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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 
any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 
5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  
November 5, 2012. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 
James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair; Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 
McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. Hopkins; Leslie L. Lilley; 
E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; 
Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Mark J. Vucci. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 
Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

August 2017 through August 2018 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

33:26 August 2, 2017 August 21, 2017 

34:1 August 16, 2017 September 4, 2017 

34:2 August 30, 2017 September 18, 2017 

34:3 September 13, 2017 October 2, 2017 

34:4 September 27, 2017 October 16, 2017 

34:5 October 11, 2017 October 30, 2017 

34:6 October 25, 2017 November 13, 2017 

34:7 November 8, 2017 November 27, 2017 

34:8 November 21, 2017 (Tuesday) December 11, 2017 

34:9 December 6, 2017 December 25, 2017 

34:10 December 19, 2017 (Tuesday) January 8, 2018 

34:11 January 3, 2018 January 22, 2018 

34:12 January 17, 2018 February 5, 2018 

34:13 January 31, 2018 February 19, 2018 

34:14 February 14, 2018 March 5, 2018 

34:15 February 28, 2018 March 19, 2018 

34:16 March 14, 2018 April 2, 2018 

34:17 March 28, 2018 April 16, 2018 

34:18 April 11, 2018 April 30, 2018 

34:19 April 25, 2018 May 14, 2018 

34:20 May 9, 2018 May 28, 2018 

34:21 May 23, 2018 June 11, 2018 

34:22 June 6, 2018 June 25, 2018 

34:23 June 20, 2018 July 9, 2018 

34:24 July 3, 2018 (Tuesday) July 23, 2018 

34:25 July 18, 2018 August 6, 2018 

34:26 August 1, 2018 August 20, 2018 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-319. Best Management 
Practices for the Operation of Apiaries in Order to Limit 
Operator Liability. 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-4411.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: C. B. Ecker. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Petitioner requests 
amendments to 2VAC5-319, Best Management Practices for 
the Operation of Apiaries in Order to Limit Operator 
Liability, to (i) provide a mechanism to offer public comment 
regarding the regulation via a regional apiary inspector; (ii) 
establish provisions for short-term waivers, long-term 
waivers, and permanent exemptions from the best 
management practices included in the regulation; and (iii) 
authorize the Virginia State Beekeepers Association's website 
as an official communication outlet for the Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) 
and direct VDACS to establish or reinitiate official 
communication with certain entities to communicate honey 
beekeeping policy to best inform apiarists without broadband 
service. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The Board of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services will consider this request 
at its next scheduled meeting following the public comment 
period. This meeting will occur on December 7, 2017. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 10, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Debra Martin, Program Manager, Office of 
Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 786-3515, or email 
debra.martin@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-20; Filed July 24, 2017, 9:57 a.m. 

 

mailto:debra.martin@vdacs.virginia.gov
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proposed regulation. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

STATE BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND 
CONSUMER SERVICES 

Forms 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 
following regulation have been filed by the Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form to 
access it. The forms are also available from the agency 
contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219.  
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-210. Rules and Regulations 
Pertaining to Meat and Poultry Inspection under the 
Virginia Meat and Poultry Products Inspection Act. 
Contact Information: Barry Jones, Program Manager, Office 
of Meat and Poultry Services, Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 786-4569, or email 
barry.jones@vdacs.virginia.gov.  
FORMS (2VAC5-210) 

Application for Red Meat Permit of Exemption Under the 
Virginia Meat and Poultry Products Inspection Act, Form 
VDACS-03072 (rev. 1/08). 

Application for State Meat and Poultry Inspection, Form 
VDACS-03090 (eff. 2/06). 

Application for Registration of Poultry Exemption Under 
the Virginia Meat and Poultry Products Inspection Act, Form 
VDACS-03072A (eff. 11/07). 

Application for Red Meat Permit of Exemption Under the 
Virginia Meat and Poultry Products Inspection Act, VDACS-
03072 (rev. 2/17) 

Application for State Meat and Poultry Inspection, VDACS-
03090 (rev. 2/17) 

Application for Registration of Poultry Exemption Under 
the Virginia Meat and Poultry Products Inspection Act, 
VDACS-03072A (rev. 2/17) 

Establishment Hours of Operation, Form VDACS-03091 
(eff. 2/07) 

Application/Approval for Voluntary Reimbursable 
Inspection Service, Form VDACS-03140 (eff. 6/06). 

Application/Approval for Voluntary Reimbursable 
Inspection Service, VDACS-03140 (rev. 2/17) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5209; Filed July 24, 2017, 1:43 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 

RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 
Commission is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-270. Pertaining to Crabbing 
(amending 4VAC20-270-40, 4VAC20-270-51, 4VAC20-
270-55).  
Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: August 1, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 
3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-
2248 or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments modify (i) the 2017 and 2018 seasons for 
the harvest of crabs by crab pot, (ii) the time for harvesting 
at a higher bushel limit, and (iii) the start date of the lower 
bushel limit season.  

4VAC20-270-40. Season limits.  
A. In 2016 2017, the lawful season for the commercial 

harvest of crabs by crab pot shall be March 17 1 through 
December 20 November 30. In 2017 2018, the lawful season 
for the commercial harvest of crabs by crab pot shall be 
March 1 17 through December 20 November 30. For all other 
lawful commercial gear used to harvest crabs, as described in 
4VAC20-1040, the lawful seasons for the harvest of crabs 
shall be April 21 through October 31 in 2016 and April 1 
through October 31 in 2017. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest crabs or to 
possess crabs on board a vessel, except during the lawful 
season, as described in subsection A of this section. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to place, 
set, fish, or leave any hard crab pot in any tidal waters of 

mailto:barry%20jones@vdacs.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=495f8005209~1&typ=40&actno=005209&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=495f8005209~1&typ=40&actno=005209&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=495f8005209~1&typ=40&actno=005209&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=480ff005209~2&typ=40&actno=005209&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=480ff005209~2&typ=40&actno=005209&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=328d8005209~3&typ=40&actno=005209&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=328d8005209~3&typ=40&actno=005209&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=328d8005209~3&typ=40&actno=005209&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=20c01003654~4&typ=40&actno=003654&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=20c01003654~4&typ=40&actno=003654&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=48e72005209~4&typ=40&actno=005209&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=48e72005209~4&typ=40&actno=005209&mime=application/pdf
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Virginia from December 21, 2016 1, 2017, through February 
28, 2017 March 16, 2018. It shall be unlawful for any person 
knowingly to place, set, fish, or leave any lawful commercial 
gear used to harvest crabs, except any hard crab pot, or as 
described in 4VAC20-460-25, in any tidal waters of Virginia 
from November 1, 2016 2017, through March 31, 2017 2018. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to place, 
set, fish, or leave any fish pot in any tidal waters from March 
12 through March 16, except as provided in subdivisions 1 
and 2 of this subsection.  

1. It shall be lawful for any person to place, set, or fish any 
fish pot in those Virginia waters located upriver of the 
following boundary lines:  

a. In the James River the boundary shall be a line 
connecting Hog Point and the downstream point at the 
mouth of College Creek.  
b. In the York River the boundary lines shall be the 
Route 33 bridges at West Point.  
c. In the Rappahannock River the boundary line shall be 
the Route 360 bridge at Tappahannock.  
d. In the Potomac River the boundary line shall be the 
Route 301 bridge that extends from Newberg, Maryland 
to Dahlgren, Virginia. 

2. This subsection shall not apply to legally licensed eel 
pots as described in 4VAC20-500-50.  

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to place, set, or fish 
any number of fish pots in excess of 10% of the amount 
allowed by the gear license limit, up to a maximum of 30 fish 
pots per vessel, when any person on that vessel has set any 
crab pots. 

1. This subsection shall not apply to fish pots set in the 
areas described in subdivision D 1 of this section. 
2. This subsection shall not apply to legally licensed eel 
pots as described in 4VAC20-500.  
3. This subsection shall not apply to fish pots constructed 
of a mesh less than one-inch square or hexagonal mesh. 

4VAC20-270-51. Daily commercial harvester, vessel, and 
harvest and possession limits. 

A. Any barrel used by a harvester to contain or possess any 
amount of crabs will be equivalent in volume to no more than 
3 bushels of crabs. 

B. From July 5, 2016 2017, through November 15, 2016 
October 31, 2017, and April 1, 2017 2018, through July 4, 
2017 2018, any Commercial Fisherman Registration Licensee 
legally licensed for any crab pot license, as described in 
4VAC20-270-50 B, shall be limited to the following 
maximum daily harvest and possession limits for any of the 
following crab pot license categories: 

1. 10 bushels, or 3 barrels and 1 bushel, of crabs if licensed 
for up to 85 crab pots. 

2. 14 bushels, or 4 barrels and 2 bushels, of crabs if 
licensed for up to 127 crab pots. 
3. 18 bushels, or 6 barrels, of crabs if licensed for up to 170 
crab pots. 
4. 29 bushels, or 9 barrels and 2 bushels, of crabs if 
licensed for up to 255 crab pots. 
5. 47 bushels, or 15 barrels and 2 bushels, of crabs if 
licensed for up to 425 crab pots. 

C. From November 16, 2016 1, 2017, through December 20, 
2016 November 30, 2017, and March 1, 2017 17, 2018, 
through March 31, 2017 2018, any Commercial Fisherman 
Registration Licensee legally licensed for any crab pot 
license, as described in 4VAC20-270-50 B, shall be limited to 
the following maximum daily harvest and possession limits 
for any of the following crab pot license categories: 

1. 8 bushels, or 2 barrels and 2 bushels, of crabs if licensed 
for up to 85 crab pots. 
2. 10 bushels, or 3 barrels and 1 bushel, of crabs if licensed 
for up to 127 crab pots. 
3. 13 bushels, or 4 barrels and 1 bushel, of crabs if licensed 
for up to 170 crab pots. 
4. 21 bushels, or 7 barrels, of crabs if licensed for up to 255 
crab pots. 
5. 27 bushels, or 9 barrels, of crabs if licensed for up to 425 
crab pots. 

D. When a single harvester or multiple harvesters are on 
board any vessel, that vessel's daily harvest and possession 
limit shall be equal to only one daily harvest and possession 
limit, as described in subsections B and C of this section, and 
that daily limit shall correspond to the highest harvest and 
possession limit of only one licensee on board that vessel. 

E. When transporting or selling one or more legal crab pot 
licensee's crab harvest in bushels or barrels, any agent shall 
possess either the crab pot license of that one or more crab 
pot licensees or a bill of lading indicating each crab pot 
licensee's name, address, Commercial Fisherman Registration 
License number, date, and amount of bushels or barrels of 
crabs to be sold. 

F. If any police officer finds crabs in excess of any lawful 
daily bushel, barrel, or vessel limit, as described in this 
section, that excess quantity of crabs shall be returned 
immediately to the water by the licensee or licensees who 
possess that excess over lawful daily harvest or possession 
limit. The refusal to return crabs, in excess of any lawful daily 
harvest or possession limit, to the water shall constitute a 
separate violation of this chapter. 

G. When any person on board any boat or vessel possesses a 
crab pot license, it shall be unlawful for that person or any 
other person aboard that boat or vessel to possess a seafood 
buyers boat license and buy any crabs on any day.  
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4VAC20-270-55. Minimum size limits.  
A. From March 1 17 through July 15, it shall be unlawful for 

any person to harvest, possess, sell, or offer for sale more 
than 10 peeler crabs, per United States standard bushel, or 
5.0% of peeler crabs in any other container, that measure less 
than 3-1/4 inches across the shell from tip to tip of the longest 
spikes. From July 16 through December 20 November 30, it 
shall be unlawful for any person to harvest, possess, sell, or 
offer for sale more than 10 peeler crabs, per United States 
standard bushel, or 5.0% of peeler crabs in any other 
container, that measure less than 3-1/2 inches across the shell 
from tip to tip of the longest spikes, except as described in 
subsections B and C of this section. 

B. From July 16 through December 20 November 30, it shall 
be unlawful for any person to harvest, possess, sell, or offer 
for sale more than 10 peeler crabs, per United States standard 
bushel, or 5.0% of peeler crabs in any other container, that are 
harvested from waters on the ocean side of Accomack and 
Northampton Counties and measure less than 3-1/4 inches 
across the shell from tip to tip of the longest spikes, except as 
described in subsection C of this section.  

C. In the enforcement of these peeler crab minimum size 
limits aboard a vessel, the marine police officer shall select a 
single container of peeler crabs of his choosing to determine 
if the contents of that container violate the minimum size and 
tolerance described in this section. If the officer determines 
the contents of the container are in violation, then the officer 
shall return all peeler crabs on board the vessel to the water 
alive. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, catch, harvest, 
possess, sell or offer for sale, or to destroy in any manner, any 
soft crab that measures less than 3-1/2 inches across the shell 
from tip to tip of the longest spikes.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5190; Filed July 27, 2017, 8:56 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 
Commission is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-490. Pertaining to Sharks 
(amending 4VAC20-490-42, 4VAC20-490-46).  
Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: July 31, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 
3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-
2248 or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments reduce the commercial spiny dogfish 
landings quota and streamline the buyer reporting process.  

4VAC20-490-42. Spiny dogfish commercial quota and 
catch limitations.  

A. For the 12-month period of From May 1, 2016, of the 
current calendar year through April 30, 2017 of the following 
calendar year, the spiny dogfish commercial spiny dogfish 
landings quota shall be limited to 4,356,944 4,220,814 
pounds. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, harvest, or 
possess aboard any vessel or to land in Virginia any spiny 
dogfish harvested from federal waters for commercial 
purposes after it has been announced that the federal quota for 
spiny dogfish has been taken. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, harvest, or 
possess aboard any vessel or to land in Virginia more than 
5,250 pounds of spiny dogfish per day for commercial 
purposes. However, if landings are less than 80% of the quota 
specified in subsection A of this section, by February 15, 
2017, it shall be unlawful to take, harvest, or possess aboard 
any vessel or to land in Virginia more than 6,000 pounds of 
spiny dogfish per day for commercial purposes.  

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or to land in 
Virginia any spiny dogfish for commercial purposes after the 
quota specified in subsection A of this section has been 
landed and announced as such. 

E. Any spiny dogfish harvested from state waters or federal 
waters, for commercial purposes, shall only be sold to a 
federally permitted dealer. 

F. It shall be unlawful for any buyer of seafood to receive 
any spiny dogfish after any commercial harvest or landing 
quota described in this section has been attained and 
announced as such. 
4VAC20-490-46. Spiny dogfish monitoring requirements. 

A. Any Virginia seafood buyer purchasing spiny dogfish 
shall provide written reports to the Marine Resources 
Commission of weekly landings for each registered 
commercial fisherman to include that commercial fisherman's 
registration license number and exact weight of the spiny 
dogfish landed, in pounds, until it is projected and announced 
that 80% of Virginia spiny dogfish quota has been landed. 

B. When it has been projected and announced by the Marine 
Resources Commission that 80% of the Virginia spiny 
dogfish quota has been landed, each Virginia seafood buyer 
shall call the Marine Resources Commission's interactive 
voice recording system on a daily basis to report the daily 
landings for each registered commercial fisherman to include 
the commercial fisherman's registration license number and 
exact weight of spiny dogfish landed received or purchased, 
in pounds, until it is projected and announced that the 
Virginia spiny dogfish quota has been landed and the fishery 
closed. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5189; Filed July 27, 2017, 8:58 a.m.  



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 26 Virginia Register of Regulations August 21, 2017 

2865 

Withdrawal of Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1090. Pertaining to Licensing 
Requirements and License Fees (amending 4VAC20-1090-
30).  
Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 
The Marine Resources Commission has WITHDRAWN the 
final regulatory action for 4VAC20-1090, Pertaining to 
Licensing Requirements and License Fees, which was 
published in 33:10 VA.R. 1004-1008 January 9, 2017, with 
an effective date of December 1, 2017. Therefore, the 
commercial license fees will not be increased on December 1, 
2017. 
Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 
3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-
2248 or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5006; Filed July 27, 2017, 2:25 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 
Commission is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1140. Prohibition of Crab 
Dredging in Virginia Waters (amending 4VAC20-1140-
20).  
Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: August 1, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 
3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-
2248 or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendment closes the crab dredge fishery season from 
December 1, 2017, through March 31, 2018. 

4VAC20-1140-20. Crab dredging prohibited. 
In accordance with the provisions of § 28.2-707 of the Code 

of Virginia, the crab dredging season of December 1, 2016 
2017, through March 31, 2017 2018, is closed, and it shall be 
unlawful to use a dredge for catching crabs from the waters of 
the Commonwealth during that season. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5188; Filed July 27, 2017, 9:00 a.m.  

 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 
Commission is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1270. Pertaining to Atlantic 
Menhaden (amending 4VAC20-1270-30, 4VAC20-1270-
50).  
Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: August 1, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 
3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-
2248 or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 
Summary:  

The amendments increase Virginia's portion of the 
coastwide total allowable landings of menhaden and 
modify the nonpurse seine bait sector quota allocations. 

4VAC20-1270-30. Total allowable landings for menhaden; 
allocation, accountability, and overages. 

A. In accordance with Section § 28.2-400.2 of the Code of 
Virginia the total allowable commercial landings for 
menhaden in 2015 2017 and 2016 2018 in metric tons shall 
be equivalent to 349,873,884 372,443,990 pounds, and that 
total amount of allowable landings shall be allocated as 
quotas among three sectors of the menhaden fishery, as 
described below, pursuant to § 28.2-400.3 of the Code of 
Virginia. The purse seine menhaden reduction sector is 
allocated a quota of 315,036,445 335,359,214 pounds of 
allowable menhaden landings; the purse seine menhaden bait 
sector a 29,313,757 31,204,766 pound quota of allowable 
menhaden landings; and the nonpurse seine menhaden bait 
sector a 5,523,682 5,880,010 pound quota of allowable 
menhaden landings. 

B. If the total allowable landings specified in subsection A 
of this section are exceeded in any year, the total allowable 
landings for the subsequent year will be reduced by the 
amount of the overage. Such overage shall be deducted from 
the sector of the menhaden fishery that exceeded the 
allocation specified in subsection A of this section. 
4VAC20-1270-50. Nonpurse seine menhaden bait sector 
quota; allocation and bycatch provisions. 

A. The commercial nonpurse seine bait sector's allocation 
shall be by gear type as follows:  

1. Cast net: 2,123 2,261 pounds. 

2. Dredge: 3,376 3,595 pounds. 

3. Fyke net: 2,326 2,477 pounds. 

4. Gill net: 1,673,219 1,781,986 pounds. 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=6136
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5. Hook and line: 258 pounds. 

6. Pot: 2,270 pounds. 

7. 5. Pound net: 3,753,222 3,997,201 pounds. 

8. 6. Seine: 22,113 23,550 pounds. 

9. 7. Trawl: 64,732 68,940 pounds.  

10. Trot line: 43 pounds.  

B. Pursuant to § 28.2-400.4 of the Code of Virginia, once 
the commissioner announces the date of closure for the 
nonpurse seine bait fishery, any person licensed in the 
nonpurse seine menhaden bait sector may possess and land up 
to 6,000 pounds of menhaden per day. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5225; Filed July 27, 2017, 8:50 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 

CORRECTIONS 

BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 6VAC35-160. Regulations Governing 
Juvenile Record Information and the Virginia Juvenile 
Justice Information System (amending 6VAC35-160-10, 
6VAC35-160-30 through 6VAC35-160-70, 6VAC35-160-
90, 6VAC35-160-100 through 6VAC35-160-260, 6VAC35-
160-280 through 6VAC35-160-360; repealing 6VAC35-
160-390).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-223 and 66-10 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Effective Date: September 20, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Janet P. Van Cuyk, Legislative and 
Research Manager, Department of Juvenile Justice, 600 East 
Main Street, 20th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 588-3879, FAX (804) 371-6490, or email 
janet.vancuyk@djj.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) require background checks for those 
individuals who will have access to juvenile record 
information; (ii) replace references to Department of 
Juvenile Justice data policies with references to the 
Information Technology Resource Management standards, 
which are the technology standards for all executive 
branch agencies of the Commonwealth; (iii) remove 
outdated terms and requirements; and (iv) clarify 
processes that were previously vague. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Part I  
General Provisions  

6VAC35-160-10. Definitions.  
The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise.  

"Access" means the ability directly to obtain information 
concerning an individual juvenile contained in manual or 
automated files. 

"Commonwealth of Virginia Information Technology 
Resource Management Standards" or "COV ITRM 
Standards" means the information technology standards 
applicable to all [ Commonwealth ] executive branch 
agencies that manage, develop, purchase, and use information 
technology resources in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Data owner" means a Department of Juvenile Justice 
employee who is responsible for the policy and practice 
decisions regarding data as identified by COV ITRM 
Standard Security (SEC) [ 501-08 501–09.1 ]. 

"Department" means the Department of Juvenile Justice.  
"Destroy" means to totally eliminate and eradicate by 

various methods, including, but not limited to, shredding, 
incinerating, or pulping.  

"Dissemination" means any transfer of juvenile record 
information, whether orally, in writing, or by electronic 
means to any person other than an employee of a participating 
agency who has a right to the is authorized to receive the 
information under § 16.1-300 of the Code of Virginia and 
who is not barred from receiving the information by other 
applicable law.  

"Expunge" means to destroy all records concerning an 
individual juvenile, or all personal identifying information 
related to an individual juvenile that is included in aggregated 
files and databases, in accordance with a court order or the 
Code of Virginia.  

"Juvenile record information" means any information in the 
possession of a participating agency pertaining to the case of 
a juvenile who is or has been the subject of an action by an 
intake officer as provided by § 16.1-260 of the Code of 
Virginia, as well as to personal identifying information 
concerning such a juvenile in any database or other 
aggregated compilation of records. The term does not apply 
to statistical or analytical records or reports in which 
individuals are not identified and from which their identities 
are not ascertainable.  

"Need to know" means the principle that a user should 
access only the specific information necessary to perform a 
particular function in the exercise of his official duties. [ Once 
access to an application is authorized, the authorized data user 
is still obligated to assess the appropriateness of each specific 
access ] on a need-to-know basis [ only necessary to perform 
official job duties and responsibilities. ] 
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"Participating agency" means the Department of Juvenile 
Justice department, including state-operated court service 
units, or; any locally operated court service unit, secure 
juvenile detention home, center, or juvenile group home or 
emergency shelter; or any public agency, child welfare 
agency, private organization, facility, or person who is 
treating or providing services to a child pursuant to a contract 
with the department or pursuant to the Virginia Juvenile 
Community Crime Control Act as set out in Article 12.1 
(§ 16.1-309.2 et seq.) of Chapter 11 of Title 16.1 of the Code 
of Virginia, that is approved by the department to have direct 
access to juvenile record information through the Virginia 
Juvenile Justice Information System VJJIS or any of its 
component or derivative information systems. The term 
"participating agency" does not include any court. 

"Remote access" means a connection to the department's 
systems from a remote location other than a department 
facility. 

"Telecommunication connection" means the infrastructure 
used to establish a remote access to department information 
technology systems.  

"Virginia Juvenile Justice Information System (VJJIS)" or 
"VJJIS" means the equipment, facilities, agreements and 
procedures used to collect, process, preserve or disseminate 
juvenile record information in accordance with § 16.1-224 or 
§ 16.1-300 of the Code of Virginia. The operations of the 
system may be performed manually or by using electronic 
computers or other automated data processing equipment.  

"VJJIS functional administrator" means a Department of 
Juvenile Justice employee who is responsible for overseeing 
the operation of a specific component of the Virginia Juvenile 
Justice Information System. Such persons are sometimes 
referred to as "functional proponents" of particular 
information reporting systems. The functional administrator 
is not to be confused with the department's overall 
administrator of the VJJIS.  

Part II  
Participating Agencies in the Virginia Juvenile Justice 

Information System VJJIS  
6VAC35-160-30. Designation as a participating agency.  

A. The department, including its central administration, 
department-operated facilities, and state-operated court 
service units, is considered a single participating agency for 
purposes of this regulation.  

B. Locally operated court services units, and secure juvenile 
detention homes and boot camps as defined in § 16.1-228 of 
the Code of Virginia centers shall be participating agencies in 
the Virginia Juvenile Justice Information System VJJIS.  

C. Any other agency that is eligible to receive juvenile 
record information under § 16.1-300 of the Code of Virginia 
may apply to the department for status as a participating 
agency.  

6VAC35-160-40. Signed memorandum of agreement and 
nondisclosure agreement required.  

The department shall develop a written memorandum of 
agreement and a nondisclosure agreement with each other 
participating agency delineating the participating agency's 
access to and responsibility for information contained in the 
Virginia Juvenile Justice Information System VJJIS.  
6VAC35-160-50. Data submissions.  

A. All participating agencies shall submit data and other 
information as required by department policy procedures to 
ensure that juvenile record information is complete, accurate, 
current, and consistent.  

B. Administrators of participating agencies are responsible 
for ensuring that entries into the juvenile justice information 
system VJJIS are accurate, timely, and in a form prescribed 
by the department.  

C. All information entered into the Virginia Juvenile Justice 
Information System VJJIS shall become part of a juvenile's 
record and shall be subject to the confidentiality provisions of 
§ 16.1-300 of the Code of Virginia.  
6VAC35-160-60. Access provided to participating 
agencies.  

A. In accordance with policies statutes, regulations, and 
procedures governing confidentiality of information and 
system security, the department may limit or expand the 
scope of access granted to participating agencies.  

B. When individuals or participating agencies are providing 
treatment or rehabilitative services to a juvenile as part of an 
agreement with the department, their access to juvenile record 
information shall be limited to that portion of the information 
that is relevant to the provision of the treatment or service. 
Once access to an application is authorized, the authorized 
data user is still obligated to assess the appropriateness of 
each specific access on a need-to-know basis.  

C. An individual's juvenile record information shall be made 
available only to participating agencies currently supervising 
or providing services to the juvenile, and only upon 
presentation of the unique identifying number assigned to the 
juvenile. Once access to an application is authorized, the 
authorized data user [ is still remains ] obligated to assess the 
appropriateness of each specific access on a need-to-know 
basis.  
6VAC35-160-70. Designation of authorized individuals.  

A. Each participating agency shall determine what positions 
in the agency require regular access to juvenile record 
information as part of their job responsibilities and as 
documented in the employee work profile.  

B. In accordance with applicable law and regulations, the 
The department may shall require a background check of any 
individual who will be given access to the VJJIS system 
through any participating agency. The department may deny 
access to any person based on the results of such background 
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investigation or due to the person's violation of the provisions 
of these regulations this chapter or other security 
requirements established for the collection, storage, or 
dissemination of juvenile record information.  

C. Only authorized employees individuals shall have direct 
access to juvenile record information.  

D. Use of juvenile record information by an unauthorized 
employee individual, or for a purpose or activity other than 
one for which the person is authorized to receive juvenile 
record information, will shall be considered an unauthorized 
dissemination.  

E. Persons who are given access to juvenile record 
information shall be required to sign an agreement 
information security agreement in accordance with 
department procedure stating that they will use and 
disseminate the information only in compliance with law and 
these regulations, this chapter and that they understand that 
there are criminal and civil penalties for unauthorized 
dissemination.  
6VAC35-160-90. Security of physical records.  

A. A participating agency that possesses physical records or 
files containing juvenile record information shall institute 
procedures to ensure the physical security of such juvenile 
record information from unauthorized access, disclosure, 
dissemination, theft, sabotage, fire, flood, wind, or other 
natural or man-made disasters.  

B. Only authorized persons who are clearly identified shall 
have access to areas where juvenile record information is 
collected, stored, processed, or disseminated. Locks, guards, 
or other appropriate means shall be used to control access.  
6VAC35-160-100. Requirements when records are 
automated.  

Participating agencies having automated juvenile record 
information files shall:  

1. Designate a system administrator data owner to maintain 
and control authorized user accounts, system management, 
and the implementation of security measures;  
2. Maintain "backup" copies of juvenile record 
information, preferably off-site;  
3. Develop a disaster recovery plan, which shall be 
available for inspection and review by the department;  
4. Carefully control system specifications and 
documentation to prevent unauthorized access and 
dissemination 2. Develop and implement a logical access 
procedure to prevent unauthorized access and 
dissemination; and  
5. 3. Develop procedures for discarding old computers to 
ensure that information contained on those computers is 
not available to unauthorized persons. All data must be 
completely erased or otherwise made unreadable in 
accordance with COV ITRM Standard SEC 514–04, 
Removal of Commonwealth Data from Electronic Media 

Standard [ or any successor COV ITRM standard that 
addresses the removal of Commonwealth data from 
electronic media ]. 

6VAC35-160-110. Access controls for computer security.  
A. Where juvenile record information is computerized, 

logical access controls shall be [ put in place implemented ] to 
ensure that records can be queried, updated, or destroyed only 
from approved system user accounts. Industry standard levels 
of encryption shall be required to protect all confidential 
juvenile record information moving through any network.  

B. The logical access controls described in subsection A of 
this section shall be known only to the employees of the 
participating agency who are responsible for control of the 
juvenile record information system or to individuals and 
agencies operating under a specific agreement with the 
participating agency to provide such security programs. The 
access controls shall be kept under maximum security 
conditions secure.  

C. Computer operations, whether dedicated or shared, that 
support juvenile record information shall operate in 
accordance with procedures developed or approved by the 
department.  

D. Juvenile record information shall be stored by the 
computer in such a manner that it cannot be modified, 
destroyed, accessed, changed, purged, or overlaid in any 
fashion except via an approved system user account.  
6VAC35-160-130. Security of telecommunications.  

A. Ordinarily, dedicated telecommunications lines shall be 
required for direct or remote access to computer systems 
containing juvenile record information. However, the The 
department may permit the use of a nondedicated means of 
data transmission to access juvenile record information when 
there are adequate and verifiable safeguards in place to 
restrict access to juvenile record information to authorized 
persons. Industry standard levels of encryption shall be 
required to protect all juvenile record information moving 
through any network.  

B. Where remote access of juvenile record information is 
permitted, remote access devices must be secure. Remote 
access devices capable of receiving or transmitting juvenile 
record information shall be secured during periods of 
operation. When the remote access device is unattended, the 
device shall be made inoperable for purposes of accessing 
juvenile record information by implementing a screen saver 
lockout period after a maximum of 15 minutes of inactivity 
for devices as required by COV ITRM Standards SEC [ 501-
09 or any successor COV ITRM Standard that addresses 
information security 501–09.1 ]. In addition, appropriate 
identification of the remote access device operator shall be 
required.  

C. Telecommunications facilities The telecommunications 
connection used in connection with the remote access device 
shall also be secured. The telecommunications facilities 
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Telecommunication connections shall be reasonably protected 
from possible tampering or tapping.  
6VAC35-160-150. Correcting errors.  

Participating agencies shall immediately notify the 
appropriate VJJIS functional administrator data owner [ when 
it is found upon discovering ] that incorrect information has 
been entered into the juvenile justice information system 
VJJIS. The VJJIS functional administrator data owner [ will 
shall ] make arrangements to correct the information as soon 
as practicable in accordance with department procedures.  
6VAC35-160-170. Information to be disseminated only in 
accordance with law applicable statutes and regulation 
regulations.  

A. In accordance with § 16.1-223 of the Code of Virginia, 
data stored in the Virginia Juvenile Justice Information 
System VJJIS shall be confidential. Information from such 
data that identifies an individual juvenile may be released 
only in accordance with § 16.1-300 of the Code of Virginia, 
applicable federal law, and this regulation chapter.  

B. Unauthorized dissemination of juvenile record 
information will result in subject the disseminator's being 
subject disseminator to the administrative sanctions described 
in 6VAC35-160-380. Unlawful dissemination also may be 
prosecuted as a Class 3 misdemeanor under § 16.1-309 of the 
Code of Virginia or as a Class 2 misdemeanor under § 16.1-
225 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. Additional disclosure limitations are provided in the 
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (42 USC 
§§ 1320d-5 and 1320d-6) and the federal substance abuse law 
(42 USC § 290dd2(f)).  
6VAC35-160-180. Fees.  

Participating agencies may charge a reasonable fee for 
search and copying time expended when an individual or a 
nonparticipating agency requests juvenile record information. 
The participating agency shall inform the requester of the fees 
to be charged, and shall obtain written agreement from the 
requester to pay such costs prior to initiating the search for 
requested information. Any release shall be in accordance 
with applicable statutes and regulations. 
6VAC35-160-210. Determining requestor's eligibility to 
receive the information.  

A. Upon receipt of a request for juvenile record information, 
an appropriately designated person shall determine whether 
the requesting agency or individual is eligible to receive 
juvenile record information as provided in § 16.1-300 of the 
Code of Virginia, federal law, and this regulation chapter.  

B. The determination as to whether a person, agency or 
institution has a "legitimate interest" in a juvenile's case shall 
be based on the criteria specified in subdivision A 7 of 
§ 16.1-300 A 7 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. When there is a request to disseminate health records or 
substance abuse treatment records, the person responding to 

the request shall determine whether the requested information 
is protected by the Health Insurance Portability and 
Accountability Act of 1996 or by the federal law on substance 
abuse treatment records (42 USC § 290dd-2 and 42 CFR Part 
2), and may consult with designated department personnel in 
making this determination. Health records and substance 
abuse treatment records shall be disseminated only in strict 
compliance with the applicable federal statutory 
requirements, the Code of Virginia, and this chapter.  
6VAC35-160-220. Responding to requests.  

A. Once it is determined that a requestor is entitled to 
juvenile record information, a designated individual shall 
inform the requestor of the procedures for reviewing the 
juvenile record information, including the general restrictions 
on the use of the data, when the record will be available, and 
any costs that may be involved.  

B. When the request for juvenile record information is made 
by an individual's parent, guardian, legal custodian or other 
person standing in loco parentis, the request shall be referred 
to designated personnel of the department. (See 6VAC35-
160-230.)  

C. Before beginning the search for the requested juvenile 
record information, a designated individual shall inform the 
requester of any fees that will be charged pursuant to 
6VAC35-160-180 and shall obtain the consent of the 
requester to pay any charges associated with providing the 
requested information.  

D. C. All records containing sensitive data (e.g., name, date 
of birth, social security number, or address) shall be 
encrypted prior to electronic dissemination. Except as 
provided in subsection B of this section, requested records 
shall be provided as soon as practicable, but in any case 
within seven 10 business days unless compliance with other 
applicable regulations requires a longer response time.  

E. D. If the request for information is made to a participating 
agency and the participating agency does not have access to 
the particular information requested, the requestor shall be so 
notified and shall be told how to request the information from 
the appropriate source, if known.  

F. E. Personnel of the participating agency shall provide 
reasonable assistance to the individual or his attorney to help 
understand the record.  

G. F. The person releasing the record shall also inform the 
individual of his right to challenge the record as provided in 
6VAC35-160-280.  

H. G. If no record can be found, a statement shall be 
furnished to this effect.  
6VAC35-160-260. Reporting unauthorized 
disseminations.  

A. Participating agencies shall notify the department when 
they observe any violations of the above dissemination 
regulations contained in this part. The department will shall 
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investigate and respond to the violation as provided in law 
and this chapter.  

B. A participating agency that knowingly fails to report a 
violation may be subject to an immediate audit of its entire 
dissemination log and procedures to ensure that 
disseminations are being appropriately managed.  

Part IV  
Challenge To to and Correction of Juvenile Record 

Information  
6VAC35-160-280. Challenge.  

A. Individuals, or persons acting on an individual's behalf as 
provided for by law, may challenge their own juvenile record 
information by completing documentation provided by the 
department and forwarding it to the functional proponent data 
owner who is responsible for the applicable component of the 
the Virginia Juvenile Justice Information System VJJIS as 
prescribed in department procedures.  

B. When a record that is maintained by the VJJIS is 
challenged, both the manual and the automated record shall 
be flagged with the message "CHALLENGED RECORD." 
The individual shall be given an opportunity to make provide 
a brief written statement describing how the information 
contained in the record is alleged to be inaccurate. When a 
challenged record is disseminated while under challenge, the 
record shall carry both the flagged message and the 
individual's statement, if one has been provided.  

C. The VJJIS functional administrator data owner or 
designee shall examine the individual's record to determine if 
a data entry error was made. If a data entry error is not 
obvious, the VJJIS functional administrator data owner shall 
send a copy of the challenge form and any relevant 
information to all agencies that could have originated the 
information under challenge, and shall ask them to examine 
their files to determine the validity of the challenge.  

D. The participating agencies shall examine their source 
data, the contents of the challenge, and information supplied 
by the VJJIS for any discrepancies or errors, and shall advise 
the VJJIS functional administrator data owner of the results 
of the examination.  

E. If a modification of a VJJIS record is required, the VJJIS 
functional administrator data owner shall ensure that the 
required change is made and shall notify all participating 
agencies that were asked to examine their records in 
connection with the challenge.  

F. Participating agencies that, pursuant to 6VAC35-160-220, 
have disseminated an erroneous or incomplete record shall in 
turn notify all entities that have received the erroneous 
juvenile record information as recorded on the agency's 
dissemination log.  

G. The participating agency that received the challenge shall 
notify the individual or person acting on the individual's 
behalf of the results of the challenge and the right to request 
an administrative review and appeal those results.  

6VAC35-160-290. Administrative review of challenge 
results.  

A. If not satisfied with the results of the challenge, the 
individual or those acting on his behalf may, within 30 
calendar days, request in writing an administrative review of 
the challenge by the Director director of the Department of 
Juvenile Justice department.  

B. Within 30 days of receiving the written request for the 
administrative review, the Director director of the Department 
of Juvenile Justice department, or a designee who is not the 
VJJIS functional administrator data owner who responded to 
the challenge, shall review the challenge, the findings of the 
review, and the action taken by the VJJIS functional 
administrator data owner. If the administrative review 
supports correction of the juvenile record information, the 
correction shall be made as prescribed above in [ this section 
6VAC35-160-280 ].  
6VAC35-160-300. Removal of a challenge designation.  

When juvenile the challenge to the juvenile's record 
information is determined to be correct has been resolved, 
either as a result of a challenge or an administrative review of 
the challenge, the VJJIS functional administrator data owner 
shall notify the affected participating agencies to remove the 
challenge designation from their files.  

Part V  
Expungement  

6VAC35-160-310. Expungement requirements.  
When a court orders or law requires the expungement of an 

individual's juvenile records, all records and personal 
identifying information associated with the expungement 
order shall be destroyed in accordance with the court order or 
statutory requirement. Nonidentifying information may be 
kept in databases or other aggregated files for statistical 
purposes.  
6VAC35-160-320. Notification to participating agencies.  

The VJJIS functional administrator data owner shall notify 
all participating agencies to purge their records of any 
reference to the person whose record has been ordered 
expunged. The notification shall include a copy of the 
applicable court order, along with notice of the penalties 
imposed by law for disclosure of such personal identifying 
information (see § 16.1-309 of the Code of Virginia).  
6VAC35-160-330. Procedures for expunging juvenile 
record information.  

A. Paper versions of records that have been ordered 
expunged shall be destroyed by shredding, incinerating, 
pulping, or otherwise totally eradicating the record.  

B. Computerized versions of records that have been ordered 
expunged shall be deleted from all databases and electronic 
files in such a way that the records cannot be accessed or 
recreated through ordinary use of any equipment or software 
that is part of the Virginia Juvenile Justice Information 
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System VJJIS and in accordance with the ITRM SEC [ 514-
03 514–04 ] Removal of [ Electronic Commonwealth ] Data 
from Electronic Media [ standard Standard ].  

C. If personal identifying information concerning the subject 
individual is included in records that are not ordered 
expunged, the personal identifying information relating to the 
individual whose records have been ordered expunged shall 
be obliterated on the original, or a new document shall be 
created eliminating the personal identifying references to the 
individual whose record has been ordered expunged.  
6VAC35-160-340. Confirmation notice required to VJJIS 
functional administrator data owner.  

Within 30 calendar days of receiving expungement 
instructions from the VJJIS functional administrator data 
owner, the participating agency shall expunge the juvenile 
record information in accordance with 6VAC35-160-330 and 
shall notify the VJJIS functional administrator data owner 
when the records have been expunged. The notification to the 
VJJIS functional administrator data owner shall indicate that 
juvenile records were expunged in accordance with court 
order and shall not identify the juvenile whose records where 
were expunged.  
6VAC35-160-350. Expungement order received directly 
by participating agency.  

When a participating agency receives an expungement order 
directly from a court, the participating agency shall promptly 
comply with the expungement order in accordance with 
6VAC35-160-330 and shall notify the VJJIS functional 
administrator data owner of the court-ordered expungement. 
The VJJIS functional administrator shall data owner, upon 
receipt of such notification, obtain a copy of the order from 
the appropriate court shall contact the appropriate court and 
determine the validity of the notification, as applicable.  

Part VI  
Disposition of Records in the [ Virginia Juvenile Justice 

Information System VJJIS ]  
6VAC35-160-355. Record retention.  

All records in the Virginia Juvenile Justice Information 
System VJJIS shall be retained and disposed of in accordance 
with the applicable records retention schedules approved by 
the Library of Virginia. When a participating agency or a unit 
of a participating agency disposes of records in the physical 
possession of the participating agency or the unit of a 
participating agency, the person who disposes of such records 
shall notify the VJJIS functional administrator data owner to 
remove that same information from VJJIS.  

Part VII  
Enforcement  

6VAC35-160-360. Oversight by the Department of 
Juvenile Justice department.  

A. The Department of Juvenile Justice department shall 
have the responsibility for monitoring compliance with this 
chapter and for taking enforcement action as provided in this 

chapter or by law applicable state and federal statutes and 
regulations.  

B. The department shall have the right to audit, monitor, and 
inspect any facilities, equipment, software, systems, or 
procedures established pursuant to required by this chapter.  
6VAC35-160-390. Annual report to the board. (Repealed.) 

The department shall annually report to the board on the 
status of the Juvenile Justice Information System, including a 
summary of (i) any known security breaches and corrective 
actions taken; (ii) any audits conducted, whether random or 
for cause; and (iii) any challenges received alleging erroneous 
information and the outcome of any investigation in response 
to such a challenge.  
[ DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(6VAC35-160) 

Information Technology Resource Management Standard - 
Removal of Commonwealth Data from Electronic Media 
Standard, 514–04, Virginia Information Technologies 
Agency (rev. 12/2015)  

Commonwealth of Virginia Information Technology 
Resource Management Standard, Information Security 
Standard, 501–09.1, Virginia Information Technologies 
Agency (rev. 12/2016) ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4311; Filed July 24, 2017, 7:17 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-671. Regulations Governing 
the Operation of Private Schools for Students with 
Disabilities (amending 8VAC20-671-710).  
Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  
Public Comment Deadline: September 20, 2017. 
Effective Date: October 5, 2017.  
Agency Contact: John Eisenberg, Special Education and 
Student Services, Department of Education, 101 North 14th 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-8079, or 
email john.eisenberg@doe.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Chapter 387 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly amends 
§§ 8.01-225, 54.1-3408, and 22.1-321.1 of the Code of 
Virginia, relating to the possession and administration of 
epinephrine in private schools for students with disabilities. 
Specifically, § 22.1-321.1 requires that the Board of 
Education promulgate regulations for the possession and 
administration of epinephrine in every school for students 
with disabilities, to be administered by any employee of the 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=959fd004311~2&typ=40&actno=004311&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=959fd004311~2&typ=40&actno=004311&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=959fd004311~2&typ=40&actno=004311&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=959fd004311~2&typ=40&actno=004311&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a72aa004311~5&typ=40&actno=004311&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a72aa004311~5&typ=40&actno=004311&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a72aa004311~5&typ=40&actno=004311&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a72aa004311~5&typ=40&actno=004311&mime=application/pdf
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school who is authorized by a prescriber and trained in the 
administration of epinephrine to any student believed to be 
having an anaphylactic reaction. 
Purpose: The amendments to 8VAC20-671-710 conform the 
regulations to the provisions of Chapter 387 of the 2015 Acts 
of Assembly. Without amending 8VAC20-671-710 to include 
requirements related to the possession and use of epinephrine, 
students who are believed to be having an anaphylactic 
reaction could be put at significant risk of a serious medical 
condition or potentially death. The amended regulation will 
provide the administrators of private schools for students with 
disabilities with much needed and requested provisions 
related to the possession and use of epinephrine. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: Use of 
the fast-track rulemaking process for the amendments to 
8VAC20-671-710 is appropriate because (i) the Board of 
Education does not foresee a significant human resource or 
fiscal impact on the private school facilities; (ii) there is no 
fiscal impact on the Commonwealth; and (iii) these 
amendments are long awaited by the private school 
community and its accrediting agencies, primarily the 
Virginia Council for Private Education and the Virginia 
Association of Independent Specialized Education Facilities. 
Substance: The amendments to 8VAC20-671-710 address the 
requirements for procurement, storage, and use of epinephrine 
and also address the training requirements for staff and the 
required reporting activities when epinephrine is administered 
to a student enrolled in a private school licensed by the 
Virginia Department of Education. 
Issues: An advantage for the public is that parents of children 
who are enrolled in such private schools will have access to 
the required expectations when a child experiences an 
anaphylactic episode at school or during a school sponsored 
activity off of school grounds and how care will be provided 
by trained personnel in accordance with established 
guidelines and protocols. An advantage for the Virginia 
Department of Education and the Commonwealth of Virginia 
is that there will be a defined protocol for monitoring and 
enforcing what were already established in guidelines but are 
now incorporated by reference into law. There are no 
foreseen disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to Chapter 387 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly, the 
Board of Education (Board) proposes to establish 
requirements for the possession and administration of 
epinephrine in private schools for students with disabilities. 
Epinephrine is used to treat persons believed to be having an 
anaphylactic reaction. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs.  
Estimated Economic Impact. Anaphylaxis is a severe, 
potentially life-threatening allergic reaction. It can occur 

within seconds or minutes of exposure to something you're 
allergic to, such as peanuts or bee stings. Anaphylaxis causes 
your immune system to release a flood of chemicals that can 
cause you to go into shock — your blood pressure drops 
suddenly and your airways narrow, blocking breathing. Signs 
and symptoms include a rapid, weak pulse; a skin rash; and 
nausea and vomiting. Common triggers include certain foods, 
some medications, insect venom and latex. Anaphylaxis 
requires an injection of epinephrine. If anaphylaxis isn't 
treated right away with epinephrine, it can be fatal.1 
The Board proposes to require that each school has: 1) on 
campus at least two auto-injectable epinephrine units for both 
dosage sizes, 0.3 mg (for students weighing more than 66 
pounds) and 0.15 mg (for students who weigh 33 to 66 
pounds), 2) a written policy consistent with the Department of 
Education's (DOE) Guidelines for Recognition and Treatment 
of Anaphylaxis in the School Setting for its procedures to 
address students with severe allergies who may be at risk of 
an anaphylactic reaction necessitating the use of an 
epinephrine auto-injector, 3) for students with known life 
threatening allergies, "student specific" written instructions 
from the student's health care provider for handling 
anaphylaxis and all necessary medications, and 4) a standing 
order (from an authorized medical provider) to prescribe 
"non-student specific" epinephrine for students within the 
school who do not presently have a health care plan 
addressing the administration of epinephrine.  Additionally, 
the Board proposes to specify documentation and storage 
requirements, as well as procedures once epinephrine is 
administered. Finally, the Board proposes to require that at 
least two school employees in addition to the school nurse are 
trained in the administration of epinephrine by auto-injector. 
As of May 10, 2017, generic auto-injectable epinephrine units 
were listed at a cost of $109.99 for a two-pack on CVS's 
website.2 Thus requiring that each school has at least two 
auto-injectable epinephrine units for both dosage sizes would 
cost about $220. The auto-injectable epinephrine units are 
expected to last at least 12 months before expiry.3 Thereafter, 
the replacement costs for used and expired auto-injectors is 
projected to be at about the same rate. DOE's Guidelines for 
Recognition and Treatment of Anaphylaxis in the School 
Setting provides the information needed for schools to 
produce a written policy related to its procedures to address 
students with severe allergies who may be at risk of an 
anaphylactic reaction necessitating the use of an epinephrine 
auto-injector. The annual administrative costs for 
recordkeeping and other administrative costs required for 
compliance is projected at $240 (1hr per month at $20 per 
hour).4 Thus most years, obtaining and maintaining the 
required auto-injectable epinephrine units and the associated 
procedures would likely cost less than $500. 
Given the not insignificant chance that the presence of auto-
injectable epinephrine and staff who know how to properly 
administer it could save the life of a child at the school, the 
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benefits of the proposed amendments likely exceed the costs 
(less than $500 annually most years).  
Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect the 136 licensed private schools for students with 
disabilities in the Commonwealth.5 Most would likely qualify 
as small businesses. 
Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 
use and value of private property. 
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not affect real estate development costs. 
Small Businesses:  
Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 
Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments increase 
costs for small private schools for students with disabilities. 
Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 
no apparent alternative that would reduce costs while meeting 
the intended policy goal of increasing the likelihood that 
children at private schools for students with disabilities who 
go into anaphylactic shock survive.  
Adverse Impacts: 
Businesses. The proposed amendments increase costs for 
private schools for students with disabilities. 
Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 
localities. 
Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect other entities. 
_____________________________ 
1 Source: Mayo Clinic http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-
conditions/anaphylaxis/home/ovc-20307210 
2 See https://www.cvs.com/content/epipen-alternative 
3 See http://www.epipen.ca/en/about-epipen/frequently-asked-questions 
4 Source: Department of Education 
5 Ibid 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency concurs with the economic impact analysis completed 
by the Department of Planning and Budget. 
Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 387 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly, the 
amendments establish requirements for the possession and 
administration of epinephrine in private schools for 
students with disabilities. 

8VAC20-671-710. Medication and health. 
A. Each student shall have on file evidence of a 

comprehensive physical examination prescribed by the State 
Health Commissioner from a qualified licensed (i) physician, 
(ii) nurse practitioner, or (iii) physician assistant acting under 
the supervision of a licensed physician. The examination 
must contain, at a minimum, information required on the 
Commonwealth of Virginia School Entrance Health Form. 

B. Each student shall have an up-to-date certificate of 
immunization.  

C. Any student or staff with a medical condition that is 
contagious or infectious shall take leave from school while in 
that condition unless attendance is approved by a qualified 
health care provider. Conditions meeting this requirement 
must be provided in the parent/student handbook or other 
print materials. 

D. A first aid kit shall be maintained and readily accessible 
for minor injuries and medical emergencies in each building 
used for instruction or other school activity.  

E. Each private school for students with disabilities shall 
develop a written policy related to its procedures to address 
students with severe allergies who may be at risk of an 
anaphylactic reaction necessitating the use of an epinephrine 
auto-injector. The policy shall address, but is not limited to (i) 
an overview of anaphylaxis and its symptoms; (ii) staff 
training in the possession and administration of epinephrine 
auto-injectors; (iii) standing orders; (iv) responding to 
anaphylaxis; (v) post administration of epinephrine actions; 
and (vi) storage, access, and maintenance. School 
administrators shall ensure that the school's policy is 
consistent with the Recognition and Treatment of 
Anaphylaxis in the School Setting guidelines dated June 28, 
2012 that are published on the Virginia Department of 
Education's website. 

F. Each private school for students with disabilities shall 
ensure that it has at least two auto-injectable epinephrine units 
in both dosage sizes, 0.3 mg for a student who weighs more 
than 66 pounds and 0.15 mg for a student who weighs 33 to 
66 pounds, on school premises, to be administered by any 
employee of a school for students with disabilities licensed by 
the Board of Education who is authorized by a prescriber and 
trained in the administration of epinephrine to any student 
believed to be having an anaphylactic reaction. Stock 
epinephrine is intended for use on school premises and should 
not be carried offsite. Additional epinephrine should be made 
available along with arrangements for administration during 
field trips and other official offsite school activities.   

E. G. Procurement and acceptance of medication. 
1. All medications shall be accepted only in the original 
container with written permission signed and dated by the 
parent to administer to the child.  
2. The use of all prescriptive medication must be 
authorized in writing by a licensed prescriber.  

http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/anaphylaxis/home/ovc-20307210
http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/anaphylaxis/home/ovc-20307210
https://www.cvs.com/content/epipen-alternative
http://www.epipen.ca/en/about-epipen/frequently-asked-questions
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3. For students enrolled in private schools for students with 
disabilities with known life threatening allergies or 
anaphylaxis the school administrator shall obtain on an 
annual basis, through the student's parent or legal guardian, 
"student specific" written instructions from the student's 
health care provider for handling anaphylaxis and all 
necessary medications for implementing the student 
specific order.  
4. The private school for students with disabilities 
administrator shall designate an authorized medical 
provider with prescriptive authority, such as a medical 
doctor, doctor of osteopathy, physician assistant, or nurse 
practitioner, and obtain  a standing order to prescribe "non-
student specific" epinephrine for students within the school 
who do not presently have a health care plan addressing the 
administration of epinephrine, to be administered to any 
student believed to be having an anaphylactic reaction. 
5. School administrators shall coordinate with, among 
other resources as they deem appropriate, placing school 
divisions, local health department directors, local 
practitioners, and the Virginia Chapter of the American 
Academy of Pediatrics to assist them in obtaining the 
required standing orders for treatment of anaphylaxis and 
prescriptions to order auto-injectable epinephrine. 
6. Standing orders and prescriptions shall be renewed 
annually and with any change in prescriber. 

H. The expiration date of epinephrine solutions shall be 
checked periodically but not less than monthly. The auto-
injector unit should be replaced if it is approaching its 
expiration date. The contents should be inspected through the 
clear window of the auto-injector. The solution should be 
clear; if it is discolored or contains solid particles, discard and 
replace the unit. Used, expired, or epinephrine auto-injectors 
with discolored solution or solid particles shall not be used 
and shall be discarded in a sharps container. The school shall 
maintain a sufficient number of extra doses of epinephrine for 
replacement of used or expired school stock on the day it is 
used or discarded. Each school shall maintain documentation 
that its stock of epinephrine has been checked on a monthly 
basis to ensure proper storage, review of expiration dates, 
medication stability, and replacement upon use or disposal 
under the criteria in this subsection. 

F. I. All medication and medical paraphernalia, with the 
exception of epinephrine auto-injectors, shall be properly 
labeled and securely locked or stored in accordance with the 
Virginia School Health Guidelines. Epinephrine auto-
injectors must be stored in a safe, unlocked, and accessible 
location in a dark place at room temperature (between 59°F - 
86°F). Epinephrine cannot be stored in a refrigerator. 
Although epinephrine should not be maintained in a locked 
cabinet or behind locked doors, precautions must be in place 
to ensure that the epinephrine auto-injectors are not readily 
available to student access. The location of the epinephrine 

must be clearly marked at the storage location, and staff must 
be made aware of the storage location in each school.  

G. J. An individual medication administration record shall 
be maintained for each medication a student receives and 
shall include student name, date the medication is to begin, 
drug name, schedule for administration, strength, route, 
identification of the individual who administered the 
medication, and dates the medication was discontinued or 
changed.  

K. Once epinephrine is administered, local Emergency 
Medical Services (911) shall be activated and the student 
transported to the emergency room for follow-up care. In 
some reactions, the symptoms go away, only to return one to 
three hours later. This is called a "biphasic reaction." Often 
these second-phase symptoms occur in the respiratory tract 
and may be more severe than the first-phase symptoms. 
Therefore, follow-up care with a health care provider is 
necessary. The student will not be allowed to remain at school 
or return to school on the day epinephrine is administered. 
The administration of epinephrine shall be treated as a serious 
incident and shall be reported to the parent or legal guardian 
immediately using all means of contact provided by the 
parent (i.e., home, cell, or work telephone number, email, or 
text message), but no later than the end of the school day. The 
school administrator shall ensure that an appropriate serious 
incident form is completed by the end of the day on which the 
administration of epinephrine occurred. The incident report 
shall include the following information: (i) the date and time 
the incident occurred; (ii) the name of the staff who 
administered the epinephrine; (iii) a record of the attempts 
made (including date, time, and mode of communication, and 
name of employee making the attempt) to notify the parent of 
the use of epinephrine; (iv) summary of contact with parent; 
and (v) the name of the person who completed the incident 
report. The school administrator shall provide a copy of the 
incident report via email or facsimile to the department within 
24 hours of completing the report. 

H. L. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures regarding: 

1. Managing medication errors to include the following: 
administering first aid; contacting the poison control 
center; notifying the prescribing physician; taking action as 
directed; documenting the incident; reviewing medication 
errors and staff responses; and reporting errors to the 
parent and placing agency;  
2. Handling adverse drug reactions; 
3. Revising procedures as events may warrant; 
4. Disposing of medication and medical supplies such as 
needles, syringes, lancets, etc.; 
5. Storing of controlled substances;  
6. Distributing medication off campus; and 
7. Documenting medication refusal.  
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I. M. The telephone number of a regional poison control 
center and other emergency numbers shall be posted on or 
near the phone. 

