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VIRGINIA REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia
Register is a source of other information about state government,
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on
regulations.

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the
text of the proposed regulation.

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation.

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor.
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon
final publication in the Virginia Register.

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the
Virginia Register.

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or
inconsequential impact.

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation,

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation,
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action.
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at
any time before the regulation becomes final.
FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be
provided to certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations will
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1.
EMERGENCY REGULATIONS
Pursuant to §2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations,
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no
more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D.
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register.
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the
prescribed time limit expires.
STATEMENT
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2
(8 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be
examined carefully.

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date.
29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue
5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on
November 5, 2012.
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6
(8 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair;
James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair; Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T.
McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. Hopkins; Leslie L. Lilley;
E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen;
Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Mark J. VVucci.
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations;
Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations
Staff Assistant.

Volume 33, Issue 13

Virginia Register of Regulations

February 20, 2017

1399


http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011

PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES

This schedule is available on the Register's Internet home page (http://register.dls.virginia.gov).

Volume: Issue

33:13
33:14
33:15
33:16
33:17
33:18
33:19
33:20
33:21
33:22
33:23
33:24
33:25
33:26
34:1
34:2
34:3
34:4
34:5
34:6
34:7
34:8
34:9
34:10
34:11
34:12

Material Submitted By Noon*

February 2017 through February 2018

Will Be Published On

February 1, 2017
February 15, 2017
March 1, 2017
March 15, 2017
March 29, 2017
April 12, 2017
April 26, 2017

May 10, 2017

May 24, 2017

June 7, 2017

June 21, 2017

July 5, 2017

July 19, 2017
August 2, 2017
August 16, 2017
August 30, 2017
September 13, 2017
September 27, 2017
October 11, 2017
October 25, 2017
November 8, 2017
November 21, 2017 (Tuesday)
December 6, 2017
December 19, 2017 (Tuesday)
January 3, 2018
January 17, 2018

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified.

February 20, 2017
March 6, 2017
March 20, 2017
April 3, 2017

April 17, 2017
May 1, 2017

May 15, 2017

May 29, 2017

June 12, 2017

June 26, 2017

July 10, 2017

July 24, 2017
August 7, 2017
August 21, 2017
September 4, 2017
September 18, 2017
October 2, 2017
October 16, 2017
October 30, 2017
November 13, 2017
November 27, 2017
December 11, 2017
December 25, 2017
January 8, 2018
January 22, 2018
February 5, 2018
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION

TITLE 12. HEALTH

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
SERVICES

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance
Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-10, State
Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act Medical
Assistance Program; General Provisions; 12VAC30-50,
Amount, Duration, and Scope of Medical and Remedial
Care and Services; and 12VAC30-130, Amount, Duration
and Scope of Selected Services. The purpose of the proposed
action is to update the regulations for group homes and
residential treatment facilities for individuals younger than
the age of 21 years. The action includes changes to the
following areas: (i) provider qualifications including
acceptable licensing standards; (ii) preadmission assessment
requirements; (iii) program requirements; (iv) new discharge
planning and care coordination requirements; and (iv)
language enhancements for utilization review requirements to
clarify program requirements and help providers avoid
payment retractions.

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.

Statutory Authority: 8§ 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia;
42 USC 8 1396 et seq.
Public Comment Deadline: March 22, 2017.
Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor,
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services,
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov.

VAR. Doc. No. R17-4495; Filed January 31, 2017, 4:07 p.m.
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REGULATIONS

For information concerning the different types of regulations, see the Information Page.

Symbol Key
Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Underscored language indicates proposed new text.
Language that has been stricken indicates proposed text for deletion. Brackets are used in final regulations to indicate changes from the
proposed regulation.

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND
CORRECTIONS

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD

Proposed Regulation

Titles of Requlations: 6VAC20-172. Regulations Relating
to Private Security Services Businesses (amending
6VAC20-172-10, 6VAC20-172-40, 6VAC20-172-50,
6VAC20-172-80).

6VAC20-174. Regulations Relating to Private Security
Services Registered Personnel (amending 6VAC20-174-
10, 6VAC20-174-150).

Statutory Authority: 8 9.1-141 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are
scheduled.

Public Comment Deadline: April 21, 2017.

Agency Contact: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law Enforcement
Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice
Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone
(804) 225-4503, FAX (804) 786-0410, or email
barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov.

Basis: Section § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia authorizes
the Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) and the
Criminal Justice Services Board (CJSB) to adopt regulations
for administration of Chapter 1 (§ 9.1-100 et seq.) of Title 9.1
of the Code of Virginia, and 8§ 9.1-141 of the Code of
Virginia authorizes the board to adopt regulations
establishing compulsory minimum, entry-level, in-service,
and advanced training standards for persons employed by
private security services businesses in classifications defined
in § 9.1-138 of the Code of Virginia. In addition, § 9.1-144 of
the Code of Virginia requires bond or insurance for private
security services, personal protection specialists, and private
investigators.

Purpose: Chapter 202 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly permits a
licensed private security services business to hire as an
independent contractor a personal protection specialist or
private investigator. The legislation requires every personal
protection specialist and private investigator hired as an
independent contractor by a licensed private security services
business to maintain comprehensive liability insurance in an
amount to be determined by DCJS.

Although 6VAC20-172 and 6VVAC20-174 do not address the
requirements for insurance for independent contractors,
6VAC20-172 currently requires individuals obtaining a
business license to provide documentation verifying that a

bond has been secured in the amount of $100,000 or a
certificate of insurance for comprehensive general liability
insurance with a minimum coverage of $100,000 per
individual occurrence and $300,000 general aggregate. The
bond and insurance amounts identified in 6VAC20-172 have
not been reviewed since these regulations were first
promulgated 15 years ago, and the amounts do not reflect
current industry standards or needs of private security
businesses and do not adequately protect the public.

Requiring personal protection specialists and private
investigators serving as independent contractors to maintain
comprehensive liability insurance protects the health, safety,
and welfare of all parties involved. Comprehensive liability
insurance protects the public against personal injury and
property damage on the part of the personal protection
specialist or private investigator. Additionally the insurance
protects the personal protection specialist's and private
investigator's personal assets up to the covered amount.

During the December 1, 2015, meeting of the Private Security
Services Advisory Board (PSSAB), DCJS requested the
PSSAB to recommend an amount of comprehensive liability
insurance that it felt was appropriate for independent
contractors and for private security businesses. The PSSAB
informed DCJS staff that they did not have enough
information to determine an appropriate figure. DCJS was
asked to provide additional information regarding the current
amount of insurance held by private security businesses and
agreed to use staff from the research unit to conduct a random
sample of the private security businesses.

At the March 3, 2016, meeting, the PSSAB was presented
with the following results of the research:

Random sample. The DCJS Research Center selected a
random sample of private security businesses from all but two
of the seven private security businesses regulated by DJCS.
The number of armored car and security canine handling
services businesses registered with DCJS is small therefore
all armored car and security canine handling services
businesses were included. A total for 400 businesses made up
the final sample.

* Security officer (sample size N=78)

* Private investigation (N=82)

* Armored car (N=15)

* Security canine handling (N=15)

* Personal protection (N=52)

* Electronic security (N=86)

* Locksmith (N=72)
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Current requirement. Private security business insurance
requirements per current regulation are (i) a surety bond in
the amount of $100,000 or comprehensive general liability
insurance with a minimum coverage of $100,000 per
individual occurrence and (ii) $300,000 general aggregate.

Terminology:

Surety bonds are a financial guarantee of performance of a
specific action. A surety bond is not liability insurance.

Commercial general liability insurance protects a business
from financial loss resulting from claims of injury or damage
caused to others by the business. A comprehensive policy
typically covers:

* Bodily injury — physical damage to a person other than an
employee of the business and injuries caused by the
business at a client's home or work place.

* Personal injury — libel, slander, copyright infringement,
invasion of property or privacy, wrongful eviction, false
arrest, and similar acts that cause damage to a person's
reputation or rights.

* Property damage — damage done to another person's
property by the business in the course of conducting
business.

» Advertising injury — losses caused by the business's
advertising.

* Legal defense and judgments — costs to defend against
real and frivolous suits and judgments up to the limit of
coverage. This generally does not include punitive
damages for negligence or willful misconduct.
A general aggregate insurance limit is the maximum amount
of money the insurer will pay out during a policy term. Once
the general aggregate limit has been exhausted, the insurer is
under no obligation to cover further losses in any of the
categories covered under the general liability policy.

Current general liability insurance carried by private security
businesses:

* 99% (N=395) of businesses have a general liability
insurance limit that exceeds the $100,000 minimum.

* One business has a $100,000 surety bond in lieu of
general liability insurance.

* 93% (N=371) have a general liability limit of $1 million
or more (range $1 million to $10 million).

* Average general liability insurance limit: $1,160,250.

Current general aggregate insurance carried by private
security businesses:

* One business has a surety bond in lieu of aggregate
liability insurance

* 97% (N=389) of businesses have a general aggregate
liability limit that exceeds the $300,000 minimum.

* 93% (N=337) have an aggregate liability insurance limit
of $1 million or more (range $1 million to $10 million)

» Average general aggregate liability limit: $2,344,361.

At the conclusion of the presentation on March 3, 2016, the
PSSAB voted to approve the following recommendations:

1. Private security businesses shall be required to maintain
comprehensive liability insurance in the amount of $1 million
in general aggregate liability insurance.

2. Independent contractors working for private security
businesses shall be required to maintain comprehensive
liability insurance in an amount equal to the insurance
requirements for private security businesses.

The PSSAB made these recommendations to the CJSB, as did
DCJS. March 24, 2016, the CJSB voted to approve the
recommendations of the PSSAB.

Substance: The proposed amendments allow private security
services businesses licensed by DCJS to independently
contract with private investigators and personal protection
specialists registered with DCJS. Additionally, the language
will require that every registered personal protection
specialist and private investigator hired as an independent
contractor maintain $1 million in general aggregate liability
insurance and provide evidence of such insurance to the
private security services business with which they are
contracting. Private security businesses will be required to
secure a surety bond in the amount of $1 million or maintain
$1 million in general aggregate liability insurance.

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is ensuring an
increased opportunity for civil recourse in the event that an
individual is harmed as a result of interacting with private
security businesses or private investigators and personal
protection specialist that are independent contractors.

There are no significant advantages or disadvantages to the
majority of private security businesses in Virginia. The
research conducted by DCJS indicated that 93% of the private
security businesses already carry general aggregate liability
insurance in an amount greater than $1 million, the amount
identified in the proposed regulatory action.

The primary advantage to private security businesses not
currently carrying $1 million or more in general aggregate
liability insurance and future private investigators and
personal protection specialists who are independent
contractors is increased liability protection against financial
loss resulting from claims of injury or damage caused to the
public. The primary disadvantage to a small percentage of
private security businesses will be an increase in the cost of
insurance.

The primary advantage to individuals wishing to work as
independent contractors will be the ability to work in this
capacity once the insurance requirements are addressed in the
regulations using the standard three-stage regulatory process.
The disadvantage is that completing the standard three-stage
process to amend a regulation is a slow process that can take
one to two years. Individuals are not able to work as
independent contractors until the regulation is finalized and
becomes effective.
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There are no disadvantages to the general public, agency, or
the Commonwealth.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The
Criminal Justice Services Board (Board) proposes to amend
its regulations that govern private security businesses and
their registered personnel to a) allow such businesses to hire
registered personal protection specialists and private
investigators as private contractors, b) set the amount of
general liability insurance that private investigators and
personal security specialists who are acting as private
contractors are required to have and maintain at $1,000,000
and c) require that private security businesses maintain a
minimum general liability insurance, or surety bond, limit of
$1,000,000. The first two of these changes emanate from
Chapter 202 of the 2015 Acts of the Assembly.*

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for one
proposed change. There is insufficient information to
ascertain whether benefits will outweigh costs for other
proposed changes.

Estimated Economic Impact. In 2015, the General Assembly
passed a bill which allows private security services firms to
hire private investigators and personal protection specialists
who are registered with the Department of Criminal Justice
Services (DCJS) as private contractors. This legislation also
stipulates that such private contractors maintain general
liability insurance in an amount to be set by DCJS and that
they present proof of insurance to the businesses with whom
they contract. In response to this legislation, the Board now
proposes to amend these regulations so to allow private
security services businesses to privately contract with
registered private investigators and personal security
specialists so long as these individuals have at least
$1,000,000 in general liability insurance and the private
security businesses contracting with them document that such
insurance has been obtained. Currently, registered private
investigators and personal security specialists would only
have insurance if they were also licensed by DCJS as private
security services businesses.

The insurance limits for such businesses are currently set at
$100,000 per incident and $300,000 aggregate (lifetime).
Alternately, these businesses can choose to have a surety
bond in the amount of $100,000. Private investigators and
personal protection specialists who are currently licensed as
private security services businesses and who choose to have a
surety bond would not be able to increase the amount of that
surety bond to $1,000,000 and use it to meet the insurance
requirement to be a private contractor. As mandated by the
General Assembly, they would have to instead obtain general
liability insurance in the amount required by DCJS. Private
investigators and personal protection specialists who are
licensed as businesses with DCJS and have insurance would
incur costs to raise their insurance limits to one million

dollars (if they do not already have insurance that meets or
exceeds that limit).

Private investigators and personal protection specialists who
are not licensed as private security services businesses would
newly be subject to an insurance requirement? and so would
have to obtain $1,000,000 in aggregate general liability
insurance. Board staff reports that the required insurance in
the amount of $1,000,000 costs approximately $500 to $695
per year. Private investigators and personal protection
specialist who would have to pay for this insurance would
likely only choose to contract with private security services
businesses if they expected the revenues from doing so to
exceed their costs including insurance. Therefore, benefits
will likely outweigh costs for allowing private security
services businesses to hire private investigators and personal
security specialists as private contractors.

As stated above, private security services businesses are
currently required to have either a surety bond in the amount
of $100,000 or general liability insurance with limits of
$100,000 per incident and $300,000 aggregate. DCJS's
research division sampled 400 of the 1,804 private security
businesses they license and found that 99% of the businesses
sampled had more than $100,000 worth of insurance and 93%
had insurance limits at or greater than $1,000,000. The Board
now proposes to increase the amount of insurance or surety
bonding that licensed private security services businesses
must have to at least $1,000,000. Board staff reports that this
change is being proposed because most firms already have
insurance in at least this amount. Board staff further reports
that there have not been any incidences reported that would
indicate that currently required insurance limits are
inadequate.

Board staff estimates that the costs for $1,000,000 of general
liability insurance would likely range between $500 and $695
per year. Assuming that DCJS's survey is representative of
the entire population of private security services firms, about
seven percent of firms licensed (about 126 firms) would incur
additional costs for insurance equal to the cost for $1,000,000
of insurance minus their current insurance costs. One licensee
who currently holds a surety bond estimates that increasing
his bond from $100,000 to $1,000,000 will increase his costs
for bonding from $323 per year to $1,200 per year.® There is
no information to measure the possible benefits of requiring
greater insurance limits, so there is insufficient information to
ascertain whether those benefits would outweigh the
estimated costs.

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulatory
changes will affect all private security services businesses,
including private investigators and personal protection
specialists who are licensed as private security services
businesses. Board staff reports that there are 1,804 private
security businesses licensed by the DCJS. Board staff further
reports that there are currently 1,805 private investigators and
522 personal protection specialists registered with the DCJS.

Volume 33, Issue 13

Virginia Register of Regulations

February 20, 2017

1404



Regulations

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will be
particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes.

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory
changes may lead to private investigators and personal
protection specialists being hired by private security services
businesses as private contractors. This may not affect total
employment as private contracting will likely serve as a
substitute for other types of employment in these businesses.
Higher insurance costs may affect whether marginally
profitable private security services businesses choose to
remain licensed.

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These
proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or
value of private property in the Commonwealth.

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory
changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in
the Commonwealth.

Small Businesses:

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia,
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross
annual sales of less than $6 million."

Costs and Other Effects. Small business private security
services firms, including private investigators and personal
protection specialists, who do not already maintain liability
insurance of at least $1,000,000 will incur costs for increasing
their insurance limits to that level. Board staff estimates, from
a sample of 400 businesses, that 93% of private security
services firms already have insurance that exceeds the
proposed limit. Assuming that sample is representative, seven
percent of the 1,804 private security firms licensed by the
DCJS (about 126 firms) will incur additional costs for
insurance. The additional costs incurred will equal the cost of
the new, higher, limit for insurance minus the cost of these
businesses' current insurance of less than $1,000,000.

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. Since
raising the insurance limits for private security services firms
is a discretionary change based on information about what
insurance these firms on average have, rather than what limits
are minimally necessary to protect health and safety in the
Commonwealth, the Board might further minimize additional
costs by lowering the proposed insurance limits or leaving
required insurance at current levels.

Adverse Impacts:

Businesses. Private security services firms, including private
investigators and personal protection specialists, that do not
already maintain liability insurance of at least $1,000,000 will
incur costs for increasing their insurance limits to that level.
Board staff estimates, from a sample of 400 businesses, that
93% of private security services firms already have insurance
that exceeds the proposed limit. Assuming that sample is
representative, seven percent of the 1,804 private security

firms licensed by the DCJS (about 126 firms) will incur
additional costs for insurance. The additional costs incurred
will equal the cost of the new, higher, limit for insurance
minus the cost of these businesses' current insurance of less
than $1,000,000.

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to
see any adverse impacts on account of these proposed
regulatory changes.

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely
affected by these proposed changes.

! http://legl.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?151+ful+CHAP0202

2 Chapter 202 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly requires that these individuals
have general liability insurance "in a reasonable amount to be fixed by the
Department." The amount of insurance that is proposed by DCJS is
$1,000,000.

®From Board research findings, it appears that very few licensees (likely less
than five statewide) choose to carry a surety bond rather than insurance.
While the cost increases for increasing surety bonds is likely much higher, it
would affect far fewer businesses.

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The
Department of Criminal Justice Services respectfully
disagrees with several statements and conclusions contained
within the economic impact analysis (EIA) drafted by the
Department of Planning and Budget (DPB).

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation.

Chapter 202 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly authorizes private
investigators and personal protection specialists to work as
independent contractors provided they maintain a general
liability insurance policy, in an amount determined by DCJS.*

Independent of this new statutory change, the Code of
Virginia authorizes private security service businesses to be
licensed provided they maintain a general liability policy or
surety or cash bond, in an amount to be determined by the
Board.

Result of Analysis.

The EIA concludes that allowing private security businesses
to hire registered personal protection specialists and private
investigators as independent contractors will likely result in
benefits outweighing potential costs. DCJS agrees with this
conclusion as it is reasonable to expect that parties will only
engage in independent contracts when it is profitable.

The EIA also concludes that insufficient information exists to
ascertain whether the benefits outweigh the costs for (i)
requiring registered personal protection specialists and private
investigators who want to work as independent contractors to
maintain a general liability insurance policy in the amount of
$1,000,000 and for (ii) requiring private security businesses
to maintain a minimum general liability insurance policy or
bond in the amount of $1,000,000. DCJS disagrees with these
two conclusions.

The benefits of requiring $1,000,000 insurance for registered
personal protection specialists and private investigators and
for private security businesses: The General Assembly
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determined as early as 1976 that insurance is a necessary
component for private security businesses. In 1998, the
General Assembly enacted legislation requiring private
security businesses to obtain a bond or liability insurance at
the initial point of being licensed by DCJS. The General
Assembly also added language specifically requiring the
business to maintain the bonds or liability insurance for the
duration of their licenses. By its very nature, insurance
protects businesses from unforeseen events and accidents.
Private security businesses that have insurance are shielded
from potentially expensive claims and litigation costs.
Insurance also provides the public a resource to obtain
compensation for losses caused by businesses. The General
Assembly also made the Criminal Justice Services Board
(CJSB) responsible for determining the appropriate amount
and type of insurance for private security businesses. The
CJSB initially set the amount of insurance at $100,000 more
than 20 years ago. This amount had not been reviewed or
revised until 2015.

In addition to requiring private security businesses to have
insurance or bond, the General Assembly has also determined
that a benefit and need exists for certain professionals to have
insurance in order to be licensed by the state. The very nature
of engaging in certain professions, such as doctors, lawyers,
and law enforcement, includes exposure to risk and liability.
The private security industry is no exception to risk exposure;
in fact, the type of work conducted by private security
businesses presents increased risks for their employees who
are engaged in potentially dangerous activity and situations
while securing and protecting property. Many of these
professionals are licensed by DCJS to carry firearms in the
performance of their duties. The General Assembly relied on
the same reasoning as it did for other professionals when it
authorized two types of private security professionals to act as
independent contractors in 2015, provided they have the
appropriate insurance coverage as determined by DCJS.

Given the General Assembly's directive to determine the
amount of insurance necessary for private investigators and
personal protection specialists to act as independent
contractors, DCJS consulted with private security and
insurance professionals, engaged the Private Security
Services Advisory Board, and conducted evidence based
research. DCJS staff spent a significant amount of time with
DPB staff explaining the process the agency used to arrive at
its decision.

DCJS utilized its Research Center to arrive at an informed,
educated conclusion regarding the appropriate amount of
insurance necessary for independent contractors and private
security businesses. The Research Center is managed by a
professional with a PhD, and the data was developed and
analyzed using scientifically sound methods. Furthermore, the
combined years of research experience of the two staff who
participated in this project is approximately 45 years.

The DCJS Research Center selected a random sample of 400
private security businesses regulated by DJCS. The sample
size of 400 was determined using a standard statistical
formula to generate a sample size with a 95% confidence
interval. In other words, by using a sample size of 400
businesses, the sample is 95% accurate in representing the
entire private security business population. This standard
statistical formula is widely used in the scientific research
field.

Security Officer (sample size N=78)
Private Investigation (N=82)
Armored Car (N=15)

Security Canine Handling (N=15)
Personal Protection (N=52)
Electronic Security (N=86)
Locksmith (N=72)

The statistical research demonstrates that 99% of the private
security businesses licensed by DCJS already have insurance
policies that exceed the current requirement of $100,000. In
fact, 93% of these businesses have a general liability policy of
$1,000,000 or more. The average liability amount for private
security businesses is $1,160,250. This evidence suggests that
the private security business industry has already determined
that $100,000 is inadequate to meet their business needs and
that $1,000,000 minimally meets that need. During this
research process, it became clear to DCJS that a $100,000
general liability insurance policy is woefully inadequate to
meet and protect the needs of private security businesses and
the public at large. It is insufficient for covering bodily injury,
personal injury, property damage, advertising injury, and
legal defense and judgments.

After discussions with staff from DPB who suggested that
DCJS determine whether any claims have been filed against
private security actors or remained unpaid due to current
insurance requirements, DCJS looked into the matter. DCJS
is not in a position to know whether any of its licensees have
been sued or whether insurance claims have been filed and
paid because these businesses are not required to report this
type of data to DCJS. However, DCJS is aware of a 2014 case
(Pompey v. Palla) in which a jury returned an $8 million
judgment against a security officer arising out of his
excessive force and wrongful arrest of a citizen of the
Commonwealth. This case demonstrates that lawsuits against
private security actors can result in judgments exceeding
$1,000,000 and that $100,000 is not sufficient insurance
coverage.

DCJS strongly disagrees with the following statement in the
EIA: "Board staff reports that this change is being proposed
because most firms already have insurance in at least this
amount.” This statement does not accurately reflect the
numerous and lengthy conversations that board staff had with
DPB. There is a statutory requirement to determine the
amount of general liability insurance for private investigators
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and personal protection specialists. In the process of
researching this issue, DCJS determined that the original
amount of insurance required for private security businesses
had not been reviewed or analyzed for approximately 20
years. DCJS would have been remiss in its duties as the
regulatory agency for private security businesses had it not
brought this issue before the board. DCJS regulates all private
security  businesses and determining the insurance
requirements for two specific types without comprehensively
researching this issue would have been inappropriate and
possibly viewed in the eyes of the law as negligent
supervision of regulatory duties. It would not be appropriate
to set a general amount of the liability insurance requirement
for two types of professionals that grossly exceeds the private
security businesses' general liability insurance requirements.

Furthermore, DCJS has determined that the cost to purchase a
general liability insurance policy that satisfies the current
requirements ($100,000/$300,000 aggregate) is the same as
the cost to purchase $1,000,000 in coverage. DCJS's initial
research indicates that it costs approximately $500 to $695
per year for $1,000,000 of general liability insurance. Based
on the issuance of the amended EIA, DCJS worked with staff
from the Virginia Department of Treasury to determine the
cost to purchase a $100,000/$300,000 aggregate general
insurance policy, which ranges from $500 a year for low-risk
activity to $1,000 to $5,000 a year for higher risk activity.
These estimates have also been validated by professionals
serving on the Private Security Services Advisory Board who
have previously communicated with the DCJS that it cost the
same to purchase $100,000 of coverage as it does $1,000,000.
It is important to note that the Private Security Services
Advisory Board approved the $1,000,000 insurance policy
requirement for both independent contractors and private
security businesses. It is for these reasons that DCJS believes
that this regulatory action will have little to no fiscal impact
on private security businesses or individuals who want to
work as independent contractors.

DPB staff suggested that DCJS provide data demonstrating
the number of legal judgments against private security
businesses that were not paid as a result of insufficient or no
insurance. DCJS appreciates the value of such data and will
explore the possibility that private security businesses should
be required to report unpaid judgments to DCJS as a new
regulatory requirement.

Businesses and Entities Affected.

DCJS disagrees with DPB's conclusion that "all" private
security businesses are affected by the regulatory package. As
explained above, the research shows that 93% of security
businesses already carry $1,000,000 or more in general
liability insurance. In other words, 93% of the private security
businesses will not be impacted. Furthermore, the impact to
the remaining businesses is minimal given the similarity in
cost to purchase insurance coverage of $100,000 or
$1,000,000. Not all private investigators and personal

protection specialists will choose to engage in independent
contracting; not all private security businesses will choose to
hire independent contractors. These businesses, by virtue of
their statutory definition, already employ either or both
private investigators or personal protection specialists as part
of their corporate structure.

Further, there is no requirement that registered personal
protection specialists and private investigators must engage in
independent contracting in order to find gainful employment.
Acting as an independent contractor is entirely discretionary
on the part of an individual licensee and not mandatory. All
registered personal protection specialists and private
investigators must work for a licensed private security
business in order to engage in the activity providing those
services. This new law will only impact those professionals
who wish to operate more like freelance employees, and
presumably those professionals will consider all the pros and
cons, to include financial costs and tax and other legal
implications (independent contractors are typically viewed as
self-employed under federal tax laws; respondeat superior
relationship is not necessarily established when businesses
contract with independent contractors). DCJS does not know
how many of the currently registered personal protection
specialists and private investigators wish to engage in
independent contracting, nor will it know this data once the
regulations become effective as there is no reporting
requirement.

Costs and Other Effects.

DCJS also disagrees with the notion described in the EIA that
existing private investigators and personal protection
specialists who currently have business licenses and cash or
surety bonds would be prohibited from working as
independent contractors unless they obtain general liability
insurance. Obtaining a private security business license
entitles businesses to engage in contractual agreements. In
other words, private security businesses already meet the
statutory requirements regarding insurance, regardless of
whether they are operated by one person or 100 people, and
can still conduct business without having to switch from a
bond to insurance.

Chapter 202 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly allows licensed
private security businesses to contract with individuals who
are registered as private investigators or personal protection
specialists who are not licensed as businesses. The law does
not impact or prevent a private security business that has
general liability insurance from contracting with another
private security business that has a surety or cash bond.

DCJS staff takes issue with the figures reported by DPB staff
regarding the cost to obtain a surety bond. The EIA provides
figures from one licensee who currently maintains a surety
bond. DPB has included this figure referenced as an estimate
but provides no information regarding the basis of the
estimate. The cost of a surety bond is calculated not only
based on the total amount of the bond but also the risk of the
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particular business and the risk of the individual applicant
attempting to obtain the bond. The EIA does not state if the
licensee consulted anyone to obtain the estimate nor does it
specify if this individual has any additional risk factors
influencing the cost of the bond. Additionally, board staff is
concerned that the footnote included by DPB is misleading as
it references board research findings but is attached to a
statement that does not identify or reflect any research
conducted by the DCJS Research Center. At best, the surety
cost estimate cited in the EIA is spurious.

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.

DCJS believes that these regulatory changes will have
absolutely no impact on the use or value of private property in
the Commonwealth.

Alternative Methods that Minimizes Adverse Impact.

As stated, the cost to purchase a general liability insurance
policy is the same regardless of whether the policy provides
$100,000 or $1,000,000 in coverage.

The research conducted by the DCJS Research Center, the
information gathered by DCJS staff to compile the agency
background document, and the information in this response to
the EIA supports the Governor's initiative to use evidence-
based decision making in determining public policy that
impacts public safety and citizens of the Commonwealth.

! For clarification, the statutory language uses the term “independent
contractor” not private contractor, which is cited in the EIA. The term
independent contractor has certain legal and tax implications, to include
recognition by the Internal Revenue Service as self-employed.

Summary:

The proposed amendments (i) allow private security
services businesses licensed by the Department of Criminal
Justice Services (DCJS) to independently contract with
private investigators and personal protection specialists
registered with DCJS, (ii) require that every registered
personal protection specialist and private investigator
hired as an independent contractor maintain $1 million in
general aggregate liability insurance and provide evidence
of such insurance to the private security services business
with which they contract, and (iii) require that all private
security businesses secure a surety bond in the amount of
$1 million or maintain $1 million in general aggregate
liability insurance.

Part |
Definitions
6VAC20-172-10. Definitions.

In addition to the words and terms defined in § 9.1-138 of
the Code of Virginia, the following words and terms when
used in this chapter shall have the following meanings, unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (8 2.2-4000
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board or any
successor board or agency.

"Date of hire" means the date any employee of a private

security services business or training school performs
services regulated or required to be regulated by the
department.

"Department™ or "DCJS" means the Department of Criminal
Justice Services or any successor agency.

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the
department.

"Electronic images" means an acceptable method of
maintaining required documentation through the scanning,
storage, and maintenance of verifiable electronic copies of
original documentation.

"Employee" means a natural person employed by a licensee
to perform private security services that are regulated by the
department.

"Firearms endorsement™ means a method of regulation that
identifies an individual registered as a private security
registrant and has successfully completed the annual firearms
training and has met the requirements as set forth in
6VAC20-174.

"Firm" means a business entity, regardless of method of
organization, applying for an initial or renewal private
security services business license or private security services
training school certification.

"Incident" means an event that exceeds the normal extent of
one's duties.

"Independent contractor" means a self-employed personal
protection specialist or a private investigator who (i)
maintains _comprehensive liability insurance in _an amount
fixed by the department, (ii) has been issued a registration by
the department, and (iii) enters into a contract to perform
work for a private security business licensed to provide
services within the Commonwealth.

"Intermediate weapon" means a tool not fundamentally
designed to cause deadly force with conventional use. This
would exclude all metal ammunition firearms or edged
weapons. These weapons include but are not limited to
baton/collapsible  baton, chemical irritants, electronic
restraining devices, projectiles, and other less lethal weapons
as defined by the department.

"Licensed firm" means a business entity, regardless of
method of organization, that holds a valid private security
services business license issued by the department.

"Licensee" means a licensed private security services
business.

"Official documentation” means personnel records;
Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty
(DD214); copies of business licenses indicating ownership;
law-enforcement  transcripts;  certificates of training
completion; a signed letter provided directly by a current or
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previous employer detailing dates of employment and job
duties; college transcripts; letters of commendation; private
security services registrations, certifications or licenses from
other states; and other employment, training, or experience
verification documents. A resume is not considered official
documentation.

"On duty" means the time during which private security
services business personnel receive or are entitled to receive
compensation for employment for which a registration or
certification is required.

"Performance of his duties" means on duty in the context of
this chapter.

"Person" means any individual, group of individuals, firm,
company, corporation, partnership,  business, trust,
association, or other legal entity.

"Physical address" means the location of the building that
houses a private security services business or training school
or the location where the individual principals of a business
reside. A post office box is not a physical address.

"Principal” means any sole proprietor, individual listed as an
officer or director with the Virginia State Corporation
Commission, board member of the association, or partner of a
licensed firm or applicant for licensure.

"Private security services business personnel” means each
employee of a private security services business who is
employed as an unarmed security officer, armed security
officer/courier, armored car personnel, security canine
handler, detector canine handler, private investigator,
personal protection specialist, alarm respondent, a locksmith,
central station dispatcher, electronic security employee, an
electronic security sales representative, electronic security
technician, or electronic security technician's assistant.

"Reciprocity” means the relation existing between Virginia
and any other state, commonwealth, or province as
established by agreements approved by the board.

"Recognition” means the relation of accepting various
application requirements between Virginia and any other
state, commonwealth, or province as established by
agreements approved by the board.

"Related field" means any field with training requirements,
job duties, and experience similar to those of the private
security services field in which the applicant wishes to be
licensed, certified, or registered. This term includes law
enforcement and certain categories of the military.

"This chapter" means the Regulations Relating to Private
Security Services Businesses (6VAC20-172).

Part IV
Business License Application Procedures; Administrative
Requirements; Standards of Conduct
6VAC20-172-40. Initial business license application.

A. Prior to the issuance of a private security services
business license, the applicant shall meet or exceed the

requirements of licensing and application submittal to the
department as set forth in this section.

B. Each person seeking a license shall file a completed
application provided by the department including:

1. For each principal and supervisor of the applying
business and for each electronic security employee of an
electronic security services business, his fingerprints
pursuant to this chapter;

2. Documentation verifying that the applicant has secured a
surety bond in the amount of $160,600 $1 million executed
by a surety company authorized to do business in Virginia;
or a certificate of insurance reflecting the department as a
certificate holder; and showing a policy of comprehensive
general liability insurance with-a in the minimum coverage
amount of $100,000—per—individual—occurrence—and
$300,000 $1 million of general aggregate liability
insurance issued by an insurance company authorized to do
business in Virginia.
a. Every personal protection specialist and private
investigator who has been issued a registration by the
department and is hired as an independent contractor by a
licensed private security services business shall maintain
comprehensive general liability insurance in the
minimum coverage amount of $1 million of general
aggregate liability insurance; and

b. Documentation verifying the personal protection
specialist _or private investigator has obtained the
required insurance shall be provided to the private
security services business prior to the hiring of such
independent contractor;

3. For each nonresident applicant for a license, on a form
provided by the department, a completed irrevocable
consent for the department to serve as service agent for all
actions filed in any court in this Commonwealth;

4. For each applicant for a license except sole proprietor or
partnership, the identification number issued by the
Virginia State Corporation Commission for verification
that the entity is authorized to conduct business in the
Commonwealth;

5. A physical address in Virginia where records required to
be maintained by the Code of Virginia and this chapter are
kept and available for inspection by the department. A post
office box is not a physical address;

6. On the license application, designation of at least one
individual as compliance agent who is certified or eligible
for certification;

7. The applicable, nonrefundable license application fee;
and

8. Designation on the license application of the type of
private security business license the applicant is seeking.
The initial business license fee includes one category. A
separate fee will be charged for each additional category.
The separate categories are identified as follows: (i)
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security officers/couriers (armed and unarmed), (ii) private
investigators, (iii) electronic security personnel, (iv)
armored car personnel, (v) personal protection specialists,
(vi) locksmiths, and (vii) detector canine handlers and
security canine handlers. Alarm respondents crossover into
both the security officer and electronic security category;
therefore, if an applicant is licensed in either of these
categories, he can provide these services without an
additional category fee.

C. Upon completion of the initial license application
requirements, the department may issue an initial license for a
period not to exceed 24 months.

D. The department may issue a letter of temporary licensure
to businesses seeking licensure under § 9.1-139 of the Code
of Virginia for not more than 120 days while awaiting the
results of the state and national fingerprint search conducted
on the principals and compliance agent of the business,
provided the applicant has met the necessary conditions and
requirements.

E. A new license is required whenever there is any change in
the ownership or type of organization of the licensed entity
that results in the creation of a new legal entity. Such changes
include but are not limited to:

1. Death of a sole proprietor;

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general
partnership or the managing partner in a limited
partnership; and

3. Formation or dissolution of a corporation, a limited
liability company, or an association or any other business
entity recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth of
Virginia.

F. Each license shall be issued to the legal business entity
named on the application, whether it is a sole proprietorship,
partnership, corporation, or other legal entity, and shall be
valid only for the legal entity named on the license. No
license shall be assigned or otherwise transferred to another
legal entity.

G. Each licensee shall comply with all applicable
administrative requirements and standards of conduct and
shall not engage in any acts prohibited by applicable sections
of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.

H. Each licensee shall be a United States citizen or legal
resident alien of the United States.

6VVAC20-172-50. Renewal business license application.

A. Applications for license renewal should be received by
the department at least 30 days prior to expiration. The
department will provide a renewal notification to the last
known mailing address of the licensee. However, if a renewal
notification is not received by the licensee, it is the
responsibility of the licensee to ensure renewal requirements
are filed with the department. License renewal applications
must be received by the department and all license
requirements must be completed prior to the expiration date

or shall be subject to all applicable, nonrefundable renewal
fees plus reinstatement fees. Outstanding fees or monetary
penalties owed to DCJS must be paid prior to issuance of said
renewal.

B. Licenses will be renewed for a period not to exceed 24
months.

C. The department may renew a license when the following
are received by the department:

1. A properly completed renewal application;

2. Documentation verifying that the applicant has secured
and maintained a surety bond in the amount of $100,000
$1 million executed by a surety company authorized to do
business in Virginia; or a certificate of insurance reflecting
the department as a certificate holder; and showing a policy
of comprehensive general liability insurance with-a in the
minimum coverage amount of $100,000—per—individual
oceurrence—and—3$300,000 $1 million general aggregate
issued by an insurance company authorized to do business
in Virginia.
a. Every personal protection specialist and private
investigator who has been issued a registration by the
department and is hired as an independent contractor by a
licensed private security services business shall maintain
comprehensive general liability insurance in the
minimum coverage amount of $1 million of general
aggregate liability insurance; and

b. Documentation verifying the personal protection
specialist _or private investigator has obtained the
required insurance shall be provided to the private
security services business prior to the hiring of such
independent contractor;

3. Fingerprint records for any new or additional principals
submitted to the department within 30 days of their hire
date provided, however, that any change in the ownership
or type of organization of the licensed entity has not
resulted in the creation of a new legal entity;

4. On the application, designation of at least one
compliance agent who has satisfactorily completed all
applicable training requirements;

5. The applicable, nonrefundable license renewal fee and
applicable category of service fees; and

6. On the first day of employment, each new and additional
supervisor's fingerprints submitted to the department
pursuant to § 9.1-139 | of the Code of Virginia.

D. Each business applying for a license renewal shall be in
good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed, registered,
or certified in a private security services or related field. This
subsection shall not apply to any probationary periods during
which the individual is eligible to operate under the license,
registration, or certification.
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E. Any renewal application received after the expiration date
of a license shall be subject to the requirements set forth by
the reinstatement provisions of this chapter.

F. On the renewal application the licensee must designate
the type of private security business license he wishes to
renew. The fee will be based upon the category or categories
selected on the renewal application.

6VVAC20-172-80. Business standards of conduct.

duties who has not obtained a valid registration and
firearms endorsement from the department; and

e. A licensee shall maintain appropriate documentation to
verify compliance with these requirements. A licensee
shall maintain these documents after employment is
terminated for a period of not less than three years.

5. Not contract or subcontract any private security services
in the Commonwealth of Virginia to a person not licensed

A licensee shall:

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of
Virginia and this chapter.

2. Ensure that all employees regulated or required to be
regulated by the board conform to all application
requirements, administrative requirements, and standards
of conduct pursuant to the Code of Virginia, 6VAC20-174,
and this chapter.

3. Not direct any employee regulated or required to be
regulated by the board to engage in any acts prohibited by
the Code of Virginia, 6VAC20-174, and this chapter.

4. Employ individuals regulated or required to be regulated
as follows:

a. A licensee shall employ or otherwise utilize
individuals possessing a valid registration issued by the
department showing the registration categories required
to perform duties requiring registration pursuant to the
Code of Virginia;

b. A licensee shall not allow individuals requiring
registration as armored car personnel, armed security
officers/couriers, armed alarm respondents with firearm
endorsement, private investigators, personal protection
specialists, detector canine handlers, or security canine
handlers to perform private security services until such
time as the individual has been issued a registration by
the department;

c. A licensee may employ individuals requiring
registration as an wunarmed alarm respondent, a
locksmith, a central station dispatcher, an electronic
security sales representative, an electronic security
technician, an unarmed armored car driver, an unarmed
security officer, or an electronic security technician's
assistant for a period not to exceed 90 consecutive days
in any registered category listed in this subdivision 4 ¢
while completing the compulsory minimum training
standards as set forth in 6V AC20-174 provided:

(1) The individual's fingerprint card has been submitted;

(2) The individual is not employed in excess of 120 days
without having been issued a registration from the
department; and

(3) The individual did not fail to timely complete the
required training with a previous employer;

d. A licensee shall not employ any individual carrying or
having access to a firearm in the performance of his

by the department. Verification of a contractor's or
subcontractor's license issued by the department shall be
maintained for a period of not less than three years.

6. Enter into contracts with self-employed personal
protection specialists and private investigators to work as
independent contractors in accordance with 8§ 9.1-144 of
the Code of Virginia and require documentation verifying
the personal protection specialist or private investigator has
obtained the required insurance in accordance with
6VVAC20-172-40 and 6\VAC20-172-50 prior to the hiring
of such independent contractor.

6. 7. Ensure that the compliance agent conforms to all
applicable  application  requirements, administrative
requirements, and standards of conduct pursuant to the
Code of Virginia and this chapter.

4 8. Permit the department during regular business hours
to inspect, review, or copy those documents, electronic
images, business records, or training records that are
required to be maintained by the Code of Virginia and this
chapter.

8. 9. Not violate or aid and abet others in violating the
provisions of Article 4 (§ 9.1-138 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of
Title 9.1 of the Code of Virginia, 6VAC20-173, 6VAC20-
174, or this chapter.

9. 10. Not commit any act or omission that results in a
private security license or registration being suspended,
revoked, or not renewed, or the licensee or registrant
otherwise being disciplined in any jurisdiction.

10. 11. Not have been convicted or found guilty in any
jurisdiction of the United States of any felony or a
misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, assault and
battery, damage to real or personal property, controlled
substances or imitation controlled substances as defined in
Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of
the Code of Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as
described in Article 7 (8 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of
Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, or firearms. Any plea of
nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the
purpose of this chapter. The record of conviction certified
or authenticated in such form as to be admissible in
evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted
shall be prima facie evidence of such guilt.

11 12. Not obtain or aid and abet others to obtain a
license, license renewal, registration, registration renewal,
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certification,  certification  renewal, or  firearms
endorsement through any fraud or misrepresentation.

12 13. Include the business license number issued by the
department on all business advertising materials pursuant
to the Code of Virginia. Business advertising materials
containing information regarding more than one licensee
must contain the business license numbers of each licensee
identified.

43: 14. Not conduct a private security services business in
such a manner as to endanger the public health, safety, and
welfare.

14. 15. Not falsify or aid and abet others in falsifying
training records for the purpose of obtaining a license,
registration, or certification.

15. 16. Not represent as one's own a license issued to
another private security services business.

16- 17. When providing central station monitoring services,
attempt to verify the legitimacy of a burglar alarm
activation by calling the site of the alarm. If unable to
make contact, call one additional number provided by the
alarm user who has the authority to cancel the dispatch.
This shall not apply if the alarm user has provided written
authorization requesting immediate or one-call dispatch to
both his local police department and his dealer of record.
This shall not apply to duress or hold-up alarms.

17 18. Not perform any unlawful or negligent act resulting
in loss, injury, or death to any person.

18: 19. Utilize vehicles for private security services using
or displaying an amber flashing light only as specifically
authorized by 8§ 46.2-1025 A 9 of the Code of Virginia.

19: 20. Not use or display the state seal of Virginia or the
seal of the Department of Criminal Justice Services, or any
portion thereof, or the seal of any political subdivision of
the Commonwealth, or any portion thereof, as a part of any
logo, stationery, letter, training document, business card,
badge, patch, insignia, or other form of identification or
advertisement.

20- 21. Not provide information obtained by the firm or its
employees to any person other than the client who secured
the services of the licensee without the client's prior written
consent. Provision of information in response to official
requests from law-enforcement agencies, the courts, or the
department shall not constitute a violation of this chapter.
Provision of information to law-enforcement agencies
pertinent to criminal activity or to planned criminal activity
shall not constitute a violation of this chapter.

2% 22. Not engage in acts of unprofessional conduct in the
practice of private security services.

22. 23. Not engage in acts of negligent or incompetent
private security services.

23: 24. Not make any misrepresentation or false promise to
a private security services business client or potential
private security services business client.

24- 25. Not violate any state or local ordinance.

25: 26. Satisfy all judgments to include binding arbitrations
related to private security services not provided.

26 27. Not publish or cause to be published any material
relating to private security services that contains an
assertion, representation, or statement of fact that is false,
deceptive, or misleading.

2% 28. Not conduct private security business under a
fictitious or assumed name unless the name is on file with
the Department of Criminal Justice Services. This does not
apply to a private investigator conducting a "pretext,”
provided that the private investigator does not state that he
is representing a private security business that does not
exist or otherwise prohibited under federal law.

28. 29. Not act as or be an ostensible licensee for
undisclosed persons who do or will control directly or
indirectly the operations of the licensee's business.

29. 30. Not provide false or misleading information to
representatives of the department.

30. 31. Not provide materially incorrect, misleading,
incomplete, or untrue information on any email,
application, or other document filed with the department.

Part |
Definitions

6VVAC20-174-10. Definitions.

In addition to the words and terms defined in § 9.1-138 of
the Code of Virginia, the following words and terms when
used in this chapter shall have the following meanings, unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board or any
successor board or agency.

"Business  advertising  material*  means  display
advertisements in telephone directories, on letterhead, on
business cards, in local newspaper advertising, and in
contracts.

"Certified training school” means a training school that is
certified by the department for the specific purpose of training
private security services business personnel in at least one
category of the compulsory minimum training standards as
set forth by the board.

"Class" means a block of instruction no less than 50 minutes
in length on a particular subject.

"Classroom training" means instruction conducted in person
by an instructor to students in an organized manner utilizing a
lesson plan.
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"Date of hire" means the date any employee of a private

security services business or training school performs
services regulated or required to be regulated by the
department.

"Department” or "DCJS" means the Department of Criminal
Justice Services or any successor agency.

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the
department.

"Electronic images" means an acceptable method of
maintaining required documentation through the scanning,
storage, and maintenance of verifiable electronic copies of
original documentation.

"Employee™ means a natural person employed by a licensee
to perform private security services that are regulated by the
department.

"End user" means any person who purchases or leases
electronic security equipment for use in that person's home or
business.

"Entry-level training" means the compulsory initial training
for regulated categories and basic or intermediate firearms
training standards adopted by the board for private security
services business personnel who are either new registrants or
failed to timely complete in-service training or firearms
retraining within the prescribed time period.

"Firearms endorsement” means a method of regulation that
identifies an individual registered as a private security
registrant and has successfully completed the annual firearms
training and has met the requirements as set forth in this
chapter.

"Independent contractor" means a self-employed personal
protection specialist or a private investigator who (i)
maintains _comprehensive liability insurance in an amount
fixed by the department, (ii) has been issued a registration by
the department, and (iii) enters into a contract to perform
work for a private security business licensed to provide
services within the Commonwealth.

"In-service training requirement” means the compulsory in-
service training standards adopted by the Criminal Justice
Services Board for private security services business
personnel.

"Intermediate weapon” means a tool not fundamentally
designed to cause deadly force with conventional use. This
would exclude all metal ammunition firearms or edged
weapons. These weapons include but are not limited to
baton/collapsible  baton, chemical irritants, electronic
restraining devices, projectiles, and other less lethal weapons
as defined by the department.

"Job-related training" means training specifically related to
the daily job functions of a given category of registration or
certification as defined in this chapter.

"Official documentation” means personnel records;
Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty

(DD214); copies of business licenses indicating ownership;
law-enforcement  transcripts;  certificates of training
completion; a signed letter provided directly by a current or
previous employer detailing dates of employment and job
duties; college transcripts; letters of commendation; private
security services registrations, certifications, or licenses from
other states; and other employment, training, or experience
verification documents. A resume is not considered official
documentation.

"On duty" means the time during which private security
services business personnel receive or are entitled to receive
compensation for employment for which a registration or
certification is required.

"Online training” means training approved by the
department and offered via the Internet or an Intranet for the
purpose of remote access on-demand or distance training that
meets all requirements for compulsory minimum training
standards.

"Performance of his duties™ means on duty in the context of
this chapter.

"Person” means any individual, group of individuals, firm,
company, corporation, partnership,  business,  trust,
association, or other legal entity.

"Private security services business personnel” means each

employee of a private security services business who is
employed as an unarmed security officer, armed security
officer/courier, armored car personnel, security canine
handler, detector canine handler, private investigator,
personal protection specialist, alarm respondent, locksmith,
central station dispatcher, electronic security employee,
electronic security sales representative, electronic security
technician, or electronic security technician's assistant.

"Reciprocity” means the relation existing between Virginia
and any other state, commonwealth, or province as
established by agreements approved by the board.

"Recognition" means the relation of accepting various
application requirements between Virginia and any other
state, commonwealth, or province as established by
agreements approved by the board.

"Related field" means any field with training requirements,
job duties, and experience similar to those of the private
security services field in which the applicant wishes to be
licensed, certified, or registered. This term includes law
enforcement and certain categories of the military.

"Session" means a group of classes comprising the total
hours of mandated compulsory minimum training standards
in any of the categories of licensure, registration, or
certification in accordance with this part and in accordance
with 8§ 9.1-150.2, 9.1-185.2 and 9.1-186.2 of the Code of
Virginia.

"This chapter” means the Regulations Relating to Private
Security Services Registered Personnel (6VAC20-174).
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"Training certification" means verification of the successful
completion of any training requirement established in this
chapter.

"Training requirement” means any entry-level, in-service, or
firearms training or retraining standard established in this
chapter.

"Training school director" means a natural person
designated by a principal of a certified private security
services training school to assure the compliance of the
private security services training school with all applicable
requirements as provided in the Code of Virginia and this
chapter.

"Uniform" means any clothing with a badge, patch, or
lettering that clearly identifies persons to any observer as
private security services business personnel, not law-
enforcement officers.

6VAC20-174-150. Standards of conduct.
A registrant shall:

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of
Virginia and this chapter.

2. Not violate or aid and abet others in violating the
provisions of Article 4 (§ 9.1-138 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of
Title 9.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter.

3. Not commit any act or omission that results in a private
security license, registration, or certification being
suspended, revoked, or not renewed or the licensee,
registrant, or certificate holder otherwise being disciplined
in any jurisdiction.

4. Not have been convicted or found guilty in any
jurisdiction of the United States of any felony or a
misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, assault and
battery, damage to real or personal property, controlled
substances or imitation controlled substances as defined in
Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of
the Code of Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as
described in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of
Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, or firearms. Any plea of
nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the
purpose of this chapter. The record of conviction certified
or authenticated in such form as to be admissible in
evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted
shall be prima facie evidence of such guilt.

5. Not obtain a license, license renewal, registration,
registration renewal, certification, or certification renewal
through any fraud or misrepresentation.

6. Not solicit or contract to provide any private security

services without first having obtained a private security
services business license with the department.

7. Maintain comprehensive general liability insurance in
the_ minimum _amount of $1 million in general aggregate
liability insurance when the registrant:

a. Is self employed;

b. Is a personal protection specialist or private
investigator; and

c. Has entered into a contract with a licensed private
security business to work as an independent contractor.

7 8. Carry a valid registration card or valid temporary
registration letter at all times while on duty. Individuals
requiring registration as an unarmed security officer, an
alarm respondent, a locksmith, a central station dispatcher,
an electronic security sales representative, or an electronic
security technician may be employed for not more than 90
consecutive days in any category listed in this subdivision
while completing the compulsory minimum training
standards and may not be employed in excess of 120 days
without having been issued a registration or an exception
from the department and must carry a photo identification
and authorization from their employer on a form provided
by the department at all times while on duty.

8. 9. Carry the private security state-issued registration
card at all times while on duty once the authorization has
been approved from the department, except those
individuals operating outside the Commonwealth of
Virginia who shall obtain the state-issued registration card
prior to providing services when physically located in the
Commonwealth.

9. 10. Perform those duties authorized by his registration
only while employed by a licensed private security services
business and only for the clients of the licensee. This shall
not be construed to prohibit an individual who is registered
as an armed security officer from being employed by a
nonlicensee as provided for in § 9.1-140 of the Code of
Virginia.

10 11. Possess a valid firearms training endorsement if he
carries or has access to firearms while on duty and then
only those firearms by type of action and caliber to which
he has been trained on and is qualified to carry. Carry or
have access to a patrol rifle while on duty only with the
expressed written authorization of the licensed private
security services business employing the registrant.

11 12. Carry a firearm concealed while on duty only with
the expressed written authorization of the licensed private
security services business employing the registrant and
only in compliance with Article 6.1 (§ 18.2-307.1 et seq.)
of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia.

12 13. Transport, carry, and utilize firearms while on duty
only in a manner that does not endanger the public health,
safety, and welfare.

13- 14. If authorized to make arrests, make arrests in full
compliance with the law and using only the minimum
force necessary to effect an arrest.

14. 15. Engage in no conduct that shall mislead or
misrepresent through word, deed, or appearance that a
registrant is a law-enforcement officer or other government
official.
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15; 16. Display one's registration or temporary registration
along with a photo identification while on duty in response
to the request of a law-enforcement officer, department
personnel, or client. Individuals providing private security
services as authorized pursuant to subdivision Z 8 of this
section who have not received their registration must
display a state-issued photo identification and authorization
while on duty in response to the request of a law-
enforcement officer, department personnel, or a client.

16: 17. Not perform any unlawful or negligent act resulting
in a loss, injury, or death to any person.

4+ 18. If a uniform is required, wear the uniform required
by his employer. If wearing a uniform while employed as
an armed security officer, unarmed security officer, alarm
respondent, or armored car personnel, that uniform must:

a. Include at least one insignia clearly identifying the
name of the licensed firm employing the individual and,
except armored car personnel, a nameplate or tape
bearing, at a minimum, the individual's last name
attached on the outermost garment, except rainwear worn
only to protect from inclement weather; and

b. Include no patch or other writing (i) containing the
word "police” or any other word suggesting a law-
enforcement officer; (ii) containing the word "officer"”
unless used in conjunction with the word "security™; or
(iii) resembling any uniform patch or insignia of any duly
constituted law-enforcement  agency  of  this
Commonwealth, its political subdivisions, or the federal
government.

18- 19. When providing central station monitoring services,
attempt to verify the legitimacy of a burglar alarm
activation by calling the site of the alarm. If unable to
make contact, call one additional number provided by the
alarm user who has the authority to cancel the dispatch.
This shall not apply if the alarm user has provided written
authorization requesting immediate dispatch or one-call
dispatch to both his local police department and his dealer
of record. This shall not apply to duress or hold-up alarms.

19: 20. Act only in such a manner that does not endanger
the public health, safety, and welfare.

20- 21. Not represent as one's own a registration issued to
another individual.

2% 22. Not falsify, or aid and abet others in falsifying,
training records for the purpose of obtaining a license,
registration, certification, or certification as a compliance
agent, training school, school director, or instructor.

22. 23. Not provide information obtained by the registrant
or his employing firm to any person other than the client
who secured the services of the licensee without the client's
prior written consent. Provision of information in response
to official requests from law-enforcement agencies, the
courts, or the department shall not constitute a violation of
this chapter. Provision of information to law-enforcement

agencies pertinent to criminal activity or to planned
criminal activity shall not constitute a violation of this
chapter.

23- 24. Not engage in acts of unprofessional conduct in the
practice of private security services.

24. 25. Not engage in acts of negligent or incompetent
private security services.

25. 26. Not make any misrepresentation or make a false
promise to a private security services business client or
potential private security services business client.

26- 27. Satisfy all judgments to include binding arbitrations
related to private security services not provided.

27 28. Not provide false or misleading information to
representatives of the department.

28- 29. Not provide materially incorrect, misleading,
incomplete, or untrue information on a registration
application, renewal application, or any other document
filed with the department.

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4548; Filed January 19, 2017, 2:23 p.m.
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TITLE 8. EDUCATION

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR
VIRGINIA

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Council of Higher
Education for Virginia is claiming an exemption from Article
2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-
4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes
regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in
Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion is
involved. The State Council of Higher Education for Virginia
will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration
or revision.

Title of Regulation: 8VAC40-20. Regulations for the Senior
Citizen Higher Education Program (amending 8VAC40-
20-10, 8VAC40-20-60).

Statutory Authority: §§ 23.1-203 and 23.1-640 of the Code of
Virginia.

Effective Date: February 20, 2017.

Agency Contact: Melissa Woyatt, Senior Associate for
Financial Aid, State Council of Higher Education for
Virginia, 101 North 14th Street, 9th Floor, Richmond, VA
23219, telephone (804) 225-4113, FAX (804) 225-2604, or
email melissacollumwyatt@schev.edu.

Summary:

The amendments update citations to reflect the
recodification of Title 23 to Title 23.1 of the Code of
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Virginia and conform an introductory clause to Virginia
Administrative Code style.

8VAC40-20-10. Definitions.

. o . . il .

. ) . . The
following words and terms when used in this chapter shall
have the following meanings unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

"Course" means any course of study offered in any state
institution of higher education including the regular
curriculum of any department, or school, or subdivision of
any such institution or any special course given for any
purpose, including but not limited to, adult education.

"Full-time equivalent student (FTES)" means the statistic
used for budgetary purposes by the Commonwealth. It is
derived by calculating total credit hours generated by students
at a particular level and dividing that number by the number
of credit hours generally considered a full-time load at that
level.

"Senior citizen" means any person who, before the
beginning of any term, semester or quarter in which such
person claims entitlement to the benefits of this chapter, (i)
has reached 60 years of age, and (ii) has had his legal
domicile in this Commonwealth for one year.

"Senior Citizens Higher Education Act" is set forth in

Chapter4-5-{(8-23-38-54-et-seg)-of Fitle23 Article 7 (§ 23.1-
639 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 23.1 of the Code of

Virginia.
8VAC40-20-60. Notification to senior citizens.

As required in §-23-38:59 § 23.1-641 of the Code of
Virginia, each state-supported institution shall prominently
include in its catalogue a statement of the benefits available to
senior citizens under this program.

VAR. Doc. No. R17-4846; Filed January 30, 2017, 10:03 a.m.

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Council of Higher
Education for Virginia is claiming an exemption from Article
2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-
4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes
regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in
Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion is
involved. The State Council of Higher Education for Virginia
will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration
or revision.

Title of Regulation: 8VACA40-71. Virginia Tuition
Assistance Grant Program Regulations (amending
8VAC40-71-10, 8VAC40-71-40, 8VAC40-71-50).

