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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair; Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. Hopkins; Leslie L. Lilley; 

E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; 

Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Mark J. Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

July 2017 through July 2018 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

33:24 July 5, 2017 July 24, 2017 

33:25 July 19, 2017 August 7, 2017 

33:26 August 2, 2017 August 21, 2017 

34:1 August 16, 2017 September 4, 2017 

34:2 August 30, 2017 September 18, 2017 

34:3 September 13, 2017 October 2, 2017 

34:4 September 27, 2017 October 16, 2017 

34:5 October 11, 2017 October 30, 2017 

34:6 October 25, 2017 November 13, 2017 

34:7 November 8, 2017 November 27, 2017 

34:8 November 21, 2017 (Tuesday) December 11, 2017 

34:9 December 6, 2017 December 25, 2017 

34:10 December 19, 2017 (Tuesday) January 8, 2018 

34:11 January 3, 2018 January 22, 2018 

34:12 January 17, 2018 February 5, 2018 

34:13 January 31, 2018 February 19, 2018 

34:14 February 14, 2018 March 5, 2018 

34:15 February 28, 2018 March 19, 2018 

34:16 March 14, 2018 April 2, 2018 

34:17 March 28, 2018 April 16, 2018 

34:18 April 11, 2018 April 30, 2018 

34:19 April 25, 2018 May 14, 2018 

34:20 May 9, 2018 May 28, 2018 

34:21 May 23, 2018 June 11, 2018 

34:22 June 6, 2018 June 25, 2018 

34:23 June 20, 2018 July 9, 2018 

34:24 July 3, 2018 (Tuesday) July 23, 2018 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Funeral Directors and 

Embalmers intends to consider amending 18VAC65-20, 

Regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors and 

Embalmers. The purpose of the proposed action is to amend 

18VAC65-20-151, which provides requirements for 

continued competency for renewal of an active license. The 

board intends to amend the section by offering one hour of 

continuing education credit every other year for attendance at 

a board meeting, an informal conference, or a formal hearing. 

In the year the one hour of credit is granted, the credit would 

meet the statutory requirement for "one hour per year 

covering compliance with federal or state laws and 

regulations governing the profession" as required by § 54.1-

2816.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2816.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 23, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4479, FAX (804) 527-4471, or email 

fanbd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5113; Filed July 1, 2017, 1:03 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-425. Vapor Pressure 

Requirements for Gasoline Ethanol Blends (adding 

2VAC5-425-10, 2VAC5-425-20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 59.1-153 and 59.1-156 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 24, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Joel Maddux, Program Manager, Office of 

Weights and Measures, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-1274, FAX (804) 786-1571, or email 

joel.maddux@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulatory action establishes a new chapter, 2VAC5-

525, to address the vapor pressure requirements for 

ethanol blended gasoline in Virginia. Specifically, it 

provides a 1.0 pounds per square inch exception to the 

maximum vapor pressure set by ASTM International as 

currently outlined the National Institute of Standards and 

Technology Handbook 130, Section 2.1.2., which is 

incorporated into Virginia's motor fuels and lubricating 

oils law. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

CHAPTER 425 

VAPOR PRESSURE REQUIREMENTS FOR GASOLINE 

ETHANOL BLENDS 

2VAC5-425-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"ASTM D4806-16a" means the Standard Specification for 

Denatured Fuel Ethanol for Blending with Gasolines for Use 

as Automotive Spark-Ignition Engine Fuel published by 

ASTM International in February 2016. 

"ASTM D4814-16a" means the Standard Specification for 

Automotive Spark-Ignition Engine Fuel published by ASTM 

International in February 2016.  

"psi" means pounds per square inch. 

"Volatility class A" means fuel with a vapor pressure and 

distillation designation of "A" set forth in Table 1 Vapor 

Pressure and Distillation Class Requirements of ASTM 

D4814-16a. 

"Volatility class B" means fuel with a vapor pressure and 

distillation designation of "B" set forth in Table 1 Vapor 

Pressure and Distillation Class Requirements of ASTM 

D4814-16a. 

"Volatility class C" means fuel with a vapor pressure and 

distillation designation of "C" set forth in Table 1 Vapor 

Pressure and Distillation Class Requirements of ASTM 

D4814-16a. 

"Volatility class D" means fuel with a vapor pressure and 

distillation designation of "D" set forth in Table 1 Vapor 

Pressure and Distillation Class Requirements of ASTM 

D4814-16a. 

"Volatility class E" means fuel with a vapor pressure and 

distillation designation of "E" set forth in Table 1 Vapor 

Pressure and Distillation Class Requirements of ASTM 

D4814-16a. 

2VAC5-425-20. Vapor pressure requirements; exceptions. 

When gasoline is blended with ethanol, the ethanol shall 

meet the requirements of ASTM D4806-16a and the blend 

shall meet the requirements of ASTM D4814-16a, with 

following permissible exceptions: 

1. For blends containing nine to 10 volume percent 

ethanol, the maximum vapor pressure shall not exceed the 

ASTM D4814-16a limits by more than 1.0 psi during the 

period of June 1 through September 15. 

2. For blends containing one or more volume percent 

ethanol for volatility class A, B, C, or D, the maximum 

vapor pressure shall not exceed ASTM D4814-16a limits 

by more than 1.0 psi during the period of September 16 

through May 31. 

3. For blends containing one or more volume percent 

ethanol for volatility class E, the maximum vapor pressure 

shall not exceed ASTM D4814-16a limits by more than 0.5 

psi during the period of September 16 through May 31.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(2VAC5-425) 

Standard Specification for Automotive Spark-Ignition 

Engine Fuel, ASTM D4814-16a, February 2016, ASTM 

International, P.O. Box C700, West Conshohocken, PA 

19428, www.astm.org 

Standard Specification for Denatured Fuel Ethanol for 

Blending with Gasolines for Use as Automotive Spark-

Ignition Engine Fuel, ASTM D4806-16a, February 2016, 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8950f004644~2&typ=40&actno=004644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8950f004644~2&typ=40&actno=004644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8950f004644~2&typ=40&actno=004644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8950f004644~2&typ=40&actno=004644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=56932004644~1&typ=40&actno=004644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=56932004644~1&typ=40&actno=004644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=56932004644~1&typ=40&actno=004644&mime=application/pdf
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ASTM International, P.O. Box C700, West Conshohocken, 

PA 19428, www.astm.org 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4644; Filed June 30, 2017, 3:20 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-670. Rules and Regulations for 

Enforcement of the Virginia Pesticide Law (amending 

2VAC5-670-10, 2VAC5-670-30, 2VAC5-670-40, 2VAC5-

670-50, 2VAC5-670-60, 2VAC5-670-70, 2VAC5-670-80, 

2VAC5-670-130, 2VAC5-670-140, 2VAC5-670-150, 

2VAC5-670-160, 2VAC5-670-180, 2VAC5-670-220).  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-3906 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 24, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Liza Fleeson Trossbach, Program Manager, 

Office of Pesticide Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 371-6559, FAX (804) 371-2283, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email liza.fleeson@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments update the regulation and align it with 

current agency practices and federal requirements by (i) 

changing the title and format to be consistent with other 

pesticide-related regulations; (ii) amending the language 

of the regulation to reflect the current agency policy 

regarding requirements for submission of pesticide labels; 

(iii) clarifying the registration requirements involving 

mixtures of pesticides and fertilizers, animal feed, animal 

remedies, or other pesticides; (iv) amending language to 

more closely align the regulation with the Virginia 

Pesticide Control Act; (v) removing duplicative 

registration requirements; (vi) amending and clarifying 

regulatory label requirements to more closely align with 

federal requirements; (vii) amending ingredient statement 

requirements for consistency throughout the regulation; 

and (viii) clarifying warning or caution statements to more 

closely align with federal requirements. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

CHAPTER 670 

RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR ENFORCEMENT 

GOVERNING PESTICIDE PRODUCT REGISTRATION, 

HANDLING, STORAGE, AND DISPOSAL UNDER 

AUTHORITY OF THE VIRGINIA PESTICIDE LAW 

CONTROL ACT 

2VAC5-670-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. Words used in singular form in this 

chapter include the plural, and vise versa, as appropriate.  

"Active ingredient" means an ingredient which that:  

1. Is independently capable of:  

a. Preventing, destroying, repelling, or mitigating insects, 

fungi, rodents, weeds, nematodes, or other pests; or  

b. Altering through physiological action the behavior of 

ornamental or crop plants or their produce; or  

c. Causing leaves or foliage to drop from a plant; or  

d. Artificially accelerating the drying of plant tissue.  

2. Is present in the product in an amount sufficient to be 

effective; and  

3. Is not antagonistic to the activity of the principal active 

ingredients. The commissioner may require an ingredient 

to be designated as an active ingredient if, in his opinion, it 

sufficiently increases the effectiveness of the pesticide to 

warrant such action.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.  

"Custom mixture" means a pesticide containing product that 

has been blended or mixed to a customer's specifications, 

usually a pesticide-fertilizer, pesticide-pesticide, pesticide-

animal feed, or pesticide-animal remedy mixture, when: 

1. The blend is prepared to the order of the customer and is 

not held in inventory by the blender; 

2. The blend is to be used on the customer's property, 

including leased or rented property; 

3. The pesticides used in the blend bear end-use labeling 

directions that do not prohibit use of the product in such a 

blend; 

4. The blend is prepared from registered pesticides; and 

5. The blend is delivered to the end-user along with a copy 

of the end-use labeling of each pesticide used in the blend 

and a statement specifying the composition of the mixture.  

"Department" means the Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services. 

"Distributor" means a person or business, also referred to as 

a supplemental distributor or sub-registrant, that contracts 

with a basic federal registrant to produce a product that will 

be distributed and sold with labels bearing the distributor's 

own name and address instead of the name and address of the 

basic federal registrant.  

"EPA" means the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or 

any program thereof. 

"FIFRA" means the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and 

Rodenticide Act (7 USC § 136 et seq.).  

[ "Herbicide" means any substance or mixture of substances 

intended for preventing, destroying, repelling, or mitigating 

any weed, including any algae or other aquatic weed. ] 

"Law" means Chapter 39 (§ 3.2-3900 et seq.) of Title 3.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, known as the Virginia Pesticide Control 

Act.  

"Minimum risk pesticide" means pesticides that are 

described in 40 CFR 152.25(f), which addresses the 

exemptions for pesticides of a character not requiring FIFRA 

regulation, revised as of July 1, 2015. Minimum risk 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=56932004644~1&typ=40&actno=004644&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=56932004644~1&typ=40&actno=004644&mime=application/pdf
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pesticides are exempted from federal registration 

requirements under 7 USC § 136 w(b). 

"Producer" means a person who manufactures, prepares, 

compounds, propagates, or processes any pesticide, device, or 

active ingredient used in producing a pesticide. The dilution 

by an individual of formulated pesticides for his own use in 

accordance with the directions on registered labels shall not 

alone result in the department considering the individual a 

producer for the purposes of this chapter. 

"Rodent" means any animal of the order Rodentia including, 

but not limited to, rats, mice, rabbits, gophers, prairie dogs, 

and squirrels.  

"Temporary storage" means the storage of a pesticide in a 

container other than the original container in which it was 

purchased. 

2VAC5-670-30. Label.  

A. The name and address of the manufacturer producer, 

registrant, or person for whom the product was produced shall 

appear on the label. If the registrant's name appears on the 

label and the registrant is not the manufacturer, or if the name 

of the person for whom the pesticide was manufactured 

appears on the label, it must be qualified by appropriate 

wording such as "Packed for . . .," "Distributed by.. .," or 

"Sold by...," to show that the name is not that of the 

manufacturer.  

B. The name, brand, or trademark of the pesticide appearing 

on the label shall be that under which the pesticide is 

registered.  

C. The net content declaration shall comply with the 

Weights and Measures Act of Virginia, Chapter 56 (§ 3.2-

5600 et seq.) of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia and its 

regulations.  

D. Directions for use are required for the protection of the 

public. The public includes not only users of pesticides, but 

also those who handle them or may be affected by their use, 

handling, or storage. Pesticides restricted by this chapter shall 

be registered only for their permitted uses, and the label shall 

have a prominent statement to the effect that the product is to 

be used only as directed. Directions for use are considered 

necessary in the case of most retail containers, with the 

following exceptions. and must include: 

1. The statement of use classification. 

2. The statement, "It is a violation of federal law to use this 

product in a manner inconsistent with its labeling." if the 

product requires federal registration. 

3. The site of application, for example the crops, animals, 

areas, or objects to be treated. 

4. The target pest associated with each site. 

5. The dosage rate associated with each site and pest. 

6. The method of application, including instructions for 

dilution, if required, and type of application apparatus or 

equipment required. 

7. The frequency and timing of applications necessary to 

obtain effective results without causing unreasonable 

adverse effects on the environment. 

8. Specific directions concerning the storage, residue 

removal, and disposal of the pesticide and its container. 

9. Any limitations or restrictions on use required to prevent 

unreasonable adverse effects. 

E. Directions may be omitted:  

1. If the pesticide is to be used by manufacturers in their 

regular manufacturing processes, provided that the label 

clearly shows that the product is intended for use only in 

manufacturing processes, and bears an ingredient statement 

giving the name and percentage of each of the active 

ingredients.  

2. If (i) the pesticide is sold to distributors a producer for 

dilution or mixing with carriers to prepare pesticides for 

sale to the public, provided that the label bears an 

ingredient statement giving the name and percentage of 

each of the active ingredients; and (ii) the pesticide is a 

well-known substance or mixture of substances; and (iii) 

there is readily available general knowledge of the 

composition, methods of use, and effectiveness of the 

product for pesticide purposes.  

2VAC5-670-40. Ingredient statement.  

A. Location of ingredient statement. The ingredient 

statement shall appear on the front of the label or that part of 

the label displayed under customary conditions of purchase;, 

except in cases where the commissioner determines that, due 

to the size or form of the container, a statement on that 

portion of the label is impractical, and permits the statement 

to appear on another side or panel of the label. When so 

permitted, the ingredient statement shall be in larger type font 

and be more prominent than would otherwise be required. 

The ingredient statement shall run parallel with other printed 

matter on the panel of the label on which it appears, and shall 

be on a clear contrasting background.  

B. Names of ingredients. The well-known common name of 

the ingredient shall be given or, if the ingredient has no 

common name, the correct chemical name. If there is no 

common name and the chemical composition is unknown or 

complex, the commissioner may permit the use of a new or 

coined name which he finds to be appropriate for the 

information and protection of the user. If the use of a new or 

coined name is permitted, the commissioner may prescribe 

the terms under which it may be used. A trademark or trade 

name may not be used as the name of an ingredient, except 

when it has become a common name.  

C. Percentages of ingredients. Percentages of ingredients 

shall be determined by weight, and the sum of the percentages 

of the ingredients shall be 100. Sliding scale forms of 

ingredient statements shall not be used. Plant incorporated 

protectant products bearing an ingredient statement approved 

by the EPA are permitted to have ingredient statements where 
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the sum of the percentages of the ingredients do not equal 

100. 

D. Designation of ingredients. Active ingredients and inert 

ingredients shall be so designated, and the term "inert 

ingredient" shall appear in the same size type font and be as 

prominent as the term "active ingredient."  

2VAC5-670-50. Pesticides highly toxic to humans.  

A. Pesticides which that fall within any of the following 

categories when tested on laboratory animals as specified in 

subdivisions subdivision 1, 2, or 3 of this subsection are 

highly toxic to humans or contain substances or quantities of 

substances highly toxic to humans within the meaning of the 

law. Such pesticides shall be referred to as pesticides highly 

toxic to humans. Upon application and after an opportunity 

for a hearing, the commissioner may exempt any pesticide 

from these requirements which that is not highly toxic to 

humans:  

1. Oral toxicity. A pesticide which that has single dose 

LD50 of 50 milligrams or less per kilogram of body 

weight, when administered orally to both male and female 

rats which that have been fasted for a period of 24 hours 

(or to other rodent or nonrodent species specified by the 

commissioner); or  

2. Toxicity on inhalation. A pesticide which that has an 

LC50 of 2,000 micrograms or less of dust or mist per liter 

of air or 200 parts per million or less by volume of a gas or 

vapor, when administered by continuous inhalation for one 

hour to both male and female rodent or nonrodent species 

specified by the commissioner, if he finds that it is 

reasonably foreseeable that such concentration will be 

encountered by humans; or  

3. Toxicity by skin absorption. A pesticide which that has 

an LD50 of 200 milligrams or less per kilogram of body 

weight, when administered by continuous contact for 24 

hours with the bare skin of rabbits (or other rodent or 

nonrodent species specified by the commissioner).  

B. Test on other species. Tests on other specified rodent or 

nonrodent species may be required by the commissioner 

whenever he finds that tests on other species are necessary to 

determine whether a pesticide is highly toxic to humans.  

C. Terms LD50 and LC50. An LD50, as used in connection 

with oral toxicity and skin absorption toxicity tests, is the 

dose, that is expected to cause death within 14 days in 50% of 

the test animals so treated, and LC50, as used in connection 

with inhalation tests, is also the concentration, which that is 

expected to cause death within 14 days in 50% of the test 

animals so treated.  

D. Toxicity based on human experience. If the 

commissioner finds, after an opportunity for hearing, that 

available data on human experience with any pesticide 

indicates a greater toxicity than found in the tests on animals, 

the human data shall take precedence;, and if he finds that the 

protection of the public so requires, the commissioner shall 

declare such a pesticide to be highly toxic to humans for the 

purposes of this law and its regulations.  

2VAC5-670-60. Warning or caution statement 

precautionary statements.  

A. Warning or caution precautionary statements which that 

are necessary and, adequate to prevent injury to humans, 

useful vertebrate, and invertebrate animals, and useful 

vegetation, must appear on the label in a place sufficiently 

prominent to warn the user. They shall state clearly and in 

nontechnical language the particular hazard involved in the 

use of the pesticide (e.g., ingestion, skin absorption, 

inhalation, flammability, or explosion), and the precautions to 

be taken to avoid accident, injury, or damage.  

B. The label of every pesticide shall bear warnings or 

cautions which precautionary statements that are necessary 

for the protection of the public, including the statement, 

"Keep out of reach of children," and a signal word such as 

"DANGER," "WARNING," or "CAUTION," which the 

commissioner may prescribe, on the front panel or that part of 

the label displayed under customary conditions of purchase. 

However, the commissioner may permit reasonable variations 

in the placement of that part of the required warnings and 

cautions precautionary statements other than the statement 

"Keep out of reach of children" and the required signal word, 

if in his opinion such variations would not be injurious to the 

public. If a pesticide is marketed in channels of trade where 

the likelihood of contact with children is extremely remote, or 

if the nature of the product is such that it is likely to be used 

on infants or small children without causing injury under any 

reasonably foreseeable conditions, the commissioner may 

waive the requirements of the statement "Keep out of reach of 

children." The commissioner may permit a statement such as 

"Keep away from infants and small children" instead of the 

statement "Keep out of reach of children," if he determines 

that such a variation would not be injurious to the public.  

C. The label of every pesticide which is highly toxic to 

humans shall bear the words "DANGER" and "POISON" in 

red on a contrasting background next to the skull and 

crossbones, and an antidote statement including directions to 

call a physician immediately, on the front panel or that part of 

the label displayed under customary conditions of purchase. 

However, the commissioner may permit reasonable variations 

in the placement of the antidote statement if some reference 

such as "See antidote statement on back panel" appears on the 

front panel near the word "POISON" and the skull and 

crossbones.  

D. Warning or caution statements which comply with the 

requirements of the regulations for the enforcement of the 

Federal Insecticide, Fungicide and Rodenticide Act shall be 

considered in compliance with the requirements of this 

chapter.  
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2VAC5-670-70. Registration. 

A. Eligibility. Any manufacturer, packer, seller, distributor, 

or shipper of a pesticide is eligible as a registrant and may 

register the pesticide. 

B. Pesticides requiring registration. All products that require 

registration under FIFRA, as well as "minimum risk 

pesticides," are required to be registered annually with the 

department. All products requiring federal registration must 

have and maintain a valid federal registration to be registered 

in the Commonwealth. 

B. C. Procedure for registration. Application for registration 

should be made on the a form provided by the department. 

Application forms will be furnished upon request to the 

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 

Office of Pesticide Services, Post Office Box 1163, 

Richmond, Virginia 23218. Application A completed 

application form should be submitted as far in advance as 

possible, before the time registration is desired to take effect 

and must be accompanied by: 

1. The final container label and all associated labeling; 

2. The material safety data sheet or safety data sheet; and 

3. The fees required under 2VAC5-675-20. 

C. D. Effective date of registration. Registration of a 

pesticide shall become effective on the date the certificate of 

registration is issued. 

D. E. Responsibility of a registrant. The registrant is 

responsible for the accuracy and completeness of all 

information submitted in connection with his application for 

registration of a pesticide. 

E. F. Changes in labeling or formula. 

1. Changes in the labeling, or formula of a registered 

pesticide, shall be submitted in advance to the Office of 

Pesticide Services. The registrant shall describe the exact 

changes desired and the proposed effective date; and upon 

request, shall submit a description of tests which justify 

such changes. 

2. After the effective date of a change in labeling or 

formula, the product shall be marketed only under the new 

label or formula, except that a reasonable time may be 

permitted by the commissioner to dispose of properly 

labeled stocks of old products. 

F. G. Claims shall conform to registration. Claims made for 

a pesticide shall not differ in substance from representations 

made in connection with registration, including 

representations with respect to effectiveness, ingredients, 

directions for use, or pests against which the product is 

recommended. 

2VAC5-670-80. Coloration and discoloration.  

A. Unless exempted by 2VAC5-670-130 of this chapter, the 

white pesticides hereinafter named listed in subsections C and 

D of this section shall be colored or discolored in compliance 

with this section. The hues, values, and chromas specified are 

those contained in the Munsell Book of Color, Munsell Color 

Company, Baltimore, Maryland.  

B. Coloring agent. The coloring agent shall produce a 

uniformly colored product not subject to change in color 

beyond the minimum requirements specified in this chapter 

during ordinary conditions of marketing or storage. They 

must not cause the product to become ineffective, or cause 

damage when used as directed.  

C. Arsenicals and barium fluosilicate. Standard lead 

arsenate, basic lead arsenate, calcium arsenate, magnesium 

arsenate, zinc arsenate, zinc arsenite, and barium fluosilicate 

shall be colored any hue except the yellow-reds and yellows, 

having a value of not more than eight and a chroma of not 

less than four, or shall be discolored to a neutral lightness 

value not over seven.  

D. Sodium fluoride and sodium fluosilicate. Sodium fluoride 

and sodium fluosilicate shall be colored blue or green having 

a value of not more than eight and a chroma of not less than 

four, or shall be discolored to a neutral lightness value not 

over seven.  

E. Exceptions. The commissioner, after the opportunity for a 

hearing, may permit other hues to be used for any particular 

purpose, if the prescribed hues are not feasible for the 

purpose, and if this action will not be injurious to the public.  

2VAC5-670-130. Exemption. 

A. Any pesticide specified in 2VAC5-670-80 of this chapter 

which that is intended solely for use by a textile manufacturer 

or commercial laundry, cleaner, or dyer as a mothproofing 

agent, or used in the manufacture or processing or of rubber, 

glue, or leather goods, which that would not be suitable for 

such use if colored and which that will not come into the 

hands of the public except when incorporated into a fabric 

and will not be present in these finished goods in sufficient 

quantities to cause injury to any person, shall be exempt from 

the requirements of 2VAC5-670-80. 

B. The following products are exempt from the requirements 

of this chapter:  

1. Substances described in 40 CFR 152.6, revised as of 

July 1, 2015, that are excluded from regulation by FIFRA. 

2. Products described in 40 CFR 152.8, revised as of July 

1, 2015, that are not pesticides because they are not for use 

against "pests." 

3. Products described in 40 CFR 152.10, revised as of July 

1, 2015, that are not pesticides because they are not 

intended for a pesticidal purpose. 

4. Pesticides or classes of pesticides described in 40 CFR 

152.20, revised as of July 1, 2015, that are regulated by a 

federal agency other than the EPA.  

5. Treated articles or substances as described in 40 CFR 

152.25(a), revised as of July 1, 2015. An article or 

substance treated with or containing a pesticide to protect 
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the article or substance itself if the pesticide is registered 

with the EPA for such use. 

6. Pheromones and pheromone traps as described in 

40 CFR 152.25(b), revised as of July 1, 2015. 

7. Preservatives and embalming fluids as described in 

40 CFR 152.25(c), revised as of July 1, 2015. 

8. Foods as described in 40 CFR 152.25(d), revised as of 

July 1, 2015. 

9. Natural cedar as described in 40 CFR 152.25(e), revised 

as of July 1, 2015. 

2VAC5-670-140. Declaration of pests.  

In addition to those pests defined in Article 1 of the law, the 

commissioner hereby declares as pests the following forms of 

plant and animal life and viruses:  

1. Mammals, including but not limited to dogs, cats, moles, 

bats, wild carnivores, armadillos, and deer;  

2. Birds, including but not limited to starlings, English 

sparrows, crows, and blackbirds;  

3. Fishes, including but not limited to the jawless fishes 

such as the sea lamprey, the cartilaginous fishes such as the 

sharks, and the bony fishes such as the carp;  

4. Amphibians and reptiles, including but not limited to 

poisonous snakes;  

5. Aquatic and terrestrial invertebrates, including but not 

limited to slugs, snails, and crayfish;  

6. Roots and other plant parts growing where not wanted; 

and  

7. Viruses, other than those on or in humans or animals.  

2VAC5-670-150. Handling and storage.  

No person shall handle, transport, store, display, or 

distribute pesticides in a manner which that may endanger 

humans and the environment, or food, feed, or any other 

products that may be transported, stored, displayed, or 

distributed with the pesticides.  

2VAC5-670-160. Disposal.  

No person shall dispose of, discard, or store any pesticides 

or pesticide containers in a manner which that may cause 

injury to humans, vegetation, crops, livestock, wildlife, or 

pollinating insects, or pollute any water supply or waterway. 

Pesticides or pesticide containers must be disposed of in 

accordance with all local, state, and federal solid waste and 

hazardous waste laws and regulations. 

2VAC5-670-180. Cancellation authority.  

All pesticides which that have been cancelled canceled or 

suspended by the United States Government are subject to 

cancellation in Virginia. No registration shall be revoked or 

refused until the registrant has been given an opportunity for 

a hearing by the commissioner. Any appeal of cancellation at 

the federal level shall not affect cancellation proceedings with 

this Commonwealth.  

2VAC5-670-220. Mixtures.  

A. General sale.  

Regardless of type container mixtures of pesticides with 

fertilizers or with other pesticides, when offered for 

general sale to the public shall be registered prior to sale, 

distribution, or use. In addition, any pesticide/fertilizer 

mixture shall be registered or labeled as required by the 

Virginia Fertilizer Law. 1. All pesticide-fertilizer, 

pesticide-pesticide, pesticide-animal feed, and pesticide-

animal remedy mixtures shall be registered under the 

requirements of the Virginia Pesticide Control Act (§ 3.2-

3900 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and this chapter prior 

to sale or distribution to or use by the public. All bulk 

containers shall bear the registered pesticide product label 

and a copy of the label shall accompany each shipment or 

delivery.  

2. Any pesticide-fertilizer mixture shall be registered as 

required by the Virginia Fertilizer Law (§ 3.2-3600 et seq. 

of the Code of Virginia). Labeling must meet the 

requirements of the Virginia Pesticide Control Act, this 

chapter, and the Virginia Fertilizer Law.  

3. Any pesticide-animal feed or pesticide-animal remedy 

mixtures shall be registered as required by the Virginia 

Commercial Feed Law (§ 3.2-4800 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) and the Animal Remedies Law (§ 3.2-4900 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). Labeling must meet the 

requirements of the Virginia Pesticide Control Act, this 

chapter, the Virginia Commercial Feed Law, and the 

Animal Remedies Law. 

B. Custom mixtures. Pesticides may be mixed with 

fertilizers or with, other pesticides, or animal feed without 

label registration when the pesticide product is duly 

registered, and when such mixtures are not prohibited by the 

registered pesticide label.  

C. When these mixtures are intended for the production of 

agricultural commodities, the person making the mixtures 

shall provide the following written or printed information to 

the applicator or customer:  

1. Brand name(s) name and EPA registration no.(s) number 

of pesticide product(s); product;  

2. Percentage(s) Percentage by weight of active 

ingredient(s) ingredients; 

3. Directions for application, use, harvest limitations, and 

cropping restrictions; and  

4. Precautionary and warning statements sufficient to 

ensure proper, and safe use, and disposal of the mixture.  

D. The registered pesticide product label(s) label will 

suffice. All such labeling shall be subject to approval by the 

commissioner.  

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
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Register of Regulations may click on the name of the form 

with a hyperlink to access it. The form is also available from 

the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (2VAC5-670) 

Application for New Pesticide Product Registration Form, 

VDACS 07208 (rev. 7/12). 

Application for New Pesticide Product Registration, 

VDACS 07208 (rev. 9/2014) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4505; Filed June 30, 2017, 3:03 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-680. Regulations Governing 

Licensing of Pesticide Businesses Operating under 

Authority of the Virginia Pesticide Control Act (amending 

2VAC5-680-10, 2VAC5-680-20, 2VAC5-680-60, 2VAC5-

680-65, 2VAC5-680-70, 2VAC5-680-80).  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-3906 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 24, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Liza Fleeson Trossbach, Program Manager, 

Office of Pesticide Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 371-6559, FAX (804) 371-2283, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email liza.fleeson@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments align the regulation with current agency 

practices and federal requirements by (i) adding a 

definition of the term "distribute" or "distribution" and 

amending the definition of the term "pesticide business 

location" to address current industry practices; (ii) adding 

a definition of the term "limited household use" in order to 

clarify the requirements for merchants who are exempt 

from pesticide business licenses under the Virginia 

Pesticide Control Act; (iii) adding a definition of the term 

"multiple violations"; (iv) clarifying the current 

requirements for the application for a pesticide business 

license; (v) clarifying the current requirement regarding 

evidence of financial responsibility; and (vi) amending the 

recordkeeping requirements to be consistent with other 

pesticide labeling requirements in 2VAC5-670, Rules and 

Regulations for Enforcement of the Virginia Pesticide Law, 

and this chapter. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Part I  

Definitions  

2VAC5-680-10. Definition of terms Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. An asterisk following a definition 

denotes that the definition has been taken from § 3.2-100 or 

Article 1 (§ 3.2-3900 et seq.) of Chapter 39 of Title 3.2 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

"Board" means the Board of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services.* 

"Bulk pesticide" means any registered pesticide concentrate 

which that is transported or held in an individual container in 

undivided quantities of greater than 55 U.S. gallons liquid 

measure or greater than 100 pounds net dry weight. 

"Certification" or "certified" means the recognition granted 

by the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services to an 

applicator upon satisfactory completion of board approved 

requirements.* 

"Commercial applicator" means any person who has 

completed the requirements for certification as determined by 

the board to use or supervise the use of any pesticide for any 

purpose or on any property other than as provided in the 

definition of private applicator.* 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services.* 

"Department" means the Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services.* 

"Distribute" or "distribution" means the act of distributing, 

selling, offering for sale, holding for sale, shipping, holding 

for shipment, delivering for shipment or receiving and, 

having so received, delivering or offering to deliver, or 

releasing for shipment to any person in any state. The term 

includes the sale of pesticides to wholesalers, retailers, and 

other merchants or to industrial, institutional, and commercial 

businesses for use by the employees of the business. 

"EPA" means the United States U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency. 

"FIFRA" means the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and 

Rodenticide Act as amended, and herein incorporated by 

reference in this chapter. 

"Licensed" or "licensee" means those businesses which, 

upon meeting the requirements established by the Board of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, are issued a license to 

engage in the sale, storage, distribution, recommend the 

recommendation for use, or application of pesticides in 

Virginia in exchange for compensation.* 

"Limited household use" means the use of any general use 

pesticide product in or on a person's own dwelling and 

associated grounds such as lawn, garden, pool, or 

outbuildings. The term also means the use of a general use 

pesticide applied to animals owned as pets or raised for 

personal use and the use of personal use products such as 

mosquito repellents.  

"Limited quantities" means purchases, at cost, for resale, of 

less than $50,000 annually per outlet of products containing 

nonrestricted use pesticide active ingredients. 

"Multiple violations" means more than one violation of the 

Act or regulations pursuant to the Act. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d6d83004505~1&typ=40&actno=004505&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d6d83004505~1&typ=40&actno=004505&mime=application/pdf
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"Pest management consultant" means any person, who may 

or may not apply pesticides himself, who has obtained a 

business license in accordance with the requirements listed 

below in this chapter, and who is authorized by this chapter to 

provide technical advice, supervision or aid, or 

recommendations for pesticide application commercially in 

Virginia. 

"Pesticide" means (i) any substance or mixture of substances 

intended for preventing, destroying, repelling, or mitigating 

any insects, rodents, fungi, bacteria, weeds, or other forms of 

plant or animal life or viruses or bacteria, except viruses on or 

in living man or other animals, which the commissioner shall 

declare to be a pest, (ii) any substance or mixture of 

substances intended for use as a plant regulator, defoliant, or 

desiccant, and (iii) any substance which is intended to 

become an active ingredient in any substance defined in 

clauses (i) and (ii) of this definition.* 

"Pesticide business" means any person engaged in the 

business of distributing, applying, or recommending the use 

of a product; or storing, selling, or offering for sale pesticides 

for distribution directly to the user. The term "pesticide 

business" does not include (i) wood treaters not for hire; (ii) 

seed treaters not for hire; (iii) operations that produce 

agricultural products unless the owners or operators of such 

operations described in clauses (i), (ii), and (iii) of this 

definition are engaged in the business of selling or offering 

for sale pesticides, or distributing pesticides to persons 

outside of that agricultural producing operation in connection 

with commercial transactions; or (iv) businesses exempted by 

regulations adopted by the board.* 

"Pesticide business location" means any fixed physical 

location of a pesticide business with either a telephone that is 

used to transact business or give advice, financial 

transactions, arrangement of services, or assignment of work 

or where products, supplies, or business mail is delivered. 

Residences of service technicians who are employed by a 

licensed pesticide business are exempt, if no business 

solicitation is conducted from that location. The term 

excludes buildings or locations, including employees' 

residences, used solely for storage of service vehicles, 

equipment, or supplies or telephone answering services. 

"Private applicator" means an applicator who uses or 

supervises the use of any pesticide which is classified for 

restricted use for purposes of producing any agricultural 

commodity on property owned or rented by him or his 

employer or, if applied without compensation other than 

trading of personal services between producers of agricultural 

commodities, on the property of another person.* 

"Restricted use pesticide" or "pesticide classified for 

restricted use" means any pesticide classified as restricted by 

the Administrator of the United States U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency.* 

"Sale" or "sell" means the transfer of goods to or to render 

services to another in exchange for compensation of any kind. 

"Virginia Pesticide Control Act" or "Act" means Chapter 39 

(§ 3.2-3900 et seq.) of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Part II  

Procedures for Obtaining a Business License  

2VAC5-680-20. General requirements for all pesticide 

businesses; exemptions.  

A. Any person or business operating in Virginia, which that, 

in exchange for compensation, sells, stores, distributes, 

mixes, applies, or recommends for use pesticides, in Virginia 

shall obtain a valid pesticide business license pursuant to this 

chapter. Each pesticide business location shall be licensed.  

B. Exempted from the provisions of this chapter are the 

following:  

1. Merchants of limited quantities of nonrestricted use 

pesticides who sell pesticides primarily intended for 

limited household use;  

2. Federal, state and local governmental agencies;  

3. Certified applicators not for hire; including those who 

use or supervise the use of pesticides as part of their job 

duties only on property owned or leased by themselves or 

their employer; and  

4. Providers of janitorial, cleaning or sanitizing services if 

the providers use no pesticides other than sanitizers, 

disinfectants and germicides.  

C. Application for a pesticide business license is made by 

submitting to the department (i) a completed application form 

and, (ii) a check or money order in the amount of the annual 

business license fee established by the board, and (iii) 

evidence of financial responsibility, as required in 2VAC5-

680-80.  

D. Each applicant for a pesticide business license, or an 

employee designated by the applicant, shall demonstrate to 

the commissioner his knowledge of (i) pesticide laws and 

regulations; (ii) potential hazards of pesticides to man and the 

environment; and (iii) safe distribution, use, and disposal of 

pesticides by passing a written examination prior to his being 

issued a business license. If the applicant is already certified 

as a commercial applicator, he shall be exempt from the 

initial examination requirement.  

E. All licensed pesticide businesses shall maintain written 

records pertaining to their operations, as required in this 

chapter.  

F. All licensed pesticide business locations or outlets which 

sell restricted use pesticides, or distribute restricted use 

pesticides for purposes of selling, shall have a certified 

commercial applicator present who shall bear immediate 

responsibility for the correct and safe operation of the 

location or outlet. Each business shall notify the department 

of the name of the commercial applicator assigned to each 

location or outlet, and shall also notify the department within 

three business days of any change in the applicator 

assignments during the license period.  
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G. All licensed pesticide businesses that store, repack and 

distribute bulk pesticides shall meet the requirements 

established by the board for the storage, repackaging and 

distribution of bulk pesticides.  

H. All pesticide business licenses shall expire at midnight on 

March 3l of each year. Licensees shall renew their licenses 

annually by application to the department and payment of the 

annual fee on or before close of business March 31. The 

department shall charge a 20% penalty in addition to the 

regular fee for renewal applications filed after March 31.  

2VAC5-680-60. Recordkeeping of restricted use pesticide 

sales by pesticide businesses.  

A. Pesticide businesses that sell restricted use pesticides 

shall maintain a record of each restricted use pesticide sold. 

Each sales record shall contain the following:  

1. Name, address, certified applicator number or business 

license number, and certificate or license expiration date of 

the person to whom the restricted use pesticide was sold or 

delivered;  

2. Date of sale;  

3. Brand, trademark, or common product name appearing 

on the product's label;  

4. EPA registration number; and  

5. Quantity of pesticide sold or delivered.  

B. The restricted use pesticide sales recordkeeping 

requirement may be satisfied by invoices, if (i) such invoices 

are kept separate from the licensee's other sales records, and 

(ii) the invoices contain the above information required by 

subsection A of this section.  

2VAC5-680-65. Recordkeeping of pesticide applications 

by licensed pesticide businesses.  

Licensed pesticide businesses shall maintain a record of 

each pesticide applied. This shall apply to both general use 

and restricted use pesticides. Each record shall contain the:  

1. Name, address, and telephone number of customer and 

address or location, if different, of site of application;  

2. Name and certification number (or certification number 

of the supervising certified applicator) of the person 

making the application;  

3. Day, month and year of application;  

4. Type of plants, crop, animals, or sites treated and 

principal pests to be controlled;  

5. Acreage, area, or number of plants or animals treated;  

6. Brand name, trademark, or common product name 

appearing on the product's label;  

7. EPA registration number;  

8. Amount of pesticide concentrate and amount of diluent 

used, by weight or volume, in mixture applied; and  

9. Type of application equipment used.  

2VAC5-680-70. Recordkeeping of pesticide applications 

by pesticide businesses.  

Pesticide businesses shall maintain a record of each 

pesticide applied. This shall apply to both general use and 

restricted use pesticides. Each record shall contain the:  

1. Name, address, and telephone number of customer and 

address or location, if different, of site of application;  

2. Name and certification number (or certification number 

of the supervising certified applicator) of the person 

making the application;  

3. Day, month and year of application;  

4. Type of plants, crop, animals, or sites treated and 

principal pests to be controlled;  

5. Acreage, area, or number of plants or animals treated;  

6. Brand name, trademark, or common product name 

appearing on the product's label;  

7. EPA registration number;  

8. Amount of pesticide concentrate and amount of diluent 

used, by weight or volume, in mixture applied; and  

9. Type of application equipment used.  

Part IV 

Evidence of Financial Responsibility 

2VAC5-680-80. Evidence of financial responsibility 

required of a licensed pesticide business.  

A. Prior to being issued a pesticide business license, a 

business shall furnish evidence of financial responsibility, 

consisting of a liability insurance policy from a person 

authorized to do business in Virginia, or a certification 

thereof, protecting persons who may suffer legal damages as 

a result of the use of any pesticide by the applicant.  

B. The liability insurance policy shall meet the following 

conditions:  

1. The certificate of insurance shall include the name of the 

insurance company, policy number, insurance amount, 

type of coverage afforded, any exclusions relating to 

damage arising from the use of pesticides, and expiration 

date of the policy. The policy shall cover liability arising 

out of the handling, storage, application, use or misuse, or 

disposal of any pesticide; it shall also cover liability 

relating to completed operations.  

2. The policy shall be in an amount specified in subsection 

C of this section.  

3. The licensee shall forward a current certificate of 

insurance to the board at each insurance renewal date.  

C. The amount of financial responsibility as provided for in 

this section shall be a minimum of $100,000 for property 

damage, and $100,000 for personal injury or death of one 

person; and $300,000 per occurrence. The licensee shall 

maintain at least the minimum coverage at all times during 

the license period, and shall notify the board at least 10 days 

prior to any reduction at the request of the licensee or 
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cancellation of such financial responsibility by the insurer. If 

the deductible of an applicant for a business license is greater 

than $1,000, evidence of financial responsibility shall be 

furnished to the board to satisfy the difference between the 

applicant's deductible and the $1,000 deductible. This 

evidence may consist of a financial statement.  

