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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair; Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Leslie L. Lilley; E.M. Miller, Jr.; 

Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Timothy Oksman; 

Charles S. Sharp; Noah P. Sullivan; Mark J. Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

November 2017 through November 2018 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

34:6 October 25, 2017 November 13, 2017 

34:7 November 8, 2017 November 27, 2017 

34:8 November 21, 2017 (Tuesday) December 11, 2017 

34:9 December 6, 2017 December 25, 2017 

34:10 December 19, 2017 (Tuesday) January 8, 2018 

34:11 January 3, 2018 January 22, 2018 

34:12 January 17, 2018 February 5, 2018 

34:13 January 31, 2018 February 19, 2018 

34:14 February 14, 2018 March 5, 2018 

34:15 February 28, 2018 March 19, 2018 

34:16 March 14, 2018 April 2, 2018 

34:17 March 28, 2018 April 16, 2018 

34:18 April 11, 2018 April 30, 2018 

34:19 April 25, 2018 May 14, 2018 

34:20 May 9, 2018 May 28, 2018 

34:21 May 23, 2018 June 11, 2018 

34:22 June 6, 2018 June 25, 2018 

34:23 June 20, 2018 July 9, 2018 

34:24 July 3, 2018 (Tuesday) July 23, 2018 

34:25 July 18, 2018 August 6, 2018 

34:26 August 1, 2018 August 20, 2018 

35:1 August 15, 2018 September 3, 2018 

35:2 August 29, 2018 September17, 2018 
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35:6 October24, 2018 November 12, 2018 

35:7 November 7, 2018 November 26, 2018 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Optometry intends to 

consider amending 18VAC105-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Optometry. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to address the opioid abuse crisis in Virginia by 

adopting regulations for optometrists prescribing controlled 

substances containing opioids. The regulations for the 

management of acute pain include requirements for (i) 

prescribing a dosage not to exceed seven days, (ii) evaluation 

of the patient, and (iii) limitations on quantity. Requirements 

for prescribing an opioid beyond seven days include a 

reevaluation of the patient, check of the Prescription 

Monitoring Program, and specific information in the patient 

record. In addition, if a therapeutic pharmaceutical agent-

certified optometrist finds an opioid prescription for chronic 

pain is necessary, he must refer the patient to a physician or 

comply with Board of Medicine regulation for managing 

chronic pain. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 13, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4508, FAX (804) 

527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5205; Filed October 16, 2017, 8:52 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Pharmacy intends to 

consider amending 18VAC110-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to require an applicant as a pharmacist, a pharmacy 

intern, or a pharmacy technician to obtain an e-profile ID 

number that may be utilized by the applicant and the board to 

track discipline, exam scores, and continuing education. 

There is no cost to applicants to obtain the number, and there 

is no cost to the board for using an e-profile ID number to get 

information from the National Association of Boards of 

Pharmacy. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 13, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5278; Filed October 16, 2017, 8:33 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services intends to consider amending 

22VAC30-30, Provision of Independent Living 

Rehabilitation Services. The purpose of the proposed action 

is to comply with 45 CFR Part 1329, which implements The 

Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act of 2014 for the 

independent living program and independent living services, 

and ensure that Virginia's centers for independent living 

receiving federal funds comply with federal regulations. In 

addition, this action will bring the regulation up to date with 

the changes in the independent living movement that have 

occurred since this regulation was last amended. This action 

will protect the welfare of citizens because it stipulates the 

specific, core independent living services that are required by 

the federal regulations and will allow the individual centers 

the flexibility to provide additional services that are needed 

by their specific geographical areas if there are additional 

funding sources available.  

This Notice of Intended Regulatory Action serves as the 

report of the findings of the regulatory review pursuant to 

§ 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 51.5-131 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 13, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Vanessa S. Rakestraw, Ph.D., CRC, Policy 

Analyst, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 

8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone 

(804) 662-7612, FAX (804) 662-7663, TTY (800) 464-9950, 

or email vanessa.rakestraw@dars.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5333; Filed October 25, 2017, 10:33 a.m.  
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STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 

intends to consider amending 22VAC40-705, Child 

Protective Services. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

comply with 2017 legislative changes and applicable federal 

law. The action will address changes in the Code of Virginia, 

comments from any workgroup convened to review the 

regulation, and comments received during the public 

comment period for this Notice of Intended Regulatory 

Action. The agency plans to (i) amend provisions regarding 

substance-exposed infants in accordance with Chapters 176 

and 428 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly; (ii) amend provisions 

related to active duty members of the United States Armed 

Forces in accordance with Chapters 88 and 142 of the 2017 

Acts of Assembly; (iii) consider adding a new provision for a 

24-hour child protective services response to reports alleging 

abuse or neglect of a child under the age of two years based 

on Chapter 604 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly; and (iv) 

consider changes in response to recommendations made by a 

workgroup examining barriers to treatment for substance-

exposed infants established in Chapter 197 of the 2017 Acts 

of Assembly.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 13, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Mary Walter, Program Consultant, Child 

Protective Services, Department of Social Services, 801 East 

Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-

7569, FAX (804) 726-7499, or email 

mary.walter@dss.virgnia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5314; Filed October 16, 2017, 8:55 a.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-120. Pertaining to the 

Promulgation of a Public Notice on Applications to 

Encroach in, on or over Subaqueous Lands of the 

Commonwealth (amending 4VAC20-120-10 through 

4VAC20-120-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update the public notice process 

regarding permit applications and identify projects or 

activities for which a notice is not necessary.  

CHAPTER 120  

PERTAINING TO THE PROMULGATION OF A PUBLIC 

NOTICE ON OF APPLICATIONS TO ENCROACH IN, ON 

OR OVER SUBAQUEOUS LANDS OF THE 

COMMONWEALTH FOR PERMITS FOR CERTAIN 

USES OF STATE-OWNED BOTTOMLANDS  

4VAC20-120-10. Authority, prior regulation, effective 

date Purpose. 

A. This chapter is promulgated pursuant to the authority 

contained in § 28.1-23 [Repealed] of the Code of Virginia.  

B. This chapter amends the previous Regulation XV 

concerning the requirement for public notice on all 

applications to encroach on subaqueous lands of the 

Commonwealth, and made effective November 1, 1973.  

C. The effective date of this chapter is March 1, 1983.  

The purpose of this chapter is to establish the public notice 

requirements that are a part of a public interest review for 

projects and activities requiring permits from the Marine 

Resources Commission for uses of state-owned bottomlands 

pursuant to Chapter 12 (§ 28.2-1200 et seq.) of Title 28.2 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

4VAC20-120-20. General.  

The Marine Resources Commission hereby requires a public 

notice on all applications for encroachment upon the state-

owned bottoms made pursuant to Chapter 12 (§ 28.2-100 et 

seq.) of Title 28.2 of the Code of Virginia. Such public notice 

shall be made in accordance with the following provisions.  

The Marine Resources Commission requires a public notice 

on all applications that require a permit from the commission 

pursuant to Chapter 12 (§ 28.2-1200 et seq.) of Title 28.2 of 

the Code of Virginia except for the following projects or 

activities:  

1. Construction projects, structures, and activities 

authorized by general permit or regulation promulgated by 

the commission, unless such general permit or regulation 

specifically requires such public notice; 

2. Replacement or reconstruction of structures previously 

authorized or permitted by the commission, provided such 

structures do not result in additional encroachment over 

state-owned bottomlands; 

3. Taking sediment samples for engineering or 

geotechnical analysis; 

4. Recovering objects from state-owned bottomlands, 

unless those objects have been identified as underwater 

historic property pursuant to § 10.1-2214 of the Code of 

Virginia, or from areas excluded from recovery activity by 

the commission in consultation with the Department of 

Historic Resources; 

5. Restoring sand to any publically owned beach damaged 

by sand erosion; or 

6. Constructing private piers requiring a permit pursuant to 

§ 28.2-1205 D of the Code of Virginia. 

4VAC20-120-30. Content and publication.  

A. The notice shall include the applicant's name and 

accurately describe the nature and, extent, and location of the 

proposed project; shall include the location of the project; and 

shall include the applicant's name and address.  
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B. For projects which require both a state and federal permit, 

the district office of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers will 

prepare a joint state/federal public notice, with the assistance 

of the Environmental Division of VMRC, which will be 

promulgated in accordance with U.S. Army Corps of 

Engineers chapters and local district policy. The public notice 

shall be placed in a newspaper having general circulation in 

the area where the project is proposed. 

C. For projects which qualify under either a project or an 

activity that also requires a permit from the Norfolk District 

of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers nationwide or district 

general permit, or for which no federal permit is required, the 

public notice shall be placed in a newspaper having general 

circulation in the area where the project is proposed (Corps) 

and for which a Corps public notice is required, a joint state 

and federal public notice may be used without the placement 

of a notice in a newspaper by the commission. 

D. Copies of all comments received will be provided to the 

appropriate districts of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and 

the State Water Control Board Corps and the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

4VAC20-120-40. Commissioner's responsibility and 

authority.  

A. The commissioner Marine Resources Commissioner or 

his designee shall be responsible for seeing ensuring that the 

newspaper notice is published, as described in 4VAC20-120-

30 C above, B and shall be the sole judge concerning the 

adequacy of content of the newspaper notice and selection of 

the newspaper.  

B. The cost of publication of the notice required in 

4VAC20-120-30 C B shall be borne by the applicant.  

C. Cost of publication of the joint state/federal public notice 

prepared by the Norfolk and Baltimore districts of the U.S. 

Army Corps of Engineers will be borne by the district which 

prepares the notice.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5330; Filed October 25, 2017, 10:23 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-260. Pertaining to 

Designation of Seed Areas and Clean Cull Areas 

(amending 4VAC20-260-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 25, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment establishes inspection procedures for 

oysters kept in individual baskets and clarifies the methods 

police officers may use to inspect oyster harvests for 

conformity to culling standards. 

4VAC20-260-50. Culling and inspection procedures.  

A. All oysters taken from natural public beds, rocks, or 

shoals shall be placed on the culling board, or in only one 

basket upon the culling board, and culled by hand at the 

location of harvest. 

1. Culled oysters shall be transferred immediately from the 

culling board to either the inside open part of the boat, and 

stored in either a loose pile, or baskets, but only one 

transfer method may be used on any boat or vessel in any 

one day. 

a. Oysters shall not be stored in both a loose pile and in 

baskets. 

b. A single basket may be on board any boat during 

transfer of culled oysters from the culling board to the 

inside open part of the boat in a loose pile. 

2. The entire harvest shall be subject to inspection, as 

provided in subsection F of this section. 

B. Any oysters taken lawfully by hand from natural public 

beds, rocks, or shoals from the seaside of the Eastern Shore, 

and held in sacks, bags, or containers, shall be culled when 

taken and placed in those sacks, bags, or containers for 

inspection by any police officer as described in subsection G 

of this section. 

C. If oysters from leased grounds and oysters from public 

grounds are mixed in the same cargo on a boat or motor 

vehicle, the entire cargo shall be subject to inspection under 

this chapter.  

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to buy, sell, or report 

clean cull oysters by any measure other than those described 

in § 28.2-526 A of the Code of Virginia filled to level full. 

The container described in § 28.2-526 A 2 is a basket. It shall 

be unlawful for any person to sell, purchase, or report the sale 

or purchase of any clean cull oysters harvested from public 

grounds, as described in 4VAC20-720-40, in excess of the 

harvest limits described in 4VAC20-720-80. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to buy, sell, or report 

seed oysters by any measure other than as described in 

§ 28.2-526 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. Oysters may be inspected by any police officer according 

to any one of the following provisions: 
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1. For any oysters transferred from the culling board to the 

inside open part of the boat, vehicle, or trailer or stored in a 

loose pile in a vehicle, a trailer, or the inside open part of a 

boat, any the police officer may shall use a shovel to take 

at least one bushel basket of oysters to inspect, at random, 

provided that the entire bushel or basket shall be taken 

from one place in the open pile of oysters. The officer may 

inspect multiple baskets by repeating this procedure for 

each basket of oysters shoveled from the loose pile. 

2. For any oysters transferred from a vessel to a motor 

vehicle or trailer, any stored in baskets in a vehicle, a 

trailer, or the inside open part of a boat, the police officer 

may shall select one or more baskets of oysters and empty 

the contents of those baskets into a bushel or basket, as 

described in § 28.2-526 of the Code of Virginia, basket for 

inspection. The officer may inspect multiple baskets by 

repeating this procedure for each basket. 

G. In the inspection of oysters harvested by hand from 

waters of the seaside of the Eastern Shore, the police officer 

may select any sacks, bags, or containers at random to 

establish a full metallic measuring bushel or basket for 

purposes of inspection.  

H. On the seaside of the Eastern Shore oysters may be sold 

without being measured if both the buyer and the seller agree 

to the number of bushels of oysters in the transaction. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5295; Filed October 25, 2017, 3:20 p.m.  

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-260. Pertaining to 

Designation of Seed Areas and Clean Cull Areas 

(amending 4VAC20-260-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-210 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Dates: October 25, 2017, through November 24, 

2017. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248 or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Preamble:  

The amendment establishes the basket as the only measure 

for oyster culling tolerance. 

4VAC20-260-40. Culling tolerances or standards. 

A. In the clean cull areas, if more than a four-quart measure 

of any combined quantity of oysters less than three inches and 

shells of any size are found in any bushel or basket inspected 

by any police officer, it shall constitute a violation of this 

chapter, except as described in 4VAC20-260-30 E.  

B. In the James River seed areas, if more than a six-quart 

measure of shells is found in any bushel or basket of seed 

oysters inspected by any police officer, it shall constitute a 

violation of this chapter.  

C. In the James River seed areas, if more than a four-quart 

measure of any combined quantity of oysters less than three 

inches and shells of any size are found in any bushel or basket 

of clean cull oysters inspected by any police officer, it shall 

constitute a violation of this chapter.  

D. From the seaside of the Eastern Shore, if more than a 

four-quart measure of any combined quantity of oysters less 

than three inches and shells of any size are found per bushel 

or basket of clean cull oysters inspected by any police officer, 

it shall constitute a violation of this chapter.  

E. Any oysters less than the minimum cull size or any 

amount of shell that exceeds the culling standard shall be 

returned immediately to the natural beds, rocks, or shoals 

from where they were taken. 

F. Oysters less than the minimum cull size that are adhering 

so closely to the shell of any marketable oyster as to render 

removal impossible without destroying the oysters less than 

the minimum cull size need not be removed, and those 

oysters shall be considered lawful and shall not be included in 

the culling tolerances or standards as described in subsections 

A through D of this section. 

G. It shall be unlawful for any person to sell any oysters less 

than the minimum cull size as described in this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5326; Filed October 25, 2017, 10:44 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-510. Pertaining to Amberjack 

and Cobia (amending 4VAC20-510-25).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 25, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment establishes the closure of the commercial 

cobia season after September 30, 2017. 

4VAC20-510-25. Commercial fishery possession limits 

and season. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing commercially 

to possess more than two amberjack or more than two cobia 
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at any time, except as described in 4VAC20-510-33. Any 

amberjack or cobia caught after the possession limit has been 

reached shall be returned to the water immediately. When 

fishing from any boat or vessel where the entire catch is held 

in a common hold or container, the possession limit shall be 

for the boat or vessel and shall be equal to the number of 

persons on board legally eligible to fish multiplied by two. 

The captain or operator of the boat or vessel shall be 

responsible for any boat or vessel possession limit. 

B. In 2017 it shall be unlawful for any person fishing 

commercially to harvest or possess any cobia after September 

30. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5294; Filed October 25, 2017, 1:13 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-620. Pertaining to Summer 

Flounder (amending 4VAC20-620-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 30, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish fall 2017 commercial offshore 

summer flounder fishery management measures, including 

a change to the season start date and a lower Virginia 

landing limit. 

4VAC20-620-40. Commercial vessel possession and 

landing limitations. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer 

flounder outside of Virginia's waters to do any of the 

following, except as described in subsections B, C, D, and E 

of this section: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of 10% by weight of Atlantic 

croaker or the combined landings, on board a vessel, of 

black sea bass, scup, squid, scallops and Atlantic mackerel. 

2. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of 1,500 pounds landed in 

combination with Atlantic croaker. 

3. Fail to sell the vessel's entire harvest of all species at the 

point of landing. 

B. Nothing in this chapter shall preclude a vessel from 

possessing any North Carolina vessel possession limit of 

summer flounder in Virginia; however, no vessel that 

possesses the North Carolina vessel possession limit of 

summer flounder shall offload any amount of that possession 

limit, except as described in subsection J of this section. 

C. From March 1 through April 30, it shall be unlawful for 

any person harvesting summer flounder outside of Virginia 

waters to do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina 

landing limit or trip limit.  

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 7,500 pounds of 

summer flounder. 

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period.  

D. From November 1 October 16 through December 31 of 

each year, if it has not been announced that 85% of the 

allowable landings have been taken, it shall be unlawful for 

any person harvesting summer flounder outside of Virginia 

waters to do any of the following:  

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina 

landing limit or trip limit.  

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 7,500 7,000 

pounds of summer flounder.  

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

E. From January 1 through December 31 of each year, any 

boat or vessel issued a valid federal summer flounder 

moratorium permit and owned and operated by a legal 

Virginia Commercial Hook-and-Line Licensee that possesses 

a Restricted Summer Flounder Endorsement shall be 

restricted to a possession and landing limit of 200 pounds of 

summer flounder, except as described in 4VAC20-620-30 F. 

F. Upon request by a marine police officer, the seafood 

buyer or processor shall offload and accurately determine the 

total weight of all summer flounder aboard any vessel landing 

summer flounder in Virginia. 

G. Any possession limit described in this section shall be 

determined by the weight in pounds of summer flounder as 

customarily packed, boxed and weighed by the seafood buyer 

or processor. The weight of any summer flounder in pounds 

found in excess of any possession limit described in this 

section shall be prima facie evidence of violation of this 

chapter. Persons in possession of summer flounder aboard 
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any vessel in excess of the possession limit shall be in 

violation of this chapter unless that vessel has requested and 

been granted safe harbor. Any buyer or processor offloading 

or accepting any quantity of summer flounder from any vessel 

in excess of the possession limit shall be in violation of this 

chapter, except as described by subsection J of this section. A 

buyer or processor may accept or buy summer flounder from 

a vessel that has secured safe harbor, provided that vessel has 

satisfied the requirements described in subsection J of this 

section.  

H. If a person violates the possession limits described in this 

section, the entire amount of summer flounder in that person's 

possession shall be confiscated. Any confiscated summer 

flounder shall be considered as a removal from the 

appropriate commercial harvest or landings quota. Upon 

confiscation, the marine police officer shall inventory the 

confiscated summer flounder and, at a minimum, secure two 

bids for purchase of the confiscated summer flounder from 

approved and licensed seafood buyers. The confiscated fish 

will be sold to the highest bidder and all funds derived from 

such sale shall be deposited for the Commonwealth pending 

court resolution of the charge of violating the possession 

limits established by this chapter. All of the collected funds 

will be returned to the accused upon a finding of innocence or 

forfeited to the Commonwealth upon a finding of guilty.  

I. It shall be unlawful for a licensed seafood buyer or 

federally permitted seafood buyer to fail to contact the Marine 

Resources Commission Operation Station prior to a vessel 

offloading summer flounder harvested outside of Virginia. 

The buyer shall provide to the Marine Resources Commission 

the name of the vessel, its captain, an estimate of the amount 

in pounds of summer flounder on board that vessel, and the 

anticipated or approximate offloading time. Once offloading 

of any vessel is complete and the weight of the landed 

summer flounder has been determined, the buyer shall contact 

the Marine Resources Commission Operations Station and 

report the vessel name and corresponding weight of summer 

flounder landed. It shall be unlawful for any person to offload 

from a boat or vessel for commercial purposes any summer 

flounder during the period of 9 p.m. to 7 a.m.  

J. Any boat or vessel that has entered Virginia waters for 

safe harbor shall only offload summer flounder when the state 

that licenses that vessel requests to transfer quota to Virginia, 

in the amount that corresponds to that vessel's possession 

limit, and the commissioner agrees to accept that transfer of 

quota.  

K. After any commercial harvest or landing quota as 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 has been attained and 

announced as such, any boat or vessel possessing summer 

flounder on board may enter Virginia waters for safe harbor 

but shall contact the Marine Resources Commission 

Operation Center in advance of such entry into Virginia 

waters.  

L. When it is projected and announced that 85% of the 

allowable landings have been taken, it shall be unlawful to 

land summer flounder in Virginia, except as described in 

subsection A of this section.  

M. L. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer 

flounder outside of Virginia waters to possess aboard any 

vessel, in Virginia, any amount of summer flounder, once it 

has been projected and announced that 100% of the quota 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 A has been taken. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5293; Filed October 25, 2017, 1:17 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1120. Pertaining to Tilefish 

and Grouper (adding 4VAC20-1120-35).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment establishes a recreational fishing season 

that closes after October 31, 2017. 

4VAC20-1120-35. Recreational blueline tilefish season. 

It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally to 

harvest or possess any blueline tilefish after October 31, 

2017. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5325; Filed October 25, 2017, 10:43 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1330. Living Shoreline Group 

2 General Permit for Certain Living Shoreline 

Treatments Involving Submerged Lands, Tidal Wetlands, 

or Coastal Primary Sand Dunes and Beaches (adding 

4VAC20-1330-10 through 4VAC20-1330-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-104.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2017.  



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 13, 2017 

598 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulation establishes a general permit that 

authorizes and encourages the use of living shorelines as 

the preferred alternative for stabilizing tidal shorelines. 

The regulation provides for the permitting processes for 

living shoreline treatments by establishing procedures and 

qualifications for the general permit and sets forth specific 

criteria and permit conditions. 

CHAPTER 1330 

LIVING SHORELINE GROUP 2 GENERAL PERMIT FOR 

CERTAIN LIVING SHORELINE TREATMENTS 

INVOLVING SUBMERGED LANDS, TIDAL 

WETLANDS, OR COASTAL PRIMARY SAND DUNES 

AND BEACHES 

4VAC20-1330-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this general permit is to provide a 

streamlined permitting process as an incentive to encourage 

property owners to utilize a living shoreline approach as 

appropriate, manage shoreline erosion, and promote the 

planting and growth of tidal wetland vegetation, sand dunes, 

and beaches to restore or enhance ecosystem services. The 

techniques and conditions contained in this general permit are 

designed to limit the applicability of the permit to situations 

where the projects are most likely to be successful, so as to 

limit the potential for adverse impacts on the environment and 

adjoining or nearby properties.  

Approval under this general permit constitutes either the 

commission or the local wetlands board authorization, or 

both, required in accordance with Chapters 12 (§ 28.2-1200 et 

seq.), 13 (§ 28.2-1300 et seq.), and 14 (§ 28.2-1400 et seq.) of 

Title 28.2 of the Code of Virginia. This general permit shall 

not conflict with or obviate the need to comply with any other 

federal, state, or local permitting requirements or 

authorizations governing the proposed activity. 

4VAC20-1330-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Chairman" means the chairman of a local wetlands board or 

his designee. 

"Commission" or "VMRC" means the Virginia Marine 

Resources Commission. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Marine 

Resources or his designee. 

"Dune and beach vegetation" means the vegetative species 

listed in § 28.2-1400 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Fetch" means the distance along open water over which 

wind blows. 

"Fiber log" means biodegradable fibrous material often 

composed of coconut fiber that is formed into rolls of various 

lengths and thicknesses used for erosion control and as a 

growing medium. 

"Fiber mat" means a biodegradable fibrous material often 

composed of coconut fiber that is formed into mats of various 

sizes and thicknesses used for erosion control and as a 

growing medium.  

"Filter cloth" means a geotextile fabric designed to allow 

water to pass through the membrane while retaining 

sediments. For purposes of this chapter, filter cloth is 

typically utilized under sills and marsh toe revetments to 

minimize settling and along the landward side of marsh toe 

revetments to minimize sediment loss from the adjacent 

marsh substrate. 

"Grazing protection" means temporary structures consisting 

of wooden stakes, string lines, netting, and metal cages 

intended to protect planted wetland vegetation and introduced 

ribbed mussels from predation. 

"Joint Permit Application" means the current Joint Permit 

Application utilized by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, 

Virginia Marine Resources Commission, Virginia 

Department of Environmental Quality, and local wetlands 

boards to evaluate projects involving submerged lands, 

wetlands, and coastal primary sand dunes and beaches for 

permit review and any abbreviated application developed 

specifically for this general permit. 

"Living shoreline" means a shoreline management practice 

that provides erosion control and water quality benefits; 

protects, restores, or enhances shoreline habitat; and 

maintains coastal processes through the strategic placement of 

plants, stone, sand fill, and other structural and organic 

materials.  

"Marsh toe revetment" means an erosion control structure 

constructed of riprap or shell bags placed immediately 

channelward of an eroding marsh. A marsh toe revetment is 

generally utilized to halt the erosion of an existing vegetated 

marsh that is currently wide enough to provide erosion 

control benefits. 

"Ribbed mussels" means the Atlantic ribbed mussel 

(Geukensia demissa). 

"Riprap" means heavy rock utilized to construct sills and 

revetments. 

"Sand dunes and beaches" means the jurisdictional areas 

meeting the definitions of coastal primary sand dunes and 

beaches contained in § 28.2-1400 of the Code of Virginia. 
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"Sill" means a linear erosion control structure constructed of 

riprap, shell bags, or other approved material placed 

channelward of and generally parallel to an eroding shoreline. 

Sand is often placed landward of the sill to raise the elevation 

of the substrate and facilitate the establishment of wetlands 

vegetation. 

"Shell bags" means net bags of various sizes filled with 

oyster or clam shells used for erosion control and as a 

substrate for other organisms.  

"Tidal wetlands" or "wetlands" means the jurisdictional area 

meeting the definition contained in § 28.2-1300 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

"Unaltered shoreline" means a shoreline segment that does 

not already have an erosion control structure in place. 

"Wetlands board" or "board" means a local wetlands board 

created pursuant to § 28.2-1303 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Wetlands vegetation" means the vegetative species listed in 

§ 28.2-1300 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Woven containment bag" means a biodegradable bag 

generally filled with a mixture of sand, gravel, mulch, and 

soil and planted with wetlands or beach and dune vegetation. 

4VAC20-1330-30. Applicability and procedures. 

A. This general permit shall authorize the placement of 

certain specified sand fill, fiber logs, fiber mats, shell bags, 

riprap, woven containment bags, and temporary grazing 

protection in tidal wetlands, beaches, and submerged lands to 

provide shoreline erosion control while enhancing shoreline 

habitat and improving the growing conditions for wetlands or 

dune and beach vegetation. The establishment of oysters and 

ribbed mussels may be incorporated into the project design. 

B. To qualify for this general permit the applicant must 

submit to VMRC a complete Joint Permit Application or 

special abbreviated application, any application processing 

fee required pursuant to Chapter 13 (§ 28.2-1300 et seq.) or 

Chapter 14 (§ 28.2-1400 et seq.) of Title 28.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, and any supplemental information deemed 

necessary by the commission or the applicable wetlands 

board chairman to fully evaluate the proposal. The 

commissioner will oversee administration of the provisions of 

the general permit. 

VMRC will forward the application to the Norfolk District 

of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, the appropriate local 

wetlands board, and the Department of Environmental 

Quality. 

C. The wetlands board and VMRC will review the 

application concurrently to determine whether: 

1. The application is sufficiently complete to allow 

evaluation. 

2. The project satisfactorily meets the general permit 

criteria. 

3. The adjoining property owners to the proposed project 

have been notified and expressed no opposition to the 

project.  

4. The general permit process is appropriate to use for the 

specific project. 

If the wetlands board chairman and the commissioner 

determine the proposal affirmatively satisfies all four 

requirements listed in subdivisions 1 through 4 of this 

subsection, the commissioner shall issue the general permit. 

No additional public interest review shall be required. In the 

event that no comment or request for additional information 

is received from a wetlands board chairman or designee 

within 30 days of being provided the application, it shall be 

assumed the wetlands board has no objection to the issuance 

of the general permit, and the commissioner may issue the 

permit. 

Should either the wetlands board chairman or the 

commissioner determine that the proposal does not satisfy all 

four requirements listed in subdivisions 1 through 4 of this 

subsection, the general permit process shall not be utilized for 

the tidal wetlands or coastal primary sand dunes and beaches 

portions of the project. However, the application may be 

supplemented with additional information deemed necessary 

to qualify for the general permit or the proposal could be 

reviewed in accordance with the applicable standard 

provisions of Chapters 12 (§ 28.2-1200 et seq.), 13 (§ 28.2-

1300 et seq.), and 14 (§ 28.2-1400 et seq.) of Title 28.2 of the 

Code of Virginia related to submerged lands, wetlands, and 

coastal primary sand dunes and beaches.  

D. In the case when a wetlands board conducts a public 

hearing and issues a wetlands permit or coastal primary sand 

dunes and beaches permit and when the subaqueous 

components of the project satisfy the specific criteria under 

this regulation, the commissioner may proceed with the 

issuance of a general permit for the portions of the project 

involving state-owned submerged lands without the need for 

further public interest review provided an appeal of the 

wetlands board decision is not received within the 10-day 

appeal period provided under §§ 28.2-1311 and 28.2-1411 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

E. Issuance of the general permit does not relieve the 

permittee from complying with all other applicable local, 

state, and federal laws and regulations, including those laws 

and regulations administered by the U.S. Army Corps of 

Engineers, the Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act (§ 62.1-

44.15:67 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), erosion and 

sediment control ordinances, stormwater management 

programs, and the Virginia Water Protection Permit program. 
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4VAC20-1330-40. Specific criteria. 

A. Any project must satisfy the following specific criteria: 

1. There is clear evidence of active detrimental erosion at 

the project site, and the maximum fetch at the project site 

does not exceed 1.5 miles in any shore angle direction. 

2. The maximum water depth at the sill location shall not 

exceed two feet at mean low water, and the landward edge 

of the sill shall not be located further than 30 feet 

channelward of mean low water.  

3. The proposal shall include an existing or created tidal 

wetland with a minimum total width of eight feet. 

4. For unaltered shorelines, the project will only qualify for 

the general permit if the living shoreline components are 

the only shoreline protection structures proposed along the 

specific shoreline segment. For previously altered 

shorelines, an existing erosion control structure will not 

restrict the use of the general permit for a living shoreline 

project designed to protect or enhance an existing 

vegetated wetland provided the resulting vegetated 

wetlands is at least eight feet in width. 

5. Marsh toe revetments and sills shall be constructed of 

riprap or alternative materials proposed during the review 

process. The materials shall be of sufficient weight or 

adequately anchored to prevent being dislodged by 

anticipated wave action. Asphalt and materials containing 

asphalt or other toxic substances shall not be used in the 

construction of marsh toe revetments and sills. 

6. Marsh toe revetments, sills, and associated sand fill shall 

not be placed on submerged aquatic vegetation or 

vegetated wetlands, except sand may be placed on 

vegetated wetlands if deemed necessary to improve 

wetlands habitat or resiliency provided the sand placement 

does not raise the elevation of the site above the elevation 

of jurisdictional tidal vegetated wetlands and provided 

further that the project results in a net gain in areal 

coverage of wetlands vegetation through planting or 

natural revegetation. 

7. Marsh toe revetments and sills shall be constructed on 

filter cloth and to a maximum height of one foot above the 

elevation of mean high water at the site. Side slopes of the 

structures shall be no flatter than 2:1. Broken concrete may 

be utilized for the core of the structure provided it does not 

contain exposed rebar or other construction debris and 

provided it is covered with a layer of riprap stone. 

8. Sills shall be designed and constructed with a minimum 

of one five-foot wide gap or window per property and per 

100 linear feet. The maximum height of a window shall not 

exceed one-half the height of the sill and shall not exceed 

the elevation of mean high water. 

9. Coarse sand should be utilized for any required fill. At a 

minimum the sand shall contain less than 10% very fine 

material (passing a #100 sieve). The sand shall not be 

placed in a manner that raises the elevation of any existing 

wetland area above the elevation of jurisdictional vegetated 

tidal wetlands (1.5 times the mean tide range above mean 

low water). 

10. Wetland or dune and beach vegetation shall be planted 

in all jurisdictional areas on which sand is placed where the 

resulting substrate elevation is appropriate to support the 

growth of such vegetation. Only those species that are 

anticipated to survive at the project site elevation and 

normal salinity regime shall be used. The common reed, 

Phragmites sp., shall not typically be considered 

appropriate wetlands vegetation for planting purposes.  

11. Fiber logs, fiber mats, woven containment bags, and 

shell bags may be utilized within the jurisdictional tidal 

wetlands or sand dunes and beaches to create a sill or to 

otherwise support the growth of wetlands or dune and 

beach vegetation provided they are not placed on existing 

vegetation and are not stacked to a height that exceeds 

mean high water except along the landward limits of the 

wetlands or dunes and beaches. The bags, fiber mats, and 

fiber logs shall be maintained and promptly removed 

should they become displaced or unexpectedly damaged at 

any time. If available, biodegradable materials are 

encouraged. The replacement of any failed fiber logs, fiber 

mats, or bags in the same location shall be allowed without 

the need to receive additional authorization. Additional 

sand may be placed to replace any lost sand or to adjust for 

substrate settlement, provided the elevation of the 

originally proposed grade is not exceeded without the need 

to receive additional authorization.  

12. Temporary grazing protection may be utilized to 

protect wetlands, dune and beach vegetation, or ribbed 

mussels until they become established. The protective 

structures shall be removed once the vegetation or mussels 

are established. Such grazing protection is encouraged and 

should be considered in the project design. Any requested 

grazing protection shall be specified in the permit 

application. 

13. The permittee agrees to notify the commission upon 

completion of the project and to provide a brief monitoring 

report at the end of the first full growing season following 

planting and after the second year of establishment of 

vegetation. The monitoring shall be conducted from June 

through September of each year, and the report shall 

include at a minimum the permit number, representative 

photos of the site, and a brief statement concerning the 

success of the project. Additional documentation is 

encouraged to allow improved evaluation of the techniques 

utilized. 
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14. Any vegetated wetlands or dune and beach vegetation 

established under this general permit shall not be cut or 

harvested. Areas shall be replanted as necessary to ensure, 

at a minimum, no net loss of wetland or dune and beach 

vegetation within the project area for a period of two years 

following the initial planting. If necessary to promote the 

establishment of wetlands or dune and beach vegetation, 

additional sand may be placed to restore the originally 

proposed elevation grade. 

15. Any measures taken to eradicate invasive species at the 

project site associated with the living shoreline activity, 

including Phragmites sp., shall be noted in the permit 

application or conducted in accordance with a plan 

evaluated and approved by the applicable wetlands board 

or locality. Such plans shall include measures to revegetate 

the area with appropriate native wetlands vegetation. 

B. All activities undertaken in accordance with the general 

permit are subject to the enforcement and penalty provisions 

contained in Article 2 (§ 28.2-1210 et seq.) of Chapter 12, 

Article 4 (§ 28.2-1316 et seq.) of Chapter 13, and Article 4 

(§ 28.2-1416 et seq.) of Chapter 14 of Title 28.2 of the Code 

of Virginia. Failure to comply with any criteria or conditions 

of the general permit constitutes a violation of the permit. 

4VAC20-1330-50. Permit conditions. 

Permits issued are subject to the following conditions: 

1. The project authorized by this general permit shall be 

completed within two years of the issuance of the permit. 

Upon written request by the permittee prior to the permit 

expiration date, the permit may be extended to allow 

completion of the work. All other conditions remain in 

effect until revoked by the commission, wetlands board, or 

the General Assembly. 

2. This permit grants no authority to the permittee to 

encroach on property rights, including riparian rights, of 

others. 

3. The duly authorized agents of the commission and the 

applicable local government shall have the right to enter 

upon the premises at reasonable times for the purposes of 

inspecting the work authorized by the permit and to 

evaluate compliance with the terms and conditions of the 

permit. Although the general permit is issued by the 

commissioner, the applicable local wetlands board retains 

jurisdiction and may enforce violations and any 

nonconformance with the permit occurring within tidal 

wetlands and coastal primary sand dunes and beaches. 

4. The permittee shall comply with all applicable federal, 

state, and local laws, ordinances, rules, and regulations 

concerning the project, specifically including those related 

to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, water quality 

standards, erosion and sedimentation control, the 

Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act, the Stormwater 

Management Act, and the Virginia Water Protection 

Permit Program. The granting of this permit shall not 

relieve the permittee of the responsibility of obtaining any 

and all other permits or authorization for this project. 

5. The permit shall not affect or interfere with the right 

vouchsafed to the people of Virginia concerning fowling 

and the catching of and taking of oysters and other 

shellfish in and from the waters not included within the 

terms of the permit. 

6. The permittee shall to the greatest extent practicable 

minimize adverse impacts of the project on adjacent 

properties and wetlands and upon the natural resources of 

the Commonwealth. 

7. The permit may be revoked at any time by the 

commission upon the failure of the permittee to comply 

with the terms and conditions hereof or at the will of the 

General Assembly of Virginia.  

8. Any portion of the waters within the boundaries of the 

Baylor Survey is expressly excluded from this permit. 

9. This permit is subject to any lease of oyster planting 

ground in effect on the date of the permit. Nothing in the 

permit shall be construed as allowing the permittee to 

encroach on any lease without the consent of the 

leaseholder. The permittee shall be liable for any damages 

to such lease. 

10. The issuance of this permit does not confer upon the 

permittee any interest or title to the submerged lands.  

11. All structures authorized by this permit that are not 

maintained in good repair or are displaced to areas not 

authorized shall be completely removed within 30 days 

after notification by the commission or its designated 

representatives. 

12. The permittee agrees to comply with all the terms and 

conditions as set forth in this permit and that the project 

will be accomplished within the boundaries as outlined in 

the plans attached to this permit. Any encroachment 

beyond the limits of this permit shall constitute a Class 1 

misdemeanor. 

13. This permit authorizes no claim to archaeological 

artifacts that may be encountered during the course of 

construction. If, however, archaeological remains are 

encountered, the permittee agrees to notify the 

commission, which will subsequently notify the 

Department of Historic Resources. The permittee further 

agrees to cooperate with agencies of the Commonwealth in 

the recovery of archaeological remains if deemed 

necessary. 

14. The permittee agrees to indemnify and save harmless 

the Commonwealth of Virginia and any applicable locality 
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from any liability arising from the establishment, 

operation, or maintenance of said project.  

15. This general permit shall be retained by the permittee 

for the duration of the project as evidence of authorization 

and shall not be transferred without the written consent of 

the commissioner. 

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of the form 

with a hyperlink to access it. The form is also available from 

the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (4VAC20-1330) 

Tidewater Joint Permit Application (JPA) for Projects 

Involving Tidal Waters, Tidal Wetlands, and/or Dunes and 

Beaches in Virginia (rev. 5/2017) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5329; Filed October 25, 2017, 10:15 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 8VAC20-440. Regulations Governing 

the Employment of Professional Personnel (repealing 

8VAC20-440-10 through 8VAC20-440-160). 

8VAC20-441. Regulations Governing the Employment of 

Professional Personnel (adding 8VAC20-441-10 through 

8VAC20-441-140).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-302 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 13, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Patty S. Pitts, Assistant Superintendent for 

Teacher Education and Licensure, Department of Education, 

P.O. Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-

2522, or email patty.pitts@doe.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulatory action replaces the existing regulation 

numbered 8VAC20-440 with a new regulation numbered 

8VAC20-441. Amendments reflect changes in the Code of 

Virginia based on Chapters 106 and 687 of the 2012 Acts 

of Assembly and Chapters 588 and 650 of the 2013 Acts of 

Assembly and include (i) defining assistant principals; (ii) 

clarifying the definitions of teachers and supervisors; (iii) 

changing notification dates from April 15 to June 15; (iv) 

aligning evaluations with the Board of Education 

Guidelines for Uniform Performance Standards and 

Evaluation Criteria for Teachers, Principals, and 

Superintendents; (v) defining the probationary terms for 

teachers, which, at local option, can be three years and up 

to five years; (vi) stipulating the evaluation period of 

teachers and principals; (vii) defining the standard 10-

month contract; and (viii) clarifying that a temporarily 

employed teacher is not required to be licensed by the 

Board of Education.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

CHAPTER 441 

REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE EMPLOYMENT OF 

PROFESSIONAL PERSONNEL 

8VAC20-441-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Annual contract" means a contract between a probationary 

teacher, assistant principal, principal, or supervisor and the 

local school board that sets forth the terms and conditions of 

employment for one school year. 

"Assistant principal" means a person (i) who is regularly 

employed full time as an assistant principal and (ii) who holds 

a valid license issued by the Board of Education necessary to 

be an assistant principal. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Education, which has 

general supervision of the public school system.  

"Breach of contract" means, for the purpose of this chapter, 

a teacher failing to honor a contract for the current or next 

school year without formal release from that contract from the 

local school board. "Breach of contract" does not include 

dismissal for cause.  

"Coaching contract" means a separate contract between the 

employee and the local school board that includes 

responsibilities for an athletic coaching assignment.  

"Continuing contract" means a contract between a teacher, 

assistant principal, principal, or supervisor who has satisfied 

the probationary term of service and the local school board.  

"Current employer" means the local school board with 

which the employee is currently under contract.  

"Extracurricular activity sponsorship contract" means a 

separate contract between the employee and the local school 

board that includes responsibilities, for which a monetary 

supplement is received, for sponsorship of any student 

organizations, clubs, or groups, such as service clubs, 

academic clubs and teams, cheerleading squads, student 

publication and literary groups, and visual and performing 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=65af9005329~1).pdf&typ=40&actno=005329&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=65af9005329~1).pdf&typ=40&actno=005329&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=65af9005329~1).pdf&typ=40&actno=005329&mime=application/pdf
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arts organizations except those that are conducted in 

conjunction with regular classroom, curriculum, or 

instructional programs.  

"Next school year" means the school year immediately 

following the current contract year.  

"Principal" means a person (i) who is regularly employed 

full time as a principal and (ii) who holds a valid license 

issued by the Board of Education necessary to be a principal.  

"Prospective employer" means the division in which 

application for employment is made.  

"Supervisor" means a person (i) who is regularly employed 

full time in an instructional supervisory position as specified 

in this chapter and (ii) who is required by the board to hold a 

license prescribed in this chapter to be employed in that 

position. An instructional supervisory position has authority 

to direct or evaluate teachers, assistant principals, principals, 

or other instructional personnel. 

"Teacher" means a person (i) who is regularly employed full 

time as a teacher, guidance counselor, or librarian and (ii) 

who holds a valid teaching license.  

8VAC20-441-20. [ (Reserved.) Conditions of employment 

(fingerprinting, Department of Social Services Registry 

search, licensure). 

A. Applicants who are offered or accept employment must 

comply with the fingerprinting provisions contained in 

§ 22.1-296.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Applicants who are offered or accept employment 

requiring direct contact with students must satisfy the 

requirements of § 22.1-296.4 of the Code of Virginia and 

provide written consent and the personal information 

necessary for the school board to obtain a search of the 

registry of founded complaints of child abuse and neglect 

maintained by the Department of Social Services pursuant to 

§ 63.2-1515 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Additional Code of Virginia references for conditions for 

licensure include §§ 22.1-295, 22.1-298.1, and 22.1-299, of 

the Code of Virginia. 

D. Principals and assistant principals are to be licensed in 

accordance with § 22.1-293 of the Code of Virginia. ]  

8VAC20-441-30. Contractual period defined. 

The local school board shall define the length of the contract 

period for each employee. A standard 10-month contract for a 

teacher shall include 200 days, including:  

1. 180 teaching days or 990 instructional hours (minimum 

required by law); and 

2. Up to 20 days for activities such as teaching, 

participating in professional development, planning, 

evaluating, completing records and reports, participating 

on committees or in conferences, or such other activities as 

may be assigned or approved by the local school board.  

8VAC20-441-40. Annual and continuing contract to be in 

writing. 

Annual and continuing contracts with teachers, assistant 

principals, principals, and supervisors must be in writing. The 

local school board may utilize prototypes of contract forms 

provided by the board or may choose to develop its own 

contracts, but in so doing must ensure that the essential 

elements set forth in 8VAC20-441-140 are included.  

8VAC20-441-50. Length of the probationary term for 

teacher. 

A probationary term of full-time employment under an 

annual contract for at least three years and, at the option of 

the local school board, up to five consecutive years in the 

same school division is required before a teacher is issued a 

continuing contract. Once continuing contract status has been 

attained in a school division in the Commonwealth, another 

probationary period as a teacher need not be served in any 

other school division unless a probationary period not 

exceeding two years is made a part of the contract of 

employment.  

8VAC20-441-60. Calculating term for first year of 

teaching. 

For the purpose of calculating the years of service required 

to attain continuing contract status, at least 160 contractual 

teaching days during the school year shall be deemed the 

equivalent of one year in the first year of service by the 

teacher.  

8VAC20-441-70. Probationary period for principal or 

supervisor. 

A person employed as a principal, assistant principal, or 

supervisor, including a person who has previously achieved 

continuing contract status as a teacher, shall serve a 

probationary term of three consecutive years in such position 

in the same school division before acquiring continuing 

contract status as a principal, assistant principal, or 

supervisor.  

8VAC20-441-80. Probationary period when employee 

separates from service. 

If a teacher, principal, assistant principal, or supervisor 

separates from service during his probationary period and 

does not return to service in the same school division by the 

beginning of the year following the year of separation, such 

person shall be required to begin a new probationary period.  
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8VAC20-441-90. Effect of service outside the Virginia 

system. 

Teaching service outside of the Virginia public school 

system shall not be counted as meeting in whole or in part the 

required probationary term.  

8VAC20-441-100. Eligibility for continuing contract. 

A. Only persons regularly employed full time by a school 

board who hold a valid license as teachers, assistant 

principals, principals, or supervisors shall be eligible for 

continuing contract status.  

B. Any teacher hired on or after July 1, 2001, shall be 

required, as a condition of achieving continuing contract 

status, to have successfully completed training in instructional 

strategies and techniques for intervention for or remediation 

of students who fail or are at risk of failing the Standards of 

Learning assessments. Local school divisions shall be 

required to provide such training at no cost to teachers 

employed in their division. In the event a local school 

division fails to offer such training in a timely manner, no 

teacher will be denied continuing contract status for failure to 

obtain such training.  

8VAC20-441-110. Continuing contract status when 

employee separates from service. 

When a teacher has attained continuing contract status in a 

school division in the Commonwealth, and separates from 

and returns to teaching service in a school division in Virginia 

by the beginning of the third year, such teacher shall be 

required to serve a probationary period not to exceed two 

years if such probationary period is made part of the contract 

for employment. If a teacher who has attained continuing 

contract status separates from service and does not return to 

teaching in Virginia public schools by the beginning of the 

third year, such teacher shall be required to begin a new 

probationary period.  

8VAC20-441-120. Contract to be separate and apart from 

annual or continuing contract. 

The coaching contract or extracurricular activity sponsorship 

contract with a teacher shall be separate and apart from the 

teacher's annual or continuing contract, and termination of the 

coaching or extracurricular activity sponsorship contract shall 

not constitute cause for the termination of the annual or 

continuing contract.  

For the purposes of this chapter, "extracurricular activity 

sponsorship" means an assignment for which a monetary 

supplement is received, requiring responsibility for any 

student organizations, clubs, or groups, such as service clubs, 

academic clubs and teams, cheerleading squads, student 

publication and literary groups, and visual and performing 

arts organizations except those that are conducted in 

conjunction with regular classroom, curriculum, or 

instructional programs. 

8VAC20-441-130. Termination notice required. 

The coaching contract or extracurricular activity sponsorship 

contract shall require the party intending to terminate the 

contract to give reasonable notice to the other party prior to 

the effective date of the termination.  

8VAC20-441-140. Listing of essential contract elements. 

A. The list of essential contract elements can be used by 

certain local school divisions who prefer to develop contracts 

specific to their circumstances or situations. This list of 

essential elements is provided as an alternative to the formal 

prototypes available.  

B. Annual contracts. Any annual contract for professional 

personnel shall, to the maximum extent possible, be written in 

clear and concise language easily understood by all parties, 

and include, at a minimum, the following provisions:  

1. A statement identifying the names and titles of the 

parties to the contract.  

2. A statement of the licensure requirements for the 

position or options thereto.  

3. A statement of the beginning date of service, the term, 

and the effective date of the contract.  

4. A statement of the duties to be performed under the 

contract.  

5. A statement of expectations of the employee with regard 

to compliance with local, state, or federal statutes, 

regulations and constitutional provisions.  

6. A statement of the provisions concerning assignment, 

reassignment, termination, suspension, probation, or 

resignation of the employee, and mutual termination of the 

contract.  

7. A statement of the penalties for the employee's failure to 

comply with the terms of the contract.  

8. A statement identifying the school term.  

9. A statement of the conditions under which the school 

term [ and/or or ] contract may be extended.  

10. A statement of the amount of compensation due the 

employee and the method of payment.  

11. A statement of special covenants mutually agreed upon 

by the employer and employee which form a basis for the 

contract.  

C. Continuing contracts. Any continuing contract for 

professional personnel shall, to the maximum extent possible, 

be written in clear and concise language easily understood by 

all parties [ , ] and include [ , ] at a minimum the following 

provisions:  

1. All of the provisions required for the annual contract.  
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2. A statement explaining the continuing nature of the 

contract.  

D. Coaching and extracurricular. Any athletic coaching 

contract with school personnel shall, to the maximum extent 

possible, be written in clear and concise language easily 

understood by all parties [ , ] and include the following 

provisions:  

1. A statement identifying the names and titles of the 

parties to the contract.  

2. A statement of the duties to be performed under the 

contract.  

3. A statement of the amount of compensation due the 

employee and the method of payment.  

4. A statement of expectations of the employee with regard 

to compliance with local, state, or federal statutes, 

regulations and constitutional provisions.  

5. A statement setting forth conditions for termination of 

the contract.  

6. A statement identifying the limitations on the use of the 

experience toward length of service, substitution for 

teaching experience and rights in favor of the employee.  

7. A statement of the beginning date of service, the term, 

and the effective date of the contract.  

8. A statement of special covenants mutually agreed upon 

by the employer and employee that form a basis for the 

contract.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (8VAC20-441) 

[ Annual Form - Contract with Professional Personnel 

Continuing Form Contract with Professional Personnel 

Athletic Coaching Contract with School Personnel 

Extracurricular Activity Sponsorship Contract with School 

Personnel 

Annual Form - Contract with Professional Personnel (eff. 

1/2017) 

Continuing Form Contract with Professional Personnel (eff. 

1/2017) 

Athletic Coaching Contract with School Personnel (eff. 

1/2017) 

Extracurricular Activity Sponsorship Contract with School 

Personnel (eff. 1/2017) ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3478; Filed October 20, 2017, 4:35 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following forms used in 

administering the regulation were filed by the agency. The 

forms are not being published; however, online users of this 

issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the 

name of a form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are 

also available from the agency contact or may be viewed at 

the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main 

Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-421. Food Regulations. 

Agency Contact: Joe Hilbert, Director of Governmental and 

Regulatory Affairs, Virginia Department of Health, 109 

Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-

7006, or email joe.hilbert@vdh.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (12VAC5-421)  

Food Establishment Inspection Report Form - Cover Page 

(eff. 2016) 

Food Establishment Inspection Report Form - Narrative 

Page with Temperatures (eff. 2016) 

Food Establishment Inspection Report Form - Narrative 

Page (eff. 2016)  

Food Establishment Inspection Report Form - Cover Page 

(rev. 9/2017) 

Food Establishment Inspection Report Form - Narrative 

(rev. 9/2017) 

Food Establishment Inspection Report Form - Narrative 

with Temperatures (rev. 9/2017) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5280; Filed October 20, 2017,  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-20. Administration of 

Medical Assistance Services (adding 12VAC30-20-570).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Date: December 13, 2017.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=322c6003478~5L.pdf&typ=40&actno=003478&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=322c6003478~5L.pdf&typ=40&actno=003478&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e31f9003478~6).pdf&typ=40&actno=003478&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e31f9003478~6).pdf&typ=40&actno=003478&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=21ae7003478~7).pdf&typ=40&actno=003478&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=21ae7003478~7).pdf&typ=40&actno=003478&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cf79d003478~8).pdf&typ=40&actno=003478&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cf79d003478~8).pdf&typ=40&actno=003478&mime=application/pdf
mailto:Joe.Hilbert@vdh.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=173db005280~3e.pdf&typ=40&actno=005280&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=173db005280~3e.pdf&typ=40&actno=005280&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=999d1005280~2e.pdf&typ=40&actno=005280&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=999d1005280~2e.pdf&typ=40&actno=005280&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fdfd6005280~3s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005280&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fdfd6005280~3s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005280&mime=application/pdf
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Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 694 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 

regulation establishes a reconsideration process for a final 

agency decision and specifies the scope of testimony or 

documentary submissions that may be considered during 

that process. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

12VAC30-20-570. Reconsideration of final agency 

decision. 

A. Reconsiderations of a DMAS final appeal decision issued 

on a formal appeal conducted pursuant to § 2.2-4020 of the 

Code of Virginia shall be conducted in accordance with § 2.2-

4023.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The DMAS director's review shall be made upon the case 

record of the formal appeal. Testimony or documentary 

submissions that were not part of the formal appeal case 

record prior to issuance of the final agency decision shall not 

be considered.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4817; Filed October 23, 2017, 10:21 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Department of Medical 

Assistance Services will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-110. Eligibility and Appeals 

(amending 12VAC30-110-10, 12VAC30-110-20, 

12VAC30-110-30, 12VAC30-110-70, 12VAC30-110-80, 

12VAC30-110-130, 12VAC30-110-170, 12VAC30-110-350; 

adding 12VAC30-110-35).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Date: December 13, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

To comply with final regulations of the federal Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services published in 81 FR 86832 

(November 30, 2016), the amendments update provisions 

regarding eligibility, appeals, and enrollment changes.  

Part I  

Client Appeals  

Subpart I  

General  

Article 1  

Definitions  

12VAC30-110-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in these 

regulations, shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Action" means a termination of, suspension of, or reduction 

of in covered benefits or services; a termination, suspension, 

or reduction in Medicaid eligibility; or covered services an 

increase in beneficiary liability, including a determination 

that a beneficiary must incur a greater amount of medical 

expenses in order to establish income eligibility in accordance 

with 42 CFR 435.121(e)(4) or 42 CFR 435.831 or is subject 

to an increase in premiums or cost-sharing charges under 

Subpart A of 42 CFR Part 447. It also means (i) 

determinations by a skilled nursing facilities and facility or 

nursing facilities facility to transfer or discharge residents a 

resident and (ii) an adverse determinations determination 

made by a state with regard to the preadmission screening and 

annual resident review requirements of § 1919(e)(7) of the 

Social Security Act. 

"Adverse determination" means a determination made in 

accordance with § 1919(b)(3)(F) or 1919(e)(7)(B) of the 

Social Security Act that the individual does not require the 

level of services provided by a nursing facility or that the 

individual does or does not require specialized services. 

"Agency" means:  

1. An agency that, on the department's behalf, makes 

determinations regarding applications for benefits provided 

by the department; and or 

2. The department itself.  

"Appellant" means (i) an applicant for or recipient of 

medical assistance benefits from the department who seeks to 

challenge an action regarding his benefits or his eligibility for 

benefits and (ii) a nursing facility resident who seeks to 

challenge a transfer or discharge. Appellant also means an 

individual who seeks to challenge an adverse determination 

regarding services provided by a nursing facility.  

"Date of action" means the intended date on which a 

termination, suspension, reduction, transfer, or discharge 
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becomes effective. It also means the date of the determination 

made by a state with regard to the preadmission screening and 

annual resident review requirements of § 1919(e)(7) of the 

Social Security Act. 

"Department" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services.  

"Division" means the department's Appeals Division.  

"Final decision" means a written determination by a hearing 

officer that is binding on the department, unless modified on 

appeal or review.  

"Hearing" means the evidentiary hearing described in this 

regulation chapter, conducted by a hearing officer employed 

by the department.  

"Representative" means an attorney or agent who has been 

authorized to represent an appellant pursuant to these 

regulations.  

"Send" means to deliver by mail or in electronic format 

consistent with 42 CFR 431.201 and 42 CFR 435.918.  

Article 2  

Appeal System  

12VAC30-110-20. Appeals Division.  

A. The division maintains an appeals system for appellants 

to challenge (i) actions, as defined in 42 CFR 431.201, 

regarding services and benefits provided by the department, 

and (ii) adverse determinations regarding services provided 

by a nursing facility in accordance with § 1919(b)(3)(F) or 

1919(e)(7)(B) that complies with all federal legal authority 

for appellants to challenge actions, as defined in 42 CFR 

431.201, regarding services and benefits provided by the 

agency or a nursing facility.  Appellants shall be entitled to a 

hearing before a hearing officer. See Subpart II (12VAC30-

110-130 et seq.) of this chapter. 

B. The appeals system shall be accessible to persons who 

are limited English proficient and persons who have 

disabilities, consistent with 42 CFR 435.905(b). 

C. In accordance with 42 CFR 435.918, the agency makes 

electronic appeal correspondence available to applicants and 

recipients. Applicants and recipients may elect to receive 

appeal correspondence in electronic format or by regular mail 

and may change such election.  

12VAC30-110-30. Time limitation for appeals.  

Hearing officer appeals shall be scheduled and conducted to 

comply with the 90-day time limitation limitations for 

standard and expedited appeals imposed by federal 

regulations, unless waived in writing by the appellant or the 

appellant's representative.: 

1. The agency cannot reach a decision because the 

appellant requests a delay or fails to take a required action; 

or 

2. There is an administrative or other emergency beyond 

the agency's control. 

All instances in which there is a delay shall be documented 

in the appellant's record. 

12VAC30-110-35. Expedited appeals. 

A. An appellant may request and the agency shall provide an 

expedited appeals process for claims for which the agency 

determines that the 90-day timeframe for conducting an 

appeal could jeopardize the individual's life, health, or ability 

to attain, maintain, or regain maximum function. 

B. If an expedited appeal request is granted, the following 

timeframes for conducting the appeal apply from receipt of 

the appeal request: 

1. Seventy-two hours for:  

a. A claim related to services or benefits described in 

42 CFR 431.220(a)(1); 

b. A MCO, PIHP, or PAHP enrollee who is entitled to a 

hearing under Subpart F of 42 CFR Part 438;  

c. An enrollee in a nonemergency medical transportation 

prepaid ambulatory health plan who has an action; and 

d. An enrollee who is entitled to a hearing under Subpart 

B of 42 CFR Part 438. 

2. Seven business days forS 

a. Eligibility claims; 

b. Nursing facility claims related to transfer or discharge; 

or 

c. Nursing facility claims related to the agency's 

preadmission determination or annual resident review. 

C. The department shall notify the individual whether the 

request is granted or denied as expeditiously as possible. Such 

notice may be provided orally or through the electronic means 

found in 12VAC30-110-130. 

Article 4  

Notice and Appeal Rights  

12VAC30-110-70. Notification of adverse agency action.  

The agency that takes action or makes an adverse 

determination shall inform the applicant or recipient in a 

written notice:  

1. What action or adverse determination the agency intends 

to take and the effective date of such action;  

2. The A clear statement of the specific reasons for 

supporting the intended action or adverse determination;  
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3. The specific regulations that support or the change in 

law that requires the action or adverse determination;  

4. The right to request an evidentiary hearing, and the 

methods and time limits for doing so;  

5. The right to request an expedited evidentiary hearing; 

6. The circumstances under which benefits are continued if 

a hearing is requested (see 12VAC30-110-100); and  

6. 7. The right to representation.  

12VAC30-110-80. Advance notice.  

When the agency plans to terminate, suspend, or reduce an 

individual's eligibility or covered services, the agency must 

send the notice described in 12VAC30-110-70 at least 10 

days before the date of action, except as otherwise permitted 

by federal law in 42 CFR 431.213 and 42 CFR 431.214.  

Subpart II  

Hearing Officer Review  

Article 1  

Commencement of Appeals  

12VAC30-110-130. Request for appeal.  

A.  An appeal may be filed by any of the following methods: 

1. By telephone; 

2. Via email; 

3. In person; and 

4. Through other commonly available electronic means 

supported by the agency. 

B. Any written communication in the formats specified in 

subsection A of this section from an appellant or his 

representative which that clearly expresses that he wants to 

present his case to a reviewing authority shall constitute an 

appeal request. This communication should explain the basis 

for the appeal.  

12VAC30-110-170. Extension of time for filing.  