Statutory Authority: § 23.1-629 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: February 20, 2017.

Agency Contact: Lee Ann Rung, Manager, Executive and
Council Affairs, State Council of Higher Education for
Virginia, James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 9th
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2602,
FAX (804) 371-7911, or email leeannrung@schev.edu.

Summary:
The amendments update citations to reflect the
recodification of Title 23 to Title 23.1 of the Code of
Virginia.

8VAC40-71-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

"Academic year" means the enrollment period that normally
extends from late August to May or early June and that is
normally comprised of two semesters 15 to 16 weeks in
length or three quarters 10 to 11 weeks in length.

"Accredited" means approved to confer degrees pursuant to
the provisions of Chapter21-1{(823-276-1et-seq-)-of Fitle 23
Article 3 (8§ 23.1-213 et seq.) of Chapter 2 of Title 23.1 of the
Code of Virginia and requirements of the annual
appropriation act, as the same are now constituted or hereafter
amended. Unless otherwise provided by law, an institution
must be accredited by a nationally recognized regional
accrediting agency prior to participation in the program.

"Award" means a grant of Virginia Tuition Assistance Grant
Program funds given during fall and spring terms at semester
institutions and fall, winter, and spring terms at quarter
institutions.

"Census date" means the time during a term when a count of
enrolled students is made for reporting purposes. For all
standard terms, the census date shall be the end of the
program add/drop period. For nonstandard terms, the census
date shall be determined by council on a program by program
basis.

"Cost of attendance" means the sum of tuition, fees, room,
board, books, supplies, and other education-related expenses,
as determined by an eligible institution for purposes of
calculating a student's financial need and awarding federal
student aid funds.

"Council" means the State Council of Higher Education for
Virginia or its designated staff.

"Domiciliary resident” means a student who is determined
by the enrolling institution to be a domiciliary resident of
Virginia or deemed as domiciled as specified by §-23-%4
§23.1-502 of the Code of Virginia and the council's
guidelines for domiciliary status determinations. In cases
where there are disputes between students and the enrolling
institutions, the council shall make the final determinations
(see 8VAC40-71-40 E).

"Eligible institution" means private nonprofit institutions of
collegiate education in the Commonwealth whose primary
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purpose is to provide collegiate, graduate, or professional
education and not to provide religious training or theological
education. Eligible institutions not admitted to this program
before January 1, 2011, shall also:

1. Be formed, chartered, established, or incorporated
within the Commonwealth;

2. Have their principal place of business within the
Commonwealth;

3. Conduct their primary educational activity within the
Commonwealth;

4. Be accredited by a nationally recognized regional
accrediting agency; and

5. Comply with applicable reporting requirements as:

a. Found in the Code of Virginia or supporting
administrative code for institutions operating in Virginia
or participating in state financial aid programs; or

b. Identified by the council as necessary for the
administration of the program.

"Eligible program™ means a curriculum of courses at the
undergraduate, graduate, or first professional level for those
institutions eligible under the definition of eligible institution.
For those institutions chartered under an act of Congress and
admitted to this program prior to January 1, 2011, only a
curriculum of courses offered at a campus located in the
Commonwealth are eligible programs.

1. Undergraduate programs are those programs that lead to
an associate's or baccalaureate degree and that require at
least two academic years (minimum 60 semester hours or
its equivalent in quarter hours) to complete or an
undergraduate teacher certification program.

2. Graduate programs are those programs leading to a
degree higher in level than the baccalaureate degree and
that require at least one academic year (minimum 30
semester hours or its equivalent in quarter hours) to
complete. Only graduate programs in a health-related
professional program classified in the National Center for
Education Statistics' Classification of Instructional
Programs (CIP) Code 51-series programs are eligible
graduate programs.

3. First-professional  programs are those post-
undergraduate programs leading to a degree in dentistry,
medicine, veterinary medicine, or pharmacy. Only
professional programs in a health-related professional
program classified as CIP Code 51-series programs are
eligible first-professional programs.

4. Programs that provide religious training or theological
education, classified as CIP Code 39-series programs, are
not eligible programs.

5. Students enrolled in a declared double-major that
includes an ineligible degree program may receive an
award only for those terms in which the student's
enrollment includes an equal or greater number of courses

required for an eligible major or concentration than the
number of courses enrolled for an ineligible major or
concentration (excludes general education or elective
courses). Exceptions may be made by council based on
circumstances beyond the control of the student.

"First-professional student” means a student enrolled and
program placed in any of the following post-undergraduate
programs: dentistry, medicine, veterinary medicine, or
pharmacy.

"Fiscal year" means the period extending from July 1 to
June 30.

"Formed, chartered, established, or incorporated within the
Commonwealth" means the institution is, and continues to be,
recognized as a domestic or in-state institution under the
council's certification to operate in Virginia and under state
law.

"Full-time student” means a student who is enrolled for at
least 12 credit hours per semester or its equivalent in quarter
hours at the undergraduate level or nine credit hours per
semester or its equivalent in quarter hours at the graduate or
first-professional level. The total hours counted do not
include courses taken for audit, but may include required
developmental, remedial, or prerequisite courses and other
elective for-credit courses that normally are not counted
toward a degree at the institution. For students enrolled in:

1. Nonstandard terms: the full-time enrollment
requirement, as approved by council, will be proportionate
based on the length of the terms, the number of contact
hours, or other measures of comparability with the
institution's normal academic year.

2. Concurrent undergraduate, graduate, or first-professional
courses: the full-time enrollment requirement may be met
by a combination of the total credit hours, providing that
the combination totals at least the minimum credit hours
for full-time status, as described above, for the student's
institutionally recognized student level.

3. Programs leading to a doctoral degree: the full-time
enrollment requirement may be met by enrollment in nine
credit hours per semester or its equivalent in quarter hours
or the minimum full-time enrollment as defined by the
institution, whichever is less.

"Graduate student" means a student enrolled and program-
placed in a master's or doctoral program.

"Nonprofit institution” means an educational institution
operated by one or more nonprofit corporations, and said
institution's earnings are applied solely to the support of said
institution and its educational programs and activities.

"Nonstandard degree program” means a degree program

where the terms of the program do not conform to the
standard terms of the institution's academic year. Nonstandard
programs must be approved by council before students
enrolled in the programs can receive awards.
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"Participating eligible institution” means an eligible
institution that has been approved to participate in the
program by council.

"Principle place of business" means the single state in which
the natural persons who establish policy for the direction,
control, and coordination of the operations of the institution
as a whole primarily exercise that function considering the
following factors:

1. The state in which the primary executive and
administrative offices of the institution are located. The
primary executive and administrative offices are those
most often physically used in the performance of the
executive and administrative functions of the institution;

2. The state in which the principal office of the chief
executive officer of the institution is located. The principal
office of the chief executive officer is the location that is
most often physically occupied by the chief executive
officer when in performance of official institution duties;

3. The state in which the board of trustees or similar
governing person or persons of the institution conducts a
majority of its meetings; and

4. The state from which the overall operations of the
institution are directed in that the institution is not subject
to control or directives from an office, agency, or board
located within another state.

"Program” means the Virginia Tuition Assistance Grant
Program.

"Term" means the fall semester or quarter, winter quarter, or
the spring semester or quarter.

"Undergraduate student” means a student in a program
leading to an associate's or baccalaureate degree or a student
enrolled in an undergraduate teacher certification program.

8VAC40-71-40. Student eligibility.
A. Receipt of application.

1. Applications submitted in person, by facsimile, or by
other electronic means, or postmarked by carrier mail by
the applicable deadline (July 31, September 14, and
December 1) of the academic year may be deemed as
meeting the deadline.

2. If the deadline occurs on a weekend or nonbusiness day
as recognized by the institution or carrier, the application
will be deemed as meeting the respective deadline if the
application is received by the institution by the first
business day following the deadline or postmarked by
carrier mail by the carrier's first business day following the
deadline.

3. Students who submit an application to one institution
but enroll into another may still be considered to have met
the respective deadline if the initial institution can verify
receipt of the application by the deadline.

B. Priority for award. Because funds may not be sufficient to
award all eligible students, students are prioritized based on

prior eligibility (returning students) and date of application
(new students). Below are descriptions of the students in
priority order for receiving an award. Priority students will
receive a full award before students in a subsequent priority
order.

1. Category 1 and 2 students receive priority for an award.

a. Category 1 students: returning students who received
an award in the previous fiscal year, including:

(1) Students returning to their original institution;

(2) Students transferring from another participating
eligible institution; and

(3) Students moving from one degree level to another
within an institution or from another participating
eligible institution.

b. Category 2 students: students submitting a completed
program application by July 31 of the fiscal year who
were:

(1) New and readmitted students who were not enrolled
in the previous fiscal year; or

(2) Returning students who met the domicile
requirements in the previous fiscal year but did not
receive an award due to insufficient funding (Category 3
and 4 students) or because they were not enrolled full
time or otherwise did not meet other award criteria.

2. Category 3 students will be considered for an award if
funds are available after Category 1 and 2 students are
fully funded. Category 3 students are those who submit a
completed application after July 31 but no later than
September 14, including:

a. New and readmitted students who were not enrolled in
the previous fiscal year; or

b. Students enrolled but who did not apply for an award
in the previous fiscal year.

3. Category 4 students will be considered for an award if
funds are available after Category 1, 2, and 3 students are
fully funded.

a. Category 4 students are those who submit a completed
program application after September 14 but no later than
December 1 of the fiscal year and include new and
readmitted students who were not enrolled in the
previous fiscal year.

b. Category 4 students receive spring term only awards.

4. Exceptions are made for students who break enrollment
for military purposes. Students reentering their degree
program within one year of completion of military
responsibilities shall be granted priority, along with
Category 1 students. This exception is for priority purposes
only as the student still must meet all eligibility criteria.
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C. Eligibility criteria. In order to be eligible to receive an
award, the student must:

2. Undergraduate students:
a. Students pursuing an associate's degree shall be limited

1. Be a domiciliary resident of Virginia, as defined by
§23-74 § 23.1-502 of the Code of Virginia, for at least
one year prior to the date of entitlement (first day of
classes for the program in which the student is enrolled) or
eligible under §-23-74-E §23.1-505 of the Code of
Virginia.
2. Enroll in the academic year for which the award is to be
received as a full-time student in an eligible program at a
participating eligible institution.
a. A student's enrollment status shall be determined at the
census date. If a student falls below full time by dropping
or withdrawing from individual courses or withdraws
from the institution after the census date, he shall receive
a prorated award based on the tuition refund policy in
effect at the institution.

b. A graduating student enrolled less than full time for a
term in his final academic year may be eligible to receive
an award if:

(1) The student was enrolled full time and accepted for or
received an award in the immediate preceding academic
year;

(2) The course credits available in the current term
needed to complete degree requirements total less than a
full-time course load; and

(3) The maximum number of years of eligibility has not
been exceeded.

c. Exceptions to the full-time requirement due to a
documented disability or other medical reasons, as
applicable under the federal American's with Disabilities
Act, will be considered on a case-by-case basis.

3. Have complied with federal selective service registration
requirements unless the following apply:
a. The requirement to register has terminated or become
inapplicable to the person; and

b. The person shows by preponderance of the evidence
that failure to register was not a knowing and willful
failure to register.

4. Complete and submit an application for an award by the
published deadline.

5. Not participate in the Virginia Women's Institute for
Leadership at Mary Baldwin College.

to a maximum of two academic years (12 units), or its
equivalent, of support.

b. Students pursuing degrees at the undergraduate level
shall be limited to a combined life-time maximum of four
academic years (24 units), or its equivalent, of support,
inclusive of enrollment in any combination of associate's
or baccalaureate degrees.

c. Students enrolled in teacher certification programs at
the undergraduate level may receive awards if the student
is enrolled full time and has not exhausted eligibility.

3. Post-undergraduate students:

a. Students pursuing degrees at the graduate level shall be
limited to a combined life-time maximum of three
academic years (18 units), or its equivalent, of support.

b. Students pursuing degrees at the first-professional
level shall be limited to a life-time maximum of three
academic years (18 units), or its equivalent, of support,
except for students pursuing medical or pharmacy
degrees who are limited to four academic years (24
units), or its equivalent, of support.

c. In no case should any combination of post-
undergraduate programs exceed four years of support.

4. A student enrolled at multiple institutions may receive
an award if:

a. The home institution is an eligible institution;
b. A formal consortium agreement is in place; and
c. The student's combined enrollment is full time.

If the consortium agreement includes a Virginia public
institution, the award will be prorated based on the
courses for the term not attempted at the Virginia public
institution as a percentage of minimum full-time
enroliment.

5. A student may receive an award under a study abroad
program if:
a. The student is enrolled full time;

b. The student remains on record as an enrolled student
in an otherwise eligible program at a participating
eligible institution for the term in which the award is
received;

c. The program funds are disbursed to the participating

eligible institution; and
d. The overseas program is a formal agreement arranged
by the participating eligible institution.

E. Appeals process.

1. The participating institution makes the student's initial
eligibility determination. If the institution determines that
the student does not meet the domicile requirements, the
institution must notify the student in writing of the
outcome and the availability of the appeals process.

D. Limitations on awards. For administrative purposes, each
academic year shall be comprised of six units of program
eligibility; accordingly, a semester is equivalent to three units
and a quarter is equivalent to two units.

1. If a student receives a partial payment for a semester or
quarter, the student's total eligibility shall be reduced by
one semester (three units) or quarter (two units).
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2. Council shall make final decisions on domicile
eligibility disputes between students and the enrolling
institutions. The appeal process for resolving eligibility
disputes shall consist of a review of the institution's initial
determination by a council staff member. Further student
appeals are subject to a final review by a committee
comprised of three council staff members. No person who
serves at one level of the appeals process shall be eligible
to serve at any other level of review. Timing for
completion of the review is heavily dependent upon the
response time to staff information requests for both the
student and the institution, but typically council staff will
respond within two weeks.

3. Student appeals must be filed in writing with the council
within 30 days of the institution's written notification. If
the outcome of the appeal upholds the institution's initial
determination, the student may file a final appeal within 30
days of the council's written notification.

4. The appeals process is contained in this subsection and
available to the institutions and students online or in print
upon request.

8VAC40-71-50. Award amount.
A. Maximum annual award.

1. Section 23-38:14 23.1-630 of the Code of Virginia
specifies that no annual award shall exceed the annual
average appropriation per full-time equivalent student for
the previous year from the general fund for operating costs
at two-year and four-year public institutions of collegiate
education in Virginia.

2. Council determines the amount of the annual award
based on the number of eligible students and available
funds. In no event shall the actual annual award amount
exceed the maximum limit set forth in the annual
appropriation act or in §23-38:14 § 23.1-630 of the Code
of Virginia.

B. An award received by a student under the program shall

not be reduced by the institution unless:

1. Council authorizes a uniform reduction of the award for
all students because it is determined that the number of
priority students multiplied by the projected annual award
amount exceeds available funds.

2. The award, when combined with all other financial
assistance from any source, including, but not limited to, a
scholarship, grant, tuition waiver, veteran benefits, or
employer reimbursement, exceeds the estimated cost of
attendance at the institution the student attends.

3. The student is enrolled less than the minimum credit
hours as defined under "full-time student™ but falls under
one of the following exceptions:

a. The individual student falls under the enrollment
provisions listed under 8VAC40-71-40 C 2; or

b. The student is a doctoral student taking less than 9
credit hours but declared full-time via institutional
policy.
4. In such cases as described in this subsection, the student
would receive an award prorated on a percentage basis
based on the student's actual tuition charges as compared to
the tuition typically charged by the institution to a full-time
student.

C. When a reduced award is appropriate, all awards should
be rounded to the nearest whole dollar.

D. For purposes of calculating federal Chapter 33 (Post-9/11
Gl Bill) veteran's benefits, this award is not considered to be
solely for the purpose of defraying tuition and fees.
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REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Council of Higher
Education for Virginia is claiming an exemption from Article
2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-
4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes
regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in
Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion is
involved. The State Council of Higher Education for Virginia
will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration
or revision.

Title of Regulation: 8VAC40-131. Virginia Student
Financial Assistance Program Regulations (amending
8VAC40-131-10, 8VAC40-131-30, 8VAC40-131-50,
8VAC40-131-80, 8VAC40-131-110, 8VAC40-131-120,
8VAC40-131-230).

Statutory Authority: § 23.1-636 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: February 20, 2017.

Agency Contact: Lee Ann Rung, Manager, Executive and
Council Affairs, State Council of Higher Education for
Virginia, James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 9th

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2602,
FAX (804) 371-7911, or email leeannrung@schev.edu.

Summary:
The amendments update citations to reflect the

recodification of Title 23 to Title 23.1 of the Code of
Virginia.

Part |
Definitions

8VAC40-131-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

"Academic period" or "semester" means a division of an
academic year approximately 15 to 16 weeks in length from
the first day of classes through the last day of exams for the
fall or spring enrollment periods.
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"Academic year" or "regular session" means a division of an
award year that normally extends from late August to mid
May, consists of the institution's fall and spring semesters,
and is exclusive of the institution's summer session.

"Approved program" means a curriculum of courses in a
certificate of undergraduate study, diploma, or degree
program at the undergraduate, graduate, or first professional
level.

"Award" means a grant from state funds appropriated within
the item for student financial assistance in the annual
Appropriation Act under Virginia Guaranteed Assistance
Program or Commonwealth grant eligibility criteria.

"Award schedule” means the table or formula used by
institutions to award program funds to full-time students for
the academic year; awards for less than full-time students for
the academic year shall be reviewed and adjusted according
to the institution's awarding policies.

"Award year" means the 12-month enrollment period during
which an institution holds classes, comprised of the regular
session and the summer session.

"Book allowance™ means the cost of attendance allowance
for education-related book and supply expenses as determined
by an institution.

"Census date” means the point at which a student's credit
hour enrollment is locked for financial aid purposes. At this
point in the term, credit hours are locked and financial aid for
the term is adjusted to reflect the official number of enrolled
credit hours.

"Commonwealth Award" means a grant from state funds
appropriated within the item for student financial assistance
in the annual Appropriation Act under Commonwealth grant
eligibility criteria.

"Cost of attendance" means the sum of tuition, required fees,
room, board, books, supplies, and other education related
expenses, as determined by an institution for purposes of
calculating a student's financial need and awarding federal
student aid funds.

"Council" means the State Council of Higher Education for
Virginia or its designated staff.

"Domicile Guidelines" means the Domicile Guidelines of
the State Council of Higher Education, dated October 15,
2009, and including Addendum A, dated January 12, 2010,
and Addendum B, dated October 15, 2009.

"Domiciliary resident of Virginia" means a student who is
determined by an institution to meet the eligibility
requirements specified by §23-74 § 23.1-502 of the Code of
Virginia and augmented by the Domicile Guidelines.

"Expected family contribution” or "EFC" means the amount
a student and the student's family is expected to contribute
toward the cost of attendance. A student's EFC will be
determined by the federal aid need analysis method used for
Title IV programs. The institution may exercise professional

judgment to adjust the student's EFC, as permitted under
federal law, based on factors that affect the family's ability to
pay. For students eligible for an award but ineligible to
receive federal financial aid, the institution shall calculate the
student's EFC using the appropriate federal EFC worksheet in
cases where the federal processor has not calculated the
student's EFC.

"Financial need" means any positive difference between a
student's cost of attendance and the student's expected family
contribution (see definition of "remaining need").

"Full-time study" means enrollment for at least 12 credit
hours per term or its equivalent at the undergraduate level and
enrollment for at least nine credit hours per term or its
equivalent at the graduate or first professional level. The total
hours counted will not include courses taken for audit, but
may include required developmental or remedial courses and
other elective courses that normally are not counted toward a
degree at the institution. For students enrolled in a dual or
concurrent undergraduate and graduate program, full-time
study may be met through a combination of total credit hours,
providing that the combination totals at least the minimum
credit hours for full-time status for the student's institutionally
recognized student level.

"Gift assistance” means financial aid in the form of
scholarships, grants, and other sources that do not require
work or repayment.

"Graduate student” means a student enrolled in an approved
master's, doctoral, or first professional degree program.

"Half-time study" means enrollment for at least six credit
hours per term or its equivalent at the undergraduate level.
The total hours counted will not include courses taken for
audit, but may include required developmental or remedial
courses and other elective courses that normally are not
counted toward a certificate, diploma, or degree at the
institution. For undergraduate students enrolled in a dual or
concurrent undergraduate and graduate program, half-time
study may be met through a combination of total credit hours,
providing that the combination totals at least the minimum
credit hours for half-time status for the student's
institutionally recognized student level.

"Institution" or "home institution" means any public
institution of higher education in Virginia participating in the
Virginia Student Financial Assistance Program.

"Program” or "VSFAP" means the Virginia Student
Financial Assistance Program, a financial aid program
authorized within the item for student financial assistance in
the annual Appropriation Act.

"Remaining need" means any positive difference between a
student's financial need and the sum of federal, state, and
institutionally-controlled gift assistance known at the time of
awarding.
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"Satisfactory academic progress" means:

1. Acceptable progress towards completion of an approved
program, as defined by the institution for the purposes of
eligibility for federal student financial aid under the Code
of Federal Regulations (Subpart C, 34 CFR Part 668 -
Student Assistance General Provisions); and

2. For a student receiving a Virginia Guaranteed
Assistance Program award, acceptable progress towards
completion of an approved program in which a student
earns not less than 24 credit hours, which is the minimum
number required for full-time standing in each award year
and maintains a cumulative minimum grade point average
of 2.0.

"Summer session" means a division of an award year that
normally extends from late May to mid August and consists
of one or more summer enrollment periods, exclusive of the
institution's fall and spring semesters.

"Term" means an academic period or summer session.

"Undergraduate student™ means a student enrolled in an
approved program leading to a certificate of undergraduate
study, diploma, associate's degree, or bachelor's degree.

"VGAP" means a grant from state funds appropriated for the
Virginia Guaranteed Assistance Program, as authorized by
the laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia including §8-23-
38.53:4,23-38.53:5—and-23-38.53:6 8§ 23.1-636, 23.1-637,
and 23.1-638 of the Code of Virginia.

8VAC40-131-30. Types of assistance.

A. Funds allocated to institutions within the item for student
financial assistance in the annual Appropriation Act may be
used for:

1. Awards to undergraduate students enrolled for at least
half-time study;

2. Awards to graduate students enrolled for full-time study.
No more than 50% of the institution's graduate grants shall
be awarded to students not classified as a domiciliary
resident of Virginia,;

3. Awards to students enrolled for full-time study in a dual
or concurrent undergraduate and graduate program;

4. Assistantships to graduate students, funds for which
must be transferred to the education and general account;

5. Providing the required matching contribution to federal
or private student grant aid programs, except for programs
requiring work; and

6. Supporting institutional work-study programs, funds for
which must be transferred to the education and general
account.

B. A student may receive either a VGAP award, an
undergraduate Commonwealth Award, or a graduate
Commonwealth Award during any one term (i.e., a student
may not receive two or more different types of awards during
the same term).

C. The provisions of this chapter shall not apply to:

1. Soil scientist scholarships authorized by §23-383
8§ 23.1-615 of the Code of Virginia;

2. Foster children grants authorized by §23-7.4:5 § 23.1-
601 of the Code of Virginia;

3. Nongeneral funds allocated to institutions within the
item for student financial assistance in the annual
Appropriation Act, except for the satisfactory academic
progress requirement; or

4. General funds allocated to institutions within the item
for student financial assistance in the annual Appropriation
Act that are used to support a work-study program, except
for the financial need requirement.

8VAC40-131-50. Award schedule and award amount
restrictions.

A. Institutions shall construct award schedules to determine
priority for and amount of awards, ensuring that the schedule
conforms to the conditions and restrictions listed in this
subsection.

1. The institution:
a. Must define its neediest students;

b. Must use the same award schedule for all students
whose awards are packaged at the same time;

c. Must ensure that students eligible for Commonwealth
Awards and students eligible for VGAP awards are
packaged at the same time using the same award
schedule;

d. Shall not include the assessed tuition and fee surcharge
when calculating the remaining need and financial need
of students exceeding 125% of their program length,
pursuant to subseectionof8§-23-74 § 23.1-509 of the
Code of Virginia,;

e. For students enrolled at multiple institutions or in
study abroad programs, shall include as the tuition and
required fee component of the cost of attendance the
lesser of the amount that would be charged by the home
institution for the student's combined enrollment level
and the sum of actual tuition and required fees assessed
by each institution;

f. May include minimum award amounts for VGAP and
Commonwealth Awards; and

g. May construct a new award schedule based on the time
of packaging and available funds; however, for students
whose awards are packaged at the same time, the same
schedule shall be used.

2. Award amounts must be:
a. Based on remaining need; and

b. Proportional to remaining need (i.e., students with
greater remaining need receive larger award amounts
than students with lesser remaining need).
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3. VGAP-eligible students:

a. Must receive award amounts greater than
Commonwealth Award-eligible students with equivalent
remaining need;

b. Who fall into the neediest category must receive an
award amount of at least the tuition charged to the
individual student; and

c. Who fall into the neediest category may receive an
award amount of up to tuition, required fees, and book
allowance.

4. Commonwealth Award-eligible students who fall into
the neediest category may receive an award amount of up
to tuition and required fees.

5. Two-year colleges electing to modify their award
schedules must:

a. Define "remaining need" as (i) any positive difference
between a student's cost of attendance and the student's
expected family contribution or (ii) the financial need
determined by the U.S. Department of Education and
reflected in its payment schedule of EFC ranges for the
Federal Pell Grant program;

b. Construct an award schedule that is based on
remaining need and the combination of federal and state
grant aid; and

c. Include a minimum award amount for the neediest
VGAP-eligible student.

B. The following award amount restrictions apply to awards:

1. An award under the program, when combined with other
gift assistance applied to the student’s institutional account,
shall not exceed the student's financial need. For purposes
of the over financial need calculation, only the tuition and
fee portion of veterans education benefits and national
service education awards or post-service benefits (e.g.,
AmeriCorps) shall be included.

2. An undergraduate Commonwealth Award, when
combined with tuition-only assistance such as a tuition
waiver, tuition scholarship or grant, or employer tuition
reimbursement, shall not exceed the student's actual
charges for tuition and required fees; a VGAP award, when
combined with tuition-only assistance such as a tuition
waiver, tuition scholarship or grant, or employer tuition
reimbursement, shall not exceed the student's actual
charges for tuition, required fees, and standard book
allowance.

Article 2
Commonwealth Awards

8VAC40-131-80. Undergraduate eligibility criteria for an
initial award.

In order to participate, an undergraduate student shall:

1. Be enrolled for at least half-time study as of the term's
census date;

2. Be a domiciliary resident of Virginia;

3. Be a United States citizen or eligible noncitizen as
described in 823-%4 § 23.1-502 of the Code of Virginia
and augmented by the Domicile Guidelines;

4. Demonstrate financial need for federal Title IV financial
aid purposes; and

5. Have complied with federal selective service registration
requirements, unless the following apply:

a. The requirement to register has terminated or become
inapplicable to the student; and

b. The student shows by preponderance of the evidence
that failure to register was not a knowing and willful
failure to register.
Article 3
Virginia Guaranteed Assistance Program Awards

8VAC40-131-110. VGAP eligibility criteria for an initial
award.

In order to participate, an undergraduate student shall:

1. Be enrolled for full-time study as of the term's census
date. Exceptions to the full-time study requirement due to
documented disability or other documented medical
reasons, as applicable under the federal Americans with
Disabilities Act, 42 USC §12101 et seq., will be
considered on a case-by-case basis by the institution;
supporting documentation must include a physician's note
specifying the full-time equivalent for the student. Such
students shall receive an adjusted award amount
determined according to the institution's awarding policies;

2. Be a domiciliary resident of Virginia;

3. Be a United States citizen or eligible noncitizen as
described in 823-%4 § 23.1-502 of the Code of Virginia
and augmented by the Domicile Guidelines;

4. Demonstrate financial need for federal Title IV financial
aid purposes;
5. Be a graduate from a Virginia high school; students
obtaining a General Educational Development (GED)
certificate are not eligible. Exceptions are granted for
students who:

a. Are dependent children of active-duty military
personnel residing outside the Commonwealth of
Virginia pursuant to military orders and claiming
Virginia on their State of Legal Residence Certificate and
satisfying the domicile requirements for such active duty
military personnel pursuant to subsection-B-of §23-7.4
§ 23.1-502 of the Code of Virginia;

b. Have completed a program of home school instruction
in accordance with § 22.1-254.1 of the Code of Virginia;
or

c. Have been excused from school attendance pursuant to
subsection B of § 22.1-254 of the Code of Virginia.
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6. For a high school graduate, have at least a cumulative
2.5 grade point average (GPA) on a 4.0 scale, or its
equivalent, at the time of admission to the institution or
according to the latest available high school transcript. In
the absence of a high school transcript indicating the grade
point average, the institution must have on file a letter from
the student's high school certifying the student's high
school GPA,;

7. For a student meeting the high school graduate
exception in subdivision 5 b or 5 ¢ of this subsection, have
earned SAT math and verbal combined scores of 900 or
above or have earned ACT composite scores of 19 or
above;

8. Be classified as a dependent student for federal financial
aid purposes; and

9. Have complied with federal selective service registration
requirements, unless the following apply:

a. The requirement to register has terminated or become
inapplicable to the student; and

b. The student shows by preponderance of the evidence
that failure to register was not a knowing and willful
failure to register.

8VAC40-131-120. Renewability of awards.

A. Awards for students attending two-year colleges may be
renewed for one award year while awards for students
attending four-year colleges may be renewed for three award
years. Students shall be limited to a cumulative total of four
award years of eligibility.

Awards may be renewed annually provided that the
undergraduate student:

1. Continues to be enrolled for full-time study as of the
term's census date;

2. Maintains domiciliary residency in Virginia;
3. Continues to be a United States citizen or eligible

noncitizen as described in §23-74 § 23.1-502 of the Code
of Virginia and augmented by the Domicile Guidelines;

4. Demonstrates continued financial need for federal Title
IV financial aid purposes;

5. Maintains at least a 2.0 grade point average on a 4.0
scale, or its equivalent;

6. Maintains satisfactory academic progress;

7. Maintains continuous enrollment from the time of
receipt of the initial award unless granted an exception for
cause by the council.

a. Continuous enrollment shall be recognized as
enrollment for full-time study in each academic period,;
lack of enrollment in the summer session or other special
sessions offered by the institution does not disqualify the
student.

b. A student participating in a cooperative education
program or internship that is part of his academic

program and a student whose college education is
interrupted by a call to military service shall be deemed
to have maintained continuous enrollment if he reenrolls
no later than the following fall semester after completion
of such employment or military service; and

8. Has complied with federal selective service registration
requirements, unless the following apply:

a. The requirement to register has terminated or become
inapplicable to the student; and

b. The student shows by preponderance of the evidence
that failure to register was not a knowing and willful
failure to register.

B. VGAP renewal awards are subject to the following
special considerations:

1. Students who transfer to an institution shall be
considered renewal students if they received or were
eligible for an award during the prior academic period
provided they meet renewal criteria.

2. Students who do not initially receive a VGAP award
may be considered for renewal awards provided that they
meet initial eligibility criteria and continue to meet renewal
criteria. Once a student loses his classification as VGAP-
eligible, the student cannot reestablish such eligibility.
However, the student may qualify for a Commonwealth
Award the following term.

8VACA40-131-230. Discontinuing student loan programs.

A. If any federal student loan program for which the
institutional contribution was appropriated by the General
Assembly is discontinued, the institutional share of the
discontinued loan program shall be repaid to the fund from
which the institutional share was derived unless other
arrangements are recommended by the council and approved
by the Department of Planning and Budget. Should the
institution be permitted to retain the federal contributions to
the program, the funds shall be used according to
arrangements authorized by the council and approved by the
Department of Planning and Budget.

B. An institution may discontinue its student loan program
established pursuant to Chapter4.01-{§23-38.10:2 et seq-)-of
Fitle—23 8§§23.1-618 through 23.1-621 of the Code of
Virginia. The full amount of cash in the discontinued loan
fund shall be paid into the state treasury into a nonrevertible
nongeneral fund account. Prior to such payment, the State
Comptroller shall verify its accuracy, including the fact that
the cash held by the institution in the loan fund will be fully
depleted by such payment. The loan fund shall not be
reestablished for that institution.

C. The cash paid into the state treasury shall be used only
for awards to undergraduate students in the Virginia Student
Financial Assistance Program according to arrangements
authorized by the council and approved by the Department of
Planning and Budget. Payments of any promissory notes held
by the discontinued loan fund shall continue to be received by
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the institution and deposited to the nonrevertible nongeneral
fund account and to be used for the VGAP awards and
undergraduate Commonwealth Awards.

VAR. Doc. No. R17-4848; Filed January 30, 2017, 10:04 a.m.

Final Regulation

3. Enrolled full time or part time in an eligible course of
study.
VAR. Doc. No. R17-4849; Filed January 30, 2017, 10:04 a.m.

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Council of Higher

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Council of Higher
Education for Virginia is claiming an exemption from Article
2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-
4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes
regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in
Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion is
involved. The State Council of Higher Education for Virginia
will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration
or revision.

Education for Virginia is claiming an exemption from Article
2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-
4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes
regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in
Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion is
involved. The State Council of Higher Education for Virginia
will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration
or revision.

Title of Regulation: 8VAC40-140. Virginia Vocational
Incentive Scholarship Program for Shipyard Workers
Regulations (amending 8VAC40-140-20, 8VAC40-140-40).
Statutory Authority: § 23.1-2912 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: February 20, 2017.

Agency Contact: Lee Ann Rung, Manager, Executive and
Council Affairs, State Council of Higher Education for
Virginia, James Monroe Building 101 North 14th Street, 9th

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2602,
FAX (804) 371-7911, or email leeannrung@schev.edu.
Summary:
The amendments update citations to reflect the
recodification of Title 23 to Title 23.1 of the Code of
Virginia.

8VAC40-140-20. Use of funds.

A. The college shall establish and maintain financial records
that accurately reflect all program transactions as they occur.
The college shall establish and maintain general ledger
control accounts and related subsidiary accounts that identify
each program transaction and separate those transactions from
all other institutional financial activity.

B. Funds may be paid to the college on behalf of shipyard
workers who have been awarded scholarships pursuant to
§23-220.01 § 23.1-2912 of the Code of Virginia and this
chapter. Funds also may be used by the college for the
implementation and administration of the program. Funds
used by the college to implement and administer the program
shall not exceed in any given year 5.0% of that year's
allocation for the program.

8VACA40-140-40. Eligibility
scholarship.
In order to receive a scholarship, the student must be:

1. A domiciliary resident of Virginia as defined in §23-74
§ 23.1-502 of the Code of Virginia and determined by the
college,

2. Employed full time as a shipyard worker, and

criteria for an initial

Title of Regulation: 8VAC40-150. Virginia Two-Year
College Transfer Grant Program Regulations (amending
8VAC40-150-10, 8VAC40-150-70).

Statutory Authority: § 23.1-623 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: February 20, 2017.

Agency Contact: Lee Ann Rung, Manager, Executive and
Council Affairs, State Council of Higher Education for
Virginia, James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 9th
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2602,
FAX (804) 371-7911, or email leeannrung@schev.edu.

Summary:
The amendments update citations and remove the 70
attempted credit hours limitation for students renewing
grant program awards to reflect changes made by the
recodification of Title 23 to Title 23.1 of the Code of
Virginia.

8VAC40-150-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly

indicates otherwise:

"Academic year" means the enroliment period that normally
extends from late August to May or early June and that is
normally comprised of two semesters (fall and spring) or
three quarters (fall, winter, and spring).

"Accredited institution” means any institution approved to
confer degrees pursuant to Chapter21-1(§23-276.1et-seq-)
of Fitle-23 Article 3 (8§ 23.1-213 et seq.) of Chapter 2 of Title
23.1 of the Code of Virginia.

"Approved course of study" means a curriculum of courses
at the undergraduate level leading to a first bachelor's degree.
Programs in the 39.xxxx series, as classified in the National
Center for Education Statistics' Classification of Instructional
Programs (CIP), provide religious training or theological
education and are not approved courses of study.

"Award" means a grant from state funds appropriated for the
Virginia Two-Year College Transfer Grant Program (CTG).
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"Award year" means the 12-month enrollment period during
which a college or university holds classes, normally
comprised of (i) one fall semester, one spring semester, and a
summer session or (ii) one fall quarter, one winter quarter,
one spring quarter, and a summer session. For purposes of
awarding funds for this program, the summer will be treated
as a trailing term.

"Cost of attendance" means the sum of tuition, required fees,
room, board, books and supplies, and other education-related
expenses as determined by an institution for purposes of
awarding federal Title IV student financial assistance.

"Council" means the State Council of Higher Education for
Virginia or its designated staff.

"Domiciliary resident of Virginia" means a student who is
determined by a participating institution to meet the eligibility
requirements specified by §23-74 § 23.1-502 of the Code of
Virginia.

"Expected family contribution” or "EFC" means the amount
a student and the student's family is expected to contribute
toward the cost of college attendance. The EFC is calculated
using information provided on the Free Application for
Federal Student Aid. The institution may exercise
professional judgment to adjust the student's EFC, as
permitted under federal law, based on factors that affect the
family's ability to pay.

"Financial need" means a maximum expected family
contribution of $8,000 based on a standard nine-month
academic year. Beginning with students who are entering a
participating institution as a two-year transfer student for the
first time in the fall 2012 academic year, and who otherwise
meet the eligibility criteria of §23-38-10:10 § 23.1-624 of the
Code of Virginia, the maximum EFC is raised to $9,000.
Beginning with students who are entering a participating
institution as a two-year transfer student for the first time in
the fall 2013 academic year, and who otherwise meet the
eligibility criteria of §23-38-10:10 8§ 23.1-624 of the Code of
Virginia, the maximum EFC is raised to $12,000.

"First-time entering freshman™ means a student attending
any institution for the first time at the undergraduate level.
Includes students enrolled in the fall term who attended
college for the first time in the immediate prior summer term.
Also includes students who entered with advanced standing
(college credits earned before high school graduation).

"Free Application for Federal Student Aid" or "FAFSA"
means the needs analysis form provided by the United States
Department of Education, which is completed annually by
students applying for federal Title IV student financial
assistance and need-based financial aid programs sponsored
by the Commonwealth of Virginia and that results in the
calculation of the expected family contribution.

"Full-time study" means enrollment for at least 12 credit
hours per semester or its equivalent in quarter hours at the
undergraduate level. The total hours counted will not include

courses taken for audit, but may include required
developmental or remedial courses and other elective courses
that normally are not counted toward a degree at the
participating institution.

"Participating institution of higher education" or
"participating institution" means a four-year public or private
nonprofit accredited institution within the Commonwealth of
Virginia whose primary purpose is to provide undergraduate
collegiate education and not to provide religious training or
theological education.

"Program” means the Virginia Two-Year College Transfer
Grant.

"Quarter" means a division of an academic year
approximately 10 to 11 weeks in length from the first day of
classes through the last day of exams for the fall, winter, and
spring enrollment periods.

"Satisfactory academic progress” means acceptable progress
towards completion of an approved course of study as defined
by the institution for the purposes of eligibility under § 668 of

the Federal Compilation of Student Financial Aid
Regulations.
"Semester" means a division of an academic year

approximately 15 to 16 weeks in length from the first day of
classes through the last day of exams for the fall and spring
enrollment periods.

"Student” means an undergraduate student who is entitled to
in-state tuition charges pursuant to §23-#4 § 23.1-502 of the
Code of Virginia.

"Summer session" means a division of an award year
consisting of one or more summer sessions normally
extending from late May to August, exclusive of the
participating institution's fall, winter, and spring terms.

"Term" means the fall semester or quarter, winter quarter,
spring semester or quarter, or summer session.

8VAC40-150-70. Renewability of awards.
Awards may be renewed for a maximum of two award
years. Students shall be limited to a total period of no more

than three award years er70-attempted-credit-hours. Awards
may be renewed provided that the student continues to be
enrolled full-time in an approved course of study, maintains
domicile in Virginia per §23-%4 § 23.1-502 of the Code of
Virginia, and annually:
1. Applies for financial aid by completing the FAFSA by
the institution's published deadline;

2. Demonstrates continued financial need;

3. Maintains a grade point average of at least 3.0 on a 4.0
scale; and

4. Maintains satisfactory academic progress.
Students transferring from one participating institution to
another shall be considered renewal students if they received

an award during the prior year provided they met renewal
criteria.
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Students who do not initially receive an award may be
considered for renewal awards provided that they meet initial
eligibility criteria and continue to meet renewal criteria.

Once a student loses his classification as CTG-eligible, the
student cannot reestablish such eligibility.

VAR. Doc. No. R17-4850; Filed January 30, 2017, 10:05 a.m.

* *

TITLE 12. HEALTH

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH

Final Regulation

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-412. Regulations for
Licensure of Abortion Facilities (amending 12VAC5-412-
10, 12VAC5-412-80, 12VAC5-412-100, 12VAC5-412-130,
12VAC5-412-180, 12VAC5-412-190, 12VAC5-412-200,
12VAC5-412-220, 12VAC5-412-230, 12VAC5-412-240,
12VAC5-412-250, 12VAC5-412-280, 12VAC5-412-290,
12VAC5-412-300, 12VAC5-412-320, 12VAC5-412-330,
12VAC5-412-350, 12VAC5-412-370; repealing 12VACS-
412-30, 12VAC5-412-360).

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-127 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: March 22, 2017.

Agency Contact: Erik Bodin, Director, Office of Licensure
and Certification, Department of Health, 9960 Mayland
Drive, Suite 401, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

2109, FAX (804) 527-4502, or email
erik.bodin@vdh.virginia.gov.
Summary:

The amendments (i) modify defined terms; (ii) add best
practices for medical testing, laboratory services, and
anesthesia services; (iii) align the emergency services
requirements more specifically with medical best
practices; (iv) modify the facility design and construction
requirements; (v) make minor technical amendments; (vi)
modify onsite inspection provisions; (vii) remove the
reference to the Joint Commission Standards of
Ambulatory Care for patient rights and responsibility
protocols; (viii) remove the reference to certain federal
guidelines for infection prevention plans; (ix) remove
maintenance and firefighting equipment and systems
requirements that are already addressed by existing legal
requirements; (x) specify that all construction of new
buildings and additions or major renovations to existing
buildings for occupancy as an abortion facility shall
conform to state and local codes and ordinances; (xi)
conform allowable variance provisions to the hospital
licensure regulations; (xii) prohibit removal of copies of
personnel records from the facility unless redacted; (xiii)
remove the requirement that a physician remain on the
premises until the last patient is discharged and the
requirement that the physician give a discharge order;

(xiv) amend the definition of first trimester of pregnancy;
(xv) require facilities to offer screening for sexually
transmitted diseases or at a minimum refer patients to
clinics that provide such testing as well as requiring that
facilities have policies and procedures for patient
reevaluation in the event that tissue examination is
insufficient to confirm termination of the pregnancy; (xvi)
remove specific conditions for which emergency drugs
must be available; (xvii) require health information
records to include certain information if medically
indicated; (xviii) remove the requirement to report
incidents that are reported to malpractice insurance
carriers or reported in compliance with the federal Safe
Medical Devices Act; and (xix) remove the requirement
that facilities have policies and procedures related to
facility security and the dissemination of safety
information.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.

Part |
Definitions and Requirements for Licensure

12VAC5-412-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this regulation
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

"Abortion" means the use of an instrument, medicine, drug,
or other substance or device with the intent to terminate the
pregnancy of a woman, known to be pregnant, for reasons
other than a live birth or to remove a dead fetus. Spontaneous
miscarriage is excluded from this definition.

"Abortion facility" means a facility in which five or more
first trimester abortions per month are performed.

"Administrator* means the person appointed by the
governing body as having responsibility for the overall
management of the abortion facility. Job titles may include
director, executive director, office manager, or business
manager.

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner.
"Department" means the Virginia Department of Health.
Hicensed physician [ as determined-in-compliance with 5-18-2-
#6-of the Code-of Virginia: |

"Informed written consent” means the knowing and
voluntary written consent to abortion by a pregnant woman of
any age in accordance with § 18.2-76 of the Code of Virginia.

"Licensee" means the person, partnership, corporation,
association, organization, or professional entity who owns or
on whom rests the ultimate responsibility and authority for
the conduct of the abortion facility.
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intent toproduce-abortion: |

"Minor" means a patient under the age of 18.

"Patient" means any person seeking or obtaining services at
an abortion facility.

"Physician" means a person licensed to practice medicine in
Virginia.

"Spontaneous miscarriage” means the expulsion or
extraction of a product of human conception resulting in other
than a live birth and which is not an abortion.

[ " H H (1] H

Surgical aROFtioR"—iMeans—any abeltle. '. eau_seel Dy-—any
heans .9“ eF than SG!E“ b.’ the—admi istratiol ot any

II.EdIGaFIGIFG esheaue. 5 an_el to—a we:la II the _I]' st

12VAC5-412-30. Classification: (Repealed.)

ion_faciliti hall lassified ‘
hospitak
[ 12VAC5-412-80. Allowable variances.

A. Upon the finding that the enforcement of one or more of
these regulations would be clearly impractical, the
commissioner _shall have the authority to waive, either
temporarily or permanently, the enforcement of one or more
of these requlations, provided safety and patient care and
services are not adversely affected.

B. Modification of any individual standard herein for any
purpose shall require advance written approval from the OLC.

12VAC5-412-100. On-site inspection.

A. An OLC representative shall make periodic unannounced
on-site inspections of each abortion facility as necessary, but
not less often than biennially. If the department finds, after
inspection, noncompliance with any provision of this chapter,
the abortion facility shall receive a written licensing report of
such findings. The abortion facility shall submit a written
plan of correction in accordance with provisions of 12VAC5-
412-110.

B. The abortion facility shall make available to the OLC's
representative any requested records and shall allow access to
interview the agents, employees, contractors, and any person
under the abortion facility's control, direction, or supervision.
If copies of records are removed from the premises, patient
names and addresses contained in such records shall be
redacted by the abortion facility before removal.

12VAC5-412-130. Violation of this chapter or applicable
law; denial, revocation, or suspension of license.

A. When the department determines that an abortion facility
is (i) in violation of any-provision-of-Article 1 (§-32.1-123 et
seq)—of Chapter 5—of Title 321 § 32.1-125.01, 32.1-125.4,
[ 323-132; 0r] 32.1-135.2 [ 6+-32.2-137.01 ] of the Code of
Virginia or of any applicable regulation; or (ii) is permitting,
aiding, or abetting the commission of any illegal act in the
abortion facility, the department may deny, suspend, or
revoke the license to operate an abortion facility in
accordance with § 32.1-135 of the Code of Virginia.

B. If a license or certification is revoked as herein provided,
a new license or certification may be issued by the
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commissioner after satisfactory evidence is submitted to him
that the conditions upon which revocation was based have
been corrected and after proper inspection has been made and
compliance with alprovisions—of-Article1-of Chapter 5-of
Fitle 32:1 8§ 32.1-125.01, 32.1-125.4, [ 32:2-432; and ] 32.1-
135.2 [ —or32.1-137.01 ] of the Code of Virginia and
applicable state and federal law and regulations hereunder has
been obtained.

C. Suspension of a license shall in all cases be for an
indefinite time. The commissioner may restore a suspended
license when he determines that the conditions upon which
suspension was based have been corrected and that the
interests of the public will not be jeopardized by resumption
of operation. No additional fee shall be required for restoring
such license.

D. The abortion facility has the right to contest the denial,
revocation, or suspension of a license in accordance with the
provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et
seq. of the Code of Virginia).

[ 12VAC5-412-180. Personnel.

A. Each abortion facility shall have a staff that is adequately
trained and capable of providing appropriate service and
supervision to patients. The abortion facility shall develop,
implement, and maintain policies and procedures to ensure
and document appropriate staffing by licensed clinicians
based on the level, intensity, and scope of services provided.

B. The abortion facility shall obtain written applications for
employment from all staff. The abortion facility shall obtain
and verify information on the application as to education,
training, experience, and appropriate professional licensure, if
applicable.

C. Each abortion facility shall obtain a criminal history
record check pursuant to § 32.1-126.02 of the Code of
Virginia on any compensated employee not licensed by the
Board of Pharmacy, whose job duties provide access to
controlled substances within the abortion facility.

D. The abortion facility shall develop, implement, and
maintain policies and procedures to document that its staff
participate in initial and ongoing training and education that
is directly related to staff duties and appropriate to the level,
intensity, and scope of services provided. This shall include
documentation of annual participation in fire safety and
infection prevention in-service training.

E. Job descriptions.
1. Written job descriptions that adequately describe the
duties of every position shall be maintained.
2. Each job description shall include position title,
authority, specific  responsibilities, and minimum
qualifications.
3. Job descriptions shall be reviewed at least annually, kept

current, and given to each employee and volunteer when
assigned to the position and when revised.

F. A personnel file shall be maintained for each staff
member. The records shall be completely and accurately
documented, readily available, including by electronic means
and systematically organized to facilitate the compilation and
retrieval of information. The file shall contain a current job
description that reflects the individual's responsibilities and
work assignments, and documentation of the person's in-
service education, and professional licensure, if applicable.

G. Personnel policies and procedures shall include, but not
be limited to:

1. Written job descriptions that specify authority,
responsibility, —and qualifications for each job
classification;

2. Process for verifying current professional licensing or
certification and training of employees or independent
contractors;

3. Process for annually evaluating employee performance
and competency;

4. Process for verifying that contractors and their
employees meet the personnel qualifications of the
abortion facility; and

5. Process for reporting licensed and certified health care
practitioners for violations of their licensing or certification
standards to the appropriate board within the Department
of Health Professions.

H. A personnel file shall be maintained for each staff
member. Personnel record information shall be safeguarded
against loss and unauthorized use. Employee health related
information shall be maintained separately within the
employee's personnel file. Unless redacted, copies of
personnel files shall not be removed from the premises.

12VAC5-412-190. Clinical staff.

A. Physicians and nonphysician health care practitioners
shall constitute the clinical staff. Clinical privileges of
physician and nonphysician health care practitioners shall be
clearly defined.

B. Abortions shall be performed by physicians who are
licensed to practice medicine in Virginia and who are
qualified by training and experience to perform abortions.
The abortion facility shall develop, implement, and maintain
policies and procedures to ensure and document that
abortions that occur in the abortion facility are only
performed by physicians who are qualified by training and
experience.

C. A physician shall remain on the premises until all patients

are medically stablesign-the-discharge-order—and-bereadily
available-and-accessible—untH-thelast-patient-is—discharged.

Licensed health care practitioners trained in post-procedure
assessment shall remain on the premises until the last patient

has been discharged. The-physician—shall-give—adischarge
order-after assessing-a-patient-orreceiving-a-report-from-such

trained-health-care-practitioner-indicating-that a-patientis-safe
for-discharge- The abortion facility shall develop, implement,
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and maintain policies and procedures that ensure there is an
appropriate evaluation of medical stability prior to discharge
of the patient and that adeguate adequately trained health care
practitioners remain with the patient until she is discharged
from the abortion facility.

D. Licensed practical nurses, working under direct
supervision and direction of a physician or a registered nurse,
may be employed as components of the clinical staff.

12VAC5-412-200. Patients' rights.

A. Each abortion facility shall establish a protocol relating to
the rights and responsibilities of patients consistent-with-the
Ambulatory—Care. The protocol shall include a process
reasonably designed to inform patients of their rights and
responsibilities, in a language or manner they understand.
Patients shall be given a copy of their rights and
responsibilities upon admission.

B. The abortion facility shall establish and maintain
complaint handling procedures which specify the:

1. System for logging receipt, investigation, and resolution
of complaints; and

2. Format of the written record of the findings of each
complaint investigated.

C. The abortion facility shall designate staff responsible for
complaint resolution, including:

1. Complaint intake, including acknowledgment of
complaints;

2. Investigation of the complaint;

3. Review of the investigation findings and resolution for
the complaint; and

4. Notification to the complainant of the proposed
resolution within 30 days from the date of receipt of the
complaint.

D. Any patient seeking an abortion shall be given a copy of
the complaint procedures, in a language or manner she
understands, at the time of admission to service.

E. The abortion facility shall provide each patient or her
designee with the name, mailing address, and telephone
number of the:

1. Abortion facility contact person; and

2. OLC Complaint Unit, including the toll-free complaint
hotline number. Patients may submit complaints
anonymously to the OLC. The abortion facility shall
display a copy of this information in a conspicuous place.
F. The abortion facility shall maintain documentation of all
complaints received and the status of each complaint from
date of receipt through its final resolution. Records shall be
maintained for no less than three years.

12VAC5-412-220. Infection prevention.

A. The abortion facility shall have an infection prevention
plan that encompasses the entire abortion facility and all

services provided;-and-which-is-consistent-with-the provisions
: - £ "G foct] A

Prevention. An individual with training and expertise in
infection prevention shall participate in the development of
infection prevention policies and procedures and shall review
them to assure they comply with applicable regulations and
standards.

1. The process for development, implementation, and
maintenance of infection prevention policies and
procedures and the regulations or guidance documents on
which they are based shall be documented.

2. All infection prevention policies and procedures shall be
reviewed at least annually by the administrator and
appropriate members of the clinical staff. The annual
review process and recommendations for changes/updates
shall be documented in writing.

3. A designated person in the abortion facility shall have
received training in basic infection prevention, and shall
also be involved in the annual review.

B. Written infection prevention policies and procedures shall
include, but not be limited to:

1. Procedures for screening incoming patients and visitors
for acute infectious illnesses and applying appropriate
measures to prevent transmission of community-acquired
infection within the abortion facility;

2. Training of all personnel in proper infection prevention
techniques;

3. Correct hand-washing technique, including indications
for use of soap and water and use of alcohol-based hand
rubs;

4. Use of standard precautions;

5. Compliance with bloodborne pathogen requirements of
the U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration;

6. Use of personal protective equipment;
7. Use of safe injection practices;

8. Plans for annual retraining of all personnel in infection
prevention methods;

9. Procedures for monitoring staff adherence to
recommended infection prevention practices; and

10. Procedures for documenting annual retraining of all
staff in recommended infection prevention practices.

C. Written policies and procedures for the management of
the abortion facility, equipment, and supplies shall address
the following:

1. Access to hand-washing equipment and adequate
supplies (e.g., soap, alcohol-based hand rubs, disposable
towels or hot air driers);
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2. Availability of utility sinks, cleaning supplies, and other
materials for cleaning, disposal, storage, and transport of
equipment and supplies;

3. Appropriate storage for cleaning agents (e.g., locked
cabinets or rooms for chemicals used for cleaning) and
product-specific instructions for use of cleaning agents
(e.g., dilution, contact time, management of accidental
exposures);

4. Procedures for handling, storing, and transporting clean
linens, clean/sterile supplies, and equipment;

5. Procedures for handling/temporary storage/transport of
soiled linens;

6. Procedures for handling, storing, processing, and
transporting regulated medical waste in accordance with
applicable regulations;

7. Procedures for the processing of each type of reusable
medical equipment between uses on different patients. The
procedure  shall  address: (i) the level of
cleaning/disinfection/sterilization to be used for each type
of equipment; (ii) the process (e.g., cleaning, chemical
disinfection, heat sterilization); and (iii) the method for
verifying that  the recommended level of
disinfection/sterilization has been achieved. The procedure
shall reference the manufacturer's recommendations and
any applicable state or national infection control
guidelines;

8. Procedures for appropriate disposal of nonreusable
equipment;

9. Policies and procedures for maintenance/repair of
equipment in accordance with manufacturer
recommendations;

10. Procedures for cleaning of environmental surfaces with
appropriate cleaning products;

11. An effective pest control program, managed in
accordance with local health and environmental
regulations; and

12. Other infection prevention procedures necessary to
prevent/control transmission of an infectious agent in the
abortion facility as recommended or required by the
department.

D. The abortion facility shall have an employee health
program that includes:

1. Access to recommended vaccines;
2. Procedures for assuring that employees with
communicable diseases are identified and prevented from
work activities that could result in transmission to other
personnel or patients;
3. An exposure control plan for bloodborne pathogens;
4. Documentation of screening and immunizations
offered/received by employees in accordance with statute,
regulation, or recommendations of public health

authorities, including documentation of screening for
tuberculosis and access to hepatitis B vaccine; and

5. Compliance with requirements of the U.S. Occupational
Safety and Health Administration for reporting of
workplace-associated injuries or exposure to infection.

E. The abortion facility shall develop, implement, and
maintain policies and procedures for the following patient
education, follow up, and reporting activities:

1. A procedure for surveillance, documentation, and
tracking of reported infections; and

2. Policies and procedures for reporting conditions to the
local health department in accordance with the Regulations
for Disease Reporting and Control (12VAC5-90),
including outbreaks of disease. ]

Part IV
Patient Care Management

12VAC5-412-230. Patient services; patient counseling.

A. Abortions performed in abortion facilities shall be
performed only on patients who are within the first trimester
of pregnancy based-on—an-appropriate—chinical-estimate-bya
Hicensed-physician [ as-determined-in-comphance-with-§-18.-2-
#6-of the Code-of- Virginia meaning 13 weeks and 6 days after
last menstrual period or based on an appropriate clinical
estimate by a licensed health care provider ].

B. No person may perform an abortion upon an
unemancipated minor unless informed written consent is
obtained from the minor and the minor's parent, guardian, or
other authorized person. [ Fhe-informed-written-consent-shall
be—notarized—as—reguired—by—8-16-1-241 of the Code—of
Virginia: ] If the unemancipated minor elects not to seek the
informed written consent of an authorized person, a copy of
the court order authorizing the abortion entered pursuant to
§ 16.1-241 of the Code of Virginia shall be obtained prior to
the performance of the abortion.

C. A physician shall not perform an abortion without first
obtaining the informed written consent of the patient pursuant
to the provisions of § 18.2-76 of the Code of Virginia.

D. When abortions are being performed, a staff member
currently certified to perform cardiopulmonary resuscitation
shall be available on site for emergency care.

E. The abortion facility shall offer each patient seeking an
abortion, in a language or manner she understands,
appropriate counseling and instruction in the abortion
procedure and shall develop, implement, and maintain
policies and procedures for the provision of or referral for

family planning and-pest-abertion-counseling services to its

patients.
F. There shall be an organized discharge planning process

that includes an-evaluation-of-thepatient's—capacity for-self-
eare-and an assessment of a patient's safety for discharge and
discharge instructions for patients to include instructions to
call or return if signs of infection develop.
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12VAC5-412-240. Medical testing and laboratory services.

A. Prior to the initiation of any abortion, a medical history
and physical examination, including a confirmation of
pregnancy, and completion of all the requirements of
informed written consent pursuant to § 18.2-76 of the Code of
Virginia, shall be completed for each patient.

1 . . .

Use-of-any addme'l al " ed.leal EES'EI 9 st aI_I be' based-6
& II al.s.sesslnm E.gl patient-risk .” e-chnical Ieute_ﬁla for SHGI
restlts—arefound—shal-bedocumented- Medical testing
shall include a recognized method to confirm pregnancy
and determination or documentation of Rh factor.

