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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 
any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 
5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  
November 5, 2012. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 
James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair; Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 
McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. Hopkins; Leslie L. Lilley; 
E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; 
Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Mark J. Vucci. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 
Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

July 2017 through July 2018 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

33:23 June 21, 2017 July 10, 2017 

33:24 July 5, 2017 July 24, 2017 

33:25 July 19, 2017 August 7, 2017 

33:26 August 2, 2017 August 21, 2017 

34:1 August 16, 2017 September 4, 2017 

34:2 August 30, 2017 September 18, 2017 

34:3 September 13, 2017 October 2, 2017 

34:4 September 27, 2017 October 16, 2017 

34:5 October 11, 2017 October 30, 2017 

34:6 October 25, 2017 November 13, 2017 

34:7 November 8, 2017 November 27, 2017 

34:8 November 21, 2017 (Tuesday) December 11, 2017 

34:9 December 6, 2017 December 25, 2017 

34:10 December 19, 2017 (Tuesday) January 8, 2018 

34:11 January 3, 2018 January 22, 2018 

34:12 January 17, 2018 February 5, 2018 

34:13 January 31, 2018 February 19, 2018 

34:14 February 14, 2018 March 5, 2018 

34:15 February 28, 2018 March 19, 2018 

34:16 March 14, 2018 April 2, 2018 

34:17 March 28, 2018 April 16, 2018 

34:18 April 11, 2018 April 30, 2018 

34:19 April 25, 2018 May 14, 2018 

34:20 May 9, 2018 May 28, 2018 

34:21 May 23, 2018 June 11, 2018 

34:22 June 6, 2018 June 25, 2018 

34:23 June 20, 2018 July 9, 2018 

34:24 July 3, 2018 (Tuesday) July 23, 2018 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Professional Counseling. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Dominique Adkins. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To accept supervised hours of 
a practicum and internship in a Council for Accreditation of 
Counseling and Related Educational Programs accredited 
doctoral program towards the required hours for a residency 
in counseling. 

Agency Decision: Request granted. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At its meeting on May 19, 
2017, the board discussed the request to amend regulations 
and all comment received. The board has voted to submit a 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action (NOIRA) to initiate 
rulemaking and receive further information and comment. 
Once the NOIRA is approved by the Governor, it will be 
published and a 30-day comment period will be opened. The 
regulatory process typically takes 18 months to complete. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, 
or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-12; Filed June 13, 2017, 8:34 a.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 
Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-80, 
Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rate; 
Other Types of Care. The purpose of the proposed action is 
to replace the current fee-for-service methodology for 
pharmacy services with one that conforms to new federal 
requirements. 
The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 
Public Comment Deadline: August 9, 2017. 
Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4546; Filed June 19, 2017, 8:32 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 
Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-120, 
Waivered Services. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
establish Commonwealth Coordinated Care Plus (CCC Plus), 
the new statewide Medicaid managed long-term services and 
supports program that will serve approximately 214,000 
individuals with complex care needs through an integrated 
delivery model across the full continuum of care. Care 
management is at the heart of the CCC Plus high-touch, 
person-centered program design. CCC Plus focuses on 
improving quality, access, and efficiency, and enrollment into 
CCC Plus is required for qualifying populations. 
The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 
Public Comment Deadline: August 9, 2017. 
Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4974; Filed June 19, 2017, 7:48 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Veterinary Medicine 
intends to consider amending 18VAC150-20, Regulations 
Governing the Practice of Veterinary Medicine. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to address the opioid abuse 
crisis in Virginia by adopting regulations for veterinarians 
prescribing controlled substances containing opioids. The 
proposed regulations for the management of acute pain 
include requirements for the evaluation of the patient, 
limitations on quantity and dosage, and recordkeeping. The 
proposed regulations provide requirements for prescribing an 
opioid beyond 14 days for chronic pain and certain chronic 
conditions and allow for prescribing of buprenorphine in a 
dosage, quantity, and formulation appropriate for an animal 
species and size. Finally, the proposed regulations include 
requirements for continuation of treatment and for the content 
of the medical record.  
The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Comment Deadline: August 9, 2017. 
Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 
Board of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4468, FAX 
(804) 527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5103; Filed June 16, 2017, 9:35 p.m.  
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Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Underscored language indicates proposed new text. 

Language that has been stricken indicates proposed text for deletion.  Brackets are used in final regulations to indicate changes from the 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 
Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 
Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 
Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 
management of wildlife.  
Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-50. Game: Bear (amending 
4VAC15-50-11, 4VAC15-50-71, 4VAC15-50-120).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 
Virginia.  
Effective Date: August 1, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 
Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-
8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) add a three-day open season for 
hunting bear in 36 counties or portions of counties to run 
Monday through Wednesday in the week prior to the 
statewide archery hunting season; (ii) change the start 
date of the fall bear hound training season to August 1; 
and (iii) change the bear hound training season dates in 
the Counties of Brunswick, Charlotte, Greensville, 
Lunenburg, and Mecklenburg to match the western bear 
hound training season. 

4VAC15-50-11. Open season; generally. 
A. It shall be lawful to hunt bears within in the following 

localities, including the cities and towns therein, during the 
following seasons:  

Location Season 

Accomack County  Closed 

Albemarle County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Alleghany County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Amelia County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Amherst County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Appomattox County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Arlington County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Augusta County  
(North of US-250)  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Augusta County 
(South of US-250)  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Bath County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Bedford County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 
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Bland County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Botetourt County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Brunswick County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Buchanan County  

First Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the first 
Monday in December through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Buckingham County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Campbell County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Caroline County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Carroll County  First Monday in December and 
for 19 days following. 

Charles City County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Charlotte County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Chesapeake (City of)  
October 1 through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Chesterfield County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Clarke County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Craig County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Culpeper County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Cumberland County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Dickenson County  

First Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the first 
Monday in December through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Dinwiddie County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Essex County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Fairfax County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Fauquier County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Floyd County  First Monday in December and 
for 19 days following. 

Fluvanna County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Franklin County  First Monday in December and 
for 19 days following. 
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Frederick County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Giles County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Gloucester County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Goochland County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Grayson County  First Monday in December and 
for 19 days following. 

Greene County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Greensville County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Halifax County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Hanover County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Henrico County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Henry County  First Monday in December and 
for 19 days following. 

Highland County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Isle of Wight County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

James City County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

King and Queen 
County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

King George County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

King William 
County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Lancaster County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Lee County  

First Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the first 
Monday in December through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Loudoun County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Louisa County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Lunenburg County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Madison County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Mathews County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Mecklenburg 
County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Middlesex County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 
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Montgomery County 
 (southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in December and 
for 19 days following. 

Montgomery County 
(northwest of I-81)  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Nelson County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

New Kent County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Northampton 
County  Closed 

Northumberland 
County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Nottoway County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Orange County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Page County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Patrick County  First Monday in December and 
for 19 days following. 

Pittsylvania County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Powhatan County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Prince Edward 
County 

Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Prince George 
County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Prince William 
County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Pulaski County  
(southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in December and 
for 19 days following. 

Pulaski County  
(northwest of I-81)  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Rappahannock 
County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Richmond County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Roanoke County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Rockbridge County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Rockingham County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Russell County 
(except on the 
Channels State 
Forest and Clinch 
Mountain WMA) 

First Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the first 
Monday in December through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 
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Russell County (on 
the Channels State 
Forest and Clinch 
Mountain WMA) 

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Scott County  

First Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the first 
Monday in December through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Shenandoah County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Smyth County 
(southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in December and 
for 19 days following. 

Smyth County  
(northwest of I-81)  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Southampton 
County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Spotsylvania County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Stafford County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Suffolk (City of)  
October 1 through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Surry County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Sussex County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Tazewell County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Virginia Beach (City 
of)  

October 1 through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Warren County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Washington County  
(southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in December and 
for 19 days following. 

Washington County 
(northwest of I-81 
and east of Route 
19)  

First Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the first 
Monday in December through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Washington County 
(northwest of I-81 
and west of Route 
19)  

First Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the first 
Monday in December and for 19 
days following. 

Westmoreland 
County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Wise County  

First Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the first 
Monday in December through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Wythe County  
(southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in December and 
for 19 days following. 

Wythe County  
(northwest of I-81)  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

York County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 
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B. Except as provided in the subsection A of this section, 
bears may be hunted from the Saturday prior to the fourth 
Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, 
both dates inclusive, within the incorporated limits of any city 
that allows bear hunting.  
4VAC15-50-71. Muzzleloading gun hunting. 

A. [ It Except as otherwise provided in this section, it ] shall 
be lawful to hunt bear bears during the special muzzleloading 
season with muzzleloading guns from the Saturday prior to 
the second Monday in November through the Friday prior to 
the third Monday in November, both dates inclusive, except 
in the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and Virginia Beach. 

[ B. It shall be lawful to hunt bears during the muzzleloading 
season with muzzleloading guns from the Saturday prior to 
the first Monday in November through the Friday prior to the 
third Monday in November, both dates inclusive, in the 
counties (including the cities or towns within) of Albemarle, 
Alleghany, Amherst, Appomattox, Arlington, Augusta, Bath, 
Bedford, Botetourt, Buckingham, Caroline, Clarke, Culpeper, 
Fairfax, Fauquier, Fluvanna, Frederick, Greene, Highland, 
Loudoun, Louisa, Madison, Nelson, Orange, Page, Prince 
William, Rappahannock,  Roanoke, Rockbridge, 
Rockingham, Shenandoah, Spotsylvania, Stafford, and 
Warren. ]  

[ B. C. ] It shall be unlawful to hunt bear with dogs during 
any special season for hunting with muzzleloading guns, 
except that tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of the 
Code of Virginia may be used. 

[ C. D. ] A muzzleloading gun, for the purpose of this 
section, means a single shot weapon, .45 caliber or larger, 
firing a single projectile or sabot (with a .38 caliber or larger 
projectile) of the same caliber loaded from the muzzle of the 
weapon and propelled by at least 50 grains of black powder 
(or black powder equivalent or smokeless powder). 

[ D. E. ] It shall be unlawful to have in immediate 
possession any firearm other than a muzzleloading gun while 
hunting with a muzzleloading gun in a special muzzleloading 
season. 
4VAC15-50-120. Bear hound training season.  

A. It shall be lawful to chase black bear with dogs, without 
capturing or taking, from the second Saturday in August 1 
through the last Saturday in September, both dates inclusive, 
in all counties and cities or in the portions in which bear 
hunting is permitted except in the counties of Accomack, 
Amelia, Appomattox, Brunswick, Buckingham, Campbell, 
Caroline, Charles City, Charlotte, Chesterfield, Clarke, 
Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Essex, Fairfax, Fauquier, Fluvanna, 
Frederick, Gloucester, Goochland, Grayson (west of Route 
16), Greensville, Halifax, Hanover, Henrico, Henry, Isle of 
Wight, James City, King and Queen, King George, King 
William, Lancaster, Loudoun, Louisa, Lunenburg, Mathews, 
Mecklenburg, Middlesex, New Kent, Northampton, 
Northumberland, Nottoway, Orange, Patrick, Pittsylvania, 

Powhatan, Prince Edward, Prince George, Prince William, 
Richmond, Roanoke (south of Interstate 81), Smyth (that part 
south of Interstate 81 and west of Route 16), Southampton, 
Spotsylvania, Stafford, Surry, Sussex, Westmoreland, and 
York, and in the cities of Hampton, Newport News and 
Norfolk.  

B. It shall be lawful to chase black bear with dogs, without 
capturing or taking, from the Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 14 days following, both dates 
inclusive, in the counties of Amelia, Appomattox, 
Buckingham, Brunswick, Campbell (east of the Norfolk 
Southern Railroad), Charles City, Charlotte, Cumberland, 
Essex, Gloucester, Greensville, Halifax, Isle of Wight, James 
City, King and Queen, King George, King William, 
Lancaster, Lunenburg, Mathews, Mecklenburg, Middlesex, 
New Kent, Northumberland, Nottoway, Pittsylvania (east of 
the Norfolk Southern Railroad), Prince Edward, Prince 
George, Richmond, Southampton, Surry, Sussex, 
Westmoreland, and York. 

C. It shall be lawful to chase black bears with dogs, without 
capturing or taking, in the counties of Brunswick, Charlotte, 
Greensville, Lunenburg, and Mecklenburg from the first 
Saturday in September through the last Saturday in 
September, both dates inclusive. 

D. C. It shall be unlawful to have in possession a firearm, 
bow, crossbow, or any weapon capable of taking a black bear 
while participating in the bear hound training season. The 
meaning of "possession" for the purpose of this section shall 
include, but not be limited to, having a firearm, bow, 
crossbow, or any weapon capable of taking a black bear in or 
on one's person, vehicle, or conveyance.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5069; Filed June 21, 2017, 2:30 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 
Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 
Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 
Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 
management of wildlife.  
Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-80. Game: Crow (amending 
4VAC15-80-10).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Effective Date: August 1, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 
Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-
8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments rescind Sundays and add Mondays as 
days of each week on which crows may be hunted during 
the crow hunting season. 
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4VAC15-80-10. Open season.  
It shall be lawful to hunt crow on Monday, Wednesday, 

Friday, and Saturday, and Sunday of each week from the third 
Saturday in August through the third Friday in March, both 
dates inclusive.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5070; Filed June 21, 2017, 10:59 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 
Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 
Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 
Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 
management of wildlife.  
Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-90. Game: Deer (amending 
4VAC15-90-70, 4VAC15-90-80, 4VAC15-90-89, 4VAC15-
90-90, 4VAC15-90-91, 4VAC15-90-280, 4VAC15-90-291, 
4VAC15-90-294).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Effective Date: August 1, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 
Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-
8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) allow the use of a slingbow for deer 
hunting during all archery deer hunting seasons, that is, 
the early, late, urban archery, and Northern Virginia April 
archery deer seasons; (ii) adjust the number of days on 
which deer of either sex may be taken during 
muzzleloading deer hunting season in various counties; 
(iii) reduce the minimum muzzleloading gun saboted bullet 
projectile size allowable for hunting deer from .38 to .35 
caliber; (iv) require that antlerless deer be taken before 
multiple bucks may be taken during the license year in any 
town or city except Chesapeake, Suffolk, and Virginia 
Beach, and on private lands in Fauquier and Montgomery 
Counties; (v) simplify and standardize the language 
describing the antler point restriction in effect in seven 
western counties; (vi) adjust the number of days during 
which deer of either sex may be taken during the general 
firearms deer hunting season in a number of counties; (vii) 
allow the buying and selling of specified cervid parts, 
items made from such parts, and cervid mounts; (viii) 
rescind requirements for intervals and associated 
permanent gaps in fencing intended to not impede the free 
egress of deer; and (ix) authorize permitted rehabilitators 
to transport and temporarily possess adult deer or elk 
solely for the purpose of immediate humane dispatch. 

4VAC15-90-70. Archery hunting. 
A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special 

archery season with archery equipment or a slingbow from 

the first Saturday in October through the Friday prior to the 
third Monday in November, both dates inclusive. 

B. In addition to the season provided in subsection A of this 
section, it shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special 
archery season with archery equipment from or a slingbow:  

1. From the Sunday following the close of the general 
firearms season on deer through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive, in (i) all cities, towns, and 
counties west of the Blue Ridge Mountains (except Clarke 
County and on non-national forest lands in Frederick 
County) and; (ii) in the counties (including the cities and 
towns within) of Amherst (west of Business U.S. 29 from 
the James River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south 
of the Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the 
Tye River), Bedford, Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of 
Route 151), and Patrick and; (iii) on the Chester F. Phelps 
Wildlife Management Area; and (iv) on national forest 
lands in Frederick County and from.  
2. From December 1 through the first Saturday in January, 
both dates inclusive, in the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk 
(east of the Dismal Swamp Line), and Virginia Beach. 

C. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 
special archery seasons as provided in subsections A and B of 
this section (except on PALS (Public Access Lands) in 
Dickenson County where it shall be unlawful to take 
antlerless deer during the special archery seasons provided for 
in subsections A and B of this section). 

D. It shall be unlawful to carry firearms while hunting with 
archery equipment during the special archery seasons, except 
that a muzzleloading gun, as defined in 4VAC15-90-80, may 
be in the possession of a properly licensed muzzleloading gun 
hunter when and where a special archery deer season overlaps 
a special muzzleloading deer season. 

E. It shall be unlawful to use dogs when hunting with 
archery equipment during any special archery season, except 
that tracking dogs as described in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 
Virginia may be used. 

F. It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer during the special 
urban archery season with archery equipment or a slingbow 
from the first Saturday in September through the Friday prior 
to the first Saturday in October, both dates inclusive, and 
from the Sunday following the first Saturday in January 
through the last Sunday in March, both dates inclusive, within 
the incorporated limits of any city or town in the 
Commonwealth (except on national forest and department-
owned lands) and counties with a human population density 
of 300 persons per square mile or more (except on national 
forest and department-owned lands), provided that its 
governing body submits by certified letter to the department 
prior to April 1, its intent to participate in the special urban 
archery season. Any city, town, or county no longer 
participating in this season shall submit by certified letter to 
the department prior to April 1 notice of its intent not to 
participate in the special urban archery season. 
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G. It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer during the special 
antlerless archery season with archery equipment or a 
slingbow from the Monday following the last Sunday in 
March through the last Sunday in April, both dates inclusive, 
in [ the counties of ] Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince 
William [ counties ] (including the cities and towns within). 
4VAC15-90-80. Muzzleloading gun hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special 
muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the 
Saturday prior to the first Monday in November through the 
Friday prior to the third Monday in November, both dates 
inclusive, in all cities, towns, and counties where deer hunting 
with a rifle or muzzleloading gun is permitted, except in the 
cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp 
Line), and Virginia Beach.  

B. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special 
muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns starting 21 
consecutive days immediately prior to and on the first 
Saturday in January, in: 

1. In all cities, towns, and counties west of the Blue Ridge 
Mountains (except Clarke County and on non-national 
forest lands in Frederick County), and east;  
2. East of the Blue Ridge Mountains in the counties 
Counties (including the cities and towns within) of 
Amherst (west of Business U.S. 29 from the James River 
to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the Town of 
Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River), 
Bedford, Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151), and 
Patrick and on; 
3. On national forest lands in Frederick County; and in  
4. In the cities Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the 
Dismal Swamp Line), and Virginia Beach. 

C. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 
special muzzleloading season east of the Blue Ridge 
Mountains unless otherwise noted below in this subsection:  

1. Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday 
only of the early special muzzleloading season on state 
forest lands, state park lands (except Occoneechee State 
Park), department-owned lands (except on Merrimac Farm 
Wildlife Management Area), and Philpott Reservoir. 
2. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 
during the early special muzzleloading season on national 
forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and Nelson counties 
Counties. 

D. Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday 
only during the early special muzzleloading season west of 
the Blue Ridge Mountains unless otherwise noted below in 
this subsection: 

1. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 
special muzzleloading season in Clarke and Floyd counties 
Counties and on private lands in Carroll, Frederick, 

Grayson, Montgomery, Pulaski, Roanoke, Scott, 
Shenandoah, and Warren counties Counties. 
2. Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday 
and the last five days of the early muzzleloading season on 
private lands in Botetourt County. 
3. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 
during the early special muzzleloading season in 
Buchanan, Dickenson, Lee, Russell, Tazewell, and Wise 
counties Counties and on national forest lands in 
Alleghany, Bland, Craig, Frederick, Giles, Grayson, 
Montgomery, Page, Pulaski, Rockingham, Scott, 
Shenandoah, Warren, and on national forest and 
department-owned lands in Augusta, Bath, Botetourt, 
Carroll, Highland (except Highland Wildlife Management 
Area), Roanoke, Rockbridge, Smyth, Washington, and 
Wythe counties Counties and on Channels State Forest, 
Grayson Highlands State Park, Hungry Mother State Park, 
and on private lands west of Routes 613 and 731 in 
Rockingham County. 

E. Deer of either sex may be taken during the last six days of 
the late special muzzleloading season unless otherwise listed 
below in this subsection: 

1. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 
entire late special muzzleloading season in the counties 
Counties (including the cities and towns within) of 
Amherst (west of Business U.S. 29 from the James River 
to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the Town of 
Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River, 
except on national forest lands), Bedford (except on 
national forest lands), Floyd, Franklin, Henry, Nelson 
(west of Route 151, except on national forest lands), and 
Patrick and on private lands in Carroll, Grayson, 
Montgomery, Pulaski, Roanoke, Shenandoah, and Warren 
counties Counties. 
2. Deer of either sex may be taken the last day only during 
the late special muzzleloading season in Alleghany, Bath, 
Dickenson (north of Route 83), Highland, Lee, Russell, 
Tazewell, and Wise counties Counties and on national 
forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, Bland, Craig, Frederick, 
Giles, Grayson, Montgomery, Nelson, Page, Pulaski, 
Rockingham, Scott, Shenandoah, and Warren counties 
Counties, and on national forest and department-owned 
lands in Augusta, Botetourt, Carroll, Roanoke, Rockbridge, 
Smyth, and Washington counties, and Wythe Counties and 
on private lands west of Routes 613 and 731 in 
Rockingham County, Channels State Forest, and Grayson 
Highlands State Park, and Hungry Mother State Park. 
3. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 
during the late special muzzleloading season in Buchanan 
[ and Dickenson (south of Route 83) County ]. 

F. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 
special muzzleloading seasons within the incorporated limits 
of any city or town in the Commonwealth that allows deer 
hunting except in the counties [ Counties of Buchanan, 
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Dickenson, and Wise Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and 
Virginia Beach ]. 

G. It shall be unlawful to hunt deer with dogs during any 
special season for hunting with muzzleloading guns, except 
that tracking dogs as described in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 
Virginia may be used. 

H. A muzzleloading gun, for the purpose of this section, 
means a single shot weapon, .45 caliber or larger, firing a 
single projectile or sabot (with a .38 .35 caliber or larger 
projectile) of the same caliber loaded from the muzzle of the 
weapon and propelled by at least 50 grains of black powder 
(or black powder equivalent or smokeless powder). 

I. It shall be unlawful to have in immediate possession any 
firearm other than a muzzleloading gun while hunting with a 
muzzleloading gun in a special muzzleloading season.  
4VAC15-90-89. Earn a buck (EAB). 

For the purposes of this section, the term "license year" 
defines the period between July 1 and June 30 of the 
following year. 

Arlington County (including the cities and towns within). 
During a license year, it shall be unlawful to take a second 
antlered deer in Arlington County prior to taking at least two 
antlerless deer in Arlington County, and it shall be unlawful 
to take a third antlered deer in Arlington County prior to 
taking at least three antlerless deer in Arlington County.  

Bedford County on private lands (including the cities and 
towns within). During a license year, it shall be unlawful to 
take a second antlered deer on private lands in Bedford 
County prior to taking at least one antlerless deer on private 
lands in Bedford County, and it shall be unlawful to take a 
third antlered deer on private lands in Bedford County prior 
to taking at least two antlerless deer on private lands in 
Bedford County. 

Clarke County on private lands (including the cities and 
towns within). During a license year, it shall be unlawful to 
take a second antlered deer on private lands in Clarke County 
prior to taking at least one antlerless deer on private lands in 
Clarke County.  

Fairfax County (including the cities and towns within). 
During a license year, it shall be unlawful to take a second 
antlered deer in Fairfax County prior to taking at least two 
antlerless deer in Fairfax County, and it shall be unlawful to 
take a third antlered deer in Fairfax County prior to taking at 
least three antlerless deer in Fairfax County.  

Fauquier County on private lands. During a license year, it 
shall be unlawful to take a second antlered deer on private 
lands in Fauquier County prior to taking at least one antlerless 
deer on private lands in Fauquier County, and it shall be 
unlawful to take a third antlered deer on private lands in 
Fauquier County prior to taking at least two antlerless deer on 
private lands in Fauquier County. 

Frederick County on private lands (including the cities and 
towns within). During a license year, it shall be unlawful to 

take a second antlered deer on private lands in Frederick 
County prior to taking at least one antlerless deer on private 
lands in Frederick County. 

Loudoun County (including the cities and towns within). 
During a license year, it shall be unlawful to take a second 
antlered deer in Loudoun County prior to taking at least two 
antlerless deer in Loudoun County, and it shall be unlawful to 
take a third antlered deer in Loudoun County prior to taking 
at least three antlerless deer in Loudoun County. 

Montgomery County on private lands. During a license year, 
it shall be unlawful to take a second antlered deer on private 
lands in Montgomery County prior to taking at least one 
antlerless deer on private lands in Montgomery County. 

Prince William County except on Department of Defense 
lands (including the cities and towns within). During a license 
year, it shall be unlawful to take a second antlered deer in 
Prince William County (except on Department of Defense 
lands) prior to taking at least two antlerless deer in Prince 
William County (except on Department of Defense lands), 
and it shall be unlawful to take a third antlered deer in Prince 
William County (except on Department of Defense lands) 
prior to taking at least three antlerless deer in Prince William 
County (except on Department of Defense lands).  

Rappahannock County (including the cities and towns 
within). During a license year, it shall be unlawful to take a 
second antlered deer in Rappahannock County prior to taking 
at least one antlerless deer in Rappahannock County, and it 
shall be unlawful to take a third antlered deer in 
Rappahannock County prior to taking at least two antlerless 
deer in Rappahannock County. 

Roanoke County on private lands (including the cities and 
towns within). During a license year, it shall be unlawful to 
take a second antlered deer on private lands in Roanoke 
County prior to taking at least one antlerless deer on private 
lands in Roanoke County. 

Warren County on private lands (including the cities and 
towns within). During a license year, it shall be unlawful to 
take a second antlered deer on private lands in Warren 
County prior to taking at least one antlerless deer on private 
lands in Warren County.  

Cities and towns. During a license year in any town or city 
(except Chesapeake, Suffolk, and Virginia Beach) east of the 
Blue Ridge Mountains, it shall be unlawful to take a second 
antlered deer prior to taking at least one antlerless deer, and it 
shall be unlawful to take a third antlered deer prior to taking 
at least two antlerless deer.  During a license year in any town 
or city west of the Blue Ridge Mountains, it shall be unlawful 
to take a second antlered deer prior to taking at least one 
antlerless deer. 
4VAC15-90-90. Bag limit, bonus deer permits and special 
antlerless provision for youth hunters.  

A. The bag limit for deer east of the Blue Ridge Mountains 
(except on national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and 
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Nelson counties Counties) is two per day (except for the 
counties of, including the cities and towns within, Arlington, 
Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William where the daily bag 
limit is unlimited), six per license year, three of which must 
be antlerless unless otherwise noted in this subsection.  

[ 1. Only one antlerless deer per hunter per day may be 
taken on national forest and department-owned lands 
unless otherwise noted in this subsection. 
2. ] The daily bag limit for deer is unlimited in the 
Counties (including the cities and towns within) of 
Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William. 

B. The bag limit for deer west of the Blue Ridge Mountains 
and on national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and Nelson 
counties Counties is [ one two ] per day (except for private 
lands in the counties including the cities and towns within 
Clarke, Frederick, Roanoke, Shenandoah, and Warren where 
the daily bag limit is two per day), five per license year, three 
of which must be antlerless unless otherwise noted in this 
subsection. Only one antlered buck taken in the county of 
Alleghany, Augusta, Bath, Highland, Shenandoah, 
Rockbridge, or Rockingham per license year may have less 
than four antler points one inch or longer on one side of the 
antlers. 

1. [ Only one antlerless deer per hunter per day may be 
taken on national forest and department-owned lands. The 
daily bag limit for deer is two per day on private lands in 
the Counties (including the cities and towns within) of 
Clarke, Frederick, Roanoke, Shenandoah, and Warren. ] 
2. If a deer hunter kills two antlered bucks in a license year 
in Alleghany, Augusta, Bath, Highland, Rockbridge, 
Rockingham, or Shenandoah County, at least one of the 
antlered bucks must have at least four antler points, one 
inch or longer, on one side of the antlers. 

C. Except as noted in subsection E below of this section, 
antlerless deer may be taken only during designated either-
sex deer hunting days during the special archery seasons, 
special muzzleloading seasons, and the general firearms 
season.  

D. Bonus deer permits shall be valid on private land in 
counties and cities where deer hunting is permitted (except 
Buchanan, Dickenson, and Wise counties Counties) during 
the special archery seasons, special muzzleloading seasons, 
and the general firearms season. Bonus deer permits shall be 
valid on public lands, including state parks, state forests, 
national wildlife refuges, military areas, etc., as authorized by 
the managing agency. Unless otherwise posted or authorized 
in writing for wildlife management areas by the department, 
or for national forest lands by the U.S. Forest Service, the use 
of bonus permits is prohibited on department-owned and 
national forest lands. Bonus deer permits shall be valid for 
antlerless deer only. Deer taken on bonus permits shall count 
against the daily bag limit but are in addition to the seasonal 
bag limit. 

E. Deer hunters 15 years of age and under, including those 
exempt from purchasing a hunting license, when in 
compliance with all applicable laws and license requirements, 
may take one antlerless deer per license year on days other 
than designated either-sex deer hunting days during the 
special muzzleloading seasons or the general firearms season 
in all counties that have at least one either-sex deer hunting 
day during the general firearms deer season. 
4VAC15-90-91. General firearms season either-sex deer 
hunting days. 

A. During the general firearms deer season, deer of either 
sex may be taken within:  

Accomack County: full season. 
Albemarle County: full season. 
Alleghany County: the second Saturday and the last day.  

-National forest lands: the last day antlered bucks only—
no either-sex days. Only deer with antlers above the 
hairline may be taken.  

Amelia County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 
13 days. 

-Amelia WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 
last six days.  

Amherst County (east of Business U.S. 29 from the James 
River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the 
Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye 
River): the second, and third, and fourth Saturdays and the 
last 27 29 days.  
Amherst County (west of Business U.S. 29 from the James 
River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the 
Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye 
River): full season.  

-National forest lands: the last day antlered bucks only—
no either-sex days. Only deer with antlers above the 
hairline may be taken.  

Appomattox County: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last six days.  

-Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest: the second and 
third Saturdays.  
-Featherfin WMA: the second, and third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 27 29 days. 

Arlington County: full season.  
Augusta County: the second Saturday and the last six days.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 
day antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. Only deer 
with antlers above the hairline may be taken.  

Bath County: the second Saturday and the last day.  
-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 
day antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. Only deer 
with antlers above the hairline may be taken.  
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Bedford County: full season.  
-National forest lands: the last day antlered bucks only—
no either-sex days. Only deer with antlers above the 
hairline may be taken.  

Bland County: the second Saturday and the last day. 
-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 
day.  

Botetourt County: full season.  
-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 
day antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. Only deer 
with antlers above the hairline may be taken.  

Brunswick County: the second and third Saturdays and the 
last six days.  
Buchanan County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 
days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 
taken.  
Buckingham County: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last six days.  

-Horsepen Lake WMA: the second and third Saturdays 
and the last six days. 
-Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest: the second and 
third Saturdays.  
-Featherfin WMA: the second, and third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 27 29 days. 

Campbell County: the second, and third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 27 29 days.  
Caroline County: the second and third Saturdays and the 
last 13 six days. 

-Mattaponi WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last six days. 

Carroll County: full season.  
-National forest and department-owned lands: the second 
Saturday and the last day.  

Charles City County: the second, and third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 27 13 days.  

-Chickahominy WMA: antlered bucks only—no either-
sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 
be taken. 

Charlotte County: the second and third Saturdays and the 
last six days.  
Chesapeake (City of): the second and third Saturdays and 
the last 13 days. 
Chesterfield County: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last 13 six days. 
Clarke County: full season.  
Craig County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 
day.  

Culpeper County: full season. 
-Chester F. Phelps WMA: the second Saturday and the 
last day.  

Cumberland County: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last 13 days. 

-Cumberland State Forest: the second and third 
Saturdays. 

Dickenson County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 
days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 
taken.  
Dinwiddie County: the second and third Saturdays and the 
last six days.  
Essex County: the second, and third, and fourth Saturdays 
and the last 27 six days. 
Fairfax County: full season (restricted to certain parcels of 
land by special permit).  
Fauquier County: full season.  

-G. Richard Thompson WMA: the second Saturday and 
the last day.  
-Chester F. Phelps WMA: the second Saturday and the 
last day.  

Floyd County: full season.  
Fluvanna County: second and third Saturdays and the last 
13 days.  
Franklin County: full season.  

-Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 
days.  
-Turkeycock Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 
the last six days.  

Frederick County: full season.  
-National forest lands: the last day antlered bucks only—
no either-sex days. Only deer with antlers above the 
hairline may be taken.  

Giles County: full season. 
-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 
day.  

Gloucester County: the second, and third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 27 [ 29 six ] days. 
Goochland County: the second, and third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 27 29 days.  
Grayson County: full season.  

-National forest lands and Grayson Highlands State Park: 
antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. Only deer with 
antlers above the hairline may be taken. 

Greene County: full season. 
Greensville County: full season the second and third 
Saturdays and the last six days.  
Halifax County: the second, and third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 27 13 days.  
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Hanover County: full season. 
Henrico County: full season. 
Henry County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 
13 days. 

-Fairystone Farms WMA, Fairystone State Park, and 
Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 
days.  
-Turkeycock Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 
the last six days.  

Highland County: the second Saturday and the last day.  
-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 
day antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. Only deer 
with antlers above the hairline may be taken. 
-Department-owned lands: the second Saturday and the 
last day. 

Isle of Wight County: full season.  
-Ragged Island WMA: antlered bucks only—no either-
sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 
be taken.  

James City County: full season. 
King and Queen County: the second and third Saturdays 
and the last 13 six days. 
King George County: full season the second and third 
Saturdays and the last [ 29 13 ] days. 
King William County: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last 13 six days. 
Lancaster County: full season the second and third 
Saturdays and the last [ 29 13 ] days.  
Lee County: the second Saturday and the last two days.  

-National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-
sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 
be taken.  

Loudoun County: full season.  
Louisa County: the second, and third, and fourth Saturdays 
and the last 27 29 days.  
Lunenburg County: the second and third Saturdays and the 
last six days.  
Madison County: full season. 

-Rapidan WMA: the second, and third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 27 29 days. 

Mathews County: the second, and third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 27 [ 29 six ] days. 
Mecklenburg County: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last six days.  

-Dick Cross WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last six days. 

Middlesex County: the second, and third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 27 [ 29 six ] days.  

Montgomery County: full season.  
-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 
day.  

Nelson County (east of Route 151): the second, and third, 
and fourth Saturdays and the last 27 29 days.  

-James River WMA: the second Saturday and the last six 
days.  

Nelson County (west of Route 151): full season.  
-National forest lands: the last day antlered bucks only—
no either-sex days. Only deer with antlers above the 
hairline may be taken.  

New Kent County: the second, and third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 27 13 days. 
Northampton County: full season. 
Northumberland County: full season the second and third 
Saturdays and the last [ 29 13 ] days. 
Nottoway County: the second and third Saturdays and the 
last six days. 
Orange County: full season. 
Page County: the second Saturday and the last two days.  

-National forest lands: the last day antlered bucks only—
no either-sex days. Only deer with antlers above the 
hairline may be taken.  

Patrick County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 
13 days. 

-Fairystone Farms WMA, Fairystone State Park, and 
Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 
days.  

Pittsylvania County: the second, and third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 27 29 days.  

-White Oak Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 
the last day.  

Powhatan County: the second and third Saturdays and the 
last 13 days. 

-Powhatan WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 
last 13 days. 

Prince Edward County: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last six days.  

-Briery Creek WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last six days. 
-Featherfin WMA: the second, and third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 27 29 days. 
-Prince Edward State Forest: the second and third 
Saturdays.  

Prince George County: full season. 
Prince William County: full season.  
Pulaski County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 
day.  
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Rappahannock County: full season. 
Richmond County: full season the second and third 
Saturdays and the last [ 29 13 ] days. 
Roanoke County: full season.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second 
Saturday and the last day antlered bucks only-no either-
sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 
be taken.  

Rockbridge County: the second Saturday and the last two 
days.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 
day antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. Only deer 
with antlers above the hairline may be taken.  

Rockingham County: the second Saturday and the last six 
days full season.  

-National forest lands and private lands: antlered bucks 
only—no either-sex days. Only deer with antlers above 
the hairline may be taken. 
-Private lands west of Routes 613 and 731: the last day.  

Russell County: the second Saturday and the last two days.  
-Clinch Mountain WMA, Hidden Valley WMA, and the 
Channels State Forest: antlered bucks only—no either-
sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 
be taken. 

Scott County: the second Saturday and the last six days.  
-National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-
sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 
be taken.  

Shenandoah County: full season.  
-National forest lands: the last day antlered bucks only—
no either-sex days. Only deer with antlers above the 
hairline may be taken.  

Smyth County: the second Saturday and the last six days.  
-National forest lands, Clinch Mountain WMA, and 
Hungry Mother State Park: antlered bucks only—no 
either-sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline 
may be taken. 

Southampton County: full season.  
Spotsylvania County: the second, and third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 27 29 days. 
Stafford County: full season.  
Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp Line): the second and 
third Saturdays and the last 13 days. 
Suffolk (west of the Dismal Swamp Line): full season. 
Surry County: full season.  

-Carlisle Tract and Stewart Tracts of the Hog Island 
WMA: antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. Only 
deer with antlers above the hairline may be taken.  

Sussex County: full season. 
- [ Parkers Branch Tract of the ] Big Woods WMA 
[ (including the Parkers Branch Tract) ] and Big Woods 
State Forest: the second and third Saturdays and the last 
six days.  

Tazewell County: the second Saturday and the last two 
days.  

-National forest lands and Clinch Mountain WMA: 
antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. Only deer with 
antlers above the hairline may be taken. 

Virginia Beach (City of): the second and third Saturdays 
and the last 13 days.  
Warren County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the last day antlered bucks only—
no either-sex days. Only deer with antlers above the 
hairline may be taken.  

Washington County: the second Saturday and the last six 
days.  

-National forest lands, Clinch Mountain WMA, Hidden 
Valley WMA, and the Channels State Forest: antlered 
bucks only—no either-sex days. Only deer with antlers 
above the hairline may be taken. 

Westmoreland County: full season the second and third 
Saturdays and the last [ 29 13 ] days. 
Wise County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. 
Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be taken.  
Wythe County: full season. 

-National forest lands and Big Survey WMA: the second 
Saturday and the last day.  

York County: full season.  
B. Except as provided in the subsection A of this section, 

deer of either sex may be taken full season during the general 
firearms deer season within the incorporated limits of any city 
or town, state park, national wildlife refuge, or military 
installation that allows deer hunting.  
4VAC15-90-280. Sale of hides cervid parts and cervid 
mounts.  

It shall be lawful to sell hides and hooves from any legally 
taken deer. Provided that no extraneous muscle tissue is 
attached, it shall be lawful to purchase or sell the hair, hide, 
tail, sinew, skull, antlers, bones, and feet of a legally 
possessed cervid carcass or cervid carcass part, any products 
made from these deer parts, and cervid mounts. 
4VAC15-90-291. Enclosed or fenced areas that prevent or 
impede the free egress of deer.  

A. Pursuant to § 29.1-525.1 A and B of the Code of 
Virginia, an enclosed or fenced area having any of the 
following attributes shall be deemed to prevent or impede the 
free egress of deer:  

1. A fence greater than 61 inches high anywhere along its 
entire length;  
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2. A fence greater than 61 inches high that incorporates 
any topographic or other physical barrier that prevents or 
impedes the free egress of deer; or 
3. A fence or other barrier 61 inches or less in height 
having any attribute that prevents or impedes the free 
egress of deer, including but not limited to being slanted, 
doubled, offset, or electrified; or. 
4. A fence or other barrier, having any of the attributes 
described in subdivision 1, 2, or 3 of this section that does 
not have a permanent gap of at least 40 linear feet per 
every 660 linear feet (1/8 mile) along the fence or barrier, 
including an additional permanent gap of at least 40 linear 
feet at every inside angle in the fence or barrier of less than 
120 degrees. For the purposes of this section, a gap is 
defined as an interruption in the fence or barrier devoid of 
any impediment.  

B. This subsection section shall not apply to enclosures and 
lands exempted under § 29.1-525.1 C and D of the Code of 
Virginia.  

C. The director or his designee may grant exceptions for an 
enclosed or fenced area having any of the above attributes 
where necessary for bona fide agricultural livestock 
operations.  
4VAC15-90-294. Rehabilitation of cervids.  

A. For the purposes of this section: 
"Juvenile" means any cervid less than one year of age on 

December 31 of the current calendar year. 
"Adult" means any cervid greater than one year of age on 

December 31 of the current calendar year. 
B. No person permitted by the department to rehabilitate 

cervids may transport, possess, rehabilitate, or release adult 
cervids. Rehabilitators permitted by the department may 
transport and temporarily possess adult cervids solely for the 
purpose of immediate humane dispatch but must notify the 
department immediately after the deer has been dispatched. 

C. Juvenile cervids requiring continued rehabilitation 
beyond December 31 of the current calendar year shall not be 
transported, possessed, released, or rehabilitated without 
written authorization from the department.  

D. Cervids that originate within an area designated by the 
department for disease management shall not be transported 
or possessed for the purposes of rehabilitation. If such a 
cervid is brought to a rehabilitator permitted by the 
department, the permittee shall hold the cervid in isolation 
and immediately notify the department.  

E. Cervids from any county (including the cities and towns 
therein) containing an area designated by the department for 
cervid disease management may be rehabilitated and released 
in the county of origin only if the cervid originated from a 
portion of the county outside the disease management area. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5071; Filed June 21, 2017, 1:49 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 
Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 
Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 
Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 
management of wildlife.  
Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-190. Game: Quail (amending 
4VAC15-190-10).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Effective Date: August 1, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 
Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-
8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendment closes the quail hunting season on all 
public lands west of the Blue Ridge Mountains. 

4VAC15-190-10. Open season; generally.  
A. Except as otherwise specifically provided by the sections 

appearing in subsection B of this chapter section, it shall be 
lawful to hunt quail from the Saturday prior to the second 
Monday in November through January 31, both dates 
inclusive.  

B. It shall be unlawful to hunt quail on all public lands west 
of the Blue Ridge Mountains. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5072; Filed June 21, 2017, 11:09 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 
Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 
Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 
Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 
management of wildlife.  
Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-240. Game: Turkey 
(amending 4VAC15-240-50, 4VAC15-240-60).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 
Virginia.  
Effective Date: August 1, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 
Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-
8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) provide fall and spring turkey hunting 
seasons in the Cities of Newport News and Hampton; (ii) 
close the Cities of Norfolk and Portsmouth to turkey 
hunting; (iii) close the archery turkey hunting season 
concurrent with the close of the first part of the fall turkey 
season, in which firearms and muzzleloader weapons are 
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legal weapons; and (iv) allow slingbows to be used during 
the archery turkey hunting season. 

4VAC15-240-50. Continuous closed season in certain 
counties, cities and areas. 

There shall be continuous closed turkey season, except 
where a special spring season for bearded turkeys is provided 
for in 4VAC15-240-40, in the county of Arlington County; 
and in the cities Cities of Chesapeake, Hampton, Newport 
News Norfolk, Portsmouth, and Virginia Beach. 
4VAC15-240-60. Archery hunting.  

A. Season. It shall be lawful to hunt turkey with archery 
equipment or a slingbow in those counties and areas open to 
fall turkey hunting from the first Saturday in October through 
the Saturday prior to the second Monday in November Friday 
that is 13 days after the Saturday before the last Monday in 
October, both dates inclusive.  

B. Bag limit. The daily and seasonal bag limit for hunting 
turkey with archery equipment or a slingbow shall be the 
same as permitted during the general turkey season in those 
counties and areas open to fall turkey hunting, and any turkey 
taken shall apply toward the total season bag limit.  

C. Carrying firearms prohibited. It shall be unlawful to carry 
firearms while hunting with archery equipment or a slingbow 
during the special archery season.  

D. Use of dogs prohibited during archery season. It shall be 
unlawful to use dogs when hunting with archery equipment 
from the first Saturday in October through the Saturday prior 
to the second Monday in November, both dates inclusive.  
4VAC15-240-70. Bag limit.  

The bag limit for hunting turkeys shall be one a day [ in the 
fall, two per day during the spring ], three a license year, no 
more than two of which may be taken in the fall.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5073; Filed June 21, 2017, 11:26 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 
Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 
Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 
Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 
management of wildlife.  
Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-260. Game: Waterfowl and 
Waterfowl Blinds (amending 4VAC15-260-160; adding  
4VAC15-260-35, 4VAC15-260-115, repealing 4VAC15-
260-40).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-351, and 29.1-501 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: August 1, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 
Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-
8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 
The amendments (i) clarify that all hunting, including 
hunting from a float blind, hunting while standing on the 
bottom of public waters, or any other type of hunting, is 
prohibited within 500 yards of any licensed stationary 
blind or floating blind stake; (ii) prohibit activities on the 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries Kittewan Creek 
refuge property that are not consistent with the property's 
function as a refuge for waterfowl; and (iii) allow the 
department to designate float blind hunting areas in the 
Great Hunting Creek and Dyke Marsh areas using global 
positioning system coordinates. 

[ 4VAC15-260-15. Reflective markers on stationary 
blinds. 

Stationary blinds located in the public waters must be 
marked with a stake or PVC pipe with at least 100 square 
inches of white or amber reflecting material visibly from 360 
degrees and at least three feet above the high water mark. The 
requirement for reflective material on stationary blinds is not 
in effect while the stationary blind is occupied by a licensed 
hunter during legal shooting hours. In addition, any 
abandoned or partial blind structures must be similarly 
marked until such time as they are removed from the public 
waters. ] 
4VAC15-260-35. Distance from a licensed stationary blind 
and off-shore blind stake. 

No person shall hunt migratory waterfowl in the public 
waters of this Commonwealth within 500 yards of any legally 
licensed erected stationary blind or legally licensed offshore 
blind stake site of another without possessing the written 
consent of the licensee that is immediately available upon 
request by any law-enforcement officer, except when in 
active pursuit of a visible crippled waterfowl that was legally 
shot by the person.  
4VAC15-260-40. Distance between floating blind and 
stationary blind. (Repealed.)  

It shall be unlawful to tie out or anchor a mat blind, or other 
floating blind, within 500 yards of a stationary shore or 
stationary water blind on which license has been paid for the 
season, except by the consent of the owner of such stationary 
shore blind or water blind, whether the same be occupied for 
shooting or not.  
[ 4VAC15-260-45. Float blind hunting areas established. 

No licenses shall be issued for non-riparian stationary 
waterfowl blinds or offshore blind stake sites in the public 
waters in front of specified public, municipal, state, or federal 
properties in Virginia. Waterfowl hunting in public waters in 
front of these lands shall be by licensed floating blind only 
and shall occur only in designated waters and at designated 
times and locations as prescribed by the riparian landowner 
and approved by the Virginia Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries. This section applies to areas where the managing 
agency has requested such in writing to the department by 
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April 1 of any given year. These privileges will remain in 
effect until the managing agency requests termination in 
writing to the department by April 1 of any given year. This 
section shall not alter in any respect the privileges for 
landowners and their lessees and permittees prescribed in 
§§ 29.1-344 and 29.1-347 of the Code of Virginia. ]  
4VAC15-260-115. Disturbing waterfowl on Kittewan 
Creek refuge in Charles City County. 

It shall be unlawful to hunt on [ the waters of ] Kittewan 
Creek [ Refuge ] in Charles City County west (upstream) of 
the posted refuge boundary markers (latitude-longitude 
coordinates 37.29831 - 77.05134) located approximately one 
mile upstream from [ its mouth at ] the James River. In 
addition, camping and other recreational activities that are not 
consistent with the property's function as a refuge for 
waterfowl are not permitted.  
4VAC15-260-116. [ FINAL ACTION DEFERRED. ] 
EDITOR'S NOTE: The Board of Game and Inland Fisheries 
deferred action on 4VAC15-260-116 for later consideration; 
therefore, this section will not become effective on August 1, 
2017. The proposed text of this section may be viewed in 
33:17 VA.R. 1966-1967 April 17, 2017. 
4VAC15-260-160. Great Hunting Creek and Dyke Marsh; 
floating blind area.  

No license shall be issued for stationary waterfowl blinds on the 
Potomac River in Fairfax County adjacent to National Park 
Service Lands lands in the Great Hunting Creek and Dyke Marsh 
areas. Waterfowl hunting in Commonwealth waters adjacent to 
the above mentioned lands shall be by licensed floating blind 
only. Such floating blinds (i) must be attached securely to a post 
or buoy affixed to the river bottom by the department, or 
anchored at global positioning system (GPS) locations 
designated by the department and (ii) are limited to one floating 
blind per post at any time. Hunters in licensed floating blinds 
may hunt from designated locations during legal shooting hours 
on Thanksgiving Day and on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays 
during the open seasons for hunting waterfowl in Virginia. Blind 
sites shall be occupied on a daily first-come basis, such sites to 
be occupied no earlier than 4 a.m. or later than one-half hour 
after sunset. All such blinds shall be removed each day.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5074; Filed June 21, 2017, 10:50 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 
Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 
Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 
Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 
management of wildlife.  
Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-270. Game: Firearms (adding 
4VAC15-270-96).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 
Virginia.  
Effective Date: August 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 
Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-
8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) set the minimum caliber for pneumatic 
rifles used for hunting deer at .35 and (ii) prohibit the use 
of pneumatic rifles for hunting bear or elk. 

4VAC15-270-96. Pneumatic rifles permitted for hunting 
deer; prohibited for hunting bear and elk. 

Pneumatic (air or gas) rifles must be .35 caliber or larger for 
the hunting or killing of deer. Pneumatic rifles are prohibited 
for the hunting or killing of bear and elk. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5075; Filed June 21, 2017, 11:34 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 
Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 
Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 
Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 
management of wildlife.  
Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-290. Game: Permits 
(amending 4VAC15-290-140).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Effective Date: August 1, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 
Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, 
or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments require all hunters of migratory game 
birds, including those who are exempt from being licensed, 
to possess Harvest Information Program (HIP) 
authorization. 

4VAC15-290-140. Possession and display of a harvest 
information program registration number authorization 
to hunt migratory game birds.  

Every person required to obtain a harvest information 
program registration number to hunt, whether licensed or 
exempt from being licensed, (i) must be registered with the 
Virginia Harvest Information Program (HIP) to hunt 
migratory game birds, including waterfowl, doves, woodcock, 
snipe, rails, gallinules, moorhens, and coots; (ii) must carry 
the registration number HIP authorization on his person when 
hunting; and (iii) shall present it immediately upon demand of 
any officer whose duty it is to enforce the game and inland 
fish laws. The penalty for violation of this section is 
prescribed by § 29.1-505 of the Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5076; Filed June 21, 2017, 11:46 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/toc.aspx?voliss=33:17
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TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Forms 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 
following regulation have been filed by the Department of 
Environmental Quality. The forms are not being published; 
however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 
Regulations may click on the name of a form to access it. The 
forms are also available from the agency contact or may be 
viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 
Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  
Titles of Regulations: 9VAC25-210. Virginia Water 
Protection Permit Program Regulation. 
9VAC25-660. Virginia Water Protection General Permit 
for Impacts Less Than One-Half Acre. 
9VAC25-670. Virginia Water Protection General Permit 
for Facilities and Activities of Utility and Public Service 
Companies Regulated by the Federal Energy Regulatory 
Commission or the State Corporation Commission and 
Other Utility Line Activities. 
9VAC25-680. Virginia Water Protection General Permit 
for Linear Transportation Projects.  
9VAC25-690. Virginia Water Protection General Permit 
for Impacts from Development and Certain Mining 
Activities. 
Agency Contact: Debra Harris, Policy and Planning 
Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East 
Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-
4209, or email debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov. 
FORMS (9VAC25-210)  

Department of Environmental Quality Water Division 
Permit Application Fee Form (rev. 10/2014)  

Standard Joint Permit Application for Activities in Waters 
and Wetlands of the Commonwealth of Virginia (rev. 3/2014) 

Standard Joint Permit Application for Activities in Waters 
and Wetlands of the Commonwealth of Virginia (rev. 5/2017) 

Virginia Department of Transportation, Inter-Agency 
Coordination Meeting Joint Permit Application (eff. 6/2008) 

Tidewater Joint Permit Application for Projects Involving 
Tidal Waters, Tidal Wetlands and/or Dunes and Beaches in 
Virginia (rev. 3/2014) 

Tidewater Joint Permit Application for Projects Involving 
Tidal Waters, Tidal Wetlands and/or Dunes and Beaches in 
Virginia (rev. 5/2017) 

Monthly Reporting of Impacts Less than or Equal to One-
Tenth Acre Statewide (eff. 8/2007) 
FORMS (9VAC25-660)  

Department of Environmental Quality Water Division 
Permit Application Fee Form (rev. 10/2014)  

Standard Joint Permit Application for Activities in Waters 
and Wetlands of the Commonwealth of Virginia (rev. 3/2014) 

Standard Joint Permit Application for Activities in Waters 
and Wetlands of the Commonwealth of Virginia (rev. 5/2017) 

Virginia Department of Transportation, Inter-Agency 
Coordination Meeting Joint Permit Application (eff. 6/2008) 

Monthly Reporting of Impacts Less than or Equal to One-
Tenth Acre Statewide (eff. 8/2007)  
FORMS (9VAC25-670)  

Department of Environmental Quality Water Division 
Permit Application Fee Form (rev. 10/2014)  

Standard Joint Permit Application for Activities in Waters 
and Wetlands of the Commonwealth of Virginia (rev. 3/2014) 

Standard Joint Permit Application for Activities in Waters 
and Wetlands of the Commonwealth of Virginia (rev. 5/2017) 

Virginia Department of Transportation, Inter-Agency 
Coordination Meeting Joint Permit Application (eff. 6/2008) 

Monthly Reporting of Impacts Less than or Equal to One-
Tenth Acre Statewide (eff. 8/2007) 
FORMS (9VAC25-680)  

Department of Environmental Quality Water Division 
Permit Application Fee Form (rev. 10/2014)  

Standard Joint Permit Application for Activities in Waters 
and Wetlands of the Commonwealth of Virginia (eff. 3/2014) 

Standard Joint Permit Application for Activities in Waters 
and Wetlands of the Commonwealth of Virginia (rev. 5/2017) 

Virginia Department of Transportation, Inter-Agency 
Coordination Meeting Joint Permit Application (eff. 6/2008) 

Monthly Reporting of Impacts Less than or Equal to One-
Tenth Acre Statewide (eff. 8/2007)  
FORMS (9VAC25-690)  

Department of Environmental Quality Water Division 
Permit Application Fee Form (rev. 10/2014) 

Department of Environmental Quality Water Division 
Permit Application Fee Form (rev. 10/2014)  

Standard Joint Permit Application for Activities in Waters 
and Wetlands of the Commonwealth of Virginia (rev. 3/2014) 

Standard Joint Permit Application for Activities in Waters 
and Wetlands of the Commonwealth of Virginia (rev. 5/2017) 

Virginia Department of Transportation, Inter-Agency 
Coordination Meeting Joint Permit Application (eff. 6/2008) 

Monthly Reporting of Impacts Less than or Equal to One-
Tenth Acre Statewide (eff. 8/2007) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5170; Filed June 13, 2017, 8:55 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

mailto:debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3f9d8004208~10&typ=40&actno=004208&mime=application/pdf
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TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Withdrawal 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-40. Eligibility Conditions 
and Requirements (amending 12VAC30-40-10).  
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 
The Department of Medical Assistance Services has 
withdrawn subdivision 3 b (1) of 12VAC30-40-10 from the 
regulatory action pertaining to the modified adjusted gross 
income methodology as published in 34:21 VA.R. 2376 June 
12, 2017. This subdivision will be designated as "Reserved" 
in the Virginia Administrative Code when this action 
becomes effective on July 27, 2017. 
Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4396; Filed June 9, 2017, 2:43 p.m.  

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards 
for Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care 
(amending 12VAC30-80-40).  
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 
Effective Dates: June 16, 2017, through December 15, 2018. 
Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 
Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia states that 
agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 
which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or 
federal law or federal regulation requires that a regulation 
be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, and the 
regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 
A 4 of the Code of Virginia.  
Item 306 OO of Chapter 780 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly 
(the 2016 Appropriation Act) directed the Department of 
Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) to implement a 
pricing methodology to modify or replace the current 
pricing methodology for pharmaceutical products as 
defined in 12VAC30-80-40. The amendments conform the 
regulation to these requirements and to the federal drug 
pricing regulation, which was published at 81 FR 5170, 
requiring states to pay pharmacies based on the drug's 

ingredient cost, defined as the actual acquisition cost plus 
a professional dispensing fee.  

12VAC30-80-40. Fee-for-service providers: pharmacy. 
Payment for pharmacy services (excluding outpatient 

hospital) shall be the lowest of subdivisions 1 through 5 of 
this section (except that subdivisions 1 and 2 of this section 
will not apply when prescriptions are certified as brand 
necessary by the prescribing physician in accordance with the 
procedures set forth in 42 CFR 447.512(c) if the brand cost is 
greater than the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS) upper limit of VMAC cost) subject to the conditions, 
where applicable, set forth in subdivisions 6 and 7 of this 
section:  

1. The upper limit established by the CMS for multiple 
source drugs pursuant to 42 CFR 447.512 and 447.514, as 
determined by the CMS Upper Limit List plus a dispensing 
fee. If the agency provides payment for any drugs on the 
HCFA Upper Limit List, the payment shall be subject to 
the aggregate upper limit payment test.  
2. The methodology used to reimburse for generic drug 
products shall be the higher of either (i) the lowest 
Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) plus 10% or (ii) the 
second lowest WAC plus 6.0%. This methodology shall 
reimburse for products' costs based on a Maximum 
Allowable Cost (VMAC) list to be established by the 
single state agency.  

a. In developing the maximum allowable reimbursement 
rate for generic pharmaceuticals, the department or its 
designated contractor shall: 
(1) Identify three different suppliers, including 
manufacturers that are able to supply pharmaceutical 
products in sufficient quantities. The drugs considered 
must be listed as therapeutically and pharmaceutically 
equivalent in the Food and Drug Administration's most 
recent version of the Approved Drug Products with 
Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book). 
Pharmaceutical products that are not available from three 
different suppliers, including manufacturers, shall not be 
subject to the VMAC list. 
(2) Identify that the use of a VMAC rate is lower than the 
Federal Upper Limit (FUL) for the drug. The FUL is a 
known, widely published price provided by CMS; and 
(3) Distribute the list of state VMAC rates to pharmacy 
providers in a timely manner prior to the implementation 
of VMAC rates and subsequent modifications. DMAS 
shall publish on its website, each month, the information 
used to set the Commonwealth's prospective VMAC 
rates, including, but not necessarily limited to: 
(a) The identity of applicable reference products used to 
set the VMAC rates; 
(b) The Generic Code Number (GCN) or National Drug 
Code (NDC), as may be appropriate, of reference 
products; 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=6414
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=6414
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2016-02-01/pdf/2016-01274.pdf
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(c) The difference by which the VMAC rate exceeds the 
appropriate WAC price; and 
(d) The identity and date of the published compendia 
used to determine reference products and set the VMAC 
rate. The difference by which the VMAC rate exceeds 
the appropriate WAC price shall be at least or equal to 
10% above the lowest-published wholesale acquisition 
cost for products widely available for purchase in the 
Commonwealth and shall be included in national pricing 
compendia. 
b. Development of a VMAC rate that does not have a 
FUL rate shall not result in the use of higher-cost 
innovator brand name or single source drugs in the 
Medicaid program. 
c. DMAS or its designated contractor shall: 
(1) Implement and maintain a procedure to add or 
eliminate products from the list, or modify VMAC rates, 
consistent with changes in the fluctuating marketplace. 
DMAS or its designated contractor will regularly review 
manufacturers' pricing and monitor drug availability in 
the marketplace to determine the inclusion or exclusion 
of drugs on the VMAC list; and 
(2) Provide a pricing dispute resolution procedure to 
allow a dispensing provider to contest a listed VMAC 
rate. DMAS or its designated contractor shall confirm 
receipt of pricing disputes within 24 hours, via telephone 
or facsimile, with the appropriate documentation of 
relevant information, for example, invoices. Disputes 
shall be resolved within three business days of 
confirmation. The pricing dispute resolution process will 
include DMAS' or the contractor's verification of 
accurate pricing to ensure consistency with marketplace 
pricing and drug availability. Providers will be 
reimbursed, as appropriate, based on findings. Providers 
shall be required to use this dispute resolution process 
prior to exercising any applicable appeal rights. 

