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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair; Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Leslie L. Lilley; E.M. Miller, Jr.; 

Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Timothy Oksman; 

Charles S. Sharp; Noah P. Sullivan; Mark J. Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

November 2017 through November 2018 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

34:7 November 8, 2017 November 27, 2017 

34:8 November 21, 2017 (Tuesday) December 11, 2017 

34:9 December 6, 2017 December 25, 2017 

34:10 December 19, 2017 (Tuesday) January 8, 2018 

34:11 January 3, 2018 January 22, 2018 

34:12 January 17, 2018 February 5, 2018 

34:13 January 31, 2018 February 19, 2018 

34:14 February 14, 2018 March 5, 2018 

34:15 February 28, 2018 March 19, 2018 

34:16 March 14, 2018 April 2, 2018 

34:17 March 28, 2018 April 16, 2018 

34:18 April 11, 2018 April 30, 2018 

34:19 April 25, 2018 May 14, 2018 

34:20 May 9, 2018 May 28, 2018 

34:21 May 23, 2018 June 11, 2018 

34:22 June 6, 2018 June 25, 2018 

34:23 June 20, 2018 July 9, 2018 

34:24 July 3, 2018 (Tuesday) July 23, 2018 

34:25 July 18, 2018 August 6, 2018 

34:26 August 1, 2018 August 20, 2018 

35:1 August 15, 2018 September 3, 2018 

35:2 August 29, 2018 September17, 2018 

35:3 September 12, 2018 October 1, 2018 

35:4 September 26, 2018 October 15, 2018 

35:5 October 10, 2018 October 29, 2018 

35:6 October24, 2018 November 12, 2018 

35:7 November 7, 2018 November 26, 2018 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC105-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Optometry.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Janet Swartz, National Glaucoma 

Society. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend 18VAC105-20-70 

to add the National Glaucoma Society to the list of approved 

providers of continuing education or to include a new 

category for nonprofit optometric organizations. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition has been filed with the Registrar of 

Regulations and will be published on November 27, 2017. 

Comment on the petition may be sent by email or regular 

mail or posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov; comment will be requested until 

December 20, 2017. Following receipt of all comments on the 

petition to amend regulations, the board will decide whether 

to make any changes to the regulatory language. This matter 

will be on the board's agenda for its next meeting following 

comment, scheduled for March 2, 2018. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 20, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4508, 

or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-09; Filed October 31, 2017, 3:02 p.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Criminal Justice Services Board 

intends to consider amending 6VAC20-30, Rules Relating to 

Compulsory In-Service Training Standards for Law-

Enforcement Officers, Jailors or Custodial Officers, 

Courtroom Security Officers, Process Service Officers 

and Officers of the Department of Corrections, Division of 

Operations, and 6VAC20-70, Rules Relating to 

Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for 

Noncustodial Employees of the Department of 

Corrections. The purpose of the proposed action is to add a 

new in-service requirement for dispatchers who dispatch for 

law enforcement. The proposed regulatory action will include 

the in-service requirements for noncustodial employees of the 

Department of Corrections designated by the Director of the 

Department of Corrections to carry a firearm. The current in-

service requirements, the process for obtaining partial in-

service credit, and the use of multi-media in criminal justice 

training will be reviewed. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 27, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law Enforcement 

Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice 

Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 225-4503, FAX (804) 786-0410, or email 

barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5304; Filed October 26, 2017, 8:35 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Dentistry intends to 

consider amending 18VAC60-25, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dental Hygienists. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to amend 18VAC60-25-190, relating to 

requirements for continuing education for dental hygienists, 

to include the "competencies needed to provide care under 

remote supervision," as specified in subsection F of § 54.1-

2722 of the Code of Virginia. The proposed action requires a 

continuing education course of no less than two hours in 

duration offered by an approved sponsor and includes the 

specified course content. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400, 54.1-2272, and 54.1-2729 

of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 27, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 

email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5208; Filed November 13, 2017, 7:28 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services intends to consider 

amending 22VAC30-110, Assessment in Assisted Living 

Facilities. The purpose of the proposed action is to review the 

regulation, which establishes standards regarding initial 

assessments, annual reassessments, post-assessment actions, 

and relocation procedures. The department will evaluate all 

current regulation content and clarify content that may be 

unclear or inconsistent with a goal of streamlining the public 

pay assessment process as much as possible while still 

ensuring that individuals undergo an appropriate review of 

their level of care. The department intends to include 

language permitting the use of video conferencing for 

assessments in specific circumstances, clarify language that 

addresses the portions of the uniform assessment instrument 

that are completed for public pay individuals, and add content 

regarding the timing of annual reassessments. Other revisions 

to the regulation content may also be proposed based on 

public comment or during the workgroup that will meet to 

discuss proposed changes. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 51.5-131 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 27, 2017. 
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Announcement of Periodic Review and Small Business 

Impact Review: This regulation will undergo a periodic 

review pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and a small 

business impact review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code 

of Virginia to determine whether this regulation should be 

terminated, amended, or retained in its current form. Public 

comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to this 

regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary 

for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for 

the economical performance of important governmental 

functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on small 

businesses in a manner consistent with the stated objectives 

of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

Agency Contact: Paige McCleary, Adult Services Program 

Consultant, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, 

telephone (804) 662-7605, or email 

paige.mccleary@dars.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5335; Filed October 27, 2017, 3:45 p.m. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 

intends to consider amending 22VAC40-221, Additional 

Daily Supervision Rate Structure. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to provide a comprehensive review of the 

regulations, which provides standards for local departments 

of social services to determine enhanced maintenance 

payments for foster and adoptive parents. In addition to the 

periodic review and a review of any impact on small 

businesses, a proposed amendment will include extending the 

amount of time that the uniform rate assessment tool is 

readministrated from three months to six months for the 

purpose of adoption assistance. Additional changes will be 

considered based on public comment received and further 

review. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 673. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 27, 2017. 

Announcement of Periodic Review and Small Business 

Impact Review: This regulation will undergo a periodic 

review pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and a small 

business impact review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code 

of Virginia to determine whether this regulation should be 

terminated, amended, or retained in its current form. Public 

comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to this 

regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary 

for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for 

the economical performance of important governmental 

functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on small 

businesses in a manner consistent with the stated objectives 

of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

Agency Contact: Traci B. Jones, Program Manager, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7499, or email 

traci.jones@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5241; Filed October 25, 2017, 12:57 p.m. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC5-80. Permits for Stationary 

Sources (Rev. K16) (amending 9VAC5-80-320, 9VAC5-

80-340, 9VAC5-80-2270, 9VAC5-80-2280, 9VAC5-80-

2310, 9VAC5-80-2330, 9VAC5-80-2340; adding 9VAC5-

80-342, 9VAC5-80-2282, 9VAC5-80-2342). 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; 

federal Clean Air Act (§§ 110, 112, 165, 173, 182, and Title 

V); 40 CFR Parts 51, 61, 63, 70, and 72. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Gary E. Graham, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4103, or email 

gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) sequentially increase the emissions fee 

rate over two years, (ii) change the method of calculating 

future Consumer Price Index emissions fee adjustments to 

an equivalent method that is consistent with the annual 

adjustments to Title V permit application fees and Title V 

permit maintenance fees, (iii) exclude greenhouse gas 

emissions from the calculation of emissions fees, (iv) 

increase permit application fees depending on the permit 

application type and clarify provisions for application 

amendments, (v) increase permit maintenance fees and 

establish a new minimum fee for synthetic minor sources, 

(vi) add definitions for the terms "greenhouse gases" and 

"regulated pollutant (for fee calculation)" and revise the 

definition of "actual emissions" so that emissions of 

greenhouse gases are excluded from the calculation of 

permit program emissions fees, and (vii) make various 

other changes as necessary to clarify and implement the 

changes. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

9VAC5-80-320. Definitions. 

A. For the purpose of applying this article in the context of 

the Regulations for the Control and Abatement of Air 

Pollution and related uses, the words or terms shall have the 

meanings given them in subsection C of this section. 

B. As used in this article, all words and terms not defined in 

subsection C of this section shall have the meanings given 

them in 9VAC5-80-5 or 9VAC5-10 (General Definitions), 

unless otherwise required by context. 

C. Terms defined. 

"Actual emissions" means, for the purposes of this 

article, the actual rate of emissions in tons per year of any 

regulated air pollutant (for fee calculation) emitted from a 

source subject to this article over the preceding calendar year. 

Actual emissions may be calculated according to any method 

acceptable to the department provided such calculation takes 

into account the source's actual operating hours, production 

rates, in-place control equipment, and types of materials 

processed, stored, or combusted during the preceding 

calendar year. Any regulated pollutant which could be classed 

in more than one category shall be classed in only one 

category. 

"Affected source" means a source that includes one or more 

affected units. 

"Affected unit" means a unit that is subject to any federal 

acid rain emissions reduction requirement or acid rain 

emissions limitation under 40 CFR Parts 72, 73, 75, 77 or 78. 

"Area source" means any stationary source that is not a 

major source. For purposes of this section, the phrase "area 

source" shall not include motor vehicles or nonroad vehicles. 

"Greenhouse gases" means, for the purposes of this article, 

the aggregate group of the following gases: carbon dioxide, 

nitrous oxide, methane, hydrofluorocarbons, 

perfluorocarbons, and sulfur hexafluoride. 

"Hazardous air pollutant" means any air pollutant listed in 

§ 112(b) of the federal Clean Air Act, as amended by 40 CFR 

63.60. 

"Major source" means: 

a. For hazardous air pollutants other than radionuclides, 

any stationary source that emits or has the potential to 

emit, in the aggregate, 10 tons per year or more of any 

hazardous air pollutant or 25 tons per year or more of any 

combination of hazardous air pollutants. Notwithstanding 

the preceding sentence, emissions from any oil or gas 

exploration or production well (with its associated 

equipment) and emissions from any pipeline compressor or 

pump station shall not be aggregated with emissions from 

other similar units, whether or not such units are in a 

contiguous area or under common control, to determine 

whether such units or stations are major sources. 
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b. For air pollutants other than hazardous air pollutants, 

any stationary source that directly emits or has the 

potential to emit 100 tons per year or more of any air 

pollutant (including any major source of fugitive emissions 

of any such pollutant). The fugitive emissions of a 

stationary source shall not be considered in determining 

whether it is a major stationary source, unless the source 

belongs to one of the following categories of stationary 

source: 

(1) Coal cleaning plants (with thermal dryers); 

(2) Kraft pulp mills; 

(3) Portland cement plants; 

(4) Primary zinc smelters; 

(5) Iron and steel mills; 

(6) Primary aluminum ore reduction plants; 

(7) Primary copper smelters; 

(8) Municipal incinerators capable of charging more than 

250 tons of refuse per day; 

(9) Hydrofluoric, sulfuric, or nitric acid plants; 

(10) Petroleum refineries; 

(11) Lime plants; 

(12) Phosphate rock processing plants; 

(13) Coke oven batteries; 

(14) Sulfur recovery plants; 

(15) Carbon black plants (furnace process); 

(16) Primary lead smelters; 

(17) Fuel conversion plant; 

(18) Sintering plants; 

(19) Secondary metal production plants; 

(20) Chemical process plants; 

(21) Fossil-fuel boilers (or combination thereof) totaling 

more than 250 million British thermal units per hour heat 

input; 

(22) Petroleum storage and transfer units with a total 

storage capacity exceeding 300,000 barrels; 

(23) Taconite ore processing plants; 

(24) Glass fiber processing plants; 

(25) Charcoal production plants; 

(26) Fossil-fuel-fired steam electric plants of more than 

250 million British thermal units per hour heat input; or 

(27) Any other stationary source category regulated 

under § 111 or 112 of the federal Clean Air Act for 

which the administrator has made an affirmative decision 

under § 302(j) of the federal Clean Air Act. 

c. For ozone nonattainment areas, any stationary source 

with the potential to emit 100 tons per year or more of 

volatile organic compounds or nitrogen oxides in areas 

classified as "marginal" or "moderate," 50 tons per year or 

more in areas classified as "serious," 25 tons per year or 

more in areas classified as "severe," and 10 tons per year or 

more in areas classified as "extreme"; except that the 

references in this definition to 100, 50, 25, and 10 tons per 

year of nitrogen oxides shall not apply with respect to any 

source for which the administrator has made a finding that 

requirements under § 182(f) of the federal Clean Air Act 

(NOx requirements for ozone nonattainment areas) do not 

apply. 

d. For attainment areas in ozone transport regions, any 

stationary source with the potential to emit 50 tons per year 

or more of volatile organic compounds. 

"Permit program costs" means all reasonable (direct and 

indirect) costs required to develop, administer, and enforce 

the permit program; and to develop and administer the Small 

Business Technical and Environmental Compliance 

Assistance Program established pursuant to the provisions of 

§ 10.1-1323 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Potential to emit" means the maximum capacity of a 

stationary source to emit any air pollutant under its physical 

and operational design. Any physical or operational limitation 

on the capacity of a source to emit an air pollutant, including 

air pollution control equipment and restrictions on hours of 

operation or on the type or amount of material combusted, 

stored, or processed, shall be treated as part of its design if the 

limitation is state and federally enforceable. 

"Regulated air pollutant" means any of the following: 

a. Nitrogen oxides or any volatile organic compound. 

b. Any pollutant for which an ambient air quality standard 

has been promulgated except carbon monoxide. 

c. Any pollutant subject to any standard promulgated under 

§ 111 of the federal Clean Air Act. 

d. Any pollutant subject to a standard promulgated under 

§ 112 (hazardous air pollutants) or other requirements 

established under § 112 of the federal Clean Air Act, 

particularly §§ 112(b), 112(d), 112(g)(2), 112(j), and 

112(r); except that any pollutant that is a regulated 

pollutant solely because it is subject to a standard or 

regulation under § 112(r) of the federal Clean Air Act shall 

be exempt from this article. 
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"Regulated pollutant (for fee calculation)" means, for the 

purposes of this article, any regulated air pollutant except the 

following: 

a. Carbon monoxide; 

b. Any pollutant that is a regulated air pollutant solely 

because it is a Class I or II substance to a standard 

promulgated under or established by Title VI of the federal 

Clean Air Act; 

c. Any pollutant that is a regulated air pollutant solely 

because it is subject to a standard or regulation under 

§ 112(r) of the federal Clean Air Act; or 

d. Greenhouse gases. 

"Research and development facility" means all the following 

as applied to any stationary source: 

a. The primary purpose of the source is the conduct of 

either (i) research and development into new products or 

processes or into new uses for existing products or 

processes or (ii) basic research to provide for education or 

the general advancement of technology or knowledge; 

b. The source is operated under the close supervision of 

technically trained personnel; and 

c. The source is not engaged in the manufacture of 

products in any manner inconsistent with clause a (i) or (ii) 

of this definition. 

An analytical laboratory that primarily supports a research 

and development facility is considered to be part of that 

facility. 

"Stationary source" means any building, structure, facility or 

installation which emits or may emit any regulated air 

pollutant. A stationary source shall include all of the 

pollutant-emitting activities which belong to the same 

industrial grouping, are located on one or more contiguous or 

adjacent properties, and are under the control of the same 

persons (or persons under common control). Pollutant-

emitting activities shall be considered as part of the same 

industrial grouping if they belong to the same "major group" 

(i.e., if they have the same two-digit code) as described in the 

Standard Industrial Classification Manual (see 9VAC5-20-

21). Any research and development facility shall be 

considered a separate stationary source from the 

manufacturing or other facility with which it is co-located. 

9VAC5-80-340. Annual permit program emissions fee 

calculation prior to [ (insert effective date of the 

regulation) January 1, 2018 ]. 

A. The For annual permit program emissions fees due prior 

to [ (insert effective date of the regulation) January 1, 2018 ], 

the annual permit program emissions fee shall not exceed the 

base year amount of $31.22 per ton of emissions, as provided 

in subsection B of Item 365 of the 2012 Appropriation Act 

adjusted annually by the Consumer Price Index as provided in 

Title V of the federal Clean Air Act and associated 

regulations and policies. 

1. The annual permit program emissions fee shall be 

increased (consistent with the need to cover reasonable 

costs) each year by the percentage, if any, by which the 

Consumer Price Index for the most recent calendar year 

ending before the beginning of such year exceeds the 

Consumer Price Index for the calendar year 1989. The 

Consumer Price Index for any calendar year is the average 

of the Consumer Price Index for all-urban consumers 

published by the U.S. Department of Labor, as of the close 

of the 12-month period ending on August 31 of each 

calendar year. 

2. The revision of the Consumer Price Index which is most 

consistent with the Consumer Price Index for the calendar 

year 1989 shall be used. 

B. The For annual permit program emissions fees due prior 

to [ (insert effective date of the regulation) January 1, 2018 ], 

the annual permit program emissions fee described in 

subsection A of this section and the amount billed to the 

owner as provided in subsection A of 9VAC5-80-350 for a 

given year shall be calculated in accordance with the 

following formulae: 

B = (A)(F) 

F = X(1 + ∆CPI) 

∆CPI = 
CPI - 122.15 

122.15 

where: 

B = the amount billed to the owner during the year after 

the year in which the actual emissions occurred, expressed 

in dollars 

A = actual emissions covered by permit fees, expressed in 

tons 

F = the maximum adjusted fee per ton for the calendar year 

in which the actual emissions occurred, expressed in 

dollars per ton 

X = 31.22, expressed in dollars per ton 

∆CPI = the difference between the CPI and 122.15 (the 

average of the Consumer Price Index for all-urban 

consumers for the 12-month period ending on August 31, 

1989) 

CPI = the average of the Consumer Price Index for all-

urban consumers for the 12-month period ending on 

August 31 of the year in which the emissions actually 

occurred, expressed as a percentage 

C. The actual emissions covered by the permit program 

emissions fees for the preceding year shall be calculated by 
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the owner and submitted to the department by April 15 of 

each year. The calculations and final amount of emissions are 

subject to verification and final determination by the 

department. 

D. If the assessment of the annual permit program emissions 

fee calculated in accordance with subsections A, B, and C of 

this section results in a total amount of fee revenue in excess 

of the amount necessary to fund the permit program costs, a 

lesser annual permit program emissions fee may instead be 

calculated and assessed according to the formula specified in 

subsection E of this section. Any adjustments made to the 

annual permit program emissions fee shall be within the 

constraints of 40 CFR 70.9. 

E. The lesser annual permit program emissions fee shall be 

calculated according to the following formula: the lesser 

annual permit program emissions fee is equal to the estimated 

permit program costs divided by the estimated actual 

emissions. The estimated permit program costs and estimated 

actual emissions shall be determined from the data specified 

in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection, incorporating any 

anticipated adjustments to the data. 