An extension of the 30-day period for filing a Request for 

Appeal may be granted for good cause shown. Examples of 

good cause include, but are not limited to, the following 

situations:  

1. Appellant was seriously ill and was prevented from 

contacting the division;  

2. Appellant did not receive notice of the agency's decision 

action or adverse determination;  

3. Appellant sent the Request for Appeal to another 

government agency in good faith within the time limit;  

4. Unusual or unavoidable circumstances prevented a 

timely filing.  

12VAC30-110-350. Dismissal of Request for Appeal.  

A. A Request for Appeal may be dismissed if:  

1. The appellant or his representative withdraws the 

request in writing via any of the methods in 12VAC30-

110-130. For telephonic appeal withdrawals, the agency 

shall record the individual's statement and telephonic 

signature; or  

2. The appellant or his representative fails to appear at the 

scheduled hearing without good cause and does not reply 

within 10 days after the hearing officer sends an inquiry as 

to whether the appellant wishes further action on the 

appeal.  

B. Subsequent to the dismissal, the appellant shall receive 

the written order of dismissal via regular mail or electronic 

notification in accordance with the individual's election under 

42 CFR 435.918(a). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5093; Filed October 16, 2017, 6:58 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-265. Rules Governing 

Corporate Governance Annual Disclosures (adding 

14VAC5-265-10 through 14VAC5-265-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Raquel C. Pino, Policy Advisor, Bureau of 

Insurance, State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1157, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9499, FAX (804) 

371-9873, or email raquel.pino@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments implement the provisions of Article 5.2 

(§§ 38.2-1334.11 through 38.2-1334.17) of Chapter 13 of 

Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia, which was enacted by 

Chapter 643 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly and becomes 

effective on January 1, 2018. Article 5.2 requires each 

insurer domiciled in the Commonwealth of Virginia, or the 
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insurance group of which the insurer is a member, to 

submit to the State Corporation Commission a Corporate 

Governance Annual Disclosure (CGAD). The CGAD is a 

confidential report on an insurer or insurance group's 

corporate governance structure, policies, and practices, 

which allows the commission to gain and maintain an 

understanding of the insurer's corporate governance 

framework. The new regulation sets forth the requirements 

for what is to be included in the CGAD, which is due June 

1, 2018, and annually thereafter. A change since the 

proposed stage deletes reference to the National 

Association of Insurance Commissioners' 2016 

Annual/2017 Quarterly Financial Analysis Handbook and 

replaces it with § 38.2-1334.12 of the Code of Virginia.  

AT RICHMOND, OCTOBER 17, 2017 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2017-00161 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Amending the 

Rules Governing Corporate Governance 

Annual Disclosures 

ORDER ADOPTING RULES 

By Order to Take Notice ("Order") entered July 14, 2017, 

insurers and interested persons were ordered to take notice 

that subsequent to September 21, 2017, the State Corporation 

Commission ("Commission") would consider the entry of an 

order adopting new rules to be set forth in Chapter 265 of 

Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code, entitled Rules 

Governing Corporate Governance Annual Disclosures 

("Rules"), which adds new Rules at 14 VAC 5-265-10 

through 14 VAC 5-265-50, unless on or before September 21, 

2017, any person objecting to the adoption of the new Rules 

filed a request for a hearing with the Clerk of the Commission 

("Clerk"). 

The new Rules are necessary to implement the provisions of 

§§ 38.2-1334.11 through 38.2-1334.17 of the Code of 

Virginia ("Code"), which were enacted in Chapter 643 of the 

2017 Acts of Assembly (HB 2102) and require each insurer 

domiciled in the Commonwealth of Virginia, or the insurance 

group of which the insurer is a member, to submit to the 

Commission a Corporate Governance Annual Disclosure. 

These new rules establish procedures for filing the Corporate 

Governance Annual Disclosure and its required contents. The 

amendments to the Code are effective on January 1, 2018. 

The Order required insurers and interested persons to file 

their comments in support of or in opposition to the proposed 

new Rules with the Clerk on or before September 21, 2017. 

On September 15, 2017, the American Council of Life 

Insurers filed comments in support of the new Rules. No 

requests for a hearing were filed with the Clerk. 

The Commission's Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") has 

recommended a non-substantive revision to 14 VAC 5-265-

30 of the Rules, deleting the reference to the National 

Association of Insurance Commissioner's Quarterly Financial 

Analysis Handbook and replacing it with a reference to 

§ 38.2-1334.12 of the Code. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered the 

proposed new Rules, the comments filed, and the 

recommended revision to the proposal, is of the opinion that 

the attached new Rules should be adopted with an effective 

date of January 1, 2018. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The new Rules entitled Rules Governing Corporate 

Governance Annual Disclosures, to be set out at 14 VAC 5-

265-10 through 14 VAC 5-265-50 which are attached hereto 

and made a part hereof, are hereby ADOPTED effective 

January 1, 2018. 

(2) The Bureau forthwith shall give notice of the adoption of 

the Rules to all insurers domiciled in Virginia and to 

interested persons. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the 

new Rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations for appropriate publication in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall make available this Order and the attached new Rules on 

the Commission's website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(5) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 

an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of 

Ordering Paragraph (2) above. 

(6) This case is dismissed, and the papers herein shall be 

place in the file for ended causes. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 

the Commission to: C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant 

Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General, Division of 

Consumer Counsel, 202 N. 9th Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219; and a copy hereof shall be delivered to the 

Commission's Office of General Counsel and the Bureau of 

Insurance in care of Deputy Commissioner Donald C. Beatty. 

CHAPTER 265 

RULES GOVERNING CORPORATE GOVERNANCE 

ANNUAL DISCLOSURES 

14VAC5-265-10. Purpose and scope. 

The purpose of this chapter is to set forth rules and 

procedures for filing and for the required contents of the 

Corporate Governance Annual Disclosure that the 

commission deems necessary to carry out the provisions of 
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Article 5.2 (§ 38.2-1334.11 et seq.) of Chapter 13 of Title 

38.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

14VAC5-265-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Corporate Governance Annual Disclosure" or "CGAD" 

means a confidential report filed by the insurer or insurance 

group made in accordance with the requirements of this 

chapter. 

"Insurance group" means those insurers and affiliates 

included within an insurance holding company system as 

defined in § 38.2-1322 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Insurer" means an insurance company as defined in § 38.2-

100 of the Code of Virginia. "Insurer" shall not include 

agencies, authorities, or instrumentalities of the United States, 

its possessions and territories, the Commonwealth of Puerto 

Rico, the District of Columbia, or a state or political 

subdivision of a state. 

"Senior management" means any corporate officer 

responsible for reporting information to the board of directors 

at regular intervals or providing this information to 

shareholders or regulators and shall include, for example and 

without limitation, the chief executive officer (CEO), chief 

financial officer, chief operations officer, chief procurement 

officer, chief legal officer, chief information officer, chief 

technology officer, chief revenue officer, chief visionary 

officer, or any other "C" level executive.  

"The Act" means Article 5.2 (§ 38.2-1334.11 et seq.) of 

Chapter 13 of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

14VAC5-265-30. Filing procedures. 

A. An insurer, or the insurance group of which the insurer is 

a member, required to file a CGAD by the Act shall, no later 

than June 1 of each calendar year, submit to the commission a 

CGAD that contains the information described in 14VAC5-

265-40.  

B. The CGAD must include a signature of the insurer's or 

insurance group's chief executive officer or corporate 

secretary attesting to the best of that individual's belief and 

knowledge that the insurer or insurance group has 

implemented the corporate governance practices and that a 

copy of the CGAD has been provided to the insurer's or 

insurance group's board of directors or the appropriate 

committee thereof.  

C. The insurer or insurance group shall have discretion 

regarding the appropriate format for providing the 

information required by this chapter and is permitted to 

customize the CGAD to provide the most relevant 

information, appropriate to the nature, scale, and complexity 

of the operations of the insurer or insurance group that is 

necessary to permit the commission to gain an understanding 

of the corporate governance structure, policies, and practices 

utilized by the insurer or insurance group.  

D. For purposes of completing the CGAD, the insurer or 

insurance group may choose to provide information on 

governance activities that occur at the ultimate controlling 

parent level, an intermediate holding company level, or the 

individual legal entity level, depending upon how the insurer 

or insurance group has structured its system of corporate 

governance. The insurer or insurance group is encouraged to 

make the CGAD disclosures at the level at which (i) the 

insurer's or insurance group's risk appetite is determined; (ii) 

the earnings, capital, liquidity, operations, and reputation of 

the insurer are overseen collectively and at which the 

supervision of those factors are coordinated and exercised; or 

(iii) the legal liability for failure of general corporate 

governance duties would be placed. If the insurer or insurance 

group determines the level of reporting based on these 

criteria, it shall indicate which of the three criteria was used 

to determine the level of reporting and explain any 

subsequent changes in level of reporting. 

E. Notwithstanding subsection A of this section, [ and as 

outlined in § 38.2-1334.12 of the Act, ] if the CGAD is 

completed at the insurance group level, then it must be filed 

with the lead state of the group [ as determined by the 

procedures outlined in the 2016 Annual/2017 Quarterly 

Financial Analysis Handbook adopted by the National 

Association of Insurance Commissioners in accordance with 

§ 38.2-1334.12 of the Code of Virginia ]. In these instances, a 

copy of the CGAD must also be provided to the chief 

insurance regulatory official of any state in which the 

insurance group has a domestic insurer, upon request.  

F. An insurer or insurance group may comply with this 

section by referencing other existing documents (e.g., Own 

Risk and Solvency Assessment Summary Report, Holding 

Company Form B or F Filings, Securities and Exchange 

Commission Proxy Statements, foreign regulatory reporting 

requirements, etc.) if the documents provide information that 

is comparable to the information described in 14VAC5-265-

40. The insurer or insurance group shall clearly reference the 

location of the relevant information within the CGAD and 

attach the referenced document if it is not already filed or 

available to the commission. 

G. Each year following the initial filing of the CGAD, the 

insurer or insurance group shall file an amended version of 

the previously filed CGAD, indicating where changes have 

been made. If no changes were made in the information or 

activities reported by the insurer or insurance group, the filing 

should so state. 
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14VAC5-265-40. Contents of Corporate Governance 

Annual Disclosure. 

A. The insurer or insurance group shall be as descriptive as 

possible in completing the CGAD and include attachments or 

example documents that are used in the governance process 

since these may provide a means to demonstrate the strengths 

of the governance framework and practices. 

B. The CGAD shall describe the insurer's or insurance 

group's corporate governance framework and structure 

including consideration of the following: 

1. The board of directors (board) and various committees 

thereof ultimately responsible for overseeing the insurer or 

insurance group and the level at which that oversight 

occurs (e.g., ultimate control level, intermediate holding 

company, legal entity, etc.). The insurer or insurance group 

shall describe and discuss the rationale for the current 

board size and structure; and  

2. The duties of the board and each of its significant 

committees and how they are governed (e.g., bylaws, 

charters, informal mandates, etc.), as well as how the 

board's leadership is structured, including a discussion of 

the roles of the chief executive officer (CEO) and chairman 

of the board within the organization. 

C. The insurer or insurance group shall describe the policies 

and practices of the most senior governing entity and 

significant committees thereof, including a discussion of the 

following factors: 

1. How the qualifications, expertise, and experience of 

each board member meet the needs of the insurer or 

insurance group;  

2. How an appropriate amount of independence is 

maintained on the board and its significant committees;  

3. The number of meetings held by the board and its 

significant committees over the past year as well as 

information on director attendance; 

4. How the insurer or insurance group identifies, 

nominates, and elects members to the board and its 

committees. The discussion should include, for example:  

a. Whether a nomination committee is in place to identify 

and select individuals for consideration; 

b. Whether term limits are placed on directors; 

c. How the election and reelection processes function; 

and 

d. Whether a board diversity policy is in place and if so, 

how it [ function functions ];  

5. The processes in place for the board to evaluate its 

performance and the performance of its committees, as 

well as any recent measures taken to improve performance 

(including any board or committee training programs that 

have been put in place). 

D. The insurer or insurance group shall describe the policies 

and practices for directing senior management, including a 

description of the following factors: 

1. Any processes or practices (i.e., suitability standards) to 

determine whether officers and key persons in control 

functions have the appropriate background, experience, 

and integrity to fulfill their prospective roles, including: 

a. Identification of the specific positions for which 

suitability standards have been developed and a 

description of the standards employed; and  

b. Any changes in an officer's or key person's suitability 

as outlined by the insurer's or insurance group's standards 

and procedures to monitor and evaluate such changes.  

2. The insurer's or insurance group's code of business 

conduct and ethics, the discussion of which considers, for 

example: 

a. Compliance with laws, rules, and regulations; and 

b. Proactive reporting of any illegal or unethical 

behavior.  

3. The insurer's or insurance group's processes for 

performance evaluation, compensation, and corrective 

action to ensure effective senior management throughout 

the organization, including a description of the general 

objectives of significant compensation programs and what 

the programs are designed to reward. The description shall 

include sufficient detail to allow the commission to 

understand how the organization ensures that 

compensation programs do not encourage or reward 

excessive risk taking. Elements to be discussed may 

include, for example: 

a. The board's role in overseeing management 

compensation programs and practices;  

b. The various elements of compensation awarded in the 

insurer's or insurance group's compensation programs 

and how the insurer or insurance group determines and 

calculates the amount of each element of compensation 

paid;  

c. How compensation programs are related to both 

company and individual performance over time; 

d. Whether compensation programs include risk 

adjustments and how those adjustments are incorporated 

into the programs for employees at different levels; 

e. Any clawback provisions built into the programs to 

recover awards or payments if the performance measures 

upon which they are based are restated or otherwise 

adjusted; or 
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f. Any other factors relevant in understanding how the 

insurer or insurance group monitors its compensation 

policies to determine whether its risk management 

objectives are met by incentivizing its employees. 

4. The insurer's or insurance group's plans for CEO and 

senior management succession. 

E. The insurer or insurance group shall describe the 

processes by which the board, its committees, and senior 

management ensure an appropriate amount of oversight to the 

critical risk areas impacting the insurer's business activities, 

including a discussion of: 

1. How oversight and management responsibilities are 

delegated between the board, its committees, and senior 

management; 

2. How the board is kept informed of the insurer's strategic 

plans, the associated risks, and steps that senior 

management is taking to monitor and manage those risks; 

3. How reporting responsibilities are organized for each 

critical risk area. The description should allow the 

commission to understand the frequency at which 

information on each critical risk area is reported to and 

reviewed by senior management and the board. This 

description may include, for example, the following critical 

risk areas of the insurer: 

a. Risk management processes (a Own Risk and 

Solvency Assessment (ORSA) Summary Report filer 

may refer to its ORSA Summary Report filed pursuant to 

Article 5.1 (§ 38.2-1334.3 et seq.) of Chapter 13 of Title 

38.2 of the Code of Virginia); 

b. Actuarial function; 

c. Investment decision-making processes; 

d. Reinsurance decision-making processes; 

e. Business strategy and finance decision-making 

processes; 

f. Compliance function; 

g. Financial reporting and internal auditing; and 

h. Market conduct decision-making processes.  

14VAC5-265-50. Severability clause. 

If any provision in this chapter or the application thereof to 

any person or circumstance is for any reason held to be 

invalid, the remainder of the chapter and the application of 

the provision to other persons or circumstances shall not be 

affected thereby. 

[ DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(14VAC5-265) 

Financial Analysis Handbook, Volume 1, 2016 Annual/2017 

Quarterly, National Association of Insurance Commissioners, 

444 North Capitol Street, NW, Suite 700, Washington, DC 

20001, http://www.naic.org/ ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5187; Filed October 17, 2017, 2:55 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-60. Administrative 

Regulation for the Virginia Occupational Safety and 

Health Program (amending 16VAC25-60-30, 16VAC25-

60-90, 16VAC25-60-110 through 16VAC25-60-150, 

16VAC25-60-245, 16VAC25-60-260).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 40.1-6 and 40.1-22 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 15, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Jay Withrow, Director of Legal Support, 

Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 

East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

786-9873, or email jay.withrow@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments include (i) requiring an employer to 

comply with the Virginia Department of Transportation 

(VDOT) Work Area Protection Manual in lieu of the 

federal Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices when 

working under a contract for construction, repair, or 

maintenance between the employer and either the 

Commonwealth or any political subdivision or public body 

when the contract requires employer compliance with the 

VDOT manual; (ii) clarifying the anti-retaliation 

safeguards for public sector employees and the procedures 

to enforce those safeguards; (iii) clarifying what 

documents may be disclosed in regards to the Voluntary 

Protection Program (§ 40.1-49.13 of the Code of 

Virginia); (iv) clarifying that the Commissioner of Labor 

and Industry can request penalties or fines for 

occupational discrimination or anti-retaliation cases at the 

litigation stage; (v) establishing that the commissioner's 

burden of proof is a preponderance of the evidence and 

that burden for proving an affirmative defense lies with the 

employer; and (vi) making certain changes in terminology.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

16VAC25-60-30. Applicability to public employers.  

A. All occupational safety and health standards adopted by 

the board shall apply to public employers and their employees 

in the same manner as to private employers.  
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B. All sections of this chapter shall apply to public 

employers and their employees. Where specific procedures 

are set out for the public sector, such procedures shall take 

precedence.  

C. The following portions of Title 40.1 of the Code of 

Virginia shall apply to public employers: §§ 40.1-10, 

subdivision A 1 of § 40.1-49.4 A(1), 40.1-49.8, 40.1-51, 40.1-

51.1, 40.1-51.2, 40.1-51.2:1, 40.1-51.3, 40.1-51.3:2, and 

40.1-51.4:2.  

D. Section 40.1-51.2:2 A of the Code of Virginia shall apply 

to public employers the Commonwealth and its agencies 

except that the commissioner shall not bring action in circuit 

court in the event that a voluntary agreement cannot be 

obtained.  

E. Sections 40.1-7, 40.1-49.4 F, 40.1-49.9, 40.1-49.10, 40.1-

49.11, 40.1-49.12, and 40.1-51.2:2 of the Code of Virginia 

shall apply to public employers other than the 

Commonwealth and its agencies.  

F. If the commissioner determines that an imminent danger 

situation, as defined in § 40.1-49.4 F of the Code of Virginia, 

exists for an employee of the Commonwealth or one of its 

agencies, and if the employer does not abate that imminent 

danger immediately upon request, the Commissioner of Labor 

and Industry shall forthwith petition the governor to direct 

that the imminent danger be abated.  

G. If the commissioner is unable to obtain a voluntary 

agreement to resolve a violation of § 40.1-51.2:1 of the Code 

of Virginia by the Commonwealth or one of its agencies, the 

Commissioner of Labor and Industry shall petition for redress 

in the manner provided in this chapter 16VAC25-60-300 B.  

16VAC25-60-90. Release of information and disclosure 

pursuant to requests under the Virginia Freedom of 

Information Act and subpoenas.  

A. Pursuant to the Virginia Freedom of Information Act 

(FOIA) (§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and with 

the exceptions stated in subsections B through H of this 

section, employers, employees and their representatives shall 

have access to information gathered in the course of an 

inspection.  

B. Interview statements of employers, owners, operators, 

agents, or employees given to the commissioner pursuant to 

§ 40.1-49.8 of the Code of Virginia are confidential. Pursuant 

to the requirements set forth in § 40.1-11 of the Code of 

Virginia, individuals shall have the right to request a copy of 

their own interview statements.  

C. All file documents contained in case files which that are 

under investigation, and where a citation has not been issued, 

are not disclosable until:  

1. The decision has been made not to issue citations; or  

2. Six months has lapsed following the occurrence of an 

alleged violation.  

D. Issued citations, orders of abatement, and proposed 

penalties are public documents and are releasable upon a 

written request. All other file documents in cases where a 

citation has been issued are not disclosable until the case is a 

final order of the commissioner or the court, except that once 

a copy of file documents in a contested case has been 

provided to legal counsel for the employer in response to a 

request for discovery, or to a third party in response to a 

subpoena duces tecum, such documents shall be releasable 

upon a written request, subject to the exclusions in this 

regulation section and the Virginia Freedom of Information 

Act.  

E. Information required to be kept confidential by law shall 

not be disclosed by the commissioner or by any employee of 

the department. In particular, the following specific 

information is deemed to be nondisclosable:  

1. The identity of and statements of an employee or 

employee representative who has complained of hazardous 

conditions to the commissioner;  

2. The identities of employers, owners, operators, agents, 

or employees interviewed during inspections and their 

interview statements;  

3. Employee medical and personnel records obtained 

during VOSH inspections. Such records may be released to 

the employee or his duly authorized representative upon a 

written, and endorsed request; and  

4. Employer trade secrets, commercial, and financial data.  

F. The commissioner may decline to disclose a document 

that is excluded from the disclosure requirements of the 

Virginia FOIA, particularly documents and evidence related 

to criminal investigations, writings protected by the attorney-

client privilege, documents compiled for use in litigation, and 

personnel records.  

G. An effective program of investigation and conciliation of 

complaints of discrimination requires confidentiality. 

Accordingly, disclosure of records of such complaints, 

investigations, and conciliations will be presumed to not 

serve the purposes of Title 40.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

except for statistical and other general information that does 

not reveal the identities of particular employers or employees.  

H. All information gathered through participation in 

consultation services or training programs of the department 

shall be withheld from disclosure except for statistical data 

which that does not identify individual employers.  

I. All information gathered through participation in 

voluntary protection programs of the department pursuant to 

§ 40.1-49.13 of the Code of Virginia shall be withheld from 
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disclosure except for statistical data that does not identify 

individual employers and for the following: 

1. Participant applications and amendments, onsite 

evaluation reports, and annual self-evaluations; 

2. Agency staff correspondence containing 

recommendations to the commissioner, approval letters, 

notifications to compliance staff removing the participants 

from the general inspection list, and related formal 

correspondence. 

I. J. The commissioner, in response to a subpoena, order, or 

other demand of a court or other authority in connection with 

a proceeding to which the department is not a party, shall not 

disclose any information or produce any material acquired as 

part of the performance of his official duties or because of his 

official status without the approval of the Commissioner of 

Labor and Industry.  

J. K. The commissioner shall disclose information and 

statistics gathered pursuant to the enforcement of Virginia's 

occupational safety and health laws, standards, and 

regulations where it has been determined that such a 

disclosure will serve to promote the safety, health, and 

welfare of employees. Any person requesting disclosure of 

such information and statistics should include in his written 

request any information that will aid the commissioner in this 

determination.  

16VAC25-60-110. Discrimination Whistleblower 

discrimination; discharge or retaliation; remedy for 

retaliation.  

A. In carrying out his duties under § 40.1-51.2:2 of the Code 

of Virginia, the commissioner shall consider case law, 

regulations, and formal policies of federal OSHA. An 

employee's engagement in activities protected by Title 40.1 

does not automatically render him immune from discharge or 

discipline for legitimate reasons. Termination or other 

disciplinary action may be taken for a combination of 

reasons, involving both discriminatory and nondiscriminatory 

motivations. In such a case, a violation of § 40.1-51.2:1 of the 

Code of Virginia has occurred if the protected activity was a 

substantial reason for the action, or if the discharge or other 

adverse action would not have taken place "but for" 

engagement in protected activity.  

Employee whistleblower activities, protected by § 40.1-

51.2:1 of the Code of Virginia, include, but are not limited to:  

1. Making any complaint to his employer or any other 

person under or related to the safety and health provisions 

of Title 40.1 of the Code of Virginia;  

2. Instituting or causing to be instituted any proceeding 

under or related to the safety and health provisions of Title 

40.1 of the Code of Virginia;  

3. Testifying or intending to testify in any proceeding 

under or related to the safety and health provisions of Title 

40.1 of the Code of Virginia;  

4. Cooperating with or providing information to the 

commissioner during a worksite inspection; or  

5. Exercising on his own behalf or on behalf of any other 

employee any right afforded by the safety and health 

provisions of Title 40.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

Discharge or discipline of an employee who has refused to 

complete an assigned task because of a reasonable fear of 

injury or death will be considered retaliatory only if the 

employee has sought abatement of the hazard from the 

employer and the statutory procedures for securing abatement 

would not have provided timely protection. The condition 

causing the employee's apprehension of death or injury must 

be of such a nature that a reasonable person, under the 

circumstances then confronting the employee, would 

conclude that there is a real danger of death or serious injury 

and that there is insufficient time, due to the urgency of the 

situation, to eliminate the danger through resort to regular 

statutory enforcement. In addition, in such circumstances, the 

employee, where possible, must also have sought from his 

employer, and been unable to obtain, an abatement of the 

dangerous condition.  

Disciplinary measures taken by employers solely in 

response to employee refusal to comply with appropriate 

safety rules and regulations shall not be regarded as 

retaliatory action prohibited by § 40.1-51.2:1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

B. A complaint pursuant to § 40.1-51.2:2 of the Code of 

Virginia may be filed by the employee himself or anyone 

authorized to act in his behalf.  

The investigation of the commissioner shall include an 

opportunity for the employer to furnish the commissioner 

with any information relevant to the complaint.  

An attempt by an employee to withdraw a previously filed 

complaint shall not automatically terminate the investigation 

of the commissioner. Although a voluntary and uncoerced 

request from the employee that his complaint be withdrawn 

shall receive due consideration, it shall be the decision of the 

commissioner whether further action is necessary to enforce 

the statute.  

The filing of a retaliation complaint with the commissioner 

shall not preclude the pursuit of a remedy through other 

channels. Where appropriate, the commissioner may postpone 

his investigation or defer to the outcome of other proceedings.  

C. Subsection A of § 40.1-51.2:2 of the Code of Virginia 

provides that the commissioner shall bring an action in circuit 

court when it is determined that a violation of § 40.1-51.2:1 

of the Code of Virginia has occurred and a voluntary 

agreement could not be obtained. Subsection A of § 40.1-
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51.2:2 further provides that the court "shall have jurisdiction, 

for cause shown, to restrain violations and order appropriate 

relief." The court's authority to restrain violations and order 

appropriate relief includes the ability to issue penalties or 

fines to the employer that would be payable to the employee. 

In determining the appropriate level of penalties or fines, the 

court may look to subsections G, H, I, and J of § 40.1-49.4 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Part III  

Occupational Safety and Health Standards  

16VAC25-60-120. General industry standards.  

A. The occupational safety or health standards adopted as 

rules or regulations by the board either directly or by 

reference, from 29 CFR Part 1910 shall apply by their own 

terms to all employers and employees at places of 

employment covered by the Virginia State Plan for 

Occupational Safety and Health.  

B. The employer shall comply with the manufacturer's 

specifications and limitations applicable to the operation, 

training, use, installation, inspection, testing, repair and 

maintenance of all machinery, vehicles, tools, materials and 

equipment, unless specifically superseded by a more stringent 

corresponding requirement in 29 CFR Part 1910. The use of 

any machinery, vehicle, tool, material or equipment that is not 

in compliance with any applicable requirement of the 

manufacturer is prohibited, and shall either be identified by 

the employer as unsafe by tagging or locking the controls to 

render them inoperable or be physically removed from its 

place of use or operation.  

16VAC25-60-130. Construction industry standards.  

A. The occupational safety or health standards adopted as 

rules or regulations by the Virginia Safety and Health Codes 

Board either directly, or by reference, from 29 CFR Part 1926 

shall apply by their own terms to all employers and 

employees engaged in either construction work or 

construction related activities covered by the Virginia State 

Plan for Occupational Safety and Health.  

B. The employer shall comply with the manufacturer's 

specifications and limitations applicable to the operation, 

training, use, installation, inspection, testing, repair and 

maintenance of all machinery, vehicles, tools, materials and 

equipment, unless specifically superseded by a more stringent 

corresponding requirement in 29 CFR Part 1926. The use of 

any machinery, vehicle, tool, material or equipment that is not 

in compliance with any applicable requirement of the 

manufacturer is prohibited, and shall either be identified by 

the employer as unsafe by tagging or locking the controls to 

render them inoperable or be physically removed from its 

place of use or operation.  

1. C. For the purposes of the applicability of such Part 1926 

standards, the key criteria utilized to make such a decision 

shall be the activities taking place at the worksite, not the 

primary business of the employer. Construction work shall 

generally include any building, altering, repairing, improving, 

demolishing, painting or decorating any structure, building, 

highway, or roadway; and any draining, dredging, excavation, 

grading or similar work upon real property. Construction also 

generally includes work performed in traditional construction 

trades such as carpentry, roofing, masonry work, plumbing, 

trenching and excavating, tunneling, and electrical work. 

Construction does not include maintenance, alteration or 

repair of mechanical devices, machinery, or equipment, even 

when the mechanical device, machinery or equipment is part 

of a pre-existing structure.  

D. The employer shall comply with the Virginia Department 

of Transportation (VDOT) Work Area Protection Manual in 

lieu of the federal Manual on Uniform Traffic Control 

Devices (Part VI of the MUTCD, 1988 Edition, Revision 3, 

or Part VI of the MUTCD, Millennium Edition - referenced 

in 16VAC25-175-1926.200 through 16VAC25-175-

1926.202) when working under a contract for construction, 

repair, or maintenance between the employer and the 

Commonwealth; agencies, authorities, or instrumentalities of 

the Commonwealth; or any political subdivision or public 

body of the Commonwealth when such contract stipulates 

employer compliance with the VDOT Work Area Protection 

Manual in effect at the time of contractual agreement. 

2. E. Certain standards of 29 CFR Part 1910 have been 

determined by federal OSHA to be applicable to construction 

and have been adopted for this application by the board.  

3. F. The standards adopted from 29 CFR Part 1910.19 and 

29 CFR Part 1910.20 containing respectively, special 

provisions regarding air contaminants and requirements 

concerning access to employee exposure and medical records 

shall apply to construction work as well as general industry.  

16VAC25-60-140. Agriculture standards.  

A. The occupational safety or health standards adopted as 

rules or regulations by the board either directly, or by 

reference, from 29 CFR Part 1910 and 29 CFR Part 1928 

shall apply by their own terms to all employers and 

employees engaged in either agriculture or agriculture related 

activities covered by the Virginia State Plan for Occupational 

Safety and Health.  

B. For the purposes of applicability of such Part 1910 and 

Part 1928 standards, the key criteria utilized to make a 

decision shall be the activities taking place at the worksite, 

not the primary business of the employer. Agricultural 

operations shall generally include any operation involved in 

the growing or harvesting of crops or the raising of livestock 

or poultry, or activities integrally related to agriculture, 

conducted by a farmer or agricultural employer on sites such 

as farms, ranches, orchards, dairy farms or similar 

establishments. Agricultural operations do not include 
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construction work as described in subdivision 1 subsection C 

of 16VAC25-60-130, nor does it do they include operations 

or activities substantially similar to those that occur in a 

general industry setting and are therefore not unique and 

integrally related to agriculture.  

C. The employer shall comply with the manufacturer's 

specifications and limitations applicable to the operation, 

training, use, installation, inspection, testing, repair and 

maintenance of all machinery, vehicles, tools, materials and 

equipment, unless specifically superseded by a more stringent 

corresponding requirement in 29 CFR Part 1910 or 29 CFR 

Part 1928. The use of any machinery, vehicle, tool, material 

or equipment that is not in compliance with any applicable 

requirement of the manufacturer is prohibited, and shall either 

be identified by the employer as unsafe by tagging or locking 

the controls to render them inoperable or be physically 

removed from its place of use or operation.  

16VAC25-60-150. Maritime standards.  

A. The occupational safety or health standards adopted as 

rules or regulations by the board either directly, or by 

reference, from 29 CFR Part 1915, 29 CFR Part 1917, 

29 CFR Part 1918, and 29 CFR Part 1919 shall apply by their 

own terms to all public sector employers and employees 

engaged in maritime related activities covered by the Virginia 

State Plan for Occupational Safety and Health.  

B. The employer shall comply with the manufacturer's 

specifications and limitations applicable to the operation, 

training, use, installation, inspection, testing, repair and 

maintenance of all machinery, vehicles, tools, materials and 

equipment, unless specifically superseded by a more stringent 

corresponding requirement in Part 1915, 1917, 1918 or 1919. 

The use of any machinery, vehicle, tool, material or 

equipment that is not in compliance with any applicable 

requirement of the manufacturer is prohibited, and shall either 

be identified by the employer as unsafe by tagging or locking 

the controls to render them inoperable or be physically 

removed from its place of use or operation.  

16VAC25-60-245. Take Use of administrative subpoenas 

to take and preserve testimony, examine witnesses, and 

administer oaths. 

A. Subdivision 4 of § 40.1-6 of the Code of Virginia 

authorizes the commissioner, in the discharge of his duties, to 

take and preserve testimony, examine witnesses and 

administer oaths. In accordance with subdivision 5 of § 40.1-

6 of the Code of Virginia, the Commissioner of Labor and 

Industry may appoint such representatives as are necessary to 

carry out the functions outlined in subdivision 4 of § 40.1-6 

of the Code of Virginia. Such appointments shall be made in 

writing; identify the individual being appointed, the length of 

appointment, and the method of withdrawal of such 

appointment; and specify what duties are being prescribed. 

B. The oath shall be administered by the commissioner's 

appointed representative to the witness as follows: "Do you 

swear or affirm to tell the truth." 

C. Testimony given under oath shall be recorded by a court 

reporter. 

D. Questioning of employers, owners, operators, agents or 

employees under oath shall be in private in accordance with 

subdivision 2 of § 40.1-49.8 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. An employer's refusal to make an owner, operator, agent 

or employee available to the commissioner for examination 

under this section shall be considered a refusal to consent to 

the commissioner's inspection authority under § 40.1-49.8 of 

the Code of Virginia. Upon such refusal the commissioner 

may seek an administrative search warrant in accordance with 

the provisions contained in §§ 40.1-49.9 through 40.1-49.12 

of the Code of Virginia, and obtain an order from the 

appropriate judge commanding the employer to make the 

subject owner, operator, agent or employee available for 

examination at a specified location by a date and time certain. 

F. In accordance with § 40.1-10 of the Code of Virginia, if 

any person who may be sworn to give testimony shall 

willfully fail or refuse to answer any legal and proper 

question propounded to him concerning the subject of the 

examination under § 40.1-6 of the Code of Virginia, he shall 

be guilty of a misdemeanor. Such person, upon conviction 

thereof, shall be fined not exceeding $100 nor less than $25 

or imprisoned in jail not exceeding 90 days or both. Any such 

refusal on the part of any person to comply with this section 

may be referred by the Commissioner of Labor and Industry 

to the appropriate attorney for the Commonwealth for 

prosecution. 

Part VI  

Citation and Penalty  

16VAC25-60-260. Issuance of citation and proposed 

penalty.  

A. Each citation shall be in writing and describe with 

particularity the nature of the violation or violations, 

including a reference to the appropriate safety or health 

provision of Title 40.1 of the Code of Virginia or the 

appropriate rule, regulation, or standard. In addition, the 

citation must fix a reasonable time for abatement of the 

violation. The citation will contain substantially the 

following: "NOTICE: This citation will become a final order 

of the commissioner unless contested within fifteen working 

days from the date of receipt by the employer." The citation 

may be delivered to the employer or his agent by the 

commissioner or may be sent by certified mail or by personal 

service to an officer or agent of the employer or to the 

registered agent if the employer is a corporation.  

1. No citation may be issued after the expiration of six 

months following the occurrence of any alleged violation. 
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The six-month time frame timeframe is deemed to be tolled 

on the date the citation is issued by the commissioner, 

without regard for when the citation is received by the 

employer. For purposes of calculating the six-month time 

frame timeframe for citation issuance, the following 

requirements shall apply:  

a. 1. The six-month time frame timeframe begins to run on 

the day after the incident or event occurred or notice was 

received by the commissioner (as specified below), in 

accordance with § 1-210 A of the Code of Virginia. The 

word "month" shall be construed to mean one calendar 

month in accordance with § 1-223 of the Code of Virginia.  

b. 2. An alleged violation is deemed to have "occurred" on 

the day it was initially created by commission or omission 

on the part of the creating employer, and every day 

thereafter that it remains in existence uncorrected.  

c. 3. Notwithstanding subdivision 1 a [ 2 1 ] of this 

subsection, if an employer fails to notify the commissioner 

of any work-related incident resulting in a fatality or in the 

in-patient hospitalization of three or more persons within 

eight hours of such occurrence as required by § 40.1-51.1 

D of the Code of Virginia, the six-month time frame 

timeframe shall not be deemed to commence until the 

commissioner receives actual notice of the incident.  

d. 4. Notwithstanding subdivision 1 a [ 2 1 ] of this 

subsection, if the commissioner is first notified of a work-

related incident resulting in an injury or illness to an 

employee(s) employee or employees through receipt of an 

Employer's Accident Report (EAR) form from the Virginia 

Workers' Compensation Commission as provided in 

§ 65.2-900 of the Code of Virginia, the six-month time 

frame timeframe shall not be deemed to commence until 

the commissioner actually receives the EAR form.  

e. 5. Notwithstanding subdivision 1 a [ 2 1 ] of this 

subsection, if the commissioner is first notified of a work-

related hazard, or incident resulting in an injury or illness 

to an employee(s) employee or employees, through receipt 

of a complaint in accordance with 16VAC25-60-100 or 

referral, the six-month time frame timeframe shall not be 

deemed to commence until the commissioner actually 

receives the complaint or referral.  

B. A citation issued under subsection A of this section to an 

employer who violates any VOSH law, standard, rule or 

regulation shall be vacated if such employer demonstrates 

that:  

1. Employees of such employer have been provided with 

the proper training and equipment to prevent such a 

violation;  

2. Work rules designed to prevent such a violation have 

been established and adequately communicated to 

employees by such employer and have been effectively 

enforced when such a violation has been discovered;  

3. The failure of employees to observe work rules led to 

the violation; and  

4. Reasonable steps have been taken by such employer to 

discover any such violation.  

C. For the purposes of subsection B of this section only, the 

term "employee" shall not include any officer, management 

official, or supervisor having direction, management control, 

or custody of any place of employment which was the subject 

of the violative condition cited.  

D. The penalties as set forth in § 40.1-49.4 of the Code of 

Virginia shall also apply to violations relating to the 

requirements for record keeping recordkeeping, reports, or 

other documents filed or required to be maintained and to 

posting requirements.  

E. In determining the amount of the proposed penalty for a 

violation the commissioner will ordinarily be guided by the 

system of penalty adjustment set forth in the VOSH Field 

Operations Manual. In any event the commissioner shall 

consider the gravity of the violation, the size of the business, 

the good faith of the employer, and the employer's history of 

previous violations.  

F. On multi-employer worksites for all covered industries, 

citations shall normally be issued to an employer whose 

employee is exposed to an occupational hazard (the exposing 

employer). Additionally, the following employers shall 

normally be cited, whether or not their own employees are 

exposed:  

1. The employer who actually creates the hazard (the 

creating employer);  

2. The employer who is either:  

a. Responsible, by contract or through actual practice, for 

safety and health conditions on the entire worksite, and 

has the authority for ensuring that the hazardous 

condition is corrected (the controlling employer); or  

b. Responsible, by contract or through actual practice, for 

safety and health conditions for a specific area of the 

worksite, or specific work practice, or specific phase of a 

construction project, and has the authority for ensuring 

that the hazardous condition is corrected (the controlling 

employer); or  

3. The employer who has the responsibility for actually 

correcting the hazard (the correcting employer).  

G. A citation issued under subsection F of this section to an 

exposing employer who violates any VOSH law, standard, 

rule or regulation shall be vacated if such employer 

demonstrates that:  

1. The employer did not create the hazard;  
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2. The employer did not have the responsibility or the 

authority to have the hazard corrected;  

3. The employer did not have the ability to correct or 

remove the hazard;  

4. The employer can demonstrate that the creating, the 

controlling and/or or the correcting employers, as 

appropriate, have been specifically notified of the hazards 

to which his employees were exposed;  

5. The employer has instructed his employees to recognize 

the hazard and, where necessary, informed them how to 

avoid the dangers associated with it;  

6. Where feasible, an exposing employer must have taken 

appropriate alternative means of protecting employees 

from the hazard; and  

7. When extreme circumstances justify it, the exposing 

employer shall have removed his employees from the job.  

H. The commissioner's burden of proving the basis for a 

VOSH citation, penalty, or order of abatement is by a 

preponderance of the evidence. 

I. The burden of proof in establishing an affirmative defense 

to a VOSH citation resides with the employer. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4561; Filed October 23, 2017, 11:48 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC41-20. Barbering and 

Cosmetology Regulations (amending 18VAC41-20-200).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: December 13, 2017. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Demetrios J. Melis, Executive Director, 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, 

FAX (866) 245-9693, or email 

barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia grants 

authority to the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology to 

promulgate regulations "in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) necessary to 

assure continued competency, to prevent deceptive or 

misleading practices by practitioners and to effectively 

administer the regulatory system administered by the 

regulatory board." The board is the promulgating entity for 

regulations governing wax technicians, estheticians, and the 

schools and instructors responsible for their training. Section 

54.1-704.2 of the Code of Virginia specifically references the 

board's jurisdiction over schools, and § 54.1-706 of the Code 

of Virginia provides discretionary authority for the board to 

establish different requirements for the different license types. 

Purpose: This amendment is needed for consistency in the 

interpretation and application of the board's laws and 

regulations. Section 54.1-700 of the Code of Virginia defines 

esthetics to include the removal of unwanted hair from the 

body (by nonlaser methods). As a result, those board 

licensees permitted to remove unwanted hair are licensed wax 

technicians, licensed cosmetologists, and licensed estheticians 

and master estheticians.  

The board's regulations governing cosmetology and wax 

technicians (18VAC41-20) currently restrict anyone from 

teaching the wax curriculum in waxing schools except 

licensed and certified wax technician instructors or 

cosmetology instructors. Licensed and certified esthetics 

instructors and master esthetics instructors are already trained 

to teach students on waxing in esthetics schools under the 

board's esthetics regulations (18VAC41-70). The board 

determined esthetician and master esthetician training in the 

removal of hair is equivalent to or greater than that required 

by cosmetology training.  

The amendment to 18VAC41-20-200 allows esthetics 

instructors and master esthetics instructors to teach the 

waxing program; they already cover waxing and hair removal 

techniques as part of the esthetics curriculum in waxing 

schools, and poses no additional risk to public health, safety, 

or welfare. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

fast-track rulemaking process is being used to amend the 

board's regulatory language for consistency in the 

interpretation and application of § 54.1-700 of the Code of 

Virginia, which defines those license types approved for 

waxing. The change is not expected to be controversial 

because members of the regulated community requested the 

change, it lowers the burden of the current regulatory 

restriction, and it will increase the overall availability of 

qualified instructors in waxing programs. 

Substance: The board's amendment to 18VAC41-20-200 

updates the requirements applicable to schools, to standardize 

who may teach waxing at waxing schools by allowing 

licensed and certified esthetics instructors and master 

esthetics instructors to teach at waxing schools. 

Issues: The primary advantage of allowing esthetics 

instructors and master esthetics instructors to teach waxing at 

waxing schools is that it promotes economic growth 
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opportunities. By increasing the number of available 

instructors for waxing schools, program costs may be reduced 

for students. This in turn may lead to an increase in the 

number of students graduating, obtaining licensure, and 

participating in the waxing profession. 

Moreover, this regulatory change will offer esthetics 

instructors and master esthetics instructors more employment 

opportunities under their current scope of practice, without 

any additional training requirements. There are no 

disadvantages to the public or individual private citizens or 

businesses. 

The primary advantage to the Commonwealth is that the 

regulatory program will be more consistent by allowing all 

licensed instructors who are trained in waxing to teach at 

waxing schools. Currently, while both cosmetologists and 

estheticians are trained in waxing, only cosmetology and wax 

technician instructors can teach waxing. There are no 

identified disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology (Board) proposes to 

allow licensed and certified esthetics instructors and master 

esthetics instructors to teach at waxing schools.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for this 

proposed regulatory change. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently regulation allows 

licensed and certified cosmetology instructors to instruct 

students in waxing programs. Esthetic instructors and master 

esthetic instructors currently may teach the same waxing 

skills as are taught in waxing schools but may only do so in 

esthetics schools. The Board now proposes to allow esthetics 

instructors and master esthetics instructors to also teach 

waxing in waxing schools. This change will likely benefit 

esthetics instructors and master esthetics instructors as it will 

broaden their potential job opportunities. This change will 

also benefit waxing schools as they will have a larger pool of 

instructors from whom to hire.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. This change will affect 

esthetics instructors and master esthetics instructors as well as 

waxing schools. Board staff reports that the Board currently 

licenses or certifies 53 individuals as esthetics instructors or 

master esthetics instructors and that there are 10 waxing 

schools in the Commonwealth 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will be 

particularly affected by this proposed change. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

change may allow the mix of instructors in waxing schools to 

change, but it is unlikely to increase employment in that field. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

proposed regulatory change is unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses are unlikely to 

incur any additional costs on account of this regulatory 

change. Small business waxing schools will likely benefit as 

they will have a larger pool of possible instructors from 

which to hire.  

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. Small 

businesses are unlikely to incur any costs on account of this 

regulatory action.  

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. Businesses are unlikely to be adversely affected 

by this regulatory change. 

Localities. No locality is likely to suffer adverse impacts on 

account of this proposed regulatory change. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to suffer adverse 

impacts on account of this proposed regulatory change. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendment allows licensed and certified esthetics 

instructors and master esthetics instructors to teach the 

wax technician curriculum at waxing schools.  

18VAC41-20-200. General requirements.  

A barber, cosmetology, nail, or waxing school shall:  

1. Hold a school license for each and every location.  

2. Hold a salon license if the school receives compensation 

for services provided in its clinic.  

3. Employ a staff of and ensure all training is conducted by 

licensed and certified barber, cosmetology, nail technician, 

or wax technician instructors, respectively.  

a. Licensed and certified cosmetology instructors may 

also instruct in nail and waxing programs.  
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b. Licensed and certified esthetics instructors and master 

esthetics instructors may also instruct in waxing 

programs.  

4. Develop individuals for entry level competency in 

barbering, cosmetology, nail care, or waxing.  

5. Submit its curricula for board approval. All changes to 

curricula must be resubmitted and approved by the board.  

a. Barber curricula shall be based on a minimum of 1,500 

clock hours and shall include performances in 

accordance with 18VAC41-20-220.  

b. Cosmetology curricula shall be based on a minimum 

of 1,500 clock hours and shall include performances in 

accordance with 18VAC41-20-220.  

c. Nail technician curricula shall be based on a minimum 

of 150 clock hours and shall include performances in 

accordance with 18VAC41-20-220.  

d. Wax technician curricula shall be based on a minimum 

of 115 clock hours and shall include performances in 

accordance with 18VAC41-20-220. 

6. Inform the public that all services are performed by 

students if the school receives compensation for services 

provided in its clinic by posting a notice in the reception 

area of the shop or salon in plain view of the public.  

7. Conduct classroom instruction in an area separate from 

the clinic area where practical instruction is conducted and 

services are provided.  

8. Possess the necessary equipment and implements to 

teach the respective curriculum. If any such equipment or 

implement is not owned by the school, then a copy of all 

agreements associated with the use of such property by the 

school shall be provided to the board.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC41-20)  

Barber – Barber Instructor Examination & License 

Application, A450-1301_02EXLIC-v13 (rev. 2/2017) 

Cosmetology – Cosmetology Instructor Examination & 

License Application, A450-1201_04EXLIC-v16 (rev. 2/2017) 

Nail Technician – Nail Technician Instructor Examination & 

License Application, A450-1206_07EXLIC-v14 (rev. 2/2017) 

Wax Technician – Wax Technician Instructor Examination 

& License Application, A450-1214_15EXLIC-v13 (rev. 

2/2017) 

Temporary Permit Application, A450-1213TEMP-v2 (rev. 

2/2017) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v10 

(rev. 2/2017) 

Training & Experience Verification Form, A450-

1213TREXP-v6 (eff. 2/2017) 

Individuals – Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v9 

(rev. 2/2017) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement 

Application A450-1213BUS-v9 (rev. 2/2017) 

Salon, Shop & Spa Self Inspection Form, A450-

1213_SSS_INSP-v2 (eff. 5/2016) 

Instructor Certification Application, A450-1213INST-v8 

(rev. 2/2017) 

Instructor Certification Application, A450-1213INST-v9 

(rev. 1/2018) 

Student Instructor – Temporary Permit Application A450-

1213ST_TEMP-v2 (rev. 2/2017) 

School License Application, A450-1213SCHL-v10 (rev. 

2/2017) 

School Reinstatement Application A450-1213SCHL-REIN-

v3 (eff. 2/2017) 

School Self-Inspection Form, A450-1213_SCH_INSP-v4 

(eff. 5/2016) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v7 (rev. 1/2017) 

Change of Responsible Management Application, A450-

1213CRM-v1 (rev. 2/2017)  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-4988; Filed October 23, 2017, 1:32 p.m.  

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 

Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-30 through 

18VAC50-22-60, 18VAC50-22-260).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=10dc5003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
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http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cef63003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cef63003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=487d5003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=487d5003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=487d5003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9a80c003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9a80c003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f701b003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f701b003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=88c0e003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=88c0e003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8444d003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8444d003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d02cf003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d02cf003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ab3e4003107~14&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ab3e4003107~14&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=86b3f004988~1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004988&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=86b3f004988~1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004988&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bfd57003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bfd57003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b39d4003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b39d4003107~17&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a2fb0003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a2fb0003107~16&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c3d1f003107~15&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c3d1f003107~15&typ=40&actno=003107&mime=application/pdf
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Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 527 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments (i) add an exclusive specialty for businesses 

that perform, manage, or supervise the remediation of 

property formerly used to manufacture methamphetamine; 

(ii) establish the criteria to obtain and maintain the license 

specialty, including experience and examination 

requirements; and (iii) require that the remediation work 

is consistent with applicable remediation standards of 

other federal or state agencies. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

18VAC50-22-30. Definitions of specialty services.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required 

by the context shall have the following meanings:  

"Accessibility services contracting" (Abbr: ASC) means the 

service that provides for all work in connection with the 

constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing, testing, 

or maintenance of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, 

dumbwaiters with a capacity limit of 300 pounds, and private 

residence elevators in accordance with the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63). The EEC specialty 

may also perform this work. This specialty does not include 

work on limited use-limited application (LULA) elevators. 

"Accessibility services contracting - LULA" (Abbr: ASL) 

means the service that provides for all work in connection 

with the constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing, 

testing, or maintenance of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, 

dumbwaiters with a capacity limit of 300 pounds, private 

residence elevators, and limited use-limited application 

(LULA) elevators in accordance with the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63). The EEC specialty 

may also perform this work.  

"Alternative energy system contracting" (Abbr: AES) means 

the service that provides for the installation, repair or 

improvement, from the customer's meter, of alternative 

energy generation systems, supplemental energy systems and 

associated equipment annexed to real property. This service 

does not include the installation of emergency generators 

powered by fossil fuels. No other classification or specialty 

service provides this function. This specialty does not provide 

for electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC functions.  

"Asbestos contracting" (Abbr: ASB) means the service that 

provides for the installation, removal, or encapsulation of 

asbestos containing materials annexed to real property. No 

other classification or specialty service provides for this 

function.  

"Asphalt paving and sealcoating contracting" (Abbr: PAV) 

means the service that provides for the installation of asphalt 

paving or sealcoating, or both, on subdivision streets and 

adjacent intersections, driveways, parking lots, tennis courts, 

running tracks, and play areas, using materials and 

accessories common to the industry. This includes height 

adjustment of existing sewer manholes, storm drains, water 

valves, sewer cleanouts and drain grates, and all necessary 

excavation and grading. The H/H classification also provides 

for this function.  

"Billboard/sign contracting" (Abbr: BSC) means the service 

that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, or 

dismantling of any billboard or structural sign permanently 

annexed to real property. H/H and CBC are the only other 

classifications that can perform this work except that a 

contractor in this specialty may connect or disconnect signs to 

existing electrical circuits. No trade related plumbing, 

electrical, or HVAC work is included in this function.  

"Blast/explosive contracting" (Abbr: BEC) means the 

service that provides for the use of explosive charges for the 

repair, improvement, alteration, or demolition of any real 

property or any structure annexed to real property.  

"Commercial improvement contracting" (Abbr: CIC) means 

the service that provides for repair or improvement to 

structures not defined as dwellings and townhouses in the 

USBC. The CBC classification also provides for this 

function. The CIC specialty does not provide for the 

construction of new buildings, accessory buildings, electrical, 

plumbing, HVAC, or gas work.  

"Concrete contracting" (Abbr: CEM) means the service that 

provides for all work in connection with the processing, 

proportioning, batching, mixing, conveying, and placing of 

concrete composed of materials common to the concrete 

industry. This includes but is not limited to finishing, 

coloring, curing, repairing, testing, sawing, grinding, 

grouting, placing of film barriers, sealing, and waterproofing. 

Construction and assembling of forms, molds, slipforms, and 

pans, centering, and the use of rebar are also included. The 

CBC, RBC, and H/H classifications also provide for this 

function.  

"Drug lab remediation contracting" (Abbr: DLR) means the 

service that provides for the cleanup, treatment, containment, 

or removal of hazardous substances at or in a property 

formerly used to manufacture methamphetamine or other 

drugs and may include demolition or disposal of structures or 

other property. No other classification or specialty provides 

for this function. 

"Drywall contracting" (Abbr: DRY) means the service that 

provides for the installation, taping, and finishing of drywall, 

panels and assemblies of gypsum wallboard, sheathing, and 

cementitious board and the installation of studs made of sheet 

metal for the framing of ceilings and nonstructural 

partitioning. The CBC and RBC classifications and HIC and 

CIC specialties also provide for this function. 
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"Electronic/communication service contracting" (Abbr: 

ESC) means the service that provides for the installation, 

repair, improvement, or removal of electronic or 

communications systems annexed to real property including 

telephone wiring, computer cabling, sound systems, data 

links, data and network installation, television and cable TV 

wiring, antenna wiring, and fiber optics installation, all of 

which operate at 50 volts or less. A firm holding an ESC 

license is responsible for meeting all applicable tradesman 

licensure standards. The ELE classification also provides for 

this function.  

"Elevator/escalator contracting" (Abbr: EEC) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, 

or removal of elevators or escalators permanently annexed to 

real property. A firm holding an EEC license is responsible 

for meeting all applicable individual license and certification 

regulations. No other classification or specialty service 

provides for this function.  

"Environmental monitoring well contracting" (Abbr: EMW) 

means the service that provides for the construction of a well 

to monitor hazardous substances in the ground.  

"Environmental specialties contracting" (Abbr: ENV) means 

the service that provides for installation, repair, removal, or 

improvement of pollution control and remediation devices. 

No other specialty provides for this function. This specialty 

does not provide for electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or 

HVAC functions.  

"Equipment/machinery contracting" (Abbr: EMC) means the 

service that provides for the installation or removal of 

equipment or machinery including but not limited to 

conveyors or heavy machinery. Boilers exempted by the 

Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) but 

regulated by the Department of Labor and Industry are also 

included in this specialty. This specialty does not provide for 

any electrical, plumbing, process piping, or HVAC functions.  

"Farm improvement contracting" (Abbr: FIC) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, or 

improvement of a nonresidential farm building or structure, or 

nonresidential farm accessory-use structure, or additions 

thereto. The CBC classification also provides for this 

function. The FIC specialty does not provide for any 

electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or gas fitting functions. 

"Finish carpentry contracting" (Abbr: FIN) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, and finishing 

of cabinets, sash casing, door casing, wooden flooring, 

baseboards, countertops, and other millwork. Finish carpentry 

does not include the installation of ceramic tile, marble, and 

artificial or cultured stone. The CBC and RBC classifications 

and HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Fire alarm systems contracting" (Abbr: FAS) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, or 

improvement of fire alarm systems that operate at 50 volts or 

less. The ELE classification also provides for this function. A 

firm with an FAS license is responsible for meeting all 

applicable tradesman licensure standards.  

"Fire sprinkler contracting" (Abbr: SPR) means the service 

that provides for the installation, repair, alteration, addition, 

testing, maintenance, inspection, improvement, or removal of 

sprinkler systems using water as a means of fire suppression 

when annexed to real property. This specialty does not 

provide for the installation, repair, or maintenance of other 

types of fire suppression systems. The PLB classification 

allows for the installation of systems permitted to be designed 

in accordance with the plumbing provisions of the USBC. 

This specialty may engage in the installation of backflow 

prevention devices in the fire sprinkler supply main and 

incidental to the sprinkler system installation when the 

installer has received formal vocational training approved by 

the board that included instruction in the installation of 

backflow prevention devices.  

"Fire suppression contracting" (Abbr: FSP) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, 

or removal of fire suppression systems including but not 

limited to halon and other gas systems, dry chemical systems, 

and carbon dioxide systems annexed to real property. No 

other classification provides for this function. The FSP 

specialty does not provide for the installation, repair, or 

maintenance of water sprinkler systems. 

"Flooring and floor covering contracting" (Abbr: FLR) 

means the service that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of materials that are common in the 

flooring industry. This includes, but is not limited to, wood 

and wood composite flooring, tack strips or other products 

used to secure carpet, vinyl and linoleum, ceramic, marble, 

stone, and all other types of tile, and includes the installation 

or replacement of subflooring, leveling products, or other 

materials necessary to facilitate the installation of the flooring 

or floor covering. This does not include the installation, 

repair, or removal of floor joists or other structural 

components of the flooring system. The CBC and RBC 

classifications and HIC and CIC specialties also provide for 

this function. 

"Framing subcontractor" (Abbr: FRM) means the service 

which, while serving in the role of a subcontractor to a 

licensed prime contractor, provides for the construction, 

removal, repair, or improvement to any framing or rough 

carpentry necessary for the construction of framed structures, 

including the installation and repair of individual components 

of framing systems. The CBC and RBC classifications and 

HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Gas fitting contracting" (Abbr: GFC) means the service that 

provides for the installation, repair, improvement, or removal 

of gas piping and appliances annexed to real property. A firm 

holding a GFC license is responsible for meeting all 

applicable individual (tradesman) licensure regulations. 
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"Glass and glazing contracting" (Abbr: GLZ) means the 

service that provides for the installation, assembly, repair, 

improvement, or removal of all makes and kinds of glass, 

glass work, mirrored glass, and glass substitute for glazing; 

executes the fabrication and glazing of frames, panels, sashes 

and doors; or installs these items in any structure. This 

specialty includes the installation of standard methods of 

weatherproofing, caulking, glazing, sealants, and adhesives. 

The CBC and RBC classifications and HIC and CIC 

specialties also provide for this function.  

"Home improvement contracting" (Abbr: HIC) means the 

service that provides for repairs or improvements to dwellings 

and townhouses as defined in the USBC or structures 

annexed to those dwellings or townhouses as defined in the 

USBC. The RBC classification also provides for this 

function. The HIC specialty does not provide for electrical, 

plumbing, HVAC, or gas fitting functions. It does not include 

new construction functions beyond the existing building 

structure other than decks, patios, driveways, and utility out 

buildings that do not require a permit per the USBC.  

"Industrialized building contracting" (Abbr: IBC) means the 

service that provides for the installation or removal of an 

industrialized building as defined in the Virginia 

Industrialized Building Safety Regulations (13VAC5-91). 

This classification covers foundation work in accordance with 

the provisions of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 

Code (13VAC5-63) and allows the licensee to complete 

internal tie-ins of plumbing, gas, electrical, and HVAC 

systems. It does not allow for installing additional plumbing, 

gas, electrical, or HVAC work such as installing the service 

meter, or installing the outside compressor for the HVAC 

system. The CBC and RBC classifications also provide for 

this function.  

"Insulation and weather stripping contracting" (Abbr: INS) 

means the service that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of materials classified as insulating 

media used for the sole purpose of temperature control or 

sound control of residential and commercial buildings. It does 

not include the insulation of mechanical equipment and 

ancillary lines and piping. The CBC and RBC classifications 

and HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Landscape irrigation contracting" (Abbr: ISC) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, 

or removal of irrigation sprinkler systems or outdoor sprinkler 

systems. The PLB and H/H classifications also provide for 

this function. This specialty may install backflow prevention 

devices incidental to work in this specialty when the installer 

has received formal vocational training approved by the board 

that included instruction in the installation of backflow 

prevention devices.  

"Landscape service contracting" (Abbr: LSC) means the 

service that provides for the alteration or improvement of a 

land area not related to any other classification or service 

activity by means of excavation, clearing, grading, 

construction of retaining walls for landscaping purposes, or 

placement of landscaping timbers. This specialty may remove 

stumps and roots below grade. The CBC, RBC, and H/H 

classifications also provide for this function.  

"Lead abatement contracting" (Abbr: LAC) means the 

service that provides for the removal or encapsulation of lead-

containing materials annexed to real property. No other 

classification or specialty service provides for this function, 

except that the PLB and HVA classifications may provide 

this service incidental to work in those classifications.  

