable renewal fee. Failure to receive a renewal notice 

from the board does not relieve the licensee of the obligation 

to renew. If the licensee fails to receive the renewal notice, a 

copy of the license may be submitted with the required fee as 

an application for renewal.  

C. By submitting the renewal fee, the licensee is certifying 

his continued compliance with the Standards of Practice and 

Conduct (Part [ VI IX ] (18VAC160-40-440 et seq.) of this 

chapter) as established by the board. In addition, by 

submitting the renewal fee, licensees are certifying 

compliance with the continuing professional education 

requirements of this chapter.  

18VAC160-40-300. Reinstatement. 

A. If all the requirements for renewal of the license as 

specified in 18VAC160-40-290 are not completed within 30 
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days of the license expiration date, a reinstatement fee shall 

be required as established in 18VAC160-40-40. 

B. A license may be reinstated for up to one year following 

the expiration date of the license. Any licensee who fails to 

reinstate the license within 12 months after the expiration date 

shall apply for a new license and meet entry requirements in 

effect at the time of submittal of the new application. The 

individual shall be deemed to be eligible to sit for the 

examination for the same profession, class, and category of 

license as the expired license, if an examination is applicable.  

C. By submitting the reinstatement fee, the licensee is 

certifying his continued compliance with the Standards of 

Practice and Conduct (Part [ VI IX ] (18VAC160-40-440 et 

seq.) of this chapter) as established by the board. In addition, 

by submitting the reinstatement fee, licensees are certifying 

compliance with the continued professional education 

requirements of this chapter.  

D. Any regulated activity conducted subsequent to the 

license expiration date may constitute unlicensed activity and 

be subject to prosecution under Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC160-40-310. Status of license during period prior to 

reinstatement. 

A licensee who applies for reinstatement of the license shall 

be subject to all laws and regulations as if the regulant had 

been continuously licensed. The licensee shall remain under 

and be subject to the disciplinary authority of the board 

during the entire period.  

18VAC160-40-320. Board discretion to deny renewal or 

reinstatement. 

A. The board may deny renewal or reinstatement of license 

for the same reasons as the board may refuse initial licensure 

or discipline a licensee. [ The licensee has the right to request 

further review of any such action by the board under the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). ]  

B. The board may deny renewal or reinstatement of a 

licensee if the licensee has been subject to a disciplinary 

proceeding and has not met the terms of an agreement for 

licensure, has not satisfied all sanctions, or has not fully paid 

monetary penalties and costs imposed by the board.  

Part VII 

Continuing Professional Education 

18VAC160-40-330. Continuing professional education. 

A. Each licensee shall have completed the following number 

of continuing professional education (CPE) contact hours 

during each renewal cycle. CPE provisions do not apply to 

licenses that were held for less than two years on the date of 

expiration.  

[ 1. Master alternative and conventional onsite soil 

evaluators, onsite sewage system installers, and onsite 

sewage system operators shall obtain a minimum of 

20 contact hours. 

2. Journeyman alternative and conventional onsite soil 

evaluators, onsite sewage system installers, and onsite 

sewage system operators shall obtain a minimum of 

10 contact hours.  

License Type 
CPE Contact 

Hours Required 

1. Master alternative onsite soil 

evaluator 

16 

2. Master alternative onsite 

sewage system installer 

16 

3. Master alternative onsite 

sewage system operator 

16 

4. Master conventional onsite 

soil evaluator 

12 

5. Master conventional onsite 

sewage system installer 

12 

6. Master conventional onsite 

sewage system operator 

8 

7. Journeyman alternative 

onsite soil evaluator 

8 

8. Journeyman alternative 

onsite sewage system installer 

8 

9. Journeyman alternative 

onsite sewage system operator 

8 

10. Journeyman conventional 

onsite soil evaluator 

4 

11. Journeyman alternative 

onsite sewage system installer 

4 

12. Journeyman alternative 

onsite sewage system operator 

4 ]  

B. CPE courses completed during the license period 

immediately prior to the expiration date of the license shall be 

acceptable in order to renew the license. CPE courses 

completed during a license renewal cycle to satisfy the CPE 

requirements of the preceding licensing renewal cycle shall 

be valid only for that preceding license renewal cycle and 

shall not be accepted for subsequent renewal cycles.  

C. The licensee will not receive credit for completing the 

same CPE course with the same content more than once 

during a license period.  

D. A licensee may receive CPE credit for teaching a course 

that otherwise meets the requirements of this chapter; 

however, additional credit shall not be given for subsequent 

offering of a course or activity with the same content within 

the same licensing cycle. In addition a licensee may receive 
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two hours of CPE no more than once during a single licensing 

cycle for the initial development or substantial updating of a 

CPE course.  

E. For all licenses, safety subjects shall not count for more 

than one half of the total required CPE hours.  

18VAC160-40-340. CPE subject matter for onsite sewage 

system installers. 

The following course topics will be accepted for CPE credit 

for onsite sewage [ system ] installers: 

1. Sewage system installation; 

2. Operating and maintaining equipment; 

3. Security and safety procedures; 

4. General science and mathematical principles; 

5. Administrative knowledge and procedures applicable to 

the profession; 

6. Laws and regulations applicable to the profession; 

7. Monitoring, evaluating and adjusting treatment 

processes (alternative onsite sewage system installers 

only); and 

8. Management and supervision principles (master onsite 

sewage system [ installer installers ] only [ ,; ] maximum of 

[ five credit four contact ] hours). 