J. N. Medication training.  
1. All staff responsible for medication administration shall 
have successfully completed medication training, including 
refresher training, in a program approved by the Board of 
Nursing or be licensed by the Commonwealth of Virginia 
to administer medication before they can administer 
medication.  
2. The school administrator shall identify an appropriate 
number of staff, but not less than two employees, in 
addition to the school nurse, as appropriate, to be trained in 
the administration of epinephrine by auto-injector. Only 
trained personnel shall administer epinephrine to a student 
believed to be having an anaphylactic reaction. Training 
shall be conducted in accordance with the most current 
edition of the Virginia Department of Education's Manual 
for Training Public School Employees in the 
Administration of Medication or other approved training 
programs, such as, Medication Administration Training for 
Youth or Medication Administration Training. Training 
shall be conducted as often as needed to ensure adequate 
staff are trained, but not less than annually. 
3. Training shall be provided to staff in medication 
procedures and effects and infection control measures, 
including the use of standard precautions.  
3. 4. Staff certified in first aid and CPR shall be available 
at all times on the school grounds and during any school-
sponsored activity. 
4. 5. Documentation of medication training must be 
maintained in personnel files. 
5. 6. Staff authorized to administer medication shall be 
informed of any known side effects of the medication and 
the symptoms of the effects.  

K. O. Monitoring the supply of medications. 
1. Upon receiving any medication, staff members handling 
medication shall count individual tablets and measure the 
level of liquid medicine in the presence of the parent(s) 
parent or another staff member and record the count on the 
medication log. 
2. The medication log shall include the signature or initials 
of the staff member who counted the medication and the 
parent or staff who witnessed the occurrence. When initials 
are used, the medication administration record must 
contain the full name of the staff with corresponding 
initials for identification purposes. 
3. Students shall be prohibited from transporting 
medication unless directed otherwise by the student's 
health care plan. 

P. The requirements outlined in subsections F and K of this 
section related to the possession and administration of 

epinephrine extend to activities off the school premises. 
Therefore, school policies shall include specific protocols for 
responding to anaphylaxis in the school setting, both onsite 
and at offsite school events, such as field trips.  

Q. In accordance with § 8.01-225 A 13 of the Code of 
Virginia, any person who is an employee of a school for 
students with disabilities, as defined in § 22.1-319 of the 
Code of Virginia and licensed by the Board of Education, 
who is authorized by a prescriber and trained in the 
administration of epinephrine and who administers or assists 
in the administration of epinephrine to a student believed in 
good faith to be having an anaphylactic reaction, or is the 
prescriber of the epinephrine, shall not be liable for any civil 
damages for ordinary negligence in acts or omission resulting 
from rendering of such treatment. Whenever any employee is 
covered by the immunity granted in § 8.01-225 A 13 of the 
Code of Virginia, the school shall not be liable for any civil 
damages for ordinary negligence in acts or omission resulting 
from such administration or assistance.  
DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(8VAC20-671) 

Virginia School Health Guidelines - General Guidelines for 
Administering Medication in School (pages 253-256), May 
1999, Virginia Department of Health  

Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2010, 7th Edition, 
December 2010, U.S. Department of Agriculture and U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Washington, 
D.C.: U.S. Government Printing Office, www.dietary 
guidelines.gov 

Virginia School Health Guidelines - Recognition and 
Treatment of Anaphylaxis in the School Setting, dated June 
28, 2012, Virginia Department of Health 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4941; Filed July 31, 2017, 5:11 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts general permits issued by the State Water 
Control Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law 
(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.), Chapter 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) of Title 
62.1, and Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the 
Code of Virginia if the board (i) provides a Notice of 
Intended Regulatory Action in conformance with the 
provisions of § 2.2-4007.01; (ii) following the passage of 30 
days from the publication of the Notice of Intended 
Regulatory Action, forms a technical advisory committee 
composed of relevant stakeholders, including potentially 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cad18002536~2&typ=40&actno=002536&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cad18002536~2&typ=40&actno=002536&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cad18002536~2&typ=40&actno=002536&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc732002536~2&typ=40&actno=002536&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc732002536~2&typ=40&actno=002536&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc732002536~2&typ=40&actno=002536&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc732002536~2&typ=40&actno=002536&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc732002536~2&typ=40&actno=002536&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dadae004941~1&typ=40&actno=004941&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dadae004941~1&typ=40&actno=004941&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dadae004941~1&typ=40&actno=004941&mime=application/pdf


Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 26 Virginia Register of Regulations August 21, 2017 

2876 

affected citizens groups, to assist in the development of the 
general permit; (iii) provides notice and receives oral and 
written comment as provided in § 2.2-4007.03; and (iv) 
conducts at least one public hearing on the proposed general 
permit. 
Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-120. General Virginia 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit 
Regulation for Discharges from Petroleum Contaminated 
Sites, Groundwater Remediation and Hydrostatic Tests 
(amending 9VAC25-120-10, 9VAC25-120-15, 9VAC25-
120-20, 9VAC25-120-50 through 9VAC25-120-80).  
Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, and 
124. 
Public Hearing Information: 

September 28, 2017 - 3 p.m. - Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, 2nd Floor 
Conference Room, Richmond, VA 23219 

Public Comment Deadline: October 20, 2017. 
Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 
proposed regulatory action serves as the report of the findings 
of the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Agency Contact: Matthew Richardson, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4195, FAX (804) 
698-4032, or email matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

This general permit contains effluent limitations, 
monitoring requirements, and special conditions for 
discharges of petroleum-contaminated wastewater, 
chlorinated hydrocarbon contaminated wastewater, and 
wastewater from hydrostatic tests. The proposed changes 
to the regulation make this general permit similar to other 
general permits issued recently and clarify and update 
permit limits and conditions.  
Proposed substantive changes to the existing regulation 
include (i) including "associated distribution equipment" 
as components that can be hydrostatically tested under 
general permit coverage; (ii) requiring the permittee to 
notify a municipal separate storm sewer system (MS4) 
owner of the existence of the discharge at the time of 
registration under the general permit and to include a copy 
of that notification with the registration statement; (iii) 
clarifying that dewatering projects "shall be managed to 
control the volume and velocity of the discharge, including 
peak flow rates and total volume, to minimize erosion at 
outlets and to minimize downstream channel and stream 
bank erosion"; (iv) requiring that hydrostatic discharge 
flows "be managed to control the volume and velocity of 
the discharge, including peak flow rates and total volume, 
to minimize erosion at outlets and to minimize downstream 
channel and stream bank erosion"; and (v) clarifying that 

total residual chlorine data below the quantification level 
of 0.1 mg/L shall be reported as "<QL." 

CHAPTER 120  
GENERAL VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE 

ELIMINATION SYSTEM (VPDES) GENERAL PERMIT 
REGULATION FOR DISCHARGES FROM PETROLEUM 

CONTAMINATED SITES, GROUNDWATER 
REMEDIATION, AND HYDROSTATIC TESTS  

9VAC25-120-10. Definitions. 
The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 

meanings defined in the State Water Control Law and 
9VAC25-31 (VPDES permit regulation) Permit Regulation) 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, except that for 
the purposes of this chapter: 

"Board" means the State Water Control Board. 
"Central wastewater treatment facilities" means any facility 

that treats (for disposal, recycling, or recovery of materials) or 
recycles hazardous or nonhazardous waste, hazardous or 
nonhazardous industrial wastewater, or used material from 
offsite off-site. This includes both a facility that treats waste 
received from off-site exclusively, and a facility that treats 
waste generated on-site as well as waste received from off 
site off-site. 

"Chlorinated hydrocarbon solvents" means solvents 
containing carbon, hydrogen, and chlorine atoms and the 
constituents resulting from the degradation of these 
chlorinated hydrocarbon solvents. 

"Department" or "DEQ" means the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality.  

"Director" means the Director of the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality, or an authorized representative.  

"Petroleum products" means petroleum-based substances 
comprised of a complex blend of hydrocarbons derived from 
crude oil such as motor fuels, jet fuels, distillate fuel oils, 
residual fuel oils, lubricants, petroleum solvents and used 
oils. "Petroleum products" does not include hazardous waste 
as defined by the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management 
Regulations (9VAC20-60). 

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means a 
calculation of the maximum amount of a pollutant that a 
waterbody can receive and still meet water quality standards 
and an allocation of that amount to the pollutant's sources. A 
TMDL includes wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point 
source discharges, and load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint 
sources or natural background or both, and must include a 
margin of safety (MOS) and account for seasonal variations.  
9VAC25-120-15. Applicability of incorporated references 
based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) set forth in Title 40 
of the Code of Federal Regulations is referenced or adopted 
herein in this chapter and incorporated by reference, that 
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regulation shall be as it exists and has been published as a 
final regulation in the Federal Register prior to July 1, 2012, 
with the effective date as published in the Federal Register 
notice or February 26, 2013, whichever is later as of July 1, 
2017.  
9VAC25-120-20. Purpose. 

This general permit regulation governs the discharge of 
wastewaters from sites contaminated by petroleum products, 
chlorinated hydrocarbon solvents, the hydrostatic testing of 
petroleum and natural gas storage tanks and pipelines, the 
hydrostatic testing and dewatering of petroleum storage tank 
systems and associated distribution equipment, and the 
hydrostatic testing of water storage tanks and pipelines. These 
wastewaters may be discharged from the following activities: 
excavation dewatering, conducting aquifer tests to 
characterize site conditions, pumping contaminated 
groundwater to remove free product from the ground, 
discharges resulting from another petroleum product or 
chlorinated hydrocarbon solvent cleanup activity approved by 
the board, hydrostatic tests of natural gas and petroleum 
storage tanks or pipelines, hydrostatic tests and dewatering of 
underground and above ground storage tanks and associated 
distribution equipment, and hydrostatic tests of water storage 
tanks and tank systems or pipelines. Discharges not 
associated with petroleum-contaminated water, water 
contaminated by chlorinated hydrocarbon solvents, or 
hydrostatic tests are not covered under this general permit. 
9VAC25-120-50. Effective date of the permit.  

This general permit will become effective on February 26, 
2013 2018. This general permit will expire on February 25, 
2018 2023. This general permit is effective as to any covered 
owner upon compliance with all the provisions of 9VAC25-
120-60. 
9VAC25-120-60. Authorization to discharge. 

A. Any owner governed by this general permit is hereby 
authorized to discharge to surface waters within the 
Commonwealth of Virginia provided that:  

1. The owner submits a registration statement, if required 
to do so, in accordance with 9VAC25-120-70, and that 
registration statement is accepted by the board;  
2. The owner complies with the applicable effluent 
limitations and other requirements of 9VAC25-120-80; and  
3. The board has not notified the owner that the discharge 
is not eligible for coverage in accordance with subsection 
B of this section.  

B. The board will notify an owner that the discharge is not 
eligible for coverage under this general permit in the event of 
any of the following:  

1. The owner is required to obtain an individual permit in 
accordance with 9VAC25-31-170 B of the VPDES Permit 
Regulation;  

2. The owner is proposing to discharge within five miles 
upstream of a public water supply intake or to state waters 
specifically named in other board regulations which 
prohibit such discharges;  
3. The owner is proposing to discharge to surface waters 
where there are permitted central wastewater treatment 
facilities reasonably available, as determined by the board;  
4. The discharge violates or would violate the 
antidegradation policy in the Water Quality Standards at 
9VAC25-260-30; or  
5. The discharge is not consistent with the assumptions and 
requirements of an approved TMDL.  

C. Compliance with this general permit constitutes 
compliance with the federal Clean Water Act, and the State 
Water Control Law, and applicable regulations under either 
with the exceptions stated in 9VAC25-31-60 of the VPDES 
Permit Regulation. Approval for coverage under this general 
permit does not relieve any owner of the responsibility to 
comply with any other applicable federal, state, or local 
statute, ordinance, or regulation. 

D. Continuation of permit coverage.  
1. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 
petroleum contaminated sites, groundwater remediation, 
and hydrostatic tests general permit issued in 2008 2013 
and that submits a complete registration statement on or 
before February 26, 2013 2018, is authorized to continue to 
discharge under the terms of the 2008 2013 general permit 
until such time as the board either:  

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit; 
or  
b. Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 
coverage under this general permit.  

2. When the owner that was covered under the expiring or 
expired general permit has violated or is violating the 
conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any 
or all of the following:  

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the general 
permit that has been continued;  
b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 
amended general permit. If the general permit coverage 
is denied, the owner would then be required to cease the 
discharges authorized by the continued general permit or 
be subject to enforcement action for discharging without 
a permit;  
c. Issue an individual permit with appropriate conditions; 
or  
d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES Permit 
Regulation (9VAC25-31).  

9VAC25-120-70. Registration statement. 
A. Any owner seeking coverage under this general permit 

who that is required to submit a registration statement shall 
submit a complete VPDES general permit registration 
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statement in accordance with this section, which shall serve 
as a notice of intent for coverage under the general VPDES 
permit for discharges from petroleum contaminated sites, 
ground water groundwater remediation, and hydrostatic tests.  

B. Owners of the following types of proposed or existing 
discharges are not required to submit a registration statement 
to apply for coverage under this general permit:  

1. Short term projects (14 consecutive calendar days or less 
in duration) including:  

a. Emergency repairs;  
b. Dewatering projects;  
c. Utility work and repairs in areas of known 
contamination;  
d. Tank placement or removal in areas of known 
contamination;  
e. Pilot studies or pilot tests, including aquifer tests; and  
f. New well construction discharges of groundwater;  

2. Hydrostatic testing of petroleum and natural gas storage 
tanks and, pipelines, or distribution system components; 
and  
3. Hydrostatic testing of water storage tanks and, pipelines, 
or distribution system components.  

Owners of these types of discharges are authorized to 
discharge under this permit immediately upon the permit's 
effective date of February 26, 2013 2018.  

Owners shall notify the department's regional office in 
writing within 14 days of the completion of the discharge. 
The notification shall include the owner's name and address, 
the type of discharge that occurred, the physical location of 
the discharge work, and the receiving stream. If the discharge 
is to a municipal separate storm sewer system (MS4), the 
owner shall also notify the MS4 owner within 14 days of the 
completion of the discharge.  

Owners of these types of discharges are not required to 
submit a notice of termination of permit coverage at the 
completion of the discharge.  

C. Deadlines for submitting registration statements.  
1. New facilities. Any owner proposing a new discharge 
shall submit a complete registration statement at least 30 
days prior to the date planned for commencing operation of 
the new discharge, unless exempted by subsection B of this 
section.  
2. Existing facilities.  

a. Any owner covered by an individual VPDES permit 
who is proposing to be covered by this general permit 
shall submit a complete registration statement at least 
210 days prior to the expiration date of the individual 
VPDES permit.  
b. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 
petroleum contaminated sites, ground water groundwater 
remediation, and hydrostatic tests general VPDES permit 

that became effective on February 26, 2008 2013, who 
that is not exempted under subsection B of this section 
and who intends to continue coverage under this general 
permit shall submit a complete registration statement to 
the board on or before January 27, 2013 2018.  

D. Late registration statements. Registration statements will 
be accepted after February 26, 2013 2018, but authorization 
to discharge will not be retroactive. Owners described in 
subdivision C 2 b of this section that submit registration 
statements after January 27, 2013 2018, are authorized to 
discharge under the provisions of 9VAC25-120-60 D if a 
complete registration statement is submitted on or before 
February 26, 2013 2018.  

E. The required registration statement shall contain the 
following information:  

1. Legal name of facility Facility name and mailing 
address, owner name and mailing address, telephone 
number, and email address (if available); 
2. Location of facility, address, telephone number, and 
email address (if available) Facility street address (if 
different from mailing address) or location (if the facility 
location does not have a mailing address); 
3. Facility owner name, address, telephone number, and 
email address (if available) Facility operator (local contact) 
name, address, telephone number, and email address (if 
available) if different than owner; 
4. Nature of business conducted at the facility;  
5. Type of petroleum or natural gas products, or 
chlorinated hydrocarbon solvents causing or that caused 
the contamination;  
6. Identification of activities that will result in a point 
source discharge from the contaminated site;  
7. Whether a site characterization report for the site has 
been submitted to the Department of Environmental 
Quality;  
8. Characterization or description of the wastewater or 
nature of contamination including all related analytical 
data; 
9. The location of the discharge point and identification of 
the waterbody into which the discharge will occur. For 
linear projects, the location of all the proposed discharge 
points along the project length and the associated 
waterbody for each discharge point;  
10. The frequency with which the discharge will occur 
(i.e., daily, monthly, continuously);  
11. An estimate of how long each discharge will last;  
12. An estimate of the total volume of wastewater to be 
discharged;  
13. An estimate of the average and maximum flow rate of 
the discharge;  



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 26 Virginia Register of Regulations August 21, 2017 

2879 

14. A diagram of the proposed wastewater treatment 
system identifying the individual treatment units;  
15. A USGS 7.5 minute topographic map or equivalent 
computer generated map that indicates the receiving 
waterbody name or names, the discharge point or points, 
the property boundaries, as well as springs, other surface 
waterbodies, drinking water wells, and public water 
supplies that are identified in the public record or are 
otherwise known to the applicant within a 1/2 mile radius 
of the proposed discharge or discharges; 
16. Whether the facility will discharge to a municipal 
separate storm sewer system (MS4). If so, the name of the 
MS4 owner. The owner of the facility shall notify the MS4 
owner in writing of the existence of the discharge within 
30 days of coverage under the general permit and shall 
copy the DEQ regional office with the notification. A 
determination of whether the facility will discharge to an 
MS4. If the facility discharges to an MS4, the facility 
owner must notify the owner of the MS4 of the existence 
of the discharge information at the time of registration 
under this permit and include that notification with the 
registration statement. The notification notice shall include 
the following information: the name of the facility, a 
contact person and phone telephone number, the location 
of the discharge, the nature of the discharge, and the 
facility's VPDES general permit number; 
17. Whether central wastewater facilities are available to 
the site, and if so, whether the option of discharging to the 
central wastewater facility has been evaluated and the 
results of that evaluation;  
18. Whether the facility currently has a any permit issued 
by the board, and if so, the permit number;  
19. Any applicable pollution complaint number associated 
with the project;  
20. A statement as to whether the material being treated or 
to be discharged is certified as a hazardous waste under the 
Virginia Hazardous Waste Regulation Management 
Regulations (9VAC20-60); and 
21. The following certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or 
supervision in accordance with a system designed to 
assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 
evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 
of the person or persons who manage the system or those 
persons directly responsible for gathering the 
information, the information submitted is to the best of 
my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and complete. I 
am aware that there are significant penalties for 
submitting false information including the possibility of 
fine and imprisonment for knowing violations. I do also 
hereby grant duly authorized agents of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, upon presentation of credentials, 

permission to enter the property for the purpose of 
determining the suitability of the general permit." 

F. The registration statement shall be signed in accordance 
with 9VAC25-31-110.  

G. The registration statement shall be delivered by either 
postal or electronic mail to the DEQ regional office serving 
the area where the facility is located. 
9VAC25-120-80. General permit. 

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the 
board, or who that is automatically authorized to discharge 
under this permit, shall comply with the requirements of the 
general permit and be subject to all requirements of 9VAC25-
31-170 B of the VPDES permit regulation Permit Regulation. 
Not all pages of Part I A of the general permit will apply to 
every permittee. The determination of which pages provisions 
apply will be based on the type of contamination at the 
individual site and the nature of the waters receiving the 
discharge. Part I B and all pages of Part II apply to all 
permittees. 

General Permit No.: VAG83  
Effective Date: February 26, 2013 2018  

Expiration Date: February 25, 2018 2023  
GENERAL VPDES GENERAL PERMIT FOR 

DISCHARGES FROM PETROLEUM CONTAMINATED 
SITES, GROUNDWATER REMEDIATION, AND 

HYDROSTATIC TESTS 
AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 

VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 
SYSTEM PERMIT PROGRAM AND THE VIRGINIA 

STATE WATER CONTROL LAW 
In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, 

as amended, the State Water Control Law and regulations 
adopted pursuant thereto, the owner is authorized to discharge 
to surface waters within the boundaries of the Commonwealth 
of Virginia, except to designated public water supplies or 
waters specifically named in other board regulations which 
prohibit such discharges.  

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the 
information submitted with the registration statement, this 
cover page, Part I - Effluent Limitations and Monitoring 
Requirements, and Part II - Conditions Applicable to All 
VPDES Permits, as set forth herein in this general permit. 

If there is any conflict between the requirements of a board 
approved cleanup plan and this permit, the requirements of 
this permit shall govern.  

Part I 
A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS.  
1. SHORT TERM PROJECTS.  
The following types of short term projects (14 consecutive 
calendar days or less in duration) are authorized under this 
permit:  
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a. Emergency repairs;  
b. Dewatering projects(1). Dewatering projects shall be 
managed to control the volume and velocity of the 
discharge, including peak flow rates and total volume, to 
minimize erosion at outlets and to minimize downstream 
channel and stream bank erosion;  
c. Utility work and repairs in areas of known 
contamination;  
d. Tank placement or removal in areas of known 
contamination;  
e. Pilot studies or pilot tests, including aquifer tests; and  
f. New well construction discharges of groundwater.  

Effluent limits for short term projects correspond to the 
type of contamination at the project site and are given in 
Tables A 2 3 through A 5 below. The sampling frequency 
for these projects shall be once per project term discharge. 
Discharge monitoring reports for these projects are not 
required to be submitted to the department, but shall be 
retained by the owner for a period of at least three years 
from the completion date of the project.  
Owners shall notify the department's regional office in 
writing within 14 days of the completion of the project 
discharge. The notification shall include the owner's name 

and address, the type of discharge that occurred, the 
physical location of the project work, and the receiving 
stream. If the discharge is to a municipal separate storm 
sewer system (MS4), the owner shall also notify the MS4 
owner within 14 days of the completion of the discharge.  
(1)Dewatering projects shall be managed to ensure that they 
are discharging to an adequate channel or pipe and do not 
cause erosion in the receiving stream. 

Part I 
A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS.  
2. DISCHARGES OF HYDROSTATIC TEST  
WATERS -- ALL RECEIVING WATERS.  
During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage 
under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 
expiration date, the permittee is authorized to discharge 
from outfall serial number xxxx. Samples taken in 
compliance with the monitoring requirements specified 
below shall be taken at the following location: outfall from 
the final treatment unit prior to mixing with any other 
waters.  
Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the 
permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 
DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS(2) 

Instantaneous 
Minimum 

Instantaneous 
Maximum Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (GPD)  NA NL 1/discharge Estimate 

pH (standard units)  6.0 9.0 1/discharge Grab 

Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons (TPH, 
mg/l) (1) 

NA 15.0 1/discharge Grab 

Total Organic Carbon (TOC, mg/l) NA NL 1/discharge Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine (TRC, 
mg/l)(3)  

NA 0.011(3)  1/discharge Grab 

Total Suspended Solids (TSS) NA NL 1/discharge Grab 
NL = No limitation, monitoring required 
NA = Not applicable 
The equipment being tested shall be substantially free of 
debris, raw material, product, or other residual materials.  
The discharge flow shall be managed to control the volume 
and velocity of the discharge, including peak flow rates and 
total volume, to minimize erosion at outlets, and to 
minimize downstream channel and stream bank erosion.  
(1)TPH is the sum of individual gasoline range organics and 
diesel range organics or TPH-GRO and TPH-DRO to be 
measured by EPA SW 846 Method 8015C (2000) or EPA 
SW 846 Method 8015C (2007) for gasoline and diesel range 
organics, or by EPA SW 846 Methods 8260B (1996) and 
8270D (2014). 

(2)Discharge monitoring reports for hydrostatic test 
discharges are not required to be submitted to the 
department but shall be retained by the owner for a period 
of at least three years from the completion date of the 
hydrostatic test.  
Owners shall notify the department's regional office in 
writing within 14 days of the completion of the hydrostatic 
test discharge. The notification shall include the owner's 
name and address, the type of hydrostatic test that occurred, 
the physical location of the test work, and the receiving 
stream.  
(3)Total residual chlorine limitation of 0.011 mg/l and 
chlorine monitoring only apply to discharges of test water 
that have been chlorinated or come from a chlorinated water 
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supply. All data below the quantification level (QL) of 0.1 
mg/L shall be reported as "<QL."  

Part I  
A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS.  
2. 3. GASOLINE CONTAMINATION -- ALL 
RECEIVING WATERS. 
During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage 
under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 

expiration date, the permittee is authorized to discharge 
from outfall serial number XXXX xxxx. Samples taken in 
compliance with the monitoring requirements specified 
below shall be taken at the following location: outfall from 
the final treatment unit prior to mixing with any other 
waters. 
Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the 
permittee as specified below:  
 

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 
DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Instantaneous 
Minimum 

Instantaneous 
Maximum Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (GPD)  NA NL (4) Estimate 

Benzene (μg/l)(1) NA 12.0 (4) Grab 

Toluene (μg/l)(1) NA 43.0 (4) Grab 

Ethylbenzene (μg/l)(1) NA 4.3 (4) Grab 

Total Xylenes (μg/l)(1) NA 33.0 (4) Grab 

MTBE (methyl tert-butyl ether) 
(μg/l)(1) 

    

Freshwaters not listed as public 
water supplies and saltwater 

NA 440.0 1/Month(4) Grab 

Freshwaters listed as public water 
supply 

NA 15.0 2/Month(4) Grab 

pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 (4) Grab 

Total Recoverable Lead (μg/l)(2)     
Freshwaters not listed as public 
water supplies and saltwater 

NA e(1.273(ln hardness)) -

3.259  
(4) Grab 

Freshwaters listed as public water 
supply 

NA Lower of e(1.273(ln 

hardness)) -3.259 or 15 
(4) Grab 

Hardness (mg/l CaCO3)(2) NL NA (4) Grab 

Ethylene Dibromide (μg/l)(2)     
Freshwaters not listed as public 
water supplies and saltwater 

NA 1.9 1/Month(4) Grab 

Freshwaters listed as public water 
supply 

NA 0.161 2/Month(4) Grab 

1,2 Dichloroethane (μg/l)(2) NA 3.8 (4) Grab 

Ethanol (μg/l)(3) NA 4100.0 (4) Grab 
NL = No limitation, monitoring required 
NA = Not applicable 
(1)Benzene, Toluene, Ethylbenzene, Total Xylenes and 
MTBE shall be analyzed according to a current and 
appropriate EPA Wastewater Method (40 CFR Part 136) or 
EPA SW 846 Method 8021B (1996) (2014). 

(2)Monitoring for this parameter is required only when 
contamination results from leaded fuel. Lead shall be 
analyzed according to a current and appropriate EPA 
Wastewater Method (40 CFR Part 136). The minimum 
hardness concentration that will be used to determine the 
lead effluent limit is 25 mg/l. 1,2 dichloroethane 
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and  ethylene dibromide (EDB) shall be analyzed by a 
current and appropriate EPA SW 846 Method or EPA 
Wastewater Method from 40 CFR Part 136. EDB in 
wastewaters discharged to public water supplies shall be 
analyzed using EPA SW 846 Method 8011 (1992) or EPA 
Drinking Water Method 504.1 (1995).  
(3)Monitoring for ethanol is only required for discharges of 
water contaminated by gasoline containing greater than 
10% ethanol. Ethanol shall be analyzed according to EPA 
SW 846 Method 8015C (2000) or EPA SW 846 Method 
8015C (2007) or EPA SW 846 Method 8260B (1996). 
(4)The monitoring frequency for discharges into freshwaters 
not listed as public water supplies and saltwater shall be 
once per month. If the first year 12 months of permit 
coverage results demonstrate full compliance with the 
effluent limitations, the permittee may request that the 
monitoring frequency for ethanol be reduced from monthly 
to 1/quarter. The written request shall be sent to the 
appropriate DEQ regional office for review. Upon written 
notification from the regional office, monitoring frequency 
shall may be reduced to 1/quarter. Should the permittee be 
issued a warning letter related to violation of effluent 
limitations or a notice of violation, or be the subject of an 
active enforcement action, monitoring frequency for ethanol 
shall revert to 1/month upon issuance of the letter or notice 
or initiation execution of the enforcement action and remain 
in effect until the permit's expiration date. Reports of 
quarterly monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ regional 
office no later than the 10th day of April, July, October, and 
January in each year of permit coverage.  
The monitoring frequency for discharges into freshwaters 
listed as public water supplies shall be twice per month for 
all constituents or parameters. If the first year's 12 months 
of permit coverage results demonstrate full compliance with 

the effluent limitations, the permittee may request that the 
monitoring frequency for ethanol be reduced to 1/quarter 
and the other parameters to 1/month. The written request 
shall be sent to the appropriate DEQ regional office for 
review. Upon written notification from the regional office, 
the monitoring frequency for ethanol shall may be reduced 
to 1/quarter and the other parameters to1/month. Should the 
permittee be issued a warning letter related to violation of 
effluent limitations or a notice of violation, or be the subject 
of an active enforcement action, monitoring frequency shall 
revert to 2/month upon issuance of the letter or notice or 
initiation execution of the enforcement action and remain in 
effect until the permit's expiration date. Reports of quarterly 
monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no 
later than the 10th day of April, July, October, and January 
in each year of permit coverage.  

Part I  
A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS. 
3. 4. CONTAMINATION BY PETROLEUM 
PRODUCTS OTHER THAN GASOLINE -- ALL 
RECEIVING WATERS.  
During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage 
under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 
expiration date, the permittee is authorized to discharge 
from outfall serial number xxxx. Samples taken in 
compliance with the monitoring requirements specified 
below shall be taken at the following location: outfall from 
the final treatment unit prior to mixing with any other 
waters.  
Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the 
permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 
DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Instantaneous 
Minimum 

Instantaneous 
Maximum Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (GPD)  NA NL (4) Estimate 

Naphthalene (μg/l)(1) NA 8.9 (4) Grab 

Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons 
(mg/l)(2) 

NA 15.0 (4) Grab 

pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 (4) Grab 

Benzene (μg/l)(3) NA 12.0 2/Month(4) Grab 

MTBE (methyl tert-butyl ether) 
(μg/l)(3) 

NA 15.0 2/Month(4) Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 
NA = Not applicable 
(1)Naphthalene shall be analyzed by a current and 
appropriate EPA Wastewater Method from 40 CFR Part 
136 or a current and appropriate EPA SW 846 Method. 

(2)TPH shall be analyzed using EPA SW 846 Method 8015C 
(2000) or EPA SW 846 Method 8015C (2007) for diesel 
range organics, or by EPA SW 846 Method 8270D (2007) 
(2014). 
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(3)Monitoring for benzene and MTBE is only required for 
discharges into freshwaters listed as public water supplies. 
Benzene and MTBE shall be analyzed according to a 
current and appropriate EPA Wastewater Method (40 CFR 
Part 136) or EPA SW 846 Method. 
(4)The monitoring frequency for discharges into freshwaters 
not listed as public water supplies and saltwater shall be 
once per month. 
The monitoring frequency for discharges into freshwaters 
listed as public water supplies shall be twice per month for 
all constituents or parameters. If the first year's 12 months 
of permit coverage results demonstrate full compliance with 
the effluent limitations, the permittee may request that the 
monitoring frequency be reduced to once per month. The 
written request shall be sent to the appropriate DEQ 
regional office for review. Upon written notification from 
the regional office, the monitoring frequency for ethanol 
shall may be reduced to 1/quarter or the other parameters 
to1/month. Should the permittee be issued a warning letter 
related to violation of effluent limitations or a notice of 
violation, or be the subject of an active enforcement action, 

monitoring frequency shall revert to 2/month upon issuance 
of the letter or notice or initiation execution of the 
enforcement action and remain in effect until the permit's 
expiration date. 

Part I  
A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS  
4. DISCHARGES OF HYDROSTATIC TEST WATERS -
- ALL RECEIVING WATERS.  
During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage 
under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 
expiration date, the permittee is authorized to discharge 
from outfall serial number xxxx. Samples taken in 
compliance with the monitoring requirements specified 
below shall be taken at the following location: Outfall from 
the final treatment unit prior to mixing with any other 
waters.  
Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the 
permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 
DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS(2) 

Instantaneous 
Minimum 

Instantaneous 
Maximum Frequency Sample Type 

Flow  (GPD)  NA NL 1/discharge Estimate 

pH (standard units)  6.0 9.0 1/discharge Grab 

Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons (TPH, 
mg/l) (1) 

NA 15.0 1/discharge Grab 

Total Organic Carbon (TOC, mg/l) NA NL 1/discharge Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine (TRC, 
mg/l) (3)  

NA 0.011 (3)  1/discharge Grab 

Total Suspended Solids (TSS) NA NL 1/discharge Grab 
NL = No limitation, monitoring required 
NA = Not applicable 
The equipment being tested shall be substantially free of 
debris, raw material, product, or other residual materials.  
The discharge flow shall be controlled in such a manner that 
prevents flooding, erosion, or excessive sediment influx into 
the receiving water body.  
(1)TPH is the sum of individual gasoline range organics and 
diesel range organics or TPH-GRO and TPH-DRO to be 
measured by  EPA SW 846 Method 8015C (2000) or EPA 
SW 846 Method 8015C (2007) for gasoline and diesel range 
organics, or by EPA SW 846 Methods 8260B (1996) and 
8270D (2007). . 
(2)Discharge monitoring reports for hydrostatic test 
discharges are not required to be submitted to the 
department, but shall be retained by the owner for a period 

of at least three years from the completion date of the 
hydrostatic test.  
Owners shall notify the department's regional office in 
writing within 14 days of the completion of the hydrostatic 
test discharge. The notification shall include the owner's 
name and address, the type of hydrostatic test that occurred, 
the physical location of the test work, and the receiving 
stream.  
(3)Total Residual Chlorine limitation of 0.011 mg/l and 
chlorine monitoring only apply to discharges of test water 
that have been chlorinated or come from a chlorinated water 
supply.  



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 26 Virginia Register of Regulations August 21, 2017 

2884 

Part I  
A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS.  
5. CONTAMINATION BY CHLORINATED 
HYDROCARBON SOLVENTS -- ALL RECEIVING 
WATERS. 
During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage 
under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 

expiration date, the permittee is authorized to discharge 
from outfall serial number xxxx. Samples taken in 
compliance with the monitoring requirements specified 
below shall be taken at the following location: outfall from 
the final treatment unit prior to mixing with any other 
waters. 
Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the 
permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 
DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Instantaneous 
Minimum 

Instantaneous 
Maximum Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (GPD)  NA NL 1/Month Estimate 

2/Month if 
public water 

supply(2) 

Estimate 

Chloroform (CAS # 67663), (μg/l)(1) NA 80.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 
public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

1,1 Dichloroethane (CAS # 75343) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 2.4 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 
public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

1,2 Dichloroethane (CAS # 107062) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 3.8 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 
public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

1,1 Dichloroethylene (CAS # 75354) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 7.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 
public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

cis-1,2 Dichloroethylene (CAS # 
159592) (μg/l)(1) 

NA 70.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 
public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

trans 1,2 Dichloroethylene (CAS # 
156605) (μg/l)(1) 

NA 100.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 
public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

Methylene Chloride (CAS # 75092) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 5.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 
public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 
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Tetrachloroethylene (CAS # 127184) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 5.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 
public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

1,1,1 Trichloroethane (CAS # 71556) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 54.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 
public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

1,1,2 Trichloroethane (CAS # 79005) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 5.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 
public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

Trichloroethylene (CAS # 79016) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 5.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 
public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

Vinyl Chloride (CAS # 75014) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 2.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 
public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

Carbon Tetrachloride (CAS # 56235) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 2.3 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 
public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

1,2 Dichlorobenzene (CAS # 95501) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 15.8 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 
public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

Chlorobenzene (CAS # 108907) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 3.4 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 
public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

Trichlorofluoromethane (CAS # 
75694) (μg/l)(1) 

NA 5.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if public 
water supply(2) 

Grab 

Chloroethane (CAS # 75003) (μg/l)(1) NA 3.6 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 
public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 
public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 
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NL = No limitation, monitoring required 
NA = Not applicable 
(1)This constituent shall be analyzed by a current and 
appropriate gas chromatograph/mass spectroscopy method 
from EPA SW 846 or the EPA Wastewater Method series 
from 40 CFR Part 136. 
(2)Monitoring frequency for discharges into surface waters 
listed as public water supplies shall be 2/month for the first 
year of permit coverage. If the first year 12 months of 
permit coverage results demonstrate full compliance with 
the effluent limitations, the permittee may request that the 
monitoring frequency be reduced from 2/month to 1/month. 
The written request shall be sent to the appropriate DEQ 
regional office for review. Upon written notification from 
the regional office, monitoring frequency shall may be 
reduced to 1/month. Should the permittee be issued a 
warning letter related to violation of effluent limitations or a 
notice of violation, or be the subject of an active 
enforcement action, monitoring frequency shall revert to 
2/month upon issuance of the letter or notice or initiation 
execution of the enforcement action and remain in effect 
until the permit's expiration date. 

Part I  
B. Special conditions.  

1. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible 
foam in other than trace amounts.  
2. The permittee shall sample each permitted outfall each 
calendar month in which a discharge occurs. When no 
discharge occurs from an outfall during a calendar month, 
the discharge monitoring report for that outfall shall be 
submitted indicating "No Discharge."  
3. O & M Manual Operation and maintenance (O&M) 
manual. If the permitted discharge is through a treatment 
works, within 30 days of coverage under this general 
permit, the permittee shall develop and maintain on site on-
site, an Operations and Maintenance (O & M) Manual 
O&M manual for the treatment works permitted herein. 
This manual shall detail practices and procedures which 
that will be followed to ensure compliance with the 
requirements of this permit. The permittee shall operate the 
treatment works in accordance with the O & M Manual 
O&M manual. The manual shall be made available to the 
department upon request.  
4. Operation schedule. The permittee shall construct, install 
and begin operating the treatment works described in the 
registration statement prior to discharging to surface 
waters. The permittee shall notify the department's regional 
office within five days after the completion of installation 
and commencement of operation.  
5. Materials storage. Except as expressly authorized by this 
permit or another permit issued by the board, no product, 
materials, industrial wastes, or other wastes resulting from 
the purchase, sale, mining, extraction, transport, 

preparation, or storage of raw or intermediate materials, 
final product, by-product or wastes, shall be handled, 
disposed of, or stored so as to permit a discharge of such 
product, materials, industrial wastes, or other wastes to 
state waters.  
6. If the permittee discharges to surface waters through a 
municipal separate storm sewer system an MS4, the 
permittee shall, within 30 days of coverage under this 
general permit, notify the owner of the municipal separate 
storm sewer system in writing of the existence of the 
discharge and provide the following information: the name 
of the facility, a contact person and phone telephone 
number, the location of the discharge, the nature of the 
discharge, and the facility's VPDES general permit 
number. A copy of such notification shall be provided to 
the department. Discharge Monitoring Reports (DMRs) 
required to be submitted under this permit shall be 
submitted to both the department and the owner of the 
municipal separate storm sewer system.  
7. Monitoring results shall be reported using the same 
number of significant digits as listed in the permit. 
Regardless of the rounding convention used by the 
permittee (e.g., five always rounding up or to the nearest 
even number), the permittee shall use the convention 
consistently and shall ensure that consulting laboratories 
employed by the permittee use the same convention.  
8. The discharges authorized by this permit shall be 
controlled as necessary to meet applicable water quality 
standards.  
9. Approval for coverage under this general permit does 
not relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with 
any other federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, or 
regulation.  
10. Discharges to waters with an approved "total maximum 
daily load" (TMDL) TMDL. Owners of facilities that are a 
source of the specified pollutant of concern to waters 
where an approved TMDL has been established shall 
implement measures and controls that are consistent with 
the assumptions and requirements of the TMDL.  
11. Termination of coverage. Provided that the board 
agrees that the discharge covered under this general permit 
is no longer needed, the permittee may request termination 
of coverage under the general permit, for the entire facility 
or for specific outfalls, by submitting a request for 
termination of coverage. This request for termination of 
coverage shall be sent to the department's regional office 
with appropriate documentation or references to 
documentation already in the department's possession. 
Upon the permittee's receipt of the regional director's 
approval, coverage under this general permit will be 
terminated. Termination of coverage under this general 
permit does not relieve the permittee of responsibilities 
under other board regulations or directives.  
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Part II  
Conditions Applicable To to All VPDES Permits  

A. Monitoring.  
1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 
permit shall be representative of the monitored activity.  
2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 
approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 
approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 
unless other procedures have been specified in this permit.  
3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 
maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 
instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 
measurements.  
4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be 
analyzed in accordance with 1VAC30-45, Certification for 
Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories, or 1VAC30-
46, Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 
Laboratories.  

B. Records.  
1. Records of monitoring information shall include:  

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 
measurements;  
b. The individuals who performed the sampling or 
measurements;  
c. The dates and times analyses were performed;  
d. The individual or individuals who performed the 
analyses;  
e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and  
f. The results of such analyses.  

2. Except for records of monitoring information required 
by this permit related to the permittee's sewage sludge use 
and disposal activities, which shall be retained for a period 
of at least five years, the permittee shall retain records of 
all monitoring information, including all calibration and 
maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings 
for continuous monitoring instrumentation; copies of all 
reports required by this permit; and records of all data used 
to complete the registration statement for this permit for a 
period of at least three years from the date of the sample, 
measurement, report or request for coverage. This period 
of retention shall be extended automatically during the 
course of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated 
activity or regarding control standards applicable to the 
permittee, or as requested by the board.  

C. Reporting monitoring results.  
1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 
required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 
month after monitoring takes place unless another 
reporting schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. 
Monitoring results shall be submitted to the department's 
regional office.  

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge 
Monitoring Report (DMR) or on forms provided, approved 
or specified by the department.  
3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 
addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 
this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 
Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the 
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 
specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 
be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 
submitted in the DMR or reporting form specified by the 
department.  
4. Calculations for all limitations which that require 
averaging of measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean 
unless otherwise specified in this permit.  

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 
to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 
which the board may request to determine whether cause 
exists for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating 
this permit or to determine compliance with this permit. The 
board may require the permittee to furnish, upon request, such 
plans, specifications, and other pertinent information as may 
be necessary to determine the effect of the wastes from his 
discharge on the quality of state waters or such other 
information as may be necessary to accomplish the purposes 
of the State Water Control Law. The permittee shall also 
furnish to the department upon request copies of records 
required to be kept by this permit.  

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 
noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 
final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 
this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 
each schedule date.  

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 
permit or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 
unlawful for any person to:  

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 
other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or  
2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological 
properties of such state waters and make them detrimental 
to the public health, to animal or aquatic life, to the use of 
such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, for 
recreation, or for other uses.  

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee who 
that discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, 
industrial waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious 
substance into or upon state waters in violation of Part II F or 
who that discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may 
reasonably be expected to enter state waters in violation of 
Part II F shall notify the department of the discharge 
immediately upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case 
later than 24 hours after the discovery. A written report of the 
unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the department 
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within five days of discovery of the discharge. The written 
report shall contain:  

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge;  
2. The cause of the discharge;  
3. The date on which the discharge occurred;  
4. The length of time that the discharge continued;  
5. The volume of the discharge;  
6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 
continue;  
7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 
volume of the discharge will be; and  
8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate, and 
prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 
discharges not authorized by this permit.  

Discharges reportable to the department under the 
immediate reporting requirements of other regulations are 
exempted from this requirement.  

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 
unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or 
upset should occur from a treatment works and the discharge 
enters or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee 
shall promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, the 
department by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. 
This notification shall provide all available details of the 
incident, including any adverse affects effects on aquatic life 
and the known number of fish killed. The permittee shall 
reduce the report to writing and shall submit the report to the 
department within five days of discovery of the discharge in 
accordance with Part II I 2. Unusual and extraordinary 
discharges include but are not limited to any discharge 
resulting from:  

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 
indirectly from processing operations;  
2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment;  
3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the 
treatment works; and  
4. Flooding or other acts of nature.  

I. Reports of noncompliance. The permittee shall report any 
noncompliance which that may adversely affect state waters 
or may endanger public health as follows:  

1. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from 
the time the permittee becomes aware of the 
circumstances. The following shall be included as 
information, which shall be reported within 24 hours under 
this subsection:  

a. Any unanticipated bypass; and  
b. Any upset which causes a discharge to surface waters.  

2. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 
shall contain:  

a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause;  

b. The period of noncompliance including exact dates 
and times and, if the noncompliance has not been 
corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 
and  
c. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 
prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance.  

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 
basis for reports of noncompliance under Part II I if the 
oral report has been received within 24 hours and no 
adverse impact on state waters has been reported.  
3. The permittee shall report all instances of 
noncompliance not reported under Part II I 1 or 2, in 
writing, at the time the next monitoring reports are 
submitted. The reports shall contain the information listed 
in Part II I 2.  
NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 
in Part II G, H and I may be made to the department's 
regional office. Reports may be made by telephone, FAX, 
or online at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponseP
reparedness/PollutionReportingForm.aspx. For reports 
outside normal working hours, leave a message and this 
shall fulfill the immediate reporting requirement. For 
emergencies, the Virginia Department of Emergency 
Services maintains a 24-hour telephone service at 1-800-
468-8892.  

J. Notice of planned changes.  
1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as 
soon as possible of any planned physical alterations or 
additions to the permitted facility. Notice is required only 
when:  

a. The permittee plans an alteration or addition to any 
building, structure, facility, or installation from which 
there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 
construction of which commenced:  
(1) After promulgation of standards of performance 
under § 306 of the Clean Water Act which are applicable 
to such source; or  
(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 
accordance with § 306 of the Clean Water Act which are 
applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 
promulgated in accordance with § 306 of the Act within 
120 days of their proposal;  
b. The alteration or addition could significantly change 
the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants 
discharged. This notification applies to pollutants which 
are subject neither to effluent limitations nor to 
notification requirements specified elsewhere in this 
permit; or  
c. The alteration or addition results in a significant 
change in the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices, 
and such alteration, addition, or change may justify the 
application of permit conditions that are different from or 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponsePreparedness/PollutionReportingForm.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponsePreparedness/PollutionReportingForm.aspx
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absent in the existing permit, including notification of 
additional use or disposal sites not reported during the 
permit application registration process or not reported 
pursuant to an approved land application plan.  

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the 
department of any planned changes in the permitted facility 
or activity which may result in noncompliance with permit 
requirements.  

K. Signatory requirements.  
1. Registration statement. All registration statements shall 
be signed as follows:  

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 
For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 
officer means (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-
president of the corporation in charge of a principal 
business function, or any other person who performs 
similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 
the corporation or (ii) the manager of one or more 
manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, 
provided the manager is authorized to make management 
decisions that govern the operation of the regulated 
facility including having the explicit or implicit duty of 
making major capital investment recommendations, and 
initiating and directing other comprehensive measures to 
assure long-term environmental compliance with 
environmental laws and regulations; the manager can 
ensure that the necessary systems are established or 
actions taken to gather complete and accurate 
information for permit application requirements; and 
where authority to sign documents has been assigned or 
delegated to the manager in accordance with corporate 
procedures;  
b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 
partner or the proprietor, respectively; or  
c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 
agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 
elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 
executive officer of a public agency includes (i) the chief 
executive officer of the agency or (ii) a senior executive 
officer having responsibility for the overall operations of 
a principal geographic unit of the agency.  

2. Reports. All reports required by permits, and other 
information requested by the board shall be signed by a 
person described in Part II K 1, or by a duly authorized 
representative of that person. A person is a duly authorized 
representative only if:  

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 
described in Part II K 1;  
b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 
position having responsibility for the overall operation of 
the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 
plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 
superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or 

an individual or position having overall responsibility for 
environmental matters for the company. A duly 
authorized representative thus may be either a named 
individual or any individual occupying a named position; 
and  
c. The written authorization is submitted to the 
department.  

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part 
II K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual 
or position has responsibility for the overall operation of 
the facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements 
of Part II K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to 
or together with any reports or information to be signed by 
an authorized representative.  
4. Certification. Any person signing a document under 
Parts Part II K 1 or 2 shall make the following 
certification:  

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or 
supervision in accordance with a system designed to 
ensure that qualified personnel properly gather and 
evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 
of the person or persons who manage the system, or 
those persons directly responsible for gathering the 
information, the information submitted is, to the best of 
my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I 
am aware that there are significant penalties for 
submitting false information, including the possibility of 
fine and imprisonment for knowing violations."  

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 
conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 
constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 
Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 
provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the 
State Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 
noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action; for permit 
coverage termination, revocation and reissuance, or 
modification; or denial of a permit coverage renewal 
application.  

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 
prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water 
Act for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge 
use or disposal established under § 405(d) of the Clean Water 
Act within the time provided in the regulations that establish 
these standards or prohibitions or standards for sewage sludge 
use or disposal, even if this permit has not yet been modified 
to incorporate the requirement.  

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 
activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of 
this permit, the permittee shall submit a new registration 
statement at least 30 days before the expiration date of the 
existing permit, unless permission for a later date has been 
granted by the board. The board shall not grant permission for 
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registration statements to be submitted later than the 
expiration date of the existing permit.  

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 
property rights in either real or personal property or any 
exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 
private property or invasion of personal rights, or any 
infringement of federal, state or local law or regulations.  

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 
preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 
the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 
established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 
under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 
Except as provided in permit conditions on "bypassing" (Part 
II U) and "upset" (Part II V), nothing in this permit shall be 
construed to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal 
penalties for noncompliance.  

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 
permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 
legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 
liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 
subject under Article 11 (§ 62.1-44.34:14 et seq.) of the State 
Water Control Law. 

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 
all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 
systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 
which are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 
compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper 
operation and maintenance also includes effective plant 
performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 
adequate laboratory and process controls, including 
appropriate quality assurance procedures. This provision 
requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or 
similar systems which are installed by the permittee only 
when the operation is necessary to achieve compliance with 
the conditions of this permit.  

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges, or other 
pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 
of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 
any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters.  

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 
steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 
disposal in violation of this permit which has a reasonable 
likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 
environment.  

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 
be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 
would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 
activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 
of this permit.  

U. Bypass.  
1. "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste 
streams from any portion of a treatment facility. The 
permittee may allow any bypass to occur which does not 

cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only if it also 
is for essential maintenance to assure efficient operation. 
These bypasses are not subject to the provisions of Part II 
U 2 and 3.  
2. Notice.  

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 
of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, 
if possible, at least 10 days before the date of the bypass.  
b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit 
notice of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part II I.  

3. Prohibition of bypass.  
a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 
enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, 
unless:  
(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 
personal injury, or severe property damage;  
(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 
such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 
of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 
periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 
satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 
been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 
judgment to prevent a bypass which occurred during 
normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 
maintenance; and  
(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under 
Part II U 2.  
b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass, after 
considering its adverse effects, if the board determines 
that it will meet the three conditions listed above in Part 
II U 3 a.  

V. Upset.  
1. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 
brought for noncompliance with technology-based permit 
effluent limitations if the requirements of Part II V 2 are 
met. A determination made during administrative review of 
claims that noncompliance was caused by upset and before 
an action for noncompliance is not a final administrative 
action subject to judicial review.  
2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 
defense of upset shall demonstrate through properly 
signed, contemporaneous operating logs or other relevant 
evidence that:  

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 
the cause or causes of the upset;  
b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 
operated;  
c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 
in Part II I; and  
d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 
required under Part II S.  
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3. In any enforcement proceeding, the permittee seeking to 
establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of 
proof.  

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 
director or an authorized representative, upon presentation of 
credentials and other documents as may be required by law, 
to:  

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 
facility or activity is located or conducted or where records 
must be kept under the conditions of this permit;  
2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 
records that must be kept under the conditions of this 
permit;  
3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 
(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 
operations regulated or required under this permit; and  
4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 
of ensuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized 
by the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law 
any substances or parameters at any location.  

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 
deemed reasonable during regular business hours, and or 
whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained 
herein shall make an inspection unreasonable during an 
emergency.  

X. Permit actions. Permits Permit coverage may be 
modified, revoked and reissued, or terminated for cause. The 
filing of a request by the permittee for a permit modification, 
revocation and reissuance, or coverage termination, or a 
notification of planned changes or anticipated noncompliance 
does not stay any permit condition.  

Y. Transfer of permits permit coverage.  
1. Permits are Permit coverage is not transferable to any 
person except after notice to the department. Except as 
provided in Part II Y 2, a permit may be transferred by the 
permittee to a new owner or operator only if the permit has 
been modified or revoked and reissued, or a minor 
modification made, to identify the new permittee and 
incorporate such other requirements as may be necessary 
under the State Water Control Law and the Clean Water 
Act.  
2. As an alternative to transfers under Part II Y 1, 
Coverage under this permit may be automatically 
transferred to a new permittee if:  

a. The current permittee notifies the department within 
30 days of the transfer of the title to the facility or 
property;  
b. The notice includes a written agreement between the 
existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 
transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 
between them; and  

c. The board does not notify the existing permittee and 
the proposed new permittee of its intent to modify or 
revoke and reissue the permit deny permit coverage. If 
this notice is not received, the transfer is effective on the 
date specified in the agreement mentioned in Part II Y 2 
b.  

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 
and if any provision of this permit or the application of any 
provision of this permit to any circumstance, is held invalid, 
the application of such provision to other circumstances, and 
the remainder of this permit, shall not be affected thereby.  
DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(9VAC25-120) 

Test Methods for Evaluating Solid Waste, 
Physical/Chemical Methods, EPA Publication SW-846, U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency, Third Edition as amended 
by Final Updates I, II, IIA, IIB, IIIA, IIIB, IVA, and IVB, 
National Technical Information Service (NTIS), 5285 Port 
Royal Road, Springfield, VA 22161, (703) 605-6000 or (800) 
553-6847, http://www.epa.gov/SW-846. 
https://www.epa.gov/hw-sw846  

Method 504.1, rev. 1.1 (August 1995)  
Method 7010 (February 2007) 
Method 8011 (July 1992) 
Method 8015C (November 2000) 
Method 8015C (February 2007) 
Method 8021B (December 1996) Method 8021B (July 
2014) 
Method 8260B (December 1996) 
Method 8270D (February 2007) Method 8270D (July 
2014)  
Method 9040C (November 2004) 

Methods for the Determination of Organic Compounds in 
Drinking Water, Supplement III, EPA Publication 600/R-
95/131 (August 1995), U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency, Office of Research and Development, Washington, 
D.C. 20460 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4715; Filed August 1, 2017, 9:00 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of 
Virginia, which exempts general permits issued by the State 
Water Control Board pursuant to State Water Control Law 
(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.) and Chapters 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) and 
25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1, if the board (i) provides 
a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in conformance with 
the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01, (ii) following the passage of 
30 days from the publication of the Notice of Intended 
Regulatory Action forms a technical advisory committee 
composed of relevant stakeholders, including potentially 

https://www.epa.gov/hw-sw846
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8ae99002774~9&typ=40&actno=002774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c9d09002774~1&typ=40&actno=002774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=61e4c002774~2&typ=40&actno=002774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ed578002774~8&typ=40&actno=002774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38803002774~3&typ=40&actno=002774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=43e44004715~2&typ=40&actno=004715&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=43e44004715~2&typ=40&actno=004715&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ab926002774~5&typ=40&actno=002774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cfec6004715~4&typ=40&actno=004715&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cfec6004715~4&typ=40&actno=004715&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2586b002774~7&typ=40&actno=002774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e787002774~10&typ=40&actno=002774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e787002774~10&typ=40&actno=002774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e787002774~10&typ=40&actno=002774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e787002774~10&typ=40&actno=002774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e787002774~10&typ=40&actno=002774&mime=application/pdf
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affected citizens groups, to assist in the development of the 
general permit, (iii) provides notice and receives oral and 
written comment as provided in § 2.2-4007.03, and (iv) 
conducts at least one public hearing on the proposed general 
permit.  
Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-194. General Permit for 
Vehicle Wash Facilities and Laundry Facilities (amending 
9VAC25-194-10, 9VAC25-194-15, 9VAC25-194-40 
through 9VAC25-194-70).  
Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15; of the Code of Virginia 
§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, and 
124. 
Effective Date: October 16, 2017.  
Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This final 
regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 
regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Agency Contact: Elleanore Daub, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4111, FAX (804) 
698-4032, or email elleanore.daub@deq.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The regulatory action amends and reissues the existing 
Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 
general permit that expires October 15, 2017. The general 
permit contains limitations and monitoring requirements 
for point source discharge of wastewaters from vehicle 
wash facilities and laundry facilities. The general permit 
regulation is being reissued to continue making it 
available for these facilities to continue to discharge.  
Substantive changes (i) allow washing of maintenance and 
construction equipment and towed small recreational 
boats (less than 8.6 feet beam and 25 feet in length); (ii) 
require permittees to notify the municipal separate storm 
sewer system (MS4) owners before obtaining coverage 
under the general permit if their discharges are into an 
MS4; (iii) require stormwater inlet protection measures to 
be described as part of the registration and included in 
weekly visual examinations and the operation and 
maintenance manual, where applicable; (iv) clarify that 
inspections of the effluent include sheen, floating solids, 
visible foam, examination date and time, and examination 
personnel; (v) require the effluent to be free of sheens; and 
(vi) require discharges of vehicle wash water directly to a 
stormwater drain to provide inlet protection measures in 
addition to meeting all other requirements of the permit.  