Rh—faeter— Use of any addltlonal medlcal testlnq shaII be

based on an assessment of patient risk.

[ 3. The abortion facility shall develop, implement, and
maintain policies and procedures for offering screening of
sexually transmitted diseases consistent with current
guidelines issued by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control
and Prevention or at a minimum referring patients to

clinics that provide such testing. ] Fhe—policies—and
procedures—shall—address—appropriate—responses—to—a
[ 4.3:]1 A written report of each laboratory test and
examination shall be a part of the patient's record.

B. Laboratory services shall be provided on site or through
arrangement with a laboratory certified to provide the
required procedures under the Clinical Laboratory
Improvement Amendments of 1988 (CLIA-88) (42 CFR Part
493).

1. Facilities for collecting specimens shall be available on
site.

2. If laboratory services are provided on site they shall be
directed by a person who qualifies as a director under
CLIA-88 and shall be performed in compliance with
CLIA-88 standards.

3. All laboratory supplies shall be monitored for expiration
dates, if applicable, and disposed of properly.

C. [ Al—tissues—remeved—resulting—from—the—abertion
procedure-shall-be-examined-to-verify thatvilli-or fetal parts
are-present | if; [ Hvilliorfetal parts-cannot-be-identified

examma%len] and—the—pa&em—alerted—te—the—pesabmty—ef—an

- [ The abortion
facility shall have policies and procedures for evaluation of
all tissues removed during the abortion and for reevaluation
of the patient in the event the evaluation of tissue is

insufficient to confirm termination of the pregnancy.] The
facility shall track and log any specimens sent for further
pathologic examination.

D. AIll tissues removed resulting from the abortion
procedure shall be managed in accordance with requirements
for medical waste pursuant to the Regulated Medical Waste
Management Regulations (9VAC20-120).

12VAC5-412-250. Anesthesia service.

A. The anesthesia service shall comply with the office-based
anesthesia provisions of the Regulations Governing the
Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, and
Chiropractic (18VAC85-20-310 et seq.).

B. The anesthesia service shall be directed by and under the
supervision of a physician licensed in Virginia [ who is
certified in advanced resuscitative techniques and has met the
continuing education requirements ].

C. When moderate sedation or conscious sedation is
administered, the licensed health care practitioner who
administers the anesthesia shall routinely monitor the patient
according to procedures consistent with such administration.
The administration of sedation and monitoring of the patient
shall be documented in the patient's medical record.

D. An abortion facility administering moderate
sedation/conscious sedation shall maintain the following
equipment, supplies, and pharmacological agents as required
by 18VAC85-20-360 B:

1. Appropriate equipment to manage airways;

2. Drugs and equipment to treat shock and anaphylactic
reactions;

3. Precordial stethoscope;

4. Pulse oximeter with appropriate alarms or an equivalent
method of measuring oxygen saturation;

5. Continuous electrocardiograph;

6. Devices for measuring blood pressure, heart rate, and
respiratory rate;

7. Defibrillator; and

8. Accepted method of identifying and preventing the
interchangeability of gases.

E. Elective general anesthesia shall not be used.

F. If deep sedation or a major conductive block is
administered or if general anesthesia is administered in an
emergent situation, the licensed health care practitioner who
administers the anesthesia service shall remain present and
available in the facility to monitor the patient until the patient
meets the discharge criteria.

G. In addition to the requirements of subsection D of this
section, an abortion facility administering deep sedation or a
major conductive block, or administering general anesthesia
in an emergent situation, shall maintain the following
equipment, supplies, and pharmacological agents as required
by 18V AC85-20-360 C:
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1. Drugs to treat malignant hyperthermia, when triggering
agents are used;

2. Peripheral nerve stimulator, if a muscle relaxant is used;
and

3. If using an anesthesia machine, the following shall be
included:

a. End-tidal carbon dioxide monitor (capnograph);

b. In-circuit oxygen analyzer designed to monitor oxygen
concentration within breathing circuit by displaying
oxygen percent of the total respiratory mixture;

c. Oxygen failure-protection devices (fail-safe system)
that have the capacity to announce a reduction in oxygen
pressure and, at lower levels of oxygen pressure, to
discontinue other gases when the pressure of the supply
of oxygen is reduced;

d. Vaporizer exclusion (interlock) system, which ensures
that only one vaporizer, and therefore only a single
anesthetic agent can be actualized on any anesthesia
machine at one time;

e. Pressure-compensated anesthesia vaporizers, designed
to administer a constant nonpulsatile output, which shall
not be placed in the circuit downstream of the oxygen
flush valve;

f. Flow meters and controllers, which can accurately
gauge concentration of oxygen relative to the anesthetic
agent being administered and prevent oxygen mixtures of
less than 21% from being administered;

g. Alarm systems for high (disconnect), low
(subatmospheric), and minimum ventilatory pressures in
the breathing circuit for each patient under general
anesthesia; and

h. A gas evacuation system.

H. The abortion facility shall develop, implement, and
maintain policies and procedures outlining criteria for
discharge from anesthesia care. Such criteria shall include
stable vital signs, responsiveness and orientation, ability to
move voluntarily, controlled pain, and minimal nausea and
vomiting. Discharge from anesthesia care is the responsibility
of the health care practitioner providing the anesthesia care
and shall occur only when the patient has met specific
physician-defined criteria, and those criteria have been
documented within the patient's medical record.

[ 12VAC5-412-280. Emergency equipment and supplies.

An abortion facility shall maintain medical equipment,
supplies, and drugs appropriate and adequate to manage
potential emergencies based on the level, scope, and intensity
of services provided. Such medical equipment, supplies, and
drugs shall be determined by the physician and shall be
consistent with the current edition of the American Heart
Association's Guidelines for Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation
and Emergency Cardiovascular Care. Brugs-shall-includeata

. , followi tions:

- -1
12VAC5-412-290. Emergency services.

A. An abortion facility shall provide ongoing urgent or
emergent care and maintain on the premises adequate
monitoring equipment, suction apparatus, oxygen, and related
items for resuscitation and control of hemorrhage and other
complications.

B. An abortion facility that performs abortions using
intravenous sedation shall provide equipment and services to
render emergency resuscitative and life-support procedures
pending transfer of the patient to a hospital. Such medical
equipment and services shall be consistent with the current
edition of the American Heart Association's Guidelines for
Advanced Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and Emergency

Cardiovascular Life-Support Care.
C. . . .
“I“”Ete.' algleen ent-s Ia“ Be E*EGH.EEQ WFIEII #-tice s.esl

service—at-al-times: When emergency transfer is necessary,
the responsible physician at the abortion facility must provide
direct communication to the emergency—department—staff
appropriate receiving facility staff regarding the status of the
patient, the procedure details, and the suspected complication.
All patients must be provided with contact information for a
representative of the abortion facility, so that an emergency
department physician or treating provider may make contact
with a provider of the facility if late complications arise.

[ Part Vv
Support Services - Health Information Records and Reports

12VAC5-412-300. Health information records.

An accurate and complete clinical record or chart shall be
maintained on each patient. The record or chart shall contain
sufficient information to satisfy the diagnosis or need for the
medical or surgical service. ¥ If medically indicated, it shall
include, but not be limited to the following:

1. Patient identification;

2. Admitting information, including patient history and
physical examination;

3. Signed consent;
4. Confirmation of pregnancy;
5. Procedure report to include:
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a. Physician orders;

b. Laboratory tests, pathologist's report of tissue, and
radiologist's report of x-rays;

c. Anesthesia record;

d. Operative record,;

e. Surgical medication and medical treatments;

f. Recovery room notes;

g. Physicians' and nurses' progress notes;

h. Condition at time of discharge;

i. Patient instructions (preoperative and postoperative);
and

j. Names of referral physicians or agencies; and

6. Any other information required by law to be maintained
in the health information record.

12VAC5-412-320. Required reporting.

A. Abortion facilities shall comply with the fetal death and
induced termination of pregnancy reporting provisions in the
Board of Health Regulations Governing Vital Records
(12VAC5-550-120).

B. The abortion facility shall report the following events to
OLC:

1. Any patient, staff, or visitor death;
2. Any serious injury to a patient;

3. Medication errors that necessitate a clinical intervention
other than monitoring; and

4. A death or significant injury of a patient or staff member
resulting from a physical assault that occurs within or on
the abortion facility grounds; and

5 Y o e eide I'E |epe|te_d i ‘ |alp|a|et;eet HSH al'l eel
101-629).
C. Naotification of the events listed in subsection B of this
section shall be required within 24 hours of occurrence. Each
notice shall contain the:

1. Abortion facility name;

2. Type and circumstance of the event being reported;

3. Date of the event; and

4. Actions taken by the abortion facility to protect patient
and staff safety and to prevent recurrence.

D. Compliance with this section does not relieve the
abortion facility from complying with any other applicable
reporting or notification requirements, such as those relating
to law-enforcement or professional regulatory agencies.

E. Records that are confidential under federal or state law
shall be maintained as confidential by the OLC and shall not
be further disclosed by the OLC, except as required or
permitted by law.

F. Abortion facilities shall ensure that employees mandated
to report suspected child abuse or neglect under § 63.2-1509
of the Code of Virginia comply with the reporting
requirements of § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia.

Part VI
Functional Safety and Maintenance

12VAC5-412-330. Abortion facility security and safety.

The abortion facility shall develop, implement, and maintain
policies and procedures to ensure safety within the abortion
facility and on its grounds and to minimize hazards to all
occupants. The policies and procedures shall include, but not
be limited to:

I-Abortion-facility-security;

2-Safety safety rules and practices pertaining to personnel,
equipment, gases, liquids, drugs, supplies, and services;
and

12VAC5-412-350. Maintenance.

B- When patient monitoring equipment is utilized, a written
preventive maintenance program shall be developed and
implemented. This equipment shall be checked and/or tested
in accordance with manufacturer's specifications at periodic
intervals, not less than annually, to ensure proper operation
and a state of good repair. After repairs and/or alterations are
made to any equipment, the equipment shall be thoroughly
tested for proper operation before it is returned to service.
Records shall be maintained on each piece of equipment to
indicate its history of testing and maintenance.

12VAC5-412-360. Firefighting—equipment—and—systems:
(Repealed.)

".e.l.'e;"’e] Hion—Code—{5—27-04—6t—seq—of —the—Code—of
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Part VII
Design and Construction
12VAC5-412-370. Local and state codes and standards.

Aboertion—facilities [ A< ] All construction of new buildings
and additions or major renovations to existing buildings for
occupancy as an abortion facility shall [ comply with eenform

te all applicable ] state and local codes; and [ zening ];—and
buiding ordinances [ and—theVirginia—Uniform—Statewide
Building-Code(13VVAC5-63) |. In-additionabortion-facilities
[AH—eenstrueﬂen—ef—new-@Maqs—and—addmens—epmam

[fae#nys—desml—and—eenstmenen—rs] in—comphiance
[ consistent-with | thisprovision [ the-applicable sections of
the-2014 guidelines-the-commissioner-may-obtain-additional

.ﬁ. on £ _E'I' hi 1 .
design-and-construction-of the-facihity [ - |

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE
(12VAC5-412)

[ Guidelines_for Desi - . ] lth C
[ Hospitals—and-Outpatient-Facilities; | 2010-Edition [ 2014

edition; | Part-1-and-Sections-3-1-through-3:1-8-and-3.7-of

Part-3; [ The-Facilities-Guidelines-Institute | (formerly-of-the
American—lnstitute—of —Architeets) [ —Washington—B-C-
{http v fgiguidelines-org) |

Guidelines for Cardiopulmonary  Resuscitation and
Emergency Cardiovascular Care [ —Ciredlation—November2;
2010 Volume-122-1ssue-18 Suppl-3, 2015, ] American Heart
Association, 7272 Greenville Avenue, Dallas, TX 75231-
4596

[ (hitp:/circ-ahajournals.orglcontentivel122/18 suppl-35H-

(https://eccguidelines.heart.org/index.php/circulation/cpr-ecc-

quidelines-2/) ]

[ Sexually Transmitted Diseases Treatment Guidelines,
2015, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S.
Department of Health and Human Services
(http://www.cdc.gov/std/tg2015/default.htm) ]

Bloodborne Pathogens - OSHA's Bloodborne Pathogens
Standard, OSHA Fact Sheet and Quick Reference Guide,
2011 U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4258; Filed January 25, 2017, 8:41 a.m.
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DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
SERVICES

Emergency Regulation

Titles of Requlations: 12VAC30-10. State Plan under Title
XIX of the Social Security Act Medical Assistance
Program; General Provisions (amending 12VAC30-10-
540).

12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and Scope of Medical
and Remedial Care Services (amending 12VAC30-50-
130).

12VAC30-60. Standards Established and Methods Used to
Assure High Quality Care (amending 12VAC30-60-5,
12VAC30-60-50, 12VAC30-60-61).

12VAC30-130. Amount, Duration and Scope of Selected
Services (amending 12VAC30-130-3000; repealing
12VAC30-130-850, 12VAC30-130-860, 12VAC30-130-870,
12VAC30-130-880, 12VAC30-130-890, 12VAC30-130-
3020).

Statutory Authority: 8§ 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia;
42 USC 8 1396 et seq.

Effective Dates: July 1, 2017, through December 31, 2018.

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor,
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services,
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov.

Preamble:

The psychiatric residential treatment service was
implemented in 2001. The existing regulations are not
adequate to ensure successful treatment outcomes are
attained for the individuals who receive high cost high
intensity residential treatment services. Since moving
behavioral health services to Magellan (the DMAS
behavioral health service administrator or BHSA) there
has been enhanced supervision of these services. The
enhanced supervision has led to an increased awareness of
some safety challenges and administrative challenges in
this high level of care. The proposed revisions will serve to
better clarify policy interpretations that revise program
standards to allow for more evidence-based service
delivery, allow DMAS to implement more effective
utilization management in collaboration with the BHSA,
enhance individualized coordination of care, implement
standardized coordination of individualized aftercare
resources by ensuring access to medical and behavioral
health service providers in the individual's home
community, and support DMAS audit practices. The
changes will move toward a service model that will reduce
lengths of stay for and facilitate an evidence-based
treatment approach to better support the individual's
discharge into his home environment.

The emergency action, pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code
of Virginia, includes changes to the following areas: (i)
provider qualifications including acceptable licensing
standards, (ii) preadmission assessment requirements, (iii)
program requirements, (iv) new discharge planning and
care coordination requirements, and (iv) language
enhancements for utilization review requirements to clarify
program requirements and help providers avoid payment
retractions. These changes are part of a review of the
services to ensure that they are effectively delivered and
utilized for individuals who meet the medical necessity
criteria. For each individual seeking residential treatment
their treatment needs will be assessed with enhanced
requirements by the current independent certification
teams who must coordinate clinical assessment
information and assess local resources for each person
requesting residential care to determine an appropriate
level of care. The certification teams will also be more able
to coordinate referrals for care to determine, in
accordance with Department of Justice requirements,
whether or not the individual seeking services can be
safely served using community-based services in the least
restrictive setting. Independent team certifications will be
conducted prior to the onset of specified services, as
required by Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
guidelines, by the DMAS behavioral health services
administrator.

The proposal includes changes to program requirements
that ensure that effective levels of care coordination and
discharge planning occurs for each individual during his
residential stay by enhancing program rules and utilization
management principles that facilitate effective discharge
planning and establish community-based services prior to
the individual's discharge from residential care. The
proposal requires enhanced care coordination to provide
the necessary, objective evaluations of treatment progress
and to facilitate evidence-based practices during the
treatment to reduce the length of stay by ensuring that
medical necessity indicates the correct level of care and
that appropriate and effective care is delivered in a
person-centered manner. The proposal requires that
service providers and local systems will use standardized
preadmission and discharge processes to ensure effective
services are delivered.

This emergency action is in compliance with provisions of
Item 301 OO and Item 301 PP of Chapter 665 of the 2015
Acts of Assembly, as follows:
Item 301 OO0 ¢ 7, 8, 9, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18 directed that
DMAS shall develop a blueprint for a care coordination
model for individuals in need of behavioral health services
that includes the following principles:
"7. Develops direct linkages between medical and
behavioral services in order to make it easier for
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consumers to obtain timely access to care and services,
which could include up to full integration.

8. Builds upon current best practices in the delivery of
behavioral health services.

9. Accounts for local services and reflects familiarity
with the community where services are provided.

14. Achieves cost savings through decreasing avoidable
episodes of care and hospitalizations, strengthening the
discharge planning process, improving adherence to
medication  regimens, and utilizing community
alternatives to hospitalizations and institutionalization.

15. Simplifies the administration of acute psychiatric,
community and mental health rehabilitation, and medical
health services for the coordinating entity, providers, and
consumers.

16. Requires standardized data collection, outcome
measures, customer satisfaction surveys, and reports to
track costs, utilization of services, and outcomes.
Performance data should be explicit, benchmarked,
standardized, publicly available, and validated.

17. Provides actionable data and feedback to providers.

18. In accordance with federal and state regulations,
includes provisions for effective and timely grievances
and appeals for consumers."

Item 301 OO d states:

"The department may seek the necessary waiver(s) or
State Plan authorization under Titles XIX and XXI of the
Social Security Act to develop and implement a care
coordination model ... This model may be applied to
individuals on a mandatory basis. The department shall
have authority to promulgate emergency regulations to
implement this amendment within 280 days or less from
the enactment date of this act.”

Item 301 PP states:

"The Department of Medical Assistance Services shall
make programmatic changes in the provision of
Residential Treatment Facility (Level C) and Levels A
and B residential services (group homes) for children
with serious emotional disturbances in order [to] ensure
appropriate utilization and cost efficiency. The
department shall consider all available options
including, but not limited to, prior authorization,
utilization review and provider qualifications. The
department shall have authority to promulgate
regulations to implement these changes within 280 days
or less from the enactment date of this act.”

In response to Item 301 OO ¢ 14, DMAS is proposing new
requirements to ensure that comprehensive discharge
planning begins at admission to a therapeutic group home
or residential treatment facility so that the individual can

return to the community setting with appropriate supports
at the soonest possible time.

DMAS is responding to the legislative mandates in Item
301 OO c 7 through 9, 14, and 15 by sunsetting the
Virginia Independent Assessment Program (VICAP)
regulation at 12VAC30-130-3020. The VICAP program is
no longer needed, as the BHSA is now conducting
thorough reviews of medical necessity for each requested
service, and the funds allocated to the VICAP program can
be more effectively used elsewhere.

DMAS is responding to the legislative mandates in Item
301 OO c 16 through 18 by creating a single point of
contact at the BHSA for families and caregivers who will
increase timely access to residential behavioral health
services, promote effective service delivery, and decrease
wait times for medical necessity and placement decisions
that previously have been managed by local family
assessment and planning teams (FAPT). The FAPTs are
not DMAS-enrolled service providers, and the individuals
who must use the FAPT process to gain access to Medicaid
covered residential treatment are not subject to the
established Medicaid grievance process and choice options
as mandated by CMS. The enhanced interaction of the
families and the BHSA will enable more thorough data
collection to ensure freedom of choice in service providers,
and to measure locality trends, service provider trends,
and population trends to facilitate evidence-based
decisions in both the clinical service delivery and
administration of the program. The enhanced family
interaction will enable the BHSA to complete individual
family surveys and monitor care more effectively after
discharge from services to assess the family and individual
perspective on service delivery and enable DMAS to more
effectively manage evidence-based residential treatment
services.

Since 2001, when residential treatment services were
implemented by DMAS, individuals have not had access to
standardized methods of effective care coordination upon
entry into residential treatment due to locality influence
and DMAS reimbursement limitations. This has resulted in
a fragmented coordination approach for these individuals
who are at risk for high levels of care and remain at risk of
repeated placements at this level of care. The residential
treatment prior authorization and utilization management
structures require an enhanced care coordination model to
support the individuals who receive this level of service to
ensure an effective return to the family or caregiver home
environment with follow-up services to facilitate ongoing
treatment progress in the least restrictive environment. The
added coordination is required to navigate a very complex
service environment for the individual as the individual
returns to a community setting to establish an effective
aftercare environment that involves service providers who
may be contracted with a variety of entities such as DMAS
contracted managed care organizations (MCOs), BHSA
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enrolled providers, the local FAPT, local school divisions,
and the local community services board (CSB). This
regulation will allow DMAS to implement a contracted
care coordination team that will focus on attaining specific
clinical outcomes for all residential care episodes and
provide a new single liaison who will ensure coordination
of care in a complex service environment for individuals
upon discharge from residential treatment and prior to the
time when they will enroll in an MCO. During this
transition period the individual is very vulnerable to
repeated admissions to residential or inpatient care and
must also be supported in the fee for service (FFS)
environment with resources from the local CSB and BHSA
enrolled services providers and requires ongoing support
and coordination with the local FAPT to provide aftercare
services consisting of post-discharge follow-up and
transition services provided by the BHSA coordination
team.

The care coordination team will (i) provide increased
standardization of preadmission assessment activity, (ii)
provide facilitation of an effective independent certification
team process, (iii) ensure that MCO and medical home
resources are used to provide accurate psychosocial
assessment and clinical/medical history to the certification
team and BHSA, (iv) facilitate accurate authorization
decisions and consider community-based service options
prior to any out-of-home placement, (v) facilitate high
levels of family involvement, (vi) provide aggressive
discharge planning that ensures smooth transition into
community-based services and MCO-funded health
services, and (vii) provide meaningful, coordinated post-
discharge follow-up for up to 90 days after discharge with
the youth and family.

The residential care coordination team will ensure
meaningful communication across all parts of the
Comprehensive Services Act, Department of Behavioral
Health and Developmental Services, MCO, and FFS
service systems to maximize efficiency of activities,
eliminate duplicative or conflicting efforts, and ensure
established timelines are met (e.g., regular assessment of
progress).

These enclosed proposed utilization control requirements
are recommended consistent with the federal requirements
at 42 CFR Part 456 Utilization Control. Specifically, 42
CFR 456.3, "Statewide surveillance and utilization control
program™ provides: "The Medicaid agency must implement
a statewide surveillance and utilization control program
that—

(a) Safeguards against unnecessary or inappropriate use
of Medicaid services and against excess payments;

(b) Assesses the quality of those services;

(c) Provides for the control of the utilization of all services
provided under the plan in accordance with subpart B of
this part, and

(d) Provides for the control of the utilization of inpatient
services in accordance with subparts C through | of this
part."

The Code of Federal Regulations also provides, at 42 CFR
430.10, "..The State plan contains all information
necessary for CMS to determine whether the plan can be
approved to serve as a basis for Federal financial
participation (FFP) in the State program." FFP is the
federal matching funds that DMAS receives from the
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. Not
performing utilization control of the services affected by
these proposed regulations, as well as all Medicaid
covered services, could subject DMAS' federal matching
funds to a CMS recovery action.

Purpose. This regulatory action is essential to protect the
health, safety, or welfare of individuals with Medicaid who
require behavioral health services. In addition, these
proposed changes are intended to promote improved
quality of Medicaid-covered behavioral health services
provided to individuals.

This regulatory action is also essential to ensure that
Medicaid individuals and their families are well informed
about their behavioral health condition and service options
prior to receiving these services. This ensures the services
are medically necessary for the individual and are
rendered by providers who use evidence-based treatment
approaches.

While residential treatment is not a service that should be
approved with great frequency for a large number of
individuals, it is a service that should be accessible to the
families and individuals who require that level of care. The
current service model has significant operational layers
that must be navigated to access residential services. The
current program processes involve coordination of care by
local FAPT teams who have, over time, demonstrated some
influence on determining an individual's eligibility for
FAPT funded services. The local influence on the
program's  administration  causes limitations on
individualized freedom of provider choice and inconsistent
authorization of funding for persons deemed to need
psychiatric care out of the home setting. This local
administration of the primary referral source for
residential treatment lies outside the purview of DMAS and
this situation produces outcomes that are inadequate to
meet CMS requirements on ensuring the individual
freedom of choice of providers. In addition, local FAPT
administrators do not enforce the Department of Justice
settlement requirements in a uniform manner.

DMAS has added content to program requirements and
covered services portions of the regulations to better
clarify the benefit coverage and utilization criteria. The
emergency regulations allow the use of additional
information collection to better assess ways to reduce the
average length of stay for individuals in residential care,
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and to better coordinate educational funding for those who
require medically necessary services in a psychiatric
treatment setting by using enhanced Medicaid supports.

The goal is that individuals receive the correct level of
service at the correct time for the treatment (service) needs
related to the individual's medical/psychiatric condition.
Residential treatment services consist of behavioral health
interventions and are intended to provide high intensity
clinical treatment that should be provided for a short
duration.  Stakeholder feedback supported DMAS
observations of lengthy durations of stay for many
individuals. Residential treatment services will benefit
from clarification of the service definition and eligibility
requirements to ensure that residential treatment does not
evolve into a long-term level of support instead of the high
intensity psychiatric treatment modality that defines this
level of care.

Substance. The sections of the State Plan for Medical
Assistance that are affected by this action are 12VAC30-
10-540 (Inspection of care in intermediate care facilities);
12VAC30-50-130 (Skilled nursing facility services,
EPSDT, school health services, and family planning);
12VAC30-60-5 (Applicability of utilization review
requirements); 12VAC30-60-50 (Utilization control:
Intermediate Care Facilities for the Mentally Retarded
(ICF/MR) and Institutions for Mental Disease (IMD);
12VAC30-60-61 (Services related to the Early and
Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment Program
(EPSDT); community mental health services for children).
The state-only regulations that are affected by this action
are 12VAC30-130-850 through 12VAC30-130-890 (Part
XIV - Residential Psychiatric Treatment for Children and
Adolescents).

12VAC30-10-540. Inspection of care in intermediate care
facilities for the—mentally—retarded persons with
intellectual _and developmental disabilities, facilities
providing inpatient psychiatric services for individuals
under 21, and mental hospitals.

All applicable requirements of 42 CFR 456, Subpart I, are
met with respect to periodic inspections of care and services.*

. hiatri . cor_individual |
*|nspection of Care care (IOC) in {intermediate—Care
Facilities intermediate care facilities for the—Mentaly
Retarded—and—tnstitutions—for—Mental-Diseases—are persons
with intellectual and developmental disabilities is completed

through contractual arrangements with the Virginia
Department of Health.
12VAC30-50-130. Skilled nursing facility services,

EPSDT, school health services, and family planning.

A. Skilled nursing facility services (other than services in an
institution for mental diseases) for individuals 21 years of age
or older.

Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or
performed within the scope of a license of the practitioner of
the healing arts.

B. Early and periodic screening and, diagnosis, and
treatment (EPSDT) of individuals under 21 years of age, and
treatment of conditions found - general provisions.

1. Payment of medical assistance services shall be made on
behalf of individuals under 21 years of age, who are
Medicaid eligible, for medically necessary stays in acute
care facilities, and the accompanying attendant physician
care, in excess of 21 days per admission when such
services are rendered for the purpose of diagnosis and
treatment of health conditions identified through a physical
examination.

2. Routine physicals and immunizations (except as
provided through EPSDT) are not covered except that
well-child examinations in a private physician's office are
covered for foster children of the local social services
departments on specific referral from those departments.

3. Orthoptics services shall only be reimbursed if
medically necessary to correct a visual defect identified by
an EPSDT examination or evaluation. The department
shall place appropriate utilization controls upon this
service.

4. Consistent with the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act
of 1989 § 6403, early and periodic screening, diagnostic,
and treatment services means the following services:
screening services, vision services, dental services, hearing
services, and such other necessary health care, diagnostic
services, treatment, and other measures described in Social
Security Act 8 1905(a) to correct or ameliorate defects and
physical and mental illnesses and conditions discovered by
the screening services and which are medically necessary,
whether or not such services are covered under the State
Plan and notwithstanding the limitations, applicable to
recipients ages 21 and over, provided for by the Act
§ 1905(a).

5 Community C. Early and periodic screening diagnosis and

treatment (EPSDT) of individuals younger than 21 years of
age - community mental health services. These services in
order to be covered (i) shall meet medical necessity criteria
based upon diagnoses made by LMHPs who are practicing
within the scope of their licenses and (ii) are reflected in
provider records and on providerss provider claims for
services by recognized diagnosis codes that support and are
consistent with the requested professional services.

a 1. Definitions. The following words and terms when
used in this section shall have the following meanings
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:
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"Adolescent er-child" means the individual receiving the
services described in this section. For the purpose of the
use of these—terms this term, adolescent means an
individual 12-20 years of age;a-child-means-an-individual
from birth-up-to-12 yearsof age.

"Behavioral health services administrator" or "BHSA"
means an entity that manages or directs a behavioral health
benefits program under contract with DMAS.

"Care coordination” means collaboration and sharing of
information among health care providers, who are involved
with an individual's health care, to improve the care.

"Child" means the individual receiving the services
described in this section; an individual from birth up to 12
years of age.

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and
Developmental Services.

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance
Services and its contractor or contractors.

3,-2013:

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means the same as the
term is defined in 12VAC30-50-226.

"Licensed mental health professional” or "LMHP" means a

licensed-physician—licensed-clinical-psycholegistticensed

. | famil st ified hiatri
i iakist the same as defined in 12VAC35-
105-20.
"LMHP-resident” or "LMHP-R" means the same as
"resident” as defined in (i) 18VAC115-20-10 for licensed
professional counselors; (ii) 18VAC115-50-10 for licensed
marriage and family therapists; or (iii) 18VAC115-60-10
for licensed substance abuse treatment practitioners. An
LMHP-resident shall be in continuous compliance with the
regulatory requirements of the applicable counseling
profession for supervised practice and shall not perform the
functions of the LMHP-R or be considered a "resident"
until the supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific
site has been preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board
of Counseling. Forpurposes-of Medicaid-reimbursementto
hei . ‘ . dod | | idents.

licable_nrofession_af L .
status-

"LMHP-resident in psychology" or "LMHP-RP" means the
same as an individual in a residency, as that term is defined
in 18VAC125-20-10, program for clinical psychologists.
An LMHP-resident in psychology shall be in continuous
compliance with the regulatory requirements for
supervised experience as found in 18VAC125-20-65 and
shall not perform the functions of the LMHP-RP or be
considered a "resident” until the supervision for specific
clinical duties at a specific site has been preapproved in

writing by the Virginia Board of Psychology. Ferpurposes

"LMHP-supervisee in social work," "LMHP-supervisee,"
or "LMHP-S" means the same as "supervisee" as defined
in 18VAC140-20-10 for licensed clinical social workers.
An LMHP-supervisee in social work shall be in continuous
compliance with the regulatory requirements for
supervised practice as found in 18VAC140-20-50 and shall
not perform the functions of the LMHP-S or be considered
a "supervisee" until the supervision for specific clinical
duties at a specific site is preapproved in writing by the
Virginia Board of Social Work. For purposes of Medicaid
reimbursement to their supervisors for services provided
by supervisees, these persons shall use the title "Supervisee
in Social Work" after their signatures to indicate such
status.
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"Psychoeducation" means (i) a specific form of education
aimed at helping individuals who have mental illness and
their family members or caregivers to access clear and
concise information about mental illness and (ii) a way of
accessing and learning strategies to deal with mental illness
and its effects in order to design effective treatment plans
and strategies.

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-C"
means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-105-
20.

"Qualified mental health professional-eligible” or "QMHP-
E" means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-
105-20 and consistent with the requirements of 12VAC35-
105-590.

; is defi -

. ith 1 . :
1370-

"Service-specific provider intake" means the face-to-face
interaction in which the provider obtains information from
the child or adolescent, and parent or other family member
or members, as appropriate, about the child's or
adolescent's mental health status. It includes documented
history of the severity, intensity, and duration of mental
health care problems and issues and shall contain all of the
following elements: (i) the presenting issue/reason for
referral, (ii) mental health history/hospitalizations, (iii)
previous interventions by providers and timeframes and
response to treatment, (iv) medical profile, (v)
developmental history including history of abuse, if
appropriate, (vi) educational/vocational status, (vii) current
living situation and family history and relationships, (viii)
legal status, (ix) drug and alcohol profile, (x) resources and
strengths, (xi) mental status exam and profile, (xii)
diagnosis, (xiii) professional summary and clinical
formulation, (xiv) recommended care and treatment goals,

and (xv) the dated signature of the LMHP, LMHP-
supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-RP.

b: 2. Intensive in-home services (IIH) to children and
adolescents under age 21 shall be time-limited
interventions provided in the individual's residence and
when clinically necessary in community settings. All
interventions and the settings of the intervention shall be
defined in the Individual Service Plan. All IIH services
shall be designed to specifically improve family dynamics,
provide modeling, and the clinically necessary
interventions that increase functional and therapeutic
interpersonal relations between family members in the
home. IIH services are designed to promote
psychoeducational benefits in the home setting of an
individual who is at risk of being moved into an out-of-
home placement or who is being transitioned to home from
an out-of-home placement due to a documented medical
need of the individual. These services provide crisis
treatment; individual and family  counseling;
communication skills (e.g., counseling to assist the
individual and his parents or guardians, as appropriate, to
understand and practice appropriate problem solving, anger
management, and interpersonal interaction, etc.); care
coordination with other required services; and 24-hour
emergency response.

a. Service authorization shall be required for Medicaid
reimbursement prior to the onset of services. Services
rendered before the date of authorization shall not be
reimbursed.

{2 b. Service authorization shall be required for services
to continue beyond the initial 26 weeks.

{3} c. Service-specific provider intakes shall be required
at the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during
the entire duration of services. Services based upon
incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific
provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement.
Requirements for service-specific provider intakes and
ISPs are set out in this section.

{4) d. These services may shall only be rendered by an

LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP,

a QMHP-C, or a QMHP-E.
¢ 3. Therapeutic day treatment (TDT) shall be provided
two or more hours per day in order to provide therapeutic
interventions. Day treatment programs, limited annually to
780 units; (a unit is defined in 12VAC30-60-61 D 11)
provide  evaluation;  medication  education and
management; opportunities to learn and use daily living
skills and to enhance social and interpersonal skills (e.g.,
problem solving, anger management, community
responsibility, increased impulse control, and appropriate
peer relations, etc.); and individual, group and family
counseling.
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) a. Service authorization shall be required for Residential-Facilities (6\/AC35-51),—or-Regulationsfor
Medicaid reimbursement. Children's-Residential-Facilities (12V/AC35-46).

) b. Service-specific provider intakes shall be required {7)-Daily-—progress-neotes-shal-document-a-minimum-of
at the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during seven——psycheeducational—activities—per——week:
the entire duration of services. Services based upon Psychoeducational-programming-must-include-but-is-not
incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific {imited-—to—development-ormaintenance—ofdaily-living
provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. iHs; ; i iHs; Hy—Hvi
Requirements for service-specific provider intakes and Hs; icati Hs; ;

ISPs are set out in this section. care-coordination-activities:

{3) c. These services may shall be rendered only by an {8)The—facility/group—heme—must—coordinate—services
LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, with—ether—providers—Such—eare—coordination—shall-be

a QMHP-C, or a QMHP-E. documented—in—the—individual's—medicalrecord—The
d.— Community-based—services—for —children—and deeumen&aﬂen—sh&”—melade—whe—was—eemaeted—wheﬁ
transmitied-

i cianifi cunetionalimoai . o Lif AMHP-C. 3 OMHP-E. SPPMH.
activities—in—the—home,—school—at—work—or—in—the D Farly and periodic screening diagnosis and treatment
community.The-service-must reasonably be-expectedt0  (EPSDT) of individuals younger than 21 years of age -
improve—the—child's—condition—or—prevent+egression—S6  therapeutic group home services and residential treatment
that—the—services—will—no—longer—be—needed—The  gorvices.

1. Definitions. The following words and terms when used

MGK@SSGH—FH)EGFQH\'%@ ~riteri ival | in this subsection shall have the following meanings:

authorized-in-advance-by DMAS,shall-berequired—for "Active treatment” means implementation of an initial plan
this service. of care (IPOC) and comprehensive individual plan of care

(CIPOC) that shall be developed, supervised, and approved
by the family or legally authorized representative, treating
physician, psychiatrist, or LMHP_responsible for the
overall supervision of the CIPOC. Each plan of care shall
be designed to improve the individual's condition and to

(3)+ndividuals—shall—be—discharged—from—this—service i _- * i _' achieve the individual's safe discharge from residential
when—other—less—intensive—services—may—achieve care at the earliest possible time.

"Assessment” means a service conducted within seven

(4)—Authorization—shall —be—required —for—Medicaid calendar days of admission by an LMHP, LMHP-R,
reimbursement—Services—that-wererendered—before-the LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S utilizing a tool or series of tools to

; provide a comprehensive evaluation and review of an

{5)Reom—and—board—costs—shalnet—be—reimbursed- individual's current mental health status in order to make
BMAS—shalreimburse—only—for—services—provided—in recommendations; provide diagnosis; identify strengths,
facthities-orprograms-with-no-mere-than-16-beds: needs, and risk level; and describe the severity of

{5y Fheseresidentinksrovidersanst-haternsedhy-the symptoms.
Department-of-Social-Services—Department-of Juvenile "Behavioral health services administrator" or "BHSA"
Justice—or—Department—of —Behavioral—Health—and means an entity that manages or directs a behavioral health
Developmental—Services—under—the—Standards—for benefits program under contract with DMAS.
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"Certificate of need" or "CON" means a written statement
by an independent certification team that services in a
residential treatment facility are or were needed.

"Combined treatment services" means a structured,
therapeutic milieu and planned interventions that promote
(i) the development or restoration of adaptive functioning,
self-care, and social skills; (ii) community integrated
activities and community living skills that each individual
requires to live in less restrictive environments; (iii)
behavioral consultation; (iv) individual and group therapy;
(v) recreation therapy, (vi) family education and family
therapy; and (vii) individualized treatment planning.

"Comprehensive individual plan of care™ or "CIPOC"
means a person-centered plan of care that meets all of the
requirements of this subsection and is specific to the
individual's unigue treatment needs and acuity levels as
identified in the clinical assessment and information
gathered during the referral process.

"Crisis" _means a deteriorating or unstable situation, often
developing suddenly that produces an acute, heightened
emotional, mental, physical, medical, or behavioral event.

"Crisis _management” means immediately provided
activities and interventions designed to rapidly manage a
crisis.

"Daily supervision" means the supervision provided in a
residential treatment facility through a resident-to-staff
ratio approved by the Office of Licensure at the
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental
Services with documented supervision checks every 15
minutes throughout the 24-hour period.

"Discharge planning" means family and locality-based care
coordination that begins upon admission to a residential
treatment facility or therapeutic group home with the goal
of transitioning the individual out of the residential
treatment facility or therapeutic group home to a less
restrictive _care setting with continued, clinically-
appropriate, and possibly intensive, services as soon as
possible upon discharge. Discharge plans shall be
recommended by the treating physician, psychiatrist, or
treating LMHP responsible for the overall supervision of
the CIPOC and shall be approved by the BHSA.

"DSM-5" means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of
Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, copyright 2013, American
Psychiatric Association.

"Emergency admissions” means those admissions that are
made when, pending a review for the certificate of need, it
appears_that the individual is in need of an immediate
admission to group home or residential treatment and
likely does not meet the medical necessity criteria to
receive crisis_intervention, crisis stabilization, or acute
psychiatric inpatient services.

"Emergency services" means unscheduled and sometimes
scheduled  crisis __intervention, _ stabilization, acute

psychiatric _inpatient services, and referral assistance
provided over the telephone or face-to-face if indicated,
and available 24 hours a day, seven days per week.

"Family engagement"” means a family-centered and
strengths-based approach to partnering with families in
making _decisions, setting qgoals, achieving desired
outcomes, and promoting safety, permanency, and well-
being for children, youth, and families. Family engagement
requires ongoing opportunities for an individual to build
and maintain _meaningful _relationships with family
members, for example, frequent, unscheduled, and
noncontingent phone calls and visits between an individual
and family members. Family engagement may also include
enhancing or facilitating the development of the
individual's relationship with other family members and
supportive adults responsible for the individual's care and
well-being upon discharge.

"Family engagement activity" means an intervention
consisting of family psychoeducational training or
coaching, transition planning with the family, family and
independent living skills, and training on accessing
community supports as identified in the IPOC and CIPOC.
Family engagement activity does not include and is not the
same as family therapy.

"Independent certification team" means a team that has
competence in diagnosis and treatment of mental illness,
preferably in child psychiatry; has knowledge of the
individual's situation; and is composed of at least one
physician and one LMHP. The independent certification
team shall be a DMAS-authorized contractor with
contractual or employment relationships with the required
team members.

"Individual” means the child or adolescent younger than 21
years of age who is receiving therapeutic group home or
residential treatment facility services.

"Initial plan of care" or "IPOC" means a person-centered
plan of care established at admission that meets all of the
requirements of this subsection and is specific to the
individual's unigue treatment needs and acuity levels as
identified in the clinical assessment and information
gathered during the referral process.

"Intervention” means scheduled therapeutic treatment such
as individual or group psychoeducation; psychoeducational
activities with specific _topics focused to address
individualized needs; structured behavior support and
training activities; recreation, art, and music therapies;
community integration activities that promote or assist in
the youth's ability to acquire coping and functional or self-
requlating behavior skills; day and overnight passes; and
family engagement activities. Interventions shall not
include individual, group, and family therapy, medical, or
dental appointments, physician _services, medication
evaluation or management provided by a licensed clinician
or_physician and shall not include school attendance.
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Interventions shall be provided in the therapeutic group

costs associated with placement in a licensed residential

home or residential treatment facility and, when clinically

treatment facility and include a semi-private room, three

necessary, in _a community setting or as part of a

meals and two snacks per day, and personal care items.

therapeutic leave activity. All interventions and settings of

Room and board costs are reimbursed only for residential

the intervention shall be established in the CIPOC.
"Physician" means an individual licensed to practice

treatment settings.
"Therapeutic group home" means a congregate residential

medicine or osteopathic medicine in Virginia, as defined in

service providing 24-hour supervision in a community-

§ 54.1-2900 of the Code of Virginia.
"Psychoeducational activities" means systematic

based home having eight or fewer residents.
"Therapeutic leave" and "therapeutic passes" mean time at

interventions based on supportive and cognitive behavior

home or time with family consisting of partial or entire

therapy that emphasizes an individual's and his family's

days of time away from the group home or treatment

needs and focuses on increasing the individual's and

facility with identified goals as approved by the treating

family's knowledge about mental disorders, adjusting to

physician, psychiatrist, or LMHP responsible for the

mental illness, communicating and facilitating problem

overall supervision of the CIPOC and documented in the

solving, and increasing coping skills.

"Recertification" means a certification for each applicant
or recipient for whom residential treatment facility services
are needed.

"Residential case management” means providing care
coordination, maintaining records, making calls, sending
emails, compiling monthly reports, scheduling meetings,
and performing other administrative tasks related to the
individual. Residential case management is a component of
the combined treatment services provided in a group home
setting or residential treatment facility.

"Residential medical supervision" means around-the-clock
nursing and medical care through onsite nurses and onsite
or_on-call physicians, as well as nurse and physician
attendance at each treatment planning meeting. Residential
medical supervision is a component of the combined
treatment services provided in a congregate residential care
facility and is included in the reimbursement for residential
Services.

"Residential supplemental therapies” means a specified
minimum_of daily interventions and other professional
therapies. Residential supplemental therapies are a
component of the combined treatment services provided in
a_congregate residential care facility and are included in
the reimbursement for residential services. Residential
providers shall not bill other payment sources in addition
to DMAS for these covered services as part of a residential
stay.

"Residential treatment facility" means the same as defined
in 42 CFR 483.352 and is a 24-hour, supervised, clinically
and medically necessary, out-of-home active treatment
program designed to provide necessary support and
address mental health, behavioral, substance abuse,
cognitive, and training needs of an individual younger than
21 years of age in order to prevent or minimize the need
for more intensive inpatient treatment.

"Room and board" means a component of the total daily
cost for placement in a licensed residential treatment
facility. Residential room and board costs are maintenance

CIPOC that facilitate or measure treatment progress,
facilitate aftercare designed to promote family/community
engagement, connection and permanency, and provide for
goal-directed family engagement.

e 2. Therapeutic behavieral group home services {evel

®_Criteria—or-an-egquivalent standard
a. Therapeutic group home services for children and
adolescents younger than the age of 21 vyears are
combined treatment services. The combination of
therapeutic _services rendered in a residential setting
provides a therapeutic structure of daily
psychoeducational activities, therapeutic _supervision,
behavioral modification, and mental health care to ensure
the attainment of therapeutic goals. The therapeutic
group home shall provide therapeutic services to restore,
develop, or maintain appropriate skills necessary to
promote prosocial behavior and healthy living to include
the development of coping skills, family living and
health awareness, interpersonal skills, communication
skills, and stress management skills. Treatment for
substance use disorders shall be addressed as clinically
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indicated. The program shall include individualized
activities provided in accordance with the IPOC and
CIPOC including a minimum of one intervention per 24-
hour period in addition to individual, group, and family
therapies. Daily interventions are not required when there
is documentation to justify clinical or medical reasons for
the individual's deviations from the service plan.
Interventions shall be documented on a progress note and
shall be outlined in and aligned with the treatment goals
and objectives in the IPOC and CIPOC. Any deviation
from _the IPOC or CIPOC shall be documented along
with a clinical or medical justification for the deviation.

b. Medical necessity criteria for admission to a
therapeutic group home. The following requirements for
severity of need and intensity and quality of service shall
be met to satisfy the medical necessity criteria for
admission.

(1) Admission - severity of need. The following criteria
shall be met to satisfy the criteria for severity of need:

(a) The individual's behavioral health condition can only
be safely and effectively treated in a 24-hour therapeutic
milieu with onsite behavioral health therapy due to
significant impairments in home, school, and community
functioning caused by current mental health symptoms
consistent with a DSM-5 diagnosis.

(b) The certificate of need must demonstrate all of the
following: (i) ambulatory care resources (all available
modalities of treatment less restrictive than inpatient
treatment) available in the community do not meet the
treatment needs of the individual; (ii) proper treatment of
the individual's psychiatric condition requires services on
an inpatient basis under the direction of a physician; and
(iii) the services can reasonably be expected to improve
the individual's condition or prevent further regression so
that the services will no longer be needed.

(c) An assessment that demonstrates at least two areas of
moderate impairment in major life activities. A moderate
impairment is defined as a major or persistent disruption
in major life activities. The state uniform assessment tool
must be completed. A moderate impairment is evidenced
by, but not limited to (i) frequent conflict in the family
setting _such as credible threats of physical harm.
"Frequent" is defined as more than expected for the
individual's age and developmental level; (ii) frequent
inability to accept age-appropriate direction and
supervision from caretakers, from family members, at
school, or in the home or community; (iii) severely
limited involvement in social support, which means
significant avoidance of appropriate social interaction,
deterioration of existing relationships, or refusal to
participate in therapeutic interventions; (iv) impaired
ability to form a trusting relationship with at least one
caretaker in the home, school, or community; (v) limited
ability to consider the effect of one's inappropriate

conduct on others; and (vi) interactions consistently
involving conflict, which may include impulsive or
abusive behaviors.

(d) Less restrictive community-based services have been
given a fully adequate trial and were unsuccessful or, if
not attempted, have been considered, but in _either
situation were determined to be to be unable to meet the
individual's treatment needs and the reasons for that are
discussed in the application.

(e) The individual's symptoms, or the need for treatment
in a 24 hours a day, seven days a week level of care
(LOC), are not primarily due to any of the following: (i)
intellectual disability, developmental disability, or
autistic spectrum disorder; (ii) organic mental disorders,
traumatic brain injury, or other medical condition; or (iii)
the individual does not require a more intensive level of
care.

(f) The individual does not require primary medical or
surgical treatment.

(2) Admission - intensity and quality of service. All of
the following criteria shall be met to satisfy the criteria
for intensity and quality of service.

(a) The therapeutic group home service has been
prescribed by a psychiatrist, psychologist, or other
LMHP who has documented that a residential setting is
the least restrictive clinically appropriate service that can
meet the specifically identified treatment needs of the
individual

(b) Therapeutic group home is not being used for
clinically inappropriate reasons, including: (i) an
alternative  to incarceration, and/or _ preventative
detention; (ii) an alternative to parents', guardian's or
agency's capacity to provide a place of residence for the
individual; or, (iii) a treatment intervention, when other
less restrictive alternatives are available.

(c) The individual's treatment goals are included in the
service specific provider intake and include behaviorally
defined objectives that require, and can reasonably be
achieved within, a therapeutic group home setting.

(d) The therapeutic group home is required to coordinate
with the individual's community resources, including
schools, with the goal of transitioning the individual out
of the program to a less restrictive care setting for
continued, sometimes intensive, services as soon as
possible and appropriate.

(e) The therapeutic group home program _must
incorporate  nationally established, evidence-based,
trauma_informed services and supports that promote
recovery and resiliency.

(f) _Discharge planning begins upon admission, with
concrete plans for the individual to transition back into
the _community beginning within the first week of
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admission, with clear action steps and target dates
outlined in the treatment plan.

(3) Continued stay criteria. The following criteria shall
be met in order to satisfy the criteria for continued stay:

(a) All of the admission guidelines continue to be met
and this is supported by the written clinical
documentation.

(b) The individual shall meet one of the following: (i) the
desired outcome or level of functioning has not been
restored or improved in the timeframe outlined in the
individual's CIPOC or the individual continues to be at
risk for relapse based on history or (ii) the tenuous nature
of the functional gains and use of less intensive services
will not achieve stabilization.

(c) The individual shall meet one of the following: (i) the
individual has achieved initial CIPOC goals but
additional goals are indicated that cannot be met at a
lower level of care; (ii) the individual is making
satisfactory progress toward meeting goals but has not
attained CIPOC goals, and the goals cannot be addressed
at a lower level of care; (iii) the individual is not making
progress, and the CIPOC has been modified to identify
more_effective interventions; or (iv) there are current
indications that the individual requires this level of
treatment to maintain level of functioning as evidenced
by failure to achieve goals identified for therapeutic visits
or stays in a nontreatment residential setting or in a lower
level of residential treatment.

(d) There is a written, up-to-date discharge plan that (i)
identifies the custodial parent or custodial caregiver at
discharge; (ii) identifies the school the individual will
attend at discharge; (iii) includes individualized
education program (IEP) recommendations, if necessary;
(iv) outlines the aftercare treatment plan (discharge to
another residential LOC is not an acceptable discharge
goal); and (v) lists barriers to community reintegration
and progress made on resolving these barriers since last
review.

(e) The active treatment plan includes structure for daily
activities, psychoeducation, and therapeutic supervision
and activities to ensure the attainment of therapeutic
mental health goals as identified in the treatment plan. In
addition to the daily therapeutic residential services, the
child/adolescent must also receive psychotherapy
services, care coordination, family-based discharge
planning, and locality-based transition _activities.
Intensive family interventions, with a recommended
frequency of one family therapy session per week,
although twice per month is minimally acceptable.
Family involvement begins immediately upon admission
to therapeutic group home. If the minimum requirement
cannot be met, the reasons must be reported, and
continued efforts to involve family members must also be
documented. Under certain circumstances an alternate

plan, aimed at enhancing the individual's connections
with other family members and/or supportive adults may
be an appropriate substitute.

(f)__Less restrictive treatment options have been
considered, but cannot yet meet the individual's treatment
needs.  There is  sufficient  current  clinical
documentation/evidence to show that therapeutic group
home LOC continues to be the least restrictive level of
care_that can meet the individual's mental health
treatment needs.

(4) Discharge criteria are as follows:

(a) Medicaid reimbursement is not available when other
less intensive services may achieve stabilization.

(b) Reimbursement shall not be made for this level of
care if any of the following applies: (i) the level of
functioning has improved with respect to the goals
outlined in the CIPOC and the individual can reasonably
be expected to maintain these gains at a lower level of
treatment or (ii) the individual no longer benefits from
service as evidenced by absence of progress toward
CIPOC goals for a period of 60 days.

c. The following clinical interventions shall be required
for each therapeutic group home resident:

(1) Preadmission service-specific provider intake shall be
performed by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or
LMHP-S.

(2) A face-to-face behavioral health assessment shall be
performed by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or
LMHP-S within 30 days prior to admission and shall
document a DSM-5/ICD-10 diagnosis.

(3) A certificate of need shall be completed by an
independent certification team according to the
requirements of 12VAC30-50-130 D 4. Recertification
shall occur at least every 60 days by a LMHP, L MHP-R,
LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S acting within their scope of
practice.

(4) An initial plan of care shall be completed on the day
of admission by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or
LMHP-S and shall be signed by the LMHP, LMHP-R,
LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and the individual and a family
member or legally authorized representative. The initial
plan of care shall include all of the following:

(a) Individual and family strengths and personal traits
that would facilitate recovery and opportunities to
develop motivational strategies and treatment alliance;
(b) Diagnoses, symptoms, complaints, and complications
indicating the need for admission;

(c) A description of the functional level of the individual;
(d) Treatment objectives with short-term and long-term
goals;

(e) Orders for medications, psychiatric, medical, dental,
and any special health care needs whether or not
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provided in the facilities, treatments, restorative and
rehabilitative  services, activities, therapies, social
services, community integration, diet, and special
procedures recommended for the health and safety of the
individual;

(f) Plans for continuing care, including review and
modification to the plan of care; and

(q) Plans for discharge.

(5) The CIPOC shall be completed no later than 14
calendar days after admission and shall meet all of the
following criteria:

(a) Be based on a diagnostic evaluation that includes
examination of the medical, psychological, social,
behavioral, and developmental aspects of the individual's
situation and shall reflect the need for therapeutic group
home care;

(b) Be based on input from school, home, other health
care_providers, the individual, and the family or legal
guardian;

(c) Shall state treatment objectives that include
measurable short-term and long-term goals and
objectives, with target dates for achievement;

(d) Prescribe an integrated program of therapies,
activities, and experiences designed to meet the treatment
objectives related to the diagnosis; and

(e) Include a comprehensive discharge plan with
necessary, clinically appropriate community services to
ensure continuity of care upon discharge with the child's
family, school, and community.

(6) The CIPOC shall be reviewed, signed, and dated
every 30 calendar days by the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-
RP, or LMHP-S and the individual or a family member
or primary caregiver. Updates shall be signed and dated
by the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and the
individual or a family member or legally authorized
representative. The review shall include all of the
following:

(a) The individual's response to the services provided;

(b) Recommended changes in the plan as indicated by the
individual's overall response to the CIPOC interventions;
and

(c) Determinations regarding whether the services being
provided continue to be required.

(7) _Crisis _management, clinical _assessment, and
individualized therapy shall be provided as indicated in
the IPOC and CIPOC to address intermittent crises and
challenges within the group home setting or community
settings as defined in the plan of care and to avoid a
higher level of care.

(8) Care coordination shall be provided with medical,
educational, and other behavioral health providers and

other entities involved in the care and discharge planning
for the individual as included in the IPOC and CIPOC.

(9) Weekly individual therapy shall be provided in the
therapeutic group home, or other settings as appropriate
for the individual's needs, by an LMHP, LMHP-R,
LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S, which shall be documented in
progress notes in accordance with the requirements in
12VAC30-60-61.

(10) Weekly (or more frequently if clinically indicated)
group therapy shall be provided by an LMHP, LMHP-R,
LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S, which shall be documented in
progress notes in_accordance with the requirements in
12VAC30-60-61 and as planned and documented in the
IPOC or CIPOC.

(11) Family treatment shall be provided as clinically
indicated, provided by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP,
or LMHP-S, which shall be documented in progress
notes in accordance with the requirements in 12VAC30-
60-61 and as planned and documented in the IPOC or
CIPOC.

(12) Family engagement activities shall be provided in
addition to  family  therapy/counseling.  Family
engagement activities shall be provided at least weekly as
outlined in the IPOC and CIPOC, and daily
communication with the family or legally authorized
representative shall be part of the family engagement
strategies in _the IPOC or CIPOC. For each service
authorization period when family engagement is not
possible, the therapeutic group home shall identify and
document the specific barriers to the individual's
engagement with his family or legally authorized
representatives. The therapeutic group home shall
document on a weekly basis the reasons why family
engagement is not occurring as required. The therapeutic
group _home shall document alternative family
engagement strategies to be used as part of the
interventions in the IPOC or CIPOC and request approval
of the revised IPOC or CIPOC by DMAS or its
contractor. When family engagement is not possible, the
therapeutic group home shall collaborate with DMAS or
its contractor on a weekly basis to develop individualized
family engagement strategies and document the revised
strategies in the IPOC or CIPOC.

(13) Therapeutic passes shall be provided as clinically
indicated and as paired with facility-based and
community-based interventions and combined treatment
services to promote discharge planning, community
integration, and family engagement activities. Twenty-
four therapeutic passes shall be permitted per individual,
per admission, without authorization as approved by the
treating LMHP and documented in the CIPOC.
Additional therapeutic leave passes shall require service
authorization. Any unauthorized therapeutic leave passes
shall result in retraction for those days of service.
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(14) Discharge planning. Beginning at admission and
continuing _throughout the individual's stay at the
therapeutic group home, the family or guardian, the
community services board (CSB), the family assessment
and planning team (FAPT) case manager, and either the
managed care organization (MCO) or BHSA care
manager_shall be involved in treatment planning and
shall identify the anticipated needs of the individual and
family upon discharge and available services in the
community. Prior to discharge, the therapeutic group
home shall submit an active and viable discharge plan to
the BHSA for review. Once the BHSA approves the
discharge plan, the provider shall begin actively
collaborating with the family or legally authorized
representative _and the treatment team to identify
behavioral health and medical providers and schedule
appointments for service-specific _provider intakes as
needed. The therapeutic group home shall request
permission from the parent or legally authorized
representative to share treatment information with these
providers and shall share information pursuant to a valid
release. The therapeutic group home shall request
information from post-discharge providers to establish
that the planning of pending services and transition
planning activities have begun, shall establish that active
transition planning has begun, shall establish that the
individual has been enrolled in school, and shall provide
IEP _recommendations to the school if necessary. The
therapeutic group home shall inform the BHSA of all
scheduled appointments within 30 days of discharge and
shall notify the BHSA within one business day of the
individual's discharge date from the therapeutic group
home.

(2.) | i euzlatlen_ i—fequired—io : Medicaid
‘ . e " | el _
£3) (15) Room and board costs shall not be reimbursed.
Facilities that only provide independent living services or
nonclinical services that do not meet the requirements of
this subsection are not reimbursed eligible for
reimbursement. BMAS-shall-reimburse-onhy-for services
idod. in_facilii . |
beds:

{4)—TFhese—residential (16) Therapeutic group home
services providers must shall be licensed by the
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental
Services (DBHDS) under the Regulations for Children's
Residential Facilities (12VAC35-46).

-

A (17) Individuals shall be discharged from this service
when treatment goals are met or other less intensive
services may achieve stabilization.

(Ig) Service Fspeell_m provider |talees” shal be_| equned_ &
the—entire—duration—of-services. (18) Services that are
based upon incomplete, missing, or outdated service-
specific provider intakes or +¥SPs CIPOCs shall be denied
reimbursement. Reguirements—for-intakes—and-tSPs—are
set-out-in-12VVAG30-60-61.