"Liquefied petroleum gas contracting" (Abbr: LPG) means 

the service that includes the installation, maintenance, 

extension, alteration, or removal of all piping, fixtures, 

appliances, and appurtenances used in transporting, storing, 

or utilizing liquefied petroleum gas. This excludes hot water 

heaters, boilers, and central heating systems that require an 

HVA or PLB license. The GFC specialty also provides for 

this function. A firm holding an LPG license is responsible 

for meeting all applicable individual license and certification 

regulations. 

"Manufactured home contracting" (Abbr: MHC) means the 

service that provides for the installation or removal of a 

manufactured home as defined in the Virginia Manufactured 

Home Safety Regulations (13VAC5-95). This classification 

does not cover foundation work; however, it does allow 

installation of piers covered under HUD regulations. It does 

allow a licensee to do internal tie-ins of plumbing, gas, 

electrical, or HVAC equipment. It does not allow for 

installing additional plumbing, gas, electrical, or HVAC work 

such as installing the service meter or installing the outside 

compressor for the HVAC system. No other specialty 

provides for this function. 

"Marine facility contracting" (Abbr: MCC) means the 

service that provides for the construction, repair, 

improvement, or removal of any structure the purpose of 

which is to provide access to, impede, or alter a body of 

surface water. The CBC and H/H classifications also provide 

for this function. The MCC specialty does not provide for the 

construction of accessory structures or electrical, HVAC, or 

plumbing functions.  

"Masonry contracting" (Abbr: BRK) means the service that 

includes the installation of brick, concrete block, stone, 

marble, slate, or other units and products common to the 

masonry industry, including mortarless type masonry 

products. This includes installation of grout, caulking, tuck 

pointing, sand blasting, mortar washing, parging, and 

cleaning and welding of reinforcement steel related to 

masonry construction. The CBC and RBC classifications and 

the HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function.  

"Natural gas fitting provider contracting" (Abbr: NGF) 

means the service that provides for the incidental repair, 
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testing, or removal of natural gas piping or fitting annexed to 

real property. This does not include new installation of gas 

piping for hot water heaters, boilers, central heating systems, 

or other natural gas equipment that requires an HVA or PLB 

license. The GFC specialty also provides for this function. A 

firm holding an NGF license is responsible for meeting all 

applicable individual license and certification regulations. 

"Painting and wallcovering contracting" (Abbr: PTC) means 

the service that provides for the application of materials 

common to the painting and decorating industry for protective 

or decorative purposes, the installation of surface coverings 

such as vinyls, wall papers, and cloth fabrics. This includes 

surface preparation, caulking, sanding, and cleaning 

preparatory to painting or coverings and includes both interior 

and exterior surfaces. The CBC and RBC classifications and 

the HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Radon mitigation contracting" (Abbr: RMC) means the 

service that provides for additions, repairs or improvements 

to buildings or structures, for the purpose of mitigating or 

preventing the effects of radon gas. No electrical, plumbing, 

gas fitting, or HVAC functions are provided by this specialty.  

"Recreational facility contracting" (Abbr: RFC) means the 

service that provides for the construction, repair, or 

improvement of any recreational facility, excluding paving 

and the construction of buildings, plumbing, electrical, and 

HVAC functions. The CBC classification also provides for 

this function.  

"Refrigeration contracting" (Abbr: REF) means the service 

that provides for installation, repair, or removal of any 

refrigeration equipment (excluding HVAC equipment). No 

electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC functions are 

provided by this specialty. This specialty is intended for those 

contractors who repair or install coolers, refrigerated 

casework, ice-making machines, drinking fountains, cold 

room equipment, and similar hermetic refrigeration 

equipment. The HVA classification also provides for this 

function.  

"Roofing contracting" (Abbr: ROC) means the service that 

provides for the installation, repair, removal, or improvement 

of materials common to the industry that form a watertight, 

weather resistant surface for roofs and decks. This includes 

roofing system components when installed in conjunction 

with a roofing project, application of dampproofing or 

waterproofing, and installation of roof insulation panels and 

other roof insulation systems above roof deck. The CBC and 

RBC classifications and the HIC and CIC specialties also 

provide for this function.  

"Sewage disposal systems contracting" (Abbr: SDS) means 

the service that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of septic tanks, septic systems, and 

other onsite sewage disposal systems annexed to real 

property. 

"Steel erection contracting" (Abbr: STL) means the service 

that provides for the fabrication and erection of structural 

steel shapes and plates, regardless of shape or size, to be used 

as structural members, or tanks, including any related 

riveting, welding, and rigging. This specialty includes the 

fabrication, placement and tying of steel reinforcing bars 

(rods), and post-tensioning to reinforce concrete buildings 

and structures. The CBC and RBC classifications and HIC 

and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Swimming pool construction contracting" (Abbr: POL) 

means the service that provides for the construction, repair, 

improvement, or removal of in-ground swimming pools. The 

CBC and RBC classifications and the RFC specialty also 

provide for this function. No trade related plumbing, 

electrical, backflow, or HVAC work is included in this 

specialty.  

"Tile, marble, ceramic, and terrazzo contracting" (Abbr: 

TMC) means the service that provides for the preparation, 

fabrication, construction, and installation of artificial marble, 

burned clay tile, ceramic, terrazzo, encaustic, faience, quarry, 

semi-vitreous, cementitious board, and other tile, excluding 

hollow or structural partition tile. The CBC and RBC 

classifications and HIC and CIC specialties also provide for 

this function. 

"Underground utility and excavating contracting" (Abbr [ : ] 

UUC) means the service that provides for the construction, 

repair, improvement, or removal of main sanitary sewer 

collection systems, main water distribution systems, storm 

sewer collection systems, and the continuation of utility lines 

from the main systems to a point of termination up to and 

including the meter location for the individual occupancy, 

sewer collection systems at property line, or residential or 

single-occupancy commercial properties, or on multi-

occupancy properties at manhole or wye lateral extend to an 

invert elevation as engineered to accommodate future 

building sewers, water distribution systems, or storm sewer 

collection systems at storm sewer structures. This specialty 

may install empty underground conduits in rights-of way, 

easements, platted rights-of-way in new site development, 

and sleeves for parking lot crossings if each conduit system 

does not include installation of any conductor wiring or 

connection to an energized electrical system. The H/H 

classification also provides for this function. 

"Vessel construction contracting" (Abbr: VCC) means the 

service that provides for the construction, repair, 

improvement, or removal of nonresidential vessels, tanks, or 

piping that hold or convey fluids other than sanitary, storm, 

waste, or potable water supplies. The H/H classification also 

provides for this function.  

"Water well/pump contracting" (Abbr: WWP) means the 

service that provides for the installation of a water well 

system, including geothermal wells, which includes 

construction of a water well to reach groundwater, as defined 
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in § 62.1-255 of the Code of Virginia, and the installation of 

the well pump and tank, including pipe and wire, up to and 

including the point of connection to the plumbing and 

electrical systems. No other classification or specialty service 

provides for construction of water wells. This regulation shall 

not exclude the PLB, ELE, or HVA classification from 

installation of pumps and tanks.  

Note: Specialty contractors engaging in construction that 

involves the following activities or items or similar activities 

or items may fall under the CIC, HIC, and FIC specialty 

services, or they may fall under the CBC or RBC 

classification.  

Appliances  Fences  Railings  

Awnings  Fiberglass Rigging 

Blinds Fireplaces  Rubber linings 

Bulkheads Fireproofing  Sandblasting 

Carpeting  Fixtures  Scaffolding 

Ceilings  Grouting  Screens 

Chimneys  Guttering Shutters 

Chutes  Interior 

decorating 

Siding 

Curtains  Lubrication  Skylights 

Curtain walls  Metal work  Storage bins and 

lockers 

Decks Millwrighting  Stucco 

Doors  Mirrors  Vaults 

Drapes  Miscellaneous 

iron 

Wall panels 

Epoxy  Ornamental iron Waterproofing 

Exterior 

decoration 

Partitions Windows 

Facings Protective 

coatings 
 

Part II  

Entry  

18VAC50-22-40. Requirements for a Class C license.  

A. A firm applying for a Class C license must meet the 

requirements of this section. 

B. For every classification or specialty in which the firm 

seeks to be licensed, the firm shall name a qualified 

individual who meets the following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old; 

2. Has a minimum of two years experience in the 

classification or specialty for which he is the qualifier; 

3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 

the firm; and 

4. a. Has obtained the appropriate certification for the 

following specialties: 

(1) Blast/explosive contracting (Department of Fire 

Programs explosive use certification), 

(2) Fire sprinkler (NICET Sprinkler III certification), and 

(3) Radon mitigation (EPA or DEQ accepted radon 

certification). 

b. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, a master license for Plumbing, 

HVAC, Electrical, Gas Fitting, Natural Gas Fitting 

Provider, and Liquefied Petroleum Gas Contracting. 

c. Has completed, for the drug lab remediation specialty, 

a remediation course approved by the board and a board-

approved examination. 

c. d. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing 

and Certification Regulations, certification as an Elevator 

Mechanic for Elevator Escalator Contracting and 

certification as a Water Well Systems Provider for Water 

Well/Pump Contracting. 

d. e. Has completed a board-approved examination for all 

other classifications and specialties that do not require 

other certification or licensure. 

C. The firm shall provide information for the past five years 

prior to application on any outstanding, past-due debts and 

judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or 

pending or past bankruptcies. The firm and all members of 

the responsible management of the firm shall submit 

information on any past-due debts and judgments or defaults 

on bonds directly related to the practice of contracting as 

defined in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

D. The firm and all members of the responsible management 

of the firm shall disclose at the time of application any current 

or previous contractor licenses held in Virginia or in other 

jurisdictions and any disciplinary actions taken on these 

licenses. This includes but is not limited to any monetary 

penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a 

license in connection with a disciplinary action, or voluntary 

termination of a license in Virginia or in any other 

jurisdiction. 

E. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, all 

applicants shall disclose the following information about the 

firm, all members of the responsible management, and the 

qualified individual or individuals for the firm: 

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 

date of application; and 
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2. All felony convictions during their lifetimes. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, 

in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. A member of responsible management shall have 

successfully completed a board-approved basic business 

course. 

18VAC50-22-50. Requirements for a Class B license.  

A. A firm applying for a Class B license must meet the 

requirements of this section. 

B. A firm shall name a designated employee who meets the 

following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old; 

2. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter, or is a member of responsible management as 

defined in this chapter; 

3. Has passed a board-approved examination as required 

by § 54.1-1108 of the Code of Virginia or has been 

exempted from the exam requirement in accordance with 

§ 54.1-1108.1 of the Code of Virginia; and 

4. Has followed all rules established by the board or by the 

testing service acting on behalf of the board with regard to 

conduct at the examination. Such rules shall include any 

written instructions communicated prior to the examination 

date and any oral or written instructions given at the site on 

the date of the exam. 

C. For every classification or specialty in which the firm 

seeks to be licensed, the firm shall name a qualified 

individual who meets the following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old; 

2. Has a minimum of three years experience in the 

classification or specialty for which he is the qualifier; 

3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 

the firm; 

4. a. Has obtained the appropriate certification for the 

following specialties: 

(1) Blast/explosive contracting (Department of Fire 

Programs explosive use certification), 

(2) Fire sprinkler (NICET Sprinkler III certification), and 

(3) Radon mitigation (EPA or DEQ accepted radon 

certification). 

b. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, a master license for Plumbing, 

HVAC, Electrical, Gas Fitting, Natural Gas Fitting 

Provider, and Liquefied Petroleum Gas Contracting. 

c. Has completed, for the drug lab remediation specialty, 

a remediation course approved by the board and a board-

approved examination. 

c. d. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing 

and Certification Regulations, certification as an Elevator 

Mechanic for Elevator Escalator Contracting and 

certification as a Water Well Systems Provider for Water 

Well/Pump Contracting. 

d. e. Has completed a board-approved examination for all 

other classifications and specialties that do not require 

other certification or licensure. 

D. Each firm shall submit information on its financial 

position. Excluding any property owned as tenants by the 

entirety, the firm shall state a net worth or equity of $15,000 

or more. 

E. Each firm shall provide information for the five years 

prior to application on any outstanding, past-due debts and 

judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or 

pending or past bankruptcies. The firm, its designated 

employee, and all members of the responsible management of 

the firm shall submit information on any past-due debts and 

judgments or defaults on bonds directly related to the practice 

of contracting as defined in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. The firm, the designated employee, and all members of 

the responsible management of the firm shall disclose at the 

time of application any current or previous substantial 

identities of interest with any contractor licenses issued in 

Virginia or in other jurisdictions and any disciplinary actions 

taken on these licenses. This includes but is not limited to any 

monetary penalties, fines, suspension, revocation, or 

surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary action. 

The board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant when any of the parties listed above in this 

subsection have had a substantial identity of interest (as 

deemed in § 54.1-1110 of the Code of Virginia) with any firm 

that has had a license suspended, revoked, voluntarily 

terminated or surrendered in connection with a disciplinary 

action in Virginia or any other jurisdiction. 

G. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

all applicants shall disclose the following information about 

the firm, designated employee, all members of the responsible 

management, and the qualified individual or individuals for 

the firm: 

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 

date of application; and 

2. All felony convictions during their lifetimes. 
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Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, 

in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

H. The designated employee or a member of responsible 

management shall have successfully completed a board-

approved basic business course. 

18VAC50-22-60. Requirements for a Class A license.  

A. A firm applying for a Class A license shall meet all of the 

requirements of this section.  

B. A firm shall name a designated employee who meets the 

following requirements:  

1. Is at least 18 years old;  

2. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 

the firm as defined in this chapter;  

3. Has passed a board-approved examination as required 

by § 54.1-1106 of the Code of Virginia or has been 

exempted from the exam requirement in accordance with 

§ 54.1-1108.1 of the Code of Virginia; and  

4. Has followed all rules established by the board or by the 

testing service acting on behalf of the board with regard to 

conduct at the examination. Such rules shall include any 

written instructions communicated prior to the examination 

date and any oral or written instructions given at the site on 

the day of the exam.  

C. For every classification or specialty in which the firm 

seeks to be licensed, the firm shall name a qualified 

individual who meets the following requirements:  

1. Is at least 18 years old;  

2. Has a minimum of five years of experience in the 

classification or specialty for which he is the qualifier;  

3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 

the firm;  

4. a. Has obtained the appropriate certification for the 

following specialties: 

(1) Blast/explosive contracting (DHCD explosive use 

certification), 

(2) Fire sprinkler (NICET Sprinkler III certification), and 

(3) Radon mitigation (EPA or DEQ accepted radon 

certification). 

b. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, a master license for Plumbing, 

HVAC, Electrical, Gas Fitting, Natural Gas Fitting 

Provider, and Liquefied Petroleum Gas Contracting. 

c. Has completed, for the drug lab remediation specialty, 

a remediation course approved by the board and a board-

approved examination. 

c. d. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing 

and Certification Regulations, certification as an Elevator 

Mechanic for Elevator Escalator Contracting and 

certification as a Water Well Systems Provider for Water 

Well/Pump Contracting. 

d. e. Has completed a board-approved examination for all 

other classifications and specialties that do not require 

other certification or licensure. 

D. Each firm shall submit information on its financial 

position. Excluding any property owned as tenants by the 

entirety, the firm shall state a net worth or equity of $45,000.  

E. The firm shall provide information for the five years prior 

to application on any outstanding, past-due debts and 

judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or 

pending or past bankruptcies. The firm, its designated 

employee, and all members of the responsible management of 

the firm shall submit information on any past-due debts and 

judgments or defaults on bonds directly related to the practice 

of contracting as defined in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

F. The firm, the designated employee, and all members of 

the responsible management of the firm shall disclose at the 

time of application any current or previous substantial 

identities of interest with any contractor licenses issued in 

Virginia or in other jurisdictions and any disciplinary actions 

taken on these licenses. This includes but is not limited to, 

any monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, or 

surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary action. 

The board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant when any of the parties listed above in this 

[ subdivision subsection ] have had a substantial identity of 

interest (as deemed in § 54.1-1110 of the Code of Virginia) 

with any firm that has had a license suspended, revoked, 

voluntarily terminated, or surrendered in connection with a 

disciplinary action in Virginia or in any other jurisdiction.  

G. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

all applicants shall disclose the following information about 

the firm, all members of the responsible management, the 

designated employee, and the qualified individual or 

individuals for the firm:  

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 

date of application; and  

2. All felony convictions during their lifetimes.  

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 
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conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, 

in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia.  

H. The designated employee or a member of responsible 

management shall have successfully completed a board-

approved basic business course. 

18VAC50-22-260. Filing of charges; prohibited acts.  

A. All complaints against contractors and residential 

building energy analyst firms may be filed with the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation at 

any time during business hours, pursuant to § 54.1-1114 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

B. The following acts are prohibited acts:  

1. Failure in any material way to comply with provisions of 

Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or the 

regulations of the board.  

2. Furnishing substantially inaccurate or incomplete 

information to the board in obtaining, renewing, 

reinstating, or maintaining a license.  

3. Failure of the responsible management, designated 

employee, or qualified individual to report to the board, in 

writing, the suspension or revocation of a contractor 

license by another state or conviction in a court of 

competent jurisdiction of a building code violation.  

4. Publishing or causing to be published any advertisement 

relating to contracting which that contains an assertion, 

representation, or statement of fact that is false, deceptive, 

or misleading.  

5. Negligence and/or or incompetence in the practice of 

contracting or residential building energy analyses.  

6. Misconduct in the practice of contracting or residential 

building energy analyses.  

7. A finding of improper or dishonest conduct in the 

practice of contracting by a court of competent jurisdiction 

or by the board.  

8. Failure of all those who engage in residential 

contracting, excluding subcontractors to the contracting 

parties and those who engage in routine maintenance or 

service contracts, to make use of a legible written contract 

clearly specifying the terms and conditions of the work to 

be performed. For the purposes of this chapter, residential 

contracting means construction, removal, repair, or 

improvements to single-family or multiple-family 

residential buildings, including accessory-use structures as 

defined in § 54.1-1100 of the Code of Virginia. Prior to 

commencement of work or acceptance of payments, the 

contract shall be signed by both the consumer and the 

licensee or his agent.  

9. Failure of those engaged in residential contracting as 

defined in this chapter to comply with the terms of a 

written contract which that contains the following 

minimum requirements:  

a. When work is to begin and the estimated completion 

date;  

b. A statement of the total cost of the contract and the 

amounts and schedule for progress payments including a 

specific statement on the amount of the down payment;  

c. A listing of specified materials and work to be 

performed, which is specifically requested by the 

consumer;  

d. A "plain-language" exculpatory clause concerning 

events beyond the control of the contractor and a 

statement explaining that delays caused by such events 

do not constitute abandonment and are not included in 

calculating time frames timeframes for payment or 

performance;  

e. A statement of assurance that the contractor will 

comply with all local requirements for building permits, 

inspections, and zoning;  

f. Disclosure of the cancellation rights of the parties;  

g. For contracts resulting from a door-to-door 

solicitation, a signed acknowledgment by the consumer 

that he has been provided with and read the Department 

of Professional and Occupational Regulation statement of 

protection available to him through the Board for 

Contractors;  

h. Contractor's name, address, license number, class of 

license, and classifications or specialty services;  

i. A statement providing that any modification to the 

contract, which changes the cost, materials, work to be 

performed, or estimated completion date, must be in 

writing and signed by all parties; and 

j. Effective with all new contracts entered into after July 

1, 2015, a statement notifying consumers of the existence 

of the Virginia Contractor Transaction Recovery Fund 

that includes information on how to contact the board for 

claim information.  

10. Failure to make prompt delivery to the consumer 

before commencement of work of a fully executed copy of 

the contract as described in subdivisions 8 and 9 of this 

subsection for construction or contracting work.  

11. Failure of the contractor to maintain for a period of five 

years from the date of contract a complete and legible copy 

of all documents relating to that contract, including, but not 

limited to, the contract and any addenda or change orders.  
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12. Refusing or failing, upon request, to produce to the 

board, or any of its agents, any document, book, record, or 

copy of it in the licensee's possession concerning a 

transaction covered by this chapter or for which the 

licensee is required to maintain records.  

13. Failing to respond to an agent of the board or providing 

false, misleading or incomplete information to an 

investigator seeking information in the investigation of a 

complaint filed with the board against the contractor. 

Failing or refusing to claim certified mail sent to the 

licensee's address of record shall constitute a violation of 

this regulation. 

14. Abandonment defined as the unjustified cessation of 

work under the contract for a period of 30 days or more.  

15. The intentional and unjustified failure to complete 

work contracted for and/or or to comply with the terms in 

the contract.  

16. The retention or misapplication of funds paid, for 

which work is either not performed or performed only in 

part.  

17. Making any misrepresentation or making a false 

promise that might influence, persuade, or induce.  

18. Assisting another to violate any provision of Chapter 1 

(§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or this chapter; or 

combining or conspiring with or acting as agent, partner, or 

associate for another.  

19. Allowing a firm's license to be used by another.  

20. Acting as or being an ostensible licensee for 

undisclosed persons who do or will control or direct, 

directly or indirectly, the operations of the licensee's 

business.  

21. Action by the firm, responsible management as defined 

in this chapter, designated employee or qualified individual 

to offer, give, or promise anything of value or benefit to 

any federal, state, or local employee for the purpose of 

influencing that employee to circumvent, in the 

performance of his duties, any federal, state, or local law, 

regulation, or ordinance governing the construction 

industry.  

22. Where the firm, responsible management as defined in 

this chapter, designated employee or qualified individual 

has been convicted or found guilty, after initial licensure, 

regardless of adjudication, in any jurisdiction, of any 

felony or of any misdemeanor, there being no appeal 

pending therefrom or the time of appeal having elapsed. 

Any plea of guilty or nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purposes of this subdivision. The record 

of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as 

prima facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt.  

23. Failure to inform the board in writing, within 30 days, 

that the firm, a member of responsible management as 

defined in this chapter, its designated employee, or its 

qualified individual has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere 

or was convicted and found guilty of any felony or of a 

Class 1 misdemeanor or any misdemeanor conviction for 

activities carried out while engaged in the practice of 

contracting.  

24. Having been disciplined by any county, city, town, or 

any state or federal governing body including action by the 

Virginia Department of Health, which action shall be 

reviewed by the board before it takes any disciplinary 

action of its own.  

25. Failure to abate a violation of the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code, as amended.  

26. Failure of a contractor to comply with the notification 

requirements of the Virginia Underground Utility Damage 

Prevention Act, Chapter 10.3 (§ 56-265.14 et seq.) of Title 

56 of the Code of Virginia (Miss Utility).  

27. Practicing in a classification, specialty service, or class 

of license for which the contractor is not licensed.  

28. Failure to satisfy any judgments.  

29. Contracting with an unlicensed or improperly licensed 

contractor or subcontractor in the delivery of contracting 

services.  

30. Failure to honor the terms and conditions of a warranty.  

31. Failure to obtain written change orders, which are 

signed by both the consumer and the licensee or his agent, 

to an already existing contract.  

32. Failure to ensure that supervision, as defined in this 

chapter, is provided to all helpers and laborers assisting 

licensed tradesman.  

33. Failure to obtain a building permit or applicable 

inspection, where required. 

34. Failure of a residential building energy analyst firm to 

ensure that residential building energy analyses conducted 

by the firm are consistent with the requirements set forth 

by the board, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 

the U.S. Department of Energy, or the Energy Star 

Program. 

35. Failure of a residential building energy analyst firm to 

maintain the general liability insurance required in 

18VAC50-22-62 C at any time while licensed by the 

board. 

36. Failure of a contractor holding the drug lab remediation 

specialty to ensure that remediation work conducted by the 

firm or properly licensed subcontractors is consistent with 

the guidelines set forth by the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency, Virginia Department of Environmental 
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Quality, Virginia Department of Health, or Virginia 

Department of Forensic Science.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of the form 

with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

[ FORMS (18VAC50-22) 

Contractor Licensing Information, A501-27INTRO-v4 (rev. 

1/2016) 

Requirements for Qualified Individuals, A501-27EXINFO-

v5 (rev. 1/2016) 

Contractor's License Application, A501-27LIC-v7 (rev. 

1/2016) 

Additional Specialty Designation Application, A501-

27ADDSP-v7 (rev. 1/2016) 

Contractor's License Application, A501-27LIC-v10 (rev. 

1/2018) 

Additional Specialty Designation Application, A501-

27ADDSP-v10 (rev. 1/2018) 

Adverse Financial History Reporting Form, A406-01AFIN-

v1 (eff. 2/2015) 

Change in Qualified Individual and Designated Employee 

Application, A501-27CH_QIDE-v7 (rev. 1/2016) 

Change in Qualified Individual and Designated Employee 

Application, A501-27CH_QIDE-v9 (rev. 1/2018) 

Change of Responsible Management Application, A501-

27CHRM-v4 (rev. 1/2016) 

Certificate of License Termination, A501-27TERM-v4 (rev. 

12/2015)  

Criminal Conviction Reporting Form, A406-01CCR-v1 (eff. 

5/2015) 

Disciplinary Action Reporting Form, A406-01DAR-v1 (eff. 

5/2015) 

Education Provider Registration/Course Approval 

Application, A501-27EDREG-v5 (rev. 1/2014) 

Education Provider Listing Application, A501-27EDLIST-

v4 (rev. 1/2014)  

Financial Statement, A501-27FINST-v4 (rev. 12/2012) 

Change in License Class Application, A501-27CHLIC-v7 

(rev. 1/2016) 

Change in License Class Application, A501CHLIC-v9 (rev. 

1/2018) 

Firm - Residential Building Energy Analyst Application, 

A501-2707LIC-v2 (rev. 7/2013)  

Statement of Consumer Protections, RBC-9.1 (rev. 12/2014)  

Contractor's Temporary License Application, A501-

2703LIC-v2 (rev. 1/2016) 

Contractor Temporary License Application, A501-2703LIC-

v8 (rev. 1/2018) 

Expedited Class A License Application, A501-2705A-v11 

(rev. 1/2018) ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4674; Filed October 16, 2017, 5:59 p.m.  

BOARD OF NURSING 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-19. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing (amending 18VAC90-19-120).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 13, 2017. 

Effective Date: December 28, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX (804) 

527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia establishes 

the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards, 

including the responsibility to promulgate regulations. 

Purpose: Applicants who received their nursing education in 

another country are required to have a credentials review by 

the Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools 

(CGFNS) and an examination of English proficiency. For 

applicants by endorsement, who have been licensed in 

another United States jurisdiction, those requirements may 

have already been met as qualification for licensure in the 

other jurisdiction. Therefore, it may be unnecessarily 

burdensome and create delays in licensure to repeat the 

credentials review and test of English proficiency. 

Verification from the jurisdiction that the qualification has 

been met is necessary. 

Since assurance of completion of all educational and clinical 

requirements has already been verified by CGFNS, there is no 

risk of less competent nurses being granted a license. Public 

health and safety continues to be protected with assurance 

that a licensee has minimal competency to practice. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=16e16003648~5&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=16e16003648~5&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5d4a9003648~4&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5d4a9003648~4&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91940004674~60.pdf&typ=40&actno=004674&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91940004674~60.pdf&typ=40&actno=004674&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d430d004674~5f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004674&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d430d004674~5f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004674&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d3128003648~2&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d3128003648~2&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cd360004674~3f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004674&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cd360004674~3f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004674&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=19e25004047~3&typ=40&actno=004047&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=19e25004047~3&typ=40&actno=004047&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a13c0004047~4&typ=40&actno=004047&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a13c0004047~4&typ=40&actno=004047&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ee08b003648~8&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ee08b003648~8&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a09c3003648~7&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a09c3003648~7&typ=40&actno=003648&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c3e99004047~5&typ=40&actno=004047&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c3e99004047~5&typ=40&actno=004047&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=92266004047~6&typ=40&actno=004047&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=92266004047~6&typ=40&actno=004047&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9f5d2002636~38&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e811e004674~5f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004674&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e811e004674~5f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004674&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6dba9002636~37&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6dba9002636~37&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f978b004456~1&typ=40&actno=004456&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=879f7004674~1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004674&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=879f7004674~1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004674&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ddd48004674~4f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004674&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ddd48004674~4f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004674&mime=application/pdf
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Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

amendment is less burdensome for all parties and will 

facilitate licensure by endorsement for certain applicants, and 

therefore, the Board of Nursing is confident that the 

rulemaking is noncontroversial and should be promulgated as 

a fast-track rulemaking action. 

Substance: In examining its process for approval of 

applications by endorsement, staff has become aware that the 

requirement for a CGFNS credentials review and test of 

English proficiency may be duplicative of credentialing 

already performed by another state. The amendment will 

allow the board to waive requirements for a CGFNS 

credentials review and examination of English proficiency for 

a person whose nursing education was received in another 

country if the applicant has been licensed in another state and 

can provide evidence that those requirements were met for 

licensure in the other state. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the amendment is an 

expedited process for licensure by endorsement of RNs and 

LPNs who are foreign trained and have been licensed and 

credentialed in another state. There are no disadvantages. 

There is an advantage to the board because an attestation 

from the other state may eliminate the need for additional 

documents, which will result in less paperwork and more 

satisfied applicants. There are no disadvantages to the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. In 

regard to applying for licensure by endorsement, the Board of 

Nursing (Board) proposes to allow the waiving of a (new) 

credentials review by the Commission on Graduates of 

Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS) and examination of 

English proficiency for a person whose nursing education was 

received in another country if the applicant has been licensed 

in another state and she can provide evidence that those 

requirements were met for licensure in the other state. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Applicants for nursing licensure 

by endorsement whose basic nursing education was received 

in another country must pass a CGFNS credentials review 

and a CGFNS-approved examination of English language 

proficiency.1 The CGFNS review must show that the 

applicant's secondary education and nursing education are 

comparable to those required for registered nurses in the 

Commonwealth.2 English proficiency can be demonstrated by 

achieving passing scores in either the TOEFL iBT3 or the 

IELTS exam.4 

The Board proposes to waive the requirements for passing the 

CGFNS credentials review and a CGFNS-approved 

examination of English language proficiency if the applicant 

can provide evidence from another United States jurisdiction 

of passing: a) a CGFNS credentials evaluation for educational 

comparability and b) English language proficiency 

examination approved by the CGFNS, unless the applicant 

met the CGFNS criteria for an exemption from the 

requirement.5 CGFNS charges $350 for a credentials review.6 

Under the current regulation the applicant would need a new 

CGFNS credentials review specific to Virginia. The proposed 

regulation would thus save the applicant who already had a 

satisfactory credentials evaluation for another state the $350 

fee for a new review, plus the time waiting for the review to 

be completed.  

If the applicant had already passed the English language 

proficiency exam for a different state, she would not need to 

take it again even under the current regulation. She would just 

need to have the examination organization send the scores to 

the Department of Health Professions (DHP). ETS, the 

producer of the TOEFL iBT exam, does not charge for 

sending additional recipients examination scores.7,8 Thus the 

proposed regulation would not significantly affect costs in 

regard to the English language proficiency examination. 

The proposed amendments introduce no new costs and do not 

change the required qualifications for nursing licensure. The 

reduced cost for foreign-trained nurses already licensed in 

another state may moderately increase the number of such 

individuals who seek licensure and nursing employment in 

the Commonwealth. Given the cost savings for the affected 

nurses, the Board's proposal would therefore create a net 

benefit.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

affect foreign-trained nurses who are already licensed in 

another United States jurisdiction and are considering 

applying for nursing licensure in Virginia. The number of 

such individuals is unavailable. According to DHP, the Board 

approves licenses for approximately 1,800 Registered Nurse 

applicants and 400 Licensed Practical Nurse applicants each 

quarter. Most nurses work for medical practices, long-term 

care facilities, or hospital systems.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

reduces costs for nurses whose nursing education was 

received in another country, if the applicant has been licensed 

in another state and she can provide evidence that a 

satisfactory credentials review by CGFNS was completed by 

the other state. Such nurses may be more likely to apply for 

licensure and employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments do not affect the use and value of 

private property. 
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Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 

significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect other entities. 

____________________________ 
1 The passage of an English language proficiency examination is not required 

if: 1) the entry-level professional education occurred in the United Kingdom, 

Australia, Barbados, Canada (except most of Quebec), Ireland, Jamaica, New 
Zealand, South Africa, Trinidad & Tobago, or the United States, and 2) 

English was the language of instruction, and the language of the textbooks. 

2 See http://www.cgfns.org/services/ces-professional-report/ 

3 See https://www.ets.org/toefl/ibt/about 

4 See https://www.ielts.org/en-us 

5 See footnote #1. 

6 Source: http://www.cgfns.org/services/ces-professional-report/ accessed on 

September 13, 2017. 

7Source: https://www.ets.org/toefl/institutions/scores/reporting 

8 Information concerning whether there is a charge for sending additional 

recipients IELTS scores was not available at the time this report was 
published. Nevertheless, the TOEFL iBT is believed to be more commonly 

used. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Nursing concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendment allows the Board of Nursing to waive 

requirements for a Commission on Graduates of Foreign 

Nursing Schools credentials review and examination of 

English proficiency for a person whose nursing education 

was received in another country if the applicant has been 

licensed in another state and can provide evidence that 

those requirements were met for licensure in the other 

state. 

18VAC90-19-120. Licensure by endorsement. 

A. A graduate of an approved nursing education program 

who has been licensed by examination in another United 

States jurisdiction and whose license is in good standing, or is 

eligible for reinstatement if lapsed, shall be eligible for 

licensure by endorsement in Virginia provided the applicant 

satisfies the same requirements for registered nurse or 

practical nurse licensure as those seeking initial licensure in 

Virginia.  

1. Applicants who have graduated from approved nursing 

education programs that did not require a sufficient number 

of clinical hours as specified in 18VAC90-27-100 may 

qualify for licensure if they can provide evidence of at least 

960 hours of clinical practice with an active, 

unencumbered license in another United States 

jurisdiction. 

2. Applicants whose basic nursing education was received 

in another country shall meet the requirements of 

18VAC90-19-130 for a CGFNS credentials review and 

examination of English proficiency. However, those 

requirements may be satisfied if the applicant can provide 

evidence from another United States jurisdiction of: 

a. A CGFNS credentials evaluation for educational 

comparability; and  

b. Passage of an English language proficiency 

examination approved by the CGFNS, unless the 

applicant met the CGFNS criteria for an exemption from 

the requirement. 

3. A graduate of a nursing school in Canada where English 

was the primary language shall be eligible for licensure by 

endorsement provided the applicant has passed the 

Canadian Registered Nurses Examination and holds an 

unrestricted license in Canada. 

B. An applicant for licensure by endorsement who has 

submitted a criminal history background check as required by 

§ 54.1-3005.1 of the Code of Virginia and the required 

application and fee and has submitted the required form to the 

appropriate credentialing agency for verification of licensure 

may practice for 30 days upon receipt of an authorization 

letter from the board. If an applicant has not received a 

Virginia license within 30 days and wishes to continue 

practice, he shall seek an extension of authorization to 

practice by submitting a request and evidence that he has 

requested verification of licensure. 

C. If the application is not completed within one year of the 

initial filing date, the applicant shall submit a new application 

and fee. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5226; Filed October 21, 2017, 11:23 a.m.  

http://www.cgfns.org/services/ces-professional-report/
https://www.ets.org/toefl/ibt/about
https://www.ielts.org/en-us
http://www.cgfns.org/services/ces-professional-report/
https://www.ets.org/toefl/institutions/scores/reporting
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BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC105-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Optometry (amending 18VAC105-20-5, 

18VAC105-20-70; adding 18VAC105-20-48, 18VAC105-

20-49).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: October 30, 2017, through April 29, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4508, FAX (804) 

527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Regulations for optometrists prescribing of controlled 

substances containing opioids are being promulgated as 

emergency regulations to address the opioid abuse crisis 

in Virginia. On November 16, 2016, State Health 

Commissioner Marissa Levine declared the opioid 

addiction crisis to be a public health emergency in 

Virginia. In a news conference about the opioid crisis, 

Governor McAuliffe noted that the declaration would 

"provide a framework for further actions to fight it, and to 

save Virginians' lives." One of those "further actions" is 

adoption of emergency regulations by the Board of 

Medicine and the Board of Nursing setting out rules for 

prescribing opioids and buprenorphine and by the Board 

of Dentistry for prescribing of opioids for acute pain. 

Although optometrists are only authorized to prescribe 

Schedule II controlled substances consisting of 

hydrocodone in combination with acetaminophen and 

Schedules III, IV, and VI controlled substances, the Board 

of Optometry has determined that it should also adopt 

emergency regulations. 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia authorizes an 

agency to adopt emergency regulations necessitated by an 

emergency situation upon consultation with the Attorney 

General, and the necessity for the action is at the sole 

discretion of the Governor. The declaration by 

Commissioner Levine is indeed evidence that such an 

emergency situation exists in the Commonwealth.  

The emergency regulations for the management of acute 

pain include requirements for (i) prescribing a dosage not 

to exceed seven days, (ii) the evaluation of the patient, and 

(iii) limitations on quantity. Requirements for prescribing 

of an opioid beyond seven days include a reevaluation of 

the patient, check of the Prescription Monitoring Program, 

and specific information in the patient record. In addition, 

if a therapeutic pharmaceutical agent-certified optometrist 

finds an opioid prescription for chronic pain is necessary, 

he must refer the patient to a physician or comply with 

Board of Medicine regulation for managing chronic pain. 

18VAC105-20-5. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Acute pain" means pain that occurs within the normal 

course of a disease or condition for which controlled 

substances may be prescribed for no more than three months. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Optometry.  

"Chronic pain" means nonmalignant pain that goes beyond 

the normal course of a disease or condition for which 

controlled substances may be prescribed for a period greater 

than three months. 

"Controlled substance" means drugs listed in The Drug 

Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) in 

Schedules II through V. 

"MME" means morphine milligram equivalent. 

"NBEO" means the National Board of Examiners in 

Optometry.  

"Prescription Monitoring Program" means the electronic 

system within the Department of Health Professions that 

monitors the dispensing of certain controlled substances. 

"TPA" means therapeutic pharmaceutical agents.  

"TPA certification" means authorization by the Virginia 

Board of Optometry for an optometrist to treat diseases and 

abnormal conditions of the human eye and its adnexa and to 

prescribe and administer certain therapeutic pharmaceutical 

agents.  

18VAC105-20-48. Prescribing an opioid for acute pain. 

A. Nonpharmacologic and non-opioid treatment for pain 

shall be given consideration prior to treatment with opioids. If 

an opioid is considered necessary for the treatment of acute 

pain, a TPA-certified optometrist shall follow the regulations 

for prescribing and treating with opioids.  

B. Prior to initiating treatment with a controlled substance 

containing an opioid for a complaint of acute pain, a TPA-

certified optometrist shall perform a health history and 

physical examination appropriate to the complaint, query the 

Prescription Monitoring Program as set forth in § 54.1-2522.1 

of the Code of Virginia, and conduct an assessment of the 

patient's history and risk of substance abuse. 

C. Initiation of opioid treatment for all patients with acute 

pain shall include the following:  

1. A prescription for an opioid shall be a short-acting 

opioid in the lowest effective dose for the fewest number 

of days, not to exceed seven days as determined by the 

manufacturer's directions for use, unless extenuating 

circumstances are clearly documented in the patient record. 
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2. A TPA-certified optometrist shall carefully consider and 

document in the patient record the reasons to exceed 50 

MME per day.  

3. A prescription for naloxone should be considered for 

any patient when any risk factor of prior overdose, 

substance misuse, or concomitant use of benzodiazepine is 

present. 

D. If another prescription for an opioid is to be written 

beyond seven days, a TPA-certified optometrist shall: 

1. Reevaluate the patient and document in the patient 

record the continued need for an opioid prescription; and 

2. Check the patient's prescription history in the 

Prescription Monitoring Program. 

E. The patient record shall include a description of the pain, 

a presumptive diagnosis for the origin of the pain, an 

examination appropriate to the complaint, a treatment plan, 

and the medication prescribed (including date, type, dosage, 

strength, and quantity prescribed). 

F. Due to a higher risk of fatal overdose when opioids are 

prescribed for a patient also taking benzodiazepines, sedative 

hypnotics, tramadol, or carisoprodol, a TPA-certified 

optometrist shall only co-prescribe these substances when 

there are extenuating circumstances and shall document in the 

patient record a tapering plan to achieve the lowest possible 

effective doses if these medications are prescribed. 

18VAC105-20-49. Prescribing an opioid for chronic pain. 

If a TPA-certified optometrist treats a patient for whom an 

opioid prescription is necessary for chronic pain, he shall 

either: 

1. Refer the patient to a doctor of medicine or osteopathic 

medicine who is a pain management specialist; or  

2. Comply with regulations of the Board of Medicine, 

18VAC85–21–60 through 18VAC85–21–120 (see 33:16 

VA.R. 1930–1931 April 3, 2017), if he chooses to manage 

the chronic pain with an opioid prescription. 

18VAC105-20-70. Requirements for continuing education. 

A. Each license renewal shall be conditioned upon 

submission of evidence to the board of 20 hours of continuing 

education taken by the applicant during the previous license 

period. A licensee who completes more than 20 hours of 

continuing education in a year shall be allowed to carry 

forward up to 10 hours of continuing education for the next 

annual renewal cycle. 

1. The 20 hours may include up to two hours of 

recordkeeping for patient care, including coding for 

diagnostic and treatment devices and procedures or the 

management of an optometry practice, provided that such 

courses are not primarily for the purpose of augmenting the 

licensee's income or promoting the sale of specific 

instruments or products.  

2. For optometrists who are certified in the use of 

therapeutic pharmaceutical agents, at least 10 of the 

required continuing education hours shall be in the areas of 

ocular and general pharmacology, diagnosis and treatment 

of the human eye and its adnexa, including treatment with 

new pharmaceutical agents, or; new or advanced clinical 

devices, techniques, modalities, or procedures; or pain 

management. 

3. At least 10 hours shall be obtained through real-time, 

interactive activities, including in-person or electronic 

presentations, provided that during the course of the 

presentation, the licensee and the lecturer may 

communicate with one another.  

4. A licensee may also include up to two hours of training 

in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR).  

5. Two hours of the 20 hours required for annual renewal 

may be satisfied through delivery of professional services, 

without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 

health services through a local health department or a free 

clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of 

those services. One hour of continuing education may be 

credited for three hours of providing such volunteer 

services, as documented by the health department or free 

clinic. 

B. Each licensee shall attest to fulfillment of continuing 

education hours on the required annual renewal form. All 

continuing education shall be completed prior to December 

31 unless an extension or waiver has been granted by the 

Continuing Education Committee. A request for an extension 

or waiver shall be received prior to December 31 of each 

year. 

C. All continuing education courses shall be offered by an 

approved sponsor or accrediting body listed in subsection G 

of this section. Courses that are not approved by a board-

recognized sponsor in advance shall not be accepted for 

continuing education credit. For those courses that have a 

post-test requirement, credit will only be given if the 

optometrist receives a passing grade as indicated on the 

certificate.  

D. Licensees shall maintain continuing education 

documentation for a period of not less than three years. A 

random audit of licensees may be conducted by the board 

which will require that the licensee provide evidence 

substantiating participation in required continuing education 

courses within 14 days of the renewal date.  

E. Documentation of hours shall clearly indicate the name of 

the continuing education provider and its affiliation with an 

approved sponsor or accrediting body as listed in subsection 

G of this section. Documents that do not have the required 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=6295
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=6295
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information shall not be accepted by the board for 

determining compliance. Correspondence courses shall be 

credited according to the date on which the post-test was 

graded as indicated on the continuing education certificate.  

F. A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing 

competency requirements for the first renewal following the 

date of initial licensure by examination in Virginia.  

G. An approved continuing education course or program, 

whether offered by correspondence, electronically, or in 

person, shall be sponsored, accredited, or approved by one of 

the following:  

1. The American Optometric Association and its 

constituent organizations.  

2. Regional optometric organizations.  

3. State optometric associations and their affiliate local 

societies.  

4. Accredited colleges and universities providing 

optometric or medical courses.  

5. The American Academy of Optometry and its affiliate 

organizations.  

6. The American Academy of Ophthalmology and its 

affiliate organizations.  

7. The Virginia Academy of Optometry.  

8. Council on Optometric Practitioner Education (COPE).  

9. State or federal governmental agencies. 

10. College of Optometrists in Vision Development.  

11. The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical 

Education of the American Medical Association for 

Category 1 credit.  

12. Providers of training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation 

(CPR).  

13. Optometric Extension Program.  

H. In order to maintain approval for continuing education 

courses, providers, or sponsors shall:  

1. Provide a certificate of attendance that shows the date, 

location, presenter or lecturer, content hours of the course, 

and contact information of the provider or sponsor for 

verification. The certificate of attendance shall be based on 

verification by the sponsor of the attendee's presence 

throughout the course, either provided by a post-test or by 

a designated monitor.  

2. Maintain documentation about the course and attendance 

for at least three years following its completion. 

I. Falsifying the attestation of compliance with continuing 

education on a renewal form or failure to comply with 

continuing education requirements may subject a licensee to 

disciplinary action by the board, consistent with § 54.1-3215 

of the Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5205; Filed October 16, 2017, 8:52 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Pharmacy is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 13 of the Code 

of Virginia, which exempts amendments to regulations of the 

board to schedule a substance in Schedule I or II pursuant to 

subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of Virginia. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-322).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3443 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 13, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments add nine compounds into Schedule I of 

the Drug Control Act as recommended by the Virginia 

Department of Forensic Science pursuant to § 54.1-3443 

of the Code of Virginia. The compounds added by this 

regulatory action will remain in effect for 18 months or 

until the compounds are placed in Schedule I by legislative 

action of the General Assembly.  

18VAC110-20-322. Placement of chemicals in Schedule I. 

A. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(dimethylamino)-1-

pentanone (other names: N,N-Dimethylpentylone, 

Dipentylone); 

2. 4-chloro-alpha-Pyrrolidinovalerophenone (other name: 

4-chloro-alpha-PVP); 

3. 4-methyl-alpha-Pyrrolidinohexiophenone (other name: 

MPHP); 

4. 4-fluoro-alpha-Pyrrolidinoheptiophenone (other name: 

4-fluoro-PV8); 

5. 1-(4-methoxyphenyl)-2-(pyrrolidin-1-yl)octan-1-one 

(other name: 4-methoxy-PV9); 
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6. 4-allyloxy-3,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (other name: 

Allylescaline); 

7. 4-methyl-alpha-ethylaminopentiophenone; and  

8. N-(4-fluorophenyl)-2-methyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-

piperidinyl]-propanamide (other name: para-

fluoroisobutyryl fentanyl). 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until August 22, 2018, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

B. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 6-ethyl-6-nor-lysergic acid diethylamide (other name: 

ETH-LAD), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 

salts, and salts of isomers, whenever the existence of such 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation; 

2. 6-allyl-6-nor-lysergic acid diethylamide (other name: 

AL-LAD), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 

salts, and salts of isomers, whenever the existence of such 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation; 

3. Synthetic opioids:  

a. N-[1-[2-hydroxy-2-(2-thienyl)ethyl]-4-piperidinyl]-N-

phenylpropanamide (other name: beta-

hydroxythiofentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, 

and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless 

specifically excepted, whenever the existence of these 

isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the 

specific chemical designation; 

b. N-(2-fluorophenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-

piperidinyl]-propanamide (other names: 2-fluorofentanyl, 

ortho-fluorofentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, 

and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless 

specifically excepted, whenever the existence of these 

isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the 

specific chemical designation; and 

c. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-2-

propenamide (other name: Acryl fentanyl), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and 

ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 

existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 

possible within the specific chemical designation; 

4. Cannabimimetic agents:  

a. 1-pentyl-N-(phenylmethyl)-1H-indole-3-carboxamide 

(other name: SDB-006), its salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation; and 

b. Quinolin-8-yl 1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indole-3-

carboxylate (other name: FUB-PB-22), its salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation; and 

5. Benzodiazepine: flubromazepam, its salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until December 13, 2018, unless enacted into law in 

the Drug Control Act. 

C. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 4-Bromo-2,5-dimethoxy-N-[(2-hydroxyphenyl)methyl]-

benzeneethanamine (25B-NBOH), its optical, position, and 

geometric isomers, salts and salts of isomers, whenever the 

existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation.  

2. Methyl N-[1-(cyclohexylmethyl)-1H-indole-3-

carbonyl]valinate (MMB-CHMICA), its salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

3. N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenyltetrahydrofuran-

2-carboxamide (Tetrahydrofuran fentanyl), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, 

unless specifically excepted, whenever the existence of 

these isomers, esters, ethers and salts is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until February 18, 2019, unless enacted into law in 

the Drug Control Act. 

D. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 5-methoxy-N,N-dimethyltryptamine (5-MeO-DMT), its 

optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

2. 5-methoxy-N-ethyl-N-isopropyltryptamine (5-MeO-

EIPT), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, 

and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

3. 4-hydroxy-N,N-diisopropyltryptamine (4-OH-DIPT), its 

optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 
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salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

4. (N-methyl aminopropyl)-2,3-dihydrobenzofuran 

(MAPDB), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 

salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

5. 3,4-tetramethylene-alpha-pyrrolidinovalerophenone 

(TH-PVP), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 

salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

6. 4-chloro-alpha-methylamino-valerophenone (4-

chloropentedrone), its optical, position, and geometric 

isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

7. Synthetic opioids: 

a. 2-methoxy-N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-

piperidinyl]-acetamide (Methoxyacetyl fentanyl), its 

isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, 

and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 

existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-

phenylcyclopropanecarboxamide (Cyclopropyl fentanyl), 

its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, 

esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever 

the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

8. Cannabimimetic agent: N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-

oxobutan-2-yl)-1-(5-fluoropentyl)indazole-3-carboxamide 

(5-fluoro-ADB-PINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until June 12, 2019, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5254; Filed October 17, 2017, 4:35 p.m.  

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC115-20. Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Professional Counseling 

(amending 18VAC115-20-105). 

18VAC115-50. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Marriage and Family Therapy (amending 18VAC115-50-

95). 

18VAC115-60. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners 

(amending 18VAC115-60-50, 18VAC115-60-115).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: December 13, 2017. 

Effective Date: December 28, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Board of Counseling the authority to promulgate regulations 

to administer the regulatory system. 

Specific authority for regulation of the profession of 

counseling is found in § 54.1-3503 of the Code of Virginia, 

which mandates that the board regulate the practice of 

counseling, substance abuse treatment, and marriage and 

family therapy; § 54.1-3506 of the Code of Virginia, which 

requires individuals who engage in the practice of counseling 

or marriage and family therapy or in the independent practice 

of substance abuse treatment to hold a license; and § 54.1-103 

of the Code of Virginia, which authorizes the board to 

promulgate regulations specifying additional training or 

conditions for individuals seeking certification or licensure, 

or for the renewal of certificates or licenses. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amendments is to open a 

pathway for those individuals who hold another mental health 

license to be licensed in substance abuse treatment if they 

have specific coursework and training in the field. With the 

crisis of substance abuse being experienced in the 

Commonwealth, a regulatory action to encourage more 

treatment providers, who can offer services as a licensee and 

supervise the services of certified or registered providers, may 

increase access to care and ultimately offer greater protection 

for the safety, health, and welfare of all citizens. 

The exemption from continuing education for newly licensed 

persons will not affect the public health and safety since their 

competency to practice has been determined by examination, 

education, and a supervised residency within the period 

immediately prior to licensure. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

amendments are permissive and less restrictive than current 

regulations. They will benefit first-time licensees and some 

applicants for licensure by endorsement for the substance 

abuse treatment professional license; therefore, they are not 

expected to be controversial. 

Substance: The amendments (i) provide that a person who 

was licensed by examination is exempt from meeting 
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continuing competency requirements for the first renewal 

following initial licensure; (ii) eliminate the requirement for 

official transcripts documenting completion of all the 

education requirements, so an applicant for licensure by 

endorsement will not need to obtain an additional master's 

degree in substance abuse; (iii) require an official transcript to 

indicate completion of a 60-hour master's degree in mental 

health and completion of 12 hours of didactic training in 

substance abuse competencies; and (iv) delete subsection B of 

18VAC115-60-50 because the credentials registry referenced 

in that subsection no longer exists. 

Issues: There are no disadvantages to the public. Less 

restrictive regulation for licensure by endorsement for the 

Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners license 

may result in more licensed providers to both deliver and 

supervise substance abuse services. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Counseling (Board) proposes to 1) eliminate 

continuing education requirements for the first renewal of a 

license issued by examination; and 2) amend the licensure by 

endorsement requirements to make it possible for persons 

who hold other behavioral health licenses to obtain a 

substance abuse treatment professional license. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Board proposes to no 

longer require continuing education for the first renewal of a 

license issued by examination. This change applies to 

licensed professional counselors, marriage and family 

therapists, and substance abuse treatment practitioners. 

Currently, affected professionals are required to complete 20 

hours of continuing education for each yearly license renewal 

cycle. The requirement could be satisfied many different 

ways including taking academic courses, continuing 

education classes, participating in workshops, seminars, 

conferences, publication of articles, books, etc. The proposed 

change will provide different types of benefits to different 

individuals. Some may benefit not having to pay fees for 

courses or classes; some may benefit from not having to 

spend the time to complete the activity required; some may 

benefit from not having to travel; some may benefit from a 

combination of all of these choices. The Board has 

determined that the exemption from continuing education for 

newly licensed persons will not affect the public health and 

safety since their competency to practice has been determined 

by examination, education and a supervised residency within 

the period immediately prior to licensure. Thus, this change is 

expected to provide a net benefit. 

The Board also proposes to delete language requiring 

transcripts documenting certain education for licensure by 

endorsement of substance abuse treatment practitioners. 

According to the Department of Health Professions (DHP), as 

written, the current requirement amounts to requiring an 

additional master's degree in substance abuse as a condition 

of licensure by endorsement. That requirement negates the 

possibility of licensure by endorsement as it requires the 

applicants to satisfy the same education requirements as those 

who are initially licensed through examination. Thus, 

removal of this language will eliminate a barrier to practicing 

in Virginia if one has satisfied the educational requirements in 

another jurisdiction. The proposed regulation would benefit 

substance abuse treatment professionals licensed in another 

state who are seeking licensure in the Commonwealth. 

Additionally, making it easier to obtain licensure may 

encourage more substance abuse professionals to come to 

Virginia to practice. This change opens a new pathway for 

those licensed in another jurisdiction who have specific 

coursework and training in the field. Therefore, it should not 

introduce risks of unqualified applicants becoming licensed in 

Virginia. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulation 

applies to licensed professional counselors, marriage and 

family therapists, and substance abuse treatment practitioners. 

DHP reports that in the first nine months of 2017, there were 

443 licenses issued. Most of those were likely first time 

licensees and will qualify for an exemption on their first 

renewal. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulation will 

not affect any particular locality more than others. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed elimination 

of continuing education during the first renewal cycle will 

reduce the demand for such services. The proposed regulation 

may also encourage substance abuse treatment professionals 

licensed in other states to come to Virginia to practice and 

increase their supply. However, the magnitude of any such 

effect is not known. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No effect 

on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed regulation does not 

directly apply to small businesses. However, if an affected 

practitioner works for a small business it may be indirectly 
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beneficial to that small business as the proposed regulation 

eliminates continuing education requirement in the first 

renewal cycle and makes it easier to obtain a substance abuse 

treatment license by endorsement. The majority of affected 

professionals are estimated to operate their practices within a 

small business. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed regulation does not introduce an adverse impact on 

small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed regulation does not have an 

adverse impact on businesses. 

Localities. The proposed regulation will not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed regulation will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Counseling concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) eliminate continuing education 

requirements for the first renewal of a license issued by 

examination for licensed professional counselors, 

marriage and family therapists, and substance abuse 

treatment practitioners; and (ii) amend the licensure by 

endorsement requirements to make it possible for persons 

who hold other behavioral health licenses to obtain a 

substance abuse treatment professional license. 

18VAC115-20-105. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of a license.  

A. Licensed professional counselors shall be required to 

have completed a minimum of 20 hours of continuing 

competency for each annual licensure renewal. A minimum 

of two of these hours shall be in courses that emphasize the 

ethics, standards of practice, or laws governing behavioral 

science professions in Virginia.  

B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing competency 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 

the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee 

of the continuing competency requirement.  

C. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing competency requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters.  

D. Those individuals dually licensed by this board will not 

be required to obtain continuing competency for each license. 

Dually licensed individuals will only be required to provide 

the hours set out in subsection A of this section, subsection A 

of 18VAC115-50-95 in the Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy, or subsection A of 

18VAC115-60-115 in the Regulations Governing the Practice 

of Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners.  

E. Up to two hours of the 20 hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through delivery of counseling 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals 

receiving health services through a local health department or 

a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery 

of those services. One hour of continuing education may be 

credited for three hours of providing such volunteer services, 

as documented by the health department or free clinic. 

F. A professional counselor who was licensed by 

examination is exempt from meeting continuing competency 

requirements for the first renewal following initial licensure. 

18VAC115-50-95. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of a license.  

A. Marriage and family therapists shall be required to have 

completed a minimum of 20 hours of continuing competency 

for each annual licensure renewal. A minimum of two of 

these hours shall be in courses that emphasize the ethics, 

standards of practice, or laws governing behavioral science 

professions in Virginia.  

B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing competency 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 

the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee 

of the continuing competency requirement.  

C. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing competency requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters.  

D. Those individuals dually licensed by this board will not 

be required to obtain continuing competency for each license. 

Dually licensed individuals will only be required to provide 

the hours set out in subsection A of this section, subsection A 

of 18VAC115-20-105 in the Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Professional Counseling, or subsection A of 

18VAC115-60-115 in the Regulations Governing the Practice 

of Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners.  

E. Up to two hours of the 20 hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through delivery of counseling 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals 

receiving health services through a local health department or 

a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery 

of those services. One hour of continuing education may be 

credited for three hours of providing such volunteer services, 

as documented by the health department or free clinic. 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 13, 2017 

640 

F. A marriage and family therapist who was licensed by 

examination is exempt from meeting continuing competency 

requirements for the first renewal following initial licensure. 

18VAC115-60-50. Prerequisites for licensure by 

endorsement.  

A. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall 

submit:  

1. A completed application;  

2. The application processing and initial licensure fee as 

prescribed in 18VAC115-60-20;  

3. Verification of all mental health or health professional 

licenses or certificates ever held in any other jurisdiction. 

In order to qualify for endorsement, the applicant shall 

have no unresolved disciplinary action against a license or 

certificate. The board will consider history of disciplinary 

action on a case-by-case basis;  

4. Further documentation of one of the following:  

a. A current substance abuse treatment license in good 

standing in another jurisdiction obtained by meeting 

requirements substantially equivalent to those set forth in 

this chapter; or  

b. A mental health license in good standing in a category 

acceptable to the board which that required completion of 

a master's degree in mental health to include 60 graduate 

semester hours in mental health as documented by an 

official transcript; and  

(1) Board-recognized national certification in substance 

abuse treatment;  

(2) If the master's degree was in substance abuse 

treatment, two years of post-licensure experience in 

providing substance abuse treatment;  

(3) If the master's degree was not in substance abuse 

treatment, five years of post-licensure experience in 

substance abuse treatment plus 12 credit hours of didactic 

training in the substance abuse treatment competencies 

set forth in 18VAC115-60-70 C as documented by an 

official transcript; or  

(4) Current substance abuse counselor certification in 

Virginia in good standing or a Virginia substance abuse 

treatment specialty licensure designation with two years 

of post-licensure or certification substance abuse 

treatment experience; or 

c. Documentation of education and supervised 

experience that met the requirements of the jurisdiction 

in which he was initially licensed as verified by an 

official transcript and a certified copy of the original 

application materials and evidence of post-licensure 

clinical practice for 24 of the last 60 months immediately 

preceding his licensure application in Virginia. Clinical 

practice shall mean the rendering of direct clinical 

substance abuse treatment services or clinical supervision 

of such services. 

5. Verification of a passing score on a substance abuse 

licensure examination as established by the jurisdiction in 

which licensure was obtained. The examination is waived 

for an applicant who holds a current and unrestricted 

license as a professional counselor within the 

Commonwealth of Virginia;  

6. Official transcripts documenting the applicant's 

completion of the education requirements prescribed in 

18VAC115-60-60 and 18VAC115-60-70;  

7. 6. An affidavit of having read and understood the 

regulations and laws governing the practice of substance 

abuse treatment in Virginia; and 

8. 7. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank 

(NPDB). 