CHAPTER 194  
VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 
SYSTEM (VPDES) GENERAL PERMIT REGULATION 
FOR VEHICLE WASH FACILITIES AND LAUNDRY 

FACILITIES 
9VAC25-194-10. Definitions.  

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 
meanings defined in the State Water Control Law and 
9VAC25-31-10 et seq. [ 9VAC25-31 ] (VPDES Permit 
Regulation) unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, 
except that for the purposes of this chapter:  

"Construction equipment" means trenchers, backhoes, 
boring equipment, bulldozers [ , loaders, dump trucks ], and 
any other piece of [ earthmoving equipment; equipment used 
in the paving industry; and dump trucks earth moving 
equipment ]. 

"Department" or "DEQ" means the Department of 
Environmental Quality. 

"Laundry" means any self-service facility where the washing 
of clothes is conducted as designated by SIC 7215. It does not 
include facilities that engage in dry cleaning.   

[ "Maintenance equipment" means street sweepers and catch 
basin cleaner trucks. ]  

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means a 
calculation of the maximum amount of a pollutant that a 
waterbody can receive and still meet water quality standards 
and an allocation of that amount to the pollutant's sources. A 
TMDL includes wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point 
source discharges, and load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint 
sources or natural background or both, and must include a 
margin of safety (MOS) and account for seasonal variations.  

"Vehicle maintenance" means vehicle and equipment 
rehabilitation, mechanical repairs, painting, fueling, and 
lubrication. 

"Vehicle wash" means any fixed or mobile facility where the 
manual, automatic, or self-service exterior washing of 
vehicles is conducted [ . It includes, but is not limited to, 
automobiles, trucks (except below), motor homes, buses, 
motorcycles, ambulances, fire trucks, tractor trailers, and 
other devices that convey passengers or goods on streets or 
highways. This definition also includes golf course 
equipment, and lawn maintenance equipment, and 
recreational boats less than 8.6 feet beam and 25 feet in 
length towed by a vehicle. It also includes any incidental floor 
cleaning wash waters associated with facilities that wash 
vehicles where the floor wash water also passes through the 
vehicle wash water treatment system. Vehicle wash does not 
mean engine, acid caustic metal brightener, or steam heated 
water washing. It does not include cleaning the interior of 
bulk carriers. It does not include tanker trucks, garbage 
trucks, logging trucks, livestock trucks, construction 
equipment, trains, boats and ships that are more than 8.6 feet 
beam and 25 feet in length, or aircraft. It does not include 
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floor cleaning wash waters from vehicle maintenance areas. 
and includes the following: 

1. Vehicles that convey passengers or goods on streets or 
highways as designated by Standard Industrial 
Classification  (SIC) Code 7542 such as automobiles, 
trucks, motor homes, buses, motorcycles, ambulances, fire 
trucks, and tractor trailers; 
2. Incidental floor cleaning wash waters associated with 
facilities that wash vehicles where the floor wash water 
also passes through the vehicle wash treatment system;  
3. Golf course equipment and lawn maintenance 
equipment;  
4. Maintenance and construction equipment; and 
5. Recreational boats less than 8.6' beam and 25' in length 
towed by a vehicle. 
"Vehicle wash" does not mean engine cleaning or 
degreasing; the cleaning of floors in vehicle maintenance 
areas, cleaning of the interior of tanks or trailers carrying 
bulk or raw material, cleaning of equipment used in the 
paving industry, cleaning of chemical spreading 
equipment, or cleaning of tanker trucks, garbage trucks, 
livestock trailers, trains, boats larger than 8.6' beam and 25' 
in length, or aircraft; or the use of acid caustic metal 
brighteners or steam heated water. ]  

9VAC25-194-15. Applicability of incorporated references 
based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) set forth in Title 40 
of the Code of Federal Regulations is referenced or adopted 
herein in this chapter and incorporated by reference, that 
regulation shall be as it exists and has been published as a 
final regulation in the Federal Register prior to as of July 1, 
2012, with the effective date as published in the Federal 
Register notice or October 16, 2012, whichever is later [ 2016 
2017 ]. 
9VAC25-194-40. Effective date of the permit.  

This general permit will become effective on October 16, 
2012 2017. This general permit will expire on October 15, 
2017 2022. This general permit is effective for any covered 
owner upon compliance with all the provisions of 9VAC25-
194-50.  
9VAC25-194-50. Authorization to discharge.  

A. Any owner governed by this general permit is hereby 
authorized to discharge wastewater as described in 9VAC25-
194-20 to surface waters of the Commonwealth of Virginia 
provided that the owner submits and receives acceptance by 
the board of the registration statement of 9VAC25-194-60, 
submits the required permit fee, complies with the effluent 
limitations and other requirements of 9VAC25-194-70, and 
provided that the board has not notified the owner that the 
discharge is not eligible for coverage in accordance with 
subsection B of this section.: 

1. The owner files a registration statement in accordance 
with 9VAC25-194-60, and that registration statement is 
accepted by the board; 
2. The owner submits the required permit fee; 
3. The owner complies with the applicable effluent 
limitations and other requirements of 9VAC25-194-70; and 
4. The owner has not been notified by the board that the 
discharge is not eligible for coverage under this permit in 
accordance with subsection B of this section. 

B. The board will notify an owner that the discharge is not 
eligible for coverage under this general permit in the event of 
any of the following: 

1. The owner is required to obtain an individual permit in 
accordance with 9VAC25-31-170 B 3 of the VPDES 
Permit Regulation;  
2. Other board regulations prohibit such discharges The 
owner is proposing to discharge to state waters specifically 
named in other board regulations that prohibit such 
discharges; 
3. The discharge violates or would violate the 
antidegradation policy in the Water Quality Standards at 
9VAC25-260-30; 
4.  The discharge is not consistent with the assumptions 
and requirements of an approved TMDL; or  
5. The discharge is to surface waters where there are 
central wastewater treatment facilities reasonably 
available, as determined by the board. 

C. Mobile vehicle wash owners shall operate such that there 
is no discharge to surface waters and storm sewers unless 
they have coverage under this permit.  

D. Compliance with this general permit constitutes 
compliance, for purposes of enforcement, with §§ 301, 302, 
306, 307, 318, 403, and 405(a) through (b) of the federal 
Clean Water Act, and the State Water Control Law, and 
applicable regulations under either with the exceptions stated 
in 9VAC25-31-60 of the VPDES Permit Regulation. 
Approval for coverage under this general permit does not 
relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with any 
other applicable federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, or 
regulation.  

E. Continuation of permit coverage. 
1. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 
car wash facilities general permit issued in 2007 2012, and 
that submits a complete registration statement on or before 
October 16, 2012 2017, is authorized to continue to 
discharge under the terms of the 2007 2012 general permit 
until such time as the board either: 

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit; 
or 
b. Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 
coverage under this permit is denied. 
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2. When the owner that was covered under the expiring or 
expired general permit has violated or is violating the 
conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any 
or all of the following: 

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the 2012 
general permit that has been continued; 
b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 
amended reissued general permit. If the general permit 
coverage is denied, the owner would then be required to 
cease the discharges authorized by coverage under the 
2012 continued general permit or be subject to 
enforcement action for  discharging without a permit; 
c. Issue an individual permit with appropriate conditions; 
or 
d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES Permit 
Regulation (9VAC25-31).  

9VAC25-194-60. Registration statement. 
A. Deadlines for submitting registration statements. The 

Any owner seeking coverage under this general permit shall 
submit a complete VPDES general permit registration 
statement in accordance with this section, which shall serve 
as a notice of intent for coverage under the general VPDES 
permit for vehicle wash facilities and laundry facilities. 

1. New facilities. Any owner proposing a new discharge 
shall submit a complete registration statement at least 30 
days prior to the date planned for commencing operation of 
the new commencement of the discharge. 
2. Existing facilities. 

a. Any owner covered by an individual VPDES permit 
who that is proposing to be covered by this general 
permit shall submit a complete registration statement at 
least 210 240 days prior to the expiration date of the 
individual VPDES permit. 
b. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 
general VPDES permit for coin-operated laundries 
(9VAC25-810) that became effective on February 9, 
2011, and who intends to continue coverage under this 
general permit, shall submit a complete registration 
statement to the board prior to September 16, 2012. 
c. b. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under 
the general VPDES permit for car wash vehicle wash 
facilities (9VAC25-194) that became effective on 
October 16, 2007 2012, and who that intends to continue 
coverage under this general permit, shall submit a 
complete registration statement to the board prior to 
September 16, 2012 15, 2017. 
d. c. Any owner of a vehicle wash facility covered under 
this permit who that had a monthly average flow rate of 
less than 5,000 gallons per day, and the flow rate 
increases above a monthly average flow rate of 5,000 
gallons per day, shall submit an amended registration 
statement within 30 days of the increased flow.  

B. Late registration statements. Registration statements for 
existing facilities covered under subdivision A 2 b of this 
section will be accepted, after October 15, 2017, but 
authorization to discharge will not be retroactive. Owners 
described in subdivisions subdivision A 2 b and c of this 
section that submit late registration statements after 
September 15, 2017, are authorized to discharge under the 
provisions of 9VAC25-194-50 E if a complete registration 
statement is submitted on or before October 16, 2012 2017.  

C. The required registration statement shall contain the 
following information: 

1. Facility name and mailing address, owner name and 
mailing address, telephone number, and email address (if 
available);  
2. Facility street address (if different from mailing 
address);  
3. Facility operator (local contact) name, address, 
telephone number, and email address (if available) if 
different than owner;  
4. Does the facility discharge to surface waters? If "yes," 
name of receiving stream; if "no," describe the discharge;  
5. Does the facility discharge to a Municipal Separate 
Storm Sewer System (MS4)? If "yes," the facility owner 
must notify the owner of the municipal separate storm 
sewer system of the existence of the discharge within 30 
days of coverage under the general permit and provide the 
following information at the time of registration under this 
permit and include that notification with the registration 
statement. The notice shall include the following 
information: the name of the facility, a contact person and 
phone number, the location of the discharge, the nature of 
the discharge, and the facility's VPDES general permit 
number; 
6. Does the facility have a current VPDES Permit? If 
"yes," provide permit number;  
7. Does your locality require connection to central 
wastewater treatment facilities? 
8. Are central wastewater treatment facilities available to 
serve the site? If "yes," the option of discharging to the 
central wastewater facility must be evaluated and the result 
of that evaluation reported here; 
9. A USGS 7.5 minute topographic map or equivalent 
computer generated map showing the facility discharge 
location(s) and receiving stream;  
10. Provide a brief description of the type of washing 
activity. Include (as applicable) the type of vehicles 
washed, number of vehicle washing bays, and the number 
of laundry machines; 
11. Highest average monthly flow rate for each washing 
activity or combined washing activity, reported as gallons 
per day;  
12. Facility line (water balance) drawing;  
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13. Description of wastewater treatment [ or stormwater 
inlet protection measures ];  
14. Information on use of chemicals at the facility. Include 
detergents, soaps, waxes, and other chemicals;  
15. Will detergent used for washing vehicles contain more 
than 0.5% phosphorus by weight? and 
16. The following certification:  

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or 
supervision in accordance with a system designed to 
assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 
evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the system or those 
persons directly responsible for gathering the 
information, the information submitted is to the best of 
my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and complete. I 
am aware that there are significant penalties for 
submitting false information including the possibility of 
fine and imprisonment for knowing violations." 

The registration statement shall be signed in accordance 
with 9VAC25-31-110 of the VPDES Permit Regulation.  

[ D. The registration statement shall be delivered by either 
postal or electronic mail to the DEQ regional office serving 
the area where the facility is located. ]  

9VAC25-194-70. General permit.  
Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the board will receive the following permit and shall comply with the 

requirements therein of the general permit and be subject to all requirements of 9VAC25-31 9VAC25-31-170 of the VPDES 
Permit Regulation.  

General Permit No.: VAG75  
Effective Date: October 16, 2012 2017 

Expiration Date: October 15, 2017 2022 
GENERAL PERMIT FOR VEHICLE WASH FACILITIES AND LAUNDRY FACILITIES  

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION SYSTEM 
AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER CONTROL LAW  

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, as amended, and pursuant to the State Water Control Law and 
regulations adopted pursuant thereto, owners of vehicle wash facilities and laundry facilities are authorized to discharge to 
surface waters within the boundaries of the Commonwealth of Virginia, except those specifically named in board regulations 
which prohibit such discharges.  

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the information submitted with the registration statement, this cover 
page, Part I - Effluent Limitations [ and, ] Monitoring Requirements [ , and Special Conditions ], [ and ] Part II - Conditions 
Applicable to All VPDES Permits, as set forth herein in this general permit.  

Part I  
A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS [ . ]  

1. During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 
expiration date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater originating from vehicle wash facilities that discharge a 
monthly average flow rate less than or equal to 5,000 gallons per day from outfall(s) outfalls:  
Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 
DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Minimum Maximum Frequency(3) Sample Type 

Flow (GPD) NA NL 1/Year Estimate 

pH (S.U.) 6.0(1) 9.0(1) 1/Year Grab 

TSS (mg/l) NA 60(2)  1/Year [ 5G/8HC 
Composite(4) ]  

Oil and Grease (mg/l) NA 15 1/Year Grab 
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NL - No Limitation, monitoring requirement only  
NA - Not applicable  
[ 5G/8HC - Eight Hour Composite—Consisting of five grab samples collected at hourly intervals until the discharge ceases, 
or until a minimum of five grab samples have been collected. ]  
(1)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in waters receiving the discharge, 
those standards shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations.  
(2)Limit given is expressed in two significant figures. 
(3)Discharge Monitoring Reports (DMRs) of yearly monitoring (January 1 to December 31) shall be submitted to the DEQ 
regional office no later than the 10th day of January of each year. [ The first DMR is due January 10, 2014. ]  
[ (4)5 Five grab samples evenly spaced over an eight-hour period or five grab samples evenly spaced for the duration of the 
discharge if less than eight hours in length. ]  

Part I 
A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS [ . ]  

2. During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 
expiration date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater originating from vehicle wash facilities that discharge a 
monthly average flow rate greater than 5,000 gallons per day from outfall(s) outfalls:  
Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 
DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Minimum Maximum Frequency(3) Sample Type 

Flow (GPD) NA NL 1/6 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) 6.0(1) 9.0(1) 1/6 Months Grab 

TSS (mg/l) NA 60(2) 1/6 Months [ 5G/8HC 
Composite(4) ]  

Oil and Grease (mg/l) NA 15 1/6 Months Grab 

NL - No Limitation, monitoring requirement only  
NA - Not applicable  
[ 5G/8HC - Eight Hour Composite - Consisting of five grab samples collected at hourly intervals until the discharge ceases, or 
until a minimum of five grab samples have been collected. ]  
(1)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in waters receiving the discharge, 
those standards shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations.  
(2)Limit given is expressed in two significant figures. 
(3)Samples shall be collected by December 31 and June 30 of each year and reported on the facility's Discharge Monitoring 
Report (DMR). DMRs shall be submitted by January 10 and July 10 of each year.  
 [ (4)Five grab samples evenly spaced over an eight-hour period or five grab samples evenly spaced for the duration of the 
discharge if less than eight hours in length. ]  

Part I  
A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS [ . ]  

3. During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 
expiration date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater originating from a laundry facility from outfall(s) 
outfalls:  
Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 
CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Minimum Maximum Frequency(3) Sample Type 

Flow (GPD) NA NL 1/Quarter Estimate 
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pH (S.U.) 6.0(1) 9.0(1)  1/Quarter Grab 

TSS (mg/l) NA 60(2) 1/Quarter Grab 

BOD5 (mg/l) NA 60(1), (2) 1/Quarter Grab 

Dissolved Oxygen (mg/l) 6.0(1) NA 1/Quarter Grab 

Temperature °C NA 32 (1), (4) 1/6 Months Immersion 
Stabilization 

Total Residual Chlorine (mg/l) NA .011(1) 1/Quarter Grab 

E. Coli(5) NA 235 CFU/100 ml  1/6 Months  Grab  

Enterococci(6) NA 104 CFU/100 ml 1/6 Months Grab 

Fecal Coliform(7) NA 200 CFU/100 ml 1/6 Months Grab 

NL - No Limitation, monitoring requirement only  
NA - Not applicable 
CFU – Colony Forming Units forming units 
(1)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH, BOD5, DO, TRC and temperature 
in waters receiving the discharge, those standards shall be, as appropriate, the maximum and minimum effluent limitations.  
(2)Limit given is expressed in two significant figures. 
(3)Reports of quarterly monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no later than the 10th day of April, July, 
October, and January. Reports of once per six months shall be submitted no later than the 10th day of January and the 10th 
day of July for samples collected by December 31 and June 30 of each year.  
(4)The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, 31°C 
for mountain and upper piedmont waters, 21°C for put and take trout waters, or 20°C for natural trout waters. For estuarine 
waters, nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, mountain and upper piedmont waters, and put and take trout waters, the effluent 
shall not cause an increase in temperature of the receiving stream of more than 3°C above the natural water temperature. For 
natural trout waters, the temperature of the effluent shall not cause an increase of 1°C above natural water temperature. The 
effluent shall not cause the temperature in the receiving stream to change more than 2°C per hour, except in the case of 
natural trout waters where the hourly temperature change shall not exceed 0.5°C. 
(5)Applies only when the discharge is into freshwater (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters and boundary 
designations).  
(6)Applies only when the discharge is into saltwater or the transition zone (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters 
and boundary designations).  
(7)Applies only when the discharge is into shellfish waters (see 9VAC25-260-160 for the description of what are shellfish 
waters).  

Part I 
A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS.  

4. During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 
expiration date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater originating from a combined vehicle wash and laundry 
facility from outfall(s) outfalls:  
Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 
CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE 
LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Minimum Maximum Frequency(3) Sample Type 

Flow (GPD) NA NL 1/Quarter Estimate 

pH (S.U.) 6.0(1) 9.0(1) 1/Quarter Grab 
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TSS (mg/l) NA 60(2) 1/Quarter 5G/8HC 

BOD5 (mg/l) NA 60(1), (2) 1/Quarter Grab 

Oil & and Grease NA 15 1/6 Months Grab 

Dissolved Oxygen (mg/l) 6.0(1) NA 1/Quarter Grab 

Temperature °C NA 32 (1), (4) 1/6 Months Immersion Stabilization 

Total Residual Chlorine 
(mg/l) NA .011(1) 1/Quarter Grab 

E. Coli(5) NA 235 
CFU/100 ml  1/6 Months  Grab  

Enterococci(6) NA 104 
CFU/100 ml 1/6 Months Grab 

Fecal Coliform(7)  NA 200 
CFU/100 ml 1/6 Months Grab 

NL - No Limitation, monitoring requirement only  
NA - Not applicable  
CFU – Colony Forming Unit forming units 
(1)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH, BOD5, DO, TRC and 
temperature in waters receiving the discharge, those standards shall be, as appropriate, the maximum and minimum 
effluent limitations.  
(2)Limit given is expressed in two significant figures. 
(3)Reports of quarterly monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no later than the 10th day of April, 
July, October, and January. Reports of once per six months shall be submitted no later than the 10th day of January and 
the 10th day of July for samples collected by December 31 and June 30 of each year.  
(4)The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, 
31°C for mountain and upper piedmont waters, 21°C for put and take trout waters, or 20°C for natural trout waters. For 
estuarine waters, nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, mountain and upper piedmont waters, and put and take trout 
waters, the effluent shall not cause an increase in temperature of the receiving stream of more than 3°C above the 
natural water temperature. For natural trout waters, the temperature of the effluent shall not cause an increase of 1°C 
above natural water temperature. The effluent shall not cause the temperature in the receiving stream to change more 
than 2°C per hour, except in the case of natural trout waters where the hourly temperature change shall not exceed 
0.5°C. 
(5)Applies only when the discharge is into freshwater (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters and boundary 
designations).  
(6)Applies only when the discharge is into saltwater or the transition zone (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of 
waters and boundary designations).  
(7)Applies only when the discharge is into shellfish waters (see 9VAC25-260-160 for the description of what are 
shellfish waters). 

B. Special conditions.  
1. The permittee of a vehicle wash facility shall perform 
inspections visual examinations of the effluent including 
sheens, floating solids, or visible foam and maintenance of 
the wastewater treatment facilities [ and inlet protection 
measures, if applicable, ] at least once per week and 
document activities on this visual examination [ and 
maintenance activities ] in the operational log. This 
operational log shall include the examination date and 
time, examination personnel, and the visual quality of the 

discharge and shall be made available for review by the 
department personnel upon request.  
2. The effluent shall be free of sheens. There shall be no 
discharge of floating solids or visible foam in other than 
trace amounts. 
3. No sewage shall be discharged from a point source to 
surface waters from this facility except under the 
provisions of another VPDES permit specifically issued for 
that purpose.  
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4. There shall be no chemicals added to the water or waste 
which may be discharged other than those listed on the 
owner's accepted registration statement, unless prior 
approval of the chemical(s) chemical is granted by the 
board.  
5. Wastewater should be reused or recycled whenever 
feasible.  
6. The permittee of a vehicle wash facility shall comply 
with the following solids management plan:  

a. All settling basins shall be cleaned frequently in order 
to achieve effective treatment.  
b. All solids shall be handled, stored, and disposed of so 
as to prevent a discharge to state waters of such solids.  

7. Washing of vehicles or containers bearing residue of 
animal manure or toxic chemicals (fertilizers, organic 
chemicals, etc.) into the wastewater treatment system is 
prohibited. If the facility is a self-service operation, the 
permittee shall post this prohibition on a sign prominently 
located and of sufficient size to be easily read by all 
patrons.  
8. If the facility has a vehicle wash discharge with a 
monthly average flow rate of less than 5,000 gallons per 
day, and the flow rate increases above a monthly average 
flow rate of 5,000 gallons per day, an amended registration 
statement shall be filed within 30 days of the increased 
flow. 
9. Any A permittee submitting a registration statement in 
accordance with Part II M and discharging into a municipal 
separate storm sewer shall notify the owner of the 
municipal separate storm sewer system of the existence of 
the discharge within 30 days of coverage under the general 
permit and provide at the time of registration under this 
permit and include that notification with the registration 
statement. The notice shall include the following 
information: the name of the facility, a contact person and 
[ phone number contact information ], the location of the 
discharge, the nature of the discharge, and the facility's 
VPDES general permit number.  
10. Approval for coverage under this general permit does 
not relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with 
any other federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, or 
regulation. 
[ 11. The owner of a facility discharging vehicle wash 
water directly to a stormwater drain shall provide inlet 
protection measures in addition to meeting all other 
requirements of the permit. ]  
[ 11. 12. ] The permittee shall notify the department as 
soon as they know the permittee knows or have has reason 
to believe:  

a. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 
result in the discharge, on a routine or frequent basis, of 
any toxic pollutant that is not limited in this permit, if 

that discharge will exceed the highest of the following 
notification levels:  
(1) One hundred micrograms per liter of the toxic 
pollutant;  
(2) Two hundred micrograms per liter for acrolein and 
acrylonitrile; five hundred micrograms per liter for 2,4-
dinitrophenol and for 2-methyl-4,6-dinitrophenol; and 
one milligram per liter for antimony;  
(3) Five times the maximum concentration value reported 
for that pollutant in the permit application; or  
(4) The level established by the board.  
b. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 
result in any discharge, on a nonroutine or infrequent 
basis, of a toxic pollutant that is not limited in this 
permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest of the 
following notification levels:  
(1) Five hundred micrograms per liter of the toxic 
pollutant;  
(2) One milligram per liter for antimony;  
(3) Ten times the maximum concentration value reported 
for that pollutant in the permit application; or  
(4) The level established by the board.  

[ 12. 13. ] Operation and maintenance manual requirement. 
The permittee shall develop and maintain an accurate 
operations and maintenance (O&M) manual for the 
[ vehicle wash ] wastewater treatment works [ and inlet 
protection measures, if applicable ]. This manual shall 
detail the practices and procedures that will be followed to 
ensure compliance with the requirements of this permit. 
The permittee shall operate the treatment works in 
accordance with the O&M manual. The O&M manual 
shall be reviewed and updated at least annually and shall 
be signed and certified in accordance with Part II K of this 
permit. The O&M manual shall be made available for 
review by the department personnel upon request. The 
O&M manual shall include, but not necessarily be limited 
to, the following items, as appropriate:  

a. Techniques to be employed in the collection, 
preservation, and analysis of effluent samples;  
b. Discussion of best management practices, if applicable 
[ or stormwater inlet protection methods ];  
c. Treatment system operation, routine preventive 
maintenance of units within the treatment system, critical 
spare parts inventory, and recordkeeping;  
d. A sludge/solids disposal management plan as required 
by Part I B 6; and  
e. Procedures for performing the visual examination and 
maintenance required by Part I B 1 including example 
log sheets [ and the location of the operational log ]; and 
e. Date(s) f. Date when the O&M manual was updated or 
reviewed and any changes that were made. 
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[ 13. 14. ] Compliance Reporting reporting under Part I A 
1- 4.  

a. The quantification levels (QL) shall be as follows:  

  Effluent 
Characteristic Quantification Level 

  BOD5 2 mg/l 

  TSS 
Oil and Grease 

1.0 mg/l 
5.0 mg/l 

  Chlorine 0.10 mg/l 

The QL is defined as the lowest concentration used to 
calibrate a measurement system in accordance with the 
procedures published for the test method. 
b. Reporting. Any single datum required shall be reported 
as "<QL" if it is less than the QL in subdivision [ 13 14 ] 
a of this subdivision subsection. Otherwise, the 
numerical value shall be reported. The QL must be less 
than or equal to the QL in subdivision [ 13 14 ] a of this 
subsection. 
c. Monitoring results shall be reported using the same 
number of significant digits as listed in the permit. 
Regardless of the rounding convention used by the 
permittee (e.g., five always rounding up or to the nearest 
even number), the permittee shall use the convention 
consistently and shall ensure that consulting laboratories 
employed by the permittee use the same convention. 

14. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be 
analyzed in accordance with 1VAC30-45, Certification for 
Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories, or 1VAC30-
46, Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 
Laboratories. 
[ 15. 14. ] The discharges authorized by this permit shall be 
controlled as necessary to meet applicable water quality 
standards in 9VAC25-260. 
[ 16. 15.] Discharges to waters with an approved total 
maximum daily load (TMDL). Owners of facilities that are 
a source of the specified pollutant of concern to waters 
where an approved TMDL has been established shall 
implement measures and controls that are consistent with 
the assumptions and requirements of the TMDL.  
[ 17. 16. ] Notice of Termination termination.  

a. The owner may terminate coverage under this general 
permit by filing a complete notice of termination [ with 
the department ]. The notice of termination may be filed 
after one or more of the following conditions have been 
met:  
(1) Operations have ceased at the facility and there are no 
longer wastewater discharges from vehicle wash or 
laundry activities from the facility; 
(2) A new owner has assumed responsibility for the 
facility [ (NOTE:. ] A notice of termination does not 

have to be submitted if a VPDES Change of Ownership 
Agreement form has been [ submitted) submitted ];  
(3) All discharges associated with this facility have been 
covered by [ an a VPDES ] individual [ permit ] or an 
alternative VPDES permit; or 
(4) Notice of termination Termination of coverage is 
requested for another reason provided the board agrees 
that coverage under this general permit is no longer 
needed.  
b. The notice of termination shall contain the following 
information:  
(1) Owner's name, mailing address, telephone number, 
and email address (if available);  
(2) Facility name and location;  
(3) VPDES vehicle wash facilities and laundry facilities 
general permit number; and  
(4) The basis for submitting the notice of termination, 
including:  
i. (a) A statement indicating that a new owner has 
assumed responsibility for the facility;  
ii. (b) A statement indicating that operations have ceased 
at the facility and there are no longer wastewater 
discharges from vehicle wash or laundry activities from 
the facility;  
iii. (c) A statement indicating that all wastewater 
discharges from vehicle wash facilities and laundry 
facilities have been covered by an individual VPDES 
permit; or  
iv. (d) A statement indicating that termination of 
coverage is being requested for another reason (state the 
reason).  
c. The following certification: 
"I certify under penalty of law that all wastewater 
discharges from vehicle wash or laundry facilities from 
the identified facility that are authorized by this VPDES 
general permit have been eliminated, or covered under a 
VPDES individual or alternative permit, or that I am no 
longer the owner of the industrial activity, or permit 
coverage should be terminated for another reason listed 
above. I understand that by submitting this notice of 
termination, that I am no longer authorized to discharge 
wastewater from vehicle wash facilities or laundry 
facilities in accordance with the general permit, and that 
discharging pollutants in wastewater from vehicle wash 
facilities or laundry facilities to surface waters is 
unlawful where the discharge is not authorized by a 
VPDES permit. I also understand that the submittal of 
this notice of termination does not release an owner from 
liability for any violations of this permit or the Clean 
Water Act."  
d. The notice of termination shall be signed in 
accordance with Part II K.  
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e. The notice of termination shall be submitted to the 
DEQ regional office serving the area where the vehicle 
wash or laundry facility is located. 

Part II 
CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL VPDES PERMITS  
A. Monitoring.  

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 
permit shall be representative of the monitored activity.  
2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 
approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 
approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 
unless other procedures have been specified in this permit.  
3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 
maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 
instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 
measurements.  
4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be 
analyzed in accordance with 1VAC30-45, Certification for 
Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories, or 1VAC30-
46, Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 
Laboratories. 

B. Records.  
1. Records of monitoring information shall include:  

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 
measurements;  
b. The individuals who performed the sampling or 
measurements;  
c. The dates and times analyses were performed;  
d. The individuals who performed the analyses;  
e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and  
f. The results of such analyses.  

2. Except for records of monitoring information required 
by this permit related to the permittee's sewage sludge use 
and disposal activities, which shall be retained for a period 
of at least five years, the permittee shall retain records of 
all monitoring information, including all calibration and 
maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings 
for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 
reports required by this permit, and records of all data used 
to complete the registration statement for this permit, for a 
period of at least three years from the date of the sample, 
measurement, report or request for coverage. This period 
of retention shall be extended automatically during the 
course of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated 
activity or regarding control standards applicable to the 
permittee, or as requested by the board.  

C. Reporting monitoring results.  
1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 
required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 
month after monitoring takes place, unless another 
reporting schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. 

Monitoring results shall be submitted to the department's 
regional office.  
2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge 
Monitoring Report (DMR) or on forms provided, approved 
or specified by the department.  
3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 
addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 
this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 
Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the 
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 
specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 
be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 
submitted in the DMR or reporting form specified by the 
department.  
4. Calculations for all limitations which require averaging 
of measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 
otherwise specified in this permit.  

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 
to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 
which the board may request to determine whether cause 
exists for [ modifying, revoking and reissuing, or  ] 
terminating [ coverage under ] this permit or to determine 
compliance with this permit. The board may require the 
permittee to furnish, upon request, such plans, specifications, 
and other pertinent information as may be necessary to 
determine the effect of the wastes from his discharge on the 
quality of state waters, or such other information as may be 
necessary to accomplish the purposes of the State Water 
Control Law. The permittee shall also furnish to the 
department upon request, copies of records required to be 
kept by this permit.  

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 
noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 
final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 
this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 
each schedule date.  

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 
permit or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 
unlawful for any person to:  

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 
other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or  
2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological 
properties of such state waters and make them detrimental 
to the public health, or to animal or aquatic life, or to the 
use of such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, 
or for recreation, or for other uses.  

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee who 
discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, 
industrial waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious 
substance into or upon state waters in violation of Part II F;, 
or who discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may 
reasonably be expected to enter state waters in violation of 
Part II F, shall notify the department of the discharge 
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immediately upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case 
later than 24 hours after said discovery. A written report of 
the unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the 
department within five days of discovery of the discharge. 
The written report shall contain:  

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge;  
2. The cause of the discharge;  
3. The date on which the discharge occurred;  
4. The length of time that the discharge continued;  
5. The volume of the discharge;  
6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 
continue;  
7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 
volume of the discharge will be; and  
8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate and 
prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 
discharges not authorized by this permit.  

Discharges reportable to the department under the 
immediate reporting requirements of other regulations are 
exempted from this requirement.  

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 
unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or 
upset should occur from a treatment works and the discharge 
enters or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee 
shall promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, the 
department by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. 
This notification shall provide all available details of the 
incident, including any adverse affects effects on aquatic life 
and the known number of fish killed. The permittee shall 
submit the report to the department in writing within five 
days of discovery of the discharge in accordance with Part II I 
2. Unusual and extraordinary discharges include but are not 
limited to any discharge resulting from:  

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 
indirectly from processing operations;  
2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment;  
3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the 
treatment works; and  
4. Flooding or other acts of nature.  

I. Reports of noncompliance. The permittee shall report any 
noncompliance which may adversely affect state waters or 
may endanger public health.  

1. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from 
the time the permittee becomes aware of the 
circumstances. The following shall be included as 
information which shall be reported within 24 hours under 
this subsection:  

a. Any unanticipated bypass; and  
b. Any upset which causes a discharge to surface waters.  

2. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 
shall contain:  

a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause;  
b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates 
and times, and if the noncompliance has not been 
corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 
and  
c. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 
prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance.  

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 
basis for reports of noncompliance under Part II I if the 
oral report has been received within 24 hours and no 
adverse impact on state waters has been reported.  
3. The permittee shall report all instances of 
noncompliance not reported under Parts II I 1 or 2, in 
writing, at the time the next monitoring reports are 
submitted. The reports shall contain the information listed 
in Part II I 2.  
NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 
in Part II G, H and I may be made to the department's 
regional office. Reports may be made by telephone, FAX, 
or online at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/prep/h2rpt.html 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponseP
reparedness/MakingaReport.aspx. For reports outside 
normal working hours, leave a message and this shall 
fulfill the immediate reporting requirement. For 
emergencies, the Virginia Department of Emergency 
Management maintains a 24-hour telephone service at 1-
800-468-8892.  

J. Notice of planned changes.  
1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as 
soon as possible of any planned physical alterations or 
additions to the permitted facility. Notice is required only 
when:  

a. The permittee plans alteration or addition to any 
building, structure, facility, or installation from which 
there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 
construction of which commenced:  
(1) After promulgation of standards of performance 
under § 306 of the Clean Water Act which are applicable 
to such source; or  
(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 
accordance with § 306 of the Clean Water Act which are 
applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 
promulgated in accordance with § 306 within 120 days of 
their proposal;  
b. The alteration or addition could significantly change 
the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants 
discharged. This notification applies to pollutants which 
are subject neither to effluent limitations nor to 
notification requirements specified elsewhere in this 
permit; or  
c. The alteration or addition results in a significant 
change in the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices, 
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and such alteration, addition, or change may justify the 
application of permit conditions that are different from or 
absent in the existing permit, including notification of 
additional use or disposal sites not reported during the 
permit  [ application registration ] process or not reported 
pursuant to an approved land application plan.  

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the 
department of any planned changes in the permitted facility 
or activity which may result in noncompliance with permit 
requirements.  

K. Signatory requirements.  
1. Registration statement. All registration statements shall 
be signed as follows:  

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 
For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 
officer means: (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or 
vice-president of the corporation in charge of a principal 
business function, or any other person who performs 
similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 
the corporation, or (ii) the manager of one or more 
manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, 
provided the manager is authorized to make management 
decisions that govern the operation of the regulated 
facility including having the explicit or implicit duty of 
making major capital investment recommendations, and 
initiating and directing other comprehensive measures to 
assure long-term environmental compliance with 
environmental laws and regulations; the manager can 
ensure that the necessary systems are established or 
actions taken to gather complete and accurate 
information for permit [ application registration ] 
requirements; and where authority to sign documents has 
been assigned or delegated to the manager in accordance 
with corporate procedures;  
b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 
partner or the proprietor, respectively; or  
c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 
agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 
elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 
executive officer of a public agency includes: (i) the 
chief executive officer of the agency, or (ii) a senior 
executive officer having responsibility for the overall 
operations of a principal geographic unit of the agency.  

2. Reporting requirements. All reports required by permits 
and other information requested by the board shall be 
signed by a person described in Part II K 1 or by a duly 
authorized representative of that person. A person is a duly 
authorized representative only if:  

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 
described in Part II K 1;  
b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 
position having responsibility for the overall operation of 
the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 

plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 
superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or 
an individual or position having overall responsibility for 
environmental matters for the company. A duly 
authorized representative may thus be either a named 
individual or any individual occupying a named position; 
and  
c. The written authorization is submitted to the 
department.  

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part 
II K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual 
or position has responsibility for the overall operation of 
the facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements 
of Part II K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to 
or together with any reports or information to be signed by 
an authorized representative.  
4. Certification. Any person signing a document under Part 
II K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification:  

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or 
supervision in accordance with a system designed to 
ensure that qualified personnel properly gather and 
evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 
of the person or persons who manage the system, or 
those persons directly responsible for gathering the 
information, the information submitted is, to the best of 
my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I 
am aware that there are significant penalties for 
submitting false information, including the possibility of 
fine and imprisonment for knowing violations."  

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 
conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 
constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 
Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 
provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the 
State Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 
noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action [ ;, ] for 
permit [ coverage ] termination, [ revocation and reissuance, 
or modification; ] or [ for ] denial of a permit [ coverage ] 
renewal application.  

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 
prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water 
Act for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge 
use or disposal established under § 405(d) of the Clean Water 
Act within the time provided in the regulations that establish 
these standards or prohibitions or standards for sewage sludge 
use or disposal, even if this permit has not yet been modified 
to incorporate the requirement.  

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 
activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of 
this permit, the permittee shall submit a new registration 
statement at least 30 days before the expiration date of the 
existing permit, unless permission for a later date has been 
granted by the board. The board shall not grant permission for 
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registration statements to be submitted later than the 
expiration date of the existing permit.  

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 
property rights in either real or personal property or any 
exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 
private property or invasion of personal rights, or any 
infringement of federal, state or local law or regulations.  

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 
preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 
the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 
established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 
under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 
Except as provided in permit conditions on "bypassing" (Part 
II U) and "upset" (Part II V), nothing in this permit shall be 
construed to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal 
penalties for noncompliance.  

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 
permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 
legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 
liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 
subject under Article 11 (§ 62.1-44.34:14 et seq.) of the State 
Water Control Law.  

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 
all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 
systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 
which are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 
compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper 
operation and maintenance also includes effective plant 
performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 
adequate laboratory and process controls, including 
appropriate quality assurance procedures. This provision 
requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or 
similar systems which are installed by the permittee only 
when the operation is necessary to achieve compliance with 
the conditions of this permit.  

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges or other 
pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 
of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 
any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters.  

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 
steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 
disposal in violation of this permit which has a reasonable 
likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 
environment.  

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 
be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 
would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 
activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 
of this permit.  

U. Bypass.  
1. The permittee may allow any bypass to occur which 
does not cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only 
if it also is for essential maintenance to assure efficient 

operation. These bypasses are not subject to the provisions 
of Part II U 2 and U 3.  
2. Notice.  

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 
of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, 
if possible, at least 10 days before the date of the bypass.  
b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit 
notice of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part II I.  

3. Prohibition of bypass.  
a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 
enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, 
unless:  
(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 
personal injury, or severe property damage;  
(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 
such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 
of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 
periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 
satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 
been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 
judgment to prevent a bypass which occurred during 
normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 
maintenance; and  
(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under 
Part II U 2.  
b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass, after 
considering its adverse effects, if the board determines 
that it will meet the three conditions listed in Part II U 3 
a.  

V. Upset.  
1. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 
brought for noncompliance with technology based permit 
effluent limitations if the requirements of Part II V 2 are 
met. A determination made during administrative review of 
claims that noncompliance was caused by upset, and 
before an action for noncompliance, is not a final 
administrative action subject to judicial review.  
2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 
defense of upset shall demonstrate through properly 
signed, contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant 
evidence that:  

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 
the causes of the upset;  
b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 
operated;  
c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 
in Part II I; and  
d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 
required under Part II S.  
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3. In any enforcement proceeding the permittee seeking to 
establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of 
proof.  

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 
director, or an authorized representative, upon presentation of 
credentials and other documents as may be required by law 
to:  

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 
facility or activity is located or conducted, or where 
records must be kept under the conditions of this permit;  
2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 
records that must be kept under the conditions of this 
permit;  
3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 
(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 
operations regulated or required under this permit; and  
4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 
of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized 
by the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law, 
any substances or parameters at any location.  

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 
deemed reasonable during regular business hours, and 
whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained 
herein shall make an inspection unreasonable during an 
emergency.  

X. Permit actions. [ Permits Permit coverage ] may be 
[ modified, revoked and reissued, or ] terminated for cause. 
The filing of a request by the permittee for a permit 
[ modification, revocation and reissuance, or coverage ] 
termination [ , ] or a notification of planned changes or 
anticipated noncompliance does not stay any permit 
condition.  

Y. Transfer of [ permits permit coverage. Permits are not 
transferable to any person except after notice to the 
department ]. 

[ 1. Permits are not transferable to any person except after 
notice to the department. Except as provided in Part II Y 2, 
a permit may be transferred by the permittee to a new 
owner or operator only if the permit has been modified or 
revoked and reissued, or a minor modification made, to 
identify the new permittee and incorporate such other 
requirements as may be necessary under the State Water 
Control Law and the Clean Water Act. 

2. As an alternative to transfers under Part II Y 1, Coverage 
under ] this permit may be automatically transferred to a new 
permittee if:  

[ a. 1. ] The current permittee notifies the department 
within 30 days of the transfer of the title to the facility or 
property;  
[ b. 2. ] The notice includes a written agreement between 
the existing and new permittees containing a specific date 

for transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and 
liability between them; and  
[ c. 3. ] The board does not notify the existing permittee 
and the proposed new permittee of its intent to modify or 
revoke and reissue the permit. If this notice is not 
received, the transfer is effective on the date specified in 
the agreement mentioned in Part II Y 2 [ b ].  

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 
and, if any provision of this permit or the application of any 
provision of this permit to any circumstance, is held invalid, 
the application of such provision to other circumstances, and 
the remainder of this permit, shall not be affected thereby.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4617; Filed July 31, 2017, 10:22 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of 
Virginia, which exempts general permits issued by the State 
Water Control Board pursuant to State Water Control Law (§ 
62.1-44.2 et seq.) and Chapters 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) and 25 
(§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1, if the board (i) provides a 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in conformance with 
the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01, (ii) following the passage of 
30 days from the publication of the Notice of Intended 
Regulatory Action forms a technical advisory committee 
composed of relevant stakeholders, including potentially 
affected citizens groups, to assist in the development of the 
general permit, (iii) provides notice and receives oral and 
written comment as provided in § 2.2-4007.03, and (iv) 
conducts at least one public hearing on the proposed general 
permit.  
Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-196. General Virginia 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit 
for Noncontact Cooling Water Discharges of 50,000 
Gallons Per Day or Less (amending 9VAC25-196-10, 
9VAC25-196-15, 9VAC25-196-40 through 9VAC25-196-
70).  
Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, and 
124. 
Public Hearing Information: 

September 28, 2017 - 3 p.m. - Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, 2nd Floor 
Conference Room, Richmond, VA 23219 

Public Comment Deadline: October 20, 2017. 
Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 
proposed regulatory action serves as the report of the findings 
of the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Agency Contact: Matthew Richardson, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
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Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4195, FAX (804) 
698-4032, or email matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

This proposed regulatory action revises and reissues the 
existing general permit that expires on March 1, 2018. 
This general permit establishes effluent limitations and 
monitoring requirements for point source discharges of 
50,000 gallons per day or less of noncontact cooling water 
and cooling equipment blow down to surface waters. The 
general permit regulation is being reissued to continue 
making it available as a permitting option for this type of 
discharger. The proposed changes make this general 
permit similar to other general permits issued recently and 
clarify and update permit limit and conditions. 
Proposed substantive changes to the existing regulation 
include (i) requiring permittees to notify a municipal 
separate storm sewer system (MS4) owner of the existence 
of the discharge at the time of registration under the 
general permit and to include a copy of that notification 
with the registration statement; (ii) removing the effluent 
limitations and monitoring requirements for the first four 
years of the previous permit term as these requirements 
are not applicable for this reissuance; (iii) clarifying that 
the "1/3 months" monitoring frequency means the 
following three-month periods each year of permit 
coverage: January through March, April through June, 
July through September, and October through December; 
and (iv) requiring the permittee to develop an operation 
and maintenance manual for equipment or systems used to 
meet effluent limitations within 90 days of permit coverage. 

CHAPTER 196  
GENERAL VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE 

ELIMINATION SYSTEM (VPDES) GENERAL PERMIT 
FOR NONCONTACT COOLING WATER DISCHARGES 

OF 50,000 GALLONS PER DAY OR LESS  
9VAC25-196-10. Definitions. 

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 
meanings defined in § 62.1-44.2 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia (State Water Control Law) and 9VAC25-31-10 
9VAC25-31 (VPDES Permit Regulation) unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise, except that for the purposes of 
this chapter:  

"Blowdown" means a discharge of recirculating water from 
any cooling equipment or cooling process in order to 
maintain a desired quality of the recirculating water. Boiler 
blowdown is excluded from this definition.  

"Board" means the State Water Control Board. 
"Cooling water" means water used for cooling which does 

not come into direct contact with any raw product, 
intermediate product (other than heat) or finished product. For 
the purposes of this general permit, cooling water can be 
generated from any cooling equipment blowdown or 
produced as a result of any noncontact cooling process 

through either a single pass (once through) or recirculating 
system.  

"Department" or "DEQ" means the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality.  

"Director" means the Director of the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality, or an authorized representative.  

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means a 
calculation of the maximum amount of a pollutant that a 
waterbody can receive and still meet water quality standards 
and an allocation of that amount to the pollutant's sources. A 
TMDL includes wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point 
source discharges, and load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint 
sources or natural background or both, and must include a 
margin of safety (MOS) and account for seasonal variations.  
9VAC25-196-15. Applicability of incorporated references 
based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the 
Code of Federal Regulations is referenced or adopted herein 
in this chapter and incorporated by reference, that regulation 
shall be as it exists and has been published as a final 
regulation in the Federal Register prior to July 1, 2012, with 
the effective date as published in the Federal Register notice 
or March 2, 2013, whichever is later as of July 1, 2017. 
9VAC25-196-40. Effective date of the permit.  

This general permit will become effective on March 2, 2013 
2018. This general permit will expire on March 1, 2018 2023. 
This general permit is effective as to any covered owner upon 
compliance with all the provisions of 9VAC25-196-50.  
9VAC25-196-50. Authorization to discharge.  

A. Any owner governed by this general permit is hereby 
authorized to discharge to surface waters of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia provided that the owner submits 
and receives acceptance by the board of the registration 
statement of 9VAC25-196-60, submits the required permit 
fee, and complies with the effluent limitations and other 
requirements of 9VAC25-196-70, and provided that the board 
has not notified the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 
coverage in accordance with subsection B of this section.  

B. The board will notify an owner that the discharge is not 
eligible for coverage under this general permit in the event of 
any of the following:  

1. The owner is required to obtain an individual permit in 
accordance with 9VAC25-31-170 B 3 of the VPDES 
Permit Regulation;  
2. The owner is proposing to discharge to Class V 
stockable trout waters, Class VI natural trout waters, or any 
state waters specifically named in other board regulations 
that prohibit such discharges;  
3. The discharge violates or would violate the 
antidegradation policy in the Water Quality Standards at 
9VAC25-260-30; or 
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4. The discharge is not consistent with the assumptions and 
requirements of an approved TMDL.  

C. Chlorine or any other halogen compounds shall not be 
used for disinfection or other treatment purposes, including 
biocide applications, for any discharges to waters containing 
endangered or threatened species as identified in 9VAC25-
260-110 C of the Water Quality Standards.  

D. The owner shall not use tributyltin, any chemical 
additives containing tributyltin, or any hexavalent chromium-
based water treatment chemicals containing hexavalent 
chromium in the cooling water systems.  

E. The owner shall not use groundwater remediation wells 
as the source of cooling water.  

F. Compliance with this general permit constitutes 
compliance with the federal Clean Water Act, and the State 
Water Control Law, and applicable regulations under either 
with the exceptions stated in 9VAC25-31-60 of the VPDES 
Permit Regulation. Approval for coverage under this general 
permit does not relieve any owner of the responsibility to 
comply with any other applicable federal, state, or local 
statute, ordinance, or regulation.  

G. Continuation of permit coverage.  
1. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 
noncontact cooling water discharges general permit issued 
in 2008 2013 and that submits a complete registration 
statement on or before March 2, 2013 2018, is authorized 
to continue to discharge under the terms of the 2008 2013 
general permit until such time as the board either:  

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit; 
or  
b. Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 
coverage under this general permit.  

2. When the owner that was covered under the expiring or 
expired general permit has violated or is violating the 
conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any 
or all of the following:  

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the general 
permit that has been continued;  
b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 
amended reissued general permit. If the general permit 
coverage is denied, the owner would then be required to 
cease the discharges authorized by the continued general 
permit or be subject to enforcement action for 
discharging without a permit;  
c. Issue an a VPDES individual permit with appropriate 
conditions; or  
d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES Permit 
Regulation (9VAC25-31).  

9VAC25-196-60. Registration statement.  
A. Deadlines for submitting registration statements. The 

owner seeking coverage under this general permit shall 
submit a complete VPDES general permit registration 

statement in accordance with this section, which shall serve 
as a notice of intent for coverage under the general VPDES 
general permit for noncontact cooling water discharges of 
50,000 gallons per day or less.  

1. New facilities. Any owner proposing a new discharge 
shall submit a complete registration statement at least 30 
days prior to the date planned for commencing operation of 
the new discharge.  
2. Existing facilities.  

a. Any owner covered by an a VPDES individual VPDES 
permit who is proposing to be covered by this general 
permit shall submit a complete registration statement at 
least 210 days prior to the expiration date of the VPDES 
individual VPDES permit.  
b. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 
VPDES general VPDES permit that became effective on 
March 2, 2008 2013, and who that intends to continue 
coverage under this general permit shall submit a 
complete registration statement to the board on or before 
February 1, 2013 2018.  

B. Late registration statements. Registration statements will 
be accepted after March 2, 2013 1, 2018, but authorization to 
discharge will not be retroactive. Owners described in 
subdivision A 2 b of this section that submit registration 
statements after February 1, 2013 2018, are authorized to 
discharge under the provisions of 9VAC25-196-50 G if a 
complete registration statement is submitted on or before 
March 2, 2013 1, 2018.  

C. The required registration statement shall contain the 
following information:  

1. Facility name and address, owner name, mailing 
address, telephone number, and email address (if 
available); 
2. Operator name, mailing address, telephone number, and 
email address (if available) if different from owner; 
3. Does the facility currently have a VPDES permit? 
Permit Number if yes Current VPDES permit registration 
number (if applicable); 
4. Listing List of point source discharges that are not 
composed entirely of cooling water; 
5. Listing List of type and size (tons) of cooling equipment 
or noncontact cooling water processes; 
6. The following information if any chemical or 
nonchemical treatment, or both, is employed in each of the 
cooling water systems system:  

a. Description of the treatment to be employed (both 
chemical and nonchemical) and its purpose; for chemical 
additives other than chlorine, provide the information 
prescribed in subdivisions 6 b, c, d, e, and f; 
b. Name and manufacturer of each additive used;  
c. List of active ingredients and percent composition of 
each additive;  
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d. Proposed dosing schedule and quantity of chemical 
usage, and either an engineering analysis, or a technical 
evaluation of the active ingredients, to determine the 
discharge concentration in the discharge of each 
contaminant;  
e. Available aquatic toxicity information for each 
proposed additive used; and  
f. Any other information such as product or constituent 
degradation, fate, transport, synergies, bioavailability, 
etc., that will aid the board with the toxicity evaluation of 
the discharge; and 
g. Safety data sheet for each proposed additive. 

7. Description of any type of treatment or retention being 
provided to the wastewater before discharge (i.e., retention 
ponds, settling ponds, etc.); 
8. A schematic drawing of the cooling water equipment 
that shows the source of the cooling water, its flow through 
the facility, and each noncontact cooling water discharge 
point; 
9. A USGS 7.5 minute topographic map or equivalent 
computer generated map extending to at least one mile 
beyond the property boundary. The map must show the 
outline of the facility and the location of each of its 
existing and proposed intake and discharge points, and 
must include all springs, rivers and other surface water 
bodies; 
10. The following discharge information:  

a. A listing list of all cooling water discharges identified 
by a unique number, latitude, and longitude;  
b. The source of cooling water for each discharge;  
c. An estimate of the maximum daily flow in gallons per 
day for each discharge;  
d. The name of the waterbody receiving direct discharge 
or discharge through the municipal separate storm sewer 
system (MS4); and 
e. The duration and frequency of the discharge for each 
separate discharge point; continuous, intermittent, or 
seasonal; 

11. Whether the facility will discharge to a municipal 
separate storm sewer system (MS4). If so, the name of the 
MS4 owner. The owner of the facility shall notify the MS4 
owner in writing of the existence of the discharge within 
30 days of coverage under the general permit and shall 
copy the DEQ regional office with the notification. A 
determination of whether the facility will discharge to a 
MS4. If the facility discharges to a MS4, the facility owner 
must notify the owner of the MS4 of the existence of the 
discharge at the time of registration under this permit and 
include that notification with the registration statement. 
The notification notice shall include the following 
information: the name of the facility, a contact person and 
phone telephone number, the location of the discharge, the 

nature of the discharge, and the facility's VPDES general 
permit registration number if a reissuance; and 
12. The following certification:  

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or 
supervision in accordance with a system designed to 
assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 
evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 
of the person or persons who manage the system or those 
persons directly responsible for gathering the 
information, the information submitted is to the best of 
my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and complete. I 
am aware that there are significant penalties for 
submitting false information including the possibility of 
fine and imprisonment for knowing violations." 

D. The registration statement shall be signed in accordance 
with 9VAC25-31-110. 

E. The registration statement shall be delivered by either 
postal or electronic mail to the DEQ regional office serving 
the area where the facility is located.  
9VAC25-196-70. General permit. 

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the 
board will receive coverage under the following permit and 
shall comply with the requirements therein and be subject to 
all requirements of 9VAC25-31.  

General Permit No: VAG25  
Effective Date: March 2, 2013 2018 

Expiration Date: March 1, 2018 2023 
GENERAL PERMIT FOR NONCONTACT COOLING 

WATER DISCHARGES OF 50,000 GALLONS PER DAY 
OR LESS  

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 
VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 

SYSTEM AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER 
CONTROL LAW  

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, 
as amended, and pursuant to the State Water Control Law and 
regulations adopted pursuant thereto, owners of noncontact 
cooling water discharges of 50,000 gallons per day or less are 
authorized to discharge to surface waters within the 
boundaries of the Commonwealth of Virginia, except Class V 
stockable trout waters, Class VI natural trout waters, and 
those specifically named in board regulations that prohibit 
such discharges. Chlorine or any other halogen compounds 
shall not be used for disinfection or other treatment purposes, 
including biocide applications, for any discharges to waters 
containing endangered or threatened species as identified in 
9VAC25-260-110 C of the Water Quality Standards.  

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the 
information submitted with the registration statement, this 
cover page, Part I - Effluent Limitations and Monitoring 
Requirements, and Part II - Conditions Applicable to all 
VPDES Permits, as set forth herein in this general permit.  
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Part I  
A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS.  
During the period beginning on the permit's effective date and lasting until the permit's expiration date, the permittee is 

authorized to discharge noncontact cooling water. Samples taken in compliance with the monitoring requirements specified 
below shall be taken at the following location(s): outfall(s) _______________.  

1. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements for the first four years of the permit term (March 2, 2013, through March 
1, 2017). Discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 
DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Maximum Minimum Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) 0.05 NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

Temperature (°C) (1) NA 1/3 Months Immersion 
Stabilization 

pH (SU) 9.0(2) 6.0(2) 1/3 Months Grab 

Ammonia-N(3) (mg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine(3) (mg/l) Nondetectable NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Hardness (mg/l CaCO3)(7) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Copper(4) (μg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Zinc(4) (μg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Silver(4), (5) (μg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Phosphorus(6) (mg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 
NA = Not applicable 
(1)The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, or 31°C 
for mountain and upper piedmont waters. No maximum temperature limit, only monitoring, applies to discharges to estuarine 
waters. 
The effluent shall not cause an increase in temperature of the receiving stream of more than 3°C above the natural water 
temperature. The effluent shall not cause the temperature in the receiving stream to change more than 2°C per hour. Natural 
temperature is defined as that temperature of a body of water (measured as the arithmetic average over one hour) due solely to 
natural conditions without the influence of any point-source discharge.  
(2)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in the waters receiving the 
discharge, those standards shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations.  
(3)Chlorine limitation of nondetectable (<0.1 mg/l) and chlorine monitoring only apply to outfalls directly discharging to 
surface waters where either: (i) a treatment additive that contains chlorine or chlorine compounds is used or (ii) the source of 
cooling water is chlorinated. All data below the quantification level (QL) of 0.1 mg/L shall be reported as "<QL." Ammonia 
monitoring only applies where the source of cooling water is disinfected using chloramines.  
(4)A specific analytical method is not specified; however, a maximum quantification level (Max QL) value for each metal has 
been established. An appropriate method to meet the Max QL value shall be selected using any approved method presented in 
40 CFR Part 136. If the test result is less than the method quantification level (QL), a "<[QL]" shall be reported where the 
actual analytical test QL is substituted for [QL].  