18VAC160-40-350. CPE subject matter for onsite sewage 

system operators. 

The following course topics will be accepted for [ CPE ] 

credit for onsite sewage system operators: 

1. Onsite system operations; 

2. Monitoring, evaluating, and adjusting treatment 

processes; 

3. Operating and maintaining equipment; 

4. Security and safety procedures; 

5. General science and mathematical principles; 

6. Administrative knowledge applicable to the profession; 

7. Laws and regulations applicable to the profession; and 

8. Management and supervision principles (applicable to 

master onsite sewage system [ operations operators ] only 

[ ,; ] maximum of [ five credit four contact ] hours). 

18VAC160-40-360. CPE subject matter for onsite soil 

evaluators. 

The following course topics will be accepted for [ CPE ] 

credit for onsite soil evaluators: 

1. Site and soil evaluations; 

2. Security and safety procedures; 

3. [ Mapping, cartography, and geographic information 

systems; 

3. 4. ] System design; 

[ 4. 5. ] Inspections; 

[ 5. 6. ] General science and mathematical principles; 

[ 6. 7. ] Administrative knowledge and procedures 

applicable to the profession; 

[ 7. 8. ] Laws and regulations applicable to the profession; 

and 

[ 8. 9. ] Management and supervision principles (applicable 

to master onsite soil evaluators only [ ,; ] maximum 

of [ five four ] contact hours). 

18VAC160-40-370. Use of training credits and formal 

education for CPE credit. 

Any course approved by the board for substitution as 

training credits or formal education semester hours, as 

provided for in 18VAC160-40-70 or 18VAC160-40-280, 

shall also be acceptable on an hour-for-hour basis for CPE 

contact hours. One semester hour of college credit shall equal 

15 CPE contact hours, and one-quarter hour of college credit 

shall equal 10 CPE hours. The training credits or formal 

education must be applicable to the license for which CPE 

credit is sought.  

18VAC160-40-380. Maintenance of CPE. 

A. For a period of at least two years following the end of the 

license renewal cycle for which the CPE was taken, the 

following evidence shall be maintained to document 

completion of the required CPE. 

1. Evidence of completion of a structured training activity, 

which shall consist of the name, address, and telephone 

number of the sponsor; 

2. The dates the licensee participated in the training; 

3. Description of the subject matter presented; and  

4. A statement from the sponsor verifying the number of 

hours completed. 

B. The board may conduct an audit of its licensees to ensure 

compliance with the applicable CPE requirements. Licensees 

who are selected for audit shall provide the necessary 

documentation stipulated in this section.  

Part VIII 

Training Course Approval 

18VAC160-40-390. Approval of training courses. 

A. Training courses may be substituted for experience 

pursuant to the provisions of 18VAC160-40-70. With the 

exception of training courses provided pursuant to 

[ 18VAC160-40-330 18VAC160-40-430 ], training courses 

that may be substituted for required experience must be 

approved by the board prior to commencing in accordance 

with the provisions of this section. 

B. Each training provider seeking course approval shall 

submit an application for approval on a form provided by the 

board. [ Training courses for which experience credit may be 

granted must be conducted in general conformance with the 

guidelines of the International Association for Continued 

Education and Training (association). The board reserves the 

right to waive any of the requirements of the association's 

guidelines on a case-by-case basis. ] Only classroom, 
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laboratory, and field trip contact time will be used to compute 

training credits. No credit will be given for breaks, meals, or 

receptions.  

1. Organization. The board will only approve training 

offered by a [ sponsor provider ] that is an identifiable 

organization with a mission statement outlining its 

functions structure, process, and philosophy and that has a 

staff of one or more persons with the authority to 

administer and coordinate the training course.  

2. Training course records. The board will only approve 

training offered by a [ sponsor provider ] that maintains 

records for all participants for a minimum of seven years 

and that has a written policy on retention and release of 

records.  

3. Instructors. The board will only approve training 

conducted by personnel who have demonstrated 

competency in the subject being taught, an understanding 

of the learning objective, and knowledge of the learning 

process to be used.  

4. Objectives. The board will only approve courses that 

have a series of stated objectives that are pertinent to the 

tasks performed by the licensee. The training course 

content must be consistent with those objectives.  

5. Course completion requirements. For successful 

completion of a training course, participants must attend 

90% or more of the class contact time and must 

demonstrate their learning through written examinations, 

completion of a project, oral examination, or other similar 

assessment techniques.  

18VAC160-40-400. Application for training course 

approval. 

A. The board shall consider the following information, to be 

submitted by the course [ sponsor provider ] or instructor on 

forms provided by the board: 

1. Course information. 

a. Course title; 

b. Planned audience; 

c. Name of [ sponsor provider ]; 

d. Name, physical address, email address, and phone 

number of contact person; 

e. Scheduled presentation dates; 

f. Detailed course schedule, hour-by-hour including 

begin and end times; 

g. List of planned breaks; 

h. Scheduled presentation location; and 

i. Identification of the profession, category, and class of 

license to which the course is applicable and relevancy to 

the identified license type. 

2. Instructor qualifications. 

a. Name of instructor; 

b. Title; 

c. Employer; 

d. Board license number or numbers, if applicable; and 

e. Summary of qualifications to teach the course. 

