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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair; Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. Hopkins; Leslie L. Lilley; 

E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; 

Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Mark J. Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

March 2017 through April 2018 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

33:15 March 1, 2017 March 20, 2017 

33:16 March 15, 2017 April 3, 2017 

33:17 March 29, 2017 April 17, 2017 

33:18 April 12, 2017 May 1, 2017 

33:19 April 26, 2017 May 15, 2017 

33:20 May 10, 2017 May 29, 2017 

33:21 May 24, 2017 June 12, 2017 

33:22 June 7, 2017 June 26, 2017 

33:23 June 21, 2017 July 10, 2017 

33:24 July 5, 2017 July 24, 2017 

33:25 July 19, 2017 August 7, 2017 

33:26 August 2, 2017 August 21, 2017 

34:1 August 16, 2017 September 4, 2017 

34:2 August 30, 2017 September 18, 2017 

34:3 September 13, 2017 October 2, 2017 

34:4 September 27, 2017 October 16, 2017 

34:5 October 11, 2017 October 30, 2017 

34:6 October 25, 2017 November 13, 2017 

34:7 November 8, 2017 November 27, 2017 

34:8 November 21, 2017 (Tuesday) December 11, 2017 

34:9 December 6, 2017 December 25, 2017 

34:10 December 19, 2017 (Tuesday) January 8, 2018 

34:11 January 3, 2018 January 22, 2018 

34:12 January 17, 2018 February 5, 2018 

34:13 January 31, 2018 February 19, 2018 

34:14 February 14, 2018 March 5, 2018 

34:15 February 28, 2018 March 19, 2018 

34:16 March 14, 2018 April 2, 2018 

34:17 March 28, 2018 April 16, 2018 

34:18 April 11, 2018 April 30, 2018 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services intends to consider amending 2VAC5-

675, Regulations Governing the Pesticide Fees Charged 

By the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services. The purpose of the proposed action is to conduct a 

comprehensive review of the current fee structure and adjust 

the fee structure, if appropriate, to reflect actual costs of 

program implementation. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-3906 of the Code Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 19, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Liza Fleeson Trossbach, Program Manager, 

Office of Pesticide Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 371-6559, FAX (804) 371-2283, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email liza.fleeson@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5041; Filed February 22, 2017, 11:50 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

EDITOR'S NOTE: This notice was previously published in 

33:9 VA.R. 869 December 26, 2016; however, the last 

sentence of the first paragraph was inadvertently omitted. The 

Department of Medical Assistance Services has requested that 

the notice be republished with an additional 30-day public 

comment period. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-

50, Amount, Duration, and Scope of Medical and 

Remedial Care Services, and 12VAC30-120, Waivered 

Services. The purpose of the proposed action is to ensure that 

Medicaid authorization and reimbursement for consumer-

directed personal care, respite, and companion services is 

limited to 40 hours per week for an attendant serving a single 

consumer, in accordance with Item 306 PPPP of Chapter 780 

of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 2016 Appropriation Act. 

This action will also clarify that the limit will not be applied 

to live-in attendants consistent with the U.S. Department of 

Labor's requirements under the Fair Labor Standards Act, as 

set out in Fact Sheet 79B. This action applies to EPSDT-

covered attendant services as well as waiver-covered 

attendant services. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 19, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4749; Filed March 7, 2017, 2:26 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED 

INTERIOR DESIGNERS AND LANDSCAPE 
ARCHITECTS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified Interior 

Designers, and Landscape Architects intends to consider 

amending 18VAC10-20, Board for Architects, Professional 

Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers 

and Landscape Architects Regulations. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to conduct a regulatory review to ensure 

the board's regulations are clearly written and easily 

understandable, reflective of changes in technology and 

training, and representative of current professional and 

industry standards. The regulations will also be reviewed for 

consistency, and language may be modified for ease of 

understanding by the general public and regulants. The board 

may make other changes it identifies as necessary during the 

regulatory review process. Although the last general review 

of the regulations became effective on January 1, 2016, that 

regulatory action was first initiated in 2010. In the time 

elapsed between initiation of the action and its effective date, 

professional and industry standards appear to have changed 

enough to warrant another review. Ensuring that the 

regulations remain consistent with current professional 

practice standards is essential for establishing regulants' 

minimum qualifications to perform their duties while 

protecting the health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of the 

Commonwealth. 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol33/iss09/v33i09.pdf


Notices of Intended Regulatory Action 

Volume 33, Issue 15 Virginia Register of Regulations March 20, 2017 

1870 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-404 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 19, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive Director, 

Board for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land 

Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers and Landscape 

Architects, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (866) 465-6206, or 

email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5025; Filed February 17, 2017, 3:01 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF LAW 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC45-20. Regulations Regarding 

the Virginia Human Rights Act (adding 1VAC45-20-10 

through 1VAC45-20-130).  

Statutory Authority: § 2.2-520 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 19, 2017. 

Effective Date: May 5, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Paul Kugelman, Assistant Attorney General 

and Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Law, 202 North 

9th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6576, 

or email pkugelman@oag.state.va.us. 

Basis: Subdivision B 2 of § 2.2-520 of the Code of Virginia 

states that it is the Department of Law's Division of Human 

Rights duty to, among other things, adopt and amend 

regulations concerning the Virginia Human Rights Act 

pursuant to the Virginia Administrative Process Act (APA) 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). While these 

amendments, in substantial part, consist of technical 

amendments reflecting the Department of Law's adopting 

these regulations to reflect a statutory change in Virginia law, 

which are exempted from the APA under § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of 

the Code of Virginia, the Division of Human Rights is now 

permitted 30 working days from the receipt of a complaint to 

request information and the respondent is now permitted 21 

working days. As these changes are expected to be 

noncontroversial, they are submitted under the fast-track 

rulemaking process provided for in § 2.2-4012.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Purpose: To further the policy of the Commonwealth to 

ensure that all Virginians are provided access to employment, 

places of public employment, including educational 

institutions, and in real estate transactions free from illegal 

discrimination, the Division of Human Rights adopts and 

promulgates these regulations to serve as the division's 

regulations with regard to continuing the operations of the 

former Virginia Human Rights Council. After this fast-track 

rulemaking action is effective, the division intends to begin a 

general regulatory review process to consider and make 

necessary substantive changes to the division's regulations. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

promulgation of this regulation should be noncontroversial 

because the division is, in substantial part, adopting the 

regulations of its predecessor, the Virginia Human Rights 

Council, with technical changes reflecting the division 

assuming administrative and enforcement authority of the 

Virginia Human Rights Act and the substantive changes only 

expand deadlines. 

Substance: As previously noted, the vast majority of the 

amendments are technical in nature either reflecting the 

Department of Law's Division of Human Rights adoption of 

the former Human Rights Council's regulations or providing 

clarifying language. Changes in substance are in 1VAC45-20-

80 A, which now allows the division 30 working days from 

the date of the filing of the complaint to request information 

from the respondent and allows the respondent 21 working 

days to respond to the division's request. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the division's regulations is 

that the Virginia Administrative Code will be updated to 

accurately reflect that the operations of the former Virginia 

Human Rights Council have been transferred to the division. 

There are no disadvantages of this action to the public or to 

the agency. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department of Law proposes to update and adopt the 

regulation that governed human rights complaints under the 

now defunct Virginia Human Rights Council.
1
 

Result of Analysis. Benefits outweigh costs for all proposed 

changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. In 2012, as part of the 

Governor's initiative to streamline executive branch agencies 

and regulation, the General Assembly abolished the Virginia 

Human Rights Council and moved its investigative functions 

to the Office of the Attorney General. In order to implement 

this statutory change, the Department of Law now proposes to 

adopt this Virginia Human Rights Council's regulation, 

update statutory references and correct obsolete language as 

well as add several definitions. None of the proposed changes 

to this regulation are substantive changes to the process of 

reporting suspected human rights violations and having those 

reports investigated. Consequently, no affected entity is likely 

to incur any cost or harm on account of these changes. These 

entities will benefit from clarifying changes that, for instance, 

correct the address at which complaints can be filed in person 

or by mail and insert an email address so that complaints can 

be filed electronically.  
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Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulatory 

changes will affect all individuals who file human rights 

complaints as well as the employers, places of public 

accommodation and education institutions that might be the 

subject of those complaints. Department of Law staff report 

that businesses with six or more employees are subject to this 

regulation and that they receive approximately 120 to 150 

complaints per year alleging discrimination. 

Localities Particularly Affected. These proposed regulatory 

changes will not particularly affect any locality.  

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No small businesses will be 

adversely affected by these proposed regulatory changes. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 

businesses will be adversely affected by these proposed 

regulatory changes.  

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. No businesses will be adversely affected by these 

proposed regulatory changes. 

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 

see any adverse impacts on account of these proposed 

regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely 

affected by these proposed changes. 

_________________________________ 
1 The Virginia Human Rights Council was eliminated, and its investigative 
functions were transferred to the Attorney General's office, by Chapter 803 of 

the 2012 Acts of the Assembly. Chapter 803 can be accessed electronically 

here: http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?ses=121&typ=bil&val= 
ch803  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Law concurs with the economic impact 

analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Chapters 803 and 835 of 2012 Acts of Assembly abolished 

the Human Rights Council and transferred the council's 

regulations to the Division of Human Rights of the 

Department of Law. This regulatory action (i) renumbers 

the regulations and places them under the Department of 

Law in the Virginia Administrative Code and makes minor 

or technical changes to reflect Chapters 803 and 835; (ii) 

specifies the elements that a complaint must contain, when 

a response to the division's request for information must be 

submitted, and the method for submitting correspondence 

after filing the initial complaint; and (iii) modifies certain 

timeframes. 

CHAPTER 10 

REGULATIONS TO SAFEGUARD VIRGINIANS' 

HUMAN RIGHTS FROM UNLAWFUL 

DISCRIMINATION 

CHAPTER 20 

REGULATIONS REGARDING THE VIRGINIA HUMAN 

RIGHTS ACT 

22VAC25-10-10. 1VAC45-20-10. Policy.  

The purpose of this chapter is to supplement the Virginia 

Human Rights Act (§ 2.1-714 2.2-3900 et seq.) of the Code of 

Virginia, which safeguards all individuals within the 

Commonwealth from unlawful discrimination.  

22VAC25-10-20. 1VAC45-20-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meaning, meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Act" means the Virginia Human Rights Act, Chapter 43 39 

(§ 2.1- 714 2.2-3900 et seq.) of Title 2.1 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Complaint" means a written statement by a person or by the 

council division alleging an act of discrimination prohibited 

by § 2.1-716 2.2-3901 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Complainant" or "charging party" means a person who 

claims to have been injured by a discriminatory practice.  

"Designee" means an individual named designated by the 

director to act in his stead stay pursuant to this chapter.  

"Director" means an individual appointed by the Governor 

designated by the Attorney General to oversee the division 

and perform the duties and responsibilities outlined in the 

Act.  

"Discharge" means an actual or constructive termination or 

separation of an employee from employment. 

"Division" means the Division of Human Rights of the 

Department of Law.  

"Hearing officer" means a person qualified from the list of 

hearing officers maintained by the Executive Secretary of the 

Supreme Court of Virginia.  

"Respondent" means a person against whom a complaint of 

violation of the Act is filed. Each reference to a 

"complainant" and "respondent" shall be deemed to refer, as 

appropriate, to the singular and plural. In addition those terms 

and any other referring to people will be considered 

masculine or feminine.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?ses=121&typ=bil&val=ch803
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?ses=121&typ=bil&val=ch803
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22VAC25-10-30. 1VAC45-20-30. Complaints by or on 

behalf of persons claiming to be aggrieved.  

A. A complaint on behalf of a person claiming to be 

aggrieved may be made by any person, agency, or 

organization; however, the complaint must shall be made in 

writing. The written complaint need not identify by name the 

person on whose behalf it is made. The person making the 

complaint, however, shall provide the council division orally 

with the name, address, and telephone number of the person 

on whose behalf the complaint is made. During the council's 

division's investigation, the director shall verify the complaint 

with the person on whose behalf the complaint is made. The 

council division may reveal the identity of complainants to 

federal, state, or local agencies that have agreed to keep such 

information confidential.  

B. The complainant has the responsibility of providing shall 

provide the council division with notice of any change in 

address and with notice of any prolonged absence from his 

current address.  

C. A complaint shall be filed with the council division not 

later than 180 days from the day upon which the alleged 

discriminatory practice occurred.  

22VAC25-10-40. 1VAC45-20-40. Where to make a 

complaint.  

A complaint may be made filed in person at 1100 E. Bank 

Street, Washington Building, 12th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 

23219 or by mail to 202 North 9th Street, Richmond, VA 

23219 between the hours of 9:30 9 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday 

through Friday; or by mail at P.O. Box 717, Richmond, 

Virginia 23206; or by FAX to (804) 225-3294; or by email to 

human_rights@oag.state.va.us. Telephone calls may be made 

at 1-800-633-5510 or to (804) 224-2292 225-2292 in order to 

receive information on how and where to file complaints. No 

complaint will be taken over the phone. Complaints shall not 

be accepted over the telephone.  

22VAC25-10-50. 1VAC45-20-50. Contents of complaint.  

A. Each complaint should shall contain the following:  

1. The full name, address, and telephone number of the 

person making the complaint;  

2. The full name and address of the person against whom 

the complaint is made;  

3. A clear concise statement of the facts, including 

pertinent dates, constituting the alleged unlawful 

discriminatory practices;  

4. The date of filing and the name of the agency in cases 

where alleged complaints alleging unlawful discriminatory 

practices have been filed before a local, state, or federal 

agency charged with the enforcement of discrimination 

laws; and  

5. Any documentation the complainant feels believes will 

support the claim.  

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection A of this 

section, a complaint shall be considered filed when the 

council division receives a written statement which that 

identifies the parties and describes generally the action or 

practices complained of.  

C. A complaint may be reasonably and fairly amended by 

the complainant or the director at any time prior to a hearing. 

Except for the purposes of notifying the respondent as 

specified in subsection D of this section, amended complaints 

will be considered as having been made as of the original 

filing date. 

D. When an amendment is filed, the Office of Human Rights 

division shall forward a copy of the amendment to the 

respondent within five working days of the amendment. The 

respondent shall, within 10 working days after receiving the 

amendment, file an answer to the amendment.  

22VAC25-10-60. 1VAC45-20-60. Filing referrals to state 

and federal agencies.  

A. Complaints which that are under the jurisdiction of 

another state agency are considered filed with that agency 

when received by the council if the filing falls within the time 

limits for filing as required by that agency pursuant to § 2.1-

722 of the Code of Virginia division provided the time limit 

for filing with the other agency has not expired.  

B. The council division has established interagency 

agreements with the following state agencies:  

1. Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation-Real Estate Board;  

2. Department of Labor and Industry;  

3. Department of Personnel and Training Human 

Resources Management;  

4. Department for Rights of Virginians with Disabilities 

Virginia Office of Protection and Advocacy; and  

5. Department of Employee Relations Counselors Human 

Resources Management, Office of Employee Dispute 

Resolutions.  

If it is deemed appropriate, agreements will be established 

with other state agencies and these regulations will be 

amended to include the agencies.  

If the director or his designee determines that the complaint 

is not within the council's division's jurisdiction, but possibly 

in the jurisdiction of one of the interagency agreement 

agencies, the complaint shall be sent to the appropriate 

agency within 15 working days of the determination. The 

complainant shall be notified of this action and a reason 

provided. Once the complaint has been forwarded and the 

complainant notified, the council division shall close the case. 

In the event the complaint is not under the jurisdiction of the 

agency to which it was referred or if additional evidence is 

submitted the case will be reopened.  

C. Persons filing under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 

1964, as amended, or the Fair Labor Standards Act shall be 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 15 Virginia Register of Regulations March 20, 2017 

1874 

notified within 15 days that they should also file with the 

appropriate federal agency within the appropriate time period 

if the statute of limitations has not already expired.  

D. All charges complaints shall be dated and time time-

stamped upon receipt.  

E. Complaints shall be filed with the council not later than 

180 days from the day upon which the alleged discriminatory 

practice occurred.  

22VAC25-10-70. 1VAC45-20-70. Notice of complaint.  

Within 15 working days after the filing perfecting of a 

complaint, the director shall notify the respondent of the 

complaint by mail.  

22VAC25-10-80. 1VAC45-20-80. Investigations by the 

director or his designee.  