{9)Fhese (19) Therapeutic group home services may only
be rendered by an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-
resident, LMHP-RP, a QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, or a
QRPMH qualified paraprofessional in mental health.

{49} (20) The facility 4 or group home shall coordinate
necessary services and discharge planning with other
providers as medically and clinically necessary.
Documentation of this care coordination shall be
maintained by the facility # or group home in the
individual's record. The documentation shall include who
was contacted, when the contact occurred, and what
information was transmitted, and recommended next
steps.

(21) Failure to perform any of the items described in this
subsection shall result in a retraction of the per diem for
each day of noncompliance.

6—lnpatient psychiatric 3. Residential treatment facility

services shall are a 24-hour, supervised, clinically and
medically necessary out-of-home program designed to
provide necessary support and address mental health,
behavioral, substance use, cognitive, or other treatment
needs of an individual younger than the age of 21 years in
order to prevent or minimize the need for more intensive
inpatient treatment. Active treatment and comprehensive
discharge planning shall beqgin prior to admission. In order
to be covered for individuals younger than age 21 fer

edically-necessary-stays-for-the-purpese 9.' diagh osis-a e
t. eatl_lﬁe_ EI of —mental —health—and —be |a_a|e|al dlselde|s
by: these services shall (i) meet DMAS-approved
psychiatric medical necessity criteria or be approved as an
EPSDT service based upon a diagnosis made by an LMHP,
LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S who is practicing within
the scope of his license and (ii) be reflected in provider
records and on the provider's claims for services by
recognized diagnosis codes that support and are consistent
with the requested professional services.
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a. Residential treatment facility services shall be covered
for the purpose of diagnosis and treatment of mental
health and behavioral disorders when such services are
rendered by:

(1) A psychiatric _hospital or an inpatient psychiatric
program in _a hospital accredited by the Joint
Commission; or a psychiatric facility that is accredited by
the Joint Commission, the Commission on Accreditation
of Rehabilitation Facilities, the Council on Accreditation
of Services for Families and Children, or the Council on
Quality and Leadership. Providers of residential
treatment facility services shall be licensed by DBHDS.

(2) Inpatient psychiatric _hospital admissions at general
acute care hospitals and freestanding psychiatric
hospitals shall also be subject to the requirements of
12VAC30-50-100, 12VVAC30-50-105, and 12VAC30-60-
25. Inpatient psychiatric _admissions to residential
treatment _ facilities shall also be subject to the
requirements of 12VAC30-130 (Amount, Duration and
Scope of Selected Services).

(3) Residential treatment facility services are
reimbursable only when the treatment program is fully in
compliance with (i) the Code of Federal Regulations at
42 CFR Part 441 Subpart D, specifically 42 CFR 441.151
(a) and (b) and 42 CFR 441.152 through 42 CFR 441.156
and (ii) the Conditions of Participation in 42 CFR Part
483 Subpart G. Each admission must be preauthorized
and the treatment must meet DMAS requirements for

clinical necessity.

b. Residential treatment facility services shall include
assessment_and re-assessment; room and board; daily

supervision; combined treatment services; individual,
family, and group therapy; residential care coordination;
interventions; general or special education; medical
treatment _ (including medication, coordination _ of
necessary medical services, and 24-hour onsite nursing);
specialty services; and discharge planning that meets the
medical and clinical needs of the individual.

c. Medical necessity criteria for admission to a
psychiatric residential treatment facility. The following
requirements for severity of need and intensity and
quality of service shall be met to satisfy the medical
necessity criteria for admission:

(1) Admission - severity of need. The following criteria
shall be met to satisfy the criteria for severity of need:

(a) There is clinical evidence that the patient has a DSM-
5 disorder that is amenable to active psychiatric
treatment.

(b) There is a high degree of potential of the condition
leading to acute psychiatric hospitalization in the absence
of residential treatment.

(c) Either (i) there is clinical evidence that the individual
would be a risk to self or others if he were not in a
residential treatment program or (ii) as a result of the
individual's mental disorder, there is an inability to
adequately care for one's physical needs, and
caretakers/guardians/family members are unable to safely
fulfill these needs, representing potential serious harm to
self.

(d) The individual requires supervision seven days per
week, 24 hours per day to develop skills necessary for
daily living; to assist with planning and arranging access
to a range of educational, therapeutic, and aftercare
services; and to develop the adaptive and functional
behavior that will allow him to live outside of a
residential setting.

(e) The individual's current living environment does not
provide the support and access to therapeutic services
needed.

(f)_The individual is medically stable and does not
require the 24-hour medical or nursing monitoring or
procedures provided in a hospital level of care.

(2) Admission - _intensity and quality of service. The
following criteria shall be met to satisfy the criteria for
intensity and quality of service:

(a) The evaluation and assignment of a DSM-5 diagnosis
must result from a face-to-face psychiatric evaluation.

(b) The program provides supervision seven days per
week, 24 hours per day to assist with the development of
skills necessary for daily living; to assist with planning
and arranging access to a range of educational,
therapeutic, and aftercare services; and to assist with the
development of the adaptive and functional behavior that
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will allow the patient to live outside of a residential
setting.

(c) An individualized plan of active psychiatric treatment
and residential living support is provided in a timely
manner. This treatment must be medically monitored,
with 24-hour medical availability and 24-hour nursing
services availability. This plan includes (i) at least once-
a-week psychiatric reassessments; (ii) intensive family
and/or support system involvement occurring at least
once per week, or identifies valid reasons why such a
plan is not clinically appropriate or feasible; (iii)
psychotropic medications, when used, are to be used with
specific target symptoms identified; (iv) evaluation for
current medical problems; (v) evaluation for concomitant
substance use issues; (vi) linkage and/or coordination
with the patient's community resources with the goal of
returning the patient to his reqular social environment as
soon as possible, unless contraindicated. School contact
should address an individualized educational plan as
appropriate.

(d) A urine drug screen is considered at the time of
admission, when progress is not occurring, when
substance misuse is suspected, or when substance use
and medications may have a potential adverse
interaction. After a positive screen, additional random
screens are considered and referral to a substance use
disorder provider is considered.

(3) Criteria_for continued stay. The following criteria
shall be met to satisfy the criteria for continued stay:

(a) Despite reasonable therapeutic efforts, clinical
evidence indicates at least one of the following: (i) the
persistence of problems that caused the admission to a
degree that continues to meet the admission criteria (both
severity of need and intensity of service needs); (ii) the
emergence of additional problems that meet the
admission criteria (both severity of need and intensity of
service needs); (iii) that disposition planning and/or
attempts at therapeutic re-entry into the community have
resulted in_or would result in exacerbation of the
psychiatric illness to the degree that would necessitate
continued residential treatment. Subjective opinions
without objective clinical information or evidence are not
sufficient to meet severity of need based on justifying the
expectation that there would be a decompensation.

(b) There is evidence of objective, measurable, and time-
limited therapeutic clinical goals that must be met before
the patient can return to a new or previous living
situation. There is evidence that attempts are being made
to secure timely access to treatment resources and
housing in anticipation of discharge, with alternative
housing contingency plans also being addressed.

(c) There is evidence that the treatment plan is focused
on the alleviation of psychiatric symptoms and
precipitating psychosocial stressors that are interfering

with the patient’s ability to return to a less-intensive level
of care.

(d) The current or revised treatment plan can be
reasonably expected to bring about significant
improvement in the problems meeting the criteria in
subdivision 3 ¢ (3) (a) of this subsection, and this is
documented in weekly progress notes written and signed
by the provider.

(e) There is evidence of intensive family and/or support
system involvement occurring at least once per week,
unless there is an identified, valid reason why it is not
clinically appropriate or feasible.

(f) A discharge plan is formulated that is directly linked
to the behaviors and/or symptoms that resulted in
admission, and begins to identify appropriate post-
residential treatment resources.

(a) All applicable elements in admission-intensity and
guality of service criteria are applied as related to
assessment _and treatment if clinically relevant and
appropriate.

d. The following clinical activities shall be required for
each residential treatment facility resident:

(1) A face-to-face assessment shall be performed by an
LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RS, or LMHP-S within 30
days prior to admission and weekly thereafter and shall
document a DSM-5/ICD-10 diagnosis.

(2) A certificate of need shall be completed by an
independent _certification team according to the
requirements of 12VAC30-50-130 D 4. Recertification
shall occur at least every 30 days by a physician acting
within his scope of practice.

(3) The initial plan of care (IPOC) shall be completed
within 24 hours of admission by the treatment team. The
initial plan of care shall include:

(a) Individual and family strengths and personal traits
that would facilitate recovery and opportunities to
develop motivational strategies and treatment alliance;

(b) Diagnoses, symptoms, complaints, and complications
indicating the need for admission;

(c) A description of the functional level of the individual;

(d) Treatment objectives with short-term and long-term
goals;

(e) Any orders for medications, psychiatric, medical,
dental, and any special health care needs, whether or not
provided in the facility, education or special education,
treatments, interventions, restorative and rehabilitative
services, activities, therapies, social services, diet, and
special procedures recommended for the health and
safety of the individual;

(f)_Plans for continuing care, including review and
modification to the plan of care;

() Plans for discharge; and
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(h) Signature and date by the individual, parent, or
legally authorized representative, a physician, and
treatment team members.

(4) The CIPOC shall be completed no later than 14
calendar days after admission by the treatment team. The
residential treatment facility shall request authorizations
from families to release confidential information to
collect information from medical and behavioral health
treatment providers, schools, social services, court
services, and other relevant parties. This information
shall be used when considering changes and updating the
CIPOC. The CIPOC shall meet all of the following
criteria:

(a) Be based on a diagnostic evaluation that includes
examination of the medical, psychological, social,
behavioral, and developmental aspects of the individual's
situation and must reflect the need for residential
treatment facility care;

(b) Be developed by an interdisciplinary team of
physicians and other personnel specified in this
subdivision 3 d of this subsection who are employed by
or_provide services to the individual in the facility in
consultation with the individual, family member, or
legally authorized representative, or appropriate others
into whose care the individual will be released after
discharge;

(c) Shall state treatment objectives that shall include
measurable, evidence-based, short-term and long-term
goals and objectives; family engagement activities; and
the design of community-based aftercare with target
dates for achievement;

(d) Prescribe an integrated program of therapies,
interventions, activities, and experiences designed to
meet the treatment objectives related to the individual
and family treatment needs; and

(e) Describe comprehensive transition plans and
coordination of current care and post-discharge plans
with related community services to ensure continuity of
care _upon discharge with the recipient's family, school,
and community.

(5) The CIPOC shall be reviewed every 30 calendar days
by the team specified in this subdivision 3 d of this
subsection to determine that services being provided are
or were required from a residential treatment facility and
to recommend changes in the plan as indicated by the
individual's overall adjustment during the time away
from home. The CIPOC shall include the signature and
date from the individual, parent, or legally authorized
representative, a physician, and treatment team members.

(6) Individual therapy shall be provided three times per
week (or more frequently based upon the individual's
needs) provided by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or
LMHP-S and shall be documented in the IPOC, CIPOC,

and progress notes in accordance with the requirements
in this subsection.

(7) _Group therapy shall be provided as clinically
indicated by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-
S and shall be documented in the IPOC, CIPOC, and
progress notes in_accordance with the requirements in
this subsection.

(8) Family therapy shall be provided as clinically
indicated by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-
S and shall be documented in the IPOC, CIPOC, and
progress notes in _accordance with the individual and
family or legally authorized representative's goals and the
requirements in this subsection.

(9) Family engagement shall be provided in addition to
family therapy/counseling. Family engagement shall be
provided at least weekly as outlined in the IPOC and
CIPOC, and daily communication with the family or
legally authorized representative shall be part of the
family engagement strategies in the IPOC and
CIPOC. For _each service authorization period when
family engagement is not possible, the psychiatric
residential treatment facility shall identify and document
the specific barriers to the individual's engagement with
his family or legally authorized representatives. The
psychiatric residential treatment facility shall document
on a weekly basis, the reasons that family engagement is
not_occurring as required. The psychiatric residential
treatment _ facility shall document alternate family
engagement strategies to be used as part of the
interventions in the IPOC or CIPOC and request approval
of the revised IPOC or CIPOC by DMAS or its
contractor. When family engagement is not possible, the
psychiatric residential treatment facility shall collaborate
with DMAS or its contractor on a weekly basis to
develop individualized family engagement strategies and
document the revised strategies in the IPOC or CIPOC.

(10) Three interventions shall be provided per 24-hour
period including nights and weekends. Family
engagement activities are considered to be an
intervention and shall occur based on the treatment and
visitation goals and scheduling needs of the family or
legally authorized representative. Interventions shall be
documented on a progress note and shall be outlined in
and aligned with the treatment goals and objectives in the
IPOC and CIPOC. Any deviation from the IPOC or
CIPOC shall be documented along with a clinical or
medical justification for the deviation based on the needs
of the individual.

(11) Therapeutic passes shall be provided as clinically
indicated and as paired with community and facility-
based interventions and combined treatment services to
promote discharge planning, community integration, and
family engagement. Twenty-four therapeutic passes shall
be permitted per individual, per admission, without
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authorization as approved by the treating physician and
documented in the CIPOC. Additional therapeutic leave
passes shall require service authorization. Any
unauthorized therapeutic leave passes shall result in
retraction for those days of service.

(12) Discharge planning. Beginning at admission and
continuing throughout the individual's placement at the
residential treatment facility, the parent or legally
authorized representative, the community services board
(CSB), the family assessment planning team (FAPT) case
manager, if appropriate, and either the managed care
organization (MCQ) or BHSA care manager shall be
involved in treatment planning and shall identify the
anticipated needs of the individual and family upon
discharge and identify the available services in the
community. Prior to discharge, the residential treatment
facility shall submit an active discharge plan to the
BHSA for review. Once the BHSA approves the
discharge plan, the provider shall begin collaborating
with the parent or legally authorized representative and
the treatment team to identify behavioral health and
medical providers and schedule appointments for service-
specific provider intakes as needed. The residential
treatment facility shall request written permission from
the parent or legally authorized representative to share
treatment information with these providers and shall
share information pursuant to a valid release. The
residential treatment facility shall request information
from post-discharge providers to establish that the
planning of services and activities has begun, shall
establish that the individual has been enrolled in school,
and shall provide individualized education program (IEP)
recommendations to the school if necessary. The
residential treatment facility shall inform the BHSA of all
scheduled appointments within 30 calendar days of
discharge and shall notify the BHSA within one business
day of the individual's discharge date from the residential
treatment facility.

(13) Failure to perform any of the items as described in
subdivisions 3 d (1) through 3 d (12) of this subsection
up until the discharge of the individual shall result in a
retraction of the per diem and all other contracted and
coordinated service payments for each day of

noncompliance.

e. The team developing the CIPOC shall meet the
following requirements:

(1) At least one member of the team must have expertise
in_pediatric behavioral health. Based on education and
experience, preferably including competence in
child/adolescent psychiatry, the team must be capable of
all of the following: assessing the individual's immediate
and long-range therapeutic needs, developmental
priorities, and personal strengths and liabilities; assessing
the potential resources of the individual's family or

legally authorized representative; setting treatment
objectives; and prescribing therapeutic modalities to
achieve the plan's objectives.

(2) The team shall include either:
(a) A board-eligible or board-certified psychiatrist;

(b) A licensed clinical psychologist and a physician
licensed to practice medicine or osteopathy; or

(c) A physician licensed to practice medicine or
osteopathy with specialized training and experience in
the diagnosis and treatment of mental diseases and a
licensed clinical psychologist.

(3) The team shall also include one of the following: an
LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-
RP.

4. Requirements applicable to both therapeutic group
homes and residential treatment facilities: independent
certification teams.

a. The independent certification team shall certify the
need for residential treatment or therapeutic group home
services and issue a certificate of need document within
the process and timeliness standards as approved by
DMAS under contractual agreement with the BHSA.

b. The independent certification team shall be approved
by DMAS through a memorandum of understanding with
a_locality or be approved under contractual agreement
with the BHSA. The team shall initiate and coordinate
referral to the family assessment and planning team
(FAPT) as defined in 88 2.2-5207 and 2.2-5208 of the
Code of Virginia to facilitate care coordination and for
consideration of educational coverage and other supports
not covered by DMAS.

c. The independent certification team shall assess the
individual's and family's strengths and needs in addition
to diagnoses, behaviors, and symptoms that indicate the
need for behavioral health treatment and also consider
whether local resources and community-based care are
sufficient to meet the individual's treatment needs, as
presented within the previous 30 calendar days, within
the least restrictive environment.

d. The LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or
LMHP-RP, as part of the independent certification team,
shall meet with an individual and his parent or legally
authorized representative within two business days from
a_request to assess the individual's needs and begin the
process to certify the need for an out-of-home placement.

e. The independent certification team shall meet with an
individual and his parent or legally authorized
representative within 10 business days from a request to
certify the need for an out-of-home placement.

f. The independent certification team shall assess the
treatment needs of the individual to issue a certificate of
need (CON) for the most appropriate medically-

Volume 33, Issue 13

Virginia Register of Regulations

February 20, 2017

1452



Regulations

necessary services. The certification shall include the
dated signature and credentials for each of the team
members who rendered the certification. Referring or
treatment providers shall not actively participate during
the certification process but may provide supporting
clinical documentation to the certification team.

0. The CON shall be effective for 30 calendar days prior
to admission.

h. The independent certification team shall provide the
completed CON to the facility within one calendar day of
completing the CON.

i. The individual and his parent or legally authorized
representative shall have the right to freedom of choice
of service providers.

. If the individual or his parent or legally authorized
representative  disagrees  with  the  independent
certification team's recommendation, the parent or legally
authorized representative may appeal the
recommendation in accordance with 12\VAC30-110-10.

k. If the LMHP, as part of the independent certification
team, determines that the individual is in immediate need
of treatment, the LMHP shall refer the individual to an
appropriate  Medicaid-enrolled _emergency services
provider in accordance with 12VVAC30-50-226 or shall
refer the individual for emergency admission to a
residential treatment facility or therapeutic group home
under subdivision 4 m of this subsection, and shall also
alert the individual's managed care organization.

I. For individuals who are already eligible for Medicaid
at the time of admission, the independent certification
team shall be a DMAS-authorized contractor with
competence in the diagnosis and treatment of mental
illness, preferably in child psychiatry, and have
knowledge of the individual's situation and service
availability in the individual's local service area. The
team shall be composed of at least one physician and one
LMHP, including LMHP-S, LMHP-R, and LMHP-RP.
An__individual's parent or legally authorized
representative _shall be included in the certification
process.

m. For emergency admissions, an assessment must be
made by the team responsible for the comprehensive
individual plan of care (CIPOC). Reimbursement shall
only occur when a certificate of need is issued by the
team responsible for the comprehensive individual plan
of care within 14 days after admission. The certification
shall cover any period of time after admission and before
for _which claims are made for reimbursement by
Medicaid. After processing an emergency admission the
residential treatment facility or institution for mental
diseases (IMD) shall notify the BHSA of the individual's
status as being under the care of the facility within five
days.

n. For all individuals who apply and become eligible for
Medicaid while an inpatient in a facility or program, the
certification team shall refer the case to the DMAS-
contracted BHSA for referral to the local FAPT to
facilitate care coordination and consideration of
educational coverage and other supports not covered by
DMAS.

0. For individuals who apply and become eligible for
Medicaid while an inpatient in the facility or program,
the certification shall be made by the team responsible
for the comprehensive individual plan of care and shall
cover _any period of time before the application for
Medicaid eligibility for which claims are made for
reimbursement by Medicaid. Upon the individual's
enrollment into the Medicaid program, the residential
treatment facility or IMD shall notify the BHSA of the
individual's status as being under the care of the facility
within five days of the individual becoming eligible for
Medicaid benefits.

5. Requirements applicable to both therapeutic group

homes and residential treatment facilities - service

a. Authorization shall be required and shall be conducted
by DMAS, its behavioral health services administrator,
or_its utilization management contractor using medical
necessity criteria specified in this subsection.

b. An individual shall have a valid psychiatric diagnosis
and meet the medical necessity criteria as defined in this
subsection to satisfy the criteria for admission. The
diagnosis shall be current, as documented within the past
12 months. If a current diagnosis is not available, the
individual will require a mental health evaluation by an
LMHP employed or contracted with the independent
certification team to establish a diagnosis, and
recommend and coordinate referral to the available
treatment options.

c. At authorization, an initial length of stay shall be
agreed upon by the individual and parent or legally
authorized representative with the treating provider, and
the treating provider shall be responsible for evaluating
and documenting evidence of treatment progress,
assessing the need for ongoing out-of-home placement,
and obtaining authorization for continued stay.

d. Information that is required to obtain authorization for
these services shall include:

(1) A completed state-designated uniform assessment
instrument approved by DMAS;

(2) A certificate of need completed by an independent
certification team specifying all of the following:

(a) The ambulatory care and Medicaid or FAPT-funded

services available in the community do not meet the
specific treatment needs of the individual;
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(b) Alternative community-based care was not

7. Requirements applicable to therapeutic group homes and

successful;

(c)_Proper treatment of the individual's psychiatric
condition requires services in_a 24-hour supervised
setting under the direction of a physician; and

(d) The services can reasonably be expected to improve
the individual's condition or prevent further regression so
that a more intensive level of care will not be needed;

(3) Diagnosis as defined in the DSM-5 and based on (i)
an evaluation by a psychiatrist or LMHP that has been
completed within 30 days of admission or (ii) a diagnosis
confirmed in writing by an LMHP after review of a
previous evaluation completed within one year of
admission;

(4) A description of the individual's behavior during the

residential treatment facilities - EPSDT services. EPSDT
services may involve service modalities not available to
other individuals, such as applied behavioral analysis and
neuro-rehabilitative services. Individualized services to
address specific_clinical needs identified in an EPSDT
screening shall require authorization by DMAS, a DMAS
contractor, or the BHSA. In unique EPSDT cases, DMAS,
the  DMAS contractor, or the BHSA may authorize
specialized services beyond the standard therapeutic group
home or residential treatment medical necessity criteria
and program requirements, as medically and clinically
indicated to ensure the most appropriate treatment is
available to each individual. Treating service providers
authorized to deliver medically necessary EPSDT services
in__inpatient settings, therapeutic group homes, and

seven days immediately prior to admission;

(5) A description of alternate placements and community
mental health and rehabilitation services and traditional
behavioral health services pursued and attempted and the
outcomes of each service.

(6) The individual's level of functioning and clinical
stability.

(7) _The level of family involvement and supports
available.

(8) The initial plan of care (IPOC).

6. Requirements applicable to both therapeutic group
homes and residential treatment facilities - continued stay
criteria. For a continued stay authorization or a
reauthorization to occur, the individual shall meet the
medical necessity criteria as defined in this subsection to
satisfy the criteria for continuing care. The length of the
authorized stay shall be determined by DMAS, the
behavioral health services administrator, or the utilization
management contractor. A current CIPOC and a current
(within 30 days) summary of progress related to the goals
and objectives of the CIPOC shall be submitted to DMAS,
the behavioral health services administrator, or the
utilization management contractor for continuation of the
service. The service provider shall also submit:

a. A state uniform assessment instrument, completed no
more than 30 business days prior to the date of
submission;

b. Documentation that the required services have been
provided as defined in the CIPOC;

c. Current (within the last 14 days) information on
progress related to the achievement of all treatment and
discharge-related goals; and

d. A description of the individual's continued impairment
and treatment needs, problem behaviors, family
engagement activities, community-based discharge
planning and care coordination, and need for a residential
level of care.

residential treatment facilities on behalf of a Medicaid-
enrolled individual shall adhere to the individualized
interventions and evidence-based progress measurement
criteria _described in the CIPOC and approved for
reimbursement by DMAS, the DMAS contractor, or the
BHSA. All documentation, independent certification team,
family engagement activity, therapeutic pass, and
discharge planning requirements shall apply to cases
approved as EPSDT inpatient, residential treatment, or
therapeutic group home service.

+ 8. Hearing aids shall be reimbursed for individuals
younger than 21 years of age according to medical
necessity when provided by practitioners licensed to
engage in the practice of fitting or dealing in hearing aids
under the Code of Virginia.

G- E. School health services.

1. School health assistant services are repealed effective
July 1, 2006.

2. School divisions may provide routine well-child
screening services under the State Plan. Diagnostic and
treatment services that are otherwise covered under early
and periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment services,
shall not be covered for school divisions. School divisions
to receive reimbursement for the screenings shall be
enrolled with DMAS as clinic providers.

a. Children enrolled in managed care organizations shall
receive screenings from those organizations. School
divisions shall not receive reimbursement for screenings
from DMAS for these children.

b. School-based services are listed in a recipient's
individualized education program (IEP) and covered
under one or more of the service categories described in
8§ 1905(a) of the Social Security Act. These services are
necessary to correct or ameliorate defects of physical or
mental illnesses or conditions.

3. Service providers shall be licensed under the applicable
state practice act or comparable licensing criteria by the
Virginia Department of Education, and shall meet
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applicable qualifications under 42 CFR Part 440.
Identification of defects, illnesses or conditions and
services necessary to correct or ameliorate them shall be
performed by practitioners qualified to make those
determinations within their licensed scope of practice,
either as a member of the IEP team or by a qualified
practitioner outside the IEP team.

a. Service providers shall be employed by the school
division or under contract to the school division.

b. Supervision of services by providers recognized in
subdivision 4 of this subsection shall occur as allowed
under federal regulations and consistent with Virginia
law, regulations, and DMAS provider manuals.

c. The services described in subdivision 4 of this
subsection shall be delivered by school providers, but
may also be available in the community from other
providers.

d. Services in this subsection are subject to utilization
control as provided under 42 CFR Parts 455 and 456.

e. The IEP shall determine whether or not the services
described in subdivision 4 of this subsection are
medically necessary and that the treatment prescribed is
in accordance with standards of medical practice.
Medical necessity is defined as services ordered by IEP
providers. The IEP providers are qualified Medicaid
providers to make the medical necessity determination in
accordance with their scope of practice. The services
must be described as to the amount, duration and scope.

4. Covered services include:

a. Physical therapy, occupational therapy and services for
individuals with speech, hearing, and language disorders,
performed by, or under the direction of, providers who
meet the qualifications set forth at 42 CFR 440.110. This
coverage includes audiology services.

b. Skilled nursing services are covered under 42 CFR
440.60. These services are to be rendered in accordance
to the licensing standards and criteria of the Virginia
Board of Nursing. Nursing services are to be provided by
licensed registered nurses or licensed practical nurses but
may be delegated by licensed registered nurses in
accordance with the regulations of the Virginia Board of
Nursing, especially the section on delegation of nursing
tasks and procedures. The licensed practical nurse is
under the supervision of a registered nurse.

(1) The coverage of skilled nursing services shall be of a
level of complexity and sophistication (based on
assessment, planning, implementation and evaluation)
that is consistent with skilled nursing services when
performed by a licensed registered nurse or a licensed
practical nurse. These skilled nursing services shall
include, but not necessarily be limited to dressing
changes, maintaining patent airways, medication
administration/monitoring and urinary catheterizations.

(2) Skilled nursing services shall be directly and
specifically related to an active, written plan of care
developed by a registered nurse that is based on a written
order from a physician, physician assistant or nurse
practitioner for skilled nursing services. This order shall
be recertified on an annual basis.

c. Psychiatric and psychological services performed by
licensed practitioners within the scope of practice are
defined under state law or regulations and covered as
physicians' services under 42 CFR 440.50 or medical or
other remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. These
outpatient  services include individual medical
psychotherapy, group medical psychotherapy coverage,
and family medical psychotherapy. Psychological and
neuropsychological testing are allowed when done for
purposes other than educational diagnosis, school
admission, evaluation of an individual with intellectual or
developmental disability prior to admission to a nursing
facility, or any placement issue. These services are
covered in the nonschool settings also. School providers
who may render these services when licensed by the state
include psychiatrists, licensed clinical psychologists,
school psychologists, licensed clinical social workers,
professional counselors, psychiatric clinical nurse
specialist, marriage and family therapists, and school
social workers.

d. Personal care services are covered under 42 CFR
440.167 and performed by persons qualified under this
subsection. The personal care assistant is supervised by a
DMAS recognized school-based health professional who
is acting within the scope of licensure. This practitioner
develops a written plan for meeting the needs of the
child, which is implemented by the assistant. The
assistant must have qualifications comparable to those
for other personal care aides recognized by the Virginia
Department of Medical Assistance Services. The
assistant performs services such as assisting with
toileting, ambulation, and eating. The assistant may serve
as an aide on a specially adapted school vehicle that
enables transportation to or from the school or school
contracted provider on days when the student is receiving
a Medicaid-covered service under the IEP. Children
requiring an aide during transportation on a specially
adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the IEP.

e. Medical evaluation services are covered as physicians'
services under 42 CFR 440.50 or as medical or other
remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. Persons performing
these services shall be licensed physicians, physician
assistants, or nurse practitioners. These practitioners shall
identify the nature or extent of a child's medical or other
health related condition.

f. Transportation is covered as allowed under 42 CFR
431.53 and described at State Plan Attachment 3.1-D.
Transportation shall be rendered only by school division
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personnel or contractors. Transportation is covered for a
child who requires transportation on a specially adapted
school vehicle that enables transportation to or from the
school or school contracted provider on days when the
student is receiving a Medicaid-covered service under the
IEP. Transportation shall be listed in the child's IEP.
Children requiring an aide during transportation on a
specially adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the IEP.

g. Assessments are covered as necessary to assess or
reassess the need for medical services in a child's IEP
and shall be performed by any of the above licensed
practitioners within the scope of practice. Assessments
and reassessments not tied to medical needs of the child
shall not be covered.

5. DMAS will ensure through quality management review
that duplication of services will be monitored. School
divisions have a responsibility to ensure that if a child is
receiving additional therapy outside of the school, that
there will be coordination of services to avoid duplication
of service.

B- F. Family planning services and supplies for individuals
of child-bearing age.

1. Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or
performed within the scope of the license of a practitioner
of the healing arts.

2. Family planning services shall be defined as those
services that delay or prevent pregnancy. Coverage of such
services shall not include services to treat infertility nor
services to promote fertility.

12VAC30-60-5. Applicability of
requirements.

A. These utilization requirements shall apply to all Medicaid
covered services unless otherwise specified.

B. Some Medicaid covered services require an approved
service authorization prior to service delivery in order for
reimbursement to occur.

1. To obtain service authorization, all providers'
information supplied to the Department of Medical
Assistance  Services (DMAS), service authorization
contractor, or the behavioral health service authorization
contractor shall be fully substantiated throughout
individuals' medical records.

2. Providers shall be required to maintain documentation
detailing all relevant information about the Medicaid
individuals who are in providers' care. Such documentation
shall fully disclose the extent of services provided in order
to support providers' claims for reimbursement for services
rendered. This documentation shall be written, signed, and
dated at the time the services are rendered unless-specified
otherwise.

C. DMAS, or its designee, shall perform reviews of the
utilization of all Medicaid covered services pursuant to
42 CFR 440.260 and 42 CFR Part 456.

utilization review

D. DMAS shall recover expenditures made for covered
services when providers' documentation does not comport
with standards specified in all applicable regulations.

E. Providers who are determined not to be in compliance
with DMAS requirements shall be subject to 12VAC30-80-
130 for the repayment of those overpayments to DMAS.

F. Utilization review requirements specific to community
mental health services, as set out in 12VAC30-50-130 and
12VAC30-50-226, shall be as follows:

1. To apply to be reimbursed as a Medicaid provider, the
required Department of Behavioral Health and
Developmental Services (DBHDS) license shall be either a
full, annual, triennial, or conditional license. Providers
must be enrolled with DMAS or the BHSA behavioral
health services administrator (BHSA) to be reimbursed.
Once a health care entity has been enrolled as a provider, it
shall maintain, and update periodically as DMAS requires,
a current Provider Enrollment Agreement for each
Medicaid service that the provider offers.

2. Health care entities with provisional licenses shall not be
reimbursed as Medicaid providers of community mental
health services.

3. Payments shall not be permitted to health care entities
that either hold provisional licenses or fail to enter into a
Medicaid Provider Enrollment Agreement including a
BHSA contract for a service prior to rendering that service.
4. The DMAS-contracted behavioral health service
autherization-contractor services administrator shall apply
a national standardized set of medical necessity criteria in

use in the industry;—sueh-as-MekessentnterQual-Criteria;

or an equivalent standard authorized in advance by DMAS.
Services that fail to meet medical necessity criteria shall be
denied service authorization.

5. For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement for services
provided by staff in residency, the following terms shall be
used after their signatures to indicate such status:
a. LMHP-Rs shall use the term "Resident" after their
signatures.
b. LMHP-RPs shall use the term
Psychology" after their signatures.
c. LMHP-Ss shall use the term "Supervisee in Social
Work" after their signatures.
12VAC30-60-50. Utilization control: Intermediate Gare

Facilities care facilities for the—Mentally Retarded
HSEMR) persons with intellectual and developmental
disabilities and Hastitutions institutions for Mental Disease
mental disease (IMD).
A. "Institution for mental disease" or "IMD" means the same
as that term is defined in the Social Security Act, § 1905(i).
A: B. With respect to each Medicaid-eligible resident in an

ICE/MR  intermediate care facility for persons with
intellectual and developmental disabilities (ICF/ID) or IMD

"Resident in
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in Virginia, a written plan of care must be developed prior to
admission to or authorization of benefits in such facility, and
a regular program of independent professional review
(including a medical evaluation) shall be completed
periodically for such services. The purpose of the review is to
determine: the adequacy of the services available to meet his
current health needs and promote his maximum physical well
being; the necessity and desirability of his continued
placement in the facility; and the feasibility of meeting his
health care needs through alternative institutional or
noninstitutional services. Long-term care of residents in such
facilities will be provided in accordance with federal law that
is based on the resident's medical and social needs and
requirements.

B- C. With respect to each +SFMR ICF/ID or IMD, periodic
on-site onsite inspections of the care being provided to each
person receiving medical assistance, by one or more
independent professional review teams (composed of a
physician or registered nurse and other appropriate health and
social service personnel), shall be conducted. The review
shall include, with respect to each recipient, a determination
of the adequacy of the services available to meet his current
health needs and promote his maximum physical well-being,
the necessity and desirability of continued placement in the
facility, and the feasibility of meeting his health care needs
through alternative institutional or noninstitutional services.
Full reports shall be made to the state agency by the review
team of the findings of each inspection, together with any
recommendations.

C- D. In order for reimbursement to be made to a facility for

persons with intellectual and

developmental disabilities, the resident must meet criteria for

placement in such facility as described in 12V AC30-60-360

and the facility must provide active treatment for mental
retardation intellectual or developmental disabilities.

B- E. In each case for which payment for nursing facility
services for the-mentallyretarded persons with intellectual or
developmental disabilities or institution for mental disease
services is made under the State Plan:

hat | . i ; focility £ "
retarded-or-an-institutionfor-mental disease- A certificate

of need shall be completed by an independent certification
team according to the requirements of 12VAC30-50-130 D
5. Recertification shall occur at least every 60 days by a
physician, or by a physician assistant or nurse practitioner
acting within their scope of practice as defined by state law
and under the supervision of a physician. The certification
must be made at the time of admission or, if an individual
applies for assistance while in the facility, before the
Medicaid agency authorizes payment; and

2. A physician, or physician assistant or nurse practitioner
acting within the scope of the practice as defined by state
law and under the supervision of a physician, must

recertify for each applicant at least every 365 60 days that
services are needed in a facility for the-mentally-retarded
persons with intellectual disability or institution for mental
disease.

E- F. When a resident no longer meets criteria for facilities
for the—mentally—retarded persons with intellectual or
developmental disabilities, or an institution for mental disease
or no longer requires active treatment in a facility for the
mentallyretarded persons with intellectual or developmental
disabilities, then the resident must shall be discharged.

E- G. All services provided in an HMB-and-inantCFMR
ICF/ID shall be provided in accordance with guidelines found
in the Virginia Medicaid Nursing Home Manual.

H. All services provided in an IMD shall be provided with
the applicable provider agreement and all documents
referenced therein.

I. Psychiatric services in IMDs shall only be covered for
eligible individuals younger than 21 years of age.

J. IMD services provided without service authorization shall
not be covered.

K. Absence of any of the required IMD documentation shall
result in denial or retraction of reimbursement.

L. In each case for which payment for IMD services is made
under the State Plan:

1. A physician shall certify at the time of admission, or at
the time the IMD is notified of an individuals' retroactive
eligibility status, that the individual requires or required
inpatient services in _an IMD consistent with 42 CFR
456.160.

2. The physician or physician assistant or nurse practitioner
acting within the scope of practice as defined by state law
and under the supervision of a physician, shall recertify at
least every 60 days that the individual continues to require
inpatient services in an IMD.

3. Before admission to an IMD or before authorization for
payment, the attending physician or staff physician shall
perform a medical evaluation of the individual, and
appropriate _personnel shall complete a psychiatric _and
social evaluation as described in 42 CFR 456.170.

4. Before admission to a residential treatment facility or
before authorization for payment, the attending physician
or staff physician shall establish a written plan of care for
each individual as described in 42 CFR 441.155 and
42 CFR 456.180.

M. It shall be documented that the individual requiring
admission to an IMD is younger than 21 years of age, that
treatment is medically necessary, and that the necessity was
identified as a result of an independent certification of need
team review. Required documentation shall include the

following:

1. Diagnosis, as defined in the Diagnostic and Statistical
Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition 2013, American
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Psychiatric Association, and based on an evaluation by a

diagnoses of mental illness and includes supervised

psychiatrist completed within 30 days of admission or if

internships, supervised practicums, and supervised field

the diagnosis is confirmed, in writing, by a previous

experience for the purpose of Medicaid reimbursement of (i)

evaluation completed within one year within admission.

intensive in-home services, (ii) therapeutic day treatment for

2. A certification of the need for services as defined in
42 CFR 441.152 by an interdisciplinary team meeting the
requirements of 42 CFR 441.153 or 42 CFR 441.156 and
the Psychiatric Treatment of Minors Act (8§ 16.1-335 et
seq. of the Code of Virginia).

N. The use of seclusion and restraint in an IMD shall be in
accordance with 42 CFR 483.350 through 42 CFR 483.376.
Each use of a seclusion or restraint, as defined in 42 CFR
483.350 through 42 CFR 483.376, shall be reported by the
service provider to DMAS or the BHSA within one calendar
day of the incident.

12VAC30-60-61. Services related to the Early and
Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment Program
(EPSDT); community mental health services for children.

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in
this section shall have the following meanings unless the
context indicates otherwise:

"At risk" means one or more of the following: (i) within the
two weeks before the intake, the individual shall be screened
by an LMHP for escalating behaviors that have put either the
individual or others at immediate risk of physical injury; (ii)
the parent/guardian is unable to manage the individual's
mental, behavioral, or emotional problems in the home and is
actively, within the past two to four weeks, seeking an out-of-
home placement; (iii) a representative of either a juvenile
justice agency, a department of social services (either the
state agency or local agency), a community services
board/behavioral health authority, the Department of
Education, or an LMHP, as defined in 12VAC35-105-20, and
who is neither an employee of nor consultant to the intensive
in-home (11H) services or therapeutic day treatment (TDT)
provider, has recommended an out-of-home placement absent
an immediate change of behaviors and when unsuccessful
mental health services are evident; (iv) the individual has a
history of unsuccessful services (either crisis intervention,
crisis stabilization, outpatient psychotherapy, outpatient
substance abuse services, or mental health support) within the
past 30 days; (v) the treatment team or family assessment
planning team (FAPT) recommends IIH services or TDT for
an individual currently who is either: (a) transitioning out of
residential treatment facility Level—C services, (b)
transitioning out of a therapeutic group home Level-A-erB
services, (c) transitioning out of acute psychiatric
hospitalization, or (d) transitioning between foster homes,
mental health case management, crisis intervention, crisis
stabilization, outpatient psychotherapy, or outpatient
substance abuse services.

"Clinical experience" means providing direct behavioral
health services on a full-time basis or equivalent hours of
part-time work to children and adolescents who have

children and adolescents, and (iii) therapeutic group homes.
Experience shall not include unsupervised internships,
unsupervised practicums, or unsupervised field experience.
The equivalency of part-time hours to full-time hours for the
purpose of this requirement shall be as established by
DBHDS in the document entitled "Human Services and
Related Fields Approved Degrees/Experience” issued March
12, 2013, revised May 3, 2013.

"Failed services" or "unsuccessful services" means, as
measured by ongoing behavioral, mental, or physical distress,
that the service or services did not treat or resolve the
individual's mental health or behavioral issues.

"Individual” means the Medicaid-eligible person receiving
these services and for the purpose of this section includes
children from birth up to 12 years of age or adolescents ages
12 through 20 years.

"New service" means a community mental health
rehabilitation service for which the individual does not have a
current service authorization in effect as of July 17, 2011.

"Out-of-home placement” means placement in one or more
of the following: (i) eitheratevel-A-ertLevel B therapeutic
group home; (ii) regular foster home if the individual is
currently residing with his biological family and, due to his
behavior problems, is at risk of being placed in the custody of
the local department of social services; (iii) treatment foster
care if the individual is currently residing with his biological
family or a regular foster care family and, due to the
individual's behavioral problems, is at risk of removal to a
higher level of care; (iv) kevelC residential treatment
facility; (v) emergency shelter for the individual only due
either to his mental health or behavior or both; (vi)
psychiatric hospitalization; or (vii) juvenile justice system or
incarceration.

"Progress notes" means individual-specific documentation
that contains the uniqgue differences particular to the
individual's circumstances, treatment, and progress that is
also signed and contemporaneously dated by the provider's
professional staff who have prepared the notes. Individualized
and individual-specific progress notes are part of the
minimum documentation requirements and shall convey the
individual's status, staff interventions, and, as appropriate, the
individual's progress or lack of progress toward goals and
objectives in the ISP. The progress notes shall also include, at
a minimum, the name of the service rendered, the date of the
service rendered, the signature and credentials of the person
who rendered the service, the setting in which the service was
rendered, and the amount of time or units/hours required to
deliver the service. The content of each progress note shall
corroborate the time/units billed. Progress notes shall be
documented for each service that is billed.

Volume 33, Issue 13

Virginia Register of Regulations

February 20, 2017

1458



Regulations

"Service-specific provider intake" means the evaluation that

is conducted according to the Department of Medical
Assistance Services (DMAS) intake definition set out in
12VAC30-50-130.

B. The services described in this section shall be rendered
consistent with the definitions, service limits, and
requirements described in this section and in 12VAC30-50-
130.

C. Intensive in-home (IIH) services for children and
adolescents.

1. The service definition for intensive in-home (l1H)
services is contained in 12VAC30-50-130.

2. Individuals qualifying for this service shall demonstrate
a clinical necessity for the service arising from mental,
behavioral or emotional illness which results in significant
functional impairments in major life activities. Individuals
must meet at least two of the following criteria on a
continuing or intermittent basis to be authorized for these
services:

a. Have difficulty in establishing or maintaining normal
interpersonal relationships to such a degree that they are
at risk of hospitalization or out-of-home placement
because of conflicts with family or community.

b. Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that documented,
repeated interventions by the mental health, social
services or judicial system are or have been necessary.

c. Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they are
unable to recognize personal danger or recognize
significantly inappropriate social behavior.

3. Prior to admission, an appropriate service-specific
provider intake, as defined in 12VAC30-50-130, shall be
conducted by the licensed mental health professional
(LMHP), LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-
RP, documenting the individual's diagnosis and describing
how service needs can best be met through intervention
provided typically but not solely in the individual's
residence. The service-specific provider intake shall
describe how the individual's clinical needs put the
individual at risk of out-of-home placement and shall be
conducted face-to-face in the individual's residence.
Claims for services that are based upon service-specific
provider intakes that are incomplete, outdated (more than
12 months old), or missing shall not be reimbursed.

4. An individual service plan (ISP) shall be fully
completed, signed, and dated by either an LMHP, LMHP-
supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a QMHP-C, or a
QMHP-E and the individual and individual's
parent/guardian within 30 days of initiation of services.
The ISP shall meet all of the requirements as defined in
12VAC30-50-226.

5. DMAS shall not reimburse for dates of services in which
the progress notes are not individualized and child-specific.
Duplicated progress notes shall not constitute the required

child-specific individualized progress notes. Each progress
note shall demonstrate unique differences particular to the
individual's circumstances, treatment, and progress. Claim
payments shall be retracted for services that are supported
by documentation that does not demonstrate unique
differences particular to the individual.

6. Services shall be directed toward the treatment of the
eligible individual and delivered primarily in the family's
residence with the individual present. As clinically
indicated, the services may be rendered in the community
if there is documentation, on that date of service, of the
necessity of providing services in the community. The
documentation shall describe how the alternative
community service location supports the identified clinical
needs of the individual and describe how it facilitates the
implementation of the ISP. For services provided outside
of the home, there shall be documentation reflecting
therapeutic treatment as set forth in the ISP provided for
that date of service in the appropriately signed and dated
progress notes.

7. These services shall be provided when the clinical needs
of the individual put him at risk for out-of-home
placement, as these terms are defined in this section:

a. When services that are far more intensive than
outpatient clinic care are required to stabilize the
individual in the family situation, or

b. When the individual's residence as the setting for
services is more likely to be successful than a clinic.

The service-specific provider intake shall describe how the
individual meets either subdivision a or b of this
subdivision.

8. Services shall not be provided if the individual is no
longer a resident of the home.

9. Services shall also be used to facilitate the transition to
home from an out-of-home placement when services more
intensive than outpatient clinic care are required for the
transition to be successful. The individual and responsible
parent/guardian shall be available and in agreement to
participate in the transition.

10. At least one parent/legal guardian or responsible adult
with whom the individual is living must be willing to
participate in the intensive in-home services with the goal
of keeping the individual with the family. In the instance of
this service, a responsible adult shall be an adult who lives
in the same household with the child and is responsible for
engaging in therapy and service-related activities to benefit
the individual.

11. The enrolled service provider shall be licensed by the
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental
Services (DBHDS) as a provider of intensive in-home
services. The provider shall also have a provider
enrollment agreement with DMAS or its contractor in
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effect prior to the delivery of this service that indicates that
the provider will offer intensive in-home services.

12. Services must only be provided by an LMHP, LMHP-
supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, QMHP-C, or
QMHP-E. Reimbursement shall not be provided for such
services when they have been rendered by a QPPMH as
defined in 12VAC35-105-20.

13. The billing unit for intensive in-home service shall be
one hour. Although the pattern of service delivery may
vary, intensive in-home services is an intensive service
provided to individuals for whom there is an ISP in effect
which demonstrates the need for a minimum of three hours
a week of intensive in-home service, and includes a plan
for service provision of a minimum of three hours of
service delivery per individual/family per week in the
initial phase of treatment. It is expected that the pattern of
service provision may show more intensive services and
more frequent contact with the individual and family
initially with a lessening or tapering off of intensity toward
the latter weeks of service. Service plans shall incorporate
an individualized discharge plan that describes transition
from intensive in-home to less intensive or nonhome based
services.

14. The ISP, as defined in 12VAC30-50-226, shall be
updated as the individual's needs and progress changes and
signed by either the parent or legal guardian and the
individual. Documentation shall be provided if the
individual, who is a minor child, is unable or unwilling to
sign the ISP. If there is a lapse in services that is greater
than 31 consecutive calendar days without any
communications from family members/legal guardian or
the individual with the service provider, the provider shall
discharge the individual. If the individual continues to need
services, then a new intake/admission shall be documented
and a new service authorization shall be required.

15. The provider shall ensure that the maximum staff-to-
caseload ratio fully meets the needs of the individual.

16. If an individual receiving services is also receiving case
management services pursuant to 12VAC30-50-420 or
12VAC30-50-430, the service provider shall contact the
case manager and provide notification of the provision of
services. In addition, the provider shall send monthly
updates to the case manager on the individual's status. A
discharge summary shall be sent to the case manager
within 30 days of the service discontinuation date. Service
providers and case managers who are using the same
electronic health record for the individual shall meet
requirements for delivery of the notification, monthly
updates, and discharge summary upon entry of the
information in the electronic health records.

17. Emergency assistance shall be available 24 hours per
day, seven days a week.

18. Providers shall comply with DMAS marketing
requirements at 12VAC30-130-2000. Providers that

DMAS determines violate these marketing requirements
shall be terminated as a Medicaid provider pursuant to
12VAC30-130-2000 E.

19. The provider shall determine who the primary care
provider is and, upon receiving written consent from the
individual or guardian, shall inform him of the individual's
receipt of IIH services. The documentation shall include
who was contacted, when the contact occurred, and what
information was transmitted.

D. Therapeutic day treatment for children and adolescents.

1. The service definition for therapeutic day treatment
(TDT) for children and adolescents is contained in
12VAC30-50-130.

2. Therapeutic day treatment is appropriate for children
and adolescents who meet one of the following:

a. Children and adolescents who require year-round
treatment in order to sustain behavior or emotional gains.

b. Children and adolescents whose behavior and
emotional problems are so severe they cannot be handled
in self-contained or resource emotionally disturbed (ED)
classrooms without:

(1) This programming during the school day; or

(2) This programming to supplement the school day or
school year.

c. Children and adolescents who would otherwise be
placed on homebound instruction because of severe
emotional/behavior problems that interfere with learning.

d. Children and adolescents who (i) have deficits in
social skills, peer relations or dealing with authority; (ii)
are hyperactive; (iii) have poor impulse control; (iv) are
extremely depressed or marginally connected with
reality.

e. Children in preschool enrichment and early
intervention programs when the children's
emotional/behavioral problems are so severe that they
cannot function in these programs without additional
services.

3. The service-specific provider intake shall document the
individual's behavior and describe how the individual
meets these specific service criteria in subdivision 2 of this
subsection.

4. Prior to admission to this service, a service-specific
provider intake shall be conducted by the LMHP as
defined in 12VAC35-105-20.

5. An ISP shall be fully completed, signed, and dated by an
LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a
QMHP-C, or QMHP-E and by the individual or the
parent/guardian within 30 days of initiation of services and
shall meet all requirements of an ISP as defined in
12VAC30-50-226. Individual progress notes shall be
required for each contact with the individual and shall meet
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all of the requirements as defined in 12VVAC30-50-130
12VAC30-60-61.

6. Such services shall not duplicate those services provided
by the school.

7. Individuals qualifying for this service shall demonstrate
a clinical necessity for the service arising from a condition
due to mental, behavioral or emotional illness which
results in significant functional impairments in major life
activities. Individuals shall meet at least two of the
following criteria on a continuing or intermittent basis:

a. Have difficulty in establishing or maintaining normal
interpersonal relationships to such a degree that they are
at risk of hospitalization or out-of-home placement
because of conflicts with family or community.

b. Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that documented,
repeated interventions by the mental health, social
services, or judicial system are or have been necessary.

c. Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they are
unable to recognize personal danger or recognize
significantly inappropriate social behavior.

8. The enrolled provider of therapeutic day treatment for
child and adolescent services shall be licensed by DBHDS
to provide day support services. The provider shall also
have a provider enrollment agreement in effect with
DMAS prior to the delivery of this service that indicates
that the provider offers therapeutic day treatment services
for children and adolescents.

9. Services shall be provided by an LMHP, LMHP-
supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, QMHP-C or
QMHP-E.

10. The minimum staff-to-individual ratio as defined by
DBHDS licensing requirements shall ensure that adequate
staff is available to meet the needs of the individual
identified on the ISP.

11. The program shall operate a minimum of two hours per
day and may offer flexible program hours (i.e., before or
after school or during the summer). One unit of service
shall be defined as a minimum of two hours but less than
three hours in a given day. Two units of service shall be
defined as a minimum of three but less than five hours in a
given day. Three units of service shall be defined as five or
more hours of service in a given day.

12. Time required for academic instruction when no
treatment activity is going on shall not be included in the
billing unit.

13. Services shall be provided following a service-specific
provider intake that is conducted by an LMHP, LMHP-
supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-RP. An LMHP,
LMHP-supervisee, or LMHP-resident shall make and
document the diagnosis. The service-specific provider
intake shall include the elements as defined in 12VAC30-
50-130.

14. If an individual receiving services is also receiving case
management services pursuant to 12VAC30-50-420 or
12VAC30-50-430, the provider shall collaborate with the
case manager and provide notification of the provision of
services. In addition, the provider shall send monthly
updates to the case manager on the individual's status. A
discharge summary shall be sent to the case manager
within 30 days of the service discontinuation date. Service
providers and case managers using the same electronic
health record for the individual shall meet requirements for
delivery of the notification, monthly updates, and
discharge summary upon entry of this documentation into
the electronic health record.

15. The provider shall determine who the primary care
provider is and, upon receiving written consent from the
individual or parent/legal guardian, shall inform him of the
child's receipt of community mental health rehabilitative
services. The documentation shall include who was
contacted, when the contact occurred, and what
information was transmitted. The parent/legal guardian
shall be required to give written consent that this provider
has permission to inform the primary care provider of the
child's or adolescent's receipt of community mental health
rehabilitative services.

16. Providers shall comply with DMAS marketing
requirements as set out in 12VAC30-130-2000. Providers
that DMAS determines have violated these marketing
requirements shall be terminated as a Medicaid provider
pursuant to 12VAC30-130-2000 E.

17. If there is a lapse in services greater than 31
consecutive calendar days, the provider shall discharge the
individual. If the individual continues to need services, a
new intake/admission documentation shall be prepared and
a new service authorization shall be required.
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E E. Therapeutic behavioral—services group home for
children and adolescents under 21 years of age {Level-B}.

1. The staff ratio must be atleast-1-to-4-during-the-day-and
atleast-1-to-8-between11 p-m—and7a-m- approved by the

Office of Licensure at the Department of Behavioral
Health and Developmental Services. The clinical director
must shall be a licensed mental health professional. The
caseload of the clinical director must not exceed 16
individuals including all sites for which the same clinical
director is responsible.

2. The program director must shall be full time and be a
QMHP-C or QMHP-E with a bachelor's degree and at least
one year's clinical experience.

3. For Medicaid reimbursement to be approved, at least
50% of the provider's direct care staff at the therageutl
group home shall meet DBHDS

qualified paraprofessional in mental health (QPPMH)
criteria, as defined in 12VAC35-105-20. The
programigroup therapeutic group home wust shall
coordinate services with other providers.

4. All therapeutic behavioral group home services {kevel
B} shall be authorized prior to reimbursement for these
services. Services rendered without such prior
authorization shall not be covered.

5. Services must be provided in accordance with artSP a
CIPQOC, as defined in 12VAC30-50-130, which shall be

fully completed within 30 days of authorization for
Medicaid reimbursement.

DOCUMENTS
(12VAC30-60)

6. Prior to admission, a service-specific provider intake
shall be performed using all elements specified by DMAS
in 12VAC30-50-130.

7. Such service-specific provider intakes shall be
performed by an LMHP, an LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-
resident, or LMHP-RP.

8. If an individual receiving therapeutic behavieral group
home services for children and adolescents under 21 {Level
B} is also receiving case management services, the
therapeutic behavioral group home services provider must
collaborate with the care coordinator/case manager by
notifying him of the provision of Level-B therapeutic
group home services and the Level-B therapeutic group
home services provider shall send monthly updates on the
individual's treatment status. When—the—individual—is
dischargedfrom—tevel B-services—adischarge summary
f | . o

%‘%@W‘ i i O

9. The provider shall determine who the primary care
provider is and, upon receiving written consent from the
individual or parentdegal—guardian parent or legally
authorized representative, shall inform him of the
individual's receipt of these—Level-B therapeutic group
home services. The documentation shall include who was
contacted, when the contact occurred, and what
information was transmitted. If these individuals are
children or adolescents, then the parentlegalguardian
parent or legally authorized representative shall be required
to give written consent that this provider has permission to
inform the primary care provider of the individual's receipt
of community mental health rehabilitative services.

INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE

Department of Medical Assistance Services Provider

Manuals
(https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/
ProviderManuals):

Virginia Medicaid Nursing Home Manual
Virginia Medicaid Rehabilitation Manual
Virginia Medicaid Hospice Manual
Virginia Medicaid School Division Manual
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Development of Special Criteria for the Purposes of Pre-
Admission Screening, Medicaid Memo, October 3, 2012,
Department of Medical Assistance Services

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders,
Fourth Edition (DSM-IV-TR), copyright 2000, American
Psychiatric Association

Patient Placement Criteria for the Treatment of Substance-
Related Disorders (ASAM PPC-2R), Second Edition,
copyright 2001, American Society on Addiction Medicine,
Inc.

Medicaid Special Memo, Subject: New  Service
Authorization Requirement for an Independent Clinical
Assessment for Medicaid and FAMIS Children's Community
Mental Health Rehabilitative Services, dated June 16, 2011,
Department of Medical Assistance Services

Medicaid Special Memo, Subject: Changes to Children
Community Mental Health Rehabilitative Services -
Children's Services, July 1, 2010 & September 1, 2010, dated
July 23, 2010, Department of Medical Assistance Services

Medicaid Special Memo, Subject: Changes to Community
Mental Health Rehabilitative Services - Adult-Oriented
Services, July 1, 2010 & September 1, 2010, dated July 23,
2010, Department of Medical Assistance Services

Human Services and Related Fields Approved
Degrees/Experience, updated May 3, 2013, Department of
Behavioral Health and Human Services

Part X1V
Residential Psychiatric Treatment for Children and
Adolescents (Repealed)
12VAC30-130-850. Definitions: (Repealed.)

Fhefollowing-words-and-terms-when-used—n-this-part-shall

every 60-days by a-physician; o physician assistant of furse
plaetlltle eract Ig WIIE HA-the-scope GFI practice as' defined-by

: o . o,
12VAC30-130-860. Service coverage; eligible individuals;
service certification. (Repealed.)

A—Residential-treatment-programs—{Level-C)-shall-be-24-

Volume 33, Issue 13

Virginia Register of Regulations

February 20, 2017

1463


http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=87da3003195~1&typ=40&actno=003195&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=87da3003195~1&typ=40&actno=003195&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=87da3003195~1&typ=40&actno=003195&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6647c002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6647c002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6647c002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6647c002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6647c002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28966002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28966002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28966002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28966002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bac9b002790~3&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bac9b002790~3&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bac9b002790~3&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bac9b002790~3&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=daaff004495~1&typ=40&actno=004495&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=daaff004495~1&typ=40&actno=004495&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=daaff004495~1&typ=40&actno=004495&mime=application/pdf
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12VAC30-130-870. Preauthorization: (Repealed.)
A Authorization_for Residential T : 1 G) shal
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abusive behaviors. emeeting-qoals_but_has. not attained1SP_goals. and-the
2-A-certification-of the-need-for-the-service-by-the-team goals-cannot-be-addressed-at-a-towerlevel-of care.
S
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&—The-child-is-not-making-progress—and-the-serviceplan  12VAC30-130-890. Plans-of care;review of plans-of care-
{plan—of—care)has—been—modified—to—identify—mere  (Repealed.)

forthe_Standards Tor ¥ ' 2—Recormentchanges-in-the-plan-ax indicaied-y the
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M—Al-Medicaid-services are subject-to H.E'I'Za“e review
! tbs_elnee ofa '?g' tFe |ee|u|_|esll docume '|teme may-Fesulti
Part XV1II
Behavioral Health Services

12VAC30-130-3000. Behavioral health services.