3. Training materials. 

a. Course objectives. A listing of the course objectives 

stated in terms of the skills and knowledge the participant 

will be able to demonstrate as a result of the training.  

b. Course outline. A detailed outline showing the planned 

activities that will occur during the training course, 

including major topics, planned presentation sequence, 

laboratory and field activities, audiovisual presentations, 

and other major activities.  

c. Course reference materials. A list of the name, 

publisher, and publication date for commercially 

available publications. For reference materials developed 

by the course [ sponsor provider ] or available 

exclusively through the course, a copy of the reference.  

d. Audiovisual support materials. A listing of any 

commercially available audiovisual support material that 

will be used in the program. A brief description of any 

[ sponsor provider ] or instructor generated audiovisual 

material that will be used.  

e. Handouts. Identification of all commercially available 

handout materials that will be used, as well as copies 

[ of ] other planned handouts.  

4. Determination of successful completion. A description 

of the means that will be used to assess the learning of each 

participant to determine successful completion of training 

program, such as examinations, projects, personal 

evaluations by the instructor, or other recognized 

evaluation techniques. Correspondence and other distance 

learning courses must include appropriate testing 

procedures to verify completion of the course.  

B. Recurring training programs. If there are plans to present 

the same course of instruction routinely at multiple locations 

with only minor modifications and changes, the board may 

approve the overall program rather than individual 

presentations if so [ required requested ] by the [ sponsor 

provider ].  

1. The board shall consider all of the information listed in 

subsection A of this section except those items related to 

specific offerings of the course. 

2. Board approval will apply only to those specific 

offerings certified by the [ sponsoring organization 

provider ] as having been conducted by instructors meeting 

the established criteria and in accordance with the board-

approved course outlines and objectives.  

18VAC160-40-410. Maintenance of training course 

approval. 

A. At times established by the board, the board may require 

that course providers that have previously obtained course 
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approval provide the board with evidence, in a form set forth 

by the board, that the provider continues to comply with the 

requirements of this chapter. Failure to continue to comply 

with the board's requirements or respond to such a request 

may result in the board withdrawing its approval.  

B. Substantial modifications or changes to the information 

provided in 18VAC160-40-390 and 18VAC160-40-400 must 

be reported to the board within 30 days of the change. Failure 

to report the changes as required may result in the withdrawal 

of approval by the board.  

C. Any change of address of the training provider shall be 

reported in writing within 30 days of the change.  

D. The board may conduct an audit of the training provider 

to ensure continued compliance with this chapter.  

18VAC160-40-420. Withdrawal of approval. 

The board may withdraw approval of any provider for the 

following reasons: 

1. The course or courses being offered no longer meet the 

standards established by the board.  

2. The provider, through an agent or otherwise, advertises 

its services in a fraudulent or deceptive way. 

3. The provider, instructor, or designee of the provider 

falsifies any information relating to the application for 

approval, course information, or student records.  

4. The provider fails to respond to the board or any of its 

agents. 

18VAC160-40-430. Training course offered by certain 

entities, board approval not required. 

A. Training courses provided by (i) federal, state, or local 

government agencies; (ii) accredited colleges or universities 

approved or accredited by the Commission on Colleges [ of 

the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools ]; (iii) a 

regional or national accreditation association; or (iv) an 

accrediting agency that is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of 

Education do not require board approval to be used for 

experience substitution, provided the training course 

information submitted to the board includes the following: 

1. The course must include the continuing education hours 

awarded by the entity. 

2. The course must be related to the profession, category, 

or class, if applicable, for which experience substitution is 

sought. 

B. The board may require additional information from the 

provider as necessary to ensure compliance with this section. 

If such assurance cannot be made by the board, the training 

course may not be used for experience substitution, or the 

provider may pursue board approval pursuant to this chapter.  

Part IX 

Standards of Practice and Conduct 

18VAC160-40-440. Grounds for disciplinary action. 

The board may place a licensee on probation; impose a 

monetary penalty in accordance in § 54.1-202 A of the Code 

of Virginia; or revoke, suspend, or refuse to renew any 

license when the licensee has been found to have violated or 

cooperated with others in violating any provision of the 

regulations of the board or Chapter 23 (§ 54.1-2300 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC160-40-450. Maintenance of license. 

A. No license issued by the board shall be assigned or 

otherwise transferred.  

B. A licensee shall report, in writing, all changes of the 

address of record and name to the board within 30 days of the 

change and shall return the license to the board. In addition to 

the address of record, a physical address is required for each 

license. If the licensee holds more than one license, the 

licensee shall inform the board of all licenses, certificates, and 

registrations affected by the name or address change. The 

board shall not be responsible for the licensee's failure to 

receive notices or correspondence due to the licensee's failure 

to report a change of name or address. 

C. Any change in any of the requirements and qualifications 

for licensure found in Part II (18VAC160-40-20 et seq.), III 

(18VAC160-40-110 et seq.), or IV (18VAC160-40-170 et 

seq.) of this chapter shall be reported to the board within 30 

days of the change.  

18VAC160-40-460. Notice of adverse action. 

A. Licensees shall notify the board of the following actions 

against the licensee.  

1. Any disciplinary action taken by any jurisdiction, board, 

or administrative body of competent jurisdiction, including 

[ but not limited to ] any reprimand, license or certificate 

revocation, suspension or denial, monetary penalty, 

requirement for remedial education, or other corrective 

action.  

2. Any voluntary surrendering of a related license, 

certificate, or registration done in connection with a 

disciplinary action in another jurisdiction.  

3. Any conviction, finding of guilt, or plea of guilty, 

regardless of adjudication or deferred adjudication, in any 

jurisdiction of the United States of any misdemeanor 

involving lying, cheating, stealing, sexual offense, drug 

distribution, physical injury, or relating to the practice of 

the profession or of any felony, there being no appeal 

pending therefrom or the time for appeal having lapsed. 