A. During the investigation of a complaint, the director may 

utilize the information gathered by government agencies. The 

director shall accept a statement of position or evidence 

submitted by the complainant, the person making the 

complaint on behalf of complainant, or the respondent. The 

director may submit a request for information to the 

respondent which that, in addition to specific questions, may 

request a response to the allegations contained in the 

complaint. The director's or his designee's request for 

information shall be mailed within 20 30 working days of 

receipt of the complaint. A response to the request for 

information should shall be submitted within 20 21 working 

days from the date the request is postmarked.  

B. The director may require the complainant to provide such 

additional information as he deems necessary to conduct an 

investigation. The complainant and respondent shall provide 

such additional information deemed necessary by the director 

or his designee to conduct an investigation. 

C. The director may require a fact-finding conference held 

in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia with 

the parties prior to a determination of a complaint of 

discrimination. The conference is an investigative forum 

intended to define the issues, to determine the elements in 

dispute, and to ascertain whether there is a basis for a 

negotiated settlement of the complaint.  

D. The director's or his designee's authority to investigate a 

complaint is not limited to the procedures outlined in 

subsections A, B, and C of this section.  

22VAC25-10-90. 1VAC45-20-90. Dismissal; procedure 

and authority.  

A. When the director determines that the complaint (i) is not 

timely filed, or (ii) fails to state a claim under the Act, the 

director shall dismiss the complaint.  

B. When the director determines after investigation that 

there is not reasonable cause to believe that the Act has been 

violated, the director shall dismiss the complaint. If the 

complainant disagrees with the director's decision, the council 

division can be petitioned within 10 working days for a 

review of the decision.  

C. Upon petition for review, the council shall establish a 

panel of three members to hear such petitions. If it is 

determined within 30 working days after the petition for 

review of a dismissal of a complaint that there is not 

reasonable cause to believe the respondent has engaged in a 

discriminatory practice, the council shall issue an order 

dismissing the complaint and furnish a copy of the order to all 

parties. Upon receiving a petition for review, the division 

shall determine whether to:  

1. Issue a final determination to the parties in accordance 

with § 2.2-4023 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. Refer the matter to the appropriate federal agency when 

applicable; or 

3. Hold a formal hearing in accordance with 1VAC45-20-

110. 

22VAC25-10-100. 1VAC45-20-100. Settlement.  

A. When the director determines that there is reasonable 

cause to believe that an unlawful discriminatory practice has 

occurred or is occurring, the director shall endeavor to 

eliminate such practice by informal methods of conference, 

conciliation, and negotiation.  

B. When conciliation or negotiated settlement is successful, 

the terms of the agreement shall be reduced to writing and 

signed by the complainant, respondent, and the director 

within 10 working days of the agreement settlement.  

22VAC25-10-110. Public 1VAC45-20-110. Formal 

hearing.  

A. When conciliation efforts fail, or when the director 

determines that the conciliation process will not be in the best 

interest of the complainant or the Commonwealth, the 

director shall set the matter for public formal hearing 

conducted in accordance with § 2.2-4020 of the Code of 

Virginia or refer the complaint to the appropriate federal 

agency.  

B. Notice of the time and place of the hearing shall be 

mailed to the parties at least 20 working days before the date 

of the hearing.  

C. All hearings shall be open to the public.  

D. A case will shall be heard by a hearing officer appointed 

by the council division from a list obtained from the Supreme 

Court of Virginia.  

E. The hearing officer shall not be bound by statutory rules 

of evidence or technical rules of procedure.  

F. Both the complainant and the respondent shall appear and 

be heard in person, but may be assisted by counsel, or by an 

authorized representative.  

G. All testimony shall be given under oath or affirmation.  
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H. The order of presentation shall be established by the 

hearing officer with the burden of going forward proof being 

placed on the complainant.  

I. Any Where any party who fails to appear at a fact-finding 

conference or hearing or to respond to a request for 

information by a specified date, in the absence of good cause 

shown, shall be deemed to have waived all further rights to 

appear, present evidence, or petition for rehearing or 

reconsideration conducted pursuant to this chapter, the 

division shall proceed in accordance with the provisions of 

§ 2.2-4020.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

J. Irrelevant, immaterial, and unduly repetitious evidence 

shall, at the discretion of the hearing officer, be excluded. The 

rules of privilege shall be given effect.  

K. The hearing officer may accept relevant documents or 

other evidence into the record as exhibits. Documents to be 

submitted at the hearing by a party must shall be distributed 

to the council division and the other party no later than five 

working days prior to the hearing. Documents not submitted 

in accordance with this rule will shall only be admitted when 

the presiding body or hearing officer determines that just 

cause exists for failure to follow this rule.  

L. Before the hearing is closed concludes, the parties shall 

be given an opportunity to present an oral closing argument 

of their case cases and proposed findings and conclusions in 

accordance with the provisions of § 2.2-4020 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

M. The hearing shall be recorded by an official reporter and 

one transcript will shall be purchased by the council division. 

The council's After the division has received the transcript, 

the division's copy will shall be made available for review 

within a reasonable time after five working days upon request 

at to the Office of Human Rights division during regular 

business hours.  

22VAC25-10-120. 1VAC45-20-120. Findings and 

recommendations.  

A. The hearing officer of the council shall state submit a 

recommended decision with findings of fact and conclusions 

of law in writing to the division. The findings recommended 

decision of the hearing officer shall be filed with the council 

division within 30 working 90 days of the date of completion 

of the hearing.  

B. If the council votes to director accepts the hearing 

officer's findings that the respondent has not engaged in a 

discriminatory practice, it the division shall issue an order 

dismissing the complaint. A copy of the order shall be 

furnished to the complainant and the respondent.  

C. If the council votes to division accepts the hearing 

officer's findings that the respondent has committed an 

unlawful discriminatory practice, it the division shall state its 

findings and may issue recommendations to the respondent to 

eliminate the discriminatory practice, including, but not 

limited to:  

1. Hiring, reinstating, promoting, or upgrading the position 

of the complainant, with or without back pay, and 

providing such fringe benefits as the complainant has been 

denied;  

2. Restoring or admitting the complainant to membership 

in a labor organization, a training program, a guidance 

program, or other occupational training program, using the 

objective criteria for admission of persons to such 

programs;  

3. Leasing, renting, or selling property at issue to the 

complainant;  

4. Extending to the complainant the full and equal 

enjoyment of the goods, services, facilities, privileges, or 

accommodations of the respondent;  

5. Admitting the complainant to a public accommodation 

or an educational institution;  

6. Reporting as to the manner of compliance;  

7. Posting notices in a conspicuous place setting forth 

requirements for compliance with this chapter or other 

information that the council division deems necessary to 

explain the Act;  

8. Revising personnel policies and procedures, including 

the undertaking of affirmative efforts; and  

9. Reimbursing attorney's fees to complainant.  

D. If the council votes not to accept the hearing officer's 

findings, it will return the findings to the hearing officer for 

further consideration, or appoint a new hearing officer and set 

a new hearing on the complaint If the division rejects the 

hearing officer's recommended decision, the division shall 

state its own finding of facts and/or conclusions of law based 

on the record. 

E. Copies of council's the division's final decision, including 

where applicable, any recommendations, shall be furnished to 

the complainant and respondent within 15 working days.  

22VAC25-10-130. 1VAC45-20-130. General.  

A. If the council division fails to act by dates specified 

herein in this chapter, neither the rights of the complainant 

nor the respondent will shall be prejudiced.  

B. If the complainant or the respondent fails to comply with 

the provisions stated herein in this chapter, except where 

good cause is shown, the failure may be deemed a waiver of 

any rights provided herein in this chapter.  

C. After the initial filing, all correspondence relative to the 

case should shall be by certified mail, hand delivered, or by a 

carrier who that will furnish a receipt.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-3944; Filed March 1, 2017, 11:23 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-620. Pertaining to Summer 

Flounder (amending 4VAC20-620-30, 4VAC20-620-40, 

4VAC20-620-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 28-2.201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 28, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments modify the landing dates, landing 

periods, possession limits, and landing limits for summer 

flounder commercially harvested outside of Virginia 

waters and increase the minimum size for summer flounder 

recreationally harvested in Virginia waters to 17 inches. 

4VAC20-620-30. Commercial harvest quota and allowable 

landings. 

A. During each calendar year, allowable commercial 

landings of summer flounder shall be limited to a quota in 

total pounds calculated pursuant to the joint Mid-Atlantic 

Fishery Management Council/Atlantic States Marine 

Fisheries Commission Summer Flounder Fishery 

Management Plan, as approved by the National Marine 

Fisheries Service on August 6, 1992 (50 CFR Part 625); and 

shall be distributed as described in subsections B through G 

of this section.  

B. The commercial harvest of summer flounder from 

Virginia tidal waters for each calendar year shall be limited to 

300,000 100,000 pounds of the annual quota described in 

subsection A of this section. Of this amount, 142,114 pounds 

shall be set aside for Chesapeake Bay-wide harvest.  

C. From the first Monday in January through October 31 the 

allowable landings of summer flounder harvested outside of 

Virginia shall be limited to an amount of pounds equal to 

70.7% 60% of the quota described in subsection A of this 

section after deducting the amount specified in subsection B 

of this section. 

D. From November 1 through December 31, allowable 

landings of summer flounder harvested outside of Virginia 

shall be limited to an amount of pounds equal to 29.3% 40% 

of the quota, as described in subsection A of this section, after 

deducting the amount specified in subsection B of this 

section, and as may be further modified by subsection E of 

this section.  

E. Should landings from the first Monday in January 

through October 31 exceed or fall short of 70.7% 60% of the 

quota described in subsection A of this section, any such 

excess shall be deducted from allowable landings described in 

subsection D of this section, and any such shortage shall be 

added to the allowable landings as described in subsection D 

of this section. Should the commercial harvest specified in 

subsection B of this section be projected as less than 300,000 

100,000 pounds, any such shortage shall be added to the 

allowable landings described in subsection D of this section.  

F. The Marine Resources Commission will give timely 

notice to the industry of the calculated poundages and any 

adjustments to any allowable landings described in 

subsections C and D of this section. It shall be unlawful for 

any person to harvest or to land summer flounder for 

commercial purposes after the commercial harvest or any 

allowable landings as described in this section have been 

attained and announced as such. If any person lands summer 

flounder after the commercial harvest or any allowable 

landing have been attained and announced as such, the entire 

amount of summer flounder in that person's possession shall 

be confiscated.  

G. It shall be unlawful for any buyer of seafood to receive 

any summer flounder after any commercial harvest or landing 

quota as described in this section has been attained and 

announced as such.  

4VAC20-620-40. Commercial vessel possession and 

landing limitations. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer 

flounder outside of Virginia's waters to do any of the 

following, except as described in subsections B, C, D, and E 

of this section: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of 10% by weight of Atlantic 

croaker or the combined landings, on board a vessel, of 

black sea bass, scup, squid, scallops and Atlantic mackerel. 

2. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of 1,500 pounds landed in 

combination with Atlantic croaker. 

3. Fail to sell the vessel's entire harvest of all species at the 

point of landing. 

B. Nothing in this chapter shall preclude a vessel from 

possessing any North Carolina vessel possession limit of 

summer flounder in Virginia; however, no vessel that 

possesses the North Carolina vessel possession limit of 

summer flounder shall offload any amount of that possession 

limit, except as described in subsection J of this section. 

C. From the second Wednesday in March 1 through June 6 

April 30, it shall be unlawful for any person harvesting 
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summer flounder outside of Virginia waters to do any of the 

following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivisions 3 and 4 

subdivision 2 of this subsection and the amount of the legal 

North Carolina landing limit or trip limit.  

2. Land summer flounder in Virginia for commercial 

purposes more than twice during each consecutive period, 

with the initial period beginning on the second Wednesday 

in March.  

3. Land in Virginia more than a total of 7,500 pounds of 

summer flounder during the initial 30-day period 

beginning on the second Wednesday in March. 

4. 2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 5,000 7,500 

pounds of summer flounder during the 60-day period 

beginning on April 8. 

5. 3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder 

more than once in any consecutive five-day period.  

D. From November 1 through December 31 of each year, if 

it has not been announced that 85% of the allowable landings 

have been taken, it shall be unlawful for any person 

harvesting summer flounder outside of Virginia waters to do 

any of the following:  

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina 

landing limit or trip limit.  

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 7,500 pounds of 

summer flounder.  

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

E. From January 1 through December 31 of each year, any 

boat or vessel issued a valid federal summer flounder 

moratorium permit and owned and operated by a legal 

Virginia Commercial Hook-and-Line Licensee that possesses 

a Restricted Summer Flounder Endorsement shall be 

restricted to a possession and landing limit of 200 pounds of 

summer flounder, except as described in 4VAC20-620-30 F. 

F. Upon request by a marine police officer, the seafood 

buyer or processor shall offload and accurately determine the 

total weight of all summer flounder aboard any vessel landing 

summer flounder in Virginia. 

G. Any possession limit described in this section shall be 

determined by the weight in pounds of summer flounder as 

customarily packed, boxed and weighed by the seafood buyer 

or processor. The weight of any summer flounder in pounds 

found in excess of any possession limit described in this 

section shall be prima facie evidence of violation of this 

chapter. Persons in possession of summer flounder aboard 

any vessel in excess of the possession limit shall be in 

violation of this chapter unless that vessel has requested and 

been granted safe harbor. Any buyer or processor offloading 

or accepting any quantity of summer flounder from any vessel 

in excess of the possession limit shall be in violation of this 

chapter, except as described by subsection J of this section. A 

buyer or processor may accept or buy summer flounder from 

a vessel that has secured safe harbor, provided that vessel has 

satisfied the requirements described in subsection J of this 

section.  

H. If a person violates the possession limits described in this 

section, the entire amount of summer flounder in that person's 

possession shall be confiscated. Any confiscated summer 

flounder shall be considered as a removal from the 

appropriate commercial harvest or landings quota. Upon 

confiscation, the marine police officer shall inventory the 

confiscated summer flounder and, at a minimum, secure two 

bids for purchase of the confiscated summer flounder from 

approved and licensed seafood buyers. The confiscated fish 

will be sold to the highest bidder and all funds derived from 

such sale shall be deposited for the Commonwealth pending 

court resolution of the charge of violating the possession 

limits established by this chapter. All of the collected funds 

will be returned to the accused upon a finding of innocence or 

forfeited to the Commonwealth upon a finding of guilty.  

I. It shall be unlawful for a licensed seafood buyer or 

federally permitted seafood buyer to fail to contact the Marine 

Resources Commission Operation Station prior to a vessel 

offloading summer flounder harvested outside of Virginia. 

The buyer shall provide to the Marine Resources Commission 

the name of the vessel, its captain, an estimate of the amount 

in pounds of summer flounder on board that vessel, and the 

anticipated or approximate offloading time. Once offloading 

of any vessel is complete and the weight of the landed 

summer flounder has been determined, the buyer shall contact 

the Marine Resources Commission Operations Station and 

report the vessel name and corresponding weight of summer 

flounder landed. It shall be unlawful for any person to offload 

from a boat or vessel for commercial purposes any summer 

flounder during the period of 9 p.m. to 7 a.m.  

J. Any boat or vessel that has entered Virginia waters for 

safe harbor shall only offload summer flounder when the state 

that licenses that vessel requests to transfer quota to Virginia, 

in the amount that corresponds to that vessel's possession 

limit, and the commissioner agrees to accept that transfer of 

quota.  

K. After any commercial harvest or landing quota as 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 has been attained and 

announced as such, any boat or vessel possessing summer 

flounder on board may enter Virginia waters for safe harbor 

but shall contact the Marine Resources Commission 

Operation Center in advance of such entry into Virginia 

waters.  

L. When it is projected and announced that 85% of the 

allowable landings have been taken, it shall be unlawful to 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 15 Virginia Register of Regulations March 20, 2017 

1878 

land summer flounder in Virginia, except as described in 

subsection A of this section.  

M. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer 

flounder outside of Virginia waters to possess aboard any 

vessel, in Virginia, any amount of summer flounder, once it 

has been projected and announced that 100% of the quota 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 A has been taken. 

4VAC20-620-50. Minimum size limits.  

A. The minimum size for summer flounder harvested by 

commercial fishing gear shall be 14 inches, total length.  