1. The current permit program costs shall be determined 

from the most recent available annual expenditure record 

of the amount spent by the department on permit program 

costs. 

2. The current actual emissions shall be determined from 

the most recent available annual emissions inventory of the 

actual emissions for each regulated pollutant subject to fees 

from all sources subject to the annual permit program 

emissions fee. 

9VAC5-80-342. Annual permit program emissions fee 

calculation on and after [ (insert effective date of the 

regulation) January 1, 2018 ]. 

A. On and after [ (insert effective date of the 

regulation) January 1, 2018 ], the amount of the annual permit 

program emissions fee shall be calculated as follows: 

1. The amount of the annual permit program emissions fee 

(consistent with the need to cover reasonable costs) for 

each applicable source shall be the annual permit program 

emission fee rate (in dollars per ton of emissions) for the 

billing calendar year multiplied by the total actual 

emissions for the previous calendar year (in tons per year 

of emissions). 

2. The annual permit program emissions fee rate shall be 

calculated as follows: 

a. For permit program emission fees billed in calendar 

year 2018 (applied to 2017 emissions), the annual permit 

program emissions fee rate shall be $73.01 per ton of 

emissions. 

b. For permit program emission fees billed in calendar 

year 2019 (applied to 2018 emissions), the annual permit 

program emissions fee rate shall be $83.96 per ton of 

emissions. 

c. For permit program emissions fees billed after 

calendar year 2019, the annual permit program emissions 

fee rate shall be adjusted annually by the change in the 

Consumer Price Index (CPI) as specified in subdivision 3 

of this subsection. 

3. The annual adjustment of the permit program emissions 

fees shall be based upon the annual permit program 

emissions fee rate for the preceding calendar year and the 

change in the CPI value published by the U.S. Department 

of Labor for all-urban consumers over the 12-month period 

ending on August 31 of the calendar year preceding the 

calendar year in which the annual permit program 

emissions fee is assessed and billed. 

a. The CPI for all-urban consumers that is published by 

the U.S. Department of Labor may be obtained online 

from the Bureau of Labor Statistics website at 

http://data.bls.gov/cgi-bin/surveymost?cu. 

b. No CPI adjustment shall be made for annual permit 

program emissions fees assessed and billed in calendar 

years 2018 and 2019. 

B. The actual emissions covered by the permit program 

emissions fees for the preceding year shall be calculated by 

the owner and submitted to the department by April 15 of 

each year. The calculations and final amount of emissions are 

subject to verification and final determination by the 

department. 

C. If the assessment of the annual permit program emissions 

fee calculated in accordance with subsections A and B of this 

section results in a total amount of fee revenue in excess of 

the amount necessary to fund the permit program costs, a 

lesser annual permit program emissions fee may instead be 

calculated and assessed according to the formula specified in 

subsection D of this section. Any adjustments made to the 

annual permit program emissions fee shall be within the 

constraints of 40 CFR 70.9. 

D. The lesser annual permit program emissions fee shall be 

calculated according to the following formula: the lesser 

annual permit program emissions fee is equal to the estimated 

permit program costs divided by the estimated actual 

emissions. The estimated permit program costs and estimated 

actual emissions shall be determined from the data specified 

in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection, incorporating any 

anticipated adjustments to the data. 

1. The current permit program costs shall be determined 

from the most recent available annual expenditure record 

of the amount spent by the department on permit program 

costs. 
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2. The current actual emissions shall be determined from 

the most recent available annual emissions inventory of the 

actual emissions for each regulated pollutant subject to fees 

from all sources subject to the annual permit program 

emissions fee. 

9VAC5-80-2270. General. 

A. Any person submitting a permit application subject to 

this article shall pay a permit application fee in the amount 

determined in accordance with 9VAC5-80-2280 or 9VAC5-

80-2282, as appropriate. 

B. Permit application fees collected pursuant to this article 

for sources subject to Article 1 (9VAC5-80-50 et seq.) or 

Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et seq.) of this part or subject to 

Part II (9VAC5-85-20 et seq.) of 9VAC5-85 (Permits for 

Stationary Sources of Pollutants Subject to Regulation) shall 

not be used for any purpose other than as provided in Title V 

of the federal Clean Air Act and associated regulations and 

policies. 

9VAC5-80-2280. Permit application fee calculation prior 

to [ (insert effective date of the regulation or ] January 1, 

2018 [ , whichever is later) ]. 

Each permit application subject to this article that is 

received by the appropriate regional office prior to [ (insert 

effective date of the regulation or ] January 1, 2018, 

[ whichever is later) ] shall be subject to a permit application 

fee. The amount of the application fee shall be calculated as 

follows: 

1. The amount of the permit application fee shall be the 

largest applicable base permit application fee amount from 

Table 8-10A, adjusted annually by the change in the 

Consumer Price Index (CPI) as specified in subdivision 2 

of this subsection. 

TABLE 8-10A 

BASE PERMIT APPLICATION FEES FOR 

STATIONARY SOURCES 

Application for: 

Base Permit 

Application Fee 

Amount 

Sources subject to Title V permitting 

requirements: 
 

 Major NSR permit $30,000 

 Major NSR permit amendment 

(except administrative) 

$7,000 

 State major permit $15,000 

 Minor NSR permit (that is not also 

a state major permit) 

$1,500 

 Minor NSR permit amendment 

(except administrative) 

$750 

 Title V permit $20,000 

 Title V permit renewal $10,000 

 Title V permit modification (except 

administrative) 

$3,500 

 State operating permit $7,000 

 State operating permit amendment 

(except administrative) 

$3,500 

 Title V General Permit $500 

Sources subject to the requirements of 

a synthetic minor permit: 
 

 Minor NSR permit $500 

 Minor NSR permit amendment 

(except administrative) 

$250 

 State operating permit $1,500 

 State operating permit amendment 

(except administrative) 

$800 

2. The annual adjustment of the permit application fees 

shall be based upon the annually adjusted permit 

application fee amounts for the preceding calendar year 

and the change in the CPI value published by the U.S. 

Department of Labor for all-urban consumers over the 12-

month period ending on August 30 31 of the calendar year 

preceding the calendar year in which the application is first 

received by the appropriate regional office of the 

department. 

a. The CPI for all-urban consumers published by the U.S. 

Department of Labor may be obtained online from the 

Bureau of Labor Statistics' Statistics website at 

http://data.bls.gov/cgi-bin/surveymost?cu. 

b. There is no CPI adjustment for applications received 

prior to January 1, 2013. 

3. The amount of the annually CPI-adjusted permit 

application fee shall be rounded down to the nearest whole 

dollar. 

4. Applications that are received prior to [ (insert effective 

date of the regulation or ] January 1, 2018, [ whichever is 

later) ] and that are amended on or after [ (insert effective 

date of the regulation or ] January 1, 2018, [ whichever is 

later), ] are subject to the permit application fee calculated 

pursuant to the provisions 9VAC5-80-2282 B. 

http://data.bls.gov/cgi-bin/surveymost?cu
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9VAC5-80-2282. Permit application fee calculation on and 

after [ (insert effective date of the regulation or ] January 

1, 2018 [ , whichever is later) ]. 

A. Each permit application subject to this article that is 

received by the appropriate regional office on or after [ (insert 

effective date of the regulation or ] January 1, 

2018, [ whichever is later) ] shall be subject to a permit 

application fee. The amount of the application fee shall be 

calculated as follows: 

1. The amount of the permit application fee shall be the 

largest applicable base permit application fee amount from 

Table 8-10B, adjusted annually on January 1 of each 

calendar year after 2018 as specified in subdivisions 2 and 

3 of this subsection. 

TABLE 8-10B 

BASE PERMIT APPLICATION FEES FOR 

STATIONARY SOURCES 

Application for: 

Base Permit 

Application Fee 

Amount 

Sources subject to Title V permitting 

requirements: 
 

 Major NSR permit $63,000 

 Major NSR permit amendment 

(except administrative) 

$10,000 

 State major permit $25,000 

 Minor NSR permit (that is not also 

a state major permit) 

$5,000 

 Minor NSR permit amendment 

(except administrative) 

$2,500 

 Title V permit $35,000 

 Title V permit renewal $15,000 

 Title V permit modification (except 

administrative) 

$4,000 

 State operating permit $10,000 

 State operating permit amendment 

(except administrative) 

$4,000 

 Title V General Permit $531 

Sources subject to the requirements of 

a synthetic minor permit: 
 

 Minor NSR permit $3,000 

 Minor NSR permit amendment 

(except administrative) 

$1,000 

 State operating permit $5,000 

 State operating permit amendment 

(except administrative) 

$2,500 

2. Except as provided in subdivision 3 of this subsection, 

the annual adjustment of the permit application fees shall 

be based upon the permit application fee amounts for the 

preceding calendar year and the change in the CPI value 

published by the U.S. Department of Labor for all-urban 

consumers over the 12-month period ending on August 31 

of the calendar year preceding the calendar year in which 

the application is received by the appropriate regional 

office of the department. 

a. The CPI for all-urban consumers published by the U.S. 

Department of Labor may be obtained online from the 

Bureau of Labor Statistics website at 

http://data.bls.gov/cgi-bin/surveymost?cu. 

b. There is no CPI adjustment of fees for applications 

received during calendar year 2019. 

3. Instead of a CPI adjustment, each permit application fee 

amount for applications received in calendar year 2019 

shall be increased to 10% more than the base permit 

application fee amount provided in Table 8-10B. 

4. The amount of the permit application fee that is 

calculated as provided in subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this 

subsection shall be rounded down to the nearest whole 

dollar. 

B. The provisions of this section also apply to permit 

applications received by the appropriate regional office prior 

to [ (insert the effective date of the regulation) January 1, 

2018, ] and amended on or after [ (insert the effective date of 

the regulation) January 1, 2018 ]. Those amended 

applications are subject to the permit application fee due as if 

the application was received on or after [ (insert the effective 

date of the regulation) January 1, 2018 ], less any prior permit 

application fee amount paid for that application. 

Article 11 

Annual Permit Maintenance Fees for Stationary Sources 

9VAC5-80-2310. Applicability. 

A. Except as provided in subsection C of this section, the 

provisions of this article apply to any stationary source that 

has begun normal operation and: 

1. The stationary source is subject to the provisions of a 

permit issued pursuant to Article 1 (9VAC5-80-50 et seq.) 

or Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et seq.) of this part or 

pursuant to Part II (9VAC5-85-20 et seq.) of 9VAC5-85 

(Permits for Stationary Sources of Pollutants Subject to 

Regulation); 

2. The stationary source is subject to the permit 

requirements of Article 1 (9VAC5-80-50 et seq.) or 
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Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et seq.) of this part or Part II 

(9VAC5-85-20 et seq.) of 9VAC5-85 (Permits for 

Stationary Sources of Pollutants Subject to Regulation), 

and is operating under an application shield under the 

provisions of 9VAC5-80-80 F or 9VAC5-80-430 F; or 

3. The stationary source would be is subject to the permit 

requirements of Article 1 (9VAC5-80-50 et seq.) or Article 

3 (9VAC5-80-360 et seq.) of this part or Part II (9VAC5-

85-40 (9VAC5-85-20 et seq.) of 9VAC5-85 (Permits for 

Stationary Sources of Pollutants Subject to Regulation) in 

the absence of a permit issued under Article 5 (9VAC5-80-

800 et seq.) or Article 6 (9VAC5-80-1100 et seq.) of this 

part or Part IV (9VAC5-85-60 et seq.) of 9VAC5-85 

(Permits for Stationary Sources of Pollutants Subject to 

Regulation). 

B. The provisions of this article apply throughout the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

C. The provisions of this article shall not apply to the 

following: 1. Any any stationary source that began normal 

operation during the calendar year for which the annual 

permit maintenance fee is assessed. 

2. Any synthetic minor source that is not a synthetic minor 

80% source and is not otherwise subject to the permit 

requirements of Article 1 (9VAC5-80-50 et seq.) or Article 

3 (9VAC5-80-360 et seq.) of this part or Part II (9VAC5-

85-20 et seq.) of 9VAC5-85 (Permits for Stationary 

Sources of Pollutants Subject to Regulation). 

D. The department shall make any final determinations 

required by this article, including [ but not limited to ]: 

1. The applicability of this article; 

2. The amount of permit maintenance fees owed; and 

3. The applicability of terms to a particular stationary 

source or permit. 

9VAC5-80-2330. General. 

A. The owner of any stationary source subject to this article 

shall pay an annual permit maintenance fee in the amount 

determined in accordance with 9VAC5-80-2340 or 9VAC5-

80-2342, as appropriate. 

B. Annual permit maintenance fees collected pursuant to 

this article for sources subject to Article 1 (9VAC5-80-50 et 

seq.) or Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et seq.) of this part or 

subject to Part II (9VAC5-85-20 et seq.) of 9VAC5-85 

(Permits for Stationary Sources of Pollutants Subject to 

Regulation) shall not be used for any purpose other than as 

provided in Title V of the federal Clean Air Act and 

associated regulations and policies. 

9VAC5-80-2340. Annual permit maintenance fee 

calculation prior to [ (insert effective date of the 

regulation) January 1, 2018 ]. 

A. Each Prior to [ (insert effective date of the regulation) 

January 1, 2018 ], each stationary source subject to this article 

shall be assessed an annual permit maintenance fee. 

B. The amount of the permit maintenance fee shall be 

calculated as follows: 

1. The amount of the annual permit maintenance fee shall 

be the largest applicable base permit maintenance fee 

amount from Table 8-11A, adjusted annually by the 

change in the Consumer Price Index (CPI) as specified in 

subdivision 2 of this subsection. 

TABLE 8-11A 

BASE PERMIT MAINTENANCE FEES FOR 

STATIONARY SOURCES 

Stationary Source Type 
Base Permit Maintenance 

Fee Amount 

Title V Complex Major 

Source 

$10,000 

Title V Major Source $3,500 

Title V Source By Rule $1,500 

Synthetic Minor 80% 

Source 

$1,000 

2. The annual adjustment of the permit maintenance fees 

shall be based upon the annual permit maintenance fee 

amount for the preceding calendar year and the change in 

the CPI value published by the U.S. Department of Labor 

for all-urban consumers over the 12-month period ending 

on August 30 31 of the calendar year preceding the 

calendar year in which the permit maintenance fee is 

assessed. 

a. The CPI for all-urban consumers published by the U.S. 

Department of Labor may be obtained online from the 

Bureau of Labor Statistics' Statistics website 

at http://data.bls.gov/cgi-bin/surveymost?cu. 

b. No CPI adjustment shall be made for annual permit 

maintenance fees assessed in calendar year 2012. 

3. The amount of the annual permit maintenance fee shall 

be rounded down to the nearest whole dollar. 

C. The provisions of this section shall not apply to any 

synthetic minor source that is not a synthetic minor 80% 

source and is not otherwise subject to the permit requirements 

of Article 1 (9VAC5-80-50 et seq.) or Article 3 (9VAC5-80-

360 et seq.) of this part or Part II (9VAC5-85-20 et seq.) of 

9VAC5-85 (Permits for Stationary Sources of Pollutants 

Subject to Regulation). 

http://data.bls.gov/cgi-bin/surveymost?cu
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9VAC5-80-2342. Annual permit maintenance fee 

calculation on and after [ (insert effective date of the 

regulation) January 1, 2018 ]. 

A. On and after [ (insert effective date of the 

regulation) January 1, 2018, ] each stationary source subject 

to this article shall be assessed a permit maintenance fee on 

an annual basis. 

B. The amount of the annual permit maintenance fee shall 

be calculated as follows: 

1. The amount of the annual permit maintenance fee shall 

be the largest applicable base permit maintenance fee 

amount from Table 8-11B, adjusted annually as specified 

in subdivisions 2 and 3 of this subsection. 

TABLE 8-11B 

BASE PERMIT MAINTENANCE FEES FOR 

STATIONARY SOURCES 

Stationary Source Type 

Base Permit 

Maintenance Fee 

Amount 

Title V Complex Major Source $21,263 

Title V Major Source $7,442 

Title V Source By Rule $2,392 

Synthetic Minor 80% Source 

(SM-80 Source) 

$1,594 

Synthetic Minor Source (other 

than SM-80 Source) 

$500 

2. Except as provided in subdivision 3 of this subsection, 

the annual adjustment of the permit maintenance fees shall 

be based upon the annual permit maintenance fee amount 

for the preceding calendar year and the change in the CPI 

value published by the U.S. Department of Labor for all-

urban consumers over the 12-month period ending on 

August 31 of the calendar year preceding the calendar year 

in which the permit maintenance fee is assessed and billed. 

a. The CPI for all-urban consumers published by the U.S. 

Department of Labor may be obtained online from the 

Bureau of Labor Statistics website at 

http://data.bls.gov/cgi-bin/surveymost?cu. 

 b. No annual CPI adjustment shall be made to permit 

maintenance fees for source types in years for which the 

adjusted permit maintenance fees for those source types 

are specified in subdivision 3 of this subsection. 

3. Other adjustments to annual permit maintenance fees 

shall be made as follows: 

a. Adjusted permit maintenance fees that are assessed 

and billed in calendar year 2019 shall be as specified in 

Table 8-11C. 

TABLE 8-11C 

ADJUSTED PERMIT MAINTENANCE FEES BILLED 

IN CALENDAR YEAR 2019 

Stationary Source Type 
Permit Maintenance 

Fee Amount 

Title V Complex Major Source $23,389 

Title V Major Source $8,186 

Title V Source By Rule $2,790 

Synthetic Minor 80% Source $1,860 

Synthetic Minor Source (other 

than SM-80 Source) 

$550 

b. Adjusted annual permit maintenance fees for Title V 

Sources by Rule and SM-80 Sources that are assessed 

and billed in calendar year 2020 shall be as specified in 

Table 8-11D. Annual permit maintenance fees for other 

stationary source types that are assessed and billed in 

calendar year 2020 shall be adjusted as specified in 

subdivision 2 of this subsection. 

TABLE 8-11D 

ADJUSTED PERMIT MAINTENANCE FEES BILLED 

IN CALENDAR YEAR 2020 

Stationary Source Type 
Permit Maintenance Fee 

Amount 

Title V Source By Rule $3,189 

Synthetic Minor 80% Source $2,126 

4. The amount of the annual permit maintenance fee shall 

be rounded down to the nearest whole dollar. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4981; Filed November 8, 2017, 9:56 a.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Environmental 

Quality is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 

A 3, which excludes regulations that consist only of changes 

in style or form or corrections of technical errors. The 

Department of Environmental Quality will receive, consider, 

and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time 

with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC15-30. Regulations for the 

Certification of Recycling Machinery and Equipment for 

Local Tax Exemption Purposes (amending 9VAC15-30-

140, 9VAC15-30-170). 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-3661 of the Code of Virginia. 
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Effective Date: December 27, 2017. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This final 

regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Agency Contact: Leslie D. Beckwith, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4123, FAX (804) 

698-4234, or email leslie.beckwith@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update citations to the Administrative 

Process Act. 

