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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair; Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Leslie L. Lilley; E.M. Miller, Jr.; 

Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Timothy Oksman; 

Charles S. Sharp; Noah P. Sullivan; Mark J. Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

December 2017 through January 2019 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

34:8 November 21, 2017 (Tuesday) December 11, 2017 

34:9 December 6, 2017 December 25, 2017 

34:10 December 19, 2017 (Tuesday) January 8, 2018 

34:11 January 3, 2018 January 22, 2018 

34:12 January 17, 2018 February 5, 2018 

34:13 January 31, 2018 February 19, 2018 

34:14 February 14, 2018 March 5, 2018 

34:15 February 28, 2018 March 19, 2018 

34:16 March 14, 2018 April 2, 2018 

34:17 March 28, 2018 April 16, 2018 

34:18 April 11, 2018 April 30, 2018 

34:19 April 25, 2018 May 14, 2018 

34:20 May 9, 2018 May 28, 2018 

34:21 May 23, 2018 June 11, 2018 

34:22 June 6, 2018 June 25, 2018 

34:23 June 20, 2018 July 9, 2018 

34:24 July 3, 2018 (Tuesday) July 23, 2018 

34:25 July 18, 2018 August 6, 2018 

34:26 August 1, 2018 August 20, 2018 

35:1 August 15, 2018 September 3, 2018 

35:2 August 29, 2018 September17, 2018 

35:3 September 12, 2018 October 1, 2018 

35:4 September 26, 2018 October 15, 2018 

35:5 October 10, 2018 October 29, 2018 

35:6 October 24, 2018 November 12, 2018 

35:7 November 7, 2018 November 26, 2018 

35:8 November 19, 2018 (Monday) December 10, 2018 

35:9 December 5, 2018 December 24, 2018 

35:10 December 14, 2018 (Friday) January 7, 2019 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Department of General Services 

intends to consider promulgating 1VAC30-150, Regulations 

for Public Use of Robert E. Lee Monument, Richmond, 

VA. The purpose of the proposed action is to promulgate a 

permanent regulation to replace emergency regulations 

adopted pursuant to Executive Order 67 (2017) regarding 

public use of the Lee Monument located in Richmond, 

Virginia, on Monument Avenue (the Lee 

Monument).  Pursuant to Executive Order 67, the emergency 

regulations were based on the recommendations of the 

Governor's Task Force on Public Safety Preparedness and 

Response to Civil Unrest (the Task Force), which was 

established by Executive Order 68 (2017). Executive Order 

67 (2017) also required the Department of General Services 

(DGS) to undertake a thorough review of the permitting rules 

for the monument. 

A key finding of the Task Force is that implementing robust 

permitting processes is one of the most important parts of 

preparing for mass demonstrations and preventing violence. 

This proposed regulatory action will consider the results of 

the comprehensive review conducted by the Task Force, 

which included substantial input from public safety officers, 

local permitting officials, and legal experts on various issues 

related to the Lee Monument and how to update the rules for 

public use of the Lee Monument. Rules regarding use of the 

Lee Monument have never been codified in the Virginia 

Administrative Code, and a comprehensive review has not 

been done in decades. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-1100 and 2.2-1102 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 10, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Rhonda Bishton, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of General Services, 1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3311, FAX (804) 

371-8305, or email rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5342; Filed November 17, 2017, 4:51 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education 

intends to consider promulgating 8VAC20-760, Regulations 

Governing the Designation of School Divisions of 

Innovation. The purpose of the proposed action is to adopt a 

regulation that will establish, pursuant to Chapter 760 of the 

2017 Acts of Assembly, the School Divisions of Innovation 

(SDI) designation process in which a local school board shall, 

pursuant to a plan of innovation, be exempted from selected 

regulatory provisions and be permitted to adopt alternative 

policies for school administrators, teachers, and staff to meet 

the diverse needs of students. The new regulation sets the SDI 

designation process and timeline, expectations for a plan of 

innovation, procedures for ongoing evaluation of an SDI, and 

regulations that may be waived in conjunction with an SDI 

application. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-212.29 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 10, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Emily V. Webb, Director for Board 

Relations, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 225-2924, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 

emily.webb@doe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5324; Filed November 9, 2017, 4:44 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Psychology intends to 

consider amending 18VAC125-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Psychology. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to update its regulations for consistency and clarity, 

reduce the regulatory hurdle for licensure by endorsement, 

increase the opportunities for continuing education credits, 

specify a timeframe within which an applicant must have 

passed the national examination, and simplify the requirement 

for individual supervision in a residency. The board will also 

consider requiring all psychology doctoral programs to be 

accredited by the American Psychological Association, the 
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Canadian Psychologic Association, or another accrediting 

body acceptable to the board within three years of the 

effective date of the regulation. Finally, the board intends to 

revamp provisions for standards of conduct to emphasize 

rules for professionalism, confidentiality, client records, and 

prohibitions on dual relationships.  

This Notice of Intended Regulatory Action serves as the 

report of the findings of the regulatory review pursuant to 

§ 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 10, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 327-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5213; Filed November 9, 2017, 8:28 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC30-150. Regulations for Public 

Use of Robert E. Lee Monument, Richmond, VA (adding 

1VAC30-150-10 through 1VAC30-150-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-1100 and 2.2-1102 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Dates: November 17, 2017, through May 16, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Rhonda Bishton, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of General Services, 1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3311, FAX (804) 

371-8305, or email rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 A of the Code of Virginia states that 

regulations that an agency finds are necessitated by an 

emergency situation may be adopted upon consultation 

with the Attorney General, which approval shall be 

granted only after the agency has submitted a request 

stating in writing the nature of the emergency, and the 

necessity for such action shall be at the sole discretion of 

the Governor. 

The emergency action establishes the regulations for 

public use of the Robert E. Lee Monument located at 

1700 Monument Avenue in the City of Richmond. 

CHAPTER 150 

REGULATIONS FOR PUBLIC USE OF ROBERT E. LEE 

MONUMENT, RICHMOND, VA 

1VAC30-150-10. Purpose, applicability, and definitions. 

The Robert E. Lee Monument, located at 1700 Monument 

Avenue, is the largest monument on the City of Richmond's 

Monument Avenue. The 60-foot high statue, composed of a 

granite base and 14-foot tall bronze equestrian statue of 

Robert E. Lee, stands in the middle of Lee Circle, a traffic 

circle at the intersection of Monument Avenue and Allen 

Avenue. The purpose of this chapter is to establish and codify 

regulations governing the use of this state-owned property. 

This chapter applies to the Lee Monument. 

The following word or term when used in this chapter shall 

have the following meaning unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Lee Monument" means the statue of Robert E. Lee and the 

surrounding 25,000 square feet of state-owned property 

located at 1700 Monument Avenue in the City of Richmond. 

The Lee Monument does not include the abutting sidewalk or 

streets, which are the property of the City of Richmond.  

1VAC30-150-20. General rules. 

The following rules apply to any person including permit 

applicants and permit holders at the Lee Monument.  

1. The Lee Monument shall be closed to the public from 

sunset each night until sunrise the following morning. 

2. Any event that is expected to draw 10 or more 

participants requires a special event permit.  

3. The maximum occupancy of the Lee Monument is 500 

persons.  

4. There shall be no motor vehicles on the Lee Monument 

at any time.  

5. No banners, flags, posters, or other objects shall be 

placed on or affixed to the statue itself.  

6. No persons shall climb on the statue itself. This 

provision also applies to the steps of the statue.  

7. Unlawful activity is prohibited. 

1VAC30-150-30. Rules regarding permitted events. 

A. All permitted events must be coordinated with the City of 

Richmond to ensure that such event will not interfere with 

major vehicular traffic within the traffic circle. The areas 

surrounding the Lee Monument are residential zones. In 

conjunction with § 18.2-419 of the Code of Virginia and the 

City of Richmond's noise ordinance level restrictions, events 

at the grounds may only occur during the following hours, 

unless the times referenced in this subsection conflict with 

subdivision 1 of 1VAC30-150-20:  

1. Monday through Friday: 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. and 7 p.m. to 

9 p.m.  

2. Saturday: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.  

3. Sunday: 2 p.m. to 9 p.m.  

B. Permitted events may last a maximum of two hours, with 

an additional 30 minutes to set up and 30 minutes to break 

down the event. If the City of Richmond will require road 

closure, permitted events will be authorized to last one hour, 

with an additional 30 minutes to set up and 30 minutes to 

break down the event. Permitted events shall not exceed these 

time parameters.  

C. The following items and activities are prohibited on the 

Lee Monument, and any violation will result in an immediate 

revocation of the permit and removal from the Lee 

Monument: 

1. Weapons: any pistol, rifle, shotgun, or other firearm of 

any kind, whether loaded or unloaded, air rifle, air pistol, 
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paintball gun, paintball rifle, explosive, blasting cap, knife, 

hatchet, ax, slingshot, blackjack, metal knuckles, mace, 

iron buckle, ax handle, chains, crowbar, hammer, or any 

club, bludgeon, or any other instrumentality used, or 

intended to be used, as a dangerous weapon. 

2. Bricks, stones, rocks, or pieces of asphalt or concrete.  

3. Glass bottles, glass jars, or glass containers of any kind. 

4. Tents, tables, scaffolding, or staging.  

5. Penetration of the ground by any object. 

6. Stick-holding placards. 

7. Solicitations, sales, collections, or fundraising activities. 

8. Food, alcohol, or beverages of any type. 

9. Auxiliary and portable lights. 

10. Open air burning. Hand-held candles with drip guards 

are acceptable. 

11. The use of unmanned aircraft systems (drones). 

12. Hazardous, flammable, or combustible liquids or 

materials. 

13. Animals, except service animals that are individually 

trained to do work or perform tasks for people with 

disabilities. 

14. Fossil-fuel powered generators. 

15. Any mask, hood, or other device whereby a substantial 

portion of the face is hidden or covered unless otherwise 

permitted by law.  

D. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit a disabled person 

from carrying, possessing, or using a wheelchair, cane, 

walker, or similar device necessary for providing mobility so 

that the person may participate in a permitted event. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit certified law-

enforcement officers or other public safety officials acting in 

their official capacity from carrying or possessing materials, 

weapons, or devices used in the performance of law-

enforcement duties.  

F. Certain portions of subsections A, B, and C of this section 

may not apply to established events that have been approved 

for more than three consecutive years within the 

Commonwealth or the City of Richmond permitting 

processes prior to the enactment of this regulation. 