D. The licensee shall maintain at least the minimum 

coverage at all times during the license period and shall notify 

the board at least 10 days prior to any reduction at the request 

of the licensee or cancellation of such financial responsibility 

by the insurer. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4506; Filed June 30, 2017, 3:08 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General (amending 4VAC15-20-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove reference to red fox from the 

list of animals defined as domestic animals, (ii) clarify the 

definition of a European rabbit to differentiate between 

domestic rabbit breeds and wild European rabbits, and 

(iii) allow individuals who already own red foxes and 

European rabbits as pets to keep them in captivity until the 

animal dies, provided the individual declares such 

possession to the department prior to January 1, 2018. 

4VAC15-20-50. Definitions; "wild animal," "native 

animal," "naturalized animal," "nonnative (exotic) 

animal," and "domestic animal."  

A. In accordance with § 29.1-100 of the Code of Virginia, 

the following terms shall have the meanings ascribed to them 

by this section when used in regulations of the board:  

"Native animal" means those species and subspecies of 

animals naturally occurring in Virginia, as included in the 

department's 2014 "List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of 

Virginia," with copies available in the Richmond and regional 

offices of the department.  

"Naturalized animal" means those species and subspecies of 

animals not originally native to Virginia that have established 

wild, self-sustaining populations, as included in the 

department's 2014 "List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of 

Virginia," with copies available in the Richmond and regional 

offices of the department.  

"Nonnative (exotic) animal" means those species and 

subspecies of animals not naturally occurring in Virginia, 

excluding domestic and naturalized species.  

The following animals are defined as domestic animals:  

Domestic dog (Canis familiaris), including wolf hybrids.  

Domestic cat (Felis catus), including hybrids with wild 

felines.  

Domestic horse (Equus caballus), including hybrids with 

Equus asinus.  

Domestic ass, burro, and donkey (Equus asinus).  

Domestic cattle (Bos taurus and Bos indicus).  

Domestic sheep (Ovis aries) including hybrids with wild 

sheep.  

Domestic goat (Capra hircus).  

Domestic swine (Sus scrofa), including pot-bellied pig 

excluding any swine that are wild or for which no claim of 

ownership can be made.  

Llama (Lama glama).  

Alpaca (Lama pacos).  

Camels (Camelus bactrianus and Camelus dromedarius).  

Domesticated races of hamsters (Mesocricetus spp.).  

Domesticated races of mink (Mustela vison) where adults 

are heavier than 1.15 kilograms or their coat color can be 

distinguished from wild mink.  

Domesticated races of red fox (Vulpes vulpes) where their 

coat color can be distinguished from wild red fox.  

Domesticated races of guinea pigs (Cavia porcellus).  

Domesticated races of gerbils (Meriones unguiculatus).  

Domesticated races of chinchillas (Chinchilla laniger).  

Domesticated races of rats (Rattus norvegicus and Rattus 

rattus).  

Domesticated races of mice (Mus musculus).  

Domesticated races breeds of European rabbit 

(Oryctolagus cuniculus) recognized by the American 

Rabbit Breeders Association, Inc. and any lineage resulting 

from crossbreeding recognized breeds. A list of recognized 

rabbit breeds is available on the department's website.  

Domesticated races of chickens (Gallus).  

Domesticated races of turkeys (Meleagris gallopavo).  
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Domesticated races of ducks and geese distinguishable 

morphologically from wild birds.  

Feral pigeons (Columba domestica and Columba livia) and 

domesticated races of pigeons.  

Domesticated races of guinea fowl (Numida meleagris).  

Domesticated races of peafowl (Pavo cristatus). 

"Wild animal" means any member of the animal kingdom, 

except domestic animals, including without limitation any 

native, naturalized, or nonnative (exotic) mammal, fish, bird, 

amphibian, reptile, mollusk, crustacean, arthropod or other 

invertebrate, and includes any hybrid of them, except as 

otherwise specified in regulations of the board, or part, 

product, egg, or offspring of them, or the dead body or parts 

of them.  

B. Exception for red foxes and European rabbits. 

Domesticated red foxes (Vulpes vulpes) having coat colors 

distinguishable from wild red foxes and [ wild ] European 

rabbits possessed in captivity on July 1, 2017, may be 

maintained in captivity until the animal dies, but the animal 

may not be bred or sold without a permit from the 

department. Persons possessing domesticated red foxes or 

European rabbits without a permit from the department must 

declare such possession in writing to the department by 

January 1, 2018. This written declaration must include the 

number of individual animals in possession and date 

acquired, sex, estimated age, coloration, and a photograph of 

each fox or European rabbit. This written declaration shall (i) 

serve as a permit for possession only, (ii) is not transferable, 

and (iii) must be renewed every five years. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5066; Filed June 29, 2017, 2:53 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-30. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, Etc., of 

Animals (amending 4VAC15-30-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments authorize (i) Department of Game and 

Inland Fisheries staff, federal employees involved in 

wildlife management, animal control officers, and 

commercial nuisance animal permit holders to humanely 

dispatch wildlife when necessary and (ii) the department 

director to set policy regarding the methods of and 

documentation for the capture, possession, transport, 

release, and humane dispatch of wildlife. 

4VAC15-30-50. Possession, transportation, and release of 

wildlife by authorized persons.  

A. Department employees in the performance of their 

official duties; U.S. government agencies' employees whose 

responsibility includes fisheries and wildlife management; 

and county, city, or town animal control officers in the 

performance of their official duties related to public health 

concerns or problem wildlife removal,; and individuals 

operating under conditions of a commercial nuisance animal 

permit issued by the department pursuant to §§ 29.1-412 and 

29.1-417 of the Code of Virginia will be deemed to be 

permitted pursuant to this section to capture, temporarily hold 

or possess, transport, release, and when necessary humanely 

euthanize dispatch wildlife, provided that the methods of and 

documentation for the capture, possession, transport, release, 

and euthanasia humane dispatch shall be in accordance with 

board director policy.  

B. Local animal shelters operating under the authority of, or 

under contract with, any county, city, or town with animal 

control responsibilities shall be authorized to receive, 

temporarily confine, and humanely euthanize wildlife, except 

for state or federal threatened and endangered species; 

federally protected migratory bird species; black bear; white-

tailed deer; and wild turkey, provided that the methods of and 

documentation for the possession, confinement, and 

euthanasia shall be in accordance with conditions defined by 

the agency director. Provided further that any person may 

legally transport wildlife, except for those species listed 

above in this subsection, to an authorized animal shelter after 

contacting the facility to confirm the animal will be accepted. 

C. Employees or agents of other state wildlife agencies 

while in the performance of their official duty in transporting 

wildlife through the Commonwealth will be deemed to be 

permitted pursuant to this section, provided that a list of 

animals to be transported, a schedule of dates and locations 

where those animals will be housed while in the 

Commonwealth, and a letter of authorization from both the 

forwarding and receiving state agencies are provided to the 

department 24 hours prior to the transporting of such animals, 

and further provided that such animals shall not be liberated 

within the Commonwealth.  

D. Employees or agents of government agencies, while in 

the performance of their official duties, may temporarily 

possess, transport, and dispose of carcasses of wild animals 

killed by vehicles, except for state or federal threatened and 

endangered species, and federally protected migratory bird 

species. 

E. With prior written approval from the director or his 

designee and under conditions of an applicable department 

permit, institutions with bona fide accreditation from the 

Association of Zoos and Aquariums may possess, transport, 
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have transported, export, or import native and naturalized 

species defined in the List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of 

Virginia, which is incorporated by reference into 4VAC15-

20-50. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5067; Filed June 29, 2017, 12:42 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-40. Game: In General 

(amending 4VAC15-40-30, 4VAC15-40-275; adding 

4VAC15-40-225, 4VAC15-40-287).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia (4VAC15-40-30, 4VAC15-40-225, and 4VAC15-

40-275). 

§§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-527.2 (4VAC15-40-287). 

Effective Date: August 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) add raccoons to the list of species that 

may be taken by the use or aid of recorded animal or bird 

calls or sounds; (ii) specifically allow humane dispatch 

methods for animals captured in traps; (iii) limit the 

requirement for a fur dealer permit to those who purchase 

raw fur or unskinned carcasses of fur-bearing animals; 

(iv) provide for the purchase and sale of pelts not defined 

as being raw, skinned carcasses, and other furbearer parts 

by any person at any time without a permit; (v) define "raw 

fur"; and (vi) provide a model ordinance for cities and 

towns to prohibit feeding deer. 

4VAC15-40-30. Recorded wild animal or wild bird calls 

or sounds prohibited in taking game; bobcats, coyotes, 

crows, and foxes, and raccoons excepted. 

It shall be unlawful to take or attempt to take wild animals 

and wild birds with the exception of bobcats, coyotes, crows, 

and foxes, and raccoons by the use or aid of recorded animal 

or bird calls or sounds or recorded or electrically amplified 

imitation of animal or bird calls or sounds; provided, that 

electronic calls may be used on private lands for hunting 

bobcats, coyotes, and foxes, and raccoons with written 

permission of the landowner and on public lands except 

where specifically prohibited.  

4VAC15-40-225. Killing of animals captured in live traps 

permitted [ ; drowning of animals captured in cage traps 

prohibited ]. 

It shall be lawful to kill wild animals legally captured in live 

traps using any humane method of dispatch not specifically 

prohibited by law [ ; however, it shall be unlawful to 

intentionally drown any wild animal captured in a cage or box 

trap ]. 

4VAC15-40-275. Sale of furbearer pelts, carcasses, and 

parts. 

Carcasses, including portions of carcasses, of legally taken 

and possessed fur-bearing animals may be sold at any time to 

buyers permitted It shall be unlawful to buy, sell, barter, 

traffic or trade in, bargain for, or solicit for purchase raw pelts 

and unskinned carcasses of fur-bearing animals defined in § 

29.1-100 of the Code of Virginia without having first 

obtained a fur dealer permit in accordance with §§ 29.1-400 

through 29.1-407 of the Code of Virginia [ . A, except that a ] 

permit shall not be required of [ any: 

1. Any ] hunter or trapper, or any person lawfully engaged 

in the business of fur farming, to sell or dispose of legally 

taken or possessed raw pelts and unskinned carcasses of 

fur-bearing animals at any time. [ Provided further, that a 

permit shall not be required for any  

2. Any person to purchase legally taken or possessed raw 

pelts or unskinned carcasses of fur-bearing animals at any 

time if the pelts are to be tanned or used in taxidermy 

mounts for personal use and not for resale, trade, or other 

commercial purposes. 

3. Any ] person to buy or sell at any time pelts that are not 

defined as being raw, skinned carcasses [ , such as 

taxidermy mounts, ] or any other parts of legally taken and 

possessed fur-bearing animals defined in § 29.1-100 of the 

Code of Virginia. Such parts shall include skulls, teeth, 

claws, bones, glands, and secretions. For the purposes of 

this section, "raw pelt" shall be defined as any pelt with its 

hair or fur intact that has not been tanned, cured, 

chemically preserved, or converted to any usable form 

beyond initial cleaning, stretching, and drying. Salt-cured 

and sun-cured pelts shall be considered raw pelts.  

4VAC15-40-287. Model ordinances related to feeding of 

deer in cities and towns. 

Per the provisions of § 29.1-527.2 of the Code of Virginia, 

the following model ordinance related to the feeding of deer 

may be adopted by a city or town. Any city or town must 

notify the director of the Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries of the adoption of such an ordinance by registered 

mail. 

Model ordinance: 

A. Pursuant to § 29.1-527.2 of the Code of Virginia, it shall 

be unlawful for any person to place, distribute, or allow the 

placement of food, salt, minerals, or similar substances to 

feed or attract deer at any time. 

B. No person shall continue to place, distribute, or allow the 

placement of food, salt, minerals, or similar substances for 

any purpose if the placement of these materials results in the 

presence of deer. 
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C. No part of this ordinance shall be construed to restrict 

agricultural, commercial, noncommercial, or residential 

plantings (including wildlife food plots); bona fide 

distribution of food to livestock; or wildlife management 

activities conducted or authorized by the Department of 

Game and Inland Fisheries. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5068; Filed June 29, 2017, 3:10 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-70. Game: Bobcat (amending 

4VAC15-70-60).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 23, 2017 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and 

Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, 

Henrico, VA 23228 

Public Comment Deadline: August 10, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments allow hunting bobcats with the 

slingbow, which is a type of bow and arrow. 

4VAC15-70-60. Archery hunting with bow and arrow or 

crossbow.  

A. Season. It shall be lawful to hunt bobcats with bow and 

arrow or, crossbow, or slingbow from the first Saturday in 

October through October 31, both dates inclusive.  

B. Carrying firearms prohibited. It shall be unlawful to carry 

firearms while hunting with bow and arrow or, crossbow, or 

slingbow during the special archery seasons.  

C. Use of dogs prohibited during the special archery season. 

It shall be unlawful to use dogs when hunting with bow and 

arrow or, crossbow, or slingbow during any special archery 

season.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5195; Filed July 5, 2017, 1:43 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-90. Game: Deer (amending 

4VAC15-90-70).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 23, 2017 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and 

Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, 

Henrico, VA 23228 

Public Comment Deadline: August 10, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341 or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The proposed amendment allows a county participating in 

the urban archery deer hunting season to exclude 

geographic areas from the season, when consistent with 

the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries deer 

management objectives. 

4VAC15-90-70. Archery hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special 

archery season with archery equipment from the first 

Saturday in October through the Friday prior to the third 

Monday in November, both dates inclusive. 

B. In addition to the season provided in subsection A of this 

section, it shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special 

archery season with archery equipment from the Sunday 

following the close of the general firearms season on deer 

through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, in 

all cities, towns, and counties west of the Blue Ridge 

Mountains (except Clarke County and on non-national forest 

lands in Frederick County) and in the counties (including the 

cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of Business U.S. 

29 from the James River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just 

south of the Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to 

the Tye River), Bedford, Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of 

Route 151), Patrick and on the Chester F. Phelps Wildlife 

Management Area and on national forest lands in Frederick 

County and from December 1 through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive, in the cities of Chesapeake, 

Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp Line), and Virginia 

Beach. 

C. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

special archery seasons as provided in subsections A and B of 

this section (except on PALS (Public Access Lands) in 

Dickenson County where it shall be unlawful to take 

antlerless deer during the special archery seasons provided for 

in subsections A and B of this section). 

D. It shall be unlawful to carry firearms while hunting with 

archery equipment during the special archery seasons, except 

that a muzzleloading gun, as defined in 4VAC15-90-80, may 

be in the possession of a properly licensed muzzleloading gun 

hunter when and where a special archery deer season overlaps 

a special muzzleloading deer season. 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 24, 2017 

2669 

E. It shall be unlawful to use dogs when hunting with 

archery equipment during any special archery season, except 

that tracking dogs as described in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be used. 

F. It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer during the special 

urban archery season with archery equipment from the first 

Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October, both dates inclusive, and from the 

Sunday following the first Saturday in January through the 

last Sunday in March, both dates inclusive, within the 

incorporated limits of any city or town in the Commonwealth 

(except on national forest and department-owned lands) and 

counties with a human population density of 300 persons per 

square mile or more (except on national forest and 

department-owned lands), provided that its governing body 

submits by certified letter to the department prior to April 1, 

its intent to participate in the special urban archery season. 

Any city, town, or county no longer participating in this 

season shall submit by certified letter to the department prior 

to April 1 notice of its intent not to participate in the special 

urban archery season. When consistent with the department's 

deer management objectives and subject to the director's 

approval, a participating county may exclude from this season 

a geographic area or areas by submitting a clear description of 

such area or areas in a certified letter to the department prior 

to April 1. 

G. It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer during the special 

antlerless archery season with archery equipment from the 

Monday following the last Sunday in March through the last 

Sunday in April, both dates inclusive, in Arlington, Fairfax, 

Loudoun, and Prince William counties (including the cities 

and towns within). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5196; Filed July 5, 2017, 1:25 a.m.  

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-270. Pertaining to Crabbing 

(amending 4VAC20-270-40, 4VAC20-270-51, 4VAC20-

270-55).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-210 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Dates: July 5, 2017, through August 4, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

The amendments modify (i) the 2017 and 2018 seasons for 

the harvest of crabs by crab pot, (ii) the time for harvesting 

at a higher bushel limit, and (iii) the start date of the lower 

bushel limit season.  

4VAC20-270-40. Season limits.  

A. In 2016 2017, the lawful season for the commercial 

harvest of crabs by crab pot shall be March 17 1 through 

December 20 November 30. In 2017 2018, the lawful season 

for the commercial harvest of crabs by crab pot shall be 

March 1 17 through December 20 November 30. For all other 

lawful commercial gear used to harvest crabs, as described in 

4VAC20-1040, the lawful seasons for the harvest of crabs 

shall be April 21 through October 31 in 2016 and April 1 

through October 31 in 2017. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest crabs or to 

possess crabs on board a vessel, except during the lawful 

season, as described in subsection A of this section. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to place, 

set, fish, or leave any hard crab pot in any tidal waters of 

Virginia from December 21, 2016 1, 2017, through February 

28, 2017 March 16, 2018. It shall be unlawful for any person 

knowingly to place, set, fish, or leave any lawful commercial 

gear used to harvest crabs, except any hard crab pot, or as 

described in 4VAC20-460-25, in any tidal waters of Virginia 

from November 1, 2016 2017, through March 31, 2017 2018. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to place, 

set, fish, or leave any fish pot in any tidal waters from March 

12 through March 16, except as provided in subdivisions 1 

and 2 of this subsection.  

1. It shall be lawful for any person to place, set, or fish any 

fish pot in those Virginia waters located upriver of the 

following boundary lines:  

a. In the James River the boundary shall be a line 

connecting Hog Point and the downstream point at the 

mouth of College Creek.  

b. In the York River the boundary lines shall be the 

Route 33 bridges at West Point.  

c. In the Rappahannock River the boundary line shall be 

the Route 360 bridge at Tappahannock.  

d. In the Potomac River the boundary line shall be the 

Route 301 bridge that extends from Newberg, Maryland 

to Dahlgren, Virginia. 

2. This subsection shall not apply to legally licensed eel 

pots as described in 4VAC20-500-50.  

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to place, set, or fish 

any number of fish pots in excess of 10% of the amount 

allowed by the gear license limit, up to a maximum of 30 fish 

pots per vessel, when any person on that vessel has set any 

crab pots. 

1. This subsection shall not apply to fish pots set in the 

areas described in subdivision D 1 of this section. 

2. This subsection shall not apply to legally licensed eel 

pots as described in 4VAC20-500.  

3. This subsection shall not apply to fish pots constructed 

of a mesh less than one-inch square or hexagonal mesh. 
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4VAC20-270-51. Daily commercial harvester, vessel, and 

harvest and possession limits. 

A. Any barrel used by a harvester to contain or possess any 

amount of crabs will be equivalent in volume to no more than 

3 bushels of crabs. 

B. From July 5, 2016 2017, through November 15, 2016 

October 31, 2017, and April 1, 2017 2018, through July 4, 

2017 2018, any Commercial Fisherman Registration Licensee 

legally licensed for any crab pot license, as described in 

4VAC20-270-50 B, shall be limited to the following 

maximum daily harvest and possession limits for any of the 

following crab pot license categories: 

1. 10 bushels, or 3 barrels and 1 bushel, of crabs if licensed 

for up to 85 crab pots. 

2. 14 bushels, or 4 barrels and 2 bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 127 crab pots. 

3. 18 bushels, or 6 barrels, of crabs if licensed for up to 170 

crab pots. 

4. 29 bushels, or 9 barrels and 2 bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 255 crab pots. 

5. 47 bushels, or 15 barrels and 2 bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 425 crab pots. 

C. From November 16, 2016 1, 2017, through December 20, 

2016 November 30, 2017, and March 1, 2017 17, 2018, 

through March 31, 2017 2018, any Commercial Fisherman 

Registration Licensee legally licensed for any crab pot 

license, as described in 4VAC20-270-50 B, shall be limited to 

the following maximum daily harvest and possession limits 

for any of the following crab pot license categories: 

1. 8 bushels, or 2 barrels and 2 bushels, of crabs if licensed 

for up to 85 crab pots. 

2. 10 bushels, or 3 barrels and 1 bushel, of crabs if licensed 

for up to 127 crab pots. 

3. 13 bushels, or 4 barrels and 1 bushel, of crabs if licensed 

for up to 170 crab pots. 

4. 21 bushels, or 7 barrels, of crabs if licensed for up to 255 

crab pots. 

5. 27 bushels, or 9 barrels, of crabs if licensed for up to 425 

crab pots. 

D. When a single harvester or multiple harvesters are on 

board any vessel, that vessel's daily harvest and possession 

limit shall be equal to only one daily harvest and possession 

limit, as described in subsections B and C of this section, and 

that daily limit shall correspond to the highest harvest and 

possession limit of only one licensee on board that vessel. 

E. When transporting or selling one or more legal crab pot 

licensee's crab harvest in bushels or barrels, any agent shall 

possess either the crab pot license of that one or more crab 

pot licensees or a bill of lading indicating each crab pot 

licensee's name, address, Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License number, date, and amount of bushels or barrels of 

crabs to be sold. 

F. If any police officer finds crabs in excess of any lawful 

daily bushel, barrel, or vessel limit, as described in this 

section, that excess quantity of crabs shall be returned 

immediately to the water by the licensee or licensees who 

possess that excess over lawful daily harvest or possession 

limit. The refusal to return crabs, in excess of any lawful daily 

harvest or possession limit, to the water shall constitute a 

separate violation of this chapter. 

G. When any person on board any boat or vessel possesses a 

crab pot license, it shall be unlawful for that person or any 

other person aboard that boat or vessel to possess a seafood 

buyers boat license and buy any crabs on any day.  

4VAC20-270-55. Minimum size limits.  

A. From March 1 17 through July 15, it shall be unlawful for 

any person to harvest, possess, sell, or offer for sale more 

than 10 peeler crabs, per United States standard bushel, or 

5.0% of peeler crabs in any other container, that measure less 

than 3-1/4 inches across the shell from tip to tip of the longest 

spikes. From July 16 through December 20 November 30, it 

shall be unlawful for any person to harvest, possess, sell, or 

offer for sale more than 10 peeler crabs, per United States 

standard bushel, or 5.0% of peeler crabs in any other 

container, that measure less than 3-1/2 inches across the shell 

from tip to tip of the longest spikes, except as described in 

subsections B and C of this section. 

B. From July 16 through December 20 November 30, it shall 

be unlawful for any person to harvest, possess, sell, or offer 

for sale more than 10 peeler crabs, per United States standard 

bushel, or 5.0% of peeler crabs in any other container, that are 

harvested from waters on the ocean side of Accomack and 

Northampton Counties and measure less than 3-1/4 inches 

across the shell from tip to tip of the longest spikes, except as 

described in subsection C of this section.  

C. In the enforcement of these peeler crab minimum size 

limits aboard a vessel, the marine police officer shall select a 

single container of peeler crabs of his choosing to determine 

if the contents of that container violate the minimum size and 

tolerance described in this section. If the officer determines 

the contents of the container are in violation, then the officer 

shall return all peeler crabs on board the vessel to the water 

alive. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, catch, harvest, 

possess, sell or offer for sale, or to destroy in any manner, any 

soft crab that measures less than 3-1/2 inches across the shell 

from tip to tip of the longest spikes.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5190; Filed June 28, 2017, 7:38 a.m.  

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-490. Pertaining to Sharks 

(amending 4VAC20-490-42, 4VAC20-490-46).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-210 of the Coded 

of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: July 1, 2017, through July 31, 2017. 
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Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

The amendments reduce the commercial spiny dogfish 

quota, clarify the yearly period, and streamline the buyer 

reporting process.  

4VAC20-490-42. Spiny dogfish commercial quota and 

catch limitations.  

A. For the 12-month period of From May 1, 2016, of the 

current calendar year through April 30, 2017 of the following 

calendar year, the spiny dogfish commercial spiny dogfish 

landings quota shall be limited to 4,356,944 4,220,814 

pounds. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, harvest, or 

possess aboard any vessel or to land in Virginia any spiny 

dogfish harvested from federal waters for commercial 

purposes after it has been announced that the federal quota for 

spiny dogfish has been taken. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, harvest, or 

possess aboard any vessel or to land in Virginia more than 

5,250 pounds of spiny dogfish per day for commercial 

purposes. However, if landings are less than 80% of the quota 

specified in subsection A of this section, by February 15, 

2017, it shall be unlawful to take, harvest, or possess aboard 

any vessel or to land in Virginia more than 6,000 pounds of 

spiny dogfish per day for commercial purposes.  

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or to land in 

Virginia any spiny dogfish for commercial purposes after the 

quota specified in subsection A of this section has been 

landed and announced as such. 

E. Any spiny dogfish harvested from state waters or federal 

waters, for commercial purposes, shall only be sold to a 

federally permitted dealer. 

F. It shall be unlawful for any buyer of seafood to receive 

any spiny dogfish after any commercial harvest or landing 

quota described in this section has been attained and 

announced as such. 

4VAC20-490-46. Spiny dogfish monitoring requirements. 

A. Any Virginia seafood buyer purchasing spiny dogfish 

shall provide written reports to the Marine Resources 

Commission of weekly landings for each registered 

commercial fisherman to include that commercial fisherman's 

registration license number and exact weight of the spiny 

dogfish landed, in pounds, until it is projected and announced 

that 80% of Virginia spiny dogfish quota has been landed. 

B. When it has been projected and announced by the Marine 

Resources Commission that 80% of the Virginia spiny 

dogfish quota has been landed, each Virginia seafood buyer 

shall call the Marine Resources Commission's interactive 

voice recording system on a daily basis to report the daily 

landings for each registered commercial fisherman to include 

the commercial fisherman's registration license number and 

exact weight of spiny dogfish landed received or purchased, 

in pounds, until it is projected and announced that the 

Virginia spiny dogfish quota has been landed and the fishery 

closed. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5189; Filed June 28, 2017, 7:36 a.m.  

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1140. Prohibition of Crab 

Dredging in Virginia Waters (amending 4VAC20-1140-

20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-210 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Dates: July 5, 2017, through August 4, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

The amendment closes the crab dredge fishery season from 

December 1, 2017, through March 31, 2018. 

4VAC20-1140-20. Crab dredging prohibited. 

In accordance with the provisions of § 28.2-707 of the Code 

of Virginia, the crab dredging season of December 1, 2016 

2017, through March 31, 2017 2018, is closed, and it shall be 

unlawful to use a dredge for catching crabs from the waters of 

the Commonwealth during that season. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5188; Filed June 28, 2017, 7:39 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Effective Date 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-260. Water Quality 

Standards (amending 9VAC25-260-5, 9VAC25-260-50, 

9VAC25-260-140, 9VAC25-260-155, 9VAC25-260-185, 

9VAC25-260-187, 9VAC25-260-310, 9VAC25-260-390, 

9VAC25-260-400, 9VAC25-260-410, 9VAC25-260-415, 

9VAC25-260-440, 9VAC25-260-450, 9VAC25-260-470, 

9VAC25-260-510, 9VAC25-260-520, 9VAC25-260-530, 

9VAC25-260-540).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.); 40 CFR Part 131. 

Effective Date: June 27, 2017.  

On January 14, 2016, the State Water Control Board adopted 

revisions to the Water Quality Standards in 9VAC25-260-5, 

9VAC25-260-50, 9VAC25-260-140, 9VAC25-260-155, 

9VAC25-260-185, 9VAC25-260-187, 9VAC25-260-310, 

9VAC25-260-390, 9VAC25-260-400, 9VAC25-260-410, 
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9VAC25-260-415, 9VAC25-260-440, 9VAC25-260-450, 

9VAC25-260-460, 9VAC25-260-470, 9VAC25-260-510, 

9VAC25-260-520, 9VAC25-260-530, and 9VAC25-260-540. 

These revisions relate to water quality criteria, use 

designations, antidegradation, and other policies related to 

water quality. The amendments were published as final 

regulations in 32:26 VA.R. 3461-3542 August 22, 2016, to be 

effective upon the agency filing notice of U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency (EPA) approval with the Registrar of 

Regulations. The State Water Control Board received a letter 

from Dominique Lueckenhoff, EPA Region III Regional 

Acting Director, Water Protection Division, dated June 5, 

2017, that approved the amendments except for the 

amendment to 9VAC25-260-460, which removed a natural 

trout waters designation from Lovills Creek Lake; approval of 

that amendment was deferred. Therefore, the amendments to 

9VAC25-260 in this regulatory action are effective as 

regulation with the exception of the EPA-deferred 

amendment in 9VAC25-260-460. 

Agency Contact: David Whitehurst, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4121, FAX (804) 

698-4032, TTY (804) 698-4021, toll free (800) 592-5482 

ext. 4121, or email david.whitehurst@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3788; Filed June 27, 2017, 1:18 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and 

Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (amending 

12VAC30-50-220).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: September 22, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance, and 

§ 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the Director of 

the Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance 

according to the board's requirements. The Medicaid 

authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social Security 

Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority for 

payments for services. 

Item 306 OOOO of Chapter 780 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly directs DMAS to cover low-dose computed 

tomography (LDCT) lung cancer screenings for high-risk 

adults. 

Purpose: At present, DMAS does not cover LDCT screening 

for adults as a preventive service. There is evidence that this 

policy puts adults at increased risk of developing advanced-

stage lung cancer. This regulatory action will permit DMAS 

to cover LDCT screenings for at-risk adults, thereby enabling 

DMAS to help make further reductions in lung cancer 

morbidity and mortality. Additionally, DMAS would align 

itself with established federal recommendations that support 

LDCT screening.  

These regulatory changes will improve the health, safety, and 

welfare of the affected Medicaid individuals by providing 

care coordination and well-person preventive services. 

Additionally, this regulation will provide Medicaid coverage 

of annual LDCT lung cancer screening as a preventive 

measure, in the absence of symptoms, for at-risk 

beneficiaries. 

Substance: DMAS has determined that this regulatory action 

is needed to increase the potential to diagnose lung cancer at 

earlier stages and reduce incidences of advanced-stage lung 

cancer and to help reduce the costs associated with lung 

cancer. The U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF), 

an independent panel of experts authorized by Congress to 

make recommendations about specific preventive services for 

patients with no signs or symptoms of disease, issued a 

statement in 2013 giving LDCT scans a grade of "B" and 

recommending that certain individuals get an LDCT scan 

every year. Criteria include individuals between the ages of 

55 and 80 years who are current smokers, have quit smoking 

within the last 15 years, or have a history of smoking at least 

one pack of cigarettes per day for 30 or more years. 

The proposed amendment to 12VAC30-50-220 aligns 

Medicaid coverage with the coverage provided by Medicare 

and commercial health plans to achieve consistency among 

the fee-for-service and the managed care organization 

programs and to bring DMAS in line with USPSTF 

recommendations by providing for LDCT scans for certain 

individuals. 

Issues: USPSTF estimates that a minimum of 20,000 lives 

can be saved each year through these preventive screenings. 

Nineteen percent of adults in Virginia were current smokers 

over the last several years compared to the national average 

of 17%. Additionally, according to the Centers for Medicare 

and Medicaid Services, nationwide 37% of Medicaid insured 

individuals smoke with total Medicaid expenditures 

attributable to smoking of nearly $22 billion annually, 

representing 11% of all expenditures. According to a Quit 

Now report, approximately 25% of Medicaid insured 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=5868
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individuals in Virginia were current smokers in 2015, a figure 

that has been as high as 27% in the past three fiscal years. 

DMAS currently covers LDCT for adults when it is deemed 

medically necessary (i.e., symptoms are present). As a result, 

lung cancer in the Medicaid population can go undetected 

until its third and fourth stages when treatment is most costly 

and morbidity is at its highest. Nationwide, only 16% of lung 

cancers are stage one (localized) at the time of diagnosis 

when the five-year survival rate is highest (nearly 55%), 

while 22% are stage two (having spread regionally) and 57% 

are stage three (having spread distantly). Tragically, the five-

year survival rate is only 4.0% for stage three lung cancer and 

just over 27% for stage two. 

In Virginia, there were 3,041 inpatient hospitalizations for 

lung cancer in 2012 (non-Medicaid as well as Medicaid) at a 

total cost of about $167 million. The average length of stay 

was 6.5 days, and the average cost per stay was $55,122.16. 

Moreover, because many studies only examine direct medical 

costs incurred during hospitalization, these figures 

underestimate the true economic consequences of undetected 

lung cancer. 

By covering LDCT screenings as a preventive service, 

DMAS can help reduce lung cancer morbidity and mortality 

in Virginia. The procedure is safe, with no adverse effects to 

the recipient. 

To establish the population that would benefit from 

preventive LDCT screenings, DMAS begins with the at-risk 

age range of individuals from 55 to 80 years of age. Since 

Medicare coverage (which begins at age 65) includes this 

service as a preventive measure, we can shorten the range to 

55 to 64 years of age. For the past three state fiscal years, 

Virginia's average monthly Medicaid enrollment in this age 

range was approximately 21,684.17 Next, given that nearly 

25% of Medicaid beneficiaries are current smokers, we can 

assume the at-risk population to be roughly 5,421. 

The primary advantages to the public, the Agency, and the 

Commonwealth from this regulatory package include 

enhanced service delivery to Medicaid beneficiaries, and 

greater consistency between Virginia regulations and 

established federal recommendations which support LDCT 

screening. There are no disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth as a result of these regulatory changes. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 780 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 

Director (Director) of the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services (DMAS) proposes to provide Medicaid coverage of 

annual low-dose computed tomography (LDCT) lung cancer 

screening as a preventive measure, in the absence of 

symptoms, for at-risk beneficiaries. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Under the current regulation 

DMAS does not cover LDCT screening for adults as a 

preventive service under Medicaid. The Director proposes to 

specify that "Low-dose computed tomography lung cancer 

screening shall be covered annually for individuals between 

the ages of 55 years and 80 years who are current smokers, 

have quit smoking within the last 15 years, or have a history 

of smoking at least one pack of cigarettes per day for 30 or 

more years." Lung cancer is by far the leading cause of cancer 

deaths accounting for 26% of all cancer deaths nationwide.
1
 

Each year, more people die of lung cancer than of colon, 

breast, and prostate cancers combined.
2
 Nationally, 

individuals with lung cancer have a five-year relative survival 

rate of 54% if cancer is diagnosed in its earliest (localized) 

stage.
3
 Unfortunately, most lung cancers have spread widely 

and are at an advanced stage by the time that they are first 

detected, making them very difficult to treat or cure. In 

Virginia, only 19% of lung cancers were diagnosed at the 

localized stage between 2007 and 2011.
4
 

LDCT can be used to screen for those at high risk for lung 

cancer and help detect cancer earlier, thus lowering the risk of 

death. These screenings are safe for the patient, using lower 

amounts of radiation than a standard chest scan and not 

requiring the use of intravenous contrast dye.
5
 A large clinical 

trial conducted by the U.S. National Institutes of Health, 

National Cancer Institute (the National Lung Screening Trial) 

compared LDCT screenings to standard chest x-rays in 

people at high risk of lung cancer to ascertain if these scans 

could help lower the risk of dying from lung cancer. The 

researchers concluded that LDCT scans provided more 

detailed pictures than chest x-rays and are better at finding 

small abnormalities in the lungs.
6 

Additionally, certain cancer 

cells were detected at the earliest stage more frequently by 

LDCT screenings than by standard chest x-rays.
7
 The 

researchers also found that people who got LDCT had a 16% 

lower chance of dying from lung cancer than those who got 

chest x-rays.
8
 

Thus to the extent that covering LDCT lung cancer screening 

as a preventive measure in the absence of symptoms for at-

risk beneficiaries leads to increased use of early LDCT use, 

the proposal would likely somewhat increase lung cancer 

survival rates in the Commonwealth. The annual cost for 

covering the LDCT lung cancer screening has been estimated 

to be $118,650 annually.
9
 The benefits of likely increased 

survival rates would for most observers exceed the estimated 

costs. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

potentially affects health care facilities that provide lung 

cancer screenings and Medicaid recipients between the ages 

of 55 years and 80 years who are current smokers, have quit 

smoking within the last 15 years, or have a history of 

smoking at least one pack of cigarettes per day for 30 or more 

years. 
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Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

may have a positive impact on employment for technicians 

who conduct LDCT lung cancer screenings. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment does not significantly affect the use and 

value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 

does not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses: 

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment does not 

significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment does not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect other entities. 

_________________________________________________ 
1 Source: U.S. National Institutes of Health, National Cancer Institute. 
2 Source: "Lung Cancer Prevention and Early Detection." American Cancer 

Society. Feb. 6, 2015. 
3 Source: American Cancer Society. "Cancer Facts & Figures 2014." 
4 Source: Virginia Cancer Registry. Based on combined 2007-2011 data. 

Incidence rates are age-adjusted to the 2000 U.S. standard population; 
Percent of Local Stage cancers reported using the Derived Summary Staging 

System. 
5 Source: "Lung Cancer Prevention and Early Detection." American Cancer 
Society. Feb. 6, 2015. 
6 Source: NIH, National Cancer Institute. National Lung Screening Trial, 

NLST Study Facts. Sep. 8, 2014. 
7 Ibid. 
8 Ibid. 
9 The $118,650 figure is the amount listed in the state budget for this service. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget and raises no 

issues with this analysis. 

Summary: 

Item 306 OOOO of Chapter 780 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly, the 2016 Appropriation Act, directs the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services to cover low-

dose computed tomography lung cancer screenings for 

high-risk adults. The proposed amendment conforms the 

regulation to this requirement. 

12VAC30-50-220. Other diagnostic Diagnostic, screening, 

preventive, and rehabilitative services, i.e., other than 

those provided elsewhere in this plan.  

A. Diagnostic services are provided but only when 

necessary to confirm a diagnosis.  

B. Screening services.  

1. Screening mammograms for the female recipient 

population aged 35 and over shall be covered, consistent 

with the guidelines published by the American Cancer 

Society.  

2. Screening PSA (prostate specific antigen) and the 

related DRE (digital rectal examination) for males shall be 

covered, consistent with the guidelines published by the 

American Cancer Society.  

3. Screening Pap smears shall be covered annually for 

females, consistent with the guidelines published by the 

American Cancer Society.  

4. Screening services for colorectal cancer, specifically 

screening with an annual fecal occult blood test, flexible 

sigmoidoscopy or colonoscopy, or in appropriate 

circumstances radiologic imaging, in accordance with the 

most recently published recommendations established by 

the American College of Gastroenterology, in consultation 

with the American Cancer Society, for the ages, family 

histories, and frequencies referenced in such 

recommendations.  

5. Low-dose computed tomography lung cancer screening 

shall be covered annually for individuals between the ages 

of 55 years and 80 years who are current smokers, have 

quit smoking within the last 15 years, or have a history of 

smoking at least one pack of cigarettes per day for 30 or 

more years.  

C. Maternity length of stay and early discharge.  

1. If the mother and newborn, or the newborn alone, are 

discharged earlier than 48 hours after the day of delivery, 

DMAS will cover one early discharge follow-up visit as 

recommended by the physicians in accordance with and as 

indicated by the "Guidelines for Perinatal Care," 4th 

Edition, August 1997, as developed by the American 

Academy of Pediatrics and the American College of 

Obstetricians and Gynecologists. The mother and newborn, 

or the newborn alone if the mother has not been 

discharged, must meet the criteria for early discharge to be 

eligible for the early discharge follow-up visit. This early 

discharge follow-up visit does not affect or apply to any 

usual postpartum or well-baby care or any other covered 

care to which the mother or newborn is entitled; it is tied 

directly to an early discharge.  

2. The early discharge follow-up visit must be provided as 

directed by a physician. The physician may coordinate 
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with the provider of his choice to provide the early 

discharge follow-up visit, within the following limitations. 

Qualified providers are those hospitals, physicians, nurse 

midwives, nurse practitioners, federally qualified health 

clinics, rural health clinics, and health departments' clinics 

that are enrolled as Medicaid providers and are qualified 

by the appropriate state authority for delivery of the 

service. The staff providing the follow-up visit, at a 

minimum, must be a registered nurse having training and 

experience in maternal and child health. The visit must be 

provided within 48 hours of discharge.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4949; Filed June 30, 2017, 3:33 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-60. Standards Established 

and Methods Used to Assure High Quality Care 

(amending 12VAC30-60-5). 

12VAC30-141. Family Access to Medical Insurance 

Security Plan (amending 12VAC30-141-570).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: September 22, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance and to 

make, adopt, promulgate, and enforce regulations to 

implement the state plan. Section 32.1-324 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes the Director of the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) to administer and amend the 

Plan for Medical Assistance according to the board's 

requirements. The Medicaid authority as established by 

§ 1902(a) of the Social Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) 

provides governing authority for payments for services. 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to implement 

regulatory changes to more clearly reflect DMAS utilization 

review procedures. This action will not affect the health, 

safety, or welfare of Medicaid individuals or citizens of the 

Commonwealth. 

Substance: Currently, DMAS regulations do not establish the 

steps that are involved in a utilization review. Specifically, 

the regulations do not include how a utilization review is 

initiated, what letters or communications are sent, and what 

the deadlines for document submission are. DMAS is 

proposing these regulations to provide greater clarity to 

providers, Medicaid members, and members of the public 

about this process. The proposed changes reflect current 

DMAS process and do not include changes in the utilization 

review process. 