9VAC15-30-140. Appeal procedure. 

All appeals taken from actions of the director relative to the 

provisions of this chapter shall be governed by the 

Administrative Process Act (Chapter 1.1:1 (§ 9-6.14:1 et seq.) 

of Title 9 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia. 

9VAC15-30-170. Administrative procedures for variances. 

A. General petitioning requirements. The petition shall be 

submitted to the director by certified mail and shall include: 

1. The petitioner's name and address; 

2. A statement of petitioner's interest in the proposed 

action; 

3. A description of desired action and a citation of the 

regulation from which a variance is requested; 

4. A description of need and justification for the proposed 

action; 

5. The duration of the variance, if applicable; 

6. The potential impact of the variance on public health or 

the environment; 

7. Other information believed by the applicant to be 

pertinent; and 

8. The following statement signed by the petitioner or 

authorized representative: 

"I certify that I have personally examined and am 

familiar with the information submitted in this petition 

and all attached documents, and that, based on my 

inquiry of those individuals immediately responsible for 

obtaining the information, I believe that the submitted 

information is true, accurate, and complete. I am aware 

that there are significant penalties for submitting false 

information, including the possibility of fine and 

imprisonment." 

B. Petition processing. 

1. After receiving a petition that includes the information 

required in subsection A of this section, the director will 

determine whether the information received is sufficient to 

render the decision. If the information is deemed 

insufficient, the director will specify additional information 

needed and request that it be furnished. 

2. The petitioner may submit the additional information 

requested, or may attempt to show that no reasonable basis 

exists for additional information. If the director agrees that 

no reasonable basis exists for the request for additional 

information, he will act in accordance with subdivision 3 

of this subsection. If the director continues to believe that a 

reasonable basis exists to require the submission of such 

information, he will proceed with the denial action in 

accordance with the Administrative Process Act. 

3. Decisions to grant or deny a petition are subject to the 

provisions of Article 3 of the Virginia Administrative 

Process Act (§ 9-6.14:1 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

C. Petition resolution. If the director grants a variance 

request, the notice to the petitioner shall provide that the 

variance may be terminated upon a finding by the director 

that the petitioner has failed to comply with any requirements 

of the variance. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5134; Filed October 26, 2017, 12:18 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 

agency discretion is involved. The State Board of Health will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-90. Regulations for Disease 

Reporting and Control (amending 12VAC5-90-80). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-35 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 27, 2017. 

Agency Contact: Diane Woolard, PhD, Director, Disease 

Surveillance, Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8124, or email 

diane.woolard@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Chapter 280 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly requires the 

State Board of Health to adopt regulations to include 
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neonatal abstinence syndrome on the list of diseases that 

are required to be reported in accordance with § 32.1-35 

of the Code of Virginia. The amendments implement this 

mandate. 

Part III 

Reporting of Disease 

12VAC5-90-80. Lists of diseases that shall be reported. 

A. Reportable disease list. The board declares suspected or 

confirmed cases of the following named diseases, toxic 

effects, and conditions to be reportable by the persons 

enumerated in 12VAC5-90-90. Conditions identified by an 

asterisk (*) require immediate communication to the local 

health department by the most rapid means available upon 

suspicion or confirmation, as defined in subsection C of this 

section. Other conditions should be reported within three days 

of suspected or confirmed diagnosis, unless otherwise 

specified in this section. 

Acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS) 

Amebiasis 

*Anthrax 

Arboviral infections (e.g., CHIK, dengue, EEE, LAC, SLE, 

WNV, Zika) 

Babesiosis 

*Botulism 

*Brucellosis 

Campylobacteriosis 

Chancroid 

Chickenpox (Varicella) 

Chlamydia trachomatis infection 

*Cholera 

*Coronavirus infection, severe 

Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease if <55 younger than 55 years of 

age 

Cryptosporidiosis 

Cyclosporiasis 

*Diphtheria 

*Disease caused by an agent that may have been used as a 

weapon 

Ehrlichiosis/Anaplasmosis 

Escherichia coli infection, Shiga toxin-producing 

Giardiasis 

Gonorrhea 

Granuloma inguinale 

*Haemophilus influenzae infection, invasive 

Hantavirus pulmonary syndrome 

Hemolytic uremic syndrome (HUS) 

*Hepatitis A 

Hepatitis B (acute and chronic) 

Hepatitis C (acute and chronic) 

Hepatitis, other acute viral 

Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection 

Influenza 

*Influenza-associated deaths in children <18 younger than 

18 years of age 

Lead, reportable levels 

Legionellosis 

Leprosy (Hansen's disease) 

Leptospirosis 

Listeriosis 

Lyme disease 

Lymphogranuloma venereum 

Malaria 

*Measles (Rubeola) 

*Meningococcal disease 

Mumps 

Neonatal abstinence syndrome (NAS) 

Ophthalmia neonatorum 

*Outbreaks, all (including but not limited to foodborne, 

healthcare-associated, occupational, toxic substance-

related, and waterborne) 

*Pertussis 

*Plague 

*Poliovirus infection, including poliomyelitis 

*Psittacosis 

*Q fever 

*Rabies, human and animal 

Rabies treatment, post-exposure 

*Rubella, including congenital rubella syndrome 

Salmonellosis 

Shigellosis 
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*Smallpox (Variola) 

Spotted fever rickettsiosis 

Staphylococcus aureus infection, vancomycin-intermediate 

or vancomycin-resistant 

Streptococcal disease, Group A, invasive or toxic shock 

Streptococcus pneumoniae infection, invasive, in 

children <5 younger than five years of age 

Syphilis (report *primary and *secondary syphilis by rapid 

means) 

Tetanus 

Toxic substance-related illness 

Trichinosis (Trichinellosis) 

*Tuberculosis, active disease 

Tuberculosis infection in children <4 younger than 

four years of age 

*Tularemia 

*Typhoid/Paratyphoid fever 

*Unusual occurrence of disease of public health concern 

*Vaccinia, disease or adverse event 

*Vibrio infection 

*Viral hemorrhagic fever 

*Yellow fever 

Yersiniosis 

B. Conditions reportable by directors of laboratories. 

Conditions identified by an asterisk (*) require immediate 

communication to the local health department by the most 

rapid means available upon suspicion or confirmation, as 

defined in subsection C of this section. Other conditions 

should be reported within three days of suspected or 

confirmed diagnosis. 

Amebiasis - by microscopic examination, culture, antigen 

detection, nucleic acid detection, or serologic results 

consistent with recent infection 

*Anthrax - by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 

detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 

infection 

Arboviral infection e.g., for example, CHIK, dengue, EEE, 

LAC (also known as California encephalitis), SLE, WNV, 

Zika - by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid detection, 

or serologic results consistent with recent infection 

Babesiosis - by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 

detection, microscopic examination, or serologic results 

consistent with recent infection 

*Botulism - by culture, nucleic acid detection, or 

identification of neurotoxin in a clinical specimen 

*Brucellosis - by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 

detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 

infection 

Campylobacteriosis - by culture or culture-independent 

diagnostic test (CIDT) (i.e., antigen detection or nucleic 

acid detection). For CIDT, also submit all available culture 

results (positive or negative) associated with a positive 

result. 

Chancroid - by culture, antigen detection, or nucleic acid 

detection 

Chickenpox (Varicella) - by culture, antigen detection, 

nucleic acid detection, or serologic results consistent with 

recent infection 

Chlamydia trachomatis infection - by culture, antigen 

detection, nucleic acid detection or, for lymphogranuloma 

venereum, serologic results consistent with recent infection 

*Cholera - by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 

detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 

infection 

*Coronavirus infection, severe - by culture, nucleic acid 

detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 

infection 

Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease if <55 younger than 55 years of 

age by histopathology in patients under the age of 55 years 

Cryptosporidiosis - by microscopic examination, antigen 

detection, or nucleic acid detection 

Cyclosporiasis - by microscopic examination or nucleic 

acid detection 

*Diphtheria - by culture or histopathology 

Ehrlichiosis/Anaplasmosis - by culture, nucleic acid 

detection, microscopic examination, or serologic results 

consistent with recent infection 

Escherichia coli infection, Shiga toxin-producing - by 

culture, Shiga toxin detection (e.g., nucleic acid detection, 

EIA), or serologic results consistent with recent infection 

Giardiasis - by microscopic examination, antigen detection, 

or nucleic acid detection 

Gonorrhea - by microscopic examination of a urethral 

smear (males only) or endocervical smear (females only), 

culture, antigen detection, or nucleic acid detection. 

Include available antimicrobial susceptibility findings in 

report. 

*Haemophilus influenzae infection, invasive - by culture, 

antigen detection, or nucleic acid detection from a 

normally sterile site 
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Hantavirus pulmonary syndrome - by antigen detection 

(immunohistochemistry), nucleic acid detection, or 

serologic results consistent with recent infection 

*Hepatitis A - by detection of IgM antibodies 

Hepatitis B (acute and chronic) - by detection of HBsAg, 

HBeAg, or IgM antibodies or nucleic acid detection. For 

any reportable hepatitis finding, submit all available results 

from the hepatitis panel. 

Hepatitis C (acute and chronic) - by hepatitis C virus 

antibody (anti-HCV) positive, HCV antigen positive, or 

HCV RNA positive by nucleic acid test. For all hepatitis C 

patients, also report available results of serum alanine 

aminotransferase (ALT) and all available results from the 

hepatitis panel. 

Hepatitis, other acute viral – any finding indicative of acute 

infection with hepatitis D, E, or other cause of viral 

hepatitis. For any reportable hepatitis finding, submit all 

available results from the hepatitis panel. 

Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection - by 

culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid detection, or 

detection of antibody. For HIV-infected patients, report all 

results of CD4 and HIV viral load tests, including 

undetectable viral loads. For HIV-infected patients, report 

all HIV genetic nucleotide sequence data associated with 

HIV drug resistance tests by electronic submission. For 

children less younger than three years of age, report all 

tests regardless of the test findings (e.g., negative or 

positive). 

Influenza - by culture, antigen detection by direct 

fluorescent antibody (DFA), or nucleic acid detection 

Lead, reportable levels - by any detectable blood lead level 

in children ages 0-15 years or levels greater than or equal 

to 5 five μg/dL in persons older than 15 years of age 

Legionellosis - by culture, antigen detection (including 

urinary antigen), nucleic acid detection, or serologic results 

consistent with recent infection 

Leptospirosis - by culture, microscopic examination by 

dark field microscopy, nucleic acid detection, or serologic 

results consistent with recent infection 

Listeriosis - by culture from a normally sterile site. If 

associated with miscarriage or stillbirth, by culture from 

placental or fetal tissue 

Lyme disease - by culture, antigen detection, or detection 

of antibody confirmed with a supplemental test 

Malaria - by microscopic examination, antigen detection, 

or nucleic acid detection 

*Measles (Rubeola) - by culture, antigen detection, nucleic 

acid detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 

infection 

*Meningococcal disease - by culture, nucleic acid 

detection, or antigen detection from a normally sterile site 

Mumps - by culture, nucleic acid detection, or serologic 

results consistent with recent infection 

*Mycobacterial diseases - (See 12VAC5-90-225 B) Report 

any of the following: 

1. Acid fast bacilli by microscopic examination; 

2. Mycobacterial identification - preliminary and final 

identification by culture or nucleic acid detection; 

3. Drug susceptibility test results for M. tuberculosis. 

*Pertussis - by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 

detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 

infection 

*Plague - by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 

detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 

infection 

*Poliovirus infection - by culture 

*Psittacosis - by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 

detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 

infection 

*Q fever - by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 

detection, immunohistochemical methods, or serologic 

results consistent with recent infection 

*Rabies, human and animal - by culture, antigen detection 

by direct fluorescent antibody test, nucleic acid detection, 

or, for humans only, serologic results consistent with 

recent infection 

*Rubella - by culture, nucleic acid detection, or serologic 

results consistent with recent infection 

Salmonellosis - by culture, antigen detection, or nucleic 

acid detection 

Shigellosis - by culture, antigen detection, or nucleic acid 

detection 

*Smallpox (Variola) - by culture or nucleic acid detection 

Spotted fever rickettsiosis - by culture, antigen detection 

(including immunohistochemical staining), nucleic acid 

detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 

infection 

Staphylococcus aureus infection, resistant, as defined 

below specifically: 

Vancomycin-intermediate or vancomycin-resistant 

Staphylococcus aureus infection - by antimicrobial 

susceptibility testing of a Staphylococcus aureus isolate, 

with a vancomycin susceptibility result of intermediate or 

resistant, cultured from a clinical specimen. Include 

available antimicrobial susceptibility findings in report. 
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Streptococcal disease, Group A, invasive or toxic shock - 

for invasive disease, by culture from a normally sterile site; 

for streptococcal toxic shock, by culture from any body site 

Streptococcus pneumoniae infection, invasive, in 

children <5 younger than five years of age - by culture 

from a normally sterile site in a child under the age of five 

years 

*Syphilis - by darkfield microscopy, antigen detection, 

nucleic acid detection, or serology by either treponemal or 

nontreponemal methods 

Toxic substance-related illness - by blood or urine 

laboratory findings above the normal range, including but 

not limited to heavy metals, pesticides, and industrial-type 

solvents and gases. When applicable and available, report 

speciation of metals when blood or urine levels are 

elevated in order to differentiate the chemical species 

(elemental, organic, or inorganic). 

Trichinosis (Trichinellosis) - by microscopic examination 

of a muscle biopsy or serologic results consistent with 

recent infection 

*Tularemia - by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 

detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 

infection 

*Typhoid/Paratyphoid fever - by culture, antigen detection, 

or nucleic acid detection 

*Vaccinia, disease or adverse event - by culture or nucleic 

acid detection 

*Vibrio infection - isolation of any species of the family 

Vibrionaceae (other than toxigenic Vibrio cholera O1 or 

O139, which are reportable as cholera) from a clinical 

specimen by culture, antigen detection, or nucleic acid 

detection 

*Viral hemorrhagic fever - by culture, antigen detection 

(including immunohistochemical staining), nucleic acid 

detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 

infection 

*Yellow fever - by culture, antigen detection, nucleic acid 

detection, or serologic results consistent with recent 

infection 

Yersiniosis - by culture, nucleic acid detection, or serologic 

results consistent with recent infection 

C. Reportable diseases requiring rapid communication. 

Certain of the diseases in the list of reportable diseases, 

because of their extremely contagious nature or their potential 

for greater harm, or both, require immediate identification 

and control. Reporting of persons confirmed or suspected of 

having these diseases, listed below in this subsection, shall be 

made immediately by the most rapid means available, 

preferably by telephone to the local health department. (These 

same diseases are also identified by an asterisk (*) in 

subsections A and B, where applicable, of this section.) 

Anthrax 

Botulism 

Brucellosis 

Cholera 

Coronavirus infection, severe 

Diphtheria 

Disease caused by an agent that may have been used as a 

weapon 

Haemophilus influenzae infection, invasive 

Hepatitis A 

Influenza-associated deaths in children <18 younger than 

18 years of age 

Influenza A, novel virus 

Measles (Rubeola) 

Meningococcal disease 

Outbreaks, all 

Pertussis 

Plague 

Poliovirus infection, including poliomyelitis 

Psittacosis 

Q fever 

Rabies, human and animal 

Rubella, including congenital rubella syndrome 

Smallpox (Variola) 

Syphilis, primary and secondary 

Tuberculosis, active disease 

Tularemia 

Typhoid/Paratyphoid fever 

Unusual occurrence of disease of public health concern 

Vaccinia, disease or adverse event 

Vibrio infection 

Viral hemorrhagic fever 

Yellow fever 

D. Toxic substance-related illnesses. All toxic substance-

related illnesses, including pesticide and heavy metal 

poisoning or illness resulting from exposure to an 
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occupational dust or fiber or radioactive substance, shall be 

reported. 

If such illness is verified or suspected and presents an 

emergency or a serious threat to public health or safety, the 

report of such illness shall be made immediately by the most 

rapid means available, preferably by telephone. 

E. Outbreaks. The occurrence of outbreaks or clusters of any 

illness which that may represent a group expression of an 

illness which that may be of public health concern shall be 

reported to the local health department immediately by the 

most rapid means available, preferably by telephone. 

F. Unusual or ill-defined diseases or emerging or 

reemerging pathogens. Unusual or emerging conditions of 

public health concern shall be reported to the local health 

department immediately by the most rapid means available, 

preferably by telephone. In addition, the commissioner or his 

designee may establish surveillance systems for diseases or 

conditions that are not on the list of reportable diseases. Such 

surveillance may be established to identify cases (delineate 

the magnitude of the situation), to identify the mode of 

transmission and risk factors for the disease, and to identify 

and implement appropriate action to protect public health. 

Any person reporting information at the request of the 

department for special surveillance or other epidemiological 

studies shall be immune from liability as provided by § 32.1-

38 of the Code of Virginia. 

G. Neonatal abstinence syndrome. Neonatal abstinence 

syndrome shall be reported by physicians and directors of 

medical care facilities when a newborn has been diagnosed 

with neonatal abstinence syndrome, a condition characterized 

by clinical signs of withdrawal from exposure to prescribed or 

illicit drugs. Reports shall be submitted within one month of 

diagnosis by entering the information into the online 

Confidential Morbidity Report portal available on the 

Department of Health's website at 

http://vdh.virginia.gov/morbidity-report. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5250; Filed October 26, 2017, 8:57 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-25. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dental Hygiene (amending 18VAC60-25-

190). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400, 54.1-2272, and 54.1-2729 

of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: November 13, 2017, through May 12, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 

email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 

which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act 

requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or less 

from its enactment, and the regulation is not exempt under 

the provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Chapter 410 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly, which amended 

§ 54.1-2722 of the Code of Virginia, clarifies continuing 

education requirements for dental hygienists practicing 

under remote supervision and requires the Board of 

Dentistry to adopt regulations implementing the provision 

of the act. 

The emergency regulation requires a dental hygienist 

practicing under supervision to complete a continuing 

education course of at least two hours that is offered by an 

accredited dental education program or a sponsor listed in 

subsection C of 18VAC60-25-190 that includes certain 

course content as outlined in new subsection H of 

18VAC60-25-190. 