1VAC30-150-40. Special event permit process. 

A. Requests for a special event permit must be submitted in 

writing, on the forms required by the Department of General 

Services, and must be submitted to the Director of the 

Division of Engineering and Buildings at least 45 days prior 

to the requested event date.  

B. All applications shall contain at a minimum, the 

following information: 

1. Type and purpose of event, meeting, or function. 

2. Name, address, telephone numbers, and email address of 

the applicant.  

3. Name of the organization, date of origin, status 

(corporation, unincorporated association, partnership, 

nonprofit corporation, etc.), address, and telephone 

numbers. If applicable, the federal tax ID number, 

registered agent's address, telephone numbers, and email 

address.  

4. Organization's primary point of contact, to include 

name, title, permanent address, telephone numbers, and 

email addresses. 

5. Organization's primary and alternative point of contact 

who will be on-site at the Lee Monument for the event, to 

include name, address, telephone numbers, and email 

addresses. The organization's on-site primary point of 

contact shall be responsible for the conduct of participants 

at the event. 

6. If the event is designed to be held by, on behalf of, or for 

any person other than the applicant, the applicant shall file 

with the director written documentation from the person or 

organization seeking to host the event, authorizing the 

applicant to apply for the permit on behalf of the person or 

organization. 

7. The estimated number of participants for the event. The 

maximum occupancy for the Lee Monument is 500 

persons. 

8. Requested date and start and end times.  

9. Whether the event is being advertised, to include 

advertising on social media platforms. 

10. Proof that all needed permits have been submitted to 

the City of Richmond, to include a road closure permit if 

necessary. The applicant understands that if the City of 

Richmond will require road closure, authorized events will 

be permitted to last one hour, with an additional 30 

minutes to set up and 30 minutes to break down the event. 

All events will begin at the agreed upon time and must fall 

within the allowable time periods addressed in this section. 

11. List of requested items or equipment to be used during 

the event. 

C. Notwithstanding the 45-day requirement for a special 

event permit, the applicant may apply for a permit for an 

event that is proposed to be conducted in less than six days, 

provided: 

1.The applicant submits a completed special event permit 

application in accordance with this chapter. 

2. A showing by the applicant, in writing, clearly 

describing why the circumstances giving rise to the 

proposed event did not reasonably allow the applicant to 

apply for a permit within the 45-day time period. 

3. The event has not been planned for more than six days 

in advance of the proposed event. 

4. Proof that all needed permits have been submitted to the 

City of Richmond, to include a road closure permit if 

necessary. The applicant understands that if the City of 
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Richmond will require road closure based on the size of the 

event, authorized events will be permitted to last one hour, 

with an additional 30 minutes to set up and 30 minutes to 

break down the event. All events will begin at the agreed 

upon time and must fall within the allowable time periods 

addressed in this section. 

D. Permit applications may be submitted up to one year in 

advance of the proposed event. The Director of the Division 

of Engineering and Buildings shall not grant final approval 

until proof that a permit has been approved by the City of 

Richmond, to include a road closure permit if necessary. 

E. The Director of the Division of Engineering and 

Buildings shall take action on all permit applications within 

10 business days of receiving a special event permit 

application, and within three business days of receiving a 

special event permit that is proposed to be conducted within 

six days of the application as outlined in subsection C of this 

section. All actions by the director are pending proof of a 

final determination from the City of Richmond on whether 

any permits, to include a road closure permit, are required by 

the city. If any permits are required by the city, the applicant 

shall be required to furnish proof to the director that the 

proper permits have been obtained. 

F. The Director of Engineering and Buildings (director) 

shall deny a request for a permit if:  

1. Another application has been previously submitted with 

a request for the same date and time;  

2. Upon advisement from law enforcement, the director 

determines that approving the permit and allowing the 

event to occur would pose a significant threat to public 

safety; 

3. Any of the conditions are not agreed to by the applicant;  

4. The director concludes that the event could not possibly 

conform to the conditions prescribed in this chapter; 

5. Any of the information contained in the application is 

found to be false or inaccurate; or  

6. The City of Richmond denies a needed permit.  

G. If a permit request is denied, the director shall send, in 

writing, an explanation of why the event permit was denied 

and if applicable, provide the applicant with alternative times 

or dates. 

H. If a permit is denied due to a preexisting application for 

the same time and date, the director shall notify the applicant 

if the originally requested date and time become available. 

I. Authorization for the use of the Lee Monument will be set 

forth in a letter addressed to the applicant.  

J. The director or his designee may contact the applicant and 

the event organizer at any time to discuss or clarify the 

contents of the application or any additional conditions or 

restrictions to be applied. 

1VAC30-150-50. Permit holder responsibilities. 

A. The event organizer is responsible for providing a safe 

and secure event and may be required to provide general 

security, crowd control, and assistance to participants based 

on the size of the event. If general security is required, it shall 

be provided by law-enforcement personnel licensed by the 

Commonwealth of Virginia.  

B. By submitting an application for a special event permit 

under this chapter, the applicant understands the following 

statements and conditions and agrees to comply with all rules, 

conditions, and restrictions:  

1. The applicant agrees to all prohibitions and restrictions 

identified in this chapter; 

2. The applicant and organization agree to indemnify the 

Commonwealth of Virginia against any loss or damage to 

the monument that may occur in connection with the 

applicant or event organizer's use of the property; 

3. The applicant agrees to leave the premises clean and 

orderly. The applicant will provide a waste management 

plan and a point of contact for the plan; 

4. The applicant and participants agree to obey all state and 

local laws and ordinances; 

5. The applicant agrees to notify law enforcement, to 

include the Division of Capitol Police, if any unlawful 

activities occur during the permitted event. In addition to 

9-1-1, the applicant should call the Capitol Police 

emergency number at (804) 786-4357. For 

nonemergencies, applicants should call (804) 786-2568; 

6. Unlawful activities will be handled by law enforcement, 

to include the Division of Capitol Police; and  

7. The applicant shall be required to notify the Director of 

the Division of Engineering and Buildings of any changes 

to the information contained in the permit application as 

soon as practicable.  

C. Violations of this chapter shall result in immediate 

revocation of the permit by the Director of the Division of 

Engineering and Buildings or his designee, and in the event 

such revocation occurs, all participants shall be required to 

immediately vacate the monument. Failure of any person to 

immediately vacate the monument after proper notice shall be 

considered trespassing in violation of § 18.2-119 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5342; Filed November 17, 2017, 4:51 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-131. Regulations Establishing 

Standards for Accrediting Public Schools in Virginia 

(amending 8VAC20-131-5 through 8VAC20-131-120, 

8VAC20-131-140 through 8VAC20-131-220, 8VAC20-

131-240 through 8VAC20-131-270; adding 8VAC20-131-

51, 8VAC20-131-370 through 8VAC20-131-430; repealing 

8VAC20-131-280 through 8VAC20-131-360). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-253.13:3 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 11, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Dr. Cynthia Cave, Assistant Superintendent, 

Policy and Communications, Department of Education, P.O. 

Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218-2120, telephone (804) 225-

2092, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 

cynthia.cave@doe.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments provide for the implementation of the 

Profile of a Virginia Graduate as required by Chapters 

720 and 750 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, as well as 

additional changes identified by the board as part of its 

comprehensive review. The amendments include the 

following: 

1. Revising the philosophy, goals, and objectives of 

individual schools to reflect expectations for preparation 

of a Virginia public school graduate; recognition of 

multiple areas affecting school quality; and provision of 

continuous improvement and support. 

2. Expanding the use of performance assessments and 

reducing the number of credits verified by Standards of 

Learning tests to satisfy high school graduation 

requirements. 

3. Increasing the emphasis on internships and work-based 

learning experiences in high school.  

4. Increasing career exposure, exploration, and planning 

in elementary, middle, and high school. 

5. Emphasizing critical thinking, creative thinking, 

collaboration, communication, and citizenship (the five 

Cs). 

6. Implementing the Profile of a Virginia Graduate. 

7. Reflecting changes in the School Quality Profile. 

8. Establishing a new school accreditation system that 

measures school quality through multiple indicators and 

the designation of performance levels for each indicator.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  

Definitions and Purpose  

8VAC20-131-5. Definitions.  

The following words and terms apply only to these 

regulations this chapter and do not supersede those definitions 

used for federal reporting purposes or for the calculation of 

costs related to the Standards of Quality (§ 22.1-253.13:1 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). When used in these regulations 

this chapter, these words shall have the following meanings, 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Accreditation" means a process used by the Virginia 

Department of Education (hereinafter "department") to 

evaluate the educational performance of public schools in 

accordance with these regulations this chapter.  

"Additional test" means a test, including substitute tests 

approved by the Board of Education board that students may 

use in lieu of a Standards of Learning test to obtain verified 

credit.  

"Authentic performance assessment" means a test that 

complies with guidelines adopted by the board that requires 

students to perform a task or create a product that is typically 

scored using a rubric. An authentic performance assessment 

may be used to confer verified credit in accordance with the 

provisions of 8VAC20-131-110 B 4 and B 5.  

"Board of Education" or "board" means the board 

responsible for the general supervision of the public schools 

system in Virginia as prescribed in Section 4 of Article VIII 

of the Constitution of Virginia and § 22.1-8 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Class period" means a segment of time in during the school 

instructional day that is approximately 1/6 of the instructional 

day allocated to lessons, courses, testing and assessments, or 

other instructional activities and excludes homeroom.  

"Combined school" means a public school that contains any 

combination of or all of the grade levels from kindergarten 

through grade 12. This definition does not include those 

schools defined as elementary, middle, or secondary schools.  

"Credit accommodations" means adjustments to meet the 

standard and verified credit requirements for earning a 

Standard Diploma for students with disabilities.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Education.  

"Elementary school" means a public school with any grades 

kindergarten through five 5.  

"Eligible students" means the total number of students of 

school age enrolled in the school at a grade or course for 

which a Standards of Learning test is required unless 

excluded under the provisions of 8VAC20-131-30 G and 

8VAC20-131-280 D relative to limited English proficient 

(LEP) students.  