B. The minimum size of summer flounder harvested by 

recreational fishing gear, including but not limited to hook 

and line, rod and reel, spear and gig, shall be 16 17 inches, 

total length, except that the minimum size of summer 

flounder harvested in the Potomac River tributaries shall be 

the same as established by the Potomac River Fisheries 

Commission for the mainstem Potomac River.  

C. Length shall be measured in a straight line from tip of 

nose to tip of tail.  

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any 

summer flounder smaller than the designated minimum size 

limit.  

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the landing of 

summer flounder in Virginia that were legally harvested in 

the Potomac River.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5044; Filed February 28, 2017, 3:39 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 

(amending 12VAC30-120-380).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 19, 2017. 

Effective Date: May 4, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Viriginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 

Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) to administer and amend the Plan for Medical 

Assistance according to the board's requirements. The 

Medicaid authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 

Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority 

for payments for services. 

Chapter 780 of the 2016 Acts of the Assembly, Item 306 

MMMM directed as follows: 

"1. The Department of Medical Assistance Services, in 

consultation with the appropriate stakeholders, shall 

amend the state plan for medical assistance and/or seek 

federal authority through an 1115 demonstration waiver, 

as soon as feasible, to provide coverage of inpatient 

detoxification, inpatient substance abuse treatment, 

residential detoxification, residential substance abuse 

treatment, and peer support services to Medicaid 

individuals in the Fee-for-Service and Managed Care 

Delivery Systems. The department shall have the 

authority to implement this change effective upon 

passage of this Act, and prior to the completion of any 

regulatory process undertaken in order to effect such 

change. 

2. The Department of Medical Assistance Services shall 

make programmatic changes in the provision of all 

Substance Abuse Treatment Outpatient, Community 

Based and Residential Treatment services (group homes 

and facilities) for individuals with substance abuse 

disorders in order to ensure parity between the substance 

abuse treatment services and the medical and mental 

health services covered by the department and to ensure 

comprehensive treatment planning and care coordination 

for individuals receiving behavioral health and substance 

use disorder services. The department shall take action to 

ensure appropriate utilization and cost efficiency, and 

adjust reimbursement rates within the limits of the 

funding appropriated for this purpose based on current 

industry standards. The department shall consider all 

available options including, but not limited to, service 

definitions, prior authorization, utilization review, 

provider qualifications, and reimbursement rates for the 

following Medicaid services: substance abuse day 

treatment for pregnant women, substance abuse 

residential treatment for pregnant women, substance 

abuse case management, opioid treatment, substance 

abuse day treatment, and substance abuse intensive 

outpatient. The department shall have the authority to 

implement this change effective upon passage of this 

Act, and prior to the completion of any regulatory 

process undertaken in order to effect such change.  

3. The Department of Medical Assistance Services shall 

amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance and any 

waivers thereof to include peer support services to 

children and adults with mental health conditions and/or 

substance use disorders. The department shall work with 
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its contractors, the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, and appropriate stakeholders to 

develop service definitions, utilization review criteria and 

provider qualifications. The department shall have the 

authority to implement this change effective upon 

passage of this Act, and prior to the completion of any 

regulatory process undertaken in order to effect such 

change. 

4. The Department of Medical Assistance Services shall, 

prior to the submission of any state plan amendment or 

waivers to implement paragraphs MMMM 1, MMMM 2, 

and MMMM 3, submit a plan detailing the changes in 

provider rates, new services added and any other 

programmatic changes to the Chairmen of the House 

Appropriations and Senate Finance Committees." 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to comport the 

managed care regulations (12VAC30-120-360 through 

12VAC30-120-420) with the Addiction and Recovery 

Treatment Services (ARTS) regulatory action, posted on the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (TH 4692/7734) and 

published in the Virginia Register of Regulations (33:12 

VA.R. 1325-1376 February 6, 2017). This regulatory action is 

not essential to protect the health, safety, or welfare of the 

Commonwealth's citizens or Medicaid individuals. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

regulatory action is being promulgated as a fast-track 

rulemaking action because public comments received about 

the general concept and features of the original ARTS 

services specified to date have been positive. The 

comprehensive ARTS proposal has been such a substantial 

improvement over the current fragmented approach to 

substance use treatment that the affected entities are actively 

participating with DMAS in its redesign and transformation 

efforts. This action merely comports these managed care 

regulations with the previously recommended regulations. 

Substance:  

Current policy: DMAS covers approximately 1.1 million 

individuals; 80% of members receive care through contracted 

managed care organizations (MCOs) and 20% of members 

receive care through fee-for-service (FFS). The majority of 

members enrolled in Virginia's Medicaid and FAMIS 

programs include children, pregnant women, and individuals 

who meet the disability category of being aged, blind, or 

disabled. The 20% of the individuals receiving care through 

fee for service do so because they meet one of 16 categories 

of exception to MCO participation, for example: (i) inpatients 

in state mental hospitals, long-stay hospitals, nursing 

facilities, or intermediate care facilities for individuals with 

intellectual disabilities; (ii) individuals on spend down; (iii) 

individuals younger than 21 years of age who are in 

residential treatment facility Level C programs; (iv) newly 

eligible individuals in their third trimester of pregnancy; (v) 

individuals who permanently live outside their area of 

residence; (vi) individuals receiving hospice services; (vii) 

individuals with other comprehensive group or individual 

health insurance; (viii) individuals eligible for Individuals 

with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) Part C services; (ix) 

individuals whose eligibility period is less than three months 

or is retroactive; and (x) individuals enrolled in the Virginia 

Birth-Related Neurological Injury Compensation Program. 

Historically, Virginia funded only limited kinds of substance 

use treatment services to limited populations of Medicaid 

eligible individuals, for example, pregnant women and 

children. Within the current system, nontraditional 

community-based addiction treatment services are "carved 

out" (excluded from coverage) of the MCOs and managed by 

Magellan, the behavioral health service administrator 

contractor for DMAS. The original ARTS regulatory action 

changed this approach, and this action comports these 

remaining regulations to the original action. 

Recommendations: To comport these managed care 

regulations with the ARTS regulatory action, the amendment 

replaces a description of community mental health services 

with a reference to 12VAC30-50-130 and 12VAC30-50-226. 

Issues: The advantage to DMAS is the consistency between 

different controlling regulations in support of appeals and 

legal actions. There are no disadvantages for DMAS. There 

are no advantages or disadvantages to citizens, Medicaid 

individuals, or providers as the ARTS regulatory action sets 

out all of the details and requirements of the new program. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. On 

behalf of the Board of Medical Assistance Services (Board), 

the Director of the Department of Medical Assistance 

(DMAS) proposes to amend this regulation on waivered 

services to conform it to the Board's fast track addiction 

recovery treatment (ARTS) regulation, which has been 

submitted to the Registrar and will be published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations (Volume 33, Issue 12) on 

February 6, 2017.
1
 Needed changes to this regulation were 

inadvertently omitted from that initial regulatory action. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for these 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 780 (Item 306-

MMMM) of the 2016 Acts of the Assembly
2
 directs DMAS 

"to provide coverage of inpatient detoxification, inpatient 

substance abuse treatment, residential detoxification, 

residential substance abuse treatment and peer support 

services in the Fee-for-Service and Managed Care Delivery 

Systems." Chapter 780 also directed DMAS to make 

programmatic changes so that substance abuse treatment 

services are paid the same as medical and mental health 

services (within the limits of the funding appropriated for that 

purpose). Most of these changes were made in a fast track 

action that has completed executive branch review and is now 

awaiting publication. Changes that were necessary to conform 

this regulation (12VAC30-120) to the ARTS regulation were 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=6254
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=6254


Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 15 Virginia Register of Regulations March 20, 2017 

1880 

inadvertently left out of that action. Consequently, the 

Director now proposes to remove language and regulatory 

references that will soon be obsolete and replace them with 

references to the regulatory language promulgated with the 

ARTS regulation. No entities are likely to incur costs on 

account of these changes. Interested parties will benefit from 

soon to be obsolete language and references being removed as 

they may cause confusion. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulatory 

changes will affect locally run Community Services Boards 

and Behavioral Health Authorities (CSBs/BHAs), inpatient 

hospitals, some physicians and nurse practitioners, case 

managers, residential treatment facilities, group homes and 

outpatient clinics as well as all Medicaid recipients. DMAS 

reports that there are currently 1.1 million Medicaid recipients 

in the Commonwealth and that there are 39 CSBs and one 

BHA run by various localities in the Commonwealth. 

Localities Particularly Affected. Locally run CSBs/BHAs and 

their staff will likely be disproportionately affected by this 

proposed regulation.  

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. These proposed regulatory changes 

are unlikely to affect any small business in the 

Commonwealth. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 

businesses will be adversely affected by these proposed 

regulatory changes.  

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. Businesses in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 

experience any adverse impacts on account of this proposed 

regulation. 

Localities. No localities are likely to incur costs on account of 

these proposed regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. These proposed regulatory changes are 

unlikely to affect other entities in the Commonwealth. 

_______________________________ 
1 http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=7734 

2 More information on this mandate can be found at 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewmandate.cfm?mandateid=743  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget and concurs with 

this analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendment replaces a description of community 

mental health services with a reference to 12VAC30-50-

130 and 12VAC30-50-226 to align the regulation with the 

new Addiction and Recovery Treatment Services program. 

12VAC30-120-380. MCO responsibilities. 

A. The MCO shall provide, at a minimum, all medically 

necessary covered services provided under the State Plan for 

Medical Assistance and further defined by written DMAS 

regulations, policies and instructions, except as otherwise 

modified or excluded in this part. 

1. Nonemergency services provided by hospital emergency 

departments shall be covered by MCOs in accordance with 

rates negotiated between the MCOs and the hospital 

emergency departments. 

2. Services that shall be provided outside the MCO 

network shall include, but are not limited to, those services 

identified and defined by the contract between DMAS and 

the MCO. Services reimbursed by DMAS include, but 

shall not be limited to, dental and orthodontic services for 

children up to age 21; for all others, dental services (as 

described in 12VAC30-50-190,); school health services,; 

community mental health services (rehabilitative, targeted 

case management and the following substance abuse 

treatment services: emergency services (crisis); intensive 

outpatient services; day treatment services; substance 

abuse case management services; and opioid treatment 

services) as defined in 12VAC30-50-228 and 12VAC30-

50-491, (12VAC30-50-130 and 12VAC30-50-226); Early 

Intervention services provided pursuant to Part C of the 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) of 

2004 (as defined in 12VAC30-50-131 and 12VAC30-50-

415,); and long-term care services provided under the 

§ 1915(c) home-based and community-based waivers 

including related transportation to such authorized waiver 

services. 

3. The MCOs shall pay for emergency services and family 

planning services and supplies whether such services are 

provided inside or outside the MCO network. 

B. EPSDT services shall be covered by the MCO and 

defined by the contract between DMAS and the MCO. The 

MCO shall have the authority to determine the provider of 

service for EPSDT screenings. 

C. The MCOs shall report data to DMAS under the contract 

requirements, which may include data reports, report cards 

for members, and ad hoc quality studies performed by the 

MCO or third parties. 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=7734
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewmandate.cfm?mandateid=743
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D. Documentation requirements. 

1. The MCO shall maintain records as required by federal 

and state law and regulation and by DMAS policy. The 

MCO shall furnish such required information to DMAS, 

the Attorney General of Virginia or his authorized 

representatives, or the State Medicaid Fraud Control Unit 

on request and in the form requested. 

2. Each MCO shall have written policies regarding 

member rights and shall comply with any applicable 

federal and state laws that pertain to member rights and 

shall ensure that its staff and affiliated providers take those 

rights into account when furnishing services to members in 

accordance with 42 CFR 438.100. 

E. The MCO shall ensure that the health care provided to its 

members meets all applicable federal and state mandates, 

community standards for quality, and standards developed 

pursuant to the DMAS managed care quality program. 

F. The MCOs shall promptly provide or arrange for the 

provision of all required services as specified in the contract 

between the Commonwealth and the MCO. Medical 

evaluations shall be available within 48 hours for urgent care 

and within 30 calendar days for routine care. On-call 

clinicians shall be available 24 hours per day, seven days per 

week. 

G. The MCOs shall meet standards specified by DMAS for 

sufficiency of provider networks as specified in the contract 

between the Commonwealth and the MCO. 

H. Each MCO and its subcontractors shall have in place, and 

follow, written policies and procedures for processing 

requests for initial and continuing authorizations of service. 

Each MCO and its subcontractors shall ensure that any 

decision to deny a service authorization request or to 

authorize a service in an amount, duration, or scope that is 

less than requested, be made by a health care professional 

who has appropriate clinical expertise in treating the 

member's condition or disease. Each MCO and its 

subcontractors shall have in effect mechanisms to ensure 

consistent application of review criteria for authorization 

decisions and shall consult with the requesting provider when 

appropriate. 

I. In accordance with 42 CFR 447.50 through 42 CFR 

447.60, MCOs shall not impose any cost sharing obligations 

on members except as set forth in 12VAC30-20-150 and 

12VAC30-20-160. 

J. An MCO may not prohibit, or otherwise restrict, a health 

care professional acting within the lawful scope of practice, 

from advising or advocating on behalf of a member who is 

his patient in accordance with 42 CFR 438.102. 

K. An MCO that would otherwise be required to reimburse 

for or provide coverage of a counseling or referral service is 

not required to do so if the MCO objects to the service on 

moral or religious grounds and furnishes information about 

the service it does not cover in accordance with 42 CFR 

438.102. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5009; Filed February 23, 2017, 8:47 a.m.  

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-240. Eugenics Sterilization 

Compensation Program (adding 12VAC35-240-10 

through 12VAC35-240-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: April 19, 2017. 

Effective Date: May 4, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Ruth Anne Walker, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, 1220 Bank Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 225-2252, FAX (804) 786-8623, or 

email ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the State Board of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services to adopt regulations necessary to carry out the 

provisions of Title 37.2 (§ 37.2-100 et seq.) of the Code of 

Virginia and other laws of the Commonwealth administered 

by the Commissioner of the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services or the department. Chapter 665 

of the 2015 Acts of Assembly (the Appropriation Act) 

enacted the Commonwealth's Compensation for Victims of 

the 1924 Eugenical Sterilization Program and authorized 

regulations to implement of the chapter. 

Purpose: The regulation describes appropriate documentation 

to verify the claims of and to compensate individuals who 

were victims of forced sterilization pursuant to the Virginia 

Eugenical Sterilization Act ("Act") and who were living as of 

February 1, 2015 (up to $25,000 per individual). The 

regulation also provides an administrative process for 

handling all claims. This regulation does not impact the 

health, safety, or welfare of citizens, except to compensate 

individuals who were involuntarily sterilized according the 

Act. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: Since 

the current regulations were approved as emergency by the 

Governor on November 20, 2015, there have been no 

complaints filed by the public about the administrative 

structure for compensation. 

Substance: The substantive changes are intended to make the 

process more flexible for those claimants who clearly are 

known to the agency or organization that provides care, but 

due to certain life circumstances, such as extended residence 

in a facility or lack of family documentation, may not have 

typical forms of identification. Also, if an individual has an 
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outdated photo identification card but is no longer physically 

able to obtain one, the regulation allows the department 

reasonable flexibility to consider other documentation to 

confirm identity. 

The changes from the emergency regulation currently in 

effect to this permanent regulation: 

• Clarify appropriate documentation for proof of identity, 

including adding documents that are acceptable and 

language for flexibility regarding the availability of 

identification with both a photographic image and a 

signature. For example, identification bearing a 

photographic image is 'preferred'; identification from 

U.S. territories, a U.S. military dependent's card, or a 

Native American tribal document is acceptable. 

• Clarify the need to document proof of any name change 

and list the following as acceptable proof: marriage 

license, divorce decree, death certificate, adoption record, 

court order approving a legal change of name, or other 

legal document indicating an official name change. 

• Give the department discretion to deem other 

documents than those listed elsewhere in the regulation 

as sufficient to prove a claimant's identity. 

• Allow the department to use a cross match with a 

federal or state government data system to establish a 

claimant's identity. 

Issues: The changes are intended to assist victims of past 

action by the Commonwealth under the Act. There is no 

burden on private citizens or businesses due to these 

provisions, or any advantage or disadvantage. There is no 

adverse impact to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts of the Assembly, 

the Board of Behavioral Health and Development Services 

(Board) proposes to promulgate a replacement for an 

emergency regulation that is set to expire May 20, 2017. This 

regulation, and the emergency regulation it replaces, set rules 

for the compensation of individuals involuntarily sterilized 

under the Virginia Eugenical Sterilization Act of 1924 

(repealed in 1974). 