 Material Max QL (μg/l) 

 Copper 1.0 

 Zinc 50.0 

 Silver 1.0 
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Quality control/assurance information shall be submitted to document that the required QL has been attained. 
(5)Silver monitoring is only required where a Cu/Ag anode is used. 
(6)Phosphorus monitoring is only required where an additive containing phosphorus is used. 
(7)Hardness monitoring is only required for discharges to freshwater streams, perennial streams, or dry ditches.  

2. 1. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements for the last year of the permit term (March 2, 2017, through March 1, 
2018), discharges to freshwater receiving streams waterbodies. Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the 
permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 
DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Maximum Minimum Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) 0.05 NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

Temperature (°C) (1) NA 1/3 Months Immersion 
Stabilization 

pH (SU) 9.0(2) 6.0(2) 1/3 Months Grab 

Ammonia-N(3) (mg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine(3) (mg/l) Nondetectable NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Copper(4) (μg/l) 9.0 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Zinc(4) (μg/l) 120 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Silver(4), (5) (μg/l) 3.4 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Phosphorus(6) (mg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 
NA = Not applicable 
1/3 Months = the following three-month periods each year of permit coverage: January through March, April through June, 
July through September, and October through December 
(1)The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, or 31°C 
for mountain and upper piedmont waters. No maximum temperature limit, only monitoring, applies to discharges to estuarine 
waters. 
The effluent shall not cause an increase in temperature of the receiving stream of more than 3°C above the natural water 
temperature. The effluent shall not cause the temperature in the receiving stream to change more than 2°C per hour. Natural 
temperature is defined as that temperature of a body of water (measured as the arithmetic average over one hour) due solely to 
natural conditions without the influence of any point source discharge. 
(2)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in the waters receiving the 
discharge, those standards shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations. 
(3)Chlorine limitation of nondetectable (<0.1 mg/l) and chlorine monitoring only apply to outfalls directly discharging to 
surface waters where either: (i) a treatment additive that contains chlorine or chlorine compounds is used or (ii) the source of 
cooling water is chlorinated. All data below the quantification level (QL) of 0.1 mg/L shall be reported as "<QL." Ammonia 
monitoring only applies where the source of cooling water is disinfected using chloramines. 
(4)A specific analytical method is not specified; however, a maximum quantification level (Max QL) value for each metal has 
been established. An appropriate method to meet the Max QL value shall be selected using any approved method presented in 
40 CFR Part 136. If the test result is less than the method quantification level (QL), a "<[QL]" shall be reported where the 
actual analytical test QL is substituted for [QL].  

  Material Max QL (μg/l) 

  Copper 1.0 

  Zinc 50.0 

  Silver 1.0 
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Quality control/assurance information shall be submitted to document that the required QL has been attained. 
(5)Silver monitoring is only required where a Cu/Ag anode is used. 
(6)Phosphorus monitoring is only required where an additive containing phosphorus is used. 

3. 2. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements for the last year of the permit term (March 2, 2017, through March 1, 
2018), discharges to saltwater receiving streams waterbodies. Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the 
permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 
DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Maximum Minimum Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) 0.05 NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

Temperature (°C) (1) NA 1/3 Months Immersion 
Stabilization 

pH (SU) 9.0(2) 6.0(2) 1/3 Months Grab 

Ammonia-N(3) (mg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine(3) (mg/l) Nondetectable NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Copper(4) (μg/l) 6.0 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Zinc(4) (μg/l) 81 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Silver(4), (5) (μg/l) 1.9 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Phosphorus(6) (mg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 
NA = Not applicable 
1/3 Months = the following three-month periods each year of permit coverage: January through March, April through June, 
July through September, and October through December 
(1)The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, or 31°C 
for mountain and upper piedmont waters. No maximum temperature limit, only monitoring, applies to discharges to estuarine 
waters. 
The effluent shall not cause an increase in temperature of the receiving stream of more than 3°C above the natural water 
temperature. The effluent shall not cause the temperature in the receiving stream to change more than 2°C per hour. Natural 
temperature is defined as that temperature of a body of water (measured as the arithmetic average over one hour) due solely to 
natural conditions without the influence of any point source discharge. 
(2)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in the waters receiving the 
discharge, those standards shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations. 
(3)Chlorine limitation of nondetectable (<0.1 mg/l) and chlorine monitoring only apply to outfalls directly discharging to 
surface waters where either: (i) a treatment additive that contains chlorine or chlorine compounds is used or (ii) the source of 
cooling water is chlorinated. All data below the quantification level (QL) of 0.1 mg/L shall be reported as "<QL." Ammonia 
monitoring only applies where the source of cooling water is disinfected using chloramines. 
(4)A specific analytical method is not specified; however, a maximum quantification level (Max QL) value for each metal has 
been established. An appropriate method to meet the Max QL value shall be selected using any approved method presented in 
40 CFR Part 136. If the test result is less than the method quantification level (QL), a "<[QL]" shall be reported where the 
actual analytical test QL is substituted for [QL].  

  Material Max QL (μg/l) 

  Copper 1.0 

  Zinc 50.0 

  Silver 1.0 
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Quality control/assurance information shall be submitted to document that the required QL has been attained. 
(5)Silver monitoring is only required where a Cu/Ag anode is used. 
(6)Phosphorus monitoring is only required where an additive containing phosphorus is used. 
B. Special conditions.  

1. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible 
foam in other than trace amounts.  
2. No discharges other than cooling water, as defined, are 
permitted under this general permit.  
3. The use of any chemical additives not identified in the 
registration statement, except chlorine, without prior 
approval is prohibited under this general permit. Prior 
approval shall be obtained from the DEQ before any 
changes are made to the chemical or nonchemical 
treatment technology employed in the cooling water 
system. Requests for approval of the change shall be made 
in writing and shall include the following information:  

a. Describe the chemical or nonchemical treatment to be 
employed and its purpose; if chemical additives are used, 
provide the information prescribed in subdivisions 3 b, c, 
d, e, and f; 
b. Provide the name and manufacturer of each additive 
used;  
c. Provide a list of active ingredients and percentage of 
composition;  
d. Give the proposed schedule and quantity of chemical 
usage, and provide either an engineering analysis, or a 
technical evaluation of the active ingredients, to 
determine the concentration in the discharge;  
e. Attach available aquatic toxicity information for each 
additive proposed for use; and 
f. Attach any other information such as product or 
constituent degradation, fate, transport, synergies, 
bioavailability, etc., that will aid the board with the 
toxicity evaluation for the discharge.; and 
g. Attach a safety data sheet for each proposed additive.  

4. Where cooling water is discharged through a municipal 
storm sewer system to surface waters, the permittee shall, 
within 30 days of coverage under this general permit, 
notify the owner of the municipal separate storm sewer 
system in writing of the existence of the discharge and 
provide the following information: the name of the facility, 
a contact person and phone number, the nature of the 
discharge, the location of the discharge, and the facility's 
VPDES general permit number. A copy of such 
notification shall be provided to the department. Discharge 
Monitoring Reports (DMRs) required by this permit shall 
be submitted to both the department and the owner of the 
municipal separate storm sewer system. A determination of 
whether the facility will discharge to a MS4. If the facility 
discharges to a MS4, the facility owner must notify the 
owner of the MS4 of the existence of the discharge at the 
time of registration under this permit and include that 

notification with the registration statement. The notice 
shall include the following information: the name of the 
facility, a contact person and telephone number, the 
location of the discharge, the nature of the discharge, and 
the facility's VPDES general permit registration number if 
a reissuance. Discharge monitoring reports (DMRs) 
required by this permit shall be submitted to both the 
department and the owner of the MS4.  
5. The permittee shall at all times properly operate and 
maintain all cooling water systems. Inspection shall be 
conducted for each cooling water unit by the plant 
personnel at least once per year with reports maintained on 
site Operation and maintenance manual requirement. 

a. Within 90 days after the date of coverage under this 
general permit, the permittee shall develop an operation 
and maintenance (O&M) manual for the equipment or 
systems used to meet effluent limitations. The O&M 
manual shall be reviewed within 90 days of changes to 
the equipment or systems used to meet effluent 
limitations. The O&M manual shall be certified in 
accordance with Part II K of this permit. The O&M 
manual shall be made available for review by department 
personnel upon request. 
b. This manual shall detail the practices and procedures 
that will be followed to ensure compliance with the 
requirements of this permit. Within 30 days of a request 
by the department, the current O&M manual shall be 
submitted to the board for review and approval. The 
permittee shall operate the treatment works in accordance 
with the O&M manual. Noncompliance with the O&M 
manual shall be deemed a violation of the permit. 
c. This manual shall include, but not necessarily be 
limited to, the following items: 
(1) Techniques to be employed in the collection, 
preservation, and analysis of effluent samples; 
(2) Discussion of best management practices; 
(3) Design, operation, routine preventative maintenance 
of equipment or systems used to meet effluent 
limitations, critical spare parts inventory, and 
recordkeeping; 
(4) A plan for the management or disposal of waste 
solids and residues, and a requirement that all solids shall 
be handled, stored, and disposed of so as to prevent a 
discharge to state waters; and 
(5) Procedures for measuring and recording the duration 
and volume of treated wastewater discharged. 

6. The permittee shall notify the department as soon as 
they know the permittee knows or have has reason to 
believe:  
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a. That any activity has occurred or will occur which 
would result in the discharge, on a routine or frequent 
basis, of any toxic pollutant which is not limited in this 
permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest of the 
following notification levels: 
(1) One hundred micrograms per liter (100 μg/l); 
(2) Two hundred micrograms per liter (200 μg/l) for 
acrolein and acrylonitrile; 500 micrograms per liter (500 
μg/l) for 2,4-dinitrophenol and for 
2-methyl-4,6-dinitrophenol; and one milligram per liter 
(1 mg/l) for antimony; 
(3) Five times the maximum concentration value reported 
for that pollutant in the permit application registration 
statement; or 
(4) The level established by the board in accordance with 
9VAC25-31-220 F. 
b. That any activity has occurred or will occur which 
would result in any discharge, on a nonroutine or 
infrequent basis, of a toxic pollutant which is not limited 
in this permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest of 
the following notification levels: 
(1) Five hundred micrograms per liter (500 μg/l); 
(2) One milligram per liter (1 mg/l) for antimony; 
(3) Ten times the maximum concentration value reported 
for that pollutant in the permit application; or 
(4) The level established by the board in accordance with 
9VAC25-31-220 F. 

7. Geothermal systems using groundwater and no chemical 
additives. Geothermal systems using groundwater and no 
chemical additives may be eligible for reduced monitoring 
requirements. 
If a geothermal system was covered by the previous 
noncontact cooling water general permit, and the 
monitoring results from the previous permit term 
demonstrate full compliance with the effluent limitations, 
the permittee may request authorization from the 
department to reduce the monitoring to once in the first 
monitoring quarter of the first year of this permit term. 
Owners of new geothermal systems, and previously 
unpermitted geothermal systems that receive coverage 
under this permit shall submit monitoring results to the 
department for the first four monitoring quarters after 
coverage begins. If the monitoring results demonstrate full 
compliance with the effluent limitations, the permittee may 
request authorization from the department to suspend 
monitoring for the remainder of the permit term. 
Should the permittee be issued a warning letter or notice of 
violation related to violation of effluent limitations, a 
notice of violation, or be the subject of an active 
enforcement action regarding effluent limit violations, 
upon issuance of the letter or notice, or initiation of the 
enforcement action, the monitoring frequency shall revert 

to 1/3 months and remain in effect until the permit's 
expiration date. 
8. Monitoring results shall be reported using the same 
number of significant digits as listed in the permit. 
Regardless of the rounding convention used by the 
permittee (e.g., five always rounding up or to the nearest 
even number), the permittee shall use the convention 
consistently and shall ensure that consulting laboratories 
employed by the permittee use the same convention.  
9. Discharges to waters with an approved "total maximum 
daily load" (TMDL) TMDL. Owners of facilities that are a 
source of the specified pollutant of concern to waters 
where an approved TMDL has been established shall 
implement measures and controls that are consistent with 
the assumptions and requirements of the TMDL.  
10. Notice of termination.  

a. The owner may terminate coverage under this general 
permit by filing a complete notice of termination with the 
department. The notice of termination may be filed after 
one or more of the following conditions have been met:  
(1) Operations have ceased at the facility and there are no 
longer cooling water discharges from the facility;  
(2) A new owner has assumed responsibility for the 
facility (NOTE: A notice of termination does not have to 
be submitted if a VPDES Change of Ownership 
Agreement form has been submitted);  
(3) All cooling water discharges associated with this 
facility have been covered by an a VPDES individual 
VPDES permit or an alternative VPDES permit; or  
(4) Termination of coverage is being requested for 
another reason, provided the board agrees that coverage 
under this general permit is no longer needed.  
b. The notice of termination shall contain the following 
information:  
(1) Owner's name, mailing address, telephone number, 
and email address (if available);  
(2) Facility name and location;  
(3) VPDES noncontact cooling water discharges general 
permit number; and 
(4) The basis for submitting the notice of termination, 
including:  
(a) A statement indicating that a new owner has assumed 
responsibility for the facility;  
(b) A statement indicating that operations have ceased at 
the facility and there are no longer noncontact cooling 
water discharges from the facility;  
(c) A statement indicating that all noncontact cooling 
water discharges have been covered by an a VPDES 
individual VPDES permit; or  
(d) A statement indicating that termination of coverage is 
being requested for another reason (state the reason).  
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c. The following certification: "I certify under penalty of 
law that all noncontact cooling water discharges from the 
identified facility that are authorized by this VPDES 
general permit have been eliminated, or covered under a 
VPDES individual or alternative permit, or that I am no 
longer the owner of the facility, or permit coverage 
should be terminated for another reason listed above. I 
understand that by submitting this notice of termination 
that I am no longer authorized to discharge noncontact 
cooling water in accordance with the general permit, and 
that discharging pollutants in noncontact cooling water to 
surface waters is unlawful where the discharge is not 
authorized by a VPDES permit. I also understand that the 
submittal of this notice of termination does not release an 
owner from liability for any violations of this permit or 
the Clean Water Act."  
d. The notice of termination shall be signed in 
accordance with Part II K.  
e. The notice of termination shall be submitted to the 
DEQ regional office serving the area where the 
noncontact cooling water discharge is located.  

11. The discharges authorized by this permit shall be 
controlled as necessary to meet applicable water quality 
standards.  
12. Approval for coverage under this general permit does 
not relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with 
any other federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, or 
regulation.  

Part II  
Conditions Applicable to All VPDES Permits  

A. Monitoring.  
1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 
permit shall be representative of the monitored activity.  
2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 
approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 
approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 
unless other procedures have been specified in this permit.  
3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 
maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 
instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 
measurements.  
4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be 
analyzed in accordance with 1VAC30-45, Certification for 
Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories, or 1VAC30-
46, Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 
Laboratories.  

B. Records.  
1. Records of monitoring information shall include:  

a. The date, and exact place and time of sampling or 
measurements;  
b. The individual(s) individuals who performed the 
sampling or measurements;  

c. The date(s) dates and time(s) times analyses were 
performed;  
d. The individual(s) individuals who performed the 
analyses;  
e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and  
f. The results of such analyses.  

2. Except for records of monitoring information required 
by this permit related to the permittee's sewage sludge use 
and disposal activities, which shall be retained for a period 
of at least five years, the permittee shall retain records of 
all monitoring information, including all calibration and 
maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings 
for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 
reports required by this permit, and records of all data used 
to complete the registration statement for this permit, for a 
period of at least three years from the date of the sample, 
measurement, report or request for coverage. This period 
of retention shall be extended automatically during the 
course of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated 
activity or regarding control standards applicable to the 
permittee or as requested by the board.  

C. Reporting monitoring results.  
1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 
required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 
month after monitoring takes place, unless another 
reporting schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. 
Monitoring results shall be submitted to the department's 
regional office.  
2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge 
Monitoring Report (DMR) or on forms provided, approved 
or specified by the department.  
3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 
addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 
this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 
Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the 
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 
specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 
be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 
submitted in the DMR or reporting form specified by the 
department.  
4. Calculations for all limitations which require averaging 
of measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 
otherwise specified in this permit.  

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 
to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 
which the board may request to determine whether cause 
exists for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating 
coverage under this permit or to determine compliance with 
this permit. The board may require the permittee to furnish, 
upon request, such plans, specifications, and other pertinent 
information as may be necessary to determine the effect of 
the wastes from his discharge on the quality of state waters, 
or such other information as may be necessary to accomplish 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 26 Virginia Register of Regulations August 21, 2017 

2915 

the purposes of the State Water Control Law. The permittee 
shall also furnish to the department upon request copies of 
records required to be kept by this permit.  

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 
noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 
final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 
this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 
each schedule date.  

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 
permit or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 
unlawful for any person to:  

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 
other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or  
2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological 
properties of such state waters and make them detrimental 
to the public health, to animal or aquatic life, to the use of 
such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, for 
recreation, or for other uses.  

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee who 
discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, 
industrial waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious 
substance into or upon state waters in violation of Part II F, or 
who discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may 
reasonably be expected to enter state waters in violation of 
Part II F, shall notify the department of the discharge 
immediately upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case 
later than 24 hours after said discovery. A written report of 
the unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the 
department within five days of discovery of the discharge. 
The written report shall contain:  

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge;  
2. The cause of the discharge;  
3. The date on which the discharge occurred;  
4. The length of time that the discharge continued;  
5. The volume of the discharge;  
6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 
continue;  
7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 
volume of the discharge will be; and  
8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate and 
prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 
discharges not authorized by this permit.  

Discharges reportable to the department under the 
immediate reporting requirements of other regulations are 
exempted from this requirement.  

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 
unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or 
upset should occur from a treatment works and the discharge 
enters or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee 
shall promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, the 
department by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. 
This notification shall provide all available details of the 

incident, including any adverse affects effects on aquatic life 
and the known number of fish killed. The permittee shall 
reduce the report to writing and shall submit it to the 
department within five days of discovery of the discharge in 
accordance with Part II I 2. Unusual and extraordinary 
discharges include but are not limited to any discharge 
resulting from:  

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 
indirectly from processing operations;  
2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment;  
3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the 
treatment works; and  
4. Flooding or other acts of nature.  

I. Reports of noncompliance. The permittee shall report any 
noncompliance which may adversely affect state waters or 
may endanger public health.  

1. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from 
the time the permittee becomes aware of the 
circumstances. The following shall be included as 
information which shall be reported within 24 hours under 
this subsection:  

a. Any unanticipated bypass; and  
b. Any upset which causes a discharge to surface waters.  

2. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 
shall contain:  

a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause;  
b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates 
and times, and if the noncompliance has not been 
corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 
and  
c. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 
prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance.  

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 
basis for reports of noncompliance under Part II I if the 
oral report has been received within 24 hours and no 
adverse impact on state waters has been reported.  
3. The permittee shall report all instances of 
noncompliance not reported under Part II I 1 or 2, in 
writing, at the time the next monitoring reports are 
submitted. The reports shall contain the information listed 
in Part II I 2.  
NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 
in Parts II G, H and I may be made to the department's 
regional office. Reports may be made by telephone, FAX, 
or online at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponseP
reparedness/PollutionReportingForm.aspx. For reports 
outside normal working hours, leave a message and this 
shall fulfill the immediate reporting requirement. For 
emergencies, the Virginia Department of Emergency 
Services maintains a 24-hour telephone service at 1-800-
468-8892.  

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponsePreparedness/PollutionReportingForm.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponsePreparedness/PollutionReportingForm.aspx
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J. Notice of planned changes.  
1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as 
soon as possible of any planned physical alterations or 
additions to the permitted facility. Notice is required only 
when:  

a. The permittee plans alteration or addition to any 
building, structure, facility, or installation from which 
there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 
construction of which commenced:  
(1) After promulgation of standards of performance 
under § 306 of Clean Water Act which are applicable to 
such source; or  
(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 
accordance with § 306 of Clean Water Act which are 
applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 
promulgated in accordance with § 306 within 120 days of 
their proposal;  
b. The alteration or addition could significantly change 
the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants 
discharged. This notification applies to pollutants which 
are subject neither to effluent limitations nor to 
notification requirements specified elsewhere in this 
permit; or  
c. The alteration or addition results in a significant 
change in the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices, 
and such alteration, addition, or change may justify the 
application of permit conditions that are different from or 
absent in the existing permit, including notification of 
additional use or disposal sites not reported during the 
permit application registration process or not reported 
pursuant to an approved land application plan.  

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the 
department of any planned changes in the permitted facility 
or activity which may result in noncompliance with permit 
requirements.  

K. Signatory requirements.  
1. Registration statements. All registration statements shall 
be signed as follows:  

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 
For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 
officer means: (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or 
vice-president of the corporation in charge of a principal 
business function, or any other person who performs 
similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 
the corporation, or (ii) the manager of one or more 
manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, 
provided the manager is authorized to make management 
decisions that govern the operation of the regulated 
facility including having the explicit or implicit duty of 
making major capital investment recommendations, and 
initiating and directing other comprehensive measures to 
assure long-term environmental compliance with 
environmental laws and regulations; the manager can 

ensure that the necessary systems are established or 
actions taken to gather complete and accurate 
information for permit application registration 
requirements; and where authority to sign documents has 
been assigned or delegated to the manager in accordance 
with corporate procedures;  
b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 
partner or the proprietor, respectively; or  
c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 
agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 
elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 
executive officer of a public agency includes: (i) the 
chief executive officer of the agency, or (ii) a senior 
executive officer having responsibility for the overall 
operations of a principal geographic unit of the agency.  

2. Reports, etc and other information. All reports required 
by permits, and other information requested by the board 
shall be signed by a person described in Part II K 1, or by a 
duly authorized representative of that person. A person is a 
duly authorized representative only if:  

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 
described in Part II K 1;  
b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 
position having responsibility for the overall operation of 
the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 
plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 
superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or 
an individual or position having overall responsibility for 
environmental matters for the company (a duly 
authorized representative may thus be either a named 
individual or any individual occupying a named 
position); and  
c. The written authorization is submitted to the 
department.  

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part 
II K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual 
or position has responsibility for the overall operation of 
the facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements 
of Part II K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to 
or together with any reports or information to be signed by 
an authorized representative.  
4. Certification. Any person signing a document under Part 
II K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification:  

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or 
supervision in accordance with a system designed to 
assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 
evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 
of the person or persons who manage the system, or 
those persons directly responsible for gathering the 
information, the information submitted is, to the best of 
my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I 
am aware that there are significant penalties for 
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submitting false information, including the possibility of 
fine and imprisonment for knowing violations."  

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 
conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 
constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 
Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 
provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the 
State Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 
noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action; for permit 
coverage termination, revocation and reissuance, or 
modification; or denial of a permit coverage renewal 
application.  

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 
prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water 
Act for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge 
use or disposal established under § 405(d) of the Clean Water 
Act within the time provided in the regulations that establish 
these standards or prohibitions or standards for sewage sludge 
use or disposal, even if this permit has not yet been modified 
to incorporate the requirement.  

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 
activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of 
this permit, the permittee shall apply for and obtain coverage 
under a new permit. All permittees with a currently effective 
permit coverage shall submit a new registration statement at 
least 30 days before the expiration date of the existing permit, 
unless permission for a later date has been granted by the 
board. The board shall not grant permission for registration 
statements to be submitted later than the expiration date of the 
existing permit.  

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 
property rights in either real or personal property or any 
exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 
private property or invasion of personal rights, or any 
infringement of federal, state or local law or regulations.  

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 
preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 
the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 
established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 
under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 
Except as provided in permit conditions on bypass (Part II U) 
and upset (Part II V), nothing in this permit shall be construed 
to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal penalties for 
noncompliance.  

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 
permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 
legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 
liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 
subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the 
State Water Control Law.  

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 
all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 
systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 
which are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper 
operation and maintenance also includes effective plant 
performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 
adequate laboratory and process controls, including 
appropriate quality assurance procedures. This provision 
requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or 
similar systems which are installed by the permittee only 
when the operation is necessary to achieve compliance with 
the conditions of this permit.  

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges or other 
pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 
of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 
any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters.  

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 
steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 
disposal in violation of this permit which has a reasonable 
likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 
environment.  

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 
be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 
would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 
activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 
of this permit.  

U. Bypass.  
1. "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste 
streams from any portion of a treatment facility. The 
permittee may allow any bypass to occur which does not 
cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only if it also 
is for essential maintenance to ensure efficient operation. 
These bypasses are not subject to the provisions of Part II 
U 2 and U 3.  
2. Notice.  

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 
of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, 
if possible at least 10 days before the date of the bypass.  
b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit 
notice of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part II I.  

3. Prohibition of bypass.  
a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 
enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, 
unless:  
(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 
personal injury, or severe property damage;  
(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 
such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 
of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 
periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 
satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 
been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 
judgment to prevent a bypass which occurred during 
normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 
maintenance; and  
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(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under 
Part II U 2.  
b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass, after 
considering its adverse effects, if the board determines 
that it will meet the three conditions listed in Part II U 3 
a.  

V. Upset.  
1. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 
brought for noncompliance with technology based permit 
effluent limitations if the requirements of Part II V 2 are 
met. A determination made during administrative review of 
claims that noncompliance was caused by upset, and 
before an action for noncompliance, is not a final 
administrative action subject to judicial review.  
2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 
defense of upset shall demonstrate, through properly 
signed, contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant 
evidence that:  

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 
the cause(s) causes of the upset;  
b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 
operated;  
c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 
in Part II I; and  
d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 
required under Part II S.  

3. In any enforcement proceeding the permittee seeking to 
establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of 
proof.  

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 
director, or an authorized representative, upon presentation of 
credentials and other documents as may be required by law, 
to:  

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 
facility or activity is located or conducted, or where 
records must be kept under the conditions of this permit;  
2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 
records that must be kept under the conditions of this 
permit;  
3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 
(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 
operations regulated or required under this permit; and  
4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 
of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized 
by the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law, 
any substances or parameters at any location.  

For purposes of this subsection, the time for inspection shall 
be deemed reasonable during regular business hours, and or 
whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained 
herein shall make an inspection unreasonable during an 
emergency.  

X. Permit actions. Permits coverage may be modified, 
revoked and reissued, or terminated for cause. The filing of a 
request by the permittee for a permit modification, revocation 
and reissuance, or coverage termination, or a notification of 
planned changes or anticipated noncompliance does not stay 
any permit condition.  

Y. Transfer of permits permit coverage.  
1. Permits are Permit coverage is not transferable to any 
person except after notice to the department. Except as 
provided in Part II Y 2, a permit may be transferred by the 
permittee to a new owner or operator only if the permit has 
been modified or revoked and reissued, or a minor 
modification made, to identify the new permittee and 
incorporate such other requirements as may be necessary 
under the State Water Control Law and the Clean Water 
Act.  
2. As an alternative to transfers under Part II Y 1, 
Coverage under this permit may be automatically 
transferred to a new permittee if:  

a. The current permittee notifies the department within 
30 days of the transfer of the title to the facility or 
property;  
b. The notice includes a written agreement between the 
existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 
transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 
between them; and  
c. The board does not notify the existing permittee and 
the proposed new permittee of its intent to modify or 
revoke and reissue the permit deny permit coverage. If 
this notice is not received, the transfer is effective on the 
date specified in the agreement mentioned in Part II Y 2 
b.  

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable. 
If any provision of this permit or the application of any 
provision of this permit to any circumstance is held invalid, 
the application of such provision to other circumstances and 
the remainder of this permit shall not be affected thereby.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4714; Filed August 1, 2017, 8:53 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 14 of the Code 
of Virginia, which exempts adoption, amendment, or repeal 
of wasteload allocations by the State Water Control Board 
pursuant to State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq. of 
the Code of Virginia) if the board (i) provides public notice in 
the Virginia Register; (ii) if requested by the public during the 
initial public notice 30-day comment period, forms an 
advisory group composed of relevant stakeholders; (iii) 
receives and provides summary response to written 
comments; and (iv) conducts at least one public meeting. 
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Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-720. Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation (amending 9VAC25-
720-60).  
Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
33 USC § 1313(e) of the Clean Water Act. 
Effective Date: September 20, 2017.  
Agency Contact: William K. Norris, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4022, FAX (804) 
698-4019, or email william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments reflect the transfer of nitrogen wasteload 
allocation from the Virginia Electric Power Company 
(Dominion) to Tranlin, Inc. (Vastly) as identified in a 
memorandum of understanding dated April 5, 2017. 

9VAC25-720-60. James River Basin.  
EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections A and B of 9VAC25-720-60 are not amended; therefore, the text of those subsections is not 

set out. 
C. Nitrogen and phosphorus wasteload allocations to restore the Chesapeake Bay and its tidal rivers. 
The following table presents nitrogen and phosphorus wasteload allocations for the identified significant dischargers and the 

total nitrogen and total phosphorus wasteload allocations for the listed facilities.  

Virginia 
Waterbody ID Discharger Name VPDES Permit 

No. 

Total Nitrogen (TN) 
Wasteload Allocation 

(lbs/yr) 

Total Phosphorus (TP) 
Wasteload Allocation 

(lbs/yr) 

I37R Buena Vista STP VA0020991 41,115 3,426 

I09R Covington STP VA0025542 54,820 4,568 

H02R Georgia Pacific VA0003026 122,489 49,658 

I37R Lees Carpets VA0004677 30,456 12,182 

I35R Lexington-
Rockbridge WQCF VA0088161 54,820 4,568 

I09R Low Moor STP VA0027979 9,137 761 

I09R Lower Jackson River 
STP VA0090671 63,957 5,330 

I04R MeadWestvaco VA0003646 394,400 159,892 

H12R Amherst STP VA0031321 10,964 914 

H05R BWX Technologies 
Inc. VA0003697 187,000 1,523 

H05R Greif Inc. VA0006408 73,246 29,694 

H31R Lake Monticello STP VA0024945 18,182 1,515 

H05R Lynchburg STP1 VA0024970 536,019 33,501 

H28R Moores Creek 
Regional STP VA0025518 274,100 22,842 

H38R Powhatan CC STP VA0020699 8,588 716 

J11R Crewe WWTP VA0020303 9,137 761 

J01R Farmville WWTP VA0083135 43,856 3,655 

G02E The Sustainability 
Park, LLC VA0002780 25,583 1,919 

G01E E I du Pont - 
Spruance VA0004669 201,080 7,816 
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G01E Falling Creek 
WWTP VA0024996 153,801 15,380 

G01E Henrico County 
WWTP VA0063690 1,142,085 114,209 

G03E Honeywell – 
Hopewell VA0005291 1,090,798 51,592 

G03R Hopewell WWTP VA0066630 1,827,336 76,139 

G15E HRSD – Boat Harbor 
STP VA0081256 740,000 76,139 

G11E HRSD – James River 
STP VA0081272 1,250,000 60,911 

G10E HRSD – 
Williamsburg STP VA0081302 800,000 68,525 

G02E Philip Morris – Park 
500 VA0026557 139,724 2,650 

G01E Proctors Creek 
WWTP VA0060194 411,151 41,115 

G01E Richmond WWTP1 VA0063177 1,096,402 68,525 

G02E Dominion-
Chesterfield2 VA0004146 352,036 272,036 210 

J15R South Central WW 
Authority VA0025437 350,239 35,024 

G07R Chickahominy 
WWTP VA0088480 6,167 123 

G05R Tyson Foods – Glen 
Allen VA0004031 19,552 409 

G11E HRSD – Nansemond 
STP 

VA0081299 750,000 91,367 

G15E HRSD – Army Base 
STP 

VA0081230 610,000 54,820 

G15E HRSD – VIP WWTP VA0081281 750,000 121,822 

G15E JH Miles & 
Company 

VA0003263 153,500 21,500 

C07E HRSD – Ches.-
Elizabeth STP 

VA0081264 1,100,000 108,674 

G01E Tranlin/Vastly  80,000  
                          TOTALS   14,901,739 1,354,375 

Notes:  
1Wasteload allocations for localities served by combined sewers are based on dry weather design flow capacity. During wet 
weather flow events the discharge shall achieve a TN concentration of 8.0 mg/l and a TP concentration of 1.0 mg/l.  
2Wasteload allocations are "net" loads, based on the portion of the nutrient discharge introduced by the facility's process 
waste streams, and not originating in raw water intake. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5124; Filed July 31, 2017, 10:49 a.m.  
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Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 14 of the Code 
of Virginia, which exempts adoption, amendment, or repeal 
of wasteload allocations by the State Water Control Board 
pursuant to State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq. of 
the Code of Virginia) if the board (i) provides public notice in 
the Virginia Register; (ii) if requested by the public during the 
initial public notice 30-day comment period, forms an 
advisory group composed of relevant stakeholders; (iii) 
receives and provides summary response to written 
comments; and (iv) conducts at least one public meeting. 
Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-720. Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation (amending 9VAC25-
720-60, 9VAC25-720-100, 9VAC25-720-110).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
33 USC § 1313(e) of the Clean Water Act. 
Effective Date: September 20, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Mark Richards, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4392, FAX (804) 
698-4032, or email mark.richards@deq.virginia.gov. 
Summary:  

The amendments revise seven existing total maximum daily 
load (TMDL) wasteload allocations and add 12 new 
TMDL wasteload allocations in the James River Basin 
(9VAC25-720-60 A), add two new TMDL wasteload 
allocations in the Chowan River -- Dismal Swamp River 
Basin (9VAC25-720-100 A), and revise two existing TMDL 
wasteload allocations and remove four TMDL wasteload 
allocations in the Chesapeake Bay -- Small Coastal -- 
Eastern Shore River Basin (9VAC25-720-110 A). 

9VAC25-720-60. James River Basin.  
A. Total maximum daily loads (TMDLs).  

TMDL 
# Stream Name TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA1 Units 

1. Pheasanty Run Benthic TMDL 
Reports for Six 
Impaired Stream 
Segments in the 
Potomac-
Shenandoah and 
James River 
Basins 

Bath I14R Organic 
solids 

1,231.00 LB/YR 

2. Wallace Mill Stream Benthic TMDL 
Reports for Six 
Impaired Stream 
Segments in the 
Potomac-
Shenandoah and 
James River 
Basins 

Augusta I32R Organic 
solids 

2,814.00 LB/YR 

3. Montebello Sp. 
Branch 

Benthic TMDL 
Reports for Six 
Impaired Stream 
Segments in the 
Potomac-
Shenandoah and 
James River 
Basins 

Nelson H09R Organic 
solids 

37.00 LB/YR 

4. Unnamed tributary 
to Deep Creek 

General Standard 
Total Maximum 
Daily Load for 
Unnamed 
Tributary to Deep 
Creek 

Nottoway J11R Raw 
sewage 

0 GAL/YR 
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5.  Unnamed tributary 
to Chickahominy 
River 

Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
(TMDL) 
Development for 
the Unnamed 
Tributary to the 
Chickahominy 
River 

Hanover G05R Total 
phosphorus 

409.35 LB/YR 

6. Rivanna River Benthic TMDL 
Development for 
the Rivanna River 
Watershed 

Albemarle, 
Greene, Nelson, 
Orange 

H27R, 
H28R 

Sediment 10,229 Lbs/Day 

7. Jackson River Benthic TMDL 
Development for 
the Jackson River, 
Virginia 

Alleghany, 
Bath, Highland 

I04R, 
I09R 

Total 
phosphorus 

72,955 LB/GS2 

8. Jackson River Benthic TMDL 
Development for 
the Jackson River, 
Virginia 

Alleghany, 
Bath, Highland 

I04R, 
I09R 

Total 
nitrogen 

220,134 LB/GS 

9. Little Calfpasture Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development to 
Address a Benthic 
Impairment in the 
Little Calfpasture 
River, Rockbridge 
County, Virginia 

Rockbridge 132R Sediment 30.4 T/YR 

10. Phelps Branch Phelps Branch 
Sediment TMDL 
Development 
Report for a 
Benthic 
Impairment in 
Appomattox 
County, Virginia 

Appomattox H06R Sediment 115.7 T/YR 

11. Long Branch Sediment TMDL 
Development 
Report for Benthic 
Impairments in 
Long Branch and 
Buffalo River in 
Amherst County, 
Virginia 

Amherst H11R Sediment 16.2 T/YR 

12. Buffalo River Sediment TMDL 
Development 
Report for Benthic 
Impairments in 
Long Branch and 
Buffalo River in 
Amherst County, 
Virginia 

Amherst H11R Sediment 306.4 T/YR 

13. Chickahominy River Benthic TMDL 
Development for 
Chickahominy 
River, Virginia 

Hanover, 
Henrico 

G05R Sediment 294.03 T/YR 
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14. Colliers Creek Bacteria TMDL 
Development for 
Colliers Creek, 
North Fork 
Buffalo Creek, 
South Fork 
Buffalo Creek, 
Buffalo Creek, 
Maury River, and 
Cedar Creek and a 
Sediment TMDL 
Development for 
Colliers Creek 

Rockbridge 138R Sediment 103.4 T/YR 

15. Angola Creek (1) - 
VAC-
J06R_ANG01A00 

Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the Appomattox 
River Basin 

Cumberland J06 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

16. Angola Creek (2) - 
VAC-
J06R_ANG02A00 

Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the Appomattox 
River Basin 

Cumberland J06 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

17. Horsepen Creek Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the Appomattox 
River Basin 

Cumberland J06 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

18. Little Sandy Creek Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the Appomattox 
River Basin 

Prince Edward J03 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

19. Saylers Creek  Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the Appomattox 
River Basin 

Prince Edward J06 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

20. Spring Creek Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the Appomattox 
River Basin 

Prince Edward J02 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

21. West Creek Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the Appomattox 
River Basin 

Amelia J11 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

22. Briery Creek Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the Appomattox 
River Basin 

Prince Edward J05 E. coli 3.50E+09 cfu/year 
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23. Bush River (1) - 
VAC-
J04R_BSR02A02 

Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the Appomattox 
River Basin 

Prince Edward J04, 
J05 

E. coli 3.50E+09 cfu/year 

24. Bush River (2) - 
VAC-
J03R_BSR03A02 

Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the Appomattox 
River Basin 

Prince Edward J03, 
J04, 
J05 

E. coli 3.50E+09 cfu/year 

25. Swift Creek (1) - 
VAP-
J16R_SFT01A00 

Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the Appomattox 
River Basin 

Chesterfield J16 E. coli 8.37E+09 cfu/year 

26. Swift Creek (2) - 
VAP-
J17R_SFT01B98 

Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the Appomattox 
River Basin 

Chesterfield J16, 
J17 

E. coli 3.24E+11 cfu/year 

27. Swift Creek (3) - 
VAP-
J17R_SFT01C98 

Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the Appomattox 
River Basin 

Chesterfield J16, 
J17 

E. coli 4.76E+11 cfu/year 

28. Flat Creek Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the Appomattox 
River Basin 

Nottoway, 
Amelia 

J08, 
J09 

E. coli 5.24E+11 cfu/year 

29. Nibbs Creek Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the Appomattox 
River Basin 

Amelia J09 E. coli 5.24E+11 cfu/year 

30. Deep Creek Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the Appomattox 
River Basin 

Nottoway J11 E. coli 8.71E+11 cfu/year 

31. Appomattox River 
(1) - VAC-
J01R_APP03A02, 
VAC-
J01R_APP04A02, 
VAC-
J01R_APP05A04, 
VAC-
J06R_APP05A02, 
VAP-
J07R_APP01A98, 
VAP-
J10R_APP01A98 

Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the Appomattox 
River Basin 

Cumberland, 
Powhatan, 
Amelia, Prince 
Edward, 
Appomattox 

J01, 
J02, 
J03, 
J04, 
J05, 
J06, 
J07 

E. coli 1.07E+13 cfu/year 
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32. Appomattox River 
(2), lower - VAP-
J15R_APP01A98 

Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the Appomattox 
River Basin 

Chesterfield, 
Cumberland, 
Powhatan, 
Nottoway, 
Amelia, 
Dinwiddie, 
Prince Edward, 
Appomattox 

J01, 
J02, 
J03, 
J04, 
J05, 
J06, 
J07, 
J08, 
J09, 
J10, 
J11, 
J12, 
J13, 
J14, 
J15 

E. coli 1.66E+13 cfu/year 

33. Appomattox River 
and tributaries, lower 
tidal (3) - VAP-
J15E_APP01A98, 
VAP-
J15E_APP02A98, 
VAP-
J15E_APP02B12 

Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the Appomattox 
River Basin 

Chesterfield, 
Cumberland, 
Nottoway, 
Petersburg, 
Amelia, 
Colonial 
Heights, Prince 
Edward, 
Appomattox 

J01, 
J02, 
J03, 
J04, 
J05, 
J06, 
J07, 
J08, 
J09, 
J10, 
J11, 
J12, 
J13, 
J14, 
J15, 
J16, 
J17 

E. coli 7.47E+13 cfu/year 

34. Bear Garden Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for 
the Bear Garden 
Creek Watershed 

Buckingham H20 E. coli 3.15E+08 cfu/day 

35. Stonewall Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Bent Creek, North 
Creek, Stonewall 
Creek, Walkers 
Ford Creek, and 
Wreck Island 
Creek 

Appomattox H05 E. coli 9.28E+10 cfu/year 

36. Bent Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Bent Creek, North 
Creek, Stonewall 
Creek, Walkers 
Ford Creek, and 
Wreck Island 
Creek 

Appomattox H07 E. coli 2.26E+11 cfu/year 
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37. North Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Bent Creek, North 
Creek, Stonewall 
Creek, Walkers 
Ford Creek, and 
Wreck Island 
Creek 

Appomattox H06 E. coli 2.96E+11 cfu/year 

38. Wreck Island Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Bent Creek, North 
Creek, Stonewall 
Creek, Walkers 
Ford Creek, and 
Wreck Island 
Creek 

Appomattox H06 E. coli 8.76E+11 cfu/year 

39. Walkers Ford Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Bent Creek, North 
Creek, Stonewall 
Creek, Walkers 
Ford Creek, and 
Wreck Island 
Creek 

Amherst H05 E. coli 8.90E+11 cfu/year 

40. Bleakhorn Creek TMDL Report for 
Chesapeake Bay 
Shellfish Waters: 
Bleakhorn Creek, 
Bennett Creek, 
and Knotts Creek 
Bacterial 
Impairments 

Suffolk G13 Fecal 
coliform 

2.66E+09 MPN/day 

41. Knotts Creek TMDL Report for 
Chesapeake Bay 
Shellfish Waters: 
Bleakhorn Creek, 
Bennett Creek, 
and Knotts Creek 
Bacterial 
Impairments 

Suffolk G13 Fecal 
coliform 

1.07E+10 MPN/day 

42. Bennett Creek TMDL Report for 
Chesapeake Bay 
Shellfish Waters: 
Bleakhorn Creek, 
Bennett Creek, 
and Knotts Creek 
Bacterial 
Impairments 

Suffolk G13 Fecal 
coliform 

6.37E+10 MPN/day 
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43. Chickahominy River 
and tributaries 

E. coli TMDL 
Development for 
Chickahominy 
River and 
Tributaries 

New Kent, 
Henrico, Charles 
City, Hanover 

G05, 
G06, 
G07 

E. coli 2.41E+12 cfu/year 

44. Chuckatuck Creek 
and Brewers Creek 

Shellfish Bacteria 
Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
(TMDL) 
Development 
Chuckatuck Creek 
and Brewers 
Creek Watershed 

Isle of Wight G11 Fecal 
coliform 

4.79E+11 MPN/day 

45. Paradise Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for 
the Elizabeth 
River Watershed 

Portsmouth G15 Enterococci 5.04E+11 cfu/day 

46. Lafayette River, 
upper 

Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for 
the Elizabeth 
River Watershed 

Norfolk G15 Enterococci 1.05E+13 cfu/day 

47. Lower and Upper 
Western Branch, 
Elizabeth River 

Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for 
the Elizabeth 
River Watershed 

Chesapeake, 
Portsmouth 

G15 Enterococci 2.00E+13 cfu/day 

48. Upper Mainstem, 
Lower Southern 
Branch, Lower 
Eastern Branch 
Elizabeth River, 
Broad Creek, Indian 
River 

Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for 
the Elizabeth 
River Watershed 

Chesapeake, 
Portsmouth, 
Norfolk 

G15, 
K39 

Enterococci 5.78E+13 cfu/day 

49. Fourmile Creek Bacteria TMDL 
for Fourmile 
Creek 

Henrico G02 E. coli 3.99E+10 cfu/year 

50. Hardware River, 
North Fork 

Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
North Fork 
Hardware River 
and Hardware 
River 

Albemarle H18 E. coli 0.06E+12 cfu/year 
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51. Hardware River Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
North Fork 
Hardware River 
and Hardware 
River 

Fluvanna, 
Albemarle 

H18, 
H19 

E. coli 0.02E+13 cfu/year 

52. Walker Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Hays Creek, 
Moffatts Creek, 
Walker Creek, and 
Otts Creek 

Rockbridge I34 E. coli 6.00E+10 cfu/year 

53. Otts Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Hays Creek, 
Moffatts Creek, 
Walker Creek, and 
Otts Creek 

Augusta I34 E. coli 9.00E+10 cfu/year 

54. Hays Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Hays Creek, 
Moffatts Creek, 
Walker Creek, and 
Otts Creek 

Rockbridge I34 E. coli 2.00E+11 cfu/year 

55. Hoffler Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for 
the Hoffler Creek 
Watershed 

Portsmouth G15 Enterococci 5.39E+11 cfu/day 

56. Powell Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
the James River - 
Hopewell to 
Westover 

Prince George G03 E. coli 6.12E+10 cfu/year 

57. Bailey Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
the James River - 
Hopewell to 
Westover 

Prince George G03 E. coli 1.62E+11 cfu/year 
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58. Bailey Bay, Bailey 
Creek, Cattail Creek 

Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
the James River - 
Hopewell to 
Westover 

Prince George, 
Hopewell 

G03 E. coli 8.47E+12 cfu/year 

59. James River Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
the James River - 
Hopewell to 
Westover 

Prince George, 
Charles City, 
Hopewell 

G03 E. coli 8.67E+14 cfu/year 

60. Austin Creek Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the James River 
Basin 

Buckingham H21 E. coli 1.62E+10 cfu/year 

61. Fisby Branch Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the James River 
Basin 

Buckingham H21 E. coli 2.15E+10 cfu/year 

62. Rock Island Creek Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the James River 
Basin 

Buckingham H17 E. coli 3.38E+10 cfu/year 

63. Slate River, upper Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the James River 
Basin 

Buckingham H21 E. coli 4.22E+10 cfu/year 

64. Troublesome Creek Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the James River 
Basin 

Buckingham H21 E. coli 5.23E+10 cfu/year 

65. North River Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the James River 
Basin 

Buckingham H21 E. coli 5.52E+10 cfu/year 

66. Ballinger Creek Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the James River 
Basin 

Albemarle H17 E. coli 5.75E+10 cfu/year 

67. Totier Creek Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the James River 
Basin 

Albemarle H17 E. coli 1.62E+11 cfu/year 
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68. Slate River, lower Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the James River 
Basin 

Buckingham H21, 
H22 

E. coli 3.19E+12 cfu/year 

69. Fine Creek Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries - 
Lower Piedmont 
Region 

Powhatan H38 E. coli 3.66E+10 cfu/year 

70. Big Lickinghole 
Creek, Little 
Lickinghole Creek 

Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries - 
Lower Piedmont 
Region 

Goochland H37 E. coli 7.94E+10 cfu/year 

71. Byrd Creek Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries - 
Lower Piedmont 
Region 

Goochland, 
Fluvanna 

H34 E. coli 1.08E+11 cfu/year 

72. Upper James River Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries - 
Lower Piedmont 
Region 

Cumberland, 
Fluvanna, 
Powhatan, 
Goochland 

H33, 
H34, 
H37 

E. coli 3.50E+11 cfu/year 

73. Beaverdam Creek Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries - 
Lower Piedmont 
Region 

Goochland H38 E. coli 1.60E+12 cfu/year 

74. Lower James River, 
lower 

Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries - 
Lower Piedmont 
Region 

Cumberland, 
Fluvanna, 
Powhatan, 
Goochland 

H33, 
H34, 
H37, 
H38 

E. coli 8.20E+12 cfu/year 

75. No Name Creek Bacterial Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries - 
City of Richmond 

Chesterfield G01 E. coli 4.66E+11 cfu/year 
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76. Bernards Creek Bacterial Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries - 
City of Richmond 

Powhatan H39 E. coli 1.67E+12 cfu/year 

77. Goode Creek Bacterial Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries - 
City of Richmond 

Richmond City G01 E. coli 2.52E+12 cfu/year 

78. Gillies Creek Bacterial Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries - 
City of Richmond 

Henrico, 
Richmond City 

G01 E. coli 2.93E+12 cfu/year 

79. Powhite Creek Bacterial Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries - 
City of Richmond 

Chesterfield H39 E. coli 3.34E+12 cfu/year 

80. Almond Creek Bacterial Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries - 
City of Richmond 

Henrico G01 E. coli 4.39E+12 cfu/year 

81. Falling Creek Bacterial Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries - 
City of Richmond 

Chesterfield, 
Richmond City 

G01 E. coli 1.64E+13 cfu/year 

82. Reedy Creek Bacterial Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries - 
City of Richmond 

Richmond City H39 E. coli 8.23E+13 cfu/year 

83. Tidal James River, 
tidal 

Bacterial Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries - 
City of Richmond 

Henrico, 
Richmond City, 
Goochland, 
Powhatan, 
Chesterfield 

G01, 
G02, 
H39 

E. coli 3.76E+14 cfu/year 
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84. Lower James River, 
lower 

Bacterial Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries - 
City of Richmond 

Henrico, 
Richmond City, 
Goochland, 
Powhatan, 
Chesterfield 

H39 E. coli 3.06E+15 cfu/year 

85. Ivy Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
the James River 
Basin E. coli 
TMDL 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries 
near Lynchburg, 
VA 

Lynchburg, 
Bedford 

H03 E. coli 6.25E+11 
4.07E+12 

cfu/year 

86. Burton Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
the James River 
Basin E. coli 
TMDL 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries 
near Lynchburg, 
VA 

Lynchburg, 
Campbell 

H03 E. coli 7.37E+11 
3.47E+12 

cfu/year 

87. Judith Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
the James River 
Basin E. coli 
TMDL 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries 
near Lynchburg, 
VA 

Lynchburg, 
Bedford 

H03 E. coli 8.31E+11 
3.26E+11 

cfu/year 
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88. Tomahawk Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
the James River 
Basin E. coli 
TMDL 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries 
near Lynchburg, 
VA 

Bedford, 
Campbell, 
Lynchburg 

H03 E. coli 8.34E+11 
1.01E+12 

cfu/year 

89. Fishing Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
the James River 
Basin E. coli 
TMDL 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries 
near Lynchburg, 
VA 

Lynchburg H03 E. coli 1.03E+12 
3.76E+13 

cfu/year 

90. Blackwater Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
the James River 
Basin E. coli 
TMDL 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries 
near Lynchburg, 
VA 

Lynchburg H03 E. coli 3.06E+12 
3.61E+14 

cfu/year 

91. James River, lower Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
the James River 
Basin E.coli 
TMDL 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries 
near Lynchburg, 
VA 

Amherst, 
Bedford, 
Campbell, 
Lynchburg  

H01, 
H02, 
H03, 
H04, 
H05 

E. coli 2.75E+14 
1.33E+15 

cfu/year 

92. Baptist Run Fecal Bacteria 
Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
Warwick River 

York G11 E. coli 3.89E+09 cfu/year 

93. Deep Creek Fecal Bacteria 
Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
Warwick River 

Newport News G11, 
C07 

Enterococci 5.59E+12 cfu/year 
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94. Skiffes Creek Fecal Bacteria 
Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
Warwick River 

James City G11 Fecal 
coliform 

2.46E+12 cfu/year 

95. James River, 
Warwick River 

Fecal Bacteria 
Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
Warwick River 

Newport News, 
York 

G11 Fecal 
coliform 

3.04E+12 cfu/year 

96. Kings Creek and 
Bay 

Shellfish Bacteria 
Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
(TMDL) 
Development 
Kings Creek and 
Bay and Ballard 
Creek and Bay 
Watersheds 

Isle of Wight G11 Fecal 
coliform 

1.23E+09 counts/day 

97. Ballard Creek and 
Bay 

Shellfish Bacteria 
Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
(TMDL) 
Development 
Kings Creek and 
Bay and Ballard 
Creek and Bay 
Watersheds 

Isle of Wight G11 Fecal 
coliform 

1.64E+09 counts/day 

98. Lawnes Creek TMDL Report for 
Chesapeake Bay 
Shellfish Waters: 
Lawnes Creek 
Bacterial 
Impairment 

Surry G11 Fecal 
coliform 

5.94E+08 MPN/day 

99. Looney Creek Bacteria TMDL 
for Looney Creek 

Botetourt I26 E. coli 1.84E+10 cfu/year 

100. Buffalo Creek, South 
Fork 

Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Colliers Creek, 
North Fork 
Buffalo Creek, 
South Fork 
Buffalo Creek, 
Buffalo Creek, 
Maury River and 
Cedar Creek and a 
Sediment Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Colliers Creek 

Botetourt, 
Rockbridge 

I38 E. coli 2.01E+11 cfu/year 
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101. Colliers Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Colliers Creek, 
North Fork 
Buffalo Creek, 
South Fork 
Buffalo Creek, 
Buffalo Creek, 
Maury River and 
Cedar Creek and a 
Sediment Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Colliers Creek 

Rockbridge I38 E. coli 4.75E+11 cfu/year 

102. Cedar Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Colliers Creek, 
North Fork 
Buffalo Creek, 
South Fork 
Buffalo Creek, 
Buffalo Creek, 
Maury River and 
Cedar Creek and a 
Sediment Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Colliers Creek 

Rockbridge I28 E. coli 5.01E+11 cfu/year 

103. Buffalo Creek, North 
Fork 

Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Colliers Creek, 
North Fork 
Buffalo Creek, 
South Fork 
Buffalo Creek, 
Buffalo Creek, 
Maury River and 
Cedar Creek and a 
Sediment Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Colliers Creek 

Rockbridge I38 E. coli 6.52E+11 cfu/year 

104. Buffalo Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Colliers Creek, 
North Fork 
Buffalo Creek, 
South Fork 

Rockbridge I38 E. coli 1.91E+12 cfu/year 
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Buffalo Creek, 
Buffalo Creek, 
Maury River and 
Cedar Creek and a 
Sediment Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Colliers Creek 

105. Maury River Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Colliers Creek, 
North Fork 
Buffalo Creek, 
South Fork 
Buffalo Creek, 
Buffalo Creek, 
Maury River and 
Cedar Creek and a 
Sediment Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Colliers Creek 

Buena Vista, 
Rockbridge 

I37, I38 E. coli 2.98E+13 cfu/year 

106. Powhatan Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Mill Creek and 
Powhatan Creek 

James City G10 E. coli 1.78E+13 cfu/year 

107. Mill Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Mill Creek and 
Powhatan Creek 

James City G10 Enterococci 3.63E+12 cfu/year 

108. Powhatan Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Mill Creek and 
Powhatan Creek 

James City G10 Enterococci 7.24E+12 cfu/year 

109. Moores Creek Development of 
the Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) for 
Fecal Coliform 
Bacteria in 
Moore's Creek, 
Albemarle 
County, Virginia  

Charlottesville, 
Albemarle 

H28 Fecal 
coliform 

3.30E+13 cfu/year 
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110. Morris Creek Morris Creek 
(tidal), Charles 
City County Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load for Bacteria 
Contamination 
Impaired for 
Recreational Use 

Charles City G08 Enterococci 2.92E+10 cfu/day 

111. Shingle Creek Fecal Bacteria 
Total Maximum 
Daily Load for the 
Nansemond River 

Suffolk G13, 
K39 

Fecal 
coliform 

2.78E+09 cfu/year 

112. Nansemond River, 
upper and middle 

Fecal Bacteria 
Total Maximum 
Daily Load for the 
Nansemond River 

Isle of Wight, 
Suffolk 

G12, 
G13, 
G14 

Fecal 
coliform 

3.89E+10 cfu/year 

113. Shingle Creek Fecal Bacteria 
Total Maximum 
Daily Load for the 
Nansemond River 

Suffolk G13, 
K39 

Enterococci 2.19E+10 cfu/year 

114. Nansemond River, 
upper 

Fecal Bacteria 
Total Maximum 
Daily Load for the 
Nansemond River 

Isle of Wight, 
Suffolk 

G12, 
G13, 
G14 

Enterococci 9.99E+10 cfu/year 

115. Nansemond River 
(Lake Meade) 

Fecal Bacteria 
Total Maximum 
Daily Load for the 
Nansemond River 

Suffolk G12, 
G13 

Enterococci 9.99E+10 cfu/year 

116. Pagan River, middle 
and upper 

Fecal Bacteria 
Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
Pagan River 