"English learner" or "EL" means, as prescribed in the 

Elementary and Secondary Education Act (P.L. 89-10, as 

amended), an individual: 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 11, 2017 

771 

1. Who is aged three through 21 years;  

2. Who is enrolled or preparing to enroll in an elementary 

school or secondary school;  

3. a. Who was not born in the United States or whose 

native language is a language other than English;  

b. (1) Who is a Native American or Alaska native, or a 

native resident of the outlying areas; and 

(2) Who comes from an environment where a language 

other than English has had a significant impact on the 

individual's level of English language proficiency; or  

c. Who is migratory, whose native language is a language 

other than English, and who comes from an environment 

where a language other than English is dominant; and  

4. Whose difficulties in speaking, reading, writing, or 

understanding the English language may be sufficient to 

deny the individual the:  

a. Ability to meet the challenging state academic 

standards;  

b. Ability to successfully achieve in classrooms where 

the language of instruction is English; or  

c. Opportunity to participate fully in society. 

"Enrollment" means the act of complying with state and 

local requirements relative to the registration or admission of 

a child for attendance in a school within a local school 

division. This term also means registration for courses within 

the student's home school or within related schools or 

programs.  

"First time" means the student has not been enrolled in the 

school at any time during the current school year (for 

purposes of 8VAC20-131-60 with reference to students who 

transfer in during the school year).  

"Four core areas" or "four core academic areas" means 

English, mathematics, science, and history and social science 

for purposes of testing for the Standards of Learning.  

"Graduate" means a student who has earned a Board of 

Education board recognized diploma, which includes the 

Advanced Studies Diploma, the Standard Diploma, and the 

Applied Studies Diploma.  

[ "Growth" or "student growth" means student progress 

toward achievement as demonstrated through a valid and 

reliable measure. ]  

"Homebound instruction" means academic instruction 

provided to students who are confined at home or in a health 

care facility for periods of time that would prevent normal 

school attendance, based upon certification of need by a 

licensed physician or a licensed clinical psychologist.  

"Instructional day" means all the time in a standard school 

day, from the beginning of the first scheduled class period to 

the end of the last scheduled class period, including passing 

time for class changes and excluding breaks for meals and 

recess. 

"Instructional hours" means the hours in a standard school 

day, from the beginning of the first scheduled class period to 

the end of the last scheduled class period, including passing 

time for class changes and excluding breaks for meals and 

recess. 

"Locally awarded verified credit" means a verified unit of 

credit awarded by a local school board in accordance with 

8VAC20-131-110 B 3.  

"Middle school" means a public school with any grades 6 

through 8.  

"Planning period" means one class period per day or the 

equivalent a segment of time in middle and secondary schools 

during the instructional day that is unencumbered of any 

teaching or supervisory duties, is not less than 45 minutes or 

the equivalent of a class period, whichever is greater, and that 

includes passing time for class changes.  

"Planning time" means a segment of time for elementary 

teachers that provides at least an average of 30 minutes per 

day for planning during the student's school week as provided 

in § 22.1-291.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Recess" means a segment of free time exclusive of time 

provided for meals during the standard school day in which 

students are given a break from [ structured classroom ] 

instruction.  

"Reconstitution" means a process that may be used to 

initiate a range of accountability actions to improve pupil 

performance, curriculum, and instruction to address 

deficiencies that caused a school to be rated Accreditation 

Denied that may include, but not be limited to, restructuring a 

school's governance, instructional program, staff or student 

population.  

"Reporting group" means a subgroup of students who are 

identified as having common characteristics such as students 

identified as belonging to major racial and ethnic groups, 

economically disadvantaged students, students with 

disabilities, and English learners.  

"School" means a publicly funded institution where students 

are enrolled for all or a majority of the instructional day and:  

1. Those students are reported in fall membership at the 

institution; and  

2. At a minimum, the institution meets the preaccreditation 

eligibility requirements of these regulations this chapter as 

adopted by the Board of Education board.  

"Secondary school" means a public school with any grades 9 

through 12.  

"Standard school day" means a calendar day that averages at 

least five and one-half instructional hours for students in 

grades 1 through 12, excluding breaks for meals and recess, 

and a minimum of three instructional hours for students in 

kindergarten.  

"Standard school year" means a school year of at least 180 

teaching days or a total of at least 990 teaching instructional 
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hours per year, as specified in § 22.1-98 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Standard unit of credit" or "standard credit" means credit 

awarded for a course in which the student successfully 

completes 140 clock hours of instruction and the 

requirements of the course. Local school boards may develop 

alternatives to the requirement for 140 clock hours of 

instruction as provided for in 8VAC20-131-110 and in 

accordance with board guidelines.  

"Standards of Learning tests" or "SOL tests" means those 

criterion referenced assessments approved by the Board of 

Education board for use in the Virginia assessment program 

Assessment Program that measure attainment of knowledge 

and skills required by the Standards of Learning.  

"Standards of Quality" means the Standards of Quality 

prescribed in Chapter 13.2 (§ 22.1-253.13:1 et seq.) of Title 

22.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Student" means a person of school age as defined by 

§ 22.1-1 of the Code of Virginia, a child with disabilities as 

defined in § 22.1-213 of the Code of Virginia, and a person 

with limited English proficiency for whom English is a 

second language in accordance with § 22.1-5 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Student periods" means the number of students a teacher 

instructs per class period multiplied by the number of class 

periods taught.  

"Verified unit of credit" or "verified credit" means credit 

awarded for a course in which a student earns a standard unit 

of credit and (i) achieves a passing score on a corresponding 

end-of-course SOL test or; (ii) achieves a passing score on an 

additional test approved by the Board of Education as defined 

in this section as part of the Virginia assessment program 

Assessment Program; (iii) meets the criteria for the receipt of 

a locally awarded verified credit conferred in accordance with 

board criteria and guidelines as provided in 8VAC20-131-110 

B 3 when the student has not passed a corresponding SOL 

test in English, mathematics, laboratory science, or history 

and social science; (iv) meets the criteria for the receipt of a 

verified credit for history and social science by demonstrating 

mastery of the content of the associated course on an 

authentic performance assessment as provided in 8VAC20-

131-110 B 4; or (v) meets the criteria for the receipt of a 

verified credit for English (writing) by demonstrating mastery 

of the content of the associated course on an authentic 

performance assessment, as provided in 8VAC20-131-110 B 

5.  

"Virginia assessment program Assessment Program" means 

a system used to evaluate student achievement that includes 

Standards of Learning SOL tests and additional tests that may 

be approved from time to time by the Board of Education 

board.  

8VAC20-131-10. Purpose.  

The foremost purpose of public education in Virginia is to 

provide children with a high quality education giving them 

opportunities to meet their fullest potential in life. The 

standards for the accreditation of public schools in Virginia 

are designed to ensure that an effective educational program 

is established and maintained in Virginia's public schools. 

The mission of the public education system is to educate 

students in the essential academic knowledge and skills in 

order that they may be equipped for citizenship, work, and a 

an informed and successful [ private ] life that is informed 

and free. The accreditation standards:  

The Standards of Accreditation provide the foundation for 

the provision of a high quality public education within a 

system of accountability and continuous improvement. They 

are intended to:  

1. Provide an essential foundation of educational programs 

of high quality in all schools for all students.  

2. Encourage and promote school quality and acknowledge 

achievement and continuous improvement and appraisal of 

the school program for the purpose of raising student 

achievement improvements by schools and school 

divisions in multiple areas.  

3. Foster public confidence that graduating students have 

mastered multiple areas of learning to include academic 

subjects, workplace skills, career exploration and planning, 

and civic and community responsibility.  

4. Assure recognition of Virginia's public schools by other 

institutions of learning.  

5. Establish a the means of determining the effectiveness of 

schools as prescribed in the Standards of Quality at § 22.1-

253.13:3 of the Code of Virginia, including student 

learning and progress and student outcomes for multiple 

areas affecting school quality.  

Section 22.1-253.13:3 B A of the Code of Virginia requires 

the Virginia Board of Education (hereinafter "board") board 

promulgate regulations establishing standards for 

accreditation, which shall include student outcome measures, 

requirements and guidelines for instructional programs and 

for the integration of educational technology into such 

instructional programs, administrative and instructional 

staffing levels and positions, including staff positions for 

supporting educational technology, student services, auxiliary 

education programs such as library and media services, 

course and credit requirements for graduation from high 

school, community relations, and the philosophy, goals, and 

objectives of public education in Virginia. 

The statutory authority for these regulations this chapter is 

delineated in § 22.1-19 of the Code of Virginia, which 

includes the requirement that the board shall provide for the 

accreditation of public elementary, middle, and secondary 

schools in accordance with regulations prescribed by it.  
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These regulations govern This chapter governs public 

schools operated by local school boards providing instruction 

to students as defined in 8VAC20-131-5. Other schools 

licensed under other state statutes are exempt from these 

requirements.  

Part II  

Philosophy, Goals, and Objectives  

8VAC20-131-20. Philosophy, goals, and objectives.  

A. Achieving school quality and continuous improvement 

are accomplishments dependent upon multiple factors, 

including instruction, leadership, learning environment, 

professional staff development, student supports, parent and 

community engagement, and continual evaluation of 

outcomes. Goals and objectives to be achieved through these 

and other areas include student opportunities for learning, 

closure of achievement gaps, reduction of the dropout rate, 

increased graduation rates, and student mastery beyond 

minimum requirements. 

Preparation of all students should result in graduates who 

have explored and understand what opportunities exist for 

them after high school and have the knowledge and abilities 

necessary for the next phase of their lives as adults. Students 

should attain essential knowledge and skills in order that they 

may be equipped to be responsible citizens, understand and 

meet expectations for work, gain and apply knowledge, and 

plan and achieve personal life goals. In addition to academic 

and technical knowledge, their education should encompass 

mastery of creative and critical thinking, analysis and 

problem solving, and the development of personal attributes 

such as communication and collaboration skills, 

dependability, and persistence.  

The philosophy, goals, and objectives of individual schools 

should reflect and encompass the means by which the 

Standards of Learning and Standards of Accreditation are to 

be achieved.  

The board's objective is to provide an educational 

foundation that ensures students are ready to be successful in 

a global economy, which includes changing and growing 

technology. Families, students, employers, representatives 

from institutions of higher education, and educators have all 

expressed concerns about adequate preparation of Virginia's 

students for the future. In addition to appropriate content 

knowledge, stakeholders have asked that graduates be 

prepared with skills and attributes such as critical thinking, 

creative thinking, communication, collaboration, and 

citizenship in order to be prepared to be successful in life and 

competitive in the work world. In response, the board is 

redesigning the public school experience for Virginia's 

students so that they are adequately prepared for the future 

challenges they face.  