Result of Analysis. The benefits of this proposed regulatory 

action outweigh its costs. 

Estimated Economic Impact. In 1924, Virginia passed a law 

that allowed individuals who had been committed to state 

institutions,
1
 and who were deemed mentally ill or mentally 

defective, to be forcibly sterilized. In 1974, the Virginia 

Eugenical Sterilization Act was repealed and in 1979, other 

statutory language that contained authorization for most 

involuntary sterilization was also repealed.
2
 Between 1924 

and 1979, it is estimated that between 7,325 and 8,300 

individuals were forcibly sterilized in Virginia.
3
  

In 2015, the General Assembly approved a compensation 

program for victims of Virginia's involuntary sterilization 

program who were living as of February 1, 2015 (or their 

estates if they were living on that date but subsequently died 

before their claim could be filed or processed). The General 

Assembly approved compensation up to $25,000 per 

individual
4
 and directed the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services (DBHDS) to establish a process 

and standards under which claims would be considered and 

paid. The General Assembly also authorized the Board to 

promulgate an emergency regulation containing the process 

and standards for considering claims. The Board promulgated 

an emergency regulation which became effective on 

November 20, 2015. This proposed regulation will replace the 

emergency regulation that is set to expire May 20, 2017.  

This proposed regulation, and the emergency regulation that it 

replaces, requires that claimants who meet the legislative 

criteria submit a notarized claim application along with proof 

of identity and proof that they were involuntarily sterilized 

pursuant to the Virginia Eugenical Sterilization Act. The 

proposed regulation, and the emergency regulation it replaces, 

also set standards for proof of name change (if the name on 

the proof of identity is different than the name on the records 

of involuntary sterilization) and documentation that lawfully 

authorized representatives of claimants must submit to prove 

lawful authorization. The proposed regulation additionally 

sets parameters for a screening process to ensure that 

applications are complete and all documentation has been 

submitted, sets the process for appointing the review panel 

and for application reconsideration and sets the rules under 

which compensation will be dispersed. This proposed 

regulation will benefit victims of forced sterilization in the 

Commonwealth by partially compensating them for the losses 

they would have incurred on account of being unable to bear 

or father children. Victims will also receive a non-monetary 

benefit from this program as the monetary compensation is 

also an acknowledgment of the harm they wrongly suffered. 

The Commonwealth, and therefore the taxpayers of Virginia, 

will incur costs of up to $25,000 for each claim paid. The 

benefits that will accrue to claimants likely outweigh these 

costs. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This proposed regulation 

affects all individuals who were involuntarily sterilized under 

the Virginia Eugenical Sterilization Act and who were still 

living on February 1, 2015. Although estimates exist for how 

many individuals were likely sterilized, no good estimates are 

available for the number of individuals who were 

involuntarily sterilized and were still living on February 1, 

2015. Board staff reports that 28 individuals have filed claims 

since the emergency regulations became effective November 

20, 2015. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory program.  
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Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No small businesses are likely to be 

affected by this proposed regulation. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 

businesses will be adversely affected by these proposed 

regulatory changes.  

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. No businesses will be adversely affected by these 

proposed regulatory changes. 

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 

see any adverse impacts on account of these proposed 

regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely 

affected by these proposed changes. 

__________________________ 
1 In 1924 these institutions included 1) the Virginia State Colony for 

Epileptics and Feebleminded in Lynchburg, Virginia (now the Central 

Virginia Training Center), 2) Western State Hospital in Staunton Virginia, 3) 
Central State Mental Hospital in Petersburg, Virginia, 4) Eastern State 

Hospital in Williamsburg, Virginia and 5) Southwestern State Hospital in 

Marion, Virginia. See https://www.uvm.edu/~lkaelber/eugenics/VA/VA.html 

for more details.   
2 Compulsory sterilization is still allowed but in much narrower 

circumstances and with much more stringent patient protections. Now, a 
compulsory sterilization patient must be unable to give informed consent, in 

need of contraception, unable to use any other form of contraception, and 

permanently unable to raise a child. 
3 https://www.uvm.edu/~lkaelber/eugenics/VA/VA.html 
4 The General Assembly appropriated $1.2 million dollars between the fiscal 

year 2016 and fiscal year 2017 budgets to pay claims under this program. If 
claims exceed that amount, DBHDS will pay claims in the order they were 

submitted, retain claims that are not paid and request an additional 

appropriation to pay them.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Item 307 T of Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts of 

Assembly, which establishes compensation for individuals 

who were involuntarily sterilized pursuant to the 1924 

Virginia Eugenical Sterilization Act and who are living as 

of February 1, 2015, the regulation establishes (i) 

eligibility criteria, (ii) submission of claims, (iii) 

compensation, (iv) appropriate documentation for 

verification, and (v) an administrative process for handling 

claims. 

CHAPTER 240 

EUGENICS STERILIZATION COMPENSATION 

PROGRAM 

12VAC35-240-10. Definitions. 

"Act" means Chapter 394 of the 1924 Acts of Assembly 

passed by the Virginia General Assembly on March 20, 1924, 

known as the Virginia Eugenical Sterilization Act, which 

provided for the sexual sterilization of individuals admitted to 

state institutions in certain cases. 

"Application" means the Application Form for Filing a 

Claim for Compensation for Victims of the 1924 Eugenical 

Sterilization Act made available by the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 

"Claimant" means any person claiming eligibility who 

applies for compensation pursuant to this chapter.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Virginia 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services. 

"Lawfully authorized representative" means (i) a person who 

is permitted by law or regulation to act on behalf of an 

individual or (ii) a personal representative of an estate, as 

defined in § 64.2-100 of the Code of Virginia, of an 

individual who died on or after February 1, 2015. 

"Review panel" means a minimum of three department staff 

members who are appointed by the commissioner to make 

final determinations that applications for claims deemed 

complete pursuant to this chapter meet the criteria for 

compensation. 

"Sterilization" means a medical procedure or form of birth 

control that leaves a male or female unable to reproduce or 

conceive children and was performed pursuant to the Act.  

12VAC35-240-20. Eligibility criteria. 

An individual or his lawfully authorized representative is 

eligible to request compensation under this chapter if the 

individual was: 

1. Involuntarily sterilized pursuant to the Act; 

2. Sterilized while a patient at Eastern State Hospital; 

Western State Hospital; Central State Hospital; 

Southwestern Virginia Mental Health Institute, formerly 

known as Southwestern State Hospital; or the Central 

Virginia Training Center, formerly known as the State 

Colony for Epileptics and Feeble-Minded; and 

3. Living as of February 1, 2015.  

https://www.uvm.edu/~lkaelber/eugenics/VA/VA.html
https://www.uvm.edu/~lkaelber/eugenics/VA/VA.html
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12VAC35-240-30. Claims for compensation. 

A. Any individual who meets the eligibility criteria or his 

lawfully authorized representative, if applicable, may submit 

a claim for compensation. 

B. Claimants shall submit applications with proof of identity 

and proof that the eligibility criteria are met. When an 

application is submitted for an individual who died on or after 

February 1, 2015, the application shall include a certified 

copy of a state-issued death certificate. 

C. Claimants shall submit required documentation for proof 

of identity. 

1. To establish proof of identity, a copy of one or more of 

the following documents preferably bearing a photographic 

image of the claimant's face and signature shall be 

submitted with the application form: 

a. A state-issued or United States territory-issued driver's 

license. 

b. A government-issued identification card. 

c. A United States passport. 

d. A foreign passport with a United States visa, Form I-

94 Arrival/Departure Record, or Form I-94W 

Nonimmigrant Visa Waiver Arrival/Departure Record. 

e. A United States military card, active or retired 

member. 

f. A United States military dependent's identification 

card. 

g. A Native American tribal document issued by a tribe 

recognized by the United States government. 

2. If a claimant's current legal name is different from the 

name at the time of sterilization, the claimant shall provide 

documentation to prove that he is the same individual who 

is named on the sterilization records. Proof may be: 

a. A marriage license; 

b. A divorce decree; 

c. A death certificate; 

d. An adoption record; 

e. A court order approving a legal change of name; or 

f. Other legal document indicating an official name 

change. 

3. Claimants may submit additional documents to establish 

proof of identity. The department may deem in its 

discretion that one or more documents other than those 

listed in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection are 

sufficient to prove a claimant's identity with satisfactory 

reliability. 

4. At the department's discretion, a crossmatch with a 

federal or state government data system may be used to 

establish a claimant's identity. 

D. To establish proof of involuntary sterilization pursuant to 

the Act, a copy of one or more of the following shall be 

submitted with the application: 

1. Letter notifying a parent, guardian, or a lawfully 

authorized representative that the involuntary sterilization 

procedure was performed on the claimant. 

2. Progress notes from the claimant's hospital record 

documenting that the involuntary sterilization procedure 

was performed on the claimant. 

3. Case summary from the claimant's hospital record 

documenting that the involuntary sterilization procedure 

was performed on the claimant. 

4. Physician's order for involuntary sterilization from the 

claimant's hospital record. 

5. Operative record of involuntary sterilization from the 

claimant's hospital record. 

6. Involuntary sterilization record summary from the 

claimant's hospital record. 

7. Nurses' notes documenting post-operative care was 

provided to the individual claimant after involuntary 

sterilization of the claimant. 

8. Other documents that show that the involuntary 

sterilization procedure was performed on the claimant 

pursuant to the Act. 

E. Any person submitting a claim on behalf of a claimant 

shall provide documentation that he is the claimant's lawfully 

authorized representative. 

F. All applications shall be notarized by a notary public. 

G. The department shall not accept more than one 

application in a single mailing. 

H. Applications shall be submitted to the department 

through the United States Postal Service. The department 

shall not accept any application that is submitted in any other 

manner including by any shipping company, electronically, 

delivered by courier service, or in person. 

I. The department shall send a notice that the application 

was received to the claimant or his lawfully authorized 

representative in writing within seven calendar days of receipt 

of the application. 

12VAC35-240-40. Screening. 

A. The department shall screen an application and 

accompanying documentation for completeness according to 

the date and time the application is received. An application 

will be considered complete when all required documents 

have been received by the department.  

B. If the department determines an application is 

incomplete, it shall notify the claimant or his lawfully 

authorized representative that the application is not complete 

in writing by certified mail no later than seven calendar days 

following the screening of the application. The notification 
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shall specify the additional documentation required to 

complete the application. 

C. If the application is incomplete, the claimant shall have 

60 calendar days from the receipt of the notification to submit 

the required documentation. If the required documentation is 

not received within 60 calendar days, the application will be 

closed, and the claimant will be required to submit a new 

application. The department shall notify the claimant or his 

lawfully authorized representative in writing that the current 

application is closed and that a new application may be 

submitted should the required documentation become 

available.  

D. No application shall be considered by the review panel or 

otherwise acted on until the department determines it to be 

complete with all required documentation. Completed 

applications shall be submitted to the review panel for 

consideration. 

12VAC35-240-50. Review panel. 

A. The commissioner shall appoint a review panel to 

consider applications and verify claimants' eligibility for 

compensation pursuant to this chapter. 

B. The review panel shall consider completed applications 

in the order in which the applications are determined to be 

complete according to date and time of receipt of all required 

documentation. 

C. The claimant or his lawfully authorized representative 

shall be notified of the decision of the review panel in writing 

by certified mail within seven calendar days of the decision. 

12VAC35-240-60. Requests for reconsideration. 

A. Any claimant or his lawfully authorized representative 

who disagrees with the determination of the department's 

review panel may submit a written request for reconsideration 

to the commissioner or his designee within 30 calendar days 

of the date of the written notice of denial of a claim pursuant 

to this chapter. 

B. The commissioner or his designee shall provide an 

opportunity for the claimant or his lawfully authorized 

representative to submit for review any additional information 

or reasons why his claim should be approved as requested.  

C. The commissioner or his designee after reviewing all 

submitted materials shall render a written decision on the 

request for reconsideration within 30 calendar days of the 

receipt of the request and shall notify the claimant or his 

lawfully authorized representative in writing. The 

commissioner's decision shall be binding. 

D. Claimants may obtain further review of the decision in 

accordance with the Virginia Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

12VAC35-240-70. Compensation. 

A. Compensation per verified claim shall be $25,000 and 

shall be contingent on the availability of funding. All verified 

claims shall be compensated in the order in which they are 

verified. 

B. Should funding be exhausted prior to the payment of all 

verified claims, the department shall continue to accept and 

review applications. Claims verified after funding has been 

exhausted shall be maintained by the department according to 

the date and time the claim's eligibility was verified. Any 

such claim shall not be denied but the claimant shall be 

notified in writing that the eligibility of his claim for 

compensation has been verified, that funding has been 

exhausted, and that his application will be maintained by the 

department. 

C. Should additional program funding become available, the 

department shall first compensate claims in the order in which 

they were verified and maintained by the department pursuant 

to subsection B of this section. 

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of the form to 

access it. The form is also available from the agency contact 

or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (12VAC35-240) 

Application for Filing a Claim for Compensation for 

Victims of the 1924 Eugenical Sterilization Act, VESC Form 

1004 (eff. 3/2017) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4471; Filed February 27, 2017, 8:40 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-45. Rules Governing 

Suitability in Annuity Transactions (amending 14VAC5-

45-10 through 14VAC5-45-40; adding 14VAC5-45-45, 

14VAC5-45-47).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: April 1, 2017.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7f50c004471~4&typ=40&actno=004471&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7f50c004471~4&typ=40&actno=004471&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7f50c004471~4&typ=40&actno=004471&mime=application/pdf
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Agency Contact: Raquel C. Pino, Policy Advisor, Bureau of 

Insurance, State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1157, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9499, FAX (804) 

371-9873, or email raquel.pino@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments incorporate provisions contained in the 

National Association of Insurance Commissioners' 

Suitability in Annuity Transactions Model Regulation, 

including (i) a new definition for suitability information, 

(ii) additional requirements for providing information to 

consumers regarding the annuity, (iii) a requirement that 

agents complete a one-time four-credit continuing 

education course on annuity products, and (iv) a five-year 

recordkeeping retention requirement.  

AT RICHMOND, FEBRUARY 17, 2017 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2016-00267 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 

Amending the Rules Governing 

Suitability in Annuity Transactions 

ORDER ADOPTING REVISIONS TO RULES 

On November 18, 2016, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") issued an Order to Take Notice ("Order") to 

consider revisions to the Rules Governing Suitability in 

Annuity Transactions set forth in Chapter 45 of Title 14 of 

the Virginia Administrative Code ("Rules"). 

These amendments, which are authorized by § 38.2-3117 C 

of the Code of Virginia, were proposed by the Bureau of 

Insurance ("Bureau") to incorporate provisions contained in 

the National Association of Insurance Commissioners' 

Suitability in Annuity Transactions Model Regulation 

("Model Regulation"). These amendments include a new 

definition for suitability information, additional requirements 

for providing information to consumers regarding the annuity, 

a requirement that agents complete a one-time four-credit 

continuing education course on annuity products, and a five-

year recordkeeping retention requirement. 

The Order required that on or before January 23, 2017, any 

person requesting a hearing on the amendments to the Rules 

shall have filed such request for a hearing with the Clerk of 

the Commission ("Clerk"). No request for a hearing was filed 

with the Clerk. 

The Order also required any interested persons to file with 

the Clerk their comments in support of or in opposition to the 

amendments to the Rules on or before January 23, 2017. 

Thirteen comments were filed, including comments from the 

Insured Retirement Institute and the American Council of 

Life Insurers. These comments requested that certain agents 

be exempt from the one-time four-credit continuing education 

requirement, and that the effective date of the regulation be 

changed to July 1, 2017. In addition, commenters sought 

clarification on the applicability of the Rules to all annuity 

products, the applicability of certain Financial Industry 

Regulatory Authority ("FINRA") requirements, and 

suggested that the definitions of "replacement" and "annuity" 

be revised to mirror the definitions contained in the Model 

Regulation. 

The Bureau considered the comments filed and responded to 

them in its Response to Comments, which the Bureau filed 

with the Clerk on February 10, 2017. In its Response to 

Comments, the Bureau recommended that subsection H of 

14 VAC 5-45-40 be revised to better align with the Model 

Regulation and to remove language that inadvertently could 

be read to require all agents to comply with certain FINRA 

requirements. The Bureau recommended that the Commission 

adopt the proposed regulations as modified.  