Isle of Wight G11 Enterococci 3.01E+12 cfu/year 

117. Pagan River and 
Jones Creek 

Fecal Bacteria 
Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
Pagan River 

Isle of Wight G11 Fecal 
coliform 

2.15E+12 cfu/year 

118. Lower Reed Creek, 
lower 

Bacteria TMDL 
for Reed Creek 

Bedford H01 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

119. Beaver Creek Bacteria TMDL 
Development for 
the Rivanna River 
Mainstem, North 
Fork Rivanna 
River, Preddy 
Creek and 
Tributaries, 
Meadow Creek, 
Mechums River, 
and Beaver Creek 
Watersheds 

Albemarle H23 E. coli 3.29E+10 cfu/year 
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120. Mechums River Bacteria TMDL 
Development for 
the Rivanna River 
Mainstem, North 
Fork Rivanna 
River, Preddy 
Creek and 
Tributaries, 
Meadow Creek, 
Mechums River, 
and Beaver Creek 
Watersheds 

Albemarle H23 E. coli 3.31E+10 cfu/year 

121. Preddy Creek Bacteria TMDL 
Development for 
the Rivanna River 
Mainstem, North 
Fork Rivanna 
River, Preddy 
Creek and 
Tributaries, 
Meadow Creek, 
Mechums River, 
and Beaver Creek 
Watersheds 

Greene, 
Albemarle 

H27 E. coli 2.43E+11 cfu/year 

122. Rivanna River, North 
Fork 

Bacteria TMDL 
Development for 
the Rivanna River 
Mainstem, North 
Fork Rivanna 
River, Preddy 
Creek and 
Tributaries, 
Meadow Creek, 
Mechums River, 
and Beaver Creek 
Watersheds 

Greene, 
Albemarle 

H27 E. coli 2.15E+12 cfu/year 

123. Meadow Creek Bacteria TMDL 
Development for 
the Rivanna River 
Mainstem, North 
Fork Rivanna 
River, Preddy 
Creek and 
Tributaries, 
Meadow Creek, 
Mechums River, 
and Beaver Creek 
Watersheds 

Charlottesville H28 E. coli 3.89E+12 cfu/year 

124. Rivanna River Bacteria TMDL 
Development for 
the Rivanna River 
Mainstem, North 
Fork Rivanna 
River, Preddy 
Creek and 
Tributaries, 
Meadow Creek, 
Mechums River, 
and Beaver Creek 
Watersheds 

Charlottesville, 
Albemarle, 
Greene 

H23, 
H24, 
H25, 
H26, 
H27, 
H28 

E. coli 4.93E+12 cfu/year 
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125. Rockfish River, 
North Fork 

Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Rockfish River, 
North Fork 
Rockfish River, 
and South Fork 
Rockfish River 

Nelson H15 E. coli 8.44E+11 cfu/year 

126. Rockfish River, 
South Fork 

Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Rockfish River, 
North Fork 
Rockfish River, 
and South Fork 
Rockfish River 

Nelson H15 E. coli 4.40E+12 cfu/year 

127. Rockfish River Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Rockfish River, 
North Fork 
Rockfish River, 
and South Fork 
Rockfish River 

Nelson H15, 
H16 

E. coli 5.76E+12 cfu/year 

128. Tuckahoe Creek and 
tributaries 

Bacteria TMDL 
for Tuckahoe 
Creek, Little 
Tuckahoe Creek, 
Anderson, Broad, 
Georges and 
Readers Branches, 
and Deep Run 

Henrico, 
Goochland 

H39 E. coli 1.05E+13 cfu/year 

129. Turner Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Hat Creek, Piney 
River, Rucker 
Run, Mill Creek, 
Rutledge Creek, 
Turner Creek, 
Buffalo River and 
Tye River 

Amherst H12 E. coli 1.57E+11 cfu/year 

130. Mill Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Hat Creek, Piney 
River, Rucker 
Run, Mill Creek, 
Rutledge Creek, 
Turner Creek, 
Buffalo River and 
Tye River 

Amherst H11 E. coli 2.08E+11 cfu/year 
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131. Hat Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Hat Creek, Piney 
River, Rucker 
Run, Mill Creek, 
Rutledge Creek, 
Turner Creek, 
Buffalo River and 
Tye River 

Nelson H09 E. coli 6.02E+11 cfu/year 

132. Rutledge Creek Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Hat Creek, Piney 
River, Rucker 
Run, Mill Creek, 
Rutledge Creek, 
Turner Creek, 
Buffalo River and 
Tye River 

Amherst H12 E. coli 1.15E+12 cfu/year 

133. Rucker Run Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Hat Creek, Piney 
River, Rucker 
Run, Mill Creek, 
Rutledge Creek, 
Turner Creek, 
Buffalo River and 
Tye River 

Nelson H13 E. coli 1.32E+12 cfu/year 

134. Piney River Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Hat Creek, Piney 
River, Rucker 
Run, Mill Creek, 
Rutledge Creek, 
Turner Creek, 
Buffalo River and 
Tye River 

Amherst, Nelson H10 E. coli 2.44E+12 cfu/year 
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135. Buffalo River Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Hat Creek, Piney 
River, Rucker 
Run, Mill Creek, 
Rutledge Creek, 
Turner Creek, 
Buffalo River and 
Tye River 

Amherst H11, 
H12 

E. coli 2.54E+12 cfu/year 

136. Tye River Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load 
Development for 
Hat Creek, Piney 
River, Rucker 
Run, Mill Creek, 
Rutledge Creek, 
Turner Creek, 
Buffalo River and 
Tye River 

Amherst, Nelson H09, 
H10, 
H11, 
H12, 
H13 

E. coli 1.33E+13 cfu/year 

137. Upham Brook and 
tributaries 

Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for 
the Upham Brook 
Watershed 

Henrico, 
Richmond City 

G05 E. coli 8.04E+10 cfu/year 

138. White Oak Swamp Bacteria TMDL 
for White Oak 
Swamp 

Henrico G06 E. coli 1.58E+12 cfu/year 

139. Willis River and 
tributaries 

Fecal coliform 
TMDL 
Development for 
Willis River 

Cumberland, 
Buckingham 

H35, 
H36 

Fecal 
coliform 

3.15E+11 cfu/year 

140. North Creek 

Benthic Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for 
the North Creek 
Watershed 

Fluvanna H20R Sediment 7.29 tons/yr 

141. North Creek 

Benthic Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for 
the North Creek 
Watershed 

Fluvanna H20R Total 
phosphorus 187.3 lbs/yr 

142. Turkey Island Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 
Development for 
the Turkey Island 
Creek and James 
River Westover to 
Claremont 
Watershed 

Henrico, Charles 
City G02R E. coli 4.31E+11 cfu/year 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 26 Virginia Register of Regulations August 21, 2017 

2942 

143. 
James River from 
Westover to 
Chippokes Point 

Bacteria TMDL 
Development for 
the Turkey Island 
Creek and James 
River Westover to 
Claremont 
Watershed 

Charles City, 
Prince George 

G02R, 
G04R E. coli 4.25E+13 cfu/year 

144. 
James River from 
Chippokes Point to 
Claremont 

Bacteria TMDL 
Development for 
the Turkey Island 
Creek and James 
River Westover to 
Claremont 
Watershed 

Prince George, 
Surry 

G04E, 
G04R E. coli 4.99E+13 cfu/year 

145. Moores Creek 

Sediment TMDLs 
for Moores Creek, 
Lodge Creek, 
Meadow Creek, 
and Schenks 
Branch 

Albemarle,  
City of 
Charlottesville 

H28 Sediment 809.48 tons/yr 

146. Lodge Creek 

Sediment TMDLs 
for Moores Creek, 
Lodge Creek, 
Meadow Creek, 
and Schenks 
Branch 

Albemarle,  
City of 
Charlottesville 

H28 Sediment 46.25 tons/yr 

147. Meadow Creek 

Sediment TMDLs 
for Moores Creek, 
Lodge Creek, 
Meadow Creek, 
and Schenks 
Branch 

Albemarle,  
City of 
Charlottesville 

H28 Sediment 452.33 tons/yr 

148. Schenks Branch 

Sediment TMDLs 
for Moores Creek, 
Lodge Creek, 
Meadow Creek, 
and Schenks 
Branch 

City of 
Charlottesville H28 Sediment 134.52 tons/yr 

149. James River, upper 

E. coli TMDL 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries 
near Lynchburg, 
VA 

Amherst, 
Bedford 

H01R, 
I28R E. coli 2.27E+11 cfu/year 

150. Beaver Creek 

E. coli TMDL 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries 
near Lynchburg, 
VA 

Campbell H05R E. coli 3.26E+11 cfu/year 

151. Pedlar River 

E. coli TMDL 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries 
near Lynchburg, 
VA 

Amherst H02R E. coli 7.86E+11 cfu/year 
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152. Harris Creek 

E. coli TMDL 
Development for 
the James River 
and Tributaries 
near Lynchburg, 
VA 

Amherst H04R E. coli 1.02E+13 cfu/year 

153. Diascund Creek, 
nontidal 

Bacteria TMDL 
Development for 
Lower 
Chickahominy 
River Watershed 
Located in Charles 
City, James City, 
and New Kent 
Counties, VA 

New Kent G09R E. coli 2.51E+11 cfu/year 

154. Beaverdam Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 
Development for 
Lower 
Chickahominy 
River Watershed 
Located in Charles 
City, James City, 
and New Kent 
Counties, VA 

New Kent G09R E. coli 1.27E+11 cfu/year 

155. 
Unnamed tributary 
to Beaverdam Creek 
(SAH) 

Bacteria TMDL 
Development for 
Lower 
Chickahominy 
River Watershed 
Located in Charles 
City, James City, 
and New Kent 
Counties, VA 

New Kent G09R E. coli 4.52E+10 cfu/year 

156. Barrows Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 
Development for 
Lower 
Chickahominy 
River Watershed 
Located in Charles 
City, James City, 
and New Kent 
Counties, VA 

Charles City G08R E. coli 6.90E+10 cfu/year 

157. Mill Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 
Development for 
Lower 
Chickahominy 
River Watershed 
Located in Charles 
City, James City, 
and New Kent 
Counties, VA 

James City G08R E. coli 9.90E+11 cfu/year 
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158. Diascund Creek, 
tidal 

Bacteria TMDL 
Development for 
Lower 
Chickahominy 
River Watershed 
Located in Charles 
City, James City, 
and New Kent 
Counties, VA 

New Kent, 
James City G08E Enterococci 7.12E+12 cfu/year 

159. Chickahominy River 

Bacteria TMDL 
Development for 
Lower 
Chickahominy 
River Watershed 
Located in Charles 
City, James City, 
and New Kent 
Counties, VA 

New Kent, 
James City, 
Charles City 

G08E Enterococci 9.57E+13 cfu/year 

160. Gordon Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 
Development for 
Lower 
Chickahominy 
River Watershed 
Located in Charles 
City, James City, 
and New Kent 
Counties, VA 

James City G08E Enterococci 6.15E+12 cfu/year 

Notes: 
1The total WLA can be increased prior to modification provided that DEQ tracks these changes for bacteria TMDLs where the permit is 
consistent with water quality standards for bacteria. 
2GS means growing season. 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections B and C of 9VAC25-720-60 are not amended; therefore, the text of those subsections is not set 
out. 
9VAC25-720-100. Chowan River -- Dismal Swamp River Basin.  

TMDL # Stream Name TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA1 Units 

1. 
Unnamed tributary 
to Hurricane 
Branch 

Benthic TMDL for 
Hurricane Branch 
Unnamed Tributary, 
Virginia 

Nottoway K16R Sediment 60.9 T/YR 

2. Spring Branch 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load Development for 
Spring Branch 

Sussex K32R Phosphorus 145.82 KG/YR 

3. 
Albemarle 
Canal/North 
Landing River 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load Development for 
Albemarle Canal/North 
Landing River, A Total 
Phosphorus TMDL Due to 
Low Dissolved Oxygen 
Impairment 

Chesapeake, 
Virginia Beach K41R Phosphorus 989.96 KG/YR 
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4. Northwest River 
Watershed 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load Development for the 
Northwest River 
Watershed, A Total 
Phosphorus TMDL Due to 
Low Dissolved Oxygen 
Impairment 

Chesapeake, 
Virginia Beach K40R Phosphorus 3,262.86 KG/YR 

5. 
Assamoosick 
Swamp and 
tributaries 

E. coli Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
for Assamoosick Swamp & 
Tributaries 

Sussex K29 E. coli 6.27E+12 cfu/year 

6. Coppahaunk 
Swamp, UT 

E. coli Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
for Blackwater River & 
Tributaries 

Sussex K32 E. coli 1.87E+09 cfu/year 

7. Otterdam Swamp 

E. coli Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
for Blackwater River & 
Tributaries 

Surry K32 E. coli 1.96E+10 cfu/year 

8. 
Blackwater Swamp, 
Warwick Swamp, 
Second Swamp 

E. coli Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
for Blackwater River & 
Tributaries 

Prince George, 
Petersburg K31 E. coli 1.27E+12 cfu/year 

9. Blackwater River 

E. coli Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
for Blackwater River & 
Tributaries 

Sussex, Prince 
George, Surry 

K31, 
K32 E. coli 1.67E+13 cfu/year 

10. Milldam Creek 
Development of Bacterial 
TMDLs for the Virginia 
Beach Coastal Area 

Virginia Beach K41 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

11. West Neck Creek, 
middle 

Development of Bacterial 
TMDLs for the Virginia 
Beach Coastal Area 

Virginia Beach K41 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

12. Nawney Creek 
Development of Bacterial 
TMDLs for the Virginia 
Beach Coastal Area 

Virginia Beach K42 Enterococci 0 cfu/year 

13. West Neck Creek, 
upper 

Development of Bacterial 
TMDLs for the Virginia 
Beach Coastal Area 

Virginia Beach K41 Enterococci 1.88E+13 cfu/year 

14. London Bridge 
Creek and Canal #2 

Development of Bacterial 
TMDLs for the Virginia 
Beach Coastal Area 

Virginia Beach K41, 
C08 Enterococci 2.17E+13 cfu/year 

15. Beaver Pond Creek 
Development of Bacterial 
TMDLs for the Chowan 
Study Area 

Dinwiddie K16 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

16. Mill Swamp 
Development of Bacterial 
TMDLs for the Chowan 
Study Area 

Surry K34 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

17. Nottoway River 
Development of Bacterial 
TMDLs for the Chowan 
Study Area 

Lunenburg K14 E. coli 0 cfu/year 
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18. Raccoon Creek 
Development of Bacterial 
TMDLs for the Chowan 
Study Area 

Sussex K25 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

19. Rattlesnake Swamp 
Development of Bacterial 
TMDLs for the Chowan 
Study Area 

Isle of Wight, 
Surry K34 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

20. Cypress Swamp 
Development of Bacterial 
TMDLs for the Chowan 
Study Area 

Surry K32 E. coli 2.26E+11 cfu/year 

21. Little Nottoway 
River 

Development of Bacterial 
TMDLs for the Chowan 
Study Area 

Nottoway K15 E. coli 6.54E+11 cfu/year 

22. Big Hounds Creek 
Development of Bacterial 
TMDLs for the Chowan 
Study Area 

Lunenburg K14 E. coli 6.96E+11 cfu/year 

23. Broad Branch 
Bacteria TMDL for the Flat 
Rock Creek Watershed and 
Broad Branch 

Lunenburg K03 E. coli 5.14E+08 cfu/day 

24. Flat Rock Creek 
Bacteria TMDL for the Flat 
Rock Creek Watershed and 
Broad Branch 

Lunenburg K03 E. coli 2.64E+09 cfu/day 

25. Flat Rock Creek, 
upper 

Bacteria TMDL for the Flat 
Rock Creek Watershed and 
Broad Branch 

Lunenburg K03 E. coli 1.32E+10 cfu/day 

26. Fontaine Creek 
E. coli Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
for Fontaine Creek 

Brunswick, 
Greensville 

K10, 
K11, 
K12 

E. coli 3.77E+12 cfu/year 

27. 
Unnamed tributary 
to Nebletts Mill 
Run 

E. coli Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
for Unnamed Tributary to 
Nebletts Mill Run and 
Hatcher Run 

Sussex K23 E. coli 1.22E+10 cfu/year 

28. Hatcher Run 

E. coli Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
for Unnamed Tributary to 
Nebletts Mill Run and 
Hatcher Run 

Dinwiddie K23 E. coli 1.31E+11 cfu/year 

29. North Meherrin 
River 

Fecal Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily Load 
Development for Meherrin 
River and Tributaries 

Lunenburg K02 E. coli 3.25E+12 cfu/year 

30. 

Meherrin River 
including Briery 
Branch, Genito 
Creek, and Great 
Creek 

Fecal Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily Load 
Development for Meherrin 
River and Tributaries 

Mecklenburg, 
Brunswick, 
Lunenburg 

K01, 
K02, 
K03, 
K04, 
K05, 
K06, 
K07, 
K08 

E. coli 9.90E+12 cfu/year 

31. Roses Creek Bacteria TMDL for Roses 
Creek Watershed Brunswick K07 E. coli 4.35E+12 cfu/year 
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32. Flat Swamp 

Bacteria Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
for Three Creek, Flat 
Swamp, Tarrara Creek, 
Mill Swamp, and Darden 
Mill Run 

Southampton K13 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

33. Tarrara Creek 

Bacteria Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
for Three Creek, Flat 
Swamp, Tarrara Creek, 
Mill Swamp, and Darden 
Mill Run 

Southampton K13 E. coli 0 cfu/year 

34. Three Creek 
(K26R-03) 

Bacteria Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
for Three Creek, Flat 
Swamp, Tarrara Creek, 
Mill Swamp, and Darden 
Mill Run 

Greensville K26 E. coli 5.00E+09 cfu/year 

35. Mill Swamp 

Bacteria Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
for Three Creek, Flat 
Swamp, Tarrara Creek, 
Mill Swamp, and Darden 
Mill Run 

Southampton K28 E. coli 1.93E+11 cfu/year 

36. Darden Mill 
Swamp 

Bacteria Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
for Three Creek, Flat 
Swamp, Tarrara Creek, 
Mill Swamp, and Darden 
Mill Run 

Southampton K30 E. coli 4.10E+11 cfu/year 

37. Three Creek 
(K26R-02) 

Bacteria Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
for Three Creek, Flat 
Swamp, Tarrara Creek, 
Mill Swamp, and Darden 
Mill Run 

Greensville K26 E. coli 9.53E+12 cfu/year 

38. Three Creek 
(K27R-02) 

Bacteria Total Maximum 
Daily Load Development 
for Three Creek, Flat 
Swamp, Tarrara Creek, 
Mill Swamp, and Darden 
Mill Run 

Sussex, 
Southampton, 
Greensville 

K26, 
K27 E. coli 1.43E+13 cfu/year 

39. Pocaty River 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load Development for the 
Back Bay, North Landing 
River, and Pocaty River 
Watersheds 

Chesapeake, 
Virginia Beach K41R Total 

phosphorus 129.39 kg/yr 

40. Ashville Bridge 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load Development for the 
Back Bay, North Landing 
River, and Pocaty River 
Watersheds 

Chesapeake, 
Virginia Beach K42E Total 

phosphorus 34.46 kg/yr 
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41. North Landing 
River 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load Development for the 
Back Bay, North Landing 
River, and Pocaty River 
Watersheds 

Chesapeake, 
Virginia Beach K41R E. coli 6.25E+12 cfu/yr 

42. Pocaty River 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load Development for the 
Back Bay, North Landing 
River, and Pocaty River 
Watersheds 

Chesapeake, 
Virginia Beach K41R E. coli 2.58E+12 cfu/yr 

43. Beggars Bridge 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load Development for the 
Back Bay, North Landing 
River, and Pocaty River 
Watersheds 

Chesapeake, 
Virginia Beach K42E Enterococci 6.79E+11 cfu/yr 

44. 
Ashville Bridge 
Creek and Muddy 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load Development for the 
Back Bay, North Landing 
River, and Pocaty River 
Watersheds 

Chesapeake, 
Virginia Beach K42E Enterococci 7.95E+11 cfu/yr 

45. 
Hell Point Creek, 
upper and Hell 
Point Creek, lower 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load Development for the 
Back Bay, North Landing 
River, and Pocaty River 
Watersheds 

Chesapeake, 
Virginia Beach K42E Enterococci 2.04E+12 cfu/yr 

46. Kits Creek 

Benthic Total Maximum 
Daily Load (TMDL) 
Development for the Kits 
Creek Watershed 

Lunenburg K02R Sediment 2.96 ton/year 

47. Kits Creek 

Benthic Total Maximum 
Daily Load (TMDL) 
Development for the Kits 
Creek Watershed 

Lunenburg K02R Total 
phosphorus 13.1 lbs/year 

Notes: 
1The total WLA can be increased prior to modification provided that DEQ tracks these changes for bacteria TMDLs where the permit is 
consistent with water quality standards for bacteria. 

9VAC25-720-110. Chesapeake Bay -- Small Coastal -- Eastern Shore River Basin.  
A. Total maximum daily loads (TMDLs). 

TMDL 
# Stream Name TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA1 Units 

1. Parker Creek 

Benthic Total Maximum 
Daily Load (TMDL) 
Development for Parker 
Creek, Virginia 

Accomack D03E Total 
phosphorus 664.2 LB/YR 

2. Pettit Branch 

Benthic Total Maximum 
Daily Load (TMDL) 
Development for the 
Pettit Branch Watershed 

Accomack D02R Total 
phosphorus 0.01 LB/D 

3. Mill Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load for Dissolved 
Oxygen in Mill Creek, 
Northampton County, 
Virginia 

Northampton D06R 
Organic 

carbon as 
TC  

0.31 LB/D 
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4. Mill Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load for Dissolved 
Oxygen in Mill Creek, 
Northampton County, 
Virginia 

Northampton D06R Nutrients as 
TN  0.10 LB/D 

5. Folly Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Loads of Pathogens for 
Folly Creek in 
Accomack County, 
Virginia 

Accomack D03E Total 
nitrogen 2.6 LBS/D 

6. Gargathy 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Loads of Dissolved 
Oxygen and Pathogens 
for Gargathy Creek 
(Upper, Lower, and 
Riverine Portions) in 
Accomack County, 
Virginia 

Accomack D03E Total 
nitrogen 1.9 LBS/D 

7. Assawoman 
Creek 

Bacteria Total Maximum 
Daily Load (TMDL) 
Development for the 
Assawoman Creek 
Watershed 

Accomack D02 Fecal 
coliform 1.12E+09 MPN/day 

8. Back River 
Total Maximum Daily 
Loads of Bacteria for 
Back River 

Hampton, 
Poquoson, York C07 Fecal 

coliform 3.87E+14 counts/year 

9. Barlow Creek 
(#191) 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - Barlow 
and Jacobus Creeks 

Northampton C14 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

10. Jacobus Creek 
(#9D) 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - Barlow 
and Jacobus Creeks 

Northampton C14 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

11. Jackson Creek 
(84A) 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - Broad 
and Jackson Creeks 

Middlesex C03 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

12. Jackson Creek 
(84B) 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - Broad 
and Jackson Creeks 

Middlesex C03 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 
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13. Browns Bay 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - Browns 
Bay and Monday Creek 

Gloucester C06 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

14. Monday 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - Browns 
Bay and Monday Creek 

Gloucester C06 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

15. 
Cherrystone 
Inlet, Kings 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Cherrystone Inlet 

Northampton C15, 
C16 

Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

16. Chesconessex 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Chesconessex Creek 

Accomack C11 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

17. Cockrell 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish 
Condemnation Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria 
Contamination - 
Cockrell Creek 

Northumberland C01 Fecal 
coliform 5.98E+10 MPN/day 

18. Craddock 
Creek (A) 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination 

Accomack C13 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

19. Bagwell 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish 
Condemnation Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria 
Contamination - Deep, 
Hunting and Bagwell 
Creeks 

Accomack C10 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

20. Deep Creek 
(#138A) 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish 
Condemnation Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria 
Contamination - Deep, 
Hunting and Bagwell 
Creeks 

Accomack C10 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 
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21. Hunting Creek 
(#138C) 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish 
Condemnation Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria 
Contamination - Deep, 
Hunting and Bagwell 
Creeks 

Accomack C10 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

22. Dividing 
Creek (22A) 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish 
Condemnation Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria 
Contamination - 
Dividing Creek 

Northumberland C01 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

23. Prentice Creek 
(22C) 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish 
Condemnation Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria 
Contamination - 
Dividing Creek 

Northumberland C01 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

24. Prentice Creek 
(22D) 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish 
Condemnation Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria 
Contamination - 
Dividing Creek 

Northumberland C01 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

25. 

Unnamed 
cove of 
Dividing 
Creek (22B) 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish 
Condemnation Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria 
Contamination - 
Dividing Creek 

Northumberland C01 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

26. East River 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
For Shellfish Waters 
Impaired by Bacteria - 
East River and Put in 
Creek 

Mathews C04 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

27. Put In Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
For Shellfish Waters 
Impaired by Bacteria - 
East River and Put in 
Creek 

Mathews C04 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

28. Finney Creek, 
upper 

Total Maximum Daily 
Loads of Pathogens for 
Finney Creek 

Accomack D03 Enterococci 7.97E+07 cfu/day 

29. Rattrap Creek 
Total Maximum Daily 
Loads of Pathogens for 
Finney Creek 

Accomack D03 Enterococci 2.08E+08 cfu/day 
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30. Folly Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - Folly 
Creek 

Accomack D03 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

31. 
Gargathy 
Creek, 
riverine 

Total Maximum Daily 
Loads of DO and 
Pathogens for Gargathy 
Creek (-Upper, -Lower, 
and Riverine Portions) 

Accomack D03 E. coli 1.80E+08 cfu/day 

32. Balls Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - Great 
Wicomico River 

Northumberland C01 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

33. 
Great 
Wicomico 
River 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - Great 
Wicomico River 

Northumberland C01 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

34. Tipers Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - Great 
Wicomico River 

Northumberland C01 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

35. Warehouse 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - Great 
Wicomico River 

Northumberland C01, 
A34 

Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

36. Whays Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - Great 
Wicomico River 

Northumberland C01 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

37. 
Guilford 
Creek 
(#176B) 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Messongo and Guilford 
Creeks 

Accomack C10 Fecal 
coliform None2 MPN/day 

38. Young Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Messongo and Guilford 
Creeks 

Accomack C10 Fecal 
coliform None2 MPN/day 
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39. 
Holdens 
Creek, upper 
and lower 

Fecal Coliform Total 
Maximum Daily Load 
Development for 
Holdens Creek, Sandy 
Bottom Branch, and 
Unnamed Tributary to 
Sandy Bottom Branch 

Accomack C10 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 counts/day 

40. 

Sandy Bottom 
Branch and 
UT to Sandy 
Bottom 
Branch 

Fecal Coliform Total 
Maximum Daily Load 
Development for 
Holdens Creek, Sandy 
Bottom Branch, and 
Unnamed Tributary to 
Sandy Bottom Branch 

Accomack C10 E. coli 4.80E+09 cfu/day 

41. Davis Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Chesapeake Bay: Horn 
Harbor, Doctors and 
Davis Creek Watersheds 

Mathews C04 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

42. Doctors Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Chesapeake Bay: Horn 
Harbor, Doctors and 
Davis Creek Watersheds 

Mathews C04 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

43. Horn Harbor 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Chesapeake Bay: Horn 
Harbor, Doctors and 
Davis Creek Watersheds 

Mathews C04 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

44. Hungars 
Creek 

Bacteria Total Maximum 
Daily Load (TMDL) 
Development for the 
Hungars Creek 
Watershed 

Northampton C14 Fecal 
coliform 5.44E+08 MPN/day 

45. Indian Creek 

Indian, Tabbs, Dymer, 
and Antipoison Creeks 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish 
Condemnation Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria 
Pollution 

Northumberland C01 Enterococci 6.76E+08 cfu/day 
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46. Davenport 
Creek 

Indian, Tabbs, Dymer, 
and Antipoison Creeks 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish 
Condemnation Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria 
Pollution 

Lancaster C01 Fecal 
coliform 1.38E+08 MPN/day 

47. Long Creek 

Indian, Tabbs, Dymer, 
and Antipoison Creeks 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish 
Condemnation Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria 
Pollution 

Lancaster C01 Fecal 
coliform 3.17E+08 MPN/day 

48. Lees Cove 

Indian, Tabbs, Dymer, 
and Antipoison Creeks 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish 
Condemnation Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria 
Pollution 

Lancaster C01 Fecal 
coliform 2.51E+08 MPN/day 

49. Georges Cove 

Indian, Tabbs, Dymer, 
and Antipoison Creeks 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish 
Condemnation Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria 
Pollution 

Lancaster C01 Fecal 
coliform 7.01E+08 MPN/day 

50. Hunts Cove 

Indian, Tabbs, Dymer, 
and Antipoison Creeks 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish 
Condemnation Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria 
Pollution 

Lancaster C01 Fecal 
coliform 1.05E+09 MPN/day 

51. Ashley Cove 

Indian, Tabbs, Dymer, 
and Antipoison Creeks 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish 
Condemnation Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria 
Pollution 

Lancaster C01 Fecal 
coliform 1.17E+09 MPN/day 

52. Bells Creek 

Indian, Tabbs, Dymer, 
and Antipoison Creeks 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish 
Condemnation Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria 
Pollution 

Northumberland C01 Fecal 
coliform 1.25E+09 MPN/day 
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53. Henrys Creek 

Indian, Tabbs, Dymer, 
and Antipoison Creeks 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish 
Condemnation Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria 
Pollution 

Northumberland C01 Fecal 
coliform 2.13E+09 MPN/day 

54. Barnes Creek 

Indian, Tabbs, Dymer, 
and Antipoison Creeks 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish 
Condemnation Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria 
Pollution 

Northumberland C01 Fecal 
coliform 3.65E+09 MPN/day 

55. Tabbs Creek 

Indian, Tabbs, Dymer, 
and Antipoison Creeks 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish 
Condemnation Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria 
Pollution 

Lancaster C01 Fecal 
coliform 5.36E+09 MPN/day 

56. Dymer Creek 

Indian, Tabbs, Dymer, 
and Antipoison Creeks 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish 
Condemnation Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria 
Pollution 

Lancaster C01 Fecal 
coliform 8.25E+09 MPN/day 

57. Antipoison 
Creek 

Indian, Tabbs, Dymer, 
and Antipoison Creeks 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish 
Condemnation Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria 
Pollution 

Lancaster C01 Fecal 
coliform 8.60E+09 MPN/day 

58. 

Indian Creek 
(including 
Arthur and 
Pitmans 
Creeks) 

Indian, Tabbs, Dymer, 
and Antipoison Creeks 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish 
Condemnation Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria 
Pollution 

Northumberland C01 Fecal 
coliform 3.82E+09 MPN/day 

59. 
Little 
Mosquito 
Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 
Development for the 
Little Mosquito Creek 
Watershed 

Accomack D01 Fecal 
coliform 5.15E+08 MPN/day 
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60. 

Broad Bay, 
Long Creek, 
and Linkhorn 
Bay 

Lynnhaven Bay, Broad 
Bay and Linkhorn Bay 
Watersheds Total 
Maximum Daily Load 
(TMDL) Report for 
Shellfish Areas Listed 
Due to Bacteria 
Contamination 

Virginia Beach C08 Fecal 
coliform 9.35E+10 cfu/year 

61 Lynnhaven 
River 

Lynnhaven Bay, Broad 
Bay and Linkhorn Bay 
Watersheds Total 
Maximum Daily Load 
(TMDL) Report for 
Shellfish Areas Listed 
Due to Bacteria 
Contamination 

Virginia Beach C08 Fecal 
coliform 9.01E+11 cfu/year 

62. Mattawoman 
Creek 

TMDL Report for 
Chesapeake Bay 
Shellfish Waters: 
Mattawoman Creek 
Bacterial Impairment 

Northampton C14 Fecal 
coliform 1.15E+09 MPN/day 

63. Messongo 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Messongo and Guilford 
Creeks 

Accomack C10 Fecal 
coliform None2 MPN/day 

64. Messongo 
Creek 

Bacteria Total Maximum 
Daily Load (TMDL) 
Development for the 
Messongo Creek 
Watershed 

Accomack C10 Fecal 
coliform 1.00E+08 MPN/day 

65. Billups Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Gwynn's Island and 
Milford Haven 
Watersheds 

Mathews C04 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

66. Edwards 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Gwynn's Island and 
Milford Haven 
Watersheds 

Mathews C04 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

67. Morris Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Gwynn's Island and 
Milford Haven 
Watersheds 

Mathews C04 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 
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68. Queens Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Gwynn's Island and 
Milford Haven 
Watersheds 

Mathews C04 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

69. Stutts Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Gwynn's Island and 
Milford Haven 
Watersheds 

Mathews C04 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

70. Ball Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Chesapeake Bay: Mill 
Creek to Dividing Creek 

Northumberland C01 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

71. Cloverdale 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Chesapeake Bay: Mill 
Creek to Dividing Creek 

Northumberland C01 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

72. Mill Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Chesapeake Bay: Mill 
Creek to Dividing Creek 

Northumberland C01 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

73. McLean Gut 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - Nandua 
and Curratuck Creeks 

Accomack C13 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

74. Nandua Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - Nandua 
and Curratuck Creeks 

Accomack C13 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

75. Church Creek 
(Reserved) 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Nassawadox Creek 
Watershed 

Northampton C13 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 
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76. 
Holly Grove 
Cove 
(Reserved) 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Nassawadox Creek 
Watershed 

Northampton C13 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

77. Nassawadox 
Creek, upper 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Nassawadox Creek 
Watershed Bacteria 
Total Maximum Daily 
Loads for Nassawadox 
Creek and Tributaries 
and Westerhouse Creek 
in Northampton County, 
Virginia 

Northampton C13 Fecal 
coliform 

N/A2 
6.04E+12 

MPN/day 
counts/year 

78. 
Warehouse 
Creek, upper 
(Reserved) 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Nassawadox Creek 
Watershed 

Northampton C13 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

79. Westerhouse 
Creek - Part A 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Nassawadox Creek 
Watershed Bacteria 
Total Maximum Daily 
Loads for Nassawadox 
Creek and Tributaries 
and Westerhouse Creek 
in Northampton County, 
Virginia 

Northampton C13, 
C14 

Fecal 
coliform 

N/A2 
2.29E+11 

MPN/day 
counts/year 

80. 
Westerhouse 
Creek - Part B 
(Reserved) 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Nassawadox Creek 
Watershed 

Northampton C13, 
C14 

Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

81. Back Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - North 
River 

Gloucester C04 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 
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82. Blackwater 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - North 
River 

Mathews C04 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

83. Elmington 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - North 
River 

Gloucester C04 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

84. Greenmansion 
Cove 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - North 
River 

Mathews C04 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

85. North River 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - North 
River 

Mathews C04 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

86. Occohannock 
Creek, upper 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Occohannock Creek 

Accomack C13 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

87. 

Old Plantation 
Creek, upper 
VDH-DSS 
condemnation 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - Old 
Plantation and Elliots 
Creeks 

Northampton C16 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

88. 
Onancock 
Creek, south 
branch 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Onancock Creek 

Accomack C11 Enterococci N/A2 cfu/day 

89. Onancock 
Creek, upper 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Onancock Creek 

Accomack C11 Enterococci N/A2 cfu/day 

90. 
Onancock 
Creek, north 
branch 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Onancock Creek 

Accomack C11 Enterococci 9.94E+08 cfu/day 
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91. Cedar Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Onancock Creek 

Accomack C11 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

92. Finneys 
Creek, upper 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Onancock Creek 

Accomack C11 Enterococci N/A2 cfu/day 

93. Onancock 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Onancock Creek 

Accomack C11 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

94. 
Onancock 
Creek, central 
branch 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Onancock Creek 

Accomack C11 Enterococci N/A2 cfu/day 

95. 

Chesapeake 
Bay, unnamed 
tributary (Big 
Fleets Pond) 

Owens Pond, Little 
Taskmakers Creek, and 
Un-named Tributary to 
Chesapeake Bay (Big 
Fleets Pond) Total 
Maximum Daily Load 
Report for Shellfish 
Condemnation Impaired 
Due to Bacteria 
Contamination 

Northumberland C01 Fecal 
coliform 1.37E+08 MPN/day 

96. 
Little 
Taskmakers 
Creeks 

Owens Pond, Little 
Taskmakers Creek, and 
Un-named Tributary to 
Chesapeake Bay (Big 
Fleets Pond) Total 
Maximum Daily Load 
Report for Shellfish 
Condemnation Impaired 
Due to Bacteria 
Contamination 

Northumberland C01 Fecal 
coliform 3.67E+08 MPN/day 

97. Owens Pond 

Owens Pond, Little 
Taskmakers Creek, and 
Un-named Tributary to 
Chesapeake Bay (Big 
Fleets Pond) Total 
Maximum Daily Load 
Report for Shellfish 
Condemnation Impaired 
Due to Bacteria 
Contamination 

Northumberland C01 Fecal 
coliform 1.56E+09 MPN/day 
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98. Oyster Harbor 

TMDL Report for 
Chesapeake Bay 
Shellfish Waters: Oyster 
Harbor Bacterial 
Impairment 

Northampton D05, 
D06 

Fecal 
coliform 4.28E+08 MPN/day 

99. Parker Creek 

Bacteria Total Maximum 
Daily Load 
Development for the 
Parker Creek Watershed 

Accomack D03 Fecal 
coliform 1.59E+10 MPN/day 

100. Pettit Branch 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load of Bacteria for 
Pettit Branch 

Accomack D02 E. coli 0 cfu/day 

101. 
Piankatank 
River, Cobbs 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Piankatank River, Lower 

Mathews C03, 
C04 

Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

102. 
Piankatank 
River, Healy 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Piankatank River, Lower 

Middlesex C03 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

103. 
Piankatank 
River, Wilton 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Piankatank River, Lower 

Middlesex C03 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

104. Harper Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Piankatank River, Upper 

Gloucester C03 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

105. Piankatank 
River 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Piankatank River, Upper 

King and Queen, 
Gloucester, 
Middlesex, 
Essex 

C02, 
C03 

Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

106. 
Pitts Creek, 
unnamed 
tributary 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load of Pathogens for 
the Unnamed Tributary 
to Pitts Creek 

Accomack C09 E. coli 6.40E+07 cfu/day 

107. 
Pitts Creek, 
unnamed 
tributary 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load on Dissolved 
Oxygen In Unnamed 
Tributary to Pitts Creek 

Accomack C09 Total 
nitrogen 0 lbs/day 

108. 
Pitts Creek, 
unnamed 
tributary 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load on Dissolved 
Oxygen In Unnamed 
Tributary to Pitts Creek 

Accomack C09 Total 
phosphorus 0 lbs/day 
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109. 

Pocomoke 
Sound and 
Pocomoke 
River 
including 
Holden Creek, 
Bulbeggar 
Creek, and 
Pitts Creek3 

Total Maximum Daily 
Loads of Fecal Coliform 
for the Restricted 
Shellfish 
Harvesting/Growing 
Areas of the Pocomoke 
River in the Lower 
Pocomoke River Basin 
and Pocomoke Sound 
Basin 

Accomack C09, 
C10 

Fecal 
coliform 1.37E+09 MPN/day 

110. Back Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Loads of Bacteria for 
Poquoson River and 
Back Creek 

York C07 Fecal 
coliform 1.41E+13 counts/year 

111. Poquoson 
River 

Total Maximum Daily 
Loads of Bacteria for 
Poquoson River and 
Back Creek 

Poquoson, York C07 Fecal 
coliform 1.12E+14 counts/year 

112. Free School 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - Severn 
River 

Gloucester C06 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

113. Heywood 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - Severn 
River 

Gloucester C06 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

114. 
Northwest 
Branch Severn 
River 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - Severn 
River 

Gloucester C06 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

115. Thorntons 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - Severn 
River 

Gloucester C06 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

116. Vaughans 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - Severn 
River 

Gloucester C06 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

117. Greenbackville 
Harbor 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Chincoteague Bay 

Accomack D01 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 
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118. Swan Gut 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Chincoteague Bay 

Accomack D01 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

119. The Gulf, 
upper 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - The 
Gulf 

Northampton C14 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

120. 

Pungoteague 
Creek 
(Warehouse 
Prong and 
Bull Run 
Creek) 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Pungoteague Creek 

Accomack C12 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

121. Taylor Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - 
Pungoteague Creek 

Accomack C12, 
C13 

Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

122. Fox Mill Run 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - Ware 
River 

Gloucester C05 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

123. Ware River 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - Ware 
River 

Gloucester C05 Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

124. Wilson Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish Areas 
Listed Due to Bacterial 
Contamination - Ware 
River 

Gloucester C05, 
C06 

Fecal 
coliform N/A2 MPN/day 

125. Cockrell 
Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) Report 
for Shellfish 
Condemnation Areas 
Listed Due to Bacteria 
Contamination - 
Cockrell Creek 

Northumberland C01 Fecal 
coliform 1.49E+11 cfu/day 

126. 
Red Bank 
Creek, 
riverine 

Bacteria TMDL 
Development in Red 
Bank Creek and 
Machipongo River, 
Virginia 

Accomack, 
Northampton  D04R E. coli 1.08E+8 cfu/yr 
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127. 
Red Bank 
Creek, 
estuarine 

Bacteria TMDL 
Development in Red 
Bank Creek and 
Machipongo River, 
Virginia 

Accomack, 
Northampton D04E Enterococci 3.93E+6 cfu/yr 

128. 
Machipongo 
River, 
estuarine 

Bacteria TMDL 
Development in Red 
Bank Creek and 
Machipongo River, 
Virginia 

Accomack, 
Northampton D04E Enterococci 9.03E+6 cfu/yr 

129. 
Red Bank 
Creek, 
shellfish 

Bacteria TMDL 
Development in Red 
Bank Creek and 
Machipongo River, 
Virginia 

Accomack, 
Northampton D04E Fecal 

coliform 5.10E+11 counts/yr 

130. 
Machipongo 
River, 
shellfish 

Bacteria TMDL 
Development in Red 
Bank Creek and 
Machipongo River, 
Virginia 

Accomack, 
Northampton D04E Fecal 

coliform 2.04E+12 counts/yr 

Notes: 
1The total WLA can be increased prior to modification provided that DEQ tracks these changes for bacteria TMDLs where the permit is 
consistent with water quality standards for bacteria. 
2There were no point source dischargers in the modeled TMDL area. 
3This WLA represents only the Virginia portion of the watershed. 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections B and C of 9VAC25-720-110 are not amended; therefore, the text of those subsections is not 
set out. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5223; Filed July 31, 2017, 11:04 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of 
Virginia, which exempts general permits issued by the State 
Water Control Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law 
(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.), Chapter 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) of Title 
62.1, and Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 if the 
board (i) provides a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in 
conformance with the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01; (ii) 
following the passage of 30 days from the publication of the 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action forms a technical 
advisory committee composed of relevant stakeholders, 
including potentially affected citizens groups, to assist in the 
development of the general permit; (iii) provides notice and 
receives oral and written comment as provided in § 2.2-
4007.03; and (iv) conducts at least one public hearing on the 
proposed general permit.  
Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-860. General Virginia 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit 
for Potable Water Treatment Plants (amending 9VAC25-
860-10, 9VAC25-860-15, 9VAC25-860-20, 9VAC25-860-40 
through 9VAC25-860-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
§ 402 of the Clean Water Act. 
Public Hearing Information: 

September 28, 2017 - 3 p.m. - Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, 2nd Floor 
Conference Room, Richmond, VA 23219 

Public Comment Deadline: October 20, 2017. 
Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 
proposed regulatory action serves as the report of the findings 
of the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Agency Contact: Elleanore Daub, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4067, FAX (804) 
698-4032, or email elleanore.daub@deq.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The proposed regulatory action reissues the existing 
Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System general 
permit that expires on June 30, 2018. The general permit 
contains limitations and monitoring requirements for point 
source discharge of process wastewaters resulting from the 
production of potable water. This general permit 
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regulation is being reissued so that these facilities may 
continue to discharge. 
Proposed substantive changes to the existing regulation 
include (i) removing the requirement to submit a 
groundwater monitoring plan with the registration if the 
plan has been previously submitted and approved, (ii) 
allowing for electronic submittals of registration 
statements, (iii) defining how to estimate discharge flow as 
"a technical evaluation of the sources contributing to the 
discharge," (iv) removing the allowance for reduced 
monitoring for reverse osmosis plants, (v) requiring a 
corrective action plan when groundwater is contaminated, 
and (vi) changing the requirement to conduct whole 
effluent toxicity testing from facilities with a one-time daily 
maximum flow of greater than or equal to 50,000 gallons 
per day to facilities with a daily maximum flow rate 
greater than or equal to 50,000 gallons per day over three 
consecutive monitoring periods. 

CHAPTER 860  
GENERAL VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE 

ELIMINATION SYSTEM (VPDES) GENERAL PERMIT 
FOR POTABLE WATER TREATMENT PLANTS  

9VAC25-860-10. Definitions. 
The words and terms used in this regulation shall have the 

meanings defined in the State Water Control Law and 
9VAC25-31, the VPDES Permit Regulation, unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise, except that for the 
purposes of this chapter: 

"Department" or "DEQ" means the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality. 

"Membrane treatment" means a pressure driven process 
using synthetic materials to separate constituents from water. 
Membranes are used for dissolved solids or suspended solids 
removal. Membrane treatment for dissolved solids removal 
includes reverse osmosis and nanofiltration. Membrane 
treatment for suspended solids removal includes ultrafiltration 
and microfiltration. 

"Microfiltration" means a method of membrane treatment 
designed to remove particles down to 0.1 µm in size. The 
treatment removes cysts, bacteria, and most (but not all) 
particulates. 

"Municipal separate storm sewer system" or "MS4" means a 
conveyance or system of conveyances (including roads with 
drainage systems, municipal streets, catch basins, curbs, 
gutters, ditches, man-made channels, or storm drains) (i) 
owned or operated by a state, city, town, county, district, 
association, or other public body (created by or pursuant to 
state law) having jurisdiction over disposal of sewage, 
industrial wastes, storm water, or other wastes, including 
special districts under state law such as a sewer district, flood 
control district or drainage district, or similar entity, or an 
Indian tribe or an authorized Indian tribal organization, or a 
designated and approved management agency under § 208 of 

the Clean Water Act (CWA) that discharges to surface waters 
of the state; (ii) designed or used for collecting or conveying 
storm water; (iii) which is not a combined sewer; and (iv) 
which is not part of a publicly owned treatment works 
(POTW). 

"Nanofiltration" or "low-pressure reverse osmosis" or 
"membrane softening" means a method of membrane 
treatment designed to remove multivalent ions (softening) 
and removes contaminants down to 1 nm (nanometer = 0.001 
µm) in size. 

"Potable water treatment plant" means an establishment 
engaged in producing water for domestic, commercial, or 
industrial use as designated by North American Industry 
Classification System (NAICS) Code 221310 - Water Supply 
and Irrigation Systems, (Executive Office of the President, 
Office of Management and Budget, United States, 2017), 
Standard Industrial Classified (SIC) Code 4941 - Water 
Supply (Office of Management and Budget (OMB) SIC 
Manual, 1987), or others as approved by the board. 

"Reverse osmosis" means a method of membrane treatment 
designed to remove salts and low-molecular weight solutes 
and remove all contaminants down to 0.0001 µm (microns) in 
size. Reverse osmosis methods apply pressure in excess of 
osmotic pressure to force water through a semi-permeable 
membrane from a region of high salt concentration to a region 
of lower salt concentration. 

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means a 
calculation of the maximum amount of a pollutant that a 
waterbody can receive and still meet water quality standards 
and an allocation of that amount to the pollutant's sources. A 
TMDL includes wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point 
source discharges, and load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint 
sources or natural background or both, and must include a 
margin of safety (MOS) and account for seasonal variations. 

"Ultrafiltration" means a method of membrane treatment 
designed to remove particles down to 0.01 µm in size. The 
treatment removes cysts, bacteria, and viruses as well as 
suspended solids. 
9VAC25-860-15. Applicability of incorporated references 
based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the 
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is referenced and 
incorporated herein, that regulation shall be as it exists and 
has been published as of July 1, 2012 2017. 
9VAC25-860-20. Purpose. 

This general permit regulation governs the discharge of 
process wastewater from potable water treatment plants to 
surface waters. 
9VAC25-860-40. Effective date of the permit. 

This general VPDES permit will become effective on 
December 24, 2013 July 1, 2018, and will expire on June 30, 
2018 2023. This general permit is effective for any covered 
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owner upon compliance with all the provisions of 9VAC25-
860-50. 
9VAC25-860-50. Authorization to discharge. 

A. Any owner governed by this general permit is hereby 
authorized to discharge to surface waters of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia provided that: 

1. The owner submits a registration statement in 
accordance with 9VAC25-860-60 and that registration 
statement is accepted by the board; 
2. The owner submits the required permit fee; 
3. The owner complies with the applicable effluent 
limitations and other requirements of 9VAC25-860-70; and 
4. The board has not notified the owner that the discharge 
is not eligible for coverage in accordance with subsection 
B of this section. 

B. The board will notify an owner that the discharge is not 
eligible for coverage under this general permit in the event of 
any of the following: 

1. The owner is required to obtain an individual permit in 
accordance with 9VAC25-31-170 B 3 of the VPDES 
Permit Regulation; 
2. The owner is proposing to discharge to state waters 
specifically named in other board regulations that prohibit 
such discharges;  
3. The discharge violates or would violate the 
antidegradation policy in the Water Quality Standards at 
9VAC25-260-30; 
4. The discharge is not consistent with the assumptions and 
requirements of an approved TMDL;  
5. The facility is subject to the requirements of 9VAC25-
820-70 Part I G 1 (General VPDES Watershed Permit 
Regulation for Total Nitrogen and Total Phosphorus 
Discharges and Nutrient Trading in the Chesapeake 
Watershed in Virginia - Requirement to Register); and 
6. An owner applying for coverage under this general 
permit submits the results of representative whole effluent 
toxicity testing of the discharge, and the results 
demonstrate that there is a reasonable potential for toxicity. 

C. Compliance with this general permit constitutes 
compliance with the federal Clean Water Act and the State 
Water Control Law with the exceptions stated in 9VAC25-
31-60 of the VPDES Permit Regulation. Approval for 
coverage under this general permit does not relieve any owner 
of the responsibility to comply with any other applicable 
federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, or regulation. 

D. Continuation of permit coverage.  
1. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 
potable water treatment plant general permit issued in 2008 
2013 and that submits a complete registration statement on 
or before December 24, 2013 June 30, 2018, is authorized 

to continue to discharge under the terms of the 2008 2013 
general permit until such time as the board either:  

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit; 
or  
b. Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 
coverage under this general permit.  

2. When the owner that was covered under the expiring or 
expired general permit has violated or is violating the 
conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any 
or all of the following:  

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the 2008 2013 
general permit;  
b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 
reissued general permit. If the general permit coverage is 
denied, the owner would then be required to cease the 
discharges authorized by administratively continued 
coverage under the terms of the 2008 2013 general 
permit or be subject to enforcement action for 
discharging without a permit;  
c. Issue an individual permit with appropriate conditions; 
or  
d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES Permit 
Regulation (9VAC25-31). 

9VAC25-860-60. Registration statement. 
A. Deadlines for submitting registration statement. The 

owner seeking coverage under this general permit shall 
submit a complete VPDES general permit registration 
statement in accordance with this section, which shall serve 
as a notice of intent for coverage under the general VPDES 
permit for potable water treatment plants. 

1. New facilities. Any owner proposing a new discharge 
shall submit a complete registration statement at least 60 
days prior to the date planned for commencement of the 
new discharge.  
2. Existing facilities.  

a. Any owner covered by an individual VPDES permit 
who is proposing to be covered by this general permit 
shall submit a complete registration statement at least 
270 days prior to the expiration date of the individual 
VPDES permit.  
b. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 
general VPDES permit that became effective on 
December 24, 2008 2013, and who intends to continue 
coverage under this general permit shall submit a 
complete registration statement to the board on or before 
October 24, 2013 May 1, 2018.  
c. Any owner of a potable water treatment plant not 
currently covered by a VPDES permit who is proposing 
to be covered by this general permit shall file the 
registration statement. 
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B. Late registration statements. Registration statements for 
existing owners covered under subdivision A 2 b of this 
section will be accepted after December 24, 2013 June 30, 
2018, but authorization to discharge will not be retroactive. 
Owners described in subdivision A 2 b of this section that 
submit registration statements after October 24, 2013 May 1, 
2018, are authorized to discharge under the provisions of 
9VAC25-860-50 D if a complete registration statement is 
submitted on or before December 24, 2013 June 30, 2018. 

C. The required registration statement shall contain the 
following information:  

1. Facility name and street address, owner name, mailing 
address, telephone number, and email address (if 
available); 
2. Operator or other contact name, mailing address, 
telephone number, and email address (if available); 
3. The nature of the business; 
4. A USGS 7.5 minute topographic map or equivalent 
computer generated map showing the facility location 
extending to at least one mile beyond the property 
boundary and the location of the discharge point(s) points; 
5. The receiving waters of the discharge; 
6. The outfall number, latitude and longitude, the daily 
maximum actual or projected wastewater flow rate 
(millions of gallons per day or gallons per day), typical 
volume, duration of discharges, and frequency of 
discharge; 
7. The type of water treatment (e.g., conventional, 
microfiltration, ultrafiltration, nanofiltration, reverse 
osmosis, or a combination of these) and, if applicable, a 
description of any treatment type changes since the 
previous registration statement was submitted; 
8. The number of any existing VPDES permit that 
authorizes discharges from the potable water treatment 
plant; 
9. If the existing VPDES permit contains a groundwater 
monitoring plan requirement, a copy of the board-approved 
plan should shall be submitted unless the plan has been 
previously submitted and approved and remains 
unchanged. If a plan has been previously approved, cite the 
plan and date of approval; 
10. Information regarding the lining of any settling basins 
or lagoons, whether such units are earthen lined, and if so, 
whether the linings have a permeability of no greater than 
10-6 cm/sec; 
11. The results of any whole effluent toxicity evaluation 
required by the 2008 2013 potable water treatment plant 
general permit regulation, 9VAC25-860-50 A 3, or the 
current individual permit, if not previously submitted to the 
department; 

12. A schematic drawing showing the source(s) sources of 
water used on the property and the conceptual design of the 
methods of treatment and disposal of process wastewater; 
13. Information on chemicals used in the production of 
drinking water and process wastewater treatment, to 
include (i) a description of chemicals, (ii) a proposed or 
actual schedule and quantity of chemical usage and, if 
applicable, (iii) a description of any chemical or chemical 
usage changes since the previous registration statement 
was submitted, and (iv) a description of which chemicals 
have no likelihood of entering the process wastewater; 
14. A description of how solids and residue from any 
settling basins or lagoons are disposed;  
15. Whether the facility will discharge to a MS4 municipal 
separate storm sewer system (MS4). If so, the name of the 
MS4 owner must be provided. If the owner of the potable 
water treatment plant is not the owner of the MS4, the 
facility owner shall notify the MS4 owner of the existence 
of the discharge and include a copy of the notification with 
the registration statement. The notification shall include the 
following information: the name of the facility, a contact 
person and phone telephone number, the location of the 
discharge, the nature of the discharge, and the owner's 
VPDES general permit number;  
16. If a new potable water treatment plant owner proposes 
to discharge within five miles upstream of another public 
water supply system's intake, the new potable water 
treatment plant owner shall notify the public water supply 
system's owner and include a copy of the notification with 
the registration statement; and 
17. The following certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or 
supervision in accordance with a system designed to 
assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 
evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 
of the person or persons who manage the system or those 
persons directly responsible for gathering the 
information, the information submitted is to the best of 
my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and complete. I 
am aware that there are significant penalties for 
submitting false information including the possibility of 
fine and imprisonment for knowing violations." 

D. The registration statement shall be signed in accordance 
with 9VAC25-31-110. 

E. The registration statement shall be delivered to the 
department's regional office where the industrial facility is 
located by either postal or electronic mail. 
9VAC25-860-70. General permit. 