In Virginia, as a student progresses through elementary, 

middle, and secondary school, the college-ready, career-

ready, and citizenship-ready student is expected to achieve 

and apply appropriate academic and technical knowledge; 

attain and demonstrate age-appropriate productive workplace 

skills, qualities, and behavior; align knowledge, skills, and 

personal interests with career and civic opportunities; and 

attain and demonstrate knowledge and skills necessary for 

productive citizenship and participation in communities and 

governments.  

A. B. Each school shall have a current philosophy, goals, 

and objectives that shall serve as the basis for all policies and 

practices and shall be developed using the following criteria:  

1. The philosophy, goals, and objectives shall be developed 

with the advice of professional and lay people who 

represent the various populations served by the school and 

in consideration of the needs of the community and shall 

serve as a basis for the creation and review of the biennial 

school plan.  

2. The school's philosophy, goals, and objectives shall be 

consistent with the Standards of Quality.  

3. The goals and objectives shall (i) be written in plain 

language so as to be understandable to noneducators, 

including parents; (ii) to the extent possible, be stated in 

measurable terms; and (iii) consist primarily of measurable 

objectives to raise student and school achievement in the 

core academic areas of the Standards of Learning (SOL), to 

improve student and staff attendance, to reduce student 

drop-out dropout rates, to increase graduation rates, and to 

increase the quality of instruction through professional 

staff development and licensure.  

4. The school staff and community representatives shall 

review annually the extent to which the school has met its 

prior goals and objectives, analyze the school's student 

performance data, including data by grade level or 

academic department as necessary, and report these 

outcomes to the division superintendent and the 

community in accordance with local school board policy. 

This report shall be in addition to the school report card 

quality profile required by 8VAC20-131-270 B A.  

B. C. Copies of the school's philosophy, goals, and 

objectives shall be available upon request.  

Part III  

Student Achievement  

8VAC20-131-30. Student achievement expectations.  

A. Each student should learn the relevant grade level/course 

subject matter before promotion to the next grade. The 

division superintendent shall certify to the Department of 

Education that the division's promotion/retention promotion 

and retention policy does not exclude students from 

membership in a grade, or participation in a course, in which 

SOL tests are to be administered. Each school shall have a 

process, as appropriate, to identify and recommend strategies 

to address the learning, behavior, communication, or 

development of individual children who are having difficulty 

in the educational setting.  
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B. In kindergarten through eighth grade, where the 

administration of Virginia assessment program Assessment 

Program tests are required by the Board of Education board, 

each student shall be expected to take the tests students 

following instruction. Students who are accelerated shall take 

the tests of the grade level enrolled or the tests for the grade 

level of the content received in instruction test aligned with 

the highest grade level, following instruction in the content. 

No student shall take more than one test in any content area in 

each year, except in the case of expedited retakes as provided 

for in this section. Schools shall use the Virginia assessment 

program Assessment Program test results in kindergarten 

through eighth grade as part of a set of multiple criteria for 

determining the promotion or retention of students. Students 

promoted to high school from eighth grade should have 

attained basic mastery of the Standards of Learning in 

English, history and social science, mathematics, and science 

and should be prepared for high school work. Students shall 

not be required to retake the Virginia assessment program 

Assessment Program tests unless they are retained in grade 

and have not previously passed the related tests.  

With such funds as may be appropriated by the General 

Assembly, the Board of Education The board shall provide 

the same criteria for eligibility for an expedited retake of any 

Standards of Learning SOL test, with the exception of the 

writing Standards of Learning SOL tests, to each student 

regardless of grade level or course. 

C. In kindergarten through grade 12, students may 

participate in a remediation recovery program as established 

by the board in English (Reading) (reading) or mathematics 

or both.  

D. The board recommends that students in kindergarten 

through grade 8 not be required to attend summer school or 

weekend remediation classes solely based on failing a SOL 

test in science or history/social history and social science. 

However, any student who fails to achieve a passing score on 

all Standard of Learning assessments for the relevant grade 

level in grades 3 through 8 shall be required to attend a 

remediation program or to participate in another form of 

remediation. Further, any student who fails an end-of-course 

test required for the award of a verified unit of credit shall be 

required to attend a remediation program or to participate in 

another form of remediation. 

E. Each student in middle and secondary schools shall take 

all applicable end-of-course SOL tests following course 

instruction. The division superintendent shall certify to the 

Department of Education that the division's policy for 

dropping courses ensures that students' course schedules are 

not changed to avoid end-of-course SOL tests. Students who 

achieve a passing score on an end-of-course SOL test shall be 

awarded a verified unit of credit in that course in accordance 

with the provisions of 8VAC20-131-110. Students may earn 

verified units of credit in any courses for which end-of-course 

SOL tests are available. Students shall not be required to take 

an end-of-course SOL test in an academic subject after they 

have earned the number of verified credits required for that 

academic content area for graduation, unless such test is 

necessary in order for the school to meet federal 

accountability requirements. Middle and secondary schools 

may consider the student's end-of-course SOL test score in 

determining the student's final course grade. However, no 

student who has failed an end-of-course SOL test but passed 

the related course shall be prevented from taking any other 

course in a content area and from taking the applicable end-

of-course SOL test. The board may approve additional tests to 

verify student achievement in accordance with guidelines 

adopted for verified units of credit described in 8VAC20-131-

110.  

F. Participation in the Virginia assessment program 

Assessment Program by students with disabilities shall be 

prescribed by provisions of their Individualized Education 

Program (IEP) or 504 Plan. All students with disabilities shall 

be assessed with appropriate accommodations and alternate 

assessments where necessary.  

G. All students Any student identified as limited English 

proficient (LEP) an English Learner (EL) shall participate in 

the Virginia assessment program Assessment Program. A 

school-based committee shall convene and make 

determinations regarding the participation level of LEP EL 

students in the Virginia assessment program Assessment 

Program. In kindergarten through eighth grade, limited 

English proficient EL students may be granted a one-time 

exemption from SOL testing in the areas of writing, science, 

and history and social science.  

H. Students identified as foreign exchange students taking 

courses for credit shall be required to take the relevant 

Virginia assessment program Assessment Program tests, as 

specified in subsection E of this section. Foreign exchange 

students who are auditing courses are not eligible for 

academic credit for those courses and who will not receive a 

standard unit of credit for such courses shall not be required 

to take the Standards of Learning SOL tests for those courses.  

8VAC20-131-50. Requirements for graduation (effective 

for the students entering ninth grade prior to the 2018-

2019 school year). 

A. The requirements for a student to earn a diploma and 

graduate from a Virginia high school shall be those in effect 

when that student enters the ninth grade for the first time. 

Students shall be awarded a diploma upon graduation from a 

Virginia high school.  

The Advanced Studies Diploma shall be the recommended 

diploma for students pursuing baccalaureate study. Both the 

Standard Diploma and the Advanced Studies Diploma shall 

prepare students for postsecondary education and the career 

readiness required by the Commonwealth's economy.  

When students below the ninth grade successfully complete 

courses offered for credit in grades 9 through 12, credit shall 

be counted toward meeting the standard units required for 
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graduation provided the courses are equivalent in content and 

academic rigor as those courses offered at the secondary 

level. To earn a verified unit of credit for these courses, 

students must meet the requirements of 8VAC20-131-110.  

The following requirements shall be the only requirements for a 

diploma, unless a local school board has prescribed additional 

requirements that have been approved by the Board of Education 

board. All additional requirements prescribed by local school 

boards that have been approved by the Board of Education board 

remain in effect until such time as the local school board submits 

a request to the board to amend or discontinue them.  

B. Requirements for a Standard Diploma.  

1. Beginning with the ninth-grade class of 2013-2014 and 

beyond through the ninth-grade class of 2017-2018, 

students shall earn the required standard and verified units 

of credit described in subdivision 2 of this subsection.  

2. Credits required for graduation with a Standard 

Diploma.  

Discipline Area 

Standard 

Units of 

Credit 

Required 

Verified 

Credits 

Required 

English 4 2 

Mathematics1 3 1 

Laboratory 

Science2,6 
3 1 

History and Social 

Sciences3,6 
3 1 

Health and 

Physical Education 
2   

[ Foreign World ] 

Language, Fine 

Arts or Career and 

Technical 

Education7  

2    

Economics and 

Personal Finance 
1   

Electives4 4    

Student Selected 

Test5 
  1 

Career and 

Technical 

Education 

Credential8 
  

Total9 22 6 

   

1Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include at least 

two different course selections from among: Algebra I, Geometry, 

Algebra, Functions, and Data Analysis, Algebra II, or other 
mathematics courses above the level of Algebra II. The board shall 

approve courses to satisfy this requirement. Per the Standards of 

Quality, a computer science course credit earned by students may be 
considered a mathematics course credit.  

2Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include course 

selections from at least two different science disciplines: earth 
sciences, biology, chemistry, or physics, or completion of the 

sequence of science courses required for the International 

Baccalaureate Diploma. The board shall approve courses to satisfy 
this requirement. Per the Standards of Quality, a computer science 

course credit earned by students may be considered a science course 

credit.  
3Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include U.S. and 

Virginia History, U.S. and Virginia Government, and one course in 

either world history or geography or both. The board shall approve 
courses to satisfy this requirement. 

4Courses to satisfy this requirement shall include at least two 

sequential electives as required by the Standards of Quality. 
5A student may utilize additional tests for earning verified credit in 

computer science, technology, career and technical education, 

economics or other areas as prescribed by the board in 8VAC20-131-
110. 

6Students who complete a career and technical education program 

sequence and pass an examination or occupational competency 

assessment in a career and technical education field that confers 

certification or an occupational competency credential from a recognized 
industry, or trade or professional association, or [ acquires acquire ] a 

professional license in a career and technical education field from the 

Commonwealth of Virginia may substitute the certification, competency 

credential, or license for (i) the student-selected verified credit and (ii) 

either a science or history and social science verified credit when the 

certification, license, or credential confers more than one verified credit. 

The examination or occupational competency assessment must be 

approved by the Board of Education board as an additional test to verify 
student achievement. 

7Pursuant to § 22.1-253.13:4 of the Code of Virginia, credits earned 

for this requirement shall include one credit in fine or performing arts 

or career and technical education. Per the Standards of Quality, a 
computer science course credit earned by students may be considered 

a career and technical education course credit. 