Issues: The advantages to these proposed changes are that 

they will provide more information and clarity to Medicaid 

and FAMIS providers and members and the general public 

about the utilization review process. There are no 

disadvantages to the public, businesses, or the 

Commonwealth related to these proposed changes. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Director (Director) of the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services (DMAS) proposes to amend these regulations to 

outline the process of utilization review for the Medicaid and 

State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) 

programs. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for all 

proposed regulatory changes.  

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations require 

service providers to maintain certain records and states that 

DMAS or its designee will perform reviews of the utilization 

of all Medicaid-covered services but does not detail how 

those reviews will take place. The Director proposes to 

expand the description of a utilization review to include rules 

for the utilization review that have been set by case law or are 

part of the provider agreement that all providers must sign in 

order to receive Medicaid reimbursement. This additional 

description includes a requirement that providers supply 

documentation to DMAS or its designee "immediately upon 

demand or upon a timeframe specified in writing by DMAS 

or its designee" and requirements for Preliminary Findings 

Letters and for additional documentation allowed. 

As all additional requirements in the proposed regulations are 

already part of the enforceable contract between DMAS and 

providers, or are likely enforceable due to prior court 

decision, no providers are likely to incur costs on account of 

these proposed regulatory changes. To the extent that these 

proposed changes add clarity to the requirements for 

utilization reviews, all interested parties will benefit.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulatory 

changes will affect all Medicaid and SCHIP providers. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality is likely to be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes.  

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 
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Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No small businesses are likely to 

incur any additional costs on account of these proposed 

regulatory changes. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 

businesses are likely to incur any additional costs on account 

of these proposed regulatory changes. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. No businesses are likely to incur any additional 

costs on account of these proposed regulatory changes. 

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 

see any adverse impacts on account of these proposed 

regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely 

affected by these proposed changes. 

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared by the 

Department of Planning and Budget and raises no issues with 

the analysis.  

Summary: 

The proposed amendments standardize the utilization 

review process for all provider types, including (i) what 

letters are sent to providers, (ii) what documentation may 

be submitted and when it may be submitted, and (iii) what 

deadlines apply. 

12VAC30-60-5. Applicability of utilization Utilization 

review requirements. 

A. These utilization The requirements in this section shall 

apply to all Medicaid covered services and all Medicaid 

providers unless otherwise specified. 

1. Providers shall be required to maintain documentation 

detailing all required information about the individuals 

who are in the provider's care. Such documentation shall 

fully disclose the extent of services provided in order to 

support the provider's claims for reimbursement for 

services rendered. All provider documentation about 

individuals in the provider's care shall be written, signed, 

and dated at the time the services are rendered. 

2. Medicaid providers shall provide all requested records to 

DMAS or its designee immediately upon demand or upon 

a timeframe specified in writing by DMAS or its designee. 

3. Notwithstanding any other DMAS regulation, claims 

selected for utilization review shall not be corrected or re-

billed.  

B. DMAS or its designee shall perform utilization reviews 

of all Medicaid services. 

1. A utilization review is initiated when DMAS or its 

designee: 

a. Issues a written notice;  

b. Requests onsite access to records;  

c. Issues a preliminary findings letter; or 

d. Commences a claims analysis. 

2. After a utilization review is initiated, DMAS or its 

designee shall issue a preliminary findings letter. The 

preliminary findings letter shall include a date by which 

the provider may submit any additional documentation. 

DMAS or its designee shall only consider documentation 

identified and submitted by the provider prior to the 

specified deadline. DMAS or its designee shall only 

consider documentation that was created 

contemporaneously with the date of service. 

3. Following a review of documentation submitted 

according to subdivision 2 of this subsection, if any, 

DMAS or its designee shall issue a final overpayment 

letter.  

4. Providers who are determined not to be in compliance 

with DMAS requirements shall be subject to §§ 32.1-312 

and 32.1-313 of the Code of Virginia, 12VAC30-80-130, 

and 12VAC30-90-250 through 12VAC30-90-257 for the 

repayment of any overpayments to DMAS that are 

identified in the final overpayment letter. 

B. C. Some Medicaid covered services require an approved 

service authorization prior to service delivery in order for 

reimbursement to occur. 1. To obtain service authorization, 

all providers' information supplied to the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services (DMAS), service authorization 

contractor, or the behavioral health service authorization 

contractor shall be fully substantiated throughout individuals' 

medical records. 2. Providers shall be required to maintain 

documentation detailing all relevant information about the 

Medicaid individuals who are in providers' care. Such 

documentation shall fully disclose the extent of services 

provided in order to support providers' claims for 

reimbursement for services rendered. This documentation 

shall be written, signed, and dated at the time the services are 

rendered unless specified otherwise.  

C. DMAS, or its designee, shall perform reviews of the 

utilization of all Medicaid covered services pursuant to 42 

CFR 440.260 and 42 CFR Part 456.  

D. DMAS shall recover expenditures made for covered 

services when providers' documentation does not comport 

with standards specified in all applicable regulations. 

E. Providers who are determined not to be in compliance 

with DMAS requirements shall be subject to 12VAC30-80-

130 for the repayment of those overpayments to DMAS. 

F. D. Utilization review requirements specific to the 

community mental health services, as set out in 12VAC30-

50-130 and 12VAC30-50-226, shall be as follows: 
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1. To apply to be reimbursed as a Medicaid provider, the 

required Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (DBHDS) license shall be either a 

full, annual, triennial, or conditional license. Providers 

must be enrolled with DMAS or the BHSA to be 

reimbursed. Once a health care entity has been enrolled as 

a provider, it shall maintain, and update periodically as 

DMAS requires, a current Provider Enrollment Agreement 

for each Medicaid service that the provider offers.  

2. Health care entities with provisional licenses shall not be 

reimbursed as Medicaid providers of community mental 

health services. 

3. Payments shall not be permitted to health care entities 

that either hold provisional licenses or fail to enter into a 

Medicaid Provider Enrollment Agreement for a service 

prior to rendering that service. 

4. The behavioral health service authorization contractor 

shall apply a national standardized set of medical necessity 

criteria in use in the industry, such as McKesson InterQual 

Criteria, or an equivalent standard authorized in advance 

by DMAS. Services that fail to meet medical necessity 

criteria shall be denied service authorization. 

12VAC30-141-570. Utilization control - State Children's 

Health Insurance Program.  

A. Each MCHIP managed care health insurance program 

shall implement a utilization review system as determined by 

contract with DMAS, or administered by DMAS.  

B. For the fee-for-service program, DMAS shall use the 

utilization controls already established and operational in the 

State Plan for Medical Assistance, including those specified 

in 12VAC30-60-5.  

C. DMAS may collect and review comprehensive data to 

monitor utilization after receipt of services.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4492; Filed June 30, 2017, 2:46 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, 

and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services 

(amending 12VAC30-50-130). 

12VAC30-60. Standards Established and Methods Used to 

Assure High Quality Care (amending 12VAC30-60-61). 

12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards for Establishing 

Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (adding 12VAC30-

80-97). 

12VAC30-120. Waivered Services (amending 12VAC30-

120-380).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: September 22, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance and to 

make, adopt, promulgate, and enforce regulations to 

implement the state plan, and § 32.1-324 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes the Director of the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) to administer and amend the 

Plan for Medical Assistance according to the board's 

requirements. The Medicaid authority as established by 

§ 1902(a) of the Social Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) 

provides governing authority for payments for services. 

Section 1905 of the Social Security Act requires state 

Medicaid programs to provide early and periodic screening, 

diagnosis, and treatment (EPSDT) services for individuals 

who are eligible under the plan and are younger than the age 

of 21 years, to include "Such other necessary health care, 

diagnostic services, treatment, and other measures described 

in § 1905(a) to correct or ameliorate defects and physical and 

mental illnesses and conditions discovered by the screening 

services, whether or not such services are covered under the 

State plan." If an individual is determined through an EPSDT 

screening to need a medical service that is not otherwise 

covered in Virginia's State Plan, then this provision in federal 

law requires the Commonwealth to cover that service. 

Behavioral therapy services are an EPSDT service. 

Purpose: The proposed regulatory action is intended to 

promote an improved quality of Medicaid-covered behavioral 

therapy services provided to children and adolescents. The 

proposed regulation will differentiate Medicaid's coverage of 

behavioral therapy and applied behavior analysis services 

from coverage of community mental health and other 

developmental services. This regulatory action is essential to 

protect the health, safety, and welfare of these affected 

individuals and to ensure the quality of services rendered to 

children and adolescents who demonstrate the medical need 

for EPSDT behavioral therapy services. Regulations are 

needed to establish clear criteria for Medicaid payment of 

these services. Regulatory action is needed to ensure that 

Medicaid individuals and their families and service providers 

are well informed about service specifications prior to 

receiving or providing these services. These services will 

allow children receiving services to improve interactions with 

their schools, families, communities, future employers, and 

jobs and thus benefit a broad range of citizens. These 

regulations are not expected to negatively affect the health, 

safety, or welfare of citizens of the Commonwealth. 

Substance: Currently, Medicaid payment for behavioral 

therapy services is being authorized on an individual case 

basis under the authority provided by the basic EPSDT 
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definition found in 12VAC30-50-130 B. The absence of 

consistently applied definitions, service requirements, 

required provider qualifications, and quality assurance 

standards might result in arbitrary decisions that cannot be 

sustained in an appeal. With increasing numbers of children 

being diagnosed with autism and autism spectrum disorders 

in need of such services, the individual-case-basis method of 

covering these services is no longer satisfactory or 

appropriate. 

DMAS proposes to initiate uniform coverage of behavioral 

therapy services for individuals under the age of 21 years who 

meet the medical necessity criteria. Trained professionals 

rendering early intensive treatment, including applied 

behavior analysis techniques, has been shown to be effective 

in ameliorating impairments in major life functions arising 

from autism spectrum disorders and other diagnosed 

conditions. Coverage of EPSDT behavioral therapy services 

will not cause more individuals to be eligible for this service 

but will ensure appropriate treatment of eligible children who 

are already in the care delivery system as well as those 

initiating behavioral therapy services. 

Prior to treatment, an appropriate health care practitioner 

conducts an intake documenting the child's medical and 

psychiatric diagnosis and describing how service needs can 

best be met through behavioral therapy interventions. The 

assessment includes a description of the behavior or 

behaviors targeted for treatment, including data on the 

frequency, duration, and intensity of the behavior or 

behaviors. An individualized service plan (ISP) is developed 

based on the assessment. The ISP describes each targeted 

behavior, the behavioral modification strategy to be used to 

manage each targeted behavior, and the measurement and 

data collection methods to be used for each targeted behavior 

in the plan. 

Behavioral analysis treatment strategies are systematic 

interventions that are primarily provided in the family home. 

Family training and counseling related to the implementation 

of the behavioral therapy shall be included as part of the 

behavioral therapy service. Behavioral therapy may be 

intermittently provided in community settings when approved 

settings are deemed by DMAS or its contractor as medically 

necessary treatment. These services are designed to enhance 

communication skills and decrease maladaptive patterns of 

behavior that, if left untreated, could lead to more complex 

problems and the need for a greater or a more restrictive level 

of care, such as institutionalization. Successful 

implementation of behavioral therapy services requires the 

participation of a parent or guardian. 

The service goal is to ensure that the member's family is 

trained to successfully manage clinically designed behavioral 

modification strategies in the home setting. The family 

involvement in therapy is meant to increase the child's 

adaptive functioning by training the family in effective 

methods of behavioral modification strategies. Family 

members do not have to be present during all hours of 

therapy. Family members must be present and participate 

with their treatment plan objectives in an effective manner as 

documented by the clinical supervisor. 

EPSDT behavioral therapy services are intended to improve 

the functional behaviors of the member by integrating 

multidisciplinary clinical and medical services with the 

behavioral therapy protocol to increase the member's adaptive 

functioning and communicative abilities. Treatment results 

must be documented to indicate a generalization of behaviors 

across different settings to maintain the targeted functioning 

outside of the treatment setting in the patient's residence and 

the larger community within which the individual resides. 

Behavioral therapy services are currently excluded from 

Medicaid managed care contracts and reimbursed by the 

behavioral health services administrator (currently, Magellan) 

on a fee-for-service basis. Technical corrections are made to 

the catchlines of several existing services in 12VAC30-60-61 

to create consistency in regulatory text and improve 

readability. 

Issues: The proposed regulation is advantageous to 

individuals and their families by ensuring that Medicaid 

funded behavioral therapy services are provided by licensed 

practitioners with the education, experience, and clinical 

training necessary to effectively correct or ameliorate 

problematic behaviors through the use of evidence based 

behavior modification principles. Regulatory action will 

ensure that individuals, their families, and service providers 

are well informed about Medicaid service requirements prior 

to receiving or providing these services, thereby avoiding 

DMAS recovery of provider payments made for inappropriate 

or inadequate services. This regulatory action will also 

support the efforts of DMAS and its contractors to provide 

effective care coordination and administrative oversight of 

service delivery by clarifying provider requirements and 

service delivery requirements in the Virginia Administrative 

Code. The primary advantage to the Commonwealth, in the 

setting of these criteria and standards, will be the statewide 

uniform application of policies that should result in fewer 

costly provider appeals and reduced risks for fraud, waste, 

and abuse. There are no disadvantages to the Commonwealth 

for this action. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

proposed regulation establishes in the Virginia Administrative 

Code uniform and specific standards for diagnosis and 

provision of behavioral therapy services under Medicaid for 

young people from birth through the age of 21. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The proposed regulation 

establishes in the Virginia Administrative Code Medicaid 

coverage for behavioral therapy services for young people 
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from birth through the age of 21 under the authority of the 

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment 

program. To be covered for this service, children and 

adolescents must have autism or autism spectrum disorders, 

or other similar developmental delays as demonstrated by 

their lack of communication skills or lack of interaction with 

their environments. 

Prior to 2012 these services were already covered by 

Medicaid, but there were no uniform standards. The coverage 

decisions were made on a case-by-case basis. In 2012, the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) adopted 

a service manual setting out uniform rules for coverage and 

provision of behavioral therapy services (e.g., rules for 

provider enrollment, eligibility criteria, limitations, service 

authorization requirements, etc.). In December 2013, DMAS 

contracted Magellan Health to administer the provision of 

behavioral therapy services. Selection of a behavioral services 

administrator to run the program marked the beginning of a 

significant increase in provision of these services. In fiscal 

year 2013, 524 individuals received these services at a cost of 

approximately $12.2 million. In calendar year 2014, $28.2 

million was spent on services provided to 1,831 individuals. 

In calendar year 2015, the expenditures and recipients 

increased to $41.6 million and 2,313, respectively. In 

calendar year 2016, expenditures stood at $60.6 million and 

the number of recipients was 2,996.  

While the provision of behavioral therapy services has grown 

significantly in the recent past, the impact of the proposed 

regulation on utilization is expected to be neutral. These 

services have been provided according to the uniform 

standards set out in the service manual since 2012. Consistent 

with the service manual, this action specifies in the regulation 

the behavioral service requirements, medical necessity 

criteria, provider clinical assessment and intake procedures, 

service planning and progress measurement requirements, 

care coordination, clinical supervision, and other standards.  

The main effect of the proposed changes is establishing clear 

criteria for Medicaid payment of these services in the Virginia 

Administrative Code and consequently providing legal basis 

for the programs administration. Having clear criteria in 

regulations is also expected to help protect the health, safety, 

and welfare of the affected children by improving the 

uniformity of service quality across providers. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. As of August 2016, 348 

behavioral therapy providers were credentialed with Magellan 

(only 89 of which actively provided services in 2016) and 

there were 488 licensed behavioral analysts and 103 licensed 

assistant behavioral analysts in the Commonwealth. In 2016, 

2,996 individuals received these services. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulation 

does not disproportionally affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No significant impact on 

employment is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No 

significant impact on the use and value of private property is 

expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses: 

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The Department of Medical 

Assistance Services estimates that 90% of the current 

providers are small businesses. The proposed amendments are 

not anticipated to create significant costs or other effects on 

small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments are not anticipated to have an adverse 

impact on small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. DMAS estimates that 10% of the current 

providers are non-small businesses. The proposed 

amendments are not anticipated to create significant costs or 

other effects on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget and raises no 

issues with this analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments establish Medicaid coverage 

for behavioral therapy services for children under the 

authority of the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis 

and Treatment (EPSDT) program. EPSDT is a mandatory 

Medicaid-covered service that offers preventive, 

diagnostic, and treatment health care services to young 

people from birth through the age of 21 years. To be 

covered for this service, a child must have a psychiatric 

diagnosis relevant to the need for behavioral therapy 

services, including autism, autism spectrum disorders, or 

other similar developmental delays and must meet the 

medical necessity criteria. The proposed regulations define 

the behavioral therapy service requirements, medical 

necessity criteria, provider clinical assessment and intake 

procedures, service planning and progress measurement 

requirements, care coordination, clinical supervision, and 

other standards to assure quality. The behavioral therapy 

service will be reimbursed by DMAS outside of the 

Medallion 3 managed care contracts. 
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12VAC30-50-130. Nursing facility services, EPSDT, 

including school health services and family planning. 

A. Nursing facility services (other than services in an 

institution for mental diseases) for individuals 21 years of age 

or older. 

Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 

performed within the scope of a license of the practitioner of 

the healing arts. 

B. Early and periodic screening and diagnosis of individuals 

under 21 years of age, and treatment of conditions found. 

1. Payment of medical assistance services shall be made on 

behalf of individuals under 21 years of age, who are 

Medicaid eligible, for medically necessary stays in acute 

care facilities, and the accompanying attendant physician 

care, in excess of 21 days per admission when such 

services are rendered for the purpose of diagnosis and 

treatment of health conditions identified through a physical 

examination. 

2. Routine physicals and immunizations (except as 

provided through EPSDT) are not covered except that 

well-child examinations in a private physician's office are 

covered for foster children of the local social services 

departments on specific referral from those departments. 

3. Orthoptics services shall only be reimbursed if 

medically necessary to correct a visual defect identified by 

an EPSDT examination or evaluation. The department 

shall place appropriate utilization controls upon this 

service. 

4. Consistent with the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act 

of 1989 § 6403, early and periodic screening, diagnostic, 

and treatment services means the following services: 

screening services, vision services, dental services, hearing 

services, and such other necessary health care, diagnostic 

services, treatment, and other measures described in Social 

Security Act § 1905(a) to correct or ameliorate defects and 

physical and mental illnesses and conditions discovered by 

the screening services and which are medically necessary, 

whether or not such services are covered under the State 

Plan and notwithstanding the limitations, applicable to 

recipients ages 21 and over, provided for by § 1905(a) of 

the Social Security Act. 

5. Community mental health services. These services in 

order to be covered (i) shall meet medical necessity criteria 

based upon diagnoses made by LMHPs who are practicing 

within the scope of their licenses and (ii) are reflected in 

provider records and on providers' claims for services by 

recognized diagnosis codes that support and are consistent 

with the requested professional services. 

a. Definitions. The following words and terms when used 

in this section shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" means personal care activities 

and includes bathing, dressing, transferring, toileting, 

feeding, and eating. 

"Adolescent or child" means the individual receiving the 

services described in this section. For the purpose of the 

use of these terms, adolescent means an individual 12-20 

years of age; a child means an individual from birth up to 

12 years of age.  

"Behavioral health services administrator" or "BHSA" 

means an entity that manages or directs a behavioral health 

benefits program under contract with DMAS.  

"Care coordination" means collaboration and sharing of 

information among health care providers, who are involved 

with an individual's health care, to improve the care.  

"Certified prescreener" means an employee of the local 

community services board or behavioral health authority, 

or its designee, who is skilled in the assessment and 

treatment of mental illness and has completed a 

certification program approved by the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 

"Clinical experience" means providing direct behavioral 

health services on a full-time basis or equivalent hours of 

part-time work to children and adolescents who have 

diagnoses of mental illness and includes supervised 

internships, supervised practicums, and supervised field 

experience for the purpose of Medicaid reimbursement of 

(i) intensive in-home services, (ii) day treatment for 

children and adolescents, (iii) community-based residential 

services for children and adolescents who are younger than 

21 years of age (Level A), or (iv) therapeutic behavioral 

services (Level B). Experience shall not include 

unsupervised internships, unsupervised practicums, and 

unsupervised field experience. The equivalency of part-

time hours to full-time hours for the purpose of this 

requirement shall be as established by DBHDS in the 

document entitled Human Services and Related Fields 

Approved Degrees/Experience, issued March 12, 2013, 

revised May 3, 2013.  

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services and its contractor or contractors. 

"EPSDT" means early and periodic screening, diagnosis, 

and treatment. 

"Human services field" means the same as the term is 

defined by DBHDS in the document entitled Human 

Services and Related Fields Approved 

Degrees/Experience, issued March 12, 2013, revised May 

3, 2013. 

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means the same as the 

term is defined in 12VAC30-50-226.  

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means a 

licensed physician, licensed clinical psychologist, licensed 
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psychiatric nurse practitioner, licensed professional 

counselor, licensed clinical social worker, licensed 

substance abuse treatment practitioner, licensed marriage 

and family therapist, or certified psychiatric clinical nurse 

specialist.  

"LMHP-resident" or "LMHP-R" means the same as 

"resident" as defined in (i) 18VAC115-20-10 for licensed 

professional counselors; (ii) 18VAC115-50-10 for licensed 

marriage and family therapists; or (iii) 18VAC115-60-10 

for licensed substance abuse treatment practitioners. An 

LMHP-resident shall be in continuous compliance with the 

regulatory requirements of the applicable counseling 

profession for supervised practice and shall not perform the 

functions of the LMHP-R or be considered a "resident" 

until the supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific 

site has been preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board 

of Counseling. For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to 

their supervisors for services provided by such residents, 

they shall use the title "Resident" in connection with the 

applicable profession after their signatures to indicate such 

status. 

"LMHP-resident in psychology" or "LMHP-RP" means the 

same as an individual in a residency, as that term is defined 

in 18VAC125-20-10, program for clinical psychologists. 

An LMHP-resident in psychology shall be in continuous 

compliance with the regulatory requirements for 

supervised experience as found in 18VAC125-20-65 and 

shall not perform the functions of the LMHP-RP or be 

considered a "resident" until the supervision for specific 

clinical duties at a specific site has been preapproved in 

writing by the Virginia Board of Psychology. For purposes 

of Medicaid reimbursement by supervisors for services 

provided by such residents, they shall use the title 

"Resident in Psychology" after their signatures to indicate 

such status. 

"LMHP-supervisee in social work," "LMHP-supervisee," 

or "LMHP-S" means the same as "supervisee" as defined 

in 18VAC140-20-10 for licensed clinical social workers. 

An LMHP-supervisee in social work shall be in continuous 

compliance with the regulatory requirements for 

supervised practice as found in 18VAC140-20-50 and shall 

not perform the functions of the LMHP-S or be considered 

a "supervisee" until the supervision for specific clinical 

duties at a specific site is preapproved in writing by the 

Virginia Board of Social Work. For purposes of Medicaid 

reimbursement to their supervisors for services provided 

by supervisees, these persons shall use the title "Supervisee 

in Social Work" after their signatures to indicate such 

status.  

"Progress notes" means individual-specific documentation 

that contains the unique differences particular to the 

individual's circumstances, treatment, and progress that is 

also signed and contemporaneously dated by the provider's 

professional staff who have prepared the notes. 

Individualized and member-specific progress notes are part 

of the minimum documentation requirements and shall 

convey the individual's status, staff interventions, and, as 

appropriate, the individual's progress, or lack of progress, 

toward goals and objectives in the ISP. The progress notes 

shall also include, at a minimum, the name of the service 

rendered, the date of the service rendered, the signature 

and credentials of the person who rendered the service, the 

setting in which the service was rendered, and the amount 

of time or units/hours required to deliver the service. The 

content of each progress note shall corroborate the 

time/units billed. Progress notes shall be documented for 

each service that is billed. 

"Psychoeducation" means (i) a specific form of education 

aimed at helping individuals who have mental illness and 

their family members or caregivers to access clear and 

concise information about mental illness and (ii) a way of 

accessing and learning strategies to deal with mental illness 

and its effects in order to design effective treatment plans 

and strategies.  

"Psychoeducational activities" means systematic 

interventions based on supportive and cognitive behavior 

therapy that emphasizes an individual's and his family's 

needs and focuses on increasing the individual's and 

family's knowledge about mental disorders, adjusting to 

mental illness, communicating and facilitating problem 

solving and increasing coping skills. 

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-C" 

means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-105-

20.  

"Qualified mental health professional-eligible" or "QMHP-

E" means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-

105-20 and consistent with the requirements of 12VAC35-

105-590.  

"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or "QPPMH" 

means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-105-20 

and consistent with the requirements of 12VAC35-105-

1370. 

"Service-specific provider intake" means the face-to-face 

interaction in which the provider obtains information from 

the child or adolescent, and parent or other family member 

or members, as appropriate, about the child's or 

adolescent's mental health status. It includes documented 

history of the severity, intensity, and duration of mental 

health care problems and issues and shall contain all of the 

following elements: (i) the presenting issue/reason for 

referral, (ii) mental health history/hospitalizations, (iii) 

previous interventions by providers and timeframes and 

response to treatment, (iv) medical profile, (v) 

developmental history including history of abuse, if 

appropriate, (vi) educational/vocational status, (vii) current 

living situation and family history and relationships, (viii) 

legal status, (ix) drug and alcohol profile, (x) resources and 

strengths, (xi) mental status exam and profile, (xii) 
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diagnosis, (xiii) professional summary and clinical 

formulation, (xiv) recommended care and treatment goals, 

and (xv) the dated signature of the LMHP, LMHP-

supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-RP.  

"Services provided under arrangement" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC30-130-850. 

b. Intensive in-home services (IIH) to children and 

adolescents under age 21 shall be time-limited 

interventions provided in the individual's residence and 

when clinically necessary in community settings. All 

interventions and the settings of the intervention shall be 

defined in the Individual Service Plan. All IIH services 

shall be designed to specifically improve family 

dynamics, provide modeling, and the clinically necessary 

interventions that increase functional and therapeutic 

interpersonal relations between family members in the 

home. IIH services are designed to promote 

psychoeducational benefits in the home setting of an 

individual who is at risk of being moved into an out-of-

home placement or who is being transitioned to home 

from an out-of-home placement due to a documented 

medical need of the individual. These services provide 

crisis treatment; individual and family counseling; 

communication skills (e.g., counseling to assist the 

individual and his parents or guardians, as appropriate, to 

understand and practice appropriate problem solving, 

anger management, and interpersonal interaction, etc.); 

care coordination with other required services; and 24-

hour emergency response. 

(1) These services shall be limited annually to 26 weeks. 

Service authorization shall be required for Medicaid 

reimbursement prior to the onset of services. Services 

rendered before the date of authorization shall not be 

reimbursed. 

(2) Service authorization shall be required for services to 

continue beyond the initial 26 weeks. 

(3) Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 

the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during 

the entire duration of services. Services based upon 

incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific 

provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 

Requirements for service-specific provider intakes and 

ISPs are set out in this section. 

(4) These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 

QMHP-C, or a QMHP-E. 

c. Therapeutic day treatment (TDT) shall be provided 

two or more hours per day in order to provide therapeutic 

interventions. Day treatment programs, limited annually 

to 780 units, provide evaluation; medication education 

and management; opportunities to learn and use daily 

living skills and to enhance social and interpersonal skills 

(e.g., problem solving, anger management, community 

responsibility, increased impulse control, and appropriate 

peer relations, etc.); and individual, group and family 

counseling.  

(1) Service authorization shall be required for Medicaid 

reimbursement. 

(2) Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 

the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during 

the entire duration of services. Services based upon 

incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific 

provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 

Requirements for service-specific provider intakes and 

ISPs are set out in this section. 

(3) These services may be rendered only by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 

QMHP-C, or a QMHP-E. 

d. Community-based services for children and 

adolescents under 21 years of age (Level A) pursuant to 

42 CFR 440.031(d). 

(1) Such services shall be a combination of therapeutic 

services rendered in a residential setting. The residential 

services will provide structure for daily activities, 

psychoeducation, therapeutic supervision, care 

coordination, and psychiatric treatment to ensure the 

attainment of therapeutic mental health goals as 

identified in the individual service plan (plan of care). 

Individuals qualifying for this service must demonstrate 

medical necessity for the service arising from a condition 

due to mental, behavioral or emotional illness that results 

in significant functional impairments in major life 

activities in the home, school, at work, or in the 

community. The service must reasonably be expected to 

improve the child's condition or prevent regression so 

that the services will no longer be needed. The 

application of a national standardized set of medical 

necessity criteria in use in the industry, such as 

McKesson InterQual
®

 Criteria or an equivalent standard 

authorized in advance by DMAS, shall be required for 

this service. 

(2) In addition to the residential services, the child must 

receive, at least weekly, individual psychotherapy that is 

provided by an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-

resident, or LMHP-RP. 

(3) Individuals shall be discharged from this service 

when other less intensive services may achieve 

stabilization. 

(4) Authorization shall be required for Medicaid 

reimbursement. Services that were rendered before the 

date of service authorization shall not be reimbursed.  

(5) Room and board costs shall not be reimbursed. 

DMAS shall reimburse only for services provided in 

facilities or programs with no more than 16 beds. 

(6) These residential providers must be licensed by the 

Department of Social Services, Department of Juvenile 

Justice, or Department of Behavioral Health and 
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Developmental Services under the Standards for 

Licensed Children's Residential Facilities (22VAC40-

151), Regulation Governing Juvenile Group Homes and 

Halfway Houses (6VAC35-41), or Regulations for 

Children's Residential Facilities (12VAC35-46). 

(7) Daily progress notes shall document a minimum of 

seven psychoeducational activities per week. 

Psychoeducational programming must include, but is not 

limited to, development or maintenance of daily living 

skills, anger management, social skills, family living 

skills, communication skills, stress management, and any 

care coordination activities.  

(8) The facility/group home must coordinate services 

with other providers. Such care coordination shall be 

documented in the individual's medical record. The 

documentation shall include who was contacted, when 

the contact occurred, and what information was 

transmitted. 

(9) Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 

the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during 

the entire duration of services. Services based upon 

incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific 

provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 

Requirements for intakes and ISPs are set out in 

12VAC30-60-61. 

(10) These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 

QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, or a QPPMH. 

e. Therapeutic behavioral services (Level B) pursuant to 

42 CFR 440.130(d). 

(1) Such services must be therapeutic services rendered 

in a residential setting that provide structure for daily 

activities, psychoeducation, therapeutic supervision, care 

coordination, and psychiatric treatment to ensure the 

attainment of therapeutic mental health goals as 

identified in the individual service plan (plan of care). 

Individuals qualifying for this service must demonstrate 

medical necessity for the service arising from a condition 

due to mental, behavioral or emotional illness that results 

in significant functional impairments in major life 

activities in the home, school, at work, or in the 

community. The service must reasonably be expected to 

improve the child's condition or prevent regression so 

that the services will no longer be needed. The 

application of a national standardized set of medical 

necessity criteria in use in the industry, such as 

McKesson InterQual
®
 Criteria, or an equivalent standard 

authorized in advance by DMAS shall be required for 

this service. 

(2) Authorization is required for Medicaid 

reimbursement. Services that are rendered before the date 

of service authorization shall not be reimbursed. 

(3) Room and board costs shall not be reimbursed. 

Facilities that only provide independent living services 

are not reimbursed. DMAS shall reimburse only for 

services provided in facilities or programs with no more 

than 16 beds.  

(4) These residential providers must be licensed by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (DBHDS) under the Regulations for Children's 

Residential Facilities (12VAC35-46). 

(5) Daily progress notes shall document that a minimum 

of seven psychoeducational activities per week occurs. 

Psychoeducational programming must include, but is not 

limited to, development or maintenance of daily living 

skills, anger management, social skills, family living 

skills, communication skills, and stress management. 

This service may be provided in a program setting or a 

community-based group home.  

(6) The individual must receive, at least weekly, 

individual psychotherapy and, at least weekly, group 

psychotherapy that is provided as part of the program.  

(7) Individuals shall be discharged from this service 

when other less intensive services may achieve 

stabilization. 

(8) Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 

the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during 

the entire duration of services. Services that are based 

upon incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific 

provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 

Requirements for intakes and ISPs are set out in 

12VAC30-60-61. 

(9) These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 

QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, or a QPPMH. 

(10) The facility/group home shall coordinate necessary 

services with other providers. Documentation of this care 

coordination shall be maintained by the facility/group 

home in the individual's record. The documentation shall 

include who was contacted, when the contact occurred, 

and what information was transmitted. 

6. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be covered for 

individuals younger than age 21 for medically necessary 

stays in inpatient psychiatric facilities described in 42 CFR 

440.160(b)(1) and (b)(2) for the purpose of diagnosis and 

treatment of mental health and behavioral disorders 

identified under EPSDT when such services are rendered 

by (i) a psychiatric hospital or an inpatient psychiatric 

program in a hospital accredited by the Joint Commission 

on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations or (ii) a 

psychiatric facility that is accredited by the Joint 

Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations 

or the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation 

Facilities. Inpatient psychiatric hospital admissions at 

general acute care hospitals and freestanding psychiatric 
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hospitals shall also be subject to the requirements of 

12VAC30-50-100, 12VAC30-50-105, and 12VAC30-60-

25. Inpatient psychiatric admissions to residential 

treatment facilities shall also be subject to the requirements 

of Part XIV (12VAC30-130-850 et seq.) of 12VAC30-130. 

a. The inpatient psychiatric services benefit for 

individuals younger than 21 years of age shall include 

services defined at 42 CFR 440.160 that are provided 

under the direction of a physician pursuant to a 

certification of medical necessity and plan of care 

developed by an interdisciplinary team of professionals 

and shall involve active treatment designed to achieve the 

child's discharge from inpatient status at the earliest 

possible time. The inpatient psychiatric services benefit 

shall include services provided under arrangement 

furnished by Medicaid enrolled providers other than the 

inpatient psychiatric facility, as long as the inpatient 

psychiatric facility (i) arranges for and oversees the 

provision of all services, (ii) maintains all medical 

records of care furnished to the individual, and (iii) 

ensures that the services are furnished under the direction 

of a physician. Services provided under arrangement 

shall be documented by a written referral from the 

inpatient psychiatric facility. For purposes of pharmacy 

services, a prescription ordered by an employee or 

contractor of the facility who is licensed to prescribe 

drugs shall be considered the referral.  

b. Eligible services provided under arrangement with the 

inpatient psychiatric facility shall vary by provider type 

as described in this subsection. For purposes of this 

section, emergency services means the same as is set out 

in 12VAC30-50-310 B. 

(1) State freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall arrange 

for, maintain records of, and ensure that physicians order 

these services: (i) pharmacy services and (ii) emergency 

services. 

(2) Private freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall 

arrange for, maintain records of, and ensure that 

physicians order these services: (i) medical and 

psychological services including those furnished by 

physicians, licensed mental health professionals, and 

other licensed or certified health professionals (i.e., 

nutritionists, podiatrists, respiratory therapists, and 

substance abuse treatment practitioners); (ii) outpatient 

hospital services; (iii) physical therapy, occupational 

therapy, and therapy for individuals with speech, hearing, 

or language disorders; (iv) laboratory and radiology 

services; (v) vision services; (vi) dental, oral surgery, and 

orthodontic services; (vii) transportation services; and 

(viii) emergency services.  

(3) Residential treatment facilities, as defined at 42 CFR 

483.352, shall arrange for, maintain records of, and 

ensure that physicians order these services: (i) medical 

and psychological services, including those furnished by 

physicians, licensed mental health professionals, and 

other licensed or certified health professionals (i.e., 

nutritionists, podiatrists, respiratory therapists, and 

substance abuse treatment practitioners); (ii) pharmacy 

services; (iii) outpatient hospital services; (iv) physical 

therapy, occupational therapy, and therapy for 

individuals with speech, hearing, or language disorders; 

(v) laboratory and radiology services; (vi) durable 

medical equipment; (vii) vision services; (viii) dental, 

oral surgery, and orthodontic services; (ix) transportation 

services; and (x) emergency services.  

c. Inpatient psychiatric services are reimbursable only 

when the treatment program is fully in compliance with 

(i) 42 CFR Part 441 Subpart D, specifically 42 CFR 

441.151(a) and (b) and 441.152 through 441.156, and (ii) 

the conditions of participation in 42 CFR Part 483 

Subpart G. Each admission must be preauthorized and 

the treatment must meet DMAS requirements for clinical 

necessity. 

d. Service limits may be exceeded based on medical 

necessity for individuals eligible for EPSDT. 

7. Hearing aids shall be reimbursed for individuals younger 

than 21 years of age according to medical necessity when 

provided by practitioners licensed to engage in the practice 

of fitting or dealing in hearing aids under the Code of 

Virginia. 

8. Behavioral therapy services shall be covered for 

individuals under the age of 21 years.  

a. Definitions. The following words and terms when used 

in this subsection shall have the following meanings 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Behavioral therapy" means systematic interventions 

provided by licensed practitioners acting within the scope 

of practice defined under a Virginia Health Professions 

Regulatory Board and covered as remedial care under 

42 CFR 440.130(d) within the home to individuals under 

21 years of age. Behavioral therapy includes applied 

behavioral analysis and is primarily provided in the 

family home. Family counseling and training related to 

the implementation of the behavioral therapy shall be 

included as part of the behavioral therapy service. 

Behavioral therapy services shall be subject to clinical 

reviews and determined as medically necessary. 

Behavioral therapy may be intermittently provided in 

community settings when approved settings are deemed 

by DMAS or its contractor as medically necessary 

treatment. 

"Individual" means the child or adolescent under the age 

of 21 who is receiving behavioral therapy services. 

"Primary care provider" means a licensed medical 

practitioner who provides preventive and primary health 

care and is responsible for providing routine EPSDT 
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screening and referral and coordination of other medical 

services needed by the individual. 

b. Behavioral therapy services shall be designed to 

enhance communication skills and decrease maladaptive 

patterns of behavior, which if left untreated, could lead to 

more complex problems and the need for a greater or a 

more intensive level of care. The service goal shall be to 

ensure the individual's family or caregiver is trained to 

effectively manage the individual's behavior in the home 

using modification strategies. The services shall be 

provided in accordance with the individual service plan 

and clinical assessment summary. 

c. Behavioral therapy services shall be covered when 

recommended by the individual's primary care provider 

or other licensed physician, licensed physician assistant, 

or licensed nurse practitioner and determined by DMAS 

or its contractor to be medically necessary to correct or 

ameliorate significant impairments in major life activities 

that have resulted from either developmental, behavioral, 

or mental disabilities. Criteria for medical necessity are 

set out in 12VAC30-60-61 H. Service-specific provider 

intakes shall be required at the onset of these services in 

order to receive authorization for reimbursement. 

Individual service plans (ISPs) shall be required 

throughout the entire duration of services. The services 

shall be provided in accordance with the individual 

service plan and clinical assessment summary. These 

services shall be provided in settings that are natural or 

normal for a child or adolescent without a disability, such 

as his home, unless there is justification in the ISP, which 

has been authorized for reimbursement, to include 

service settings that promote a generalization of 

behaviors across different settings to maintain the 

targeted functioning outside of the treatment setting in 

the patient's residence and the larger community within 

which the individual resides. Covered behavioral therapy 

services shall include: 

(1) Initial and periodic service-specific provider intake as 

defined in 12VAC30-60-61 H;  

(2) Development of initial and updated ISPs as 

established in 12VAC30-60-61 H;  

(3) Clinical supervision activities. Requirements for 

clinical supervision are set out in 12VAC30-60-61 H; 

(4) Behavioral training to increase the individual's 

adaptive functioning and communication skills;  

(5) Training a family member in behavioral modification 

methods;  

(6) Documentation and analysis of quantifiable 

behavioral data related to the treatment objectives; and 

(7) Care coordination. 

8. 9. Addiction and recovery treatment services shall be 

covered under EPSDT consistent with 12VAC30-130-5000 

et seq. 

C. School health services. 

1. School health assistant services are repealed effective 

July 1, 2006. 

2. School divisions may provide routine well-child 

screening services under the State Plan. Diagnostic and 

treatment services that are otherwise covered under early 

and periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment services, 

shall not be covered for school divisions. School divisions 

to receive reimbursement for the screenings shall be 

enrolled with DMAS as clinic providers. 

a. Children enrolled in managed care organizations shall 

receive screenings from those organizations. School 

divisions shall not receive reimbursement for screenings 

from DMAS for these children. 

b. School-based services are listed in a recipient's 

individualized education program (IEP) and covered 

under one or more of the service categories described in 

§ 1905(a) of the Social Security Act. These services are 

necessary to correct or ameliorate defects of physical or 

mental illnesses or conditions. 

3. Service providers Providers shall be licensed under the 

applicable state practice act or comparable licensing 

criteria by the Virginia Department of Education, and shall 

meet applicable qualifications under 42 CFR Part 440. 

