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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 
any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 
5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  
November 5, 2012. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 
James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair; Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 
McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. Hopkins; Leslie L. Lilley; 
E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; 
Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Mark J. Vucci. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 
Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

May 2017 through April 2018 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

33:18 April 12, 2017 May 1, 2017 

33:19 April 26, 2017 May 15, 2017 

33:20 May 10, 2017 May 29, 2017 

33:21 May 24, 2017 June 12, 2017 

33:22 June 2, 2017 (Friday) June 26, 2017 

33:23 June 21, 2017 July 10, 2017 

33:24 July 5, 2017 July 24, 2017 

33:25 July 19, 2017 August 7, 2017 

33:26 August 2, 2017 August 21, 2017 

34:1 August 16, 2017 September 4, 2017 

34:2 August 30, 2017 September 18, 2017 

34:3 September 13, 2017 October 2, 2017 

34:4 September 27, 2017 October 16, 2017 

34:5 October 11, 2017 October 30, 2017 

34:6 October 25, 2017 November 13, 2017 

34:7 November 8, 2017 November 27, 2017 

34:8 November 21, 2017 (Tuesday) December 11, 2017 

34:9 December 6, 2017 December 25, 2017 

34:10 December 19, 2017 (Tuesday) January 8, 2018 

34:11 January 3, 2018 January 22, 2018 

34:12 January 17, 2018 February 5, 2018 

34:13 January 31, 2018 February 19, 2018 

34:14 February 14, 2018 March 5, 2018 

34:15 February 28, 2018 March 19, 2018 

34:16 March 14, 2018 April 2, 2018 

34:17 March 28, 2018 April 16, 2018 

34:18 April 11, 2018 April 30, 2018 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Physical Therapy. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3473 through 
54.1-3483 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Peggy Belmont. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To expand the list of Type I 
approved providers for continuing education to include the 
Virginia Occupational Therapy Association and the American 
Occupational Therapy Association. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The Virginia Board of 
Physical Therapy voted to take no action at this time but to 
refer the matter to the Legislative/Regulatory Committee for 
further review. The committee will be seeking additional 
information and will include this item on the agenda for its 
next meeting. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, 
or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-08; Filed March 30, 2017, 9:40 a.m. 

 



REGULATIONS 
For information concerning the different types of regulations, see the Information Page. 

Symbol Key 
Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Underscored language indicates proposed new text. 

Language that has been stricken indicates proposed text for deletion.  Brackets are used in final regulations to indicate changes from the 
proposed regulation. 

Volume 33, Issue 18 Virginia Register of Regulations May 1, 2017 

2014 

REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 3.2-703 of 
the Code of Virginia, which exempts quarantine to prevent or 
retard the spread of a pest into, within, or from the 
Commonwealth. 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-330. Rules and Regulations for 
Enforcement of the Virginia Pest Law - Virginia Gypsy 
Moth Quarantine (amending 2VAC5-330-30).  
Statutory Authority: § 3.2-703 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: April 5, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Debra Martin, Program Manager, Office of 
Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 786-3515, FAX (804) 371-7793, TTY (800) 
828-1120, or email debra.martin@vdacs.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendment adds Wythe County to the regulated areas 
under the gypsy moth quarantine. 

2VAC5-330-30. Regulated areas. 
A. Any area of another state or the District of Columbia, 

whether designated high risk or low risk, in which gypsy 
moth is known to occur and is so geographically described 
and regulated by the United States Department of Agriculture 
under federal Gypsy Moth Quarantine (7 CFR Part 301 
Subpart - Gypsy Moth) or under a state gypsy moth 
quarantine or other state legislation. 

B. The following areas in Virginia: 
1. The entire counties of: Accomack, Albemarle, 
Alleghany, Amelia, Amherst, Appomattox, Arlington, 
Augusta, Bath, Bedford, Bland, Botetourt, Brunswick, 
Buckingham, Campbell, Caroline, Charles City, Charlotte, 
Chesterfield, Clarke, Craig, Culpeper, Cumberland, 
Dinwiddie, Essex, Fairfax, Fauquier, Floyd, Fluvanna, 
Franklin, Frederick, Giles, Gloucester, Goochland, Greene, 
Greensville, Halifax, Hanover, Henrico, Highland, Isle of 
Wight, James City, King George, King and Queen, King 
William, Lancaster, Loudoun, Louisa, Lunenburg, 
Madison, Mathews, Mecklenburg, Middlesex, 
Montgomery, Nelson, New Kent, Northampton, 

Northumberland, Nottoway, Orange, Page, Pittsylvania, 
Powhatan, Prince Edward, Prince George, Prince William, 
Pulaski, Rappahannock, Richmond, Roanoke, Rockbridge, 
Rockingham, Shenandoah, Southampton, Spotsylvania, 
Stafford, Surry, Sussex, Tazewell, Warren, Westmoreland, 
Wythe, and York. 
2. The entire independent cities of: Alexandria, Bedford, 
Buena Vista, Charlottesville, Chesapeake, Clifton Forge, 
Colonial Heights, Covington, Danville, Emporia, Fairfax 
City, Falls Church, Franklin, Fredericksburg, Hampton, 
Harrisonburg, Hopewell, Lexington, Lynchburg, 
Manassas, Manassas Park, Newport News, Norfolk, 
Petersburg, Poquoson, Portsmouth, Radford, Richmond, 
Roanoke, Salem, Staunton, Suffolk, Virginia Beach, 
Waynesboro, Williamsburg, and Winchester. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5032; Filed April 5, 2017, 4:26 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 10. FINANCE AND FINANCIAL 

INSTITUTIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 
2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 
of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 
Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 
of record. 
Titles of Regulations: 10VAC5-160. Rules Governing 
Mortgage Lenders and Brokers (amending 10VAC5-160-
10 through 10VAC5-160-90; adding 10VAC5-160-15, 
10VAC5-160-25). 
10VAC5-161. Mortgage Loan Originators (amending 
10VAC5-161-60).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 6.2-1613 and 12.1-13 of the Code of 
Virginia (10VAC5-160-10 through 10VAC5-160-90). 
§§ 6.2-1720 and 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia (10VAC5-
161-60). 
Effective Date: May 15, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Susan Hancock, Deputy Commissioner, 
Bureau of Financial Institutions, State Corporation 
Commission, P.O. Box 640, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
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(804) 371-9701, FAX (804) 371-9416, or email 
susan.hancock@scc.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) define various terms including "bona 
fide employee," "lead generator," "mortgage broker," and 
"stockholder"; (ii) require renewal of approved office 
locations each calendar year; (iii) require licensees to 
maintain a transaction journal; (iv) clarify that licensees 
will receive a single license instead of a license for each 
approved location; and (v) replace the annual report and 
reports of condition filings with quarterly mortgage call 
reports filed through the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing 
System and Registry. The only change since publication of 
the proposed regulation clarifies the date for renewing 
approved office locations. 

AT RICHMOND, MARCH 30, 2017 
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 
STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. BFI-2016-00048 
Ex Parte: In re: Rules Governing Mortgage 
Lenders and Brokers, and Mortgage Loan 
Originators 

ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS 
On November 7, 2016, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") entered an Order to Take Notice of a 
proposal by the Bureau of Financial Institutions ("Bureau") to 
amend the Commission's Rules Governing Mortgage Lenders 
and Brokers, which are set forth in Chapter 160 of Title 10 of 
the Virginia Administrative Code, 10 VAC 5-160-10 et seq. 
and its rules governing Mortgage Loan Originators, which are 
found in Chapter 161 of Title 10 of the Virginia 
Administrative Code, 10 VAC 5-161-10 et seq.  

The proposed regulations required mortgage lenders and 
brokers to renew their licenses at the end of each calendar 
year, file quarterly mortgage call reports through the 
Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry 
("Registry"), maintain a transaction journal, and renew 
approved office locations each calendar year. The proposal 
also defined several terms and clarified that mortgage lender 
and broker licensees will receive a single license instead of a 
license for each approved location. The proposed 
amendments to 10 VAC 5-161-60 replaced the annual report 
and report of condition filing requirements for mortgage loan 
originators with a requirement that quarterly mortgage call 
reports be filed through the Registry.  