18VAC60-25-190. Requirements for continuing education. 

A. In order to renew an active license, a dental hygienist 

shall complete a minimum of 15 hours of approved 

continuing education. Continuing education hours in excess 

of the number required for renewal may be transferred or 

credited to the next renewal year for a total of not more than 

15 hours. 

1. A dental hygienist shall be required to maintain evidence 

of successful completion of a current hands-on course in 

basic cardiopulmonary resuscitation for health care 

providers. 

2. A dental hygienist who monitors patients under general 

anesthesia, deep sedation, or conscious/moderate sedation 

shall complete four hours every two years of approved 

continuing education directly related to monitoring of such 

anesthesia or sedation as part of the hours required for 

licensure renewal. 

3. Up to two hours of the 15 hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through delivery of dental 

hygiene services, without compensation, to low-income 

individuals receiving health services through a local health 

department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily 

for the delivery of those services. One hour of continuing 

education may be credited for three hours of providing 

such volunteer services, as documented by the health 

department or free clinic. 
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B. An approved continuing education program shall be 

relevant to the treatment and care of patients and shall be: 

1. Clinical courses in dental or dental hygiene practice; or 

2. Nonclinical subjects that relate to the skills necessary to 

provide dental hygiene services and are supportive of 

clinical services (i.e., patient management, legal and 

ethical responsibilities, risk management, and 

recordkeeping). Courses not acceptable for the purpose of 

this subsection include, but are not limited to, estate 

planning, financial planning, investments, and personal 

health. 

C. Continuing education credit may be earned for verifiable 

attendance at or participation in any course, to include audio 

and video presentations, that meets the requirements in 

subdivision B 1 of this section and is given by one of the 

following sponsors: 

1. The American Dental Association and the National 

Dental Association and their constituent and 

component/branch associations; 

2. The American Dental Hygienists' Association and the 

National Dental Hygienists Association and their 

constituent and component/branch associations; 

3. The American Dental Assisting Association and its 

constituent and component/branch associations; 

4. The American Dental Association specialty 

organizations and their constituent and component/branch 

associations; 

5. A provider accredited by the Accreditation Council for 

Continuing Medical Education for Category 1 credits; 

6. The Academy of General Dentistry and its constituent 

and component/branch associations; 

7. Community colleges with an accredited dental hygiene 

program if offered under the auspices of the dental 

hygienist program; 

8. A college or university that is accredited by an 

accrediting agency approved by the U.S. Department of 

Education or a hospital or health care institution accredited 

by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 

Organizations; 

9. The American Heart Association, the American Red 

Cross, the American Safety and Health Institute, and the 

American Cancer Society; 

10. A medical school accredited by the American Medical 

Association's Liaison Committee for Medical Education or 

a dental school or dental specialty residency program 

accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of 

the American Dental Association; 

11. State or federal government agencies (i.e., military 

dental division, Veteran's Administration, etc.); 

12. The Commonwealth Dental Hygienists' Society; 

13. The MCV Orthodontic Education and Research 

Foundation; 

14. The Dental Assisting National Board and its affiliate, 

the Dental Auxiliary Learning and Education Foundation; 

15. The American Academy of Dental Hygiene, its 

constituent and component/branch associations; or 

16. A regional testing agency (i.e., Central Regional Dental 

Testing Service, Northeast Regional Board of Dental 

Examiners, Southern Regional Testing Agency, Council of 

Interstate Testing Agencies, or Western Regional 

Examining Board) when serving as an examiner. 

D. Verification of compliance. 

1. All licensees are required to verify compliance with 

continuing education requirements at the time of annual 

license renewal. 

2. Following the renewal period, the board may conduct an 

audit of licensees to verify compliance. 

3. Licensees selected for audit shall provide original 

documents certifying that they have fulfilled their 

continuing education requirements by the deadline date as 

specified by the board. 

4. Licensees are required to maintain original documents 

verifying the date and the subject of the program or 

activity, the sponsor, and the amount of time earned. 

Documentation shall be maintained for a period of four 

years following renewal. 

5. Failure to comply with continuing education 

requirements may subject the licensee to disciplinary 

action by the board. 

E. Exemptions. 

1. A licensee is exempt from completing continuing 

education requirements and considered in compliance on 

the first renewal date following the licensee's initial 

licensure. 

2. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially 

declared disasters. A written request with supporting 

documents must be submitted at least 30 days prior to the 

deadline for renewal. 

F. The board may grant an extension for up to one year for 

completion of continuing education upon written request with 

an explanation to the board prior to the renewal date. 
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G. Continuing education hours required by board order shall

not be used to satisfy the continuing education requirement 

for license renewal or reinstatement. 

H. In order to practice under remote supervision in

accordance with subsection F of § 54.1-2722 of the Code of 

Virginia, a dental hygienist shall complete a continuing 

education course of no less than two hours in duration that is 

offered by an accredited dental education program or a 

sponsor listed in subsection C of this section and that includes 

the following course content: 

1. Intent and definitions of remote supervision;

2. Review of dental hygiene scope of practice and

delegation of services; 

3. Administration of controlled substances;

4. Patient records, documentation, and risk management;

5. Remote supervision laws for dental hygienists and

dentists; 

6. Written practice protocols; and

7. Settings allowed for remote supervision.

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5208; Filed November 13, 2017, 7:28 a.m. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Medicine is claiming 

an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 6 of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards 

served by the Department of Health Professions pursuant to 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia that are limited to reducing 

fees charged to regulants and applicants. The Board of 

Medicine will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 

any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 

and Chiropractic (amending 18VAC85-20-22). 

18VAC85-40. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Respiratory Therapists (amending 18VAC85-40-35). 

18VAC85-50. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Physician Assistants (amending 18VAC85-50-35). 

18VAC85-80. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 

Occupational Therapists (amending 18VAC85-80-26). 

18VAC85-101. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Radiologic Technology (amending 18VAC85-101-25). 

18VAC85-110. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Licensed Acupuncturists (amending 18VAC85-110-35). 

18VAC85-120. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 

Athletic Trainers (amending 18VAC85-120-35). 

18VAC85-130. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Licensed Midwives (amending 18VAC85-130-30). 

18VAC85-140. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Polysomnographic Technologists (amending 18VAC85-

140-40).

18VAC85-150. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Behavior Analysis (amending 18VAC85-150-40). 

18VAC85-160. Regulations Governing the Registration of 

Surgical Assistants and Surgical Technologists (amending 

18VAC85-160-40). 

18VAC85-170. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Genetic Counselors (amending 18VAC85-170-40). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 17, 2017. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX 

(804) 527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov.

Summary: 

The amendments apply a one-time fee reduction applicable 

for all professions regulated by the Board of Medicine for 

the next renewal cycle in 2018 or 2019. 

18VAC85-20-22. Required fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board

shall not be refundable. 

B. All examination fees shall be determined by and made

payable as designated by the board. 

C. The application fee for licensure in medicine, osteopathic

medicine, and podiatry shall be $302, and the fee for 

licensure in chiropractic shall be $277. 

D. The fee for a temporary authorization to practice

medicine pursuant to clauses (i) and (ii) of § 54.1-2927 B (i) 

and (ii) of the Code of Virginia shall be $25. 

E. The application fee for a limited professorial or fellow

license issued pursuant to 18VAC85-20-210 shall be $55. 

The annual renewal fee shall be $35. For renewal of a limited 

professorial or fellow license in 2016, the fee shall be $30. An 

additional fee for late renewal of licensure shall be $15. 

F. The application fee for a limited license to interns and

residents pursuant to 18VAC85-20-220 shall be $55. The 

annual renewal fee shall be $35. For renewal of a limited 

license to interns and residents in 2016, the fee shall be $30. 

An additional fee for late renewal of licensure shall be $15. 
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G. The fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15; the 

fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00. 

H. The fee for biennial renewal shall be $337 for licensure 

in medicine, osteopathic medicine, and podiatry and $312 for 

licensure in chiropractic, due in each even-numbered year in 

the licensee's birth month. An additional fee for processing a 

late renewal application within one renewal cycle shall be 

$115 for licensure in medicine, osteopathic medicine, and 

podiatry and $105 for licensure in chiropractic. For renewal 

of licensure in 2016 2018, the fee shall be $270 for licensure 

in medicine, osteopathic medicine, and podiatry and $250 for 

licensure in chiropractic. 

I. The fee for requesting reinstatement of licensure or 

certification pursuant to § 54.1-2408.2 of the Code of 

Virginia or for requesting reinstatement after any petition to 

reinstate the certificate or license of any person has been 

denied shall be $2,000. 

J. The fee for reinstatement of a license issued by the Board 

of Medicine pursuant to § 54.1-2904 of the Code of Virginia 

that has expired for a period of two years or more shall be 

$497 for licensure in medicine, osteopathic medicine, and 

podiatry ($382 for reinstatement application in addition to the 

late fee of $115) and $472 for licensure in chiropractic ($367 

for reinstatement application in addition to the late fee of 

$105). The fee shall be submitted with an application for 

licensure reinstatement. 

K. The fee for a letter of verification of licensure shall be 

$10, and the fee for certification of grades to another 

jurisdiction by the board shall be $25. Fees shall be due and 

payable upon submitting a request for verification or 

certification to the board. 

L. The fee for biennial renewal of an inactive license shall 

be $168, due in the licensee's birth month. An additional fee 

for late renewal of licensure shall be $55 for each renewal 

cycle. For renewal of an inactive license in 2016, the fee shall 

be $135. 

M. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of a 

restricted volunteer license shall be $75, due in the licensee's 

birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of licensure 

shall be $25 for each renewal cycle. For renewal of a 

restricted volunteer license in 2016, the fee shall be $65. 

N. The fee for a returned check shall be $35. 

18VAC85-40-35. Fees. 

The following fees are required: 

1. The application fee, payable at the time the application 

is filed, shall be $130. 

2. The biennial fee for renewal of active licensure shall be 

$135 and for renewal of inactive licensure shall be $70, 

payable in each odd-numbered year in the license holder's 

birth month. For 2017 2019, the fee for renewal of an 

active license shall be $108, and the fee for renewal of an 

inactive license shall be $54. 

3. The additional fee for late renewal of licensure within 

one renewal cycle shall be $50. 

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license issued by the 

Board of Medicine pursuant to § 54.1-2904 of the Code of 

Virginia, which has lapsed for a period of two years or 

more, shall be $180 and must be submitted with an 

application for licensure reinstatement. 

5. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000. 

6. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the fee 

for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15. 

7. The fee for a returned check shall be $35. 

8. The fee for a letter of good standing/verification 

standing or verification to another jurisdiction shall be $10; 

the fee for certification of grades to another jurisdiction 

shall be $25. 

9. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of 

a restricted volunteer license shall be $35, due in the 

licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of 

licensure shall be $15 for each renewal cycle. 

18VAC85-50-35. Fees. 

Unless otherwise provided, the following fees shall not be 

refundable: 

1. The initial application fee for a license, payable at the 

time application is filed, shall be $130. 

2. The biennial fee for renewal of an active license shall be 

$135 and for renewal of an inactive license shall be $70, 

payable in each odd-numbered year in the birth month of 

the licensee. For 2017 2019, the fee for renewal of an 

active license shall be $108, and the fee for renewal of an 

inactive license shall be $54. 

3. The additional fee for late renewal of licensure within 

one renewal cycle shall be $50. 

4. A restricted volunteer license shall expire 12 months 

from the date of issuance and may be renewed without 

charge by receipt of a renewal application that verifies that 

the physician assistant continues to comply with provisions 

of § 54.1-2951.3 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The fee for review and approval of a new protocol 

submitted following initial licensure shall be $15. 

6. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000. 

7. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the fee 

for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15. 

8. The fee for a returned check shall be $35. 
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9. The fee for a letter of good standing/verification 

standing or verification to another jurisdiction shall be $10. 

10. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of 

a restricted volunteer license shall be $35, due in the 

licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of 

licensure shall be $15 for each renewal cycle. 

18VAC85-80-26. Fees. 

A. The following fees have been established by the board: 

1. The initial fee for the occupational therapist license shall 

be $130; for the occupational therapy assistant, it shall be 

$70. 

2. The fee for reinstatement of the occupational therapist 

license that has been lapsed for two years or more shall be 

$180; for the occupational therapy assistant, it shall be $90. 

3. The fee for active license renewal for an occupational 

therapist shall be $135; for an occupational therapy 

assistant, it shall be $70. The fees for inactive license 

renewal shall be $70 for an occupational therapist and $35 

for an occupational therapy assistant. Renewals shall be 

due in the birth month of the licensee in each even-

numbered year. For 2016 2018, the fee for renewal of an 

active license as an occupational therapist shall be $108; 

for an occupational therapy assistant, it shall be $54. For 

renewal of an inactive license in 2016 2018, the fees shall 

be $54 for an occupational therapist and $28 for an 

occupational therapy assistant. 

4. The additional fee for processing a late renewal 

application within one renewal cycle shall be $50 for an 

occupational therapist and $30 for an occupational therapy 

assistant. 

5. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 

another state jurisdiction for a license shall be $10. 

6. The fee for reinstatement of licensure pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000. 

7. The fee for a returned check shall be $35. 

8. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the fee 

for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15. 

9. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of 

a restricted volunteer license shall be $35, due in the 

licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of 

licensure shall be $15 for each renewal cycle. 

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board 

shall not be refundable. 

18VAC85-101-25. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable. 

B. Initial licensure fees. 

1. The application fee for radiologic technologist or 

radiologist assistant licensure shall be $130. 

2. The application fee for the radiologic technologist-

limited licensure shall be $90. 

3. All examination fees shall be determined by and made 

payable as designated by the board. 

C. Licensure renewal and reinstatement for a radiologic 

technologist or a radiologist assistant. 

1. The fee for active license renewal for a radiologic 

technologist shall be $135, and the fee for inactive license 

renewal shall be $70. For 2017 2019, the fees for renewal 

shall be $108 for an active license as a radiologic 

technologist and $54 for an inactive license. If a radiologist 

assistant holds a current license as a radiologic 

technologist, the renewal fee shall be $50. If a radiologist 

assistant does not hold a current license as a radiologic 

technologist, the renewal fee shall be $150. For renewal of 

a radiologist assistant license in 2017 2019, the fee shall be 

$40 for a radiologist assistant with a current license as a 

radiologic technologist and $120 for a radiologist assistant 

without a current license as a radiologic technologist. 

2. An additional fee of $50 to cover administrative costs 

for processing a late renewal application within one 

renewal cycle shall be imposed by the board. 

3. The fee for reinstatement of a radiologic technologist or 

a radiologist assistant license that has lapsed for a period of 

two years or more shall be $180 and shall be submitted 

with an application for licensure reinstatement. 

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000. 

D. Licensure renewal and reinstatement for a radiologic 

technologist-limited. 

1. The fee for active license renewal shall be $70, and the 

fee for inactive license renewal shall be $35. For 2017 

2019, the fees for renewal shall be $54 for an active license 

as a radiologic technologist and $28 for an inactive license. 

2. An additional fee of $25 to cover administrative costs 

for processing a late renewal application within one 

renewal cycle shall be imposed by the board. 

3. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has lapsed for 

a period of two years or more shall be $120 and shall be 

submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement. 

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000. 
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E. Other fees. 

1. The application fee for a traineeship as a radiologic 

technologist or a radiologic technologist-limited shall be 

$25. 

2. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 

another state for licensure shall be $10; the fee for 

certification of scores to another jurisdiction shall be $25. 

3. The fee for a returned check shall be $35. 

4. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the fee 

for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15. 

18VAC85-110-35. Fees. 

Unless otherwise provided, the following fees shall not be 

refundable: 

1. The application fee for a license to practice as an 

acupuncturist shall be $130. 

2. The fee for biennial active license renewal shall be 

$135; the fee for biennial inactive license renewal shall be 

$70. For 2017 2019, the fee for renewal of an active 

license shall be $108, and the fee for renewal of an inactive 

license shall be $54. 

3. The additional fee for processing a late renewal within 

one renewal cycle shall be $50. 

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license which has expired 

for two or more years shall be $180. 

5. The fee for a letter of 

good standing/verification standing or verification of a 

license to another jurisdiction shall be $10. 

6. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000. 

7. The fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15. 

8. The fee for a duplicate renewal license shall be $5.00. 

9. The fee for a returned check shall be $35. 

10. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of 

a restricted volunteer license shall be $35, due in the 

licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of 

licensure shall be $15 for each renewal cycle. 

18VAC85-120-35. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable. 

B. The following fees have been adopted by the board: 

1. The application fee shall be $130. 

2. The fee for renewal of licensure shall be $135 and shall 

be due in the licensee's birth month, in each odd-numbered 

year. 

3. A fee of $50 for processing a late renewal within one 

renewal cycle shall be paid in addition to the renewal fee. 

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has expired 

for two or more years shall be $180 and shall be submitted 

with an application for reinstatement. 

5. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000. 

6. The fee for a duplicate renewal license shall be $5.00, 

and the fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15. 

7. The fee for a returned check shall be $35. 

8. The fee for a letter of verification to another jurisdiction 

shall be $10. 

9. The fee for an inactive license shall be $70, and the fee 

for a late renewal shall be $25. 

10. For 2017 2019, the fee for renewal of an active license 

shall be $108, and the fee for renewal of an inactive license 

shall be $54. 

18VAC85-130-30. Fees. 

Unless otherwise provided, the following fees shall not be 

refundable: 

1. The application fee for a license to practice as a midwife 

shall be $277. 

2. The fee for biennial active license renewal shall be 

$312; the additional fee for late renewal of an active 

license within one renewal cycle shall be $105. 

3. The fee for biennial inactive license renewal shall be 

$168; the additional fee for late renewal of an inactive 

license within one renewal cycle shall be $55. 

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has expired 

for a period of two years or more shall be $367 in addition 

to the late fee. The fee shall be submitted with an 

application for licensure reinstatement. 

5. The fee for a letter of 

good standing/verification standing or verification of a 

license to another jurisdiction shall be $10. 

6. The fee for an application for reinstatement if a license 

has been revoked or if an application for reinstatement has 

been previously denied shall be $2,000. 

7. The fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15. 

8. The fee for a duplicate renewal license shall be $5.00. 

9. The fee for a returned check shall be $35. 

10. For 2017 2019, the fee for renewal of an active license 

shall be $250, and the fee for renewal of an inactive license 

shall be $125. 
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18VAC85-140-40. Fees. 

The following fees are required: 

1. The application fee, payable at the time the application 

is filed, shall be $130. 