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the 
board will receive coverage under the following permit and 
shall comply with the requirements therein and be subject to 
all requirements of 9VAC25-31. 
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General Permit No.: VAG64  
Effective Date: December 24, 2013 July 1, 2018  

Expiration Date: June 30, 2018 2023  
GENERAL PERMIT FOR POTABLE WATER 

TREATMENT PLANTS  
AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 

VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 
SYSTEM AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER 
CONTROL LAW 

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, 
as amended, and pursuant to the State Water Control Law and 
regulations adopted pursuant thereto, owners of potable water 
treatment plants are authorized to discharge to surface waters 
within the boundaries of the Commonwealth of Virginia, 
except those specifically named in board regulations that 
prohibit such discharges. 

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the 
information submitted with the registration statement, this 
cover page, Part I - Effluent Limitations and, Monitoring 
Requirements, and Special Conditions, and Part II - 
Conditions Applicable To to All VPDES Permits, as set forth 
herein in this general permit. 

PART I  
A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS. 
1. Facilities other than reverse osmosis or nanofiltration 
plants. 
During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage 
under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 
expiration date, the permittee is authorized to discharge 
process wastewater from outfall(s) outfalls: __________ 
Such discharges shall be limited and monitored as 
specified below: 

EFFLUENT 
CHARACTERISTICS 

EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Monthly 
Average Minimum Maximum Frequency(1)  Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) NL NA NL 1/3 Months Estimate(2) 

pH (SU)(2)(3) NA 6.0 9.0 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Suspended Solids 
(mg/l) 30 NA 60 1/3 Months Composite(3)(4) 

Total Residual 
Chlorine(4)(5) (mg/l) 0.011 NA 0.011 1/3 Months Grab 

NL - No Limitation, monitoring requirement only 
NA - Not applicable 
(1) Reports of quarterly monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no later than the 10th day of April, July, 
October, and January.  
(2)Reported estimated flow is to be based on the technical evaluation of the sources contributing to the discharge. 
(2) (3) Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in waters receiving the discharge, 
those standards shall be the minimum and maximum effluent limitations. 
(3) (4) Composite - For continuous discharges, five grab samples collected at hourly intervals. For batch discharges, five grab 
samples taken at evenly placed intervals until the discharge ceases, or until a minimum of five grab samples have been 
collected. For continuous or batch discharges, the first grab shall occur within 15 minutes of commencement of the discharge. 
(4) (5) Total residual chlorine limit shall only be applicable to facilities that use chlorine in the treatment process. 

PART I  
A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS. 

2. Reverse osmosis and nanofiltration plants. 
During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 
date, the permittee is authorized to discharge process wastewater originating from outfall(s) outfalls: __________ 
Such discharges shall be limited and monitored as specified below: 
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EFFLUENT 
CHARACTERISTICS 

EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Monthly 
Average Minimum Maximum Frequency(1) Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) NL NA NL 1/ Month  Estimate(1) 

pH (SU)(2)  NA 6.0  9.0  1/ Month  Grab 

Total Dissolved Solids 
(mg/l) 

NA NA NL  1/ Month  Composite(3)  

Dissolved Oxygen 
(mg/l)(4)  

NA 4.0  NA  1/ Month  Grab 

NL - No limitation, monitoring requirement only 
NA - Not applicable 
(1) Monitoring frequencies shall be reduced to 1/quarter upon written notification from the DEQ regional office. Reports of 
quarterly monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no later than the 10th day of April, July, October, and 
January. 
(1)Reported estimated flow is to be based on the technical evaluation of the sources contributing to the discharge. 
(2)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in waters receiving the discharge, 
those standards shall be the minimum and maximum effluent limitations.  
(3)Composite - For continuous discharges, five grab samples collected at hourly intervals. For batch discharges, five grab 
samples taken at evenly placed intervals until the discharge ceases or until a minimum of five grab samples have been 
collected. For continuous or batch discharges, the first grab shall occur within 15 minutes of commencement of the discharge. 
(4)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for dissolved oxygen in waters receiving the 
discharge, those standards shall be the minimum effluent limitations.  

B. Special conditions. 
1. Inspection of the effluent, and maintenance of the 
process wastewater treatment facility, shall be performed 
daily when discharging. Documentation of the inspection 
and maintenance shall be recorded in an operational log. 
This operational log shall be made available for review by 
the department personnel upon request. 
2. No domestic sewage discharges are permitted under this 
general permit. 
3. No chemicals used for water and process wastewater 
treatment, other than those listed on the owner's accepted 
registration statement, are allowed. Prior approval shall be 
obtained from the board before any changes are made to 
the chemical(s) chemicals, in order to assure protection of 
water quality and beneficial uses of the waters receiving 
the discharge. The owner shall indicate whether the 
chemical is likely to enter state waters through the process 
wastewater discharge. 
4. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible 
foam in other than trace amounts. 
5. Owners of facilities that are a source of the specified 
pollutant of concern to waters where an approved total 
maximum daily load (TMDL) has been established shall 
implement measures and controls that are consistent with 
the assumptions and requirements of the TMDL. 

6. The permittee shall notify the department as soon as he 
the permittee knows or has reason to believe: 

a. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 
result in the discharge, on a routine or frequent basis, of 
any toxic pollutant that is not limited in this permit, if 
that discharge will exceed the highest of the following 
notification levels: 
(1) One hundred micrograms per liter; 
(2) Two hundred micrograms per liter for acrolein and 
acrylonitrile; five hundred micrograms per liter for 
2,4-dinitrophenol and for 2-methyl-4,6-dinitrophenol; 
and one milligram per liter for antimony; 
(3) Five times the maximum concentration value reported 
for that pollutant in the general permit registration 
statement; or 
(4) The level established by the board. 
b. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 
result in any discharge, on a nonroutine or infrequent 
basis, of a toxic pollutant that is not limited in this 
permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest of the 
following notification levels: 
(1) Five hundred micrograms per liter; 
(2) One milligram per liter for antimony; 
(3) Ten times the maximum concentration value reported 
for that pollutant in the general permit registration 
statement; or 
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(4) The level established by the board. 
7. If a board-approved groundwater monitoring plan was 
submitted with the registration statement, the permittee 
shall continue to sample and report in accordance with the 
plan. The approved plan shall be an enforceable part of this 
permit. The board or the owner, with board approval, may 
evaluate the groundwater monitoring data and demonstrate 
that revisions to or the cessation of the groundwater 
monitoring are appropriate. If the department determines 
that monitoring indicates that groundwater is 
contaminated, the permittee shall submit a corrective 
action plan within 60 days of being notified by the regional 
office. The plan shall set forth the steps to ensure the 
contamination source is eliminated or that the contaminant 
plume is contained on the permittee's property. In addition, 
based on the extent of contamination, a risk analysis may 
be required. Once approved, this plan or analysis shall 
become an enforceable part of this permit. 
8. Compliance reporting under Part I A. 

a. The quantification levels (QL) shall be as follows: 

  Effluent Characteristic Quantification Level 

  Chlorine 0.10 mg/l 

  TSS 1.0 mg/l 

b. Reporting. 
(1) Monthly average. Compliance with the monthly 
average limitations and reporting requirements for the 
parameters listed in subdivision 8 a of this subsection 
shall be determined as follows: all concentration data 
below the QL listed above in subdivision 8 a shall be 
treated as zero. All concentration data equal to or above 
the QL listed in subdivision 8 a shall be treated as it is 
reported. An arithmetic average shall be calculated using 
all reported data for the month, including the defined 
zeros. This arithmetic average shall be reported on the 
Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) as calculated. If all 
data are below the QL, then the average shall be reported 
as "<QL." If reporting for quantity is required on the 
DMR and the calculated concentration is <QL, then 
report "<QL" for the quantity. Otherwise use the 
calculated concentration. 
(2) Daily maximum. Compliance with the daily 
maximum limitations and/or reporting requirements for 
the parameters listed in subdivision 8 a above of this 
subsection shall be determined as follows: all 
concentration data below the QL listed in subdivision 8 a 
above shall be treated as zero. All concentration data 
equal to or above the QL shall be treated as reported. An 
arithmetic average shall be calculated using all reported 
data, including the defined zeros, collected within each 
day during the reporting month. The maximum value of 
these daily averages thus determined shall be reported on 
the DMR as the Daily Maximum daily maximum. If all 

data are below the QL, then the average shall be reported 
as "<QL." If reporting for quantity is required on the 
DMR and the calculated concentration is <QL, then 
report "<QL" for the quantity. Otherwise use the 
calculated concentration. 
c. Any single datum required shall be reported as "<QL" 
if it is less than the QL in subdivision 8 a of this 
subsection. Otherwise, the numerical value shall be 
reported. 
d. The permittee shall report at least the same number of 
significant digits as the permit limit for a given 
parameter. Regardless of the rounding convention used 
(i.e., 5 five always rounding up or to the nearest even 
number) by the permittee, the permittee shall use the 
convention consistently, and shall ensure that consulting 
laboratories employed by the permittee use the same 
convention. 

9. Operation and Maintenance Manual Requirement 
maintenance manual requirement. 

a. Within 90 days after the date of coverage under this 
general permit, the permittee shall develop or update an 
Operation and Maintenance (O & M) Manual operation 
and maintenance (O&M) manual for the treatment works. 
The O & M O&M manual shall be reviewed within 90 
days of changes to the treatment system. The O & M 
O&M manual shall be certified in accordance with Part II 
K of this permit. The O & M O&M manual shall be 
made available for review by department personnel upon 
request.  
b. This manual shall detail the practices and procedures 
that will be followed to ensure compliance with the 
requirements of this permit. Within 30 days of a request 
by the department, the current O & M Manual shall be 
submitted to the board for review and approval. The 
permittee shall operate the treatment works in accordance 
with the O & M Manual O&M manual. Noncompliance 
with the O & M Manual O&M manual shall be deemed a 
violation of the permit.  
c. This manual shall include, but not necessarily be 
limited to, the following items, as appropriate: 
(1) Techniques to be employed in the collection, 
preservation, and analysis of effluent samples; 
(2) Discussion of best management practices, if 
applicable; 
(3) Treatment Process wastewater treatment system 
design, treatment system operation, routine preventive 
maintenance of units within the treatment system, critical 
spare parts inventory and record keeping recordkeeping;  
(4) A plan for the management and/or disposal of waste 
solids and residues, which includes a requirement to 
clean settling basins and lagoons (if present at the 
facility) in order to achieve effective treatment and a 
requirement that all solids shall be handled, stored, and 
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disposed of so as to prevent a discharge to state waters; 
and 
(5) Procedures for measuring and recording the duration 
and volume of treated process wastewater discharged. 

10. Owners of a facility with a daily maximum flow rate 
greater than or equal to 50,000 gallons per day over three 
consecutive monitoring periods that have not conducted 
whole effluent toxicity (WET) testing to demonstrate there 
is no reasonable potential for toxicity from their discharge 
shall conduct WET testing as described in subdivisions a 
through e of this subsection. Owners with changes in 
treatment technology or chemical usage that change the 
characteristics of the discharge and with a daily maximum 
flow rate greater than or equal to 50,000 gallons per day 
shall conduct WET testing as described in subdivisions a 
through e of this subsection. 

a. The WET testing shall consist of a minimum of four 
sets (set = vertebrate and invertebrate) (a set includes 
both vertebrate and invertebrate tests) of acute or chronic 
tests that reflect the current characteristics of the 
treatment plant effluent using the following tests and 
organisms: 

For an intermittent 
or batch discharger 

48 hour static acute toxicity 
tests 

Freshwater 
organisms 

Pimephales promelas or 
Oncorhynchus mykiss (for cold 
water) (vertebrates)  
Ceriodaphnia dubia 
(invertebrate) 

Saltwater 
organisms 

Cyprinodon variegates 
variegatus (vertebrate) 
Americamysis bahia 
(invertebrate) 

For continuous discharger 

Freshwater 

7-Day Chronic Static Renewal 
Larval Survival and Growth 
Test with Pimephales promelas 
(vertebrate) 

3-Brood Chronic Static 
Renewal Survival and 
Reproduction Test with 
Ceriodaphnia dubia 
(invertebrate) 

Saltwater 

7-Day Chronic Static Renewal 
Larval Survival and Growth 
Test with Cyprinodon 
variegatus (vertebrate) 

7-Day Chronic Static Renewal 
Survival, Growth and Fecundity 
Test with Americamysis bahia 
(invertebrate) 

Freshwater organisms are used where the salinity of the 
receiving water is less than 1.0‰ (parts per thousand). 
Where the salinity of the receiving water is greater than 
or equal to 1.0‰ but less than 5.0‰ either freshwater or 
saltwater organisms may be used. Saltwater organisms 
are used where the salinity is greater than or equal to 
5.0‰. There shall be a minimum of 30 days between sets 
of tests, and test procedures shall follow Title 40 of the 
Code of Federal Regulations, Part 136 (40 CFR Part 136) 
40 CFR Part 136, which references the EPA guidance 
manuals for WET testing. 
b. This testing shall be completed, at a minimum, during 
the first year of coverage under the general permit or 
within one year of commencing discharge. 
c. The department will evaluate all representative data 
statistically to see if there is reasonable potential for 
toxicity in the facility discharge. If such reasonable 
potential exists and cannot be eliminated, the owner will 
be notified that he the owner must apply for an individual 
VPDES permit at next reissuance and a WET limit will 
be included in that individual permit. If the potential 
cause of the toxicity is eliminated during the five-year 
term of this general permit, the owner may conduct 
additional WET testing to demonstrate that there is no 
longer reasonable potential for toxicity and an individual 
permit will not be required at the next reissuance. 
d. If the department determines that no reasonable 
potential for toxicity exists in the facility discharge, no 
further WET testing is required unless changes in 
treatment technology or chemical usage are made at the 
plant that change the characteristics of the discharge. If 
there have been changes to the effluent characteristics, 
then four sets of WET testing, either acute or chronic 
tests as applicable to the current characteristics of the 
treatment plant effluent, must be performed to 
recharacterize the discharge.  
e. Any WET testing data will be submitted with the next 
required discharge monitoring report. 

11. The discharges authorized by this permit shall be 
controlled as necessary to meet applicable water quality 
standards.  
12. Notice of termination.  

a. The owner may terminate coverage under this general 
permit by filing a complete notice of termination with the 
department. The notice of termination may be filed after 
one or more of the following conditions have been met:  
(1) Operations have ceased at the facility and there are no 
longer discharges of process wastewater from the potable 
water treatment plant; 
(2) A new owner has assumed responsibility for the 
facility. A notice of termination does not have to be 
submitted if a VPDES Change of Ownership Agreement 
form has been submitted;  
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(3) All discharges associated with this facility have been 
covered by an individual VPDES permit or a VPDES 
general permit; or  
(4) Termination of coverage is being requested for 
another reason, provided the board agrees that coverage 
under this general permit is no longer needed.  
b. The notice of termination shall contain the following 
information:  
(1) Owner's name, mailing address, telephone number, 
and email address (if available);  
(2) Facility name and location;  
(3) VPDES general permit registration number for the 
facility; and 
(4) The basis for submitting the notice of termination, 
including:  
(a) A statement indicating that a new owner has assumed 
responsibility for the facility;  
(b) A statement indicating that operations have ceased at 
the facility and there are no longer discharges from the 
facility;  
(c) A statement indicating that all discharges have been 
covered by an individual VPDES permit; or  
(d) A statement indicating that termination of coverage is 
being requested for another reason (state the reason) and 
a description of the reason.  
c. The following certification: "I certify under penalty of 
law that all process wastewater discharges from the 
identified facility that are authorized by this VPDES 
general permit have been eliminated, or covered under a 
VPDES individual or a VPDES general permit, or that I 
am no longer the owner of the facility, or permit 
coverage should be terminated for another reason listed 
above. I understand that by submitting this notice of 
termination, that I am no longer authorized to discharge 
process wastewater in accordance with the general 
permit, and that discharging pollutants to surface waters 
is unlawful where the discharge is not authorized by a 
VPDES permit. I also understand that the submittal of 
this notice of termination does not release an owner from 
liability for any violations of this permit or the Clean 
Water Act."  
d. The notice of termination shall be submitted to the 
department and signed in accordance with Part II K.  

13. Approval for coverage under this general permit does 
not relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with 
any other federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, or 
regulation. 

 
 

PART II  
CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL VPDES PERMITS.  
A. Monitoring. 

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 
permit shall be representative of the monitored activity. 
2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 
approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 
approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 
unless other procedures have been specified in this permit. 
3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 
maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 
instrumentation at intervals that will insure accuracy of 
measurements. 
4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be 
analyzed in accordance with 1VAC30-45, Certification for 
Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories, or 1VAC30-
46, Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 
Laboratories. 

B. Records. 
1. Records of monitoring information shall include: 

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 
measurements; 
b. The individual(s) individuals who performed the 
sampling or measurements; 
c. The date(s) dates and time(s) times analyses were 
performed; 
d. The individual(s) individuals who performed the 
analyses; 
e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and 
f. The results of such analyses. 

2. Except for records of monitoring information required 
by this permit related to the permittee's sewage sludge use 
and disposal activities, which shall be retained for a period 
of at least five years, the The permittee shall retain records 
of all monitoring information, including all calibration and 
maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings 
for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 
reports required by this permit, and records of all data used 
to complete the registration statement for this permit, for a 
period of at least three years from the date of the sample, 
measurement, report or request for coverage. This period 
of retention shall be extended automatically during the 
course of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated 
activity or regarding control standards applicable to the 
permittee, or as requested by the board. 

C. Reporting monitoring results. 
1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 
required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 
month after monitoring takes place, unless another 
reporting schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. 
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Monitoring results shall be submitted to the department's 
regional office. 
2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a discharge 
monitoring report (DMR) DMR or on forms provided, 
approved or specified by the department. 
3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 
addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 
this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 
Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the 
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 
specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 
be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 
submitted in the DMR or reporting form specified by the 
department. 
4. Calculations for all limitations that require averaging of 
measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 
otherwise specified in this permit. 

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 
to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 
that the board may request to determine whether cause exists 
for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating this 
permit or to determine compliance with this permit. The 
board may require the permittee to furnish, upon request, such 
plans, specifications, and other pertinent information as may 
be necessary to determine the effect of the wastes from his the 
permittee's discharge on the quality of state waters, or such 
other information as may be necessary to accomplish the 
purposes of the State Water Control Law. The permittee shall 
also furnish to the department upon request, copies of records 
required to be kept by this permit. 

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 
noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 
final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 
this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 
each schedule date. 

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 
permit, or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 
unlawful for any person to: 

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 
other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or 
2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological 
properties of such state waters and make them detrimental 
to the public health, or to animal or aquatic life, or to the 
use of such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, 
or for recreation, or for other uses. 

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee who 
discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, 
industrial waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious 
substance into or upon state waters in violation of Part II F, or 
who discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may 
reasonably be expected to enter state waters in violation of 
Part II F, shall notify the department of the discharge 
immediately upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case 

later than 24 hours after said discovery. A written report of 
the unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the 
department, within five days of discovery of the discharge. 
The written report shall contain: 

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge; 
2. The cause of the discharge; 
3. The date on which the discharge occurred; 
4. The length of time that the discharge continued; 
5. The volume of the discharge; 
6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 
continue; 
7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 
volume of the discharge will be; and 
8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate and 
prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 
discharges not authorized by this permit. 

Discharges reportable to the department under the 
immediate reporting requirements of other regulations are 
exempted from this requirement. 

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 
unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or 
upset should occur from a treatment works and the discharge 
enters or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee 
shall promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, the 
department by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. 
This notification shall provide all available details of the 
incident, including any adverse effects on aquatic life and the 
known number of fish killed. The permittee shall reduce the 
report to writing and shall submit it to the department within 
five days of discovery of the discharge in accordance with 
Part II I 2. Unusual and extraordinary discharges include but 
are not limited to any discharge resulting from: 

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 
indirectly from processing operations; 
2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment; 
3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the 
treatment works; and 
4. Flooding or other acts of nature. 

I. Reports of noncompliance. The permittee shall report any 
noncompliance that may adversely affect state waters or may 
endanger public health. 

1. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from 
the time the permittee becomes aware of the 
circumstances. The following shall be included as 
information that shall be reported within 24 hours under 
this paragraph subsection: 

a. Any unanticipated bypass; and 
b. Any upset that causes a discharge to surface waters. 

2. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 
shall contain: 
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a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause; 
b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates 
and times, and if the noncompliance has not been 
corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 
and 
c. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 
prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance. 

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 
basis for reports of noncompliance under Part II I if the 
oral report has been received within 24 hours and no 
adverse impact on state waters has been reported. 
3. The permittee shall report all instances of 
noncompliance not reported under Parts II I 1 or 2, in 
writing, at the time the next monitoring reports are 
submitted. The reports shall contain the information listed 
in Part II I 2. 
NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 
in Parts II G, H and I may be made to the department's 
regional office. Reports may be made by telephone, FAX, 
or online at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponseP
reparedness/MakingaReport.aspx. For reports outside 
normal working hours, a message may be left and this shall 
fulfill the immediate reporting requirement. For 
emergencies, the Virginia Department of Emergency 
Services maintains a 24-hour telephone service at 1-800-
468-8892. 

J. Notice of planned changes. 
1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as 
soon as possible of any planned physical alterations or 
additions to the permitted facility. Notice is required only 
when: 

a. The permittee plans alteration or addition to any 
building, structure, facility, or installation from which 
there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 
construction of which commenced: 
(1) After promulgation of standards of performance 
under § 306 of the Clean Water Act that are applicable to 
such source; or 
(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 
accordance with § 306 of the Clean Water Act that are 
applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 
promulgated in accordance with § 306 within 120 days of 
their proposal; 
b. The alteration or addition could significantly change 
the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants 
discharged. This notification applies to pollutants that are 
subject neither to effluent limitations nor to notification 
requirements specified elsewhere in this permit; or 
c. The alteration or addition results in a significant 
change in the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices, 
and such alteration, addition, or change may justify the 

application of permit conditions that are different from or 
absent in the existing permit, including notification of 
additional use or disposal sites not reported during the 
permit application process or not reported pursuant to an 
approved land application plan. 

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the 
department of any planned changes in the permitted facility 
or activity that may result in noncompliance with permit 
requirements. 

K. Signatory requirements. 
1. Registration statement. All registration statements shall 
be signed as follows: 

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 
For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 
officer means: (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or 
vice-president of the corporation in charge of a principal 
business function, or any other person who performs 
similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 
the corporation, or (ii) the manager of one or more 
manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, 
provided the manager is authorized to make management 
decisions that govern the operation of the regulated 
facility including having the explicit or implicit duty of 
making major capital investment recommendations, and 
initiating and directing other comprehensive measures to 
assure long-term environmental compliance with 
environmental laws and regulations; the manager can 
ensure that the necessary systems are established or 
actions taken to gather complete and accurate 
information for permit registration requirements; and 
where authority to sign documents has been assigned or 
delegated to the manager in accordance with corporate 
procedures; 
b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 
partner or the proprietor, respectively; or 
c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 
agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 
elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 
executive officer of a public agency includes (i) the chief 
executive officer of the agency, or (ii) a senior executive 
officer having responsibility for the overall operations of 
a principal geographic unit of the agency. 

2. Reports, etc and other information. All reports required 
by permits, and other information requested by the board 
shall be signed by a person described in Part II K 1, or by a 
duly authorized representative of that person. A person is a 
duly authorized representative only if: 

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 
described in Part II K 1; 
b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 
position having responsibility for the overall operation of 
the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 
plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponsePreparedness/MakingaReport.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponsePreparedness/MakingaReport.aspx
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superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or 
an individual or position having overall responsibility for 
environmental matters for the company. (A duly 
authorized representative may thus be either a named 
individual or any individual occupying a named 
position); and 
c. The written authorization is submitted to the 
department. 

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part 
II K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual 
or position has responsibility for the overall operation of 
the facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements 
of Part II K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to 
or together with any reports, or information to be signed by 
an authorized representative. 
4. Certification. Any person signing a document under 
Parts II K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification: 
"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or 
supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 
that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the 
information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person 
or persons who manage the system, or those persons 
directly responsible for gathering the information, the 
information submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and 
belief, true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there 
are significant penalties for submitting false information, 
including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for 
knowing violations." 

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 
conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 
constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 
Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 
provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the 
State Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 
noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action; for permit 
termination, revocation and reissuance, or modification; or 
denial of a permit coverage renewal application. 

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 
prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water 
Act for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge 
use or disposal established under § 405(d) of the Clean Water 
Act within the time provided in the regulations that establish 
these standards or prohibitions or standards for sewage sludge 
use or disposal, even if this permit has not yet been modified 
to incorporate the requirement. 

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 
activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of 
this permit, the permittee shall submit a new registration 
statement at least 60 days before the expiration date of the 
existing permit, unless permission for a later date has been 
granted by the board. The board shall not grant permission for 
registration statements to be submitted later than the 
expiration date of the existing permit. 

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 
property rights in either real or personal property or any 
exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 
private property or invasion of personal rights, or any 
infringement of federal, state or local law or regulations. 

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 
preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 
the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 
established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 
under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 
Except as provided in permit conditions on "bypassing" 
(Part II U), and "upset" (Part II V) nothing in this permit shall 
be construed to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal 
penalties for noncompliance. 

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 
permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 
legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 
liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 
subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the 
State Water Control Law. 

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 
all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 
systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 
that are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 
compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper 
operation and maintenance also includes effective plant 
performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 
adequate laboratory and process controls, including 
appropriate quality assurance procedures. This provision 
requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or 
similar systems that are installed by the permittee only when 
the operation is necessary to achieve compliance with the 
conditions of this permit. 

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges or other 
pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 
of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 
any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters. 

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 
steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 
disposal in violation of this permit that has a reasonable 
likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 
environment. 

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 
be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 
would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 
activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 
of this permit. 

U. Bypass. 
1. "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste 
streams from any portion of a treatment facility. The 
permittee may allow any bypass to occur which does not 
cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only if it also 
is for essential maintenance to assure efficient operation. 
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These bypasses are not subject to the provisions of Parts II 
U 2 and U 3. 
2. Notice. 

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 
of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, 
if possible at least 10 days before the date of the bypass. 
b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit 
notice of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part II I. 

3. Prohibition of bypass. 
a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 
enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, 
unless: 
(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 
personal injury, or severe property damage; 
(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 
such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 
of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 
periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 
satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 
been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 
judgment to prevent a bypass that occurred during 
normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 
maintenance; and 
(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under 
Part II U 2. 
b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass, after 
considering its adverse effects, if the board determines 
that it will meet the three conditions listed above in Part 
II U 3 a. 

V. Upset. 
1. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 
brought for noncompliance with technology-based permit 
effluent limitations if the requirements of Part II V 2 are 
met. A determination made during administrative review of 
claims that noncompliance was caused by upset, and 
before an action for noncompliance, is not a final 
administrative action subject to judicial review. 
2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 
defense of upset shall demonstrate, through properly 
signed, contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant 
evidence that: 

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 
the cause(s) causes of the upset; 
b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 
operated; 
c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 
in Part II I; and 
d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 
required under Part II S. 

3. In any enforcement preceding the permittee seeking to 
establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of 
proof. 

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 
director, or an authorized representative, upon presentation of 
credentials and other documents as may be required by law, 
to: 

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 
facility or activity is located or conducted, or where 
records must be kept under the conditions of this permit; 
2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 
records that must be kept under the conditions of this 
permit; 
3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 
(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 
operations regulated or required under this permit; and 
4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 
of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized 
by the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law, 
any substances or parameters at any location. 
For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall 
be deemed reasonable during regular business hours, and 
or whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained 
herein shall make an inspection unreasonable during an 
emergency. 

X. Permit actions. Permits Permit coverages may be 
modified, revoked and reissued, or terminated for cause. The 
filing of a request by the permittee for a permit modification, 
revocation and reissuance, or termination, or a notification of 
planned changes or anticipated noncompliance does not stay 
any permit condition. 

Y. Transfer of permits. Permits are not transferable to any 
person except after notice to the department. 

Coverage under this permit may be automatically transferred 
to a new permittee if: 

1. The current permittee notifies the department at least 
within 30 days in advance of the proposed transfer of the 
title to the facility or property unless permission for a later 
date has been granted by the board; 
2. The notice includes a written agreement between the 
existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 
transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 
between them; and 
3. The board does not notify the existing permittee and the 
proposed new permittee of its intent to deny the new 
permittee coverage under the permit. If this notice is not 
received, the transfer is effective on the date specified in 
the agreement mentioned in Part II Y 2. 

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 
and if any provision of this permit or the application of any 
provision of this permit to any circumstance, is held invalid, 
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the application of such provision to other circumstances, and 
the remainder of this permit, shall not be affected thereby. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5011; Filed August 1, 2017, 8:48 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 
agency discretion is involved. The State Water Control Board 
will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 
Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-870. Virginia Stormwater 
Management Program (VSMP) Regulation (amending 
9VAC25-870-150).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-44.15:25 and 62.1-44.15:28 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: September 20, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Frederick Cunningham, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4285, or email 
frederick.cunningham@deq.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

Chapter 349 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly authorizes the 
hiring of certified third-party professionals to administer a 
program for the management of stormwater and erosion, 
including plan review and inspection but not including 
enforcement, on behalf of (i) an erosion and stormwater 
management program authority or (ii) a stormwater 
management program authority. The amendment conforms 
the authorization procedures for stormwater management 
programs to the act. 

9VAC25-870-150. Authorization procedures for Virginia 
stormwater management programs. 

A. A locality adopting a VSMP in accordance with § 62.1-
44.15:27 of the Code of Virginia must submit to the board an 
application package that, at a minimum, contains the 
following: 

1. The draft VSMP ordinance(s) as required in 9VAC25-
870-148; 
2. A funding and staffing plan;  
3. The policies and procedures including, but not limited 
to, agreements:  

a. Agreements with Soil and Water Conservation 
Districts soil and water conservation districts, adjacent 
localities, or other public or private entities for the 
administration, plan review, inspection, and enforcement 
components of the program; and 
b. Contracts with third-party professionals who hold 
certificates of competence in the appropriate subject 

areas, as provided in subsection A of § 62.1-44.15:30 of 
the Code of Virginia, to carry out any or all of the 
responsibilities that Article 2.3 (§ 62.1-44.15:24 et seq.) 
of Chapter 3.1 of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia 
requires of a VSMP authority, including plan review and 
inspection but not including enforcement; and 

4. Such ordinances, plans, policies, and procedures must 
account for any town lying within the county as part of the 
locality's VSMP program unless such towns choose to 
adopt their own program. 

B. Upon receipt of an application package, the board or its 
designee shall have 30 calendar days to determine the 
completeness of the application package. If an application 
package is deemed to be incomplete based on the criteria set 
out in subsection A of this section, the board or its designee 
must identify to the VSMP authority applicant in writing the 
reasons the application package is deemed deficient. 

C. Upon receipt of a complete application package, the 
board or its designee shall have 120 calendar days for the 
review of the application package, unless an extension of 
time, not to exceed 12 months unless otherwise specified by 
the board in accordance with § 62.1-44.15:27 of the Code of 
Virginia, is requested by the department, provided the VSMP 
authority applicant has made substantive progress. During the 
120-day review period, the board or its designee shall either 
approve or disapprove the application, or notify the locality of 
a time extension for the review, and communicate its decision 
to the VSMP authority applicant in writing. If the application 
is not approved, the reasons for not approving the application 
shall be provided to the VSMP authority applicant in writing. 
Approval or denial shall be based on the application's 
compliance with the Virginia Stormwater Management Act 
and this chapter. 

D. A VSMP authority applicant in accordance with § 62.1-
44.15:27 of the Code of Virginia shall submit a complete 
application package for the board's review pursuant to a 
schedule set by the board in accordance with § 62.1-44.15:27 
and shall adopt a VSMP consistent with the Act and this 
chapter within the timeframe established pursuant to § 62.1-
44.15:27 or otherwise established by the board. 

E. A locality or other authorized entity not required to adopt 
a VSMP in accordance with § 62.1-44.15:27 of the Code of 
Virginia but electing to adopt a VSMP shall notify the 
department. Such notification shall include a proposed 
adoption date for a local stormwater management program on 
or after July 1, 2014, in accordance with a schedule 
developed by the department. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5127; Filed July 31, 2017, 10:35 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-105. Rules and Regulations 
for Licensing Providers by the Department of Behavioral 
Health and Developmental Services (amending 12VAC35-
105-925).  
Statutory Authority: § 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 
Public Comment Deadline: September 21, 2017. 
Effective Date: October 6, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Cleopatra L. Booker, Psy.D., Director, 
Office of Licensing, Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services, 1220 Bank Street, P.O. Box 1797, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 663-7271, FAX (804) 
692-0066, or email cleopatra.booker@dbhds.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 
the State Board of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services to adopt regulations that may be necessary to carry 
out the provisions of Title 37.2 and other laws of the 
Commonwealth administered by the Commissioner and the 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services (DBHDS). 
Purpose: The purpose of this fast-track regulatory action is to 
align 12VAC35-105-925 of the licensing regulations with 
changes in § 37.2-406 of the Code of Virginia. Specifically, 
the Code of Virginia contains three exceptions to the 
geographic restriction on DBHDS-licensed providers of 
treatment for persons with opiate addiction through the use of 
opioid replacements that are within one-half mile of a K-12 
school or licensed day care center for the treatment of opioid 
addiction. The history of the exemptions is: 
• Chapter 845 of the 2004 Acts of Assembly, which added 
Planning District 8. 
• Chapter 415 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly, which added 
Planning District 23. 
• Chapter 480 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, which added 
using nonmethadone opioid replacements if the opioid 
replacement has been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug 
Administration for the treatment of opioid addiction. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 
language already exists in the Code of Virginia, thus 
providers must already comply with the language. No new 
language is proposed. 
Substance: This fast-track rulemaking action updates the 
existing regulation to reflect these, and any future, changes to 
state law. The amendment deletes all language in 12VAC35-
105-925 B, except the language cross-referencing § 37.2-406. 

Issues: This action makes it clearer to providers what is 
required regarding where to locate services for DBHDS-
licensed providers of treatment for persons with opiate 
addiction. Rather than attempting to replicate language in the 
Code of Virginia, which was and could become updated 
faster than the regulatory language, this amendment will 
direct providers directly to the appropriate source in the Code 
of Virginia. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to Chapter 480 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly,1 the 
State Board of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services (Board) proposes to permit treatment programs 
using non-methadone opioid replacements to be within a half-
mile of a K-12 school or licensed day care center if the opioid 
replacement has been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug 
Administration (FDA) for the treatment of opioid addiction. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
the proposed change. 
Estimated Economic Impact. The current regulation prohibits 
providers of services to individuals with opioid addiction 
from locating within one-half mile of a public or private 
licensed day care center or a public or private K-12 school.2 
Consistent with the above-mentioned 2016 legislation, the 
Board proposes to allow treatment programs using non-
methadone opioid replacements to be within a half-mile of a 
K-12 school or licensed day care center if the opioid 
replacement has been approved by FDA for the treatment of 
opioid addiction. Providing greater location flexibility may 
reduce costs for providers of programs that provide services 
to individuals who are addicted to opioids. This may enable 
greater resources to be directly applied toward opioid 
treatment services and may enable additional clinics to open.  
The prohibition has existed in the first place since there has 
been concern that the presence of drug treatment facilities 
might increase crime near schools. Research has shown 
though that the presence of drug treatment facilities is no 
more associated with crime than the presence of other 
commercial businesses, and is less associated with crime than 
are convenience stores and corner stores.3 Thus the benefits 
of the proposed amendment likely exceed the cost.  
Businesses and Entities Affected. There are 36 programs 
licensed by the Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (DBHDS) that provide services to 
individuals who are addicted to opioids. Community Service 
Boards run 3 of the programs. The remaining 33 licensed 
programs are private.4 The proposed amendment potentially 
affects these programs and future programs. 
Localities Particularly Affected. All localities in Planning 
District 8 (Northern Virginia)5 and cities in Planning District 
23 (Hampton Roads)6 are already exempted from the location 
prohibition. Thus the proposed elimination of the location 
prohibition would potentially affect all Virginia localities 
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outside of Northern Virginia that are not cities in Hampton 
Roads.  
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 
is not likely to significantly directly affect employment. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendment would newly allow private property 
located within a half-mile of a K-12 school or licensed day 
care center to be used by programs using non-methadone 
opioid replacements if the opioid replacement has been 
approved by the FDA for the treatment of opioid addiction. 
Given that such programs would make up a very small 
portion of potential renters or purchasers of property located 
within a half-mile of a K-12 school or licensed day care 
center, the proposed amendment would in most cases not 
significantly affect the market value of private property. 
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 
does not significantly affect real estate development costs. 
Small Businesses:  
Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 
Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment increases 
the potential locations that may be used by small private 
programs that provide services to individuals who are 
addicted to opioids. This may reduce their facility/office 
rental costs. 
Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendment does not adversely affect small 
businesses. 
Adverse Impacts:   
Businesses. The proposed amendment does not adversely 
affect businesses. 
Localities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 
affect localities. 
Other Entities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 
affect other entities. 
_________________________________ 
1 See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+sum+SB556 
2 There are exceptions to the prohibition for programs within Planning 
District 8 and within cities in Planning District 23. Planning District 8 
includes: a) the Counties of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince 
William, b) the Cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, and 
Manassas Park, and c) the Towns of Dumfries, Herndon, Leesburg, 
Purcellville, and Vienna. The cities within Planning District 23 are: 
Chesapeake, Franklin, Hampton, Poquoson, Williamsburg, Newport News, 
Norfolk, Portsmouth, Suffolk, and Virginia Beach. 
3 See C. Debra M. Furr-Holden, Adam J. Milam, Elizabeth D. Nesoff, Renee 
M. Johnson, David O. Fakunle, Jacky M. Jennings, and Roland J. Thorpe, Jr. 
"Not in My Back Yard: A Comparative Analysis of Crime Around Publicly 
Funded Drug Treatment Centers, Liquor Stores, Convenience Stores, and 
Corner Stores in One Mid-Atlantic City," Journal of Studies on Alcohol and 
Drugs 2016 77:1, 17-24. 
4 Data source: Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 

5 Planning District 8 includes: a) the Counties of Arlington, Fairfax, 
Loudoun, and Prince William, b) the Cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls 
Church, Manassas, and Manassas Park, and c) the Towns of Dumfries, 
Herndon, Leesburg, Purcellville, and Vienna. 
6 Cities within Planning District 23 are: Chesapeake, Franklin, Hampton, 
Poquoson, Williamsburg, Newport News, Norfolk, Portsmouth, Suffolk, and 
Virginia Beach. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency concurs with the Department of Planning and 
Budget's economic impact analysis. 
Summary: 

Chapter 480 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly authorizes the 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services to license programs using nonmethadone opioid 
replacements that are within one-half mile of a K-12 
school or licensed day care center if the opioid 
replacement has been approved by the U.S. Food and 
Drug Administration for the treatment of opioid addiction. 
The amendments implement the changes to § 37.2-406 of 
the Code of Virginia enacted by Chapter 480. 

Part VI  
Additional Requirements for Selected Services  

Article 1  
Medication Assisted Treatment (Opioid Treatment Services)  

12VAC35-105-925. Standards for the evaluation of new 
licenses for providers of services to individuals with opioid 
addiction. 

A. Applicants requesting an initial license to provide a 
service for the treatment of opioid addiction through the use 
of methadone or any other opioid treatment medication or 
controlled substance shall supply information to the 
department that demonstrates the appropriateness of the 
proposed service in accordance with this section. 

B. The proposed site of the service shall comply with § 
37.2-406 of the Code of Virginia and, with the exception of 
services that are proposed to be located in Planning District 8, 
shall not be located within one-half mile of a public or private 
licensed day care center or a public or private K-12 school.  

C. In jurisdictions without zoning ordinances, the 
department shall request that the local governing body advise 
it as to whether the proposed site is suitable for and 
compatible with use as an office and the delivery of health 
care services. The department shall make this request when it 
notifies the local governing body of a pending application. 

D. Applicants shall demonstrate that the building or space to 
be used to provide the proposed service is suitable for the 
treatment of opioid addiction by submitting documentation of 
the following: 

1. The proposed site complies with the requirements of the 
local building regulatory entity; 
2. The proposed site complies with local zoning laws or 
ordinances, including any required business licenses; 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+sum+SB556
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3. In the absence of local zoning ordinances, the proposed 
site is suitable for and compatible with use as offices and 
the delivery of health care services; 
4. In jurisdictions where there are no parking ordinances, 
the proposed site has sufficient off-street parking to 
accommodate the needs of the individuals being served and 
prevent the disruption of traffic flow; 
5. The proposed site can accommodate individuals during 
periods of inclement weather; 
6. The proposed site complies with the Virginia Statewide 
Fire Prevention Code; and 
7. The applicant has a written plan to ensure security for 
storage of methadone at the site, which complies with 
regulations of the Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA), and 
the Virginia Board of Pharmacy. 

E. Applicants shall submit information to demonstrate that 
there are sufficient personnel available to meet the following 
staffing requirements and qualifications: 

1. The program director shall be licensed or certified by the 
applicable Virginia health regulatory board or by a 
nationally recognized certification board or eligible for this 
license or certification with relevant training, experience, 
or both, in the treatment of individuals with opioid 
addiction; 
2. The medical director shall be a board-certified 
addictionologist or have successfully completed or will 
complete within one year a course of study in opiate 
addiction that is approved by the department; 
3. A minimum of one pharmacist; 
4. Nurses; 
5. Counselors shall be licensed or certified by the 
applicable Virginia health regulatory board or by a 
nationally recognized certification board or eligible for this 
license or certification; and  
6. Personnel to provide support services. 

F. Applicants shall submit a description for the proposed 
service that includes: 

1. Proposed mission, philosophy, and goals of the provider; 
2. Care, treatment, and services to be provided, including a 
comprehensive discussion of levels of care provided and 
alternative treatment strategies offered; 
3. Proposed hours and days of operation; 
4. Plans for on-site security; and 
5. A diversion control plan for dispensed medications, 
including policies for use of drug screens. 

G. Applicants shall, in addition to the requirements of 
12VAC35-105-580 C 2, provide documentation of their 
capability to provide the following services and support 
directly or by arrangement with other specified providers 
when such services and supports are (i) requested by an 
individual being served or (ii) identified as an individual 

need, based on the assessment conducted in accordance with 
12VAC35-105-60 B and included in the individualized 
services plan: 

1. Psychological services; 
2. Social services; 
3. Vocational services; 
4. Educational services; and  
5. Employment services. 

H. Applicants shall submit documentation of contact with 
community services boards or behavioral health authorities in 
their service areas to discuss their plans for operating in the 
area and to develop joint agreements, as appropriate. 

I. Applicants shall provide policies and procedures that each 
individual served to be assessed every six months by the 
treatment team to determine if that individual is appropriate 
for safe and voluntary medically supervised withdrawal, 
alternative therapies including other medication assisted 
treatments, or continued federally approved pharmacotherapy 
treatment for opioid addiction. 

J. Applicants shall submit policies and procedures 
describing services they will provide to individuals who wish 
to discontinue opioid treatment services. 

K. Applicants shall provide assurances that the service will 
have a community liaison responsible for developing and 
maintaining cooperative relationships with community 
organizations, other service providers, local law enforcement, 
local government officials, and the community at large. 

L. The department shall conduct announced and 
unannounced reviews and complaint investigations in 
collaboration with the Virginia Board of Pharmacy and DEA 
to determine compliance with the regulations. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5052; Filed July 28, 2017, 10:47 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Board for Asbestos, 
Lead, and Home Inspectors is claiming an exemption from 
Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance 
with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which 
excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to changes 
in Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act where no 
agency discretion is involved. The Virginia Board for 
Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors will receive, consider, 
and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time 
with respect to reconsideration or revision. 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 26 Virginia Register of Regulations August 21, 2017 

2981 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-40. Home Inspector 
Licensing Regulations (amending 18VAC15-40-10, 
18VAC15-40-130).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Effective Date: September 20, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Trisha L. Henshaw, Executive Director, 
Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 
telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email 
alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments conform to Chapter 805 of the 2017 Acts 
of Assembly by (i) requiring that a home inspector 
observing the presence of any yellow corrugated stainless 
steel tubing while inspecting a home built prior to the 
adoption of the construction code effective May 1, 2008, 
must disclose this observation in the home inspection 
report, along with a specific advisory statement to the 
consumer; and (ii) incorporating relevant definitions for 
the home inspection report section.  

Part I  
General  

18VAC15-40-10. Definitions.  
A. Section 54.1-500 of the Code of Virginia provides 

definitions of the following terms and phrases as used in this 
chapter: 

"Board" 
"Home inspection" 
"Home inspector" 
"Person" 
"Residential building" 
B. Section 54.1-517.2:1 of the Code of Virginia provides 

definitions of the following terms and phrases as used in 
18VAC15-40-130: 

"Bonding" 
"Corrugated stainless steel tubing" 
"Grounding" 
C. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless a different meaning 
is provided or is plainly required by the context:  

"Address of record" means the mailing address designated 
by the licensee to receive notices and correspondence from 
the board. 

"Adjacent" means adjoining or within three feet of the 
residential building and that may affect the residential 
building. 

"Applicant" means an individual who has submitted an 
application for licensure. 

"Application" means a completed, board-prescribed form 
submitted with the appropriate fee and other required 
documentation. 

"Client" means a person who engages the services of a home 
inspector for a home inspection.  

"Compensation" means the receipt of monetary payment or 
other valuable consideration for services rendered.  

"Component" means a part of a system.  
"Contact hour" means 50 minutes of participation in a 

structured training activity.  
"CPE" means continuing professional education. 
"Department" means the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation.  
"Financial interest" means financial benefit accruing to an 

individual or to a member of his immediate family. Such 
interest shall exist by reason of (i) ownership in a business if 
the ownership exceeds 3.0% of the total equity of the 
business; (ii) annual gross income that exceeds or may be 
reasonably anticipated to exceed $1,000 from ownership in 
real or personal property or a business; (iii) salary, other 
compensation, fringe benefits, forgiveness of debt, or benefits 
from the use of property, or any combination of it, paid or 
provided by a business that exceeds or may be reasonably 
expected to exceed $1,000 annually; (iv) ownership of real or 
personal property if the interest exceeds $1,000 in value and 
excluding ownership in business, income, salary, other 
compensation, fringe benefits, or benefits from the use of 
property; (v) personal liability incurred or assumed on behalf 
of a business if the liability exceeds 3.0% of the asset value of 
the business; or (vi) an option for ownership of a business, 
real property, or personal property if the ownership interest 
will consist of clause (i) or (iv) of this definition. 

"Fireplace" means an interior fire-resistant masonry 
permanent or prefabricated fixture that can be used to burn 
fuel and is either vented or unvented.  

"Foundation" means the element of a structure that connects 
to the ground and transfers loads from the structure to the 
ground. Foundations may be shallow or deep.  

"Licensee" means a home inspector as defined in Chapter 5 
(§ 54.1-500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Licensure" means a method of regulation whereby the 
Commonwealth, through the issuance of a license, authorizes 
a person possessing the character and minimum skills to 
engage in the practice of a profession or occupation that is 
unlawful to practice without such license. 

"New residential structure" or "NRS" means a residential 
structure for which the first conveyance of record title to a 
purchaser has not occurred or the purchaser has not taken 
possession, whichever occurs later. 

"NRS specialty" means a designation granted by the board 
to a home inspector that authorizes such individual to conduct 
home inspections on any new residential structure. 
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"Outbuilding" means any structure on the property that is 
more than three feet from the residential building and that 
may affect the residential building. 

"Prelicense education course" means an instruction program 
approved by the board and is one of the requirements for 
licensure effective July 1, 2017. 

"Readily accessible" means available for access without 
requiring moving or removing of any obstacles.  

"Reinstatement" means the process and requirements 
through which an expired license can be made valid without 
the licensee having to apply as a new applicant.  

"Renewal" means the process and requirements for 
periodically approving the continuance of a license.  

"Residential structure" means a structure consisting of no 
more than two dwelling units or a townhouse.  

"Solid fuel burning appliances" means a hearth and fire 
chamber or similarly prepared place in which a fire may be 
built and that is built in conjunction with a chimney, or a 
listed assembly of a fire chamber, its chimney and related 
factory-made parts designed for unit assembly without 
requiring field construction.  

"System" means a combination of interacting or 
interdependent components, assembled to carry out one or 
more functions. 

"Virginia Residential Code" means the provisions of the 
Virginia Construction Code (Part I (13VAC5-63-10 et seq.) 
of 13VAC5-63) applicable to R-5 residential structures and 
that includes provisions of the International Residential Code 
as amended by the Board of Housing and Community 
Development.  
18VAC15-40-130. Home inspection report. 

A. Home inspection reports shall contain:  
1. Information pertaining to the licensee, including: 

a. Licensee's name; 
b. Business address; 
c. Telephone number; and 
d. License number and expiration date, to be followed by 
"NRS" if so designated and performing a home 
inspection on a new residential structure; 

2. The name, address, and telephone number of the client 
or the client's authorized representative, if available at the 
time of the inspection;  
3. The physical address of the residential property 
inspected; and  
4. The date, time (to include both start and finish times of 
the home inspection), and weather conditions at the time of 
the home inspection.  

B. In conducting a home inspection and reporting its 
findings, the home inspector, at a minimum, shall inspect the 
condition of and shall describe in writing the composition or 
characteristics of the following readily accessible components 

and readily observable defects, except as may be limited in 
the home inspection contract agreement:  

1. Structural system.  
a. Foundation.  
b. Framing.  
c. Stairs.  
d. Crawl space, the method of inspecting the crawl space 
shall be noted and explained in the home inspection 
report. If the crawl space cannot be inspected, the 
licensee shall explain in the home inspection report why 
this component was not inspected.  
e. Crawl space ventilation and vapor barriers.  
f. Slab floor, when present.  
g. Floors, ceilings, and walls.  

2. Roof structure, attic, and insulation.  
a. Roof covering. The method of inspecting the roof 
covering shall be noted and explained in the home 
inspection report. If the roof covering cannot be 
inspected, the licensee shall explain in the home 
inspection report why this component was not inspected.  
b. Roof ventilation.  
c. Roof drainage system, to include gutters and 
downspouts.  
d. Roof flashings, if readily visible.  
e. Skylights, chimneys, and roof penetrations, but not 
antennae or other roof attachments.  
f. Roof framing and sheathing.  
g. Attic, unless area is not readily accessible.  
h. Attic insulation.  

3. Exterior of residential building or NRS.  
a. Wall covering, flashing, and trim.  
b. Readily accessible doors and windows, but not the 
operation of associated security locks, devices, or 
systems.  
c. Decks, balconies, stoops, steps, porches, attached 
garages, carports, and any associated railings that are 
adjacent to the residential building or NRS and on the 
same property but not associated screening, shutters, 
awnings, storm windows, detached garages, or storm 
doors.  
d. Eaves, soffits, and fascias where readily accessible 
from ground level.  
e. Walkways, grade steps, patios, and driveways, but not 
fences or privacy walls.  
f. Vegetation, trees, grading, drainage, and any retaining 
walls adjacent to the residential building or NRS.  
g. Visible exterior portions of chimneys.  
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4. Interior of residential building or NRS.  
a. Interior walls, ceilings, and floors of residential 
building or NRS and any adjacent garage.  
b. Steps, stairways, railings, and balconies and associated 
railings.  
c. Countertops and installed cabinets, including 
hardware.  
d. Doors and windows, but not the operation of 
associated security locks, devices, or systems.  
e. Garage doors and permanently mounted and installed 
garage door operators. The automatic safety reverse 
function of garage door openers shall be tested, either by 
physical obstruction as specified by the manufacturer, or 
by breaking the beam of the electronic photo eye but only 
when the test can be safely performed and will not risk 
damage to the door, the opener, any nearby structure, or 
any stored items.  
f. Fireplaces, venting systems, hearths, dampers, and 
fireboxes, but not mantles, fire screens and doors, seals 
and gaskets.  
g. Solid fuel burning appliances, if applicable.  

5. Plumbing system.  
a. Interior water supply and distribution systems, 
including water supply lines and all fixtures and faucets, 
but not water conditioning systems or fire sprinkler 
systems.  
b. Water drainage, waste, and vent systems, including all 
fixtures.  
c. Drainage sumps, sump pumps, and related piping.  
d. Water heating equipment, including energy source and 
related vent systems, flues, and chimneys, but not solar 
water heating systems.  
e. Fuel storage and distribution systems for visible leaks.  

6. Electrical system.  
a. Service drop.  
b. Service entrance conductors, cables, and raceways.  
c. Service equipment and main disconnects.  
d. Service grounding.  
e. Interior components of service panels and sub panels, 
including feeders.  
f. Conductors.  
g. Overcurrent protection devices.  
h. Readily accessible installed lighting fixtures, switches, 
and receptacles.  
i. Ground fault circuit interrupters.  
j. Presence or absence of smoke detectors.  
k. Presence of solid conductor aluminum branch circuit 
wiring. 

l. Arc fault interrupters shall be noted if installed but not 
tested if equipment is attached to them.  

7. Heating system.  
a. Heating equipment, including operating controls, but 
not heat exchangers, gas logs, built-in gas burning 
appliances, grills, stoves, space heaters, solar heating 
devices, or heating system accessories such as 
humidifiers, air purifiers, motorized dampers, and heat 
reclaimers.  
b. Energy source.  
c. Heating distribution system.  
d. Vent systems, flues, and chimneys, including dampers.  

8. Air conditioning system.  
a. Central and installed wall air conditioning equipment.  
b. Operating controls, access panels, and covers.  
c. Energy source.  
d. Cooling distribution system.  

C. Systems in the home that are turned off, winterized, or 
otherwise secured so that they do not respond to normal 
activation using standard operating controls need not be put 
into operating condition. The home inspector shall state, in 
writing, the reason these systems or components were not 
inspected. 

D. In accordance with § 54.1-517.2:1 of the Code of 
Virginia, if a home inspector observes the presence of any 
shade of yellow corrugated stainless steel tubing during a 
home inspection in a home that was built prior to the adoption 
of the 2006 Virginia Construction Code, effective May 1, 
2008, the home inspector shall include that observation in the 
report along with the following statement: "Manufacturers 
believe that this product is safer if properly bonded and 
grounded as required by the manufacturer's installation 
instructions. Proper bonding and grounding of the product 
should be determined by a contractor licensed to perform the 
work in the Commonwealth of Virginia." 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5101; Filed July 24, 2017, 4:16 p.m.  

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Proposed Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 18VAC95-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Nursing Home Administrators (amending 
18VAC95-20-10, 18VAC95-20-80, 18VAC95-20-175, 
18VAC95-20-180, 18VAC95-20-200, 18VAC95-20-220, 
18VAC95-20-221, 18VAC95-20-225, 18VAC95-20-230, 
18VAC95-20-300, 18VAC95-20-340, 18VAC95-20-380, 
18VAC95-20-390, 18VAC95-20-430, 18VAC95-20-470; 
repealing 18VAC95-20-471). 
18VAC95-30. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Assisted Living Facility Administrators (amending 
18VAC95-30-10, 18VAC95-30-40, 18VAC95-30-70, 
18VAC95-30-90, 18VAC95-30-100, 18VAC95-30-120, 
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18VAC95-30-130, 18VAC95-30-140, 18VAC95-30-150, 
18VAC95-30-170, 18VAC95-30-180, 18VAC95-30-200, 
18VAC95-30-210).  
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

September 12, 2017 - 9:35 a.m. - Department of Health 
Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 
Floor, Suite 201, Board Room 1, Henrico, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: October 22, 2017. 
Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 
Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23233-1463, telephone 
(804) 367-4595, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 
corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
general authority for the regulatory boards to promulgate 
regulations that are reasonable and necessary to administer 
effectively the regulatory system.  
The specific mandate for the Board of Long-Term Care 
Administrators to license nursing home and assisted living 
facility administrators is found in § 54.1-3102 of the Code of 
Virginia.  
Purpose: In addition to updating and clarifying the 
regulations, the Board of Long-Term Care Administrators 
proposes to include the Health Services Executive (HSE) 
credential as a qualification for licensure. The HSE is a new 
credential approved by the National Association of Long-
Term Care Administrator Boards (NAB). Since the HSE 
incorporates and broadens the current qualifications for 
licensure as a nursing home administrator, it will provide 
adequate assurance of competency for practice and protection 
of the health and safety of the public served in long-term care 
facilities.  
Additionally, the board proposes to expand the grounds for 
disciplinary actions or denial of licensure to include causes 
that would be considered unprofessional conduct but are not 
explicitly listed in the current regulation. Causes or grounds 
for action currently listed in regulations of other boards, such 
as the Board of Nursing, will be adopted in amendments for 
these professions. With more specificity on unprofessional 
conduct, the board will have a greater ability to fulfill its 
mission of public protection. 
Substance: Most of the amendments that the board has 
identified in its periodic review and has proposed are editorial 
or intended to clarify existing language. Specifically, the 
board has proposed changes in the following sections:  
Regulations Governing the Practice of Nursing Home 
Administrators. 
18VAC95-20-10. Definitions. Add a definition for "active 
practice" as a minimum of 1,000 hours within the preceding 
24 months. 