3. The provider's usual and customary charge to the public, 
as identified by the claim charge. 
4. The Estimated Acquisition Cost (EAC), which shall be 
based on the published Average Wholesale Price (AWP) 
minus a percentage discount established by the General 
Assembly (as set forth in subdivision 7 of this section) or, 
in the absence thereof, by the following methodology set 
out in subdivisions a, b, and c of this subdivision. 

a. Percentage discount shall be determined by a statewide 
survey of providers' acquisition cost. 
b. The survey shall reflect statistical analysis of actual 
provider purchase invoices. 
c. The agency will conduct surveys at intervals deemed 
necessary by DMAS. 

5. Maximum allowable cost (MAC) methodology for 
specialty drugs. Payment for drug products designated by 
DMAS as specialty drugs shall be the lesser of 

subdivisions 1 through 4 of this section or the following 
method, whichever is least: 

a. The methodology used to reimburse for designated 
specialty drug products shall be the WAC price plus the 
WAC percentage. The WAC percentage is a constant 
percentage identified each year for all GCNs. 
b. Designated specialty drug products are certain 
products used to treat chronic, high-cost, or rare diseases; 
the drugs subject to this pricing methodology and their 
current reimbursement rates are listed on the DMAS 
website at the following internet address: 
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_pgs/pharm-
home.aspx. 
c. The MAC reimbursement methodology for specialty 
drugs shall be subject to the pricing review and dispute 
resolution procedures described in subdivisions 2 c (1) 
and 2 c (2) of this section. 

6. Payment for pharmacy services will be as described in 
subdivisions 1 through 5 of this section; however, payment 
for legend drugs will include the allowed cost of the drug 
plus only one dispensing fee per month for each specific 
drug. Exceptions to the monthly dispensing fees shall be 
allowed for drugs determined by the department to have 
unique dispensing requirements. The dispensing fee for 
brand name and generic drugs is $3.75. 
7. An EAC of AWP minus 13.1% shall become effective 
July 1, 2011. The dispensing fee for brand name and 
generic drugs of $3.75 shall remain in effect, creating a 
payment methodology based on the previous algorithm 
(least of subdivisions of this section) plus a dispensing fee 
where applicable. 

A. Payment for covered outpatient legend and non-legend 
drugs dispensed by a retail community pharmacy will include 
the drug ingredient cost plus a $10.65 professional dispensing 
fee. The drug ingredient cost reimbursement shall be the 
lowest of: 

1. The national average drug acquisition cost (NADAC) of 
the drug, the federal upper limit (FUL), or the provider's 
usual and customary (U&C) charge to the public, as 
identified by the claim charge; or 
2. When no NADAC is available, DMAS shall reimburse 
at the lowest of the wholesale acquisition cost plus 0%, the 
FUL, or the provider's U&C charge to the public, as 
identified by the claim charge. 

B. Payment for specialty drugs not dispensed by a retail 
community pharmacy but dispensed primarily through the 
mail will include the drug ingredient cost plus a $10.65 
professional dispensing fee. The drug ingredient cost 
reimbursement shall be the lowest of: 

1. The national average drug acquisition cost (NADAC) of 
the drug, the federal upper limit (FUL), or the provider's 
usual and customary (U&C) charge to the public, as 
identified by the claim charge; or 
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2. When no NADAC is available, DMAS shall reimburse 
at the lowest of the wholesale acquisition cost plus 0%; the 
FUL; or the provider's U&C charge to the public, as 
identified by the claim charge. 

C. Payment for drugs not dispensed by a retail community 
pharmacy (i.e., institutional or long-term care facility 
pharmacies) will include the drug ingredient cost plus a 
$10.65 professional dispensing fee. The drug ingredient cost 
reimbursement shall be the lowest of: 

1. The national average drug acquisition cost (NADAC) of 
the drug; the federal upper limit (FUL); or the provider's 
usual and customary (U&C) charge to the public, as 
identified by the claim charge; or 
2. When no NADAC is available, DMAS shall reimburse 
at the lowest of the wholesale acquisition cost plus 0%; the 
FUL; or the provider's U&C charge to the public, as 
identified by the claim charge. 

D. Payment for clotting factor from specialty pharmacies, 
hemophilia treatment centers and Centers of Excellence will 
include the drug ingredient cost plus a $10.65 professional 
dispensing fee. The drug ingredient cost reimbursement shall 
be the lowest of: 

1. The national average drug acquisition cost (NADAC) of 
the drug, or the provider's usual and customary (U&C) 
charge to the public, as identified by the claim charge; or 
2. When no NADAC is available, DMAS shall reimburse 
at the lowest of the wholesale acquisition cost plus 0%, or 
the provider's U&C charge to the public, as identified by 
the claim charge. 

E. Section 340B covered entities and federally qualified 
health centers (FQHCs) that fill Medicaid member 
prescriptions with drugs purchased at the prices authorized 
under § 340B of the Public Health Services Act will be 
reimbursed no more than the actual acquisition cost for the 
drug plus a $10.65 professional dispensing fee. Section 340B 
covered entities that fill Medicaid member prescriptions with 
drugs not purchased under § 340B of the Public Health 
Services Act will be reimbursed in accordance with 
subsection A of this section plus the $10.65 professional 
dispensing fee as described in subsection I of this section. 

F. Drugs acquired through the federal § 340B drug price 
program and dispensed by § 340B contract pharmacies are 
not covered. 

G. Facilities purchasing drugs through the federal supply 
schedule (FSS) or drug pricing program under 38 USC 
§ 1826, 42 USC § 256b, or 42 USC §1396-8, other than the 
§ 340B drug pricing program will be reimbursed no more 
than the actual acquisition cost for the drug plus a $10.65 
professional dispensing fee. 

H. Facilities purchasing drugs at nominal price (outside of 
§ 340B or FSS) will be reimbursed no more than the actual 
acquisition cost for the drug plus a $10.65 professional 
dispensing fee. Nominal price as defined in 42 CFR 447.502 

means that a price is less than 10% of the average 
manufacturer price (AMP) in the same quarter for which the 
AMP is computed. 

I. Payment for pharmacy services will be as described in 
subsections A through H of this section; however, shall 
include the allowed cost of the drug plus only one 
professional dispensing fee, as defined at 42 CFR 447.502, 
per member per month for each specific drug. Exceptions to 
the monthly dispensing fees shall be allowed for drugs 
determined by the department to have unique dispensing 
requirements. The professional dispensing fee for all covered 
outpatient drugs shall be $10.65. The professional dispensing 
fee shall be determined by a cost of dispensing survey 
conducted at least every five years. 

J. Physician administered drugs (PADs) submitted under the 
medical benefit will be reimbursed at 106% of the average 
sales price (ASP) as published by the Centers for Medicare 
and Medicaid Services (CMS). PADs without an ASP on the 
CMS reference file will be reimbursed at the provider's actual 
acquisition cost. Covered entities using drugs purchased at 
the prices authorized under § 340B of the Public Health 
Services Act for Medicaid members shall bill Medicaid their 
actual acquisition cost. 

K. Payment to Indian Health Service, tribal, and urban 
Indian pharmacies. DMAS does not have any Indian Health 
Service, tribal, or urban Indian pharmacies enrolled at this 
time. Payment for pharmacy services will be defined in a state 
plan amendment if such entity enrolls with DMAS. 

L. Investigational drugs are not a covered service under the 
DMAS pharmacy program. 

8. M. Home infusion therapy.  
a. 1. The following therapy categories shall have a 
pharmacy service day rate payment allowable: hydration 
therapy, chemotherapy, pain management therapy, drug 
therapy, and total parenteral nutrition (TPN). The service 
day rate payment for the pharmacy component shall apply 
to the basic components and services intrinsic to the 
therapy category. Submission of claims for the per diem 
rate shall be accomplished by use of the CMS 1500 claim 
form.  
b. 2. The cost of the active ingredient or ingredients for 
chemotherapy, pain management and drug therapies shall 
be submitted as a separate claim through the pharmacy 
program, using standard pharmacy format. Payment for 
this component shall be consistent with the current 
reimbursement for pharmacy services. Multiple 
applications of the same therapy shall be reimbursed one 
service day rate for the pharmacy services. Multiple 
applications of different therapies shall be reimbursed at 
100% of standard pharmacy reimbursement for each active 
ingredient.  

9. N. Supplemental rebate agreement. The Commonwealth 
complies with the requirements of § 1927 of the Social 
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Security Act and Subpart I (42 CFR 447.500 et seq.) of 
42 CFR Part 447 with regard to supplemental drug rebates. In 
addition, the following requirements are also met: 

a. 1. Supplemental drug rebates received by the state in 
excess of those required under the national drug rebate 
agreement will be shared with the federal government on 
the same percentage basis as applied under the national 
drug rebate agreement.  
b. 2. Prior authorization requirements found in 
§ 1927(d)(5) of the Social Security Act have been met.  
c. 3. Nonpreferred drugs are those that were reviewed by 
the Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee and not 
included on the preferred drug list (PDL). Nonpreferred 
drugs will be made available to Medicaid beneficiaries 
through prior authorization.  
d. 4. Payment of supplemental rebates may result in a 
product's inclusion on the PDL.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4546; Filed June 19, 2017, 8:32 a.m.  

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 
(adding 12VAC30-120-600 through 12VAC30-120-690).  
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 
Effective Dates: June 16, 2017, through December 15, 2018. 
Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 
Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia states that 
agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 
which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or 
federal law or federal regulation requires that a regulation 
be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, and the 
regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 
A 4 of the Code of Virginia.  
Subdivision 3 of Item 306 JJJ of Chapter 780 of the 2016 
Acts of Assembly (the 2016 Appropriation Act) directs the 
Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) to 
include all remaining Medicaid populations and services, 
including long-term care and home and community-based 
waiver services into cost-effective, managed, and 
coordinated delivery systems.  
Commonwealth Coordinated Care Plus (CCC Plus) is the 
new statewide Medicaid managed long-term services and 
supports program that will service approximately 214,000 
individuals with complex care needs through an integrated 
delivery system model across the full continuum of care. 
Care management is at the heart of the CCC Plus high-
touch, person-centered program design. CCC Plus focuses 
on improving quality, access, and efficiency.  

12VAC30-120-600. Definitions. 
The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Action" means, consistent with 42 CFR 438.400, an 
adverse benefit determination by the participating plan, 
subcontractor, service provider, or Virginia Department of 
Medical Assistance Services that constitutes a (i) denial or 
limited authorization of a service authorization request, 
including determinations based on the type or level of service, 
requirements for medical necessity, appropriateness, setting, 
or effectiveness of a covered benefit; (ii) reduction, 
suspension, or termination of a previously authorized service; 
(iii) failure to act on a service request; (iv) denial in whole or 
in part of a payment for a service; (v) failure by the 
participating plan to render a decision within the required 
timeframes; (vi) failure to provide services in a timely 
manner; (vii) denial of an enrollee's request to dispute a 
financial liability, including cost sharing, copayments, 
premiums, deductibles, coinsurance, and other enrollee 
financial liabilities or (viii) denial of an enrollee's request to 
exercise his right under 42 CFR 438.52(b)(2)(ii) to obtain 
services outside of the network. 

"Appellant" means an applicant for or recipient of Medicaid 
benefits who seeks to challenge an action taken by the 
participating plan, subcontractor, service provider, or DMAS 
regarding eligibility for services and payment determinations. 

"Carved-out services" means the subset of Medicaid covered 
services for which the plan shall not be fiscally responsible. 

"Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services" or "CMS" 
means the federal agency of the U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services that is responsible for the administration 
of Titles XVIII, XIX, and XXI of the Social Security Act. 

"Commonwealth Coordinated Care" or "CCC" means the 
program for the Virginia Medicare-Medicaid Financial 
Alignment Demonstration Model. 

"Commonwealth Coordinated Care Plus Program" or "CCC 
Plus" means the department's mandatory integrated care 
initiative for certain qualifying individuals, including dual 
eligible individuals and individuals receiving long-term 
services and supports (LTSS). The CCC Plus program 
includes individuals who receive services through nursing 
facility (NF) care or from four of the department's five home 
and community-based services (HCBS) § 1915(c) waivers 
(the Alzheimer's Assisted Living (AAL) Waiver individuals 
are not eligible for the CCC Plus program). 

"Covered services" means the set of required services 
offered by the participating plan.  

"Department of Medical Assistance Services," "department," 
or "DMAS" means the Virginia Department of Medical 
Assistance Services, the single state agency for the Medicaid 
program in Virginia that is responsible for implementation 
and oversight of CCC Plus. 
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"Disenrollment" means the process of changing enrollment 
from one participating plan to another participating plan or 
the process of being excluded from CCC Plus by the 
department as described in 12VAC30-120-610. 

"Division" or "Appeals Division" means the Appeals 
Division of the Department of Medical Assistance Services. 

"Dual eligible enrollees" means a Medicare enrollee who 
receives Medicare Parts A, B, and D benefits and also 
receives full Medicaid benefits. 

"Effective date" means the date on which a participating 
plan's coverage begins for an enrollee. 

"Enrollee" means an individual that has enrolled in a 
participating plan to receive services under this program. 

"Enrollee appeal" means an enrollee's request for review of 
an action. 

"Enrollment" means assignment of an individual to a health 
plan by the department in accordance with the terms of the 
contract with the participating plan. This does not include 
attaining eligibility for the Medicaid program. 

"Enrollment period" means the time that an enrollee is 
actually enrolled in a participating plan. 

"Expedited appeal" means the process by which the 
participating plan must respond to an appeal by an enrollee if 
a denial of care decision and the subsequent internal appeal 
by a participating plan may jeopardize life, health, or ability 
to attain, maintain, or regain maximum function. 

"External appeal" means an appeal, subsequent to the 
participating plan internal appeal or reconsideration decision, 
to the state fair hearing process or internal reconsideration 
process for adverse decisions. The department's external 
appeal decision shall be binding upon the participating plan 
or plans and not subject to further appeal by the participating 
plan or plans.  

"Fee-for-service" or "FFS" means the traditional health care 
payment system in which physicians and other providers 
receive a payment for each service they provide.  

"Final decision" means a written determination by a 
department hearing officer from an appeal of an informal 
evidentiary proceeding that is binding on the department, 
unless modified during or after the judicial process. 

"Handbook" means a document prepared by the MCO and 
provided to the enrollee that is consistent with the 
requirements of 42 CFR 438.10 and the CCC Plus contract, 
and includes information about all the services covered by 
that plan.  

"Hearing" means an informal evidentiary proceeding 
conducted by a department hearing officer during which an 
enrollee has the opportunity to present his concerns with or 
objections to the participating plan's internal appeal decision.  

"Hearing officer" means an impartial decision maker who 
conducts evidentiary hearings for enrollee appeals on behalf 
of the department. 

"Intermediate care facility for individuals with intellectual 
disabilities" or "ICF/IID" means a facility licensed by the 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services (DBHDS) in which care is provided to intellectually 
disabled individuals who are not in need of skilled nursing 
care, but who need more intensive training and supervision 
than would be available in a rooming home, boarding home, 
or group home. Such facilities must comply with Title XIX 
standards, provide health or rehabilitative services, and 
provide active treatment to enrollees toward the achievement 
of a more independent level of functioning. 

"Internal appeal" means an enrollee's initial request to an 
MCO for review of an action.  

"Long-term services and supports" or "LTSS" means a 
variety of services and supports that (i) help elderly enrollees 
and enrollees with disabilities who need assistance to perform 
activities of daily living and instrumental activities of daily 
living to improve the quality of their lives and (ii) are 
provided over an extended period, predominantly in homes 
and communities, but also in facility-based settings such as 
nursing facilities.  

"MCO" means a health plan selected to participate in 
Virginia's CCC Plus program. "MCO" means the same as 
"participating plan." 

"Medicaid" means the program of medical assistance 
benefits under Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

"Medically necessary" or "medical necessity" means at item 
or service provided for the diagnosis or treatment of an 
enrollee's condition consistent with standards of medical 
practice and in accordance with Virginia Medicaid policy 
(12VAC30-130-600 et seq.) and EPSDT criteria (for those 
younger than 21 years of age) in accordance with 42 CFR 441 
Subpart B (§§ 50 through 62) and federal regulations as 
defined in 42 CFR 438.210 and 42 CFR 440.230.  

"Medicare" means Title XVIII of the Social Security Act, 
the federal health insurance program for people age 65 years 
or older, people younger than 65 years of age who have 
certain disabilities, and people with end stage renal disease 
(ESRD) or amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). 

"Member" means the same as "enrollee." 
"Money Follows the Person" or "MFP" means a 

demonstration project administered by DMAS that is 
designed to create a system of long-term services and 
supports that better enable enrollees to transition from certain 
long-term care institutions into the community.  

"Network provider" means a doctor, hospital, or other health 
care provider that participates or contracts with a participating 
plan and, as a result, agrees to accept a mutually-agreed upon 
payment amount or fee schedule as payment in full for 
covered services that are rendered to eligible enrollees.  

"Nursing facility" means any skilled nursing facility, skilled 
care facility, intermediate care facility, nursing care facility, 
or nursing facility, whether freestanding or a portion of a 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 10, 2017 

2541 

freestanding medical care facility, that is certified for 
participation as a Medicare or Medicaid provider, or both, 
pursuant to Title XVIII and Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act, as amended, and § 32.1-137 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Participating plan" means the same as "MCO." 
"Plan of care" or "POC" means a plan, primarily directed by 

the enrollee and family members of the enrollee as 
appropriate with the assistance of the enrollee's 
interdisciplinary care team to meet the enrollee's medical, 
behavioral health, long-term care services and supports, and 
social needs. 

"Previously authorized" means, in relation to continuation of 
benefits, as described in 42 CFR 438.420, a prior approved 
course of treatment. 

"Primary care provider" or "PCP" means a practitioner who 
provides preventive and primary medical care and certifies 
service authorizations and referrals for medically necessary 
specialty services. PCPs may include pediatricians, family 
and general practitioners, internists, 
obstetrician/gynecologists, geriatricians, and specialists who 
perform primary care functions (such as surgeons) and clinics 
including local health departments, federally qualified health 
centers (FQHCs), and rural health clinics (RHCs).  

"Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly" or "PACE" 
means the program in which the PACE provider provides the 
entire spectrum of health services (preventive, primary, and 
acute) and long-term services and supports to its enrollees 
without limit as to duration or cost of services pursuant to 
12VAC30-50-320 et seq.  

"Provider appeal" means an appeal to the department filed 
by a Medicaid-enrolled or network service provider that has 
already provided a service to an enrollee and has received an 
adverse reconsideration decision regarding service 
authorization, payment, or audit result. 

"Reconsideration" means a provider's request to the MCO 
for review of an adverse action related to service 
authorization or payment. The MCO's reconsideration 
decision is a prerequisite to a provider's filing of an appeal to 
the DMAS Appeals Division. 

"Remand" means the return of a case by the department's 
hearing officer to the MCO for further review, evaluation, and 
action. 

"Representative" means an attorney or other individual who 
has been authorized to represent an enrollee pursuant to these 
regulations. 

"Reverse" means to overturn the MCO's internal appeal 
decision and to direct that the MCO fully approve the 
amount, duration, and scope of requested services.  

"Social Security Act" means the federal act, codified 
through Chapter 7 of Title 42 of the United States Code that 
established social insurance programs including Medicare and 
Medicaid.  

"State fair hearing" means the DMAS evidentiary hearing 
process as administered by the Appeals Division of DMAS.  

"Sustain" means to uphold the MCO's appeal decision. 
"Withdraw" means a written request from the enrollee or the 

enrollee's representative for the department to terminate the 
enrollee appeal.  
12VAC30-120-610. CCC Plus mandatory managed care 
enrollees; enrollment process. 

A. The following individuals shall be enrolled in CCC Plus 
per the CCC Plus § 1915(b) waiver: 

1. Dual eligible individuals with Medicare A or B coverage 
and full Medicaid coverage.  
2. Individuals enrolled in the Commonwealth Coordinated 
Care (CCC) program will transition to CCC Plus in 
January 2018, which is after the CCC program ends. 
3. Non-dual eligible individuals who receive long-term 
services and supports through an institution, the CCC Plus 
waiver (formerly known as the EDCD and Technology 
Assisted waivers), Building Independence waiver, 
Community Living waiver, and Family and Individual 
Supports waiver. 
Those enrolled in the Building Independence, Community 
Living, and Family and Individual Supports waivers will 
continue to receive their LTSS including LTSS related 
transportation services through Medicaid fee-for-service. 
4. Individuals enrolled in the Department's Medallion 
Health and Acute Care Program (HAP), except individuals 
in the Alzheimer's Assisted Living (AAL) Waiver; AAL is 
excluded from CCC Plus. 
5. All individuals classified as aged, blind, or disabled 
(ABD) without Medicare and not receiving LTSS. The 
majority of these individuals is currently enrolled in 
Medallion and will transition to CCC Plus effective 
January 1, 2018.  

B. The following individuals shall be excluded from 
enrollment in CCC Plus: 

1. Individuals enrolled in the Alzheimer's Assisted Living 
Waiver. 
2. Individuals enrolled in another DMAS managed care 
program (e.g., Medallion, FAMIS, and FAMIS MOMS). 
3. Individuals enrolled in a PACE program. 
4. Newborns whose mothers are CCC Plus enrollees on 
their date of birth. 
5. Individuals who are in limited coverage groups, such as:  

a. Dual eligible individuals without full Medicaid 
benefits, such as:  
(1) Qualified Medicare beneficiaries (QMBs);  
(2) Special low-income Medicare beneficiaries (SLMBs);  
(3) Qualified disabled working individuals (QDWIs); or  
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(4) Qualifying individuals (QIs) for whom Medicaid pays 
the Part B premium.  
b. Individuals enrolled in Plan First.  
c. Individuals enrolled in the Governor's Access Plan. 

6. Individuals enrolled in a Medicaid-approved hospice 
program at the time of enrollment. However, if an 
individual enters a hospice program while enrolled in CCC 
Plus, the member will remain enrolled in CCC Plus. 
7. Individuals who live on Tangier Island. 
8. Individuals younger than 21 years of age who are 
approved for DMAS psychiatric residential treatment 
center (RTC) Level C programs as defined in 12VAC30-
130-860. Any individual admitted to an RTC Level C 
program for behavioral health services will be temporarily 
excluded from CCC Plus until after they are discharged. 
RTC Level C services may be transitioned to the CCC Plus 
program in the future.  
9. Individuals with end stage renal disease (ESRD) at the 
time of enrollment into CCC Plus. However, an individual 
who develops ESRD while enrolled in CCC Plus will 
remain in CCC Plus. 
10. Individuals who are institutionalized in certain state 
and private ICF/IID and mental health facilities as 
specified in the CCC Plus contract. 
11. Individuals who are patients at nursing facilities 
operated by the Veterans Administration. 
12. Individuals participating in the CMS Independence at 
Home (IAH) demonstration. However, IAH individuals 
may enroll in CCC Plus if they choose to disenroll from 
IAH. 
13. Certain individuals in out-of-state placements as 
specified in the CCC Plus contract. 
14. Individuals placed on spenddown. However, 
spenddown individuals are included if they are residing in 
a nursing home. 
15. Individuals enrolled in the department's Money 
Follows the Person (MFP) Demonstration project. 
16. Incarcerated individuals. Individuals on house arrest 
are not considered incarcerated. 
17. Individuals who may have any insurance purchased 
through the Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) 
program. 

C. Enrollment in CCC Plus will be mandatory for eligible 
individuals. The department shall have sole authority and 
responsibility for the enrollment of individuals into the CCC 
Plus program and for excluding enrollees from CCC Plus.  

D. There shall be no retroactive enrollment for CCC Plus. 
E. The MCO shall notify the enrollee of his enrollment in 

the MCO's plan through a letter submitted simultaneously 
with the handbook. Upon disenrollment from the plan, the 

MCO shall notify the enrollee through a disenrollment notice 
that coverage in the MCO's plan will no longer be effective.  

F. The department reserves the right to revise the CCC Plus 
intelligent default assignment methodology (as described in 
subsection J of this section) as needed based upon DMAS 
sole discretion. 

G. Eligible individuals as defined in subsection A of this 
section shall be enrolled in a CCC Plus contracted health plan 
through a CCC Plus intelligent assignment methodology as 
defined by DMAS in the CCC Plus contract. 

1. The enrollee will be, at a minimum, notified of his 
assigned MCO, right to select another CCC Plus MCO 
operating in his locality, CCC Plus service begin date, and 
instructions for the individual, or his designee, to contact 
DMAS or its enrollment broker to either:  

a. Accept the assigned MCO; or 
b. Select a different CCC Plus MCO that is operating in 
his locality. 

2. If an individual does not contact DMAS or its 
enrollment broker to accept the assigned MCO or select a 
different CCC Plus MCO operating in his locality, the 
individual shall be enrolled into the assigned MCO. 
3. For the initial 90 calendar days following the effective 
date of CCC Plus enrollment, the enrollee will be permitted 
to disenroll from one MCO and enroll in another without 
cause. This 90-day timeframe applies only to the enrollee's 
initial start date of enrollment in CCC Plus; it does not 
reset or apply to any subsequent enrollment periods. After 
the initial 90-day period following the initial enrollment 
date, the enrollee may not disenroll without cause until the 
next annual open enrollment period. 
4. Open enrollment is a period of time when individuals 
are able to change from one MCO to another without 
cause.  

a. Open enrollment will occur at least once every 12 
months per 42 CFR 438.56(c)(2) and (f)(1). The open 
enrollment will occur during October through December 
with any changes to taking effect the following January 
1.  
b. Within 60 days prior to the open enrollment effective 
date, the department will inform enrollees of the 
opportunity to remain with the current plan or change to 
another plan without cause. Those individuals who do 
not choose a new MCO during the open enrollment 
period shall remain in their current MCO until their next 
open enrollment effective date. 

H. Individuals transferring from CCC and Medallion 3 
(other than HAP as described in subdivision A 4 of this 
section) will transition with a CCC Plus service begin date of 
January 1, 2018. However, DMAS retains the authority to 
change this date if deemed necessary by DMAS or CMS. 
Individuals impacted by a delay will be notified of their new 
CCC Plus service begin date. 
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I. DMAS shall utilize an intelligent default assignment 
process to assign eligible individuals, other than the ABD 
populations described in subdivision A 5 of this section, to a 
CCC Plus MCO contracted to operate in their locality. If none 
of the criteria used in the intelligent default assignment 
process applies to an individual, he will be randomly assigned 
to a CCC Plus MCO operating in his locality. The intelligent 
default assignment process will, at a minimum, take into 
account:  

1. The individuals previous Medicare and Medicaid MCO 
enrollment within the past two months if known at the time 
of assignment; and 
2. Which MCO their current providers are contracted with. 
This may include the nursing facility an individual is 
residing in at the time of assignment, adult day health care 
for CCC Plus Waiver enrolled members, and an 
individual's private duty nursing provider.  

J. Consistent with 42 CFR 438.56(d), DMAS must permit an 
enrollee to disenroll at any time for cause.  

1. An enrollee may disenroll from his current plan for the 
following reasons: 

a. The enrollee moves out of the MCO's service area; 
b. The MCO does not, because of moral or religious 
objections, cover the service the enrollee seeks; 
c. The enrollee needs related services (for example, a 
cesarean section and a tubal ligation) to be performed at 
the same time; not all related services are available 
within the provider network; and the enrollee's primary 
care provider or another provider determines that 
receiving the services separately would subject the 
individual to unnecessary risk; 
d. The enrollee would have to change their residential, 
institutional, or employment supports provider based on 
that provider's change in status from an in-network to an 
out-of-network provider with the MCO and, as a result, 
would experience a disruption in his residence or 
employment; and 
e. Other reasons as determined by DMAS, including poor 
quality of care, lack of access to services covered under 
this MCO, or lack of access to providers experienced in 
dealing with the enrollee's care needs.  

2. The enrollee's request to change from one plan to 
another outside of open enrollment, or for cause request, 
may be submitted orally or in writing to the department as 
provided for in 42 CFR 438.56(d)(1) and cite the reasons 
why he wishes to disenroll from one plan and enroll in 
another. The department will review the request in 
accordance with cause for disenrollment criteria defined in 
42 CFR 438.56(d)(2). The department will respond to "for 
cause" requests, in writing, within 15 business days of the 
department's receipt of the request. In accordance with 
42 CFR 438.56(e)(2), if the department fails to make a 
determination by the first day of the second month 

following the month in which the enrollee files the request, 
the disenrollment request shall be considered approved and 
effective on the date of approval. Enrollees who are 
dissatisfied with the department's determination of the 
enrollee's request to disenroll from one plan and enroll in 
another for cause shall have the right to appeal through the 
state fair hearing process at 12VAC30-110-10 et seq. 

K. CCC Plus eligible individuals who have been previously 
enrolled with a CCC Plus MCO and who regain eligibility for 
the CCC Plus program within 60 calendar days of the 
effective date of exclusion or disenrollment will be reassigned 
to the same MCO whenever possible and without going 
through the selection or assignment process.  
12VAC30-120-620. MCO responsibilities; sanctions. 

A. The MCO and any of its subcontractors shall abide by all 
CCC Plus Contract requirements, including: 

1. The MCO shall provide medically necessary covered 
services in accordance with the CCC Plus contract. 

a. Each MCO and its subcontractors shall have in place 
and follow written policies and procedures for processing 
requests for initial and continuing authorizations of 
service. Each MCO and its subcontractors shall ensure 
that any decision to deny a service authorization request 
or to authorize a service in an amount, duration, or scope 
that is less than requested be made by a health care 
professional who has appropriate clinical expertise in 
treating the member's condition or disease. Each MCO 
and its subcontractors shall have in effect mechanisms to 
ensure consistent application of review criteria for 
authorization decisions and shall consult with the 
requesting provider when appropriate. 
b. In accordance with § 1932(f) of the Social Security 
Act (42 USC § 1396a-2), the contractor shall pay all in-
network and out-of-network providers (including Native 
American health care providers) on a timely basis, 
consistent with the claims payment procedure described 
in 42 CFR 447.45 and 42 CFR 447.46 and § 1902(a)(37) 
of the Social Security Act, upon receipt of all clean 
claims, for covered services rendered to covered 
members who are enrolled with the contractor at the time 
the service was delivered. The MCO may deny claims in 
whole or in part for not meeting payment criteria 
established by the MCO. 
c. Utilization review and audit: MCOs may perform 
utilization reviews and audits on their network providers. 
As a result of such a review or audit, an overpayment 
may be determined.  

2. The MCO shall report data to DMAS per CCC Plus 
contract requirements, which includes data, claims reports, 
and quality studies performed by the MCO. 
3. The MCO shall maintain records, including written 
policies and procedures, as required by the CCC Plus 
contract. 
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4. The MCO shall furnish such required information to 
DMAS, the Attorney General of Virginia or his authorized 
representative, or the State Medicaid Fraud Control Unit 
upon request and in the form requested. 
5. The MCO shall meet standards specified in the CCC 
Plus contract for sufficiency of provider networks.  
6. The MCO shall conduct monthly checks to screen 
providers for exclusion.  
7. The MCO shall require its providers and subcontractors 
to fully comply with federal requirements for disclosure of 
ownership and control, business transactions, and 
information for persons convicted of crimes against federal 
related health care programs, including Medicare, 
Medicaid, and CHIP programs, as described in 42 CFR 
455 Subpart B. 
8. In accordance with 42 CFR 447.50 through 42 CFR 
447.60, the MCO shall not impose any cost sharing 
obligations on members except as set forth in 12VAC30-
20-150 and 12VAC30-20-160 and as described in the CCC 
Plus contract. 

B. Sanctions shall be the same as those set forth in the CCC 
Plus contract. 

C. As provided in 42 CFR 438.210(a)(5(i), the MCO's 
medical necessity criteria shall not be more restrictive than 
the department's criteria.  

D. The MCO's coverage rules for contract covered services 
shall also ensure compliance with federal EPSDT coverage 
requirements for enrollees younger than 21 years of age. 

E. The MCO shall provide services at least in equal amount, 
duration, and scope as available under the Medicaid fee-for-
service program and as described in Attachment 5 of the CCC 
Plus contract.  
12VAC30-120-630. Covered services. 

A. The MCO shall, at a minimum, provide all medically 
necessary Medicaid covered services required under the state 
plan (12VAC30-50-10 through 12VAC30-50-310, 
12VAC30-50-410 through 12VAC30-50-430, and 12VAC30-
50-470 through 12VAC30-50-580) and Elderly and Disabled 
with Consumer Direction waiver regulations (12VAC30-120-
924 and 12VAC30-120-927) and the Technology Assisted 
waiver regulations (12VAC30-120-1720). 

B. The following services are not covered by the MCO and 
shall be provided outside the MCO network: 

1. Dental services (12VAC30-50-190); 
2. School health services (12VAC30-50-130); 
3. Community mental health services (12VAC30-50-130 
and 12VAC30-50-226). Effective January 1, 2018, these 
services shall be covered by the MCO. 
4. Preadmission screening (12VAC30-60-303);  
5. Individual and Developmental Disability Support waiver 
services (12VAC 30-120-700 et seq.);  

6. Intellectual Disability Waiver (12VAC30-120-1000 et 
seq.);  
7. Day Support Waiver (12VAC30-120-1500 et seq.) 

C. The Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly, or 
PACE, is not available to CCC Plus members.  
12VAC30-120-635. Payment rates for MCOs. 

The payment rate to MCOs shall be set by negotiated 
contracts and in accordance with 42 CFR 438.6 Subpart A.  
12VAC30-120-640. State fair hearing process. 

A. Notwithstanding the provisions of 12VAC30-110-10 
through 12VAC30-110-370, the following regulations govern 
state fair hearings for individuals enrolled in CCC Plus. 

B. The Appeals Division maintains an appeals and fair 
hearings system for enrollees (also referred to as appellants) 
to challenge appeal decisions rendered by the MCO in 
response to enrollee appeals of actions related to Medicaid 
services. Exhaustion of the MCO's appeals process is a 
prerequisite to requesting a state fair hearing with the 
department. Appellants who meet the criteria for a state fair 
hearing shall be entitled to a hearing before a department 
hearing officer.  

C. The MCO shall conduct an internal appeal hearing, 
pursuant to 42 CFR Part 431 Subpart E and 42 CFR Part 438 
Subpart F, and issue a written decision that includes its 
findings and information regarding the appellant's right to file 
an appeal with DMAS for a state fair hearing for Medicaid 
appeals.  

D. Enrollees must be notified in writing of the MCO's 
internal appeals process in accordance with 42 CFR 438.400 
et seq.: 

1. With the handbook; and 
2. Upon receipt of a notice of adverse benefit 
determination from the MCO. 

E. Enrollees must be notified in writing of their right to an 
external appeal to DMAS upon receipt of the MCO's final 
internal appeal decision. 

F. An appellant shall have the right to representation by an 
attorney or other individual of his choice at all stages of an 
appeal.  

1. For those appellants who wish to have a representative, a 
representative shall be designated in a written statement 
that is signed by the appellant whose Medicaid benefits 
were adversely affected. If the appellant is physically 
unable to sign a written statement and proof is submitted to 
that affect, the department or MCO shall allow a family 
member or other person acting on the appellant's behalf to 
be the representative. If the appellant is mentally unable to 
sign a written statement, the department or MCO shall 
require written documentation that a family member or 
other person has been appointed or designated as his legal 
representative.  
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2. If the representative is an attorney or a paralegal 
working under the supervision of an attorney, a signed 
statement by such attorney or paralegal that he is 
authorized to represent the appellant prepared on the 
attorney's letterhead shall be accepted as a designation of 
representation. 
3. An individual of the same law firm as a designated 
representative shall have the same rights as the designated 
representative. 
4. An appellant may revoke representation by another 
person at any time. The revocation is effective when the 
department receives written notice from the appellant. 

G. Any communication from an enrollee or his 
representative that clearly expresses that he wants to present 
his case to a reviewing authority shall constitute an appeal 
request.  

1. This communication should explain the basis for the 
appeal of the MCO's internal appeal decision. 
2. The enrollee or his representative may examine 
witnesses or documents, or both, provide testimony, 
submit evidence, and advance relevant arguments during 
the hearing. 

H. After the MCO's internal appeal process has been 
exhausted, appeals to the DMAS state fair hearing process 
shall be made to the DMAS Appeals Division via U.S. mail, 
fax transmission, telephone, email, in person, or through other 
commonly available electronic means. 

I. Expedited appeals referenced in subsection K of this 
section may be filed by telephone or any of the methods set 
forth in subsection H of this section. 

J. The enrollee has the right to have his benefits continued 
during the MCO's appeal or the state fair hearing. 

1. All of the following requirements must be met in order 
for benefits to be continued during the MCO and state fair 
hearing appeals: 

a. The appeal involves the termination, suspension, or 
reduction of a previously authorized course of treatment; 
b. The services were ordered by an authorized provider; 
c. The original period covered by the initial authorization 
has not expired; and 
d. The enrollee requests that the benefits be continued. 

2. For continuation of benefits for an internal appeal with 
the MCO, the enrollee or representative must file the 
appeal before the effective date of action or within 10 
calendar days of the mail date of the MCO's notice of 
action. 
3. For continuation of benefits for a state fair hearing, the 
enrollee, or representative must file the appeal within 10 
calendar days of the mail date of the MCO's final appeal 
decision. 

4. The MCO shall also continue benefits for enrollees who 
initiate a state fair hearing directly because of deemed 
exhaustion of appeals processes due to failure of the MCO 
to adhere to the notice and timing requirements in 42 CFR 
438.408. 
5. If the final resolution of the appeal or state fair hearing 
is adverse to the enrollee, that is, upholds the MCO's 
adverse benefit determination, the MCO may recover the 
costs of services furnished to the enrollee while the appeal 
and the state fair hearing was pending, to the extent they 
were furnished solely because of the pending appeal. 

K. The MCO and the department shall maintain an 
expedited process for appeals when an appellant's treating 
provider indicates (in making the request on the enrollee's 
behalf or supporting the enrollee's request) that taking the 
time for a standard resolution could seriously jeopardize the 
enrollee's life, physical or mental health, or ability to attain, 
maintain, or regain maximum function.  

1. Resolution of an expedited appeal shall be no longer 
than 72 hours after the MCO receives the appeal. 
2. Enrollees must exhaust the MCO's internal appeals 
processes prior to filing an expedited appeal request with 
the department with the exception of those enrollees with 
direct access to state fair hearings because of deemed 
exhaustion of appeals processes with the MCO. 
3. The MCO and the department may extend the 
timeframes for resolution of an expedited appeal by up to 
14 calendar days if the enrollee or the enrollee's 
representative requests the extension, or if the MCO or the 
department: 

a. Shows that there is a need for additional information 
and how the delay is in the enrollee's best interest; 
b. Requirements following extension. If the MCO 
extends the timeframes not at the request of the enrollee, 
it shall complete the following: 
(1) Promptly notify the enrollee of the reason for an 
extension, and provides the date the extension expires; 
and 
(2) Resolve the appeal as expeditiously as the enrollee's 
health condition requires and no later than the date the 
extension expires.  

12VAC30-120-650. Appeal timeframes. 
A. Appeals to the Medicaid state fair hearing process must 

be filed with the DMAS Appeals Division within 120 days of 
the date of the MCO's final internal appeal decision, unless 
the time period is extended by DMAS upon a finding of good 
cause in accordance with state fair hearing regulations. 

B. It is presumed that appellants will receive the MCO's 
final internal appeal decision five days after the MCO mails it 
unless the appellant shows that he did not receive the notice 
within the five-day period.  
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C. A request for a state fair hearing on the grounds that the 
MCO has not acted with reasonable promptness in response 
to an internal appeal request may be filed at any time until the 
MCO has acted. 

D. The date of filing shall be the date the request is 
postmarked, if mailed, or the date the request is received by 
the department, if delivered other than by mail.  

E. Documents postmarked on or before a time limit's 
expiration shall be accepted as timely.  

F. In computing any time period under these regulations, the 
day of the act or event from which the designated period of 
time begins to run shall be excluded and the last day included. 
If a time limit would expire on a Saturday, Sunday, or state or 
federal holiday, it shall be extended until the next regular 
business day. 

G. An extension of the 120-day period for filing a request 
for appeal may be granted for good cause shown. Examples 
of good cause include the following situations: 

1. Appellant was seriously ill and was prevented by illness 
from contacting DMAS;  
2. The MCO's final internal appeal decision was not sent to 
the appellant. The MCO may rebut this claim by evidence 
that the decision was mailed to the appellant's last known 
address or that the decision was received by the appellant. 
3. Appellant sent the request for appeal to another 
government agency or another division within DMAS that 
is not the Appeals Division in good faith within the time 
limit; or 
4. Unusual or unavoidable circumstances prevented a 
timely filing. 

H. DMAS shall take final administrative action within 90 
days from the date the enrollee filed an MCO appeal, not 
including the number of days the enrollee took to 
subsequently file for a state fair hearing. 

I. Exceptions to standard appeal resolution timeframes. 
Decisions may be issued beyond the standard appeal 
resolution timeframes when the appellant or his representative 
requests or causes a delay. Decisions may also be issued 
beyond the standard appeal resolution timeframe when any of 
the following circumstances exist: 

1. The appellant or representative requests to reschedule or 
continue the hearing; 
2. The appellant or representative provides good cause for 
failing to keep a scheduled hearing appointment, and the 
Appeals Division reschedules the hearing; 
3. Inclement weather, unanticipated system outage, or the 
department's closure that prevents the hearing officer's 
ability to work; 
4. Following a hearing, the hearing officer orders an 
independent medical assessment as described in 
12VAC30-120-670 H 1;  

5. The hearing officer leaves the hearing record open after 
the hearing in order to receive additional evidence or 
argument from the appellant; 
6. The hearing officer receives additional evidence from a 
person other than the appellant or his representative, and 
the appellant requests to comment on such evidence in 
writing or to have the hearing reconvened to respond to 
such evidence; or 
7. The Appeals Division determines that there is a need for 
additional information and documents how the delay is in 
the appellant's best interest. 

J. For delays requested or caused by an appellant or his 
representative the delay date for the decision will be 
calculated as follows: 

1. If an appellant or representative requests or causes a 
delay within 30 days of the request for a hearing, the 90-
day time limit will be extended by the number of days 
from the date when the first hearing was scheduled until 
the date to which the hearing is rescheduled. 
2. If an appellant or representative requests or causes a 
delay within 31 to 60 days of the request for a hearing, the 
90-day time limit will be extended by 1.5 times the number 
of days from the date when the first hearing was scheduled 
until the date to which the hearing is rescheduled. 
3. If an appellant or representative requests or causes a 
delay within 61 to 90 days of the request for a hearing, the 
90-day time limit will be extended by two times the 
number of days from the date when the first hearing was 
scheduled until the date to which the hearing is 
rescheduled. 

K. Post hearing delays requested or caused by an appellant 
or representative (e.g., requests for the record to be left open) 
will result in a day-for-day delay for the decision date. The 
department shall provide the appellant and representative with 
written notice of the reason for the decision delay and the 
delayed decision date, if applicable.  
12VAC30-120-660. Prehearing decisions. 

A. If the Appeals Division determines that any of the 
conditions as described in this subsection exist, a hearing will 
not be held and the appeal process shall be terminated.  

1. A request for appeal may be invalidated if: 
a. It was not filed within the time limit imposed by, or 
extended pursuant to 12VAC30-120-650, and the DMAS 
Appeals Division sends a letter to the appellant for an 
explanation as to why the appeal request was not filed 
timely; and 
(1) The appellant did not reply to the request within 10 
calendar days for an explanation of why good cause 
criteria were met for the untimely filing; or 
(2) The appellant replied within 10 calendar days of the 
request, and the DMAS Appeals Division had sufficient 
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facts to determine that the reply did not meet good cause 
criteria pursuant to 12VAC30-120-650. 
b. The individual who filed the appeal ("filer") is not the 
appellant or parent of a minor appellant, and the DMAS 
Appeals Division sends a letter to the filer requesting 
proof of his authority to appeal on behalf of the 
appellant; and 
(1) The filer did not reply to the request for authorization 
to represent the appellant within 10 calendar days; or 
(2) The filer replied within 10 calendar days of the 
request, and the DMAS Appeals Division determined 
that the authorization submitted was insufficient to allow 
the filer to represent the appellant under the provisions of 
12VAC30-120-640. 

2. A request for appeal may be administratively dismissed 
if: 

a. The MCO's internal appeals process was not exhausted 
prior to the enrollee's request for a state fair hearing; 
b. The issue of the appeal is not related to the MCO's 
final internal appeal decision; 
c. The action being appealed was not taken by the MCO; 
or 
d. The sole issue is a federal or state law requiring an 
automatic change adversely affecting some or all 
beneficiaries. 

3. An appeal case may be closed if:  
a. The Appeals Division schedules a hearing and sends a 
written schedule letter notifying the appellant or his 
representative of the date, time, and location of the 
hearing; the appellant or his representative failed to 
appear at the scheduled hearing; and the DMAS Appeals 
Division sends a letter to the appellant for an explanation 
as to why he failed to appear; and 
(1) The appellant did not reply to the request within 10 
calendar days for an explanation that met good cause 
criteria; or 
(2) The appellant replied within 10 calendar days of the 
request, and the DMAS Appeals Division determined 
that the reply did not meet good cause criteria. 
b. The Appeals Division sends a written schedule letter 
requesting that the appellant or his representative provide 
a telephone number at which he can be reached for a 
telephonic hearing, and the appellant or his representative 
failed to respond within 10 calendar days to the request 
for a telephone number at which he could be reached for 
a telephonic hearing. 
c. The appellant or his representative withdraws the 
appeal request. If the appeal request is withdrawn orally, 
the Appeals Division shall (i) record the individual's 
statement and telephonic signature and (ii) send the 
affected individual written confirmation, via regular mail 

or electronic notification, in accordance with the 
individual's election. 
d. The MCO approves the full amount, duration, and 
scope of services requested. 
e. The evidence in the record shows that the MCO's 
decision was clearly in error and that the case should be 
fully resolved in the appellant's favor. 

B. Remand to the MCO. If the hearing officer determines 
from the record, without conducting a hearing, that the case 
might be resolved in the appellant's favor if the MCO obtains 
and develops additional information, documentation, or 
verification, the hearing officer may remand the case to the 
MCO for action consistent with the hearing officer's written 
instructions pursuant to 12VAC30-110-210 D.  

C. A letter shall be sent to the appellant or his representative 
that explains the determination made on his appeal.  
12VAC30-120-670. Hearing process and final decision. 

A. All hearings must be scheduled at a reasonable time, 
date, and place, and the appellant and his representative shall 
be notified in writing prior to the hearing. 

1. The hearing location will be determined by the Appeals 
Division. 
2. A hearing shall be rescheduled at the appellant's request 
no more than twice unless compelling reasons exist. 
3. Rescheduling the hearing at the appellant's request will 
result in automatic waiver of the 90-day deadline for 
resolution of the appeal. The delay date for the decision 
will be calculated as set forth in 12VAC30-120-650 J. 

B. The hearing shall be conducted by a department hearing 
officer. The hearing officer shall review the complete record 
for all MCO decisions that are properly appealed; conduct 
informal, fact-gathering hearings; evaluate evidence 
presented; research the issues; and render a written final 
decision. 

C. Subject to the requirements of all applicable federal and 
state laws regarding privacy, confidentiality, disclosure, and 
personally identifiable information, the appeal record shall be 
made accessible to the appellant and representative at a 
convenient place and time before the date of the hearing, as 
well as during the hearing. The appellant and his 
representative may examine the content of the appellant's case 
file and all documents and records the department will rely on 
at the hearing except those records excluded by law.  

D. Appellants who require the attendance of witnesses or the 
production of records, memoranda, papers, and other 
documents at the hearing may request in writing the issuance 
of a subpoena. The request must be received by the 
department at least 10 working days before the scheduled 
hearing. Such request shall (i) include the witness's or 
respondent's name, home and work addresses, county or city 
of work and residence, and (ii) identify the sheriff's office that 
will serve the subpoena.  
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E. The hearing officer shall conduct the hearing; decide on 
questions of evidence, procedure, and law; question 
witnesses; and assure that the hearing remains relevant to the 
issue or issues being appealed. The hearing officer shall 
control the conduct of the hearing and decide who may 
participate in or observe the hearing.  

F. Hearings shall be conducted in an informal, 
nonadversarial manner. The appellant or his representative 
shall have the right to bring witnesses, establish all pertinent 
facts and circumstances; present an argument without undue 
interference, and question or refute the testimony or evidence, 
including the opportunity to confront and cross-examine 
agency representatives.  

G. The rules of evidence shall not strictly apply. All 
relevant, nonrepetitive evidence may be admitted, but the 
probative weight of the evidence will be evaluated by the 
hearing officer.  

H. The hearing officer may leave the hearing record open for 
a specified period of time after the hearing in order to receive 
additional evidence or argument from the appellant or his 
representative. 

1. The hearing officer may order an independent medical 
assessment when the appeal involves medical issues, such 
as a diagnosis, an examining physician's report, or a 
medical review team's decision, and the hearing officer 
determines that it is necessary to have an assessment by 
someone other than the person or team who made the 
original decision (e.g., to obtain more detailed medical 
findings about the impairments, to obtain technical or 
specialized medical information, or to resolve conflicts or 
differences in medical findings or assessments in the 
existing evidence). A medical assessment ordered pursuant 
to this regulation shall be at the department's expense and 
shall become part of the record. 
2. The hearing officer may receive evidence that was not 
presented by either party if the record indicates that such 
evidence exists, and the appellant or his representative 
requests to submit it or requests that the hearing officer 
secure it.  
3. If the hearing officer receives additional evidence from 
an entity other than the appellant or his representative, the 
hearing officer shall send a copy of such evidence to the 
appellant and his representative and give the appellant or 
his representative the opportunity to comment on such 
evidence in writing or to have the hearing reconvened to 
respond to such evidence. 
4. Any additional evidence received will become a part of 
the hearing record, but the hearing officer must determine 
whether or not it will be used in making the decision. 

I. After conducting the hearing, reviewing the record, and 
deciding questions of law, the hearing officer shall issue a 
written final decision that either sustains or reverses the 
MCO's action or remands the case to the MCO for further 

evaluation consistent with his written instructions. Some 
decisions may be a combination of these dispositions. The 
hearing officer's final decision shall be considered as the 
department's final administrative action pursuant to 42 CFR 
431.244(f). The final decision shall include:  

1. Identification of the issue or issues; 
2. Relevant facts, to include a description of the procedural 
development of the case;  
3. Conclusions of law, regulations, and policy that relate to 
the issue or issues;  
4. Discussions, analysis of the accuracy of the MCO's 
appeal decision, conclusions, and hearing officer's 
decision;  
5. Further action, if any, to be taken by the MCOs to 
implement the hearing officer's decision;  
6. The deadline date by which further action must be taken; 
and  
7. A cover letter informing the appellant and his 
representative of the hearing officer's decision. The letter 
must indicate that the hearing officer's decision is final, 
and that the final decision may be appealed directly to 
circuit court. 

J. A copy of the hearing record shall be forwarded to the 
appellant and his representative with the final decision. 

K. An appellant who disagrees with the hearing officer's 
final decision described in this section may seek judicial 
review pursuant to the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-
4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and Rules of the 
Supreme Court of Virginia, Part Two A. Written instructions 
for requesting judicial review must be provided to the 
appellant or his representative with the hearing officer's 
decision, and upon request by the appellant or representative.  
12VAC30-120-680. Appeals Division records. 

A. No person shall take from the department's custody any 
original record, paper, document, or exhibit that has been 
certified to the department's Appeals Division except as the 
Appeals Division Director or his designee authorizes, or as 
may be necessary to furnish or transmit copies for other 
official purposes.  

B. Information in the appellant's record can be released only 
to the appellant, his authorized representative, the MCO, 
other entities for official purposes, and other persons named 
in a release of information authorization signed by an 
appellant or his representative. 

C. The fees to be charged and collected for any copy of 
Appeals Division records will be in accordance with 
Virginia's Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of 
the Code of Virginia) or other controlling law. 

D. When copies are requested from records in the Appeals 
Division's custody, the required fee shall be waived if the 
copies are requested in connection with an enrollee's own 
appeal.  
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12VAC30-120-690. Provider appeals. 
A. The Appeals Division maintains an appeal process for 

network and Medicaid-enrolled providers of Medicaid 
services that have rendered services to enrollees and are 
requesting to challenge a MCO's reconsideration decision 
regarding service authorization or payment. The MCO's 
internal reconsideration process is a prerequisite to filing for 
an external appeal to the department's appeal process. The 
appeal process is available to network and Medicaid-enrolled 
providers that (i) have rendered services and have been 
denied payment in whole or part for Medicaid covered 
services; (ii) have rendered services and have been denied 
authorization for the services; and (iii) have received a notice 
of program reimbursement or overpayment demand from the 
department or its contractors. Providers that have had their 
enrollment in the MCO's network denied or terminated by the 
MCO do not have the right to an external appeal with the 
Appeals Division. 

B. Department provider appeals shall be conducted in 
accordance with the department's provider appeal regulations 
(12VAC30-20-500 et seq.), § 32.1-325 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia, and the Virginia Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-
4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

C. The department's external appeal decision shall be 
binding upon the MCO and not subject to further appeal by 
the MCO. 

D. If the provider is successful in its appeal of a 
reimbursement issue, then the MCO shall reimburse the 
provider for the appealed issue. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4974; Filed June 19, 2017, 7:48 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, 
and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services 
(adding 12VAC30-50-600). 
12VAC30-121. Medicare-Medicaid Demonstration 
Waiver (adding 12VAC30-121-10 through 12VAC30-121-
250).  
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
§§ 1932 and 1915(c) of the Social Security Act. 
Effective Date: August 9, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Matthew Behrens, Project Manager, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
625-3673, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
matthew.behrens@dmas.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

Item 307 RR of Chapter 806 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly, 
Item 301 TTT of Chapter 3 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly, 
Special Session I, and Item 301 TTT of Chapter 665 of the 
2015 Acts of Assembly direct the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services (DMAS) to implement a care 
coordination program for a Medicare-Medicaid dual 

eligible enrollee. Item 307 AAAA of Chapter 806 of the 
2013 Acts of Assembly, Item 301 HHH of Chapter 3 of the 
2014 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, and Item 301 
HHH of Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly direct 
DMAS to implement a process for administrative appeals 
of Medicaid/Medicare dual eligible recipients in 
accordance with the terms of the Memorandum of 
Understanding between DMAS and the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services for the Virginia 
Medicare-Medicaid Financial Alignment Demonstration 
Model. Item 307 RRRR of Chapter 806 of the 2013 Acts of 
Assembly provides for achieving cost savings and 
standardization of administrative and other processes for 
providers. The amendments conform to these requirements. 
The establishment of Commonwealth Coordinated Care as 
the mandated care coordination program allows DMAS to 
combine certain aspects of Medicaid managed care and 
long-term care and Medicare into one program. The 
purpose of this regulatory action is to provide integrated 
care to dual eligible individuals who are currently 
excluded from participating in managed care programs. 
This change will enable participants to access their 
primary and acute medical services, behavioral health 
services, and long-term care services through a single 
managed delivery system. The program offers dual eligible 
individuals care coordination, health risk assessments, 
interdisciplinary care teams, and plans of care.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Part IX 
Commonwealth Coordinated Care Program 

12VAC30-50-600. Section 1932 Medicare-Medicaid 
eligible individuals. 

A. Consistent with § 1932(a)(1)(A) of the Social Security 
Act (Act), the Commonwealth enrolls Medicaid enrollees on 
a voluntary basis into Medicare-Medicaid plans (MMPs) in 
the absence of § 1115 or § 1915(b) waiver authority.  

B. Consistent with § 1932(a)(1)(B) of the Act, the 
Commonwealth shall contract with MMPs. The payment 
method to the contracting entity shall be a capitation method. 

C. Enrollment is voluntary in the counties and cities 
designated by the following regions: (i) Central Virginia, (ii) 
Northern Virginia, (iii) Tidewater, (iv) 
Western/Charlottesville, and (v) Roanoke. 

D. The Commonwealth assures that all of the applicable 
requirements of § 1903(m) of the Act for MMPs and MMP 
contracts are met. 

E. The Commonwealth assures that all the applicable 
requirements of § 1932 of the Act for the state's option to 
limit freedom of choice by requiring enrollees to receive their 
benefits through managed care entities will be met. MMPs 
shall be required to pass readiness reviews prior to enrolling 
individuals. 
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F. The Commonwealth assures that all the applicable 
requirements of 42 CFR 431.51 regarding freedom of choice 
for family planning services and supplies as defined in 
§ 1905(a)(4)(C) of the Act will be met. 

G. The Commonwealth assures that all applicable managed 
care requirements of 42 CFR Part 438 for MMPs will be met. 
Enrollees shall be permitted to opt out at any time with or 
without cause from the program pursuant to 42 CFR 
438.56(c).  

H. The Commonwealth assures that all applicable 
requirements of 42 CFR 438.6(c) for payments under any risk 
contracts will be met.  

I. The Commonwealth assures that all applicable 
requirements of 45 CFR 92.36 for procurement of contracts 
will be met. 

J. Enrollment process. 
1. The Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS) shall use a preassignment algorithm, through its 
Medicaid Management Information System, and a 
contracted enrollment broker to facilitate the continuity of 
care for Medicaid individuals by providers that have 
traditionally served this population. 
2. DMAS shall not use a lock in (i.e., restricting a 
beneficiary's ability to move between health plans except 
during the designated annual open enrollment period) for 
managed care. 
3. Individuals shall have 60 days to choose a health plan 
before being automatically assigned. 
4. Eligible individuals will receive a notice that indicates to 
which MMP they have been assigned. The notice will have 
instructions for the individual to contact the DMAS 
contracted enrollment facilitator to: 

a. Accept the preassigned MMP; 
b. Select a different MMP that is operating in their 
region; or 
c. Opt out of the program altogether. 