B. In lieu of transcripts verifying education and 

documentation verifying supervised experience, the board 

may accept verification from the credentials registry of the 

American Association of State Counseling Boards or any 

other board-recognized entity.  

18VAC115-60-115. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of a license.  

A. Licensed substance abuse treatment practitioners shall be 

required to have completed a minimum of 20 hours of 

continuing competency for each annual licensure renewal. A 

minimum of two of these hours shall be in courses that 

emphasize the ethics, standard of practice, or laws governing 

behavioral science professions in Virginia.  

B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing competency 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 

the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee 

of the continuing competency requirement.  

C. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing competency requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters.  

D. Those individuals dually licensed by this board will not 

be required to obtain continuing competency for each license. 

Dually licensed individuals will only be required to provide 

the hours set out in subsection A of this section, subsection A 

of 18VAC115-50-95 in the Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy, or subsection A of 

18VAC115-20-105 in the Regulations Governing the Practice 

of Professional Counseling. 
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E. Up to two hours of the 20 hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through delivery of counseling 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals 

receiving health services through a local health department or 

a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery 

of those services. One hour of continuing education may be 

credited for three hours of providing such volunteer services, 

as documented by the health department or free clinic.  

F. A substance abuse treatment practitioner who was 

licensed by examination is exempt from meeting continuing 

competency requirements for the first renewal following 

initial licensure. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5141; Filed October 16, 2017, 10:33 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 19. PUBLIC SAFETY 

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Department of State Police will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 19VAC30-20. Motor Carrier Safety 

Regulations (amending 19VAC30-20-80).  

Statutory Authority: § 52-8.4 of the Code of Virginia; 

49 CFR Part 390. 

Effective Date: December 14, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Kirk Marlowe, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Bureau of Administrative and Support Services, Department 

of State Police, P.O. Box 27472, Richmond, VA 23261-7472, 

telephone (804) 674-4606, FAX (804) 674-2936, or email 

kirk.marlowe@vsp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment reflects the effective date of the Federal 

Motor Carrier Safety Regulations promulgated by the U.S. 

Department of Transportation, Federal Motor Carrier 

Safety Administration that are incorporated for 

compliance purposes. 

19VAC30-20-80. Compliance.  

Every person and commercial motor vehicle subject to the 

Motor Carrier Safety Regulations operating in interstate or 

intrastate commerce within or through the Commonwealth of 

Virginia shall comply with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 

Regulations promulgated by the United States Department of 

Transportation, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, 

with amendments promulgated and in effect as of January 1, 

2010 November 1, 2017, pursuant to the United States Motor 

Carrier Safety Act found in 49 CFR Parts 366, 370 through 

376, 379, 380 Subpart E, 382, 385, 386 Subpart G, 387, 390 

through 397, and 399, which are incorporated in these 

regulations by reference, with certain exceptions.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5332; Filed October 25, 2017, 9:46 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 21. SECURITIES AND RETAIL 
FRANCHISING 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 21VAC5-110. Retail Franchising Act 

Rules (amending 21VAC5-110-75).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 13.1-572 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 1, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Jude C. Richnafsky, Senior Examiner, 

Division of Securities and Retail Franchising, State 

Corporation Commission, Tyler Building, 1300 East Main 

Street, 9th Floor, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 371-9051, FAX (804) 371-9911, or email 

jude.richnafsky@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) provide an exemption for 

franchisors who offer or sell a single unit franchise in 

which the minimum initial investment is in excess of $5 

million; (ii) require the filing of a notice of claim 

exemption on Form H, a uniform consent to service of 

process, and an entity resolution, if applicable; (iii) 

require the filing of a copy of the franchise disclosure 

document on a CD-ROM in pdf format or other approved 

electronic media; and (iv) establish an initial exemption 

filing fee of $500, a renewal fee of $250, and a material 

amendment fee of $100.  
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AT RICHMOND, OCTOBER 11, 2017 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. SEC-2017-00050 

Ex Parte: In the matter of  

Adopting a Revision to the Rules 

Governing the Virginia Retail Franchising Act 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides 

that the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall 

have the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 

enforcement and administration of all laws within its 

jurisdiction. Section 13.1-572 of the Virginia Retail 

Franchising Act ("Act"), § 13.1-501 et seq. of the Code 

provides that the Commission may issue any rules and 

regulations necessary or appropriate for the administration 

and enforcement of the Act.  

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission 

pursuant to the Act are set forth in Title 21 of the Virginia 

Administrative Code. A copy also may be found at the 

Commission's website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

Proposed Revision to Chapter 110. Franchise Exemption for 

Substantial Investment in a Franchise. 

The proposed amendment to Chapter 110 provides for an 

exemption for franchisors that offer or sell a single unit 

franchise in which the actual minimum initial investment is in 

excess of $5 million. This exemption requires that the 

franchisor provide all of the substantial purchaser information 

required by the registration process but allows the franchisor 

in these large transactions the flexibility to conduct the 

extensive negotiations required without the additional layer of 

the registration process.  

The proposed rule requires a notice filing on Form H, a 

uniform consent to service of process, an entity resolution, a 

CD-Rom or other approved electronic media in PDF format 

of the franchisor's franchise disclosure document ("FDD"), 

and a $500 filing fee. A material amendment of the FDD 

requires that the franchisor file a new Form H, a new FDD 

and a filing fee of $100. The exemption must be renewed 

annually with a new Form H, the new FDD, and a filing fee 

of $250. 

The Division recommended to the Commission that the 

proposed revisions should be considered for adoption. The 

Division also has recommended to the Commission that a 

hearing should be held only if requested by those interested 

parties who specifically indicate that a hearing is necessary 

and the reasons therefore.   

A copy of the proposed revisions may be requested by 

interested parties from the Division by telephone, by regular 

mail or e-mail request and also can be found at the Division's 

website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/srf. Any comments to 

the proposed rules must be received by December 1, 2017. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed revisions are appended hereto and made a 

part of the record herein. 

(2) On or before December 1, 2017, comments or request for 

hearing on the proposed revisions must be submitted in 

writing to Joel H. Peck, Clerk, State Corporation 

Commission, c/o Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, 

Richmond, Virginia 23218. Requests for hearing shall state 

why a hearing is necessary and why the issues cannot be 

adequately addressed in written comments. All 

correspondence shall reference Case No. SEC-2017-00050. 

Interested persons desiring to submit comments electronically 

may do so by following the instructions available at the 

Commission's website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case.  

(3) The proposed revisions shall be posted on the 

Commission's website at http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case 

and on the Division's website at 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/srf. Interested persons also may 

request a copy of the proposed revisions from the Division by 

telephone, mail, or e-mail. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of the 

proposed revisions, shall be provided to the Registrar of 

Regulations for appropriate publication in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent to the Director 

of the Division of Securities and Retail Franchising who shall 

forthwith provide notice of this Order via U.S. mail or a copy 

of this Order may be sent by e-mail to any interested persons 

as he may designate. 

21VAC5-110-75. Exemptions. 

Any offer or sale of a franchise in a transaction that meets 

the requirements of this section is exempt from the 

registration requirement of § 13.1-560 of the Act. 

1. Sale or transfer by existing franchisee. The sale or 

transfer of a franchise by a franchisee who is not an 

affiliate of the franchisor for the franchisee's own 

account is exempt if: 

a. The franchisee's entire franchise is sold or transferred, 

and the sale or transfer is not effected by or through the 

franchisor.  

b. The sale or transfer is not effected by or through a 

franchisor merely because a franchisor has a right to 

approve or disapprove the sale or transfer or requires 

payment of a reasonable transfer fee. 

2. Renewal or extension of existing franchise. The offer or 

sale of a franchise involving a renewal or extension of an 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 13, 2017 

643 

existing franchise where there is no interruption in the 

operation of the franchised business, and there is no 

material change in the franchise relationship, is exempt. 

For purposes of this subdivision, an interruption in the 

franchised business solely for the purpose of renovating or 

relocating that business is not a material change in the 

franchise relationship or an interruption in the operation of 

the franchised business.  

3. Offers and sales to existing franchisees. The offer or sale 

of an additional franchise to an existing franchisee of the 

franchisor for the franchisee's own account is exempt if the 

franchise being sold is substantially the same as the 

franchise that the franchisee has operated for at least two 

years at the time of the offer or sale of the franchise, 

provided the prior sale to the franchisee was pursuant to a 

franchise offering that was registered or exempt pursuant 

to the requirements of the Act. 

4. Seasoned franchisor. 

a. The offer or sale of a franchise by a franchisor is 

exempt if: 

(1) The franchisor has a net equity, according to its most 

recently audited financial statements, of not less than 

$15,000,000 $15 million on a consolidated basis, or 

$1,000,000 $1 million on an unaudited basis and is at 

least 80% owned by a corporation or entity that has a net 

equity, on a consolidated basis, according to its most 

recently audited financial statements, of not less than 

$15,000,000 $15 million, and the 80% owner guarantees 

the performance of the franchisor's obligations;  

(2) The auditor's report accompanying the audited 

financial statements described in subdivision 4 a (1) of 

this section does not contain an explanatory paragraph 

expressing doubt as to the entity's ability to continue as a 

going concern; and 

(3) The franchisor or any 80% owner of the franchisor or 

the franchisor's predecessor, or any combination thereof, 

has had at least 25 franchisees conducting substantially 

the same franchise business to be offered or sold for the 

entire five-year period immediately preceding the offer 

or sale;  

b. The exemption set forth in this subdivision 4 of this 

section may be claimed only if the franchisor: 

(1) Files a Form H Notice of Claim of Exemption and 

other material as set forth in subdivision 7 8 of this 

section no later than 10 business days before the offer or 

sale of any franchise; and 

(2) Submits financial statements demonstrating 

compliance with the conditions set forth in subdivision 

4 a (1) of this section. 

c. An initial exemption filing and any renewal filing shall 

expire after a period of one year. The franchisor shall file 

for a renewal by making an exemption filing if it intends 

to offer or sell franchises for any additional period 

annually, at least 10 business days before the expiration 

of the previously filed Notice of Claim of Exemption. 

5. Institutional franchisee. 

a. The offer or sale of a franchise to a bank, savings 

bank, savings and loan association, trust company, 

insurance company, investment company, or other 

financial institution, or to a broker-dealer is exempt when 

the:  

(1) Purchaser is acting for itself or in a fiduciary 

capacity; and  

(2) Franchise is not being purchased for the purpose of 

resale to an individual not exempt under this regulation.  

b. The exemption set forth in subdivision 5 a of this 

section may be claimed only if the franchisor files an 

initial filing Form H, Notice of Claim of Exemption, and 

other material as set forth in subdivision 7 8 a of this 

section, at least 10 business days before each offer or sale 

of each franchise.  

6. Substantial investment. 

a. The offer or sale of a franchise by a franchisor is 

exempt if:  

(1) The offer or sale is of a single unit franchise in which 

the actual minimum initial investment is in excess of $5 

million;  

(2) The prospective franchisee is represented by legal 

counsel in the transaction; and  

(3) The franchisor reasonably believes immediately 

before making the offer or sale that the prospective 

franchisee, either alone or with the prospective 

franchisee's representative, has sufficient knowledge and 

experience in the type of business operated under the 

franchise such that the prospective franchisee is capable 

of evaluating the merits and risks of the prospective 

franchise investment.  

b. The exemption set forth in subdivision 6 a of this 

section may be claimed only if the franchisor:  

(1) Files a Form H, Notice of Claim of Exemption, and 

other materials as set forth in subdivision 8 of this section 

no later than 10 business days before the offer or sale of 

any franchise; and 

(2) Obtains from the prospective franchisee a signed 

certification verifying the grounds for the exemption. 
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c. The exemption set forth in subdivision 6 a of this 

section applies only to the registration provisions, and 

not the disclosure provisions, of the Act. 

d. An initial exemption filing and any renewal filing shall 

expire after a period of one year. The franchisor shall file 

for a renewal by making an exemption filing if it intends 

to offer or sell franchises for any additional period 

annually at least 10 business days before the expiration 

of the previously filed Form H, Notice of Claim of 

Exemption. 

6. 7. Disclosure requirements.  

a. If a franchisor relies upon any of the exemptions set 

forth in subdivision 3, 4 or, 5, or 6 of this section, the 

franchisor shall provide a disclosure document 

complying with 21VAC5-110-55 and 21VAC5-110-95 

together with all proposed agreements relating to the sale 

of the franchise to a prospective franchisee 14 calendar 

days before the signing of the agreement or the payment 

of any consideration.  

b. Franchisors filing a claim of exemption under 

subdivisions 4 or 5 of this section shall include a self-

addressed stamped envelope by which the commission 

may return to the franchisor a confirmation of receipt of 

the filing and the exemption file number assigned. 

Correspondence shall refer to the assigned file number in 

all subsequent related filings and correspondence with 

the commission. 

7. 8. Filing requirements for exemptions set forth in 

subdivisions 4 and, 5, and 6 of this section. 

a. Initial exemption filing. 

(1) The initial exemption period shall expire after a 

period of one year. 

(2) Franchisor The franchisor files an application for 

exemption of a franchise by filing with the commission 

no later than 10 business days before the offer or sale of 

any franchise, the following completed forms and other 

material:  

(a) Notice of Claim of Exemption, Form H;  

(b) Uniform Consent to Service of Process, Form C; 

(c) If the applicant is a corporation or partnership, an 

authorizing resolution is required if the application is 

verified by a person other than applicant's officer or 

general partner;  

(d) Franchise Disclosure Document on a CD-ROM in 

PDF format or on other electronic media approved by the 

Division of Securities and Retail Franchising; 

(e) Files an An undertaking by which it agrees to supply 

any additional information the commission may 

reasonably request; and 

(f) Application fee of $500 (payable to the Treasurer of 

Virginia). 

b. Amendment to exemption filing. 

(1) Upon the occurrence of a material change, the 

franchisor shall amend the effective exemption filed at 

the commission.  

(2) An application to amend a franchise exemption is 

made by submitting the following completed forms and 

other material: 

(a) Notice of Claim of Exemption, Form H;  

(b) One clean copy of the amended Franchise Disclosure 

Document on a CD-ROM in PDF format or on other 

electronic media approved by the Division of Securities 

and Retail Franchising; and  

(c) Application fee of $100 (payable to the Treasurer of 

Virginia). 

c. Renewal exemption filing. 

(1) A franchise exemption expires at midnight on the 

annual exemption effective date. An application to renew 

the franchise exemption shall be filed 10 days prior to the 

expiration date in order to prevent a lapse of exemption 

under the Act.  

(2) An application for renewal of a franchise exemption 

is made by submitting the following completed forms 

and other material:  

(a) Notice of Claim of Exemption, Form H;  

(b) One clean copy of the Franchise Disclosure 

Document on a CD-ROM in PDF format or on other 

electronic media approved by the Division of Securities 

and Retail Franchising; and  

(c) Application fee of $250 (payable to the Treasurer of 

Virginia). 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (21VAC5-110)  

FORM A, Uniform Franchise Registration Application (rev. 

7/08). 

FORM B, Franchisor's Costs and Sources of Funds (rev. 

7/08). 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1c692003077~3&typ=40&actno=003077&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1c692003077~3&typ=40&actno=003077&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=20d6f003077~4&typ=40&actno=003077&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=20d6f003077~4&typ=40&actno=003077&mime=application/pdf
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FORM C, Uniform Consent to Service of Process (rev. 

7/08). 

FORM E, Affidavit of Compliance -- Franchise 

Amendment/Renewal (rev. 7/08). 

FORM F, Guarantee of Performance (rev. 3/13). 

FORM G, Franchisor's Surety Bond (rev. 7/99). 

FORM H, Notice of Claim of Exemption (rev. 7/08). 

FORM H, Notice of Claim of Exemption (undated, filed 

10/2017) 

FORM K, Escrow Agreement (eff. 7/07). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5246; Filed October 12, 2017, 2:17 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 22VAC40-72. Standards for Licensed 

Assisted Living Facilities (repealing 22VAC40-72-10 

through 22VAC40-72-1160). 

22VAC40-73. Standards for Licensed Assisted Living 

Facilities (adding 22VAC40-73-10 through 22VAC40-73-

1180).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217, 63.2-1732, 63.2-1802, 

63.2-1805, and 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Judith McGreal, Licensing Program 

Consultant, Division of Licensing Programs, Department of 

Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 663-5535, FAX (804) 819-7093, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email judith.mcgreal@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action repeals the existing regulation, 

22VAC40-72, and establishes a comprehensive new 

regulation, 22VAC40-73, for licensed assisted living 

facilities. The comprehensive new regulation is intended to 

improve clarity, incorporate improvements in the language 

and reflect current federal and state law, relieve intrusive 

and burdensome requirements that are not necessary, 

provide greater protection for residents in care, and reflect 

current standards of care.  

Major components of the new regulation include 

requirements regarding (i) general provisions; (ii) 

administration and administrative services and personnel; 

(iii) staffing and supervision; (iv) admission, retention, and 

discharge of residents; (v) resident care and related 

services; (vi) resident accommodations and related 

provisions; (vii) buildings and grounds; (viii) emergency 

preparedness; and (ix) additional requirements for 

facilities that care for adults with serious cognitive 

impairments who cannot recognize danger or protect their 

own safety and welfare.  

New substantive provisions include: 

22VAC40-73-90 – Adds licensee to persons who may not 

act as attorney-in-fact or trustee unless a resident has no 

other preferred designee and so requests. 

22VAC40-73-100 – Provides for the development and 

implementation of an enhanced infection control program 

that addresses the surveillance, prevention, and control of 

disease and infection. 

22VAC40-73-160 – Adds to administrator training 

requirements that administrators who supervise 

medication aides, but are not registered medication aides 

themselves, must have annual training in medication 

administration. 

22VAC40-73-170 - Adds that an unlicensed shared 

administrator for smaller residential living care facilities 

must be at each facility for six hours during the day shift of 

the 10 required hours a week. 

22VAC40-73-210 – Increases the annual training hours for 

direct care staff. 

22VAC40-73-220 – Adds requirements regarding private 

duty personnel. 

22VAC40-73-260 – Adds a requirement that at least one 

person with first aid certification and at least one person 

with cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification must be 

in each building, rather than on the premises. 

22VAC40-73-280 – Changes an exception (allowing staff 

to sleep at night under certain circumstances) to one of the 

staffing requirements to limit its application to facilities 

licensed for residential living care only. 

22VAC40-73-310 – Adds to admission and retention 

requirements, additional specifications regarding an 

agreement between a facility and hospice program when 

hospice care is provided to a resident. 

22VAC40-73-325 – Adds a requirement for a fall risk 

rating for residents who meet the criteria for assisted 

living care. 

22VAC40-73-380 – Adds that mental health, behavioral, 

and substance abuse issues are included in personal and 

social information for all residents, not just those meeting 

criteria for assisted living care. 

22VAC40-73-450 – Adds a requirement that staff who 

complete individualized service plans (ISPs) must complete 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96be2003077~5&typ=40&actno=003077&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96be2003077~5&typ=40&actno=003077&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4ef26003077~6&typ=40&actno=003077&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4ef26003077~6&typ=40&actno=003077&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ee17d003077~2&typ=40&actno=003077&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=08a20003077~7&typ=40&actno=003077&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2841f005246~1H.pdf&typ=40&actno=005246&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2841f005246~1H.pdf&typ=40&actno=005246&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=461a3003077~9&typ=40&actno=003077&mime=application/pdf
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uniform assessment instrument training as a prerequisite 

to completing ISP training. 

22VAC40-73-490 – Reduces the number of times annually 

required for health care oversight when a facility employs 

a full-time licensed health care professional; adds a 

requirement that all residents be included annually in the 

health care oversight; adds to the oversight the evaluation 

of the ability of residents who self-administer medications 

to continue to safely do so; and adds additional 

requirements for oversight of restrained residents. 

22VAC40-73-540 – Specifies that visiting hours may not be 

restricted unless a resident so chooses. 

22VAC40-73-590 – Adds a requirement that snacks be 

available at all times, rather than bedtime and between 

meals. 

22VAC40-73-620 – Reduces the number of times annually 

for oversight of special diets. 

22VAC40-73-680 – Adds an allowance for a master list of 

staff who administer medications to be used in lieu of 

documentation on individual medication administration 

records. 

22VAC40-73-710 – Adds a prohibition of additional types 

of restraints and adds review and revision of 

individualized service plan following application of 

emergency restraints. 

22VAC40-73-750 – Adds a provision that a resident may 

determine not to have certain furnishings that are 

otherwise required in his bedroom. 

22VAC40-73-880 – Adds to the standard that in a bedroom 

with a thermostat where only one resident resides, the 

resident may choose a temperature other than what is 

otherwise required. 

22VAC40-73-900 – Adds that when there is a new facility 

licensee, there can be no more than two residents residing 

in a bedroom. 

22VAC40-73-930 – Adds to the provision for signaling/call 

systems that for a resident with an inability to use the 

signaling device, this must be included on his 

individualized service plan with frequency of rounds 

indicated, with a minimum of rounds every two hours when 

the resident has gone to bed at night, and with an 

exception permitted under specific circumstances. 

22VAC40-73-950 – Specifies that review of emergency 

plan with staff, residents, and volunteers is semi-annual, 

rather than quarterly. 

22VAC40-73-980 – Adds a requirement for first aid kit in 

each building, rather than at the facility; eliminates 

activated charcoal; and adds requirement that 48 hours of 

emergency food and water supply be on-site and can be 

rotating stock. 

22VAC40-73-990 – Specifies that participation in resident 

emergency practice exercise every six months is required 

of staff currently on duty, rather than all staff, and adds 

review of resident emergency procedures every six months 

with all staff. 

22VAC40-73-1010 – Removes the exception (for facilities 

licensed for 10 or fewer with no more than three with 

serious cognitive impairment) that applied to all 

requirements for mixed population. 

22VAC40-73-1030 – Increases the training required in 

cognitive impairment for direct care staff, and except for 

administrator, other staff. 

22VAC40-73-1120 – Increases the number of hours per 

week of activities for residents in a safe, secure 

environment. 

22VAC40-73-1130 – Adds a requirement that when there 

are 20 or fewer residents present in a special care unit, 

there must be at least two direct care staff members awake 

and on duty in the unit, and for every additional 10 

residents, or portion thereof, there must be at least one 

more direct care staff member awake and on duty in the 

unit, rather than two direct care staff in each unit. 

22VAC40-73-1140 - Increases the number of hours of 

training in cognitive impairment for the administrator and 

changes the time period in which the training must be 

received for both the administrator and for direct care 

staff who work in a special care unit, also increases 

training in cognitive impairment for others who have 

contact with residents in a special care unit.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 73 

STANDARDS FOR LICENSED ASSISTED LIVING 

FACILITIES 

Part I 

General Provisions 

22VAC40-73-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means bathing, 

dressing, toileting, transferring, bowel control, bladder 

control, and [ eating or feeding eating/feeding ]. A person's 

degree of independence in performing these activities is a part 

of determining appropriate level of care and services. 
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"Administer medication" means to open a container of 

medicine or to remove the ordered dosage and to give it to the 

resident for whom it is ordered. 

"Administrator" means the licensee or a person designated 

by the licensee who is responsible for the general 

administration and management of an assisted living facility 

and who oversees the day-to-day operation of the facility, 

including compliance with all regulations for licensed 

assisted living facilities. 

"Admission" means the date a person actually becomes a 

resident of the assisted living facility and is physically present 

at the facility. 

"Advance directive" means, as defined in § 54.1-2982 of the 

Code of Virginia, (i) a witnessed written document, 

voluntarily executed by the declarant in accordance with the 

requirements of § 54.1-2983 of the Code of Virginia or (ii) a 

witnessed oral statement, made by the declarant subsequent to 

the time he is diagnosed as suffering from a terminal 

condition and in accordance with the provisions of § 54.1-

2983 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Ambulatory" means the condition of a resident who is 

physically and mentally capable of self-preservation by 

evacuating in response to an emergency to a refuge area as 

defined by 13VAC5-63, the Virginia Uniform Statewide 

Building Code, without the assistance of another person, or 

from the structure itself without the assistance of another 

person if there is no such refuge area within the structure, 

even if such resident may require the assistance of a 

wheelchair, walker, cane, prosthetic device, or a single verbal 

command to evacuate. 

"Assisted living care" means a level of service provided by 

an assisted living facility for adults who may have physical or 

mental impairments and require at least moderate assistance 

with the activities of daily living. [ Included in this level of 

service are individuals who are dependent in behavior pattern 

(i.e., abusive, aggressive, disruptive) as documented on the 

uniform assessment instrument. ]  

"Assisted living facility" means, as defined in § 63.2-100 of 

the Code of Virginia, any congregate residential setting that 

provides or coordinates personal and health care services, 24-

hour supervision, and assistance (scheduled and unscheduled) 

for the maintenance or care of four or more adults who are 

aged, infirm, or disabled and who are cared for in a primarily 

residential setting, except (i) a facility or portion of a facility 

licensed by the State Board of Health or the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, but including 

any portion of such facility not so licensed; (ii) the home or 

residence of an individual who cares for or maintains only 

persons related to him by blood or marriage; (iii) a facility or 

portion of a facility serving infirm or disabled persons 

between the ages of 18 and 21 years, or 22 years if enrolled in 

an educational program for the handicapped pursuant to 

§ 22.1-214 of the Code of Virginia, when such facility is 

licensed by the department as a children's residential facility 

under Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the 

Code of Virginia, but including any portion of the facility not 

so licensed; and (iv) any housing project for persons 62 years 

of age or older or the disabled that provides no more than 

basic coordination of care services and is funded by the U.S. 

Department of Housing and Urban Development, by the U.S. 

Department of Agriculture, or by the Virginia Housing 

Development Authority. Included in this definition are any 

two or more places, establishments, or institutions owned or 

operated by a single entity and providing maintenance or care 

to a combined total of four or more aged, infirm, or disabled 

adults. Maintenance or care means the protection, general 

supervision, and oversight of the physical and mental well-

being of an aged, infirm, or disabled individual.  

"Attorney-in-fact" means strictly, one who is designated to 

transact business for another: a legal agent. 

"Behavioral health authority" means the organization, 

appointed by and accountable to the governing body of the 

city or county that established it, that provides mental health, 

developmental, and substance abuse services through its own 

staff or through contracts with other organizations and 

providers. 

"Building" means a structure with exterior walls under one 

roof. 

"Cardiopulmonary resuscitation" or "CPR" means an 

emergency procedure consisting of external cardiac massage 

and artificial respiration; the first treatment for a person who 

has collapsed, has no pulse, and has stopped breathing; and 

attempts to restore circulation of the blood and prevent death 

or brain damage due to lack of oxygen.  

"Case management" means multiple functions designed to 

link clients to appropriate services. Case management may 

include a variety of common components such as initial 

screening of needs, comprehensive assessment of needs, 

development and implementation of a plan of care, service 

monitoring, and client follow-up. 

"Case manager" means an employee of a public human 

services agency who is qualified and designated to develop 

and coordinate plans of care. 

"Chapter" or "this chapter" means these regulations, that is, 

Standards for Licensed Assisted Living Facilities, 22VAC40-

73, unless noted otherwise. 

"Chemical restraint" means a psychopharmacologic drug 

that is used for discipline or convenience and not required to 

treat the resident's medical symptoms or symptoms from 

mental illness or intellectual disability and that prohibits [ an 

individual the resident ] from reaching his highest level of 

functioning. 
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"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department, 

his designee, or authorized representative. 

"Community services board" or "CSB" means a public body 

established pursuant to § 37.2-501 of the Code of Virginia 

that provides mental health, developmental, and substance 

abuse programs and services within the political subdivision 

or political subdivisions participating on the board. 

"Companion services" means assistance provided to 

residents in such areas as transportation, meal preparation, 

shopping, light housekeeping, companionship, and household 

management.  

"Conservator" means a person appointed by the court who is 

responsible for managing the estate and financial affairs of an 

incapacitated person and, where the context plainly indicates, 

includes a "limited conservator" or a "temporary 

conservator." The term includes (i) a local or regional 

program designated by the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services as a public conservator pursuant to 

Article 6 (§ 51.5-149 et seq.) of Chapter 14 of Title 51.5 of 

the Code of Virginia or (ii) any local or regional tax-exempt 

charitable organization established pursuant to § 501(c)(3) of 

the Internal Revenue Code to provide conservatorial services 

to incapacitated persons. Such tax-exempt charitable 

organization shall not be a provider of direct services to the 

incapacitated person. If a tax-exempt charitable organization 

has been designated by the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services as a public conservator, it may also 

serve as a conservator for other individuals. 

"Continuous licensed nursing care" means around-the-clock 

observation, assessment, monitoring, supervision, or 

provision of medical treatments provided by a licensed nurse. 

[ Residents Individuals ] requiring continuous licensed 

nursing care may include: 

1. Individuals who have a medical instability due to 

complexities created by multiple, interrelated medical 

conditions; or 

2. Individuals with a health care condition with a high 

potential for medical instability. 

"Days" means calendar days unless noted otherwise. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services. 

"Department's representative" means an employee or 

designee of the Virginia Department of Social Services, 

acting as an authorized agent of the Commissioner of Social 

Services. 

"Dietary supplement" means a product intended for 

ingestion that supplements the diet, is labeled as a dietary 

supplement, is not represented as a sole item of a meal or diet, 

and contains a dietary ingredient, [ (i.e. (e.g. ], vitamins, 

minerals, amino acid, herbs or other botanicals, dietary 

substances (such as enzymes), and concentrates, metabolites, 

constituents, extracts, or combinations of the preceding types 

of ingredients). Dietary supplements may be found in many 

forms, such as tablets, capsules, liquids, or bars. 

"Direct care staff" means supervisors, assistants, aides, or 

other staff of a facility who assist residents in the 

performance of personal care or daily living activities. 

[ Examples are likely to include nursing staff, activity staff, 

geriatric or personal care assistants, medication aides, and 

mental health workers but are not likely to include waiters, 

chauffeurs, cooks, and dedicated housekeeping, maintenance, 

and laundry personnel. ]  

"Discharge" means the movement of a resident out of the 

assisted living facility. 

[ "Electronic" means relating to technology having 

electrical, digital, magnetic, wireless, optical, 

electromagnetic, or similar capabilities. ]  

"Electronic record" means a record created, generated, sent, 

communicated, received, or stored by electronic means. 

"Electronic signature" means an electronic sound, symbol, 

or process attached to or logically associated with a record 

and executed or adopted by a person with the intent to sign 

the record. 

"Emergency placement" means the temporary status of an 

individual in an assisted living facility when the person's 

health and safety would be jeopardized by denying entry into 

the facility until the requirements for admission have been 

met. 

"Emergency restraint" means a [ situation that may require 

the use of a restraint where restraint used when ] the resident's 

behavior is unmanageable to the degree an immediate and 

serious danger is presented to the health and safety of the 

resident or others. 

"General supervision and oversight" means assuming 

responsibility for the well-being of residents, either directly or 

through contracted agents. 

"Guardian" means a person appointed by the court who is 

responsible for the personal affairs of an incapacitated person, 

including responsibility for making decisions regarding the 

person's support, care, health, safety, habilitation, education, 

therapeutic treatment, and, if not inconsistent with an order of 

involuntary admission, residence. Where the context plainly 

indicates, the term includes a "limited guardian" or a 

"temporary guardian." The term includes (i) a local or 

regional program designated by the Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services as a public guardian pursuant to 

Article 6 (§ 51.5-149 et seq.) of Chapter 14 of Title 51.5 of 

the Code of Virginia or (ii) any local or regional tax-exempt 

charitable organization established pursuant to § 501(c)(3) of 

the Internal Revenue Code to provide guardian services to 

incapacitated persons. Such tax-exempt charitable 
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organization shall not be a provider of direct services to the 

incapacitated person. If a tax-exempt charitable organization 

has been designated by the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services as a public guardian, it may also serve 

as a guardian for other individuals.  

"Habilitative service" means activities to advance a normal 

sequence of motor skills, movement, and self-care abilities or 

to prevent avoidable additional deformity or dysfunction. 

"Health care provider" means a person, corporation, facility, 

or institution licensed by this Commonwealth to provide 

health care or professional services, including [ but not 

limited to ] a physician or hospital, dentist, pharmacist, 

registered or licensed practical nurse, optometrist, podiatrist, 

chiropractor, physical therapist, physical therapy assistant, 

clinical psychologist, or health maintenance organization. 

"Household member" means any person domiciled in an 

assisted living facility other than residents or staff. 

"Imminent physical threat or danger" means clear and 

present risk of sustaining or inflicting serious or life 

threatening injuries. 

"Independent clinical psychologist" means a clinical 

psychologist who is chosen by the resident of the assisted 

living facility and who has no financial interest in the assisted 

living facility, directly or indirectly, as an owner, officer, or 

employee or as an independent contractor with the facility. 

"Independent living status" means that the resident is 

assessed as capable of performing all activities of daily living 

and instrumental activities of daily living for himself without 

requiring the assistance of another person and is assessed as 

capable of taking medications without the assistance of 

another person. If the policy of a facility dictates that 

medications are administered or distributed centrally without 

regard for the residents' capacity, this policy shall not be 

considered in determining independent status. 

"Independent physician" means a physician who is chosen 

by the resident of the assisted living facility and who has no 

financial interest in the assisted living facility, directly or 

indirectly, as an owner, officer, or employee or as an 

independent contractor with the facility.  

"Individualized service plan" or "ISP" means the written 

description of actions to be taken by the licensee, including 

coordination with other services providers, to meet the 

assessed needs of the resident. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 

meal preparation, housekeeping, laundry, and managing 

money. A person's degree of independence in performing 

these activities is a part of determining appropriate level of 

care and services. 

"Intellectual disability" means disability, originating before 

the age of 18 years, characterized concurrently by (i) 

significantly subaverage intellectual functioning as 

demonstrated by performance on a standardized measure of 

intellectual functioning, administered in conformity with 

accepted professional practice, that is at least two standard 

deviations below the mean and (ii) significant limitations in 

adaptive behavior as expressed in conceptual, social, and 

practical adaptive skills. 

"Intermittent intravenous therapy" means therapy provided 

by a licensed health care professional at medically predictable 

intervals for a limited period of time on a daily or periodic 

basis. 

"Legal representative" means a person legally responsible 

for representing or standing in the place of the resident for the 

conduct of his affairs. This may include a guardian, 

conservator, attorney-in-fact under durable power of attorney 

("durable power of attorney" defines the type of legal 

instrument used to name the attorney-in-fact and does not 

change the meaning of attorney-in-fact), trustee, or other 

person expressly named by a court of competent jurisdiction 

or the resident as his agent in a legal document that specifies 

the scope of the representative's authority to act. A legal 

representative may only represent or stand in the place of a 

resident for the function or functions for which he has legal 

authority to act. A resident is presumed competent and is 

responsible for making all health care, personal care, 

financial, and other personal decisions that affect his life 

unless a representative with legal authority has been 

appointed by a court of competent jurisdiction or has been 

appointed by the resident in a properly executed and signed 

document. A resident may have different legal representatives 

for different functions. For any given standard, the term 

"legal representative" applies solely to the legal representative 

with the authority to act in regard to the function or functions 

relevant to that particular standard.  

"Licensed health care professional" means any health care 

professional currently licensed by the Commonwealth of 

Virginia to practice within the scope of his profession, such 

as a nurse practitioner, registered nurse, licensed practical 

nurse (nurses may be licensed or hold multistate licensure 

pursuant to § 54.1-3000 of the Code of Virginia), clinical 

social worker, dentist, occupational therapist, pharmacist, 

physical therapist, physician, physician assistant, 

psychologist, and speech-language pathologist. 

Responsibilities of physicians referenced in this chapter may 

be implemented by nurse practitioners or physician assistants 

in accordance with their protocols or practice agreements 

with their supervising physicians and in accordance with the 

law. 

"Licensee" means any person, association, partnership, 

corporation, company, or public agency to whom the license 

is issued. 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 13, 2017 

650 

"Manager" means a designated person who serves as a 

manager pursuant to 22VAC40-73-170 and 22VAC40-73-

180. 

"Mandated reporter" means persons specified in § 63.2-1606 

of the Code of Virginia who are required to report matters 

giving reason to suspect abuse, neglect, or exploitation of an 

adult. 

"Maximum physical assistance" means that an individual 

has a rating of total dependence in four or more of the seven 

activities of daily living as documented on the uniform 

assessment instrument. An individual who can participate in 

any way with performance of the activity is not considered to 

be totally dependent. 

[ "Medical/orthopedic restraint" means the use of a medical 

or orthopedic support device that has the effect of restricting 

the resident's freedom of movement or access to his body for 

the purpose of improving the resident's stability, physical 

functioning, or mobility. ]  

"Medication aide" means a staff person who has current 

registration with the Virginia Board of Nursing to administer 

drugs that would otherwise be self-administered to residents 

in an assisted living facility in accordance with the 

Regulations Governing the Registration of Medication Aides 

(18VAC90-60). This definition also includes a staff person 

who is an applicant for registration as a medication aide in 

accordance with subdivision 2 of 22VAC40-73-670. 

"Mental illness" means a disorder of thought, mood, 

emotion, perception, or orientation that significantly impairs 

judgment, behavior, capacity to recognize reality, or ability to 

address basic life necessities and requires care and treatment 

for the health, safety, or recovery of the individual or for the 

safety of others. 

"Mental impairment" means a disability that reduces an 

individual's ability to reason logically, make 

appropriate decisions, or engage in purposeful behavior. 

"Minimal assistance" means dependency in only one activity 

of daily living or dependency in one or more of the 

instrumental activities of daily living as documented on the 

uniform assessment instrument. 

"Moderate assistance" means dependency in two or more of 

the activities of daily living as documented on the uniform 

assessment instrument. 

"Nonambulatory" means the condition of a resident who by 

reason of physical or mental impairment is not capable of 

self-preservation without the assistance of another person. 

"Nonemergency restraint" means [ circumstances that may 

require the use of ] a restraint [ used ] for the purpose of 

providing support to a physically weakened resident. 

"Physical impairment" means a condition of a bodily or 

sensory nature that reduces an individual's ability to function 

or to perform activities. 

"Physical restraint" means any manual method or physical 

or mechanical device, material, or equipment attached or 

adjacent to the resident's body that the resident cannot remove 

easily, which restricts freedom of movement or access to his 

body. 

"Physician" means an individual licensed to practice 

medicine or osteopathic medicine in any of the 50 states or 

the District of Columbia. 

[ "Premises" means a building or buildings, under one 

license, together with the land or grounds on which located. ]  

"Prescriber" means a practitioner who is authorized pursuant 

to §§ 54.1-3303 and 54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia to 

issue a prescription. 

"Private duty personnel" means an individual hired, either 

directly or through a licensed home care organization, by a 

resident, family member, legal representative, or similar 

entity to provide one-on-one services to the resident, such as a 

private duty nurse, home attendant, personal aide, or 

companion. Private duty personnel are not hired by the 

facility, either directly or through a contract.  

"Private pay" means that a resident of an assisted living 

facility is not eligible for [ benefits under the Auxiliary 

Grants Program an auxiliary grant ]. 

"Psychopharmacologic drug" means any drug prescribed or 

administered with the intent of controlling mood, mental 

status, or behavior. Psychopharmacologic drugs include not 

only the obvious drug classes, such as antipsychotic, 

antidepressants, and the antianxiety/hypnotic class, but any 

drug that is prescribed or administered with the intent of 

controlling mood, mental status, or behavior, regardless of the 

manner in which it is marketed by the manufacturers and 

regardless of labeling or other approvals by the U.S. Food and 

Drug Administration. 

"Public pay" means that a resident of an assisted living 

facility is eligible for [ benefits under the Auxiliary Grants 

Program an auxiliary grant ]. 

"Qualified" means having appropriate training and 

experience commensurate with assigned responsibilities, or if 

referring to a professional, possessing an appropriate degree 

or having documented equivalent education, training, or 

experience. There are specific definitions for "qualified 

assessor" and "qualified mental health professional" in this 

section.  

"Qualified assessor" means an individual who is authorized 

to perform an assessment, reassessment, or change in level of 

care for an applicant to or resident of an assisted living 

facility. For public pay individuals, a qualified assessor is an 
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employee of a public human services agency trained in the 

completion of the uniform assessment instrument (UAI). For 

private pay individuals, a qualified assessor is an employee of 

the assisted living facility trained in the completion of the 

UAI or an independent private physician or a qualified 

assessor for public pay individuals. 

"Qualified mental health professional" means a behavioral 

health professional who is trained and experienced in 

providing psychiatric or mental health services to individuals 

who have a psychiatric diagnosis, including (i) a physician 

licensed in Virginia; (ii) a psychologist: an individual with a 

master's degree in psychology from a college or university 

accredited by an association recognized by the U.S. Secretary 

of Education, with at least one year of clinical experience; 

(iii) a social worker: an individual with at least a master's 

degree in human services or related field (e.g., social work, 

psychology, psychiatric rehabilitation, sociology, counseling, 

vocational rehabilitation, or human services counseling) from 

college or university accredited by an association recognized 

by the U.S. Secretary of Education, with at least one year of 

clinical experience providing direct services to persons with a 

diagnosis of mental illness; (iv) a registered psychiatric 

rehabilitation provider (RPRP) registered with the 

International Association of Psychosocial Rehabilitation 

Services (IAPSRS); (v) a clinical nurse specialist or 

psychiatric nurse practitioner licensed in the Commonwealth 

of Virginia with at least one year of clinical experience 

working in a mental health treatment facility or agency; (vi) 

any other licensed mental health professional; or (vii) any 

other person deemed by the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services as having qualifications 

equivalent to those described in this definition. Any 

unlicensed person who meets the requirements contained in 

this definition shall either be under the supervision of a 

licensed mental health professional or employed by an agency 

or organization licensed by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services. 

"Rehabilitative services" means activities that are ordered by 

a physician or other qualified health care professional that are 

provided by a rehabilitative therapist (e.g., physical therapist, 

occupational therapist, or speech-language pathologist). 

These activities may be necessary when a resident has 

demonstrated a change in his capabilities and are provided to 

restore or improve his level of functioning. 

"Resident" means any adult residing in an assisted living 

facility for the purpose of receiving maintenance or care. 

[ The definition of resident also includes adults residing in an 

assisted living facility who have independent living status. 

Adults present in an assisted living facility for part of the day 

for the purpose of receiving day care services are also 

considered residents. ]  

"Residential living care" means a level of service provided 

by an assisted living facility for adults who may have 

physical or mental impairments and require only minimal 

assistance with the activities of daily living. Included in this 

level of service are individuals who are dependent in 

medication administration as documented on the uniform 

assessment instrument, although they may not require 

minimal assistance with the activities of daily living. This 

definition includes the services provided by the facility to 

individuals who are assessed as capable of maintaining 

themselves in an independent living status. 

"Respite care" means services provided in an assisted living 

facility for the maintenance or care of aged, infirm, or 

disabled adults for a temporary period of time or temporary 

periods of time that are regular or intermittent. Facilities 

offering this type of care are subject to this chapter. 

"Restorative care" means activities designed to assist the 

resident in reaching or maintaining his level of potential. 

These activities are not required to be provided by a 

rehabilitative therapist and may include activities such as 

range of motion, assistance with ambulation, positioning, 

assistance and instruction in the activities of daily living, 

psychosocial skills training, and reorientation and reality 

orientation. 

"Restraint" means either "physical restraint" or "chemical 

restraint" as these terms are defined in this section. 

"Safe, secure environment" means a self-contained special 

care unit for [ individuals residents ] with serious cognitive 

impairments due to a primary psychiatric diagnosis of 

dementia who cannot recognize danger or protect their own 

safety and welfare. There may be one or more self-contained 

special care units in a facility or the whole facility may be a 

special care unit. Nothing in this definition limits or 

contravenes the privacy protections set forth in § 63.2-1808 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"Sanitizing" means treating in such a way to remove bacteria 

and viruses through using a disinfectant solution (e.g., bleach 

solution or commercial chemical disinfectant) or physical 

agent (e.g., heat). 

"Serious cognitive impairment" means severe deficit in 

mental capability of a chronic, enduring, or long-term nature 

that affects areas such as thought processes, problem-solving, 

judgment, memory, and comprehension and that interferes 

with such things as reality orientation, ability to care for self, 

ability to recognize danger to self or others, and impulse 

control. Such cognitive impairment is not due to acute or 

episodic conditions, nor conditions arising from treatable 

metabolic or chemical imbalances or caused by reactions to 

medication or toxic substances. For the purposes of this 

chapter, serious cognitive impairment means that an 

individual cannot recognize danger or protect his own safety 

and welfare. [ Serious cognitive impairment involves an 

assessment by a clinical psychologist licensed to practice in 
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the Commonwealth or by a physician as specified in 

22VAC40-73-1090. ]  

"Significant change" means a change in a resident's 

condition that is expected to last longer than 30 days. It does 

not include short-term changes that resolve with or without 

intervention, a short-term acute illness or episodic event, or a 

well-established, predictive, cyclic pattern of clinical signs 

and symptoms associated with a previously diagnosed 

condition where an appropriate course of treatment is in 

progress. 

"Skilled nursing treatment" means a service ordered by a 

physician or other prescriber that is provided by and within 

the scope of practice of a licensed nurse. 

"Skills training" means systematic skill building through 

curriculum-based psychoeducational and cognitive-behavioral 

interventions. These interventions break down complex 

objectives for role performance into simpler components, 

including basic cognitive skills such as attention, to facilitate 

learning and competency. 

"Staff" or "staff person" means personnel working at a 

facility who are compensated or have a financial interest in 

the facility, regardless of role, service, age, function, or 

duration of employment at the facility. "Staff" or "staff 

person" also includes those individuals hired through a 

contract [ with the facility ] to provide services for the 

facility. 

"Substance abuse" means the use [ of drugs enumerated in 

the Virginia Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia) ], without [ a ] compelling medical reason, 

[ of or ] alcohol [ or other legal or illegal drugs ] that [ (i) ] 

results in psychological or physiological [ dependency 

dependence ] or danger to self or others as a function of 

continued [ and compulsive ] use [ in such a manner as to 

induce or (ii) results in ] mental, emotional, or physical 

impairment [ and cause that causes ] socially dysfunctional or 

socially disordering behavior [ ; and (iii) because of such 

substance abuse, requires care and treatment for the health of 

the individual. This care and treatment may include 

counseling, rehabilitation, or medical or psychiatric care. All 

determinations of whether a compelling medical reason exists 

shall be made by a physician or other qualified medical 

personnel ]. 

"Systems review" means a physical examination of the body 

to determine if the person is experiencing problems or 

distress, including cardiovascular system, respiratory system, 

gastrointestinal system, urinary system, endocrine system, 

musculoskeletal system, nervous system, sensory system, and 

the skin. 

"Transfer" means movement of a resident to a different 

assigned living area within the same licensed facility. 

"Trustee" means one who stands in a fiduciary or 

confidential relation to another; especially, one who, having 

legal title to property, holds it in trust for the benefit of 

another and owes a fiduciary duty to that beneficiary. 

"Uniform assessment instrument" or "UAI" means the 

department designated assessment form. There is an alternate 

version of the form that may be used for private pay residents. 

Social and financial information that is not relevant because 

of the resident's payment status is not included on the private 

pay version of the form. 

"Volunteer" means a person who works at an assisted living 

facility who is not compensated. [ This does not include 

persons who, either as an individual or as part of an 

organization, present at or facilitate group activities. An 

exception to this definition is a person who, either as an 

individual or as part of an organization, is only present at or 

facilitates group activities on an occasional basis or for 

special events. ]  

22VAC40-73-20. Requirements of law and applicability. 

A. Chapters 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) and 18 (§ 63.2-1800 et 

seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia include 

requirements of law relating to licensure, including licensure 

of assisted living facilities. 

B. This chapter applies to assisted living facilities as defined 

in § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia and in 22VAC40-73-

10. 

1. Each assisted living facility shall comply with Parts I 

(22VAC40-73-10 et seq.) through IX (22VAC40-73-950 et 

seq.) of this chapter. 

2. An assisted living facility that cares for adults with 

serious cognitive impairments shall also comply with Part 

X (22VAC40-73-1000 et seq.) of this chapter. 

22VAC40-73-30. Program of care. 

There shall be a program of care that: 

1. Meets the [ resident population's resident's ] physical, 

mental, emotional, [ and ] psychosocial [ , and spiritual ] 

needs; 

2. [ Promotes the resident's highest level of functioning; 

3. ] Provides protection, guidance, and supervision; 

[ 3. 4. ] Promotes a sense of security, self-worth, and 

independence; and 

[ 4. 5. ] Promotes the resident's involvement with 

appropriate [ programs and ] community resources [ based 

on the resident's needs and interests ]. 
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Part II 

Administration and Administrative Services 

22VAC40-73-40. Licensee. 

A. The licensee shall ensure compliance with all regulations 

for licensed assisted living facilities and terms of the license 

issued by the department; with relevant federal, state, and 

local laws; with other relevant regulations; and with the 

facility's own policies and procedures. 

B. The licensee shall: 

1. Give evidence of financial responsibility and solvency. 

2. Be of good character and reputation in accordance with 

§ 63.2-1702 of the Code of Virginia. Character and 

reputation investigation includes [ , but is not limited to, ] 

background checks as required by § 63.2-1721 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

3. Meet the requirements specified in the Regulation for 

Background Checks for Assisted Living Facilities and 

Adult Day Care Centers (22VAC40-90). 

4. Act in accordance with General Procedures and 

Information for Licensure (22VAC40-80).  

5. Protect the physical and mental well-being of residents. 

6. Exercise general supervision over the affairs of the 

licensed facility and establish policies and procedures 

concerning its operation in conformance with applicable 

law, this chapter, and the welfare of the residents. 

7. Ensure that he [ or his relatives ], his agents [ or agents' 

relatives ], the facility administrator [ or administrator's 

relatives ], or facility staff [ or the relatives of any of these 

persons ] shall not act as, seek to become, or become the 

conservator or guardian of any resident unless specifically 

so appointed by a court of competent jurisdiction pursuant 

to Article 1 (§ 64.2-2000 et seq.) of Chapter 20 of Title 

64.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

8. Ensure that the current license is posted in the facility in 

a place conspicuous to the residents and the public. 

9. Ensure that the facility keeps and maintains at the 

facility records, reports, plans, schedules, and other 

information as required by this chapter for licensed assisted 

living facilities.  

10. Ensure that any document required by this chapter to 

be posted shall be in at least 12-point type or equivalent 

size [ , unless otherwise specified ].  

11. Make certain that when it is time to discard records, 

they are disposed of in a manner that ensures 

confidentiality.  

12. Ensure that at all times the department's representative 

is afforded reasonable opportunity to inspect all of the 

facility's buildings, books, and records and to interview 

agents, employees, residents, and any person under its 

custody, control, direction, or supervision [ as specified in 

§ 63.2-1706 of the Code of Virginia ].  

C. Upon initial application for an assisted living facility 

license, any person applying to operate such a facility who 

has not previously owned or managed or does not currently 

own or manage a licensed assisted living facility shall be 

required to undergo training by the commissioner. [ Such 

training shall be required of those Training for such ] owners 

and currently employed administrators [ of an assisted living 

facility shall be required ] at the time of initial application for 

[ a license licensure. In all cases, such training shall be 

completed prior to the granting of any initial license ]. 

1. The commissioner may also approve training programs 

provided by other entities and allow owners or 

administrators to attend such approved training programs 

in lieu of training by the commissioner. 

2. The commissioner may at his discretion also approve for 

licensure applicants who meet requisite experience criteria 

as established by the board. 

3. The training programs shall focus on the health and 

safety regulations and resident rights as they pertain to 

assisted living facilities and shall be completed by the 

owner or administrator prior to the granting of an initial 

license. 

4. The commissioner may, at his discretion, issue a license 

conditioned upon the completion by the owner or 

administrator of the required training. 

D. The licensee shall notify in writing the regional licensing 

office of intent to sell or voluntarily close the facility [ no less 

than 60 days prior to the sale date or closure ]. The following 

shall apply: 

1. No less than 60 days prior to the planned sale date or 

closure, the licensee shall notify the [ regional licensing 

office, ] residents, and as relevant, legal representatives, 

case managers, [ assessors, ] eligibility workers, and 

designated contact persons of the intended sale or closure 

of the facility and the date for such.  

[ 2. Exception: ] If plans are made at such time that 60-day 

notice is not possible, the licensee shall notify the regional 

licensing office, the residents, legal representatives, case 

managers, [ assessors, ] eligibility workers, and designated 

contact persons as soon as the intent to sell or close the 

facility is known. 

[ 3. 2. ] If the facility is to be sold, at the time of 

notification specified in subdivision 1 of this subsection, 

the licensee shall explain to each resident, his legal 

representative, case manager, [ assessor, ] and at least one 

designated contact person that the resident can choose 

whether to stay or relocate, unless the new licensee 

specifies relocation. If a resident chooses to stay, there 
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must be a new resident agreement between the resident and 

the new licensee that meets the specifications of 

22VAC40-73-390. 

[ 4. 3. ] The licensee shall provide updates regarding the 

closure or sale of the facility to the regional licensing 

office, as requested. 

22VAC40-73-50. Disclosure. 

A. The assisted living facility shall prepare and provide a 

statement to the prospective resident and his legal 

representative, if any, that discloses information about the 

facility. The statement shall be on a form developed by the 

department and shall: 

1. Disclose information fully and accurately in plain 

language; 

2. Be provided in advance of admission and prior to 

signing an admission agreement or contract; 

3. Be provided upon request; and 

4. Disclose the following information, which shall be kept 

current: 

a. Name of the facility; 

b. Name of the licensee; 

c. Ownership structure of the facility (e.g., individual, 

partnership, corporation, limited liability company, 

unincorporated association, or public agency); 

d. Description of all accommodations, services, and care 

that the facility offers; 

e. Fees charged for accommodations, services, and care, 

including clear information about what is included in the 

base fee and all fees for additional accommodations, 

services, and care; 

f. Criteria for admission to the facility and restrictions on 

admission; 

g. Criteria for transfer to a different living area within the 

same facility, including transfer to another level or type 

of care within the same facility or complex; 

h. Criteria for discharge; 

i. Categories, frequency, and number of activities 

provided for residents;  

j. General number, position types, and qualifications of 

staff on each shift; 

k. Notation that additional information about the facility 

that is included in the resident agreement is available 

upon request; and 

l. The department's website address, with a note that 

additional information about the facility may be obtained 

from the website [ , including type of license, capacity, 

special services, and most recent years' compliance 

history ]. 

B. Written acknowledgment of the receipt of the disclosure 

by the resident or his legal representative shall be retained in 

the resident's record. 

C. The disclosure statement shall also be available to the 

general public, upon request. 

22VAC40-73-60. Electronic records and signatures. 

A. Use of electronic records or signatures shall comply with 

the provisions of the Uniform Electronic Transactions Act 

(§ 59.1-479 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

B. In addition to the requirements of the Uniform Electronic 

Transactions Act, the use of electronic signatures shall be 

deemed to constitute a signature and have the same effect as a 

written signature on a document as long as the licensee: 

1. Develops, implements, and maintains specific policies 

and procedures for the use of electronic signatures; 

2. Ensures that each electronic signature identifies the 

individual signing the document by name and title; 

3. Ensures that the document cannot be altered after the 

signature has been affixed; 

4. Ensures that access to the code or key sequence is 

limited; 

5. Ensures that all users have signed statements that they 

alone have access to and use the key or computer password 

for their signature and will not share their key or password 

with others; and 

6. Ensures that strong and substantial evidence exists that 

would make it difficult for the signer or the receiving party 

to claim the electronic representation is not valid. 

C. A back-up and security system shall be utilized for all 

electronic documents. 

22VAC40-73-70. Incident reports. 

A. Each facility shall report to the regional licensing office 

within 24 hours any major incident that has negatively 

affected or that threatens the life, health, safety, or welfare of 

any resident.  

B. The report required in subsection A of this section shall 

include (i) the name of the facility, (ii) the name or names of 

the resident or residents involved in the incident, (iii) the 

name of the person making the report, (iv) the date of the 

incident, (v) a description of the incident, and (vi) the actions 

taken in response to the incident. 

C. The facility shall submit a written report of each incident 

specified in subsection A of this section to the regional 

licensing office within seven days from the date of the 
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incident. The report shall be signed and dated by the 

administrator and include the following information: 

1. Name and address of the facility; 

2. Name of the resident or residents involved in the 

incident; 

3. Date and time of the incident; 

4. Description of the incident, the circumstances under 

which it happened, and [ , ] when applicable, extent of 

injury or damage; 

5. Location of the incident; 

6. Actions taken in response to the incident; 

7. Actions to prevent recurrence of the incident, if 

applicable; 

8. Name of staff person in charge at the time of the 

incident; 

9. Names, telephone numbers, and addresses of witnesses 

to the incident, if any; and 

10. Name, title, and signature of the person making the 

report, if other than the administrator, and date of the 

completion of the report.  

D. The facility shall submit to the regional licensing office 

amendments to the written report when circumstances 

require, such as when substantial additional actions are taken, 

when significant new information becomes available, or there 

is resolution of the incident after submission of the report. 

E. A copy of the written report of each incident shall be 

maintained by the facility for at least two years [ from the 

date of the incident ]. 

F. If applicable, the facility shall ensure that there is 

documentation in the resident's record as required by 

22VAC40-73-470 F.  

22VAC40-73-80. Management and control of resident 

funds. 

Pursuant to § 63.2-1808 A 3 of the Code of Virginia, the 

resident shall be free to manage his personal finances and 

funds regardless of source, unless a committee, conservator, 

or guardian has been appointed for a resident. However [ , ] 

the resident may request that the facility assist with the 

management of personal funds, and the facility may assist the 

resident in such management under the following conditions: 

1. There shall be documentation of this request and 

delegation, signed and dated by the resident and the 

administrator. The documentation shall be maintained in 

the resident's record. 

2. [ Residents' All resident funds ] shall be held separately 

from any other moneys of the facility. [ Residents' No 

resident ] funds shall [ not ] be borrowed, used as assets of 

the facility, or used for purposes of personal interest by the 

licensee, operator, administrator, or facility staff. 

3. The resident shall be given a choice of whether he 

wishes his funds to be maintained in an individual resident 

account [ , which may be interest-bearing, ] or in a single 

account for the accumulated funds of multiple residents [ , 

which shall not be interest-bearing ]. [ Either type of 

account may be interest-bearing. If the account is interest-

bearing, the resident must be provided his appropriate 

portion of the interest. ] 

4. [ For residents who are not recipients of an auxiliary 

grant, the The ] facility may charge a reasonable amount 

for administration of the account [ , except for residents 

who are recipients of an auxiliary grant as account 

administration is covered by the grant ]. 

5. The facility shall maintain a written accounting of 

money received and disbursed by the facility that shows a 

current balance. The written accounting of the funds shall 

be made available to the resident at least quarterly and 

upon request, and a copy shall also be placed in the 

resident's record.  

6. The resident's funds shall be made available to the 

resident upon request. 

22VAC40-73-90. Safeguarding residents' funds. 

No [ licensee, ] facility administrator [ , ] or staff person 

shall act as either attorney-in-fact or trustee unless the 

resident has no other preferred designee and the resident 

himself expressly requests such service by or through facility 

personnel. When the [ licensee, ] facility administrator [ , ] or 

staff person acts as attorney-in-fact or trustee, the following 

applies: 

1. There shall be documentation that the resident has 

requested such service and from whom, signed and dated 

by the resident, [ the licensee, ] the facility administrator, 

and if a staff person is to provide the service, the staff 

person. The documentation shall be maintained in the 

resident's record. 

2. The [ licensee, ] facility administrator [ , ] or staff person 

so named attorney-in-fact or trustee shall be accountable at 

all times in the proper discharge of such fiduciary 

responsibility as provided under Virginia law.  

3. The facility shall maintain a written accounting of 

money received and disbursed by the [ licensee, ] facility 

administrator [ , ] or staff person that shows a current 

balance. The written accounting of the funds shall be made 

available to the resident at least quarterly and upon request, 

and a copy shall also be placed in the resident's record.  

4. The resident's funds shall be made available to the 

resident upon request. 
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5. Upon termination of the power of attorney or trust for 

any reason, the [ licensee, ] facility administrator [ , ] or 

staff person so named attorney-in-fact or trustee shall 

return all funds and assets, with full accounting, to the 

resident or to another responsible party expressly 

designated by the resident. 

22VAC40-73-100. Infection control program. 