8Students shall earn a career and technical education credential 
approved by the Board of Education, except when a career and 

technical education credential in a particular subject area is not 

readily available or appropriate or does not adequately measure 
student competency, in which case the student shall receive 

satisfactory competency-based instruction in the subject area to 

satisfy the standard diploma requirements. The career and technical 
education credential, when required, could include the successful 

completion of an industry certification, a state licensure examination, 

a national occupational competency assessment, or the Virginia 
workplace readiness assessment. 

9Students shall successfully complete one virtual course, which may 

be a noncredit-bearing course or a required or elective credit-bearing 
course that is offered online. 

Beginning with first-time ninth-grade students in the 2016-2017 
school year, students shall be trained in emergency first aid, 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and the use of automated external 

defibrillators, including hands-on practice of the skills necessary to 
perform cardiopulmonary resuscitation. Students with an 

Individualized Education Program (IEP) or 504 Plan [ which that ] 

documents that they cannot successfully complete this training shall 
be granted a waiver from this graduation requirement, as provided in 

8VAC20-131-350 8VAC20-131-420 B. 
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3. The Board of Education board shall establish, through 

guidelines, credit accommodations to the standard and 

verified credit requirements for a Standard Diploma. Such 

credit accommodations for students with disabilities may 

include:  

a. Approval of alternative courses to meet the standard 

credit requirements; 

b. Modifications to the requirements for local school 

divisions to award locally awarded verified credits; 

c. Approval of additional tests to earn a verified credit; 

d. Adjusted cut scores required to earn verified credit; 

and 

e. Allowance of work-based learning experiences. 

The student's Individualized Education Program (IEP) IEP 

or 504 Plan would shall specify any credit 

accommodations that would be are applicable for the 

student. 

Students completing the requirements for the Standard 

Diploma may be eligible to receive an honor deemed 

appropriate by the local school board as described in 

subsection H of this section.  

C. Requirements for an Advanced Studies Diploma.  

1. Beginning with the ninth-grade class of 2013-2014 and 

beyond through the ninth-grade class of 2017-2018, 

students shall earn the required standard and verified units 

of credit described in subdivision 2 of this subsection.  

2. Credits required for graduation with an Advanced 

Studies Diploma.  

Discipline Area 

Standard 

Units of 

Credit 

Required 

Verified 

Credits 

Required 

English 4 2 

Mathematics1 4 2 

Laboratory 

Science2 
4 2 

History and Social 

Sciences3 
4 2 

[ Foreign World ] 

Language4 
3   

Health and 

Physical Education 
2   

Fine Arts or Career 

and Technical 

Education5 

1   

Economics and 

Personal Finance 
1   

Electives 3   

Student Selected 

Test5 6 
  1 

Total6 7  26 9 

1Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include at least 

three different course selections from among: Algebra I, Geometry, 

Algebra II, or other mathematics courses above the level of Algebra 
II. The board shall approve courses to satisfy this requirement. Per 

the Standards of Quality, a computer science course credit earned by 

students may be considered a mathematics course credit.  
2Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include course 

selections from at least three different science disciplines from 

among: earth sciences, biology, chemistry, or physics or completion 
of the sequence of science courses required for the International 

Baccalaureate Diploma. The board shall approve additional courses 

to satisfy this requirement. Per the Standards of Quality, a computer 

science course credit earned by students may be considered a science 

course credit.  

3Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include U.S. and 
Virginia History, U.S. and Virginia Government, and two courses in 

either world history or geography or both. The board shall approve 

additional courses to satisfy this requirement. 
4Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include three 

years of one language or two years of two languages. 

5Per the Standards of Quality, a computer science course credit 
earned by students may be considered a career and technical 

education course credit.  

6A student may utilize additional tests for earning verified credit in 
computer science, technology, career or technical education, 

economics or other areas as prescribed by the board in 8VAC20-131-

110. 
67Students shall successfully complete one virtual course, which may 

be a noncredit-bearing course, or may be a course required to earn 

this diploma that is offered online. 

Students completing the requirements for the Advanced 

Studies Diploma may be eligible to receive an honor deemed 

appropriate by the local school board as described in 

subsection H of this section.  

Beginning with first-time ninth-grade students in the 2016-

2017 school year, students shall be trained in emergency first 

aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and the use of automated 

external defibrillators, including hands-on practice of the 

skills necessary to perform cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 

Students with an Individualized Education Program (IEP) IEP 

or 504 Plan which that documents that they cannot 

successfully complete this training shall be granted a waiver 

from this graduation requirement, as provided in 8VAC20-

131-350 8VAC20-131-420 B. 

D. In accordance with the requirements of the Standards of 

Quality, students with disabilities who complete the 

requirements of their Individualized Education Program (IEP) 

IEP and do not meet the requirements for other diplomas shall 

be awarded Applied Studies Diplomas.  

E. In accordance with the requirements of the Standards of 

Quality, students who complete prescribed programs of 

studies defined by the local school board but do not qualify 

for a Standard Diploma, an Advanced Studies Diploma, or an 
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Applied Studies Diploma shall be awarded Certificates of 

Program Completion. The requirements for Certificates of 

Program Completion are developed by local school boards in 

accordance with the Standards of Quality.  

F. In accordance with the provisions of the compulsory 

attendance law and 8VAC20-30, Regulations Governing 

Adult High School Programs, students who do not qualify for 

diplomas may earn a high school equivalency credential.  

G. At a student's request, the local school board shall 

communicate or otherwise make known to institutions of 

higher education, potential employers, or other applicable 

third parties, in a manner that the local school board deems 

appropriate, that a student has attained the state's academic 

expectations by earning a Virginia diploma and that the value 

of such a diploma is not affected in any way by the 

accreditation status of the student's school.  

H. Awards for exemplary student performance. Students 

who demonstrate academic excellence and/or or outstanding 

achievement may be eligible for one or more of the following 

awards:  

1. Students The Governor's Seal shall be awarded to 

students who complete the requirements for an Advanced 

Studies Diploma with an average grade of "B" or better, 

and successfully complete college-level coursework that 

will earn the student at least nine transferable college 

credits in Advanced Placement (AP), International 

Baccalaureate (IB), Cambridge, or dual enrollment courses 

shall receive the Governor's Seal on the diploma.  

2. Students The Board of Education Seal shall be awarded 

to students who complete the requirements for a Standard 

Diploma or an Advanced Studies Diploma with an average 

grade of "A" shall receive a Board of Education Seal on 

the diploma.  

3. The Board of Education's Career and Technical 

Education Seal will shall be awarded to students who earn 

a Standard Diploma or an Advanced Studies Diploma and 

complete a prescribed sequence of courses in a career and 

technical education concentration or specialization that 

they choose and maintain a "B" or better average in those 

courses; or (i) pass an examination or an occupational 

competency assessment in a career and technical education 

concentration or specialization that confers certification or 

occupational competency credential from a recognized 

industry, trade or professional association or (ii) acquire a 

professional license in that career and technical education 

field from the Commonwealth of Virginia. The Board of 

Education board shall approve all professional licenses and 

examinations used to satisfy these requirements.  

4. The Board of Education's Seal of Advanced 

Mathematics and Technology will shall be awarded to 

students who earn either a Standard Diploma or an 

Advanced Studies Diploma and (i) satisfy all of the 

mathematics requirements for the Advanced Studies 

Diploma (four units of credit including Algebra II; two 

verified units of credit) with a "B" average or better; and 

(ii) either (a) pass an examination in a career and technical 

education field that confers certification from a recognized 

industry, or trade, or professional association; (b) acquire a 

professional license in a career and technical education 

field from the Commonwealth of Virginia; or (c) pass an 

examination approved by the board that confers college-

level credit in a technology or computer science area. The 

Board of Education board shall approve all professional 

licenses and examinations used to satisfy these 

requirements.  

5. The Board of Education's Seal for Excellence in Civics 

Education will shall be awarded to students who earn 

either a Standard Diploma or an Advanced Studies 

Diploma and (i) complete Virginia and United States 

History history and Virginia and United States 

Government government courses with a grade of "B" or 

higher; (ii) have good attendance and no disciplinary 

infractions as determined by local school board policies; 

and (iii) complete 50 hours of voluntary participation in 

community service or extracurricular activities. Activities 

that would satisfy the requirements of clause (iii) of this 

subdivision include: (a) volunteering for a charitable or 

religious organization that provides services to the poor, 

sick, or less fortunate; (b) participating in Boy Scouts, Girl 

Scouts, or similar youth organizations; (c) participating in 

JROTC; (d) participating in political campaigns or 

government internships, or Boys State, Girls State, or 

Model General Assembly; or (e) participating in school-

sponsored extracurricular activities that have a civics 

focus. Any student who enlists in the United States 

military prior to graduation will shall be deemed to have 

met this community service requirement.  

6. The Board of Education's Seal of Biliteracy will shall be 

awarded to students who demonstrate proficiency in 

English and at least one other language and meet additional 

criteria established by the board. Such seal will shall be 

awarded to eligible students graduating from public high 

schools in the Commonwealth beginning in 2016. 

7. Students may receive other seals or awards for 

exceptional academic, career and technical, citizenship, or 

other exemplary performance in accordance with criteria 

defined by the local school board.  

I. Students completing graduation requirements in a summer 

school program shall be eligible for a diploma. The last 

school attended by the student during the regular session shall 

award the diploma unless otherwise agreed upon by the 

principals of the two schools.  

J. Students who complete Advanced Placement courses, 

college-level courses, or courses required for an International 

Baccalaureate Diploma shall be deemed to have completed 

the requirements for graduation under these standards 

provided they have earned the standard units of credit and 

earned verified units of credit in accordance with the 
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requirements for the Standard Diploma and the Advanced 

Studies Diploma, as specified in subsections B and C of this 

section.  

K. Students shall be counseled annually regarding the 

opportunities for using additional tests for earning verified 

credits, as provided in accordance with the provisions of 

8VAC20-131-110, and the consequences of failing to fulfill 

the obligations to complete the requirements for verified units 

of credit.  

8VAC20-131-51. Requirements for graduation (effective 

with the students who enter the ninth grade in the 2018-

2019 school year).  

A. The requirements for a student to earn a diploma and 

graduate from a Virginia high school shall be those in effect 

when that student enters the ninth grade for the first time. 

Students shall be awarded a diploma upon graduation from a 

Virginia high school.  

Both the Standard Diploma and the Advanced Studies 

Diploma shall provide multiple paths toward college, career, 

and citizenship readiness for students to follow in the later 

years of high school. Each such pathway shall provide 

meaningful and rigorous opportunities tied to instruction to 

achieve workplace and citizenship skills through [ 

experiences such as ] internships, externships, credentialing, 

and blended learning, which may be offered for credit toward 

high school graduation [ , in accordance with department 

guidelines ]. 