Identification of defects, illnesses or conditions and 

services necessary to correct or ameliorate them shall be 

performed by practitioners qualified to make those 

determinations within their licensed scope of practice, 

either as a member of the IEP team or by a qualified 

practitioner outside the IEP team. 

a. Service providers Providers shall be employed by the 

school division or under contract to the school division.  

b. Supervision of services by providers recognized in 

subdivision 4 of this subsection shall occur as allowed 

under federal regulations and consistent with Virginia 

law, regulations, and DMAS provider manuals.  

c. The services described in subdivision 4 of this 

subsection shall be delivered by school providers, but 

may also be available in the community from other 

providers. 

d. Services in this subsection are subject to utilization 

control as provided under 42 CFR Parts 455 and 456.  

e. The IEP shall determine whether or not the services 

described in subdivision 4 of this subsection are 

medically necessary and that the treatment prescribed is 

in accordance with standards of medical practice. 

Medical necessity is defined as services ordered by IEP 

providers. The IEP providers are qualified Medicaid 

providers to make the medical necessity determination in 

accordance with their scope of practice. The services 

must be described as to the amount, duration and scope.  
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4. Covered services include: 

a. Physical therapy, occupational therapy and services for 

individuals with speech, hearing, and language disorders, 

performed by, or under the direction of, providers who 

meet the qualifications set forth at 42 CFR 440.110. This 

coverage includes audiology services; 

b. Skilled nursing services are covered under 42 CFR 

440.60. These services are to be rendered in accordance 

to the licensing standards and criteria of the Virginia 

Board of Nursing. Nursing services are to be provided by 

licensed registered nurses or licensed practical nurses but 

may be delegated by licensed registered nurses in 

accordance with the regulations of the Virginia Board of 

Nursing, especially the section on delegation of nursing 

tasks and procedures. The licensed practical nurse is 

under the supervision of a registered nurse.  

(1) The coverage of skilled nursing services shall be of a 

level of complexity and sophistication (based on 

assessment, planning, implementation and evaluation) 

that is consistent with skilled nursing services when 

performed by a licensed registered nurse or a licensed 

practical nurse. These skilled nursing services shall 

include, but not necessarily be limited to dressing 

changes, maintaining patent airways, medication 

administration/monitoring and urinary catheterizations.  

(2) Skilled nursing services shall be directly and 

specifically related to an active, written plan of care 

developed by a registered nurse that is based on a written 

order from a physician, physician assistant or nurse 

practitioner for skilled nursing services. This order shall 

be recertified on an annual basis.  

c. Psychiatric and psychological services performed by 

licensed practitioners within the scope of practice are 

defined under state law or regulations and covered as 

physicians' services under 42 CFR 440.50 or medical or 

other remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. These 

outpatient services include individual medical 

psychotherapy, group medical psychotherapy coverage, 

and family medical psychotherapy. Psychological and 

neuropsychological testing are allowed when done for 

purposes other than educational diagnosis, school 

admission, evaluation of an individual with intellectual 

disability prior to admission to a nursing facility, or any 

placement issue. These services are covered in the 

nonschool settings also. School providers who may 

render these services when licensed by the state include 

psychiatrists, licensed clinical psychologists, school 

psychologists, licensed clinical social workers, 

professional counselors, psychiatric clinical nurse 

specialists, marriage and family therapists, and school 

social workers. 

d. Personal care services are covered under 42 CFR 

440.167 and performed by persons qualified under this 

subsection. The personal care assistant is supervised by a 

DMAS recognized school-based health professional who 

is acting within the scope of licensure. This practitioner 

develops a written plan for meeting the needs of the 

child, which is implemented by the assistant. The 

assistant must have qualifications comparable to those 

for other personal care aides recognized by the Virginia 

Department of Medical Assistance Services. The 

assistant performs services such as assisting with 

toileting, ambulation, and eating. The assistant may serve 

as an aide on a specially adapted school vehicle that 

enables transportation to or from the school or school 

contracted provider on days when the student is receiving 

a Medicaid-covered service under the IEP. Children 

requiring an aide during transportation on a specially 

adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the IEP. 

e. Medical evaluation services are covered as physicians' 

services under 42 CFR 440.50 or as medical or other 

remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. Persons performing 

these services shall be licensed physicians, physician 

assistants, or nurse practitioners. These practitioners shall 

identify the nature or extent of a child's medical or other 

health related condition.  

f. Transportation is covered as allowed under 42 CFR 

431.53 and described at State Plan Attachment 3.1-D 

(12VAC30-50-530). Transportation shall be rendered 

only by school division personnel or contractors. 

Transportation is covered for a child who requires 

transportation on a specially adapted school vehicle that 

enables transportation to or from the school or school 

contracted provider on days when the student is receiving 

a Medicaid-covered service under the IEP. 

Transportation shall be listed in the child's IEP. Children 

requiring an aide during transportation on a specially 

adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the IEP.  

g. Assessments are covered as necessary to assess or 

reassess the need for medical services in a child's IEP 

and shall be performed by any of the above licensed 

practitioners within the scope of practice. Assessments 

and reassessments not tied to medical needs of the child 

shall not be covered. 

5. DMAS will ensure through quality management review 

that duplication of services will be monitored. School 

divisions have a responsibility to ensure that if a child is 

receiving additional therapy outside of the school, that 

there will be coordination of services to avoid duplication 

of service.  

D. Family planning services and supplies for individuals of 

child-bearing age. 

1. Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 

performed within the scope of the license of a practitioner 

of the healing arts. 

2. Family planning services shall be defined as those 

services that delay or prevent pregnancy. Coverage of such 

services shall not include services to treat infertility or 
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services to promote fertility. Family planning services shall 

not cover payment for abortion services and no funds shall 

be used to perform, assist, encourage, or make direct 

referrals for abortions. 

3. Family planning services as established by 

§ 1905(a)(4)(C) of the Social Security Act include annual 

family planning exams; cervical cancer screening for 

women; sexually transmitted infection (STI) testing; lab 

services for family planning and STI testing; family 

planning education, counseling, and preconception health; 

sterilization procedures; nonemergency transportation to a 

family planning service; and U.S. Food and Drug 

Administration approved prescription and over-the-counter 

contraceptives, subject to limits in 12VAC30-50-210. 

12VAC30-60-61. Services related to the Early and 

Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment Program 

(EPSDT); community mental health services for children; 

behavioral therapy services for children.  

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this section shall have the following meanings unless the 

context indicates otherwise: 

"At risk" means one or more of the following: (i) within the 

two weeks before the intake, the individual shall be screened 

by an LMHP for escalating behaviors that have put either the 

individual or others at immediate risk of physical injury; (ii) 

the parent/guardian is unable to manage the individual's 

mental, behavioral, or emotional problems in the home and is 

actively, within the past two to four weeks, seeking an out-of-

home placement; (iii) a representative of either a juvenile 

justice agency, a department of social services (either the 

state agency or local agency), a community services 

board/behavioral health authority, the Department of 

Education, or an LMHP, as defined in 12VAC35-105-20, and 

who is neither an employee of nor consultant to the intensive 

in-home (IIH) services or therapeutic day treatment (TDT) 

provider, has recommended an out-of-home placement absent 

an immediate change of behaviors and when unsuccessful 

mental health services are evident; (iv) the individual has a 

history of unsuccessful services (either crisis intervention, 

crisis stabilization, outpatient psychotherapy, outpatient 

substance abuse services, or mental health support) within the 

past 30 days; (v) the treatment team or family assessment 

planning team (FAPT) recommends IIH services or TDT for 

an individual currently who is either: (a) transitioning out of 

residential treatment facility Level C services, (b) 

transitioning out of a group home Level A or B services, (c) 

transitioning out of acute psychiatric hospitalization, or (d) 

transitioning between foster homes, mental health case 

management, crisis intervention, crisis stabilization, 

outpatient psychotherapy, or outpatient substance abuse 

services.  

"Failed services" or "unsuccessful services" means, as 

measured by ongoing behavioral, mental, or physical distress, 

that the service or services did not treat or resolve the 

individual's mental health or behavioral issues. 

"Individual" means the Medicaid-eligible person receiving 

these services and for the purpose of this section includes 

children from birth up to 12 years of age or adolescents ages 

12 through 20 years. 

"Licensed assistant behavior analyst" means a person who 

has met the licensing requirements of 18VAC85-150 and 

holds a valid license issued by the Department of Health 

Professions. 

"Licensed behavior analyst" means a person who has met 

the licensing requirements of 18VAC85-150 and holds a valid 

license issued by the Department of Health Professions. 

"New service" means a community mental health 

rehabilitation service for which the individual does not have a 

current service authorization in effect as of July 17, 2011. 

"Out-of-home placement" means placement in one or more 

of the following: (i) either a Level A or Level B group home; 

(ii) regular foster home if the individual is currently residing 

with his biological family and, due to his behavior problems, 

is at risk of being placed in the custody of the local 

department of social services; (iii) treatment foster care if the 

individual is currently residing with his biological family or a 

regular foster care family and, due to the individual's 

behavioral problems, is at risk of removal to a higher level of 

care; (iv) Level C residential facility; (v) emergency shelter 

for the individual only due either to his mental health or 

behavior or both; (vi) psychiatric hospitalization; or (vii) 

juvenile justice system or incarceration.  

"Service-specific provider intake" means the evaluation that 

is conducted according to the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) intake definition set out in 

12VAC30-50-130. 

B. Utilization review requirements for all services in this 

section. 

1. The services described in this section shall be rendered 

consistent with the definitions, service limits, and 

requirements described in this section and in 12VAC30-

50-130. 

2. Providers shall be required to refund payments made by 

Medicaid if they fail to maintain adequate documentation 

to support billed activities. 

3. Individual service plans (ISPs) shall meet all of the 

requirements set forth in 12VAC30-60-143 B 7. 

C. Intensive Utilization review of intensive in-home (IIH) 

services for children and adolescents.  

1. The service definition for intensive in-home (IIH) 

services is contained in 12VAC30-50-130. 

2. Individuals qualifying for this service shall demonstrate 

a clinical necessity for the service arising from mental, 

behavioral or emotional illness which results in significant 

functional impairments in major life activities. Individuals 
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must meet at least two of the following criteria on a 

continuing or intermittent basis to be authorized for these 

services:  

a. Have difficulty in establishing or maintaining normal 

interpersonal relationships to such a degree that they are 

at risk of hospitalization or out-of-home placement 

because of conflicts with family or community.  

b. Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that documented, 

repeated interventions by the mental health, social 

services or judicial system are or have been necessary.  

c. Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they are 

unable to recognize personal danger or recognize 

significantly inappropriate social behavior.  

3. Prior to admission, an appropriate service-specific 

provider intake, as defined in 12VAC30-50-130, shall be 

conducted by the licensed mental health professional 

(LMHP), LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-

RP, documenting the individual's diagnosis and describing 

how service needs can best be met through intervention 

provided typically but not solely in the individual's 

residence. The service-specific provider intake shall 

describe how the individual's clinical needs put the 

individual at risk of out-of-home placement and shall be 

conducted face-to-face in the individual's residence. 

Claims for services that are based upon service-specific 

provider intakes that are incomplete, outdated (more than 

12 months old), or missing shall not be reimbursed. 

4. An individual service plan (ISP) shall be fully 

completed, signed, and dated by either an LMHP, LMHP-

supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a QMHP-C, or a 

QMHP-E and the individual and individual's 

parent/guardian within 30 days of initiation of services. 

The ISP shall meet all of the requirements as defined in 

12VAC30-50-226. 

5. DMAS shall not reimburse for dates of services in which 

the progress notes are not individualized and child-specific. 

Duplicated progress notes shall not constitute the required 

child-specific individualized progress notes. Each progress 

note shall demonstrate unique differences particular to the 

individual's circumstances, treatment, and progress. Claim 

payments shall be retracted for services that are supported 

by documentation that does not demonstrate unique 

differences particular to the individual.  

6. Services shall be directed toward the treatment of the 

eligible individual and delivered primarily in the family's 

residence with the individual present. As clinically 

indicated, the services may be rendered in the community 

if there is documentation, on that date of service, of the 

necessity of providing services in the community. The 

documentation shall describe how the alternative 

community service location supports the identified clinical 

needs of the individual and describe how it facilitates the 

implementation of the ISP. For services provided outside 

of the home, there shall be documentation reflecting 

therapeutic treatment as set forth in the ISP provided for 

that date of service in the appropriately signed and dated 

progress notes. 

7. These services shall be provided when the clinical needs 

of the individual put him at risk for out-of-home 

placement, as these terms are defined in this section: 

a. When services that are far more intensive than 

outpatient clinic care are required to stabilize the 

individual in the family situation, or  

b. When the individual's residence as the setting for 

services is more likely to be successful than a clinic.  

The service-specific provider intake shall describe how the 

individual meets either subdivision a or b of this 

subdivision. 

8. Services shall not be provided if the individual is no 

longer a resident of the home. 

9. Services shall also be used to facilitate the transition to 

home from an out-of-home placement when services more 

intensive than outpatient clinic care are required for the 

transition to be successful. The individual and responsible 

parent/guardian shall be available and in agreement to 

participate in the transition.  

10. At least one parent/legal guardian or responsible adult 

with whom the individual is living must be willing to 

participate in the intensive in-home services with the goal 

of keeping the individual with the family. In the instance of 

this service, a responsible adult shall be an adult who lives 

in the same household with the child and is responsible for 

engaging in therapy and service-related activities to benefit 

the individual.  

11. The enrolled service provider shall be licensed by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (DBHDS) as a provider of intensive in-home 

services. The provider shall also have a provider 

enrollment agreement with DMAS or its contractor in 

effect prior to the delivery of this service that indicates that 

the provider will offer intensive in-home services. 

12. Services must only be provided by an LMHP, LMHP-

supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, QMHP-C, or 

QMHP-E. Reimbursement shall not be provided for such 

services when they have been rendered by a QPPMH as 

defined in 12VAC35-105-20.  

13. The billing unit for intensive in-home service shall be 

one hour. Although the pattern of service delivery may 

vary, intensive in-home services is an intensive service 

provided to individuals for whom there is an ISP in effect 

which demonstrates the need for a minimum of three hours 

a week of intensive in-home service, and includes a plan 

for service provision of a minimum of three hours of 

service delivery per individual/family per week in the 

initial phase of treatment. It is expected that the pattern of 

service provision may show more intensive services and 

more frequent contact with the individual and family 
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initially with a lessening or tapering off of intensity toward 

the latter weeks of service. Service plans shall incorporate 

an individualized discharge plan that describes transition 

from intensive in-home to less intensive or nonhome based 

services. 

14. The ISP, as defined in 12VAC30-50-226, shall be 

updated as the individual's needs and progress changes and 

signed by either the parent or legal guardian and the 

individual. Documentation shall be provided if the 

individual, who is a minor child, is unable or unwilling to 

sign the ISP. If there is a lapse in services that is greater 

than 31 consecutive calendar days without any 

communications from family members/legal guardian or 

the individual with the service provider, the provider shall 

discharge the individual. If the individual continues to need 

services, then a new intake/admission shall be documented 

and a new service authorization shall be required. 

15. The provider shall ensure that the maximum staff-to-

caseload ratio fully meets the needs of the individual. 

16. If an individual receiving services is also receiving case 

management services pursuant to 12VAC30-50-420 or 

12VAC30-50-430, the service provider shall contact the 

case manager and provide notification of the provision of 

services. In addition, the provider shall send monthly 

updates to the case manager on the individual's status. A 

discharge summary shall be sent to the case manager 

within 30 days of the service discontinuation date. Service 

providers Providers and case managers who are using the 

same electronic health record for the individual shall meet 

requirements for delivery of the notification, monthly 

updates, and discharge summary upon entry of the 

information in the electronic health records.  

17. Emergency assistance shall be available 24 hours per 

day, seven days a week.  

18. Providers shall comply with DMAS marketing 

requirements at 12VAC30-130-2000. Providers that 

DMAS determines violate these marketing requirements 

shall be terminated as a Medicaid provider pursuant to 

12VAC30-130-2000 E.  

19. The provider shall determine who the primary care 

provider is and, upon receiving written consent from the 

individual or guardian, shall inform him of the individual's 

receipt of IIH services. The documentation shall include 

who was contacted, when the contact occurred, and what 

information was transmitted. 

D. Therapeutic Utilization review of therapeutic day 

treatment for children and adolescents.  

1. The service definition for therapeutic day treatment 

(TDT) for children and adolescents is contained in 

12VAC30-50-130.  

2. Therapeutic day treatment is appropriate for children 

and adolescents who meet one of the following:  

a. Children and adolescents who require year-round 

treatment in order to sustain behavior or emotional gains.  

b. Children and adolescents whose behavior and 

emotional problems are so severe they cannot be handled 

in self-contained or resource emotionally disturbed (ED) 

classrooms without:  

(1) This programming during the school day; or  

(2) This programming to supplement the school day or 

school year.  

c. Children and adolescents who would otherwise be 

placed on homebound instruction because of severe 

emotional/behavior problems that interfere with learning.  

d. Children and adolescents who (i) have deficits in 

social skills, peer relations or dealing with authority; (ii) 

are hyperactive; (iii) have poor impulse control; (iv) are 

extremely depressed or marginally connected with 

reality.  

e. Children in preschool enrichment and early 

intervention programs when the children's 

emotional/behavioral problems are so severe that they 

cannot function in these programs without additional 

services.  

3. The service-specific provider intake shall document the 

individual's behavior and describe how the individual 

meets these specific service criteria in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection.  

4. Prior to admission to this service, a service-specific 

provider intake shall be conducted by the LMHP as 

defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

5. An ISP shall be fully completed, signed, and dated by an 

LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 

QMHP-C, or QMHP-E and by the individual or the 

parent/guardian within 30 days of initiation of services and 

shall meet all requirements of an ISP as defined in 

12VAC30-50-226. Individual progress notes shall be 

required for each contact with the individual and shall meet 

all of the requirements as defined in 12VAC30-50-130. 

6. Such services shall not duplicate those services provided 

by the school.  

7. Individuals qualifying for this service shall demonstrate 

a clinical necessity for the service arising from a condition 

due to mental, behavioral or emotional illness which 

results in significant functional impairments in major life 

activities. Individuals shall meet at least two of the 

following criteria on a continuing or intermittent basis:  

a. Have difficulty in establishing or maintaining normal 

interpersonal relationships to such a degree that they are 

at risk of hospitalization or out-of-home placement 

because of conflicts with family or community.  

b. Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that documented, 

repeated interventions by the mental health, social 

services, or judicial system are or have been necessary.  
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c. Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they are 

unable to recognize personal danger or recognize 

significantly inappropriate social behavior.  

8. The enrolled provider of therapeutic day treatment for 

child and adolescent services shall be licensed by DBHDS 

to provide day support services. The provider shall also 

have a provider enrollment agreement in effect with 

DMAS prior to the delivery of this service that indicates 

that the provider offers therapeutic day treatment services 

for children and adolescents.  

9. Services shall be provided by an LMHP, LMHP-

supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, QMHP-C or 

QMHP-E.  

10. The minimum staff-to-individual ratio as defined by 

DBHDS licensing requirements shall ensure that adequate 

staff is available to meet the needs of the individual 

identified on the ISP.  

11. The program shall operate a minimum of two hours per 

day and may offer flexible program hours (i.e., before or 

after school or during the summer). One unit of service 

shall be defined as a minimum of two hours but less than 

three hours in a given day. Two units of service shall be 

defined as a minimum of three but less than five hours in a 

given day. Three units of service shall be defined as five or 

more hours of service in a given day.  

12. Time required for academic instruction when no 

treatment activity is going on shall not be included in the 

billing unit.  

13. Services shall be provided following a service-specific 

provider intake that is conducted by an LMHP, LMHP-

supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-RP. An LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, or LMHP-resident shall make and 

document the diagnosis. The service-specific provider 

intake shall include the elements as defined in 12VAC30-

50-130. 

14. If an individual receiving services is also receiving case 

management services pursuant to 12VAC30-50-420 or 

12VAC30-50-430, the provider shall collaborate with the 

case manager and provide notification of the provision of 

services. In addition, the provider shall send monthly 

updates to the case manager on the individual's status. A 

discharge summary shall be sent to the case manager 

within 30 days of the service discontinuation date. Service 

providers Providers and case managers using the same 

electronic health record for the individual shall meet 

requirements for delivery of the notification, monthly 

updates, and discharge summary upon entry of this 

documentation into the electronic health record.  

15. The provider shall determine who the primary care 

provider is and, upon receiving written consent from the 

individual or parent/legal guardian, shall inform him of the 

child's receipt of community mental health rehabilitative 

services. The documentation shall include who was 

contacted, when the contact occurred, and what 

information was transmitted. The parent/legal guardian 

shall be required to give written consent that this provider 

has permission to inform the primary care provider of the 

child's or adolescent's receipt of community mental health 

rehabilitative services.  

16. Providers shall comply with DMAS marketing 

requirements as set out in 12VAC30-130-2000. Providers 

that DMAS determines have violated these marketing 

requirements shall be terminated as a Medicaid provider 

pursuant to 12VAC30-130-2000 E. 

17. If there is a lapse in services greater than 31 

consecutive calendar days, the provider shall discharge the 

individual. If the individual continues to need services, a 

new intake/admission documentation shall be prepared and 

a new service authorization shall be required. 

E. Community-based Utilization review of community-

based services for children and adolescents under 21 years of 

age (Level A).  

1. The staff ratio must be at least 1 to 6 during the day and 

at least 1 to 10 between 11 p.m. and 7 a.m. The program 

director supervising the program/group home must be, at 

minimum, a QMHP-C or QMHP-E (as defined in 

12VAC35-105-20). The program director must be 

employed full time.  

2. In order for Medicaid reimbursement to be approved, at 

least 50% of the provider's direct care staff at the group 

home must meet DBHDS paraprofessional staff criteria, 

defined in 12VAC35-105-20.  

3. Authorization is required for Medicaid reimbursement. 

All community-based services for children and adolescents 

under 21 (Level A) require authorization prior to 

reimbursement for these services. Reimbursement shall not 

be made for this service when other less intensive services 

may achieve stabilization.  

4. Services must be provided in accordance with an 

individual service plan (ISP), which must be fully 

completed within 30 days of authorization for Medicaid 

reimbursement.  

5. Prior to admission, a service-specific provider intake 

shall be conducted according to DMAS specifications 

described in 12VAC30-50-130. 

6. Such service-specific provider intakes shall be 

performed by an LMHP, an LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-

resident, or LMHP-RP. 

7. If an individual receiving community-based services for 

children and adolescents under 21 (Level A) is also 

receiving case management services, the provider shall 

collaborate with the case manager by notifying the case 

manager of the provision of Level A services and shall 

send monthly updates on the individual's progress. When 

the individual is discharged from Level A services, a 

discharge summary shall be sent to the case manager 
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within 30 days of the service discontinuation date. Service 

providers Providers and case managers who are using the 

same electronic health record for the individual shall meet 

requirements for the delivery of the notification, monthly 

updates, and discharge summary upon entry of this 

documentation into the electronic health record.  

F. Therapeutic Utilization review of therapeutic behavioral 

services for children and adolescents under 21 years of age 

(Level B).  

1. The staff ratio must be at least 1 to 4 during the day and 

at least 1 to 8 between 11 p.m. and 7 a.m. The clinical 

director must be a licensed mental health professional. The 

caseload of the clinical director must not exceed 16 

individuals including all sites for which the same clinical 

director is responsible.  

2. The program director must be full time and be a QMHP-

C or QMHP-E with a bachelor's degree and at least one 

year's clinical experience. 

3. For Medicaid reimbursement to be approved, at least 

50% of the provider's direct care staff at the group home 

shall meet DBHDS paraprofessional staff criteria, as 

defined in 12VAC35-105-20. The program/group home 

must coordinate services with other providers.  

4. All therapeutic behavioral services (Level B) shall be 

authorized prior to reimbursement for these services. 

Services rendered without such prior authorization shall 

not be covered.  

5. Services must be provided in accordance with an ISP, 

which shall be fully completed within 30 days of 

authorization for Medicaid reimbursement.  

6. Prior to admission, a service-specific provider intake 

shall be performed using all elements specified by DMAS 

in 12VAC30-50-130.  

7. Such service-specific provider intakes shall be 

performed by an LMHP, an LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-

resident, or LMHP-RP. 

8. If an individual receiving therapeutic behavioral services 

for children and adolescents under 21 (Level B) is also 

receiving case management services, the therapeutic 

behavioral services provider must collaborate with the care 

coordinator/case manager by notifying him of the 

provision of Level B services and the Level B services 

provider shall send monthly updates on the individual's 

treatment status. When the individual is discharged from 

Level B services, a discharge summary shall be sent to the 

care coordinator/case manager within 30 days of the 

discontinuation date. 

9. The provider shall determine who the primary care 

provider is and, upon receiving written consent from the 

individual or parent/legal guardian, shall inform him of the 

individual's receipt of these Level B services. The 

documentation shall include who was contacted, when the 

contact occurred, and what information was transmitted. If 

these individuals are children or adolescents, then the 

parent/legal guardian shall be required to give written 

consent that this provider has permission to inform the 

primary care provider of the individual's receipt of 

community mental health rehabilitative services.  

G. Utilization review. Utilization reviews for community-

based services for children and adolescents under 21 years of 

age (Level A) and therapeutic behavioral services for children 

and adolescents under 21 years of age (Level B) shall include 

determinations whether providers meet all DMAS 

requirements, including compliance with DMAS marketing 

requirements. Providers that DMAS determines have violated 

the DMAS marketing requirements shall be terminated as a 

Medicaid provider pursuant to 12VAC30-130-2000(E). 

H. Utilization review of behavioral therapy services for 

children.  

1. In order for Medicaid to cover behavioral therapy 

services, the provider shall be enrolled with DMAS or its 

contractor as a Medicaid provider. The provider enrollment 

agreement shall be in effect prior to the delivery of services 

for Medicaid reimbursement. 

2. Behavioral therapy services shall be covered for 

individuals younger than 21 years of age when 

recommended by the individual's primary care provider, 

licensed physician, licensed physician assistant, or licensed 

nurse practitioner and determined by DMAS or its 

contractor to be medically necessary to correct or 

ameliorate significant impairments in major life activities 

that have resulted from either developmental, behavioral, 

or mental disabilities. 

3. Behavioral therapy services require service 

authorization. Services shall be authorized only when 

eligibility and medical necessity criteria are met. 

4. Prior to treatment, an appropriate service-specific 

provider intake shall be conducted, documented, signed, 

and dated by a licensed behavior analyst (LBA), licensed 

assistant behavior analyst (LABA), or LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S, acting within the scope of his 

practice, documenting the individual's diagnosis (including 

a description of the behavior or behaviors targeted for 

treatment with their frequency, duration, and intensity) and 

describing how service needs can best be met through 

behavioral therapy. The service-specific provider intake 

shall be conducted face-to-face in the individual's 

residence with the individual and parent or guardian. A 

new service-specific provider intake shall be conducted 

and documented every three months, or more often if 

needed, to observe the individual and family interaction, 

review clinical data, and revise the ISP as needed. 

5. The ISP shall be developed upon admission to the 

service and reviewed within 30 days of admission to the 

service to ensure that all treatment goals are reflective of 

the individual's clinical needs and shall describe each 

treatment goal, targeted behavior, one or more measurable 
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objectives for each targeted behavior, the behavioral 

modification strategy to be used to manage each targeted 

behavior, the plan for parent or caregiver training, care 

coordination, and the measurement and data collection 

methods to be used for each targeted behavior in the ISP. 

The ISP shall be fully completed, signed, and dated by an 

LBA, LABA, LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S 

and the individual and individual's parent or guardian. The 

ISP shall be reviewed every three months (at the same time 

the service-specific provider intake is conducted and 

documented) and updated as the individual progresses and 

his needs change, but at least annually, and shall be signed 

by either the parent or legal guardian and the individual. 

Documentation shall be provided if the individual, who is a 

minor child, is unable or unwilling to sign the ISP.  

6. Reimbursement for the initial service-specific provider 

intake and the initial ISP shall be limited to five hours 

without service authorization. If additional time is needed 

to complete these documents, service authorization shall be 

required.  

7. Clinical supervision shall be required for Medicaid 

reimbursement of behavioral therapy services that are 

rendered by an LABA, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S 

or unlicensed staff consistent with the scope of practice as 

described by the applicable Virginia Department of Health 

Professions regulatory board. Clinical supervision shall 

occur at least weekly and, as documented in the 

individual's medical record, shall include a review of 

progress notes and data and dialogue with supervised staff 

about the individual’s progress and the effectiveness of the 

ISP. 

8. The following shall not be covered under this service: 

a. Screening to identify physical, mental, or 

developmental conditions that may require evaluation or 

treatment. Screening is covered as an EPSDT service 

provided by the primary care provider and is not covered 

as a behavioral therapy service under this section.  

b. Services other than the initial service-specific provider 

intake that are provided but are not based upon the 

individual's ISP or linked to a service in the ISP. Time 

not actively involved in providing services directed by 

the ISP shall not be reimbursed. 

c. Services that are based upon an incomplete, missing, 

or outdated service-specific provider intake or ISP. 

d. Sessions that are conducted for family support, 

education, recreational, or custodial purposes, including 

respite or child care. 

e. Services that are provided by a provider but are 

rendered primarily by a relative or guardian who is 

legally responsible for the individual's care. 

f. Services that are provided in a clinic or provider's 

office without documented justification for the location 

in the ISP. 

g. Services that are provided in the absence of the 

individual and a parent or other authorized caregiver 

identified in the ISP with the exception of treatment 

review processes described in 12VAC30-60-61 H 11 e, 

care coordination, and clinical supervision.  

h. Services provided by a local education agency. 

i. Provider travel time. 

9. Behavioral therapy services shall not be reimbursed 

concurrently with community mental health services 

described in 12VAC30-50-130 B 5 or 12VAC30-50-226, 

or behavioral, psychological, or psychiatric therapeutic 

consultation described in 12VAC30-120-756, 12VAC30-

120-1000, or 12VAC30-135-320. 

10. If the individual is receiving targeted case management 

services under the Medicaid state plan (defined in 

12VAC30-50-410 through 12VAC30-50-491, the provider 

shall notify the case manager of the provision of behavioral 

therapy services unless the parent or guardian requests that 

the information not be released. In addition, the provider 

shall send monthly updates to the case manager on the 

individual's status pursuant to a valid release of 

information. A discharge summary shall be sent to the case 

manager within 30 days of the service discontinuation date. 

A refusal of the parent or guardian to release information 

shall be documented in the medical record for the date the 

request was discussed. 

11. Other standards to ensure quality of services: 

a. Services shall be delivered only by an LBA, LABA, 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, or clinically 

supervised unlicensed staff consistent with the scope of 

practice as described by the applicable Virginia 

Department of Health Professions regulatory board.  

b. Individual-specific services shall be directed toward 

the treatment of the eligible individual and delivered in 

the family's residence unless an alternative location is 

justified and documented in the ISP. 

c. Individual-specific progress notes shall be created 

contemporaneously with the service activities and shall 

document the name and Medicaid number of each 

individual; the provider's name, signature, and date; and 

time of service. Documentation shall include activities 

provided, length of services provided, the individual's 

reaction to that day's activity, and documentation of the 

individual's and the parent or caregiver's progress toward 

achieving each behavioral objective through analysis and 

reporting of quantifiable behavioral data. Documentation 

shall be prepared to clearly demonstrate efficacy using 

baseline and service-related data that shows clinical 

progress and generalization for the child and family 

members toward the therapy goals as defined in the 

service plan. 

d. Documentation of all billed services shall include the 

amount of time or billable units spent to deliver the 
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service and shall be signed and dated on the date of the 

service by the practitioner rendering the service. 

e. Billable time is permitted for the LBA, LABA, LMHP, 

LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S to better define 

behaviors and develop documentation strategies to 

measure treatment performance and the efficacy of the 

ISP objectives, provided that these activities are 

documented in a progress note as described in 

subdivision 11 c of this subsection. 

12. Failure to comply with any of the requirements in 

12VAC30-50-130 or in this section shall result in 

retraction. 

12VAC30-80-97. Fee-for-service: behavioral therapy 

services under EPSDT. 

A. Payment for behavioral therapy services for individuals 

younger than 21 years of age shall be the lower of the state 

agency fee schedule or actual charge (charge to the general 

public). All private and governmental fee-for-service 

providers shall be reimbursed according to the same 

methodology. The agency's rates were set as of October 1, 

2011, and are effective for services on or after that date until 

rates are revised. Rates are published on the agency's website 

at www.dmas.virginia.gov. 

B. Providers shall be required to refund payments made by 

Medicaid if they fail to maintain adequate documentation to 

support billed activities.  

12VAC30-120-380. MCO responsibilities. 

A. The MCO shall provide, at a minimum, all medically 

necessary covered services provided under the State Plan for 

Medical Assistance and further defined by written DMAS 

regulations, policies and instructions, except as otherwise 

modified or excluded in this part. 

1. Nonemergency services provided by hospital emergency 

departments shall be covered by MCOs in accordance with 

rates negotiated between the MCOs and the hospital 

emergency departments. 

2. Services that shall be provided outside the MCO 

network shall include, but are not limited to, those services 

identified and defined by the contract between DMAS and 

the MCO. Services reimbursed by DMAS include (i) 

dental and orthodontic services for children up to age 21 

years; (ii) for all others, dental services (as described in 

12VAC30-50-190), (iii) school health services, (iv) 

community mental health services (12VAC30-50-130 and 

12VAC30-50-226); (v) early intervention services 

provided pursuant to Part C of the Individuals with 

Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) of 2004 (as defined in 

12VAC30-50-131 and 12VAC30-50-415), and); (vi) long-

term care services provided under the § 1915(c) home-

based and community-based waivers including related 

transportation to such authorized waiver services; and (vii) 

behavioral therapy services as defined in 12VAC30-50-

130. 

3. The MCOs shall pay for emergency services and family 

planning services and supplies whether such services are 

provided inside or outside the MCO network. 

B. EPSDT services shall be covered by the MCO and 

defined by the contract between DMAS and the MCO. The 

MCO shall have the authority to determine the provider of 

service for EPSDT screenings. 

C. The MCOs shall report data to DMAS under the contract 

requirements, which may include data reports, report cards 

for members, and ad hoc quality studies performed by the 

MCO or third parties. 

D. Documentation requirements. 

1. The MCO shall maintain records as required by federal 

and state law and regulation and by DMAS policy. The 

MCO shall furnish such required information to DMAS, 

the Attorney General of Virginia or his authorized 

representatives, or the State Medicaid Fraud Control Unit 

on request and in the form requested. 

2. Each MCO shall have written policies regarding 

member rights and shall comply with any applicable 

federal and state laws that pertain to member rights and 

shall ensure that its staff and affiliated providers take those 

rights into account when furnishing services to members in 

accordance with 42 CFR 438.100. 

3. Providers shall be required to refund payments if they 

fail to maintain adequate documentation to support billed 

activities.  

E. The MCO shall ensure that the health care provided to its 

members meets all applicable federal and state mandates, 

community standards for quality, and standards developed 

pursuant to the DMAS managed care quality program. 

F. The MCOs shall promptly provide or arrange for the 

provision of all required services as specified in the contract 

between the Commonwealth and the MCO. Medical 

evaluations shall be available within 48 hours for urgent care 

and within 30 calendar days for routine care. On-call 

clinicians shall be available 24 hours per day, seven days per 

week. 

G. The MCOs shall meet standards specified by DMAS for 

sufficiency of provider networks as specified in the contract 

between the Commonwealth and the MCO. 

H. Each MCO and its subcontractors shall have in place, and 

follow, written policies and procedures for processing 

requests for initial and continuing authorizations of service. 

Each MCO and its subcontractors shall ensure that any 

decision to deny a service authorization request or to 

authorize a service in an amount, duration, or scope that is 

less than requested, be made by a health care professional 

who has appropriate clinical expertise in treating the 

member's condition or disease. Each MCO and its 

subcontractors shall have in effect mechanisms to ensure 

consistent application of review criteria for authorization 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/
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decisions and shall consult with the requesting provider when 

appropriate. 

I. In accordance with 42 CFR 447.50 through 42 CFR 

447.60, MCOs shall not impose any cost sharing obligations 

on members except as set forth in 12VAC30-20-150 and 

12VAC30-20-160. 

J. An MCO may not prohibit, or otherwise restrict, a health 

care professional acting within the lawful scope of practice, 

from advising or advocating on behalf of a member who is 

his patient in accordance with 42 CFR 438.102. 

K. An MCO that would otherwise be required to reimburse 

for or provide coverage of a counseling or referral service is 

not required to do so if the MCO objects to the service on 

moral or religious grounds and furnishes information about 

the service it does not cover in accordance with 42 CFR 

438.102. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3527; Filed June 30, 2017, 3:41 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-50. Boiler and Pressure 

Vessel Regulations (amending 16VAC25-50-10, 16VAC25-

50-20, 16VAC25-50-30, 16VAC25-50-260, 16VAC25-50-

280, 16VAC25-50-300, 16VAC25-50-330, 16VAC25-50-

360, 16VAC25-50-370, 16VAC25-50-380, 16VAC25-50-

430, 16VAC25-50-460, 16VAC25-50-540).  

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-51.6 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

July 27, 2017 - 10 a.m. - South Main Street Centre, 600 

East Main Street, 12th Floor Conference Room, Richmond, 

VA 23219 

Public Comment Deadline: September 22, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Ed Hilton, Director, Boiler Safety 

Compliance, Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street 

Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-3169, FAX (804) 371-2324, or email 

ed.hilton@doli.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Safety and Health Codes Board is authorized by 

§ 40.1-51 of the Code of Virginia to formulate definitions, 

rules, regulations, and standards that are designed for the 

protection of human life and property from the unsafe or 

dangerous construction, installation, inspection, operation, 

maintenance, and repair of boilers and pressure vessels in the 

Commonwealth.  

Purpose: The purpose of this proposed regulatory action is to 

provide increased protection of human life, both employee 

safety and public safety, and property from the unsafe or 

dangerous construction, installation, inspection, operation, 

and repair of boilers and pressure vessels in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia by complying with the most 

recent editions of industry required guidance documents. 

Substance: The proposed amendments update the regulations 

to the most recent editions of certain national standards and 

forms, as listed below:  

Standards 

Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, ASME Code, 2015, 

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) 

ANSI/NB 23, National Board Inspection Code, 2015, 

National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors 

ASME B31.1, ASME Code for Power Piping, 2014, 

American National Standards Institute 

NFPA 85, Boiler and Combustion Systems Hazards, 2015, 

National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 

Part CG (General), Part CW (Steam and Waterside 

Control) and Part CF (Combustion Side Control) Flame 

Safeguard of ANSI/ASME CSD-1, Controls and Safety 

Devices for Automatically Fired Boilers, 2012, American 

Society of Mechanical Engineers 

API 510, Pressure Vessel Inspection Code, Maintenance 

Inspection, Rating, Repair and Alteration, Tenth Edition, 

May 2014, American Petroleum Institute 

Forms 

Form R-1, Report of Repair, National Board Inspection 

Code (NBIC) NB-66 (rev.13 6/25/15) 

Form R-2, Report of Alteration, National Board Inspection 

Code NB-229 (rev.7 11/12/15) 

Form R-3, Report of Parts Fabricated By Welding, 

National Board Inspection Code NB-230 (rev.3 9/24/15) 

Form R-4, Report Supplementary Sheet, National Board 

Inspection Code NB-231 (9/23/15).  

Issues: The primary advantages to the public are the use of 

the latest editions of publications required for use by the 

boiler and pressure vessel industry and consistency with 

national references. These changes are deemed necessary to 

update the proposed regulations to the current editions of 

ASME, NBIC, and NFPA safety and inspection codes that are 

incorporated by reference into the Commonwealth's Boiler 

and Pressure Vessel Rules and Regulations. The most current 

editions of required documents, which contain the latest 

technological information, will provide both increased 

protection of human life (both employee safety and public 

safety) as well as protecting property from unsafe or 

dangerous construction, installation, inspection, operation, 

and repair of boilers and pressure vessels in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. Companies that utilize the 

ASME, NBIC, and NFPA safety and inspection codes for 

construction or repair are already required to have and work 

to the latest editions of these codes. The proposed regulation 

causes no known disadvantages to private citizens or 

businesses. 
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The primary advantage for the Commonwealth associated 

with this proposed regulatory action is the use of the latest 

editions of the aforementioned publications for consistency 

with the boiler and pressure vessel industry nationwide. 

Virginia companies that utilize the ASME, NBIC, and NFPA 

safety and inspection codes for construction or repair are 

already required to have and work to the latest editions of 

these codes. The proposed regulation causes no known 

disadvantages to the Commonwealth. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 

proposed regulatory action serves as the report of the findings 

of the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As the 

result of a periodic review,
1
 the Safety and Health Codes 

Board (Board) proposes to adopt the most current versions of 

several documents incorporated by reference that set out 

boiler and pressure vessel standards, as well as several forms.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Board proposes to adopt the 

following most recent published editions of safety and 

inspection codes already incorporated by reference into the 

regulation: 

• 2015 Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, ASME Code, 

American Society of Mechanical 

Engineers; 

• ANSI/NB 23, 2015 National Board Inspection Code, 

National Board of Boiler and 

Pressure Vessel Inspectors; 

• ASME B31.1, ASME Code for Power Piping, American 

National Standards Institute, 

2014; 

• NFPA 85 Boiler and Combustion Systems Hazards, 2015 

Edition, National Fire 

Protection Association; 

• Part CG (General), Part CW (Steam and Waterside Control) 

and Part CF (Combustion 

Side Control) Flame Safeguard of ANSI/ASME CSD-1, 

Controls and Safety Devices for 

Automatically Fired Boilers, 2012, American Society of 

Mechanical Engineers; and 

• API510, Pressure Vessel Inspection Code, Maintenance 

Inspection, Rating, Repair and 

Alteration, Tenth Edition, May 2014, American Petroleum 

Institute. 