A. Behavioral health services that shall be covered only for
individuals from birth through 21 years of age are set out in
12VAC30-50-130 B-5 and include: (i) intensive in-home
services (IIH), (ii) therapeutic day treatment (TDT), (iii)

community-based-services-forchildren-and-adolescents(Level
AY therapeutic group homes, and (iv) therapeutic-behavioral
services{Level B} psychiatric residential treatment facilities.

B. Behavioral health services that shall be covered for
individuals regardless of age are set out in 12VAC30-50-226
and include: (i) day treatment/partial hospitalization, (ii)
psychosocial rehabilitation, (iii) crisis intervention, (iv) case
management as set out in 12VAC30-50-420 and 12VAC30-
50-430, (v) intensive community treatment (ICT), (vi) crisis
stabilization services, and (vii) mental health support services
(MHSS).

12VAC30-130-3020. Independent clinical assessment
requirements; behavioral health level of care
determinations and service eligibility. (Repealed.)
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o the-independent-assessment-is-greater-than-30-days TITLE 13. HOUSING
e btained nri he initiati ‘
HH-services, TDT,—or-MHSS for-individuals—younger BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY
g DEVELOPMENT
ccommendati he na al_guardian-_may-anpea Proposed Regulation
the-recommendation-in-accordance-with-Part HI2VAC30- | REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Housing and

110-10—et—seg)—tn—the—alternative—the—parent—oregal | Community Development is claiming an exemption from
guardian—mayfequest-that-a-service—providerperform-his | Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-
own—evaluation—H—after—conducting—a—service-specific | 4006 A 12 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes
provider—intake—the—service—provider—identifies—additional | requlations adopted by the Board of Housing and Community
documentation—previousty—not-submittedfortheJCA—that | Deyelopment pursuant to the Statewide Fire Prevention Code
demonstrates —the—service _is—medically necessary —and | (§27.94 et seq.), the Industrialized Building Safety Law
chinically indicated,the—serviceprovider—may submitthe | (535 70 ¢ seq)), the Uniform Statewide Building Code
supplemental —information —with —a—service —authorization (8 36-97 et seq.), and § 36-98.3 of the Code of Virginia,

provided the board (i) provides a Notice of Intended

. e g ey | Regulatory Action in conformance with the provisions of
o I | ot s i ice | 82.2-4007.01, (ii) publishes the proposed regulation and

: i ; ; provides an opportunity for oral and written comments as
provider—will-be—notified—ofthe_decision-and—their—appeal provided in § 2.2-4007.03, and (iii) conducts at least one
rights pursuant to Part I {(12VAG30-110-10 et seq.)- public hearing as provided in 88 2.2-4009 and 36-100 prior to

individual s ini . ¢ the publishing of the proposed regulations.

independent—clinical-assessorshallrefer the—individual- to  Title of Regulation: 13VACS5-31. Virginia Amusement
the—appropriate—enrolled—Medicaid—emergency—services  Device Regulations (amending 13VAC5-31-40, 13VACS-
providers-in-accordance-with- 12V AG30-50-226-and-shall ~ 31-50).

also-alert-theindividuals-managed-care-organization: Statutory Authority: § 36-98.3 of the Code of Virginia.

G—Reqa#emen%sier—behawera#hea#hsemee&aéwmsua%eﬁ Public Hearing Information:

May 15, 2017 - 10 a.m. - Virginia Housing Development
Authority Virginia Housing Center, 4224 Cox Road, Glen
Allen, VA 23060

within-10-business-days-fora-request for TDT-or MHSSor Public Comment Deadline: April 21, 2017.

both—The—appointment—may—be—scheduled—beyond—the  Agency Contact: Elizabeth O. Rafferty, Policy and
respective-time-frame-at-the-documented-request-of the-parent  Legislative Director, Department of Housing and Community
or-legal-guardian: Development, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street,

2 The-independent-assessorshall-conduct-the 1CA-with-the  Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7011,
individual-and-the parent-or-legal-guardian-using-the VICAR-  FAX (804) 371-7090, TTY (804) 371-7089, or email
001 —form—and—make—a—recommendation—for—the—most  elizabeth.rafferty@dhcd.virginia.gov.

appropriate—medically —necessary —services—H —indicated-  Background: The Virginia Amusement Device Regulations
Referring-or-treating-providers-shall-not-be-present-duringthe  (\VADR) governs the construction and operation of
assessmentbut-may-submit-supporting-clinical-documentation  amsement devices, which are by statutory definition devices

or structures open to the public by which persons are
3—Fhe4CA-shall-be-effectivefora-30-day-period: conveyed or moved in an unusual manner for diversion and
4—The-independent-assessor—shall—enter—thefindings—ofthe  passenger tramways. The regulations are closely related to the
ICA—into-the DMAS-service—authorization—contractor's-web  Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) (USBC) and
portalwithin-one-business-day-of conducting-the-assessment:  under state law the USBC applies to amusement devices to
Fhe-independent-clinical-assessmentform-QACAP-00L)-shall  the extent that the VADR does not set out differing
be—completed—by—the—independent—assessor—within—three  requirements. Both regulations utilize nationally recognized

business-days-of-completing-the 1GA: model building codes and standards to provide the technical
D-—The-individual-or-his-parent-or-legal-guardian-shall-have  requirements for the actual construction of the regulated
theright tofreedom-of choice-of service providers: buildings. Every three years, new editions of the model codes
VAR. Doc. No. R17-4495; Filed January 31, 2017, 4:07 p.m. become available. At that time, the Board of Housing and
Community Development initiates a regulatory action to

* * incorporate the newest editions of the model codes into the
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regulation and accepts proposals for changes to the regulation
from affected client groups and the public. The Department of
Housing and Community Development staff maintains
mailing lists for workgroups involving different subject areas
of regulation and conducts workgroup meetings to develop
consensus recommendations, when possible, concerning
submitted proposals. The department uses an online program
incorporating the provisions of the regulation and the model
codes and standards to facilitate the submittal of proposals. A
public hearing is held during the workgroup meeting stage of
the process and a comment period established. Once
workgroup meetings are completed, the board holds series of
meetings to consider each proposal, and the approved
proposals are incorporated into the proposed regulation. After
publication of the proposed regulations, the board establishes
a comment period for the acceptance of comments on
amendments reflected in the proposed regulation, and an
additional public hearing is held. The board then meets to
consider proposals and public comments and develops a final
regulation to complete the regulatory process.

Summary:
The proposed amendments to the VADR in this regulatory
action are as follows:

13VAC5-31-40 A 2: Update the referenced standards for
amusement devices to the latest editions available.

13VAC5-31-50: The Virginia Certification Standards
(13VAC5-21) (VCS), also a regulation under the authority
of the board, was amended and became effective in
September of 2014. It sets out periodic training and
continuing education requirements for maintaining
inspector certificates issued by the board. Prior to the
amendments to the VCS, the VADR contained those
requirements. Now that the VCS contains the requirements,
those requirements are being deleted from the VADR, and
a reference to the VCS is added in place of the
requirements.

13VAC5-31-40. Incorporated standards.

A. The following standards are hereby incorporated by
reference for use as part of this chapter:

1. American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Standard
No. B77.1-2011 for the regulation of passenger tramways;
and

2. American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM)
Standard Nos. F698-94F747-06 F747-15, F#0-11 F770-
15, : : , F1159-
15b, F1193-06 F1193-16, F1957-99 (2011), F2007-12,
F2137-11 F2137-16, F2291-11 F2291-15, F2374-10,
F2375-09, F2376-08 F2376-13, F2460-11, and-F2959-12
F2959-16, and F2974-15 for the regulation of amusement

devices.

The standards referenced above may be procured from;

ANSI ASTM

25 W 43rd Street 100 Barr Harbor Dr.

New York, NY 10036 West Conshohocken, PA
19428-2959

B. The provisions of this chapter govern where they are in
conflict with any provisions of the standards incorporated by
reference in this chapter.

C. The following requirements supplement the provisions of
the ASTM standards incorporated by reference in this
chapter:

1. The operator of an amusement device shall be at least 16
years of age, except when the person is under the
supervision of a parent or guardian and engaged in
activities determined not to be hazardous by the
Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Labor and
Industry;

2. The amusement device shall be attended by an operator
at all times during operation except that (i) one operator is
permitted to operate two or more amusement devices
provided they are within the sight of the operator and
operated by a common control panel or station and (ii) one
operator is permitted to operate two small mechanical rides
with separate controls provided the distance between
controls is no more than 35 feet and the controls are
equipped with a positive pressure switch; and

3. The operator of an amusement device shall not be (i)
under the influence of any drugs which may affect the
operator's judgment or ability to assure the safety of the
public or (ii) under the influence of alcohol.

D. Where an amusement device was manufactured under
previous editions of the standards incorporated by reference
in this chapter, the previous editions shall apply to the extent
that they are different from the current standards.

13VAC5-31-50. Certification of amusement
inspectors.

A= Any person,

device

including local building department

personnel, inspecting an amusement device relative to a
certificate of inspection shall possess certification as an
amusement device inspector in accordance with the Virginia
Certification Standards (13VAC5-21).

L oeal_buil L erforcing_thi
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Note: Continuing education and _ periodic __training
requirements for DHCD certifications are set out in the
Virginia Certification Standards (13VAC5-21).

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE
(13VAC5-31)
ANSI B77.1-2011, Passenger Ropeways - Aerial

Tramways, Aerial Lifts, Surface Lifts, Tows and Conveyors —
Safety Requirements, American National Standards Institute
(ANSI), 25 West 43rd Street, 4th Floor, New York, NY
10036 (http://www.ansi.org/)

American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM), 100

Barr Harbor Drive, West Conshohocken, PA 19428-2959;
(http://www.astm.org/):
”Sﬁl o 698 gl Stai d_a dl Sﬁpeenmauen for . '55'85‘:
Devices
ASTM E747-06 F747-15, Standard Terminology Relating
to Amusement Rides and Devices

ASTM FE770-11 F770-15, Standard Practice for
Ownership, and Operation, Maintenance, and Inspection of
Amusement Rides and Devices

ASTM E1159-11 F1159-15b, Standard Practice for Design
: E . 1 ificial_Climbi

tmmersion of Amusement Rides and Devices apd—Air-

Supperted-Structures that are Outside the Purview of Other
F24 Design Standards

ASTM F1193-06 F1193-16, Standard Practice for Quality,
Manufacture, and Construction of Amusement Rides and
Devices

ASTM F1957-99 (2011), Standard Test Method for
Composite Foam Hardness-Durometer Hardness

ASTM F2007-12, Standard Practice for Classification,
Design, Manufacture, and Operation of Concession Go-
Karts and Facilities

ASTM FR2137-11 F2137-16, Standard Practice for
Measuring the Dynamic Characteristics of Amusement
Rides and Devices

ASTM F2291-11 F2291-15, Standard Practice for Design
of Amusement Rides and Devices

ASTM  F2374-10, Standard Practice for Design,
Manufacture, Operation, and Maintenance of Inflatable
Amusement Devices

ASTM F2375-09, Standard Practice for Design,
Manufacture, Installation and Testing of Climbing Nets

and Netting/Mesh used in Amusement Rides, Devices,
Play Areas and Attractions

ASTM FE2376-08 F2376-13, Standard Practice for
Classification, Design, Manufacture, Construction, and
Operation of Water Slide Systems

ASTM F2460-11, Standard
Requirements for Bumper Boats
ASTM F2959-12 F2959-16, Standard Practice for Special
Reguirements-for Aerial Adventure Courses
ASTM  F2974-15, Standard Guide for
Amusement Rides and Devices

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4667; Filed January 20, 2017, 2:38 p.m.

Practice for Special

Auditing

Proposed Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Housing and
Community Development is claiming an exemption from
Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-
4006 A 12 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes
regulations adopted by the Board of Housing and Community
Development pursuant to the Statewide Fire Prevention Code
(8 27-94 et seq.), the Industrialized Building Safety Law
(8 36-70 et seq.), the Uniform Statewide Building Code
(8 36-97 et seq.), and § 36-98.3 of the Code of Virginia,
provided the board (i) provides a Notice of Intended
Regulatory Action in conformance with the provisions of
§ 2.2-4007.01, (ii) publishes the proposed regulation and
provides an opportunity for oral and written comments as
provided in § 2.2-4007.03, and (iii) conducts at least one
public hearing as provided in § § 2.2-4009 and 36-100 prior
to the publishing of the proposed regulations.

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-51. Virginia Statewide Fire
Prevention Code (amending 13VAC5-51-11 through
13VAC5-51-155; adding 13VAC5-51-144.8; repealing
13VAC5-51-146).

Statutory Authority: § 27-97 of the Code of Virginia.
Public Hearing Information:

May 15, 2017 - 10 a.m. - Virginia Housing Development
Authority Virginia Housing Center, 4224 Cox Road, Glen
Allen, VA 23060

Public Comment Deadline: April 21, 2017.

Agency Contact: Elizabeth O. Rafferty, Policy and
Legislative Director, Department of Housing and Community
Development, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street,
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7011,
FAX (804) 371-7090, TTY (804) 371-7089, or email
elizabeth.rafferty@dhcd.virginia.gov.

Background: The Statewide Fire Prevention Code (SFPC) is a
regulation governing the maintenance of the fire protection
aspects of existing structures and operational functions
relating to fire safety wherever located, including the
regulation of the use of explosives and blasting and fireworks
displays. The SFPC uses a nationally recognized model code
produced by the International Code Council as the basis for
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the technical provisions of the regulation. Every three years, a
new edition of the model code becomes available. At that
time, the Board of Housing and Community Development
initiates a regulatory action to incorporate the newest edition
of the model code into the regulation as well as accepting
proposals for changes to the regulation from affected client
groups and the public. The Department of Housing and
Community Development staff maintains mailing lists for
workgroups involving different subject areas of regulation
and conducts workgroup meetings to develop consensus
recommendations, when possible, concerning submitted
proposals. The department wuses an online program
incorporating the provisions of the regulation and the model
code to facilitate the submittal of proposals. A public hearing
is held during the workgroup meeting stage of the process and
a comment period established. Once workgroup meetings are
completed, the board holds a series of meetings to consider
each proposal, and the approved proposals are incorporated
into the proposed regulation. After publication of the
proposed regulation, the board establishes a comment period
for the acceptance of comments on amendments reflected in
the proposed regulation, and an additional public hearing is
held. The board then meets to consider proposals and public
comments and develops a final regulation to complete the
regulatory process.

Summary:

The proposed amendments to the SFPC in this regulatory
action are as follows:

13VAC5-51-31 A: The 2015 edition of the International
Fire Code (IFC) is incorporated by reference to replace
the 2012 edition of the IFC.

13VAC5-51-51 K: The Virginia Certification Standards
(13VAC5-21) (VCS), also a regulation under the authority
of the BHCD, was amended and became effective in
September 2014. It sets out periodic training and
continuing education requirements for maintaining
inspector certificates issued by the BHCD. Prior to the
amendments to the VCS, the SFPC contained those
requirements. Now that the VCS has the requirements, they
are deleted in the SFPC and replaced with a reference the
VCS.

13VAC5-51-81 K: Add language from § 27-98 of the Code
of Virginia, regarding local fees from the 2012 Acts of
Assembly.

13VAC5-51-121 B: Amend the requirement for local
government appeals boards to meet annually even if there
are no appeals. The Virginia Uniform Statewide Building
Code (13VAC5-63) (USBC) was amended by a proposal
from the State Building Code Technical Review Board to
permit the local appeals boards to meet only when
necessary to conduct business. This amendment provides
consistent language with the USBC.

13VAC5-51-130: Add new definitions necessary for
substantive amendments to the technical requirements of

the code addressing college research laboratories in
13VAC5-51-145.

13VAC5-51-131 C, G, and K: Delete provisions
addressing sky lanterns and unoccupied tenant spaces in
malls since comparable provisions are in the 2015 edition
of the IFC being incorporated into the code in 13VAC5-51-
31 A

13VAC5-51-132: When the current SFPC was developed
in 2013-2014, the 2015 edition of the IFC was already in
process at the International Code Council (ICC) hearings
and while the language was not finalized until 2015, many
proposals had already been approved in the ICC process.
The fire services community submitted a proposal to use
the new language, which it was believed would be
contained in the 2015 IFC for the SFPC at that time. Now
that the 2015 IFC is being incorporated into the SFPC in
this action, the language in the SFPC is no longer
necessary since it is already in the 2015 edition of the IFC.
Therefore the language is deleted from the SFPC. The
subject matter of the language is emergency planning and
preparedness, and the requirements address the use of
emergency evacuation plans and the use of crowd
managers for large events. There are no substantive
changes to address since all requirements that are being
deleted are contained in the 2015 IFC; however, since
much existing language is being stricken, this summary is
necessary as readers of the proposed regulations not
familiar with the 2015 IFC would see much stricken text
and not necessarily know that the requirements are not
actually changing.

13VAC5-51-133 through 13VAC5-51-140: As explained in
the summary of changes to 13VAC5-51-132, the changes in
these sections are not substantive, but are simply to delete
amendments made in the last regulatory process adopting
text that proponents of the proposals were confident would
be in the 2015 edition of the IFC being developed through
the ICC process. That in fact did happen, and now the
changes to the SFPC may be deleted since the language is
already in the 2015 IFC, and the 2015 IFC is being
incorporated into the SFPC in 13VAC5-51-31 A.

13VAC5-51-144.8: This amendment changes the IFC
language for permits to reference the appropriate permit
section in the SFPC. The permit sections in all other
chapters of the IFC were addressed in the previous
regulatory process for the SFPC, but this chapter (Chapter
37 Combustible Fibers) was inadvertently omitted. This
amendment corrects the omission and makes all the permit
requirements in the IFC consistent.

13VAC5- 51-145 E: In the previous regulatory process for
the SFPC, where the 2012 edition of the IFC was
incorporated, a proposal was approved to change the table
in the IFC addressing the quantities of consumer fireworks
that could be stored in a building based on whether the
building had a sprinkler system. The 2012 IFC permitted a
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100% increase in the amounts stored if there was a
sprinkler system present, and that allowance was permitted
through the use of a footnote "d" in the table that was
referenced in the consumer fireworks entry in the table. A
proposal approved during that regulatory process deleted
the reference to the footnote for consumer fireworks, but
left the reference to the footnote for permissible fireworks
(a subset of consumer fireworks that do not lift from the
ground when used). The 2015 edition of the IFC does not
have the reference to footnote "d" in the table, therefore it
is no longer necessary to show consumer fireworks entry in
the table changed in the SFPC. The reference to the
footnote remains for permissible fireworks.

13VAC5-51-145 F: Add comprehensive new requirements
for the safe use of hazardous materials in college research
laboratories. DHCD staffed a workgroup of affected
parties to develop these requirements, which in
conjunction with changes to the USBC, addressing the safe
use of materials in the constantly changing field of
educational research laboratories. The requirements are
consistent with a proposal developed in the ICC process
for the 2018 IFC.

13VAC5-51-145 G: Add a reference in the provisions of
the SFPC addressing petroleum spills to the Virginia
Petroleum Storage Tank Fund (§ 62.1-44.34:11 et seq. of
the Code of Virginia).

13VAC5-51-155: Add nationally recognized standards to
the IFC that are used in the new provisions for college
research laboratories in 13VAC5- 51-145 F.

Part |
General Regulations

13VACS5-51-11. Chapter 1; Administration;; Section £04.6-
101 Scope.

A. 101.1- Title:. These regulations shall be known as the
Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code (SFPC), hereinafter
referred to as "this code™ or "SFPC." The term "chapter”
means a chapter in the SFPC. The SFPC was cooperatively
developed by the Virginia Fire Services Board and the
Virginia Board of Housing and Community Development.

B. 101.2- Scope:. The SFPC prescribes regulations affecting
or relating to maintenance of structures, processes and
premises and safeguards to be complied with for the
protection of life and property from the hazards of fire or
explosion and for the handling, storage and use of fireworks,
explosives or blasting agents, and provides for the
administration and enforcement of such regulations. The
SFPC also establishes regulations for obtaining permits for
the manufacturing, storage, handling, use, or sales of
explosives. Inspections under the SFPC are a governmental
responsibility.

C. 101.3- Purpose:. The purposes of the SFPC are to provide
for statewide standards to safeguard life and property from
the hazards of fire or explosion arising from the improper

maintenance of life safety and fire prevention and protection
materials, devices, systems and structures, and the unsafe
storage, handling, and use of substances, materials and
devices, including explosives and blasting agents, wherever
located.

D. 101.4- Validity:. To the extent that any provisions of the
SFPC or the referenced codes or standards are not within the
scope of this chapter, those provisions are considered to be
invalid. When any provision of the SFPC is found to be in
conflict with the USBC, OSHA, or statute, that provision of
the SFPC shall become invalid.

E. 101.5: Local regulations:. Any local governing body may
adopt fire prevention regulations that are more restrictive or
more extensive in scope than the SFPC provided such
regulations do not affect the manner of construction or
materials to be used in the erection, alteration, repair, or use
of a building or structure, as provided in the USBC, including
the voluntary installation of smoke alarms and regulation and
inspections thereof in commercial buildings where such
smoke alarms are not required under the provisions of the
SFPC.

F. 101.6- Nonresidential farm structures:. Farm structures
not used for residential purposes are exempt from the SFPC
except when the inspection and enforcement provisions of the
code are exercised by a warrant issued under the authority of
8§ 27-98.2 through 27-98.5 of the Code of Virginia.

13VAC5-51-21. Section £62:0- 102 Applicability.

A. 102.1: General:. The provisions of the SFPC shall apply
to all matters affecting or relating to structures, processes and
premises as set forth in Section 101:8. The SFPC shall
supersede any fire prevention regulations previously adopted
by a local government or other political subdivision.

B. 102.1.1: Changes:. No change shall be made in the use or
occupancy of any structure that would place the structure in a
different division of the same group of occupancies, unless
such structure is made to comply with the requirements of
this code and the USBC.

C. 102.2- Application to pre-1973 buildings and structures:.
Buildings and structures constructed prior to the USBC
(1973) shall comply with the maintenance requirements of the
SFPC to the extent that equipment, systems, devices, and
safeguards which were provided and approved when
constructed shall be maintained. Such buildings and
structures, if subject to the state fire and public building
regulations (Virginia Public Building Safety Regulations,
VR 394-01-05) in effect prior to March 31, 1986, shall also
be maintained in accordance with those regulations.

D. 102.3- Application to post-1973 buildings and structures:.
Buildings and structures constructed under any edition of the
USBC shall comply with the maintenance requirements of the
SFPC to the extent that equipment, systems, devices, and
safeguards which were provided and approved when
constructed shall be maintained.
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E. 102.4- Referenced codes and standards:. The codes and
standards referenced in the IFC shall be those listed in
Chapter 80 and considered part of the requirements of the
SFPC to the prescribed extent of each such reference. Where
differences occur between the provisions of this code and the
referenced standards, the provisions of this code shall apply.

F. 102.5: State-owned buildings and structures:. The SFPC
shall be applicable to all state-owned buildings and structures
in the manner and extent described in § 27-99 of the Code of
Virginia and the State Fire Marshal shall have the authority to
enforce this code in state-owned buildings and structures as is
prescribed in 88 27-98 and 27-99 of the Code of Virginia.

G. 102.6- Relationship to USBC:-. In accordance with 8§ 27-
34.4, 36-105.1 and 36-119.1 of the Code of Virginia, the
USBC does not supersede the provisions of this code that
prescribe standards to be complied with in existing buildings
and structures, provided that this code shall not impose
requirements that are more restrictive than those of the USBC
under which the buildings or structures were constructed.
Subsequent alteration, enlargement, rehabilitation, repair or
conversion of the occupancy classification of such buildings
and structures shall be subject to the construction and
rehabilitation provisions of the USBC. Inspection of buildings
other than state-owned buildings under construction and the
review and approval of building plans for these structures for
enforcement of the USBC shall be the sole responsibility of
the appropriate local building inspectors.

Upon completion of such structures, responsibility for fire
safety protection shall pass to the local fire marshal or official
designated by the locality to enforce this code in those
localities that enforce the SFPC or to the State Fire Marshal
in those localities that do not enforce this code.

H. 102.7- Inspections for USBC requirements:. The fire
official shall require that existing structures subject to the
requirements of the applicable retrofitting provisions relating
to the fire protection equipment and system requirements of
the USBC, Part I, Construction, Section 103.7, comply with
the provisions located therein.
13VAC5-51-31. Section 203.8. 103
reference.

A. 103.1: General:. The following document is adopted and
incorporated by reference to be an enforceable part of the
SFPC:

The International Fire Code -- 20642 2015 Edition,
hereinafter referred to as "IFC,” published by the
International Code Council, Inc., 500 New Jersey Avenue,
NW, 6th Floor, Washington, DC 20001-2070, 1-888 422-
7233.

B. 103.1.1- Deletion:. Delete IFC Chapter 1.

C. 103.1.2: Appendices:. The appendices in the IFC are not
considered part of the IFC for the purposes of Section 103.1.

Note: Section 101.5 references authority contained in the
Code of Virginia for local fire prevention regulations that

Incorporation by

may be evaluated by localities to determine whether
provisions in the IFC appendices may be considered for local
fire prevention regulations.

D. 103.2: Amendments:. All requirements of the referenced
codes and standards that relate to fees, non-operational
permits not specifically required by Section 107.2, unsafe
notices, disputes, condemnation, inspections, scope of
enforcement and all other procedural, and administrative
matters are deleted and replaced by the provisions of Chapter
1 of the SFPC.

Exception: The scope of referenced codes and standards
referenced by the SFPC that relate to the maintenance, testing
and inspection requirements or limitations shall be
enforceable.

E. 103.2.1. Other amendments:. The SFPC contains
provisions adopted by the Virginia Board of Housing and
Community Development (BHCD), some of which delete,
change or amend provisions of the IFC and referenced
standards. Where conflicts occur between such changed
provisions and the unchanged provisions of the IFC and
referenced standards, the provisions changed by the BHCD
shall govern.

Note: The IFC and its referenced standards contain some
areas of regulation outside of the scope of the SFPC, as
established by the BHCD and under state law. Where
conflicts have been readily noted, changes have been made to
the IFC and its referenced standards to bring it within the
scope of authority; however, in some areas, judgment will
have to be made as to whether the provisions of the IFC and
its referenced standards are fully applicable.

F. 103.3- International Fire Code. Retroactive fire protection
system requirements contained in the IFC shall not be
enforced unless specified by the USBC.

13VAC5-51-41. Section 104-0: 104 Enforcement.

A. 104.1: Local enforcement:. Any local government may
enforce the SFPC following official action by such body. The
official action shall (i) require compliance with the provisions
of the SFPC in its entirety or with respect only to those
provisions of the SFPC relating to open burning, fire lanes,
fireworks, and hazardous materials and (ii) assign
enforcement responsibility to the local agency or agencies of
its choice. Any local governing body may establish such
procedures or requirements as may be necessary for the
administration and enforcement of this code. If a local
governing body elects to enforce only those provisions of the
SFPC relating to open burning, it may do so in all or in any
designated geographic areas of its jurisdiction. The terms
"enforcing agency" and "fire official" are intended to apply to
the agency or agencies to which responsibility for
enforcement of the SFPC has been assigned. The terms
"building official" or "building department” are intended to
apply only to the local building official or local building
department.
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B. 104.1.1- Enforcement of fireworks provisions by law-
enforcement officers:. In accordance with § 27-100.1 of the
Code of Virginia, law-enforcement officers who are
otherwise authorized to enforce certain provisions of this
code shall not be subject to the certification requirements of
Section 105.2 or 105.3.2.

C. 104.2- State enforcement:. In accordance with § 27-98 of
the Code of Virginia, the State Fire Marshal shall also have
the authority, in cooperation with any local governing body,
to enforce the SFPC. The State Fire Marshal shall also have
authority to enforce the SFPC in those jurisdictions in which
the local governments do not enforce the SFPC and may
establish such procedures or requirements as may be
necessary for the administration and enforcement of the SFPC
in such jurisdictions.

D. 104.3: State structures:. Every agency, commission or
institution of this Commonwealth, including all institutions of
higher education, shall permit, at all reasonable hours, the fire
official reasonable access to existing structures or a structure
under construction or renovation, for the purpose of
performing an informational and advisory fire safety
inspection. The fire official is permitted to submit, subsequent
to performing such inspection, his findings and
recommendations, including a list of corrective actions
necessary to ensure that such structure is reasonably safe from
the hazards of fire, to the appropriate official of such agency,
commission, or institution and the State Fire Marshal. Such
agency, commission or institution shall notify, within 60 days
of receipt of such findings and recommendations, the State
Fire Marshal and the fire official of the corrective measures
taken to eliminate the hazards reported by the fire official.
The State Fire Marshal shall have the same power in the
enforcement of this section as is provided for in § 27-98 of
the Code of Virginia. The State Fire Marshal may enter into
an agreement as is provided for in § 9.1-208 of the Code of
Virginia with any local enforcement agency that enforces the
SFPC to enforce this section and to take immediate
enforcement action upon verification of a complaint of an
imminent hazard such as a chained or blocked exit door,
improper storage of flammable liquids, use of decorative
materials, and overcrowding.

13VAC5-51-51. Section 405:0- 105 Enforcing agency.

A. 105.1- Fire official:. Each enforcing agency shall have an
executive official in charge, hereinafter referred to as the "fire
official."

Note: Fire officials are subject to sanctions in accordance
with the Virginia Certification Standards (13VAC5-21).

B. 105.1.1: Appointment:. The fire official shall be
appointed in a manner selected by the local government
having jurisdiction. After permanent appointment, the fire
official shall not be removed from office except for cause
after having been afforded a full opportunity to be heard on
specific and relevant charges by and before the appointing
authority.

C. 105.1.2: Notification of appointment:. The appointing
authority of the local governing body shall notify the
Department of Housing and Community Development
(DHCD) and the State Fire Marshal's Office (SFMO) within
30 days of the appointment or release of the permanent or
acting fire official.

D. 105.1.3- Qualifications:. The fire official shall have at
least five years of fire-related experience as a firefighter, fire
officer, licensed professional engineer or architect, fire or
building inspector, contractor or superintendent of fire
protection-related or building construction or at least five
years of fire-related experience after obtaining a degree in
architecture or engineering, with at least three years in
responsible charge of work. Any combination of education
and experience that would confer equivalent knowledge and
ability shall be deemed to satisfy this requirement. The fire
official shall have general knowledge of sound engineering
practice with respect to the design and construction of
structures, the basic principles of fire prevention and
protection, the accepted requirements for means of egress and
the installation of elevators and other service equipment
necessary for the health, safety and general welfare of the
occupants and the public. The local governing body may
establish additional qualification requirements.

E. 105.2- Certification:. The permanent or acting fire official
shall obtain certification from the BHCD in accordance with
the Virginia Certification Standards (13VAC5-21) within one
year after permanent or acting appointment.

Exception: A fire official appointed prior to April 1, 1994,
continuously employed by the same local governing body as
the fire official shall comply with required DHCD training
under the Virginia Certification Standards (13VAC5-21).

F. 105.2.1- Noncertified fire official:. Except for a fire
official exempt from certification under the exception to
Section 105.2, any acting or permanent fire official who is not
certified as a fire official in accordance with the Virginia
Certification Standards (13VAC5-21) shall attend the core
module of the Virginia Building Code Academy or an
equivalent course in an individual or regional code academy
accredited by DHCD within 180 days of appointment. This
requirement is in addition to meeting the certification
requirement in Section 105.2.

G. 105.3- Technical assistant:. The local governing body or
its designee may utilize one or more technical assistants who,
in the absence of the fire official, shall have the powers and
perform the duties of the fire official.

Note: Technical assistants are subject to sanctions in
accordance with the Virginia Certification Standards
(13VAC5-21).

H. 105.3.1- Notification:. The fire official shall notify the
DHCD within 60 days of the employment, contract or
termination of all technical assistants for enforcement of the
SFPC.
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I. 105.3.2- Qualifications:. A technical assistant shall have at
least three years of experience and general knowledge in at
least one of the following areas: fire protection, firefighting,
electrical, building, plumbing or mechanical trades. Any
combination of education and experience that would confer
equivalent knowledge and ability shall be deemed to satisfy
this requirement. The locality may establish additional
qualification requirements.

J. 105.3.3- Certification:. All technical assistants employed
by or under contract to an enforcing agency for enforcing the
SFPC shall be certified in the appropriate subject area in
accordance with the Virginia Certification Standards
(13VAC5-21) within one and one-half years after permanent
or acting appointment. When required by a locality to have
two or more certifications, the remaining certifications shall
be obtained within three years from the date of such
requirement.

Exception: Any technical assistant continuously employed
by or continuously under contract to the same enforcing
agency for enforcing the SFPC since before April 1, 1994,
shall be exempt from the provisions of this section; however,
such exempt technical assistant shall comply with required
DHCD training under Virginia Certification Standards
(13VAC5-21).

Note: Continuing education and periodic __training
requirements for DHCD certifications are set out in the
Virginia Certification Standards (13VAC5-21).

courses-as-designated-by-the DHCD-

L—1055. K. 105.4 Control of conflict of interestz. The
standards of conduct for officials and employees of the
enforcing agency shall be in accordance with the provisions
of the State and Local Government Conflict of Interests Act,
Chapter 31 (8 2.2-3100 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of
Virginia.
13VAC5-51-61. Section 106-0- 106 Duties and powers of
the fire official.

A. 106.1- General:. The fire official shall enforce the
provisions of the SFPC as provided herein and as interpreted

by the State Building-Code—TFechnical Review Board {(FRB)
in accordance with § 36-118 of the Code of Virginia.

B. 106.2- Delegation of duties and powers:. The fire official
may delegate duties and powers subject to any limitations
imposed by the local governing body. The fire official shall
be responsible that any powers and duties delegated are
carried out in accordance with this code.

C. 106.3- Inspections:. The fire official is authorized to
conduct such inspections as are deemed necessary to
determine the extent of compliance with the provisions of this
code and to approve reports of inspection by approved
agencies or individuals in accordance with the fire official's
written policy. All reports of such inspections by approved

agencies or individuals shall be prepared and submitted in
writing for review and approval. Inspection reports shall be
certified by a responsible officer of such approved agency or
by the responsible individual. The fire official is authorized to
engage such expert opinion as deemed necessary to report
upon unusual, detailed or complex technical issues in
accordance with local policies.

D. 106.3.1- Observations:., When, during an inspection, the
fire official or an authorized representative observes an
apparent or actual violation of another law, ordinance or code
not within the official's authority to enforce, such official
shall report the findings to the official having jurisdiction in
order that such official may institute the necessary measures.

E. 106.4. Alternatives:. The SFPC provisions are not
intended to prevent the use of any safeguards used to protect
life and property from the hazards of fire or explosion that are
not specifically prescribed by the SFPC, provided that such
alternative safeguards comply with the intent of the SFPC.
The alternative safeguard offered shall be, for the purpose
intended, at least the equivalent of that prescribed in this code
in quality, strength, effectiveness, fire resistance, durability
and safety.

F. 106.5- Modifications:, The fire official may grant
modifications to any provision of the SFPC upon application
by the owner or the owner's agent provided the spirit and
intent of the SFPC are observed and public health, welfare,
and safety are assured.

Note: The current editions of many nationally recognized
model codes and standards are referenced by the SFPC.
Future amendments to such codes and standards do not
automatically become part of the SFPC; however, the fire
official should consider such amendments in deciding
whether a modification request should be granted.

G. 106.5.1: Supporting data:. The fire official shall require
that sufficient technical data be submitted to substantiate the
proposed use of any alternative. If it is determined that the
evidence presented is satisfactory proof of performance for
the use intended, the fire official shall approve the use of such
alternative subject to the requirements of this code. The fire
official may require and consider a statement from a
professional engineer, architect or other competent person as
to the equivalency of the proposed modification.

H. 106.5.2- Decision:. The application for modification and
the final decision of the fire official shall be in writing and
shall be recorded in the permanent records of the local
enforcing agency.

I. 106.6- Notices and orders:. The fire official shall issue all
necessary notices or orders to ensure compliance with the
SFPC.

J. 106.7- Department records:. The fire official shall keep
official records of applications received, permits and
certificates issued, fees collected, reports of inspections, and
notices and orders issued. Such records shall be retained in
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the official records or disposed of in accordance with General
Schedule Number Ten available from The Library of
Virginia.

13VAC5-51-81. Section 2070- 107 Permits and fees.

A. 107.1: Prior notification;, The fire official may require
notification prior to (i) activities involving the handling,
storage or use of substances, materials or devices regulated by
the SFPC; (ii) conducting processes which produce
conditions hazardous to life or property; or (iii) establishing a
place of assembly.

B. 107.2: Permits required:. Operational permits may be
required by the fire official as permitted under the SFPC in

C. Add Table 107.2 as follows:

accordance with Table 107.2, except that the fire official shall
require permits for the manufacturing, storage, handling, use,
and sale of explosives. In accordance with Section 5601.2.3.1,
an application for a permit to manufacture, store, handle, use,
or sell explosives shall only be made by a designated
individual.

Exception: Such permits shall not be required for the storage
of explosives or blasting agents by the Virginia Department
of State Police provided notification to the fire official is
made annually by the Chief Arson Investigator listing all
storage locations.

Table 107.2.
OPERATIONAL PERMIT REQUIREMENTS (to be filled in by local jurisdiction).

Description

Permit
Required (yes Permit Inspection
or no) Fee Fee

Aerosol products. An operational permit is required to manufacture, store or
handle an aggregate quantity of Level 2 or Level 3 aerosol products in excess
of 500 pounds (227 kg) net weight.

Amusement buildings. An operational permit is required to operate a special
amusement building.

Aviation facilities. An operational permit is required to use a Group H or
Group S occupancy for aircraft servicing or repair and aircraft fuel-servicing
vehicles. Additional permits required by other sections of this code include,
but are not limited to, hot work, hazardous materials and flammable or
combustible finishes.

Carnivals and fairs. An operational permit is required to conduct a carnival or
fair.

Cellulose nitrate film. An operational permit is required to store, handle or use
cellulose nitrate film in a Group A occupancy.

Combustible dust-producing operations. An operational permit is required to
operate a grain elevator, flour starch mill, feed mill, or a plant pulverizing
aluminum, coal, cocoa, magnesium, spices or sugar, or other operations
producing combustible dusts as defined in Chapter 2.

Combustible fibers. An operational permit is required for the storage and
hagndling of combustible fibers in quantities greater than 100 cubic feet (2.8
m°).

Exception: An operational permit is not required for agricultural storage.

Compressed gas. An operational permit is required for the storage, use or
handling at normal temperature and pressure (NTP) of compressed gases
in excess of the amounts listed below.

Exception: Vehicles equipped for and using compressed gas as a fuel for
propelling the vehicle.
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Permit Amounts for Compressed Gases

Type of Gas Amount (cubic feet at NTP)
Corrosive 200
Flammable (except cryogenic fluids 200
and liquefied petroleum gases)
Highly toxic Any Amount
Inert and simple asphyxiant 6,000
Oxidizing (including oxygen) 504
Pyrophoric Any Amount
Toxic Any Amount

For SI: 1 cubic foot = 0.02832 m®.

Covered and open mall buildings. An operational permit is required for:

1. The placement of retail fixtures and displays, concession equipment,
displays of highly combustible goods and similar items in the mall.

2. The display of liquid-fired or gas-fired equipment in the mall.
3. The use of open-flame or flame-producing equipment in the mall.

Cryogenic fluids. An operational permit is required to produce, store,
transport on site, use, handle or dispense cryogenic fluids in excess of the
amounts listed below.

Exception: Operational permits are not required for vehicles equipped for
and using cryogenic fluids as a fuel for propelling the vehicle or for
refrigerating the lading.

Permit Amounts for Cryogenic Fluids
Inside Building Outside Building

Type of Cryogenic Fluid (gallons) (gallons)
Flammable More than 1 60
Inert 60 500
Oxidizing (includes 10 50
oxygen)

Physical or health hazard Any Amount Any Amount

not indicated above
For SI: 1 gallon=3.785 L.

Cutting and welding. An operational permit is required to conduct cutting
or welding operations within the jurisdiction.

Dry cleaning plants. An operational permit is required to engage in the
business of dry cleaning or to change to a more hazardous cleaning solvent
used in existing dry cleaning equipment.

Exhibits and trade shows. An operational permit is required to operate
exhibits and trade shows.

Volume 33, Issue 13 Virginia Register of Regulations

February 20, 2017

1478



Regulations

Explosives, fireworks, and pyrotechnics. An operational permit is required
for the manufacture, storage, handling, sale or use of any quantity of
explosive, explosive materials, fireworks, pyrotechnic special effects, or
pyrotechnic special effects material within the scope of Chapter 56.

Exception: Storage in Group R-3 or R-5 occupancies of smokeless
propellant, black powder and small arms primers for personal use, not for
resale, and in accordance with the quantity limitations and conditions set
forth in Section 5601.1, exception numbers four and 12.

Fire hydrants and valves. An operational permit is required to use or
operate fire hydrants or valves intended for fire suppression purposes that
are installed on water systems and accessible to a fire apparatus access
road that is open to or generally used by the public.

Exception: An operational permit is not required for authorized employees
of the water company that supplies the system or the fire department to use
or operate fire hydrants or valves.

Flammable and combustible liquids. An operational permit is required:

1. To use or operate a pipeline for the transportation within facilities of
flammable or combustible liquids. This requirement shall not apply to the
offsite transportation in pipelines regulated by the Department of
Transportation (DOTn) nor does it apply to piping systems.

2. To store, handle or use Class I liquids in excess of 5 gallons (19 L) in a
building or in excess of 10 gallons (37.9 L) outside of a building, except
that a permit is not required for the following:

2.1. The storage or use of Class I liquids in the fuel tank of a motor
vehicle, aircraft, motorboat, mobile power plant or mobile heating

plant, unless such storage, in the opinion of the fire official, would
cause an unsafe condition.

2.2. The storage or use of paints, oils, varnishes or similar flammable
mixtures when such liquids are stored for maintenance, painting or
similar purposes for a period of not more than 30 days.

3. To store, handle or use Class Il or Class 1A liguids in excess of 25
gallons (95 L) in a building or in excess of 60 gallons (227 L) outside a
building, except for fuel oil used in connection with oil-burning
equipment.

4. To remove Class | or Class Il liquids from an underground storage tank
used for fueling motor vehicles by any means other than the approved,
stationary on-site pumps normally used for dispensing purposes.

5. To operate tank vehicles, equipment, tanks, plants, terminals, wells,
fuel-dispensing stations, refineries, distilleries and similar facilities where
flammable and combustible liquids are produced, processed, transported,
stored, dispensed or used.

6. To install, alter, remove, abandon, place temporarily out of service (for
more than 90 days) or otherwise dispose of an underground, protected
above-ground or above-ground flammable or combustible liquid tank.

7. To change the type of contents stored in a flammable or combustible
liquid tank to a material that poses a greater hazard than that for which the
tank was designed and constructed.

8. To manufacture, process, blend or refine flammable or combustible
liquids.
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Floor finishing. An operational permit is required for floor finishing or
surfacing operations exceeding 350 square feet (33 m?) using Class | or
Class Il liquids.

Fruit and crop ripening. An operational permit is required to operate a
fruit- ripening or crop-ripening facility or conduct a fruit-ripening process
using ethylene gas.

Fumigation, thermal, and insecticidal fogging. An operational permit is
required to operate a business of fumigation, thermal, or insecticidal
fogging and to maintain a room, vault or chamber in which a toxic or
flammable fumigant is used.

Hazardous materials. An operational permit is required to store, transport
on site, dispense, use or handle hazardous materials in excess of the
amounts listed below.

Permit Amounts for Hazardous Materials

Type of Material Amount
Combustible liquids See flammable and combustible
liquids

Corrosive materials

Gases See compressed gases

Liquids 55 gallons

Solids 1000 pounds
Explosive materials See explosives

Flammable materials

Gases See compressed gases
Liquids See flammable and combustible
liquids
Solids 100 pounds
Highly toxic materials
Gases See compressed gases
Liquids Any amount
Solids Any amount

Oxidizing materials

Gases See compressed gases

Liquids
Class 4 Any amount
Class 3 1 gallon ?
Class 2 10 gallons
Class 1 55 gallons

Solids
Class 4 Any amount
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Class 3
Class 2
Class 1
Organic peroxides
Liquids
Class |
Class Il
Class 111
Class IV
Class V
Solids
Class |
Class I
Class Il
Class IV
Class V
Pyrophoric materials
Gases
Liquids
Solids
Toxic materials
Gases
Liquids
Solids
Unstable (reactive) materials
Liquids
Class 4
Class 3
Class 2
Class 1
Solids
Class 4
Class 3
Class 2
Class 1

10 pounds ”

100 pounds
500 pounds

Any amount
Any amount
1 gallon

2 gallons

No permit required

Any amount
Any amount
10 pounds
20 pounds

No permit required

See compressed gases
Any amount

Any amount

See compressed gases
10 gallons
100 pounds

Any amount
Any amount
5 gallons

10 gallons

Any amount
Any amount
50 pounds

100 pounds
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Water reactive materials

Liquids
Class 3 Any amount
Class 2 5 gallons
Class 1 55 gallons
Solids
Class 3 Any amount
Class 2 50 pounds
Class 1 500 pounds

For SI: 1 gallon=3.785 L, 1 pound = 0.454 kg.

a. Twenty gallons when Table 5003.1.1(1) Note k applies and hazard
identification signs in accordance with Section 5003.5 are provided for
quantities of 20 gallons or less.

b. Two hundred pounds when Table 5003.1.1(1) Note k applies and hazard
identification signs in accordance with Section 5003.5 are provided for
quantities of 200 pounds or less.

HPM facilities. An operational permit is required to store, handle or use
hazardous production materials.

High piled storage. An operational permit is required to use a building or
pc>2rtion thereof as a high-piled storage area exceeding 500 square feet (46
m°).

Hot work operations. An operational permit is required for hot work
including, but not limited to:

1. Public exhibitions and demonstrations where hot work is conducted.
2. Use of portable hot work equipment inside a structure.

Exception: Work that is conducted under a construction permit.

3. Fixed-site hot work equipment such as welding booths.

4. Hot work conducted within a hazardous fire area.

5. Application of roof coverings with the use of an open-flame device.

6. When approved, the fire official shall issue a permit to carry out a Hot
Work Program. This program allows approved personnel to regulate their
facility's hot work operations. The approved personnel shall be trained in
the fire safety aspects denoted in this chapter and shall be responsible for
issuing permits requiring compliance with the requirements found in this
chapter. These permits shall be issued only to their employees or hot work
operations under their supervision.

Industrial ovens. An operational permit is required for operation of
industrial ovens regulated by Chapter 30.

Lumber yards and woodworking plants. An operational permit is required
for the storage or processing of lumber exceeding 100,000 board feet
(8,333 ft°) (236 m°).
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Liquid-fueled or gas-fueled vehicles or equipment in assembly buildings.
An operational permit is required to display, operate or demonstrate liquid-
fueled or gas-fueled vehicles or equipment in assembly buildings.

LP-gas. An operational permit is required for:
1. Storage and use of LP-gas.

Exception: An operational permit is not required for individual containers
with a 500-gallon (1893 L) water capacity or less or multiple container
systems having an aggregate quantity not exceeding 500 gallons (1893 L),
serving occupancies in Group R-3.

2. Operation of cargo tankers that transport LP-gas.

Magnesium. An operational permit is required to melt, cast, heat treat or
grind more than 10 pounds (4.54 kg) of magnesium.

Miscellaneous combustible storage. An operational permit is required to
store in any building or upon any premises in excess of 2,500 cubic feet
(71 m®) gross volume of combustible empty packing cases, boxes, barrels
or similar containers, rubber tires, rubber, cork or similar combustible
material.

Open burning. An operational permit is required for the kindling or
maintaining of an open fire or a fire on any public street, alley, road, or
other public or private ground. Instructions and stipulations of the permit
shall be adhered to.

Exception: Recreational fires.

Open flames and candles. An operational permit is required to use open
flames or candles in connection with assembly areas, dining areas of
restaurants or drinking establishments.

Open flames and torches. An operational permit is required to remove
paint with a torch, or to use a torch or open-flame device in a wildfire risk
area.

Organic coatings. An operational permit is required for any organic-
coating manufacturing operation producing more than 1 gallon (4 L) of an
organic coating in one day.

Places of assembly. An operational permit is required to operate a place of
assembly.

Private fire hydrants. An operational permit is required for the removal
from service, use or operation of private fire hydrants.
Exception: An operational permit is not required for private industry with

trained maintenance personnel, private fire brigade or fire departments to
maintain, test and use private hydrants.

Pyrotechnic special effects material. An operational permit is required for
use and handling of pyrotechnic special effects material.

Pyroxylin plastics. An operational permit is required for storage or
handling of more than 25 pounds (11 kg) of cellulose nitrate (pyroxylin)
plastics and for the assembly or manufacture of articles involving
pyroxylin plastics.

Refrigeration equipment. An operational permit is required to operate a
mechanical refrigeration unit or system regulated by Chapter 6.
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stations.

Repair garages and service stations. An operational permit is required for
operation of repair garages and automotive, marine and fleet service

rooftop heliport.

Rooftop heliports. An operational permit is required for the operation of a

Spraying or dipping. An operational permit is required to conduct a
spraying or dipping operation utilizing flammable or combustible liquids
or the application of combustible powders regulated by Chapter 24.

tires and for indoor storage of tires and tire byproducts.

Storage of scrap tires and tire byproducts. An operational permit is
required to establish, conduct or maintain storage of scrap tires and tire
byproducts that exceeds 2,500 cubic feet (71 m®) of total volume of scrap

tent.
Exceptions:
1. Tents used exclusively for recreational camping purposes.

persons.

Temporary membrane structures and tents. An operational permit is
required to operate an air-supported temporary membrane structure or a

2. Tents and air-supported structures that cover an area of 900 square feet
(84 m?) or less, including all connecting areas or spaces with a common
means of egress or entrance and with an occupant load of 50 or less

and maintenance of a tire-rebuilding plant.

Tire-rebuilding plants. An operational permit is required for the operation

Waste handling. An operational permit is required for the operation of
wrecking yards, junk yards and waste material-handling facilities.

Wood products. An operational permit is required to store chips, hogged
material, lumber or plywood in excess of 200 cubic feet (6 m®).

D. 107.3: Application for permit:. Application for a permit
shall be made on forms prescribed by the fire official.

E. 107.4- Issuance of permits:. Before a permit is issued, the
fire official shall make such inspections or tests as are
necessary to assure that the use and activities for which
application is made comply with the provisions of this code.

F. 107.5: Conditions of permit:. A permit shall constitute
permission to store or handle materials or to conduct
processes in accordance with the SFPC; and shall not be
construed as authority to omit or amend any of the provisions
of this code. Permits shall remain in effect until revoked or
for such period as specified on the permit. Permits are not
transferable.

G. 107.6- Annual:. The enforcing agency may issue annual
permits for the manufacturing, storage, handling, use, or sales
of explosives to any state regulated public utility.

H. 107.7- Approved plans:. Plans approved by the fire
official are approved with the intent that they comply in all
respects to this code. Any omissions or errors on the plans do
not relieve the applicant of complying with all applicable
requirements of this code.

I. 107.8: Posting:. Issued permits shall be kept on the
premises designated therein at all times and shall be readily
available for inspection by the fire official.

J. 107.9: Suspension of permit:. A permit shall become
invalid if the authorized activity is not commenced within six
months after issuance of the permit; or if the authorized
activity is suspended or abandoned for a period of six months
after the time of commencement.

K. 107.10- Local fees:. In accordance with § 27-97 27-98 of
the Code of Virginia, fees may be levied by the local
governing body in order to defray the cost of enforcement and
appeals under the SFPC. However, for the city of Chesapeake
no fee charged for the inspection of any place of religious
worship designated as Assembly Group A-3 shall exceed $50.
For purposes of this section, "defray the cost" may include the
fair_and reasonable costs incurred for such enforcement
during normal business hours but shall not include overtime
costs, unless conducted outside of the normal working hours
established by the locality. A schedule of such costs shall be
adopted by the local governing body in a local ordinance. A
locality shall not charge an overtime rate for inspections
conducted during the normal business hours established by
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the locality. Nothing herein shall be construed to prohibit a
private entity from conducting such inspections, provided the
private entity has been approved to perform such inspections
in accordance with the written policy of the fire official for
the locality.

L. 107.11. State Fire Marshal's office permit fees for
explosives, blasting agents, theatrical flame effects, and
fireworks:. Except as modified herein, applications for
firework or pyrotechnic displays shall be submitted to and
received by the State Fire Marshal's office not less than 15
days prior to the planned event. State Fire Marshal's Office
permit fees shall be as follows:

1. $150 per year per magazine to store explosives and
blasting agents.

2. $250 per year per city or county to use explosives and
blasting agents.

3. $200 per year to sell explosives and blasting agents.

4. $250 per year to manufacture explosives, blasting agents
and fireworks.

5. $350 the first day of fireworks, pyrotechnics or
proximate audience displays conducted in any state-owned
building and $150 per day for each consecutive day for
identical multi-day events. If an application is received by
the State Fire Marshal's office less than 15 days prior to the
planned event, the permit fee shall be $550 the first day
and $150 per day for each consecutive day for identical
multi-day events. If an application is received by the State
Fire Marshal's office less than seven days prior to the
planned event, the permit fee shall be $650 the first day
and $150 per day for each consecutive day for identical
multi-day events.

6. $250 the first day of fireworks, pyrotechnics or
proximate audience displays conducted out-of-doors on
any state-owned property and $150 per day for each
consecutive day for identical multi-day events. If an
application is received by the State Fire Marshal's office
less than 15 days prior to the planned event, the permit fee
shall be $550 the first day and $150 per day for each
consecutive day for identical multi-day events. If an
application is received by the State Fire Marshal's office
less than seven days prior to the planned event, the permit
fee shall be $650 the first day and $150 per day for each
consecutive day for identical multi-day events.

7. $100 per nonrenewable permit, valid for one week from
the date of issuance, for the use of explosives in special
operations or emergency conditions.

8. $300 the first day for flame effects conducted in
accordance with Section 308.3.2 indoors of any state-
owned building or outdoors on state-owned property and
$200 per day for each consecutive day for identical multi-
day events, or, if conducted as part of a firework
(pyrotechnic) display, $150 the first day and $125 per day
for each consecutive day for identical multi-day events. If

an application for flame effects is received by the State
Fire Marshal's office less than 15 days prior to the planned
event, the permit fee shall be $550 the first day and $200
per day for each consecutive day for identical multi-day
events or; if conducted as part of a firework (pyrotechnic)
display, $200 the first day and $100 per day for each
consecutive day for identical multi-day events. If an
application is received by the State Fire Marshal's office
less than seven days prior to the planned event, the permit
fee shall be $650 the first day and $150 per day for each
consecutive day for identical multi-day events or, if
conducted as part of a firework (pyrotechnic) display, $300
the first day and $125 per day for each consecutive day for
identical multi-day events.

Exception: Permits shall not be required for the storage of
explosives or blasting agents by the Virginia Department of
State Police provided notification to the State Fire Marshal is
made annually by the Chief Arson Investigator listing all
storage locations within areas where enforcement is provided
by the State Fire Marshal's office.

M. 107.12- State annual compliance inspection fees:. Fees
for compliance inspections performed by the State Fire
Marshal's office shall be as follows:

1. Nightclubs.
1.1. $350 for occupant load of 100 or less.
1.2. $450 for occupant load of 101 to 200.
1.3. $500 for occupant load of 201 to 300.
1.4. $500 plus $50 for each 100 occupants where
occupant loads exceed 300.

2. Private college dormitories with or without assembly
areas. If containing assembly areas, such assembly areas
are not included in the computation of square footage.

2.1. $150 for 3500 square feet or less.

2.2. $200 for greater than 3500 square feet up to 7000
square feet.

2.3. $250 for greater than 7000 square feet up to 10,000
square feet.
2.4. $250 plus $50 for each additional 3000 square feet
where square footage exceeds 10,000.
3. Assembly areas that are part of private college
dormitories.
3.1. $50 for 10,000 square feet or less provided the
assembly area is within or attached to a dormitory
building.
3.2. $100 for greater than 10,000 square feet up to 25,000
square feet provided the assembly area is within or
attached to a dormitory building, such as gymnasiums,
auditoriums or cafeterias.
3.3. $100 for up to 25,000 square feet provided the
assembly area is in a separate or separate buildings such
as gymnasiums, auditoriums or cafeterias.
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3.4. $150 for greater than 25,000 square feet for
assembly areas within or attached to a dormitory building
or in a separate or separate buildings such as
gymnasiums, auditoriums or cafeterias.

4. Hospitals.
4.1. $300 for 1 to 50 beds.
4.2. $400 for 51 to 100 beds.
4.3. $500 for 101 to 150 beds.
4.4. $600 for 151 to 200 beds.
4.5. $600 plus $100 for each additional 100 beds where
the number of beds exceeds 200.

5. Facilities licensed by the Virginia Department of Social
Services based on licensed capacity as follows:

5.1. $50 for 1 to 8.

5.2. $75 for 9 to 20.

5.3. $100 for 21 to 50.
5.4. $200 for 51 to 100.
5.5. $300 for 101 to 150.
5.6. $400 for 151 to 200.
5.7. $500 for 201 or more.

Exception: Annual compliance inspection fees for any
building or groups of buildings on the same site may not
exceed $2500.

6. Registered complaints.

6.1. No charge for first visit (initial complaint), and if
violations are found.

6.2. $51 per hour for each State Fire Marshal's office
staff for all subsequent visits.

7. Bonfires (small and large) on state-owned property.

7.1. For a small bonfire pile with a total fuel area more
than 3 feet in diameter and more than 2 feet in height, but
not more than 9 feet in diameter and not more than 6 feet
in height, the permit fee is $50. If an application for a
bonfire permit is received by the State Fire Marshal's
office less than 15 days prior to the planned event, the
permit fee shall be $100. If an application for a bonfire
permit is received by the State Fire Marshal's office less
than seven days prior to the planned event, the permit fee
shall be $150.

7.2. For a large bonfire pile with a total fuel area more
than 9 feet in diameter and more than 6 feet in height, the
permit fee is $150. If an application for a bonfire permit
is received by the State Fire Marshal's office less than 15
days prior to the planned event, the permit fee shall be
$300. If an application for a bonfire permit is received by
the State Fire Marshal's office less than seven days prior
to the planned event, the permit fee shall be $450.

N. 107.13: Fee schedule:. The local governing body may
establish a fee schedule. The schedule shall incorporate unit

rates, which may be based on square footage, cubic footage,
estimated cost of inspection or other appropriate criteria.

0. 107.14: Payment of fees:. A permit shall not be issued
until the designated fees have been paid.