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered the 

proposed amendments, the comments filed, and the Bureau's 

Response to Comments, is of the opinion that the attached 

amendments to the Rules should be adopted. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The amendments to the Rules Governing Suitability in 

Annuity Transactions at Chapter 45 of Title 14 of the Virginia 

Administrative Code, which amend the Rules at 14 VAC 5-

45-10 through 14 VAC 5-45-40, and add new Rules at 

14 VAC 5-45-45 and 14 VAC 5-45-47, and which are 

attached hereto and made a part hereof, are hereby 

ADOPTED, to be effective April 1, 2017. 

(2) The Bureau forthwith shall give notice of the adoption of 

the amendments to the Rules to all companies, agencies, and 

agents licensed by the Commission to sell annuities or 

variable annuities in Virginia and to all interested persons. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the 

final amended Rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia 

Registrar of Regulations for appropriate publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall make available this Order and the attached amendments 

to the Rules on the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case.  

(5) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 

an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of 

Ordering Paragraph (2) above. 

(6) This case is dismissed, and the papers herein shall be 

placed in the file for ended causes.  

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 

the Commission to: Kiva B. Pierce, Assistant Attorney 

General, Division of Consumer Counsel, Office of the 

Attorney General, 202 N. 9th Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219-3424; and a copy hereof shall be delivered to 

the Commission's Office of General Counsel and the Bureau 

of Insurance in care of Deputy Commissioner Althelia P. 

Battle. 
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14VAC5-45-10. Purpose and scope.  

The purpose of this chapter is to set forth rules and 

procedures for recommendations to consumers that result in a 

transaction involving annuity products so that the insurance 

needs and financial objectives of consumers at the time of the 

transaction are appropriately addressed. This chapter shall 

apply to any recommendation to purchase or, exchange, or 

replace an annuity made to a consumer by an agent, or insurer 

where no agent is involved, that results in the purchase or, 

exchange, or replacement recommended.  

14VAC5-45-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meaning, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Agent" or "insurance agent" means an individual or 

business entity that sells, solicits, or negotiates contracts of 

insurance or annuity in this Commonwealth.  

"Annuity" means a fixed, variable, or modified guaranteed 

annuity that is individually solicited, whether the product is 

classified as an individual annuity or group annuity.  

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission.  

"Continuing education credit" or "CE credit" means one 

continuing education credit as defined in § 38.2-1867 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Continuing education provider" or "CE provider" means an 

individual or entity that is approved to offer continuing 

education courses pursuant to § 38.2-1867 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"FINRA" means the Financial Industry Regulatory 

Authority or a succeeding agency. 

"Insurer" means an insurance company required to be 

licensed under the laws of this Commonwealth to provide 

insurance products, including annuities.  

"Recommendation" means advice provided by an agent, or 

an insurer where no agent is involved, to an individual 

consumer that results in a purchase or, exchange, or 

replacement of an annuity in accordance with that advice.  

"Replacement" means a transaction in which a new policy or 

contract is to be purchased, and it is known or should be 

known to the proposing agent, or to the proposing insurer if 

there is no agent, that by reason of the transaction, an existing 

policy or contract, has been or is to be: 

1. Lapsed, forfeited, surrendered or partially surrendered, 

assigned to the replacing insurer, or otherwise terminated; 

2. Converted to reduced paid-up insurance, continued as 

extended term insurance, or otherwise reduced in value by 

the use of nonforfeiture benefits or other policy values; 

3. Amended so as to effect either a reduction in benefits or 

in the term for which coverage would otherwise remain in 

force or for which benefits would be paid; 

4. Reissued with any reduction in cash value; or 

5. Used in a financed purchase. 

"Suitability information" means information that is 

reasonably appropriate to determine the suitability of a 

recommendation, including the following: 

1. Age; 

2. Annual income; 

3. Financial situation and needs, including the financial 

resources used for the funding of the annuity; 

4. Financial experience; 

5. Financial objectives; 

6. Intended use of the annuity; 

7. Financial time horizon; 

8. Existing assets, including investment and life insurance 

holdings; 

9. Liquidity needs; 

10. Liquid net worth; 

11. Risk tolerance; and 

12. Tax status. 

14VAC5-45-30. Exemptions.  

Unless otherwise specifically included, this chapter shall not 

apply to recommendations transactions involving:  

1. Direct response solicitations where there is no 

recommendation based on information collected from the 

consumer pursuant to this chapter;.  

2. Contracts used to fund:  

a. An employee pension or welfare benefit plan that is 

covered by the Employee Retirement Income Security 

Act of 1974 (29 USC § 1001 et seq.);  

b. A plan described by 26 USC §§ § 401(a), 401(k), 

403(b), 408(k) or 408(p) of the Internal Revenue Code, if 

established or maintained by an employer;  

c. A government or church plan defined in 26 USC § 414 

of the Internal Revenue Code, a government or church 

welfare benefit plan, or a deferred compensation plan of 

a state or local government or tax exempt organization 

under 26 USC § 457 of the Internal Revenue Code;  

d. A nonqualified deferred compensation arrangement 

established or maintained by an employer or plan 

sponsor;  

e. Settlements of or assumptions of liabilities associated 

with personal injury litigation or any dispute or claim 

resolution process; or  

f. Preneed funeral contracts as defined in § 54.1-2800 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

14VAC5-45-40. Duties of insurers and agents.  

A. In recommending to a consumer the purchase of an 

annuity or the exchange of an annuity that results in another 

insurance transaction or series of insurance transactions, the 

agent, or the insurer where no agent is involved, shall have 
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reasonable grounds for believing that the recommendation is 

suitable for the consumer on the basis of the facts disclosed 

by the consumer as to his investments and other insurance 

products and as to his financial situation and needs, including 

the consumer's suitability information, and that there is a 

reasonable basis to believe all of the following: 

1. The consumer has been reasonably informed of various 

features of the annuity, such as the potential surrender 

period and surrender charge; potential tax penalty if the 

consumer sells, exchanges, surrenders or annuitizes the 

annuity; mortality and expense fees; investment advisory 

fees; potential charges for and features of riders; 

limitations on interest returns; insurance and investment 

components; and market risk; 

2. The consumer would benefit from certain features of the 

annuity, such as tax deferred growth, annuitization, or 

death or living benefit; 

3. The particular annuity as a whole, the underlying 

subaccounts to which funds are allocated at the time of 

purchase or exchange of the annuity, and riders and similar 

product enhancements, if any, are suitable (and in the case 

of an exchange or replacement, the transaction as a whole 

is suitable) for the particular consumer based on the 

consumer's suitability information; and 

4. In the case of an exchange or replacement of an annuity, 

the exchange or replacement is suitable, including taking 

into consideration whether:  

a. The consumer will incur a surrender charge, be subject 

to the commencement of a new surrender period, lose 

existing benefits (such as death, living, or other 

contractual benefits), or be subject to increased fees, 

investment advisory fees, or charges for riders and 

similar product enhancements; 

b. The consumer would benefit from product 

enhancements and improvements; and 

c. The consumer has had another annuity exchange or 

replacement, and, in particular, an exchange or 

replacement within the preceding 36 months.  

B. Prior to the execution of a purchase or, exchange, or 

replacement of an annuity resulting from a recommendation, 

an agent, or insurer where no agent is involved, shall make 

reasonable efforts to obtain the consumer's suitability 

information concerning:  

1. The consumer's financial status;  

2. The consumer's tax status;  

3. The consumer's investment objectives; and  

4. Other information used or considered to be reasonable 

by the agent, or the insurer where no agent is involved, in 

making recommendations to the consumer.  

C. Except as permitted under subsection D of this section, an 

insurer shall not issue an annuity recommended to a 

consumer unless there is a reasonable basis to believe the 

annuity is suitable based on the consumer's suitability 

information. 

D. 1. Except as provided in subdivision 2 of this subsection, 

neither an agent, nor an insurer where no agent is involved, 

shall have any obligation to a consumer under subsection A 

or C of this section related to any recommendation annuity 

transaction if a consumer:  

a. Refuses No recommendation is made; 

b. A recommendation was made and was later found to 

have been prepared based on materially inaccurate 

information provided by the consumer; 

c. A consumer refuses to provide relevant suitability 

information requested by the insurer or agent and the 

annuity transaction is not recommended;  

b. Decides d. A consumer decides to enter into an 

insurance annuity transaction that is not based on a 

recommendation of the insurer or agent; or  

c. Fails e. A consumer fails to provide complete or 

accurate information.  

2. An insurer or agent's recommendation subject to 

subdivision 1 of this subsection shall be reasonable under 

all the circumstances actually known to the insurer or agent 

at the time of the recommendation.  

E. An agent, or where no agent is involved the responsible 

insurer representative, shall at the time of sale: 

1. Make a record of any recommendation subject to 

subsection A of this section; 

2. Obtain a customer signed statement, documenting a 

customer's refusal to provide suitability information, if 

any; and 

3. Obtain a customer signed statement acknowledging that 

an annuity transaction is not recommended if a customer 

decides to enter into an annuity transaction that is not 

based on the agent's or insurer's recommendation. 

D. F. 1. An insurer either shall assure that a system to 

supervise recommendations that is reasonably designed to 

achieve compliance with this chapter is established and 

maintained by complying with subdivisions 3 and 4 of this 

subsection, or shall establish and maintain such a system, 

including, but not limited to the following:  

a. Maintaining written procedures; and The insurer shall 

maintain reasonable procedures to inform its agents of 

the requirements of this chapter and shall incorporate the 

requirements of this chapter into relevant agent training 

manuals; 

b. Conducting periodic reviews of its records that are 

reasonably designed to assist in detecting and preventing 

violations of this chapter. The insurer shall establish 

standards for agent product training and shall maintain 

reasonable procedures to require its agents to comply 

with the requirements of 14VAC5-45-45; 
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c. The insurer shall provide product-specific training and 

training materials that explain all material features of its 

annuity products to its agents; 

d. The insurer shall maintain procedures for review of 

each recommendation prior to issuance of an annuity that 

are designed to ensure that there is a reasonable basis to 

determine that a recommendation is suitable. Such 

review procedures may apply a screening system for the 

purpose of identifying selected transactions for additional 

review and may be accomplished electronically or 

through other means including physical review. Such an 

electronic or other system may be designed to require 

additional review only of those transactions identified for 

additional review by the selection criteria; 

e. The insurer shall maintain reasonable procedures to 

detect recommendations that are not suitable. This may 

include confirmation of consumer suitability information, 

systematic customer surveys, interviews, confirmation 

letters, and programs of internal monitoring. Nothing in 

this subdivision prevents an insurer from complying with 

this subdivision by applying sampling procedures, or by 

confirming suitability information after issuance or 

delivery of the annuity; and 

f. The insurer shall annually provide a report to senior 

management, including to the senior manager responsible 

for audit functions, which details a review, with 

appropriate testing, reasonably designed to determine the 

effectiveness of the supervision system, the exceptions 

found, and corrective action taken or recommended, if 

any. 

2. An agent and independent agency either shall adopt a 

system established by an insurer to supervise 

recommendations of its agents that is reasonably designed 

to achieve compliance with this chapter, or shall establish 

and maintain such a system, including, but not limited to:  

a. Maintaining written procedures; and  

b. Conducting periodic reviews of records that are 

reasonably designed to assist in detecting and preventing 

violations of this chapter.  

3. An insurer may contract with a third party, including an 

agent or independent agency, to establish and maintain a 

system of supervision as required by subdivision 1 of this 

subsection with respect to agents under contract with or 

employed by the third party.  

4. An insurer shall make reasonable inquiry to assure that 

the third party contracting under subdivision 3 of this 

subsection is performing the functions required under 

subdivision 1 of this subsection and shall take action that is 

reasonable under the circumstances to enforce the 

contractual obligation to perform the functions. An insurer 

may comply with its obligation to make reasonable inquiry 

by doing all of the following:  

a. The insurer annually obtains a certification from a 

third party senior manager who has responsibility for the 

delegated functions that the manager has a reasonable 

basis to represent, and does represent, that the third party 

is performing the required functions; and  

b. The insurer, based on reasonable selection criteria, 

periodically selects third parties contracting under 

subdivision 3 of this subsection for a review to determine 

whether the third parties are performing the required 

functions. The insurer shall perform those procedures to 

conduct the review that are reasonable under the 

circumstances.  

5. An insurer that contracts with a third party pursuant to 

subdivision 3 of this subsection and that complies with the 

requirements to supervise in subdivision 4 of this 

subsection shall have fulfilled its responsibilities under 

subdivision 1 of this subsection.  

6. An insurer, agent, or independent agency is not required 

by subdivisions subdivision 1 or 2 of this subsection to:  

a. Review, or provide for review of, all agent-solicited 

transactions; or  

b. Include in its system of supervision an agent's 

recommendations to consumers of products other than 

the annuities offered by the insurer, agent, or independent 

agency.  

7. An agent or independent agency contracting with an 

insurer pursuant to subdivision 3 of this subsection, when 

requested by the insurer pursuant to subdivision 4 of this 

subsection, shall promptly give a certification as described 

in subdivision 4 or give a clear statement that it is unable to 

meet the certification criteria.  

8. No person may provide a certification under subdivision 

4 a of this subsection unless:  

a. The person is a senior manager with responsibility for 

the delegated functions; and  

b. The person has a reasonable basis for making the 

certification.  

G. An agent shall not dissuade or attempt to dissuade a 

consumer from: 

1. Truthfully responding to an insurer's request for 

confirmation of suitability information; 

2. Filing a complaint; or 

3. Cooperating with the investigation of a complaint. 

H. [ An agent shall comply with the following FINRA 

requirements: 1. ] Sales made in compliance with FINRA 

requirements pertaining to suitability and supervision of 

annuity transactions shall satisfy the requirements under this 

chapter [ .: 

1. ] This subsection applies to FINRA broker-dealer sales 

of annuities if the suitability and supervision is similar to 

those applied to variable annuity sales. However, nothing 

in this subsection shall limit the commission's ability to 
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enforce (including investigate) the provisions of this 

chapter. 

2. For subdivision 1 of this subsection to apply, an insurer 

shall: 

a. Monitor the FINRA member broker-dealer using 

information collected in the normal course of an insurer's 

business; and 

b. Provide to the FINRA member broker-dealer 

information and reports that are reasonably appropriate to 

assist the FINRA member broker-dealer to maintain its 

supervision system. 

E. I. Compliance with the National Association of Securities 

Dealers Conduct Rules 

(http://nasd.complinet.com/nasd/display/display.html?rbid=1

189&element_id= 1159000466) FINRA Rule 2111 

(http://finra.complinet.com/en/display/display_main.html?rbi

d=2403&element_id=9859) pertaining to suitability shall 

satisfy the requirements under this section for the 

recommendation of variable annuities. However, nothing in 

this subsection shall limit the commission's ability to enforce 

the provisions of this chapter.  

14VAC5-45-45. Agent training. 

A. An agent shall not solicit the sale of an annuity product 

unless the agent has adequate knowledge of the product to 

recommend the annuity and the agent is in compliance with 

the insurer's standards for product training. An agent may rely 

on insurer-provided product specific training standards and 

materials to comply with this subsection. 

B. Training requirements are as follows: 

1. An agent who engages in the sale of annuity products 

shall complete a one-time four-credit training course 

approved as continuing education by the Insurance 

Continuing Education Board in accordance with § 38.2-

1867 of the Code of Virginia and provided by the 

Insurance Continuing Education Board approved education 

provider. 

2. Agents who hold a life insurance line of authority and 

who desire to sell annuities shall complete the 

requirements of this subsection by January 1, 2018. 

Individuals who obtain a life insurance line of authority on 

or after January 1, 2018, may not engage in the sale of 

annuities until the annuity training course required under 

this subsection has been completed. 

3. The minimum length of the training required under this 

subsection shall be sufficient to qualify for at least four CE 

credits, but may be longer. 

4. The training required under this subsection shall include 

information on the following topics: 

a. The types of annuities and various classifications of 

annuities; 

b. Identification of the parties to an annuity; 

c. How product specific annuity contract features affect 

consumers; 

d. The application of income taxation of qualified and 

nonqualified annuities; 

e. The primary uses of annuities; and 

f. Appropriate sales practices and replacement and 

disclosure requirements. 