In accordance with the Profile of a Virginia Graduate 

approved by the board, the instructional program leading to a 

Standard Diploma or Advanced Studies Diploma shall ensure 

that students (i) attain the knowledge, skills, competencies, 

and experiences necessary to be successful in the evolving 

global economy whether immediately entering the world of 

work or pursuing a postsecondary education and (ii) acquire 

and be able to demonstrate foundational skills in critical 

thinking, creative thinking, collaboration, communication, 

and citizenship. 

When students below the ninth grade successfully complete 

courses offered for credit in grades 9 through 12, credit shall 

be counted toward meeting the standard units required for 

graduation provided the courses are equivalent in content and 

academic rigor as those courses offered at the secondary 

level. To earn a verified unit of credit for these courses, 

students must meet the requirements of 8VAC20-131-110.  

The requirements in this section shall be the only 

requirements for a diploma, unless a local school board has 

prescribed additional requirements that have been approved 

by the board. All additional requirements prescribed by local 

school boards that have been approved by the board remain in 

effect until such time as the local school board submits a 

request to the board to amend or discontinue them.  

B. Requirements for a Standard Diploma.  

1. Beginning with the ninth-grade class of 2018-2019 and 

beyond, students shall earn the required standard and 

verified units of credit described in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection.  

2. Credits required for graduation with a Standard 

Diploma.  

A "standard unit of credit" or "standard credit" is a credit 

awarded for a course in which the student successfully 

completes 140 clock hours of instruction and the 

requirements of the course. Local school boards may 

develop alternatives to the requirement for 140 clock hours 

of instruction as provided for in 8VAC20-131-110 and in 

accordance with board guidelines.  

A "verified unit of credit" or "verified credit" is a credit 

awarded for a course in which a student earns a standard 

unit of credit and (i) achieves a passing score on a 

corresponding end-of-course SOL test; (ii) achieves a 

passing score on an additional test, as defined in 8VAC20-

131-5 as part of the Virginia Assessment Program; (iii) 

meets the criteria for the receipt of a locally awarded 

verified credit conferred in accordance with board criteria 

and guidelines as provided in 8VAC20-131-110 B 3 when 

the student has not passed a corresponding SOL test in 

English, mathematics, laboratory science, or history and 

social science; (iv) meets the criteria for the receipt of a 

verified credit for history and social science by 

demonstrating mastery of the content of the associated 

course on an authentic performance assessment, as 

provided in 8VAC20-131-110 B 4; or (v) meets the criteria 

for the receipt of a verified credit for English (writing) by 

demonstrating mastery of the content of the associated 

course on authentic performance assessments as provided 

in 8VAC20-131-110 B 5.  

No more than one locally awarded verified credit may be 

used to satisfy these requirements, except as provided in 

subdivision 3 of this subsection for credit accommodations 

for students with disabilities. 

Discipline Area 

Standard 

Units of 

Credit 

Required 

Verified 

Credits 

Required 

  

English (reading 

and writing) 

4 2 
  

Mathematics 3 1   

Laboratory Science 3 1   

History and Social 

Science 

3 1 
  

Health and Physical 

Education 

2  
  



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 11, 2017 

779 

World Language, 

Fine Arts or Career 

and Technical 

Education 

2  

  

Economics and 

Personal Finance 

1  
  

Electives 4    

Total  22 5   

    

Discipline Area Specifications 

[ English (reading 

and writing) ]  

[ The board shall approve 

courses to satisfy this 

requirement. ]  

Mathematics Courses completed to satisfy this 

requirement shall include at least 

two different course selections 

from among: algebra I, 

geometry, algebra functions, and 

data analysis, algebra II, or other 

mathematics courses approved 

by the board to satisfy this 

requirement. Per the Standards of 

Quality, a computer science 

course credit earned by students 

may be considered a 

mathematics course credit. 

Laboratory Science Courses completed to satisfy this 

requirement shall include course 

selection from at least two 

different science disciplines: 

earth sciences, biology, 

chemistry, or physics, or 

completion of the sequence of 

science courses required for the 

International Baccalaureate 

Diploma and shall include 

interdisciplinary courses that 

incorporate Standards of 

Learning content from multiple 

academic areas. The board shall 

approve courses to satisfy this 

requirement. Per the Standards of 

Quality, a computer science 

course credit earned by students 

may be considered a science 

course credit. 

History and Social 

Science 

Courses completed to satisfy this 

requirement shall include 

Virginia and U.S. history, 

Virginia and U.S. government, 

and one course in either world 

history or geography or both. 

The board shall approve courses 

to satisfy this requirement. 

Laboratory Science, 

and History and 

Social Science 

Students who complete a career 

and technical education program 

sequence and pass an 

examination or occupational 

competency assessment in a 

career and technical education 

field that confers certification or 

an occupational competency 

credential from a recognized 

industry, or trade or professional 

association, or acquires a 

professional license in a career 

and technical education field 

from the Commonwealth of 

Virginia may substitute the 

certification, competency 

credential, or license for either a 

laboratory science or history and 

social science verified credit 

when the certification, license, or 

credential confers more than one 

verified credit. The examination 

or occupational competency 

assessment must be approved by 

the board as an additional test to 

verify student achievement.  

World Language, 

Fine Arts or Career 

and Technical 

Education 

Per the Standards of Quality, 

credits earned for this 

requirement shall include one 

credit in fine or performing arts 

or career and technical education. 

Per the Standards of Quality, a 

computer science course credit 

earned by students may be 

considered a career and technical 

course credit.  

Electives Courses to satisfy this 

requirement shall include at least 

two sequential electives as 

required by the Standards of 

Quality. 
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Additional Requirements for Graduation 

Advanced 

Placement, Honors, 

or International 

Baccalaureate 

Course or Career 

and Technical 

Education 

Credential 

In accordance with the Standards 

of Quality, students shall either 

(i) complete an Advanced 

Placement, honors, or 

International Baccalaureate 

course, or (ii) earn a career and 

technical education credential 

approved by the board, except 

when a career and technical 

education credential in a 

particular subject area is not 

readily available or appropriate 

or does not adequately measure 

student competency, in which 

case the student shall receive 

satisfactory competency-based 

instruction in the subject area to 

satisfy the standard diploma 

requirements. The career and 

technical education credential, 

when required, could include the 

successful completion of an 

industry certification, a state 

licensure examination, a national 

occupational competency 

assessment, or the Virginia 

workplace readiness assessment. 

Virtual Course Students shall successfully 

complete one virtual course, which 

may be a non-credit-bearing course 

or a required or elective credit-

bearing course that is offered 

online. 

Training in 

emergency first aid, 

cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation (CPR), 

and the use of 

automated external 

defibrillators (AED) 

Students shall be trained in 

emergency first aid, CPR, and the 

use of AED, including hands-on 

practice of the skills necessary to 

perform cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation. Students with an IEP 

or 504 Plan that documents that 

they cannot successfully complete 

this training shall be granted a 

waiver from this graduation 

requirement, as provided in 

8VAC20-131-420 B. 

Demonstration of 

the five Cs 

Students shall acquire and 

demonstrate foundational skills 

in critical thinking, creative 

thinking, collaboration, 

communication, and citizenship 

in accordance with the Profile of 

a Virginia Graduate approved by 

the board. 

3. The board shall establish through guidelines credit 

accommodations to the standard and verified credit 

requirements for a Standard Diploma. Such credit 

accommodations for students with disabilities may include:  

a. Approval of alternative courses to meet the standard 

credit requirements; 

b. Modifications to the requirements for local school 

divisions to award locally awarded verified credits; 

c. Approval of additional tests to earn a verified credit; 

d. Adjusted cut scores required to earn verified credit; 

and 

e. Allowance of work-based learning experiences. 

The student's IEP or 504 Plan shall specify any credit 

accommodations applicable for the student. 

Students completing the requirements for the Standard 

Diploma may be eligible to receive an honor deemed 

appropriate by the local school board as described in 

subsection H of this section.  

C. Requirements for an Advanced Studies Diploma.  

1. Beginning with the ninth-grade class of 2018-2019 and 

beyond, students shall earn the required standard and 

verified units of credit described in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection. 

2. Credits required for graduation with an Advanced 

Studies Diploma.  

A "standard unit of credit" or "standard credit" is a credit 

awarded for a course in which the student successfully 

completes 140 clock hours of instruction and the 

requirements of the course. Local school boards may 

develop alternatives to the requirement for 140 clock hours 

of instruction as provided for in 8VAC20-131-110 and in 

accordance with board guidelines.  

A "verified unit of credit" or "verified credit" is a credit 

awarded for a course in which a student earns a standard 

unit of credit and (i) achieves a passing score on a 

corresponding end-of-course SOL test; (ii) achieves a 

passing score on an additional test, as defined in 8VAC20-

131-5, as part of the Virginia Assessment Program; (iii) 

meets the criteria for the receipt of a locally awarded 

verified credit conferred in accordance with board criteria 

and guidelines as provided in 8VAC20-131-110 B 3 when 

the student has not passed a corresponding SOL test in 

English, mathematics, laboratory science, or history and 

social science; (iv) meets the criteria for the receipt of a 

verified credit for history and social science by 

demonstrating mastery of the content of the associated 

course on an authentic performance assessment, as 

provided in 8VAC20-131-110 B 4; or (v) meets the criteria 

for the receipt of a verified credit for English (writing) by 

demonstrating mastery of the content of the associated 

course on an authentic performance assessment, as 

provided in 8VAC20-131-110 B 5.  
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No more than one locally awarded verified credit may be 

used to satisfy these requirements. 

Discipline Area 

Standard 

Units of 

Credit 

Required 

Verified 

Credits 

Required 

English (reading and 

writing) 

4 2 

Mathematics 4 1 

Laboratory Science 4 1 

History and Social 

Science 

4 1 

World Language 3  

Health and Physical 

Education 

2  

Fine Arts or Career 

and Technical 

Education 

1  

Economics and 

Personal Finance 

1  

Electives 3  

Total 26 5 

  

Discipline Area Specifications 

[ English (reading 

and writing) ] 

[ The board shall approve courses 

to satisfy this requirement. ] 

Mathematics Courses completed to satisfy this 

requirement shall include at least 

three different course selections 

from among: algebra I, geometry, 

algebra II, or other mathematics 

courses above the level of algebra 

II. The board shall approve 

courses to satisfy this requirement. 