2. The biennial fee for renewal of active licensure shall be 

$135 and for renewal of inactive licensure shall be $70, 

payable in each odd-numbered year in the license holder's 

birth month. For 2017 2019, the renewal fee for an active 

license shall be $108, and the renewal fee for an inactive 

license shall be $54. 

3. The additional fee for late renewal of licensure within 

one renewal cycle shall be $50. 

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has lapsed for 

a period of two years or more shall be $180 and must be 

submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement. 

5. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000. 

6. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the fee 

for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15. 

7. The fee for a returned check shall be $35. 

8. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 

another jurisdiction shall be $10. 

18VAC85-150-40. Fees. 

A. The following fees have been established by the board: 

1. The initial fee for the behavior analyst license shall be 

$130; for the assistant behavior analyst license, it shall be 

$70. 

2. The fee for reinstatement of the behavior analyst license 

that has been lapsed for two years or more shall be $180; 

for the assistant behavior analyst license, it shall be $90. 

3. The fee for active license renewal for a behavior analyst 

shall be $135; for an assistant behavior analyst, it shall be 

$70. The fees for inactive license renewal shall be $70 for 

a behavior analyst and $35 for an assistant behavior 

analyst. Renewals shall be due in the birth month of the 

licensee in each odd-numbered year. For 2017 2019, the 

renewal of an active license as a behavior analyst shall be 

$108, and the renewal fee for an inactive license shall be 

$54; the renewal fee for an active license as an assistant 

behavior analyst shall be $54, and the renewal fee for an 

inactive license shall be $28. 

4. The additional fee for processing a late renewal 

application within one renewal cycle shall be $50 for a 

behavior analyst and $30 for an assistant behavior analyst. 

5. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 

another state jurisdiction for a license shall be $10. 

6. The fee for reinstatement of licensure pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000. 

7. The fee for a returned check shall be $35. 

8. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the fee 

for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15. 

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board 

shall not be refundable. 

18VAC85-160-40. Fees. 

A. The following fees have been established by the board: 

1. The fee for registration as a surgical assistant or surgical 

technologist shall be $75. 

2. The fee for renewal of registration shall be $70. 

Renewals shall be due in the birth month of the registrant 

in each even-numbered year. For 2016 2018, the renewal 

fee shall be $54. 

3. The additional fee for processing a late renewal 

application within one renewal cycle shall be $25. 

4. The fee for a returned check shall be $35. 

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board 

are not refundable. 

18VAC85-170-40. Fees. 

The following fees are required: 

1. The application fee for licensure, payable at the time the 

application is filed, shall be $130. 

2. The application fee for a temporary license, payable at 

the time the application is filed, shall be $50. 

3. The biennial fee for renewal of active licensure shall be 

$135 and for renewal of inactive licensure shall be $70, 

payable in each odd-numbered year in the license holder's 

birth month. For 2019, the renewal fee for an active license 

shall be $108, and the renewal fee for an inactive license shall 

be $54. 

4. The additional fee for late renewal of licensure within one 

renewal cycle shall be $50. 

5. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has lapsed for a 

period of two years or more shall be $180 and shall be 

submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement. 

6. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000. 

7. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5 $5.00, and the 

fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15. 

8. The fee for a returned check shall be $35. 

9. The fee for a letter of good standing or letter of 

verification to another jurisdiction shall be $10. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5319; Filed October 31, 2017, 8:58 a.m. 
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Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-21. Regulations Governing 

Prescribing of Opioids and Buprenorphine (adding 

18VAC85-21-10 through 18VAC85-21-170). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2928.2 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 1, 2017 - 8:35 a.m. - Perimeter Center, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 201, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: January 26, 2018. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Board of Medicine the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system. In addition, the board is 

mandated to adopt regulations pursuant to § 54.1-2928.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, which was enacted in the 2017 Session 

of the General Assembly. 

Purpose: The purpose of the regulatory action is the 

establishment of requirements for prescribing of controlled 

substances containing opioids or buprenorphine to address the 

overdose and addiction crisis in the Commonwealth. 

Reducing the quantity of opioids in the Commonwealth's 

homes and communities has already been shown to have a 

cost benefit and will ultimately have a direct public health, 

safety, and welfare benefit in a reduction in opioid misuse and 

opioid overdose deaths. The goal is to provide prescribers 

with definitive rules to follow so that they may feel more 

assured of their ability to treat pain in an appropriate manner 

to avoid under-prescribing or over-prescribing and thereby 

protect the public health. 

Substance: The regulations establish the practitioners to 

whom the rules apply and the exceptions or non-applicability. 

Regulations for the management of acute pain include 

requirements for the evaluation of the patient, limitations on 

quantity and dosage, and medical recordkeeping. Regulations 

for management of chronic pain include requirements for 

evaluation and treatment, including a treatment plan, 

informed consent and agreement, consultation with other 

providers, and medical recordkeeping. Regulations for 

prescribing of buprenorphine include requirements for patient 

assessment and treatment planning, limitations on prescribing 

the buprenorphine mono-product (without naloxone), 

dosages, co-prescribing of other drugs, consultation, and 

medical records for opioid addiction treatment. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is a reduction in 

the amount of opioid medication that is available in Virginia 

communities. A limitation on the quantity of opioids that may 

be prescribed should result in fewer people becoming 

addicted to pain medication, which sometimes leads them to 

turn to heroin and other illicit drugs.  Persons who are 

receiving opioids for chronic pain should be more closely 

monitored to ensure that the prescribing is appropriate and 

necessary. A limitation on prescribing the buprenorphine 

mono-product should result in a reduction in the number of 

tablets that are sold on the street. The primary disadvantage to 

the public may be that more explicit rules for prescribing may 

result in some physicians choosing not to manage chronic 

pain patients in their practice. 

The primary advantage to the Commonwealth is the potential 

reduction in the number of persons addicted to opioids and 

deaths from overdoses. There are no disadvantages. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapters 2911 and 6822 of the 2017 Acts of 

Assembly, the Board of Medicine (Board) proposes a 

permanent regulation for the prescription of opioids in the 

management of acute and chronic pain. This proposed 

regulation also sets rules for the use of buprenorphine in 

treating pain and, separately, as part of addiction treatment. 

Prior to this, the Board promulgated an emergency regulation 

that became effective on March 15, 2017, followed by an 

amended emergency regulation that became effective on 

August 24, 2017. The emergency regulation is currently set to 

expire on September 14, 2018. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient data to accurately 

compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Board reports that this 

regulation is being proposed to "address the opioid abuse 

crisis in Virginia." Prior to the legislation enacted by the 2017 

General Assembly, no regulations existed for opioid 

treatment of acute or chronic pain. In March 2017, Chapters 

291 and 682 of the Acts of the Assembly became law. Acute 

and chronic pain are defined in the proposed regulation as 

follows: 

• Acute pain, is "pain that occurs within the normal 

course of a disease or condition or as the result of surgery 

for which controlled substances may be prescribed for no 

more than three months." 

• Chronic pain, is "nonmalignant pain that goes beyond 

the normal course of a disease or condition for which 

controlled substances may be prescribed for a period of 

greater than three months." 

Each Chapter requires the Board of Medicine to promulgate 

regulations for prescription of opioids. For the treatment of 

acute pain, these Chapters require that the Board's regulation 

include: 
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(i) requirements for an appropriate patient history and 

evaluation, (ii) limitations on dosages or day supply of 

drugs prescribed, (iii) requirements for appropriate 

documentation in the patient's health record, and (iv) a 

requirement that the prescriber request and review 

information contained in the Prescription Monitoring 

Program in accordance with § 54.1-2522.1. 

For the treatment of chronic pain, the Chapters require the 

regulations to include the requirements listed above for acute 

pain treatment, as well as requirements for: 

(i) development of a treatment plan for the patient, (ii) an 

agreement for treatment signed by the provider and the 

patient that includes permission to obtain urine drug 

screens [UDS], and (iii) periodic review of the treatment 

provided at specific intervals to determine the continued 

appropriateness of such treatment. 

Chapters 291 and 682 also require that the Board's regulations 

include rules for: 

the use of buprenorphine in the treatment of addiction, 

including a requirement for referral to or consultation 

with a provider of substance abuse counseling in 

conjunction with treatment of opioid dependency with 

products containing buprenorphine. 

This proposed regulation will apply to all doctors and 

physician assistants. However, it will not apply to: (1) the 

treatment of acute and chronic pain related to cancer or to 

such pain treatment for patients in hospice care or palliative 

care, (2) the treatment of acute and chronic pain during a 

hospital admission, or in nursing homes or assisted living 

facilities that use a sole source pharmacy or (3) a patient 

enrolled in a clinical trial authorized by state or federal law. 

Requirements in the Proposed Regulation 

Requirements for Acute Pain Treatment. For the treatment of 

acute pain, the Board proposes to require that the doctor or 

physician assistant: (1) take a patient history, (2) perform a 

physical examination appropriate for the complaint, and (3) 

assess the patient's history and risk of substance misuse. The 

Board also proposes to limit opioid prescriptions for all non-

surgical acute care to a seven-day supply unless extenuating 

circumstances are clearly documented. For opioids prescribed 

as a part of a surgical procedure, the Board proposes to limit 

such prescriptions to a 14 day supply within the perioperative 

period3 unless extenuating circumstances are documented. 

The Board also proposes to set record-keeping requirements 

for acute pain to include a description of the pain, a 

presumptive diagnosis, a treatment plan, and information on 

medication prescribed or administered. 

Requirements for both Acute and Chronic Pain Treatment. In 

treating acute or chronic pain, the Board proposes four 

requirements. First, practitioners will be required to consider 

nonpharmacologic4and non-opioid treatments5 "prior to 

treatment with opioids." Second, practitioners will be 

required to query the state's Prescription Monitoring Program 

(PMP). For acute pain treatment, this will occur before 

prescribing an opioid; for chronic pain, this will occur prior to 

beginning treatment and at least every three months 

thereafter. Third, the Board proposes to require that, 

"practitioners shall carefully consider and document in the 

medical record the reasons to exceed 50 MME/day"6 if they 

prescribe opioids in excess of that daily dosage, and to require 

that, "prior to exceeding 120 MME/day, the practitioner shall 

document in the medical record the reasonable justification 

for such doses or refer to or consult with a pain management 

specialist." Fourth, practitioners will be required to prescribe 

naloxone7 "when risk factors of prior overdose, substance 

misuse, doses in excess of 120 MME/day, or concomitant 

benzodiazepine is present." Practitioners also will be required 

to limit co-prescribing of drugs that may increase the risk of 

accidental overdose when taken with opioids. 

Requirements Solely for the Treatment of Chronic Pain. For 

treatment of chronic pain, the Board proposes to specify 

medical record-keeping requirements. The Board also 

proposes to require signed patient agreements and urine or 

serum drug testing "at the initiation of chronic pain 

management and at least every three months for the first year 

of treatment and at least every six months thereafter." 

Practitioners also will be required to regularly evaluate 

patients for opioid use disorder and to initiate treatment for 

opioid use disorder or to refer the patient for evaluation and 

treatment if opioid use disorder is diagnosed. 

Requirements for Treatment with Buprenorphine. The Board 

proposes four requirements for the prescribing of 

buprenorphine. First, the Board proposes to specify that 

buprenorphine is not to be used to treat acute pain in an 

outpatient setting except when a prescriber obtains a 

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration 

waiver and is treating pain in a patient whose primary 

diagnosis is the disease of addiction. Second, the Board 

proposes to ban the use of buprenorphine mono-product8 in 

pill form for treating chronic pain. Third, the Board proposes 

to ban the use of the mono-product to treat addiction except: 

(1) for pregnant women, (2) when converting a patient from 

methadone or the mono-product to buprenorphine containing 

naloxone (limit of seven days), (3) in formulations other than 

tablet form for indications approved by the FDA, and (4) for 

up to three percent of any prescribers' addiction patients who 

have a demonstrated intolerance to naloxone. Fourth, the 

proposed regulation would also limit dosages of 

buprenorphine and the co-prescribing of certain other drugs 

with buprenorphine, as well as require PMP queries for 

addiction patients. 

Benefits and Costs of the Proposed Regulation. The 

requirements in the proposed regulation appear to confer a 

mix of benefits and costs, including those resulting from the 

mandatory use of drug testing, restrictions on the use of 
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buprenorphine, preferences for non-opioid treatments, and 

use of the PMP. Except for the estimated costs directly 

resulting from mandatory drug testing, there is insufficient 

quantitative data to accurately determine, and thus compare, 

the magnitude of direct benefits versus direct costs. In part 

this is because the scope and range of potential impacts (cost 

and benefit) cannot be readily identified. To the extent that 

the proposed regulation reduces the rate of prescription 

substance misuse, including drug addiction, savings or cost 

avoidance could be achieved from reduction in expenditures 

on the treatment of, and consequences from, substance 

misuse.9 However, to the extent that the regulations create a 

disincentive to obtaining, or limit access to, opioid therapy, 

any savings or cost avoidance may be offset by direct and 

indirect costs resulting from untreated pain10 or a shift to 

illicit drugs.11 

Direct Benefits and Costs of Drug Testing. Drug testing, 

typically through a urine drug screen (UDS) appears to confer 

direct benefits on all patients, although it is likely that a 

subset will receive higher benefits. As noted in the literature, 

Pain management is a critical element of patient care. Over 

the last 2 decades the emphasis on managing pain has led to a 

substantial increase in the prescription of opioids. While 

opioids can significantly improve the quality of life for the 

patients, there are many concerns.... Therefore, monitoring 

adherence for patients on (or considered candidates for) 

opioid treatment is a critical element of pain management…. 

Of the various tools, UDS is perhaps the most effective in 

detecting non-adherence, and is viewed as the de facto 

monitoring tool.12 

There are two main types of UDS: immunoassay testing 

("dipstick") and chromatography (i.e., gas 

chromatography/mass spectrometry [GC/MS] or high-

performance liquid chromatography). Both types of UDS can 

assist practitioners in creating initial treatment plans and also 

indicate when adjustments are required throughout the course 

of treatment. In addition, testing can be used to monitor drug 

elimination rates and ensure that a steady state of the 

prescribed drug has been achieved. Furthermore, non-

prescribed drugs can be identified and appropriate actions 

taken, including referral for substance use disorder. 

Monitoring urine toxicology also can help practitioners 

comply with federal Drug Enforcement Agency requirements, 

which require practitioners to minimize abuse and 

diversion.13 However, quantitative data on the value of these 

benefits does not appear to be readily available. Moreover, 

full realization of the benefits of UDS may require both types 

of test: an initial immunoassay test in a practitioner's office 

followed by a confirmatory GC/MS test in a laboratory. 

In order to quantify the costs of drug testing, the number of 

patients who will likely be affected by urine testing 

requirements must be estimated. The Board did not provide 

estimates of the number of patients affected, so estimates 

from relevant literature on the prevalence of chronic pain 

were considered. Estimates of the percentage of the 

population affected by acute pain do not appear to be readily 

available. 

Using information taken from the 2012 National Health 

Interview Survey (NHIS), National Institutes of Health staff 

estimated that 11.2 percent of the adult population 

experiences chronic pain—that is, they had pain every day for 

the preceding three months.14 In Virginia, using 2016 Census 

Bureau data on population by age, this equates to 732,669 

adults. On the high end, the Institutes of Medicine (IOM) 

report that common chronic pain conditions are prevalent 

among 37 percent of adults, "amounting to approximately 116 

million adults in 2010—a conservative estimate as neither 

acute pain nor children are included."15 This equates to 

approximately 2.4 million adult Virginians. 

Although these two estimates may indicate the extent of 

chronic pain among adults, they may not indicate the extent to 

which persons with chronic pain seek opioid therapy. A low-

end estimate is supported by at least one study (Boudreau, et 

al, 2009),16 that indicates that 3 to 4 percent of the adult 

population were prescribed longer-term opioid 

therapy.17 (Note: to the extent that opioid prescription rates 

have increased since this study was conducted, this estimate 

would be too low.) 

These three estimates will be used to estimate the potential 

number of adults in Virginia who could be affected by the 

proposed regulation (Table 1). Using these population 

estimates, and the Board's estimate that the average cost of an 

initial "dipstick" UDS is $50, direct costs of the new 

requirements for the initial UDS would likely be between $12 

million and $141 million for the initial screen, assuming all 

persons with chronic pain seek opioid therapy. Subsequently, 

the annual cost for four quarters of drug tests would be 

between $57 million and $605 million, assuming all persons 

with chronic pain seek and continue to receive opioid therapy 

for a full year. To the extent these assumptions are not borne 

out, the cost would decrease. After the first year, these costs 

would decrease as patients shift from quarterly to biannual 

testing. 

Table 1 

Potential 

Ranges of 

Persons with 

Chronic 

Pain 

Estimated 

Number of 

Adult 

Virginians 

with 

Chronic 

Pain 

Cost of 

Initial 

Test * 

Additional 

Cost of All 

First Year  

Quarterly 

Tests * 

Boudreau et 

al (3.5%) 

228,959 $12 

million 

$57 million 
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NHIS 

estimate 

(11.2%) 

732,669 $37 

million 

$183 

million 

IOM 

estimate 

(37%) 

2,420,423 $121 

million 

$605 

million 

* Assumes 100 percent of all persons with chronic pain 

within each of the three estimates are treated with opioids. 

These estimated costs may potentially increase to the extent 

that testing is repeated because practitioners account for the 

possibility of unexpected drug screen results, such as false 

positive and false negative results in the immunoassay or 

"dipstick" test typically used in a practitioner's office.18 A 

false positive result occurs when the test result is "positive" 

but the indicated substance is not actually present. A false 

negative occurs when the test fails to indicate the presence of 

substances that are actually present. These and other 

unexpected results that could prompt re-testing could occur 

for a variety of reasons, including failure to take the 

prescribed medication, testing error, metabolic differences, 

and drug interactions. Brahm et al. notes that false positive 

opiate results have been reported for certain antibiotics 

(quinolones and ofloxacin).19 Although re-testing is 

recommended, it may have unintended consequences: 

the use of medications with the potential for false-

positive UDS results may present a significant liability 

for individuals required to undergo random or periodic 

UDSs as a component of a recovery or court-ordered 

monitoring program or as a condition of employment. In 

addition, false-positive UDS results may affect the 

clinician–patient relationship by raising issues of trust.20 

As noted in the literature, "the interpretation of opioid testing 

results is far less straightforward than many health care 

providers who utilize this testing appreciate."21 There are two 

main types of urine drug screening: immunoassay testing and 

chromatography (i.e., gas chromatography/mass spectrometry 

[GC/MS] or high-performance liquid chromatography). 