Exception: The fire official may authorize delayed payment
of fees.

P. 107.14.1: State Fire Marshal's office certification and
permit fees not refundable:. No refund of any part of the
amount paid as a permit or certification fee will be made
where the applicant, permit or certification holder, for any
reason, discontinued an activity, changed conditions, or
changed circumstances for which the permit or certification
was issued. However, the permit or certification fee submitted
with an application will be refunded if the permit or
certification is canceled, revoked, or suspended subsequent to
having been issued through administrative error, or if a permit
being applied for is to be obtained from a locally appointed
fire official.

13VAC5-51-85. Section 108:0- 108 Operational permits.

A. 108.1- General. Operational permits shall be in
accordance with Section 108. The fire official may require
notification prior to (i) activities involving the handling,
storage or use of substances, materials or devices regulated by
the SFPC; (ii) conducting processes which produce
conditions hazardous to life or property; or (iii) establishing a
place of assembly.

B. 108.1.1: Permits required. Operational permits may be
required by the fire official in accordance with Table 107.2.
The fire official shall require operational permits for the
manufacturing, storage, handling, use and sale of explosives.
Issued permits shall be kept on the premises designated
therein at all times and shall be readily available for
inspection by the fire official.

Exceptions:

1. Operational permits will not be required by the State
Fire Marshal except for the manufacturing, storage,
handling, use and sale of explosives in localities not
enforcing the SFPC.

2. Operational permits will not be required for the
manufacturing, storage, handling or use of explosives or
blasting agents by the Virginia Department of State Police
provided notification to the fire official is made annually
by the Chief Arson Investigator listing all storage
locations.

C. 108.1.2- Duration of operational permits.

An operational permit allows the applicant to conduct an
operation or a business for which a permit is required by
Section 108.1.1 for either:

1. A prescribed period.
2. Until renewed, suspended, or revoked.

D. 108.1.3- Operational permits for the same location. When
more than one operational permit is required for the same
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location, the fire official is authorized to consolidate such
permits into a single permit provided that each provision is
listed in the permit.

E. 108.2- Application. Application for an operational permit
required by this code shall be made to the fire official in such
form and detail as prescribed by the fire official. Applications
for permits shall be accompanied by such plans as prescribed
by the fire official.

F. 108.2.1- Refusal to issue permit. If the application for an
operational permit describes a use that does not conform to
the requirements of this code and other pertinent laws and
ordinances, the fire official shall not issue a permit, but shall
return the application to the applicant with the refusal to issue
such permit. Such refusal shall, when requested, be in writing
and shall contain the reasons for refusal.

G. 108.2.2- Inspection authorized. Before a new operational
permit is approved, the fire official is authorized to inspect
the receptacles, vehicles, buildings, devices, premises, storage
spaces or areas to be used to determine compliance with this
code or any operational constraints required.

H. 108.2.3- Time limitation of application. An application
for an operational permit for any proposed work or operation
shall be deemed to have been abandoned six months after the
date of filing, unless such application has been diligently
prosecuted or a permit shall have been issued; except that the
fire official is authorized to grant one or more extensions of
time for additional periods not exceeding 90 days each if
there is reasonable cause.

I. 108.2.4- Action on application. The fire official shall
examine or cause to be examined applications for operational
permits and amendments thereto within a reasonable time
after filing. If the application does not conform to the
requirements of pertinent laws, the fire official shall reject
such application in writing, stating the reasons. If the fire
official is satisfied that the proposed work or operation
conforms to the requirements of this code and laws and
ordinances applicable thereto, the fire official shall issue a
permit as soon as practicable.

J. 108.3- Conditions of a permit. An operational permit shall
constitute permission to maintain, store or handle materials;
or to conduct processes in accordance with the SFPC, and
shall not be construed as authority to omit or amend any of
the provisions of this code.

Note: The building official issues permits to install
equipment utilized in connection with such activities or to
install or modify any fire protection system or equipment or
any other construction, equipment installation or
modification.

K. 108.3.1: Expiration. An operational permit shall remain
in effect until reissued, renewed, or revoked for such a period
of time as specified in the permit. Permits are not transferable
and any change in occupancy, operation, tenancy or
ownership shall require that a new permit be issued.

L. 108.3.2: Extensions. A permittee holding an unexpired
permit shall have the right to apply for an extension of the
time within which the permittee will commence work under
that permit when work is unable to be commenced within the
time required by this section for good and satisfactory
reasons. The fire official is authorized to grant, in writing, one
or more extensions of the time period of a permit for periods
of not more than 90 days each. Such extensions shall be
requested by the permit holder in writing and justifiable cause
demonstrated.

M. 108.3.3- Annual. The enforcing agency may issue annual
operational permits for the manufacturing, storage, handling,
use, or sales of explosives to any state regulated public utility.

N. 108.3.4: Suspension of permit. An operational permit
shall become invalid if the authorized activity is not
commenced within six months after issuance of the permit, or
if the authorized activity is suspended or abandoned for a
period of six months after the time of commencement.

0. 108.3.5: Posting. Issued operational permits shall be kept
on the premises designated therein at all times and shall be
readily available for inspection by the fire official.

P. 108.3.6- Compliance with code. The issuance or granting
of an operational permit shall not be construed to be a permit
for, or an approval of, any violation of any of the provisions
of this code or of any other ordinance of the jurisdiction.
Operational permits presuming to give authority to violate or
cancel the provisions of this code or other ordinances of the
jurisdiction shall not be valid. The issuance of a permit based
on other data shall not prevent the fire official from requiring
the correction of errors in the provided documents and other
data. Any addition to or alteration of approved provided
documents shall be approved in advance by the fire official,
as evidenced by the issuance of a new or amended permit.

Q. 108.3.7- Information on the permit. The fire official shall
issue all operational permits required by this code on an
approved form furnished for that purpose. The operational
permit shall contain a general description of the operation or
occupancy and its location and any other information required
by the fire official. Issued permits shall bear the original or
electronic signature of the fire official or other designee
approved by the fire official.

R. 108.4: Revocation. The fire official is authorized to
revoke an operational permit issued under the provisions of
this code when it is found by inspection or otherwise that
there has been a false statement or misrepresentation as to the
material facts in the application or documents on which the
permit or approval was based including, but not limited to,
any one of the following:

1. The permit is used for a location or establishment other
than that for which it was issued.

2. The permit is used for a condition or activity other than
that listed in the permit.
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3. Conditions and limitations set forth in the permit have
been violated.

4. Inclusion of any false statements or misrepresentations
as to a material fact in the application for permit or plans
submitted or a condition of the permit.

5. The permit is used by a different person or firm than the
person or firm for which it was issued.

6. The permittee failed, refused or neglected to comply
with orders or notices duly served in accordance with the
provisions of this code within the time provided therein.

7. The permit was issued in error or in violation of an
ordinance, a regulation, or this code.

13VAC5-51-91. Section 209:0- 109 Inspection.

A. 109.1: Inspection:. The fire official may inspect all
structures and premises for the purposes of ascertaining and
causing to be corrected any conditions liable to cause fire,
contribute to the spread of fire, interfere with firefighting
operations, endanger life, or any violations of the provisions
or intent of the SFPC.

Exception: Single family dwellings and dwelling units in
two family and multiple family dwellings and farm structures
shall be exempt from routine inspections. This exemption
shall not preclude the fire official from conducting routine
inspections in Group R-3 or Group R-5 occupancies operating
as a commercial bed and breakfast as outlined in Section
310.3 of the USBC or inspecting under § 27-98.2 of the Code
of Virginia for hazardous conditions relating to explosives,
flammable and combustible conditions, and hazardous
materials.

B. 109.1.1- Right to entry:. The fire official may enter any
structure or premises at any reasonable time to inspect subject
to constitutional restrictions on unreasonable searches and
seizures. If entry is refused or not obtained, the fire official
may pursue recourse as provided by law.

Note: Specific authorization and procedures for inspections
and issuing warrants are set out in §8 27-98.1 through 27-98.5
of the Code of Virginia and shall be taken into consideration.

C. 109.1.2- Credentials:. The fire official and technical
assistants shall carry proper credentials of office when
inspecting in the performance of their duties under the SFPC.

D. 109.2- Coordinated inspections:. The fire official shall
coordinate inspections and administrative orders with any
other state and local agencies having related inspection
authority, and shall coordinate those inspections required by
the USBC for new construction when involving provisions of
the amended IFC, so that the owners and occupants will not
be subjected to numerous inspections or conflicting orders.

Note: The USBC requires the building official to coordinate
such inspections with the fire official.

E. 109.3: Other inspections:. In accordance with § 9.1-207
of the Code of Virginia, the State Fire Marshal, upon
presenting proper credentials, shall make annual inspections

for hazards incident to fire in all (i) residential care facilities
operated by any state agency, (ii) assisted living facilities
licensed or subject to licensure pursuant to Chapter 18 (8
63.2-1800 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia which
are not inspected by a local fire marshal, (iii) student-
residence facilities owned or operated by the public
institutions of higher education in the Commonwealth, and
(iv) public schools in the Commonwealth which are not
inspected by a local fire marshal. In the event that any such
facility or residence is found to be nonconforming to the
SFPC, the State Fire Marshal or local fire marshal may
petition any court of competent jurisdiction for the issuance
of an injunction.

13VAC5-51-101. Section 4368 110 Unsafe conditions.

A. 110.1- General:. The fire official shall order the following
dangerous or hazardous conditions or materials to be removed
or remedied in accordance with the SFPC:

1. Dangerous conditions which are liable to cause or
contribute to the spread of fire in or on said premises,
building or structure, or to endanger the occupants thereof.

2. Conditions which would interfere with the efficiency
and use of any fire protection equipment.

3. Obstructions to or on fire escapes, stairs, passageways,
doors or windows, which are liable to interfere with the
egress of occupants or the operation of the fire department
in case of fire.

4. Accumulations of dust or waste material in air
conditioning or ventilating systems or grease in kitchen or
other exhaust ducts.

5. Accumulations of grease on kitchen cooking equipment,
or oil, grease or dirt upon, under or around any mechanical
equipment.

6. Accumulations of rubbish, waste, paper, boxes,
shavings, or other combustible materials, or excessive
storage of any combustible material.

7. Hazardous conditions arising from defective or
improperly used or installed electrical wiring, equipment or
appliances.

8. Hazardous conditions arising from defective or
improperly used or installed equipment for handling or
using combustible, explosive or otherwise hazardous
materials.

9. Dangerous or unlawful amounts of combustible,
explosive or otherwise hazardous materials.

10. All equipment, materials, processes or operations
which are in violation of the provisions and intent of this
code.

B. 110.2: Maintenance:. The owner shall be responsible for
the safe and proper maintenance of any structure, premises or
lot. In all structures, the fire protection equipment, means of
egress, alarms, devices and safeguards shall be maintained in
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a safe and proper operating condition as required by the SFPC
and applicable referenced standards.

C. 110.3- Occupant responsibility:. If a building occupant
creates conditions in violation of this code, by virtue of
storage, handling and use of substances, materials, devices
and appliances, such occupant shall be held responsible for
the abatement of said hazardous conditions.

D. 110.4- Unsafe structures:. All structures that are or shall
hereafter become unsafe or deficient in adequate exit facilities
or which constitute a fire hazard, or are otherwise dangerous
to human life or the public welfare, or by reason of illegal or
improper use, occupancy or maintenance or which have
sustained structural damage by reason of fire, explosion, or
natural disaster shall be deemed unsafe structures. A vacant
structure, or portion of a structure, unguarded or open at door
or window shall be deemed a fire hazard and unsafe within
the meaning of this code. Unsafe structures shall be reported
to the building official or building maintenance official who
shall take appropriate action under the provisions of the
USBC to secure abatement. Subsequently, the fire official
may request the legal counsel of the local governing body to
institute the appropriate proceedings for an injunction against
the continued use and occupancy of the structure until such
time as conditions have been remedied.

E. 110.5: Evacuation:. When, in the fire official's opinion,
there is actual and potential danger to the occupants or those
in the proximity of any structure or premises because of
unsafe structural conditions, or inadequacy of any means of
egress, the presence of explosives, explosive fumes or vapors,
or the presence of toxic fumes, gases or materials, the fire
official may order the immediate evacuation of the structure
or premises. All notified occupants shall immediately leave
the structure or premises and no person shall enter until
authorized by the fire official.

F. 110.6- Unlawful continuance:. Any person who refuses to
leave, interferes with the evacuation of other occupants or
continues any operation after having been given an
evacuation order shall be in violation of this code.

Exception: Any person performing work directed by the fire
official to be performed to remove an alleged violation or
unsafe condition.

13VAC5-51-111. Section £316- 111 Violations.

A. 111.1. Noticez. When the fire official discovers an
alleged violation of a provision of the SFPC or other codes or
ordinances under the fire official's jurisdiction, the fire
official shall prepare a written notice citing the section
allegedly violated, describing the condition deemed unsafe
and specifying time limitations for the required abatements to
be made to render the structure or premises safe and secure.

B. 111.1.1- Right of appeal:. Notices of violation issued
under Section 111.1 shall indicate the right of appeal by
referencing the appeals section of this code.

Exceptions:

1. Summons issued in lieu of a notice of violation in
accordance with Section 111.5 of this code.

2. Documents reflecting uncorrected violations in
subsequent inspections to verify compliance.

C. 111.2: Service;. The written notice of violation of this
code shall be served upon the owner, a duly authorized agent
or upon the occupant or other person responsible for the
conditions under violation. Such notice shall be served either
by delivering a copy of same to such persons by mail to the
last known post office address, by delivering in person or by
delivering it to and leaving it in the possession of any person
in charge of the premises, or, in the case such person is not
found upon the premises, by affixing a copy thereof in a
conspicuous place at the entrance door or avenue of access.
Such procedure shall be deemed the equivalent of personal
notice.

D. 111.3: Failure to correct violations:. If the notice of
violation is not complied with within the time specified, the
fire official shall request the legal counsel of the local
governing body to institute the appropriate legal proceedings
to restrain, correct, or abate such alleged violation.

E. 111.4 Penaltys. Penalties upon conviction of violating the
SFPC shall be as set out in § 27-100 of the Code of Virginia.

F. 111.5- Summons:. When authorized and certified in
accordance with § 27-34.2 of the Code of Virginia, the fire
official may, subject to any limitations imposed by the local
governing body, issue a summons in lieu of a notice of
violation. Fire officials not certified in accordance with § 27-
34.2 of the Code of Virginia may request the law-
enforcement agency of the local governing body to make
arrests for any alleged violations of the SFPC or orders
affecting the immediate public safety.

13VAC5-51-121. Section 112:0- 112 Appeals.

A. 112.1: Local Board of Fire Prevention Code Appeals
{BFRCAY): (LBFPCA). Each local governing body which
enforces the SFPC shall have a BFRCA LBFPCA to hear
appeals as authorized herein or it shall enter into an
agreement with the governing body of another county or
municipality, with some other agency, or with a state agency
approved by the DHCD to act on appeals. An appeal case
decided by some other approved agency shall constitute an
appeal in accordance with this section and shall be final
unless appealed to the State Buiding-Code-TFechnical Review
Board (FRB).

B. 112.2. Membership:. The BFRCA LBFPCA shall consist
of at least five members appointed by the local governing
body and having terms of office established by written policy.
Alternate members may be appointed to serve in the absence
of any regular members and, as such, shall have the full
power and authority of the regular members. Regular and
alternate members may be reappointed. Written records of
current membership, including a record of the current

Volume 33, Issue 13

Virginia Register of Regulations

February 20, 2017

1489



Regulations

chairman and secretary shall be maintained in the office of
the local governing body. In order to provide continuity, the
terms of the members may be of different length so that less
than half will expire in any one-year period. The BFRCA
LBFPCA shall meet at-least-once—annually as necessary to
assure a duly constituted board, appoint officers as necessary
and receive such training on the code as may be appropriate
or necessary from staff of the locality.

C. 112.2.1. Chairman:. The BFRCA LBFPCA shall annually
select one of its regular members to serve as chairman. In
case of the absence of the chairman at a hearing, the members
present shall select an acting chairman.

D. 112.2.2. Secretary:. The local governing body shall
appoint a secretary to the BFERGA LBFPCA to maintain a
detailed record of all proceedings.

E. 112.3: Qualifications of members:—BFPCA LBFPCA.
members shall be selected by the local governing body on the
basis of their ability to render fair and competent decisions
regarding application of the SFPC and shall, to the extent
possible, represent different occupational or professional
fields relating to building construction or fire prevention. At
least one member should be an experienced builder and one
member a licensed professional engineer or architect.
Employees or officials of the local governing body shall not
serve as members of the BFRGA LBFPCA.

F. 112.4- Disqualification of member:. A member shall not
hear an appeal in which that member has conflict of interest
in accordance with the State and Local Government Conflict
of Interests Act, Chapter 31 (§ 2.2-3100 et seq.) of Title 2.2
of the Code of Virginia.

G. 112.5: Application for appeal:. The owner of a structure,
the owner's agent or any other person involved in the design,
construction or maintenance of the structure may appeal a
decision of the fire official concerning the application of the
SFPC or the fire official's refusal to grant modification under
Section 106.5 to the provisions of the SFPC. The appeal shall
first lie to the local-beoard—of fireprevention—code—appeals
{BFRCA) LBFPCA and then to the FRB State Review Board
except that appeals concerning the application of the SFPC or
refusal to grant modifications by the State Fire Marshal shall
be made directly to the FRB State Review Board. The appeal
shall be submitted to the BFRCA LBFPCA within 14
calendar days of the application of the SFPC. The application
shall contain the name and address of the owner of the
structure and the person appealing if not the owner. A copy of
the written decision of the fire official shall be submitted
along with the application for appeal and maintained as part
of the record. The application shall be stamped or otherwise
marked by the BFRCA LBFPCA to indicate the date received.
Failure to submit an application for appeal within the time
limit established by this section shall constitute acceptance of
the fire official's decision.

Note: In accordance with 8 27-98 of the Code of Virginia,
any local fire code may provide for an appeal to a local board

of appeals. If no local board of appeals exists, the FRB State
Review Board shall hear appeals of any local fire code
violation.

H. 112.6- Notice of meeting:. The BFRGA LBFPCA shall
meet within 30 calendar days after the date of receipt of the
application for appeal. Notice indicating the time and place of
the hearing shall be sent to the parties in writing to the
addresses listed on the application at least 14 calendar days
prior to the date of the hearing. Less notice may be given if
agreed upon by the applicant.

I. 112.7- Hearing procedures:. All hearings before the
BFRCA LBFPCA shall be open to the public. The appellant,
the appellant's representative, the local governing body's
representative and any person whose interests are affected
shall be given an opportunity to be heard. The chairman shall
have the power and duty to direct the hearing, rule upon the
acceptance of evidence and oversee the record of all
proceedings.

J. 112.7.1: Postponement:. When a quorum of the BERGA
LBFPCA is not present to hear an appeal, either the appellant
or the appellant's representative shall have the right to request
a postponement of the hearing. The BFRCA LBFPCA shall
reschedule the appeal within 30 calendar days of the
postponement.

K. 112.8- Decision:. The BERCA LBFPCA shall have the
power to uphold, reverse or modify the decision of the fire
official by a concurring vote of a majority of those present.
Decisions of the BFERGA LBFPCA shall be final if no appeal
is made therefrom and the appellant and the fire official shall
act accordingly.

L. 112.8.1: Resolution:. The BERCA's LBFPCA's decision
shall be by resolution signed by the chairman and retained as
part of the record by the BFRCA LBFPCA. The following
wording shall be part of the resolution: "Any person who was
a party to the appeal may appeal to the State Building Code
Technical Review Board {FRB) (State Review Board) by
submitting an application to the FRB State Review Board
within 21 calendar days upon receipt by certified mail of this
resolution. Application forms are available from the Office of
the FRB State Review Board, 600 East Main Street,
Richmond, Virginia 23219, (804) 371-7150." Copies of the
resolution shall be furnished to all parties.

M. 112.9: Appeal to the FRB: State Review Board. After
final determination by the BFRCA LBFPCA, any person who
was a party to the local appeal may appeal to the FRB State
Review Board. Application shall be made to the FRB State
Review Board within 21 calendar days of receipt of the
decision to be appealed. Application for appeal to the FRB
State Review Board arising from the SFMQ's enforcement of
the code or from any local fire code violation if no local
board of appeals exists shall be made to the FRB State
Review Board within 14 calendar days of receipt of the
decision to be appealed and shall be accompanied by copies
of the inspection reports and other relevant information.
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Failure to submit an application for appeal within the time
limit established by this section shall constitute an acceptance
of the BFRCAss LBFPCA's resolution or fire official's
decision.

N. 112.9.1- Information to be submitted:. Copies of the fire
official's decision and the resolution of the BFRCA LBFPCA
shall be submitted with the application for appeal. Upon
request by the office of the FRB State Review Board, the
BFRPCA LBFPCA shall submit a copy of all inspection
reports and all pertinent information from the record of the
BFPCA LBFPCA.

O. 112.9.2: Decision of TRB: State Review Board.
Procedures of the FRB State Review Board are in accordance
with Article 2 (8§ 36-108 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 36 of
the Code of Virginia. Decisions of the FRB State Review
Board shall be final if no appeal is made therefrom and the
appellant and the code official shall act accordingly.

13VAC5-51-130. IFC Section 262:6- 202 Definitions.
A. Add the following definitions to read:

Background clearance card or BCC:. An identification card
issued to an individual who is not a certified blaster or
pyrotechnician and is responsible management or an
employee of a company, corporation, firm, or other entity,
solely for the purpose of submitting an application to the
fire official for a permit to manufacture, use, handle, store,
or sell explosive materials; or conduct a fireworks display.
A person to whom a BCC has been issued can fulfill the
role of a designated individual on an application for a
permit to manufacture, use, handle, store, or sell explosive
materials; or on an application for a permit to design,
setup, and conduct a fireworks display.

Blaster, restricted:. Any person engaging in the use of
explosives or blasting agents utilizing five pounds (2.25
kg) or less per blasting operation and using instantaneous
detonators. A certified restricted blaster can fulfill the role
of a designated individual on an application for permit to
manufacture, use, handle, store, or sell explosive materials.

Blaster, unrestricted:. Any person engaging in the use of
explosives or blasting agents without the limit to the
amount of explosives or blasting agents or type of
detonator. A certified unrestricted blaster can fulfill the
role of a designated individual on an application for permit
to manufacture, use, handle, store, or sell explosive
materials.

Chemical fume hood. A ventilated enclosure designed to
contain _and exhaust fumes, gases, vapors, mists, and
particulate matter generated within the hood.

Design:. For the purposes of a fireworks display, either
inside a building or structure or outdoors, it shall mean the
pyrotechnician who will be in attendance and makes the
final artistic determination for the placement of fireworks
and ground display pieces suitable for the display site.

Designated individual:. A person who is in possession of a
BCC issued by the SFMO, certified by the SFMO as a
pyrotechnician, or a restricted or unrestricted blaster, any
of whom are responsible for ensuring compliance with
state law and regulations relating to blasting agents and
explosives and applying for explosives or firework
permits; is at least 21 years of age; and demonstrates the
capability to effectively communicate safety messages
verbally and in writing in the English language.

DHCD:. The Virginia Department of Housing and
Community Development.

Laboratory suite. A fire-rated enclosed laboratory area that
will provide one or more laboratory spaces, within a Group
B educational occupancy, that are permitted to include
ancillary uses such as offices, bathrooms, and corridors
that are contiguous with the laboratory area and are
constructed in accordance with Section 430.3 of the USBC,
Part I, Construction.

LBFPCA. Local Board of Fire Prevention Code Appeals.

Local government, local governing body or locality:. The
governing body of any county, city, or town, other political
subdivision and state agency in this Commonwealth
charged with the enforcement of the SFPC under state law.

Night club:. Any building or portion thereof in which the
main use is a place of public assembly that provides
exhibition, performance or other forms or entertainment;
serves alcoholic beverages; and provides music and space
for dancing.

Permissible fireworks:. Any sparklers, fountains, Pharaoh's
serpents, caps for pistols, or pinwheels commonly known
as whirligigs or spinning jennies.

Pyrotechnician  (firework operator):. Any person
supervising or engaged in the design, setup, or conducting
of any fireworks display, either inside a building or
outdoors. A certified pyrotechnician can fulfill the role of a
designated individual on an application for a permit for a
fireworks display.

Pyrotechnician, aerial:. A person supervising or engaged in
the design, setup, or conducting of an outdoor aerial
fireworks display performed in accordance with the
regulations as set forth in this code and NFPA 1123, a
referenced standard for fireworks displays.

Pyrotechnician, proximate:. A person supervising or
engaged in the design, setup, or conducting of a fireworks
display, either inside a building or outdoors, performed in
accordance with the regulations as set forth in this code
and NFPA 1126, a referenced standard for the use of
pyrotechnics before a proximate audience.

Responsible management:. A person who is any of the
following:

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship.
2. The partners of a general partnership.
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3. The managing partners of a limited partnership.
4. The officers or directors of a corporation.

5. The managers or members of a limited liability
company.
6. The managers, officers or directors of an association.

7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under
the laws of the Commonwealth as having a fiduciary
responsibility to the firm.

airborne:

Sole proprietor:. A person or individual, not a corporation,
who is trading under his own name or under an assumed or
fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of 8§ 59.1-69
through 59.1-76 of the Code of Virginia.

Special expert. An _individual who has demonstrated
gualifications in a specific area, outside the practice of
architecture or_engineering, through education, training,
and experience.

State Fire Marshal:. The State Fire Marshal as provided for
by § 9.1-206 of the Code of Virginia.

State Regulated Care Facility (SRCF)s:. A building with an
occupancy in Group R-2, R-3, R-4, or R-5 occupied by
persons in the care of others where program oversight is
provided by the Virginia Department of Social Services,
the Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and
Developmental Services, the Virginia Department of
Education or the Virginia Department of Juvenile Justice.

State Review Board. The Virginia State Building Code
Technical Review Board as established under § 36-108 of
the Code of Virginia.

Teaching and research laboratory. A building or portion of
a building where hazardous materials are stored, used, and
handled for the purpose of testing, analysis, teaching,
research, or developmental activities on a nonproduction
basis rather than in a manufacturing process.

Technical Assistant:. Any person employed by or under an
extended contract to a local enforcing agency for enforcing
the SFPC. For the purposes of this definition, an extended
contract shall be a contract with an aggregate term of 18
months or longer.

: o - ical .
Board-

USBC:. The Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code
(13VAC5-63).

B. Add the following definition under the term "Occupancy
Classification--Residential Group R" to read:

Residential Group R-5. Detached one and two-family
dwellings and  multiple  single-family  dwellings
(townhouses) not more than three stories high with
separate means of egress and their accessory structures.

The terms "R-5" and "one and two-family dwelling" where
used in this code shall be interchangeable.

C. Change the following definitions to read:

Automatic fire-extinguishing system:. An approved system
of devices and equipment that automatically detects a fire
and discharges an approved fire-extinguishing agent onto
or in the area of a fire. Such system shall include an
automatic sprinkler system, unless otherwise expressly
stated.

Fire code official:. The officer or other designated
authority charged with administration and enforcement of
this code, or a duly authorized representative. For the
purpose of this code, the terms "code official" and "fire
official" shall have the same meaning as the term "fire
code official" and, in addition, such official shall have the
powers outlined in § 27-98.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Fireworks:. Any firecracker, torpedo, skyrocket, or other
substance or object, of whatever form or construction, that
contains any explosive or inflammable compound or
substance; and is intended, or commonly known, as
fireworks and that explodes, rises into the air or travels
laterally, or fires projectiles into the air. Fireworks shall
not include automobile flares, paper caps containing not
more than the average of 0.25 grain (16 mg) of explosive
content per cap or toy pistols, toy canes, toy guns, or other
devices utilizing such caps and items commonly known as
party poppers, pop rocks, and snap-n-pops. Fireworks may
be further delineated and referred to as:

Fireworks, 1.4G (formerly known as Class C, Common
Fireworks):. Small fireworks devices containing
restricted amounts of pyrotechnic composition designed
primarily to produce visible or audible effects by
combustion. Such 1.4G fireworks that comply with the
construction, chemical composition, and labeling
regulations of the DOTn for Fireworks, UN0336, and the
U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission as set forth
in CPSC 16 CFR Parts 1500 and 1507, are not explosive
materials for the purpose of this code.

Fireworks, 1.3G (formerly Class B, Special Fireworks):.
Large fireworks devices, which are explosive materials,
intended for the use in fireworks displays and designed to
produce audible or visible effects by combustion,
deflagration, or detonation. Such 1.3G fireworks include,
but are not limited to, firecrackers containing more than
130 milligrams (2 grains) of explosive composition,
aerial shells containing more than 40 grams of
pyrotechnic composition, and other display pieces that
exceed the limits for classification as 1.4G fireworks.
Such 1.3G fireworks are also described as Fireworks,
UNO0335 by the DOTn.

Smokeless propellants:. Solid propellants, commonly
referred to as smokeless powders or any propellant
classified by DOTn as a smokeless propellant in
accordance with NA3178, Smokeless Powder for Small
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Arms, used in small arms ammunition, firearms, cannons,
rockets, propellant-actuated devices, and similar articles.

13VAC5-51-131. IFC Chapter 3: General Requirements.
A. Change Section 301.2 to read:

301.2- Permits. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2 for the activities or uses regulated by
Sections 306, 307, 308, and 315.

B. Add Section 301.3 to read:

301.3- Occupancy. The occupancy of a structure shall be
continued as originally permitted under and in full
compliance with the codes in force at the time of
construction or alteration. The occupancy of a structure
shall not change to another occupancy that will subject the
structure to any special provisions of this code or the
USBC without the approval of the building official.
Sky-lantern:
B- C. Change Section 304.3.2 to read:

304.3.2- Capacity exceeding 5.88 cubic feet. Containers
with a capacity exceeding 5.88 cubic feet (44 gallons)
(0.17 m3) shall be provided with lids. Containers and lids
shall be constructed of noncombustible materials or
approved combustible materials.

E: D. Add an exception to Section 307.1 to read:

Exception: Approved outdoor live fire training using
equipment or appliances accessible or available to the
general public, and that complies with Section 307.4.

F- E. Change Section 307.2 to read:

307.2: Permit required. A permit shall be obtained from the
fire code official in accordance with Section 107.2 prior to
kindling a fire for recognized silvicultural or range or
wildlife management practices, prevention or control of
disease or pests, or a bonfire. Application for such
approval shall only be presented by and permits issued to
the owner of the land upon which the fire is to be kindled.

bereleased-an-untethered-sky-lantern-
H: E. Change Section 308.2 to read:

308.2- Permits required. Permits shall be obtained from the
fire code official in accordance with Section 107.2 prior to
engaging in the following activities involving open flame,
fire, and burning:

1. Use of a torch or flame-producing device to remove
paint from a structure.

2. Use of open flame, fire, or burning in connection with
Group A or E occupancies.

3. Use or operation of torches and other devices,
machines, or processes liable to start or cause fire in or
upon wildfire risk areas.
+ G. Change Section 311.1 to read:
311.1: General. Temporarily unoccupied buildings,
structures, premises, or portions thereof, including tenant
spaces, shall be safeguarded and maintained in accordance
with Sections 311.1.1 through 33%5:6 311.6.
J- H. Add Section 311.5.6 to read:
311.5.6- Removal. Removal of placards posted in

accordance with this section without the approval of the
fire official shall be a violation of this code.

£ 1. Change Section 314.1 to read:

314.1. General. Indoor displays constructed within any
building or structure shall comply with Sections 314.2
through 314.5.

M- J. Add Section 314.5 to read:

314.5: Smokeless powder and small arms primers. Venders
shall not store, display, or sell smokeless powder or small
arms primers during trade shows inside exhibition halls
except as follows:

1. The amount of smokeless powder displayed by each
vender is limited to the amount established in Section
5606.5.1.1.

2. The amount of smokeless powder each vender may
store is limited to the storage arrangements and storage
amounts established in Section 5606.5.2.1. Smokeless
powder shall remain in the manufacturer's original sealed
container, and the container shall remain sealed while
inside the building. The repackaging of smokeless
powder shall not be performed inside the building.
Damaged containers shall not be repackaged inside the
building and shall be immediately removed from the
building in such manner to avoid spilling any powder.

3. There shall be at least 50 feet separation between
venders and 20 feet from any exit.
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4. Small arms primers shall be displayed and stored in
the manufacturer's original packaging and in accordance

403.1.1: Maintaining occupant load posting. Occupant load
postings required by the building code are required to be

maintained.

with the requirements of Section 5606.5.2.3.
N: K. Change Section 315.2 to read:

315.2: Permit required. A permit for miscellaneous
combustible storage shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

O L. Change Section 315.4 to read:

315.4: Qutside storage. Outside storage of combustible
materials shall not be located within 10 feet (3048 mm) of
a property line or other building on the site.

Exceptions:

1. The separation distance is allowed to be reduced to 3
feet (914 mm) for storage not exceeding 6 feet (1829
mm) in height.
2. The separation distance is allowed to be reduced when
the fire official determines that no hazard to the adjoining
property exists.

P- M. Change Section 315.4.1 to read:

315.4.1. Storage beneath overhead projections from
buildings. To the extent required by the code the building
was constructed under, when buildings are required to be
protected by automatic sprinklers, the outdoor storage,
display, and handling of combustible materials under
eaves, canopies, or other projections or overhangs is
prohibited except where automatic sprinklers are installed
under such eaves, canopies, or other projections or

overhangs. C. Add Sections 403.2.2.1, 403.2.2.1.1, and 403.2.2.1.2 to
13VAC5-51-132. IFC Chapter 4 Emergency Planning and read:
Preparedness. 403.2.2.1- Night clubs. Night clubs shall comply with

Sections 403.2.2.1.1 and 403.2.2.1.2.

403.2.2.1.1- Audible announcements. Audible
announcements shall be made to the occupants no longer
than 10 minutes prior to the start of the entertainment and
at each intermission to notify the occupants of the location
of the exits to be used in the event of a fire or other
emergency.

A. Add Section 401.1.1 to read:

401.1.1. State Regulated Care Facilities. When a state
license is required by the Virginia Department of Social
Services; Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and
Developmental ~ Services; Virginia Department of
Education; or Virginia Department of Juvenile Justice to
operate, SRCF shall comply with this section and the

provisions of Section 484-0 404. 403.2.2.1.2- Occupant load count. Upon request of the fire
B. Change Add Section 403 403.1.1 to read: code official, the owner or operator, or both, will be
- o required to keep a running count of the occupant load to
Section-403. . provide to the fire code official during performance hours
Emergency-Preparedness-Reguirements:

of operation, entertainment hours of operation, or both.
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D. Change Section 403.10 to read: fire—alarm—systems,—smoke—alarms, —and—portable—fire
403-9- 403.10 Group R occupancies. Group R occupancies . : .

shall comply with the-provisions-ef-this-section-applicable . g L
to—the—type—of —Group—R—occupaney Sections 403.10.1 403:9-2.2:2.—Emergency—guide—maintenance.—Emergency
through 403.10.4. gUIGES-Shan—be-Feviewet—anc—approvea—y e —tre—coce
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immediately-adjacent-to-every required—egress-door-from F. Change Section 403.11 to read:
each-dormitory-sleeping-unit—Evacuation-diagrams-shall-be 403.10. 403.11 Special uses. Special uses shall comply

with-the-previsions-of-this-section-applicable-to-the-type-of
403.9:3—Group-R-4-oceupancies—An-approved-fire-safety special—use be in accordance with Sections 403.11.1

and-evacuation-plan-in-accordance-with-Section-404-shall through 403.11.5.

E. Add Section 403.10.4 to read: exterior—ofthe—butding—Fenant—identification—shall-be

403.9:4- 403.10.4 GrOUp R-3 and R-5 IOdglng facilities. An &Hd%ha“—ldeﬂﬂ-w—the—bﬁlﬂﬂess—ﬂ&#&e—%ﬂddm%—%b@th—

approved fire safety and evacuation plan in accordance using-plainly-legible letters-and-numbers-that contrast-with
with Section 404 shall be prepared and maintained for their background-

Group R-3 and R-5 bed and breakfast and other transient L Sl .
boarding facilities that are either proprietor or non- Exception: —Tenant—identification—s—not—required—fol

proprietor occupied.
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G. Add Section 403.11.5 to read:
403104 403.11.5 SRCF. An approved fire safety and

evacuation plan in accordance with Section 404 shall be
prepared and maintained for SRCFs.
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4-4-Aceessible-egressroutes: H. Change Section 404.4.1 to read:

4-5-Areas-ofrefuge- 404.4.1- Distribution. The fire safety and evacuation plans
4.6 Exterior areasfor-assisted rescue shall be distributed to the tenants and building service

" . ' employees by the owner or owner's agent. Tenants shall
4-+-Manual-fire-alarm-boxes: distribute to their employees applicable parts of the fire
4-8-Portable-fire-extinguishers: safety plan affecting the employees' actions in the event of
4.9 Occupant-use-hose-stations: a fire or other emergency. Fire safety and evacuation plans
A 10 Fireal iators and-controls shall be made available by the proprietor of Group R-3 and

R-5 bed and breakfast and other transient boarding

S—Alistof-majorfire-hazards asseelateel_wn HRe-norn al facilities to transient guests upon their arrival or are present
use—and—aoceupancy —of—the—premises—including in each transient guest room.

B- I. Change Section 405.1 to read:

formaintenance—_of systems-and—equipmentinstalled-to 405.1: General. Emergency evacuation drills complying
preventorcontrol-fires. with Sections 405.2 through 405.9 shall be conducted at

least annually where fire safety and evacuation plans are
required by Section 403 or when required by the fire code
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official. Drills shall be designed in cooperation with the
local authorities.

Exception: Emergency evacuation drills shall not be
conducted in school buildings during periods of mandatory
testing required by the Virginia Board of Education.

1. Add the following row to Table 405.2: and—change
fggthEtEs ||a’|| |||g’|| a:‘E I'E" Ef I agIE 1() .;! tO read:

Group or o
Occupancy Frequency Participation
SRCF Monthly All occupants

a In-severech mates; the firecode official-shall-have the
. 9 il

frequency:

b . . . . . . .

E: K. Add Section 405.2.1 to read:
405.2.1. High-rise buildings. Fire exit drills shall be
conducted annually by building staff personnel or the
owner of the building in accordance with the fire safety
plan and shall not affect other current occupants.

13VAC5-51-133. IFC Chapter 5 Fire Service Features.

A. Change Section 501.2 to read:

501.2- Permits. A permit shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

B. Delete Section 501.4.
C. Add exceptions to Section 503.1 to read:
Exceptions:

1. Fire apparatus access roads shall be permitted to be
provided and maintained in accordance with written
policy that establish fire apparatus access road
requirements and such requirements shall be identified to
the owner or his agent prior to the building official's
approval of the building permit.

2. On construction and demolition sites fire apparatus
access roads shall be permitted to be provided and
maintained in accordance with Section 3310.1.

D. Add exception to Section 503.2.1 to read:

Exception: Fire apparatus access roads exclusively serving
single family dwelling or townhouse developments that are
fully sprinklered as provided for in Sections R313.1 or
R313.2 of the International Residential Code shall have an
unobstructed width of not less than 18 feet (5486 mm),
exclusive of shoulders.

E. Add Section 503.7 to read:

503.7- Fire lanes for existing buildings. The fire code
official is authorized to designate public and private fire
lanes as deemed necessary for the efficient and effective
operation of fire apparatus. Fire lanes shall comply with
Sections 503.2 through 503.6.

F. Add Sections Section 507.3.1 and-507-3-2 to read:

507.3.1- Fire flow requirements for fully sprinklered
residential  developments.  Notwithstanding  Section
103.1.2, the fire flow requirements in Table B1051
B105.1(1) of Appendix B of the IFC.—as—modified—by
Section—50743:2; shall be permitted to be used for
determining fire flow in single family dwelling and
townhouse developments which are fully sprinklered as
provided for in Sections R313.1 or R313.2 of the
International Residential Code.

Fire-How
Fypes-B (gal inute
0-5000 1000
5001-7200 1250
#201-8200 1500
8201-9500 1750
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950111300
113061-13000

G. Change Section 507.5.1 to read:

507.5.1: Where required. Fire hydrant systems shall be
located and installed as directed by the fire department.
Fire hydrant systems shall conform to the written standards
of the jurisdiction and the fire department.

H. Add Section 507.5.1.2 to read:

507.5.1.2- Fire hydrant requirements for fully sprinklered
residential ~ developments.  Notwithstanding  Section
103.1.2, the number and distribution of fire hydrants in
Table €105:2 C102.1 of Appendix C of the IFC shall be
permitted to be used in single family dwelling and
townhouse developments which are fully sprinklered as
provided for in Sections R313.1 or R313.2 of the
International Residential Code, with the spacing and
distances of fire hydrants indicated in Table C105:%
C102.1 increased by 100%.

I. Change Section 510 to read:

Section 510.
Maintenance of In-Building Emergency Communication
Equipment.

510.1- General. In-building emergency communication
equipment shall be maintained in accordance with USBC
and the provisions of this section.

510.2- Additional in-building emergency communications
installations. If it is determined by the locality that
increased amplification of their emergency communication
system is needed, the building owner shall allow the
locality access as well as provide appropriate space within
the building to install and maintain necessary additional
communication equipment by the locality. If the building
owner denies the locality access or appropriate space, or
both, the building owner shall be responsible for the
installation and maintenance of these additional systems.

510.3- Field tests. After providing reasonable notice to the
owner or their the owner's representative, the fire official,
police chief, or their agents shall have the right during
normal business hours, or other mutually agreed upon time,
to enter onto the property to conduct field tests to verify
that the required level of radio coverage is present at no
cost to the owner.

2000
2250

Department of Labor and Industry for boilers and pressure
vessels subject to such requirements. When the certificate
is not available, the fire code official shall notify the
Department of Labor and Industry to ensure that the
required maintenance and testing is performed in
accordance the Virginia Boiler and Pressure Vessel
Regulations (16VAC25-50).

C. Add Section 604-7 604.8 to read:

604-# 604.8 Testing of battery powered emergency lights
and exit signs. Required emergency lighting utilizing
battery powered emergency lights or exit signs, or both,
shall be tested annually. The emergency lights and exit
signs shall be tested for proper operation for the time
period established in the building code in effect when the
equipment was installed. Written records of tests shall be
retained by the owner of the building for a minimum of
two years after the test is conducted and shall be made
available to the fire code official upon request.

D. Change Section 605.10.1 to read:
605.10.1- Listed and labeled. Only portable electric space
heaters listed and labeled in accordance with UL 1278
shall be used.

E. Change Section 607.1 to read:

607.1- Operation. Existing elevators with a travel distance
of 25 feet (7620 mm) or more shall comply with the
requirements of Section 607.5 and the USBC, Part IlI,
Maintenance.

F. Change Section 609.3.3.3 and-add-Section-609-3-3-3-1 to

read:

609.3.3.3- Records. Records for inspections shall state the
individual and company performing the inspection, a
description of the inspection, and when the inspection took
place. Records for cleanings shall state the individual and
company performing the cleaning and when the cleaning
took place. Such records shall be completed after each
inspection or cleaning and maintained for a minimum of
three years and be copied to the fire code official upon
request.

G. Add an exception to Section 609.3.3.3.1 to read:

13VAC5-51-133.5. IFC Chapter 6- Building Services and
Systems.
A. Change Section 601.2 to read:
601.2- Permits. Permits shall be obtained for refrigeration
systems, battery systems and solar photovoltaic power
systems as set forth in Section 107.2.
B. Add a note to Section 603.7 to read:

Note: The fire code official may request a copy of the
latest certificate of inspection from the Virginia

Exception: Where records required by Section 609.3.3.3
are maintained on the premises.

13VAC5-51-133.8. IFC Chapter 7-—Fire-Resistance-Rated
Construction Fire and Smoke Protection Features.

Change Section 704.1 to read:

704.1- Enclosure. New floor openings in existing buildings
shall comply with the International Building Code.
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13VAC5-51-134. IFC Chapter 8. Interior Finish, C. Delete Section 901.4.4.

Decorative Materials and Furnishings.

A. Add exception 3 to Section 806.1.1 to read:

3. Trees shall be permitted in places of worship in Group
A occupancies.

B. Change exception 2 in Section 8671 807.3 to read:

2. In dwelling units or sleeping rooms in Group R-2
dormitories, the permissible amount of decorative
material suspended from or attached to the walls shall not
exceed 50% of the aggregate area of the walls where the
building has an approved automatic sprinkler system or
20% of the aggregate area of the walls where approved
smoke alarms are provided and in the corridors of such
buildings, the permissible amount of decorative material
suspended from or attached to the walls shall not exceed
10% of the aggregate area of the walls.

13VAC5-51-135. IFC Chapter 9- Fire Protection Systems.
A. Change Section 901.3 to read:

901.3- Permits. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

B. Change Section 901.4.2 to read:

901.4.2- Nonrequired fire protection systems. Nonrequired
fire protection systems shall be maintained to function as
originally installed. If any such systems are to be reduced
in function or discontinued, approval shall be obtained
from the building official in accordance with Section
103.8.1 of Part | of the USBC.

D. Change Section 901.6 to read:

901.6- Inspection, testing and maintenance. To the extent
that equipment, systems, devices, and safeguards, such as
fire detection, alarm and extinguishing systems, which
were provided and approved by the building official when
constructed, shall be maintained in an operative condition
at all times. And where such equipment, systems, devices,
and safeguards are found not to be in an operative
condition, the fire official shall order all such equipment to
be rendered safe in accordance with the USBC.

E. Add Section 901.11 to read:

901.11- Defective equipment. When the fire official
determines through investigation or testing or reports by a
nationally recognized testing agency that specific, required
water sprinkler or water-spray extinguishing equipment has
been identified as failing to perform or operate through not
less than 30 randomly selected sprinkler heads at four or
more building sites anywhere in the nation, the fire official
shall order all such equipment to be rendered safe.

F. Change Section 903.6 to read:

903.6- Where required in existing buildings and structures.
An automatic sprinkler system shall be provided in existing
buildings and structures in accordance with Section 102.7
of this code.

G. Delete Section 905.11.

H. Change Item 1 in Section 906.1 to read:
1. In Group A B, E, F, H, I, M, R-1, R-4 and S
occupancies.
Exceptions:

1. In Groups A, B, and E occupancies equipped throughout
with quick response sprinklers, portable fire extinguishers
shall be required only in locations specified in Items 2
through 6.

2. In Group I-3 occupancies, portable fire extinguishers
shall be permitted to be located at staff locations and the
access to such extinguishers shall be permitted to be
locked.

I. Add a note to Section 906.1 to read:
Note: In existing buildings, whether fire extinguishers are
needed is determined by the USBC or other code in effect
when such buildings were constructed.

J. Change Section 907.1 to read:
907.1- General. This section covers the application,
installation, performance and maintenance of fire alarm
systems and their components in new and existing
buildings and structures. The requirements of Section
907.2 are applicable to new buildings and structures.

K. Change Section 907.8.2 to read:

907.8.2- Testing. Testing shall be performed in accordance
with the schedules in Chapter 10 of NFPA 72 or more
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frequently where required by the fire code official. Where
automatic testing is performed at least weekly by a
remotely monitored fire alarm control unit specifically
listed for the application, the manual testing frequency
shall be permitted to be extended to annual. In Group R-1
occupancies, battery-powered single station smoke
detectors shall be tested and inspected at one-month
intervals.

Exception: Devices or equipment that are inaccessible for
safety considerations shall be tested during scheduled
shutdowns where approved by the fire code official, but
not less than every 18 months.

L. Change Section 907.8.5 to read:

907.8.5: Maintenance, inspection and testing. The building
owner shall be responsible for maintaining the fire and life
safety systems in an operable condition at all times.
Service personnel shall meet the qualification requirements
of NFPA 72 for maintaining, inspecting and testing such
systems. A written record shall be maintained and shall be
made available to the fire code official. In addition to all
applicable information contained in Figure 14.6.2.2 of
NFPA 72, the written record of inspections, testing and
maintenance shall contain the following minimum
information:

1. Date, name and address of property.

2. Name of person performing inspection, maintenance
and tests, or combination thereof, and affiliation,
business address and telephone number.

3. Name, address and representative of approving agency
or agencies.

4. Test frequency.

5. Designation of the detector or detectors tested (for
example, "Test performed in accordance with Section
—.ll).

6. Physical location (for example, "Heat detector in main
kitchen; horn-strobe in Room 115.") and a list of all
initiating and notification devices and appliances tested.

7. Functional list of detectors and required sequence of
operations.

8. Check of all smoke detectors.

9. Loop resistance for all fixed-temperature, line-type
detectors.

10. Other tests as required by either the equipment
manufacturer's published instructions or the authority
having jurisdiction.

11. Signature of
representative.

12. Disposition of problems identified during test
(examples, "Owner notified," "Problem corrected or
successfully retested, or both,” "Device abandoned in
place.").

tester and approved authority

M. Delete Section 907.9.
N. Change Section 908.7 to read:

908.7- Carbon monoxide alarms. Carbon monoxide alarms
shall be maintained as approved.

13VAC5-51-135.5. IFC Chapter 10- Means of Egress.
A. Add Section 1001.3 to read:

1001.3: Overcrowding. Overcrowding, admittance of any
person beyond the approved occupant load established by
the USBC or other building code under which the building
was constructed, or obstructing aisles, passageways, or any
part of the means of egress shall not be allowed. The fire
code official, upon finding any condition that constitutes a
life safety hazard, shall be authorized to cause the event to
be stopped until such condition or obstruction is corrected.

B. Change Section £629-4 1030.4 to read:

1029.4. 1030.4 Operational constraints. Emergency escape
and rescue openings shall be operational from the inside of
the room without the use of keys or tools. Bars, grilles,
grates, or similar devices are permitted to be placed over
emergency escape and rescue openings provided (i) the
minimum net clear opening size complies with Section
10292 1030.2, (ii) such devices shall be releasable or
removable from the inside without the use of a key, tool, or
force greater than that which is required for normal
operation of the escape and rescue opening, and (iii) where
smoke alarms are installed in accordance with Section
907.2.11 and approved by the building official regardless
of the valuation of the alteration.

13VAC5-51-138. IFC Chapter 11.
Requirements for Existing Buildings.

Delete Chapter 11 in its entirety.
13VAC5-51-138.4. IFC Chapter 20- Aviation Facilities.
Change Section 2001.3 to read:

2001.3- Permits. For permits to operate aircraft-refueling
vehicles, application of flammable or combustible finishes
and hot work, see Section 107.2.

13VAC5-51-138.8. IFC Chapter 21- Dry Cleaning.
Change Section 2101.2 to read:

2101.2- Permit required. Permits shall be required as set
forth in Section 107.2.
13VAC5-51-139. IFC Chapter 22- Combustible Dust-
Producing Operations.
Change Section 2201.2 to read:

2201.2- Permits. Permits shall be required for combustible
dust-producing operations as set forth in Section 107.2.

Construction

Volume 33, Issue 13

Virginia Register of Regulations

February 20, 2017

1503



Regulations

13VAC5-51-140. IFC Chapter 23 Motor Fuel-Dispensing
Facilities and Repair Garages.

A. Change Section 2301.2 to read:

2301.2: Permits. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

B. Change Section 2305.4 to read:

2305.4: Sources of ignition. Smoking and open flames
shall be prohibited within 20 feet (6096 mm) of a fuel
dispensing device. The engines of vehicles being fueled
shall be shut off during fueling. Electrical equipment shall
be in accordance with NFPA 70.

C. Change Section 2306.2.1.1 to read:

2306.2.1.1: Inventory control and leak detection for
underground tanks. Accurate inventory records shall be
maintained on underground fuel storage tanks for
indication of possible leakage from tanks and piping. The
records shall be kept at the premises or made available for
inspection by the fire official within 24 hours of a written
or verbal request and shall include records for each tank.
Where there is more than one system consisting of tanks
serving separate pumps or dispensers for a product, the
inventory record shall be maintained separately for each
tank system.

Owners and operators of underground fuel storage tanks
shall provide release detection for tanks and piping that
routinely contain flammable and combustible liquids in
accordance with one of the following methods:

1. Monthly inventory control to detect a release of at
least 1.0% of flow-through plus 130 gallons.

2. Manual tank gauging for tanks with 2,000 gallon
capacity or less when measurements are taken at the
beginning and ending of a 36-hour to 58-hour period
during which no liquid is added to or removed from the
tank.

3. Tank tightness testing capable of detecting a 0.1 gallon
per hour leak rate.

4. Automatic tank gauging that tests for loss of liquid.

5. Vapor monitoring for vapors within the soil of the tank
field.

6. Groundwater monitoring when the groundwater is
never more than 20 feet from the ground surface.

7. Interstitial monitoring between the underground tank
and a secondary barrier immediately around or beneath
the tank.

8. Other approved methods that have been demonstrated
to be as effective in detecting a leak as the methods listed
above.

A consistent or accidental loss of product shall be
immediately reported to the fire official.

13VAC5-51-140.5. IFC Chapter 24: Flammable Finishes.
Change Section 2401.3 to read:

2401.3- Permits. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

13VAC5-51-141.
Ripening.
Change Section 2501.2 to read:

2501.2- Permits. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

13VAC5-51-141.5. IFC Chapter 26- Fumigation and
Insecticidal Fogging.

Change Section 2601.2 to read:

2601.2: Permits. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

13VAC5-51-142. IFC Chapter 27
Fabrication Facilities.

Change Section 2701.5 to read:

2701.5- Permits. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

13VAC5-51-142.5. IFC Chapter 28: Lumber Yards and
Agro-Industrial, Solid Biomass, and Woodworking
Facilities.

Change Section 2801.2 to read:

2801.2- Permit. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

13VAC5-51-143.5.
Organic Coatings.

Change Section 2901.2 to read:

2901.2- Permits. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

13VAC5-51-144. IFC Chapter 30- Industrial Ovens.
Change Section 3001.2 to read:

3001.2- Permits. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

IFC Chapter 25. Fruit and Crop

Semiconductor

IFC Chapter 29 Manufacture of
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13VAC5-51-144.2. IFC Chapter 31 Tents and Other
Membrane Structures.

Change Section 3103.4 to read:

3103.4: Permits. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

13VAC5-51-144.4,
Combustible Storage.

Change Section 3201.2 to read:

3201.2: Permits. A permit shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

13VAC5-51-144.6. IFC Chapter 34: Tire Rebuilding and
Tire Storage.

A. Change Section 3401.2 to read:

3401.2- Permit required. Permits shall be required as set
forth in Section 107.2.

B. Change Section 3406.1 to read:

3406.1- Required access. New and existing tire storage
yards shall be provided with fire apparatus access roads in
accordance with Section 503 and Section 3406.2.

13VAC5-51-144.8. IFC Chapter 37 Combustible Fibers.
Change Section 3701.3 to read:

3701.3 Permits. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

13VAC5-51-145. IFC Chapter 50- Hazardous Materials -
General Provisions.

A. Change Section 5001.5 to read:

IFC  Chapter 32. High-Piled

5001.5: Permits. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

B. Add the following language to the end of Section
5001.5.1 to read:

The HMMP shall be maintained onsite for use by
emergency responders; and shall be updated not less than
annually.

C. Add the following language to the end of Section
5001.5.2 to read:

The HMIS shall be maintained onsite or readily available
through another means where approved by the fire code
official for use by temporary responders, and shall be
updated not less than annually.

D. Add Sections 5001.5.3, 5001.5.3.1, and 5001.5.3.2 to
read:

5001.5.3: Repository container. When a HMMP or HMIS
is required, the owner or operator shall provide a repository
container (lock box) or other approved means for the
storage of items required in Sections 5001.5.1 and 5001.5.2
so as to be readily available to emergency response
personnel.

5001.5.3.1: Location and identification. The repository
container (lock box) shall be located, installed and
identified in an approved manner.

5001.5.3.2- Keying. All repository containers (lock boxes)
shall be keyed as required by the fire code official.

E. Change-the—Consumerfireworks" row-in-and-add Add a new "Permissible fireworks" row to Table 5003.1.1(1) to read:

Gonsumer-fireworks 146 H-3 1258

NAA

NA | NA | NIA | NJ A | N/A | NA

Permissible fireworks 1.4G H-3 125¢%¢!

N/A

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

F. Add Section 5001.7, including subsections, to read:

5001.7 Operational requirements for Group B teaching and
research laboratories. Teaching and research laboratories in
Group B educational occupancies above the 12th grade
utilizing Section 430 of the USBC, Part I, Construction, or
Section 302.6 of the USBC, Part Il, Existing Buildings,
shall comply with this section and other applicable
requirements of this code. In the case of conflicts between
the requirements of Section 430 of the USBC, Part I,
Construction, or Section 302.6 of the USBC, Part II,
Existing Buildings, and provisions of this code other than
those set out in this section, Section 430 of the USBC, Part
I, Construction, or Section 302.6 of the USBC, Part I,
Existing Buildings, as applicable, shall govern.

5001.7.1 Chemical safety reviews. Operating and
emergency procedures planning and documentation shall
be as set out in Sections 5001.3.3.11 through 5001.3.3.17.
Such documentation shall be prepared by laboratory safety
personnel or special experts and shall be made available in
the workplace for reference and review by employees.

Copies of such documentation shall be furnished to the fire
code official for review upon request.

5001.7.2 Hazardous materials handling. Receiving,
transporting on__site, unpacking, and dispensing of
hazardous materials shall be carried out by persons trained
in _proper handling of such materials and shall be
performed in accordance with Chapters 50 through 67, as
applicable.

5001.7.3 Hazard identification signage. Warning signs for
other than building components shall be provided in
accordance with Section 5003.5.

5001.7.4 Maintenance of equipment, machinery, and
processes. Maintenance of equipment, machinery, and
processes used with hazardous materials shall comply with
Section 5003.2.6.

5001.7.5 Time sensitive materials. Containers of materials
that have the potential to become hazardous during
prolonged storage shall be dated when first opened and
shall be managed in accordance with NFPA 45, Section
8.2.4.4.1.
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5001.7.6 Maintenance of storage, dispensing, use, and
handling requirements. Storage, dispensing, use, and
handling requirements in the USBC, Part I, Construction,
or the USBC, Part Il, Existing Buildings, shall be
maintained. Operational requirements not affecting the
manner of construction shall comply with this chapter and
Chapters 51 through 67, as applicable.

5001.7.7 Hazardous wastes. Storage, dispensing, use, and
handling of hazardous waste shall comply with this chapter
and Chapters 51 through 67, as applicable.

5001.7.8 Container size. The maximum container size for

2. Storage shall be within approved hazardous materials
storage cabinets in accordance with Section 5003.8.7 or
shall be located in an inert atmosphere glove box in
accordance with NFPA 45, Section 7.11.

3. The storage cabinet or glove box shall not contain any
storage of incompatible materials.

5001.7.11 Restricted materials in use. Use of pyrophorics
and Class 4 oxidizers prohibited by Table 5003.1.1(1) in
existing buildings not equipped throughout with an
automatic _sprinkler system in _accordance with Section
903.3.1.1 of the USBC, Part I, Construction, shall be

all hazardous materials shall be 5.3 gallons (20 L) for

allowed within a control area at 25% of the limits in Table

liguids, 50 pounds (23 kqg) for solids, 100 cubic feet (2.8.