Per the Standards of Quality, a 

computer science course credit 

earned by students may be 

considered a mathematics course 

credit. 

Laboratory Science Courses completed to satisfy this 

requirement shall include course 

selections from at least three 

different science disciplines from 

among: earth sciences, biology, 

chemistry, or physics or 

completion of the sequence of 

science courses required for the 

International Baccalaureate 

Diploma and shall include 

interdisciplinary courses that 

incorporate Standards of Learning 

content from multiple academic 

areas. The board shall approve 

additional courses to satisfy this 

requirement. Per the Standards of 

Quality, a computer science 

course credit earned by students 

may be considered a science 

course credit. 

History and Social 

Science 

Courses completed to satisfy this 

requirement shall include Virginia 

and U.S. history, Virginia and 

U.S. government, and two courses 

in either world history or 

geography or both. The board 

shall approve additional courses to 

satisfy this requirement.  

World Language Courses completed to satisfy this 

requirement shall include three 

years of one language or two years 

of two languages. 

Fine Arts or Career 

and Technical 

Education  

Per the Standards of Quality, a 

computer science course credit 

earned by students may be 

considered a career and technical 

credit. 

[ Electives ]  [ Courses to satisfy this 

requirement shall include at least 

two sequential electives as 

required by the Standards of 

Quality. ] 

 

Additional Requirements for Graduation 

Advanced 

Placement, Honors, 

or International 

Baccalaureate 

Course or Career 

and Technical 

Education Credential 

In accordance with the Standards 

of Quality, students shall either (i) 

complete an Advanced Placement, 

honors, or International 

Baccalaureate course or (ii) earn a 

career and technical education 

credential approved by the board, 

except when a career and 

technical education credential in a 

particular subject area is not 

readily available or appropriate or 

does not adequately measure 

student competency, in which case 

the student shall receive 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 11, 2017 

782 

satisfactory competency-based 

instruction in the subject area to 

satisfy the advanced studies 

diploma requirements. The career 

and technical education credential, 

when required, could include the 

successful completion of an 

industry certification, a state 

licensure examination, a national 

occupational competency 

assessment, or the Virginia 

workplace readiness assessment. 

Virtual Course Students shall successfully 

complete one virtual course, 

which may be a non-credit-

bearing course or a required or 

elective credit-bearing course that 

is offered online. 

Training in 

emergency first aid, 

cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation (CPR), 

and the use of 

automated external 

defibrillators (AED). 

Students shall be trained in 

emergency first aid, CPR, and the 

use of AED, including hands-on 

practice of the skills necessary to 

perform cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation. Students with an 

IEP or 504 Plan that documents 

that they cannot successfully 

complete this training shall be 

granted a waiver from this 

graduation requirement, as 

provided in 8VAC20-131-420 B. 

Demonstration of the 

five Cs 

Students shall acquire and 

demonstrate foundational skills in 

critical thinking, creative thinking, 

collaboration, communication, 

and citizenship in accordance with 

the Profile of a Virginia Graduate 

approved by the board. 

D. Requirements for an Applied Studies Diploma. In 

accordance with the requirements of the Standards of Quality, 

a student with disabilities who completes the requirements of 

the student's IEP and does not meet the requirements for other 

diplomas shall be awarded Applied Studies Diplomas in 

accordance with state and federal laws and regulations 

regarding special education.  

Students who pursue an Applied Studies Diploma shall be 

allowed to pursue a Standard Diploma or an Advanced 

Studies Diploma at any time during high school. Such 

students shall not be excluded from courses or tests required 

to earn these diplomas.  

E. Requirements for Certificates of Program Completion. In 

accordance with the requirements of the Standards of Quality, 

students who complete prescribed programs of studies 

defined by the local school board but do not qualify for a 

Standard Diploma, an Advanced Studies Diploma, or an 

Applied Studies Diploma shall be awarded Certificates of 

Program Completion. The requirements for Certificates of 

Program Completion are developed by local school boards in 

accordance with the Standards of Quality.  

F. In accordance with the provisions of the compulsory 

attendance law and 8VAC20-30, Regulations Governing 

Adult High School Programs, students who do not qualify for 

diplomas may earn a high school equivalency credential. The 

requirements for the General Achievement [ Adult High 

School ] Diploma are provided in [ 8VAC20-20 8VAC20-30-

20 ]. 

G. At a student's request, the local school board shall 

communicate or otherwise make known to institutions of 

higher education, potential employers, or other applicable 

third parties, in a manner that the local school board deems 

appropriate, that a student has attained the state's academic 

expectations by earning a Virginia diploma and that the value 

of such a diploma is not affected in any way by the 

accreditation status of the student's school.  

H. Awards for exemplary student performance. Students 

who demonstrate academic excellence and outstanding 

achievement may be eligible for one or more of the following 

awards:  

1. The Governor's Seal shall be awarded to students who 

complete the requirements for an Advanced Studies 

Diploma with an average grade of "B" or better and 

successfully complete college-level coursework that shall 

earn the student at least nine transferable college credits in 

Advanced Placement (AP), International Baccalaureate 

(IB), Cambridge, or dual enrollment courses.  

2. The Board of Education Seal shall be awarded to 

students who complete the requirements for a Standard 

Diploma or an Advanced Studies Diploma with an average 

grade of "A." 

3. The Board of Education's Career and Technical 

Education Seal shall be awarded to students who earn a 

Standard Diploma or an Advanced Studies Diploma and 

complete a prescribed sequence of courses in a career and 

technical education concentration or specialization that 

they choose and maintain a "B" or better average in those 

courses or (i) pass an examination or an occupational 

competency assessment in a career and technical education 

concentration or specialization that confers certification or 

occupational competency credential from a recognized 

industry, trade, or professional association or (ii) acquire a 

professional license in that career and technical education 

field from the Commonwealth of Virginia. The board shall 

approve all professional licenses and examinations used to 

satisfy these requirements.  

4. The Board of Education's Seal of Advanced 

Mathematics and Technology shall be awarded to students 

who earn either a Standard Diploma or an Advanced 

Studies Diploma and (i) satisfy all of the mathematics 
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requirements for the Advanced Studies Diploma with a "B" 

average or better and (ii) pass an examination in a career 

and technical education field that confers certification from 

a recognized industry, or trade or professional association; 

acquire a professional license in a career and technical 

education field from the Commonwealth of Virginia; or 

pass an examination approved by the board that confers 

college-level credit in a technology or computer science 

area. The board shall approve all professional licenses and 

examinations used to satisfy these requirements.  

5. The Board of Education's Seal for Excellence in Civics 

Education shall be awarded to students who earn either a 

Standard Diploma or an Advanced Studies Diploma and (i) 

complete Virginia and United States history and Virginia 

and United States government courses with a grade of "B" 

or higher; (ii) have good attendance and no disciplinary 

infractions as determined by local school board policies; 

and (iii) complete 50 hours of voluntary participation in 

community service or extracurricular activities. Activities 

that satisfy the requirements of clause (iii) of this 

subdivision include (a) volunteering for a charitable or 

religious organization that provides services to the poor, 

sick, or less fortunate; (b) participating in Boy Scouts, Girl 

Scouts, or similar youth organizations; (c) participating in 

JROTC; (d) participating in political campaigns or 

government internships, or Boys State, Girls State, or 

Model General Assembly; or (e) participating in school-

sponsored extracurricular activities that have a civics 

focus. Any student who enlists in the United States 

military prior to graduation shall be deemed to have met 

this community service requirement.  

6. The Board of Education's Seal of Biliteracy shall be 

awarded to students who demonstrate proficiency in 

English and at least one other language and meet additional 

criteria established by the board.  

7. The Board of Education's Seal for Excellence in Science 

and the Environment shall be awarded to students who 

earn either a Standard Diploma or Advanced Studies 

Diploma and (i) complete at least three different first-level 

board-approved laboratory science courses and at least one 

rigorous advanced-level or postsecondary-level laboratory 

science course, each with a grade of "B" or higher; (ii) 

complete laboratory or field-science research and present 

that research in a formal, juried setting; and (iii) complete 

at least 50 hours of voluntary participation in community 

service or extracurricular activities that involve the 

application of science such as environmental monitoring, 

protection, management, or restoration. 

8. Students may receive other seals or awards for 

exceptional academic, career and technical, citizenship, or 

other exemplary performance in accordance with criteria 

defined by the local school board.  

I. Students completing graduation requirements in a summer 

school program shall be eligible for a diploma. The last 

school attended by the student during the regular session shall 

award the diploma unless otherwise agreed upon by the 

principals of the two schools.  

J. Students who complete Advanced Placement courses, 

college-level courses, or courses required for an International 

Baccalaureate Diploma shall be deemed to have completed 

the course requirements for graduation under these standards 

provided they have earned the total number of standard units 

of credit and verified units of credit in each discipline area in 

accordance with the requirements for the Standard Diploma 

and the Advanced Studies Diploma, as specified in 

subsections B and C of this section.  

K. Students shall be counseled annually regarding the 

opportunities for using additional tests for earning verified 

credits, as provided in accordance with the provisions of 

8VAC20-131-110, and the consequences of failing to fulfill 

the obligations to complete the requirements for verified units 

of credit.  

8VAC20-131-60. Transfer students.  

A. The provisions of this section pertain generally to 

students who transfer into Virginia high schools. Students 

transferring in grades K-8 kindergarten through 8 from 

Virginia public schools or nonpublic schools accredited by 

one of the approved accrediting constituent members of the 

Virginia Council for Private Education (VCPE) shall be given 

recognition for all grade-level work completed. The academic 

record of students transferring from all other schools shall be 

evaluated to determine appropriate grade placement in 

accordance with policies adopted by the local school board. 

The State Testing Identifier (STI) for students who transfer 

into a Virginia public school from another Virginia public 

school shall be retained by the receiving school.  

B. For the purposes of this section, the term "beginning" 

means within the first 20 hours of instruction per course. The 

term "during" means after the first 20 hours of instruction per 

course.  

C. Standard or verified units of credit earned by a student in 

a Virginia public school shall be transferable without 

limitation regardless of the accreditation status of the Virginia 

public school in which the credits were earned. Virginia 

public schools shall accept standard and verified units of 

credit from other Virginia public schools, Virginia's virtual 

learning program, Virtual Virginia, and state-operated 

programs. Standard units of credit also shall be accepted for 

courses satisfactorily completed in accredited colleges and 

universities when prior written approval of the principal has 

been granted or the student has been given credit by the 

previous school attended.  