5. Providers of courses intended to comply with this 

subsection shall cover all topics listed in subdivision 4 of 

this subsection and shall not present any marketing 

information or provide training on sales techniques or 

provide specific information about a particular insurer's 

products. Additional topics may be offered in conjunction 

with and in addition to those in subdivision 4 of this 

subsection. 

6. A provider of an annuity training course intended to 

comply with this subsection shall register as a CE provider 

in this Commonwealth and comply with the rules and 

guidelines applicable to agent continuing education courses 

as set forth in § 38.2-1867 of the Code of Virginia. 

7. Annuity training courses may be conducted and 

completed by classroom or self-study methods in 

accordance with § 38.2-1867 of the Code of Virginia. 

8. Providers of annuity training shall comply with the 

reporting requirements and shall issue certificates of 

completion in accordance with § 38.2-1867 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

9. The satisfaction of the training requirements of another 

state that are substantially similar to the provisions of this 

subsection shall be deemed to satisfy the training 

requirements of this subsection in this Commonwealth. 

10. An insurer shall verify that an agent has completed the 

annuity training course required under this subsection 

before allowing the agent to sell an annuity product for that 

insurer. An insurer may satisfy its responsibility under this 

subsection by obtaining certificates of completion of the 

training course or obtaining reports provided by 

commission-sponsored database systems or vendors or 

from a reasonably reliable commercial database vendor 

that has a reporting arrangement with approved insurance 

education providers.  

14VAC5-45-47. Recordkeeping. 

A. Insurers, agencies, and agents shall maintain or be able to 

make available to the commission records of the information 

collected from the consumer and other information used in 

making the recommendations that were the basis for 

insurance transactions for five years after the insurance 

transaction is completed by the insurer. An insurer is 

permitted, but shall not be required, to maintain 

documentation on behalf of an agent. 

B. Records required to be maintained by this chapter may be 

maintained in paper, photographic, micro-process, magnetic, 

http://finra.complinet.com/en/display/display_main.html?rbid=2403&element_id=9859
http://finra.complinet.com/en/display/display_main.html?rbid=2403&element_id=9859
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mechanical, or electronic media or by any process that 

accurately reproduces the actual document.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4899; Filed February 21, 2017, 2:05 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

following regulation have been filed by the Common Interest 

Community Board. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form to access it. The 

forms are also available from the agency contact or may be 

viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General 

Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC48-60. Common Interest 

Community Board Management Information Fund 

Regulations. 

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Common Interest Community Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8510, 

FAX (866) 490-2723, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC48-60) 

Community Association Registration Application, A492-

0550REG-v1 (eff. 9/2013) 

Community Association Annual Report, A492-

0550ANRPT-v2int (eff. 3/2015) 

Community Association Registration Application, A492-

0550REG-v2 (eff. 3/2017) 

Community Association Annual Report, A492-

0550ANRPT-v4 (eff. 3/2017) 

Community Association Governing Board Change Form, 

A492-0550GBCHG-v1 (eff. 9/2013) 

Community Association Point of Contact/Management 

Change Form, A492-0550POCCHG-v1 (eff. 9/2013) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5045; Filed February 24, 2017, 12:12 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC48-70. Common Interest 

Community Ombudsman Regulations (amending 

18VAC48-70-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 55-530 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Common Interest Community Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8510, 

FAX (866) 490-2723, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments clarify that new condominium, 

cooperative, and property owners associations must 

establish and adopt complaint procedures within 90 days 

of filing with the Common Interest Community Board, but 

that existing associations must have complaint procedures 

in place when they register with the board. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

18VAC48-70-40. Establishment and adoption of written 

association complaint procedure. 

A. Associations registered with the board before July 1, 

2012, shall establish and adopt an association complaint 

procedure within 90 days of July 1, 2012. 

B. A. Associations filing an initial application for 

registration pursuant to § 55-79.93:1, 55-504.1, or 55-516.1 

of the Code of Virginia must certify that an association 

complaint procedure has been established and adopted at the 

date of registering or will be established and adopted by the 

governing board within 90 days of such filing registering with 

the board.  

B. An association that has been delinquent in registering the 

association and filing its required annual reports is still 

required to have an established and adopted written 

association complaint procedure. At the time such an 

association files an application for registration, it must certify 

that an association complaint procedure has been established 

and adopted by the governing board. 

C. The association shall certify with each annual report 

filing that the association complaint procedure has been 

adopted and is in effect. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4523; Filed February 24, 2017, 12:12 p.m.  

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Withdrawal of Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 

Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-10, 18VAC50-22-40, 

18VAC50-22-50, 18VAC50-22-60, 18VAC50-22-220, 

18VAC50-22-230, 18VAC50-22-310).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

The Board of Contractors has WITHDRAWN the proposed 

regulatory action for 18VAC50-22, Board for Contractors 

Regulations, which was published in 32:22 VA.R. 2970-2978 

June 27, 2016. Due to anticipated legislative action resulting 

from the 2017 Session of the General Assembly, including a 

statutory amendment to allow contractor applicants the option 

to demonstrate financial integrity by submitting a surety bond 

(Senate Bill 1113), several regulatory proposals in this action 

may no longer be necessary. A new action will be submitted 

based on revised data at an appropriate time as warranted. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1bc9f005045~1&typ=40&actno=005045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1bc9f005045~1&typ=40&actno=005045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=50536005045~2&typ=40&actno=005045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=50536005045~2&typ=40&actno=005045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fe61d005045~3&typ=40&actno=005045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fe61d005045~3&typ=40&actno=005045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=65135004536~12&typ=40&actno=004536&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=65135004536~12&typ=40&actno=004536&mime=application/pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=5736
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=5736
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23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4414; Filed February 16, 2017, 4:27 p.m.  

Withdrawal of Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-30. Individual License and 

Certification Regulations (amending 18VAC50-30-20, 

18VAC50-30-30, 18VAC50-30-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

The Board of Contractors has WITHDRAWN the proposed 

regulatory action for 18VAC50-30, Board for Contractors 

Regulations, which was published in 32:22 VA.R. 2978-2983 

June 27, 2016. Due to anticipated legislative action resulting 

from the 2017 Session of the General Assembly, including a 

statutory amendment to allow contractor applicants the option 

to demonstrate financial integrity by submitting a surety bond 

(Senate Bill 1113), several regulatory proposals in this action 

may no longer be necessary. A new action will be submitted 

based on revised data at an appropriate time as warranted. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4415; Filed February 16, 2017, 4:28 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-90, 

18VAC110-20-106).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 19, 2017. 

Effective Date: May 5, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Board of Pharmacy to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system with a specific mandate 

enacted by Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly to 

include provisions for the satisfaction of board-required 

continuing education through the delivery of health care 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals 

receiving health services through a local health department or 

a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery 

of those health services. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is 

compliance with the mandate of the General Assembly and to 

provide an incentive for licensees to volunteer professional 

services to free clinics or public health centers. While a 

licensee can satisfy up to two hours of continuing education 

with six hours of volunteer service, he is still required to have 

13 hours of approved continuing education necessary to 

acquire new knowledge and skills. For pharmacy technicians, 

one hour of continuing education may be credited for three 

hours of providing volunteer services. Therefore, public 

health is served by a potential increase in badly needed 

volunteer service for pharmacy services, but public safety is 

not sacrificed by eliminating most or all of the continuing 

education hours required for renewal. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

allowance of hours for volunteer service to be counted 

towards the continuing education requirement is a mandate of 

the General Assembly. A licensee is not required to provide 

volunteer service but may be credited with continuing 

education hours for doing so. The provisions are permissive 

and neither is controversial. 

Substance: The board has adopted amended regulations to 

allow pharmacists to count up to two hours of the 15 hours 

required for annual renewal to be satisfied through delivery of 

pharmacy services, without compensation, to low-income 

individuals receiving health services through a local health 

department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily 

for the delivery of those services. One hour of continuing 

education may be credited for three hours of providing such 

volunteer services, as documented by the health department 

or free clinic. Pharmacy technicians are allowed to count up 

to one hour of continuing education for three hours of 

volunteer service. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is the incentive given for 

pharmacists and pharmacy technicians to volunteer their 

services in exchange for credit towards meeting continuing 

education requirements. There are no disadvantages to the 

public. There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly,
1
 the 

Board of Pharmacy (Board) proposes to allow six hours of 

volunteer work to be substituted for up to two hours of 

continuing education annually for pharmacists and three 

hours of volunteer work to be substituted for up to one hour 

of continuing education annually for pharmacy technicians. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly requires all health boards to promulgate regulations 

to accept volunteer work provided to low-income individuals 

through local health departments or free clinics in lieu of the 

required continuing education. Pursuant to the legislative 

mandate, the Board proposes to accept three hours of 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=5737
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=5737
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volunteer work in satisfaction of one hour of continuing 

education from pharmacists and pharmacy technicians. The 

limit on the continuing education hours that can be satisfied 

by volunteer work is two hours for pharmacists and one hour 

for pharmacy technicians every year. Currently, pharmacists 

and pharmacy technicians are required respectively to take 15 

and 5 hours of continuing education every year for annual 

renewal of their licenses and registrations. 

The proposed change will allow affected practitioners to 

substitute volunteer work for continuing education. The 

educational value of volunteer services may vary depending 

on each person's experience. However, the proposed limits on 

the continuing education hours that can be gained through 

this method are a relatively small portion of the annually 

required hours. 

Also, it is not clear whether the ratio of required three hours 

per continuing education hour is sufficient by itself to provide 

enough incentives to offer volunteer service. It appears easier 

for affected practitioners to spend one hour acquiring 

continuing education than to spend three hours providing free 

services. However, it is reasonable to expect that the 

additional incentive provided by the proposed regulation 

would lead to increased volunteer hours by convincing 

affected practitioners who are indecisive at the margin about 

providing such services. The proposed regulation will also 

help those practitioners who have already been providing 

volunteer services at the qualified locations by allowing them 

to earn continuing education credit for their charity work. 

In any event, the proposed regulation allows substitution of 

volunteer work for continuing education, but does not 

mandate it. A practitioner choosing to do volunteer work in 

lieu of the continuing education reveals that he or she benefits 

more from doing so. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, there are 14,210 

pharmacists and 14,373 pharmacy technicians with current 

licenses and registrations in Virginia. According to data 

provided by the Virginia Employment Commission, there are 

1,529 establishments in the industry category of the affected 

entities. All of the 1,529 establishments in that category 

satisfy the small business criteria. However, most of these 

establishments are chain stores owned by non-small 

businesses. The number of continuing education providers is 

not known. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

may lead to a decrease in demand for continuing education 

services. However, the proposed limits on the continuing 

education hours that can be gained through this method is a 

relatively small portion of the annually required hours. In 

addition, the substitution of voluntary work for continuing 

education hours is voluntary and may not be exercised by all 

practitioners. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

potential impact on the asset value of continuing education 

providers is not known with certainty, but appears to be 

small. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Most if not all of the pharmacy 

establishments are small businesses. However, most are 

owned by non-small businesses. The proposed amendments 

do not impose costs on them. Most providers of continuing 

education services are probably small businesses. The 

proposed regulation may decrease the demand for their 

services by a small amount. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no known alternative that minimizes the potential small 

adverse impact on providers of continuing education services 

while achieving the same goals. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

_____________________________ 
1 http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Pharmacy concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments allow pharmacists to substitute six hours of 

volunteer work for two hours of continuing education and 

pharmacy technicians to substitute three hours of volunteer 

work for one hour of continuing education annually.  

18VAC110-20-90. Requirements for continuing education. 

A. A pharmacist shall be required to have completed a 

minimum of 1.5 CEUs or 15 contact hours of continuing 

pharmacy education in an approved program for each annual 

renewal of licensure. CEUs or hours in excess of the number 

required for renewal may not be transferred or credited to 

another year.  

B. A pharmacy education program approved for continuing 

pharmacy education is:  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082
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1. One that is approved by the Accreditation Council for 

Pharmacy Education (ACPE);  

2. One that is approved as a Category I Continuing 

Medical Education (CME) course, the primary focus of 

which is pharmacy, pharmacology, or drug therapy; or  

3. One that is approved by the board in accordance with the 

provisions of 18VAC110-20-100.  

C. The board may grant an extension pursuant to § 54.1-

3314.1 E of the Code of Virginia. Any subsequent extension 

shall be granted only for good cause shown.  

D. Up to two hours of the 15 hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through delivery of pharmacy 

services as a pharmacist, without compensation, to low-

income individuals receiving health services through a local 

health department or a free clinic organized in whole or 

primarily for the delivery of those services.  One hour of 

continuing education may be credited for three hours of 

providing such volunteer services, as documented by the 

health department or free clinic.  

D. E. Pharmacists are required to attest to compliance with 

CE requirements in a manner approved by the board at the 

time of their annual license renewal. Following each renewal 

period, the board may conduct an audit of the immediate past 

two years' CE documents to verify compliance with 

requirements. Pharmacists are required to maintain, for two 

years following renewal, the original certificates documenting 

successful completion of CE, showing date and title of the CE 

program or activity, the number of CEUs or contact hours 

awarded, and a certifying signature or other certification of 

the approved provider. Pharmacists selected for audit must 

provide these original documents to the board by the deadline 

date specified by the board in the audit notice.  

18VAC110-20-106. Requirements for continued 

competency.  

A. A pharmacy technician shall be required to have 

completed a minimum of 0.5 CEUs or five contact hours of 

approved continuing education for each annual renewal of 

registration. Hours in excess of the number required for 

renewal may not be transferred or credited to another year.  

B. An approved continuing education program shall meet 

the requirements as set forth in subsection B of 18VAC110-

20-90 or subsection B of 18VAC110-20-100.  

C. Upon written request of a pharmacy technician, the board 

may grant an extension of up to one year in order for the 

pharmacy technician to fulfill the continuing education 

requirements for the period of time in question. The granting 

of an extension shall not relieve the pharmacy technician 

from complying with current year requirements. Any 

subsequent extension shall be granted for good cause shown.  

D. Up to one hour of the five hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through delivery of pharmacy 

services as a pharmacy technician, without compensation, to 

low-income individuals receiving health services through a 

local health department or a free clinic organized in whole or 

primarily for the delivery of those services. One hour of 

continuing education may be credited for three hours of 

providing such volunteer services, as documented by the 

health department or free clinic.  

D. E. Original certificates showing successful completion of 

continuing education programs shall be maintained by the 

pharmacy technician for a period of two years following the 

renewal of his registration. The pharmacy technician shall 

provide such original certificates to the board upon request in 

a manner to be determined by the board.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4990; Filed February 20, 2017, 11:29 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physical Therapy (amending 18VAC112-

20-131).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 19, 2017. 

Effective Date: May 5, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4674, FAX (804) 

527-4413, or email ptboard@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Board of Physical Therapy to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system with a specific mandate 

enacted by Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly to 

include provisions for the satisfaction of board-required 

continuing education through the delivery of health care 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals 

receiving health services through a local health department or 

free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of 

those health services. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to comply 

with the mandate of the General Assembly and provide an 

incentive for licensees to volunteer professional services to 

free clinics or public health centers. While a licensee can 

satisfy two hours of Type 2 continuing education with two 

hours of volunteer service, he is still required to have 20 Type 

1 hours of approved continuing education for physical 

therapists and 15 Type 1 hours of approved continuing 

education for physical therapist assistants necessary to 

acquire new knowledge and skills. Therefore, public health is 

served by a potential increase in badly needed volunteer 

service for health care, but public safety is not sacrificed by 

eliminating most or all of the continuing education hours 

required for renewal. 
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Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

allowance of hours for volunteer service to be counted 

towards the continuing education requirement is a mandate of 

the General Assembly. A licensee is not required to provide 

volunteer service but may be credited with continuing 

education hours for doing so. The provision is permissive and 

not controversial. 

Substance: The board adopted amended regulations to allow 

physical therapists and physical therapist assistants to count 

two hours of the Type 2 hours allowed for renewal to be 

satisfied through delivery of professional services, without 

compensation, to low-income individuals receiving health 

services through a local health department or a free clinic 

organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of those 

services. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is the incentive given for 

licensees to volunteer their services in exchange for credit 

towards meeting continuing education requirements. There 

are no disadvantages to the public. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly,
1
 the 

Board of Physical Therapy (Board) proposes to allow two 

hours of volunteer work to be substituted for up to two hours 

of continuing education biennially for physical therapists and 

physical therapy assistants. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly requires all health boards to promulgate regulations 

to accept volunteer work provided to low-income individuals 

through local health departments or free clinics in lieu of the 

required continuing education. Pursuant to the legislative 

mandate, the Board proposes to accept one hour of volunteer 

work in satisfaction of one hour of continuing education from 

physical therapists and physical therapy assistants. The limit 

on the continuing education hours that can be satisfied by 

volunteer work is two hours every two years. Currently, 

physical therapists and physical therapy assistants are 

required to take 30 hours of continuing education every two 

years for biennial renewal of their licenses. 