Immunoassay tests use antibodies to detect the presence of 

drugs. These tests can be processed rapidly, are inexpensive, 

and are the preferred initial test for screening.22 When urine 

tests have unexpected results, the 2016 CDC Guideline for 

Prescribing Opioids for Chronic Pain recommends23 that a, 

"confirmatory test using a method selective enough to 

differentiate specific opioids and metabolites (e.g., gas or 

liquid chromatography/mass spectrometry) might be 

warranted."24 Although these tests can cost several hundred 

dollars or more, they are the forensic criterion standard means 

of confirming initial screening tests because they have a low 

incidence of false positive results and are very sensitive and 

specific.25 Board staff referred to the CDC Guideline, and 

also stated that the treatment agreement signed by the patient 

would indicate the actions to be taken if unexpected results 

cannot be explained. 

Indirect Benefits and Costs of Drug Testing. The use of drug 

screens appears to have a mix of benefits and costs. As noted 

by the CDC Guideline, practitioners should use unexpected 

results to improve patient safety. This could include several 

strategies that, if properly designed and applied, would appear 

to confer this benefit. Examples of responses to an 

unexpected drug screen result include a change in pain 

management strategy, tapering or discontinuing opioids, more 

frequent re-evaluation, offering naloxone, or referring for 

treatment for substance use disorder. The CDC notes that 

practitioners: 

should not dismiss patients from care based on a urine 

drug test result because this could constitute patient 

abandonment and could have adverse consequences for 

patient safety, potentially including the patient obtaining 

opioids from alternative sources and the clinician missing 

opportunities to facilitate treatment for substance use 

disorder. 

Board staff appear to agree with this guidance, adding that a 

patient could also be released from care if they do not comply 

with the treatment plan.26 The Board has also stated that 

patients should not be abandoned. As noted in a letter from 

the Board to practitioners: 

As you consider these regulations, make sure that the 

needs of patients currently receiving opioids for chronic 

pain are taken into account. It is critically important that 

no patients in Virginia find themselves looking for 

narcotics outside of the medical system – i.e., on the 

street.27 

However, as documented in some of the available literature, 

the use of drug screens may create a disincentive for certain 

patients to continue seeking treatment and thus may stop 

pursuing opioid therapy.28 Moreover, Board staff also 

acknowledge that the drug testing and other requirements in 

the proposed regulation will create disincentives for primary 

care physicians to treat pain using opioid therapy. And given 

that the Board has stated that the regulation is, in part, 

designed to "provide the board with a tool to discipline 

physicians whose practices do not meet the standard of 

care,"29 the regulation may cause some primary care 

physicians to no longer treat chronic pain patients with 

opioids. 

In addition, examples of some recent literature notes that, 

"individuals who lost access [to prescription opioids] have 

turned to cheaper, more accessible, and more potent black 

market opioid alternatives—including heroin—in 

unprecedented numbers."30 Thus an additional unintended 

consequence of the regulations may be a shift in demand from 

legal prescriptions to illegal street drugs, including heroin and 

fentanyl (in combination or separately). As noted in a recent 
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issue of the International Journal of Drug Policy, "prescribing 

restrictions forced a minority of dependent users to more 

potent and available street heroin."31 The federal Drug 

Enforcement Administration notes that "fentanyl can serve as 

substitute for heroin in opioid dependent individuals."32 

As noted by the Board, "the purpose of the regulations" is in 

part "to assist physicians in treating opioid dependent 

patients."33 However, to the extent that some patients, 

particularly those with substance use disorder, no longer 

obtain treatment, they may seek illicit substances. It is not 

clear if this is occurring in Virginia, but data released by the 

Office of the Chief Medical Examiner (OCME) indicate that 

"there has not been a significant increase or decrease in fatal 

prescription opioid overdoses" from 2007 to 2016, but "fatal 

fentanyl overdoses increased by 176.4% from 2015 to 

2016."34(This trend is illustrated in the figure below.) 

Although it does not appear that the OCME can determine 

whether the fentanyl was illicit or pharmaceutically-produced, 

staff at the Department of Forensic Science (DFS) report that 

over the last 12 years submissions of prescription fentanyl 

have averaged between 25 and 27 samples per year. In 

contrast, data reported by DFS indicate that the number of 

submissions of illicit fentanyl increased by 1,656 percent 

from 2013 to 2016.35 

 
Indirect Benefits and Costs of Restrictions on Use of 

Buprenorphine. The Board's proposed restrictions on the use 

of buprenorphine are aimed at decreasing the abuse of the 

mono-product of this drug ("Subutex") because it has become 

a popular drug of abuse. To the extent the proposed regulation 

decreases abuse, then a benefit will be conferred. However, 

any decrease in the abuse of this drug attributable to these 

proposed restrictions would need to be weighed against the 

costs that may accrue for chronic pain patients and 

individuals in addiction treatment. 

Board staff reports that the cost of Suboxone (which contains 

buprenorphine plus naloxone) is higher than the cost of 

Subutex. To the extent, therefore, that certain patients are no 

longer able to obtain prescriptions for Subutex, then they will 

likely incur increased costs. As noted by Board staff, demand 

for opiates is highest in the places where health insurance 

coverage is lowest. Therefore, these cost increases may 

disproportionally fall upon patients who pay for prescriptions 

(and drug screens) out of pocket. Additionally, it is reported 

that some portion of the general population has an allergy or 

sensitivity to naloxone and would not be able to take 

Suboxone. 

In response to concerns raised about restrictions on 

prescription of the mono-product that did not account for 

individuals who had an allergy or sensitivity, as well as the 

ability to pay, the Board voted to allow treatment with the 

mono-product for up to three percent of any prescribers' 

addiction patients who have a demonstrated intolerance to 

naloxone. This allowance was made for individuals in 

addiction treatment but not for chronic pain patients (who 

presumably would have the same incidence of Naloxone 

allergies). The Board believes that this three percent 

allowance will be sufficient to cover the portion of addiction 

patients who have a true allergy/insensitivity. These 

individuals are not likely, however, to be evenly spread 

among all doctors. This means that some doctors may have 

more than three percent of their patients for whom the mono-

product would be the preferred treatment and some may have 

less. Because of this, some patients and practitioners may see 

disruptions in treatment. 

Indirect Benefits and Costs of Preferences for Alternative 

Treatments. The proposed regulation's requirements that 

alternative treatments (both nonpharmacologic and non-

opioid) be given consideration prior to prescription of opioids 

for both acute pain and chronic pain is being proposed to 

reduce the number of such prescriptions. Board staff state that 

nonpharmacologic treatments may include physical therapy, 

chiropractic, and acupuncture. 

In addition, non-opioid treatments can include treatment with 

acetaminophen and nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs 

(NSAIDs) as well as selected antidepressants and 

anticonvulsants. Although these drugs do not have the 

addiction risks of opioids, they may pose other health risks 

for certain patients. As noted by the CDC Guideline, although 

NSAIDs are recommended as first-line treatment for 

osteoarthritis or low back pain they do have risks, including 

gastrointestinal bleeding or perforation as well as renal and 

cardiovascular risks. Increasing use of non-opioid treatments 

like NSAIDs will therefore need to balance the benefits of 

non-opioid therapy with these and other risks. 

Indirect Benefits and Costs of Prescription Monitoring 

Program (PMP) Queries. Virginia statute presently requires 

PMP checks for any prescriptions anticipated to be used for 

more than seven consecutive days. The proposed regulation 

adds to the statutory requirements, and proposes to require 

that PMP queries be run for all individuals who are prescribed 

opioids. Board staff reports that some hospitals already 
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require PMP queries for prescriptions issued in the 

emergency rooms (ER). Other hospitals that do not currently 

have this policy will likely accrue staff time costs. To the 

extent that use of the PMP lowers the volume of drugs 

diverted from licit to illicit uses, the new requirement will 

provide the benefit of reductions in the costs of illicit drug 

use in the state. 

Indirect Benefits and Costs of Record-Keeping Requirements. 

The Board's proposed record-keeping requirements for acute 

pain are likely already common medical practice; thus 

licensees are unlikely to incur any costs from that portion of 

the proposed regulation that covers the treatment of acute 

pain. Likewise, most of the proposed requirements for taking 

a patient history and assessing a patient's complaint are likely 

common practice now and should not cause any additional 

costs. The proposed requirement that doctors in an acute care 

setting perform a risk assessment for substance misuse36on all 

patients who may be prescribed opioids may not presently be 

a part of standard patient care. To the extent that doctors 

treating acute pain do not currently assess risk of substance 

misuse, costs would be incurred for their time to perform 

such assessments. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulatory 

changes will affect all doctors of medicine, osteopathic 

medicine, and podiatry as well as physician assistants. These 

proposed regulations also will affect all patients (both acute 

care and chronic care) who have been treated with opioids 

since the emergency regulation went into effect, and all 

patients who may be treated with opioids in the future. 

Additionally, individuals in treatment for addiction who are 

prescribed buprenorphine will be affected. Health insurance 

providers also will be affected. Board staff reports that the 

Board currently licenses 38,646 doctors of medicine, 3,117 

doctors of osteopathic medicine, 616 doctors of podiatry, and 

3,647 physician assistants. The Board has no estimates of the 

number of chronic pain patients that might be affected by this 

proposed regulation. Based on estimates of the number of the 

American adults who suffer from common chronic pain 

conditions, it is likely that this proposed regulation will affect 

at least hundreds of thousands of chronic care patients in 

Virginia and may affect as many as several million. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality likely will be 

affected by these proposed regulatory changes. 

Projected Impact on Employment. There is no apparent 

impact on employment. To the extent that the regulation 

reduces rates of addiction, productivity would increase. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. There is no 

apparent impact on the use and value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: 

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Based on Virginia Employment 

Commission data, there are 4,757 offices of physicians with 

fewer than 500 employees in the Commonwealth, thus likely 

qualifying as small businesses. These firms likely will incur 

increased costs associated with bookkeeping, staff wages, 

increased documentation requirements, and new drug testing 

requirements for chronic pain patients in the proposed 

regulation. Alternatively, adherence to the practices required 

by the regulation may have an unknown impact on liability 

insurance and associated costs that may result in savings.  

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no apparent alternative method that would minimize impact 

and achieve the purpose of the regulation. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. Doctors who practice independently may incur 

changes to current business practices related to increased 

bookkeeping, staff impacts associated with increased 

documentation requirements, and implementation of new 

drug testing requirements for chronic pain patients in the 

proposed regulation. 

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 

see any adverse impacts from these proposed regulatory 

changes. 

Other Entities. Chronic pain patients, or their insurance 

providers, may incur large annual costs on account of drug 

testing requirements and on account of restrictions on the 

prescription of buprenorphine mono-product that are in the 

proposed regulation. The Commonwealth of Virginia may 

incur increased costs on account of these proposed regulatory 

changes, including employee health benefits. The Department 

of Corrections may incur increased costs for drug testing and 

limitations on prescribing of Buprenorphine for prisoners 

housed in prisons statewide, and the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services may incur increased costs for Medicaid 

patients who are in treatment for chronic pain or who are 

undergoing addiction treatment with Buprenorphine. 
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when compared to patients who did not undergo urine drug screens at a first 

doctor visit (10.24%). Krishnamurthy et al., "Impact of Urine Drug Screening 

on No Shows and Dropouts among Chronic Pain Patients: A Propensity-
Matched Cohort Study." Pain Physician. 2016 Feb; 19(2):89-100. 

29http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:\TownHall\docroot\\mee

ting\26\25243\Minutes_DHP_25243_v2.pdf.  

30Beletsky, Leo, and Corey Davis; Today's fentanyl crisis: Prohibition's Iron 

Law, revisited, International Journal of Drug Policy 46 (2017) 156–159. 

31Rhodes, Tim; Fentanyl in the US heroin supply: A rapidly changing risk 
environment, International Journal of Drug Policy 46 (2017) 107–111. 

32https://departments.arlingtonva.us/wp-

content/uploads/sites/6/2017/06/heroin_fentanyl_brochure.pdf. 

33http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:\TownHall\docroot\\mee

ting\26\25243\Minutes_DHP_25243_v2.pdf. 

34http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/18/2016/04/Fatal-Drug-
Overdoses-Quarterly-Report-Q1-2017_Updated.pdf. 

35http://www.dfs.virginia.gov/wp-

content/uploads/2017/07/CY16DfsDataReport_Final.pdf Slide 27. 

36The term "substance misuse" is not defined in the proposed regulation. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: 

The Board of Medicine and the Department of Health 

Professions do not concur with the result of the economic 

impact analysis (EIA) that "there is insufficient data to 

accurately compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the 

costs." The focus of the analysis was on the cost of one 

requirement of regulation, urine drug screens. We believe the 

analysis failed to fully analyze the personal and societal costs 

of opioid addiction. It is the position of the agency that 

reducing the quantity of opioids in our homes and 

communities has already been shown to have a cost-benefit 

and will ultimately have a direct benefit in a reduction in 

opioid misuse and opioid overdose deaths. 

1. The agency believes the analysis does not include 

sufficient data about the current crisis in opioid overdose 

deaths. 

In 2015, there were 811 opioid deaths and in 2016, there were 

1,133 – a 40% increase. In a preliminary report from the 

Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS), the number 

for 2017 is expected to be 1,181. The result of the 2017 

National Drug Threat Assessment notes that controlled 

prescription drugs have been linked to the largest number of 

overdose deaths of any illicit drug class since 2001. For each 

of these deaths, there are immeasurable costs. For the purpose 

of an economic analysis, medical malpractice carriers and 

civil litigants can attribute costs in dollars and cents for each 

year of life lost. 

Yearly direct and indirect costs related to prescription opioids 

have been estimated (based on studies published since 2010) 

to be $53.4 billion for nonmedical use of prescription opioids; 

$55.7 billion for abuse, dependence (i.e., opioid use disorder), 

and misuse of prescription opioids; and $20.4 billion for 

direct and indirect costs related to opioid-related overdose 

alone. While we acknowledge that these are national figures, 

the EIA has used national data to extrapolate the costs of 

urine drug screens for Virginians. Copious amounts of data 

exist in national and state reports on the opioid crisis for 

which these regulations offer a partial solution. 

2. The agency believes the analysis does not make the 

connection between the opioid crisis of fentanyl and heroin to 

the prescribing of opioid pain medication. 

One of the primary purposes of these regulations is to reduce 

the number of persons who enter the pipeline of addiction 

through a legitimately prescribed opioid. The National 

Institute on Drug Abuse reports that a study of young, urban 

injection drug users interviewed in 2008 and 2009 found that 

86% had used opioid pain relievers nonmedically prior to 

using heroin, and their initiation into nonmedical use was 

characterized by three main sources of opioids: family, 

friends, or personal prescriptions Examining national-level 

general population heroin data (including those in and not in 

treatment), nearly 80% of heroin users reported using 

prescription opioids prior to heroin. 

The report from DCJS noted that "data from Department of 

Forensic Sciences (DFS) and Office of the Chief Medical 

Examiner (OCME) demonstrate that there are still a large 

number of individuals using prescription opioids non-

medically. These individuals are at risk of overdose death 

through the prescription drugs they are currently using, but 

they are also at a higher risk of using heroin in the future. 

Although only a small percentage of individuals who abuse 

prescription opioids move on to heroin, a high percentage of 

heroin users report that their first opioid was a prescription 

drug 

(https://www.drugabuse.gov/publications/researchreports/rela

tionship-between-prescription-drug-abuse-heroin-use/). 

Additionally, non-medical users of prescription opioids may 

seek to acquire those drugs illegally, putting themselves at 

risk of purchasing and using counterfeit pills made with 

fentanyl and fentanyl analogs." 

Data from OCME indicates that between 2013 and 2016, the 

number of prescription opioid fatalities involving fentanyl 

and/or heroin increased 69%. In 2016, 37% of prescription 

opioid fatalities also involved fentanyl and/or heroin. 

Although illicit fentanyl cases increased 207% between 2015 

and 2016, there were almost four times as many heroin cases 

and four times as many prescription opioid cases that year. 

Data from the Virginia Prescription Monitoring Program 

shows that since the adoption of emergency regulation there 

has been a drop in morphine milligram equivalents (MME). 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/newsletters/OpioidPrescribingBuprenorphine03142017.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/newsletters/OpioidPrescribingBuprenorphine03142017.pdf
https://departments.arlingtonva.us/wp-content/uploads/sites/6/2017/06/heroin_fentanyl_brochure.pdf
https://departments.arlingtonva.us/wp-content/uploads/sites/6/2017/06/heroin_fentanyl_brochure.pdf
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot//meeting/26/25243/Minutes_DHP_25243_v2.pdf
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot//meeting/26/25243/Minutes_DHP_25243_v2.pdf
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/18/2016/04/Fatal-Drug-Overdoses-Quarterly-Report-Q1-2017_Updated.pdf
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/18/2016/04/Fatal-Drug-Overdoses-Quarterly-Report-Q1-2017_Updated.pdf
http://www.dfs.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/07/CY16DfsDataReport_Final.pdf
http://www.dfs.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/07/CY16DfsDataReport_Final.pdf
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MME per day is the amount of morphine an opioid dose is 

equal to, often used to gauge the abuse and overdose potential 

of the amount of opioid being prescribed at a particular time. 

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention indicate that 

individuals taking greater than 90 MME/day are at a higher 

risk of overdose and death. The total number of patients 

prescribed high dosages declined from 169,145 individuals in 

the fourth quarter of 2016 to 137,618 individuals in the third 

quarter of 2017, or an 18.6% decline in individuals receiving 

greater than 100 MME/day. The data is an indicator of the 

effectiveness of the emergency regulation being replaced with 

the proposed regulations for which the EIA was prepared. 

Numerous reports in the press have made the connection 

between the overdose death of a person who was prescribed 

on opioid following an accident or medical procedure. The 

intent of this regulation is to require prescribers to prescribe 

fewer quantities for shorter periods of time and to consider 

nonpharmacological alternatives or non-opioid medications 

that have the effect of addressing a patient's pain without the 

potential for addiction and long-term, costly consequences. 

3. The agency believes the analysis has not included 

sufficient data on cost savings relating to a reduction on 

opioid prescribing. 

For example, this agency provided information from the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, which 

experienced a 44% decrease in opioid days-supply and 27% 

decrease in opioid prescription spending when that agency 

implemented the CDC guidelines on which these regulations 

were based, for an annual reduction in drug spending on 

opioids of approximately $466,000. It is that agency's belief 

that costs related to an increase in urine drug screens (which 

have been routinely required by pain management physicians 

prior to adoption of these regulations) would be more than 

offset by the decrease in spending on opioid prescriptions, so 

it would be budget neutral or result in a net cost savings. 