The Order to Take Notice and proposed regulations were 
published in the Virginia Register of Regulations on 
November 28, 2016, posted on the Commission's website, 
and sent to all licensed mortgage lenders, mortgage brokers, 
mortgage loan originators and other interested parties. 
Licensees and other interested parties were afforded the 
opportunity to file written comments or request a hearing on 
or before January 31, 2017. 

Comments on the proposed regulations were filed by 
Meghann Akers of ALCOVA Mortgage, LLC and Philip 
d'Oronzio of Pilot Mortgage, LLC. The Commission did not 
receive any requests for a hearing. 

Ms. Akers commented that 10 VAC 5-160-25 C imposes an 
additional demand on licensees by requiring that a loan 
transaction journal be maintained, and that much of the 
information in the journal is already reported to a federal 
regulator. Mr. d'Oronzio expressed concern that principals 
and owners of small, independent mortgage lenders and/or 
brokers will be prohibited from originating mortgage loans. 

The Bureau considered the comments filed and responded to 
them in its Statements of Position, which the Bureau filed 
with the Clerk of the Commission on March 8, 2017. The 
Bureau declined to make changes to the regulations based 
upon the comments but did change the date for renewing 
approved office locations based upon information regarding 
the Registry. The Bureau otherwise recommended that the 
Commission adopt the proposed regulations as proposed. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered the 
proposed regulations, the comments filed, the Bureau's 
Statements of Position, the record herein and applicable law, 
concludes that the proposed regulations should be modified to 
incorporate the suggestion made by the Bureau. The 
Commission further concludes that the proposed regulations, 
as modified, should be adopted with an effective date of May 
15, 2017. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 
(1) The proposed regulations, as modified herein and 

attached hereto, are adopted effective May 15, 2017. 
(2) This Order and the attached regulations shall be posted 

on the Commission's website at: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall provide a copy of this Order, including a copy of the 
attached regulations, to the Virginia Registrar of Regulations 
for publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(4) This case is dismissed, and the papers filed herein shall 
be placed in the Commission's file for ended causes. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of the 
attached regulations, shall be sent by the Clerk of the 
Commission to the Commission's Office of General Counsel 
and the Commissioner of Financial Institutions, who shall 
forthwith send a copy of this Order, together with a copy of 
the attached regulations, to all licensed mortgage lenders, 
mortgage brokers, and mortgage loan originators, and such 
other interested parties as he may designate. 
10VAC5-160-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 
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"Advertisement" means a commercial message in any 
medium that promotes, directly or indirectly, a mortgage loan. 
The term includes a communication sent to a consumer as 
part of a solicitation of business, but excludes messages on 
promotional items such as pens, pencils, notepads, hats, 
calendars, etc., as well as rate sheets or other information 
distributed or made available solely to other businesses. 

"Affiliate," for purposes of subdivision 3 of § 6.2-1602 of 
the Code of Virginia, means an entity of which 25% or more 
of the voting shares or ownership interest is held, directly or 
indirectly, by a company that also owns a bank, savings 
institution, or credit union. 

"Bona fide employee," for purposes of Chapter 16 and this 
chapter, means an individual (i) whose manner and means of 
performance of work are subject to the right of control of, or 
are controlled by, a person and (ii) whose compensation for 
federal income tax purposes is reported, or required to be 
reported, on a W-2 form issued by the controlling person. 
However, the term shall not include an individual who is 
concurrently employed by two or more persons that are 
engaged in business as a mortgage lender or mortgage broker. 

"Bureau," "commission," and "commissioner" shall have the 
meanings ascribed to them in § 6.2-100 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

"Chapter 16" means Chapter 16 (§ 6.2-1600 et seq.) of Title 
6.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Chapter 17" means Chapter 17 (§ 6.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 
6.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Commitment" means a written offer to make a mortgage 
loan signed by a person authorized to sign such offers on 
behalf of a mortgage lender. 

"Commitment agreement" means a commitment accepted by 
an applicant for a mortgage loan, as evidenced by the 
applicant's signature thereon. 

"Commitment fee" means any fee or charge accepted by a 
mortgage lender, or by a mortgage broker for transmittal to a 
mortgage lender, as consideration for binding the mortgage 
lender to make a mortgage loan in accordance with the terms 
of a commitment or as a requirement for acceptance by the 
applicant of a commitment, but the term does not include fees 
paid to third persons or interest. 

"Dwelling" means one-family to four-family residential 
property located in the Commonwealth. 

"Fees paid to third persons" means the bona fide fees or 
charges paid by the applicant for a mortgage loan to third 
persons other than the mortgage lender or mortgage broker, or 
paid by the applicant to, or retained by, the mortgage lender 
or mortgage broker for transmittal to such third persons in 
connection with the mortgage loan, including, but not limited 
to, recording taxes and fees, reconveyance or releasing fees, 
appraisal fees, credit report fees, attorney fees, fees for title 
reports and title searches, title insurance premiums, surveys 
and similar charges. 

"Lead generator" means a person who engages in a form of 
marketing activity in which the person collects and transmits 
a prospective borrower's contact information and minimal 
information pertaining to potential mortgage loans. A person 
shall not be considered a lead generator if the person collects 
a prospective borrower's social security number or sufficient 
personal information to enable a mortgage lender or mortgage 
broker to evaluate, in whole or in part, the prospective 
borrower's creditworthiness. 

"Licensee" means a person licensed under Chapter 16. 
"Loan processor or underwriter" means a person who, with 

respect to the origination of a residential mortgage loan, 
performs the following duties at the direction of and subject 
to the supervision and instruction of a licensed or exempt 
mortgage lender or mortgage broker: (i) receiving, collecting, 
distributing, or analyzing information common for the 
processing or underwriting of a residential mortgage loan or 
(ii) communicating with a consumer to obtain the information 
necessary for the processing or underwriting of a residential 
mortgage loan. A loan processor or underwriter does not 
include a person who (i) communicates with a consumer 
regarding a prospective residential mortgage loan prior to the 
consumer submitting a residential mortgage loan application, 
(ii) takes an application for or offers or negotiates the terms of 
a residential mortgage loan, or (iii) counsels consumers about 
residential mortgage loan terms. For purposes of this 
definition, the phrase "takes an application for or offers or 
negotiates the terms of a residential mortgage loan" shall be 
construed in accordance with subdivisions B 1 and B 2 of 
10VAC5-161-20. 

"Lock-in agreement" means a written agreement between a 
mortgage lender, or a mortgage broker acting on behalf of a 
mortgage lender, and an applicant for a mortgage loan that 
establishes and sets an interest rate and the points to be 
charged in connection with a mortgage loan that is closed 
within the time period specified in the agreement. A lock-in 
agreement can be entered into before mortgage loan approval, 
subject to the mortgage loan being approved and closed, or 
after such approval. A commitment agreement that 
establishes and sets an interest rate and the points to be 
charged in connection with a mortgage loan that is closed 
within the time period specified in the agreement is also a 
lock-in agreement. The interest rate that is established and set 
by the agreement may be either a fixed rate or an adjustable 
rate. 

"Lock-in fee" means any fee or charge accepted by a 
mortgage lender, or by a mortgage broker for transmittal to a 
mortgage lender, as consideration for making a lock-in 
agreement, but the term does not include fees paid to third 
persons or interest. 

"Mortgage lender," "mortgage broker," and "mortgage loan" 
and "person" shall have the meanings ascribed to them in 
§ 6.2-1600 of the Code of Virginia. For purposes of Chapter 
16 and this chapter, the term "mortgage broker" does not 
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include the following persons, provided that they are not also 
engaged in any activities for which a mortgage broker license 
is required: (i) a person engaged in the business of a loan 
processor or underwriter provided that such person is not 
engaged in any other activities for which a mortgage broker 
license is required, (ii) a lead generator, and (iii) a noteholder, 
or servicer acting on behalf of a noteholder, that negotiates 
the modification of a mortgage loan in its portfolio. The 
payee named in a mortgage loan note shall be deemed to be 
the mortgage lender for purposes of Chapter 16 and this 
chapter. 