These documents have not been updated in the regulation 

since 2008. The Department of Labor and Industry (DOLI) 

reports that the difference between the current and updated 

standards reflect the most recent technology available and 

will provide increased protection to human life and property. 

For the most part the updated standards do not increase costs 

for affected firms. The new standards specifically would 

require that new businesses with carbon dioxide (CO2) tanks 

for liquid beverage dispensers have signs and CO2 

meters/alarms.
2
   

CO2 storage safety meters/alarms protect customers, 

employees and emergency first-responders near stored carbon 

dioxide. A leak anywhere in a stored CO2 delivery system can 

quickly fill an enclosed area with potentially dangerous CO2 

levels. Higher concentrations of CO2 can affect respiratory 

function and cause excitation followed by depression of the 

central nervous system. A high concentration can displace 

oxygen in the air. If less oxygen is available to breathe, 

symptoms such as rapid breathing, rapid heart rate, 

clumsiness, emotional upsets and fatigue can result. As less 

oxygen becomes available, nausea and vomiting, collapse, 

convulsions, coma and death can occur. Lack of oxygen can 

cause permanent damage to organs including the brain and 

heart.
3
  

CO2 storage safety meters/alarms (and signage) that meet the 

proposed standards would cost approximately $500.
4
 Given 

the potential health risks of undetected CO2 as described 

above, the benefits of the proposed requiring of CO2 storage 

safety meters/alarms and informative signage likely exceeds 

the cost. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

potentially affect businesses that manufacture, repair, own, or 

operate boilers or pressure vessels. DOLI estimates that there 

are approximately 25,000 small businesses among these types 

of firms. New businesses with CO2 tanks for liquid beverage 

dispensers, such as restaurants, convenience stores, breweries, 

etc., would be particularly affected.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

would likely increase the demand for CO2 storage safety 

meters/alarms. The firms that manufacture and/or sell them 

may commensurately increase employment.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment does not significantly affect the use and 

value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments require 

that new small businesses that have CO2 tanks for liquid 
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beverage dispensers have signs and CO2 meters/alarms. This 

would increase costs for such small firms (restaurants, 

convenience stores, breweries, etc.) by about $500 for each 

area that has CO2 tanks for liquid beverage dispensers.
5
  

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no apparent alternative method that meets the intended safety 

goals at a lower cost.  

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments require that new 

businesses that have CO2 tanks for liquid beverage dispensers 

have signs and CO2 meters/alarms. This would increase costs 

for such firms (restaurants, convenience stores, breweries, 

etc.) by about $500 for each area that has CO2 tanks for liquid 

beverage dispensers.
6
  

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect other entities. 

 
1 http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1496  
2 Virginia companies that utilize ASME, NBIC, and NFPA standards are 

already required to comply with the proposed standards. 
3 Source: Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety: 

https://www.ccohs.ca/oshanswers/chemicals/chem_profiles/carbon_dioxide.h

tml 
4 https://www.co2meter.com/products/remote-co2-storage-safety-alarm-ip65 

viewed on April 20, 2017. 
5 Ibid 
6 Ibid 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Labor and Industry has no additional comment 

in response to the economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulatory action incorporates the most 

recent editions of nationally recognized model codes and 

forms produced by the American Society of Mechanical 

Engineers, the National Board of Boiler and Pressure 

Vessel Inspectors, and other standard-writing groups into 

the safety and inspection regulations for boilers and 

pressure vessels. 

Part I  

Definitions  

16VAC25-50-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Act" means the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Safety Act, 

Chapter 3.1 (§ 40.1-51.5 et seq.) of Title 40.1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Alteration" means any change in the item described on the 

original Manufacturers' Data Report which affects the 

pressure containing capability of the boiler or pressure vessel. 

Non-physical changes, such as an increase in the maximum 

allowable working pressure (internal or external) or design 

temperature of a boiler or pressure vessel, shall be considered 

an alteration. A reduction in minimum temperature such that 

additional mechanical tests are required shall also be 

considered an alteration.  

"ANSI/ASME CSD-1" means ASME CSD-1-2012, Controls 

and Safety Devices for Automatically Fired Boilers, 2012 

Edition, American Society of Mechanical Engineers.  

"API-510" means API-510, Pressure Vessel Inspection 

Code: In-Service Inspection, Rating, Repair, and Alteration, 

Tenth Edition, May 2014, American Petroleum Institute.  

"Approved" means acceptable to the board, commissioner or 

chief inspector as applicable.  

"ASME B31" means ASME B31.1-2014, Power Piping, an 

International Piping Code, The American Society of 

Mechanical Engineers. 

"ASME Code" means the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code 

of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers approved 

and adopted by the governing council of such society and 

approved and adopted by the board.  

"Authorized inspection agency" means one of the following:  

a. A department or division established by a state, 

commonwealth or municipality of the United States, or a 

province of Canada, which has adopted one or more 

sections of the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code of the 

ASME Code and whose inspectors hold valid commissions 

with the National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel 

Inspectors; or equivalent qualifications as defined and set 

forth in 16VAC25-50-50 and 16VAC25-50-70;  

b. An inspection agency of an insurance company which is 

authorized (licensed) to write boiler and pressure vessel 

insurance in those jurisdictions which have examined the 

agency's inspectors to represent such jurisdictions as is 

evident by the issuance of a valid certificate of competency 

to the inspector;  

c. An owner-user inspection agency as defined in this 

section; or  

d. A contract fee inspector.  

"Board" means the Virginia Safety and Health Codes Board.  

"Boiler" means a closed vessel in which water is heated, 

steam is generated, steam is superheated, or any combination 

of them, under pressure or vacuum for use externally to itself 

by the direct application of heat. The term "boiler" shall 

include fired units for heating or vaporizing liquids other than 

water where these units are separate from processing systems 

and are complete within themselves.  

"Certificate of competency" means a certificate issued by 

the commissioner to a person who has passed the prescribed 

examination as provided in 16VAC25-50-50. See §§ 40.1-

51.9 and 40.1-51:9:1 40.1-51.9:1 of the Act.  

http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1496
https://www.ccohs.ca/oshanswers/chemicals/chem_profiles/carbon_dioxide.html
https://www.ccohs.ca/oshanswers/chemicals/chem_profiles/carbon_dioxide.html
https://www.co2meter.com/products/remote-co2-storage-safety-alarm-ip65
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"Certificate inspection" means an inspection, the report of 

which is used by the chief inspector to decide whether or not 

a certificate, as provided for in § 40.1-51.10 of the Act may 

be issued. This certificate inspection shall be an internal 

inspection when required; otherwise, it shall be as complete 

an inspection as possible.  

"Chief inspector" means the chief boiler and pressure vessel 

inspector of the Commonwealth.  

"Commission, National Board" means the commission 

issued by the National Board to a holder of a Certificate of 

Competency for the purpose of conducting inspections in the 

Commonwealth in accordance with the National Board 

Bylaws and this chapter. The employer must submit the 

inspector's application to the National Board for a 

commission.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 

Department of Labor and Industry.  

"Commonwealth inspector" means any agent appointed by 

the commissioner under the provisions of § 40.1-51.9 of the 

Act.  

"Condemned boiler or pressure vessel" means a boiler or 

pressure vessel that has been inspected and declared unsafe 

for use or disqualified by legal requirements and to which a 

stamping or marking designating its condemnation has been 

applied by the chief or commonwealth inspector.  

"Current edition of the ASME Code" means the 2015 

Edition of the ASME Code, which has been adopted by the 

Safety and Health Codes Board. 

"Department" means the Department of Labor and Industry.  

"Division" means the Boiler Safety Enforcement Division of 

the Department of Labor and Industry.  

"Electric boiler" means a boiler in which the source of heat 

is electricity.  

"Examining board" means persons appointed by the chief 

inspector to monitor examinations of inspectors.  

"Existing installation" means and includes any boiler or 

pressure vessel constructed, installed, placed in operation or 

contracted for before July 1, 1974.  

"External inspection" means an inspection of the exterior of 

the boiler or pressure vessel and its appliances when the item 

is in operation.  

"Heating boiler" means a steam or vapor boiler operating at 

pressures not exceeding 15 psig, or a hot water boiler 

operating at pressures not exceeding 160 psig or temperature 

not exceeding 250°F at or near the boiler outlet.  

"High-pressure, high-temperature water boiler" means a 

water boiler operating at pressures exceeding 160 psig or 

temperatures exceeding 250°F at or near the boiler outlet.  

"Hobby boiler" means a steam boiler which serves no 

commercial purpose and is used solely for hobby or display 

and operated solely for the enjoyment of the owner.  

"Hot water supply boiler" means a boiler furnishing hot 

water to be used externally to itself at pressures not exceeding 

160 psig or temperatures not exceeding 250°F at or near the 

boiler outlet, with the exception of boilers which are directly 

fired by oil, gas or electricity where none of the following 

limitations are is exceeded:  

a. Heat input of 200,000 BTU per hour;  

b. Water temperature of 210°F; or  

c. Nominal water containing capacity of 120 gallons.  

"Hot water supply storage tanks" means those heated by 

steam or any other indirect means where any one of the 

following limitations are is exceeded:  

a. Heat input of 200,000 BTU per hour;  

b. Water temperature of 210°F; or  

c. Nominal water containing capacity of 120 gallons.  

"Inspection certificate" means a certificate issued by the 

chief inspector for the operation of a boiler or pressure vessel.  

"Inspector" means the chief inspector, commonwealth 

inspector or special inspector.  

"Internal inspection" means a complete examination of the 

internal and external surfaces of a boiler or pressure vessel 

and its appliances while it is shut down and manhole plates, 

handhole plates or other inspection openings removed.  

"Lap seam crack" means a failure in a lap joint extending 

parallel to the longitudinal joint and located either between or 

adjacent to rivet holes.  

"Miniature boiler" means any boiler which does not exceed 

any one of the following limits:  

a. 16 inches inside diameter of shell;  

b. 20 square feet heating surface;  

c. 5 cubic feet gross volume, exclusive of casing and 

insulation; or  

d. 100 psig maximum allowable working pressure.  

"National Board" means the National Board of Boiler and 

Pressure Vessel Inspectors, 1055 Crupper Avenue, 

Columbus, OH 43229, whose membership is composed of the 

chief inspectors of government jurisdictions who are charged 

with the enforcement of the provisions of the ASME Code.  

"National Board Inspection Code" means the manual for 

boiler and pressure vessel inspectors published by the 

National Board. Copies of this code may be obtained from the 

National Board NB-23, the National Board Inspection Code, 

2015 Edition, The National Board of Boiler Pressure Vessel 

Inspectors.  

"National Fire Protection Association No. 85" means the 

NFPA
® 

85, Boiler and Combustion Systems Hazards Code, 

2015 Edition, National Fire Protection Association. 

"New boiler or pressure vessel installation" means all boilers 

or pressure vessels constructed, installed, placed in operation 

or contracted for after July 1, 1974.  
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"NFPA" means the National Fire Protection Association.  

"Nonstandard boiler or pressure vessel" means a boiler or 

pressure vessel that does not bear the stamp of 

Commonwealth of Virginia, the ASME stamp or the National 

Board stamp when applicable.  

"Owner or user" means any person, partnership, firm or 

corporation who is legally responsible for the safe operation 

of a boiler or pressure vessel within the Commonwealth.  

"Owner-user inspection agency" means any person, 

partnership, firm or corporation registered with the chief 

inspector and approved by the board as being legally 

responsible for inspecting pressure vessels which they operate 

in this Commonwealth.  

"Portable boiler" means an internally fired boiler which is 

primarily intended for temporary location and whose 

construction and usage permit it to be readily moved from 

one location to another.  

"Power boiler" means a boiler in which steam or other vapor 

is generated at a pressure of more than 15 psig.  

"Pressure vessel" means a vessel in which the pressure is 

obtained from an external source, or by the application of heat 

from an indirect source, or from a direct source, other than 

those boilers defined in Part I (16VAC25-50-10 et seq.) of 

this chapter.  

"PSIG" means pounds per square inch gauge.  

"R Certificate of Authorization" means an authorization 

issued by the National Board for the repair and alteration of 

boilers and pressure vessels.  

"Reinstalled boiler or pressure vessel" means a boiler or 

pressure vessel removed from its original setting and 

reinstalled at the same location or at a new location.  

"Repair" means work necessary to return a boiler or pressure 

vessel to a safe and satisfactory operating condition, provided 

there is no deviation from the original design.  

"Secondhand boiler or pressure vessel" means a boiler or 

pressure vessel which has changed both location and 

ownership since the last certificate inspection.  

"Special inspector" means an inspector holding a Virginia 

Certificate of Competency, and who is regularly employed by 

an insurance company authorized (licensed) to write boiler 

and pressure vessel insurance in this Commonwealth, an 

inspector continuously employed by any company operating 

pressure vessels in this Commonwealth used or to be used by 

the company, or a contract fee inspector.  

"Standard boiler or pressure vessel" means a boiler or 

pressure vessel which bears the stamp of the Commonwealth 

of Virginia, the ASME Code stamp and the National Board 

stamp when applicable.  

"Underwriters' Laboratories" means Underwriters' 

Laboratories, Inc., 333 Pfingsten Road, Northbrook, Illinois 

60062, which is a nonprofit, independent organization testing 

for public safety. It maintains and operates laboratories for 

the examination and testing of devices, systems, and materials 

to determine their relation to life, fire, casualty hazards and 

crime prevention.  

"VR Certificate of Authorization" means an authorization 

issued by the National Board for the repair of pressure relief 

valves.  

"Water heater" means a vessel used to supply: (i) potable hot 

water; or (ii) both space heat and potable water in 

combination which is directly heated by the combustion of 

fuels, electricity, or any other source and withdrawn for use 

external to the system at pressures not to exceed 160 psi or 

temperatures of 210°F. This term also includes fired storage 

water heaters defined by the Virginia Uniform Statewide 

Building Code as a "water heater."  

Part II  

Administration  

16VAC25-50-20. Minimum construction standards for 

boilers and pressure vessels.  

A. Boilers and pressure vessels to be installed for operation 

in this Commonwealth shall be designed, constructed, 

inspected, stamped and installed in accordance with the 

applicable ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code including 

all addenda and applicable code case(s) cases, other 

international construction standards which are acceptable to 

the chief inspector, and this chapter.  

B. Boilers and pressure vessels shall bear the National Board 

stamping, except cast iron boilers and UM vessels. A copy of 

the Manufacturers' Data Report, signed by the manufacturer's 

representative and the National Board commissioned 

inspector, shall be filed by the owner or user with the chief 

inspector prior to its operation in the Commonwealth.  

C. Pressure piping -- (including welded piping) -- Piping 

external to power boilers extending from the boiler to the first 

stop valve of a single boiler, and to the second stop valve in a 

battery of two or more boilers is subject to the requirements 

of the current edition of the ASME Power Boiler Code, 

Section I and the design, fabrication, installation and testing 

of the valves and piping shall be in conformity with the 

applicable paragraphs of the current edition of the ASME 

Code, Section I. Applicable ASME data report forms for this 

piping shall be furnished by the owner to the chief inspector. 

Construction rules for materials, design, fabrication, 

installation and testing both for the boiler external piping and 

the power piping beyond the valve or valves required by the 

current edition of the ASME Power Boiler Code, Section I, 

are referenced in ANSI ASME B31.1, Power piping, and the 

code ASME Code.  

D. Boilers and pressure vessels brought into the 

Commonwealth and not meeting code ASME Code 

requirements shall not be operated unless the owner/user is 

granted a variance in accordance with § 40.1-51.19 of the 

Act.  
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The request for variance shall include all documentation 

related to the boiler or pressure vessel that will provide 

evidence of equivalent fabrication standards, i.e., design 

specification, calculations, material specifications, detailed 

construction drawings, fabrication and inspection procedures 

and qualification records, examination, inspection and test 

records, and any available manufacturers' data report.  

In order to facilitate such a variance approval, the 

submission of documentation, in the English language and in 

current U.S. standard units of measure would be helpful. The 

following list of documents, while not all inclusive, would be 

useful in providing evidence of safety equivalent to ASME 

Code construction:  

1. List of materials used for each pressure part;  

2. The design calculations to determine the maximum 

allowable working pressure in accordance with the ASME 

Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, applicable section, 

edition and addenda;  

3. The design code used and the source of stress values for 

the materials used in the design calculations;  

4. The welding procedures used and the qualification 

records for each procedure;  

5. The material identification for each type of welding 

material used;  

6. The performance qualification records for each welder 

or welding operator used in the construction of the boiler 

or pressure vessel;  

7. The extent of any nondestructive examination (NDE) 

performed and the qualification records of NDE operators;  

8. Record of final pressure test signed by a third party 

inspector;  

9. Name and organization of the third party inspection 

agency;  

10. A certification from a licensed professional engineer 

stating that the boiler or pressure vessel has been 

constructed to a standard providing equivalent safety to 

that of the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code. A 

signature, date and seal of the certifying engineer is are 

required;  

11. Where applicable, a matrix of differences between the 

actual construction of the boiler or pressure vessel for 

which a variance is requested and a similar boiler or 

pressure vessel that is code ASME Code stamped; and  

12. Where applicable, a letter from an insurance company 

stating that it will insure the boiler or pressure vessel.  

After notification of a violation of these rules and 

regulations this chapter, an owner/user desiring a variance 

shall submit a request for variance within 30 days.  

The chief inspector shall respond to any request for a 

variance within 30 days of receipt of all required 

documentation, and shall submit a recommendation to the 

commissioner, who will make the decision on the variance.  

E. Before secondhand equipment is installed, application for 

permission to install shall be filed by the owner or user with 

the chief inspector and approval obtained.  

F. Electric boilers, subject to the requirements of the Act and 

this chapter, shall bear the Underwriters' Laboratories label 

on the completed unit or assembly by the manufacturer. This 

label shall be in addition to the code symbol stamping 

requirements of the ASME Code and the National Board.  

16VAC25-50-30. Frequency of inspections of boilers and 

pressure vessels.  

A. Power boilers and high-pressure, high-temperature water 

boilers shall receive an annual internal inspection for 

certification. Such boilers shall also receive, where possible, 

an annual external inspection, given while under 

representative operating conditions.  

B. Heating boilers shall receive a certificate inspection 

biennially.  

1. Steam boilers shall receive an internal inspection where 

construction permits.  

2. Water boilers shall receive an external inspection with 

an internal inspection at the discretion of the inspector 

where construction permits.  

C. Except as provided for in subsection E of this section, 

pressure vessels subject to internal corrosion shall receive a 

certificate inspection biennially. This inspection shall be an 

internal inspection conducted at the discretion of the inspector 

where construction permits.  

D. Except as provided for in subsection E of this section, 

pressure vessels not subject to internal corrosion shall receive 

a certificate inspection biennially. This inspection shall be an 

external inspection, with an internal inspection conducted at 

the discretion of the inspector where construction permits.  

E. Pressure vessels that are under the supervision of an 

authorized owner-user inspection agency shall be inspected at 

intervals in a manner as agreed upon between the 

Commissioner and that agency.  

F. Boiler and pressure vessel components of nuclear power 

plants, that are included in the Act, shall be inspected as 

provided by Section XI of the ASME Boiler and Pressure 

Vessel Code, Section XI.  

G. Based upon documentation of such actual service 

conditions by the owner or user of the operating equipment, 

the Commissioner may permit variations in the inspection 

requirements as provided in the Act.  

16VAC25-50-260. Removal of safety appliances.  

A. No person shall attempt to remove or do any work on any 

safety appliance prescribed by this chapter while a boiler or 

pressure vessel is in operation, except as provided in 

applicable sections of the current edition of the ASME Code. 

Should any of these appliances be removed for repair during 

an outage of a boiler or pressure vessel, they must be 
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reinstalled and in proper working order before the object is 

again placed in service.  

B. No person shall load the safety valve or valves in any 

manner to maintain a working pressure in excess of that 

stated on the inspection certificate.  

16VAC25-50-280. Requirements for new installations.  

A. No boiler or pressure vessel shall be installed in this 

Commonwealth unless it has been constructed, inspected and 

stamped as provided in Part II, 16VAC25-50-20 except:  

1. Those exempt by the Act;  

2. Those outlined in Part II, 16VAC25-50-20 D; and  

3. Those existing boilers and pressure vessels which that 

are to be reinstalled.  

B. All new boiler and pressure vessel installations, including 

reinstalled and secondhand boilers and pressure vessels, shall 

be installed in accordance with the requirements of the 

current edition of the ASME Code and this chapter.  

C. A boiler or pressure vessel constructed equivalent to 

ASME Code standards, or having the standard stamping of 

another state that has adopted a standard of construction 

equivalent to the standard of this Commonwealth, may be 

accepted by the chief inspector. The person desiring to install 

the boiler or pressure vessel shall make application for the 

installation prior to construction and shall file the 

Manufacturers' Data Report for the boiler or pressure vessel 

with the chief inspector following construction and prior to 

installation.  

D. The stamping shall not be concealed by insulation or 

paint and shall be exposed at all times unless a suitable record 

is kept of the location of the stamping so that it may be 

readily uncovered at any time this may be desired.  

16VAC25-50-300. Return loop connection.  

The return water connections to all low-pressure, steam 

heating boilers supplying a gravity return heating system shall 

be arranged to form a loop so that the water cannot be forced 

out of the boiler below the safe water level. This connection, 

known as a "return pipe loop connection," is shown in Section 

IV, the current edition of the ASME Heating Boiler Code, 

Section IV.  

16VAC25-50-330. Operation.  

The current edition of the ASME Code, Section VII, 

Recommended Rules for Care of Power Boilers, Section VII, 

and the current edition of the ASME Code, Section VI, 

Recommended Rules for Care of Heating Boilers, Section VI, 

of the ASME Code, shall be used as a guide for proper and 

safe operating practices.  

Part III  

Existing Installations  

16VAC25-50-360. Power and high-pressure, high-

temperature water boilers.  

A. Age limit of existing boilers.  

1. The age limit of any boiler of nonstandard construction, 

installed before July 1, 1974, other than one having a 

riveted, longitudinal lap joint, shall be 30 years; however, 

any boiler passing a thorough internal and external 

inspection, and not displaying any leakage or distress 

under a hydrostatic pressure test of 1-1/2 times the 

allowable working pressure held for at least 30 minutes, 

may be continued in operation without reduction in 

working pressure. The age limit of any boiler having 

riveted, longitudinal, lap joints and operating at a pressure 

in excess of 50 psig shall be 20 years. This type of boiler, 

when removed from an existing setting, shall not be 

reinstalled for a pressure in excess of 15 psig. A reasonable 

time for replacement, not to exceed one year, may be given 

at the discretion of the chief inspector.  

2. The shell or drum of a boiler in which a typical lap seam 

crack is discovered along a longitudinal riveted joint for 

either butt or lap joints shall be permanently removed from 

service.  

3. The age limit of boilers of standard construction, 

installed before July 1, 1974, shall be determined from the 

results of a thorough internal and external inspection by an 

authorized inspector and the application of an appropriate 

pressure test. Hydrostatic test pressure shall be 1-1/2 times 

the allowable working pressure and maintained for 30 

minutes. The boiler may be continued in service at the 

same working pressure provided there is no evidence of 

leakage or distress under these test conditions.  

4. The minimum temperature of the water used for the 

hydrostatic test of low-pressure boilers and pressure 

vessels shall be 60°F. The minimum temperature of the 

water used for the hydrostatic test of power boilers shall be 

70°F or ambient whichever is greater.  

B. The maximum allowable working pressure for standard 

boilers shall be determined in accordance with the applicable 

provisions of the edition of the ASME Code under which they 

were constructed and stamped.  

C. 1. The maximum allowable working pressure on the shell 

of a nonstandard boiler shall be determined by the strength of 

the weakest section of the structure, computed from the 

thickness of the plate, the tensile strength of the plate, the 

efficiency of the longitudinal joint or tube ligaments, the 

inside diameter of the weakest course and the factor of safety 

allowed by this chapter.  

  TStE 
= 

Maximum allowable working 

pressure, psi   RFS 

where:  

TS = ultimate tensile strength of shell plates, psi  

t = minimum thickness of shell plate, in weakest course, 

inches  

E = efficiency of longitudinal joint:  
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For tube ligaments, E shall be determined by the rules in 

the ASME Code, Section I of the ASME Code for Power 

Boilers. For riveted joints, E shall be determined by the 

rules in the applicable edition of the ASME Code. For 

seamless construction, E shall be considered 100%.  

R = inside radius of the weakest course of the shell, in 

inches  

FS = factor of safety permitted.  

2. Tensile strength. When the tensile strength of steel or 

wrought iron shell plates is not known, it shall be taken as 

55,000 psi.  

3. Crushing strength of mild steel. The resistance to 

crushing of mild steel shall be taken at 95,000 psi of cross-

sectional area.  

4. Strength of rivets in shear. When computing the ultimate 

strength of rivets in shear, the following values, in pounds 

per square inch, of the cross-sectional area of the rivet 

shank shall be used.  

  PSI 

Iron rivets in single shear 38,000 

Iron rivets in double shear 76,000 

Steel rivets in single shear 44,000 

Steel rivets in double shear 88,000 

When the diameter of the rivet holes in the longitudinal 

joints of a boiler is not known, the diameter and cross-

sectional area of rivets, after driving, may be selected from 

Table 1, or as ascertained by cutting out one rivet in the 

body of the joint.  

TABLE 1  

SIZES OF RIVETS BASED ON PLATE 

THICKNESS  

(in inches)  

Plate of Thickness Rivet Diameter after Driving  

1/4 11/16  

9/32 11/16  

5/16 3/4  

11/32 3/4  

3/8 13/16  

13/32 13/16  

7/16 15/16  

15/32 15/16  

1/2 15/16  

9/16 1-1/16  

5/8 1-1/16  

5. Factors of safety. The following factors of safety shall 

be increased by the inspector if the condition and safety of 

the boiler demand it:  

a. The lowest factor of safety permissible on existing 

installations shall be 4.5 for vessels built prior to January 

1, 1999. For vessels built on or after January 1, 1999, the 

factor of safety may be 4.0. Horizontal-return-tubular 

boilers having continuous longitudinal lap seams more 

than 12 feet in length, shall have a factor of safety of 

eight. When this type of boiler is removed from its 

existing setting, it shall not be reinstalled for pressures in 

excess of 15 psig.  

b. Reinstalled or secondhand boilers shall have a 

minimum factor of safety of six when the longitudinal 

seams are of lap-riveted construction, and a minimum 

factor of safety of five when the longitudinal seams are 

of butt-strap and double-strap construction.  

D. Cast-iron headers and mud drums. The maximum 

allowable working pressure on a water tube boiler, the tubes 

of which are secured to cast iron or malleable-iron headers, or 

which have cast iron mud drums, shall not exceed 160 psig.  

E. Pressure on cast iron boilers. The maximum allowable 

working pressure for any cast iron boiler, except hot water 

boilers, shall be 15 psig.  

F. Safety valves.  

1. The use of weighted-lever safety valves, or safety valves 

having either the seat or disk of cast iron, shall be 

prohibited. Valves of this type shall be replaced by direct, 

spring-loaded, pop-type valves that conform to the 

requirements of the current edition of the ASME Code, 

Section I.  

2. Each boiler shall have at least one safety valve, and, if it 

has more than 500 square feet of water-heating surface or 

an electric power input of more than 500 kilowatts, it shall 

have two or more safety valves.  

3. The valve or valves shall be connected to the boiler, 

independent of any other steam connection, and attached as 

close as possible to the boiler without unnecessary 

intervening pipe or fittings. Where alteration is required to 

conform to this requirement, the chief inspector shall allow 

the owner or user reasonable time in which to complete the 

work.  

4. No valves of any description shall be placed between the 

safety valve and the boiler nor on the escape pipe, if used, 

between the safety valve and the atmosphere, except as 

provided by applicable sections of the current edition of 

the ASME Code. When an escape pipe is used, it shall be 

at least full size of the safety-valve discharge and fitted 

with an open drain to prevent water lodging in the upper 

part of the safety valve or escape pipe. When an elbow is 

placed on a safety valve escape pipe, it shall be located 

close to the safety-valve outlet or the escape pipe shall be 

anchored and supported securely. All safety valve 
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discharges shall be located or piped as not to endanger 

persons working in the area.  

5. The safety-valve capacity of each boiler shall be so that 

the safety valve or valves will discharge all the steam that 

can be generated by the boiler without allowing the 

pressure to rise more than 6.0% above the highest pressure 

to which any valve is set, and in no case to more than 6.0% 

above the maximum allowable working pressure.  

6. One or more safety valves on every boiler shall be set at 

or below the maximum allowable working pressure. The 

remaining valves may be set within a range of 3.0% above 

the maximum allowable working pressure, but the range of 

setting of all the safety valves on a boiler shall not exceed 

10% of the highest pressure to which any valve is set.  

7. When two or more boilers, operating at different 

pressures and safety valve settings, are interconnected, the 

lower pressure boilers or interconnected piping shall be 

equipped with safety valves of sufficient capacity to 

prevent overpressure, considering the maximum generating 

capacity of all boilers.  

8. In those cases where the boiler is supplied with 

feedwater directly from water mains without the use of 

feeding apparatus (not to include return traps), no safety 

valve shall be set at a pressure higher than 94% of the 

lowest pressure obtained in the supply main feeding the 

boiler.  

9. The relieving capacity of the safety valves on any boiler 

shall be checked by one of the three following methods 

and, if found to be insufficient, additional valves shall be 

provided:  

a. By making an accumulation test, which consists of 

shutting off all other steam-discharge outlets from the 

boiler and forcing the fires to the maximum. The safety-

valve capacity shall be sufficient to prevent a rise of 

pressure in excess of 6.0% of the maximum allowable 

working pressure. This method shall not be used on a 

boiler with a superheater or reheater.  

b. By measuring the maximum amount of fuel that can be 

burned and computing the corresponding evaporative 

capacity (steam-generating capacity) upon the basis of 

the heating value of this fuel. These computations shall 

be made as outlined in the appendix of the current edition 

of the ASME Code, Section I. 

c. By measuring the maximum amount of feedwater that 

can be evaporated.  

When either of the methods (b or c) outlined in this 

subdivision is employed, the sum of the safety-valve 

capacities shall be equal to or greater than the maximum 

evaporative capacity (maximum steam-generating 

capacity) of the boiler.  

10. The relieving capacity of safety valves for forced-flow 

steam generators shall be in accordance with the 

requirements of Section I the current edition of the ASME 

Boiler Code, Section I.  

11. Safety valves and safety relief valves requiring repair 

shall be replaced with a new valve or repaired by the 

original manufacturer, its authorized representative or the 

holder of a "VR" Stamp.  

G. Boiler feeding.  

1. Each boiler shall have a feed supply which that will 

permit it to be fed at any time while under pressure.  

2. A boiler having more than 500 square feet of water-

heating surface shall have at least two means of feeding, 

one of which shall be an approved feed pump or injector. A 

source of feed directly from water mains at a pressure 

6.0% greater than the set pressure of the safety valve with 

the highest setting may be considered one of the means. As 

provided in the current edition of the ASME Power Boiler 

Code, Section I, boilers fired by gaseous, liquid or solid 

fuel in suspension may be equipped with a single means of 

feeding water provided means are furnished for the 

immediate shutoff of heat input if the water feed is 

interrupted.  

3. The feedwater shall be introduced into the boiler in a 

manner so that it will not be discharged close to riveted 

joints of shell or furnace sheets, or directly against surfaces 

exposed to products of combustion, or to direct radiation 

from the fire.  

4. The feed piping to the boiler shall be provided with a 

check valve near the boiler and a valve or cock between 

the check valve and the boiler. When two or more boilers 

are fed from a common source, there shall also be a valve 

on the branch to each boiler between the check valve and 

source of supply. Whenever a globe valve is used on feed 

piping, the inlet shall be under the disk of the valve.  

5. In all cases where returns are fed back to the boiler by 

gravity, there shall be a check valve and stop valve in each 

return line, the stop valve to be placed between the boiler 

and the check valve, and both shall be located as close to 

the boiler as is practicable. No stop valves shall be placed 

in the supply and return pipe connections of a single boiler 

installation.  

6. Where deaerating heaters are not employed, the 

temperature of the feedwater shall not be less than 120°F 

to avoid the possibility of setting up localized stress. 

Where deaerating heaters are employed, the minimum 

feedwater temperature shall not be less than 215°F so that 

dissolved gases may be thoroughly released.  

H. Water level indicators.  

1. Each boiler shall have at least one water gauge glass 

installed and located so that the lowest visible part of the 

water glass shall be at least two inches above the lowest 

permissible water level, at which level there will be no 

danger of overheating any part of the boiler when in 
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operation at that level; except as provided by the current 

edition of the ASME Code.  

2. No outlet connections (except for damper regulator, 

feedwater regulator, low-water fuel cutout, drain, steam 

gauges, or such apparatus that does not permit the escape 

of an appreciable amount of steam or water from it) shall 

be placed on the piping that connects the water column to 

the boiler. The water column shall be provided with a 

valved drain of at least 3/4 inch pipe size; the drain is to be 

piped to a safe location.  

3. When the direct reading of gauge glass water level is not 

readily visible to the operator in his working area 

dependable indirect indications shall be provided utilizing 

remote level indicators or equipment to transmit the gauge 

glass image. When remote level indication is provided for 

the operator instead of the gauge glass, the minimum level 

reference shall be clearly marked.  

I. Steam gauges.  

1. Each steam boiler shall have a steam gauge, with dial 

range not less than 1-1/2 times the maximum allowable 

working pressure, connected to the steam space or to the 

steam connection to the water column. The steam gauge 

shall be connected to a siphon or equivalent device of 

sufficient capacity to keep the gauge tube filled with water 

and arranged so that the gauge cannot be shut off from the 

boiler except by a cock with a tee or lever handle placed in 

the pipe near the gauge. The handle of the cock shall be 

parallel to the pipe in which it is located when the cock is 

open.  

2. When a steam gauge connection longer than eight feet 

becomes necessary, a shutoff valve may be used near the 

boiler provided the valve is of the outside-screw-and-yoke 

type and is locked open. The line shall be of ample size 

with provision for free blowing.  

3. Each boiler shall be provided with a test gauge 

connection and suitable valving for the exclusive purpose 

of attaching a test gauge so that the accuracy of the boiler 

steam gauge may be ascertained while the boiler is in 

operation.  

J. Stop valves.  

1. Except for a single-boiler, prime-mover installation, 

each steam outlet from a boiler (except safety valve and 

water column connections) shall be fitted with a stop valve 

located as close as practicable to the boiler.  

2. In a single-boiler, prime-mover installation the steam 

stop valve may be omitted provided the prime-mover 

throttle valve is equipped with an indicator to show 

whether the valve is open or closed and is designed to 

withstand the required hydrostatic pressure test of the 

boiler.  

3. When a stop valve is so located that water can 

accumulate, ample drains shall be provided. The drainage 

shall be piped to a safe location and shall not be discharged 

on the top of the boiler or its setting.  

4. When boilers provided with manholes are connected to a 

common steam main, the steam connection from each 

boiler shall be fitted with two stop valves having an ample 

free-blow drain between them. The discharge of the drain 

shall be visible to the operator and shall be piped clear of 

the boiler setting. The stop valves shall consist preferably 

of one automatic nonreturn valve (set next to the boiler) 

and a second valve of the outside-screw-and-yoke type.  

K. Blowoff connection.  

1. The construction of the setting around each blowoff pipe 

shall permit free expansion and contraction. Careful 

attention shall be given to the problem of sealing these 

setting openings without restricting the movement of the 

blowoff piping.  

2. All blowoff piping, when exposed to furnace heat, shall 

be protected by firebrick or other heat-resisting material 

constructed so that the piping may be inspected.  

3. Each boiler shall have a blowoff pipe, fitted with a valve 

or cock, in direct connection with the lowest water space. 

Cocks shall be of the gland or guard type and suitable for 

the pressure allowed. The use of globe valves shall not be 

permitted. Where the maximum allowable working 

pressure exceeds 100 psig, each blowoff pipe shall be 

provided with two valves or a valve and cock; however 

only one valve need be provided for forced-flow steam 

generators with no fixed steam and waterline;, high-

temperature water boilers, and those used for traction or 

portable purposes with less than 100 gallons normal water 

content.  

4. Blowoff piping shall comply with the requirements of 

the current edition of the ASME Code, Section I, and 

ANSI ASME B31.1, from the boiler to the valve or valves, 

and shall be run full size without use of reducers or 

bushings. All piping shall be steel. Galvanized steel pipe 

and fittings shall not be used for blowoff piping.  

5. All fittings between the boiler and blowoff valve shall 

be of steel. In case of renewal of blowoff pipe or fittings, 

they shall be installed in accordance with this chapter for 

new installations.  

L. Repairs and renewals of boiler fittings and appliances. 

Whenever repairs are made to fittings or appliances or it 

becomes necessary to replace them, such repairs or 

replacements shall comply with the requirements for new 

installations.  

M. Each automatically fired steam boiler or system of 

commonly connected steam boilers shall have at least one 

steam pressure control device that will shut off the fuel 

supply to each boiler or system of commonly connected 

boilers when the steam pressure reaches a preset maximum 

operating pressure. In addition, each individual automatically 

fired steam boiler shall have a high steam pressure limit 
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control that will prevent generation of steam pressure in 

excess of the maximum allowable working pressure.  

N. Conditions not covered by this chapter. All cases not 

specifically covered by this chapter shall be treated as new 

installations pursuant to 16VAC25-50-280 or may be referred 

to the chief inspector for instructions concerning the 

requirements.  

16VAC25-50-370. Heating boilers.  

A. Standard boilers. The maximum allowable working 

pressure of standard boilers shall in no case exceed the 

pressure indicated by the manufacturer's identification 

stamped or cast on the boiler or on a plate secured to it.  

B. Nonstandard riveted boilers. The maximum allowable 

working pressure on the shell of a nonstandard riveted heating 

boiler shall be determined in accordance with 16VAC25-50-

360 C covering existing installations, power boilers, except 

that in no case shall the maximum allowable working 

pressure of a steam heating boiler exceed 15 psig, or a hot 

water boiler exceed 160 psig or 250°F temperature.  

C. Nonstandard welded boilers. The maximum allowable 

working pressure of a nonstandard steel or wrought iron 

heating boiler of welded construction shall not exceed 15 psig 

for steam. For other than steam service, the maximum 

allowable working pressure shall be calculated in accordance 

with Section IV of the ASME Code, Section IV.  

D. Nonstandard cast iron boilers.  

1. The maximum allowable working pressure of a 

nonstandard boiler composed principally of cast iron shall 

not exceed 15 psig for steam service or 30 psig for hot 

water service.  

2. The maximum allowable working pressure of a 

nonstandard boiler having cast iron shell or heads and steel 

or wrought iron tubes shall not exceed 15 psig for steam 

service or 30 psig for hot water service.  

E. Safety valves.  

1. Each steam boiler must have one or more officially rated 

(ASME Code stamped and National Board rated) safety 

valves of the spring pop type adjusted to discharge at a 

pressure not to exceed 15 psig. Seals shall be attached in a 

manner to prevent the valve from being taken apart without 

breaking the seal. The safety valves shall be arranged so 

that they cannot be reset to relieve at a higher pressure than 

the maximum allowable working pressure of the boiler. A 

body drain connection below seat level shall be provided 

by the manufacturer, and this drain shall not be plugged 

during or after field installation. For valves exceeding two 

inch pipe size, the drain hole or holes shall be tapped not 

less than 3/8 inch pipe size. For valves less than two 

inches, the drain hole shall not be less than ¼ 1/4 inch in 

diameter.  

2. No safety valve for a steam boiler shall be smaller than 

3/4 inch unless the boiler and radiating surfaces consist of 

a self-contained unit. No safety valve shall be larger than 

4-1/2 inches. The inlet opening shall have an inside 

diameter equal to, or greater than, the seat diameter.  

3. The minimum relieving capacity of the valve or valves 

shall be governed by the capacity marking on the boiler.  

4. The minimum valve capacity in pounds per hour shall be 

the greater of that determined by dividing the maximum 

BTU output at the boiler nozzle obtained by the firing of 

any fuel for which the unit is installed by 1,000; or shall be 

determined on the basis of the pounds of steam generated 

per hour per square foot of boiler heating surface as given 

in Table 2. When operating conditions require it a greater 

relieving capacity shall be provided. In every case, the 

requirements of subdivision 5 of this subsection shall be 

met.  

TABLE 2  

Minimum Pounds of Steam Per Hour Per Square Foot 

of Heating Surface  

  Fire Tube 

Boilers 

Water Tube 

Boilers 

Boiler Heating Surface: 

Hand fired 5 6 

Stoker fired 7 8 

Oil, gas, or 

pulverized fuel 

fired 

8 10 

Waterwall Heating Surface: 

Hand fired 8 8 

Stoker fired 10 12 

Oil, gas, or 

pulverized fuel 

fired 

14 16 

NOTES: When a boiler is fired only by a gas giving a 

heat value of not in excess of 200 BTU per cubic foot, 

the minimum safety valve or safety relief valve relieving 

capacity may be based on the value given for handfired 

boilers above in Table 2.  