Data from the Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP) show 

that from the fourth quarter of 2016 to the third quarter of 

2017 pain reliever doses declined from 129,797,789 to 

77,729,833, which represents a 40.15% decline. It is apparent 

that the emergency regulations are having a positive effect on 

the costs of prescription opioids – a cost benefit to consumers 

and insurers that could be reflected in the EIA. 

4. There is an incorrect statement in the analysis about one 

regulatory requirement. 

On pages 3 and 12 of the EIA, the analysis notes that the 

regulation requires prescribers to query the PMP for all 

individuals before prescribing an opioid. In fact, the 

regulation states that "the prescriber shall perform a history 

and physical examination appropriate to the complaint, query 

the Prescription Monitoring Program as set forth in § 54.1-

2522.1 of the Code of Virginia…" Section 54.1-2522.1 

requires a prescriber to query "at the time of initiating a new 

course of treatment to a human patient that includes the 

prescribing of opioids anticipated at the onset of treatment to 

last more than seven consecutive days." While the agency 

may believe a prescriber should query before prescribing on 

opioid for any period of time, that is not what the law and 

regulation require. It is required only if a prescription is being 

written "to last more than seven consecutive days." 

Summary: 

The proposed regulatory action adopts requirements for 

the prescribing of opioids and products containing 

buprenorphine as required by Chapters 291 and 682 of the 

2017 Acts of Assembly. The regulations establish the 

practitioners to whom the regulations apply and the 

exceptions to or nonapplicability of the regulations. 

Regulations for the management of acute pain include 

requirements for the evaluation of the patient, limitations 

on quantity and dosage, and medical recordkeeping. 

Regulations for the management of chronic pain include 

requirements for evaluation and treatment, including a 

treatment plan; informed consent and agreement; 

consultation with other providers; and medical 

recordkeeping. Regulations for the prescribing of 

buprenorphine include requirements for patient assessment 

and treatment planning, limitations on prescribing the 

buprenorphine mono-product (without naloxone), dosages, 

co-prescribing of other drugs, consultation, and medical 

records for opioid addiction treatment. The regulation 

replaces emergency regulations currently in effect. 

CHAPTER 21 

REGULATIONS GOVERNING PRESCRIBING OF 

OPIOIDS AND BUPRENORPHINE 

Part I 

General Provisions 

18VAC85-21-10. Applicability. 

A. This chapter shall apply to doctors of medicine, 

osteopathic medicine, and podiatry and to physician 

assistants. 

B. This chapter shall not apply to: 

1. The treatment of acute or chronic pain related to (i) 

cancer, (ii) a patient in hospice care, or (iii) a patient in 

palliative care; 

2. The treatment of acute or chronic pain during an 

inpatient hospital admission or in a nursing home or an 

assisted living facility that uses a sole source pharmacy; or 

3. A patient enrolled in a clinical trial as authorized by 

state or federal law. 
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18VAC85-21-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Acute pain" means pain that occurs within the normal 

course of a disease or condition or as the result of surgery for 

which controlled substances may be prescribed for no more 

than three months. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Medicine. 

"Chronic pain" means nonmalignant pain that goes beyond 

the normal course of a disease or condition for which 

controlled substances may be prescribed for a period greater 

than three months. 

"Controlled substance" means drugs listed in The Drug 

Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) in 

Schedules II through IV. 

"FDA" means the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. 

"MME" means morphine milligram equivalent. 

"Prescription Monitoring Program" means the electronic 

system within the Department of Health Professions that 

monitors the dispensing of certain controlled substances. 

"SAMHSA" means the federal Substance Abuse and Mental 

Health Services Administration. 

Part II 

Management of Acute Pain 

18VAC85-21-30. Evaluation of the acute pain patient. 

A. Nonpharmacologic and non-opioid treatment for pain 

shall be given consideration prior to treatment with opioids. If 

an opioid is considered necessary for the treatment of acute 

pain, the practitioner shall give a short-acting opioid in the 

lowest effective dose for the fewest possible days. 

B. Prior to initiating treatment with a controlled substance 

containing an opioid for a complaint of acute pain, the 

prescriber shall perform a history and physical examination 

appropriate to the complaint, query the Prescription 

Monitoring Program as set forth in § 54.1-2522.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, and conduct an assessment of the patient's history 

and risk of substance misuse. 

18VAC85-21-40. Treatment of acute pain with opioids. 

A. Initiation of opioid treatment for patients with acute pain 

shall be with short-acting opioids. 

1. A prescriber providing treatment for acute pain shall not 

prescribe a controlled substance containing an opioid in a 

quantity that exceeds a seven-day supply as determined by 

the manufacturer's directions for use, unless extenuating 

circumstances are clearly documented in the medical 

record. This shall also apply to prescriptions of a controlled 

substance containing an opioid upon discharge from an 

emergency department. 

2. An opioid prescribed as part of treatment for a surgical 

procedure shall be for no more than 14 consecutive days in 

accordance with manufacturer's direction and within the 

immediate perioperative period, unless extenuating 

circumstances are clearly documented in the medical 

record. 

B. Initiation of opioid treatment for all patients shall include 

the following: 

1. The practitioner shall carefully consider and document 

in the medical record the reasons to exceed 50 MME/day. 

2. Prior to exceeding 120 MME/day, the practitioner shall 

document in the medical record the reasonable justification 

for such doses or refer to or consult with a pain 

management specialist. 

3. Naloxone shall be prescribed for any patient when risk 

factors of prior overdose, substance misuse, doses in 

excess of 120 MME/day, or concomitant benzodiazepine 

are present. 

C. Due to a higher risk of fatal overdose when opioids are 

prescribed with benzodiazepines, sedative hypnotics, 

carisoprodol, and tramadol, the prescriber shall only co-

prescribe these substances when there are extenuating 

circumstances and shall document in the medical record a 

tapering plan to achieve the lowest possible effective doses if 

these medications are prescribed. 

D. Buprenorphine is not indicated for acute pain in the 

outpatient setting, except when a prescriber who has obtained 

a SAMHSA waiver is treating pain in a patient whose 

primary diagnosis is the disease of addiction. 

18VAC85-21-50. Medical records for acute pain. 

The medical record shall include a description of the pain, a 

presumptive diagnosis for the origin of the pain, an 

examination appropriate to the complaint, a treatment plan, 

and the medication prescribed or administered to include the 

date, type, dosage, and quantity prescribed or administered. 

Part III 

Management of Chronic Pain 

18VAC85-21-60. Evaluation of the chronic pain patient. 

A. Prior to initiating management of chronic pain with a 

controlled substance containing an opioid, a medical history 

and physical examination, to include a mental status 

examination, shall be performed and documented in the 

medical record, including: 

1. The nature and intensity of the pain; 

2. Current and past treatments for pain; 

3. Underlying or coexisting diseases or conditions; 
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4. The effect of the pain on physical and psychological 

function, quality of life, and activities of daily living; 

5. Psychiatric, addiction, and substance misuse history of 

the patient and any family history of addiction or substance 

misuse; 

6. A urine drug screen or serum medication level; 

7. A query of the Prescription Monitoring Program as set 

forth in § 54.1-2522.1 of the Code of Virginia; 

8. An assessment of the patient's history and risk of 

substance misuse; and 

9. A request for prior applicable records. 

B. Prior to initiating opioid treatment for chronic pain, the 

practitioner shall discuss with the patient the known risks and 

benefits of opioid therapy and the responsibilities of the 

patient during treatment to include securely storing the drug 

and properly disposing of any unwanted or unused drugs. The 

practitioner shall also discuss with the patient an exit strategy 

for the discontinuation of opioids in the event they are not 

effective. 

18VAC85-21-70. Treatment of chronic pain with opioids. 

A. Nonpharmacologic and non-opioid treatment for pain 

shall be given consideration prior to treatment with opioids. 

B. In initiating and treating with an opioid, the practitioner 

shall: 

1. Carefully consider and document in the medical 

record the reasons to exceed 50 MME/day; 

2. Prior to exceeding 120 MME/day, the practitioner shall 

document in the medical record the reasonable justification 

for such doses or refer to or consult with a pain 

management specialist; 

3. Prescribe naloxone for any patient when risk factors of 

prior overdose, substance misuse, doses in excess of 120 

MME/day, or concomitant benzodiazepine are present; and 

4. Document the rationale to continue opioid therapy every 

three months. 

C. Buprenorphine mono-product in tablet form shall not be 

prescribed for chronic pain. 

D. Due to a higher risk of fatal overdose when opioids, 

including buprenorphine, are given with other opioids, 

benzodiazepines, sedative hypnotics, carisoprodol, and 

tramadol, the prescriber shall only co-prescribe these 

substances when there are extenuating circumstances and 

shall document in the medical record a tapering plan to 

achieve the lowest possible effective doses of these 

medications if prescribed. 

E. The practitioner (i) shall regularly evaluate the patient for 

opioid use disorder and (ii) shall initiate specific treatment for 

opioid use disorder, consult with an appropriate health care 

provider, or refer the patient for evaluation and treatment if 

indicated. 

18VAC85-21-80. Treatment plan for chronic pain. 

A. The medical record shall include a treatment plan that 

states measures to be used to determine progress in treatment, 

including pain relief and improved physical and psychosocial 

function, quality of life, and daily activities. 

B. The treatment plan shall include further diagnostic 

evaluations and other treatment modalities or rehabilitation 

that may be necessary depending on the etiology of the pain 

and the extent to which the pain is associated with physical 

and psychosocial impairment. 

C. The prescriber shall document in the medical record the 

presence or absence of any indicators for medication misuse 

or diversion and shall take appropriate action. 

18VAC85-21-90. Informed consent and agreement for 

treatment for chronic pain. 

A. The practitioner shall document in the medical record 

informed consent, to include risks, benefits, and alternative 

approaches, prior to the initiation of opioids for chronic pain. 

B. There shall be a written treatment agreement signed by 

the patient in the medical record that addresses the parameters 

of treatment, including those behaviors that will result in 

referral to a higher level of care, cessation of treatment, or 

dismissal from care. 

C. The treatment agreement shall include notice that the 

practitioner will query and receive reports from the 

Prescription Monitoring Program and permission for the 

practitioner to: 

1. Obtain urine drug screens or serum medication levels 

when requested; and 

2. Consult with other prescribers or dispensing pharmacists 

for the patient. 

D. Expected outcomes shall be documented in the medical 

record including improvement in pain relief and function or 

simply in pain relief. Limitations and side effects of chronic 

opioid therapy shall be documented in the medical record. 

18VAC85-21-100. Opioid therapy for chronic pain. 

A. The practitioner shall review the course of pain treatment 

and any new information about the etiology of the pain and 

the patient's state of health at least every three months. 

B. Continuation of treatment with opioids shall be supported 

by documentation of continued benefit from such prescribing. 

If the patient's progress is unsatisfactory, the practitioner shall 

assess the appropriateness of continued use of the current 

treatment plan and consider the use of other therapeutic 

modalities. 
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C. The practitioner shall check the Prescription Monitoring 

Program at least every three months after the initiation of 

treatment. 

D. The practitioner shall order and review a urine drug 

screen or serum medication levels at the initiation of chronic 

pain management and at least every three months for the first 

year of treatment and at least every six months thereafter. 

E. The practitioner (i) shall regularly evaluate the patient for 

opioid use disorder and (ii) shall initiate specific treatment for 

opioid use disorder, consult with an appropriate health care 

provider, or refer the patient for evaluation for treatment if 

indicated. 

18VAC85-21-110. Additional consultations. 

A. When necessary to achieve treatment goals, the 

prescriber shall refer the patient for additional evaluation and 

treatment. 

B. When a prescriber makes the diagnosis of opioid use 

disorder, treatment for opioid use disorder shall be initiated or 

the patient shall be referred for evaluation and treatment. 

18VAC85-21-120. Medical records for chronic pain. 

The prescriber shall keep current, accurate, and complete 

records in an accessible manner readily available for review 

to include: 

1. The medical history and physical examination; 

2. Past medical history; 

3. Applicable records from prior treatment providers or any 

documentation of attempts to obtain those records; 

4. Diagnostic, therapeutic, and laboratory results; 

5. Evaluations and consultations; 

6. Treatment goals; 

7. Discussion of risks and benefits; 

8. Informed consent and agreement for treatment; 

9. Treatments; 

10. Medications (including date, type, dosage, and quantity 

prescribed and refills); 

11. Patient instructions; and 

12. Periodic reviews. 

Part IV 

Prescribing of Buprenorphine for Addiction Treatment 

18VAC85-21-130. General provisions pertaining to 

prescribing of buprenorphine for addiction treatment. 

A. Practitioners engaged in office-based opioid addiction 

treatment with buprenorphine shall have obtained a 

SAMHSA waiver and the appropriate U.S. Drug Enforcement 

Administration registration. 

B. Practitioners shall abide by all federal and state laws and 

regulations governing the prescribing of buprenorphine for 

the treatment of opioid use disorder. 

C. Physician assistants and nurse practitioners who have 

obtained a SAMHSA waiver shall only prescribe 

buprenorphine for opioid addiction pursuant to a practice 

agreement with a waivered doctor of medicine or doctor of 

osteopathic medicine. 

D. Practitioners engaged in medication-assisted treatment 

shall either provide counseling in their practice or refer the 

patient to a mental health service provider, as defined in 

§ 54.1-2400.1 of the Code of Virginia, who has the education 

and experience to provide substance misuse counseling. The 

practitioner shall document provision of counseling or referral 

in the medical record. 

18VAC85-21-140. Patient assessment and treatment 

planning for addiction treatment. 

A. A practitioner shall perform and document an assessment 

that includes a comprehensive medical and psychiatric 

history, substance misuse history, family history and 

psychosocial supports, appropriate physical examination, 

urine drug screen, pregnancy test for women of childbearing 

age and ability, a check of the Prescription Monitoring 

Program, and, when clinically indicated, infectious disease 

testing for human immunodeficiency virus, hepatitis B, 

hepatitis C, and tuberculosis. 

B. The treatment plan shall include the practitioner's 

rationale for selecting medication-assisted treatment, patient 

education, written informed consent, how counseling will be 

accomplished, and a signed treatment agreement that outlines 

the responsibilities of the patient and the prescriber. 

18VAC85-21-150. Treatment with buprenorphine for 

addiction. 

A. Buprenorphine without naloxone (buprenorphine mono-

product) shall not be prescribed except: 

1. When a patient is pregnant; 

2. When converting a patient from methadone or 

buprenorphine mono-product to buprenorphine containing 

naloxone for a period not to exceed seven days; 

3. In formulations other than tablet form for indications 

approved by the FDA; or 

4. For patients who have a demonstrated intolerance to 

naloxone; such prescriptions for the mono-product shall 

not exceed 3.0% of the total prescriptions for 

buprenorphine written by the prescriber, and the exception 

shall be clearly documented in the patient's medical record. 
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B. Buprenorphine mono-product tablets may be 

administered directly to patients in federally licensed opioid 

treatment programs. With the exception of those conditions 

listed in subsection A of this section, only the buprenorphine 

product containing naloxone shall be prescribed or dispensed 

for use off site from the program. 

C. The evidence for the decision to use buprenorphine 

mono-product shall be fully documented in the medical 

record. 

D. Due to a higher risk of fatal overdose when 

buprenorphine is prescribed with other opioids, 

benzodiazepines, sedative hypnotics, carisoprodol, and 

tramadol, the prescriber shall only co-prescribe these 

substances when there are extenuating circumstances and 

shall document in the medical record a tapering plan to 

achieve the lowest possible effective doses if these 

medications are prescribed. 

E. Prior to starting medication-assisted treatment, the 

practitioner shall perform a check of the Prescription 

Monitoring Program. 

F. During the induction phase, except for medically 

indicated circumstances as documented in the medical record, 

patients should be started on no more than eight milligrams of 

buprenorphine per day. The patient shall be seen by the 

prescriber at least once a week. 

G. During the stabilization phase, the prescriber shall 

increase the daily dosage of buprenorphine in safe and 

effective increments to achieve the lowest dose that avoids 

intoxication, withdrawal, or significant drug craving. 

H. Practitioners shall take steps to reduce the chances of 

buprenorphine diversion by using the lowest effective dose, 

appropriate frequency of office visits, pill counts, and checks 

of the Prescription Monitoring Program. The practitioner 

shall also require urine drug screens or serum medication 

levels at least every three months for the first year of 

treatment and at least every six months thereafter. 

I. Documentation of the rationale for prescribed doses 

exceeding 16 milligrams of buprenorphine per day shall be 

placed in the medical record. Dosages exceeding 24 

milligrams of buprenorphine per day shall not be prescribed. 

J. The practitioner shall incorporate relapse prevention 

strategies into counseling or assure that they are addressed by 

a mental health service provider, as defined in § 54.1-2400.1 

of the Code of Virginia, who has the education and 

experience to provide substance misuse counseling. 

18VAC85-21-160. Special populations in addiction 

treatment. 

A. Pregnant women may be treated with the buprenorphine 

mono-product, usually 16 milligrams per day or less. 

B. Patients younger than the age of 16 years shall not be 

prescribed buprenorphine for addiction treatment unless such 

treatment is approved by the FDA. 

C. The progress of patients with chronic pain shall be 

assessed by reduction of pain and functional objectives that 

can be identified, quantified, and independently verified. 

D. Practitioners shall (i) evaluate patients with medical 

comorbidities by history, physical exam, appropriate 

laboratory studies and (ii) be aware of interactions of 

buprenorphine with other prescribed medications. 

E. Practitioners shall not undertake buprenorphine treatment 

with a patient who has psychiatric comorbidities and is not 

stable. A patient who is determined by the prescriber to be 

psychiatrically unstable shall be referred for psychiatric 

evaluation and treatment prior to initiating medication-

assisted treatment. 

18VAC85-21-170. Medical records for opioid addiction 

treatment. 

A. Records shall be timely, accurate, legible, complete, and 

readily accessible for review. 

B. The treatment agreement and informed consent shall be 

maintained in the medical record. 

C. Confidentiality requirements of 42 CFR Part 2 shall be 

followed. 

D. Compliance with 18VAC85-20-27, which prohibits 

willful or negligent breach of confidentiality or unauthorized 

disclosure of confidential Prescription Monitoring Program 

information, shall be maintained. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5033; Filed November 4, 2017, 11:37 a.m. 