"Mortgage loan originator," "Nationwide Mortgage 
Licensing System and Registry," "Registry," and "residential 
mortgage loan" shall have the meanings ascribed to them in 
§ 6.2-1700 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Personal, family or household purposes," for purposes of 
§ 6.2-1600 of the Code of Virginia, means that the individual 
obtaining the loan intends to use the proceeds to build or 
purchase a dwelling that will be occupied by such individual 
or another individual as their his temporary or permanent 
residence. The term includes a loan used to build or purchase 
a dwelling that will be (i) improved or rehabilitated by or on 
behalf of the purchaser for subsequent sale to one or more 
other individuals who will reside in the dwelling on a 
temporary or permanent basis, or (ii) leased by the purchaser 
to one or more other individuals who will reside in the 
dwelling on a temporary or permanent basis. 

"Points" means any fee or charge retained or received by a 
mortgage lender or mortgage broker stated or calculated as a 
percentage or fraction of the principal amount of the loan, 
other than or in addition to fees paid to third persons or 
interest. 

"Reasonable period of time" means that period of time, 
determined by a mortgage lender in good faith on the basis of 
its most recent relevant experience and other facts and 
circumstances known to it, within which the mortgage loan 
will be closed. 

"Refinancing" for purposes of Chapter 16 and this chapter 
means an exchange of an old debt for a new debt, as by 
negotiating a different interest rate or term or by repaying an 
existing loan with money acquired from a new loan. 
"Refinancing" includes any loan modification. 

"Senior officer," for purposes of §§ 6.2-1605, 6.2-1606, 6.2-
1607, and 6.2-1608 of the Code of Virginia, means an 
individual who has significant management responsibility 
within an organization or otherwise has the authority to 
influence or control the conduct of the organization's affairs, 
including but not limited to its compliance with applicable 
laws and regulations. 

"Stockholder," for purposes of § 6.2-1616 of the Code of 
Virginia, includes a member of a limited liability company. 

"Subsidiary," for purposes of subdivision 3 of § 6.2-1602 of 
the Code of Virginia, means an entity of which 25% or more 

of the voting shares or ownership interest is held, directly or 
indirectly, by a bank, savings institution, or credit union. 
10VAC5-160-15. Surety bond; required funds. 

A. As required by § 6.2-1604 of the Code of Virginia, a 
surety bond shall be filed with the commissioner and 
continuously maintained thereafter in full force by each 
licensee. The minimum bond amount required for a mortgage 
broker shall be $25,000, and the minimum amount required 
for a mortgage lender or for a mortgage company with dual 
authority as both a mortgage lender and mortgage broker shall 
be $50,000. The bond amount shall be adjusted annually in 
accordance with the following scale based upon residential 
mortgage loans originated during the preceding calendar year:  

LOANS BOND AMOUNT 

$0 - $5,000,000 $25,000 

$5,000,001 - $20,000,000 $50,000 

$20,000,001 - $50,000,000 $75,000 

$50,000,001 - 
$100,000,000 

$100,000 

over $100,000,000 $150,000 

B. If a person has been or is engaged in business as a 
mortgage lender or mortgage broker and has filed a bond with 
the commissioner, the bond shall be retained by the 
commissioner notwithstanding the occurrence of any of the 
following events: 

1. The person's application for a license is withdrawn or 
denied;  
2. The person's license is surrendered, suspended, or 
revoked; or  
3. The person ceases engaging in business as a mortgage 
lender or mortgage broker.  

C. As required by § 6.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia, a 
mortgage lender shall maintain at least $200,000 in funds 
available for the operation of its business. To comply with 
this requirement, a mortgage lender shall maintain 
documentation of one of the following: (i) ownership of funds 
on deposit in a bank or other depository institution, (ii) an 
established line of credit from a bank or other depository 
institution; or (iii) a combination of clauses (i) and (ii). 
Neither letters of credit nor lines of credit from sources other 
than a bank or other depository institution shall satisfy this 
requirement. 
10VAC5-160-20. Operating rules requirements.  

A licensee shall conduct its business in accordance with the 
following rules requirements:  

1. No licensee shall (i) misrepresent the qualification 
requirements for a mortgage loan or any material loan 
terms; (ii) make false or misleading statements to induce 
an applicant to apply for a mortgage loan, enter into any 
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commitment agreement or lock-in agreement, or pay any 
commitment fee or lock-in fee in connection therewith; or 
(iii) provide any other information to a borrower or 
prospective borrower that is false, misleading, or 
deceptive. A "material loan term" means the loan terms 
required to be disclosed to a consumer pursuant to (i) the 
Truth in Lending Act (15 USC § 1601 et seq.), and the 
Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act of 1974 (12 USC 
§ 2601 et seq.), and regulations and official commentary 
issued thereunder, as amended from time to time, (ii) § 6.2-
406 of the Code of Virginia, and (iii) 10VAC5-160-30. A 
misrepresentation or false or misleading statement 
resulting directly from incorrect information furnished to a 
licensee by a third party, or a good-faith misunderstanding 
of information furnished by a third party, shall not be 
considered a violation of this section if the licensee has 
supporting documentation thereof and the licensee's 
reliance thereon was reasonable.  
2. No licensee shall retain any portion of any fees or 
charges imposed upon consumers for goods or services 
provided by third parties. All moneys received by a 
licensee from an applicant for fees paid to third persons 
shall be accounted for separately, and all disbursements for 
fees paid to third persons shall be supported by adequate 
documentation of the services for which such fees were or 
are to be paid. All such moneys shall be deposited in an 
escrow account in a bank, savings institution, or credit 
union segregated from other funds of the licensee.  
3. The mortgagor who obtains a mortgage loan shall be 
entitled to continue to make payments to the transferor of 
the servicing rights under a mortgage loan until the 
mortgagor is given written notice of the transfer of the 
servicing rights by the transferor. The notice shall specify 
the name and address to which future payments are to be 
made and shall be mailed or delivered to the mortgagor at 
least 10 calendar days before the first payment affected by 
the notice pursuant to the requirements set forth in the Real 
Estate Settlement Procedures Act of 1974 (12 USC § 2601 
et seq.).  
4. If a person has been or is engaged in business as a 
mortgage lender or mortgage broker and has filed a bond 
with the commissioner, as required by § 6.2-1604 of the 
Code of Virginia, such bond shall be retained by the 
commissioner notwithstanding the occurrence of any of the 
following events:  

a. The person's application for a license is withdrawn or 
denied;  
b. The person's license is surrendered, suspended, or 
revoked; or  
c. The person ceases engaging in business as a mortgage 
lender or mortgage broker.  

5. 4. Pursuant to § 6.2-1621 of the Code of Virginia, within 
15 days of becoming aware of the occurrence of any of the 
events enumerated in this subdivision, a licensed mortgage 

lender or mortgage broker shall file a written report with 
the commissioner describing such event and its expected 
impact, if any, on the activities of the licensee in the 
Commonwealth. If the Registry enables licensees to submit 
the information required by this subdivision, then 
submission of this information through the Registry shall 
satisfy the requirement for a written report:  

a. The licensee files for bankruptcy or reorganization.  
b. Any governmental authority institutes revocation or 
suspension proceedings against the licensee, or revokes 
or suspends a mortgage-related license held or formerly 
held by the licensee.  
c. Any governmental authority takes (i) formal regulatory 
or enforcement action against the licensee relating to its 
mortgage business or (ii) any other action against the 
licensee relating to its mortgage business where the total 
amount of restitution or other payment from the licensee 
exceeds $20,000. A licensee shall not be required to 
provide the commissioner with information about such 
event to the extent that such disclosure is prohibited by 
the laws of another state.  
d. Based on allegations by any governmental authority 
that the licensee violated any law or regulation applicable 
to the conduct of its licensed mortgage business, the 
licensee enters into, or otherwise agrees to the entry of, a 
settlement or consent order, decree, or agreement with or 
by such governmental authority.  
e. The licensee surrenders its license to engage in any 
mortgage-related business in another state in lieu of 
threatened or pending license revocation, license 
suspension, or other regulatory or enforcement action.  
f. The licensee is denied a license to engage in any 
mortgage-related business in another state.  
g. The licensee or any of its employees, officers, 
directors, principals, or exclusive agents is indicted for a 
felony.  
h. The licensee or any of its employees, officers, 
directors, principals, or exclusive agents is convicted of a 
felony.  
i. The licensee or any of its employees, officers, 
directors, principals, or exclusive agents is convicted of a 
misdemeanor involving fraud, misrepresentation, or 
deceit. 