A. The assisted living facility shall develop, in writing, and 

implement an infection control program addressing the 

surveillance, prevention, and control of disease and infection 

that is consistent with the federal Centers for Disease Control 

and Prevention (CDC) guidelines and the federal 

Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) 

bloodborne pathogens regulations. 

1. A licensed health care professional, practicing within the 

scope of his profession and with training in infection 

prevention, shall participate in the development of 

infection prevention policies and procedures and shall 

[ assure ensure ] compliance with applicable guidelines and 

regulations. 

2. The administrator shall ensure at least an annual review 

of infection prevention policies and procedures for any 

necessary updates. A licensed health care professional, 

practicing within the scope of his profession and with 

training in infection prevention, shall be included in the 

review to [ assure ensure ] compliance with applicable 

guidelines and regulations. Documentation of the review 

shall be maintained at the facility.  

3. A staff person who has been trained in basic infection 

prevention shall participate in the annual review and serve 

as point of contact for the program. This person shall be 

responsible for on-going monitoring of the implementation 

of the infection control program.  

B. The infection control program shall be applicable to all 

staff and volunteers and encompass all services as well as the 

entire [ physical plant and grounds premises ]. 

C. The infection control program shall include:  

1. Procedures for the implementation of infection 

prevention measures by staff and volunteers to include: 

a. Use of standard precautions; 

b. Use of personal protective equipment; and 

c. Means to [ assure ensure ] hand hygiene [ .; ]  

2. Procedures for other infection prevention measures 

related to job duties [ to ] include [ , but not be limited to ]: 

a. Determination of whether prospective or returning 

residents have acute infectious disease and use of 

appropriate measures to prevent disease transmission; 

b. Use of safe injection practices and other procedures 

where the potential for exposure to blood or body fluids 

exists;  

c. Blood glucose monitoring practices that are consistent 

with CDC [ guidelines recommendations ]. When 

[ providing ] assisted blood glucose monitoring [ is 

required ], [ only single-use auto-retractable disposable 

lancets may be used fingerstick devices shall not be used 

for more than one person ]; 

d. The handling, storing, processing, and transporting of 

linens, supplies, and equipment in a manner that prevents 

the spread of infection;  

e. The sanitation of rooms, including cleaning and 

disinfecting procedures, agents, and schedules; 

f. The sanitation of equipment, including medical 

equipment that may be used on more than one resident 

(e.g., blood glucose meters and blood pressure cuffs, 

including cleaning and disinfecting procedures, agents, 

and schedules);  

g. The handling, storing, processing, and transporting of 

medical waste in accordance with applicable regulations; 

and 

h. Maintenance of an effective pest control program [ .; ]  

3. Readily accessible handwashing equipment and 

necessary personal protective equipment for staff and 

volunteers (e.g., soap, alcohol-based hand rubs, disposable 

towels or hot air dryers, and gloves) [ .; ]  

4. Product specific instructions for use of cleaning and 

disinfecting agents (e.g., dilution, contact time, and 

management of accidental exposures) [ .; and ]  

5. Initial training as specified in 22VAC40-73-120 C 4 and 

annual retraining of staff and volunteers in infection 

prevention methods, as applicable to job 

responsibilities [ and as required by 22VAC40-73-210 F ]. 

D. The facility shall have a staff health program that 

includes: 

1. Provision of information on recommended vaccinations, 

per guidelines from the CDC Advisory Committee on 

Immunization Practices (ACIP), to facility staff and 

volunteers who have any potential exposure to residents or 

to infectious materials, including body substances, 

contaminated medical supplies and equipment, 

contaminated environmental surfaces, or contaminated air; 

2. Assurance that employees with communicable diseases 

are identified and prevented from work activities that could 

result in transmission to other personnel or residents; 

3. An exposure control plan for bloodborne pathogens; 
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4. Documentation of screening and immunizations offered 

to, received by, or declined by employees in accordance 

with law, regulation, or recommendations of public health 

authorities, including access to hepatitis B vaccine; [ and ]  

5. Compliance with requirements of the OSHA for 

reporting of workplace associated injuries or exposure to 

infection.  

E. The facility administrator shall immediately make or 

cause to be made a report of an outbreak of disease as defined 

by the State Board of Health. Such report shall be made by 

rapid means to the local health director or to the 

Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Health and to 

the licensing representative of the Department of Social 

Services in the regional licensing office.  

F. When recommendations are made by the Virginia 

Department of Health to prevent or control transmission of an 

infectious agent in the facility, the recommendations must be 

followed. 

Part III 

Personnel 

22VAC40-73-110. Staff general qualifications. 

All staff shall: 

1. Be considerate and respectful of the rights, dignity, and 

sensitivities of persons who are aged, infirm, or disabled;  

2. Be able to speak, read, [ understand, ] and write in 

English as necessary to carry out their job responsibilities; 

and  

3. Meet the requirements specified in the Regulation for 

Background Checks for Assisted Living Facilities and 

Adult Day Care Centers (22VAC40-90). 

22VAC40-73-120. Staff orientation and initial training. 

A. The orientation and training required in subsections B 

and C of this section shall occur within the first seven 

working days of employment. Until this orientation and 

training is completed, the staff person may only assume job 

responsibilities if under the sight supervision of a trained 

direct care staff person or administrator.  

B. All staff shall be oriented to: 

1. The purpose of the facility; 

2. The facility's organizational structure; 

3. The services provided; 

4. The daily routines;  

5. The facility's policies and procedures; 

6. Specific duties and responsibilities of their positions; 

and 

7. Required compliance with regulations for assisted living 

facilities as it relates to their duties and responsibilities. 

C. All staff shall be trained in the relevant laws, regulations, 

and the facility's policies and procedures sufficiently to 

implement: 

1. Emergency and disaster plans for the facility; 

2. Procedures for the handling of resident emergencies; 

3. Use of the first aid kit and knowledge of its location; 

4. Handwashing techniques, standard precautions, infection 

risk-reduction behavior, and other infection control 

measures specified in 22VAC40-73-100; 

5. Confidential treatment of personal information; 

6. Requirements regarding the rights and responsibilities of 

residents; 

7. Requirements and procedures for detecting and reporting 

suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of residents and 

for mandated reporters, the consequences for failing to 

make a required report, as set out in § 63.2-1606 of the 

Code of Virginia; 

8. Procedures for reporting and documenting incidents as 

required in 22VAC40-73-70; 

9. Methods of alleviating common adjustment problems 

that may occur when a resident moves from one residential 

environment to another; and 

10. For direct care staff, the needs, preferences, and 

routines of the residents for whom they will provide care. 

[ D. Staff orientation and initial training specified in this 

section may count toward the required annual training hours 

for the first year. ] 

22VAC40-73-130. Reports of abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation. 

[ A. ] All staff who are mandated reporters under § 63.2-

1606 of the Code of Virginia shall report suspected abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation of residents in accordance with that 

section.  

[ B. The facility shall notify the resident's contact person or 

legal representative when a report is made relating to the 

resident as referenced in subsection A of this section, without 

identifying any confidential information. ] 

22VAC40-73-140. Administrator qualifications. 

A. The administrator shall be at least 21 years of age. 

B. The administrator shall be able to read and write, and 

understand this chapter. 

C. The administrator shall be able to perform the duties and 

carry out the responsibilities required by this chapter. 
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D. For a facility licensed only for residential living care that 

does not employ an administrator licensed by the Virginia 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, the administrator 

shall: 

1. Be a high school graduate or shall have a General 

Education Development (GED) Certificate; 

2. (i) Have successfully completed at least 30 credit hours 

of postsecondary education from a college or university 

accredited by an association recognized by the U.S. 

Secretary of Education and at least 15 of the 30 credit 

hours shall be in business or human services or a 

combination thereof; (ii) have successfully completed a 

course of study approved by the department that is specific 

to the administration of an assisted living facility; (iii) have 

a bachelor's degree from a college or university accredited 

by an association recognized by the U.S. Secretary of 

Education; or (iv) be a licensed nurse; and 

3. Have at least one year of administrative or supervisory 

experience in caring for adults in a residential group care 

facility. 

The requirements of this subsection shall not apply to an 

administrator of an assisted living facility employed prior to 

[ the effective date of February 1, 2018 ], who met the 

requirements in effect when employed and who has been 

continuously employed as an assisted living facility 

administrator. 

E. For a facility licensed for both residential and assisted 

living care, the administrator shall be licensed [ as an assisted 

living facility administrator or nursing home administrator ] 

by the Virginia Board of Long-Term Care Administrators [ as 

required by § 63.2-1803 pursuant to Chapter 31 (§ 54.1-3100 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 ] of the Code of Virginia. 

22VAC40-73-150. Administrator provisions and 

responsibilities. 

A. Each facility shall have an administrator of record. 

B. If an administrator dies, resigns, is discharged, or 

becomes unable to perform his duties, the facility shall 

immediately employ a new administrator or appoint a 

qualified acting administrator [ so that no lapse in 

administrator coverage occurs ]. 

1. The facility shall notify the department's regional 

licensing office in writing within 14 days of a change in a 

facility's administrator, including [ but not limited to ] the 

resignation of an administrator, appointment of an acting 

administrator, and appointment of a new administrator, 

except that the time period for notification may differ as 

specified in subdivision 2 of this subsection. 

2. [ A For a ] facility licensed for both residential and 

assisted living care [ shall comply with the notice 

requirements set out in § 63.2-1803 B of the Code of 

Virginia, the facility shall immediately notify the Virginia 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators and the 

department's regional licensing office that a new licensed 

administrator has been employed or that the facility is 

operating without an administrator licensed by the Virginia 

Board of Long-Term Administrators, whichever is the 

case, and provide the last date of employment of the 

previous licensed administrator ].  

3. For a facility licensed for both residential and assisted 

living care, when an acting administrator is named, he shall 

[ meet the qualifications and notice requirements set out in 

§ 63.2-1803 B of the Code of Virginia notify the 

department's regional licensing office of his employment, 

and if he is intending to assume the position permanently, 

submit a completed application for an approved 

administrator-in-training program to the Virginia Board of 

Long-Term Care Administrators within 10 days of 

employment ]. 

4. [ For a facility licensed for both residential and assisted 

living care, the acting administrator shall be qualified by 

education for an approved administrator-in-training 

program and have a minimum of one year of 

administrative or supervisory experience in a health care or 

long-term care facility or have completed such a program 

and be awaiting licensure. 

5. ] A facility licensed only for residential living care may 

be operated by an acting administrator for no more than 90 

days from the last date of employment of the administrator. 

[ 5. A facility licensed for both residential and assisted 

living care may be operated by an acting administrator in 

accordance with the time frames set out in § 63.2-1803 B 

and C of the Code of Virginia.  

6. A facility licensed for both residential and assisted living 

care may be operated by an acting administrator for no 

more than 150 days, or not more than 90 days if the acting 

administrator has not applied for licensure, from the last 

date of employment of the licensed administrator. 

Exception: An acting administrator may be granted one 

extension of up to 30 days in addition to the 150 days, as 

specified in this subdivision, upon written request to the 

department's regional licensing office. An extension may 

only be granted if the acting administrator (i) has applied 

for licensure as a long-term care administrator pursuant to 

Chapter 31 (§ 54.1-3100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, (ii) has completed the administrator-in-training 

program, and (iii) is awaiting the results of the national 

examination. If a 30-day extension is granted, the acting 

administrator shall immediately submit written notice of 

such to the Virginia Board of Long-Term Care 

Administrators. ]  

[ 6. 7. ] A person may not become an acting administrator 

at any assisted living facility if the Virginia Board of Long-



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 13, 2017 

659 

Term Care Administrators has refused to issue or renew, 

suspended, or revoked his assisted living facility or nursing 

home administrator license.  

[ 7. 8. ] No assisted living facility shall operate under the 

supervision of an acting administrator pursuant to §§ 54.1-

3103.1 and 63.2-1803 of the Code of Virginia more than 

one time during any two-year period unless authorized to 

do so by the department. 

C. The administrator shall be responsible for the general 

administration and management of the facility and shall 

oversee the day-to-day operation of the facility. This shall 

include [ but shall not be limited to ] responsibility for: 

1. Ensuring that care is provided to residents in a manner 

that protects their health, safety, and well-being;  

2. Maintaining compliance with applicable laws and 

regulations; 

3. Developing and implementing all policies, procedures, 

and services as required by this chapter; 

4. Ensuring staff and volunteers comply with residents' 

rights; 

5. Maintaining buildings and grounds; 

6. Recruiting, hiring, training, and supervising staff; and 

7. Ensuring the development, implementation, and 

monitoring of an individualized service plan for each 

resident, except that a plan is not required for a resident 

with independent living status. 

D. The administrator shall report to the Director of the 

Department of Health Professions information required by 

and in accordance with § 54.1-2400.6 of the Code of Virginia 

regarding any person (i) licensed, certified, or registered by a 

health regulatory board or (ii) holding a multistate licensure 

privilege to practice nursing or an applicant for licensure, 

certification, or registration. Information required to be 

reported, under specified circumstances includes [ but shall 

not be limited to ] substance abuse and unethical or fraudulent 

conduct. 

E. For a facility licensed only for residential living care, 

either the administrator or a designated assistant who meets 

the qualifications of the administrator shall be awake and on 

duty on the premises at least 40 hours per week with no fewer 

than 24 of those hours being during the day shift on 

weekdays. 

Exceptions: 

1. 22VAC40-73-170 allows a shared administrator for 

smaller facilities. 

2. If the administrator is licensed as an assisted living 

facility administrator or nursing home administrator by the 

Virginia Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, the 

provisions regarding the administrator in subsection F of 

this section apply. When such is the case, there is no 

requirement for a designated assistant. 

F. For a facility licensed for both residential and assisted 

living care, the administrator shall serve on a full-time basis 

as the on-site agent of the licensee and shall be responsible 

for the day-to-day administration and management of the 

facility, except as provided in 22VAC40-73-170. 

G. The administrator, acting administrator, or as allowed in 

subsection E of this section, designated assistant 

administrator, shall not be a resident of the facility. 

22VAC40-73-160. Administrator training. 

A. For a facility licensed only for residential living care that 

does not employ a licensed administrator, the administrator 

shall attend at least 20 hours of training related to 

management or operation of a residential facility for adults or 

relevant to the population in care within 12 months from the 

[ starting ] date of employment and annually thereafter from 

that date. At least two of the required 20 hours of training 

shall focus on infection control and prevention, and when 

adults with mental impairments reside in the facility, at least 

six of the required 20 hours shall focus on topics related to 

residents' mental impairments. Documentation of attendance 

shall be retained at the facility and shall include type of 

training, name of the entity that provided the training, and 

date and number of hours of training. 

B. All licensed administrators shall meet the continuing 

education requirements for continued licensure. 

C. Any administrator who has not previously undergone the 

training specified in 22VAC40-73-40 C shall be required to 

complete that training within two months of employment as 

administrator of the facility. The training may be counted 

toward the annual training requirement for the first year, 

except that for licensed administrators, whether the training 

counts toward continuing education and for what period of 

time depends upon the administrator licensure requirements. 

[ Administrators employed prior to December 28, 2006, are 

not required to complete this training. ]  

D. Administrators who supervise medication aides, [ as 

allowed by 22VAC40-73-670 3 b, ] but are not registered 

medication aides themselves, shall successfully complete a 

training program approved by the Virginia Board of Nursing 

for the registration of medication aides. The training program 

for such administrators must include a minimum of 68 hours 

of student instruction and training, but need not include the 

prerequisite for the program or the written examination for 

registration. The training shall be completed prior to 

supervising medication aides and may be counted toward the 

annual training requirement in subsection A of this section, 

except that for licensed administrators, whether the training 

counts toward continuing education and for what period of 
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time depends upon the administrator licensure requirements. 

The following exceptions apply: 

1. The administrator is licensed by the Commonwealth of 

Virginia to administer medications; or 

2. Medication aides are supervised by an individual 

employed full time at the facility who is licensed by the 

Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications.  

E. Administrators who have completed the training program 

specified in subsection D of this section and who supervise 

medication aides shall be required to annually have (i) four 

hours of training in medication administration specific to the 

facility population or (ii) a refresher course in medication 

administration offered by a Virginia Board of Nursing 

approved program. Administrators are exempt from this 

annual medication training or refresher course during the first 

year after completion of the training program noted in 

subsection D of this section. [ This For unlicensed 

administrators of a facility licensed only for residential living 

care this ] annual medication administration training or course 

may [ not ] be counted toward the annual training requirement 

specified in subsection A of this section. For licensed 

administrators, whether the training counts toward continuing 

education and for what period of time depends upon the 

administrator licensure requirements.  

F. If a designated assistant administrator, as allowed in 

22VAC40-73-150 E supervises medication aides, the 

requirements of subsections D and E of this section apply to 

the designated assistant administrator.  

22VAC40-73-170. Shared administrator for smaller 

facilities. 

A. An administrator [ of a facility licensed only for 

residential living care, ] who is not licensed as an assisted 

living facility administrator or nursing home administrator by 

the Virginia Board of Long-Term Care Administrators [ , ] is 

allowed to be present at a facility for fewer than the required 

minimum 40 hours per week in order to serve multiple 

facilities, without a designated assistant, under the following 

conditions: 

1. The administrator shall serve no more than four 

facilities. 

2. The combined total licensed capacity of the facilities 

served by the administrator shall be 40 or fewer residents. 

3. The administrator shall be awake and on duty on the 

premises of each facility served for at least 10 hours a 

week [ , six of which must be during the day shift ]. 

4. The administrator shall serve as a full-time administrator 

(i.e., shall be awake and on duty on the premises of all 

facilities served for a combined total of at least 40 hours a 

week). 

5. Each of the facilities served shall be within a 30-minute 

average one-way travel time of the other facilities. 

6. When not present at a facility, the administrator shall be 

on call to that facility during the hours he is working as an 

administrator and shall maintain such accessibility through 

suitable communication devices. 

7. A designated assistant may act in place of the 

administrator during the required minimum of 40 hours 

only if the administrator is ill or on vacation and for a 

period of time that shall not exceed four consecutive 

weeks. The designated assistant shall meet the 

qualifications of the administrator. 

8. Each of the facilities served shall have a manager, 

designated and supervised by the administrator. The 

manager shall be awake and on duty on the premises of the 

facility for the remaining part of the 40 required hours per 

week when the administrator or designated assistant is not 

present at the facility. The manager shall meet the 

following qualifications and requirements: 

a. The manager shall be at least 21 years of age. 

b. The manager shall be able to read and write, and 

understand this chapter. 

c. The manager shall be able to perform the duties and to 

carry out the responsibilities of his position. 

d. The manager shall:  

(1) Be a high school graduate or have a General 

Education Development (GED) Certificate; 

(2) (i) Have successfully completed at least 30 credit 

hours of postsecondary education from a college or 

university accredited by an association recognized by the 

U.S. Secretary of Education and at least 15 of the 30 

credit hours shall be in business or human services or a 

combination thereof; (ii) have successfully completed a 

course of study of 40 or more hours approved by the 

department that is specific to the management of an 

assisted living facility; (iii) have a bachelor's degree from 

a college or university accredited by an association 

recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education; or (iv) be 

a licensed nurse; and 

(3) Have at least one year of administrative or 

supervisory experience in caring for adults in a 

residential group care facility.  

e. Subdivision 8 d of this subsection does not apply to a 

manager of an assisted living facility employed prior to 

[ the effective date of this chapter February 1, 2018, ] 

who met the requirements in effect when employed and 

who has been continuously employed as an assisted 

living facility manager.  

f. The manager shall not be a resident of the facility. 
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g. The manager shall complete the training specified in 

22VAC40-73-40 C within two months of employment as 

manager. The training may be counted toward the annual 

training requirement for the first year. 

Exception: A manager employed prior to December 28, 

2006, who met the requirements in effect when employed 

and who has been continuously employed as a manager.  

h. The manager shall attend at least 20 hours of training 

related to management or operation of a residential 

facility for adults or relevant to the population in care 

within each 12-month period. When adults with mental 

impairments reside in the facility, at least six of the 

required 20 hours of training shall focus on topics related 

to residents' mental impairments and at least two of the 

required 20 hours on infection control and prevention. 

Documentation of attendance shall be retained at the 

facility and shall include title of course, name of the 

entity that provided the training, and date and number of 

hours of training. 

9. There shall be a written management plan for each 

facility that describes how the administrator will oversee 

the care and supervision of the residents and the day-to-day 

operation of the facility. 

10. The minimum of 40 hours per week required for the 

administrator or manager to be awake and on duty on the 

premises of a facility shall include at least 24 hours during 

the day shift on weekdays. 

B. An administrator, who is licensed as an assisted living 

facility administrator or nursing home administrator by the 

Virginia Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, may be 

responsible for the day-to-day administration and 

management of multiple facilities under the following 

conditions: 

1. The administrator shall serve no more than four 

facilities. 

2. The combined total licensed capacity of the facilities 

served by the administrator shall be 40 or fewer residents. 

3. The administrator shall serve on a full-time basis as the 

on-site agent of the licensee or licensees, proportioning his 

time among all the facilities served in order to ensure that 

he provides sufficient administrative and management 

functions to each facility. 

4. Each of the facilities served shall be within a 30-minute 

average one-way travel time of the other facilities. 

5. When not present at a facility, the administrator shall be 

on call to that facility during the hours he is working as an 

administrator and shall maintain such accessibility through 

suitable communication devices. 

6. Each of the facilities served shall have a manager, 

designated and supervised by the administrator, to assist 

the administrator in overseeing the care and supervision of 

the residents and the day-to-day operation of the facility. 

The majority of the time, the administrator and the 

manager shall be present at a facility at different times to 

ensure appropriate oversight of the facility. The manager 

shall meet the qualifications and requirements specified in 

subdivision A 8 of this section.  

Exception: In regard to subdivision A 8 of this section, the 

reference to 40 hours is not relevant to a facility to which 

this subsection applies (i.e., a facility with a licensed 

administrator). 

7. There shall be a written management plan for each 

facility that includes written policies and procedures that 

describe how the administrator shall oversee the care and 

supervision of the residents and the day-to-day operation of 

the facility. 

C. This section shall not apply to an administrator who 

serves both an assisted living facility and a nursing home as 

provided for in 22VAC40-73-180. 

22VAC40-73-180. Administrator of both assisted living 

facility and nursing home. 

A. Any person meeting the qualifications for a licensed 

nursing home administrator pursuant to § 54.1-3103 of the 

Code of Virginia may serve as the administrator of both an 

assisted living facility and a licensed nursing home, provided 

the assisted living facility and licensed nursing home are part 

of the same building. 

B. Whenever an assisted living facility and a licensed 

nursing home have a single administrator, there shall be a 

written management plan that addresses the care and 

supervision of the assisted living facility residents. The 

management plan shall include [ , but not be limited to, ] the 

following: 

1. Written policies and procedures that describe how the 

administrator will oversee the care and supervision of the 

residents and the day-to-day operation of the facility. 

2. If the administrator does not provide the direct 

management of the assisted living facility or only provides 

a portion thereof, the plan shall specify a designated 

individual who shall serve as manager and who shall be 

supervised by the administrator. 

3. The manager referred to in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection shall be on site and meet the qualifications and 

requirements of 22VAC40-73-170 A 8, A 9, and A 10.  

22VAC40-73-190. Designated direct care staff person in 

charge. 

A. When the administrator, the designated assistant, or the 

manager is not awake and on duty on the premises, there shall 

be a designated direct care staff member in charge on the 

premises. However, when no residents are present at the 
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facility, the designated staff person in charge does not have to 

be on the premises. 

B. The specific duties and responsibilities of the designated 

direct care staff member in charge shall be determined by the 

administrator. 

C. Prior to being placed in charge, the staff member shall be 

informed of and receive training on his duties and 

responsibilities and provided written documentation of such 

duties and responsibilities. 

D. The staff member shall be awake and on duty on the 

premises while in charge. 

E. The staff member in charge shall be capable of protecting 

the physical and mental well-being of the residents. 

F. The administrator shall ensure that the staff member in 

charge is prepared to carry out his duties and responsibilities 

and respond appropriately in case of an emergency. 

G. The staff member in charge shall not be a resident of the 

facility. 

22VAC40-73-200. Direct care staff qualifications. 

A. Direct care staff shall be at least 18 years of age unless 

certified in Virginia as a nurse aide.  

B. Direct care staff who are responsible for caring for 

residents with special health care needs shall only provide 

services within the scope of their practice and training.  

C. Direct care staff shall meet one of the requirements in this 

subsection. If the staff does not meet the requirement at the 

time of employment, he shall successfully meet one of the 

requirements in this subsection within two months of 

employment. Licensed health care professionals practicing 

within the scope of their profession are not required to 

complete the training in this subsection. 

1. Certification as a nurse aide issued by the Virginia 

Board of Nursing. 

2. Successful completion of a Virginia Board of Nursing-

approved nurse aide education program. 

3. Successful completion of a nursing education program 

preparing for registered nurse licensure or practical nurse 

licensure.  

4. Current enrollment in a nursing education program 

preparing for registered nurse or practical nurse licensure 

and completion of at least one clinical course in the nursing 

program that includes at least 40 hours of direct client care 

clinical experience.  

5. Successful completion of a personal care aide training 

program approved by the Virginia Department of Medical 

Assistance Services. 

6. Successful completion of an educational program for 

geriatric assistant or home health aide or for nurse aide that 

is not covered under subdivision 2 of this subsection. The 

program shall be provided by a hospital, nursing facility, or 

educational institution and may include out-of-state 

training. The program must be approved by the 

department. To obtain department approval: 

a. The facility shall provide to the department's 

representative an outline of course content, dates and 

hours of instruction received, the name of the entity that 

provided the training, and other pertinent information. 

b. The department will make a determination based on 

the information in subdivision 6 a of this subsection and 

provide written confirmation to the facility when the 

educational program meets department requirements. 

7. Successful completion of the department-approved 40-

hour direct care staff training provided by a registered 

nurse or licensed practical nurse.  

8. Direct care staff employed prior to [ the effective date of 

this chapter February 1, 2018, ] who [ did not care only 

cared ] for residents meeting the criteria for [ assisted 

living care residential living ], and who were therefore not 

required to meet this subsection [ at that time prior to 

February 1, 2018 ], shall successfully complete a training 

program consistent with [ department requirements this 

subsection ] no later than [ one year after the effective date 

of this chapter, except that direct care staff of the facility 

employed prior to February 1, 1996, shall not be required 

to complete the training in this subsection if they (i) have 

been continuously employed as direct care staff in the 

facility since then and (ii) have demonstrated competency 

on a skills checklist dated and signed no later than 

February 1, 1997, by a licensed health care professional 

practicing within the scope of his profession January 31, 

2019 ]. 

D. The facility shall obtain a copy of the certificate issued or 

other documentation indicating that the person has met one of 

the requirements of subsection C of this section, which shall 

be part of the staff member's record in accordance with 

22VAC40-73-250. 

E. The administrator shall develop and implement a written 

plan for supervision of direct care staff who have not yet met 

the requirements as allowed for in subsection C of this 

section. 

22VAC40-73-210. Direct care staff training. 

A. In a facility licensed only for residential living care, all 

direct care staff shall attend at least 14 hours of training 

annually.  

B. In a facility licensed for both residential and assisted 

living care, all direct care staff shall attend at least 18 hours of 

training annually.  
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C. Training for the first year shall commence no later than 

60 days after employment. 

D. The training shall be in addition to (i) required first aid 

training; (ii) CPR training, if taken; and (iii) for medication 

aides, continuing education required by the Virginia Board of 

Nursing. 

E. The training shall be relevant to the population in care 

and shall be provided by a qualified individual through in-

service training programs or institutes, workshops, classes, or 

conferences. 

F. At least two of the required hours of training shall focus 

on infection control and prevention. When adults with mental 

impairments reside in the facility, at least four of the required 

hours shall focus on topics related to residents' mental 

impairments. 

G. Documentation of the type of training received, the entity 

that provided the training, number of hours of training, and 

dates of the training shall be kept by the facility in a manner 

that allows for identification by individual staff person and is 

considered part of the staff member's record. 

Exception: Direct care staff who are licensed health care 

professionals or certified nurse aides shall attend at least 12 

hours of annual training. 

22VAC40-73-220. Private duty personnel. 

A. When private duty personnel from licensed home care 

organizations provide direct care or companion services to 

residents in an assisted living facility, the following applies: 

1. Before direct care or companion services are initiated, 

the facility shall obtain, in writing, information on the type 

and frequency of the services to be delivered to the resident 

by private duty personnel, review the information to 

determine if it is acceptable, and provide notification to the 

home care organization regarding any needed changes.  

2. The direct care or companion services provided by 

private duty personnel to meet identified needs shall be 

reflected on the resident's individualized service plan.  

3. The facility shall ensure that the requirements of 

22VAC40-73-250 D 1 through D 4 regarding tuberculosis 

are applied to private duty personnel and that the required 

reports are maintained by the facility or the licensed home 

care organization [ , based on written agreement between 

the two ]. 

4. The facility shall provide orientation and training to 

private duty personnel regarding the facility's policies and 

procedures related to the duties of private duty personnel. 

5. The facility shall ensure that documentation of resident 

care required by this chapter is maintained. 

6. The facility shall monitor the delivery of direct care and 

companion services to the resident by private duty 

personnel. 

B. When private duty personnel who are not employees of a 

licensed home care organization provide direct care or 

companion services to residents in an assisted living facility, 

the requirements listed under subdivisions [ A ] 2 through 

[ A ] 6 [ in subsection A ] of this section apply. In addition, 

before direct care or companion services are initiated, the 

facility shall: 

1. Obtain, in writing, information on the type and 

frequency of the services to be delivered to the resident by 

private duty personnel, review the information to 

determine if it is acceptable, and provide notification to 

whomever has hired the private duty personnel regarding 

any needed changes. 

2. Ensure that private duty personnel are qualified for the 

types of direct care or companion services they are 

responsible for providing to residents and maintain 

documentation of the qualifications. 

[ 3. Review an original criminal history record report 

issued by the Virginia Department of State Police, Central 

Criminal Records Exchange, for each private duty 

personnel. 

a. The report must be reviewed prior to initiation of 

services. 

b. The date of the report must be no more than 90 days 

prior to the date of initiation of services, except that if 

private duty personnel change clients in the same facility 

with a lapse in service of not more than 60 days, a new 

criminal history record report shall not be required.  

c. The administrator shall determine conformance to 

facility policy regarding private duty personnel and 

criminal history to protect the welfare of residents. The 

policy must be in writing. If private duty personnel are 

denied the ability to provide direct care or companion 

services due to convictions appearing on their criminal 

history record report, a copy of the report shall be 

provided to the private duty personnel. 

d. The report and documentation that it was reviewed 

shall be maintained at the facility while the private duty 

person is at the facility and for one year after the last date 

of work.  

e. Criminal history reports shall be maintained in locked 

files accessible only to the licensee, administrator, board 

president, or the respective designee. 

f. Further dissemination of the criminal history record 

report information is prohibited other than to the 

commissioner's representative or a federal or state 

authority or court as may be required to comply with an 
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express requirement of law for such further 

dissemination. ] 

C. The requirements of subsections A and B of this section 

shall not apply to private duty personnel who only provide 

skilled nursing treatments as specified in 22VAC40-73-470 

B. [ However, depending upon the circumstances, there may 

be other sections of this chapter that apply in such cases (e.g., 

inclusion on the resident's individualized service plan). ]  

22VAC40-73-230. Staff duties performed by residents. 

A. Any resident who performs any staff duties shall meet the 

personnel and health requirements for that position. 

B. There shall be a written agreement between the facility 

and any resident who performs staff duties. 

1. The agreement shall specify duties, hours of work, and 

compensation. 

2. The agreement shall not be a condition for admission or 

continued residence. 

3. The resident shall enter into such an agreement 

voluntarily. 

22VAC40-73-240. Volunteers. 

A. Any volunteers used shall:  

1. Have qualifications appropriate to the services they 

render; and  

2. Be subject to laws and regulations governing 

confidential treatment of personal information.  

B. No volunteer shall be permitted to serve in an assisted 

living facility without the permission of or unless under the 

supervision of a person who has received a criminal record 

clearance pursuant to § 63.2-1720 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. The facility shall maintain the following documentation 

on volunteers: 

1. Name. 

2. Address. 

3. Telephone number. 

4. Emergency contact information. 

5. Information on any qualifications, orientation, training, 

and education required by this chapter, including any 

specified relevant information. 

D. Duties and responsibilities of all volunteers shall be 

clearly differentiated from those of persons regularly filling 

staff positions.  

E. At least one staff person shall be assigned responsibility 

for coordinating volunteer services, including overall 

selection, supervision, and orientation of volunteers.  

F. Prior to beginning volunteer service, all volunteers shall 

attend an orientation including information on their duties and 

responsibilities, resident rights, confidentiality, emergency 

procedures, infection control, the name of their supervisor, 

and reporting requirements [ and. Volunteers shall ] sign and 

date a statement that they have received and [ understood 

understand ] this information. 

G. All volunteers shall be under the supervision of a 

designated staff person when residents are present.  

22VAC40-73-250. Staff records and health requirements. 

A. A record shall be established for each staff person. It 

shall not be destroyed until at least two years after 

employment is terminated. 

B. All staff records shall be retained at the facility, treated 

confidentially, and kept in a locked area. 

Exception: Emergency contact information required by 

subdivision C 9 of this section shall also be kept in an easily 

accessible place.  

C. Personal and social data to be maintained on staff and 

included in the staff record are as follows: 

1. Name; 

2. Birth date; 

3. Current address and telephone number; 

4. Position title and date employed; 

5. Verification that the staff person has received a copy of 

his current job description; 

6. An original criminal record report and a sworn 

disclosure statement; 

7. Documentation of qualifications for employment related 

to the staff person's position, including any specified 

relevant information; 

8. Verification of current professional license, certification, 

registration, medication aide provisional authorization, or 

completion of a required approved training course; 

9. Name and telephone number of person to contact in an 

emergency; 

10. Documentation of orientation, training, and education 

required by this chapter, including any specified relevant 

information [ , with annual training requirements 

determined by starting date of employment ]; and 

11. Date of termination of employment. 

D. Health information required by these standards shall be 

maintained at the facility and be included in the staff record 

for each staff person, and also shall be maintained at the 

facility for each household member who comes in contact 

with residents. 
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1. Initial tuberculosis examination and report. 

a. Each staff person on or within seven days prior to the 

first day of work at the facility and each household 

member prior to coming in contact with residents shall 

submit the results of a risk assessment, documenting the 

absence of tuberculosis in a communicable form as 

evidenced by the completion of the current screening 

form published by the Virginia Department of Health or 

a form consistent with it.  

b. The risk assessment shall be no older than 30 days. 

2. Subsequent tuberculosis evaluations and reports. 

a. Any staff person or household member required to be 

evaluated who comes in contact with a known case of 

infectious tuberculosis shall be screened as determined 

appropriate based on consultation with the local health 

department. 

b. Any staff person or household member required to be 

evaluated who develops chronic respiratory symptoms of 

three weeks duration shall be evaluated immediately for 

the presence of infectious tuberculosis. 

c. Each staff person or household member required to be 

evaluated shall annually submit the results of a risk 

assessment, documenting that the individual is free of 

tuberculosis in a communicable form as evidenced by the 

completion of the current screening form published by 

the Virginia Department of Health or a form consistent 

with it. 

3. Any individual suspected to have infectious tuberculosis 

shall not be allowed to return to work or have any contact 

with the residents and personnel of the facility until a 

physician has determined that the individual is free of 

infectious tuberculosis. 

4. The facility shall report any active case of tuberculosis 

developed by a staff person or household member required 

to be evaluated to the local health department. 

E. Record of any vaccinations and immunizations received 

as noted in 22VAC40-73-100 D. 

[ F. At the request of the administrator of the facility or the 

department, a report of examination by a licensed physician 

shall be obtained when there are indications that the safety of 

residents in care may be jeopardized by the physical or 

mental health of a staff person or household member. 

G. Any staff person or household member who, upon 

examination or as a result of tests, shows indication of a 

physical or mental condition that may jeopardize the safety of 

residents in care or that would prevent performance of duties: 

1. Shall be removed immediately from contact with 

residents; and 

2. Shall not be allowed contact with residents until the 

condition is cleared to the satisfaction of the examining 

physician as evidenced by a signed statement from the 

physician. ]  

22VAC40-73-260. First aid and CPR certification. 

A. First aid. 

1. Each direct care staff member [ who does not have 

current certification in first aid as specified in subdivision 

2 of this subsection shall receive certification in first aid 

within 60 days of employment shall maintain current 

certification in first aid ] from the American Red Cross, 

American Heart Association, National Safety Council, 

American Safety and Health Institute, community college, 

hospital, volunteer rescue squad, or fire department. The 

certification must either be in adult first aid or include 

adult first aid. [ To be considered current, first aid 

certification from community colleges, hospitals, volunteer 

rescue squads, or fire departments shall have been issued 

within the past three years. ]  

2. Each direct care staff member [ shall maintain current 

certification in first aid from an organization listed in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection. To be considered current, 

first aid certification from community colleges, hospitals, 

volunteer rescue squads, or fire departments shall have 

been issued within the past three years. The certification 

must either be in adult first aid or include adult first aid 

who does not have current certification in first aid as 

specified in subdivision 1 of this subsection shall receive 

certification in first aid within 60 days of employment ].  

3. A direct care staff member who is a registered nurse 

[ or, ] licensed practical nurse [ , or currently certified 

emergency medical technician, first responder, or 

paramedic ] does not have to meet the requirements of 

subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection. 

4. [ There In each building, there ] shall [ either ] be (i) at 

least one staff person [ on the premises ] at all times who 

has current certification in first aid that meets the 

specifications of this section [ unless the facility has; or 

(ii) ] an on-duty registered nurse [ or, ] licensed practical 

nurse [ , or currently certified emergency medical 

technician, first responder, or paramedic ]. 

B. Cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR). 

1. There shall be at least one staff person [ on the premises 

in each building ] at all times who has current certification 

in CPR from the American Red Cross, American Heart 

Association, National Safety Council, or American Safety 

and Health Institute, or who has current CPR certification 

issued within the past two years by a community college, 

hospital, volunteer rescue squad, or fire department [ ,. ] 

The certification must either be in adult CPR or include 

adult CPR. 
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2. In facilities licensed for over [ 50 100 ] residents, at least 

one additional staff person who meets the requirements of 

subdivision 1 of this subsection shall be available for every 

[ 50 100 ] residents, or portion thereof. More staff persons 

who meet the requirements in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection shall be available if necessary to [ assure 

ensure ] quick access to residents in the event of the need 

for CPR. 

C. A listing of all staff who have current certification in first 

aid or CPR, in conformance with subsections A and B of this 

section, shall be posted in the facility so that the information 

is readily available to all staff at all times. The listing must 

indicate by staff person whether the certification is in first aid 

or CPR or both and must be kept up to date. 

D. A staff person with current certification in first aid and 

CPR shall be present for the duration of facility-sponsored 

activities off the facility premises, when facility staff are 

responsible for oversight of one or more residents during the 

activity. 

22VAC40-73-270. Direct care staff training when 

aggressive or restrained residents are in care. 

The following training is required for staff in assisted living 

facilities that accept, or have in care, residents who are or 

who may be aggressive or restrained: 

1. Aggressive residents. 

a. Direct care staff shall be trained in methods of dealing 

with residents who have a history of aggressive behavior 

or of dangerously agitated states prior to being involved 

in the care of such residents. 

b. This training shall include, at a minimum, information, 

demonstration, and practical experience in self-protection 

and in the prevention and de-escalation of aggressive 

behavior. 

2. Restrained residents. 

a. Prior to being involved in the care of residents in 

restraints, direct care staff shall be appropriately trained 

in caring for the health needs of such residents.  

b. This training shall include, at a minimum, information, 

demonstration, and experience in: 

(1) The proper techniques for applying and monitoring 

restraints; 

(2) Skin care appropriate to prevent redness, breakdown, 

and decubiti; 

(3) Active and active assisted range of motion to prevent 

contractures; 

(4) [ Assessment Observing and reporting signs and 

symptoms that may be indicative of obstruction ] of 

blood [ circulation to prevent obstruction of blood ] flow 

[ and promote adequate blood circulation to all in ] 

extremities; 

(5) Turning and positioning to prevent skin breakdown 

and keep the lungs clear; 

(6) Provision of sufficient bed clothing and covering to 

maintain a normal body temperature; 

(7) Provision of additional attention to meet the physical, 

mental, emotional, and social needs of the restrained 

resident; and 

(8) Awareness of possible risks associated with restraint 

use and methods of reducing or eliminating such risks. 

3. The training described in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this 

section shall meet the following criteria: 

a. Training shall be provided by a qualified health 

professional. 

b. A written description of the content of this training, a 

notation of the entity providing the training, and the 

names of direct care staff receiving the training shall be 

maintained by the facility except that, if the training is 

provided by the department, only a listing of direct care 

staff trained and the date of training are required. 

4. Refresher training for all direct care staff shall be 

provided at least annually or more often as needed. 

a. The refresher training shall encompass the techniques 

described in subdivision 1 or 2 of this section, or both. 

b. [ A record of the The ] refresher training [ and a 

description of the content of the training shall be 

maintained by the facility shall meet the requirements of 

subdivision 3 of this section ]. 

Part IV 

Staffing and Supervision 

22VAC40-73-280. Staffing. 

A. The assisted living facility shall have staff adequate in 

knowledge, skills, and abilities and sufficient in numbers to 

provide services to attain and maintain the physical, mental, 

and psychosocial well-being of each resident as determined 

by resident assessments and individualized service plans, and 

to [ assure ensure ] compliance with this chapter. 

B. The assisted living facility shall maintain a written plan 

that specifies the number and type of direct care staff required 

to meet the day-to-day, routine direct care needs and any 

identified special needs for the residents in care. This plan 

shall be directly related to actual resident acuity levels and 

individualized care needs.  

C. An adequate number of staff persons shall be on the 

premises at all times to implement the approved fire and 

emergency evacuation plan. 
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D. At least one direct care staff member shall be awake and 

on duty at all times in each building when at least one 

resident is present. 

Exception: For a facility licensed for residential living care 

only, in buildings that house 19 or fewer residents, the staff 

member on duty does not have to be awake during the 

night if (i) none of the residents have care needs that 

require a staff member awake at night and (ii) the facility 

ensures compliance with the requirements of 22VAC40-

73-930 C.  

[ E. No employee shall be permitted to work in a position 

that involves direct contact with a resident until a background 

check has been received as required in the Regulation for 

Background Checks for Assisted Living Facilities and Adult 

Day Care Centers (22VAC40-90), unless such person works 

under the direct supervision of another employee for whom a 

background check has been completed in accordance with the 

requirements of the background check regulation (22VAC40-

90). ]  

22VAC40-73-290. Work schedule and posting. 

A. The facility shall maintain a written work schedule that 

includes the names and job classifications of all staff working 

each shift, with an indication of whomever is in charge at any 

given time. 

1. Any absences, substitutions, or other changes shall be 

noted on the schedule. 

2. The facility shall maintain a copy of the schedule for 

two years. 

B. The facility shall develop and implement a procedure for 

posting the name of the current on-site person in charge, as 

provided for in this chapter, in a place in the facility that is 

conspicuous to the residents and the public. 

22VAC40-73-300. Communication among staff. 

A. Procedures shall be established and reviewed with staff 

for communication among administrators, designated 

assistant administrators, managers, and designated staff 

persons in charge, as applicable to a facility, to ensure stable 

operations and sound transitions. 

B. A method of written communication shall be utilized as a 

means of keeping direct care staff on all shifts informed of 

significant happenings or problems experienced by residents, 

including complaints and incidents or injuries related to 

physical or mental conditions.  

1. A record shall be kept of the written communication for 

at least the past two years. 

2. The information shall be included in the records of the 

involved residents.  

Part V 

Admission, Retention, and Discharge of Residents 

22VAC40-73-310. Admission and retention of residents. 

A. No resident shall be admitted or retained: 

1. For whom the facility cannot provide or secure 

appropriate care; 

2. Who requires a level of care or service or type of service 

for which the facility is not licensed or which the facility 

does not provide; or 

3. If the facility does not have staff appropriate in numbers 

and with appropriate skill to provide the care and services 

needed by the resident. 

B. Assisted living facilities shall not admit an individual 

before a determination has been made that the facility can 

meet the needs of the [ resident individual ]. The facility shall 

make the determination based upon the following information 

at a minimum: 

1. The completed UAI. 

2. The physical examination report. 

3. A documented interview between the administrator or a 

designee responsible for admission and retention decisions, 

the [ resident individual ], and his legal representative, if 

any. In some cases, [ medical ] conditions may create 

special circumstances that make it necessary to hold the 

interview on the date of admission.  

4. A mental health screening in accordance with 

22VAC40-73-330 A. 

C. An assisted living facility shall only admit or retain 

[ residents individuals ] as permitted by its use and occupancy 

classification and certificate of occupancy. The ambulatory or 

nonambulatory status, as defined in 22VAC40-73-10, of an 

individual is based upon: 

1. Information contained in the physical examination 

report; and 

2. Information contained in the most recent UAI. 

D. Based upon review of the UAI prior to admission of a 

resident, the assisted living facility administrator shall 

provide written assurance to the resident that the facility has 

the appropriate license to meet his care needs at the time of 

admission. Copies of the written assurance shall be given to 

the legal representative and case manager, if any, and a copy 

signed by the resident or his legal representative shall be kept 

in the resident's record. 

E. All residents shall be 18 years of age or older. 

F. No person shall be admitted without his consent and 

agreement, or that of his legal representative with 
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demonstrated legal authority to give such consent on his 

behalf.  

G. The facility shall not require a person to relinquish the 

rights specified in § 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia as a 

condition of admission or retention. 

H. In accordance with § 63.2-1805 D of the Code of 

Virginia, assisted living facilities shall not admit or retain 

individuals with any of the following conditions or care 

needs: 

1. Ventilator dependency; 

2. Dermal ulcers III and IV except those stage III ulcers 

that are determined by an independent physician to be 

healing; 

3. Intravenous therapy or injections directly into the vein, 

except for intermittent intravenous therapy managed by a 

health care professional licensed in Virginia except as 

permitted in subsection K of this section; 

4. Airborne infectious disease in a communicable state that 

requires isolation of the individual or requires special 

precautions by the caretaker to prevent transmission of the 

disease, including diseases such as tuberculosis and 

excluding infections such as the common cold; 

5. Psychotropic medications without appropriate diagnosis 

and treatment plans; 

6. Nasogastric tubes; 

7. Gastric tubes except when the individual is capable of 

independently feeding himself and caring for the tube or as 

permitted in subsection K of this section; 

8. Individuals presenting an imminent physical threat or 

danger to self or others; 

9. Individuals requiring continuous licensed nursing care; 

10. Individuals whose physician certifies that placement is 

no longer appropriate; 

11. Unless the individual's independent physician 

determines otherwise, individuals who require maximum 

physical assistance as documented by the UAI and meet 

Medicaid nursing facility level of care criteria as defined in 

the State Plan for Medical Assistance Program (12VAC30-

10); or 

12. Individuals whose physical or mental health care needs 

cannot be met in the specific assisted living facility as 

determined by the facility. 

I. When a resident has a stage III dermal ulcer that has been 

determined by an independent physician to be healing, 

periodic observation and any necessary dressing changes shall 

be performed by a licensed health care professional under a 

physician's or other prescriber's treatment plan.  

J. Intermittent intravenous therapy may be provided to a 

resident for a limited period of time on a daily or periodic 

basis by a licensed health care professional under a 

physician's or other prescriber's treatment plan. When a 

course of treatment is expected to be ongoing and extends 

beyond a two-week period, evaluation is required at two-

week intervals by the licensed health care professional. 

K. At the request of the resident in an assisted living facility 

and when his independent physician determines that it is 

appropriate, care for the conditions or care needs (i) specified 

in subdivisions [ G H ] 3 and [ G H ] 7 of this section may be 

provided to the resident by a physician licensed in Virginia, a 

nurse licensed in Virginia or a nurse holding a multistate 

licensure privilege under a physician's treatment plan, or a 

home care organization licensed in Virginia or (ii) specified 

in subdivision [ G H ] 7 of this section may also be provided 

to the resident by facility staff if the care is delivered in 

accordance with the regulations of the Board of Nursing for 

delegation by a registered nurse, [ 18VAC90-20-420 through 

18VAC90-20-460 18VAC90-19-240 through 18VAC90-19-

280 ], and 22VAC40-73-470 E. This standard does not apply 

to recipients of auxiliary grants. 

L. When care for a resident's special medical needs is 

provided by licensed staff of a home care agency, the assisted 

living facility direct care staff may receive training from the 

home care agency staff in appropriate treatment monitoring 

techniques regarding safety precautions and actions to take in 

case of emergency. This training is required prior to direct 

care staff assuming such duties. Updated training shall be 

provided as needed. The training shall include content based 

on the resident's specific needs. [ The training shall be 

documented and maintained in the staff record. ]   

M. Notwithstanding § 63.2-1805 of the Code of Virginia, at 

the request of the resident, hospice care may be provided in 

an assisted living facility under the same requirements for 

hospice programs provided in Article 7 (§ 32.1-162.1 et seq.) 

of Chapter 5 of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia if the 

hospice program determines that such program is appropriate 

for the resident. If hospice care is provided, there shall be a 

written agreement between the assisted living facility and any 

hospice program that provides care in the facility. The 

agreement shall include: 

1. Policies and procedures to ensure appropriate 

communication and coordination between the facility and 

the hospice program; 

2. Specification of the roles and responsibilities of each 

entity, including listing of the services that will generally 

be provided by the facility and the services that will 

generally be provided by the hospice program;  

3. Acknowledgment that the services provided to each 

resident shall be reflected on the individualized service 

plan as required in 22VAC40-73-450 D; and 
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4. Signatures of an authorized representative of the facility 

and an authorized representative of the hospice program. 

22VAC40-73-320. Physical examination and report. 

A. Within the 30 days preceding admission, a person shall 

have a physical examination by an independent physician. 

The report of such examination shall be on file at the assisted 

living facility and shall contain the following: 

1. [ The person's name, address, and telephone number; 

2. ] The date of the physical examination; 

[ 2. 3. ] Height, weight, and blood pressure; 

[ 3. 4. ] Significant medical history; 

[ 4. 5. ] General physical condition, including a systems 

review as is medically indicated; 

[ 5. 6. ] Any diagnosis or significant problems; 

[ 6. 7. ] Any known allergies and description of the 

person's reactions; 

[ 7. 8. ] Any recommendations for care including 

medication, diet, and therapy; 

[ 8. 9. ] Results of a risk assessment documenting the 

absence of tuberculosis in a communicable form as 

evidenced by the completion of the current screening form 

published by the Virginia Department of Health or a form 

consistent with it; 

[ 9. 10. ] A statement that the individual does not have any 

of the conditions or care needs prohibited by 22VAC40-

73-310 H; 

[ 10. 11. ] A statement that specifies whether the individual 

is considered to be ambulatory or nonambulatory [ as 

defined in this chapter ];  

[ 11. 12. ] A statement that specifies whether the individual 

is or is not capable of self-administering medication; and 

[ 12. 13. ] The signature of the examining physician or his 

designee. 

B. Subsequent tuberculosis evaluations. 

1. A risk assessment for tuberculosis shall be completed 

annually on each resident as evidenced by the completion 

of the current screening form published by the Virginia 

Department of Health or a form consistent with it. 

2. Any resident who comes in contact with a known case of 

infectious tuberculosis shall be screened as deemed 

appropriate in consultation with the local health 

department. 

3. Any resident who develops respiratory symptoms of 

three or more weeks duration with no medical explanation 

shall be referred for evaluation for the presence of 

infectious tuberculosis. 

4. If a resident develops an active case of tuberculosis, the 

facility shall report this information to the local health 

department. 

C. As necessary to determine whether a resident's needs can 

continue to be met in the assisted living facility, the 

department may request a current physical examination [ by 

an independent physician ] or psychiatric evaluation [ by an 

independent physician ], including diagnosis and assessments. 

22VAC40-73-325. Fall risk [ assessment rating ]. 

A. For residents who meet the criteria for assisted living 

care, by the time the comprehensive ISP is completed, a 

[ written ] fall risk [ assessment rating ] shall be [ conducted 

completed ]. 

B. The fall risk [ assessment rating ] shall be reviewed and 

updated [ under each of the following circumstances ]: 

1. At least annually;  

2. When the condition of the resident changes; and 

3. After a fall. 

C. Should a resident [ who meets the criteria for assisted 

living care ] fall, the facility must show documentation of an 

analysis of the circumstances of the fall and interventions that 

were initiated to prevent or reduce [ additional risk of 

subsequent ] falls.   

22VAC40-73-330. Mental health screening. 

A. A mental health screening shall be conducted prior to 

admission if behaviors or patterns of behavior occurred 

within the previous six months that were indicative of mental 

illness, intellectual disability, substance abuse, or behavioral 

disorders and that caused, or continue to cause, concern for 

the health, safety, or welfare either of that individual or others 

who could be placed at risk of harm by that individual.  

Exceptions:  

1. If it is not possible for the screening to be conducted 

prior to admission, the individual may be admitted if all 

other admission requirements are met. The reason for the 

delay shall be documented and the screening shall be 

conducted as soon as possible, but no later than 30 days 

after admission. 

2. The screening shall not be required for individuals under 

the care of a qualified mental health professional 

immediately prior to admission, as long as there is 

documentation of the person's psychosocial and behavioral 

functioning as specified in 22VAC40-73-340 A 1. 

B. A mental health screening shall be conducted when a 

resident displays behaviors or patterns of behavior indicative 

of mental illness, intellectual disability, substance abuse, or 

behavioral disorders that cause concern for the health, safety, 
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or welfare of either that [ individual resident ] or others who 

could be placed at risk of harm by the [ individual resident ]. 

C. The mental health screening shall be conducted by a 

qualified mental health professional having no financial 

interest in the assisted living facility, directly or indirectly as 

an owner, officer, employee, or as an independent contractor 

with the facility. 

D. A copy of the screening shall be filed in the resident's 

record. 

E. If the screening indicates a need for mental health, 

intellectual disability, substance abuse, or behavioral disorder 

services for the resident, the facility shall provide: 

1. Notification of the resident's need for such services to 

the community services board, behavioral health authority, 

or other appropriate licensed provider identified by the 

resident or his legal representative; and  

2. Notification to the resident, authorized contact person of 

record, and physician of record that mental health services 

have been recommended for the resident. 

22VAC40-73-340. Psychosocial and behavioral history. 

A. When determining appropriateness of admission for an 

individual with mental illness, intellectual disability, 

substance abuse, or behavioral disorders, the following 

information shall be obtained by the facility: 

1. If the prospective resident is referred by a state or 

private hospital, community services board, behavioral 

health authority, or long-term care facility, documentation 

of the individual's psychosocial and behavioral functioning 

shall be acquired [ prior to admission ].  

2. If the prospective resident is coming from a private 

residence, information about the individual's psychosocial 

and behavioral functioning shall be gathered from primary 

sources, such as family members [ or, ] friends [ , or 

physician ]. Although there is no requirement for written 

information from primary sources, the facility must 

document the source and content of the information that 

was obtained. 

B. The administrator or his designee shall document that the 

individual's psychosocial and behavioral history were 

reviewed and used to help determine the appropriateness of 

the admission. 

C. If the individual is admitted, the psychosocial and 

behavioral history shall be used in the development of the 

person's individualized service plan and documentation of the 

history shall be filed in the [ resident's ] record. 

22VAC40-73-350. Sex offender information. 

A. The assisted living facility shall register with the 

Department of State Police to receive notice of the 

registration or reregistration of any sex offender within the 

same or a contiguous zip code area in which the facility is 

located, pursuant to § 9.1-914 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The assisted living facility shall ascertain, prior to 

admission, whether a potential resident is a registered sex 

offender if the facility anticipates the potential resident will 

have a length of stay greater than three days or in fact stays 

longer than three days and shall document in the resident's 

record that this was ascertained and the date the information 

was obtained. 

C. The assisted living facility shall ensure that each resident 

or his legal representative is fully informed, prior to or at the 

time of admission and annually, that he should exercise 

whatever due diligence he deems necessary with respect to 

information on any sex offenders registered pursuant to 

Chapter 9 (§ 9.1-900 et. seq.) of Title 9.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, including how to obtain such information. Written 

acknowledgment of having been so informed shall be 

provided by the resident or his legal representative and shall 

be maintained in the resident's record. 

D. At the same time that the person is informed as required 

in subsection C of this section, the assisted living facility 

shall provide notification that, upon request, the facility shall: 

1. Assist the resident, prospective resident, or his legal 

representative in accessing the information on registered 

sex offenders; and 

2. Provide the resident, prospective resident, or his legal 

representative with printed copies of the information on 

registered sex offenders. 

22VAC40-73-360. Emergency placement. 

A. An emergency placement shall occur only when the 

emergency is documented and approved by (i) an adult 

protective services worker for public pay individuals or (ii) an 

independent physician or an adult protective services worker 

for private pay individuals. 

B. When an emergency placement occurs, the person shall 

remain in the assisted living facility no longer than seven 

days unless all the requirements for admission have been met 

and the person has been admitted. 

C. The facility shall obtain sufficient information on the 

person to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the 

[ individual person ] while he remains at the facility as 

allowed by subsection B of this section.  

22VAC40-73-370. Respite care. 

If an assisted living facility provides respite care as defined 

in 22VAC40-73-10, the requirements of this chapter apply to 

the respite care, except as follows: 

1. For individuals in respite care, the ISP shall be 

completed prior to the person participating in respite care 

and need not include expected outcome.  
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2. [ Each At the ] time an individual returns for respite 

care, the facility shall reevaluate the person's 

condition [ and care needs, ] and as needed, ensure that the 

uniform assessment instrument [ and, ] the individualized 

service plan [ , and medication orders ] are updated. The 

reevaluation shall include [ , but not be limited to, ] 

observation of the person; interviews with the individual 

and his legal representative, if any; and consultation with 

others knowledgeable about the person, as appropriate. 

[ The reevaluation shall indicate in writing whether or not 

the person's condition or care needs have changed and 

specify any changes. The reevaluation shall be signed and 

dated by the staff person completing the reevaluation and 

by the individual in respite care or his legal representative 

and shall be retained in the individual's record. ]   

3. If the period of time between respite care stays is six 

months or longer, a new physical examination report shall 

be required prior to the individual returning for respite care 

[ , except that a new tuberculosis screening would only be 

required one time per year ]. The examination shall take 

place within 30 days prior to the person's return for respite 

care. 

4. The record for the individual in respite care shall include 

the dates of respite care. 

5. The medication review required by 22VAC40-73-690 

does not apply to individuals in respite care. 

22VAC40-73-380. Resident personal and social 

information. 

A. Prior to or at the time of admission to an assisted living 

facility, the following personal and social information on a 

person shall be obtained: 

1. Name; 

2. Last home address, and address from which resident was 

received, if different; 

3. Date of admission; 

4. Birth date or if unknown, estimated age; 

5. Birthplace, if known; 

6. Marital status, if known; 

7. Name, address, and telephone number of all legal 

representatives, if any; 

8. If there is a legal representative, copies of current legal 

documents that show proof of each legal representative's 

authority to act on behalf of the resident and that specify 

the scope of the representative's authority to make 

decisions and to perform other functions; 

9. Name, address, and telephone number of next of kin, if 

known (two preferred); 

10. Name, address, and telephone number of designated 

contact person authorized by the resident or legal 

representative, if appropriate, for notification purposes, 

including emergency notification and notification of the 

need for mental health, intellectual disability, substance 

abuse, or behavioral disorder services - if the resident or 

legal representative is willing to designate an authorized 

contact person. There may be more than one designated 

contact person. The designated contact person may also be 

listed under another category, such as next of kin or legal 

representative; 

11. Name, address, and telephone number of the 

responsible individual stipulated in 22VAC40-73-550 H, if 

needed; 

12. Name, address, and telephone number of personal 

physician, if known; 

13. Name, address, and telephone number of personal 

dentist, if known; 

14. Name, address, and telephone number of clergyman 

and place of worship, if applicable; 

15. Name, address, and telephone number of local 

department of social services or any other agency, if 

applicable, and the name of the assigned case manager or 

caseworker; 

16. Service in the armed forces, if applicable; 

17. Lifetime vocation, career, or primary role; 

18. Special interests and hobbies; 

19. Known allergies, if any;  

20. Information concerning advance directives, Do Not 

Resuscitate (DNR) Orders, or organ donation, if 

applicable; [ and 

21. For residents who meet the criteria for assisted living 

care, the additional information in subdivisions a, b, and c 

of this subdivision 21:  

a. 21. ] Previous mental health or intellectual disability 

services history, if any, and if applicable for care or 

services; 

[ b. 22. ] Current behavioral and social functioning 

including strengths and problems; and 

[ c. 23. ] Any substance abuse history if applicable for care 

or services. 