Review of convictions shall be subject to the requirements 

of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Any plea of nolo 

contendere shall be considered a conviction for the purpose 

of this section.  
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B. Notices to the board must be made in writing within 30 

days of the action. A copy of the order or other supporting 

documentation must accompany the notice. The record of 

conviction finding or case decision shall be considered prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. 

18VAC160-40-470. Prohibited acts. 

The following acts are prohibited and any violation may 

result in disciplinary action by the board: 

1. Violating, inducing another to violate, cooperating with 

another to violate, or combining or conspiring with or 

acting as agent, partner, or associate for another to violate 

any of the provisions of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 2 

(§ 54.1-200 et seq.), or 23 (§ 54.1-2300 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or any of the regulations of 

the board.  

2. Allowing a license issued by the board to be used by 

another.  

3. Obtaining or attempting to obtain a license by false or 

fraudulent representation, or maintaining or renewing a 

license by false or fraudulent representation.  

4. A licensee having been convicted, found guilty, or 

disciplined in any jurisdiction of any offense or violation 

enumerated in 18VAC160-40-460. Review of convictions 

shall be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-204 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

5. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days 

that the licensee was convicted or found guilty or 

disciplined in any jurisdiction of any offense or violation 

enumerated in 18VAC160-40-460.  

6. Not demonstrating reasonable care, judgment, or 

application of the required knowledge, skill, and ability in 

the performance of the licensee's duties.  

7. Having undertaken to perform or performed a 

professional assignment that the licensee is not qualified to 

perform by education, experience, training, [ appropriate 

class or category of licensure, ]  or any combination 

thereof.  

8. Failing to report a change as required by 18VAC160-40-

450. 

9. Negligence, misconduct, or incompetence in the practice 

of the profession.  

10. Making any misrepresentation or engaging in acts of 

fraud or deceit in advertising, soliciting, or in providing 

professional services.  

11. Failing to adequately supervise and review work 

performed by unlicensed employees or journeyman 

licensees under the direct supervision of the master 

licensee.  

12. Failure to obtain any permit, approval, or other 

document required by VDH related to the design, 

installation, repair, or operation of an onsite sewage 

system.  

13. Knowingly signing plans, drawings, reports, 

specifications, maps, or other documents related to an 

onsite sewage system not prepared or reviewed and 

approved by the licensee.  

14. Knowingly misrepresenting factual information in 

expressing a professional opinion.  

15. Failing to act in providing professional services in a 

manner that safeguards the interests of the public.  

18VAC160-40-480. Conflicts of interest. 

The licensee shall: 

1. Promptly and fully inform an employer or client of any 

[ business association, ] interest, [ or ] circumstance [ , or 

business association ] that may influence the licensee's 

judgment of the quality of service. 

2. Not accept compensation, financial or otherwise, from 

more than one party for services on or pertaining to the 

same project, unless the circumstances are fully disclosed 

to [ , ] and agreed to by [ , ] all interested parties in writing.  

3. Neither solicit nor accept financial or other valuable 

consideration from material or equipment suppliers for 

specifying their products or services.  

4. Not solicit or accept gratuities, directly or indirectly, 

from contractors or their agents or other parties dealing 

with a client or employer in connection with work for 

which the licensee is responsible. 

18VAC160-40-490. Licensee responsibility. 

A. The primary obligation of the licensee is to the public. If 

the licensee's judgment is overruled and not adhered to when 

advising appropriate parties of circumstances of a substantial 

threat to the public health, safety, or welfare, the licensee 

shall inform the employer and client, as applicable, of the 

possible consequences and notify appropriate authorities.  

B. [ The licensee shall sign, date, and include his license 

number on all final work products prepared or reviewed and 

approved by the licensee. For work products performed by a 

journeyman licensee, the master licensee providing direct 

supervision shall sign, date, and include his license number, 

along with the journeyman's signature, date, and license 

number on the final work product. A journeyman licensee 

shall not submit a work project as final without the applicable 

master licensee's signature, date, and license number. 

C. ] The licensee shall not knowingly associate in a business 

venture with, or permit the use of the licensee's name by, any 

person or firm where there is reason to believe that person or 

firm is engaging in activity of a fraudulent or dishonest nature 

or is violating any law or regulation of the board.  

[ C. D. ] A licensee who has direct knowledge that another 

individual or firm may be violating any of the provisions of 

this chapter or the provisions of Chapter 23 (§ 54.1-2300 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia shall immediately 

inform the board in writing and shall cooperate in furnishing 

any further information or assistance that may be required. 
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[ D. E. ] Except as provided in subsection [ E F ] of this 

section, a licensee shall not utilize the evaluations, design, 

drawings, or work of another licensee without the knowledge 

and written consent of the licensee or organization of 

ownership that originated the design, drawings, or work.  

[ E. F. ] A licensee who relies on information in VDH files 

or has received permission to modify or otherwise utilize the 

evaluation, design, drawings, or work of another licensee 

pursuant to subsection [ D or ] E of this section [ or this 

subsection ] may certify that work only after a thorough 

review of the evaluation, design, drawings or work and after 

he determines that he is willing to assume full responsibility 

for all design, drawings, or work on which he relies for his 

opinion.  

18VAC160-40-500. Response to inquiry and provision of 

records. 