5003.1.1(1) for buildings equipped throughout with an

m®) for health hazard gases per Table 5003.1.1(2), and 500

automatic_sprinkler system, with no additional increases

cubic feet (14 m®) for all other gases in accordance with

allowed, provided that such materials are used in

Table 5003.1.1(1).

Exception: Hazardous waste collection containers, for
other than Class | and Class Il flammable liquids, are
permitted to exceed 5.3 gallons (20 L) where approved.

5001.7.9 Density. Quantities of Class I, IlI, and [IIA
combustible or flammable liquids in storage and use within
control areas or laboratory suites shall not exceed 8 gallons
per 100 square feet (30 L/9.3 m?) of floor area, with not
more than 4 gallons per 100 square feet (15 L/9.3 m?
being in use. Quantities of Class | flammable liguids in
storage and use shall not exceed 4 gallons per 100 square
feet (15 L/9.3 m?) of floor area with not more than 2
gallons (7.5 L) being in use. The maximum in use in open
systems is limited to 10% of these quantities. Densities
shall be reduced by 25% on the 4th-floor through 6th-floor
levels above grade plane of the building and 50% above
the 6th-floor level. The density is to be reduced to 50% of
these values for buildings that are not protected throughout
with an approved automatic fire sprinkler system.
Regardless of the density, the maximum allowable guantity
per control area or laboratory suite shall not be exceeded.

Exception: Density limits may be exceeded in designated
hazardous waste collection areas or rooms within a
control area or laboratory suite, but stored quantities shall
not exceed the maximum allowable quantity per
laboratory suite or control area.

5001.7.10 Restricted materials in storage. Storage of
pyrophorics and Class 4 oxidizers prohibited by Table
5003.1.1(1) in existing buildings not equipped throughout
with an automatic sprinkler system in accordance with
Section 903.3.1.1 of the USBC, Part I, Construction, shall
be allowed within a control area at 25% of the limits in
Table 5003.1.1(1) for a building equipped throughout with
an automatic sprinkler system, with no additional increases
allowed, provided that such materials are stored in
accordance with all of the following:

1. Containers shall be completely sealed and stored
according to the manufacturer's recommendations.

accordance with all of the following:

1. Use shall be within an approved chemical fume hood
listed in accordance with UL 1805, or in an inert
atmosphere glove box in accordance with NFPA 45,
Section 7.11, or other approved equipment designed for
the specific hazard of the material.

2. Combustible materials shall be kept at least 2 feet (610
mm) away from the work area, except for those items
directly related to the research.

3. A portable fire extinguisher appropriate for the
specific material shall be provided within 20 feet (6096
mm) of the use in accordance with Section 906.

G. Change Section 5003.3.1.4 to read:

5003.3.1.4- Responsibility for cleanup. The person, firm, or
corporation responsible for an unauthorized discharge shall
institute and complete all actions necessary to remedy the
effects of such unauthorized discharge, whether sudden or
gradual, at no cost to the jurisdiction. The fire code official
may require records and receipts to verify cleanup and
proper disposal of unauthorized discharges. When deemed
necessary by the fire code official, cleanup may be initiated
by the fire department or by an authorized individual or
firm. Costs associated with such cleanup shall be berne-by
the responsibility of the owner, operator, or other person
responsible for the unauthorized discharge.

Note: Owners and operators of certain underground and
aboveground petroleum storage tanks may have access to
the Virginia Petroleum Storage Tank Fund for
reimbursement of some cleanup costs associated with
petroleum discharges from these tanks. See Article 10 (§
62.1-44.34:10 et seq.) of Title 62.10f the Code of Virginia.

13VAC5-51-145.5. IFC Chapter 51- Aerosols.

Change Section 5101.2 to read:

5101.2- Permit required. Permits shall be required as set
forth in Section 107.2.
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13VAC5-51-146. HFC—Chapter-52.—Combustible—Fibers:
(Repealed.)
3 ite. . w . F .
13VAC5-51-146.5. IFC Chapter 53- Compressed Gases.
Change Section 5301.2 to read:

5301.2: Permits. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

13VAC5-51-147. IFC Chapter 54- Corrosive Materials.
Change Section 5401.2 to read:

5401.2. Permits. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

13VAC5-51-147.5. IFC Chapter 55- Cryogenic Fluids.
Change Section 5501.2 to read:

5501.2. Permits. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

13VAC5-51-150.
Fireworks.

A. Change exception 4 in Section 5601.1 to read:

4. The possession, storage, and use of not more than 15
pounds (6.81 kg) of commercially manufactured sporting
black powder, 20 pounds (9 kg) of smokeless powder and
any amount of small arms primers for hand loading of
small arms ammunition for personal consumption.

B. Add exceptions 10, 11 and 12 to Section 5601.1 to read:

10. The storage, handling, or use of explosives or blasting
agents pursuant to the provisions of Title 45.1 of the Code
of Virginia.

11. The display of small arms primers in Group M when in
the original manufacturer's packaging.

12. The possession, storage and use of not more than 50
pounds (23 kg) of commercially manufactured sporting
black powder, 100 pounds (45 kg) of smokeless powder,
and small arms primers for hand loading of small arms
ammunition for personal consumption in Group R-3 or R-
5, or 200 pounds (91 kg) of smokeless powder when stored
in the manufacturer's original containers in detached Group
U structures at least 10 feet (3048 mm) from inhabited
buildings and are accessory to Group R-3 or R-5.

C. Change exception 4 in Section 5601.1.3 to read:
4. The possession, storage, sale, handling and use of
permissible fireworks where allowed by applicable local or
state laws, ordinances and regulations provided such
fireworks comply with CPSC 16 CFR, Parts 1500-1507,
and DOTn 49 CFR, Parts 100-178, for consumer
fireworks.

D. Add exception 5 to Section 5601.1.3 to read:

5. The sale or use of materials or equipment when such
materials or equipment is used or to be used by any person

IFC Chapter 56- Explosives and

for signaling or other emergency use in the operation of
any boat, railroad train or other vehicle for the
transportation of persons or property.

E. Change entire Section 5601.2 to read:

5601.2: Permit required. Permits shall be required as set
forth in Section 107.2 and regulated in accordance with
this section. The manufacture, storage, possession, sale and
use of fireworks or explosives shall not take place without
first applying for and obtaining a permit.

5601.2.1: Residential uses. No person shall keep or store,
nor shall any permit be issued to keep, possess or store,
any fireworks or explosives at any place of habitation, or
within 100 feet (30,480 mm) thereof.

Exception: Storage of smokeless propellant, black powder,
and small arms primers for personal use and not for resale
in accordance with Section 5606.

5601.2.2: Sale and retail display. Except for the Armed
Forces of the United States, Coast Guard, National Guard,
federal, state and local regulatory, law enforcement and
fire agencies acting in their official capacities, explosives
shall not be sold, given, delivered or transferred to any
person or company not in possession of a valid permit. The
holder of a permit to sell explosives shall make a record of
all transactions involving explosives in conformance with
Section 5603.2 and include the signature of any receiver of
the explosives. No person shall construct a retail display
nor offer for sale explosives, explosive materials, or
fireworks upon highways, sidewalks, public property, or in
assembly or educational occupancies.

5601.2.3- Permit restrictions. The fire official is authorized
to limit the quantity of explosives, explosive materials, or
fireworks permitted at a given location. No person,
possessing a permit for storage of explosives at any place,
shall keep or store an amount greater than authorized in
such permit. Only the kind of explosive specified in such a
permit shall be kept or stored.

5601.2.3.1: Permit applicants. As a condition of a permit as
provided for in Section 107.5, the fire official shall not
issue a permit to manufacture, store, handle, use or sell
explosives or blasting agents to any applicant who has not
provided on the permit application the name and signature
of a designated individual as representing the applicant.
When, as provided for in Section 107.2 or 107.6, a permit
is required to conduct a fireworks display, as a condition of
permit as provided for in Section 107.5, the fire official
shall not issue a permit to design, setup or conduct a
fireworks display to any applicant who has not provided on
the permit application the name and sighature of a
designated individual as representing the applicant.

If the applicant's designated individual changes or becomes
no longer qualified to represent the applicant as responsible
management or designated individual, the applicant shall
notify the fire official who issued the permit on the change
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of status of the designated individual. The notice is to be
made prior to the use of any explosives or conducting a
fireworks display but in no case shall the notification occur
more than seven days after the change of status and shall
provide the name of another designated individual. The fire
official may revoke or require the reissuance of a permit
based on a change of permit conditions or status or
inability to provide another designated individual.

5601.2.3.1.1: BCC:. The SFMO shall process all
applications for a BCC for compliance with § 27-97.2 of
the Code of Virginia and will be the sole provider of a
BCC. Using forms provided by the SFMO, a BCC may be
applied for and issued to any person who submits to the
completion of a background investigation by providing
fingerprints and personal descriptive information to the
SFMO. The SFMO shall forward the fingerprints and
personal descriptive information to the Central Criminal
Records Exchange for submission to the Federal Bureau of
Investigation for the purpose of obtaining a national
criminal history records check regarding such applicant.

5601.2.3.1.2 Issuance of a BCC:. The issuance of a BCC
shall be denied if the applicant or designated person
representing an applicant has been convicted of any felony,
whether such conviction occurred under the laws of the
Commonwealth, or any other state, the District of
Columbia, the United States or any territory thereof, unless
his civil rights have been restored by the Governor or other
appropriate authority.

5601.2.3.1.3: Fee for BCC:. The fee for obtaining or
renewing a BCC from the SFMO shall be $150 plus any
additional fees charged by other agencies for fingerprinting
and for obtaining a national criminal history record check
through the Central Criminal Records Exchange to the
Federal Bureau of Investigation.

5601.2.3.1.4: Revocation of a BCC:. After issuance of a
BCC, subsequent conviction of a felony will be grounds
for immediate revocation of a BCC, whether such
conviction occurred under the laws of the Commonwealth,
or any other state, the District of Columbia, the United
States or any territory thereof. The BCC shall be returned
to the SFMO immediately. An individual may reapply for
his BCC if his civil rights have been restored by the
Governor or other appropriate authority.

5601.2.4- Financial responsibility. Before a permit is
issued, as required by Section 5601.2, the applicant shall
file with the jurisdiction a corporate surety bond in the
principal sum of $500,000 or a public liability insurance
policy for the same amount, for the purpose of the payment
of all damages to persons or property which arise from, or
are caused by, the conduct of any act authorized by the
permit upon which any judicial judgment results. The legal
department of the jurisdiction may specify a greater
amount when conditions at the location of use indicate a

greater amount is required. Government entities shall be
exempt from this bond requirement.

5601.2.4.1: Blasting. Before approval to do blasting is
issued, the applicant for approval shall file a bond or
submit a certificate of insurance in such form, amount, and
coverage as determined by the legal department of the
jurisdiction to be adequate in each case to indemnify the
jurisdiction against any and all damages arising from
permitted blasting but in no case shall the value of the
coverage be less than $1,000,000.

Exception: Filing a bond or submitting a certificate of
liability insurance is not required for blasting on real estate
parcels of five or more acres conforming to the definition
of "real estate devoted to agricultural use™ or "real estate
devoted to horticultural use” in § 58.1-3230 of the Code of
Virginia and conducted by the owner of such real estate.

5601.2.4.2- Fireworks display. The permit holder shall
furnish a bond or certificate of insurance in an amount
deemed adequate by the legal department of the
jurisdiction for the payment of all potential damages to a
person or persons or to property by reason of the permitted
display, and arising from any acts of the permit holder, the
agent, employees or subcontractors, but in no case shall the
value of the coverage be less than $1,000,000.

F. Change entire Section 5601.4 to read:

5601.4- Qualifications. Persons in charge of magazines,
blasting, fireworks display, or pyrotechnic special effect
operations shall not be under the influence of alcohol or
drugs which impair sensory or motor skills, shall be at least
21 years of age and possess knowledge of all safety
precautions related to the storage, handling or use of
explosives, explosive materials or fireworks.

5601.4.1: Certification of blasters and pyrotechnicians.
Certificates as a restricted blaster, unrestricted blaster or
pyrotechnician will be issued upon proof of successful
completion of an examination approved by the SFMO
commensurate to the certification sought and completion
of a background investigation for compliance with § 27-
97.2 of the Code of Virginia. The applicant for certification
shall submit proof to the SFMO of the following
experience:

1. For certification as a restricted blaster, at least one year
under direct supervision by a certified unrestricted
blaster, certified restricted blaster or other person(s)
approved by the SFMO.

2. For certification as an unrestricted blaster, at least one
year under direct supervision by a certified unrestricted
blaster or other person or persons approved by the
SFMO.

3. For certification as a pyrotechnician, aerial, or
pyrotechnician, proximate, applicant was in responsible
charge of or has assisted in the documented design, setup
and conducting of a fireworks display on at least six
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occasions within the 24 months immediately preceding
the application for certification.

The SFMO shall process all certification applicants for
compliance with § 27-97.2 of the Code of Virginia and will
be the sole provider of blaster and pyrotechnician
certifications.

Exception: The use of explosives by the owner of real
estate parcels of five or more acres conforming to the
definition of "real estate devoted to agricultural use" or
"real estate devoted to horticultural use” in § 58.1-3230 of
the Code of Virginia when blasting on such real estate.

5601.4.2. Certification issuance. The issuance of a
certification as a blaster or pyrotechnician shall be denied
if the applicant has (i) been convicted of any felony,
whether such conviction occurred under the laws of the
Commonwealth, or any other state, the District of
Columbia, the United States or any territory thereof, unless
his civil rights have been restored by the Governor or other
appropriate authority, (ii) has not provided acceptable
proof or evidence of the experience required in Section
5601.4.1, or (iii) has not provided acceptable proof or
evidence of the continued training or education required in
Section 5601.4.5.

5601.4.3: Fee for certification. The fee for obtaining or
renewing a blaster or pyrotechnician certificate from the
SFMO shall be $150 plus any additional fees charged by
other agencies for fingerprinting and for obtaining a
national criminal history record check through the Central
Criminal Records Exchange to the Federal Bureau of
Investigation.

5601.4.3.1: Fee for replacement certificate. A written
request for a replacement blaster or pyrotechnician
certificate shall be accompanied by the payment of an
administrative fee in the amount of $20 made payable to
the Treasurer of Virginia. Verbal requests shall not be
accepted.

5601.4.4: Revocation of a blaster or pyrotechnician
certification. After issuance of a blaster or pyrotechnician
certification, subsequent conviction of a felony will be
grounds for immediate revocation of a blaster or
pyrotechnician certification, whether such conviction
occurred under the laws of the Commonwealth, or any
other state, the District of Columbia, the United States or
any territory thereof. The certification shall be returned to
the SFMO immediately. An individual may subsequently
reapply for his blaster or pyrotechnician certification if his
civil rights have been restored by the Governor or other
appropriate authority.

5601.4.5: Expiration and renewal of a BCC, or blaster or
pyrotechnician certification. A certificate for an
unrestricted blaster, restricted blaster or pyrotechnician
shall be valid for three years from the date of issuance. A
BCC shall be valid for three years from the date of
issuance. Renewal of the unrestricted blaster certificate

will be issued upon proof of at least 16 accumulated hours
of continued training or education in the use of explosives
within three consecutive years and a background
investigation for compliance with § 27-97.2 of the Code of
Virginia. Renewal of the restricted blaster certificate will
be issued upon proof of at least eight accumulated hours of
continued training or education in the use of explosives
within three consecutive years and a background
investigation for compliance with § 27-97.2 of the Code of
Virginia. Renewal of the pyrotechnician certificate will be
issued upon proof of at least 12 accumulated hours of
continued training or education in the subject areas of
explosives storage; the design, setup or conduct of a
fireworks display within three consecutive years; and a
background investigation for compliance with § 27-97.2 of
the Code of Virginia. The continued training or education
required for renewal of a blaster or pyrotechnician
certificate shall be obtained during the three vyears
immediately prior to the certificate's published expiration
date. Failure to renew a blaster or pyrotechnician
certificate in accordance with this section shall cause an
individual to obtain another blaster or pyrotechnician
certificate upon compliance with Section 5601.4.1 to
continue engaging in the unsupervised use of explosives or
conducting a fireworks display.

5601.4.6- Denial, suspension or revocation of a certificate.
If issuance or renewal of a blaster or pyrotechnician
certificate is denied, or upon the filing of a complaint
against an applicant or certificate holder for non-
performance, or performance in violation of the SFPC and
the appropriate referenced NFPA 495, 1123 or 1126
standards, the State Fire Marshal may convene a three-
member panel to hear the particulars of the complaint or
denial. The three-member panel will be comprised of the
following persons:

1. A Virginia certified fire official, excluding any person
certified as a blaster or pyrotechnician, or who is on the
staff of the SFMO.

2. A Virginia certified blaster or pyrotechnician whose
certification is the same as that of the person to whom a
complaint is lodged, and who is not associated in any
way with the person against whom a complaint is lodged
and whose work or employer is geographically remote,
as much as practically possible, from the person to whom
a complaint is lodged.

3. A member of the general public who does not have a
vested financial interest in conducting a fireworks
display, or the manufacture, sale, storage, or use of
explosives.

Upon the State Fire Marshal convening such panel, the
hearing is to commence within 60 calendar days of the
filing of the complaint or denial. The three-member panel
is to hear the complaint and render a written
recommendation to the State Fire Marshal for certificate
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issuance, no action, revocation, or suspension of a
certificate for a period not to exceed six months.
Notwithstanding the discretionary decision and action to
convene such panel, the State Fire Marshal reserves the
authority to choose an action that may be contrary to the
panel's recommendation. A written decision of the State
Fire Marshal is to be delivered to the party within 14 days
of the hearing's conclusion. If the certificate is denied,
revoked, or suspended by the SFMO, in accordance with
Section 112.9, the party may file an appeal with the FRB
State Review Board. The party's appeal to FRB State
Review Board must be filed within 14 calendar days of the
receipt of the State Fire Marshal's written decision to deny,
revoke, or suspend. The denial, revocation, or suspension
of a license is independent of any criminal proceedings that
may be initiated by any state or local authority.

5601.4.6.1- Replacement of revoked certificate. Any
person whose certificate as a pyrotechnician or blaster was
revoked upon cause may apply for certification as a
pyrotechnician or blaster six months or more from the date
of the revocation and upon compliance with Section
5601.4.1. All elements of Section 5601.4.1 are required to
be obtained and dated after the date of revocation.

5601.4.6.2- Return of suspended certificate. Any certificate
that was suspended upon cause will be reinstated at the end
of the suspension period without change to its expiration
date.

G. Change Section 5601.7 to read:

5601.7- Seizure. The fire official is authorized to remove or
cause to be removed or disposed of in an approved manner,
at the expense of the owner, fireworks offered or exposed
for sale, stored, possessed or used in violation of this
chapter.

H. Add the following to the list of definitions in Section
5602.1:

Background clearance card (BCC).
Blaster, restricted.

Blaster, unrestricted.

Design.

Designated individual.

Fireworks.

Fireworks, 1.4G.

Fireworks, 1.3G.

Permissible fireworks.
Pyrotechnician (fireworks operator).
Pyrotechnician, aerial.
Pyrotechnician, proximate.
Responsible management.
Smokeless propellants.

Sole proprietor.

I. Change Section 5603.4 to read:

5603.4- Accidents. Accidents involving the use of
explosives, explosive materials, and fireworks, which
result in injuries or property damage, shall be immediately
reported by the permit holder to the fire code official and
State Fire Marshal.

J. Change Section 5605.1 to read:

5605.1: General. The manufacture, assembly and testing of
explosives, ammunition, blasting agents and fireworks
shall comply with the requirements of this section, Title
59.1, Chapter 11 of the Code of Virginia, and NFPA 495
or NFPA 1124,

Exceptions:

1. The hand loading of small arms ammunition prepared
for personal use and not offered for resale.

2. The mixing and loading of blasting agents at blasting
sites in accordance with NFPA 495.

3. The use of binary explosives or plosophoric materials
in blasting or pyrotechnic special effects applications in
accordance with NFPA 495 or NFPA 1126.

K. Add Section 5605.1.1 to read:

5605.1.1: Permits. Permits for the manufacture, assembly
and testing of explosives, ammunition, blasting agents and
fireworks shall be required as set forth in Section 107.2
and regulated in accordance with this section. A permit to
manufacture any explosive material in any quantity shall
be prohibited unless such manufacture is authorized by a
federal license and conducted in accordance with
recognized safety practices.

L. Change Section 5606.4 to read:

5606.4- Storage in residences. Propellants for personal use
in quantities not exceeding 50 pounds (23 kg) of black
powder or 100 pounds (45 kg) of smokeless powder shall
be stored in original containers in occupancies limited to
Groups R-3 and R-5, or 200 pounds (91 kg) of smokeless
powder when stored in the manufacturer's original
containers in detached Group U structures that are at least
10 feet from inhabited buildings and are accessory to
Group R-3 or R-5. In other than Group R-3 or R-5,
smokeless powder in quantities exceeding 20 pounds (9
kg) but not exceeding 50 pounds (23 kg) shall be kept in a
wooden box or cabinet having walls of at least one inch
(25 mm) nominal thickness or equivalent.

M. Delete Sections 5606.4.1, 5606.4.2, and 5606.4.3.
N. Change Section 5606.5.1.1 to read:

5606.5.1.1- Smokeless propellant. No more than 100
pounds (45 kg) of smokeless propellants, in containers of 8
pounds (3.6 kg) or less capacity, shall be displayed in
Group M occupancies.

O. Delete Section 5606.5.1.3.
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P. Change Section 5606.5.2.1 to read:

5606.5.2.1: Smokeless propellant: Commercial stocks of
smokeless propellants shall be stored as follows:

1. Quantities exceeding 20 pounds (9 kg), but not
exceeding 100 pounds (45 kg) shall be stored in portable
wooden boxes having walls of at least one inch (25 mm)
nominal thickness or equivalent.

2. Quantities exceeding 100 pounds (45 kg), but not
exceeding 800 pounds (363 kg), shall be stored in storage
cabinets having walls at least one inch (25 mm) nominal
thickness or equivalent. Not more than 400 pounds (182
kg) shall be stored in any one cabinet, and cabinets shall be
separated by a distance of at least 25 feet (7620 mm) or by
a fire partition having a fire-resistance rating of at least one
hour.

3. Storage of quantities exceeding 800 pounds (363 kg),
but not exceeding 5,000 pounds (2270 kg) in a building
shall comply with all of the following:

3.1. The storage is inaccessible
personnel.

3.2. Smokeless propellant shall be stored in nonportable
storage cabinets having wood walls at least one inch (25
mm) nominal thickness or equivalent and having shelves
with no more than three feet (914 mm) of vertical
separation between shelves.

3.3. No more than 400 pounds (182 kg) is stored in any
one cabinet.

3.4. Cabinets shall be located against walls with at least
40 feet (12 192 mm) between cabinets. The minimum
required separation between cabinets may be reduced to
20 feet (6096 mm) provided that barricades twice the

to unauthorized

height of the cabinets are attached to the wall, midway
between each cabinet. The barricades must extend a
minimum of 10 feet (3048 mm) outward, be firmly
attached to the wall, and be constructed of steel not less
than 0.25 inch thick (6.4 mm), two-inch (51 mm)
nominal thickness wood, brick, or concrete block.

3.5. Smokeless propellant shall be separated from
materials classified as combustible liquids, flammable
liquids, flammable solids, or oxidizing materials by a
distance of 25 feet (7620 mm) or by a fire partition
having a fire-resistance rating of one hour.

3.6. The building shall be equipped throughout with an
automatic sprinkler system installed in accordance with
Section 903.3.1.1.

4. Smokeless propellants not stored according to Item 1, 2,
or 3 above shall be stored in a Type 2 or 4 magazine in
accordance with Section 5604 and NFPA 495.

Q. Change Section 5607.1 to read:

5607.1- General. Blasting operations shall be conducted
only by persons certified by the SFMO as a restricted or
unrestricted blaster or shall be supervised on-site by a
person properly certified by the SFMO as a restricted or
unrestricted blaster.

R. Add Section 5607.16 to read:

5607.16- Blast records. A record of each blast shall be kept
and retained for at least five years and shall be readily
available for inspection by the code official. The record
shall be in a format selected by the blaster and shall
contain the minimum data and information indicated in
Form 5607.16.

Form 5607.16
Blast (shot) Record

Block 1

General Information

Blast date: Blast Number:

Blast Time:

Permit Number:

Blast location by address including city, county or town:

Blast location by GPS coordinates:

o check box if unknown

Name of Permit Holder:

Name of Blaster in charge (print):

Signature of Blaster in charge:

~N[jfojloa|lb~lO]DN

Certification Number of Blaster in charge:
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Block 2
General Environmental Conditions

1 Weather (Clear? Cloudy?
Overcast?)

Wind direction and speed

@ mph

Temperature
Fe/Ce

2 Topography (Flat? Hilly?
Mountainous?)

Distance from blast site to nearest
inhabited building:

Distance from nearest inhabited
building determined by:

o GPS coordinates
o Measurement
o Estimated

3 Use of nearest inhabited
building (Dwelling? Business?
Apartment Building? School?)

Direction from blast site to nearest
inhabited building:

Direction from blast site to nearest
inhabited building determined by:

o GPS instrument
o Compass
o Estimated

Additional Blaster notations on environmental conditions:

Block 3

Shot Layout and Precautions Taken (N/A = Not Applicable)

1 Number of holes

Diameter of hole or holes

Depth of hole or holes

2 Were any holes decked?

o Yes
o No

How many holes were decked?
o N/A

How many decks per hole?

o N/A

(If applicable, indicate on any attached shot pattern drawing which holes were
decked and the number of decks for the holes.)

3 Shot pattern

o Check this box if only single
hole.

Depth of sub-drilling

Drilling angle

4 Burden

Spacing of holes

Water height

5 Stemming height

Material used for stemming

Additional Blaster notations on shot layout and precautions:

Check box for flyrock precautions taken

o Mats
o Overburden
o None taken
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Block 4
Seismic Control Measures (N/A = Not Applicable)
1 Was scaled distance Indicate which scaled distance equation was Maximum allowable charge
formula used? used. o N/A weight per 8 ms based on scaled
o Yes distance. o N/A
o No o W(Ib)={D(ft)/50}?
o W(Ib)={D(ft)/55}*
o W(Ib)={D(ft)/65}?
2 Was seismograph Seismograph manufacturer and model Seismograph serial number:
used? number: o N/A o N/A
o Yes
o No Seismograph's last calibration
date. o N/A
3 Distance and direction seismograph from blast Distance determined by:
site o N/A o N/A 0 GPS coordinates
o Estimated o Measurement
4 Seismograph o N/A Seismograph recordings: o N/A
Geophone Minimum Frequency Hz Transverse in/s Hz
Seismograph Vertical in/s Hz
Microphone Minimum Frequency Hz Longitudinal in/s Hz
5 Seismograph trigger level o N/A Acoustic  ___ dB___ Hz
in/s dB
Additional Blaster notations on seismic control measures:
Block 5
Quantity and Product
1 Maximum allowable charge weight per 8 ms interval Initiation (Check)
o Delay not used
Ibs o Electric
Non-electric
2 Maximum number of holes/decks per 8 ms interval - ]
o Electronic
o Delay not used
Ibs
3 Maximum weight or sticks of explosive per hole Firing device manufacturer and
model: o N/A
Ibs
Explosive Product listing (Attach additional pages as needed.)
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4 Manufacturer Product name, description or brand Number of Unit weight (Ib)

units

5 Total explosive weight in this shot: Ibs.

Additional Blaster notations on product and quantities:

Block 6
Completion of Shot Record and General Comments

General comments on shot not included in notes above:

Date shot report completed:

Time shot report completed:

Printed name and signature of person completing shot

(Print)

report if different from Block 1, Lines 5 and 6.

(Signature)

S. Change Section 5608.2 to read:

5608.2- Permit application. Prior to issuing permits for a
fireworks display, plans for the fireworks display,
inspections of the display site and demonstrations of the
display operations shall be approved. A plan establishing
procedures to follow and actions to be taken in the event
that a shell fails to ignite in, or discharge from, a mortar or
fails to function over the fallout area or other malfunctions
shall be provided to the fire code official.

In addition to the requirements of Section 5601.2.3.1, a
permit to conduct a fireworks display shall not be issued to
any applicant without the applicant identifying on the
application the pyrotechnician who will be in responsible
charge of the fireworks display and who is appropriately
certified as a pyrotechnician in accordance with Section
5601.4.1.

Exception: Permits are not required for the use or display
of permissible fireworks on private property with the
consent of the owner of such property.

T. Change Section 5608.3 to read:

5608.3: Approved fireworks displays. Approved fireworks
displays shall include only the approved fireworks 1.3G,
fireworks 1.4G, fireworks 1.4S and pyrotechnic articles
1.4G. The design, setup, conducting or direct on-site
supervision of the design, setup and conducting of any

fireworks display, either inside a building or outdoors,
shall be performed only by persons certified by the SFMO
in accordance with Section 5601.4.1 as a pyrotechnician
(firework operator) and at least one person properly
certified by the SFMO as a pyrotechnician shall be present
at the site where the fireworks display is being conducted.
The approved fireworks shall be arranged, located,
discharged and fired in a manner that will not pose a
hazard to property or endanger any person.

Exception: Certification as a pyrotechnician is not required
for the use or display of permissible fireworks when
conducted on private property with the consent of the
owner of such property.

U. Change Section 5608.4 to read:

5608.4 Clearance. Spectators, spectator parking areas, and
dwellings, buildings or structures shall not be located
within the display site. The site for the outdoor land or
water display shall have at least 100-ft/in. (31-m/2.4mm)
radius of internal mortar diameter of the largest shell to be
fired as shown in Table 5608.4.

Exceptions:

1. This provision shall not apply to pyrotechnic special
effects and fireworks displays using Division 1.4G
materials before a proximate audience in accordance with
NFPA 1126.
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2. This provision shall not apply to unoccupied the building owner and the fire code official.
dwellings, buildings and structures with the approval of

V. Add Table 5608.4 to read:

Table 5608.4
Distances for Outdoor Fireworks Display Sites: Minimum Separation Distances from Mortars to Spectators for Land and
Water Displays

Minimum Secured Angled Mortars® Mortars to Special
Mortar Size® Diameter of Site Vertical Mortars” 1/3 offset Hazards®
in. mm ft m ft m ft m ft m
<3 <76 300 92 150 46 100 31 300 92
3 76 600 183 300 92 200 61 600 183
4 102 800 244 400 122 266 81 800 244
5 127 1000 305 500 152 334 102 1000 305
6 152 1200 366 600 183 400 122 1200 366
7 178 1400 427 700 213 467 142 1400 427
8 203 1600 488 800 244 534 163 1600 488
10 254 2000 610 1000 305 667 203 2000 610
12 305 2400 732 1200 366 800 244 2400 732
>12 Requires the approval of the fire official

& Aerial shells, mines, and comets shall be classified and described only in terms of the inside diameter of the mortar from
which they are fired (e.g., 3-in. (76-mm) aerial shells, mines and comets are only for use in 3-in. (76mm) mortars).

®Where the mortars are positioned vertically, the mortars shall be placed at the approximate center of the display site.

“Mortars shall be permitted to be angled during a display to allow for wind and to carry shells away from the main spectator
viewing areas. For angled mortars, the minimum secured diameter of the display site does not change. Only the location of
the mortars within the secured area changes when the mortars are angled.

9 Note that this is only the distance to the special hazards. The minimum secured diameter of the display site does not change.

W. Add Sections 5608.4.1 and 5608.4.2 to read: mines to be fired from mortars, racks, or other holders
that are not sufficiently strong to prevent their being
repositioned in the event of an explosive malfunction of
the aerial shells, comets, or mines, or if there is doubt
concerning the strength of racks holding chain-fused

5608.4.1- Non-splitting, non-bursting comets and mines.
For non-splitting or non-bursting comets and mines
containing only stars or non-splitting or non-bursting

comets, the minimum required radius of the display site mortars, based upon the largest mortar in the sequence,

shall be 50 feet per inch (15.24 m per 25.4 mm) of the T, . .
internal mortar diameter of the largest comet or mine to be the minimum required radius shall be double that
g required in Sections 5608.4 and 5608.4.1.

fired, one-half that shown in Table 5608.4.
5608.4.2: Special distance requirements. The minimum
distance requirements of Table 5608.4 shall be adjusted as the bulk storage of materials that have flammability,

follows: . . .
) ] ) explosive, or toxic hazard shall be at least twice the
1. For chain-fused aerial shells and comets and mines to distances specified in Table 5608.4.

e o ot ke, o ot Toldrs 1 723 The mnimum i spcttor spaation i
y glop . g repost for roman candles and cakes that produce aerial shells,

the event of an explosive malfunction of the aerial shells, .
comets, or mine effects shall be the same as the

comets, or mines, the minimum required radius shall be - - - e
the same as that required in Sections 5608.4 and minimum required radius specified in Table 5608.4.

5608.4.1. For chain-fused aerial shells and comets and

2. Distances from the point of discharge of any firework
to a health care or detention and correctional facility, or
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4. Aerial shells, comets and mines, and roman candles
and cakes shall be permitted to be angled if the dud shells
or components are carried away from the main spectator
area and either of the following requirements is satisfied:

4.1. The offset specified in Table 5608.4 is followed.

4.2. The separation distance is correspondingly increased
in the direction of the angle.

If the offset provided in Table 5608.4 is followed, the
mortars or tubes shall be angled so that any dud shells or
components fall at a point approximately equal to the
offset of the mortars or tubes from the otherwise required
discharge point but in the opposite direction.

13VAC5-51-151. IFC Chapter 57- Flammable and

Combustible Liquids.

A. Add Section 5701.1.1 to read:
5701.1.1: Other regulations. Provisions of the Virginia
State Water Control Board regulations 9VAC25-91 and
9VAC25-580 addressing the maintenance and operational
aspects of underground and aboveground storage tanks
subject to those regulations are hereby incorporated by
reference to be an enforceable part of this code. Where
differences occur between the provisions of this code and
the incorporated provisions of the State Water Control
Board regulations, the provisions of the State Water
Control Board regulations shall apply.
Note: For requirements for the installation, repair, upgrade
and closure of such tanks, see Section 414.6.2 of the
USBC, Part I, Construction.

B. Change Section 5701.4 to read:

5701.4- Permits. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

C. Add the following exception to Section 5704.2.13.1.3 to
read:

Exception: Underground storage tanks subject to the
Virginia State Water Control Board regulation 9VAC25-
580.

13VAC5-51-151.5. IFC Chapter 58- Flammable Gases and
Flammable Cryogenic Fluids.

Change Section 5801.2 to read:

5801.2- Permits. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

13VAC5-51-152.5. IFC Chapter 59- Flammable Solids.
Change Section 5901.2 to read:

5901.2- Permits. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

13VAC5-51-153. IFC Chapter 60- Highly Toxic and Toxic
Materials.

Change Section 6001.2 to read:

6001.2- Permits. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

13VAC5-51-154. IFC Chapter 61. Liquefied Petroleum
Gases.

A. Change Section 6101.2 to read:

6101.2- Permits. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2. Distributors shall not fill an LP-gas
container for which a permit is required unless a permit for
installation has been issued for that location by the fire
code official, except when the container is for temporary
use on construction sites.

B. Add Section 6106.4 to read:

6106.4- DOTn cylinders filled on site. DOTn cylinders in
stationary service that are filled on site and therefore are
not under the jurisdiction of DOTn either shall be
requalified in accordance with DOTn requirements or shall
be visually inspected within 12 years of the date of
manufacture or within five years from May 1, 2008,
whichever is later, and within every five years thereafter,
in accordance with the following:

1. Any cylinder that fails one or more of the criteria in Item
3 shall not be refilled or continued in service until the
condition is corrected.

2. Personnel shall be trained and qualified to perform
inspections.

3. Visual inspection shall be performed in accordance with
the following:

3.1. The cylinder is checked for exposure to fire, dents,
cuts, digs, gouges, and corrosion according to CGA C-6,
Standards for Visual Inspection of Steel Compressed Gas
Cylinders, except that paragraph 4.2.1(1) of that standard
(which requires tare weight certification), shall not be
part of the required inspection criteria.

3.2. The cylinder protective collar (where utilized) and
the foot ring are intact and are firmly attached.

3.3. The cylinder is painted or coated to retard corrosion.

3.4. The cylinder pressure relief valve indicates no
visible damage, corrosion of operating components, or
obstructions.

3.5. There is no leakage from the cylinder or its
appurtenances that is detectable without the use of
instruments.

3.6. The cylinder is installed on a firm foundation and is
not in contact with the soil.

3.7. A cylinder that passed the visual inspection shall be
marked with the month and year of the examination
followed by the letter "E" (example: 10-01E, indicating
requalification in October 2001 by the external
inspection method).

3.8. The results of the visual inspection shall be
documented, and a record of the inspection shall be
retained for a five-year period.
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Exception: Any inspection procedure outlined in Items 3.1
through 3.8 that would require a cylinder be moved in such
a manner that disconnection from the piping system would
be necessary shall be omitted, provided the other
inspection results do not indicate further inspection is
warranted.
C. Change Section 6111.2 to read:

6111.2. Unattended parking. The unattended parking of
LP-gas tank vehicles shall be in accordance with Sections
6111.2.1 and 6111.2.2.

Exception: The unattended outdoor parking of LP-gas tank
vehicles may also be in accordance with Section 9.7.2 of
NFPA 58.

13VAC5-51-154.2. IFC Chapter 62- Organic Peroxides.
Change Section 6201.2 to read:

6201.2- Permits. Permits shall be required for organic
peroxides as set forth in Section 107.2.

13VAC5-51-154.4. IFC Chapter 63: Oxidizers, Oxidizing
Gases and Oxidizing Cryogenic Fluids.

Change Section 6301.2 to read:

6301.2- Permits. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

13VAC5-51-154.6.
Materials.

Change Section 6401.2 to read:

6401.2- Permits. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

13VAC5-51-154.7. IFC Chapter 65- Pyroxylin (Cellulose
Nitrate) Plastics.

Change Section 6501.2 to read:

6501.2- Permits. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

13VAC5-51-154.8. IFC Chapter 66- Unstable (Reactive)
Materials.

Change Section 6601.2 to read:

6601.2:- Permits. Permits shall be required as set forth in
Section 107.2.

13VAC5-51-155. IFC Chapter 80- Referenced Standards.

Change the referenced standards as follows (standards not
shown remain the same):

IFC Chapter 64. Pyrophoric

Standard on Fire
Protection for
Laboratories

Using Chemicals

5001.7.5
5001.7.10,
5001.7.11

NFPA 45-15

Standard for
Movable and
Wall- or Ceiling-
Hung Electric
Room Heaters

UL 1278-00 605.10.1

Standard for
Laboratory Hoods
and Cabinets

UL 1805-2002 5001.7.11

Standard Referenced in
reference Title code section
number number
Standards for
Visual Inspection
(02%(?1)0 6 of Steel 6106.4
Compressed Gas
Cylinders

DOCUMENTS
(13VAC5-51)

Fhetnternational-Fire-Code—2012 Edition; International
Code Council, Inc., 500 New Jersey Avenue, NW, 6th Floor,
Washington, DC 20001-2070 (http://www.iccsafe.org):

International Fire Code - 2015 Edition
International Residential Code - 2015 Edition

CGA C-6 — 2001, Standards for Visual Inspection of Steel
Compressed Gas Cylinders, Eighth Edition, Compressed Gas
Association, 1725 Jefferson Davis Highway, 5th Floor,
Arlington, VA 22202-4102

National Fire Protection Association, 1 Batterymarch Park,
Quincy, MA 02169-7471 (http://www.nfpa.org):

NFPA 45-15, Standard on Fire Protection for Laboratories

Using Chemicals
NFPA 58-11, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Code

NFPA 70-11 70-14, National Electrical Code

NFPA 72-10 72-13, National Fire Alarm and Signaling
Code

NFPA 495-10 495-13, Explosives Materials Code

NFPA 701-10, Standard Methods of Fire Tests for Flame -
Propagation of Textiles and Films

NFPA 1123-19 1123-14, Code for Fireworks Display
NFPA 1124-06, Code for the Manufacture, Transportation,

Storage, and Retail Sales of Fireworks and Pyrotechnic
Articles

INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE
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NFPA 1126-11, Standard for the Use of Pyrotechnics
Before a Proximate Audience

Underwriters Laboratories, Inc., 333 Pfingsten Road,
Northbrook, 1L 60062 (http://www.ul.com):

UL 87A-12, Qutline of Investigation for Power-Operated
Dispensing Devices for Gasoline and Gasoline/ethanol
Blends with Nominal Ethanol Concentrations up to 85
Percent

UL 1278-00, Standard for Movable and Wall- or Ceiling-
Hung Electric Room Heaters, Third Edition, June 21, 2000
UL 1805-2002, Standard for Laboratory Hoods and
Cabinets

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4665; Filed January 20, 2017, 2:39 p.m.

Proposed Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Housing and
Community Development is claiming an exemption from
Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-
4006 A 12 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes
regulations adopted by the Board of Housing and Community
Development pursuant to the Statewide Fire Prevention Code
(8 27-94 et seq.), the Industrialized Building Safety Law
(8 36-70 et seq.), the Uniform Statewide Building Code
(8 36-97 et seq.), and § 36-98.3 of the Code of Virginia,
provided the board (i) provides a Notice of Intended
Regulatory Action in conformance with the provisions of
8§ 2.2-4007.01, (ii) publishes the proposed regulation and
provides an opportunity for oral and written comments as
provided in § 2.2-4007.03, and (iii) conducts at least one
public hearing as provided in § § 2.2-4009 and 36-100 prior
to the publishing of the proposed regulations.

Title of Regulation: 13VACS5-63. Virginia Uniform
Statewide Building Code (amending 13VAC5-63-10
through 13VACS5-63-50, 13VAC5-63-70, 13VAC5-63-80,
13VAC5-63-170, 13VAC5-63-200, 13VAC5-63-210,
13VAC5-63-220, 13VAC5-63-230 through 13VAC5-63-
264, 13VAC5-63-270 through 13VAC5-63-330, 13VACS-
63-360, 13VAC5-63-370, 13VAC5-63-400, 13VAC5-63-
410, 13VAC5-63-430, 13VAC5-63-434, 13VAC5-63-440,
13VAC5-63-450, 13VAC5-63-470, 13VAC5-63-480,
13VAC5-63-490, 13VAC5-63-510 through 13VAC5-63-
540; adding 13VACb5-63-268, 13VAC5-63-431, 13VACS5-
63-432.5, 13VAC5-63-433, 13VAC5-63-433.5, 13VAC5-63-
434.5, 13VAC5-63-435, 13VAC5-63-439, 13VAC5-63-524,
13VAC5-63-545, 13VAC5-63-549; repealing 13VAC5-63-
225, 13VAC5-63-350).

Statutory Authority: § 36-98 of the Code of Virginia.
Public Hearing Information:

May 15, 2017 - 10 a.m. - Virginia Housing Development
Authority Virginia Housing Center, 4224 Cox Road,
Glen Allen, VA 23060

Public Comment Deadline: April 21, 2017.

Agency Contact: Elizabeth O. Rafferty, Policy and
Legislative Director, Department of Housing and Community
Development, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street,
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7011,
FAX (804) 371-7090, TTY (804) 371-7089, or email
elizabeth.rafferty@dhcd.virginia.gov.

Background: The Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code
(USBC) governs the construction, maintenance, and
rehabilitation of new and existing building and structures.
The USBC uses nationally recognized model building codes
and standards produced by the International Code Council
and other standard-writing groups as the basis for the
technical provisions of the regulation. Every three years, new
editions of the model codes become available. At that time,
the Board of Housing and Community Development initiates
a regulatory action to incorporate the newest editions of the
model codes into the regulation and accepts proposals for
changes to the regulation from affected client groups and the
public. The Department of Housing and Community
Development staff maintains mailing lists for workgroups
involving different subject areas of regulation and conducts
workgroup meetings to develop consensus recommendations,
when possible, concerning submitted proposals. The
department uses an online program incorporating the
provisions of the regulation and the model codes and
standards to facilitate the submittal of proposals. A public
hearing is held during the workgroup meeting stage of the
process and a comment period established. Once workgroup
meetings are completed, the board holds a series of meetings
to consider each proposal, and the approved proposals are
incorporated into the proposed regulation. After publication
of the proposed regulation, the board establishes a comment
period for the acceptance of comments on amendments
reflected in the proposed regulation, and an additional public
hearing is held. The board then meets to consider proposals
and public comments and develops a final regulation to
complete the regulatory process.

Summary:
The proposed regulatory action incorporates the newest
editions of the nationally recognized model codes,
produced by the International Code Council (ICC) and
other standard-writing groups, into the Virginia Uniform
Statewide Building Code (USBC).

The proposed substantive amendments in this regulatory
action include the following:

13VAC5-63-10 A and B: Updates the incorporation by
reference to the latest ICC International Codes and
standards.

13VAC5-63-20: Clarification of the exemption in the
USBC for public utilities to include wiring and equipment
of telecommunication (cellular telephone) companies. In
addition, a new exemption for conveyor systems is added in
subdivision D 3, as such equipment is not part of a
building and therefore not within the scope of the USBC.
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In subdivision D 6 language is added to clarify that the
demolition of manufactured homes or industrialized
buildings is subject to the USBC. The prior edition of the
code did not have explicit language addressing this, but
demolition is a form of construction, so it did fall within
the scope of the code.

13VAC5-63-30 D: Establishes a new provision for existing
college research laboratories to permit compliance with
special provisions in Part 1l of the USBC (the Virginia
Existing Building Code; formerly the Virginia
Rehabilitation Code) when utilizing new or differing
amount of certain hazardous materials. The new provision
is part of comprehensive changes to the USBC and the
Statewide Fire Prevention Code (13VAC5-51) (SFPC)
developed by an ad hoc committee of affected parties and
representatives of educational research laboratories. The
language is based on actions approved at the ICC hearings
for the 2018 editions of the International Codes with
conditions specific to Virginia institutions considered in
the final language.

13VAC5-63-50 E and I: The Virginia Certification
Standards (13VAC5-21) (VCS), also under the authority of
the BHCD, were amended in September of 2014 to include
requirements for continuing education and periodic
training for all inspector certificates issued by the BHCD.
Formerly the requirements were in the USBC, SFPC, and
Virginia Amusement Device Regulations. Now that the
VCS contains those requirements, duplicate requirements
in the USBC are no longer necessary and are therefore
being deleted.

13VAC5-63-80 B 16: A new permit exemption is added for
work on billboards necessary to comply with federal
guidelines of the Occupational Safety and Health
Administration that is necessary so that sign companies
are not subject to varying requirements from jurisdiction
to jurisdiction, and safeguards are in place through the
federal requirements to assure safe installations without
the necessity for a USBC permit.

13VAC5-63-210 C: A new provision is added to address
day treatment facilities licensed by the Virginia
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental
Services to clarify that buildings used for such purposes
must have sprinkler systems if located above the second
story. This is necessary due to the inability of the
occupants of the treatment facilities to be able to exit
quickly if an emergency exists. Many occupants need
assistance in evacuating due to physical or mental
limitations; therefore, in sprinklered buildings, the
occupants could be moved to protected areas on the floor
they are on without the spread of fire to those areas since
the fire would be suppressed by the sprinkler system.

13VAC5-63-210 D: An allowance is added for alcohol to
be stored in wooden barrels or casks without complying
with the hazardous material provisions of the code. The

language was in the International Fire Code, but not in the
International Building Code, as those codes are developed
independently in the ICC code development process. The
language is necessary to assure all breweries and
producers of distilled spirits and wines are subject to
consistent requirements and is based on the fact that there
is no evidence that storage in wooden barrels or casks is a
potential fire hazard necessitating the requirements of the
code used for explosives, fireworks, flammable gases such
as liquefied petroleum gas, and gasoline and diesel fuels to
be applicable.

13VAC5-63-210 T 4: Adds a new exception 7 to the
requirements of the International Residential Code (IRC)
for separation of dwellings from lot lines to recognize
zoning ordinances that require setbacks to prevent houses
on adjacent lots from being within 10 feet of each other.
This allows flexibility in the clustering of homes for zoning
purposes and accomplishes the building code objective of
maintaining fire separation distances between dwellings.
The IRC requires any building wall within five feet of a
property line to be of fire-rated construction without this
exception.

13VAC5-63-210 T 37 and T 38: Relocates the interior
passageway requirements for new homes (former
subdivision T 14) and clarifies the text. Removes difficult to
apply language involving doors at the end of a hallway.
The overall goal of the provision is to provide doors for
wheelchair users on the main level of new dwellings.

13VAC5-63-210 T 45 and T 46: Adds tables permitting the
use of No. 2 (quality) southern yellow pine (wood) of
appropriate spans to be used in the framing of homes. The
tables in the existing regulation (2012 edition)
inadvertently omitted spans for No. 2 pine and only
permitted No. 1 quality, which is not readily available by
wood distributors.

13VAC5-63-210 T 61: Deletes former subdivision T 94
that required only 50% of new lamps (light bulbs) to be
high efficacy (efficiency) bulbs. This deletion will allow the
provisions of the IRC to be applicable, which require 75%
of new bulbs to be high efficiency.

13VAC5-63-210 T 69: Adds new provisions to permit the
use of a corrugated gas tubing with coatings to prevent
lightning arcs from causing holes in the tubing. The
product has undergone the approval process through the
National Fuel Gas Code and the American National
Standards Institute standard writing process.

13VAC5-63-210 T 74: From a proposal submitted by the
Virginia State Corporation Commission, a new provision
is added to require a tracer wire to be installed in the ditch
with nonmetallic water service piping to new homes. This
will enable other utilities to locate the water service line
when installing additional underground lines and prevent
the possible inadvertent rupturing of the water service line.
There was a case where a gas line crossed a water service
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line that was not pressurized yet and gas traveled up the
water service line and caused an explosion in the house it
served. Tracer wire is already required by the USBC for
nonmetallic sewer lines.

13VAC5-63-220 X and Y: Establishes a new provision for
new college research laboratories to utilize certain
hazardous materials inherent in operations without having
to fully comply with the hazardous material provisions of
the code as the use of such materials is in limited quantity.
The new provision is part of comprehensive changes to the
USBC and the Statewide Fire Prevention Code (13VAC5-
51) (SFPC) developed by an ad hoc committee of affected
parties and representatives of educational research
laboratories. The language is based on actions approved
at the ICC hearings for the 2018 editions of the
International Codes with conditions specific to Virginia
institutions considered in the final language.

13VAC5-63-230 E: Reestablishes exceptions for when
smoke and fire dampers are required in shaft enclosures
for heating, ventilating and air-conditioning duct systems.
The exceptions were in the 2009 edition of the USBC and
were deleted in the 2012 edition based on wording in the
2012 International Building Code (IBC); however, since
the wording in the 2012 IBC differed slightly from the
2009 USBC language, the 2009 exceptions are being
reinserted.

13VAC5-63-245 L and Q: Adds language in the IBC that is
consistent with the IRC stairway landing requirements
when dwelling units are being designed under the IBC,
such as four-story townhomes that are outside of the scope
of the IRC. The same hazards exist for dwellings, whether
constructed under the IBC or the IRC.

13VAC5-63-264 A 13: Deletes former subdivision A 21
that required only 50% of new lamps (light bulbs) to be
high efficacy (efficiency) bulbs in buildings subject to the
International Energy Conservation Code (IECC). This
deletion will allow the provisions of the 2015 IECC to be
applicable, which require 75% of new bulbs to be high
efficiency.

13VAC5-63-295 B and C: Adds tables permitting the use of
No. 2 (quality) southern yellow pine (wood) of appropriate
spans to be used in the framing of dwellings constructed
under the IBC. The tables in the existing regulation (2012
edition) inadvertently omitted spans for No. 2 pine and
only permitted No. 1 quality, which is not readily available
by wood distributors.

13VAC5-63-310 D 1, D 7, and D 8: Add requirements for
pollution control units where such systems are voluntarily
installed. The use of these systems to control pollutants in
grease ducts in restaurants and other facilities having
grease ducts has become more prevalent, and this
language was approved for the 2018 International
Mechanical Code (IMC) at the ICC process in time for
implementing in it Virginia for the 2015 USBC.

13VAC5-63-310 D 9: Reestablishes exceptions for when
smoke and fire dampers are required in shaft enclosures
for heating, ventilating, and air-conditioning duct systems.
The exceptions were in the 2009 edition of the USBC (in
both the IBC and the IMC) and were deleted in the 2012
edition based on wording in the 2012 IMC; however, since
the wording in the 2012 IMC differed slightly from the
2009 USBC language, the 2009 exceptions are being
reinserted.

13VAC5-63-310 E 2 and E 5: Adds new sections to permit
the use of a corrugated gas tubing with coatings to prevent
lightning arcs from causing holes in the tubing in buildings
subject to the IBC. The product has undergone the
approval process through the National Fuel Gas Code and
the American National Standards Institute standard
writing process.

13VAC5-63-431 A, B, and C: Modifies the wording of the
2005 edition of the ICC International Existing Building
Code (IEBC) for use in Part Il of the USBC, which governs
alterations, additions, and change of occupancy of existing
buildings. The new wording permits an additional
compliance method for alterations and repairs based on
the code in effect when the building was originally
constructed.

13VAC5-63-431 D: Establishes the technical requirements
for a new provision for existing college research
laboratories when utilizing new or differing amount of
certain hazardous materials. The requirements are part of
comprehensive changes to the USBC and SFPC developed
by an ad hoc committee of affected parties and
representatives of educational research laboratories. The
language is based on actions approved at the ICC hearings
for the 2018 editions of the International Codes with
conditions specific to Virginia institutions considered in
the final language.

13VAC5-63-422 A, B, and C: Minor changes to the 2015
IEBC to clarify the classifications of work that are covered
under the Level Method of compliance in the IEBC and
how the work area concept is to be applied. Clarifying
language is also added for addressing buildings that have
horizontal fire separation as only vertical fire separation
was addressed.

13VAC5-63-433.5, 13VAC5-63-434, 13VAC5-63-434.5,
13VAC5-63-435, 13VAC5-63-439, and 13VAC5-63-440.
Minor changes to the 2015 IEBC developed by an ad hoc
group preparing a training module for the department's
Jack A. Proctor Building Code Academy for Part Il of the
USBC. These changes clarify the requirements of the
different compliance methods set out in the IEBC based on
questions raised during the development of the training
module.

Clarifying proposed changes in this regulatory action
include amendments to 13VAC5-63-450 through 13VAC5-
63-545: Part I11 of the USBC (13VAC5-63-450 et seq.) that
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is known as the Virginia Maintenance Code (VMC) and
sets out provisions requiring existing buildings and
structures to be maintained in accordance with the codes
in effect when such buildings and structures were
constructed. The VMC incorporates the ICC International
Property Maintenance Code (IPMC). Since its inception,
the VMC has contained administrative language limiting
the use of the provisions of the IPMC to only those
provisions requiring maintenance and disallowing the use
of any provisions of the IPMC that would require existing
buildings or structures to be upgraded or retrofitted to
meet newer code requirements. This arrangement has
caused confusion among code enforcing agencies and
those affected by the code. The department, under direction
from the Board of Housing and Community Development,
convened an ad hoc committee of all affected parties and
organizations to develop a draft of the VMC. The proposed
amendments remove any provisions of the IPMC requiring
existing buildings or structures to be upgraded or
retrofitted; thus eliminating the need to depend upon the
administrative provisions for the proper application of the
VMC.

The proposed changes to the provisions of the VMC in this
action are therefore editorial in nature, but fairly
extensive. The ad hoc committee evaluated every provision
in the IPMC and where any provision required the
upgrading or retrofitting of existing buildings, the wording
of that section was changed to just require maintenance of
the aspect of construction being addressed by the section,
since the administrative provisions of the VMC would have
prevented any such provision from being enforceable. The
end result is a code in which all the provisions left intact
or modified are fully enforceable without a comparison to
the administrative provisions to determine whether they
may be enforced.

Part |
Construction

13VAC5-63-10. Chapter 1 Administration; Section 101
General.

A. Section 101.1 Short title. The Virginia Uniform
Statewide Building Code, Part I, Construction, may be cited
as the Virginia Construction Code or as the VCC. The term
"USBC" shall mean the VCC unless the context in which the
term is used clearly indicates it to be an abbreviation for the
entire Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code or for a
different part of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building
Code.

Note: This code is also known as the 2612 2015 edition of

the USBC due to the use of the 2042 2015 editions of the
model codes.

B. Section 101.2 Incorporation by reference. Chapters 2 - 35
of the 2042 2015 International Building Code, published by
the International Code Council, Inc., are adopted and
incorporated by reference to be an enforceable part of the

USBC. The term "IBC" means the 2042 2015 International
Building Code, published by the International Code Council,
Inc. Any codes and standards referenced in the IBC are also
considered to be part of the incorporation by reference, except
that such codes and standards are used only to the prescribed
extent of each such reference. In addition, any provisions of
the appendices of the IBC specifically identified to be part of
the USBC are also considered to be part of the incorporation
by reference.

Note 1: The IBC references other International Codes and
standards including the following major codes:

2042 2015 International Plumbing Code (IPC)
2042 2015 International Mechanical Code (IMC)
2011 2014 NFPA 70

2012 2015 International Fuel Gas Code (IFGC)

2012 2015 International Energy Conservation Code
(IECC)

2042 2015 International Residential Code (IRC)

Note 2: The IRC is applicable to the construction of
detached one-family and two-family dwellings and
townhouses as set out in Section 310.

C. Section 101.3 Numbering system. A dual numbering
system is used in the USBC to correlate the numbering
system of the Virginia Administrative Code with the
numbering system of the IBC. IBC numbering system
designations are provided in the catchlines of the Virginia
Administrative Code sections. Cross references between
sections or chapters of the USBC use only the IBC numbering
system designations. The term "chapter" is used in the context
of the numbering system of the IBC and may mean a chapter
in the USBC, a chapter in the IBC or a chapter in a referenced
code or standard, depending on the context of the use of the
term. The term "chapter" is not used to designate a chapter of
the Virginia Administrative Code, unless clearly indicated.

D. Section 101.4 Arrangement of code provisions. The
USBC is comprised of the combination of (i) the provisions
of Chapter 1, Administration, which are established herein,
(if) Chapters 2 - 35 of the IBC, which are incorporated by
reference in Section 101.2, and (iii) the changes to the text of
the incorporated chapters of the IBC that are specifically
identified. The terminology "changes to the text of the
incorporated chapters of the IBC that are specifically
identified" shall also be referred to as the "state amendments
to the IBC." Such state amendments to the IBC are set out
using corresponding chapter and section numbers of the IBC
numbering system. In addition, since Chapter 1 of the IBC is
not incorporated as part of the USBC, any reference to a
provision of Chapter 1 of the IBC in the provisions of
Chapters 2 - 35 of the IBC is generally invalid. However,
where the purpose of such a reference would clearly
correspond to a provision of Chapter 1 established herein,
then the reference may be construed to be a valid reference to
such corresponding Chapter 1 provision.
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E. Section 101.5 Use of terminology and notes. The
provisions of this code shall be used as follows:

1. The term "this code," or "the code," where used in the
provisions of Chapter 1, in Chapters 2 - 35 of the IBC or in
the state amendments to the IBC means the USBC, unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise.