18VAC95-20-175. Continuing education requirements. 
Include additional requirements for extension requests. 
18VAC95-20-220. Educational and training requirements for 
initial licensure. Add designation as Health Services 
Executive by NAB as a category that meets qualifications for 
initial licensure as a nursing home administrator (NHA). 
18VAC95-20-221. Required content for coursework. 

• Require official transcript from accredited college or 
university. 
• Rename content area categories to align with those in 
NAB Domains of Practice. 

18VAC95-20-230. Application package. Include employer 
verifications as documents that are not required to be part of 
the application package to be submitted at the same time. 
18VAC95-20-300. Administrator-in-training qualifications.  

• Require that registered preceptors provide training. 
• Require submission of Domains of Practice form with 
application. 

18VAC95-20-340. Supervision of trainees. Modify the 
requirement for the supervisor to be routinely in the training 
facility to include "as appropriate to the experience and 
training of the AIT and the needs of the residents." 
18VAC95-20-180. Qualifications of preceptors. Specify a 
requirement for the registration as a preceptor that an 
administrator must complete the online preceptor training 
course offered by NAB. 
18VAC95-20-430. Termination of program. Modify timing of 
written explanations to be provided to the board upon 
termination of a NHA administrator-in-training (AIT) 
program. 
18VAC95-20-470. Unprofessional conduct. 

• Include registrations as subject to board discipline. 
• Add enumerated causes that would permit the board to 
refuse, deny, suspend, or revoke a license, or otherwise 
impose discipline. 

Regulations Governing the Practice Assisted Living Facility 
Administrators.  
18VAC95-30-10. Definitions. 

• Include additional definitions to clarify references in 
regulations. 
• Add a definition for "active practice" as a minimum of 
1,000 hours within the preceding 24 months. 

18VAC95-30-70. Continuing education requirements. Include 
additional requirements for extension requests. 
18VAC95-30-100. Educational and training requirements for 
initial licensure. 

• Modify the AIT hours for persons with 30 hours of 
course credit to be consistent with persons who hold 
licensure as a registered nurse; AIT hours change from 320 
to 480 hours. 
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• Require an official transcript of accredited college or 
university coursework. 
• Make coursework references consistent with terminology 
in NAB Domains of Practice. 

18VAC95-30-130. Application package. Include employer 
verifications as documents that are not required to be part of 
the application package to be submitted at the same time. 
18VAC95-30-140. Training qualifications.  

• Require that registered preceptors provide training. 
• Require submission of Domains of Practice form with 
application. 

18VAC95-30-170. Training facilities. Include requirement 
that training not occur at provisional or provisionally licensed 
facilities as defined by the Department of Social Services. 
18VAC95-30-180. Preceptors. 

• Increase required years of full-time employment for 
registration as a preceptor from one to two years. 
• Clarify that "routinely present" with the trainee in the 
facility must be appropriate to the experience and training 
of the assisted living facility AIT and the needs of the 
residents. 
• Increase in weekly face-to-face instruction and review 
time with a trainee who is an acting administrator trainee. 
• Require training for preceptors using preceptor training 
modules now available through NAB. 
• Specify requirements for renewal of registration. 

18VAC95-30-200. Interruption or termination of program. 
Modify timing of written explanations to be provided to the 
board upon termination of an assisted living facility AIT 
program. 
18VAC95-30-210. Unprofessional conduct. 

• Include registrations as subject to board discipline. 
• Add enumerated causes that would permit the board to 
refuse, deny, suspend, or revoke a license, or otherwise 
impose discipline. 

Issues: The primary advantages of the amendments to the 
public are more clarity in the requirements for active practice 
and for oversight of AITs, additional training for preceptors 
of AITs, and additional grounds for a finding of 
unprofessional conduct. All changes will benefit residents of 
long-term care facilities, who are often the elderly and most 
vulnerable members of the public. There are no disadvantages 
to the public. 
There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 
Commonwealth. 
The proposed amendments are a foreseeable result of the 
statute requiring the board to protect the health and safety of 
citizens of the Commonwealth. The additional qualification 
for licensure as a nursing home administrator is an option that 
may be chosen by applicants. There are no additional 

requirements that would constitute a competitive 
disadvantage or have an impact on competition. 
Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 
proposed regulatory action serves as the report of the findings 
of the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As a 
result of periodic reviews,1 the Board of Long-Term Care 
Administrators (Board) proposes to generally update the 
regulatory language. There are numerous proposed changes, 
but the most notable changes are accepting the Health 
Services Executive (HSE) credential as a qualification for 
licensure and adding grounds for disciplinary action that 
would be considered unprofessional conduct but are not 
explicitly listed in the regulation. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. According to the Board, the 
HSE credential is a new credential approved by the National 
Association of Long-Term Care Administrator Boards. The 
Board proposes to accept the HSE credential as a new 
pathway for licensure as a nursing home administrator. 
Currently, there are three pathways: degree and practical 
experience, certificate program, and administrator-in-training 
program. Under the proposed regulation, individuals who 
prefer the HSE option would be allowed to pursue it. This 
would be beneficial for potential administrators who would 
prefer this path over the three existing paths to licensure. The 
Board staff believes that possessing the new credential 
indicates that the applicant would be at least as well qualified 
to safely perform the duties of a nursing home administrator 
as an applicant who completed one of the three existing 
pathways. Thus, the benefits of the proposed acceptance of 
the new credential for licensure should exceed the cost. 
The Board also proposes to explicitly state additional grounds 
for disciplinary action that would be considered 
unprofessional conduct even without the proposed language. 
Since this change is simply a clarification, no significant 
economic impact is expected. However, clarification of what 
is considered unprofessional conduct would improve the 
clarity of regulation and may improve its enforcement. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
potentially affect the 891 nursing home administrators and 
615 assisted living administrators in Virginia. 
Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulation will 
not affect any particular locality more than others. 
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation is 
not anticipated to have a significant impact on employment. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No effect 
on the use and value of private property is expected. 
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Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 
development costs is expected. 
Small Businesses:  
Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 
Costs and Other Effects. The proposed regulation does not 
directly apply to small businesses. However, if a nursing 
home or an assisted living administrator works for a small 
business it may be beneficial to that small business as the 
proposed regulation allows a new pathway to administrator 
licensure. 
Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed regulation does not introduce an adverse impact on 
small businesses. 
Adverse Impacts: 
Businesses. The proposed regulation does not have an 
adverse impact on businesses. 
Localities. The proposed regulation will not adversely affect 
localities. 
Other Entities. The proposed regulation will not adversely 
other entities. 
____________________________ 
1 http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1506 
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1507 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Long-Term Care Administrators concurs with the analysis 
of the Department of Planning and Budget. 
Summary: 

As a result of periodic reviews of the nursing home 
administrator and assisted living facility administrator 
regulations, the proposed amendments make numerous 
changes. The most notable changes (i) add the Health 
Services Executive credential as a qualification for 
licensure and (ii) expand the grounds for disciplinary 
actions or denial of licensure to include causes that would 
be considered unprofessional conduct but are not explicitly 
listed in the current regulation.  

Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC95-20-10. Definitions.  
A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the definitions ascribed to them in § 54.1-3100 of 
the Code of Virginia:  

"Board"  
"Nursing home"  
"Nursing home administrator"  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context 
indicates otherwise:  

"Accredited institution" means any degree-granting college 
or university accredited by an accrediting body approved by 
the United States U.S. Department of Education.  

"Active practice" means a minimum of 1,000 hours of 
practice as a licensed nursing home administrator within the 
preceding 24 months. 

"AIT" means a person enrolled in the administrator-in-
training program in nursing home administration in a licensed 
nursing home.  

"Administrator-of-record" means the licensed nursing home 
administrator designated in charge of the general 
administration of the facility and identified as such to the 
facility's licensing agency.  

"Approved sponsor" means an individual, business, or 
organization approved by the National Association of Long 
Term Care Administrator Boards NAB or by an accredited 
institution to offer continuing education programs in 
accordance with this chapter.  

"Continuing education" means the educational activities 
which that serve to maintain, develop, or increase the 
knowledge, skills, performance, and competence recognized 
as relevant to the nursing home administrator's professional 
responsibilities.  

"Full time" means employment of at least 35 hours per 
week.  

"Hour" means 50 minutes of participation in a program for 
obtaining continuing education.  

"Internship" means a practicum or course of study as part of 
a degree or post-degree program designed especially for the 
preparation of candidates for licensure as nursing home 
administrators that involves supervision by an accredited 
college or university of the practical application of previously 
studied theory.  

"NAB" means the National Association of Long Term Care 
Administrator Boards. 

"National examination" means a test used by the board to 
determine the competence of candidates for licensure as 
administered by the National Association of Long Term Care 
Administrator Boards NAB or any other examination 
approved by the board.  

"Preceptor" means a nursing home administrator currently 
licensed and registered or recognized by a nursing home 
administrator licensing board to conduct an administrator-in-
training (AIT) program.  

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1506
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1507
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18VAC95-20-80. Required fees.  
A. The applicant or licensee shall submit all fees below that 

apply:  

1. AIT program application $215 

2. Preceptor application $65 

3. Licensure application $315 

4. Verification of licensure requests 
from other states 

$35 

5. Nursing home administrator license 
renewal 

$315 

6. Preceptor renewal $65 

7. Penalty for nursing home 
administrator late renewal 

$110 

8. Penalty for preceptor late renewal $25 

9. Nursing home administrator 
reinstatement 

$435 

10. Preceptor reinstatement $105 

11. Duplicate license $25 

12. Duplicate wall certificates $40 

13. Reinstatement after disciplinary 
action 

$1,000 

B. For the first renewal after the effective date of this 
regulation, the following one-time shortfall assessment shall 
apply: 

1. Nursing home license renewal $100 

2. Preceptor renewal $20  

18VAC95-20-175. Continuing education requirements. 
A. In order to renew a nursing home administrator license, 

an applicant shall attest on his renewal application to 
completion of 20 hours of approved continuing education for 
each renewal year. 

1. Up to 10 of the 20 hours may be obtained through 
Internet or self-study courses and up to 10 continuing 
education hours in excess of the number required may be 
transferred or credited to the next renewal year. 
2. Up to two hours of the 20 hours required for annual 
renewal may be satisfied through delivery of services, 
without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 
health services through a local health department or a free 
clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of 
those services. One hour of continuing education may be 
credited for one hour of providing such volunteer services, 
as documented by the health department or free clinic. 

3. A licensee is exempt from completing continuing 
education requirements and considered in compliance on 
the first renewal date following initial licensure. 

B. In order for continuing education to be approved by the 
board, it shall (i) be related to health care administration and 
shall be approved or offered by the National Association of 
Long Term Care Administrator Boards (NAB) NAB, an 
accredited institution, or a government agency, or (ii) as 
provided in subdivision A 2 of this section. 

C. Documentation of continuing education. 
1. The licensee shall retain in his personal files for a period 
of three renewal years complete documentation of 
continuing education including evidence of attendance or 
participation as provided by the approved sponsor for each 
course taken. 
2. Evidence of attendance shall be an original document 
provided by the approved sponsor and shall include: 

a. Date or dates the course was taken; 
b. Hours of attendance or participation; 
c. Participant's name; and 
d. Signature of an authorized representative of the 
approved sponsor. 

3. If contacted for an audit, the licensee shall forward to 
the board by the date requested a signed affidavit of 
completion on forms provided by the board and evidence 
of attendance or participation as provided by the approved 
sponsor. 

D. The board may grant an extension of up to one year or an 
exemption for all or part of the continuing education 
requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the 
administrator, such as a certified illness, a temporary 
disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 
disasters. The request for an extension shall be received in 
writing and granted by the board prior to the renewal date. 
18VAC95-20-180. Late renewal.  

A. A person who fails to renew his license or preceptor 
registration by the expiration date shall, within one year of the 
initial expiration date:  

1. Return the renewal notice or request renewal in writing 
to the board; and  
2. Submit the applicable renewal fee and penalty late fee.  

B. The documents required in subsection A of this section 
shall be received in the board office within one year of the 
initial expiration date. Postmarks shall not be considered.  
18VAC95-20-200. Reinstatement for nursing home 
administrator license or preceptor registration.  

A. The board may reinstate a nursing home administrator 
license or preceptor registration that was not renewed within 
one year of the initial expiration date.  

B. An applicant for nursing home administrator license 
reinstatement shall apply on a reinstatement form provided by 
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the board, submit the reinstatement fee, and provide one of 
the following:  

1. Evidence of the equivalent of 20 hours of continuing 
education for each year since the last renewal, not to 
exceed a total of 60 hours.  
2. Evidence of active practice in another state or U.S. 
United States jurisdiction or in the U.S. United States 
armed services during the period licensure in Virginia was 
lapsed.  
3. Evidence of requalifying for licensure by meeting the 
requirements prescribed in 18VAC95-20-220 or 
18VAC95-20-225.  

C. An applicant for preceptor reinstatement shall apply on a 
reinstatement form provided by the board, submit the 
reinstatement fee, and meet the current requirements for a 
preceptor in effect at the time of application for reinstatement.  

D. Any person whose license or registration has been 
suspended, revoked, or denied renewal by the board under the 
provisions of 18VAC95-20-470 shall, in order to be eligible 
for reinstatement, (i) submit a reinstatement application to the 
board for a license, (ii) pay the appropriate reinstatement fee, 
and (iii) submit any other credentials as prescribed by the 
board. After a hearing, the board may, at its discretion, grant 
the reinstatement.  

Part III  
Requirements for Licensure  

18VAC95-20-220. Qualifications for initial licensure. 
One of the following sets of qualifications is required for 

licensure as a nursing home administrator: 
1. Degree and practical experience. The applicant shall (i) 
hold a baccalaureate or higher degree in a health care-
related field that meets the requirements of 18VAC95-20-
221 from an accredited institution; (ii) have completed not 
less than a 320-hour internship that addresses the Domains 
of Practice as specified in 18VAC95-20-390 in a licensed 
nursing home as part of the degree program under the 
supervision of a preceptor; and (iii) have received a 
passing grade on the national examination; 
2. Certificate program. The applicant shall (i) hold a 
baccalaureate or higher degree from an accredited college 
or university;, (ii) successfully complete a program with a 
minimum of 21 semester hours study in a health care-
related field that meets the requirements of 18VAC95-20-
221 from an accredited institution;, (iii) successfully 
complete not less than a 400-hour internship that addresses 
the Domains of Practice as specified in 18VAC95-20-390 
in a licensed nursing home as part of the certificate 
program under the supervision of a preceptor;, and (iv) 
have received a passing grade on the national examination; 
or 
3. Administrator-in-training program. The applicant shall 
have (i) successfully completed an AIT program which that 
meets the requirements of Part IV (18VAC95-20-300 et 

seq.) of this chapter and, (ii) received a passing grade on 
the national examination, and (iii) completed the Domains 
of Practice form required by the board; or 
4. Health Services Executive (HSE) credential. The 
applicant shall provide evidence that he has met the 
minimum education, experience, and examination 
standards established by NAB for qualification as a Health 
Services Executive. 

18VAC95-20-221. Required content for coursework.  
To meet the educational requirements for a degree in a 

health care-related field, an applicant must provide a an 
official transcript from an accredited college or university that 
documents successful completion of a minimum of 21 
semester hours of coursework concentrated on the 
administration and management of health care services to 
include a minimum of three semester hours in each of the 
content areas in subdivisions 1 through 4 of this section, six 
semester hours in the content area set out in subdivision 5 of 
this section, and three semester hours for an internship.  

1. Resident care and quality of life Customer care, 
supports, services: Course content shall address program 
and service planning, supervision, and evaluation to meet 
the needs of patients, such as (i) nursing, medical and 
pharmaceutical care; (ii) rehabilitative, social, 
psychosocial, and recreational services; (iii) nutritional 
services; (iv) safety and rights protections; (v) quality 
assurance; and (vi) infection control.  
2. Human resources: Course content shall focus on 
personnel leadership in a health care management role and 
must address organizational behavior and personnel 
management skills such as (i) staff organization, 
supervision, communication, and evaluation; (ii) staff 
recruitment, retention, and training; (iii) personnel policy 
development and implementation; and (iv) employee 
health and safety.  
3. Finance: Course content shall address financial 
management of health care programs and facilities such as 
(i) an overview of financial practices and problems in the 
delivery of health care services; (ii) financial planning, 
accounting, analysis, and auditing; (iii) budgeting; (iv) 
health care cost issues; and (v) reimbursement systems and 
structures.  
4. Physical environment and atmosphere Environment: 
Course content shall address facility and equipment 
management such as (i) maintenance;, (ii) housekeeping;, 
(iii) safety;, (iv) inspections and compliance with laws and 
regulations;, and (v) emergency preparedness.  
5. Leadership and management: Course content shall 
address the leadership roles in health delivery systems such 
as (i) government oversight and interaction;, (ii) 
organizational policies and procedures;, (iii) principles of 
ethics and law;, (iv) community coordination and 
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cooperation;, (v) risk management;, and (vi) governance 
and decision making.  

18VAC95-20-225. Qualifications for licensure by 
endorsement. 

The board may issue a license to any person who:  
1. Holds a current, unrestricted license from any state or 
the District of Columbia; and 
2. Meets one of the following conditions:  

a. Has practiced nursing home administration for one 
year been engaged in active practice as a licensed nursing 
home administrator; or  
b. Has education and experience equivalent to 
qualifications required by this chapter and has provided 
written evidence of those qualifications at the time of 
application for licensure. 

18VAC95-20-230. Application package. 
A. An application for licensure shall be submitted after the 

applicant completes the qualifications for licensure. 
B. An individual seeking licensure as a nursing home 

administrator or registration as a preceptor shall submit: 
1. A completed application as provided by the board; 
2. Additional documentation as may be required by the 
board to determine eligibility of the applicant;  
3. The applicable fee;  
4. An attestation that he has read and understands and will 
remain current with the applicable Virginia laws and 
regulations relating to the administration of nursing homes; 
and 
5. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB). 

C. With the exception of school transcripts, examination 
scores, the NPDB report, employer verifications, and 
verifications from other state boards, all parts of the 
application package shall be submitted at the same time. An 
incomplete package shall be retained by the board for one 
year, after which time the application shall be destroyed and a 
new application and fee shall be required.  

Part IV  
Administrator-In-Training Program  

18VAC95-20-300. Administrator-in-training 
qualifications.  

A. To be approved as an administrator-in-training, a person 
shall:  

1. Have received a passing grade on a total of 60 semester 
hours of education from an accredited institution;  
2. Obtain a registered preceptor to provide training;  
3. Submit the fee prescribed in 18VAC95-20-80;  
4. Submit the application and Domains of Practice form 
provided by the board; and  

5. Submit additional documentation as may be necessary to 
determine eligibility of the applicant and the number of 
hours required for the AIT program.  

B. With the exception of school transcripts, all required 
parts of the application package shall be submitted at the 
same time. An incomplete package shall be retained by the 
board for one year after which time the application shall be 
destroyed and a new application and fee shall be required.  
18VAC95-20-340. Supervision of trainees.  

A. Training shall be under the supervision of a preceptor 
who is registered or recognized by a licensing board.  

B. A preceptor may supervise no more than two AIT's at any 
one time.  

C. A preceptor shall:  
1. Provide direct instruction, planning, and evaluation in 
the training facility;  
2. Shall be routinely present with the trainee in the training 
facility as appropriate to the experience and training of the 
AIT and the needs of the residents in the facility; and  
3. Shall continually evaluate the development and 
experience of the AIT to determine specific areas in the 
Domains of Practice that need to be addressed.  

18VAC95-20-380. Qualifications of preceptors.  
A. To be registered by the board as a preceptor, a person 

shall:  
1. Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia nursing home 
administrator license and be employed full time as an 
administrator of record in a training facility for a minimum 
of two of the past three years immediately prior to 
registration; and 
2. Provide evidence that he has completed the online 
preceptor training course offered by NAB; and  
3. Meet the application requirements in 18VAC95-20-230.  

B. To renew registration as a preceptor, a person shall: 
1. Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia nursing home 
license and be employed by or have an agreement with a 
training facility for a preceptorship; and  
2. Meet the renewal requirements of 18VAC95-20-170.  

18VAC95-20-390. Training plan.  
Prior to the beginning of the AIT program, the preceptor 

shall develop and submit for board approval a training plan 
that shall include and be designed around the specific training 
needs of the administrator-in-training. The training plan shall 
address the Domains of Practice approved by the National 
Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards NAB 
that is in effect at the time the training program is submitted 
for approval. An AIT program shall include training in each 
of the learning areas in the Domains of Practice.  
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18VAC95-20-430. Termination of program.  
A. If the AIT program is terminated prior to completion, the 

trainee and the preceptor shall each submit a written 
explanation of the causes of program termination to the board 
within five working 10 business days.  

B. The preceptor shall also submit all required monthly 
progress reports completed prior to termination.  

Part V  
Refusal, Suspension, Revocation, and Disciplinary Action  

18VAC95-20-470. Unprofessional conduct.  
The board may refuse to admit a candidate to an 

examination, refuse to issue or renew a license or registration 
or approval to any applicant, suspend a license for a stated 
period of time or indefinitely, reprimand a licensee or 
registrant, place his license or registration on probation with 
such terms and conditions and for such time as it may 
designate, impose a monetary penalty, or revoke a license or 
registration for any of the following causes:  

1. Conducting the practice of nursing home administration 
in such a manner as to constitute a danger to the health, 
safety, and well-being of the residents, staff, or public;  
2. Failure to comply with federal, state, or local laws and 
regulations governing the operation of a nursing home;  
3. Conviction of a felony or any misdemeanor involving 
abuse, neglect, or moral turpitude;  
4. Violating or cooperating with others in violating any of 
the provisions of Chapters 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 24 
(§ 54.1-2400 et seq.), and this chapter 31 (§ 54.1-3100 et 
seq.) of the Code of Virginia or regulations of the board; or  
5. Inability to practice with reasonable skill or safety by 
reason of illness or substance abuse or as a result of any 
mental or physical condition; 
6. Abuse, negligent practice, or misappropriation of a 
resident's property; 
7. Entering into a relationship with a resident that 
constitutes a professional boundary violation in which the 
administrator uses his professional position to take 
advantage of the vulnerability of a resident or his family, to 
include actions that result in personal gain at the expense 
of the resident, an inappropriate personal involvement or 
sexual conduct with a resident; 
8. The denial, revocation, suspension, or restriction of a 
license to practice in another state, the District of 
Columbia, or a United States possession or territory; 
9. Assuming duties and responsibilities within the practice 
of nursing home administration without adequate training 
or when competency has not been maintained; 
10. Obtaining supplies, equipment, or drugs for personal or 
other unauthorized use;  

11. Falsifying or otherwise altering resident or employer 
records, including falsely representing facts on a job 
application or other employment-related documents;  
12. Fraud or deceit in procuring or attempting to procure a 
license or registration or seeking reinstatement of a license 
or registration; or 
13. Employing or assigning unqualified persons to perform 
functions that require a license, certificate, or registration. 

18VAC95-20-471. Criteria for delegation of informal fact-
finding proceedings to an agency subordinate. (Repealed.) 

A. Decision to delegate. In accordance with § 54.1-2400 
(10) of the Code of Virginia, the board may delegate an 
informal fact-finding proceeding to an agency subordinate 
upon determination that probable cause exists that a 
practitioner may be subject to a disciplinary action.  

B. Criteria for delegation. Cases that may not be delegated 
to an agency subordinate include violations of standards of 
practice as set forth in subdivisions 1, 3 and 5 of 18VAC95-
20-470, except as may otherwise be determined by a special 
conference committee of the board.  

C. Criteria for an agency subordinate.  
1. An agency subordinate authorized by the board to 
conduct an informal fact-finding proceeding may include 
current or past board members and professional staff or 
other persons deemed knowledgeable by virtue of their 
training and experience in administrative proceedings 
involving the regulation and discipline of health 
professionals.  
2. The executive director shall maintain a list of 
appropriately qualified persons to whom an informal fact-
finding proceeding may be delegated.  
3. The board may delegate to the executive director the 
selection of the agency subordinate who is deemed 
appropriately qualified to conduct a proceeding based on 
the qualifications of the subordinate and the type of case 
being heard.  

Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC95-30-10. Definitions. 
A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the definitions ascribed to them in § 54.1-3100 of 
the Code of Virginia:  

"Assisted living facility"  
"Assisted living facility administrator"  
"Board"  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context 
indicates otherwise:  

"Accredited institution" means any degree-granting college 
or university accredited by an accrediting body approved by 
the U.S. Department of Education.  
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"Active practice" means a minimum of 1,000 hours of 
practice as an assisted living facility administrator within the 
preceding 24 months. 

"Administrator-of-record" means the licensed assisted living 
facility administrator designated in charge of the general 
administration and management of an assisted living facility, 
including compliance with applicable regulations, and 
identified as such to the facility's licensing agency.  

"ALF AIT" means an a person enrolled in an administrator-
in-training program in a licensed assisted living facility 
administrator-in-training.  

"Approved sponsor" means an individual, business, or 
organization approved by NAB or by an accredited institution 
to offer continuing education programs in accordance with 
this chapter. 

"Continuing education" means the educational activities that 
serve to maintain, develop, or increase the knowledge, skills, 
performance, and competence recognized as relevant to the 
assisted living facility administrator's professional 
responsibilities. 

"Domains of practice" means the content areas of tasks, 
knowledge and skills necessary for administration of a 
residential care/assisted care or assisted living facility as 
approved by the National Association of Long Term Care 
Administrator Boards NAB.  

"Full time" means employment of at least 35 hours per 
week.  

"Hour" means 50 minutes of participation in a program for 
obtaining continuing education. 

"Internship" means a practicum or course of study as part of 
a degree or post-degree program designed especially for the 
preparation of candidates for licensure as assisted living 
facility administrators that involves supervision by an 
accredited college or university of the practical application of 
previously studied theory. 

"NAB" means the National Association of Long Term Care 
Administrator Boards. 

"National examination" means a test used by the board to 
determine the competence of candidates for licensure as 
administered by NAB or any other examination approved by 
the board.  

"Preceptor" means an assisted living facility administrator or 
nursing home administrator currently licensed and registered 
to conduct an ALF AIT program.  
18VAC95-30-40. Required fees. 

A. The applicant or licensee shall submit all fees below in 
this subsection that apply:  

1. ALF AIT program application $215 

2. Preceptor application $65 

3. Licensure application $315 

4. Verification of licensure requests from 
other states 

$35 

5. Assisted living facility administrator 
license renewal 

$315 

6. Preceptor renewal $65 

7. Penalty for assisted living facility 
administrator late renewal 

$110 

8. Penalty for preceptor late renewal $25 

9. Assisted living facility administrator 
reinstatement 

$435 

10. Preceptor reinstatement $105 

11. Duplicate license $25 

12. Duplicate wall certificates $40 

13. Returned check $35 

14. Reinstatement after disciplinary 
action 

$1,000 

B. Fees shall not be refunded once submitted.  
C. Examination fees are to be paid directly to the service 

contracted by the board to administer the examination. 
D. For the first renewal after the effective date of this 

regulation, the following one-time shortfall assessment shall 
apply: 

1. Assisted living facility administrator 
license renewal 

$100 

2. Preceptor renewal $20  

18VAC95-30-70. Continuing education requirements. 
A. In order to renew an assisted living administrator license, 

an applicant shall attest on his renewal application to 
completion of 20 hours of approved continuing education for 
each renewal year.  

1. Up to 10 of the 20 hours may be obtained through 
Internet or self-study courses and up to 10 continuing 
education hours in excess of the number required may be 
transferred or credited to the next renewal year.  
2. Up to two hours of the 20 hours required for annual 
renewal may be satisfied through delivery of services, 
without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 
health services through a local health department or a free 
clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of 
those services. One hour of continuing education may be 
credited for one hour of providing such volunteer services, 
as documented by the health department or free clinic. 
3. A licensee is exempt from completing continuing 
education requirements for the first renewal following 
initial licensure in Virginia.  
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B. In order for continuing education to be approved by the 
board, it shall (i) be related to the domains of practice for 
residential care/assisted living and approved or offered by 
NAB, an accredited educational institution, or a governmental 
agency, or (ii) be as provided in subdivision A 2 of this 
section.  

C. Documentation of continuing education.  
1. The licensee shall retain in his personal files for a period 
of three renewal years complete documentation of 
continuing education including evidence of attendance or 
participation as provided by the approved sponsor for each 
course taken.  
2. Evidence of attendance shall be an original document 
provided by the approved sponsor and shall include:  

a. Date or dates the course was taken;  
b. Hours of attendance or participation;  
c. Participant's name; and  
d. Signature of an authorized representative of the 
approved sponsor.  

3. If contacted for an audit, the licensee shall forward to 
the board by the date requested a signed affidavit of 
completion on forms provided by the board and evidence 
of attendance or participation as provided by the approved 
sponsor.  

D. The board may grant an extension of up to one year or an 
exemption for all or part of the continuing education 
requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the 
administrator, such as a certified illness, a temporary 
disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 
disasters. The request for an extension shall be submitted in 
writing and granted by the board prior to the renewal date. 
18VAC95-30-90. Reinstatement for an assisted living 
facility administrator license or preceptor registration. 

A. The board may reinstate an assisted living facility 
administrator license or preceptor registration that was not 
renewed within one year of the initial expiration date.  

B. An applicant for assisted living facility administrator 
license reinstatement shall apply on a reinstatement form 
provided by the board, submit the reinstatement fee, and 
provide one of the following:  

1. Evidence of the equivalent of 20 hours of continuing 
education for each year since the last renewal, not to 
exceed a total of 60 hours.  
2. Evidence of active practice in another state or U.S. 
United States jurisdiction or in the U.S. United States 
armed services during the period licensure in Virginia was 
lapsed.  
3. Evidence of requalifying for licensure by meeting the 
requirements prescribed in 18VAC95-30-100 and 
18VAC95-30-110.  

C. An applicant for preceptor reinstatement shall apply on a 
reinstatement form provided by the board, submit the 
reinstatement fee, and meet the current requirements for a 
preceptor in effect at the time of application for reinstatement. 

D. Any person whose license or registration has been 
suspended, revoked, or denied renewal by the board under the 
provisions of 18VAC95-30-210 shall, in order to be eligible 
for reinstatement, (i) submit a reinstatement application to the 
board for a license, (ii) pay the appropriate reinstatement fee, 
and (iii) submit any other credentials as prescribed by the 
board. After a hearing, the board may, at its discretion, grant 
the reinstatement.  
18VAC95-30-100. Educational and training requirements 
for initial licensure. 

A. To be qualified for initial licensure as an assisted living 
facility administrator, an applicant shall hold a high school 
diploma or general education diploma (GED) and hold one of 
the following qualifications:  

1. Administrator-in-training program. 
a. Complete at least 30 semester hours in an accredited 
college or university in any subject and 640 hours in an 
ALF AIT program as specified in 18VAC95-30-150; 
b. Complete an educational program as a licensed 
practical nurse and hold a current, unrestricted license or 
multistate licensure privilege and 640 hours in an ALF 
AIT program;  
c. Complete an educational program as a registered nurse 
and hold a current, unrestricted license or multistate 
licensure privilege and 480 hours in an ALF AIT 
program; 
d. Complete at least 30 semester hours in an accredited 
college or university with courses in the content areas of 
(i) client/resident care;, (ii) human resources 
management;, (iii) financial management;, (iv) physical 
environment;, and (v) leadership and governance;, and 
320 480 hours in an ALF AIT program; 
e. Hold a master's or a baccalaureate degree in health 
care-related field or a comparable field that meets the 
requirements of subsection B of this section with no 
internship or practicum and 320 hours in an ALF AIT 
program; or  
f. Hold a master's or baccalaureate degree in an unrelated 
field and 480 hours in an ALF AIT program; or 

2. Certificate program. 
Hold a baccalaureate or higher degree in a field unrelated 
to health care from an accredited college or university 
and successfully complete a certificate program with a 
minimum of 21 semester hours study in a health care-
related field that meets course content requirements of 
subsection B of this section from an accredited college or 
university and successfully complete not less than a 320-
hour internship or practicum that addresses the domains 
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of practice as specified in 18VAC95-30-160 in a licensed 
assisted living facility as part of the certificate program 
under the supervision of a preceptor; or  

3. Degree and practical experience.  
Hold a baccalaureate or higher degree in a health care-
related field that meets the course content requirements 
of subsection B of this section from an accredited college 
or university and have completed not less than a 320-
hour internship or practicum that addresses the Domains 
of Practice as specified in 18VAC95-30-160 in a licensed 
assisted living facility as part of the degree program 
under the supervision of a preceptor. 

B. To meet the educational requirements for a degree in a 
health care-related field, an applicant must provide a an 
official transcript from an accredited college or university that 
documents successful completion of a minimum of 21 
semester hours of coursework concentrated on the 
administration and management of health care services to 
include a minimum of six semester hours in the content area 
set out in subdivision 1 of this subsection, three semester 
hours in each of the content areas in subdivisions 2 through 5 
of this subsection, and three semester hours for an internship 
or practicum. 

1. Resident/client services management Customer care, 
supports, and services; 
2. Human resource management resources; 
3. Financial management Finance; 
4. Physical environment management Environment; 
5. Leadership and governance management. 

18VAC95-30-120. Qualifications for licensure by 
endorsement or credentials. 

A. If applying from any state or the District of Columbia in 
which a license, certificate, or registration is required to be 
the administrator of an assisted living facility, an applicant for 
licensure by endorsement shall hold a current, unrestricted 
license, certificate, or registration from that state or the 
District of Columbia. If applying from a jurisdiction that does 
not have such a requirement, an applicant may apply for 
licensure by credentials, and no evidence of licensure, 
certification, or registration is required. 

B. The board may issue a license to any person who: 
1. Meets the provisions of subsection A of this section;  
2. Has not been the subject of a disciplinary action taken 
by any jurisdiction in which he was found to be in 
violation of law or regulation governing practice and 
which, in the judgment of the board, has not remediated;  
3. Meets one of the following conditions: 

a. Has practiced as the administrator of record been 
engaged in active practice as an assisted living facility 
administrator in an assisted living facility that provides 
assisted living care as defined in § 63.2-100 of the Code 

of Virginia for at least two of the four years immediately 
preceding application to the board; or  
b. Has education and experience substantially equivalent 
to qualifications required by this chapter and has 
provided written evidence of those qualifications at the 
time of application for licensure; and  

4. Has successfully passed a national credentialing 
examination for administrators of assisted living facilities 
approved by the board. 

18VAC95-30-130. Application package. 
A. An application for licensure shall be submitted after the 

applicant completes the qualifications for licensure.  
B. An individual seeking licensure as an assisted living 

facility administrator or registration as a preceptor shall 
submit:  

1. A completed application as provided by the board;  
2. Additional documentation as may be required by the 
board to determine eligibility of the applicant, to include 
the most recent survey report if the applicant has been 
serving as an acting administrator of a facility;  
3. The applicable fee;  
4. An attestation that he has read and understands and will 
remain current with the applicable Virginia laws and the 
regulations relating to assisted living facilities; and 
5. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB). 

C. With the exception of school transcripts, examination 
scores, the NPDB report, employer verifications, and 
verifications from other state boards, all parts of the 
application package shall be submitted at the same time. An 
incomplete package shall be retained by the board for one 
year, after which time the application shall be destroyed and a 
new application and fee shall be required. 

Part IV  
Administrator-in-Training Program  

18VAC95-30-140. Training qualifications. 
A. To be approved as an ALF administrator-in-training, a 

person shall:  
1. Meet the requirements of 18VAC95-30-100 A 1;  
2. Obtain a registered preceptor to provide training;  
3. Submit the application and Domains of Practice form 
provided by the board and the fee prescribed in 18VAC95-
30-40; and  
4. Submit additional documentation as may be necessary to 
determine eligibility of the applicant and the number of 
hours required for the ALF AIT program.  

B. With the exception of school transcripts, all required 
parts of the application package shall be submitted at the 
same time. An incomplete package shall be retained by the 
board for one year after which time the application shall be 
destroyed and a new application and fee shall be required.  
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18VAC95-30-150. Required hours of training. 
A. The ALF AIT program shall consist of hours of 

continuous training as specified in 18VAC95-30-100 A 1 in a 
facility as prescribed in 18VAC95-30-170 to be completed 
within 24 months, except a person in an ALF AIT program 
who has been approved by the board and is serving as an 
acting administrator shall complete the program within 150 
days. An extension may be granted by the board on an 
individual case basis. The board may reduce the required 
hours for applicants with certain qualifications as prescribed 
in subsection B of this section. 

B. An ALF AIT program applicant with prior health care 
work experience may request approval to receive hours of 
credit toward the total hours as follows:  

1. An applicant who has been employed full time for one 
of the past four years immediately prior to application as 
an assistant administrator in a licensed assisted living 
facility or nursing home or as a hospital administrator shall 
complete 320 hours in an ALF AIT program;  
2. An applicant who holds a license or a multistate 
licensure privilege as a registered nurse and who has held 
an administrative level supervisory position in nursing for 
at least one of the past four consecutive years in a licensed 
assisted living facility or nursing home shall complete 320 
hours in an ALF AIT program; or  
3. An applicant who holds a license or a multistate 
licensure privilege as a licensed practical nurse and who 
has held an administrative level supervisory position in 
nursing for at least one of the past four consecutive years 
in a licensed assisted living facility or nursing home shall 
complete 480 hours in an ALF AIT program.  

18VAC95-30-170. Training facilities. 
A. Training in an ALF AIT program or for an internship or 

practicum shall be conducted only in:  
1. An assisted living facility or unit licensed by the 
Virginia Board of Social Services or by a similar licensing 
body in another jurisdiction;  
2. An assisted living facility owned or operated by an 
agency of any city, county, or the Commonwealth or of the 
United States government; or  
3. An assisted living unit located in and operated by a 
licensed hospital as defined in § 32.1-123 of the Code of 
Virginia, a state-operated hospital, or a hospital licensed in 
another jurisdiction. 

B. Training shall not be conducted in a facility with a 
provisional license as determined by the Department of Social 
Services. 
18VAC95-30-180. Preceptors. 

A. Training in an ALF AIT program shall be under the 
supervision of a preceptor who is registered or recognized by 
Virginia or a similar licensing board in another jurisdiction.  

B. To be registered by the board as a preceptor, a person 
shall:  

1. Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia assisted living 
facility administrator or nursing home administrator 
license;  
2. Be employed full time as an administrator in a training 
facility or facilities for a minimum of one two of the past 
four years immediately prior to registration or be a regional 
administrator with on-site supervisory responsibilities for a 
training facility or facilities; and 
3. Provide evidence that he has completed the online 
preceptor training course offered by NAB; and  
4. Submit an application and fee as prescribed in 
18VAC95-30-40. The board may waive such application 
and fee for a person who is already approved as a preceptor 
for nursing home licensure. 

C. A preceptor shall:  
1. Provide direct instruction, planning, and evaluation;  
2. Be routinely present with the trainee in the training 
facility as appropriate to the experience and training of the 
ALF AIT and the needs of the residents in the facility; and  
3. Continually evaluate the development and experience of 
the trainee to determine specific areas needed for 
concentration.  

D. A preceptor may supervise no more than two trainees at 
any one time.  

E. A preceptor for a person who is serving as an acting 
administrator while in an ALF AIT program shall be present 
in the training facility for face-to-face instruction and review 
of the trainee's performance for a minimum of two four hours 
per week. 

F. To renew registration as a preceptor, a person shall: 
1. Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia assisted living 
facility or nursing home license and be employed by or 
have an agreement with a training facility for a 
preceptorship; and  
2. Meet the renewal requirements of 18VAC95-30-60.  

18VAC95-30-200. Interruption or termination of 
program. 

A. If the program is interrupted because the registered 
preceptor is unable to serve, the trainee shall notify the board 
within 10 working days and shall obtain a new preceptor who 
is registered with the board within 60 days.  

1. Credit for training shall resume when a new preceptor is 
obtained and approved by the board.  
2. If an alternate training plan is developed, it shall be 
submitted to the board for approval before the trainee 
resumes training.  

B. If the training program is terminated prior to completion, 
the trainee and the preceptor shall each submit a written 
explanation of the causes of program termination to the board 
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within five working 10 business days. The preceptor shall 
also submit all required monthly progress reports completed 
prior to termination within 10 business days.  

Part V  
Refusal, Suspension, Revocation and Disciplinary Action  

18VAC95-30-210. Unprofessional conduct. 
The board may refuse to admit a candidate to an 

examination, refuse to issue or renew a license or registration 
or grant approval to any applicant, suspend a license or 
registration for a stated period of time or indefinitely, 
reprimand a licensee or registrant, place his license or 
registration on probation with such terms and conditions and 
for such time as it may designate, impose a monetary penalty, 
or revoke a license or registration for any of the following 
causes:  

1. Conducting the practice of assisted living administration 
in such a manner as to constitute a danger to the health, 
safety, and well-being of the residents, staff, or public;  
2. Failure to comply with federal, state, or local laws and 
regulations governing the operation of an assisted living 
facility;  
3. Conviction of a felony or any misdemeanor involving 
abuse, neglect, or moral turpitude;  
4. Failure to comply with any regulations of the board; or 
Violating or cooperating with others in violating any of the 
provisions of Chapters 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 24 (§  54.1-
2400 et seq.), and 31 (§ 54.1-3100 et seq.) of the Code of 
Virginia or regulations of the board; 
5. Inability to practice with reasonable skill or safety by 
reason of illness or substance abuse or as a result of any 
mental or physical condition;  
6. Abuse, negligent practice, or misappropriation of a 
resident's property; 
7. Entering into a relationship with a resident that 
constitutes a professional boundary violation in which the 
administrator uses his professional position to take 
advantage of the vulnerability of a resident or his family, to 
include actions that result in personal gain at the expense 
of the resident, an inappropriate personal involvement or 
sexual conduct with a resident; 
8. The denial, revocation, suspension, or restriction of a 
license to practice in another state, the District of Columbia 
or a United States possession or territory; 
9. Assuming duties and responsibilities within the practice 
of assisted living facility administration without adequate 
training or when competency has not been maintained; 
10. Obtaining supplies, equipment, or drugs for personal or 
other unauthorized use;  
11. Falsifying or otherwise altering resident or employer 
records, including falsely representing facts on a job 
application or other employment-related documents;  

12. Fraud or deceit in procuring or attempting to procure a 
license or registration or seeking reinstatement of a license 
or registration; or 
13. Employing or assigning unqualified persons to perform 
functions that require a license, certificate, or registration. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4984; Filed July 20, 2017, 11:54 a.m.  
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August 22, 2017 - 9:35 a.m. - Department of Health 
Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 
Floor Conference Center, Board Room 4, Henrico, VA 
23233 

Public Comment Deadline: October 22, 2017. 
Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 
Board of Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4674, FAX (804) 
527-4413, or email ptboard@dhp.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
Board of Physical Therapy the authority to promulgate 
regulations to administer the regulatory system. Section 54.1-
3479 of the Code of Virginia provides the board with specific 
authority to require professional activity or to serve in a 
traineeship as evidence of competency to practice. 
Additionally, the board has a statutory mandate to require 
continuing education for renewal pursuant to § 54.1-3480.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Purpose: The board currently recognizes the Practice Review 
Tool (PRT) for competency assessment developed and 
administered by the Federation of State Boards of Physical 
Therapy (FSBPT). Physical therapists who take the 
assessment and those who meet the standard, as set by 
FSBPT, can receive continuing education credits. Meeting the 
standard on the PRT also allows an applicant for licensure by 
endorsement or for reinstatement who has not been actively 
practicing to reduce the required number of hours in a 
traineeship. 
FSBPT has informed member boards that, as of November 
30, 2016, it no longer offers the PRT and has replaced it with 
a different assessment tool called oPTion. oPTion uses 
scenarios and multiple-choice questions that emphasize 
clinical application of knowledge necessary for safe, effective 
practice. Each scenario is followed by three to five multiple-
choice questions for a total of 100 questions. With the shift to 
oPTion, the FSBPT has also eliminated the PRT "standard" 
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and replaced it with an assessment report that categorizes the 
therapist's performance into Levels 1 through 4. 
The purpose of the proposed action is to utilize a self-
assessment tool that allows physical therapists to compare 
their knowledge, skills, and abilities to entry-level general 
physical therapy practice. A physical therapist cannot fail 
oPTion, and the results are not an assurance of minimal 
competence. Therefore, the board must balance its 
responsibility to adopt regulations that protect the public 
health and safety with an opportunity for applicants to reduce 
the number of traineeship hours or receive continuing 
education credits by taking the assessment tool oPTion. 
Substance: Since meeting the "standard" on the PRT has been 
replaced with four levels of competency, the board proposes 
to replace the Practice Review Tool, an assessment tool 
previously offered by the Federation of State Boards of 
Physical Therapy, with oPTion, the tool currently available. 
Attainment of at least Level 2 on oPTion may be used for 
continuing education credits or to replace hours in a 
supervised traineeship for applicants for licensure by 
endorsement, reinstatement of license, or reactivation of 
license if the physical therapist has not been engaged in active 
practice for the two years immediately preceding application 
for an active license. 
According to FSBPT, the levels are described as follows: (i) 
Level 1 indicates the ability to apply entry-level knowledge, 
concepts, and principles across a limited range of patient 
conditions; (ii) Level 2 indicates the ability to apply entry-
level knowledge, concepts, and principles across a moderate 
range of patient conditions; (iii) Level 3 demonstrates ability 
in a broad range of patient conditions; and (iv) Level 4 
demonstrates ability across an extensive range of patient 
conditions. 
Issues: The primary advantage of the amendments is more 
flexibility in meeting requirements for evidence of continued 
competency--both for current licensees to meet the hours of 
Type 1 CE required for renewal and for applicants who have 
not been engaged in active practice in the past two years. 
There are no disadvantages to the public because attaining a 
minimum of Level 2 on oPTion would not be the only 
requirement necessary for continuing competency. Such 
assessment tools are advantageous in that they indicate to the 
licensee their areas of strength and weakness to encourage 
them to seek additional education and training if needed. 
There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 
Commonwealth. 
The proposed amendments are a foreseeable result of the 
statute requiring the board to protect the health and safety of 
patients in the Commonwealth. They are optional and offer 
licensees more flexibility; and therefore, they do not 
constitute any restraint on competition. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Physical Therapy (Board) proposes to replace the 
Practice Review Tool (PRT), which was recently retired by 
the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT), 
with the FSBPT's new assessment tool called "oPTion." The 
Board also proposes to decrease the number of continuing 
education hours that may be earned by completing the 
assessment tool. 
Result of Analysis. For one proposed regulatory change, 
benefits likely outweigh costs. There is insufficient 
information to ascertain whether the benefits for other 
proposed changes will outweigh their costs. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulation allows 
physical therapists to use the PRT to meet continuing 
education (CE) requirements as well as to decrease the 
number of traineeship hours needed for licensure by 
endorsement for applicants who do not meet the Board 
required active practice requirement. Physical therapists can 
currently use completion of the PRT for 10 of the 30 
biennially required CE hours if they do not successfully meet 
the standards of this tool and can get credit for 20 hours if 
they meet the standard of the PRT.1 However, the FSBPT 
discontinued use of the PRT in November 2016 and replaced 
it with a new self-assessment tool called oPTion. While the 
PRT was essentially an assessment with a knowledge level 
that could be satisfied (or not), the oPTion assessment tool 
has leveled grading with Levels 1 through 4. As reported by 
Board staff, Level 1 indicates the ability to apply entry-level 
knowledge, concepts and principles across a limited range of 
patient conditions, Level 2 indicates the ability to apply entry-
level knowledge, concepts and principles across a moderate 
range of patient conditions, Level 3 demonstrates ability in a 
broad range of patient conditions and Level 4 demonstrates 
ability across an extensive range of patient conditions.  
The Board now proposes to allow physical therapists who 
take the oPTion assessment and attain a Level 2 score to 
satisfy five of their 30 biennially required CE hours (as 
compared to the 10 CE hours currently allowed for 
completion of the PRT). Under the Board’s proposal, physical 
therapists who take the oPTion assessment and attain a Level 
3 or 4 score will be able to satisfy 10 CE hours (as compared 
to the 20 CE hours currently satisfied by successful 
completion of the PRT). The Board also proposes to limit 
physical therapists to getting CE credit for completion of the 
FSBPT assessment tool only once every four years. Board 
staff reports that the Board proposes to reduce the hours of 
credit allowed for completion of the FSBPT and limit that 
credit to being allowed only once every two licensure cycles 
so that physical therapists complete a wide range of allowable 
CE activities. To the extent that requiring more diverse CE 
increases the safety or efficacy of physical therapy practice, 
these changes may benefit the public. These changes will, 
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however, require physical therapists who currently take the 
FSBPT assessment to meet CE requirements to participate in 
a greater number of activities eligible for CE credit which 
will increase time costs for physical therapists. To the extent 
that these additional activities have fees, physical therapists 
will also incur those costs on account of these proposed 
changes. There is insufficient information to measure whether 
any benefit gained would outweigh these costs. 
Current regulation also allows applicants for licensure by 
endorsement who do not meet the active practice requirement 
for licensure to satisfy 160 of the 320 traineeship hours that 
would otherwise be required by the Board. Since the PRT is 
no longer available, the Board now proposes to specify that 
attaining at least a Level 2 score on the oPTion assessment 
will satisfy the same 160 hours of traineeship that successful 
completion of the PRT would. Since this change only 
substitutes reference to the old assessment tool (PRT) with 
reference to the new assessment tool (oPTion), no affected 
entities are likely to incur any costs. Interested parties are 
likely to gain the benefit of additional regulatory clarity 
because obsolete language is being replaced with reference to 
the current assessment tool. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulatory 
changes will affect all physical therapists licensed in the 
Commonwealth as well as future applicants for licensure by 
endorsement. Board staff reports that there are 8,277 licensed 
physical therapists in Virginia and also reports that the Board 
has no estimates of how many of those physical therapists 
might qualify as small businesses. 
Localities Particularly Affected. No locality is likely to be 
particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes.  
Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 
changes are unlikely to affect employment in the 
Commonwealth. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 
proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 
value of private property in the Commonwealth. 
Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 
changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 
the Commonwealth. 
Small Businesses:  
Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 
Costs and Other Effects. To the extent that affected physical 
therapists qualify as small businesses, and currently take the 
FSBPT assessment for CE credit, their businesses will likely 
incur costs for additional CE activities that they will have to 
complete. These costs will likely include time spent on 
additional activities and may also include fees incurred.  

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. Absent 
evidence that the public might benefit from limiting credit 
hours for the FSBPT assessment, the Board could allow 
physical therapists to avoid time and other costs by allowing 
credit for the oPTion assessment at the same rate as current 
regulation allows credit for the PRT assessment. 
Adverse Impacts: 
Businesses. To the extent that affected physical therapists 
work independently in their own businesses, and currently 
take the FSBPT assessment for CE credit, their businesses 
will likely incur costs for additional CE activities that they 
will have to complete. These costs will likely include time 
spent on additional activities and may also include fees 
incurred. 
Localities. No locality is likely to be adversely affected by 
these proposed regulatory changes. 
Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely 
affected by these proposed regulatory changes. 
____________________________ 
1 Meeting the standard means passing the assessment. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Physical Therapy concurs with the analysis of the 
Department of Planning and Budget. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments replace references to an 
obsolete assessment tool provided by the Federation of 
State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) with references 
to the current assessment tool offered by FSBPT titled 
"oPTion." The proposed amendments require achievement 
of Level 2 or higher on the oPTion assessment tool to (i) 
use participation in the assessment tool for continuing 
education credit or (ii) replace hours in a supervised 
traineeship for applicants for licensure by endorsement, 
reinstatement of license, or reactivation of license if the 
physical therapist has not been engaged in active practice 
for the two years immediately preceding application for an 
active license. 

Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC112-20-10. Definitions.  
In addition to the words and terms defined in § 54.1-3473 of 

the Code of Virginia, the following words and terms when 
used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless 
the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Active practice" means a minimum of 160 hours of 
professional practice as a physical therapist or physical 
therapist assistant within the 24-month period immediately 
preceding renewal. Active practice may include supervisory, 
administrative, educational or consultative activities or 
responsibilities for the delivery of such services.  

"Approved program" means an educational program 
accredited by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 26 Virginia Register of Regulations August 21, 2017 

2998 

Therapy Education of the American Physical Therapy 
Association.  

"Assessment tool" means oPTion or any other self-directed 
assessment tool approved by FSBPT. 

"CLEP" means the College Level Examination Program.  
"Contact hour" means 60 minutes of time spent in 

continuing learning activity exclusive of breaks, meals or 
vendor exhibits.  

"Direct supervision" means a physical therapist or a physical 
therapist assistant is physically present and immediately 
available and is fully responsible for the physical therapy 
tasks or activities being performed.  

"Discharge" means the discontinuation of interventions in an 
episode of care that have been provided in an unbroken 
sequence in a single practice setting and related to the 
physical therapy interventions for a given condition or 
problem. 

"Evaluation" means a process in which the physical therapist 
makes clinical judgments based on data gathered during an 
examination or screening in order to plan and implement a 
treatment intervention, provide preventive care, reduce risks 
of injury and impairment, or provide for consultation. 

"FCCPT" means the Foreign Credentialing Commission on 
Physical Therapy.  

"FSBPT" means the Federation of State Boards of Physical 
Therapy.  

"General supervision" means a physical therapist shall be 
available for consultation.  

"National examination" means the examinations developed 
and administered by the Federation of State Boards of 
Physical Therapy and approved by the board for licensure as 
a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant.  

"PRT" means the Practice Review Tool for competency 
assessment developed and administered by FSBPT. 

"Reevaluation" means a process in which the physical 
therapist makes clinical judgments based on data gathered 
during an examination or screening in order to determine a 
patient's response to the treatment plan and care provided. 

"Support personnel" means a person who is performing 
designated routine tasks related to physical therapy under the 
direction and supervision of a physical therapist or physical 
therapist assistant within the scope of this chapter.  

"TOEFL" means the Test of English as a Foreign Language.  
"Trainee" means a person seeking licensure as a physical 

therapist or physical therapist assistant who is undergoing a 
traineeship.  

"Traineeship" means a period of active clinical practice 
during which an applicant for licensure as a physical therapist 
or physical therapist assistant works under the direct 
supervision of a physical therapist approved by the board.  

"TSE" means the Test of Spoken English.  

"Type 1" means continuing learning activities offered by an 
approved organization as specified in 18VAC112-20-131.  

"Type 2" means continuing learning activities which may or 
may not be offered by an approved organization but shall be 
activities considered by the learner to be beneficial to practice 
or to continuing learning.  
18VAC112-20-65. Requirements for licensure by 
endorsement.  

A. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who 
holds a current, unrestricted license in the United States, its 
territories, the District of Columbia, or Canada may be 
licensed in Virginia by endorsement.  

B. An applicant for licensure by endorsement shall submit:  
1. Documentation of having met the educational 
requirements prescribed in 18VAC112-20-40 or 
18VAC112-20-50. In lieu of meeting such requirements, 
an applicant may provide evidence of clinical practice 
consisting of at least 2,500 hours of patient care during the 
five years immediately preceding application for licensure 
in Virginia with a current, unrestricted license issued by 
another U.S. jurisdiction;  
2. The required application, fees, and credentials to the 
board;  
3. A current report from the Healthcare Integrity and 
Protection Data Bank (HIPDB); 
4. Evidence of completion of 15 hours of continuing 
education for each year in which the applicant held a 
license in another U.S. jurisdiction, or 60 hours obtained 
within the past four years;  
5. Documentation of passage of an examination equivalent 
to the Virginia examination at the time of initial licensure 
or documentation of passage of an examination required by 
another state at the time of initial licensure in that state; 
and  
6. Documentation of active practice in physical therapy in 
another U.S. jurisdiction for at least 320 hours within the 
four years immediately preceding his application for 
licensure. A physical therapist who does not meet the 
active practice requirement shall: 

a. Successfully complete 320 hours in a traineeship in 
accordance with requirements in 18VAC112-20-140; or 
b. Document that he meets the standard of the PRT 
attained at least Level 2 on the FSBPT assessment tool 
within the two years preceding application for licensure 
in Virginia and successfully complete 160 hours in a 
traineeship in accordance with the requirements in 
18VAC112-20-140. 

C. A physical therapist assistant seeking licensure by 
endorsement who has not actively practiced physical therapy 
for at least 320 hours within the four years immediately 
preceding his application for licensure shall successfully 
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complete 320 hours in a traineeship in accordance with the 
requirements in 18VAC112-20-140. 
18VAC112-20-131. Continued competency requirements 
for renewal of an active license.  

A. In order to renew an active license biennially, a physical 
therapist or a physical therapist assistant shall complete at 
least 30 contact hours of continuing learning activities within 
the two years immediately preceding renewal. In choosing 
continuing learning activities or courses, the licensee shall 
consider the following: (i) the need to promote ethical 
practice, (ii) an appropriate standard of care, (iii) patient 
safety, (iv) application of new medical technology, (v) 
appropriate communication with patients, and (vi) knowledge 
of the changing health care system.  