6. 5. No licensee shall inform a consumer that such 
consumer has been or will be "preapproved" or "pre-
approved" for a mortgage loan unless the licensee 
contemporaneously provides the consumer with a separate 
written disclosure (in at least 10-point type) that (i) 
explains what preapproved means; (ii) informs the 
consumer that the consumer's loan application has not yet 
been approved; (iii) states that a written commitment to 
make a mortgage loan has not yet been issued; and (iv) 
advises the consumer what needs to occur before the 
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consumer's loan application can be approved. This 
provision shall not apply to advertisements subject to 
10VAC5-160-60. In the case of a preapproval initially 
communicated to a consumer by telephone, the licensee 
shall provide the written disclosure to the consumer within 
three business days.  
7. 6. A licensee shall not permit any individual to take an 
application for or offer or negotiate the terms of a 
residential mortgage loan on behalf of the licensee unless: 
(i) the individual is licensed as a mortgage loan originator 
pursuant to Chapter 17; (ii) the individual is covered by the 
licensee's surety bond; (iii) the licensee has submitted a 
sponsorship request for such individual through the 
Registry; and (iv) the individual is either (a) a bona fide 
employee of the licensee, or (b) an exclusive agent of the 
licensee pursuant to a written agreement with the licensee 
and the licensee has agreed to such conditions relating to 
its use of exclusive agents as may be prescribed by the 
bureau. The phrase "take an application for or offer or 
negotiate the terms of a residential mortgage loan" shall be 
construed in accordance with subdivisions B 1 and B 2 of 
10VAC5-161-20.  
8. 7. Every licensee shall disclose on any application 
provided to the borrower associated with a Virginia 
residential mortgage loan: (i) the unique identifier assigned 
by the Registry to the licensed mortgage lender or 
mortgage broker that took the initial mortgage loan 
application; and (ii) the unique identifier assigned by the 
Registry to the licensed mortgage loan originator who took 
the initial mortgage loan application. 
9. 8. A licensee may outsource its loan processing or 
underwriting activities to a third party loan processor or 
underwriter pursuant to a written agreement with the loan 
processor or underwriter. Prior to entering into an 
agreement, the licensee shall conduct a due diligence 
review of the third party loan processor or underwriter. The 
agreement shall (i) require the loan processor or 
underwriter to comply with all applicable state and federal 
laws and regulations; (ii) require the loan processor or 
underwriter to permit the commission to investigate or 
examine its business pursuant to § 6.2-1611 of the Code of 
Virginia; and (iii) prohibit the loan processor or 
underwriter from subcontracting to another person, other 
than its bona fide employees, any of the services specified 
in the agreement to be performed on behalf of the licensee. 
A copy of the written agreement shall be retained by the 
licensee for at least three years after the agreement has 
been terminated by either party. The licensee shall be 
responsible for implementing and maintaining a reasonable 
program to monitor any third party loan processor or 
underwriter performing services on its behalf. 
10. If a licensee disposes of records containing a 
consumer's personal financial information following the 
expiration of any applicable record retention periods, such 

records shall be shredded, incinerated, or otherwise 
disposed of in a secure manner. Licensees may arrange for 
service from a business record destruction vendor. 
11. 9. Every licensee shall comply with Chapter 16, this 
chapter, and all other state and federal laws and regulations 
applicable to the conduct of its business. 
10. A licensee shall continuously (i) maintain the 
requirements and standards for licensure prescribed in 
§ 6.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia and (ii) remain 
authorized to transact business in the Commonwealth 
pursuant to Title 13.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

10VAC5-160-25. Books, accounts, and records. 
A. A licensee shall maintain in its licensed offices all books, 

accounts, and records required by Chapter 16 and this 
chapter. 

B. A licensee may maintain records electronically provided 
(i) the records are readily available for examination by the 
bureau and (ii) the licensee complies with the Uniform 
Electronic Transactions Act (§ 59.1-479 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) and the Electronic Signatures in Global and 
National Commerce Act (15 USC § 7001 et seq.). However, 
the written agreement specified in § 6.2-1616 B 4 of the Code 
of Virginia shall be maintained in the form in which it was 
originally provided and executed. 

C. A licensee shall continuously maintain a mortgage loan 
transaction journal that includes the following information for 
each application received: 

1. Applicant's name. 
2. Application date. 
3. Property address. 
4. Loan amount. 
5. Lien position. 
6. Mortgage loan originator (licensed name). 
7. Mortgage loan originator (license or Registry number). 
8. Address of originating office. 
9. Name of lender (if applicable). 
10. Application status (e.g., in process, withdrawn, denied, 
closed). 
11. Any other information reasonably required by the 
commissioner. 

D. If a licensee disposes of records containing a consumer's 
personal or financial information following the expiration of 
any applicable record retention periods, such records shall be 
shredded, incinerated, or otherwise disposed of in a secure 
manner. Licensees may arrange for service from a business 
record destruction vendor. 
10VAC5-160-30. Commitment agreements and lock-in 
agreements.  

A. A If a commitment is issued and accepted, the 
commitment agreement shall be signed by the applicant and a 
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person authorized to sign such agreement on behalf of a 
mortgage lender and include the following:  

1. The name of the mortgage lender;  
1. 2. Identification of the property intended to secure the 
mortgage loan (this does not require a formal legal 
description);  
2. 3. The principal amount and term of the loan;  
3. 4. The interest rate and points for the mortgage loan if 
the commitment agreement is also a lock-in agreement or a 
statement that the mortgage loan will be made at the 
mortgage lender's prevailing rate and points for such loans 
at the time of closing or a specified number of three days 
prior to closing settlement;  
4. 5. The amount of any commitment fee and the time 
within which the commitment fee must be paid;  
5. 6. Whether or not funds are to be escrowed and for what 
purpose;  
6. 7. Whether or not private mortgage insurance is 
required;  
7. 8. The length of the commitment period;  
8. 9. A statement that if the loan is not closed within the 
commitment period, the mortgage lender is no longer 
obligated by the commitment agreement and any 
commitment fee paid by the applicant will be refunded 
only under the circumstances set forth in subsection C of 
this section and such other circumstances as are set forth in 
the commitment agreement; and  
9. 10. Any other terms and conditions of the commitment 
agreement required by the lender.  

B. If a lock-in agreement is issued to a consumer by a 
mortgage lender, or a mortgage broker to a consumer acting 
on behalf of the mortgage lender, it shall be signed by a 
representative of the mortgage lender or mortgage broker and 
include the following:  

1. The name of the mortgage lender or mortgage broker 
issuing the lock-in agreement;  
1. 2. The interest rate and points for the mortgage loan, and 
if the rate is an adjustable rate, the initial interest rate and a 
brief description of the method of determining the rate 
(such as the index and the margin);  
2. 3. The amount of any lock-in fee and the time within 
which the lock-in fee must be paid;  
3. 4. The length of the lock-in period;  
4. 5. A statement that if the loan is not closed within the 
lock-in period, the mortgage lender is no longer obligated 
by the lock-in agreement and any lock-in fee paid by the 
applicant will be refunded only under the circumstances set 
forth in subsection D of this section and such other 
circumstances as are set forth in the lock-in agreement;  

5. 6. A statement that any terms not locked-in locked in by 
the lock-in agreement are subject to change until the loan is 
closed at three days prior to settlement; and  
6. 7. Any other terms and conditions of the lock-in 
agreement required by the mortgage lender or mortgage 
broker acting on behalf of a mortgage lender.  