The proposed change will allow affected practitioners to 

substitute volunteer work for continuing education. The 

educational value of volunteer services may vary depending 

on each person's experience. However, the two-hour limit on 

the continuing education hours that can be gained through 

this method is a relatively small portion of the biennially 

required 30 hours. 

Also, it is not clear whether the ratio of required one hour per 

continuing education hour is sufficient by itself to provide 

enough incentives to offer volunteer service. It appears easier 

for practitioners to spend one hour acquiring continuing 

education than to spend one hour providing free services. 

However, it is reasonable to expect that the additional 

incentive provided by the proposed regulation would lead to 

increased volunteer hours by convincing practitioners who are 

indecisive at the margin about providing such services. The 

proposed regulation will also help those practitioners who 

have already been providing volunteer services at the 

qualified locations by allowing them to earn continuing 

education credit for their charity work. 

In any event, the proposed regulation allows substitution of 

volunteer work for continuing education, but does not 

mandate it. A practitioner choosing to do volunteer work in 

lieu of the continuing education reveals that he or she benefits 

more from doing so. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, there are 7,957 

physical therapists and 3,178 physical therapy assistants 

licensed in Virginia. According to data provided by the 

Virginia Employment Commission, there are 898 

establishments in the industry category of the affected entities 

that includes establishments of other health practitioners (e.g., 

offices of audiologists, pathologists, occupational therapists, 

etc.) not directly affected by the proposed regulation. All of 

the 898 establishments in that category satisfy the small 

business criteria. The number of continuing education 

providers is not known. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

may lead to a decrease in demand for continuing education 

services. However, the two-hour limit on the continuing 

education hours that can be gained through this method is a 

relatively small portion of the biennially required 30 hours. In 

addition, the substitution of voluntary work for continuing 

education hours is voluntary and may not be exercised by all 

practitioners. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

potential impact on the asset value of continuing education 

providers is not known with certainty, but appears to be 

small. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects 

All of the physical therapy establishments are small 

businesses. The proposed amendments do not impose costs 

on them. Most providers of continuing education services are 

probably small businesses as well. The proposed regulation 
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may decrease the demand for their services by a small 

amount. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact 

There is no known alternative that minimizes the potential 

small adverse impact on providers of continuing education 

services while achieving the same goals. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

______________________________ 
1 http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Physical Therapy concurs with the analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments allow physical therapists and physical 

therapist assistants to substitute two hours of volunteer 

work for two hours of Type 2 continuing education 

annually.  

18VAC112-20-131. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of an active license.  

A. In order to renew an active license biennially, a physical 

therapist or a physical therapist assistant shall complete at 

least 30 contact hours of continuing learning activities within 

the two years immediately preceding renewal. In choosing 

continuing learning activities or courses, the licensee shall 

consider the following: (i) the need to promote ethical 

practice, (ii) an appropriate standard of care, (iii) patient 

safety, (iv) application of new medical technology, (v) 

appropriate communication with patients, and (vi) knowledge 

of the changing health care system.  

B. To document the required hours, the licensee shall 

maintain the Continued Competency Activity and Assessment 

Form that is provided by the board and that shall indicate 

completion of the following:  

1. A minimum of 20 of the contact hours required for 

physical therapists and 15 of the contact hours required for 

physical therapist assistants shall be in Type 1 courses. For 

the purpose of this section, "course" means an organized 

program of study, classroom experience or similar 

educational experience that is directly related to the clinical 

practice of physical therapy and approved or provided by 

one of the following organizations or any of its 

components:  

a. The Virginia Physical Therapy Association;  

b. The American Physical Therapy Association;  

c. Local, state or federal government agencies;  

d. Regionally accredited colleges and universities;  

e. Health care organizations accredited by a national 

accrediting organization granted authority by the Centers 

for Medicare and Medicaid Services to assure 

compliance with Medicare conditions of participation;  

f. The American Medical Association - Category I 

Continuing Medical Education course; and  

g. The National Athletic Trainers' Association.  

2. No more than 10 of the contact hours required for 

physical therapists and 15 of the contact hours required for 

physical therapist assistants may be Type 2 activities or 

courses, which may or may not be offered by an approved 

organization but which shall be related to the clinical 

practice of physical therapy. Type 2 activities may include 

but not be limited to consultation with colleagues, 

independent study, and research or writing on subjects 

related to practice. Up to two of the Type 2 continuing 

education hours may be satisfied through delivery of 

physical therapy services, without compensation, to low-

income individuals receiving services through a local 

health department or a free clinic organized in whole or 

primarily for the delivery of health services.  

3. Documentation of specialty certification by the 

American Physical Therapy Association may be provided 

as evidence of completion of continuing competency 

requirements for the biennium in which initial certification 

or recertification occurs.  

4. Documentation of graduation from a transitional doctor 

of physical therapy program may be provided as evidence 

of completion of continuing competency requirements for 

the biennium in which the physical therapist was awarded 

the degree. 

5. A physical therapist who can document that he has taken 

the PRT may receive 10 hours of Type 1 credit for the 

biennium in which the assessment tool was taken. A 

physical therapist who can document that he has met the 

standard of the PRT may receive 20 hours of Type 1 credit 

for the biennium in which the assessment tool was taken. 

C. A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing 

competency requirements for the first biennial renewal 

following the date of initial licensure by examination in 

Virginia.  

D. The licensee shall retain his records on the completed 

form with all supporting documentation for a period of four 

years following the renewal of an active license.  

E. The licensees selected in a random audit conducted by the 

board shall provide the completed Continued Competency 

Activity and Assessment Form and all supporting 

documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the 

audit.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082
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F. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 

the licensee to disciplinary action by the board.  

G. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 

continuing competency requirements for up to one year for 

good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 

prior to the renewal date.  

H. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 

licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4962; Filed February 20, 2017, 11:32 a.m.  

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Veterinary Medicine (amending 

18VAC150-20-70).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3805.2 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 19, 2017. 

Effective Date: May 5, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4468, FAX 

(804) 527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Board of Veterinary Medicine to promulgate regulations 

to administer the regulatory system with a specific mandate 

enacted by Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly to 

include provisions for the satisfaction of board-required 

continuing education through the delivery of health care 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals 

receiving health services through a local health department or 

free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of 

those health services. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to comply 

with the mandate of the General Assembly and provide an 

incentive for licensees to volunteer professional services to 

free clinics or public health centers. While a licensee can 

satisfy up to two hours of continuing education with six hours 

of volunteer service, he is still required to have 13 hours of 

approved continuing education necessary to acquire new 

knowledge and skills. For veterinary technicians, one hour 

could be credited for volunteering with seven hours of 

continuing education still required. Therefore, public health is 

served by a potential increase in volunteer service for 

veterinary services (such as rabies clinics scheduled through 

the local health department), but public safety is not 

sacrificed by eliminating most or all of the continuing 

education hours required for renewal. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

allowance of hours for volunteer service to be counted 

towards the continuing education requirement is a mandate of 

the General Assembly. A licensee is not required to provide 

volunteer service but may be credited with continuing 

education hours for doing so. The provisions are permissive 

and neither is controversial. 

Substance: The board adopted amended regulations to allow 

veterinarians to count up to two hours of the 15 hours 

required for annual renewal to be satisfied through delivery of 

veterinary services, without compensation, to low-income 

individuals receiving health services through a local health 

department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily 

for the delivery of those services. Veterinary technicians will 

be allowed to count up to one hour of the eight hours required 

for annual renewal of volunteer service. One hour of 

continuing education may be credited for three hours of 

providing such volunteer services, as documented by the 

health department or free clinic. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is the incentive given for 

veterinarians and veterinary technicians to volunteer their 

services in exchange for credit towards meeting continuing 

education requirements. There are no disadvantages. There 

are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Session of the General 

Assembly,
1
 the Board of Veterinary Medicine (Board) 

proposes to allow six hours of volunteer work to be 

substituted for up to two hours of continuing education 

annually for veterinarians and three hours of volunteer work 

to be substituted for up to one hour of continuing education 

annually for veterinary technicians. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 82 of the 2016 Session 

of the General Assembly requires all health boards to 

promulgate regulations to accept volunteer work provided to 

low-income individuals through local health departments or 

free clinics in lieu of the required continuing education. 

Pursuant to the legislative mandate, the Board proposes to 

accept three hours of volunteer work in satisfaction of one 

hour of continuing education from veterinarians and 

veterinary technicians. The limit on the continuing education 

hours that can be satisfied by volunteer work is two hours for 

veterinarians and one hour for veterinary technicians every 

year. Currently, veterinarians and veterinary technicians are 

required respectively to take 15 and 8 hours of continuing 

education every year for annual renewal of their licenses and 

registrations. 

The proposed change will allow affected practitioners to 

substitute volunteer work for continuing education. The 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 15 Virginia Register of Regulations March 20, 2017 

1898 

educational value of volunteer services may vary depending 

on each person's experience. However, the proposed limits on 

the continuing education hours that can be gained through 

this method are a relatively small portion of the annually 

required hours. 

Also, it is not clear whether the ratio of required three hours 

per continuing education hour is sufficient by itself to provide 

enough incentives to offer volunteer service. It appears easier 

for affected practitioners to spend one hour acquiring 

continuing education than to spend three hours providing free 

services. However, it is reasonable to expect that the 

additional incentive provided by the proposed regulation 

would lead to increased volunteer hours by convincing 

affected practitioners who are indecisive at the margin about 

providing such services. The proposed regulation will also 

help those practitioners who have already been providing 

volunteer services at the qualified locations by allowing them 

to earn continuing education credit for their charity work. 

In any event, the proposed regulation allows substitution of 

volunteer work for continuing education, but does not 

mandate it. A practitioner choosing to do volunteer work in 

lieu of the continuing education reveals that he or she benefits 

more from doing so. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, there are 4,279 

veterinarians and 2,073 veterinary technicians with current 

licenses in Virginia. According to data provided by the 

Virginia Employment Commission, there are 870 

establishments in the industry category of the affected 

entities. All of the 870 establishments in that category satisfy 

the small business criteria. The number of continuing 

education providers is not known. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

may lead to a decrease in demand for continuing education 

services. However, the proposed limits on the continuing 

education hours that can be gained through this method is a 

relatively small portion of the annually required hours.  In 

addition, the substitution of voluntary work for continuing 

education hours is voluntary and may not be exercised by all 

practitioners. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

potential impact on the asset value of continuing education 

providers is not known with certainty, but appears to be 

small. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. All of the veterinary establishments 

are small businesses. The proposed amendments do not 

impose costs on them. Most providers of continuing 

education services are probably small businesses as well. The 

proposed regulation may decrease the demand for their 

services by a small amount. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no known alternative that minimizes the potential small 

adverse impact on providers of continuing education services 

while achieving the same goals. 

Adverse Impacts:   

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

____________________________ 
1 http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Veterinary Medicine concurs with the analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

Pursuant to Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments allow veterinarians to substitute six hours of 

volunteer work for two hours of continuing education and 

veterinary technicians to substitute three hours of 

volunteer work for one hour of continuing education 

annually. 

18VAC150-20-70. Licensure renewal requirements. 

A. Every person licensed by the board shall, by January 1 of 

every year, submit to the board a completed renewal 

application and pay to the board a renewal fee as prescribed 

in 18VAC150-20-100. Failure to renew shall cause the 

license to lapse and become invalid, and practice with a 

lapsed license may subject the licensees to disciplinary action 

by the board. Failure to receive a renewal notice does not 

relieve the licensee of his responsibility to renew and 

maintain a current license. 

B. Veterinarians shall be required to have completed a 

minimum of 15 hours, and veterinary technicians shall be 

required to have completed a minimum of eight hours, of 

approved continuing education for each annual renewal of 

licensure. Continuing education credits or hours may not be 

transferred or credited to another year. 

1. Approved continuing education credit shall be given for 

courses or programs related to the treatment and care of 

patients and shall be clinical courses in veterinary medicine 

or veterinary technology or courses that enhance patient 

safety, such as medical recordkeeping or compliance with 

requirements of the Occupational Health and Safety 

Administration (OSHA). 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0082
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2. An approved continuing education course or program 

shall be sponsored by one of the following:  

a. The AVMA or its constituent and component/branch 

associations, specialty organizations, and board certified 

specialists in good standing within their specialty board;  

b. Colleges of veterinary medicine approved by the 

AVMA Council on Education;  

c. International, national, or regional conferences of 

veterinary medicine;  

d. Academies or species-specific interest groups of 

veterinary medicine;  

e. State associations of veterinary technicians;  

f. North American Veterinary Technicians Association;  

g. Community colleges with an approved program in 

veterinary technology;  

h. State or federal government agencies;  

i. American Animal Hospital Association (AAHA) or its 

constituent and component/branch associations;  

j. Journals or veterinary information networks recognized 

by the board as providing education in veterinary 

medicine or veterinary technology; or  

k. An organization or entity approved by the Registry of 

Approved Continuing Education of the American 

Association of Veterinary State Boards.  

3. A licensee is exempt from completing continuing 

education requirements and considered in compliance on 

the first renewal date following his initial licensure by 

examination.  

4. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially 

declared disasters.  

5. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up 

to one year for the completion of continuing education 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior 

to the renewal date. Such an extension shall not relieve the 

licensee of the continuing education requirement.  

6. Licensees are required to attest to compliance with 

continuing education requirements on their annual license 

renewal and are required to maintain original documents 

verifying the date and subject of the program or course, the 

number of continuing education hours or credits, and 

certification from an approved sponsor. Original 

documents must be maintained for a period of two years 

following renewal. The board shall periodically conduct a 

random audit to determine compliance. Practitioners 

selected for the audit shall provide all supporting 

documentation within 10 days of receiving notification of 

the audit.  

7. Continuing education hours required by disciplinary 

order shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements.  

8. Up to two hours of the 15 hours required for annual 

renewal of a veterinarian license and up to one hour of the 

eight hours required for annual renewal of a veterinary 

technician license may be satisfied through delivery of 

veterinary services, without compensation, to low-income 

individuals receiving health services through a local health 

department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily 

for the delivery of those services.  One hour of continuing 

education may be credited for three hours of providing 

such volunteer services, as documented by the health 

department or free clinic. 

C. A licensee who has requested that his license be placed 

on inactive status is not authorized to perform acts that are 

considered the practice of veterinary medicine or veterinary 

technology and, therefore, shall not be required to have 

continuing education for annual renewal. To reactivate a 

license, the licensee is required to submit evidence of 

completion of continuing education hours as required by 

§ 54.1-3805.2 of the Code of Virginia equal to the number of 

years in which the license has not been active for a maximum 

of two years.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5016; Filed February 20, 2017, 11:31 a.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Provision of Independent Living Rehabilitation 
Services 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services is conducting a periodic review 

and small business impact review of 22VAC30-30, Provision 

of Independent Living Rehabilitation Services. The review 

of this regulation will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins March 20, 2017, and ends April 

20, 2017. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Vanessa S. Rakestraw, Ph.D., CRC, 

Policy Analyst, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, 

telephone (804) 662-7612, FAX (804) 662-7663, or email 

vanessa.rakestraw@dars.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

State Implementation Plan Revision - Municipal 
Solid Waste Landfills 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 

proposed revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia's 

§ 111(d) plan for municipal solid waste landfills (MSWLs). A 

§ 111(d) plan is developed by the Commonwealth in order to 

fulfill its responsibilities under the federal Clean Air Act to 

implement and enforce emissions guidelines for MSWLs. The 

Commonwealth intends to submit the plan to the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) in accordance with 

the requirements of the federal Clean Air Act. 

Regulations affected: The regulations of the board affected by 

this action are as follows: Documents Incorporated by 

Reference, 9VAC5-20-21, of 9VAC5-20 (General 

Provisions) and Emission Standards for Municipal Solid 

Waste Landfills for which Construction, Reconstruction, or 

Modification was Commenced on or before July 17, 2014, 

Article 4-43.1 (9VAC5-40-5925 et seq.), of 9VAC5-40 

(Existing Stationary Sources), Revision H16. 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comment on the overall 

plan and on the issue of whether any regulations or inventory 

information included in the plan should be submitted to EPA 

as part of the plan. 