The minimum safety valve or safety relief valve relieving 

capacity for electric boilers shall be 3-1/2 pounds per 

hour per kilowatt input.  

For heating surface determination, see the current edition 

of the ASME Code, Section IV.  

5. The safety valve capacity for each steam boiler shall be 

such that with the fuel burning equipment operating at 

maximum capacity, the pressure cannot rise more than five 

psig above the maximum allowable working pressure.  

6. When operating conditions are changed, or additional 

boiler surface is installed, the valve capacity shall be 

increased, if necessary, to meet the new conditions and be 
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in accordance with subdivisions 4 and 5 of this subsection. 

When additional valves are required, they may be installed 

on the outlet piping provided there is no intervening valve.  

7. If there is any doubt as to the capacity of the safety 

valve, an accumulation test shall be run (see the current 

edition of the ASME Code, Section VI, Care of Heating 

Boilers) VI).  

8. No valve of any description shall be placed between the 

safety valve and the boiler, nor on the discharge pipe 

between the safety valve and the atmosphere. The 

discharge pipe shall be at least full size and be fitted with 

an open drain to prevent water lodging in the upper part of 

the safety valve or in the discharge pipe. When an elbow is 

placed on the safety valve discharge pipe, it shall be 

located close to the safety valve outlet, or the discharge 

pipe shall be securely anchored and supported. All safety 

valve discharges shall be so located or piped as not to 

endanger persons working in the area.  

F. Safety relief valve requirements for hot water boilers.  

1. Each hot water boiler shall have one or more officially 

rated (ASME Code stamped and National Board rated) 

safety relief valves set to relieve at or below the maximum 

allowable working pressure of the boiler. Safety relief 

valves officially rated as to capacity shall have pop action 

when tested by steam. When more than one safety relief 

valve is used on hot water boilers, the additional valve or 

valves shall be officially rated and shall be set within a 

range not to exceed six psig above the maximum allowable 

working pressure of the boiler up to and including 60 psig 

and 5.0% for those having a maximum allowable working 

pressure exceeding 60 psig. Safety relief valves shall be 

spring loaded. Safety relief valves shall be so arranged that 

they cannot be reset at a higher pressure than the maximum 

permitted by this paragraph.  

2. No materials liable to fail due to deterioration or 

vulcanization when subject to saturated steam temperature 

corresponding to capacity test pressure shall be used for 

any part.  

3. No safety relief valve shall be smaller than 3/4 inch nor 

larger than 4-1/2 inches standard pipe size, except that 

boilers having a heat input not greater than 15,000 BTU 

per hour may be equipped with a safety relief valve of 1/2 

inch standard pipe size. The inlet opening shall have an 

inside diameter approximately equal to, or greater than, the 

seat diameter. In no case shall the minimum opening 

through any part of the valve be less than 1/2 inch diameter 

or its equivalent area.  

4. The required steam relieving capacity, in pounds per 

hour, of the pressure relieving device or devices on a boiler 

shall be the greater of that determined by dividing the 

maximum output in BTU at the boiler outlet obtained by 

the firing of any fuel for which the unit is installed by 

1,000, or on the basis of pounds of steam generated per 

hour per square foot of boiler heating surface as given in 

Table 2. When necessary a greater relieving capacity of 

valves shall be provided. In every case, the requirements of 

subsection subdivision F 6 of this section shall be met.  

5. When operating conditions are changed, or additional 

boiler heating surface is installed, the valve capacity shall 

be increased, if necessary, to meet the new conditions and 

shall be in accordance with subdivision F 6 of this section. 

The additional valves required, on account of changed 

conditions, may be installed on the outlet piping provided 

there is no intervening valve.  

6. Safety relief valve capacity for each boiler shall be so 

that, with the fuel burning equipment installed and 

operated at maximum capacity the pressure cannot rise 

more than 6 six psig above the maximum allowable 

working pressure for pressure up to and including 60 psig 

and 5.0% of maximum allowable working pressures over 

60 psig.  

7. If there is any doubt as to the capacity of the safety relief 

valve, an accumulation test shall be run (see the current 

edition of the ASME Code, Section VI, Care of Heating 

Boilers) VI).  

8. No valve of any description shall be placed between the 

safety relief valve and the boiler, nor on the discharge pipe 

between the safety relief valve and the atmosphere. The 

discharge pipe shall be at least full size and fitted with an 

open drain to prevent water lodging in the upper part of the 

safety relief valve or in the discharge pipe. When an elbow 

is placed on the safety relief valve discharge pipe, it shall 

be located close to the safety relief valve outlet or the 

discharge pipe shall be securely anchored and supported. 

All safety relief valve discharges shall be so located or 

piped as not to endanger persons working in the area.  

G. Valve replacement and repair. Safety valves and safety 

relief valves requiring repair shall be replaced with a new 

valve or repaired by the original manufacturer, its authorized 

representative, or the holder of a "VR" Stamp.  

H. Pressure relieving devices. Boilers and fired storage 

water heaters except those exempted by the Act shall be 

equipped with pressure relieving devices in accordance with 

the requirements of Section IV the current edition of the of 

the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, Section IV.  

I. Instruments, fittings and control requirements. 

Instruments, fittings and controls for each boiler installation 

shall comply with the requirements of the current edition of 

the ASME Heating Boiler Code, Section IV.  

J. Low water fuel cutoff.  

1. Each automatically fired hot water heating boiler with 

heat input greater than 400,000 BTU's BTUs per hour shall 

have an automatic low water fuel cutoff which that has 

been designed for hot water service, located so as to stop 

the fuel supply automatically when the surface of the water 

falls to the level established in subdivision 2 of this 
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subsection (also see ASME Heating Boiler Code, Section 

IV).  

2. As there is no normal waterline to be maintained in a hot 

water heating boiler, any location of the low water fuel 

cutoff above the lowest safe permissible water level 

established by the boiler manufacturer is satisfactory.  

3. A coil type boiler or a water tube boiler with heat input 

greater than 400,000 BTU's BTUs per hour requiring 

forced circulation, to prevent overheating of the coils or 

tubes, shall have a flow sensing device installed in the 

outlet piping, instead of the low water fuel cutoff required 

in subdivision 1 of this subsection to stop the fuel supply 

automatically when the circulating flow is interrupted.  

K. Steam gauges.  

1. Each steam boiler shall have a steam gauge connected to 

its steam space, its water column, or its steam connection, 

by means of a siphon or equivalent device exterior to the 

boiler. The siphon shall be of sufficient capacity to keep 

the gauge tube filled with water and arranged so that the 

gauge cannot be shut off from the boiler except by a cock.  

2. The range of the scale on the dial of a steam boiler 

pressure gauge shall be not less than 30 psig nor more than 

60 psig. The gauge shall be provided with effective stops 

for the indicating pointer at the zero point and at the 

maximum pressure point. The travel of the pointer from 0 

zero to full scale 30 psig shall be at least three inches.  

L. Pressure or altitude gauges.  

1. Each hot water boiler shall have a pressure or altitude 

gauge connected to it or to its flow connection in a manner 

so that it cannot be shut off from the boiler except by a 

cock with tee or lever handle placed on the pipe near the 

gauge. The handle of the cock shall be parallel to the pipe 

in which it is located when the cock is open.  

2. The range of the scale on the dial of the pressure or 

altitude gauge shall be not less than 1-1/2 times nor more 

than three times the maximum allowable working pressure. 

The gauge shall be provided with effective stops for the 

indicating pointer at the 0 zero point and at the maximum 

pressure point.  

3. Piping or tubing for pressure or altitude gauge 

connections shall be of nonferrous metal when smaller than 

one inch pipe size.  

M. Thermometers. Each hot water boiler shall have a 

thermometer located and connected so that it shall be easily 

readable when observing the water pressure or altitude gauge. 

The thermometer shall be located so that it will at all times 

indicate the temperature in degrees Fahrenheit of the water in 

the boiler at or near the outlet.  

N. Water gauge glasses.  

1. Each steam boiler shall have one or more water gauge 

glasses attached to the water column or boiler by means of 

valved fittings. The lower fitting shall be provided with a 

drain valve of the straightaway type with opening not less 

than 1/4 inch diameter to facilitate cleaning. Gauge glass 

replacement shall be possible while the boiler is under 

pressure.  

2. Transparent material, other than glass, may be used for 

the water gauge provided that the material has proved 

suitable for the pressure, temperature and corrosive 

conditions encountered in service.  

O. Stop valves and check valves.  

1. If a boiler can be closed off from the heating system by 

closing a steam stop valve, there shall be a check valve in 

the condensate return line between the boiler and the 

system.  

2. If any part of a heating system can be closed off from 

the remainder of the system by closing a steam stop valve, 

there shall be a check valve in the condensate return pipe 

from that part of the system.  

P. Feedwater connections.  

1. Feedwater, make-up water, or water treatment shall be 

introduced into a boiler through the return piping system or 

through an independent feedwater connection which that 

does not discharge against parts of the boiler exposed to 

direct radiant heat from the fire. Feedwater, make-up 

water, or water treatment shall not be introduced through 

openings or connections provided for inspection or 

cleaning, safety valve, safety relief valve, surface blowoff, 

water column, water gauge glass, pressure gauge or 

temperature gauge.  

2. Feedwater piping shall be provided with a check valve 

near the boiler and a stop valve or cock between the check 

valve and the boiler or return pipe system.  

Q. Return pump. Each boiler equipped with a condensate 

return pump, where practicable, shall be provided with a 

water level control arranged to maintain the water level in the 

boiler automatically within the range of the gauge glass.  

R. Repairs and renewals of boiler fittings and appliances. 

Whenever repairs are made to fittings or appliances, or it 

becomes necessary to replace them, the repairs or 

replacements shall comply with the requirements for new 

installations.  

S. Conditions not covered by this chapter. Any case not 

specifically covered by this chapter shall be treated as a new 

boiler or pressure vessel installation pursuant to 16VAC25-

50-280 or may be referred to the chief inspector for 

instructions concerning the requirements.  

16VAC25-50-380. Pressure vessels.  

A. Maximum allowable working pressure for standard 

pressure vessels. The maximum allowable working pressure 

for standard pressure vessels shall be determined in 

accordance with the applicable provisions of the edition of the 

ASME Code or API-ASME code under which they were 

constructed and stamped. The maximum allowable working 
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pressure shall not be increased to a greater pressure than 

shown on the manufacturers nameplate stamping and data 

report.  

B. Maximum allowable working pressure for nonstandard 

pressure vessels.  

1. For internal pressure. The maximum allowable working 

pressure on the shell of a nonstandard pressure vessel shall 

be determined by the strength of the weakest course 

computed from the thickness of the plate, the tensile 

strength of the plate, the efficiency of the longitudinal 

joint, the inside diameter of the weakest course and the 

factor set by this chapter.  

  TStE 
= 

maximum allowable working 

pressure, psi    RFS 

where:  

TS = ultimate tensile strength of shell plate, psi. When 

the tensile strength of the steel plate is not known, it shall 

be taken as 55,000 psi for temperatures not exceeding 

700°F.  

t = minimum thickness of shell plate of weakest course, 

inches,  

E = efficiency of longitudinal joint depending upon 

construction. Use the following values:  

For riveted joints -- calculated riveted efficiency;  

For fusion-welded joints:  

Single lap weld 40% 

Double lap weld 50% 

Single butt weld 60% 

Double butt weld 70% 

Forge weld 70% 

Brazed steel 80% 

R = inside radius of weakest course of shell, inches, 

provided the thickness does not exceed 10% of the 

radius. If the thickness is over 10% of the radius, the 

outer radius shall be used.  

FS = factor of safety allowed by this chapter.  

2. For external pressure. The maximum allowable working 

pressure for cylindrical nonstandard pressure vessels 

subjected to external or collapsing pressure shall be 

determined by the rules in the ASME Code, Section VIII, 

Division 1, of the ASME Code.  

3. Factors of safety. The minimum factor of safety shall in 

no case be less than 3.5 for vessels built on or after January 

1, 1999. For vessels built prior to January 1, 1999, the 

minimum factor of safety shall in no case be less than 4.0. 

The factor of safety may be increased when deemed 

necessary by the inspector to insure the operation of the 

vessel within safe limits. The condition of the vessel and 

the particular service of which it is subject will be the 

determining factors.  

4. The maximum allowable working pressure permitted for 

formed heads under pressure shall be determined by using 

the appropriate formulas from the ASME Code, Section 

VIII, Division 1, ASME Code and the tensile strength and 

factors of safety given in subdivisions 1 and 3 of this 

subsection.  

C. Inspection of inaccessible parts. Where in the opinion of 

the inspector, as the result of conditions disclosed at the time 

of inspection, it is advisable to remove the interior or exterior 

lining, covering, or brickwork to expose certain parts of the 

vessel not normally visible, the owner or user shall remove 

the materials to permit proper inspection and to establish 

construction details. Metal thickness shall be determined 

utilizing appropriate equipment including drilling if 

necessary.  

D. Pressure relief devices. Pressure relief devices for each 

pressure vessel installation, not exempt by the Act, shall 

comply with the requirements of the ASME Pressure Vessel 

Code, Section VIII.  

E. Safety appliances.  

1. Each pressure vessel shall be protected by safety and 

relief valves and indicating and controlling devices which 

will insure its safe operation. These valves and devices 

shall be constructed, located and installed so that they 

cannot readily be rendered inoperative. The relieving 

capacity of the safety valves shall prevent a rise of pressure 

in the vessel of more than 10% above the maximum 

allowable working pressure, taking into account the effect 

of static head. Safety valve discharges shall be located or 

piped so as not to endanger persons working in the area.  

2. Safety valves and safety relief valves requiring repair 

shall be replaced with a new valve or repairs shall be 

performed by the original manufacturer, its authorized 

representative, or the holder of a "VR" stamp.  

F. Repairs and renewals of fittings and appliances. 

Whenever repairs are made to fittings or appliances, or it 

becomes necessary to replace them, the repairs or 

replacements shall comply with requirements for new 

installations.  

G. Conditions not covered by this chapter. All cases not 

specifically covered by this chapter shall be treated as new 

installations or may be referred to the chief inspector for 

instructions concerning the requirements.  

16VAC25-50-430. Hydrostatic pressure tests.  

A. A hydrostatic pressure test, when applied to boilers or 

pressure vessels, shall not exceed 1.25 times the maximum 

allowable working pressure, except as provided by the current 

edition of the ASME Code. The pressure shall be under 

proper control so that in no case shall the required test 

pressure be exceeded by more than 2.0%.  
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B. See 16VAC25-50-360 A 4 for temperature limitations on 

particular power boiler installations.  

C. When a hydrostatic test is to be applied to existing 

installations, the pressure shall be as follows:  

1. For all cases involving the question of tightness, the 

pressure shall be equal to the working pressure.  

2. For all cases involving the question of safety, the test 

pressure shall not exceed 1.25 times the maximum 

allowable working pressure for temperature. During such 

test the safety valve or valves shall be removed or each 

valve disk shall be held to its seat by means of a testing 

clamp and not by screwing down the compression screw 

upon the spring.  

16VAC25-50-460. Blowoff equipment.  

A. The blowdown from a boiler or boilers that enters a 

sewer system or blowdown which is considered a hazard to 

life or property shall pass through blowoff equipment that 

will reduce pressure and temperature as required below.  

B. The temperature of the water leaving the blowoff 

equipment shall not exceed 140°F.  

C. The pressure of the blowdown leaving any type of 

blowoff equipment shall not exceed 5.0 five psig.  

D. The blowoff piping and fittings between the boiler and 

the blowoff tank shall comply with Section I of the current 

edition of the ASME code Code, Section I and ANSI ASME 

B31.1.  

E. All materials used in the fabrication of boiler blowoff 

equipment shall comply with Section II of the current edition 

of the ASME code Code, Section II.  

F. All blowoff equipment shall be fitted with openings to 

facilitate cleaning and inspection.  

G. Blowoff equipment which conforms to the provisions set 

forth in the National Board publication, "Boiler Blowoff 

Equipment", shall meet the requirements of this section.  

16VAC25-50-540. Jacketed kettles and miniatures boilers.  

Jacketed kettles and miniature boilers are acceptable for 

installation if constructed and stamped in accordance with 

Section I, IV, or VIII, Division 1, of the current edition of the 

ASME code Code and registered with the National Board.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (16VAC25-50)  

R 1 Form, Report of Welded __ Repair or __ Alteration, 

CVR1 Rev 1.0.  

Form R-1, Report of Repair, National Board Inspection 

Code, NB-66 (rev. 2012). 

Form R-2, Report of Alteration, National Board Inspection 

Code (eff. 1/1/99). 

Form R-3, Report of Parts Fabricated By Welding, National 

Board Inspection Code (eff. 1/1/99).  

Form R-4, Report Supplementary Sheet, National Board 

Inspection Code (eff. 1/1/99). 

Form R-1, Report of Repair, NB-66, Rev. 13 (rev. 

6/25/2015) 

Form R-2, Report of Alteration, NB-229, Rev. 7 

(rev.11/12/2015) 

Form R-3, Report of Parts Fabricated by Welding, NB-230, 

Rev. 3 (rev. 9/24/2015) 

Form R-4, Report Supplement Sheet, NB-231, Rev. 2, (rev. 

9/23/2015) 

BPV-5, Boiler or Pressure Vessel Data Report- First Internal 

Inspection (eff. 1/1/99). 

BPV-6, Boiler - Fired Pressure Vessel - Report of Inspection 

(eff. 1/1/99). 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(16VAC25-50)  

2007 Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, ASME Code, 

American Society of Mechanical Engineers.  

National Board Bylaws, National Board of Boiler and 

Pressure Vessel Inspectors, August 8, 1996. 

ANSI/NB 23, 2007 National Board Inspection Code, 

National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors.  

ASME B31.1, ASME Code for Power Piping, American 

National Standards Institute, 2007.  

NFPA 85 Boiler and Combustion Systems Hazards, 2001 

Edition, National Fire Protection Association.  

Part CG (General), Part CW (Steam and Waterside Control) 

and Part CF (Combustion Side Control) Flame Safeguard of 

ANSI/ASME CSD-1, Controls and Safety Devices for 

Automatically Fired Boilers, 2009, American Society of 

Mechanical Engineers.  

2015 Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, ASME Code, The 

American Society of Mechanical Engineers, Two Park 

Avenue, New York, NY 10016-5990; www.asme.org 

ANSI/NB 23, 2015 National Board Inspection Code, The 

National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors, 

1055 Crupper Avenue, Columbus, OH 43229-1183; 

www.nationalboard.org  

ASME B31.1–2014, ASME Code for Power Piping, B-31, 

The American Society of Mechanical Engineers, 

International, Two Park Avenue, New York, NY 10016-5990; 

www.asme.org 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b187c004679~1&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b187c004679~1&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a7645004679~2&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a7645004679~2&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=408ff004679~3&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=408ff004679~3&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=681f6004679~4&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=681f6004679~4&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c707a004679~6&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c707a004679~6&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c707a004679~6&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5fe5004679~7&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5fe5004679~7&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5fe5004679~7&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5fe5004679~7&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d0377004679~11&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d0377004679~11&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d0377004679~11&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d0377004679~11&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
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NFPA 85 Boiler and Combustion Systems Hazards, 2015 

Edition, National Fire Protection Association, 1 Batterymarch 

Park, Quincy, MA 02169-7471; www.nfpa.org 

ANSI/ASME CSD–1–2012, Controls and Safety Devices 

for Automatically Fired Boilers: Part CG (General), Part CW 

(Steam and Waterside Control), and Part CF (Combustion 

Side Control) Flame Safeguard, The American Society of 

Mechanical Engineers, Three Park Avenue, New York, NY 

10016-5990; www.asme.org  

API 510, Pressure Vessel Inspection Code: In-Service 

Inspection, Rating, Repair and Alteration, Tenth Edition, May 

2014, American Petroleum Institute, 1220 L Street, NW, 

Washington, D.C. 20005-4070; www.api.org  

"Boiler Blowoff Equipment," National Board of Boiler and 

Pressure Vessel Inspectors, Rules and Recommendations for 

the Design and Construction of Boiler Blowoff Systems, 

1991, The National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel 

Inspectors, 1055 Crupper Avenue, Columbus, OH 43229-

1183; www.nationalboard.org  

API510, Pressure Vessel Inspection Code, Maintenance 

Inspection, Rating, Repair and Alteration, Ninth Edition, June 

2006, American Petroleum Institute. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4679; Filed June 30, 2017, 2:48 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

BOARD OF NURSING 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-19. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing (amending 18VAC90-19-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

September 19, 2017 - 10 a.m. - Perimeter Center, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 201, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: September 22, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Board of Nursing the authority to promulgate regulations that 

are reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the 

regulatory system. 

Among the powers and duties of the Board of Nursing in 

§ 54.1-3005 of the Code of Virginia is a provision relating to 

name tags for nurses in certain employment settings.  

Purpose: The purpose of the proposed action is to promulgate 

a regulation that adequately protects nurses but also offers 

sufficient information for patients who need to know what 

type of practitioner is providing care and how to identify the 

practitioner in case there is evidence of unprofessional 

conduct. The board had to balance nurses' privacy and 

personal security concerns with its responsibility to adopt 

regulations that protect the public health and safety. 

Substance: The proposed amendment specifies that the policy 

of the employment setting for name identification of health 

care practitioners can determine how the nurse's name is 

displayed on a name badge. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the proposed amendment is 

greater flexibility and potentially greater protection for nurses 

who are concerned about their security both within and 

outside their practice setting. There are no disadvantages to 

the public because the badge must still indicate the 

appropriate title, so a patient would know whether this person 

is an RN, LPN, "patient care technician," or some other title. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. In 

response to a petition for rulemaking,
1
 the Board of Nursing 

(Board) proposes to amend the requirements for nurses 

identification badges. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current regulation requires 

that registered nurses (RNs) and licensed practical nurses 

(LPNs) wear identification that indicates the person's first and 

last name. It also provides for exceptions by stating that "Any 

person practicing in hospital emergency departments, 

psychiatric and mental health units and programs, or in health 

care facilities units offering treatment for clients in custody of 

state or local law-enforcement agencies may use 

identification badges with first name and first letter only of 

last name and appropriate title." 

The Board proposes to eliminate the requirement that the 

badge indicates the person's first and last name, and instead 

state that "Name identification on a badge for identification of 

health care practitioners shall follow the policy of the health 

care setting in which the nurse is employed."
2
 In both the 

current and proposed regulations, the identification badge 

would be required to have the person's appropriate title for the 

license, registration, or student status under which she is 

practicing.  

In a survey of 320 nurses in the Commonwealth conducted by 

the Virginia Nurses Association, 81% preferred that that the 

badge not include their full name.
3
 Concerns with safety and 

an increase in stalking were cited. The proposal to allow 

employers flexibility concerning name identification on the 

badge would potentially be beneficial in that some or many 

employers may choose to not have the full name listed, which 

may reduce the occurrences of stalking and harassment of 

nurses.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=17640004679~11&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=17640004679~11&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=17640004679~11&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9725004679~9&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9725004679~9&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9725004679~9&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9725004679~9&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9725004679~9&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9725004679~9&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=628f3004679~10&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=628f3004679~10&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=628f3004679~10&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=628f3004679~10&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=84adf004679~5&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=84adf004679~5&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=84adf004679~5&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=84adf004679~5&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=84adf004679~5&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=84adf004679~5&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
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The proposed regulation keeps the requirement that the badge 

have the person's appropriate title, but does not require a 

minimum for name identification. An employer could 

potentially choose to not have the name on the badge at all. It 

seems likely though, that most employers would prefer to 

have a form of name (first name and last initial for example) 

on the badge so that patients or family members could 

correctly identify a nurse being referenced. Overall, the 

proposed amendments likely produce a net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

affect the 29,831 LPNs and 104,956 RNs licensed in the 

Commonwealth and their employers.
4
 Most nurses work for 

medical practices, long-term care facilities, or hospital 

systems.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments do not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 

significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect other entities. 

------------------------------------------------- 
1 More information about the petition can be found on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewpetition.cfm?petitionid=249. 
2 The petition for rulemaking requested that the requirement that nurses 

include first and last name on identification badges be replaced with a 
requirement for only first name and last initial. 
3 See http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewcomments.cfm?commentid=55675. 
4 Data source: Department of Health Professions 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Nursing concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment requires that a nurse's name 

badge must follow the policy of the employment setting for 

name identification of health care practitioners.  

18VAC90-19-50. Identification; accuracy of records. 

A. Any person regulated by this chapter who provides direct 

client care shall, while on duty, wear identification that is 

clearly visible and indicates the person's first and last name 

and the appropriate title for the license, registration, or 

student status under which he is practicing in that setting. 

Name identification on a badge for identification of health 

care practitioners shall follow the policy of the health care 

setting in which the nurse is employed. Any person practicing 

in hospital emergency departments, psychiatric and mental 

health units and programs, or in health care facilities units 

offering treatment for clients in custody of state or local law-

enforcement agencies may use identification badges with first 

name and first letter only of last name and appropriate title.  

B. A licensee who has changed his name shall submit as 

legal proof to the board a copy of the marriage certificate, a 

certificate of naturalization, or court order evidencing the 

change. A duplicate license shall be issued by the board upon 

receipt of such evidence and the required fee. 

C. Each licensee shall maintain an address of record with the 

board. Any change in the address of record or in the public 

address, if different from the address of record, shall be 

submitted by a licensee electronically or in writing to the 

board within 30 days of such change. All notices required by 

law and by this chapter to be mailed by the board to any 

licensee shall be validly given when mailed to the latest 

address of record on file with the board. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-05; Filed July 1, 2017, 1:11 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-27. Regulations for Nursing 

Education Programs (amending 18VAC90-27-10, 

18VAC90-27-220, 18VAC90-27-230).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

September 19, 2017 - 10:15 a.m. - Perimeter Center, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 201, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: September 22, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX (804) 

527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Nursing the authority to promulgate 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewpetition.cfm?petitionid=249
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewcomments.cfm?commentid=55675
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regulations to administer the regulatory system. In addition, 

§ 54.1-3005 of the Code of Virginia provides authority for the 

board to approve nursing education programs. 

Purpose: The purpose of the proposed regulatory action is to 

use national accreditation as a standard for demonstrated 

quality in nursing education, create more opportunities for 

financial aid for students, enhance employment opportunities, 

and facilitate academic progression for graduates to 

baccalaureate or master degrees.  

Quality may be demonstrated by a higher percentage of 

graduates passing the national examination (NCLEX) from 

accredited nursing education programs. In 2014, 86% of 

graduates from accredited programs passed NCLEX, and 

76% of graduates from nonaccredited programs passed. The 

board requires a passage rate of 80% over a three-year period 

to maintain approval of a nursing education program. 

94% of employers in Virginia (predominantly hospitals) 

reported that accredited nursing programs have a large to 

moderate impact on clinical outcomes for registered nurses. 

Accreditation standards result in a quality education 

demonstrated in a number of ways, but most importantly, in 

the clinical care nurses provide to patients. Therefore, it is 

essential to protect the health and safety of citizens for the 

Board of Nursing to move toward accreditation of all 

registered nursing education programs. 

The goal of this action is to align educational programs with 

recommendations of the National Council of State Boards of 

Nursing and the Institute of Medicines Future of Nursing 

report, which recommends increasing the proportion of nurses 

with a baccalaureate degree to 80% by 2020. Nurses from 

practical, associate, and diploma programs who graduate from 

nonaccredited programs will find it difficult, if not 

impossible, to obtain a baccalaureate degree. Graduates of 

nonaccredited programs will also find it increasingly difficult 

to find employment as employers, especially many hospitals, 

are hiring only baccalaureate degree nurses. 

Substance: The proposed amendments require all prelicensure 

registered nursing education programs in Virginia to have 

accreditation or candidacy status with a national accrediting 

agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education by 

the year 2020. The accrediting bodies currently recognized 

are the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education 

(CCNE), the Accreditation Commission for Education in 

Nursing (ACEN), and the Commission for Nursing Education 

Accreditation. There will be no change for prelicensure 

programs preparing students for licensed practice nursing. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the proposed amendments 

is greater assurance of quality in the didactic and clinical 

education for registered nurses. For graduates of such 

programs, there are advantages in employment opportunities 

and availability of graduate level education to further their 

careers. There are no disadvantages for nurses or the public. 

There is an advantage to the board because accredited 

programs only have to be reevaluated every 10 years, whereas 

nonaccredited programs have to be reevaluated every five 

years, a process that consumes resources and personnel. 

There are no disadvantages to the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Nursing (Board) proposes to require that each 

registered nursing (RN) education program be accredited or 

be a candidate for accreditation in order to maintain Board-

approved status. Additionally, the Board proposes to expand 

the number of approved accrediting organizations for nursing 

education programs.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Regulations Governing 

Nursing Education Programs set out the requirements for RN 

education programs and licensed practical nursing education 

programs in Virginia. 

Required Accreditation for RN Programs: Under the current 

regulation RN education programs do not need to be 

accredited in order to maintain board-approved status. 

Nonaccredited RN education programs are reevaluated at 

least every five years by submission of a comprehensive self-

evaluation report and a survey visit by representatives of the 

Board. Accredited RN education programs are reevaluated at 

least every 10 years by submission of a comprehensive self-

evaluation report as provided by the Board. As evidence of 

compliance with specific requirements of this chapter, the 

Board may accept the most recent study report, site visit 

report, and final decision letter from the accrediting body. 

According to the Department of Health Professions, all 33 

bachelors' degree RN education programs in the 

Commonwealth are accredited. Of the 45 associates' degree 

RN education programs in Virginia, 26 are currently 

accredited and 19 are currently unaccredited.  

The Board proposes to require that all RN education 

programs be accredited or be in accreditation candidacy status 

in order to maintain board approval. For programs that are not 

currently accredited and did not plan to pursue accreditation 

without the Board's proposed requirement, this proposal will 

introduce several thousand dollars of fees in acquiring and 

maintaining accreditation. For information on those fees, 

please see the appendices at the end of this document for fee 

schedules from three Board-recognized accrediting 

organizations. For at least some of the currently 

nonaccredited programs, there would be further additional 

cost in changing the program to meet the accrediting 

organization's requirements. 

On the other hand, there would be some savings to offset 

costs for accreditation in that an accredited program only has 

to be reevaluated by the board every 10 years by submission 

of a report, and an accredited program may use its reports 

from the accredited body as evidence of compliance with 

Board regulations. A nonaccredited program has to be 
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reevaluated every 5 years and requires submission of a full 

report and a survey visit from a Board representative. Both 

the Board and the accredited programs would realize some 

savings by the longer period between reevaluation for 

continued approval by the Board. The cost for a survey visit 

by the Board is $2,200; an accredited program would realize 

that savings every 5 years. 

There is some evidence that RNs from accredited nursing 

education programs perform better than RNs from 

unaccredited programs. Members of the Virginia Hospital & 

Healthcare Association were surveyed concerning the 

accreditation of nursing education programs. When asked 

whether they saw a difference in clinical practice between 

RNs from accredited nursing programs and nonaccredited 

nursing programs, 86% chose "Yes, RNs from accredited 

nursing school programs demonstrate a stronger and more in 

depth clinical practice than nurses from nonaccredited nursing 

school programs, versus 14% who chose "No, we do not see a 

difference in clinical practice between RNs from accredited 

and nonaccredited nursing school programs." When asked to 

evaluate the effect of nursing program accreditation on 

delivering quality clinical outcomes to patients within their 

institution, a) 74% chose "Accredited nursing school program 

RNs have a large impact on clinical outcomes," b) 20% chose 

"Accredited nursing school program RNs have a moderate 

impact on clinical outcomes," and c) 6% chose "Accredited 

nursing school program RNs do not have an impact on 

clinical outcomes." This implies, but does not establish,
1
 that 

the health care provided by graduates of accredited nursing 

programs is superior to that provided by graduates of 

nonaccredited nursing programs and makes a positive 

difference in patient health outcomes. To the extent that this 

is accurate, the benefits of the proposed amendments likely 

exceed the costs. 

Additional Accrediting Organizations: Under the current 

regulation "Accreditation" is defined as "having been 

accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in 

Nursing, the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, 

or a national nursing accrediting organization recognized by 

the board." The Board proposes to amend the definition to 

"having been accredited by an agency recognized by the U.S. 

Department of Education to include the Accreditation 

Commission for Education in Nursing, the Commission on 

Collegiate Nursing Education, the Commission for Nursing 

Education Accreditation, or a national nursing accrediting 

organization recognized by the board." The proposed new 

language is underlined. Additional options for accreditation 

can be beneficial for nursing education programs in that they 

may find options that are either more affordable or available, 

or match their mission better.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

potentially affect the 78 prelicensure RN education programs 

in the Commonwealth, as well as nursing students, employers 

of nurses such as hospitals, and patients. The 19 currently 

unaccredited RN education programs would be particularly 

affected.
2
  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal to require 

accreditation for RN education programs to maintain Board-

approved status may lead to the closing of a few propriety 

programs. This would eliminate employment at those 

programs. Most of the students who would have enrolled in 

those programs would likely enroll in a different Virginia 

program instead. Given the increased demand, at least some 

of the potential reduction in employment at the closing 

programs may be counterbalanced by increased employment 

at the programs with the potential increased demand. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposal to require accreditation for RN education programs 

to maintain Board-approved status may lead to the closing of 

a few propriety programs. If this were to happen, the property 

currently used to house these closing RN education programs 

would likely be used for a different purpose going forward. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Most of the RN education programs 

are either part of universities, community colleges, or national 

propriety college chains. There may be a few smaller 

proprietary programs. For these programs, if they are not 

already accredited or in candidacy status, the proposal to 

require accreditation for RN education programs to maintain 

Board-approved status would increase costs through 

accreditation fees and potentially in changing the program to 

meet the accrediting organization's requirements. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no clear alternative method that reduces adverse impact while 

still meeting the policy goal of increased minimum skills 

training for Board-approved RN education programs.  

Adverse Impacts:   

Businesses. The proposal to require accreditation for RN 

education programs to maintain Board-approved status would 

increase costs for proprietary RN education programs that are 

not already accredited. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect other entities. 

_______________________________________ 
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1 Research that includes data on patients and their health outcomes linked 

with their nurses and their educational background, controlling for factors 

unrelated to the nurses' educational background that could affect health 
outcomes, would be needed to more firmly establish the actual impact.  
2 Data source: Department of Health Professions 
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Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Nursing concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

The proposed amendments require all prelicensure 

registered nursing education programs in Virginia to have 

accreditation or candidacy status with a national 

accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Department of 

Education by the year 2020 and add the Commission for 

Nursing Education Accreditation as an approved 

accrediting organization.  

Part I 

General Provisions 

18VAC90-27-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in § 54.1-3000 of the 

Code of Virginia, the following words and terms when used 

in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Accreditation" means having been accredited by an agency 

recognized by the U.S. Department of Education to include 

the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, the 

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, the 

Commission for Nursing Education Accreditation, or a 

national nursing accrediting organization recognized by the 

board. 

"Advisory committee" means a group of persons from a 

nursing education program and the health care community 

who meets regularly to advise the nursing education program 

on the quality of its graduates and the needs of the 

community. 

"Approval" means the process by which the board or a 

governmental agency in another state or foreign country 

evaluates and grants official recognition to nursing education 

programs that meet established standards not inconsistent 

with Virginia law. 

"Associate degree nursing program" means a nursing 

education program preparing for registered nurse licensure, 

offered by a Virginia college or other institution and designed 

to lead to an associate degree in nursing, provided that the 

institution is authorized to confer such degree by SCHEV. 

"Baccalaureate degree nursing program" or "prelicensure 

graduate degree program" means a nursing education 

program preparing for registered nurse licensure, offered by a 

Virginia college or university and designed to lead to a 

baccalaureate or a graduate degree with a major in nursing, 

provided that the institution is authorized to confer such 

degree by SCHEV. 

"Board" means the Board of Nursing. 

"Clinical setting" means any location in which the clinical 

practice of nursing occurs as specified in an agreement 

between the cooperating agency and the school of nursing. 

"Conditional approval" means a time-limited status that 

results when an approved nursing education program has 

failed to maintain requirements as set forth in this chapter. 

"Cooperating agency" means an agency or institution that 

enters into a written agreement to provide clinical or 

observational experiences for a nursing education program. 

"Diploma nursing program" means a nursing education 

program preparing for registered nurse licensure, offered by a 

hospital and designed to lead to a diploma in nursing, 

provided the hospital is licensed in this state. 

"Initial approval" means the status granted to a nursing 

education program that allows the admission of students. 

"National certifying organization" means an organization 

that has as one of its purposes the certification of a specialty 

in nursing based on an examination attesting to the 

knowledge of the nurse for practice in the specialty area. 

"NCLEX" means the National Council Licensure 

Examination. 

"NCSBN" means the National Council of State Boards of 

Nursing. 

"Nursing education program" means an entity offering a 

basic course of study preparing persons for licensure as 

registered nurses or as licensed practical nurses. A basic 

course of study shall include all courses required for the 

degree, diploma, or certificate. 

"Nursing faculty" means registered nurses who teach the 

practice of nursing in nursing education programs. 

"Practical nursing program" means a nursing education 

program preparing for practical nurse licensure that leads to a 

diploma or certificate in practical nursing, provided the 

school is authorized by the Virginia Department of Education 

or by an accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. 

Department of Education. 

"Preceptor" means a licensed nurse who is employed in the 

clinical setting, serves as a resource person and role model, 

and is present with the nursing student in that setting, 

providing clinical supervision. 

"Program director" means a registered nurse who holds a 

current, unrestricted license in Virginia or a multistate 

licensure privilege and who has been designated by the 

controlling authority to administer the nursing education 

program. 

"Recommendation" means a guide to actions that will assist 

an institution to improve and develop its nursing education 

program. 

"Requirement" means a mandatory condition that a nursing 

education program must meet to be approved or maintain 

approval. 

"SCHEV" means the State Council of Higher Education for 

Virginia. 
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"Site visit" means a focused onsite review of the nursing 

program by board staff, usually completed within one day for 

the purpose of evaluating program components such as the 

physical location (skills lab, classrooms, learning resources) 

for obtaining initial program approval, in response to a 

complaint, compliance with NCLEX plan of correction, 

change of location, or verification of noncompliance with this 

chapter. 

"Survey visit" means a comprehensive onsite review of the 

nursing program by board staff, usually completed within two 

days (depending on the number of programs or campuses 

being reviewed) for the purpose of obtaining and maintaining 

full program approval. The survey visit includes the 

program's completion of a self-evaluation report prior to the 

visit, as well as a board staff review of all program resources, 

including skills lab, classrooms, learning resources, and 

clinical facilities, and other components to ensure compliance 

with this chapter. Meetings with faculty, administration, 

students, and clinical facility staff will occur. 

18VAC90-27-220. Maintaining an approved nursing 

education program. 

A. The program director of each nursing education program 

shall submit an annual report to the board.  

B. Each Prior to (insert three years from the effective date of 

this regulation), each registered nursing education program 

shall be reevaluated as follows:  

1. Every registered nursing education program that has not 

achieved accreditation as defined in 18VAC90-27-10 shall 

be reevaluated at least every five years by submission of a 

comprehensive self-evaluation report based on Parts II 

(18VAC90-27-30 et seq.) and III (18VAC90-27-150 et 

seq.) of this chapter and a survey visit by a representative 

or representatives of the board on dates mutually 

acceptable to the institution and the board. 

2. A registered nursing education program that has 

maintained accreditation as defined in 18VAC90-27-10 

shall be reevaluated at least every 10 years by submission 

of a comprehensive self-evaluation report as provided by 

the board. As evidence of compliance with specific 

requirements of this chapter, the board may accept the 

most recent study report, site visit report, and final decision 

letter from the accrediting body. The board may require 

additional information or a site visit to ensure compliance 

with requirements of this chapter. If accreditation has been 

withdrawn or a program has been placed on probation by 

the accrediting body, the board may require a survey visit. 

If a program fails to submit the documentation required in 

this subdivision, the requirements of subdivision 1 of this 

subsection shall apply. 

After (insert three years from the effective date of this 

regulation), each registered nursing education program 

shall have accreditation or candidacy status and shall be 

reevaluated at least every 10 years by submission of a 

comprehensive self-evaluation report as provided by the 

board. As evidence of compliance with specific 

requirements of this chapter, the board may accept the 

most recent study report, site visit report, and final decision 

letter from the accrediting body. The board may require 

additional information or a site visit to ensure compliance 

with requirements of this chapter. If a program has been 

placed on probation by the accrediting body, the board may 

require a survey visit. If a program fails to submit the 

documentation required in this subdivision, the 

requirements of subdivision 1 of this subsection shall 

apply. 

C. Each practical nursing education program shall be 

reevaluated as follows: 

1. Every practical nursing education program that has not 

achieved accreditation as defined in 18VAC90-27-10 shall 

be reevaluated at least every five years by submission of a 

comprehensive self-evaluation report based on Parts II 

(18VAC90-27-30 et seq.) and III (18VAC90-27-150 et 

seq.) of this chapter and a survey visit by a representative 

or representatives of the board on dates mutually 

acceptable to the institution and the board. 