B. To document the required hours, the licensee shall 
maintain the Continued Competency Activity and Assessment 
Form that is provided by the board and that shall indicate 
completion of the following:  

1. A minimum of 20 of the contact hours required for 
physical therapists and 15 of the contact hours required for 
physical therapist assistants shall be in Type 1 courses. For 
the purpose of this section, "course" means an organized 
program of study, classroom experience or similar 
educational experience that is directly related to the clinical 
practice of physical therapy and approved or provided by 
one of the following organizations or any of its 
components:  

a. The Virginia Physical Therapy Association;  
b. The American Physical Therapy Association;  
c. Local, state or federal government agencies;  
d. Regionally accredited colleges and universities;  
e. Health care organizations accredited by a national 
accrediting organization granted authority by the Centers 
for Medicare and Medicaid Services to assure 
compliance with Medicare conditions of participation;  
f. The American Medical Association - Category I 
Continuing Medical Education course; and  
g. The National Athletic Trainers' Association.  

2. No more than 10 of the contact hours required for 
physical therapists and 15 of the contact hours required for 
physical therapist assistants may be Type 2 activities or 
courses, which may or may not be offered by an approved 
organization but which shall be related to the clinical 
practice of physical therapy. Type 2 activities may include 
but not be limited to consultation with colleagues, 
independent study, and research or writing on subjects 
related to practice. Up to two of the Type 2 continuing 
education hours may be satisfied through delivery of 
physical therapy services, without compensation, to low-
income individuals receiving services through a local 
health department or a free clinic organized in whole or 
primarily for the delivery of health services.  

3. Documentation of specialty certification by the 
American Physical Therapy Association may be provided 
as evidence of completion of continuing competency 
requirements for the biennium in which initial certification 
or recertification occurs.  
4. Documentation of graduation from a transitional doctor 
of physical therapy program may be provided as evidence 
of completion of continuing competency requirements for 
the biennium in which the physical therapist was awarded 
the degree. 
5. A physical therapist who can document that he has taken 
the PRT attained at least Level 2 on the FSBPT assessment 
tool may receive 10 five hours of Type 1 credit for the 
biennium in which the assessment tool was taken. A 
physical therapist who can document that he has met the 
standard of the PRT attained at least Level 3 or 4 on the 
FSBPT assessment tool may receive 20 10 hours of Type 1 
credit for the biennium in which the assessment tool was 
taken. Continuing competency credit shall only be granted 
for the FSBPT assessment tool once every four years. 

C. A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing 
competency requirements for the first biennial renewal 
following the date of initial licensure by examination in 
Virginia.  

D. The licensee shall retain his records on the completed 
form with all supporting documentation for a period of four 
years following the renewal of an active license.  

E. The licensees selected in a random audit conducted by the 
board shall provide the completed Continued Competency 
Activity and Assessment Form and all supporting 
documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the 
audit.  

F. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 
the licensee to disciplinary action by the board.  

G. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 
continuing competency requirements for up to one year for 
good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 
prior to the renewal date.  

H. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 
requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 
licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 
service, or officially declared disasters.  
18VAC112-20-135. Inactive license.  

A. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who 
holds a current, unrestricted license in Virginia shall, upon a 
request on the renewal application and submission of the 
required renewal fee, be issued an inactive license.  

1. The holder of an inactive license shall not be required to 
meet active practice requirements.  
2. An inactive licensee shall not be entitled to perform any 
act requiring a license to practice physical therapy in 
Virginia.  
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B. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who 
holds an inactive license may reactivate his license by:  

1. Paying the difference between the renewal fee for an 
inactive license and that of an active license for the 
biennium in which the license is being reactivated;  
2. Providing proof of 320 active practice hours in another 
jurisdiction within the four years immediately preceding 
application for reactivation.  

a. If the inactive physical therapist licensee does not meet 
the requirement for active practice, the license may be 
reactivated by completing 320 hours in a traineeship that 
meets the requirements prescribed in 18VAC112-20-140 
or documenting that he has met the standard of the PRT 
attained at least Level 2 on the FSBPT assessment tool 
within the two years preceding application for 
reactivation of licensure in Virginia and successfully 
completing 160 hours in a traineeship in accordance with 
requirements in 18VAC112-20-140. 
b. If the inactive physical therapist assistant licensee does 
not meet the requirement for active practice, the license 
may be reactivated by completing 320 hours in a 
traineeship that meets the requirements prescribed in 
18VAC112-20-140; and  

3. Completing the number of continuing competency hours 
required for the period in which the license has been 
inactive, not to exceed four years.  

18VAC112-20-136. Reinstatement requirements.  
A. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant whose 

Virginia license is lapsed for two years or less may reinstate 
his license by payment of the renewal and late fees as set 
forth in 18VAC112-20-27 and completion of continued 
competency requirements as set forth in 18VAC112-20-131. 

B. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant whose 
Virginia license is lapsed for more than two years and who is 
seeking reinstatement shall: 

1. Apply for reinstatement and pay the fee specified in 
18VAC112-20-27;  
2. Complete the number of continuing competency hours 
required for the period in which the license has been 
lapsed, not to exceed four years; and 
3. Have actively practiced physical therapy in another 
jurisdiction for at least 320 hours within the four years 
immediately preceding applying for reinstatement.  

a. If a physical therapist licensee does not meet the 
requirement for active practice, the license may be 
reinstated by completing 320 hours in a traineeship that 
meets the requirements prescribed in 18VAC112-20-140 
or documenting that he has met the standard of the PRT 
attained at least Level 2 on the FSBPT assessment tool 
within the two years preceding application for licensure 
in Virginia and successfully completing 160 hours in a 

traineeship in accordance with requirements in 
18VAC112-20-140. 
b. If a physical therapist assistant licensee does not meet 
the requirement for active practice, the license may be 
reinstated by completing 320 hours in a traineeship that 
meets the requirements prescribed in 18VAC112-20-140. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4983; Filed July 20, 2017, 11:56 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department for Aging and 
Rehabilitative Services is claiming an exemption from Article 
2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-
4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 
regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in 
Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion is 
involved. The Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 
Services will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 
any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 
Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-120. Adult Services 
Approved Providers (amending 22VAC30-120-10, 
22VAC30-120-30).  
Statutory Authority: § 51.5-131 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: September 21, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Paige L. McCleary, Adult Services Program 
Consultant, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 
Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, 
telephone (804) 662-7605, or email 
paige.mccleary@dars.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

Amendments to the definitions of "adult abuse," "adult 
neglect," and "adult exploitation" in 22VAC30-120-10 
comport regulatory language with Chapter 195 of the 2017 
Acts of Assembly. These definitions include the phrase "as 
defined in § 63.2-1603," and the definition of "adult 
exploitation" is amended to mirror the broader and more 
descriptive definition in Chapter 195. 
Amendments to 22VAC30-120-30 comport regulatory 
language to Chapter 809 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly. The 
amendments update references in subsection B to crimes 
that constitute a barrier for providers of adult services 
seeking approval by the Department of Social Services. 
Specifically, the language that refers to crimes "listed in 
§ 63.2-1719 of the Code of Virginia" is amended. Obsolete 
language in subdivisions B 2 and B 3 is stricken and 
replaced with language stating "any offense set forth in 
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clause (i) of the definition of barrier crime in § 19.2-
392.02." In subdivision B 4, the reference "§ 63.2-1719" is 
stricken and replaced with "clause (i) of the definition of 
barrier crime in § 19.2-392.02." 

22VAC30-120-10. Definitions. 
The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means bathing, 
dressing, toileting, transferring, bowel control, bladder 
control and eating/feeding. A person's degree of 
independence in performing these activities is part of 
determining the appropriate level of care and services.  

"Adult" means any individual 18 years of age or over. 
"Adult abuse" means the willful infliction of physical pain, 

injury or mental anguish or unreasonable confinement of an 
adult as defined in § 63.2-1603.  

"Adult day services provider" means a provider who gives 
personal supervision for up to three adults for part of a day. 
The provider promotes social, physical and emotional well-
being through companionship, self-education, and satisfying 
leisure activities. Adult day services that are provided for 
more than three adults require licensure by the Virginia 
Department of Social Services.  

"Adult exploitation" means the illegal, unauthorized, 
improper, or fraudulent use of an incapacitated adult as 
defined in § 63.2-1603 or his funds, property, benefits, 
resources, or other assets for another's profit, benefit, or 
advantage, including a caregiver or person serving in a 
fiduciary capacity, or that deprives the adult of his rightful 
use of or access to such fund, property, benefits resources, or 
other assets. "Adult exploitation" includes (i) an intentional 
breach of a fiduciary obligation to an adult to his detriment or 
an intentional failure to use the financial resources of an adult 
in a manner that results in the neglect of such adult; (ii) the 
acquisition, possession, or control of an adult's financial 
resources or property through the use of undue influence, 
coercion, or duress; and (iii) forcing or coercing an adult to 
pay for goods or services or perform services against his will 
for another's profit, benefit, or advantage if the adult did not 
agree or was tricked, misled, or defrauded into agreeing, to 
pay for such goods or services or perform such services. 

"Adult foster care" means room and board, supervision, and 
special services to an adult who has a physical or mental 
condition or an emotional or behavioral problem. Adult foster 
care may be provided by a single provider for up to three 
adults.  

"Adult foster care provider" means a provider who gives 
room and board, supervision and special services in his own 
home for up to three adults who are unable to remain in their 
own homes because of a physical or mental condition or an 
emotional or behavioral problem. Care provided for more 

than three adults requires licensure by the Virginia 
Department of Social Services. 

"Adult neglect" means that an adult as defined in § 63.2-
1603 is living under such circumstances that he is not able to 
provide for himself or is not being provided services 
necessary to maintain his physical and mental health and that 
the failure to receive such necessary services impairs or 
threatens to impair his well-being.  

"Adult services" means services that are provided to adults 
60 years of age and older and to adults 18 years of age and 
older who are impaired.  

"Assistant" means any individual who is responsible to 
assist an adult services approved provider in caring for adult 
clients. Assistants must meet the same requirements as the 
provider. 

"Chore provider" means a provider who performs 
nonroutine, heavy home maintenance tasks for adult clients 
unable to perform such tasks for themselves. Chore services 
include minor repair work on furniture and appliances in the 
adult's home; carrying coal, wood and water; chopping wood; 
removing snow; yard maintenance; and painting. 

"Client" means any adult who needs supervision and/or 
services and seeks assistance in meeting those needs from a 
local department of social services. 

"Companion provider" means a provider who assists adult 
clients unable to care for themselves without assistance and 
where there is no one available to provide the needed services 
without cost in activities such as light housekeeping, 
companionship, shopping, meal preparation, transportation, 
household management and activities of daily living (ADLs). 

"Department" means the Virginia Department for Aging and 
Rehabilitative Services. 

"Home-based services" means companion, chore, and 
homemaker services that allow individuals to attain or 
maintain self-care and are likely to prevent or reduce 
dependency. 

"Homemaker services" means a provider who gives 
instruction in or, where appropriate, performs activities such 
as personal care, home management, household maintenance, 
nutrition, consumer or hygiene education. 

"In-home provider" means an individual who provides care 
in the home of the adult client needing supervision and/or 
services. In-home providers include companion, chore, and 
homemaker providers. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living" means meal 
preparation, housekeeping/light housework, shopping for 
personal items, laundry, or using the telephone. An adult 
client's degree of independence in performing these activities 
is part of determining the appropriate level of care and 
services. 

"Local board" means the local board of social services 
representing one or more counties or cities. 
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"Local department" means the local department of social 
services of any county or city in this Commonwealth. 

"Local department-approved provider" means a provider 
that is not subject to licensure and is approved by a local 
department of social services to provide services to clients. 

"Out-of-home provider" means an individual who provides 
care in the individual's own home to adult clients who enter 
the home for purposes of receiving needed supervision and/or 
services.  

"Personal care services" means the provision of nonskilled 
services including assistance in the activities of daily living, 
and may include instrumental activities of daily living related 
to the needs of the adult client, to maintain the adult client's 
health and safety in their home. 

"Responsible person" means an individual designated by or 
for an adult client who is authorized to make decisions 
concerning the adult client and/or to receive information 
about the adult client. 
22VAC30-120-30. Standards for providers and other 
persons. 

A. Age requirements include: 
1. All local department-approved adult services 
homemaker providers shall be at least 18 years of age. 
2. All local department-approved adult services chore and 
companion providers shall be at least 16 years of age. If the 
local department chooses to approve a chore or companion 
provider who is at least 16 years of age but less than 18 
years of age, the local department must determine that the 
provider is competent and able to provide the service. 
3. Any assistant to a local department-approved in-home 
provider for adult services shall be at least 16 years of age.  

B. Criminal record background checks and additional 
requirements include:  

1. The provider and any assistant, the spouse of the 
provider, or other adult household members who come in 
contact with adults in care shall identify any criminal 
convictions and consent to a criminal record search. A new 
criminal record background check shall be required at the 
time of renewal. 
2. Convictions of crimes listed in § 63.2-1719 any offense 
set forth in clause (i) of the definition of barrier crime in 
§ 19.2-392.02 of the Code of Virginia shall prohibit a 
provider, the assistant, spouse of the provider, or other 
adult household members who come in contact with adults 
in care to receive approval as a provider. In addition, if the 
provider or, for adult foster care and adult day services, the 
assistant, spouse of the provider, or other adult household 
members who come in contact with adults in care, has been 
convicted of any other felony or misdemeanor that, in the 
judgment of the local department jeopardizes the safety or 
proper care of adults, the provider shall be prohibited from 
being approved as a provider of services to adults. 

3. Conviction of a crime listed in § 63.2-1719 any offense 
set forth in clause (i) of the definition of barrier crime in 
§ 19.2-392.02 of the Code of Virginia will result in the 
revocation of the provider's approval unless an allowable 
variance is granted by the local department. 
4. When the provider and any assistant, and for adult foster 
care, spouse of the provider, or other adult household 
members who come in contact with adults in care, has been 
convicted of a felony or misdemeanor not listed in § 63.2-
1719 clause (i) of the definition of barrier crime in § 19.2-
392.02 of the Code of Virginia, the local department may 
approve the provider if the local department determines 
that the conviction does not jeopardize the safety or proper 
care of the adult. 

C. Interview, references, and employment history 
requirements include: 

1. The provider shall participate in interviews with the 
local department. 
2. The provider shall provide at least two references from 
persons who have knowledge of the provider's ability, 
skill, or experience in the provision of services and who 
shall not be related to the provider. 
3. The provider shall provide information on the provider's 
employment history.  
4. The local department shall use the interviews, 
references, and employment history to assess that the 
provider is: 

a. Knowledgeable of and physically and mentally capable 
of providing the necessary care for adults; 
b. Able to sustain positive and constructive relationships 
with adults in care, and to relate to adults with respect, 
courtesy, and understanding; 
c. Capable of handling emergencies with dependability 
and good judgment; and 
d. Able to communicate and follow instructions 
sufficiently to ensure adequate care, safety and protection 
for adults. 

5. For adult foster care and adult day services, at least one 
interview shall occur in the home where the care is to be 
provided. All adult household members shall be 
interviewed to ensure that they understand the demands 
and expectations of the care to be provided. 
6. For homemaker providers, the local department shall 
further use the interview, references, and employment 
history to assess that the provider has knowledge, skills, 
and ability, as appropriate, in: 

a. Home management and household maintenance; 
b. The types of personal care of the elderly or adults with 
a disability permitted by regulation;  
c. Nutrition education and meal planning and 
preparation, including special diets; and 



Regulations 

Volume 33, Issue 26 Virginia Register of Regulations August 21, 2017 

3003 

d. Personal hygiene and consumer education. 
7. For adult foster care providers, the local department 
shall further use the interview, references, and employment 
history to assess that the provider has sufficient financial 
income or resources to meet the basic needs of his own 
family and has the knowledge, skills, and abilities to care 
for adults, including, but not limited to: 

a. Provision of a furnished room in the home that meets 
applicable zoning, building, and fire safety codes. 
b. Housekeeping services based on the needs of the adult 
in care. 
c. Nutritionally balanced meals and snacks, including 
extra portions and special diets as necessary. 
d. Provision of clean bed linens and towels at least once a 
week and as needed by the adult. 
e. Assistance with personal hygiene including bathing, 
dressing, oral hygiene, hair grooming and shampooing, 
care of clothing, shaving, care of toenails and fingernails, 
arranging for haircuts as needed, care of needs associated 
with menstruation or occasional bladder or bowel 
incontinence. 
f. Provision of generic personal toiletries including soap 
and toilet paper. 
g. Assistance with the following: care of personal 
possessions, care of personal funds if requested by the 
adult and adult foster care home's policy permits it, use 
of telephone, arranging transportation, obtaining 
necessary personal items and clothing, making and 
keeping appointments, and correspondence. 
h. Securing health care and transportation when needed 
for medical treatment. 
i. Providing social and recreational activities as required 
by the local department and consistent with licensing 
regulations.  
j. General supervision for safety. 

D. Training requirements include: 
1. The local department shall provide basic orientation to 
any approved provider. 
2. The provider shall attend any orientation and training 
required by the local department. The provider shall bear 
the cost of any required training unless the local 
department subsidizes the cost for all local department-
approved providers. 

E. Medical requirements include: 
1. The provider; for out-of-home care, the assistant; the 
provider's spouse; and all other adult household members 
who come in contact with adults in care shall submit a 
statement from the local health department or licensed 
physician that he is believed to be free of tuberculosis in a 
communicable form. 

2. The provider and assistant shall submit the results of a 
physical and mental health examination when requested by 
the local department. 

F. All local department-approved providers shall keep the 
local department informed of changes in the household that 
may affect approval of the provider. 

G. The provider shall have the capability to fully perform 
the requirements of the position, have the moral and business 
integrity and reliability to ensure good faith performance and 
be determined by the local department to meet the 
requirements of the position. 

H. Any provider who causes the local department to make 
an improper payment by withholding information or 
providing false information may be required to repay the 
amount of the improper payment. Failure to repay any 
improper payment shall result in a referral for criminal or 
civil prosecution. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5079; Filed July 25, 2017, 11:05 a.m.  

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-601. Supplemental Nutrition 
Assistance Program (adding 22VAC40-601-70).  
Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia; 
7 CFR 271.4. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  
Public Comment Deadline: October 22, 2017. 
Agency Contact: Celestine Jackson, Department of Social 
Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 726-7376, FAX (804) 726-7356, TTY (800) 
828-1120, or email celestine.jackson@dss.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia grants 
authority to the State Board of Social Services to promulgate 
rules and regulations to operate assistance programs in 
Virginia. Federal regulations at 7 CFR 271.4 delegate 
responsibility to administer the Supplemental Nutrition 
Assistance Program (SNAP) within a state to the agency 
assigned responsibility for other federally funded public 
assistance programs. Federal regulations at 7 CFR 
273.9(d)(5) permit states the option to either count legally 
obligated child support payments to nonhousehold members 
as an income deduction or an income exclusion; Virginia 
currently uses the income deduction option. 
Purpose: In an effort to encourage noncustodial parents to 
meet their obligations to pay child support, the agency 
proposes to change how legally obligated child support 
payments are evaluated when determining SNAP eligibility 
and in determining the amount of SNAP benefits these 
households may receive. States may evaluate child support 
payments for SNAP households as an income deduction or 
income exclusion. States must select only one method to 
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assess child support payments. The amount of SNAP benefits 
eligible households would receive would be the same 
regardless of the method used to assess child support 
payments but, by excluding the amount paid for child support 
as income, more households may meet the maximum income 
amount. 
The agency is hopeful that, as more households meet the 
maximum income amounts, fewer households may be denied 
for being over the income limit. Having fewer households 
being denied for exceeding the maximum income limits may 
be an incentive for noncustodial parents to make their legally 
obligated child support payments regularly. Having parents 
meet their child support obligations regularly promotes the 
health, safety, or welfare of citizens by reducing reliance on 
public assistance programs and increases financial resources 
for affected families. 
Substance: 22VAC40-601-70 allows SNAP households to 
have mandatory child support paid to or for individuals 
outside the SNAP household to be excluded from their gross 
income when determining eligibility for SNAP benefits. 
Applicant households for SNAP benefits must meet a gross 
income test if the household does not contain at least one 
household member who is 60 years of age or older or one 
member who is permanently disabled. If the gross income 
exceeds the allowable limit for the size of the household, the 
application for SNAP benefits must be denied without any 
consideration of household expenses. Excluding child support 
payment amounts as income reduces the gross income 
amount for a household, which conceivably may allow more 
households to meet the gross income eligibility test. 
Issues: Changing how child support payments are evaluated 
for SNAP applicants and recipients offers the potential 
advantage to affected households of reducing countable gross 
income. If households pass the gross income eligibility 
screening test, allowable household expenses are evaluated 
and deducted. After household expenses are deducted, the 
calculated net income for all applicant households must fall 
below the allowable new income limit based on household 
size in order to receive a SNAP benefit. Calculated SNAP 
benefit amounts are not affected by the adoption of income 
exclusion for child support payments over the income 
deduction method so program integrity is maintained. The 
advantage of this regelation is to incentivize the payment of 
child support from noncustodial parents by recognizing their 
commitment to their children and potentially offsetting some 
of the child support paid with SNAP benefits. If households 
are eligible for SNAP benefits, the likelihood of food 
insecurity is reduced. 
A programming change to the eligibility computer system 
will be needed to allow for the exclusion as income for child 
support payments instead of a deduction from the income. 
Neither local departments of social services nor local 
eligibility workers should be adversely affected by a change 
in the evaluation of child support payments, as there is no 

change in the benefit amount or in the likely number of 
applicants for benefits. 
There are no disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
State Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to allow 
legally obligated child support payments paid by a 
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) 
household member to or for a non-household member as an 
exclusion from countable income for SNAP-eligibility 
purposes. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Title 7 of the Code of Federal 
Regulations (CFR) section 271.41 delegates responsibility to 
administer SNAP within a state to the agency assigned 
responsibility for other federally funded public assistance 
programs. Federal regulation at 7 CFR 273.9(d) (5)2 permits 
states the option to either count legally obligated child 
support payments to non-household members as an income 
deduction or an income exclusion when determining 
eligibility for SNAP benefits; Virginia currently uses the 
income deduction option. The Board proposes to amend the 
SNAP regulation to indicate that the income exclusion option 
will be used. 
Households that do not include at least one individual who is 
either at least 60 years old or permanently disabled must not 
have gross income over a specified amount, nor net income 
over a different specified amount,3 in order to qualify for 
SNAP benefits. The income deduction reduces only net 
income. The income exclusion reduces both gross income and 
net income. Thus the proposal to count legally obligated child 
support payments to non-household members as an income 
exclusion rather than an income deduction would likely 
increase the number of households that qualify for SNAP 
benefits, and may encourage more noncustodial parents to 
make their legally obligated child support payments regularly 
since doing so could make their household SNAP qualified. 
As SNAP is fully funded by the federal government, the 
proposal clearly produces a net benefit for the 
Commonwealth.  
Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 
potentially affects low-income households where a member 
of the household is legally obligated to make child support 
payments, and the households that receive those child support 
payments.  
Localities Particularly Affected. Localities with a high 
proportion of low-income households would likely be 
particularly affected by the proposed amendment.  
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal to allow 
legally obligated child support payments paid by a SNAP 
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household member to or for a non-household member as an 
exclusion from countable income for SNAP-eligibility 
purposes will effectively allow such a household to earn more 
income and still qualify for SNAP. This may encourage a 
household member to perhaps get a part-time job who 
otherwise would not have, or encourage any already 
employed household member to seek a better paying job.  
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 
amendment would not significantly affect the use and value of 
private property. 
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 
would not affect real estate development costs. 
Small Businesses:  
Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 
employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual 
sales of less than $6 million." 
Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment would not 
affect costs for small business. 
Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendment would not adversely affect small 
businesses. 
Adverse Impacts: 
Businesses. The proposed amendment would not adversely affect 
businesses. 
Localities. The proposed amendment would not adversely affect 
localities. 
Other Entities. The proposed amendment would not adversely 
affect other entities. 
___________________________ 
1 See https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2011-title7-vol4/pdf/CFR-2011-
title7-vol4-sec271-4.pdf 
2 See https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2011-title7-vol4/pdf/CFR-2011-
title7-vol4-sec273-9.pdf 
3 The specified amounts are dependent on household size. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Department of Social Services reviewed the economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget and 
concurs. 
Summary: 

The proposed section allows amounts paid by a 
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) 
household member for child support pursuant to a court or 
administrative order to be excluded as countable income 
for SNAP-eligibility purposes. 

22VAC40-601-70. Income exclusion for legally obligated 
child support payments. 

Legally obligated child support payments paid by a SNAP 
household member to or for a nonhousehold member will be 
allowed as an exclusion from countable income for SNAP 
purposes. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4595; Filed July 20, 2017, 1:58 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-880. Child Support 
Enforcement Program (amending 22VAC40-880-405).  
Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 651 et seq. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 
Public Comment Deadline: September 20, 2017. 
Effective Date: October 6, 2017.  
Agency Contact: Alice Burlinson, Senior Assistant Attorney 
General, Department of Social Services, 4504 Starkey Road, 
SW, Roanoke, VA 24018, telephone (540) 776-2779, FAX 
(804) 776-2797, or email alice.burlinson@dss.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia states that the 
State Board of Social Services shall adopt regulations, not in 
conflict with Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia, as may be 
necessary or desirable to carry out the purpose of Title 63.2. 
Purpose: This amendment is needed to provide the Division 
of Child Support Enforcement with the ability to increase 
collection of child support for families. Currently, 
noncustodial parents in the Passport Denial Program must pay 
their child support arrears in full to obtain or renew a 
passport. The only exception is for cases where a 
noncustodial parent's immediate family member lives abroad 
and faces a life-or-death situation. In those instances, the 
Director of the Division of Child Support Enforcement may 
grant the release of a passport upon the noncustodial parent's 
written request, which must include documentation of 
compelling evidence of the situation. 
Many child support payers need to travel internationally for 
work. Under the current regulation, these noncustodial 
parents have no way to obtain or renew their passports unless 
they have the ability to pay their arrears in full. The division 
would like to encourage payment of support and does not 
want the passport regulation to be a barrier when a 
noncustodial parent has employment that would provide him 
with the means to pay child support but for the denial of a 
passport. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 
Department of Social Services does not believe that the 
proposed regulation will be controversial. The amended 
regulation will provide for an additional exception for release 
of a passport from the Passport Denial Program. 
Substance: The amendment provides an additional exception 
for release of a noncustodial parent's passport. This change 
would enable the division to work with noncustodial parents 
who are unable to pay their child support arrearages in full 
but whose employment is contingent upon international travel 
to allow them to obtain or renew their passports. These 
parents would be required to make lump sum payments 
towards their arrearages, agree to income withholding orders, 
and enter into payment agreements with the division with a 
regular monthly payment amount and a schedule for paying 

https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2011-title7-vol4/pdf/CFR-2011-title7-vol4-sec271-4.pdf
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2011-title7-vol4/pdf/CFR-2011-title7-vol4-sec271-4.pdf
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2011-title7-vol4/pdf/CFR-2011-title7-vol4-sec273-9.pdf
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2011-title7-vol4/pdf/CFR-2011-title7-vol4-sec273-9.pdf
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off the arrearage in full. They would also be required to 
provide written proof of current employment or proof of an 
offer and acceptance of employment from their employer. 
Issues: There are numerous advantages to this regulatory 
action. The amended regulatory section will (i) provide an 
additional exception for a noncustodial parent's release from 
the Passport Denial Program in Virginia; (ii) increase child 
support collection through lump sum payments and payment 
agreements; and (iii) potentially provide for regular payment 
of support from noncustodial parents who are required to 
travel internationally as part of their employment. 
The department is aware of no disadvantages to this 
regulatory action. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
State Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to add an 
exception for release from the Passport Denial Program if a 
noncustodial parent provides documentation from their 
employer to verify that their employment requires 
international travel. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. The U.S. Department of Health 
& Human Services' Passport Denial Program is designed to 
help states enforce delinquent child support obligations. 
Under the program, noncustodial parents certified by a state 
as having arrearages exceeding $2,500 are submitted by the 
federal Office of Child Support Enforcement to the 
Department of State, which denies them U.S. passports upon 
application or the use of a passport service.1 The program was 
first implemented in Virginia in 1997.  
Under the current Virginia regulation, noncustodial parents in 
the Passport Denial Program must pay their child support 
arrears in full to obtain or renew a passport. The only 
exception is for cases where a noncustodial parent's 
immediate family member lives abroad and faces a life-or-
death situation. The Board proposes an additional exception 
for release from the Passport Denial Program if the 
noncustodial parent provides documentation from their 
employer to verify that their employment requires 
international travel. 
The proposed amendment would likely be beneficial in that it 
potentially helps enable noncustodial parents with jobs that 
may require international travel to satisfy the requirements of 
their employment, and be able to earn the income needed to 
pay their child support obligations. Additionally, noncustodial 
parents may be able to obtain better-paying positions, helping 
provide income to pay child support obligations, if they are 
permitted to travel abroad for work. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 
would affect noncustodial parents who owe $2,500 or more in 
child support arrearages. Indirectly, the amendment would 

potentially affect firms that may employ these individuals, as 
well as recipients of their child support payments. 
Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 
would not disproportionately affect specific localities. 
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 
would not significantly affect total employment, but may help 
a small number of individuals to maintain or obtain 
employment.  
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendment would not significantly affect the use 
and value of private property. 
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 
would not affect real estate development costs. 
Small Businesses:  
Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 
Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment may 
reduce costs for a few small businesses by permitting 
employees or firm principals who are noncustodial parents 
with delinquent child support obligations to travel 
internationally for business. 
Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendment would not adversely affect small 
businesses. 
Adverse Impacts.  
Businesses. The proposed amendment would not adversely 
affect businesses. 
Localities. The proposed amendment would not adversely 
affect localities. 
Other Entities. The proposed amendment would not adversely 
affect other entities. 
________________________________ 
1 Source: U.S. Office of Child Support Enforcement accessed on May 30, 
2017: https://www.acf.hhs.gov/css/resource/overview-of-the-passport-denial-
program 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Department of Social Services reviewed the economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget 
and concurs. 
Summary: 

The amendment adds an exception for release from the 
Passport Denial Program if a noncustodial parent 
provides documentation from the noncustodial parent's 
employer to verify that his employment requires 
international travel. 

https://www.acf.hhs.gov/css/resource/overview-of-the-passport-denial-program
https://www.acf.hhs.gov/css/resource/overview-of-the-passport-denial-program
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22VAC40-880-405. Passport denial program Denial 
Program. 

A. The department shall participate in the Passport Denial 
Program for the denial, revocation, or limitation of 
noncustodial parents' passports where child support 
arrearages exceed the federally mandated threshold. 

B. The department shall certify the arrearages to the federal 
Office of Child Support Enforcement, which will then (i) 
send notice of the certification on behalf of the department to 
the individual and (ii) certify the arrearage to the Department 
of State pursuant to the Passport Denial Program. 

C. An individual has the right to appeal per the notice to a 
Department of Social Services' hearing officer. The only 
issues reviewable on appeal are (i) whether the arrears met 
the threshold at the time of certification, or (ii) mistaken 
identity. An appeal from the hearing officer shall be to circuit 
court pursuant to the procedures under the Setoff Debt 
Collection Act (§ 58.1-520 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 
The issues in subsections D and E of this section are not 
reviewable by the hearing officer. 

D. An individual's child support arrearages shall be paid in 
full before the department notifies the federal Office of Child 
Support Enforcement that the individual is eligible to receive 
a passport. 

E. Exceptions to paying all arrearages prior to release of a 
passport may be granted by the IV-D agency director upon 
written request documenting (i) compelling evidence of a life-
or-death situation of an immediate family member or (ii) 
employment that is contingent upon international travel with 
written proof from the employer of current employment or an 
offer and acceptance of employment and an agreement with 
the department that includes an income withholding order, a 
lump sum payment, and a plan to make regular payments to 
satisfy the arrearage within a finite period of time. Such 
decision whether to grant an exception shall be in the sole 
discretion of the IV-D agency director or designee. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5000; Filed July 24, 2017, 9:22 a.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Proposed Variances to the Rules and Regulations to 
Assure the Rights of Individuals Receiving Services 

from Providers Licensed, Funded, or Operated by 
the Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (12VAC35-115) 

Notice of action: The Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (DBHDS), in accordance with Part 
VI, Variances (12VAC35-115-220), of the Rules and 
Regulations to Assure the Rights of Individuals Receiving 
Services from Providers Licensed, Funded, or Operated by 
the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services (12VAC35-115), hereafter referred to as the "Human 
Rights Regulations," is announcing an opportunity for public 
comment on applications for proposed variances to the 
Human Rights Regulations. The purpose of the regulations is 
to ensure and protect the legal and human rights of 
individuals receiving services in facilities or programs 
operated, licensed or funded by DBHDS.  

Each variance application references the specific part of these 
regulations to which a variance is needed, the proposed 
wording of the substitute rule or procedure, and the 
justification for a variance. Such application also describes 
time limits and other conditions for duration and the 
circumstances that will end the applicability of the variance. 
After considering all available information including 
comments, DBHDS intends to submit a written decision 
deferring, disapproving, modifying, or approving each 
variance renewal application. All variances shall be approved 
for a specific time period. The decision and reasons for 
variance will be published in a later issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations. 

A. DBHDS is seeking comment on the application for new 
proposed variances to the Human Rights Regulations for 
DBHDS' Western State Hospital (WSH).  

1. Variance to procedures for behavioral treatment plans, 
12VAC35-115-105 H: Providers shall not use seclusion in a 
behavioral treatment plan. 

2. Variance to procedures for behavioral treatment plans and 
use of seclusion, restraint, and time out, 12VAC35-115-110 C 
3: Only residential facilities for children that are licensed 
under the Regulations for Children's Residential Facilities 
(12VAC35-46) and inpatient hospitals may use seclusion and 
only in an emergency.  

Explanation: The requested variances will allow WSH to 
place an individual in an environment of seclusion, at the 
individual's request, and not as related to an emergency, in 
order to prevent self-injurious harm to the individual and to 
the staff members responsible for the individual's care. 

B. DBHDS is seeking comment on this existing variance to 
the Human Rights Regulations (approved March 4, 2016) at 
DBHDS' Central State Hospital (CSH). The proposed 
revisions consist of updated regulatory references due to 
permanent revisions to the Human Rights Regulations 
(effective February 9, 2017), and administrative updates to 
the composition of the Maximum Security Appeals 
Committee.  

1. Update regulatory references. The application clarifies that 
the following sections have been repealed from the Human 
Rights Regulations and replaced by new 12VAC35-115-175: 

• 12VAC35-115-50 D 3 e (5): Abuse, Neglect, and 
Exploitation 

• 12VAC35-115-60 B 1 d 

• 12VAC35-115-140 A 2, A 4 

• 12VAC35-115-170: Formal Complaint Process. 

Change of membership of the appeals committee. 12VAC35-
115-150: General Provisions: The two proposed changes to 
the membership of the committee are the addition of the Vice 
Chair of the State Human Rights Committee (SHRC), and the 
removal of the DBHDS Assistant Commissioner for Forensic 
Services. 

Explanation: This existing variance bypasses the formal fact-
finding process before the local human rights committee and 
instead, funnels the formal complaint resolution process for 
patients in the maximum security forensic units only, to 
review by a Maximum Security Appeals Committee. 
Specifically, due to an administrative decision to increase the 
objectivity of the committee, the proposed amendments are: 

• A resident who has followed the procedures of CSH RTS-
01d Patient and Family Complaint Resolution, and is not 
satisfied with the CSH Director's response may appeal the 
decision to the CSH Maximum Security Appeals 
Committee. 

• The CSH Maximum Security Appeals Committee consists 
of the Chairperson and Vice Chair of the State Human 
Rights Committee, and the Department of Behavioral 
Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS) Director of 
Human Rights, and the DBHDS Assistant Commissioner 
for Forensic Services.  

• The CSH Maximum Security Appeals Committee shall 
review the appeal and provide a written response within 21 
days. If the complaint is determined by the Appeals 
Committee to be a founded complaint, the response, which 
includes recommendations outlining how the complaint 
should be resolved, shall be forwarded to the director for 
resolution. A copy shall be sent to the human rights 
advocate. This is the final level of appeal. 
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Variances to these regulations by the state facilities listed 
above are reviewed by the SHRC at least annually, with 
reports to the SHRC regarding the variances as requested.  

Public comment period: August 21, 2017, through 
September 21, 2017. 

Description of proposal: The proposed variance 
applications for renewal must comply with the general 
requirements of Part VI, Variances (12VAC35-115-220), 
of the Human Rights Regulations. 

How to comment: DBHDS accepts written comments by 
email, fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, 
comments must include the full name, address, and 
telephone number of the person commenting and be 
received by DBHDS by the last day of the comment period. 
All information received is part of the public record. 

To review a proposal: Variance applications and any 
supporting documentation may be obtained by contacting 
the DBHDS representative named below.  

Contact Information: Deborah Lochart, Director, Office of 
Human Rights, Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services, 1220 East Bank Street, P.O. Box 
1797, Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (804) 786-
0032, FAX (804) 804-371-2308, or email 
deb.lochart@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of 
Environmental Quality is conducting a periodic review and 
small business impact review of 9VAC15-90, Uniform 
Environmental Covenants Act Regulation. The review of 
this regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive 
Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins August 21, 2017, and ends 
September 11, 2017. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Melissa Porterfield, Office of Regulatory 
Affairs, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 
1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX 
(804) 698-4019, or email 
melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 
impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

Buckingham II Solar, LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy (Solar) Project Permit by Rule - 

Buckingham County 

Buckingham II Solar LLC has provided the Department of 
Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 
necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 
renewable energy project (solar) in Buckingham County 
pursuant to 9VAC15-60. The project will be located on 295 
acres across multiple parcels, on the north east and southwest 
corners of the intersection of James Anderson Highway and 
High Rock Road. The solar project conceptually consists of 
approximately 85,000 335-watt panels plus eight 2.7-
megawatt inverters, which will provide a maximum 20 
megawatts of nameplate capacity. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, or email 
mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Colonial Trail W Solar, LLC Notice of Intent for 
Small Renewable Energy (Solar) Project Permit by 

Rule - Surry County 

Colonial Trail W Solar, LLC, has provided to the Department 
of Environmental Quality a revised notice of intent to submit 
the necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 
renewable energy project (solar) in Surry County pursuant to 
9VAC15-60. The proposed project will be located to the 
northwest of the intersection of Colonial Trail (Route 10) and 
Hollybush Road (Route 618) in Surry County. This project 
will have a maximum generating capacity of 150 megawatts 
alternating current (AC) across roughly 1250 acres on 
multiple parcels, an increase from the previously submitted 
notice for a maximum capacity of 100 megawatts AC on 
January 4, 2017. There is an existing transmission line 
bisecting the property, and a new substation is proposed to be 
built to connect to the grid. A notice of intent was previously 
submitted for a project with a maximum generating capacity 
of 100 megawatts AC. The previous notice was posted to the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall on January 5, 2017, and 
published in the Virginia Register of Regulations on February 
6, 2017. 
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Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, or email 
mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Dominion Energy Puller Solar Notice of Intent for 
Small Renewable Energy (Solar) Project Permit by 

Rule - Middlesex County 

Dominion Energy Puller Solar Notice of Intent provided the 
Department of Environmental Quality a notice of intent to 
submit the necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a 
small renewable solar energy project in Middlesex County. 
The project will be located on approximately 125 acres at 
8611 General Puller Highway, Topping, Virginia. The solar 
facility will be comprised of ground-mounted single-axis 
tracking photovoltaic arrays and auxiliary equipment to 
provide approximately 15 megawatts alternating current of 
nameplate capacity. The project conceptually consists of 
58,800 panels plus five inverters. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, or email 
mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Greenwood Solar I, LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy (Solar) Project Permit by Rule - 

Culpeper County 

Greenwood Solar I, LLC, an affiliate of Open Road 
Renewables, LLC, has provided the Department of 
Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 
necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 
renewable energy project (solar) in Culpeper County pursuant 
to 9VAC15-60. The project is located approximately one mile 
south of Stevensburg on the south side of State Route 3 in 
Culpeper County. The project will be constructed on multiple 
parcels of land totaling approximately 1,000 acres and will 
use conventional solar panels to deliver up to 100 megawatts 
of electricity (alternating current) to an existing transmission 
line. The preliminary design of the project calls for the project 
to use approximately 380,000 solar panels 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, or email 
mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Maplewood Solar I, LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy (Solar) Project Permit by Rule - 

Pittsylvania County 

Maplewood Solar I, LLC, an affiliate of Open Road 
Renewables, LLC, has provided the Department of 
Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 
necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 
renewable energy project (solar) in Pittsylvania County 
pursuant to 9VAC15-60. The project is located in the vicinity 

of the community of Climax on the east and west sides of 
Climax Road in Pittsylvania County. The project will be 
constructed on multiple parcels of land totaling approximately 
1,200 acres and will use conventional solar panels to deliver 
up to 120 megawatts of electricity (alternating current) to an 
existing transmission line. The preliminary design of the 
project calls for the project to use approximately 456,000 
solar panels. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, or email 
mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Nokesville Solar, LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy (Solar) Project Permit by Rule - 

Prince William County 

Nokesville Solar LLC has provided the Department of 
Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 
necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 
renewable energy project (solar) in Prince William County 
pursuant to 9VAC15-60. The project will be located on 300 
acres across a single parcel on land west of Carriage Ford 
Road, north of Warrenton Road, and south and east of Route 
28. The solar project conceptually consists of approximately 
85,000 335-watt panels plus eight 2.7-megawatt inverters, 
which will provide a maximum 20 megawatts of nameplate 
capacity. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, or email 
mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Reservoir Solar, LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy (Solar) Project Permit by Rule - 

Louisa County 

Reservoir Solar LLC has provided the Department of 
Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 
necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 
renewable energy project (solar) in Louisa County pursuant to 
9VAC15-60. The project will be located on 1400 acres across 
multiple parcels on land west of Mineral Avenue and Kennon 
Road, north of Jefferson Highway, south of Davis Highway 
and east of School Bus Road. The solar project conceptually 
consists of approximately 421,000 335-watt panels plus 40 
2.7-megawatt inverters, which will provide a maximum 99.9 
megawatts of nameplate capacity. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, or email 
mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 
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Sycamore Solar I, LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy (Solar) Project Permit by Rule – 

Pittsylvania County 

Sycamore Solar I, LLC, an affiliate of Open Road 
Renewables, LLC, has provided the Department of 
Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 
necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 
renewable energy project (solar) in Pittsylvania County 
pursuant to 9VAC15-60. The project is located on the north 
and south sides of State Route 40 between Hodnetts Road and 
Renan Road approximately 10 miles east of Gretna in 
Pittsylvania County. The project will be constructed on 
multiple parcels of land totaling approximately 420 acres and 
will use conventional solar panels to deliver up to 42 
megawatts of electricity (alternating current) to an existing 
transmission line. The preliminary design of the project calls 
for the project to use approximately 159,600 solar panels. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, or email 
mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Walnut Solar I, LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy (Solar) Project Permit by Rule - 

King and Queen County 

Walnut Solar I, LLC, an affiliate of Open Road Renewables, 
LLC, has provided the Department of Environmental Quality 
a notice of intent to submit the necessary documentation for a 
permit by rule for a small renewable energy project (solar) in 
King and Queen County pursuant to 9VAC15-60. The project 
is located approximately two miles southeast of the 
community of Shacklefords on the south side of State Route 
14 in King and Queen County. The project will be 
constructed on multiple parcels of land totaling approximately 
700 acres and will use conventional solar panels to deliver up 
to 70 megawatts of electricity (alternating current) to an 
existing transmission line. The preliminary design of the 
project calls for the project to use approximately 266,000 
solar panels. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, or email 
mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery 
were filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on 
August 2, 2017. The orders may be viewed at the Virginia 
Lottery, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at 
the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main 
Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Five (17) 

Virginia Lottery's "Food Lion MVP Kiosk Coupon 
Promotion" Final Rules for Operation (This Director's 
Order becomes effective on August 2, 2017, and shall 
remain in full force and effect through the end promotion 
date unless amended or rescinded by further Director's 
Order) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seventeen (17) 

Certain Virginia Promotion; Promotion Drawing Date 
Correction and Content Correction 

Q1/Q2 FY18 eXTRA Chances Scratcher Promotion (104 
2017)  

(This Director's Order is effective nunc pro tunc to July 1, 
2017, and shall remain in full force and effect unless 
amended or rescinded by further Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Nineteen (17) 

Certain Virginia Promotion; Promotion Requirement 
Correction  

Summer Corvette® Giveaway Promotion (90 2017)  

(This Director's Order is effective nunc pro tunc to June 9, 
2017, and shall remain in full force and effect unless 
amended or rescinded by further Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Twenty (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1807 "2X The Money" 
Final Rules for Game Operation (effective July 14, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Twenty-One (17) 

Certain Virginia Instant Game Lotteries; End of Games. 

In accordance with the authority granted by §§ 2.2-4002 B 
15 and 58.1-4006 A of the Code of Virginia, I hereby give 
notice that the following Virginia Lottery instant games 
will officially end at midnight on July 21, 2017: 

Game 1772 2X The Money (TOP) 

Game 1764  777 (TOP) 

Game 1763 Luck (TOP) 

Game 1758 Loteria 

Game 1753 Ch Ch Ch Chia Cash 

Game 1733 2 For $1 

Game 1689 20X The Money (TOP) 

Game 1675 Lucky Dog Doubler (TOP) 

Game 1668 Super Triple 777 (TOP) 

Game 1642 $1,000,000 Bankroll 

Game 1620 Golden Spades (TOP) 
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Game 1580 Cash Club 

Game 1544 Platinum Payout 

Game 1538 Winner Take All 

The last day for lottery retailers to return for credit unsold 
tickets from any of these games will be September 1, 2017. 
The last day to redeem winning tickets for any of these 
games will be January 17, 2018, 180 days from the 
declared official end of the game. Claims for winning 
tickets from any of these games will not be accepted after 
that date. Claims that are mailed and received in an 
envelope bearing a postmark of the United States Postal 
Service or another sovereign nation of January 17, 2018, or 
earlier, will be deemed to have been received on time. This 
notice amplifies and conforms to the duly adopted State 
Lottery Board regulations for the conduct of lottery games. 

This Director's Order becomes effective on July 18, 2017, 
and shall remain in full force and effect unless amended or 
rescinded by further Director's Order. 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Twenty-Six (17) 

Virginia's Computer-Generated Lottery Game Powerball® 
Final Rules for Game Operation (This Director's Order is 
effective nunc pro tunc to May 24, 2017, fully replaces any 
and all prior Virginia Lottery "Powerball" game rules, and 
shall remain in full force and effect unless amended or 
rescinded by further Director's Order) 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Safety 
and Health Codes Board conducted a small business impact 
review of 16VAC25-20, Regulation Concerning Licensed 
Asbestos Contractor Notification, Asbestos Project 
Permits, and Permit Fees, and determined that this 
regulation should be retained in its current form. The Safety 
and Health Codes Board is publishing its report of findings 
dated July 28, 2017, to support this decision in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

A continued need for this regulation exists as the 
requirements are mandated by state law. The regulation, as 
written, continues to protect the safety, health, and welfare of 
the public by monitoring and controlling the potential hazards 
associated with asbestos removal projects, with the least cost 
to citizens and businesses of the Commonwealth. No 
comments were received during this periodic review. The 
regulation is not overly complex and is clearly written. It does 
not duplicate, overlap, or conflict with state or federal laws or 
regulations, and there is no apparent negative impact on the 
regulated community. The regulation was last reviewed in 
2013. Little or no change has occurred in technology, 

economic conditions, and other factors that would affect the 
regulation. 

Contact Information: Holly Raney, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Virginia Department of Labor and Industry, 600 East Main 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, email 
holly.raney@doli.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Safety 
and Health Codes Board conducted a small business impact 
review of 16VAC25-30, Regulations for Asbestos 
Emissions Standards for Demolition and Renovation 
Construction Activities and the Disposal of Asbestos-
Containing Construction Wastes--Incorporation By 
Reference, 40 CFR 61.140 through 61.156, and determined 
that this regulation should be retained in its current form. The 
Safety and Health Codes Board is publishing its report of 
findings dated July 28, 2017, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

A continued need for this regulation exists as the 
requirements are mandated by federal law. The regulation, as 
written, continues to protect the safety, health, and welfare of 
the public by regulating the hazards associated with asbestos 
emission and disposal of asbestos-containing construction 
waste, with the least cost to citizens and businesses of the 
Commonwealth. No comments were received during this 
periodic review. The regulation is not overly complex and is 
clearly written. It does not duplicate, overlap, or conflict with 
state or federal laws or regulations, and there is no apparent 
negative impact on the regulated community. The regulation 
was last reviewed in 2013. Little or no change has occurred in 
technology, economic conditions, and other factors that 
would affect the regulation. 

Contact Information: Holly Raney, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Virginia Department of Labor and Industry, 600 East Main 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, email 
holly.raney@doli.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Safety 
and Health Codes Board conducted a small business impact 
review of 16VAC25-40, Standard for Boiler and Pressure 
Vessel Operator Certification, and determined that this 
regulation should be retained in its current form. The Safety 
and Health Codes Board is publishing its report of findings 
dated July 28, 2017, to support this decision in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

A continued need for this regulation exists as the 
requirements are mandated by state law. The regulation, as 
written, continues to protect the safety, health, and welfare of 
the public from the dangers of boiler or pressure vessels being 
operated in an unsafe manner or by unqualified operators with 
the least possible cost and intrusiveness to the citizens and 
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businesses of the Commonwealth. No comments were 
received during this periodic review. The regulation is not 
overly complex and is clearly written. It does not duplicate, 
overlap, or conflict with state or federal laws or regulations, 
and there is no apparent negative impact on the regulated 
community. The regulation was last amended in 2013. Little 
or no change has occurred in technology, economic 
conditions, and other factors that would affect the regulation.   

Contact Information: Holly Raney, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Virginia Department of Labor and Industry, 600 East Main 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, email 
holly.raney@doli.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Safety 
and Health Codes Board conducted a small business impact 
review of 16VAC25-70, Virginia Confined Space Standard 
for the Telecommunications Industry, and determined that 
this regulation should be retained in its current form. The 
Safety and Health Codes Board is publishing its report of 
findings dated July 28, 2017, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

A continued need for this regulation exists because it more 
adequately protects the safety, health, and welfare of 
telecommunication workers than the federal standard. The 
regulation establishes minimum protections against exposure 
to hazardous chemicals and hazardous atmospheres when 
working in confined spaces, with the least cost to citizens and 
businesses of the Commonwealth. No comments were 
received during this periodic review. The regulation is not 
overly complex and is clearly written. It does not duplicate, 
overlap, or conflict with state or federal laws or regulations, 
and there is no apparent negative impact on the regulated 
community. The regulation was last reviewed in 2013. Little 
or no change has occurred in technology, economic 
conditions, and other factors that would affect the regulation. 

Contact Information: Holly Raney, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Virginia Department of Labor and Industry, 600 East Main 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, email 
holly.raney@doli.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Safety 
and Health Codes Board conducted a small business impact 
review of 16VAC25-97, Reverse Signal Operation Safety 
Requirements for Motor Vehicles, Machinery, and 
Equipment in General Industry and the Construction 
Industry, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The Safety and Health Codes 
Board is publishing its report of findings dated July 28, 2017, 
to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of 
the Code of Virginia. 

A continued need for this regulation exists because it more 
adequately protects employees in work zones in which 
vehicles and machinery are operating with an obstructed rear 
view than the equivalent federal standards. The regulation, as 
written, continues to protect the safety, health, and welfare of 
the public by establishing minimum safety standards for 
reverse signal procedures, with the least cost to citizens and 
businesses of the Commonwealth. No comments were 
received during this periodic review. The regulation is not 
overly complex and is clearly written. It does not duplicate, 
overlap, or conflict with state or federal laws or regulations, 
and there is no apparent negative impact on the regulated 
community. The regulation was last reviewed in 2013. Little 
or no change has occurred in technology, economic 
conditions, and other factors that would affect the regulation. 

Contact Information: Holly Raney, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Virginia Department of Labor and Industry, 600 East Main 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, email 
holly.raney@doli.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Total Maximum Daily Load for Birch Creek and Dan 
River Watersheds 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 
written and oral comments from interested persons on the 
draft total maximum daily load (TMDL) implementation plan 
(IP) for the Birch Creek and Dan River watersheds in Halifax 
and Pittsylvania Counties and the City of Danville. These 
streams were listed as impaired on the Virginia's § 303(d) 
TMDL Priority List and Report due to violations of the state's 
water quality standard for bacteria. The following are the 
names of the bacteria impaired streams and the length of the 
impaired segments: Cascade Creek, 11.79 miles; Tanyard 
Creek, 2.85 miles; Sugartree Creek, 6.96 miles; Stewart 
Creek, 7.34 miles; Pumpkin Creek, 4.28 miles; Cane Creek, 
12.25 miles; Lawless Creek, 4.71 miles; Big Toby Creek, 
7.56 miles; Powells Creek, 4.63 miles; Sandy Creek, 9.41 
miles; upper tributary-Birch Creek, 5.35 miles; Germy Creek, 
5.36 miles; Lawsons Creek, 8.26 and 7.27 miles; Miry Creek, 
1.11 miles; Stokes Creek, 6.35 miles; Sandy River, 7.22 
miles; Sandy Creek, 9.48 miles; Dan River, 35.06 miles; Fall 
Creek, 11.97 miles; Double Creek, 8.88 miles; Byrds Branch, 
3.76 miles.  

The Birch Creek TMDL study was approved by the 
Environmental Protection Agency in 2004 and by the State 
Water Control Board in 2005, and can be found in the 
Bacteria TMDL for Birch Creek Watershed, Virginia report 
(available at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/ap
ptmdls/roankrvr/birchfc.pdf.) The Dan River TMDL was 
approved by EPA in 2008 and approved by the State Water 
Control Board in 2009, and can be found in the Bacteria 
TMDL Development for the Dan River, Blackberry Creek, 
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Byrds Branch, Double Creek, Fall Creek, Leatherwood 
Creek, Marrowbone Creek, North Fork Mayo River, South 
Fork Mayo River, Smith River, Sandy Creek, and Sandy 
River Watersheds report (available at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/ap
ptmdls/roankrvr/danec.pdf.) The Henry County and Patrick 
County portions of the Dan River TMDL Watershed were 
included in the South Mayo River, North Mayo River, 
Blackberry Creek, Marrowbone Creek, Leatherwood Creek 
and Smith River Watershed Implementation Plan (2013) 
(available at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/Imple
mentationPlans/SmithMayo_Technical_Report_FINAL.pdf.)  

Section 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia requires the 
development of an IP for approved TMDLs. The IP should 
provide measurable goals and the date of expected 
achievement of water quality objectives. The IP should also 
include the corrective actions needed and their associated 
costs, benefits, and environmental impacts. The draft TMDL 
Implementation Plan and meeting documents are available at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn
formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImpl
ementationProgress.aspx. 

A public meeting will be held to discuss the draft 
implementation plan for the Birch Creek and Dan River 
watersheds. At this meeting, the process by which the 
implementation plan was developed to restore water quality 
in the watersheds will be discussed, and citizens will learn 
how they can be part of the water quality improvement 
process.  

The public meeting will be held from 6 p.m. until 8 p.m. on 
August 29, 2017, at the Danville Regional Airport, East 
Conference Room, 424 Airport Drive, Danville, VA 24540. 
In the event of severe weather, the public meeting will occur 
on August 31, 2017, at the same time and location.  

DEQ accepts written comments by email, fax, or postal mail. 
The 30-day public comment period on the information 
presented at the meeting begins August 29, 2017, and ends 
September 28, 2017. Questions or information requests 
should be addressed to James Moneymaker with the Virginia 
Department of Environmental Quality. Written comments and 
inquiries should include the name, address, and telephone 
number of the person submitting the comments and should be 
sent to James Moneymaker, Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality, 3019 Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, 
VA 24019, telephone (540) 562-6738, FAX (540) 562-6725, 
or email james.moneymaker@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Order for Sussex Service 
Authority 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Sussex 
Service Authority for violations at the Spring Branch 
Wastewater Treatment Plant (WWTP), located at 601 Jasper 
Lane in Waverly, Virginia. The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to address noncompliance 
with its Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination Permit at 
the WWTP. A description of the proposed action is available 
at the Department of Environmental Quality office named 
below, or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Kyle Ivar Winter, 
P.E., will accept comments by email at 
kyle.winter@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 527-5106, or 
postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 
VA 23060, from August 23, 2017, to September 22, 2017. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 
Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 
Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 
repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 
regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 
the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 
available at 
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 
Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 
Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 
regulatory information. 
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