B. The personal and social information required in 

subsection A of this section shall be placed in the 

[ individual's person's record and kept current ]. 

22VAC40-73-390. Resident agreement with facility. 

A. At or prior to the time of admission, there shall be a 

written [ agreement or written acknowledgment 
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agreement/acknowledgment ] of notification dated and signed 

by the resident or applicant for admission or the appropriate 

legal representative, and by the licensee or administrator. This 

document shall include the following: 

1. Financial arrangement for accommodations, services, 

and care that specifies: 

a. Listing of specific charges for accommodations, 

services, and care to be made to the individual resident 

signing the agreement, the frequency of payment, and 

any rules relating to nonpayment; 

b. Description of all accommodations, services, and care 

that the facility offers and any related charges; 

c. For an auxiliary grant recipient, a list of services 

included under the auxiliary grant rate; 

d. The amount and purpose of an advance payment or 

deposit payment and the refund policy for such payment, 

except that recipients of auxiliary grants may not be 

charged an advance payment or deposit payment; 

e. The policy with respect to increases in charges and 

length of time for advance notice of intent to increase 

charges; 

f. If the ownership of any personal property, real estate, 

money or financial investments is to be transferred to the 

facility at the time of admission or at some future date, it 

shall be stipulated in the agreement; and 

g. The refund policy to apply when transfer of 

ownership, closing of facility, or resident transfer or 

discharge occurs. 

2. Requirements or rules to be imposed regarding resident 

conduct and other restrictions or special conditions. 

3. Those actions, circumstances, or conditions that would 

result or might result in the resident's discharge from the 

facility. 

4. [ Signed Specific ] acknowledgments that:  

a. Requirements or rules regarding resident conduct, 

other restrictions, or special conditions have been 

reviewed by the resident or his legal representative; 

b. The resident or his legal representative has been 

informed of the policy regarding the amount of notice 

required when a resident wishes to move from the 

facility; 

c. The resident has been informed of the policy required 

by 22VAC40-73-840 regarding pets living in the facility; 

d. The resident has been informed of the policy required 

by 22VAC40-73-860 K regarding weapons; 

e. The resident or his legal representative or responsible 

individual as stipulated in 22VAC40-73-550 H has 

reviewed § 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia, Rights 

and Responsibilities of Residents of Assisted Living 

Facilities, and that the provisions of this statute have 

been explained to him; 

f. The resident or his legal representative or responsible 

individual as stipulated in 22VAC40-73-550 H has 

reviewed and had explained to him the facility's policies 

and procedures for implementing § 63.2-1808 of the 

Code of Virginia [ , including the grievance policy and 

the transfer or discharge policy ]; 

g. [ The resident has been informed and had explained to 

him that he may refuse release of information regarding 

his personal affairs and records to any individual outside 

the facility, except as otherwise provided in law and 

except in case of his transfer to another caregiving 

facility, notwithstanding any requirements of this 

chapter; 

h. ] The resident has been informed that interested 

residents may establish and maintain a resident council, 

that the facility is responsible for providing assistance 

with the formation and maintenance of the council, 

whether or not such a council currently exists in the 

facility, and the general purpose of a resident council 

(See 22VAC40-73-830); 

[ h. i. ] The resident has been informed of the bed hold 

policy in case of temporary transfer or movement from 

the facility, if the facility has such a policy (See 

22VAC40-73-420 B); 

[ I. j. ] The resident has been informed of the policy or 

guidelines regarding visiting in the facility, if the facility 

has such a policy or guidelines (See 22VAC40-73-540 

C); 

[ j. k. ] The resident has been informed of the rules and 

restrictions regarding smoking on the premises of the 

facility, including [ but not limited to ] that which is 

required by 22VAC40-73-820; 

[ k. l. ] The resident has been informed of the policy 

regarding the administration and storage of medications 

and dietary supplements; and 

[ l. m. ] The resident has received written assurance that 

the facility has the appropriate license to meet his care 

needs at the time of admission, as required by 22VAC40-

73-310 D. 

B. Copies of the signed [ agreement or acknowledgment of 

notification agreement/acknowledgment and any updates as 

noted in subsection C of this section ] shall be provided to the 

resident and, as appropriate, his legal representative and shall 

be retained in the resident's record. 

C. The original [ agreement agreement/acknowledgment ] 

shall be updated whenever there are changes [ in financial 
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arrangements, accommodations, services, care provided by 

the facility, requirements governing the resident's conduct, 

other restrictions, or special conditions, to any of the policies 

or information referenced or identified in the 

agreement/acknowledgment and dated ] and signed by the 

licensee or administrator and the resident or his legal 

representative. [ If the original agreement provides for 

specific changes in any of these items, this standard does not 

apply to those changes. ]  

22VAC40-73-400. Monthly statement of charges and 

payments. 

The facility shall provide to each resident or the resident's 

legal representative, if one has been appointed, a monthly 

statement that itemizes any charges made by the facility and 

any payments received from the resident or on behalf of the 

resident during the previous calendar month and shall show 

the balance due or any credits for overpayment. The facility 

shall also place a copy of the monthly statement in the 

resident's record. 

22VAC40-73-410. Orientation and related information for 

residents. 

A. Upon admission, the assisted living facility shall provide 

an orientation for new residents and their legal 

representatives, including [ but not limited to, ] emergency 

response procedures, mealtimes, and use of the call system. If 

needed, the orientation shall be modified as appropriate for 

residents with cognitive impairments. Acknowledgment of 

having received the orientation shall be signed and dated by 

the resident and, as appropriate, his legal representative, and 

such documentation shall be kept in the resident's record. 

B. Upon admission and upon request, the assisted living 

facility shall provide to the resident and, if appropriate, his 

legal representative, a written description of the types of staff 

persons working in the facility and the services provided, 

including the hours such services are available. 

22VAC40-73-420. Acceptance back in facility. 

A. An assisted living facility shall establish procedures to 

ensure that any resident detained by a temporary detention 

order pursuant to §§ 37.2-809 through 37.2-813 of the Code 

of Virginia is accepted back in the assisted living facility if 

the resident is not involuntarily committed pursuant to 

§§ 37.2-814 through 37.2-819 of the Code of Virginia. The 

procedures shall include [ , but not be limited to ]: 

1. Obtaining written recommendations from a qualified 

mental health professional regarding supportive services 

necessary to address the mental health needs of the resident 

returning to the facility; 

2. Documenting whether the recommendations specified in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection can be implemented based 

on facility or community resources and whether the 

resident can be retained at the facility or would need to be 

discharged; 

3. Updating the resident's individualized service plan, as 

needed; and 

4. Ensuring that direct care staff involved in the care and 

supervision of the resident receive clear and timely 

communication regarding their responsibilities in respect to 

the mental health needs of the resident and behavioral or 

emotional indicators of possible crisis situations. 

B. If an assisted living facility allows for temporary 

movement of a resident with agreement to hold a bed, it shall 

develop and follow a written bed hold policy, which includes 

[ , but is not limited to, ] the conditions for which a bed will 

be held, any time frames, terms of payment, and 

circumstances under which the bed will no longer be held. 

[ For recipients of an auxiliary grant, the bed hold policy must 

be consistent with auxiliary grant program policy and 

guidance. ]   

22VAC40-73-430. Discharge of residents. 

A. When actions, circumstances, conditions, or care needs 

occur that will result in the discharge of a resident, discharge 

planning shall begin immediately, and there shall be 

documentation of such, including the beginning date of 

discharge planning. The resident shall be moved within 30 

days, except that if persistent efforts have been made and the 

time frame is not met, the facility shall document the reason 

and the efforts that have been made.  

B. As soon as discharge planning begins, the assisted living 

facility shall notify the resident, the resident's legal 

representative and designated contact person if any, of the 

planned discharge, the reason for the discharge, and that the 

resident will be moved within 30 days unless there are 

extenuating circumstances relating to inability to place the 

resident in another setting within the time frame referenced in 

subsection A of this section. Written notification of the actual 

discharge date and place of discharge shall be given to the 

resident, the resident's legal representative and contact 

person, if any, and additionally for public pay residents, the 

eligibility worker and assessor, at least 14 days prior to the 

date that the resident will be discharged. 

C. The assisted living facility shall adopt and conform to a 

written policy regarding the number of days notice that is 

required when a resident wishes to move from the facility. 

Any required notice of intent to move shall not exceed 30 

days. 

D. The facility shall assist the resident and his legal 

representative, if any, in the discharge or transfer process. 

The facility shall help the resident prepare for relocation, 

including discussing the resident's destination. Primary 

responsibility for transporting the resident and his possessions 

rests with the resident or his legal representative. 
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E. When a resident's condition presents an immediate and 

serious risk to the health, safety, or welfare of the resident or 

others and emergency discharge is necessary, [ the ] 14-day 

[ advance ] notification of planned discharge does not apply, 

although the reason for the relocation shall be discussed with 

the resident and, when possible, his legal representative prior 

to the move. 

F. Under emergency conditions, the resident's legal 

representative, designated contact person, family, caseworker, 

social worker, or any other persons, as appropriate, shall be 

informed as rapidly as possible, but [ by no later than ] the 

close of the day following discharge, of the reasons for the 

move. For public pay residents, the eligibility worker and 

assessor shall also be [ so ] informed [ of the emergency 

discharge ] within the same time frame. No later than five 

days after discharge, the information shall be provided in 

writing to all those notified.  

G. For public pay residents, in the event of a resident's 

death, the assisted living facility shall provide written 

notification to the eligibility worker and assessor within five 

days after the resident's death. 

H. Discharge statement. 

1. At the time of discharge, the assisted living facility shall 

provide to the resident and, as appropriate, his legal 

representative and designated contact person a dated 

statement signed by the licensee or administrator that 

contains the following information: 

a. The date on which the resident, his legal 

representative, or designated contact person was notified 

of the planned discharge and the name of the legal 

representative or designated contact person who was 

notified; 

b. The reason or reasons for the discharge; 

c. The actions taken by the facility to assist the resident 

in the discharge and relocation process; and 

d. The date of the actual discharge from the facility and 

the resident's destination. 

2. [ When the termination of care is due to emergency 

conditions, the dated statement shall contain the 

information in subdivisions 1 a through 1 d of this 

subsection as appropriate and shall be provided or mailed 

to the resident, his legal representative, or designated 

contact person within 48 hours from the time of the 

decision to discharge. 3. A copy of the written statement 

shall be retained in the resident's record. 

I. When the resident is discharged and moves to another 

caregiving facility, the assisted living facility shall provide to 

the receiving facility such information related to the resident 

as is necessary to ensure continuity of care and services. 

Original information pertaining to the resident shall be 

maintained by the assisted living facility from which the 

resident was discharged. The assisted living facility shall 

maintain a listing of all information shared with the receiving 

facility. 

J. Within 60 days of the date of discharge, each resident or 

his legal representative shall be given a final statement of 

account, any refunds due, and return of any money, property, 

or things of value held in trust or custody by the facility. 

Part VI 

Resident Care and Related Services 

22VAC40-73-440. Uniform assessment instrument (UAI). 

A. All residents of and applicants to assisted living facilities 

shall be assessed face to face using the uniform assessment 

instrument in accordance with Assessment in Assisted Living 

Facilities (22VAC30-110). The UAI shall be completed prior 

to admission, at least annually, and whenever there is a 

significant change in the resident's condition.  

B. [ For private pay individuals, the UAI shall be completed 

by one of the following qualified assessors: 

1. An assisted living facility staff person who has 

successfully completed state-approved training on the 

uniform assessment instrument and level of care criteria for 

either public or private pay assessments, provided the 

administrator or the administrator's designated 

representative has successfully completed such training 

and approves and then signs the completed UAI, and the 

facility maintains documentation of completed training; 

2. An independent physician; or 

3. A qualified public human services agency assessor. 

C. For a private pay individual, if the UAI is completed by 

an independent physician or a qualified human services 

agency assessor, the assisted living facility shall be 

responsible for coordinating with the physician or the agency 

assessor to ensure that the UAI is completed as required.  

D. For private pay individuals, the assisted living facility 

shall ensure that the uniform assessment instrument is 

completed as required by 22VAC30-110. 

E. For public pay individuals, the UAI shall be completed by 

a case manager or qualified assessor as specified in 

22VAC30-110. 

F. ] The UAI shall be completed within 90 days prior to 

admission to the assisted living facility, except that if there 

has been a change in the resident's condition since the 

completion of the UAI that would affect the admission, a new 

UAI shall be completed.  

[ C. G. ] When a resident moves to an assisted living facility 

from another assisted living facility or other long-term care 

setting that uses the UAI, if there is a completed UAI on 
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record, another UAI does not have to be completed except 

that a new UAI shall be completed whenever: 

1. There is a significant change in the resident's condition; 

or  

2. The previous assessment is more than 12 months old. 

[ D. H. ] Annual reassessments and reassessments due to a 

significant change in the resident's condition, using the UAI, 

shall be utilized to determine whether a resident's needs can 

continue to be met by the facility and whether continued 

placement in the facility is in the best interest of the resident. 

[ E. I. ] During an inspection or review, staff from the 

department, the Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

or the local department of social services may initiate a 

change in level of care for any assisted living facility resident 

for whom it is determined that the resident's UAI is not 

reflective of the resident's current status. 

[ F. J. ] At the request of the assisted living facility, the 

resident's legal representative, the resident's physician, the 

department, or the local department of social services an 

independent assessment using the UAI shall be completed to 

determine whether the resident's care needs are being met in 

the assisted living facility. The assisted living facility shall 

assist in obtaining the independent assessment as requested. 

An independent assessment is one that is completed by a 

qualified entity other than the original assessor.  

[ G. For private pay individuals, the assisted living facility 

shall ensure that the uniform assessment instrument is 

completed as required by 22VAC30-110.  

H. For a private pay resident, if the UAI is completed by an 

independent physician or a qualified human services agency 

assessor, the assisted living facility shall be responsible for 

coordinating with the physician or the agency assessor to 

ensure that the UAI is completed as required. 

I.  K. ] The assisted living facility shall be in compliance 

with the requirements set forth in 22VAC30-110. 

[ J.  L. ] The facility shall maintain the completed UAI in the 

resident's record. 

22VAC40-73-450. Individualized service plans. 

A. On [ or within seven days prior to ] the day of admission, 

[ unless a comprehensive individualized service plan is 

completed during that time, ] a preliminary plan of care shall 

be developed to address the basic needs of the resident [ , 

which that ] adequately protects his health, safety, and 

welfare. The preliminary plan shall be developed by a staff 

person with the qualifications specified in subsection B of 

this section and in conjunction with the resident, and, as 

appropriate, other individuals noted in subdivision B 1 of this 

section. [ The preliminary plan shall be identified as such and 

be signed and dated by the licensee, administrator, or his 

designee (i.e., the person who has developed the plan), and by 

the resident or his legal representative. 

Exception: A preliminary plan of care is not necessary if a 

comprehensive individualized service plan is developed, in 

conformance with this section, on the day of admission. ]  

B. The licensee, administrator, or his designee who has 

successfully completed the department-approved 

individualized service plan (ISP) training, provided by a 

licensed health care professional practicing within the scope 

of his profession, shall develop a comprehensive ISP to meet 

the resident's service needs. [ State approved private pay UAI 

training must be completed as a prerequisite to ISP training. ] 

An individualized service plan is not required for those 

residents who are assessed as capable of maintaining 

themselves in an independent living status. 

1. The licensee, administrator, or designee shall develop 

the ISP in conjunction with the resident and, as 

appropriate, with the resident's family, legal representative, 

direct care staff members, case manager, health care 

providers, qualified mental health professionals, or other 

persons. 

2. The plan shall [ reflect the resident's assessed needs 

and ] support the principles of individuality, personal 

dignity, freedom of choice, and home-like environment 

and shall include other formal and informal supports [ in 

addition to those included in subdivision C 2 of this 

section ] that may participate in the delivery of services. 

Whenever possible, residents shall be given a choice of 

options regarding the type and delivery of services. 

3. The plan shall be designed to maximize the resident's 

level of functional ability. 

C. The comprehensive individualized service plan shall be 

completed within 30 days after admission and shall include 

the following: 

1. Description of identified needs and date identified based 

upon the (i) UAI; (ii) admission physical examination; (iii) 

interview with resident; (iv) fall risk assessment, if 

appropriate; (v) assessment of psychological, behavioral, 

and emotional functioning, if appropriate; and (vi) other 

sources; 

2. A written description of what services will be provided 

to address identified needs, and if applicable, other 

services, and who will provide them; 

3. When and where the services will be provided;  

4. The expected outcome and time frame for expected 

outcome;  

5. Date outcome achieved; and 

6. For a facility licensed for residential living care only, if 

a resident lives in a building housing 19 or fewer residents, 
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a statement that specifies whether the [ person resident ] 

does [ need ] or does not need to have a staff member 

awake and on duty at night. 

D. When hospice care is provided to a resident, the assisted 

living facility and the licensed hospice organization shall 

communicate and establish [ and agree an agreed ] upon [ a ] 

coordinated plan of care for the resident. The services 

provided by each shall be included on the individualized 

service plan. 

E. The individualized service plan shall be signed and dated 

by the licensee, administrator, or his designee, (i.e., the 

person who has developed the plan), and by the resident or 

his legal representative. The plan shall also indicate any other 

individuals who contributed to the development of the plan, 

with a notation of the date of contribution. The title or 

relationship to the resident of each person who was involved 

in the development of the plan shall be [ so noted included ]. 

These requirements shall also apply to reviews and updates of 

the plan. 

F. Individualized service plans shall be reviewed and 

updated at least once every 12 months and as needed as the 

condition of the resident changes. The review and update 

shall be performed by a staff person with the qualifications 

specified in subsection B of this section and in conjunction 

with the resident and, as appropriate, with the resident's 

family, legal representative, direct care staff, case manager, 

health care providers, qualified mental health professionals, 

or other persons.  

G. The master service plan shall be filed in the resident's 

record. A current copy shall be provided to the resident and 

shall also be maintained in a location accessible at all times to 

direct care staff, but that protects the confidentiality of the 

contents of the service plan. Extracts from the plan may be 

filed in locations specifically identified for their retention. 

H. The facility shall ensure that the care and services 

specified in the individualized service plan are provided to 

each resident, except that: 

1. There may be a deviation from the plan when mutually 

agreed upon between the facility and the resident or the 

resident's legal representative at the time the care or 

services are scheduled or when there is an emergency that 

prevents the care or services from being provided. 

2. Deviation from the plan shall be documented in writing, 

including a description of the circumstances, the date it 

occurred, and the signatures of the parties involved, and 

the documentation shall be retained in the resident's record.  

3. The facility may not start, change, or discontinue 

medications, dietary supplements, diets, medical 

procedures, or treatments without an order from a 

physician or other prescriber. 

22VAC40-73-460. Personal care services and general 

supervision and care. 

A. The facility shall assume general responsibility for the 

health, safety, and well-being of the residents. 

B. Care provision and service delivery shall be resident-

centered to the maximum extent possible and include: 

1. Resident participation in decisions regarding the care 

and services provided to him;  

2. Personalization of care and services tailored to the 

resident's circumstances and preferences; and 

3. Prompt response by staff to resident needs as reasonable 

to the circumstances. 

C. Care shall be furnished in a way that fosters the 

independence of each resident and enables him to fulfill his 

potential. 

D. The facility shall provide supervision of resident 

schedules, care, and activities, including attention to 

specialized needs, such as prevention of falls and wandering 

from the premises. 

E. The facility shall regularly observe each resident for 

changes in physical, mental, emotional, and social 

functioning. 

1. Any notable change in a resident's condition or 

functioning, including illness, injury, or altered behavior, 

and [ any corresponding ] action taken shall be 

documented in the resident's record. 

2. The facility shall provide appropriate assistance when 

observation reveals unmet needs. 

F. The facility shall notify the next of kin, legal 

representative, designated contact person, or, if applicable, 

any responsible social agency of any incident of a resident 

falling or wandering from the premises, whether or not it 

results in injury. This notification shall occur as soon as 

possible but [ at least within no later than ] 24 hours from the 

time of initial discovery or knowledge of the incident. The 

resident's record shall include documentation of the 

notification, including date, time, caller, and person or agency 

notified. 

Exception: If the whereabouts of a resident are unknown and 

there is reason to be concerned about his safety, the facility 

shall immediately notify the appropriate law-enforcement 

agency. The facility shall also immediately notify the 

resident's next of kin, legal representative, designated contact 

person, or, if applicable, any responsible social agency. 

G. The facility shall provide care and services to each 

resident by staff who are able to communicate with the 

resident in a language the resident understands or shall make 

provisions for communications between staff and residents to 

ensure an accurate exchange of information. 
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H. The facility shall ensure that personal assistance and care 

are provided to each resident as necessary so that the needs of 

the resident are met, including [ but not limited to ] assistance 

or care with: 

1. The activities of daily living: 

a. Bathing - at least twice a week, but more often if 

needed or desired; 

b. Dressing; 

c. Toileting; 

d. Transferring; 

e. Bowel control;  

f. Bladder control; and 

g. [ Eating or feeding Eating/feeding ]; 

2. The instrumental activities of daily living: 

a. Meal preparation; 

b. Housekeeping; 

c. Laundry; and 

d. Managing money; 

3. Ambulation; 

4. Hygiene and grooming: 

a. Shampooing, combing, and brushing hair; 

b. Shaving; 

c. Trimming fingernails and toenails (certain medical 

conditions necessitate that this be done by a licensed 

health care professional); 

d. Daily tooth brushing and denture care; and 

e. Skin care at least twice daily for those with limited 

mobility; and 

5. Functions and tasks: 

a. Arrangements for transportation; 

b. Arrangements for shopping; 

c. Use of the telephone; and 

d. Correspondence. 

I. Each resident shall be dressed in clean clothing and be 

free of odors related to hygiene. Each resident shall be 

encouraged to wear day clothing when out of bed. 

J. Residents who are incontinent shall have a full or partial 

bath and clean clothing and linens each time their clothing or 

bed linen is soiled or wet. 

K. The facility shall ensure each resident is able to obtain 

individually preferred personal care items when: 

1. The preferred personal care items are reasonably 

available; and 

2. The resident is willing and able to pay for the preferred 

items. 

22VAC40-73-470. Health care services. 

A. The facility shall ensure, either directly or indirectly, that 

the health care service needs of residents are met. The ways 

in which the needs may be met include [ , but are not limited 

to ]: 

1. Staff of the facility providing health care services; 

2. Persons employed by a resident providing health care 

services; or 

3. The facility assisting residents in making appropriate 

arrangements for health care services. 

a. When a resident is unable to participate in making 

appropriate arrangements, the resident's family, legal 

representative, designated contact person, cooperating 

social agency, or personal physician shall be notified of 

the need. 

b. When mental health care is needed or desired by a 

resident, this assistance shall include securing the 

services of the local community services 

board, [ behavioral health authority, ] state or federal 

mental health clinic, or similar facility or agent in the 

private sector.  

B. A resident's need for skilled nursing treatments within the 

facility shall be met by the facility's employment of a licensed 

nurse or contractual agreement with a licensed nurse, or by a 

home health agency or by a private duty licensed nurse. 

C. Services shall be provided to prevent clinically avoidable 

complications, including [ but not limited to ]: 

1. Pressure ulcer development or worsening of an ulcer;  

2. Contracture; 

3. Loss of continence;  

4. Dehydration; and 

5. Malnutrition. 

D. The facility shall develop and implement a written policy 

to ensure that staff are made aware of [ allergies and allergic 

reactions and ] any life-threatening conditions of residents, 

[ including but not limited to allergic reactions, ] and actions 

that staff may need to take. 

E. When care for gastric tubes is provided to a resident by 

unlicensed direct care facility staff as allowed in clause (ii) of 

22VAC40-73-310 K, the following criteria shall be met: 

1. Prior to the care being provided, the facility shall obtain 

an informed consent, signed by the resident or his legal 
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representative, that includes at a minimum 

acknowledgment that: 

a. An unlicensed person will routinely be providing the 

gastric tube care and feedings under the delegation of a 

registered nurse (RN) who has assessed the resident's 

care needs and the unlicensed person's ability to safely 

and adequately meet those needs; 

b. Delegation means the RN need not be present in the 

facility during routine gastric tube care and feedings;  

c. Registered medication aides are prohibited from 

administering medications via gastric tubes and 

medications may only be administered by licensed 

personnel (e.g., a licensed practical nurse (LPN) or RN);  

d. The tube care and feedings provided to the resident 

and the supervisory oversight provided by the delegating 

RN will be reflected on the individualized service plan as 

required in 22VAC40-73-450; and 

e. The signed consent shall be maintained in the 

resident's record. 

2. Only those direct care staff with written approval from 

the delegating [ nurse RN ] may provide the tube care and 

feedings. In addition to the approval, the RN shall 

document: 

a. The general and resident-specific instructions he 

provided to the staff person; and 

b. The staff person's successful demonstration of 

competency in tube care, 

3. The delegating RN shall be employed by or under 

contract with the licensed assisted living facility and shall 

have supervisory authority over the direct care staff being 

approved to provide gastric tube care and feedings. 

4. The supervisory responsibilities of the delegating [ nurse 

RN ] include [ , but are not limited to ]: 

a. Monitoring the direct care staff performance related to 

the delegated tasks;  

b. Evaluating the outcomes for the resident;  

c. Ensuring appropriate documentation; and 

d. Documenting relevant findings and recommendations. 

5. The delegating RN shall schedule supervisory oversight 

based upon the following criteria: 

a. The stability and condition of the resident;  

b. The experience and competency of the unlicensed 

direct care staff person;  

c. The nature of the tasks or procedures being delegated; 

and  

d. The proximity and availability of the delegating 

[ nurse RN ] to the unlicensed direct care staff person 

when the nursing tasks will be performed.  

6. Prior to allowing direct care staff to independently 

perform care for gastric tubes as provided for in this 

subsection, [ each person such staff ] must be able to 

successfully demonstrate performance of the entire 

procedure correctly while under direct observation of the 

delegating RN. Subsequently, each [ person direct care 

staff ] shall be directly observed no less than monthly for at 

least three consecutive months, after which direct 

observation shall be conducted no less than every six 

months or more often if indicated. The delegating RN shall 

retain documentation at the facility of all supervisory 

activities and direct observations of staff. 

7. Contact information for the delegating RN shall be 

readily available to all staff responsible for tube feedings 

when an RN or LPN is not present in the facility. 

8. Written protocols that encompass the basic policies and 

procedures for the performance of gastric tube feedings, as 

well as any resident-specific instructions, shall be available 

to any direct care staff member responsible for tube 

feedings.  

9. The facility shall have a written back-up plan to ensure 

that [ a an RN, LPN, or ] person who is qualified as 

specified in this subsection is available if the direct care 

staff member who usually provides the care is absent. 

F. When the resident suffers serious accident, injury, illness, 

or medical condition, or there is reason to suspect that such 

has occurred, medical attention from a licensed health care 

professional shall be secured immediately. The circumstances 

involved and the medical attention received or refused shall 

be documented in the resident's record. The date and time of 

occurrence, as well as the personnel involved shall be 

included in the documentation. 

1. The resident's physician, if not already involved, next of 

kin, legal representative, designated contact person, case 

manager, and any responsible social agency, as 

appropriate, shall be notified as soon as possible but [ at 

least within no later than ] 24 hours [ of from ] the situation 

and action taken, or if applicable, the resident's refusal of 

medical attention. If a resident refuses medical attention, 

the resident's physician shall be notified immediately. 

2. A notation shall be made in the resident's record of such 

notice, including the date, time, caller, and person notified. 

G. If a resident refuses medical attention, the facility shall 

assess whether it can continue to meet the resident's needs. 
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22VAC40-73-480. Restorative, habilitative, and 

rehabilitative services. 

A. Facilities shall [ assure ensure ] that all restorative care 

and habilitative service needs of the residents are met. 

Facilities shall coordinate with appropriate professional 

service providers and ensure that any facility staff who assist 

with support for these service needs are trained by and 

receive direction from qualified professionals. Restorative 

and habilitative care includes [ , but is not limited to, ] range 

of motion, assistance with ambulation, positioning, assistance 

and instruction in the activities of daily living, psychosocial 

skills training, and reorientation and reality orientation. 

B. In the provision of restorative and habilitative care, staff 

shall emphasize services such as the following: 

1. Making every effort to keep residents active, within the 

limitations set by physicians' or other prescribers' orders; 

2. Encouraging residents to achieve independence in the 

activities of daily living; 

3. Assisting residents to adjust to their disabilities, to use 

their prosthetic devices, and to redirect their interests if 

they are no longer able to maintain past involvement in 

particular activities;  

4. Assisting residents to carry out prescribed physical 

therapy exercises between appointments with the physical 

therapist; and 

5. Maintaining a bowel and bladder training program. 

C. Facilities shall arrange for specialized rehabilitative 

services by qualified personnel as needed by the resident. 

Rehabilitative services include physical therapy, occupational 

therapy, and speech-language pathology services. 

Rehabilitative services may be indicated when the resident 

has lost or has shown a change in his ability to respond to or 

perform a given task and requires professional rehabilitative 

services in an effort to regain lost function. Rehabilitative 

services may also be indicated to evaluate the appropriateness 

and individual response to the use of assistive technology. 

D. All rehabilitative services rendered by a rehabilitative 

professional shall be performed only upon written medical 

referral by a physician or other qualified health care 

professional. 

E. The physician's or other prescriber's orders, services 

provided, evaluations of progress, and other pertinent 

information regarding the rehabilitative services shall be 

recorded in the resident's record. 

F. Direct care staff who are involved in the care of residents 

using assistive devices shall know how to operate and utilize 

the devices. 

22VAC40-73-490. Health care oversight. 

A. Each assisted living facility shall retain a licensed health 

care professional who has at least two years of experience as 

a health care professional in an adult residential facility, adult 

day care center, acute care facility, nursing home, or licensed 

home care or hospice organization, either by direct 

employment or on a contractual basis, to provide on-site 

health care oversight.  

1. For residents who meet the criteria for residential living 

care:  

a. The licensed health care professional, practicing within 

the scope of his profession, shall provide [ the ] health 

care oversight at least every six months, or more often if 

indicated, based on his professional judgment of the 

seriousness of a resident's needs or the stability of a 

resident's condition; or 

b. If the facility employs a licensed health care 

professional who is on site on a full-time basis, [ the a ] 

licensed health care professional, practicing within the 

scope of his profession, shall provide [ the ] health care 

oversight at least annually, or more often if indicated, 

based on his professional judgment of the seriousness of 

a resident's needs or stability of a resident's condition. 

2. For residents who meet the criteria for assisted living 

care: 

a. The licensed health care professional, practicing within 

the scope of his profession, shall provide [ the ] health 

care oversight at least every three months, or more often 

if indicated, based on his professional judgment of the 

seriousness of a resident's needs or stability of a 

resident's condition; or 

b. If the facility employs a licensed health care 

professional who is on site on a full-time basis, [ the a ] 

licensed health care professional, practicing within the 

scope of his profession, shall provide [ the ] health care 

oversight at least every six months, or more often if 

indicated, based on his professional judgment of the 

seriousness of a resident's needs or stability of a 

resident's condition. 

3. All residents shall be included at least annually in [ the ] 

health care oversight. 

B. While on site, as specified in subsection A of this section, 

the licensed health care professional shall provide health care 

oversight of the following and make recommendations for 

change as needed: 

1. Ascertain whether a resident's service plan appropriately 

addresses the current health care needs of the resident. 

2. Monitor direct care staff performance of health-related 

activities. 
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3. Evaluate the need for staff training. 

4. Provide consultation and technical assistance to staff as 

needed. 

5. Review documentation regarding health care services, 

including medication and treatment records, to assess that 

services are being provided in accordance with physicians' 

or other prescribers' orders. 

6. Monitor conformance to the facility's medication 

management plan and the maintenance of required 

medication reference materials.  

7. [ Evaluate the ability of residents who self-administer 

medications to continue to safely do so. 

7. 8. ] Observe infection control measures and consistency 

with the infection control program of the facility. 

[ 8. Review the current condition and the records of 

restrained residents to assess the appropriateness of the 

restraint and progress toward its reduction or elimination. 

C. For all restrained residents, onsite health care oversight 

shall be provided by a licensed health care professional at 

least every three months and include the following: ]  

[ a. 1. ]  The licensed health care professional shall be at a 

minimum a registered nurse [ who meets the experience 

requirements in subdivision A of this section ].  

[ 2. The licensed health care professional shall review the 

current condition and the records of restrained residents to 

assess the appropriateness of the restraint and progress 

toward its reduction or elimination. ]  

[ b. 3. ] The licensed health care professional providing the 

oversight for this subdivision shall also provide the 

oversight for subdivisions [ B ] 1 through [ 7 B 8 ] of this 

[ subsection section ] for restrained residents. 

[ c. The health care oversight for all restrained residents 

shall be provided at least every three months. 

d. 4. ] The oversight provided shall be a holistic review of 

the physical, emotional, and mental health of the resident 

and identification of any unmet needs.  

[ e. 5. ] The oversight shall include review of physician's 

orders for restraints to determine whether orders are no 

older than three months, as required by 22VAC40-73-710 

[ C E ] 2.  

[ f. 6. ] The oversight shall include an evaluation of 

whether direct care staff have received the restraint training 

required by 22VAC40-73-270 and whether the facility is 

meeting the requirements of 22VAC40-73-710 regarding 

the use of restraints. 

[ 7. The licensed health care professional shall make 

recommendations for change as needed. ]  

[ 9. Certify D. The licensed health care professional who 

provided the health care oversight shall certify ] that the 

requirements of [ subdivisions 1 through 8 of this ] subsection 

[ B and, if applicable, C of this section ] were met, including 

the dates of the health care oversight. The specific residents 

for whom the oversight was provided must be identified. The 

administrator shall be advised of the findings of the health 

care oversight and any recommendations. All of the 

requirements of this [ subdivision subsection ] shall be (i) in 

writing, (ii) signed and dated by the health care professional, 

(iii) provided to the administrator within 10 days of the 

completion of the oversight, and (iv) maintained in the 

facility files for at least two years, with any specific 

recommendations regarding a particular resident also 

maintained in the resident's record.  

[ 10. E. ] Action taken in response to the recommendations 

noted in [ subdivision 9 of this ] subsection [ D of this 

section ] shall be documented in the resident's record if 

resident specific, and if otherwise, in the facility files. 

22VAC40-73-500. Access by community services boards, 

certain local government departments, and behavioral 

health authorities. 

All assisted living facilities shall provide reasonable access 

to staff or contractual agents of community services boards, 

local government departments with policy-advisory 

community services boards, or behavioral health authorities 

as defined in § 37.2-100 of the Code of Virginia for the 

purposes of: 

1. Assessing or evaluating clients residing in the facility;  

2. Providing case management or other services or 

assistance to clients residing in the facility; or  

3. Monitoring the care of clients residing in the facility.  

Such staff or contractual agents also shall be given 

reasonable access to other facility residents who have 

previously requested their services. 

22VAC40-73-510. Mental health services coordination 

and support. 

A. For each resident requiring mental health services, the 

services of the local community services board, [ behavioral 

health authority, ] or a public or private mental health clinic, 

rehabilitative services agency, treatment facility or agent, or 

qualified health care professional shall be secured as 

appropriate based on the resident's current evaluation and to 

the extent possible, the resident's preference for service 

provider. The assisted living facility shall assist the resident 

in obtaining the services. If the services are not able to be 

secured, the facility shall document the reason for such and 

the efforts made to obtain the services. If the resident has a 

legal representative, the representative shall be notified of 

failure to obtain services and the notification shall be 

documented. 
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B. Written procedures to ensure communication and 

coordination between the assisted living facility and the 

mental health service provider shall be established to [ assure 

ensure ] that the mental health needs of the resident are 

addressed.  

C. Efforts, which must be documented, shall be made by the 

assisted living facility to assist in ensuring that prescribed 

interventions are implemented, monitored, and evaluated for 

their effectiveness in addressing the resident's mental health 

needs. 

D. If efforts to obtain the recommended services are 

unsuccessful, the facility must document: 

1. Whether it can continue to meet all other needs of the 

resident. 

2. How it plans to ensure that the failure to obtain the 

recommended services will not compromise the health, 

safety, or rights of the resident and others who come in 

contact with the resident. 

3. Details of additional steps the facility will take to find 

alternative providers to meet the resident's needs. 

[ E. Any contracts for mental health services between the 

facility and the mental health services provider: 

1. Shall not contain terms that conflict with the regulations; 

and 

2. Shall be provided to the regional licensing office within 

10 days of entering into the contract. ]  

22VAC40-73-520. Activity and recreational requirements. 

A. Activities for residents shall: 

1. Support the skills and abilities of residents in order to 

promote or maintain their highest level of independence or 

functioning; 

2. Accommodate individual differences by providing a 

variety of types of activities and levels of involvement; and 

3. Offer residents a varied mix of [ weekly ] activities 

[ weekly ] including [ , but not limited to, ] those that are 

physical; social; cognitive, intellectual, or creative; 

productive; sensory; reflective or 

contemplative; [ involve ] nature or the natural world; and 

weather permitting, outdoor [ activity ]. Any given activity 

may involve more than one of these. Community resources 

as well as facility resources may be used to provide 

activities. 

B. Resident participation in activities.  

1. Residents shall be encouraged but not forced to 

participate in activity programs offered by the facility and 

the community.  

2. During an activity, each resident shall be encouraged but 

not coerced to join in at his level of functioning, to include 

observing. 

3. Any restrictions on participation imposed by a physician 

shall be documented in the resident's record.  

C. Activities shall be planned under the supervision of the 

administrator or other qualified staff person who shall 

encourage involvement of residents and staff in the planning. 

D. In a facility licensed for residential living care only, there 

shall be at least 11 hours of scheduled activities available to 

the residents each week for no less than one hour each day.  

E. In a facility licensed for both residential and assisted 

living care, there shall be at least 14 hours of scheduled 

activities available to the residents each week for no less than 

one hour each day.  

F. During an activity, when needed to ensure that each of the 

following is adequately accomplished, there shall be staff 

persons or volunteers to:  

1. Lead the activity;  

2. Assist the residents with the activity;  

3. Supervise the general area;  

4. Redirect any [ individuals residents ] who require 

different activities; and 

5. Protect the health, safety, and welfare of the residents 

participating in the activity. 

G. The staff person or volunteer leading the activity shall 

have a general understanding of the following: 

1. Attention spans and functional levels of the residents [ in 

the group ]; 

2. Methods to adapt the activity to meet the needs and 

abilities of the residents; 

3. Various methods of engaging and motivating 

[ individuals residents ] to participate; and 

4. The importance of providing appropriate instruction, 

education, and guidance throughout the activity. 

H. Adequate supplies and equipment appropriate for the 

program activities shall be available in the facility. 

I. There shall be a written schedule of activities that meets 

the following criteria: 

1. The schedule of activities shall be developed at least 

monthly. 

2. The schedule shall include: 

a. Group activities for all residents or small groups of 

residents; and 
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b. The name, if any, and the type, date, and hour of the 

activity. 

3. If one activity is substituted for another, the change shall 

be noted on the schedule. 

4. The current month's schedule shall be posted in a 

conspicuous location in the facility or otherwise be made 

available to residents and their families. 

5. The schedule of activities for the past two years shall be 

kept at the facility. 

6. If a resident requires an individual schedule of activities, 

that schedule shall be a part of the individualized service 

plan. 

J. The facility shall promote access to the outdoors.  

K. In addition to the required scheduled activities, there 

shall be unscheduled staff and resident interaction throughout 

the day that fosters an environment that promotes 

socialization opportunities for residents. 

22VAC40-73-530. Freedom of movement. 

A. Any resident who does not have a serious cognitive 

impairment shall be allowed to freely leave the facility. A 

resident who has a serious cognitive impairment shall be 

subject to the provisions set forth in 22VAC40-73-1040 A or 

22VAC40-73-1150 A. 

B. Doors leading to the outside shall not be locked from the 

inside or secured from the inside in any manner that amounts 

to a lock, except that doors may be locked or secured in a 

manner that amounts to a lock in special care units as 

provided in 22VAC40-73-1150 A. Any devices used to lock 

or secure doors in any manner must be in accordance with 

applicable building and fire codes. 

C. The facility shall provide freedom of movement for the 

residents to common areas and to their personal spaces. The 

facility shall not lock residents out of or inside their rooms. 

22VAC40-73-540. Visiting in the facility. 

A. Daily visits to residents in the facility shall be permitted. 

B. Visiting hours shall not be restricted, except by a resident 

when it is the resident's choice.  

C. The facility may establish a policy or guidelines so that 

visiting is not disruptive to other residents and facility 

security is not compromised. However, daily visits and 

visiting hours shall not be restricted as provided in 

subsections A and B of this section. 

D. The facility shall encourage regular family involvement 

with the resident and shall provide ample opportunities for 

family participation in activities at the facility. 

22VAC40-73-550. Resident rights. 

A. The resident shall be encouraged and informed of 

appropriate means as necessary to exercise his rights as a 

resident and a citizen throughout the period of his stay at the 

facility. 

B. The resident has the right to voice or file grievances, or 

both, with the facility and to make recommendations for 

changes in the policies and services of the facility. The 

residents shall be protected by the licensee or administrator, 

or both, from any form of coercion, discrimination, threats, or 

reprisal for having voiced or filed such grievances. 

C. Any resident of an assisted living facility has the rights 

and responsibilities as provided in § 63.2-1808 of the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter. 

D. The operator or administrator of an assisted living facility 

shall establish written policies and procedures for 

implementing § 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. The facility shall make its policies and procedures for 

implementing § 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia available 

and accessible to residents, relatives, agencies, and the 

general public. 

F. The rights and responsibilities of residents shall be 

printed in at least [ 12-point 14-point ] type and posted 

conspicuously in a public place in all assisted living facilities. 

The facility shall also post the name and telephone number of 

the appropriate regional licensing supervisor of the 

department, the Adult Protective Services' toll-free telephone 

number, the toll-free telephone number of the Virginia Long-

Term Care Ombudsman Program and any substate (i.e., local) 

ombudsman program serving the area, and the toll-free 

telephone number of the [ Virginia Office for Protection and 

Advocacy disAbility Law Center of Virginia ].  

G. The rights and responsibilities of residents in assisted 

living facilities shall be reviewed annually with each resident 

or his legal representative or responsible individual as 

stipulated in subsection H of this section and each staff 

person. Evidence of this review shall be the resident's, his 

legal representative's or responsible individual's, or staff 

person's written acknowledgment of having been so informed, 

which shall include the date of the review and shall be filed in 

the resident's or staff person's record. 

H. If a resident is unable to fully understand and exercise the 

rights and responsibilities contained in § 63.2-1808 of the 

Code of Virginia [ and does not have a legal representative ], 

the facility shall require that a responsible individual, of the 

resident's choice when possible, designated in writing in the 

resident's record annually be made aware of each item in 

§ 63.2-1808 and the decisions that affect the resident or relate 

to specific items in § 63.2-1808. [ The responsible individual 

shall not be the facility licensee, administrator, or staff person 
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or family members of the licensee, administrator, or staff 

person. ]  

1. A resident shall be assumed capable of understanding 

and exercising these rights unless a physician determines 

otherwise and documents the reasons for such 

determination in the resident's record. 

2. The facility shall seek a determination and reasons for 

the determination from a resident's physician regarding the 

resident's capability to understand and exercise these rights 

when there is reason to believe that the resident may not be 

capable of such. 

22VAC40-73-560. Resident records. 

A. The facility shall establish written policy and procedures 

for documentation and recordkeeping to ensure that the 

information in resident records is accurate and clear and that 

the records are well-organized. 

B. Resident records shall be identified and easily located by 

resident name, including when a resident's record is kept in 

more than one place. This shall apply to both electronic and 

hard copy material. 

C. Any physician's notes and progress reports in the 

possession of the facility shall be retained in the resident's 

record. 

D. Copies of all agreements between the facility and the 

resident and official acknowledgment of required 

notifications, signed by all parties involved, shall be retained 

in the resident's record. Copies shall be provided to the 

resident and to persons whose signatures appear on the 

document. 

E. All resident records shall be kept current, retained at the 

facility, and kept in a locked area, except that information 

shall be made available as noted in subsection F of this 

section. 

F. The licensee shall [ assure ensure ] that all records are 

treated confidentially and that information shall be made 

available only when needed for care of the resident. All 

records shall be made available for inspection by the 

department's representative. 

G. Residents shall be allowed access to their own records. A 

legal representative of a resident shall be provided access to 

the resident's record or part of the record as allowed by the 

scope of his legal authority.  

H. The complete resident record shall be retained for at least 

two years after the resident leaves the facility. 

1. For at least the first year, the record shall be retained at 

the facility. 

2. After the first year, the record may be retained off site in 

a safe, secure area. The record must be available at the 

facility within 48 hours. 

I. A current picture of each resident shall be readily 

available for identification purposes or, if the resident refuses 

to consent to a picture, there shall be a narrative physical 

description, which is annually updated, maintained in his file. 

22VAC40-73-570. Release of information [ from resident's 

record regarding resident's personal affairs and records ]. 

A. The resident or the appropriate legal representative has 

the right to release information from the resident's record to 

persons or agencies outside the facility.  

B. The licensee is responsible for making available to 

residents and legal representatives a form which they may use 

to grant their written permission for the facility to release 

information to persons or agencies outside the facility. The 

facility shall retain a copy of any signed release of 

information form in the resident's record.  

C. Only under the following circumstances is a facility 

permitted to release information from the resident's records or 

information regarding the resident's personal affairs without 

the written permission of the resident or his legal 

representative, where appropriate:  

1. When records have been properly subpoenaed;  

2. When the resident is in need of emergency medical care 

and is unable or unwilling to grant permission to release 

information or his legal representative is not available to 

grant permission; 

3. When the resident moves to another caregiving facility;  

4. To representatives of the department; or  

5. As otherwise required by law. 

D. When a resident is hospitalized or transported by 

emergency medical personnel, information necessary to the 

care of the resident shall be furnished by the facility to the 

hospital or emergency medical personnel. Examples of such 

information include [ medications a copy of the current 

medication administration record (MAR) ], a Do Not 

Resuscitate (DNR) Order, advance directives, and organ 

donation information. The facility shall also provide the 

name, address, and telephone number of the resident's 

designated contact person to the hospital or emergency 

medical personnel.  

22VAC40-73-580. Food service and nutrition. 

A. When any portion of an assisted living facility is subject 

to inspection by the Virginia Department of Health, the 

facility shall be in compliance with those regulations, as 

evidenced by an initial and subsequent annual reports from 

the Virginia Department of Health. The report shall be 

retained at the facility for a period of at least two years. 

B. All meals shall be served in the dining area as designated 

by the facility, except that: 
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1. If the facility, through its policies and procedures, offers 

routine or regular room service, residents shall be given the 

option of having meals in the dining area or in their rooms, 

provided that: 

a. There is a written agreement to this effect, signed and 

dated by both the resident and the licensee or 

administrator and filed in the resident's record. 

b. If a resident's individualized service plan, physical 

examination report, mental health status report, or any 

other document indicates that the resident has a 

psychiatric condition that contributes to self-isolation, a 

qualified mental health professional shall make a 

determination in writing whether the [ person resident ] 

should have the option of having meals in his room. If 

the determination is made that the resident should not 

have this option, then the resident shall have his meals in 

the dining area. 

2. Under special circumstances, such as temporary illness, 

temporary incapacity, temporary agitation of a resident 

with cognitive impairment, or occasional, infrequent 

requests due to a resident's personal preference, meals may 

be served in a resident's room.  

3. When meals are served in a resident's room, a sturdy 

table must be used. 

C. Personnel shall be available to help any resident who may 

need assistance in reaching the dining room or when eating. 

D. A minimum of 45 minutes shall be allowed for each 

resident to complete a meal. If a resident has been assessed on 

the UAI as dependent in [ eating or feeding eating/feeding ], 

his individualized service plan shall indicate an approximate 

amount of time needed for meals to ensure needs are met. 

E. Facilities shall develop and implement a policy to 

monitor each resident for:  

1. Warning signs of changes in physical or mental status 

related to nutrition; and 

2. Compliance with any needs determined by the resident's 

individualized service plan or prescribed by a physician or 

other prescriber, nutritionist, or health care professional. 

F. Facilities shall implement interventions as soon as a 

nutritional problem is suspected. These interventions shall 

include [ , but are not limited to ] the following: 

1. Weighing residents at least monthly to determine 

whether the resident has significant weight loss (i.e., 5.0% 

weight loss in one month, 7.5% in three months, or 10% in 

six months); and 

2. Notifying the attending physician if a significant weight 

loss is identified in any resident who is not on a physician-

approved weight reduction program and obtaining, 

documenting, and following the physician's instructions 

regarding nutritional care. 

G. Residents with independent living status who have 

kitchens equipped with stove, refrigerator, and sink within 

their individual apartments may have the option of obtaining 

meals from the facility or from another source. If meals are 

obtained from another source, the facility must ensure 

availability of meals when the resident is sick or temporarily 

unable to prepare meals for himself. 

22VAC40-73-590. Number of meals and availability of 

snacks. 

A. At least three well-balanced meals, served at regular 

intervals, shall be provided daily to each resident, unless 

contraindicated as documented by the attending physician in 

the resident's record or as provided for in 22VAC40-73-580 

G. 

B. [ Bedtime and between meal snacks Snacks ] shall be 

made available [ at all times ] for all residents [ desiring 

them ] or in accordance with their physician's or other 

prescriber's orders. 

1. Appropriate adjustments in the provision of snacks to a 

resident shall be made when orders from the resident's 

physician or other prescriber in the resident's record limits 

the receipt or type of snacks. 

2. Vending machines shall not be used as the only source 

for snacks. 

22VAC40-73-600. Time interval between meals. 

A. Time between the [ scheduled ] evening meal 

and [ scheduled ] breakfast the following morning shall not 

exceed 15 hours. 

B. There shall be at least four hours between [ scheduled ] 

breakfast and lunch and at least four hours between 

[ scheduled ] lunch and supper. 

C. When multiple seatings are required due to limited dining 

space, scheduling shall ensure that these time intervals are 

met for all residents. Schedules shall be made available to 

residents, legal representatives, staff, volunteers, and any 

other persons responsible for assisting residents in the dining 

process. 

22VAC40-73-610. Menus for meals and snacks. 

A. Food preferences of residents shall be considered when 

menus are planned.  

B. Menus for meals and snacks for the current week shall be 

dated and posted in an area conspicuous to residents.  

1. Any menu substitutions or additions shall be recorded 

on the posted menu.  

2. A record shall be kept of the menus served for two 

years. 
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C. Minimum daily menu.  

1. Unless otherwise ordered in writing by the resident's 

physician or other prescriber, the daily menu, including 

snacks, for each resident shall meet the current guidelines 

of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's food guidance 

system or the dietary allowances of the Food and 

Nutritional Board of the National Academy of Sciences, 

taking into consideration the age, sex, and activity of the 

resident.  

2. Other foods may be added.  

3. Second servings and snacks shall be available at no 

additional charge.  

4. At least one meal each day shall include a hot main dish.  

D. When a diet is prescribed for a resident by his physician 

or other prescriber, it shall be prepared and served according 

to the physician's or other prescriber's orders.  

E. A copy of a diet manual containing acceptable practices 

and standards for nutrition shall be kept current and [ on file 

in the dietary department readily available to personnel 

responsible for food preparation ].  

F. The facility shall make drinking water readily available to 

all residents. Direct care staff shall know which residents 

need help getting water or other fluids and drinking from a 

cup or glass. Direct care staff shall encourage and assist 

residents who do not have medical conditions with physician 

or other prescriber ordered fluid restrictions to drink water or 

other beverages frequently. 

22VAC40-73-620. Oversight of special diets. 

A. There shall be oversight at least every six months of 

special diets by a dietitian or nutritionist for each resident 

who has such a diet. Special diets may also be referred to 

using terms such as medical nutrition therapy or diet therapy. 

The dietitian or nutritionist must meet the requirements of 

§ 54.1-2731 of the Code of Virginia [ and 18VAC75-30, 

Regulations Governing Standards for Dietitians and 

Nutritionists ]. 

B. The oversight specified in subsection A of this section 

shall be on site and include the following: 

1. A review of the physician's or other prescriber's order 

and the preparation and delivery of the special diet. 

2. An evaluation of the adequacy of the resident's special 

diet and the resident's acceptance of the diet. 

3. Certification that the requirements of this subsection 

were met, including the date of the oversight and 

identification of the residents for whom the oversight was 

provided. The administrator shall be advised of the 

findings of the oversight and any recommendations. All of 

the requirements of this subdivision shall be (i) in writing, 

(ii) signed and dated by the dietitian or nutritionist, (iii) 

provided to the administrator within 10 days of the 

completion of the oversight, and (iv) maintained in the files 

at the facility for at least two years, with any specific 

recommendations regarding a particular resident also 

maintained in the resident's record. 

4. Upon receipt of recommendations noted in subdivision 3 

of this subsection, the administrator [ or the, ] dietitian, or 

nutritionist shall report them to the resident's physician. 

Documentation of the report shall be maintained in the 

resident's record. 

5. Action taken in response to the recommendations noted 

in subdivision 3 of this subsection shall be documented in 

the resident's record. 

22VAC40-73-630. Observance of religious dietary 

practices. 

A. The resident's religious dietary practices shall be 

respected. 

B. Religious dietary practices of the administrator or 

licensee shall not be imposed upon residents unless 

[ mutually specifically ] agreed upon in the admission 

[ agreement agreement/acknowledgment ] between 

administrator or licensee and resident.  

22VAC40-73-640. Medication management plan and 

reference materials. 

A. The facility shall have, keep current, and implement a 

written plan for medication management. The facility's 

medication plan shall address procedures for administering 

medication and shall include: 

1. Methods to ensure an understanding of the 

responsibilities associated with medication management; 

2. Standard operating procedures, including [ but not 

limited to ] the facility's standard dosing schedule and any 

general restrictions specific to the facility; 

3. Methods to prevent the use of outdated, damaged, or 

contaminated medications; 

4. Methods to ensure that each resident's prescription 

medications and any over-the-counter drugs and 

supplements ordered for the resident are filled and refilled 

in a timely manner to avoid missed dosages; 

5. Methods for verifying that medication orders have been 

accurately transcribed to medication administration records 

(MARs) [ , including ] within 24 hours of receipt of a new 

order or change in an order; 

6. Methods for monitoring medication administration and 

the effective use of the MARs for documentation; 

7. [ Methods to ensure that MARs are maintained as part of 

the resident's record; ]  
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8. ] Methods to ensure accurate counts of all controlled 

substances whenever assigned medication administration 

staff changes; 

[ 8. 9. ] Methods to ensure that staff who are responsible 

for administering medications meet the qualification 

requirements of 22VAC40-73-670; 

[ 9. 10. ] Methods to ensure that staff who are responsible 

for administering medications are adequately supervised, 

including periodic direct observation of medication 

administration; 

[ 10. 11. ] A plan for proper disposal of medication; 

[ 11. 12. ] Methods to ensure that residents do not receive 

medications or dietary supplements to which they have 

known allergies; 

[ 12. 13. ] Identification of the medication aide or the 

person licensed to administer drugs responsible for 

routinely communicating issues or observations related to 

medication administration to the prescribing physician or 

other prescriber;  

[ 13. 14. ] Methods to ensure that staff who are responsible 

for administering medications are trained on the facility's 

medication management plan; and 

[ 14. 15. ] Procedures for internal monitoring of the 

facility's conformance to the medication management plan. 

B. The facility's written medication management plan 

requires approval by the department.  

C. Subsequent changes shall be reviewed as part of the 

department's regular inspection process. 

D. In addition to the facility's written medication 

management plan, the facility shall [ maintain, as reference 

materials for medication aides, have readily accessible ] at 

least one pharmacy reference book, drug guide, or medication 

handbook for nurses that is no more than two years old [ as 

reference materials for staff who administer medications ].  

22VAC40-73-650. Physician's or other prescriber's order. 

A. No medication, dietary supplement, diet, medical 

procedure, or treatment shall be started, changed, or 

discontinued by the facility without a valid order from a 

physician or other prescriber. Medications include 

prescription, over-the-counter, and sample medications. 

B. Physician or other prescriber orders, both written and 

oral, for administration of all prescription and over-the-

counter medications and dietary supplements shall include the 

name of the resident, the date of the order, the name of the 

drug, route, dosage, strength, how often medication is to be 

given, and identify the diagnosis, condition, or specific 

indications for administering each drug. 

C. Physician's or other prescriber's oral orders shall: 

1. Be charted by the individual who takes the order. That 

individual must be one of the following: 

a. A licensed health care professional practicing within 

the scope of his profession; or 

b. A medication aide. 

2. Be reviewed and signed by a physician or other 

prescriber within 14 days.  

D. Medication aides may not transmit an oral order to a 

pharmacy. 

E. The resident's record shall contain the physician's or other 

prescriber's signed written order or a dated notation of the 

physician's or other prescriber's oral order. Orders shall be 

organized chronologically in the resident's record. 

F. Whenever a resident is admitted to a hospital for 

treatment of any condition, the facility shall obtain new 

orders for all medications and treatments prior to or at the 

time of the resident's return to the facility. The facility shall 

ensure that the primary physician is aware of all medication 

orders and has documented any contact with the physician 

regarding the new orders.  

22VAC40-73-660. Storage of medications. 

A. A medicine cabinet, container, or compartment shall be 

used for storage of medications and dietary supplements 

prescribed for residents when such medications and dietary 

supplements are administered by the facility. Medications 

shall be stored in a manner consistent with current standards 

of practice.  

1. The storage area shall be locked.  

2. Schedule II drugs and any other drugs subject to abuse 

must be kept in a separate locked storage compartment 

(e.g., a locked cabinet within a locked storage area or a 

locked container within a locked cabinet or cart). 

3. The individual responsible for medication administration 

shall keep the keys to the storage area on his person. 

4. When in use, the storage area shall have adequate 

illumination in order to read container labels.  

5. The storage area shall not be located in the kitchen or 

bathroom, but in an area free of dampness or abnormal 

temperatures unless the medication requires refrigeration.  

6. When required, medications shall be refrigerated.  

a. It is permissible to store dietary supplements and foods 

and liquids used for medication administration in a 

refrigerator that is dedicated to medication storage if the 

refrigerator is in a locked storage area. 

b. When it is necessary to store medications in a 

refrigerator that is routinely used for food storage, the 
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medications shall be stored together in a locked container 

in a clearly defined area. 

7. Single-use and dedicated medical supplies and 

equipment shall be appropriately labeled and stored. 

Medical equipment suitable for multi-use shall be stored to 

prevent cross-contamination. 

B. A resident may be permitted to keep his own medication 

in an out-of-sight place in his room if the UAI has indicated 

that the resident is capable of self-administering medication. 

The medication and any dietary supplements shall be stored 

so that they are not accessible to other residents. This does 

not prohibit the facility from storing or administering all 

medication and dietary supplements.  

Exception: If the facility has no [ residents resident ] with 

[ a ] serious cognitive [ impairments impairment or 

substance abuse problem ], the facility may determine that 

the out-of-sight and inaccessibility safeguards specified in 

this subsection do not apply. [ If the facility determines 

that these safeguards do not apply, the facility shall 

maintain documentation of such, including the date and the 

names of residents at the time the determination is made. 

No such determination shall be valid for longer than six 

months. Such determinations may be renewed under the 

same conditions and with the same documentation 

requirements. ]  

22VAC40-73-670. Qualifications and supervision of staff 

administering medications. 

When staff administers medications to residents, the 

following standards shall apply: 

1. Each staff person who administers medication shall be 

authorized by § 54.1-3408 of the Virginia Drug Control 

Act. All staff responsible for medication administration 

shall: 

a. Be licensed by the Commonwealth of Virginia to 

administer medications; or 

b. Be registered with the Virginia Board of Nursing as a 

medication aide, except as specified in subdivision 2 of 

this section. 

2. Any applicant for registration as a medication aide who 

has provided to the Virginia Board of Nursing evidence of 

successful completion of the education or training course 

required for registration may act as a medication aide on a 

provisional basis for no more than 120 days before 

successfully completing any required competency 

evaluation. However, upon notification of failure to 

successfully complete the written examination after three 

attempts, an applicant shall immediately cease acting as a 

medication aide.  