2. A practical nursing education program that has 

maintained accreditation as defined in 18VAC90-27-10 

shall be reevaluated at least every 10 years by submission 

of a comprehensive self-evaluation report as provided by 

the board. As evidence of compliance with specific 

requirements of this chapter, the board may accept the 

most recent study report, site visit report, and final decision 

letter from the accrediting body. The board may require 

additional information or a site visit to ensure compliance 

with requirements of this chapter. If accreditation has been 

withdrawn or a program has been placed on probation by 

the accrediting body, the board may require a survey visit. 

If a program fails to submit the documentation required in 

this subdivision, the requirements of subdivision 1 of this 

subsection shall apply. 

D. Interim site or survey visits shall be made to the 

institution by board representatives at any time within the 

initial approval period or full approval period as deemed 

necessary by the board. Prior to the conduct of such a visit, 

the program shall submit the fee for a survey visit as required 

by 18VAC90-27-20. 

D. E. Failure to submit the required fee for a survey or site 

visit may subject an education program to board action or 

withdrawal of board approval. 

18VAC90-27-230. Continuing and withdrawal of full 

approval. 

A. The board shall receive and review the self-evaluation 

and survey reports required in 18VAC90-27-220 B or C or 

complaints relating to program compliance. Following 

review, the board may continue the program on full approval 

so long as it remains in compliance with all requirements in 

Parts II (18VAC90-27-30 et seq.), III (18VAC90-27-150 et 

seq.), and IV (18VAC90-27-210 et seq.) of this chapter. 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 24, 2017 

2718 

B. If the board determines that a program is not maintaining 

the requirements of Parts II, III, and IV of this chapter or for 

causes enumerated in 18VAC90-27-140, the board may: 

1. Place the program on conditional approval with terms 

and conditions to be met within the timeframe specified by 

the board; or  

2. Withdraw program approval. 

C. If the board either places a program on conditional 

approval with terms and conditions to be met within a 

timeframe specified by the board or withdraws approval, the 

following shall apply: 

1. No further action will be required of the board unless the 

program requests an informal conference pursuant to 

§§ 2.2-4019 and 54.1-109 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. If withdrawal or continued program approval with terms 

and conditions is recommended following the informal 

conference, the recommendation shall be presented to the 

board or a panel thereof for review and action. 

3. If the recommendation of the informal conference 

committee is accepted by the board or a panel thereof, the 

decision shall be reflected in a board order and no further 

action by the board is required unless the program requests 

a formal hearing within 30 days from entry of the order in 

accordance with § 2.2-4020 of the Code of Virginia. 

4. If the decision of the board or a panel thereof following 

a formal hearing is to withdraw approval or continue on 

conditional approval with terms or conditions, the program 

shall be advised of the right to appeal the decision to the 

appropriate circuit court in accordance with § 2.2-4026 of 

the Code of Virginia and Part 2A of the Rules of the 

Supreme Court of Virginia. 

D. If a program approval is withdrawn, no additional 

students may be admitted into the program effective upon the 

date of entry of the board's final order to withdraw approval. 

Further, the program shall submit quarterly reports until the 

program is closed, and the program must comply with board 

requirements regarding closure of a program as stated in 

18VAC90-27-240. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4925; Filed July 1, 2017, 1:12 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-310).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: August 23, 2017. 

Effective Date: September 7, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Pharmacy the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system and under a 

specific mandate of Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly. 

The statutory authority for the board to promulgate 

regulations to regulate the security and integrity of drugs and 

devices is found in § 54.1-3307 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to offer 

more flexibility in dispensing Schedule II drugs, so the drug 

is not dispensed in a quantity beyond what the patient or 

prescriber initially desires. The prescriber may write for a 

seven-day supply, or a 14-day supply for a post-surgical 

patient, but the patient may prefer to try the drug for a few 

days before filling the full prescription. For example, a patient 

may be prescribed an opioid for pain after a procedure in the 

doctor's office. To avoid having a quantity of drugs, which 

may or may not be needed, he may request a partial fill with 

the ability to have the remainder dispensed if necessary. The 

partial fill may provide a cost-savings advantage, especially 

for self-pay patients, but the primary advantage would be the 

potential of having fewer unused or unnecessary Schedule II 

drugs available for abuse or diversion. The goal is to meet a 

patient's need for medication but offer greater protection for 

public health and safety. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

ability for a pharmacist to partially fill a Schedule II 

prescription at the request of a patient or a prescriber is 

consumer friendly, less restrictive, and not controversial. 

Therefore, the fast-track rulemaking process is appropriate. 

Substance: Regulations for partial dispensing of a Schedule II 

controlled substance are amended to allow a partial fill if 

requested by the patient or the prescriber and if (i) the total 

quantity of all partial fillings does not exceed the total 

prescribed, (ii) the prescription is written and filled in 

accordance with state and federal law, and (iii) the remaining 

portions are filled not later than 30 days from the original date 

on the prescription. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is an option for partial 

filling of a Schedule II prescription as requested. There are no 

disadvantages to the public. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to this agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Pharmacy (Board) proposes to allow a partial fill of 

a Schedule II prescription if requested by the patient or the 

prescriber under specified conditions. Schedule II 
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prescriptions include opiates such as morphine and 

oxycodone, as well as other drugs.
1
 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current regulation permits 

partial filling of Schedule II prescriptions for patients in long-

term care facilities and for patients with a medical diagnosis 

documenting a terminal illness under set circumstances and 

conditions. The current regulation also allows partial filling 

of a prescription for a drug listed in Schedule II if the 

pharmacist is unable to supply the full quantity called for in a 

written or emergency oral prescription, and she makes a 

notation of the quantity supplied on the face of the written 

prescription. The remaining portion of the prescription may 

be dispensed within 72 hours of the first partial dispensing; 

however, if the remaining portion is not or cannot be 

dispensed within the 72-hour period, the pharmacist must 

notify the prescribing practitioner. No further quantity may be 

supplied beyond 72 hours without a new prescription. 

The Board proposes to allow prescriptions for Schedule II 

drugs to be filled in partial quantities, even if a full quantity is 

available, if: 1) the total quantity of all partial fillings doesn't 

exceed the total prescribed, 2) the prescription is written and 

filled in accordance with state and federal law, and 3) the 

remaining portions are filled not later than 30 days from the 

original date on the prescription. The proposed amendments 

would be beneficial. For example, say a physician writes a 

14-day prescription for post-surgical opioid pain medication, 

but the patient prefers to try the drug for a few days before 

filling the full prescription. To avoid having a quantity of 

drugs, which may or may not be needed, under the proposed 

regulation the patient may request a partial fill with the ability 

to have the remainder dispensed if necessary. This is 

potentially beneficial for two reasons. First, the partial fill 

may have a cost-savings advantage, especially for self-pay 

patients. Second, the partial fill would create the potential of 

having fewer unused or unnecessary Schedule II drugs 

available for abuse or diversion. The proposed regulation 

does not introduce cost. Thus, the proposed amendments 

would create a net benefit.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

potentially affect the 1,852 permitted pharmacies in the 

Commonwealth, their customers, pharmacists, and 

physicians. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

would not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments do not significantly affect the use and 

value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments would 

not significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments would not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments would not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments would not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments would not 

adversely affect other entities. 

 
1 

U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration's list of Schedule II controlled 

substances: https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/21cfr/cfr/1308/1308_12.htm 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Pharmacy concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments permit a pharmacist to partially fill a 

Schedule II prescription at the request of a patient or a 

prescriber and establish requirements so the drug is not 

dispensed in a quantity beyond what the patient or 

prescriber initially desires.  

18VAC110-20-310. Partial dispensing of Schedule II 

prescriptions.  

A. The partial filling of a prescription for a drug listed in 

Schedule II is permissible if the pharmacist is unable to 

supply the full quantity called for in a written or emergency 

oral prescription, and he makes a notation of the quantity 

supplied on the face of the written prescription. The 

remaining portion of the prescription may be dispensed 

within 72 hours of the first partial dispensing; however, if the 

remaining portion is not or cannot be dispensed within the 72-

hour period, the pharmacist shall so notify the prescribing 

practitioner. No further quantity may be supplied beyond 72 

hours without a new prescription.  

B. Prescriptions for Schedule II drugs written for patients in 

long-term care facilities may be dispensed in partial 

quantities, to include individual dosage units. For each partial 

dispensing, the dispensing pharmacist shall record on the 

back of the prescription (or on another appropriate record, 

uniformly maintained and readily retrievable) the date of the 

partial dispensing, quantity dispensed, remaining quantity 

authorized to be dispensed, and the identification of the 

dispensing pharmacist. The total quantity of Schedule II 

https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/21cfr/cfr/1308/1308_12.htm
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drugs in all partial dispensing shall not exceed the total 

quantity prescribed. Schedule II prescriptions shall be valid 

for a period not to exceed 60 days from the issue date unless 

sooner terminated by the discontinuance of the drug.  

C. Information pertaining to current Schedule II 

prescriptions for patients in a long-term care facility may be 

maintained in a computerized system if this system has the 

capability to permit:  

1. Output (display or printout) of the original prescription 

number, date of issue, identification of prescribing 

practitioner, identification of patient, identification of the 

long-term care facility, identification of drug authorized (to 

include dosage form, strength, and quantity), listing of 

partial dispensing under each prescription, and the 

information required in subsection B of this section.  

2. Immediate (real time) updating of the prescription 

record each time a partial dispensing of the prescription is 

conducted.  

D. A prescription for a Schedule II drug may be filled in 

partial quantities to include individual dosage units for a 

patient with a medical diagnosis documenting a terminal 

illness under the following conditions:  

1. The practitioner shall classify the patient as terminally 

ill, and the pharmacist shall verify and record such notation 

on the prescription. 

2. On each partial filling, the pharmacist shall record the 

date, quantity dispensed, remaining quantity authorized to 

be dispensed, and the identity of the dispensing pharmacist.  

3. Prior to the subsequent partial filling, the pharmacist 

shall determine that it is necessary. The total quantity of 

Schedule II drugs dispensed in all partial fillings shall not 

exceed the total quantity prescribed.  

4. Schedule II prescriptions for terminally ill patients may 

be partially filled for a period not to exceed 60 days from 

the issue date unless terminated sooner.  

5. Information pertaining to partial filling may be 

maintained in a computerized system under the conditions 

set forth in subsection C of this section.  

E. A prescription for a Schedule II drug may be filled in 

partial quantities if the partial fill is requested by the patient 

or by the practitioner who wrote the prescription provided: 

1. The total quantity dispensed in all partial fillings does 

not exceed the total quantity prescribed; 

2. The prescription is written and filled in accordance with 

state and federal law; and  

3. The remaining portions are filled not later than 30 days 

after the date on which the prescription is written. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5051; Filed June 26, 2017, 10:26 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-590).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: August 23, 2017. 

Effective Date: September 7, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under (i) the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Pharmacy the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system and (ii) a 

specific mandate of Chapter 82 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly.  

The statutory authority for the board to promulgate 

regulations to regulate the security and integrity of drugs and 

devices is found in § 54.1-3307 of the Code of Virginia.  

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to 

conform Virginia regulations to advice given the Department 

of Corrections about the disposition of unused or expired 

drugs. The federal Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) 

does not allow controlled substances (Schedules II through V) 

that have already been dispensed to a patient to be returned to 

the pharmacy to be redispensed to another patient. Currently, 

regulations for drugs in correctional facilities do permit such 

returns, if the facilities comply with provisions of 

19VAC110-20-400 regarding drug returns. The prohibition 

on returning controlled substances after they have been 

dispensed to a patient is intended to protect the health and 

safety of the public and the integrity of the drug chain, so 

patients are assured of the efficacy and safety of the drugs 

they receive. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

change in disposition of scheduled drugs within correctional 

facilities is necessary to conform to advice from the DEA and 

is not controversial. It does not affect the public or the 

pharmacy community in general. 

Substance: In order to comply with the DEA, 18VAC110-20-

590 regarding drugs in correctional facilities is amended to 

require unused or expired drugs in Schedules II through V to 

be destroyed at the facility rather than being returned to the 

provider pharmacy. To ensure the integrity of the destruction 

process, the regulations contain requirements for witnessing 

the destruction and for recordkeeping. 

Issues: There are no advantages or disadvantages to the public 

or the agency. The Department of Corrections will have 
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clarity in the rules for disposition, so state regulations are 

consistent with DEA rules for correctional institutions. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As 

mandated by federal regulation,
1
 the Board of Pharmacy 

(Board) proposes to amend its Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Pharmacy to require correctional facilities to 

destroy all Schedule II through V drugs onsite rather than 

allowing them to be returned to the dispensing pharmacy.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current Board regulation allows 

correctional facilities to return unused or discontinued 

prescription drugs to the dispensing pharmacy which then 

would destroy them. However, federal Drug Enforcement 

Administration (DEA) regulation does not allow such returns 

for Schedule II through V drugs. In order to conform this 

regulation to DEA rules, the Board now proposes to amend it 

so that it is clear that correctional facilities are required to 

destroy unused or discontinued Schedule II through V drugs 

onsite. Additionally, the Board proposes to specify the 

manner and timing of such drug destruction.
2
 Further, the 

Board proposes to specify that drug destruction must be 

performed by a nurse, pharmacist, or physician and must be 

witnessed by a separate person who is a nurse supervisor, 

pharmacist or physician. 

Correctional facilities will likely only be affected by these 

changes in Board regulation if they are currently non-

compliant with DEA regulations. Affected facilities would 

likely incur some small time costs involved with destroying 

drugs onsite but those time costs are likely outweighed by the 

benefits, for both correctional facilities and their provider 

pharmacies, of being in compliance with DEA rules. For 

example, and in particular, such compliance will ensure that 

pharmacies do not run afoul of federal rules that could result 

in revocation of the DEA registration that allows them to 

dispense drugs. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulatory 

changes apply to all correctional facilities in the 

Commonwealth as well as the provider pharmacies that serve 

them.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality is likely to be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes.  

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No small businesses are likely to 

incur any additional costs on account of these proposed 

regulatory changes.  

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 

businesses are likely to incur any additional costs on account 

of these proposed regulatory changes. 

Adverse Impacts:   

Businesses. No businesses are likely to incur any additional 

costs on account of these proposed regulatory changes. 

Localities. Jails that are run by localities, and are not already 

in compliance with DEA rules, may incur some small time 

costs for destroying prescription drugs onsite. These costs 

would likely be very minimal. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely 

affected by these proposed changes. 

________________________________ 
1 21 CFR 1317.15(b) which can be found at 
https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/21cfr/cfr/1317/subpart_a.htm#15 
2 Drugs must be destroyed in a manner that makes them unrecoverable and 

within 30 days of their discontinued use. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Pharmacy concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments require a correctional facility to destroy 

unused or expired drugs in Schedules II through V at the 

facility and establish requirements for witnessing the 

destruction and for recordkeeping.  

18VAC110-20-590. Drugs in correctional facilities.  

A. All prescription drugs at any correctional facility shall be 

subject to the following conditions:  

1. Notwithstanding the allowances in subsections B, C, and 

D of this section, prescription drugs shall be obtained only 

on an individual prescription basis. 

2. All prepared drugs shall be maintained in a suitable 

locked storage area with only the person responsible for 

administering the drugs having access.  

3. Complete and accurate records shall be maintained of all 

drugs received, administered and discontinued. The 

administration record shall show the:  

a. Patient name;  

b. Drug name and strength;  

c. Number of dosage units received;  

d. Prescriber's name; and  

https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/21cfr/cfr/1317/subpart_a.htm#15


Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 24, 2017 

2722 

e. Date, time and signature of the person administering 

the individual dose of drug.  

4. All unused or discontinued drugs shall be sealed and the 

amount in the container at the time of the sealing shall be 

recorded on the drug administration record. Such Schedule 

VI drugs shall be returned to the provider pharmacy or to a 

secondary pharmacy along with the drug administration 

record, a copy of the drug administration record, or other 

form showing substantially the same information, within 

30 days of discontinuance. 

a. The provider or secondary pharmacy shall conduct 

random audits of returned drug administration records for 

accountability.  

b. The drug administration records shall be filed in 

chronological order by the provider or secondary 

pharmacy and maintained for a period of one year or, at 

the option of the facility, the records may be returned by 

the pharmacy to the facility.  

c. Drugs may be returned to pharmacy stock in 

compliance with the provisions of 18VAC110-20-400.  

d. Other drugs shall be disposed of or destroyed by the 

provider pharmacy in accordance with local, state, and 

federal regulations.  

5. Alternatively, drugs for destruction may be forwarded 

by a pharmacist directly from the correctional facility to a 

returns company after After performing the audit required 

by subdivision 4 a of this subsection and ensuring the 

proper maintenance of the administration records, drugs in 

Schedules II through V shall be destroyed at the site of the 

correctional facility using a method of destruction that 

renders the drug unrecoverable.  

a. The destruction shall be performed by a nurse, 

pharmacist, or physician and witnessed by the nurse 

supervisor, a pharmacist, or a physician. 

b. Destruction of drugs shall occur within 30 days of 

discontinuance. 

c. A complete and accurate record of the drugs destroyed 

shall be made. The original of the record of destruction 

shall be signed and dated by the persons witnessing the 

destruction and maintained at the correctional facility for 

a period of two years. A copy of the destruction record 

shall be maintained at the provider pharmacy for a period 

of two years. 

B. Emergency and stat-drug box. An emergency box and a 

stat-drug box may be prepared for a correctional facility 

served by the pharmacy pursuant to 18VAC110-20-540 and 

18VAC110-20-550 provided that the facility employs one or 

more full-time physicians, registered nurses, licensed 

practical nurses, or physician assistants.  

C. A correctional facility may maintain a stock of 

intravenous fluids, irrigation fluids, sterile water, and sterile 

saline to be accessed only by those persons licensed to 

administer drugs and shall be administered only by such 

persons pursuant to a valid prescription or lawful order of a 

prescriber. Such stock shall be limited to a listing to be 

determined by the provider pharmacist in consultation with 

the medical and nursing staff of the institution. 

D. Except for drugs in an emergency box, stat-drug box, or a 

stock of intravenous fluids, irrigation fluids, sterile water, and 

sterile saline, prescription drugs, including but not limited to 

vaccines, may be floor-stocked only at a medical clinic or 

surgery center that is part of a correctional facility and that is 

staffed by one or more prescribers during the hours of 

operation, provided the clinic first obtains a controlled 

substances registration and complies with the requirements of 

18VAC110-20-690, 18VAC110-20-700, 18VAC110-20-710, 

and 18VAC110-20-720. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5047; Filed June 26, 2017, 10:25 a.m.  

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Social Work (amending 18VAC140-20-10, 

18VAC140-20-110).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: September 22, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-

4435, or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Board of Social Work with the authority to promulgate 

regulations that are reasonable and necessary to administer 

effectively the regulatory system. 

Purpose: The purpose of adding "psychosocial intervention" 

is to broaden the definition of clinical social work to be more 

inclusive of those therapeutic modalities that expand beyond 

the strict definition of psychotherapy. The addition of the 

term is intended to update the current definition of clinical 

social work services to more accurately reflect the scope of 

practice for clinical social workers.  

The addition of requirements for documentation of a licensure 

or certification in another jurisdiction and a report from the 

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services National 

Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) will provide the board with 

important information about possible discipline in another 

state or malpractice action against an applicant for 

reinstatement whose license has been lapsed for more than 

one year. 

The purpose of specifying an amount of supervision during 

the 360 hours of supervised practice is intended to ensure that 

a person who has not been practicing is now competent to 

resume active practice with clients. A supervisor would be 
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required to have specific oversight for the person seeking 

reinstatement or reactivation, so the board can have some 

assurance that a client's health, safety, and welfare is 

protected when in the care of a supervisee. 

Specifying an amount of supervision for applicants for 

reinstatement or reactivation who have not been actively 

practicing is intended to clarify the intent in requiring 

supervised practice for at least 360 hours in the 12 months 

immediately preceding licensure in Virginia. Currently, 

regulations provide no definitive guidance on how much 

supervision is required during the 360 hours. In the proposed 

regulations, the board has specified a minimum of 60 hours of 

face-to-face direct client contact and nine hours of face-to-

face supervision during the 360 hours. Since the proposed 

amendments only require active practice or supervised hours 

of practice for those who have been lapsed or inactive for 10 

or more years, there is a heightened necessary for more 

specificity about the supervised practice to ensure safety and 

competency when a full license is granted. 

Substance: The proposed changes (i) amend the definition of 

clinical social work services to include psychosocial 

interventions, (ii) require applicants for reinstatement to 

provide verification of licensure in another state, if 

applicable, and a report from NPDB, and (iii) amend 

18VAC140-20-110 to specify an amount of supervision that 

is required for a person who has not actively practiced for 10 

or more years and applies to reinstate or reactivate his license. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is more explicit 

rule about supervision for applicants whose licenses have 

been lapsed or inactive. There are no disadvantages to the 

public. There are no advantages and disadvantages to the 

agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Social Work (Board) proposes to amend its main 

regulation to: 1) update definitions, 2) require applicants for 

reinstatement of licensure to provide proof of licensure in 

another state, if they have been licensed in another state, and 

a report from the U.S. Department of Health and Human 

Services' National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) and 3) 

specify the nature of supervision that is required for 

individuals who are seeking reinstatement and whose licenses 

have lapsed for 10 or more years. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Description: This chapter 

"establishes qualification for licensure, sets a schedule and 

fee for renewal and establishes the standard of practice for 

licensure of social workers."
1
 

Current regulation defines "clinical social work services" as: 

"the application of social work principles and methods in 

performing assessments and diagnoses based on a recognized 

manual of mental and emotional disorders or recognized 

system of problem definition, preventive and early 

intervention services and treatment services, including but not 

limited to, psychotherapy and counseling for mental 

disorders, substance abuse, marriage and family dysfunction, 

and problems caused by social and psychological stress or 

health impairment." The Board now proposes to add 

"psychosocial interventions"
2
 to the treatment services in this 

definition. Board staff reports that this change is being 

proposed to make this definition more reflective of the current 

scope of practice. No affected entity is likely to incur costs on 

account of this change. To the extent that it may clarify scope 

of practice, this change will benefit interested parties who 

read this regulation. 

This regulation currently requires individuals who are 

applying for reinstatement of licensure more than one year 

after licensure expiration to provide documentation of having 

completed continuing education hours during the time their 

license had lapsed up to a maximum of four years. Such 

individuals are also required to provide proof of competency 

by documenting either: 1) active practice in another United 

States jurisdiction for at least 24 of the 60 months 

immediately preceding licensure application, 2) active 

practice in an exempt setting for at least 24 of the 60 months 

immediately preceding licensure application or 3) practice 

under supervision for at least 360 hours in the 12 months 

immediately preceding licensure application.  

The Board now proposes to additionally require that 

individuals who are applying to reinstate their license provide 

documentation of any other license or certificate held in 

another political jurisdiction and a current NPDB report. The 

Board also proposes to limit the requirement that these 

individuals provide proof of continuing or supervised practice 

(as laid out above) to only those individuals whose Virginia 

licenses had been lapsed for 10 years or more. 

Requiring documentation of licensure in other jurisdictions 

and a NPDB report will increase costs for applicants for 

reinstatement; Board staff reports that political jurisdictions 

(including Virginia) charge a fee, typically $25 or less, for 

licensure verification and that the cost of a NPDB report is 

$6. These costs are likely outweighed by the benefit that 

would likely accrue to the citizens of Virginia because these 

documents allow the Board to check for disciplinary actions 

or malpractice claims that applicants may have been subject 

to.  

Board staff reports that the Board proposes to limit the 

requirement that individuals provide proof of continuing or 

supervised practice to only those individuals whose licenses 

have lapsed for 10 years or more in order to reduce the 

burden of reinstatement costs on individuals who likely have 

not been out of practice long enough to place doubt on their 

ability to practice competently. Social workers whose licenses 

have been lapsed for between one and nine years, and who do 

not meet the active practice criteria to show continued 
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competency, will likely save time costs, and may save the 

cost of paying for supervision, on account of this change.  

Current regulation requires that individuals reinstating lapsed 

licenses, and who must undertake supervised practice, 

complete at least 360 hours of practice under supervision; 

current regulation does not, however, specify the parameters 

of that supervision. The Board now proposes to require that 

these supervised practice hours include at least 60 hours of 

face-to-face direct client contact and nine hours of face-to-

face contact with the supervisor. Board staff reports that these 

face-to-face requirements are proportional to the requirements 

for initial licensure. Board staff further reports that the Board 

does not anticipate any supervisee incurring additional costs 

on account of these changes. These changes will provide the 

benefit of clarity for individuals who may have been confused 

about what is required under supervised practice.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulatory 

changes will affect all clinical social workers as well as all 

individuals who apply for reinstatement of licensure. Board 

staff reports that the Board currently licenses 6,458 clinical 

social workers. Board staff does not have an estimate of the 

number of individuals who might be affected by the changes 

to rules for reinstatement. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality should be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes.  

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to significantly affect employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Individuals seeking reinstatement of 

Virginia licensure, who plan to practice as individual 

proprietors or in a small practice setting, will likely incur 

some additional costs on account of being required to provide 

a current NPDB reports and proof of licensure or certification 

in other political jurisdictions. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There 

are likely no alternative methods that would both meet the 

Board's aims and further lower costs for applicants.  

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. Individuals seeking reinstatement of Virginia 

licensure, who plan to practice as independently rather than 

seeking employment in another business, will likely incur 

some additional costs on account of being required to provide 

a current NPDB reports and proof of licensure or certification 

in other political jurisdictions. 

Localities. No localities are likely to incur costs on account of 

these proposed regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. These proposed regulatory changes are 

unlikely to adversely affect other entities in the 

Commonwealth.  

_________________ 
1 The Chapter description, as well as more information on this Chapter, can 
be found at: 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewChapter.cfm?ChapterID=1157.  
2 Medical-dictionary.com defines psychosocial intervention as a 
nonpharmacologic maneuver intended to alter a patient's environment or 

reaction to lessen the impact of a mental disorder. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Social Work concurs with the analysis of the Department 

of Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

The proposed changes (i) amend the definition of clinical 

social work services to include psychosocial interventions, 

(ii) require applicants for reinstatement to provide 

verification of licensure in another state, if applicable, and 

a report from the U.S. Department of Health and Human 

Services National Practitioner Data Bank, and (iii) specify 

the amount of supervision required for a person who has 

not actively practiced for 10 or more years and who 

applies to reinstate or reactivate his license. 

Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC140-20-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-3700 of 

the Code of Virginia: 

Board 

Casework 

Casework management and supportive services 

Clinical social worker 

Practice of social work 

Social worker 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Accredited school of social work" means a school of social 

work accredited by the Council on Social Work Education. 

"Active practice" means post-licensure practice at the level 

of licensure for which an applicant is seeking licensure in 

Virginia and shall include at least 360 hours of practice in a 

12-month period.  

http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewChapter.cfm?ChapterID=1157
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"Ancillary services" means activities such as case 

management, recordkeeping, referral, and coordination of 

services. 

"Clinical course of study" means graduate course work that 

includes specialized advanced courses in human behavior and 

the social environment, social justice and policy, 

psychopathology and diversity issues; research; clinical 

practice with individuals, families, and groups; and a clinical 

practicum that focuses on diagnostic, prevention and 

treatment services. 

"Clinical social work services" include the application of 

social work principles and methods in performing 

assessments and diagnoses based on a recognized manual of 

mental and emotional disorders or recognized system of 

problem definition, preventive and early intervention 

services, and treatment services, including but not limited to 

psychosocial interventions, psychotherapy, and counseling 

for mental disorders, substance abuse, marriage and family 

dysfunction, and problems caused by social and 

psychological stress or health impairment. 

"Exempt practice" is that which meets the conditions of 

exemption from the requirements of licensure as defined in 

§ 54.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Face-to-face supervision" means the physical presence of 

the individuals involved in the supervisory relationship 

during either individual or group supervision or the use of 

technology that provides real-time, visual contact among the 

individuals involved. 

"Nonexempt practice" is that which does not meet the 

conditions of exemption from the requirements of licensure as 

defined in § 54.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Supervisee" means an individual who has submitted a 

supervisory contract and has received board approval to 

provide clinical services in social work under supervision. 

"Supervision" means a professional relationship between a 

supervisor and supervisee in which the supervisor directs, 

monitors and evaluates the supervisee's social work practice 

while promoting development of the supervisee's knowledge, 

skills and abilities to provide social work services in an 

ethical and competent manner. 

18VAC140-20-110. Late renewal; reinstatement; 

reactivation.  

A. A social worker or clinical social worker whose license 

has expired may renew that license within one year after its 

expiration date by:  

1. Providing evidence of having met all applicable 

continuing education requirements.  

2. Paying the penalty for late renewal and the renewal fee 

as prescribed in 18VAC140-20-30.  

B. A social worker or clinical social worker who fails to 

renew the license after one year and who wishes to resume 

practice shall apply for reinstatement and pay the 

reinstatement fee, which shall consist of the application 

processing fee and the penalty fee for late renewal, as set 

forth in 18VAC140-20-30. An applicant for reinstatement 

shall also provide documentation: 

1. Documentation of having completed all applicable 

continued competency hours equal to the number of years 

the license has lapsed, not to exceed four years; 

2. Documentation of any other health or mental health 

licensure or certification held in another United States 

jurisdiction, if applicable; and  

3. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank. 

An C. In addition to requirements set forth in subsection B 

of this section, an applicant for reinstatement whose license 

has been lapsed for 10 or more years shall also provide 

evidence of competency to practice by documenting: 

1. Active practice in another United States jurisdiction for 

at least 24 out of the past 60 months immediately 

preceding application;  

2. Active practice in an exempt setting for at least 24 out of 

the past 60 months immediately preceding application; or 

3. Practice as a supervisee under supervision for at least 

360 hours in the 12 months immediately preceding 

reinstatement of licensure in Virginia. The supervised 

practice shall include a minimum of 60 hours of face-to-

face direct client contact and nine hours of face-to-face 

supervision. 

C. D. A social worker or clinical social worker wishing to 

reactivate an inactive license shall submit the difference 

between the renewal fee for active licensure minus any fee 

already paid and the fee for inactive licensure renewal and 

document completion of continued competency hours equal 

to the number of years the license has been inactive, not to 

exceed four years. An applicant for reactivation who has been 

inactive for four 10 or more years shall also provide evidence 

of competency to practice by documenting: 

1. Active practice in another United States jurisdiction for 

at least 24 out of the past 60 months immediately 

preceding application; 

2. Active practice in an exempt setting for at least 24 out of 

the past 60 months immediately preceding application; or 

3. Practice as a supervisee under supervision for at least 

360 hours in the 12 months immediately preceding 

reactivation of licensure in Virginia. The supervised 

practice shall include a minimum of 60 hours of face-to-

face direct client contact and nine hours of face-to-face 

supervision. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4943; Filed July 1, 2017, 1:18 p.m.  
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BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Proposed Regulation  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Veterinary Medicine (amending 

18VAC150-20-100; adding 18VAC150-20-122, 

18VAC150-20-123).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3804 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 24, 2017 - 9:05 a.m. - Perimeter Center, 

9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd Floor Conference Room, 

Richmond, VA  

Public Comment Deadline: September 22, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4468, FAX 

(804) 527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Board of Veterinary Medicine to promulgate regulations 

to administer the regulatory system and to levy fees sufficient 

to cover expenses. 

The specific authority of the board relating to establishment 

of faculty and resident licensure is found in subdivision 3 of 

§ 54.1-3801 of the Code of Virginia and in the powers and 

duties of the board in § 54.1-3804 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The proposed action is mandated by the third 

enactment of Chapter 306 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, 

which provides that the Board of Veterinary Medicine shall 

adopt regulations for the licensure of veterinarians employed 

by the United States or the Commonwealth who are engaged 

in the practice of veterinary medicine, pursuant to § 54.1-

3801 of the Code of Virginia, as part of a veterinary medical 

education program located in the Commonwealth and 

accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association 

Council on Education by July 1, 2018. 

The intent of the board is to establish licensure for persons 

who are engaged in the practice of veterinary medicine at an 

accredited veterinary college or any of its subsidiary clinics, 

so those individuals who provide clinical care to animals will 

be accountable to the board. The ability to discipline those 

practitioners if they are found in violation of law or 

regulation, will protect the health and safety of patients and 

the welfare of their owners. 

Substance: In accordance with the provisions of Chapter 306 

of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the board is proposing to 

promulgate regulations for a faculty license and an 

intern/resident license for persons providing clinical care to 

animals at an accredited veterinary education program in 

Virginia. Proposed regulations set fees for application and 

renewal, establish the qualifications for a faculty or resident 

license, and set out the limitations on practice settings for 

such licenses. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the amendments is 

accountability for the clinical care of animals provided by 

faculty, interns, and residents at the veterinary school. There 

are no disadvantages for the public, which will have some 

recourse if their animal is harmed by the negligence or 

unprofessional conduct by a veterinarian at a veterinary 

educational program. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 306 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly,
1
 the 

Board of Veterinary Medicine (Board) proposes to establish a 

faculty license and an intern/resident license for persons 

providing clinical care to animals at an accredited veterinary 

education program in Virginia. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Prior to 2016, veterinarians 

employed by the Commonwealth, including those at a state 

medical education program, were exempt from licensing 

requirements of the Board. Chapter 306 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly eliminated that exemption and authorized the 

Board to establish requirements for the licensure of such 

persons. Pursuant to the legislative change, the Board 

proposes to establish requirements for faculty and 

intern/resident licensure for practice of veterinary medicine at 

the educational programs. 

The proposed regulation establishes a $100 fee for initial 

licensure of a faculty member, a $75 annual renewal fee, and 

a $25 late renewal fee. The proposed initial and annual 

renewal fees for intern/resident licenses are $25. More 

importantly, these individuals will be subject to all of the 

standards of the Board. If they fail to comply with standards 

designed to protect health, safety, and welfare of animals or 

their owners, the Board would be able to take corrective 

action. Therefore, the proposed regulation will provide 

incentives for best veterinary practices at educational 

programs and should produce net benefits. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff expects to 

receive 75 applications for faculty licensure, 25 for resident 

licensure, and 5 for intern licensure. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulation 

would apply to faculty, residents, and interns at any 

veterinarian educational program. Currently, there is only one 

such program, Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary 

Medicine which has campuses in Blacksburg and Leesburg. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation is 

not anticipated to have a significant impact on employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No effect 

on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 
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Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed regulation does not 

apply to small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed regulation does not introduce an adverse impact on 

small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed regulation does not have an 

adverse impact on businesses. 

Localities. The proposed regulation will not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The affected faculty, interns, residents, or the 

educational program will have to pay for the initial and 

renewal licensure fees. 

 
1 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0306 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Veterinary Medicine concurs with the analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

In accordance with the provisions of Chapter 306 of the 

2016 Acts of Assembly, the Board of Veterinary Medicine 

is proposing regulations for a faculty license and an 

intern/resident license for persons providing clinical care 

to animals at an accredited veterinary education program 

in Virginia. 

18VAC150-20-100. Fees. 

The following fees shall be in effect: 

Veterinary application for licensure 

Veterinary application for faculty 

licensure 

$200 

$100 

Veterinary license renewal (active) $175 

Veterinary license renewal (inactive) 

Veterinary faculty license renewal 

$85 

$75 

Veterinary reinstatement of expired 

license 

$255 

Veterinary license late renewal 

Veterinary faculty license late renewal 

$60 

$25 

Veterinarian reinstatement after 

disciplinary action 

Veterinary intern/resident license -- 

initial or renewal 

$450 

$25 

Veterinary technician application for 

licensure 

$65 

Veterinary technician license renewal $50 

Veterinary technician license renewal 

(inactive) 

$25 

Veterinary technician license late 

renewal 

$20 

Veterinary technician reinstatement of 

expired license 

$95 

Veterinary technician reinstatement after 

disciplinary action 

$125 

Equine dental technician initial 

registration 

$100 

Equine dental technician registration 

renewal 

$70 

Equine dental technician late renewal $25 

Equine dental technician reinstatement $120 

Initial veterinary establishment permit 

registration 

$300 

Veterinary establishment renewal $200 

Veterinary establishment late renewal $75 

Veterinary establishment reinstatement $75 

Veterinary establishment reinspection $300 

Veterinary establishment -- change of 

location 

$300 

Veterinary establishment -- change of 

veterinarian-in-charge 

$40 

Duplicate license $15 

Duplicate wall certificate $25 

Returned check $35 

Licensure verification to another 

jurisdiction 

$25 

18VAC150-20-122. Requirements for faculty licensure. 

A. Upon payment of the fee prescribed in 18VAC150-20-

100 and provided that no grounds exist to deny licensure 

pursuant to § 54.1-3807 of the Code of Virginia, the board 

may grant a faculty license to engage in the practice of 

veterinary medicine as part of a veterinary medical education 

program accredited by the American Veterinary Medical 

Association Council on Education to an applicant who: 

1. Is qualified for full licensure pursuant to 18VAC150-20-

110 or 18VAC150-20-120;  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0306
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2. Is a graduate of an accredited veterinary program and 

has an unrestricted current license or if lapsed, is eligible 

for reinstatement in another United States jurisdiction; or 

3. Is a graduate of a veterinary program and has advanced 

training recognized by the American Board of Veterinary 

Specialties or a specialty training program acceptable to 

the veterinary medical education program in which he 

serves on the faculty. 

B. The dean of a veterinary medical education program shall 

provide verification that the applicant is being or has been 

hired by the program and shall include an assessment of the 

applicant's clinical competency and clinical experience that 

qualifies the applicant for a faculty license.  

C. The holder of a faculty license shall be entitled to 

perform all functions that a person licensed to practice 

veterinary medicine would be entitled to perform as part of 

his faculty duties, including patient care functions associated 

with teaching, research, and the delivery of patient care that 

takes place only within the veterinary establishment or 

diagnostic and clinical services operated by or affiliated with 

the veterinary program. A faculty license shall not authorize 

the holder to practice veterinary medicine in nonaffiliated 

veterinary establishments or in private practice settings.  

D. A faculty license shall expire on December 31 of the 

second year after its issuance and may be renewed annually 

without a requirement for continuing education, as specified 

in 18VAC150-20-70, as long as the accredited program 

certifies to the licensee's continued employment. When such a 

license holder ceases serving on the faculty, the license shall 

be null and void upon termination of employment. The dean 

of the veterinary medical education program shall notify the 

board within 30 days of such termination of employment. 

18VAC150-20-123. Requirements for an intern/resident 

license. 

A. Upon payment of the fee prescribed in 18VAC150-20-

100 and provided that no grounds exist to deny licensure 

pursuant to § 54.1-3807 of the Code of Virginia, the board 

may issue a temporary license to practice veterinary medicine 

to an intern or resident. Upon recommendation of the dean or 

director of graduate education of the veterinary medical 

education program, such a license may be issued to an 

applicant who is a graduate of an AVMA-accredited program 

or who meets requirements of the Educational Commission of 

Foreign Veterinary Graduates or the Program for the 

Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence of the 

American Association of Veterinary State Boards, as verified 

by the veterinary medical education program. The application 

shall include the beginning and ending dates of the internship 

or residency.  

B. The intern or resident shall be supervised by a fully 

licensed veterinarian or a veterinarian who holds a faculty 

license issued by the board. The intern or resident shall only 

practice within the veterinary establishment or diagnostic and 

clinical services operated by or affiliated with the veterinary 

program. A temporary license shall not authorize the holder 

to practice veterinary medicine in nonaffiliated veterinary 

establishments or in private practice settings. 

C. An intern or resident license shall expire on August 1 of 

the second year after its issuance and may be renewed upon 

recommendation by the dean or director of graduate 

education of the veterinary medical education program. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4926; Filed July 1, 2017, 1:15 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-325. Fraud 

Reduction/Elimination Effort (amending 22VAC40-325-

20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-526 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 24, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Toni Blue Washington, Department of 

Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 726-7662, FAX (804) 726-7669, or email 

toni.washington@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update the regulation and incorporate the 

specific funding methodology used to allocate funds to 

local departments of social services for fraud prevention, 

detection, and investigation activities.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

22VAC40-325-20. The Fraud Reduction/Elimination 

Effort.  

A. In compliance with § 63.2-526 of the Code of Virginia, 

the department shall establish a statewide fraud prevention, 

detection, and investigation program to be named the Fraud 

Reduction/Elimination Effort (FREE).  

1. The department shall develop and implement policies 

and procedures for the FREE program.  

2. The department shall provide a detailed local 

reimbursement procedure, on an annual basis, to assist in 

the formulation of the local department's FREE program 

operation plan. The department's procedure shall project 

the available funding and the number of local fraud 

investigators for each local department that the FREE 

program will support. The number of investigators shall be 

based on an evaluation of the available funding and 

appropriate criteria from one or more of the following: a 

local department's average TANF and Food Stamp 

caseload size, average number of monthly applications for 
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food stamps and TANF, number of local department 

workers, geographic location, number of fraud 

investigations, program compliance, collections, and 

performance expectations.  

3. The department shall develop, implement, and monitor 

local FREE units performance expectations.  

B. Each local department shall aggressively pursue fraud 

prevention, detection, and investigations.  

1. Each local department shall conduct fraud prevention, 

detection, and investigation activities consistent with the 

requirements of federal regulations, the Code of Virginia, 

the regulations contained herein this chapter, and the 

department's FREE program policy.  