Public comment period: March 20, 2017, to May 1, 2017. 

Public hearing: A public hearing will be held in Second Floor 

Conference Room A, Department of Environmental Quality, 

629 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, at 10 a.m. on 

April 19, 2017, to accept comments concerning the proposed 

plan. Using the procedures explained in this notice, DEQ will 

also accept written comments through May 1, 2017. 

Public comment stage: The public comment period and 

hearing are being conducted to satisfy the public participation 

requirements of federal regulations at 40 CFR 60.23(c) and 

(d). The regulations included in this plan have been adopted 

by the State Air Pollution Control Board in accordance with 

the Code of Virginia and with public participation as required 

by the Code of Virginia, the federal Clean Air Act, and the 

Code of Federal Regulations. Because the regulations have 

been adopted, DEQ is accepting comment only on the issues 

cited in this notice and not on the content of the regulations. 

Description of proposal: EPA amended the designated 

pollutant emission guidelines for MSWLs on August 29, 

2016 (81 FR 59276). In order to implement the guidelines, it 

was necessary for Virginia to adopt a new Article 43.1 

containing the federal provisions and update the most current 

version of 40 CFR Part 60 listed in 9VAC5-20-21, 

Documents incorporated by reference. In addition to relevant 

regulations, the proposed plan revision contains an inventory 

of affected facilities. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 

public participation requirements of federal regulations and 

not any provision of state law. The proposal will be submitted 

as a § 111(d) plan revision under §§ 111(d) of the federal 

Clean Air Act in accordance with 40 CFR 60.23(c) and (d). It 

is planned to submit all provisions of the proposal as a 

Commonwealth of Virginia § 111(d) plan with the exception 

of state-only enforceable provisions and provisions relevant 

to § 110 ozone controls. These affected provisions are 

specifically identified in the plan. 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:vanessa.rakestraw@dars.virginia.gov
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How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments 

must include the full name, address, and telephone number of 

the person commenting and be received by DEQ by the last 

day of the comment period. Both oral and written comments 

are accepted at the public hearing. DEQ prefers that 

comments be provided in writing, along with any supporting 

documents or exhibits. All materials received are part of the 

public record. 

To review plan documents: The proposal is available on the 

DEQ Air Public Notices for Plans website 

at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/a

irplansandprograms.aspx. 

The documents may also be obtained by contacting the DEQ 

representative named below. The public may review the 

documents between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of each business 

day until the close of the public comment period at the 

Department of Environmental Quality, Main Street Office, 

629 East Main Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 698-4070. 

Contact Information: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 

698-4510, or email karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

State Implementation Plan Revision - Northern 
Virginia Ozone Nonattainment Area 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 

proposed plan to attain and maintain the national ambient air 

quality standard for ozone in the Northern Virginia Ozone 

Nonattainment Area. The Commonwealth intends to submit 

the plan as a revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia State 

Implementation Plan (SIP) in accordance with the 

requirements of § 110(a) of the federal Clean Air Act. The 

SIP is the plan developed by the Commonwealth in order to 

fulfill its responsibilities under the federal Clean Air Act to 

attain and maintain the ambient air quality standards 

promulgated by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 

(EPA) under the Act. 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comments on the overall 

plan and on the issue of whether the plan demonstrates 

Virginia's ability to implement EPA's new source review 

permitting program for ozone nonattainment areas. 

Public comment period: March 20, 2017, to April 20, 2017. 

Public hearing: A public hearing will be conducted if a 

request is made in writing to the contact listed at the end of 

this notice. In order to be considered, the request must include 

the full name, address, and telephone number of the person 

requesting the hearing and be received by DEQ by the last 

day of the comment period. Notice of the date, time, and 

location of any requested public hearing will be announced in 

a separate notice, and another 30-day comment period will be 

conducted. 

Description of proposal: The proposed revision consists of a 

certification that Virginia's existing Nonattainment New 

Source Review Program, covering the Washington, DC-MD-

VA nonattainment area for the 2008 ozone NAAQS, is at 

least as stringent as the requirements at 40 CFR 51.165 for 

ozone and its precursors, as amended by the March 6, 2015 

final rule, "Implementation of the 2008 National Ambient Air 

Quality Standard for Ozone: State Implementation Plan 

Requirements" (80 FR 12264). The nonattainment area 

consists of the Counties of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and 

Prince William; and the Cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls 

Church, Manassas, and Manassas Park. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 

public participation requirements of federal regulations 

(40 CFR 51.102). It is planned to submit all provisions of the 

proposal as a revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments 

must include the full name, address, and telephone number of 

the person commenting and be received by DEQ on the last 

day of the comment period. All materials received are part of 

the public record. 

To review proposal: The proposal and any supporting 

documents are available on the DEQ Air Public Notices for 

Plans website at 

http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airpla

nsandprograms.aspx. The documents may also be obtained by 

contacting the DEQ representative named below. The public 

may review the documents between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. 

of each business day until the close of the public comment 

period at the following DEQ locations:  

1) Main Street Office, 8th Floor, 629 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4070, and  

2) Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 

Woodbridge, VA, telephone (703) 583-3800. 

Contact Information: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 

698-4510, or email karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Briel Farm Solar LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy (Solar) Project Permit by Rule - 

Henrico County 

Briel Farm Solar, LLC, has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Henrico County pursuant 

to 9VAC15-60. The project is located in eastern Henrico 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
mailto:karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
mailto:karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov
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County, immediately northeast of the I-295 and I-64 

interchange. The project will have a maximum capacity of 20 

megawatts alternating current. The solar panels will be sited 

across multiple parcels of land totaling approximately 230 

acres. Proposed improvements include solar arrays and 

related infrastructure, access roads, fencing, possible 

stormwater management best management practices, and 

temporary erosion controls. The site is currently agricultural 

land and was previously rezoned to M-1c by the property 

owner. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 

698-4510, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Request for Comments on Revision to Fees for 
Drinking Water Laboratory Certification - Effective 

May 1, 2017 - April 30, 2018 

Purpose of notice and background information: The Division 

of Consolidated Laboratory Services (DCLS) is seeking 

comment on the revision to fees charged for certifying 

drinking water laboratories under 1VAC30-41-270. 

1VAC30-41-270 I 2 requires DCLS to increase or decrease 

annually the fees charged for certifying drinking water 

laboratories using the Consumer Price Index-Urban 

percentage change, average-average for the previous calendar 

year published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics in 

February. For 2016, the percentage change, average-average 

is an additional 1.3%. See Table 24, page 74 in 

https://www.bls.gov/cpi/cpid1701.pdf.  

This fee revision is exempt from the requirements of the 

Administrative Process Act. The Budget of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia (Chapter 780 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly, effective July 1, 2016) in Item 77 C 3a requires 

DCLS to provide notice and an opportunity to submit written 

comments on the revised fees.  

The notice of fees for May 1, 2017, through April 30, 2018, 

will be published on the DCLS drinking water laboratory 

certification webpage after consideration of submitted 

comments. 

Public comment period: March 20, 2017, to April 20, 2017. 

How to comment: DCLS accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments 

must include the full name, address, and telephone number of 

the person commenting and be received by DCLS by the last 

day of the comment period. All materials received are part of 

the public record. Email comments should be sent to 

rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. The number for faxed 

comments is (804) 371-8305. Written comments should be 

sent to Rhonda Bishton, Regulatory Coordinator, Department 

of General Services, Attention: DCLS DW Fee Comments, 

1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, Richmond, VA 23219. Agency 

contact: Rhonda Bishton, telephone (804) 786-3311. 

Notice of fees for May 1, 2017 - April 30, 2018: DCLS 

requests comments on the revised fees in the notice below. 

Virginia Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services 

Fees for Drinking Water Laboratory Certification  

(1VAC30-41-270) 

Effective May 1, 2017 - April 30, 2018 

TESTING CATEGORY FEE 

Microbiological testing   

  1 - 2 methods $619 

  3 - 5 methods $721 

  6+ methods $825 

Inorganic chemistry, nonmetals testing   

  1 - 2 methods $670 

  3 - 5 methods $876 

  6 - 8 methods $1082 

  9+ methods $1288 

Inorganic chemistry, metals testing  

  1 - 2 methods $1030 

  3 - 5 methods $1236 

  6+ methods $1441 

Organic chemistry  

  1 - 2 methods $1082 

  3 - 5 methods $1288 

  6 - 8 methods $1493 

  9+ methods $1700 

Radiochemistry  

  1 - 2 methods $1134 

  3 - 5 methods $1339 

  6+ methods $1546 

Asbestos  

  1 - 2 methods $927 

  3 - 5 methods $1134 

  6+ methods $1339 

How fees are calculated: DCLS calculates a laboratory's total 

fee by adding the fees for the number of test methods in each 

mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.bls.gov/cpi/cpid1701.pdf
mailto:rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov
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category in the fee table for which the laboratory is certified 

or applies to be certified. Contact Lab_Cert@dgs.virginia.gov 

for more information about the fee category for a specific 

method. 

Additional fees apply when a laboratory: 

• Applies for modification of certification under 1VAC30-

41-110, 

• Is moving its location when the move requires DCLS to 

perform an onsite assessment, 

• Requests reinstatement of certification when DCLS 

requires an onsite assessment, or 

Hourly fee for reviewers and calculation of total fee. The fee 

to be charged is the sum of the total hourly charges for all 

reviewers plus any onsite assessment costs incurred. The 

hourly charge per reviewer is $63. The charge per reviewer is 

determined by multiplying the number of hours expended in 

the review by $63.  

Onsite review and travel expenses. If an onsite review is 

required, travel time and onsite review time will be charged at 

the same hourly rate of $63 and any travel expenses will be 

added.  

When to pay: Payment is due at the time the application is 

made or annually thereafter upon receipt of the invoice from 

DCLS. Annual billing precedes the expiration of the current 

certificate. 

How to pay: Pay fees by check, draft, or postal money order 

payable to the Treasurer, Commonwealth of Virginia, or 

submit electronically, if available. Payment must be in United 

States currency, with the exception that agencies and 

institutions of the Commonwealth of Virginia may submit 

interagency transfers for the amount of the fee.  Laboratories 

may also pay fees using credit cards. All fees must be sent to 

the following address, or submitted electronically, if 

available: DCLS, Attn: Lab Certification, 600 North 5th 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219. A fee payment form is 

available on the Drinking Water page of the DCLS website at 

www.dgs.virginia.gov/dcls. 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery were 

filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on March 1, 

2017. The orders may be viewed at the Virginia Lottery, 900 

East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 201 North 9th Street, 2nd Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia. 

Director's Order Number Nine (17) 

Virginia Lottery's "Power Cruise" Final Rules for Operation 

(this Director's Order becomes effective on February 5, 2017, 

and shall remain in full force and effect through the end 

Promotion date unless amended or rescinded by further 

Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number Twenty (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1772 "2X THE MONEY" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective February 7, 2017) 

Director's Order Number Twenty-One (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1764 "777" Final Rules for 

Game Operation (effective February 7, 2017) 

Director's Order Number Twenty-Two (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1766 "Tripling Crossword" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective February 10, 2017) 

Director's Order Number Twenty-Three (17) 

Certain Virginia Promotion; Promotion Amendment and End 

of Promotion - Virginia Lottery's We're Game for Education 

Promotion_FY17 (148 16) (effective February 10, 2017) 

Director's Order Number Twenty-Four (17) 

Certain Virginia Promotion; Promotion Start Date Correction 

and Promotion End Date Correction - Farm Fresh Big Money 

Super Ticket Promotion (164 16) is amended as follows in 

order to correct the all occurrences of the Promotion title to: 

Farm Fresh Super Ticket Big Money Promotion (164 16) 

(effective February 3, 2017) 

Director's Order Number Thirty-Four (17) 

Certain Virginia Game: Prize Structure Correction - $40,000 

Taxes Paid (1743) (174 16) (effective February 17, 2017) 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Review of State Minerals Management Plan 

A 57-day comment forum began on February 22, 2017, and 

ends April 20, 2017. 

The Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy (DMME) is 

reviewing the State Minerals Management Plan (SMMP) 

pursuant to § 2.2-1157 of the Code of Virginia. As part of this 

process, DMME is accepting public comment on ways the 

SMMP can be improved. DMME is particularly interested in 

comments related to barriers, if any, that hinder development 

under the SMMP. Please submit comments via email to 

Michael Skiffington, Department of Mines, Minerals and 

Energy, Policy and Program Manager, 

email michael.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. Comments 

may also be sent via mail to Department of Mines, Minerals 

and Energy, 1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237. 

Contact Information: Michael Skiffington, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 

1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, 

mailto:Lab_Cert@dgs.virginia.gov
http://www.dgs.virginia.gov/dcls
http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/comments.cfm?GeneralNoticeid=677
http://townhall.virginia.gov/
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telephone (804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Safety and Health 

Codes Board is currently reviewing each of the regulations 

listed below to determine whether the regulation should be 

repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. The review 

of each regulation will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 17 (2014). Public comment is sought on the 

review of any issue relating to each regulation, including 

whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 

performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable 

law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

16VAC25-20, Regulation Concerning Licensed Asbestos 

Contractor Notification, Asbestos Project Permits, and 

Permit Fees 

16VAC25-30, Regulations for Asbestos Emissions 

Standards for Demolition and Renovation Construction 

Activities and the Disposal of Asbestos-Containing 

Construction Wastes-Incorporation by Reference, 40 CFR 

61.140 through 61.156 

16VAC25-40, Standard for Boiler and Pressure Vessel 

Operator Certification 

16VAC25-70, Virginia Confined Space Standard for the 

Telecommunications Industry 

16VAC25-97, Reverse Signal Operation Safety 

Requirements for Motor Vehicles, Machinery and 

Equipment in General Industry and the Construction 

Industry 

The comment period begins March 20, 2017, and ends April 

14, 2017. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, and a report of 

the small business impact review will be published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Holly Raney, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Virginia Department of Labor and Industry, 600 East Main 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, email 

holly.raney@doli.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Special Order for Boi Nae, LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed with Boi Nae, LLC 

for violations in Franklin County, Virginia. The special order 

by consent will address and resolve violations of 

environmental law and regulations. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Jerry Ford, Jr. will accept comments 

by email at jerry.ford@deq.virginia.gov, or postal mail at 

Department of Environmental Quality, Blue Ridge Regional 

Office, 3019 Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, VA 24019, from 

March 20, 2017, to April 19, 2017. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Stoney Glen, LLC 
and Gibraltar, LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Stoney Glen, 

LLC and Gibraltar, LLC for violations of State Water Control 

Law that occurred in Chesterfield County, Virginia. A 

description of the proposed action is available online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Justin Brown will accept comments 

by email at justin.brown@deq.virginia.gov or postal mail at 

Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23219, from March 20, 2017, through April 

19, 2017. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Tyson Farms, Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Tyson Farms, 

Inc. for violations of the State Water Control Law in 

Temperanceville, Virginia. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental 

Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Jennifer Coleman, Esq. will accept 

comments by email at jennifer.coleman@deq.virginia.gov, 

FAX at (757) 518-2009, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 

Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from March 

20, 2017, to April 19, 2017. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

mailto:mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov
mailto:holly.raney@doli.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:jerry.ford@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:justin.brown@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:Jennifer.Coleman@deq.virginia.gov
file://legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar
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repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS AND ONSITE SEWAGE 

SYSTEM PROFESSIONALS 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC160-30. Waterworks and 

Wastewater Works Operators Licensing Regulations. 

Publication: 33:11 VA.R. 1262-1293 January 23, 2017. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 1273, 18VAC160-30-360, subdivision B 1, clause (iv), 

after "growth" replace "contractors" with "contactors" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4114; Filed March 2, 2017, 4:08 p.m. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC160-40. Onsite Sewage System 

Professionals Licensing Regulations. 

Publication: 33:11 VA.R. 1262-1293 January 23, 2017. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 1285, 18VAC160-40-260, first paragraph, after "has 

been" replace "meet" with "met" 

Page 1290, 18VAC160-40-390, subdivision B 1, line 4, after 

"functions" insert a comma 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4114; Filed March 7, 2017, 9:38 a.m. 

 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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