3. Medication aides shall be supervised by one of the 

following: 

a. An individual employed full time at the facility who is 

licensed by the Commonwealth of Virginia to administer 

medications; 

b. The administrator who is licensed by the 

Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications or 

who has successfully completed a training program 

approved by the Virginia Board of Nursing for the 

registration of medication aides. The training program for 

administrators who supervise medication aides, but are 

not registered medication aides themselves, must include 

a minimum of 68 hours of student instruction and 

training but need not include the prerequisite for the 

program or the written examination for registration. The 

administrator must also meet the requirements of 

22VAC40-73-160 E; or  

c. For a facility licensed for residential living care only, 

the designated assistant administrator, as specified in 

22VAC40-73-150 E, who is licensed by the 

Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications or 

who has successfully completed a training program 

approved by the Virginia Board of Nursing for the 

registration of medication aides. The training program for 

designated assistant administrators who supervise 

medication aides, but are not registered medication aides 

themselves, must include a minimum of 68 hours of 

student instruction and training but need not include the 

prerequisite for the program or the written examination 

for registration. The designated assistant administrator 

must also meet the requirements of 22VAC40-73-160 E. 

22VAC40-73-680. Administration of medications and 

related provisions. 

A. Staff who are licensed, registered, or acting as medication 

aides on a provisional basis as specified in 22VAC40-73-670 

shall administer drugs to those residents who are dependent 

on medication administration as documented on the UAI.  

B. Medications shall be removed from the pharmacy 

container, or the container shall be opened, by a staff person 

licensed, registered, or acting as a medication aide on a 

provisional basis as specified in 22VAC40-73-670 and 

administered to the resident by the same staff person. 

Medications shall remain in the pharmacy issued container, 

with the prescription label or direction label attached, until 

administered to the resident. 

C. Medications shall be administered not earlier than one 

hour before and not later than one hour after the facility's 

standard dosing schedule, except those drugs that are ordered 

for specific times, such as before, after, or with meals. 

D. Medications shall be administered in accordance with the 

physician's or other prescriber's instructions and consistent 
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with the standards of practice outlined in the current 

registered medication aide curriculum approved by the 

Virginia Board of Nursing. 

E. Medical procedures or treatments ordered by a physician 

or other prescriber shall be provided according to his 

instructions [ and documented. The documentation shall be 

maintained in the resident's record ]. 

F. Sample medications shall remain in the original 

packaging, labeled by a physician or other prescriber or 

pharmacist with the resident's name, the name of the 

medication, the strength, dosage, and route and frequency of 

administration, until administered. 

G. Over-the-counter medication shall remain in the original 

container, labeled with the resident's name, or in a pharmacy-

issued container, until administered. 

H. At the time the medication is administered, the facility 

shall document on a medication administration record (MAR) 

all medications administered to residents, including over-the-

counter medications and dietary supplements. 

I. The MAR shall include:  

1. Name of the resident;  

2. Date prescribed;  

3. Drug product name;  

4. Strength of the drug; 

5. Dosage;  

6. Diagnosis, condition, or specific indications for 

administering the drug or supplement; 

7. Route (e.g., by mouth);  

8. How often medication is to be taken;  

9. Date and time given and initials of direct care staff 

administering the medication;  

10. Dates the medication is discontinued or changed;  

11. Any medication errors or omissions;  

12. Description of significant adverse effects suffered by 

the resident;  

13. For "as needed" (PRN) medications: 

a. Symptoms for which medication was given; 

b. Exact dosage given; and 

c. Effectiveness; and 

14. The name, signature, and initials of all staff 

administering medications. [ A master list may be used in 

lieu of this documentation on individual MARs. ] 

J. In the event of an adverse drug reaction or a medication 

error, the following applies: 

1. Action shall be taken as directed by a physician, 

pharmacist, or a poison control center; 

2. The resident's physician of record and family member or 

other responsible person shall be notified as soon as 

possible; and 

3. Medication administration staff shall document actions 

taken in the resident's record.  

[ K. The performance of all medical procedures and 

treatments ordered by a physician or other prescriber shall be 

documented, and the documentation shall be retained in the 

resident's record. 

L. K. ] The use of PRN medications is prohibited, unless one 

or more of the following conditions exist:  

1. The resident is capable of determining when the 

medication is needed;  

2. Licensed health care professionals administer the PRN 

medication; or  

3. Medication aides administer the PRN medication when 

the facility has obtained from the resident's physician or 

other prescriber a detailed medication order. The order 

shall include symptoms that indicate the use of the 

medication, exact dosage, the exact time frames the 

medication is to be given in a 24-hour period, and 

directions as to what to do if symptoms persist.  

[ M. L. ] In order for drugs in a hospice comfort kit to be 

administered, the requirements specified in subsection [ L K ] 

of this section must be met, and each medication in the kit 

must have a prescription label attached by the pharmacy. 

[ N. M. ] Medications ordered for PRN administration shall 

be available, properly labeled for the specific resident, and 

properly stored at the facility. 

[ O. N. ] Stat-drug boxes may only be used when the 

following conditions are met: 

1. There is an order from the prescriber for any drug 

removed from the stat-drug box; and 

2. The drug is removed from the stat-drug box and 

administered by a nurse, pharmacist, or prescriber licensed 

to administer medications. [ 3. ] Registered medication 

aides are not permitted to either remove or administer 

medications from the stat-drug box. 

22VAC40-73-690. Medication review. 

A. For each resident assessed for residential living care, 

except for those who self-administer all of their medications, 

a licensed health care professional, practicing within the 

scope of his profession, shall perform an annual review of all 

the medications of the resident.  

B. For each resident assessed for assisted living care, except 

for those who self-administer all of their medications, a 
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licensed health care professional, practicing within the scope 

of his profession, shall perform a review every six months of 

all the medications of the resident. 

C. The medication review shall include prescription drugs, 

over-the-counter medications, and dietary supplements 

ordered for the resident.  

D. If deemed appropriate by the licensed health care 

professional, the review shall include observation of the 

resident or interview with the resident or staff. 

E. The review shall include [ , but not be limited to, ] the 

following: 

1. All medications that the resident is taking and 

medications that he could be taking if needed (PRNs). 

2. An examination of the dosage, strength, route, how 

often, prescribed duration, and when the medication is 

taken.  

3. Documentation of actual and consideration of potential 

interactions of drugs with one another. 

4. Documentation of actual and consideration of potential 

interactions of drugs with foods or drinks. 

5. Documentation of actual and consideration of potential 

negative effects of drugs resulting from a resident's 

medical condition other than the one the drug is treating. 

6. Consideration of whether PRNs, if any, are still needed 

and if clarification regarding use is necessary. 

7. [ Consideration of a gradual dose reduction of 

antipsychotic medications for those residents with a 

diagnosis of dementia and no diagnoses of a primary 

psychiatric disorder. 

8. ] Consideration of whether the resident needs additional 

monitoring or testing. 

[ 8. 9. ] Documentation of actual and consideration of 

potential adverse effects or unwanted side effects of 

specific medications. 

[ 9. 10. ] Identification of that which may be questionable, 

such as (i) similar medications being taken, (ii) different 

medications being used to treat the same condition, (iii) 

what seems an excessive number of medications, and (iv) 

what seems an exceptionally high drug dosage. 

[ 10. 11. ] The health care professional shall notify the 

resident's attending physician of any concerns or problems 

and document the notification. 

F. The licensed health care professional shall certify that the 

requirements of subdivisions E 1 through E [ 10 11 ] of this 

section were met, including the dates of the medication 

review. The administrator shall be advised of the findings of 

the medication review and any recommendations. All of the 

requirements of this subdivision shall be (i) in writing, (ii) 

signed and dated by the health care professional, (iii) 

provided to the administrator within 10 days of the 

completion of the review, and (iv) maintained in the facility 

files for at least two years, with any specific 

recommendations regarding a particular resident also 

maintained in the resident's record. 

G. Action taken in response to the recommendations noted 

in subsection F of this section shall be documented in the 

resident's record. 

22VAC40-73-700. Oxygen therapy.  

When oxygen therapy is provided, the following safety 

precautions shall be met and maintained:  

1. The facility shall have a valid physician's or other 

prescriber's order that includes the following: 

a. The oxygen source, such as compressed gas or 

concentrators; 

b. The delivery device, such as nasal cannula, reservoir 

nasal cannulas, or masks; and 

c. The flow rate deemed therapeutic for the resident. 

2. The facility shall post "No Smoking-Oxygen in Use" 

signs and enforce the smoking prohibition in any room of a 

building where oxygen is in use.  

3. The facility shall ensure that only oxygen from a 

portable source shall be used by residents when they are 

outside their rooms. The use of long plastic tether lines to 

the source of oxygen outside their rooms is not permitted.  

4. The facility shall make available to staff the emergency 

numbers to contact the resident's physician or other 

prescriber and the oxygen vendor for emergency service or 

replacement.  

5. The facility shall demonstrate that all direct care staff 

responsible for assisting residents who use oxygen supplies 

have had training or instruction in the use and maintenance 

of resident-specific equipment. 

6. The facility shall include in its disaster preparedness 

plan a checklist of information required to meet the 

identified needs of those [ individuals residents ] who 

require oxygen therapy including [ , but not limited to, ] 

the following: 

a. Whether the facility has on-site, emergency generator 

capacity sufficient to safely operate oxygen concentrators 

efficiently. 

b. Whether in the absence of on-site generators the 

facility has agreements with vendors to provide 

emergency generators, including whether those 

generators will support oxygen concentrators.  

c. Where the facility maintains chart copies of each 

resident's agreement, including emergency preparedness 
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and back-up plans, with his oxygen equipment and 

supply vendor for ready access in any emergency 

situation. 

d. How equipment and supplies will be transported in the 

event that residents must be evacuated to another 

location.  

22VAC40-73-710. Restraints. 

A. The use of chemical restraints is prohibited. [ The use of 

prone or supine restraints is prohibited. The use of any 

restraint or restraint technique that restricts a resident's 

breathing, interferes with a resident's ability to communicate, 

or applies pressure on a resident's torso is prohibited. ] 

B. Physical restraints shall not be used for purposes of 

discipline or convenience. [ Restraints Physical restraints ] 

may only be used [ to treat a resident's medical symptoms or 

symptoms from mental illness or intellectual disability (i) as a 

medical/orthopedic restraint for support, according to a 

physician's written order and with the written consent of the 

resident or his legal representative or (ii) in an emergency 

situation after less intrusive interventions have proven 

insufficient to prevent imminent threat of death or serious 

physical injury to the resident or others. ]  

C. [ The facility may only impose physical restraints when 

the resident's medical symptoms or symptoms from mental 

illness or intellectual disability warrant the use of restraints. 

The restraint must If a restraint is used, it must ]:  

[ 1. Be necessary to ensure the physical safety of the 

resident or others; 

2. 1. ] Be imposed in accordance with a physician's written 

order [ , which must be no older than three months, ] that 

specifies the condition, circumstances, and duration under 

which the restraint is to be used, [ except in emergency 

circumstances until such an order can reasonably be 

obtained ]; and 

[ 3. 2. ] Not be ordered on a standing, blanket, or "as 

needed" (PRN) basis.  

D. Whenever physical restraints are used, the following 

conditions shall be met:  

1. A restraint shall be used only to the minimum extent 

necessary to protect the resident or others; 

2. Restraints shall only be applied by direct care staff who 

have received training in their use as specified by 

subdivision 2 of 22VAC40-73-270; 

3. The facility shall closely monitor the [ resident's ] 

condition [ of a resident with a restraint ], which includes 

checking on the resident at least every 30 minutes;  

4. The facility shall assist the resident [ with a restraint ] as 

often as necessary, but no less than 10 minutes every hour, 

for his hydration, safety, comfort, range of motion, 

exercise, elimination, and other needs;  

5. The facility shall release the resident from the restraint 

as quickly as possible; [ and ]  

6. Direct care staff shall keep a record of restraint usage, 

outcomes, checks, and any assistance required in 

subdivision 4 of this subsection and shall note any unusual 

occurrences or problems;  

[ 7. In E. When restraints are used in ] nonemergencies, as 

defined in 22VAC40-73-10, [ the following conditions shall 

be met ]: 

[ a. 1. ] Restraints shall be used as a last resort and only if 

the facility, after completing, implementing, and evaluating 

the resident's comprehensive assessment and service plan, 

determines and documents that less restrictive means have 

failed; 

[ 2. Physician orders for medical/orthopedic restraints must 

be reviewed by the physician at least every three months 

and renewed if the circumstances warranting the use of the 

restraint continue to exist; ] 

[ b. 3. ] Restraints shall be used in accordance with the 

resident's service plan, which documents the need for the 

restraint and includes a schedule or plan of rehabilitation 

training enabling the progressive removal or the 

progressive use of less restrictive restraints when 

appropriate; 

[ c. The 4. Before the initial administration of a restraint, 

the ] facility shall explain the use of the restraint and 

potential negative outcomes to the resident or his legal 

representative and the resident's right to refuse the restraint 

and shall obtain the written consent of the resident or his 

legal representative; 

[ d. 5. ] Restraints shall be applied so as to cause no 

physical injury and the least possible discomfort; and 

[ e. 6. ] The facility shall notify the resident's legal 

representative or designated contact person as soon as 

practicable, but no later than 24 hours after the initial 

administration of a nonemergency restraint. The facility 

shall keep the [ resident and his ] legal representative or 

designated contact person informed about any changes in 

restraint usage. A notation shall be made in the resident's 

record of such notice, including the date, time, [ caller, 

and ] person notified [ , method of notification, and staff 

providing notification ]. 

[ 8. In F. When restraints are used in ] emergencies, as 

defined in 22VAC40-73-10 [ the following conditions shall 

be met ]:  

[ a. 1. ] Restraints [ shall not be used unless they are 

necessary to alleviate an unanticipated immediate and 

serious danger to the resident or other individuals in the 
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facility may only be used as an emergency intervention of 

last resort to prevent imminent threat of death or serious 

physical injury to the resident or others ];  

[ b. 2. ] An oral or written order shall be obtained from a 

physician within one hour of administration of the 

emergency restraint and the order shall be documented; 

[ c. 3. ] In the case of an oral order, a written order shall be 

obtained from the physician as soon as possible;  

[ d. 4. ] The resident shall be within sight and sound of 

direct care staff at all times;  

[ e. 5. ] If the emergency restraint is necessary for longer 

than two hours, the resident shall be transferred to a 

medical or psychiatric inpatient facility or monitored in the 

facility by a mental health crisis team until his condition 

has stabilized to the point that the attending physician 

documents that restraints are not necessary; [ and 

f. 6. ] The facility shall notify the resident's legal 

representative or designated contact person as soon as 

practicable, but no later than 12 hours after administration 

of an emergency restraint. A notation shall be made in the 

resident's record of such notice, including the date, time, 

caller and person notified [ .; and 

7. The facility shall review the resident's individualized 

service plan within one week of the application of an 

emergency restraint and document additional interventions 

to prevent the future use of emergency restraints. ]  

22VAC40-73-720. Do Not Resuscitate Orders. 

A. Do Not Resuscitate (DNR) Orders for withholding 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation from [ an individual a 

resident ] in the event of cardiac or respiratory arrest may 

only be carried out in a licensed assisted living facility when: 

1. A valid written order has been issued by the resident's 

attending physician; and  

2. The written order is included in the individualized 

service plan;  

B. The facility shall have a system to ensure that all staff are 

aware of residents who have a valid DNR Order. 

C. The DNR Order shall be readily available to other 

authorized persons, such as emergency medical technicians 

(EMTs), when necessary. 

D. Durable DNR Orders shall not authorize the assisted 

living facility or its staff to withhold other medical 

interventions, such as intravenous fluids, oxygen, or other 

therapies deemed necessary to provide comfort care or to 

alleviate pain. 

E. Section 63.2-1807 of the Code of Virginia states that the 

owners or operators of any assisted living facility may 

provide that their staff who are certified in CPR shall not be 

required to resuscitate any resident for whom a valid written 

order not to resuscitate in the event of cardiac or respiratory 

arrest has been issued by the resident's attending physician 

and has been included in the resident's individualized service 

plan. 

F. If the owner or operator of a facility has determined that 

DNR Orders will not be honored, the facility shall have a 

policy specifying this and, prior to admission, the resident or 

his legal guardian shall be notified of the policy and sign an 

acknowledgment of the notification. 

22VAC40-73-730. Advance directives. 

A. Upon admission or while residing in the facility, 

whenever the resident has established advance directives, 

such as a living will or a durable power of attorney for health 

care, to the extent available, the facility shall obtain the 

following: 

1. The name of and contact information for the individual 

or individuals who has the document or documents; 

2. The location of the documents;  

3. Either the advance directives or the content of the 

advance directives; and 

4. The name of and contact information for any designated 

agent, as related to the development and modification of 

the individualized service plan.  

B. If the facility is unable to obtain any of the information or 

documents as noted in subdivisions 1 through 4 of subsection 

A of this section, the efforts made to do so shall be 

documented in the resident's record.  

C. The information regarding advance directives shall be 

readily available to other authorized persons, such as 

emergency medical technicians (EMTs), when necessary. 

D. A resident requesting assistance with establishing 

advance directives shall be referred to his primary health care 

provider or attorney. 

Part VII 

Resident Accommodations and Related Provisions 

22VAC40-73-740. Personal possessions. 

A. Each resident shall be permitted to keep reasonable 

personal property in his possession at a facility in order to 

maintain individuality and personal dignity. 

B. A facility shall ensure that each resident has his own 

clothing.  

1. The use of a common clothing pool is prohibited.  

2. If necessary, resident's clothing shall be inconspicuously 

marked with his name to avoid getting mixed with others.  



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 13, 2017 

692 

3. Residents shall be allowed and encouraged to select their 

daily clothing and wear clothing to suit their activities and 

appropriate to weather conditions.  

C. Each resident shall have his own personal care items.  

D. Each facility shall develop and implement a written 

policy regarding procedures to be followed when a resident's 

clothing or other personal possessions, such as jewelry, 

television, radio, or other durable property, are reported 

missing. Attempts shall be made to determine the reason for 

the loss and any reasonable actions shall be taken to recover 

the item and to prevent or discourage future losses. The 

results of the investigation shall be reported in writing to the 

resident. Documentation shall be maintained for at least two 

years regarding items that were reported missing and 

resulting actions that were taken. 

22VAC40-73-750. Resident rooms. 

A. The resident shall be encouraged to furnish or decorate 

his room as space and safety considerations permit and in 

accordance with this chapter. 

B. Bedrooms shall contain the following items, except as 

provided for in subsection C of this section: 

1. A separate bed with comfortable mattress, springs, and 

pillow for each resident. Provisions for a double bed for a 

married couple shall be optional; 

2. A table or its equivalent accessible to each bed; 

3. An operable bed lamp or bedside light accessible to each 

resident; 

4. A sturdy chair for each resident; 

5. Drawer space for clothing and other personal items. If 

more than one resident occupies a room, ample drawer 

space shall be assigned to each [ individual resident ]; 

6. At least one mirror - if the resident has an individual 

adjoining bathroom, the mirror may be in the bathroom; 

and 

7. Window coverings for privacy. 

C. If a resident specifies in writing that he does not wish to 

have an item or items listed in subsection B of this section 

and understands that he may decide otherwise at any time, the 

resident's bedroom is not required to contain those specified 

items. The written specification shall be maintained in the 

resident's record. 

D. Adequate and accessible closet or wardrobe space shall 

be provided for each resident. As of December 28, 2006, in 

all buildings approved for construction or change in use and 

occupancy classification, the closet or wardrobe space shall 

be in the resident's bedroom. 

E. The facility shall have sufficient bed and bath linens in 

good repair so that residents always have clean: 

1. Sheets; 

2. Pillowcases; 

3. Blankets; 

4. Bedspreads; 

5. Towels; 

6. Washcloths; and 

7. Waterproof mattress covers when needed. 

22VAC40-73-760. Living room or multipurpose room. 

A. Sitting rooms or recreation areas or both shall be 

equipped with: 

1. Comfortable chairs (e.g., overstuffed, straight-backed, 

and rockers);  

2. Tables;  

3. Lamps;  

4. Television, if not available in other [ common ] areas of 

the facility;  

5. Radio, if not available in other [ common ] areas of the 

facility; and 

6. Current newspaper [ , if not available in other common 

areas of the facility ].  

B. Space other than sleeping areas shall be provided for 

residents for sitting, for visiting with one another or with 

guests, for social and recreational activities, and for dining. 

These areas may be used interchangeably. 

22VAC40-73-770. Dining areas. 

Dining areas shall have a sufficient number of sturdy dining 

tables and chairs to serve all residents, either all at one time or 

in reasonable shifts.  

22VAC40-73-780. Laundry and linens. 

A. Residents' clothing shall be kept clean and in good repair.  

B. Bed and bath linens shall be changed at least every seven 

days and more often if needed. In facilities with common 

bathing areas, bath linens shall be changed after each use.  

C. When the facility provides laundry service for residents' 

clothing or personal linens, the clean items shall be sorted by 

individual resident.  

D. Table coverings and napkins shall be clean at all times.  

E. Table and kitchen linens shall be laundered separately 

from other washable goods.  

F. When bed, bath, table, and kitchen linens are washed, the 

water shall be above 140°F or the dryer shall heat the linens 

above 140°F as verified by the manufacturer or a sanitizing 
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agent shall be used according to the manufacturer's 

instructions.  

22VAC40-73-790. Transportation. 

The resident shall be assisted in making arrangements for 

transportation as necessary.  

22VAC40-73-800. Incoming and outgoing mail. 

A. Incoming and outgoing mail shall not be censored. 

B. Incoming mail shall be delivered promptly. 

C. Mail shall not be opened by staff or volunteers except 

upon request of the resident and in his presence or written 

request of the legal representative. 

22VAC40-73-810. Telephones. 

A. Each building shall have at least one operable, nonpay 

telephone easily accessible to staff. There shall be additional 

telephones or extensions as may be needed to summon help in 

an emergency.  

B. The resident shall have reasonable access to a nonpay 

telephone on the premises.  

C. Privacy shall be provided for residents to use a telephone. 

22VAC40-73-820. Smoking. 

A. Smoking by residents, staff, volunteers, and visitors shall 

be done only in areas designated by the facility and approved 

by the State Fire Marshal or local fire official. Smoking shall 

not be allowed in a kitchen or food preparation areas. A 

facility may prohibit smoking on its premises. 

B. All designated smoking areas shall be provided with 

suitable ashtrays.  

C. Residents shall not be permitted to smoke in or on their 

beds.  

D. All common areas shall have smoke-free areas 

designated for nonsmokers.  

22VAC40-73-830. Resident councils. 

A. The facility shall permit and encourage the formation of a 

resident council by residents and shall assist the residents in 

its establishment. 

B. The purposes of the resident council shall be to: 

1. Work with the administration in improving the quality of 

life for all residents; 

2. Discuss the services offered by the facility and make 

recommendations for resolution of identified problems or 

concerns; and  

3. Perform other functions as determined by the council. 

C. The resident council shall be composed of residents of 

the facility and the council may extend membership to family 

members, advocates, friends, and others. Residents shall be 

encouraged but shall not be compelled to attend meetings. 

D. The facility shall assist residents in maintaining the 

resident council, including [ , but not limited to ]: 

1. Scheduling regular meetings; 

2. Providing space for meetings; 

3. Posting notice for meetings; 

4. Providing assistance in attending meetings for those 

residents who request it; and  

5. Preparing written reports of meetings as requested by the 

council for dissemination to all residents. 

E. The facility shall provide a written response to the 

council prior to the next meeting regarding any 

recommendations made by the council for resolution of 

problems or concerns.  

F. In order to promote a free exchange of ideas, [ at least 

part of each meeting shall be allowed to be conducted 

without ] the presence of any facility personnel [ shall be only 

at the request of the council ]. 

G. If there is no council, the facility shall annually remind 

residents that they may establish a resident council and that 

the facility would assist in its formation and maintenance. 

The general purpose of the council shall also be explained at 

this time. 

22VAC40-73-840. Pets living in the assisted living facility. 

A. Each assisted living facility shall develop and implement 

a written policy regarding pets living on the premises that will 

ensure the safety and well-being of all residents and staff. 

B. If a facility allows pets to live on the premises, the 

following applies: 

1. The policy specified in subsection A of this section shall 

include: 

a. The types of pets that are permitted in the assisted 

living facility; and 

b. The conditions under which pets may be in the assisted 

living facility. 

2. Before being allowed to live on the premises, pets shall 

have had all recommended or required immunizations and 

shall be certified by a licensed veterinarian to be free of 

diseases transmittable to humans. 

3. Pets living on the assisted living facility premises: 

a. Shall have regular examinations and immunizations, 

appropriate for the species, by a licensed veterinarian; 

and  

b. Shall be restricted from central food preparation areas. 
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4. Documentation of examinations and immunizations 

shall be maintained at the facility.  

5. Pets shall be well-treated and cared for in compliance 

with state regulations and local ordinances. 

6. Any resident's rights, preferences, and medical needs 

shall not be compromised by the presence of a pet. 

7. Any pet living on the premises shall have a suitable 

temperament, be healthy, and otherwise pose no significant 

health or safety risks to residents, staff, volunteers, or 

visitors. 

22VAC40-73-850. Pets visiting the assisted living facility. 

If an assisted living facility allows pets to visit the premises, 

the following shall apply: 

1. [ The facility shall have a written policy regarding such 

pets; 

1. 2. ] Any pet present at the facility shall be in good health 

and show no evidence of carrying any disease; 

[ 2. 3. ] Any resident's rights, preferences, and medical 

needs shall not be compromised by the presence of a pet; 

and 

[ 3. 4. ] Any pet shall be well-treated while visiting on the 

premises, have a suitable temperament, and otherwise pose 

no significant health or safety risks to residents, staff, 

volunteers, or visitors. 

Part VIII 

Buildings and Grounds 

22VAC40-73-860. General requirements. 

A. Buildings licensed for ambulatory residents or 

nonambulatory residents shall be classified by and meet the 

specifications for the proper use and occupancy classification 

as required by the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code 

(13VAC5-63). 

B. Documentation completed and signed by the building 

official shall be obtained as evidence of compliance with the 

applicable edition of the Virginia Uniform Statewide 

Building Code. 

C. Before construction begins or contracts are awarded for 

any new construction, remodeling, or alterations, plans shall 

be submitted to the department for review. 

D. Doors and windows. 

1. All doors shall open and close readily and effectively. 

2. Any doorway that is used for ventilation shall be 

effectively screened. 

3. Any operable window (i.e., a window that may be 

opened) shall be effectively screened. 

E. There shall be enclosed walkways between residents' 

rooms and dining and sitting areas that are adequately lighted, 

heated, and ventilated. 

F. There shall be an ample supply of hot and cold water 

from an approved source available to the residents at all 

times. 

G. Hot water at taps available to residents shall be 

maintained within a range of 105°F to 120°F. 

H. Where there is an outdoor area accessible to residents, 

such as a porch or lawn, it shall be equipped with furniture in 

season. 

I. Each facility shall store cleaning supplies and other 

hazardous materials in a locked area, except as noted in 

subsection J of this section.  

J. A resident may be permitted to keep his own cleaning 

supplies or other hazardous materials in an out-of-sight place 

in his room if the resident does not have a serious cognitive 

impairment. The cleaning supplies or other hazardous 

materials shall be stored so that they are not accessible to 

other residents.  

Exception: When a resident keeps his own cleaning 

supplies or other hazardous materials in his room, [ and ] if 

the facility has no residents with serious cognitive 

impairments, the facility may determine that the out-of-

sight and inaccessibility safeguards specified in this 

subsection do not apply, unless mandated by the Virginia 

Uniform Statewide Building Code or Virginia Statewide 

Fire Prevention Code (13VAC5-51). 

K. Each facility shall develop and implement a written 

policy regarding weapons on the premises of the facility that 

will ensure the safety and well-being of all residents and 

staff. [ Any facility permitting any type of firearm on the 

premises must include procedures to ensure that ammunitions 

and firearms are stored separately and in locked locations. ]  

22VAC40-73-870. Maintenance of buildings and grounds. 

A. The interior and exterior of all buildings shall be 

maintained in good repair and kept clean and free of rubbish. 

B. All buildings shall be well-ventilated and free from foul, 

stale, and musty odors.  

C. Adequate provisions for the collection and legal disposal 

of garbage, ashes, and waste material shall be made.  

D. Buildings shall be kept free of infestations of insects and 

vermin. The grounds shall be kept free of their breeding 

places.  

E. All furnishings, fixtures, and equipment, including [ , but 

not limited to, ] furniture, window coverings, sinks, toilets, 

bathtubs, and showers, shall be kept clean and in good repair 

and condition, except that furnishings and equipment owned 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 13, 2017 

695 

by a resident shall be, at a minimum, in safe condition and not 

soiled in a manner that presents a health hazard.  

F. All inside and outside steps, stairways, and ramps shall 

have nonslip surfaces.  

G. Grounds shall be properly maintained to include mowing 

of grass and removal of snow and ice.  

H. Handrails shall be provided on all stairways, ramps, 

elevators, and at changes of floor level.  

I. Elevators, where used, shall be kept in good running 

condition and shall be inspected at least annually. Elevators 

shall be inspected in accordance with the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63). The signed and 

dated certificate of inspection issued by the local authority 

shall be evidence of such inspection. 

22VAC40-73-880. Heating, ventilation, and cooling. 

A. At least one movable thermometer shall be available in 

each building for measuring temperatures in individual rooms 

that do not have a fixed thermostat that shows the temperature 

in the room.  

B. Heating.  

1. Heat shall be supplied from a central heating plant or an 

electrical heating system in accordance with the Virginia 

Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63).  

2. Provided their installation or operation has been 

approved by the state or local building or fire authorities, 

space heaters, such as but not limited to, wood burning 

stoves, coal burning stoves, and oil heaters, or portable 

heating units either vented or unvented, may be used only 

to provide or supplement heat in the event of a power 

failure or similar emergency. These appliances shall be 

used in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions.  

3. A temperature of at least 72°F shall be maintained in all 

areas used by residents during hours when residents are 

normally awake. During night hours, when residents are 

asleep, a temperature of at least 68°F shall be maintained. 

This standard applies unless otherwise mandated by federal 

or state authorities. 

Exception: The facility may allow the temperature in a 

bedroom in which only one resident resides, which has a 

thermostat in the room, to be controlled by the resident as 

long as the temperature does not endanger the health, 

safety, or welfare of the resident.  

C. Cooling.  

1. The facility shall provide in all buildings an air 

conditioning system for all areas used by residents, 

including residents' bedrooms and common areas. 

Temperatures in all areas used by residents shall not 

exceed 80°F. 

Exception: The facility may allow the temperature in a 

bedroom in which only one resident resides, which has a 

thermostat in the room, to be controlled by the resident as 

long as the temperature does not endanger the health, 

safety, or welfare of the resident.  

2. Any electric fans shall be screened and placed for the 

protection of the residents.  

D. The facility shall develop and implement a plan to protect 

residents from heat-related and cold-related illnesses in the 

event of loss of air-conditioning or heat due to emergency 

situations or malfunctioning or broken equipment.  

22VAC40-73-890. Lighting and lighting fixtures. 

A. Artificial lighting shall be by electricity.  

B. All interior and exterior areas shall be adequately lighted 

for the safety and comfort of residents and staff.  

C. Glare shall be kept at a minimum in rooms used by 

residents. When necessary to reduce glare, coverings shall be 

used for windows and lights.  

D. If used, fluorescent lights shall be replaced if they flicker 

or make noise.  

22VAC40-73-900. Sleeping areas. 

Resident sleeping quarters shall provide: 

1. For not less than 450 cubic feet of air space per resident; 

2. For square footage as provided in this subdivision: 

a. As of February 1, 1996, all buildings approved for 

construction or change in use and occupancy 

classification, as referenced in the Virginia 

Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63), shall 

have not less than 100 square feet of floor area in 

bedrooms accommodating one resident; otherwise not 

less than 80 square feet of floor area in bedrooms 

accommodating one resident shall be required. 

b. As of February 1, 1996, all buildings approved for 

construction or change in use and occupancy 

classification, as referenced in the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code, shall have not less than 80 

square feet of floor area per person in bedrooms 

accommodating two or more residents; otherwise not less 

than 60 square feet of floor area per person in bedrooms 

accommodating two or more persons shall be required; 

3. For ceilings at least 7-1/2 feet in height; 

4. For window areas as provided in this subdivision: 

a. There shall be at least eight square feet of glazed 

window area in a room housing one person; and 

b. There shall be at least six square feet of glazed 

window area per person in rooms occupied by two or 

more persons; 
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5. For occupancy as provided in this subdivision: 

a. As of December 28, 2006, in all buildings approved 

for construction or change in use and occupancy 

classification, as referenced in the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63), there shall be no 

more than two residents residing in a bedroom. 

b. [ As of February 1, 2018, when there is a new facility 

licensee, there shall be no more than two residents 

residing in a bedroom. 

b. c. ] Unless the provisions of [ subdivision 

subdivisions ] 5 a [ and 5 b ] of this [ subsection section ] 

apply, there shall be no more than four residents residing 

in a bedroom; 

6. For at least three feet of space between sides and ends of 

beds that are placed in the same room; 

7. That no bedroom shall be used as a corridor to any other 

room; 

8. That all beds shall be placed only in bedrooms; and 

9. That household members and staff shall not share 

bedrooms with residents. 

22VAC40-73-910. Common rooms. 

As of October 9, 2001, buildings approved for construction 

or change in use and occupancy classification, as referenced 

in the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-

63), shall have a glazed window area above ground level in at 

least one of the common rooms (e.g., living room, 

multipurpose room, or dining room). The square footage of 

the glazed window area shall be at least 8.0% of the square 

footage of the floor area of the common room. 

22VAC40-73-920. Toilet, face/hand washing, and bathing 

facilities. 

A. In determining the number of toilets, face/hand washing 

sinks, bathtubs, or showers required, the total number of 

persons residing on the premises shall be considered. Unless 

there are separate facilities for household members or staff, 

they shall be counted in determining the required number of 

fixtures, except that for bathtubs or showers, the staff count 

shall include only live-in staff. 

1. As of December 28, 2006, in all buildings approved for 

construction or change in use and occupancy classification, 

as referenced in the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 

Code (13VAC5-63), on each floor where there are 

residents' bedrooms, there shall be: 

a. At least one toilet for each four persons, or portion 

thereof; 

b. At least one face/hand washing sink for each four 

persons, or portion thereof; 

c. At least one bathtub or shower for each seven persons, 

or portion thereof; [ and ]  

d. Toilets, face/hand washing sinks and bathtubs or 

showers in separate rooms for men and women where 

more than four persons live on a floor. Bathrooms 

equipped to accommodate more than one person at a time 

shall be labeled by gender. Gender designation of 

bathrooms shall remain constant during the course of a 

day. 

2. Unless the provisions of subdivision 1 of this subsection 

apply, on each floor where there are residents' bedrooms, 

there shall be: 

a. At least one toilet for each seven persons, or portion 

thereof; 

b. At least one face/hand washing sink for each seven 

persons, or portion thereof; 

c. At least one bathtub or shower for each 10 persons, or 

portion thereof; [ and ] 

d. Toilets, face/hand washing sinks and bathtubs or 

showers in separate rooms for men and women where 

more than seven persons live on a floor. Bathrooms 

equipped to accommodate more than one person at a time 

shall be labeled by gender. Gender designation of 

bathrooms shall remain constant during the course of a 

day. 

3. As of December 28, 2006, in all buildings approved for 

construction or change in use and occupancy classification, 

as referenced in the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 

Code, when residents' rooms are located on the same floor 

as the main living or dining area, in addition to the 

requirements of subdivision 1 of this subsection, there shall 

be at least one more toilet and face/hand washing sink, 

which is available for common use. The provisions of 

subdivision 4 c of this subsection shall also apply. 

4. On floors used by residents where there are no residents' 

bedrooms, there shall be: 

a. At least one toilet; 

b. At least one face/hand washing sink; [ and ] 

c. Toilets and face/hand washing sinks in separate rooms 

for men and women in facilities where there are 10 or 

more residents. Bathrooms equipped to accommodate 

more than one person at a time shall be designated by 

gender. Gender designation of bathrooms must remain 

constant during the course of a day. 

B. Bathrooms shall provide for privacy for such activities as 

bathing, toileting, and dressing.  

C. There shall be ventilation to the outside in order to 

eliminate foul odors. 
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D. The following sturdy safeguards shall be provided, with 

installation in compliance with the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code: 

1. Handrails by bathtubs; 

2. Grab bars by toilets; and 

3. Handrails inside and stools available to stall showers. 

Exception: These safeguards shall be optional for 

[ individuals residents ] with independent living status. 

E. Bathtubs and showers shall have nonskid surfacing or 

strips. 

F. The face/hand washing sink shall be in the same room as 

the toilet or in an adjacent private area that is not part of a 

common use area of the assisted living facility. 

G. The assisted living facility shall provide private or 

common use toilet, face/hand washing, and bathing facilities 

to meet the needs of each resident. 

22VAC40-73-925. Toilet, face/hand washing, and bathing 

supplies. 

A. The facility shall have an adequate supply of toilet tissue 

and soap. Toilet tissue shall be accessible to each commode 

and soap shall be accessible to each face/hand washing sink 

and each bathtub or shower. 

B. Common face/hand washing sinks shall have paper 

towels or an air dryer and liquid soap for hand washing. 

C. Residents may not share bar soap.  

D. The facility may not charge an additional amount for 

toilet paper, soap, paper towels, or use of an air dryer at 

common sinks and commodes. 

22VAC40-73-930. Provisions for signaling and call 

systems. 

A. All assisted living facilities shall have a signaling device 

that is easily accessible to the resident in his bedroom or in a 

connecting bathroom that alerts the direct care staff that the 

resident needs assistance. 

B. In buildings licensed to care for 20 or more residents 

under one roof, there shall be a signaling device that 

terminates at a central location that is continuously staffed 

and permits staff to determine the origin of the signal or is 

audible and visible in a manner that permits staff to determine 

the origin of the signal.  

C. In buildings licensed to care for 19 or fewer residents 

under one roof, if the signaling device does not permit staff to 

determine the origin of the signal as specified in subsection B 

of this section, direct care staff shall make rounds at least 

once each hour to monitor for emergencies or other 

unanticipated resident needs. These rounds shall begin when 

the majority of the residents have gone to bed each evening 

and shall terminate when the majority of the residents have 

arisen each morning, and shall be documented as follows: 

1. A written log shall be maintained showing the date and 

time rounds were made and the signature of the direct care 

staff member who made rounds. 

2. Logs for the past two years shall be retained. 

[ Exception: Rounds may be made on a different frequency 

if requested by the resident and agreed to by the facility. Any 

agreement for a different frequency must be in writing, 

specify the frequency, be signed and dated by the resident and 

the facility, and be retained in the resident's record. The 

written log required in subdivision 1 of the subsection shall 

indicated the name of such resident. If there is a change in the 

resident's condition or care needs, the agreement shall be 

reviewed and if necessary, the frequency of rounds shall be 

adjusted. If an adjustment is made, the former agreement shall 

be replaced with a new agreement or with compliance with 

the frequency specified in this subsection. ] 

D. For each resident with an inability to use the signaling 

device, [ this in addition to any other services, the following 

shall be met: 

1. This ] inability shall be included in the resident's 

individualized service plan [ , indicating the need for 

monitoring for emergencies and other unanticipated needs. 

In addition to any other services, the. 

2. The ] plan shall specify a minimal frequency of [ daily ] 

rounds to be made by direct care staff [ and the method 

used to document that such rounds were made. 

Documentation of rounds to monitor for emergencies or 

other unanticipated resident needs.  

3. Unless subsection C of this section is applicable, once 

the resident has gone to bed each evening until the resident 

has arisen each morning, at a minimum, direct care staff 

shall make rounds no less often than every two hours, 

except that rounds may be made on a different frequency if 

requested by the resident and agreed to by the facility. Any 

agreement for a different frequency must be in writing, 

specify the frequency, be signed and dated by the resident 

and the facility, and be retained in the resident's record. If 

there is a change in the resident's condition or care needs, 

the agreement shall be reviewed and if necessary, the 

frequency of rounds shall be adjusted. If an adjustment is 

made, the former agreement shall be replaced with a new 

agreement or with compliance with the frequency specified 

in this subdivision. 

4. The facility shall document the rounds that were made, 

which shall include the name of the resident, the date and 

time of the rounds, and the staff member who made the 

rounds. The documentation ] shall be retained for two 

years. 
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22VAC40-73-940. Fire safety: compliance with state 

regulations and local fire ordinances. 

A. An assisted living facility shall comply with the Virginia 

Statewide Fire Prevention Code (13VAC5-51) as determined 

by at least an annual inspection by the appropriate fire 

official. Reports of the inspections shall be retained at the 

facility for at least two years. 

B. An assisted living facility shall comply with any local fire 

ordinance. 

Part IX 

Emergency Preparedness 

22VAC40-73-950. Emergency preparedness and response 

plan. 

A. The facility shall develop a written emergency 

preparedness and response plan that shall address: 

1. Documentation of initial and annual contact with the 

local emergency coordinator to determine (i) local disaster 

risks, (ii) communitywide plans to address different 

disasters and emergency situations, and (iii) assistance, if 

any, that the local emergency management office will 

provide to the facility in an emergency. 

2. Analysis of the facility's potential hazards, including 

severe weather, [ biohazard events, ] fire, loss of utilities, 

flooding, work place violence or terrorism, severe injuries, 

or other emergencies that would disrupt normal operation 

of the facility. 

3. Written emergency management policies and procedures 

for provision of: 

a. Administrative direction and management of response 

activities; 

b. Coordination of logistics during the emergency; 

c. Communications; 

d. Life safety of residents, staff, volunteers, and visitors; 

e. Property protection; 

f. Continued services to residents; 

g. Community resource accessibility; and 

h. Recovery and restoration. 

4. Written emergency response procedures for assessing 

the situation; protecting residents, staff, volunteers, 

visitors, equipment, medications, and vital records; and 

restoring services. Emergency procedures shall address: 

a. Alerting emergency personnel and facility staff; 

b. Warning and notification of residents, including 

sounding of alarms when appropriate; 

c. Providing emergency access to secure areas and 

opening locked doors; 

d. Conducting evacuations and sheltering in place, as 

appropriate, and accounting for all residents; 

e. Locating and shutting off utilities when necessary; 

f. Maintaining and operating emergency equipment 

effectively and safely; 

g. Communicating with staff and community emergency 

responders during the emergency; and 

h. Conducting relocations to emergency shelters or 

alternative sites when necessary and accounting for all 

residents. 

5. Supporting documents that would be needed in an 

emergency, including emergency call lists, building and 

site maps necessary to shut off utilities, memoranda of 

understanding with relocation sites, and list of major 

resources such as suppliers of emergency equipment. 

B. Staff and volunteers shall be knowledgeable in and 

prepared to implement the emergency preparedness plan in 

the event of an emergency. 

C. The facility shall develop and implement an orientation 

and [ quarterly semi-annual ] review on the emergency 

preparedness and response plan for all staff, residents, and 

volunteers, with emphasis placed on an individual's respective 

responsibilities. [ The review shall be documented by signing 

and dating. ] The orientation and review shall cover 

responsibilities for:  

1. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms;  

2. Implementing evacuation, shelter in place, and 

relocation procedures;  

3. Using, maintaining, and operating emergency 

equipment;  

4. Accessing emergency medical information, equipment, 

and medications for residents;  

5. Locating and shutting off utilities; and  

6. Utilizing community support services.  

D. The facility shall review the emergency preparedness 

plan annually or more often as needed [ , document the 

review by signing and dating the plan, ] and make necessary 

[ plan ] revisions. Such revisions shall be communicated to 

staff, residents, and volunteers and incorporated into the 

orientation and [ quarterly  semi-annual ] review for staff, 

residents, and volunteers.  

E. In the event of a disaster, fire, emergency, or any other 

condition that may jeopardize the health, safety, and welfare 

of residents, the facility shall take appropriate action to 

protect the health, safety, and welfare of the residents and 
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take appropriate actions to remedy the conditions as soon as 

possible.  

F. After the disaster or emergency is stabilized, the facility 

shall: 

1. Notify family members and legal representatives; and 

2. Report the disaster or emergency to the regional 

licensing office by the next day as specified in 22VAC40-

73-70. 

22VAC40-73-960. Fire and emergency evacuation plan. 

A. Assisted living facilities shall have a written plan for fire 

and emergency evacuation that is to be followed in the event 

of a fire or other emergency. The plan shall be approved by 

the appropriate fire official.  

B. A fire and emergency evacuation drawing shall be posted 

in a conspicuous place on each floor of each building used by 

residents. The drawing shall show primary and secondary 

escape routes, areas of refuge, assembly areas, telephones, 

fire alarm boxes, and fire extinguishers, as appropriate.  

C. The telephone numbers for the fire department, rescue 

squad or ambulance, police, and Poison Control Center shall 

be posted by each telephone shown on the fire and emergency 

evacuation plan. 

D. In assisted living facilities where all outgoing telephone 

calls must be placed through a central switchboard located on 

the premises, the information required in subsection C of this 

section may be posted by the switchboard rather than by each 

telephone, provided this switchboard is [ manned staffed ] 24 

hours each day.  

E. Staff and volunteers shall be fully informed of the 

approved fire and emergency evacuation plan, including their 

duties, and the location and operation of fire extinguishers, 

fire alarm boxes, and any other available emergency 

equipment. 

22VAC40-73-970. Fire and emergency evacuation drills. 

A. Fire and emergency evacuation drill frequency and 

participation shall be in accordance with the current edition of 

the Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code (13VAC5-51). 

The drills required for each shift in a quarter shall not be 

conducted in the same month. 

B. Additional fire and emergency evacuation drills may be 

held at the discretion of the administrator or licensing 

inspector and must be held when there is any reason to 

question whether the requirements of the approved fire and 

emergency evacuation plan can be met. 

C. Each required fire and emergency evacuation drill shall 

be unannounced. 

D. Immediately following each required fire and emergency 

evacuation drill, there shall be an evaluation of the drill by the 

staff in order to determine the effectiveness of the drill. The 

licensee or administrator shall immediately correct any 

problems identified in the evaluation and document the 

corrective action taken, 

E. A record of the required fire and emergency evacuation 

drills shall be kept in the facility for two years. Such record 

shall include: 

1. Identity of the person conducting the drill; 

2. The date and time of the drill; 

3. The method used for notification of the drill; 

4. The number of staff participating; 

5. The number of residents participating; 

6. Any special conditions simulated;  

7. The time it took to complete the drill; 

8. Weather conditions; and 

9. Problems encountered, if any. 

22VAC40-73-980. Emergency equipment and supplies. 

A. A complete first aid kit shall be on hand [ in each 

building ] at the facility, located in a designated place that is 

easily accessible to staff but not to residents. Items with 

expiration dates must not have dates that have already passed. 

The kit shall include [ , but not be limited to, ] the following 

items:  

1. Adhesive tape;  

[ 2. Antibiotic cream or ointment packets; 

3. 2. ] Antiseptic wipes or ointment; 

[ 4. 3. ] Band-aids, in assorted sizes; 

[ 5. 4. ] Blankets, either disposable or other; 

[ 6. 5. ] Disposable single-use breathing barriers or shields 

for use with rescue breathing or CPR (e.g., CPR mask or 

other type); 

[ 7. 6. ] Cold pack; 

[ 8. 7. ] Disposable single-use waterproof gloves; 

[ 9. 8. ] Gauze pads and roller gauze, in assorted sizes; 

[ 10. 9. ] Hand cleaner (e.g., waterless hand sanitizer or 

antiseptic towelettes); 

[ 11. 10. ] Plastic bags; 

[ 12. 11. ] Scissors; 

[ 13. 12. ] Small flashlight and extra batteries; 

[ 14. 13. ] Thermometer; 

[ 15. 14. ] Triangular bandages; 
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[ 16. 15. ] Tweezers; [ and ] 

[ 17. 81-milligram aspirin in single packets or small bottle; 

and 

18. 16. ] The first aid instructional manual. 

B. In facilities that have a motor vehicle that is used to 

transport residents and in a motor vehicle used for a field trip, 

there shall be a first aid kit on the vehicle, located in a 

designated place that is accessible to staff but not residents 

that includes items as specified in subsection A of this 

section. 

C. First aid kits shall be checked at least monthly to [ assure 

ensure ] that all items are present and items with expiration 

dates are not past their expiration date. 

D. Each facility with six or more residents shall be equipped 

with a permanent connection able to connect to a temporary 

emergency electrical power source for the provision of 

electricity during an interruption of the normal electric power 

supply. The connection shall be of the size that is capable of 

providing power to required circuits when connected and that 

is sufficient to implement the emergency preparedness and 

response plan. The installation of a connection for temporary 

electric power shall be in compliance with the Virginia 

Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) and 

approved by the local building official. Permanent 

installations of emergency power systems shall be acceptable 

when installed in accordance with the Uniform Statewide 

Building Code and approved by the local building official. 

E. The following emergency lighting shall be available: 

1. Flashlights or battery lanterns for general use. 

2. One flashlight or battery lantern for each employee 

directly responsible for resident care [ who is on duty 

between 5 p.m. and 7 a.m ]. 

3. One flashlight or battery lantern for each bedroom used 

by residents and for the living and dining area unless there 

is a provision for emergency lighting in the adjoining 

hallways. 

4. The use of open flame lighting is prohibited. 

F. There shall be two forms of communication for use in an 

emergency. 

G. The facility shall ensure the availability of a 96-hour 

supply of emergency food and drinking water. At least 48 

hours of the supply must be on site at any given time [ , of 

which the facility's rotating stock may be used ].  

22VAC40-73-990. Plan for resident emergencies and 

practice exercise. 

A. Assisted living facilities shall have a written plan for 

resident emergencies that includes: 

1. Procedures for handling medical emergencies, including 

identifying the staff person responsible for (i) calling the 

rescue squad, ambulance service, resident's physician, or 

Poison Control Center; and (ii) providing first aid and 

CPR, when indicated. 

2. Procedures for handling mental health emergencies such 

as, but not limited to, catastrophic reaction or the need for 

a temporary detention order. 

3. Procedures for making pertinent medical information 

and history available to the rescue squad and hospital, 

including [ but not limited to, information on medications a 

copy of the current medication administration record ] and 

advance directives. 

4. Procedures to be followed in the event that a resident is 

missing, including [ but not limited to ] (i) involvement of 

facility staff, appropriate law-enforcement agency, and 

others as needed; (ii) areas to be searched; (iii) 

expectations upon locating the resident; and (iv) 

documentation of the event. 

5. Procedures for notifying the resident's family, legal 

representative, designated contact person, and any 

responsible social agency. 

6. Procedures for notifying the regional licensing office as 

specified in 22VAC40-73-70. 

B. [ The procedures in the plan for resident emergencies 

required in subsection A of this section shall be reviewed by 

the facility at least every six months with all staff. 

Documentation of the review shall be signed and dated by 

each staff person.  

B. C. ] At least once every six months, all staff [ currently 

on duty ] on each shift shall participate in an exercise in 

which the procedures for resident emergencies are practiced. 

Documentation of each exercise shall be maintained in the 

facility for at least two years. 

[ C. D. ] The plan for resident emergencies shall be readily 

available to all staff [ , residents' families, and legal 

representatives ]. 

Part X 

Additional Requirements for Facilities that Care for Adults 

with Serious Cognitive Impairments  

Article 1 

Subjectivity 

22VAC40-73-1000. Subjectivity. 

All facilities that care for residents with serious cognitive 

impairments due to a primary psychiatric diagnosis of 

dementia who cannot recognize danger or protect their own 

safety and welfare shall be subject to either Article 2 

(22VAC40-73-1010 et seq.) or Article 3 (22VAC40-73-1080 

et seq.) of this part. All facilities that care for residents with 
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serious cognitive impairments due to any other diagnosis who 

cannot recognize danger or protect their own safety and 

welfare shall be subject to Article 2 of this part.  

Article 2 

Mixed Population 

22VAC40-73-1010. Applicability. 

The requirements in this article apply when there is a mixed 

population consisting of any combination of (i) residents who 

have serious cognitive impairments due to a primary 

psychiatric diagnosis of dementia who are unable to 

recognize danger or protect their own safety and welfare and 

who are not in a special care unit as provided for in Article 3 

(22VAC40-73-1080 et seq.) of this part; (ii) residents who 

have serious cognitive impairments due to any other 

diagnosis who cannot recognize danger or protect their own 

safety and welfare; and (iii) other residents. The requirements 

in this article also apply when all the residents have serious 

cognitive impairments due to any diagnosis other than a 

primary psychiatric diagnosis of dementia and cannot 

recognize danger or protect their own safety and welfare. 

Except for special care units covered by Article 3 of this part, 

these requirements apply to the entire facility unless specified 

otherwise. 

22VAC40-73-1020. Staffing. 

A. When residents are present, there shall be at least two 

direct care staff members awake and on duty at all times in 

each building who shall be responsible for the care and 

supervision of the residents. 

B. During trips away from the facility, there shall be 

sufficient direct care staff to provide sight and sound 

supervision to all residents who cannot recognize danger or 

protect their own safety and welfare. 

[ Exception: The requirements of subsections A and B of 

this section do not apply when facilities are licensed for 10 or 

fewer residents if no more than three of the residents have 

serious cognitive impairments. Each prospective resident or 

his legal representative shall be notified of this exception 

prior to admission. ]  

22VAC40-73-1030. Staff training. 

A. [ Commencing immediately upon employment and 

within Within ] three months [ of the starting date of 

employment ], the administrator shall attend 12 hours of 

training in working with individuals who have a cognitive 

impairment, and the training shall meet the requirements of 

subsection C of this section.  

1. Training in cognitive impairment that meets the 

requirements of subsection C of this section and was 

completed in the year prior to employment is transferable 

and counts toward the required 12 hours if there is 

documentation of the training. 

2. Whether the training counts toward continuing education 

for administrator licensure and for what period of time 

depends upon the licensure requirements of the Virginia 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators. 

B. [ Commencing immediately upon employment and within 

Within ] four months [ of the starting date of employment ], 

direct care staff shall attend six hours of training in working 

with individuals who have a cognitive impairment, and the 

training shall meet the requirements of subsection C of this 

section.  

1. The six-hour training received within the first four 

months of employment is counted toward the annual 

training requirement for the first year.  

2. Training in cognitive impairment that meets the 

requirements of subsection C of this section and was 

completed in the year prior to employment is transferable 

if there is documentation of the training.  

3. The documented previous cognitive impairment training 

referenced in subdivision 2 of this subsection is counted 

toward the required six hours but not toward the annual 

training requirement. 

C. Curriculum for the training in cognitive impairment for 

direct care staff and administrators shall be developed by a 

qualified health professional or by a licensed social worker, 

shall be relevant to the population in care, shall maximize the 

level of a resident's functional ability, and shall include [ , but 

need not be limited to ]: 

1. Information about cognitive impairment, including areas 

such as cause, progression, behaviors, and management of 

the condition; 

2. Communicating with the resident; 

3. Resident care techniques for [ persons residents ] with 

physical, cognitive, behavioral, and social disabilities; 

4. Managing dysfunctional behavior;  

5. Creating a therapeutic environment; 

6. Planning and facilitating activities appropriate for each 

resident; and 

7. Identifying and alleviating safety risks to residents with 

cognitive impairment. 

D. Within the first month of employment, staff, other than 

the administrator and direct care staff, shall complete two 

hours of training on the nature and needs of residents with 

cognitive impairments relevant to the population in care. 

22VAC40-73-1040. Doors and windows. 

A. Doors leading to the outside shall have a system of 

security monitoring of residents with serious cognitive 

impairments, such as door alarms, cameras, constant staff 

oversight, security bracelets that are part of an alarm system, 
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or delayed egress mechanisms. Residents with serious 

cognitive impairments may be limited but not prohibited from 

exiting the facility or any part thereof. Before limiting any 

resident from freely leaving the facility, the resident's record 

shall reflect the behavioral observations or other bases for 

determining that the resident has a serious cognitive 

impairment and cannot recognize danger or protect his own 

safety and welfare. 

B. There shall be protective devices on the bedroom and the 

bathroom windows of residents with serious cognitive 

impairments and on windows in common areas accessible to 

these residents to prevent the windows from being opened 

wide enough for a resident to crawl through. The protective 

devices on the windows shall be in conformance with the 

Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63).  

22VAC40-73-1050. Outdoor access. 

A. The facility shall have a secured outdoor area for the 

residents' use or provide direct care staff supervision while 

residents with serious cognitive impairments are outside. 

B. Weather permitting, residents with serious cognitive 

impairments shall be reminded of the opportunity to be 

outdoors on a daily basis.  

22VAC40-73-1060. Indoor walking area. 

The facility shall provide to residents free access to an 

indoor walking corridor or other indoor area that may be used 

for walking. 

22VAC40-73-1070. Environmental precautions. 

A. Special environmental precautions shall be taken by the 

facility to eliminate hazards to the safety and well being of 

residents with serious cognitive impairments. Examples of 

environmental precautions include signs, carpet patterns and 

arrows that point the way, and reduction of background noise. 

B. When there are indications that ordinary materials or 

objects may be harmful to a resident with a serious cognitive 

impairment, these materials or objects shall be inaccessible to 

the resident except under staff supervision. 

Article 3 

Safe, Secure Environment 

22VAC40-73-1080. Applicability. 

A. In order to be admitted or retained in a safe, secure 

environment as defined in 22VAC40-73-10, except as 

provided in subsection B of this section, a resident must have 

a serious cognitive impairment due to a primary psychiatric 

diagnosis of dementia and be unable to recognize danger or 

protect his own safety and welfare. The requirements in this 

article apply when such residents reside in a safe, secure 

environment. These requirements apply only to the safe, 

secure environment.  

B. A resident's spouse, parent, adult sibling, or adult child 

who otherwise would not meet the criteria to reside in a safe, 

secure environment may reside in the special care unit if the 

spouse, parent, sibling, or child so requests in writing, the 

facility agrees in writing, and the resident, if capable of 

making the decision, agrees in writing. The written request 

and agreements must be maintained in the resident's file. The 

spouse, parent, sibling, or child is considered a resident of the 

facility and as such this chapter applies. The requirements of 

this article do not apply for the spouse, parent, adult sibling, 

or adult child [ since because ] the individual does not have a 

serious cognitive impairment due to a primary psychiatric 

diagnosis of dementia with an inability to recognize danger or 

protect his own safety and welfare. 

22VAC40-73-1090. Assessment. 

A. Prior to his admission to a safe, secure environment, the 

resident shall have been assessed by an independent clinical 

psychologist licensed to practice in the Commonwealth or by 

an independent physician as having a serious cognitive 

impairment due to a primary psychiatric diagnosis of 

dementia with an inability to recognize danger or protect his 

own safety and welfare. The physician shall be board certified 

or board eligible in a specialty or subspecialty relevant to the 

diagnosis and treatment of serious cognitive impairments 

(e.g., family practice, geriatrics, internal medicine, neurology, 

neurosurgery, or psychiatry). The assessment shall be in 

writing and shall include [ , but not be limited to ] the 

following areas: 

1. Cognitive functions (e.g., orientation, comprehension, 

problem-solving, attention and concentration, memory, 

intelligence, abstract reasoning, judgment, and insight); 

2. Thought and perception (e.g., process and content); 

3. Mood/affect; 

4. Behavior/psychomotor; 

5. Speech/language; and 

6. Appearance. 

B. The assessment required in subsection A of this section 

shall be maintained in the resident's record. 

22VAC40-73-1100. Approval. 

A. Prior to placing a resident with a serious cognitive 

impairment due to a primary psychiatric diagnosis of 

dementia in a safe, secure environment, the facility shall 

obtain the written approval of one of the following persons, in 

the following order of priority: 

1. The resident, if capable of making an informed decision; 

2. A guardian or other legal representative for the resident 

if one has been appointed; 
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3. A relative who is willing and able to take responsibility 

to act as the resident's representative, in the following 

specified order: (i) spouse, (ii) adult child, (iii) parent, (iv) 

adult sibling, (v) adult grandchild, (vi) adult niece or 

nephew, (vii) aunt or uncle; or 

4. If the resident is not capable of making an informed 

decision and a guardian, legal representative, or relative is 

unavailable, an independent physician who is skilled and 

knowledgeable in the diagnosis and treatment of dementia. 

B. The obtained written approval shall be retained in the 

resident's file. 

C. The facility shall document that the order of priority 

specified in subsection A of this section was followed, and 

the documentation shall be retained in the resident's file. 