2. Each local department shall submit to the department, 

for annual approval, a program operation plan, formatted 

by the department, which shall include a description of the 

local department's prevention, detection, and investigative 

process,; an agreement with the Commonwealth's 

attorney,; identification of staff charged with oversight or 

supervisory responsibility of the FREE program,; a 

performance expectation monitoring process,; a signed 

commitment to adhere to specified responsibilities 

identified in the Statement of Assurance section of the 

program operation plan,; and, if requested, a proposed 

annual budget to include the identification of the FREE 

program investigators, their salary, fringe benefit amounts, 

supporting operating costs, hours worked per week, and 

time dedicated to the FREE program.  

3. Upon request, each local department shall provide the 

department with an accounting of FREE program 

expenditures.  

C. Funding for the FREE program shall be comprised of 

balances in the Fraud Recovery Special Fund, general funds 

appropriated for this activity, and any federal funds available 

for this purpose.  

1. In order to receive reimbursement of direct costs and 

supporting costs of operation, a local department must:  

a. Comply with all pertinent law, regulation, and policy;  

b. In accordance with the law, each local department 

shall establish and maintain a FREE prevention, 

detection, and investigation unit; and  

c. Recover fraud-related and nonfraud-related 

overpayments of designated federal assistance programs. 

Reimbursement An allocation to localities shall be made 

in accordance with the following methodology for the 

allocation of funds to localities as developed by the work 

group convened by the commissioner, consisting of local 

department representatives and senior department 

managers: 40% based on each agency's Temporary 

Assistance for Needy Families, food stamp, energy 

assistance, and child care caseload; 20% based on the 

number of investigations completed; 20% based on the 

number of established claims; and 20% based on the 

actual collections from established claims. Each local 

department's level of reimbursement of direct and 

support operation costs is paid from available federal 

funds, general funds and state retained portion of 

collections department is reimbursed for fraud-related 

expenses through funds appropriated for local social 

services staff and operations. 

2. Local departments may contract with other local 

departments to share a fraud prevention, detection, and 

investigation unit and may contract with private entities to 

perform fraud investigations. Any private entity 

performing fraud investigations shall comply with the 

requirements of § 30-138 of the Code of Virginia and the 

restrictions of § 63.2-526 of the Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4195; Filed June 30, 2017, 2:28 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 23. TAXATION 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 23VAC10-500. Business, Professional 

and Occupational License Tax Regulations (amending 

23VAC10-500-210).  

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia; 

Chapter 50 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 22, 2017. 

Effective Date: October 10, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Joe Mayer, Lead Policy Analyst, 

Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA 

23261-7185, telephone (804) 371-2299, FAX (804) 371-

2355, or email joseph.mayer@tax.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Tax Commissioner with the power to issue regulations 

relating to the interpretation and enforcement of the laws of 

the Commonwealth governing taxes administered by the 

Department of Taxation. The authority for the current 

regulatory action is discretionary. 

Section 58.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia directs the 

department to issue business, professional, and occupational 

license (BPOL) tax guidelines. After July 1, 2001, the 

guidelines became subject to the Administrative Process Act 

and were given the weight of regulations. The BPOL 

guidelines were formally promulgated as regulations in 

Volume 24, Issue 23, of the Virginia Register of Regulations, 

effective October 6, 2008. 

Chapter 50 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly (House Bill 1961) 

directs the department to "promulgate regulations that clarify 

its interpretation of subdivision B 2 of § 58.1-3732 of the 
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Code of Virginia regarding the methodology for determining 

deductible gross receipts attributable to business conducted in 

another state or a foreign country. The regulations shall be 

based on previous Rulings of the Tax Commissioner 

regarding subdivision B 2 of § 58.1-3732 and the decision of 

the Supreme Court of Virginia in The Nielsen Company, LLC 

v. County Board of Arlington County, 289 Va. 79 (2015)." 

Purpose: The BPOL tax requires a multistate business to 

assign its gross receipts to each office or other definite place 

of business. The statute specifies the criteria to be used by 

various types of businesses (e.g., contractors, retailers, 

wholesalers, etc.), but some businesses do not keep records or 

operate in a manner that fits the statutory criteria. Therefore 

the statute allows such businesses to apportion their gross 

receipts using payroll in each office. 

Multistate businesses are allowed a deduction from the gross 

receipts assigned to an office to the extent that gross receipts 

are attributable to a state in which the business is subject to 

income tax. However, when a business has used payroll 

apportionment to assign receipts to an office, it is usually 

impossible to identify which of those receipts are attributable 

to another state. Therefore the regulation is amended to 

address this situation and allow payroll apportionment to be 

used again in computing the deduction. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

fast-track rulemaking process is intended for proposed 

regulations that are expected to be noncontroversial. As this 

regulatory action will incorporate policies recently upheld by 

the Virginia Supreme Court, this action is not expected to be 

controversial. 

Substance: This regulatory action will amend the section of 

the Business, Professional, and Occupational License Tax 

Regulation entitled "Apportionment; in general." (23VAC10-

500-210) to reflect the department's policy with respect to 

apportionment of gross receipts as applied in PD 12-146 and 

upheld by the Virginia Supreme Court in Nielsen Co. (US), 

LLC v. County Board of Arlington County, 289 Va. 79, 767 

S.E.2d 1 (2015). 

The issue is how a taxpayer can subdivide gross receipts that 

have been assigned to a definite place of business by means 

of payroll apportionment. Normally a taxpayer would have to 

identify specific gross receipts that qualify for any deduction 

or exemption. However, the use of payroll apportionment to 

assign gross receipts to a location compromises the ability of 

a taxpayer to identify specific characteristics of those receipts. 

Insisting on specific identification of receipts after 

apportionment would effectively deny any deduction or 

exemption for which some receipts may qualify. 

Therefore, this regulatory action amends the section relating 

to apportionment to allow apportionment to be used a second 

time to calculate deductions and exemptions. An example 

illustrating this policy is also added. 

Issues: This regulatory action ensures uniform application of 

the tax laws to taxpayers and may avoid the necessity for 

taxpayers to file appeals with the department or the courts. 

This regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the public or 

the Commonwealth.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department of Taxation (Tax) proposes to amend its 

Business, Professional and Occupational License (BPOL) 

Tax Regulation to incorporate the Tax Commissioner's 

private letter ruling
1
 related to the apportionment of 

deductions to gross receipts when taxable gross receipts are 

apportioned using the payroll apportionment formula. Tax 

initiated this action after the Tax Commissioner's private 

letter ruling was upheld by the Virginia Supreme Court in 

The Nielson Company (US), LLC v. County Board of 

Arlington County, 289 Va. 79 (2015).
2
 After Tax initiated this 

action, the General Assembly passed legislation
3
 requiring 

Tax to promulgate regulations to reflect  "previous Rulings of 

the Tax Commissioner regarding subdivision B 2 of § 58.1-

3732 and the decision of the Supreme Court of Virginia in 

The Nielsen Company, LLC v. County Board of Arlington 

County." 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current Virginia law that allows 

the imposition of BPOL taxes requires that multi-state 

businesses assign gross receipts to an office or definite place 

of business whenever possible. Some businesses, however, do 

not have receipts that can be traced to just one definite place 

of business. In that case, the law allows them to apportion 

receipts according to the proportion of payroll employees in 

each of their definite places of business. Virginia law also sets 

out deductions that may be subtracted from gross receipts, or 

gross purchases, that would normally be taxable in Virginia. 

These deductions would also normally have to be traceable to 

a definite place of business. A dispute over such deductions 

led circuitously to this regulatory action. In 2012, the Tax 

Commissioner issued a private letter decision that allowed the 

apportionment of deductions using the payroll apportionment 

formula in instances where a business's taxable gross receipts 

had been apportioned using payroll apportionment. This 

private letter ruling was issued to address a tax dispute 

between the Nielson Company (US), LLC
4
 and Arlington 

County, Virginia. Arlington County appealed this decision 

and that case (The Nielson Company (US), LLC v. County 

Board of Arlington County) eventually reached the Virginia 

Supreme Court which upheld the Tax Commissioner's 

decision on this matter. Tax now proposes to amend this 

regulation to reflect the Tax Commissioner's guidance on 

apportioning deductions to taxable gross receipts. 

Because the Tax Commissioner's ruling as affirmed by the 

Virginia Supreme Court already has the force of law, no 

affected entity is likely to incur costs on account of these 

proposed regulatory changes. Both affected businesses and 
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Virginia localities are very likely to benefit from these 

proposed regulatory changes as they will likely eliminate 

confusion about how deductions may be apportioned.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulatory 

changes will affect all businesses that have staff in Virginia 

and other political jurisdictions and that meet the criteria to 

apportion gross receipts using the payroll apportionment 

formula. Tax does not have an estimate for how many 

businesses would be affected. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality should be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes.  

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to significantly affect employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. These proposed regulatory changes 

are unlikely to adversely affect any small business in the 

Commonwealth. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 

businesses will be adversely affected by these proposed 

regulatory changes.  

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. Businesses in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 

experience any adverse impacts on account of this proposed 

regulation. 

Localities. No localities are likely to incur costs on account of 

these proposed regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. These proposed regulatory changes are 

unlikely to adversely affect other entities in the 

Commonwealth.  

__________________________________ 
1 Public Document (PD) 12-146 was issued August 31, 2012 and can be 

found at: https://www.tax.virginia.gov/laws-rules-decisions/rulings-tax-
commissioner/12-146  
2 http://www.courts.state.va.us/opinions/opnscvwp/1140422.pdf  
3 Chapter 50 of the 2017 Acts of the Assembly which can be found here: 
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0050  
4 The Nielson Company, LLC promotes itself as a "global information and 

measurement company that provides clients with a comprehensive 
understanding of consumers and consumer behavior." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Taxation agrees with the Department of 

Planning and Budget's economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 50 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments reflect the previous rulings of the Tax 

Commissioner regarding subdivision B 2 of § 58.1-3732 of 

the Code of Virginia and the Supreme Court of Virginia's 

decision in The Nielsen Company (US), LLC v. County 

Board of Arlington County, et al. The amendments allow 

apportionment of deductions using the payroll 

apportionment formula in instances where a business's 

taxable gross receipts had been apportioned using payroll 

apportionment.  

23VAC10-500-210. Apportionment; in general. 

A. If the taxpayer has more than one definite place of 

business and it is not possible or practical to determine at 

which definite place of business gross receipts should be 

taxed, gross receipts must be divided between the definite 

places of businesses by payroll. Some activity must occur or 

be controlled from a definite place of business for gross 

receipts to be taxed by the locality of the definite place of 

business. If an entity's definite place of business is in a 

locality that does not tax gross receipts, a different locality 

may not tax these gross receipts simply because the first 

locality does not have a license tax. 

B. If apportionment has been used to divide the gross 

receipts of the business among its definite places of 

businesses, then the use of apportionment to assign gross 

receipts to a definite place of business is presumed to have 

compromised the ability of the taxpayer to determine the situs 

of the assigned gross receipts for any other purpose, such as 

the other-state deduction. For the purposes of this section, 

"other-state deducation" means a deduction for receipts 

attributable to business in another state in which it is subject 

to income tax as described in § 58.1-3732 B of the Code of 

Virginia. Generally, the same apportionment method used to 

assign gross receipts to a definite place of business must be 

used to subdivide those receipts unless the taxpayer has 

demonstrated that some other method is feasible and more 

accurate. This requires an analysis of the facts and 

circumstances applicable to each taxpayer and its definite 

places of business. Both of the following conditions must be 

satisfied before apportionment can be used to subdivide 

receipts assigned to a definite place of business by any 

method. 

1. The business satisfies the conditions in subsection A of 

this section that make it necessary to subdivide the gross 

receipts assigned to a definite place of business. For 

example, in the case of the other-state deduction this would 

require determining if any employees at the Virginia 

definite place of business participated in interstate 

transactions by, for example, contacting or shipping goods 

to customers in other states, participating with employees 

https://www.tax.virginia.gov/laws-rules-decisions/rulings-tax-commissioner/12-146
https://www.tax.virginia.gov/laws-rules-decisions/rulings-tax-commissioner/12-146
http://www.courts.state.va.us/opinions/opnscvwp/1140422.pdf
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0050
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in other offices in transactions, etc. If there has been no 

participation in transactions that generate interstate 

receipts, then the business is not eligible for the deduction 

and it has no need to subdivide the receipts assigned to the 

definite place of business. 

2. It must be impossible or impractical to use specific 

criteria to subdivide the receipts assigned to the definite 

place of business. This will normally be the case when 

gross receipts have been assigned to a definite place of 

business by apportionment because apportionment ignores 

anything related to a specific transaction other than the 

criteria used for apportionment, which usually is payroll. 

C. Examples:  

1. A large electronics retailer has its main sales office in 

City A and maintains a satellite office with its own 

management in the distant County B. Sales staff from City 

A make the initial sales contact in County B and process 

all sales related paperwork. Sales staff in County B make 

all personal and follow-up sales contacts in County B. The 

definite place of business is in both City A and County B 

since each sales office is equally responsible for sales 

solicitations. If it were not possible or practical to 

determine which definite place of business gross receipts 

should be attributed to, gross receipts must be apportioned 

between the definite places of business on the basis of the 

payroll of the sales staff at each respective place of 

business. 

2. A group medical practice has offices in County A and City 

B. County A does not tax gross receipts. Patient visits and 

recordkeeping functions occur in County A, but physicians 

see patients in the City B offices on a regular basis. City B 

may tax the gross receipts generated from services performed 

at offices located within its boundaries. However, City B may 

not tax the practice's gross receipts generated from County A 

simply because the county does not have a license tax. 

3. A service business has two divisions, one national and 

the other regional. Both divisions operate out of an office 

in County A. While the business can segregate its receipts 

by division, it cannot assign the receipts of its national 

division to each office, and it uses payroll apportionment to 

assign receipts to the office in County A. The receipts of 

the regional division are assigned to County A using the 

criteria in § 58.1-3703.1 A 3 a of the Code of Virginia. 

Assuming that the business meets the requirements to be 

eligible for the other-state deduction with respect to both 

divisions, the business may use the same payroll 

apportionment factor of the national division to subdivide 

the receipts of the national division assigned to County A. 

The business will be required to identify specific receipts 

of the regional division assigned to County A that are 

eligible for the other-state deduction unless the business 

can show that it is impractical or impossible to identify 

specific receipts for this purpose. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5002; Filed June 29, 2017, 10:13 a.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

BOARD FOR THE BLIND AND VISION IMPAIRED 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Board of the Blind and 

Vision Impaired is conducting a periodic review and small 

business impact review of 22VAC45-12, Public 

Participation Guidelines. The review of this regulation will 

be guided by the principles in Executive Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins June 29, 2017, and ends July 31, 

2017.  

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Susan Davis Payne, Policy and Training 

Coordinator, 397 Azalea Avenue, Richmond, VA 23227, 

telephone (804) 371-3184, FAX (804) 371-3351, or email 

susan.payne@dbvi.virginia.gov.  

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

AT RICHMOND, JUNE 29, 2017 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION  

CASE NO. PUE-2013-00045  

Concerning the establishment of a renewable energy 

pilot program for third party power purchase agreements  

ORDER UPDATING GUIDELINES 

On March 14, 2013, the Virginia General Assembly enacted 

Chapter 382 of the 2013 Virginia Acts of Assembly ("2013 

Legislation") requiring the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") to conduct a renewable energy pilot program 

for third party power purchase agreements within the service 

territory of Virginia Electric and Power Company and to 

establish certain guidelines regarding implementation of this 

pilot program. Pursuant to the 2013 Legislation, on 

November 14, 2013, the Commission established a pilot 

program and developed Guidelines Regarding Notice 

Information for a Third Party Renewable Power Purchase 

Agreement ("Guidelines").  

On April 5, 2017, the Virginia General Assembly approved 

Chapter 803 of the 2017 Virginia Acts of Assembly ("2017 

Amendments"), which, among other things, re-enacted the 

2013 Legislation with amendments requiring that a pilot 

program now be conducted within the certificated service 

territory of each investor-owned electric utility in Virginia, 

excepting any utility described in § 56-580 G of the Code of 

Virginia. As a result, updates to the Applicability and 

Program Cap Management sections of the Guidelines are 

necessary.  

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of this 

matter, is of the opinion and finds that the Guidelines should 

be updated as set forth in Attachment A to this Order to 

reflect the 2017 Amendments.
1
  

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT:  

(1) The instant case is moved from "closed" to "active" status 

in the records maintained by the Clerk of the Commission and 

is restored to the Commission's docket for the purpose of 

updating the Commission's Guidelines.  

(2) The Guidelines, which were established pursuant to 

Chapter 382 of the 2013 Virginia Acts of Assembly, are 

hereby updated as set forth in Attachment A to this Order to 

reflect the amendments enacted by Chapter 803 of the 2017 

Virginia Acts of Assembly.  

(3) Any renewable third party power purchase agreement 

established pursuant to the pilot program shall be established 

in accordance with these Guidelines and shall comply with 

the attendant statutory requirements,  

(4) This case is dismissed.  

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 

the Commission to: Senator John S. Edwards, P.O. Box 1179, 

Roanoke, Virginia 24006; Delegate David E. Yancey, P.O. 

Box 1163, Newport News, Virginia 23601; Terry G. Kilgore, 

P.O. Box 669, Gate City, Virginia 24251; David J. Toscano, 

211 East High Street, Charlottesville, Virginia 22902; the 

Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219; Horace P. Payne, Jr., Esquire, 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:susan.payne@dbvi.virginia.gov
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Dominion Energy Services, Inc., 120 Tredegar Street, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219; Eric W. Hurlocker, Esquire, 

GreeneHurlocker, PLC, 1807 Libbie Avenue, Suite 102, 

Richmond, Virginia 23226; Frank Rambo, Esquire, Southern 

Environmental Law Center, 103 East Water Street, Suite 201, 

Charlottesville, Virginia 22902; Kenneth G. Hutcheson, 

Esquire, Virginia Alternative and Renewable Energy 

Association, P.O. Box 1320, Richmond, Virginia 23218; 

Noelle J. Coates, Esquire, American Electric Power Service 

Corporation, 3 James Center, 1051 East Cary Street, Suite 

1100, Richmond, Virginia 23219; Taylor Brown, SunTribe 

Solar, 108 2nd Street, SW, #10, Charlottesville, Virginia 

22902; Ryann Coles, Altenergy Incorporated, 331 North 

Lewis Street, Staunton, Virginia 24401; and C. Meade 

Browder, Jr., Esquire, Office of the Attorney General, 

Division of Consumer Counsel, 202 N. 9th Street, 8th Floor; 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. A copy also shall be delivered to 

the Commission's Office of General Counsel and Division of 

Public Utility Regulation. 

____________________________ 

1
 A copy of the Guidelines that highlights the updates included in 

Attachment A also is attached to this Order as Attachment B. A copy of the 
Guidelines set forth in Attachment A and Attachment B also may be viewed 

at http://www.scc.virginia.gov/pur/pilot.aspx. 

Attachment A 

UPDATED GUIDELINES REGARDING NOTICE 

INFORMATION FOR A THIRD PARTY RENEWABLE 

POWER PURCHASE AGREEMENT  

A. Purpose.  

The Commission is establishing these guidelines pursuant to 

Chapter 382 of the 2013 Virginia Acts of Assembly ("Chapter 

382") regarding a pilot program for third party power 

purchase agreements for renewable generation. Chapter 382 

specifically provides that the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") must establish guidelines concerning (i) 

information to be provided in written notices and (ii) 

procedures for collecting and posting information derived 

from such notices on the Commission's website. In addition, 

the Commission may establish general guidelines for its 

administration of the pilot program.  

B. Applicability.  

These guidelines are applicable to any owner or operator of a 

solar-powered or windpowered electric generation facility 

(referred to herein as "owner-operator") located on premises 

owned or leased by an eligible customer-generator, as defined 

in § 56-594 of the Code of Virginia, within the certificated 

service territory of an investor-owned electric utility ("Pilot 

Utility").
1 

Such a facility shall have a generation capacity of 

50 kW to 1 MW, except that if the eligible customer-

generator served by the owner-operator is an entity with tax-

exempt status in accordance with § 501(c)3 of the Internal 

Revenue Code of 1954, as amended, then such facility is not 

limited by the 50 kW minimum, and can qualify with a 

generation capacity range of 1 kW to 1 MW. An eligible 

facility shall provide electricity to only one customer.  

The owner-operator shall be permitted to sell the electricity 

generated from such facility exclusively to such eligible 

customer-generator under a power purchase agreement to 

provide such eligible customer-generator third party financing 

of the costs of such a renewable generation facility. The 

owner-operator also may be subject to any requirements of its 

local governing body and the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality.  

The pilot program limitation of 50 MW for Dominion Energy 

Virginia includes participation among jurisdictional and non-

jurisdictional customers, and the limitation of 7 MW for 

Appalachian Power Company targets participation among 

nonprofit, private institutions of higher education.  

C. Filing of Notice.  

Any party who intends to enter into a third-party power 

purchase agreement under the pilot program must provide 

written notice to the Commission and to the Pilot Utility of 

the party's intent to enter into such agreement not less than 30 

calendar days before the effective date of such agreement.  

D. Contents of Filing.  

The owner-operator shall provide written notice to the 

Commission and the Pilot Utility not less than 30 calendar 

days before the effective date of such agreement and shall 

include the following information:  

• Identity of the owner-operator of the renewable electric 

generation facility;  

• The name, address, and under seal as "confidential" or 

"extraordinarily sensitive" information, the Pilot Utility 

electric account number of the eligible customer-generator; 

• Location of the premise(s) upon which the renewable 

electric generation facility will be installed;  

• Renewable source of the electric generation facility;  

• Generation capacity of the renewable electric generation 

facility expressed in terms of kWs available for delivery to 

the end-user stated in alternating current (AC);  

• Expected date that the electric generation facility will be 

placed in service. The term "placed in service" shall have the 

same meaning as used in 26 USC § 48 of the federal Business 

Energy Investment Tax Credit for certain renewable energy 

technologies;  

• Duration of the third-party power purchase agreement;  

• Proof of § 501(c)3 tax exempt status (when applicable); and  

• Under seal as "confidential" or "extraordinarily sensitive" 

information, the projected installation cost of the renewable 

electric generation facility, in dollars per Watt (AC). 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/pur/pilot.aspx
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Subsequent to the placed in service date, such projected cost 

of installation shall be updated for the actual cost of 

installation. 

E. Posting and Tracking.  

Within three business days of receiving a written notice of 

intent, the Commission Staff shall post to its website the 

cumulative amount of solar-powered generation capacity and, 

separately, the cumulative amount of wind-powered 

generation capacity associated with the notice of intent, 

expressed in kW or MW (AC), and the remaining aggregate 

capacity available for future pilot projects.  

Within three business days of the placed in service date of 

such facility, the owner operator shall provide written 

notification of such placed in service date to the Commission 

and the Pilot Utility. Within three business days of receiving 

such written notice of the placed in service date, the 

Commission Staff shall post to its website the cumulative 

amount of installed solar-powered generation capacity and, 

separately, the cumulative amount of wind-powered 

generation capacity, expressed in kW or MW (AC). 

Simultaneously, the capacity remaining available for future 

pilot projects also shall be posted. The owner-operator also 

shall provide written notice to the Commission and the Pilot 

Utility of any change to the generating capacity of the facility 

or of the parties to the third party power purchase agreement 

within three business days of any such change.  

On an annual basis, the Pilot Utility shall submit to the 

Commission under seal as "confidential" or "extraordinarily 

sensitive" information, a report of the individual and 

aggregated amount of energy generated (kWhs) and peak 

capacity (kW) provided from all pilot renewable generation 

facilities combined, with separate totals for wind pilot 

projects and solar pilot projects. The Pilot Utility's report also 

shall identify and quantify any system benefits, such as but 

not limited to, transmission and distribution system benefits, 

line loss savings, generation capacity savings, wholesale 

energy purchase offsets, fuel cost savings, and any economic 

development and job creation benefits across the region or the 

Commonwealth.  

Subsequent to the Pilot Utility's report, the Commission Staff 

shall aggregate and post to its website the following 

information obtained from such report and any information 

filed by owner-operators, with separate data for wind-

powered and solar-powered projects: 

• Average projected installation costs of projects in the pilot 

program, in dollars per Watt (AC);  

• Average duration of the third party purchase agreements;  

• Total number of customer-generators participating in the 

pilot program; 

• Total number of owner-operators participating in the pilot 

program; and  

• The city and/or county location of projects in the pilot 

program that have been placed in service.  

F. Program Cap Management.  

The owner-operator shall fulfill the following requirements 

and provide written confirmation to the Commission and the 

Pilot Utility that it has met each requirement:  

• The owner-operator must provide a written notice of intent 

as described in Section C of these guidelines; 

• The owner-operator must (i) confirm that it is a party to a 

fully executed third party power purchase agreement under 

the pilot program, and (ii) provide the effective date of such 

agreement, all within 3 business days of such agreement's 

execution;  

• Within 90 calendar days of filing the written notice of 

intent, the owner-operator must confirm that more than 5% of 

projected pilot costs have been incurred under a binding 

written contract as per the Section 461(h) economic 

performance definitions of the U.S. Treasury Safe Harbor 

Rules, or that all local permitting and zoning approvals have 

been secured;  

• Within 180 calendar days of filing the written notice of 

intent, the owner-operator must confirm that more than 25% 

of pilot projected pilot costs have been incurred under a 

binding written contract as per the Section 461(h) economic 

performance definitions of the U.S. Treasury Safe Harbor 

Rules; and  

• Within 270 calendar days of filing the written notice of 

intent, the owner-operator must confirm that the project has 

been "placed in service," as that term is used in 26 USC § 48. 

Upon receipt of the required confirmations, the Commission 

Staff shall post to its website the following for informational 

purposes: 

• Date of notice of intent;  

• Date of fully executed agreement; 

• Effective date of agreement;  

• Placed in service date of the renewable generation facility;  

• Installed capacity of the renewable generation facility, with 

separate data for windpowered and solar-powered projects; 

and  

• Available capacity remaining under the 50 MW limit for 

Dominion Energy Virginia and available capacity remaining 

under the 7 MW limit for Appalachian Power Company.  

The Commission shall review the pilot program in 2015, and 

every two years thereafter during the existence of the 

program, to determine whether the statutory limitations on the 

capacity of generation facilities included in the program 

should be continued, expanded, or reduced. Before 
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recommending any changes to such statutory limitations, the 

Commission may solicit input from all interested parties. 

_______________________________ 

1
 As described in Chapter 382, the Pilot Utility is an investor-owned electric 

utility that was bound by a rate case settlement adopted by the Commission 
that extended in its application beyond January 1, 2002. The utility is 

Virginia Electric and Power Company d/b/a Dominion Energy Virginia. 

Pursuant to Chapter 803 of the 2017 Virginia Acts of Assembly, this pilot 
program is expanded to include an investor-owned electric utility that was 

not bound by a rate case settlement adopted by the Commission that extended 

in its application beyond January 1, 2002, identified as Appalachian Power 
Company, and that such expansion expires on July 1, 2022. 

Attachment B 

UPDATED GUIDELINES REGARDING NOTICE 

INFORMATION FOR A THIRD PARTY RENEWABLE 

POWER PURCHASE AGREEMENT  

A. Purpose.  

The Commission is establishing these guidelines pursuant to 

Chapter 382 of the 2013 Virginia Acts of Assembly ("Chapter 

382") regarding a pilot program for third party power 

purchase agreements for renewable generation. Chapter 382 

specifically provides that the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") must establish guidelines concerning (i) 

information to be provided in written notices and (ii) 

procedures for collecting and posting information derived 

from such notices on the Commission's website. In addition, 

the Commission may establish general guidelines for its 

administration of the pilot program. 

B. Applicability.  

These guidelines are applicable to any owner or operator of a 

solar-powered or wind-powered electric generation facility 

(referred to herein as "owner-operator") located on premises 

owned or leased by an eligible customer-generator, as defined 

in § 56-594 of the Code of Virginia, within the certificated 

service territory of an investor-owned electric utility ("Pilot 

Utility").
1
 Such a facility shall have a generation capacity of 

50 kW to 1 MW, except that if the eligible customer-

generator served by the owner-operator is an entity with tax-

exempt status in accordance with § 501(c)3 of the Internal 

Revenue Code of 1954, as amended, then such facility is not 

limited by the 50 kW minimum, and can qualify with a 

generation capacity range of 1 kW to 1 MW. An eligible 

facility shall provide electricity to only one customer. 

The owner-operator shall be permitted to sell the electricity 

generated from such facility exclusively to such eligible 

customer-generator under a power purchase agreement to 

provide such eligible customer-generator third party financing 

of the costs of such a renewable generation facility. The 

owner-operator also may be subject to any requirements of its 

local governing body and the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality.  

The pilot program limitation of 50 MW for Dominion Energy 

Virginia includes participation among jurisdictional and non-

jurisdictional customers, and the limitation of 7 MW for 

Appalachian Power Company targets participation among 

nonprofit, private institutions of higher education.  

C. Filing of Notice.  

Any party who intends to enter into a third-party power 

purchase agreement under the pilot program must provide 

written notice to the Commission and to the Pilot Utility of 

the party's intent to enter into such agreement not less than 30 

calendar days before the effective date of such agreement.  

D. Contents of Filing.  

The owner-operator shall provide written notice to the 

Commission and the Pilot Utility not less than 30 calendar 

days before the effective date of such agreement and shall 

include the following information:  

• Identity of the owner-operator of the renewable electric 

generation facility;  

• The name, address, and under seal as "confidential" or 

"extraordinarily sensitive" information, the Pilot Utility 

electric account number of the eligible customer-generator; 

• Location of the premise(s) upon which the renewable 

electric generation facility will be installed;  

• Renewable source of the electric generation facility;  

• Generation capacity of the renewable electric generation 

facility expressed in terms of kWs available for delivery to 

the end-user stated in alternating current (AC);  

• Expected date that the electric generation facility will be 

placed in service. The term "placed in service" shall have the 

same meaning as used in 26 USC § 48 of the federal Business 

Energy Investment Tax Credit for certain renewable energy 

technologies;  

• Duration of the third-party power purchase agreement;  

• Proof of § 501(c)3 tax exempt status (when applicable); and  

• Under seal as "confidential" or "extraordinarily sensitive" 

information, the projected installation cost of the renewable 

electric generation facility, in dollars per Watt (AC). 

Subsequent to the placed in service date, such projected cost 

of installation shall be updated for the actual cost of 

installation. 

E. Posting and Tracking.  

Within three business days of receiving a written notice of 

intent, the Commission Staff shall post to its website the 

cumulative amount of solar-powered generation capacity and, 

separately, the cumulative amount of wind-powered 

generation capacity associated with the notice of intent, 

expressed in kW or MW (AC), and the remaining aggregate 

capacity available for future pilot projects.  
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Within three business days of the placed in service date of 

such facility, the owner-operator shall provide written 

notification of such placed in service date to the Commission 

and the Pilot Utility. Within three business days of receiving 

such written notice of the placed in service date, the 

Commission Staff shall post to its website the cumulative 

amount of installed solar-powered generation capacity and, 

separately, the cumulative amount of wind-powered 

generation capacity, expressed in kW or MW (AC). 

Simultaneously, the capacity remaining available for future 

pilot projects also shall be posted. The owner-operator also 

shall provide written notice to the Commission and the Pilot 

Utility of any change to the generating capacity of the facility 

or of the parties to the third party power purchase agreement 

within three business days of any such change. 

On an annual basis, the Pilot Utility shall submit to the 

Commission under seal as "confidential" or "extraordinarily 

sensitive" information, a report of the individual and 

aggregated amount of energy generated (kWhs) and peak 

capacity (kW) provided from all pilot renewable generation 

facilities combined, with separate totals for wind pilot 

projects and solar pilot projects. The Pilot Utility's report also 

shall identify and quantify any system benefits, such as but 

not limited to, transmission and distribution system benefits, 

line loss savings, generation capacity savings, wholesale 

energy purchase offsets, fuel cost savings, and any economic 

development and job creation benefits across the region or the 

Commonwealth.  

Subsequent to the Pilot Utility's report, the Commission Staff 

shall aggregate and post to its website the following 

information obtained from such report and any information 

filed by owner-operators, with separate data for wind-

powered and solar-powered projects: 

• Average projected installation costs of projects in the pilot 

program, in dollars per Watt (AC);  

• Average duration of the third party purchase agreements;  

• Total number of customer-generators participating in the 

pilot program; 

• Total number of owner-operators participating in the pilot 

program; and  

• The city and/or county location of projects in the pilot 

program that have been placed in service.  

F. Program Cap Management.  

The owner-operator shall fulfill the following requirements 

and provide written confirmation to the Commission and the 

Pilot Utility that it has met each requirement: 

• The owner-operator must provide a written notice of intent 

as described in Section C of these guidelines; • The owner-

operator must (i) confirm that it is a party to a fully executed 

third party power purchase agreement under the pilot 

program, and (ii) provide the effective date of such 

agreement, all within 3 business days of such agreement's 

execution;  

• Within 90 calendar days of filing the written notice of 

intent, the owner-operator must confirm that more than 5% of 

projected pilot costs have been incurred under a binding 

written contract as per the Section 461(h) economic 

performance definitions of the U.S. Treasury Safe Harbor 

Rules, or that all local permitting and zoning approvals have 

been secured;  

• Within 180 calendar days of filing the written notice of 

intent, the owner-operator must confirm that more than 25% 

of pilot projected pilot costs have been incurred under a 

binding written contract as per the Section 461(h) economic 

performance definitions of the U.S. Treasury Safe Harbor 

Rules; and  

• Within 270 calendar days of filing the written notice of 

intent, the owner-operator must confirm that the project has 

been "placed in service," as that term is used in 26 USC § 48. 

Upon receipt of the required confirmations, the Commission 

Staff shall post to its website the following for informational 

purposes:  

• Date of notice of intent;  

• Date of fully executed agreement;  

• Effective date of agreement;  

• Placed in service date of the renewable generation facility;  

• Installed capacity of the renewable generation facility, with 

separate data for wind-powered and solar-powered projects; 

and  

• Available capacity remaining under the 50 MW limit for 

Dominion Energy Virginia and available capacity remaining 

under the 7 MW limit for Appalachian Power Company.  

The Commission shall review the pilot program in 2015, and 

every two years thereafter during the existence of the 

program, to determine whether the statutory limitations on the 

capacity of generation facilities included in the program 

should be continued, expanded, or reduced. Before 

recommending any changes to such statutory limitations, the 

Commission may solicit input from all interested parties. 

_________________________ 

1
 As described in Chapter 382, the Pilot Utility is an investor-owned electric 

utility that was bound by a rate case settlement adopted by the Commission 

that extended in its application beyond January 1, 2002. The utility is 

Virginia Electric and Power Company d/b/a Dominion Energy Virginia-
Power. Pursuant to Chapter 803 of the 2017 Virginia Acts of Assembly. This 

pilot program is expanded to include -an investor-owned electric utility that 

was not bound by a rate case settlement adopted by the Commission that 

extended in its application beyond January 1, 2002, identified as Appalachian 

Power Company, and that such expansion expires on July I, 2022. 
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DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Meherrin Solar, LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy (Solar) Project Permit by Rule - 

Brink, Greensville County 

Meherrin Solar LLC, a wholly-owned subsidiary of 

Brookfield Renewable, has provided to the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Brink, Virginia. The 

project is located on the west side of Pine Log Road and 

south of Brink Road in Greensville County. The project will 

be sited on roughly 530 acres across multiple parcels. The 

solar array will connect up to 60 megawatts alternating 

current to Dominion Virginia Power's grid via a new 115-

kilovolt substation built off of a nearby Dominion owned 

transmission line. The project will conceptually use 231,500 

345-watt standard photovoltaic solar panels on a single axis 

tracker to follow the sun throughout the day. NOTE: This 

project was previously noticed for SolUnesco LLC, the 

previous owner, in the 32:2 VA.R. 290-291 September 21, 

2015. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 

698-4510, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Otter Creek Solar, LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy (Solar) Project Permit by Rule - 

Chase City, Mecklenburg County 

Otter Creek Solar, LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Chase City, Virginia. The 

project is located approximately three miles west of Chase 

City, on the north side and south side of Spanish Grove Road 

in Mecklenburg County. The project will be sited on roughly 

690 acres across multiple parcels. The solar array will 

connect 60 megawatts alternating current to Dominion 

Virginia Power's grid via a new 115-kilovolt substation built 

off of a nearby Dominion owned transmission line. The 

project will conceptually use 231,500 345-watt standard 

photovoltaic solar panels on a single axis tracker to follow the 

sun throughout the day. NOTE: The project was previously 

noticed by SolUnesco, prior owner, in the 32:20 VA.R. 2514 

May 30, 2016. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 

698-4510, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery were 

filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on July 5, 

2017. The orders may be viewed at the Virginia Lottery, 

600 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of 

the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Six (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 

Blackjack Classic" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 

July 9, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seven (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 

Bulls Eye Bingo" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 

July 9, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Eight (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 

Horoscope Crossword" Final Rules for Game Operation 

(effective July 9, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Nine (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 

Money Bag Crossword" Final Rules for Game Operation 

(effective July 9, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Ten (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 

Rockin' Bingo" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 

July 9, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Eleven (17) 

Virginia Lottery's "Publix Grand Opening Bogo" Retailer 

Incentive Promotion (this Director's Order becomes effective 

on July 15, 2017, and shall remain in full force and effect 

through the end date of the incentive promotion, unless 

otherwise extended by the Director) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Fourteen (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1804 "White Hot 5's" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective July 3, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Fifteen (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1830 "Loose Change" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective July 3, 2017) 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol32/iss02/v32i02.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol32/iss02/v32i02.pdf
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol32/iss20/v32i20.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol32/iss20/v32i20.pdf
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
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DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Reimbursement Changes Affecting Supplemental 
Payments to Qualifying Private Hospitals 

Notice of Intent to Amend the Virginia State Plan for 
Medical Assistance (Pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of 

the Social Security Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13))) 

Public comment period: June 28, 2017, through July 28, 

2017. 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 

Establishing Payment Rates—Inpatient Hospital Services 

(12VAC30-70) and Methods and Standards for Establishing 

Payment Rates – Other Types of Care (12VAC30-80). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act, 

42 USC § 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this notice is available for 

public review from William Lessard, Provider 

Reimbursement Division, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, or via email at 

william.lessard@dmas.virginia.gov. 

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, 

providers, and beneficiaries on the potential impacts of the 

proposed changes to institutional provider payment 

methodologies, particularly the potential impact on access to 

care. Comments or inquiries may be submitted, in writing, 

within 30 days of this notice publication to Mr. Lessard and 

such comments are available for review upon request. 

Comments may also be submitted, in writing, on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall public comment forum attached to this 

notice and this notice is available for public review on the 

General Notices page 

at https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

Reimbursement Changes Affecting Supplemental Payments 

to Qualifying Private Hospitals 

DMAS is removing language from the State Plan related to 

quarterly supplemental payments for qualifying private 

hospitals for inpatient and outpatient services rendered during 

the quarter. No payments have been made under the current 

State Plan provision because funding has not been authorized. 

There will be no decrease in actual expenditures. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 

1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX 

(804) 786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 

Waste Management Board conducted a small business impact 

review of 9VAC20-11, Public Participation Guidelines, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Virginia Waste Management Board is 

publishing its report of findings dated June 7, 2017, to 

support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 

Code of Virginia. 

The current regulation continues to be needed. The regulation 

explains how the public will be notified and how input will be 

sought, explains the use of advisory panels, and details the 

public participation process during regulatory actions. The 

regulation is explanatory in nature and does not place any 

additional regulatory burden on the regulated community 

including small businesses. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Office of 

Regulatory Affairs, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Northumberland 
County 

An enforcement action has been proposed for 

Northumberland County for violations at the Callao 

wastewater treatment plant. The enforcement action requires 

the county to take corrective action to address exceedances of 

total recoverable zinc effluent limitations contained in the 

county's Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

permit. A description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Kathleen O'Connell will 

accept comments by email at 

kathleen.oconnell@deq.virginia.gov, by FAX at (804) 698-

4277, or by postal mail at the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 

23223, from July 24, 2017, through August 23, 2017. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Traveler's Inn 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Dinesh Patel 

for violations at the Traveler's Inn wastewater treatment plant 

located in Petersburg, Virginia. The enforcement action 

requires Mr. Patel to take corrective action to address 

violations of the effluent limitations and other conditions of 

his Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System permit. 

A description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Kathleen O'Connell will 

accept comments by email at 

kathleen.oconnell@deq.virginia.gov, by FAX at (804) 698-

mailto:William.Lessard@dmas.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:kathleen.oconnell@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:kathleen.oconnell@deq.virginia.gov
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4277, or by postal mail at the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 

23223, from July 24, 2017, through August 23, 2017 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Scrap 58, Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Scrap 58, Inc. 

for violations of the State Water Control Law in Chesapeake, 

Virginia. A description of the proposed action is available at 

the Department of Environmental Quality office named below 

or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Jennifer Coleman, Esq. 

will accept comments by email at 

jennifer.coleman@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-2009, 

or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from July 24, 2017, to August 23, 

2017. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-40. Eligibility Conditions 

and Requirements. 

Publication: 33:23 VA.R. 2536 July 10, 2017. 

Correction to Notice of Withdrawal:  

Page 2536, line four of announcement, after "as published in" 

replace "34:21" with "33:21" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4396; Filed July 6, 2017. 
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