A. A licensee must respond within 10 days to a request by 

the board or any of its agents regarding any complaint filed 

with the department.  

B. Unless otherwise specified by the board, a licensee of the 

board shall produce to the board or any of its agents within 10 

days of the request any document, book, or record concerning 

any transaction pertaining to a complaint filed in which the 

licensee was involved, or for which the licensee is required to 

maintain records. The board may extend such timeframe upon 

a showing of extenuating circumstances prohibiting delivery 

within such 10-day period. 

C. A licensee shall not provide a false, misleading, or 

incomplete response to the board or any of its agents seeking 

information in the investigation of a complaint filed with the 

board.  

D. With the exception of the requirements of subsection A 

or B of this section, a licensee must respond to an inquiry by 

the board or its agent within 21 days.  

18VAC160-40-510. Master licensee's professional 

responsibilities. 

A. Any work performed by a journeyman regulated pursuant 

to Chapter 23 (§ 54.1-2300 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia and this chapter shall be under the direct 

supervision of the master. Such master and journeyman shall 

have an employment or written contractual relationship.  

B. Each master shall maintain documentation of the 

employment or contractual relationship with each journeyman 

under the master's direct supervision. Such documentation 

shall be kept for a minimum of five years and shall include, at 

a minimum, the beginning and ending dates of the 

employment or contractual relationship.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC160-40) 

[ Onsite Soil Evaluator - License Application, A465-

1940LIC-v2 (eff. 7/2016) 

Onsite Sewage System Operator License Application, A465-

1942LIC-v2 (eff. 7/2016) 

Waiver of Examination - Master Conventional Onsite 

Sewage System Operator License Application, A436-

1942WAIV-v2 (eff. 7/2016) 

Onsite Sewage System Installer License Application, A465-

1944LIC-v3 (eff. 7/2016) 

Onsite Sewage System Applicant Experience Verification 

Application, A436-19OSSPEXP-v4 (eff. 7/2016) ]  

Onsite Soil Evaluator - License Application, A465-

1940LIC-v2 (eff. 4/2017) 

Onsite Sewage System Operator License Application, A465-

1942LIC-v2 (eff. 4/2017) 

Waiver of Examination - Master Conventional Onsite 

Sewage System Operator License Application, A436-

1942WAIV-v2 (eff. 4/2017) 

Onsite Sewage System Installer License Application, A465-

1944LIC-v3 (eff. 4/2017) 

Onsite Sewage System Applicant Experience Verification 

Application, A436-19OSSPEXP-v4 (eff. 4/2017) ]  

Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Application - 

Certificate of Completion, A436-19CPE-v3 (eff. 10/2015) 

[ Training Course Approval Application, A465-19CRS-v2 

(eff. 5/2013) 

Education and Training Substitution Form, A436-19EDTR-

v3 (eff. 1/2014) 

Suspension of Examination - License Application 

Conventional Onsite Sewage System Installer, A436-

1944WAIVE-v4 (eff. 8/2015) 

Training Course Approval Application, A465-19CRS-v3 

(eff. 2/2016) 

Education and Training Substitution Form, A436-

19EDTRv4 (eff. 4/2017) ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4114; Filed December 22, 2016, 1:39 p.m.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3bc13004114~20&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3bc13004114~20&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d8d61004114~20&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d8d61004114~20&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2a8af004114~20&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2a8af004114~20&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2a8af004114~20&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d7a8e004114~20&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d7a8e004114~20&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dfb6a004114~20&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dfb6a004114~20&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c62a7004114~17&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c62a7004114~17&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c50e1004114~21&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c50e1004114~21&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8d079004114~19&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8d079004114~19&typ=40&actno=004114&mime=application/pdf
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 61 (2017) 

Executive Action to Ensure Equal Opportunity and 
Access for All Virginians in State Contracting and 

Public Services 

Importance of the Initiative 

Virginia's founding creed is that all people "are by nature 

equally free and independent," and that they share the 

inherent rights to "the enjoyment of life and liberty, with the 

means of acquiring and possessing property, and pursuing 

and obtaining happiness and safety." (Virginia Declaration of 

Rights, Section 1 (1776)). Indeed, it is the very function of 

our government to ensure these rights to all Virginians. 

Our modern society is more reflective of this fundamental 

belief than ever before. Virginia today welcomes people from 

across the globe, of every background, to join in building a 

prosperous and free society. The work of my administration 

has been committed to this end of building a new Virginia 

economy—an economy that embraces the diverse world in 

which we live. 

Recent events have demonstrated the negative effects of 

allowing prejudice, while also showing the positive growth 

that comes from an open and inclusive state government. 

States and localities that have promoted discriminatory laws 

are seeing businesses abandon development projects. States 

and localities that have pursued more inclusive policies have 

reaped the benefits of businesses expanding and relocating to 

their jurisdictions. Companies with whom Virginia does 

business, including those critical for building a new Virginia 

economy with high-paying jobs, have increasingly 

implemented their own policies prohibiting discrimination 

based on sexual orientation and gender identity. The global 

economy in which Virginia must compete demands a 

dynamic workforce that is competitive, diverse, and educated. 

Additionally, federal procurement policy prohibits federal 

contractors from discrimination based on sexual orientation 

and gender identity. Federal contractors have thus already 

changed their internal policies and practices accordingly and 

are unlikely to reverse course, even if the federal requirement 

is adjusted. Many federal contractors also deliver services to 

the Commonwealth. Current procurement policy in Virginia 

is not sufficiently aligned with these non-discrimination 

policies to promote economy and efficiency in state 

procurement. Having Virginia policy align with this federal 

non-discrimination policy will not only further my 

administration's goal of building a more diverse, open, and 

welcoming Virginia, but also will give uniformity to 

contractors that serve many government entities, resulting in 

economic benefits to Virginia taxpayers.  

Accordingly, by the power vested in me as the Chief 

Executive by Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and the 

laws of the Commonwealth, I hereby order the following:  

I. Require future state contracting to require prohibitions on 

discrimination in employment, subcontracting, and delivery 

of goods and services, including discrimination based on 

sexual orientation or gender identity. 

It is hereby ordered as the policy of the Executive Branch that 

it will only contract with those who abide by the non-

discrimination policies set forward in Executive Order 1 

(2014), namely that discrimination on the basis of race, sex, 

color, national origin, religion, sexual orientation, gender 

identity, age, political affiliation, disability, or veteran status 

is prohibited. 

All Executive Branch entities are ordered to include in their 

procurement contracts valued over $10,000 a prohibition on 

discrimination by the contractor, in its employment practices, 

subcontracting practices, and delivery of goods or services, 

on the basis of race, sex, color, national origin, religion, 

sexual orientation, gender identity, age, political affiliation, 

disability, or veteran status. They must also include a term 

that the contractor will include the same requirements in 

every subcontract or purchase order over $10,000, so that the 

same provisions will be binding upon each subcontractor or 

vendor on state procurement contracts. This requirement shall 

not apply to procurements that have, as of the date of this 

Order, already progressed to a stage at which changes in 

contract requirements would materially and adversely impact 

the completion of a procurement contract. Specific contracts 

with certain private child-placing agencies pursuant to § 63.2-

1709.3 may also be exempted from this requirement. 

The Department of General Services and the Virginia 

Information Technologies Agency are directed to promulgate 

appropriate policies and regulations to require the same, 

including consideration of any other applicable laws or 

regulations. They are also directed to impose appropriate 

sanctions under the Virginia Public Procurement Act, 

including but not limited to termination of the contract and 

debarment from state contracting for any violations of this 

contract term. 

II. Prohibit discrimination, including that based on sexual 

orientation or gender identity, in the provision of state 

services. 

Building on the requirements of Executive Order 1 (2014), I 

hereby order that no state employee or agent within the 

Executive Branch may engage in discrimination in the 

provision of public services based on race, sex, color, national 

origin, religion, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, 

political affiliation, disability, or veteran status. Any state 

employee or agent who engages in such discrimination will 

be subject to appropriate disciplinary action. 

The Department of Human Resource Management is directed 

to promulgate appropriate policies in the Commonwealth's 

Standards of Conduct to implement these requirements in 

accordance with any other applicable laws and regulations. 



Governor 

Volume 33, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations January 23, 2017 

1295 

No Third-Party Rights Created 

This Executive Order is intended to provide direction for 

Executive Branch entities and does not create any rights or 

remedies enforceable by third parties. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall become effective upon its signing 

and shall remain in full force and effect until amended or 

rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 5th Day of January, 2017. 

/s/ Terence R. McAuliffe 

Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

BM&D Ltd. Notice of Intent - Small Renewable 
Energy (Solar) Project Permit by Rule - Pulaski 

County 

BM&D Ltd. has provided notice to the Department of 

Environmental Quality of its intent to submit the necessary 

documentation for a permit by rule for a small solar energy 

project sited over two parcels in Pulaski County, Virginia, 

pursuant to 9VAC15-60. The solar energy project will consist 

of a facility with 96 700-panel photovoltaic solar generation 

and a total capacity of 48-megawatt peak installed on two 

sites totaling approximately 320 acres. The 40-megawatt peak 

will be installed on a parcel along Cougar Trail Road, and the 

eight-megawatt peak installed on a parcel in the New River 

Valley Commerce Park, both in Pulaski County. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 

698-4510, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery were 

filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on December 

22, 2016. The orders may be viewed at the Virginia Lottery, 

900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of 

the Registrar of Regulations, 201 North 9th Street, 2nd Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia. 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seventy-Six (16) 

Virginia Lottery's "Convenience Cash Raffle Promotion" 

Final Rules for Operation (this Director's Order becomes 

effective on January 1, 2017, and shall remain in full force 

and effect through the end Promotion date unless amended or 

rescinded by further Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seventy-Eight (16) 

Certain Virginia Print 'n Play Games; End of Games - 

Virginia Lottery's Print 'n Play Blackjack (124 16); Virginia 

Lottery's Print 'n Play Bonus Bingo (125 16); Virginia 

Lottery's Print 'n Play Daily Crossword (126 16); Virginia 

Lottery's Print 'n Play Hot 'n Spicy Bingo (132 16); Virginia 

Lottery's Print 'n Play Smokin' Hot Crossword (129 16) 

(effective January 7, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seventy-Nine (16) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1733 "2 FOR $1" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective December 20, 2016) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Eighty (16) 

Virginia Lottery's "Q3 FY 17 eXTRA Chances Scratcher 

Promotion" Final Rules for Operation (effective January 1, 

2017) 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy conducted a small 

business impact review of 4VAC25-90, Regulations 

Governing the Use of Diesel-Powered Equipment in 

Underground Coal Mines, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy is publishing its 

report of findings dated December 21, 2016, to support this 

decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of 

Virginia. 

This regulation is mandated by statute. In conjunction with 

the Coal Mine Safety Board, the Chief of the Division of 

Mines has determined this regulation is effective as currently 

written and does not burden small businesses. 

Contact Information: Michael Skiffington, Policy and 

Planning Manager, Department of Mines, Minerals and 

Energy, 1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23223, 

telephone (804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, or email 

mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy conducted a small 

business impact review of 4VAC25-145, Regulations on the 

Eligibility of Certain Mining Operators to Perform 

Reclamation Projects, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained in its current form. The Department of 

Mines, Minerals and Energy is publishing its report of 

findings dated December 21, 2016, to support this decision in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation is mandated by statute. The Director of 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy has determined 

this regulation is effective as currently written and does not 

burden small businesses. 

Contact Information: Michael Skiffington, Policy and 

Planning Manager, Department of Mines, Minerals and 

Energy, 1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23223, 

telephone (804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, or email 

mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
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STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Special Order for the Bedford 
Regional Water Authority 

An enforcement action has been proposed with the Bedford 

Regional Water Authority for violations in Moneta, Virginia. 

The amendment to a special order by consent will modify the 

previous special order by consent that addresses and resolves 

violations of environmental law and regulations. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Jerry Ford, Jr. will accept 

comments by email at jerry.ford@deq.virginia.gov or postal 

mail at Department of Environmental Quality, Blue Ridge 

Regional Office, 3019 Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, VA 

24019, from January 23, 2017, to February 22, 2017. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for the ESF, LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the ESF, LLC 

for violations of State Water Control Law and the applicable 

regulations at the Cottages of Steeplechase subdivision in 

Botetourt County, Virginia. The proposed enforcement action 

includes a civil charge. A description of the proposed action 

is available at the DEQ office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Robert Steele will accept comments 

by email at robert.steele@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (540) 

562-6777, or postal mail at Department of Environmental 

Quality, Blue Ridge Regional Office, 3019 Peters Creek 

Road, Roanoke, VA 24019, from January 23, 2017, to 

February 22, 2017. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for Melvin L. Davis 
Oil Company, Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Melvin L. 

Davis Oil Company, Inc. for violations at the Davis C Store 

in Sussex County, Virginia. The State Water Control Board 

proposes to issue a special order by consent to the Melvin L. 

Davis Oil Company, Inc. to address noncompliance with the 

State Water Control Law and regulations. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Kristen Sadtler will accept comments 

by email at kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 

698-4277, or postal mail at Department of Environmental 

Quality, Central Office, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, from January 23, 2017, to February 22, 2017. 

Total Maximum Daily Load Implementation Plan for 
the Yeocomico River Watershed 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 

will host an informational meeting to discuss the development 

of a cleanup plan for the Yeocomico River Watershed in 

Northumberland and Westmoreland Counties. The meeting 

will be held on February 2, 2017, from 6 p.m. until 8 p.m. at 

the Northumberland Public Library, 7204 Northumberland 

Highway, Heathsville, VA 22473. This meeting is open to the 

public, and all are welcome. Participants will have the 

opportunity to contribute to the watershed cleanup plan by 

offering input and sharing information about the area and its 

local streams. 

A total maximum daily load (TMDL) implementation plan 

for the Yeocomico River watershed is being developed by 

DEQ and the Virginia Institute of Marine Science. Since 

portions of local streams have high levels of bacteria, they are 

currently listed on the state's list of impaired waters. TMDLs 

for fecal coliform were developed in 2008 and now require a 

TMDL implementation plan. The high bacteria levels have 

led to the closure of shellfish harvesting in segments of these 

waterbodies. To restore water quality, pollutant levels must 

be reduced to meet the current water quality standards in 

Virginia. The EPA approved TMDL can be located on DEQ's 

website at: 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn

formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTM

DLReports.aspx. 

Streams with impaired water quality include Gardner, 

Jackson, and Bonum Creeks in Westmoreland County; Mill 

Creek in Northumberland County; and portions of the 

Yeocomico River. 

The public comment period begins February 2, 2017, and 

ends March 3, 2017. Written comments will be accepted by 

email, fax, or postal mail to Kaitlin Ranger, NPS TMDL 

Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 

Piedmont Regional Office, telephone (804) 527-5018, or 

email kaitlin.ranger@deq.virginia.gov. 

Additional information is also available on the DEQ website 

at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water 

/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementa

tion.aspx. 

VIRGINIA INFORMATION TECHNOLOGIES AGENCY 

Proposed IMSAC Guidance Documents on Identity 
Management of Non-Person Entities and Privacy, 

Security, and Confidentiality of Identity Information 

Notice of action: The Virginia Information Technologies 

Agency (VITA) is announcing an opportunity for public 

comment on two proposed guidance documents that were 

developed by the Identity Management Standards Advisory 

Council (IMSAC) (§ 2.2-437 of the Code of Virginia). 

IMSAC was created by the General Assembly in 2015 to 

advise the Secretary of Technology on the adoption of 

identity management standards and the creation of guidance 

documents pursuant to § 2.2-436 of the Code of Virginia. 