2. The term "this code" or "the code" where used in a code
or standard referenced in the IBC means that code or
standard, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

3. The use of notes in Chapter 1 is to provide information
only and shall not be construed as changing the meaning of
any code provision.

4. Notes in the IBC, in the codes and standards referenced
in the IBC and in the state amendments to the IBC may
modify the content of a related provision and shall be
considered to be a valid part of the provision, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise.

F. Section 101.6 Order of precedence. The provisions of this
code shall be used as follows:

1. The provisions of Chapter 1 of this code supersede any
provisions of Chapters 2 - 35 of the IBC that address the
same subject matter and impose differing requirements.

2. The provisions of Chapter 1 of this code supersede any
provisions of the codes and standards referenced in the
IBC that address the same subject matter and impose
differing requirements.

3. The state amendments to the IBC supersede any
provisions of Chapters 2 - 35 of the IBC that address the
same subject matter and impose differing requirements.

4. The state amendments to the IBC supersede any
provisions of the codes and standards referenced in the
IBC that address the same subject matter and impose
differing requirements.

5. The provisions of Chapters 2 - 35 of the IBC supersede
any provisions of the codes and standards referenced in the
IBC that address the same subject matter and impose
differing requirements.

G. Section 101.7 Administrative provisions. The provisions
of Chapter 1 establish administrative requirements, which
include but are not limited to provisions relating to the scope
of the code, enforcement, fees, permits, inspections and
disputes. Any provisions of Chapters 2 - 35 of the IBC or any
provisions of the codes and standards referenced in the IBC
that address the same subject matter and impose differing
requirements are deleted and replaced by the provisions of
Chapter 1. Further, any administrative requirements contained
in the state amendments to the IBC shall be given the same
precedence as the provisions of Chapter 1. Notwithstanding
the above, where administrative requirements of Chapters 2 -
35 of the IBC or of the codes and standards referenced in the
IBC are specifically identified as valid administrative
requirements in Chapter 1 of this code or in the state

amendments to the IBC, then such requirements are not
deleted and replaced.

Note: The purpose of this provision is to eliminate overlap,
conflicts and duplication by providing a single standard for
administrative, procedural and enforcement requirements of
this code.

H. Section 101.8 Definitions. The definitions of terms used
in this code are contained in Chapter 2 along with specific
provisions addressing the use of definitions. Terms may be
defined in other chapters or provisions of the code and such
definitions are also valid.

Note: The order of precedence outlined in Section 101.6

may be determinative in establishing how to apply the
definitions in the IBC and in the referenced codes and
standards.

13VAC5-63-20. Section 102 Purpose and scope.

A. Section 102.1 Purpose. In accordance with 8 36-99 of the
Code of Virginia, the purpose of the USBC is to protect the
health, safety and welfare of the residents of the
Commonwealth of Virginia, provided that buildings and
structures should be permitted to be constructed at the least
possible cost consistent with recognized standards of health,
safety, energy conservation and water conservation, including
provisions necessary to prevent overcrowding, rodent or
insect infestation, and garbage accumulation; and barrier-free
provisions for the physically handicapped and aged.

B. Section 102.2 Scope. This section establishes the scope of
the USBC in accordance with 8§ 36-98 of the Code of
Virginia. The USBC shall supersede the building codes and
regulations of the counties, municipalities and other political
subdivisions and state agencies. This code also shall
supersede the provisions of local ordinances applicable to
single-family residential construction that (i) regulate
dwelling foundations or crawl spaces, (ii) require the use of
specific building materials or finishes in construction, or (iii)
require minimum surface area or numbers of windows;
however, this code shall not supersede proffered conditions
accepted as a part of a rezoning application, conditions
imposed upon the grant of special exceptions, special or
conditional use permits or variances, conditions imposed
upon a clustering of single-family homes and preservation of
open space development through standards, conditions, and
criteria established by a locality pursuant to subdivision 8 of
§ 15.2-2242 of the Code of Virginia or subdivision-A-12of
§15.2-2286 § 15.2-2286.1 of the Code of Virginia, or land
use requirements in airport or highway overlay districts, or
historic districts created pursuant to § 15.2-2306 of the Code
of Virginia, or local flood plain regulations adopted as a
condition of participation in the National Flood Insurance
Program.

Note: Requirements relating to functional design are
contained in Section 103.10 of this code.
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C. Section 102.2.1 Invalidity of provisions. To the extent
that any provisions of this code are in conflict with Chapter 6
(8 36-97 et seq.) of Title 36 of the Code of Virginia or in
conflict with the scope of the USBC, those provisions are
considered to be invalid to the extent of such conflict.

D. Section 102.3 Exemptions. The following are exempt
from this code:

1. Equipment, related wiring, and peles—and—towers
supporting the—related structures used for providing wired
utility, telecommunications, _information, or cable
television service in accordance with all of the following
conditions:

1.1. The equipment, wiring instaled, and supporting
structures are owned and controlled by a provider of
publicly regulated utility service or a franchised cable
television operator and-electrical or its affiliates.

1.2. The equipment and—related, wiring used—for—radio;

A 3 A v

iFi , and supporting structures
are located on either rights-of-way or property for which
the service provider has rights of occupancy and entry;
1.3. Buildings housing er—supporting—such exempt
equipment and wiring shall be subject to the USBC.
1.4. The instalation—of equipment and, wiring, and
supporting structures exempted by this section shall not
create an unsafe condition prohibited by the USBC.

2. Electrical equipment, transmission equipment, and
related wiring used for wireless transmission of radio,
broadcast, telecommunications, or information service in
accordance with all of the following conditions:

2.1. Buildings housing exempt equipment and wiring and
structures supporting exempt equipment and wiring shall
be subject to the USBC.

2.2. The equipment and wiring exempted by this section
shall not create an unsafe condition prohibited by the
USBC.

2 3. Manufacturing and, processing, and product handling
machines and equipment that do not produce or process
hazardous materials regulated by this code, including those
portions of conveyor systems used exclusively for the
transport of associated materials or products, and all of the
following service equipment associated—with—the
manufacturing-or-processing-machines:.

24 3.1. Electrical equipment connected after the last

disconnecting means.

2:2- 3.2. Plumbing piping and equipment connected after
the last shutoff valve or backflow device and before the
equipment drain trap.

2:3: 3.3. Gas piping and equipment connected after the
outlet shutoff valve.

Manufacturing and processing machines that produce or
process hazardous materials regulated by this code are only
required to comply with the code provisions regulating the
hazardous materials.

3- 4. Parking lots and sidewalks that are not part of an
accessible route.

4. 5. Nonmechanized playground or recreational equipment
such as swing sets, sliding boards, climbing bars, jungle
gyms, skateboard ramps, and similar equipment where no
admission fee is charged for its use or for admittance to
areas where the equipment is located.

5. 6. Industrialized buildings subject to the Virginia
Industrialized Building Safety Regulations (13VAC5-91)
and manufactured homes subject to the Virginia
Manufactured Home Safety Regulations (13VAC5-95);
except as provided for in Section 425 427 and in the case
of demolition of such industrialized buildings or

manufactured homes.

6- 7. Farm buildings and structures, except for a building or
a portion of a building located on a farm that is operated as
a restaurant as defined in 8 35.1-1 of the Code of Virginia
and licensed as such by the Virginia Board of Health
pursuant to Chapter 2 (§ 35.1-11 et seq.) of Title 35.1 of
the Code of Virginia. However, farm buildings and
structures lying within a flood plain or in a mudslide-prone
area shall be subject to flood-proofing regulations or
mudslide regulations, as applicable.

+ 8. Federally owned buildings and structures unless
federal law specifically requires a permit from the locality.
Underground storage tank installations, modifications and
removals shall comply with this code in accordance with
federal law.

8- 9. Off-site manufactured intermodal freight containers,
moving containers, and storage containers placed on site
temporarily or permanently for use as a storage container.

9. 10. Automotive lifts.
13VAC5-63-30. Section 103 Application of code.

A. Section 103.1 General. In accordance with § 36-99 of the
Code of Virginia, the USBC shall prescribe building
regulations to be complied with in the construction and
rehabilitation of buildings and structures, and the equipment
therein.

B. Section 103.2 When applicable to new construction.
Construction for which a permit application is submitted to
the local building department on or after the effective date of
the 20642 2015 edition of the code shall comply with the
provisions of this code, except for permit applications
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submitted during a one-year period beginning on the effective
date of the 2042 2015 edition of the code. The applicant for a
permit during such one-year period shall be permitted to
choose whether to comply with the provisions of this code or
the provisions of the edition of the code in effect immediately
prior to the 2012 2015 edition. This provision shall also apply
to subsequent amendments to this code based on the effective
date of such amendments. In addition, when a permit has
been properly issued under a previous edition of this code,
this code shall not require changes to the approved
construction documents, design or construction of such a
building or structure, provided the permit has not been
suspended or revoked.

C. Section 103.3 Change of occupancy. No change of
occupancy shall be made in any structure when the current
USBC requires a greater degree of accessibility, structural
strength, fire protection, means of egress, ventilation or
sanitation. When such a greater degree is required, the owner
or the owner's agent shall comply with the following:

1. When involving Group 1-2 or I-3, written application
shall be made to the local building department for a new
certificate of occupancy and the new certificate of
occupancy shall be obtained prior to the new use of the
structure. When impractical to achieve compliance with
this code for the new occupancy classification, the building
official shall consider modifications upon application and
as provided for in Section 106.3. In addition, the applicable
accessibility provisions of Section 1012.8 of Part Il of the
Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code, also known as
the "Virginia Rehabiitatien Existing Building Code," or
the “RE" "VEBC" shall be met.

Exception: This section shall not be construed to permit
noncompliance with any applicable flood load or flood-
resistant construction requirements of this code.

2. In other than Group 1-2 or 1-3, the provisions of the VRC
VEBC for change of occupancy shall be met.

D. Section 103.3.1 Group B teaching and research
laboratories. Where the use of new or different hazardous
materials or a change in the amount of hazardous materials in
existing Group B teaching and research laboratories in
educational occupancies above the 12th grade would
constitute a change of occupancy, Section 302.6 of the VEBC
shall be permitted to be used as an acceptable alternative to
compliance with change of occupancy requirements to permit
the increased amounts of hazardous materials stipulated
without the laboratories being classified as Group H.

E. Section 103.4 Additions. Additions to buildings and
structures shall comply with the requirements of this code for
new construction or shall comply with the ¥RE VEBC. An
existing building or structure plus additions shall comply with
the height and area provisions of Chapter 5 and the applicable
provisions of Chapter 9. Further, this code shall not require
changes to the design or construction of any portions of the
building or structure not altered or affected by an addition,

unless the addition has the effect of lowering the current level
of safety.

Exceptions:

1. This section shall not be construed to permit
noncompliance with any applicable flood load or flood-
resistant construction requirements of this code.

2. When this code is used for compliance, existing
structural elements carrying gravity loads shall be
permitted to comply with Section 1103 of the taternational

Existing-Building-Code VEBC.

E: E. Section 103.5 Reconstruction, alteration or repair in
Group R-5 occupancies. The following criteria is applicable
to reconstruction, alteration or repair of Group R-5 buildings
or structures:

1. Any reconstruction, alteration or repair shall not
adversely affect the performance of the building or
structure, or cause the building or structure to become
unsafe or lower existing levels of health and safety.

2. Parts of the building or structure not being
reconstructed, altered or repaired shall not be required to
comply with the requirements of this code applicable to
newly constructed buildings or structures.

3. The installation of material or equipment, or both, that is
neither required nor prohibited shall only be required to
comply with the provisions of this code relating to the safe
installation of such material or equipment.

4. Material or equipment, or both, may be replaced in the
same location with material or equipment of a similar kind
or capacity.
Exceptions:

1. This section shall not be construed to permit
noncompliance with any applicable flood load or flood-
resistant construction requirements of this code.

2. Reconstructed decks, balconies, porches and similar
structures located 30 inches (762 mm) or more above grade
shall meet the current code provisions for structural
loading capacity, connections and structural attachment.
This requirement excludes the configuration and height of
handrails and guardrails.

3. Compliance with the RS VEBC shall be an acceptable
alternative to compliance with this section at the discretion
of the owner or owner's agent.

E G. Section 103.5.1 Equipment changes. Upon the
replacement or new installation of any fuel-burning
appliances or equipment in existing Group R-5 occupancies,
an inspection or inspections shall be conducted to ensure that
the connected vent or chimney systems comply with the
following:

1. Vent or chimney systems are sized in accordance with
the IRC.

2. Vent or chimney systems are clean, free of any
obstruction or blockages, defects, or deterioration, and are
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in operable condition. Where not inspected by the local
building department, persons performing such changes or
installations shall certify to the building official that the
requirements of Items 1 and 2 of this section are met.

G- H. Section 103.6 Reconstruction, alteration, and repair in

other occupancies. Reconstruction, alteration, and repair in
occupancies other than Group R-5 shall comply with the
VRC VEBC.

H- 1. Section 103.7 Retrofit requirements. The local building
department shall enforce the provisions of Section 1701 of
the , . : ) L i

F". :SI “'"EIE' Squire—certain—existing bHI'Id'I' gs teﬁbe

k£ J. Section 103.8 Nonrequired equipment. The following
criteria for nonrequired equipment is in accordance with § 36-
103 of the Code of Virginia. Building owners may elect to
install partial or full fire alarms or other safety equipment that
was not required by the edition of the USBC in effect at the
time a building was constructed without meeting current
requirements of the code, provided the installation does not
create a hazardous condition. Permits for installation shall be
obtained in accordance with this code. In addition, as a
requirement of this code, when such nonrequired equipment
is to be installed, the building official shall notify the
appropriate fire official or fire chief.

J. K. Section 103.8.1 Reduction in function or
discontinuance of nonrequired fire protection systems. When
a nonrequired fire protection system is to be reduced in
function or discontinued, it shall be done in such a manner so
as not to create a false sense of protection. Generally, in such
cases, any features visible from interior areas shall be
removed, such as sprinkler heads, smoke detectors or alarm
panels or devices, but any wiring or piping hidden within the
construction of the building may remain. Approval of the
proposed method of reduction or discontinuance shall be
obtained from the building official.

K- L. Section 103.9 Use of certain provisions of referenced
codes. The following provisions of the IBC and of other
indicated codes or standards are to be considered valid
provisions of this code. Where any such provisions have been
modified by the state amendments to the IBC, then the
modified provisions apply.

1. Special inspection requirements in Chapters 2 - 35.

2. Testing requirements and requirements for the submittal
of construction documents in any of the ICC codes
referenced in Chapter 35 and in the IRC.

3. Section R301.2 of the IRC authorizing localities to
determine climatic and geographic design criteria.

4. Flood load or flood-resistant construction requirements
in the IBC or the IRC, including, but not limited to, any

such provisions pertaining to flood elevation certificates
that are located in Chapter 1 of those codes. Any required
flood elevation certificate pursuant to such provisions shall
be prepared by a land surveyor licensed in Virginia or an
RDP.

5. Section R101.2 of the IRC.

6. Section N11016 N1102.1 of the IRC and Sections
G104.5:2 C402.1.1 and R101.5-2 R402.1 of the IECC.

L M. Section 103.10 Functional design. The following
criteria for functional design is in accordance with § 36-98 of
the Code of Virginia. The USBC shall not supersede the
regulations of other state agencies that require and govern the
functional design and operation of building related activities
not covered by the USBC, including but not limited to (i)
public water supply systems, (ii) waste water treatment and
disposal systems, and (iii) solid waste facilities. Nor shall
state agencies be prohibited from requiring, pursuant to other
state law, that buildings and equipment be maintained in
accordance with provisions of this code. In addition, as
established by this code, the building official may refuse to
issue a permit until the applicant has supplied certificates of
functional design approval from the appropriate state agency
or agencies. For purposes of coordination, the locality may
require reports to the building official by other departments or
agencies indicating compliance with their regulations
applicable to the functional design of a building or structure
as a condition for issuance of a building permit or certificate
of occupancy. Such reports shall be based upon review of the
plans or inspection of the project as determined by the
locality. All enforcement of these conditions shall not be the
responsibility of the building official, but rather the agency
imposing the condition.

Note: Identified state agencies with functional design
approval are listed in the "Related Laws Package," which is
available from DHCD.

M= N. Section 103.11 Amusement devices and inspections.
In accordance with § 36-98.3 of the Code of Virginia, to the
extent they are not superseded by the provisions of § 36-98.3
of the Code of Virginia and the VADR, the provisions of the
USBC shall apply to amusement devices. In addition, as a
requirement of this code, inspections for compliance with the
VADR shall be conducted either by local building department
personnel or private inspectors provided such persons are
certified as amusement device inspectors under the VCS.

N: O. Section 103.12 State buildings and structures. This
section establishes the application of the USBC to state-
owned buildings and structures in accordance with § 36-98.1
of the Code of Virginia. The USBC shall be applicable to all
state-owned buildings and structures, with the exception that
8§ 2.2-1159 through 2.2-1161 of the Code of Virginia shall
provide the standards for ready access to and use of state-
owned buildings by the physically handicapped.

Any state-owned building or structure or building built on
state-owned property for which preliminary plans were
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prepared or on which construction commenced after the
initial effective date of the USBC, shall remain subject to the
provisions of the USBC that were in effect at the time such
plans were completed or such construction commenced.
Subsequent reconstruction, renovation or demolition of such
building or structure shall be subject to the pertinent
provisions of this code.

Acting through the Division of Engineering and Buildings,
the Virginia Department of General Services shall function as
the building official for state-owned buildings. The
department shall review and approve plans and specifications,
grant modifications, and establish such rules and regulations
as may be necessary to implement this section. It shall
provide for the inspection of state-owned buildings and
enforcement of the USBC and standards for access by the
physically handicapped by delegating inspection and USBC
enforcement duties to the State Fire Marshal's Office, to other
appropriate state agencies having needed expertise, and to
local building departments, all of which shall provide such
assistance within a reasonable time and in the manner
requested. State agencies and institutions occupying buildings
shall pay to the local building department the same fees as
would be paid by a private citizen for the services rendered
when such services are requested by the department. The
department may alter or overrule any decision of the local
building department after having first considered the local
building department's report or other rationale given for its
decision. When altering or overruling any decision of a local
building department, the department shall provide the local
building department with a written summary of its reasons for
doing so.

Notwithstanding any provision of this code to the contrary,
roadway tunnels and bridges owned by the Virginia
Department of Transportation shall be exempt from this code.
The Virginia Department of General Services shall not have
jurisdiction over such roadway tunnels, bridges and other
limited access highways; provided, however, that the
Department of General Services shall have jurisdiction over
any occupied buildings within any Department of
Transportation rights-of-way that are subject to this code.

Except as provided in subsection B E of § 23-38-209 23.1-
1016 of the Code of Virginia, and notwithstanding any
provision of this code to the contrary, at the request of a
public institution of higher education, the Virginia
Department of General Services, as further set forth in this
provision, shall authorize that institution of higher education
to contract with a building official of the locality in which the
construction is taking place to perform any inspection and
certifications required for the purpose of complying with this
code. The department shall publish administrative procedures
that shall be followed in contracting with a building official
of the locality. The authority granted to a public institution of
higher education under this provision to contract with a
building official of the locality shall be subject to the

institution meeting the conditions prescribed in subsection B
A of § 23-38.88 23.1-1002 of the Code of Virginia.

Note: In accordance with § 36-98.1 of the Code of Virginia,
roadway tunnels and bridges shall be designed, constructed
and operated to comply with fire safety standards based on
nationally recognized model codes and standards to be
developed by the Virginia Department of Transportation in
consultation with the State Fire Marshal and-approved-by-the
Virginia—Commonwealth-Transportation—Boeard. Emergency

response plannlng and activities related to the standards

A 2 ard shall
be developed by the Department of Transportatlon and
coordinated with the appropriate local officials and
emergency service providers. On an annual basis, the
Department of Transportation shall provide a report on the
maintenance and operability of installed fire protection and
detection systems in roadway tunnels and bridges to the State
Fire Marshal.

O: P. Section 103.12.1 Certification of state enforcement
personnel. State enforcement personnel shall comply with the
applicable requirements of Section 105 for certification;
13VAC5-63-40. Section 104 Enforcement, generally.

A. Section 104.1 Scope of enforcement. This section
establishes the requirements for enforcement of the USBC in
accordance with § 36-105 of the Code of Virginia.
Enforcement of the provisions of the USBC for construction
and rehabilitation shall be the responsibility of the local
building department. Whenever a county or municipality does
not have such a building department, the local governing
body shall enter into an agreement with the local governing
body of another county or municipality or with some other
agency, or a state agency approved by DHCD for such
enforcement. For the purposes of this section, towns with a
population of less than 3,500 may elect to administer and
enforce the USBC; however, where the town does not elect to
administer and enforce the code, the county in which the town
is situated shall administer and enforce the code for the town.
In the event such town is situated in two or more counties,
those counties shall administer and enforce the USBC for that
portion of the town situated within their respective
boundaries.

However, upon a finding by the local building department,
following a complaint by a tenant of a residential dwelling
unit that is the subject of such complaint, that there may be a
violation of the unsafe structures provisions of Part Il of the
Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code, also known as
the "Virginia Maintenance Code," or the "VMC," the local
building department shall enforce such provisions.

If the local building department receives a complaint that a
violation of the VMC exists that is an immediate and
imminent threat to the health or safety of the owner, tenant, or
occupants of any building or structure, or the owner,
occupant, or tenant of any nearby building or structure, and
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the owner, occupant, or tenant of the building or structure that
is the subject of the complaint has refused to allow the local
building official or his agent to have access to the subject
building or structure, the local building official or his agent
may present-sworn-testimony-te make an affidavit under oath
before a magistrate or a court of competent jurisdiction and
request that the magistrate or court grant the local building
official or his agent an inspection warrant to enable the
building official or his agent to enter the subject building or
structure for the purpose of determining whether violations of
the VMC exist. After issuing a warrant under this section, the
magistrate or judge shall file the affidavit in the manner
prescribed by §19.2-54 of the Code of Virginia. After
executing the warrant, the local building official or his agents
shall return the warrant to the clerk of the circuit court of the
city or county wherein the inspection was made. The local
building official or his agent shall make a reasonable effort to
obtain consent from the owner, occupant, or tenant of the
subject building or structure prior to seeking the issuance of
an inspection warrant under this section.

The local governing body shall, however, inspect and
enforce the provisions of the VMC for elevators, escalators,
and related conveyances, except for elevators in single-family
and two-family homes and townhouses. Such inspection and
enforcement shall be carried out by an agency or department
designated by the local governing body.

B. Section 104.2 Interagency coordination. When any
inspection functions under this code are assigned to a local
agency other than the local building department, such agency
shall coordinate its reports of inspection with the local
building department.

13VAC5-63-50. Section 105 Local building department.

A. Section 105.1 Appointment of building official. Every
local building department shall have a building official as the
executive official in charge of the department. The building
official shall be appointed in a manner selected by the local
governing body. After permanent appointment, the building
official shall not be removed from office except for cause
after having been afforded a full opportunity to be heard on
specific and relevant charges by and before the appointing
authority. DHCD shall be notified by the appointing authority
within 30 days of the appointment or release of a permanent
or acting building official.

Note: Building officials are subject to sanctions in
accordance with the VCS.

B. Section 105.1.1 Qualifications of building official. The
building official shall have at least five years of building
experience as a licensed professional engineer or architect,
building, fire or trade inspector, contractor, housing inspector
or superintendent of building, fire or trade construction or at
least five years of building experience after obtaining a
degree in architecture or engineering, with at least three years
in responsible charge of work. Any combination of education
and experience that would confer equivalent knowledge and

ability shall be deemed to satisfy this requirement. The
building official shall have general knowledge of sound
engineering practice in respect to the design and construction
of structures, the basic principles of fire prevention, the
accepted requirements for means of egress and the installation
of elevators and other service equipment necessary for the
health, safety and general welfare of the occupants and the
public. The local governing body may establish additional
qualification requirements.

C. Section 105.1.2 Certification of building official. An
acting or permanent building official shall be certified as a
building official in accordance with the VCS within one year
after being appointed as acting or permanent building official.

Exception: A building official in place prior to April 1,
1983, shall not be required to meet the certification
requirements in this section while continuing to serve in the
same capacity in the same locality.

D. Section 105.1.3 Noncertified building official. Except for
a building official exempt from certification under the
exception to Section 105.1.2, any acting or permanent
building official who is not certified as a building official in
accordance with the VCS shall attend the core module of the
Virginia Building Code Academy or an equivalent course in
an individual or regional code academy accredited by DHCD
within 180 days of appointment. This requirement is in
addition to meeting the certification requirement in Section
105.1.2.

Note: Continuing education and periodic _training
requirements for DHCD certifications are set out in the VVCS.

E E. Section 105.2 Technical assistants. The building
official, subject to any limitations imposed by the locality,
shall be permitted to utilize technical assistants to assist the
building official in the enforcement of the USBC. DHCD
shall be notified by the building official within 60 days of the
employment of, contracting with or termination of all
technical assistants.

Note: Technical assistants are subject to sanctions in
accordance with the VCS.

G- F. Section 105.2.1 Qualifications of technical assistants.
A technical assistant shall have at least three years of
experience and general knowledge in at least one of the
following areas: building construction; building, fire or
housing inspections; plumbing, electrical or mechanical
trades; or fire protection, elevator or property maintenance

Volume 33, Issue 13

Virginia Register of Regulations

February 20, 2017

1527



Regulations

work. Any combination of education and experience that
would confer equivalent knowledge and ability shall be
deemed to satisfy this requirement. The locality may establish
additional qualification requirements.

H- G. Section 105.2.2 Certification of technical assistants. A
technical assistant shall be certified in the appropriate subject
area within 18 months after becoming a technical assistant.
When required by local policy to have two or more
certifications, a technical assistant shall obtain the additional
certifications within three years from the date of such
requirement.

Exception: A technical assistant in place prior to March 1,
1988, shall not be required to meet the certification

requirements in this section while continuing to serve in the
same capacity in the same locality.

Note: Continuing education and periodic__training
requirements for DHCD certifications are set out in the VCS.

& H. Section 105.3 Conflict of interest. The standards of
conduct for building officials and technical assistants shall be
in accordance with the provisions of the State and Local
Government Conflict of Interests Act, Chapter 31 (§ 2.2-3100
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.

K= |. Section 105.4 Records. The local building department

shall retain a record of applications received, permits,
certificates, notices and orders issued, fees collected and
reports of inspection in accordance with The Library of
Virginia's General Schedule Number Six.

13VAC5-63-70. Section 107 Fees.

A. Section 107.1 Authority for charging fees. In accordance
with 8§ 36-105 of the Code of Virginia, fees may be levied by
the local governing body in order to defray the cost of
enforcement of the USBC.

Note: See subsection D of § 36-105 of the Code of Virginia
for rules for permit fees involving property with easements or
liens.

B. Section 107.1.1 Fee schedule. The local governing body
shall establish a fee schedule incorporating unit rates, which
may be based on square footage, cubic footage, estimated cost
of construction or other appropriate criteria. A permit or any
amendments to an existing permit shall not be issued until the
designated fees have been paid, except that the building
official may authorize the delayed payment of fees.

C. Section 107.1.2 Refunds. When requested in writing by a
permit holder, the locality shall provide a fee refund in the

case of the revocation of a permit or the abandonment or
discontinuance of a building project. The refund shall not be
required to exceed an amount which correlates to work not
completed.

D. Section 107.1.3 Fees for generators used with amusement
devices. Fees for generators and associated wiring used with
amusement devices shall only be charged under the Virginia
Amusement Device Regulations (13VAC5-31).

E. Section 107.2 Code academy fee levy. In accordance with
subdivision 7 of § 36-137 of the Code of Virginia, the local
building department shall collect a 2.0% levy of fees charged
for permits issued under this code and transmit it quarterly to
DHCD to support training programs of the Virginia Building
Code Academy. Localities that maintain individual or
regional training academies accredited by DHCD shall retain
such levy.

13VAC5-63-80. Section 108 Application for permit.

A. Section 108.1 When applications are required.
Application for a permit shall be made to the building official
and a permit shall be obtained prior to the commencement of
any of the following activities, except that applications for
emergency  construction, alterations or  equipment
replacement shall be submitted by the end of the first working
day that follows the day such work commences. In addition,
the building official may authorize work to commence
pending the receipt of an application or the issuance of a
permit.

1. Construction or demolition of a building or structure.
Installations or alterations involving (i) the removal or
addition of any wall, partition or portion thereof, (ii) any
structural component, (iii) the repair or replacement of any
required component of a fire or smoke rated assembly, (iv)
the alteration of any required means of egress system, (v)
water supply and distribution system, sanitary drainage
system or vent system, (vi) electric wiring, (vii) fire
protection system, mechanical systems, or fuel supply
systems, or (viii) any equipment regulated by the USBC.

2. For change of occupancy, application for a permit shall
be made when a new certificate of occupancy is required
under Section 103.3.

3. Movement of a lot line that increases the hazard to or
decreases the level of safety of an existing building or
structure in comparison to the building code under which
such building or structure was constructed.

4. Removal or disturbing of any asbestos containing
materials during the construction or demolition of a
building or structure, including additions.

B. Section 108.2 Exemptions from application for permit.
Notwithstanding the requirements of Section 108.1,
application for a permit and any related inspections shall not
be required for the following; however, this section shall not
be construed to exempt such activities from other applicable
requirements of this code. In addition, when an owner or an
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owner's agent requests that a permit be issued for any of the 10. Replacement of above-ground existing LP-gas
following, then a permit shall be issued and any related containers of the same capacity in the same location and
inspections shall be required. associated regulators when installed by the serving gas

1. Installation of wiring and equipment that (i) operates at
less than 50 volts, (ii) is for network powered broadband
communications systems, or (iii) is exempt under Section
102.3(1) or 102.3(2), except when any such installations
are located in a plenum, penetrate fire rated or smoke
protected construction or are a component of any of the
following:

1.1. Fire alarm system.

1.2. Fire detection system.

1.3. Fire suppression system.

1.4. Smoke control system.

1.5. Fire protection supervisory system.
1.6. Elevator fire safety control system.

1.7. Access or egress control system or delayed egress
locking or latching system.

1.8. Fire damper.
1.9. Door control system.

2. One story detached structures used as tool and storage
sheds, playhouses or similar uses, provided the building
area does not exceed 256 square feet (23.78 m?) and the
structures are not classified as a Group F-1 or H
occupancy.

3. Detached prefabricated buildings housing the equipment
of a publicly regulated utility service, provided the floor
area does not exceed 150 square feet (14 m?).

4. Tents or air-supported structures, or both, that cover an
area of 900 square feet (84 m?) or less, including within
that area all connecting areas or spaces with a common
means of egress or entrance, provided such tents or
structures have an occupant load of 50 or less persons.

5. Fences of any height unless required for pedestrian
safety as provided for by Section 3306, or used for the
barrier for a swimming pool.

6. Concrete or masonry walls, provided such walls do not
exceed six feet in height above the finished grade.
Ornamental column caps shall not be considered to
contribute to the height of the wall and shall be permitted
to extend above the six feet height measurement.

7. Retaining walls supporting less than three feet of
unbalanced fill that are not constructed for the purpose of
impounding Class I, 1l or IlI-A liquids or supporting a
surcharge other than ordinary unbalanced fill.

8. Swimming pools that have a surface area not greater
than 150 square feet (13.95 m?), do not exceed 5,000
gallons (19 000 L) and are less than 24 inches (610 mm)
deep.

9. Signs under the conditions in Section H101.2 of
Appendix H.

supplier.
11. Flagpoles 30 feet (9144 mm) or less in height.

12. Temporary ramps serving dwelling units in Group R-3
and R-5 occupancies where the height of the entrance
served by the ramp is no more than 30 inches (762 mm)
above grade.

13. Construction work deemed by the building official to
be minor and ordinary and which does not adversely affect
public health or general safety.

14. Ordinary repairs that include the following:

14.1. Replacement of windows and doors with windows
and doors of similar operation and opening dimensions
that do not require changes to the existing framed
opening and that are not required to be fire rated in
Group R-2 where serving a single dwelling unit and in
Groups R-3, R-4 and R-5.

14.2. Replacement of plumbing fixtures and well pumps
in all groups without alteration of the water supply and
distribution systems, sanitary drainage systems or vent
systems.

14.3. Replacement of general use snap switches, dimmer
and control switches, 125 wvolt-15 or 20 ampere
receptacles, luminaires (lighting fixtures) and ceiling
(paddle) fans in Group R-2 where serving a single
dwelling unit and in Groups R-3, R-4 and R-5.

14.4. Replacement of mechanical appliances provided
such equipment is not fueled by gas or oil in Group R-2
where serving a single-family dwelling and in Groups R-
3, R-4 and R-5.

14.5. Replacement of an unlimited amount of roof
covering or siding in Groups R-3, R-4 or R-5 provided
the building or structure is not in an area where the
nominal design {3—second—gust) wind speed is greater

than 100 miles per hour (1606-kmthe) (44.7 meters per
second) and replacement of 100 square feet (9.29 m?) or

less of roof covering in all groups and all wind zones.

14.6. Replacement of 100 square feet (9.29 m?) or less of
roof decking in Groups R-3, R-4 or R-5 unless the
decking to be replaced was required at the time of
original construction to be fire-retardant-treated or
protected in some other way to form a fire-rated wall
termination.

14.7. Installation or replacement of floor finishes in all
occupancies.

14.8. Replacement of Class C interior wall or ceiling
finishes installed in Groups A, E and | and replacement
of all classes of interior wall or ceiling finishes in other
groups.

14.9. Installation or replacement of cabinetry or trim.
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14.10. Application of paint or wallpaper.

14.11. Other repair work deemed by the building official
to be minor and ordinary which does not adversely affect
public health or general safety.

15. Crypts, mausoleums, and columbaria structures not
exceeding 1500 square feet (139.35 m?) in area if the
building or structure is not for occupancy and used solely
for the interment of human or animal remains and is not
subject to special inspections.

16. Billboard safety upgrades to add or replace steel
catwalks, steel ladders, or steel safety cable.

Exception: Application for a permit may be required by the
building official for the installation of replacement siding,
roofing and windows in buildings within a historic district
designated by a locality pursuant to § 15.2-2306 of the Code
of Virginia.

C. Section 108.3 Applicant information, processing by mail.
Application for a permit shall be made by the owner or lessee
of the relevant property or the agent of either or by the RDP,
contractor or subcontractor associated with the work or any of
their agents. The full name and address of the owner, lessee
and applicant shall be provided in the application. If the
owner or lessee is a corporate body, when and to the extent
determined necessary by the building official, the full name
and address of the responsible officers shall also be provided.

A permit application may be submitted by mail and such
permit applications shall be processed by mail, unless the
permit applicant voluntarily chooses otherwise. In no case
shall an applicant be required to appear in person.

The building official may accept applications for a permit
through electronic submissions provided the information
required by this section is obtained.

D. Section 108.4 Prerequisites to obtaining permit. In
accordance with § 54.1-1111 of the Code of Virginia, any
person applying to the building department for the
construction, removal or improvement of any structure shall
furnish prior to the issuance of the permit either (i)
satisfactory proof to the building official that he is duly
licensed or certified under the terms or Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-
1000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia to carry out
or superintend the same or (ii) file a written statement,
supported by an affidavit, that he is not subject to licensure or
certification as a contractor or subcontractor pursuant to
Chapter 11 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. The
applicant shall also furnish satisfactory proof that the taxes or
license fees required by any county, city, or town have been
paid so as to be qualified to bid upon or contract for the work
for which the permit has been applied.

E. Section 108.5 Mechanics' lien agent designation. In
accordance with 8 36-98.01 of the Code of Virginia, a
building permit issued for any one-family or two-family
residential dwelling shall at the time of issuance contain, at
the request of the applicant, the name, mailing address, and

telephone number of the mechanics' lien agent as defined in
§ 43-1 of the Code of Virginia. If the designation of a
mechanics' lien agent is not so requested by the applicant, the
building permit shall at the time of issuance state that none
has been designated with the words "None Designated."

Note: In accordance with 8 43-4.01A of the Code of
Virginia, a permit may be amended after it has been initially
issued to name a mechanics' lien agent or a new mechanics'
lien agent.

F. Section 108.6 Application form, description of work. The
application for a permit shall be submitted on a form or forms
supplied by the local building department. The application
shall contain a general description and location of the
proposed work and such other information as determined
necessary by the building official.

G. Section 108.7 Amendments to application. An
application for a permit may be amended at any time prior to
the completion of the work governed by the permit.
Additional construction documents or other records may also
be submitted in a like manner. All such submittals shall have
the same effect as if filed with the original application for a
permit and shall be retained in a like manner as the original
filings.

H. Section 108.8 Time limitation of application. An
application for a permit for any proposed work shall be
deemed to have been abandoned six months after the date of
filing unless such application has been pursued in good faith
or a permit has been issued, except that the building official is
authorized to grant one or more extensions of time if a
justifiable cause is demonstrated.

13VAC5-63-170. Section 117 Temporary and moved
buildings and structures; demolition.

A. Section 117.1 Temporary buildings and structures. The
building official is authorized to issue a permit for temporary
buildings or structures. Such permits shall be limited as to
time of service, but shall not be permitted for more than one
year, except that upon the permit holder's written request, the
building official may grant one or more extensions of time,
not to exceed one year per extension. The building official is
authorized to terminate the approval and order the demolition
or removal of temporary buildings or structures during the
period authorized by the permit when determined necessary.

B. Section 117.1.1 Temporary uses within existing buildings
and structures. The building official shall review and may
approve conditions or modifications for temporary uses,
including hypothermia and hyperthermia shelters, that may be
necessary as long as the use meets the spirit and functional
intent intended by this code. The building official is
authorized to terminate the approval and order the
discontinuance of the temporary use during the period
authorized by the permit when determined necessary. The
building official shall notify the appropriate fire official or
fire chief of the approved temporary use.
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C. Section 117.2 Moved buildings and structures. Any
building or structure moved into a locality or moved to a new
location within a locality shall not be occupied or used until a
certification certificate of occupancy is issued for the new
location. Such moved buildings or structures shall be required
to comply with the requirements of this—code—fora—newly

| buildi | - | of

applicablerequirements-of the VRC VEBC.

D. Section 117.3 Demolition of buildings and structures.
Prior to the issuance of a permit for the demolition of any
building or structure, the owner or the owner's agent shall
provide certification to the building official that all service
connections of utilities have been removed, sealed or plugged
satisfactorily and a release has been obtained from the
associated utility company. The certification shall further
provide that written notice has been given to the owners of
adjoining lots and any other lots that may be affected by the
temporary removal of utility wires or the temporary
disconnection or termination of other services or facilities
relative to the demolition. In addition, the requirements of
Chapter 33 of the IBC for any necessary retaining walls or
fences during demolition shall be applicable and when a
building or structure is demolished or removed, the
established grades shall be restored.

13VAC5-63-200. Chapter 2 Definitions.

A. Add the following definitions to Section 202 of the IBC
to read:

Aboveground liquid fertilizer storage tank (ALFST). A
device that contains an accumulation of liquid fertilizer (i)
constructed of nonearthen materials, such as concrete, steel
or plastic, that provide structural support; (ii) having a
capacity of 100,000 gallons (378 500 L) or greater; and
(iii) the volume of which is more than 90% above the
surface of the ground. The term does not include any
wastewater treatment or wastewater storage tank, utility or
industry pollution control equipment.

Building regulations. Any law, rule, resolution, regulation,
ordinance or code, general or special, or compilation
thereof, heretofore or hereafter enacted or adopted by the
Commonwealth or any county or municipality, including

departments, boards, bureaus, commissions, or other
agencies thereof, relating to construction, reconstruction,
alteration, conversion, repair, maintenance, or use of
structures and buildings and installation of equipment
therein. The term does not include zoning ordinances or
other land use controls that do not affect the manner of
construction or materials to be used in the erection,
alteration or repair of a building or structure.

Chemical fume hood. A ventilated enclosure designed to
contain _and exhaust fumes, gases, vapors, mists, and
particulate matter generated within the hood.

Construction. The construction, reconstruction, alteration,
repair, or conversion of buildings and structures.

Day-night average sound level (Ldn). A 24-hour energy
average sound level expressed in dBA, with a 10 decibel
penalty applied to noise occurring between 10 p.m. and 7
a.m.

DHCD. The Virginia Department of Housing and
Community Development.

Emergency communication equipment. Emergency
communication equipment, includes but is not limited to
two-way radio communications, signal booster, bi-
directional amplifiers, radiating cable systems, or internal
multiple antenna, or a combination of the foregoing.

Emergency public safety personnel. Emergency public
safety personnel includes firefighters, emergency medical
personnel, law-enforcement officers, and other emergency
public safety personnel routinely called upon to provide
emergency assistance to members of the public in a wide
variety of emergency situations, including but not limited
to fires, medical emergencies, violent crimes, and terrorist
attacks.

Equipment. Plumbing, heating, electrical, ventilating, air-
conditioning and refrigeration equipment, elevators,
dumbwaiters, escalators, and other mechanical additions or
installations.

Farm building or structure. A building or structure not used
for residential purposes, located on property where farming
operations take place, and used primarily for any of the
following uses or combination thereof:
1. Storage, handling, production, display, sampling or
sale of agricultural, horticultural, floricultural or
silvicultural products produced in the farm.

2. Sheltering, raising, handling, processing or sale of
agricultural animals or agricultural animal products.
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3. Business or office uses relating to the farm operations.

4. Use of farm machinery or equipment or maintenance
or storage of vehicles, machinery or equipment on the
farm.

5. Storage or use of supplies and materials used on the
farm.

6. Implementation of best management practices
associated with farm operations.

Hospice facility. An institution, place, or building owned
or operated by a hospice provider and licensed by the
Virginia Department of Health as a hospice facility to
provide room, board, and palliative and supportive medical
and other health services to terminally ill patients and their
families, including respite and symptom management, on a
24-hour basis to individuals requiring such care pursuant to
the orders of a physician.

Industrialized building. A combination of one or more
sections or modules, subject to state regulations and
including the necessary electrical, plumbing, heating,
ventilating and other service systems, manufactured off-
site and transported to the point of use for installation or
erection, with or without other specified components, to
comprise a finished building. Manufactured homes shall
not be considered industrialized buildings for the purpose
of this code.

Laboratory suite. A fire-rated enclosed laboratory area that
will provide one or more laboratory spaces, within a Group
B educational occupancy, that are permitted to include
ancillary uses such as offices, bathrooms, and corridors
that are contiguous with the laboratory area and are
constructed in accordance with Section 430.3.

LBBCA. Local board of building code appeals.

Liquid fertilizer. A fluid in which a fertilizer is in true
solution. This term does not include anhydrous ammonia
or a solution used in pollution control.

Local building department. The agency or agencies of any
local governing body charged with the administration,
supervision, or enforcement of this code, approval of
construction documents, inspection of buildings or
structures, or issuance of permits, licenses, certificates or
similar documents.

Local governing body. The governing body of any city,
county or town in this Commonwealth.

Locality. A city, county or town in this Commonwealth.

Manufactured home. A structure subject to federal
regulation, which is transportable in one or more sections;
is eight body feet or more in width and 40 body feet or
more in length in the traveling mode, or is 320 or more
square feet when erected on site; is built on a permanent
chassis; is designed to be used as a single-family dwelling,
with or without a permanent foundation, when connected
to the required utilities; and includes the plumbing,

heating, air-conditioning, and electrical systems contained
in the structure.

Marina. Any installation, operating under public or private
ownership, that has a structure providing dockage or
moorage for boats, other than paddleboats or rowboats, and
provides, through sale, rental, fee, or on a free basis, any
equipment, supply, or service, including fuel, electricity, or
water, for the convenience of the public or its lessees,
renters, or users of its facilities. A dock or pier with or
without slips that exclusively serves a single-family
residential lot for the use of the owner of the lot is not a
marina.

Night club. Any building in which the main use is a place
of public assembly that provides exhibition, performance
or other forms of entertainment; serves alcoholic
beverages; and provides music and space for dancing.

Permissible fireworks. Any sparklers, fountains, Pharaoh's
serpents, caps for pistols, or pinwheels commonly known
as whirligigs or spinning jennies.

Short-term holding area. An area containing a holding cell
or cells, or a holding room or rooms, including associated
rooms or spaces where the occupants are restrained or
detained by the use of security measures not under the
occupant’s control for less than 24 hours.

Skirting. A weather-resistant material used to enclose the
space from the bottom of the manufactured home to grade.

Slip. A berth or space where a boat may be secured to a
fixed or floating structure, including a dock, finger pier,
boat lift, or mooring buoy.

Sound transmission class (STC) rating. A single number
characterizing the sound reduction performance of a
material tested in accordance with ASTM E90-90,
"Laboratory = Measurement of  Airborne  Sound
Transmission Loss of Building Partitions."

State regulated care facility (SRCF). A building with an
occupancy in Group R-2, R-3, R-4 or R-5 occupied by
persons in the care of others where program oversight is
provided by the Virginia Department of Social Services,
the Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and
Developmental Services, the Virginia Department of
Education or the Virginia Department of Juvenile Justice.

State Review Board. The Virginia State Building Code
Technical Review Board as established under § 36-108 of
the Code of Virginia.

Teaching and research laboratory. A building or portion of
a building where hazardous materials are stored, used, and
handled for the purpose of testing, analysis, teaching,
research, or developmental activities on a nonproduction
basis rather than in a manufacturing process.

Technical assistant. Any person employed by or under an
extended contract to a local building department or local
enforcing agency for enforcing the USBC, including but
not limited to inspectors and plans reviewers. For the
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purpose of this definition, an extended contract shall be a
contract with an aggregate term of 18 months or longer.

Tenable environmental. An environment in which the
products of combustion, including smoke, toxic gases,
particulates, and heat, are limited or otherwise restricted in
order to maintain the impact on occupants, including those
in the area of fire origin, to a level that is not life
threatening and permits the rescue of occupants for a
limited time.

Unsafe building or structure. Any building or structure that
is under construction and has not received a permanent
certificate of occupancy, final inspection, or for which a
permit was never issued or has expired and has been
determined by the building official to be of faulty
construction that is so damaged, decayed, dilapidated,
structurally unsafe, or of such faulty construction or
unstable foundation that partial or complete collapse is
likely, or any unfinished construction that does not have a
valid permit, or the permit has been revoked, and the
condition of the unfinished construction presents an
immediate serious and imminent threat to the life and
safety of the occupants or the public.

VADR. The Virginia Amusement Device Regulations
(13VAC5-31).

VCS. The Virginia Certification Standards (13VAC5-21).

Working day. A day other than Saturday, Sunday or a legal
local, state or national holiday.

B. Change the following definitions in Section 202 of the
IBC to read:

i i ih i i 0
Wit i al Ia|e|I|t§F Ie_l_tl purpose of eﬁeem geare—iis |a_II
during-any-segment-of-the24-hours:
Addition. An extension or increase in floor area, number of
stories, or height of a building or structure.

Ambulatory health care facility. Buildings or portions
thereof used to provide medical care on less than a 24-hour
basis that are licensed by the Virginia Department of
Health as outpatient surgical hospitals.

Automatic fire-extinguishing system. An approved system
of devices and equipment that automatically detects a fire
and discharges an approved fire-extinguishing agent onto
or in the area of a fire and includes among other systems an
automatic sprinkler system, unless otherwise expressly
stated.

Building. A combination of materials, whether portable or
fixed, having a roof to form a structure for the use or
occupancy by persons, or property. The word "building"
shall be construed as though followed by the words "or
part or parts thereof" unless the context clearly requires a
different meaning. "Building" shall not include roadway
tunnels and bridges owned by the Virginia Department of

Transportation, which shall be governed by construction
and design standards approved by the Virginia
Commonwealth Transportation Board.

For application of this code, each portion of a building that
is completely separated from other portions by fire walls
complying with Section 706 shall be considered as a
separate building (see Section 503.1).

Change of occupancy. A change in the use or occupancy of
any building or structure that would place the building or
structure in_a different division of the same group of
occupancies or in a different group of occupancies or a
change in the purpose or level of activity within a building
or_structure that involves a change in application of the
requirements of this code.

Clinic, outpatient. Buildings or portions thereof used to
provide medical care on less than a 24-hour basis that are
not licensed by the Virginia Department of Health as
outpatient surgical hospitals.

Custodial care. Assistance with day-to-day living tasks,
such as assistance with cooking, taking medication,
bathing, using toilet facilities, and other tasks of daily
living. In other than in hospice facilities, custodial care
includes occupants that have the ability to respond to
emergency situations and evacuate at a slower rate or who
have mental and psychiatric complications, or both.

Grodp—heme.—A—facility for—social—re |ab|I|tat|e|_ ©
sdbstance a_buse or-mental-health p|e_ble ns tnat.ee itatis-a
group-nousing al & |g|e_n el “'_at provides-custodial-care-but
Existing structure. A structure (i) for which a legal building
permit has been issued under any edition of the USBC, (ii)
which has been previously approved, or (iii) which was
built prior to the initial edition of the USBC. For
application of provisions in flood hazard areas, an existing
structure is any building or structure for which the start of
construction commenced before the effective date of the
community's first flood plain management code, ordinance,
or standard.

Owner. The owner or owners of the freehold of the
premises or lesser estate therein, a mortgagee or vendee in
possession, assignee of rents, receiver, executor, trustee or
lessee in control of a building or structure.

Registered Design Professional (RDP). An architect or
professional engineer, licensed to practice architecture or
engineering, as defined under § 54.1-400 of the Code of
Virginia.

Substantial damage. For the purpose of determining
compliance with the flood provisions of this code, damage
of any origin sustained by a structure whereby the cost of
restoring the structure to its before-damaged condition
would equal or exceed 50% of the market value of the
structure before the damage occurred.

Volume 33, Issue 13

Virginia Register of Regulations

February 20, 2017

1533



Regulations

Substantial improvement. For the purpose of determining

303.1.2 Small assembly spaces. The following rooms and

compliance with the flood provisions of this code, any

spaces shall be permitted to be classified as Group B

improvement, including repair, reconstruction,

occupancies or as part of the assembly occupancy:

rehabilitation, alteration, or addition, or other improvement
of a building or structure or a portion thereof the cost of
which equals or exceeds 50% of the market value of the
building or structure before the improvement or repair is
started. If the building or structure or portion thereof has
sustained substantial damage, any improvements are
considered substantial improvements regardless of the
actual improvement performed. The term does not,
however, include either:

1. Any project for improvement of a building or a
structure or portion thereof required to correct existing
health, sanitary, or safety code violations identified by
the building official and that is the minimum necessary to
assure safe living conditions; or

2. Any alteration of a historic structure, provided that the
alteration will not preclude the building or structure's
continued designation as a historic building or structure.

Swimming pool. An—aguatic—vessel A pool or spa as
defined in the International Swimming Pool and Spa Code

(ISPSC).

Structure. An assembly of materials forming a construction
for occupancy or use including stadiums, gospel and circus
tents, reviewing stands, platforms, stagings, observation
towers, radio towers, water tanks, storage tanks
(underground and aboveground), trestles, piers, wharves,
swimming pools, amusement devices, storage bins, and
other structures of this general nature but excluding water
wells. The word "structure™ shall be construed as though
followed by the words "or part or parts thereof" unless the
context clearly requires a different meaning. "Structure"
shall not include roadway tunnels and bridges owned by
the Virginia Department of Transportation, which shall be
governed by construction and design standards approved
by the Virginia Commonwealth Transportation Board.

C. Delete the following definitions from Section 202 of the

1. A room or space used for assembly purposes with an
occupant load of less than 50 persons and ancillary to
another occupancy.

2. A room or space used for assembly purposes that is
less than 750 square feet (70 m?) in area and ancillary to
another occupancy.

B. Change Section 303.6 of the IBC to read:

303.6 Assembly Group A-5. Assembly uses intended for
participation in or viewing outdoor activities including, but
not limited to:

Amusement park structures
Bleachers
Grandstands
Stadiums
Swimming pools
C. Add Section 304.1.1 to the IBC to read:

304.1.1 Day support and day treatment facilities. Day
support and day treatment facilities licensed by the
Virginia _Department of Behavioral Health and
Developmental Services shall be permitted to be classified
as Group B occupancies provided all of the following
conditions are met:

1. Participants who may require physical assistance from
staff to respond to an emergency situation shall be
located on the level of exit discharge.

2. Any change in elevation within the exit access on the
level of exit discharge shall be made by means of a ramp
or sloped walkway.

3. Where the facilities are located more than two stories
above grade, an automatic sprinkler system shall be
provided throughout the building in accordance with
Section 903.3.1.1.

IBC: B- D. Change exception 43 14 of Section 3674 307.1.1 of
' the IBC and add exception 15 to Section 307.1.1 of the IBC

Agricultural, building to read:
Existing structure-(For-Chapter34) 13- 14. The storage of black powder, smokeless propellant
Approved and small arms primers in Groups M, R-3 and R-5 and

special industrial explosive devices in Groups B, F, M and
S, provided such storage conforms to the quantity limits
and requirements prescribed in the IFC, as amended in
Section 307.9.

15. The storage of distilled spirits and wines in wooden
barrels and casks. Distillation, blending, bottling, and other
hazardous materials storage or processing shall be in
separate control areas complying with Section 414.2.

Historic buildings
13VAC5-63-210.
classification.

A. Change Sections 303.1.1 and 303.1.2 of the IBC to read:

303.1.1 Small buildings and tenant spaces. A building or

tenant space used for assembly purposes with an occupant

load of less than 50 persons shall be permitted to be
classified as a Group B occupancy.

Chapter 3 Use and occupancy
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C. E. Change the “Censumerfireworks"row-in-and "Flammable liguid, combination (1A, IB, IC)" row in Table 307.1(1), add

a new "Permissible fireworks" row to Table 307.1(1) of the IBC, and add footnote "r" to Table 307.1(1) of the IBC to read:

Consumer 146 | H-3 | 125% N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A NIA NIA
fireworks

Flammable NA H2 | NA 120%" | NA NA 120%" NA NA 30%"
liquid, or

combination H-3

(1A, 1B, IC)

Permissible NIA NLA NLA NIA NLA NLA NLA
fireworks 14G | H3 | 125% NA NA NA NA NA NA NA

r. The tabular value for distilled spirit distillation and blending rooms is 120 gallons.

D: F. Add Section 307.9 to the IBC to read:

307.9 Amendments. The following changes shall be made
to the IFC for the use of Exception 43 14 in Section 30+t
307.1.1:

1. Change the following definition in Section 202 of the
IFC to read:

Smokeless propellants. Solid propellants, commonly
referred to as smokeless powders, or any propellants
classified by DOTn as smokeless propellants in
accordance with NA3178 (Smokeless Powder for Small
Arms), used in small arms ammunition, firearms,
cannons, rockets, propellant-actuated devices, and similar
articles.

2. Change Section 314.1 of the IFC to read as follows:

314.1 General. Indoor displays constructed within any
building or structure shall comply with Sections 314.2
through 314.5.

3. Add new Section 314.5 to the IFC to read as follows:

314.5 Smokeless powder and small arms primers.
Vendors shall not store, display or sell smokeless powder
or small arms primers during trade shows inside
exhibition halls except as follows:

1. The amount of smokeless powder each vender may
store is limited to the storage arrangements and storage
amounts established in Section 5606.5.2.1.

2. Smokeless powder shall remain in the manufacturer's
original sealed container and the container shall remain
sealed while inside the building. The repackaging of
smokeless powder shall not be performed inside the
building. Damaged containers shall not be repackaged
inside the building and shall be immediately removed
from the building in such manner to avoid spilling any
powder.

3. There shall be at least 50 feet separation between
vendors and 20 feet from any exit.

4. Small arms primers shall be displayed and stored in
the manufacturer's original packaging and in accordance
with the requirements of Section 5606.5.2.3.

4. Change Exception 4 and add Exceptions 10 and 11 to
Section 5601.1 of the IFC as follows:

4. The possession, storage and use of not more than 15
pounds (6.75 kg) of commercially manufactured sporting
black powder, 20 pounds (9 kg) of smokeless powder and
any amount of small arms primers for hand loading of
small arms ammunition for personal consumption.

10. The display of small arms primers in Group M when
in the original manufacturer's packaging.

11. The possession, storage and use of not more than 50
pounds (23 kg) of commercially manufactured sporting
black powder, 100 pounds (45 kg) of smokeless powder,
and small arms primers for hand loading of small arms
ammunition for personal consumption in Group R-3 or
R-5, or 200 pounds (91 kg) of smokeless powder when
stored in the manufacturer's original containers in
detached Group U structures at least 10 feet (3048 mm)
from inhabited buildings and are accessory to Group R-3
or R-5.

5. Change Section 5606.4 of the IFC to read as follows:

5606.4 Storage in residences. Propellants for personal
use in quantities not exceeding 50 pounds (23 kg) of
black powder or 100 pounds (45 kg) of smokeless
powder shall be stored in original containers in
occupancies limited to Group R-3 and R-5 or 200 pounds
(91 kg) of smokeless powder when stored in the
manufacturer's original containers in detached Group U
structures at least 10 feet (3048 mm) from inhabited
buildings and are accessory to Group R-3 or R-5. In other
than Group R-3 or R-5, smokeless powder in quantities
exceeding 20 pounds (9 kg) but not exceeding 50 pounds
(23 kg) shall be kept in a wooden box or cabinet having
walls of at least one inch (25 mm) nominal thickness or
equivalent.
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6. Delete Sections 5606.4.1 and 5606.4.2 of the IFC.
7. Change Section 5606.5.1.1 of the IFC to read as follows:

5606.5.1.1 Smokeless propellant. No more than 100
pounds (45 kg) of smokeless propellants in containers of
eight pounds (3.6 kg) or less capacity shall be displayed
in Group M occupancies.

8. Delete Section 5606.5.1.3 of the IFC.
9. Change Section 5606.5.2.1 of the IFC as follows:

5606.5.2.1 Smokeless propellant. Commercial stocks of
smokeless propellants shall be stored as follows:

1. Quantities exceeding 20 pounds (9 kg), but not
exceeding 100 pounds (45 kg) shall be stored in portable
wooden boxes having walls of at least one inch (25 mm)
nominal thickness or equivalent.

2. Quantities exceeding 100 pounds (45 kg), but not
exceeding 800 pounds (363 kg), shall be stored in storage
cabinets having walls at least one inch (25 mm) nominal
thickness or equivalent. Not more than 400 pounds (182
kg) shall be stored in any one cabinet, and cabinets shall
be separated by a distance of at least 25 feet (7620 mm)
or by a fire partition having a fire-resistance rating of at
least one hour.

3. Storage of quantities exceeding 800 pounds (363 Kk