D. As soon as one of the persons in the order as prioritized 

in subsection A of this section disapproves of placement or 

retention in the safe, secure environment, then the assisted 

living facility shall not place or retain the resident or 

prospective resident in the special care unit. [ If the resident is 

not to be retained in the unit, the discharge requirements 

specified in 22VAC40-73-430 apply. ]  

22VAC40-73-1110. Appropriateness of placement and 

continued residence. 

A. Prior to admitting a resident with a serious cognitive 

impairment due to a primary psychiatric diagnosis of 

dementia to a safe, secure environment, the licensee, 

administrator, or designee shall determine whether placement 

in the special care unit is appropriate. The determination and 

justification for the decision shall be in writing and shall be 

retained in the resident's file.  

B. Six months after placement of the resident in the safe, 

secure environment and annually thereafter, the licensee, 

administrator, or designee shall perform a review of the 

appropriateness of each resident's continued residence in the 

special care unit. 

C. Whenever warranted by a change in a resident's 

condition, the licensee, administrator, or designee shall also 

perform a review of the appropriateness of continued 

residence in the unit. 

D. The reviews specified in subsections B and C of this 

section shall be performed in consultation with the following 

persons, as appropriate:  

1. The resident;  

2. A responsible family member;  

3. A guardian or other legal representative;  

4. A designated contact person;  

5. Direct care staff who provide care and supervision to the 

resident;  

6. The resident's mental health provider;  

7. The licensed health care professional required in 

22VAC40-73-490;  

8. The resident's physician; and  

9. Any other professional involved with the resident.  

E. The licensee, administrator, or designee shall make a 

determination as to whether continued residence in the special 

care unit is appropriate at the time of each review required by 

subsections B and C of this section. The determination and 

justification for the decision shall be in writing and shall be 

retained in the resident's file. 

22VAC40-73-1120. Activities. 

A. In addition to the requirements of this section, all the 

requirements of 22VAC40-73-520 apply to safe, secure 

environments, except for 22VAC40-73-520 C and E.  

B. There shall be at least 21 hours of scheduled activities 

available to the residents each week for no less than two 

hours each day.  

C. If appropriate to meet the needs of the resident with a 

short attention span, there shall be multiple short activities. 

D. Staff shall regularly encourage residents to participate in 

activities and provide guidance and assistance, as needed. 

E. As appropriate, residents shall be encouraged to 

participate in supervised activities or programs outside the 

special care unit. 

F. There shall be a designated staff person responsible for 

managing or coordinating the structured activities program. 

This staff person shall be on site in the special care unit at 

least 20 hours a week, shall maintain personal interaction 

with the residents and familiarity with their needs and 

interests, and shall meet at least one of the following 

qualifications: 

1. Be a qualified therapeutic recreation specialist or an 

activities professional; 

2. Be eligible for certification as a therapeutic recreation 

specialist or an activities professional by a recognized 

accrediting body; 

3. Have one year full-time work experience within the last 

five years in an activities program in an adult care setting; 

4. Be a qualified occupational therapist or an occupational 

therapy assistant; or 

5. Prior to or within six months of employment, have 

successfully completed 40 hours of department-approved 

training in adult group activities and in recognizing and 

assessing the activity needs of residents. 

The required 20 hours on site does not have to be devoted 

solely to managing or coordinating activities; neither is it 
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required that the person responsible for managing or 

coordinating the activities program conduct the activities. 

22VAC40-73-1130. Staffing. 

A. [ When residents are present, there shall be at least two 

direct care staff members awake and on duty at all times on 

each floor in each special care unit who shall be responsible 

for the care and supervision of the residents, except as 

provided in subsection B of this section. This requirement is 

independent of 22VAC40-73-280 D and 22VAC40-73-1020 

A. When 20 or fewer residents are present, at least two direct 

care staff members shall be awake and on duty at all times in 

each special care unit who shall be responsible for the care 

and supervision of the residents, except as noted in subsection 

B of this section. For every additional 10 residents, or portion 

thereof, at least one more direct care staff member shall be 

awake and on duty in the unit. ]  

B. Only one direct care staff member has to be awake and 

on duty in the unit if sufficient to meet the needs of the 

residents, if (i) there are no more than five residents present in 

the unit and (ii) there are at least two other direct care staff 

members in the building, one of whom is readily available to 

assist with emergencies in the special care unit, provided that 

supervision necessary to ensure the health, safety, and welfare 

of residents throughout the building is not compromised. 

[ The requirements in subsections A and B of this section 

are independent of 22VAC40-73-280 D and 22VAC40-73-

1020 A. ]  

C. During trips away from the facility, there shall be 

sufficient direct care staff to provide sight and sound 

supervision to residents. 

22VAC40-73-1140. Staff training. 

A. [ Commencing immediately upon employment and 

within Within ] three months [ of the starting date of 

employment ], the administrator shall attend at least 12 hours 

of training in cognitive impairment that meets the 

requirements of subsection C of this section. 

1. Training in cognitive impairment that meets the 

requirements of subsection C of this section and was 

completed in the year prior to employment is transferable 

and counts toward the required 12 hours if there is 

documentation of the training. 

2. Whether the training counts toward continuing education 

for administrator licensure and for what period of time 

depends upon the licensure requirements of the Virginia 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators. 

B. [ Commencing immediately upon employment in the 

safe, secure environment and within Within ] four months [ of 

the starting date of employment in the safe, secure 

environment ], direct care staff shall attend at least 10 hours 

of training in cognitive impairment that meets the 

requirements of subsection C of this section.  

1. The training is counted toward the annual training 

requirement for the first year.  

2. Training in cognitive impairment that meets the 

requirements of subsection C of this section and was 

completed in the year prior to employment is transferable 

if there is documentation of the training.  

3. The documented previous cognitive impairment training 

referenced in subdivision 2 of this subsection is counted 

toward the required 10 hours but not toward the annual 

training requirement. 

C. The training in cognitive impairment required by 

subsections A and B of this section shall be relevant to the 

population in care, shall maximize the level of a resident's 

functional ability, and shall include [ , but not be limited to, ] 

the following topics: 

1. Information about cognitive impairment, including areas 

such as cause, progression, behaviors, and management of 

the condition; 

2. Communicating with the resident; 

3. Resident care techniques for persons with physical, 

cognitive, behavioral, and social disabilities; 

4. Managing dysfunctional behavior;  

5.Creating a therapeutic environment; 

6. Planning and facilitating activities appropriate for each 

resident; and  

7. Identifying and alleviating safety risks to residents with 

cognitive impairment. 

D. The training specified in subsection C of this section 

shall be developed and provided by: 

1. A licensed health care professional practicing within the 

scope of his profession who has at least 12 hours of 

training in the care of individuals with cognitive 

impairments due to dementia; or 

2. A person who has been approved by the department to 

develop or provide the training. 

E. Within the first month of employment, staff, other than 

the administrator and direct care staff, who will have contact 

with residents in the special care unit shall complete two 

hours of training on the nature and needs of residents with 

cognitive impairments due to dementia. 

22VAC40-73-1150. Doors and windows. 

A. Doors that lead to unprotected areas shall be monitored 

or secured through devices that conform to applicable 

building and fire codes, including [ but not limited to, ] door 

alarms, cameras, constant staff oversight, security bracelets 
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that are part of an alarm system, pressure pads at doorways, 

delayed egress mechanisms, locking devices, or perimeter 

fence gates. Residents who reside in safe, secure 

environments may be prohibited from exiting the facility or 

the special care unit [ , ] if applicable building and fire codes 

are met. 

B. There shall be protective devices on the bedroom and 

bathroom windows of residents and on windows in common 

areas accessible to residents to prevent the windows from 

being opened wide enough for a resident to crawl through. 

The protective devices on the windows shall be in 

conformance with the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 

Code (13VAC5-63).  

22VAC40-73-1160. Outdoor access. 

A. The facility shall have a secured outdoor area for the 

residents' use or provide direct care staff supervision while 

residents are outside. 

B. Residents shall be given the opportunity to be outdoors 

on a daily basis, weather permitting. 

22VAC40-73-1170. Indoor walking area. 

The facility shall provide to residents free access to an 

indoor walking corridor or other indoor area that may be used 

for walking. 

22VAC40-73-1180. Environmental precautions. 

A. Special environmental precautions shall be taken by the 

facility to eliminate hazards to the safety and well-being of 

residents. Examples of environmental precautions include 

signs, carpet patterns and arrows that point the way, high 

visual contrast between floors and walls, and reduction of 

background noise. 

B. When there are indications that ordinary materials or 

objects may be harmful to a resident, these materials or 

objects shall be inaccessible to the resident except under staff 

supervision. 

C. Special environmental enhancements, tailored to the 

population in care, shall be provided by the facility to enable 

residents to maximize their independence and to promote 

their dignity in comfortable surroundings. Examples of 

environmental enhancements include memory boxes, activity 

centers, rocking chairs, and visual contrast between plates and 

eating utensils and the table. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (22VAC40-73) 

[ Report of Tuberculosis Screening 

Virginia Department of Health Report of Tuberculosis 

Screening Form (eff. 3/2011) 

Virginia Department of Health TB Control Program TB 

Risk Assessment Form, TB 512 (eff. 5/2011) 

Report of Tuberculosis Screening (eff. 10/2011) 

Virginia Department of Health Report of Tuberculosis 

Screening Form (undated) 

Virginia Department of Health TB Control Program Risk 

Assessment Form, TB 512 (eff. 9/2016) ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3227; Filed August 23, 2017, 11:11 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 

is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 3, which 

excludes regulations that consist only of changes in style or 

form or corrections of technical errors. The State Board of 

Social Services will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-73. Standards for Licensed 

Assisted Living Facilities (amending 22VAC40-73-10, 

22VAC40-73-50, 22VAC40-73-310, 22VAC40-73-390; 

adding 22VAC40-73-45).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217, 63.2-1732, 63.2-1802, 

63.2-1805, and 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Judith McGreal, Licensing Program 

Consultant, Division of Licensing Programs, Department of 

Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 663-5535, FAX (804) 819-7093, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email judith.mcgreal@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action makes technical corrections to the new 

comprehensive assisted living facility regulation, 

22VAC40-73, which replaces 22VAC40-72. The technical 

corrections incorporate the requirements for liability 

insurance disclosure (32:26 3573-3581 August 22, 2016) 

and hospice care (33:2 VA.R. 259-260 October 19, 2016), 

which were promulgated during the pendency of the 

regulatory action creating 22VAC40-73, to continue those 

regulatory requirements. 

22VAC40-73-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=32b74003227~4&typ=40&actno=003227&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1fdf5003227~2&typ=40&actno=003227&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1fdf5003227~2&typ=40&actno=003227&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=31f20003227~3&typ=40&actno=003227&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=31f20003227~3&typ=40&actno=003227&mime=application/pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=5887
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=5934
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"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means bathing, 

dressing, toileting, transferring, bowel control, bladder 

control, and eating/feeding. A person's degree of 

independence in performing these activities is a part of 

determining appropriate level of care and services. 

"Administer medication" means to open a container of 

medicine or to remove the ordered dosage and to give it to the 

resident for whom it is ordered. 

"Administrator" means the licensee or a person designated 

by the licensee who is responsible for the general 

administration and management of an assisted living facility 

and who oversees the day-to-day operation of the facility, 

including compliance with all regulations for licensed 

assisted living facilities. 

"Admission" means the date a person actually becomes a 

resident of the assisted living facility and is physically present 

at the facility. 

"Advance directive" means, as defined in § 54.1-2982 of the 

Code of Virginia, (i) a witnessed written document, 

voluntarily executed by the declarant in accordance with the 

requirements of § 54.1-2983 of the Code of Virginia or (ii) a 

witnessed oral statement, made by the declarant subsequent to 

the time he is diagnosed as suffering from a terminal 

condition and in accordance with the provisions of § 54.1-

2983 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Ambulatory" means the condition of a resident who is 

physically and mentally capable of self-preservation by 

evacuating in response to an emergency to a refuge area as 

defined by 13VAC5-63, the Virginia Uniform Statewide 

Building Code, without the assistance of another person, or 

from the structure itself without the assistance of another 

person if there is no such refuge area within the structure, 

even if such resident may require the assistance of a 

wheelchair, walker, cane, prosthetic device, or a single verbal 

command to evacuate. 

"Assisted living care" means a level of service provided by 

an assisted living facility for adults who may have physical or 

mental impairments and require at least moderate assistance 

with the activities of daily living. Included in this level of 

service are individuals who are dependent in behavior pattern 

(i.e., abusive, aggressive, disruptive) as documented on the 

uniform assessment instrument.  

"Assisted living facility" means, as defined in § 63.2-100 of 

the Code of Virginia, any congregate residential setting that 

provides or coordinates personal and health care services, 24-

hour supervision, and assistance (scheduled and unscheduled) 

for the maintenance or care of four or more adults who are 

aged, infirm, or disabled and who are cared for in a primarily 

residential setting, except (i) a facility or portion of a facility 

licensed by the State Board of Health or the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, but including 

any portion of such facility not so licensed; (ii) the home or 

residence of an individual who cares for or maintains only 

persons related to him by blood or marriage; (iii) a facility or 

portion of a facility serving infirm or disabled persons 

between the ages of 18 and 21 years, or 22 years if enrolled in 

an educational program for the handicapped pursuant to 

§ 22.1-214 of the Code of Virginia, when such facility is 

licensed by the department as a children's residential facility 

under Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the 

Code of Virginia, but including any portion of the facility not 

so licensed; and (iv) any housing project for persons 62 years 

of age or older or the disabled that provides no more than 

basic coordination of care services and is funded by the U.S. 

Department of Housing and Urban Development, by the U.S. 

Department of Agriculture, or by the Virginia Housing 

Development Authority. Included in this definition are any 

two or more places, establishments, or institutions owned or 

operated by a single entity and providing maintenance or care 

to a combined total of four or more aged, infirm, or disabled 

adults. Maintenance or care means the protection, general 

supervision, and oversight of the physical and mental well-

being of an aged, infirm, or disabled individual.  

"Attorney-in-fact" means strictly, one who is designated to 

transact business for another: a legal agent. 

"Behavioral health authority" means the organization, 

appointed by and accountable to the governing body of the 

city or county that established it, that provides mental health, 

developmental, and substance abuse services through its own 

staff or through contracts with other organizations and 

providers. 

"Board" means the State Board of Social Services. 

"Building" means a structure with exterior walls under one 

roof. 

"Cardiopulmonary resuscitation" or "CPR" means an 

emergency procedure consisting of external cardiac massage 

and artificial respiration; the first treatment for a person who 

has collapsed, has no pulse, and has stopped breathing; and 

attempts to restore circulation of the blood and prevent death 

or brain damage due to lack of oxygen.  

"Case management" means multiple functions designed to 

link clients to appropriate services. Case management may 

include a variety of common components such as initial 

screening of needs, comprehensive assessment of needs, 

development and implementation of a plan of care, service 

monitoring, and client follow-up. 

"Case manager" means an employee of a public human 

services agency who is qualified and designated to develop 

and coordinate plans of care. 

"Chapter" or "this chapter" means these regulations, that is, 

Standards for Licensed Assisted Living Facilities, 22VAC40-

73, unless noted otherwise. 
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"Chemical restraint" means a psychopharmacologic drug 

that is used for discipline or convenience and not required to 

treat the resident's medical symptoms or symptoms from 

mental illness or intellectual disability and that prohibits the 

resident from reaching his highest level of functioning. 

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department, 

his designee, or authorized representative. 

"Community services board" or "CSB" means a public body 

established pursuant to § 37.2-501 of the Code of Virginia 

that provides mental health, developmental, and substance 

abuse programs and services within the political subdivision 

or political subdivisions participating on the board. 

"Companion services" means assistance provided to 

residents in such areas as transportation, meal preparation, 

shopping, light housekeeping, companionship, and household 

management.  

"Conservator" means a person appointed by the court who is 

responsible for managing the estate and financial affairs of an 

incapacitated person and, where the context plainly indicates, 

includes a "limited conservator" or a "temporary 

conservator." The term includes (i) a local or regional 

program designated by the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services as a public conservator pursuant to 

Article 6 (§ 51.5-149 et seq.) of Chapter 14 of Title 51.5 of 

the Code of Virginia or (ii) any local or regional tax-exempt 

charitable organization established pursuant to § 501(c)(3) of 

the Internal Revenue Code to provide conservatorial services 

to incapacitated persons. Such tax-exempt charitable 

organization shall not be a provider of direct services to the 

incapacitated person. If a tax-exempt charitable organization 

has been designated by the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services as a public conservator, it may also 

serve as a conservator for other individuals. 

"Continuous licensed nursing care" means around-the-clock 

observation, assessment, monitoring, supervision, or 

provision of medical treatments provided by a licensed nurse. 

Individuals requiring continuous licensed nursing care may 

include: 

1. Individuals who have a medical instability due to 

complexities created by multiple, interrelated medical 

conditions; or 

2. Individuals with a health care condition with a high 

potential for medical instability. 

"Days" means calendar days unless noted otherwise. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services. 

"Department's representative" means an employee or 

designee of the Virginia Department of Social Services, 

acting as an authorized agent of the Commissioner of Social 

Services. 

"Dietary supplement" means a product intended for 

ingestion that supplements the diet, is labeled as a dietary 

supplement, is not represented as a sole item of a meal or diet, 

and contains a dietary ingredient or ingredients, (e.g., 

vitamins, minerals, amino acid, herbs or other botanicals, 

dietary substances (such as enzymes), and concentrates, 

metabolites, constituents, extracts, or combinations of the 

preceding types of ingredients). Dietary supplements may be 

found in many forms, such as tablets, capsules, liquids, or 

bars. 

"Direct care staff" means supervisors, assistants, aides, or 

other staff of a facility who assist residents in the 

performance of personal care or daily living activities.  

"Discharge" means the movement of a resident out of the 

assisted living facility. 

"Electronic record" means a record created, generated, sent, 

communicated, received, or stored by electronic means. 

"Electronic signature" means an electronic sound, symbol, 

or process attached to or logically associated with a record 

and executed or adopted by a person with the intent to sign 

the record. 

"Emergency placement" means the temporary status of an 

individual in an assisted living facility when the person's 

health and safety would be jeopardized by denying entry into 

the facility until the requirements for admission have been 

met. 

"Emergency restraint" means a restraint used when the 

resident's behavior is unmanageable to the degree an 

immediate and serious danger is presented to the health and 

safety of the resident or others. 

"General supervision and oversight" means assuming 

responsibility for the well-being of residents, either directly or 

through contracted agents. 

"Guardian" means a person appointed by the court who is 

responsible for the personal affairs of an incapacitated person, 

including responsibility for making decisions regarding the 

person's support, care, health, safety, habilitation, education, 

therapeutic treatment, and, if not inconsistent with an order of 

involuntary admission, residence. Where the context plainly 

indicates, the term includes a "limited guardian" or a 

"temporary guardian." The term includes (i) a local or 

regional program designated by the Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services as a public guardian pursuant to 

Article 6 (§ 51.5-149 et seq.) of Chapter 14 of Title 51.5 of 

the Code of Virginia or (ii) any local or regional tax-exempt 

charitable organization established pursuant to § 501(c)(3) of 

the Internal Revenue Code to provide guardian services to 

incapacitated persons. Such tax-exempt charitable 

organization shall not be a provider of direct services to the 

incapacitated person. If a tax-exempt charitable organization 

has been designated by the Department for Aging and 
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Rehabilitative Services as a public guardian, it may also serve 

as a guardian for other individuals.  

"Habilitative service" means activities to advance a normal 

sequence of motor skills, movement, and self-care abilities or 

to prevent avoidable additional deformity or dysfunction. 

"Health care provider" means a person, corporation, facility, 

or institution licensed by this Commonwealth to provide 

health care or professional services, including a physician or 

hospital, dentist, pharmacist, registered or licensed practical 

nurse, optometrist, podiatrist, chiropractor, physical therapist, 

physical therapy assistant, clinical psychologist, or health 

maintenance organization. 

"Household member" means any person domiciled in an 

assisted living facility other than residents or staff. 

"Imminent physical threat or danger" means clear and 

present risk of sustaining or inflicting serious or life 

threatening injuries. 

"Independent clinical psychologist" means a clinical 

psychologist who is chosen by the resident of the assisted 

living facility and who has no financial interest in the assisted 

living facility, directly or indirectly, as an owner, officer, or 

employee or as an independent contractor with the facility. 

"Independent living status" means that the resident is 

assessed as capable of performing all activities of daily living 

and instrumental activities of daily living for himself without 

requiring the assistance of another person and is assessed as 

capable of taking medications without the assistance of 

another person. If the policy of a facility dictates that 

medications are administered or distributed centrally without 

regard for the residents' capacity, this policy shall not be 

considered in determining independent status. 

"Independent physician" means a physician who is chosen 

by the resident of the assisted living facility and who has no 

financial interest in the assisted living facility, directly or 

indirectly, as an owner, officer, or employee or as an 

independent contractor with the facility.  

"Individualized service plan" or "ISP" means the written 

description of actions to be taken by the licensee, including 

coordination with other services providers, to meet the 

assessed needs of the resident. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 

meal preparation, housekeeping, laundry, and managing 

money. A person's degree of independence in performing 

these activities is a part of determining appropriate level of 

care and services. 

"Intellectual disability" means disability, originating before 

the age of 18 years, characterized concurrently by (i) 

significantly subaverage intellectual functioning as 

demonstrated by performance on a standardized measure of 

intellectual functioning, administered in conformity with 

accepted professional practice, that is at least two standard 

deviations below the mean and (ii) significant limitations in 

adaptive behavior as expressed in conceptual, social, and 

practical adaptive skills. 

"Intermittent intravenous therapy" means therapy provided 

by a licensed health care professional at medically predictable 

intervals for a limited period of time on a daily or periodic 

basis. 

"Legal representative" means a person legally responsible 

for representing or standing in the place of the resident for the 

conduct of his affairs. This may include a guardian, 

conservator, attorney-in-fact under durable power of attorney 

("durable power of attorney" defines the type of legal 

instrument used to name the attorney-in-fact and does not 

change the meaning of attorney-in-fact), trustee, or other 

person expressly named by a court of competent jurisdiction 

or the resident as his agent in a legal document that specifies 

the scope of the representative's authority to act. A legal 

representative may only represent or stand in the place of a 

resident for the function or functions for which he has legal 

authority to act. A resident is presumed competent and is 

responsible for making all health care, personal care, 

financial, and other personal decisions that affect his life 

unless a representative with legal authority has been 

appointed by a court of competent jurisdiction or has been 

appointed by the resident in a properly executed and signed 

document. A resident may have different legal representatives 

for different functions. For any given standard, the term 

"legal representative" applies solely to the legal representative 

with the authority to act in regard to the function or functions 

relevant to that particular standard.  

"Licensed health care professional" means any health care 

professional currently licensed by the Commonwealth of 

Virginia to practice within the scope of his profession, such 

as a nurse practitioner, registered nurse, licensed practical 

nurse (nurses may be licensed or hold multistate licensure 

pursuant to § 54.1-3000 of the Code of Virginia), clinical 

social worker, dentist, occupational therapist, pharmacist, 

physical therapist, physician, physician assistant, 

psychologist, and speech-language pathologist. 

Responsibilities of physicians referenced in this chapter may 

be implemented by nurse practitioners or physician assistants 

in accordance with their protocols or practice agreements 

with their supervising physicians and in accordance with the 

law. 

"Licensee" means any person, association, partnership, 

corporation, company, or public agency to whom the license 

is issued. 

"Manager" means a designated person who serves as a 

manager pursuant to 22VAC40-73-170 and 22VAC40-73-

180. 
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"Mandated reporter" means persons specified in § 63.2-1606 

of the Code of Virginia who are required to report matters 

giving reason to suspect abuse, neglect, or exploitation of an 

adult. 

"Maximum physical assistance" means that an individual 

has a rating of total dependence in four or more of the seven 

activities of daily living as documented on the uniform 

assessment instrument. An individual who can participate in 

any way with performance of the activity is not considered to 

be totally dependent. 

"Medical/orthopedic restraint" means the use of a medical or 

orthopedic support device that has the effect of restricting the 

resident's freedom of movement or access to his body for the 

purpose of improving the resident's stability, physical 

functioning, or mobility.  

"Medication aide" means a staff person who has current 

registration with the Virginia Board of Nursing to administer 

drugs that would otherwise be self-administered to residents 

in an assisted living facility in accordance with the 

Regulations Governing the Registration of Medication Aides 

(18VAC90-60). This definition also includes a staff person 

who is an applicant for registration as a medication aide in 

accordance with subdivision 2 of 22VAC40-73-670. 

"Mental illness" means a disorder of thought, mood, 

emotion, perception, or orientation that significantly impairs 

judgment, behavior, capacity to recognize reality, or ability to 

address basic life necessities and requires care and treatment 

for the health, safety, or recovery of the individual or for the 

safety of others. 

"Mental impairment" means a disability that reduces an 

individual's ability to reason logically, make 

appropriate decisions, or engage in purposeful behavior. 

"Minimal assistance" means dependency in only one activity 

of daily living or dependency in one or more of the 

instrumental activities of daily living as documented on the 

uniform assessment instrument. 

"Moderate assistance" means dependency in two or more of 

the activities of daily living as documented on the uniform 

assessment instrument. 

"Nonambulatory" means the condition of a resident who by 

reason of physical or mental impairment is not capable of 

self-preservation without the assistance of another person. 

"Nonemergency restraint" means a restraint used for the 

purpose of providing support to a physically weakened 

resident. 

"Physical impairment" means a condition of a bodily or 

sensory nature that reduces an individual's ability to function 

or to perform activities. 

"Physical restraint" means any manual method or physical 

or mechanical device, material, or equipment attached or 

adjacent to the resident's body that the resident cannot remove 

easily, which restricts freedom of movement or access to his 

body. 

"Physician" means an individual licensed to practice 

medicine or osteopathic medicine in any of the 50 states or 

the District of Columbia. 

"Premises" means a building or buildings, under one license, 

together with the land or grounds on which located.  

"Prescriber" means a practitioner who is authorized pursuant 

to §§ 54.1-3303 and 54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia to 

issue a prescription. 

"Private duty personnel" means an individual hired, either 

directly or through a licensed home care organization, by a 

resident, family member, legal representative, or similar 

entity to provide one-on-one services to the resident, such as a 

private duty nurse, home attendant, personal aide, or 

companion. Private duty personnel are not hired by the 

facility, either directly or through a contract.  

"Private pay" means that a resident of an assisted living 

facility is not eligible for an auxiliary grant. 

"Psychopharmacologic drug" means any drug prescribed or 

administered with the intent of controlling mood, mental 

status, or behavior. Psychopharmacologic drugs include not 

only the obvious drug classes, such as antipsychotic, 

antidepressants, and the antianxiety/hypnotic class, but any 

drug that is prescribed or administered with the intent of 

controlling mood, mental status, or behavior, regardless of the 

manner in which it is marketed by the manufacturers and 

regardless of labeling or other approvals by the U.S. Food and 

Drug Administration. 

"Public pay" means that a resident of an assisted living 

facility is eligible for an auxiliary grant. 

"Qualified" means having appropriate training and 

experience commensurate with assigned responsibilities, or if 

referring to a professional, possessing an appropriate degree 

or having documented equivalent education, training, or 

experience. There are specific definitions for "qualified 

assessor" and "qualified mental health professional" in this 

section.  

"Qualified assessor" means an individual who is authorized 

to perform an assessment, reassessment, or change in level of 

care for an applicant to or resident of an assisted living 

facility. For public pay individuals, a qualified assessor is an 

employee of a public human services agency trained in the 

completion of the uniform assessment instrument (UAI). For 

private pay individuals, a qualified assessor is an employee of 

the assisted living facility trained in the completion of the 

UAI or an independent private physician or a qualified 

assessor for public pay individuals. 
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"Qualified mental health professional" means a behavioral 

health professional who is trained and experienced in 

providing psychiatric or mental health services to individuals 

who have a psychiatric diagnosis, including (i) a physician 

licensed in Virginia; (ii) a psychologist: an individual with a 

master's degree in psychology from a college or university 

accredited by an association recognized by the U.S. Secretary 

of Education, with at least one year of clinical experience; 

(iii) a social worker: an individual with at least a master's 

degree in human services or related field (e.g., social work, 

psychology, psychiatric rehabilitation, sociology, counseling, 

vocational rehabilitation, or human services counseling) from 

college or university accredited by an association recognized 

by the U.S. Secretary of Education, with at least one year of 

clinical experience providing direct services to persons with a 

diagnosis of mental illness; (iv) a registered psychiatric 

rehabilitation provider (RPRP) registered with the 

International Association of Psychosocial Rehabilitation 

Services (IAPSRS); (v) a clinical nurse specialist or 

psychiatric nurse practitioner licensed in the Commonwealth 

of Virginia with at least one year of clinical experience 

working in a mental health treatment facility or agency; (vi) 

any other licensed mental health professional; or (vii) any 

other person deemed by the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services as having qualifications 

equivalent to those described in this definition. Any 

unlicensed person who meets the requirements contained in 

this definition shall either be under the supervision of a 

licensed mental health professional or employed by an agency 

or organization licensed by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services. 

"Rehabilitative services" means activities that are ordered by 

a physician or other qualified health care professional that are 

provided by a rehabilitative therapist (e.g., physical therapist, 

occupational therapist, or speech-language pathologist). 

These activities may be necessary when a resident has 

demonstrated a change in his capabilities and are provided to 

restore or improve his level of functioning. 

"Resident" means any adult residing in an assisted living 

facility for the purpose of receiving maintenance or care. The 

definition of resident also includes adults residing in an 

assisted living facility who have independent living status. 

Adults present in an assisted living facility for part of the day 

for the purpose of receiving day care services are also 

considered residents.  

"Residential living care" means a level of service provided 

by an assisted living facility for adults who may have 

physical or mental impairments and require only minimal 

assistance with the activities of daily living. Included in this 

level of service are individuals who are dependent in 

medication administration as documented on the uniform 

assessment instrument, although they may not require 

minimal assistance with the activities of daily living. This 

definition includes the services provided by the facility to 

individuals who are assessed as capable of maintaining 

themselves in an independent living status. 

"Respite care" means services provided in an assisted living 

facility for the maintenance or care of aged, infirm, or 

disabled adults for a temporary period of time or temporary 

periods of time that are regular or intermittent. Facilities 

offering this type of care are subject to this chapter. 

"Restorative care" means activities designed to assist the 

resident in reaching or maintaining his level of potential. 

These activities are not required to be provided by a 

rehabilitative therapist and may include activities such as 

range of motion, assistance with ambulation, positioning, 

assistance and instruction in the activities of daily living, 

psychosocial skills training, and reorientation and reality 

orientation. 

"Restraint" means either "physical restraint" or "chemical 

restraint" as these terms are defined in this section. 

"Safe, secure environment" means a self-contained special 

care unit for residents with serious cognitive impairments due 

to a primary psychiatric diagnosis of dementia who cannot 

recognize danger or protect their own safety and welfare. 

There may be one or more self-contained special care units in 

a facility or the whole facility may be a special care unit. 

Nothing in this definition limits or contravenes the privacy 

protections set forth in § 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Sanitizing" means treating in such a way to remove bacteria 

and viruses through using a disinfectant solution (e.g., bleach 

solution or commercial chemical disinfectant) or physical 

agent (e.g., heat). 

"Serious cognitive impairment" means severe deficit in 

mental capability of a chronic, enduring, or long-term nature 

that affects areas such as thought processes, problem-solving, 

judgment, memory, and comprehension and that interferes 

with such things as reality orientation, ability to care for self, 

ability to recognize danger to self or others, and impulse 

control. Such cognitive impairment is not due to acute or 

episodic conditions, nor conditions arising from treatable 

metabolic or chemical imbalances or caused by reactions to 

medication or toxic substances. For the purposes of this 

chapter, serious cognitive impairment means that an 

individual cannot recognize danger or protect his own safety 

and welfare.  

"Significant change" means a change in a resident's 

condition that is expected to last longer than 30 days. It does 

not include short-term changes that resolve with or without 

intervention, a short-term acute illness or episodic event, or a 

well-established, predictive, cyclic pattern of clinical signs 

and symptoms associated with a previously diagnosed 

condition where an appropriate course of treatment is in 

progress. 
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"Skilled nursing treatment" means a service ordered by a 

physician or other prescriber that is provided by and within 

the scope of practice of a licensed nurse. 

"Skills training" means systematic skill building through 

curriculum-based psychoeducational and cognitive-behavioral 

interventions. These interventions break down complex 

objectives for role performance into simpler components, 

including basic cognitive skills such as attention, to facilitate 

learning and competency. 

"Staff" or "staff person" means personnel working at a 

facility who are compensated or have a financial interest in 

the facility, regardless of role, service, age, function, or 

duration of employment at the facility. "Staff" or "staff 

person" also includes those individuals hired through a 

contract with the facility to provide services for the facility. 

"Substance abuse" means the use of drugs enumerated in the 

Virginia Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), without a compelling medical reason, or alcohol 

that (i) results in psychological or physiological dependence 

or danger to self or others as a function of continued and 

compulsive use or (ii) results in mental, emotional, or 

physical impairment that causes socially dysfunctional or 

socially disordering behavior; and (iii) because of such 

substance abuse, requires care and treatment for the health of 

the individual. This care and treatment may include 

counseling, rehabilitation, or medical or psychiatric care. All 

determinations of whether a compelling medical reason exists 

shall be made by a physician or other qualified medical 

personnel. 

"Systems review" means a physical examination of the body 

to determine if the person is experiencing problems or 

distress, including cardiovascular system, respiratory system, 

gastrointestinal system, urinary system, endocrine system, 

musculoskeletal system, nervous system, sensory system, and 

the skin. 

"Transfer" means movement of a resident to a different 

assigned living area within the same licensed facility. 

"Trustee" means one who stands in a fiduciary or 

confidential relation to another; especially, one who, having 

legal title to property, holds it in trust for the benefit of 

another and owes a fiduciary duty to that beneficiary. 

"Uniform assessment instrument" or "UAI" means the 

department designated assessment form. There is an alternate 

version of the form that may be used for private pay residents. 

Social and financial information that is not relevant because 

of the resident's payment status is not included on the private 

pay version of the form. 

"Volunteer" means a person who works at an assisted living 

facility who is not compensated. An exception to this 

definition is a person who, either as an individual or as part of 

an organization, is only present at or facilitates group 

activities on an occasional basis or for special events.  

22VAC40-73-45. Minimum amount for liability insurance 

disclosure. 

A. The minimum amount of liability insurance coverage to 

be maintained by an assisted living facility for purposes of 

disclosure in the statement required by 22VAC40-73-50 and 

the resident agreement required by 22VAC40-73-390 is as 

follows: 

1. $500,000 per occurrence to compensate residents or 

other individuals for injuries and losses from the negligent 

acts of the facility; and  

2. $500,000 aggregate to compensate residents or other 

individuals for injuries and losses from the negligent acts 

of the facility. 

B. No facility shall state that liability insurance is in place 

unless the insurance provides the minimum amount of 

coverage established in subsection A of this section. 

22VAC40-73-50. Disclosure. 

A. The assisted living facility shall prepare and provide a 

statement to the prospective resident and his legal 

representative, if any, that discloses information about the 

facility. The statement shall be on a form developed by the 

department and shall: 

1. Disclose information fully and accurately in plain 

language; 

2. Be provided in advance of admission and prior to 

signing an admission agreement or contract; 

3. Be provided upon request; and 

4. Disclose the following information, which shall be kept 

current: 

a. Name of the facility; 

b. Name of the licensee; 

c. Ownership structure of the facility (e.g., individual, 

partnership, corporation, limited liability company, 

unincorporated association, or public agency); 

d. Description of all accommodations, services, and care 

that the facility offers; 

e. Fees charged for accommodations, services, and care, 

including clear information about what is included in the 

base fee and all fees for additional accommodations, 

services, and care; 

f. Criteria for admission to the facility and restrictions on 

admission; 
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g. Criteria for transfer to a different living area within the 

same facility, including transfer to another level or type 

of care within the same facility or complex; 

h. Criteria for discharge; 

i. Categories, frequency, and number of activities 

provided for residents;  

j. General number, position types, and qualifications of 

staff on each shift; 

k. Whether or not the facility maintains liability 

insurance that provides at least the minimum amount of 

coverage established by the board for disclosure purposes 

set forth in 22VAC40-73-45 to compensate residents or 

other individuals for injuries and losses from negligent 

acts of the facility. The facility shall state in the 

disclosure statement the minimum amount of coverage 

established by the board in 22VAC40-73-45; 

k. l. Notation that additional information about the 

facility that is included in the resident agreement is 

available upon request; and 

l. m. The department's website address, with a note that 

additional information about the facility may be obtained 

from the website. 

B. Written acknowledgment of the receipt of the disclosure 

by the resident or his legal representative shall be retained in 

the resident's record. 

C. The disclosure statement shall also be available to the 

general public, upon request. 

22VAC40-73-310. Admission and retention of residents. 

A. No resident shall be admitted or retained: 

1. For whom the facility cannot provide or secure 

appropriate care; 

2. Who requires a level of care or service or type of service 

for which the facility is not licensed or which the facility 

does not provide; or 

3. If the facility does not have staff appropriate in numbers 

and with appropriate skill to provide the care and services 

needed by the resident. 

B. Assisted living facilities shall not admit an individual 

before a determination has been made that the facility can 

meet the needs of the individual. The facility shall make the 

determination based upon the following information at a 

minimum: 

1. The completed UAI. 

2. The physical examination report. 

3. A documented interview between the administrator or a 

designee responsible for admission and retention decisions, 

the individual, and his legal representative, if any. In some 

cases, conditions may create special circumstances that 

make it necessary to hold the interview on the date of 

admission.  

4. A mental health screening in accordance with 

22VAC40-73-330 A. 

C. An assisted living facility shall only admit or retain 

individuals as permitted by its use and occupancy 

classification and certificate of occupancy. The ambulatory or 

nonambulatory status, as defined in 22VAC40-73-10, of an 

individual is based upon: 

1. Information contained in the physical examination 

report; and 

2. Information contained in the most recent UAI. 

D. Based upon review of the UAI prior to admission of a 

resident, the assisted living facility administrator shall 

provide written assurance to the resident that the facility has 

the appropriate license to meet his care needs at the time of 

admission. Copies of the written assurance shall be given to 

the legal representative and case manager, if any, and a copy 

signed by the resident or his legal representative shall be kept 

in the resident's record. 

E. All residents shall be 18 years of age or older. 

F. No person shall be admitted without his consent and 

agreement, or that of his legal representative with 

demonstrated legal authority to give such consent on his 

behalf.  

G. The facility shall not require a person to relinquish the 

rights specified in § 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia as a 

condition of admission or retention. 

H. In accordance with § 63.2-1805 D of the Code of 

Virginia, assisted living facilities shall not admit or retain 

individuals with any of the following conditions or care 

needs: 

1. Ventilator dependency; 

2. Dermal ulcers III and IV except those stage III ulcers 

that are determined by an independent physician to be 

healing; 

3. Intravenous therapy or injections directly into the vein, 

except for intermittent intravenous therapy managed by a 

health care professional licensed in Virginia except as 

permitted in subsection K of this section; 

4. Airborne infectious disease in a communicable state that 

requires isolation of the individual or requires special 

precautions by the caretaker to prevent transmission of the 

disease, including diseases such as tuberculosis and 

excluding infections such as the common cold; 

5. Psychotropic medications without appropriate diagnosis 

and treatment plans; 
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6. Nasogastric tubes; 

7. Gastric tubes except when the individual is capable of 

independently feeding himself and caring for the tube or as 

permitted in subsection K of this section; 

8. Individuals presenting an imminent physical threat or 

danger to self or others; 

9. Individuals requiring continuous licensed nursing care; 

10. Individuals whose physician certifies that placement is 

no longer appropriate; 

11. Unless the individual's independent physician 

determines otherwise, individuals who require maximum 

physical assistance as documented by the UAI and meet 

Medicaid nursing facility level of care criteria as defined in 

the State Plan for Medical Assistance Program (12VAC30-

10); or 

12. Individuals whose physical or mental health care needs 

cannot be met in the specific assisted living facility as 

determined by the facility. 

I. When a resident has a stage III dermal ulcer that has been 

determined by an independent physician to be healing, 

periodic observation and any necessary dressing changes shall 

be performed by a licensed health care professional under a 

physician's or other prescriber's treatment plan.  

J. Intermittent intravenous therapy may be provided to a 

resident for a limited period of time on a daily or periodic 

basis by a licensed health care professional under a 

physician's or other prescriber's treatment plan. When a 

course of treatment is expected to be ongoing and extends 

beyond a two-week period, evaluation is required at two-

week intervals by the licensed health care professional. 

K. At the request of the resident in an assisted living facility 

and when his independent physician determines that it is 

appropriate, care for the conditions or care needs (i) specified 

in subdivisions H 3 and H 7 of this section may be provided 

to the resident by a physician licensed in Virginia, a nurse 

licensed in Virginia or a nurse holding a multistate licensure 

privilege under a physician's treatment plan, or a home care 

organization licensed in Virginia or (ii) specified in 

subdivision H 7 of this section may also be provided to the 

resident by facility staff if the care is delivered in accordance 

with the regulations of the Board of Nursing for delegation by 

a registered nurse, 18VAC90-19-240 through 18VAC90-19-

280, and 22VAC40-73-470 E. This standard does not apply to 

recipients of auxiliary grants. 

L. When care for a resident's special medical needs is 

provided by licensed staff of a home care agency, the assisted 

living facility direct care staff may receive training from the 

home care agency staff in appropriate treatment monitoring 

techniques regarding safety precautions and actions to take in 

case of emergency. This training is required prior to direct 

care staff assuming such duties. Updated training shall be 

provided as needed. The training shall include content based 

on the resident's specific needs.  The training shall be 

documented and maintained in the staff record.  

M. Notwithstanding § 63.2-1805 of the Code of Virginia, at 

the request of the resident, hospice care may be provided in 

an assisted living facility under the same requirements for 

hospice programs provided in Article 7 (§ 32.1-162.1 et seq.) 

of Chapter 5 of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia if the 

hospice program determines that such program is appropriate 

for the resident. However, to the extent allowed by federal 

law, no assisted living facility shall be required to provide or 

allow hospice care if such hospice care restrictions are 

included in a disclosure statement that is signed by the 

resident prior to admission. If hospice care is provided, there 

shall be a written agreement between the assisted living 

facility and any hospice program that provides care in the 

facility. The agreement shall include: 

1. Policies and procedures to ensure appropriate 

communication and coordination between the facility and 

the hospice program; 

2. Specification of the roles and responsibilities of each 

entity, including listing of the services that will generally 

be provided by the facility and the services that will 

generally be provided by the hospice program;  

3. Acknowledgment that the services provided to each 

resident shall be reflected on the individualized service 

plan as required in 22VAC40-73-450 D; and 

4. Signatures of an authorized representative of the facility 

and an authorized representative of the hospice program. 

22VAC40-73-390. Resident agreement with facility. 

A. At or prior to the time of admission, there shall be a 

written agreement/acknowledgment of notification dated and 

signed by the resident or applicant for admission or the 

appropriate legal representative, and by the licensee or 

administrator. This document shall include the following: 

1. Financial arrangement for accommodations, services, 

and care that specifies: 

a. Listing of specific charges for accommodations, 

services, and care to be made to the individual resident 

signing the agreement, the frequency of payment, and 

any rules relating to nonpayment; 

b. Description of all accommodations, services, and care 

that the facility offers and any related charges; 

c. For an auxiliary grant recipient, a list of services 

included under the auxiliary grant rate; 

d. The amount and purpose of an advance payment or 

deposit payment and the refund policy for such payment, 
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except that recipients of auxiliary grants may not be 

charged an advance payment or deposit payment; 

e. The policy with respect to increases in charges and 

length of time for advance notice of intent to increase 

charges; 

f. If the ownership of any personal property, real estate, 

money or financial investments is to be transferred to the 

facility at the time of admission or at some future date, it 

shall be stipulated in the agreement; and 

g. The refund policy to apply when transfer of 

ownership, closing of facility, or resident transfer or 

discharge occurs. 

2. Requirements or rules to be imposed regarding resident 

conduct and other restrictions or special conditions. 

3. Those actions, circumstances, or conditions that would 

result or might result in the resident's discharge from the 

facility. 

4. Specific acknowledgments that:  

a. Requirements or rules regarding resident conduct, 

other restrictions, or special conditions have been 

reviewed by the resident or his legal representative; 

b. The resident or his legal representative has been 

informed of the policy regarding the amount of notice 

required when a resident wishes to move from the 

facility; 

c. The resident has been informed of the policy required 

by 22VAC40-73-840 regarding pets living in the facility; 

d. The resident has been informed of the policy required 

by 22VAC40-73-860 K regarding weapons; 

e. The resident or his legal representative or responsible 

individual as stipulated in 22VAC40-73-550 H has 

reviewed § 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia, Rights 

and Responsibilities of Residents of Assisted Living 

Facilities, and that the provisions of this statute have 

been explained to him; 

f. The resident or his legal representative or responsible 

individual as stipulated in 22VAC40-73-550 H has 

reviewed and had explained to him the facility's policies 

and procedures for implementing § 63.2-1808 of the 

Code of Virginia; 

g. The resident has been informed and had explained to 

him that he may refuse release of information regarding 

his personal affairs and records to any individual outside 

the facility, except as otherwise provided in law and 

except in case of his transfer to another caregiving 

facility, notwithstanding any requirements of this 

chapter; 

h. The resident has been informed that interested 

residents may establish and maintain a resident council, 

that the facility is responsible for providing assistance 

with the formation and maintenance of the council, 

whether or not such a council currently exists in the 

facility, and the general purpose of a resident council 

(See 22VAC40-73-830); 

i. The resident has been informed of the bed hold policy 

in case of temporary transfer or movement from the 

facility, if the facility has such a policy (See 22VAC40-

73-420 B); 

j. The resident has been informed of the policy or 

guidelines regarding visiting in the facility, if the facility 

has such a policy or guidelines (See 22VAC40-73-540 

C); 

k. The resident has been informed of the rules and 

restrictions regarding smoking on the premises of the 

facility, including that which is required by 22VAC40-

73-820; 

l. The resident has been informed of the policy regarding 

the administration and storage of medications and dietary 

supplements; and 

m. The resident has been notified in writing whether or 

not the facility maintains liability insurance that provides 

at least the minimum amount of coverage established by 

the board for disclosure purposes set forth in 22VAC40-

73-45 to compensate residents or other individuals for 

injuries and losses from negligent acts of the facility. The 

facility shall state in the notification the minimum 

amount of coverage established by the board in 

22VAC40-73-45. The written notification must be on a 

form developed by the department; and  

n. The resident has received written assurance that the 

facility has the appropriate license to meet his care needs 

at the time of admission, as required by 22VAC40-73-

310 D. 

B. Copies of the signed agreement/acknowledgment and any 

updates as noted in subsection C of this section shall be 

provided to the resident and, as appropriate, his legal 

representative and shall be retained in the resident's record. 

C. The original agreement/acknowledgment shall be updated 

whenever there are changes to any of the policies or 

information referenced or identified in the 

agreement/acknowledgment and dated and signed by the 

licensee or administrator and the resident or his legal 

representative.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5266; Filed October 19, 2017, 9:38 a.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Pending Action Affecting the Use of State Highway 
Right-of-Way for Mobile Food Vending 

As part of its efforts to comply with Chapter 765 of the 2016 

Acts of Assembly, the Virginia Department of Transportation 

(VDOT) plans to propose to the Commonwealth 

Transportation Board (CTB) amendments to the Rules and 

Regulations for the Administration of Parking Lots and 

Environs (24VAC30-100) and the Land Use Permit 

Regulations (24VAC30-151) concerning mobile food 

vending in VDOT-owned commuter parking lots in Planning 

District 8, which is comprised of the following counties: 

Loudoun, Prince William, and Fairfax. The Land Use Permit 

Regulations (24VAC30-151) were amended in 2015 to allow 

food vendors to sell items on state highway right-of-way as 

directed by Chapter 466 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly. 

Chapter 765 directs VDOT to develop guidelines, consistent 

with the board's regulations and policies, to permit mobile 

food vending in a commuter parking lot owned by the 

Department of Transportation in Planning District 8. 

Additionally, any necessary regulatory changes are to be 

exempt from the Administrative Process Act. To prepare its 

amendments, VDOT conducted a survey of the commuter lots 

in the planning district to determine lot sizes, percentages of 

utilization, and locations and identified prohibitions on 

vending at such sites (such as federal regulations). VDOT 

also met with affected stakeholders, including mobile food 

vendors; Senator Jeremy S. McPike, the patron of Chapter 

765; the Federal Highway Administration; and 

representatives from the DC/MD/VA Food Truck Association 

to develop regulatory amendments that include a market-

based fee structure for such sales. In addition, affected 

localities were contacted for input. 

VDOT tentatively plans to make a presentation to the CTB 

discussing its amendments in December and to submit a 

resolution for consideration in January of 2018. 

For further information, see the contact information below.  

Contact Information: Robert W. Hofrichter, Land Use 

Director, Office of Land Use, Virginia Department of 

Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 786-0780, FAX (804) 225-4785, or 

email robert.hofrichter@vdot.virginia.gov. 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Revisions to Performance Outcomes: Civil Process, 
Corrections, Courtroom Security, Dispatchers, 

Jailors, and Law Enforcement 

Revisions and new performance outcomes effective date: 

January 1, 2018. 

Additions and deletions have been made to the performance 

outcomes in all the regulated fields (civil process, corrections, 

courtroom security, dispatchers, jailors, and law 

enforcement). To view all the performance outcome revisions 

please go to the Department of Criminal Justice Services 

website and view the Law Enforcement 

webpage https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/law-enforcement. 

Civil Process (Category: Civil Process) 

• New performance outcomes numbered 4.10., 4.11., 4.12., 

and 4.13. have been created to address terrorism awareness. 

Civil Process (Category: Field Training) 

• Performance outcome 9.7. has been repealed. 

Corrections Officer (Category: Emergency Response) 

• Performance outcome 4.5. has been revised. 

• New performance outcomes numbered 4.6., 4.7., 4.8., and 

4.9.  have been created to address terrorism awareness. 

Courtroom Security (Category: Court Security Operations) 

• New performance outcomes numbered 4.9., 4.10., 4.11., 

and 4.12. have been created to address terrorism awareness. 

Courtroom Security (Category: Field Training) 

• Performance outcome 9.10. has been repealed. 

Dispatcher (Category: Dispatcher Judgment) 

• New performance outcome 2.4. 

Jail Officer (Category: Jail Operations) 

• New performance outcomes numbered 4.8., 4.9., 4.10., 

and 4.11. have been created to address terrorism awareness. 

Jail Officer (Category: Field Training) 

• Performance outcome 9.69. has been repealed. 

Law Enforcement Officer (Category: Legal Issues) 

• Performance outcome 2.40. has been revised. 

Law Enforcement Officer (Category: Patrol) 

• Performance outcomes 4.16., 4.17., and 4.22. have been 

revised. 

• New performance outcomes numbered 4.57., 4.58., 4.59., 

and 4.60. have been created to address terrorism awareness. 

Noncustodial Employees of the Department of Corrections 

• New performance outcomes have been created to address 

the training needs of noncustodial employees of the 

Department of Corrections (DOC) who have been 

designated by the Director of DOC to carry a firearm. 

Contact Information: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law 

Enforcement Program Coordinator, 1100 Bank Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-4503, FAX (804) 

mailto:robert.hofrichter@vdot.virginia.gov
https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/law-enforcement
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786-0410, or email barbara.peterson-

wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Environmental Quality conducted a small 

business impact review of 9VAC15-90, Uniform 

Environmental Covenants Act Regulation, and determined 

that this regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

Department of Environmental Quality is publishing its report 

of findings dated September 21, 2017, to support this decision 

in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

The current regulation continues to be needed, and no public 

comments were received concerning the content of this 

regulation during the public comment period. The regulation 

contains a framework that defines how activity and use 

limitations prescribed by an agency pursuant to an 

environmental response project are to be drafted, recorded, 

and enforced as a Uniform Environmental Covenants Act 

"environmental covenant." 

This regulation was adopted in 2011 to implement the 

Virginia Uniform Environmental Covenants Act, and the 

content of the regulation continues to be consistent with state 

law. The regulations are explanatory in nature and do not 

place any additional regulatory burden on the regulated 

community including small businesses. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Office of 

Regulatory Affairs, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Notice of Hearing on Placing Chemicals in  
Schedule I 

Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy is giving notice of a public 

hearing to consider placement of chemical substances in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act. The public hearing will 

be conducted at 9 a.m. on December 11, 2017, at the 

Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 201, Richmond, 

VA 23233. Public comment may also be submitted 

electronically or in writing prior to December 1, 2017, to 

Caroline Juran, Executive Director of the Board of Pharmacy 

to caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

The following compounds are classified as research 

chemicals. Compounds of this type have been placed in 

Schedule I (subdivision 3 of § 54.1-3446 of the Code of 

Virginia) in previous legislative sessions. 

1. 2-(methylamino)-2-phenyl-cyclohexanone (other name: 

Deschloroketamine), its optical, position, and geometric 

isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

2. 2-methyl-1-(4-(methylthio)phenyl)-2-morpholinopropio-

phenone (other name: MMMP), its optical, position, and 

geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the 

existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

3. Alpha-ethylaminohexanophenone (other name: N-

ethylhexedrone), its optical, position, and geometric 

isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

4. N-ethyl-1-(3-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexylamine (other 

name: 3-methoxy-PCE), its optical, position, and geometric 

isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

5. 4-fluoro-alpha-pyrrolidinohexiophenone (other name: 4-

fluoro-alpha-PHP), its optical, position, and geometric 

isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

6. N-ethyl-1,2-diphenylethylamine (other name: 

Ephenidine), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 

salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

The following compounds are powerful synthetic opioids. 

Compounds of this type have been placed in Schedule I 

(subdivision 1 of § 54.1-3446) in previous legislative 

sessions. 

1. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-1,3-

benzodioxole-5-carboxamide (other name: Benzodioxole 

fentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 

isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 

whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and 

salts is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

2. 3,4-dichloro-N-[2-(diethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-

methylbenzamide (other name: U-49900), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, 

unless specifically excepted, whenever the existence of 

these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

3. 2-(2,4-dichlorophenyl)-N-[2-

(dimethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-methylacetamide (other 

name: U-48800), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts 

of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 

whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and 

salts is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

mailto:Barbara.Peterson-Wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov
mailto:Barbara.Peterson-Wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov
mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
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The following compounds are classified as central nervous 

system stimulants. Compounds of this type have been placed 

in Schedule I (subdivision 5 of § 54.1-3446) in previous 

legislative sessions. 

1. Methyl 2-(4-fluorophenyl)-2-(2-piperidinyl)acetate (4-

fluoromethylphenidate), including its salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers. 

2. Isopropyl-2-phenyl-2-(2-piperidinyl)acetate (other name: 

Isopropylphenidate), including its salts, isomers, and salts 

of isomers. 

Contact Information: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive 

Director, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX (804) 527-4472, or 

email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Special Order for Dickeys Auto 
Recyclers, Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Dickeys Auto 

Recyclers, Inc. for violations at the site located at 9243 

George Washington Highway, Gloucester County, Virginia. 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a special 

order by consent to Dickeys Auto Recyclers, Inc. to address 

noncompliance with the State Water Control Law and 

regulations. A description of the proposed action is available 

at the Department of Environmental Quality office named 

below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Kristen Sadtler will 

accept comments by email at 

kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 698-4277, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, Central 

Office, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, from 

November 13, 2017, to December 13, 2017. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for  
Key Western, LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Key Western, 

LLC for violations at the site located north off of Overlook 

Drive in Russell County, Virginia. The State Water Control 

Board proposes to issue a special order by consent to Key 

Western, LLC to address noncompliance with the State Water 

Control Law and regulations. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental 

Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Kristen Sadtler will accept comments 

by email at kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 

698-4277, or postal mail at Department of Environmental 

Quality, Central Office, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, from November 27, 2017, to December 27, 2017. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for Leonard 
Companies Family L.P. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Leonard 

Companies Family L.P. for violations at the site located at 

approximate latitude 36° 49' 27"N and longitude 82° 08' 

35"W in Russell County, Virginia. The State Water Control 

Board proposes to issue a special order by consent to Leonard 

Companies Family L.P. to address noncompliance with the 

State Water Control Law and regulations. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Kristen Sadtler will accept comments 

by email at kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 

698-4277, or postal mail at Department of Environmental 

Quality, Central Office, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, from November 27, 2017, to December 27, 2017. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for Leonard 
Companies, Ltd. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Leonard 

Companies, Ltd. for violations at the site located at the 

intersection of VA State Routes 19 and 58 in Russell County, 

Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a 

special order by consent to Leonard Companies, Ltd. to 

address noncompliance with the State Water Control Law and 

regulations. A description of the proposed action is available 

at the Department of Environmental Quality office named 

below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Kristen Sadtler will 

accept comments by email at 

kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 698-4277, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, Central 

Office, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, from 

November 27, 2017, to December 27, 2017.   

Total Maximum Daily Loads for the Blacks Run and 
Cooks Creek Watersheds 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 

will host a community meeting for the modification of total 

maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for the Blacks Run and 

Cooks Creek watersheds in Rockingham County, the Town of 

Bridgewater, and the City of Harrisonburg. Blacks Run and 

Cooks Creek were first listed as impaired on Virginia's 

§ 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report due to violations of 

the state's water quality standard for bacteria and the general 

standard (benthics) in 1998. The creeks have remained on the 

§ 303(d) list for these impairments since then. A stressor 

analysis conducted by DEQ for both creeks indicated that 

sediment and phosphorous are the primary stressors 

responsible for the benthic impairment. 

The impaired segment of Cooks Creek extends 13.32 miles 

from the headwaters downstream to its confluence with the 

North River. The impaired segment of Blacks Run extends 

10.74 miles from its headwaters downstream to its confluence 

with Cooks Creek. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 

of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 

pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 

Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report. DEQ 

mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov
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completed sediment, phosphorous, and bacteria TMDLs for 

Cooks Creek and Blacks Run in April 2002. The TMDLs 

were approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 

in 2004. The TMDL reports are available on the DEQ website 

at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/programs/water 

/waterqualityinformationtmdls/tmdl/tmdldevelopment/approv

edtmdlreports.aspx. 

In order to address new and expanding discharges from 

permitted facilities in the watersheds since 2002, the TMDLs 

for these waterbodies required modification. This 

modification will ensure that discharge permits issued within 

the watersheds remain consistent with the wasteload 

allocations in the TMDLs. The modification process began in 

August of 2017, and has included a series of technical 

advisory committee meetings to collect input from 

stakeholders in the watersheds. A public meeting will be held 

on Wednesday, November 15, 2017, from 5:30 p.m. until 

7 p.m. in the Community Room at the Rockingham County 

Administration Building, 20 East Gay Street, Harrisonburg, 

VA. The purpose of this meeting is to present the draft 

TMDL study to the community, answer questions about the 

project, and kick off a 30-day public comment period for the 

TMDLs. The public comment period will begin November 

16, 2017, and will end December 15, 2017. Written 

comments should include the name, address, and telephone 

number of the person submitting the comments and should be 

sent to Nesha McRae, Department of Environmental Quality, 

Valley Regional Office, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 

22801, telephone (540) 574-7850, FAX (540) 574-7878, or 

email nesha.mcrae@deq.virginia.gov. 

For questions about the upcoming meeting or the project in 

general, please contact Nesha McRae at the telephone number 

or email address listed above. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents 

/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-30. Groups Covered and 

Agencies Responsible for Eligibility Determination. 

Publication: 33:21 VA.R. 2368-2389 June 12, 2017. 

Correction to Fast-Track Regulation: 

Page 2376, 12VAC30-30-20, column 1, after the end of 

subdivision 11, on the next line, insert "13. 12. Individuals 

under the State Eligibility Option of P.L. 111-148 § 2303 who 

are not pregnant and whose income does not exceed the state 

established income standard for pregnant women in the 

Virginia Medicaid and CHIP State Plan and related waivers, 

which is 200% of the federal poverty level, shall be eligible 

for the family planning program. Services are limited to 

family planning services as described in 12VAC30-50-130 

D." 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4396; Filed October 18, 2017, 2:51 p.m. 

 

 

 

 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/programs/water/waterqualityinformationtmdls/tmdl/tmdldevelopment/approvedtmdlreports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/programs/water/waterqualityinformationtmdls/tmdl/tmdldevelopment/approvedtmdlreports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/programs/water/waterqualityinformationtmdls/tmdl/tmdldevelopment/approvedtmdlreports.aspx
mailto:nesha.mcrae@deq.virginia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf



