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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair; Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. Hopkins; Leslie L. Lilley; 

E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; 

Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Mark J. Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

September 2017 through August 2018 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

34:1 August 16, 2017 September 4, 2017 

34:2 August 30, 2017 September 18, 2017 

34:3 September 13, 2017 October 2, 2017 

34:4 September 27, 2017 October 16, 2017 

34:5 October 11, 2017 October 30, 2017 

34:6 October 25, 2017 November 13, 2017 

34:7 November 8, 2017 November 27, 2017 

34:8 November 21, 2017 (Tuesday) December 11, 2017 

34:9 December 6, 2017 December 25, 2017 

34:10 December 19, 2017 (Tuesday) January 8, 2018 

34:11 January 3, 2018 January 22, 2018 

34:12 January 17, 2018 February 5, 2018 

34:13 January 31, 2018 February 19, 2018 

34:14 February 14, 2018 March 5, 2018 

34:15 February 28, 2018 March 19, 2018 

34:16 March 14, 2018 April 2, 2018 

34:17 March 28, 2018 April 16, 2018 

34:18 April 11, 2018 April 30, 2018 

34:19 April 25, 2018 May 14, 2018 

34:20 May 9, 2018 May 28, 2018 

34:21 May 23, 2018 June 11, 2018 

34:22 June 6, 2018 June 25, 2018 

34:23 June 20, 2018 July 9, 2018 

34:24 July 3, 2018 (Tuesday) July 23, 2018 

34:25 July 18, 2018 August 6, 2018 

34:26 August 1, 2018 August 20, 2018 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING  

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Counseling intends to 

consider amending 18VAC115-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Professional Counseling. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to recognize hours acquired in accredited 

doctoral programs as meeting a portion of the hours of 

supervised practice required for licensure. The board voted to 

initiate a regulatory action in response to a petition for 

rulemaking requesting acceptance of supervised practicum 

and internship hours in a doctoral program accredited by the 

Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related 

Educational Programs. The board will determine the specific 

number of hours to be credited towards completion of a 

supervised residency and qualification for those hours 

following receipt of comment on this notice. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 4, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-12; Filed August 4, 2017, 2:37 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services intends to consider promulgating 

22VAC30-130, Adult Services Standards. The purpose of 

the proposed action is to establish adult services standards for 

the provision of services provided by the local departments of 

social services to an adult with impairment. The new 

regulation will include definitions, the principles inherent in 

the provision of adult services, the process for client intake 

and service delivery, the targeted service population, the 

types of services that may be provided, and eligibility for 

services. Additional revisions to the regulation content may 

be proposed based on public comments received.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 51.5-131 and 51.5-145 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 4, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Paige McCleary, Adult Protective Services 

Division Director, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Henrico, VA 23229, 

telephone (804) 662-7605, FAX (804) 662-9531, TTY (800) 

464-9950, or email paige.mccleary@dars.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5230; Filed August 4, 2017, 2:38 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: A form used in administering the 

following regulation has been filed by the Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of the form to 

access it. The form is also available from the agency contact 

or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-111. Public and Private 

Animal Shelters. 

Contact Information: Dr. Kathryn MacDonald, Program 

Manager, Office of Animal Care and Emergency Response, 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 

1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-2483, or 

email kathryn.macdonald@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (2VAC5-111) 

Animal Facility Inspection Report, VDACS AC-10 (rev. 

7/2015) 

Animal Facility Inspection Form - Shelter, VDACS AC-10-

A (eff. 3/2016) 

Animal Facility Inspection Form – Animal Care, VDACS 

AC-10-B (rev. 7/2015) 

Animal Facility Inspection Form – Operations, VDACS AC-

10-C (rev. 7/2015) 

Animal Shelter Inspection Form, VDACS AC-10 (rev. 

8/2017) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5233; Filed August 16, 2017, 10:18 a.m.  

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: A form used in administering the 

following regulation has been filed by the Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of the form to 

access it. The form is also available from the agency contact 

or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-150. Rules and Regulations 

Governing the Transportation of Companion Animals. 

Contact Information: Dr. Kathryn MacDonald, Program 

Manager, Office of Animal Care and Emergency Response, 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 

1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-2483, or 

email kathryn.macdonald@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (2VAC5-150)  

Animal Facility Inspection Report, VDACS AC-10 (rev. 

7/15) 

Animal Facility Inspection Form – Animal Transport, 

VDACS AC-10-1 (rev. 7/15) 

Animal Shelter Inspection Form, VDACS AC-10 (rev. 

8/2017) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5235; Filed August 16, 2017, 10:30 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 4VAC25-20. Board of Coal Mining 

Examiners Certification Requirements (amending 

4VAC25-20-15, 4VAC25-20-50, 4VAC25-20-70, 4VAC25-

20-180, 4VAC25-20-340 through 4VAC25-20-400; adding 

4VAC25-20-185). 

4VAC25-35. Certification Requirements for Mineral 

Miners (amending 4VAC25-35-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 45.1-161.28 and 45.1-161.34 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 4, 2017. 

Effective Date: October 19, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Michael Skiffington, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 

1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, 

telephone (804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 45.1-161.28 of the Code of Virginia grants 

authority to the Board of Coal Mining Examiners to regulate 

the certification of persons who work in coal mines in the 

Commonwealth. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=03f08005233~1&typ=40&actno=005233&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=03f08005233~1&typ=40&actno=005233&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=abaab005235~1&typ=40&actno=005235&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=abaab005235~1&typ=40&actno=005235&mime=application/pdf
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Purpose: The purpose of the regulatory action is to better 

protect the health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of the 

Commonwealth by modifying or eliminating obsolete 

language in the regulations. Doing so will allow the 

department to inspect its permitted sites more safely and 

efficiently. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

action will be noncontroversial because it is clarifying 

regulations and does not create additional regulatory burdens 

on individuals or businesses. 

Substance: The substantive changes to the regulations are the 

modification of language for clarity or the removal of 

obsolete language. Obsolete language is removed to keep the 

regulation up to date. Language has been added to illustrate 

the distinction between surface mine foremen and inspectors 

and underground mine foremen and inspectors. Finally, 

language is added to allow individuals carrying a valid coal 

surface mine inspector certification to receive a certification 

to inspect mineral mines. 

Issues: The advantages to the Commonwealth and the public 

are increased safety and efficiency at the permitted mine sites. 

There are no known disadvantages. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Coal Mining Examiners (Board) proposes to 

separate the Mine Inspector designation into Underground 

Mine Inspector and Surface Mine Inspector. Additionally, the 

Board proposes to amend language for improved clarity and 

to remove obsolete text. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Mine inspectors are employed 

by the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy (DMME). 

The current regulation specifies the requirements to become a 

certified (coal) Mine Inspector in section 4VAC25-20-180, 

titled Mine Inspector. The Board proposes to change the title 

of section 4VAC25-20-180 to Underground Mine Inspector, 

and create a new section 4VAC25-20-185 titled Surface Mine 

Inspector. There are already separate sections and 

requirements for Underground Mine Foreman certification 

and Surface Mine Foreman certification. 

The proposed new Surface Mine Inspector certification 

section specifies that "Applicants who already possess a valid 

underground mine inspector certification pursuant to 

4VAC25-180 shall be deemed to have met the requirements 

of this section." Thus current certified Mine Inspectors and 

future certified Underground Mine Inspectors would be 

certified for inspecting both surface mines and underground 

mines under the existing and unchanging requirements. 

Individuals who become certified as Surface Mine Inspectors 

by completing the requirements listed in the proposed section 

4VAC25-20-185 would not be certified to inspect 

underground mines unless they also satisfied the requirements 

in the Underground Mine Inspector certification section. 

The requirements under the proposed new Surface Mine 

Inspector certification section differ from the existing Mine 

Inspector and proposed Underground Mine Inspector 

certification sections by requiring that applicants: 1) hold a 

valid Surface Mine Foreman Certificate rather than a valid 

Underground Mine Foreman Certificate, and 2) meet the 

continuing education requirements for surface mine foreman 

rather than underground mine foreman, and 3) pass the 

surface mine inspector examination rather than the 

underground mine inspector examination. According to 

DMME, the Surface Mine Inspector certification 

requirements are easier to meet than the Underground Mine 

Inspector certification requirements as there are specific 

dangers associated with underground mines that are not 

present on the surface. Thus introducing the new proposed 

Surface Mine Inspector certification would be beneficial in 

that individuals who are qualified for such certification and 

would only be doing surface inspection would not need to 

spend the time and effort obtaining additional training for 

underground safety issues that would not be applicable to 

their work.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

affect DMME and coal mine inspectors. All coal mine 

inspectors are employed by DMME. 

Localities Particularly Affected. Coal is only mined in 

counties in far Southwest Virginia (Russell, Lee, Scott, Wise, 

Tazewell, Dickenson and Buchanan). 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

would be unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 

use and value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 

costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments are 

unlikely to affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect businesses.  
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Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect other entities. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy concurs with the 

economic impact analysis conducted by the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments clarify distinctions between underground 

mine certifications and surface mine certifications and 

remove or modify obsolete language. 

Part I  

General and Specific Requirements for Certification  

4VAC25-20-15. Definitions.  

A. This chapter works with the Virginia Mine Safety Act, 

Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia. Refer to § 45.1-161.8 for 

other definitions related to this chapter.  

B. The following words and terms, when used in this 

chapter, shall have the following meaning unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Appropriately related work experience" means work 

experience which demonstrates the applicant's skill and level 

of responsibility in performing tasks, and prepares and equips 

him to perform in the capacity of a certified person.  

"BCME" means Board of Coal Mining Examiners.  

"Chief" means the Chief of the Division of Mines.  

"DMME" means the Department of Mines, Minerals and 

Energy.  

"Division" means the Division of Mines.  

"DMLR" means Division of Mined Land Reclamation.  

"EMT" means emergency medical technician.  

"GCM" means general coal miner.  

"MSHA" means the Mine Safety and Health Administration.  

"Virginia coal mine safety regulations" mean 4VAC25-50-

10 et seq. means 4VAC25-60 through 4VAC25-120-10 et 

seq. 4VAC25-125.  

"Virginia Mine Safety Act" means Chapters 14.2 (§ 45.1-

161.7 et seq.) through 14.6 (§ 45.1-161.304 et seq.) and 

Chapter 18 (§ 45.1-221 et seq.) of Title 45.1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

Part II  

Certification Requirements  

4VAC25-20-50. First class Underground mine foreman. 

A. Applicants shall possess five years mining experience, 

three of which shall be underground, and shall pass the first 

class underground mine foreman, map, and gas detection 

examinations.  

B. Applicants shall be given three years credit for a degree 

in mining engineering from an approved four-year college or 

two years credit for a degree in mining technology.  

C. Applicants shall be at least 23 years of age.  

D. Beginning August 20, 1997, certified Certified mine 

foremen shall complete the continuing education 

requirements in this section within two years from the date of 

their certification and every two years thereafter. The holder 

of the certificate shall submit documentation to the division 

indicating the required continuing education has been 

completed prior to these deadlines.  

E. The holder of the certificate, in order to receive 

continuing education credit, shall satisfactorily complete a 

first class an underground mine foreman continuing education 

course approved by the chief and taught by a certified 

instructor or other instructor approved by the chief.  

F. The first class underground mine foreman shall complete 

at least four hours of continuing education every two years.  

G. The content of the continuing education course shall 

include, but is not limited to, the:  

1. Coal Mine Safety Act, Chapter 14.2 (§ 45.1-161.7 et 

seq.) of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia;  

2. Virginia coal mine safety regulations;  

3. Responsibilities of first class underground mine 

foreman;  

4. Virginia coal mine safety policies and division operators' 

memos; and  

5. Review of fatalities and accident trends in Virginia 

underground coal mines.  

H. A maximum of four hours in excess of the required hours 

may be carried over to the next continuing education period.  

I. Failure to complete continuing education requirements 

shall result in suspension of a person's certification pending 

completion of continuing education. If the continuing 

education requirement is not met within two years from the 

suspension date, the certification shall be revoked by the 

BCME.  

J. The division shall send notice of any suspension to the last 

address the certified person reported to the division in 

accordance with 4VAC25-20-20 I. Upon request, DMME 

will provide the mine operator and other interested parties 

with a list of individuals whose certification is in suspension 

or has been revoked.  

4VAC25-20-70. Surface mine foreman.  

A. Applicants shall possess five years of surface coal mining 

experience.  

B. Applicants shall pass the surface mine foreman, first aid, 

and gas detection examinations.  

C. Beginning August 20, 1997, certified Certified persons 

shall complete the continuing education requirements in this 

section within two years from the date of their certification 
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and every two years thereafter. The holder of the certificate 

shall submit documentation to the division indicating the 

required continuing education has been completed prior to 

these deadlines.  

D. The holder of the certificate, in order to receive 

continuing education credit, shall satisfactorily complete a 

surface mine foreman continuing education course approved 

by the chief and taught by a certified instructor or other 

instructor approved by the chief.  

E. The surface mine foreman shall complete at least four 

hours of continuing education every two years.  

F. The content of the continuing education course shall 

include, but is not limited to, the:  

1. Coal Mine Safety Act, Chapter 14.2 (§ 45.1-161.7 et 

seq.) of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia;  

2. Virginia coal mine safety regulations;  

3. Responsibilities of surface mine foreman;  

4. Virginia coal mine safety policies and division operators' 

memos; and  

5. Review of fatalities and accident trends in Virginia 

surface coal mines.  

G. A maximum of four hours in excess of the required hours 

may be carried over to the next continuing education period.  

H. Failure to complete continuing education requirements 

shall result in suspension of a person's certification pending 

completion of continuing education. If the continuing 

education requirement is not met within two years from the 

suspension date, the certification shall be revoked by the 

BCME.  

I. The division shall send notice of any suspension to the last 

known address of the certified person reported to the division 

in accordance with 4VAC25-20-20 I. Upon request, DMME 

will provide the mine operator and other interested parties 

with a list of individuals whose certification is in suspension 

or has been revoked.  

4VAC25-20-180. Mine Underground mine inspector.  

A. Applicants shall possess mining experience as described 

in § 45.1-161.20 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. Applicants shall be given three years credit for a degree 

in mining engineering from an approved four-year college.  

C. Applicants shall hold a valid First Class Underground 

Mine Foreman Certificate.  

D. Applicants shall meet the continuing education 

requirements of 4VAC25-20-50 for first class underground 

mine foreman.  

E. Applicants shall pass the underground mine inspector 

examination.  

F. A certificate will not be issued until an applicant is 

employed by the DMME and shall only remain valid while 

the person is employed by the department.  

4VAC25-20-185. Surface mine inspector. 

A. Applicants shall possess mining experience as described 

in § 45.1-161.20 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Applicants shall be given three years credit for a degree 

in mining engineering from an approved four-year college. 

C. Applicants shall hold a valid Surface Mine Foreman 

Certificate. 

D. Applicants shall meet the continuing education 

requirements of 4VAC25-20-70 for surface mine foreman. 

E. Applicants shall pass the surface mine inspector 

examination. 

F. A certificate will not be issued until an applicant is 

employed by DMME and shall only remain valid while the 

person is employed by the department. 

G. Applicants who already possess a valid underground 

mine inspector certification pursuant to 4VAC25-20-180 shall 

be deemed to have met the requirements of this section. 

Part IV  

On-Site Examination of Underground Mine Foreman  

4VAC25-20-340. Examinations.  

A. When a an underground mine is issued a closure order or 

violation related to a hazardous roof or ventilation condition, 

the underground mine foreman may be examined to 

determine his knowledge of the roof control plan and 

ventilation requirements in the area of his responsibility at the 

mine. The examination shall be conducted on the surface at 

the mine site on the day the violation or closure order is 

issued.  

B. The chief shall develop a pool of no more than 50 

questions addressing the areas listed in subsection D of this 

section, which shall be approved by the BCME. These 

questions shall be available on request and should be 

incorporated as part of continuing education and other 

training for underground mine foremen.  

C. A division inspector shall administer a written 

examination using 10 questions from the approved pool. The 

foreman shall answer eight out of 10 questions correctly to 

demonstrate thorough understanding of the mine's roof or 

ventilation plans. The inspector shall select questions from 

the pool which are most relevant to the conditions or practices 

resulting in the order of closure or violation.  

D. The underground mine foreman may refer to roof control, 

ventilation, bleeder, or other plans available to him when 

examined at the surface of an underground mine. Any 

underground mine foreman performing tasks requiring 

certification or otherwise directing work in ventilation or roof 

support shall be able to provide the following information:  

1. Describe the roof control requirements set out in the 

mine's roof control plan in the area of the foreman's 

responsibility.  
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2. Describe the frequency and methods of any required 

testing of roof, face and ribs in the area of the foreman's 

responsibility.  

3. Show how the roof control practices in the area of the 

foreman's responsibility comply with the requirements of 

the roof control plan.  

4. Describe the frequency and contents of any pre-shift, on-

shift, and, when applicable, weekly examinations of mine 

ventilation required in the area of the foreman's 

responsibility.  

5. Describe the requirements for action under the mine's 

fan stoppage plan in the area of the foreman's 

responsibility.  

6. Describe any requirements for face ventilation controls 

used in the area of the foreman's responsibility.  

7. Describe any requirements under the mine bleeder plan 

in the area of the foreman's responsibility.  

8. Describe the requirements for mine ventilation controls 

such as regulators, ventilation doors, and other similar 

controls in the area of the foreman's responsibility.  

9. Describe the minimum volume of air required in the area 

of the foreman's responsibility.  

10. Describe the minimum requirements for quality of air 

(oxygen, carbon dioxide, and methane) in the area of the 

foreman's responsibility.  

11. Describe the procedure to follow in the area of the 

foreman's responsibility upon an accumulation of methane 

at:  

a. 1.0% or greater not less than 12 inches from the roof, 

face, ribs, or floor;  

b. Greater than 1.0% in a split that ventilates any group 

of active areas;  

c. 1.5% (or 2.0% as applicable) in a split of air returning 

from areas where coal is being extracted or is capable of 

being extracted; or  

d. 5.0% or greater in any area of the mine.  

E. The division inspector completing an examination of a an 

underground mine foreman under this part shall discuss the 

results of the exam with the foreman before leaving the mine.  

4VAC25-20-350. Actions brought before the BCME.  

A. The examination shall be the basis of any enforcement 

action brought before the board for failure to display a 

thorough understanding of the roof control plan and 

ventilation for the area of the mine for which he is 

responsible.  

B. Refusal of the underground mine foreman to submit to 

examination will constitute just cause to be brought before 

the board and may result in suspension of certification and 

revocation of certification by the board.  

Part V  

Guidelines for On-Site Examination of a an Underground 

Mine Foreman  

4VAC25-20-360. Purpose and scope.  

A. Section 45.1-161.35 A of the Code of Virginia provides 

for on-site examination of a an underground mine foreman by 

a mine inspector to determine that the foreman has a thorough 

understanding of the roof control plan and ventilation for the 

area of the mine for which he is responsible. The procedures 

followed by the inspector in conducting an on-site 

examination of a an underground mine foreman must be 

consistent with requirements in Part IV (4VAC25-20-340 et 

seq.) of this chapter. This includes the use of questions 

approved by the board which are administered in accordance 

with this chapter.  

B. The purpose of examining a an underground mine 

foreman is to measure and evaluate his knowledge and 

understanding of mine roof control and ventilation for the 

areas of his responsibility. Mine Underground mine foremen 

are required to demonstrate this and other elements of mine 

safety when they become certified to act as mine foremen in 

the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

C. An on-site examination by the mine inspector will only 

be initiated when there is just cause that the underground 

mine foreman has failed to maintain safe roof control and 

ventilation for his area of responsibility at the mine. Just 

cause for an on-site examination of a an underground mine 

foreman by a mine inspector must be based on issuance of an 

order of closure or violation related to a hazardous condition 

pertaining to roof control or ventilation.  

4VAC25-20-370. Determination by the inspector to 

conduct an on-site examination.  

A. An order of closure issued in accordance with § 45.1-

161.91 of the Code of Virginia, or notice of violation issued 

in accordance with § 45.1-161.90 of the Code of Virginia that 

relate to roof control or ventilation hazards, shall be reviewed 

at the time it is issued for evidence of underground mine 

foreman negligence, which could require on-site examination 

of the mine foreman by the mine inspector. In making the 

determination whether or not to conduct an on-site 

examination, the mine inspector must establish the following:  

1. The roof or ventilation hazards cited resulted from 

performing his duties with less than ordinary care. 

Ordinary care means the use of such care as a reasonably 

prudent and careful underground mine foreman could use 

under similar circumstances.  

2. The underground mine foreman knew or should have 

known of the existence of the hazardous condition.  

B. When these criteria have been established, the mine 

inspector will undertake an on-site examination of the 

underground mine foreman.  
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4VAC25-20-380. Notification of intent to conduct an on-

site examination.  

A. The mine inspector will notify the underground mine 

foreman of an order of closure or notice of violation for a 

hazardous condition related to roof control or ventilation in 

the area of the foreman's responsibility. The inspector will let 

him know that he intends to invoke the provision of the law 

for an on-site examination of the foreman.  

B. The following approach will be taken by the mine 

inspector in giving notice to the underground mine foreman:  

1. The notification will be given by the inspector in private.  

2. The inspector will be courteous and professional in 

explaining the reason for the on-site examination.  

3. The inspector will explain the procedures he will follow 

in conducting the on-site examination.  

4VAC25-20-390. Procedures for conducting on-site 

examination.  

A. The on-site examination of the underground mine 

foreman will be handled in such a way as to not prevent the 

foreman from performing his duties. The on-site examination 

must be conducted, to the extent possible, immediately on 

arrival outside on the surface on the day the order of closure 

or notice of violation is issued.  

B. These procedures will be followed in conducting the on-

site examination:  

1. The examination will be administered in a written 

format.  

2. The mine inspector will choose the 10 questions from 

the approved pool related to the condition or practice being 

cited by the order of closure or notice of violation.  

3. The underground mine foreman will be provided 

sufficient time to write out his answers to the questions. He 

may refer to plans or other information available to him. 

However, no other person may assist him in answering the 

questions. The mine inspector will remain with the mine 

foreman during the written examination.  

4. The mine inspector will read the questions being asked 

to the underground mine foreman if requested and should 

answer any questions from the mine foreman which could 

help to clarify his understanding of the questions.  

5. The underground mine foreman may respond to the 

questions orally. In this case, the mine inspector will 

record the response of the mine foreman to each question 

on the examination form, have the foreman sign the form 

as accurately representing the response, and provide the 

mine foreman a copy promptly upon completion.  

4VAC25-20-400. Results of the on-site examination.  

A. The mine inspector will promptly check the responses 

given by the underground mine foreman for each of the 10 

questions asked. At least eight of the 10 questions must be 

answered correctly to successfully complete the on-site 

examination. The results of the on-site examination will be 

reviewed promptly with the underground mine foreman. A 

copy of the written on-site examination competed by the 

underground mine foreman will be provided to him promptly 

by the mine inspector.  

B. The circumstances related to the on-site examination of 

the underground mine foreman, including pass or fail results, 

will be described in the inspector's report, and will be 

reviewed as part of the closeout of the scheduled inspection 

activity for the mine.  

C. The chief will notify the underground mine foreman and 

mine operator in writing of the petition to the BCME for a 

formal hearing. Should a petition for a hearing be requested, 

the hearing would be conducted in accordance with Part VI 

(4VAC25-20-410 et seq.) of this chapter.  

D. If a an underground mine foreman successfully appeals a 

violation which resulted in an on-site evaluation and further 

establishes to the BCME that he had a thorough knowledge of 

such plans, then the failure of the on-site examination shall 

not be used in any other revocation against the foreman.  

4VAC25-35-110. Mine Mineral mine inspector.  

In addition to the requirements set forth in § 45.1-

161.292:11 of the Code of Virginia, mine inspector applicants 

shall demonstrate knowledge and competence in those areas 

specified in § 45.1-161.292:12 of the Code of Virginia 

through the examination process. A certificate will not be 

issued until an applicant is employed by the department. 

Applicants who already possess a valid coal mine inspector 

certification pursuant to 4VAC25-20-180 or 4VAC25-20-185 

shall be deemed to have met the requirements of this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5018; Filed August 7, 2017, 7:41 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 7. ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

DEPARTMENT OF SMALL BUSINESS AND 
SUPPLIER DIVERSITY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Small Business 

and Supplier Diversity is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with subdivision 8 

of § 2.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts 

regulations implementing certification programs for small, 

women-owned, and minority-owned businesses and 

employment services organizations from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to subdivision B 2 of § 2.2-4002 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 7VAC13-20. Regulations to Govern the 

Certification of Small, Women-Owned, and Minority-

Owned Businesses (amending 7VAC13-20-80, 7VAC13-

20-140, 7VAC13-20-150, 7VAC13-20-160, 7VAC13-20-

200; adding 7VAC13-20-155).  
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Statutory Authority: § 2.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 4, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Reba O'Connor, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Small Business and Supplier Diversity, 101 

North 14th Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 593-2005, or email 

reba.oconnor@sbsd.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments are promulgated as a result of legislation 

enacted at the 2017 Session of the General Assembly. The 

amendments (i) extend the small, women-owned, and 

minority-owned (SWaM) certification period from three 

years to five years (Chapter 836); (ii) provide that any out-

of-state business applying for certification in Virginia as a 

SWaM business must possess the equivalent certification in 

its home state as a prerequisite for approval in Virginia 

and provide that an out-of-state business with a state of 

origin that does not have a SWaM business certification 

program is exempt from the requirements of this provision 

(Chapter 573); and (iii) mandate certification without any 

additional paperwork of any SWaM business that has 

obtained certification under any federal SWaM business 

certification program (Chapter 380). 

7VAC13-20-80. Eligible out-of-state business enterprise. 

The department may certify a non-Virginia-based business 

if: 

1. It meets the applicable eligibility standards for 

certification as a small, women-owned, or minority-owned 

business; and 

2. The state in which the business has its principal place of 

business does not deny a like certification to a Virginia-

based small, women-owned, or minority-owned business 

or provide a preference to small, women-owned, or 

minority-owned firms that is not available to Virginia-

based businesses.  

3. Effective July 1, 2017, any out-of-state business 

applying for certification in Virginia as a small, women-

owned, or minority-owned business must have the 

equivalent certification in the state in which the business 

has its principal place of business. An out-of-state business 

that has its principle place of business in a state that does 

not have a small, women-owned, or minority-owned 

business certification program shall be exempt from the 

requirements of this provision. 

7VAC13-20-140. Procedures for initial certification of 

businesses previously certified by other qualifying local, 

state, or private sector, or federal certification programs. 

A. A business certified by the department under this section 

shall be certified for a period of up to three five years unless:  

1. The certification is revoked by the department or the 

program issuing the original certification;  

2. The business is no longer in business; or  

3. The business is no longer eligible as a small, women-

owned, or minority-owned business. 

B. A business certified under this section is responsible for 

notifying the department of any change in legal structure, 

ownership, control, management, or status of the business or 

its certification within 30 calendar days of such change. 

Failure to do so may be grounds for revocation of 

certification.  

C. It shall be the responsibility of the certified business to 

notify the department of any change of name, address, or 

contact information and to keep the department informed of 

its current address and contact information. Changes of name 

and address must be reported to the department in writing 

within 30 calendar days of such change. Failure to do so may 

be grounds for revocation of certification. The department 

shall not be liable or responsible if a certified business fails to 

receive notices, communications, or correspondence based 

upon the certified business's failure to notify the department 

of any change of address or to provide correct address and 

contact information.  

7VAC13-20-150. Procedures for initial certification. 

A. Any business that meets the criteria for certification may 

file an official application with the department.  

B. The application will be reviewed initially for 

completeness. The department may conduct an onsite visit of 

the business to obtain or clarify any information. The onsite 

visit may be scheduled or unannounced.  

C. The department may request the applicant to provide 

additional information or documentation to provide 

clarification and substantiation of certain criteria or to resolve 

any ambiguities or inconsistencies in an application.  

D. The department may impose a time limit in which the 

applicant must provide the requested information. A 

reasonable extension may be given by the department for 

good cause shown by the applicant. Requests for time 

extensions must be made to the department in writing and 

should specify the length of time for which the extension is 

being requested and the reasons for the request. Failure to 

provide such information or documentation shall render the 

application administratively closed.  

E. After reviewing the application, the department shall 

issue either a notice of certification or a notice of denial of 

certification stating the reasons for denial.  

F. A business certified by the department under this section 

shall be certified for a period of three five years unless (i) the 

certification is revoked before the end of the three-year five-

year period, (ii) the business is no longer in business, or (iii) 

the business is no longer eligible as a small, women-owned, 

or minority-owned business.  

G. The applicant shall be responsible for notifying the 

department immediately of any change in legal structure, 

ownership, control, management, or status of the business 
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within 30 calendar days of such change. Failure to do so may 

be grounds for revocation of certification.  

H. It shall be the responsibility of the applicant, the certified 

business, or both to notify the department of any change of 

name, address, or contact information and to keep the 

department informed of the current address and contact 

information. Changes of name and address must be reported 

to the department in writing within 30 calendar days of such 

change. Failure to do so within 30 calendar days of such 

change may be grounds for revocation of certification. The 

department shall not be liable or responsible if a certified 

business fails to receive notices, communications, or 

correspondence based upon the certified business's failure to 

notify the department of any change of address or to provide 

correct address and contact information.  

7VAC13-20-155. Procedures for initial certification of 

businesses certified under certain federal certification 

programs. 

A. Any business that has obtained certification as a small, 

women-owned, or minority-owned business from an agency 

of the United States government through a formal, regulatory 

certification process, other than a self-certification process, 

may receive the corresponding certification as a small, 

women-owned, or minority-owned business from the 

department by filing an application with the department.  

B. The application will be reviewed initially for 

completeness. The application need not include additional 

paperwork beyond that necessary to (i) accurately identify the 

business name, type, location, and ownership; (ii) provide 

proof of the corresponding federal certification, including the 

duration of such certification; and (iii) provide contact 

information for the designated representative of the business.  

C. After reviewing the application, the department shall 

issue either a notice of certification or a notice of denial of 

certification stating the reasons for denial.  

D. A business certified by the department under this section 

shall be certified for a period of five years unless (i) the 

certification is revoked before the end of the five-year period, 

(ii) the business is no longer in business, or (iii) the 

corresponding federal certification of the business expires or 

is otherwise revoked or terminated.  

E. The applicant shall be responsible for notifying the 

department immediately of any change in status of the 

business or its corresponding federal certification within 30 

calendar days of such change. Failure to do so may be 

grounds for revocation of certification.  

F. It shall be the responsibility of the applicant, the certified 

business, or both to notify the department of any change of 

name, address, or contact information and to keep the 

department informed of the current address and contact 

information. Changes of name and address must be reported 

to the department in writing within 30 calendar days of such 

change. Failure to do so within 30 calendar days of such 

change may be grounds for revocation of certification. The 

department shall not be liable or responsible if a certified 

business fails to receive notices, communications, or 

correspondence based upon the certified business's failure to 

notify the department of any change of address or to provide 

correct address and contact information.  

7VAC13-20-160. Procedures for renewal of certification 

or recertification. 

A. To maintain its certification status, a certified business 

must apply to renew its certification prior to the end of the 

three-year five-year certification period using the forms and 

procedures specified by the department.  

B. The certification of a business that fails to apply for 

renewal or recertification prior to the end of the three-year 

five-year certification period shall terminate automatically on 

the expiration of the certification.  

C. The department may, but in no event shall be required to, 

notify the business of the pending expiration of its 

certification prior to the certification expiration. 

7VAC13-20-200. Criteria for revocation of certification. 

The department may revoke the certification of a business 

that it finds no longer qualifies as a small, women-owned, or 

minority-owned business. Grounds for revocation of 

certification may include the following: 

1. The organization, structure, management, or control of 

the certified women-owned or minority-owned business 

has changed to the extent that it no longer satisfies the 

requirement of ownership, control, and active management 

of the business by women or minority individuals.  

2. The number of employees or revenues exceeds the 

requirements for certification of a small business or the 

small business no longer satisfies the requirements to be 

independently owned and operated. 

3. The business fails to submit the required documentation 

or to comply with a reasonable request from the 

department for records or information within the allotted 

time. 

4. The business knowingly provides false or misleading 

information in support of its initial application or its 

application for recertification or in response to the 

department's request for records or information. 

5. The business is based in a state that denies like 

certifications to Virginia-based small, women-owned, or 

minority-owned businesses or that provides a preference 

for small, women-owned, or minority-owned businesses 

that is not available to Virginia-based businesses. 

6. Effective July 1, 2017, any out-of-state business 

applying for recertification in Virginia as a small, women-

owned, or minority-owned business must have the 

equivalent certification in the state in which the business 

has its principal place of business. An out-of-state business 

which has its principle place of business in a state that does 
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not have a small, women-owned, or minority-owned 

business certification program shall be exempt from the 

requirements of this provision. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5184; Filed August 3, 2017, 2:12 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: A form used in administering the 

following regulation has been filed by the Virginia Waste 

Management Board. The form is not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of the form to access it. 

The form is also available from the agency contact or may be 

viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-90. Solid Waste Management 

Permit Action Fees and Annual Fees. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 698-4238, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC20-90) 

Solid Waste Information and Assessment Program - 

Reporting Table, Form DEQ 50-25 with Statement of 

Economic Benefits Form and Instructions (rev. 11/2014) 

Solid Waste Annual Permit Fee Quarter Payment Form 

PF001 (rev. 8/2016) 

Solid Waste Annual Permit Fee Quarter Payment Form 

PF001 (rev. 7/2017) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5220; Filed August 14, 2017, 10:12 a.m.  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The State Water Control Board will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC25-580. Underground Storage 

Tanks: Technical Standards and Corrective Action 

Requirements (amending 9VAC25-580-10 through 

9VAC25-580-190, 9VAC25-580-210, 9VAC25-580-250, 

9VAC25-580-260, 9VAC25-580-280, 9VAC25-580-310, 

9VAC25-580-320, 9VAC25-580-330, 9VAC25-580-370; 

adding 9VAC25-580-82, 9VAC25-580-85, 9VAC25-580-

380, 9VAC25-580-390; repealing Appendices I and II). 

9VAC25-590. Petroleum Underground Storage Tank 

Financial Responsibility Requirements (amending 

9VAC25-590-10, 9VAC25-590-20, 9VAC25-590-30, 

9VAC25-590-40, 9VAC25-590-60, 9VAC25-590-160, 

9VAC25-590-170, 9VAC25-590-180, 9VAC25-590-190, 

9VAC25-590-240, 9VAC25-590-250, 9VAC25-590-260; 

adding 9VAC25-590-15).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 62-1.44.15 and 62.1-44.34:9 of the 

Code of Virginia; 42 USC § 6901 et seq.; 40 CFR Parts 280 

and 281. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Russell P. Ellison, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4269, FAX (804) 

698-4266, or email russell.ellison@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

On July 15, 2015, the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency (EPA) published a final rule titled "Revising 

Underground Storage Tank Regulations - Revisions to 

Existing Requirements and New Requirements for 

Secondary Containment and Operator Training" in 80 FR 

41566-41683. This federal rule modified regulatory 

requirements concerning underground storage tanks 

(USTs) found in 40 CFR Part 280 and was adopted in 

response to the federal Energy Policy Act (EPAct) of 2005. 

This regulatory action revises Virginia's Underground 

Storage Tanks: Technical Standards and Corrective Action 

Requirements (9VAC25-580) and Virginia's Petroleum 

Underground Storage Tank Financial Responsibility 

Requirements (9VAC25-590) for consistency with the 

modifications and requirements found in 40 CFR Part 280. 

Amendments to Virginia's Underground Storage Tanks: 

Technical Standards and Corrective Action Requirements 

address the following: (i) secondary containment 

requirements for new and replaced tanks and piping; (ii) 

compatibility requirements; (iii) notification changes; (iv) 

periodic operation, inspection, and maintenance 

requirements for UST systems; (v) UST systems deferred in 

the 1988 UST regulation; (vi) inclusion of new release 

prevention and detection technologies; (vii) codes of 

practice updates; and (viii) editorial corrections and 

technical amendments. In addition, the amendments revise 

secondary containment requirements to be consistent with 

EPA's regulatory requirements. Existing operator training 

and delivery prohibition requirements, which were based 

on EPA's previous guidance, are retained with minor 

revisions. 

The July 15, 2015, final rule also revised 40 CFR 280 

Subpart H - Financial Responsibility. Therefore, this 

regulatory action revises the Petroleum Underground 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6cda9004221~2&typ=40&actno=004221&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6cda9004221~2&typ=40&actno=004221&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6cda9004221~2&typ=40&actno=004221&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc417005220~1&typ=40&actno=005220&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc417005220~1&typ=40&actno=005220&mime=application/pdf
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Storage Tank Financial Responsibility Requirements so 

that USTs previously deferred from regulation, airport 

hydrant fuel distribution systems, field constructed tanks, 

and USTs that are temporarily closed are now required to 

comply with financial responsibility requirements. 

Part I  

Definitions, Applicability, and Interim Prohibition 

Installation Requirements for Partially Excluded UST 

Systems  

9VAC25-580-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Aboveground release" means any release to the surface of 

the land or to surface water. This includes, but is not limited 

to, releases from the aboveground portion of a UST system 

and aboveground releases associated with overfills and 

transfer operations as the regulated substance moves to or 

from a UST system. 

"Airport hydrant fuel distribution system" or "airport 

hydrant system" means an UST system that fuels aircraft and 

operates under high pressure with large diameter piping that 

typically terminates into one or more hydrants (fill stands). 

The airport hydrant system begins where fuel enters one or 

more tanks from an external source such as a pipeline, barge, 

rail car, or other motor fuel carrier. 

"Ancillary equipment" means any devices including, but not 

limited to, such devices as piping, fittings, flanges, valves, 

and pumps used to distribute, meter, or control the flow of 

regulated substances to and from an UST. 

"Below ground Belowground release" means any release to 

the subsurface of the land and to ground water groundwater. 

This includes, but is not limited to, releases from the 

belowground portions of an underground storage tank system 

and belowground releases associated with overfills and 

transfer operations as the regulated substance moves to or 

from an underground storage tank. 

"Beneath the surface of the ground" means beneath the 

ground surface or otherwise covered with earthen materials. 

"Board" means the State Water Control Board. 

"Building official" means the executive official of the local 

government building department empowered by § 36-105 of 

the Code of Virginia to enforce and administer the Virginia 

Uniform Statewide Building Code (USBC) (§ 36-97 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia). 

"Cathodic protection" is a technique to prevent corrosion of 

a metal surface by making that surface the cathode of an 

electrochemical cell. For example, a tank system can be 

cathodically protected through the application of either 

galvanic anodes or impressed current.  

"Cathodic protection tester" means a person who can 

demonstrate an understanding of the principles and 

measurements of all common types of cathodic protection 

systems as applied to buried or submerged metal piping and 

tank systems. At a minimum, such persons must have 

education and experience in soil resistivity, stray current, 

structure-to-soil potential, and component electrical isolation 

measurements of buried metal piping and tank systems.  

"CERCLA" means the Comprehensive Environmental 

Response, Compensation, and Liability Act of 1980, as 

amended (42 USC § 9601 et seq.). 

"Compatible" means the ability of two or more substances to 

maintain their respective physical and chemical properties 

upon contact with one another for the design life of the tank 

system under conditions likely to be encountered in the UST. 

"Community water system" means a public water system 

that serves at least 15 service connections used by year-round 

residents or regularly serves at least 25 year-round residents. 

"Connected piping" means all underground piping including 

valves, elbows, joints, flanges, and flexible connectors 

attached to a tank system through which regulated substances 

flow. For the purpose of determining how much piping is 

connected to any individual UST system, the piping that joins 

two UST systems should be allocated equally between them.  

"Containment sump" means a liquid-tight container that 

protects the environment by containing leaks and spills of 

regulated substances from piping, dispensers, pumps, and 

related components in the containment area. Containment 

sumps may be single walled or secondarily contained and 

located at the top of the tank (tank top or submersible turbine 

pump sump), underneath the dispenser (under-dispenser 

containment sump), or at other points in the piping run 

(transition or intermediate sump). 

"Corrosion expert" means a person who, by reason of 

thorough knowledge of the physical sciences and the 

principles of engineering and mathematics acquired by a 

professional education and related practical experience, is 

qualified to engage in the practice of corrosion control on 

buried or submerged metal piping systems and metal tanks. 

Such a person must be accredited or certified as being 

qualified by the National Association of Corrosion Engineers 

or be a registered professional engineer who has certification 

or licensing that includes education and experience in 

corrosion control of buried or submerged metal piping 

systems and metal tanks.  

"De minimis" means trivial and beyond the intent of 

regulation, as that term is used at 53 Fed. Reg. FR 37108-

37109. 

"Delivery prohibition" is prohibiting the delivery, deposit, or 

acceptance of product to an underground storage tank system 

that has been determined to be ineligible by the board for 

such delivery, deposit, or acceptance. 

"Delivery prohibition tag" means a tag, device, or 

mechanism on the tank's fill pipes that clearly identifies an 

underground storage tank system as ineligible for product 
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delivery. The tag or device is easily visible to the product 

deliverer and clearly states and conveys that it is unlawful to 

deliver to, deposit into, or accept product into the ineligible 

underground storage tank system. The tag, device, or 

mechanism is generally tamper resistant. 

"Dielectric material" means a material that does not conduct 

direct electrical current. Dielectric coatings are used to 

electrically isolate UST systems from the surrounding soils. 

Dielectric bushings are used to electrically isolate portions of 

the UST system (e.g., tank from piping).  

"Director" means the director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality.  

"Dispenser" means equipment located aboveground that 

dispenses regulated substances from the UST system.  

"Dispenser system" means the dispenser and the equipment 

necessary to connect the dispenser to the underground storage 

tank system. 

"Electrical equipment" means underground equipment that 

contains dielectric fluid that is necessary for the operation of 

equipment such as transformers and buried electrical cable.  

"Excavation zone" means the volume containing the tank 

system and backfill material bounded by the ground surface, 

walls, and floor of the pit and trenches into which the UST 

system is placed at the time of installation.  

"Existing community water system or existing potable 

drinking water well" means a community water system or 

potable drinking water well is in place when a new 

installation or replacement of an underground tank, piping, or 

motor fuel dispensing system begins. 

"Existing tank system" means a tank system used to contain 

an accumulation of regulated substances or for which 

installation has commenced on or before December 22, 1988. 

Installation is considered to have commenced if:  

1. The owner or operator has obtained all federal, state, and 

local approvals or permits necessary to begin physical 

construction of the site or installation of the tank system; 

and if  

2. a. Either a continuous on-site onsite physical 

construction or installation program has begun; or  

b. The owner or operator has entered into contractual 

obligations, which cannot be cancelled canceled or 

modified without substantial loss, for physical 

construction at the site or installation of the tank system 

to be completed within a reasonable time.  

"Farm tank" is a tank located on a tract of land devoted to 

the production of crops or raising animals, including fish, and 

associated residences and improvements. A farm tank must be 

located on the farm property. "Farm" includes fish hatcheries, 

rangeland and nurseries with growing operations.  

"Field-constructed tank" means a tank constructed in the 

field. For example, a tank constructed of concrete that is 

poured in the field, or a steel or fiberglass tank primarily 

fabricated in the field is considered field constructed. 

"Flow-through process tank" is a tank that forms an integral 

part of a production process through which there is a steady, 

variable, recurring, or intermittent flow of materials during 

the operation of the process. Flow-through process tanks do 

not include tanks used for the storage of materials prior to 

their introduction into the production process or for the 

storage of finished products or by-products from the 

production process.  

"Free product" refers to a regulated substance that is present 

as a nonaqueous phase liquid (e.g., liquid not dissolved in 

water).  

"Gathering lines" means any pipeline, equipment, facility, or 

building used in the transportation of oil or gas during oil or 

gas production or gathering operations.  

"Hazardous substance UST system" means an underground 

storage tank system that contains a hazardous substance 

defined in § 101(14) of the Comprehensive Environmental 

Response, Compensation and Liability Act (CERCLA) of 

1980 (42 USC § 9601 et seq.) (but not including any 

substance regulated as a hazardous waste under subtitle C of 

RCRA) or any mixture of such substances and petroleum, and 

which is not a petroleum UST system.  

"Heating oil" means petroleum that is No. 1, No. 2, No. 4-

light, No. 4-heavy, No. 5-light, No. 5-heavy, and No. 6 

technical grades of fuel oil; other residual fuel oils (including 

Navy Special Fuel Oil and Bunker C); and other fuels when 

used as substitutes for one of these fuel oils. Heating oil is 

typically used in the operation of heating equipment, boilers, 

or furnaces.  

"Hydraulic lift tank" means a tank holding hydraulic fluid 

for a closed-loop mechanical system that uses compressed air 

or hydraulic fluid to operate lifts, elevators, and other similar 

devices.  

"Liquid trap" means sumps, well cellars, and other traps 

used in association with oil and gas production, gathering, 

and extraction operations (including gas production plants), 

for the purpose of collecting oil, water, and other liquids. 

These liquid traps may temporarily collect liquids for 

subsequent disposition or reinjection into a production or 

pipeline stream, or may collect and separate liquids from a 

gas stream.  

"Maintenance" means the normal operational upkeep to 

prevent an underground storage tank system from releasing 

product.  

"Motor fuel" means petroleum or a petroleum-based 

substance that is motor gasoline, aviation gasoline, No. 1 or 

No. 2 diesel fuel, or any grade of gasohol, and is a complex 

blend of hydrocarbons typically used in the operation of a 

motor engine. This definition applies to blended petroleum 

motor fuels such as biodiesel and ethanol blends that contain 

more than a de minimis amount of petroleum or petroleum-
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based substance, such as motor gasoline, aviation gasoline, 

No. 1 or No. 2 diesel fuel, or any blend containing one or 

more of these substances (for example, motor gasoline 

blended with alcohol).  

"Motor fuel dispenser system" means the motor fuel 

dispenser and the equipment necessary to connect the 

dispenser to the underground storage tank system. The 

equipment necessary to connect the motor fuel dispenser to 

the underground storage tank system may include check 

valves, shear valves, unburied risers or flexible connectors, or 

other transitional components that are beneath the dispenser 

and connect the dispenser to the underground piping. 

"New tank system" means a tank system that will be used to 

contain an accumulation of regulated substances and for 

which installation has commenced after December 22, 1988 

(See also "existing tank system").  

"Noncommercial purposes" with respect to motor fuel 

means not for resale.  

"On the premises where stored" with respect to heating oil 

means UST systems located on the same property where the 

stored heating oil is used.  

"Operational life" refers to the period beginning when 

installation of the tank system has commenced until the time 

the tank system is properly closed under Part VII (9VAC25-

580-310 et seq.) of this chapter. 

"Operator" means any person in control of, or having 

responsibility for, the daily operation of the UST system.  

"Overfill release" is a release that occurs when a tank is 

filled beyond its capacity, resulting in a discharge of the 

regulated substance to the environment.  

"Owner" means:  

1. In the case of a UST system in use on November 8, 

1984, or brought into use after that date, any person who 

owns an UST system used for storage, use, or dispensing 

of regulated substances; and  

2. In the case of any UST system in use before November 

8, 1984, but no longer in use on that date, any person who 

owned such UST immediately before the discontinuation 

of its use.  

The term "owner" shall not include any person who, without 

participating in the management of an underground storage 

tank or being otherwise engaged in petroleum production, 

refining, and marketing, holds indicia of ownership primarily 

to protect the holder's security interest in the tank.  

"Person" means an individual, trust, firm, joint stock 

company, corporation, including a government corporation, 

partnership, association, any state or agency thereof, 

municipality, county, town, commission, political subdivision 

of a state, any interstate body, consortium, joint venture, 

commercial entity, the government of the United States or 

any unit or agency thereof.  

"Petroleum UST system" means an underground storage 

tank system that contains petroleum or a mixture of 

petroleum with de minimis quantities of other regulated 

substances. Such systems include those containing motor 

fuels, jet fuels, distillate fuel oils, residual fuel oils, 

lubricants, petroleum solvents, and used oils.  

"Pipe" or "piping" means a hollow cylinder or the tubular 

conduit that is constructed of nonearthen materials that 

routinely contains and conveys regulated substances from the 

underground tank(s) to the dispenser(s) or other end-use 

equipment. Such piping includes any elbows, couplings, 

unions, valves, or other in-line fixtures that contain and 

convey regulated substances from the underground tank(s) to 

the dispenser(s). Pipe or piping does not include vent, vapor 

recovery, or fill lines. 

"Pipeline facilities (including gathering lines)" are new and 

existing pipe rights-of-way and any associated equipment, 

facilities, or buildings. 

"Potable drinking water well" means any hole (dug, driven, 

drilled, or bored) that extends into the earth until it meets 

groundwater that supplies water for a noncommunity public 

water system, or otherwise supplies water for household use 

(consisting of drinking, bathing, cooking, or other similar 

uses). Such wells may provide water to entities such as a 

single-family residence, group of residences, businesses, 

schools, parks, campgrounds, and other permanent or 

seasonal communities.  

"Product deliverer" is any person who delivers or deposits 

product into an underground storage tank. 

"Public water system" means a system for the provision to 

the public of water for human consumption through pipes or, 

after August 5, 1998, other constructed conveyances, if such 

system has at least 15 service connections or regularly serves 

an average of at least 25 individuals daily at least 60 days out 

of the year. Such term includes (i) any collection, treatment, 

storage, and distribution facilities under control of the 

operator of such system and used primarily in connection 

with such system and (ii) any collection or pretreatment 

storage facilities not under such control that are used 

primarily in connection with such system. Such term does not 

include any "special irrigation district." A public water 

system is either a "community water system" or a 

"noncommunity water system." 

"RCRA" means the federal Resource Conservation and 

Recovery Act of 1976 as amended (42 USC § 6901 et seq.).  

"Regulated substance" means an element, compound, 

mixture, solution, or substance that, when released into the 

environment, may present substantial danger to the public 

health or welfare, or the environment. The term "regulated 

substance" includes:  

1. Any substance defined in § 101(14) of the 

Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, 

and Liability Act (CERCLA) of 1980 (42 USC § 9601 et 
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seq.), but not any substance regulated as a hazardous waste 

under subtitle C of the Resource Conservation and 

Recovery Act (RCRA) of 1976 (42 USC § 6901 et seq.); 

and  

2. Petroleum, including crude oil or any fraction thereof, 

that is liquid at standard conditions of temperature and 

pressure (60°F and 14.7 pounds per square inch absolute). 

The term "regulated substance" includes but is not limited 

to petroleum and petroleum-based substances comprised of 

a complex blend of hydrocarbons derived from crude oil 

through processes of separation, conversion, upgrading, 

and finishing, such as motor fuels, jet fuels, distillate fuel 

oils, residual fuel oils, lubricants, petroleum solvents, and 

used oils.  

"Release" means any spilling, leaking, emitting, discharging, 

escaping, leaching or disposing from an UST into ground 

water groundwater, surface water or subsurface soils.  

"Release detection" means determining whether a release of 

a regulated substance has occurred from the UST system into 

the environment or a leak has occurred into the interstitial 

space between the UST system and its secondary barrier or 

secondary containment around it.  

"Repair" means to restore to proper operating condition a 

tank, a pipe, spill prevention equipment, overfill prevention 

equipment, corrosion protection equipment, release detection 

equipment, or other UST system component that has caused a 

release of product from the UST system or has failed to 

function properly. 

"Replace" means, when applied to underground storage 

tanks and piping, to remove an underground storage tank and 

install a new underground storage tank or to remove and put 

back greater than 50% of the length of a piping run excluding 

connectors (such as flexible connectors) connected to an 

underground storage tank. 

"Replaced" means:  

1. For a tank - to remove a tank and install another tank.  

2. For piping - to remove 50% or more of piping and install 

other piping, excluding connectors, connected to a single 

tank. For tanks with multiple piping runs, this definition 

applies independently to each piping run. 

"Residential tank" is a tank located on property used 

primarily for dwelling purposes. 

"SARA" means the Superfund Amendments and 

Reauthorization Act of 1986. 

"Secondary containment" or "secondarily contained" means 

a release prevention and release detection system for an 

underground a tank and/or or piping. For purposes of this 

definition, release prevention means an underground tank 

and/or piping having an inner and outer barrier and release 

detection means a method of monitoring the space between 

the inner and outer barriers for a leak or release of regulated 

substances from the underground tank and/or piping. This 

system has an inner and outer barrier with an interstitial space 

that is monitored for leaks. This term includes containment 

sumps when used for interstitial monitoring of piping.  

"Septic tank" is a water-tight covered receptacle designed to 

receive or process, through liquid separation or biological 

digestion, the sewage discharged from a building sewer. The 

effluent from such receptacle is distributed for disposal 

through the soil, and settled solids and scum from the tank are 

pumped out periodically and hauled to a treatment facility.  

"Storm water or waste water wastewater collection system" 

means piping, pumps, conduits, and any other equipment 

necessary to collect and transport the flow of surface water 

run-off resulting from precipitation, or domestic, commercial, 

or industrial wastewater to and from retention areas or any 

areas where treatment is designated to occur. The collection 

of storm water and wastewater does not include treatment 

except where incidental to conveyance.  

"Surface impoundment" is a natural topographic depression, 

man-made excavation, or diked area formed primarily of 

earthen materials (although it may be lined with man-made 

materials) that is not an injection well.  

"Tank" is a stationary device designed to contain an 

accumulation of regulated substances and constructed of 

nonearthen materials (e.g., concrete, steel, plastic) that 

provide structural support. 

"Underdispenser Under-dispenser containment" or "UDC" 

means containment underneath a dispenser that will 

system designed to prevent leaks from the dispenser and 

piping within or above the UDC from reaching soil or 

groundwater.  

"Underground area" means an underground room, such as a 

basement, cellar, shaft or vault, providing enough space for 

physical inspection of the exterior of the tank situated on or 

above the surface of the floor.  

"Underground release" means any belowground release.  

"Underground storage tank" or "UST" means any one or 

combination of tanks (including underground pipes connected 

thereto) that is used to contain an accumulation of regulated 

substances, and the volume of which (including the volume of 

underground pipes connected thereto) is 10% or more beneath 

the surface of the ground. This term does not include any:  

1. Farm or residential tank of 1,100 gallons or less capacity 

used for storing motor fuel for noncommercial purposes;  

2. Tank used for storing heating oil for consumption on the 

premises where stored;  

3. Septic tank;  

4. Pipeline facility (including gathering lines):  

a. Regulated under the Natural Gas Pipeline Safety Act 

of 1968 (49 USC § 1671 et seq.);   

b. Regulated under the Hazardous Liquid Pipeline Safety 

Act of 1979 (49 USC § 2001 et seq.); or  

c. Which is an intrastate pipeline facility regulated under 

state laws comparable to the provisions of the law 
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referred to in subdivisions subdivision 4 a or 4 b of this 

definition;  

5. Surface impoundment, pit, pond, or lagoon;  

6. Storm water or wastewater collection system;  

7. Flow-through process tank;  

8. Liquid trap or associated gathering lines directly related 

to oil or gas production and gathering operations; or  

9. Storage tank situated in an underground area (such as a 

basement, cellar, mineworking, drift, shaft, or tunnel) if the 

storage tank is situated upon or above the surface of the 

floor.  

The term "underground storage tank" or "UST" does not 

include any pipes connected to any tank which that is 

described in subdivisions 1 through 9 of this definition.  

"Upgrade" means the addition or retrofit of some systems 

such as cathodic protection, lining, or spill and overfill 

controls to improve the ability of an underground storage tank 

system to prevent the release of product.  

"UST system" or "tank system" means an underground 

storage tank, connected underground piping, underground 

ancillary equipment, and containment system, if any.  

"Wastewater treatment tank" means a tank that is designed 

to receive and treat an influent wastewater through physical, 

chemical, or biological methods.  

9VAC25-580-20. Applicability. 

A. The requirements of this chapter apply to all owners and 

operators of an UST system as defined in 9VAC25-580-10 

except as otherwise provided in subsections B, and C, and D 

of this section. Any UST system listed in subsection C of this 

section must meet the requirements of 9VAC25-580-30.  

1. Previously deferred UST systems. Airport hydrant fuel 

distribution systems, UST systems with field-constructed 

tanks, and UST systems that store fuel solely for use by 

emergency power generators must meet the requirements 

of this chapter as follows: 

a. Airport hydrant fuel distribution systems and UST 

systems with field-constructed tanks must meet the 

requirements in Part X (9VAC25-580-380 et seq.) of this 

chapter. 

b. UST systems that store fuel solely for use by 

emergency power generators installed before September 

15, 2010, must have met all applicable requirements of 

this chapter before September 15, 2010, except that the 

requirements of Part IV (9VAC25-580-130 et seq.) of 

this chapter must be met before (insert date three years 

after effective date of rule). 

c. UST systems that store fuel solely for use by 

emergency power generators installed on or after 

September 15, 2010, must meet all applicable 

requirements of this chapter at installation. 

2. Any UST system listed in subsection C of this section 

must meet the requirements of 9VAC25-580-30.  

B. Exclusions. The following UST systems are excluded 

from the requirements of this chapter:  

1. Any UST system holding hazardous wastes listed or 

identified under Subtitle C of the Solid Waste Disposal Act 

(33 USC § 1251 et seq.), (42 USC § 6901) or a mixture of 

such hazardous waste and other regulated substances.  

2. Any wastewater treatment tank system that is part of a 

wastewater treatment facility regulated under § 402 or 

§ 307(b) of the Clean Water Act.  

3. Equipment or machinery that contains regulated 

substances for operational purposes such as hydraulic lift 

tanks and electrical equipment tanks.  

4. Any UST system whose capacity is 110 gallons or less.  

5. Any UST system that contains a de minimis 

concentration of regulated substances.  

6. Any emergency spill or overflow containment UST 

system that is expeditiously emptied after use.  

C. Deferrals. Partial Exclusions. Parts II (9VAC25-580-50 et 

seq.), III (9VAC25-580-80 et seq.), IV, V (9VAC25-580-190 

et seq.), VII (9VAC25-580-310 et seq.), and IX (9VAC25-

580-370 et seq.), and X of this chapter do not apply to any of 

the following types of UST systems:  

1. Wastewater treatment tank systems not covered under 

9VAC25-580-20 B 2 of this section;  

2. Aboveground storage tanks associated with: 

a. Airport hydrant fuel distribution systems regulated 

under Part X of this chapter; and 

b. UST systems with field-constructed tanks regulated 

under Part X of this chapter. 

3. Any UST systems containing radioactive material that 

are regulated under the Atomic Energy Act of 1954 (42 

USC § 2011 et seq.); and  

3. 4. Any UST system that is part of an emergency 

generator system at nuclear power generation facilities 

regulated licensed by the Nuclear Regulatory Commission 

under and subject to Nuclear Regulatory Commission 

requirements regarding design and quality criteria, 

including 10 CFR Part 50, Appendix A;.  

4. Airport hydrant fuel distribution systems; and  

5. UST systems with field-constructed tanks.  

D. Deferrals. Part IV does not apply to any UST system that 

was installed before September 15, 2010 (i.e., the effective 

date of the secondary containment requirements in 

subdivision 7 of 9VAC25-580-50) and stores fuel solely for 

use by emergency power generators.  
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9VAC25-580-30. Interim prohibition for deferred 

Installation requirements for partially excluded UST 

systems.  

No person may Owners and operators must install an UST 

system listed in subsection C of 9VAC25-580-20 for the 

purpose of storing regulated substances unless the UST 

system (whether of single-wall or double-wall construction) 

that meets the following requirements:  

1. Will prevent releases due to corrosion or structural 

failure for the operational life of the UST system;  

2. Is cathodically protected against corrosion, constructed 

of noncorrodible material, steel clad with a noncorrodible 

material, or designed in a manner to prevent the release or 

threatened release of any stored substance; and  

3. Is constructed or lined with material that is compatible 

with the stored substance.  

Note: The following codes of practice may be used as 

guidance for complying with this section: 

(a) NACE International Standard Practice SP0285, 

External Corrosion Control of Underground Storage 

Tank Systems by Cathodic Protection; 

(b) NACE International Standard Practice SP0169, 

Control of External Corrosion on Underground or 

Submerged Metallic Piping Systems; 

(c) American Petroleum Institute Recommended Practice 

1632, Cathodic Protection of Underground Petroleum 

Storage Tanks and Piping Systems; or 

(d) Steel Tank Institute Recommended Practice R892, 

Recommended Practice for Corrosion Protection of 

Underground Piping Networks Associated with Liquid 

Storage and Dispensing Systems. 

9VAC25-580-40. Permitting and inspection requirements 

for all UST systems.  

In all instances of installation, upgrade, repair and closure 

where a UST system is constructed, enlarged, altered, 

repaired or closed all UST systems must be permitted and 

inspected in accordance with 9VAC25-580-50, 9VAC25-580-

60, 9VAC25-580-110, 9VAC25-580-160, 9VAC25-580-170, 

9VAC25-580-310 and, 9VAC25-580-320, 9VAC25-580-380, 

and 9VAC25-580-390.  

Part II  

UST Systems: Design, Construction, Installation, and 

Notification  

9VAC25-580-50. Performance standards for new UST 

systems. 

Owners and operators must obtain a permit, the required 

inspections and a Certificate of Use issued in accordance with 

the provisions of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 

Code. No UST system shall be installed or placed into use 

without the owner and operator having obtained the required 

permit, inspections and Certificate of Use from the building 

official under the provisions of the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code ( § 36-97 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia).  

In the case of state-owned facilities the Department of 

General Services shall function as the building official in 

accordance with § 36-98.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

In the case of federal facilities the building official must be 

contacted. Owners and operators must obtain a permit, the 

required inspections and a Certificate of Use must be issued 

in accordance with the provisions of the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code.  

In order to prevent releases due to structural failure, 

corrosion, or spills and overfills for as long as the UST 

system is used to store regulated substances, all owners and 

operators of new UST systems must meet the following 

requirements in this section.  

Tanks and piping installed or replaced on or after September 

15, 2010, must be secondarily contained and use interstitial 

monitoring in accordance with subdivision 7 of 9VAC25-

580-160, except for suction piping that meets the 

requirements of subdivisions 2 a (2) (a) through (e) of 

9VAC25-580-140. Secondary containment must be able to 

contain regulated substances leaked from the primary 

containment until they are detected and removed and prevent 

the release of regulated substances to the environment at any 

time during the operational life of the UST system. For cases 

where the piping is considered to be replaced, the entire 

piping run must be secondarily contained.  

1. Tanks.  

Each tank must be properly designed and constructed, and 

any portion underground that routinely contains product 

must be protected from corrosion, in accordance with a 

code of practice developed by a nationally recognized 

association or independent testing laboratory as specified 

below:  

a. The tank is constructed of fiberglass-reinforced plastic; 

NOTE: The following industry codes of practice may be 

used to comply with subdivision 1 a of this section:  

(1) Underwriters Laboratories Standard 1316, "Standard 

for Glass-Fiber-Reinforced Plastic Underground Storage 

Tanks for Petroleum Products", Alcohols, and Alcohol-

Gasoline Mixtures; Underwriters or  

(2) Underwriter's Laboratories of Canada CAN4-S615-

M83, "S615 Standard for Reinforced Plastic 

Underground Tanks for Petroleum Products"; or 

American Society of Testing and Materials Standard 

D4021-86, "Standard Specification for Glass-Fiber-

Reinforced Polyester Underground Petroleum Storage 

Tanks." Flammable and Combustible Liquids. 

b. The tank is constructed of steel and cathodically 

protected in the following manner:  

(1) The tank is coated with a suitable dielectric material;  
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(2) Field-installed cathodic protection systems are 

designed by a corrosion expert;  

(3) Impressed current systems are designed to allow 

determination of current operating status as required in 

subdivision 3 of 9VAC25-580-90; and  

(4) Cathodic protection systems are operated and 

maintained in accordance with 9VAC25-580-90; or  

NOTE: The following codes and standards of practice 

may be used to comply with subdivision 1 b of this 

section:  

(a) Steel Tank Institute "Specification for STI-P3 System 

of STI-P3
®
 Specification and Manual for External 

Corrosion Protection of Underground Steel Storage 

Tanks";  

(b) Underwriters Laboratories Standard 1746, "External 

Corrosion Protection Systems for Steel Underground 

Storage Tanks";  

(c) Underwriters Laboratories of Canada CAN4-S603-

M85, "S603, Standard for Steel Underground Tanks for 

Flammable and Combustible Liquids," and CAN4-

G03.1-M85, S603.1, "Standard for Galvanic External 

Corrosion Protection Systems for Steel Underground 

Tanks for Flammable and Combustible Liquids," and 

CAN4-S631-M84, and S631, Standard for Isolating 

Bushings for Steel Underground Tanks Protected with 

Coatings and Galvanic Systems External Corrosion 

Protection Systems"; or  

(d) National Association of Corrosion Engineers 

Standard RP-02-85, "Control of External Corrosion on 

Metallic Buried, Partially Buried, or Submerged Liquid 

Storage Systems," and Underwriters Laboratories 

Standard 58 "Standard for Steel Underground Tanks for 

Flammable and Combustible Liquids."  

(d) Steel Tank Institute Standard F841, Standard for Dual 

Wall Underground Steel Storage Tanks; or  

(e) NACE International Standard Practice SP0285, 

External Corrosion Control of Underground Storage 

Tank Systems by Cathodic Protection, and Underwriters 

Laboratories Standard 58, Standard for Steel 

Underground Tanks for Flammable and Combustible 

Liquids. 

c. The tank is constructed of a steel-fiberglass-reinforced-

plastic composite steel and clad or jacketed with a 

noncorrodible material; or  

NOTE: The following industry codes of practice may be 

used to comply with subdivision 1 c of this section:  

(1) Underwriters Laboratories Standard 1746, "External 

Corrosion Protection Systems for Steel Underground 

Storage Tanks," or the Association for Composite Tanks 

ACT-100, "Specification for the Fabrication of FRP Clad 

Underground Storage Tanks."; 

(2) Steel Tank Institute ACT-100
®
 Specification F894, 

Specification for External Corrosion Protection of FRP 

Composite Steel Underground Storage Tanks; 

(3) Steel Tank Institute ACT-100-U
®
 Specification F961, 

Specification for External Corrosion Protection of 

Composite Steel Underground Storage Tanks; or  

(4) Steel Tank Institute Specification F922, Steel Tank 

Institute Specification for Permatank
®
. 

d. The tank construction and corrosion protection are 

determined by the board to be designed to prevent the 

release or threatened release of any stored regulated 

substance in a manner that is no less protective of human 

health and the environment than subdivisions 1 a 

through, 1 b, and 1 c of this section.  

2. Piping. The piping that routinely contains regulated 

substances and is in contact with the ground must be 

properly designed, constructed, and protected from 

corrosion in accordance with a code of practice developed 

by a nationally recognized association or independent 

testing laboratory as specified below:  

a. The piping is constructed of fiberglass-reinforced 

plastic. a noncorrodible material.  

NOTE: The following codes and standards of practice 

may be used to comply with subdivision 2 a of this 

section:  

(1) Underwriters Laboratories Subject Standard 971, 

"Nonmetallic Underground Piping for Flammable 

Liquids"; or  

(2) Underwriters Laboratories Standard 567, "Pipe 

Connectors for Flammable and Combustible and LP 

Gas"; of Canada Standard S660, Standard for 

Nonmetallic Underground Piping for Flammable and 

Combustible Liquids. 

(3) Underwriters Laboratories of Canada Guide ULC-

107, "Glass Fiber Reinforced Plastic Pipe and Fittings for 

Flammable Liquids"; and  

(4) Underwriters Laboratories of Canada Standard CAN 

4-S633-M81, "Flexible Underground Hose Connectors."  

b. The piping is constructed of steel and cathodically 

protected in the following manner:  

(1) The piping is coated with a suitable dielectric 

material;  

(2) Field-installed cathodic protection systems are 

designed by a corrosion expert;  

(3) Impressed current systems are designed to allow 

determination of current operating status as required in 

subdivision 3 of 9VAC25-580-90; and  

(4) Cathodic protection systems are operated and 

maintained in accordance with 9VAC25-580-90; or  
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NOTE: The following codes and standards of practice 

may be used to comply with subdivision 2 b of this 

section:  

(a) National Fire Protection Association Standard 30, 

"Flammable and Combustible Liquids Code";  

(b) American Petroleum Institute Publication 1615, 

"Installation of Underground Petroleum Storage 

Systems";  

(c) (a) American Petroleum Institute Publication 

Recommended Practice 1632, "Cathodic Protection of 

Underground Petroleum Storage Tanks and Piping 

Systems"; and  

(d) National Association of Corrosion Engineers 

Standard RP-01-69, "Control of External Corrosion on 

Submerged Metallic Piping Systems."  

(b) Underwriters Laboratories Subject 971A, Outline of 

Investigation for Metallic Underground Fuel Pipe; 

(c) Steel Tank Institute Recommended Practice R892, 

Recommended Practice for Corrosion Protection of 

Underground Piping Networks Associated with Liquid 

Storage and Dispensing Systems; 

(d) NACE International Standard Practice SP0169, 

Control of External Corrosion on Underground or 

Submerged Metallic Piping Systems; or  

(e) NACE International Standard Practice SP0285, 

External Corrosion Control of Underground Storage 

Tank Systems by Cathodic Protection. 

c. The piping construction and corrosion protection are 

determined by the board to be designed to prevent the 

release or threatened release of any stored regulated 

substance in a manner that is no less protective of human 

health and the environment than the requirements in 

subdivisions 2 a through and 2 b of this section.  

3. Spill and overfill prevention equipment.  

a. Except as provided in subdivision subdivisions 3 b and 

3 c of this section, to prevent spilling and overfilling 

associated with product transfer to the UST system, 

owners and operators must use the following spill and 

overfill prevention equipment:  

(1) Spill prevention equipment that will prevent release 

of product to the environment when the transfer hose is 

detached from the fill pipe (for example, a spill 

catchment basin); and  

(2) Overfill prevention equipment that will:  

(a) Automatically shut off flow into the tank when the 

tank is no more than 95% full;  

(b) Alert the transfer operator when the tank is no more 

than 90% full by restricting the flow into the tank or 

triggering a high-level alarm; or  

(c) Restrict the flow 30 minutes prior to overfilling, alert 

the transfer operator with a high level alarm one minute 

before overfilling, or automatically shut off flow into the 

tank so that none of the fittings located on top of the tank 

are exposed to product due to overfilling.  

b. Owners and operators are not required to use the spill 

and overfill prevention equipment specified in 

subdivision 3 a of this section if:  

(1) Alternative equipment is used that is determined by 

the board to be no less protective of human health and 

the environment than the equipment specified in 

subdivision 3 a (1) or 3 a (2) of this section; or  

(2) The UST system is filled by transfers of no more than 

25 gallons at one time.  

c. Flow restrictors used in vent lines may not be used to 

comply with subdivision 3 a (2) of this section when 

overfill protection is installed or replaced on or after 

(insert effective date of the amendment). 

d. Spill and overfill protection equipment must be 

periodically tested or inspected in accordance with 

9VAC25-580-82. 

4. Installation. All tanks and piping  

a. The UST system must be properly installed in 

accordance with a code of practice developed by a 

nationally recognized association or independent testing 

laboratory and in accordance with the manufacturer's 

instructions.  

b. Owners and operators must obtain a permit and the 

required inspections in accordance with the provisions of 

the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (§ 36-97 

et seq. of the Code of Virginia). No UST system shall be 

installed or placed into use without the owner and 

operator having obtained the required permit and 

inspections from the building official under the 

provisions of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 

Code.  

In the case of state-owned facilities, the Department of 

General Services shall function as the building official in 

accordance with § 36-98.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

In the case of federal facilities, the building official must 

be contacted. Owners and operators must obtain a permit 

and the required inspections must be issued in 

accordance with the provisions of the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code. 

NOTE: Tank and piping system installation practices and 

procedures described in the following codes of practice 

may be used to comply with the requirements of 

subdivision 4 of this section:  

a. (1) American Petroleum Institute Publication 1615, 

"Installation of Underground Petroleum Storage 

System";  

b. (2) Petroleum Equipment Institute Publication RP100, 

"Recommended Practices for Installation of Underground 

Liquid Storage Systems"; or  
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c. American National Standards Institute Standard B31.3, 

"Petroleum Refinery Piping," and American National 

Standards Institute Standard B31.4 "Liquid Petroleum 

Transportation Piping System." (3) National Fire 

Protection Association Standard 30, Flammable and 

Combustible Liquids Code and Standard 30A, Code for 

Motor Fuel Dispensing Facilities and Repair Garages. 

NOTE: These industry codes require that prior to bringing 

the system into use the following tests be performed: (i) 

tank tightness test (air); (ii) pipe tightness test (air or 

hydrostatic); and (iii) precision system test in accordance 

with NFPA 329 (detection of.05 gal/hr leak rate).  

5. Certification of installation. All owners and operators 

must ensure that one or more of options a through d of the 

following methods of certification, testing, or inspection in 

subdivisions 5 a through 5 d of this section is performed, 

and a Certificate of Use permit has been issued in 

accordance with the provisions of the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code to demonstrate compliance with 

subdivision 4 of this section. A certification of compliance 

on the UST Notification form must be submitted to the 

board in accordance with 9VAC25-580-70.  

a. The installer has been certified by the tank and piping 

manufacturers;  

b. The installation has been inspected and certified by a 

registered professional engineer with education and 

experience in UST system installation;  

c. All work listed in the manufacturer's installation 

checklists has been completed; or  

d. The owner and operator have complied with another 

method for ensuring compliance with subdivision 4 of 

this section that is determined by the board to be no less 

protective of human health and the environment.  

6. Release detection. Release detection shall be provided in 

accordance with Part IV (9VAC25-580-130 et seq.) of this 

chapter. 

7. Secondary containment. 

a. Each new or replaced petroleum underground storage 

tank, or piping connected to any petroleum underground 

storage tank, installed within 1,000 feet of any existing 

community water system or existing potable drinking 

water well must be secondarily contained in accordance 

with 9VAC25-580-140 A. In the case of a replacement of 

a petroleum underground storage tank or the piping 

connected to the petroleum underground storage tank, the 

secondary containment requirements shall apply only to 

the specific petroleum underground storage tank or 

piping run being replaced, not to other petroleum 

underground storage tanks and connected pipes 

comprising such system. The entire piping run must be 

secondarily contained if more than 50% of the length of a 

piping run connected to a petroleum underground storage 

tank is to be replaced. 

b. Motor fuel dispenser systems. Each new motor fuel 

dispenser system installed within 1,000 feet of any 

existing community water system or existing potable 

drinking water well shall have underdispenser 

containment in accordance with 9VAC25-580-140 B. A 

motor fuel dispenser system is considered new when: 

(1) A dispenser is installed at a location where there 

previously was no dispenser (new UST system or new 

dispenser location at an existing UST system), or 

(2) An existing dispenser is removed and replaced with 

another dispenser and the equipment used to connect the 

dispenser to the UST system is replaced. This equipment 

may include unburied flexible connectors or risers or 

other transitional components that are beneath the 

dispenser and connect the dispenser to the piping. 

c. If an owner or operator intends to install a new 

petroleum UST system that is located greater than 1,000 

feet from any existing community water system or 

existing potable drinking water well and the owner or 

operator will install a potable drinking water well at the 

new facility that is within 1,000 feet of the petroleum 

underground storage tanks, piping, or motor fuel 

dispenser systems as part of the new UST installation, 

then secondary containment and underdispenser 

containment are required, regardless of whether the well 

is installed before or after the petroleum underground 

storage tanks, piping, and motor fuel dispenser systems 

are installed.  

d. A tank owner or operator who intends to install an 

UST system or motor fuel dispenser system that will not 

meet the requirements in subdivision 7 a or c of this 

subsection must demonstrate to the board that the 

distance from the proposed new or replacement 

petroleum underground storage tank or piping or motor 

fuel dispenser system to the existing community water 

system or existing potable drinking water well is greater 

than 1,000 feet. 

(1) The tank owner or operator shall make such a 

demonstration by submitting to the board a map showing 

the distance from the proposed new or replacement 

petroleum underground storage tank or piping or motor 

fuel dispenser system to the existing community water 

system or existing potable drinking water well. If the 

distance is greater than 1,000 feet but less than 2,000 

feet, the map must be prepared by a licensed professional 

surveyor. If the distance is greater than 2,000 feet, the 

map is not required to be prepared by a licensed 

professional surveyor. The tank owner or operator must 

submit the map to the board at least 30 days prior to the 

installation. 

(2) The map must delineate the distance from the 

proposed new or replacement petroleum underground 

storage tank or piping or motor fuel dispenser system to 

the closest existing community water system or existing 
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potable drinking water well. The distance must be 

measured from the closest part of the proposed new or 

replacement petroleum underground storage tank or 

piping or motor fuel dispenser system to: 

(a) The closest part of the nearest existing community 

water system including such components as the location 

of the wellhead(s) for ground water or location of the 

intake point(s) for surface water, water lines, processing 

tanks, and water storage tanks; and water distribution or 

service lines under the control of the community water 

system operator; and 

(b) The wellhead of the nearest existing potable drinking 

water well. 

e. The requirement for secondary containment does not 

apply to: 

(1) Petroleum underground storage tanks that are not new 

or not replaced in a manifolded UST system;  

(2) Piping runs that are not new or not replaced on 

petroleum underground storage tanks with multiple 

piping runs;  

(3) Suction piping that meets the requirements at 9VAC 

25-580-140 C 2 b  (1) through (5) or piping that 

manifolds two or more petroleum USTs together;  

(4) Repairs meant to restore a petroleum underground 

storage tank, pipe, or dispenser to operating condition. 

For purposes of this subsection, a repair is any activity 

that does not meet the definition of "replace"; and 

(5) Other instances approved by the board where 

equivalent protection is provided.  

7. Dispenser systems. Each UST system must be equipped 

with under-dispenser containment for any new dispenser 

system installed on or after September 15, 2010.  

a. A dispenser system is considered new when both the 

dispenser and the equipment needed to connect the 

dispenser to the underground storage tank system are 

installed at an UST facility. The equipment necessary to 

connect the dispenser to the underground storage tank 

system includes check valves, shear valves, unburied 

risers or flexible connectors, or other transitional 

components that are underneath the dispenser and 

connect the dispenser to the underground piping.  

b. Under-dispenser containment must be liquid-tight on 

its sides, bottom, and at any penetrations. Under-

dispenser containment must allow for visual inspection 

and access to the components in the containment system 

or be periodically monitored for leaks from the dispenser 

system.  

9VAC25-580-60. Upgrading of existing UST systems.  

Owners and operators must permanently close in accordance 

with Part VII (9VAC25-580-310 et seq.) of this chapter any 

UST system that does not meet the new UST system 

performance standards in 9VAC25-580-50 or has not been 

upgraded in accordance with subdivisions 2, 3, and 4 of this 

section. This does not apply to previously deferred UST 

systems described in Part X (9VAC25-580-380 et seq.) of this 

chapter and where an upgrade is determined to be appropriate 

by the board. 

Owners and operators must obtain a permit and the required 

inspections in accordance with the provisions of the Virginia 

Uniform Statewide Building Code (§ 36-97 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia).  

A permit from the building official must be obtained prior to 

upgrading any UST system. No upgraded UST system shall 

be placed into use unless and until the system is inspected in 

accordance with the provisions of the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (§ 36-97 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia).  

In the case of state-owned facilities, the Department of 

General Services shall function as the building official in 

accordance with § 36-98.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

In the case of federal facilities the building official must be 

contacted. Owners and operators must obtain a permit and the 

required inspections in accordance with the provisions of the 

Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (§ 36-97 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia).  

1. Alternatives allowed. Not later than December 22, 1998, 

all All existing UST systems must comply with one of the 

following requirements:  

a. New UST system performance standards under 

9VAC25-580-50;  

b. The upgrading requirements in subsections 

subdivisions 2 through 5, 3, and 4 of this section; or  

c. Closure requirements under Part VII of this chapter, 

including applicable requirements for corrective action 

under Part VI (9VAC25-580-230 et seq.) of this chapter.  

2. Tank upgrading requirements. Steel tanks must be 

upgraded to meet one of the following requirements in 

accordance with a code of practice developed by a 

nationally recognized association or independent testing 

laboratory:  

a. Interior lining. A tank may be Tanks upgraded by 

internal lining if must meet the following:  

(1) The lining is was installed in accordance with the 

requirements of 9VAC25-580-110,; and  

(2) Within 10 years after lining, and every five years 

thereafter, the lined tank is internally inspected and found 

to be structurally sound with the lining still performing in 

accordance with original design specifications. If the 

internal lining is no longer performing in accordance 

with original design specifications and cannot be repaired 

in accordance with a code of practice developed by a 

nationally recognized association or independent testing 

laboratory, then the lined tank must be permanently 

closed in accordance with Part VII of this chapter.  
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b. Cathodic protection. A tank may be Tanks upgraded 

by cathodic protection if the cathodic protection system 

meets must meet the requirements of 9VAC25-580-50 1 

b (2), (3), and (4) and the integrity of the tank is must 

have been ensured using one of the following methods:  

(1) The tank is was internally inspected and assessed to 

ensure that the tank is was structurally sound and free of 

corrosion holes prior to installing the cathodic protection 

system; or  

(2) The tank has had been installed for less than 10 years 

and is monitored monthly for releases in accordance with 

subsections 4 through 8 9 of 9VAC25-580-160; or  

(3) The tank has had been installed for less than 10 years 

and is was assessed for corrosion holes by conducting 

two tightness tests that meet the requirements of 

subsection 3 of 9VAC25-580-160. The first tightness test 

must be have been conducted prior to installing the 

cathodic protection system. The second tightness test 

must be have been conducted between three and six 

months following the first operation of the cathodic 

protection system; or  

(4) The tank is was assessed for corrosion holes by a 

method that is determined by the board to prevent 

releases in a manner that is no less protective of human 

health and the environment than subdivisions 2 b (1) 

through, (2), and (3) of this section.  

c. Internal lining combined with cathodic protection. A 

tank may be Tanks upgraded by both internal lining and 

cathodic protection if must meet the following:  

(1) The lining is was installed in accordance with the 

requirements of 9VAC25-580-110; and  

(2) The cathodic protection system meets the 

requirements of subdivisions 1 b (2), (3), and (4) of 

9VAC25-580-50.  

NOTE: The following historical codes and standards may 

be used to comply of practice were listed as options for 

complying with subdivision 2 of this section:  

(a) American Petroleum Institute Publication 1631, 

"Recommended Practice for the Interior Lining of 

Existing Steel Underground Storage Tanks";  

(b) National Leak Prevention Association Standard 631, 

"Spill Prevention, Minimum 10 Year Life Extension of 

Existing Steel Underground Tanks by Lining Without the 

Addition of Cathodic Protection";  

(c) National Association of Corrosion Engineers 

Standard RP-02-85, "Control of External Corrosion on 

Metallic Buried, Partially Buried, or Submerged Liquid 

Storage Systems"; and  

(d) American Petroleum Institute Publication 

Recommended Practice 1632, "Cathodic Protection of 

Underground Petroleum Storage Tanks and Piping 

Systems."  

NOTE: The following codes of practice may be used to 

comply with the periodic lining inspection requirement in 

subdivision 2 a (2) of this section:  

(a) American Petroleum Institute Recommended Practice 

1631, Interior Lining and Periodic Inspection of 

Underground Storage Tanks;  

(b) National Leak Prevention Association Standard 631, 

Chapter B Future Internal Inspection Requirements for 

Lined Tanks; or  

(c) Ken Wilcox Associates Recommended Practice, 

Recommended Practice for Inspecting Buried Lined Steel 

Tanks Using a Video Camera. 

3. Piping upgrading requirements. Metal piping that 

routinely contains regulated substances and is in contact 

with the ground must be cathodically protected in 

accordance with a code of practice developed by a 

nationally recognized association or independent testing 

laboratory and must meet the requirements of subdivisions 

2 b (2), (3) and (4) of 9VAC25-580-50.  

NOTE: The codes and standards of practice listed in the 

note following subdivision 2 b of 9VAC25-580-50 may be 

used to comply with this requirement.  

4. Spill and overfill prevention equipment. To prevent 

spilling and overfilling associated with product transfer to 

the UST system, all existing UST systems must comply 

with new UST system spill and overfill prevention 

equipment requirements specified in subsection 3 of 

9VAC25-580-50.  

5. Release detection. Release detection shall be provided in 

accordance with Part IV of this chapter.  

9VAC25-580-70. Notification requirements.  

A. Any owner who brings an underground storage tank 

system into use after After May 8, 1986, an owner must 

submit notice of a tank system's existence to the board within 

30 days of bringing such the underground storage tank system 

into use, submit, in the form prescribed in APPENDIX I of 

this chapter, a notice of existence of such tank system to the 

board. Owners must use a UST Notification form approved 

by the board.  

B. Any change in ownership, tank status (e.g., 

temporarily/permanently closed out), tank/piping systems 

(e.g., upgrades such as addition of corrosion protection, 

internal lining, release detection), or substance stored (e.g., 

change from petroleum to hazardous substance) requires the 

UST owner to submit an amended notification form, or other 

documentation approved by the board, within 30 days after 

such change/upgrade change or upgrade occurs or is brought 

into use. Owners may provide notice for several tanks using 

one notification form, but owners with tanks located at more 

than one place of operation must file a separate notification 

form for each separate place of operation.  

B. C. Under Virginia UST notification requirements 

effective July 1, 1987, owners of property who have actual 
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knowledge of underground storage tanks on such property 

that were taken out of service before January 1, 1974, yet are 

still in the ground, must notify the board on the notification 

form.  

NOTE: Under the federal UST Notification Program, 

owners and operators of UST systems that were in the ground 

on or after May 8, 1986, unless taken out of operation on or 

before January 1, 1974, were required to notify the board in 

accordance with the Hazardous and Solid Waste Amendments 

of 1984, P.L. 98-616 (42 USC § 9603), on a form published 

by EPA on November 8, 1985, (50 FR 46602) unless notice 

was given pursuant to § 103(c) of CERCLA. Owners and 

operators who have not complied with the notification 

requirements may use portions I through VI of the 

notification form contained in APPENDIX I of this chapter 

UST Notification form approved by the board.  

C. Notices required to be submitted under subsection A of 

this section must provide all of the information in Sections I 

through VI of the prescribed form (APPENDIX I) for each 

tank for which notice must be given. Notices for tanks 

installed after December 22, 1988, must also provide all of 

the information in Section VII of the prescribed form 

(APPENDIX I) for each tank for which notice must be given.  

D. All owners and operators of new UST systems must 

certify in the notification form compliance with the following 

requirements:  

1. Installation of tanks and piping under subsection 

subdivision 5 of 9VAC25-580-50;  

2. Cathodic protection of steel tanks and piping under 

subsections subdivisions 1 and 2 of 9VAC25-580-50;  

3. Financial responsibility under financial responsibility 

regulations promulgated by the board under 9VAC25-590.  

4. Release detection under 9VAC25-580-140 and 

9VAC25-580-150.  

E. All owners and operators of new UST systems must 

ensure that the installer certifies in the notification form that 

the methods used to install the tanks and piping comply with 

the requirements in subsection 4 of 9VAC25-580-50.  

F. Beginning October 24, 1988, any person who sells a tank 

intended to be used as an underground storage tank must 

notify the purchaser of such tank of the owner's notification 

obligations under subsection A of this section. The statement 

provided in APPENDIX II of this chapter the following note, 

when used on shipping tickets and invoices, may be used to 

comply with this requirement.: 

NOTE: A federal law (the Solid Waste Disposal Act, 

42 USC § 6901 et seq.) requires owners of certain 

underground storage tanks to notify implementing agencies of 

the existence of their tanks. Notifications must be made 

within 30 days of bringing the tank into use. Consult EPA's 

regulations at 40 CFR 280.22 to determine if you are affected 

by this law. 

Part III  

General Operating Requirements  

9VAC25-580-80. Spill and overfill control.  

A. Owners and operators must ensure that releases due to 

spilling or overfilling do not occur. The owner and operator 

must ensure that the volume available in the tank is greater 

than the volume of product to be transferred to the tank before 

the transfer is made and that the transfer operation is 

monitored constantly to prevent overfilling and spilling.  

NOTE: The transfer procedures described in National Fire 

Protection Association Publication Standard 385 Standard for 

Tank Vehicles for Flammable and Combustible Liquids or 

American Petroleum Institute Recommended Practice 1007, 

Loading and Unloading of MC 306/DOT 406 Cargo Tank 

Motor Vehicles may be used to comply with this subsection 

A of this section. Further guidance on spill and overfill 

prevention appears in American Petroleum Institute 

Publication 1621, "Recommended Practice 1621, for Bulk 

Liquid Stock Control at Retail Outlets," and National Fire 

Protection Association Standard 30, "Flammable and 

Combustible Liquids Code."  

B. The owner and operator must report, investigate, and 

clean up any spills and overfills in accordance with 9VAC25-

580-220.  

9VAC25-580-82. Periodic testing of spill prevention 

equipment and containment sumps used for interstitial 

monitoring of piping and periodic inspection of overfill 

prevention equipment. 

A. Owners and operators of UST systems with spill and 

overfill prevention equipment and containment sumps used 

for interstitial monitoring of piping must meet these 

requirements to ensure the equipment is operating properly 

and will prevent releases to the environment:  

1. Spill prevention equipment (such as a catchment basin, 

spill bucket, or other spill containment device) and 

containment sumps used for interstitial monitoring of 

piping must prevent releases to the environment by 

meeting one of the following:  

a. The equipment is double walled and the integrity of 

both walls is periodically monitored as described in 

9VAC25-580-85 A 1 a (1) at a frequency not less than 

the frequency of the walkthrough inspections described 

in 9VAC25-580-85. Within 30 days of discontinuing 

periodic monitoring under this subdivision, owners and 

operators must conduct a test in accordance 

with subdivision A 1 b of this section and begin meeting 

the requirements of that subdivision; or  

b. The spill prevention equipment and containment 

sumps used for interstitial monitoring of piping are tested 

at least once every three years to ensure the equipment is 

liquid tight by using vacuum, pressure, or liquid testing 

in accordance with one of the following criteria: 
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(1) Requirements developed by the manufacturer (Note: 

Owners and operators may use this option only if the 

manufacturer has developed requirements);  

(2) Code of practice developed by a nationally 

recognized association or independent testing laboratory; 

or  

(3) Requirements determined by the board to be no less 

protective of human health and the environment than the 

requirements listed in subdivisions A 1 b (1) and (2) of 

this section.  

2. Overfill prevention equipment must be inspected at least 

once every three years. At a minimum, the inspection must 

ensure that overfill prevention equipment is set to activate 

at the correct level specified in subdivision 3 of 9VAC25-

580-50 and will activate when regulated substance reaches 

that level. Inspections must be conducted in accordance 

with one of the criteria in subdivisions 1 b (1), (2), or (3) of 

this subsection.  

NOTE: The following code of practice may be used to 

comply with subdivisions A 1 b and A 2 of this section: 

Petroleum Equipment Institute Publication RP 1200, 

Recommended Practices for the Testing and Verification 

of Spill, Overfill, Leak Detection and Secondary 

Containment Equipment at UST Facilities.  

B. Owners and operators must begin meeting these 

requirements as follows:  

1. For UST systems in use before (insert effective date of 

amendment), the initial spill prevention equipment test, 

containment sump test, and overfill prevention equipment 

inspection must be conducted not later than (insert date 

three years after effective date of amendment).  

2. For UST systems brought into use on or after (insert 

effective date of amendment), these requirements apply at 

installation.  

C. Owners and operators must maintain records as follows 

in accordance with 9VAC25-580-120 for spill prevention 

equipment, containment sumps used for interstitial 

monitoring of piping, and overfill prevention equipment:  

1. All records of testing or inspection must be maintained 

for three years; and  

2. For spill prevention equipment and containment sumps 

used for interstitial monitoring of piping not tested every 

three years, documentation showing that the prevention 

equipment is double walled and the integrity of both walls 

is periodically monitored must be maintained for as long as 

the equipment is periodically monitored.  

9VAC25-580-85. Periodic operation and maintenance 

walkthrough inspections. 

A. To properly operate and maintain UST systems, not later 

than (insert date three years after effective date of 

amendment) owners and operators must meet one of the 

following:  

1. Conduct a walkthrough inspection that, at a minimum, 

checks the following equipment as specified below:  

a. Every 30 days (Exception: spill prevention equipment 

at UST systems receiving deliveries at intervals greater 

than every 30 days may be checked prior to each 

delivery):  

(1) Spill prevention equipment – visually check for 

damage; remove liquid or debris; check for and remove 

obstructions in the fill pipe; check the fill cap to make 

sure it is securely on the fill pipe; and, for double walled 

spill prevention equipment with interstitial monitoring, 

check for a leak in the interstitial area; and 

(2) Release detection equipment – check to make sure the 

release detection equipment is operating with no alarms 

or other unusual operating conditions present and ensure 

records of release detection testing are reviewed and 

current; and  

b. Annually:  

(1) Containment sumps – visually check for damage, 

leaks to the containment area, or releases to the 

environment; remove liquid (in contained sumps) or 

debris; and, for double walled sumps with interstitial 

monitoring, check for a leak in the interstitial area; and  

(2) Handheld release detection equipment – check 

devices such as tank gauge sticks or groundwater bailers 

for operability and serviceability; 

2. Conduct operation and maintenance walkthrough 

inspections according to a standard code of practice 

developed by a nationally recognized association or 

independent testing laboratory that checks equipment 

comparable to subdivision 1 of this subsection; or  

3. Conduct operation and maintenance walkthrough 

inspections according to a protocol developed by the board 

that checks equipment comparable to subdivision 1 of this 

subsection. 

B. Owners and operators must maintain records (in 

accordance with 9VAC25-580-120) of operation and 

maintenance walkthrough inspections for one year. Records 

must include a list of each area checked, whether each area 

checked was acceptable or needed action taken, a description 

of actions taken to correct an issue, and delivery records if 

spill prevention equipment is checked less frequently than 

every 30 days due to infrequent deliveries.  

NOTE: The following code of practice may be used to 

comply with subdivision A 2 of this section: Petroleum 

Equipment Institute Recommended Practice RP 900, 

Recommended Practices for the Inspection and Maintenance 

of UST Systems. 

9VAC25-580-90. Operation and maintenance of corrosion 

protection.  

All owners and operators of steel metal UST systems with 

corrosion protection must comply with the following 
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requirements to ensure that releases due to corrosion are 

prevented for as long as until the UST system is used to store 

regulated substances: permanently closed or undergoes a 

change-in-service pursuant to 9VAC25-580-320: 

1. All corrosion protection systems must be operated and 

maintained to continuously provide corrosion protection to 

the metal components of that portion of the tank and piping 

that routinely contain regulated substances and are in 

contact with the ground.  

2. All UST systems equipped with cathodic protection 

systems must be inspected for proper operation by a 

qualified cathodic protection tester in accordance with the 

following requirements:  

a. Frequency. All cathodic protection systems must be 

tested within six months of installation and at least every 

three years thereafter; and  

b. Inspection criteria. The criteria that are used to 

determine that cathodic protection is adequate as required 

by this section must be in accordance with a code of 

practice developed by a nationally recognized 

association.  

NOTE: National Association of Corrosion Engineers 

Standard RP-02-85, "Control of External Corrosion on 

Metallic Buried, Partially Buried, or Submerged Liquid 

Storage Systems," The following codes of practice may 

be used to comply with subdivision 2 b of this section.: 

(1) NACE International Test Method TM0101, 

Measurement Techniques Related to Criteria for 

Cathodic Protection of Underground Storage Tank 

Systems;  

(2) NACE International Test Method TM0497, 

Measurement Techniques Related to Criteria for 

Cathodic Protection on Underground or Submerged 

Metallic Piping Systems;  

(3) Steel Tank Institute Recommended Practice R051, 

Cathodic Protection Testing Procedures for STI-P3
®
 

USTs;  

(4) NACE International Standard Practice SP0285, 

External Control of Underground Storage Tank Systems 

by Cathodic Protection; or  

(5) NACE International Standard Practice SP0169, 

Control of External Corrosion on Underground or 

Submerged Metallic Piping Systems. 

3. UST systems with impressed current cathodic protection 

systems must also be inspected every 60 days to ensure the 

equipment is running properly. These systems only provide 

the necessary corrosion protection when in continuous 

operation. Such equipment shall be installed so that it 

cannot be inadvertently shut off.  

4. For UST systems using cathodic protection, records of 

the operation of the cathodic protection must be maintained 

(in accordance with 9VAC25-580-120) to demonstrate 

compliance with the performance standards in this section. 

These records must provide the following:  

a. The results of the last three inspections required in 

subdivision 3 of this section; and  

b. The results of testing from the last two inspections 

required in subdivision 2 of this section.  

9VAC25-580-100. Compatibility.  

A. Owners and operators must use an UST system made of 

or lined with materials that are compatible with the substance 

stored in the UST system.  

B. Owners and operators must notify the board at least 30 

days prior to switching to a regulated substance containing 

greater than 10% ethanol, greater than 20% biodiesel, or any 

other regulated substance identified by the board. In addition, 

owners and operators with UST systems storing these 

regulated substances must meet one of the following: 

1. Demonstrate compatibility of the UST system, including 

the tank, piping, containment sumps, pumping equipment, 

release detection equipment, spill equipment, and overfill 

equipment. Owners and operators may demonstrate 

compatibility of the UST system by using one of the 

following options: 

a. Certification or listing of UST system equipment or 

components by a nationally recognized, independent 

testing laboratory for use with the regulated substance 

stored; or 

b. Equipment or component manufacturer approval. The 

manufacturer's approval must be in writing, indicate an 

affirmative statement of compatibility, specify the range 

of biofuel blends the equipment or component is 

compatible with, and be from the equipment or 

component manufacturer; or 

2. Use another option determined by the board to be no less 

protective of human health and the environment than the 

options listed in subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

C. Owners and operators must maintain records in 

accordance with subdivision 2 of 9VAC25-580-120 

documenting compliance with subsection B of this section for 

as long as the UST system is used to store the regulated 

substance. 

NOTE: Owners and operators storing alcohol blends may 

use the following codes to comply with the requirements of 

this section: The following code of practice may be useful in 

complying with this section: 

1. American Petroleum Institute Publication 

Recommended Practice 1626, "Storing and Handling 

Ethanol and Gasoline-Ethanol Blends at Distribution 

Terminals and Service Filling Stations"; and.  

2. American Petroleum Institute Publication 1627, 

"Storage and Handling of Gasoline-Methanol/Cosolvent 

Blends at Distribution Terminals and Service Stations."  
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9VAC25-580-110. Repairs allowed.  

Owners and operators must obtain a permit and the required 

inspections in accordance with the provisions of the Virginia 

Uniform Statewide Building Code (§ 36-97 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia).  

A permit from the building official must be obtained prior to 

repairing any UST system. No repaired UST system shall be 

placed into use unless and until the system is inspected in 

accordance with the provisions of the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (§ 36-97 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia).  

In the case of state-owned facilities the Department of 

General Services shall function as the building official in 

accordance with § 36-98.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

In the case of federal facilities the building official must be 

contacted. Owners and operators must obtain a permit and the 

required inspections in accordance with the provisions of the 

Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (§ 36-97 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia).  

Owners and operators of UST systems must ensure that 

repairs will prevent releases due to structural failure or 

corrosion as long as the UST system is used to store regulated 

substances. The repairs must meet the following 

requirements:  

1. Repairs to UST systems must be properly conducted in 

accordance with a code of practice developed by a 

nationally recognized association or an independent testing 

laboratory.  

NOTE: The following codes and standards of practice may 

be used to comply with subdivision 1 of this section:  

a. National Fire Protection Association Standard 30, 

"Flammable and Combustible Liquids Code"; 

b. American Petroleum Institute Publication 

Recommended Practice RP 2200, "Repairing Crude Oil, 

Liquefied Petroleum Gas, and Product Pipelines"; 

c. American Petroleum Institute Publication 

Recommended Practice RP 1631, "Recommended 

Practice for the Interior Lining of Existing Steel and 

Periodic Inspection of Underground Storage Tanks"; and 

d. National Fire Protection Association Standard 326, 

Standard for the Safeguarding of Tanks and Containers 

for Entry, Cleaning, or Repair;  

e. National Leak Prevention Association Standard 631, 

"Spill Prevention, Minimum 10 Year Life Extension of 

Existing Steel Underground Tanks by Lining Without the 

Addition of Cathodic Protection." Chapter A, Entry, 

Cleaning, Interior Inspection, Repair, and Lining of 

Underground Storage Tanks; 

f. Steel Tank Institute Recommended Practice R972, 

Recommended Practice for the Addition of Supplemental 

Anodes to STI-P3
®
 Tanks; 

g. NACE International Standard Practice SP 0285, 

External Control of Underground Storage Tank Systems 

by Cathodic Protection; or  

h. Fiberglass Tank and Pipe Institute Recommended 

Practice T-95-02, Remanufacturing of Fiberglass 

Reinforced Plastic (FRP) Underground Storage Tanks.  

2. Repairs to fiberglass-reinforced plastic tanks may be 

made by the manufacturer's authorized representatives or 

in accordance with a code of practice developed by a 

nationally recognized association or an independent testing 

laboratory.  

3. Metal pipe sections and fittings that have released 

product as a result of corrosion or other damage must be 

replaced. Fiberglass Noncorrodible pipes and fittings may 

be repaired in accordance with the manufacturer's 

specifications.  

4. Repairs to secondary containment areas of tanks and 

piping used for interstitial monitoring and to containment 

sumps used for interstitial monitoring of piping must have 

the secondary containment tested for tightness according to 

the manufacturer's instructions, a code of practice 

developed by a nationally recognized association or 

independent testing laboratory, or according to 

requirements established by the board within 30 days 

following the date of completion of the repair. 

Repaired 5. All other repairs to tanks and piping must be 

tightness tested in accordance with subsection subdivision 

3 of 9VAC25-580-160 and subdivision 2 of 9VAC25-580-

170 within 30 days following the date of the completion of 

the repair except as provided in subdivisions 4 a through c 

of this section below:  

a. The repaired tank is internally inspected in accordance 

with a code of practice developed by a nationally 

recognized association or an independent testing 

laboratory;  

b. The repaired portion of the UST system is monitored 

monthly for releases in accordance with a method 

specified in subsections subdivisions 4 through 8 9 of 

9VAC25-580-160; or  

c. Another test method is used that is determined by the 

board to be no less protective of human health and the 

environment than those listed above in subdivisions a and 

b of this subdivision 5.  

NOTE: The following codes of practice may be used to 

comply with subdivisions 4 and 5 of this section: 

(1) Steel Tank Institute Recommended Practice R012, 

Recommended Practice for Interstitial Tightness Testing 

of Existing Underground Double Wall Steel Tanks; or 

(2) Fiberglass Tank and Pipe Institute Protocol, Field 

Test Protocol for Testing the Annular Space of Installed 

Underground Fiberglass Double and Triple-Wall Tanks 

With Dry Annular Space. 
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(3) Petroleum Equipment Institute Recommended 

Practice RP1200, Recommended Practices for the 

Testing and Verification of Spill, Overfill, Leak 

Detection and Secondary Containment Equipment at 

UST Facilities. 

5. 6. Within six months following the repair of any 

cathodically protected UST system, the cathodic protection 

system must be tested in accordance with subdivisions 2 

and 3 of 9VAC25-580-90 to ensure that it is operating 

properly.  

7. Within 30 days following any repair to spill or overflow 

prevention equipment, the repaired spill or overflow 

prevention equipment must be tested or inspected as 

appropriate, in accordance with 9VAC25-580-82 to ensure 

it is operating properly. 

6. 8. UST system owners and operators must maintain 

records in accordance with 9VAC25-580-120 of each 

repair for the remaining operating life of until the UST 

system that demonstrate compliance with the requirements 

of this section is permanently closed or undergoes a 

change-in-service pursuant to 9VAC25-580-320.  

9VAC25-580-120. Reporting and recordkeeping. 

Owners and operators of UST systems must cooperate fully 

with inspections, monitoring and testing conducted by the 

board, as well as requests for document submission, testing, 

and monitoring by the owner or operator pursuant to § 9005 

of Subtitle I of the Resource Conservation and Recovery 

Solid Waste Disposal Act, as amended.  

1. Reporting. Owners and operators must submit the 

following information to the board: 

a. Notification for all UST systems (9VAC25-580-70), 

which includes certification of installation for new UST 

systems (subdivision 5 of 9VAC25-580-50), and 

notification when any person assumes ownership of an 

UST system (9VAC25-580-70); 

b. Notification prior to UST systems switching to certain 

regulated substances (subsection B of 9VAC25-580-

100);  

c. Reports of all releases including suspected releases 

(9VAC25-580-190), spills and overfills (9VAC25-580-

220), and confirmed releases (9VAC25-580-240); 

c. d. Corrective actions planned or taken including initial 

abatement measures (9VAC25-580-250), site 

characterization (9VAC25-580-260), free product 

removal (9VAC25-580-270), and corrective action plan 

(9VAC25-580-280); and 

d. e. An amended notification form must be submitted 

within 30 days after permanent closure or change-in-

service (9VAC25-580-320). 

2. Recordkeeping. Owners and operators must maintain the 

following information: 

a. Documentation of operation of corrosion protection 

equipment (9VAC25-580-90); (subdivision 4 of 

9VAC25-580-90); 

b. Documentation of compatibility for UST systems 

(subsection C of 9VAC25-580-100); 

c. Documentation of UST system repairs (subdivision 6 8 

of 9VAC25-580-110); 

c. Recent d. Documentation of compliance and 

applicable installation records for spill and overfill 

prevention equipment and containment sumps used for 

interstitial monitoring of piping (subsection C of 

9VAC25-580-82); 

e. Documentation of periodic walkthrough inspections 

(subsection B of 9VAC25-580-85); 

f. Documentation of compliance with release detection 

requirements (9VAC25-580-180); and  

d. g. Results of the site investigation conducted at 

permanent closure (9VAC25-580-350).; and 

e. h. Documentation of operator training required by 

9VAC25-580-125, including verification of training for 

current Class A, Class B, and Class C operators, and 

current list of operators and written instructions or 

procedures for Class C operators in accordance with 

(9VAC25-580-125) (relating to operator training). 

3. Availability and maintenance of records. Owners and 

operators must keep the records required either: 

a. At the UST site and immediately available for 

inspection by the board; or 

b. At a readily available alternative site and be provided 

for inspection to the board upon request. 

In the case of permanent closure records required under 

9VAC25-580-350, owners and operators are also 

provided with the additional alternative of mailing 

closure records to the board if they cannot be kept at the 

site or an alternative site as indicated above. 

9VAC25-580-125. Operator training. 

A. Definitions. 

1. For purposes of this section, "Class A operator" means 

an operator who has primary responsibility to operate and 

maintain the underground storage tank system and facility. 

The Class A operator's responsibilities include managing 

resources and personnel, such as establishing work 

assignments, to achieve and maintain compliance with 

regulatory requirements. In general, Class A operators 

focus on the broader aspects of the underground storage 

tank statutory and regulatory requirements and standards 

necessary to properly operate and maintain the 

underground storage tank system and facility. 

2. For purposes of this section, "Class B operator" means 

an operator who implements applicable underground 

storage tank regulatory requirements and standards in the 

field or at the underground storage tank facility. A Class B 
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operator oversees and implements the day-to-day aspects 

of operations, maintenance, and recordkeeping for the 

underground storage tanks at one or more facilities. 

3. For purposes of this section, "Class C operator" means 

the person responsible for responding to alarms or other 

indications of emergencies caused by spills or releases 

from underground storage tank systems and equipment 

failures. A Class C operator, generally, is the first line of 

response to events indicating emergency conditions. 

B. Requirements for trained operators. 

1. Owners and operators of UST systems shall designate 

Class A, Class B, and Class C operators for each UST 

system or facility that has underground storage tanks. 

a. A person may be designated for more than one class of 

operator. 

b. Any person designated for more than one class of 

operator shall successfully complete the required training 

under subsection C of this section for each operator class 

for which he is designated. 

c. Persons trained in accordance with subsection C of this 

section may perform operator duties consistent with their 

training when employed or contracted by the tank owner 

or operator to perform these functions.  

2. Designated operators shall successfully complete 

required training under subsection C of this section no later 

than August 8, 2012. 

3. Class A operators shall be familiar with training 

requirements for each class of operator and may provide 

required training for Class C operators. 

4. 3. Class B operators shall be familiar with Class B and 

Class C operator responsibilities and may provide training 

for Class C operators. 

5. 4. Trained operators shall be readily available to respond 

to suspected/confirmed releases, other unusual operating 

conditions and equipment shut-offs or failures. 

a. The Class A or Class B operator shall be available for 

immediate telephone consultation when an UST facility 

is in operation. A Class A or Class B operator shall be 

able to be onsite at the facility within a reasonable time 

to perform necessary functions. 

b. For manned facilities, a Class C operator shall be 

onsite whenever the UST facility is in operation. After 

September 15, 2010, written instructions or procedures 

shall be maintained and visible at manned UST facilities 

for persons performing duties of the Class C operator to 

follow and to provide notification necessary in the event 

of emergency conditions. 

c. For unmanned facilities, a Class C operator shall be 

available for immediate telephone consultation and shall 

be able to be onsite within a reasonable time to perform 

necessary functions. Emergency contact information 

shall be prominently displayed at the site. After 

September 15, 2010, written instructions or procedures 

shall be maintained and visible at unmanned UST 

facilities for persons performing duties of the Class C 

operator to follow and to provide notification necessary 

in the event of emergency conditions. 

C. Required training. 

1. Class A operators shall successfully complete a training 

course approved by the board that includes a general 

knowledge of UST system requirements. Training shall 

provide information that should enable the operator to 

make informed decisions regarding compliance and 

ensuring that appropriate persons are fulfilling operation, 

maintenance, and recordkeeping requirements and 

standards of this chapter and/or federal underground 

storage tank requirements in 40 CFR Part 280 (relating to 

technical standards and corrective action requirements for 

owners and operators of underground storage tanks 

(UST)), including, at a minimum, the following: 

a. Spill and overfill prevention; 

b. Release detection and related reporting requirements; 

c. Corrosion protection; 

d. Emergency response; 

e. Product and equipment compatibility; 

f. Financial responsibility; 

g. Notification and storage tank registration 

requirements; 

h. Temporary and permanent closure requirements; and 

i. Class B and Class C operator training requirements. 

2. Class B operators shall successfully complete a training 

course approved by the board that includes an in-depth 

understanding of operation and maintenance aspects of 

UST systems and related regulatory requirements. Training 

shall provide specific information on the components of 

UST systems, materials of construction, methods of release 

detection and release prevention applied to UST systems 

and components. Training shall address operation and 

maintenance requirements of this chapter and/or federal 

underground storage tank requirements in 40 CFR Part 

280, including, at a minimum, the following: 

a. Spill and overfill prevention; 

b. Release detection and related reporting requirements; 

c. Corrosion protection and related testing; 

d. Emergency response; 

e. Product and equipment compatibility; 

f. Reporting and recordkeeping requirements; and 

g. Class C operator training requirements. 

3. Class C operators. At a minimum, training provided by 

the tank owner or Class A or Class B operator shall enable 

the Class C operator to take action in response to 

emergencies caused by spills or releases and alarms from 
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an underground storage tank. Training shall include written 

instructions or procedures for the Class C operator to 

follow and to provide notification necessary in the event of 

emergency conditions. 

4. Successful completion for Class A and Class B operators 

means completion of the entire training course and 

demonstration of knowledge of the course material as 

follows: 

a. Receipt of a passing grade (a score of 80% or better) 

on an examination of material presented in the training 

course, or demonstration through practical (hands-on) 

application to the trainer of operation and maintenance 

checks of underground storage tank equipment, including 

performance of release detection at the UST facility, at 

the conclusion of onsite training; and 

b. Receipt of a training certificate by an approved trainer 

upon verification of successful completion of training 

under this section. 

5. Reciprocity. The board may also recognize successful 

completion of Class A and Class B operator training on 

regulatory standards consistent with 40 CFR Part 280, 

which is recognized by other state or implementing 

agencies and which is approved by EPA as meeting 

operator training grant guidelines published by EPA. 

6. The tank owner and operator shall incur the costs of the 

training.  

D. Timing of training. 

1. An owner and operator shall ensure that Class A, Class 

B and Class C operators are trained as soon as practicable 

after September 15, 2010, contingent upon availability of 

approved training providers, but not later than August 8, 

2012. 

2. When a Class A or Class B operator is replaced after 

August 8, 2012, a new operator shall be trained within 60 

days of assuming duties for that class of operator. 

3. Class C operators shall be trained before assuming 

duties of a Class C operator. After September 15, 2010, 

written instructions or procedures shall be provided to 

Class C operators to follow and to provide notification 

necessary in the event of emergency conditions. Class C 

operators shall be briefed on these instructions or 

procedures at least annually (every 12 months), which may 

be concurrent with annual safety training required under 

Occupational Safety and Health Administration, 29 CFR 

Part 1910 (relating to Occupational Safety and Health 

Standards). 

E. Retraining. 

1. Owners and operators of UST systems shall ensure that 

Class A and B operators in accordance with subsection C 

of this section are retrained if the board determines that the 

UST system is out of compliance with the requirements of 

9VAC25-580-30 through 9VAC25-580-190. At a 

minimum, Class A and Class B operators shall successfully 

complete retraining in the areas identified as out of 

compliance. 

2. Class A and B operators shall complete training pursuant 

to this subsection no later than 90 days from the date the 

board identifies the noncompliance. 

F. Documentation. 

1. Owners and operators of underground storage tank 

facilities shall prepare and maintain a list of designated 

Class A, Class B, and Class C operators. The list shall 

represent the current Class A, Class B, and Class C 

operators for the UST facility and shall include: 

a. The name of each operator, class of operation trained 

for, and the date each operator successfully completed 

initial training and refresher training, if any.  

b. For Class A and Class B operators that are not 

permanently onsite or assigned to more than one facility, 

telephone numbers to contact the operators. 

2. A copy of the certificates of training for Class A and 

Class B operators shall be on file as long as each operator 

serves in that capacity at the facility or three years, 

whichever is longer, and readily available, and a copy of 

the facility list of Class A, Class B, and Class C operators 

and Class C operator instructions or procedures shall be 

kept onsite and immediately available for manned UST 

facilities and readily available for unmanned facilities (see 

subdivision 2 e h of 9VAC25-580-120 relating to reporting 

and recordkeeping). 

3. Class C operator and owner contact information, 

including names and telephone numbers, and any 

emergency information shall be conspicuously posted at 

unmanned facilities. 

Part IV 

Release Detection 

9VAC25-580-130. General requirements for all petroleum 

and hazardous substance UST systems. 

A. Owners and operators of new and existing UST systems 

must provide a method, or combination of methods, of release 

detection that:  

1. Can detect a release from any portion of the tank and the 

connected underground piping that routinely contains 

product;  

2. Is installed, and calibrated, operated, and maintained in 

accordance with the manufacturer's instructions, including 

routine maintenance and service checks for operability or 

running condition; and  

3. Beginning on (insert date three years after effective date 

of amendment), is operated and maintained, and electronic 

and mechanical components are tested for proper 

operation, in accordance with one of the following: (i) 

manufacturer's instructions; (ii) a code of practice 

developed by a nationally recognized association or 

independent testing laboratory; or (iii) requirements 
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determined by the board to be no less protective of human 

health and the environment than the two options listed in 

subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection. A test of the proper 

operation must be performed at least annually and, at a 

minimum, as applicable to the facility, cover the following 

components and criteria:  

a. Automatic tank gauge and other controllers: test alarm; 

verify system configuration; test battery backup;  

b. Probes and sensors: inspect for residual buildup; 

ensure floats move freely; ensure shaft is not damaged; 

ensure cables are free of kinks and breaks; test alarm 

operability and communication with controller;  

c. Automatic line leak detector: test operation to meet 

criteria in subdivision 1 of 9VAC25-580-170 by 

simulating a leak;  

d. Vacuum pumps and pressure gauges: ensure proper 

communication with sensors and controller; and  

e. Handheld electronic sampling equipment associated 

with groundwater and vapor monitoring: ensure proper 

operation. 

NOTE: The following code of practice may be used to 

comply with subdivision 3 of this subsection. Petroleum 

Equipment Institute Publication RP 1200, Recommended 

Practices for the Testing and Verification of Spill, Overfill, 

Leak Detection and Secondary Containment Equipment at 

UST Facilities. 

3. 4. Meets the performance requirements in 9VAC25-580-

160 or 9VAC25-580-170, or Part X (9VAC25-580-380 et 

seq.) of this chapter as applicable with any performance 

claims and their manner of determination described in 

writing by the equipment manufacturer or installer. In 

addition, the methods used after December 22, 1990, listed 

in subdivisions 2, 3, 4, 8, and 9 of 9VAC25-580-160; 

subdivisions 1 and 2 of 9VAC25-580-170; and Part X 

except for methods permanently installed prior to that date, 

must be capable of detecting the leak rate or quantity 

specified for that method in subdivisions 2, 3, and 4 of 

9VAC25-580-160 or subdivisions 1 and 2 of 9VAC25-

580-170 the corresponding section of the regulation with a 

probability of detection of 0.95 and a probability of false 

alarm of 0.05.  

B. When a release detection method operated in accordance 

with the performance standards in 9VAC25-580-160 or, 

9VAC25-580-170, or Part X of this chapter indicates a 

release may have occurred, owners and operators must notify 

the board in accordance with Part V (9VAC25-580-190 et 

seq.) of this chapter.  

C. Owners and operators of all UST systems must comply 

with the release detection requirements of this part by 

December 22 of the year listed in the following table:  

SCHEDULE FOR PHASE-IN OF RELEASE 

DETECTION  

Year 

system 

was 

installed 

Year when release detection is required 

(by December 22 of the year indicated) 

1989 1990 1991 1992 1993 

Before 

1965 or 

date 

unknown 

RD P       

1965-

1969  
P/RD       

1970-

1974  
P RD 

  

1975-

1979  
P 

 
RD 

 

1980-

1988  
P 

  
RD 

New tanks (after December 22, 1988) immediately upon 

installation.  

P = Must begin release detection for all pressurized piping in 

accordance with subdivision C 2 a of 9VAC25-580-140.  

RD = Must begin release detection for tanks and suction 

piping in accordance with subdivisions C 1 and C 2 b of 

9VAC25-580-140, and 9VAC25-580-150.  

D. C. Any existing UST system that cannot apply a method 

of release detection that complies with the requirements of 

this part must complete the closure procedures in Part VII 

(9VAC25-580-310 et seq.) of this chapter. by the date on 

which release detection is required for that UST system under 

subsection C of this section. For previously deferred UST 

systems described in Parts I (9VAC25-580-10 et seq.) and X 

of this chapter, this requirement applies on or after the 

effective dates described in 9VAC25-580-20 A 1 b and c and 

9VAC25-580-380 A 1. 

9VAC25-580-140. Requirements for petroleum UST 

systems. 

A. Owners and operators of petroleum UST systems 

required to have secondary containment under subdivision 7 

of 9VAC25-580-50 must provide secondary containment and 

release detection for tanks and piping as follows: 

1. Secondary containment systems must be designed, 

constructed, and installed to:  

a. Contain regulated substances released from the tank 

system until they are detected and removed;  

b. Prevent the release of regulated substances to the 

environment at any time during the operational life of the 

UST system; and  
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c. Be checked for evidence of a release at least every 30 

days.  

2. Double-walled tanks must be designed, constructed, and 

installed to:  

a. Contain a release from any portion of the inner tank 

within the outer wall; and  

b. Detect the failure of the inner wall.  

3. External liners (including vaults) must be designed, 

constructed, and installed to:  

a. Contain 100% of the capacity of the largest tank within 

its boundary;  

b. Prevent the interference of precipitation or 

groundwater intrusion with the ability to contain or detect 

a release of regulated substances; and  

c. Surround the tank completely (i.e., it is capable of 

preventing lateral as well as vertical migration of 

regulated substances). 

4. Underground piping must be equipped with secondary 

containment that satisfies the requirements of subdivision 1 

of this subsection (e.g., trench liners, jacketing of double-

walled pipe). In addition, underground piping that conveys 

regulated substances under pressure must be equipped with 

an automatic line leak detector in accordance with 

subdivision 1 of 9VAC25-580-170. 

5. Perform interstitial monitoring in accordance with 

subdivision 7 of 9VAC 25-580-160. 

B. Owners and operators of petroleum USTs required to 

have secondary containment under subdivision 7 of 9VAC25-

580-50 must have motor fuel underdispenser containment that 

is liquid-tight on its sides, bottom, and at any penetrations; be 

compatible with the substance conveyed by the piping; and 

allow for visual inspection and access to the components in 

the containment system or be monitored. 

C. Owners and operators of petroleum UST systems not 

required to have secondary containment under subdivision 7 

of 9VAC25-580-50 must provide release detection for tanks 

and piping as follows:  

1. Tanks. Tanks must be monitored for releases as follows: 

a. Tanks installed before September 15, 2010, must be 

monitored for releases at least every 30 days for releases 

using one of the methods listed in subdivisions 4 through 

8 9 of 9VAC25-580-160 except that:  

a. (1) UST systems that meet the performance standards 

in subdivisions 1 through 5 of 9VAC25-580-50 or 

subdivisions 1 through 4 of 9VAC25-580-60 may use 

both monthly inventory control requirements in 

subdivision 1 or 2 of 9VAC25-580-160, and tank 

tightness testing (conducted in accordance with 

subdivision 3 of 9VAC25-580-160) at least every five 

years until December 22, 1998, or until 10 years after the 

tank is was installed or upgraded under subdivision 2 of 

9VAC25-580-60, whichever is later; and  

b. UST systems that do not meet the performance 

standards in 9VAC25-580-50 or 9VAC25-580-60 may 

use monthly inventory controls (conducted in accordance 

with subdivision 1 or 2 of 9VAC25-580-160) and annual 

tank tightness testing (conducted in accordance with 

subdivision 3 of 9VAC25-580-160) until December 22, 

1998, when the tank must be upgraded under 9VAC25-

580-60 or permanently closed under 9VAC25-580-320; 

and  

c. (2) Tanks with capacity of 550 gallons or less may use 

weekly and tanks with a capacity of 551 to 1000 gallons 

that meet the tank diameter criteria in subdivision 2 of 

9VAC25-580-160 may use manual tank gauging 

(conducted in accordance with subdivision 2 of 

9VAC25-580-160). 

b. Tanks installed on or after September 15, 2010, must 

be monitored for releases at least every 30 days in 

accordance with subdivision 7 of 9VAC25-580-160.  

2. Piping. Underground piping that routinely contains 

regulated substances must be monitored for releases in a 

manner that meets one of the following requirements:  

a. Piping installed before September 15, 2010, must meet 

one of the following: 

(1) Pressurized piping. Underground piping that conveys 

regulated substances under pressure must:  

(1) (a) Be equipped with an automatic line leak detector 

conducted in accordance with subdivision 1 of 9VAC25-

580-170; and  

(2) (b) Have an annual line tightness test conducted in 

accordance with subdivision 2 of 9VAC25-580-170 or 

have monthly monitoring conducted in accordance with 

subdivision 3 of 9VAC25-580-170.  

b. (2) Suction piping. Underground piping that conveys 

regulated substances under suction must either have a 

line tightness test conducted at least every three years 

and in accordance with subdivision 2 of 9VAC25-580-

170, or use a monthly monitoring method conducted in 

accordance with subdivision 3 of 9VAC25-580-170. No 

release detection is required for suction piping that is 

designed and constructed to meet the following 

standards:  

(1) (a) The below-grade piping operates at less than 

atmospheric pressure;  

(2) (b) The below-grade piping is sloped so that the 

contents of the pipe will drain back into the storage tank 

if the suction is released;  

(3) (c) Only one check valve is included in each suction 

line;  

(4) (d) The check valve is located directly below and as 

close as practical to the suction pump; and  
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(5) (e) A method is provided that allows compliance with 

subdivisions 2 b a (2) (b) through (4), (c), and (d) of this 

subsection to be readily determined. 

b. Piping installed or replaced on or after September 15, 

2010, must meet one of the following: 

(1) Pressurized piping must be monitored for releases at 

least every 30 days in accordance with subdivision 7 of 

9VAC25-580-160 and be equipped with an automatic 

line leak detector in accordance with subdivision 1 of 

9VAC25-580-170. 

(2) Suction piping must be monitored for releases at least 

every 30 days in accordance with subdivision 7 of 

9VAC25-580-160. No release detection is required for 

suction piping that meets the requirements of 

subdivisions 2 a (2) (a) through (e) of this section. 

9VAC25-580-150. Requirements for hazardous substance 

UST systems.  

Owners and operators of hazardous substance UST systems 

must provide release detection containment that meets the 

following requirements and monitor these systems using 

subdivision 7 of 9VAC25-580-160 at least every 30 days:  

1. Release detection at existing UST systems must meet the 

requirements for petroleum UST systems in 9VAC25-580-

140. By December 22, 1998, all existing hazardous 

substance UST systems must meet the release detection 

requirements for new systems in subdivision 2 of this 

section.  

2. Release detection at new hazardous substance UST 

systems must meet the following requirements:  

a. 1. Secondary containment systems must be designed, 

constructed and installed to:  

(1) a. Contain regulated substances released leaked from 

the tank system primary containment until they are 

detected and removed;  

(2) b. Prevent the release of regulated substances to the 

environment at any time during the operational life of the 

UST system; and  

(3) c. Be checked for evidence of a release at least every 

30 days.  

NOTE: The provisions of 40 CFR 265.193, Containment 

and Detection of Releases, may be used to comply with 

these requirements for tanks installed before September 

15, 2010. 

b. 2. Double-walled tanks must be designed, constructed, 

and installed to:  

(1) a. Contain a release leak from any portion of the inner 

tank within the outer wall; and  

(2) b. Detect the failure of the inner wall.  

c. 3. External liners (including vaults) must be designed, 

constructed, and installed to:  

(1) a. Contain 100% of the capacity of the largest tank 

within its boundary;  

(2) b. Prevent the interference of precipitation or ground-

water groundwater intrusion with the ability to contain or 

detect a release of regulated substances; and  

(3) c. Surround the tank completely (i.e., it is capable of 

preventing lateral as well as vertical migration of 

regulated substances).  

d. 4. Underground piping must be equipped with secondary 

containment that satisfies the requirements of subdivision 2 

a of this section (e.g., trench liners, jacketing of double-

walled pipe). In addition, underground piping that conveys 

regulated substances under pressure must be equipped with 

an automatic line leak detector in accordance with 

subdivision 1 of 9VAC25-580-170.  

e. Other 5. For hazardous substance UST systems installed 

before September 15, 2010, other methods of release 

detection may be used if owners and operators:  

(1) a. Demonstrate to the board that an alternate method 

can detect a release of the stored substance as effectively 

as any of the methods allowed in subsections 2 through 8 

9 of 9VAC25-580-160 can detect a release of petroleum;  

(2) b. Provide information to the board on effective 

corrective action technologies, health risks, and chemical 

and physical properties of the stored substance, and the 

characteristics of the UST site; and  

(3) c. Obtain approval from the board to use the alternate 

release detection method before the installation and 

operation of the new UST system.  

9VAC25-580-160. Methods of release detection for tanks.  

Owners and operators must obtain a permit and the required 

inspections in accordance with 9VAC25-580-50 or 9VAC25-

580-60 for the methods of installation of certain release 

detection equipment contained in subsections subdivisions 4 

through 8 9 of 9VAC25-580-160 this section.  

Each method of release detection for tanks used to meet the 

requirements of 9VAC25-580-140 must be conducted in 

accordance with the following and be designed to detect 

releases at the earliest possible time for the specific method 

chosen:  

1. Inventory control. Product inventory control (or another 

test of equivalent performance) must be conducted 

monthly to detect a release of at least 1.0% of flow-through 

plus 130 gallons on a monthly basis in the following 

manner:  

a. Inventory volume measurements for regulated 

substance inputs, withdrawals, and the amount still 

remaining in the tank are recorded each operating day;  

b. The equipment used is capable of measuring the level 

of product over the full range of the tank's height to the 

nearest one-eighth 1/8 of an inch;  
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c. The regulated substance inputs are reconciled with 

delivery receipts by measurement of the tank inventory 

volume before and after delivery;  

d. Deliveries are made through a drop tube that extends 

to within one foot of the tank bottom;  

e. Product dispensing is metered and recorded according 

to regulations of the Bureau of Weights and Measures of 

the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services for meter calibration within their jurisdiction; 

for all other product dispensing meter calibration, an 

accuracy of six cubic inches for every five gallons of 

product withdrawn is required; and  

f. The measurement of any water level in the bottom of 

the tank is made to the nearest one-eighth 1/8 of an inch 

at least once a month.  

NOTE: Practices described in the American Petroleum 

Institute Publication 1621," Recommended Practice for 

RP 1621 Bulk Liquid Stock Control at Retail Outlets," 

may be used, where applicable, as guidance in meeting 

the requirements of this subsection.  

2. Manual tank gauging. Manual tank gauging must meet 

the following requirements:  

a. Tank liquid level measurements are taken at the 

beginning and ending of a period of at least 36 hours 

using the appropriate minimum duration of test value in 

the table below during which no liquid is added to or 

removed from the tank;  

b. Level measurements are based on an average of two 

consecutive stick readings at both the beginning and 

ending of the period;  

c. The equipment used is capable of measuring the level 

of product over the full range of the tank's height to the 

nearest &frac18; 1/8 of an inch;  

d. A leak release is suspected and subject to the 

requirements of Part V (9VAC25-580-190 et seq.) if the 

variation between beginning and ending measurements 

exceeds the weekly or monthly standards in the following 

table:  

  

Nominal tank 

capacity 

Weekly 

standard 

(one test) 

Monthly 

standard 

(average of 

four tests) 

  550 gallons or 

less 
10 gallons 5 gallons 

  551-1,000 

gallons 
13 gallons 7 gallons 

  1,001-2,000 

gallons 
26 gallons 13 gallons 

  

  Nominal 

Tank 

Capacity 

Minimum 

Duration 

of Test 

Weekly 

Standard 

(One 

Test) 

Monthly 

Standard 

(Four 

Test 

Average) 

  550 

gallons or 

less  

36 hours  10 gallons  5 gallons  

  551 - 

1,000 

gallons  

(when 

tank 

diameter is 

64 inches)  

44 hours  9 gallons  4 gallons  

  551 - 

1,000 

gallons  

(when 

tank 

diameter is 

48 inches)  

58 hours  12 gallons  6 gallons  

  551 -1,000 

gallons  

(also 

requires 

periodic 

tank 

tightness 

testing) 

36 hours 13 gallons 7 gallons 

  1001 - 

2,000 

gallons  

(also 

requires 

periodic 

tank 

tightness 

testing) 

36 hours 26 gallons 13 gallons 

e. Only tanks Tanks of 550 gallons or less nominal 

capacity and tanks with a nominal capacity of 551 to 

1,000 gallons that meet the tank diameter criteria in the 

table in subsection 2 d of this section may use this as the 

sole method of release detection. Tanks All other tanks 

with a nominal capacity of 551 to 2,000 gallons may use 

the method in place of manual inventory control in 

subsection subdivision 1 of 9VAC25-580-160 this 

section. Tanks of greater than 2,000 gallons nominal 

capacity may not use this method to meet the 

requirements of this part.  
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3. Tank tightness testing. Tank tightness testing (or another 

test of equivalent performance) must be capable of 

detecting a 0.1 gallon per hour leak rate from any portion 

of the tank that routinely contains product while 

accounting for the effects of thermal expansion or 

contraction of the product, vapor pockets, tank 

deformation, evaporation or condensation, and the location 

of the water table.  

4. Automatic tank gauging. Equipment for automatic tank 

gauging that tests for the loss of product and conducts 

inventory control must meet the following requirements:  

a. The automatic product level monitor test can detect a 

0.2 gallon per hour leak rate from any portion of the tank 

that routinely contains product; and  

b. Inventory The automatic tank gauging equipment must 

meet the inventory control (or another other test of 

equivalent performance) is conducted in accordance with 

the requirements of subsection subdivision 1 of 

9VAC25-580-160. this section; and  

c. The test must be performed with the system operating 

in one of the following modes:  

(1) In-tank static testing conducted at least once every 30 

days; or  

(2) Continuous in-tank leak detection operating on an 

uninterrupted basis or operating within a process that 

allows the system to gather incremental measurements to 

determine the leak status of the tank at least once every 

30 days.  

5. Vapor monitoring. Testing or monitoring for vapors 

within the soil gas of the excavation zone must meet the 

following requirements:  

a. The materials used as backfill are sufficiently porous 

(e.g., gravel, sand, crushed rock) to readily allow 

diffusion of vapors from releases into the excavation 

area;  

b. The stored regulated substance, or a tracer compound 

placed in the tank system, is sufficiently volatile (e.g., 

gasoline) to result in a vapor level that is detectable by 

the monitoring devices located in the excavation zone in 

the event of a release from the tank;  

c. The measurement of vapors by the monitoring device 

is not rendered inoperative by the ground water 

groundwater, rainfall, or soil moisture or other known 

interferences so that a release could go undetected for 

more than 30 days;  

d. The level of background contamination in the 

excavation zone will not interfere with the method used 

to detect releases from the tank;  

e. The vapor monitors are designed and operated to 

detect any significant increase in concentration above 

background of the regulated substance stored in the tank 

system, a component or components of that substance, or 

a tracer compound placed in the tank system;  

f. In the UST excavation zone, the site is assessed to 

ensure compliance with the requirements in subdivisions 

5 a through d of this section subdivision 5 and to 

establish the number and positioning of monitoring wells 

that will detect releases within the excavation zone from 

any portion of the tank that routinely contains product; 

and  

g. Monitoring wells are clearly marked and secured to 

avoid unauthorized access and tampering.  

6. Ground water Groundwater monitoring. Testing or 

monitoring for liquids on the ground water groundwater 

must meet the following requirements:  

a. The regulated substance stored is not readily miscible 

in water and has a specific gravity of less than one;  

b. Ground water Groundwater is never more than 20 feet 

from the ground surface and the hydraulic conductivity 

of the soils between the UST system and the monitoring 

wells or devices is not less than 0.01 cm/sec (e.g., the soil 

should consist of gravels, coarse to medium sands, coarse 

silts or other permeable materials);  

c. The slotted portion of the monitoring well casing must 

be designed to prevent migration of natural soils or filter 

pack into the well and to allow entry of regulated 

substance on the water table into the well under both high 

and low ground water groundwater conditions;  

d. Monitoring wells shall be sealed from the ground 

surface to the top of the filter pack;  

e. Monitoring wells or devices intercept the excavation 

zone or are as close to it as is technically feasible;  

f. The continuous monitoring devices or manual methods 

used can detect the presence of at least &frac18; 1/8 of 

an inch of free product on top of the ground water 

groundwater in the monitoring wells;  

g. Within and immediately below the UST system 

excavation zone, the site is assessed to ensure 

compliance with the requirements in subdivisions 6 a 

through e of this section subdivision 6 and to establish 

the number and positioning of monitoring wells or 

devices that will detect releases from any portion of the 

tank that routinely contains product; and  

h. Monitoring wells are clearly marked and secured to 

avoid unauthorized access and tampering.  

7. Interstitial monitoring. Interstitial monitoring between 

the UST system and a secondary barrier immediately 

around or beneath it may be used, but only if the system is 

designed, constructed and installed to detect a leak from 

any portion of the tank that routinely contains product and 

also meets one of the following requirements:  

a. For double-walled UST systems, the sampling or 

testing method can detect a release leak through the inner 
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wall in any portion of the tank that routinely contains 

product;  

NOTE: The provisions outlined in the Steel Tank 

Institute's "Standard for Dual Wall Underground Storage 

Tanks" may be used as guidance for aspects of the design 

and construction of underground steel double-walled 

tanks.  

b. For UST systems with a secondary barrier within the 

excavation zone, the sampling or testing method used can 

detect a release leak between the UST system and the 

secondary barrier;  

(1) The secondary barrier around or beneath the UST 

system consists of artificially constructed material that is 

sufficiently thick and impermeable (at least 10
-6

 cm/sec 

for the regulated substance stored) to direct a release leak 

to the monitoring point and permit its detection;  

(2) The barrier is compatible with the regulated substance 

stored so that a release leak from the UST system will 

not cause a deterioration of the barrier allowing a release 

to pass through undetected;  

(3) For cathodically protected tanks, the secondary 

barrier must be installed so that it does not interfere with 

the proper operation of the cathodic protection system;  

(4) The ground water groundwater, soil moisture, or 

rainfall will not render the testing or sampling method 

used inoperative so that a release could go undetected for 

more than 30 days;  

(5) The site is assessed to ensure that the secondary 

barrier is always above the ground water groundwater 

and not in a 25-year flood plain, unless the barrier and 

monitoring designs are for use under such conditions; 

and,  

(6) Monitoring wells are clearly marked and secured to 

avoid unauthorized access and tampering.  

c. For tanks with an internally fitted liner, an automated 

device can detect a release leak between the inner wall of 

the tank and the liner, and the liner is compatible with the 

substance stored. 

8. Statistical inventory reconciliation. Release detection 

methods based on the application of statistical principles to 

inventory data similar to those described in subdivision 1 

of this section must meet the following requirements:  

a. Report a quantitative result with a calculated leak rate;  

b. Be capable of detecting a leak rate of 0.2 gallon per 

hour or a release of 150 gallons within 30 days; and  

c. Use a threshold that does not exceed one-half the 

minimum detectible leak rate.  

9. Other methods. Any other type of release detection 

method, or combination of methods, can be used if:  

a. It can detect a 0.2 gallon per hour leak rate or a release 

of 150 gallons within a month with a probability of 

detection of 0.95 and a probability of false alarm of 0.05; 

or  

b. The board may approve another method if the owner 

and operator can demonstrate that the method can detect 

a release as effectively as any of the methods allowed in 

subsections subdivisions 3 through 8 of this section. In 

comparing methods, the board shall consider the size of 

release that the method can detect and the frequency and 

reliability with which it can be detected. If the method is 

approved, the owner and operator must comply with any 

conditions imposed by the board on its use to ensure the 

protection of human health and the environment.  

9VAC25-580-170. Methods of release detection for piping.  

Owners and operators must obtain a permit and the required 

inspections in accordance with 9VAC25-580-50 or 9VAC25-

580-60 for the methods installation of certain release 

detection equipment contained in subdivisions 1 through 3 of 

9VAC25-580-170 of this section.  

Each method of release detection for piping used to meet the 

requirements of 9VAC25-580-140 must be conducted in 

accordance with the following:  

1. Automatic line leak detectors. Methods which that alert 

the operator to the presence of a leak by restricting or 

shutting off the flow of regulated substances through 

piping or triggering an audible or visual alarm may be used 

only if they detect leaks of three gallons per hour at 10 

pounds per square inch line pressure within one hour. An 

annual test of the operation of the leak detector must be 

conducted in accordance with the manufacturer's 

requirements subdivision A 3 c of 9VAC25-580-130.  

2. Line tightness testing. A periodic test of piping may be 

conducted only if it can detect a 0.1 gallon per hour leak 

rate at one and one-half times the operating pressure.  

3. Applicable tank methods. Any Except as described in 

subdivision 1 of 9VAC25-580-140, any of the methods in 

subsections subdivisions 5 through 8 9 of 9VAC25-580-

160 may be used if they are designed to detect a release 

from any portion of the underground piping that routinely 

contains regulated substances.  

9VAC25-580-180. Release detection recordkeeping.  

All UST system owners and operators must maintain records 

in accordance with 9VAC25-580-120 demonstrating 

compliance with all applicable requirements of this part. 

These records must include the following:  

1. All written performance claims pertaining to any release 

detection system used, and the manner in which these 

claims have been justified or tested by the equipment 

manufacturer or installer, must be maintained for five years 

from the date of installation or as long as the method of 

release detection is used, whichever is greater. Not later 

than (insert date three years after effective date of 

amendment), records of site assessments required under 

subdivisions 5 f and 6 g of 9VAC25-580-160 must be 
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maintained for as long as the methods are used. Records of 

site assessments developed after (insert effective date of 

amendment) must be signed by a professional engineer or 

professional geologist, or equivalent licensed professional 

with experience in environmental engineering, 

hydrogeology, or other relevant technical discipline 

acceptable to the board;  

2. The results of any sampling, testing, or monitoring must 

be maintained for at least one year, or for another 

reasonable period of time determined by the board, except 

that the as follows: 

a. The results of annual operation tests conducted in 

accordance with subdivision A 3 of 9VAC25-580-130 

must be maintained for three years. At a minimum, the 

results must list each component tested, indicate whether 

each component tested meets criteria in subdivision A 3 

of 9VAC25-580-130 or needs to have action taken, and 

describe any action taken to correct an issue; 

b. The results of tank tightness testing conducted in 

accordance with subsection subdivision 3 of 9VAC25-

580-160 must be retained until the next test is conducted; 

and 

c. The results of tank tightness testing, line tightness 

testing, and vapor monitoring using a tracer compound 

placed in the tank system conducted in accordance with 

9VAC25-580-390 D  must be retained until the next test 

is conducted; and  

3. Written documentation of all calibration, maintenance, 

and repair of release detection equipment permanently 

located on-site must be maintained for at least one year 

after the servicing work is completed or for such longer 

period as may be required by the board. Any schedules of 

required calibration and maintenance provided by the 

release detection equipment manufacturer must be retained 

for five years from the date of installation.  

Part V  

Release Reporting, Investigation, and Confirmation  

9VAC25-580-190. Reporting of suspected releases.  

Owners and operators of UST systems must report to the 

board within 24 hours and follow the procedures in 9VAC25-

580-210 for any of the following conditions:  

1. The discovery by owners and operators or others of 

released regulated substances at the UST site or in the 

surrounding area (such as the presence of free product or 

vapors in soils, basements, sewer and utility lines, and 

nearby surface water);  

2. Unusual operating conditions observed by owners and 

operators (such as the erratic behavior of product 

dispensing equipment, the sudden loss of product from the 

UST system, or an unexplained presence of water in the 

tank) tank, or liquid in the interstitial space of secondarily 

contained systems), unless system equipment is found to 

be defective but not leaking, and is immediately repaired or 

replaced;: 

a. The system equipment or component is found not to be 

releasing regulated substances to the environment;  

b. Any defective system equipment or component is 

immediately repaired or replaced; and  

c. For secondarily contained systems, except as provided 

for in subdivision 7 b (4) of 9VAC25-580-160, any liquid 

in the interstitial space not used as part of the interstitial 

monitoring method (for example, brine filled) is 

immediately removed. 

3. Monitoring results, including investigation of an alarm, 

from a release detection method required under 9VAC25-

580-140 and 9VAC25-580-150 that indicate a release may 

have occurred unless:  

a. The monitoring device is found to be defective, and is 

immediately repaired, recalibrated or replaced, and 

additional monitoring does not confirm the initial result; 

or  

b. The leak is contained in the secondary containment 

and:  

(1) Except as provided for in subdivision 7 b (4) of 

9VAC25-580-160, any liquid in the interstitial space not 

used as part of the interstitial monitoring method (for 

example, brine filled) is immediately removed; and  

(2) Any defective system equipment or component is 

immediately repaired or replaced; 

c. In the case of inventory control, described in 

subdivision 1 of 9VAC25-580-160, a second month of 

data or in the case of manual tank gauging, a second 

week or month as prescribed in the chart under 

subdivision 2 d of 9VAC25-580-160 does not confirm 

the initial result. or the investigation determines no 

release has occurred; or 

d. The alarm was investigated and determined to be a 

nonrelease event (for example, from a power surge or 

caused by filling the tank during release detection 

testing). 

9VAC25-580-210. Release investigation and confirmation 

steps.  

Unless corrective action is initiated in accordance with Part 

VI (9VAC25-580-230 et seq.) of this chapter, owners and 

operators must immediately investigate and confirm all 

suspected releases of regulated substances requiring reporting 

under 9VAC25-580-190 within seven days, or another 

reasonable time period specified by the board upon written 

request made and approved within seven days after reporting 

of the suspected release.  

The following steps are required for release investigation 

and confirmation:  

1. System test. Owners and operators must conduct tests 

(according to the requirements for tightness testing in 
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subsection subdivision 3 of 9VAC25-580-160 and 

subdivision 2 of 9VAC25-580-170) that determine whether 

a leak exists in that portion of the tank that routinely 

contains product, or the attached delivery piping, or both 

or, as appropriate, secondary containment testing described 

in subdivision 4 of 9VAC25-580-110. 

a. Owners The test must determine whether: 

(1) A leak exists in that portion of the tank that routinely 

contains product or in the attached delivery piping; or 

(2) A breach of either wall of the secondary containment 

has occurred. 

b. If the system test confirms a leak into the interstice or 

a release, owners and operators must repair, replace or, 

upgrade, or close the UST system,. In addition, owners 

and operators must begin corrective action in accordance 

with Part VI if the test results for the system, tank, or 

delivery piping indicate that a leak release exists.  

b. c. Further investigation is not required if the test 

results for the system, tank, and delivery piping do not 

indicate that a leak release exists and if environmental 

contamination is not the basis for suspecting a release.  

c. d. Owners and operators must conduct a site check as 

described in subdivision 2 of this section if the test 

results for the system, tank, and delivery piping do not 

indicate that a leak release exists but environmental 

contamination is the basis for suspecting a release.  

2. Site check. Owners and operators must measure for the 

presence of a release where contamination is most likely to 

be present at the UST site. In selecting sample types, 

sample locations, and measurement methods, owners and 

operators must consider the nature of the stored substance, 

the type of initial alarm or cause for suspicion, the type of 

backfill, the depth of ground water groundwater, and other 

factors appropriate for identifying the presence and source 

of the release. Samples shall be tested according to 

established EPA analytical methods or methods approved 

by the board.  

a. If the test results for the excavation zone or the UST 

site indicate that a release has occurred, owners and 

operators must begin corrective action in accordance 

with Part VI of this chapter.  

b. If the test results for the excavation zone or the UST 

site do not indicate that a release has occurred, further 

investigation is not required.  

9VAC25-580-250. Initial abatement measures and site 

check.  

A. Unless directed to do otherwise by the board, owners and 

operators must perform the following abatement measures:  

1. Remove as much of the regulated substance from the 

UST system as is necessary to prevent further release to the 

environment;  

2. Visually inspect any aboveground releases or exposed 

below ground belowground releases and prevent further 

migration of the released substance into surrounding soils 

and ground water groundwater;  

3. Continue to monitor and mitigate any additional fire and 

safety hazards posed by vapors or free product that have 

migrated from the UST excavation zone and entered into 

subsurface structures (such as sewers or basements);  

4. Remedy hazards posed by contaminated soils that are 

excavated or exposed as a result of release confirmation, 

site investigation, abatement, or corrective action activities. 

If these remedies include treatment or disposal of soils, the 

owner and operator must comply with applicable state and 

local requirements;  

5. Measure for the presence of a release where 

contamination is most likely to be present at the UST site, 

unless the presence and source of the release have been 

confirmed in accordance with the site check required by 

subdivision 2 of 9VAC25-580-210 or the closure site 

assessment of subsection A of 9VAC25-580-330. In 

selecting sample types, sample locations, and measurement 

methods, the owner and operator must consider the nature 

of the stored substance, the type of backfill, depth to 

ground water groundwater and other factors as appropriate 

for identifying the presence and source of the release. 

Samples shall be tested according to established EPA 

analytical methods or methods approved the board; and  

6. Investigate to determine the possible presence of free 

product, and begin free product removal as soon as 

practicable and in accordance with 9VAC25-580-270.  

B. Within 20 days after release confirmation, or within 

another reasonable period of time determined by the board 

upon written request made and approved within 20 days after 

release confirmation, owners and operators must submit a 

report to the board summarizing the initial abatement steps 

taken under subsection A of this section and any resulting 

information or data.  

9VAC25-580-260. Site characterization.  

A. Owners and operators must assemble information about 

the site and the nature of the release, including information 

gained while confirming the release or completing the initial 

abatement measures in 9VAC25-580-230 and 9VAC25-580-

240. This information must include, but is not necessarily 

limited to, the following:  

1. Data on the material released and the estimated quantity 

of release;  

2. Data from available sources or site investigations 

concerning the following:  

a. Site assessment to include: data on the 

physical/chemical properties of the contaminant; nature 

and quantity and extent of the release; evidence that free 

product is found to need recovery; geologic/hydrologic 

site characterization; current and projected land/water 
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uses; water quality; subsurface soil conditions; evidence 

that contaminated soils are in contact with the ground 

water groundwater; locations of subsurface conduits 

(e.g., sewers, utility lines, etc.); and climatological 

conditions. Samples collected for this site 

characterization shall be tested according to established 

EPA analytical methods or methods approved by the 

board;  

b. Risk (exposure) assessment to include: evidence that 

wells of the area have been affected; use and 

approximate locations of wells potentially affected by the 

release; identification of potential and impacted 

receptors; migration routes; surrounding populations; 

potential for additional environmental damage;  

c. Remediation assessment to include: potential for 

remediation and applicability of different remediation 

technologies to the site.  

3. Results of the site check required under subdivision A 5 

of 9VAC25-580-250; and  

4. Results of the free product investigations required under 

subdivision A 6 of 9VAC25-580-250, to be used by 

owners and operators to determine whether free product 

must be recovered under 9VAC25-580-270.  

B. Within 45 days of release confirmation or another 

reasonable period of time determined by the board upon 

written request made and approved within 45 days after 

release confirmation, owners and operators must submit the 

information collected in compliance with subsection A of this 

section to the board in a manner that demonstrates its 

applicability and technical adequacy, or in a format and 

according to the schedule required by the board.  

9VAC25-580-280. Corrective action plan.  

A. At any point after reviewing the information submitted in 

compliance with 9VAC25-580-240 through, 9VAC25-580-

250, and 9VAC25-580-260, the board may require owners 

and operators to submit additional information or to develop 

and submit a corrective action plan for responding to 

contaminated soils and ground water groundwater. If a plan is 

required, owners and operators must submit the plan 

according to a schedule and format established by the board. 

Alternatively, owners and operators may, after fulfilling the 

requirements of 9VAC25-580-240 through, 9VAC25-580-

250, and 9VAC25-580-260, choose to submit a corrective 

action plan for responding to contaminated soil and ground 

water groundwater. In either case, owners and operators are 

responsible for submitting a plan that provides for adequate 

protection of human health and the environment as 

determined by the board, and must modify their plan as 

necessary to meet this standard.  

B. In conjunction with the information provided under 

subdivision A 2 of 9VAC25-580-260 (site assessment, risk 

(exposure) assessment, and remediation assessment), the 

corrective action plan must include the following information:  

1. Detailed conceptual design including narrative 

description of technologies and how they will be applied at 

the site;  

2. Projected remediation end points/degree of remediation;  

3. Schedule of project implementation;  

4. Schedule to achieve projected end points;  

5. Operational and post-operational monitoring schedules 

(to include data submittals);  

6. Proposed disposition of any wastes and discharges (if 

applicable);  

7. Actions taken to obtain any necessary federal, state and 

local permits to implement the plan; and  

8. Proposed actions to notify persons directly affected by 

the release or the planned corrective action.  

C. The board will approve the corrective action plan only 

after ensuring that implementation of the plan will adequately 

protect human health, safety, and the environment. In making 

this determination, the board will consider the following 

factors as appropriate:  

1. The physical and chemical characteristics of the 

regulated substance, including its toxicity, persistence, and 

potential for migration;  

2. The hydrogeologic characteristics of the facility and the 

surrounding area;  

3. The proximity, quality, and current and future uses of 

nearby surface water and ground water groundwater;  

4. The potential effects of residual contamination on 

nearby surface water and ground water groundwater;  

5. The site, risk (exposure), and remediation assessments 

as required by subdivision A 2 of 9VAC25-580-260; and  

6. Any information assembled in compliance with this part.  

D. Upon approval of the corrective action plan or as directed 

by the board, owners and operators must implement the plan, 

including modifications to the plan made by the board. They 

must monitor, evaluate, and report the results of 

implementing the plan in accordance with a schedule and in a 

format established by the board.  

E. Owners and operators may, in the interest of minimizing 

environmental contamination and promoting more effective 

cleanup, begin cleanup of soil and ground water groundwater 

before the corrective action plan is approved provided that 

they:  

1. Notify the board of their intention to begin cleanup and 

obtain written approval to proceed with an agreed upon 

activity;  

2. Comply with any conditions imposed by the board, 

including halting cleanup or mitigating adverse 

consequences from cleanup activities; and  

3. Incorporate these self-initiated cleanup measures in the 

corrective action plan that is submitted to the board for 

approval.  
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Part VII  

Out-of-Service UST Systems and Closure  

9VAC25-580-310. Temporary closure.  

Owners and operators must obtain a permit and the required 

inspections in accordance with the provisions of the Virginia 

Uniform Statewide Building Code (§ 36-97 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia).  

A permit from the building official must be obtained prior to 

temporary tank closure. No UST system shall be temporarily 

closed unless and until the system is inspected in accordance 

with the provisions of the Virginia Uniform Statewide 

Building Code (§ 36-97 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

In the case of state-owned facilities the Department of 

General Services shall function as the building official in 

accordance with § 36-98.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

In the case of federal facilities the building official must be 

contacted. Owners and operators must obtain a permit and the 

required inspections in accordance with the provisions of the 

Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (§ 36-97 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia).  

1. When an UST system is temporarily closed, owners and 

operators must continue operation and maintenance of 

corrosion protection in accordance with 9VAC25-580-90, 

and any release detection in accordance with Part Parts IV 

(9VAC25-580-130 et seq.) and X (9VAC25-580-380 et 

seq.) of this chapter. Parts V (9VAC25-580-190 et seq.) 

and VI (9VAC25-580-230 et seq.) of this chapter must be 

complied with if a release is suspected or confirmed. 

However, release detection is and release detection 

operation and maintenance testing and inspections in Parts 

III (9VAC25-580-80 et seq.) and IV of this chapter are not 

required as long as the UST system is empty. The UST 

system is empty when all materials have been removed 

using commonly employed practices so that no more than 

2.5 centimeters (one inch) of residue, or 0.3% by weight of 

the total capacity of the UST system, remain in the system. 

In addition, spill and overfill operation and maintenance 

testing and inspections in Part III of this chapter are not 

required. 

2. When an UST system is temporarily closed for three 

months or more, owners and operators must also comply 

with the following requirements:  

a. Leave vent lines open and functioning; and  

b. Cap and secure all other lines, pumps, manways, and 

ancillary equipment.  

3. When an UST system is temporarily closed for more 

than 12 months, owners and operators must permanently 

close the UST system if it does not meet either 

performance standards in 9VAC25-580-50 for new UST 

systems or the upgrading requirements in 9VAC25-580-60, 

except that the spill and overfill equipment requirements 

do not have to be met. Owners and operators must 

permanently close the substandard UST systems at the end 

of this 12-month period in accordance with 9VAC25-580-

320 through 9VAC25-580-350, unless the building official 

provides an extension of the 12-month temporary closure 

period. Owners and operators must complete a site 

assessment in accordance with 9VAC25-580-330 before 

such an extension can be applied for.  

9VAC25-580-320. Permanent closure and changes-in-

service.  

Owners and operators must obtain a permit and the required 

inspections in accordance with the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (§ 36-47 36-97 et seq. of the Code 

of Virginia).  

A permit from the building official must be obtained prior to 

permanent tank closure or a change-in-service. No UST 

system shall be permanently closed or changed-in-service 

unless and until the system is inspected in accordance with 

the provisions of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 

Code (§ 36-47 36-97 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

If such closure is in response to immediate corrective 

actions that necessitate timely tank removal, then the building 

official must be notified and the official's directions followed 

until a permit is issued.  

In the case of state-owned facilities the Department of 

General Services shall function as the building official in 

accordance with § 36-98.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

In the case of federal facilities the building official must be 

contacted. Owners and operators must obtain a permit and the 

required inspections in accordance with the provisions of the 

Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code.  

1. Owners and operators must within 30 days after either 

permanent closure or a change-in-service submit an 

amended UST notification form (Appendix I) to the board.  

2. The required assessment of the excavation zone under 

9VAC25-580-330 must be performed after notifying the 

building official but before completion of the permanent 

closure or a change-in-service.  

3. To permanently close a tank, owners and operators must 

empty and clean it by removing all liquids and 

accumulated sludges. When the owner or operator suspects 

that the residual sludges are hazardous in nature the 

Department of Environmental Quality regulations shall be 

followed to facilitate the proper treatment, storage, 

manifesting, transport, and disposal. All tanks taken out of 

service permanently must also be either removed from the 

ground or, filled with an inert solid material, or closed in 

place in a manner approved by the board.  

4. Continued use of an UST system to store a nonregulated 

substance is considered a change-in-service. Before a 

change-in-service, owners and operators must empty and 

clean the tank by removing all liquid and accumulated 

sludge and conduct a site assessment in accordance with 

9VAC25-580-330.  
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NOTE: The following cleaning and closure procedures 

may be used to comply with this section:  

a. American Petroleum Institute Recommended Practice 

RP 1604, "Removal and Disposal Closure of Used 

Underground Petroleum Storage Tanks";  

b. American Petroleum Institute Publication Standard 

2015, "Safe Entry and Cleaning of Petroleum Storage 

Tanks, Planning and Managing Tank Entry from 

Decommissioning through Recommissioning";  

c. American Petroleum Institute Recommended Practice 

2016, Guidelines and Procedures for Entering and 

Cleaning Petroleum Storage Tanks; 

d. American Petroleum Institute Recommended Practice 

RP 1631, "Interior Lining and Periodic Inspection of 

Underground Storage Tanks," may be used as guidance 

for compliance with this section; and  

e. National Fire Protection Association Standard 326, 

Standard for the Safeguarding of Tanks and Containers 

for Entry, Cleaning, or Repair; and 

d. f. The National Institute for Occupational Safety and 

Health Publication 80-106, "Criteria for a Recommended 

Standard *** Working in Confined Space" may be used 

as guidance for conducting safe closure procedures at 

some hazardous substance tanks. 

9VAC25-580-330. Assessing the site at closure or change-

in-service.  

A. Before permanent closure or a change-in-service is 

completed, owners and operators must measure for the 

presence of a release where contamination is most likely to be 

present at the UST site. In selecting sample type or types (soil 

or water) and sample location or locations, and measurement 

methods, owners and operators must consider the method of 

closure, the nature of the stored substance, the type of 

backfill, the depth to ground water, groundwater and other 

factors appropriate for identifying the presence of a release. 

Samples shall be tested according to established EPA 

analytical methods or methods approved by the board. Where 

the suspected release is a petroleum product, the samples 

shall be analyzed for total petroleum hydrocarbons (TPH). 

The requirements of this section are satisfied if one of the 

external release detection methods allowed in subsections 

subdivisions 5 and 6 of 9VAC25-580-160 is operating in 

accordance with the requirements in 9VAC25-580-160 at the 

time of closure, and indicates no release has occurred.  

B. In all cases where a sample or samples are analyzed, the 

owner and operator shall submit, along with the amended 

UST notification form as required in subsection 1 of 

9VAC25-580-320, a copy of the laboratory results (including 

a statement as to the test method used), a description of the 

area sampled, and a site map depicting tanks, piping, and 

sample location or locations.  

C. If contaminated soils, contaminated ground water, 

groundwater or free product as a liquid or vapor is discovered 

under subsection A of this section, or by any other manner, 

owners and operators must begin corrective action in 

accordance with Part VI of this chapter.  

Part IX 

Delivery Prohibition 

9VAC25-580-370. Requirements for delivery prohibition. 

A. No person shall deliver to, deposit into, or accept a 

petroleum product or other regulated substance into an 

underground storage tank that has been identified under 

subdivision G 2 of this section by the board to be ineligible 

for such delivery, deposit, or acceptance. Unless authorized in 

writing by the board, no person shall alter, deface, remove, or 

attempt to remove a tag that prohibits delivery, deposit, or 

acceptance of a petroleum product or other regulated 

substance to an underground storage tank.  

B. When an inspection or other information provides reason 

to believe one or more of the following violations exists, the 

board shall initiate a proceeding in accordance with 

subsection D of this section: 

1. Spill prevention equipment is not installed on the UST 

system properly as required by 9VAC25-580-50 or 

9VAC25-580-60 or is disabled; 

2. Overfill protection equipment is not installed on the 

UST system properly as required by 9VAC25-580-50 or 

9VAC25-580-60 or is disabled; 

3. Release detection equipment is not installed on the UST 

system properly or is disabled or a release detection 

method is not being performed as required by 9VAC25-

580-50 or 9VAC25-580-60; 

4. Corrosion protection equipment is not installed on the 

UST system properly as required by 9VAC25-580-50 or 

9VAC25-580-60 or is disabled; 

5. Secondary containment is not installed on the UST 

system properly as required by 9VAC25-580-50, 9VAC25-

580-60, or 9VAC25-580-150 or is disabled; or 

6. The board has reason to believe that an UST system is 

leaking and the owner or operator has failed to initiate and 

complete the investigation and confirmation requirements 

of 9VAC25-580-190 through, 9VAC25-580-200, and 

9VAC25-580-210. 

C. For purposes of subsection B of this section, spill 

prevention, overfill prevention, corrosion protection, release 

detection, or secondary containment equipment that is not 

verifiable as installed is not installed. 

D. The board shall provide written notice to the owner and 

operator pursuant to subdivision G 1 of this section that it will 

conduct an informal fact finding pursuant to § 2.2-4019 of the 

Code of Virginia to determine whether the underground 

storage tank(s) tank shall be ineligible for delivery, deposit, or 

acceptance of a petroleum product or other regulated 

substance. The fact finding shall be scheduled as soon as 

practicable after the notice, and within 10 business days in 
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any event. Upon a finding to impose delivery prohibition, the 

board shall affix a tag to the fill pipe of the underground 

storage tank(s) tank prohibiting delivery, deposit, or 

acceptance of a petroleum product or other regulated 

substance.  

E. When the board issues a notice of alleged violation based 

on an inspection or other information that provides reason to 

believe a UST system is not in compliance with the 

requirements of Part II (9VAC25-580-50 et seq.), III 

(9VAC25-580-80 et seq.), or IV (9VAC25-580-130 et seq.), 

or X (9VAC25-580-380 et seq.) of this chapter not listed in 

subsection B of this section, the requirements of 9VAC25-

580-240 through 9VAC25-580-280, or the requirements of 

9VAC25-590 (Petroleum Underground Storage Tank 

Financial Responsibility Requirements), and the owner or 

operator fails to comply with the notice of alleged violation 

within the time prescribed by the board, the board may 

proceed in accordance with subsection D of this section. 

F. The board may classify all underground storage tanks 

containing petroleum or any other regulated substance at a 

facility as ineligible for delivery, deposit, or acceptance of a 

petroleum product or other regulated substance if one or more 

underground storage tanks at the facility has been classified 

as ineligible for more than 90 days and the ineligible 

underground storage tank(s) tank has neither been closed in 

accordance with 9VAC25-580-310 or 9VAC25-580-320 nor 

returned to compliance. The board shall provide written 

notice to the owner and operator pursuant to subdivision G 1 

of this section that it will conduct an informal fact finding 

pursuant to § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia to determine 

whether all the underground storage tanks shall be ineligible 

for delivery, deposit, or acceptance of a petroleum product or 

other regulated substance. The fact finding shall be scheduled 

as soon as practicable after the notice, and within 10 business 

days in any event. 

G. Notice.  

1. The board shall provide written notice of an informal 

fact finding to consider delivery prohibition to the owner 

and operator. The notice shall meet the requirements of 

§ 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia. The notice shall further 

advise the owner and operator of the possibility of a special 

order pursuant to subsection I of this section. 

2. The presence of the delivery prohibition tag on the fill 

pipe of an ineligible underground storage tank shall be 

sufficient notice to any person, including the owner, the 

operator, and product deliverers, that the underground 

storage tank is ineligible for delivery or deposit. The board 

may use other methods in addition to the delivery 

prohibition tag to provide notice to product deliverers. 

H. An owner or operator shall notify the board in writing 

once an ineligible underground storage tank has been returned 

to compliance and provide a written report detailing all 

actions that have been taken to return the UST system to 

compliance, as well as supporting evidence such as test 

reports, invoices, receipts, inventory records, etc. As soon as 

practicable after confirming that the underground storage tank 

is in compliance with the requirements of this chapter or 

9VAC25-590, or both, but in no event later than two business 

days, the board shall remove or authorize the owner or 

operator, in writing, to remove the delivery prohibition tag. 

I. If the board determines that a violation exists that warrants 

the imposition of delivery prohibition, the board may further 

consider whether the threat posed by the violation is 

outweighed by the need for fuel from the underground storage 

tank(s) tank in question to meet an emergency situation or the 

need for availability of or access to motor fuel in any rural 

and remote area. If the board finds that such a condition 

outweighs the immediate risk of the violation, the board may 

defer imposition of delivery prohibition for up to 180 days. In 

every such case the director shall consider (i) issuing a special 

order under the authority of subdivision 10 9 of § 10.1-1186 

of the Code of Virginia prescribing a prompt schedule for 

abating the violation and (ii) imposing a civil penalty. 

J. The board may temporarily authorize an owner or 

operator to accept delivery into an ineligible underground 

storage tank(s) tank if such activity is necessary to test or 

calibrate the underground storage tank(s) tank or dispenser 

system. 

K. Nothing in this section shall prevent the board or the 

director from exercising any other enforcement authority 

including, without limitation, their authority to issue 

emergency orders and their authority to seek injunctive relief. 

APPENDIX I. VIRGINIA UNDERGROUND STORAGE 

TANK NOTIFICATION FORMS. (Repealed.) 

Notification for Underground Storage Tanks, EPA Form (50 

FR 46602).  

Editor's Note: The Notification for Underground Storage 

Tanks (USTs), Virginia DEQ Water Form 7530-2 is stricken. 
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APPENDIX II. STATEMENT FOR SHIPPING TICKETS 

AND INVOICES. (Repealed.) 

A Federal law (the Resource Conservation and Recovery 

Act (RCRA), as amended (Pub.L. 98-616)) requires owners 

of certain underground storage tanks to notify designated 

state or local agencies by May 8, 1986, of the existence of 

their tanks. Notifications for tanks brought into use after May 

8, 1986, must be made within 30 days. Consult EPA's 

regulations, issued on November 8, 1985, (40 CFR Part 280) 

to determine if you are affected by this law.  

Part X 

UST Systems with Field-Constructed Tanks and Airport 

Hydrant Fuel Distribution Systems 

9VAC25-580-380. General requirements. 

A. Implementation of requirements. Owners and operators 

must comply with the requirements of this part for UST 

systems with field-constructed tanks and airport hydrant 

systems as follows: 

1. For UST systems installed before (insert effective date 

of amendment) the requirements are effective according to 

the following schedule: 

  Requirement Effective Date 

  Upgrading UST systems; 

general operating 

requirements; and 

operator training  

(insert date three years 

after effective date of 

amendment) 

  Release detection (insert date three years 

after effective date of 

amendment) 

  Release reporting, 

response, and 

investigation; closure; 

financial responsibility 

and notification (except 

as provided in subsection 

B of this section) 

(insert effective date of 

amendment) 

2. For UST systems installed on or after (insert effective 

date of amendment), the requirements apply at installation. 

B. Not later than (insert date three years after effective date 

of amendment), all owners of previously deferred UST 

systems must submit a one-time notice of tank system 

existence to the board, using the UST Notification Form. 

Owners and operators of UST systems in use as of (insert 

effective date of amendment) must demonstrate financial 

responsibility at the time of submission of the notification 

form. 

C. Except as provided in 9VAC25-580-390, owners and 

operators must comply with the requirements of Parts I 

(9VAC25-580-10 et seq.) through VII (9VAC25-580-310 et 

seq.) and IX (9VAC25-580-370 et seq.) of this chapter and 

9VAC25-590. 

D. In addition to the codes of practice listed in 9VAC25-

580-50, owners and operators may use military construction 

criteria, such as Unified Facilities Criteria (UFC) 3-460-01, 

Petroleum Fuel Facilities, when designing, constructing, and 

installing airport hydrant systems and UST systems with 

field-constructed tanks.  

9VAC25-580-390. Additions, exceptions, and alternatives 

for UST systems with field-constructed tanks and airport 

hydrant systems. 

A. Exception to piping secondary containment requirements. 

Owners and operators may use single walled piping when 

installing or replacing piping associated with UST systems 

with field-constructed tanks greater than 50,000 gallons and 

piping associated with airport hydrant systems. Piping 

associated with UST systems with field-constructed tanks less 

than or equal to 50,000 gallons not part of an airport hydrant 

system must meet the secondary containment requirement 

when installed or replaced. 

B. Upgrade requirements. Not later than (insert date three 

years after effective date of amendment), airport hydrant 

systems and UST systems with field-constructed tanks where 

installation commenced before (insert effective date of 

amendment) must meet the following requirements or be 

permanently closed pursuant to Part VII (9VAC25-580-310 et 

seq.) of this chapter. 

1. Corrosion protection. UST system components in 

contact with the ground that routinely contain regulated 

substances must meet one of the following:  

a. Except as provided in subsection A of this section, the 

new UST system performance standards for tanks at 

subdivision 1 of  9VAC25-580-50 and for piping at 

subdivision 2 at 9VAC25-580-50; or  

b. Be constructed of metal and cathodically protected 

according to a code of practice developed by a nationally 

recognized association or independent testing laboratory 

and meets the following:  

(1) Cathodic protection must meet the requirements of 

subdivisions 1 b (2), (3), and (4) of 9VAC25-580-50 for 

tanks and subdivisions 2 b (2), (3), and (4) of 9VAC25-

580-50 for piping.  

(2) Tanks older than 10 years without cathodic protection 

must be assessed to ensure the tank is structurally sound 

and free of corrosion holes prior to adding cathodic 

protection. The assessment must be by internal inspection 

or another method determined by the board to adequately 

assess the tank for structural soundness and corrosion 

holes.  

Note: The following codes of practice may be used to 

comply with subsection B of this section:  

(a) NACE International Standard Practice SP0285, 

External Control of Underground Storage Tank Systems 

by Cathodic Protection;  
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(b) NACE International Standard Practice SP0169, 

Control of External Corrosion on Underground or 

Submerged Metallic Piping Systems; 

(c) National Leak Prevention Association Standard 631, 

Chapter C, Internal Inspection of Steel Tanks for Retrofit 

of Cathodic Protection; or 

(d) American Society for Testing and Materials Standard 

G158, Standard Guide for Three Methods of Assessing 

Buried Steel Tanks. 

2. Spill and overfill prevention equipment. To prevent 

spilling and overfilling associated with product transfer to 

the UST system, all UST systems with field-constructed 

tanks and airport hydrant systems must comply with new 

UST system spill and overfill prevention equipment 

requirements specified in subdivision 3 of 9VAC25-580-

50.  

C. Walkthrough inspections. In addition to the walkthrough 

inspection requirements in 9VCA25-580-85, owners and 

operators must inspect the following additional areas for 

airport hydrant systems at least once every 30 days if 

confined space entry according to the Occupational Safety 

and Health Administration (see 29 CFR Part 1910) is not 

required or at least annually if confined space entry is 

required and keep documentation of the inspection according 

to 9VAC25-580-85 B.  

1. Hydrant pits – visually check for any damage, remove 

any liquid or debris, and check for any leaks; and  

2. Hydrant piping vaults – check for any hydrant piping 

leaks.  

D. Release detection. Owners and operators of UST systems 

with field-constructed tanks and airport hydrant systems must 

begin meeting the release detection requirements described in 

this part not later than (insert date three years after effective 

date of amendment). 

1. Methods of release detection for field-constructed tanks 

and airport hydrant systems. Owners and operators of shop 

fabricated USTs that are part of airport hydrant systems 

and field-constructed tanks with a capacity less than or 

equal to 50,000 gallons must meet the release detection 

requirements in Part IV (9VAC25-580-130 et seq.) of this 

chapter. Owners and operators of field-constructed tanks 

with a capacity greater than 50,000 gallons must meet 

either the requirements in Part IV of this chapter (except 

subdivisions 5 and 6 of 9VAC25-580-160 must be 

combined with inventory control as stated in this 

subdivision) or use one or a combination of the following 

alternative methods of release detection:  

a. Conduct an annual tank tightness test that can detect a 

0.5 gallon per hour leak rate;  

b. Use an automatic tank gauging system to perform 

release detection at least every 30 days that can detect a 

leak rate less than or equal to one gallon per hour. This 

method must be combined with a tank tightness test that 

can detect a 0.2 gallon per hour leak rate performed at 

least every three years;  

c. Use an automatic tank gauging system to perform 

release detection at least every 30 days that can detect a 

leak rate less than or equal to two gallons per hour. This 

method must be combined with a tank tightness test that 

can detect a 0.2 gallon per hour leak rate performed at 

least every two years;  

d. Perform vapor monitoring (conducted in accordance 

with subdivision 5 of 9VAC25-580-160 for a tracer 

compound placed in the tank system) capable of 

detecting a 0.1 gallon per hour leak rate at least every 

two years; 

e. Perform inventory control (conducted in accordance 

with Department of Defense Directive 4140.25, ATA 

Airport Fuel Facility Operations and Maintenance 

Guidance Manual, or equivalent procedures) at least 

every 30 days that can detect a leak equal to or less than 

0.5% of flow-through; and 

(1) Perform a tank tightness test that can detect a 0.5 

gallon per hour leak rate at least every two years; or  

(2) Perform vapor monitoring or groundwater monitoring 

(conducted in accordance with subdivision 5 or 6 of 

9VAC25-580-160, respectively, for the stored regulated 

substance) at least every 30 days; or  

f. Another method approved by the board if the owner 

and operator can demonstrate that the method can detect 

a release as effectively as any of the methods allowed in 

subdivisions D 1 a through D 1 e of this section. In 

comparing methods, the board shall consider the size of 

release that the method can detect and the frequency and 

reliability of detection.  

2. Methods of release detection for piping. Owners and 

operators of underground piping associated with field-

constructed tanks less than or equal to 50,000 gallons must 

meet the release detection requirements in Part IV of this 

chapter. Owners and operators of underground piping 

associated with airport hydrant systems and field-

constructed tanks greater than 50,000 gallons must follow 

either the requirements in Part IV (except subdivisions 5 

and 6 of 9VAC25-580-160 must be combined with 

inventory control as stated in this subdivision) or use one 

or a combination of the following alternative methods of 

release detection:  

a. (1) Perform a semiannual or annual line tightness test 

at or above the piping operating pressure in accordance 

with the following table: 

  Maximum Leak Detection Rate Per Test Section 

Volume 

  Test Section 

Volume  

(Gallons)  

Semiannual 

Test -  

Leak Detection 

Annual Test -  

Leak 

Detection 
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Rate Not To 

Exceed 

(Gallons Per 

Hour)  

Rate Not To 

Exceed 

(Gallons Per 

Hour)  

  < 50,000  1.0  0.5  

  ≥ 50,000 to  

< 75,000  

1.5  0.75  

  ≥ 75,000 to  

< 100,000  

2.0  1.0  

  ≥ 100,000  3.0  1.5  

(2) Piping segment volumes equal to or greater than 

100,000 gallons not capable of meeting the maximum 3.0 

gallons per hour leak rate for the semiannual test may be 

tested at a leak rate up to 6.0 gallons per hour according 

to the following schedule: 

  Phase in for Piping Segments ≥ 100,000 Gallons in 

Volume 

  First test Not later than (insert date three 

years after effective date of 

amendment) (may use up to 6.0 

gph leak rate) 

  Second test Between (insert date three years 

after effective date of rule) and 

(insert date six years after 

effective date of amendment) 

(may use up to 6.0 gph leak rate)  

  Third test Between (insert date six years 

after effective date of rule) and 

(insert date seven years after 

effective date of amendment) 

(must use 3.0 gph for leak rate)  

  Subsequent 

tests 

After (insert date seven years after 

effective date of amendment), 

begin using semiannual or annual 

line testing according to the 

Maximum Leak Detection Rate 

Per Test Section Volume table 

above 

b. Perform vapor monitoring (conducted in accordance 

with subdivision 5 of 9VAC25-580-160 for a tracer 

compound placed in the tank system) capable of 

detecting a 0.1 gallon per hour leak rate at least every 

two years;  

c. Perform inventory control (conducted in accordance 

with Department of Defense Directive 4140.25, ATA 

Airport Fuel Facility Operations and Maintenance 

Guidance Manual, or equivalent procedures) at least 

every 30 days that can detect a leak equal to or less than 

0.5% of flow-through; and  

(1) Perform a line tightness test (conducted in accordance 

with subdivision 2 a of this subsection using the leak 

rates for the semiannual test) at least every two years; or  

(2) Perform vapor monitoring or groundwater monitoring 

(conducted in accordance with subdivision 5 or 6 of 

9VAC25-580-160, respectively, for the stored regulated 

substance) at least every 30 days; or  

d. Another method approved by the board if the owner 

and operator can demonstrate that the method can detect 

a release as effectively as any of the methods allowed in 

subdivisions D 2 a, D 2 b, and D 2 c of this section. In 

comparing methods, the board shall consider the size of 

release that the method can detect and the frequency and 

reliability of detection.  

3. Recordkeeping for release detection. Owners and 

operators must maintain release detection records 

according to the recordkeeping requirements in 9VAC25-

580-180.  

E. Applicability of closure requirements to previously closed 

UST systems. When directed by the board, the owner and 

operator of an UST system with field-constructed tanks or 

airport hydrant system permanently closed before (effective 

date of rule) must assess the excavation zone and close the 

UST system in accordance with Part VII of this chapter if 

releases from the UST may, in the judgment of the board, 

pose a current or potential threat to human health and the 

environment. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (9VAC25-580)  

Notification for Underground Storage Tanks (USTs), 

Virginia DEQ Water Form 7530–2 (rev. 01–03). 1/2003) 

Notification Form, EPA Form (50FR 46602). 7530-1 (rev. 

6/2015), 80 CFR 41670 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(9VAC25-580) 

"Standard for Glass-Fiber-Reinforced Plastic Underground 

Storage Tanks for Petroleum Products." Underwriters 

Laboratories Standard 1316, Underwriters Laboratories.  

"Standard for Reinforced Plastic Underground Tanks for 

Petroleum Products," Underwriters Laboratories of Canada, 

CAN4-S615-M83.  

"Standard Specification for Glass-Fiber-Reinforced 

Polyester Underground Petroleum Storage Tanks," American 

Society of Testing and Materials Standard D4021-86.  
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"Specification for STI-P3 System of External Corrosion 

Protection of Underground Steel Storage Tanks," Steel Tank 

Institute.  

"Corrosion Protection System for Underground Storage 

Tanks," Underwriters Laboratories, Standard 1746.  

"Standard for Steel Underground Tanks for Flammable and 

Combustible Liquids," Underwriters Laboratories of Canada, 

CAN4-S603-M85.  

"Standard for Galvanic Corrosion Protection Systems for 

Underground Tanks for Flammable Combustible Liquids," 

Underwriters Laboratories of Canada, CAN4-G03.1-M88.  

"Isolating Bushings for Steel Underground Tanks Protected 

with Coatings and Galvanic Systems," Underwriters 

Laboratories of Canada, CAN4-S641-M84.  

"Control of External Corrosion on Metallic Buried, Partially 

Buried, or Submerged Liquid Storage Systems," National 

Association of Corrosion Engineers, Standard RP-02-85.  

"Standard for Steel Underground Tanks for Flammable and 

Combustible Liquids," Underwriters Laboratories, Standard 

58.  

"Specification for the Fabrication of FRP Clad Underground 

Storage Tank," Association for Composite Tanks, ACT-100.  

"UL Listed Non-Metal Pipe," Underwriters Laboratories, 

Subject 971.  

"Pipe Connectors for Flammable and Combustible and LP 

Gas," Underwriters Laboratories, Standard 567.  

"Glass Fiber Reinforced Plastic Pipe and Fittings for 

Flammable Liquids," Underwriters Laboratories of Canada, 

Guide ULC-107.  

"Flexible Underground Hose Connectors," Underwriters 

Laboratories of Canada, Standard CAN4-S633-M81.  

"Flammable and Combustible Liquids Code," National Fire 

Protection Association, Standard 30.  

"Installation of Underground Petroleum Storage Systems," 

American Petroleum Institute, Publication 1632.  

"Control of External Corrosion on Submerged Metallic 

Piping Systems," National Association of Corrosion 

Engineers, Standard RP-01-69.  

"Installation of Underground Petroleum Storage System," 

American Petroleum Institute, Publication 1615.  

"Recommended Practice for Bulk Liquid Stock Control at 

Retail Outlets," American Petroleum Institute Publication 

1621.  

National Fire Protection Association Publication 385.  

"Flammable and Combustible Liquids Code," National Fire 

Protection Association Standard 30.  

"Storing and Handling Ethanol and Gasoline - Ethanol 

Blends at Distribution Terminals and Service Stations," 

American Petroleum Institute Publication 1626.  

"Storage and Handling of Gasoline - Methanol/Cosolvent 

Blends at Distribution Terminals and Service Stations," 

American Petroleum Institute Publication 1627.  

"Repairing Crude Oil, Liquified Petroleum Gas and Product 

Pipelines," American Petroleum Institute Publication 2200.  

"Recommended Practice for the Interior Lining of Existing 

Steel Underground Storage Tanks," American Petroleum 

Institute Publication 1631.  

"Spill Prevention, Minimum 10 Year Life Extension of 

Existing Steel Underground Tanks by Lining Without the 

Addition of Cathodic Protection," National Leak Prevention 

Association Standard 631.  

"Recommended Practices for Installation of Underground 

Liquid Storage Systems," Petroleum Equipment Institute, 

Publication RP100.  

"Petroleum Refinery Piping," American National Standards 

Institute, Standard B31.3.  

"Liquid Petroleum Transportation Piping System," 

American National Standards Institute, Standard B31.4.  

NFPA 329.  

"Standard for Dual Wall Underground Storage Tanks," Steel 

Tank Institute.  

"Removal and Disposal of Used Underground Petroleum 

Storage Tanks," American Petroleum Institute Recommended 

Practice 1604.  

"Cleaning Petroleum Storage Tanks," American Petroleum 

Institute, Publication 2015.  

"Criteria for a Recommended Standard - Working in 

Confined Space," National Institute for Occupational Safety 

and Health.  

9VAC25-590-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Accidental release" means any sudden or nonsudden 

release of petroleum arising from operating an underground 

storage tank that results in a need for corrective action or 

compensation for bodily injury or property damage, or both, 

neither expected nor intended by the tank owner or operator.  

"Annual aggregate" means the maximum financial 

responsibility requirement that an owner or operator is 

required to demonstrate annually.  

"Board" means the State Water Control Board.  

"Bodily injury" means the death or injury of any person 

incident to an accidental release from a petroleum 

underground storage tank; but not including any death, 

disablement, or injuries covered by workers' compensation, 

disability benefits or unemployment compensation law or 

other similar law. Bodily injury may include payment of 

medical, hospital, surgical, and funeral expenses arising out 

of the death or injury of any person. This term shall not 
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include those liabilities which, consistent with standard 

insurance industry practices, are excluded from coverage in 

liability insurance policies for bodily injury. 

"Chief financial officer" in the case of local government 

owners and operators, means the individual with the overall 

authority and responsibility for the collection, disbursement, 

and use of funds by the local government.  

"Controlling interest" means direct ownership of at least 

50% of the voting stock of another entity.  

"Corrective action" means all actions necessary to abate, 

contain and cleanup a release from an underground storage 

tank to mitigate the public health or environmental threat 

from such releases and to rehabilitate state waters in 

accordance with Parts V (9VAC25-580-190 et seq.) and VI 

(9VAC25-580-230 et seq.) of 9VAC25 Chapter 580, 

Underground Storage Tanks: Technical Standards and 

Corrective Action Requirements. The term does not include 

those actions normally associated with closure or change in 

service as set out in Part VII (9VAC25-580-320 et seq.) of 

9VAC25 Chapter 580 or the replacement of an underground 

storage tank.  

"Facility" means any development or installation within the 

Commonwealth that deals in, stores or handles oil, and 

includes a pipeline.  

"Financial reporting year" means the latest consecutive 12-

month period for which any of the following reports used to 

support a financial test is prepared: (i) a 10 K report 

submitted to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission 

(SEC); (ii) an annual report of tangible net worth submitted to 

Dun and Bradstreet; (iii) annual reports submitted to the 

Energy Information Administration or the Rural Utilities 

Service; or (iv) a year-end financial statement authorized 

under 9VAC25-590-60 B or C of this chapter. "Financial 

reporting year" may thus comprise a fiscal or calendar year 

period.  

"Gallons of petroleum pumped" means either the amount 

pumped into or the amount pumped out of a petroleum 

underground storage tank.  

"Group self-insurance pool" or "pool" means a pool 

organized by two or more owners and/or operators of 

underground storage tanks for the purpose of forming a group 

self-insurance pool in order to demonstrate financial 

responsibility as required by § 62.1-44.34:12 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Legal defense cost" means any expense that an owner or 

operator or provider of financial assurance incurs in 

defending against claims or actions brought (i) by the federal 

government or the board to require corrective action or to 

recover the costs of corrective action, or to collect civil 

penalties under federal or state law or to assert any claim on 

behalf of the Virginia Petroleum Storage Tank Fund; (ii) by 

or on behalf of a third party for bodily injury or property 

damage caused by an accidental release; or (iii) by any person 

to enforce the terms of a financial assurance mechanism.  

"Local government" means a municipality, county, town, 

commission, separately chartered and operated special 

district, school board, political subdivision of a state, or other 

special purpose government which provides essential 

services.  

"Member" means an owner or operator of an underground 

storage tank who has entered into a member agreement and 

thereby becomes a member of a group self-insurance pool.  

"Member agreement" means the written agreement executed 

between each member and the pool, which sets forth the 

conditions of membership in the pool, the obligations, if any, 

of each member to the other members, and the terms, 

coverages, limits, and deductibles of the pool plan.  

"Occurrence" means an accident, including continuous or 

repeated exposure to conditions, which results in a release 

from an underground storage tank.  

NOTE: This definition is intended to assist in the 

understanding of this chapter and is not intended either to 

limit the meaning of "occurrence" in a way that conflicts with 

standard insurance usage or to prevent the use of other 

standard insurance terms in place of "occurrence."  

"Operator" means any person in control of, or having 

responsibility for, the daily operation of the UST system.  

"Owner" means:  

1. In the case of an UST system in use on November 8, 

1984, or brought into use after that date, any person who 

owns an UST system used for storage, use, or dispensing 

of regulated substances; and  

2. In the case of any UST system in use before November 

8, 1984, but no longer in use on that date, any person who 

owned such UST immediately before the discontinuation 

of its use.  

The term "owner" shall not include any person, who, 

without participating in the management of an underground 

storage tank or being otherwise engaged in petroleum 

production, refining, and marketing, holds indicia of 

ownership primarily to protect the holder's security interest in 

the tank.  

"Owner" or "operator," when the owner or operator are 

separate parties, refers to the person that is obtaining or has 

obtained financial assurances.  

"Person" means an individual, trust, firm, joint stock 

company, corporation, including a government corporation, 

partnership, association, any state or agency thereof, 

municipality, county, town, commission, political subdivision 

of a state, any interstate body, consortium, joint venture, 

commercial entity, the government of the United States or 

any unit or agency thereof.  

"Petroleum" means petroleum, including crude oil or any 

fraction thereof, that is liquid at standard conditions of 
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temperature and pressure (60°F and 14.7 pounds per square 

inch absolute).  

"Petroleum marketing facilities" includes all facilities at 

which petroleum is produced or refined and all facilities from 

which petroleum is sold or transferred to other petroleum 

marketers or to the public.  

"Petroleum marketing firms" means all firms owning 

petroleum marketing facilities. Firms owning other types of 

facilities with USTs as well as petroleum marketing facilities 

are considered to be petroleum marketing firms.  

"Pool plan" means the plan of self-insurance offered by the 

pool to its members as specifically designated in the member 

agreement.  

"Property damage" means the loss or destruction of, or 

damage to, the property of any third party including any loss, 

damage or expense incident to an accidental release from a 

petroleum underground storage tank. This term shall not 

include those liabilities which, consistent with standard 

insurance industry practices, are excluded from coverage in 

liability insurance policies for property damage. However, 

such exclusions for property damage shall not include 

corrective action associated with releases from tanks which 

are covered by the policy.  

"Provider of financial assurance" means a person that 

provides financial assurance to an owner or operator of an 

underground storage tank through one of the mechanisms 

listed in 9VAC25-590-60 through 9VAC25-590-110 and 

9VAC25-590-250, including a guarantor, insurer, group self-

insurance pool, surety, issuer of a letter of credit or certificate 

of deposit.  

"Release" means any spilling, leaking, emitting, discharging, 

escaping, leaching or disposing from an UST into ground 

water, surface water, or upon lands, subsurface soils or storm 

drain systems.  

"Responsible person" means any person who is an owner or 

operator of an underground storage tank at the time the 

release is reported to the board.  

"Substantial business relationship" means the extent of a 

business relationship necessary under Virginia law to make a 

guarantee contract issued incident to that relationship valid 

and enforceable. A guarantee contract is issued "incident to 

that relationship" if it arises from and depends on existing 

economic transactions between the guarantor and the owner 

or operator.  

"Tangible net worth" means the tangible assets that remain 

after deducting liabilities; such assets do not include 

intangibles such as goodwill and rights to patents or royalties. 

For purposes of this definition, "assets" means all existing 

and all probable future economic benefits obtained or 

controlled by a particular entity as a result of past 

transactions.  

"Termination" under Appendix III and Appendix IV means 

only those changes that could result in a gap in coverage as 

where the insured has not obtained substitute coverage or has 

obtained substitute coverage with a different retroactive date 

than the retroactive date of the original policy.  

"Underground storage tank" or "UST" means any one or 

combination of tanks (including underground pipes connected 

thereto) that is used to contain an accumulation of regulated 

substances, and the volume of which (including the volume of 

underground pipes connected thereto) is 10% or more beneath 

the surface of the ground. This term does not include any:  

1. Farm or residential tank of 1,100 gallons or less capacity 

used for storing motor fuel for noncommercial purposes;  

2. Tank used for storing heating oil for consumption on the 

premises where stored;  

3. Septic tank;  

4. Pipeline facility (including gathering lines) regulated 

under:  

a. The Natural Gas Pipeline Safety Act of 1968 (49 USC 

App. 1671, et seq.),  

b. The Hazardous Liquid Pipeline Safety Act of 1979 (49 

USC App. 2001, et seq.), or   

c. Which is an intrastate pipeline facility regulated under 

state laws comparable to the provisions of the law 

referred to in subdivision 4 a or 4 b of this definition;  

5. Surface impoundment, pit, pond, or lagoon;  

6. Stormwater or wastewater collection system;  

7. Flow-through process tank;  

8. Liquid trap or associated gathering lines directly related 

to oil or gas production and gathering operations; or  

9. Storage tank situated in an underground area (such as a 

basement, cellar, mineworking, drift, shaft, or tunnel) if the 

storage tank is situated upon or above the surface of the 

floor.  

The term "underground storage tank" or "UST" does not 

include any pipes connected to any tank which is described in 

subdivisions 1 through 9 of this definition.  

"UST system" or "tank system" means an underground 

storage tank, connected underground piping, underground 

ancillary equipment, and containment system, if any.  

"9VAC25-580" means the Underground Storage Tanks: 

Technical Standards and Corrective Action Requirements 

regulation promulgated by the board.  

9VAC25-590-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the 

Code of Federal Regulations is referenced or adopted in this 

chapter and incorporated by reference, that regulation shall be 

as it exists and has been published as of July 1, 2016. 
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9VAC25-590-20. Applicability.  

A. This chapter applies to owners and operators of all 

petroleum UST systems regulated under 9VAC25-580, 

except as otherwise provided in this section and 9VAC25-

590-210.  

B. Owners and operators of petroleum UST systems are 

subject to these requirements if they are in operation on or 

after the date for compliance established in accordance with 

9VAC25-590-30.  

C. State and federal government entities whose debts and 

liabilities are the debts and liabilities of the Commonwealth 

of Virginia or the United States have the requisite financial 

strength and stability to fulfill their financial assurance 

requirements and are relieved of the requirements to further 

demonstrate an ability to provide financial responsibility 

under this chapter.  

D. The requirements of this chapter do not apply to owners 

and operators of any UST system described in 9VAC25-580-

20 B or C, 9VAC25-580-20 C 1, C 3, or C 4.  

E. If the owner and operator of a petroleum underground 

storage tank are separate persons, only one person is required 

to demonstrate financial responsibility; however, both parties 

are liable in event of noncompliance.  

9VAC25-590-30. Compliance dates.  

Owners of petroleum underground storage tanks are 

required to must comply with the requirements of this chapter 

by the following dates:. Previously deferred UST systems 

must comply with the requirements of this chapter according 

to the schedule in 9VAC25-580-380. 

1. All petroleum marketing firms owning 1,000 or more 

USTs and all other UST owners that report a tangible net 

worth of $20 million or more to the U.S. Securities and 

Exchange Commission (SEC), Dun and Bradstreet, the 

Energy Information Administration, or the Rural Utilities 

Service: January 24, 1989; except that compliance for 

owners and operators using the mechanisms specified in 

9VAC25-590-70 or 9VAC25-590-90 is required by July 

24, 1989.  

2. All petroleum marketing firms owning 100-999 USTs: 

October 26, 1989;  

3. All petroleum marketing firms owning 13-99 USTs at 

more than one facility: April 26, 1991;  

4. All petroleum UST owners not described in subdivision 

1, 2, or 3 of this section, excluding local government 

entities: December 31, 1993;  

5. All local government entities (including Indian tribes) 

not included in subdivision 6 of this section: February 18, 

1994; or  

6. Indian tribes that own USTs on Indian lands which meet 

the applicable technical requirements of 9VAC25-580: 

December 31, 1998.  

9VAC25-590-40. Amount and scope of financial 

responsibility requirement.  

A. Owners or operators of petroleum underground storage 

tanks shall demonstrate financial responsibility for taking 

corrective action and for compensating third parties for bodily 

injury and property damage caused by accidental releases 

arising from the operation of petroleum underground storage 

tanks at least in the following per-occurrence amounts:  

1. For owners or operators of petroleum underground 

storage tanks that are located at petroleum marketing 

facilities, or that handle an average of more than 10,000 

gallons of petroleum per month based on annual 

throughput for the previous calendar year; $1 million.  

2. For all other owners or operators of petroleum 

underground storage tanks; $500,000.  

B. Owners and operators of petroleum underground storage 

tanks shall demonstrate financial responsibility for taking 

corrective action and for compensating third parties for bodily 

injury and property damage caused by accidental releases 

arising from the operation of petroleum underground storage 

tanks in at least the following annual aggregate amounts:  

1. For owners and operators of 1 to 100 petroleum 

underground storage tanks, $1 million; and  

2. For owners and operators of 101 or more petroleum 

underground storage tanks, $2 million.  

C. Owners and operators of petroleum underground storage 

tanks may use the Virginia Petroleum Storage Tank Fund in 

combination with one or more of the mechanisms specified in 

9VAC25-590-60 through 9VAC25-590-110 and 9VAC25-

590-250 to satisfy the financial responsibility as required by 

this section. The fund may be used to demonstrate financial 

responsibility for the owner or operator in excess of the 

amounts specified in 9VAC25-590-210 C 1 up to the per 

occurrence and annual aggregate requirements specified in 

this section for both taking corrective action and 

compensating third parties for bodily injury and property 

damage caused by accidental releases from petroleum 

underground storage tanks.  

D. Owners and operators who demonstrate financial 

responsibility shall maintain copies of those records on which 

the determination is based. The following documents may be 

used for purposes of demonstrating financial responsibility by 

owners or operators to support a financial responsibility 

requirement determination:  

1. Copies of invoices from petroleum suppliers which 

indicate the gallons of petroleum pumped into all 

underground storage tanks on an annual basis.  

2. Copies of disposal or recycling receipts which indicate 

the gallons of petroleum pumped out of all underground 

storage tanks on an annual basis.  

3. Letters from petroleum suppliers or disposal or recycling 

firms on the supplier's, disposer's or recycler's letterhead, 

which are signed by the appropriate financial officer and 
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which indicate the gallons of petroleum pumped into or out 

of all of the owner's or operator's underground storage 

tanks on an annual basis.  

4. Any other form of documentation which the board may 

deem to be acceptable evidence to support the financial 

responsibility requirement determination.  

E. For the purposes of this section, "a petroleum 

underground storage tank" means a single containment unit 

and does not mean combinations of single containment units.  

F. If the owner or operator uses separate mechanisms or 

separate combinations of mechanisms to demonstrate 

financial responsibility for: (i) taking corrective action; (ii) 

compensating third parties for bodily injury and property 

damage caused by sudden accidental releases; or (iii) 

compensating third parties for bodily injury and property 

damage caused by nonsudden accidental releases, the amount 

of assurance provided by each mechanism or combination of 

mechanisms shall be in the full amount specified in 

subsection subsections A and B of this section.  

G. If an owner or operator uses separate mechanisms or 

separate combinations of mechanisms to demonstrate 

financial responsibility for different petroleum underground 

storage tanks, the annual aggregate required for each 

mechanism shall be the amount specified in subsection B of 

this section.  

H. If assurance is being demonstrated by a combination of 

mechanisms, the owner or operator shall demonstrate 

financial responsibility in the appropriate amount of annual 

aggregate assurance specified in subsection B of this section, 

by the first-occurring effective date anniversary of any one of 

the mechanisms combined (other than a financial test or 

guarantee) to provide assurance.  

I. The amounts of assurance required under this section 

exclude legal defense costs.  

J. The required per-occurrence and annual aggregate 

coverage amounts do not in any way limit the liability of the 

owner or operator.  

9VAC25-590-60. Financial test of self-insurance.  

A. An owner or operator and/or guarantor, may satisfy the 

requirements of 9VAC25-590-40 by passing a financial test 

as specified in this section. To pass the financial test of self-

insurance, the owner or operator and/or guarantor shall meet 

the requirements of subsection B or C and subsection D of 

this section based on year-end financial statements for the 

latest completed financial reporting year.  

B. 1. The owner or operator and/or guarantor shall have a 

tangible net worth at least equal to the total of:  

a. The applicable aggregate financial responsibility 

amount required by 9VAC25-590-40 B for which a 

financial test is used to demonstrate financial 

responsibility, except as provided in 9VAC25-590-210; 

and  

b. The aggregate aboveground storage tank financial 

responsibility amount required under 9VAC25-640, for 

which a financial test is used to demonstrate financial 

responsibility.  

2. In addition to the requirements set forth in subdivision 1 

of this subsection, the owner or operator and/or guarantor 

shall also have a tangible net worth of at least 10 times:  

a. The sum of the corrective action cost estimates, the 

current closure and postclosure care cost estimates, and 

amount of liability coverage for which a financial test for 

self-insurance is used in each state of business operations 

to demonstrate financial responsibility to the EPA under 

40 CFR §§ 264.101(b), 264.143, 264.145, 265.143, 

265.145, 264.147, and 265.147 (1997), to another state 

implementing agency under a state program authorized 

by EPA under 40 CFR Part 271 (1997) or the Virginia 

Waste Management Board under 40 CFR 264.143, 

264.145 and 264.147 (as incorporated by reference in 

9VAC20-60-264) and 40 CFR 265.143, 265.145 and 

265.147 (as incorporated by reference in 9VAC20-60-

265) of the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management 

Regulations; and  

b. The sum of current plugging and abandonment cost 

estimates for which a financial test for self-insurance is 

used in each state of business operations to demonstrate 

financial responsibility to EPA under 40 CFR 144.63 

(1997) or to a state implementing agency under a state 

program authorized by EPA under 40 CFR Part 145 

(1997) (Underground Injection Control Program).  

3. The owner or operator, and/or guarantor shall comply 

with either subdivision a or b below of this subdivision:  

a. (1) The financial reporting year-end financial 

statements of the owner or operator and/or guarantor 

shall be examined by an independent certified public 

accountant and be accompanied by the accountant's 

report of the examination; and  

(2) The financial reporting year-end financial statements 

of the owner or operator and/or guarantor cannot include 

an adverse auditor's opinion, a disclaimer of opinion, or a 

"going concern" qualification.  

b. (1) (a) File financial statements annually with the U.S. 

Securities and Exchange Commission, the Energy 

Information Administration, or the Rural Utilities 

Service; or  

(b) Report annually the tangible net worth of the owner 

or operator and/or guarantor to Dun and Bradstreet, and 

Dun and Bradstreet shall have assigned a financial 

strength rating which at least equals the amount of 

financial responsibility required by the owner or operator 

under subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection. Relevant 

Dun and Bradstreet ratings are as follows (current Dun 

and Bradstreet ratings will be used for demonstration 
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requirements which exceed the annual aggregate amounts 

listed below):  

  Annual Aggregate 

Requirement 

Dun and Bradstreet 

Rating 

  $20,000 EE ($20,000 to $34,999) 

  $40,000 DC ($50,000 to $74,999) 

  $80,000 CB ($125,000 to 

$199,999) 

  $150,000 BB ($200,000 to 

$299,999) 

  $200,000 BB ($200,000 to 

$299,999) 

  $300,000 BA ($300,000 to 

$499,999) 

  $500,000 1A ($500,000 to 

$749,999) 

  $750,000 2A ($750,000 to 

$999,999) 

  $1,000,000 3A ($1,000,000 to 

9,999,999); and 

(2) The financial reporting year-end financial statements 

of the owner or operator and/or guarantor, if, 

independently audited, cannot include an adverse 

auditor's opinion, a disclaimer of opinion, or a "going 

concern" qualification.  

4. The owner or operator and/or guarantor shall have a 

letter signed by the chief financial officer worded 

identically as specified in Appendix I/Alternative I or 

Appendix XI.  

C. 1. The owner or operator and/or guarantor shall have a 

tangible net worth at least equal to the total of:  

a. The applicable aggregate amount required by 

9VAC25-590-40 B for which a financial test is used to 

demonstrate financial responsibility, except as provided 

in 9VAC25-590-210; and  

b. The aggregate aboveground storage tank financial 

responsibility amount required under 9VAC25-640 for 

which a financial test is used to demonstrate financial 

responsibility.  

2. In addition to the requirements set forth in subdivision 1 

of this subsection, the owner or operator and/or guarantor 

shall also have a tangible net worth of at least six times:  

a. The financial test requirements for self insurance of the 

corrective action cost estimates, the current closure and 

post-closure care cost estimates, and amount of liability 

coverage in each state of business operations to the EPA 

under 40 CFR 264.101(b), 264.143, 264.145, 265.143, 

265.145, 264.147, and 265.147 (1997), to another state 

implementing agency under a state program authorized 

by EPA under 40 CFR Part 271 (1997) or the Virginia 

Waste Management Board under 40 CFR 264.143, 

264.145 and 264.147 (as incorporated by reference in 

9VAC20-60-264) and 40 CFR 265.143, 265.145, and 

265.147 (as incorporated by reference in 9VAC20-60-

265) of the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management 

Regulations; and  

b. The financial test requirements for self-insurance of 

current plugging and abandonment cost estimates in each 

state of business operations to EPA under 40 CFR 144.63 

(1997) or to a state implementing agency under a state 

program authorized by EPA under 40 CFR Part 145 

(1997) (Underground Injection Control Program).  

3. The financial reporting year-end financial statements of 

the owner or operator and/or guarantor shall be examined 

by an independent certified public accountant and be 

accompanied by the accountant's report of the examination.  

4. The financial reporting year-end financial statements of 

the owner or operator and/or guarantor cannot include an 

adverse auditor's opinion, a disclaimer of opinion, or a 

"going concern" qualification.  

5. If the financial statements of the owner or operator 

and/or guarantor are not submitted annually to the U.S. 

Securities and Exchange Commission, the Energy 

Information Administration or the Rural Utilities Service, 

the owner or operator and/or guarantor shall obtain a 

special report by an independent certified public 

accountant stating that:  

a. The accountant has compared the data that the letter 

from the chief financial officer specified as having been 

derived from the latest financial reporting year-end 

financial statements of the owner or operator and/or 

guarantor with the amounts in such financial statements; 

and  

b. In connection with that comparison, no matters came 

to the accountant's attention which caused him to believe 

that the specified data should be adjusted.  

6. The owner or operator and/or guarantor shall have a 

letter signed by the chief financial officer, worded 

identically as specified in Appendix I/Alternative II or 

Appendix XI.  

D. To meet the financial demonstration test under subsection 

B or C of this section, the chief financial officer of the owner 

or operator and/or guarantor shall sign, within 120 days of the 

close of each financial reporting year, as defined by the 12-

month period for which financial statements used to support 

the financial test are prepared, a letter worded identically as 

specified in Appendix I with the appropriate alternative or 

Appendix XI, except that the instructions in brackets are to be 

replaced by the relevant information and the brackets deleted.  

E. If an owner or operator using the financial test to provide 

financial assurance finds that he no longer meets the 
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requirements of the financial test based on the financial 

reporting year-end financial statements, the owner or operator 

shall obtain alternative coverage within 150 days of the end 

of the year for which financial statements have been prepared.  

F. The board may require reports of financial condition at 

any time from the owner or operator and/or guarantor. If the 

board finds, on the basis of such reports or other information, 

that the owner or operator and/or guarantor no longer meets 

the financial test requirements of subsection B or C and 

subsection D of this section, the owner or operator shall 

obtain alternate coverage within 30 days after notification of 

such finding.  

G. If the owner or operator fails to obtain alternate assurance 

within 150 days of finding that he no longer meets the 

requirements of the financial test based on the financial 

reporting year-end financial statements, or within 30 days of 

notification by the board that he or she no longer meets the 

requirements of the financial test, the owner or operator shall 

notify the board of such failure within 10 days.  

9VAC25-590-160. Recordkeeping.  

A. Owners or operators shall maintain evidence of all 

financial assurance mechanisms used to demonstrate financial 

responsibility under this chapter for an underground storage 

tank until released from the requirements of this chapter 

under 9VAC25-590-180. An owner or operator shall maintain 

such evidence at the underground storage tank site or the 

owner's or operator's place of work in this Commonwealth. 

Records maintained off-site shall be made available upon 

request of the board.  

B. Owners or operators shall maintain the following types of 

evidence of financial responsibility:  

1. An owner or operator using an assurance mechanism 

specified in 9VAC25-590-60 through 9VAC25-590-110 

and 9VAC25-590-250 shall maintain a copy of the 

instrument worded as specified.  

2. An owner or operator using a financial test or guarantee, 

or a local government financial test or a local government 

guarantee supported by the local government financial test, 

shall maintain a copy of the chief financial officer's letter 

based on year-end financial statements for the most recent 

completed financial reporting year. Such evidence shall be 

on file no later than 120 days after the close of the financial 

reporting year.  

3. A local government owner or operator using the local 

government bond rating test under 9VAC25-590-250 shall 

maintain a copy of its bond rating published within the last 

12 months by Moody's or Standard & Poor's.  

4. A local government owner or operator using the local 

government guarantee under 9VAC25-590-250, where the 

guarantor's demonstration of financial responsibility relies 

on the bond rating test under 9VAC25-590-250 shall 

maintain a copy of the guarantor's bond rating published 

within the last 12 months by Moody's or Standard & 

Poor's.  

5. An owner or operator using an insurance policy or group 

self-insurance pool coverage shall maintain a copy of the 

signed insurance policy or group self-insurance pool plan 

and membership agreement, with the endorsement or 

certificate of insurance and any amendments to the 

agreements.  

6. An owner or operator using a local government fund 

under 9VAC25-590-250 shall maintain the following 

documents:  

a. A copy of the state constitutional provision or local 

government statute, charter, ordinance or order 

dedicating the fund; and  

b. Year-end financial statements for the most recent 

completed financial reporting year showing the amount 

in the fund. If the fund is established under 40 CFR 

280.107(a)(3) (1997) 40 CFR 280.107(c) (as 

incorporated by reference in 9VAC25-590-250) using 

incremental funding backed by bonding authority, the 

financial statements shall show the previous year's 

balance, the amount of funding during the year, and the 

closing balance in the fund.  

If the fund is established under 40 CFR 280.107(a)(3) 

(1997) 40 CFR 280.107(c) (as incorporated by reference in 

9VAC25-590-250) using incremental funding backed by 

bonding authority, the owner or operator shall also 

maintain documentation of the required bonding authority, 

including either the results of a voter referendum (under 

40 CFR 280.107(a)(3)(i) (1997)) 40 CFR 280.107(c)(1)) 

(as incorporated by reference in 9VAC25-590-250), or 

attestation by the Virginia Attorney General as specified 

under 40 CFR 280.107(a)(3)(ii) (1997)) 40 CFR 

280.107(c)(2) (as incorporated by reference in 9VAC25-

590-250).  

7. A local government owner or operator using the local 

government guarantee supported by the local government 

fund shall maintain a copy of the guarantor's year-end 

financial statements for the most recent completed 

financial reporting year showing the amount of the fund.  

8. a. An owner or operator using an assurance mechanism 

specified in 9VAC25-590-60 through 9VAC25-590-110, 

9VAC25-590-210, or 9VAC25-590-250 shall maintain an 

updated copy of a certification of financial responsibility 

worded identically as specified in Appendix IX, except that 

instructions in brackets are to be replaced with the relevant 

information and the brackets deleted.  

b. The owner or operator shall update this certification 

whenever the financial assurance mechanism or 

mechanisms used to demonstrate financial responsibility 

changes.  



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 1 Virginia Register of Regulations September 4, 2017 

57 

9VAC25-590-170. Drawing on financial assurance 

mechanism.  

A. Except as specified in subsection D of this section, the 

board may shall require the guarantor, surety, or institution 

issuing a letter of credit or certificate of deposit to pay to the 

board an amount up to the limit of funds provided by the 

financial assurance mechanism if:  

1. The owner or operator fails to establish alternate 

financial assurance within 60 days after receiving notice of 

cancellation of the guarantee, surety bond, letter of credit, 

or certificate of deposit; or  

2. The conditions of subsection B of this section are 

satisfied.  

B. The board shall deposit the financial assurance funds 

forfeited pursuant to subsection A of this section into the 

Virginia Petroleum Storage Tank Fund. The board may use 

the financial responsibility funds obtained pursuant to 

subsection A of this section to conduct corrective action or to 

pay a third party claim when:  

1. The board makes a final determination that a release has 

occurred and immediate or long-term corrective action for 

the release is needed, and the owner or operator, after 

appropriate notice and opportunity to comply, has not 

conducted corrective action as required under Part VI 

(9VAC25-580-230 et seq.) of 9VAC25-580; or  

2. The board has received either:  

a. Certification from the owner or operator and the third 

party liability claimant or claimants and from attorneys 

representing the owner or operator and the third party 

liability claimant or claimants that a third party liability 

claim should be paid. The certification shall be worded 

identically as specified in Appendix X, except that 

instructions in brackets are to be replaced with the 

relevant information and the brackets deleted; or  

b. A valid final court order establishing a judgment 

against the owner or operator for bodily injury or 

property damage caused by an accidental release from an 

underground storage tank covered by financial assurance 

under this chapter and the board determines that the 

owner or operator has not satisfied the judgment.  

C. If the board determines that the amount of corrective 

action costs and third party liability claims eligible for 

payment under subsection B of this section may exceed the 

obligation of the provider of financial assurance, the first 

priority for payment shall be corrective action costs necessary 

to protect human health and the environment. The board shall 

direct payment of the financial responsibility funds for third 

party liability claims in the order in which the board receives 

certifications under subdivision B 2 a of this section and valid 

court orders under subdivision B 2 b of this section.  

D. A local government acting as guarantor under 40 CFR 

280.106(e) (1997) (as incorporated by reference in 9VAC25-

590-250), the local government guarantee without standby 

trust, shall make payments as directed by the board under the 

circumstances described in subsection A, B or C of this 

section.  

9VAC25-590-180. Release from the requirements.  

An owner or operator is no longer required to maintain 

financial responsibility under this chapter for an underground 

storage tank after the tank has been properly permanently 

closed or undergoes a change-in-service to an unregulated use 

properly completed or, if corrective action is required, after 

corrective action has been completed and the tank has been 

properly permanently closed or undergoes a change-in-

service as required by Part VII (9VAC25-580-320 et seq.) of 

9VAC25 Chapter 580 9VAC25-580.  

9VAC25-590-190. Bankruptcy or other incapacity of 

owner, operator or provider of financial assurance.  

A. Within 10 days after commencement of a voluntary or 

involuntary proceeding under Title 11 (Bankruptcy), U.S. 

Code, naming an owner or operator as debtor, the owner or 

operator shall notify the board by certified mail of such 

commencement and submit the appropriate forms listed in 

9VAC25-590-160 B documenting current financial 

responsibility.  

B. Within 10 days after commencement of a voluntary or 

involuntary proceeding under Title 11 (Bankruptcy), U.S. 

Code, naming a guarantor providing financial assurance as 

debtor, such guarantor shall notify the owner or operator and 

the board by certified mail of such commencement as 

required under the terms of the guarantee specified in 

9VAC25-590-70.  

C. Within 10 days after commencement of a voluntary or 

involuntary proceeding under Title 11 (Bankruptcy), U.S. 

Code, naming a local government owner or operator as 

debtor, the local government owner or operator shall notify 

the board by certified mail of such commencement and 

submit the appropriate forms listed in 9VAC25-590-160 B 

documenting current financial responsibility.  

D. Within 10 days after commencement of a voluntary or 

involuntary proceeding under Title 11 (Bankruptcy), U.S. 

Code, naming a guarantor providing a local government 

financial assurance as debtor, such guarantor shall notify the 

local government owner or operator and the board by certified 

mail of such commencement as required under the terms of 

the guarantee specified in 40 CFR 280.106 (1997) (as 

incorporated by reference in 9VAC25-590-250).  

E. An owner or operator that obtains financial assurance by 

a mechanism other than the financial test of self-insurance 

will be deemed to be without the required financial assurance 

in the event of a bankruptcy or incapacity of its provider of 

financial assurance, or a suspension or revocation of the 

authority of the provider of financial assurance to issue a 

guarantee, insurance policy, group self-insurance pool plan, 

surety bond, letter of credit, or certificate of deposit. The 

owner or operator shall obtain alternate financial assurance as 
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specified in this regulation within 30 days after receiving 

notice of such an event. If the owner or operator does not 

obtain alternate coverage within 30 days after such 

notification, he shall immediately notify the board in writing.  

F. Within 30 days after receipt of written notification that 

the Virginia Petroleum Storage Tank Fund has become 

incapable of covering assured corrective action or third party 

compensation costs, the owner or operator shall obtain 

alternate financial assurance in accordance with 9VAC25-

590-40.  

9VAC25-590-240. Lender liability.  

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency regulations on 

lender liability contained in the Technical Standards and 

Corrective Action Requirements for Owners and Operators of 

Underground Storage Tanks (UST) (40 CFR 280.200 through 

280.230 (1997))) are incorporated by reference into this 

chapter as amended by the word or phrase substitutions given 

in 9VAC25-590-260.  

9VAC25-590-250. Local government financial 

responsibility demonstration.  

A. Except as otherwise provided, the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency regulations on local government financial 

responsibility demonstration contained in the Technical 

Standards and Corrective Action Requirements for Owners 

and Operators of Underground Storage Tanks (UST) (40 CFR 

280.104 through 280.107 (1997))) are incorporated by 

reference into this chapter as amended by the word or phrase 

substitutions given in 9VAC25-590-260.  

B. A local government demonstrating financial 

responsibility pursuant to 40 CFR 280.106 shall demonstrate 

using the guarantee arrangement entitled "Local Government 

Guarantee Without Standby Trust Made by a Local 

Government."  

9VAC25-590-260. Word or phrase substitutions 

Modifications to language incorporated by reference.  

In 9VAC25-590-240 and 9VAC25-590-250, the following 

substitutions apply:  

1. All terms which are defined in 9VAC25-590-10 shall be 

given the definition contained in 9VAC25-590-10;  

2. a. Director of the Department of Environmental Quality 

for director of the implementing agency;  

b. Department of Environmental Quality for the 

implementing agency;  

c. UST preventative and operating requirements under 

9VAC25-580 for UST technical standards;  

d. 9VAC25-580 and 9VAC25-590 for 40 CFR Part 280 

(1997);  

e. 9VAC25-580-230 through 9VAC25-580-300 for 40 

CFR Part 280, Subpart F (1997);  

f. 9VAC25-590 for 40 CFR Part 280, Subpart H (1997);  

g. 9VAC25-580-50 for 40 CFR 280.20;  

h. 9VAC25-580-60 for 40 CFR 280.21;  

i. 9VAC25-580-70 for 40 CFR 280.22 (1997) 9VAC25-

580-90 for 40 CFR 280.31;  

j. 9VAC25-580-90 for 40 CFR 280.31 9VAC25-580-190 

for 40 CFR 280.50;  

k. 9VAC25-580-200 through 9VAC25-580-300 for 40 

CFR 280.51 through 280.67;  

l. 9VAC25-580-310 for 40 CFR 280.70;  

m. 9VAC25-580-320 through 9VAC25-580-350 for 40 

CFR 280.71 through 280.74;  

n. 9VAC25-580-330 for 40 CFR 280.72;  

o. 9VAC25-590-20 9VAC25-590-10 through 9VAC25-

590-160 for 40 CFR 280.90 through 280.111;  

p. 9VAC25-590-40 for 40 CFR 280.93;  

q. 9VAC25-590-170 for 40 CFR 280.112 (1997); and  

r. 9VAC25-590-190 for 40 CFR 280.114.  

APPENDIX I. LETTER FROM CHIEF FINANCIAL 

OFFICER.  

NOTE: The instructions in brackets are to be replaced by the 

relevant information and the brackets deleted.  

[NOTE: Owners or operators demonstrating financial 

responsibility using the financial test who do not also own or 

operate hazardous waste facilities or underground injection 

wells are eligible to use Appendix XI (Letter from Chief 

Financial Officer—Short Form) instead of Appendix I.]  

I am the chief financial officer of [insert name and address 

of the owner or operator or guarantor]. This letter is in 

support of the use of [insert "the financial test of self-

insurance," and/or "Guarantee"] to demonstrate financial 

responsibility for [insert: "taking corrective action" and/or 

"compensating third parties for bodily injury and property 

damage"] caused by [insert "sudden accidental releases" 

and/or or "nonsudden accidental releases" or "accidental 

releases"] in the amount of at least [insert dollar amount] 

corrective action per occurrence and [insert dollar amount] 

third party liability per occurrence and [insert dollar amount] 

annual aggregate arising from operating (an) underground 

storage tank(s).  

Underground storage tanks at the following facilities are 

assured by this financial test by this [insert "owner or 

operator," and/or "guarantor"]: [List for each facility the name 

and address of the facility where tanks assured by this 

financial test are located, and whether tanks are assured by 

this financial test. If separate mechanisms or combinations of 

mechanisms are being used to assure any of the tanks at this 

facility, list each tank assured by this financial test by the tank 

identification number provided in the notification submitted 

pursuant to 9VAC25-580-70 (Underground Storage Tanks; 

Technical Standards and Corrective Action Requirements)].  

A [insert "financial test," and/or "guarantee"] is also used by 

this [insert "owner or operator" or "guarantor"] to 
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demonstrate evidence of financial responsibility in the 

following amounts under other EPA regulations or state 

programs authorized by EPA under 40 CFR Parts 271 and 

145 (1997):  

EPA Regulation for each state of business operations 

(specify state):  

    Amount 

  Closure (Sections 264.143 and 

265.143) 

$_____ 

  Post Closure Care (Sections 264.145 

and 265.145) 

$_____ 

  Liability Coverage (Sections 264.147 

and 265.147) 

$_____ 

  Corrective Action (Section 264.101(b)) $_____ 

  Plugging and Abandonment (Section 

144.63) 

$_____ 

  Other State Programs (specify state):   

  Closure  $_____ 

  Post-Closure Care  $_____ 

  Liability Coverage $_____ 

  Corrective Action  $_____ 

  Plugging and Abandonment  $_____ 

  Virginia Hazardous Waste 

Management Regulations: 

  

  Closure (9VAC20-60-264 and 

9VAC20-60-265 C) 

$_____ 

  Post-Closure Care (9VAC20-60-264 

and 9VAC20-60-265) 

$_____ 

  Liability Coverage (9VAC20-60-264 

and 9VAC20-60-265) 

$_____ 

  Corrective Action (9VAC20-60-264)  $_____ 

  Plugging and Abandonment (40 CFR 

Section 144.63) (1997)  

$_____ 

  TOTAL  $_____ 

This [insert "owner or operator," or "guarantor"] has not 

received an adverse opinion, a disclaimer of opinion, or a 

"going concern" qualification from an independent auditor on 

his financial statements for the latest completed fiscal year.  

[Fill in the information for Alternative I if the criteria of 

9VAC25-590-60 B are being used to demonstrate compliance 

with the financial test requirements. Fill in the information for 

Alternative II if the criteria of 9VAC25-590-60 C are being 

used to demonstrate compliance with the financial test 

requirements.]  

ALTERNATIVE I  

1. Amount of annual UST aggregate coverage being 

assured by a financial test, and/or 

guarantee....................$__________  

2. Amount of annual aboveground storage tank (AST) 

aggregate coverage being assured by a financial test and/or 

guarantee pursuant to 9VAC25-

640....................$__________  

3. Total UST/AST financial responsibility obligations 

assured by a financial test and/or guarantee (sum of lines 1 

and 2)....................$__________  

4. Amount of corrective action, closure and post-closure 

care costs, liability coverage, [and] plugging and 

abandonment costs covered by a financial test, and/or 

guarantee under other EPA regulations or state programs 

authorized by EPA under 40 CFR Part 145 or 271 

(1997)....................$__________  

5. Sum of lines 3 and 4....................$__________  

6. Total tangible assets....................$__________  

7. Total liabilities [if any of the amount reported on line 5 

is included in total liabilities, you may deduct that amount 

from this line or add that amount to line 

8]....................$__________  

8. Tangible net worth [subtract line 7 from line 

6]....................$__________  

9. Is line 8 at least equal to line 3 above? Yes.... No.....  

10. Is line 8 at least equal to the sum of line 3 plus 10 times 

line 4? Yes.... No....  

11. Have financial statements for the latest financial 

reporting year been filed with the Securities and Exchange 

Commission? Yes.... No....  

12. Have financial statements for the latest financial 

reporting year been filed with the Energy Information 

Administration? Yes.... No....  

13. Have financial statements for the latest financial 

reporting year been filed with the Rural Utilities Service? 

Yes.... No....  

14. Has financial information been provided to Dun and 

Bradstreet, and has Dun and Bradstreet provided a 

financial strength rating at least equal to the total amount 

of annual aggregate coverage being assured as entered on 

line 5, according to the table below?  

  Annual Aggregate 

Requirement 

Dun and Bradstreet 

Rating 

  $20,000 EE ($20,000 to 

$34,999) 

  $40,000 DC ($50,000 to 

$74,999) 

  $80,000 CB ($125,000 to 

$199,999) 
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  $150,000 BB ($200,000 to 

$299,999) 

  $200,000 BB ($200,000 to 

$299,999) 

  $300,000 BA ($300,000 to 

$499,999) 

  $500,000 1A ($500,000 to 

$749,999) 

  $750,000 2A ($750,000 to 

$999,999) 

  $1,000,000 3A ($1,000,000 to 

9,999,999) 

[Answer "Yes" only if both criteria have been met.]  

Yes.... No....  

15. If you did not answer yes to one of lines 11 through 14, 

please attach a report from an independent-certified public 

accountant certifying that there are no material differences 

between the data reported in lines 6 through 10 above and 

the financial statements for the latest financial reporting 

year.  

ALTERNATIVE II  

1. Amount of annual UST aggregate coverage being 

assured by a financial test, and/or guarantee.  

2. Amount of annual aboveground storage tank (AST) 

aggregate coverage being assured by a financial test and/or 

guarantee pursuant to 9VAC25-

640....................$__________  

3. Total UST/AST financial responsibility obligations 

assured by a financial test and/or guarantee (sum of lines 1 

and 2)....................$__________  

4. Amount of corrective action closure and post-closure 

care costs, liability coverage, [and] plugging and 

abandonment costs covered by a financial test, and/or 

guarantee under other EPA regulations or state programs 

authorized by EPA under 40 CFR Parts 271 or 

145....................$__________  

5. Sum of lines 3 and 4....................$__________  

6. Total tangible assets....................$__________  

7. Total liabilities [if any of the amount reported on line 5 

is included in total liabilities, you may deduct that amount 

from this line or add that amount to line 

8]....................$__________  

8. Tangible net worth [subtract line 7 from line 

6]....................$__________  

9. Total assets in the U.S. [required only if less than 90% 

of assets are located in the U.S.]....................$__________  

10. Is line 8 at least equal to line 3 above? Yes___ No___  

11. Is line 8 at least equal to the sum of line 3 plus 6 times 

the sum of line 4? Yes___ No___  

12. Are at least 90% of assets located in the U.S.? [If "No," 

complete line 13.] Yes___ No___  

13. Is line 9 at least equal to the sum of line 1 3 plus 6 

times the sum of line 4? Yes___ No___  

[Fill in either lines 14-17 or lines 18-20:]  

14. Current assets....................$__________  

15. Current liabilities....................$__________  

16. Net working capital subtract line 15 from line 

14....................$__________  

17. Is line 16 at least equal to the sum of line 3 plus 6 times 

the sum of line 4? Yes___ No___  

18. Current bond rating of most recent bond 

issue?____________  

19. Name of rating service____________  

20. Date of maturity of bond____________  

21. Have financial statements for the latest financial 

reporting year been filed with the SEC, the Energy 

Information Administration, or the Rural Utilities Service? 

Yes___ No___  

[If "no," please attach a report from an independent 

certified public accountant certifying that there are no 

material differences between the data reported in lines 6-20 

above and the financial statements for the latest financial 

reporting year.]  

[For Alternatives I and II complete the certification with this 

statement.]  

I hereby certify that the wording of this letter is identical to 

the wording specified in Appendix I of this chapter 9VAC25-

590 as such regulations were constituted on the date shown 

immediately below.  

[Signature]  

[Name]  

[Title]  

[Date]  

APPENDIX II. GUARANTEE.  

[NOTE: The instructions in brackets are to be replaced by 

the relevant information and the brackets deleted.]  

Guarantee made this [date] by [name of guaranteeing 

entity], a business entity organized under the laws of the state 

of [insert name of state], herein referred to as guarantor, to the 

State Water Control Board of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

and to any and all third parties, and obligees, on behalf of 

[owner or operator] of [business address].  

Recitals.  

(1) Guarantor meets or exceeds the financial test criteria of 

9VAC25-590-60 B or C and D of Virginia Petroleum 

Underground Storage Tank Financial Responsibility 

Requirements, 9VAC25-590, and agrees to comply with 

the requirements for guarantors as specified in 9VAC25-

590-70 B.  
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(2) [Owner or operator] owns or operates the following 

underground storage tank(s) covered by this guarantee: 

[List the number of tanks at each facility and the name(s) 

and address(es) of the facility(ies) where the tanks are 

located. If more than one instrument is used to assure 

different tanks at any one facility, for each tank covered by 

this instrument, list the tank identification number provided 

in the notification submitted pursuant to 9VAC25-580-70 

(Underground Storage Tanks: Technical Standards and 

Corrective Action Requirements), and the name and 

address of the facility]. This guarantee satisfies this 

chapter's requirements for assuring funding for [insert: 

"taking corrective action" and/or "compensating third 

parties for bodily injury and property damage"] caused by" 

either "sudden accidental releases" or "nonsudden 

accidental releases" or "accidental releases" [if coverage is 

different for different tanks or locations, indicate the type 

of coverage applicable to each tank or location] arising 

from operating the above-identified underground storage 

tank(s) in the amount of [insert dollar amount] corrective 

action per occurrence, [insert dollar amount] third party 

liability per occurrence, and [insert dollar amount] annual 

aggregate.  

(3) [Insert appropriate phrase: "On behalf of our 

subsidiary" (if guarantor is corporate parent of the owner 

or operator); "On behalf of our affiliate" (if guarantor is a 

related firm of the owner or operator); or "Incident to our 

business relationship with" (if guarantor is providing the 

guarantee as an incident to a substantial business 

relationship with owner or operator)] [owner or operator], 

guarantor guarantees to the State Water Control Board and 

to any and all third parties that:  

In the event that [owner or operator] fails to provide 

alternate coverage within 60 days after receipt of a notice 

of cancellation of this guarantee and the State Water 

Control Board has determined or suspects that a release has 

occurred at an underground storage tank covered by this 

guarantee, the guarantor, upon instructions from the State 

Water Control Board, shall pay the funds to the State 

Water Control Board in accordance with the provisions of 

9VAC25-590-170, in an amount not to exceed the 

coverage limits specified above.  

In the event that the State Water Control Board determines 

that [owner or operator] has failed to perform corrective 

action for releases arising out of the operation of the 

above-identified tank(s) in accordance with 9VAC25-580-

230 through 9VAC25-580-300 (Underground Storage 

Tanks: Technical Standards and Corrective Action 

Requirements), the guarantor upon written instructions 

from the State Water Control Board shall pay the funds to 

the State Water Control Board in accordance with the 

provisions of 9VAC25-590-170, in an amount not to 

exceed the coverage limits specified above.  

If [owner or operator] fails to satisfy a judgment or award 

based on a determination of liability for bodily injury or 

property damage to third parties caused by ["sudden" 

and/or "nonsudden"] accidental releases arising from the 

operation of the above-identified tank(s), or fails to pay an 

amount agreed to in settlement of a claim arising from or 

alleged to arise from such injury or damage, the guarantor, 

upon written instructions from the State Water Control 

Board, shall pay the funds to the State Water Control 

Board in accordance with the provisions of 9VAC25-590-

170 to satisfy such judgment(s), award(s), or settlement 

agreement(s) up to the limits of coverage specified above.  

(4) Guarantor agrees that if, at the end of any fiscal year 

before cancellation of this guarantee, the guarantor fails to 

meet the financial test criteria of 9VAC25-590-60 B or C 

and D, guarantor shall send within 120 days of such 

failure, by certified mail, notice to [owner or operator] and 

the State Water Control Board. The guarantee will 

terminate 120 days from the date of receipt of the notice by 

[owner or operator] and the State Water Control Board, as 

evidenced by the return receipts.  

(5) Guarantor agrees to notify [owner or operator] and the 

State Water Control Board by certified mail of a voluntary 

or involuntary proceeding under Title 11 (Bankruptcy), 

U.S. Code, naming guarantor as debtor, within 10 days 

after commencement of the proceeding.  

(6) Guarantor agrees to remain bound under this guarantee 

notwithstanding any modification or alteration of any 

obligation of [owner or operator] pursuant to 9VAC25-580 

and 9VAC25-590.  

(7) Guarantor agrees to remain bound under this guarantee 

for so long as [owner or operator] shall must comply with 

the applicable financial responsibility requirements of 

9VAC25-590 for the above-identified tank(s), except that 

guarantor may cancel this guarantee by sending notice by 

certified mail to [owner or operator] and the State Water 

Control Board, such cancellation to become effective no 

earlier than 120 days after receipt of such notice by [owner 

or operator] and the State Water Control Board, as 

evidenced by the return receipt.  

(8) The guarantor's obligation does not apply to any of the 

following:  

(a) Any obligation of [insert owner or operator] under a 

workers compensation, disability benefits, or 

unemployment compensation law or other similar law;  

(b) Bodily injury to an employee of [insert owner or 

operator] arising from, and in the course of, employment 

by [insert owner or operator];  

(c) Bodily injury or property damage arising from the 

ownership, maintenance, use, or entrustment to others of 

any aircraft, motor vehicle, or watercraft;  

(d) Property damage to any property owned, rented, 

loaned to, in the care, custody, or control of, or occupied 
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by [insert owner or operator] that is not the direct result 

of a release from a petroleum underground storage tank;  

(e) Bodily damage or property damage for which [insert 

owner or operator] is obligated to pay damages by reason 

of the assumption of liability in a contract or agreement 

other than a contract or agreement entered into to meet 

the requirements of 9VAC25-590-40.  

(9) Guarantor expressly waives notice of acceptance of this 

guarantee by the State Water Control Board, by any or all 

third parties, or by [owner or operator].  

I hereby certify that the wording of this guarantee is 

identical to the wording specified in Appendix II of 9VAC25-

590 as such regulations were constituted on the effective date 

shown immediately below.  

Effective date:  

[Name of guarantor]  

[Authorized signature for guarantor]  

[Name of person signing]  

[Title of person signing]  

Signature of witness or notary:  

APPENDIX V. PAYMENT AND PERFORMANCE BOND.  

[NOTE: The instructions in brackets are to be replaced by 

the relevant information and the brackets deleted.]  

Date bond executed:  

Period of coverage:  

Principal: [legal name and business address of owner or 

operator.]  

Type of organization: [insert "individual," "joint venture," 

"partnership," or "corporation"]  

State of incorporation (if applicable):  

Surety(ies): [name(s) and business address(es)]  

Scope of coverage: [List the number of tanks at each facility 

and the name(s) and address(es) of the facility(ies) where the 

tanks are located. If more than one instrument is used to 

assure different tanks at any one facility, for each tank 

covered by this instrument, list the tank identification number 

provided in the notification submitted pursuant to 9VAC25-

580-70 (Underground Storage Tanks: Technical Standards 

and Corrective Action Requirements), and the name and 

address of the facility. List the coverage guaranteed by the 

bond: "taking corrective action" and/or "compensating third 

parties for bodily injury and property damage caused by" 

either "sudden accidental releases" or "nonsudden accidental 

releases" or "accidental releases" "arising from operating the 

underground storage tank"].  

Penal sums of bond:  

Corrective Action (per occurrence) $.....  

Third Party Liability (per occurrence) $.....  

Annual aggregate $.....  

Surety's bond number:  

Know all Persons by These Presents, that we, the principal 

and Surety(ies), hereto are firmly bound to the State Water 

Control Board of the Commonwealth of Virginia, in the 

above penal sums for the payment of which we bind 

ourselves, our heirs, executors, administrators, successors, 

and assigns jointly and severally; provided that, where the 

Surety(ies) are corporations acting as co-sureties, we, the 

Sureties, bind ourselves in such sums jointly and severally 

only for the purpose of allowing a joint action or actions 

against any or all of us, and for all other purposes each surety 

binds itself, jointly and severally with the Principal, for the 

payment of such sums only as is set forth opposite the name 

of such Surety, but if no limit of liability is indicated, the 

limit of liability shall be the full amount of the penal sums.  

Whereas said Principal is required under § 62.1-44.34:8 

through 62.1-44.34:12 of the Code of Virginia, Subtitle I of 

the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA) Solid 

Waste Disposal Act of 1976, as amended, and under the 

Virginia Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Financial 

Requirements Regulation (9VAC25-590), to provide financial 

assurance for [insert: "taking corrective action" and/or 

"compensating third parties for bodily injury and property 

damage caused by" either "sudden accidental releases" or 

"nonsudden accidental releases" or "accidental releases";] [if 

coverage is different for different tanks or locations, indicate 

the type of coverage applicable to each tank or location] 

arising from operating the underground storage tanks 

identified above;  

Now, therefore, the conditions of the obligation are such that 

if the Principal shall faithfully ["take corrective action, in 

accordance with Part VI of 9VAC25-580-230 through 

9VAC25-580-300. (Underground Storage Tanks: Technical 

Standards and Corrective Action Requirements) and the State 

Water Control Board's instructions for," and/or "compensate 

injured third parties for bodily injury and property damage 

caused by" either "sudden" and/or "nonsudden" or "sudden 

and nonsudden"] accidental releases arising from operating 

the tank(s) identified above, or if the Principal shall provide 

alternate financial assurance, as specified in 9VAC25-590, 

within 120 days after the date the notice of cancellation is 

received by the Principal from the Surety(ies), then this 

obligation shall be null and void; otherwise it is to remain in 

full force and effect.  

Such obligation does not apply to any of the following:  

(a) Any obligation of [insert owner or operator] under a 

workers compensation, disability benefits, or 

unemployment compensation law or other similar law;  

(b) Bodily injury to an employee of [insert owner or 

operator] arising from, and in the course of, employment 

by [insert owner or operator];  

(c) Bodily injury or property damage arising from the 

ownership, maintenance, use, or entrustment to others of 

any aircraft, motor vehicle, or watercraft;  
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(d) Property damage to any property owned, rented, loaned 

to, in the care, custody, or control of, or occupied by [insert 

owner or operator] that is not the direct result of a release 

from a petroleum underground storage tank;  

(e) Bodily injury or property damage for which [insert 

owner or operator] is obligated to pay damages by reason 

of the assumption of liability in a contract or agreement 

other than a contract or agreement entered into to meet the 

requirements of 9VAC25-590-40.  

The Surety(ies) shall become liable on this bond obligation 

only when the Principal has failed to fulfill the conditions 

described above.  

Upon notification by the State Water Control Board that the 

Principal has failed to ["take corrective action, in accordance 

with Part VI of 9VAC25-580-230 through 25-580-300 and 

the State Water Control Board's instructions," and/or 

"compensate injured third parties"] as guaranteed by this 

bond, the Surety(ies) shall either perform ["corrective action 

in, accordance with 9VAC25-580 and the board's 

instructions," and/or "third party liability compensation"] or 

pay the funds in an amount up to the annual aggregate penal 

sum to the State Water Control Board as directed by the State 

Water Control Board under 9VAC25-590-170. The State 

Water Control Board in its sole discretion may elect to 

require the surety to pay the funds or to take corrective action 

and compensate third parties or any combination up to the 

annual aggregate penal sum.  

Upon notification by the State Water Control Board that the 

Principal has failed to provide alternate financial assurance 

within 60 days after the date the notice of cancellation is 

received by the Principal from the Surety(ies) and that the 

State Water Control Board has determined or suspects that a 

release has occurred, the Surety(ies) shall pay the funds in an 

amount not exceeding the annual aggregate penal sum to the 

State Water Control Board as directed by the State Water 

Control Board under 9VAC25-590-170.  

The Surety(ies) submit to the jurisdiction of the Circuit 

Court of the City of Richmond to adjudicate any claim 

against it(them) by the State Water Control Board and waive 

any objection to venue in that court. Interest shall accrue at 

the judgment rate of interest on the amount due beginning 

seven days after the date of notification by the State Water 

Control Board. In the event the State Water Control Board 

shall institute legal action to compel performance by the 

Surety under this agreement, the Surety shall be liable for all 

costs and legal fees incurred by the board to enforce this 

agreement.  

The Surety(ies) hereby waive(s) notification of amendments 

to applicable laws, statutes, rules, and regulations and agrees 

that no such amendment shall in any way alleviate its (their) 

obligation on this bond. The Surety(ies) hereby agree(s) that 

it(they) has been notified of all material facts regarding this 

contract of suretyship and waive(s) any defense founded in 

concealment of material facts. The Surety(ies) represents that 

the person executing this agreement has full authority to 

execute the agreement. Surety(ies) hereby waive(s) any right 

to notice of breach or default of the Principal. The State 

Water Control Board may enforce this agreement against the 

Surety(ies) without bringing suit against the principal. The 

State Water Control Board shall not be required to exhaust 

the assets of the Principal before demanding performance or 

funding of the trust fund by the Surety. No lawful act of the 

State Water Control Board, including without limitation any 

extension of time to the Principal, shall serve to release any 

surety, whether or not that act may be construed to alter or 

vary this agreement. Release of one co-surety shall not act as 

the release of another. This agreement shall be construed to 

effect its purpose to provide remedial action for petroleum 

releases and to provide compensation for third parties injured 

by such releases.  

The liability of the Surety(ies) shall not be discharged by 

any payment or succession of payments hereunder, unless and 

until such payment or payments shall amount in the annual 

aggregate to the penal sum shown on the face of the bond, but 

in no event shall the obligation of the Surety(ies) hereunder 

exceed the amount of said annual aggregate penal sum.  

The Surety(ies) may cancel the bond by sending notice of 

cancellation by certified mail to the principal and the State 

Water Control Board, provided, however, that cancellation 

shall not occur during the 120 days beginning on the date of 

receipt of the notice of cancellation by the principal and the 

State Water Control Board, as evidenced by the return 

receipts.  

The Principal may terminate this bond by sending written 

notice to the Surety(ies).  

In Witness Thereof, the Principal and Surety(ies) have 

executed this Bond and have affixed their seals on the date set 

forth above.  

The persons whose signatures appear below hereby certify 

that they are authorized to execute this surety bond on behalf 

of the Principal and Surety(ies) and that the wording of this 

surety bond is identical to the wording specified in Appendix 

V of 9VAC25-590 as such regulations were constituted on 

the date this bond was executed.  

PRINCIPAL  

[Signature(s)]  

[Name(s)]  

[Title(s)]  

[Corporate seal]  

CORPORATE SURETY(IES)  

[Name and address]  

State of Incorporation:  

Liability limit........................$...  

[Signature(s)]  

[Name(s) and title(s)]  
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[Corporate seal]  

[For every co-surety, provide signature(s), corporate seal, 

and other information in the same manner as for surety 

above.]  

Bond premium:....................$...  

APPENDIX VI. IRREVOCABLE STANDBY LETTER OF 

CREDIT.  

[NOTE: The instructions in brackets are to be replaced by 

the relevant information and the brackets deleted.]  

[Name and address of issuing institution]  

[Name and address of the Executive Director of the State 

Water Control Board of the Commonwealth of Virginia and 

Director(s) of other state implementing agency(ies)]  

Dear Sir or Madam: We hereby establish our Irrevocable 

Standby Letter of Credit No.... in your favor, at the request 

and for the account of [owner or operator name] of [address] 

up to the aggregate amount of in words U.S. dollars ($[insert 

dollar amount]), available upon presentation [insert, if more 

than one director of a state implementing agency is a 

beneficiary, "by any one of you"] of  

(1) your sight draft, bearing reference to this letter of 

credit, No... and  

(2) your signed statement reading as follows: "I certify that 

the amount of the draft is payable pursuant to regulations 

issued under authority of 62.1-44.34:8 through 62.1-

44.34:12 of the Code of Virginia and Subtitle I of the 

Resource Conservation and Recovery Solid Waste 

Disposal Act of 1976, as amended."  

This letter of credit may be drawn on to cover [insert: 

"taking corrective action" and/or "compensating third parties 

for bodily injury and property damage caused by" either 

"sudden accidental releases" or "nonsudden accidental 

releases" or "accidental releases"] arising from operating the 

underground storage tank(s) identified below in the amount of 

in words $[insert dollar amount] corrective action per 

occurrence, [in words] $[insert dollar amount] third party 

liability per occurrence, and [in words] $[insert dollar 

amount] annual aggregate:  

[List the number of tanks at each facility and the name(s) 

and address(es) of the facility(ies) where the tanks are 

located. If more than one instrument is used to assure 

different tanks at any one facility, for each tank covered by 

this instrument, list the tank identification number provided in 

the notification submitted pursuant to 9VAC25-580-70 

(Underground Storage Tanks: Technical Standards and 

Corrective Action Requirements), and the name and address 

of the facility.]  

The letter of credit may not be drawn on to cover any of the 

following:  

(a) Any obligation, of [insert owner or operator] under a 

workers compensation, disability benefits, or 

unemployment compensation law or other similar law;  

(b) Bodily injury to an employee of [insert owner or 

operator] arising from, and in the course of, employment 

by [insert owner or operator];  

(c) Bodily injury or property damage arising from the 

ownership, maintenance, use, or entrustment to others of 

any aircraft, motor vehicle, or watercraft;  

(d) Property damage to any property owned, rented, loaned 

to, in the care, custody, or control of, or occupied by [insert 

owner or operator] that is not the direct result of a release 

from a petroleum underground storage tank;  

(e) Bodily injury or property damage for which [insert 

owner or operator] is obligated to pay damages by reason 

of the assumption of liability in a contract or agreement 

other than a contract or agreement entered into to meet the 

requirements of 9VAC25-590-40 (Virginia Petroleum 

Underground Storage Tank Financial Responsibility 

Requirements).  

This letter of credit is effective as of [date] and shall expire 

on [date], but such expiration date shall be automatically 

extended for a period of [at least the length of the original 

term] on [expiration date] and on each successive expiration 

date, unless, at least 120 days before the current expiration 

date, we notify [owner or operator] and the State Water 

Control Board by certified mail that we have decided not to 

extend this letter of credit beyond the current expiration date. 

In the event that [owner or operator] and the State Water 

Control Board are so notified, any unused portion of the 

credit shall be available upon presentation of your sight draft 

for 120 days after the date of receipt by [owner or operator] 

and the State Water Control Board, as shown on the signed 

return receipts.  

Partial draws are permitted under this Irrevocable Standby 

Letter of Credit.  

Whenever this letter of credit is drawn on under and in 

compliance with the terms of this credit, we shall duly honor 

such draft upon presentation to us, and we shall pay to you 

the amount of the draft promptly and directly in accordance 

with your instructions.  

We certify that the wording of this letter of credit is identical 

to the wording specified in Appendix VI of 9VAC25-590 as 

such regulations were constituted on the date shown 

immediately below.  

[Signature(s) and title(s) of official(s) of issuing institution]  

[Date]  

This credit is subject to [insert "the most recent edition of 

the Uniform Customs and Practice for Documentary Credits, 

published and copyrighted by the International Chamber of 

Commerce," or "the Uniform Commercial Code"].  

APPENDIX VII. TRUST AGREEMENT.  

[NOTE: The instructions in brackets are to be replaced by 

the relevant information and the brackets deleted.]  
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Trust agreement, the "Agreement," entered into as of [date] 

by and between [name of the owner or operator], a [name of 

state] [insert "corporation," "partnership," "association," or 

"proprietorship"], the "Grantor," and [name of corporate 

trustee], [insert "Incorporated in the state of..... " or "a 

national bank"], the "Trustee."  

Whereas, the State Water Control Board of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia has established certain 

regulations applicable to the Grantor, requiring that an owner 

or operator of an underground storage tank shall provide 

assurance that funds will be available when needed for 

corrective action and third party compensation for bodily 

injury and property damage caused by sudden and nonsudden 

accidental releases arising from the operation of the 

underground storage tank. The attached Schedule A lists the 

number of tanks at each facility and the name(s) and 

address(es) of the facility(ies) where the tanks are located that 

are covered by the trust agreement.  

Whereas, the Grantor, acting through its duly authorized 

officers, has selected the Trustee to be the trustee under this 

agreement, and the Trustee is willing to act as trustee;  

Now, therefore, the Grantor and the Trustee agree as 

follows:  

Section 1. Definitions. As used in this Agreement:  

(a) The term "Grantor" means the owner or operator who 

enters into this Agreement and any successors or assigns of 

the Grantor.  

(b) The term "Trustee" means the Trustee who enters into 

this Agreement and any successor Trustee.  

(c) "9VAC25-590" is the Petroleum Underground Storage 

Tank Financial Requirements Regulation promulgated by 

the State Water Control Board for the Commonwealth of 

Virginia.  

Section 2. Establishment of Fund.  

The Grantor and the Trustee hereby establish a trust fund, 

the "Fund," for the benefit of the State Water Control Board 

of the Commonwealth of Virginia. The Grantor and the 

Trustee intend that no third party have access to the Fund 

except as herein provided. Payments made by the provider of 

financial assurance pursuant to the State Water Control 

Board's instruction are transferred to the Trustee and are 

referred to as the Fund, together with all earnings and profits 

thereon, less any payments or distributions made by the 

Trustee pursuant to this Agreement. The Fund shall be held 

by the Trustee, IN TRUST, as hereinafter provided. The 

Trustee shall not be responsible nor shall it undertake any 

responsibility for the amount or adequacy of, nor any duty to 

collect from the Grantor as provider of financial assurance, 

any payments necessary to discharge any liability of the 

Grantor established by the State Water Control Board.  

Section 3. Payment for ["Corrective Action" and/or "Third 

Party Liability Claims"].  

The Trustee shall make payments from the Fund as the State 

Water Control Board shall direct, in writing, to provide for 

the payment of the costs of [insert: "taking corrective action" 

and/or "compensating third parties for bodily injury and 

property damage] caused by" either "sudden accidental 

releases" or "nonsudden accidental releases" or "accidental 

releases" arising from operating the tanks covered by this 

Agreement.  

The Fund may not be drawn upon to cover any of the 

following:  

(a) Any obligation of [insert owner or operator] under a 

workers compensation, disability benefits, or 

unemployment compensation law or other similar law;  

(b) Bodily injury to an employee of [insert owner or 

operator] arising from, and in the course of, employment 

by [insert owner or operator];  

(c) Bodily injury or property damage arising from the 

ownership, maintenance, use, or entrustment to others of 

any aircraft, motor vehicle, or watercraft;  

(d) Property damage to any property owned, rented, loaned 

to, in the care, custody, or control of, or occupied by [insert 

owner or operator] that is not the direct result of a release 

from a petroleum underground storage tank;  

(e) Bodily injury or property damage for which [insert 

owner or operator] is obligated to pay damages by reason 

of the assumption of liability in a contract or agreement 

other than a contract or agreement entered into to meet the 

requirements of 9VAC25-590-40.  

The Trustee shall reimburse the Grantor, or other persons as 

specified by the State Water Control Board, from the Fund 

for corrective action expenditures and/or third party liability 

claims in such amounts as the State Water Control Board 

shall direct in writing. In addition, the Trustee shall refund to 

the Grantor such amounts as the State Water Control Board 

specifies in writing. Upon refund, such funds shall no longer 

constitute part of the Fund as defined here.  

Section 4. Payments Comprising the Fund.  

Payments made to the Trustee for the Fund shall consist of 

cash and securities acceptable to the Trustee.  

Section 5. Trustee Management.  

The Trustee shall invest and reinvest the principal and 

income of the Fund and keep the Fund invested as a single 

fund, without distinction between principal and income, in 

accordance with general investment policies and guidelines 

which the Grantor may communicate in writing to the Trustee 

from time to time, subject, however, to the provisions of this 

section. In investing, reinvesting, exchanging, selling, and 

managing the Fund, the Trustee shall discharge his duties 

with respect to the trust fund solely in the interest of the 

beneficiaries and with the care, skill, prudence, and diligence 

under the circumstances then prevailing which persons of 

prudence, acting in a like capacity and familiar with such 
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matters, would use in the conduct of an enterprise of a like 

character and with like aims, except that:  

(i) Securities or other obligations of the Grantor, or any 

other owner or operator of the tanks, or any of their 

affiliates as defined in the Investment Company Act of 

1940, as amended, 15 USC § 80a-2(a), shall not be 

acquired or held, unless they are securities or other 

obligations of the federal or a state government;  

(ii) The Trustee is authorized to invest the Fund in time or 

demand deposits of the Trustee, to the extent insured by an 

agency of the federal or state government; and  

(iii) The Trustee is authorized to hold cash awaiting 

investment or distribution uninvested for a reasonable time 

and without liability for the payment of interest thereon.  

Section 6. Commingling and Investment.  

The Trustee is expressly authorized in its discretion:  

(a) To transfer from time to time any or all of the assets of 

the Fund to any common, commingled, or collective trust 

fund created by the Trustee in which the Fund is eligible to 

participate, subject to all of the provisions thereof, to be 

commingled with the assets of other trusts participating 

therein; and  

(b) To purchase shares in any investment company 

registered under the Investment Company Act of 1940, 

15 USC § 80a-1 et seq., including one which may be 

created, managed, underwritten, or to which investment 

advice is rendered or the shares of which are sold by the 

Trustee. The Trustee may vote such shares in its discretion.  

Section 7. Express Powers of Trustee.  

Without in any way limiting the powers and discretions 

conferred upon the Trustee by the other provisions of this 

Agreement or by law, the Trustee is expressly authorized and 

empowered:  

(a) To sell, exchange, convey, transfer, or otherwise 

dispose of any property held by it, by public or private 

sale. No person dealing with the Trustee shall be bound to 

see to the application of the purchase money or to inquire 

into the validity or expediency of any such sale or other 

disposition;  

(b) To make, execute, acknowledge, and deliver any and 

all documents of transfer and conveyance and any and all 

other instruments that may be necessary or appropriate to 

carry out the powers herein granted;  

(c) To register any securities held in the Fund in its own 

name or in the name of a nominee and to hold any security 

in bearer form or in book entry, or to combine certificates 

representing such securities with certificates of the same 

issue held by the Trustee in other fiduciary capacities, or to 

deposit or arrange for the deposit of such securities in a 

qualified central depository even though, when so 

deposited, such securities may be merged and held in bulk 

in the name of the nominee of such depository with other 

securities deposited therein by another person, or to deposit 

or arrange for the deposit of any securities issued by the 

United States Government, or any agency or 

instrumentality thereof, with a Federal Reserve bank, but 

the books and records of the Trustee shall at all times show 

that all such securities are part of the Fund;  

(d) To deposit any cash in the Fund in interest-bearing 

accounts maintained or savings certificates issued by the 

Trustee, in its separate corporate capacity, or in any other 

banking institution affiliated with the Trustee, to the extent 

insured by an agency of the federal or state government; 

and  

(e) To compromise or otherwise adjust all claims in favor 

of or against the Fund.  

Section 8. Taxes and Expenses.  

All taxes of any kind that may be assessed or levied against 

or in respect of the Fund and all brokerage commissions 

incurred by the Fund shall be paid from the Fund. All other 

expenses incurred by the Trustee in connection with the 

administration of this Trust, including fees for legal services 

rendered to the Trustee, the compensation of the Trustee to 

the extent not paid directly by the Grantor, and all other 

proper charges and disbursements of the Trustee shall be paid 

from the Fund.  

Section 9. Advice of Counsel.  

The Trustee may from time to time consult with counsel, 

who may be counsel to the Grantor, with respect to any 

questions arising as to the construction of this Agreement or 

any action to be taken hereunder. The Trustee shall be fully 

protected, to the extent permitted by law, in acting upon the 

advice of counsel.  

Section 10. Trustee Compensation.  

The Trustee shall be entitled to reasonable compensation for 

its services as agreed upon in writing from time to time with 

the Grantor.  

Section 11. Successor Trustee.  

The Trustee may resign or the Grantor may replace the 

Trustee, but such resignation or replacement shall not be 

effective until the Grantor has appointed a successor trustee 

and this successor accepts the appointment. The successor 

trustee shall have the same powers and duties as those 

conferred upon the Trustee hereunder. Upon the successor 

trustee's acceptance of the appointment, the Trustee shall 

assign, transfer, and pay over to the successor trustee the 

funds and properties then constituting the Fund. If for any 

reason the Grantor cannot or does not act in the event of the 

resignation of the Trustee, the Trustee may apply to a court of 

competent jurisdiction for the appointment of a successor 

trustee or for instructions. The successor trustee shall specify 

the date on which it assumes administration of the trust in 

writing sent to the Grantor and the present Trustee by 

certified mail 10 days before such change becomes effective. 

Any expenses incurred by the Trustee as a result of any of the 
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acts contemplated by this Section shall be paid as provided in 

Section 9 8.  

Section 12. Instructions to the Trustee.  

All orders, requests, and instructions by the Grantor to the 

Trustee shall be in writing, signed by such persons as are 

designated in the attached Schedule B or such other designees 

as the Grantor may designate by amendment to Schedule B. 

The trustee shall be fully protected in acting without inquiry 

in accordance with the Grantor's orders, requests, and 

instructions. All orders, requests and instructions by the State 

Water Control Board to the Trustee shall be in writing, signed 

by the Executive Director of the State Water Control Board, 

and the Trustee shall act and shall be fully protected in acting 

in accordance with such orders, requests, and instructions. 

The Trustee shall have the right to assume, in the absence of 

written notice to the contrary, that no event constituting a 

change or a termination of the authority of any person to act 

on behalf of the Grantor or the State Water Control Board 

hereunder has occurred. The Trustee shall have no duty to act 

in the absence of such orders, requests, and instructions from 

the Grantor and/or the State Water Control Board, except as 

provided for herein.  

Section 13. Amendment of Agreement.  

This Agreement may be amended by an instrument in 

writing executed by the Grantor and the Trustee, or by the 

Trustee and the State Water Control Board if the Grantor 

ceases to exist.  

Section 14. Irrevocability and Termination.  

Subject to the right of the parties to amend this Agreement 

as provided in Section 14 13, this Trust shall be irrevocable 

and shall continue until terminated at the written direction of 

the Grantor and the Trustee, or by the Trustee and the State 

Water Control Board, if the Grantor ceases to exist. Upon 

termination of the Trust, all remaining trust property, less 

final trust administration expenses, shall be delivered to the 

Grantor.  

Section 15. Immunity and Indemnification.  

The Trustee shall not incur personal liability of any nature in 

connection with any act or omission, made in good faith, in 

the administration of this Trust, or in carrying out any 

directions by the Grantor or the State Water Control Board 

issued in accordance with this Agreement. The Trustee shall 

be indemnified and saved harmless by the Grantor, from and 

against any personal liability to which the Trustee may be 

subjected by reason of any act or conduct in its official 

capacity, including all expenses reasonably incurred in its 

defense in the event the Grantor fails to provide such defense.  

Section 16. Choice of Law.  

This Agreement shall be administered, construed, and 

enforced according to the laws of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, or the Comptroller of the Currency in the case of 

National Association banks.  

Section 17. Interpretation.  

As used in this Agreement, words in the singular include the 

plural and words in the plural include the singular. The 

descriptive headings for each section of this Agreement shall 

not affect the interpretation or the legal efficacy of this 

Agreement.  

In Witness whereof the parties have caused this Agreement 

to be executed by their respective officers duly authorized and 

their corporate seals (if applicable) to be hereunto affixed and 

attested as of the date first above written. The parties below 

certify that the wording of this Agreement is identical to the 

wording specified in Appendix VII of 9VAC25-590 as such 

regulations were constituted on the date written above.  

[Signature of Grantor]  

[Name of the Grantor]  

[Title]  

Attest:  

[Signature of Trustee]  

[Name of the Trustee]  

[Title]  

[Seal]  

[Signature of Witness]  

[Name of Witness]  

[Title]  

[Seal]  

APPENDIX XI. LETTER FROM CHIEF FINANCIAL 

OFFICER (SHORT FORM).  

[Note: This Appendix may only be used by owners or 

operators who do not own or operate hazardous waste 

facilities, or underground injection control wells.]  

[Note: The instructions in brackets are to be replaced by the 

relevant information and the brackets deleted.]  

I am the chief financial officer of [insert: name and address 

of the owner or operator or guarantor]. This letter is in 

support of the use of [insert "the financial test of self-

insurance," and/or "Guarantee"] to demonstrate financial 

responsibility for [insert: "taking corrective action" and/or 

"compensating third parties for bodily injury and property 

damage"] caused by [insert "sudden accidental releases" 

and/or or "nonsudden accidental releases" or "accidental 

releases"] in the amount of at least $[insert dollar amount] 

corrective action per occurrence, $[insert dollar amount] third 

party liability per occurrence, and $[insert dollar amount] 

annual aggregate arising from operating (an) underground 

storage tank(s).  

Underground storage tanks at the following facilities are 

assured by this financial test by this [insert: "owner or 

operator," and/or "guarantor"]: [List for each facility the name 

and address of the facility where tanks assured by this 

financial test are located, and whether tanks are assured by 

this financial test. If separate mechanisms or combinations of 

mechanisms are being used to assure any of the tanks at this 
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facility, list each tank assured by this financial test by the tank 

identification number provided in the notification submitted 

pursuant to 9VAC25-580-70 (Underground Storage Tanks: 

Technical Standards and Corrective Action Requirements)].  

I am not required to demonstrate evidence of financial 

responsibility for any other EPA regulation or state programs 

authorized by EPA.  

This [insert: "owner or operator," or "guarantor"] has not 

received an adverse opinion, a disclaimer of opinion, or a 

"going concern" qualification from an independent auditor on 

the financial statements for the latest completed financial 

reporting year.  

[Fill in the information below to demonstrate compliance 

with the financial test requirements.]  

1. Amount of annual UST aggregate coverage being 

assured by a financial test, and/or guarantee...$__________  

2. Amount of annual aboveground storage tank (AST) 

aggregate coverage being assured by a financial test and/or 

guarantee...$__________  

3. Total UST/AST financial responsibility obligations 

assured by a financial test and/or guarantee (sum of lines 1 

and 2)...$__________  

4. Total tangible assets...$__________  

5. Total liabilities [if any of the amount reported on line 3 

is included in total liabilities, you may deduct that amount 

from this line or add that amount to line 6]...$__________  

6. Tangible net worth [subtract line 5 from line 

4]...$__________  

7. Is line 4 at least equal to line 3 above? Yes... No...  

8. Have financial statements for the latest financial 

reporting year been filed with the Securities and Exchange 

Commission? Yes... No...  

9. Have financial statements for the latest financial 

reporting year been filed with the Energy Information 

Administration? Yes... No...  

10. Have financial statements for the latest financial 

reporting year been filed with the Rural Utilities Service? 

Yes... No...  

11. Has financial information been provided to Dun and 

Bradstreet, and has Dun and Bradstreet provided a 

financial strength rating at least equal to the amount of 

annual UST aggregate coverage being assured according to 

the table below?  

  Annual Aggregate 

Requirement 

Dun and Bradstreet 

Rating 

  $20,000 EE ($20,000 to $34,999) 

  $40,000 DC ($50,000 to 

$74,999) 

  $80,000 CB ($125,000 to 

$199,999) 

  $150,000 BB ($200,000 to 

$299,999) 

  $200,000 BB ($200,000 to 

$299,999) 

  $300,000 BA ($300,000 to 

$499,999) 

  $500,000 1A ($500,000 to 

$749,999) 

  $750,000 2A ($750,000 to 

$999,999) 

  $1,000,000 3A ($1,000,000 to 

$9,999,999) 

[Answer "Yes" only if BOTH criteria have been met.] Yes... 

No...  

12. If you did not answer yes to one of lines 8 through 11, 

please attach a report from a certified public accountant 

certifying that there are no material differences between the 

data reported in lines 4 through 7 above and the financial 

statements for the latest financial reporting year.  

I hereby certify that the wording of this letter is identical to the 

wording specified in Appendix XI of this chapter as such 

regulations were constituted on the date shown immediately 

below.  

[Signature]  

[Name]  

[Title]  

[Date]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-4454; Filed August 3, 2017, 9:45 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-221. Regulations Governing 

Cooperative Agreements (adding 12VAC5-221-10 through 

12VAC5-221-150).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-12 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 4, 2017. 

Effective Date: October 20, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Erik Bodin, Director, Office of Licensure 

and Certification, Department of Health, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 401, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

2109, or email erik.bodin@vdh.virginia.gov. 
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Basis: The regulation is promulgated under the authority of 

Chapter 741 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly and § 32.1-12 of 

the Code of Virginia. Chapter 741 contains an enactment 

clause that mandates the State Board of Health to promulgate 

regulations to implement the provisions of the act and 

requires those regulations contain, at a minimum, provisions 

regarding (i) the review of applications for proposed 

cooperative agreements, (ii) the process by which 

applications for proposed cooperative agreements shall be 

approved or denied, (iii) post-approval monitoring, and (iv) a 

schedule establishing the amount of the annual fee that the 

Commissioner of Health is authorized to assess from the 

parties to a cooperative agreement. Section 32.1-12 of the 

Code of Virginia authorizes the State Board of Health to 

make, adopt, promulgate, and enforce such regulations and 

provide for reasonable variances and exemptions therefrom as 

may be necessary to carry out the provisions of Title 32.1 of 

the Code of Virginia and other laws of the Commonwealth 

administered by it, the commissioner, or the Department of 

Health. 

Purpose: In order to address the unique health care challenges 

that exist in the Southwest Virginia region, the General 

Assembly through Chapter 741 has authorized the 

commissioner to approve cooperative agreements that are 

beneficial to individuals served by the Southwest Virginia 

Health Authority and to actively supervise cooperative 

agreements to ensure compliance with the provisions that 

have been approved. The intent of this regulatory action is to 

promote and protect the health and safety of individuals 

within the Southwest Virginia Health Authority's geographic 

area by ensuring any cooperative agreements entered into by 

hospitals foster improvements in the quality of health care, 

moderate increases in health care cost, improve access to 

needed health care services, and promote improvements in 

population health status in the Southwest Virginia Health 

Authority's geographic area.  

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: Chapter 

741 mandates the State Board of Health to promulgate 

regulations that, at a minimum, address the review of 

applications for proposed cooperative agreements, the process 

by which applicants for proposed cooperative agreements 

shall be approved or denied, post-approval monitoring, and a 

fee schedule establishing the amount of the annual fee per 

cooperative agreement. The emergency regulations that were 

promulgated have been used since 2016. Furthermore, § 15.2-

5384.1 of the Code of Virginia is very specific in regards to 

the review of cooperative agreements, with the regulatory 

language closely tracking the statutory requirements. 

Therefore, the Virginia Department of Health believes the 

proposed regulation will be noncontroversial, allowing use of 

the fast-track rulemaking process. 

Substance:  

12VAC5-221-10. Purpose. This section lays out the purpose 

of the regulatory chapter which is derived from Chapter 741 

of the 2015 Acts of Assembly and Chapter 53.1 (§ 15.2-5368 

et seq.) of Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

12VAC5-221-20. Definitions. This section defines key terms 

used within the regulatory chapter. 

12VAC5-221-30. Separate applications. This section requires 

that each cooperative agreement entered into requires its own 

letter authorizing cooperative agreement. The section states 

that amendments to existing cooperative agreements require 

submission of a new application. 

12VAC5-221-40. Application. This section specifies the 

process for applying for a letter authorizing cooperative 

agreement. The section states that applications shall be 

submitted simultaneously to the authority, commissioner, and 

the Office of the Attorney General. The section also lays out 

the method for submitting information considered to be 

confidential. 

12VAC5-221-50. Fee schedule. This section lays out the 

method for submitting application fees, establishes the 

application fee, method for the department to refund the 

applicant should it be necessary and establishes that the 

department may charge additional fees beyond the application 

fee should the cost to the department be greater than the 

application fee. 

12VAC5-221-60. Public hearing. This section lays out the 

requirements of the public hearing required by § 15.2- 5384.1 

D of the Code of Virginia. This section states that the public 

hearing shall be held by the authority in conjunction with the 

Virginia Department of Health, shall be open to the public, 

and shall be recorded by the Virginia Department of Health. 

12VAC5-221-70. Commissioner's request for information. 

This section lays out that information the commissioner shall 

request from an applicant provided that information is not 

already included within the application. The commissioner is 

permitted to request further information not specified by 

regulation. 

12VAC5-221-80. Commissioner's review. This section lays 

out the process the commissioner shall follow when 

reviewing an application for a letter authorizing cooperative 

agreement. The commissioner shall consult with the Attorney 

General's Office and other affected agencies of the 

Commonwealth and may consult with the Federal Trade 

Commission and other affected jurisdictions. This section 

specifies what materials the commissioner shall consider, 

when the commissioner shall issue a decision, and the 

circumstances under which the commissioner shall approve 

an application. 

12VAC5-221-90. Action on an application. This section 

provides the framework for the commissioner's decision 

including the timeframe a decision will be rendered, as 

required by § 15.2-5384.1 F of the Code of Virginia, and 

laying out potential conditions which may be placed on a 

letter authorizing cooperative agreement. 
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12VAC5-221-100. Ongoing and active supervision. This 

section lays out the process for ongoing monitoring should a 

letter authorizing cooperative agreement be issued, including 

ongoing reporting to the department. Further, the section lays 

out how the department will evaluate continued reporting to 

determine if the letter holder is complying with the terms of 

the letter authorizing cooperative agreement including 

conditions. That process includes the creation of qualitative 

measures. The qualitative measures will be created using the 

technical advisory panel established in 12VAC5-221- 120. 

This section permits the Virginia Department of Health to 

make onsite inspections if necessary and requires an 

investigation of any complaints regarding noncompliance 

with the cooperative agreement or the letter authorizing 

cooperative agreement. The regulation also provides for other 

methods of monitoring provided the commissioner and the 

department provide advance notice to the parties. 

12VAC5-221-110. Annual reporting. This section details the 

requirements of the annual report each letter holder is 

required to submit. This section lays out the fee due to be 

submitted with the annual report. 

12VAC5-221-120. Technical advisory panel. This section 

states that the commissioner shall appoint a technical 

advisory panel, which will provide recommendations to the 

commissioner regarding the creation of qualitative measures 

that will be used to track the benefits of a cooperative 

agreement. The section further lays out the requirements of 

the membership of the technical advisory panel, when it shall 

meet, and the metrics it shall identify. 

12VAC5-221-130. Enforcement procedures. This section lays 

the procedures that the commissioner is to follow should 

there be reason to believe that a cooperative agreement no 

longer meets the requirements of the Code of Virginia. The 

section also lays out the circumstances in which the 

commissioner may revoke a letter authorizing cooperative 

agreement. 

12VAC5-221-140. Voluntary termination of cooperative 

agreement. This section states that letter holder shall file 

notice with the department should they terminate a 

cooperative agreement and return the letter authorizing 

cooperative agreement. 

12VAC5-221-150. Official records. This section clarifies that 

the commissioner and the department shall maintain all 

cooperative agreements, all records collected pursuant to the 

regulatory chapter, and all annual reports as official records. 

The section also states which records shall be available on the 

department's website. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the public, the agency, and 

the Commonwealth are in meeting the stated policy of the 

Commonwealth as included in § 15.2-5384.1 of the Code of 

Virginia "to encourage cooperative, collaborative, and 

integrative arrangements, including mergers and acquisitions 

among hospitals, health centers, or health providers who 

might otherwise be competitors. To the extent such 

cooperative agreements, or the planning and negotiations that 

precede such cooperative agreements, might be 

anticompetitive within the meaning and intent of state and 

federal antitrust laws, the intent of the Commonwealth with 

respect to each participating locality is to supplant 

competition with a regulatory program to permit cooperative 

agreements that are beneficial to citizens served by the 

Authority, and to invest in the Commissioner the authority to 

approve cooperative agreements recommended by the 

Authority and the duty of active supervision to ensure 

compliance with the provisions of the cooperative agreements 

that have been approved." The proposed regulatory action 

poses no disadvantage to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 741 of the 2015 Acts of the Assembly,
1
 

the State Board of Health (Board) proposes to promulgate a 

regulation that will govern any mergers between 

hospitals/hospital systems in Southwest Virginia that are 

approved under the Virginia Cooperative Agreements Act. 

Specifically, the Board proposes to set definitions and a fee 

schedule. The Board also proposes to outline procedures for 

the Commissioner's requests for information, the 

Commissioner's review of applications and ongoing 

monitoring of, and annual reporting for, approved cooperative 

agreements. This regulation will replace an emergency 

regulation that went into effect January 18, 2016, and that 

expires January 16, 2018.  

Result of Analysis. Costs likely outweigh benefits for this 

proposed regulatory action. 

Estimated Economic Impact. In 2015, the General Assembly 

passed the Cooperative Agreements Act (the Act) which 

amended the authorizing legislation for the Southwest 

Virginia Health Authority. The Act authorizes the Southwest 

Virginia Health Authority to receive and review applications 

for cooperative agreement for mergers between hospitals, 

hospital centers or health care providers who would otherwise 

be competitors in the market place. The Act also sets out 

criteria for assessment of such applications. By statute, both 

the Southwest Virginia Health Authority and, later in the 

process, the Commissioner of the Virginia Department of 

Health (VDH), must consider whether a proposed cooperative 

agreement will result in: 

"a. Enhancement of the quality of hospital and hospital-

related care, including mental health services and treatment of 

substance abuse, provided to citizens served by the Authority, 

resulting in improved patient satisfaction; 

b. Enhancement of population health status consistent with 

the regional health goals established by the Authority; 

c. Preservation of hospital facilities in geographical proximity 

to the communities traditionally served by those facilities to 

ensure access to care; 
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d. Gains in the cost-efficiency of services provided by the 

hospitals involved; 

e. Improvements in the utilization of hospital resources and 

equipment;  

f. Avoidance of duplication of hospital resources;  

g. Participation in the state Medicaid program; and 

h. Total cost of care." 

The Southwest Virginia Health Authority and, later in the 

process, the Commissioner must also evaluate any 

disadvantages attributable to any reduction in competition 

likely to result from any proposed cooperative agreement. 

Pursuant to the Act, these entities must assess factors that 

include, but are not limited to: 

a. The extent of any likely adverse impact of the proposed 

cooperative agreement on the ability of health maintenance 

organizations, preferred provider organizations, managed 

health care organizations, or other health care payors to 

negotiate reasonable payment and service arrangements with 

hospitals, physicians, allied health care professionals, or other 

health care providers; 

b. The extent of any reduction in competition among 

physicians, allied health professionals, other health care 

providers, or other persons furnishing goods or services to, or 

in competition with, hospitals that is likely to result directly 

or indirectly from the proposed cooperative agreement; 

c. The extent of any likely adverse impact on patients in the 

quality, availability, and price of health care services; and 

d. The availability of arrangements that are less restrictive to 

competition and achieve the same benefits or a more 

favorable balance of benefits over disadvantages attributable 

to any reduction in competition likely to result from the 

proposed cooperative agreement. 

The Act authorizes the Southwest Virginia Health Authority 

to recommend approval of proposed cooperative agreements 

to the Commissioner only if "it determines that the benefits 

likely to result from the proposed cooperative agreement 

outweigh the disadvantages likely to result from a reduction 

in competition from the proposed cooperative agreement." 

According to the Act, upon receipt of the Southwest Virginia 

Health Authority's recommendation, the Commissioner may 

request additional information from applicant parties that he 

deems necessary to assess whether the benefits of a merger 

will outweigh its costs. The Commissioner of VDH has 45 

days after receipt of the Southwest Virginia Health 

Authority's recommendation to approve or reject an 

application for cooperative agreement, but that approval 

window may be extended an additional 15 days if the 

Commissioner requests additional information from the 

applicants. That 15 days starts once all requested information 

is received and the application is deemed complete. If an 

application is approved, the Act requires the Commissioner to 

provide ongoing supervision of the cooperative agreement to 

ensure compliance and allows the Commissioner to revoke 

the cooperative agreement if, at any time in the future, it no 

longer meets the requirements of the Act. The Act also allows 

any party to a cooperative agreement to terminate 

participation in the agreement but requires that party to file a 

notice of termination with the Commissioner within 30 days 

after termination. 

The Act allows both the Southwest Virginia Health Authority 

and VDH to charge fees for their costs of evaluating 

applications; the act specifies that the Southwest Virginia 

Health Authority may not charge more than $50,000 and 

VDH may not charge more than $75,000. Additionally, VDH 

may charge ongoing, annual fees not to exceed $75,000 for 

their ongoing supervision.  

The Act explicitly states that: "(a)ctivities conducted pursuant 

to cooperative agreements approved and supervised by the 

Commissioner are immunized from challenge or scrutiny 

under the Commonwealth's antitrust laws. It is the intention 

of the General Assembly that this chapter shall also immunize 

cooperative agreements approved and supervised by the 

Commissioner from challenge or scrutiny under federal 

antitrust law." While the Act will apply to any cooperative 

agreement applications received in the future, it was 

specifically written to allow consideration of a proposed 

merger between Wellmont Health System and Mountain State 

Health Alliance, which, between them, own and operate 11 

hospitals in southwestern Virginia and northeastern 

Tennessee.  

Pursuant to the Act, the Board promulgated an emergency 

regulation that became effective January 18, 2016, and now 

proposes this regulation to replace the emergency regulation 

which will expire January 16, 2018. Both the emergency 

regulation, and this replacement regulation, enumerate the 

statutory factors to be considered during application 

evaluation, and set fees for both evaluation of an application 

and for ongoing supervision of any approved cooperative 

agreements. In addition to including requirements in the Act, 

the Board at its discretion proposes to include regulatory 

language that states what additional information the 

Commissioner may request from applicants for cooperative 

agreements. This discretionary language seems to be geared 

towards allowing the Commissioner to get more specific 

information about the commitments made by the parties in 

their applications as well as more specific demographic 

information. Under this language, the Commissioner may, for 

instance, request specific health care workforce information 

to help assess the impact of any merger on that workforce. To 

the extent that this proposed regulatory language gives greater 

certainty to applicants as to what information they might be 

expected to provide, it will likely be beneficial. 

Applicants are required to pay $50,000 for initial application 

with provision for a refund if application evaluation does not 

cost $50,000 and provision for additional fees to be assessed 

(up to a $75,000 total) if costs exceed $50,000. Parties to any 

approved cooperative agreements will also be subject to an 
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annual fee of $20,000 due when their annual report must be 

filed with the provision that additional fees up to a $75,000 

total may be charged if VDH's costs exceed $20,000. Board 

staff reports that VDH's cost thus far for evaluating the 

application currently before them exceed $87,000 and further 

report that, if the application is approved, they expect VDH's 

annual costs for supervision to exceed $75,000 each year. 

Given this, it is likely that, at least for these applicants, fee 

costs for application and for ongoing supervision will be 

$75,000. 

In addition to the fees assessed by VDH, various parties have 

incurred, or will likely incur, various other costs. The parties 

to the current application likely have incurred quite large 

costs for lawyers and consultants to help them prepare their 

applications and guide them through the application process. 

These parties likely have also incurred costs for searching 

out, preparing and providing additional information to both 

the Southwest Virginia Health Authority and the 

Commissioner. Additionally, VDH has already incurred costs 

in excess of the fees they are allowed to recover for 

application evaluation and anticipate incurring costs in excess 

of allowable fees for ongoing supervision if the current 

application is approved. Health care consumers are likely to 

incur additional costs for health care services, and may also 

have fewer health care services available to them in the future 

as the health care systems consolidate and eliminate 

duplicative services, if the application is approved. Health 

insurance carriers and businesses in southwestern Virginia 

that self-insure for health care are likely to experience a loss 

in bargaining power, and a concomitant increase in fees for 

services, if the application is approved. Competitors to these 

two health care systems may also incur costs if the merger is 

approved (details of possible costs are laid out in the Effects 

on the Use and Value of Private Property section below). 

Finally, both the parties to the current application and the 

Commonwealth are likely to incur very large costs for 

defending the proposed merger against anti-trust litigation if 

the cooperative agreement is approved. Although it was the 

intention of the General Assembly to immunize parties to 

cooperative agreements from federal anti-trust scrutiny, the 

Federal Trade Commission (FTC) has registered strong 

objections to approval of the cooperative agreement.
2
 Their 

objections send a strong signal that it is likely they will 

pursue anti-trust litigation if the merger is approved. Any 

future applications approved under this proposed regulation 

may also be subject to costs associated with federal anti-trust 

litigation if the FTC reaches an opposing opinion to the 

Southwest Virginia Health Authority, as they have in this 

case, as to whether the benefits of a merger outweigh its costs 

under the factors set forth in the Act. 

All of these costs would be weighed against any benefits that 

might accrue on account of cooperative agreements. For 

instance, Wellmont Health System and Mountain States 

Health Alliance assert that they will commit $140 million 

over ten years "pursuing specialty services" such as addiction 

recovery services and mobile health crisis management 

teams.
3
 Even in cases where benefits might outweigh costs 

under strict consideration of the factors laid out in the 

Cooperative Agreement Act, those benefits would likely not 

be large enough to outweigh all costs laid out above. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that this 

regulation, and its authorizing legislation, will likely affect 

Wellmont Health System and Mountain State Health Alliance 

as well as any competitors to these two health care systems. 

Health care consumers within localities served by the 

Southwest Virginia Health Authority and health insurance 

carriers that serve that area will also likely be affected. 

Businesses, particularly businesses that self-insure, and 

Medicaid and Medicare payers (the state and federal 

governments) may also be affected. The Virginia Department 

of Health will also be affected. Board staff reports that 

approximately 258,000 health care consumers, 3,253 

physicians, 11 hospitals and at least eight health insurance 

carriers will be affected. 

Localities Particularly Affected. Localities within the 

Southwest Virginia Health Authority will be particularly 

affected by this proposed regulation. These localities include 

the Counties of Lee, Scott, Wise, Buchanan, Dickerson, 

Russell, Tazewell, Smyth and Washington as well as the 

cities of Norton and Bristol. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Cooperative agreements 

approved under this proposed regulation may lead to current 

health care services in southwestern Virginia being 

consolidated with duplicative services being eliminated to 

lower costs. To the extent that this happens, there will likely 

be fewer jobs available within the consolidated businesses  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes may affect the use and value of 

any hospitals that may be awarded cooperative agreements as 

well as their competitors. Current applicants for cooperative 

agreements anticipate that their proposed merger will increase 

their available revenues. If they are correct, the value of these 

businesses would increase.  

The effects of the merger proposed by current applicants on 

competitors to those applicants would likely be dictated by 

the actions of the applicants. The FTC estimates that the 

applicants would control over 70% of the health care 

marketplace in southwestern Virginia post-merger. Such a 

market position would give the merged company tremendous 

control over prices in the marketplace… they would likely be 

price makers at that point. Given this, if the merged company 

values increasing market share over short and intermediate 

term profits,
4
 they may lower their prices temporarily to drive 

competitors out of the market place. If, on the other hand, the 

merged company prefers to increase profits immediately, 

their competitors may benefit from also being able to charge 

more for any given service because the "market" price has 

been driven up by the merged company. 
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Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses in the categories of 

affected entities listed above may incur costs if any 

cooperative agreements are approved via the criteria set forth 

in this proposed regulation and its authorizing legislation. 

Health insurance carriers and self-insured businesses may 

also experience a loss in bargaining power, and corresponding 

increases in health care costs, due to increased market share 

concentration that decreases competition.  

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. Within 

the parameters of Chapter 741, there are likely no alternative 

methods that would reduce adverse impacts for small 

businesses.  

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. Businesses that apply for approval of cooperative 

agreements will incur fees not exceeding $75,000 for initial 

review of their cooperative agreement applications and would 

likely incur annual fees of $75,000 per year that would defray 

the costs of state supervision and annual review if their 

applications are approved. These applying businesses will 

also likely incur significant other costs associated with the 

application process. These costs will likely include lawyer 

and consultant fees as well as copying and other costs 

associated with supplying the Commissioner of VDH with 

supplemental information that may be requested under the 

rules of this proposed regulation.  

Other businesses in southwestern Virginia, especially health 

insurance carriers and businesses that self-insure for health 

care, may incur higher health care costs associated with 

decreased bargaining power in a health care market with less 

competition if cooperative agreements are approved. 

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth that are in the 

affected geographical area will likely incur the same 

increased health costs as other health care consumers. 

Other Entities. Health care consumers in Southwestern 

Virginia will likely see increased prices for health care if 

cooperative agreements that limit market competition are 

approved under this proposed regulation. VDH will likely 

incur costs for reviewing cooperative agreements, and for 

supervising them if they are approved, that exceed the 

$75,000 that they are allowed to charge applicants and 

holders of cooperative agreements. If the cooperative 

agreement application between Wellmont Health System and 

Mountain States Health Alliance is approved, and the FTC 

brings an anti-trust suit because of the merger, the 

Commonwealth would likely incur large costs for defending 

that approval in court. 

______________________ 
1 http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?151+ful+CHAP0741  
2 The FTC’s initial comment can be found on it's website here: 
https://www.ftc.gov/system/files/documents/advocacy_documents/submissio

n-ftc-staff-southwest-virginia-health-authority-virginia-department-health-

regarding/160930wellmontswvastaffcomment.pdf and the a supplementary 
comment can be found on VDH's website here: 

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/96/2016/11/FTC-Staff-

Supplemental-Submission-to-Virginia-1-13-17.pdf. 
3 The parties report that these potential investments would not be possible 

without the merger. Given that additional cost savings under the merger that 

would allow these investments would likely have to result from consolidation 

and elimination of duplicative services, it is likely that the benefits of these 

proposed investments would likely be offset by costs incurred by health care 

consumers on account of services being eliminated. Board staff reports that 
the parties have committed to not cutting services for five years if their 

application is approved. 
4 DPB recognizes that the applicants are nonprofit entities. The term "profit" 
in this use has the normal economic meaning of revenues minus costs. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

economic impact analysis prepared by the Virginia 

Department of Planning and Budget for the permanent 

regulations replacing the emergency regulations for 

Regulations Governing Cooperative Agreements, 12VAC5-

221, (Regulations) reported an adverse impact resulting from 

the Regulations. The adverse impact, stated as "those benefits 

would likely not be large enough to outweigh all costs laid 

out above" (Economic Impact Analysis, page 6), addresses 

the impact of an approval of a request for a letter authorizing 

a cooperative agreement provided for in the Regulations and 

the Code of Virginia. However, the adverse impact described 

is not a result of the application of the Regulations, which 

generally mirror the Code of Virginia enabling language, to 

the review of such a request. Any adverse economic impact 

likely to result from an approved request for a cooperative 

agreement is a consideration of the review of the request and 

would be unique to the request and not a result of the 

application of the Regulations. The likely impact of the 

cooperative agreement is a factor in the State Health 

Commissioner's decision to approve or deny the request. 

Summary: 

The regulation is promulgated pursuant to Chapter 741 of 

the 2015 Acts of the Assembly and governs any mergers 

between hospitals and hospital systems in Southwest 

Virginia that are approved under the Virginia Cooperative 

Agreements Act. The regulation sets definitions and a fee 

schedule and outlines procedures for the State Health 

Commissioner's (i) requests for information, (ii) review of 

applications, and (iii) ongoing monitoring of, and annual 

reporting for, approved cooperative agreements. This 

regulation replaces emergency regulations that are 

currently in effect. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?151+ful+CHAP0741
https://www.ftc.gov/system/files/documents/advocacy_documents/submission-ftc-staff-southwest-virginia-health-authority-virginia-department-health-regarding/160930wellmontswvastaffcomment.pdf
https://www.ftc.gov/system/files/documents/advocacy_documents/submission-ftc-staff-southwest-virginia-health-authority-virginia-department-health-regarding/160930wellmontswvastaffcomment.pdf
https://www.ftc.gov/system/files/documents/advocacy_documents/submission-ftc-staff-southwest-virginia-health-authority-virginia-department-health-regarding/160930wellmontswvastaffcomment.pdf
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/96/2016/11/FTC-Staff-Supplemental-Submission-to-Virginia-1-13-17.pdf
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/96/2016/11/FTC-Staff-Supplemental-Submission-to-Virginia-1-13-17.pdf
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CHAPTER 221 

REGULATIONS GOVERNING COOPERATIVE 

AGREEMENTS 

12VAC5-221-10. Definitions. 

"Applicant" means a party to a proposed cooperative 

agreement who submits an application to the authority 

pursuant to § 15.2-5384.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Application" means the written materials submitted by 

applicants to the authority and the department in accordance 

with § 15.2-5384.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Attorney General" means the Attorney General for the 

Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"Authority" means the political subdivision organized and 

operated pursuant to Chapter 53.1 (§ 15.2-5368 et seq.) of 

Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia, or if such authority is 

abolished, the board, body, authority, department, or officer 

succeeding to the principal functions thereof or to whom the 

powers given by Chapter 53.1 of Title 15.2 of the Code of 

Virginia are given by law.  

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner.  

"Cooperative agreement" means an agreement among two or 

more hospitals for the sharing, allocation, consolidation by 

merger or other combination of assets, or referral of patients, 

personnel, instructional programs, support services, and 

facilities or medical, diagnostic, or laboratory facilities or 

procedures or other services traditionally offered by hospitals.  

"Day" or "days" means calendar days.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Health.  

"Hospital" includes any health center and health provider 

under common ownership with the hospital and means any 

and all providers of dental, medical, and mental health 

services, including all related facilities and approaches thereto 

and appurtenances thereof. Dental, medical, and mental 

health facilities includes any and all facilities suitable for 

providing hospital, dental, medical, and mental health care, 

including any and all structures, buildings, improvements, 

additions, extensions, replacements, appurtenances, lands, 

rights in lands, franchises, machinery, equipment, furnishing, 

landscaping, approaches, roadways, and other facilities 

necessary or desirable in connection therewith or incidental 

thereto (including hospitals; nursing homes; assisted living 

facilities; continuing care facilities; self-care facilities; mental 

health facilities; wellness and health maintenance centers; 

medical office facilities; clinics; outpatient surgical centers; 

alcohol, substance abuse, and drug treatment centers; dental 

care clinics; laboratories; research facilities; sanitariums; 

hospices; facilities for the residence or care of the elderly, the 

handicapped, or the chronically ill; residential facilities for 

nurses, interns, and physicians; and any other kind of facility 

for the diagnosis, treatment, rehabilitation, prevention, or 

palliation of any human illness, injury, disorder, or disability) 

together with all related and supporting facilities and 

equipment necessary and desirable in connection therewith or 

incidental thereto, or equipment alone, including kitchen, 

laundry, laboratory, wellness, pharmaceutical, administrative, 

communications, computer and recreational facilities and 

equipment, storage space, mobile medical facilities, vehicles, 

and other equipment necessary or desirable for the 

transportation of medical equipment or the transportation of 

patients. Dental, medical, and mental health facilities also 

includes facilities for graduate-level instruction in medicine 

or dentistry and clinics appurtenant thereto offering free or 

reduced rate dental, medical, or mental health services to the 

public. 

"Letter authorizing cooperative agreement" means a 

document that is issued by the commissioner approving a 

cooperative agreement. 

"Measure" means some number of factors or benchmarks, 

which may be binary, a range, or continuous factors. 

"Participating locality" means any county or city in the 

LENOWISCO or Cumberland Plateau Planning District 

Commissions and the Counties of Smyth and Washington and 

the City of Bristol with respect to which an authority may be 

organized and in which it is contemplated that the authority 

will function.  

"Party" means a hospital entering into a cooperative 

agreement.  

"Plan of separation" means the written proposal submitted 

with an application to return the parties to a preconsolidation 

state, which includes a plan for separation of any combined 

assets, offering, provision, operation, planning, funding, 

pricing, contracting, utilization review or management of 

health services or any combined sharing, allocation, or 

referral of patients, personnel, employee benefits, 

instructional programs, support services and facilities or 

medical, diagnostic or laboratory facilities or procedures or 

other services traditionally offered by hospitals, including any 

parent or subsidiary at the time the consolidation occurs or 

thereafter.  

"Primary service area" or "PSA" means the geographic area 

from which a hospital draws 75% of its patients as measured 

by the residential zip code of each patient.  

"Secondary service area" or "SSA" means the geographic 

area from which a hospital draws an additional 15% of its 

patients, as measured by the residential zip code of each 

patient.  

12VAC5-221-20. Separate applications. 

A party shall submit an application for a letter authorizing 

cooperative agreement for each cooperative agreement the 

party is applying to enter into. This provision applies even in 

the event that the parties have an existing letter authorizing 

cooperative agreement issued by the commissioner. An 

amendment to a cooperative agreement shall require 

submission of a new application. 
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12VAC5-221-30. Application. 

A. Parties within any participating locality may submit an 

application for a letter authorizing cooperative agreement to 

the authority. Information regarding the requirements of an 

application for a letter authorizing cooperative agreement 

submitted to the authority should be obtained through the 

authority.  

B. At the time of submission to the authority, parties shall 

simultaneously submit a copy of the application to the 

commissioner and the Attorney General.  

C. If the authority requires the applicant to submit additional 

information before determining that the application is 

complete, the parties shall simultaneously submit a copy of 

the additional information to the authority, the commissioner, 

and the Attorney General.  

D. If the applicants believe the materials submitted contain 

proprietary information that is required to remain 

confidential, such information must be clearly identified and 

the applicants shall submit duplicate applications, one with 

full information for the commissioner's use and one redacted 

application available for release to the public. Proprietary 

information that is clearly identified by the applicants will be 

kept confidential by the department pursuant to subdivision 3 

of § 2.2-3705.6 of the Code of Virginia. 

12VAC5-221-40. Fee schedule. 

A. Fees shall be remitted only by certified check, cashier's 

check, bank money order, or other methods approved by the 

department. Fees shall be made payable to the department.  

B. The application fee shall be $50,000 and shall be due to 

the department upon its receipt of a recommendation for 

approval from the authority.  

C. If the commissioner should determine after review of the 

application that the actual cost incurred by the department is 

less than $50,000, the applicant shall be reimbursed the 

amount that is greater than the actual cost. If the 

commissioner should determine that the actual cost incurred 

by the department is greater than $50,000, the applicant shall 

pay any additional amounts due as instructed by the 

department. The application fee shall not exceed $75,000.  

12VAC5-221-50. Public hearing. 

A. The authority shall, in conjunction with the 

commissioner, schedule a public hearing for each completed 

application submitted. The hearing shall be held no later than 

45 days after the receipt of a complete application by the 

authority.  

B. The authority will publish and issue notice of the hearing 

in accordance with subsection C of § 15.2-5384.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

C. The public hearing shall be open to the public in 

accordance with the provisions of the Virginia Freedom of 

Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

D. The public hearing shall be recorded by the Virginia 

Department of Health.  

12VAC5-221-60. Public comment to the commissioner. 

The public may submit written comments regarding the 

application to the commissioner. To ensure consideration by 

the commissioner, written comments must be received no 

later than 14 days after the authority adopts its 

recommendation on the application.  

12VAC5-221-70. Commissioner's request for information. 

A. Upon receipt of the authority's recommendation for 

approval, the commissioner and department may request 

supplemental information from the applicants.  

B. To the extent the information is not present within the 

application, the commissioner shall request the following 

information:  

1. A report or reports used for public information and 

education about the proposed cooperative agreement prior 

to the parties' submission of the application. The applicants 

shall document the efforts used to disseminate the report or 

reports. The report or reports shall include: 

a. A description of the proposed primary service area 

(PSA) and secondary service areas (SSA) and the 

services and facilities to be included in the cooperative 

agreement;  

b. A description of how health services will change if the 

letter authorizing cooperative agreement is issued; 

c. A description of improvements in patient access to 

health care including prevention services for all 

categories of payers and advantages patients will 

experience across the entire service area regarding costs, 

availability, and accessibility upon implementation of the 

cooperative agreement or findings from studies 

conducted by hospitals and other external entities, 

including health economists, and clinical services and 

population health experts, that describe how 

implementation of the proposed cooperative agreement 

will be effective with respect to resource allocation 

implications; efficient with respect to fostering cost 

containment, including eliminating duplicative services; 

and equitable with respect to maintaining quality and 

competition in health services within the service area and 

assuring patient access to and choice of insurers and 

providers within the health care system;  

d. A description of any plans by the parties regarding 

existing or planned facilities that will impact access for 

patients to the services currently offered by the parties at 

their respective facilities, including expansions, closures, 

reductions in capacity, consolidation, and reduction or 

elimination of any services; 

e. A description of the findings from community or 

population health assessments for the service areas 

regarding major health issues, trends, and health 

disparities, including comparisons to measures for the 
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state and similar regional areas, and a description of how 

the health of the population will change if the letter 

authorizing cooperative agreement is issued; and 

f. A description of the impact on the health professions 

workforce, including long-term employment, wage 

levels, retirement, benefits, recruitment, and retention of 

health professionals.  

2. A record of community stakeholder and consumer views 

of the proposed cooperative agreement collected through a 

public participatory process including meetings and 

correspondence. Transcripts or minutes of any meetings 

held during the public participatory process shall be 

included in the report. 

3. A summary of the nature of the proposed cooperative 

agreement between the parties. 

4. A signed copy of the cooperative agreement and a copy 

of the following:  

a. A description of any consideration passing to any 

party, individual, or entity under the cooperative 

agreement, including the amount, nature, source, and 

recipient; 

b. A detailed description of any merger, lease, operating 

or management contract, change of control or other 

acquisition or change, direct or indirect, in ownership of 

any party or of the assets of any party to the cooperative 

agreement; 

c. A list of all services and products and of all hospitals 

and other service locations that are a subject of the 

cooperative agreement, including those not located or 

provided within the boundaries of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, and including hospitals or other inpatient 

facilities, insurance products, physician practices, 

pharmacies, accountable care organizations, psychiatric 

facilities, nursing homes, physical therapy and 

rehabilitation units, home care agencies, wellness centers 

or services, surgical centers or services, dialysis centers 

or services, cancer centers or services, imaging centers or 

services, support services, and any other product, facility, 

or service; and 

d. A description of each party's contribution of capital, 

equipment, labor, services, or other contribution of value 

to the transaction. 

5. A detailed description of the current and proposed PSA 

and SSA for the parties, including the PSA and SSA of 

each party's hospitals, not limited to the boundaries of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. If the proposed PSA and SSA 

differ from the service areas where the parties have 

conducted business over the five years preceding the 

application, a description of how and why the proposed 

PSA or SSA differs and why changes are proposed. 

6. A description of the prior history of dealings between 

the parties for the last five years, including their 

relationship as competitors and any prior joint ventures, 

affiliations, or other collaborative agreements between the 

parties. 

7. Documents sufficient to show the financial performance 

of each party to the transaction for each of the preceding 

five fiscal years, including tax returns, debt, bond rating, 

and debt service; and copies of offering materials, 

subsequent filings such as continuing disclosure 

agreements and material event disclosures, and financial 

statements prepared by external certified public 

accountants, including management reports.  

8. A copy of the current annual budget and budgets for the 

last five years for each party to the cooperative agreement. 

The budgets shall be in sufficient detail so as to determine 

the fiscal impact of the cooperative agreement on each 

party. The budgets shall be prepared in conformity with 

generally accepted accounting principles and all 

assumptions used shall be documented. 

9. Projected budgets, including projected costs, revenues, 

profit margins, and operating ratios, of each party for each 

year for a period of five years after a letter authorizing 

cooperative agreement is issued. The budgets shall be 

prepared in conformity with generally accepted accounting 

principles  and all assumptions used shall be documented. 

10. A detailed explanation of the projected effects, 

including expected change in volume, price, and revenue 

as a result of the cooperative agreement, including: 

a. Identification of all insurance contracts and payer 

agreements in place at the time of the application and a 

description of pending or anticipated changes that would 

require or enable the parties to amend their current 

insurance and payer agreements;  

b. A description of how pricing for provider insurance 

contracts are calculated and the financial advantages 

accruing to insurers, insured consumers, and the parties 

to the cooperative agreement if the letter authorizing 

cooperative agreement is issued, including changes in 

percentage of risk-bearing contracts; and 

c. Identification of existing and future business plans, 

reports, studies, or other documents of each party that:  

(1) Discuss each party's projected performance in the 

market, business strategies, capital investment plans, 

competitive analyses, and financial projections, including 

any documents prepared in anticipation of the 

cooperative agreement; and  

(2) Identify plans that will be altered, eliminated, or 

combined under the cooperative agreement.  

11. A copy of the following policies under the proposed 

cooperative agreement: 

a. A policy that assures no restrictions to Medicare or 

Medicaid patients; 

b. Policies for free or reduced fee care for the uninsured 

and indigent; 
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c. Policies for bad debt write-off; and  

d. Policies that require the parties to the cooperative 

agreement to maintain or exceed the existing level of 

charitable programs and services.  

12. A description of the plan to systematically integrate 

health care and preventive health services among the 

parties to the cooperative agreement in the proposed 

geographic service area that addresses the following:  

a. A streamlined management structure, including a 

description of a single board of directors, centralized 

leadership, and operating structure; 

b. Alignment of the care delivery decisions of the system 

with the interests of the community;  

c. Clinical standardization;  

d. Alignment of the cultural identities of the parties to the 

cooperative agreement; 

e. Any planned expansions, closures, reductions in 

capacity, consolidation, and reduction or elimination of 

any services;  

f. Any plan for integration regarding health professions 

workforce development and the recruitment and retention 

of health professionals; and 

g. Any plan for implementation of innovative or value-

based payment models.  

13. A description of the plan, including economic metrics, 

that details anticipated efficiencies in operating costs and 

shared services that can be gained only through the 

cooperative agreement, including:  

a. Proposed use of any cost saving to reduce prices borne 

by insurers and consumers;  

b. Proposed use of cost savings to fund low-cost or no-

cost services designed to achieve long-term population 

health improvements; and 

c. Other proposed uses of savings to benefit advancement 

of health and quality of care and outcomes.  

14. A description of the market and the competitive 

dynamics for health care services in the parties' respective 

service areas, including at a minimum: 

a. The identity of any nonparty hospital located in the 

PSA and SSA and any nonparty hospital outside of the 

PSA and SSA that also serves patients in the parties' PSA 

and SSA;  

b. Estimates of the share of hospital services furnished by 

each of the parties and any nonparty hospitals; 

c. Identification of whether any services or products of 

the proposed cooperative agreement are currently being 

offered or capable of being offered by any nonparty 

hospitals in the PSA and SSA and a description of how 

the proposed cooperative agreement will not exclude 

such nonparty hospitals from continued competitive and 

independent operation in the PSA and SSA;  

d. A listing of the physicians employed by or under 

contract with each of the parties' hospitals in the PSA and 

SSA, including their specialties and office locations; 

e. The identity of any potential entrants in the parties' 

PSA and SSA and the basis for any belief that such entry 

is likely within the two calendar years immediately 

following the date of the letter authorizing cooperative 

agreement is issued by the department; and  

f. A list of each party's top 10 commercial insurance 

payers by revenue within the PSA and SSA. 

15. A detailed description of each of the benefits that the 

parties propose will be achieved through the cooperative 

agreement. For each benefit include: 

a. A description specifically describing how the parties 

intend to achieve the benefit; 

b. A description of what the parties have done in the past 

with respect to achieving or attempting to achieve the 

benefits independently or through collaboration and how 

this may change if the cooperative agreement is granted; 

c. An explanation of why the benefit can only be 

achieved through a cooperative agreement and not 

through other less restrictive arrangements; and 

d. A description of how the parties propose that the 

commissioner measure and monitor achievement of the 

proposed benefit, including:  

(1) Proposed measures and suggested baseline values 

with rationale for each measure to be considered by the 

commissioner in developing a plan to monitor 

achievement of the benefit; 

(2) The current and projected levels and the trajectory for 

each measure that would be achieved over the next five 

years under the cooperative agreement;  

(3) The projected levels for each measure in five years in 

the absence of the cooperative agreement; and 

(4) A plan for how the requisite data for assessing the 

benefit will be obtained.  

16. A description of any potential adverse impact of the 

proposed cooperative agreement on (i) population health or 

(ii) quality, availability, cost, or price of health care 

services to patients or payers. 

17. A description of any commitments the parties are 

willing to make to address any potential adverse impacts 

resulting from the cooperative agreement. Each such 

commitment shall at a minimum include:  

a. The parties' proposed benchmarks and metrics to 

measure achievement of the proposed commitments;  

b. The parties' proposed plan to obtain and analyze data 

to evaluate the extent to which the commitments have 

been met, including how data shall be obtained from 

entities other than the parties; and  
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c. The parties' proposed consequences if they do not meet 

a commitment.  

18. A plan of separation. The parties shall provide an 

independent opinion from a qualified organization 

verifying the plan of separation can be operationally 

implemented without undue disruption to essential health 

services provided by the parties.  

19. A statement regarding the requirements for any 

certificate or certificates of public need resulting from the 

cooperative agreement. 

20. A detailed description of the total cost to the parties 

resulting from the application for the cooperative 

agreement. Cost estimates should include costs for 

consultant, legal, and professional services; capital costs; 

financing costs; and management costs. The description 

should identify costs associated with the implementation of 

the cooperative agreement, including documentation of the 

availability of necessary funds. The description should 

identify which costs will be borne by each party.  

21. An explanation of the reasons for the exclusion of any 

information set forth in this section. If the parties exclude 

an item because it is not applicable to the proposed 

cooperative agreement, an explanation of why the item is 

not applicable shall be provided. 

22. A timetable for implementing all components of the 

proposed cooperative agreement and contact information 

for the person or persons authorized to receive notices, 

reports, and communications with respect to the letter 

authorizing cooperative agreement. 

23. Records, reports, and documentation to support the 

information submitted pursuant to this section, including 

any additional supplemental information requested by the 

commissioner. 

C. All supplemental information submitted to the 

commissioner shall be accompanied by a verified statement 

signed by the chairperson of the board of directors and chief 

executive officer of each party; or if one or more party is an 

individual, signed by the individual attesting to the accuracy 

and completeness of the enclosed information. 

12VAC5-221-80. Commissioner's review. 

A. The commissioner shall consult with the Attorney 

General when reviewing an application.  

B. The commissioner may consult with the Federal Trade 

Commission when reviewing an application.  

C. The commissioner may consult and coordinate with other 

affected jurisdictions when reviewing an application. 

D. The commissioner shall consult with all other affected 

agencies of the Commonwealth when reviewing an 

application. 

E. The commissioner in his review shall examine the record 

developed by the authority, the authority's recommendation 

for approval, and any additional information received from 

the parties. In addition, the commissioner may consider any 

other data, information, or advice available to him.  

F. The commissioner shall not render a decision on the 

application until all supplemental information requested has 

been received. 

G. The commissioner shall consider the following factors 

when conducting a review of an application:  

1. Advantages. 

a. Enhancement of the quality of hospital and hospital-

related care, including mental health services and 

treatment of substance abuse, provided to citizens served 

by the authority, resulting in improved patient 

satisfaction; 

b. Enhancement of population health status consistent 

with the regional health goals established by the 

authority;  

c. Preservation of hospital facilities in geographical 

proximity to the communities traditionally served by 

those facilities to ensure access to care;  

d. Gains in the cost-efficiency of services provided by the 

hospitals involved;  

e. Improvements in the utilization of hospital resources 

and equipment;  

f. Avoidance of duplication of hospital resources;  

g. Participation in the state Medicaid program; and  

h. Total cost of care.  

2. Disadvantages. 

a. The extent of any likely adverse impact of the 

proposed cooperative agreement on the ability of health 

maintenance organizations, preferred provider 

organizations, managed health care organizations, or 

other health care payers to negotiate reasonable payment 

and service arrangements with hospitals, physicians, 

allied health care professionals, or other health care 

providers; 

b. The extent of any reduction in competition among 

physicians, allied health care professionals, other health 

care providers, or other persons furnishing goods or 

services to, or in competition with, hospitals that is likely 

to result directly or indirectly from the proposed 

cooperative agreement;  

c. The extent of any likely adverse impact on patients in 

the quality, availability, and price of health care services; 

and  

d. The availability of arrangements that are less 

restrictive to competition and achieve the same benefits 

or a more favorable balance of benefits over 

disadvantages attributable to any reduction in 

competition likely to result from the proposed 

cooperative agreement.  
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H. The commissioner shall approve the application if he 

finds by a preponderance of the evidence that the benefits 

likely to result from the proposed cooperative agreement 

outweigh the disadvantages likely to result from a reduction 

in competition from the proposed cooperative agreement.  

I. In the selection and application of the measures for 

reviewing the proposed benefits of the cooperative 

agreement, as well as during the monitoring and active 

supervision of any approved cooperative agreement, the 

commissioner shall:  

1. Draw from consensus health and health care metrics, 

such as those being developed pursuant to the Virginia 

state innovation model development initiative and state 

population health improvement plan, to ensure the validity 

and consistency of the measure;  

2. Use historical actual experience in the region to establish 

baseline performance and evaluate progress over time;  

3. Consider recommendations on the measures and goals 

from the technical advisory panel appointed pursuant to 

12VAC5-221-120; and  

4. Allow for flexibility, to the extent quantifiable goals or 

targets are specified, should environmental factors that are 

outside the control of the parties change significantly.  

12VAC5-221-90. Action on an application. 

A. The commissioner shall issue his decision in writing 

within 45 days of receipt of the authority's recommendation. 

However, if the commissioner has requested supplemental 

information from the applicants, the commissioner shall have 

15 days, following receipt of the supplemental information, to 

issue a decision. 

B. At the request of the applicants, the commissioner may 

delay issue of his decision to provide additional time to 

review the record. 

C. The commissioner may condition approval of the letter 

authorizing cooperative agreement upon the applicants' 

commitment to achieving the improvements in population 

health, access to health care services, quality, and cost 

efficiencies identified by the applicants in support of their 

application. Such conditions may include:  

1. A cap on the negotiated case-mix adjusted revenue per 

discharge by payer by product. The method for calculating 

such a case-mix shall be published on the Virginia 

Department of Health's Office of Licensure and 

Certification's website in a guidance document. The 

department may rely on third-party auditors to assist in 

determining the method for determining such caps, such 

caps' levels, and a plan for monitoring compliance; 

2. A commitment to return a portion of the cost savings 

and efficiencies gained through the cooperative agreement 

to residents in the participating localities through specific 

proposed mechanisms; 

3. An agreement that the parties shall not prevent or 

discourage health plans from directing or incentivizing 

patients to choose certain providers; the parties shall not 

have any contractual clauses or provisions that prevent 

health plans from directing or incentivizing patients; 

4. An agreement that the parties shall not engage in the 

tying of sales of the health system's services with the 

health plan's purchase of other services from the health 

system; 

5. An agreement that the parties shall not restrict a health 

plan's ability to make available to its health plan enrollees 

cost, quality, efficiency, and performance information to 

aid enrollees in evaluating and selecting providers in the 

health plan; and 

6. A commitment that the parties shall not refuse to include 

certain provisions in contracts with health plans that have 

been utilized in health plan contracts in other parts of the 

Commonwealth in order to promote value-based health 

care, including bundled payments, pay for performance, 

utilization management, and other processes that reward 

improvements in quality and efficiency.  

D. The commissioner's decision to approve or deny an 

application shall constitute a case decision pursuant to the 

Virginia Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia). 

12VAC5-221-100. Ongoing and active supervision. 

A. The commissioner shall maintain active and continuing 

supervision of the parties in accordance with the terms under 

this section and to ensure compliance with the cooperative 

agreement and the letter authorizing cooperative agreement.  

B. Any party who receives a letter authorizing cooperative 

agreement shall submit any additional information that is 

requested by the department to establish benchmarks for 

ongoing monitoring and supervision. The department's 

request may include (i) information on patient satisfaction, 

(ii) information on employee satisfaction, (iii) a charge 

master, (iv) information reflecting the contracted rates 

negotiated with nonphysician providers, (v) information 

reflecting the noncontracted rates negotiated with allied 

health professionals, and (vi) information reflecting the 

noncontracted rates negotiated with other providers.  

C. The department shall establish quantitative measures that 

will be used to evaluate the proposed and continuing benefits 

of the cooperative agreement.  

1. The quantitative measures shall include measures of the 

cognizable benefits from the cooperative agreement in at 

least the following categories:  

a. Population health;  

b. Access to health services;  

c. Economic;  

d. Patient safety; 

e. Patient satisfaction; and  



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 1 Virginia Register of Regulations September 4, 2017 

80 

f. Other cognizable benefits.  

2. Each category may be comprised of measures for 

subcategories. 

3. The technical advisory panel and the parties to the 

cooperative agreement may make recommendations for the 

creation and evaluation of quantitative measures, but the 

department shall have the exclusive authority to add, 

modify, accept, or reject recommendations when creating 

or interpreting the quantitative measures.  

D. A department representative may make periodic 

unannounced onsite inspections of the parties' facilities as 

necessary. If the department finds, after inspection, 

noncompliance with any provision of this chapter, any 

applicable state regulations, or the elements of the 

cooperative agreement or the letter authorizing cooperative 

agreement, the commissioner shall begin enforcement 

procedures in accordance with 12VAC5-221-130.  

E. The parties shall make available to the department 

representative requested records and shall allow access to 

interview the agents, employees, contractors, and any other 

person under control, direction, or supervision of the parties.  

F. Complaints received by the department with regard to 

noncompliance with the cooperative agreement or the letter 

authorizing cooperative agreement shall be investigated. 

When the investigation is complete, the parties and the 

complainant, if known, shall be notified of the findings of the 

investigation.  

G. The commissioner may develop other mechanisms of 

monitoring the parties to determine compliance with the 

cooperative agreement and whether compliance continues to 

meet the requirements of § 15.2-5384.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. The commissioner may modify the mechanisms of 

monitoring the parties upon notice to the parties.  

12VAC5-221-110. Annual reporting. 

A. The parties shall report annually to the commissioner on 

the extent of the benefits realized and compliance with any 

terms and conditions placed on their letter authorizing 

cooperative agreement. The report shall:  

1. Describe the activities conducted pursuant to the 

cooperative agreement;  

2. Include any actions taken in furtherance of commitments 

made by the parties or terms imposed by the commissioner 

as a condition for approval of the cooperative agreement;  

3. Include information related to changes in price, cost, 

quality, access to care, and population health improvement; 

4. Include actual costs, revenues, profit margins, and 

operating costs;  

5. Include a charge master;  

6. Include information reflecting the contracted rates 

negotiated with nonphysician providers, allied health 

professionals, and others;  

7. Include any measures requested by the department based 

on the recommendations of the technical advisory panel 

appointed pursuant to 12VAC5-221-120; and 

8. Include the current status of the quantitative measures 

established under subsection C of 12VAC5-221-100 and 

the information requested by the department for 

benchmarks established in subsection B of 12VAC5-221-

100.  

B. The parties shall be required to update the parties' plan of 

separation annually and submit the updated plan of separation 

to the department. The parties shall provide an independent 

opinion from a qualified organization that states the plan of 

separation may be operationally implemented without undue 

disruption to essential health services provided by the parties.  

C. The commissioner may require the parties to supplement 

the annual report with additional information to the extent 

necessary to ensure compliance with the cooperative 

agreement and the letter authorizing cooperative agreement.  

D. All annual reports submitted pursuant to this section shall 

be certified audited by a third-party auditor.  

E. The fee due with the filing of the annual report shall be 

$20,000. If the commissioner should determine that the actual 

cost incurred by the department is greater than $20,000, the 

parties shall pay any additional amounts due as instructed by 

the department. The annual filing fee shall not exceed 

$75,000.  

F. The commissioner shall issue a written decision and the 

basis for the decision on an annual basis as to whether the 

benefits of the cooperative agreement continue to outweigh 

the disadvantages attributable to a reduction in competition 

that have resulted from the cooperative agreement. 

12VAC5-221-120. Technical advisory panel. 

A. The commissioner shall appoint a technical advisory 

panel to provide (i) initial recommendations to the 

commissioner as to the quality, cost, and access measures and 

benchmarks to be considered to objectively track the benefits 

and disadvantages of a cooperative agreement and (ii) 

ongoing input to the commissioner on the evolution of these 

and other new measures and the progress of the parties with 

respect to achievement of commitments with respect to these 

measures.  

B. The technical advisory panel shall consist of:  

1. A representative of the Commissioner of Health who 

shall serve as chair of the panel; 

2. The chief medical or quality officer or officers of the 

parties; 

3. A chief medical or quality officer of a hospital or health 

system from other state market areas with no affiliation 

with the parties; 

4. A chief medical or quality officer of a health plan that 

has subscribers in the affected area; 
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5. Experts in the area of health quality measurement and 

performance;  

6. A consumer and employer representative from the 

affected area;  

7. A representative from the Bureau of Insurance of the 

State Corporation Commission;  

8. The chief financial officer or officers of the parties; 

9. A chief financial officer of a hospital or health system 

from other state market areas with no affiliation with the 

parties; and 

10. A chief financial officer of a health plan that has 

subscribers in the affected area.  

C. The technical advisory panel shall meet at least on an 

annual basis.  

D. The technical advisory panel shall identify evidence-

based cost, quality, and access measures in areas, including 

population health, patient safety, health outcomes, patient 

satisfaction, access to care, and any other areas identified by 

the panel. The panel shall also make recommendations 

regarding how to best report performance on quality metrics.  

E. The technical advisory panel meetings shall be staffed by 

the Virginia Department of Health Office of Licensure and 

Certification.  

12VAC5-221-130. Enforcement procedures. 

A. If the commissioner has reason to believe that 

compliance with a cooperative agreement no longer meets the 

requirements of § 15.2-5384.1 of the Code of Virginia or this 

chapter, the commissioner shall initiate a proceeding to 

determine whether compliance with the cooperative 

agreement no longer meets the requirements of § 15.2-5384.1 

of the Code of Virginia or this chapter.  

B. In the course of such a proceeding, the commissioner is 

authorized to seek reasonable modifications to a letter 

authorizing cooperative agreement. Such modifications shall 

be with the consent of the parties.  

C. The commissioner may revoke a letter authorizing 

cooperative agreement upon a finding that:  

1. The parties are not complying with the terms or 

conditions of the cooperative agreement or the letter 

authorizing cooperative agreement;  

2. The cooperative agreement is not in substantial 

compliance with the terms of the parties' application or the 

letter authorizing cooperative agreement;  

3. The benefits resulting from the cooperative agreement 

no longer outweigh the disadvantages attributable to the 

reduction in competition resulting from the cooperative 

agreement;  

4. The commissioner's approval was obtained as a result of 

intentional material misrepresentation to the commissioner 

or as the result of coercion, threats, or intimidation toward 

any party to the cooperative agreement; or 

5. The parties have failed to pay any fee required by the 

department or the authority.  

D. The proceeding initiated by the commissioner under this 

section, and any judicial review thereof, shall be held in 

accordance with and governed by the Virginia Administrative 

Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

12VAC5-221-140. Voluntary termination of cooperative 

agreement. 

A. Any party shall file notice with the department within 30 

days after terminating its participation in a cooperative 

agreement. The notice shall be sent in writing to the attention 

of the director of the department's Office of Licensure and 

Certification.  

B. In the event of a termination of a cooperative agreement, 

the parties shall return the letter authorizing cooperative 

agreement to the department's Office of Licensure and 

Certification.  

12VAC5-221-150. Official records. 

A. The commissioner shall maintain on file all cooperative 

agreements that the commissioner has approved. 

B. All records collected pursuant to this chapter shall be 

maintained in accordance with the Virginia Freedom of 

Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) 

and the Library of Virginia's record management program 

(§ 42.1-85 of the Code of Virginia).  

C. All approved cooperative agreements and letters 

authorizing cooperative agreement shall be published on the 

Virginia Department of Health Office of Licensure and 

Certification website. 

D. All reports collected pursuant to 12VAC5-221-110 shall 

be published on the Virginia Department of Health Office of 

Licensure and Certification website.  

E. The commissioner shall make public his annual 

determination of compliance with a letter authorizing the 

cooperative agreement.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4430; Filed August 9, 2017, 5:19 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with §§ 2.2-4006 A 3, which excludes regulations 

that consist only of changes in style or form or corrections of 

technical errors, and 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Department of Medical 

Assistance Services will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 
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Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-10. State Plan under Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act Medical Assistance 

Program; General Provisions (amending 12VAC30-10-

240, 12VAC30-10-430, 12VAC30-10-520, 12VAC30-10-

670, 12VAC30-10-751, 12VAC30-10-810).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Date: October 19, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, Policy Division, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update nursing facility requirements for 

Medicaid participation to align with federal Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) requirements to 

include (i) correcting outdated Code of Federal 

Regulations citations, (ii) correcting outdated federal 

agency references, (iii) correcting other outdated 

terminology, and (iv) updating the name of the resident 

assessment instrument designated by CMS to be used by 

nursing facilities.  

12VAC30-10-240. Amount, duration, and scope of 

services: Payment for nursing facility services.  

The State state includes in nursing facility services at least 

the items and services specified in 42 CFR 483.10(c)(8)(i) 

483.10(f)(11).  

12VAC30-10-430. Medicaid quality control.  

A. A system of quality control is implemented in accordance 

with 42 CFR 431, Subpart P.  

B. The State state does not operate a claims processing 

assessment system that meets the requirements of 431.800(e), 

(g), (h), (j) and (k) 42 CFR 431.808, 42 CFR 431.818, 

42 CFR 431.830, 42 CFR 431.832, 42 CFR 431.834, and 

42 CFR 431.836. The State state has an approved Medicaid 

Management Information System (MMIS).  

12VAC30-10-520. Required provider agreement.  

With respect to agreements between the Medicaid agency 

and each provider furnishing services under the plan:  

A. For all providers, the requirements of 42 CFR 431.107 

and Subparts A and B of 42 CFR Part 442, Subparts A and B 

(if applicable) are met.  

B. For providers of NF services, the requirements of Subpart 

B of 42 CFR Part 483, Subpart B, and § 1919 of the Act are 

also met. (*plus additional in addition to the requirements 

described below) in subsections C, D, and E of this 

subsection. 

C. For providers of ICF/MR ICF/IID services, the 

requirements of participation in Subpart I of 42 CFR Part 

483, Subpart D are also met.  

D. Ambulatory prenatal care is not provided to pregnant 

women during a presumptive eligibility period.  

E. For each provider receiving funds under the plan, all the 

requirements for advance directives of § 1902(w) are met:  

1. Hospitals, nursing facilities, providers of home health 

care or personal care services, hospice programs, health 

maintenance organizations and health insuring 

organizations are required to do the following:  

a. Maintain written policies and procedures with respect 

to all adult individuals receiving medical care by or 

through the provider or organization about their rights 

under state law to make decisions concerning medical 

care, including the right to accept or refuse medical or 

surgical treatment and the right to formulate advance 

directives; 

b. Provide written information to all adult individuals on 

their policies concerning implementation of such rights;  

c. Document in the individual's medical records whether 

or not the individual has executed an advance directive;  

d. Not condition the provision of care or otherwise to 

discriminate against an individual based on whether or 

not the individual has executed an advance directive 

including the provision of care;  

e. Ensure compliance with requirements of state law 

(whether statutory or recognized by the courts) 

concerning advance directives; and  

f. Provide (individually or with others) for education for 

staff and the community on issues concerning advance 

directives.  

2. Providers will furnish the written information described 

in subdivision E 1 a of this section subsection to all adult 

individuals at the time specified below in this subdivision:  

a. Hospitals at the time an individual is admitted as an 

inpatient; 

b. Nursing facilities when the individual is admitted as a 

resident; 

c. Providers of home health care or personal care services 

before the individual comes under the care of the 

provider;  

d. Hospice program at the time of initial receipt of 

hospice care by the individual from the program; and  

e. Health maintenance organizations at the time of 

enrollment of the individual with the organization.  

3. 12VAC30-20-240 describes law of the state (whether 

statutory or as recognized by the courts of the state) 

concerning advance directives.  

As a condition of participation in the Virginia Medical 

Assistance Program all nursing homes facilities must agree 

that when a patient an individual is discharged to a hospital, 

the nursing home facility from which the patient individual is 

discharged shall ensure that the patient individual shall be 
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given an opportunity to be readmitted to the facility at the 

time of the next available vacancy.  

The only acceptable reasons for failure to readmit a specific 

patient individual who has been discharged to a hospital shall 

be the patient individual is certified for a level of care not 

provided by the facility, the patient individual is judged by a 

physician to be a danger to himself or others, or the patient 

individual, who at the time of readmission has an outstanding 

payment to the nursing home facility for which he is 

responsible in accordance with Medicaid regulations.  

F. The Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) 

shall conduct provider screening according to the 

requirements of Subpart E of 42 CFR Part 455. DMAS shall 

terminate or deny enrollment to any provider in accordance 

with the requirements of 42 CFR 455.416. 

12VAC30-10-670. Appeals process.  

A. The Medicaid agency has established appeals procedures 

for NFs as specified in 42 CFR 431.153 and 431.154.  

B. The State state provides an appeals system that meets the 

requirements of Subpart E of 42 CFR Part 431 Subpart E, 42 

CFR 483.12 483.15, and Subpart E of 42 CFR Part 483 

Subpart E, and 12VAC30-110-10 through 12VAC30-110-370 

for residents who wish to appeal a notice of intent to transfer 

or discharge from a NF and for individuals adversely affected 

by the preadmission and screening or annual resident review 

requirements of Subpart C of 42 CFR Part 483 Subpart 81.  

12VAC30-10-751. Enforcement of compliance for nursing 

facilities.  

A. The Commonwealth shall comply with the Medicaid 

Program requirements of 42 CFR 488.300 et seq. Subpart E 

of 42 CFR Part 488. 

B. Notification of enforcement remedies. When taking an 

enforcement action against a nonstate operated nursing 

facility, the state provides notification in accordance with 42 

CFR 488.402(f).  

1. The notice (except for civil money penalties and state 

monitoring) specifies:  

a. The nature of noncompliance;  

b. Which remedy is imposed;  

c. The effective date of the remedy; and  

d. The right to appeal the determination leading to the 

remedy.  

2. The notice for civil money penalties is in writing and 

contains the information specified in 42 CFR 488.434 and 

42 CFR 488.440.  

3. Except for civil money penalties and state monitoring, 

notice is given at least two calendar days before the 

effective date of the enforcement remedy for immediate 

jeopardy situations and at least 15 calendar days before the 

effective date of the enforcement remedy when immediate 

jeopardy does not exist. The two-day and 15-day notice 

periods begin when the facility receives the notice, but, in 

no event will the effective date of the enforcement action 

be later than 20 calendar days after the notice is sent. 

(42 CFR 488.402(f)(3),(4), and (5))  

4. Notification of termination is given to the facility and to 

the public at least two calendar days before the remedy's 

effective date if the noncompliance constitutes immediate 

jeopardy and at least 15 calendar days before the remedy's 

effective date if the noncompliance does not constitute 

immediate jeopardy. The state must terminate the provider 

agreement of a nursing facility in accordance with 

procedures in 42 CFR Parts 431 and 442. (42 CFR 

488.456(c) and (d)).  

C. Factors to be considered in selecting remedies. In 

determining the seriousness of deficiencies, the state 

considers the factors specified in 42 CFR 488.404(b)(1) and 

(2).  

D. Application of remedies.  

1. If there is immediate jeopardy to resident health or 

safety, the state terminates the nursing facility's provider 

agreement within 23 calendar days from the date of the last 

survey or immediately imposes temporary management to 

remove the threat within 23 days. (42 CFR 488.410)  

2. The state imposes the denial of payment (or its approved 

alternative) with respect to any newly admitted individual 

admitted to a nursing facility that has not come into 

substantial compliance within three months after the last 

day of the survey. (42 CFR 488.417(b)(1) and 

§ 1919(h)(2)(C) of the Act)  

3. The state imposes the denial of payment for new 

admissions remedy as specified in 42 CFR 488.417 (or its 

approved alternative) and a state monitor as specified at 

42 CFR 488.422, when a facility has been found to have 

provided substandard quality of care on the last three 

consecutive standard surveys. (42 CFR 488.414 and 

§ 1919(h)(2)(D) of the Act)  

4. The state follows the criteria specified at 42 CFR 

488.408(c)(2), (d)(2), and (e)(2) when it imposes remedies 

in place of or in addition to termination. (42 CFR 

488.408(b) and § 1919(h)(2)(A) of the Act)  

5. When immediate jeopardy does not exist, the state 

terminates a nursing facility's provider agreement no later 

than six months from the finding of noncompliance if the 

conditions of 42 CFR 488.412(a) are not met.  

E. Available remedies. The state has established the 

remedies defined in 42 CFR 488.406(b).  

1. Termination;  

2. Temporary management;  

3. Denial of payment for new admissions;  

4. Civil money penalties;  

5. Transfer of residents; transfer of residents with closure 

of facility; and  
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6. State monitoring. 12VAC30-20-251 through 12VAC30-

20-259 describe the criteria for applying the above 

remedies, plan of correction, nursing facility appeals, and 

repeated substandard quality of care.  

F. In the event that the Commonwealth and HCFA CMS 

disagree on findings of noncompliance or application of 

remedies in a nonstate operated nursing facility or a dually 

participating facility when there is no immediate jeopardy, 

such disagreement shall be resolved in accordance with the 

provisions of 42 CFR 488.452(1995).  

G. The Commonwealth shall have the authority to apply one 

or more remedies for each deficiency constituting 

noncompliance or for all deficiencies constituting 

noncompliance.  

H. As set forth by 42 CFR 488.454(d) 42 CFR 488.454, 

remedies shall terminate on the date that HCFA CMS or the 

Commonwealth can verify as the date that substantial 

compliance was achieved and the facility has demonstrated 

that it could maintain substantial compliance once the facility 

supplies documentation acceptable to HCFA CMS or the 

Commonwealth that it was in substantial compliance and was 

capable of remaining in compliance.  

12VAC30-10-810. Resident assessment for nursing 

facilities.  

A. The state specifies the instrument to be used by nursing 

facilities for conducting a comprehensive, accurate, 

standardized, reproducible assessment of each resident's 

functional capacity as required in § 1919(b)(3)(A) of the Act.  

B. The state is using the resident assessment instrument 

designated by the Health Care Financing Administration. See 

Transmittal #241 of the State Operations Manual 

(§ 1919(e)(5)(A)) CMS (Appendix R "Resident Assessment 

Instrument for Long-Term Care Facilities" of the CMS State 

Operations Manual).  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5109; Filed August 16, 2017, 11:34 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-60. Standards Established 

and Methods Used to Assure High Quality Care 

(amending 12VAC30-60-303, 12VAC30-60-310; adding 

12VAC30-60-301, 12VAC30-60-302, 12VAC30-60-304, 

12VAC30-60-305, 12VAC30-60-306, 12VAC30-60-308, 

12VAC30-60-313, 12VAC30-60-315; repealing 12VAC30-

60-300, 12VAC30-60-307, 12VAC30-60-312).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: November 3, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, Policy Division, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 

Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) to administer and amend the Plan for Medical 

Assistance according to the board's requirements. The 

Medicaid authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 

Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority 

for payments for services. 

The 2016 Acts of the Assembly, Chapter 780, Item 306 PPP 

directs DMAS to contract out community-based screenings 

for children, track and monitor all requests for screenings that 

have not been completed within 30 days of an individual's 

request, establish reimbursement and tracking mechanisms, 

and promulgate regulations to implement these provisions. 

Purpose: In responding to the legislative mandate of the 

General Assembly, the purpose of the planned regulatory 

action is to define terms and establish regulatory requirements 

for (i) accepting screening requests; (ii) managing the 

screening process; (iii) submitting findings from screenings 

completed to the agency's electronic preadmission screening 

(ePAS) system by community and hospital preadmission 

screening (PAS) teams and contractors performing these 

activities; and (iv) establishing training requirements and 

competency assessment standards applicable to local agency 

screening staff. 

Substance:  

Current policy. The screening policy that was in place before 

the emergency regulation took effect contained the 

requirements for Medicaid-funded long-term services 

supports, including home-based and community-based 

services (HCBS) waivers, the Program of All-Inclusive Care 

for the Elderly (PACE), and nursing facility services. The 

policy also includes the three criteria for an individual's 

receipt of these services: (i) functional capacity (degree of 

assistance an individual needs to perform activities of daily 

living); (ii) medical or nursing needs; and (iii) the individual's 

risk of nursing facility placement in the absence of home and 

community based services. 

12VAC30-60-303 lists the specific functional criteria that are 

used to evaluate the extent to which each individual can 

perform each of the activities of daily living (ADLs), such as 

feeding, bathing, toileting, transferring, etc., and what type of 

assistance the individual needs to perform each ADL safely. 

These functional criteria, reflected in the Uniform 

Assessment Instrument (UAI) form, are not changing in this 

regulatory action, and the use of the UAI for this purpose 

remains the same. The changes that are being made to this 

section are editorial and technical in nature (such as 

substituting the acronym ADL for Activities of Daily Living 

and renumbering the individual items under subsection B). 
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Specific instructions and reporting requirements were also 

provided for nursing facilities once an individual had chosen 

and was admitted into the facility. These are also not 

changing. 

Issues. Since the inception of the preadmission screening 

process in the early 1980s, the number of screenings 

performed in communities by local department of social 

services (LDSS) and local health department (LHD) teams 

and in hospitals by hospital staff has grown to approximately 

20,000 screenings per year. In state fiscal year 2016, 350 

providers performed 22,901 screenings. Of the 350 providers, 

120 were local department of social services offices that do 

not get paid directly through fee for service claims; 117 were 

local health department clinics; and the rest were mainly 

hospitals. Payments for screenings through fee for service 

claims were $2,282,345 total funds, of which 75%, or 

$1,711,759, were federal funds. The Centers for Medicare 

and Medicaid Services uses a 90% federal matching rate for 

such screenings.  

Anecdotal reports of long waits for community screenings 

and the corresponding delays of critical Medicaid-funded 

long-term services and supports (LTSS), subsequently 

resulted in passage of House Bill 702 (2014 Session). HB 702 

required DMAS to contract with public or private entities to 

perform screenings in jurisdictions where the community-

based preadmission screening teams have been unable to 

complete screenings of individuals within 30 days of such 

individuals' requests for a screening. No appropriation 

accompanied this directive.  

On April 15, 2014, the Virginia Department of Health and the 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services conducted 

a point-in-time manual data collection initiative from each 

LDSS and LHD. DMAS coordinated the data analysis. The 

purposes of the data collection were to (i) determine the 

number of community-based screenings taking longer than 30 

days to complete and (ii) identify jurisdictions that were able 

to meet the 30-day timeframe and those unable to achieve the 

timeframe. DMAS' trend analysis indicated that: 

1. Backlogs in community-based screenings reported by 

LDSS and LHDs were not always congruent across the two 

agencies;  

2. Some reports from localities on community-based 

screening backlogs showed no corresponding increases in 

the number of screening requests over time; and 

3. Some localities having significant increases in the 

number of community-based screening requests were able 

to meet the 30-day completion requirement as specified in 

HB 702 even with the increasing volume. 

In addition to the data collection for the community-based 

screenings, hospitals performing screenings for inpatients 

(adults and children) may not be completing needed 

screenings prior to patient discharges. During the hospital 

discharge process, an inpatient is screened for the most 

complex care required to meet the inpatient's post-discharge 

needs. DMAS' data reveals that when a screening is 

performed by a hospital, the resulting recommendation 88% 

of the time is that an individual utilize nursing facility 

services rather than receiving supports at home. 

Medicare funds up to 100 days of skilled nursing facility 

(SNF) or rehabilitative care, resulting frequently in discharges 

of individuals who still have unmet care needs subsequent to 

their nursing facility or rehabilitation stay. Medicare funding 

is not available for community-based long-term care services 

that are covered by Medicaid. When the individual has been 

admitted, without a prior screening, to either a Medicare-

funded skilled nursing facility or rehabilitation facility and, 

upon completion of the ordered rehabilitation or exhaustion 

of the 100 days of Medicare benefit, is then subsequently 

discharged to his home, the individual must immediately 

request a preadmission screening from a community team, 

thus delaying essential LTSS. Depending on (i) the 

individual's capabilities; (ii) his available community support 

system, if any; and (iii) the community screening team's 

pending screening requests, such individuals may experience 

endangerment of their health, safety, and welfare due to 

delays in needed LTSS.  

For both community and hospital based screenings, staff 

resources are limited. Therefore, efficiency in the screening 

process is critical to managing the growing workload. The 

"paper-driven" screening process has proven to be too 

cumbersome and slow. The form used for the screening 

process is the Uniform Assessment Instrument (UAI), along 

with other DMAS forms used for the screening process, 

including the DMAS-95 MI/MR/RC, DMAS-95 

MI/MR/RC  Supplement, DMAS-96 (Medicaid Funded LTC 

Service Authorization), and the DMAS-97 (Individual 

Choice-Institutional Care or Waiver Services). The previous 

absence of an automated process to assist community and 

hospital preadmission screening teams to complete these 

forms accurately and quickly and to enable tracking of 

requests for and completions of screenings has significantly 

barred efficient administration and prompt service delivery. 

The proposed regulation includes the use of an ePAS system 

to address this issue. 

Before the emergency regulation went into effect, the policy 

was silent regarding acceptance of requests for screenings, 

timeframes for completing or referring requests to a 

contractor, and tracking mechanisms for statewide 

consistency in the assurance of quality services and to ensure 

health, safety, and welfare for individuals requesting 

Medicaid-funded LTSS. Also absent from that policy were 

definitions and requirements to standardize and regulate 

community-based and hospital PAS teams when accepting 

requests for screenings, managing those requests within the 

established time period, and reporting the outcomes of the 

screenings once individuals receive screenings.  

Recommendations. The General Assembly directed DMAS to 

improve the preadmission screening process for individuals 
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who will be eligible for long-term services and supports. This 

mandate directed DMAS to (i) develop a contract with an 

entity for the purpose of conducting preadmission screenings 

for children; (ii) track and monitor all requests for screenings 

and report on those screenings that are not completed within 

30 days of the initial request; (iii) report on the progress of 

meeting these new requirements; and (iv) promulgate 

emergency regulations to implement these provisions. The 

Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission (JLARC) 

reported on the Commonwealth's long-term services and 

supports screening at 

http://jlarc.virginia.gov/pdfs/reports/Rpt489.pdf. 

The prior policy related to the requirements for functional 

eligibility (12VAC30-60-303 B) for Medicaid-funded LTSS 

is being retained since these standards support the eligibility 

process for the DMAS home and community based waiver 

programs (the Elderly or Disabled with Consumer Direction 

(EDCD) waiver, the Technology Assisted waiver, the 

Alzheimer's Assisted Living waiver, the Program of All-

Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE), and nursing facility 

care.  

This proposed regulation repeals the existing nursing facility 

criteria (12VAC30-60-300) in order to move the criteria to a 

new location within new section 12VAC30-60-303. To be 

clear, the functional criteria, based on the Uniform 

Assessment Instrument (UAI) form, are not changing in this 

regulatory action, and the use of the UAI for this purpose 

remains the same. This action simply moves the existing 

criteria to a new location in the regulatory chapter to improve 

the readability of the regulation.  

The remaining policy that was in effect prior to the 

emergency regulations, as it appeared in the current Virginia 

Administrative Code, was incomplete and fragmented as the 

result of having been created and modified over a number of 

years. To remedy this, the emergency regulation additions 

include a Definitions section (12VAC30-60-301) and sections 

describing the requirement for the request for screenings 

(12VAC30-60-304), screenings for Medicaid-funded LTSS 

(12VAC30-60-305), submission of screenings to the ePAS 

system (12VAC30-60-306), individuals determined to not 

meet criteria (12VAC30-60-313), and ongoing evaluations for 

individuals receiving Medicaid-funded LTSS (12VAC30-60-

315). These additions remain in this proposed stage 

regulation. 

DMAS is also recommending that a training program 

(12VAC30-60-310) be developed to be applicable to all 

screening entities and their staff who will be performing 

screenings. The training program will provide testing that 

staff must pass at a standard of 80% in order for the staff to 

be authorized to conduct screenings. DMAS will be 

contracting this element via the state proposal process, and 

the system will be available online to avoid travel time and 

expenses. A training program was a specific recommendation 

of JLARC in its report about preadmission screening. These 

proposed stage regulations provide for a delayed effective 

date of the onset of this requirement to permit local agency 

staff and hospital staff time to fulfill this requirement. 

Issues: Section 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia requires that 

all individuals who will be eligible for community or 

institutional long-term services and supports as defined in the 

State Plan for Medical Assistance be evaluated to determine 

their need for Medicaid-funded nursing facility services. 

Also, the Code of Virginia specifically requires DMAS to 

utilize employees of local departments of social services and 

local health departments for community screenings and 

hospitals for inpatient screenings, respectively. While this 

screening structure, established in the early 1980s, worked 

effectively for many years, the evolution of Virginia's 

Medicaid service delivery system has outgrown the original 

design. Significant challenges have developed that require a 

change to the Virginia Administrative Code. Some 

community-based screenings have taken longer than 30 days 

to complete thereby creating a significant risk to individuals 

who have been unable to access Medicaid LTSS. 

One potential issue may continue to be limited staff resources 

in community and hospital settings. The proposed regulations 

clarify requirements of community and hospital preadmission 

screening teams and include requirements to use the 

automated ePAS system to enhance work efficiency. The 

proposed regulations also establish DMAS use of a contractor 

or contractors and provide a framework for public or private 

entities to screen children and adults in communities where 

community preadmission screening teams are unable to 

complete screenings within 30 days of the initial request date 

for a screening.  

With the onset of required managed care for the majority of 

Medicaid members, DMAS is also adding that managed care 

organization care coordinators will have the authority to 

request screenings for their members. 

These strategies have been designed to ensure prompt 

services to citizens requesting Medicaid-funded LTSS and to 

protect their health, safety, and welfare. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to a legislative mandate, the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) proposes to incorporate into the 

regulation preadmission screening policies that are currently 

followed. DMAS also proposes to establish a new training 

program for the entities that conduct preadmission screening. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The existing regulation for 

nursing facility criteria and preadmission screening (PAS) 

was first promulgated in 1994 and amended in 2002. The 

regulation includes the criteria for receiving Medicaid-funded 

community-based and nursing facility long term services and 

http://jlarc.virginia.gov/pdfs/reports/Rpt489.pdf
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supports (LTSS). Item 301 QQQQ.1 of the 2015 

Appropriation Act
1
 directed DMAS to promulgate emergency 

regulations to "improve the preadmission screening process 

for individuals who will be eligible for long-term care 

services." This proposed action follows the emergency 

regulation and incorporates the changes already made on a 

permanent basis. 

Before the emergency regulation went into effect, the 

regulation was silent regarding acceptance of requests for 

screenings, timeframes for completing or referring requests to 

a contractor, and tracking mechanisms for statewide 

consistency in the assurance of quality services and to ensure 

health, safety, and welfare for individuals requesting 

Medicaid-funded LTSS. Also absent were definitions and 

requirements to standardize and regulate community-based 

and hospital PAS teams when accepting requests for 

screenings, managing those requests within the established 

time period, and reporting the outcomes of the screenings 

once individuals receive screenings. 

According to DMAS, the proposed regulation incorporates 

language on those issues consistent with the practices that 

have already been followed based on provider service 

manuals and guidance. Improving the clarity of the 

requirements in regulation may however help standardize, 

enforce, and improve the processes used to determine the 

appropriate type and quantity of services for the recipients. 

Additionally, the proposed changes include a new training 

requirement for screening entities and their staff performing 

screenings for every three years.
2
 The training program will 

provide testing that staff must pass at a standard of 80% 

success rate in order for them to be authorized to conduct 

screenings. The training is expected to take approximately 

eight hours to complete. DMAS will be contracting this 

element via the state proposal process and the system will be 

available online to avoid travel time and expenses. The 

development of the training module is expected to be 

accomplished by using approximately $100,000 in federal 

grant funds received for that purpose. The main benefit 

expected is more reliable and accurate eligibility 

determinations conducted in a timely fashion, which in turn 

would help eliminate unnecessary long term care expenses 

and make sure those who need the services get access to them 

as soon as possible. A training program was a specific 

recommendation of the Joint Legislative Audit and Review 

Commission in its report about pre-admission screening.
3
 The 

proposed regulation provides for a delayed effective date of 

the onset of this training requirement to permit local agency 

staff and hospital staff time to fulfill this requirement. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are approximately 

1,000 individuals working for 120 Local Departments of 

Social Services, 117 Local Virginia Department of Health 

Clinics, and 108 hospitals performing screenings. These 

entities performed 35,866 screenings from May 2015 to 

August 2016. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes do not 

disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

will require training estimated to take about 8 hours. Thus, 

the demand for labor will increase somewhat. However, the 

training may increase the efficiency of screening staff 

reducing the demand for labor to some extent. Improved 

accuracy of determinations may reduce quantity of services 

provided unnecessarily and increase the quantity of 

appropriately provided services affecting the demand for 

labor in opposite directions. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 

on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. There are no small businesses 

performing preadmission screenings. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No 

adverse impact on small businesses is expected. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. Under the proposed amendments, hospitals will 

be required to have their staff complete the preadmission 

screening training. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will require staff 

conducting screenings at Local Departments of Social 

Services and Local Virginia Department of Health Clinics 

complete training. 

___________________________ 
1 This language is continued in the 2016 and 2017 Appropriation Acts. See 

Item 306 PPP.2 of the 2016 Appropriation Act and Item 306 PPP.2 of the 

2017 Appropriation Act. 
2 While this regulation was undergoing development, Chapter 749 of the 

2017 Acts of Assembly added a statutory requirement that screeners be 
trained and certified. 
3 See http://jlarc.virginia.gov/pdfs/reports/Rpt489.pdf 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. The agency raises 

no issues with this analysis. 

Summary: 

Item 306 PPP of Chapter 780 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly 

directs the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) to contract out community-based screenings for 

children, track and monitor all requests for screenings that 

http://jlarc.virginia.gov/pdfs/reports/Rpt489.pdf


Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 1 Virginia Register of Regulations September 4, 2017 

88 

have not been completed within 30 days of an individual's 

request, and establish reimbursement and tracking 

mechanisms. Emergency regulations in effect since 

September 1, 2016, were promulgated to implement this 

legislative mandate. The proposed regulations are 

intended to supersede emergency regulations currently in 

effect. 

The proposed regulations add requirements for accepting, 

managing, and completing requests for community and 

hospital electronic screenings for community-based and 

nursing facility services preadmission screening (ePAS) 

system. The proposal establishes the use by DMAS of a 

contractor or contractors and provides a framework for 

public or private entities to screen children and adults in 

communities where community preadmission screening 

teams are unable to complete screenings within 30 days of 

the initial request date for a screening. The current 

requirements for functional eligibility (12VAC30-60-303 

B) for long-term services and supports (LTSS) are being 

retained since these standards support the eligibility 

process for the DMAS home-based and community-based 

waiver programs (the Elderly or Disabled with Consumer 

Direction Waiver, the Technology Assisted Waiver, the 

Alzheimer's Assisted Living Waiver, the Program of All-

Inclusive Care for the Elderly, and nursing facility care).  

This proposed action repeals the existing nursing facility 

criteria (12VAC30-60-300) and moves the criteria to a new 

location within 12VAC30-60-303. The functional criteria, 

based on the Uniform Assessment Instrument (UAI) form, 

are not changing in this regulatory action, and the use of 

the UAI for this purpose remains the same.  

Proposed amendments include adding a definitions section 

(12VAC30-60-301) and sections describing the 

requirement for the request for screenings (12VAC30-60-

304), screenings for Medicaid-funded LTSS (12VAC30-60-

305), submission of screenings (12VAC30-306), ePAS 

requirements and submissions (12VAC30-60-310), 

individuals determined to not meet criteria (12VAC30-60-

313), and ongoing evaluations for individuals receiving 

Medicaid-funded LTSS (12VAC30-60-315).  

12VAC30-60-300. Nursing facility criteria. (Repealed.)  

A. Medicaid-funded long-term care services may be 

provided in either a nursing facility or community-based care 

setting. The criteria for assessing an individual's eligibility for 

Medicaid payment of nursing facility care consist of two 

components: (i) functional capacity (the degree of assistance 

an individual requires to complete activities of daily living) 

and (ii) medical or nursing needs. The criteria for assessing an 

individual's eligibility for Medicaid payment of community-

based care consist of three components: (i) functional 

capacity (the degree of assistance an individual requires to 

complete activities of daily living), (ii) medical or nursing 

needs and (iii) the individual's risk of nursing facility 

placement in the absence of community-based waiver 

services. In order to qualify for either Medicaid-funded 

nursing facility care or Medicaid-funded community-based 

care, the individual must meet the same criteria.  

B. The preadmission screening process preauthorizes a 

continuum of long-term care services available to an 

individual under the Virginia Medical Assistance Program. 

Nursing Facilities' Preadmission Screenings to authorize 

Medicaid-funded long-term care are performed by teams 

composed by agencies contracting with the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services (DMAS). The authorization for 

Medicaid-funded long-term care must be rescinded by the 

nursing facility or community-based care provider or by 

DMAS at any point that the individual is determined to no 

longer meet the criteria for Medicaid-funded long-term care. 

Medicaid-funded long-term care services are covered by the 

program for individuals whose needs meet the criteria 

established by program regulations. Authorization of 

appropriate non-institutional services shall be evaluated 

before nursing facility placement is considered.  

C. Prior to an individual's admission, the nursing facility 

must review the completed pre-admission screening forms to 

ensure that appropriate nursing facility admission criteria 

have been documented. The nursing facility is also 

responsible for documenting, upon admission and on an 

ongoing basis, that the individual meets and continues to meet 

nursing facility criteria. For this purpose, the nursing facility 

will use the Minimum Data Set (MDS) The post admission 

assessment must be conducted no later than 14 days after the 

date of admission and promptly after a significant change in 

the resident's physical or mental condition. If at any time 

during the course of the resident's stay, it is determined that 

the resident does not meet nursing facility criteria as defined 

in the State Plan for Medical Assistance, the nursing facility 

must initiate discharge of such resident. Nursing facilities 

must conduct a comprehensive, accurate, standardized, 

reproducible assessment of each resident's functional capacity 

and medical and nursing needs.  

The Department of Medical Assistance Services shall 

conduct surveys of the assessments completed by nursing 

facilities to determine that services provided to the residents 

meet nursing facility criteria and that needed services are 

provided.  

D. The community-based provider is responsible for 

documenting upon admission and on an ongoing basis that 

the individual meets the criteria for Medicaid-funded long-

term care.  

E. The criteria for nursing facility care under the Virginia 

Medical Assistance Program are contained herein. An 

individual's need for care must meet these criteria before any 

authorization for payment by Medicaid will be made for 

either institutional or non-institutional long-term care 

services. The Nursing Home Pre-Admission Screening team 

is responsible for documenting on the state-designated 

assessment instrument that the individual meets the criteria 
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for nursing facility or community-based waiver services and 

for authorizing admission to Medicaid-funded long-term care. 

The rating of functional dependencies on the assessment 

instrument must be based on the individual's ability to 

function in a community environment, not including any 

institutionally induced dependence.  

12VAC30-60-301. Definitions.  

The following words and terms as used in 12VAC30-60-302 

through 12VAC30-60-315 shall have the following meanings 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means personal care 

tasks such as bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, and 

eating or feeding. An individual's degree of independence in 

performing these activities is a part of determining 

appropriate level of care and service needs. 

"Adult" means a person age 18 years or older who may need 

Medicaid-funded long-term services and supports (LTSS) or 

who becomes eligible to receive Medicaid-funded LTSS.  

"Appeal" means the processes used to challenge actions 

regarding services, benefits, and reimbursement provided by 

Medicaid pursuant to 12VAC30-110 and Part XII 

(12VAC30-20-500 et seq.) of 12VAC30-20. 

"At risk" means the need for the level of care provided in a 

hospital, nursing facility, or an intermediate care facility for 

individuals with intellectual disability (ICF/IID) when there is 

reasonable indication that the individual is expected to need 

the services in the near future (that is, one month or less) in 

the absence of home or community-based services. 

"Child" means a person up to the age of 18 years who may 

need Medicaid-funded LTSS or who becomes eligible to 

receive Medicaid-funded LTSS. 

"Choice" means the individual is provided the option of 

either home and community-based waiver services or 

institutional services and supports, including the Program of 

All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE), if available and 

appropriate, after the individual has been determined likely to 

need LTSS. 

"Communication" means all forms of sharing information 

and includes oral speech and augmented or alternative 

communication used to express thoughts, needs, wants, and 

ideas, such as the use of a communication device, interpreter, 

gestures, and picture or symbol communication boards. 

"Community-based services" means community-based 

waiver services or the Program of All-Inclusive Care for the 

Elderly (PACE). 

"Community-based services provider" means a provider or 

agency enrolled with Virginia Medicaid to offer services to 

individuals eligible for home and community-based waivers 

services or PACE. 

"Community-based team" or "CBT" means (i) a registered 

nurse or nurse practitioner; (ii) a social worker or other 

assessor designated by DMAS; and (iii) a physician. The 

CBT members are employees of, or contracted with, the 

Virginia Department of Health or the local department of 

social services.  

"DARS" means the Virginia Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services.  

"Day" means calendar day unless specified otherwise. 

"DBHDS" means the Virginia Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services.  

"DMAS designee" means the public or private entity with an 

agreement with the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services to complete preadmission screenings pursuant to 

§ 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia. 

"ePAS" means the DMAS automated system or a DMAS-

approved electronic record system for use by all entities 

contracted by DMAS to perform screenings pursuant to 

§ 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Face-to-face" means an in-person meeting with the 

individual seeking Medicaid-funded LTSS.  

"Feasible alternative" means a range of services that can be 

provided in the community via waiver or PACE, for less than 

the cost of comparable institutional care, in order to enable an 

individual to continue living in the community.  

"Home and community-based services waiver" or "waiver 

services" means the range of community services and 

supports approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services (CMS) pursuant to § 1915(c) of the Social Security 

Act to be offered to individuals as an alternative to 

institutionalization.  

"Hospital team" means persons designated by the hospital 

who are responsible for conducting and submitting the 

screening document for inpatients to ePAS. 

"Inpatient" means an individual who has a physician's order 

for admission to an acute care hospital, rehabilitation hospital, 

or a rehabilitation unit in an acute care hospital and shall not 

apply to outpatient, patients in observation beds, and patients 

of the hospital's emergency department. 

"Local department of social services" or "LDSS" means the 

entity established under § 63.2-324 of the Code of Virginia 

by the governing city or county in the Commonwealth.  

"Local health department" or "LHD" means the entity 

established under § 32.1-31 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Long-term services and supports" or "LTSS" means a 

variety of services that help individuals with health or 

personal care needs and ADLs over a period of time that can 

be provided in the home, the community, assisted living 

facilities, or nursing facilities.  

"MCO" or means a health plan selected to participate in the 

Commonwealth's CCC Plus program and that is a party to a 

contract with DMAS. 
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"Medicaid" means the program set out in the 42 USC § 1396 

et seq. and administered by the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et 

seq.) of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Medicare" means the Health Insurance for the Aged and 

Disabled program as administered by the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services pursuant to 42 USC 

1395ggg. 

"Nursing facility" or "NF" means any nursing home as 

defined in § 32.1-123 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Other assessor designated by DMAS" means an employee 

of the local department of social services holding the 

occupational title of family services specialist.  

"Preadmission screening" or "screening" means the process 

to (i) evaluate the functional, nursing, and social support 

needs of individuals referred for screening for certain long-

term care services requiring NF eligibility; (ii) assist 

individuals in determining what specific services the 

individual needs; (iii) evaluate whether a service or a 

combination of existing community services are available to 

meet the individual's needs; and (iv) provide a list to 

individuals of appropriate providers for Medicaid-funded 

nursing facility or home and community-based services for 

those individuals who meet nursing facility level of care.  

"Primary account holder" means the person who performs 

the initial web registrations for the screening entity and 

establishes the security needed for accessing ePAS. 

"Private pay individual" means individuals who are not 

eligible for Medicaid or not expected to become eligible for 

Medicaid for 180 days following admission. 

"Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly" or "PACE" 

means the community-based service pursuant to § 32.1-330.3 

of the Code of Virginia.  

"Referral for screening" means information obtained from 

an interested person or other third party having knowledge of 

an individual who may need Medicaid-funded LTSS and may 

include, for example, a physician, PACE provider, service 

provider, family member, or neighbor who is able to provide 

sufficient information to enable contact with the individual.  

"Reimbursement" means the determination that a submitted 

claim is completed accurately and completely and the service 

is covered resulting in the payment by DMAS for the services 

represented on the claims.  

"Representative" means a person who is authorized to make 

decisions on behalf of the individual.  

"Request date for screening" or "request date" means the 

date (i) that an individual, the individual's representative, an 

adult protective services worker, child protective services 

worker, or the managed care organization (MCO) care 

coordinator contacts the screening entity in the jurisdiction 

where the individual resides asking for assistance with LTSS, 

or (ii) for hospital inpatients, that a physician orders case 

management consultation or a hospital's case management 

service determines the need for LTSS upon discharge from 

the hospital.  

"Request for screening" means (i) communication from an 

individual, individual's representative, adult protective 

services worker, child protective services worker, or managed 

care organization (MCO) care coordinator, expressing the 

need for LTSS or (ii) for hospital inpatients, a physician order 

for case management consultation or case management 

determination of the need for LTSS upon discharge from a 

hospital.  

"Residence" means, for example, an individual's private 

home, apartment, assisted living facility, nursing facility, or 

jail or correctional facility if the individual to be screened is 

seeking Medicaid-funded LTSS and does not request an 

alternative screening location as allowed in 12VAC30-60-305 

A. 

"Screening entity" means the hospital screening team, 

community-based team, or DMAS designee contracted to 

perform screenings pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Significant change in condition" means a change in an 

individual's condition that is expected to last longer than 30 

days and shall not include (i) short-term changes that resolve 

with or without intervention; (ii) a short-term illness or 

episodic event; or (iii) a well-established, predictive, cyclic 

pattern of clinical signs and symptoms associated with a 

previously diagnosed condition where an appropriate course 

of treatment is in progress.  

"Submission" means the transmission of the screening 

findings and receipt of successfully processed results using 

ePAS.  

"Submission date" means the date that the screening entity 

transmits to DMAS the screening findings using ePAS.  

"Uniform Assessment Instrument" or "UAI" means the 

standardized multidimensional assessment instrument that is 

completed by the screening entity that assesses an individual's 

physical health, mental health, and psycho/social and 

functional abilities to determine if the individual meets the 

nursing facility level of care. 

"VDH" means the Virginia Department of Health. 

12VAC30-60-302. Access to Medicaid-funded long-term 

services and supports. 

A. Medicaid-funded long-term services and supports (LTSS) 

may be provided in either home and community-based or 

institutional-based settings. To receive LTSS, the individual's 

condition shall first be evaluated using the designated 

assessment instrument, the Uniform Assessment Instrument 

(UAI), and other designated forms. Screening entities shall 

use the DMAS-designated forms (UAI, DMAS-95, DMAS-

96, DMAS-97) and, if selecting nursing facility placement, 

the DMAS-95 Level I (MI/IDD/RC). If indicated by the 

DMAS-95 Level I results, the individual shall be referred to 
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DBHDS for completion of the DMAS-95 Level II (for 

nursing facility placements only).  

1. An individual's need for LTSS shall meet the established 

criteria (12VAC30-60-303) before any authorization for 

reimbursement by Medicaid is made for LTSS. 

2. Appropriate community-based services shall be 

evaluated prior to consideration of nursing facility 

placement. 

B. The evaluation shall be the screening as designated in 

§ 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia, which shall preauthorize 

a continuum of LTSS covered by Medicaid.  

1. Such screenings, using the UAI, shall be conducted by 

teams of representatives of (i) hospitals for individuals 

(adults and children) who are inpatients; (ii) local 

departments of social services and local health 

departments, known herein as CBTs, for adults residing in 

the community and who are not inpatients; (iii) a DMAS 

designee for children residing in the community who are 

not inpatients; and (iv) a DMAS designee for adults 

residing in the community who are not inpatients and who 

cannot be screened by the CBT within 30 days of the 

request date. All of these entities shall be contracted with 

DMAS to perform this activity and be reimbursed by 

DMAS. 

2. All screenings shall be comprehensive, accurate, 

standardized, and reproducible evaluations of individual 

functional capacities, medical or nursing needs, and risk 

for institutional placement. 

C. Individuals shall not be required to be financially eligible 

for receipt of Medicaid or have submitted an application for 

Medicaid in order to be screened for LTSS. 

D. Pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia, 

individuals shall be screened if they are eligible for Medicaid 

or are anticipated to become eligible for Medicaid 

reimbursement of their NF care within six months of NF 

placement. 

E. Special circumstances. 

1. Out-of-state hospitals shall not be required to perform a 

screening for residents of the Commonwealth who are 

inpatients. If a screening is needed and is requested by 

either the individual or the individual's representative, 

individuals shall be screened upon discharge from the out-

of-state hospital by the CBT serving the locality in which 

the individual resides. Screenings shall not be required for 

individuals who transfer into a nursing facility in the 

Commonwealth from an out-of-state nursing facility.  

2. Veterans and military hospitals located in the 

Commonwealth that have inpatients who are residents of 

the Commonwealth shall not be required to perform 

screenings and may refer, upon discharge, the individual 

who requests a screening to the CBT serving the locality in 

which the individual resides. Screenings shall not be 

required for individuals who transfer to a nursing facilty in 

the Commonwealth from a veterans or military hospital. 

3. State facilities that are licensed by DBHDS shall not be 

required to perform screenings of individuals who are 

receiving their services. Individuals shall be referred, upon 

discharge from such state facilities, to the CBT serving the 

locality in which the individual lives if the facility 

anticipates an individual may need a screening. 

4. Hospitals shall not be required to initiate screenings for 

inpatients who are determined by the hospital team to be 

private pay individuals unless there is a request for a 

screening as outlined in 12VAC30-60-304 C. 

5. Wilson Workforce Rehabilitation Center (WWRC) staff 

shall perform screenings of the WWRC clients. 

6. A screening shall not be required for enrollment in 

Medicaid hospice services as set out in 12VAC30-60-130 

and home health services as set out in 12VAC30-50-160. 

G. Failure to comply with DMAS requirements, including 

competency and training requirements applicable to staff, 

may result in retraction of Medicaid payments. 

12VAC30-60-303. Preadmission screening Screening 

criteria for Medicaid-funded long-term care services and 

supports.  

A. Functional dependency alone is shall not be deemed 

sufficient to demonstrate the need for nursing facility care or 

placement or authorization for community-based care 

services. An individual shall be determined to meet the 

nursing facility criteria when:  

1. The individual has both limited functional capacity and 

medical or nursing needs according to the requirements of 

this section; or 

2. The individual is rated dependent in some functional 

limitations, but does not meet the functional capacity 

requirements, and the individual requires the daily direct 

services or supervision of a licensed nurse that cannot be 

managed on an outpatient basis (e.g., clinic, physician 

visits, home health services).  

B. An individual shall only be considered to meet the 

nursing facility criteria when both the functional capacity of 

the individual and his medical or nursing needs meet the 

following requirements. Even when an individual meets 

nursing facility criteria, placement in a noninstitutional 

setting shall be evaluated before actual nursing facility 

placement is considered In order to qualify for Medicaid-

funded LTSS, the individual shall meet the following criteria:  

1. For Medicaid-funded nursing facility services to be 

authorized, the screening entity shall document that the 

individual has both functional and medical or nursing 

needs. The criteria for screening an individual's eligibility 

for Medicaid reimbursement of NF services shall consist of 

two components: (i) functional capacity (the degree of 

assistance an individual requires to complete ADLs) and 

(ii) medical or nursing needs. The rating of functional 
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dependency on the UAI shall be based on the individual's 

ability to function in a community environment and 

exclude all institutionally induced dependencies. 

2. In order for Medicaid-funded community-based services 

to be authorized, an individual shall not be required to be 

physically admitted to a NF. The criteria for screening an 

individual's eligibility for Medicaid reimbursement of 

community-based services shall consist of three 

components: (i) functional capacity needs (the degree of 

assistance an individual requires in order to complete 

ADLs), (ii) medical or nursing needs, and (iii) the 

individual's risk of NF placement within 30 days in the 

absence of community-based services.  

1. C. Functional capacity.  

a. 1. When documented on a completed state-designated 

preadmission screening assessment instrument a UAI that 

is completed in a manner consistent with the definitions of 

activities of daily living (ADLs) and directions provided by 

DMAS for the rating of those activities, individuals may be 

considered to meet the functional capacity requirements for 

nursing facility care when one of the following describes 

their functional capacity:  

(1) a. Rated dependent in two to four of the Activities of 

Daily Living ADLs, and also rated semi-dependent or 

dependent in Behavior Pattern and Orientation, and semi-

dependent in Joint Motion or dependent in Medication 

Administration.  

(2) b. Rated dependent in five to seven of the Activities 

of Daily Living ADLs, and also rated dependent in 

Mobility.  

(3) c. Rated semi-dependent in two to seven of the 

Activities of Daily Living ADLs, and also rated 

dependent in Mobility and Behavior Pattern and 

Orientation.  

b. 2. The rating of functional dependencies on the 

preadmission screening assessment instrument must shall 

be based on the individual's ability to function in a 

community environment, not including any institutionally 

induced dependence. The following abbreviations shall 

mean: I = independent; d = semi-dependent; D = 

dependent; MH = mechanical help; HH = human help.  

(1) a. Bathing.  

(a) (1) Without help (I)  

(b) (2) MH only (d)  

(c) (3) HH only (D)  

(d) (4) MH and HH (D)  

(e) (5) Performed by Others (D)  

(2) b. Dressing.  

(a) (1) Without help (I)  

(b) (2) MH only (d)  

(c) (3) HH only (D)  

(d) (4) MH and HH (D)  

(e) (5) Performed by Others (D)  

(f) (6) Is not Performed (D)  

(3) c. Toileting.  

(a) (1) Without help day or night (I)  

(b) (2) MH only (d)  

(c) (3) HH only (D)  

(d) (4) MH and HH (D)  

(e) (5) Performed by Others (D)  

(4) d. Transferring.  

(a) (1) Without help (I)  

(b) (2) MH only (d)  

(c) (3) HH only (D)  

(d) (4) MH and HH (D)  

(e) (5) Performed by Others (D)  

(f) (6) Is not Performed (D)  

(5) e. Bowel Function function. 

(a) (1) Continent (I)  

(b) (2) Incontinent less than weekly (d)  

(c) (3) External/Indwelling Device/Ostomy -- self care 

(d)  

(d) (4) Incontinent weekly or more (D)  

(e) (5) Ostomy -- not self care (D)  

(6) f. Bladder Function function. 

(a) (1) Continent (I)  

(b) (2) Incontinent less than weekly (d)  

(c) (3) External device/Indwelling Catheter/Ostomy -- 

self care (d)  

(d) (4) Incontinent weekly or more (D)  

(e) (5) External device -- not self care (D)  

(f) (6) Indwelling catheter -- not self care (D)  

(g) (7) Ostomy -- not self care (D)  

(7) g. Eating/Feeding.  

(a) (1) Without help (I)  

(b) (2) MH only (d)  

(c) (3) HH only (D)  

(d) (4) MH and HH (D)  

(e) (5) Spoon fed (D)  

(f) (6) Syringe or tube fed (D)  

(g) (7) Fed by IV or clysis (D)  

(8) h. Behavior Pattern pattern and Orientation 

orientation. 

(a) (1) Appropriate or Wandering/Passive less than 

weekly + Oriented (I)  
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(b) (2) Appropriate or Wandering/Passive less than 

weekly + Disoriented -- Some Spheres (I)  

(c) (3) Wandering/Passive Weekly/or more + Oriented (I)  

(d) (4) Appropriate or Wandering/Passive less than 

weekly + Disoriented -- All Spheres (d)  

(e) (5) Wandering/Passive Weekly/Some or more + 

Disoriented -- All Spheres (d)  

(f) (6) Abusive/Aggressive/Disruptive less than weekly + 

Oriented or Disoriented (d)  

(g) (7) Abusive/Aggressive/Disruptive weekly or more + 

Oriented (d)  

(h) (8) Abusive/Aggressive/Disruptive + Disoriented -- 

All Spheres (D)  

(9) i. Mobility.  

(a) (1) Goes outside without help (I)  

(b) (2) Goes outside MH only (d)  

(c) (3) Goes outside HH only (D)  

(d) (4) Goes outside MH and HH (D)  

(e) (5) Confined -- moves about (D)  

(f) (6) Confined -- does not move about (D)  

(10) j. Medication Administration administration. 

(a) (1) No medications (I)  

(b) (2) Self administered -- monitored less than weekly 

(I)  

(c) (3) By lay persons, Administered/Monitored (D)  

(d) (4) By Licensed/Professional nurse 

Administered/Monitored (D)  

(11) k. Joint Motion motion. 

(a) (1) Within normal limits or instability corrected (I)  

(b) (2) Limited motion (d)  

(c) (3) Instability -- uncorrected or immobile (D)  

c. D. Medical or nursing needs. An individual with medical 

or nursing needs is an individual whose health needs require 

medical or nursing supervision or care above the level that 

could be provided through assistance with Activities of Daily 

Living ADLs, Medication Administration medication 

administration, and general supervision and is not primarily 

for the care and treatment of mental diseases. Medical or 

nursing supervision or care beyond this level is required when 

any one of the following describes the individual's need for 

medical or nursing supervision:  

(1) 1. The individual's medical condition requires 

observation and assessment to assure evaluation of the 

person's need for modification of treatment or additional 

medical procedures to prevent destabilization, and the 

person has demonstrated an inability to self observe or 

evaluate the need to contact skilled medical professionals;  

(2) 2. Due to the complexity created by the person's 

multiple, interrelated medical conditions, the potential for 

the individual's medical instability is high or medical 

instability exists; or  

(3) 3. The individual requires at least one ongoing medical 

or nursing service. The following is a nonexclusive list of 

medical or nursing services that may, but need not 

necessarily, indicate a need for medical or nursing 

supervision or care:  

(a) a. Application of aseptic dressings;  

(b) b. Routine catheter care;  

(c) c. Respiratory therapy;  

(d) d. Supervision for adequate nutrition and hydration 

for individuals who show clinical evidence of 

malnourishment or dehydration or have recent history of 

weight loss or inadequate hydration that, if not 

supervised, would be expected to result in 

malnourishment or dehydration;  

(e) e. Therapeutic exercise and positioning;  

(f) f. Routine care of colostomy or ileostomy or 

management of neurogenic bowel and bladder;  

(g) g. Use of physical (e.g., side rails, poseys, locked 

wards) and/or or chemical restraints, or both;  

(h) h. Routine skin care to prevent pressure ulcers for 

individuals who are immobile;  

(i) i. Care of small uncomplicated pressure ulcers and 

local skin rashes;  

(j) j. Management of those with sensory, metabolic, or 

circulatory impairment with demonstrated clinical 

evidence of medical instability;  

(k) k. Chemotherapy;  

(l) l. Radiation;  

(m) m. Dialysis;  

(n) n. Suctioning;  

(o) o. Tracheostomy care;  

(p) p. Infusion therapy; or 

(q) q. Oxygen.  

d. Even when an individual meets nursing facility 

criteria, provision of services in a noninstitutional setting 

shall be considered before nursing facility placement is 

sought.  

C. E. When assessing an individual 21 years of age or 

younger screening a child, the teams who are screening entity 

who is conducting preadmission screenings screening for 

long-term care services LTSS shall utilize the electronic 

Uniform Assessment Instrument (UAI) interpretive guidance 

as contained referenced in DMAS' Medicaid Memo dated 

October 3, 2012, entitled "Development of Special Criteria 

for the Purposes of Pre-Admission Screening," November 22, 

2016, entitled "Reissuance of the Pre-Admission Screening 

(PAS) Provider Manual, Chapter IV," which can be accessed 
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on the DMAS website 

at https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/. 

12VAC30-60-304. Requests for screening for adults and 

children living in the community and adults and children 

in hospitals. 

A. Screenings for adults living in the community. 

Screenings for adults who are residing in the community but 

who are not inpatients shall be completed and submitted 

(submission date) by the CBT to ePAS within 30 days of the 

request date for screening.  

1. Requests for screenings shall be accepted from either an 

individual, the individual's representative, an adult 

protective service worker, or an MCO care coordinator 

having an interest in the individual. The CBT in the 

jurisdiction where the individual resides shall conduct such 

screening. For the screening to be scheduled by the CBT, 

the individual shall either agree to participate or, if 

refusing, shall be under order of a court of appropriate 

jurisdiction to have a screening.  

a. The LDSS or LHD in receipt of the request for a 

screening shall contact the individual or his 

representative within seven days of the request date for 

screening to schedule a screening with the individual and 

any other persons whom the individual selects to attend 

the screening. 

b. When the CBT has not scheduled a screening to occur 

within 21 days of the request date for screening, and the 

screening is not anticipated to be complete within 30 

days of the request date for screening due to the 

screening entity's inability to conduct the screening, the 

LDSS and LHD shall, no later than seven days after the 

request date for screening, notify DARS and VDH staff 

designated for technical assistance. After contact with the 

LDSS and LHD, if DARS and VDH confirm that the 

screening entity is unable to complete the screening 

within 30 days of the request date for screening, the 

designated VDH staff shall refer the CBT and screening 

request to the DMAS designee for scheduling of a 

screening and submission of documentation.  

2. Referrals for screenings may also be accepted by LDSS 

or LHD from an interested person having knowledge of an 

individual who may need LTSS. When the LDSS or LHD 

receives such a referral, the LDSS or LHD shall obtain 

sufficient information from the referral source to initiate 

contact with the individual or his representative to discuss 

the preadmission screening process. Within seven days of 

the referral date, the LDSS or LHD shall contact the 

individual or his representative to determine if the 

individual is interested in receiving LTSS and would 

participate in the screening. If the LDSS or LHD is unable 

to contact the individual or his representative, it shall 

document the attempt to contact the individual or his 

representative using the method adopted by the CBT.  

a. After contact with the individual or his representative, 

or if the LDSS or LHD is unable to contact the individual 

or his representative, the LDSS or LHD shall advise the 

referring interested person that contact or attempt to 

contact has been made in response to the referral for 

screening. 

b. Information about the results of the contact shall only 

be shared with the interested person who made the 

referral with either the individual's written consent or the 

written consent of his legal representative who has such 

authority on behalf of the individual.  

B. Screenings for children living in the community. 

Screenings for children who are residing in the community 

but who are not inpatients shall be completed and submitted 

to ePAS (this shall be considered the submission date) within 

30 days of the request date for screening. 

1. A child who is residing in the community and is not an 

inpatient shall receive a screening from a DMAS designee. 

The CBT shall forward requests for such screenings 

directly to the DMAS designee.  

2. The request for screening of a child residing in the 

community shall initiate from the parent, the entity having 

legal custody of that child, an emancipated child, an MCO 

care coordinator, or a child protective service worker 

having an interest in the child.  

3. Referrals for screenings may also be accepted from an 

interested person having knowledge of a child who may 

need LTSS. The process, timing, and limitations on the 

sharing of the results for referrals for screenings for 

children shall be the same as that set out for adults in 

subdivision A 2 of this section. 

C. Screenings in hospitals for adults and children who are 

inpatients. Screenings in hospitals shall be completed when 

an adult or child who is an inpatient may need LTSS upon 

discharge or when the inpatient, or representative, requests a 

screening. 

1. As a part of the discharge planning process, the hospital 

team shall complete a screening when: 

a. The individual's physician, in collaboration with the 

individual or the individual's representative if there is one 

makes a request of the hospital team. If the individual is a 

child, the screening shall be completed when the 

individual's physician, in collaboration with the child's 

parent, the entity having legal custody of the child, or the 

emancipated child makes a request of the hospital team; 

or 

b. The individual, the individual's representative if there 

is one, parent, entity having legal custody, or 

emancipated child requests a consultation with hospital 

case management.  

2. Such individual shall receive a screening conducted by 

the hospital team regardless of the primary payer source 

(e.g., Medicare, health maintenance organization) and 

https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/
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whether or not they are eligible for Medicaid or are 

anticipated to become eligible for Medicaid within six 

months after admission to a NF. 

12VAC30-60-305. Screenings in the community and 

hospitals for Medicaid-funded long-term services and 

supports. 

A. Community screenings for adults. 

1. Eligibility for Medicaid-funded LTSS shall be 

determined by the CBT after completion of a screening of 

the individual's needs and available supports. The CBT 

shall document a screening of all the supports available for 

that individual in the community (i.e., the immediate 

family, other relatives, other community resources, and 

other services in the continuum of LTSS). The screening 

shall be documented on the designated DMAS forms 

identified in 12VAC30-60-306. 

2. Screenings shall be completed in the individual's 

residence unless the residence presents a safety risk for the 

individual or the CBT, or unless the individual or the 

representative requests that the screening be performed in 

an alternate location within the same jurisdiction. The 

individual shall be permitted to have another person or 

persons present at the time of the screening. Other than 

situations when a court has issued an order for a screening, 

the individual shall also be afforded the right to refuse to 

participate. The CBT shall determine the appropriate 

degree of participation and assistance given by other 

persons to the individual during the screening and 

accommodate the individual's preferences to the extent 

feasible. 

3. The CBT shall: 

a. Observe the individual's ability to perform ADLs 

according to 12VAC30-60-303 and consider the 

individual's communication or responses to questions or 

his representative's communication or responses; 

b. Observe, assess, and report the individual's medical 

condition. This information shall be used to ensure 

accurate and comprehensive evaluation of the 

individual's need for modification of treatment or 

additional medical procedures to prevent destabilization 

even when the individual has demonstrated an inability to 

self-observe or evaluate the need to contact skilled 

medical professionals;  

c. Identify the medical or nursing needs, or both, of the 

individual; and 

d. Consider services and settings that may be needed by 

the individual in order for the individual to safely 

perform ADLs. 

4. Upon completion of the screening and in consideration 

of the communication from the individual or his 

representative, if appropriate, and observations obtained 

during the screening, the CBT shall determine whether the 

individual meets the criteria set out in 12VAC30-60-303. If 

the individual meets the criteria for LTSS, the CBT shall 

inform and provide choice to the individual and his 

representative, if appropriate, of the feasible alternatives to 

placement in a NF. 

5. If waiver services or PACE, where available, are 

declined, the reason for the declination shall be recorded 

on the DMAS-97, Individual Choice - Institutional Care or 

Waiver Services Form. The CBT shall have this document 

signed by either the individual or his representative, if 

appropriate. In addition to the electronic document, a paper 

copy of the DMAS-97 form with the individual's or his 

representative's signature shall be retained in the 

individual's record by the screening entity.  

6. If the individual meets criteria and selects community-

based services, the CBT shall also document that the 

individual is at risk of NF placement in the absence of 

community-based services by finding that at least one of 

the following conditions exists: 

a. The individual has been cared for in the home prior to 

the screening and evidence is available demonstrating a 

deterioration in the individual's health care condition, a 

significant change in condition, or a change in available 

supports preventing previous services and supports from 

meeting the individual's needs. Examples of such 

evidence may include (i) recent hospitalizations, (ii) 

attending physician documentation, or (iii) reported 

findings from medical or social service agencies.  

b. There has been no significant change in condition or 

available support but evidence is available that 

demonstrates the individual's functional, medical, or 

nursing needs are not being met. Examples of such 

evidence may include (i) recent hospitalizations, (ii) 

attending physician documentation, or (iii) reported 

findings from medical or social service agencies.  

7. If the individual selects NF placement, the CBT shall 

follow the Level I identification and Level II evaluation 

process as outlined in Part III (12VAC30-130-140 et seq.) 

of 12VAC30-130.  

8. If the CBT determines that the individual does not meet 

the criteria set out in 12VAC30-60-303, the CBT shall 

notify in writing the individual and the individual's 

representative, as may be appropriate, that LTSS are being 

denied for the individual. The denial notice shall include 

the individual's right to appeal consistent with DMAS 

client appeals regulations (12VAC30-110).  

9. For those screenings conducted in accordance with 

clause iv of 12VAC30-60-302 B 1, the DMAS designee 

shall follow the process outlined in this subsection.  

B. Community screenings for children. 

1. Eligibility for Medicaid-funded LTSS shall be 

determined by the DMAS designee after completion of a 

screening of the child's needs and available supports. The 

DMAS designee shall document a screening of all the 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 1 Virginia Register of Regulations September 4, 2017 

96 

supports available for that child in the community (i.e., the 

immediate family, other community resources, and other 

services in the continuum of LTSS). The screening shall be 

documented on the designated DMAS forms identified in 

12VAC30-60-306.  

2. Upon receipt of a screening request, the DMAS designee 

shall schedule an appointment to complete the requested 

screening. Community settings where screenings may 

occur include the child's residence, other residences, 

children's residential facilities, or other settings with the 

exception of acute care hospitals, rehabilitation units of 

acute care hospitals, and rehabilitation hospitals. 

3. The DMAS designee shall: 

a. Determine the appropriate degree of participation and 

assistance given by other persons to the individual during 

the screening in recognition of the individual's 

preferences to the extent feasible. 

b. Observe the child's ability to perform ADLs according 

to 12VAC30-60-303 and consider the parent's, legal 

guardian's, or emancipated child's communications or 

responses to questions; 

c. Observe, assess, and report the child's medical 

condition. This information shall be used to ensure 

accurate and comprehensive evaluation of the child's 

need for modification of treatment or additional medical 

procedures to prevent destabilization even when the child 

has demonstrated an inability to self-observe or evaluate 

the need to contact skilled medical professionals;  

d. Identify the medical or nursing needs, or both, of the 

child; and 

e. Consider services and settings that may be needed by 

the child in order for the child to safely perform ADLs in 

the community. 

4. Upon completion of the screening and in consideration 

of the communication from the child or his representative, 

if appropriate, and observations obtained during the 

screening, the DMAS designee shall determine whether the 

child meets the criteria set out in 12VAC30-60-303. If the 

child meets the criteria for LTSS, the DMAS designee 

shall inform and provide choice to the child and his 

representative, if appropriate, of the feasible alternatives to 

NF placement. 

5. If waiver services are declined, the reason for declining 

shall be recorded on the DMAS-97, Individual Choice - 

Institutional Care or Waiver Services Form. The DMAS 

designee shall have this document signed by either the 

child or his representative, if appropriate. In addition to the 

electronic document, a paper copy of the DMAS-97 form 

with the child's or his representative's signature shall be 

retained in the child's record by the screening entity.  

6. If the child meets criteria and selects community-based 

services, the DMAS designee shall also document that the 

individual is at risk of NF placement in the absence of 

community-based services by finding that at least one of 

the following conditions exists: 

a. The child has been cared for in the home prior to the 

screening and evidence is available demonstrating a 

deterioration in the child's health care condition, a 

significant change in condition, or a change in available 

supports preventing previous services and supports from 

meeting the child's needs. Examples of such evidence 

may include (i) recent hospitalizations, (ii) attending 

physician documentation, or (iii) reported findings from 

medical or social service agencies. 

b. There has been no significant change in condition or 

available support but evidence is available that 

demonstrates the child's functional, medical, or nursing 

needs are not being met. Examples of such evidence may 

include (i) recent hospitalizations, (ii) attending 

physician documentation, or (iii) reported findings from 

medical or social service agencies. 

7. If the parent, entity having legal custody of the child, or 

emancipated child selects NF placement, the DMAS 

designee shall follow the Level I identification and Level II 

evaluation process as set out in Part III (12VAC30-130-

140 et seq.) of 12VAC30-130.  

8. If the DMAS designee determines that the child does not 

meet the criteria to receive LTSS as set out in 12VAC30-

60-303, the DMAS designee shall notify in writing the 

parent, entity having legal custody of the child, or the 

emancipated child and representative, as may be 

appropriate, that LTSS are being denied for the child. The 

denial notice shall include the child's right to appeal 

consistent with DMAS client appeals regulations 

(12VAC30-110).  

C. Screenings for adults and children in hospitals. For the 

purpose of this subsection, the term "individual" shall mean 

either an adult or a child.  

1. Eligibility for Medicaid-funded LTSS shall be 

determined by the hospital screening team after completion 

of a screening of the individual's needs and available 

supports. The hospital screening team shall document a 

screening of all the supports available for that individual in 

the community (i.e., the immediate family, other relatives, 

other community resources, and other services in the 

continuum of LTSS).  

2. Screenings shall be completed in the hospital prior to 

discharge. The individual shall be permitted to have 

another person or persons present at the time of the 

screening. Other than situations when a court has issued an 

order for a screening, the individual shall also be afforded 

the right to refuse to participate. The hospital screening 

team shall determine the appropriate degree of 

participation and assistance given by other persons to the 

individual during the screening and accommodate the 

individual's preferences to the extent feasible. 
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3. The hospital screening team shall: 

a. Observe the individual's ability to perform ADLs 

according to 12VAC30-60-303, excluding all 

institutionally induced dependencies, and consider the 

individual's communication or responses to questions or 

his representative's communication or responses; 

b. Observe, assess, and report the individual's medical 

condition. This information shall be used to ensure 

accurate and comprehensive evaluation of the 

individual's need for modification of treatment or 

additional medical procedures to prevent destabilization 

even when the individual has demonstrated an inability to 

self-observe or evaluate the need to contact skilled 

medical professionals;  

c. Identify the medical or nursing needs, or both, of the 

individual; and 

d. Consider services and settings that may be needed by 

the individual in order for the individual to safely 

perform ADLs.  

4. Upon completion of the screening and in consideration 

of the communication from the individual or his 

representative, if appropriate, and observations obtained 

during the screening, the hospital screening team shall 

determine whether the individual meets the criteria set out 

in 12VAC30-60-303. If the individual meets the criteria for 

LTSS, the hospital screening team shall inform and 

provide choice to the individual and his representative, if 

appropriate, of the feasible alternatives to placement in a 

NF. 

5. If waiver services or PACE, where available, are 

declined, the reason for the declination shall be recorded 

on the DMAS-97, Individual Choice - Institutional Care or 

Waiver Services Form. The hospital screening team shall 

have this document signed by either the individual or his 

representative, if appropriate. In addition to the electronic 

document, a paper copy of the DMAS-97 form with the 

individual's or his representative's signature shall be 

retained in the individual's record.  

6. If the individual meets criteria and selects community-

based services, the hospital screening team shall also 

document that the individual is at risk of NF placement in 

the absence of community-based services by finding that at 

least one of the following conditions exists: 

a. Prior to the inpatient admission, the individual was 

cared for in the home and evidence is available 

demonstrating a deterioration in the individual's health 

care condition, a significant change in condition, or a 

change in available supports preventing previous services 

and supports from meeting the individual's needs. 

Examples of such evidence may include (i) recent 

hospitalizations, (ii) attending physician documentation, 

or (iii) reported findings from medical or social service 

agencies.  

b. There has been no significant change in condition or 

available support but evidence is available that 

demonstrates the individual's functional, medical, or 

nursing needs are not being met. Examples of such 

evidence may include (i) recent hospitalizations, (ii) 

attending physician documentation, or (iii) reported 

findings from medical or social service agencies.  

7. If the individual selects NF placement, the hospital 

screening team shall follow the Level I identification and 

Level II evaluation process as outlined in Part III 

(12VAC30-130-140 et seq.) of 12VAC30-130.  

8. If the hospital screening team determines that the 

individual does not meet the criteria set out in 12VAC30-

60-303, the hospital screening team shall notify in writing 

the individual and the individual's representative, as may 

be appropriate, that LTSS are being denied for the 

individual. The denial notice shall include the individual's 

right to appeal consistent with DMAS client appeals 

regulations (12VAC30-110).  

12VAC30-60-306. Submission of screenings. 

A. The screening entity shall complete and submit the 

following forms to DMAS electronically on ePAS: 

1. DMAS-95 - MI/IDD/RC (Supplemental Assessment 

Process Form Level I); 

2. DMAS-96 (Medicaid-Funded Long-Term Care Service 

Authorization Form), as appropriate; 

3. DMAS-97 (Individual Choice - Institutional Care or 

Waiver Services); and 

4. UAI (Uniform Assessment Instrument). 

B. For screenings performed in the community, the 

screening entity shall submit to DMAS on ePAS each 

screening form listed in subsection A of this section within 30 

days of the individual's request date for screening.  

C. For screenings performed in a hospital, the hospital team 

shall submit to DMAS on ePAS each screening form listed in 

subsection A of this section, which shall be completed prior 

to the individual's discharge. For individuals who will be 

admitted to a Medicare-funded skilled NF or to a Medicare-

funded rehabilitation hospital (or rehabilitation unit) directly 

upon discharge from the hospital, the hospital screener shall 

have up to an additional three days post-discharge to submit 

the screening forms via ePAS.  

12VAC30-60-307. Summary of pre-admission nursing 

facility criteria. (Repealed.) 

A. An individual shall be determined to meet the nursing 

facility criteria when:  

1. The individual has both limited functional capacity and 

requires medical or nursing management according to the 

requirements of 12VAC30-60-303, or  

2. The individual is rated dependent in some functional 

limitations, but does not meet the functional capacity 

requirements, and the individual requires the daily direct 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 1 Virginia Register of Regulations September 4, 2017 

98 

services or supervision of a licensed nurse that cannot be 

managed on an outpatient basis (e.g., clinic, physician 

visits, home health services).  

B. An individual shall not be determined to meet nursing 

facility criteria when one of the following specific care needs 

solely describes his or her condition:  

1. An individual who requires minimal assistance with 

activities of daily living, including those persons whose 

only need in all areas of functional capacity is for 

prompting to complete the activity;  

2. An individual who independently uses mechanical 

devices such as a wheelchair, walker, crutch, or cane;  

3. An individual who requires limited diets such as a 

mechanically altered, low salt, low residue, diabetic, 

reducing, and other restrictive diets;  

4. An individual who requires medications that can be 

independently self-administered or administered by the 

caregiver;  

5. An individual who requires protection to prevent him 

from obtaining alcohol or drugs or to address a social or 

environmental problem;  

6. An individual who requires minimal staff observation or 

assistance for confusion, memory impairment, or poor 

judgment;  

7. An individual whose primary need is for behavioral 

management which can be provided in a community-based 

setting;  

12VAC30-60-308. Nursing facility admission and level of 

care determination requirements.  

Prior to an individual's admission, the NF shall review the 

completed screening forms to ensure that applicable NF 

admission criteria have been met and documented. 

12VAC30-60-310. [Reserved] Competency training and 

testing requirements. 

By no later than December 31, 2018, each person 

performing screenings on behalf of a screening entity shall 

complete required training and competency assessments. A 

score of at least 80% on each module shall constitute 

satisfactory competency assessment results. The most current 

competency assessment results shall be kept in the screening 

entity's personnel records for each person performing 

screenings for the screening entity. Such documentation 

results shall be provided to DMAS upon its request.  

1. All persons performing screenings shall complete the 

DMAS-approved training and pass the corresponding 

competency assessment with a score of at least 80% for 

each module of the training prior to performing screenings. 

This training shall be repeated no less than every three 

years resulting in a score of at least 80% on each module. 

2. Failure to satisfy the training and competency 

assessment requirements may result in the retraction of 

Medicaid payment.  

12VAC30-60-312. Evaluation to determine eligibility for 

Medicaid payment of nursing facility or home and 

community-based care services. (Repealed.) 

A. The screening team shall not authorize Medicaid-funded 

nursing facility services for any individual who does not meet 

nursing facility criteria. Once the nursing home preadmission 

screening team has determined whether or not an individual 

meets the nursing facility criteria, the screening team must 

determine the most appropriate and cost-effective means of 

meeting the needs of the individual. The screening team must 

document a complete assessment of all the resources 

available for that individual in the community (i.e., the 

immediate family, other relatives, other community resources 

and other services in the continuum of long-term care which 

are less intensive than nursing facility level-of-care services). 

The screening team shall be responsible for preauthorizing 

Medicaid-funded long-term care according to the needs of 

each individual and the support required to meet those needs. 

The screening team shall authorize Medicaid-funded nursing 

facility care for an individual who meets the nursing facility 

criteria only when services in the community are either not a 

feasible alternative or the individual or the individual's 

representative rejects the screening team's plan for 

community services. The screening team must document that 

the option of community-based alternatives has been 

explained, the reason community-based services were not 

chosen, and have this document signed by the client or 

client's primary caregivers.  

B. The screening team shall authorize community-based 

waiver services only for an individual who meets the nursing 

facility criteria and is at risk of nursing home placement 

without waiver services. Waiver services are offered to such 

an individual as an alternative to avoid nursing facility 

admission pursuant to 42 CFR 441.302 (c)(1).  

C. Federal regulations which govern Medicaid-funded home 

and community-based services require that services only be 

offered to individuals who would otherwise require 

institutional placement in the absence of home- and 

community-based services. The determination that an 

individual would otherwise require placement in a nursing 

facility is based upon a finding that the individual's current 

condition and available support are insufficient to enable the 

individual to remain in the home and thus the individual is at 

risk of institutionalization if community-based care is not 

authorized. The determination of the individual's risk of 

nursing facility placement shall be documented either on the 

state-designated pre-admission screening assessment or in a 

separate attachment for every individual authorized to receive 

community-based waiver services. To authorize community-

based waiver services, the screening team must document that 

the individual is at risk of nursing facility placement by 

finding that one of the following conditions is met:  

1. Application for the individual to a nursing facility has 

been made and accepted;  
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2. The individual has been cared for in the home prior to 

the assessment and evidence is available demonstrating a 

deterioration in the individual's health care condition or a 

change in available support preventing former care 

arrangements from meeting the individual's need. 

Examples of such evidence may be, but shall not 

necessarily be limited to:  

a. Recent hospitalizations;  

b. Attending physician documentation; or  

c. Reported findings from medical or social service 

agencies.  

3. There has been no change in condition or available 

support but evidence is available that demonstrates the 

individual's functional, medical and nursing needs are not 

being met. Examples of such evidence may be, but shall 

not necessarily be limited to:  

a. Recent hospitalizations;  

b. Attending physician documentation; or  

c. Reported findings from medical or social service 

agencies.  

12VAC30-60-313. Individuals determined to not meet 

criteria for Medicaid-funded long-term services and 

supports.  

An individual shall be determined not to meet criteria for 

Medicaid-funded LTSS when one of the following specific 

care needs solely describes the individual's condition: 

1. The individual requires minimal assistance with ADLs, 

including those individuals whose only need in all areas of 

functional capacity is for prompting to complete the 

activity;  

2. The individual independently uses mechanical devices 

such as a wheelchair, walker, crutch, or cane;  

3. The individual requires limited diets such as a 

mechanically altered, low-salt, low-residue, diabetic, 

reducing, or other restrictive diets;  

4. The individual requires medications that can be 

independently self-administered or administered by the 

caregiver;  

5. The individual requires protection to prevent him from 

obtaining alcohol or drugs or to address a social or 

environmental problem;  

6. The individual requires minimal staff observation or 

assistance for confusion, memory impairment, or poor 

judgment; or 

7. The individual's primary need is for behavioral 

management that can be provided in a community-based 

setting. 

12VAC30-60-315. Ongoing evaluations for individuals 

receiving Medicaid-funded long-term services and 

supports. 

A. Once an individual is admitted to community-based 

services, the community-based services provider shall be 

responsible for conducting ongoing evaluations to ensure that 

the individual meets, and continues to meet, the waiver 

program or PACE criteria, if appropriate. These ongoing 

evaluations shall be conducted using the Level of Care 

Review tab in the Medicaid portal. 

(https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal). 

B. Once an individual is admitted to a NF, the NF shall be 

responsible for conducting ongoing evaluations to ensure that 

the individual meets, and continues to meet, the NF criteria. 

For this purpose, the NF shall use the federally required 

Minimum Data Set (MDS) form (see 

https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Quality-Initiatives-Patient-

Assessment-Instruments/NursingHomeQualityInits 

/MDS30RAIManual.html). The post-admission evaluation 

shall be conducted no later than 14 days after the date of NF 

admission and promptly after an individual's significant 

change in condition.  

C. For individuals who are enrolled in a MCO that is 

responsible for providing LTSS, the MCO shall conduct 

ongoing evaluations by qualified MCO staff to ensure the 

individual continues to meet criteria for LTSS. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (12VAC30-60)  

Certificate of Medical Necessity -- Durable Medical 

Equipment and Supplies, DMAS 352 (rev. 8/95).  

Request for Hospice Benefits, DMAS 420 (rev. 1/99).  

Screening for Mental Illness, Mental Retardation/Individuals 

with Intellectual Disability, or Related Conditions, DMAS-95 

MI/IDD/RC (rev. 12/2015) 

Medicaid Funded Long-Term Services and Supports 

Authorization Form, DMAS-96 (rev. 12/2015) 

Individual Choice - Institutional Care or Waiver Services 

Form, DMAS-97 (rev. 8/2012) 

Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument  

Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument, DMAS-98 (eff. 

2/2016), including: 

UAI-A; UAI-B; Eligibility Communication Document; 

Screening for Mental Illness, Mental 

Retardation/Intellectual Disability, or Related Conditions; 

MI/MR Supplemental: Level II; Medicaid Funded Long-

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e0e4d004355~2&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e0e4d004355~2&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e0e4d004355~2&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8a9da004355~3&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8a9da004355~3&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42971004355~1&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42971004355~1&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9bff4004355~4&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=48688004355~5&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=48688004355~5&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
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Term Care Service Authorization Form; Individual Choice 

- Institutional Care or Waiver Services Form; and 

Attachment to Public Pay Short Form Assessment 

Community-Based Care Level of Care Review Instrument, 

DMAS-99LOC (undated) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(12VAC30-60)  

Department of Medical Assistance Services Provider 

Manuals 

(https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/

ProviderManuals): 

Virginia Medicaid Nursing Home Manual 

Virginia Medicaid Rehabilitation Manual  

Virginia Medicaid Hospice Manual 

Virginia Medicaid School Division Manual 

Development of Special Criteria for the Purposes of Pre-

Admission Screening, Medicaid Memo, October 3, 2012, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services 

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 

Fourth Edition (DSM-IV-TR), copyright 2000, American 

Psychiatric Association 

Patient Placement Criteria for the Treatment of Substance-

Related Disorders (ASAM PPC-2R), Second Edition, 

copyright 2001, American Society on Addiction Medicine, 

Inc. 

Medicaid Memo, Reissuance of the Pre-Admission 

Screening (PAS) Provider Manual, Chapter IV, November 

22, 2016, Department of Medical Assistance Services 

Medicaid Special Memo, Subject: New Service 

Authorization Requirement for an Independent Clinical 

Assessment for Medicaid and FAMIS Children's Community 

Mental Health Rehabilitative Services, dated June 16, 2011, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services 

Medicaid Special Memo, Subject: Changes to Children 

Community Mental Health Rehabilitative Services - 

Children's Services, July 1, 2010 & September 1, 2010, dated 

July 23, 2010, Department of Medical Assistance Services 

Medicaid Special Memo, Subject: Changes to Community 

Mental Health Rehabilitative Services - Adult-Oriented 

Services, July 1, 2010 & September 1, 2010, dated July 23, 

2010, Department of Medical Assistance Services 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4355; Filed August 7, 2017, 8:01 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-60. Standards Established 

and Methods Used to Assure High Quality Care 

(amending 12VAC30-60-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 4, 2017. 

Effective Date: October 19, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, Policy Division, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 

Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) to administer and amend the Plan for Medical 

Assistance according to the board's requirements. The 

Medicaid authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 

Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority 

for payments for services. 

This change serves to bring accreditation requirements for 

home health accrediting organizations (HHAs) in line with 

the exemptions from state licensure requirements set forth in 

§ 32.1-162.8 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to bring the 

accreditation requirements for HHAs in line with (i) the state 

licensure requirements outlined in § 32.1-162.8 of the Code 

of Virginia and (ii) the list of accreditation organizations for 

Medicare HHAs approved by the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services. Consistency among approved 

accreditation organizations will clarify and streamline 

requirements for providers and DMAS.  

This regulation is essential to protect the health, safety, or 

welfare of citizens in that it provides consistency between the 

regulations and the Code of Virginia with regard to the 

licensure requirements for HHAs. This consistency will help 

ensure that HHAs are appropriately licensed to provide 

services to Medicaid members. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

regulatory change is expected to be noncontroversial in that it 

is not a change in process, but simply updates the regulations 

so that they are in accordance Code of Virginia provisions 

that have been in effect since July 1, 2010. Conversations 

with the Virginia Association for Home Care and Hospice, 

which is the HHA provider association, have yielded support 

for this regulatory change. 

The three main reasons to make this regulatory change are: 

1. Accreditation organizations (e.g. JCAHO and CHAP) 

may change from time to time. New accreditation 

organizations may arise and others may no longer offer 

accreditation for certain providers, programs, or 

facilities. The revised language for 12VAC30-60-70 

allows for that flexibility.  

2. Since many HHAs provide services under Medicare 

and Medicaid, aligning the Virginia Medicaid 

accreditation requirements to the Medicare requirements 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=80a13004355~7&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=80a13004355~7&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/ProviderManuals
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/ProviderManuals
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb624004355~9&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb624004355~9&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb624004355~9&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6647c002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6647c002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6647c002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6647c002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6647c002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28966002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28966002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28966002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28966002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bac9b002790~3&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bac9b002790~3&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bac9b002790~3&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bac9b002790~3&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
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will streamline HHA requirements and ensure 

consistency. The revised language for 12VAC30-60-70 

ensures consistency. 

3. Lastly, the Virginia Department of Health (VDH) 

oversees licensing, and exemptions from licensing, for 

HHAs. Virginia Medicaid can simplify its HHA 

requirements by mirroring the VDH language for 

accreditation requirements in order to qualify for an 

exemption from licensing as found in § 32.1-162.8 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

Section 32.1-162.8 of the Code of Virginia exempts from 

licensure "any home care organization located in the 

Commonwealth that after initial licensure" is "certified 

by the Department of Health under provisions of Title 

XVIII or Title XIX of the Social Security Act; or 

accredited by any organization recognized by the Centers 

for Medicare and Medicaid Services for the purposes of 

Medicare certification; or licensed for hospice services 

under Article 7 (§ 32.1-162.1 et seq.)." The revised 

language for 12VAC30-60-70 provides for simplicity.  

Conversations with the Virginia Association for Home Care 

and Hospice, the HHA provider association, have yielded 

support for this regulatory change, which simply brings 

Virginia Medicaid in line with VDH and Medicare 

requirements and allowances. 

JCAHO and CHAP, which are currently approved 

accreditation organizations under 12VAC30-60-70 B, are also 

approved accreditation organizations by Medicare and would 

not be negatively impacted by this regulatory change. 

Substance: Virginia regulations identify the requirements that 

HHAs must meet to participate as a provider of home health 

services in Virginia Medicaid and establish several licensure 

exemptions for HHAs after initial licensure. The current list 

of exemptions in Virginia regulations includes accreditation 

by the Joint Commission on the Accreditation of Healthcare 

Organizations (JCAHO) or the Community Health 

Accreditation Program (CHAP). This language was 

promulgated in 2005 and incorporated into the Virginia 

Administrative Code, but different language was enacted by 

the legislature and incorporated into the Code of Virginia in 

2010. The Code of Virginia uses broader language that 

establishes an exemption for HHAs accredited by any 

organization recognized by the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services for purposes of Medicare certification. The 

discrepancy between the Virginia Administrative Code and 

Code of Virginia language has not yet been rectified, and this 

regulatory change will bring the Virginia Administrative 

Code into alignment with § 32.1-162.8 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the agency and to the 

public, including Medicaid providers and Medicaid members, 

is the alignment of statutory requirements with Virginia 

regulations so that the licensure requirements for HHAs are 

clear. There are no disadvantages to the agency or the public. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department of Medical Assistance Services proposes to 

update this regulation to comply with Virginia Code Section 

32.1-162.8 relating to exemptions from Home Health Agency 

(HHA) licensing. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. This regulation establishes 

several licensure exemptions for HHAs after initial licensure. 

The current list of exemptions in the regulation includes 

accreditation by the Joint Commission on the Accreditation of 

Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO) and the Community 

Health Accreditation Program (CHAP). This language was 

written into the regulation in 2005, but different language was 

entered into § 32.1-162.8 of the Code of Virginia in 2010. 

The statute exempts "any organization recognized by the 

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services for the purposes 

of Medicare certification."  

The proposed language replaces the specific exemptions for 

JCAHO and CHAP, both of which are recognized by the 

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) for the 

purposes of Medicare certification, with the exact language in 

the statute. The Accreditation Commission for Health Care, 

Inc. (ACHC) is also currently recognized by CMS and is 

exempt under the statute, but is not specifically mentioned in 

the regulation.  

The proposed amendment will align the language with the 

statute. Since all three organizations are currently exempt 

under the statute and will continue to be exempt, no 

significant economic effect is expected other than improving 

the consistency between the regulation and the statute. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

applies to HHAs recognized by CMS and therefore exempt 

from HHA licensure requirements. There are currently three 

organizations recognized by CMS. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed change does 

not affect any locality more than others. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No impact on employment 

is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 

on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
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Costs and Other Effects. All three HHAs are believed to be 

small businesses. The proposed amendment does not impose 

costs on them but may benefit them by improving the 

consistency between the regulation and the statute. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No 

adverse impact on small businesses is expected. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. The agency 

concurs with this analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendment conforms regulatory language to § 32.1-

162.8 of the Code of Virginia by establishing an exemption 

for home health agencies accredited by any organization 

recognized by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services for purposes of Medicare certification. 

12VAC30-60-70. Utilization control: home health services. 

A. Home health services that meet the standards prescribed 

for participation under Title XVIII, will be supplied.  

B. Home health services shall be provided by a home health 

agency that is (i) licensed by the Virginia Department of 

Health (VDH), (ii) certified by the Virginia Department of 

Health under provisions of Title XVIII (Medicare) or Title 

XIX (Medicaid) of the Social Security Act, or (iii) accredited 

either by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of 

Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO) or by the Community 

Health Accreditation Program (CHAP) established by the 

National League of Nursing by any organization recognized 

by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) 

for purposes of Medicare certification. Services shall be 

provided on a part-time or intermittent basis to a recipient in 

any setting in which normal life activities take place. Home 

health services shall not be furnished to individuals residing 

in a hospital, nursing facility, intermediate care facility for 

individuals with intellectual disabilities, or any setting in 

which payment is or could be made under Medicaid for 

inpatient services that include room and board. Home health 

services must be ordered or prescribed by a physician and be 

part of a written plan of care that the physician shall review at 

least every 60 days.  

C. Covered services. Any one of the following services may 

be offered as the sole home health service and shall not be 

contingent upon the provision of another service.  

1. Nursing services;  

2. Home health aide services;  

3. Physical therapy services;  

4. Occupational therapy services; or  

5. Speech-language pathology services.  

D. General conditions. The following general conditions 

apply to skilled nursing, home health aide, physical therapy, 

occupational therapy, and speech-language pathology 

services provided by home health agencies.  

1. The patient must be under the care of a physician who is 

legally authorized to practice and who is acting within the 

scope of his license. The physician may be the patient's 

private physician or a physician on the staff of the home 

health agency or a physician working under an 

arrangement with the institution which is the patient's 

residence or, if the agency is hospital-based, a physician on 

the hospital or agency staff.  

2. No payment shall be made for home health services 

unless a face-to-face encounter has been performed by an 

approved practitioner, as outlined in this subsection, with 

the Medicaid individual within the 90 days before the start 

of the services or within the 30 days after the start of the 

services. The face-to-face encounter shall be related to the 

primary reason the Medicaid individual requires home 

health services. 

a. The face-to-face encounter shall be conducted by one 

of the following approved practitioners: 

(1) A physician licensed to practice medicine; 

(2) A nurse practitioner or clinical nurse specialist within 

the scope of his practice under state law and working in 

collaboration with the physician who orders the Medicaid 

individual's services; 

(3) A certified nurse midwife within the scope of his 

practice under state law; 

(4) A physician assistant within the scope of his practice 

under state law and working under the supervision of the 

physician who orders the Medicaid individual's services; 

or  

(5) For Medicaid individuals admitted to home health 

immediately after an acute or post-acute stay, the 

attending acute or post-acute physician. 

b. The practitioner performing the face-to-face encounter 

shall document the clinical findings of the encounter in 

the Medicaid individual's record and communicate the 

clinical findings of the encounter to the ordering 

physician. 

c. Face-to-face encounters may occur through telehealth, 

which shall not include by phone or email. 

3. When a patient is admitted to home health services a 

start-of-care comprehensive assessment must be completed 

no later than five calendar days after the start of care date.  

4. Services shall be furnished under a written plan of care 

and must be established and periodically reviewed by a 

physician. The requested services or items must be 
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necessary to carry out the plan of care and must be related 

to the patient's condition. The initial plan of care 

(certification) must be reviewed by the attending physician, 

or physician designee. The physician must sign the initial 

certification before the home health agency may bill 

DMAS.  

5. A physician shall review and recertify the plan of care 

every 60 days. A physician recertification shall be 

performed within the last five days of each current 60-day 

certification period, (i.e., between and including days 56-

60). The physician recertification statement must indicate 

the continuing need for services and should estimate how 

long home health services will be needed. The physician 

must sign the recertification before the home health agency 

may bill DMAS.  

6. The physician-orders for therapy services shall include 

the specific procedures and modalities to be used, identify 

the specific discipline to carry out the plan of care, and 

indicate the frequency and duration for services.  

7. A written physician's statement located in the medical 

record must certify that:  

a. The patient needs licensed nursing care, home health 

aide services, physical or occupational therapy, or 

speech-language pathology services;  

b. A plan for furnishing such services to the individual 

has been established and is periodically reviewed by a 

physician; and  

c. These services were furnished while the individual was 

under the care of a physician.  

8. The plan of care shall contain at least the following 

information:  

a. Diagnosis and prognosis;  

b. Functional limitations;  

c. Orders for nursing or other therapeutic services;  

d. Orders for home health aide services, when applicable;  

e. Orders for medications and treatments, when 

applicable;  

f. Orders for special dietary or nutritional needs, when 

applicable; and  

g. Orders for medical tests, when applicable, including 

laboratory tests and x-rays.  

E. Utilization review shall be performed by DMAS to 

determine if services are appropriately provided and to ensure 

that the services provided to Medicaid recipients are 

medically necessary and appropriate. Such post payment 

review audits may be unannounced. Services not specifically 

documented in patients' medical records as having been 

rendered shall be deemed not to have been rendered and no 

reimbursement shall be provided.  

F. All services furnished by a home health agency, whether 

provided directly by the agency or under arrangements with 

others, must be performed by appropriately qualified 

personnel. The following criteria shall apply to the provision 

of home health services:  

1. Nursing services. Nursing services must be provided by 

a registered nurse or by a licensed practical nurse under the 

supervision of a graduate of an approved school of 

professional nursing and who is licensed as a registered 

nurse.  

2. Home health aide services. Home health aides must 

meet the qualifications specified for home health aides by 

42 CFR 484.36. Home health aide services may include 

assisting with personal hygiene, meal preparation and 

feeding, walking, and taking and recording blood pressure, 

pulse, and respiration. Home health aide services must be 

provided under the general supervision of a registered 

nurse. A recipient may not receive duplicative home health 

aide and personal care aide services.  

3. Rehabilitation services. Services shall be specific and 

provide effective treatment for patients' conditions in 

accordance with accepted standards of medical practice. 

The amount, frequency, and duration of the services shall 

be reasonable. Rehabilitative services shall be provided 

with the expectation, based on the assessment made by 

physicians of patients' rehabilitation potential, that the 

condition of patients will improve significantly in a 

reasonable and generally predictable period of time, or 

shall be necessary to the establishment of a safe and 

effective maintenance program required in connection with 

the specific diagnosis.  

a. Physical therapy services shall be directly and 

specifically related to an active written plan of care 

approved by a physician after any needed consultation 

with a physical therapist licensed by the Board of 

Physical Therapy. The services shall be of a level of 

complexity and sophistication, or the condition of the 

patient shall be of a nature that the services can only be 

performed by a physical therapist licensed by the Board 

of Physical Therapy, or a physical therapy assistant who 

is licensed by the Board of Physical Therapy and is under 

the direct supervision of a physical therapist licensed by 

the Board of Physical Therapy. When physical therapy 

services are provided by a qualified physical therapy 

assistant, such services shall be provided under the 

supervision of a qualified physical therapist who makes 

an onsite supervisory visit at least once every 30 days. 

This supervisory visit shall not be reimbursable.  

b. Occupational therapy services shall be directly and 

specifically related to an active written plan of care 

approved by a physician after any needed consultation 

with an occupational therapist registered and licensed by 

the National Board for Certification in Occupational 

Therapy and licensed by the Virginia Board of Medicine. 

The services shall be of a level of complexity and 

sophistication, or the condition of the patient shall be of a 
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nature that the services can only be performed by an 

occupational therapist registered and licensed by the 

National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy 

and licensed by the Virginia Board of Medicine, or an 

occupational therapy assistant who is certified by the 

National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy 

under the direct supervision of an occupational therapist 

as defined in this subdivision. When occupational 

therapy services are provided by a qualified occupational 

therapy assistant, such services shall be provided under 

the supervision of a qualified occupational therapist, as 

defined in this subdivision, who makes an onsite 

supervisory visit at least once every 30 days. This 

supervisory visit shall not be reimbursable.  

c. Speech-language pathology services shall be directly 

and specifically related to an active written plan of care 

approved by a physician after any needed consultation 

with a speech-language pathologist licensed by the 

Virginia Department of Health Professions, Virginia 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology. 

The services shall be of a level of complexity and 

sophistication, or the condition of the patient shall be of a 

nature that the services can only be performed by a 

speech-language pathologist licensed by the Virginia 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology.  

4. A visit shall be defined as the duration of time that a 

nurse, home health aide, or rehabilitation therapist is with a 

client to provide services prescribed by a physician and 

that are covered home health services. Visits shall not be 

defined in measurements or increments of time.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5054; Filed August 7, 2017, 4:07 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-60. Administrative 

Regulation for the Virginia Occupational Safety and 

Health Program (amending 16VAC25-60-10, 16VAC25-

60-20, 16VAC25-60-30, 16VAC25-60-260, 16VAC25-60-

270, 16VAC25-60-280).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 40.1-2.1, 40.1-6, and 40.1-22 of the 

Code of Virginia; Occupational Safety and Health Act of 

1970 (P.L. 91-596). 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be 

scheduled. Contact the agency for details. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 3, 2017. 

Agency Contact: John J. Crisanti, Policy and Planning 

Manager, Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street 

Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-4300, FAX (804) 786-8418, or email 

john.crisanti@doli.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Safety and Health Codes Board is authorized by 

subdivision 5 of § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia to adopt 

regulations to further, protect, and promote the safety and 

health of employees in places of employment over which it 

has jurisdiction and to effect compliance with the federal 

Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 (P.L. 91-596) 

and as may be necessary to carry out its functions established 

under Title 40.1 of the Code of Virginia. In adopting 

regulations to protect the occupational safety and health of 

employees, the board must adopt the standard that most 

adequately assures, to the extent feasible, on the basis of the 

best available evidence, that no employee will suffer material 

impairment of health or functional capacity. However, such 

standards must be at least as stringent as the standards 

promulgated by the federal Occupational Safety and Health 

Act of 1970. In addition to the attainment of the highest 

degree of health and safety protection for the employee, other 

considerations shall be the latest available scientific data in 

the field, the feasibility of the standards, and experiences 

gained under this and other health and safety laws. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amendments is to establish 

procedures for the application of penalties for state and local 

government employers in accordance with § 40.1-2.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. Recent incidents that have resulted in the 

death of government employees, as well as other accident 

situations, have highlighted a need for an additional incentive 

for compliance with safety and health laws and regulations. 

From January 1, 2007, to August 1, 2014, 29 fatalities and 

catastrophes occurred in state and local government 

employment. The deterrent effect of a penalty can reduce this 

number by encouraging compliance and thereby protecting 

the health and safety of state and local government 

employees.  

Substance: This proposed amendment addresses certain issues 

in regard to the Administrative Regulation for the Virginia 

Occupational Safety and Health Program of the VOSH 

program.  

The proposed amendment establishes procedures for the 

application of penalties for state and local government 

employers in accordance with § 40.1-2.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. Chapter 526 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly allows 

the board to authorize the Commissioner of Labor and 

Industry to issue penalties to state and local government 

employers. During the legislative process, the Department of 

Labor and Industry represented to General Assembly 

members that it would pursue authorization from the board to 

allow the issuance of proposed penalties to state and local 

government employers for willful, repeat, and failure-to-abate 

violations, as well as serious violations that cause a fatal 

accident or are classified as "high gravity," that is, a violation 

that is classified as "high severity" and "high 

probability."  An example of a "high gravity" serious 
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violation would be one where a violation directly results in 

nonfatal but serious injuries such as broken bones or 

amputations. Violations that are classified as non-high gravity 

serious and other-than-serious violations would not receive a 

penalty. 

Issues: There is no primary advantage or disadvantage to the 

public.  

The primary advantage to the agency or the Commonwealth: 

If the proposed imposition of penalties has the anticipated 

deterrent effect, proactive steps to develop and implement 

injury and illness prevention programs can have a significant 

positive impact in reducing injury and illness rates and the 

significant associated costs for state and local government 

employers.  Recent incidents that have resulted in the death of 

government employees, as well as other accident situations, 

have highlighted a need for an additional incentive for 

compliance with the safety and health laws and regulations. 

From January 1, 2007, to August 1, 2014, 29 fatalities and 

catastrophes occurred in state and local government 

employment. The deterrent effect of a penalty can reduce this 

number by encouraging compliance. The department 

introduced this legislation in 2007 based on what it viewed at 

the time as a high number of fatalities among government 

employees. Unfortunately, the rate of fatalities and 

catastrophes for state and local employees has increased from 

an average of 2.2 per year before the department introduced 

the legislation to 3.9 per year since then. 

Another primary advantage to the agency is that action by the 

General Assembly during the 2016 Session of the General 

Assembly amended the language in the existing statute to 

allow the issuance of monetary penalties to state and local 

government employers for certain occupational safety and 

health program violations. On March 29, 2016, a statutory 

change approved by the General Assembly was signed by 

Governor McAuliffe with an effective date of July 1, 2016. 

Perhaps, a primary disadvantage to the Commonwealth would 

be that state and local government employers now will be 

issued a penalty for violations of occupational safety and 

health laws in which a worker can be seriously injured or 

killed. 

An average of three willful violations have been issued by the 

Virginia Occupational Safety and Health (VOSH) per year in 

the public sector. Since 2007, there have been 24 willful 

violations, all of which have been issued to local government 

employers. An average of 1.4 repeated violations are issued 

per year to local government and 3.3 to state agencies. 

Approximately 5.0% of the serious violations issued are 

classified as high gravity. VOSH estimates that 15 such 

violations in state and local government would be subject to 

penalty per year. The average penalty issued for high gravity 

serious items is $6,300. 

VOSH estimates there are up to three willful violations per 

year and up to five repeat violations per year. The average 

penalty for a "high gravity" willful violation is $63,000 and 

for a repeat is $12,600. 

VOSH estimates that the total penalties on a per-year basis 

could range from zero to $346,500.
1
 In 2015, the National 

Safety Council reported that the average cost of a medically 

consulted occupational injury in 2013 was $42,000.  

The Washington State Plan, which is tied directly into the 

states' workers' compensation system, conducted a study on 

"The impact of DOSH Enforcement and Consultation Visits 

on Workers' Compensation Claims Rates and costs, 1999-

2008,"
2
 May, 2011. The study reviewed 10 annual studies on 

the topic and found that: 

"…enforcement inspections conducted at fixed worksites 

‘were associated with a 7.4% larger decrease in non-

MSD [musculoskeletal disorder] compensable claims 

rates relative to employers with no DOSH activity. 

DOSH consultation visits were associated with a 24.8% 

larger decrease in non-MSD compensable claims rates 

relative to employers with no DOSH activity" and 

"…enforcement inspections were associated with a 3.1% 

larger decrease in compensable claims rates relative to 

employers with no DOSH activity. DOSH consultation 

visits were associated with an 8.5% larger decrease in 

compensable claims rates relative to employers with no 

DOSH activity." 

Virginia employees will benefit from the identification and 

correction of workplace hazards as a result of cited violations 

and issued penalties, the development and implementation of 

injury and illness prevention programs, and the anticipated 

reduction in injuries and illnesses. No adverse impacts to 

employees are anticipated from the adoption of the proposed 

amendments. 

According to OSHA publication, "Adding Inequality to 

Injury: The Costs of Failing to Protect Workers on the Job," 

the costs of workplace injury and illness are borne primarily 

by injured workers, their families, and taxpayer supported 

safety net programs; workers' compensation payments cover 

only a small fraction (about 21%) of lost wages and medical 

costs of work injuries and illnesses. Workers, their families, 

and private health insurance pay for nearly 63% of these 

costs, with taxpayers shouldering the remaining 16%.
3
 

Adding penalties to citations issued does not significantly 

increase the workload for an individual VOSH Compliance 

Safety and Health Officer. It is only anticipated that 

approximately 21 violations per year will carry a penalty for 

state and local government employers. 

No adverse impacts to employees are anticipated from the 

adoption of the proposed amendments. 

Other than training DOLI employees on the changes to the 

regulation, no additional fiscal or other programmatic impacts 

are anticipated for the department from the adoption of the 

proposed amendments. 
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________________________________________ 
1 § 40.1-49.4 A 4 (a) of the Code of Virginia provides that the calculation of 

penalties shall take into account the size of the business of the employer 

being charged, the gravity of the violation, the good faith of the employer, 
and the history of previous violations. 
2 http://www.Ini.wa.gov/Safety/Research/Files/OccHealth/DoshEnforce 

19992008.pdf 
3 https://www.osha.gov/Publications/inequality_michaels_june2015.pdf 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 526 of the 2016 Acts of the Assembly,
1
 

the Safety and Health Codes Board (Board) proposes to 

amend the Administrative Regulation for the Virginia 

Occupational Safety and Health Program (VOSH program 

regulation) to allow the assessment of monetary penalties 

against public sector employers
2
 for willful, repeat or failure-

to-abate health and safety violations, as well as serious health 

and safety violations that cause a fatality or are classified as 

"high gravity."
3
 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 

ascertain whether benefits will outweigh costs for this 

proposed regulation. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulation, and state law 

before Chapter 526 was passed, allows the Board's VOSH 

program to inspect the workplaces of public sector employers 

and issue notices of health and safety violation to them, but 

does not allow the issuance of monetary penalties to these 

entities. In accordance with Chapter 526, the Board now 

proposes to amend this regulation so that the Commissioner 

of Labor and Industry (Commissioner) may issue civil 

(monetary) penalties for willful, repeat or failure-to-abate 

health and safety violations. The Commissioner may also 

issue civil penalties for serious violations that result in a 

fatality or that are classified as "high gravity" violations. The 

Board also, as required by Chapter 526, proposes to add 

language to this regulation that allows public sector 

employers to contest proposed penalties to the Commissioner. 

The Commissioner can then initiate judicial proceedings if 

agreement on citations or penalties cannot be reached. 

Board staff reports that the maximum penalty for a serious 

violation that results in a fatality or that is classified as "high 

gravity" is currently $7,000 and the maximum penalty for a 

willful, repeat or failure-to-abate violation is currently 

$70,000. A bill was passed in the 2017 General Assembly 

session,
4
 however, that will increase these maximum penalties 

to $12,471 and $124,709 respectively.
5
  Board staff reports 

that they compiled information on public sector employer 

incidences between 2007 and 2014 and found approximately 

20 cases that involved either a fatality or a catastrophe where 

three or more employees were hospitalized or were 

considered willful violations. Of those cases, Board staff 

estimates that 15 involved one or more violations
6
 that would 

have resulted in monetary penalties if these employers had 

been private businesses. Of these cases, one involved a state 

agency and 19 involved a locality; proposed penalties would 

have ranged between approximately $5,250 and $280,000. As 

these possible penalties were calculated under current 

maximum statutory penalty language, proposed penalties for 

cases decided after this proposed regulation goes into effect 

would likely be about 80% higher than these numbers 

(between approximately $9,300 and $498,000). Board staff 

estimates that there may be approximately three willful 

violations and five repeat violations, as well as 15 serious 

violations resulting in a fatality or serious injury, each year 

that would be subject to penalties on account of this proposed 

regulation.  

Board staff reports that these regulatory changes, and the law 

change that allowed them, are being pursued in order to 

induce public sector employers to better comply with rules 

aimed at protecting the health and safety of their employees. 

Monetary penalties issued against private sector employers 

are likely an effective means of focusing those employers on 

safety and reducing the number and severity of violations. 

Such penalties are a cost that lowers total profit for those 

businesses. To the extent that those costs can be avoided (in a 

way that costs less than the penalties would) companies can 

increase their profits by better protecting the safety of their 

employees.  

This profit motive does not exist in the public sector and so 

monetary penalties may not induce public sector employers in 

the same way, or as effectively, as they do private businesses. 

Large state agencies and localities with larger budgets in 

particular would likely be less motivated to change their 

behavior as a result of VOSH program penalties. Monetary 

penalties may be somewhat more effective in focusing 

smaller agencies and localities on safety, because the people 

managing deficient employee areas or projects are more 

likely to be aware of the effects of any additional costs on 

total agency or locality budgets, and because any penalty 

would likely represent a larger part of that total budget. Board 

staff reports, for instance, that even a penalty as relatively 

small as $15,000 would completely eliminate the Department 

of Labor and Industry's annual conference budget for training 

VOSH inspectors. Board staff also reports that all penalties 

would likely be paid out of state general fund or non-general 

fund monies (or local tax revenues) as it is unlikely that the 

federal government would allow federal funds to be used for 

such a purpose even for public programs where there are 

traditionally federal matching funds. To the extent that 

penalties are very large, they may impact the ability of state 

agencies to carry out their other duties and may require 

localities to curtail some services (even ones that may affect 

the health and safety of local citizens). 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulatory 

changes will affect all 133 localities, all state agencies and 

any other independent public sector employers who have 

employees in the Commonwealth. 

http://www.ini.wa.gov/Safety/Research/Files/OccHealth/DoshEnforce19992008.pdf
http://www.ini.wa.gov/Safety/Research/Files/OccHealth/DoshEnforce19992008.pdf
https://www.osha.gov/Publications/inequality_michaels_june2015.pdf
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Localities Particularly Affected. Localities that have a greater 

number of building projects may be particularly affected.  

Projected Impact on Employment. There may be some (likely 

very) small decrease in public sector employment if VOSH 

penalties prove large enough to cause localities to curtail 

some services.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

proposed regulation is unlikely to affect the use or value of 

private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. These proposed regulatory changes 

are unlikely to affect small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect small 

businesses.  

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. These proposed regulatory changes are unlikely 

to affect any private business in the Commonwealth. 

Localities. Localities will be subject to monetary VOSH 

program penalties after this proposed regulation becomes 

effective. 

Other Entities. State agencies, and any other independent 

public sector employers who have employees in the 

Commonwealth, will be subject to monetary VOSH program 

penalties after this proposed regulation becomes effective. 

________________________________ 
1 http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0526  
2 Such employers include Virginia state agencies and Virginia localities as 

well as other independent public sector entities, like the Metropolitan 

Washington Transit Authority and the Metropolitan Washington Airports 
Authority, that conduct work within Virginia's jurisdiction. 
3 High gravity violations are those that result in nonfatal but serious injuries 

like broken bones or amputations. 
4 http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?171+ful+CHAP0263. This 

Chapter also requires, beginning in 2018, the Commissioner to annually 
adjust maximum penalties by the percentage increase of the Consumer Price 

Index for all Urban Consumers. 
5 Penalties will increase on July 1, 2017 for private employers and will be 
instituted at the higher rate for public employers when this proposed 

regulation becomes effective. 
6 The range of the number of violations was one to eight.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Labor and Industry has no additional comment 

in response to the economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) establish procedures for the 

application of penalties for state and local government 

employers in accordance with § 40.1-2.1 of the Code of 

Virginia and (ii) allow Virginia Occupational Safety and 

Health to issue proposed penalties to state and local 

government employers for willful, repeat, and failure-to-

abate violations, as well as serious violations that cause a 

fatal accident or are classified as "high gravity" (i.e., a 

violation that is classified as "high severity" and "high 

probability"). Violations that are classified as nonhigh 

gravity serious, and other-than-serious violations would 

not receive a penalty.  

Part I  

Definitions  

16VAC25-60-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Abatement period" means the period of time defined or set 

out in the citation for correction of a violation.  

"Board" means the Safety and Health Codes Board.  

"Bureau of Labor Statistics" means the Bureau of Labor 

Statistics of the United States U.S. Department of Labor.  

"Citation" means the notice to an employer that the 

commissioner has found a condition or conditions that violate 

Title 40.1 of the Code of Virginia or the standards, rules or 

regulations established by the commissioner or the board.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Labor and 

Industry. Except where the context clearly indicates the 

contrary, any such reference shall include his authorized 

representatives.  

"Commissioner of Labor and Industry" means only the 

individual who is Commissioner of Labor and Industry.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Labor and 

Industry.  

"De minimis violation" means a violation which that has no 

direct or immediate relationship to safety and health.  

"Employee" means an employee of an employer who is 

employed in a business of his employer.  

"Employee representative" means a person specified by 

employees to serve as their representative.  

"Employer" means any person or entity engaged in business 

who has employees but does not include the United States.  

"Establishment" means, for the purpose of record keeping 

recordkeeping requirements, a single physical location where 

business is conducted or where services or industrial 

operations are performed, e.g. for example, factory, mill, 

store, hotel, restaurant, movie theater, farm, ranch, bank, sales 

office, warehouse, or central administrative office. Where 

distinctly separate activities are performed at a single physical 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?161+ful+CHAP0526
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?171+ful+CHAP0263
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location, such as contract activities operated from the same 

physical location as a lumberyard;, each activity is a separate 

establishment. In the public sector, an establishment is either 

(i) a single physical location where a specific governmental 

function is performed; or (ii) that location which is the lowest 

level where attendance or payroll records are kept for a group 

of employees who are in the same specific organizational 

unit, even though the activities are carried on at more than a 

single physical location.  

"Failure to abate" means that the employer has failed to 

correct a cited violation within the period permitted for its 

correction.  

"FOIA" means the Freedom of Information Act.  

"Gravity based penalty" means an unadjusted penalty that is 

calculated based on the severity of the hazard and the 

probability that an injury or illness would result from the 

hazard. 

"High gravity violation" means a violation with a gravity 

based penalty calculated at the statutory maximums contained 

in subsections H, I, and J of § 40.1-49.4 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Imminent danger condition" means any condition or 

practice in any place of employment such that a danger exists 

which could reasonably be expected to cause death or serious 

physical harm immediately or before the imminence of such 

danger can be eliminated through standard enforcement 

procedures provided by Title 40.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"OSHA" means the Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration of the United States U.S. Department of 

Labor.  

"Other violation" means a violation which is not, by itself, a 

serious violation within the meaning of the law but which has 

a direct or immediate relationship to occupational safety or 

health.  

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 

venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 

or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 

agency, or instrumentality thereof.  

"Public employer" means the Commonwealth of Virginia, 

including its agencies, authorities, or instrumentalities or any 

political subdivision or public body.  

"Public employee" means any employee of a public 

employer. Volunteer members of volunteer fire departments, 

pursuant to § 27-42 of the Code of Virginia, members of 

volunteer rescue squads who serve without pay, and other 

volunteers pursuant to the Virginia State Government 

Volunteers Act are not public employees. Prisoners confined 

in jails controlled by any political subdivision of the 

Commonwealth and prisoners in institutions controlled by the 

Department of Corrections are not public employees unless 

employed by a public employer in a work-release program 

pursuant to § 53.1-60 or § 53.1-131 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Public employer" means the Commonwealth of Virginia, 

including its agencies, authorities, or instrumentalities or any 

political subdivision or public body.  

"Recordable occupational injury and illness" means (i) a 

fatality, regardless of the time between the injury and death or 

the length of illness; (ii) a nonfatal case that results in lost 

work days; or (iii) a nonfatal case without lost work days 

which results in transfer to another job or termination of 

employment, which requires medical treatment other than 

first aid, or involves loss of consciousness or restriction of 

work or motion. This category also includes any diagnosed 

occupational illness which is reported to the employer but is 

not otherwise classified as a fatality or lost work day case.  

"Repeated violation" means a violation deemed to exist in a 

place of employment that is substantially similar to a previous 

violation of a law, standard or regulation that was the subject 

of a prior final order against the same employer. A repeated 

violation results from an inadvertent or accidental act, since a 

violation otherwise repeated would be willful.  

"Serious violation" means a violation deemed to exist in a 

place of employment if there is a substantial probability that 

death or serious physical harm could result from a condition 

which exists, or from one or more practices, means, methods, 

operations, or processes which have been adopted or are in 

use, in such place of employment, unless the employer did 

not, and could not with the exercise of reasonable diligence, 

know of the presence of the violation. The term "substantial 

probability" does not refer to the likelihood that illness or 

injury will result from the violative condition but to the 

likelihood that, if illness or injury does occur, death or serious 

physical harm will be the result.  

"Standard" means an occupational safety and health standard 

which requires conditions, or the adoption or use of one or 

more practices, means, methods, operations, or processes, 

reasonably necessary or appropriate to provide safe or 

healthful employment and places of employment.  

"VOSH" means Virginia Occupational Safety and Health.  

"Willful violation" means a violation deemed to exist in a 

place of employment where (i) the employer committed an 

intentional and knowing, as contrasted with inadvertent, 

violation and the employer was conscious that what he was 

doing constituted a violation; or (ii) the employer, even 

though not consciously committing a violation, was aware 

that a hazardous condition existed and made no reasonable 

effort to eliminate the condition.  

"Working days" means Monday through Friday, excluding 

legal holidays, Saturday, and Sunday.  

Part II  

General Provisions  

16VAC25-60-20. Jurisdiction.  

All Virginia statutes, standards, and regulations pertaining to 

occupational safety and health shall apply to every employer, 
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employee, and place of employment in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia except where:  

1. The United States is the employer or exercises exclusive 

jurisdiction;  

2. The federal Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 

does not apply by virtue of § 4(b)(1) of that Act. The 

commissioner shall consider federal OSHA case law in 

determining where jurisdiction over specific working 

conditions has been preempted by the regulations of a 

federal agency; or  

3. The employer is a public employer, as that term is 

defined in this chapter. In such cases, the Virginia laws, 

standards, and regulations governing occupational safety 

and health are applicable as stated, including 16VAC25-

60-10, 16VAC25-60-30, 16VAC25-60-260, 16VAC25-60-

280, 16VAC25-60-290, and 16VAC25-60-300.  

16VAC25-60-30. Applicability to public employers.  

A. All occupational safety and health standards adopted by 

the board shall apply to public employers and their employees 

in the same manner as to private employers.  

B. All sections of this chapter shall apply to public 

employers and their employees. Where specific procedures 

are set out for the public sector, such procedures shall take 

precedence.  

C. The following portions of Title 40.1 of the Code of 

Virginia shall apply to public employers: §§ § 40.1-10,; 

subdivisions A 1 and A 4, except that the reference to 

subsection G in subdivision A 4 does not apply, and 

subsections C, D, H, I, and J of § 40.1-49.4 A(1),; and 

§§ 40.1-49.8, 40.1-51, 40.1-51.1, 40.1-51.2, 40.1-51.2:1, 

40.1-51.3, 40.1-51.3:2, and 40.1-51.4:2.  

D. Section 40.1-51.2:2 A of the Code of Virginia shall apply 

to public employers except that the commissioner shall not 

bring action in circuit court in the event that a voluntary 

agreement cannot be obtained.  

E. Sections 40.1-49.4 Subdivision A 4, except that the 

reference to subsection G in subdivision A 4 does not apply, 

and subsections C, D, F, H, I, and J of § 40.1-49.4 of the 

Code of Virginia and §§ 40.1-49.9, 40.1-49.10, 40.1-49.11, 

40.1-49.12, and 40.1-51.2:2 of the Code of Virginia shall 

apply to public employers other than the Commonwealth and 

its agencies.  

F. If the commissioner determines that an imminent danger 

situation, as defined in § 40.1-49.4 F of the Code of Virginia, 

exists for an employee of the Commonwealth or one of its 

agencies, and if the employer does not abate that imminent 

danger immediately upon request, the Commissioner of Labor 

and Industry shall forthwith petition the governor to direct 

that the imminent danger be abated.  

G. If the commissioner is unable to obtain a voluntary 

agreement to resolve a violation of § 40.1-51.2:1 of the Code 

of Virginia by the Commonwealth or one of its agencies, the 

Commissioner of Labor and Industry shall petition for redress 

in the manner provided in this chapter.  

Part VI  

Citation and Penalty  

16VAC25-60-260. Issuance of citation and proposed 

penalty.  

A. Each citation shall be in writing and describe with 

particularity the nature of the violation or violations, 

including a reference to the appropriate safety or health 

provision of Title 40.1 of the Code of Virginia or the 

appropriate rule, regulation, or standard. In addition, the 

citation must fix a reasonable time for abatement of the 

violation. The commissioner shall have authority to propose 

penalties for cited violations in accordance with § 40.1-49.4 

of the Code of Virginia and this chapter. The citation will 

contain substantially the following: "NOTICE: This citation 

will become a final order of the commissioner unless 

contested within fifteen working days from the date of receipt 

by the employer." The citation may be delivered to the 

employer or his agent by the commissioner or may be sent by 

certified mail or by personal service to an officer or agent of 

the employer or to the registered agent if the employer is a 

corporation.  

1. No citation may be issued after the expiration of six 

months following the occurrence of any alleged violation. 

The six-month time frame timeframe is deemed to be 

tolled on the date the citation is issued by the 

commissioner, without regard for when the citation is 

received by the employer. For purposes of calculating the 

six-month time frame timeframe for citation issuance, the 

following requirements shall apply:  

a. The six-month time frame timeframe begins to run on 

the day after the incident or event occurred or notice was 

received by the commissioner (as specified below) in 

subdivisions 1 b through e of this subsection), in 

accordance with § 1-210 A of the Code of Virginia. The 

word "month" shall be construed to mean one calendar 

month in accordance with § 1-223 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

b. An alleged violation is deemed to have "occurred" on 

the day it was initially created by commission or 

omission on the part of the creating employer, and every 

day thereafter that it remains in existence uncorrected.  

c. Notwithstanding subdivision 1 a of this subsection, if 

an employer fails to notify the commissioner of any 

work-related incident resulting in a fatality or in the in-

patient hospitalization of three or more persons within 

eight hours of such occurrence as required by § 40.1-51.1 

D of the Code of Virginia, the six-month time frame 

timeframe shall not be deemed to commence until the 

commissioner receives actual notice of the incident.  

d. Notwithstanding subdivision 1 a of this subsection, if 

the commissioner is first notified of a work-related 
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incident resulting in an injury or illness to an 

employee(s) employee through receipt of an Employer's 

Accident Report (EAR) form from the Virginia Workers' 

Compensation Commission as provided in § 65.2-900 of 

the Code of Virginia, the six-month time frame 

timeframe shall not be deemed to commence until the 

commissioner actually receives the EAR form.  

e. Notwithstanding subdivision 1 a of this subsection, if 

the commissioner is first notified of a work-related 

hazard, or incident resulting in an injury or illness to an 

employee(s) employee, through receipt of a complaint in 

accordance with 16VAC25-60-100 or referral, the six-

month time frame timeframe shall not be deemed to 

commence until the commissioner actually receives the 

complaint or referral.  

B. A citation issued under subsection A of this section to an 

employer who violates any VOSH law, standard, rule or 

regulation shall be vacated if such employer demonstrates 

that:  

1. Employees of such employer have been provided with 

the proper training and equipment to prevent such a 

violation;  

2. Work rules designed to prevent such a violation have 

been established and adequately communicated to 

employees by such employer and have been effectively 

enforced when such a violation has been discovered;  

3. The failure of employees to observe work rules led to 

the violation; and  

4. Reasonable steps have been taken by such employer to 

discover any such violation.  

C. For the purposes of subsection B of this section only, the 

term "employee" shall not include any officer, management 

official or supervisor having direction, management control 

or custody of any place of employment which was the subject 

of the violative condition cited.  

D. The penalties as set forth in § 40.1-49.4 of the Code of 

Virginia shall also apply to violations relating to the 

requirements for record keeping recordkeeping, reports or 

other documents filed or required to be maintained and to 

posting requirements.  

E. In determining the amount of the proposed penalty for a 

violation the commissioner will ordinarily be guided by the 

system of penalty adjustment set forth in the VOSH Field 

Operations Manual. In any event the commissioner shall 

consider the gravity of the violation, the size of the business, 

the good faith of the employer, and the employer's history of 

previous violations.  

The commissioner shall have authority to propose civil 

penalties to public employers for willful, repeat, and failure-

to-abate violations in accordance with subsections I and J of 

§ 40.1-49.4, and for serious violations that cause death to an 

employee or are classified as high gravity in accordance with 

subsection H of § 40.1-49.4. 

F. On multi-employer worksites for all covered industries, 

citations shall normally be issued to an employer whose 

employee is exposed to an occupational hazard (the exposing 

employer). Additionally, the following employers shall 

normally be cited, whether or not their own employees are 

exposed:  

1. The employer who actually creates the hazard (the 

creating employer);  

2. The employer who is either:  

a. Responsible, by contract or through actual practice, for 

safety and health conditions on the entire worksite, and 

has the authority for ensuring that the hazardous 

condition is corrected (the controlling employer); or  

b. Responsible, by contract or through actual practice, for 

safety and health conditions for a specific area of the 

worksite, or specific work practice, or specific phase of a 

construction project, and has the authority for ensuring 

that the hazardous condition is corrected (the controlling 

employer); or  

3. The employer who has the responsibility for actually 

correcting the hazard (the correcting employer).  

G. A citation issued under subsection F of this section to an 

exposing employer who violates any VOSH law, standard, 

rule or regulation shall be vacated if such employer 

demonstrates that:  

1. The employer did not create the hazard;  

2. The employer did not have the responsibility or the 

authority to have the hazard corrected;  

3. The employer did not have the ability to correct or 

remove the hazard;  

4. The employer can demonstrate that the creating, the 

controlling and/or or the correcting employers, as 

appropriate, have been specifically notified of the hazards 

to which his employees were exposed;  

5. The employer has instructed his employees to recognize 

the hazard and, where necessary, informed them how to 

avoid the dangers associated with it;  

6. Where feasible, an exposing employer must have taken 

appropriate alternative means of protecting employees 

from the hazard; and  

7. When extreme circumstances justify it, the exposing 

employer shall have removed his employees from the job.  

16VAC25-60-270. Contest of citation or proposed penalty; 

general proceedings.  

A. An employer to whom a citation, abatement order, or 

proposed penalty has been issued may contest the citation by 

notifying the commissioner in writing of the contest. The 

notice of contest must be mailed or delivered by hand within 

15 working days from the receipt of the citation or proposed 

penalty. No mistake, inadvertence, or neglect on the part of 

the employer shall serve to extend the 15-working-day period 

in which the employer must contest.  
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B. The notice of contest shall indicate whether the employer 

is contesting the alleged violation, the proposed penalty or the 

abatement time.  

C. Employees may contest abatement orders by notifying 

the commissioner in the same manner as described in 

subsection A of this section. 

C. D. The employer's contest of a citation or proposed 

penalty shall not affect the citation posting requirements of 

16VAC25-60-40 unless and until the court ruling on the 

contest vacates the citation.  

D. E. When the commissioner has received written 

notification of a contest of citation or proposed penalty, he 

will attempt to resolve the matter by settlement, using the 

procedures of 16VAC25-60-330 and 16VAC25-60-340.  

E. F. If the matter is not settled or it is determined that 

settlement does not appear probable, the commissioner will 

initiate judicial proceedings by referring the contested issues to 

the appropriate Commonwealth's Attorney and arranging for the 

filing of a bill of complaint and issuance of a subpoena to the 

employer.  

F. G. A contest of the proposed penalty only shall not stay 

the time for abatement.  

16VAC25-60-280. General contest proceedings applicable 

to the public sector.  

A. The commissioner will not propose penalties for citations 

issued to public employers.  

B. A. Public employers may contest citations or, abatement 

orders, or proposed penalties by notifying the commissioner in 

writing of the contest. The notice of contest must be mailed or 

delivered by hand within 15 working days from receipt of the 

citation or abatement order. No mistake, inadvertence, or neglect 

on the part of the employer shall serve to extend the 15-working-

day period during which the employer may contest.  

C. B. The notice of contest shall indicate whether the public 

employer is contesting the alleged violations, the proposed 

penalty, or the abatement order.  

D. C. Public employees may contest abatement orders by 

notifying the commissioner in the same manner as described at 

subsection B A of this section.  

E. D. The commissioner shall seek to resolve any controversies 

or issues rising from a citation issued to any public employer in 

an informal conference as described in 16VAC25-60-330.  

F. E. The contest by a public employer shall not affect the 

requirements to post the citation as required at 16VAC25-60-40 

unless and until the commissioner's or the court ruling on the 

contest vacates the citation. A contest of a citation may stay the 

time permitted for abatement pursuant to § 40.1-49.4 C of the 

Code of Virginia.  

F. A contest of the proposed penalty only shall not stay the 

time for abatement. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4963; Filed August 7, 2017, 8:48 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-20. Virginia Asbestos 

Licensing Regulations (amending 18VAC15-20-10, 

18VAC15-20-20, 18VAC15-20-33, 18VAC15-20-52, 

18VAC15-20-53, 18VAC15-20-454, 18VAC15-20-456, 

18VAC15-20-459.4; adding 18VAC15-20-33.1, 18VAC15-

20-33.2, 18VAC15-20-456.1).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

September 27, 2017 - 10 a.m. - Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 200, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: November 3, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email 

alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-201 A 5 of the Code of Virginia 

authorizes the board "...to promulgate regulations in 

accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 

et seq.) necessary to assure continued competency, to prevent 

deceptive or misleading practices by practitioners and to 

effectively administer the regulatory system administered by 

the regulatory board." 

Section 54.1-501 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

authority for the board to promulgate regulations governing 

(i) the licensing of and establishment of performance criteria 

for asbestos contractors and asbestos analytical laboratories 

and (ii) the functions and duties of project monitors on 

asbestos projects. The content of the regulations is pursuant to 

the board discretion, but shall not be in conflict with the 

purposes of the statutory authority. 

Purpose: The proposed amendments are designed to (i) clarify 

existing regulatory requirements, particularly for firms 

operating as asbestos contractors and asbestos analytical 

laboratories; and (ii) enhance protection of the public's health, 

safety, and welfare by ensuring analytical laboratories and 

project monitors demonstrate minimum competency and 

adequate transparency. 

The board considered the need to amend existing asbestos 

analytical laboratory licensing requirements after receiving 

inquiries from laboratory applicants regarding the necessity to 

obtain a separate license for each location. Upon reviewing 

§ 54.1-503 B of the Code of Virginia, it is clear that licensure 

of analytical laboratories applies to a "person," defined in 
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§ 54.1-500 as "a corporation, partnership, sole proprietorship, 

firm, enterprise, franchise, association or any other individual 

or entity." The current regulatory requirement for each 

location of a laboratory (entity) to obtain a separate license 

does not align with the statutory provisions, causing 

confusion for asbestos analytical laboratories with branch 

offices in various sites, because all printed licenses bear the 

same name and address information as the main firm. 

The board reviewed licensing models utilized by other 

regulatory boards in developing the proposed requirements 

for laboratory licensing to include branch office locations. 

The proposed amendments will remove the requirement that 

each laboratory location be separately licensed and, instead, 

require only the main office to be licensed. Each branch 

office location will need to be listed with the board and 

provide documentation of its qualifications to perform 

analysis. The intent of the proposed action is to reduce the 

regulatory burden on analytical laboratories operating in 

multiple locations, while also protecting the public by 

ensuring that each laboratory location is qualified to perform 

asbestos analysis. 

Project monitors who analyze air samples on site are already 

required to be employed by a licensed analytical laboratory. 

However, currently there is no related provision that final 

clearance reports prepared for clients include the laboratory 

results on the employing laboratory's letterhead. The 

proposed amendments will put in place such a requirement so 

as to provide greater transparency and protection to the 

public. 

During review of the current regulations, the board identified 

areas pertaining to entry requirements that were ambiguous, 

needlessly complicated, and sometimes unnecessary. The 

proposed action makes amendments to ensure the regulations 

are clearly written, consistent, and easily understandable by 

applicants, licensees, and the public. 

Substance: Proposed substantive changes to existing sections: 

1. 18VAC15-20-10. Revise scope section to reflect that 

persons (e.g., firms) are subject to licensure and that 

asbestos analytical laboratories with more than one 

location only need to obtain a license for the main office 

location. Branch offices of these laboratories will need to 

be listed with the board.  

2. 18VAC15-20-20. Add definitions for "responsible 

individual" (the designated point-of-contact for a 

licensed firm's regulatory compliance) as well as terms 

referring to various accrediting agencies in the field of 

asbestos testing or analysis. 

3. 18VAC15-20-33. Rewrite entry qualifications section 

pertaining to all asbestos contractors and asbestos 

analytical laboratories. General qualifications for firms 

include requirements for applicant to disclose adverse 

criminal and disciplinary history, as well as information 

related to substantial identity of interest (i.e., same 

controlling principals or owners) with revoked licensees. 

Qualifications specific to contractors and laboratories are 

proposed in 18VAC15-20-33.1 and 18VAC15-20-33.2. 

4. 18VAC15-20-52 and 18VAC15-20-53. Revised fee 

sections to add application and renewal fees for asbestos 

analytical laboratory branch offices. 

5. 18VAC15-20-454. Revise section prohibiting transfer 

of asbestos contractor license to specify that licenses are 

issued to firms; any change to the firm's business entity 

type (e.g., conversion from corporation to a limited 

liability company) renders the license void, and the 

successor entity must obtain its own license. 

6. 18VAC15-20-456. Revise asbestos project monitor 

responsibilities section to add requirement for air sample 

reports that are part of final clearance reports to be (i) on 

the letterhead of the employing asbestos analytical 

laboratory and (ii) signed by project monitor. Also 

removes language pertaining to performance of on-site 

analysis, which will be addressed in a new section 

(18VAC15-20-456.1). 

7. 18VAC15-20-459.4. Rewrite laboratory status change 

section to require reporting of (i) any change to the 

laboratory's responsible individual, rather than 

supervisors or signing officers; (ii) loss of accreditation 

by an employed analyst or project monitor; and (iii) any 

change in types of analysis performed by branch offices. 

Also adds language equivalent to proposed amendments 

to 18VAC15-20-454 regarding restrictions on license 

transfers, applicable to asbestos analytical laboratories. 

Proposed new sections: 

1. 18VAC15-20-33.1 and 18VAC15-20-33.2 pertain to 

specific entry requirements for asbestos contractors and 

asbestos analytical laboratories, respectively. For 

asbestos analytical laboratories, the board proposes to 

require that (i) laboratories designate a "responsible 

individual" at each location for regulatory compliance 

and (ii) each branch office demonstrate minimum 

competency to perform the types of asbestos testing or 

analysis to be undertaken at that location. 

2. 18VAC15-20-456.1 outlines professional 

responsibilities of project monitors who perform onsite 

analysis that previously appeared in 18VAC15-20-456. 

The proposed action also adds language regarding 

training and accreditation requirements for project 

monitors performing onsite analysis. 

Issues: Asbestos is a known human carcinogen that can cause 

chronic lung disease, as well as lung and other cancers. There 

is no "safe" level of asbestos exposure. Any type of asbestos 

fiber can cause injury and may contribute to the risk of 

getting an asbestos-related disease. The board's regulatory 

program is designed to help protect the public, as well as the 

regulated community, from the risk of asbestos. 

With regard to the board's proposed action, the primary 

advantage to the public is that the revisions will improve the 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 1 Virginia Register of Regulations September 4, 2017 

113 

clarity of the regulations, conform to current board practices 

and legal requirements, and better align with industry 

standards of practice, all to better protect the health, safety, 

and welfare of citizens of the Commonwealth. The proposed 

amendments benefit the regulated community by ensuring the 

regulations are clearly written, consistent, and easily 

understandable. The action offers the least burdensome 

compliance option available to applicants and licensees while 

providing much needed protection to citizens, striking the 

appropriate balance that should be attained when looking at 

regulations. No disadvantages to the public have been 

identified at this time. 

The primary advantage to the Commonwealth is that the 

revisions reflect the importance Virginia places on ensuring 

regulations are the least burdensome but also provide 

protection to the citizens of the Commonwealth. There are no 

disadvantages posed by these proposed regulations to the 

board, the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation, or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors (Board) 

proposes to amend its regulation that governs asbestos 

licensure. Specifically, the Board proposes to add and amend 

several definitions as well as clarify the entry requirements 

and information needed to be licensed for firms seeking 

asbestos licensure. The Board also proposes to restructure the 

rules for asbestos analytical labs and lower the licensure fees 

for labs with more than one physical site.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits outweigh costs for all proposed 

changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Most of the regulatory changes 

proposed by the Board do not change any substantive 

requirement or duty for any entity but, instead, are aimed at 

making the regulatory text easier to read and understand. 

Changes to the definitions in the regulation as well as 

language that clarifies, for instance, that firm licenses are 

nontransferable fall into this category of change. No affected 

entity is likely to incur costs on account of changes such as 

these. To the extent that the current regulation contains 

outdated definitions, or might be otherwise confusing or 

opaque, these changes will benefit readers by making the 

regulation more easily understood. 

In addition to these clarifying changes, the Board proposes 

several substantive changes to this regulation's requirements 

for asbestos analytical labs. Currently, laboratories with more 

than one physical location must license each location 

individually, pay the same fee for each location's licensure 

and provide the Board with duplicative information for that 

licensure. The Board now proposes to allow laboratories to 

license their main lab and then license other physical 

locations as branch offices.  

The Board also proposes to institute new, lower fees for 

branch office licensure. Currently, the fee for each laboratory 

licensed (whether or not they are branch offices) is $120. The 

renewal fee is $75, and the fee for late renewal is $110. The 

Board proposes to institute fees for branch office licensure 

that are $100, $55, and $90, respectively. Laboratories with 

more than one physical location will see savings of $20 per 

fee per branch office on account of these proposed fee 

changes. These laboratories will also see other savings on 

account of the proposed changes to the licensure process that 

eliminate the need to provide the same information and 

paperwork multiple times. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that, as 

of May 1, 2017, the Board has licensed 186 asbestos 

contractors, 313 asbestos project managers, and 89 asbestos 

analytical labs. All of these entities, as well as any entities 

that may seek licensure in the future, will be affected by these 

proposed regulatory changes. Board staff reports that most of 

these entities would be considered small businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes.  

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No small businesses will be 

adversely affected by these proposed regulatory changes. 

These proposed changes will decrease fees for asbestos 

analytical labs with more than one physical location. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 

businesses will be adversely affected by these proposed 

regulatory changes.  

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. No businesses will be adversely affected by these 

proposed regulatory changes. 

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 

see any adverse impacts on account of these proposed 

regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely 

affected by these proposed changes. 
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Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) clarify requirements for 

entities required to obtain a license for asbestos-related 

work by amending the definition of "person," the licensure 

requirements for asbestos analytical laboratories with 

multiple locations, the asbestos firm entry requirements for 

consistency with other similar regulations applicable to 

firms, and the information applicants need to be licensed; 

(ii) specify that firm licenses may not be transferred and 

are valid only so long as the business entity holding the 

license is in existence and when asbestos analytical 

laboratories must notify the board of changes to 

responsible personnel and types of analysis performed at 

laboratory locations; (iii) expand the responsibilities of 

asbestos project monitors to include changes to air sample 

reporting requirements; and (iv) add language (a) 

detailing specific entry requirements for asbestos 

contractors and asbestos analytical laboratories, 

respectively, and (b) pertaining to conduct during onsite 

analysis.  

Part I  

Scope  

18VAC15-20-10. Scope.  

The purpose of this section is to identify individuals and 

firms persons, as defined in 18VAC15-20-20, who need to be 

licensed.  

Asbestos Contractor's License: Required for firms that 

contract with another person, for compensation, to carry 

out an asbestos abatement project that exceeds 10 linear or 

10 square feet.  

Asbestos Worker's License: Required for individuals who 

remove or otherwise engage in an asbestos project.*  

Asbestos Supervisor's License: Required for individuals 

who supervise an asbestos abatement project. The 

Commonwealth of Virginia National Emission Standards 

for Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAP) Program 

recognizes the "competent person" as an individual 

licensed under this classification.*  

Asbestos Inspector's License: Required for individuals who 

inspect buildings to identify asbestos-containing material.*  

Asbestos Management Planner's License: Required for 

individuals who prepare or update an asbestos management 

plan.*  

Asbestos Project Monitor's License: Required for 

individuals who act as a project monitor on asbestos 

abatement sites. Project monitors who analyze Phase 

Contrast Microscopy (PCM) asbestos air samples on an 

asbestos abatement project shall be employed by a firm 

that holds a valid Virginia Asbestos Analytical Laboratory 

license, and shall have National Institute of Occupational 

Safety and Health (NIOSH) 582 training, or equivalent.  

Asbestos Analytical Laboratory License: Required for 

firms serving as laboratories that analyze air or bulk 

samples for the presence of asbestos by Polarized Light 

Microscopy polarized light microscopy (PLM), phase 

contrast microscopy (PCM), or Transmission Electron 

Microscopy transmission electron microscopy (TEM). A 

laboratory that has multiple locations shall obtain an 

asbestos analytical laboratory license for the main office, 

and submit the remaining offices as branch offices in 

accordance with this chapter.  

Asbestos Project Designer's License: Required for 

individuals who prepare or update an asbestos abatement 

project design, specifications for asbestos abatement 

projects, and addenda to the specifications.*  

Accredited Asbestos Training Program: Required 

Approval from the board is required for those who offer 

asbestos training programs to individuals seeking licensure 

as an asbestos worker, supervisor, inspector, management 

planner, project monitor or project designer.  

*Employees who conduct asbestos response actions, 

inspections, prepare management plans or project designs 

for their employer, on property owned or leased by the 

employer, are exempt from Virginia asbestos licensure; 

however, they are required to meet all OSHA and EPA 

training requirements.  

Part II  

Definitions and General  

18VAC15-20-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"AAR" means the Asbestos Analyst Analysts Registry 

program offered by the AIHA Registry Programs.  

"AAT" means Asbestos Analyst Testing.  

"Accredited asbestos training program" means a training 

program that has been approved by the board to provide 

training for individuals to engage in asbestos abatement, 

conduct asbestos inspections, prepare management plans, 

prepare project designs or act as a project monitor.  

"Accredited asbestos training provider" means a firm or 

individual who has been approved by the board to offer an 

accredited asbestos training program.  

"ACM" means asbestos-containing material.  

"AHERA" means Asbestos Hazard Emergency Response 

Act, 40 CFR Part 763, Subpart E.  

"AIHA" means American Industrial Hygiene Association.  

"Approval letter" means a written notice confirming the firm 

or individual applicant's licensure or accreditation by the 

board.  
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"Asbestos" means the asbestiform varieties of actinolite, 

amosite, anthophyllite, chrysotile, crocidolite, and tremolite.  

"Asbestos Analytical Laboratory License" means an 

authorization issued by the board to perform phase contrast, 

polarized light, or transmission electron microscopy on 

material known or suspected to contain asbestos.  

"Asbestos-containing material" or "ACM" means any 

material or product which contains more than 1.0% asbestos 

or such percentage as established by EPA final rule.  

"Asbestos contractor" means any person who has met the 

board's requirements and has been issued an asbestos 

contractor's license by the board to enter into contracts to 

perform asbestos projects.  

"Asbestos Contractor's License" means an authorization 

issued by the board permitting a person to enter into contracts 

to perform an asbestos abatement project.  

"Asbestos inspector" means any person who performs an 

inspection as defined in this chapter.  

"Asbestos Inspector's License" means an authorization 

issued by the board permitting a person to perform on-site 

onsite investigations to identify, classify, record, sample, test 

and prioritize by exposure potential asbestos-containing 

materials.  

"Asbestos Management Plan" means a program designed to 

control or abate any potential risk to human health from 

asbestos.  

"Asbestos management planner" means any person 

preparing or updating a management plan.  

"Asbestos Management Planner's License" means an 

authorization issued by the board permitting a person to 

prepare or update an asbestos management plan.  

"Asbestos project" or "asbestos abatement project" means an 

activity involving job set-up for containment, removal, 

encapsulation, enclosure, encasement, renovation, repair, 

construction or alteration of asbestos-containing materials. An 

asbestos project or asbestos abatement project shall not 

include nonfriable asbestos-containing roofing, flooring and 

siding material which when installed, encapsulated or 

removed does not become friable.  

"Asbestos project design" means any descriptive form 

written as instructions or drafted as a plan describing the 

construction of an asbestos abatement area or site, response 

action or work practices to be utilized on the asbestos 

abatement project.  

"Asbestos project designer" means any person providing an 

asbestos project design or specifications for an asbestos 

abatement project.  

"Asbestos Project Designer's License" means an 

authorization issued by the board permitting a person to 

design an asbestos abatement project.  

"Asbestos project monitor" means any person hired by a 

building owner, lessee or his agent to monitor, inspect, 

provide visual clearance or clearance monitoring of an 

asbestos abatement project.  

"Asbestos Project Monitor's License" means an 

authorization issued by the board permitting a person to 

monitor an asbestos project, subject to board regulations.  

"Asbestos supervisor" means any person so designated by an 

asbestos contractor who provides on-site onsite supervision 

and direction to the workers engaged in asbestos projects.  

"Asbestos Supervisor's License" means an authorization 

issued by the board permitting an individual to supervise and 

work on an asbestos project.  

"Asbestos worker" means any person who engages in an 

asbestos abatement project.  

"Asbestos Worker's License" means an authorization issued 

by the board permitting an individual to work on an asbestos 

project.  

"ASHARA" means Asbestos School Hazard Abatement 

Reauthorization Act, 40 CFR Part 763, Subpart E.  

"BAPAT" means the Bulk Asbestos Proficiency Analytical 

Testing Program of the AIHA Proficiency Analytical Testing 

Programs. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and 

Home Inspectors.  

"Department" means the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation.  

"Direct supervision" means a licensed or accredited 

inspector, management planner, project monitor or project 

designer, who undertakes to supervise the activities of an 

unlicensed inspector, management planner, project monitor or 

project designer, shall be physically present on the premises 

at all times while any unlicensed inspector, management 

planner, project monitor or project designer under his 

supervision is engaged in the activities of an inspector, 

management planner, project monitor or project designer.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation.  

"Employee" means all persons in the service of another 

under any contract of hire, express or implied, oral or written.  

"Encapsulation" means the treatment of asbestos-containing 

material (ACM) with a material that surrounds or embeds 

asbestos fibers in an adhesive matrix to prevent the release of 

fibers, as the encapsulant creates a membrane over the surface 

(bridging encapsulant) or penetrates the material and binds its 

components together (penetrating encapsulant).  

"Encasement" means any process by which an asbestos-

containing material (ACM) is sprayed with an insulating 

sealer which is then mechanically fastened to the asbestos 

covered substrate. The insulating sealer is then covered with a 

sealer to give structural strength and durability.  

"Enclosure" means the construction or installation over or 

around the asbestos-containing material (ACM) of any leak 

tight solid or flexible coverings, which will not deteriorate or 
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decompose for an extended period of time, so as to conceal 

the ACM, contain ACM fibers, and render the ACM 

inaccessible.  

"Environmental remediation activity" means any activity 

planned or carried out for the purpose of reducing or 

eliminating any environmental hazard, including activities 

necessary to train individuals in the proper or lawful conduct 

of such activities, which are regulated by federal or state law 

or regulation.  

"EPA" means United States U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency.  

"Financial interest" means financial benefit accruing to an 

individual or to a member of his immediate family. Such 

interest shall exist by reason of (i) ownership in a business if 

the ownership exceeds 3.0% of the total equity of the 

business; (ii) annual gross income that exceeds, or may be 

reasonably anticipated to exceed $1,000 from ownership in 

real or personal property or a business; (iii) salary, other 

compensation, fringe benefits, or benefits from the use of 

property, or any combination of it, paid or provided by a 

business that exceeds or may be reasonably expected to 

exceed $1,000 annually; (iv) ownership of real or personal 

property if the interest exceeds $1,000 in value and excluding 

ownership in business, income, salary, other compensation, 

fringe benefits or benefits from the use of property.  

"Firm" means any company, partnership, corporation, sole 

proprietorship, association, or other business entity.  

"Friable" means that the material when dry, may be 

crumbled, pulverized or reduced to powder by hand pressure 

and includes previously nonfriable material after such 

previously nonfriable material becomes damaged to the extent 

that when dry it may be crumbled, pulverized, or reduced to 

powder by hand pressure.  

"Guest instructor" means an instructor who is invited to 

instruct a specific topic or topics in an accredited asbestos 

training program and whose instruction is limited to two 

hours per day.  

"Hands-on experience" means the physical participation of 

students in an asbestos training program. The physical 

participation includes mock sampling and inspection 

techniques, report preparation, writing project specifications, 

glovebag demonstrations and containment construction.  

"IHLAP" means the Industrial Hygiene Laboratory 

Accreditation Program of the AIHA Laboratory Accreditation 

Programs, LLC. 

"IHPAT" means the Industrial Hygiene Proficiency 

Analytical Testing Program of the AIHA Proficiency 

Analytical Testing Programs. 

"Immediate family" means (i) a spouse, (ii) a sibling or step 

sibling, (iii) a parent or step parent, (iv) children or step 

children, or (v) any other person residing in the same 

household as the individual.  

"Inspection" means an activity undertaken to determine the 

presence or location, or to access the condition of, friable or 

nonfriable asbestos-containing material (ACM) or suspected 

ACM, whether by visual or physical examination, or by 

collecting samples of such material. This term includes 

reinspections of friable and nonfriable known or assumed 

ACM that has been previously identified. The term does not 

include the following:  

1. Periodic surveillance of the type described in 40 CFR 

763.92(b) solely for the purpose of recording or reporting a 

change in the condition of known or assumed ACM;  

2. Inspections performed by employees or agents of 

federal, state, or local governments solely for the purpose 

of determining compliance with applicable statutes or 

regulations; or  

3. Visual inspections solely for the purpose of determining 

completion of response actions.  

"Instructor" means a person who instructs one or more 

accredited asbestos training programs, to include the principal 

instructor, but excluding guest instructors.  

"Licensee" means any person, as defined by § 54.1-500 of 

the Code of Virginia, who has been issued and holds a 

currently valid license as an asbestos worker, asbestos 

supervisor, asbestos inspector, asbestos management planner, 

asbestos project designer, asbestos project monitor or 

asbestos contractor under this chapter.  

"NIOSH" means National Institute of Occupational Safety 

and Health.  

"NIST" means National Institute of Standards and 

Technology.  

"NVLAP" means the Asbestos Fiber Analysis Program of 

the National Institute of Standards and Technology National 

Voluntary Laboratory Accreditation Program.  

"Occupied" means any area of any building designed or 

intended for human occupancy for any purpose.  

"OSHA" means the U.S. Department of Labor Occupational 

Safety and Health Administration.  

"OSHA Class III Work" means repair and maintenance 

operations where asbestos-containing material (ACM), 

including thermal system insulation and surfacing material, is 

likely to be disturbed.  

"PAT" means Proficiency Analytical Testing proficiency 

analytical testing.  

"PCM" means phase contrast microscopy.  

"Person" means a corporation, partnership, sole 

proprietorship, firm, enterprise, franchise, association or any 

other firm, individual, or any other entity.  

"PLM" means polarized light microscopy.  

"Preliminary review" means a review conducted by the 

department following the submission of training materials to 
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ascertain if the proposed asbestos training program meets the 

standards established by this chapter.  

"Principal instructor" means an instructor whose main 

responsibility is to instruct accredited asbestos training 

programs, supervise other instructors, and manage the overall 

asbestos training program curriculum.  

"Removal" means the physical removal of asbestos-

containing material (ACM) in accordance with all applicable 

regulations.  

"Renovation" means altering in any way, one or more 

facility components.  

"Repair" means returning damaged asbestos-containing 

material (ACM) to an undamaged condition or to an intact 

state so as to prevent fiber release.  

"Residential buildings" means site-built homes, modular 

homes, condominium units, mobile homes, manufactured 

housing, and duplexes, or other multi-unit dwellings 

consisting of four units or fewer that are currently in use or 

intended for use only for residential purposes.  

"Response action" means any method, including removal, 

encapsulation, enclosure, encasement, or operation and 

maintenance, that protects human health and the environment 

from friable asbestos-containing material. 

"Responsible individual" means the employee, officer, 

manager, owner, or principal of the firm who shall be 

designated by each firm to ensure compliance with Chapter 5 

(§ 54.1-500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and 

all regulations of the board and to receive communications 

and notices from the board that may affect the firm.  In the 

case of a sole proprietorship, the sole proprietor shall be the 

responsible individual.  

"Substantial change" means a change in overall asbestos 

training program, materials, principal instructors, training 

managers, directors, ownership, facilities, equipment, 

examinations, and certificates of completion. The addition of 

updated regulations, exam questions or news articles shall not 

be considered a substantial change.  

"TEM" means transmission electron microscopy.  

"Training manager" means the individual responsible for 

administering a training program and monitoring the 

performance of the instructors.  

"Visual inspection" means a process of looking for 

conditions, which if not corrected during the asbestos 

abatement project, will lead to residual asbestos-containing 

dust or debris. Visual inspection includes examination of an 

asbestos abatement project area prior to clearance air 

monitoring for evidence that the project has been successfully 

completed as indicated by the absence of residue, dust and 

debris.  

18VAC15-20-33. Qualifications General qualifications for 

licensure—business entities licensure: firms.  

A. General. Every business entity shall secure a license 

before transacting business. Each firm applying for a license 

shall meet the requirements of this section. 

B. Name. The business name shall be disclosed on the 

application. The name under which the entity conducts 

business and holds itself out to the public (i.e., the trade or 

fictitious name) shall also be disclosed on the application. 

Business entities The applicant shall disclose the name under 

which the business entity conducts business and holds itself 

out to the public. The firm shall register their trade or 

fictitious names, when applicable, with the State Corporation 

Commission or the clerk of the circuit court in the county or 

jurisdiction locality where the business is to be conducted in 

accordance with §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 Chapter 5 

(§ 59.1-69 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of the Code of Virginia before 

submitting their an application to the board.  

C. Address. The applicant shall disclose the firm's mailing 

address, and the firm's physical address. A post office box is 

only acceptable as a mailing address when a physical address 

is also provided.  

D. Form of organization. Applicants shall meet the 

additional requirements listed below in this subsection for 

their business type the firm's form of organization:  

1. Corporations. All applicants Applicants shall have been 

incorporated in the Commonwealth of Virginia or, if a 

foreign corporation, shall have obtained a certificate of 

authority to conduct business in Virginia from the State 

Corporation Commission in accordance with § 13.1-544.2 

requirements governing corporations pursuant to Title 13.1 

of the Code of Virginia. The corporation Corporations 

shall be in good standing with the State Corporation 

Commission at the time of application to the board and at 

all times when the license is in effect.  

2. Limited liability companies. All applicants Applicants 

shall have obtained a certificate of organization in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia or, if a foreign limited liability 

company, shall have obtained a certificate of registration to 

do business in Virginia from the State Corporation 

Commission in accordance with § 13.1-1105 requirements 

governing limited liability companies pursuant to Title 

13.1 of the Code of Virginia. The company Companies 

shall be in good standing with the State Corporation 

Commission at the time of application to the board and at 

all times when the license is in effect.  

3. Partnerships. All applicants Applicants shall have a 

written partnership agreement. The partnership agreement 

shall state that all professional asbestos abatement services 

of the partnership shall be under the direction and control 

of a licensed or certified professional the appropriate 

asbestos abatement licensee.  
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4. Sole proprietorships. Sole proprietorships desiring to use 

an assumed or fictitious name, that is, a name other than 

the individual's full name, shall have their assumed or 

fictitious name recorded by the clerk of the court of the 

county or jurisdiction wherein the business is to be 

conducted.  

E. Qualifications.  

1. Asbestos contractor. Each applicant shall hold a valid 

Virginia contractor license issued by the Virginia Board for 

Contractors with an asbestos specialty and shall be in 

compliance with all other requirements found in Chapter 

11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia governing the regulation of contractors.  

2. Asbestos analytical laboratory. Each applicant shall 

submit evidence of meeting the standards to perform one 

or more of the following analysis:  

a. For PLM analysis, a current NVLAP accreditation for 

bulk asbestos fiber analysis or a current AIHA 

accreditation and proficiency in the AIHA bulk asbestos 

program. A copy of the NVLAP Certificate of 

Accreditation, Scope of Accreditation and documentation 

of NVLAP proficiency or a copy of an AIHA 

accreditation certificate and proof of proficiency in the 

AIHA bulk program shall be submitted with the 

application.  

b. For PCM analysis:  

(1) At fixed laboratory sites, a current accreditation by 

AIHA or evidence that each facility has been rated 

"proficient" in the PAT Program's most recent round of 

asbestos evaluations, or evidence that each analyst is 

listed or has applied for listing in the Asbestos Analyst 

Registry (AAR) and has a performance rating of 

"acceptable" for the most recent Asbestos Analyst 

Testing (AAT) round. Each analyst shall have completed 

the NIOSH 582 training program or equivalent.  

(2) For on-site analysis, each on-site analyst shall be 

listed or shall have applied for listing in the AAR and 

have a performance rating of "acceptable" for the most 

recent AAT round, or is accredited by AIHA or has been 

rated "proficient" in the PAT Program's most recent 

round of asbestos evaluations. Each analyst shall have 

completed the NIOSH 582 training program or 

equivalent.  

c. For TEM analysis, a current accreditation by NVLAP 

to analyze asbestos airborne fibers using TEM. A copy of 

the NVLAP Certificate of Accreditation, Scope of 

Accreditation and documentation of NVLAP proficiency 

shall be submitted with the application.  

F. Conviction or guilt. Neither E. In accordance with § 54.1-

204 of the Code of Virginia, the applicant shall disclose the 

following information about the firm nor the and its owners, 

officers or, managers, members, and directors shall have been 

convicted or found guilty, regardless of adjudication, in any 

jurisdiction of any felony or of any misdemeanor involving 

lying, cheating or stealing or of any violation while engaged 

in environmental remediation activity that resulted in the 

significant harm or the imminent and substantial threat of 

significant harm to human health or the environment, there 

being no appeal pending therefrom or the time of appeal 

having lapsed. Any plea of nolo contendre shall be considered 

a conviction for the purposes of this section. A certified copy 

of the final order, decree or case decision by a court or 

regulatory agency with lawful authority to issue such order, 

decree or case decision shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such conviction or discipline. The board, at its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in accordance 

with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, as applicable:  

1. All felony convictions; 

2. All misdemeanor convictions involving lying, cheating, 

or stealing; and 

3. Any conviction resulting from engaging in 

environmental remediation activity that resulted in the 

significant harm or the imminent and substantial threat of 

significant harm to human health or the environment. 

Any plea of nolo contendre or finding of guilt, regardless of 

adjudication or deferred adjudication, shall be considered a 

conviction for the purposes of this section. The board, at its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in accordance 

with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. The applicant has 

the right to request further review of any such action by the 

board under the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

G. Standards of practice and conduct. Applicants shall be in 

compliance with the standards of practice and conduct set 

forth 18VAC15-20-400 through 18VAC15-20-454 and 

18VAC15-20-459.2 through 18VAC15-20-459.5 at the time 

of application to the board, while the application is under 

review by the board, and at all times when the license is in 

effect.  

H. Standing. Both the firm and the owners, officers and 

directors shall be in good standing in every jurisdiction where 

licensed and the applicant shall not have had a license that 

was suspended, revoked or surrendered in connection with 

any disciplinary action in any jurisdiction prior to applying 

for licensure in Virginia. F. The applicant shall report (i) the 

suspension, revocation, or surrender of a license, certification, 

or registration in connection with a disciplinary action by any 

jurisdiction and (ii) whether the firm, owners, officers, 

managers, members, or directors have been the subject of 

discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure 

and while the application is under review by the board. The 

board, at its discretion, may deny licensure to an applicant 

based on disciplinary action by any jurisdiction. 

I. Denial of license. The board may refuse to issue a license 

to any asbestos contractor or asbestos analytical laboratory 

applicant if the applicant or its owners, officers or directors 

have a financial interest in an asbestos contractor whose 
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asbestos license has been revoked, suspended, or denied 

renewal in any jurisdiction.  

G. The board may deny the application of an applicant who 

is shown to have a substantial identity of interest with a 

person whose license or certificate has been revoked or not 

renewed by the board. A substantial identity of interest 

includes (i) a controlling financial interest by the individual or 

corporate principals of the person whose license or certificate 

has been revoked or has not been renewed or (ii) substantially 

identical owners, officers, managers, members, or directors, 

as applicable. 

H. An applicant shall not knowingly make a materially false 

statement, submit falsified documents, or fail to disclose a 

material fact requested in connection with an application 

submitted to the board.  

18VAC15-20-33.1. Qualifications for asbestos contractor 

license. 

In addition to the requirements of 18VAC15-20-33, each 

applicant for an asbestos contractor license shall hold a valid 

Virginia contractor license issued by the Virginia Board for 

Contractors with an asbestos contracting specialty and shall 

be in compliance with all other requirements found in Chapter 

11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia 

governing the regulation of contractors. 

18VAC15-20-33.2. Qualifications for asbestos analytical 

laboratory license. 

A. In addition to the requirements of 18VAC15-20-33, each 

applicant for an asbestos analytical laboratory license shall 

submit evidence of meeting the standards to perform one or 

more of PLM, PCM, or TEM analysis. 

1. For PLM analysis, one of the following: 

a. Current NVLAP accreditation demonstrated by 

submittal of a copy of the Certificate of Accreditation, 

Scope of Accreditation, and documentation of 

proficiency with the application; 

b. The asbestos analytical laboratory is rated "proficient" 

in the BAPAT Program and maintains the training and 

quality control document such as is necessary to 

demonstrate competency in performing analysis; or  

c. The asbestos analytical laboratory is accredited under 

the IHLAP and maintains the training and quality control 

documentation such as is necessary to demonstrate 

competency. 

2. For PCM analysis, each analyst shall have completed the 

NIOSH 582 or NIOSH 582 Equivalency course. In 

addition, at least one of the following must be satisfied: 

a. At fixed laboratory sites, one of the following 

qualifications must be met: 

(1) The asbestos analytical laboratory is accredited under 

the IHLAP and maintains the training and quality control 

documentation such as is necessary to demonstrate 

competency; 

(2) The asbestos analytical laboratory is rated 

"proficient" in the IHPAT Program and maintains the 

training and quality control document such as is 

necessary to demonstrate competency in performing 

analysis; or 

(3) Each analyst is listed in the AAR and has a 

performance rating of "acceptable" for the most recent 

AAT round. 

b. For onsite analysis, one of the following qualifications 

must be met: 

(1) The asbestos analytical laboratory is rated 

"proficient" in the IHPAT Program and maintains the 

training and quality control document such as is 

necessary to demonstrate competency in performing 

onsite analysis; 

(2) The asbestos analytical laboratory is accredited under 

the IHLAP and maintains compliance with the 

requirements of its accreditation, as well as the training 

and quality control document such as is necessary to 

demonstrate competency in performing analysis; or 

(3) Each analyst is listed in the AAR and has a 

performance rating of "acceptable" for the most recent 

AAT round. 

3. For TEM analysis, a current accreditation by NVLAP to 

analyze asbestos airborne fibers using TEM. A copy of the 

NVLAP Certificate of Accreditation, Scope of 

Accreditation, and documentation of NVLAP proficiency 

shall be submitted with the application. 

B. The applicant shall name a responsible individual for the 

asbestos analytical laboratory. 

C. Any branch office of an asbestos analytical laboratory 

shall complete a branch office application from the board. 

Each branch office shall name a resident responsible 

individual at each branch office. 

D. The branch office application shall provide the 

information contained in subsection A of this section for the 

applicable branch office. 

E. Any of the training and quality control documentation 

required to be maintained pursuant to this section shall be 

provided to the board upon request. 

18VAC15-20-52. Application fees.  

Application fees are set out in this section.  

Fee Type 
Fee 

Amount 
When Due 

Application for 

worker, supervisor, 

inspector, 

management planner, 

project designer or 

project monitor 

license 

$80 With 

application 
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Application for 

asbestos analytical 

laboratory license 

$120 With 

application 

Application for 

asbestos analytical 

laboratory branch 

office 

$100 With 

application 

Application for an 

asbestos contractor 

license 

$110 With 

application 

Application for 

accredited asbestos 

training program 

approval 

$500 per 

day of 

training 

With 

application 

18VAC15-20-53. Renewal and late renewal fees.  

Renewal and late renewal fees are set out in this section.  

Fee Type 
Fee 

Amount 
When Due 

Renewal for worker, 

supervisor, inspector, 

management planner, 

project designer or project 

monitor license 

$45 With renewal 

application 

Renewal for asbestos 

analytical laboratory 

license 

$75 With renewal 

application 

Renewal for asbestos 

analytical laboratory 

branch office 

$55 With renewal 

application 

Renewal for asbestos 

contractor's license 

$70 With renewal 

application 

Renewal for accredited 

asbestos training program 

approval 

$125 With renewal 

application 

Late renewal for worker, 

supervisor, inspector, 

management planner, 

project designer or project 

monitor license (includes 

a $35 late renewal fee in 

addition to the regular 

$45 renewal fee) 

$80 With renewal 

application 

Late renewal for asbestos 

analytical laboratory 

license (includes a $35 

late renewal fee in 

addition to the regular 

$75 renewal fee) 

$110 With renewal 

application 

Late renewal for asbestos 

analytical laboratory 

branch office (includes a 

$35 late renewal fee in 

addition to the regular 

$45 renewal fee) 

$90 With renewal 

application 

Late renewal for asbestos 

contractor's license 

(includes a $35 late 

renewal fee in addition to 

the regular $70 renewal 

fee) 

$105 With renewal 

application 

Late renewal for 

accredited asbestos 

training program approval 

(includes a $35 late 

renewal fee in addition to 

the regular $125 renewal 

fee) 

$160 With renewal 

application 

18VAC15-20-454. Transfer of asbestos contractor license.  

The transfer of an asbestos contractor license is prohibited.  

Asbestos contractor licenses are issued to firms as defined in 

this chapter and are not transferable.  Whenever the legal firm 

holding the license is dissolved or altered to form a new firm, 

the original license becomes void and shall be returned to the 

board within 30 days of the change.  Additionally, the new 

firm shall apply for a new license, on a form provided by the 

board, within 30 days of the change in the firm.  Such 

changes include: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited 

partnership;  

3. Termination or cancellation of a corporation or limited 

liability company; and 

4. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 

limited liability company, or an association or any other 

firm recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia.  

18VAC15-20-456. Responsibilities.  

A. Asbestos project monitors shall conduct inspections of 

the contractor's work practices and inspections of the 

containment.  

B. Asbestos project monitors shall be present on the job site 

each day response actions are being conducted or in 

accordance with the owner-approved contractual agreement 

with the project monitor, shall perform the duties and 

functions established in 18VAC15-20-455, and shall maintain 

a daily log of all work performed. The daily log shall include, 

but not be limited to, inspection reports, air sampling data, 
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type of work performed by the contractor, problems 

encountered and corrective action taken.  

C. Asbestos project monitors shall take final air samples on 

all abatement projects, except for abatement projects in 

residential buildings.  

D. Project monitors who analyze PCM air samples on site 

shall be employed by a licensed analytical laboratory and 

shall be listed or have applied for listing in the AAR and rated 

"acceptable" or is accredited by AIHA or has been rated 

"proficient" in the PAT Program's most recent round of 

asbestos evaluations. The asbestos project monitor shall 

include, prior to reoccupancy, the air sample report on the 

employing asbestos analytical laboratory's letterhead in the 

final clearance report. Such report shall include the licensed 

asbestos project monitor's signature.  

18VAC15-20-456.1. Onsite analysis by project monitors. 

Project monitors who analyze PCM air samples on site shall 

(i) be employed by a licensed asbestos analytical laboratory, 

(ii) have completed the NIOSH 582 or NIOSH 582 

Equivalency Course, and (iii) satisfy one of the following: 

1. The project monitor is listed in the AAR and rated 

"acceptable" for the most recent AAT round; 

2. The licensed asbestos analytical laboratory employing 

the project monitor is rated as "proficient" in the IHPAT 

Program and maintains training and quality control 

documentation necessary to demonstrate competency in 

performing onsite analysis; or 

3. The licensed asbestos analytical laboratory employing 

the project monitor is accredited under the IHLAP, remains 

in compliance with accreditation requirements, and 

maintains training and quality control documentation 

necessary to demonstrate competency in performing onsite 

analysis. 

18VAC15-20-459.4. Change of status.  

A. The licensee shall notify the department immediately 

within 10 days of any addition or deletion regarding 

employment of trained and experienced supervisors, and any 

changes regarding the signing officer's relationship with the 

company changes to the resident responsible individual for 

each laboratory location.  

B. The licensee shall notify the board within 10 business 

days upon the loss of accreditation or proficiency rating by 

NVLAP or AIHA, IHLAP, or IHPAT by any laboratory 

location. The asbestos analytical laboratory shall notify the 

board if an employed analyst or project monitor performing 

asbestos laboratory analysis is removed from the AAR.  

C. The licensee shall notify the board, in writing, if the type 

of analysis to be performed it will undertake is different from 

the type of analysis in for which the initial license was issued. 

The licensee shall submit a new application or branch office 

application, as applicable, reflecting the changes and submit 

evidence of meeting the qualifications required by this 

chapter to perform the analysis. The above information shall 

be submitted to the board prior to performing the analysis. 

The licensee must receive approval from the board prior to 

performing the analysis. No additional fees are required to 

upgrade amend the type of analysis performed by the 

analytical laboratory license licensee. 

D. The licensee shall notify the department within 10 days 

of any changes in the laboratory location. 

E. Asbestos analytical laboratory licenses are issued to firms 

as defined in this chapter and are not transferable.  Whenever 

the legal firm holding the license is dissolved or altered to 

form a new firm, the original license becomes void and shall 

be returned to the board within 30 days of the change. 

Additionally, the new firm shall apply for a new license, on a 

form provided by the board, within 30 days of the change in 

the firm. Such changes include: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited 

partnership;  

3. Termination or cancellation of a corporation or limited 

liability company; and 

4. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 

limited liability company, or an association or any other 

firm recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4855; Filed August 7, 2017, 2:58 p.m.  

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Dentistry is claiming 

an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

Board of Dentistry will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry (amending 18VAC60-21-10). 

18VAC60-25. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Dental Hygiene (amending 18VAC60-25-10, 18VAC60-25-

110).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 4, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 

email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 1 Virginia Register of Regulations September 4, 2017 

122 

Summary: 

The amendments conform regulations regarding remote 

supervision of the practice of a dental hygienist to changes 

pursuant to Chapter 410 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly by 

(i) removing the requirement for supervision to be 

provided by the employing dentist from the definition of 

"remote supervision" and (ii) adding a requirement to 

document in the patient's record confirmation from the 

patient that he does not have another dentist of record 

whom he is seeing regularly.  

Part I 

General Provisions 

18VAC60-21-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2700 of 

the Code of Virginia:  

"Board"  

"Dental hygiene" 

"Dental hygienist" 

"Dentist" 

"Dentistry" 

"License" 

"Maxillofacial" 

"Oral and maxillofacial surgeon" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"AAOMS" means the American Association of Oral and 

Maxillofacial Surgeons.  

"ADA" means the American Dental Association. 

"Advertising" means a representation or other notice given 

to the public or members thereof, directly or indirectly, by 

a dentist on behalf of himself, his facility, his partner or 

associate, or any dentist affiliated with the dentist or his 

facility by any means or method for the purpose of 

inducing purchase, sale, or use of dental methods, services, 

treatments, operations, procedures, or products, or to 

promote continued or increased use of such dental 

methods, treatments, operations, procedures, or products. 

"CODA" means the Commission on Dental Accreditation 

of the American Dental Association. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia. 

"Dental assistant I" means any unlicensed person under the 

direction of a dentist or a dental hygienist who renders 

assistance for services provided to the patient as authorized 

under this chapter but shall not include an individual 

serving in purely an administrative, secretarial, or clerical 

capacity. 

"Dental assistant II" means a person under the direction 

and direct supervision of a dentist who is registered by the 

board to perform reversible, intraoral procedures as 

specified in 18VAC60-21-150 and 18VAC60-21-160.  

"Mobile dental facility" means a self-contained unit in 

which dentistry is practiced that is not confined to a single 

building and can be transported from one location to 

another. 

"Nonsurgical laser" means a laser that is not capable of 

cutting or removing hard tissue, soft tissue, or tooth 

structure. 

"Portable dental operation" means a nonfacility in which 

dental equipment used in the practice of dentistry is 

transported to and utilized on a temporary basis at an out-

of-office location, including patients' homes, schools, 

nursing homes, or other institutions. 

"Radiographs" means intraoral and extraoral radiographic 

images of hard and soft tissues used for purposes of 

diagnosis.  

C. The following words and terms relating to supervision as 

used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Direct supervision" means that the dentist examines the 

patient and records diagnostic findings prior to delegating 

restorative or prosthetic treatment and related services to a 

dental assistant II for completion the same day or at a later 

date. The dentist prepares the tooth or teeth to be restored 

and remains immediately available in the office to the 

dental assistant II for guidance or assistance during the 

delivery of treatment and related services. The dentist 

examines the patient to evaluate the treatment and services 

before the patient is dismissed.  

"Direction" means the level of supervision (i.e., immediate, 

direct, indirect, or general) that a dentist is required to 

exercise with a dental hygienist, a dental assistant I, or a 

dental assistant II or that a dental hygienist is required to 

exercise with a dental assistant to direct and oversee the 

delivery of treatment and related services. 

"General supervision" means that a dentist completes a 

periodic comprehensive examination of the patient and 

issues a written order for hygiene treatment that states the 

specific services to be provided by a dental hygienist 

during one or more subsequent appointments when the 

dentist may or may not be present. Issuance of the order 

authorizes the dental hygienist to supervise a dental 

assistant performing duties delegable to dental assistants I. 

"Immediate supervision" means the dentist is in the 

operatory to supervise the administration of sedation or 

provision of treatment. 

"Indirect supervision" means the dentist examines the 

patient at some point during the appointment and is 

continuously present in the office to advise and assist a 

dental hygienist or a dental assistant who is (i) delivering 

hygiene treatment, (ii) preparing the patient for 
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examination or treatment by the dentist, or (iii) preparing 

the patient for dismissal following treatment. 

"Remote supervision" means that a supervising dentist is 

accessible and available for communication and 

consultation with a dental hygienist employed by such 

dentist during the delivery of dental hygiene services but 

such dentist may not have conducted an initial examination 

of the patients who are to be seen and treated by the dental 

hygienist and may not be present with the dental hygienist 

when dental hygiene services are being provided. For the 

purpose of practice by a public health dental hygienist, 

"remote supervision" means that a public health dentist has 

regular, periodic communications with a public health 

dental hygienist regarding patient treatment, but such 

dentist may not have conducted an initial examination of 

the patients who are to be seen and treated by the dental 

hygienist and may not be present with the dental hygienist 

when dental hygiene services are being provided. 

D. The following words and terms relating to sedation or 

anesthesia as used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Analgesia" means the diminution or elimination of pain. 

"Conscious/moderate sedation" or "moderate sedation" 

means a drug-induced depression of consciousness, during 

which patients respond purposefully to verbal commands, 

either alone or accompanied by light tactile stimulation. 

Reflex withdrawal from a painful stimulus is not 

considered a purposeful response. No interventions are 

required to maintain a patent airway, and spontaneous 

ventilation is adequate. Cardiovascular function is usually 

maintained. 

"Deep sedation" means a drug-induced depression of 

consciousness during which patients cannot be easily 

aroused but respond purposefully following repeated or 

painful stimulation. Reflex withdrawal from a painful 

stimulus is not considered a purposeful response. The 

ability to independently maintain ventilatory function may 

be impaired. Patients may require assistance in maintaining 

a patent airway, and spontaneous ventilation may be 

inadequate. Cardiovascular function is usually maintained. 

"Enteral" means any technique of administration in which 

the agent is absorbed through the gastrointestinal tract or 

oral mucosa (i.e., oral, rectal, sublingual). 

"General anesthesia" means a drug-induced loss of 

consciousness during which patients are not arousable, 

even by painful stimulation. The ability to independently 

maintain ventilator function is often impaired. Patients 

often require assistance in maintaining a patent airway, and 

positive pressure ventilation may be required because of 

depressed spontaneous ventilation or drug-induced 

depression of neuromuscular function. Cardiovascular 

function may be impaired.  

"Inhalation" means a technique of administration in which 

a gaseous or volatile agent, including nitrous oxide, is 

introduced into the pulmonary tree and whose primary 

effect is due to absorption through the pulmonary bed. 

"Inhalation analgesia" means the inhalation of nitrous 

oxide and oxygen to produce a state of reduced sensation 

of pain with minimal alteration of consciousness. 

"Local anesthesia" means the elimination of sensation, 

especially pain, in one part of the body by the topical 

application or regional injection of a drug. 

"Minimal sedation" means a drug-induced state during 

which patients respond normally to verbal commands. 

Although cognitive function and physical coordination 

may be impaired, airway reflexes, and ventilator and 

cardiovascular functions are unaffected. Minimal sedation 

includes "anxiolysis" (the diminution or elimination of 

anxiety through the use of pharmacological agents in a 

dosage that does not cause depression of consciousness) 

and includes "inhalation analgesia" when used in 

combination with any anxiolytic agent administered prior 

to or during a procedure.  

"Moderate sedation" (see the definition of 

conscious/moderate sedation). 

"Monitoring" means to observe, interpret, assess, and 

record appropriate physiologic functions of the body 

during sedative procedures and general anesthesia 

appropriate to the level of sedation as provided in Part VI 

(18VAC60-21-260 et seq.) of this chapter.  

"Parenteral" means a technique of administration in which 

the drug bypasses the gastrointestinal tract (i.e., 

intramuscular, intravenous, intranasal, submucosal, 

subcutaneous, or intraocular).  

"Titration" means the incremental increase in drug dosage 

to a level that provides the optimal therapeutic effect of 

sedation. 

"Topical oral anesthetic" means any drug, available in 

creams, ointments, aerosols, sprays, lotions, or jellies, that 

can be used orally for the purpose of rendering the oral 

cavity insensitive to pain without affecting consciousness. 

Part I 

General Provisions 

18VAC60-25-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2700 of 

the Code of Virginia:  

"Board" 

"Dental hygiene" 

"Dental hygienist" 

"Dentist" 

"Dentistry" 

"License" 
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B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Active practice" means clinical practice as a dental 

hygienist for at least 600 hours per year. 

"ADA" means the American Dental Association.  

"Analgesia" means the diminution or elimination of pain in 

the conscious patient.  

"CDAC" means the Commission on Dental Accreditation of 

Canada. 

"CODA" means the Commission on Dental Accreditation of 

the American Dental Association. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia. 

"Dental assistant I" means any unlicensed person under the 

direction of a dentist or a dental hygienist who renders 

assistance for services provided to the patient as authorized 

under this chapter but shall not include an individual serving 

in purely an administrative, secretarial, or clerical capacity.  

"Dental assistant II" means a person under the direction and 

direct supervision of a dentist who is registered to perform 

reversible, intraoral procedures as specified in 18VAC60-21-

150 and 18VAC60-21-160.  

"Direction" means the level of supervision (i.e., direct, 

indirect, or general) that a dentist is required to exercise with 

a dental hygienist or that a dental hygienist is required to 

exercise with a dental assistant to direct and oversee the 

delivery of treatment and related services. 

"General supervision" means that a dentist completes a 

periodic comprehensive examination of the patient and issues 

a written order for hygiene treatment that states the specific 

services to be provided by a dental hygienist during one or 

more subsequent appointments when the dentist may or may 

not be present. Issuance of the order authorizes the dental 

hygienist to supervise a dental assistant performing duties 

delegable to dental assistants I. 

"Indirect supervision" means the dentist examines the 

patient at some point during the appointment and is 

continuously present in the office to advise and assist a dental 

hygienist or a dental assistant who is (i) delivering hygiene 

treatment, (ii) preparing the patient for examination or 

treatment by the dentist, or (iii) preparing the patient for 

dismissal following treatment. 

"Inhalation" means a technique of administration in which a 

gaseous or volatile agent, including nitrous oxide, is 

introduced into the pulmonary tree and whose primary effect 

is due to absorption through the pulmonary bed.  

"Inhalation analgesia" means the inhalation of nitrous oxide 

and oxygen to produce a state of reduced sensibility to pain 

without the loss of consciousness.  

"Local anesthesia" means the elimination of sensation, 

especially pain, in one part of the body by the topical 

application or regional injection of a drug. 

"Monitoring" means to observe, interpret, assess, and record 

appropriate physiologic functions of the body during sedative 

procedures and general anesthesia appropriate to the level of 

sedation as provided in Part VI (18VAC60-21-260 et seq.) of 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry. 

"Nonsurgical laser" means a laser that is not capable of 

cutting or removing hard tissue, soft tissue, or tooth structure.  

"Parenteral" means a technique of administration in which 

the drug bypasses the gastrointestinal tract (i.e., 

intramuscular, intravenous, intranasal, submucosal, 

subcutaneous, or intraocular). 

"Remote supervision" means that a supervising dentist is 

accessible and available for communication and consultation 

with a dental hygienist employed by such dentist during the 

delivery of dental hygiene services but such dentist may not 

have conducted an initial examination of the patients who are 

to be seen and treated by the dental hygienist and may not be 

present with the dental hygienist when dental hygiene 

services are being provided. For the purpose of practice by a 

public health dental hygienist, "remote supervision" means 

that a public health dentist has regular, periodic 

communications with a public health dental hygienist 

regarding patient treatment, but such dentist may not have 

conducted an initial examination of the patients who are to be 

seen and treated by the dental hygienist and may not be 

present with the dental hygienist when dental hygiene 

services are being provided. 

"Topical oral anesthetic" means any drug, available in 

creams, ointments, aerosols, sprays, lotions, or jellies, that 

can be used orally for the purpose of rendering the oral cavity 

insensitive to pain without affecting consciousness. 

Part III 

Standards of Conduct 

18VAC60-25-110. Patient records; confidentiality. 

A. A dental hygienist shall be responsible for accurate and 

complete information in patient records for those services 

provided by a hygienist or a dental assistant under direction to 

include the following:  

1. Patient's name on each page in the patient record;  

2. A health history taken at the initial appointment, which 

is updated when local anesthesia or nitrous 

oxide/inhalation analgesia is to be administered and when 

medically indicated and at least annually; 

3. Options discussed and oral or written consent for any 

treatment rendered with the exception of prophylaxis;  

4. List of drugs administered and the route of 

administration, quantity, dose, and strength;  

5. Radiographs, digital images, and photographs clearly 

labeled with the patient's name, date taken, and teeth 

identified; 

6. A notation or documentation of an order required for 

treatment of a patient by a dental hygienist practicing 
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under general supervision as required in 18VAC60-25-60 

C; and  

7. Notation of each treatment rendered, date of treatment, 

and the identity of the dentist and the dental hygienist 

providing service.  

B. A dental hygienist shall comply with the provisions of 

§ 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code related to the confidentiality and 

disclosure of patient records. A dental hygienist shall not 

willfully or negligently breach the confidentiality between a 

practitioner and a patient. A breach of confidentiality that is 

required or permitted by applicable law or beyond the control 

of the hygienist shall not be considered negligent or willful. 

C. A dental hygienist practicing under remote supervision 

shall document in the patient record that he has obtained (i) 

the patient's or the patient's legal representative's signature on 

a statement disclosing that the delivery of dental hygiene 

services under remote supervision is not a substitute for the 

need for regular dental examinations by a dentist and (ii) 

verbal or written permission of any dentist who has treated 

the patient in the previous 12 months and can be identified by 

confirmation from the patient that the patient does not have a 

dentist of record whom he is seeing regularly.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5207; Filed August 7, 2017, 6:44 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Health 

Professions is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 

are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 

or the appropriation act where no agency discretion is 

involved. The Department of Health Professions will receive, 

consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at 

any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC76-20. Regulations Governing 

the Prescription Monitoring Program (amending 

18VAC76-20-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2520 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 4, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Ralph Orr, Program Manager, Department 

of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4523, FAX 

(804) 527-4470, or email ralph.orr@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment conforms the regulation to § 54.1-2521 C 

of the Code of Virginia as it became effective on January 1, 

2017. The amendment requires that persons subject to 

report to the Prescription Monitoring Program do so 

within 24 hours or the dispenser's next business day, 

whichever comes first.  

18VAC76-20-40. Standards for the manner and format of 

reports and a schedule for reporting.  

A. Data shall be transmitted to the department or its agent 

within seven days 24 hours of dispensing or the dispenser's 

next business day, whichever comes later, as provided in the 

Electronic Reporting Standard for Prescription Monitoring 

Programs, Version 4.2 (September 2011) of the American 

Society of Automation in Pharmacy (ASAP), which are 

hereby incorporated by reference into this chapter.  

B. Data shall be transmitted in a file layout provided by the 

department and shall be transmitted by a media acceptable to 

the vendor contracted by the director for the program. Such 

transmission shall begin on a date specified by the director, 

no less than 90 days from notification by the director to 

dispensers required to report.  

C. Under extraordinary circumstances, an alternative means 

of reporting may be approved by the director.  

D. Data not accepted by the vendor due to a substantial 

number of errors or omissions shall be corrected and 

resubmitted to the vendor within five business days of 

receiving notification that the submitted data had an 

unacceptable number of errors or problems.  

E. Required data elements shall include those listed in 

subsection B of § 54.1-2521 of the Code of Virginia and the 

following: 

1. The Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) 

registration number of the dispenser; 

2. The National Provider Identifier of the prescriber; 

3. The total number of refills ordered; 

4. Whether the prescription is a new prescription or a refill;  

5. Whether the prescription is a partial fill; 

6. The gender code; 

7. The species code; 

8. The Electronic Prescription Reference Number, and the 

Electronic Prescription Order Number if it is an electronic 

prescription; and 

9. The date the prescription was written by the prescriber. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5212; Filed August 9, 2017, 3:42 p.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Medicine is claiming 

an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

Board of Medicine will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 
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Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-80. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Occupational Therapists (amending 

18VAC85-80-71).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 4, 2017.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform requirements for continuing 

education to Chapter 411 of the 2017 Acts of the Assembly, 

which specifies requirements for Type 1 continuing 

education learning activities for occupational therapists 

and identifies entities from which continuing education can 

be attained so that continuing education complies with 

Medicare conditions of participation. 

18VAC85-80-71. Continued competency requirements for 

renewal of an active license.  

A. In order to renew an active license biennially, a 

practitioner shall complete the Continued Competency 

Activity and Assessment Form that is provided by the board 

and that shall indicate completion of at least 20 contact hours 

of continuing learning activities as follows:  

1. A minimum of 10 of the 20 hours shall be in Type 1 

activities offered by a sponsor or organization recognized 

by the profession and may include in-service training, self-

study courses, continuing education courses, specialty 

certification, or professional workshops, which shall 

consist of an organized program of study, classroom 

experience, or similar educational experience that is related 

to a licensee's current or anticipated roles and 

responsibilities in occupational therapy and approved or 

provided by one of the following organizations or any of 

its components:  

a. Virginia Occupational Therapy Association;  

b. American Occupational Therapy Association; 

c. National Board for Certification in Occupational 

Therapy;  

d. Local, state, or federal government agency;  

e. Regionally accredited college or university;  

f. Health care organization accredited by a national 

accrediting organization granted authority by the Centers 

for Medicare and Medicaid Services to assure 

compliance with Medicare conditions of participation; or 

g. An American Medical Association Category 1 

Continuing Medical Education program. 

2. No more than 10 of the 20 hours may be Type 2 

activities, which may include consultation with another 

therapist, independent reading or research, preparation for 

a presentation, or other such experiences that promote 

continued learning. Up to two of the Type 2 continuing 

education hours may be satisfied through delivery of 

occupational therapy services, without compensation, to 

low-income individuals receiving services through a local 

health department or a free clinic organized in whole or 

primarily for the delivery of health services. One hour of 

continuing education may be credited for three hours of 

providing such volunteer services as documented by the 

health department or free clinic. 

B. A practitioner shall be exempt from the continuing 

competency requirements for the first biennial renewal 

following the date of initial licensure in Virginia.  

C. The practitioner shall retain in his records the completed 

form with all supporting documentation for a period of six 

years following the renewal of an active license.  

D. The board shall periodically conduct a random audit of at 

least one to two percent of its active licensees to determine 

compliance. The practitioners selected for the audit shall 

provide the completed Continued Competency Activity and 

Assessment Form and all supporting documentation within 30 

days of receiving notification of the audit.  

E. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 

the licensee to disciplinary action by the board.  

F. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 

continuing competency requirements for up to one year for 

good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 

prior to the renewal date.  

G. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 

licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5159; Filed August 7, 2017, 6:52 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Medicine is claiming 

an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

Board of Medicine will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-170. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Genetic Counselors (amending 18VAC85-

170-60).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957.18 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 4, 2017.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

The amendment conforms to Chapter 422 of the 2017 Acts 

of the Assembly by extending the date of the grandfather 

provision for waiving the requirements of a master's 

degree and American Board of Genetic Counseling or 

American Board of Medical Genetics certification as 

prerequisites for licensure.  

18VAC85-170-60. Licensure requirements. 

A. An applicant for a license to practice as a genetic 

counselor shall provide documentation of (i) a master's degree 

from a genetic counseling training program that is accredited 

by the Accreditation Council of Genetic Counseling and (ii) a 

current, valid certificate issued by the ABGC or ABMG to 

practice genetic counseling. 

B. Pursuant to § 54.1-2957.19 D of the Code of Virginia, 

applicants for licensure who do not meet the requirements of 

subsection A of this section may be issued a license provided 

they (i) apply for licensure before July 1, 2016 December 31, 

2018; (ii) comply with the board's regulations relating to the 

NSGC Code of Ethics; (iii) have at least 20 years of 

documented work experience practicing genetic counseling; 

(iv) submit two letters of recommendation, one from a genetic 

counselor and another from a physician; and (v) have 

completed, within the last five years, 25 hours of continuing 

education approved by the NSGC or the ABGC. For the 

purpose of this subsection, the board deems the provisions of 

Part IV (18VAC85-170-110 et seq.) of this chapter to be 

consistent with the NSGC Code of Ethics. 

C. An applicant for a temporary license shall provide 

documentation of having been granted the active candidate 

status by the ABGC. Such license shall expire 12 months 

from issuance or upon expiration of active candidate status, 

whichever comes first. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5192; Filed August 7, 2017, 6:45 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-320, 

18VAC110-20-540, 18VAC110-20-550, 18VAC110-20-

555).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

September 26, 2017 - 9:05 a.m. - Perimeter Center, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 201, Board Room 2, Richmond, VA 

23233 

Public Comment Deadline: November 3, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Pharmacy the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. The specific 

authority of the board to regulate the practice of pharmacy is 

found in § 54.1-3307 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: Granting the pharmacist authority to dispense a 

quantity of a Schedule VI substance greater than the amount 

initially noted on the prescription would benefit patients and 

prescribers with greater flexibility and improved medication 

adherence. A pharmacist would be able to use professional 

judgment about whether to dispense in conformity with the 

prescribed amount and dosage. Such flexibility will enable a 

pharmacist to more easily synchronize the patient's 

medications, allowing prescriptions to run out on the same 

date and reducing the patient's visits to the pharmacy.  

Allowing the use of electronic devices for emergency and 

stat-drug boxes is becoming a standard for acute long-term 

care facilities, as such devices can minimize diversion and 

direct access for staff to the correct location for first dose 

administration.  

Both changes are reasonable accommodations in the practice 

of pharmacy that will benefit the health and safety of patients 

without jeopardizing the integrity and efficacy of the drug 

supply in the Commonwealth. 

Substance: In response to two petitions for rulemaking, the 

proposed amendments: 

1) Amend 18VAC110-20-320 to authorize a pharmacist, 

when deemed appropriate in the pharmacist's professional 

judgement and upon request by the patient, to dispense a 

quantity of a Schedule VI drug, excluding psychotherapeutic 

agents, anxiolytics, sedatives, or hypnotics or drugs of 

concern, in excess of the specific quantity prescribed for a 

dispensing, not to exceed the total amount authorized in 

refills; and  

2) Amend 18VAC110-20-540, 18VAC110-20-550, and 

18VAC110-20-555 to specifically authorize the use of an 

automated dispensing device in a nursing home for obtaining 

drugs that would be stocked in a stat-drug box or an 

emergency kit. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is more 

flexibility in obtaining Schedule VI drugs. If a consumer is 

prescribed a drug for a chronic condition and has a certain 

number of refills on the prescription, the patient may prefer to 

get the total quantity dispensed rather than having to come 

back or reorder when the drug is due to be refilled. The 

advantage to residents of nursing homes would be drugs used 

for nonroutine administration would be more readily available 

through an automated dispensing device. There are no 

disadvantages to the public. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to the agency.  
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. In 

response to a petition for rulemaking,
1
 the Board of Pharmacy 

proposes to allow a pharmacist to dispense a quantity of 

certain Schedule VI drugs greater than the face amount 

prescribed, up to the total amount authorized in refills. In 

response to a separate petition for rulemaking,
2
 the Board 

proposes to allow the use of automated drug dispensing 

devices in nursing homes in lieu of manual emergency drug 

kits and stat-drug boxes.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulation only allows 

pharmacists to dispense Schedule VI medication at, or less 

than, the quantity for which a prescription is written. As 

requested in a petition for rulemaking, the Board now 

proposes to authorize pharmacists to dispense any Schedule 

VI drugs not specifically excluded by this proposed 

regulation
3
 in a quantity in excess of the face amount 

prescribed and not exceeding the total quantity authorized in 

refills. Under this proposed rule, a pharmacist will be able to 

dispense Schedule VI medications in these larger allowable 

quantities if 1) a patient has requested that his medication be 

dispensed in a larger quantity than is written on his 

prescription and 2) it is deemed appropriate by the pharmacist 

using his professional judgement. Since Schedule VI drugs 

are deemed at low risk of abuse, and the Schedule VI drugs 

that are possibly more dangerous are excluded from the 

proposed rule change, no entity is likely to be harmed by this 

proposed change. Consumers are likely to benefit from this 

change as it allows them greater flexibility to manage the 

timing of medication purchases. 

Current regulation requires that nursing homes have a 

controlled substances registration (if they do not have an in-

house pharmacy) in order to use an automated drug 

dispensing system in all instances. This rule is more stringent 

than Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) rules, which 

allow nursing homes to use automated drug dispensing 

systems to dispense emergency or first dose medications 

without having to obtain a controlled substances registration. 

As requested in a petition for rulemaking, the Board now 

proposes to also allow the use of automated drug dispensing 

systems, that are stocked exclusively with drugs that would 

be stocked in a stat-drug box or an emergency drug kit, to 

dispense emergency or first dose medications without a 

controlled substances registration so long as access to the 

automated drug dispensing systems are restricted to licensed 

nurses, pharmacists, prescribers and registered medication 

technicians. The Board also proposes to allow automated 

drug dispensing systems to be stocked, with drugs that would 

be stocked in a stat-drug box, in quantities determined by 

provider pharmacies rather than in quantities specified by this 

regulation for stat-drug boxes. No entity is likely to be 

harmed by these changes. Both nursing homes and their 

patients are likely to benefit from having added flexibility as 

to how drugs that may be necessary to maintain the health of 

patients, in the case of an emergency or after hours, are stored 

and dispensed. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulatory 

changes will affect pharmacies that dispense Schedule VI 

drugs, provider pharmacies and nursing homes that have 

automated dispensing devices. Board staff reports that there 

are 1,852 pharmacies that are permitted by the Board to 

dispense medication in Virginia. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality is likely to be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes.  

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No small businesses are likely to 

incur any additional costs on account of these proposed 

regulatory changes.  

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 

businesses are likely to incur any additional costs on account 

of these proposed regulatory changes. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. No businesses are likely to incur any additional 

costs on account of these proposed regulatory changes. 

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 

see any adverse impacts on account of these proposed 

regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely 

affected by these proposed changes. 

___________________ 
1 This petition can be found here: 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewpetition.cfm?petitionid=245 . 
2 This petition can be found here: 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewpetition.cfm?petitionid=247 . 
3 This new proposed rule will not apply to Schedule VI drugs that are 
classified by the American Hospital Formulary Service as psychotherapeutic 

agents, anxiolytics, sedatives or hypnotics. Anxiolytics are medications that 

inhibit anxiety in a patient. 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewpetition.cfm?petitionid=245
http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewpetition.cfm?petitionid=247
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Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Pharmacy concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget on proposed amendments. 

Summary: 

In response to two separate petitions for rulemaking, the 

proposed amendments (i) permit a pharmacist, when 

deemed appropriate in the pharmacist's professional 

judgement and upon request by the patient, to dispense a 

quantity of a Schedule VI drug, excluding certain drugs, in 

excess of the specific quantity prescribed for a dispensing, 

not to exceed the total amount authorized in refills and (ii) 

authorize the use of automated dispensing devices in 

nursing homes in lieu of manual emergency drug kits and 

stat-drug boxes. 

18VAC110-20-320. Refilling of Schedule Schedules III 

through VI prescriptions.  

A. A prescription for a drug listed in Schedule III, IV, or V 

shall not be dispensed or refilled more than six months after 

the date on which such prescription was issued, and no such 

prescription authorized to be filled may be refilled more than 

five times.  

1. Each refilling of a prescription shall be entered on the 

back of the prescription or on another record in accordance 

with § 54.1-3412 and 18VAC110-20-255, initialed and 

dated by the pharmacist as of the date of dispensing. If the 

pharmacist merely initials and dates the prescription, it 

shall be presumed that the entire quantity ordered was 

dispensed.  

2. The partial dispensing of a prescription for a drug listed 

in Schedule III, IV, or V is permissible, provided that:  

a. Each partial dispensing is recorded in the same manner 

as a refilling;  

b. The total quantity of drug dispensed in all partial 

dispensing does not exceed the total quantity prescribed; 

and  

c. No dispensing occurs after six months after the date on 

which the prescription order was issued.  

B. A prescription for a drug listed in Schedule VI shall may 

be refilled only as expressly authorized by the practitioner. If 

no such authorization is given, the prescription shall not be 

refilled, except as provided in § 54.1-3410 C or subdivision 4 

of § 54.1-3411 of the Code of Virginia. Except for drugs 

classified by the American Hospital Formulary Service as 

psychotherapeutic agents, anxiolytics, sedatives, or hypnotics 

or for drugs of concern as defined in § 54.1-2519 of the Code 

of Virginia, a pharmacist, using professional judgment and 

upon request by the patient, may refill a drug listed in 

Schedule VI with any quantity, up to the total amount 

authorized, taking all refills into consideration. 

A prescription for a Schedule VI drug or device shall not be 

dispensed or refilled more than one year after the date on 

which it was issued unless the prescriber specifically 

authorizes dispensing or refilling for a longer period of time 

not to exceed two years.  

C. As an alternative to all manual recordkeeping 

requirements provided for in subsections A and B of this 

section, an automated data processing system as provided in 

18VAC110-20-250 may be used for the storage and retrieval 

of all or part of dispensing information for prescription drugs 

dispensed.  

D. The timing of dispensing an authorized refill of a 

prescription shall be within reasonable conformity with the 

directions for use as indicated by the practitioner; if directions 

have not been provided, then any authorized refills may only 

be dispensed in reasonable conformity with the recommended 

dosage and with the exercise of sound professional judgment. 

An authorized refill may be dispensed early provided the 

pharmacist documents a valid reason for the necessity of the 

early refill. 

18VAC110-20-540. Emergency drug kit.  

A. The pharmacist providing services may prepare an 

emergency kit for a long-term care facility in which access to 

the kit is restricted to a licensed nurse, pharmacist, or 

prescriber and only these licensed individuals may administer 

a drug taken from the kit and only under the following 

conditions:  

1. The contents of the emergency kit shall be of such a 

nature that the absence of the drugs would threaten the 

survival of the patients.  

2. The contents of the kit or an automated drug dispensing 

system, as provided in subsection B of this section, shall be 

determined by the provider pharmacist in consultation with 

the medical and nursing staff of the institutions and shall 

be limited to drugs for administration by injection or 

inhalation only, except that Nitroglycerin SL and diazepam 

rectal gel may be included.  

3. The kit is sealed in such a manner that it will preclude 

any possible loss of the drug.  

a. The dispensing pharmacy must have a method of 

sealing such kits so that once the seal is broken, it cannot 

be reasonably resealed without the breach being detected.  

b. If a seal is used, it shall have a unique numeric or 

alphanumeric identifier to preclude replication, resealing, 

or both. The pharmacy shall maintain a record of the seal 

identifiers when placed on a box or kit and maintain the 

record until such time as the seal is replaced.  

c. In lieu of seals, a kit with a built-in mechanism 

preventing resealing or relocking once opened except by 

the provider pharmacy is also acceptable.  

4. The kit shall have a form to be filled out upon opening 

the kit and removing contents to write the name of the 

person opening the kit, the date, time and name and 

quantity of items removed. The opened kit is maintained 

under secure conditions and returned to the pharmacy 

within 72 hours for replenishing.  
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5. Any drug used from the kit shall be covered by a 

prescription, signed by the prescriber, when legally 

required, within 72 hours. 

B. Drugs that would be stocked in an emergency kit, 

pursuant to this section, may be stocked in an automated drug 

dispensing system in a nursing home in accordance with 

18VAC110-20-555. 

18VAC110-20-550. Stat-drug box. 

A. An additional drug box called a stat-drug box may be 

prepared by a pharmacy to provide for initiating therapy prior 

to the receipt of ordered drugs from the pharmacy. Access to 

the stat-drug box is restricted to a licensed nurse, pharmacist, 

or prescriber and only these licensed individuals may 

administer a drug taken from the stat-drug box. Additionally, 

a valid prescription or lawful order of a prescriber must exist 

prior to the removal of any drug from the stat-drug box. A 

stat-drug box shall be subject to the following conditions:  

1. The box is sealed in such a manner that will preclude the 

loss of drugs.  

a. The dispensing pharmacy must have a method of 

sealing such boxes so that once the seal is broken, it 

cannot be reasonably resealed without the breach being 

detected.  

b. If a seal is used, it shall have a unique numeric or 

alphanumeric identifier to preclude replication or 

resealing, or both. The pharmacy shall maintain a record 

of the seal identifiers when placed on a box and maintain 

the record until such time as the seal is replaced.  

c. In lieu of seals, a box with a built-in mechanism 

preventing resealing or relocking once opened except by 

the provider pharmacy is also acceptable.  

2. The box shall have a form to be filled out upon opening 

the box and removing contents to write the name of the 

person opening the box, the date, the time, and the name 

and quantity of item(s) items removed. When the stat-drug 

box has been opened, it is returned to the pharmacy.  

3. There shall be a listing of the contents of the box 

maintained in the pharmacy and also attached to the box in 

the facility. This same listing shall become a part of the 

policy and procedure manual of the facility served by the 

pharmacy.  

4. The drug listing on the box shall bear an expiration date 

for the box. The expiration date shall be the day on which 

the first drug in the box will expire.  

5. The contents of the box shall be limited to those drugs in 

which a delay in initiating therapy may result in harm to 

the patient.  

a. The listing of drugs contained in the stat-drug box 

shall be determined by the provider pharmacist in 

consultation with the medical and nursing staff of the 

long-term care facility.  

b. The stat-drug box shall contain no more than 20 solid 

dosage units per schedule of Schedule Schedules II 

through V drugs except that one unit of liquid, not to 

exceed 30 ml, may be substituted for a solid dosage unit. 

If the unit of a liquid that may contain more than one 

dose is removed from the stat-drug box pursuant to a 

patient order, the remainder shall be stored with that 

patient's other drugs, may be used for subsequent doses 

administered to that patient, and shall not be 

administered to any other patient. 

B. Drugs that would be stocked in a stat-drug box, pursuant 

to this section, may be stocked in an automated drug 

dispensing system in a nursing home in accordance with 

18VAC110-20-555, except that the quantity of drugs in 

Schedules II through V stocked in the system shall be 

determined by the provider pharmacist in consultation with 

the medical and nursing staff of the nursing home. 

18VAC110-20-555. Use of automated dispensing devices.  

Nursing homes licensed pursuant to Chapter 5 (§ 32.1-123 et 

seq.) of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia may use automated 

drug dispensing systems, as defined in § 54.1-3401 of the 

Code of Virginia, upon meeting the following conditions:  

1. Drugs placed in an automated drug dispensing system in 

a nursing home shall be under the control of the pharmacy 

providing services to the nursing home, the pharmacy shall 

have on-line online communication with and control of the 

automated drug dispensing system, and access to any drug 

for a patient shall be controlled by the pharmacy.  

2. A nursing home without an in-house pharmacy shall 

obtain a controlled substances registration prior to using an 

automated dispensing system, unless the system is 

exclusively stocked with drugs that would be kept in a stat-

drug box pursuant to 18VAC110-20-550 or an emergency 

drug kit pursuant to 18VAC110-20-540 and are solely 

administered for stat or emergency administration.  

3. For facilities not required to obtain a controlled 

substance registration, access to the automated dispensing 

device shall be restricted to a licensed nurse, pharmacist, or 

prescriber, or a registered pharmacy technician for the 

purpose of stocking or reloading. 

4. Removal of drugs from any automated drug dispensing 

system for administration to patients can only be made 

pursuant to a valid prescription or lawful order of a 

prescriber under the following conditions:  

a. A drug, including a drug that would be stocked in a 

stat-drug box pursuant to subsection B of 18VAC110-20-

550, may not be administered to a patient from an 

automated dispensing device until a pharmacist has 

reviewed the prescription order and electronically 

authorized the access of that drug for that particular 

patient in accordance with the order.  

b. The PIC of the provider pharmacy shall ensure that a 

pharmacist who has on-line online access to the system is 
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available at all times to review a prescription order as 

needed and authorize administering pursuant to the order 

reviewed. 

c. Drugs that would be stocked in an emergency drug kit 

pursuant to 18VAC110-20-540 may be accessed prior to 

receiving electronic authorization from the pharmacist 

provided that the absence of the drugs would threaten the 

survival of the patients. 

d. Automated dispensing devices shall be capable of 

producing a hard-copy record of distribution that shall 

show patient name, drug name and strength, dose 

withdrawn, dose to be administered, date and time of 

withdrawal from the device, and identity of person 

withdrawing the drug. 

4. 5. Drugs placed in automated dispensing devices shall 

be in the manufacturer's sealed original unit dose or unit-

of-use packaging or in repackaged unit-dose containers in 

compliance with the requirements of 18VAC110-20-355 

relating to repackaging, labeling, and records.  

5. 6. Prior to the removal of drugs from the pharmacy, a 

delivery record shall be generated for all drugs to be placed 

in an automated dispensing device, which shall include the 

date; drug name, dosage form, and strength; quantity; 

nursing home; a unique identifier for the specific device 

receiving drugs; and initials of the pharmacist checking the 

order of drugs to be removed from the pharmacy and the 

records of distribution for accuracy. 

6. 7. At the direction of the PIC, drugs may be loaded in 

the device by a pharmacist or a pharmacy technician 

adequately trained in the proper loading of the system.  

7. 8. At the time of loading, the delivery record for all 

Schedule Schedules II through VI drugs shall be signed by 

a nurse or other person authorized to administer drugs from 

that specific device, and the record returned to the 

pharmacy. 

8. 9. At the time of loading any Schedule Schedules II 

through V drug, the person loading will verify that the 

count of that drug in the automated dispensing device is 

correct. Any discrepancy noted shall be recorded on the 

delivery record and immediately reported to the PIC, who 

shall be responsible for reconciliation of the discrepancy or 

the proper reporting of a loss. 

9. 10. The PIC of the provider pharmacy or his designee 

shall conduct at least a monthly audit to review distribution 

and administration of Schedule Schedules II through V 

drugs from each automated dispensing device as follows:  

a. The audit shall reconcile records of all quantities of 

Schedule Schedules II through V drugs dispensed from 

the pharmacy with records of all quantities loaded into 

each device to detect whether any drugs recorded as 

removed from the pharmacy were diverted rather than 

being placed in the proper device.  

b. A discrepancy report shall be generated for each 

discrepancy in the count of a drug on hand in the device. 

Each such report shall be resolved by the PIC or his 

designee within 72 hours of the time the discrepancy was 

discovered or, if determined to be a theft or an unusual 

loss of drugs, shall be immediately reported to the board 

in accordance with § 54.1-3404 E of the Drug Control 

Act.  

c. The audit shall include a review of a sample of 

administration records from each device per month for 

possible diversion by fraudulent charting. A sample shall 

include all Schedule Schedules II through V drugs 

administered for a time period of not less than 24 

consecutive hours during the audit period. 

d. The audit shall include a check of medical records to 

ensure that a valid order exists for a random sample of 

doses recorded as administered. 

e. The audit shall also check for compliance with written 

procedures for security and use of the automated 

dispensing devices, accuracy of distribution from the 

device, and proper recordkeeping. 

f. The hard copy distribution and administration records 

printed out and reviewed in the audit shall be initialed 

and dated by the person conducting the audit. If 

nonpharmacist personnel conduct the audit, a pharmacist 

shall review the record and shall initial and date the 

record.  

10. 11. Automated dispensing devices shall be inspected 

monthly by pharmacy personnel to verify proper storage, 

proper location of drugs within the device, expiration 

dates, the security of drugs and validity of access codes. 

11. 12. Personnel allowed access to an automated 

dispensing device shall have a specific access code which 

records the identity of the person accessing the device.  

12. 13. The PIC of the pharmacy providing services to the 

nursing home shall establish, maintain, and assure 

compliance with written policy and procedure for the 

accurate stocking and proper storage of drugs in the 

automated drug dispensing system, accountability for and 

security of all drugs maintained in the automated drug 

dispensing system, preventing unauthorized access to the 

system, tracking access to the system, complying with 

federal and state regulations related to the storage and 

dispensing of controlled substances, maintaining patient 

confidentiality, maintaining required records, and assuring 

compliance with the requirements of this chapter. The 

manual shall be capable of being accessed at both the 

pharmacy and the nursing home. 

13. 14. All records required by this section shall be filed in 

chronological order from date of issue and maintained for a 

period of not less than two years. Records shall be 

maintained at the address of the pharmacy providing 

services to the nursing home except:  
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a. Manual Schedule VI distribution records may be 

maintained in offsite storage or electronically as an 

electronic image that provides an exact image of the 

document that is clearly legible provided such offsite or 

electronic storage is retrievable and made available for 

inspection or audit within 48 hours of a request by the 

board or an authorized agent. 

b. Distribution and delivery records and required 

signatures may be generated or maintained electronically 

provided: 

(1) The system being used has the capability of recording 

an electronic signature that is a unique identifier and 

restricted to the individual required to initial or sign the 

record. 

(2) The records are maintained in a read-only format that 

cannot be altered after the information is recorded. 

(3) The system used is capable of producing a hard-copy 

printout of the records upon request. 

c. Schedule II-V Schedules II through V distribution and 

delivery records may only be stored offsite or 

electronically as described in subdivisions 13 a and 13 b 

of this section if authorized by DEA or in federal law or 

regulation.  

d. Hard-copy distribution and administration records that 

are printed and reviewed in conducting required audits 

may be maintained off site offsite or electronically 

provided they can be readily retrieved upon request; 

provided they are maintained in a read-only format that 

does not allow alteration of the records; and provided a 

separate log is maintained for a period of two years 

showing dates of audit and review, the identity of the 

automated dispensing device being audited, the time 

period covered by the audit and review, and the initials of 

all reviewers.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-27; Filed August 10, 2017, 10:15 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Pharmacy is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 13 of the Code 

of Virginia, which exempts amendments to regulations of the 

board to schedule a substance in Schedule I or II pursuant to 

subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of Virginia. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-322).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3443 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 4, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments add three compounds into Schedule I of 

the Drug Control Act as recommended by the Virginia 

Department of Forensic Science pursuant to § 54.1-3443 

of the Code of Virginia. The compounds added by this 

regulatory action will remain in effect for 18 months or 

until the compounds are placed in Schedule I by legislative 

action of the General Assembly.  

18VAC110-20-322. Placement of chemicals in Schedule I. 

A. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-

butanamide (other name: butyryl fentanyl). 

2. Flubromazolam. 

3. 5-methoxy-N,N-methylisopropyltryptamine (Other 

name: 5-MeO-MIPT). 

4. Cannabimimetic agents: 

a. N-(1-Amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-[(4-

fluorophenyl)methyl]-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide (other 

name: ADB-FUBINACA); 

b. Methyl 2-[1-[(4-fluorophenyl)methyl]-1H-indazole-3-

carboxamido]-3,3-dimethylbutanoate (other name: 

MDMB-FUBINACA); and 

c. Methyl 2-[1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-

carboxamido]-3,3-dimethylbutanoate (other names: 5-

fluoro-ADB, 5-Fluoro-MDMB-PINACA). 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until December 14, 2017, unless enacted into law in 

the Drug Control Act.  

B. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Beta-keto-N,N-dimethylbenzodioxolylbutanamine (other 

names: Dibutylone, bk-DMBDB); 

2. 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(ethylamino)-1-pentanone 

(other name: N-ethylpentylone); 

3. 1-[1-(3-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexyl]piperidine (other 

name: 3-methoxy PCP); 

4. 1-[1-(4-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexyl]piperidine (other 

name: 4-methoxy PCP); 

5. 4-Chloroethcathinone (other name: 4-CEC); 

6. 3-Methoxy-2-(methylamino)-1-(4-methylphenyl)-1-

propanone (other name: Mexedrone); 

7. 3,4-dichloro-N-[2-(dimethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-

methyl-benzamide (other name: U-47700); 
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8. 3,4-dichloro-N-{[1-

(dimethylamino)cyclohexyl]methyl}benzamide (other 

name: AH-7921); 

9. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-

pentanamide (other name: Pentanoyl fentanyl); 

10. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-2-

furancarboxamide (other name: Furanyl fentanyl); 

11. N-(3-fluorophenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-

propanamide (other name: 3-fluorofentanyl);  

12. Clonazolam; and 

13. Cannabimimetic agents: 

a. Methyl 2-({1-[(4-fluorophenyl)methyl]-1H-indazole-

3-carbonyl}amino)-3-methylbutanoate (other names: 

AMB-FUBINACA, FUB-AMB); 

b. N-(adamantan-1-yl)-1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indazole-

3-carboxamide (other name: FUB-AKB48); 

c. N-(adamantan-1-yl)-1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-

carboxamide (other name: 5F-AKB48); 

d. Naphthalen-1-yl 1-pentyl-1H-indazole-3-carboxylate 

(other name: SDB-005); and 

e. N-(1-amino-3-methyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-

(cyclohexylmethyl)indole-3-carboxamide (other name: 

AB-CHMICA). 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until March 7, 2018, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act.  

C. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 1-propionyl lysergic acid diethylamide (other name: 1P-

LSD); 

2. (2-Methylaminopropyl)benzofuran (other name: 

MAPB); 

3. Ethyl phenyl(piperidin-2-yl)acetate (other name: 

Ethylphenidate); 

4. 2-(3-fluorophenyl)-3-methylmorpholine (other name: 3-

fluorophenmetrazine); and 

5. N-(4-fluorophenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-

butanamide (other name: para-fluorobutyrylfentanyl), its 

optical, positional, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts 

of isomers. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until May 10, 2018, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

D. A. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code 

of Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(dimethylamino)-1-

pentanone (other names: N,N-Dimethylpentylone, 

Dipentylone); 

2. 4-chloro-alpha-Pyrrolidinovalerophenone (other name: 

4-chloro-alpha-PVP); 

3. 4-methyl-alpha-Pyrrolidinohexiophenone (other name: 

MPHP); 

4. 4-fluoro-alpha-Pyrrolidinoheptiophenone (other name: 

4-fluoro-PV8); 

5. 1-(4-methoxyphenyl)-2-(pyrrolidin-1-yl)octan-1-one 

(other name: 4-methoxy-PV9); 

6. 4-allyloxy-3,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (other name: 

Allylescaline); 

7. 4-methyl-alpha-ethylaminopentiophenone; and  

8. N-(4-fluorophenyl)-2-methyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-

piperidinyl]-propanamide (other name: para-

fluoroisobutyryl fentanyl). 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until August 22, 2018, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

E. B. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code 

of Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 6-ethyl-6-nor-lysergic acid diethylamide (other name: 

ETH-LAD), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 

salts, and salts of isomers, whenever the existence of such 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation; 

2. 6-allyl-6-nor-lysergic acid diethylamide (other name: 

AL-LAD), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 

salts, and salts of isomers, whenever the existence of such 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation; 

3. Synthetic opioids:  

a. N-[1-[2-hydroxy-2-(2-thienyl)ethyl]-4-piperidinyl]-N-

phenylpropanamide (other name: beta-

hydroxythiofentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, 

and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless 

specifically excepted, whenever the existence of these 

isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the 

specific chemical designation; 

b. N-(2-fluorophenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-

piperidinyl]-propanamide (other names: 2-fluorofentanyl, 

ortho-fluorofentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, 

and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless 

specifically excepted, whenever the existence of these 

isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the 

specific chemical designation; and 

c. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-2-

propenamide (other name: Acryl fentanyl), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and 

ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 

existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 

possible within the specific chemical designation; 
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4. Cannabimimetic agents:  

a. 1-pentyl-N-(phenylmethyl)-1H-indole-3-carboxamide 

(other name: SDB-006), its salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation; and 

b. Quinolin-8-yl 1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indole-3-

carboxylate (other name: FUB-PB-22), its salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation; and 

5. Benzodiazepine: flubromazepam, its salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until December 13, 2018, unless enacted into law in 

the Drug Control Act. 

C. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 4-Bromo-2,5-dimethoxy-N-[(2-hydroxyphenyl)methyl]-

benzeneethanamine (25B-NBOH), its optical, position, and 

geometric isomers, salts and salts of isomers, whenever the 

existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation.  

2. Methyl N-[1-(cyclohexylmethyl)-1H-indole-3-

carbonyl]valinate (MMB-CHMICA ), its salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

3. N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenyltetrahydrofuran-

2-carboxamide (Tetrahydrofuran fentanyl), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, 

unless specifically excepted, whenever the existence of 

these isomers, esters, ethers and salts is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until February 18, 2019, unless enacted into law in 

the Drug Control Act. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5166; Filed August 9, 2017, 3:43 p.m.  

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Veterinary Medicine (amending 

18VAC150-20-10, 18VAC150-20-30 through 18VAC150-

20-140, 18VAC150-20-172 through 18VAC150-20-220; 

adding 18VAC150-20-201).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 25, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4468, FAX 

(804) 527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

As a result of a periodic review, the amendments (i) 

organize requirements for greater clarity, (ii) update the 

descriptions and requirements for veterinary 

establishments consistent with current practices, (iii) 

specify rules in accordance with board interpretation for 

ease of compliance, (iv) adjust requirements for licensure 

by endorsement, and (v) increase accountability and 

security for prescription drugs. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC150-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"AAVSB" means the American Association of Veterinary 

State Boards. 

"Animal shelter" means a facility, other than a private 

residential dwelling and its surrounding grounds, that is used 

to house or contain animals and that is owned, operated, or 

maintained by a nongovernmental entity including, but not 

limited to, a humane society, animal welfare organization, 

society for the prevention of cruelty to animals, or any other 

organization operating for the purpose of finding permanent 

adoptive homes for animals. 

"Automatic emergency lighting" is lighting that is powered 

by battery, generator, or alternate power source other than 

electrical power, is activated automatically by electrical 

power failure, and provides sufficient light to complete 

surgery or to stabilize the animal until surgery can be 

continued or the animal moved to another establishment.  

"AVMA" means the American Veterinary Medical 

Association.  

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine.  

"Companion animal" means any dog, cat, horse, nonhuman 

primate, guinea pig, hamster, rabbit not raised for human food 

or fiber, exotic or native animal, reptile, exotic or native bird, 

or any feral animal or animal under the care, custody or 

ownership of a person or any animal that is bought, sold, 

traded, or bartered by any person. Agricultural animals, game 

species, or any animals regulated under federal law as 

research animals shall not be considered companion animals 

for the purposes of this chapter. 
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"CVMA" means the Canadian Veterinary Medical 

Association. 

"DEA" means the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration. 

"Full-service establishment" means a stationary or 

ambulatory facility that provides surgery and encompasses all 

aspects of health care for small or large animals, or both.  

[ "ICVA" means the International Council for Veterinary 

Assessment. ]  

"Immediate and direct supervision" means that the licensed 

veterinarian is immediately available to the licensed 

veterinary technician or assistant, either electronically or in 

person, and provides a specific order based on observation 

and diagnosis of the patient within the last 36 hours.   

[ "NBVME" means the National Board of Veterinary 

Medical Examiners. ]  

"Owner" means any person who (i) has a right of property in 

an animal; (ii) keeps or harbors an animal; (iii) has an animal 

in his care; or (iv) acts as a custodian of an animal. 

"Pound" means a facility operated by the state or a locality 

for the purpose of impounding or harboring seized, stray, 

homeless, abandoned, or unwanted animals; or a facility 

operated for the same purpose under a contract with a locality 

or an incorporated society for the prevention of cruelty to 

animals. 

"Preceptee" or "extern" means a student who is enrolled and 

in good standing in an AVMA accredited college of 

veterinary medicine or AVMA accredited veterinary 

technology program and who is receiving practical experience 

under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian or licensed 

veterinary technician. 

"Preceptorship" or "externship" means a formal arrangement 

between an AVMA accredited college of veterinary medicine 

or an AVMA accredited veterinary technology program and a 

veterinarian who is licensed by the board and responsible for 

the practice of the preceptee. A preceptorship or externship 

shall be overseen by faculty of the college or program. 

"Private animal shelter" means a facility that is used to 

house or contain animals and that is owned or operated by an 

incorporated, nonprofit, and nongovernmental entity, 

including a humane society, animal welfare organization, 

society for the prevention of cruelty to animals, or any other 

organization operating for the purpose of finding permanent 

adoptive homes for animals. 

"Professional judgment" includes any decision or conduct in 

the practice of veterinary medicine, as defined by § 54.1-3800 

of the Code of Virginia.  

"Public animal shelter" means a facility operated by the 

Commonwealth, or any locality, for the purpose of 

impounding or sheltering seized, stray, homeless, abandoned, 

unwanted, or surrendered animals, or a facility operated for 

the same purpose under a contract with any locality. 

"Restricted service establishment" means a stationary or 

ambulatory facility which does not meet the requirements of a 

full-service establishment. 

"Specialist" means a veterinarian who has been awarded and 

has maintained the status of diplomate of a specialty 

organization recognized by the American Board of Veterinary 

Specialties of the American Veterinary Medical Association, 

or any other organization approved by the board.  

"Surgery" means treatment through revision, destruction, 

incision or other structural alteration of animal tissue. Surgery 

does not include dental extractions of single-rooted teeth or 

skin closures performed by a licensed veterinary technician 

upon a diagnosis and pursuant to direct orders from a 

veterinarian. 

[ "Veterinarian in charge" "Veterinarian-in-charge" ] means 

a veterinarian who holds an active license in Virginia and 

who is responsible for maintaining a veterinary establishment 

within the standards set by this chapter, for complying with 

federal and state laws and regulations, and for notifying the 

board of the establishment's closure. 

"Veterinary establishment" [ or "establishment" ] means any 

fixed stationary or mobile ambulatory practice, veterinary 

hospital, animal hospital, or premises wherein or out of which 

veterinary medicine is being conducted.  

"Veterinary technician" means a person licensed by the 

board as required by § 54.1-3805 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC150-20-30. Posting of licenses; accuracy of address. 

A. All licenses, and registrations and permits issued by the 

board shall be posted in a place conspicuous to the public at 

the establishment where veterinary services are being 

provided or available for inspection at the location where an 

equine dental technician is working. Licensees who do relief 

or temporary work in an establishment shall carry a license 

with them or post it at the establishment. Ambulatory 

veterinary practices that do not have an office accessible to 

the public shall carry their licenses and permits registrations 

in their vehicles. 

B. It shall be the duty and responsibility of each licensee, 

registrant, and holder of a registration permit to operate a 

veterinary establishment to keep the board apprised at all 

times of his current address of record and the public address, 

if different from the address of record. All notices required by 

law or by this chapter to be mailed to any veterinarian, 

veterinary technician, registered equine dental technician, or 

holder of a permit registration to operate a veterinary 

establishment, shall be validly given when mailed to the 

address of record furnished to the board pursuant to this 

regulation. All address changes shall be furnished to the 

board within 30 days of such change. 

18VAC150-20-70. Licensure renewal requirements. 

A. Every person licensed by the board shall, by January 1 of 

every year, submit to the board a completed renewal 

application and pay to the board a renewal fee as prescribed 
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in 18VAC150-20-100. Failure to renew shall cause the 

license to lapse and become invalid, and practice with a 

lapsed license may subject the licensees licensee to 

disciplinary action by the board. Failure to receive a renewal 

notice does not relieve the licensee of his responsibility to 

renew and maintain a current license. 

B. Veterinarians shall be required to have completed a 

minimum of 15 hours, and veterinary technicians shall be 

required to have completed a minimum of eight hours, of 

approved continuing education for each annual renewal of 

licensure. Continuing education credits or hours may not be 

transferred or credited to another year. 

1. Approved continuing education credit shall be given for 

courses or programs related to the treatment and care of 

patients and shall be clinical courses in veterinary medicine 

or veterinary technology or courses that enhance patient 

safety, such as medical recordkeeping or compliance with 

requirements of the Occupational Health and Safety 

Administration (OSHA). 

2. An approved continuing education course or program 

shall be sponsored by one of the following:  

a. The AVMA or its constituent and component/branch 

associations, specialty organizations, and board certified 

specialists in good standing within their specialty board;  

b. Colleges of veterinary medicine approved by the 

AVMA Council on Education;  

c. International, national, or regional conferences of 

veterinary medicine;  

d. Academies or species-specific interest groups of 

veterinary medicine;  

e. State associations of veterinary technicians;  

f. North American Veterinary Technicians Association;  

g. Community colleges with an approved program in 

veterinary technology;  

h. State or federal government agencies;  

i. American Animal Hospital Association (AAHA) or its 

constituent and component/branch associations;  

j. Journals or veterinary information networks recognized 

by the board as providing education in veterinary 

medicine or veterinary technology; or  

k. An organization or entity approved by the Registry of 

Approved Continuing Education of the American 

Association of Veterinary State Boards AAVSB.  

3. A licensee is exempt from completing continuing 

education requirements and considered in compliance on 

the first renewal date following his initial licensure by 

examination.  

4. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially 

declared disasters.  

5. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up 

to one year for the completion of continuing education 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior 

to the renewal date. Such an extension shall not relieve the 

licensee of the continuing education requirement.  

6. Licensees are required to attest to compliance with 

continuing education requirements on their annual license 

renewal and are required to maintain original documents 

verifying the date and subject of the program or course, the 

number of continuing education hours or credits, and 

certification from an approved sponsor. Original 

documents must be maintained for a period of two years 

following renewal. The board shall periodically conduct a 

random audit to determine compliance. Practitioners 

selected for the audit shall provide all supporting 

documentation within 10 14 days of receiving notification 

of the audit unless an extension is granted by the board.  

7. Continuing education hours required by disciplinary 

order shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements.  

8. Up to two hours of the 15 hours required for annual 

renewal of a veterinarian license and up to one hour of the 

eight hours required for annual renewal of a veterinary 

technician license may be satisfied through delivery of 

veterinary services, without compensation, to low-income 

individuals receiving health services through a local health 

department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily 

for the delivery of those services. One hour of continuing 

education may be credited for three hours of providing 

such volunteer services, as documented by the health 

department or free clinic. 

[ 8. 9. ] Falsifying the attestation of compliance with 

continuing education on a renewal form or failure to 

comply with continuing education requirements may 

subject a licensee to disciplinary action by the board, 

consistent with § 54.1-3807 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. A licensee who has requested that his license be placed 

on inactive status is not authorized to perform acts that are 

considered the practice of veterinary medicine or veterinary 

technology and, therefore, shall not be required to have 

continuing education for annual renewal. To reactivate a 

license, the licensee is required to submit evidence of 

completion of continuing education hours as required by 

§ 54.1-3805.2 of the Code of Virginia and this section equal 

to the number of years in which the license has not been 

active for a maximum of two years.  

18VAC150-20-75. Expired license; reinstatement; practice 

with an expired or lapsed license not permitted.  

A. A license may be renewed up to one year after the 

expiration date, provided a late fee as prescribed in 

18VAC150-20-100 is paid in addition to the required renewal 

fee. A license shall automatically lapse if the licensee fails to 
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renew by the expiration date. The practice of veterinary 

medicine without a current, active license is unlawful and 

may subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the board. 

B. Reinstatement of licenses expired for more than one year 

shall be at the discretion of the board. To reinstate a license, 

the licensee shall pay the reinstatement fee as prescribed in 

18VAC150-20-100 and submit evidence of completion of 

continuing education hours as required by § 54.1-3805.2 of 

the Code of Virginia and 18VAC150-20-70 equal to the 

number of years in which the license has been expired, for a 

maximum of two years. The board may require additional 

documentation of clinical competency and professional 

activities.  

18VAC150-20-100. Fees. 

The following fees shall be in effect: 

Veterinary application for licensure $200 

Veterinary license renewal (active) $175 

Veterinary license renewal (inactive) $85 

Veterinary reinstatement of expired license $255 

Veterinary license late renewal $60 

Veterinarian reinstatement after 

disciplinary action 

$450 

Veterinary technician application for 

licensure 

$65 

Veterinary technician license renewal $50 

Veterinary technician license renewal 

(inactive) 

$25 

Veterinary technician license late renewal $20 

Veterinary technician reinstatement of 

expired license 

$95 

Veterinary technician reinstatement after 

disciplinary action 

$125 

Equine dental technician initial registration $100 

Equine dental technician registration 

renewal 

$70 

Equine dental technician late renewal $25 

Equine dental technician reinstatement $120 

Initial veterinary establishment permit 

registration 

$300 

Veterinary establishment renewal $200 

Veterinary establishment late renewal $75 

Veterinary establishment reinstatement $75 

Veterinary establishment reinspection $300 

Veterinary establishment -- change of 

location 

$300 

Veterinary establishment -- change of 

veterinarian-in-charge 

$40 

Duplicate license $15 

Duplicate wall certificate $25 

Returned check $35 

Licensure verification to another 

jurisdiction 

$25 

Part II  

Licensure for Veterinarians and Veterinary Technicians  

18VAC150-20-110. Requirements for licensure by 

examination as a veterinarian.  

A. The applicant, in order to be licensed by the board to 

practice veterinary medicine, shall:  

1. Have received a degree in veterinary medicine from a 

college or school of veterinary medicine accredited by the 

AVMA or have fulfilled the requirements of the 

Educational Commission of Foreign Veterinary Graduates 

(ECFVG) of the AVMA or any other substantially 

equivalent credentialing body as determined by the board., 

as verified by an official transcript from the applicant's 

college or school, indicating completion of the veterinary 

degree [ . In lieu of a degree from an accredited college or 

school, an applicant may submit verification that he has 

fulfilled the requirements of the Educational Commission 

of Foreign Veterinary Graduates of the AVMA or the 

Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education 

Equivalence of the AAVSB or any other substantially 

equivalent credentialing body as determined by the board ]; 

and 

2. Have passed the North American Veterinary License 

Examination (since the fall of 2000) or the National Board 

Examination and the Clinical Competency Test (prior to 

the fall of 2000) of the [ NBVME ICVA ] or any other 

substantially equivalent national examination as approved 

by the board with a score acceptable to the board. 

[ 3. In lieu of a degree from an accredited college or 

school, an applicant may submit verification that he has 

fulfilled the requirements of the Educational Commission 

of Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) of the AVMA 

or the Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education 

Equivalence (PAVE) of the AAVSB or any other 

substantially equivalent credentialing body as determined 

by the board. ]  

2. File the following documents with the board: B. All 

applicants shall also: 

a. A 1. Submit the application fee specified in 18VAC150-

20-100 and a complete and notarized application on a form 

obtained from the board;  
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b. An official copy, indicating veterinary degree, of the 

applicant's college or school transcript;  

c. Certification of a full and unrestricted 2. Provide 

verification that any license to practice veterinary medicine 

by each board from which the applicant holds a license. 

issued by a board of veterinary medicine in another state or 

United States jurisdiction is in good standing; 

3. Pass the North American Veterinary License 

Examination or the National Board Examination and the 

Clinical Competency Test approved by the American 

Association of Veterinary State Boards or any other 

substantially equivalent national examination as approved 

by the board with a score acceptable to the board.  

4. 3. Sign a statement attesting that the applicant has read, 

understands, and will abide by the statutes and regulations 

governing [ veterinary the ] practice [ of veterinary 

medicine ] in Virginia.; and  

5. 4. Have committed no acts which that would constitute a 

violation of § 54.1-3807 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. C. If the application for licensure has not been 

successfully completed within one year from the date of 

initial submission, a new application and fee shall be 

required.  

18VAC150-20-115. Requirements for licensure by 

examination as a veterinary technician. 

A. The applicant, in order to be licensed by the board as a 

veterinary technician, shall: 

1. Have received a degree in veterinary technology from a 

college or school accredited by the AVMA or the CVMA. 

2. Have filed with the board the following documents: 

a. A complete [ and notarized ] application on a form 

obtained from the board; 

b. An official copy, indicating a veterinary technology 

degree, of the applicant's college or school transcript; and 

c. Certification Verification that the applicant is in good 

standing by each board in another state or United States 

jurisdiction from which the applicant holds a license, 

certification, or registration to practice veterinary 

technology.  

3. Pass a Have passed the Veterinary Technician National 

Examination approved by the AAVSB or any other board-

approved, national board examination for veterinary 

technology with a score acceptable to the board.  

4. Sign a statement attesting that the applicant has read, 

understands, and will abide by the statutes and regulations 

governing [ veterinary the ] practice [ of veterinary 

medicine ] in Virginia.  

[ 5. Have submitted the application fee specified in 

18VAC150-20-100. 

5. 6. ] Have committed no acts that would constitute a 

violation of § 54.1-3807 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The application for licensure shall be valid for a period of 

one year after the date of initial submission, after which time 

a new application and fee shall be required.  

18VAC150-20-120. Requirements for licensure by 

endorsement as a veterinarian. 

A. The board may, in its discretion, grant a license by 

endorsement to an applicant who is licensed to practice 

veterinary medicine in another [ state, the District of 

Columbia, or possessions or territories jurisdiction ] of the 

United States, provided that the applicant:  

1. All licenses are in good standing. Holds at least one 

current, unrestricted license in another jurisdiction of the 

United States and is not a respondent in any pending or 

unresolved board action in any jurisdiction;  

2. The applicant has been Provides documentation of 

having been regularly engaged in clinical practice for at 

least two of the past four years immediately preceding 

application; and  

3. The applicant has met all applicable requirements of 

18VAC150-20-110, except foreign-trained veterinarians 

who have attained specialty recognition by a board 

recognized by the AVMA are exempt from the 

requirements of ECFVG or any other substantially 

equivalent credentialing body as determined by the board. 

Provides documentation of completion of at least 30 hours 

of continuing education requirements during the preceding 

four years;  

4. [ Submits the application fee specified in 18VAC150-

20-100 and a complete application on a form obtained 

from the board; 

5. ] Signs a statement attesting that the applicant has read, 

understands, and will abide by the statutes and regulations 

governing [ veterinary the ] practice [ of veterinary 

medicine ] in Virginia; and  

[ 5. 6. ] Has committed no acts that would constitute a 

violation of § 54.1-3807 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. Provided that the applicant has met the requirements of 

subsection A of this section, the board may, in its discretion, 

waive the requirement that the applicant pass the national 

board exam or the clinical competency test, or both.  

18VAC150-20-121. Requirements for licensure by 

endorsement for veterinary technicians. 

In its discretion, the board may grant a license by 

endorsement to an applicant who is licensed, certified or 

registered to practice as a veterinary technician in another 

[ state, the District of Columbia, or possessions or territories 

jurisdiction ] of the United States, provided that the applicant:  

1. All licenses, certificates or registrations are in good 

standing Holds at least one current and unrestricted license, 

certification, or registration [ issued by the regulatory 

entity ] in another jurisdiction of the United States and that 
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he is not a respondent in any pending or unresolved board 

action in any jurisdiction;  

2. The applicant has been Provides documentation of 

having been regularly engaged in clinical practice as a 

licensed, certified, or registered veterinary technician for at 

least two of the past four years immediately preceding 

application; and  

3. The applicant has Has received a degree in veterinary 

technology from a college or school accredited by the 

AVMA or the CVMA or has passed a the Veterinary 

Technician National Examination approved by the AAVSB 

or any other board-approved national board examination 

for veterinary technology with a score acceptable to the 

board.; 

4. Provides documentation of completion of at least [ 12 

16 ] hours of continuing education requirements during the 

preceding four years; 

5. [ Submits the application fee specified in 18VAC150-

20-100 and a complete application on a form obtained 

from the board; 

6. ] Signs a statement attesting that the applicant has read, 

understands, and will abide by the statutes and regulations 

governing [ veterinary the ] practice [ of veterinary 

medicine ] in Virginia; and 

[ 6. 7. ] Has committed no acts that would constitute a 

violation of § 54.1-3807 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC150-20-130. Requirements for practical training in 

a preceptorship or externship. 

A. The practical training and employment of qualified 

students of veterinary medicine or veterinary technology shall 

be governed and controlled as follows: 

1. A veterinary student who is duly enrolled and in good 

standing in a veterinary college or school accredited or 

approved by the AVMA may be engaged in a 

preceptorship or externship. A veterinary preceptee or 

extern may perform duties that constitute the practice of 

veterinary medicine for which he has received adequate 

instruction by the college or school and only under the on-

premises supervision of a licensed veterinarian. 

2. A veterinary technician student who is duly enrolled and 

in good standing in a veterinary technology program 

accredited or approved by the AVMA may be engaged in a 

preceptorship or externship. A veterinary technician 

preceptee or extern may perform duties that constitute the 

practice of veterinary technology for which he has received 

adequate instruction by the program and only under the on-

premises supervision of a licensed veterinarian or licensed 

veterinary technician. 

B. Whenever a veterinary preceptee or extern is performing 

surgery on a patient, either assisted or unassisted, the 

supervising veterinarian shall be in the operatory during the 

procedure. Prior to allowing a preceptee or extern in 

veterinary medicine to perform surgery on a patient 

unassisted by a licensed veterinarian, a licensed veterinarian 

shall receive written [ approval informed consent ] from the 

owner.  

C. When there is a [ veterinary ] preceptee or extern 

practicing in the establishment, the supervising veterinarian 

shall disclose such practice to owners.  The disclosure shall 

be by signage clearly visible to the public or by inclusion on 

an informed consent form.   

D. A veterinarian or veterinary technician who supervises a 

preceptee or extern remains responsible for the care and 

treatment of the patient. 

18VAC150-20-135. Voluntary practice by out-of-state 

practitioners.  

Any veterinarian who seeks registration to practice on a 

voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly supported all 

volunteer, nonprofit organization that sponsors the provision 

of health care to populations of underserved people shall:  

1. File a complete application for registration on a form 

provided by the board at least five business days prior to 

engaging in such practice. An incomplete application will 

not be considered;  

2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in 

each state in which he has held a license and a copy of 

every current license;  

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates 

and location of the voluntary provision of services;  

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and  

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of 

the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with 

provisions of subdivision 4 of § 54.1-3801 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

Part III  

Unprofessional Conduct  

18VAC150-20-140. Unprofessional conduct. 

Unprofessional conduct as referenced in subdivision 5 of 

§ 54.1-3807 of the Code of Virginia shall include the 

following:  

1. Representing conflicting interests except by express 

consent of all concerned given after a full disclosure of the 

facts. Acceptance of a fee from both the buyer and the 

seller is prima facie evidence of a conflict of interest. 

2. Practicing veterinary medicine or equine dentistry where 

an unlicensed person has the authority to control the 

professional judgment of the licensed veterinarian or the 

equine dental technician. 

3. Issuing a certificate of health unless he shall know of his 

own knowledge by actual inspection and appropriate tests 

of the animals that the animals meet the requirements for 

the issuance of such certificate on the day issued. 

4. Revealing confidences gained in the course of providing 

veterinary services to a client, unless required by law or 
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necessary to protect the health, safety, or welfare of other 

persons or animals. 

5. Advertising in a manner which that is false, deceptive, 

or misleading or which that makes subjective claims of 

superiority. 

6. Violating any state law, federal law, or board regulation 

pertaining to the practice of veterinary medicine, veterinary 

technology or equine dentistry. 

7. Practicing veterinary medicine or as an equine dental 

technician in such a manner as to endanger the health and 

welfare of his patients or the public, or being unable to 

practice veterinary medicine or as an equine dental 

technician with reasonable skill and safety. 

8. Performing surgery on animals in an unregistered 

veterinary establishment or not in accordance with the 

establishment permit registration or with accepted 

standards of practice. 

9. Refusing the board or its agent the right to inspect an 

establishment at reasonable hours. 

10. Allowing unlicensed persons to perform acts restricted 

to the practice of veterinary medicine, veterinary 

technology, or an equine dental technician including any 

invasive procedure on a patient or delegation of tasks to 

persons who are not properly trained or authorized to 

perform such tasks. 

11. Failing to provide immediate and direct supervision to 

a licensed veterinary technician or an assistant in his 

employ. 

12. Refusing to release a copy of a valid prescription upon 

request from a client an owner, unless there are medical 

reasons documented in the patient record and the 

veterinarian would not dispense the medication from his 

own practice. 

13. Misrepresenting or falsifying information on an 

application or renewal form. 

14. Failing to report suspected animal cruelty to the 

appropriate authorities. 

15. Failing to release a copy of patient records when 

requested by the owner; a law-enforcement entity; or a 

federal, state, or local health regulatory agency. 

16. Committing an act constituting fraud, deceit, or 

misrepresentation in dealing with the board or in the 

veterinarian-client-patient veterinarian-owner-patient 

relationship, or with the public. 

17. Representing oneself as a "specialist" without meeting 

the definition set forth in 18VAC150-20-10 or using the 

words "specialist" or "specialty" in the name of a 

veterinary establishment unless there is a veterinarian on 

staff who meets the definition of a "specialist." 

18. Failure to submit evidence of correction resulting from 

a violation noted in an inspection or reported by another 

agency within 14 days, unless an extension is granted by 

the board. 

18VAC150-20-172. Delegation of duties. 

A. A licensed veterinarian may delegate the administration 

(including by injection) of Schedule VI drugs to a properly 

trained assistant under his immediate and direct supervision. 

The prescribing veterinarian has a specific duty and 

responsibility to determine that the assistant has had adequate 

training to safely administer the drug in a manner prescribed. 

B. Injections involving anesthetic or chemotherapy drugs, 

subgingival scaling, [ intubation, ] or the placement of 

intravenous catheters shall not be delegated to an assistant. 

An assistant shall also not be delegated the induction of 

sedation or anesthesia by any means. The monitoring of a 

sedated or anesthetized patient may be delegated to an 

assistant, provided [ the patient is no longer intubated and 

provided ] a veterinarian or licensed veterinary technician 

remains on premises until the patient is fully recovered. 

B. Additional C. [ The following tasks Tasks ] that may be 

delegated by a licensed veterinarian to a properly trained 

assistant [ include ] but are not limited to the following: 

1. Grooming; 

2. Feeding; 

3. Cleaning; 

4. Restraining; 

5. Assisting in radiology; 

6. Setting up diagnostic tests; 

7. [ Prepping a patient or equipment for surgery Clipping 

and scrubbing in preparation for surgery ]; 

8. Dental polishing and scaling of teeth above the gum line 

(supragingival); 

9. Drawing blood samples; or 

10. Filling of Schedule VI prescriptions under the direction 

of a veterinarian licensed in Virginia. 

C. D. A licensed veterinarian may delegate duties 

electronically, verbally, or in writing to appropriate veterinary 

personnel provided the veterinarian has physically examined 

the patient within the previous 36 hours. 

D. E. Massage therapy or, physical therapy, or laser therapy 

may be delegated by a veterinarian to persons qualified by 

training and experience by an order from the veterinarian.  

E. F. The veterinarian remains responsible for the duties 

being delegated and remains responsible for the health and 

safety of the animal. 

18VAC150-20-173. Informed consent for surgery. 

A. Before surgery is performed, informed consent shall be 

obtained from the owner and documented in the patient 

record. Veterinarians shall inform an owner of the risks, 

benefits, and alternatives of the recommended surgery that a 

reasonably prudent practitioner in similar practice in Virginia 

would tell an owner.  
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B. An exception to the requirement for consent prior to 

performance of surgery may be made in an emergency 

situation when a delay in obtaining consent would likely 

result in imminent harm to the patient.   

C. If a veterinary [ student, ] preceptee [ , ] or extern is to 

perform the surgery, [ either assisted or unassisted, ] the 

informed consent shall include that information. [ If the 

surgery is to be performed by a preceptee or extern unassisted 

by the veterinarian, the written informed consent shall 

specifically state that information. ]  

Part V  

Veterinary Establishments  

18VAC150-20-180. Requirements to be registered as a 

veterinary establishment. 

A. Every veterinary establishment shall apply for 

registration on a form provided by the board [ and may be 

issued and submit the application fee specified in 18VAC150-

20-100. The board may issue ] a permit registration as a full-

service or restricted service stationary or ambulatory 

establishment. Every veterinary establishment shall have a 

veterinarian-in-charge registered with the board in order to 

operate. 

1. Veterinary medicine may only be practiced out of a 

registered establishment except in emergency situations or 

in limited specialized practices as provided in 18VAC150-

20-171. The injection of a microchip for identification 

purposes shall only be performed in a veterinary 

establishment, except personnel of public or private animal 

shelters or pounds may inject animals while in their 

possession. 

2. [ Applications An application ] for permits registration 

must be made to the board 45 days in advance of opening 

or changing the location of the establishment or requesting 

a change in the establishment category to a full-service 

establishment listed on the registration. 

3. Any addition or renovation of a stationary establishment 

or an ambulatory establishment that involves changes to 

the structure or composition of a surgery room shall 

require reinspection by the board and payment of the 

required fee prior to use. 

B. A veterinary establishment will be registered by the board 

when: 

1. It is inspected by the board and is found to meet the 

standards set forth by 18VAC150-20-190 and 18VAC150-

20-200 or 18VAC150-20-201 where applicable. If, during 

a new or routine inspection, violations or deficiencies are 

found necessitating a reinspection, the prescribed 

reinspection fee will be levied. Failure to pay the fee shall 

be deemed unprofessional conduct and, until paid, the 

establishment shall be deemed to be unregistered. 

2. A veterinarian currently licensed by and in good 

standing with the board is registered with the board in 

writing as veterinarian-in-charge and has paid ensures that 

the establishment registration fee has been paid. 

18VAC150-20-181. Requirements for veterinarian-in-

charge.  

A. The veterinarian-in-charge of a veterinary establishment 

is responsible for:  

1. Regularly being on site on a schedule of no less than 

monthly and providing as necessary to provide routine 

oversight to the veterinary establishment for patient safety 

and compliance with law and regulation.  

2. Maintaining the facility within the standards set forth by 

this chapter.  

3. Performing the biennial controlled substance inventory 

and ensuring compliance at the facility with any federal or 

state law relating to controlled substances as defined in § 

54.1-3404 of the Code of Virginia. The performance of the 

biennial inventory may be delegated to another licensee, 

provided the veterinarian-in-charge signs the inventory and 

remains responsible for its content and accuracy. 

4. Notifying the board in writing of the closure of the 

permitted registered facility 10 days prior to closure.  

5. Notifying the board immediately if no longer acting as 

the veterinarian-in-charge.  

6. Ensuring the establishment maintains a current and valid 

permit registration issued by the board. 

B. Upon any change in veterinarian-in-charge, these 

procedures shall be followed:  

1. The veterinarian-in-charge registered with the board 

remains responsible for the establishment and the stock of 

controlled substances until a new veterinarian-in-charge is 

registered or for five days, whichever occurs sooner.  

2. An application for a new permit registration, naming the 

new veterinarian-in-charge, shall be made five days prior 

to the change of the veterinarian-in-charge. If no prior 

notice was given by the previous veterinarian-in-charge, an 

application for a new permit registration naming a new 

veterinarian-in-charge shall be filed as soon as possible, 

but no more than 10 days, after the change.  

3. The previous establishment permit registration is void 

on the date of the change of veterinarian-in-charge and 

shall be returned by the former veterinarian-in-charge to 

the board five days following the date of change.  

4. Prior to the opening of the business, on the date of the 

change of veterinarian-in-charge, the new veterinarian-in-

charge shall take a complete inventory of all [ Schedule ] 

II-V [ Schedules ] II through V drugs on hand. He shall 

date and sign the inventory and maintain it on premises for 

two three years. That inventory may be designated as the 

official biennial controlled substance inventory.  

C. Prior to the sale or closure of a veterinary establishment, 

[ involving the transfer of patient records to another location ] 

the veterinarian-in-charge shall: 
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1. Follow the requirements for transfer of patient records 

[ to another location ] in accordance with § 54.1-2405 of 

the Code of Virginia; and 

2. [ Provide If there is no transfer of records upon sale or 

closure of an establishment, the veterinarian-in-charge 

shall provide ] to the board information about the location 

of [ or access to ] patient records and the disposition of all 

scheduled drugs. 

18VAC150-20-185. Renewal of veterinary establishment 

permits registrations.  

A. Every veterinary establishment shall be required to renew 

the registration permit by January 1 of each year and pay to 

the board a registration fee as prescribed in 18VAC150-20-

100.  

B. Failure to renew the establishment permit registration by 

January 1 of each year shall cause the permit registration to 

expire and become invalid. Practicing veterinary medicine in 

an establishment with an expired registration may subject a 

licensee or registration holder to disciplinary action by the 

board. The permit registration may be reinstated without 

reinspection within 30 days of expiration, provided the board 

receives a properly executed renewal application, renewal fee, 

and a late fee as prescribed in 18VAC150-20-100.  

C. Reinstatement of an expired permit registration after 30 

days shall be at the discretion of the board and contingent 

upon a reinspection and payment of the late fee, the 

reinspection fee, the renewal fee and the veterinary 

establishment permit registration reinstatement fee.  

18VAC150-20-190. Requirements for drug storage, 

dispensing, destruction, and records for all 

establishments, full service and restricted.  

A. All drugs shall be maintained, administered, dispensed, 

prescribed and destroyed in compliance with state and federal 

laws, which include § 54.1-3303 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), applicable parts of the federal Food, Drug, and 

Cosmetic Control Act (21 USC § 301 et seq.), the 

Prescription Drug Marketing Act (21 USC § 301 et seq.), and 

the Controlled Substances Act (21 USC § 801 et seq.), as well 

as applicable portions of Title 21 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations. 

B. All repackaged tablets and capsules dispensed for 

companion animals shall be in approved safety closure 

containers, except safety caps shall not be required when any 

person who requests that the medication not have a safety 

cap, or in such cases in which the medication is of such form 

or size that it cannot be reasonably dispensed in such 

containers (e.g., topical medications, ophthalmic, or otic). A 

client An owner request for nonsafety packaging shall be 

documented in the patient record. 

C. All drugs dispensed for companion animals shall be 

labeled with the following:  

1. Name and address of the facility;  

2. Name First and last name of client owner;  

3. Animal identification and species;  

4. Date dispensed;  

5. Directions for use;  

6. Name, strength (if more than one dosage form exists), 

and quantity of the drug; and  

7. Name of the prescribing veterinarian.  

D. All drugs shall be maintained veterinary establishments 

shall maintain drugs in a secured secure manner with 

precaution taken to prevent theft or diversion. Only the 

veterinarian [ or licensed, ] veterinary technician [ , 

pharmacist, or pharmacy technician ] shall have access to 

[ Schedule Schedules ] II through V drugs [ , with the 

exception provided in subdivision 6 of this subsection ]. 

1. All Schedule II through V drugs shall be maintained 

under lock at all times, with access to the veterinarian or 

veterinary technician only, but not to any unlicensed 

personnel In a stationary establishment, the general stock 

of [ Schedule Schedules ] II through V drugs shall be 

stored in a securely locked cabinet or safe that is not easily 

movable.  

2. The establishment may also have a working stock of 

[ Schedule Schedules ] II through V drugs that shall be 

kept in (i) a securely locked container, cabinet, or safe 

when not in use or (ii) direct possession of a veterinarian or 

veterinary technician. A working stock shall consist of 

only those drugs that are necessary for use during a normal 

business day or 24 hours, whichever is less.  

3. Whenever the establishment is closed, all general and 

working stock of [ Schedule Schedules ] II through V 

drugs and any dispensed prescriptions that were not 

delivered during normal business hours shall be securely 

stored as required for the general stock.  

4. Prescriptions that have been dispensed and prepared for 

delivery shall be maintained under lock or in an area that is 

not readily accessible to the public and may be delivered to 

an owner by an unlicensed person, as designated by the 

veterinarian. 

2. 5. Whenever a veterinarian discovers a theft or any 

unusual loss of [ Schedule Schedules ] II, III, IV, or 

through V drugs is discovered, he the veterinarian-in-

charge, or in his absence, his designee, shall immediately 

report such theft or loss to the Board of Veterinary 

Medicine and the Board of Pharmacy and to the U.S. Drug 

Enforcement Administration DEA. The report to the 

boards shall be in writing and sent electronically or by 

regular mail. The report to the DEA shall be in accordance 

with 21 CFR 1301.76(b). If the veterinarian-in-charge is 

unable to determine the exact kind and quantity of the drug 

loss, he shall immediately take a complete inventory of all 

[ Schedule Schedules ] II through V drugs. 
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[ 6. Access to drugs by unlicensed persons shall be allowed 

only under the following conditions: 

a. An animal is being kept at the establishment outside of 

the normal hours of operation, and a licensed practitioner 

is not present in the facility; 

b. The drugs are limited to those dispensed to a specific 

patient; and 

c. The drugs are maintained separately from the 

establishment's general drug stock and kept in such a 

manner so they are not readily available to the public. ] 

E. [ Schedule Schedules ] II, III, IV and through V drugs 

shall be destroyed by (i) transferring the drugs to another 

entity authorized to possess or provide for proper disposal of 

such drugs or (ii) destroying the drugs by burning in an 

incinerator that is in compliance with applicable local, state, 

and federal laws and regulations. If [ Schedule Schedules ] II 

through V drugs are to be destroyed, a DEA drug destruction 

form shall be fully completed and used as the record of all 

drugs to be destroyed. A copy of the destruction form shall be 

retained at the veterinarian practice site with other inventory 

records.  

F. The drug storage area shall have appropriate provision for 

temperature control for all drugs and biologics, including. If 

drugs requiring refrigeration are maintained at the facility, 

they shall be kept in a refrigerator with the interior 

thermometer maintained between 36°F and 46°F. If a 

refrigerated drug is in [ Schedule Schedules ] II through V, 

the drug shall be kept in a locked container secured to the 

refrigerator, or the refrigerator shall be locked. Drugs stored 

at room temperature shall be maintained between 59°F and 

86°F.  

G. The stock of drugs shall be reviewed frequently, and 

expired drugs shall be removed from the working stock of 

drugs at the expiration date and shall not be administered or 

dispensed.  

G. H. A distribution record shall be maintained in addition 

to the patient's record, in chronological order, for the 

administration and dispensing of all [ Schedule ] II-

V  [ Schedules ] II through V drugs. 

This record is to be maintained for a period of two three 

years from the date of transaction. This record shall include 

the following:  

1. Date of transaction;  

2. Drug name, strength, and the amount dispensed, 

administered, and wasted;  

3. Client Owner and animal identification; and  

4. Identification of the veterinarian authorizing the 

administration or dispensing of the drug.  

H. I. Original invoices for all [ Schedule Schedules ] II, III, 

IV and through V drugs received shall be maintained in 

chronological order on the premises where the stock of drugs 

is held, and the actual date of receipt is shall be noted. 

Invoices for Schedule II drugs shall be maintained separately 

from other records. All drug records shall be maintained for a 

period of two three years from the date of transaction. 

I. J. A complete and accurate inventory of all [ Schedule 

Schedules ] II, III, IV and through V drugs shall be taken, 

dated, and signed on any date that is within two years of the 

previous biennial inventory. Drug strength must be specified. 

This inventory shall indicate if it was made at the opening or 

closing of business and shall be maintained on the premises 

where the drugs are held for two three years from the date of 

taking the inventory.  

K. Inventories and records, including original invoices, of 

Schedule II drugs shall be maintained separately from all 

other records, and the establishment shall maintain a 

continuous inventory of all Schedule II drugs received, 

administered, or dispensed, with reconciliation at least 

monthly. Reconciliation requires an explanation noted on the 

inventory for any difference between the actual physical 

count and the theoretical count indicated by the distribution 

record. A continuous inventory shall accurately indicate the 

physical count of each Schedule II drug in the general and 

working stocks at the time of performing the inventory.  

J. L. Veterinary establishments in which bulk reconstitution 

of injectable, bulk compounding, or the prepackaging of 

drugs is performed shall maintain adequate control records 

for a period of one year or until the expiration, whichever is 

greater. The records shall show the name of the drug(s) drugs 

used; strength, if any; date repackaged; quantity prepared; 

initials of the veterinarian verifying the process; the assigned 

lot or control number; the manufacturer's or distributor's name 

and lot or control number; and an expiration date. 

M. If a limited stationary or ambulatory practice uses the 

facilities of another veterinary establishment, the drug 

distribution log shall clearly reveal whose [ Schedule 

Schedules ] II through V drugs were used. If the 

establishment's drug stock is used, the distribution record 

shall show that the procedure was performed by a visiting 

veterinarian who has the patient record. If the visiting 

veterinarian uses his own stock of drugs, he shall make 

entries in his own distribution record and in the patient record 

and shall leave a copy of the patient record at the other 

establishment. 

18VAC150-20-195. Recordkeeping. 

A. A legible, daily record of each patient treated shall be 

maintained by the veterinarian at the [ permitted registered ] 

veterinary establishment and shall include pertinent medical 

data such as drugs administered, dispensed or prescribed, and 

all relevant medical and surgical procedures performed. 

Records should contain at a minimum: 

1. Name of the patient and the owner; 

2. Identification of the treating veterinarian and of the 

person making the entry (Initials may be used if a master 

list that identifies the initials is maintained.); 
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1. 3. Presenting [ complaint/reason complaint or reason ] 

for contact; 

4. Date of contact; 

2. 5. Physical examination findings, if appropriate; 

3. 6. Tests and diagnostics performed and results; 

4. 7. Procedures [ performed/treatment performed, 

treatment ] given [ , ] and results; and 

5. 8. Drugs (and their dosages) administered, dispensed, or 

prescribed, including quantity, strength and dosage, and 

route of administration. For vaccines, identification of the 

lot and manufacturer shall be maintained;  

9. Radiographs or digital images clearly labeled with 

identification of the establishment, the patient name, date 

taken, and anatomic specificity. If an original radiograph or 

digital image is transferred to another establishment or 

released to the owner, a record of this transfer or release 

shall be maintained on or with the patient's records; and 

10. Any specific instructions for discharge or referrals to 

other practitioners. 

B. Individual records An individual record shall be 

maintained on each patient, except that records for economic 

animals or litters of companion animals under the age of four 

months may be maintained on a per client owner basis. Client 

Patient records, including radiographs or digital images, shall 

be kept for a period of three years following the last office 

visit or discharge of such animal from a veterinary 

establishment.  

C. An animal identification system must be used by the 

establishment.  

D. Upon the sale or closure of a veterinary establishment 

involving the transfer of patient records to another location, 

the veterinarian shall follow the requirements for transfer of 

patient records in accordance with § 54.1-2405 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

E. C. An initial rabies certification for an animal receiving a 

primary rabies vaccination shall clearly display the following 

information: "An animal is not considered immunized for at 

least 28 days after the initial or primary vaccination is 

administered." 

18VAC150-20-200. Standards for stationary veterinary 

establishments. 

A. Full-service Stationary establishments. A full-service 

stationary establishment shall provide surgery and encompass 

all aspects of health care for small or large animals, or both. 

All full-service stationary establishments shall meet the 

requirements set forth below in this subsection:  

1. Buildings and grounds must be maintained to provide 

sanitary facilities for the care and medical well-being of 

patients.  

a. Temperature, ventilation, and lighting must be 

consistent with the medical well-being of the patients. 

b. Water and waste. There shall be on-premises: 

(1) Hot and cold running water of drinking quality, as 

defined by the Virginia Department of Health; 

(2) An acceptable method of disposal of deceased 

animals, in accordance with any local ordinance or state 

and federal regulations; and 

(3) Refrigeration exclusively for carcasses of companion 

animals that require storage for 24 hours or more. 

c. Sanitary toilet and lavatory shall be available for 

personnel and clients owners.  

2. Areas within building. The areas within the facility shall 

include the following:  

a. A reception area separate from other designated 

rooms;  

b. Examination room or rooms containing a table or 

tables with nonporous surfaces;  

c. Surgery room. There shall be a A room which that is 

reserved only for surgery and used for no other purpose. 

The walls of the surgery room must be constructed of 

nonporous material and extend from the floor to the 

ceiling. In order that surgery can be performed in a 

manner compatible with current veterinary medical 

practice with regard to anesthesia, asepsis, life support, 

and monitoring procedures, the surgery room shall:  

(1) Have walls constructed of nonporous material and 

extending from the floor to the ceiling; 

(2) Be of a size adequate to accommodate a surgical 

table, anesthesia support equipment, surgical supplies, 

the veterinarian, an assistant, and the patient and all 

personnel necessary for safe performance of the surgery;  

(2) (3) Be kept so that storage in the surgery room shall 

be limited to items and equipment normally related to 

surgery and surgical procedures;  

(4) Have a surgical table made of nonporous material; 

(5) Have surgical supplies, instruments, and equipment 

commensurate with the kind of services provided; 

(6) Have surgical and automatic emergency lighting to 

facilitate performance of procedures; and 

(3) (7) For small animal facilities establishments that 

perform surgery on small animals, have a door to close 

off the surgery room from other areas of the practice. 

d. Laboratory. 3. The veterinary establishment shall have, 

as at a minimum, proof of use of either in-house laboratory 

service or outside laboratory services for performing the 

following lab tests, consistent with appropriate 

professional care for the species being treated:.  

(1) Urinalysis, including microscopic examination of 

sediment;  

(2) Complete blood count, including differential;  

(3) Flotation test for ova of internal parasites;  
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(4) Skin scrapings for diagnosing external parasites;  

(5) Blood chemistries;  

(6) Cultures and sensitivities;  

(7) Biopsy;  

(8) Complete necropses, including histopathology; and  

(9) Serology.  

e. Animal housing areas. These shall be provided with 4. 

For housing animals, the establishment shall provide:  

a. An animal identification system at all times when 

housing an animal; 

b. Accommodations of appropriate size and construction 

to prevent residual contamination or injury;  

(1) Separate compartments constructed in such a way as 

to prevent residual contamination;  

(2) c. Accommodations allowing for the effective 

separation of contagious and noncontagious patients; and  

(3) d. Exercise runs which areas that provide and allow 

effective separation of animals or walking the animals at 

medically appropriate intervals. 

3. Radiology. 5. A veterinary establishment shall: a. Either 

either have radiology service in-house or documentation of 

outside services for obtaining diagnostic-quality 

radiographs. b. If radiology is in-house: (1) Each 

radiograph shall be permanently imprinted with the 

identity of the facility or veterinarian, patient and the date 

of exposure. Each radiograph shall also be clearly labeled 

by permanent imprinting to reflect anatomic specificity. (2) 

Document, the establishment shall: 

a. Document that radiographic equipment complies with 

Part VI (12VAC5-481-1581 et seq.), Use of Diagnostic 

X-Rays in the Healing Arts, of the Virginia Radiation 

Protection Regulations of the Virginia Department of 

Health, which requirements are adopted by this board 

and incorporated herewith by reference in this chapter. 

c. Maintain radiographs as a part of the patient's record. 

If a radiograph is transferred to another establishment or 

released to the client, a record of this transfer must be 

maintained on or with the patient's records.  

b. Maintain and utilize lead aprons and gloves and 

individual radiation exposure badges for each employee 

exposed to radiographs. 

4. Equipment; minimum requirements. 6. Minimum 

equipment in the establishment shall include:  

a. Examination room containing a table with nonporous 

surface.  

b. Surgery suite.  

(1) Surgical table with nonporous surface;  

(2) Surgical supplies, instruments and equipment 

commensurate with the kind of surgical services 

provided;  

(3) Automatic emergency lighting;  

(4) Surgical lighting;  

(5) Instrument table, stand, or tray; and  

(6) Waste receptacle.  

c. Radiology (if in-house).  

(1) Lead aprons and gloves;  

(2) Radiation exposure badges; and  

(3) X-ray machine.  

d. General equipment.  

(1) Steam pressure sterilizer or an a. An appropriate 

method of sterilizing instruments;  

(2) b. Internal and external sterilization monitors, if 

steam pressure sterilizers are used;  

(3) c. Stethoscope;  

(4) Thermometer;  

(5) d. Equipment for delivery of assisted ventilation 

appropriate to the species being treated, including but not 

necessarily limited to: (a) A resuscitation bag; and (b) 

Endotracheal endotracheal tubes.; 

(6) Scales e. Adequate means of determining patient's 

weight; and  

(7) f. Storage for records.  

B. Additional requirements for stationary establishments. 

1. A stationary establishment that is open to the public 24 

hours a day shall have licensed personnel on premises at all 

times and shall be equipped to handle emergency critical 

care and hospitalization. The establishment shall have 

radiology/imaging and laboratory services available on 

site.  

2. A stationary establishment that is not open to the public 

24 hours a day shall have licensed personnel available 

during its advertised hours of operation and shall disclose 

to the public that the establishment does not have 

continuous staffing in compliance with § 54.1-3806.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

3. All stationary establishments shall provide for continuity 

of care when a patient is transferred to another 

establishment. 

Restricted C. Limited stationary establishments. When the 

scope of practice is less than full service, a specifically 

restricted limited establishment permit registration shall be 

required. Upon submission of a completed application, 

satisfactory inspection, and payment of the permit [ veterinary 

establishment ] registration fee, a restricted limited 

establishment permit registration may be issued. Such 

restricted establishments shall have posted in a conspicuous 

manner the specific limitations on the scope of practice on a 

form provided by the board.  

1. Large animal establishment, ambulatory practice. A 

large animal ambulatory establishment is a mobile practice 
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in which health care of large animals is performed at the 

location of the animal. Surgery on large animals may be 

performed as part of a large animal ambulatory practice 

provided the facility has surgical supplies, instruments and 

equipment commensurate with the kind of surgical services 

provided. All large animal ambulatory establishments shall 

meet the requirements of a full-service establishment in 

subsection A of this section with the exception of those set 

forth below:  

a. All requirements for buildings and grounds.  

b. All requirements for an examination room and surgery 

suite.  

c. Equipment for assisted ventilation.  

d. Scales.  

2. Small animal establishment, house call practice. A small 

animal house call establishment is a mobile practice in 

which health care of small animals is performed at the 

residence of the owner of the small animal. Surgery may 

be performed only in a surgical suite that has passed 

inspection. Small animal house call facilities shall meet the 

requirements of a full-service establishment in subsection 

A of this section with the exception of those set forth 

below:  

a. All requirements for buildings and grounds.  

b. All requirements for an examination room or surgery 

suite.  

c. Steam pressure sterilizer.  

d. Internal or external sterilization monitor.  

3. Small animal establishment, outpatient practice. A small 

animal outpatient establishment is a stationary facility or 

ambulatory practice where health care of small animals is 

performed. This practice may include surgery, provided the 

facility is equipped with a surgery suite as required by 

subdivision A 2 c of this section. Overnight hospitalization 

shall not be required. All other requirements of a full-

service establishment shall be met.  

C. D. A separate [ facility permit establishment ] registration 

is required for separate practices that share the same location. 

18VAC150-20-201. Standards for ambulatory veterinary 

establishments. 

A. Agricultural or equine ambulatory practice. An 

agricultural or equine ambulatory establishment is a mobile 

practice in which health care is performed at the location of 

the animal. Surgery on large animals may be performed as 

part of an agricultural or equine ambulatory practice provided 

the establishment has surgical supplies, instruments, and 

equipment commensurate with the kind of surgical 

procedures performed. All agricultural or equine ambulatory 

establishments shall meet the requirements of a stationary 

establishment for laboratory, radiology, and minimum 

equipment, with the exception of equipment for assisted 

ventilation. 

B. House call or proceduralist establishment. A house call or 

proceduralist establishment is an ambulatory practice in 

which health care of small animals is performed at the 

residence of the owner of the small animal or another 

establishment registered by the board. A veterinarian who has 

established a veterinarian-owner-patient relationship with an 

animal at the owner's residence or at another registered 

veterinary establishment may also provide care for that 

animal at the location of the patient. 

1. Surgery may be performed only in a surgical suite at a 

registered establishment that has passed inspection. 

[ However, surgery requiring only local anesthetics may be 

performed at a location other than in a surgical suite. ] 

2. House call or proceduralist establishments shall meet the 

requirements of a stationary establishment for laboratory, 

radiology, and minimum equipment, with the exception of 

equipment for assisted ventilation.  

C. Mobile service establishment. A mobile service 

establishment is a veterinary clinic or hospital that can be 

moved from one location to another and from which 

veterinary services are provided. A mobile service 

establishment shall meet all the requirements of a stationary 

establishment appropriate for the services provided.  

D. A separate establishment registration is required for 

separate practices that share the same location. 

18VAC150-20-210. Revocation or suspension of a 

veterinary establishment permit registration. 

A. The board may revoke or suspend or take other 

disciplinary action deemed appropriate against the 

registration permit of a veterinary establishment if it finds the 

establishment to be in violation of any provisions provision of 

laws or regulations governing veterinary medicine or if: 

1. The board or its agents are denied access to the 

establishment to conduct an inspection or investigation; 

2. The licensee holder of a registration does not pay any 

and all prescribed fees or monetary penalties; 

3. The establishment is performing procedures beyond the 

scope of a restricted limited [ stationary ] establishment 

permit registration; or 

4. The establishment has no veterinarian-in-charge 

registered with the board. 

B. The Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia) shall apply to any determination under this 

section. 

Part VI  

Equine Dental Technicians  

18VAC150-20-220. Requirements for registration as an 

equine dental technician. 

A. A person applying for registration as an equine dental 

technician shall provide a recommendation from at least two 

veterinarians licensed in Virginia who attest that at least 50% 

of their practice is equine, and that they have observed the 
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applicant within the past five years immediately preceding the 

attestation and can attest to his competency to be registered as 

an equine dental technician. 

B. The qualifications for registration shall include 

documentation of one of the following: 

1. Current certification from the International Association 

of Equine Dentistry; 

2. Completion of a board-approved certification program 

or training program; 

3. Completion of a veterinary technician program that 

includes equine dentistry in the curriculum; or 

4. Evidence of equine dental practice for at least five years 

and proof of 16 hours of continuing education in equine 

dentistry completed within the five years immediately 

preceding application for registration. 

C. In order to maintain an equine dental technician 

registration, a person shall renew such registration by January 

1 of each year by payment of the renewal fee specified in 

18VAC150-20-100 and attestation of obtaining 16 hours of 

continuing education relating to equine dentistry within the 

past three years. 

1. Equine dental technicians shall be required to maintain 

original documents verifying the date and subject of the 

continuing education program or course, the number of 

continuing education hours, and certification of completion 

from a sponsor. Original documents shall be maintained 

for a period of two years following renewal. The board 

shall periodically conduct a random audit to determine 

compliance. Practitioners selected for the audit shall 

provide all supporting documentation within 10 14 days of 

receiving notification of the audit, unless granted an 

extension by the board. 

a. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the technician, such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially 

declared disasters.  

b. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up 

to one year for the completion of continuing education 

requirements upon written request from the technician 

prior to the renewal date. Such an extension shall not 

relieve the technician of the continuing education 

requirement.  

2. Registration may be renewed up to one year after the 

expiration date, provided a late fee as prescribed in 

18VAC150-20-100 is paid in addition to the required 

renewal fee. 

3. Reinstatement of registration expired for more than one 

year shall be at the discretion of the board. To reinstate a 

registration, the applicant shall pay the reinstatement fee as 

prescribed in 18VAC150-20-100 and submit evidence of 

completion of continuing education hours equal to the 

number of years in which the registration has been expired, 

for a maximum of two years. The board may require 

additional documentation of clinical competency and 

professional activities. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4496; Filed August 4, 2017, 2:30 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-80. Auxiliary Grants 

Program (amending 22VAC30-80-10, 22VAC30-80-20, 

22VAC30-80-30, 22VAC30-80-40, 22VAC30-80-45, 

22VAC30-80-60, 22VAC30-80-70).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 51.5-131 and 51.5-160 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 4, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Tishaun Harris-Ugworji, Program 

Consultant, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA, VA 

23229, telephone (804) 662-7531, or email 

tishaun.harrisugworji@dars.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments (i) permit assisted living facilities and 

adult foster care programs to accept payments from third 

parties for certain goods and services provided to 

auxiliary grants recipients, (ii) address documentation for 

and permitted uses of third-party payments, and (iii) 

clarify the services and goods that providers are required 

to provide under the Auxiliary Grants Program. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

22VAC30-80-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Adult foster care" or "AFC" means a locally optional 

program that provides room and board, supervision, and 

special services to an adult individual who has a physical or 

mental health need. Adult foster care may be provided for up 

to three adults individuals by any one provider who is 

approved by the local department of social services. 

"Assisted living care" means a level of service provided by 

an assisted living facility for adults individuals who may have 

physical or mental impairments and require at least moderate 

assistance with the activities of daily living. Included in this 

level of service are individuals who are dependent in behavior 

pattern (i.e., abusive, aggressive, disruptive) as documented 

on the Uniform Assessment Instrument.  
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"Assisted living facility" or "ALF" means, as defined in 

§ 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia, any congregate residential 

setting that provides or coordinates personal and health care 

services, 24-hour supervision, and assistance (scheduled and 

unscheduled) for the maintenance or care of four or more 

adults who are aged, infirm or disabled and who are cared for 

in a primarily residential setting, except (i) a facility or 

portion of a facility licensed by the State Board of Health or 

the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, but including any portion of such facility not so 

licensed; (ii) the home or residence of an individual who 

cares for or maintains only persons related to him by blood or 

marriage; (iii) a facility or portion of a facility serving infirm 

or disabled persons between the ages of 18 and 21, or 22 if 

enrolled in an educational program for the handicapped 

pursuant to § 22.1-214 of the Code of Virginia, when such 

facility is licensed by the department as a children's 

residential facility under Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of 

Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia, but including any portion 

of the facility not so licensed; and (iv) any housing project for 

persons 62 years of age or older or the disabled that provides 

no more than basic coordination of care services and is 

funded by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban 

Development, by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, or by 

the Virginia Housing Development Authority. Included in 

this definition are any two or more places, establishments or 

institutions owned or operated by a single entity and 

providing maintenance or care to a combined total of four or 

more aged, infirm or disabled adults. Maintenance or care 

means the protection, general supervision and oversight of the 

physical and mental well-being of an aged, infirm or disabled 

individual. 

Assuming responsibility for the well-being of individuals 

residing in an ALF, either directly or through contracted 

agents, is considered "general supervision and oversight." 

"Authorized payee" means the individual who may be a 

court-appointed conservator or guardian, a person with a valid 

power of attorney, or an authorized representative with the 

documented authority to accept funds on behalf of the 

individual. An authorized payee for the auxiliary grant shall 

not be (i) the licensee or (ii) the owner of, employee of, or an 

entity hired by or contracted by the ALF or AFC home. 

"Authorized representative" means the person representing 

or standing in place of the individual receiving the auxiliary 

grant for the conduct of the auxiliary grant recipient's affairs 

(i.e., personal or business interests). "Authorized 

representative" may include a guardian, conservator, attorney-

in-fact under durable power of attorney, trustee, or other 

person expressly named in writing by the individual as his 

agent. An authorized representative shall not be (i) the 

licensee or (ii) the owner of, employee of, or an entity hired 

by or contracted by the ALF or AFC home unless the 

auxiliary grant recipient designates such a person to assist 

with financial management of his personal needs allowance 

as a choice of last resort because there is no other authorized 

representative willing or available to serve in this capacity. 

"Auxiliary Grants Program" or "AG" means a state and 

locally funded assistance program to supplement income of 

an individual receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI) 

or adult who would be eligible for SSI except for excess 

income, who resides in an ALF or in AFC home with an 

established rate. 

"Certification" means a an official approval as designated on 

the form provided by the department and prepared by the 

ALF annually certifying that the ALF has properly managed 

the personal funds and personal needs allowances of 

individuals residing in the ALF and is in compliance with 

program regulations and appropriate licensing regulations. 

"Department" means the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services.  

"Established rate" means the rate as set forth in the 

appropriation act or as set forth to meet federal maintenance 

of effort requirements. 

"Licensee" means any person, association, partnership, 

corporation, or governmental unit to whom a license to 

operate an [ AFC is issued in accordance with 22VAC40-60 

or a license to operate an ] ALF is issued in accordance with 

22VAC40-72. 

"Personal funds" means payments the individual receives, 

whether earned or unearned, including wages, pensions, 

Social Security benefits, and retirement benefits. "Personal 

funds" does not include personal needs allowance. 

"Personal needs allowance" means an amount of money 

reserved for meeting the adult's personal needs when 

computing the amount of the AG payment a portion of the 

AG payment that is reserved for meeting the individual's 

personal needs. The amount is established by the Virginia 

General Assembly. 

"Personal representative" means the person representing or 

standing in the place of the individual for the conduct of his 

affairs. This may include a guardian, conservator, attorney-in-

fact under durable power of attorney, next-of-kin, descendent, 

trustee, or other person expressly named by the individual as 

his agent. 

"Personal toiletries" means hygiene items provided to the 

individual by the ALF or AFC home including deodorant, 

razor, shaving cream, shampoo, soap, toothbrush, and 

toothpaste. 

"Program" means the Auxiliary Grant Program. 

"Provider" means an ALF that is licensed by the Department 

of Social Services or an AFC provider that is approved by a 

local department of social services. 

"Provider agreement" means a document that the ALF must 

complete and submit to the department when requesting to be 

approved for admitting individuals receiving AG. 
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"Qualified assessor" means an individual who is authorized 

by 22VAC30-110 to perform an assessment, reassessment, or 

change in level of care for an individual applying for AG or 

residing in an ALF.  

"Rate" means the established rate.  

"Residential living care" means a level of service provided 

by an ALF for adults individuals who may have physical or 

mental impairments and require only minimal assistance with 

the activities of daily living. Included in this level of service 

are individuals who are dependent in medication 

administration as documented on the Uniform Assessment 

Instrument (UAI).  

"Third-party payment" means a payment made by a third 

party to an ALF or AFC home on behalf of an AG recipient 

for goods or services other than for food, shelter, or specific 

goods or services required to be provided by the ALF or AFC 

home as a condition of participation in the Auxiliary Grants 

Program in accordance with 22VAC30-80-45. 

"Uniform Assessment Instrument" or "UAI" means the 

department-designated assessment form. It is used to record 

assessment information for determining the level of service 

that is needed. 

22VAC30-80-20. Assessment. 

A. In order to receive payment from the program for care in 

an ALF or in AFC home, an individual applying for AG shall 

have been assessed by a qualified assessor using the UAI in 

accordance with 22VAC30-110 and determined to need 

residential or assisted living care or AFC.  

B. As a condition of eligibility for the program, a UAI shall 

be completed on an individual prior to admission, except for 

an emergency placement as documented and approved by a 

Virginia adult protective services worker,; at least once 

annually,; and whenever there is a significant change in the 

individual's level of care, and a determination is made that the 

individual needs residential or assisted living care in an ALF 

or AFC home. 

C. The ALF or AFC provider is prohibited from charging a 

security deposit or any other form of compensation for 

providing a room and services to the individual. The 

collection or receipt of money, gift, donation or other 

consideration from or on behalf of an individual for any 

services provided is prohibited. 

22VAC30-80-30. Basic services. 

The rate established under the program shall cover the 

following services:  

1. Room and board.  

a. Provision of a A furnished room in accordance with 

22VAC40-72-730;  

b. Housekeeping services based on the needs of the 

individual;  

c. Meals and snacks provided in accordance with 

22VAC40-72 including, but not limited to food service, 

nutrition, number and timing of meals, observance of 

religious dietary practices, special diets, menus for meals 

and snacks, and emergency food and water. A minimum 

of three well-balanced meals shall be provided each day. 

When a diet is prescribed for an individual by his 

physician, it shall be prepared and served according to 

the physician's orders. Basic and bedtime snacks shall be 

made available for all individuals desiring them and shall 

be listed on the daily menu. Unless otherwise ordered in 

writing by the individual's physician, the daily menu, 

including snacks, for each individual shall meet the 

guidelines of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Food 

Guide Pyramid, taking into consideration the age, sex, 

and activity of the resident. Second servings shall be 

provided, if requested, at no additional charge. At least 

one meal each day shall include a hot main dish; and 

d. Clean bed linens and towels as needed by the 

individual and at least once a week.  

2. Maintenance and care.  

a. Minimal assistance as defined in 22VAC40-72-10 with 

personal hygiene including bathing, dressing, oral 

hygiene, hair grooming and shampooing, care of 

clothing, shaving, care of toenails and fingernails or 

arranging for such assistance if the resident's medical 

condition precludes facility from providing the service, 

arranging for haircuts as needed, and care of needs 

associated with menstruation or occasional bladder or 

bowel incontinence [ that occurs less than weekly ];  

b. Medication administration as required by licensing 

regulations including insulin injections;  

c. Provision of personal toiletries including toilet paper;  

d. Minimal assistance with the following:  

(1) Care of personal possessions;  

(2) Care of personal funds needs allowance if requested 

by the individual and provider policy allows this practice, 

and in compliance with 22VAC40-72-140 and 

22VAC40-72-150, Standards for Licensed Assisted 

Living Facilities; 

(3) Use of the telephone;  

(4) Arranging [ nonmedical ] transportation;  

(5) Obtaining necessary personal items and clothing;  

(6) Making and keeping appointments; and 

(7) Correspondence;  

e. [ Securing Arranging ] health care and transportation 

when needed for medical treatment;  

f. Providing social and recreational activities in 

accordance with 22VAC40-72-520; and 

g. General supervision for safety.  

22VAC30-80-40. Personal needs allowance. 

A. The personal needs allowance is included in the monthly 

AG payment to the individual and must be used by or on 
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behalf of the individual for personal items. These funds shall 

not be commingled with the funds of the provider and shall 

be maintained in a separate bank account or given directly to 

the individual or authorized representative. The personal 

needs allowance shall not be charged by the provider for any 

item or service not requested by the individual. The provider 

shall not require an individual or his personal authorized 

representative to request any item or service as a condition of 

admission or continued stay. The provider must inform the 

individual or his personal authorized representative of a 

charge for any requested item or service not covered under 

the AG and the amount of the charge. The personal needs 

allowance is expected to cover the cost of the following items 

and services:  

1. Clothing;  

2. Personal toiletries not included in those to be provided 

by the provider or if the individual requests a specific type 

or brand of toiletry;  

3. Personal items including tobacco products, sodas, and 

snacks beyond those required in subdivision 1 c of 

22VAC30-80-30.  

4. Hair care services;  

5. Over-the-counter medication, medical copayments and 

deductibles, insurance premiums;  

6. Other needs such as postage stamps, dry cleaning, 

laundry, direct bank charges, personal transportation, and 

long distance telephone calls;  

7. Personal telephone, television, or radio;  

8. Social events and entertainment offered outside the 

scope of the activities program; and 

9. Other items agreed upon by both parties except those 

listed in subsection B of this section.  

B. The personal needs allowance shall not be encumbered 

by the following:  

1. Recreational activities required by licensing regulations 

(including any transportation costs of those activities);  

2. Administration of accounts (bookkeeping, account 

statements);  

3. Debts owed the provider for basic services as outlined 

by regulations; or 

4. Provider laundry charges in excess of $10 per month.  

22VAC30-80-45. Conditions of participation in the 

program. 

A. Provider agreement for ALF.  

1. As a condition of participation in the program, the ALF 

provider is required to complete and submit to the 

department a signed provider agreement as stipulated 

below in subdivision 2 of this subsection. The agreement is 

to be submitted prior to the ALF accepting AG payment 

for qualified individuals. A copy of the ALF's current 

license must be submitted with the provider agreement. 

2. The ALF provider shall agree to the following 

conditions in the provider agreement to participate in the 

program: 

a. Provide services in accordance with all laws, 

regulations, policies, and procedures that govern the 

provision of services in the facility; 

b. Submit an annual certification form by October 1 of 

each year; 

c. Care for individuals with AG in accordance with the 

requirements herein in this chapter at the current 

established rate; 

d. Refrain from charging the individual, his family, or his 

authorized personal representative a security deposit or 

any other form of compensation as a condition of 

admission or continued stay in the facility; 

e. Accept the established rate as payment in full for 

services rendered; 

f. Account for the personal needs allowances in a 

separate bank account and apart from other facility funds 

and issue a monthly statement to each individual 

regarding his account balance that includes any payments 

deposited or withdrawn during the previous calendar 

month; 

g. Provide a 60-day written notice to the regional 

licensing office in the event of the facility's closure or 

ownership change;  

h. Provide written notification of the date and place of an 

individual's discharge or the date of an individual's death 

to the local department of social services determining the 

individual's AG eligibility and to the qualified assessor 

within 10 days of the individual's discharge or death; and 

i. Return to the local department of social services 

determining the individual's AG eligibility, all AG funds 

received after the death or discharge date of an individual 

in the facility. 

B. As a condition of participation in the program, the AFC 

provider shall be approved by a local department of social 

services and comply with the requirements set forth in 

22VAC30-120. 

C. ALFs and AFC homes providing services to AG 

recipients may accept third-party payments made by persons 

or entities for [ the actual costs of ] goods or services [ to be 

that have been ] provided to the AG recipient. The department 

shall not include such payments as income for the purpose of 

determining eligibility for or calculating the amount of an AG 

provided that the payment is made: 

1. Directly to the ALF or AFC home by the third party on 

behalf of the individual after the goods or services have 

been provided;  

2. Voluntarily by the third party, and not in satisfaction of 

a condition of admission, continued stay, or provision of 

proper care and services, unless the AG recipient's physical 
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needs exceed the services required to be provided by the 

ALF as a condition of participation in the auxiliary grant 

program; and  

3. For specific goods or services provided to the individual 

other than food, shelter, or other specific goods or services 

required to be provided by the ALF or AFC home as a 

condition of participation in the AG program.  

D. Third-party payments shall not be used to pay for a 

private room in an ALF or AFC home. 

E. ALFs and AFC homes shall document all third-party 

payments received on behalf of an individual, including the 

source, amount, and date of the payment, and the goods or 

services for which such payments were made. Documentation 

related to the third-party payments shall be provided to the 

department upon request.  

F. ALFs and AFC homes shall provide each AG recipient 

and his authorized representative with a written list of the 

goods and services that shall be covered by the AG as defined 

in this chapter, including a clear statement that the facility 

shall not charge an individual or the individual's family or 

authorized representative additional amounts for goods or 

services included on such list. [ This statement shall be signed 

by the AG recipient or authorized representative as 

acknowledgment of receipt and shall be made available to the 

department upon request. ]  

22VAC30-80-60. Reimbursement. 

A. Any moneys payments contributed toward the cost of 

care pending AG eligibility determination shall be reimbursed 

to the individual or contributing party by the ALF or AFC 

provider once eligibility for AG is established and that 

payment received. The payment shall be made payable to the 

individual, who will then reimburse the provider for care. If 

the individual is not capable of managing his finances, his 

personal authorized representative is responsible for 

reimbursing the provider.  

B. In the event an ALF is closed, the facility shall prorate 

the rate up to the date of the individual's discharge and return 

the balance of the AG to the local department of social 

services that determined the individual's eligibility for the 

grant AG. If the facility maintained the individual's personal 

needs allowance, the facility shall provide a final accounting 

of the individual's personal needs allowance account within 

60 days of the individual's discharge. Verification of the 

accounting and of the reimbursement to the individual shall 

be mailed sent to the case management agency responsible for 

the individual's annual reassessment. In the event of the 

individual's death, the provider shall give to the individual's 

personal representative a final accounting of the individual's 

funds within 60 calendar days of the event. All AG funds 

received after the death or discharge date shall be returned to 

the local department of social services responsible for 

determining the individual's AG eligibility as soon as 

practicable.  

C. Providers who do not comply with the requirements of 

this regulation chapter may be subject to adverse action, 

which may include suspension of new AG program 

admissions or termination of provider agreements.  

22VAC30-80-70. Certification ALF certification and 

record requirements. 

A. ALFs shall submit an annual certification form by 

October 1 of each year for the preceding state fiscal year. The 

certification shall include the following: identifying 

information about the ALF, census information including a 

list of individuals who resided in the facility and received AG 

during the reporting period and personal needs allowance 

accounting information. If a provider fails to submit an 

annual certification form, the provider will not be authorized 

to accept additional individuals with AG.  

B. All information reported by an ALF on the certification 

form shall be subject to audit by the department. Financial 

information that is not reconcilable to the provider's general 

ledger or similar records could result in establishment of a 

liability to the provider. Records shall be retained for three 

years after the end of the reporting period or until audited by 

the department, whichever is first.  

C. All records maintained by an AFC provider, as required 

by 22VAC30-120, shall be made available to the department 

or the approving local department of social services upon 

request. All records are subject to audit by the department. 

Financial information that is not reconcilable to the provider's 

records could result in establishment of a liability to the 

provider. Records shall be retained for three years after the 

end of the reporting period or until audited by the department, 

whichever is first. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4472; Filed August 4, 2017, 2:24 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services is claiming an exemption from Article 

2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-

4006 A 3, which excludes regulations that consist only of 

changes in style or form or corrections of technical errors and 

§ 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 

regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in 

Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion is 

involved. The Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 

any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-100. Adult Protective 

Services (amending 22VAC30-100-10, 22VAC30-100-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 51.5-131 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1397(3). 

Effective Date: October 4, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Paige L. McCleary, Adult Services Program 

Consultant, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 
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Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, 

telephone (804) 662-7605, or email 

paige.mccleary@dars.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments comport definitions of "abuse," "neglect," 

"exploitation," and "adult protective services" with 

Chapter 195 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly. The phrase "as 

defined in § 63.2-1603" is added and the definition of 

"exploitation" is amended to mirror the broader and more 

descriptive definition of "adult exploitation" in Chapter 

195. In addition, amendments update the names of two 

agencies. The Virginia Office of Protection and Advocacy 

is changed to the disAbility Law Center of Virginia and the 

Department of Health, Center for Quality Health Care 

Services and Consumer Protection is changed to 

Department of Health, Office of Licensure and 

Certification. 

22VAC30-100-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Abuse" means the willful infliction of physical pain, injury 

or mental anguish or unreasonable confinement of an adult as 

defined in § 63.2-1603 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Adult" means any person in the Commonwealth who is 

abused, neglected, or exploited, or is at risk of being abused, 

neglected, or exploited; and is 18 years of age or older and 

incapacitated, or is 60 years of age and older.  

"Adult protective services" means the receipt, investigation 

and disposition of complaints and reports of adult abuse, 

neglect, and exploitation of adults 18 years of age and over 

who are incapacitated and adults 60 years of age and over by 

the local department of social services. Adult protective 

services also include the provision of casework and care 

management by the local department in order to stabilize the 

situation or to prevent further abuse, neglect, and exploitation 

of an adult at risk of abuse, neglect and exploitation. If 

appropriate and available, adult protective services may 

include the direct provision of services by the local 

department or arranging for home-based care, transportation, 

adult day services, meal service, legal proceedings, 

alternative placements and other activities to protect the adult 

and restore self-sufficiency to the extent possible services 

provided by the local department that are necessary to protect 

an adult as defined in § 63.2-1603 of the Code of Virginia 

from abuse, neglect, or exploitation.  

"Collateral" means a person whose personal or professional 

knowledge may help confirm or rebut the allegations of adult 

abuse, neglect or exploitation or whose involvement may help 

ensure the safety of the adult. 

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department. 

"Conservator" means a person appointed by the court who is 

responsible for managing the estate and financial affairs of an 

incapacitated person, and where the context plainly indicates, 

includes a "limited conservator" or a "temporary 

conservator."  

"Department" means the Virginia Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services.  

"Director" means the director or his delegated representative 

of the department of social services of the city or county in 

which the adult resides or is found.  

"Disposition" means the determination of whether or not 

adult abuse, neglect or exploitation has occurred.  

"Documentation" means information and materials, written 

or otherwise, concerning allegations, facts and evidence.  

"Exploitation" means the illegal, unauthorized, improper, or 

fraudulent use of an incapacitated adult as defined in § 63.2-

1603 of the Code of Virginia or his funds, property, benefits, 

resources, or other assets for another's profit, benefit, or 

advantage, including a caregiver or person serving in a 

fiduciary capacity, or that deprives the adult of his rightful 

use of or access to such funds, property, benefits, resources, 

or other assets. "Adult exploitation" includes (i) an intentional 

breach of a fiduciary obligation to an adult to his detriment or 

an intentional failure to use the financial resources of an adult 

in a manner that results in neglect of such adult; (ii) the 

acquisition, possession, or control of an adult's financial 

resources or property through the use of undue influence, 

coercion, or duress; and (iii) forcing or coercing an adult to 

pay for goods or services or perform services against his will 

for another's profit, benefit, or advantage if the adult did not 

agree, or was tricked, misled, or defrauded into agreeing, to 

pay for such goods or services or perform such services. This 

includes acquiring an adult's resources through the use of the 

adult's mental or physical incapacity, the disposition of the 

incapacitated adult's property by a second party to the 

advantage of the second party and to the detriment of the 

incapacitated adult, misuse of funds, acquiring an advantage 

through threats to withhold needed support or care unless 

certain conditions are met, or persuading an incapacitated 

adult to perform services including sexual acts to which the 

adult lacks the capacity to consent.  

"Guardian" means a person who has been legally invested 

with the authority and charged with the duty of taking care of 

the person and managing his property and protecting the 

rights of the person who has been declared by the circuit court 

to be incapacitated and incapable of administering his own 

affairs. The powers and duties of the guardian are defined by 

the court and are limited to matters within the areas where the 

person in need of a guardian has been determined to be 

incapacitated.  

"Guardian ad litem" means an attorney appointed by the 

court to represent the interest of the adult for whom a 

guardian or conservator is requested. On the hearing of the 

petition for appointment of a guardian or conservator, the 

guardian ad litem advocates for the adult who is the subject of 
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the hearing, and his duties are usually concluded when the 

case is decided.  

"Incapacitated person" means any adult who is impaired by 

reason of mental illness, intellectual disability, physical 

illness or disability, advanced age or other causes to the 

extent that the adult lacks sufficient understanding or capacity 

to make, communicate or carry out reasonable decisions 

concerning his or her well-being. This definition is for the 

purpose of establishing an adult's eligibility for adult 

protective services and such adult may or may not have been 

found incapacitated through court procedures.  

"Involuntary protective services" means those services 

authorized by the court for an adult who has been determined 

to need protective services and who has been adjudicated 

incapacitated and lacking the capacity to consent to receive 

the needed protective services.  

"Lacks capacity to consent" means a preliminary judgment 

of a local department of social services social worker that an 

adult is unable to consent to receive needed services for 

reasons that relate to emotional or psychiatric problems, 

intellectual disability, developmental delay, or other reasons 

which impair the adult's ability to recognize a substantial risk 

of death or immediate and serious harm to himself. The lack 

of capacity to consent may be either permanent or temporary. 

The worker must make a preliminary judgment that the adult 

lacks capacity to consent before petitioning the court for 

authorization to provide protective services on an emergency 

basis pursuant to § 63.2-1609 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Legally incapacitated" means that the person has been 

adjudicated incapacitated by a circuit court because of a 

mental or physical condition which renders him, either 

wholly or partially, incapable of taking care of himself or his 

estate.  

"Legally incompetent" means a person who has been 

adjudicated incompetent by a circuit court because of a 

mental condition which renders him incapable of taking care 

of his person or managing his estate.  

"Legitimate interest" means a lawful, demonstrated privilege 

to access the information as defined in § 63.2-104 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

"Local department" means any local department of social 

services in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"Mandated reporters" means those persons who are required 

to report pursuant to § 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia 

when such persons have reason to suspect that an adult is 

abused, neglected, or exploited or is at risk of adult abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation.  

"Mental anguish" means a state of emotional pain or distress 

resulting from activity (verbal or behavioral) of a perpetrator. 

The intent of the activity is to threaten or intimidate, cause 

sorrow or fear, humiliate, change behavior or ridicule. There 

must be evidence that it is the perpetrator's activity that has 

caused the adult's feelings of pain or distress.  

"Neglect" means that an adult as defined in § 63.2-1603 is 

living under such circumstances that he is not able to provide 

for himself or is not being provided such services as are 

necessary to maintain his physical and mental health and that 

the failure to receive such necessary services impairs or 

threatens to impair his well-being. However, no adult shall be 

considered neglected solely on the basis that such adult is 

receiving religious nonmedical treatment or religious 

nonmedical nursing care in lieu of medical care, provided that 

such treatment or care is performed in good faith and in 

accordance with the religious practices of the adult and there 

is written or oral expression of consent by that adult. Neglect 

includes the failure of a caregiver or another responsible 

person to provide for basic needs to maintain the adult's 

physical and mental health and well-being, and it includes the 

adult's neglect of self. Neglect includes, but is not limited to:  

1. The lack of clothing considered necessary to protect a 

person's health;  

2. The lack of food necessary to prevent physical injury or 

to maintain life, including failure to receive appropriate 

food for adults with conditions requiring special diets;  

3. Shelter that is not structurally safe; has rodents or other 

infestations which may result in serious health problems; 

or does not have a safe and accessible water supply, safe 

heat source or sewage disposal. Adequate shelter for an 

adult will depend on the impairments of an adult; however, 

the adult must be protected from the elements that would 

seriously endanger his health (e.g., rain, cold or heat) and 

could result in serious illness or debilitating conditions;  

4. Inadequate supervision by a caregiver (paid or unpaid) 

who has been designated to provide the supervision 

necessary to protect the safety and well-being of an adult in 

his care;  

5. The failure of persons who are responsible for 

caregiving to seek needed medical care or to follow 

medically prescribed treatment for an adult, or the adult 

has failed to obtain such care for himself. The needed 

medical care is believed to be of such a nature as to result 

in physical and/or or mental injury or illness if it is not 

provided;  

6. Medical neglect includes, but is not limited to, the 

withholding of medication or aids needed by the adult such 

as dentures, eye glasses, hearing aids, walker, etc. It also 

includes the unauthorized administration of prescription 

drugs, over-medicating or under-medicating, and the 

administration of drugs for other than bona fide medical 

reasons, as determined by a licensed health care 

professional; and  

7. Self-neglect by an adult who is not meeting his own 

basic needs due to mental and/or or physical impairments. 

Basic needs refer to such things as food, clothing, shelter, 

health or medical care.  
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"Notification" means informing designated and appropriate 

individuals of the local department's action and the 

individual's rights.  

"Preponderance of evidence" means the evidence as a whole 

shows that the facts are more probable and credible than not. 

It is evidence that is of greater weight or more convincing 

than the evidence offered in opposition.  

"Report" means an allegation by any person that an adult is 

in need of protective services. The term "report" shall refer to 

both reports and complaints of abuse, neglect, and 

exploitation of adults. The report may be made orally or in 

writing to the local department or by calling the Adult 

Protective Services Hotline.  

"Service plan" means a plan of action to address the service 

needs of an adult in order to protect the adult, to prevent 

future abuse, neglect or exploitation, and to preserve the 

autonomy of the adult whenever possible.  

"Unreasonable confinement" means the use of restraints 

(physical or chemical), isolation, or any other means of 

confinement without medical orders, when there is no 

emergency and for reasons other than the adult's safety or 

well-being or the safety of others.  

"Valid report" means the local department of social services 

has evaluated the information and allegations of the report 

and determined that the local department shall conduct an 

investigation because all of the following elements are 

present:  

1. The alleged victim adult is 60 years of age or older or is 

18 years of age or older and is incapacitated;  

2. There is a specific adult with enough identifying 

information to locate the adult;  

3. Circumstances allege abuse, neglect or exploitation or 

risk of abuse, neglect or exploitation; and  

4. The local department receiving the report is a local 

department of jurisdiction as described in 22VAC30-100-

20. 

"Voluntary protective services" means those services 

provided to an adult who, after investigation by a local 

department, is determined to be in need of protective services 

and consents to receiving the services so as to prevent further 

abuse, neglect, and exploitation of an adult at risk of abuse, 

neglect and exploitation.  

22VAC30-100-50. Disclosure of adult protective services 

information. 

A. This chapter describes the protection of confidential 

information including a description of when such information 

must be disclosed, when such disclosure of the information is 

at the discretion of the local department, what information 

may be disclosed, and the procedure for disclosing the 

information.  

B. Department staff having legitimate interest shall have 

regular access to adult protective services records maintained 

by the local department.  

C. The following agencies have licensing, regulatory and 

legal authority for administrative action or criminal 

investigations, and they have a legitimate interest in 

confidential information when such information is relevant 

and reasonably necessary for the fulfillment of their licensing, 

regulatory and legal responsibilities:  

1. Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services;  

2. Virginia Office for Protection and Advocacy disAbility 

Law Center of Virginia; 

3. Office of the Attorney General, including the Medicaid 

Fraud Control Program;  

4. Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services;  

5. Department of Health, including the Center for Quality 

Health Care Services and Consumer Protection Office of 

Licensure and Certification and the Office of the Chief 

Medical Examiner;  

6. Department of Medical Assistance Services;  

7. Department of Health Professions;  

8. Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired;  

9. Department of Social Services, including the Division of 

Licensing Programs;  

10. The Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman 

and local ombudsman;  

11. Law-enforcement agencies;  

12. Medical examiners;  

13. Adult fatality review teams;  

14. Prosecutors; and  

15. Any other entity deemed appropriate by the 

commissioner or local department director that 

demonstrates a legitimate interest.  

D. The local department shall disclose all relevant 

information to representatives of the agencies identified in 

subsection C of this section except the identity of the person 

who reported the abuse, neglect or exploitation unless the 

reporter authorizes the disclosure of his identity or the 

disclosure is ordered by the court.  

E. The local department shall refer any appropriate matter 

and all relevant documentation to the appropriate licensing, 

regulatory or legal authority for administrative action or 

criminal investigation.  

F. Local departments may release information to the 

following persons when the local department has determined 

the person making the request has legitimate interest in 

accordance with § 63.2-104 of the Code of Virginia and the 

release of information is in the best interest of the adult:  
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1. Representatives of public and private agencies including 

community services boards, area agencies on aging and 

local health departments requesting disclosure when the 

agency has legitimate interest;  

2. A physician who is treating an adult whom he 

reasonably suspects is abused, neglected or exploited;  

3. The adult's legally appointed guardian or conservator;  

4. A guardian ad litem who has been appointed for an adult 

who is the subject of an adult protective services report;  

5. A family member who is responsible for the welfare of 

an adult who is the subject of an adult protective services 

report;  

6. An attorney representing a local department in an adult 

protective services case;  

7. The Social Security Administration; or  

8. Any other entity that demonstrates to the commissioner 

or local department director that legitimate interest is 

evident.  

G. Local departments are required to disclose information 

under the following circumstances:  

1. When disclosure is ordered by a court;  

2. When a person has made an adult protective services 

report and an investigation has been completed; or  

3. When a request for access to information is made 

pursuant to the Government Data Collection and 

Dissemination Practices Act (§ 2.2-3800 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia).  

H. Any or all of the following specific information may be 

disclosed at the discretion of the local department to agencies 

or persons specified in subsection F of this section:  

1. Name, address, age, race, and gender of the adult who is 

the subject of the request for information;  

2. Name, address, age, race, and gender of the person who 

is alleged to have perpetrated the abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation;  

3. Description of the incident or incidents of abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation;  

4. Description of medical problems to the extent known;  

5. Disposition of the adult protective services report; and  

6. The protective service needs of the adult.  

I. The identity of the person who reported the suspected 

abuse, neglect or exploitation shall be held confidential unless 

the reporter authorizes the disclosure of his identity or 

disclosure is ordered by the court.  

J. Agencies or persons who receive confidential information 

pursuant to subsection G of this section shall provide the 

following assurances to the local department:  

1. The purpose for which information is requested is 

related to the protective services goal in the service plan 

for the adult;  

2. The information will be used only for the purpose for 

which it is made available; and  

3. The information will be held confidential by the 

department or individual receiving the information except 

to the extent that disclosure is required by law.  

K. Methods of obtaining assurances. Any one of the 

following methods may be used to obtain assurances required 

in subsection J of this section:  

1. Agreements between local departments and other 

community service agencies that provide blanket 

assurances required in subsection J of this section for all 

adult protective services cases; or  

2. State-level agreements that provide blanket assurances 

required in subsection C of this section for all adult 

protective services cases.  

L. Notification that information has been disclosed. When 

information has been disclosed pursuant to this chapter, 

notice of the disclosure shall be given to the adult who is the 

subject of the information or to his legally appointed 

guardian. If the adult has given permission to release the 

information, further notification shall not be required.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5143; Filed August 8, 2017, 3:03 p.m.  



GOVERNOR 

Volume 34, Issue 1 Virginia Register of Regulations September 4, 2017 

156 

GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 66 (2017) 

DECLARATION OF A STATE OF EMERGENCY FOR 
THE COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA DUE TO CIVIL 

UNREST 

Importance of the Issue 

On this date, August 12, 2017, I am declaring a state of 

emergency to exist for the Commonwealth of Virginia due to 

civil unrest leading up to, resulting from, and subsequent to 

the Unite the Right rally and counter-protests in the City of 

Charlottesville. The actions of the event participants have 

caused numerous injuries, damage to local infrastructure, and 

severe damage to public and private property. 

The health and general welfare of the citizens of the 

Commonwealth require that state action be taken to help 

alleviate the conditions caused by this situation. The effects 

of this incident constitute a disaster wherein human life and 

public and private property are imperiled, as described in 

§ 44-146.16 of the Code of Virginia. 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by § 44-

146.17 of the Code of Virginia, as Governor and as Director 

of Emergency Management, and by virtue of the authority 

vested in me by Article V, Section 7 of the Constitution of 

Virginia and by § 44-75.1 of the Code of Virginia, as 

Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces of 

the Commonwealth, and subject always to my continuing and 

ultimate authority and responsibility to act in such matters, I 

hereby confirm, ratify, and memorialize in writing my verbal 

orders issued on this date, August 12, 2017, whereby I am 

proclaiming that a state of emergency exists, and I am 

directing that appropriate assistance be rendered by agencies 

of both state and local governments to alleviate any 

conditions resulting from the incident, and to implement 

recovery and mitigation operations and activities so as to 

return impacted areas to pre-event conditions in so far as 

possible. Pursuant to § 44-75.1(A)(3) and (A)(4) of the Code 

of Virginia, I am also directing that the Virginia National 

Guard and the Virginia Defense Force be called forth to state 

active duty to be prepared to assist in providing such aid. This 

shall include Virginia National Guard assistance to the 

Virginia Department of State Police with the Governor's 

authority to arrest individuals for felonies committed in their 

presence, to arrest individuals for offenses against public 

safety (riot, unlawful assembly, etc.), to take action necessary 

to protect lives and preserve property, and to perform such 

other law enforcement functions as the Superintendent of 

State Police, in consultation with the State Coordinator of 

Emergency Management, the Adjutant General, and the 

Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security, may find 

necessary. In all instances, members of the Virginia National 

Guard and Virginia Defense Force shall remain subject to 

military command as prescribed by § 44-78.1 of the Code of 

Virginia and are not subject to the civilian authorities of 

county or municipal governments. 

In order to marshal all public resources and appropriate 

preparedness, response, and recovery measures to meet this 

threat and recover from its effects, and in accordance with my 

authority contained in § 44-146.17 of the Code of Virginia, I 

hereby order the following protective and restoration 

measures: 

A. Implementation by state agencies of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia Emergency Operations Plan (COVEOP), as 

amended, along with other appropriate state agency plans. 

B. Activation of the Virginia Emergency Operations Center 

(VEOC) and the Virginia Emergency Support Team (VEST) 

to coordinate the provision of assistance to local 

governments. I am directing that the VEOC and VEST 

coordinate state actions in support of affected localities, other 

mission assignments to agencies designated in the COVEOP, 

and others that may be identified by the State Coordinator of 

Emergency Management, in consultation with the Secretary 

of Public Safety and Homeland Security, which are needed to 

provide for the preservation of life, protection of property, 

and implementation of recovery activities. 

C. The evacuation of areas threatened or stricken by effects of 

the civil unrest, as appropriate: Following a declaration of a 

local emergency pursuant to § 44-146.21 of the Code of 

Virginia, if a local governing body determines that evacuation 

is deemed necessary for the preservation of life or other 

emergency mitigation, response, or recovery effort, pursuant 

to § 44-146.17(1) of the Code of Virginia, I direct the 

evacuation of all or part of the populace therein from such 

areas and upon such timetable as the local governing body, in 

coordination with the VEOC, acting on behalf of the State 

Coordinator of Emergency Management, shall determine. 

Notwithstanding the foregoing, I reserve the right to direct 

and compel evacuation from the same and different areas and 

determine a different timetable both where local governing 

bodies have made such a determination and where local 

governing bodies have not made such a determination. Also, 

in those localities that have declared a local emergency 

pursuant to § 44-146.21 of the Code of Virginia, if the local 

governing body determines that controlling movement of 

persons is deemed necessary for the preservation of life, 

public safety, or other emergency mitigation, response, or 

recovery effort, pursuant to § 44-146.17(1) of the Code of 

Virginia, I authorize the control of ingress and egress at an 

emergency area, including the movement of persons within 

the area and the occupancy of premises therein upon such 

timetable as the local governing body, in coordination with 

the State Coordinator of Emergency Management and the 

VEOC, shall determine. Violations of any order to citizens to 

evacuate shall constitute a violation of this Executive Order 

and are punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor. 
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D. The activation, implementation, and coordination of 

appropriate mutual aid agreements and compacts, including 

the Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC), 

and the authorization of the State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management to enter into any other supplemental 

agreements, pursuant to §§ 44-146.17(5) and 44-146.28:1 of 

the Code of Virginia, to provide for the evacuation and 

reception of injured and other persons and the exchange of 

medical, fire, police, National Guard personnel and 

equipment, public utility, reconnaissance, welfare, 

transportation, and communications personnel, equipment, 

and supplies. The State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management is hereby designated as Virginia's authorized 

representative within the meaning of the Emergency 

Management Assistance Compact, § 44-146.28:1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

E. The authorization of the Departments of State Police, 

Transportation, and Motor Vehicles to grant temporary 

overweight, over width, registration, or license exemptions to 

all carriers transporting essential emergency relief supplies, 

livestock or poultry, feed or other critical supplies for 

livestock or poultry, heating oil, motor fuels, or propane, or 

providing restoration of utilities (including, but not limited to: 

electricity, gas, phone, water, wastewater, and cable) in and 

through any area of the Commonwealth in order to support 

the disaster response and recovery, regardless of their point of 

origin or destination. Weight exemptions are not valid on 

interstate highways or on posted structures for restricted 

weight unless there is an associated Federal emergency 

declaration. 

All over width loads, up to a maximum of 12 feet, and over 

height loads up to a maximum of 14 feet must follow Virginia 

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) hauling permit and 

safety guidelines. 

In addition to described overweight/over width transportation 

privileges, carriers are also exempt from vehicle registration 

with the Department of Motor Vehicles. This includes 

vehicles en route and returning to their home base. The 

above-cited agencies shall communicate this information to 

all staff responsible for permit issuance and truck legalization 

enforcement. 

F. This Emergency Declaration implements limited relief 

from the provisions 49 CFR 390-399. Accordingly, the State 

Coordinator of Emergency Management recognizes the 

exemption for hours of service by any carrier when 

transporting essential emergency relief supplies, passengers, 

property, livestock, poultry, equipment, food, feed for 

livestock or poultry, fuel, construction materials, and other 

critical supplies to or from any portion of the Commonwealth 

for purpose of providing direct relief or assistance as a result 

of this disaster, pursuant to § 52-8.4 of the Code of Virginia 

and Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations, Section 390.23 and 

Section 395.3. 

G. The foregoing overweight/over width transportation 

privileges as well as the regulatory exemption provided by 

§ 52-8.4(A) of the Code of Virginia, and implemented in 

19VAC30-20-40(B) of the "Motor Carrier Safety 

Regulations," shall remain in effect for 30 days from the 

onset of the disaster, or until emergency relief is no longer 

necessary, as determined by the Secretary of Public Safety 

and Homeland Security in consultation with the Secretary of 

Transportation, whichever is earlier. 

H. The implementation and discontinuance of provisions 

authorized in paragraphs F through H above shall be 

disseminated by the publication of administrative notice to all 

affected and interested parties. I hereby delegate to the 

Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security, after 

consultation with other affected Cabinet Secretaries, the 

authority to implement this order as set forth in § 2.2-104 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

I. The authorization of appropriate oversight boards, 

commissions, and agencies to ease building code restrictions 

and to permit emergency demolition, hazardous waste 

disposal, debris removal, emergency landfill sitting, and 

operations and other activities necessary to address immediate 

health and safety needs without regard to time-consuming 

procedures or formalities and without regard to application or 

permit fees or royalties. 

J. The authorization of a maximum of $600,000 in state sum 

sufficient funds for state and local governments mission 

assignments authorized and coordinated through the Virginia 

Department of Emergency Management that are allowable as 

defined by The Stafford Act. This funding is also available 

for state response and recovery operations and incident 

documentation. Out of this state disaster sum sufficient, 

$250,000, or more if available, is authorized for the 

Department of Military Affairs for the state's portion of the 

eligible disaster-related costs incurred for salaries, travel, and 

meals during mission assignments authorized and coordinated 

through the Virginia Department of Emergency Management. 

$350,000, or more if available, is authorized to cover the 

disaster-related costs incurred for salaries, travel, and meals 

during mission assignments of any defined specialty teams 

and the Virginia Emergency Operations Center. 

K. The implementation by public agencies under my 

supervision and control of their emergency assignments as 

directed in the COVEOP without regard to normal procedures 

pertaining to performance of public work, entering into 

contracts, incurring of obligations or other logistical and 

support measures of the Emergency Services and Disaster 

Laws, as provided in § 44-146.28(b) of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 44-146.24 of the Code of Virginia also applies to the 

disaster activities of state agencies. 

L. Designation of members and personnel of volunteer, 

auxiliary, and reserve groups including search and rescue 

(SAR), Virginia Associations of Volunteer Rescue Squads 
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(VAVRS), Civil Air Patrol (CAP), member organizations of 

the Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster (VOAD), 

Radio Amateur Civil Emergency Services (RACES), 

volunteer fire fighters, Citizen Corps Programs such as 

Medical Reserve Corps (MRCs), Community Emergency 

Response Teams (CERTs), and others identified and tasked 

by the State Coordinator of Emergency Management for 

specific disaster-related mission assignments as 

representatives of the Commonwealth engaged in emergency 

services activities within the meaning of the immunity 

provisions of § 44-146.23(a) and (f) of the Code of Virginia, 

in the performance of their specific disaster-related mission 

assignments. 

M. The activation of the statutory provisions in § 59.1-525 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia related to price gouging. Price 

gouging at any time is unacceptable. Price gouging is even 

more reprehensible during a time of disaster after issuance of 

a state of emergency. I have directed all applicable executive 

branch agencies to take immediate action to address any 

verified reports of price gouging of necessary goods or 

services. I make the same request of the Office of the 

Attorney General and appropriate local officials. I further 

request that all appropriate executive branch agencies 

exercise their discretion to the extent allowed by law to 

address any pending deadlines or expirations affected by or 

attributable to this disaster event. 

N. The following conditions apply to the deployment of the 

Virginia National Guard and the Virginia Defense Force: 

1. The Adjutant General of Virginia, after consultation with 

the State Coordinator of Emergency Management, shall 

make available on state active duty such units and members 

of the Virginia National Guard and Virginia Defense Force 

and such equipment as may be necessary or desirable to 

assist in preparations and response to this incident and in 

alleviating the human suffering and damage to property. 

2. Pursuant to §§ 44-146.17, 44-146.28(d), and 44-

75.1(A)(3) of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia National 

Guard shall prepare for and assist the Virginia State Police 

throughout the duration of the Unite the Right Rally in 

Charlottesville, Virginia on August 12, 2017. The Virginia 

National Guard will be mobilized on Friday August 11, 

2017, to prepare and provide assistance through the 

conclusion of the event. Assistance shall include, but not be 

limited to: 

• Providing for safe movement of traffic and pedestrians; 

• Assisting with the safety and security of event attendees 

and law enforcement officers; 

• Providing crowd control; 

• Assisting with arrests; 

• Providing security to arrestees during detainment; 

The members of the Virginia National Guard activated for 

this Rally shall be authorized, under Virginia Code Section 

44-75.1(A)(3), to do all acts necessary to accomplish the 

above assistance, and to enforce the following laws, to 

include the power of arrest: All violations of Chapter 9, 

Article 1 of Virginia Code Section 18.2 (Crimes Against 

Peace and Order; Riot and Unlawful Assembly), and such 

other acts necessary to protect lives, preserve property, and 

in defense of self and others. 

3. In all instances, members of the Virginia National Guard 

and Virginia Defense Force shall remain subject to military 

command as prescribed by § 44-78.1 of the Code of 

Virginia and are not subject to the civilian authorities of 

county or municipal governments. Any bonds and/or 

insurance required by § 52-7 of the Code of Virginia shall 

be provided for them at the expense of the Commonwealth. 

This shall not be deemed to prohibit working in close 

cooperation with members of the Virginia Departments of 

State Police or Emergency Management or local law 

enforcement or emergency management authorities or 

receiving guidance from them in the performance of their 

duties. 

4. Should service under this Executive Order result in the 

injury or death of any member of the Virginia National 

Guard, the following will be provided to the member and 

the member's dependents or survivors: 

a. Workers' Compensation benefits provided to members of 

the National Guard by the Virginia Workers' Compensation 

Act, subject to the requirements and limitations thereof; 

and, in addition, 

b. The same benefits, or their equivalent, for injury, 

disability, and/or death, as would be provided by the 

federal government if the member were serving on federal 

active duty at the time of the injury or death. Any such 

federal-type benefits due to a member and his or her 

dependents or survivors during any calendar month shall be 

reduced by any payments due under the Virginia Workers' 

Compensation Act during the same month. If and when the 

time period for payment of Workers' Compensation 

benefits has elapsed, the member and his or her dependents 

or survivors shall thereafter receive full federal-type 

benefits for as long as they would have received such 

benefits if the member had been serving on federal active 

duty at the time of injury or death. Any federal-type 

benefits due shall be computed on the basis of military pay 

grade E-5 or the member's military grade at the time of 

injury or death, whichever produces the greater benefit 

amount. Pursuant to § 44-14 of the Code of Virginia, and 

subject to the availability of future appropriations which 

may be lawfully applied to this purpose, I now approve of 

future expenditures out of appropriations to the Department 

of Military Affairs for such federal-type benefits as being 

manifestly for the benefit of the military service. 
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5. The following conditions apply to service by the 

Virginia Defense Force: 

a. Virginia Defense Force personnel shall receive pay at a 

rate equivalent to a National Guard soldier of like rank, not 

to exceed 25 years of service. 

b. Lodging and meals shall be provided by the Adjutant 

General or reimbursed at standard state per diem rates; 

c. All privately owned equipment, including, but not 

limited to, vehicles, boats, and aircraft, will be reimbursed 

for the expense of fuel. Damage or loss of said equipment 

will be reimbursed, minus reimbursement from personal 

insurance, if said equipment was authorized for use by the 

Adjutant General in accordance with § 44-54.12 of the 

Code of Virginia; 

d. In the event of death or injury, benefits shall be provided 

in accordance with the Virginia Workers' Compensation 

Act, subject to the requirements and limitations thereof. 

Upon my approval, the costs incurred by state agencies and 

other agents in performing mission assignments through the 

VEOC of the Commonwealth as defined herein and in § 44-

146.28 of the Code of Virginia, other than costs defined in the 

paragraphs above pertaining to the Virginia National Guard 

and pertaining to the Virginia Defense Force, in performing 

these missions shall be paid from state funds. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective August 12, 2017, and 

shall remain in full force and effect until August 17, 2017, 

unless sooner amended or rescinded by further executive 

order. Termination of the Executive Order is not intended to 

terminate any federal-type benefits granted or to be granted 

due to injury or death as a result of service under this 

Executive Order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 12th day of August, 2017. 

/s/ Terence R. McAuliffe 

Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

State Implementation Plan Proposed Revision - Very 
Fine Particulate Matter 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 

proposed revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia State 

Implementation Plan (SIP). The SIP is a plan developed by 

the Commonwealth in order to fulfill its responsibilities under 

the federal Clean Air Act to attain and maintain the ambient 

air quality standards promulgated by the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency (EPA) under the Act. The Commonwealth 

intends to submit the regulation amendments to EPA as a 

revision to the SIP in accordance with the requirements of 

§ 110(a) of the federal Clean Air Act. 

Regulations affected: The regulations of the board affected by 

this action are as follows: (i) 9VAC5-30, Ambient Air 

Quality Standards; (ii) Article 9 (Permits for Major Stationary 

Sources and Major Modifications Locating in Nonattainment 

Areas or the Ozone Transport Region) of 9VAC5-80, Permits 

for Stationary Sources; and (iii) 9VAC5-160, Regulation for 

General Conformity. 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comment on the issue of 

whether the regulation amendments should be submitted as a 

revision to the SIP. 

Public comment period: September 4, 2017, to October 4, 

2017. 

Public hearing: A public hearing may be conducted if a 

request is made in writing to the contact listed at the end of 

this notice. In order to be considered, the request must include 

the full name, address, and telephone number of the person 

requesting the hearing and be received by DEQ by the last 

day of the comment period. Notice of the date, time, and 

location of any requested public hearing will be announced in 

a separate notice, and another 30-day comment period will be 

conducted. 

Public comment stage: The regulation amendments are 

exempt from the state administrative procedures for adoption 

of regulations contained in Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) by 

the provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Administrative 

Process Act because they are necessary to meet the 

requirements of the federal Clean Air Act and do not differ 

materially from the pertinent EPA regulations. Since the 

amendments are exempt from administrative procedures for 

the adoption of regulations, DEQ is accepting comment only 

on the issue cited above under "purpose of notice" and not on 

the content of the regulation amendments. 

Description of proposal: The proposed revision will consist of 

amendments to existing regulation provisions concerning the 

national ambient air quality standard (NAAQS) for very fine 

particulate matter (PM2.5) based on the August 24, 2016, 

(81 FR 58010) EPA rule that addresses a range of 

nonattainment area SIP requirements for the 2012 PM2.5 

NAAQS. The major provisions of the proposal are as follows: 

(i) the 1997 PM2.5 ambient air quality standard is revoked; (ii) 

the applicability section of Rule 8-9 is amended to indicate 

that different pollutants are not summed to determine 

applicability of a major stationary source or major 

modification; (iii) the definition of "regulated NSR pollutant" 

in Rule 8-9 is amended to specify precursors of PM2.5; (iv) the 

definition of "significant" in Rule 8-9 is amended to specify 

precursors of PM2.5; and (v) the applicability section of the 

Regulation for General Conformity is amended to specify 

PM2.5 precursors in the list of emissions applicability rates. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 

public participation requirements of federal regulations 

(40 CFR 51.102) and not any provision of state law. Except 

as noted below, the proposal will be submitted as a revision to 

the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP under § 110(a) of the 

federal Clean Air Act in accordance with 40 CFR 51.104. It is 

planned to submit all provisions of the proposal as a revision 

to the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments 

must include the full name, address, and telephone number of 

the person commenting and be received by DEQ by the last 

day of the comment period. All comments, exhibits and 

documents received are part of the public record. 

To review regulation documents: The proposal and any 

supporting documents are available on the DEQ Air Public 

Notices for Plans website at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airp

lansandprograms.aspx. The documents may also be obtained 

by contacting the DEQ representative named below. The 

public may review the documents between 8:30 a.m. and 

4:30 p.m. of each business day until the close of the public 

comment period at the following DEQ locations:  

1) Main Street Office, 8th Floor, 629 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4070,  

2) Southwest Regional Office, 355 Deadmore Street, 

Abingdon, VA, telephone (276) 676-4800,  

3) Blue Ridge Regional Office, 3019 Peters Creek Road, 

Roanoke, VA, telephone (540) 562-6700,  

4) Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, Harrisonburg, 

VA, telephone (540) 574-7800,  

5) Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 

VA, telephone (804) 527-5020,  

6) Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 

Woodbridge, VA, telephone (703) 583-3800, and  

7) Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA, telephone (757) 518-2000. 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
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Contact Information: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, or email 

karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of 

Environmental Quality is conducting a periodic review and 

small business impact review of 9VAC15-30, Regulations 

for the Certification of Recycling Machinery and 

Equipment for Local Tax Exemption Purposes. The 

review of this regulation will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins September 4, 2017, and ends 

September 26, 2017. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Melissa Porterfield, Office of Regulatory 

Affairs, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 698-4238, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

BOARD OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES 

Nursing Facility Manual (Chapter V and Appendix F) 
Draft for Stakeholder Input 

Public comment period: August 15, 2017, to September 15, 

2017. 

The draft versions of Chapter V and Appendix F of the 

Nursing Facility manual are posted on the DMAS website for 

public comment through September 15, 2017. View the drafts 

at http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/content_pgs/pd-pmnl.aspx. 

The finalized versions of Chapter V and Appendix F of the 

Nursing Facility manual will be officially posted by 

September 22, 2017, at 

https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/P

roviderManual. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory 

Manager, Division of Policy and Research, Department of 

Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 

1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX 

(804) 786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF PLANNING AND BUDGET 

Commercial Activities List - Public Comments and 
Recommendations 

Pursuant to § 2.2-1501.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 

Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has updated the 

Commercial Activities List (CAL). The CAL is posted on the 

DPB website under Documents, Instructions and Publications 

as "Commercial Activities List - 2017" and is also included as 

an attachment to this notice.  

DPB is seeking written comments on the CAL and invites 

recommendations from the public regarding activities being 

performed by state agencies that might better be performed by 

the private sector. The public comment period will begin 

September 4, 2017, and end September 18, 2017. Please 

include "CAL" in the subject of the email.  

Contact Information: Cari Corr, Virginia Department of 

Planning and Budget, 1111 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 225-4549, or email 

cari.corr@dpb.virginia.gov. 

Virginia Commercial Activities List for  

FY 2016 and FY 2017 

NIGP NIGP title 

90608 Automation; Controls; Instrumentation - 

Architectural Services 

90648 Historical Preservation  

91013 Elevator Installation, Maintenance and Repair  

91223 Construction, General (Backfill Services, 

Digging, Ditching, Road Grading, Rock 

Stabilization, etc.)  

91265 Maintenance and Repair, Tennis/Sport Court  

91316 Construction, Communication Equipment 

(Includes Antenna Towers)  

mailto:karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.go
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/content_pgs/pd-pmnl.aspx
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/ProviderManual
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/ProviderManual
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
mailto:cari.corr@dpb.virginia.gov
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91359 Construction and Upgrades, Wastewater 

Treatment Plant  

91360 Construction, Water System/Plants, Main and 

Service Line  

91427 Carpentry  

91464 Plastering  

91504 Advertising, Outdoor Billboard, etc.  

91806 Administrative Consulting  

91807 Advertising Consulting  

91815 Architectural Consulting  

91819 Buildings, Structures and Components 

Consulting  

91831 Construction Consulting  

91875 Management Consulting  

91878 Medical Consulting  

91885 Personnel/Employment Consulting (Human 

Resources)  

91891 Roofing Consultant  

92000 Data Processing, Computer, Programming, and 

Software Services  

92022 Data Preparation and Processing Services 

(Including Bates Coding)  

92032 Intelligent Transportation System Software (To 

Include Design, Development, and Maintenance 

Services)  

92037 Networking Services (Including Installation, 

Security, and Maintenance)  

92039 Processing System Services, Data (Not 

Otherwise Classified)  

92040 Programming Services, Computer  

92416 Course Development Services, 

Instructional/Training  

92418 Educational Services, Alternative  

92474 Special Education  

92480 Tutoring  

92500 Engineering Services, Professional  

92597 Water Supply, Treatment, and 

Distribution/Engineering  

92694 Water Pollution Services  

92824 Buses, School and Mass Transit, Maintenance 

and Repair  

93881 Scientific Equipment Maintenance and Repair  

94155 HVAC Systems Maintenance and Repair, Power 

Plant  

94620 Auditing  

94649 Financial Services (Not Otherwise Classified)  

94650 Fund Raising Services  

94752 Harvesting Services, Forest  

94807 Administration Services, Health  

94828 Dental Services  

94844 Health Physics Services  

94876 Psychologists/Psychological and Psychiatric 

Services (Including Behavioral Management 

Services) 

95226 Day Care (Adult)  

95245 Food Stamps/Coupons  

95256 Housekeeping Services  

95277 Research and Evaluation, Human Services 

(Including Productivity Audits)  

95285 Support Services  

95605 Business Research Services  

95638 Library Services (Not Otherwise Classified)  

95826 Construction Management Services  

95839 Financial Management Services  

95859 Industrial Management Services  

95874 Personnel Management Services  

95939 Dam and Levee Construction, Maintenance, 

Management and Repair  

95973 Ship Maintenance and Repair  

95984 Towing Services, Marine  

96110 Business Plan Development Services  

96114 Commissioning of Facilities Services 

(Functional and Prefunctional)  

96116 Claims Processing Services  

96129 Economic Impact Studies  
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96130 Employment Agency and Search Firm Services 

(Including Background Investigations and Drug 

Testing for Employment)  

96173 Theatrical Services (Including Production, 

Scenery Design, Stage, etc.)  

96196 Non-Professional Services (Not Otherwise 

Classified)  

96248 Interior Design/Decorator Services  

96252 Mapping Services (Including Cartography and 

Surveying Services, Not Aerial)(See 920-33 for 

Digitized Mapping Services) and 905-10 for 

Aerial Mapping and Survey Services)  

96269 Personnel Services, Temporary  

96343 Intergovernmental/Inter-Agency Contracts  

96728 Computer Hardware and Software 

Manufacturing Services  

96847 Inspection Services, Construction Type  

96881 Traffic Sign Maintenance and Repair  

98854 Lighting Services for Parks, Athletic Fields, 

Parking Lots, etc.  

99029 Disaster Preparedness/Emergency Planning 

Services  

99050 Installation of Security and Alarm Equipment  

99067 Patrol Services  

99079 Sanitizing and Disinfecting Services, Security, 

Fire, Safety and Emergency 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 

Water Control Board conducted a small business impact 

review of 9VAC25-640, Aboveground Storage Tank and 

Pipeline Facility Financial Responsibility Requirements, 

and determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The State Water Control Board is publishing its 

report of findings dated June 21, 2017, to support this 

decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of 

Virginia. 

The current regulation continues to be needed. The regulation 

is structured to minimize the impact on the regulated 

community, including those that are small businesses, while 

protecting human health and the environment. The regulation 

requires financial assurance to be provided based on the 

amount of petroleum that is being stored. Multiple different 

types of financial mechanisms have been included in the 

regulation to provide the regulated community with flexibility 

concerning how they demonstrate financial assurance. The 

wordings of the financial mechanisms are included in the 

regulation and are to be used by the regulated community. 

This assists with reducing the regulatory burden on the 

regulated community.  

This regulation does not duplicate or conflict with federal or 

state law. The Facility and Aboveground Storage Tank (AST) 

Regulation (9VAC25-91) is a companion regulation to this 

regulation. The Facility and Aboveground Storage Tank 

(AST) Regulation contains the technical standards for 

aboveground storage tanks while this regulation address the 

financial assurance requirements for aboveground storage 

tanks and pipeline facilities.  

No comments were received during the public comment 

period.  

The regulation was last amended in 2013 to include an 

additional financial mechanism in the regulation. The 

financial assurance mechanisms included in the regulation 

continue to be available to the regulated community from 

financial institutions.  

The agency recommends retaining this regulation with minor 

changes that will be made as part of a separate regulatory 

action. During this review, 9VAC25-640-30 was identified as 

needing to be revised to be consistent with the exclusions 

found in the Facility and Aboveground Storage Tank (AST) 

Regulations (9VAC25-91). Additionally, 9VAC25-640-250 

was identified as obsolete and no longer needed. These 

changes will not impact small businesses.  

The regulation continues to meet the objective of protecting 

the public from expenses related to containment and cleanup 

necessitated by accidental releases arising from the operation 

of petroleum ASTs and pipeline facilities. All owners 

including small business owners are allowed to select from 

multiple financial assurance mechanisms to demonstrate 

financial assurance. This provides the regulated community 

with flexibility concerning compliance with the financial 

assurance requirements.  

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Office of 

Regulatory Affairs, Department of Environmental Quality, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4238, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Order for the Cumberland 
Plateau Regional Housing Authority 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Cumberland 

Plateau Regional Housing Authority for violations at the 

Hurley Heights 1 (Lots A, 1 and 2) Sewage Treatment Plant 

in Buchanan County, Virginia. The proposed consent order 

contains a civil charge and a schedule of compliance to 

address the violations. A description of the proposed action is 

mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
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available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Ralph T. 

Hilt will accept comments by email at 

ralph.hilt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (276) 676-4899, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Southwest Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, 

Abingdon, VA 24210, from September 5, 2017, through 

October 4, 2017. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 
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