Regulations affected: There are no regulations affected or 

proposed by this action. 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:Jerry.Ford@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:Robert.Steele@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTMDLReports.aspx
mailto:kaitlin.ranger@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation.aspx
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Purpose of notice: IMSAC is seeking comment on whether 

the two proposed guidance documents should be submitted as 

is, or if revisions should be made before the final posting. The 

guidance documents were developed by IMSAC, acting on 

behalf of the Secretary of Technology. IMSAC recommends 

to the Secretary of Technology guidance documents relating 

to (i) nationally recognized technical and data standards 

regarding the verification and authentication of identity in 

digital and online transactions; (ii) the minimum 

specifications and standards that should be included in an 

identity trust framework, as defined in § 59.1-550 of the Code 

of Virginia, so as to warrant liability protection pursuant to 

the Electronic Identity Management Act (§ 59.1-550 et seq.); 

and (iii) any other related data standards or specifications 

concerning reliance by third parties on identity credentials, as 

defined in § 59.1-550. 

Purpose Statement for the Identity Management of Non-

Person Entities Guidance Document: 

The purpose of this document is to establish minimum 

specifications for identity management of non-person entities 

(NPEs) in a digital identity system. The document also 

outlines a data model for interoperability and discovery of 

identity information on NPEs. 

The document limits its focus to identity management of 

NPEs. Minimum specifications for other components of a 

digital identity system have been defined in separate IMSAC 

guidance documents in this series, pursuant to §§ 2.2-436 and 

2.2-437 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose Statement for the Privacy, Security, and 

Confidentiality of Identity Information Guidance Document: 

The purpose of this document is to establish minimum 

specifications for the privacy, security, and confidentiality of 

identity information within a digital identity system. The 

minimum specifications apply core provisions of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia's Information Security Standard 

501 and National Institute of Standards and Technology 

Special Publication 800-53-4. 

The document limits its focus to privacy, security, and 

confidentiality of identity information. Minimum 

specifications for other components of a digital identity 

system have been defined in separate IMSAC guidance 

documents in this series, pursuant to §§ 2.2-436 and 2.2-437 

of the Code of Virginia. 

The proposed guidance documents are available with 

comments and proposed changes by IMSAC at 

https://www.vita.virginia.gov/About/default.aspx?id=644247

4173. 

Public comment period: January 23, 2017, through March 6, 

2017. 

Public hearing: A public meeting will be held on March 6, 

2017, at 11 a.m. at the Commonwealth Enterprise Solutions 

Center, 11751 Meadowville Lane, Chester VA 23836 in 

Room 1222.  

Public comment stage: The two guidance documents were 

developed by IMSAC and are being posted as general notices 

pursuant to § 2.2-437 C of the Code of Virginia. Proposed 

guidance documents, and general opportunity for oral or 

written submittals as to those guidance documents, shall be 

posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations as a general notice 

following the processes and procedures set forth in § 2.2-

4031 B of the Code of Virginia. IMSAC shall allow at least 

30 days for the submission of written comments following the 

posting and publication and shall hold at least one meeting 

dedicated to the receipt of oral comment no less than 15 days 

after the posting and publication. 

For the purpose of defining the timeframe for public 

participation and comment, VITA is defining "days" as 

"calendar days."  IMSAC will receive public comment at its 

March 6, 2017, meeting. For additional information in the 

definition of "days," please reference page 6 of 15 of VITA's 

Information Technology Resource Management (ITRM), 

Policies, Standards and Guidelines (PSGs) Briefs and 

Supporting Documents found at 

https://www.vita.virginia.gov/uploadedFiles/VITA_Main_Pu

blic/Library/PSGs/ITRMPSG_Brief_Supportdocs.pdf. 

IMSAC will hold a dedicated meeting to public comment on 

March 6, 2017. Meeting details will be posted on the 

Commonwealth Calendar and at 

https://www.vita.virginia.gov/About/default.aspx?id=644247

4171. 

Description of proposal: The proposed guidance documents 

are being posted for review by the general public with an 

opportunity for public comment.  

Federal information: No federal information. 

How to comment: IMSAC accepts written comments by 

email and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments 

must include the full name, address, and telephone number of 

the person commenting and be received by VITA by the last 

day of the comment period. All materials received are part of 

the public record. 

To review regulation documents: The proposed guidance 

documents and any supporting documents are available at 

https://www.vita.virginia.gov/About/default.aspx?id=644247

4173. The documents may also be obtained by contacting the 

VITA representative named below. 

Contact Information: Janice Akers, Virginia Information 

Technologies Agency, 11751 Meadowville Lane, Chester, 

VA 23836, telephone (804) 416-6083, or email 

janice.akers@vita.virginia.gov. 

https://www.vita.virginia.gov/About/default.aspx?id=6442474173
https://www.vita.virginia.gov/About/default.aspx?id=6442474173
https://www.vita.virginia.gov/uploadedFiles/VITA_Main_Public/Library/PSGs/ITRMPSG_Brief_Supportdocs.pdf
https://www.vita.virginia.gov/uploadedFiles/VITA_Main_Public/Library/PSGs/ITRMPSG_Brief_Supportdocs.pdf
https://www.vita.virginia.gov/About/default.aspx?id=6442474171
https://www.vita.virginia.gov/About/default.aspx?id=6442474171
https://www.vita.virginia.gov/About/default.aspx?id=6442474173
https://www.vita.virginia.gov/About/default.aspx?id=6442474173
mailto:Janice.akers@vita.virginia.gov
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VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-481. Virginia Radiation 

Protection Regulations. 

Publication: 32:13 VA.R. 2025-2051 February 22, 2016. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2046, column two, line 14 of the definition of the term 

"special nuclear material in quantities not sufficient to form a 

critical mass," the formula should read: 

"(175 grams contained U235/350) + (50 grams U-233/200) + 

(50 grams Pu/200) = 1" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4630; Filed January 5, 2017 

 

file://legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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