C. If an applicant has paid any commitment fee, and the 
mortgage loan is not closed due to any of the following, such 
commitment fee shall be refunded:  

1. The commitment period was not a reasonable period of 
time given the prevailing market conditions at the time the 
commitment agreement was entered into;  
2. The mortgage loan is turned down because of the 
applicant's lack of creditworthiness; or  
3. The mortgage loan is turned down because of the 
appraised value of the property intended to secure the 
mortgage loan.  

D. If an applicant has paid any lock-in fee and the loan is not 
closed because the lock-in period was not a reasonable period 
of time given the prevailing market conditions at the time the 
lock-in agreement was entered into, such lock-in fee shall be 
refunded.  

E. A mortgage broker shall not issue a lock-in agreement to 
a consumer unless the mortgage broker has actually locked in 
the mortgage loan, including the applicable interest rate, 
points, and other terms, with a mortgage lender. A mortgage 
broker shall maintain supporting written documentation from 
the mortgage lender of all lock-in information for at least 
three years from the date the lock-in expires.  
10VAC5-160-40. Schedule of annual fees for the 
examination, supervision, and regulation of mortgage 
lenders and mortgage brokers.  

Pursuant to § 6.2-1612 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Commission commission sets the following schedule of 
annual fees to be paid by mortgage lenders and mortgage 
brokers required to be licensed under Chapter 16. Such fees 
are to defray the costs of examination, supervision, and 
regulation of such lenders and brokers by the Bureau of 
Financial Institutions. The fees are related to the actual costs 
of the Bureau bureau, to the volume of business of the lenders 
and brokers, and to other factors relating to supervision and 
regulation.  

SCHEDULE  

LENDER LICENSEE: Minimum fee -- $800, plus $6.60 
per loan  

BROKER LICENSEE: Minimum fee -- $400, plus $6.60 
per loan  

DUAL AUTHORITY (LENDER/BROKER): Minimum 
fee -- $1,200, plus $6.60 per loan  
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The annual fee for each mortgage lender shall be computed 
on the basis of the number of mortgage loans, as defined in 
§ 6.2-1600 of the Code of Virginia, made or originated during 
the calendar year preceding the year of assessment. The 
annual fee for each mortgage broker shall be based on the 
number of such loans brokered. The annual fee for each 
mortgage lender/broker shall be based on the total number of 
mortgage loans made or originated and mortgage loans 
brokered. The annual fee computed using the above schedule 
shall be rounded down to the nearest whole dollar.  

Fees shall be assessed on or before April 25 for the current 
calendar year. By law the fee must be paid on or before 
May 25.  

The annual report of quarterly mortgage call reports filed 
through the Registry by each licensee shall be due March 1 of 
each year and shall provide the basis for licensee assessment, 
i.e. that is, the number of loans made or brokered. If the 
annual report required quarterly mortgage call reports of a 
licensee has have not been filed by the assessment date, a 
provisional fee, subject to adjustment when the report is filed, 
shall be assessed. In cases where a license or additional 
authority has been granted between January 1 and March 31, 
one of the following fees or additional fee shall be assessed: 
lender -- $400; broker -- $200; lender/broker -- $600.  

Fees prescribed and assessed by this schedule are apart 
from, and do not include, the reimbursement for expenses 
permitted by subsection C of § 6.2-1612 of the Code of 
Virginia.  
10VAC5-160-50. Responding to requests from Bureau of 
Financial Institutions; providing false, misleading, or 
deceptive information; record retention.  

A. If the bureau requests information from an applicant to 
complete a deficient application filed under §§ § 6.2-1603, 
6.2-1607, or 6.2-1608 of the Code of Virginia and the 
information is not received within 60 days of the request, the 
application shall be deemed abandoned unless a request for an 
extension of time is received and approved by the bureau 
prior to the expiration of the 60-day period.  

B. When the bureau requests a written response, books, 
records, documentation, or other information from a licensee 
in connection with the bureau's investigation, enforcement, or 
examination of compliance with applicable laws, the licensee 
shall deliver a written response as well as any requested 
books, records, documentation, or information within the time 
period specified in the bureau's request. If no time period is 
specified, a written response as well as any requested books, 
records, documentation, or information shall be delivered by 
the licensee to the bureau not later than 30 days from the date 
of such request. In determining the specified time period for 
responding to the bureau and when considering a request for 
an extension of time to respond, the bureau shall take into 
consideration the volume and complexity of the requested 
written response, books, records, documentation or 

information and such other factors as the bureau determines 
to be relevant under the circumstances.  

Requests made by the bureau pursuant to this subsection are 
deemed to be in furtherance of the bureau's investigation and 
examination authority provided for in § 6.2-1611 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

C. A licensee shall not provide any information to the 
bureau, either directly or through the Registry, that is false, 
misleading, or deceptive. 

D. A licensee shall maintain in its licensed offices all books, 
accounts, and records required by Chapter 16 and this 
chapter. 
10VAC5-160-60. Advertising.  

A. Every advertisement used by, or published on behalf of, a 
licensed mortgage lender or mortgage broker shall clearly and 
conspicuously disclose the following information:  

1. The name of the mortgage lender or mortgage broker as 
set forth in the license issued by the commission.  
2. The abbreviation "NMLS ID #" followed immediately 
by both the unique identifier assigned by the Registry to 
the mortgage lender or mortgage broker and along with the 
address for the NMLS Consumer Access website in 
parenthesis. For example: NMLS ID # 999999 
(www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org). In a radio or television 
advertisement, this disclosure shall be provided after the 
name of the mortgage lender or mortgage broker. 
3. If an advertisement contains a rate of interest, a 
statement that the stated rate may change or not be 
available at the time of loan commitment or lock-in.  
4. If an advertisement contains specific information about a 
consumer's existing mortgage loan and such information 
was not obtained from the consumer, a statement 
identifying the source of such information (e.g., public 
court records, credit reporting agency, etc.).  

B. No mortgage lender or mortgage broker shall deceptively 
advertise a mortgage loan, make false or misleading 
statements or representations, or misrepresent the terms, 
conditions, or charges incident to obtaining a mortgage loan.  

C. No mortgage lender or mortgage broker shall use or 
cause to be published an advertisement that states or implies 
the following:  

1. The mortgage lender or mortgage broker is affiliated 
with, or an agent or division of, a governmental agency, 
depository institution, or other entity with which no such 
relationship exists; or  
2. A consumer has been or will be "preapproved " or "pre-
approved" for a mortgage loan, unless the mortgage lender 
or mortgage broker (i) discloses on the face of the 
advertisement in at least 14-point bold type that "THIS IS 
NOT A LOAN APPROVAL" and (ii) clearly and 
conspicuously discloses the conditions and/or 
qualifications associated with such preapproval. This 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 18 Virginia Register of Regulations May 1, 2017 

2022 

provision is intended to supplement the requirements of the 
Fair Credit Reporting Act, (15 USC § 1681 et seq.,) 
relating to firm offers of credit.  

D. A mortgage lender or mortgage broker shall not use or 
cause to be published any advertisement that gives a 
consumer the false impression that the advertisement is being 
sent by the consumer's current noteholder or lienholder. If an 
advertisement contains the name of the consumer's current 
noteholder or lienholder, it shall not be more conspicuous 
than the name of the mortgage lender or mortgage broker 
using the advertisement.  

E. A mortgage lender or mortgage broker shall not deliver or 
cause to be delivered to a consumer any envelope or other 
written material that gives the false impression that the 
mailing or written material is an official communication from 
a governmental entity, unless required by the United States 
Postal Service.  

F. If an advertisement states or implies that a consumer can 
reduce his monthly payment by refinancing his current 
mortgage loan, but as a result of such refinancing, the 
consumer's total finance charges may be higher over the life 
of the loan, a mortgage lender or mortgage broker shall 
clearly and conspicuously disclose to the consumer that by 
refinancing the consumer's existing loan, the consumer's total 
finance charges may be higher over the life of the loan.  

G. Every advertisement used by, or published on behalf of, a 
mortgage lender or mortgage broker shall comply with 
12 CFR Part 1014 (Regulation N) and the disclosure 
requirements for advertisements contained in the Truth in 
Lending Act and Regulation Z, 12 CFR Part 226 1026 
(Regulation Z).  

H. For purposes of this section, the term "clearly and 
conspicuously" means that a required disclosure is reasonably 
understandable, prominently located, and readily noticeable 
by a potential borrower of ordinary intelligence.  

I. Every mortgage lender and mortgage broker shall retain 
for at least three years after it is last published, delivered, 
transmitted, or made available, an example of every 
advertisement used, including but not limited to solicitation 
letters, commercial scripts, and recordings of all radio and 
television broadcasts, but excluding copies of Internet web 
pages.  
10VAC5-160-90. Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System 
and Registry. 

A. Applications for a mortgage lender or mortgage broker 
license shall be made through the Registry in accordance with 
instructions provided by the commissioner. The 
commissioner may provide these instructions through the 
Registry, on the commission's Internet website, or by any 
other means the commissioner deems appropriate. 

B. The commissioner shall notify all licensees no later than 
January 1 of each calendar year of the information required to 
be included in the annual report to be submitted by each 

licensee pursuant Pursuant to § 6.2-1610 of the Code of 
Virginia., every licensee shall file quarterly mortgage call 
reports through the Registry as well as such other information 
pertaining to the licensee's financial condition as may be 
required by the Registry. Reports shall be in such form, 
contain such information, and be submitted with such 
frequency and by such dates as the Registry may require. 

C. Entities exempt from the requirement for licensure under 
Chapter 16 that supervise mortgage loan originators licensed 
pursuant to Chapter 17 may obtain a unique identifier through 
the Registry. 

D. Every licensee shall maintain current information in its 
records with the Registry. Except as provided in subsection E 
of this section, changes to the licensee's address, principal 
officers, or any other information in the Registry shall be 
updated by the licensee as soon as is practicable, but in no 
event later than five business days from when the change 
takes effect. 

E. A licensee shall update its sponsorship information in the 
Registry within five days after the occurrence of either of the 
following events: (i) a mortgage loan originator becomes a 
bona fide employee or exclusive agent of the licensee or (ii) a 
mortgage loan originator ceases to be a bona fide employee or 
exclusive agent of the licensee. 

F. If (i) any provision of Chapter 16 or this chapter requires 
a licensee to provide the bureau or commissioner with a 
written notice and (ii) the Registry enables licensees to 
submit such notice through the Registry, then a licensee shall 
be deemed to have complied with the written notice 
requirement if the licensee timely submits the required notice 
through the Registry.  

G. A mortgage lender or mortgage broker license shall 
expire at the end of each calendar year unless it is renewed by 
a licensee on or after November 1 of the same year. However, 
licenses that are granted between November 1 and December 
31 shall not expire until the end of the following calendar 
year. A license shall be renewed upon the commission finding 
that the licensee has (i) requested license renewal through the 
Registry and (ii) complied with any requirements associated 
with such renewal request that are imposed by the Registry. 

H. A licensee's approved office locations shall be subject to 
renewal each calendar year. However, office locations that 
are approved by the commission between November 1 and 
December 31 shall not be subject to renewal until the end of 
the following calendar year. An approved office location shall 
be renewed upon the commission finding that the licensee has 
(i) requested renewal for the location through the Registry 
and (ii) complied with any requirements associated with such 
renewal request that are imposed by the Registry. 

I. If a licensee fails to timely meet the requirements 
specified in subsection G or H of this section, but meets such 
requirements before March 1 of the following calendar year, 
the license or approved office location shall be reinstated and 
renewed. If an approved office location is not renewed [ on 
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or ] before March 1, the office location shall be deemed to be 
closed as of the preceding January 1 by the licensee. 

J. A licensee shall not engage in business as a mortgage 
lender or mortgage broker from an office location that has not 
been (i) approved by the commission and (ii) renewed by the 
licensee as required by subsection H of this section. Any 
mortgage loan made or brokered by a licensee in violation of 
this subsection shall constitute a separate violation of Chapter 
16. 

K. Each licensee shall receive a single license from the 
commission that states the full legal name of the licensee as 
well as any fictitious names under which the licensee is 
conducting business under Chapter 16. The license issued by 
the commission shall identify the addresses of the offices at 
which the business is authorized to be conducted under 
Chapter 16 by referencing the approved office locations of the 
licensee as set forth in the Registry. 
10VAC5-161-60. Required reports and notices; 
information in registry. 

A. Each person for whom an individual described in 
10VAC5-161-20 A 1 or A 2 engages in the business of a 
mortgage loan originator shall file, on or before March 1 of 
each year, an annual report with the bureau quarterly 
mortgage call reports through the registry stating the amount 
of residential mortgage loans made or brokered during the 
preceding calendar year quarter, identifying all licensees 
performing services for that person, and providing such 
additional information as the bureau may require. Call reports 
shall be in such form, contain such information, and be 
submitted with such frequency and by such dates as the 
registry may require. Timely filing of the annual report 
reports required by Chapter 16 by a person licensed under 
that chapter shall constitute compliance with this subsection 
by that person if the annual report contains reports contain the 
information specified in this subsection. 

B. Each licensee who is an individual described in 10VAC5-
161-20 A 3 shall file, on or before March 1 of each year, an 
annual report with the bureau quarterly mortgage call reports 
through the registry stating the amount of residential 
mortgage loans originated during the preceding calendar year 
quarter and providing such additional information as the 
bureau may require. Call reports shall be in such form, 
contain such information, and be submitted with such 
frequency and by such dates as the registry may require. 

C. Each licensee shall give notice to the bureau through the 
registry within five days after the occurrence of either of the 
following events: 

1. Termination of, or separation from, employment or 
exclusive agency as a mortgage loan originator for a 
person licensed or exempt from licensing under Chapter 
16. A licensee who is no longer an employee or exclusive 
agent of a person licensed or exempt from licensing under 
Chapter 16 shall not engage in activities requiring licensure 
under Chapter 16 until such time as (i) the individual 

obtains a mortgage broker license under Chapter 16 or (ii) 
the individual becomes a bona fide employee or exclusive 
agent of a person who is licensed or exempt from licensing 
under Chapter 16 and the requirements set forth in clauses 
(i) and (ii) of subdivision 2 of this subsection have been 
satisfied. 
2. Commencement of employment or exclusive agency as 
a mortgage loan originator for a person licensed or exempt 
from licensing under Chapter 16. A licensee who becomes 
an employee or exclusive agent of a person licensed or 
exempt from licensing under Chapter 16 shall not engage 
in activities requiring licensure under Chapter 16 until (i) 
the person licensed or exempt from licensing under 
Chapter 16 has complied with the surety bond filing 
requirements of § 6.2-1703 of the Code of Virginia, 
10VAC5-161-30 B, and 10VAC5-161-50 and (ii) the 
bureau has received a sponsorship request through the 
registry. 

D. Pursuant to subsection B of § 6.2-1711 of the Code of 
Virginia, each licensee shall notify the commissioner through 
the registry within 10 days of any change of residential or 
business address. A licensee described in 10VAC5-161-20 A 
1 or A 2 shall be deemed to have complied with this 
requirement if a person licensed or exempt from licensing 
under Chapter 16 timely submits such notice on behalf of its 
employee or exclusive agent. 

E. Each licensee shall ensure that all residential mortgage 
loans that close as a result of the licensee engaging in the 
business of a mortgage loan originator are included in 
quarterly mortgage call reports of condition submitted to the 
registry. Reports of condition shall be in such form, contain 
such information, and be submitted with such frequency and 
by such dates as the registry may require. 

F. The commissioner shall establish a process whereby 
mortgage loan originators may challenge information entered 
into the registry by the bureau. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4903; Filed April 3, 2017, 2:24 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Nursing is claiming 
an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process 
Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 6 of the Code of 
Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards 
served by the Department of Health Professions pursuant to 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia that are limited to reducing 
fees charged to regulants and applicants. The Board of 
Nursing will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 
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any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-19. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Nursing (amending 18VAC90-19-30).  
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: May 31, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 
Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX (804) 
527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 
Summary:  

The amendments reduce the late fee for renewal of an 
inactive license after the renewal date by a registered 
nurse or a practical nurse. 

18VAC90-19-30. Fees. 
Fees required by the board are: 

1. Application for licensure by examination - 
RN 

$190  

2. Application for licensure by endorsement - 
RN 

$190 

3. Application for licensure by examination - 
LPN 

$170 

4. Application for licensure by endorsement - 
LPN 

$170 

5. Reapplication for licensure by examination $50 

6. Biennial licensure renewal - RN $140 

7. Biennial inactive licensure renewal - RN $70 

8. Biennial licensure renewal - LPN $120 

9. Biennial inactive licensure renewal - LPN $60 

10. Late renewal - RN $50 

11. Late renewal - RN inactive $25 

12. Late renewal - LPN $40 

13. Late renewal - LPN inactive $20 

12. 14. Reinstatement of lapsed license - RN $225 

13. 15. Reinstatement of lapsed license - LPN $200 

14. 16. Reinstatement of suspended or 
revoked license 

$300 

15. 17. Duplicate license $15 

16. 18. Replacement wall certificate $25 

17. 19. Verification of license $35 

18. 20. Transcript of all or part of applicant 
or licensee records 

$35 

19. 21. Returned check charge $35 

20. 22. Application for CNS registration $130 

21. 23. Biennial renewal of CNS registration $80 

22. 24. Reinstatement of lapsed CNS 
registration 

$125 

23. 25. Verification of CNS registration to 
another jurisdiction 

$35 

24. 26. Late renewal of CNS registration $35 
VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5059; Filed March 30, 2017, 3:32 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Nursing is claiming 
an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process 
Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 6 of the Code of 
Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards 
served by the Department of Health Professions pursuant to 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia that are limited to reducing 
fees charged to regulants and applicants. The Board of 
Nursing will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 
any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 
Titles of Regulations: 18VAC90-30. Regulations Governing 
the Licensure of Nurse Practitioners (amending 
18VAC90-30-50). 
18VAC90-40. Regulations for Prescriptive Authority for 
Nurse Practitioners (amending 18VAC90-40-70).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Effective Date: May 31, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 
Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX 
(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments reduce the nurse practitioner biennial 
renewal fees for licensure and prescriptive authority from 
July 1, 2017, through June 30, 2019.  

18VAC90-30-50. Fees.  
A. Fees required in connection with the licensure of nurse 

practitioners are:  

1. Application $125 

2. Biennial licensure renewal $80 

3. Late renewal $25 

4. Reinstatement of licensure $150 

5. Verification of licensure to 
another jurisdiction 

$35 

6. Duplicate license $15 
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7. Duplicate wall certificate $25 

8. Return check charge $35 

9. Reinstatement of suspended or 
revoked license 

$200 

B. For renewal of licensure from July 1, 2017, through June 
30, 2019, the following fee shall be in effect: 

Biennial renewal $60 

18VAC90-40-70. Fees for prescriptive authority.  
A. The following fees have been established by the boards:  

1. Initial issuance of prescriptive 
authority 

$75 

2. Biennial renewal $35 

3. Late renewal $15 

4. Reinstatement of lapsed 
authorization 

$90 

5. Reinstatement of suspended or 
revoked authorization 

$85  

6. Duplicate of authorization $15 

7. Return check charge $35 

B. For renewal of licensure from July 1, 2017, through June 
30, 2019, the following fee shall be in effect: 

Biennial renewal $26 
VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5049; Filed April 12, 2017, 8:39 a.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Bureau of Insurance 

April 4, 2017 

Administrative Letter 2017-01 

TO: All Companies Licensed to Sell Annuities or Variable 
Annuities under Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia 

RE: Revisions to the Rules Governing Suitability in Annuity 
Transactions (14VAC5-45 of the Virginia Administrative 
Code) 

The Virginia Bureau of Insurance has revised the Rules 
Governing Suitability in Annuity Transactions, incorporating 
provisions contained in the National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners' Suitability in Annuity Transactions Model 
Regulation. The revised Rules can be accessed at 
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter
45/. 

Among other changes, the revised Rules require agents to 
complete a one-time four-credit continuing education (C.E.) 
course on annuity products. The deadline for compliance with 
this C.E. requirement is January 1, 2018, for agents currently 
holding a life insurance line of authority and who desire to 
sell annuities in Virginia. Agents who obtain a life insurance 
line of authority on or after January 1, 2018, must complete 
the C.E. requirement prior to engaging in the sale of annuities 
in Virginia. Virginia resident agents are required to complete 
a Virginia approved one-time four-credit C.E. course 
designated for annuity suitability on or after April 1, 2017. 
Therefore, courses taken by resident agents prior to April 1, 
2017, will not be counted towards compliance. Non-resident 
agents are exempt if they have already completed a 
"substantially similar" course in their home state. Insurers are 
responsible for verifying that any agent selling annuity 
products in Virginia on their behalf has completed the four-
credit C.E. course. (See 14VAC5-45-45 B 10 of the Virginia 
Administrative Code.) 

Questions concerning this administrative letter may be 
addressed to: Life and Health Division, Bureau of Insurance, 
State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, 
VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9741, or email 
bureauofinsurance@scc.virginia.gov. 

/s/ Jacqueline K. Cunningham 
Commissioner of Insurance 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Volkswagen Consent Decree Environmental 
Mitigation Trust Project Ideas 

The Commonwealth of Virginia expects to receive 
$93,600,000 from the Volkswagen (VW) environmental 
mitigation trust (EMT) between 2017 and 2027. These funds 

represent a significant opportunity to mitigate the 
environmental harm caused by the offending VW vehicles 
and to achieve substantial reductions in air pollution in 
Virginia. The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) will administer these funds through a state mitigation 
plan (SMP). The objective of this request for information 
(RFI) is to gather information to help DEQ gain a better 
understanding of the best use of VW EMT funds for Virginia. 

DEQ is seeking early input from governmental and 
nongovernmental entities on the type and scope of projects 
that they may later submit to compete for VW EMT funds, 
funding and project evaluation priorities, and methods DEQ 
could employ to increase participation in future requests for 
VW mitigation projects. This RFI is not a solicitation for 
projects. Information obtained from this RFI will be used 
solely for planning purposes, including the development of 
requirements upon which a solicitation for projects may be 
based. 

How to respond to the RFI: Please follow the detailed 
instructions provided in the RFI, which is located on DEQ's 
VW webpage at 
http://deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/VWMitigation.aspx. 

Federal information: Additional information is available 
from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) at 
http://www.epa.gov/enforcement/volkswagen-clean-air-act-
partial-settlement. 

Virginia information: DEQ has established a webpage with 
information about Virginia's actions for meeting the 
requirements of the VW settlement and the EMT at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/vwmitigation.aspx. 
This page will be updated periodically as new information 
and opportunities for public comment become available. 

Contact Information: Angela Conroy, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4130, or email 
vwmitigation@deq.virginia.gov. 

JOINT COMMISSION ON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

Notice to State Agencies - Reporting Requirements 
of Chapter 678 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly 

Pursuant to enactment clause 2 of Chapter 678 (HB 1731) of 
the 2017 Acts of Assembly, the Joint Commission on 
Administrative Rules (JCAR) is publishing this notice to 
inform agencies of obligations under the provisions of the act.  

The act amends § 2.2-4005 of the Code of Virginia and 
requires agencies having an exemption authorized by the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) (APA) to report the following information to JCAR: 

1. The exemption and the date the exemption became law. 
Section 2.2-4002 A 9 of the Code of Virginia provides an 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter45/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter45/
mailto:BureauofInsurance@scc.virginia.gov
http://deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/VWMitigation.aspx
http://www.epa.gov/enforcement/volkswagen-clean-air-act-partial-settlement
http://www.epa.gov/enforcement/volkswagen-clean-air-act-partial-settlement
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/vwmitigation.aspx
mailto:vwmitigation@deq.virginia.gov
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0678
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0678
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exemption for agencies "expressly exempted by any other 
provision" of the Code of Virginia. Therefore, an agency 
must also report exemptions from the APA contained in the 
agency's basic law. 

2. A summary of the necessity for the exemption (i.e., why 
the agency needs the particular exemption). 

3. Any regulation adopted by the agency under each 
exemption in the immediately preceding two fiscal years 
and a summary of each regulation.    

A web form is in development for agencies to report the 
required information electronically. JCAR will send an email 
with instructions and the URL for the web form to agency 
regulatory coordinators in the near future.  

The first report is due August 1, 2017, and covers the period 
July 1, 2015, through June 30, 2017. Subsequent reports are 
due every two years thereafter and need only provide the 
exemption and any regulation adopted pursuant to the 
exemption in the immediately preceding two fiscal years, if 
any.  

The following agencies are exempt from this reporting 
requirement: (i) the courts, (ii) any agency of the Supreme 
Court, and (iii) any agency that by the Constitution of 
Virginia is expressly granted any of the powers of a court of 
record. 

If an agency fails to submit the required report, JCAR is 
required to recommend to the Governor and the General 
Assembly that the agency's exemption be discontinued. 

Contact information: Karen W. Perrine, Joint Commission on 
Administrative Rules, 201 North Ninth Street, Richmond, VA 
23229, telephone (804) 786-3591, ext. 261. 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery were 
filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on April 12, 
2017. The orders may be viewed at the Virginia Lottery, 
600 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of 
the Registrar of Regulations, 201 North 9th Street, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

Director's Order Number Forty (17) 

Virginia Lottery's "3-4-5 Play Promotion" Final Rules for 
Operation (effective May 1, 2017) 

Director's Order Number Forty-Five (17) 

Virginia's Computer-Generated Lottery Game Mega Millions 
Final Rules for Game Operation (this Director's Order 
becomes effective on March 30, 2017, fully replaces any and 
all prior Virginia Lottery "Mega Millions" game rules, and 
shall remain in full force and effect unless amended or 
rescinded by further Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-One (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1768 "Game of Riches" 
Final Rules for Game Operation (effective April 7, 2017) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Two (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1789 "$" Final Rules for 
Game Operation (effective April 7, 2017) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Three (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1793 "Quick Cash" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (effective April 7, 2017) 

BOARD OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES 

Payments under the Disproportionate Share 
Hospital Program to Piedmont and Catawba 

Hospitals - Notice of Intent to Amend the Virginia 
State Plan for Medical Assistance (pursuant to 
§ 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act (42 USC 

§ 1396a(a)(13))) 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 
amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 
provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 
Establishing Payment Rates-Inpatient Hospital Services 
(12VAC30-70). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 
447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act, 
42 USC § 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this notice is available for 
public review from William Lessard, Provider 
Reimbursement Division, DMAS, 600 Broad Street, Suite 
1300, Richmond, VA 23219, or via email 
at william.lessard@dmas.virginia.gov. 

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, 
providers, and beneficiaries on the potential impact of the 
proposed change in methodology for setting disproportionate 
share hospital (DSH) payment rates for Piedmont and 
Catawba hospitals. Comments or inquiries may be submitted, 
in writing, within 30 days of this notice publication to Mr. 
Lessard and such comments are available for review at the 
same address. Comments may also be submitted, in writing, 
on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall public comment forum 
attached to this notice and is available for public review on 
the Town Hall at http://townhall.virginia.gov, on the General 
Notices page, found at 
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

DMAS is making these changes in its methods and standards 
for setting payment rates for services in order to comply with 
a request from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS) to modify the method for making payments 
under the DSH program for two facilities operated by the 
Department of Behavioral Health and Development Services. 
The change would even out the payments to Piedmont and 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/
http://townhall.virginia.gov/
http://townhall.virginia.gov/
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Catawba hospitals so that neither payment would exceed the 
amount allowed under Medicaid, but the total amount paid to 
the two hospitals would not change. 

This change is necessary because under the current 
methodology, the DSH payments to Piedmont Hospital often 
exceed the amount that can be paid to that hospital. The 
current method allows for the extra payments to be paid to 
Catawba Hospital (up to the Medicaid limits) at the time of 
cost settlement. With this change, DMAS could avoid making 
excess DSH payments to Piedmont Hospital. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is $0. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 
Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 
Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 
786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Order for The Four Winds Club, 
Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for The Four 
Winds Club, Inc. for violations of the State Water Control 
Law and applicable regulations at the Four Winds 
Campground Sewage Treatment Plant located in Caroline 
County, Virginia.  The State Water Control Board proposes to 
issue a consent order to resolve violations associated with the 
Four Winds Campground Sewage Treatment Plant. A 
description of the proposed action is available at the 
Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 
online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Stephanie Bellotti will 
accept comments by email at 
stephanie.bellotti@deq.virginia.gov or postal mail at 
Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 
Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from 
May 2, 2017, through June 1, 2017. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Larry T. Waltrip 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Larry T. 
Waltrip for violations of the State Water Control Law in 
Williamsburg, Virginia. A description of the proposed action 
is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 
office named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. 
Jennifer Coleman, Esq. will accept comments by email at 
jennifer.coleman@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-2009, 
or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 
Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from May 1, 2017, to May 31, 
2017. 

VIRGINIA WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
COMMISSION 

Public Comment on Proposed Medical Fee 
Schedules and Ground Rules 

The Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission is 
accepting public comment on the proposed Medical Fee 
Schedules and Ground Rules, which establish the maximum 
fees for fee scheduled medical services rendered to injured 
workers pursuant to the Virginia Workers' Compensation Act 
(Title 65.2 of the Code of Virginia).  

The proposed Fee Schedules may be accessed 
at http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-
medical-fee-schedules. The Proposed Ground Rules may be 
accessed at http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content 
/virginia-medical-fee-schedules-ground-rules.  

Persons wishing to provide written comment are encouraged 
to do so electronically using the following 
link: http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/Medical-
Fee-Schedule-Special-Notice.  

Written comments may also be submitted via email 
to drema.thompson@workcom.virginia.gov or by postal mail 
to Drema Thompson, using the contact information at the end 
of this notice. Written comments will be accepted through 
May 10, 2017.  

In addition, the Commission will hold a public hearing on the 
proposed Fee Schedules and Ground Rules on May 23, 2017, 
at 8:30 a.m. in Courtroom A at the Virginia Workers' 
Compensation Commission, Main Headquarters, 1000 DMV 
Drive, Richmond, VA 23220. All visitors to the commission 
may be required to present photo identification to enter 
commission facilities. 

Contact Information: Drema Thompson, Medical Fee 
Services Manager, Virginia Workers' Compensation 
Commission, 1000 DMV Drive, Richmond, VA 23220, 
telephone (804) 774-4165, FAX (804) 823-6932, or email 
drema.thompson@workcomp.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information through Thursday, June 15, 2017: 
Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, General 
Assembly Building, 201 North 9th Street, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice (804) 786-3591; 
Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

New Contact Information beginning Monday, June 19, 
2017: Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 
Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: Voice will be available at 
a later date. 

mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:Jennifer.Coleman@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-medical-fee-schedules
http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-medical-fee-schedules
http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-medical-fee-schedules-ground-rules
http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-medical-fee-schedules-ground-rules
http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/Medical-Fee-Schedule-Special-Notice
http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/Medical-Fee-Schedule-Special-Notice
mailto:drema.thompson@workcom.virginia.gov
mailto:drema.thompson@workcomp.virginia.gov
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Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 
repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 
regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 
the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 
available at 
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 
Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 
Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 
regulatory information. 

ERRATA 
DEPARTMENT OF LAW 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC45-20. Regulations Regarding 
the Virginia Human Rights Act. 

Publication: 33:15 VA.R. 1871-1875 March 20, 2017. 

Correction to Fast-Track Regulation:  

Page 1873, in 1VAC45-20-60 B 3, after "Management;" 
insert "and"  

in 1VAC45-20-60 B 4, after "Disabilities" 
delete "Virginia Office of Protection and Advocacy" and 
strike "; and"  

in 1VAC45-20-60 B 5, strike "5." 
VA.R. Doc. No. R17-3944; Filed April 13, 2017, 2:22 p.m. 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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