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS AND ONSITE SEWAGE 

SYSTEM PROFESSIONALS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Waterworks and 

Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System 

Professionals is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

6 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations of the 

regulatory boards served by the Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia that are limited to reducing fees charged to 

regulants and applicants. The Board for Waterworks and 

Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System 

Professionals will receive, consider, and respond to petitions 

by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 
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Title of Regulation: 18VAC160-30. Waterworks and 

Wastewater Works Operators Licensing Regulations 

(amending 18VAC160-30-40). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-113 and 54.1-201 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, Board 

for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 

Sewage System Professionals, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX 

(866) 350-5354, or email waterwasteoper@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments reduce the renewal and reinstatement 

fees for (i) wastewater works operator licenses that expire 

on February 28, 2018 and (ii) waterworks operator 

licenses that expire on February 28, 2019, to comply with 

§ 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC160-30-40. Fee schedule. 

Fee Type Fee Amount When Due 

Initial application 

(for each 

profession, class, 

and category of 

license) 

$100 With application 

Renewal (for each 

profession, class, 

and category of 

license) 

$80 
With renewal 

application 

Reinstatement 

(for each 

profession, class, 

and category of 

license) 

$105 (renewal 

fee + $25 

reinstatement 

fee) 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

For wastewater works operator licenses expiring on 

February 28, 2018, and waterworks operator licenses expiring 

on February 28, 2019, the renewal fee shall be $50. For 

reinstatement applications received after February 28, 2018, 

and on or before February 29, 2020, the total reinstatement 

fee shall be $75. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5311; Filed November 2, 2017, 11:36 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Waterworks and 

Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System 

Professionals is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

6 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations of the 

regulatory boards served by the Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia that are limited to reducing fees charged to 

regulants and applicants. The Board for Waterworks and 

Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System 

Professionals will receive, consider, and respond to petitions 

by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC160-40. Onsite Sewage System 

Professionals Licensing Regulations (amending 

18VAC160-40-40). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2301 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, Board 

for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 

Sewage System Professionals, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX 

(866) 350-5354, or email waterwasteoper@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments reduce (i) renewal fees for onsite sewage 

system professional licenses that expire on or after 

January 31, 2018, and before January 31, 2020 and (ii) 

reinstatement fees for reinstatement applications received 

after January 31, 2018, and on or before January 31, 

2020, to comply with § 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC160-40-40. Fee schedule. 

Fee Type Fee Amount When Due 

Initial application 

(for each 

profession, class, 

and category of 

license) 

$100 
With 

application 

Renewal (for each 

profession, class, 

and category of 

license) 

$80 
With renewal 

application 

Reinstatement 

(for each 

profession, class, 

and category of 

license) 

$105 (renewal 

fee + $25 

reinstatement 

fee) 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

For licenses expiring on or after January 31, 2018, and 

before January 31, 2020, the renewal fee shall be $50. For 

reinstatement applications received after January 31, 2018, 

and on or before January 31, 2020, the total reinstatement fee 

shall be $75. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5312; Filed November 2, 2017, 11:37 a.m. 
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SEVENTY-THREE 

(2017) 

ESTABLISHMENT OF AN ADVISORY COUNCIL ON 
ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE 

Part I – Importance of the Initiative 

The Constitution of Virginia states that it is the 

Commonwealth's policy to "protect its atmosphere, lands, and 

waters from pollution, impairment, or destruction, for the 

benefit, enjoyment, and general welfare of the people of the 

Commonwealth." The protection of our natural resources 

applies equally to all individuals. However, some 

environmental impacts may be compounded or concentrated 

as the result of demographic factors. This issue, known as 

environmental justice, is defined by the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency as the fair treatment and meaningful 

involvement of all people regardless of race, color, faith, 

national origin, or income, with respect to the development, 

implementation, and enforcement of environmental laws, 

regulations, and policies. 

It is important that no segment of the population, especially 

individuals most impacted and vulnerable, should bear 

disproportionately high or adverse effects from pollution. To 

ensure that all people and perspectives have a voice, the 

Commonwealth needs a sustained conduit for 

recommendations on environmental justice. While some state 

agencies incorporate environmental justice into their review 

process, there is currently no consistency in how these issues 

are evaluated within the Executive Branch. 

Part II – Establishment of the Advisory Council on 

Environmental Justice 

The Commonwealth requires a consistent, action-oriented 

approach to incorporating environmental justice into 

decision-making. Accordingly, I hereby formally convene the 

Governor's Advisory Council on Environmental Justice 

("Council") to provide independent advice and 

recommendations to the Executive Branch. 

Part III – Composition of the Council 

The Governor will appoint members to carry out the assigned 

functions of the Council, and the members shall serve at the 

Governor's pleasure. In addition, staff support may be 

provided by the following individuals or their designee: 

Secretary of Natural Resources; 

Secretary of Agriculture and Forestry; 

Secretary of Commerce and Trade; 

Secretary of Education; 

Secretary of Health and Human Resources; 

Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security; and 

Secretary of Transportation; 

Part IV – Duties of the Council 

The Council shall provide advice and recommendations to the 

Executive Branch on the following: 

1. Integrating environmental justice considerations 

throughout the Commonwealth's programs, regulations, 

policies, and procedures; 

2. Improving the environment and public health in 

communities disproportionately burdened by 

environmental pollution and risks; 

3. Ensuring transparent, authentic, and equitable 

engagement in decision-making, building capacity in 

disproportionately burdened communities, and promoting 

collaborative problem-solving for issues involving 

environmental justice; 

4. Strengthening partnerships on environmental justice 

among governmental agencies, including Federal, State, 

Tribal, and local governments; 

5. Enhancing research and assessment approaches related 

to environmental justice; 

6. Receiving comments, concerns, and recommendations 

from individuals throughout the Commonwealth; and 

7. Developing resources and strategies to provide and 

disseminate information to the public. 

The Council will draft an annual report containing specific 

recommendations in furtherance of these issues, including 

recommendations on proposed legislation, regulations, 

policies, and commencement of research initiatives. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 

shall remain in full force and effect unless amended or 

rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 31st Day of October, 2017. 

/s/ Terence R. McAuliffe 

Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Bureau of Insurance 

November 3, 2017 

Administrative Letter 2017-04 

TO: All Title Insurance Companies Licensed under Title 38.2 

of the Code of Virginia 

RE: Closing Protection Letters 

The Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") is aware that several title 

insurance companies are imposing a monetary charge for the 

issuance of a closing protection letter ("CPL"). 

Inconsistencies have arisen as to whether the charge should 

be identified as an administrative fee or premium. The Bureau 

finds that a charge levied by a title insurance company for the 

issuance of a CPL is premium because there is a loss-based 

cost associated with the issuance of a CPL, and the exposure 

created by a CPL is not a "fixed expense" (a known, set dollar 

amount of expense incurred during the calendar year) or a 

"variable expense" (a known percentage of premiums written, 

but variable in the amount based on written premium) 

connected with issuing title insurance in Virginia. 

Accordingly, the Bureau hereby instructs title insurance 

companies that impose a charge for the issuance of a CPL to 

treat that charge as premium. The CPL charges should be 

reported as direct premiums written, not other income. As a 

reminder, the CPL must cover the same exposures covered by 

the title insurance policy, and cannot extend coverage beyond 

matters affecting the condition of the title to property or status 

of any lien on property.1 

Questions concerning this administrative letter may be 

addressed to Edward J. Buyalos, Jr., Chief Financial Auditor, 

Financial Regulation Division, Virginia Bureau of Insurance, 

State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, 

VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9605, or email 

ed.buyalos@scc.virginia.gov. 

/s/ Jacqueline K. Cunningham 

Commissioner of Insurance 

____________________ 

1 Administrative Letter 1995-8. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Culpeper North Solar LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy (Solar) Project Permit by Rule - 

Culpeper County, Virginia 

Culpeper North Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality with a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Culpeper County, 

Virginia, pursuant to 9VAC15-60. The project will be located 

on 296 acres across multiple parcels on land west of 

Stevensburg Road, east of Glen Ella Road, north of Greens 

Corner Road, and south of Bel Pre Road. The solar project 

conceptually consists of approximately 85,000 335-watt 

panels plus eight 2.7-megawatt inverters, which will provide 

a maximum 20 megawatts of nameplate capacity. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 698-4510, or 

email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Ladybug Solar LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy (Solar) Project Permit by Rule - 

Mecklenburg County 

Ladybug Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality with a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy (solar) project. The project is 65 megawatts 

and will be located east of Highway 1 and southwest of 

Belfield Road, near Bracy in Mecklenburg County and will 

cover approximately 478 acres. The project will consist of 

ground-mounted arrays and will utilize photovoltaic solar 

modules and single-axis tracking technology. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 698-4510, or 

email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Reservoir Solar LLC Withdrawal of Notice of Intent 
for Small Renewable Energy (Solar) Project Permit 

by Rule - Louisa County 

Reservoir Solar LLC has notified the Department of 

Environmental Quality of the withdrawal of the July 21, 

2017, notice of intent to submit the necessary documentation 

for a permit by rule for a small renewable energy project 

(solar) in Louisa County. The original notice of intent was 

published in the Virginia Register on August 21, 2017, 

Volume 33, Issue 26. The project was to be located on 1400 

acres across multiple parcels on land west of Mineral Avenue 

and Kennon Road north of Jefferson Highway, south of Davis 

Highway, and east of School Bus Road and would have 

provided a maximum 99.9 megawatts of nameplate capacity. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 698-4510, or 

email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

SB Solar LLC Notice of Intent for Small Renewable 
Energy (Solar) Project Permit by  

Rule - Halifax County 

SB Solar LLC has provided the Department of Environmental 

Quality a notice of intent to submit the necessary 

documentation for a permit by rule for a small renewable 

energy (solar) project. The project is 10 megawatts and is to 

mailto:Ed.%20Buyalos@scc.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
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be located west of Huell Matthews Highway and south of 

East Hyco Road, near Nathalie in Halifax County and will 

cover approximately 185 acres. The project will consist of 

ground-mounted arrays and will utilize photovoltaic solar 

modules and single-axis tracking technology. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 698-4510, or 

email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Turner Solar LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy (Solar) Project Permit by Rule - 

Henrico County 

Turner Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Henrico County, Virginia, 

pursuant to 9VAC15-60. The project will be located on 463 

acres on one parcel of land west of Strath Road, east of 

Varina Road, north of Kingsland Road, and south of Battery 

Gregg Drive. The solar project conceptually consists of 

approximately 85,000 335-watt panels plus eight 2.7-

megawatt inverters, which will provide a maximum 20 

megawatts of nameplate capacity. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 698-4510, or 

email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Virginia Solar LLC Withdrawal of Notice of Intent for 
Small Renewable Energy (Solar) Project Permit by 

Rule - Culpeper County 

Virginia Solar LLC has notified the Department of 

Environmental Quality that the notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Culpeper County is 

withdrawn. The original notice of intent was published in the 

Virginia Register on March 6, 2017, Volume 33, Issue 14. 

The project, called Brandy Station, was to be located on 180 

acres across multiple parcels, on land north of Greens Corner 

Road, west of Stevensburg Road, and east of Glen Ella Road 

and would have provided a maximum of 20 megawatts of 

nameplate capacity. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 698-4510, or 

email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Water Strider Solar LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy (Solar) Project Permit by Rule - 

Halifax County 

Water Strider Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy (solar) project. The project is 80 megawatts 

and is to be located north of Stage Coach Road near Nathalie 

in Halifax County and will cover approximately 1,134 acres. 

The project will consist of ground-mounted arrays and will 

utilize photovoltaic solar modules and single-axis tracking 

technology. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 698-4510, or 

email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery were 

filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on November 

1, 2017, and November 8, 2017. The orders may be viewed at 

the Virginia Lottery, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, 

Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 

East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Thirty-One (17) 

Virginia's Computer-Generated Lottery Game "Mega 

Millions" Final Rules for Game Operation (this Director's 

Order becomes effective with the October 31, 2017, drawing, 

fully replaces any and all prior Virginia Lottery "Mega 

Millions" game rules, and shall remain in full force and effect 

unless amended or rescinded by further Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Sixty-Five (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Cash 5" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (This Director's Order becomes 

effective on October 13, 2017, fully replaces any and all prior 

Virginia Lottery "Cash 5" game rules, and shall remain in full 

force and effect unless amended or rescinded by further 

Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Sixty-Six (17) 

Certain Virginia Lottery Scratch Games; End of Games. 

In accordance with the authority granted by §§ 2.2-4002 B 15 

and 58.1-4006 A of the Code of Virginia, I hereby give notice 

that the following Virginia Lottery instant games will 

officially end at midnight on November 3, 2017: 

Game 1782  7X The Money 

Game 1766  Tripling Crossword 

Game 1762  5X The Money 

Game 1736  10X The Money 

Game 1710  Million $$ Match (TOP) 

Game 1707  $15 Million Payout 

Game 1690  Double Payout 

mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
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Game 1672  Find the 8's 

Game 1653  Frogger 

Game 1646  Lucky 5s 

Game 1575  Green 

Game 1559  Double Dollar Fortune 

Game 1473  Win It All 

Game 1464  $3,000,000 Jackpot 

The last day for lottery retailers to return for credit unsold 

tickets from any of these games will be December 19, 2017. 

The last day to redeem winning tickets for any of these games 

will be May 2, 2018, 180 days from the declared official end 

of the game. Claims for winning tickets from any of these 

games will not be accepted after that date. Claims that are 

mailed and received in an envelope bearing a postmark of the 

United States Postal Service or another sovereign nation of 

May 2, 2018, or earlier, will be deemed to have been received 

on time. This notice amplifies and conforms to the duly 

adopted State Lottery Board regulations for the conduct of 

lottery games. 

This order is available for inspection and copying during 

normal business hours at the Virginia Lottery headquarters, 

600 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, and at any 

Virginia Lottery regional office. A copy may be requested by 

mail by writing to Director's Office, Virginia Lottery, 

600 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

This Director's Order becomes effective on October 13, 2017, 

and shall remain in full force and effect unless amended or 

rescinded by further Director's Order. 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Sixty-Nine (17) 

Virginia Lottery's "FY18 eXTRA Chances Scratcher 

Promotion" Final Rules for Operation (effective November 1, 

2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seventy (17) 

Certain Virginia Promotion; Rescission of Promotion - 2 

Ways 2 Win Scratch Incentive Promotion  

(68  2017) (effective November 1, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seventy-One (17) 

Virginia Lottery's "2 Ways to Win Scratcher Retailer 

Incentive Promotion" (effective November 1, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seventy-Eight (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1813 "X The Money Bingo" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective November 6, 

2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seventy-Nine (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1862 "7" Final Rules for 

Game Operation (effective November 6, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Eighty (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1834 "Weekly Half Grand" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective November 6, 

2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Eighty-One (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1835 "Weekly Grand" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective November 6, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Eighty-Two (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Virginia's 

New Year's Millionaire Raffle" Final Rules for Game 

Operation (effective November 7, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Eighty-Three (17) 

Certain Virginia Print 'n Play Game - Virginia Lottery's "Print 

'n Play Bonus Bingo" (151 2017) (effective October 27, 

2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Eighty-Four (17) 

Virginia Lottery's Computer-Generated Game "Print 'n Play 

Bullseye Bingo" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 

October 28, 2017) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Eighty-Nine (17) 

Virginia Computer-Generated Lottery Game "Mega Millions" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (this Director's Order 

becomes effective nunc pro tunc to the October 31, 2017, 

drawing, fully replaces any and all prior Virginia Lottery 

"Mega Millions" game rules, and shall remain in full force 

and effect unless amended or rescinded by further Director's 

Order) 

VIRGINIA WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
COMMISSION 

Public Comment on Proposed Medical Fee 
Schedule Regulations 

The Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission is 

accepting public comment on the proposed regulations 

implementing the Medical Fee Schedules and Ground Rules 

adopted by the Commission on June 13, 2017, which 

establish the maximum fees for fee scheduled medical 

services rendered to injured workers pursuant to the Virginia 

Workers' Compensation Act (Title 65.2 of the Code of 

Virginia). The proposed regulations may be accessed at 

http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/medical-fee-

schedule-regulations. 

Persons wishing to provide written comment are encouraged 

to do so electronically at 

http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/medical-fee-schedule-regulations
http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/medical-fee-schedule-regulations
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http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/Medical-Fee-

Schedules-Special-Notice. Written comments may also be 

submitted via email 

to drema.thompson@workcom.virginia.gov or by mail to 

Drema Thompson, Medical Fee Services Manager, Virginia 

Workers' Compensation Commission, 1000 DMV Drive, 

Richmond, VA 23220. Written comments will be accepted 

through November 27, 2017. 

Contact Information: Drema Thompson, Medical Fee 

Services Manager, 1000 DMV Drive, Richmond, VA 23220, 

telephone (804) 774-4165, FAX (804) 823-6932, or email 

drema.thompson@workcomp.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Order for Fork Union Military 
Academy 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Fork Union 

Military Academy for violations at the Fork Union Military 

Academy STP in Fluvanna County, Virginia. The State Water 

Control Board proposes to issue a consent order to the Fork 

Union Military Academy to address noncompliance with 

State Water Control Law. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental 

Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Tamara Ambler will accept comments 

by email at tamara.ambler@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (540) 

574-7878, or postal mail at Department of Environmental 

Quality, Valley Regional Office, P.O. Box 3000, 

Harrisonburg, VA 22801, from November 27, 2017, to 

December 28, 2017. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for Kiptopeke 
Villas, LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Kiptopeke 

Villas, LLC for violations at the site located at 3540 

Kiptopeke Drive in Northampton County, Virginia. The State 

Water Control Board proposes to issue a special order by 

consent to Kiptopeke Villas, LLC to address noncompliance 

with the State Water Control Law and regulations. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Kristen Sadtler will accept 

comments by email at kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov, FAX 

at (804) 698-4277, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Central Office, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, from December 11, 2017, to January 

10, 2017. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for the Department of 
the Navy, Commander, Navy Region Mid-Atlantic 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Department of 

the Navy, Commander, Navy Region Mid-Atlantic for 

violations of the State Water Control Law in York County, 

Virginia. A description of the proposed action is available at 

the Department of Environmental Quality office named below 

or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Russell Deppe will accept 

comments by email at russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov, FAX 

at (757) 518-2009, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 

Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from 

November 27, 2017, to December 26, 2017. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for W. W. Realty 
Associates LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for W. W. Realty 

Associates LLC for violations of the State Water Control Law 

in Chesapeake, Virginia. A description of the proposed action 

is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 

office named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Jennifer Coleman, Esq. will accept comments by email at 

jennifer.coleman@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-2009, 

or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from November 27, 2017, to 

December 27, 2017. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 
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