5. If an individual does not select an MMP, he shall be 
passively enrolled into the preassigned MMP.  
6. Enrollees shall be assigned to an MMP based on six 
months of claims prior to preassignment using the rules in 
this subdivision in order of priority:  

a. Individuals in a nursing facility shall be preassigned to 
an MMP that includes the individual's nursing facility in 
its provider network. 
b. Individuals in the [ Elerly Elderly ] or Disabled with 
Consumer Direction Waiver shall be assigned to an 
MMP that includes the individual's current adult day 
health care provider in its provider network. 
c. If more than one MMP network includes the nursing 
facility or adult day health care provider used by an 
individual, the individual will be assigned to the MMP 

with which he has previously been assigned in the past 
six months. If he has no history of previous MMP 
assignment, he shall be randomly assigned to an MMP in 
which his provider participates. 
d. Individuals shall be preassigned to an MMP with 
whom they have previously been assigned within the past 
six months.  

K. The Commonwealth assures that it has an enrollment 
system that allows individuals who are already enrolled to be 
given priority to continue that enrollment if the MMP does 
not have capacity to accept all who are seeking enrollment 
under the program. 

L. The Commonwealth assures that, pursuant to the choice 
requirements in 42 CFR 438.52, Medicaid individuals who 
are enrolled in an MMP will have a choice of at least two 
entities unless the area is considered rural as defined in 42 
CFR 438.52(b)(3).  

M. The Commonwealth shall apply the automatic 
reenrollment provision in accordance with 42 CFR 438.56(g) 
if the individual is disenrolled solely because he loses 
Medicaid eligibility for a period of two months or less.  

N. The following services shall be excluded from coverage 
by the MMP in this program: 

1. Induced abortions; 
2. Targeted case management; and 
3. Dental services (see 12VAC30-121-70 for specific 
coverage). 

O. The Commonwealth shall intentionally limit the number 
of entities it contracts with under the option permitted by 
§ 1932 of the Act. The Commonwealth assures that such 
limits on the number of contracting entities shall not 
substantially impair enrollee access to services.  

P. DMAS has established an advisory committee that meets 
quarterly throughout the duration of the program to discuss 
topics such as program design, educational and outreach 
materials, and provider and beneficiary issues. 

CHAPTER 121 
COMMONWEALTH COORDINATED CARE PROGRAM 

12VAC30-121-10. Commonwealth Coordinated Care 
program authority. 

A. Medicare authority. The Medicare elements of the 
Commonwealth Coordinated Care (CCC) program shall 
operate according to existing Medicare Part C and Part D 
laws and regulations, as amended or modified, except to the 
extent these requirements are waived or modified as provided 
for in the memorandum of understanding (MOU) between the 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and the 
department. As a term and condition of the CCC program, 
participating plans will be required to comply with Medicare 
Advantage and Medicare Prescription Drug Program 
requirements in Part C and Part D of Title XVIII of the Social 
Security Act (the Act) and 42 CFR Parts 422 and 423, as 
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amended from time to time, except to the extent specified in 
the MOU for waivers and the three-way contract.  

B. Medicaid authority. The Medicaid elements of the CCC 
program shall operate according to existing Medicaid laws 
and regulations, including but not limited to all requirements 
of the § 1915(c) of the Act waivers for individuals enrolled in 
the Elderly or Disabled with Consumer Direction Waiver, as 
amended or modified, except to the extent waived as provided 
for in the MOU. As a term and condition of the CCC 
program, the Commonwealth and participating plans shall 
comply with Medicaid managed care requirements under (i) 
Title XIX of the Act, 42 CFR Part 438 and other applicable 
regulations, as amended or modified, except to the extent 
specified in the MOU; and (ii) the three-way contract. 

[ C. Sunset clause. Consistent with the MOU, the 
Commonwealth Coordinated Care regulations (12VAC30-
121) shall expire effective with the termination of the 
approved MOU. ] 
12VAC30-121-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Action" or "adverse decision" means, consistent with 
42 CFR 438.400, a decision by the participating plan, 
subcontractor, service provider, or Department of Medical 
Assistance Services that constitutes a denial or limited 
authorization of a service authorization request, including (i) 
type or level of service; (ii) reduction, suspension, or 
termination of a previously authorized service; (iii) failure to 
act on a service request; (iv) denial in whole or in part of a 
payment for a covered service; (v) failure by the participating 
plan to render a decision within the required timeframes; or 
(vi) denial of an enrollee's request to exercise his right under 
42 CFR 438.52(b)(2)(ii) to obtain services outside of the 
network. 

"Appellant" means an applicant for or recipient of Medicaid 
benefits who seeks to challenge an action taken by the 
participating plan regarding eligibility for services and 
payment determinations. 

"Capitation payment" means a payment the department 
makes periodically to a participating plan on behalf of each 
enrollee enrolled under a contract with that participating plan 
for the provision of services under the state plan and waivers, 
regardless of whether the enrollee receives services during the 
period covered by the payment.  

"Capitation rate" means the monthly amount payable to the 
participating plan per enrollee for the provision of contract 
services. The participating plan shall accept the established 
capitation rates paid each month by the department and CMS 
as payment in full for all Medicaid and Medicare services to 
be provided pursuant to the three-way contract and all 
associated administrative costs, pending final recoupment, 

reconciliation, sanctions, or payment of quality withhold 
amounts as detailed in the MOU and the three-way contract.  

"Care management" means the collaborative, person-
centered process that assists enrollees in gaining access to 
needed health care services and includes (i) assessing for and 
planning of health care services; (ii) linking the enrollee to 
services and supports identified in the plan of care; (iii) 
working with the enrollee directly for the purpose of locating, 
developing, or obtaining needed health care services and 
resources; (iv) coordinating health care services and service 
planning with other agencies, providers, and family members 
involved with the enrollee; (v) making collateral contacts to 
promote the implementation of the plan of care and 
community integration; (vi) monitoring to assess ongoing 
progress and ensuring services are delivered; and (vii) 
education and counseling that guides the enrollee and 
develops a supportive relationship that promotes the plan of 
care. 

"Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services" or "CMS" 
means the federal agency of the U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services that is responsible for the administration 
of Titles XVIII, XIX, and XXI of the Social Security Act. 

"Commonwealth Coordinated Care," "CCC," or "CCC 
program" means the program for the Virginia Medicare-
Medicaid Financial Alignment Demonstration Model. 

"Covered services" means the set of required services 
offered by the participating plan as set forth in the three-way 
contract.  

"Cultural competency" means understanding those values, 
beliefs, and needs that are associated with an enrollee's age, 
gender identity, sexual orientation, or racial, ethnic, or 
religious background. Cultural competency (i) includes a set 
of competencies that are required to ensure appropriate, 
culturally sensitive health care to persons with congenital or 
acquired disabilities and (ii) is based on the premise of 
respect for the enrollee and his existing cultural differences 
and on an implementation of a trust-promoting method of 
inquiry and assistance. 

"Demonstration" means the capitated model under the 
Medicare-Medicaid Financial Alignment Demonstration 
Model as authorized by the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services and as set out in the Patient Protection and 
Affordable Care Act of 2010 (P.L. 111-148) and authorized 
under § 1115A of the Social Security Act.  

"Department of Medical Assistance Services," "department," 
or "DMAS" means the Virginia Department of Medical 
Assistance Services, the single state agency for the Medicaid 
program in Virginia that is responsible for implementation 
and oversight of the demonstration. 

"Disenroll" or "disenrollment" means the process of 
changing enrollment from one participating plan to another 
participating plan or opting out of the demonstration 
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altogether but shall not include ending eligibility in the 
Medicare or Medicaid programs.  

"Division" or "Appeals Division" means the Appeals 
Division of the Department of Medical Assistance Services. 

"Effective date of enrollment" means the date on which a 
participating plan's coverage begins for an enrollee. 

"Elderly or Disabled with Consumer Direction Waiver" or 
"EDCD Waiver" means, as provided in Part IX (12VAC30-
120-900 et seq.) of Waivered Services (12VAC30-120), the 
CMS-approved waiver that covers a limited range of 
community support services offered to enrollees who are 
elderly or have a disability and meet Virginia nursing facility 
level of care criteria as set out in 12VAC30-60-300, 
12VAC30-60-303, and 12VAC30-60-307.  

"Enrollee appeal" means an enrollee's request for review of a 
participating plan's coverage or payment determination. In 
accordance with 42 CFR 438.400, a Medicaid-based appeal is 
defined as a request for review of an action, as defined in this 
section. An appeal is an enrollee's challenge to the actions 
regarding services, benefits, and reimbursement provided by 
the participating plan, its service providers, or the Department 
of Medical Assistance Services.  Enrollees or providers or 
other individuals acting on behalf of enrollees and with the 
enrollee's written consent may appeal adverse decisions to the 
participating plan and to DMAS (for Medicaid covered 
services) after the participating plan's internal appeals process 
is exhausted.  

"Enrollee communications" means the materials designed to 
communicate to enrollees the plan benefits, policies, 
processes, and enrollee rights. Enrollee communications 
includes pre-enrollment, post-enrollment, and operational 
materials. 

"Enrollment" means the completion of approved enrollment 
forms by or on behalf of an eligible person and assignment of 
an enrollee to a participating plan by DMAS in accordance 
with federal law. 

"Evidence of coverage" or "EOC" means a document 
prepared by the Medicare-Medicare plan and provided to the 
enrollee that is consistent with the requirements of 42 CFR 
438.10, 42 CFR 422.11, and 42 CFR 423.128 and includes 
information about all the services covered by that plan. 

"Expedited appeal" means the process by which DMAS 
must respond to an appeal by an enrollee if a denial of care 
decision and the subsequent internal appeal by a participating 
plan may jeopardize life, health, or the ability to attain, 
maintain, or regain maximum function. 

"External appeal" means an appeal, subsequent to the 
participating plan appeal decision, to the state fair hearing 
process for Medicaid-based adverse decisions or to the 
Medicare process for Medicare-based adverse decisions. The 
department's external appeal decision shall be binding upon 
the participating plan and not subject to further appeal by the 
participating plan.  

"Fee-for-service" or "FFS" means the traditional health care 
payment system in which physicians and other providers 
receive a payment for each service they provide.  

"Final decision" means a written determination by a hearing 
officer that is binding on DMAS, unless modified during or 
after the judicial process, and that may be appealed to the 
local circuit court. 

"Good cause" means to provide sufficient cause or reason 
for failing to file a timely appeal or for missing a scheduled 
appeal hearing. 

"Health risk assessment" or "HRA" means a comprehensive 
assessment of an enrollee's medical, psychosocial, cognitive, 
and functional status in order to determine his medical, 
behavioral health, long-term care services and supports, and 
social needs. 

"Hearing" means an informal evidentiary proceeding 
conducted by a DMAS hearing officer during which an 
enrollee has the opportunity to present his concerns with or 
objections to the participating plan's internal appeal decision.  

"Hearing officer" means an impartial decision maker who 
conducts evidentiary hearings for enrollee appeals on behalf 
of the department. 

"Interdisciplinary care team" or "ICT" means a team of 
professionals who collaborate, either in person or through 
other means, with the enrollee to develop and implement 
(employing both medical and social models of care) a plan of 
care that meets the enrollee's medical, behavioral health, 
long-term care services and supports, and social needs. ICTs 
may include physicians, physician assistants, long-term care 
providers, nurses, specialists, pharmacists, behavior health 
specialists, and social workers, as may be appropriate for the 
enrollee's medical diagnoses and health condition, 
comorbidities, and community support needs.  

"Intermediate sanctions" means sanctions that may be 
imposed on a Medicare-Medicaid plan such as civil money 
penalties, appointment of temporary management, permission 
for individuals to terminate enrollment in the Medicare-
Medicaid plan without cause, suspension or default of all 
enrollment of individuals, and suspension of payment to the 
Medicare-Medicaid plan for individuals enrolled pursuant to 
42 USC § 1396u-2(e)(2). 

"Internal appeal" means an enrollee's initial request to the 
participating plan for review of the participating plan's 
coverage or payment determination.  

"Long-term services and supports" or "LTSS" means a 
variety of services and supports that (i) help elderly enrollees 
and enrollees with disabilities who need assistance to perform 
activities of daily living and instrumental activities of daily 
living to improve the quality of their lives and (ii) are 
provided over an extended period, predominantly in homes 
and communities, but also in facility-based settings such as 
nursing facilities. Examples of these activities include 
assistance with bathing, dressing, and other basic activities of 
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daily life and self-care, as well as support for everyday tasks 
such as laundry, shopping, and transportation.  

"Medicaid" means the program of medical assistance 
benefits under Title XIX of the Social Security Act and 
various demonstrations and waivers thereof. 

"Medically necessary" means (i) for Medicare, services that 
are reasonable and necessary for the diagnosis or treatment of 
illness or injury or to improve the functioning of a malformed 
body member and (ii) for Virginia Medicaid, an item or 
service provided for the diagnosis or treatment of a patient's 
condition consistent with community standards of medical 
practice and in accordance with Part IX (12VAC30-130-600 
et seq.) of 12VAC30-130. Furthermore, services must be 
sufficient in amount, duration, and scope to reasonably 
achieve their purpose. Services must be provided in a way 
that provides all protections to covered individuals provided 
by Medicare and Virginia Medicaid.  

"Medicare" means Title XVIII of the Social Security Act, 
the federal health insurance program for people age 65 or 
older, people younger than 65 years of age who have certain 
disabilities, and people with end stage renal disease or 
amyotrophic lateral sclerosis. 

"Medicare Part A" means hospital insurance that helps cover 
inpatient care in hospitals, skilled nursing facilities, hospice, 
and home health care. 

"Medicare Part B" means insurance that helps cover 
medically necessary services such as doctor's services, 
outpatient care, durable medical equipment, home health 
services, other medical services, and some preventive 
services. 

"Medicare Part C" or "Medicare Advantage" means a plan 
that (i) provides all of an enrollee's Medicare Part A and 
Medicare Part B coverage; (ii) may offer extra coverage, such 
as vision, hearing, dental, or health and wellness programs; 
and (iii) may include Medicare prescription drug coverage 
(Part D).  

"Medicare Part D" means Medicare prescription drug 
coverage. 

"Memorandum of understanding" or "MOU" means the 
Memorandum of Understanding between the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and the 
Commonwealth of Virginia Regarding a Federal-State 
Partnership to Test a Capitated Financial Alignment Model 
for Medicare-Medicaid Enrollees (5/2013), which is the 
document that sets out the mutually agreed to understanding 
of this program between CMS and DMAS.  

"Minimum data set" or "MDS" means part of the federally-
mandated process for assessing enrollees receiving care in 
certified skilled nursing facilities in order to record their 
overall health status, regardless of payer source.  

"Money Follows the Person" or "MFP" means a 
demonstration project administered by DMAS that is 
designed to create a system of long-term services and 

supports that better enable enrollees to transition from certain 
long-term care institutions into the community.  

"Network" means doctors, hospitals, or other health care 
providers that participate or contract with a participating plan 
and, as a result, agree to accept a mutually-agreed upon 
payment amount or fee schedule as payment in full for 
covered services that are rendered to eligible enrollees.  

"Nursing facility" means any skilled nursing facility, skilled 
care facility, intermediate care facility, nursing care facility, 
or nursing facility, whether freestanding or a portion of a 
freestanding medical care facility, that is certified for 
participation as a Medicare or Medicaid provider, or both, 
pursuant to Title XVIII and Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act, as amended, and § 32.1-137 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Participating plan," "Medicare-Medicaid plan," or "MMP" 
means a health plan that is selected to participate in Virginia's 
Medicare-Medicaid Financial Alignment Demonstration 
Model and that is a party to the three-way contract with CMS 
and DMAS. 

"Passive enrollment" means an enrollment process through 
which an eligible enrollee is enrolled by DMAS or its vendor 
into a participating plan, when not otherwise affirmatively 
electing one plan following a minimum 60-day advance 
notification that includes the opportunity to make another 
enrollment decision or opt out of the demonstration prior to 
the enrollment effective date. 

"Plan of care" or "POC" means a plan, primarily directed by 
the enrollee and family members of the enrollee as 
appropriate with the assistance of the enrollee's 
interdisciplinary care team to meet the enrollee's medical, 
behavioral health, long-term care services and supports, and 
social needs. 

"Preadmission screening" means the process to (i) evaluate 
the functional, medical or nursing, and social support needs 
of enrollees referred for preadmission screening; (ii) assist 
enrollees in determining what specific services the enrollees 
need; (iii) evaluate whether a service or a combination of 
existing community services are available to meet the needs 
of the enrollees; and (iv) refer enrollees to the appropriate 
entity for either Medicaid-funded nursing facility services or 
home and community-based care for those enrollees who 
meet the criteria for nursing facility level of care.  

"Preadmission screening team" means the entity contracted 
with DMAS that is responsible for performing preadmission 
screening pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Previously authorized" means, in relation to continuation of 
benefits, as described in 42 CFR 438.420, a prior approved 
course of treatment. "Previously authorized" is further 
clarified in 12VAC30-121-150.  

"Privacy" means the requirements established in (i) the 
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 
and implementing regulations, (ii) Medicaid regulations, 
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including 42 CFR 431.300 through 42 CFR 431.307, and (iii) 
relevant Virginia privacy laws. 

"Provider appeal" means an appeal filed by a Medicare, 
Medicaid, or other service provider that has already provided 
a service and has received an action regarding payment or 
audit result. 

"Remand" means the return of a case by the hearing officer 
to the participating plan for further review, evaluation, and 
action. 

"Remote patient monitoring" means monitoring a patient 
remotely and is often used for patients with one or more 
chronic conditions, such as congestive heart failure, cardiac 
arrhythmias, diabetes, pulmonary diseases, or the need for 
anticoagulation treatment. Remote patient monitoring must be 
agreed to by the enrollee. Examples of remote patient 
monitoring activities include transferring vital signs such as 
weight, blood pressure, blood sugar, and heart rate from the 
enrollee to the physician's office. 

"Representative" means an attorney or other individual who 
has been authorized to represent an enrollee pursuant to this 
chapter. 

"Reverse" means to overturn the participating plan's action 
and internal appeal decision and to direct that the 
participating plan fully approve the amount, duration, and 
scope of requested services.  

"Secretary" means the Secretary of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services.  

"Social Security Act" means the federal act codified through 
Chapter 7 of Title 42 of the United States Code that 
established social insurance programs including Medicare and 
Medicaid.  

"State fair hearing" means the DMAS evidentiary hearing 
process for enrollees as administered by the Appeals Division 
of DMAS.  

"State Plan for Medical Assistance" or "State Plan" means 
the comprehensive written statement submitted to CMS by 
DMAS describing the nature and scope of the Virginia 
Medicaid program and giving assurance that the program will 
be administered in conformity with the requirements, 
standards, procedures, and conditions for obtaining federal 
financial participation. DMAS has the authority to administer 
such State Plan for the Commonwealth pursuant to the 
authority of the § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Sustain" means to uphold the participating plan's appeal 
decision. 

"Targeted case management" or "TCM" means the 
Medicaid-funded State Plan case management service 
provided by private providers for enrollees with substance use 
disorders or developmental disabilities and by community 
services boards or behavioral health authorities for enrollees 
with behavioral health disorders or intellectual disabilities. 
TCM encompasses both referral and transition management 
and clinical services such as monitoring, self-management 

support, and medication review and adjustment. TCM is 
separate from "care management" as defined in the MOU. 

"Three-way contract" means the three-way agreement 
between CMS, DMAS, and a participating plan specifying the 
terms and conditions pursuant to which a participating plan 
shall participate in the CCC program. 

"Vulnerable subpopulation" means, at a minimum, 
individuals from the following groups: (i) individuals who are 
enrolled in the Elderly or Disabled with Consumer Direction 
Waiver (12VAC30-120-900 et seq.); (ii) individuals who 
have either intellectual or developmental disabilities, or both; 
(iii) individuals who have cognitive or memory problems, or 
both, (e.g., dementia and traumatic brain injury); (iv) 
individuals with physical or sensory disabilities; (v) 
individuals who are residing in nursing facilities; (vi) 
individuals who have serious and persistent mental illness or 
illnesses; (vii) individuals who have end stage renal disease; 
and (viii) individuals who have complex or multiple chronic 
health conditions, or both. 

"Withdraw" means the enrollee or the enrollee's 
representative makes a written request for the department to 
terminate the appeal process without a final decision on the 
merits. 
12VAC30-121-30. Selected localities. 

A. The demonstration shall operate in specific regions 
within the Commonwealth.  

B. The department and CMS will implement the 
demonstration in Central Virginia, Northern Virginia, 
Roanoke, Tidewater, and Western/Charlottesville regions.  

C. Under the demonstration, DMAS will conduct a regional 
phase in. Phase I will impact Central Virginia and Tidewater. 
Phase II will impact Western/Charlottesville, Northern 
Virginia, and Roanoke.  

D. Participating plans must cover all eligible enrollees in all 
localities within the region or regions in which such plans 
participate. 
12VAC30-121-40. Eligible enrollees. 

A. Medicaid-eligible enrollees who meet the following 
qualifications may be eligible to be enrolled in the 
demonstration: 

1. Individuals who are 21 years of age or older at the time 
of enrollment; 
2. Individuals who are entitled to benefits under Medicare 
Part A, enrolled under Medicare Part B and Part D, and 
who are receiving full Medicaid benefits. This includes 
enrollees participating in the EDCD Waiver and those 
residing in nursing facilities;  
3. Individuals who reside in a program region; and 
4. Individuals who do not meet any of the exclusions 
identified in 12VAC30-121-45. 

B. Individuals who have been excluded from the CCC 
program, for any reason, shall be permitted to opt in to the 
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CCC program once the reason for their exclusion no longer 
exists. 
12VAC30-121-45. Individuals excluded from enrollment. 

Individuals who meet at least one of the following criteria 
shall be excluded from the CCC program: 

1. Individuals who are younger than 21 years of age.  
2. Individuals who are required to "spend down" income in 
order to meet Medicaid eligibility requirements. "Spend 
down" means when a Medicaid applicant meets all 
Medicaid eligibility requirements other than income, 
Medicaid eligibility staff conduct a medically needy 
calculation that compares the enrollee's income to a 
medically needy income limit for a specific period of time 
referred to as the "budget period" (not to exceed six 
months). When a Medicaid applicant's incurred medical 
expenses equal the spend down amount, the applicant is 
eligible for full benefit Medicaid for the remainder of the 
spend down budget period. 
3. Individuals for whom DMAS only pays a limited 
amount each month toward their cost of care (e.g., 
deductibles), including non-full-benefit Medicaid 
beneficiaries. These individuals may receive Medicaid 
coverage for the following: (i) Medicare monthly 
premiums for Medicare Part A, Medicare Part B, or both 
(carved-out payment); (ii) coinsurance, copayment, and 
deductible for Medicare-allowed services; and (iii) 
Medicaid-covered services, including those that are not 
covered by Medicare. These individuals may include: 

a. Qualified Medicare beneficiaries; 
b. Special low income Medicare beneficiaries; 
c. Qualified disabled working individuals; or  
d. Qualifying individuals.  

4. Individuals who are inpatients in state mental hospitals, 
including Catawba Hospital, Central State Hospital, 
Eastern State Hospital, Hiram W. Davis Medical Center, 
Northern Virginia Mental Health Institute, Piedmont 
Geriatric Hospital, Southern Virginia Mental Health 
Institute, Southwestern Virginia Mental Health Institute, 
and Western State Hospital. 
5. Individuals who are residents of state hospitals, 
intermediate care facilities for individuals with intellectual 
disabilities, residential treatment facilities, or long-stay 
hospitals. Long-stay hospitals are specialty Medicaid 
facilities that serve enrollees who require a higher intensity 
of nursing care than that which is normally provided in a 
nursing facility and who do not require the degree of care 
and treatment that an acute care hospital is designed to 
provide.  
6. Individuals who are participating in federal waiver 
programs for home and community-based Medicaid 
coverage other than the EDCD Waiver (e.g., Individual 
and Family Developmental Disabilities Support, 

Intellectual Disability, Day Support, Technology Assisted, 
and Alzheimer's Assisted Living waivers). 
7. Individuals receiving hospice services at the time of 
enrollment. If an enrollee enters hospice while enrolled in 
the CCC program, he shall be disenrolled from the CCC 
program. If an enrollee opts out of the CCC program, he 
shall not be permitted to reenter it. If an enrollee does not 
opt out but leaves the CCC program due to a CCC program 
action, he shall be permitted to return to the CCC program 
upon leaving hospice. However, participating plans shall 
refer these individuals to the preadmission screening team 
for additional LTSS if not already in place. 
8. Individuals receiving the end stage renal disease (ESRD) 
Medicare benefit at the time of enrollment into the CCC 
program. However, an enrollee who develops ESRD while 
enrolled in the CCC program shall remain in the CCC 
program unless he opts out. If he opts out, the enrollee 
shall not be permitted to opt back into the CCC program. 
9. Individuals with other comprehensive group or enrollee 
health insurance coverage, other than full benefit 
Medicare, insurance provided to military dependents, and 
any other insurance purchased through the Health 
Insurance Premium Payment Program. 
10. Individuals who have a Medicaid eligibility period that 
is less than three months. 
11. Individuals who have a Medicaid eligibility period that 
is only retroactive. 
12. Individuals enrolled in the Virginia Birth-Related 
Neurological Injury Compensation Program established 
pursuant to Chapter 50 (§ 38.2-5000 et seq.) of Title 38.2 
of the Code of Virginia.  
13. Individuals enrolled in the Money Follows the Person 
program. 
14. Individuals residing outside of the CCC program 
coverage regions.  
15. Individuals enrolled in a Program of All-Inclusive Care 
for the Elderly (PACE). However, PACE participants may 
enroll in the CCC program if they choose to disenroll from 
their PACE providers. 
16. Individuals participating in the CMS Independence at 
Home demonstration or any other demonstration that bases 
some or all payment on achievement of Medicare savings. 

12VAC30-121-50. Enrollment process. 
Individuals who qualify as indicated in 12VAC30-121-40 

and are not excluded as provided in 12VAC30-121-45 shall 
be enrolled as follows, except if they choose to opt out:  

1. Enrollees shall be passively assigned to a participating 
plan based on their previous six months of Medicaid 
claims history prior to preassignment using the rules in this 
order of priority:  
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a. Enrollees in a nursing facility shall be preassigned to a 
participating plan that includes the enrollee's nursing 
facility in its provider network. 
b. Enrollees in the EDCD Waiver shall be assigned to a 
participating plan that includes the enrollee's current 
adult day health care provider in the MMP's existing 
provider network. 
c. If more than one participating plan network includes 
the nursing facility or adult day health care provider used 
by an enrollee, the enrollee shall be assigned to the 
participating plan with which he has previously been 
assigned in the past six months.  
d. If the enrollee has no history of previous participating 
plan assignment, he shall be randomly assigned to a 
participating plan in which his provider participates.  
e. In the absence of the conditions in subdivisions 1 a 
through 1 d of this section, enrollees shall be preassigned 
to a participating plan with whom they have previously 
been assigned within the past six months. The order of 
assignment shall be first the Medicare plan and secondly 
the Medicaid participating plan. 

2. Utilizing passive enrollment, eligible enrollees shall be 
notified of their right to select among contracted 
participating plans no fewer than 60 days prior to the 
effective date of enrollment. 
3. Eligible enrollees shall receive a notice that indicates the 
participating plan to which they have been preassigned. 
The notice shall have instructions for the enrollee to 
contact the department's contracted enrollment facilitator 
to (i) accept the preassigned participating plan; (ii) actively 
select a different participating plan that is operating in the 
enrollee's region; or (iii) to opt out of the program.  
An enrollment facilitator is an independent entity 
contracted with DMAS that (i) enrolls beneficiaries in the 
plan, (ii) is responsible for the operation and 
documentation of a toll-free helpline, (iii) educates 
enrollees about the plan, (iv) assists with and tracks 
enrollee grievance resolutions, and (v) may market and 
perform outreach to potential enrollees. 
4. If an enrollee does not select a participating plan, he 
shall be passively enrolled into the preassigned 
participating plan.  
5. Prior to the effective date of their plan enrollment, 
enrollees who would be passively enrolled shall have the 
opportunity to opt out and shall receive sufficient notice 
and information with which to do so.  
6. All enrollment effective dates shall be prospective. 
Enrollment shall be effective the first day of the month 
following an enrollee's request to enroll, so long as the 
request is received on or before five days before the end of 
the month. Active enrollment requests, including requests 
to change among participating plans, received later than 
five days before the end of the month shall become 

effective the first of the second month following the 
request. Passive enrollment shall be effective not sooner 
than 60 days after enrollee notification. 
7. Disenrollment from participating plans and transfers 
between participating plans shall be allowed on a month-
to-month basis any time during the year; however, 
coverage for these enrollees shall continue through the end 
of the month. All disenrollment requests shall be effective 
the first day of the month following an enrollee's request to 
disenroll from the CCC program. 
8. CMS and DMAS monitor enrollments and 
disenrollments for both evaluation purposes and for 
compliance with applicable marketing and enrollment 
laws, regulations, and CMS policies for the purpose of 
identifying any inappropriate or illegal marketing 
practices. As part of this analysis, CMS and DMAS 
monitor any unusual shifts in enrollment by enrollees 
identified for passive enrollment into a particular 
participating plan to a Medicare Advantage plan operated 
by the same parent organization. If those shifts appear to 
be due to inappropriate or illegal marketing practices, CMS 
or DMAS, or both, may require corrective action. Any 
illegal marketing practices shall be referred to appropriate 
agencies for investigation.  
9. As mutually agreed upon in the three-way contract, 
CMS and DMAS shall utilize an independent third party 
entity to facilitate all enrollments into the participating 
plans.  
10. Participating plan enrollments, transfers, and opt-outs 
shall become effective on the same day for both Medicare 
and Medicaid. For enrollees who lose Medicaid eligibility 
during a month, coverage and federal financial 
participation will continue through the end of the month in 
which Medicaid eligibility is ended. 

12VAC30-121-60. (Reserved.) 
12VAC30-121-70. Covered services. 

A. CMS and DMAS shall contract with participating plans 
that demonstrate the capacity to provide directly, or by 
subcontracting with other qualified entities, the full 
continuum of medically necessary Medicare and Medicaid 
covered services to enrollees, in accordance with (i) the 
MOU; (ii) CMS guidance; (iii) the three-way contract; (iv) 
42 CFR Part 422, 42 CFR Part 423, and 42 CFR Part 438; (v) 
the requirements in the State Plan for Medical Assistance, 
including any applicable State Plan amendments and 
§ 1915(c) of the Act; (vi) the EDCD Waiver (12VAC30-120-
900 et seq.); (vii) 42 USC § 1395y; (viii) Part IX (12VAC30-
130-600 et seq.) of 12VAC30-130; (ix) the Americans with 
Disabilities Act; and (x) the Olmstead decision (Olmstead v. 
L.C. (98-536) 527 U.S. 581 (1999)). Furthermore, as set out 
in 42 CFR 440.230, services shall be sufficient in amount, 
duration, and scope to reasonably achieve their purpose. 
Participating plans shall be required to provide services in a 
way that preserves all protections to enrollees and provides 
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enrollees with coverage to at least the same extent provided 
by Medicare and Medicaid. Where there is overlap between 
Medicare and Medicaid benefits, coverage and rules shall be 
delineated in the three-way contract. Participating plans shall 
be required to abide by the more generous of the applicable 
Medicare, Medicaid, or the combined Medicare-Medicaid 
standard. 

B. With the exception of those services that are specifically 
carved out of this program as set out in 12VAC30-121-83, the 
required covered services shall include: 

1. Medicare Part A, Part B, and Part D services. 
2. Medically necessary procedures. Participating plans will 
be responsible for medically necessary procedures, 
including but not limited to, the following:  

a. CPT codes, from the Current Procedural Terminology, 
Revised 2015, as published by the American Medical 
Association, billed for dental services performed as a 
result of a dental accident (i.e., an accident that damages 
the mouth). 
b. Preparation of the mouth for radiation therapy, 
maxillary or mandibular frenectomy when not related to 
a dental procedure, orthognathic surgery to attain 
functional capacity, and surgical services on the hard or 
soft tissue in the mouth where the main purpose is not to 
treat or help the teeth and their supporting structures. 
c. Anesthesia and hospitalization for medically necessary 
services. 
d. At the option of the MMP, additional flexible dental 
services for program enrollees. 
e. For participants of auxiliary grants, case management 
services. Although not widely used, this service is 
included as part of the annual reassessment screening 
process for assisted living recipients and will be provided 
under fee-for-service.  

3. Acute care services provided under the State Plan for 
Medical Assistance as found in 12VAC30-50, and further 
defined by DMAS written regulations, policies, and 
instructions, except as otherwise modified or excluded in 
the three-way contract.  
4. Covered LTSS provided under the EDCD Waiver, 
including adult day health care, personal care (agency and 
consumer-directed options), personal emergency response 
services with or without medication monitoring, respite 
care (agency and consumer-directed options), transition 
coordination, and transition services.  
5. The integrated formulary for prescription drugs, 
including Medicaid-covered drugs that are excluded by 
Medicare Part D. Participating plans shall also cover drugs 
covered by Medicare Part A and Part B. In all respects, 
unless stated otherwise in the MOU or the three-way 
contract, Medicare Part D requirements continue to apply. 

6. Nursing facility services as defined in 42 CFR 440.40. 
Skilled nursing level care may be provided in a long-term 
care facility without a preceding acute care inpatient stay 
for enrollees enrolled in the program when the provision of 
this level of care can avert the need for an inpatient 
hospital stay. 
7. Participating plans shall be permitted to use and 
reimburse telehealth for Medicare and Medicaid services 
as an innovative, cost effective means to decrease hospital 
admissions, reduce emergency department visits, address 
disparities in care, increase access, and increase timely 
interventions. Participating plans shall also encourage the 
use of telehealth to promote community living and improve 
access to behavioral health services. Participating plans 
shall be permitted to use telehealth in rural and urban 
settings and reimburse for store-and-forward applications. 
Participating plans shall also have the ability to cover 
remote patient monitoring. All telehealth and remote 
patient monitoring activities shall be compliant with Health 
Insurance Portability and Accountability Act requirements 
and as further set out in the three-way contract. 
For the purposes of this section: 

a. "Store-and-forward" means when prerecorded images, 
such as x-rays, video clips, and photographs, are captured 
and then forwarded to and retrieved, viewed, and 
assessed by a provider at a later time. Some common 
applications include (i) teledermatology, where digital 
pictures of a skin problem are transmitted and assessed 
by a dermatologist; (ii) teleradiology, where x-ray images 
are sent to and read by a radiologist; and (iii) teleretinal 
imaging, where images are sent to and evaluated by an 
ophthalmologist to assess for diabetic retinopathy; and 
b. "Telehealth" means the real time or near real time two-
way transfer of data and information using an interactive 
audio and video connection for the purposes of medical 
diagnosis and treatment. 

8. Health risk assessments. 
a. Each enrollee shall receive and be an active participant 
in a timely, comprehensive assessment completed by the 
participating plan's care management team. All health 
risk assessment tools are subject to approval by DMAS. 
Assessment domains shall include the following: 
medical, psychosocial, functional, cognitive, and 
behavioral health. Relevant and comprehensive data 
sources, including the enrollee, providers, family, 
caregivers, and additional significant others as may be 
designated by the enrollee, shall be used by the 
participating plans in order to thoroughly complete the 
assessment.  
b. During the first year of the program, any enrollee 
meeting any one of the following criteria shall receive a 
health risk assessment to be completed no later than 60 
days from the onset of the enrollee's enrollment:  
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(1) Individuals enrolled in the EDCD Waiver; 
(2) Individuals with intellectual or developmental 
disabilities; 
(3) Individuals with cognitive or memory problems (e.g., 
dementia or traumatic brain injury); 
(4) Individuals with physical or sensory disabilities; 
(5) Individuals residing in nursing facilities; 
(6) Individuals with serious and persistent mental 
illnesses; 
(7) Individuals with end stage renal disease; and 
(8) Individuals with complex or multiple chronic health 
conditions. 
c. During the first year of the program and for all other 
enrollees, health risk assessments shall be conducted 
within 90 days of enrollment.  
d. Health risk assessments for individuals enrolled in the 
EDCD Waiver and for individuals residing in nursing 
facilities shall be conducted face to face. The health risk 
assessments for individuals residing in nursing facilities 
shall also incorporate the MDS.  
e. During subsequent years of the program, individuals 
enrolled in the EDCD Waiver shall receive a health risk 
assessment within 30 days of enrollment and all other 
enrollees shall receive a health risk assessment within 60 
days of enrollment.  

12VAC30-121-73. Level of care determinations. 
A. Initial level of care (LOC) determinations shall be 

conducted by hospitals and local preadmission screening 
teams as defined in § 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. Participating plans shall ensure that LOC annual 
reassessments are conducted timely for EDCD Waiver 
participants (minimum within 365 days of the last annual 
reassessment or as the participant's needs change). 
Participating plans shall conduct annual face-to-face 
assessments for continued nursing facility LOC eligibility 
requirements for the EDCD Waiver. 

C. The plans shall establish criteria including health status 
changes (i.e., the triggering events that precipitate a need for 
reassessment, including a change in the ability to perform 
activities of daily living and instrumental activities of daily 
living) for reassessments to be performed prior to the 
reassessment.  

D. The LOC annual reassessment shall include all the 
elements required by the three-way contract for enrollees who 
are in the EDCD Waiver.  

E. LOC annual reassessments for EDCD Waiver enrollees 
shall be performed by providers with the following 
qualifications: (i) a registered nurse (RN) licensed in Virginia 
with at least one year of experience as an RN; (ii) a social 
worker licensed in Virginia; or (iii) an individual who holds 
at least a bachelor's degree in a health or human services field 

and has at least two years of experience working with 
individuals who are elderly or have disabilities, or both.  

F. Participating plans shall ensure that quarterly and annual 
assessments are conducted timely for nursing facility 
residents based on the MDS process and shall work 
cooperatively with nursing facilities to provide information 
regarding the completion of the assessments for continued 
nursing facility placement.  

G. Participating plans shall communicate annual LOC 
reassessment data for EDCD Waiver enrollees and nursing 
facility residents to DMAS according to requirements in the 
three-way contract. 
12VAC30-121-75. Plans of care. 

A. Participating plans shall develop a person-centered plan 
of care (POC) for each enrollee. The POC shall be tailored to 
the individual enrollee's needs and be agreed to and signed by 
the enrollee or the enrollee's employer of record. An 
employer of record is the person who performs the functions 
of the employer in the consumer-directed model of service 
delivery and may be the individual enrolled in the waiver, a 
family member, caregiver, or other person. 

B. Participating plans shall implement a person-centered and 
culturally competent POC development process. Participating 
plans shall also develop a process that will incorporate but not 
duplicate targeted case management for applicable enrollees. 

C. During the first year of the CCC program, participating 
plans shall ensure that plans of care for all enrollees are 
completed within 90 days of the enrollee's enrollment. 
Participating plans shall honor all existing plans of care and 
service authorizations until the authorization ends or 180 days 
from an enrollee's enrollment, whichever is sooner. For 
EDCD Waiver individuals, the plan of care shall be 
developed and implemented by the participating plan no later 
than the end date of any existing service authorization. 

D. During subsequent years of the program, participating 
plans shall ensure that plans of care are developed within the 
following timeframes:  

1. Within 30 days of enrollment for EDCD Waiver 
participants; 
2. Within 60 days of enrollment for vulnerable 
subpopulations (excluding EDCD Waiver participants); 
and  
3. Within 90 days of enrollment for all other enrollees. 

E. Participating plans shall incorporate information from the 
Uniform Assessment Instrument and the LOC determinations 
into the POCs for individuals in the EDCD Waiver.  

F. Participating plans shall develop a process for obtaining 
nursing facility MDS data and incorporating that information 
into the POC. Participating plans shall ensure that nursing 
facility residents who wish to move to the community will be 
referred to the preadmission screening teams or the MFP 
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program. If the individual enrolls in the MFP program, he 
will be disenrolled from the CCC program. 

G. Participating plans shall develop a process for addressing 
health, safety (including minimizing risk), and welfare of the 
enrollee in the POC. 

H. The POC shall contain the following: 
1. Prioritized list of enrollee's concerns, needs, and 
strengths;  
2. Attainable goals, outcome measures, and target dates 
selected by the enrollee or caregiver, or both; 
3. Strategies and actions, including interventions and 
services to be implemented, the providers responsible for 
specific interventions and services, and the frequency of 
the interventions and strategies; 
4. Progress noting success, barriers, or obstacles; 
5. Enrollee's informal support network and services;  
6. Back up plans as appropriate for EDCD Waiver 
enrollees using personal care and respite services in the 
event that the scheduled provider or providers are unable to 
provide services; 
7. Determined need and plan to access community 
resources and noncovered services;  
8. Enrollee choice of services (including consumer 
direction) and service providers; and 
9. Elements included in the DMAS-97AB form, (which 
can be downloaded from 
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal) 
for individuals enrolled in the EDCD Waiver. 

I. Participating plans shall ensure that reassessments and 
POC reviews are conducted: 

1. By the POC anniversary for vulnerable subpopulations 
(excluding EDCD Waiver participants and nursing facility 
residents) and all other enrollees; 
2. By the POC anniversary, not to exceed 365 days for 
EDCD Waiver enrollees (must be face to face); and 
3. Following MDS guidelines and timeframes for quarterly 
and annual POC development for nursing facility residents. 

J. Participating plans shall ensure that POCs are revised 
based on triggering events, such as hospitalizations or 
significant changes in health or functional status. 
12VAC30-121-78. Interdisciplinary care team. 

A. For each enrollee, participating plans shall support an 
interdisciplinary care team (ICT) to ensure the integration of 
the enrollee's medical, behavioral health, substance abuse/use, 
LTSS, and social needs. The team's focus shall be person 
centered, built on the enrollee's specific preferences and 
needs, and deliver services with transparency, 
individualization, respect, linguistic and cultural competency, 
and dignity.  

B. Participating plans ICTs shall employ both medical and 
social models of care, as appropriate for the enrollee's 
documented needs.  

C. Participating plan members of the team shall agree to 
participate in approved training on the person-centered 
planning processes, cultural competency, accessibility and 
accommodations, independent living and recovery, 
Americans with Disabilities Act/Olmstead requirements, and 
wellness principles, along with other required training as 
specified by the Commonwealth. Participating plans shall 
offer training to additional members of the team such as 
primary care providers and specialists, as appropriate. 

D. If an enrollee is receiving targeted case management 
services, the participating plans shall develop a mechanism to 
include the targeted case manager as a member of the ICT. 

E. If an enrollee is identified to be eligible to transition into 
the community through the Department of Justice Settlement 
Agreement (Case: 3:12-CV-00059-JAG, available at 
http://www.dbhds.virginia.gov/settlement/FullAgreement.pdf), 
the participating plan's ICT shall collaborate with the 
locality's community services board (CSB) or behavioral 
health authority, as appropriate, and the Department of 
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services to 
successfully transition the enrollee into the community. The 
enrollee's CSB case manager shall participate as a part of the 
participating plan's ICT to monitor the enrollee's service 
needs. If the enrollee transitions into either the Individuals 
with Intellectual Disabilities Waiver or Developmental 
Disability Waiver, the enrollee shall be disenrolled from the 
CCC program. If the enrollee transitions to the EDCD 
Waiver, the enrollee may remain in the CCC program.  
12VAC30-121-80. Requirements for care coordination. 

A. The participating plan shall provide person-centered care 
management functions for all enrollees. 

B. All enrollees shall have access to the following supports 
depending on their needs and preferences; however, care 
management for vulnerable subpopulations shall include the 
items described in subdivisions 6 through 12 of this 
subsection: 

1. A single, toll-free point of contact for all questions; 
2. Ability to develop, maintain, and monitor the POC; 
3. Assurance that referrals result in timely appointments; 
4. Communication and education regarding available 
services and community resources;  
5. Assistance developing self-management skills to 
effectively access and use services; 
6. Assistance in receiving needed medical and behavioral 
health services, preventive services, medications, LTSS, 
social services, and enhanced benefits; this includes (i) 
setting up appointments, (ii) in-person contacts as 
appropriate, (iii) strong working relationships between care 
managers and physicians; (iv) evidence-based enrollee 

https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal
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education programs, and (v) arranging transportation as 
needed;  
7. Monitoring of functional and health status; 
8. Seamless transitions of care across specialties and care 
settings; 
9. Assurance that enrollees with disabilities have effective 
communication with health care providers and participate 
in making decisions with respect to treatment options; 
10. Connecting enrollees to services that promote 
community living and help avoid premature or unnecessary 
nursing facility placements; 
11. Coordination with social service agencies (e.g., local 
departments of health, local departments of social services, 
and community services boards) and referrals for enrollees 
to state, local, and other community resources; and  
12. Collaboration with nursing facilities to promote 
adoption of evidence-based interventions to reduce 
avoidable hospitalizations and to include management of 
chronic conditions, medication optimization, prevention of 
falls and pressure ulcers, and coordination of services 
beyond the scope of the nursing facility benefit.  

C. Participating plans shall develop innovative arrangements 
to provide care management such as: 

1. Partnering or contracting, or both, with entities, such as 
community services boards, adult day care centers, and 
nursing facilities, that currently perform care management 
and offer support services to individuals eligible for the 
program; 
2. Medical homes;  
3. Sub-capitation, such as payment arrangement where the 
MMP pays its contracted providers on a capitated basis 
rather than a fee-for-service basis; 
4. Shared savings; and  
5. Performance incentives.  

D. Participating plans and DMAS shall collaborate to avoid 
duplication of care management services provided under the 
program. 

E. Participating plans shall be required to use one statewide 
F/EA to manage the F/EA services for individuals using 
consumer direction. The F/EA, or fiscal/employer agent, is an 
organization (i) operating under § 3504 of the IRS Code, IRS 
Revenue Procedure 70-6, and IRS Notice 2003-70 and (ii) 
that has a separate federal employer identification number 
used for the sole purpose of filing federal employment tax 
forms and payments on behalf of program enrollees who are 
receiving consumer-directed services. 
12VAC30-121-83. Carved out services. 

A. Carved-out services are the subset of Medicaid and 
Medicare covered services for which the participating plan 
shall not be fiscally responsible under the CCC program. 

B. The services are carved out services of the CCC program 
and are provided under the fee-for-service system: 

1. Abortions, induced (this service shall be provided under 
limited circumstances, e.g., when the life of the mother is 
endangered); 
2. Targeted case management services; and 
3. Dental services (in limited cases). 

12VAC30-121-85. Flexible benefits. 
A. Flexible benefits are those that participating plans may 

elect to offer to their enrollees. 
B. Examples of such benefits are (i) annual physical 

examinations, (ii) meal benefits, (iii) preventive and 
comprehensive dental services for adults, (iv) eye 
examinations, (v) prescription eyeglasses, (vi) hearing 
examinations, (vii) hearing aids, and (viii) reduced or 
eliminated drug co-pays.  
12VAC30-121-90. Capitation payment rates. 

A. Capitation rates and payment rules shall be established in 
the MOU and three-way contract and may be adjusted by 
state or federal regulatory changes.  

B. If other state or federal statutory changes enacted after 
the annual baseline determination and rate development 
process are jointly determined by CMS and DMAS to have a 
material change in baseline estimates for any given payment 
year, baseline estimates and corresponding standardized 
payment rates shall be updated outside of the annual rate 
development process. 

C. Any and all costs incurred by the participating plan in 
excess of the capitation payment shall be borne in full by the 
plan.  

D. Additional costs shall not be balance billed to the plan's 
enrollees. 

E. Out-of-network reimbursement rules.  
1. In an urgent or emergency situation, participating plans 
shall reimburse an out-of-network provider of emergency 
or urgent care at the Medicare or Medicaid FFS rate 
applicable for that service, or as otherwise required under 
Medicare Advantage rules for Medicare services. For 
example, where this service would traditionally be covered 
under Medicare FFS, the participating plan shall pay out-
of-network providers the lesser of provider charges or the 
Medicare FFS. 
2. During the 180-day transition period as outlined in the 
MOU, the participating plan shall honor existing service 
authorization timeframes and continue to provide access to 
the same services and providers at the same levels and 
rates of Medicare or Medicaid FFS payment (not to exceed 
180 days) as enrollees were receiving prior to entering the 
participating plan.  
3. Beyond this 180-day period, the participating plan will 
be required to offer single-case out-of-network agreements 
to providers that are currently serving enrollees and are 
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willing to continue serving them at the participating plan's 
in-network payment rate, but are not willing to accept new 
patients or enroll in the participating plan's network. 

12VAC30-121-100. (Reserved.) 
12VAC30-121-110. Cost sharing requirements. 

A. For the purposes of this section, "cost sharing" means 
copayments, coinsurance, or deductibles paid by an enrollee 
when receiving medical services. 

B. Participating plans shall not charge a Medicare Part C or 
Part D premium nor assess any cost sharing for Medicare Part 
A and Part B services.  

C. For drugs and pharmacy products (including those 
covered by both Medicare Part D and Medicaid), participating 
plans shall be permitted to charge co-pays to enrollees 
currently eligible to make such payments consistent with co-
pays applicable for Medicare and Medicaid drugs, 
respectively. Co-pays charged by participating plans for Part 
D drugs shall not exceed the applicable amounts for brand 
and generic drugs established yearly by CMS under the Part 
D Low Income Subsidy.  

D. Patient pay requirements, which are applicable to long-
term care services, shall be detailed in the contract between 
CMS, DMAS, and the participating plans. 

E. Participating plans shall not assess any cost sharing for 
DMAS services, beyond the pharmacy cost sharing amounts 
allowed under Medicaid coverage rules.  

F. No enrollee may be balance billed by any provider for 
any reason for covered services or flexible benefits (see 
12VAC30-121-90).  
12VAC30-121-120. (Reserved.) 
12VAC30-121-130. Access standards. 

A. Participating plans shall have the capacity to provide, 
directly or by subcontracting with other qualified entities, the 
full continuum of Medicare and Medicaid covered services to 
enrollees, in accordance with the MOU, CMS guidance, and 
the three-way contract.  

B. Network adequacy. State Medicaid standards shall be 
utilized for long-term services and supports or for other 
services for which Medicaid is exclusively responsible for 
payment, and Medicare standards shall be utilized for 
pharmacy benefits and for other services for which Medicare 
is primary, unless applicable Medicaid standards for such 
services are more stringent. Home health and durable medical 
equipment requirements, as well as any other services for 
which Medicaid and Medicare may overlap, shall be subject 
to the more stringent of the applicable Medicare and 
Medicaid standards.  

C. Participating plans shall ensure that they maintain a 
network of providers that is sufficient in number, mix of 
primary care and specialty providers, and geographic 
distribution to meet the complex and diverse needs of the 

anticipated number of enrollees in the service area as defined 
by CMS for Medicare and defined by DMAS for Medicaid. 

D. For services for which Medicaid is the traditional primary 
payer (including LTSS and community mental health and 
substance abuse services), each enrollee shall have a choice 
of at least two providers of each covered service type located 
within no more than 30 minutes travel time from any enrollee 
in urban areas unless the participating plan has a DMAS-
approved alternative time standard. Travel time shall be 
determined based on driving during normal traffic conditions 
(i.e., not during commuting hours). 

E. The participating plan shall ensure that each enrollee shall 
have a choice of at least two providers of each covered 
service type located within no more than 60 minutes travel 
time from any enrollee in rural areas unless the participating 
plan has a DMAS-approved alternative time standard.  

F. DMAS shall require contractual agreements between 
nursing facilities and participating plans. Participating plans 
shall be required to contract with any nursing facility that is 
eligible to participate in Medicare and Medicaid and is 
willing to accept the participating plan payment rates and 
contract requirements for the time duration of the 
demonstration period. Participating plans shall make 
payments for services directly to nursing facilities. 

G. For any covered services for which Medicare requires a 
more rigorous network adequacy standard than Medicaid 
(including time, distance, or minimum number of providers or 
facilities), the participating plan shall meet the Medicare 
requirements. 
12VAC30-121-140. Medicare-Medicaid plans having low 
performance. 

A. As long as the MMP is determined by DMAS to meet all 
plan selection requirements in the three-way contract, an 
interested organization that (i) is an outlier in the CMS past 
performance analysis for the upcoming contract year, (ii) has 
a low performance indicator (LPI) on the Medicare Plan 
Finder website for the upcoming year, or (iii) both may still 
qualify to offer CCC program services. 

B. Such MMPs shall not be eligible to receive new enrollees 
(via passive enrollment) until the MMP is either (i) no longer 
considered by CMS to be a past performance outlier or (ii) no 
longer has an LPI on the Medicare Plan Finder. 

C. CMS or DMAS, or both, shall determine if an MMP is 
eligible to accept passive enrollment prior to the scheduled 
date of execution of the three-way contract.  

D. An MMP that is ineligible to receive passive enrollment 
shall only be able to enroll (i) individuals who are currently 
enrolled in another Medicare or Medicaid managed care plan 
sponsored by the same organization and (ii) individuals who 
opt in to the organization's MMP. 
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12VAC30-121-145. Sanctions for noncompliance. 
A. DMAS may impose intermediate sanctions, which may 

include any of the types described in subsection C of this 
section, or terminate the MMP's contract if the MMP: 

1. Fails substantially to provide medically necessary items 
and services that are required under law or under the 
MMP's contract with DMAS to be provided under the 
contract; 
2. Imposes premiums or charges on enrollees in excess of 
the premiums or charges permitted under this chapter; 
3. Acts to discriminate among enrollees on the basis of 
their health status or requirements for health care services, 
including expulsion or refusal to reenroll an individual, 
except as permitted by this chapter, or engages in any 
practice that would reasonably be expected to have the 
effect of denying or discouraging enrollment with the 
organization by eligible individuals whose medical 
conditions or histories indicate a need for substantial future 
medical services; 
4. Misrepresents or falsifies information that is furnished to 
either: 

a. The Secretary or DMAS under this chapter; or 
b. To an enrollee, potential enrollee, or a health care 
provider under this chapter; or 

5. Fails to comply with the applicable requirements of 
42 USC § 1396b(m)(2)(A)(x). 

B. DMAS may also impose such intermediate sanction 
against an MMP if DMAS determines that the MMP 
distributed directly or through any agent or independent 
contractor marketing materials in violation of 12VAC30-121-
250. 

C. The sanctions shall be as follows: 
1. Civil money penalties. 

a. Except as provided in subdivision 1 b, 1 c, or 1 d of 
this subsection, not more than $25,000 for each 
determination under subsection A of this section. 
b. With respect to a determination under subdivision A 3 
or A 4 a of this section, not more than $100,000 for each 
such determination. 
c. With respect to a determination under subdivision A 2 
of this section, double the excess amount charged in 
violation, and the excess amount charged shall be 
deducted from the penalty and returned to the individual 
concerned. 
d. Subject to subsection 1 b of this subsection, with 
respect to a determination under subdivision A 3 of this 
section, $15,000 for each individual not enrolled as a 
result of a practice described in subdivision A 3. 

2. The appointment of temporary management. 
a. To oversee the operation of the MMP upon a finding 
by DMAS that there is continued egregious behavior by 

the organization or there is a substantial risk to the health 
of enrollees; 
b. To assure the health of the organization's enrollees if 
there is a need for temporary management while there is 
an orderly termination or reorganization of the 
organization; or 
c. To make improvements to remedy the violations found 
under subsection A of this section except that temporary 
management under this subdivision 2 may not be 
terminated until DMAS has determined that the MMP 
has the capability to ensure that the violations shall not 
recur. 

3. Requiring the MMP (i) to permit individuals enrolled 
with the MMP to terminate enrollment without cause and 
(ii) to notify such individuals of such right to terminate 
enrollment. 
4. Suspension or default of all enrollment of individuals 
under this chapter after the date the Secretary or DMAS 
notifies the MMP of a determination of a violation of any 
requirement of 42 USC § 1396b(m) or this section. 
5. Suspension of payment to the entity under this chapter 
for individuals enrolled after the date the Secretary or 
DMAS notifies the MMP of such a determination and until 
the Secretary or DMAS is satisfied that the basis for such 
determination has been corrected and is not likely to recur. 

12VAC30-121-150. Continuity of care. 
A. As provided by the MOU and the three-way contract, 

participating plans shall be required to provide or arrange for 
all medically necessary services, whether by subcontract or 
by single-case agreement, in order to meet the health care and 
support needs of their enrollees. 

B. Participating plans shall allow enrollees to maintain their 
current Medicaid providers (including out-of-network 
providers) for up to 180 days from enrollment. Participating 
plans shall also allow enrollees to maintain their previously 
authorized Medicaid services, including frequency and 
payment rate, for the duration of the prior authorization or for 
180 days from enrollment, whichever is less. This shall not 
apply to enrollees residing in a nursing facility on the date of 
each region's program implementation.  

C. Enrollees in nursing facilities at the time of program 
implementation may remain in the facility, or move to 
another nursing facility, as long as they continue to meet 
DMAS criteria for nursing facility care. In order to move to 
another nursing facility, the enrollee or his family, or both as 
may be appropriate, has to agree to the move.  

D. During the 180-day period specified in subsection B of 
this section, change from an existing Medicaid provider can 
only occur in the following circumstances:  

1. The enrollee requests a change;  
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2. The provider chooses to discontinue providing services 
to an enrollee as currently allowed by Medicare or 
Medicaid;  
3. The participating plan, CMS, or DMAS identifies 
provider performance issues that affect the enrollee's health 
and welfare; or 
4. The provider is excluded from participation in Medicare 
and Medicaid under state or federal exclusion requirements 
pursuant to the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services Office of Inspector General List of Excluded 
Individuals or Entities (LEIE) website. Immediately report 
in writing to DMAS any exclusion information discovered 
to (i) DMAS, ATTN: Program Integrity/Exclusions, 600 
East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219 or (ii) 
providerexclusion@dmas.virginia.gov. 

E. Out-of-network reimbursement rules. See 12VAC30-121-
90 for requirements for out-of-network reimbursement. 
12VAC30-121-160. (Reserved.) 
12VAC30-121-170. Model of care. 

A. For the purposes of this section, "model of care" or 
"MOC" means a comprehensive plan that (i) describes the 
plan's population; (ii) identifies measurable goals for 
providing high quality care and improving the health of the 
enrolled population; (iii) describes the plan's staff structure 
and care management roles; (iv) describes the 
interdisciplinary care team and the system for disseminating 
the model of care to plan staff and network providers; and (v) 
contains other information designed to ensure that the plans 
provide services that meet the needs of enrollees. 

B. All participating plans in partnership with contracted 
providers shall implement an evidence-based model of care. 
Participating plans shall meet all CMS MOC standards for 
Special Needs Plans as well as additional requirements 
established in the contract by the Commonwealth. The 
Virginia-specific MOC elements are in addition to CMS 
elements; likewise, the CMS and DMAS reviews and 
approvals are separate processes. Participating plans shall 
obtain approvals from both CMS and DMAS before a MOC 
is considered final and approved. 

C. Participating plans shall be permitted to cure problems 
with their MOC submissions after their initial submissions. 
Participating plans with MOCs scoring below 85% shall have 
the opportunity to improve their scores based on CMS and 
DMAS feedback on the elements and factors that require 
improvement. At the end of the review process, MOCs that 
do not meet CMS standards for approval will not be eligible 
for selection as participating plans. CMS standards for 
approval are issued to the states and made available on the 
DMAS website at 
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/altc/altc-fp1.pdf. 

12VAC30-121-180. (Reserved.) 
12VAC30-121-190. State fair hearing process. 

A. Notwithstanding the provisions of 12VAC30-110-10 
through 12VAC30-110-370, the provisions of this section 
govern state fair hearings for individuals enrolled in the CCC 
program. 

B. The Appeals Division maintains an appeals and fair 
hearings system for enrollees (also referred to as appellants) 
to challenge appeal decisions rendered by participating plans 
in response to enrollee appeals of actions related to Medicaid 
services. Exhaustion of the participating plan's appeals 
process is a prerequisite to filing for a state fair hearing with 
the department. Appellants who meet criteria for a state fair 
hearing shall be entitled to a hearing before a department 
hearing officer.  

C. The participating plan shall conduct an internal appeal 
hearing, pursuant to 42 CFR Part 431 Subpart E, 42 CFR Part 
438, and 12VAC30-110-10 through 12VAC30-110-370, and 
issue a written decision that includes its findings and 
information regarding the appellant's right to file an appeal 
with DMAS for a state fair hearing for Medicaid appeals.  

D. Enrollees must be notified in writing of the participating 
plan's internal appeals process: 

1. At the time of the request for services;  
2. With the evidence of coverage; and 
3. Upon receipt of a notice of action from the participating 
plan. 

E. Enrollees must be notified in writing of their right to an 
external appeal upon receipt of the participating plan's 
internal appeal decision. 

F. An appellant shall have the right to representation by an 
attorney or other individual of his choice at all stages of an 
appeal.  

1. For those appellants who wish to have a representative, a 
representative shall be designated in a written statement 
that is signed by the appellant whose Medicaid benefits 
were adversely affected. If the appellant is physically 
unable to sign a written statement, the division shall allow 
a family member or other person acting on the appellant's 
behalf to be the representative. If the appellant is mentally 
unable to sign a written statement, the division shall 
require written documentation that a family member or 
other person has been appointed or designated as his legal 
representative.  
2. If the representative is an attorney or a paralegal 
working under the supervision of an attorney, a signed 
statement by such attorney or paralegal that he is 
authorized to represent the appellant prepared on the 
attorney's letterhead shall be accepted as a designation of 
representation. 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/altc/altc-fp1.pdf
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3. A member of the same law firm as a designated 
representative shall have the same rights as the designated 
representative. 
4. An appellant may revoke representation by another 
person at any time. The revocation is effective when the 
department receives written notice from the appellant. 

G. Any [ written ] communication from an enrollee or his 
representative that clearly expresses that he wants to present 
his case to a reviewing authority shall constitute an appeal 
request.  

1. This communication should explain the basis for the 
appeal of the participating plan's internal appeal decision. 
2. The enrollee or his representative may examine 
witnesses or documents, or both; provide testimony; 
submit evidence; and advance relevant arguments during 
the hearing. 

H. Appeals to the state fair hearing process shall be made to 
the DMAS Appeals Division [ in writing, with the exception 
of expedited appeals, and may be made ] via U.S. mail, fax 
transmission, [ hand delivery telephone, email ], [ in person, ] 
or [ through other commonly available ] electronic 
[ transmission means ]. 

I. Expedited appeals referenced in subsection L of this 
section may be filed by telephone, or any of the methods set 
forth in subsection H of this section. 

J. Participating plans shall continue benefits while the 
participating plan's appeal or the state fair hearing is pending 
when all of the following criteria are met: 

1. The enrollee or representative files the appeal within 10 
calendar days of the mail date of the participating plan's 
internal appeal decision; 
2. The appeal involves the termination, suspension, or 
reduction of a previously authorized course of treatment; 
3. The services were ordered by an authorized provider;  
4. The original period covered by the initial authorization 
has not expired; and 
5. The enrollee requests continuation of benefits. 

K. After the final resolution and if the final resolution of the 
appeal is adverse to the enrollee (e.g., participating plan's 
internal appeal is upheld), the participating plan may recover 
the costs of services furnished to the enrollee while the appeal 
was pending, to the extent they were furnished solely because 
of the pending appeal. 

L. The department shall maintain an expedited process for 
appeals when an appellant's treating provider certifies that 
taking the time for a standard resolution could seriously 
jeopardize the enrollee's life or health or ability to attain, 
maintain, or regain maximum function. Expedited appeal 
decisions shall be issued as expeditiously as the enrollee's 
health condition requires, but no later than three business 
days after the agency receives a fair hearing request on an 

appeal decision to uphold denial of a service that it 
determines meets the criteria for expedited resolution.  
12VAC30-121-195. Appeal timeframes. 

A. Appeals to the Medicaid state fair hearing process must 
be filed with the DMAS Appeals Division within 60 days of 
the date of the participating plan's internal appeal decision, 
unless the time period is extended by DMAS upon a finding 
of good cause in accordance with state fair hearing 
regulations. 

B. It is presumed that appellants will receive the 
participating plan's internal appeal decision five days after the 
participating plan mails it unless the appellant shows that he 
did not receive the notice within the five-day period.  

C. A request for appeal on the grounds that the participating 
plan has not acted with reasonable promptness in response to 
an internal appeal request may be filed at any time until the 
participating plan has acted. 

D. The date of filing shall be the date the request is 
postmarked if mailed, or the date the request is received by 
the department if delivered other than by mail.  

E. Documents postmarked on or before a time limit's 
expiration shall be accepted as timely.  

F. In computing any time period under these regulations, the 
day of the act or event from which the designated period of 
time begins to run shall be excluded and the last day included. 
If a time limit would expire on a Saturday, Sunday, or state or 
federal holiday, it shall be extended until the next regular 
business day. 

G. An extension of the 60-day period for filing a request for 
appeal may be granted for good cause shown. Examples of 
good cause include, but are not limited to, the following 
situations: 

1. Appellant was seriously ill and was prevented by illness 
from contacting DMAS;  
2. The participating plan's decision was not sent to the 
appellant. The plan may rebut this claim by evidence that 
the decision was mailed to the appellant's last known 
address or that the decision was received by the appellant; 
3. Appellant sent the request for appeal to another 
government agency or another division within DMAS that 
is not the Appeals Division in good faith within the time 
limit; or 
4. Unusual or unavoidable circumstances prevented a 
timely filing. 

H. During the first year of the program, appeals shall be 
heard and decisions issued within 90 days of the postmark 
date (if delivered by U.S. mail) or receipt date (if delivered by 
any method other than U.S. mail).  

I. The timeframes for issuing decisions will change to 75 
days (during the second year of the program), and 30 days 
(during the third year of the program and thereafter). 
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J. Exceptions to standard appeal resolution timeframes. 
Decisions may be issued beyond the standard appeal 
resolution timeframes when the appellant or his representative 
requests or causes a delay. Decisions may also be issued 
beyond the standard appeal resolution timeframe when any of 
the following circumstances exist: 

1. The appellant or representative requests to reschedule or 
continue the hearing; 
2. The appellant or representative provides good cause for 
failing to keep a scheduled hearing appointment, and the 
Appeals Division reschedules the hearing; 
3. Inclement weather, unanticipated system outage, or the 
department's closure that prevents the hearing officer's 
ability to work; 
4. Following a hearing, the hearing officer orders an 
independent medical assessment as described in 
12VAC30-121-210; 
5. The hearing officer leaves the hearing record open after 
the hearing in order to receive additional evidence or 
argument from the appellant; 
6. The hearing officer receives additional evidence from a 
person other than the appellant or his representative and 
the appellant requests to comment on such evidence in 
writing or to have the hearing reconvened to respond to 
such evidence; or 
7. The Appeals Division determines that there is a need for 
additional information and documents how the delay is in 
the appellant's best interest. 

K. For delays requested or caused by an appellant or his 
representative the delay date for the decision will be 
calculated as follows: 

1. If an appellant or representative requests or causes a 
delay within 30 days of the request for a hearing, the 90-
day time limit will be extended by the number of days 
from the date when the first hearing was scheduled until 
the date to which the hearing is rescheduled. 
2. If an appellant or representative requests or causes a 
delay within 31 to 60 days of the request for a hearing, the 
90-day time limit will be extended by 1.5 times the number 
of days from the date when the first hearing was scheduled 
until the date to which the hearing is rescheduled. 
3. If an appellant or representative requests or causes a 
delay within 61 to 90 days of the request for a hearing, the 
90-day time limit will be extended by two times the 
number of days from the date when the first hearing was 
scheduled until the date to which the hearing is 
rescheduled. 

L. Post hearing delays requested or caused by an appellant 
or representative (e.g., requests for the record to be left open) 
will result in a day-for-day delay for the decision date. The 
department shall provide the appellant and representative with 

written notice of the reason for the decision delay and the 
delayed decision date, if applicable. 
12VAC30-121-200. Prehearing decisions. 

A. If the Appeals Division determines that any of the 
conditions as described in this subsection exist, a hearing will 
not be held, and the appeal process shall be terminated.  

1. A request for appeal may be invalidated if: 
a. It was not filed within the time limit imposed by 
12VAC30-121-195 or extended pursuant to 12VAC30-
121-195 J, and the hearing officer sends a letter to the 
appellant for an explanation as to why the appeal request 
was not filed timely, and 
(1) The appellant did not reply to the hearing officer's 
request within 10 calendar days for an explanation that 
met good cause criteria, or 
(2) The appellant did reply and the hearing officer had 
sufficient facts to determine that the reply did not meet 
good cause criteria pursuant to 12VAC30-121-195. 
b. The individual who filed the appeal (filer) is not the 
appellant, or parent of a minor appellant, and the hearing 
officer sends a letter to the filer requesting proof of his 
authority to appeal on behalf of the appellant, and 
(1) The filer did not reply to the hearing officer's request 
for authorization to represent the appellant within 10 
calendar days, or 
(2) The filer did reply and the hearing officer determined 
that the authorization submitted was insufficient to allow 
the filer to represent the appellant under the provisions of 
12VAC30-121-190 F. 

2. A request for appeal may be administratively dismissed 
if: 

a. The participating plan's internal appeals process was 
not exhausted prior to the enrollee's request for a state 
fair hearing; 
b. The issue of the appeal is not related to the 
participating plan's internal appeal decision; 
c. The action being appealed was not taken by DMAS or 
the participating plan; 
d. The services denied or terminated were Medicare 
covered services; or 
e. The sole issue is a federal or state law requiring an 
automatic change adversely affecting some or all 
beneficiaries. 

3. An appeal case may be closed if:  
a. The Appeals Division schedules a hearing and sends a 
written schedule letter notifying the appellant or his 
representative of the date, time, and location of the 
hearing; the appellant or his representative failed to 
appear at the scheduled hearing; and the hearing officer 
sends a letter to the appellant for an explanation as to 
why he failed to appear, and 
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(1) The appellant did not reply to the hearing officer's 
request within 10 calendar days for an explanation that 
met good cause criteria, or 
(2) The appellant did reply and the hearing officer 
determined that the reply did not meet good cause 
criteria. 
b. The Appeals Division sends a written schedule letter 
requesting that the appellant or his representative provide 
a telephone number at which he can be reached for a 
telephonic hearing, and the appellant or his representative 
failed to respond within 10 calendar days to the hearing 
officer's request for a telephone number at which he 
could be reached for a telephonic hearing. 
c. The appellant or his representative withdraws the 
appeal request [ in writing ]. [ If the appeal request is 
withdrawn orally, the Appeals Division shall (i) record 
the individual's statement and telephonic signature and 
(ii) send the affected individual written confirmation, via 
regular mail or electronic notification, in accordance with 
the individual's election. ] 
d. The participating plan approves the full amount, 
duration, and scope of services requested. 
e. The evidence in the record shows that the participating 
plan's decision was clearly in error and that the case 
should be fully resolved in the appellant's favor. 

B. The appellant shall have no opportunity to seek judicial 
review except in cases where the hearing officer receives and 
analyzes a response from the appellant or representative as 
described in subdivisions A 1 a (2), A 1 b (2), and A 3 a (2), 
and subsection C of this section.  

C. Remand to the participating plan. If the hearing officer 
determines from the record, without conducting a hearing, 
that the case might be resolved in the appellant's favor if the 
participating plan obtains and develops additional 
information, documentation, or verification, the hearing 
officer may remand the case to the participating plan for 
action consistent with the hearing officer's written 
instructions pursuant to 12VAC30-121-210 I.  

D. A letter shall be sent to the appellant or his representative 
that explains the determination made on his appeal. 
12VAC30-121-210. Hearing process and final decision. 

A. All hearings must be scheduled at a reasonable time, 
date, and place, and the appellant and his representative shall 
be notified in writing at least 15 days before the hearing. 

1. The hearing location will be determined by the Appeals 
Division. 
2. A hearing shall be rescheduled at the appellant's request 
no more than twice unless compelling reasons exist. 
3. Rescheduling the hearing at the appellant's request will 
result in automatic waiver of the 90-day (or 75-day or 30-
day) deadline for resolution of the appeal. The delay date 

for the decision will be calculated as set forth in 
12VAC30-121-195 K. 

B. The hearing shall be conducted by one or more hearing 
officers or other impartial individuals who have not been 
directly involved in the initial determination of the action in 
question or in the participating plan's appeal decision process. 
The hearing officer shall review the complete record for all 
participating plan decisions that are properly appealed, 
conduct informal, fact-gathering hearings, evaluate evidence 
presented, research the issues, and render a written final 
decision. 

C. Subject to the requirements of all applicable federal and 
state laws regarding privacy, confidentiality, disclosure, and 
personally identifiable information, the appeal record shall be 
made accessible to the appellant and representative at a 
convenient place and time before the date of the hearing, as 
well as during the hearing. The appellant and his 
representative may examine the content of the appellant's case 
file and all documents and records the department will rely on 
at the hearing except those records excluded by law.  

D. Appellants who require the attendance of witnesses or the 
production of records, memoranda, papers, and other 
documents at the hearing may request in writing the issuance 
of a subpoena. The request must be received by the 
department at least 10 working days before the scheduled 
hearing. Such request shall (i) include the witness's or 
respondent's name, home and work addresses, county or city 
of work and residence, and (ii) identify the sheriff's office that 
will serve the subpoena.  

E. The hearing officer shall conduct the hearing; decide on 
questions of evidence, procedure, and law; question 
witnesses; and assure that the hearing remains relevant to the 
issue or issues being appealed. The hearing officer shall 
control the conduct of the hearing and decide who may 
participate in or observe the hearing.  

F. Hearings shall be conducted in an informal, 
nonadversarial manner. The appellant or his representative 
shall have the right to bring witnesses, establish all pertinent 
facts and circumstances; present an argument without undue 
interference, and question or refute the testimony or evidence, 
including the opportunity to confront and cross-examine 
agency representatives.  

G. The rules of evidence shall not strictly apply. All 
relevant, nonrepetitive evidence may be admitted, but the 
probative weight of the evidence will be evaluated by the 
hearing officer.  

H. The hearing officer may leave the hearing record open for 
a specified period of time after the hearing in order to receive 
additional evidence or argument from the appellant or his 
representative. 

1. The hearing officer may order an independent medical 
assessment when the appeal involves medical issues, such 
as a diagnosis, an examining physician's report, or a 
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medical review team's decision, and the hearing officer 
determines that it is necessary to have an assessment by 
someone other than the person or team who made the 
original decision (e.g., to obtain more detailed medical 
findings about the impairments, to obtain technical or 
specialized medical information, or to resolve conflicts or 
differences in medical findings or assessments in the 
existing evidence). A medical assessment ordered pursuant 
to this regulation shall be at the department's expense and 
shall become part of the record. 
2. The hearing officer may receive evidence that was not 
presented by either party if the record indicates that such 
evidence exists, and the appellant or his representative 
requests to submit it or requests that the hearing officer 
secure it.  
3. If the hearing officer receives additional evidence from 
an entity other than the appellant or his representative, the 
hearing officer shall send a copy of such evidence to the 
appellant and his representative and give the appellant or 
his representative the opportunity to comment on such 
evidence in writing or to have the hearing reconvened to 
respond to such evidence. 
4. Any additional evidence received will become a part of 
the hearing record, but the hearing officer must determine 
whether or not it will be used in making the decision. 

I. After conducting the hearing, reviewing the record, and 
deciding questions of law, the hearing officer shall issue a 
written final decision that either sustains or reverses the 
participating plan's action or remands the case to the 
participating plan for further evaluation consistent with his 
written instructions. Some decisions may be a combination of 
these dispositions. The hearing officer's final decision shall be 
considered as the department's final administrative action 
pursuant to 42 CFR 431.244(f). The final decision shall 
include:  

1. Identification of the issue or issues; 
2. Relevant facts, to include a description of the procedural 
development of the case;  
3. Conclusions of law, regulations, and policy that relate to 
the issue or issues;  
4. Discussions, analysis of the accuracy of the participating 
plan's decision, conclusions, and hearing officer's decision;  
5. Further action, if any, to be taken by the participating 
plan to implement the decision;  
6. The deadline date by which further action must be taken; 
and  
7. A cover letter informing the appellant and his 
representative of the hearing officer's decision. The letter 
must indicate that the hearing officer's decision is final, 
and that the final decision may be appealed directly to 
circuit court. 

J. A copy of the hearing record shall be forwarded to the 
appellant and his representative with the final decision. 

K. An appellant who disagrees with the hearing officer's 
final decision described in this section may seek judicial 
review pursuant to the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-
4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and Rules of the 
Supreme Court of Virginia, Part Two A. Written instructions 
for requesting judicial review must be provided to the 
appellant or his representative with the hearing officer's 
decision, and upon request by the appellant or representative. 
12VAC30-121-220. Division appeal records. 

A. No person shall take from the division's custody any 
original record, paper, document, or exhibit that has been 
certified to the division except as the Appeals Division 
director or his designee authorizes, or as may be necessary to 
furnish or transmit copies for other official purposes.  

B. Information in the appellant's record can be released only 
to the appellant, his authorized representative, the 
participating plan, other entities for official purposes, and 
other persons named in a release of information authorization 
signed by an appellant or his representative. 

C. The fees to be charged and collected for any copy of 
division records will be in accordance with Virginia's 
Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of the Code 
of Virginia) or other controlling law. 

D. When copies are requested from records in the division's 
custody, the required fee shall be waived if the copies are 
requested in connection with an enrollee's own appeal. 
12VAC30-121-230. Provider appeals. 

A. The Appeals Division maintains an appeal process for 
enrolled providers of Medicaid services who have rendered 
services and are requesting to challenge a participating plan's 
internal appeal of an adverse decision regarding payment. The 
participating plan's internal appeal process is a prerequisite to 
filing for an external appeal to the department's appeal 
process. The appeal process is available to (i) enrolled 
Medicaid service providers that have rendered services and 
have been denied payment in whole or part for Medicaid 
covered services and (ii) enrolled Medicaid service providers 
who have received a Notice of Program Reimbursement or 
overpayment demand from the department or its contractors.  

B. Department provider appeals shall be conducted in 
accordance with the department's provider appeal regulations 
(12VAC30-20-500 et seq.), § 32.1-325 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia, and the Virginia Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-
4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

C. The department's external appeal decision shall be 
binding upon the participating plan and not subject to further 
appeal by the participating plan.  

D. If the provider is successful in its appeal, then the MMP 
shall reimburse it for the appealed issue. 
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12VAC30-121-240. (Reserved.) 
12VAC30-121-250. Marketing and enrollee 
communication standards for participating plans. 

A. Participating plans shall be subject to rules governing 
their marketing and enrollee communications as specified 
under §§ 1851(h) and 1932(d)(2) of the Social Security Act; 
42 CFR 422.111, 42 CFR 422.2260 et seq., 42 CFR 
423.120(b) and (c), 42 CFR 423.128, and 42 CFR 423.2260 
et seq.; and the Medicare Marketing Guidelines (Chapter 2 of 
the Medicare Managed Care Manual and Chapter 3 of the 
Prescription Drug Benefit Manual).  

1. Participating plans shall not be allowed to market 
directly to potential enrollees. Instead, plans may 
participate in group marketing events, provide general 
audience materials (such as general circulation brochures, 
and media and billboard advertisements), and provide 
responses to individual-initiated requests for enrollment.  
2. Participating plans shall receive prior approval of all 
marketing and enrollee communications materials except 
those that are exempt pursuant to 42 CFR 422.2262(b) and 
42 CFR 423.2262(b). 
3. Participating plans shall not begin marketing activity 
earlier than 90 days prior to the effective date of 
enrollment for the contract year.  

B. At a minimum, participating plans will provide current 
and prospective enrollees the following materials, subject to 
the rules regarding content and timing of enrollee receipt as 
applicable under § 1851(h) of the Social Security Act, 
42 CFR 422.111, 42 CFR 422.2260 et seq., 42 CFR 
423.120(b) and (c), 42 CFR 423.128, 42 CFR 423.2260 et 
seq., 42 CFR 438.10, 42 CFR 438.104, the three-way 
contract, and the Medicare Marketing Guidelines.  

C. Notification of formulary changes. The requirement at 
42 CFR 423.120(b)(5) that participating plans provide at least 
60 days advance notice regarding Medicare Part D formulary 
changes also applies to participating plans for outpatient 
prescription or over-the-counter drugs or products covered 
under Medicaid or as additional benefits.  
NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
FORMS (12VAC30-121) 

Agency or Consumer Direction Provider Plan of Care, 
DMAS-97A/B (rev. 3/10) 

Commonwealth Coordinated Care Enrollment Application 
Form 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(12VAC30-121) 

Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) Between the 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) and the 
Commonwealth of Virginia Regarding a Federal-State 
Partnership to Test a Capitated Financial Alignment Model 
for Medicare-Medicaid Enrollees (Commonwealth 
Coordinated Care), signed May 21, 2013 

Medical Marketing Guidelines, Centers for Medicare & 
Medicaid Services, revised June 17, 2014 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-3786; Filed June 19, 2017, 7:55 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 
2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 
of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 
Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 
of record. 
Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-170. Rules Governing 
Minimum Standards for Medicare Supplement Policies 
(amending 14VAC5-170-30, 14VAC5-170-60, 14VAC5-
170-85, 14VAC5-170-150; adding 14VAC5-170-87).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 
upon request. 
Public Comment Deadline: August 10, 2017. 
Agency Contact: James Young, Policy Advisor, Policy and 
Compliance Division, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation 
Commission, 1300 East Main Street, 6th Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219, mailing address: P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 371-9612, FAX (804) 371994, or 
email james.young@scc.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) conform the regulations to 
the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act of 
2015 (MACRA), which prohibits the sale of Medigap 
policies that cover Part B deductibles to newly eligible 
Medicare beneficiaries, defined as those individuals who 
have attained age 65 years on or after January 1, 2020, or 
first become eligible for Medicare due to age, disability, or 
end-stage renal disease on or after January 1, 2020, and 
(ii) update deductible amounts. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=72c39003786~2&typ=40&actno=003786&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=72c39003786~2&typ=40&actno=003786&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ac360003786~4&typ=40&actno=003786&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ac360003786~4&typ=40&actno=003786&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=13c27003786~1&typ=40&actno=003786&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=13c27003786~1&typ=40&actno=003786&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=13c27003786~1&typ=40&actno=003786&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=13c27003786~1&typ=40&actno=003786&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=13c27003786~1&typ=40&actno=003786&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=13c27003786~1&typ=40&actno=003786&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=702c3003786~3&typ=40&actno=003786&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=702c3003786~3&typ=40&actno=003786&mime=application/pdf
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AT RICHMOND, JUNE 20, 2017 
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 
STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2017-00141 
Ex Parte: In the matter of Amending 
the Rules Governing Minimum Standards 
for Medicare Supplement Policies 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 
Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides 

that the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall 
have the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 
enforcement and administration of all laws within its 
jurisdiction, and § 38.2-223 of the Code provides that the 
Commission may issue any rules and regulations necessary or 
appropriate for the administration and enforcement of Title 
38.2 of the Code. 

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission 
pursuant to § 38.2-223 of the Code are set forth in Title 14 of 
the Virginia Administrative Code. A copy may also be found 
at the Commission's website: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case.  

The Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") has submitted to the 
Commission proposed amendments to rules set forth in 
Chapter 170 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code 
entitled Rules Governing Minimum Standards for Medicare 
Supplement Policies, 14 VAC 5-170-10 et seq. ("Rules"), 
which amend the Rules at 14 VAC 5-170-30, 14 VAC 5-170-
60, 14 VAC 5-170-85, and 14 VAC 5-170-150, and add a 
new Rule at 14 VAC 5-170-87. 

The amendments to the Rules are necessary to conform to 
the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015 
("MACRA"), which was signed into law on April 16, 2015. 
This piece of legislation prohibits the sale of Medigap 
policies that cover Part B deductibles to "newly eligible" 
Medicare beneficiaries, defined as those individuals who have 
attained age 65 on or after January 1, 2020, or first become 
eligible for Medicare due to age, disability, or end-stage renal 
disease on or after January 1, 2020. In addition to the changes 
made pursuant to MACRA, the proposed amendments 
include updated deductible amounts. 

NOW THE COMMISSION is of the opinion that the 
proposed amendments submitted by the Bureau to amend the 
Rules at 14 VAC 5-170-30, 14 VAC 5-170-60, 14 VAC 5-
170-85, and 14 VAC 5-170-150, and add a new Rule at 
14 VAC 5-170-87, should be considered for adoption. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 
(1) The proposal to amend the Rules at 14 VAC 5-170-30, 

14 VAC 5-170-60, 14 VAC 5-170-85, and 14 VAC 5-170-
150, and add a new Rule at 14 VAC 5-170-87, is attached 
hereto and made a part hereof. 

(2) All interested persons who desire to comment in support 
of or in opposition to, or request a hearing to consider the 

amendments to the Rules, shall file such comments or hearing 
request on or before August 10, 2017, with Joel H. Peck, 
Clerk, State Corporation Commission, c/o Document Control 
Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218. Interested 
persons desiring to submit comments electronically may do 
so by following the instructions at the Commission's 
website:  http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. All comments 
shall refer to Case No. INS-2017-00141. 

(3) If no written request for a hearing on the proposal to 
amend the Rules is received on or before August 10, 2017, 
the Commission, upon consideration of any comments 
submitted in support of or in opposition to the proposal, may 
amend the Rules. 

(4) The Bureau forthwith shall provide notice to all health 
insurance issuers licensed to issue policies of accident and 
sickness insurance, subscription contracts, or evidences of 
coverage in this Commonwealth and to all interested persons. 

(5) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the 
proposal to amend the Rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia 
Registrar of Regulations for appropriate publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(6) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall make available this Order and the attached proposed 
amendment to the Rules on the Commission's website: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case.  

(7) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 
an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of 
Ordering Paragraph (4) above. 

(8) This matter is continued.  
AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 

the Commission to:  Kiva B. Pierce, Assistant Attorney 
General, Division of Consumer Counsel, Office of the 
Attorney General, 202 N. 9th Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219-3424; and a copy hereof shall be delivered to 
the Commission's Office of General Counsel and the Bureau 
of Insurance in care of Deputy Commissioner Julie S. 
Blauvelt. 
14VAC5-170-30. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"1990 standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan," 
"1990 standardized benefit plan" or "1990 plan" means a 
group or individual policy of Medicare supplement insurance 
issued on or after July 30, 1992, and with an effective date for 
coverage prior to June 1, 2010, and includes Medicare 
supplement insurance policies and certificates renewed on or 
after that date that are not replaced by the issuer at the request 
of the insured. 

"2010 standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan," 
"2010 standardized benefit plan" or "2010 plan" means a 
group or individual policy of Medicare supplement insurance 
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issued with an effective date for coverage on or after June 1, 
2010.  

"Applicant" means:  
1. In the case of an individual Medicare supplement policy, 
the person who seeks to contract for insurance benefits; 
and  
2. In the case of a group Medicare supplement policy, the 
proposed certificateholder.  

"Attained age rating" means a premium structure under 
which premiums are based on the covered individual's age at 
the time of application of the policy or certificate, and for 
which premiums increase based on the covered individual's 
increase in age during the life of the policy or certificate.  

"Bankruptcy" means when a Medicare Advantage 
organization that is not an issuer has filed, or has had filed 
against it, a petition for declaration of bankruptcy and has 
ceased doing business in this Commonwealth.  

"Certificate" means any certificate delivered or issued for 
delivery in this Commonwealth under a group Medicare 
supplement policy.  

"Certificate form" means the form on which the certificate is 
delivered or issued for delivery by the issuer.  

"Community rating" means a premium structure under 
which premium rates are the same for all covered individuals 
of all ages in a given area.  

"Continuous period of creditable coverage" means the 
period during which an individual was covered by creditable 
coverage, if during the period of the coverage the individual 
did not have a break in coverage greater than 63 days.  

"Creditable coverage" means, with respect to an individual, 
coverage of the individual provided under any of the 
following:  

1. A group health plan;  
2. Health insurance coverage;  
3. Part A or Part B of Title XVIII of the Social Security 
Act of 1935 (Medicare) (42 USC § 1395 et seq.);  
4. Title XIX of the Social Security Act of 1935 (Medicaid) 
(42 USC § 1396 et seq.), other than coverage consisting 
solely of benefits under § 1928;  
5. Chapter 55 of Title 10 of the United States Code 
(CHAMPUS) (TRICARE) (10 USC§§ 1071-1107);  
6. A medical care program of the Indian Health Service or 
of a tribal organization;  
7. A state health benefits risk pool;  
8. A health plan offered under the Federal Employees 
Health Benefits Act of 1959 (5 USC §§ 8901-8914);  
9. A public health plan as defined in federal regulation; and  
10. A health benefit plan under § 5(e) of the Peace Corps 
Act of 1961 (22 USC § 2504(e)).  

"Creditable coverage" shall not include one or more, or any 
combination of, the following:  

1. Coverage only for accident or disability income 
insurance, or any combination thereof;  
2. Coverage issued as a supplement to liability insurance;  
3. Liability insurance, including general liability insurance 
and automobile liability insurance;  
4. Workers' compensation or similar insurance;  
5. Automobile medical expense insurance;  
6. Credit-only insurance;  
7. Coverage for on-site medical clinics; and  
8. Other similar insurance coverage, specified in federal 
regulations, under which benefits for medical care are 
secondary or incidental to other insurance benefits.  

"Creditable coverage" shall not include the following 
benefits if they are provided under a separate policy, 
certificate or contract of insurance or are otherwise not an 
integral part of the plan:  

1. Limited scope dental or vision benefits;  
2. Benefits for long-term care, nursing home care, home 
health care, community-based care or any combination 
thereof; and  
3. Such other similar, limited benefits as are specified in 
federal regulations.  

"Creditable coverage" shall not include the following 
benefits if offered as independent, noncoordinated benefits:  

1. Coverage only for a specified disease or illness; and  
2. Hospital indemnity or other fixed indemnity insurance.  

"Creditable coverage" shall not include the following if it is 
offered as a separate policy, certificate or contract of 
insurance:  

1. Medicare supplement health insurance as defined under 
§ 1882(g)(1) of the Social Security Act of 1935 (42 USC 
§ 1395ss);  
2. Coverage supplemental to the coverage provided under 
Chapter 55 of Title 10 of the United States Code (10 USC 
§§ 1071-1107); and  
3. Similar supplemental coverage provided to coverage 
under a group health plan.  

"Employee welfare benefit plan" means a plan, fund or 
program of employee benefits as defined in the Employee 
Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (29 USC § 1002).  

"Insolvency" means when an issuer, duly licensed to transact 
an insurance business in this Commonwealth in accordance 
with the provisions of Chapter 10, 41, 42 or 43, respectively, 
of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia, is determined to be 
insolvent and placed under a final order of liquidation by a 
court of competent jurisdiction.  

"Issue age rating" means a premium structure based upon 
the covered individual's age at the time of purchase of the 
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policy or certificate. Under an issue age rating structure, 
premiums do not increase due to the covered individual's 
increase in age during the life of the policy or certificate.  

"Issuer" includes insurance companies, fraternal benefit 
societies, corporations licensed pursuant to Chapter 42 of 
Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia to offer health services 
plans, health maintenance organizations, and any other entity 
delivering or issuing for delivery in this Commonwealth 
Medicare supplement policies or certificates.  

"Medicare" means the "Health Insurance for the Aged Act," 
Title XVIII of the Social Security Act (42 USC § 1395 et 
seq.), as then constituted or later amended.  

"Medicare Advantage plan" means a plan of coverage for 
health benefits under Medicare Part C as defined in § 1859 
(42 USC § 1395w-28(b)(1) of the Social Security Act, and 
includes:  

1. Coordinated care plans which that provide health care 
services, including but not limited to health maintenance 
organization plans (with or without a point-of-service 
option), plans offered by provider-sponsored organizations, 
and preferred provider organization plans;  
2. Medical savings account plans coupled with a 
contribution into a Medicare Advantage medical savings 
account; and  
3. Medicare Advantage private fee-for-service plans.  

"Medicare supplement policy" means a group or individual 
policy of accident and sickness insurance or a subscriber 
contract of health service plans or health maintenance 
organizations, other than a policy issued pursuant to a 
contract under § 1876 of the federal Social Security Act of 
1935 (42 USC § 1395 et seq.) or an issued policy under a 
demonstration project specified in 42 USC § 1395ss(g)(1), 
which is advertised, marketed or designed primarily as a 
supplement to reimbursements under Medicare for the 
hospital, medical or surgical expenses of persons eligible for 
Medicare. "Medicare supplement policy" does not include 
Medicare Advantage plans established under Medicare Part 
C, Outpatient Prescription Drug plans established under 
Medicare Part D, or any Health Care Prepayment Plan that 
provides benefits pursuant to an agreement under 
§ 1833(a)(1)(A) of the Social Security Act.  

"Policy form" means the form on which the policy is 
delivered or issued for delivery by the issuer.  

"Prestandardized Medicare supplement benefit plan," 
"prestandardized benefit plan" or "prestandardized plan" 
means a group or individual policy of Medicare supplement 
insurance issued prior to July 30, 1992. 

"Secretary" means the Secretary of the United States U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services.  

14VAC5-170-60. Minimum benefit standards for 
prestandardized Medicare supplement benefits plan 
policies or certificates issued for delivery prior to July 30, 
1992.  

A. No policy or certificate may be advertised, solicited or 
issued for delivery in this Commonwealth as a Medicare 
supplement policy or certificate unless it meets or exceeds the 
following minimum standards. These are minimum standards 
and do not preclude the inclusion of other provisions or 
benefits which that are not inconsistent with these standards.  

B. The following standards apply to Medicare supplement 
policies and certificates and are in addition to all other 
requirements of this chapter.  

1. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall not 
exclude or limit benefits for a loss incurred more than six 
months from the effective date of coverage because it 
involved a preexisting condition. The policy or certificate 
shall not define a preexisting condition more restrictively 
than a condition for which medical advice was given or 
treatment was recommended by or received from a 
physician within six months before the effective date of 
coverage.  
2. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall not 
indemnify against losses resulting from sickness on a 
different basis than losses resulting from accidents.  
3. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 
provide that benefits designed to cover cost sharing 
amounts under Medicare will be changed automatically to 
coincide with any changes in the applicable Medicare 
deductible, copayment or coinsurance amounts. Premiums 
may be modified to correspond with such changes.  
4. A "noncancellable," "guaranteed renewable," or 
"noncancellable and guaranteed renewable" Medicare 
supplement policy shall not:  

a. Provide for termination of coverage of a spouse solely 
because of the occurrence of an event specified for 
termination of coverage of the insured, other than the 
nonpayment of premium; or  
b. Be cancelled canceled or nonrenewed by the issuer 
solely on the grounds of deterioration of health.  

5. a. Except as authorized by the State Corporation 
Commission, an issuer shall neither cancel nor nonrenew a 
Medicare supplement policy or certificate for any reason 
other than nonpayment of premium or material 
misrepresentation.  

b. If a group Medicare supplement insurance policy is 
terminated by the group policyholder and not replaced as 
provided in subdivision 5 d of this subsection, the issuer 
shall offer certificateholders an individual Medicare 
supplement policy. The issuer shall offer the 
certificateholder at least the following choices:  
(1) An individual Medicare supplement policy currently 
offered by the issuer having comparable benefits to those 
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contained in the terminated group Medicare supplement 
policy; and  
(2) An individual Medicare supplement policy which that 
provides only such benefits as are required to meet the 
minimum standards as defined in 14VAC5-170-75 C.  
c. If membership in a group is terminated, the issuer 
shall:  
(1) Offer the certificateholder the conversion 
opportunities described in subdivision 5 b of this 
subsection; or  
(2) At the option of the group policyholder, offer the 
certificateholder continuation of coverage under the 
group policy.  
d. If a group Medicare supplement policy is replaced by 
another group Medicare supplement policy purchased by 
the same policyholder, the issuer of the replacement 
policy shall offer coverage to all persons covered under 
the old group policy on its date of termination. Coverage 
under the new group policy shall not result in any 
exclusion for preexisting conditions that would have 
been covered under the group policy being replaced.  

6. Termination of a Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate shall be without prejudice to any continuous loss 
which commenced while the policy was in force, but the 
extension of benefits beyond the period during which the 
policy was in force may be predicated upon the continuous 
total disability of the insured, limited to the duration of the 
policy benefit period, if any, or to payment of the 
maximum benefits. Receipt of Medicare Part D benefits 
will not be considered in determining a continuous loss.  
7. If a Medicare supplement policy is modified to eliminate 
an outpatient prescription drug benefit as a result of 
requirements imposed by the Medicare Prescription Drug, 
Improvement, and Modernization Act of 2003 (42 USC 
§ 1395w-101), the modified policy shall be deemed to 
satisfy the guaranteed renewal requirements of this 
subsection.  

C. Minimum benefit standards.  
1. Coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses for 
hospitalization to the extent not covered by Medicare from 
the 61st day through the 90th day in any Medicare benefit 
period;  
2. Coverage for either all or none of the Medicare Part A 
inpatient hospital deductible amount;  
3. Coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses incurred 
as daily hospital charges during use of Medicare's lifetime 
hospital inpatient reserve days;  
4. Upon exhaustion of all Medicare hospital inpatient 
coverage including the lifetime reserve days, coverage of 
90% of all Medicare Part A eligible expenses for 
hospitalization not covered by Medicare subject to a 
lifetime maximum benefit of an additional 365 days;  

5. Coverage under Medicare Part A for the reasonable cost 
of the first three pints of blood (or equivalent quantities of 
packed red blood cells, as defined under federal 
regulations) unless replaced in accordance with federal 
regulations or already paid for under Part B;  
6. Coverage for the coinsurance amount, or in the case of 
hospital outpatient department services paid under a 
prospective payment system, the copayment amount of 
Medicare eligible expenses under Part B regardless of 
hospital confinement, subject to a maximum calendar year 
out-of-pocket amount equal to the Medicare Part B 
deductible $100 established by the Centers for Medicare 
and Medicaid Services;  
7. Effective January 1, 1990, coverage under Medicare Part 
B for the reasonable cost of the first three pints of blood (or 
equivalent quantities of packed red blood cells, as defined 
under federal regulations), unless replaced in accordance 
with federal regulations or already paid for under Part A, 
subject to the Medicare deductible amount.  

14VAC5-170-85. Standard plans for 2010 standardized 
Medicare supplement policies delivered on or after June 
1, 2010. 

A. The following standard plans are applicable to all 
Medicare supplement benefit plan policies or certificates 
delivered or issued for delivery in this Commonwealth with 
an effective date for coverage on or after June 1, 2010. No 
policy or certificate may be advertised, solicited, delivered or 
issued for delivery in this Commonwealth as a Medicare 
supplement policy or certificate unless it complies with these 
benefit plan standards. Benefit plan standards applicable to 
Medicare supplement policies and certificates issued with an 
effective date for coverage before June 1, 2010, remain 
subject to the requirements of 14VAC5-170-80. 

B. 1. An issuer shall make available to each prospective 
policyholder and certificateholder a policy form or certificate 
form containing only the basic (core) benefits, as defined in 
14VAC5-170-75 C. 

2. If an issuer makes available any of the additional 
benefits described in 14VAC5-170-75 D, or offers 
standardized benefit Plans K or L (as described in 
subdivisions F 8 and F 9 of this section), then the issuer 
shall make available to each prospective policyholder and 
certificateholder, in addition to a policy form or certificate 
form with only the basic (core) benefits as described in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection, a policy form or certificate 
form containing either standardized benefit Plan C (as 
described in subdivision F 3 of this section) or 
standardized benefit Plan F (as described in subdivision F 
5 of this section). 

C. No groups, packages or combinations of Medicare 
supplement benefits other than those listed in this section 
shall be offered for sale in this Commonwealth, except as 
may be permitted in subsection G of this section and 
14VAC5-170-90. 
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D. Benefit plans shall be uniform in structure, language, 
designation and format to the standard benefit plans listed in 
this subsection and conform to the definitions in 14VAC5-
170-30. Each benefit shall be structured in accordance with 
the format provided in 14VAC5-170-75 C and D; or, in the 
case of plans K or L, in subdivision F 8 or F 9 of this section 
and list the benefits in the order shown. For purposes of this 
section, the term "structure, language, and format" means 
style, arrangement and overall content of a benefit. 

E. In addition to the benefit plan designations required in 
subsection D of this section, an issuer may use other 
designations to the extent permitted by law. 

F. Make-up of 2010 standardized benefit plans: 
1. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan A shall 
include only the basic (core) benefits as defined in 
14VAC5-170-75 C. 
2. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan B shall 
include only the basic (core) benefit as defined in 
14VAC5-170-75 C, plus 100% of the Medicare Part A 
deductible as defined in 14VAC5-170-75 D 1. 
3. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan C shall 
include only the basic (core) benefit as defined in 
14VAC5-170-75 C, plus 100% of the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, 100% of the 
Medicare Part B deductible, and medically necessary 
emergency care in a foreign country as defined in 
14VAC5-170-75 D 1, 3, 4 and 6, respectively. 
4. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan D shall 
include only the basic (core) benefit as defined in 
14VAC5-170-75 C, plus 100% of the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, and medically 
necessary emergency care in an foreign country as defined 
in 14VAC5-170-75 D 1, 3 and 6, respectively. 
5. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan F shall 
include only the basic (core) benefit as defined in 
14VAC5-170-75 C, plus 100% of the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, 100% of the 
Medicare Part B deductible, 100% of the Medicare Part B 
excess charges, and medically necessary emergency care in 
a foreign country as defined in 14VAC5-170-75 D 1, 3, 4, 
5 and 6, respectively. 
6. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan F With 
High Deductible shall include only 100% of covered 
expenses following the payment of the annual deductible 
as defined in subdivision 6 b of this subsection.  

a. The basic (core) benefit as defined in 14VAC5-170-75 
C, plus 100% of the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled 
nursing facility care, 100% of the Medicare Part B 
deductible, 100% of the Medicare Part B excess charges, 
and medically necessary emergency care in a foreign 
country as defined in 14VAC5-170-75 D 1, 3, 4, 5 and 6, 
respectively.  

b. The annual deductible in Plan F With High Deductible 
shall consist of out-of-pocket expenses, other than 
premiums, for services covered by Plan F, and shall be in 
addition to any other specific benefit deductibles. The 
basis for the deductible shall be $1,500 and shall be 
adjusted annually from 1999 by the Secretary of the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services to reflect the 
change in the Consumer Price Index for all urban 
consumers for the 12-month period ending with August 
of the preceding year, and rounded to the nearest multiple 
of $10. 

7. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan G shall 
include only the basic (core) benefit as defined in 
14VAC5-170-75 C, plus 100% of the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, 100% of the 
Medicare Part B excess charges, and medically necessary 
emergency care in a foreign country as defined in 
14VAC5-170-75 D 1, 3, 5 and 6, respectively. Effective 
January 1, 2020, the standardized benefit plans described 
in 14VAC5-170-87 D 3 (Plan G with High Deductible) 
may be offered to any individual who was eligible for 
Medicare prior to January 1, 2020.  
8. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan K is 
mandated by the Medicare Prescription Drug, 
Improvement and Modernization Act of 2003, and shall 
include only the following:  

a. Part A hospital coinsurance 61st through 90th days: 
Coverage of 100% of the Part A hospital coinsurance 
amount for each day used from the 61st through the 90th 
day in any Medicare benefit period; 
b. Part A hospital coinsurance, 91st through 150th days: 
Coverage of 100% of the Part A hospital coinsurance 
amount for each Medicare lifetime inpatient reserve day 
used from the 91st through the 150th day in any 
Medicare benefit period; 
c. Part A hospitalization after 150 days: Upon exhaustion 
of the Medicare hospital inpatient coverage, including the 
lifetime reserve days, coverage of 100% of the Medicare 
Part A eligible expenses for hospitalization paid at the 
applicable prospective payment system (PPS) rate, or 
other appropriate Medicare standard of payment, subject 
to a lifetime maximum benefit of an additional 365 days. 
The provider shall accept the issuer's payment as 
payment in full and may not bill the insured for any 
balance; 
d. Medicare Part A deductible: Coverage for 50% of the 
Medicare Part A inpatient hospital deductible amount per 
benefit period until the out-of-pocket limitation is met as 
described in subdivision 8 j of this subsection; 
e. Skilled nursing facility care: Coverage for 50% of the 
coinsurance amount for each day used from the 21st day 
through the 100th day in a Medicare benefit period for 
posthospital skilled nursing facility care eligible under 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 10, 2017 

2574 

Medicare Part A until the out-of-pocket limitation is met 
as described in subdivision 8 j of this subsection; 
f. Hospice care: Coverage for 50% of cost sharing for all 
Part A Medicare eligible expenses and respite care until 
the out-of-pocket limitation is met as described in 
subdivision 8 j of this subsection; 
g. Blood: Coverage for 50%, under Medicare Part A or 
B, of the reasonable cost of the first three pints of blood 
(or equivalent quantities of packed red blood cells, as 
defined under federal regulations) unless replaced in 
accordance with federal regulations until the out-of-
pocket limitation is met as described in subdivision 8 j of 
this subsection; 
h. Part B cost sharing: Except for coverage provided in 
subdivision 8 i of this subsection, coverage for 50% of 
the cost sharing otherwise applicable under Medicare 
Part B after the policyholder pays the Part B deductible 
until the out-of-pocket limitation is met as described in 
subdivision 8 j of this subsection;  
i. Part B preventive services: Coverage of 100% of the 
cost sharing for Medicare Part B preventive services after 
the policyholder pays the Part B deductible; and 
j. Cost sharing after out-of-pocket limits: Coverage of 
100% of all cost sharing under Medicare Parts A and B 
for the balance of the calendar year after the individual 
has reached the out-of-pocket limitation on annual 
expenditures under Medicare Parts A and B of $4,000 in 
2006, indexed each year by the appropriate inflation 
adjustment specified by the Secretary of the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services. 

9. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan L is 
mandated by the Medicare Prescription Drug, 
Improvement and Modernization Act of 2003, and shall 
include only the following: 

a. The benefits described in subdivisions 8 a, b, c and i of 
this subsection; 
b. The benefit described in subdivisions 8 d, e, f, g and h 
of this subsection, but substituting 75% for 50%; and 
c. The benefit described in subdivision 8 j of this 
subsection, but substituting $2,000 for $4,000. 

10. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan M 
shall include only the basic (core) benefit as defined in 
14VAC5-170-75 C, plus 50% of the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, and medically 
necessary emergency care in a foreign country as defined 
in 14VAC5-170-75 D 2, 3 and 6, respectively. 
11. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan N shall 
include only the basic (core) benefit as defined in 
14VAC5-170-75 C, plus 100% of the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, and medically 
necessary emergency care in a foreign country as defined 
in 14VAC5-170-75 D 1, 3 and 6, respectively, with 
copayments in the following amounts:  

a. The lesser of $20 or the Medicare Part B coinsurance 
or copayment for each covered health care provider 
office visit (including visits to medical specialists); and  
b. The lesser of $50 or the Medicare Part B coinsurance 
or copayment for each covered emergency room visit; 
however, this copayment shall be waived if the insured is 
admitted to any hospital and the emergency visit is 
subsequently covered as a Medicare Part A expense.  

G. New or innovative benefits. An issuer may, with the prior 
approval of the commission, offer policies or certificates with 
new or innovative benefits, in addition to the standardized 
benefits provided in a policy or certificate that otherwise 
complies with the applicable standards. The new or 
innovative benefits shall include only benefits that are 
appropriate to Medicare supplement insurance, are new or 
innovative, are not otherwise available, and are cost-effective. 
Approval of new or innovative benefits must not adversely 
impact the goal of Medicare supplement simplification. New 
or innovative benefits shall not include an outpatient 
prescription drug benefit. New or innovative benefits shall 
not be used to change or reduce benefits, including a change 
of any cost-sharing provision, in any standardized plan. 
14VAC5-170-87. Standard plans for 2020 standardized 
Medicare supplement policies delivered to individuals 
newly eligible for Medicare on or after January 1, 2020. 

A. This section applies only to individuals who are newly 
eligible for Medicare on or after January 1, 2020: 

1. By reason of attaining age 65 years on or after January 
1, 2020; or 
2. By reason of entitlement to benefits under part A 
pursuant to § 226(b) or 226A of the Social Security Act, or 
who is deemed to be eligible for benefits under § 226(a) of 
the Social Security Act on or after January 1, 2020. 

B. No policy or certificate that provides coverage of the 
Medicare Part B deductible may be advertised, solicited, 
delivered, or issued for delivery in the Commonwealth as a 
Medicare supplement policy or certificate to individuals 
newly eligible for Medicare on or after January 1, 2020. All 
such policies must comply with the benefit standards 
contained in subsection D of this section. Benefit plan 
standards applicable to Medicare supplement policies and 
certificates issued to individuals eligible for Medicare before 
January 1, 2020, remain subject to the requirements of 
14VAC5-170-75 and 14VAC5-170-85. 

C. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plans C, F, 
and F with High Deductible may not be offered to individuals 
newly eligible for Medicare on or after January 1, 2020. For 
purposes of this section, the reference to Plans C or F 
contained in 14VAC5-170-85 B 2 is deemed a reference to 
Plan D or G, respectively. 

D. The standards and requirements of 14VAC5-170-85 shall 
apply to all Medicare supplement policies or certificates 
delivered or issued for delivery to individuals newly eligible 
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for Medicare on or after January 1, 2020, with the following 
exceptions: 

1. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan D 
(previously Plan C) shall provide the benefits contained in 
14VAC5-170-85 F 3 but shall not provide coverage for 
100% or any portion of the Medicare Part B deductible. 
2. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan G 
(previously Plan F) shall provide the benefits contained in 
14VAC5-170-85 F 5 but shall not provide coverage for 
100% or any portion of the Medicare Part B deductible. 
3. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan G with 
High Deductible (previously Plan F with High Deductible) 
shall provide the benefits contained in 14VAC5-170-85 F 6 
but shall not provide coverage for 100% or any portion of 
the Medicare Part B deductible; provided further that the 
Medicare Part B deductible paid by the beneficiary shall be 
considered an out-of-pocket expense in meeting the annual 
high deductible. 

E. For purposes of 14VAC5-170-105 E, in the case of any 
individual newly eligible for Medicare on or after January 1, 
2020, any reference to a Medicare supplement policy C or F 
(including F with High Deductible) shall be deemed to be a 
reference to Medicare supplement policy D or G (including G 
with High Deductible), respectively. 
14VAC5-170-150. Required disclosure provisions. 

A. General rules.  
1. Medicare supplement policies and certificates shall 
include a renewal or continuation provision. The language 
or specifications of such provision shall be consistent with 
the type of contract issued. The provision shall be 
appropriately captioned, shall appear on the first page of 
the policy, and shall include any reservation by the issuer 
of the right to change premiums and any automatic renewal 
premium increases based on the policyholder's age. 
Medicare supplement policies or certificates which are 
attained age rated shall include a clear and prominent 
statement, in at least 14 point type, disclosing that 
premiums will increase due to changes in age and the 
frequency under which such changes will occur.  
2. Except for riders or endorsements by which the issuer 
effectuates a request made in writing by the insured, 
exercises a specifically reserved right under a Medicare 
supplement policy, or is required to reduce or eliminate 
benefits to avoid duplication of Medicare benefits, all 
riders or endorsements added to a Medicare supplement 
policy after date of issue or at reinstatement or renewal 
which reduce or eliminate benefits or coverage in the 
policy shall require a signed acceptance by the insured. 
After the date of policy or certificate issue, any rider or 
endorsement which increases benefits or coverage with a 
concomitant increase in premium during the policy term 
shall be agreed to in writing signed by the insured, unless 
the benefits are required by the minimum standards for 

Medicare supplement policies, or if the increased benefits 
or coverage is required by law. Where a separate additional 
premium is charged for benefits provided in connection 
with riders or endorsements, the premium charge shall be 
set forth in the policy.  
3. Medicare supplement policies or certificates shall not 
provide for the payment of benefits based on standards 
described as "usual and customary," "reasonable and 
customary" or words of similar import.  
4. If a Medicare supplement policy or certificate contains 
any limitations with respect to preexisting conditions, such 
limitations shall appear as a separate paragraph of the 
policy and be labeled as "Preexisting Condition 
Limitations."  
5. Medicare supplement policies and certificates shall have 
a notice prominently printed on the first page of the policy 
or certificate or attached thereto stating in substance that 
the policyholder or certificateholder shall have the right to 
return the policy or certificate within 30 days of its 
delivery and to have all premiums made for the policy 
refunded if, after examination of the policy or certificate, 
the insured person is not satisfied for any reason.  
6. Issuers of accident and sickness policies or certificates 
which provide hospital or medical expense coverage on an 
expense incurred or indemnity basis to a person or persons 
eligible for Medicare shall provide to those applicants a 
Guide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare in the 
form developed jointly by the National Association of 
Insurance Commissioners and the Centers for Medicare 
and Medicaid Services and in a type size no smaller than 
12 point type. Delivery of the guide shall be made whether 
or not such policies or certificates are advertised, solicited 
or issued as Medicare supplement policies or certificates as 
defined in this chapter. Except in the case of direct 
response issuers, delivery of the guide shall be made to the 
applicant at the time of application and acknowledgement 
of receipt of the guide shall be obtained by the issuer. 
Direct response issuers shall deliver the guide to the 
applicant upon request but not later than at the time the 
policy is delivered.  

For the purposes of this section, "form" means the language, 
format, type size, type proportional spacing, bold character, 
and line spacing.  

B. Notice requirements.  
1. As soon as practicable, but no later than 30 days prior to 
the annual effective date of any Medicare benefit changes, 
an issuer shall notify its policyholders and 
certificateholders of modifications it has made to Medicare 
supplement insurance policies or certificates in a format 
acceptable to the State Corporation Commission. The 
notice shall:  

a. Include a description of revisions to the Medicare 
program and a description of each modification made to 
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the coverage provided under the Medicare supplement 
policy or certificate; and  
b. Inform each policyholder or certificateholder as to 
when any premium adjustment is to be made due to 
changes in Medicare.  

2. The notice of benefit modifications and any premium 
adjustments shall be in outline form and in clear and 
simple terms so as to facilitate comprehension.  
3. Such notices shall not contain or be accompanied by any 
solicitation.  

C. Issuers shall comply with any notice requirements of the 
Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement, and 
Modernization Act of 2003 (42 USC § 1395w-101).  

D. Outline of coverage requirements for Medicare 
Supplement Policies.  

1. Issuers shall provide an outline of coverage to all applicants 
at the time the application is presented to the prospective 
applicant and, except for direct response policies, shall obtain 
an acknowledgement of receipt of the outline from the 
applicant; and  
2. If an outline of coverage is provided at the time of 
application and the Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate is issued on a basis which would require 
revision of the outline, a substitute outline of coverage 

properly describing the policy or certificate shall 
accompany such policy or certificate when it is delivered 
and contain the following statement, in no less than 12 
point type, immediately above the company name:  

"NOTICE: Read this outline of coverage carefully. It is 
not identical to the outline of coverage provided upon 
application and the coverage originally applied for has 
not been issued."  

3. The outline of coverage provided to applicants pursuant 
to this section consists of four parts: a cover page, 
premium information, disclosure pages, and charts 
displaying the features of each benefit plan offered by the 
issuer. The outline of coverage shall be in the language and 
format prescribed below in no less than 12 point type. All 
plans shall be shown on the cover page, and the plan(s) 
plans that are offered by the issuer shall be prominently 
identified. Premium information for plans that are offered 
shall be shown on the cover page or immediately following 
the cover page and shall be prominently displayed. The 
premium and mode shall be stated for all plans that are 
offered to the prospective applicant. All possible premiums 
for the prospective applicant shall be illustrated.  
4. The following items shall be included in the outline of 
coverage in the order prescribed in the following table.  

Benefit Chart of Medicare Supplement Plans Sold with Effective Dates on or after June 1, 2010  
This chart shows the benefits included in each of the standard Medicare supplement plans. Every company must make Plan A 

available.  
Some plans may not be available in your state. 

Plans E, H, I and J are no longer available for sale after June 1, 2010. [This sentence shall not appear after June 1, 2011.]  
Plans C, F, and high deductible F are no longer available for sale to those who are newly eligible, as defined in 14VAC5-170-87, on or 

after January 1, 2020. 
Note that the numerical figures in the following charts, including out-of-pocket limits and deductible amounts, are current as of 

January 1, 2018, and are subject to change. 
Basic benefits: 

Hospitalization – Part A coinsurance plus coverage for 365 additional days after Medicare benefits end. 
Medical expenses – Part B coinsurance (generally 20% of Medicare-approved expenses) or copayments for hospital outpatient 
services. Plans K, L and N require insureds to pay a portion of Part B coinsurance or copayments. 
Blood – First three pints of blood each year. 
Hospice – Part A coinsurance. 

A B C D F F* G K L M N 

Basic,  
including 
100% Part B 
coinsurance 

Basic, 
including 
100% Part B 
coinsurance 

Basic, 
including 
100% Part B 
coinsurance 

Basic, 
including 
100% Part B 
coinsurance 

Basic, 
including 
100% Part B 
coinsurance* 

Basic, 
including 
100% Part B 
coinsurance 

Hospitalization 
and preventive 
care paid at 
100%; other 
basic benefits 
paid at 50% 

Hospitalization 
and preventive 
care paid at 
100%; other 
basic benefits 
paid at 75% 

Basic,  
including 
100% Part B 
coinsurance 

Basic, 
including 
100% Part B 
coinsurance, 
except up to 
$20 
copayment 
for office 
visit, and up 
to $50 
copayment 
for ER 
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    Skilled 
nursing 
facility 
coinsurance 

Skilled 
nursing 
facility 
coinsurance 

Skilled 
nursing 
facility 
coinsurance 

Skilled 
nursing 
facility 
coinsurance 

50% skilled 
nursing facility 
coinsurance 

75% skilled 
nursing facility 
coinsurance 

Skilled 
nursing 
facility 
coinsurance 

Skilled 
nursing 
facility 
coinsurance 

  Part A 
deductible 

Part A 
deductible 

Part A 
deductible 

Part A 
deductible 

Part A 
deductible 

50% Part A 
deductible 

75% Part A 
deductible 

50% Part A 
deductible 

Part A 
deductible 

    Part B 
deductible 

  Part B 
deductible 

          

        Part B 
excess 
(100%) 

Part B 
excess 
(100%) 

        

    Foreign 
travel 
emergency 

Foreign 
travel 
emergency 

Foreign 
travel 
emergency 

Foreign 
travel 
emergency 

    Foreign 
travel 
emergency 

Foreign 
travel 
emergency 

            Out-of-pocket 
limit $4,620 
$4,940; paid at 
100% after 
limit reached 

Out-of-pocket 
limit $2,310 
$2,470; paid at 
100% after 
limit reached 

    

*Plan F also has an option called a high deductible Plan F. This high deductible plan pays the same benefits as Plan F after 
one has paid a calendar year $2,000 $2,180 deductible. Benefits from high deductible Plan F will not begin until out-of-
pocket expenses exceed $2,000 $2,180. Out-of-pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that would ordinarily be paid 
by the policy. These expenses include the Medicare deductibles for Part A and Part B, but do not include the plan's separate 
foreign travel emergency deductible.  

PREMIUM INFORMATION  
Boldface Type  

We [insert issuer's name] can only raise your premium if we raise the premium for all policies like yours in this 
Commonwealth. [If the premium is based on attained age of the insured, include the following information:  

1. When premiums will change;  
2. The current premium for all ages;  
3. A statement that premiums for other Medicare Supplement policies that are issue age or community rated do not increase 
due to changes in your age; and  
4. A statement that while the cost of this policy at the covered individual's present age may be lower than the cost of a 
Medicare supplement policy that is based on issue age or community rated, it is important to compare the potential cost of 
these policies over the life of the policy.]  

DISCLOSURES  
Boldface Type  

Use this outline to compare benefits and premiums among policies. 
This outline shows benefits and premiums of policies sold for effective dates on or after June 1, 2010. Policies sold for 

effective dates prior to June 1, 2010, have different benefits and premiums. Plans E, H, I and J are no longer available for sale 
after June 1, 2010. [This paragraph shall not appear after June 1, 2011.]  

READ YOUR POLICY VERY CAREFULLY  
Boldface Type  

This is only an outline describing your policy's most important features. The policy is your insurance contract. You must read 
the policy itself to understand all of the rights and duties of both you and your insurance company.  

RIGHT TO RETURN POLICY  
Boldface Type  

If you find that you are not satisfied with your policy, you may return it to [insert issuer's address]. If you send the policy back 
to us within 30 days after you receive it, we will treat the policy as if it had never been issued and return all of your payments.  



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 10, 2017 

2578 

POLICY REPLACEMENT  
Boldface Type  

If you are replacing another health insurance policy, do NOT cancel it until you have actually received your new policy and 
are sure you want to keep it.  

NOTICE  
Boldface Type  

This policy may not fully cover all of your medical costs.  
[for agents:]  
Neither [insert company's name] nor its agents are connected with Medicare.  
[for direct response:]  
[insert company's name] is not connected with Medicare.  
This outline of coverage does not give all the details of Medicare coverage. Contact your local Social Security Office or 

consult "Medicare & You" for more details.  
COMPLETE ANSWERS ARE VERY IMPORTANT  

Boldface Type  
When you fill out the application for the new policy, be sure to answer truthfully and completely all questions about your 

medical and health history. The company may cancel your policy and refuse to pay any claims if you leave out or falsify 
important medical information. [If the policy or certificate is guaranteed issue, this paragraph need not appear.]  

Review the application carefully before you sign it. Be certain that all information has been properly recorded.  
[Include for each plan prominently identified in the cover page, a chart showing the services, Medicare payments, plan 

payments and insured payments for each plan, using the same language, in the same order, using uniform layout and format as 
shown in the charts below. No more than four plans may be shown on one chart. For purposes of illustration, charts for each 
plan are included in this regulation. An issuer may use additional benefit plan designations on these charts pursuant to 
14VAC5-170-85.]  

[Include an explanation of any innovative benefits on the cover page and in the chart, in a manner approved by the State 
Corporation Commission.]  

Benefit Chart of Medicare Supplement Plans Sold on or after January 1, 2020 
This chart shows the benefits included in each of the standard Medicare supplement plans. Some plans may not be available. 

Only applicants first eligible for Medicare before 2020 may purchase Plans C, F, and high deductible F. 
Note: A ✔means 100% of the benefit is paid. 

  
Benefits  

Plans Available to All Applicants  Medicare first 
eligible before 2020 
only 

A B D G1 K L M N  C F1 

Medicare Part A 
coinsurance and hospital 
coverage (up to an 
additional 365 days after 
Medicare benefits are 
used up) 

✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔  ✔ ✔ 

Medicare Part B 
coinsurance or 
copayment  

✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ 50% 75% ✔ ✔copays 
apply3 

 ✔ ✔ 

Blood (first three pints) ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ 50% 75% ✔ ✔  ✔ ✔ 

Part A hospice care 
coinsurance or 
copayment  

✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ 50% 75% ✔ ✔  ✔ ✔ 
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Skilled nursing facility 
coinsurance 

  ✔ ✔ 50% 75% ✔ ✔  ✔ ✔ 

Medicare Part A 
deductible 

 ✔ ✔ ✔ 50% 75% 50% ✔  ✔ ✔ 

Medicare Part B 
deductible 

         ✔ ✔ 

Medicare Part B excess 
charges 

   ✔       ✔ 

Foreign travel 
emergency (up to plan 
limits) 

  ✔ ✔   ✔ ✔  ✔ ✔ 

Out-of-pocket limit in 
20162 

    $4,9602 $2,4802      

1 Plans F and G also have a high deductible option that require first paying a plan deductible of $2,180 before the plan begins 
to pay. Once the plan deductible is met, the plan pays 100% of covered services for the rest of the calendar year. High 
deductible Plan G does not cover the Medicare Part B deductible. However, high deductible Plans F and G count your payment 
of the Medicare Part B deductible toward meeting the plan deductible. High deductible Plan G is the same as high deductible 
Plan F except that where the annual out-of-pocket expenses are met with Medicare Part A expenses only, any subsequent 
Medicare Part B deductible expense incurred by the beneficiary after the required annual out-of-pocket expenses is met may not 
be paid for by the high deductible Plan G. 

2 Plans K and L pay 100% of covered services for the rest of the calendar year once you meet the out-of-pocket yearly limit. 
3 Plan N pays 100% of the Part B coinsurance, except for a copayment of up to $20 for some office visits and up to a $50 

copayment for emergency room visits that do not result in an inpatient admission. 
PLAN A  

MEDICARE (PART A) - HOSPITAL SERVICES - PER BENEFIT PERIOD  
*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of 

the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOSPITALIZATION* 
Semiprivate room and board, general 
nursing and miscellaneous services and 
supplies 

      

First 60 days All but $1,068 $1,260 $0 $1,068 $1,260 
(Part A 
Deductible) 

61st thru 90th day All but $267 $315 a day $267 $315 a day $0 

91st day and after:       

  While using 60 lifetime reserve days All but $534 $630 a day $534 $630 a day $0 

  Once lifetime reserve days are used:       

  Additional 365 days $0 100% of Medicare Eligible 
Expenses 

$0** 

  Beyond the Additional 365 days $0 $0 All Costs 

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY 
CARE* 
You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including having been in a hospital for at 
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least 3 days and entered a Medicare-
approved facility within 30 days after 
leaving the hospital 

First 20 days All approved amounts $0 $0 

21st thru 100th day All but $133.50 $157.50 a 
day 

$0 Up to $133.50 
$157.50 a day 

101st day and after $0 $0 All Costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0 

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0 

HOSPICE CARE    

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including a doctor's certification of 
terminal illness 

All but very limited 
copayment/coinsurance for 
outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

Medicare 
copayment/coinsurance 

$0 

**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will 
pay whatever amount Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "core benefits." 
During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charges 
and the amount Medicare would have paid. 

PLAN A 
MEDICARE (PART B) - MEDICAL SERVICES - PER CALENDAR YEAR 

*Once you have been billed $135 $147 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an 
asterisk), your Part B deductible will have been met for the calendar year. 

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

MEDICAL EXPENSES - IN OR OUT OF 
THE HOSPITAL AND OUTPATIENT 
HOSPITAL TREATMENT, such as 
physician's services, inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services and supplies, 
physical and speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical equipment 

      

First $135 $147 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $135 $147 (Part B 
deductible) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts Generally 80% Generally 20% $0 

PART B EXCESS CHARGES       

(Above Medicare-Approved Amounts) $0 $0 All Costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 All Costs $0 

Next $135 $147 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $135 $147 (Part B 
Deductible) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts 80% 20% $0 
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CLINICAL LABORATORY SERVICES        

TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES 100% $0 $0 

PARTS A & B 

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOME HEALTH CARE  
MEDICARE-APPROVED SERVICES 

      

Medically necessary skilled care services and 
medical supplies 

100% $0 $0 

Durable medical equipment       

  First $135 $147 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $135 $147 (Part B 
Deductible) 

  Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

PLAN B  
MEDICARE (PART A)—HOSPITAL SERVICES—PER BENEFIT PERIOD  

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of 
the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOSPITALIZATION* 
Semiprivate room and board, general 
nursing and miscellaneous services and 
supplies 

      

First 60 days All but $1,068 $1,260 $1,068 $1,260 (Part A 
Deductible) 

$0 

61st thru 90th day All but $267 $315 a day $267 $315 a day $0 

91st day and after:       

  While using 60 lifetime reserve days All but $534 $630 a day $534 $630 a day $0 

  Once lifetime reserve days are used:       

  Additional 365 days $0 100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 

$0** 

  Beyond the Additional 365 days $0 $0 All Costs 

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY 
CARE* 
You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including having been in a hospital for at 
least 3 days and entered a Medicare-
approved facility within 30 days after 
leaving the hospital 

      

First 20 days All approved amounts $0 $0 

21st thru 100th day All but $133.50 $157.50 a 
day 

$0 Up to $133.50 
$157.50 a day 

101st day and after $0 $0 All Costs 
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BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0 

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0 

HOSPICE CARE       

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including a doctor's certification of 
terminal illness. 

All but very limited 
copayment/coinsurance for 
outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

Medicare 
copayment/coinsurance 

$0 

**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will 
pay whatever amount Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "core benefits." 
During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charges 
and the amount Medicare would have paid. 

PLAN B  
MEDICARE (PART B)—MEDICAL SERVICES—PER CALENDAR YEAR  

*Once you have been billed $135 $147 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an 
asterisk), your Part B deductible will have been met for the calendar year.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

MEDICAL EXPENSES - IN OR OUT OF 
THE HOSPITAL AND OUTPATIENT 
HOSPITAL TREATMENT, such as 
physician's services, inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services and supplies, 
physical and speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical equipment  

      

First $135 $147 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts*  

$0 $0 $135 $147 (Part B 
Deductible) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts Generally 80% Generally 20% $0 

PART B EXCESS CHARGES        

(Above Medicare-Approved Amounts) $0 $0 All Costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 All Costs $0 

Next $135 $147 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $135 $147 (Part B 
Deductible) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts 80% 20% $0 

CLINICAL LABORATORY SERVICES         

TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES 100% $0 $0 
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PARTS A & B  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOME HEALTH CARE  
MEDICARE-APPROVED SERVICES  

      

Medically necessary skilled care services and 
medical supplies 

100% $0 $0 

Durable medical equipment       

  First $135 $147 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts*  

$0 $0 $135 $147 (Part B 
Deductible) 

  Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

PLAN C  
MEDICARE (PART A)—HOSPITAL SERVICES—PER BENEFIT PERIOD  

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of 
the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOSPITALIZATION* 
Semiprivate room and board, general 
nursing and miscellaneous services and 
supplies 

      

First 60 days All but $1,068 $1,260 $,1068 $1,260 (Part A 
Deductible) 

$0 

61st thru 90th day All but $267 $315 a day $267 $315 a day $0 

91st day and after:       

  While using 60 lifetime reserve days All but $534 $630 a day $534 $630 a day $0 

  Once lifetime reserve days are used:       

  Additional 365 days $0 100% of Medicare eligible 
expenses 

$0** 

  Beyond the additional 365 days $0 $0 All Costs 

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY 
CARE* 
You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including having been in a hospital for at 
least 3 days and entered a Medicare-
approved facility within 30 days after 
leaving the hospital 

      

First 20 days All approved amounts $0 $0 

21st thru 100th day All but $133.50 $157.50 a 
day 

Up to $133.50 $157.50 a 
day 

$0 

101st day and after $0 $0 All Costs 
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BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0 

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0 

HOSPICE CARE       

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including a doctor's certification of terminal 
illness. 

All but very limited 
copayment/coinsurance for 
outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

Medicare 
copayment/coinsurance 

$0 

**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will 
pay whatever amount Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "core benefits." 
During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charges 
and the amount Medicare would have paid. 

PLAN C  
MEDICARE (PART B)—MEDICAL SERVICES—PER CALENDAR YEAR  

*Once you have been billed $135 $147 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an 
asterisk), your Part B deductible will have been met for the calendar year.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

MEDICAL EXPENSES - IN OR OUT OF 
THE HOSPITAL AND OUTPATIENT 
HOSPITAL TREATMENT, such as 
physician's services, inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services and supplies, 
physical and speech therapy, diagnostic tests, 
durable medical equipment 

      

First $135 $147 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts*  

$0 $135 $147 (Part B 
Deductible) 

$0 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts Generally 80% Generally 20% $0 

PART B EXCESS CHARGES        

(Above Medicare-Approved Amounts) $0 $0 All Costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 All Costs $0 

Next $135 $147 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $135 $147 (Part B 
Deductible) 

$0 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts 80% 20% $0 

CLINICAL LABORATORY SERVICES        

TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES 100% $0 $0 

PARTS A & B  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOME HEALTH CARE  
MEDICARE-APPROVED SERVICES  

      

Medically necessary skilled care services and 
medical supplies 

100% $0 $0 
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Durable medical equipment       

  First $135 $147 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts*  

$0 $135 $147 (Part B 
Deductible) 

$0 

  Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

OTHER BENEFITS—NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

FOREIGN TRAVEL  
NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

      

Medically necessary emergency care services 
beginning during the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 

      

  First $250 each calendar year $0 $0 $250 

  Remainder of Charges $0 80% to a lifetime 
maximum benefit of 
$50,000 

20% and amounts 
over the $50,000 
lifetime maximum 

PLAN D  
MEDICARE (PART A)—HOSPITAL SERVICES—PER BENEFIT PERIOD  

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of 
the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOSPITALIZATION* 
Semiprivate room and board, general 
nursing and miscellaneous services and 
supplies 

      

First 60 days All but $1,068 $1,260 $1,068 $1,260 (Part A 
Deductible) 

$0 

61st thru 90th day All but $267 $315 a day $267 $315 a day $0 

91st day and after:       

  While using 60 lifetime reserve days All but $534 $630 a day $534 $630 a day $0 

  Once lifetime reserve days are used:       

  Additional 365 days $0 100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 

$0** 

  Beyond the Additional 365 days $0 $0 All Costs 

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY CARE* 
You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including having been in a hospital for at least 
3 days and entered a Medicare-approved 
facility within 30 days after leaving the 
hospital 

      

First 20 days All approved amounts $0 $0 

21st thru 100th day All but $133.50 $157.50 a 
day 

Up to $133.50 $157.50 a 
day 

$0 

101st day and after $0 $0 All Costs 
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BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0 

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0 

HOSPICE CARE       

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including a doctor's certification of terminal 
illness. 

All but very limited 
copayment/coinsurance for 
outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

Medicare 
copayment/coinsurance 

$0 

**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will 
pay whatever amount Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "core benefits." 
During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charges 
and the amount Medicare would have paid. 

PLAN D  
MEDICARE (PART B)—MEDICAL SERVICES—PER CALENDAR YEAR  

*Once you have been billed $135 $147 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an 
asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been met for the calendar year.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

MEDICAL EXPENSES - IN OR OUT OF 
THE HOSPITAL AND OUTPATIENT 
HOSPITAL TREATMENT, such as 
physician's services, inpatient and 
outpatient medical and surgical services 
and supplies, physical and speech therapy, 
diagnostic tests, durable medical equipment 

      

First $135 $147 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts*  

$0 $0 $135 $147 (Part B 
Deductible) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

Generally 80% Generally 20% $0 

PART B EXCESS CHARGES        

(Above Medicare-Approved Amounts) $0 $0 All Costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 All Costs $0 

Next $135 $147 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $135 $147 (Part B 
Deductible) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

CLINICAL LABORATORY 
SERVICES  

      

TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES 100% $0 $0 
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PARTS A & B  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOME HEALTH CARE  
MEDICARE-APPROVED SERVICES  

      

Medically necessary skilled care services and 
medical supplies 

100% $0 $0 

Durable medical equipment       

  First $135 $147 of Medicare-
Approved Amounts*  

$0 $0 $135 $147 (Part B 
Deductible) 

  Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

OTHER BENEFITS—NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

FOREIGN TRAVEL  
NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

      

Medically necessary emergency care services 
beginning during the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 

      

  First $250 each calendar year $0 $0 $250 

  Remainder of Charges $0 80% to a lifetime 
maximum benefit of 
$50,000 

20% and amounts 
over the $50,000 
lifetime maximum 

PLAN F or HIGH DEDUCTIBLE PLAN F  
MEDICARE (PART A)—HOSPITAL SERVICES—PER BENEFIT PERIOD  

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of 
the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.  

**This high deductible plan pays the same benefits as Plan F after one has you have paid a calendar year $2,000 $2,180 
deductible. Benefits from the high deductible Plan F will not begin until out-of-pocket expenses are $2,000 $2,180. Out-of-
pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that would ordinarily be paid by the policy. This includes the Medicare 
deductibles for Part A and Part B, but does not include the plan's separate foreign travel emergency deductible.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS 
AFTER YOU PAY $2,000 
$2,180 DEDUCTIBLE,** 

PLAN PAYS 

IN ADDITION TO 
$2,000 $2,180 

DEDUCTIBLE,** 
YOU PAY 

HOSPITALIZATION* 
Semiprivate room and board, general 
nursing and miscellaneous services 
and supplies 

      

First 60 days All but $1,068 $1,260 $1,068 $1,260 (Part A 
Deductible) 

$0 

61st thru 90th day All but $267 $315 a day $267 $315 a day $0 

91st day and after:       

  While using 60 lifetime reserve 
days 

All but $534 $630 a day $534 $630 a day $0 
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  Once lifetime reserve days are 
used: 

      

  Additional 365 days $0 100% of Medicare Eligible 
Expenses 

$0** 

  Beyond the Additional 365 days $0 $0 All Costs 

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY 
CARE* 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having been 
in a hospital for at least 3 days and 
entered a Medicare-approved facility 
within 30 days after leaving the 
hospital 

      

First 20 days All approved amounts $0 $0 

21st thru 100th day All but $133.50 $157.50 
a day 

Up to $133.50 $157.50 a 
day 

$0 

101st day and after $0 $0 All Costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0 

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0 

HOSPICE CARE       

You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including a doctor's 
certification of terminal illness. 

All but very limited 
copayment/coinsurance 
for outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

Medicare 
copayment/coinsurance 

$0 

**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will 
pay whatever amount Medicare would have paid up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "core benefits." 
During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charges 
and the amount Medicare would have paid. 

PLAN F or HIGH DEDUCTIBLE PLAN F  
MEDICARE (PART B) - MEDICAL SERVICES - PER CALENDAR YEAR  

*Once you have been billed $135 $147 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an 
asterisk), your Part B deductible will have been met for the calendar year.  

**This high deductible plan pays the same benefits as Plan F after one has you have paid a calendar year $2,000 $2,180 
deductible. Benefits from the high deductible plan F will not begin until out-of-pocket expenses are $2,000 $2,180. Out-of-
pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that would ordinarily be paid by the policy. This includes the Medicare 
deductibles for Part A and Part B, but does not include the plan's separate foreign travel emergency deductible.  



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 10, 2017 

2589 

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS 

AFTER YOU PAY 
$2,000 $2,180 

DEDUCTIBLE,** 
PLAN PAYS 

IN ADDITION 
ADDITION TO 
$2,000 $2,180 

DEDUCTIBLE,** 
YOU PAY 

MEDICAL EXPENSES - IN OR OUT 
OF THE HOSPITAL AND 
OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL 
TREATMENT, such as physician's 
services, inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services and 
supplies, physical and speech therapy, 
diagnostic tests, durable medical 
equipment 

      

First $135 $147 of Medicare-Approved 
amounts*  

$0 $135 $147 (Part B 
Deductible) 

$0 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
amounts 

Generally 80% Generally 20% $0 

PART B EXCESS CHARGES        

(Above Medicare Approved Amounts) $0 100% $0 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 All Costs $0 

Next $135 $147 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $135 $147 (Part B 
Deductible) 

$0 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

CLINICAL LABORATORY 
SERVICES  

      

TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES 100% $0 $0 

PARTS A & B  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS 

AFTER YOU PAY 
$2,000 $2,180 

DEDUCTIBLE,** 
PLAN PAYS 

IN ADDITON 
ADDITION TO 
$2,000 $2,180 

DEDUCTIBLE,** 
YOU PAY 

HOME HEALTH CARE  
MEDICARE-APPROVED SERVICES  

      

Medically necessary skilled care services 
and medical supplies 

100% $0 $0 

Durable medical equipment       

  First $135 $147 of Medicare-
Approved Amounts*  

$0 $135 $147 (Part B 
Deductible) 

$0 

  Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 
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OTHER BENEFITS - NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

FOREIGN TRAVEL  
NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

      

Medically necessary emergency care services 
beginning during the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 

      

  First $250 each calendar year $0 $0 $250 

  Remainder of charges $0 80% to a lifetime 
maximum benefit of 
$50,000 

20% and amounts 
over the $50,000 
lifetime maximum 

PLAN G OR HIGH DEDUCTIBLE PLAN G 
MEDICARE (PART A)—HOSPITAL SERVICES—PER BENEFIT PERIOD  

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of 
the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS AFTER YOU PAY 
$2,180 DEDUCTIBLE, 

PLAN PAYS 

IN ADDITION TO 
$2,180 

DEDUCTIBLE, 
YOU PAY 

HOSPITALIZATION* 
Semiprivate room and board, general 
nursing and miscellaneous services and 
supplies 

      

First 60 days All but $1,068 $1,288  $1,068 $1,288 (Part A 
Deductible) 

$0 

61st thru 90th day All but $267 $322 a day $267 $322 a day $0 

91st day and after:       

  While using 60 lifetime reserve 
days 

All but $534 $644 a day $534 $644 a day $0 

  Once lifetime reserve days are used:       

  Additional 365 days $0 100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 

$0** 

  Beyond the Additional 365 days $0 $0 All costs 

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY 
CARE* 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having been in 
a hospital for at least 3 days and entered 
a Medicare-approved facility within 30 
days after leaving the hospital 

      

First 20 days All approved amounts $0 $0 

21st thru 100th day All but $133.50 $161 a 
day 

Up to $133.50 $161 a day $0 

101st day and after $0 $0 All Costs 
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BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0 

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0 

HOSPICE CARE       

You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including a doctor's 
certification of terminal illness. 

All but very limited 
copayment/coinsurance 
for outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

Medicare 
copayment/coinsurance 

$0 

**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will 
pay whatever amount Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "core benefits." 
During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charges 
and the amount Medicare would have paid. 

PLAN G OR HIGH DEDUCTIBLE PLAN G 
MEDICARE (PART B)—MEDICAL SERVICES—PER CALENDAR YEAR  

*Once you have been billed $135 $166 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an 
asterisk), your Part B deductible will have been met for the calendar year.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

MEDICAL EXPENSES - IN OR OUT 
OF THE HOSPITAL AND 
OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL 
TREATMENT, such as physician's 
services, inpatient and outpatient medical 
and surgical services and supplies, 
physical and speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical equipment 

      

First $135 $166 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts*  

$0 $0 $135 (Part B 
Deductible) $166 
(Unless Part B 
Deductible has been 
met) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

Generally 80% Generally 20% $0 

PART B EXCESS CHARGES        

(Above Medicare-Approved Amounts) $0 100% $0 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 All costs $0 

Next $135 $166 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $135 (Part B 
Deductible) $166 
(Unless Part B 
Deductible has been 
met) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 
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CLINICAL LABORATORY 
SERVICES  

      

TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES 100% $0 $0 

PARTS A & B  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOME HEALTH CARE  
MEDICARE-APPROVED SERVICES  

      

Medically necessary skilled care services 
and medical supplies 

100% $0 $0 

Durable medical equipment       

  First $135 $166 of Medicare-
Approved Amounts*  

$0 $0 $135 (Part B 
deductible) $166 
(Unless Part B 
Deductible has been 
met) 

  Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

OTHER BENEFITS—NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

FOREIGN TRAVEL  
NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

      

Medically necessary emergency care services 
beginning during the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 

      

  First $250 each calendar year $0 $0 $250 

  Remainder of Charges $0 80% to a lifetime 
maximum benefit of 
$50,000 

20% and amounts over 
the $50,000 lifetime 
maximum 

PLAN K  
*You will pay half the cost-sharing of some covered services until you reach the annual out-of-pocket limit of $4,620 $4,940 

each calendar year. The amounts that count toward your annual limit are noted with diamonds (♦) in the chart below. Once you 
reach the annual limit, the plan pays 100% of your Medicare copayment and coinsurance for the rest of the calendar year. 
However, this limit does NOT include charges from your provider that exceed Medicare-approved amounts (these are called 
"Excess Charges") and you will be responsible for paying this difference in the amount charged by your provider and the 
amount paid by Medicare for the item or service.  

MEDICARE (PART A)—HOSPITAL SERVICES—PER BENEFIT PERIOD  
**A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of 

the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY* 

HOSPITALIZATION** 
Semiprivate room and board, 
general nursing and miscellaneous 
services and supplies 

      

First 60 days All but $1,068 $1,260 $534 $630 (50% of Part 
A deductible) 

$534 $630 (50% of Part 
A deductible)♦ 
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61st thru 90th day All but $267 $315 a day $267 $315 a day $0 

91st day and after:       

  While using 60 lifetime reserve 
days 

All but $534 $630 a day $534 $630 a day $0 

  Once lifetime reserve days are 
used: 

      

  Additional 365 days $0 100% of Medicare 
eligible expenses 

$0*** 

  Beyond the additional 365 
days 

$0 $0 All costs 

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY 
CARE** 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having 
been in a hospital for at least 3 days 
and entered a Medicare-approved 
facility within 30 days after leaving 
the hospital 

      

First 20 days All approved amounts $0 $0 

21st thru 100th day All but $133.50 $157.50 
a day 

Up to $66.75 $78.75 a 
day (50% of Part A 
coinsurance) 

Up to $66.75 $78.75 a 
day (50% of Part A 
coinsurance)♦ 

101st day and after $0 $0 All costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 50% 50%♦ 

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0 

HOSPICE CARE       

You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including a doctor's 
certification of terminal illness.  

All but very limited 
copayment/coinsurance 
for outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

50% of 
copayment/coinsurance  

50% of Medicare 
copayment/coinsurance ♦ 

***NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and 
will pay whatever the amount Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "core 
benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its 
billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 

PLAN K  
MEDICARE (PART B)—MEDICAL SERVICES—PER CALENDAR YEAR  

****Once you have been billed $135 $147 of Medicare-approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an 
asterisk), your Part B deductible will have been met for the calendar year.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY* 

MEDICAL EXPENSES - IN OR OUT 
OF THE HOSPITAL AND 
OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL 
TREATMENT, such as physician's 
services, inpatient and outpatient medical 
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and surgical services and supplies, 
physical and speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical equipment 

First $135 $147 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts****  

$0 $0 $135 $147 (Part B 
deductible)****♦  

Preventive Benefits for Medicare 
covered services 

Generally 75% 80% or 
more of Medicare-
approved amounts 

Remainder of 
Medicare-approved 
amounts 

All costs above Medicare-
approved amounts 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

Generally 80% Generally 10% Generally 10%♦ 

PART B EXCESS CHARGES        

(Above Medicare-Approved Amounts) $0 $0 All costs (and they do not 
count toward annual out-
of-pocket limit of $4620)* 
$4,940)*  

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 50% 50%♦ 

Next $135 $147 of Medicare Approved 
Amounts**** 

$0 $0 $135 $147 (Part B 
deductible)****♦ 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

Generally 80% Generally 10% Generally 10%♦ 

CLINICAL LABORATORY 
SERVICES  

      

TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES 100% $0 $0 

*This plan limits your annual out-of-pocket payments for Medicare-approved amounts to $4,620 $4,940 per year. However, 
this limit does NOT include charges from your provider that exceed Medicare-approved amounts (these are called "Excess 
Charges") and you will be responsible for paying this difference in the amount charged by your provider and the amount paid 
by Medicare for the item or service.  

PARTS A & B  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY* 

HOME HEALTH CARE  
MEDICARE-APPROVED SERVICES  

      

Medically necessary skilled care services and 
medical supplies 

100% $0 $0 

Durable medical equipment       

  First $135 $147 of Medicare-
Approved Amounts*****  

$0 $0 $135 $147 (Part B 
deductible)♦ 

  Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 10% 10%♦ 

*****Medicare benefits are subject to change. Please consult the latest Guide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare.  
PLAN L  

*You will pay one-fourth of the cost-sharing of some covered services until you reach the annual out-of-pocket limit of 
$2,310 $2,470 each calendar year. The amounts that count toward your annual limit are noted with diamonds (♦) in the chart 
below. Once you reach the annual limit, the plan pays 100% of your Medicare copayment and coinsurance for the rest of the 
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calendar year. However, this limit does NOT include charges from your provider that exceed Medicare-approved amounts 
(these are called "Excess Charges") and you will be responsible for paying this difference in the amount charged by your 
provider and the amount paid by Medicare for the item or service.  

MEDICARE (PART A)—HOSPITAL SERVICES—PER BENEFIT PERIOD  
**A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of 

the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY* 

HOSPITALIZATION** 
Semiprivate room and board, 
general nursing and miscellaneous 
services and supplies 

      

First 60 days All but $1,068 $1,260 $808.50 $945 (75% of 
Part A deductible) 

$267 $315 (25% of Part 
A deductible)♦ 

61st thru 90th day All but $267 $315 a day $267 $315 a day $0 

91st day and after:       

  While using 60 lifetime reserve 
days 

All but $534 $630 a day $534 $630 a day $0 

  Once lifetime reserve days are 
used: 

      

  Additional 365 days $0 100% of Medicare 
eligible expenses 

$0*** 

  Beyond the additional 365 
days 

$0 $0 All costs 

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY 
CARE** 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having 
been in a hospital for at least 3 days 
and entered a Medicare-approved 
facility within 30 days after leaving 
the hospital 

      

First 20 days All approved amounts $0 $0 

21st thru 100th day All but $133.50 $157.50 
a day 

Up to $100.13 $118.13 a 
day (75% of Part A 
coinsurance) 

Up to $33.38 $39.38 a 
day (25% of Part A 
coinsurance)♦ 

101st day and after $0 $0 All costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 75% 25%♦ 

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0 

HOSPICE CARE       

You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including a doctor's 
certification of terminal illness. 

All but very limited 
copayment/coinsurance 
for outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

75% of 
copayment/coinsurance  

25% of 
copayment/coinsurance ♦ 
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***NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and 
will pay whatever amount Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "core 
benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its 
billed charge and the amount Medicare would have paid. 

PLAN L  
MEDICARE (PART B)—MEDICAL SERVICES—PER CALENDAR YEAR  

****Once you have been billed $135 $147 of Medicare-approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an 
asterisk), your Part B deductible will have been met for the calendar year.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY* 

MEDICAL EXPENSES - IN OR OUT 
OF THE HOSPITAL AND 
OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL 
TREATMENT, such as physician's 
services, inpatient and outpatient medical 
and surgical services and supplies, 
physical and speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical equipment 

      

First $135 $147 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts**** 

$0 $0 $135 $147 (Part B 
deductible)****♦  

Preventive Benefits for Medicare 
covered services 

Generally 75% 80% or 
more of Medicare-
approved amounts 

Remainder of 
Medicare-approved 
amounts 

All costs above Medicare-
approved amounts 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

Generally 80% Generally 15% Generally 5%♦ 

PART B EXCESS CHARGES        

(Above Medicare-Approved Amounts) $0 $0 All costs (and they do not 
count toward annual out-
of-pocket limit of 
$2,310)* $2,470)* 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 75% 25%♦ 

Next $135 $147 of Medicare Approved 
Amounts**** 

$0 $0 $135 $147 (Part B 
deductible)♦ 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

Generally 80% Generally 15% Generally 5%♦ 

CLINICAL LABORATORY 
SERVICES  

      

TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES 100% $0 $0 

*This plan limits your annual out-of-pocket payments for Medicare-approved amounts to $2,310 $2,470 per year. However, 
this limit does NOT include charges from your provider that exceed Medicare-approved amounts (these are called "Excess 
Charges") and you will be responsible for paying this difference in the amount charged by your provider and the amount paid 
by Medicare for the item or service.  



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 10, 2017 

2597 

PARTS A & B  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY* 

HOME HEALTH CARE  
MEDICARE-APPROVED SERVICES  

      

Medically necessary skilled care services and 
medical supplies 

100% $0 $0 

Durable medical equipment       

  First $135 $147 of Medicare-
Approved Amounts***** 

$0 $0 $135 $147 (Part B 
deductible)♦ 

  Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 15% 5%♦ 

*****Medicare benefits are subject to change. Please consult the latest Guide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare.  
PLAN M  

MEDICARE (PART A)—HOSPITAL SERVICES—PER BENEFIT PERIOD  
*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of 

the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOSPITALIZATION* 
Semiprivate room and board, general 
nursing and miscellaneous services and 
supplies 

      

First 60 days All but $1,068 $1,260 $534 $630 (50% of Part 
A deductible) 

$534 $630 (50% of 
Part A deductible) 

61st thru 90th day All but $267 $315 a day $267 $315 a day $0 

91st day and after:       

  While using 60 lifetime reserve 
days 

All but $534 $630 a day $534 $630 a day $0 

  Once lifetime reserve days are used:       

  Additional 365 days $0 100% of Medicare 
eligible expenses 

$0** 

  Beyond the additional 365 days $0 $0 All costs 

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY 
CARE* 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having been in 
a hospital for at least 3 days and entered 
a Medicare-approved facility within 30 
days after leaving the hospital 

      

First 20 days All approved amounts $0 $0 

21st thru 100th day All but $133.50 $157.50 a 
day 

Up to $133.50 $157.50 a 
day 

$0 

101st day and after $0 $0 All costs 
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BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0 

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0 

HOSPICE CARE       

You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including a doctor's 
certification of terminal illness. 

All but very limited 
copayment/coinsurance for 
outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

Medicare 
copayment/coinsurance  

$0 

**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will 
pay whatever amount Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "core benefits." 
During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charge 
and the amount Medicare would have paid. 

PLAN M  
MEDICARE (PART B)—MEDICAL SERVICES—PER CALENDAR YEAR  

*Once you have been billed $135 $147 of Medicare-approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an 
asterisk), your Part B deductible will have been met for the calendar year.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

MEDICAL EXPENSES - IN OR OUT 
OF THE HOSPITAL AND 
OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL 
TREATMENT, such as physician's 
services, inpatient and outpatient medical 
and surgical services and supplies, 
physical and speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical equipment 

      

First $135 $147 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $135 $147 (Part B 
deductible)  

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

Generally 80% Generally 20% $0 

PART B EXCESS CHARGES        

(Above Medicare-Approved Amounts) $0 $0 All costs  

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 All costs $0 

Next $135 $147 of Medicare Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $135 $147 (Part B 
deductible) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

CLINICAL LABORATORY 
SERVICES  

      

TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES 100% $0 $0 
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PARTS A & B  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOME HEALTH CARE  
MEDICARE-APPROVED SERVICES  

      

Medically necessary skilled care services 
and medical supplies 

100% $0 $0 

Durable medical equipment       

  First $135 $147 of Medicare-
Approved Amounts* 

$0 $0 $135 $147 (Part B 
deductible) 

  Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

OTHER BENEFITS—NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

FOREIGN TRAVEL  
NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

      

Medically necessary emergency care 
services beginning during the first 60 days 
of each trip outside the USA 

      

  First $250 each calendar year $0 $0 $250 

  Remainder of Charges $0 80% to a lifetime 
maximum benefit of 
$50,000 

20% and amounts over 
the $50,000 lifetime 
maximum 

PLAN N  
MEDICARE (PART A)—HOSPITAL SERVICES—PER BENEFIT PERIOD  

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of 
the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOSPITALIZATION* 
Semiprivate room and board, general 
nursing and miscellaneous services and 
supplies 

      

First 60 days All but $1,068 $1,260 $1,068 $1,260 (Part A 
deductible) 

$0 

61st thru 90th day All but $267 $315 a day $267 $315 a day $0 

91st day and after:       

  While using 60 lifetime reserve days All but $534 $630 a day $534 $630 a day $0 

  Once lifetime reserve days are used:       

  Additional 365 days $0 100% of Medicare eligible 
expenses 

$0** 

  Beyond the additional 365 days $0 $0 All costs 
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SKILLED NURSING FACILITY 
CARE* 
You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including having been in a hospital for at 
least 3 days and entered a Medicare-
approved facility within 30 days after 
leaving the hospital 

      

First 20 days All approved amounts $0 $0 

21st thru 100th day All but $133.50 $157.50 a 
day 

Up to $133.50 $157.50 a 
day 

$0 

101st day and after $0 $0 All costs 

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0 

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0 

HOSPICE CARE       

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including a doctor's certification of 
terminal illness. 

All but very limited 
copayment/coinsurance for 
outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

Medicare 
copayment/coinsurance  

$0 

**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will 
pay whatever amount Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "core benefits." 
During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charge 
and the amount Medicare would have paid. 

PLAN N  
MEDICARE (PART B)—MEDICAL SERVICES—PER CALENDAR YEAR  

*Once you have been billed $135 $147 of Medicare-approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an 
asterisk), your Part B deductible will have been met for the calendar year.  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

MEDICAL EXPENSES - IN OR OUT 
OF THE HOSPITAL AND 
OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL 
TREATMENT, such as physician's 
services, inpatient and outpatient medical 
and surgical services and supplies, 
physical and speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical equipment 

      

First $135 $147 of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $135 $147 (Part B 
deductible)  

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

Generally 80% Balance, other than 
up to $20 per office 
visit and up to $50 
per emergency room 
visit. The copayment 
of up to $50 is 
waived if the insured 
is admitted to any 
hospital and the 

Up to$20 per office 
visit and up to $50 per 
emergency visit. The 
copayment of up to $50 
is waived if the insured 
is admitted to any 
hospital and the 
emergency room visit is 
covered as a Medicare 
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emergency visit is 
covered as a 
Medicare Part A 
expense. 

Part A expense. 

PART B EXCESS CHARGES        

(Above Medicare-Approved Amounts) $0 $0 All costs  

BLOOD       

First 3 pints $0 All costs $0 

Next $135 $147 of Medicare Approved 
Amounts* 

$0 $0 $135 $147 (Part B 
deductible) 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

CLINICAL LABORATORY 
SERVICES  

      

TESTS FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICES 100% $0 $0 

PARTS A & B  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

HOME HEALTH CARE  
MEDICARE-APPROVED SERVICES  

      

Medically necessary skilled care services 
and medical supplies 

100% $0 $0 

Durable medical equipment       

  First $135 $147 of Medicare-
Approved Amounts* 

$0 $0 $135 $147 (Part B 
deductible) 

  Remainder of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts 

80% 20% $0 

OTHER BENEFITS—NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

SERVICES MEDICARE PAYS PLAN PAYS YOU PAY 

FOREIGN TRAVEL  
NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE  

      

Medically necessary emergency care 
services beginning during the first 60 days 
of each trip outside the USA 

      

  First $250 each calendar year $0 $0 $250 

  Remainder of Charges $0 80% to a lifetime 
maximum benefit of 
$50,000 

20% and amounts over 
the $50,000 lifetime 
maximum 

E. Notice regarding policies or certificates which that are not 
Medicare supplement policies.  

1. Any accident and sickness insurance policy or certificate 
issued for delivery in this Commonwealth to persons 
eligible for Medicare, other than a Medicare supplement 
policy, a policy issued pursuant to a contract under § 1876 
of the federal Social Security Act (42 USC § 1395 et seq.), 

a disability income policy, or other policy identified in 
14VAC5-170-20 B, shall notify insureds under the policy 
that the policy is not a Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate. The notice shall either be printed or attached to 
the first page of the outline of coverage delivered to 
insureds under the policy, or if no outline of coverage is 
delivered, to the first page of the policy, or certificate 
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delivered to insureds. The notice shall be in no less than 12 
point type and shall contain the following language:  

"THIS [POLICY OR CERTIFICATE] IS NOT A 
MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT [POLICY OR 
CONTRACT]. If you are eligible for Medicare, review 
the Guide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare 
available from the company."  

2. Applications provided to persons eligible for Medicare 
for the health insurance policies or certificates described in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection shall disclose, using the 
applicable statement in Appendix C, the extent to which 
the policy duplicates Medicare. The disclosure statement 
shall be provided as a part of, or together with, the 
application for the policy or certificate.  

F. Notice requirements for attained age rated Medicare 
supplement policies or certificates. Issuers of Medicare 
supplement policies or certificates which that use attained age 
rating shall provide a notice to all prospective applicants at 
the time the application is presented, and except for direct 
response policies or certificates, shall obtain an 
acknowledgement of receipt of the notice from the applicant. 
The notice shall be in no less than 12 point type and shall 
contain the information included in Appendix D. The notice 
shall be provided as part of, or together with, the application 
for the policy or certificate.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5121; Filed June 20, 2017, 1:47 p.m.  

VIRGINIA BIRTH-RELATED NEUROLOGICAL 
INJURY COMPENSATION PROGRAM 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Birth-Related 
Neurological Injury Compensation Program is claiming an 
exemption from the Administrative Process Act in accordance 
with § 38.2-5002.1 of the Code of Virginia, which provides 
that the procedure for adoption of rules and regulations by the 
board of directors of the program shall be consistent with the 
provisions of Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of the 
Administrative Process Act. 
Title of Regulation: 14VAC10-10. Virginia Birth-Related 
Neurological Injury Compensation Program Regulations 
(adding 14VAC10-10-10 through 14VAC10-10-230).  
Statutory Authority: § 38.2-5002.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: July 10, 2017.  
Agency Contact: George Deebo, Executive Director, Virginia 
Birth-Related Neurological Injury Compensation Program, 
7501 Boulders View Drive, Suite 201, Richmond, VA 23225, 
telephone (804) 330-2471, FAX (804) 330-3054, or email 
gdeebo@vabirthinjury.com. 
Summary: 

The regulation provides the general requirements 
concerning the Virginia Birth-Related Neurological Injury 
Compensation Program, including (i) procedures for 

claims processing, (ii) available benefits for admitted 
claimants, (iii)  procedures for requesting reimbursement 
or compensation for the types of expenses covered by the 
benefits, and (iv) procedures for requesting benefits not 
expressly addressed by the regulations. 

CHAPTER 10 
VIRGINIA BIRTH-RELATED NEUROLOGICAL INJURY 

COMPENSATION PROGRAM REGULATIONS 
Part I 

General Procedural Requirements 
14VAC10-10-10. Payer of last resort. 

The Virginia Birth-Related Neurological Injury 
Compensation Program (Program) is a payer of last resort. 
Each admitted claimant's primary insurance and other sources 
of coverage should be billed for covered services before the 
Program is asked to pay for a service. An admitted claimant 
may not receive reimbursement or compensation from the 
Program for expenses for items or services, or for 
reimbursements, that he has received or is entitled to receive 
by contract, state law, or federal law, or from another source, 
except to the extent that it is prohibited by federal law. 
14VAC10-10-20. Primary insurance. 

A. Medical services that are required to be precertified, 
preauthorized, or authorized by the admitted claimant's 
primary insurance provider may not be payable by the 
Virginia Birth-Related Neurological Injury Compensation 
Program (Program) if the primary insurance carrier's 
certification or authorization process has not been satisfied.  

B. Admitted claimants must utilize the primary insurer's in-
network providers and facilities unless otherwise authorized 
by the Program. Utilizing non-network or nonparticipating 
providers or facilities may result in reduced payment or 
nonpayment of incurred expenses. 
14VAC10-10-30. Medical review. 

The Virginia Birth-Related Neurological Injury 
Compensation Program reserves the right to submit requests 
for services or equipment for independent medical review to 
determine medical necessity or appropriateness of care prior 
to authorizing payment. 

Part II 
Benefits 

14VAC10-10-40. Counseling. 
The Virginia Birth-Related Neurological Injury 

Compensation Program will pay for counseling for family 
members related to the needs of an admitted claimant. After 
primary insurance, a maximum of $1,500 per calendar year 
will be paid for this service. Services must be provided by a 
licensed clinical social worker, counselor, psychologist, or 
psychiatrist. 
14VAC10-10-50. Personal nursing and assistive care. 

A. The Virginia Birth-Related Neurological Injury 
Compensation Program (Program) will pay for appropriate 
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medically necessary and reasonable nursing care or assistive 
care as recommended in writing by the admitted claimant's 
primary care physician.  

B. The Program will review or consult periodically with 
medical professionals concerning the continued 
appropriateness of the nursing hours. 

C. The Program utilizes nursing agencies when available. 
All nursing agencies utilized by the Program must provide to 
the Program copies of their employment policies regarding 
the criminal history records checks and sex offender searches 
conducted on their employees. All nursing agencies utilized 
by the Program must provide a certification to the Program 
for each employee the agencies places for care of admitted 
claimants that verifies that the named employee has not been 
convicted of any offense listed as a barrier crime pursuant to 
§ 37.2-314, 37.2-416, or 37.2-506 of the Code of Virginia. No 
nursing agency shall be reimbursed for any hours worked by 
an agency employee for which such certification has not been 
provided to the Program. Signed and dated time sheets and 
monthly care summaries must be submitted with each request 
for reimbursement. If an agency is unable to provide care, the 
Executive Director of the Program is authorized to approve 
other arrangements.  

D. If a nursing agency is not available, or the admitted 
claimant's parent or legal guardian chooses to employ a 
relative or legal guardian of the admitted claimant to provide 
prescribed nursing or attendant care authorized by the 
admitted claimant's primary care physician or appropriate 
treating specialist physician, the Program may reimburse the 
admitted claimant's parent or legal guardian for care providers 
who are employed by the admitted claimant's family as 
independent contractors or household employees, as the case 
may be, upon approval of the Executive Director of the 
Program. The Program will reimburse admitted claimant 
families for employment-related taxes such as FICA or 
unemployment tax, related to the hiring of an independent 
contractor upon receipt of proper documentation of payment 
of these taxes. The parent or legal guardian of the admitted 
claimant must provide a certification to the Program for each 
independent contractor or household employee who the 
parent or legal guardian hires for an admitted claimant's care 
that verifies that the named independent contractor or 
household employee has not been convicted of any offense 
listed as a barrier crime pursuant to § 37.2-314, 37.2-416, or 
37.2-506 of the Code of Virginia. No parent or legal guardian 
shall be reimbursed for any hours worked by an independent 
contractor for which such certification has not been provided 
to the Program. The parent or legal guardian of the admitted 
claimant will pay any application fees associated with 
requesting these background checks of the Virginia State 
Police. Upon receipt of the certification and a receipt from the 
Virginia State Police or an authenticated copy of the canceled 
check, the Program will reimburse those application fees 
associated with the application of the independent contractor 
or household employee actually hired. Signed and dated time 

sheets, signed and dated receipts of payment, and monthly 
care summaries must be submitted with each request for 
reimbursement. 

E. The Program will not reimburse a care provider for more 
than a 16-hour shift within a 24-hour period unless there is an 
emergency and no other care provider is available to care for 
the admitted claimant. Overtime is not paid unless 
preauthorized by the Program. The Program will not 
reimburse for work by a full-time caregiver for more than 40 
hours per week unless preauthorized by the Program. 

F. The Program will not provide a private duty nurse while 
an admitted claimant is hospitalized unless the attending 
physician considers it medically necessary and a written order 
for private duty nursing is provided to the Program. The 
Program will pay for a sitter who is not a family member and 
may not have medical experience while the child is 
hospitalized, if requested, and with prior approval from the 
Program and a letter of medical necessity from the attending 
physician. 

G. The Program will provide nurses or caregivers to 
accompany admitted claimants during school hours provided 
such care is deemed medically necessary and is not otherwise 
available. This care counts toward the total approved nursing 
hours. 

H. The Program will reimburse medically necessary care 
provider expenses if they have not been previously filed with 
the tax authorities as deductions or credits. If they have been 
filed with the tax authorities as deductions or credits, then an 
amended tax report must be filed with the tax authorities and 
a copy of the amended tax report provided to the Program 
before the family will be reimbursed for these expenses. 

I. The Program may reimburse for medically necessary and 
reasonable nursing and attendant care that is provided by a 
relative or legal guardian of an admitted claimant so long as 
that care is beyond the scope of childcare duties and services 
normally and gratuitously provided by family members to 
uninjured children and so long as such care and 
reimbursement requests are in accordance with other 
applicable provisions and the following:  

1. The relative or legal guardian providing the care must be 
at least 18 years of age. 
2. The parent or legal guardian of the admitted claimant 
must submit a letter of medical necessity from the admitted 
claimant's primary care physician or appropriate treating 
specialist physician that sets forth the number of nursing or 
attendant care hours needed per day; the physician's 
assessment regarding the level of care required; and 
certification that the intended caregiver is appropriately 
trained, qualified, and physically capable of performing the 
required home medical and attendant care duties. 
Medically necessary care to be provided by a relative or 
legal guardian of an admitted claimant shall be performed 
only at the direction and control of the admitted claimant's 
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primary care physician or appropriate treating specialist 
physician. 
3. The parent or legal guardian of the admitted claimant 
must provide a certification to the Program for each 
caregiver the parent or legal guardian hires for an admitted 
claimant's care that verifies that the named caregiver has 
not been convicted of any offense listed as a barrier crime 
pursuant to §§ 37.2-314, 37.2-416, or 37.2-506 of the Code 
of Virginia. No parent or legal guardian shall be 
reimbursed for any hours worked by a caregiver for whom 
such certification has not been provided to the Program. 
The parent or legal guardian of the admitted claimant will 
pay any application fees associated with requesting these 
background checks of the Virginia State Police. Upon 
receipt of the certification and a receipt from the Virginia 
State Police or an authenticated copy of the canceled 
check, the Program will reimburse those application fees 
associated with the application of the caregiver actually 
hired. 
4. Any relative or legal guardian of an admitted claimant 
providing caregiver services must provide a signed release 
of liability form to the Program regarding any potential 
injury sustained during the course of providing services to 
the admitted claimant. 
5. Any parent or legal guardian of an admitted claimant 
choosing to utilize nursing or attendant care that is 
provided by a relative or legal guardian in lieu of nursing 
or other professional caregiver services must provide a 
signed release of liability form to the Program regarding 
any potential injury sustained by the admitted claimant 
during the course of receiving care. 
6. Signed and dated time sheets, signed and dated receipts 
of payment, and monthly care summaries must be 
submitted with each request for reimbursement.  
7. The Program will not reimburse for care provided by a 
nurse or other professional caregiver and by a relative or 
legal guardian for the same hours. Hours of care provided 
by a relative or legal guardian of an admitted claimant 
cannot be used to supplement hours of care provided by 
professional caregivers or nursing agencies to the extent 
that those hours would exceed the total hours deemed 
medically necessary and authorized by the Program. 
8. No more than 12 hours within a 24-hour period may be 
reimbursed for care provided by any single relative or legal 
guardian of an admitted claimant. 
9. The rate of reimbursement for nursing and attendant care 
that is provided by a relative or legal guardian of an 
admitted claimant shall be the average hourly rate for a 
home health aide (combined all industries) as reported by 
the Commonwealth of Virginia's Labor Market Data report 
for the applicable metropolitan statistical area in the most 
recently published data available. The Program will 
reimburse an admitted claimant's parent or legal guardian 
for employment-related taxes, such as FICA or 

unemployment tax, resulting from that parent or legal 
guardian's employment of a relative or legal guardian as 
the admitted claimant's caregiver as set forth in this 
chapter, upon receipt of proper documentation of payment 
of these taxes. 
10. The Program's Executive Director and staff reserve the 
right to have reviewed each nursing or attendant care plan 
or physician order for medical necessity.  

J. The Program generally follows Medicaid payment rates 
depending on the locality or state where the care is delivered. 

K. Travel expenses associated with nursing care are 
reimbursable only if the travel is medically necessary. No 
travel expenses will be paid for nurses or caregivers 
accompanying families on vacation or other nonmedically 
necessary travel. Travel expenses for medically necessary 
nursing or attendant care during medically necessary travel 
will only be paid for one person in addition to the admitted 
claimant. All such payments or reimbursements are made to 
the parent or guardian of the admitted claimant not to the 
caregiver. 
14VAC10-10-60. Dental care. 

The Virginia Birth-Related Neurological Injury 
Compensation Program will pay for the admitted claimant's 
dental care costs if they are medically necessary not cosmetic 
and are not covered by other sources. 
14VAC10-10-70. Therapy. 

A. The Virginia Birth-Related Neurological Injury 
Compensation Program (Program) will pay for therapy that is 
determined to be medically necessary and reasonable and for 
which there is a letter of medical necessity provided by the 
admitted claimant's primary care physician or appropriate 
treating specialist physician. 

B. The Program may consult periodically with appropriate 
medical professionals regarding the necessity for continuing 
various therapies including behavioral, physical, horseback, 
and speech therapy. 
14VAC10-10-80. Transportation; vans. 

A. The Virginia Birth-Related Neurological Injury 
Compensation Program (Program) will fund the purchase of a 
van when it becomes medically necessary for wheelchair 
transportation. Van options for admitted claimants are 
available from the Program. The Program will have the 
primary lien on the van's certificate of title, although the van 
itself will be titled in the name of the admitted claimant's 
parents or legal guardians. The Program will pay the personal 
property taxes on and sales taxes resulting from the initial 
purchase of the medically necessary van and also will pay an 
amount equal to the uninsured motorist fee, or the insurance 
premium for the van, whichever is less. Other operating costs, 
such as city or county decals and tags, maintenance, repairs, 
and tires will be the responsibility of the parents or guardians. 
Mileage and other transportation costs will be reimbursed as 
set out under 14VAC10-10-150. The Program will reimburse 
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the admitted claimant's family for the cost of insuring the lift 
and tie downs if an additional cost is incurred for this and a 
receipt is provided. 

B. Vans will be replaced at approximately 100,000 miles. 
Documentation of the vehicle's service history and condition 
will be considered in determining the timing of van 
replacement.  

C. In the event a van provided by the Program is no longer 
necessary for transportation of the admitted claimant, the van 
must be returned, and the title must be transferred to the 
Program within three months. The family may purchase the 
van if an agreeable purchase price is agreed upon with the 
Executive Director of the Program.  

D. All vans returned to the Program should be in good 
working order and be able to pass a Virginia state inspection. 
If the van is not in good working order or cannot pass a 
Virginia state inspection, the admitted claimant's parent or 
legal guardian must have the defects repaired at his own cost 
if the expense is not covered by insurance prior to returning 
the vehicle to the Program. 
14VAC10-10-90. Equipment. 

A. Equipment documented as medically necessary by the 
admitted claimant's physician will be provided by the 
Virginia Birth-Related Neurological Injury Compensation 
Program (Program). Because there is a gamut of equipment 
that may be provided, no attempt is made to list all such 
equipment in this section. Equipment provided to date, 
however, includes oxygen concentrators, bipap machines, 
feeding pumps, gait trainers, wheelchairs, Wizard strollers, 
suction machines, apnea monitors, IV poles, pulse oximeters, 
therapy balls, therapy mats, Gorilla car seats, wheelchair lifts, 
and wheelchair tie-downs. 

B. All medically necessary equipment (except vans) 
purchased entirely by the Program remains the property of the 
Program. Depending upon the type of equipment and its 
condition, it is expected that equipment will be returned to the 
Program when no longer required by the admitted claimant. 
The family may purchase the equipment if a purchase price is 
agreed upon with the Executive Director of the Program. If 
the equipment is not purchased entirely by the Program it 
does not have to be returned to the Program. 
14VAC10-10-100. Augmentative communication 
technology. 

A. The Virginia Birth-Related Neurological Injury 
Compensation Program (Program) will pay for devices, 
equipment, and computer software for the purpose of aiding 
in communication of an admitted claimant who otherwise is 
unable to communicate verbally. The Program may require an 
evaluation be completed by a Program assigned augmentative 
communication consultant to ensure the appropriate 
equipment is recommended or purchased.  

B. For all equipment supplied by the Program, it is expected 
that the admitted claimant and those involved in the care of 

the admitted claimant will utilize the equipment as intended 
and invest the time and effort required for the equipment to be 
utilized successfully.  

C. In accordance with the Program's general policy on 
purchasing medically necessary equipment, all augmentative 
communication technology equipment remains the property 
of the Program. If for any reason the equipment no longer is 
necessary or not utilized by the admitted claimant, it should 
be returned to the Program. Because the Program is a payer of 
last resort, all measures for obtaining coverage through 
primary insurance or other sources must be exhausted before 
the Program will cover augmentative technology services. 
14VAC10-10-110. Privately owned housing assistance. 

A. The Virginia Birth-Related Neurological Injury 
Compensation Program (Program) Board of Directors 
statutory authority concerns awards for the medical needs of 
the admitted claimants it serves. However, if an admitted 
claimant has medically necessary housing needs that can be 
addressed in the nonrental home currently owned and 
occupied by the admitted claimant's family or guardian, the 
board will provide one-time funding for medically necessary 
modification to, or construction of, an accessible bedroom 
and bathroom if such modification or construction is feasible 
and reasonable. This modification or construction must be 
within the Program's allowable standards for cost, space, and 
other factors before funding for an accessible bedroom and 
bathroom will be authorized. The Program's construction 
manager or other qualified professional will determine the 
feasibility of these modifications or construction and whether 
the admitted claimant's needs will be met in the contemplated 
project. 

B. The maximum lifetime housing benefit per admitted 
claimant for any one or combination of housing benefits 
(rental or construction) is up to $175,000.  
14VAC10-10-120. Rental housing assistance. 

A. If the admitted claimant resides in a non-handicapped-
accessible rental unit and moves to a handicapped accessible 
rental unit, the Virginia Birth-Related Neurological Injury 
Compensation Program (Program) will reimburse the 
difference between the former monthly rental payment and 
the cost for the appropriate handicapped accessible rental unit 
of similar size and quality based on cost per square foot. Any 
substantial increases in the square footage of the handicapped 
accessible unit to be reimbursed must be attributable to 
medically necessary requirements and not exceed the overall 
guidelines utilized when the Program constructs additional 
space for an admitted claimant. 

B. The handicapped accessible rental unit should meet all 
applicable regulations of the Americans with Disabilities Act 
(ADA (42 USC § 1201 et seq.)). Exceptions to meeting the 
ADA regulations must be approved by the Virginia Birth-
Related Neurological Injury Compensation Program's Board 
of Directors. Prior to providing reimbursement the Program 
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may require certification of the rental unit's suitability for the 
admitted claimant or compliance with this policy.  
14VAC10-10-130. Funeral expenses. 

The Virginia Birth-Related Neurological Injury 
Compensation Program will pay a maximum of $5,000 for 
the funeral and burial expenses of an admitted claimant.  
14VAC10-10-140. Attorney fees. 

Virginia law authorizes payment of reasonable attorney fees 
incurred in the initial filing of a claim to enter the Virginia 
Birth-Related Neurological Injury Compensation Program, 
subject to the approval and award of the Virginia Workers' 
Compensation Commission. 
14VAC10-10-150. Miscellaneous expenses. 

A. Transportation. Upon submission of receipts, the Virginia 
Birth-Related Neurological Injury Compensation Program 
(Program) will reimburse parking fees associated with 
medically necessary travel. The Program will reimburse 
documented mileage for medically necessary travel at the 
following rates: 

1. Mileage will be reimbursed at 50% of the U.S. Internal 
Revenue Service's mileage rate for vans provided by the 
Program. Mileage reimbursement typically covers gasoline 
and other costs of operation. Because the Program provides 
the van in this instance, the Program's mileage 
reimbursement is intended only to cover the cost of 
gasoline associated with medically necessary 
transportation. Mileage is based on the distance from the 
home to the appointment location. Verification may be 
required by the Program.  
2. For use of personal vehicles, reimbursement will be at 
the U.S. Internal Revenue Service's mileage rate. In the 
event a van provided by the Program is unavailable, the 
mileage reimbursement allowance provided would be that 
allowed for vans purchased by the Program. Upon 
submission of receipts, the Program will reimburse other 
medically necessary transportation expenses not otherwise 
reimbursed. 

B. Postage. The Program will pay postage for 
reimbursement requests submitted to the Program and for 
information requested by the Program. 

C. Cell phones. If the Program receives a prescription from 
the admitted claimant's primary care physician or appropriate 
treating specialist physician that a cellular telephone is 
medically necessary, the Program will pay for basic monthly 
emergency service. If basic emergency service is unavailable, 
the Program will pay for basic monthly service only. If 
installation of the cellular telephone is required, the phone 
must be installed in the vehicle in which the admitted 
claimant is transported. An admitted claimant's parent or 
guardian must contact the Program for the current allowable 
amounts. 

D. Diapers. Beginning at age three years, the Program will 
pay for diapers for an admitted claimant when deemed 

medically necessary pursuant to the Program's purchasing 
guidelines. If the parent or guardian of an admitted claimant 
does not have receipts for the period of time between the 
child's third birthday and the child's admission into the 
Program, the parent or guardian may submit the 
reimbursement request with the prescription and receive 
reimbursement based upon the Medicaid reimbursement rate. 

E. Therapeutic toys. The Program will provide therapeutic 
toys with documentation of the therapeutic benefit of the toys. 
These toys are not to exceed $300 per calendar year. Once the 
admitted claimant has no need for these toys and if the toys 
are in good condition, the Program will accept their return to 
be used to stock a lending program. The toys will be sanitized 
prior to use by other families.  

F. Other expenses. The Program may pay other medically 
necessary expenses of the admitted claimant as determined by 
the Program's Board of Directors in its discretion. Requests 
for medically necessary services, etc., that are not addressed 
in this chapter should be sent to the Executive Director of the 
Program who will refer these requests to the board for action. 

Part III 
Other Procedures 

14VAC10-10-160. Insurance. 
A. Because the Virginia Birth-Related Neurological Injury 

Compensation Program (Program) is a payer of last resort, it 
must be provided with a copy of the applicable health 
insurance policy, if one exists, or a complete description of 
applicable coverage, before benefits are paid by the Program. 
It is the responsibility of the parents or guardians to seek 
benefits for which an admitted claimant is eligible. In 
addition, the parents or guardians of the admitted claimant 
must identify a primary care physician. 

B. Claimants must utilize the primary insurer's in-network 
providers and facilities unless otherwise authorized by the 
Program. Utilizing non-network or nonparticipating providers 
or facilities may result in reduced payment, nonpayment, or 
nonreimbursement of incurred expenses. 
14VAC10-10-170. Reimbursement. 

Although an admitted claimant has been determined eligible 
for benefits from the Virginia Birth-Related Injury 
Compensation Program (Program), parents or caregivers must 
contact the Program before committing to the purchase of 
equipment or incurring other expenses for which they may 
seek reimbursement. Failure to do so may jeopardize 
reimbursement from the Program. In the case of emergency 
care rendered or sought during nonbusiness hours, the 
admitted claimant's family is responsible for contacting the 
Program the next business day for authorization of services 
for which the Program is expected to pay.  
14VAC10-10-180. Claims for reimbursement. 

Requests for reimbursement of expenses from medical 
providers, pharmacies, equipment providers, medically 
necessary mileage, or other expenses will not be honored if 
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submitted after one year from the date they are incurred. All 
reimbursement requests must be accompanied by 
documentation of medical necessity and receipts from 
providers. This time limit does not apply to expenses incurred 
prior to acceptance into the Virginia Birth-Related 
Neurological Injury Compensation Program (Program). All 
requests for reimbursement for expenses prior to entry into 
the Program must be submitted within two years of entry into 
the Program.  
14VAC10-10-190. Requests for authorization; services 
outside insurance plan covered area or network. 

A. In the event it is medically necessary to take an admitted 
claimant outside the admitted claimant's applicable insurance 
plan's covered service area or the primary insurance's 
provider network for evaluation, surgery, etc., it must be 
ascertained if the primary insurance plan will pay for benefits 
and if so, what amount it will pay. After this is determined, 
the Virginia Birth-Related Neurological Injury Compensation 
Program (Program) must be contacted for authorization prior 
to seeking services or the Program may determine not to pay 
any balance remaining on the bill for these services. 

B. If an in-network provider is available for a service and an 
out-of-network provider is utilized, the Program will 
reimburse or pay only an amount equal to what the Program 
would have paid if an in-network provider had been utilized.  
14VAC10-10-200. Medically necessary travel greater than 
100 miles from primary residence. 

In the event it is medically necessary to take an admitted 
claimant outside the local service area (more than 100 miles 
from the admitted claimant's primary residence) for 
evaluation, surgery, or other medically necessary care, it must 
be ascertained prior to the travel if the travel-related expenses 
will be reimbursed by the Virginia Birth-Related 
Neurological Injury Compensation Program (Program). If 
preauthorization is not obtained, the Program may not pay for 
these travel-related expenses. 
14VAC10-10-210. Request for benefits no specifically 
addressed. 

This chapter authorizes the Executive Director of the 
Virginia Birth-Related Neurological Injury Compensation 
Program (Program) to provide the benefits described without 
referral to the Board of Directors of the Program except in 
exceptional circumstances, and in the executive director's 
discretion. The board, however, realizes that there may be 
programs, equipment, or other items, which may be of value 
to an admitted claimant that this chapter does not address. If 
the parents or guardians feel a benefit not described in this 
chapter would be of value to the admitted claimant (the 
executive director is not authorized to provide those benefits 
without board approval), the parents or guardians should 
write the board via the executive director, who will bring 
these requests to the board at its next meeting. 

14VAC10-10-220. Experimental treatment and therapy. 
A. Experimental treatments or therapy not typically covered 

by health insurance, including conductive education, may be 
covered up to a maximum of $6,000 per year, combined, with 
written prior authorization from the Executive Director of the 
Virginia Birth-Related Neurological Injury Compensation 
Program (Program). The Board of Directors of the Program 
recognizes that such therapies or treatments may be useful for 
some admitted claimants and, therefore, grants this 
discretionary benefit on a case-by-case basis. Because this 
benefit is not provided expressly by the Virginia Birth-
Related Neurological Injury Compensation Act (§ 38.2-5000 
et seq. of the Code of Virginia), however, there is no 
guarantee of coverage for experimental therapy or treatment. 
This completely discretionary benefit may be rescinded at any 
time; especially if such rescission is warranted by the Board 
of Directors fiduciary obligations set forth in § 38.2-5016 F 
of the Code of Virginia. Upon such rescission, benefits under 
this policy will terminate immediately and no admitted 
claimant will have any further recourse or any basis for a 
claim for further benefits under this policy.  

B. A written request for authorization of experimental 
treatment or therapy must be submitted to the Program in 
accordance with the following process: 

1. A letter of medical necessity from the admitted 
claimant's physiatrist, neurologist, or other appropriate 
treating specialist physician, who also regularly treats other 
patients with cerebral palsy, must be received by the 
Program. A letter of medical necessity from a physical 
therapist is not acceptable. 
2. The letter of medical necessity must be received in the 
Program's offices at least 60 days prior to the desired start 
of treatment. 
3. Evidence as to whether the primary insurers or other 
payers will cover any portion of the cost must be submitted 
with the request. 
4. At the Program's discretion, all requests for 
experimental treatments or therapies may be reviewed for 
medical necessity by an objective qualified physician. 

C. All other Program regulations regarding therapies, 
including the travel policy, are applicable to authorized 
experimental treatments or therapies. These include: 

1. Payment for travel, lodging, and meals on a per diem 
basis based on current Commonwealth of Virginia rates. 
2. For travel other than by car or van, prior authorization 
must be obtained. 

D. Written authorization from the Program must be obtained 
by the admitted claimant prior to any payments or 
reimbursements being made by the Program. 

E. Total combined costs for experimental treatments or 
therapies, related equipment, and travel expenses during any 
single calendar year may not exceed $6,000. 
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F. Following any experimental therapy treatment, a 
complete and thorough progress report prepared by the 
treating facility must be submitted to the Program within 60 
days of completion of the therapy. 

G. No further sessions or treatments will be authorized prior 
to the Program's receiving such progress reports. The receipt 
of the reports does not guarantee that further treatments will 
be authorized. 

H. The Program may request an independent progress 
evaluation by a qualified physician prior to any 
reauthorization for subsequent treatments. If the admitted 
claimant's insurance will not cover this evaluation, the 
Program will pay for the evaluation at usual and customary 
rates. If the Program pays for the evaluation, that cost will not 
be considered to be part of the cost of the treatment. 

I. A local qualified provider of the experimental therapy or 
treatment requested should be utilized unless the Program 
grants an exception for a specific treatment provider. 

J. For any therapy or treatment proposed, no more than 100 
hours will be authorized upon initial request. Additional 
authorization may be provided only after the procedures in 
subsection F of this section have been followed. 

K. Nursing, certified nurse aide, or other personal assistance 
will not be provided for extended experimental therapy 
sessions of more than two hours per day unless a letter of 
medical necessity is received by the Program from an 
appropriate treating specialist physician. The letter must state 
specifically that a nurse must be present due to specified 
health risks to the admitted claimant. 

L. In determining whether authorization will be granted for 
experimental therapy or treatment, the Program will consider, 
including the following: 

1. The overall cost associated with the experimental 
treatment or therapy. The cost for one person to 
accompany the admitted claimant, if stated to be medically 
necessary by the treating physician; the duration of the 
Program; the expected benefits to the admitted claimant; 
and the availability of the experimental program in 
Virginia. 
2. The report from the admitted claimant's treating 
physician regarding the medical necessity for the admitted 
claimant to participate in the experimental program. 
3. Whether there is medically recognized proof of results 
that the experimental therapy or treatment has benefitted 
other patients in similar circumstances.  
4. The expected frequency and duration of the 
experimental treatment or therapy requested. 
5. The Program may require third party medical reviews to 
evaluate the potential success, safety, or results of the 
experimental treatment or therapy. 

M. The Program encourages families to seek out clinical 
trials being conducted by accredited medical facilities, 

medical schools, or other highly regarded and medically 
accepted facilities or organizations to help establish the 
medical efficacy of experimental treatments or therapies.  
14VAC10-10-230. Disagreements. 

A. Disagreements concerning whether a service or item of 
equipment should be paid for or reimbursed by the Virginia 
Birth-Related Neurological Injury Compensation Program 
(Program) may arise. If Program staff and the Program's 
Executive Director cannot make a determination regarding a 
request, or cannot resolve a disagreement, then the executive 
director has been authorized by the Program's Board of 
Directors to place the admitted claimant's request on the 
agenda for the board's consideration and determination at its 
next regular meeting.  

B. The parents or guardians, within 30 days of receiving the 
Program staff's or executive director's written denial of a 
claim, may submit a written explanation of the dispute, 
provide documentation supporting the request and 
demonstrating that procedures for the submission of claims 
pursuant to this chapter have been followed, and request that 
the board make a determination regarding the claim at its next 
regular meeting.  

C. The parents or guardians of the admitted claimant may 
attend a meeting of the board to make a presentation and to 
provide documentation in support of the request in addition to 
submitting written materials to the Program.  

D. If a dispute is not resolved by the board, a petition of 
appeal may be filed with the Clerk of the Virginia Workers' 
Compensation Commission at 1000 DMV Drive, Richmond, 
Virginia 23220, within 30 days of receipt of written 
notification of the board's decision.  
NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
FORMS (14VAC10-10) 

Certification Regarding Agency Caregiver's Prior Criminal 
History (filed 6/2017) 

Caregiver Timesheet (rev. 10/2014) 
Patient Nursing and Caregiver Form (filed 6/2017) 
Release and Waiver of Liability, Discharge, Covenant Not 

to Sue, and Indemnity Agreement of Admitted Claimant 
(filed 6/2017)  

Release and Waiver of Liability, Discharge, Covenant Not 
to Sue, and Indemnity Agreement by Caregiver (filed 6/2017) 

Family Member Caregiver Competency Certification (filed 
6/2017) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=22d80005180~1&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=22d80005180~1&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8d33a005180~2&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=63a28005180~3&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=edbd6005180~4&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=edbd6005180~4&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=edbd6005180~4&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=db5e7005180~5&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=db5e7005180~5&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=57476005180~6&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=57476005180~6&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
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Certification, Waiver and Release Regarding Family 
Member Caregiver's Prior Criminal History for Two 
Parents/Guardians (filed 6/2017) 

Certification, Waiver, and Release Regarding Family 
Member Caregiver's Prior Criminal History for Single 
Parent/Guardian (filed 6/2017) 

Certification, Waiver, and Release by Single 
Parent/Guardian Regarding Independent Caregiver's Prior 
Criminal History (filed 6/2017) 

Certification, Waiver, and Release by Parents/Guardians 
Regarding Independent Caregiver's Prior Criminal History 
(filed 6/2017) 

Monthly Care Summary (filed 6/2017) 
Sample Van Agreement (filed 6/2017) 
Sample Award Disbursement Agreement (Housing 

Modifications Allowance) (filed 6/2017) 
Claim Reimbursement Form (filed 6/2017) 
Medical Appointment Verification Forms (rev. 12/2008) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5180; Filed June 22, 2017, 6:00 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Accountancy is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 
agency discretion is involved. The Board of Accountancy will 
receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 
person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC5-22. Board of Accountancy 
Regulations (amending 18VAC5-22-50, 18VAC5-22-70, 
18VAC5-22-90, 18VAC5-22-100).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-4402 and 54.1-4403 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Effective Date: August 9, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Rebekah E. Allen, Board of Accountancy, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 402, Henrico, VA 23223, 
telephone (804) 367-2006, FAX (804) 527-4207, or email 
rebekah.allen@boa.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 403 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly, 
which amends § 54.1-4400 of the Code of Virginia, the 
amendments (i) remove "using the CPA title" from context 
of representing oneself to the public or to an employer, (ii) 

add "on behalf of" in regards to representing oneself to the 
public through an employer, and (iii) remove the National 
College as a degree-granting educational institution that 
meets the licensing requirements. 

18VAC5-22-50. Determining whether the principal place 
of business of a person using the CPA title, or of a firm, is 
in Virginia. 

Complying with subdivision A 1 of § 54.1-4409.1, 
subsection B of § 54.1-4411, or subsection B of § 54.1-
4412.1 of the Code of Virginia requires the person or firm to 
use reasonable judgment in determining whether Virginia is 
the principal place of business in which the: 

1. The person provides services to the public using the 
CPA title; or the 
2. The firm provides attest services or compilation 
services.  

The determination shall be reasonable considering the facts 
and circumstances and can be based on quantitative or 
qualitative assessments. The determination shall be 
reconsidered for changes in facts and circumstances that are 
not temporary. 
18VAC5-22-70. Education. 

A. In order for a person to take the CPA examination 
through Virginia, he must have obtained from one or more 
accredited institutions or from the National College at least 
120 semester hours of education, a baccalaureate or higher 
degree, and an accounting concentration or equivalent prior to 
taking any part of the CPA examination. 

B. For the purpose of complying with subsection A of this 
section and with subdivision A 1 a of § 54.1-4409.2 of the 
Code of Virginia, obtaining an accounting concentration or 
equivalent requires obtaining at a minimum: 

1. 24 semester hours of accounting courses, including 
courses in auditing, financial accounting, management 
accounting, and taxation; and 
2. 24 semester hours of business courses, no more than six 
semester hours of which could be considered accounting 
courses. 

Principles or introductory accounting courses cannot be 
considered in determining whether a person has obtained the 
48 minimum number of semester hours required for an 
accounting concentration or equivalent.  
18VAC5-22-90. Continuing professional education. 

A. If during the current calendar year a person who holds a 
Virginia license provided services to the public using the 
CPA title, he shall have obtained at least 120 hours of 
continuing professional education during the three-calendar-
year period ending with the current calendar year. For each of 
the calendar years in that period, he shall have obtained at 
least 20 hours of continuing professional education, including 
an ethics course of at least two hours. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5a6df005180~7&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5a6df005180~7&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5a6df005180~7&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9483005180~8&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9483005180~8&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9483005180~8&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bfccb005180~9&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bfccb005180~9&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bfccb005180~9&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ca74b005180~10&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ca74b005180~10&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ca74b005180~10&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1a112005180~11&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49819005180~14&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5ce1b005180~15&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5ce1b005180~15&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8cbe6005180~14&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49815005180~15&typ=40&actno=005180&mime=application/pdf
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1. If the person also holds the license of another state and 
Virginia is not the principal place of business in which he 
provides services to the public using the CPA title, the 
ethics course taken to comply with this subsection either 
shall conform with the requirements prescribed by the 
board or shall be an ethics course acceptable to the board 
of accountancy of another state in which the person holds a 
license. 
2. Otherwise, the ethics course shall conform with the 
requirements prescribed by the board.  

B. If during the current calendar year a person who holds a 
Virginia license provided services to or on behalf of an 
employer using the CPA title and did not provide services to 
the public using the CPA title, he shall have obtained a 
minimum number of hours of continuing professional 
education determined as follows: 

1. If the current calendar year is 2009 or 2010, the person 
shall have obtained at least 90 hours of continuing 
professional education during the three-calendar-year 
period ending with the current calendar year. For each of 
the calendar years in that period, he shall have obtained at 
least 15 hours of continuing professional education, 
including an ethics course of at least two hours. 
2. If the current calendar year is 2011 or later, the person 
shall have obtained at least 120 hours of continuing 
professional education during the three-calendar-year 
period ending with the current calendar year. For each of 
the calendar years in that period, he shall have obtained at 
least 20 hours of continuing professional education, 
including an ethics course of at least two hours.  

The ethics course taken to comply with this subsection 
either shall conform with the requirements prescribed by the 
board or shall be an ethics course acceptable to the board of 
accountancy of another state in which the person holds a 
license. 

C. If during the current calendar year a person who holds a 
Virginia license provided services to the public using the 
CPA title or to or on behalf of an employer using the CPA 
title and did not hold a Virginia license or the license of 
another state during one or both of the two preceding calendar 
years, he shall determine whether he has complied with the 
requirements of subsection A or B of this section as follows: 

1. If the person became licensed during the current 
calendar year, he shall be considered to have met the 
requirements of the subsection for the three-calendar-year 
period ending with the current calendar year. 
2. If the person became licensed during the preceding 
calendar year, he shall be considered to have met the 
requirements of the subsection for the three-calendar-year 
period ending with the current calendar year if during the 
current calendar year he obtained at least the minimum 
number of hours of continuing professional education 

required by the subsection for the current calendar year, 
including an ethics course of at least two hours. 
3. If the person became licensed during the calendar year 
prior to the preceding calendar year, he shall be considered 
to have met the requirements of the subsection for the 
three-calendar-year period ending with the current calendar 
year if during the current calendar year and the preceding 
calendar year he obtained at least the minimum number of 
hours of continuing professional education required by the 
subsection for each of the years, including for each year an 
ethics course of at least two hours. 

D. If during the current calendar year a person who holds a 
Virginia license did not provide services to the public using 
the CPA title or to or on behalf of an employer using the CPA 
title, he is not required to have obtained continuing 
professional education during the three-calendar-year period 
ending with the current calendar year. However, in order to 
begin providing those services: 

1. He is required to have obtained at least 120 hours of 
continuing professional education prior to providing the 
services, including an ethics course of at least two hours. 
2. The ethics course shall conform with the requirements 
prescribed by the board for the calendar year in which the 
person begins providing the services. 

Continuing professional education obtained during the three 
calendar years prior to the current calendar year and from the 
start of the current calendar year to when he begins providing 
the services shall be considered in determining whether the 
person has complied with the requirements of this subsection. 

E. If a person who has not held the license of any state 
applies for a Virginia license after the end of the calendar 
year in which he passes the CPA examination, he shall obtain 
continuing professional education prior to applying for the 
license, including an ethics course of at least two hours. 

1. The required minimum number of hours of continuing 
professional education shall be 40, 80, or 120 depending 
on whether he applies for the Virginia license by the end of 
the first calendar year after the calendar year in which he 
passes the CPA examination, by the end of the second 
calendar year, or later. 
2. The ethics course shall conform with the requirements 
prescribed by the board for the calendar year in which the 
person applies for the license. 

Continuing professional education obtained subsequent to 
passing the CPA examination but during the three calendar 
years prior to the calendar year in which the person applies 
for the license and from the start of that calendar year to when 
he applies for the license shall be considered in determining 
whether he has complied with this requirement. 

F. Continuing professional education acceptable to the board 
may be obtained through a variety of forums, provided there 
is a means of demonstrating that the education was obtained. 
The following forums are acceptable: 
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1. Attendance at seminars and educational conferences, 
provided that the instructors have appropriate knowledge 
of the subject matter and use appropriate teaching materials 
and that attendance is monitored in a manner that can be 
verified by the board; 
2. Taking courses at an accredited institution for credit; 
3. Self-study courses, provided there is a method for 
determining that the person met the learning objectives; 
4. Making a presentation at a professional seminar, 
educational conference, or in a classroom setting, provided 
the person has appropriate knowledge of the subject matter 
and uses appropriate teaching materials; and 
5. Writing material that is relevant to providing services to 
or on behalf of an employer using the CPA title or to the 
public using the CPA title, that is formally reviewed by an 
independent party, and that is published in a book, 
magazine, or similar publication that is used by persons 
who provide services to the public using the CPA title or to 
or on behalf of an employer using the CPA title. 

Whether other forums are acceptable shall be determined by 
the board on a case-by-case basis. 

G. In determining whether a person has obtained the 
required number of hours of continuing professional 
education: 

1. Repeat presentations shall not be considered. 
2. No more than 30 hours from preparing for and making 
presentations shall be considered during each three-
calendar-year period. 
3. One semester-hour of credit for courses at an accredited 
institution constitutes 15 hours of continuing professional 
education, and one quarter-hour of credit constitutes 10 
hours of continuing professional education. 

H. Depending on the facts and circumstances, the board may 
waive all or part of the continuing professional education 
requirement for one or more calendar years or grant 
additional time for complying with the continuing 
professional education requirement, provided that the waiver 
or deferral is in the public interest. 
18VAC5-22-100. Experience.  

Prior to applying for a license, a person must have been 
employed in academia, a firm, government, or industry in any 
capacity involving the substantial use of accounting, 
financial, tax, or other skills that are relevant, as determined 
by the board, to providing services to the public using the 
CPA title or to or on behalf of an employer using the CPA 
title for a period that is the full-time equivalent of one year. 
Whether other skills are relevant shall be determined by the 
board on a case-by-case basis. Self-employment does not 
meet the definition of experience in § 54.1-4400 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5174; Filed June 20, 2017, 5:51 p.m.  

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Veterinary Medicine (adding 18VAC150-
20-174).  
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: June 26, 2017, through December 25, 2018. 
Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 
Board of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4468, FAX 
(804) 527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 
Preamble: 

Regulations for veterinarians prescribing controlled 
substances containing opioids are being promulgated as 
emergency regulations to address the opioid abuse crisis 
in Virginia. On November 16, 2016, State Health 
Commissioner Marissa Levine declared the opioid 
addiction crisis to be a public health emergency in 
Virginia. In a news conference about the opioid crisis, 
Governor McAuliffe noted that the declaration would 
"provide a framework for further actions to fight it, and to 
save Virginians' lives." One of those "further actions" is 
adoption of emergency regulations by the Board of 
Medicine and the Board of Nursing setting out rules for 
prescribing opioids and buprenorphine and by the Board 
of Dentistry for prescribing of opioids for acute pain. To 
ensure that opioids are not being abused and diverted for 
sale through veterinary prescribing, the Board of 
Veterinary Medicine has also adopted emergency 
regulations. 
Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia authorizes an 
agency to adopt emergency regulations necessitated by an 
emergency situation upon consultation with the Attorney 
General, and the necessity for the action is at the sole 
discretion of the Governor. The declaration by 
Commissioner Levine is indeed evidence that such an 
emergency situation exists in the Commonwealth.  
The emergency regulations for the management of acute 
pain include requirements for the evaluation of the patient, 
limitations on quantity and dosage, and recordkeeping. 
The regulations also provide requirements for prescribing 
an opioid beyond 14 days for chronic pain and certain 
chronic conditions and allow for prescribing of 
buprenorphine in a dosage, quantity, and formulation 
appropriate for an animal species and size.  

18VAC150-20-174. Prescribing of controlled substances 
for pain or chronic conditions. 

A. Evaluation of the patient and need for prescribing a 
controlled substance for pain. 

1. For the purposes of this section, a controlled substance 
shall be a Schedules II through V drug, as set forth in the 
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Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia), which contains an opioid. 
2. Nonpharmacologic and non-opioid treatment for pain 
shall be given consideration prior to treatment with 
opioids. Prior to initiating treatment with a controlled 
substance, as defined, the prescriber shall perform a history 
and physical examination appropriate to the complaint and 
conduct an assessment of the patient's history as part of the 
initial evaluation.  
3. If a controlled substance is necessary for treatment of 
acute pain, the veterinarian shall prescribe it in the lowest 
effective dose appropriate to the size and species of the 
animal for the least amount of time. The dose shall not 
exceed a seven-day supply, unless extenuating 
circumstances are clearly documented in the patient's 
record.  
4. The veterinarian may prescribe a controlled substance 
for an additional seven days if medically necessary and 
consistent with an appropriate standard of care, and after a 
reevaluation of the patient as documented in the patient 
record.  

B. In accordance with the accepted standard of care, a 
veterinarian may prescribe a controlled substance beyond 14 
days for management of certain chronic conditions, such as 
chronic heart failure, chronic bronchitis, osteoarthritis, 
collapsing trachea, or related conditions. For treatment of 
chronic pain or a chronic condition with an opioid beyond 14 
days, the treatment plan shall include measures to be used to 
determine progress in treatment, further diagnostic 
evaluations or modalities that might be necessary, and the 
extent to which the pain or condition is associated with 
physical impairment. For any prescribing of a controlled 
substance beyond 14 days, the patient shall be seen and 
reevaluated at least every six months, and the justification for 
such prescribing documented in the patient record. 

C. Prior to prescribing or dispensing a controlled substance, 
the veterinarian shall document a discussion with the owner 
about the known risks and benefits of opioid therapy, the 
responsibility for the security of the drug, and proper disposal 
of any unused drug.  

D. Continuation of treatment with controlled substances 
shall be supported by documentation of continued benefit 
from the prescribing. If the patient's progress is 
unsatisfactory, the veterinarian shall assess the 
appropriateness of continued use of the current treatment plan 
and consider the use of other therapeutic modalities. 

E. Prescribing of buprenorphine for out-patient 
administration shall only occur in accordance with the 
following: 

1. The dosage, quantity, and formulation shall be 
appropriate for the patient; and 
2. The prescription shall not exceed a seven-day supply. 
Any prescribing beyond seven days shall be consistent 

with an appropriate standard of care and only after a 
reevaluation of the patient as documented in the patient 
record. 

F. The medical record for prescribing controlled substances 
shall include signs or presentation of the pain or condition, a 
presumptive diagnosis for the origin of the pain or condition, 
an examination appropriate to the complaint, a treatment plan, 
and the medication prescribed to include the date, type, 
dosage, and quantity prescribed. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5103; Filed June 16, 2017, 9:35 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 
is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 
appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 
State Board of Social Services will receive, consider, and 
respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 
respect to reconsideration or revision. 
Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-41. Neighborhood 
Assistance Tax Credit Program (amending 22VAC40-41-
20).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 58.1-439.20 and 63.2-217 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Effective Date: August 10, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Wanda Stevenson, Neighborhood 
Assistance Program Technician, Department of Social 
Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 726-7924, or email 
wanda.stevenson@dss.virginia.gov. 
Background: 
The Neighborhood Assistance Act Tax Credit Program 
(NAP) is a state tax credit program established by the General 
Assembly in 1981. NAP uses tax credits as an incentive for 
businesses, trusts, and, with certain restrictions, individuals to 
make donations to eligible nonprofit organizations whose 
primary function is providing services to low-income persons. 
Summary: 

The amendments conform the regulation to Chapter 724 of 
the 2017 Acts of Assembly to (i) clarify the audit, review, 
or compilation requirement for organizations to receive 
tax credits under the Neighborhood Assistance Program 
and (ii) add a requirement that at least 50% of the 
neighborhood organization's revenues must be used to 
provide services to low-income persons.  
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22VAC40-41-20. Purpose; procedure for becoming an 
approved organization; eligibility criteria; termination of 
approved organization; appeal procedure.  

A. The purpose of the Neighborhood Assistance Program is 
to encourage business firms and individuals to make 
donations to neighborhood organizations for the benefit of 
low-income persons. 

B. Neighborhood organizations that do not provide 
education services and that wish to become an approved 
organization must submit an application to the commissioner. 
Neighborhood organizations that provide education services 
must submit an application to the Superintendent of Public 
Instruction. The application submitted to the Superintendent 
of Public Instruction must comply with regulations or 
guidelines adopted by the Board of Education. The 
application submitted to the commissioner must contain the 
following information: 

1. A description of eligibility as a neighborhood 
organization, the programs being conducted, the low-
income persons assisted, the estimated amount that will be 
donated to the programs, and plans for implementing the 
programs. 
2. Proof of the neighborhood organization's current 
exemption from income taxation under the provisions of 
§ 501(c)(3) or § 501(c)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code, or 
the organization's eligibility as a community action agency 
as defined in the Economic Opportunity Act of 1964 
(42 USC § 2701 et seq.) or housing authority as defined in 
§ 36-3 of the Code of Virginia. 
3. For neighborhood organizations with total revenues 
(including the value of all donations) (i) in excess of more 
than $100,000 for the organization's most recent year 
ended, an audit or review for such year performed by an 
independent certified public accountant the most recent 
year or (ii) of $100,000 or less for the organization's most 
recent year ended, a compilation for such year performed 
by an independent certified public accountant; for the most 
recent year. a copy of the organization's current federal 
form 990; a current brochure describing the organization's 
programs; and a copy of the annual report filed with the 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services' 
Division of Consumer Protection. The audit, review, or 
compilation shall be performed by an independent certified 
public accountant. "Total revenues" means all revenues, 
including the value of all donations for the organization's 
most recent year.  
4. A copy of the organization's current federal form 990.  
5. A current brochure describing the organization's 
programs. 
6. A copy of the annual report filed with the Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services' Division of Consumer 
Protection. 

7. A statement of objective and measurable outcomes that 
are expected to occur and the method the organization will 
use to evaluate the program's effectiveness. 

C. To be eligible for participation in the Neighborhood 
Assistance Program, the applicant and any of its affiliates 
must meet the following criteria: 

1. Applicants must have been in operation as a viable 
entity, providing neighborhood assistance for low-income 
people, for at least 12 months. 
2. Applicants must be able to demonstrate that at least 50% 
of the total people persons served shall be low-income and 
at least 50% of the total expenditures were for revenues 
shall be used to provide services to low-income persons or 
eligible students with disabilities.  
3. Applicant's audit must not contain any significant 
findings or areas of concern for the ongoing operation of 
the neighborhood organization. 
4. Applicants must demonstrate that at least 75% of total 
revenue received is expended to support their ongoing 
programs each year. 

D. Beginning with tax credit allocations for fiscal year 
2016-2017, the applicant and any of its affiliates must meet 
the following requirements: 

1. Affiliates of neighborhood organizations must 
demonstrate that at least 50% of the persons served are 
low-income persons;  
2. Affiliates of neighborhood organizations must 
demonstrate that at least 50% of the revenues are used to 
provide services to such persons; 
3. Affiliates must also meet the definition of 
"neighborhood organization" under § 58.1-439.18 of the 
Code of Virginia; and  
4. Affiliates are not required to submit an audit, review, or 
compilation, and such reports shall not apply in 
determining the eligibility of the neighborhood 
organization submitting a proposal.  

E. Requirements in subsection D of this section do not apply 
to a neighborhood organization submitting a proposal and any 
of its affiliates, provided that:  

1. The neighborhood organization otherwise meets all 
statutory requirements and regulations;  
2. The neighborhood organization received a fiscal year 
2013-2014 allocation of neighborhood assistance tax 
credits; and 
3. No affiliate of the neighborhood organization submits a 
proposal for or receives an allocation of tax credits 
pursuant to this chapter for the program year for which the 
neighborhood organization has submitted its proposal.  

F. The application period will start no later than March 15 of 
each year. All applications must be received by the 
Department of Social Services no later than the first business 
day of May. An application filed without the required audit, 
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review, or compilation will be considered timely filed 
provided that the audit, review, or compilation is filed within 
30 days immediately following the deadline. 

G. Those applicants submitting all required information and 
reports and meeting the eligibility criteria described in this 
section will be determined an approved organization. The 
program year will run from July 1 through June 30 of the 
following year. 

H. The commissioner may terminate an approved 
organization's eligibility based on a finding of program abuse 
involving illegal activities or fraudulent reporting on 
contributions. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5118; Filed June 15, 2017, 10:22 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 22VAC40-60. Standards and 
Regulations for Licensed Adult Day Care Centers 
(repealing 22VAC40-60-10 through 22VAC40-60-1020). 
22VAC40-61. Standards and Regulations for Licensed 
Adult Day Care Centers (adding 22VAC40-61-10 through 
22VAC40-61-560).  
Statutory Authority: § 63.2-1733 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  
Public Comment Deadline: September 8, 2017. 
Agency Contact: Annette Kelley, Licensing Consultant, 
Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Room 
1507, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7632, FAX 
(804) 726-7132, or email annette.kelley@dss.virginia.gov. 
Basis: The State Board of Social Services has the authority to 
promulgate the regulation under § 63.2-217 of the Code of 
Virginia, which states that board shall adopt regulations as 
may be necessary or desirable to carry out the purpose of 
Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia. Section 63.2-1733 of the 
Code of Virginia addresses the board's overall authority to 
adopt regulations for adult day care centers to protect the 
health, safety, welfare, and individual rights of participants of 
adult day care centers and to promote the participants highest 
level of functioning. 
Purpose: The State Board of Social Services requested at the 
previous periodic review that a comprehensive revision be 
completed for these regulations within the next review period, 
as the last comprehensive revision became effective in 2000. 
The regulation is essential to protect the health, safety, and 
welfare of adult day care center participants. The new 
regulation will allow for changes based on better practices, 
the latest research and improved technology, as well as 
meeting the increased needs of a population of elderly, infirm, 
or disabled persons that has become more vulnerable over the 
years. Current technology and medical practice have allowed 
individuals to stay in their own homes, or to live with family 
members, longer, and as a result, there is an increased need 
for this level of care and socialization. 

Substance: New substantive provisions in the regulation 
include:  
22VAC40-61-40: Provides for the development and 
implementation of an internal quality assurance program. 
22VAC40-61-50: Adds to the participant rights and 
responsibilities to enhance protection for participants. 
22VAC40-61-80: Allows for the use of and appropriate 
management of electronic records.  
22VAC40-61-90: Requires incident reporting for any major 
incidents that may impact the health, safety and welfare of the 
participants. 
22VAC40-61-120: Requires staff to report suspected abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation. 
22VAC40-61-140: Establishes training criteria for staff that 
provide direct care to participants. 
22VAC40-61-150: Increases the number of hours of training 
for staff to 12 hours per year.  
22VAC40-61-160: Adds a requirement for all staff to be 
certified in first aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation.  
22VAC40-61-180: Removes the tuberculosis testing 
requirement and establishes the tuberculosis screening 
requirements established by the Virginia Department of 
Health. 
22VAC40-61-220: Adds requirements for the completion of 
the participant assessment.  
22VAC40-61-230: Adds requirements for the completion of 
the participant plan of care and items to be included on the 
plan of care. 
22VAC40-61-240: Adds to the information required to be 
included in the plan of care.  
22VAC40-61-250: Adds to the information required to be 
included in the participant's record.  
22VAC40-61-260: Removes the tuberculosis testing 
requirement and establishes the tuberculosis screening 
requirements established by the Virginia Department of 
Health.  
22VAC40-61-270: Condenses three discharge related 
standards into one and clarifies the role of the center, 
participant, and family in the discharge process. 
22VAC40-61-280: Provides for appropriate health 
monitoring requirements for participants.  
22VAC40-61-290: Provides for evidence based infection 
control practices to be established within the center. 
22VAC40-61-300: Provides for supervisory oversight for 
medication aides and establishes current medication 
management practices. 
22VAC40-61-310: Establishes that chemical and physical 
restraints are not allowed in adult day care centers.  
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22VAC40-61-320: Removes extraneous language and 
clarifies assistance to be provided for activities of daily 
living.  
22VAC40-61-330: Provides for a list of activity categories to 
be provided for participants and adds that a staff person must 
be designated to develop activities. 
22VAC40-61-340: Adds a provision requiring 45 minutes to 
consume a meal and extra time to be allowed if a participant 
requires it. 
22VAC40-61-360: Provides for meal planning and menu 
development requirements. 
22VAC40-61-370: Adds a provision that religious dietary 
practices will be respected. 
22VAC40-61-380: Adds that supervision and safety needs of 
participants are maintained at all times and that all vehicles 
will have operable heating and air conditioning systems. 
22VAC40-61-390: Adds that staff on a field trip will have a 
means of communicating with staff at the center and that 
medications will be administered according to regulatory 
requirements.  
22VAC40-61-400: Provides that the center environment must 
ensure safety of the participant but not inhibit physical, 
intellectual, emotional, or social stimulation. 
22VAC40-61-430: Establishes temperature requirements to 
be maintained inside the center and adds provisions for 
emergency heating. 
22VAC40-61-460: Clarifies the requirement of maintaining 
one restroom for every 10 participants that can accommodate 
human assistance or specialize equipment for toileting. 
22VAC40-61-520: Adds requirements for developing and 
implementing an emergency preparedness and response plan.  
22VAC40-61-530: Adds a provision for developing a written 
plan for fire and emergency evacuation and having such plan 
approved by the local fire official.  
22VAC40-61-540: Provides for additional information to be 
collected on fire and emergency evacuation drills.  
22VAC40-61-550: Removes syrup of ipecac and activated 
charcoal from the first aid supplies. 
22VAC40-61-560: Provides for initial and semi-annual 
review of the plan for participant emergencies. 
Issues: The primary advantage of the proposed regulatory 
action is the increased protection it provides to participants in 
adult day care centers. The action is needed to protect the 
health, safety, and welfare of an increasingly vulnerable 
population of aged, infirm, or disabled adults. The regulation 
addresses the care, services, and environment provided by 
adult day care centers. Additionally, the last comprehensive 
revision of the adult day care center regulations became 
effective in 2000. 
The new regulation also provides clear criteria for licensees to 
follow to maintain their licensure and for licensing staff to 

use in determining compliance with standards and in the 
implementation of any necessary enforcement action. 
In the proposed regulatory action, a fair and reasonable 
balance has been attempted to ensure adequate protection of 
participants while considering the cost to centers. Although 
some requirements have been increased, others have been 
eliminated or reduced. 
Several areas of the proposed regulations have been of 
particular interest to adult day care center providers, provider 
associations, advocacy groups, licensing staff, and the general 
public. These areas have been addressed and include: (1) 
eliminating some requirements relating to personnel practices 
that are internal business practices of a center, (2) adding a 
requirement for an internal review process, (3) expanding 
participant's rights and responsibilities, (3) allowance for 
electronic recordkeeping, (4) development of an incident 
reporting system, (5) addition of training requirements for 
direct care staff, (6) defining parameters for completion of 
participant assessments and plans of care, (7) removing 
requirements for tuberculosis testing and replacing them with 
requirements for tuberculosis screening, (8) enhancement of 
the infection control program, (9) adding a provision for a 
designated staff person to develop activities, and (10) 
enhanced emergency preparedness requirements. 
The regulation takes into consideration differences in care 
need requirements of those served, that is, those who are 
ambulatory, nonambulatory, and those needing assistance 
with activities of daily living.  The regulation addresses the 
needs of the cognitively impaired population, physically 
disabled participants, and elderly persons. In addition, it takes 
into consideration the cost constraints of smaller centers. 
Because the adult day care industry is so diverse in respect to 
size, population in care, types of services offered, form of 
sponsorship, etc., the standards must be broad enough to 
allow for these differences, while at the same time be specific 
enough so that providers know what is expected of them. 
The new regulation was prepared based on multiple 
regulatory advisory panel input, recommendations and 
feedback and recommendations from two adult day care 
center provider organizations. 
The regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the public or 
the Commonwealth. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
State Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to reorganize 
and amend its regulation that governs licensure of adult day 
care centers. Specifically, the Board proposes to: 

1) Require a tuberculosis (TB) screening rather than 
requiring a TB antibody test, 
2) Remove activated charcoal and syrup of ipecac from the 
list of required emergency equipment and supplies, 
3) Require a new quality self-assessment, 
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4) Allow facilities to keep electronic records and allow 
electronic signatures on forms,  
5) Require incident reports for any major incidents that 
negatively affect or threaten the life, health, safety or 
welfare of day care participants and require a written report 
of any incident to be sent to the regional licensing office 
within seven days, 
6) Allow individuals who are licensed as assisted living 
facility administrators to work as adult day care center 
directors, 
7) Require the list of participant rights and responsibilities 
to be signed by participants or their representatives and 
also require that a copy of the list be posted in the day care 
center, 
8) Change the length of notification when day care centers 
are discharging participants from 14 days to 30 days, 
9) Prohibit physical and chemical restraints, 
10) Require all vehicles used to transport participants to 
have working heating and cooling systems, 
11) Remove the specific number of hours of staff 
orientation and initial training while retaining the training 
requirement, 
12) Require at least 40 hours of additional training for all 
direct care staff, 
13) Require first aid and CPR training for all direct care 
staff, 
14) Increase annual in-service training required of direct 
care staff from eight hours to 12 hours, 
15) Require medication management training for adult day 
care center directors unless the center has a staff person 
who is licensed to administer medication (such as a nurse), 
16) Increase continuing training that is required for 
individuals who administer medication (from a three-hour 
refresher course every three years to four hours of 
additional training every year), 
17) Require that center activities be managed by a 
designated person with required training, 
18) Require that all adult day care centers have meal and 
snack menus posted and available for participants and 
require that menus be retained for two years (rather than 
the currently required three months), 
19) Require that snacks be made available at all times 
either in plain view or upon request of day care participants 
and that second helpings of meals and snacks be provided 
at no extra charge and 
20) Require that the religious dietary practices of the 
participants be respected and followed unless the 
participant and care provider mutually agree that the 
"religious dietary practices of the director, staff or 
licensees" may be imposed. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for most 
proposed regulatory changes. For some proposed regulatory 
changes, there is insufficient information to ascertain whether 
benefits outweigh costs. For several proposed changes, costs 
likely outweigh benefits. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Most changes that the Board 
proposes for this regulation will not change any substantive 
requirement for regulated entities but, instead, are aimed at 
reorganizing regulatory requirements in a more logical order 
and changing language to clarify regulatory requirements. No 
affected entities will incur costs on account of changes such 
as these. Interested parties will benefit from the changed 
structure of the regulation as it will make it both easier to find 
and read any particular standard. Benefits likely outweigh 
costs for all reorganizing and clarifying changes.  
Current regulation requires employees of adult day care 
centers to have a TB antibody test no earlier than 30 days 
before employment and no later than seven days after 
employment. Because there has been a shortage of serum to 
conduct antibody tests for several years now, the Virginia 
Department of Health guidelines now call for a TB screening 
that assesses risk factors for, and possible exposure to, TB. 
The Board now proposes to require that employees undergo 
TB screening instead of requiring a TB antibody test. This 
change will allow employees undergoing screening (or their 
employers) to save at least the lab costs that they would have 
incurred for the antibody test. Additionally, Board staff 
reports that adult day care centers that have employee medical 
staff can have those staff perform the TB screenings for 
newly hired employees thus saving the cost of an office visit 
to a doctor. Board staff reports that all adult day care centers 
that receive funds from either the Elderly or Disabled with 
Consumer Direction (EDCD) waiver program or the 
Programs of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE) 
program are required to have medical staff (usually a nurse) 
and that all but 15 of the 73 adult day care centers in the 
Commonwealth receive funds from one or both of those two 
programs. Although there is likely a slightly higher risk of 
missing a non-symptomatic TB case when employees are 
screened rather than tested, the shortage of serum makes the 
changing policy necessary. Nonetheless, risk is likely 
mitigated by screening to the extent that the benefits to this 
change likely outweigh its costs. 
Current regulation requires adult day care centers to have a 
list of emergency equipment and supplies so that they can 
render first aid to center participants. The Board now 
proposes to remove syrup of ipecac and activated charcoal 
from the list of required supplies. Board staff reports that both 
of these items1  are difficult to administer correctly and that 
Poison Control no longer recommends that they be kept in 
first aid supplies. This change will save some small initial and 
ongoing costs for adult day care centers as these items expire 
and would need to be periodically replaced. The benefits of 
this change likely outweigh its costs. 
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Current regulation has provision for adult day care centers to 
be inspected. The Board now proposes to add a requirement 
that all centers perform an annual self-assessment. Board staff 
reports that the proposed regulation is not prescriptive as to 
how the self-assessment is produced and that the self-
assessment will not be used as part of the inspection process. 
The self-assessment will involve center staff as well as 
participants and their families or legal representatives and can 
take many forms from a formal written survey to informal 
discussions with participants and their families to ask how 
well the center is providing services. The Board does propose 
to require that centers prepare and keep a written record of the 
results of their self-assessments. There will likely be some 
time costs for staff as well as copying costs associated with 
this proposed change. Those costs would need to be measured 
against any improvements in quality of care that might arise 
as a result of the self-assessment. There is insufficient 
information to ascertain whether benefits will outweigh costs. 
Current regulation requires centers to keep many types of 
records and reports but does not have provision for any 
records to be kept in electronic form. The Board now 
proposes to allow facilities to keep electronic records and 
allow electronic signatures on forms. These changes will 
benefit centers as they will be able to store reports and 
participant records electronically rather that assigning (or 
paying for) space to physically store them. Centers will also 
likely save some time costs not spent on copying reports for 
physical storage and forms to be signed by center 
participants. There may be some small costs to purchase 
electronic memory if centers have a large volume of records 
that they wish to store electronically. Centers will likely not 
choose to store records electronically unless they expect the 
costs of doing so to be less than physically storing the same 
records, thus the benefits of this proposed change likely 
outweigh its costs for all centers that choose to store records 
electronically and/or have forms signed electronically.  
Current regulation requires that centers keep a written report 
of all incidents that involve fire, natural disaster or criminal 
activity; centers are also required to report such incidents to 
the State Department of Social Services' Division of 
Licensing Programs within 24 hours. The Board now 
proposes to require centers to additionally report any major 
medical incidents and to send a written report of any major 
incidents of any sort to the Division of Licensing Programs 
within seven days. Board staff reports that there is no bright 
line (such as transport of a center participant to a hospital) 
that would trigger the necessity for reporting. Instead, center 
directors and staff will have to use their judgment to decide 
what medical issues would constitute a major incident. Board 
staff reports that medical incidents that include heart attack, 
severe head injury or death would qualify as major incidents. 
This change will presumably benefit center participants as 
requiring the additional reporting will allow licensing staff to 
be aware of incidents that might indicate that there are 
problems with standards of care that might need to be 

investigated. Centers may incur some time costs because they 
will have to report a greater number of incidents and because 
they will have to newly submit reports to the Division of 
Licensing Programs. Those costs are likely to be minimal 
since reports can be submitted electronically. Benefits likely 
outweigh costs for this proposed change. 
Current regulation lays out what qualifications the director of 
an adult day care center must have. The Board now proposes 
to expand the kinds of qualifications that are allowed for 
directors to include licensure as an assisted living facility 
(ALF) administrator. Board staff reports that licensed ALF 
administrators have training and education requirements that 
are at least as stringent as other qualification paths. 
Expanding the list of individuals who may work as a director 
for an adult day care center will likely benefit center owners 
as it expands the pool of potential applicants for positions and 
allows owners a greater range of choices. Because owners 
will not be forced to hire ALF administrators, they will likely 
only take advantage of their additional choice if they judge 
that benefits of doing so will outweigh the costs. 
Current regulation lists participant rights and responsibilities. 
The Board now proposes to require that centers prominently 
post a copy of participant rights and responsibilities in the 
center and get participants or their legal representatives to 
read and sign a copy of the participant rights and 
responsibilities. Centers will likely incur some small time 
costs for meeting this requirement and will also incur some 
copying costs. These costs would need to be measured against 
any benefit that might accrue to center participants on account 
of greater understanding of, and access to, their regulatory 
rights and responsibilities. There is insufficient information to 
ascertain whether benefits that may accrue to participants 
would outweigh the small costs that centers would incur. 
Currently regulation requires that centers that, for whatever 
reason, intend to discharge a participant, and no longer offer 
them care, give that participant (or their legal representative) 
14 days' notice of the intended discharge. Current regulation 
also allows that notification period to be waived and a 
participant to be discharged immediately if a "participant's 
condition presents an immediate and serious risk to the 
health, safety or welfare of the participant or others."2 The 
Board now proposes to extend the notification requirement to 
30 days. The Board also proposes to revise the language that 
allows the notification period to be waived to reflect that 
extension. This change will likely benefit participants who are 
being discharged for reasons that do not present and 
immediate and serious risk to anyone's health or safety, and 
their representatives, as it will give them longer to make 
alternate arrangements for care. Centers that are discharging 
participants whose conditions or behaviors do not present an 
immediate and serious risk, however, will likely be adversely 
impacted by this change as it will lengthen the time that they 
have to care for participants when presumably they feel 
unable or unwilling to provide that care. There is insufficient 
information to ascertain whether the benefits that would 
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likely accrue to participants outweigh the adverse impact on 
centers. 
The Board proposes to add definitions for chemical restraint3 
and physical restraint4 and prohibit both in adult day care 
centers. This change will likely benefit center participants as 
the regulatory prohibition will help ensure that they are not 
chemically or physically restrained to their detriment. Adult 
day care centers may incur some costs for modifying the adult 
day care environment on account of this proposed change. 
Board staff reports that any physical barrier to free 
movement, even such things as recliners if they restrict a 
participant's ability to get up, can constitute a physical 
restraint. That being the case, owners of adult day care 
centers will likely have to reexamine their center's physical 
environment to ensure that any furniture meant to increase the 
comfort of participants does not constitute a physical 
restraint. There is insufficient information to ascertain 
whether the benefits of this change will outweigh its costs.  
Current regulation includes rules for vehicles that are used to 
transport participants. The Board proposes to add to these 
rules a requirement that any vehicle used for transport have 
working heat and air conditioning. This change may benefit 
participants, who tend to be older and may be in fragile 
health, by ensuring that they are not exposed to temperature 
extremes. Owners of adult day care centers who may have 
vehicles used for transport that do not have working heat or 
air conditioning will have to pay to get those systems repaired 
or installed. Such heating and air conditioning repairs can 
costs as little as $50 or as much as over $4,000.5 Alternately, 
an adult day care center owner could choose to not allow field 
trips or otherwise provide transportation for participants if he 
judges the costs of repair too high. There is insufficient 
information to ascertain whether the benefits of this proposed 
change would outweigh its costs. 
Changes to Training Requirements: 
Current regulation requires that new employees of adult day 
care centers complete 24 hours of staff orientation and initial 
training that cover specific topics. The Board now proposes to 
retain the requirement that specific topics be covered in staff 
orientation and initial training but proposes to remove the 
hours of training requirement. This change will benefit all 
adult day care centers as it will give them greater flexibility to 
accomplish training on the specified topics as efficiently as 
possible. These centers will likely save costs in staff time if 
they are able to complete training on required topics in less 
than 24 hours. No entity is likely to incur costs on account of 
this proposed change because new staff will still have to be 
trained on all required topics. Benefits likely outweigh costs 
for this proposed change. 
The Board proposes to newly require that direct care staff 
complete additional training. This training can take the form 
of: 

1. Certification as a nurse aide issued by the Virginia 
Board of Nursing (100 hours), 

2. Successful completion of Virginia Board of Nursing 
approved nurse aide education program (100 hours), 
3. Successful completion of a personal care aide program 
that meets EDCD waiver program requirements (40 
hours), 
4. Successful completion of certain Board approved out-
of-state training as a geriatric assistant, home health aide 
or nurse aide, 
5. Successful completion of a 40-hour Assisted Living 
Facility Direct Care Training curriculum or 
6. Successful completion of at least 40 hours of training 
that covers specified topics listed in the proposed 
regulation and taught by a licensed health care 
professional or, if online, accredited by a national 
association. 

Board staff reports that this change is being made at the 
behest of advisory panel participants from the industry. Board 
staff further reports that this training is already required for 
adult day care centers that participate in the EDCD waiver or 
PACE programs. This means that the 15 adult day care 
centers that do not participate in those programs would be the 
only ones affected. Board staff does not have actual 
enrollment information but does report that impacted centers 
have a rated participant capacity of between eight and 65 
(with 80% having a rated capacity of 45 participants or 
lower). This means that if these centers only used full time 
employees at the staff to participant ratios required by 
regulation, and assuming enrollment matched capacity,6 
approximately 84 direct care staff would have to undergo at 
least 40 hours of training. If centers employ part time direct 
care staff, more staff might need this training than is indicated 
by full time staff analysis. Additionally, any staff turnover 
that brings in new direct care staff will necessitate those staff 
also receiving this training. 
Board staff reports that the fee for training option 6 in the list 
above would be $300. Owners of centers or their employees 
will incur fee costs as well as time costs for time spent in 
training. Board staff reports that direct care staff may earn 
between $7.25 per hour and about $12.50 per hour 
(depending on experience). Using a rough average of $10 per 
hour, either owners or employees would incur about $400 in 
time costs in addition to the $300 fee for training. Other 
training options would be at least as expensive in time and fee 
costs and might be much more expensive. These costs will 
have to be borne by either owners of adult day care centers or 
by the new employees themselves. For owners, particularly 
owners of small adult day care centers, these costs will 
constitute a fairly large burden and may be passed on to 
participants in the form of higher day care prices. If 
employees have to pay for training, such training will 
constitute a considerable disincentive to take employment in 
an adult day care center when other, similarly low paying, 
jobs are available and would not require the purchase of 
training. Absent some showing that current training standards 
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are inadequate to protect the health and safety of center 
participants, the costs for this proposed change likely 
outweigh its benefits. 
Current regulation requires that at least one direct care staff 
member trained in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and 
first aid be on premises at all times. The Board now proposes 
to require all direct care staff be trained in CPR and first aid. 
To the extent that the current requirement does not allow staff 
to adequately respond in a timely fashion to participant 
emergencies, this change may provide a benefit of increased 
protection of health and safety for center participants. Either 
center owners or employees who are not currently receiving 
CPR and first aid training will incur increased costs. Board 
staff reports that CPR and first aid certification training each 
cost approximately $50 every three years and that each would 
require about four hours of staff time. Using a rate of $10 per 
hour, this means that costs every three years would equal 
$180 times the number of direct care staff that would newly 
be required to complete training. Benefits would likely 
outweigh these costs only if there are incidents where 
participant health has suffered because there was only one 
person required to be in the facility that had CPR and first aid 
training at any given time. 
Current regulation requires adult day care center direct care 
staff to complete eight hours of in-service training per year. 
The Board does not currently dictate topics for this training 
but instead requires that it be "relevant to the needs of the 
population in care." The Board now proposes to require two 
hours of training in infection control and four hours of 
training on center participants' mental impairments. The 
Board also proposes to raise the total number of in-service 
training hours to 12. Board staff reports that adult day care 
centers are seeing an increasing number of participants who 
suffer from age related mental impairments and also report 
that infection control training is inadequate right now. Given 
this, training on these topics would likely be beneficial to 
both center participants and direct care staff who might feel 
more adequately prepared to meet participant needs. No 
additional costs are likely to be incurred solely on account of 
specifying these training topics. Accordingly, benefits likely 
outweigh costs for those two changes. 
The same may not be true, however, for the proposed increase 
in total in-service hours. Since current training is undirected, 
training on these two topics could be accomplished within the 
currently required eight hours of training (which would leave 
two additional hours for training on topics directed by center 
owners or directors). Board staff reports that eight hours of 
training may be inadequate to cover the two proposed topics 
and general training. Without a showing of other necessary 
training that would be getting short shrift, however, there may 
be little benefit to raising total hours of training to 12. The 
total costs of this change will be mainly time costs but may 
also include fees if adult day care owners contract with 
individuals outside of their center to provide specific training. 
The costs for direct care staff time will be equal the number 

of extra hours of in-service training required (four) times the 
wage rate of the employees completing the training (which 
likely roughly averages about $10 per hour) times the number 
of direct care staff statewide.7 Costs for extra training may 
also include time costs for other center employees who may 
provide training. The costs associated with adding additional 
required training hours will likely exceed any benefit if 
specified training can be completed in the currently required 
eight total hours without any loss of staff effectiveness. 
Current regulation requires: 

1. That adult day care centers have a medication 
management plan,  
2. That staff who will be dispensing medication either 
successfully complete a medication training program 
developed by the State Department of Social Services 
and approved by the Board of Nursing or be licensed in 
Virginia to administer medication and 
3. That staff who dispense medication after successfully 
completing the program developed by the State 
Department Social Services complete a three-hour 
refresher course every three years. 

The Board now proposes to require the directors of adult day 
care centers complete medication management training unless 
they have medical personnel on staff. Board staff reports that 
adult day care centers that participate in the EDCD waiver or 
PACE programs are required to have medical personnel 
(usually a nurse) on staff so only directors of the 15 centers 
that do not participate in either of these programs, and do not 
have medical personnel in their employ separate from any 
reimbursement requirements, will be required to complete 
medication management training. Board staff reports that the 
medication management course consists of 32 hours of 
training and the fee for the course is $300. Owners of affected 
adult day care centers, or the directors themselves, will incur 
training costs that include the $300 fee plus the hourly 
equivalent of their salary times 32. Board staff reports that 
directors of adult day care centers likely receive rather low 
compensation but does not have sufficient information to 
quantify what the average salary would be. Even without 
salary information it is likely safe to conclude that time costs 
for each director will likely be at least several hundred 
dollars. 
The Board also proposes to increase periodic retraining for 
direct care staff who administer medication from three hours 
every three years to four hours every year. Board staff reports 
that the medication administration retraining will cost $50 
plus time costs of approximately $40 for each person taking 
the course. Board staff reports that the increased retraining 
requirement mimics what is required for registered 
medication aides. Board staff further reports that medication 
administration and management are areas where many 
violations are found during inspections of adult day care 
centers. To the extent that the additional training that the 
Board proposes to require decreases the number of times that 
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medications are mishandled or administered incorrectly, 
center participants are likely to benefit from these changes. 
However, there is insufficient information to measure those 
benefits or ascertain whether they would outweigh 
quantifiable costs. 
Current regulation requires that activities of various sorts be 
planned and that the planning occur under the supervision of 
the director. Board staff reports that any employee under the 
supervision of the director can currently plan and manage 
activities. The Board now proposes to require that activities 
be managed by a designated staff person who is: 

1. A qualified therapeutic recreation specialist or an 
activities professional, 
2. Eligible for certification as therapeutic recreation 
specialist or activities professional by a recognized 
accrediting body, 
3. A qualified occupational therapist or an occupational 
therapy assistant or 
4. An individual who has one year of full time experience 
within the last five years in an activities program in an 
adult care setting. 

Board staff reports that this change is being proposed at the 
behest of advisory panel participants from the industry. This 
change will limit the flexibility of centers to assign activities 
planning tasks in the way they best see fit and may 
additionally cause them to incur costs for obtaining the 
services of an individual who has one of the listed 
qualifications (if they do not have such a person employed as 
direct care staff now). Absent some empirical evidence that 
current activity planning is deficient in some way that this 
requirement would address, costs likely outweigh benefits for 
this proposed change. 
Changes to Nutrition Requirements: 
Current regulation requires that adult day care centers post 
menus for snacks and meals and that menus be retained for 
three months. An exception to this rule is currently allowed 
for centers that have meals and snacks catered or contract for 
food services if the contractor refuses to provide menus. The 
Board proposes to remove this exception. This change will 
provide a benefit to participants at centers that currently do 
not post menus as it will allow participants to know which 
foods will be available to them and plan accordingly (for 
instance, packing a lunch if they dislike what is being served 
on any given day). There should be minimal copying costs for 
contractors attached to this change. There is a possibility, 
however, that contractors would continue to refuse to provide 
menus. If this happens, centers may incur additional costs for 
searching out and hiring a new food service contractor.  
The Board also proposes to require that menus be retained for 
two years. Board staff reports that this change is proposed as 
part of an effort to harmonize all record retention 
requirements. Centers may incur some additional storage 
costs on account of this requirement. 

Current regulation requires that centers serve scheduled 
snacks and meals. The Board now proposes to also require 
that snacks be available at all times throughout the day and 
that second servings of meal and snacks be made available at 
no additional charge to participants. These changes may 
benefit some center participants who are still hungry after 
eating meals or snacks but it also might harm some 
participants who might fill up on additional snacks and then 
refuse to eat a meal that might provide more balanced 
nutrition to them. These changes taken together will likely 
increase food costs for centers and have the potential to more 
than double those costs. While the Board plans to prohibit 
centers from charging for additional food beyond the planned 
meals and snacks, additional food costs will have to be priced 
into the costs of day care and day care rates are likely to rise. 
The magnitude of price increases that can be attributed to 
these changes will likely be dictated by the magnitude of food 
cost increases that centers experience. Unless current required 
meals and snacks are leaving participants underfed, costs 
likely outweigh benefits for these proposed changes.  
Finally, the Board proposes to newly require that the religious 
dietary practices of center participants be "respected and 
followed" unless the participants and the care provider 
mutually agree that "the religious dietary practices of the 
director, staff or licensees" may be imposed. Although Board 
staff reports that the Board's intention with this change is to 
ensure that center participants are not forced to eat food that 
is prohibited by their religion's dietary restrictions, the 
proposed language as written appears to require that either 
centers provide food that meets the strictures of any 
participant's religious dietary restrictions or that participant 
must agree to have the religious dietary restrictions of the 
director, staff or licensee imposed on them. As written, this 
requirement has the potential to increase costs for centers that 
do not currently consider participants' religions when 
planning and preparing meals or choosing a food service or 
caterer. This is particularly true if participants follow 
religious dietary restrictions that dictate not only what food 
may be eaten but also how meat animals may be killed, which 
cuts of meat from those animals may and may not be eaten 
and how food must be prepared.8 On the other hand, 
participants with religious dietary restrictions who have 
reached an agreement with the center they attend9 that does 
not involve the center providing food compliant with their 
religion or them signing an agreement that allows any diet to 
be imposed on them will also be worse off on account of this 
proposed change. This change may also make it more 
difficult for individuals who have religious dietary 
restrictions to find placements in secular adult day care 
centers that do not currently supply meals compliant with the 
individuals' particular religion. As written the costs of this 
proposed change likely outweigh its benefits. 
Considered in total, increased costs that adult day care centers 
will likely incur on account of all of these proposed changes 
may affect the profitability of these businesses. Owners of 
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centers that are currently only marginally profitable may 
choose to close their centers if they judge that their capital 
and effort can be more profitably spent on other endeavors.  
Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulatory 
changes will affect all adult day care centers licensed by the 
Board as well as all of their staff and all individuals enrolled 
in those centers. Board staff reports that there are currently 73 
such centers in the Commonwealth. Board staff reports that 
most centers likely qualify as small businesses. 
Localities Particularly Affected. No localities are likely to be 
particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes. 
Projected Impact on Employment. Increased training 
requirements in this proposed regulation may marginally 
increase employment for trainers. Proposed requirements for 
specific certification or experience for designated activities 
staff will likely allow individuals with specified certifications 
or experience a competitive advantage over other candidates 
for employment at adult day care centers. These proposed 
requirements are unlikely to increase total employment at 
adult day care centers, however.   
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 
proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 
value of private property in the Commonwealth. 
Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 
changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 
the Commonwealth. 
Small Businesses:  
Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 
Costs and Other Effects. Small business adult day care 
centers will likely incur increased food costs on account of 
these proposed changes. Centers, or their employees, will 
incur increased costs for various types of training. Several 
training costs will fall disproportionately on centers that do 
not participate in the EDCD waiver or PACE programs or on 
their employees.  
Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
adverse impacts of this proposed regulation may be further 
minimized if increased training and credential requirements 
that are not specifically addressing identified deficiencies are 
eliminated. Allowing greater flexibility for providers and 
participants to mutually agree on provision of food in 
participant agreements may lower costs and minimize adverse 
impacts for all parties. For instance, a provider and participant 
could agree that the participant will bring food that meets 
religious dietary requirements from home, that the provider 
will plan on not providing food for that participant and that 
the provider will decrease day care fees to account for the 
decreased care costs for that participant. 

Adverse Impacts: 
Businesses. Adult day care centers will likely incur increased 
food costs on account of these proposed changes. Centers, or 
their employees, will incur increased costs for various types 
of training. Several training costs will fall disproportionately 
on centers that do not participate in the EDCD waiver or 
PACE programs or on their employees. 
Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 
see any adverse impacts on account of these proposed 
regulatory changes. 
Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely 
affected by these proposed changes. 
_______________________________ 
1 Both syrup of ipecac and activated charcoal are used to counteract 
poisoning. 
2 This waiver language is in 22 VAC 40-60-660 (C) in the regulation to be 
repealed and in 22 VAC 40-61-270 (E) in the new regulation. 
3 Chemical restraint is defined as a psychopharmacologic drug that is used for 
discipline or convenience and not required to treat the participant's medical 
symptoms or symptoms from mental illness or intellectual disability and that 
prohibits an individual from reaching his highest level of functioning. 
4 Physical restraint is defined as any manual method or physical or 
mechanical device, material, or equipment attached or adjacent to the 
participant's body that the participant cannot remove easily, which restricts 
freedom of movement or access to his body. 
5 Cost estimates obtained from http://cars.costhelper.com/car-air-
conditioning.html and http://www.autotrader.com/car-news/common-
problems-and-typical-repair-costs-33197  
6 Enrollment may be lower than capacity at some affected centers. 
7 Board staff does not know how many people are employed statewide as 
adult day care center direct care staff but does report that, as of October 7, 
2016, all adult day care centers statewide had a combined rated participant 
capacity of 3,991. Using the direct care staff to participant ratio of one to six, 
there would be slightly over 665 full time equivalent (FTE) direct care staff if 
enrollment was equal to capacity. In reality enrollment is unlikely to be as 
high as capacity. If enrollment number are below capacity, fewer than 665 
FTE direct care staff would be affected. To the extent that centers have part 
time direct care staff, a greater number of individuals may be subject to the 
increased training requirement than the number of FTEs would indicate. 
8 See http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm for rules for kosher dietary 
practices. See https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halal for rules for observant 
Muslim dietary practices.  See 
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diet_in_Hinduism for an explanation of various 
Hindu dietary restrictions. 
9 If these participants are bringing meals and snacks from home that comply 
with their religious dietary restrictions, for instance. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis:  
The Department of Social Services reviewed the economic 
impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 
Budget. The agency does not completely concur with the 
analysis and provides the following comments:  
1. Training for direct care staff and medication administration 
training. The use of the term "additional" in relation to direct 
care staff training and medication aide annual training can be 
misinterpreted. The direct care staff training is a new training 
requirement and the medication aide training is an 
enhancement of a current training requirement. 

http://cars.costhelper.com/car-air-conditioning.html
http://cars.costhelper.com/car-air-conditioning.html
http://www.autotrader.com/car-news/common-problems-and-typical-repair-costs-33197
http://www.autotrader.com/car-news/common-problems-and-typical-repair-costs-33197
http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halal
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diet_in_Hinduism
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2. Participant rights and responsibilities. Currently, adult day 
care centers (ADCC) providers are not required to inform 
participants that they have rights and responsibilities as a care 
recipient. This requirement will allow participants and 
families to know that they are guaranteed certain, specific 
protections while they are in care. The cost for printing the 
rights and responsibilities is minimal, as it should only 
require one piece of paper front and back. From a practice 
perspective, the protection afforded the participant and his 
family outweighs the cost of the printing. 
3. Discharge of participants. The increase of the discharge 
notification period from 14 days to 30 days will not adversely 
impact the centers by forcing them to care for individuals that 
"they feel unable or unwilling to provide that care." 
22VAC40-61-270 E allows the provider the ability to forgo 
the 30-day requirement if the participant's condition presents 
an immediate and serious risk to the health, safety or welfare 
of the participant or others. In nonemergency situations, this 
increase in time allows for better planning and service 
accessibility for the participant/family. Additionally, it 
protects the participant from being "dumped" from care 
without an appropriate plan in place. If alternate care is 
secured and all parties are in agreement, the discharge can 
take place prior to the 30th day. 
4. Restraints. This standard prohibits any use of chemical or 
physical restraint and thereby requires the provider to address 
the care needs of each participant and to determine if 
anything within the center environment poses a restriction to 
the freedom of movement to an individual.  It is not requiring 
that major changes be made to the center furniture; rather, the 
provider needs to address the care needs of participants and 
determine if something presents a physical restraint to an 
individual participant. For example, if an individual is able to 
sit in a recliner and get up from the recliner on his own, then 
the recliner does not present as a physical restraint. However, 
if the individual cannot get up from the recliner on his own, 
then the recliner becomes a physical restraint for that 
individual. The provider would not need to remove all their 
recliners and replace them with other furniture, they would 
simply need to ensure that this individual is seated someplace 
other than the recliner. Prohibiting chemical and physical 
restraints is a protection for the participant and is part of their 
participant's rights.  
5. Direct care staff qualifications. This standard is attempting 
to close a care provision gap that is paramount to the 
protection and safety of the participants in care. Adult day 
care exists as an alternative to nursing home placement, with 
a majority of participants meeting nursing home placement 
criteria. The nursing home requirement for direct care staff is 
a CNA level trained individual. Currently, in an adult day 
care center, an individual with no training in providing 
assistance with care needs to elderly or disabled individuals 
can be employed as direct care staff. This means that 
individuals in some ADCCs who meet nursing home level of 
care are being cared for by staff who are not required to have 

any training. By not requiring all ADCCs to meet the same 
training requirement, we are, in effect, allowing some centers 
to operate at a lower standard than others, regardless if it is a 
DSS requirement or a DMAS requirement.  
6. Staff training. The increase in training hours allows for the 
fulfillment (in part) of the required topics of training (two-
infection control; four-cognitive impairment). Without this 
minimal increase, staff may be limited to only completing the 
same required six hours of training every year, with little 
opportunity to access other training that could vary 
significantly in topics related to care provision. This would 
limit staff in expanding their care knowledge base. 
7. Activities. One of the main purposes of attending adult day 
care is to provide activity stimulation throughout the day. The 
standard does not limit who can fulfill this requirement, but 
instead, serves to increase the appropriateness and conduct of 
activities for the center. It also allows for a dedicated staff 
person to plan, design and implement activities and gives 
credibility to that individual's knowledge base. 
8. Menu and nutrition requirements. In regards to allowing 
seconds, the standard is not requiring providers to create 
meals (either by cooking or catered/contracted meal service) 
that would serve two portions to every individual. However, 
if there is extra food and an individual requests seconds, the 
provider should allow the second portion. The same goes for 
snacks: the standard is not requiring an open snack bar, to be 
accessed whenever and however a participant chooses. Staff 
is responsible for monitoring dietary intake and practices of 
the participants. If a participant is consistently accessing 
snacks and then not eating his lunch or gaining significant 
weight, this would be addressed on the care plan and with that 
participant.  
9. Observance of religious dietary practices. This standard is 
stating that a provider cannot violate a participant's religious 
dietary practices by forcing them to consume food that they 
otherwise would not eat. This standard is not intended to 
address anything past that (such as how meals are prepared, 
the manner in which animals are killed, or the parts of the 
animals being consumed). If this is an issue between the 
center and the participant, it will need to be addressed and an 
agreement made between the two parties. This standard is 
about choice. For example, if an individual does not eat pork, 
and that is on the menu, the center cannot force the individual 
to eat the pork. The center can choose to provide an alternate 
meal, the participant can choose to bring their lunch, the 
participant can choose not to attend that day, the participant 
can choose not to attend the center altogether, or the center 
can choose not to accept the participant. If necessary, 
technical assistance can be provided to adult day care centers 
to assist in meeting the intent of the standard. 
Summary: 

The proposed regulatory action repeals the existing 
Standards and Regulations for Licensed Adult Day Care 
Centers (22VAC40-60) and replaces it with a new 
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regulation, Standards and Regulations for Licensed Adult 
Day Care Centers (22VAC40-61). The proposed new 
regulation updates standards to (i) reflect changed 
practices and procedures, (ii) reflect current federal and 
state law and regulation, and (iii) improve the 
organization of the regulation and increase clarity and 
consistency. 

CHAPTER 61 
STANDARDS AND REGULATIONS FOR LICENSED 

ADULT DAY CARE CENTERS 
Part I  

General Provisions  
22VAC40-61-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means bathing, 
dressing, toileting, transferring, bowel control, bladder 
control, eating, and feeding. A person's degree of 
independence in performing these activities is a part of 
determining required care needs and necessary services. 

"Administer medication" means to open a container of 
medicine or to remove the ordered dosage and to give it to the 
participant for whom it is ordered in such a manner as is 
ordered or is appropriate.  

"Adult" means any person 18 years of age or older.  
"Adult day care center" or "center" means any facility that is 

either operated for profit or that desires licensure and that 
provides supplementary care and protection during only a part 
of the day to four or more aged, infirm, or disabled adults 
who reside elsewhere, except (i) a facility or portion of a 
facility licensed by the State Board of Health or the 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services and (ii) the home or residence of an individual who 
cares for only persons related to him by blood or marriage. 
Included in this definition are any two or more places, 
establishments, or institutions owned, operated, or controlled 
by a single entity and providing such supplementary care and 
protection to a combined total of four or more aged, infirm, or 
disabled adults. 

"Advance directive" means (i) a witnessed written 
document, voluntarily executed by the declarant in 
accordance with the requirements of § 54.1-2983 of the Code 
of Virginia or (ii) a witnessed oral statement, made by the 
declarant subsequent to the time he is diagnosed as suffering 
from a terminal condition and in accordance with the 
provisions of § 54.1-2983 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Ambulatory" means the condition of a participant who is 
physically and mentally capable of self-preservation by 
evacuating in response to an emergency to a refuge area as 
described in 13VAC5-63, the Virginia Uniform Statewide 
Building Code, without the assistance of another person, or 
from the structure itself without the assistance of another 

person if there is no such refuge area within the structure, 
even if such participant may require the assistance of a 
wheelchair, walker, cane, prosthetic device, or a single verbal 
command to evacuate.  

"Business entity" means an individual or sole proprietor, 
association, partnership, limited liability company, business 
trust, corporation, public agency, or religious organization. 

"Chapter" or "this chapter" means these regulations, that is, 
Standards and Regulations for Licensed Adult Day Care 
Centers, 22VAC40-61, unless noted otherwise. 

"Chemical restraint" means a psychopharmacologic drug 
that is used for discipline or convenience and not required to 
treat the participant's medical symptoms or symptoms from 
mental illness or intellectual disability and that prohibits an 
individual from reaching his highest level of functioning. 

"Communicable disease" means an illness that spreads from 
one person to another or from an animal to a person.  

"CPR" means cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 
"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services.  
"Dietary supplement" means a product intended for 

ingestion that supplements the diet, is labeled as a dietary 
supplement, is not represented as a sole item of a meal or diet, 
and contains a dietary ingredient, for example, vitamins, 
minerals, amino acid, herbs or other botanicals, dietary 
substances (such as enzymes), and concentrates, metabolites, 
constituents, extracts, or combinations of the preceding types 
of ingredients. "Dietary supplements" may be found in many 
forms, such as tablets, capsules, liquids, or bars. 

"Direct care staff" means supervisors, assistants, aides, or 
other staff of a center who assist participants in the 
performance of personal care or ADLs. 

"Director" means the qualified person who has been 
delegated responsibility for the programmatic and 
administrative functions of the adult day care center.  

"Electronic record" means a record created, generated, sent, 
communicated, received, or stored by electronic means. 

"Electronic signature" means an electronic sound, symbol, 
or process attached to or logically associated with a record 
and executed or adopted by a person with the intent to sign 
the record. 

"Good character and reputation" means findings have been 
established that the individual (i) maintains business or 
professional and community relationships that are 
characterized by honesty, fairness, truthfulness, and 
dependability and (ii) has a history or pattern of behavior that 
demonstrates the individual is suitable and able to administer 
a program for the care, supervision, and protection of adults.  

"Legal representative" means a person legally responsible 
for representing or standing in the place of the participant for 
the conduct of his affairs. "Legal representative" may include 
a guardian, conservator, attorney-in-fact under durable power 
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of attorney, trustee, or other person expressly named by a 
court of competent jurisdiction or the participant as his agent 
in a legal document that specifies the scope of the 
representative's authority to act. A legal representative may 
only represent or stand in the place of a participant for the 
function or functions for which he has legal authority to act. 
A participant is presumed competent and is responsible for 
making all health care, personal care, financial, and other 
personal decisions that affect his life unless a representative 
with legal authority has been appointed by a court of 
competent jurisdiction or has been appointed by the 
participant in a properly executed and signed document. A 
participant may have different legal representatives for 
different functions. For any given standard, the term "legal 
representative" applies solely to the legal representative with 
the authority to act in regard to the function or functions 
relevant to that particular standard. 

"Licensed health care professional" means any health care 
professional currently licensed by the Commonwealth of 
Virginia to practice within the scope of his profession, such 
as a nurse practitioner, registered nurse, licensed practical 
nurse (nurses may be licensed or hold multistate licensure 
pursuant to § 54.1-3000 of the Code of Virginia), clinical 
social worker, dentist, occupational therapist, pharmacist, 
physical therapist, physician, physician assistant, 
psychologist, and speech-language pathologist. 
Responsibilities of physicians referenced in this chapter may 
be implemented by nurse practitioners or physician assistants 
in accordance with their protocols or practice agreements 
with their supervising physicians and in accordance with the 
law. 

"Licensee" means the business entity to whom a license is 
issued and who is legally responsible for compliance with the 
laws and regulations related to the center. A license may not 
be issued in the name of more than one business entity.  

"Mandated reporter" means a person specified in § 63.2-
1606 of the Code of Virginia who is required to report 
matters giving reason to suspect abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation of an adult. 

"Mental impairment" means a disability characterized by the 
display of an intellectual defect, as manifested by diminished 
cognitive, interpersonal, social, and vocational effectiveness. 

"Nonambulatory" means the condition of a participant who 
by reason of physical or mental impairment is not capable of 
self-preservation without the assistance of another person.  

"Participant" means an adult who takes part in the program 
of care and receives services from the center.  

"Physical restraint" means any manual method or physical 
or mechanical device, material, or equipment attached or 
adjacent to the participant's body that the participant cannot 
remove easily, which restricts freedom of movement or 
access to his body. 

"Physician" means an individual licensed to practice 
medicine or osteopathic medicine in any of the 50 states or 
the District of Columbia.  

"Qualified" means having appropriate training and 
experience commensurate with assigned responsibilities, or if 
referring to a professional, possessing an appropriate degree 
or having documented equivalent education, training, or 
experience. 

"Significant change" means a change in a participant's 
condition that is expected to last longer than 30 days. 
"Significant change" does not include short-term changes that 
resolve with or without intervention, a short-term acute 
illness or episodic event, or a well-established, predictive, 
cyclic pattern of clinical signs and symptoms associated with 
a previously diagnosed condition where an appropriate course 
of treatment is in progress. 

"Staff" or "staff person" means personnel working at a 
center who are compensated or have a financial interest in the 
center, regardless of role, service, age, function, or duration 
of employment at the center. "Staff" or "staff person" also 
includes those individuals hired through a contract with the 
center to provide services for the center.  

"Standard precautions" means a set of basic infection 
prevention practices intended to prevent transmission of 
infectious diseases from one person to another. These 
practices are applied to every person at every contact to 
assure that transmission of disease does not occur. 

"Volunteer" means a person who works at the center who is 
not compensated. "Volunteer" does not include a person who, 
either as an individual or as part of an organization, is only 
present at or facilitates group activities on an occasional basis 
or for special events.  
22VAC40-61-20. Requirements of law and applicability. 

A. Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code 
of Virginia includes requirements of law relating to licensure, 
including licensure of adult day care centers. 

B. This chapter applies to adult day care centers as defined 
in § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia and in 22VAC40-61-
10. 

C. All programs, processes, plans, policies, or procedures 
required by this chapter must be in writing and must be 
implemented.  
22VAC40-61-30. Program of care. 

There shall be a program of care that:  
1. Meets the participants' physical, intellectual, emotional, 
psychological, and spiritual needs;  
2. Promotes the participants' highest level of functioning; 
3. Provides protection, guidance, and supervision; 
4. Promotes a sense of security, self-worth, and 
independence; 
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5. Promotes the participants' involvement with activities 
and services; and 
6. Reduces risk in the caregiving environment.  

22VAC40-61-40. Quality assurance. 
At least annually, the center shall conduct an internal 

evaluation of its operation and services. A written report of 
the evaluation shall be kept on file and shall include: 

1. Involvement of the licensee, program director, staff, 
participants, family members, legal representative, center's 
advisory body, if any, and other relevant agencies or 
organizations.  
2. Review of the extent to which the program assisted 
participants and their families or legal representatives. 
3. Measurement of the achievement of the program of care 
as described in 22VAC40-61-30. 
4. Outcome measures as designed by the center, which 
may include client satisfaction and caregiver surveys. 
5. Assessment of the relationship of the program to the rest 
of the community service network.  
6. Recommendations for improvement, corrective action of 
problem areas, and future program directions. 

22VAC40-61-50. Participant rights and responsibilities. 
A. All participants shall be guaranteed the following: 

1. The right to be treated as an adult, with consideration, 
respect, and dignity, including privacy in treatment and 
care of personal needs. 
2. The right to participate in a program of services and 
activities designed to interest and engage the participant 
and encourage independence, learning, growth, awareness, 
and joy in life. 
3. The right to self-determination within the center setting, 
including the opportunity to: 

a. Participate in developing or changing one's plan of 
care; 
b. Decide whether or not to participate in any given 
activity; 
c. Be involved to the extent possible in program planning 
and operation; 
d. Refuse treatment and be informed of the consequences 
of such refusal; and 
e. End participation at the center at any time. 

4. The right to a thorough initial assessment, development 
of an individualized participant plan of care, and a 
determination of the required care needs and necessary 
services. 
5. The right to be cared for in an atmosphere of sincere 
interest and concern in which needed support and services 
are provided. 
6. The right to a safe, secure, and clean environment. 

7. The right to receive nourishment and assistance with 
meals as necessary to maximize functional abilities and 
quality and enjoyment of life. 
8. The right to confidentiality and the guarantee that no 
personal or medical information or photographs will be 
released to persons not authorized under law to receive it 
without the participant's written consent. 
9. The right to voice or file grievances about care or 
treatment and to make recommendations for changes in the 
policies and services of the center, without coercion, 
discrimination, threats, or reprisal for having voiced or 
filed such grievances or recommendations. 
10. The right to be fully informed, as documented by the 
participant's written acknowledgment, of all participant 
rights and responsibilities and of all rules and regulations 
regarding participant conduct and responsibilities. 
11. The right to be free from harm or fear of harm, 
including physical or chemical restraint, isolation, 
excessive medication, and abuse or neglect. 
12. The right to be fully informed, at the time of 
acceptance into the program, of services and activities 
available and related charges. 
13. The right to communicate with others and be 
understood by them to the extent of the participant's 
capability. 

B. The rights of participants shall be printed in at least 14-
point type and posted conspicuously in a public place in the 
center.  

C. The center shall make its policies and procedures 
available and accessible to participants, relatives, agencies, 
and the general public. 

D. Each center shall post the name and telephone number of 
the appropriate regional licensing administrator of the 
department; the Adult Protective Services toll-free telephone 
number; the toll-free telephone number of the Virginia Long-
Term Care Ombudsman Program and any local ombudsman 
program servicing the area; and the toll-free telephone 
number of the disAbility Law Center of Virginia. 

E. The rights and responsibilities of participants shall be 
reviewed annually with each participant, or, if a participant is 
unable to fully understand and exercise his rights and 
responsibilities, the annual review shall include his family 
member or his legal representative. Evidence of this review 
shall include the date of the review and the signature of the 
participant, family member, or legal representative and shall 
be included in the participant's file. 

F. A participant shall be assumed capable of understanding 
and exercising these rights and responsibilities unless a 
physician determines otherwise and documentation is 
contained in the participant's record.  
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Part II 
Administration 

22VAC40-61-60. Requirements for licensee. 
A. The licensee shall ensure compliance with all regulations 

for licensed adult day care centers and terms of the license 
issued by the department; with relevant federal, state, or local 
laws; with other relevant regulations; and with the center's 
own policies and procedures.  

B. The licensee shall:  
1. Be of good character and reputation;  
2. Protect the physical and mental well-being of the 
participants;  
3. Keep such records and make such reports as required by 
this chapter for licensed adult day care centers. Such 
records and reports may be inspected by the department's 
representative at any reasonable time in order to determine 
compliance with this chapter;  
4. Meet the qualifications of the director if he assumes 
those duties; 
5. Act in accordance with General Procedures and 
Information for Licensure (22VAC40-80); 
6. Ensure that the current license is posted in the center in a 
place conspicuous to the participants and the public; and 
7. Be responsible for the overall planning of the program 
and services to be provided by the center, including the 
following: 

a. Develop and keep current a statement of the purpose 
and scope of the services to be provided by the center, a 
description of adults who may be accepted into the 
program as well as those whom the program cannot 
serve, and policies and procedures under which the 
center will operate. 
b. Appoint and identify in writing a qualified director to 
be responsible for the day-to-day operation and 
management of the center. When the business entity is an 
individual who serves as the director, this shall also be 
noted in writing. 
c. Provide an adequate number of qualified staff capable 
of carrying out the operation of the program and to 
develop a staffing plan that includes a staffing schedule. 
d. Develop policies and procedures for the selection and 
supervision of volunteers. 
e. Develop a written organizational chart indicating chain 
of command.  
f. Make certain that when it is time to discard records, the 
records are disposed of in a manner that ensures 
confidentiality. 

22VAC40-61-70. Liability insurance. 
The center shall maintain public liability insurance for 

bodily injury with a minimum limit of at least $1 million for 
each occurrence or $1 million aggregate. Evidence of 

insurance coverage shall be made available to the 
department's representative upon request.  
22VAC40-61-80. Electronic records and signatures. 

A. Use of electronic records or signatures shall comply with 
the provisions of the Uniform Electronic Transactions Act 
(§ 59.1-479 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

B. In addition to the requirements of the Uniform Electronic 
Transactions Act, the use of electronic signatures shall be 
deemed to constitute a signature and have the same effect as a 
written signature on a document as long as the licensee:  

1. Develops and maintains specific policies and procedures 
for the use of electronic signatures;  
2. Ensures that each electronic signature identifies the 
individual signing the document by name and title;  
3. Ensures that the document cannot be altered after the 
signature has been affixed;  
4. Ensures that access to the code or key sequence is 
limited; 
5. Ensures that all users have signed statements that they 
alone have access to and use the key or computer password 
for their signature and will not share their key or password 
with others; and  
6. Ensures that strong and substantial evidence exists that 
would make it difficult for the signer or the receiving party 
to claim the electronic representation is not valid. 

C. A back-up and security system shall be utilized for all 
electronic documents.  
22VAC40-61-90. Incident reports. 

A. Each center shall report to the regional licensing office 
within 24 hours of the occurrence of any major incident that 
has negatively affected or that threatens the life, health, 
safety, or welfare of any participant. 

B. The report required in subsection A of this section shall 
include (i) the name of the center, (ii) the name of the 
participant or participants involved in the incident, (iii) the 
name of the person making the report, (iv) the date of the 
incident, (v) a description of the incident, and (vi) the actions 
taken in response to the incident.  

C. The center shall submit a written report of each incident 
specified in subsection A of this section to the regional 
licensing office within seven days from the date of the 
incident. The report shall be signed and dated by the director 
or his designee and include the following information: 

1. Name and address of the center; 
2. Name of the participant or participants involved in the 
incident; 
3. Date and time of the incident; 
4. Description of the incident, the circumstances under 
which it happened, and when applicable, extent of injury or 
damage; 
5. Location of the incident; 
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6. Actions taken in response to the incident; 
7. The outcome of the incident; 
8. Actions to prevent recurrence of the incident if 
applicable; 
9. Name of staff person in charge at the time of the 
incident; 
10. Names, telephone numbers, and addresses of witnesses 
to the incident if any; and 
11. Name, title, and signature of the person making the 
report, if other than the director or his designee. 

D. The center shall submit to the regional licensing office 
amendments to the written report when circumstances 
require, such as when substantial additional actions are taken, 
when significant new information becomes available, or when 
there is resolution of the incident after the submission of the 
report. 

E. A copy of the written report of each incident shall be 
maintained by the center for at least two years. 

F. All reports, such as but not limited to, adult protective 
services, medical, or police, shall be maintained in the 
participant's record.  

Part III  
Personnel 

22VAC40-61-100. General qualifications. 
All staff members shall:  

1. Be of good character and reputation;  
2. Be competent, qualified, and capable of carrying out 
assigned responsibilities;  
3. Be considerate, understanding, and respectful of the 
rights, dignity, and sensitivities of persons who are aged, 
infirm, and disabled;  
4. Be clean and well groomed;  
5. Be able to speak, read, understand, and write in English 
as necessary to carry out their job responsibilities;  
6. Be able to understand and apply the standards in this 
chapter as they relate to their respective responsibilities; 
and  
7. Meet the requirements specified in the Regulation for 
Background Checks for Assisted Living Facilities and 
Adult Day Care Centers (22VAC40-90).  

22VAC40-61-110. Staff orientation and initial training. 
A. Prior to working directly with participants, all staff shall 

receive training in:  
1. Participant rights and responsibilities; 
2. Their individual responsibilities in the event of fire, 
including the location and operation of any fire 
extinguishers, fire alarm boxes, and approved exits;  
3. Their individual responsibilities in the event of illness or 
injuries, including the location and use of the first aid kit 
and emergency supplies;  

4. Their individual responsibilities in the event of 
emergencies, such as a lost or missing participant, severe 
weather, and loss of utilities;  
5. Infection control;  
6. Requirements and procedures for detecting and reporting 
suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of participants 
and for the mandated reporters, the consequences for 
failing to make a required report (§ 63.2-1606 of the Code 
of Virginia); and 
7. Confidential treatment of personal information about 
participants and their families. 

B. Staff who work with participants shall receive training in 
the following areas or topics no later than three weeks after 
their starting date of employment; part-time staff shall receive 
the training no later than six weeks after their starting date of 
employment. The areas or topics to be covered in the staff 
training shall include:  

1. The purpose and goals of the adult day care center;  
2. The policies and procedures of the center as they relate 
to the staff member's responsibilities;  
3. Required compliance with regulations for adult day care 
centers as it relates to their duties and responsibilities;  
4. The physical, emotional, and cognitive needs of the 
center's population; 
5. The current participants' strengths and preferences, their 
individualized plans of care, and their service needs and 
supports; 
6. The schedule of activities; 
7. Behavioral interventions, behavior acceptance and 
accommodation, and behavior management techniques; 
8. Interdisciplinary team approach; 
9. Implementation of advance directives and Do Not 
Resuscitate Orders; 
10. Risk management; and 
11. The needs of participants' family members or 
caregivers.  

C. A supervisor or designated trained staff shall be on the 
premises and closely oversee the individual's work with 
participants until training required in subsection B of this 
section is complete.  
22VAC40-61-120. Reports of abuse, neglect, and 
exploitation. 

A. All staff who are mandated reporters under § 63.2-1606 
of the Code of Virginia shall report suspected abuse, neglect, 
or exploitation of participants in accordance with that section. 

B. The center shall notify the participant's contact person or 
legal representative when a report is made as referenced in 
subsection A of this section, without identifying any 
confidential information. 
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22VAC40-61-130. Director. 
A. The director, or a designated assistant director who meets 

the qualifications of the director, shall be responsible for the 
center's program and day-to-day operations of the center and 
shall be present at least 51% of the center's weekly hours of 
operation. The responsibilities of the director shall include the 
following areas:  

1. The content of the program offered to the participants in 
care.  
2. Programmatic functions, including orientation, training, 
and scheduling of all staff.  
3. Management of the supervision provided to all staff.  
4. Assignment of a sufficient number of qualified staff to 
meet the participants' needs for:  

a. Adequate nutrition;  
b. Health supervision and maintenance;  
c. Personal care;  
d. Socialization, recreation, activities, and stimulation; 
and 
e. Supervision, safety, and protection.  

5. The duties and responsibilities required by this chapter.  
B. The director shall meet the following qualifications:  

1. Be at least 21 years of age.  
2. Have completed, at a minimum, a bachelor's degree 
from an accredited college or university and two years of 
experience working with older adults or persons with 
disabilities. This may be paid full-time employment or its 
equivalent in part-time employment, volunteer work, or 
internship. The following qualifications are also acceptable 
for the director:  

a. Current licensure as a nursing home administrator or 
assisted living facility administrator from the Board of 
Long-Term Care Administrators; or  
b. Current licensure in Virginia as a registered nurse. The 
requirement for two years of experience working with 
older adults or persons with disabilities also must be met.  
Exception: Any person continuously employed in an 
adult day care center licensed prior to July 1, 2000, as 
either a director or assistant director shall have completed 
at least 48 semester hours or 72 quarter hours of 
postsecondary education from an accredited college or 
institution and shall have completed at least two years 
experience working with older adults or persons with 
disabilities. This may be paid full-time employment or its 
equivalent in part-time employment or in volunteer work.  

3. The director shall demonstrate knowledge, skills, and 
abilities in the administration and management of the adult 
day care program including (i) knowledge and 
understanding of the population being served by the center, 
(ii) supervisory and interpersonal skills, (iii) ability to plan 
and implement the program, and (iv) knowledge of 

financial management sufficient to ensure program 
development and continuity.  

C. The director shall complete 24 hours of continuing 
education training annually to maintain and develop skills. At 
least two of the required hours of training shall focus on 
infection control and prevention. When adults with mental 
impairments participate at the center, at least four of the 
required hours shall focus on topics related to participants' 
mental impairments. This training shall be in addition to first 
aid, CPR, orientation, or initial or refresher medication aide 
training. Documentation of attendance shall be retained at the 
center and shall include type of training, name of the entity 
that provided the training, and date and number of hours of 
training. 
22VAC40-61-140. Direct care staff qualifications. 

A. All staff persons who work directly with participants and 
who are counted in the staff-to-participant ratio shall be at 
least 18 years of age unless certified in Virginia as a nurse 
aide. 

B. Direct care staff shall meet one of the requirements in this 
subsection. If the staff does not meet the requirement at the 
time of employment, he shall successfully meet one of the 
requirements in this subsection within two months of 
employment. Licensed health care professionals practicing 
within the scope of their profession are not required to 
complete the training in this subsection. 

1. Certification as a nurse aide issued by the Virginia 
Board of Nursing. 
2. Successful completion of a Virginia Board of Nursing-
approved nurse aide education program. 
3. Successful completion of a personal care aide training 
program that meets the requirements of the Elderly or 
Disabled with Consumer Direction Waiver program for 
adult day health care as required by the Department of 
Medical Assistance Services. 
4. Successful completion of an educational program for 
geriatric assistant or home health aide or for nurse aide that 
is not covered under subdivision 2 of this subsection. The 
program shall be provided by a hospital, nursing facility, or 
educational institution and may include out-of-state 
training. The program must be approved by the 
department. To obtain department approval: 

a. The center shall provide to the department's 
representative an outline of course content, dates and 
hours of instruction received, the name of the entity that 
provided the training, and other pertinent information. 
b. The department will make a determination based on 
the information in subdivision 4 a of this subsection and 
provide written confirmation to the center when the 
educational program meets department requirements. 

5. Successful completion of the department-approved 40-
hour Assisted Living Facility Direct Care Staff Training 
curriculum. 
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6. Successful completion of at least 40 hours of training as 
taught by a licensed health care professional or, if online 
training is accessed, accredited by a national association. 
Topics for this training shall include the following: 

a. Participant rights; 
b. Physical, biological, and psychological aspects of 
aging; 
c. Health care needs such as hypertension, arthritis, 
diabetes, heart disease, osteoporosis, stroke, 
incontinence, skin care, etc.; 
d. Functional needs, limitations, and disabilities 
including sensory, physical, and developmental 
disabilities; mental illness; substance abuse; and 
aggressive behavior; 
e. Dementia and other cognitive impairment; 
f. Assistance with activities of daily living; 
g. Body mechanics, ambulation, and transfer; 
h. Infection control; 
i. Meals and nutrition; 
j. Activities; and 
k. Safety and accident prevention. 

C. The center shall obtain a copy of the certificate issued or 
other documentation indicating that the person has met one of 
the requirements of subsection B of this section, which shall 
be part of the staff member's record in accordance with 
22VAC40-61-180. 

D. All direct care staff who do not meet one of the 
requirements in subsection B of this section on the date that 
this chapter becomes effective shall do so within one year 
after the effective date of this chapter.  
22VAC40-61-150. Staff training. 

A. Staff who provide direct care to participants shall attend 
at least 12 hours of training annually. 

B. The training shall be relevant to the population in care 
and shall be provided by a qualified individual through in-
service training programs or institutes, workshops, classes, or 
conferences. 

C. At least two of the required hours of training shall focus 
on infection control and prevention. When adults with mental 
impairments participate at the center, at least four of the 
required hours shall focus on topics related to participants' 
mental impairments. 

D. Documentation of the type of training received, the entity 
that provided the training, number of hours of training, and 
dates of the training shall be kept by the center in a manner 
that allows for identification by individual staff person and is 
considered part of the staff member's record. 

E. The required hours of training shall be in addition to first 
aid, CPR, orientation, or initial or refresher medication aide 
training. 

22VAC40-61-160. First aid and CPR certification. 
A. First aid.  

1. Each direct care staff member who does not have current 
certification in first aid as specified in subdivision 2 of this 
subsection shall receive certification in first aid within 60 
days of employment from the American Red Cross, 
American Heart Association, National Safety Council, 
American Safety and Health Institute, community college, 
hospital, volunteer rescue squad, or fire department. The 
certification must either be in adult first aid or include 
adult first aid. 
2. Each direct care staff member shall maintain current 
certification in first aid from an organization listed in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection. To be considered current, 
first aid certification from community colleges, hospitals, 
volunteer rescue squads, or fire departments shall have 
been issued within the past three years. The certification 
must either be in adult first aid or include adult first aid.  
3. A direct care staff member who is a registered nurse or 
licensed practical nurse does not have to meet the 
requirements of subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection. 
With current certification, an emergency medical 
technician, first responder, or paramedic does not have to 
meet the requirements of subdivisions 1 and 2 of this 
subsection. 
4. There shall be at least one staff person on the premises 
at all times who has current certification in first aid that 
meets the specifications of this section, unless the center 
has an on-duty registered nurse or licensed practical nurse. 

B. Cardiopulmonary resuscitation.  
1. Each direct care staff member who does not have current 
certification in CPR as specified in subdivision 2 of this 
subsection shall receive certification in CPR within 60 
days of employment from the American Red Cross, 
American Heart Association, National Safety Council, 
American Safety and Health Institute, community college, 
hospital, volunteer rescue squad, or fire department. The 
certification must either be in adult CPR or include adult 
CPR.  
2. Each direct care staff member shall maintain current 
certification in CPR from an organization listed in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection. To be considered current, 
CPR certification from community colleges, hospitals, 
volunteer rescue squads, or fire departments shall have 
been issued within the past two years. The certification 
must either be in adult CPR or include adult CPR.  
3. There shall be at least one staff person on the premises 
at all times who has current certification in CPR that meets 
the specifications of this section. 

C. A staff person with current certification in first aid and 
CPR shall be present for the duration of center-sponsored 
activities off the center premises. 
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22VAC40-61-170. Volunteers. 
A. Individuals who volunteer at the center shall:  

1. Have qualifications appropriate to the services they 
render; and 
2. Be subject to laws and regulations governing 
confidential treatment of personal information.  

B. No volunteer shall be permitted to serve in an adult day 
care center without the permission or unless under the 
supervision of a person who has received a criminal record 
clearance pursuant to § 63.2-1720 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. Duties and responsibilities of all volunteers shall be 
clearly defined in writing.  

D. At least one staff member shall be assigned responsibility 
for overall selection, supervision, and orientation of 
volunteers.  

E. All volunteers shall be under the supervision of a 
designated staff person when participants are present. 

F. Prior to beginning volunteer service, all volunteers shall 
attend an orientation including information on their duties and 
responsibilities, participant rights, confidentiality, emergency 
procedures, infection control, the name of their supervisor, 
and reporting requirements. All volunteers shall sign and date 
a statement that they have received and understood this 
information.  

G. Volunteers may be counted in the staff-to-participant 
ratio if both of the following criteria are met:  

1. These volunteers meet the qualifications and training 
requirements for staff; and  
2. For each volunteer, there shall be at least one staff also 
counted in the staff-to-participant ratio.  

22VAC40-61-180. Staff records and health requirements. 
A. A record shall be established for each staff member and 

shall be kept in a locked cabinet or area, or secured 
electronically, and retained at the center for currently 
employed staff and for two years after termination of 
employment, unless otherwise required by other state or 
federal regulations.  

B. All staff records shall be kept confidential. 
C. Records shall be updated and kept current as changes 

occur.  
D. Personal and social data to be maintained on staff are as 

follows:  
1. Name;  
2. Birth date;  
3. Current address and telephone number;  
4. Position title and date employed;  
5. Last previous employment;  
6. An original criminal record report and a sworn 
disclosure statement;  
7. Previous experience or training or both; 

8. Documentation of qualifications for employment related 
to the staff person's position, including any specified 
relevant information; 
9. Verification of current professional license, certification, 
registration, or completion of a required approved training 
course;  
10. Name and telephone number of a person to contact in 
an emergency;  
11. Documentation of attendance of formal training 
received after employment, including title of course, 
location, date, number of contact hours, and name of the 
entity that provided the training; and  
12. Date of termination of employment.  

E. The following required health information shall be 
maintained at the center and be included in the staff record for 
each staff member and each volunteer who comes in contact 
with participants.  

1. Initial tuberculosis (TB) examination and report.  
a. Each staff person shall obtain an evaluation by a 
qualified licensed practitioner that completes an 
assessment for tuberculosis in a communicable form no 
earlier than 30 days before or no later than seven days 
after employment or contact with participants.  
b. The tuberculosis evaluation shall be consistent with 
the TB risk assessment as published by the Virginia 
Department of Health, with additional testing, singly or 
in combination, as deemed necessary. 
c. Documentation of this evaluation shall include all 
pertinent information contained on the "Report of 
Tuberculosis Screening" form recommended by the 
Virginia Department of Health. This documentation shall 
be maintained at the facility. 
d. An evaluation shall not be required for an individual 
who (i) has separated from employment with a facility or 
center licensed or certified by the Commonwealth of 
Virginia, (ii) has had a break in service of six months or 
less, and (iii) submits the original statement of 
tuberculosis screening to the new employer.  

2. Subsequent evaluations for tuberculosis.  
a. All staff shall be screened annually in accordance with 
subsection 1 of this section, with the exception that 
annual chest x-rays are not required in the absence of 
symptoms for those with prior positive test results for TB 
infection (tuberculin skin test or interferon gamma 
release assay blood test). 
b. Any staff person who develops chronic respiratory 
symptoms of three weeks duration shall be evaluated 
immediately for the presence of infectious tuberculosis. 
Any staff suspected of having infectious tuberculosis 
shall not be allowed to return to work or have any contact 
with the participants and staff of the center until a 
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physician has determined that the staff person is free of 
infectious tuberculosis. 
c. Any staff person who comes in contact with a known 
case of infectious tuberculosis shall be screened as 
determined appropriate based on consultation with the 
local health department.  

3. The center shall report any active case of tuberculosis 
developed by a staff member to the local health 
department.  

Part IV 
Supervision 

22VAC40-61-190. General supervision. 
A. During the center's hours of operation, one staff person 

on the premises shall be in charge of the administration of the 
center. This person shall be either the director or a staff 
member appointed by the licensee or designated by the 
director. This person may not be a volunteer. 

B. At least two staff persons shall be on duty at the center 
and on field trips at all times when one or more participants 
are present. The use of volunteers as staff shall be in 
accordance with 22VAC40-61-170 G.  

C. The center shall maintain a daily participant attendance 
log, documenting the name of the participant and his arrival 
and departure time. 
22VAC40-61-200. Staff-to-participant ratio. 

A. There shall be at least one staff person on duty providing 
direct care and supervision for every six participants in care, 
or portion thereof, whether at the center or on field trips.  

B. The staff-to-participant ratio is to be calculated for the 
center rather than for a room or activity. 

C. The number of any additional staff persons required shall 
depend upon: 

1. The program and services the center provides; 
2. The assessed functional levels and current needs of the 
participants; and  
3. The size and physical layout of the building. 

Part V  
Admission, Retention, and Discharge  

22VAC40-61-210. Admission policies. 
A. The center shall have admission policies, to include 

admission criteria, that shall be discussed with each person 
entering the program, his family members, legal 
representative, or the public, as appropriate. A copy of the 
admission policies shall be available upon request.  

B. Only those persons who meet the admission criteria shall 
be admitted to the center.  

C. All participants shall be 18 years of age or older.  
22VAC40-61-220. Assessment procedures. 

A. A written assessment of a participant shall be secured or 
conducted prior to admission by the director, a staff person 

who meets the qualifications of the director, or a licensed 
health care professional employed by the center. 

B. The assessment shall be based upon the information 
presented by the participant, family members, friends, legal 
representative, the report of the required physical 
examination, and from other care providers.  

C. The assessment shall identify the person's abilities and 
needs to determine if and how the program can serve the 
participant.  

D. The assessment shall include at minimum a description of 
the participant's:  

1. Medical and functional condition, including:  
a. Ambulatory ability;  
b. Ability to perform activities of daily living; and  
c. Health status to include diagnoses and medications.  

2. Mental status, including any intellectual, cognitive, and 
behavioral impairment and known psychiatric or emotional 
problems;  
3. Social environment, including living arrangements and 
the availability of family, friends, and other people and 
organizations in the community to provide services to the 
participant;  
4. Economic conditions; 
5. Nutrition needs; 
6. Communication limitations; 
7. Hobbies and interests; and 
8. Personal preferences that would enhance the 
participant's experience at the center.  

E. The assessment shall be reviewed and updated at least 
every six months.  

F. A reassessment shall also be made when there are 
changes to indicate that a participant's needs may no longer 
be met by the current plan of care or the center's program of 
care.  

G. The initial assessment and any reassessments shall be in 
writing and completed, signed, and dated by the staff person 
identified in subsection A of this section. The assessment or 
reassessment shall also indicate any other individuals who 
contributed to the development of the plan with a notation of 
the date of the contribution. 
22VAC40-61-230. Participant plan of care. 

A. Prior to or on the date of admission, a preliminary 
multidisciplinary plan of care based upon the assessment shall 
be developed for each participant. The plan shall be reviewed 
and updated, if necessary, within 30 days of admission. 

B. The plan shall be developed by the director, a staff person 
who meets the qualifications of the director, or a licensed 
health care professional employed by the center.  

C. The plan shall be developed in conjunction with the 
participant and, as appropriate, with the participant's family 
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members, legal representative, direct care staff members, case 
manager, or health care provider. 

D. The plan shall be developed to maximize the participant's 
level of functional ability and to support the principles of 
individuality, personal dignity, and freedom of choice. 
Whenever possible, participants shall be given a choice of 
options regarding the type and delivery of services. The plan 
shall include:  

1. A description of the identified needs and the date 
identified;  
2. The expected outcome or goal to be achieved in meeting 
those needs;  
3. The activities and services that will be provided to meet 
those outcomes or goals, who will provide them, and when 
they will be provided;  
4. If appropriate, the time by which the outcome or goals 
should be achieved; and 
5. Date outcome or goal achieved.  

E. The plan of care shall be reviewed and updated as 
significant changes occur and at least every six months.  

F. The preliminary plan of care and any updated plans shall 
be in writing and completed, signed, and dated by the staff 
person identified in subsection B of this section. The 
participant, family member, or legal representative shall also 
sign the plan of care. The plan shall indicate any other 
individual who contributed to the development of the plan, 
with a notation of the date of contribution.  
22VAC40-61-240. Participant agreement with the center. 

A. At or prior to the time of admission, there shall be a 
written agreement between the participant and the center. The 
agreement shall be signed and dated by the participant or 
legal representative and the center representative.  

B. The agreement shall specify the following: 
1. Services and care to be provided to the participant by the 
center. Any additional fees for specific services and care 
shall be identified. 
2. Financial arrangement to include: 

a. The amount to be paid, frequency of payments, and 
rules relating to nonpayment. 
b. The amount and purpose of an advance payment or 
deposit payment and the refund policy for such payment. 
c. The policy with respect to increases in charges and the 
length of time for advance notice of intent to increase 
charges. 
d. The refund policy to apply when transfer of 
ownership, closing of center, or participant discharge 
occurs. 
e. The fee or notification requirement, if any, associated 
with participant discharge. 
f. The provision of a monthly statement or itemized 
receipt of the participant’s account. 

3. Conditions for discharge.  
C. A copy of the signed agreement shall be given to the 

participant or to the legal representative, as appropriate, and a 
copy shall be kept in the participant's record at the center.  

D. The agreement shall be reviewed and updated whenever 
there is any change in the services or the financial 
arrangements. The updated agreement shall be signed and 
dated by the participant or his legal representative and the 
center representative.   
22VAC40-61-250. Participant record. 

A. The center shall establish policies and procedures for 
documentation and recordkeeping to ensure that the 
information in participant records is accurate, clear, and well 
organized. The record shall contain all information, reports, 
and documents required by this chapter and other information 
relevant to the plan of care.  

B. The following personal information shall be kept current 
for each participant:  

1. Full name of participant, address, and telephone number;  
2. Date of admission; 
3. Birth date; 
4. Marital status; 
5. Names, addresses, and telephone numbers of at least two 
family members, friends, or other designated people to be 
contacted in the event of illness or an emergency;  
6. Names, addresses, and telephone numbers of the 
participant's local primary care provider, personal 
physician, any other health or social service provider and 
the name of the preferred hospital in the event of an 
emergency;  
7. Name, address, and telephone number of any legal 
representative and documentation regarding the scope of 
their representation; 
8. Known allergies, if any; 
9. Information regarding an advance directive or Do Not 
Resuscitate Order, if applicable; 
10. Mental health, substance abuse, or behavioral concerns; 
and  
11. A current photograph or narrative physical description 
of the participant, which shall be updated annually. 

C. Participant records shall be retained at the center and kept 
in a locked area. 

D. The center shall assure that all records are kept 
confidential and that information shall be made available only 
when needed for care of the participant and in accordance 
with applicable federal and state laws. All records shall be 
made available for inspection by the department's 
representative. 

E. If the participant or legal representative consents in 
writing, records shall be shared with other centers or agencies 
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for a specific purpose such as care coordination, referral for 
other services, or upon discharge.  

F. Participants shall be allowed access to their own records. 
A legal representative of a participant shall be provided 
access to the participant's record or part of the record only as 
allowed within the scope of his legal authority. 

G. The complete participant record shall be retained for at 
least two years after the participant leaves the center. 
22VAC40-61-260. Physical examinations and report. 

A. Within the 30 days preceding admission, a participant 
shall have a physical examination by a licensed physician.  

B. The report of the required physical examination shall be 
on file at the center and shall include:  

1. The person's name, address, and telephone number. 
2. The date of the physical examination. 
3. Height, weight, and blood pressure. 
4. Significant medical history. 
5. General physical condition, including a systems review 
as is medically indicated. 
6. All diagnoses and significant medical problems. 
7. Any known allergies and description of the person's 
reactions.  
8. Any recommendations for care including:  

a. A list of all medications including dosages, route, and 
frequency of administration;  
b. Any special diet or any food intolerances;  
c. Any therapy, treatments, or procedures the individual 
is undergoing or should receive and by whom; and  
d. Any restrictions or limitations on physical activities or 
program participation.  

9. The participant shall obtain an evaluation by a qualified 
licensed practitioner that completes an assessment for 
tuberculosis (TB) in a communicable form no earlier than 
30 days before admission. The evaluation for tuberculosis 
shall be consistent with the TB risk assessment as 
published by the Virginia Department of Health, with 
additional testing, singly or in combination, as deemed 
necessary. Documentation of the TB evaluation is required, 
which includes the information contained on the form 
"Report of Tuberculosis Screening" recommended by the 
Virginia Department of Health. The form shall be signed 
by the qualified licensed practitioner who performs the 
evaluation.  
10. A statement that specifies whether the individual is 
considered to be ambulatory or nonambulatory.  
11. A statement that specifies whether the individual is or 
is not capable of self-administering medication.  
12. The signature of the examining physician or his 
designee.  

C. Subsequent medical evaluations.  
1. Each participant shall annually submit a report of 
physical examination by a physician including the 
information required in subdivisions B 1 through B 8 and 
B 10, B 11, and B 12 of this section. 
2. At the request of the licensee or director of the center or 
the Department of Social Services, a report of examination 
by a physician shall be obtained when there are indications 
that the center can no longer provide appropriate or safe 
care because of changes in the participant's physical or 
mental health. The written report of the physical 
examination shall be:  

a. Dated;  
b. Signed by a physician or the physician's designee; and  
c. Used in evaluating the participant's continued 
suitability for adult day care.  

D. Subsequent evaluations for tuberculosis.  
1. Any participant who comes in contact with a known 
case of infectious tuberculosis shall be screened as deemed 
appropriate in consultation with the local health 
department. 
2. Any participant who develops respiratory symptoms of 
three or more weeks duration shall be evaluated 
immediately for the presence of infectious tuberculosis. 
Any such participant shall not be allowed to return to the 
program until a physician has determined that the 
individual is free of infectious tuberculosis. 
3. If a participant develops an active case of tuberculosis, 
the center shall report this information to the local health 
department.  

22VAC40-61-270. Discharge of participants. 
A. When actions, circumstances, conditions, or care needs 

occur that will result in the discharge of a participant, 
discharge planning shall begin immediately. 

B. A written discharge notice shall identify the reasons for 
discharge and outline the services needed by the participant 
upon discharge. The discharge notice shall be provided to and 
discussed with the participant and family members or legal 
representative.  

C. The center shall notify the participant and family 
members or legal representative at least 30 calendar days 
prior to the actual discharge date.  

D. The center shall develop a policy regarding the number 
of days notice that is required when a participant wishes to 
leave the center. Any required notice of intent to leave shall 
not exceed 30 calendar days. 

E. When a participant's condition presents an immediate and 
serious risk to the health, safety, or welfare of the participant 
or others and immediate discharge is necessary, the 30-day 
notification of planned discharge does not apply. 
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F. The center shall assist the participant, his family members 
or legal representative, if any, in the discharge or transfer 
process. The center shall prepare a transfer report for the new 
program, if requested. 

G. The center shall have a process by which participants, 
family members, or legal representatives can appeal a center-
initiated discharge.  

Part VI  
Programs and Services  

22VAC40-61-280. Health care supervision. 
A. The center shall develop a policy and procedure for 

monitoring the health status of participants consistent with the 
particular characteristics and needs of the population served 
by the center. 

B. The center shall provide supervision of participant 
schedules, care, and activities including attention to 
specialized needs, such as prevention of falls and wandering. 

C. Each participant shall be continually observed and 
monitored for changes in health status including physical, 
social, emotional, and mental functioning. Changes shall be 
discussed with the participant, family, legal representative, 
physician, or others as appropriate. Documentation of the 
change and any notifications shall be made in the participant's 
record. 

D. Measures of health status include: 
1. Vital signs; 
2. Weight; 
3. Meal and fluid intake; 
4. Elimination; 
5. Skin integrity; 
6. Behavior; 
7. Cognition; 
8. Functional ability; and 
9. Special needs. 

E. When the center identifies a need for a change in health 
care services, this shall be discussed with the participant, 
family, legal representative, physician, or others as 
appropriate and documented in the participant's record. The 
care plan shall be updated if necessary. 

F. If the participant requires skilled or rehabilitative 
services, the center shall assist the participant and family in 
securing such services if necessary. 

G. If skilled health care and rehabilitative services are 
provided at the center, the center shall ensure that such 
providers are licensed, certified, or registered as required by 
law. These services shall be provided in accordance with the 
physician or other health care professional's order.  
22VAC40-61-290. Infection control program. 

A. The center shall develop and maintain an infection 
prevention and occupational health program compliant with 

Occupational Safety and Health Administration regulations 
designed to provide a safe, sanitary, and comfortable 
environment for participants, staff, and the public. 

B. The center shall develop infection prevention policies and 
procedures appropriate for the services provided by the center 
and including the physical plant and grounds. These shall be 
based upon evidence-based guidelines such as those 
published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 
or the Virginia Department of Health and updated as 
recommendations change and shall include: 

1. Standard precautions to include: 
a. Hand hygiene; 
b. Use of personal protective equipment such as gloves 
and masks; 
c. Safe injection and blood glucose monitoring practices; 
d. Safe handling of potentially contaminated equipment 
or surfaces in the center environment; and 
e. Respiratory hygiene and cough etiquette. 

2. Specific methods and timeframes to monitor infection 
prevention practices by staff and volunteers. 
3. Parameters for ensuring that staff, volunteers, and 
participants with communicable disease or infections are 
prohibited from direct contact with others if contact may 
transmit disease, in accordance with applicable local, state, 
and federal regulations.  
4. Handling, storing, processing, and transporting linens, 
supplies, and equipment consistent with current infection 
prevention methods. 
5. Handling, storing, and transporting medical waste in 
accordance with applicable regulations. 
6. Maintaining an effective pest control program. 

C. The center shall ensure that at least one staff person with 
training in infection prevention specific to this setting is 
employed by or regularly available (e.g., by contract) to 
manage the center's infection prevention program. 

D. All staff and volunteers shall be trained on requirements 
of the center's infection prevention program according to their 
job duties during the orientation period and at least annually. 
Competencies shall be documented following each training 
and may include a written test, skills demonstration, or other 
method as appropriate. 

E. The center shall ensure that sufficient and appropriate 
supplies to maintain standard precautions are available at all 
times, such as gloves, hand hygiene and cleaning products, 
and any other supplies needed specific to center services. 

F. The director shall be responsible for ensuring that any 
outbreak of disease as defined by the Virginia Department of 
Health is immediately reported to the local health department 
and to the regional licensing office. 
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22VAC40-61-300. Medication management. 
A. The center shall have, keep current, and implement a plan 

for medication management. The center's medication 
management plan shall address procedures for administering 
medication and shall include:  

1. Standard operating procedures and any general 
restrictions specific to the center;  
2. Methods to ensure an understanding of the 
responsibilities associated with medication management 
including the following: 

a. Determining that staff who are responsible for 
administering medications meet the qualification 
requirements of subdivisions E 7 a and E 7 b of this 
section;  
b. Ensuring that staff who are responsible for 
administering medications are trained on requirements of 
the center's medication management plan; and 
c. Ensuring that staff who are responsible for 
administering medications are adequately supervised, 
including periodic direct observation of medication 
administration. Supervision shall be provided by (i) an 
individual employed by the center who is licensed by the 
Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications or 
(ii) the director who has successfully completed a 
training program as required in subdivisions E 7 a and E 
7 b of this section. 

3. Methods to ensure that authorizations for the 
administration of medications are current;  
4. Methods to secure and maintain supplies of each 
participant's prescription medications and any over-the-
counter drugs and supplements in a timely manner to avoid 
missed dosages;  
5. Methods for verifying that medication orders have been 
accurately transcribed to medication administration records 
(MARs), including within 24 hours of receipt of a new 
order or a change in an order; 
6. Methods for monitoring medication administration and 
the effective use of the MARs for documentation; 
7. Methods to ensure that participants do not receive 
medications or dietary supplements to which they have 
known allergies; 
8. Methods to ensure accurate accounting for all controlled 
substances whenever received by center staff, returned to 
participant, or whenever assigned medication 
administration staff changes; 
9. Procedures for proper disposal of medication; and 
10. Procedures for preventing, detecting, and investigating 
suspected or reported drug diversion.  

B. The center shall have readily accessible as reference 
materials for medication aides, at least one pharmacy 
reference book, drug guide, or medication handbook for 
nurses that is no more than two years old. 

C. Prescription and nonprescription medications, including 
sample medications, shall be given to a participant according 
to the center's medication policies and only with written or 
verbal authorization from the physician or prescriber, or the 
physician's authorized agent. For the purposes of this section, 
an "authorized agent" means an employee of the physician 
who is under his immediate and personal supervision. Verbal 
orders shall be reviewed and signed by the physician or 
prescriber within 10 working days.  

D. The center shall maintain a list of all medications, 
including those taken at home and at the center, for each 
participant. The center shall attempt to verify and update the 
list of center-administered medications with the prescribing 
health care professional at least twice a year. Unsuccessful 
attempts to verify shall be documented.  

E. The following standards shall apply when medications 
are administered to participants at the adult day care center:  

1. All medication shall be in the original container with the 
prescription label or direction label attached and legible. 
Sample medications shall remain in the original packaging, 
labeled by a physician or other prescriber or pharmacist 
with the participant's name, the name of the medication, 
the strength, dosage, and route and frequency of 
administration, until administered.  
2. All medication shall be labeled with the participant's 
name, the name of the medication, the strength and dosage 
amount, the route of administration, and the frequency of 
administration.  
3. The medication shall be kept in a locked compartment or 
area, not accessible to participants. The locked 
compartment or area shall be free from direct sunlight and 
high temperatures and free from dampness and shall 
remain darkened when closed.  
4. The area in which the medication is prepared shall have 
sufficient light so that the labels can be read accurately and 
the correct dosage can be clearly determined.  
5. Medication shall be refrigerated, if required. When 
medication is stored in a refrigerator used for food, the 
medications shall be stored together in a locked container 
in a clearly defined area. If a refrigerator is used for 
medication only, it is permissible to store dietary 
supplements and foods and liquids used for medication 
administration.  
6. Unless it is contrary to the center's policy, a participant 
may take his own medication provided that:  

a. A physician has deemed the participant capable of 
administering medication to himself;  
b. The physician has given written authorization for the 
participant to self-administer his medication; and  
c. Medications are kept in a safe manner inaccessible to 
other participants.  
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7. When the center staff administers medications to 
participants, the following standards shall apply:  

a. Each staff person who administers medication shall be 
authorized by § 54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia. All 
staff responsible for medication administration shall: 
(1) Be licensed by the Commonwealth of Virginia to 
administer medications; 
(2) Be a registered medication aide; 
(3) Successfully complete a training program approved 
by the Board of Nursing and accepted in adult day care 
centers; or 
(4) Successfully complete a training program approved 
by the Board of Nursing for the registration of 
medication aides that consists of 68 hours of student 
instruction and training.  
b. All staff who administer medications, except those 
licensed by the Commonwealth, shall complete, on an 
annual basis, four hours of medication management 
refresher training on topics specific to the administration 
of medications in the adult day care center setting. 
c. Medications shall remain in the original or pharmacy 
issued container until administered to the participant by 
the qualified medication staff. All medications shall be 
removed from the pharmacy container and be 
administered by the same qualified person within one 
hour of the individual's scheduled dosing time.  
d. Documentation shall be maintained on the MAR of all 
medications, including prescription, nonprescription, and 
sample medication, administered to a participant while at 
the center. This documentation shall become part of the 
participant's permanent record and shall include:  
(1) Name of participant;  
(2) All known allergies; 
(3) Diagnosis, condition, or specific indications for 
which the medication is prescribed; 
(4) Date medication prescribed;  
(5) Drug product name;  
(6) Dosage and strength of medication;  
(7) Route of administration;  
(8) Frequency of administration;  
(9) Date and time given and initials of staff administering 
the medication;  
(10) Date the medication is discontinued or changed;  
(11) Any medication errors or omissions;  
(12) Notation of any adverse effects or unusual reactions 
that occur; and  
(13) The name, signature, and initials of all staff 
administering medications. A master list may be used in 
lieu of this documentation on individual MARs. 

F. In the event of an adverse drug reaction or a medication 
error, the following applies: 

1. Action shall be taken as directed by a physician, 
pharmacist, or a poison control center; 
2. The participant's physician and family member or other 
legal representative shall be notified as soon as possible; 
and 
3. Medication administration staff shall document actions 
taken in the participant's record. 

G. The use of PRN (as needed) medications is prohibited 
unless one or more of the following conditions exist:  

1. The participant is capable of determining when 
medication is needed;  
2. A licensed health care professional administers the 
medication;  
3. The participant's physician has provided detailed written 
instructions, including symptoms that might indicate the 
need for the medication, exact dosage, exact timeframes 
the medication is to be given in a 24-hour period, and 
directions for what to do if symptoms persist; or  
4. The center staff has telephoned the participant's 
physician prior to administering the medication and 
explained the symptoms and received a documented verbal 
order that includes the information in subdivision 3 of this 
subsection. 

H. Any physician ordered treatment provided by staff shall 
be documented and shall be within the staff's scope of 
practice.   
22VAC40-61-310. Restraints. 

The use of chemical or physical restraints is prohibited.  
22VAC40-61-320. Assistance with activities of daily living. 

A. Dignity, privacy, and confidentiality shall be maintained 
for participants whenever assistance with activities of daily 
living (ADLs) is provided. 

B. When providing assistance with ADLs, staff shall ensure 
all necessary supplies and equipment are available and 
organized to aid in assistance and to maximize the 
participant's safety.  

C. Assistance with eating and feeding.  
1. Dining areas shall be supervised by staff whenever 
meals or snacks are served.  
2. Additional staff shall be present in the dining areas to 
assist participants who cannot eat independently.  
3. Self-feeding skills of participants shall be continuously 
observed and evaluated so that meals and snacks are not 
missed because of a participant's inability to feed himself.  
4. Appropriate adapted utensils, including adapted plates, 
bowls, and cups with straws and handles, shall be provided 
for those participants who need them. Information about 
effective eating adaptations shall be shared with the 
participant's family. Assistance such as, but not limited to, 
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opening containers and cutting food shall be provided to 
those participants who need it.  
5. Low-stimulus dining areas shall be provided for 
participants with cognitive deficits or other conditions that 
impair concentration.  
6. Changes in food and liquid intake shall be documented 
in the participant's record, and changes shall be made to the 
care plan to ensure adequate intake. The participant's 
family shall be notified of such changes.  

D. Assistance with ambulation and transfer.  
1. The ability of the participant to safely transfer and 
ambulate shall be continually monitored. Any changes 
shall be documented in the participant's record and noted 
on the plan of care.  
2. There shall be adequate staff to provide individualized 
assistance to participants to ambulate to activities, meals, 
and the restroom if such assistance is needed. 
3. The center shall have at least one wheelchair available 
for emergency use, even if all participants are ambulatory 
or have their own wheelchairs.  
4. Staff shall identify unmet ambulation and transfer needs, 
including equipment needs and repairs, and shall discuss 
such needs with the participant, family, legal 
representative, or physician, as appropriate. 
5. Participants who use wheelchairs shall be offered other 
seating options throughout the day if appropriate.  

E. Assistance with toileting.  
1. Staff shall develop and follow appropriate toileting 
procedures for each participant who requires assistance 
according to that individual's abilities and plan of care.  
2. Participants who are at risk of falling or who have other 
safety risks shall not be left alone while toileting.  
3. Staff shall arrange for coverage of program 
responsibilities when they must leave the group to assist 
with toileting a participant.  

F. Assistance with bathing.  
1. A shower chair, bench, or other seating; safety 
equipment such as grab bars; and nonslip surfaces shall be 
provided.  
2. The participant shall not be left unattended in the shower 
or bath. If the bathing area is not in sight or sound of other 
occupied parts of the building, there shall be an emergency 
call system to summon additional assistance.  

G. Assistance with dressing.  
1. Assistance shall be provided according to that 
individual's abilities and plan of care. 
2. Extra clothing shall be available for participants who 
need to change during the day. Each participant may keep 
a change of clothing at the center, or the center may keep a 
supply to use as needed.  

3. Participants' clothing, equipment, and supplies kept at 
the center shall be properly labeled and stored to prevent 
loss.  
4. Special attention shall be given to footwear of 
participants who are at risk of falling. Staff shall encourage 
family members to provide appropriate shoes and shall 
document those recommendations in the participant's 
record.  

22VAC40-61-330. Activities. 
A. Activities shall be planned to support the plans of care for 

the participants and shall be consistent with the program 
statement and the admission policies.  

B. Activities shall: 
1. Support the physical, social, mental, and emotional skills 
and abilities of participants in order to promote or maintain 
their highest level of independence or functioning; 
2. Accommodate individual differences by providing a 
variety of types of activities and levels of involvement; and 
3. Offer participants a varied mix of activities including the 
following categories: physical; social; cognitive, 
intellectual, or creative; productive; sensory; reflective or 
contemplative; outdoor; and nature or the natural world. 
Community resources as well as center resources may be 
used to provide activities. Any given activity may fall 
under more than one category. 

C. Participation in activities. 
1. Participants shall be encouraged but not forced to 
participate in activity programs offered by the center and 
the community. 
2. During an activity, each participant shall be encouraged 
but not coerced to join in the activity at his level of 
functioning, which may include his observation of the 
activity. 
3. If appropriate to meet the needs of the participant with a 
short attention span, multiple short activities shall be 
provided. 
4. Any restrictions on participation imposed by a physician 
shall be followed and documented in the participant's 
record and the plan of care.  

D. There shall be a designated staff person who is routinely 
present in the center and who shall be responsible for 
managing or coordinating the structured activities program. 
This staff person shall maintain personal interaction with the 
participants and familiarity with their needs and interests and 
shall meet at least one of the following qualifications:  

1. Be a qualified therapeutic recreation specialist or an 
activities professional;  
2. Be eligible for certification as a therapeutic recreation 
specialist or an activities professional by a recognized 
accrediting body;  
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3. Be a qualified occupational therapist or an occupational 
therapy assistant; or 
4. Have one year full-time work experience within the last 
five years in an activities program in an adult care setting.  

E. Participants, staff, and family members shall be 
encouraged to be involved in the planning of the activities. 

F. Schedule of activities. 
1. There shall be planned activities and programs 
throughout the day whenever the center is in operation.  
2. A written schedule of activities shall be developed on a 
monthly basis.  
3. The schedule shall include:  

a. Group activities for all participants or small groups of 
participants; and  
b. The name, type, date, and hour of the activity.  

4. If one activity is substituted for another, the change shall 
be noted on the schedule.  
5. The current month's schedule shall be posted in a readily 
accessible location in the center and also may be made 
available to participants and their families.  
6. The schedule of activities for the preceding two years 
shall be kept at the center.  
7. If a participant requires an individual schedule of 
activities, that schedule shall be a part of the plan of care.  

G. During an activity, when needed to ensure that each of 
the following is adequately accomplished, there shall be staff 
persons or volunteers to: 

1. Lead the activity; 
2. Assist the participants with the activity; 
3. Supervise the general area; 
4. Redirect any individuals who require different activities; 
and 
5. Protect the health, safety, and welfare of the participants 
involved in the activity.  

H. The staff person or volunteer leading the activity shall 
have a general understanding of the following: 

1. Attention spans and functional levels of each of the 
participants; 
2. Methods to adapt the activity to meet the needs and 
abilities of the participants; 
3. Various methods of engaging and motivating individuals 
to participate; and 
4. The importance of providing appropriate instruction, 
education, and guidance throughout the activity. 

I. Adequate supplies and equipment appropriate for the 
program activities shall be available in the center. 

J. All equipment and supplies used shall be accounted for at 
the end of the activity so that a safe environment can be 
maintained. 

K. In addition to the required scheduled activities, there 
shall be unscheduled staff and participant interaction 
throughout the day that fosters an environment that promotes 
socialization opportunities for participants.  
22VAC40-61-340. Food service. 

A. Meals and snacks shall be provided by the center. The 
center shall (i) prepare the food, (ii) have the food catered, or 
(iii) utilize a contract food service.  

B. When any portion of an adult day care center is subject to 
inspection by the Virginia Department of Health, the center 
shall be in compliance with those regulations, as evidenced 
by an initial and subsequent annual report from the Virginia 
Department of Health. The report shall be retained at the 
center for a period of at least two years. 

C. If a catering service or contract food service is used, the 
service shall be approved by the local health department. The 
center shall be responsible for monitoring continued 
compliance by obtaining a copy of the Virginia Department 
of Health approval. 

D. The center shall encourage, but not require, participants 
to eat the meals and snacks provided by the center. If a 
participant brings food from home, the food shall be labeled 
with the participant's name, dated, and stored appropriately 
until meal or snack time. The fact that the participant brought 
food does not relieve the center of its responsibility to provide 
meals and snacks. 

E. A minimum of 45 minutes shall be allowed for each 
participant to complete a meal. If a participant needs 
additional time to finish his meal due to special needs, such 
additional time shall be provided.   
22VAC40-61-350. Serving of meals and snacks. 

A. Centers shall serve meals and snacks at appropriate 
times, depending on the hours of operation. For example, a 
center open during the hours of 7 a.m. to 1 p.m. must serve a 
morning snack and a mid-day meal; a center open during the 
hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. must serve a morning snack, a mid-
day meal, and an afternoon snack; a center open during the 
hours of 2 p.m. to 6 p.m. must serve an afternoon snack; a 
center open after 6 p.m. must serve an evening meal. Centers 
open after 9 p.m. shall serve an evening snack. Snacks shall 
also be available throughout the day. 

B. There shall be at least two hours between scheduled 
snacks and meals. 

C. Adequate kitchen facilities and equipment shall be 
provided for preparation and serving of meals and snacks or 
for the catering of meals. 

D. Sufficient working refrigeration shall be available to 
store perishable food and medicine.   
22VAC40-61-360. Menu and nutrition requirements. 

A. Food preferences of participants shall be considered 
when menus are planned. 
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B. Menus for meals and snacks for the current week shall be 
dated and posted in an area conspicuous to participants.  

1. Any menu substitutions or additions shall be recorded 
on the posted menu.  
2. Menus shall be kept at the center for two years.  

C. Minimum daily menu. 
1. Unless otherwise ordered in writing by the participant's 
physician, the daily menu, including snacks, for each 
participant shall meet the current guidelines of the U.S. 
Department of Agriculture food guidance system or the 
dietary allowances of the Food and Nutritional Board of 
the National Academy of Sciences, taking into 
consideration the age, sex and activity of the participant.  
2. Other foods may be added to enhance the meals or meet 
individual participant needs. 
3. Second servings and snacks shall be available at no 
additional charge. 
4. Drinking water shall be available at all times. 

D. When a diet is prescribed for a participant by his 
physician or other prescriber, it shall be prepared and served 
according to the physician's or other prescriber's orders. 

E. A current copy of a diet manual containing acceptable 
practices and standards for nutrition shall be available to staff 
responsible for food preparation and meal planning.  
22VAC40-61-370. Observance of religious dietary 
practices. 

A. The participant's religious dietary practices shall be 
respected and followed. 

B. Religious dietary practices of the director, staff, or 
licensee shall not be imposed upon participants unless 
mutually agreed upon in the admission agreement. 
22VAC40-61-380. Transportation services. 

A. Centers that provide participant transportation directly or 
by contract shall ensure that the following requirements are 
met:  

1. The vehicle shall be accessible and appropriate for the 
participants being transported. Vehicles shall be equipped 
with a ramp or hydraulic lift to allow entry and exit if there 
are participants who remain in their wheelchairs during 
transport.  
2. The vehicle's seats shall be attached to the floor, and 
wheelchairs shall be secured when the vehicle is in motion.  
3. Arrangement of wheelchairs and other equipment in the 
vehicle shall not impede access to exits.  
4. The vehicle shall be insured for at least the minimum 
limits established by law and regulation.  
5. All vehicles shall have working heat and air 
conditioning systems.  

6. The vehicle shall meet the safety standards set by the 
Department of Motor Vehicles and shall be kept in 
satisfactory condition to ensure the safety of participants.  

B. Centers that provide participant transportation directly or 
by contract shall ensure that during transportation the 
following requirements are met:  

1. The driver has a valid Virginia driver's license to operate 
the type of vehicle being used. 
2. Virginia statutes regarding safety belts are followed.  
3. Every person remains seated while the vehicle is in 
motion.  
4. Doors are properly closed and locked while the vehicle 
is in motion.  
5. Supervision and safety needs of participants are 
maintained at all times.  
6. The following information is maintained in vehicles 
used for transportation:  

a. The center's name, address, and phone number;  
b. A list of the names of the participants being 
transported;  
c. A list of the names, addresses, and telephone numbers 
of participants' emergency contact persons; and 
d. A first aid kit containing the supplies as listed in 
22VAC40-61-550. 

7. The driver, another staff person, or a volunteer in the 
vehicle is current in first aid and CPR training.  
8. There shall be a means of communication between the 
driver and the center. 

C. If staff or volunteers supply personal vehicles, the center 
shall be responsible for ensuring that the requirements of 
subsections A and B of this section are met.  
22VAC40-61-390. Field trips. 

A. Any center that takes participants on field trips shall 
develop a policy that addresses the following:  

1. A communication plan between staff at the center and 
staff who are accompanying participants on a field trip;  
2. Maintenance of staff-to-participant ratio at both the 
center and on the field trip as required by 22VAC40-61-
200;  
3. Provision of adequate food and water for participants 
during field trips;   
4. Safe storage of food to prevent food-borne illnesses; and 
5. Medication administration that meets the requirements 
of 22VAC40-61-300.  

B. Before leaving on a field trip, a list of participants taking 
the trip and a schedule of the trip's events and locations shall 
be left at the center and shall be accessible to staff.  

C. A wheelchair that is available for emergency use shall be 
taken on field trips.  
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D. The requirements of 22VAC40-61-380 apply when 
participants are transported on field trips.  

Part VII 
Buildings and Grounds 

22VAC40-61-400. Physical environment. 
A center must provide an environment that ensures the 

safety and well-being of the participants but is not so 
restrictive as to inhibit physical, intellectual, emotional, or 
social stimulation. 
22VAC40-61-410. Maintenance of buildings and grounds. 

A. The interior and exterior of all buildings shall be 
maintained in good repair, kept clean and free of rubbish, and 
free from safety hazards. 

B. All buildings shall be well-ventilated and free from foul, 
stale, and musty odors. 

C. Adequate provisions for the collection and legal disposal 
of garbage, ashes, and waste material shall be made. 

D. Buildings shall be kept free of infestations of insects and 
vermin. The grounds shall be kept free of insect and vermin 
breeding places. 

E. Cleaning products, pesticides, and all poisonous or 
harmful materials shall be stored separately from food and 
shall be kept in a locked place when not in use. 

F. All furnishings, fixtures, and equipment, including 
furniture, window coverings, sinks, toilets, bathtubs, and 
showers, shall be kept clean and in good repair and condition. 

G. Grounds shall be properly maintained to include mowing 
of grass and removal of snow and ice.  

H. A safe area for participant discharge and pick-up shall be 
available.  

I. Adequate outdoor lighting shall be provided to ensure safe 
ambulation and the safety of participants during arrival and 
departure.  

J. All interior and exterior stairways and ramps shall have a 
nonslip surface or carpet that shall be secured to the stairways 
or ramps.  

K. Sturdy handrails shall be provided on all stairways, 
ramps, and elevators and at all changes in floor level.  

L. All interior and exterior stairways, changes in floor level, 
and ramps shall be indicated by a warning strip or contrast in 
color.  
22VAC40-61-420. Lighting. 

A. All areas of the center shall be adequately lighted for the 
safety and comfort of the participants.  

B. Artificial lighting shall be powered by electricity.  
C. Glare shall be kept at a minimum in rooms used by 

participants. When necessary to reduce glare, coverings shall 
be used for windows and lights. 

D. If used, fluorescent lights shall be replaced if they flicker 
or make noise. 

F. Flashlights or battery lanterns in working order shall be 
available at all times for emergency lighting.   

G. Open flame lighting is prohibited.  
22VAC40-61-430. Heating and cooling. 

A. Heat shall be supplied from a central heating plant or an 
electrical heating system in accordance with the Virginia 
Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63).  

B. Provided their installation or operation has been approved 
by the state or local building or fire authorities, space heaters, 
such as but not limited to gas stoves, wood burning stoves, 
coal burning stoves, and oil heaters, or portable heating units 
either vented or unvented may be used only to provide or 
supplement heat in the event of a power failure or similar 
emergency. These appliances shall be used in accordance 
with the manufacturer's instructions. When any of these 
heating sources are used, care shall be taken to protect 
participants from injuries. 

C. The temperature of the center shall be maintained at a 
level safe and suitable for the participants in accordance with 
the following:  

1. The inside temperature shall be between 70°F and 84°F. 
This standard applies unless otherwise mandated by federal 
or state authorities.  
2. Fans and air conditioners shall be placed to avoid direct 
drafts on participants and to prevent safety hazards. Any 
electric fans shall be screened and placed for the protection 
of the participants.  
3. The center shall develop a plan to protect participants 
from heat-related and cold-related illnesses in the event of 
a loss of heat or cooling due to emergency situations or 
malfunctioning or broken equipment.  
4. At least one movable thermometer shall be available in 
each building for measuring temperatures in individual 
rooms that do not have a fixed thermostat that shows the 
temperature in the room. 

22VAC40-61-440. General areas. 
A. Any center licensed after July 1, 2000, shall provide at 

least 50 square feet of indoor floor space for each participant, 
in addition to hallways, office space, bathrooms, storage 
space, or other rooms or areas that are not normally used for 
program activities; otherwise the square footage shall be 40 
square feet. 

B. There shall be sufficient and suitable space for planned 
program activities that may be interchangeable or adaptable 
for a variety of activities, including meals.  

1. There shall be at least one room with sufficient space for 
the participants to gather together for large group activities.  
2. There shall be rooms or areas appropriate for small 
group activities and individual activities.  
3. An area shall be available and accessible so that 
participants shall have opportunities for supervised outdoor 
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activities. The area shall be equipped with appropriate 
seasonal outdoor furniture. 

C. Furnishings.  
1. The furniture shall be sturdy, safe, and appropriate for 
participants in care.  
2. All centers shall have:  

a. At least one chair for each participant and each staff 
person, excluding any people who remain in wheelchairs 
throughout the day;  
b. Table space adequate for all participants to take part in 
activities at the same time; and  
c. Recliners, lounge chairs, rockers, or other seating to 
allow participants to relax and rest. 

22VAC40-61-450. Privacy space. 
Space shall be available to allow privacy for participants 

during interviews, visits, telephone conversations, counseling, 
therapy, and other similar activities. 
22VAC40-61-460. Restroom facilities. 

A. There shall be a minimum of one toilet that is suitable to 
accommodate a participant who needs human assistance or 
specialized equipment available for every 10 participants, or 
portion thereof. For restrooms that have multiple stalls, only 
the toilets that accommodate a person who needs human 
assistance or specialized equipment shall be counted in the 
total required number of toilets. 

B. Restrooms that are equipped with only one toilet may be 
used by either men or women. 

C. Restrooms equipped with more than one toilet shall have 
each toilet enclosed.  

D. Restrooms that are equipped with multiple stalls must be 
designated for men or for women.  

E. Sturdy grab bars or safety frames shall be installed beside 
all toilets used by participants.  

F. There shall be a minimum of one sink for every two 
toilets and the sinks shall be located close enough to toilets to 
encourage washing of hands after each toileting procedure.  

G. There shall be an ample supply of hot and cold running 
water from an approved source available to the participants at 
all times.  

H. Hot water at taps available to participants shall be 
maintained within a temperature range of 105°F to 120°F.  

I. There shall be an adequate supply of toilet tissue, liquid 
soap, disposable hand towels, or air dryers and disposable 
gloves in each restroom at all times.  

J. If bathing facilities are provided there shall be:  
1. Handrails by bathtubs;  
2. Handrails in stall showers; and  
3. A bench for use in the shower and a bench for use in 
dressing, if necessary.  

22VAC40-61-470. Dining area. 
A. Dining areas shall have a sufficient number of sturdy 

tables and chairs to serve all participants, either all at one 
time or in shifts.  

B. If the center is licensed for nonambulatory participants, 
the dining area shall be large enough to provide sufficient 
table space and floor space to accommodate participants in 
wheelchairs or other assistive equipment.  
22VAC40-61-480. Rest area. 

A. A separate room or area shall be available for participants 
who become ill, need to rest, or need to have privacy. The 
separate room or area shall be equipped with one bed, 
comfortable cot, or recliner for every 12 participants.  

B. Additional beds, comfortable cots, or recliners shall be 
available based on participant needs to accommodate rest 
periods. In centers that are open for evening or night care, 
beds shall be available for participants who need them.  

C. A minimum of one pillow covered with (i) a pillow case, 
(ii) two sheets, and (iii) one blanket, spread, or covering per 
bed or cot shall be provided.  

D. All sheets and pillow cases shall be laundered after each 
use. 

E. Additional covering or blankets and pillows shall be 
available as necessary for recliners.  
22VAC40-61-490. Storage. 

A. Sufficient space shall be provided to store coats, 
sweaters, umbrellas, toilet articles, and other personal 
possessions of participants and staff.  

B. Sufficient space shall be available for equipment, 
materials, and supplies used at the center.  
22VAC40-61-500. Telephones. 

A. Each building shall have at least one operable, nonpay 
telephone easily accessible to staff. There shall be additional 
telephones or extensions as may be needed to summon help in 
an emergency, including one that will operate during power 
outages.  

B. Participants shall have reasonable access to a nonpay 
telephone on the premises. 
22VAC40-61-510. Fire safety: compliance with state 
regulations and local fire ordinances. 

A. The center shall comply with the Virginia Statewide Fire 
Prevention Code (13VAC5-51) as determined by at least an 
annual inspection by the appropriate fire official. Reports of 
the inspections shall be retained at the center for at least two 
years. 

B. An adult day care center shall comply with any local fire 
ordinance.   
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Part VIII 
Emergency Preparedness 

22VAC40-61-520. Emergency preparedness and response 
plan. 

A. The center shall develop an emergency preparedness and 
response plan that shall address: 

1. Documentation of initial and annual contact with the 
local emergency coordinator to determine (i) local disaster 
risks, (ii) community wide plans to address different 
disasters and emergency situations, and (iii) assistance, if 
any, that the local emergency management office will 
provide to the center in an emergency. 
2. Analysis of the center's potential hazards, including 
severe weather, biohazard events, fire, loss of utilities, 
flooding, work place violence or terrorism, severe injuries, 
or other emergencies that would disrupt normal operation 
of the center. 
3. Emergency management policies and procedures for the 
provision of: 

a. Administrative direction and management of response 
activities; 
b. Coordination of logistics during the emergency; 
c. Communications; 
d. Life safety of participants, staff, volunteers, and 
visitors; 
e. Property protection; 
f. Continued services to participants; 
g. Community resource accessibility; and 
h. Recovery and restoration. 

4. Emergency response procedures for assessing the 
situation; protecting participants, staff, volunteers, visitors, 
equipment, medications, and vital records; and restoring 
services. Emergency response procedures shall address: 

a. Alerting emergency personnel and center staff; 
b. Warning and notification of participants, including 
sounding of alarms when appropriate; 
c. Providing emergency access to secure areas and 
opening locked doors; 
d. Conducting evacuations and sheltering in place, as 
appropriate, and accounting for all participants; 
e. Locating and shutting off utilities when necessary; 
f. Maintaining and operating emergency equipment 
effectively and safely; 
g. Communicating with staff and community emergency 
responders during the emergency;  
h. Conducting relocations to emergency shelters or 
alternative sites when necessary and accounting for all 
participants; and 
i. Strategies for reunification of participants with their 
family or legal representative. 

5. Supporting documents that would be needed in an 
emergency, including emergency call lists, building and 
site maps necessary to shut off utilities, and as applicable, 
memoranda of understanding with relocation sites and list 
of major resources such as suppliers of emergency 
equipment. 

B. Staff and volunteers shall be knowledgeable in and 
prepared to implement the emergency preparedness plan in 
the event of an emergency. 

C. The center shall develop and implement an orientation 
and semi-annual review on the emergency preparedness and 
response plan for all staff, participants, and volunteers with 
emphasis placed on an individual's respective responsibilities, 
except that for participants, the orientation and review may be 
limited to only subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection. The 
review shall be documented by signing and dating. The 
orientation and review shall cover responsibilities for: 

1. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms; 
2. Implementing evacuation, shelter in place, and 
relocation procedures; 
3. Using, maintaining, and operating emergency 
equipment; 
4. Accessing emergency medical information, equipment, 
and medications for participants; 
5. Locating and shutting off utilities; and 
6. Utilizing community support services. 

D. The center shall review the emergency preparedness plan 
annually or more often as needed, document the review by 
signing and dating the plan, and make necessary revisions. 
Such revisions shall be communicated to staff, participants, 
and volunteers and incorporated into the orientation and semi-
annual review. 

E. In the event of a disaster, fire, emergency, or any other 
condition that may jeopardize the health, safety, and welfare 
of participants, the center shall take appropriate action to 
protect the participants and to remedy the conditions as soon 
as possible. 

F. After the disaster or emergency is stabilized, the center 
shall: 

1. Notify family members and legal representatives; and 
2. Report the disaster or emergency to the regional 
licensing office as specified in 22VAC40-61-90. 

22VAC40-61-530. Fire and emergency evacuation plan. 
A. The center shall have a plan for fire and emergency 

evacuation that is to be followed in the event of a fire or other 
emergency. The plan shall be approved by the appropriate fire 
official. 

B. A fire and emergency evacuation drawing showing 
primary and secondary escape routes, areas of refuge, 
assembly areas, telephones, fire alarm boxes, and fire 
extinguishers shall be posted in a conspicuous place. 
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C. The telephone numbers for the fire department, rescue 
squad or ambulance, police, and Poison Control Center shall 
be posted by each telephone shown on the fire and emergency 
evacuation plan. 

D. Staff and volunteers shall be fully informed of the 
approved fire and emergency evacuation plan, including their 
duties, and the location and operation of fire extinguishers, 
fire alarm boxes, and any other available emergency 
equipment.  
22VAC40-61-540. Fire and emergency evacuation drills. 

A. Fire and emergency evacuation drill frequency and 
participation shall be in accordance with the current edition of 
the Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code (13VAC5-51).  

B. Additional fire and emergency evacuation drills shall be 
held when there is any reason to question whether the 
requirements of the approved fire and emergency evacuation 
plan can be met. 

C. Each required fire and emergency evacuation drill shall 
be unannounced. 

D. Immediately following each required fire and emergency 
evacuation drill, there shall be an evaluation of the drill by the 
staff in order to determine the effectiveness of the drill. The 
licensee or director shall immediately correct any problems 
identified in the evaluation and document the corrective 
action taken. 

E. A record of the required fire and emergency evacuation 
drills shall be kept in the center for two years. Such record 
shall include: 

1. Identity of the person conducting the drill; 
2. The date and time of the drill; 
3. The method used for notification of the drill; 
4. The number of staff participating; 
5. The number of participants participating; 
6. Any special conditions simulated; 
7. The time it took to complete the drill; 
8. Weather conditions; and 
9. Problems encountered, if any. 

22VAC40-61-550. Emergency equipment and supplies. 
A. Each building of the center and all vehicles being used to 

transport participants shall contain a first aid kit which shall 
include:  

1. Scissors;  
2. Tweezers;  
3. Gauze pads;  
4. Adhesive tape;  
5. Adhesive bandages in assorted sizes;  
6. Triangular bandages;  
7. Flexible gauze;  
8. Antiseptic cleansing solution;  

9. Antibacterial ointment;  
10. Bee sting swabs or preparation;  
11. Ice pack or ice bag;  
12. Thermometer;  
13. Small operable flashlight;  
14. Single use gloves, such as surgical or examining 
gloves; and 
15. The first aid instructional manual.  

B. The first aid kit shall be located in a designated place that 
is easily accessible to staff but not accessible to participants.  

C. The first aid kit shall be checked at least annually and 
contents shall be replaced before expiration dates and as 
necessary.  

D. Emergency equipment shall be available for use in the 
event of loss of utilities such as, but not limited to, a working 
flashlight, extra batteries, a portable radio, and a telephone or 
other communication device. 

E. A plan shall be in place to provide an emergency meal 
and a supply of water to all participants in the event that 
meals are not able to be prepared or participants are required 
to shelter in place for a period of time. 
22VAC40-61-560. Plan for participant emergencies. 

A. The center shall have a plan for participant emergencies 
that includes: 

1. Procedures for handling medical emergencies, including 
identifying the staff person responsible for (i) calling the 
rescue squad, ambulance service, participant's physician, or 
Poison Control Center and (ii) providing first aid and CPR 
when indicated. 
2. Procedures for handling mental health emergencies such 
as, but not limited to, catastrophic reaction or the need for 
a temporary detention order. 
3. Procedures for making pertinent medical information 
and history available to the rescue squad and hospital, 
including a copy of the current medical administration 
record, advance directives, and Do Not Resuscitate Orders. 
4. Procedures to be followed in the event that a participant 
is missing, including (i) involvement of center staff, 
appropriate law-enforcement agency, and others as needed; 
(ii) areas to be searched; (iii) expectations upon locating 
the participant such as medical attention; and (iv) 
documentation of the event. 
5. Procedures to be followed in the event of a vehicle 
emergency to include notifying the center or emergency 
personnel, telephone numbers for vehicle repair, and 
options for alternate transportation. Procedures to be 
followed in the event that a participant's scheduled 
transportation does not arrive or the participant is stranded 
at the center shall also be developed. The center shall 
ensure that these procedures are in place for transportation 
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provided by both the center and contracted services if 
appropriate. 
6. Procedures for notifying the participant's family, and 
legal representative. 
7. Procedures for notifying the regional licensing office as 
specified in 22VAC40-61-90. 

B. If the center serves participants who wander, a door bell 
or alarm shall be installed or attached to alert staff to 
wandering participants. 

C. Staff shall be trained on all requirements of subsection A 
of this section during orientation and during a semi-annual 
review. 

D. The plan for participant emergencies shall be readily 
available to all staff, family members, and legal 
representatives. 
NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 
regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of the form 
with a hyperlink to access it. The form is also available from 
the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
FORMS (22VAC40-61) 

Report of Tuberculosis Screening, Virginia Department of 
Health (rev. June 2017) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4545; Filed June 19, 2017, 10:16 a.m.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8fb72004545~1&typ=40&actno=004545&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8fb72004545~1&typ=40&actno=004545&mime=application/pdf
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Board of Accountancy 
is conducting a periodic review and small business impact 
review of 18VAC5-11, Public Participation Guidelines. 
The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 
in Executive Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins July 10, 2017, and ends July 31, 
2017. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Rebekah E. Allen, Enforcement Director, 
Board of Accountancy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 402, 
Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2006, FAX (804) 
527-4207, or email rebekah.allen@boa.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 
impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Air 
Pollution Control Board conducted a small business impact 
review of 9VAC5-5, Public Participation Guidelines, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Air Pollution Control Board is publishing 
its report of findings dated June 9, 2017, to support this 
decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of 
Virginia. 

The current regulation continues to be needed. The regulation 
explains how the public will be notified, explains how input 
will be sought, explains the use of advisory panels, and 
details the public participation process during regulatory 

actions. The regulation is explanatory in nature and does not 
place any additional regulatory burden on the regulated 
community including small businesses.  

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Office of 
Regulatory Affairs, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 
melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

AT RICHMOND, JUNE 8, 2017 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUR-2017-00076 

Ex Parte: In the matter of revising 
the Commission's Rules Governing 
Enhanced 911 (E-911) Service 

ORDER INITIATING RULEMAKING PROCEEDING 

On June 23, 2004, the State Corporation Commission 
("Commission") adopted Rules Governing Enhanced 911 (E-
911) Service, 20 VAC 5-425-10 et seq. ("E-911 Rules") in 
Case No. PUC-2003-00103.1 The Commission initiated the E-
911 rulemaking in response to complaints received from 
Public Safety Answering Point ("PSAP")2 administrators and 
local governments regarding the quality of E-911 service and 
billing issues associated therewith.3 At that time, the 
Commission noted that the reliability and accuracy of the E-
911 service was essential to protecting the public safety and 
health of many Virginia citizens.4 Given the passage of time 
since the Commission established the E-911 Rules in 2004, 
the Commission has concluded that it is appropriate to revisit 
the E-911 Rules and to make modifications, if necessary, due 
to changes in applicable laws and technological changes in 
the telecommunications industry. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of this 
matter, is of the opinion and finds that a rulemaking 
proceeding should be initiated to determine whether, and the 
extent to which, any of the Commission's E-911 Rules should 
be revised. In this regard, we will direct the Commission's 
Staff ("Staff") to solicit comments from, and schedule a 
meeting or meetings (as necessary) with, stakeholders and 
persons having an interest in the Commission's E-911 Rules 
and the provision of E-911 service in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia. We expect our Staff to develop, with appropriate 
input from stakeholders and interested persons, a proposal for 
any revisions, if necessary, to the current E-911 Rules. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) This matter is docketed and assigned Case No. PUR-
2017-00076. 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:rebekah.allen@boa.virginia.gov
mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
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(2) The Commission's Division of Public Utility Regulation 
hereby is directed to undertake such actions as necessary to 
facilitate a review of the Commission's E-911 Rules as 
discussed above. 

(3) The Staff shall prepare and file a report on its findings and 
recommendations in this proceeding, which shall include any 
proposed revisions to the current E-911 Rules that are 
developed with appropriate input from stakeholders and other 
interested persons. 

(4) This matter is continued. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 
the Commission to all local exchange carriers certificated in 
Virginia as set out in Appendix A; all interexchange carriers 
certificated in Virginia as set out in Appendix B; the 
chairman of the board of supervisors and county attorney of 
each county and upon the mayor or manager (or equivalent 
official) and city or town attorney of every city and town in 
the Commonwealth of Virginia as set out in Appendix C; and 
C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant Attorney General, 
Office of the Attorney General, Division of Consumer 
Counsel, 202 N. 9th Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219-3424. A copy hereof also shall be provided to 
the Commission's Office of General Counsel and Division of 
Public Utility Regulation. 

______________________________ 
1 Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, Ex 
Parte: In the matter of establishing rules governing the provision of enhanced 
911 service by local exchange carriers, Case No. PUC-2003-00103, 2004 
S.C.C. Ann. Rept. 201, Order Adopting Rules (June 23, 2004). 
2 A PSAP is a communications operation or facility operated by or on behalf 
of a governmental entity that is equipped and staffed on a 24-hour basis to 
receive and process telephone calls for emergency assistance from an 
individual who dials the digits 9-1-1. See, e.g., §§ 56-484.12 and 56-484.19 
of the Code of Virginia. 
3 See Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, Ex 
Parte: In the matter of establishing rules governing the provision of enhanced 
911 service by local exchange carriers, Case No. PUC-2003-00103, Order 
For Notice and Comment or Requests for Hearing (Aug. 1, 2003). 
4 See id. 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of Criminal 
Justice Services and the Criminal Justice Services Board are 
conducting a periodic review and small business impact 
review of 6VAC20-20, Rules Relating to Compulsory 
Minimum Training Standards for Law-Enforcement 
Officers. The review of this regulation will be guided by the 
principles in Executive Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins July 10, 2017, and ends 
September 10, 2017. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law 
Enforcement Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal 
Justice Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-4503, FAX (804) 786-0410, or email 
barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 
impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Port Conway Solar, LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy (Solar) Project Permit by Rule - 

King George County 
Port Conway Solar LLC, has provided to the Department of 
Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 
necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 
renewable energy project (solar) in King George County 
pursuant to § 10.1-1197.6 B 1 of the Code of Virginia and 
9VAC15-60. The project will have a maximum capacity of 20 
megawatts alternating current and will utilize traditional 
photovoltaic solar modules that rotate throughout the day to 
track the sun. The project is located in King George County, 
along Port Conway Road in the general vicinity of Dogue, 
Virginia. The project will be sited across roughly 250 acres 
and across multiple parcels. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 
698-4510, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Westmoreland Solar, LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy (Solar) Project Permit by Rule - 

Westmoreland County 

Westmoreland Solar LLC, provided to the Department of 
Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
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necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 
renewable energy project (solar) in Westmoreland County, 
Virginia, pursuant to § 10.1-1197.6 B 1 of the Code of 
Virginia and 9VAC15-60. The project will be located on 
roughly 114 acres of agricultural land west of Routes 205 and 
628, and in the general vicinity of Oak Grove, Virginia. The 
project is anticipated to have a nameplate capacity of 20 
megawatts alternating current and will be comprised of 
approximately 77,580 solar panels. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 
698-4510, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Public Comment Opportunity - Stafford Regional 
Airport - Proposed Runway Extension and Airport 

Development Project 

Purpose of notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) seeks public comment on an environmental 
assessment for a proposed runway extension and airport 
development project at the Stafford Regional Airport in 
Stafford County, Virginia. 

Public comment period: June 16, 2017, through August 4, 
2017. 

Type of response: Environmental assessment. 

DEQ is reviewing an environmental assessment for a 
proposed runway extension and other improvements as a 
component of the airport's license modification application. 
The purpose of the environmental assessment is to determine 
if a runway extension and additional development at the 
airport would significantly impact socioeconomic and 
environmental resources within the proposed project area. 

Name of agency proposing the project: The Stafford Regional 
Airport Authority has submitted a license modification 
application to the Federal Aviation Administration and 
Virginia Department of Aviation. 

Project description: The plans to construct airport 
improvements as specified in the 2013 Stafford Regional 
Airport Master Plan Update (AMPU) and as shown on the 
conditionally approved 2016 Airport Layout Plan (ALP). The 
proposed action includes the following project elements: 

• Extend Runway 15-33 by 1,000 feet 

• Extend the existing 35-foot wide parallel taxiway by 
1,000 feet 

• Construct one 350-foot long by 35-foot wide connector 
taxiway 

• Construct one 100-foot long by 35-foot wide connector 
taxiway 

• Construct two 150-foot by 120-foot asphalt blast pads 

• Relocate the localizer antenna, localizer equipment 
shelter, and airport perimeter road 1,000 feet northwest of 
their current location 

• Rehabilitate the existing 5,000-foot asphalt runway, 
taxiways, and apron 

• Reinstate northern traffic pattern for Runway 15-33 

• Relocate the Automated Weather Observing System and 
Runway 33 glideslope antenna 

• Construct a 48-foot wide by 750-foot long emergency 
access road 

• Acquire in fee simple approximately 105 acres of land 

• Release approximately 14.75 acres of airport property to 
Stafford County Economic Development Authority 

• Acquire approximately 91 acres of avigation easements 

• Relocate approximately 820,000 cubic yards of soil on 
airport property 

• Construct approximately 13,000 square yards of 
additional apron 

• Construct two 10-unit T-hangars and associated taxilanes 

• Construct approximately 8,800 square yards of additional 
automobile parking spaces 

• Construct one 100-foot by 150-foot hangar, one 120-foot 
by 100-foot hangar, three 120-foot by 120-foot hangars, 
one 100-foot by 190-foot flight school, and four 60-foot by 
60-foot box hangars 

• Construct a 1,200-square foot maintenance equipment 
storage shed 

• Relocate the airport security perimeter fence, precision 
approach path indicator lights, and windsock 

• Install one additional 12,000-gallon Jet-A-fuel tank and 
associated fuel delivery loop road 

• Remove approximately 162 acres of future obstructions 
(35 on airport property and 127 acres off airport property) 
to FAR Part 77 primary, approach, and transitional surfaces 
for the runway extension 

• Install a medium intensity approach lighting system on 
Runway 15 and runway alignment indicator lights on 
Runway 33 

• Develop instrument approach procedures to Runway 15 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax, or U.S. mail (see below). All comments must 
include the name, address, and telephone number of the 
person commenting and be received by DEQ within the 
comment period. The public may review the project 
documents at the following locations: 

mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
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• Stafford Regional Airport, 95 Aviation Way, 
Fredericksburg, VA 22406 

• England Run Branch Public Library, 806 Lyons 
Boulevard, Fredericksburg, VA 22406 

• Virginia Department of Aviation, 5702 Gulfstream Road, 
Richmond, VA 23250 

• Federal Aviation Administration, Washington Airports 
District Office, 23723 Air Freight Lane, Suite 210, Dulles, 
VA 20166 

• Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219 

• DEQ Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 
Woodbridge, VA 22193 

A copy of the draft environmental assessment will also be 
made available online at the Stafford Regional Airport's 
website: http://www.staffordairport.com/, and on DEQ's 
website at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/EnvironmentalImpact
Review/NEPADocumentReviews/MajorNEPAProjects.aspx. 

A public hearing to accept comments will be held on 
Tuesday, July 25, 2017, at 7 p.m. at the Stafford Regional 
Airport. Anyone desiring to be heard in support of or in 
opposition to this proposed action may attend and have their 
comments considered by the Department of Environmental 
Quality and the Department of Aviation. 

Contact Information: John Fisher, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4339, FAX (804) 
698-4319, or email john.fisher@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Program 
Intended Use Plan for Fiscal Year 2018 

Under the Safe Drinking Water Act, Congress authorizes 
capitalization grants to the states through the Drinking Water 
State Revolving Loan Fund Program (DWSRF). As part of 
the annual DWSRF grant application process Virginia seeks 
meaningful public involvement through input, review, and 
comments. The Virginia Department of Health (VDH) Office 
of Drinking Water (ODW) has prepared a draft intended use 
plan (IUP) that explains the goals of the program, funding 
priorities, how VDH intends to use the grant funds and other 
important information submitted from the funding requests 
and set-aside suggestions. 

VDH received numerous funding requests and set-aside 
suggestions following the January DWSRF funding 
solicitation announcement. The draft 2018 IUP and draft 
project lists are open for review and comment by the public 
for a period of 60 days. The document entitled "Virginia 
Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Program Design 

Manual" dated January 2017, is a part of the intended use 
plan and was mailed to eligible waterworks in January 2017, 
announced in the Virginia Register of Regulations, and placed 
on VDH's website. The Program Design Manual provides 
information on VDH's project prioritization criteria and 
methodologies. 

VDH will hold a public meeting to solicit comments and 
recommendations regarding the IUP on Thursday, July 27, 
2017, from 9 a.m. to 11 a.m. at VDH Office of Drinking 
Water, 6th Floor Library, 109 Governor Street, VA 23219. 
Those individuals planning to attend the public meeting 
should contact Theresa Hewlett at telephone (804) 864-7501 
by the close of business on July 20, 2017. 

Any written comments from the public are to be submitted by 
September 10, 2017, the close of the public comment period. 
VDH will consider all meaningful public input and comments 
and make revisions to the IUP and project priority list if 
necessary. Please direct requests for information and forward 
written comments to Steven Pellei, PE, Virginia Department 
of Health, Office of Drinking Water, James Madison 
Building, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 864-7500, FAX (804) 864-7521. 

The following information is provided under Financial and 
Construction Assistance Programs at 
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/.  

Alternatively, it may be found by searching for "VDH 
FCAP." 

VDH's FY2018 Draft IUP 

VDH's FY2018 Preliminary Project Priority 
List/Comprehensive Project List  

The IUP is subject to change depending on EPA's award 
allocations. 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery were 
filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on June 21, 
2017. The orders may be viewed at the Virginia Lottery, 
600 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of 
the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

Director's Order Number Ninety (17) 

Virginia Lottery's "Summer Corvette® Giveaway" Promotion 
Final Rules for Operation (effective June 9, 2017) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-One (17) 

Virginia Lottery's "Ultimate Corvette® Experience" Final 
Rules for Operation (effective June 6, 2017) 

http://www.staffordairport.com/
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/EnvironmentalImpactReview/NEPADocumentReviews/MajorNEPAProjects.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/EnvironmentalImpactReview/NEPADocumentReviews/MajorNEPAProjects.aspx
mailto:john.fisher@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/14/2017/06/FY2018-IUP-DRAFT-6-5-17.pdf
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/14/2017/06/FY2018_PPL_Comprehensive_Lists.pdf
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/14/2017/06/FY2018_PPL_Comprehensive_Lists.pdf


General Notices/Errata 

Volume 33, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 10, 2017 

2649 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Two (17) 

Certain Virginia Promotion; Promotion Drawing and Entry 
Amendment 

Thank a Teacher Promotion (48 2017) (this Director's Order 
is effective nunc pro tunc to April 3, 2017, and shall remain 
in full force and effect unless amended or rescinded by 
further Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Three (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1792 "Double Doubler" 
Final Rules for Game Operation (effective June 4, 2017) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Four (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1803 "Cash Splash" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (effective June 8, 2017) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Five (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1672 "FIND THE 8'S" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (effective June 8, 2017) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Six (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1809 "$3,000,000 Cash 
Payout" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective June 8, 
2017) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Seven (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1810 "$5,000,000 Cash 
Payout" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective June 9, 
2017) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Eight (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1811 "$16,000,000 Cash 
Payout" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective June 9, 
2017) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Nine (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1812 "$32,000,000 Cash 
Payout" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective June 9, 
2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1782 "7X the Money" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (effective June 8, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred One (17) 

Certain Virginia Promotion; Participating Retailer 
Amendment - 2017 Mega Gift Card Giveaway Promotion (36 
2017) (effective June 1, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Two (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1832 "Fast Bucks" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (effective June 8, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Three (17) 

"Retailer Recruitment Incentive Promotion" Virginia Lottery 
Retailer Incentive Program Requirements (effective July 1, 
2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Four (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Q1/Q2 FY18 eXTRA Chances Scratcher 
Promotion Final Rules for Operation (effective July 1, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Twelve (17) 

Certain Virginia Print 'n Play Games; End of Games 

Virginia Lottery's Print 'n Play Blackjack (58 2017);  

Virginia Lottery's Print 'n Play Bonus Bingo (56 2017);  

Virginia Lottery's Print 'n Play Daily Crossword (59 2017);  

Virginia Lottery's Print 'n Play Smokin' Hot Crossword 
(65 2017);  

Virginia Lottery's Print 'n Play Hot 'n Spicy Bingo (63 2017)  

(effective July 8, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Thirteen (17) 

Certain Virginia Promotion; Retailer Incentive Amendment 

June Out-of-Stock Contest - Handy Mart Retailer Incentive 
Promotion (16 2017) (effective June 16, 2017) 

BOARD OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES 

Notice of Scheduling for the Medicaid Appeals 
Workgroup 

Pursuant to Chapter 836, Item WW 3 of the 2017 Acts of 
Assembly, the Virginia Department of Medical Assistance 
Services is convening a workgroup with representatives from 
the provider community, the legal community, and the Office 
of Attorney General that shall be titled the Medicaid Appeals 
Workgroup. The workgroup shall develop a plan to avoid or 
adjust retractions or for nonmaterial breaches of the provider 
participation agreement when the provider has substantially 
complied with the provider participation agreement. The plan 
as developed shall include an assessment of any 
administrative financial impact the plan will have on the 
department and an analysis of any implications for the 
department's efforts to combat fraud, waste, and abuse. The 
department shall conduct two meetings during the summer of 
2017, an introductory meeting and a working meeting. Public 
comment will be held at both meetings and written comments 
will be accepted by the department throughout the tenure of 
the workgroup. 

The initial meeting shall be held on July 11, 2017, from 1:30 
p.m. until 3:30 p.m. at the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services, 600 East Broad Street, Rooms 7 A and B, 
Richmond, VA 23219. 
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Public comments concerning the issues addressed by the 
Medicaid Appeals Workgroup may be submitted at any time 
prior to the close of the 10th day following the final 
workgroup meeting in September. 

Contact Information: Sam Metallo, Appeals Division 
Director, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 
East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-1501, or email samuel.metallo@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Reimbursement Changes Affecting  
Other Types of Care 

Notice of Intent to Amend the Virginia State Plan for 
Medical Assistance (Pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of 

the Social Security Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13))) 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 
amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 
provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 
Establishing Payment Rates - Other Types of Care 
(12VAC30-80). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 
447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act, 
42 USC § 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this notice is available for 
public review from William Lessard, Provider 
Reimbursement Division, Department of Medical Assistance 
Services, 600 Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, 
VA 23219, or via email 
at william.lessard@dmas.virginia.gov. 

This notice is available for public review on the Regulatory 
Town Hall at www.townhall.virginia.gov, on the General 
Notices page 
at https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

Reimbursement Changes Affecting Other Types of Care 
(12VAC30-80) 

12VAC30-80-30 is being amended to: (1) add rates for 
private duty nursing, assistive technology, and personal 
assistance services under EPSDT; and (2) add text describing 
the rates currently in place for the following mental health 
services: intensive in-home, therapeutic day treatment, 
therapeutic day treatment-partial hospitalization, psychosocial 
rehabilitation, crisis intervention, intensive community 
treatment, crisis stabilization, and mental health skill-building 
services. 

There is no expected increase or decrease in aggregate annual 
expenditures. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 
Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 
Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 
786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Order for the DuPont Teijin Films 
U.S. Limited Partnership 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the DuPont 
Teijin Films, U.S. Limited Partnership, for violations at the 
DuPont Teijin Films, Hopewell site located at 3600 
Discovery Drive, Chesterfield, Virginia. The State Water 
Control Board proposes to issue a consent order to address 
noncompliance with State Water Control Law and regulations 
at the Hopewell site's wastewater treatment system. The 
consent order requires corrective action and payment of a 
civil charge. A description of the proposed action is available 
at the Department of Environmental Quality office named 
below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Frank Lupini will 
accept comments by email at frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov, 
FAX at (804) 698-4019, or postal mail at Department of 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA, 
23218, from July 10, 2017, to August 12, 2017. 

Proposed Consent Order for the Town of 
Lawrenceville 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Town of 
Lawrenceville for violations at the wastewater treatment plant 
located at 380 Meadow Lane in Lawrenceville, Virginia. The 
State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent order 
to address noncompliance with State Water Control Law and 
regulations at the wastewater treatment plant. The consent 
order requires corrective action and payment of a civil charge. 
A description of the proposed action is available at the 
Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 
online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Frank Lupini will accept 
comments by email at frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at 
(804) 698-4019, or postal mail at Department of 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 
23218, from July 10, 2017, to August 12, 2017. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Verizon Virginia, 
LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Verizon 
Virginia, LLC for violations of State Water Control Law that 
occurred in Richmond, Virginia. A description of the 
proposed action is available online at www.deq.virginia.gov. 
Lee Crowell will accept comments by email at 
lee.crowell@deq.virginia.gov or postal mail at Department of 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 
23219, from July 10, 2017, through August 9, 2017. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 
Water Control Board conducted a small business impact 
review of 9VAC25-11, Public Participation Guidelines, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The State Water Control Board is publishing its 
report of findings dated June 12, 2017, to support this 

mailto:samuel.metallo@dmas.virginia.gov
mailto:William.Lessard@dmas.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:lee.crowell@deq.virginia.gov
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decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of 
Virginia. 

The current regulation continues to be needed. The regulation 
explains how the public will be notified, explains how input 
will be sought, explains the use of advisory panels, and 
details the public participation process during regulatory 
actions. The regulations are explanatory in nature and do not 
place any additional regulatory burden on the regulated 
community including small businesses. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Office of 
Regulatory Affairs, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 
melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 
11th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-
1810; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 
repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 
regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 
the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 
available at 
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 
Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 
Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 
regulatory information. 

 

mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
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