D. A secondary school shall accept credits toward 

graduation received from Virginia nonpublic schools 

accredited by one of the approved accrediting constituent 

members of the Virginia Council for Private Education 

(VCPE) VCPE. The Board of Education will board shall 

maintain contact with the VCPE and may periodically review 
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its accrediting procedures and policies as part of its policies 

under this section.  

Nothing in these standards shall prohibit a public school 

from accepting standard units of credit toward graduation 

awarded to students who transfer from all other schools when 

the courses for which the student receives credit generally 

match the description of or can be substituted for courses for 

which the receiving school gives standard credit, and the 

school from which the child transfers certifies that the courses 

for which credit is given meet the requirements of 8VAC20-

131-110 A.  

Students transferring into a Virginia public school shall be 

required to meet the requirements prescribed in 8VAC20-

131-50 to receive a Standard Diploma or an Advanced 

Studies Diploma, except as provided by subsection G of this 

section. To receive an Applied Studies Diploma or Certificate 

of Program Completion, a student must meet the 

requirements prescribed by the Standards of Quality.  

E. The academic record of a student transferring from other 

Virginia public schools shall be sent directly to the school 

receiving the student upon request of the receiving school in 

accordance with the provisions of the 8VAC20-150, 

Management of the Student's Scholastic Record in the Public 

Schools of Virginia. The State Testing Identifier (STI) for 

students who transfer into a Virginia public school from 

another Virginia public school shall be retained by the 

receiving school.  

F. The academic record of a student transferring into 

Virginia public schools from other than a Virginia public 

school shall be evaluated to determine the number of standard 

units of credit that have been earned, including credit from 

schools outside the United States, and the number of verified 

units of credit needed to graduate in accordance with 

subsection G of this section. Standard units of credit also 

shall be accepted for courses satisfactorily completed in 

accredited colleges and universities when the student has 

been given credit by the previous school attended.  

Students transferring above the tenth grade from schools or 

other education programs that do not require or give credit for 

health and physical education shall not be required to take 

these courses to meet graduation requirements.  

Students transferring into a Virginia public school from 

other than a Virginia public school shall earn no fewer than 

the number of verified units listed in subdivision G 1 or G 2 

of this section. The school division shall accept the following 

tests from the sending state, country, private school, or 

Department of Defense Educational Activity school for the 

purpose of awarding verified units of credit in courses 

previously completed at another school or program of study, 

for the purpose of awarding a Virginia high school diploma: 

1. End-of-course tests required for graduation by the 

sending state;  

2. Exit tests required for graduation by the sending state; 

and 

3. National norm-referenced achievement tests. When 

students transfer to a Virginia public school from a state 

that requires a national norm-referenced achievement test, 

and that state education agency has set a "cut score" or 

passing score for the purpose of graduation, the school 

division shall accept the test for the purpose of awarding a 

verified credit if the test includes some content in a subject 

for which a verified credit may be awarded. If that state 

education agency has not set a cut score for the norm-

referenced test, the test may not be used for the purpose of 

awarding a verified credit or earning a high school 

diploma. 

Any substitute test approved by the board for verified credit 

shall be accepted in lieu of the applicable SOL tests if the 

applicable standard credit has been earned by the student.  

The sending state's test must include content in the subjects 

for which verified credit is awarded. The test does not have to 

be comparable to a Virginia SOL test, so long as the test 

includes some content in the subject area. If the test includes 

some content from more than one subject, verified credits 

shall be awarded for every subject area covered by the test. 

G. Students entering a Virginia public high school for the 

first time after the tenth grade shall earn as many credits as 

possible toward the prescribed graduation requirements 

prescribed in 8VAC20-131-50. However, schools may 

substitute courses required in other states in the same content 

area if the student is unable to meet the specific content 

requirements of 8VAC20-131-50 or 8VAC20-131-51, 

respectively, without taking a heavier than normal course load 

in any semester, by taking summer school, or by taking 

courses after the time when he the student otherwise would 

have graduated. In any event, no such student shall earn fewer 

than the following number of verified units, nor shall such 

students be required to take SOL tests or additional tests as 

defined in 8VAC20-131-110 for verified units of credit in 

courses previously completed at another school or program of 

study, unless necessary to meet the requirements listed in 

subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection:  

The graduation requirements for students transferring into a 

Virginia high school for the first time shall be as follows: 

1. For a Standard Diploma:  

a. Students entering a Virginia high school for the first 

time at the beginning of or during the ninth grade or at 

the beginning of the tenth grade prior to the 2018-2019 

school year shall earn credit as meet the graduation 

requirements prescribed in 8VAC20-131-50;. Students 

entering a Virginia high school for the first time at the 

beginning of or during the ninth grade in the 2018-2019 

school year or thereafter shall meet the graduation 

requirements prescribed in 8VAC20-131-51. 
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b. Students entering a Virginia high school for the first 

time at the beginning of or during the tenth grade prior to 

the 2019-2020 school year or at the beginning of the 

eleventh grade prior to the 2020-2021 school year shall 

meet the graduation requirements prescribed in 8VAC20-

131-50, except that such students shall only be required 

to earn a minimum of four verified units of credit: one 

each in English, mathematics, history, and science. 

Students who complete a career and technical education 

program sequence may substitute a certificate, 

occupational competency credential or license for either 

a science or history and social science verified credit 

pursuant to 8VAC20-131-50; and entering a Virginia 

high school for the first time at the beginning of or 

during the tenth grade in the 2019-2020 school year or 

thereafter or at the beginning of the eleventh grade in the 

2020-2021 school year or thereafter, shall meet the 

graduation requirements prescribed in 8VAC20-131-51. 

c. Students entering a Virginia high school for the first 

time during the eleventh grade prior to the 2020-2021 

school year or at the beginning of the twelfth grade prior 

to the 2021-2022 school year shall meet the graduation 

requirements prescribed in 8VAC20-131-50, except that 

such students shall only be required to earn a minimum 

of two verified units of credit: one in English and one in 

mathematics if participation in mathematics testing is 

required by federal law, otherwise, such verified credit 

may be of the student's own choosing. Students entering 

a Virginia high school for the first time during the 

eleventh grade in the 2020-2021 school year or 

thereafter, or at the beginning of twelfth grade in the 

2021-2022 school year or thereafter, shall meet the 

graduation requirements prescribed in 8VAC20-131-51, 

except that such students shall only be required to earn a 

minimum of two verified units of credit: one in English 

and one in mathematics if participation in mathematics 

testing is required by federal law, otherwise, such 

verified credit may be of the student's own choosing. 

d. Students transferring after 20 instructional hours per 

course of their senior or twelfth grade year shall be given 

every opportunity to earn a diploma following the 

graduation requirements prescribed in 8VAC20-131-50 

for students entering prior to the 2021-2022 school year, 

or following the graduation requirements prescribed in 

8VAC20-131-51 for students entering in the 2021-2022 

school year or thereafter. If it is not possible for the 

student to meet the requirements for a diploma, 

arrangements should be made for the student's previous 

school to award the diploma. If these arrangements 

cannot be made, a waiver of the verified unit of credit 

requirements may be available to the student. The 

Department of Education may grant such waivers upon 

request by the local school board in accordance with 

guidelines prescribed by the board. 

2. For an Advanced Studies Diploma:  

a. Students entering a Virginia high school for the first 

time at the beginning of or during the ninth grade or at 

the beginning of the tenth grade prior to the 2018-2019 

school year shall earn credit as prescribed in 8VAC20-

131-50;. Students entering a Virginia high school for the 

first time at the beginning of or during the ninth grade in 

the 2018-2019 school year or thereafter shall earn credit 

as prescribed in 8VAC20-131-51.  

b. Students entering a Virginia high school for the first 

time at the beginning of or during the tenth grade prior to 

the 2019-2020 school year or at the beginning of the 

eleventh grade prior to the 2020-2021 school year shall 

meet the graduation requirements prescribed in 8VAC20-

131-50, except that such students shall only be required 

to earn a minimum of six verified units of credit: two in 

English and one each in mathematics, history, and 

science and one of the student's own choosing; and. 

Students entering a Virginia high school for the first time 

[ at the beginning of or ] during the tenth grade in the 

2019-2020 school year or thereafter or at the beginning 

of the eleventh grade in the 2020-2021 school year or 

thereafter shall earn credit as prescribed in 8VAC20-131-

51. 

c. Students entering a Virginia high school for the first 

time during the eleventh grade prior to the 2020-2021 

school year or at the beginning of the twelfth grade prior 

to the 2021-2022 school year shall meet the graduation 

requirements prescribed in 8VAC20-131-50, except that 

such students shall only be required to earn a minimum 

of four verified units of credit: one in English and three, 

one in mathematics if required participation in 

mathematics testing is required by federal law, otherwise 

such verified credit may be of the student's own 

choosing, and two additional verified credits of the 

student's own choosing. Students entering a Virginia high 

school for the first time during the eleventh grade in the 

2020-2021 school year or thereafter, or at the beginning 

of the twelfth grade in the 2021-2022 school year or 

thereafter, shall meet the graduation requirements 

prescribed in 8VAC20-131-51, except that such students 

shall only be required to earn a minimum of two verified 

units of credit: one in English, and one in mathematics if 

required participation in mathematics testing is required 

by federal law, otherwise such verified credit may be of 

the student's own choosing. 

d. Students transferring after 20 instructional hours per 

course of their senior or twelfth grade year shall be given 

every opportunity to earn a diploma following the 

graduation requirements prescribed in 8VAC20-131-50 

for students entering prior to the 2021-2022 school year, 

or following the graduation requirements prescribed in 

8VAC20-131-51 for students entering in the 2021-2022 

school year or thereafter. If it is not possible for the 
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student to meet the requirements for a diploma, 

arrangements should be made for the student's previous 

school to award the diploma. If these arrangements 

cannot be made, a waiver of the verified unit of credit 

requirements may be available to the student. The 

Department of Education may grant such waivers upon 

request by the local school board in accordance with 

guidelines prescribed by the board. 

3. For an Applied Studies Diploma: In accordance with the 

requirements of the Standards of Quality, students with 

disabilities who complete the requirements of their 

Individualized Education Plan and do not meet the 

requirements for other diplomas shall be awarded Applied 

Studies Diplomas in accordance with state and federal laws 

and regulations regarding special education. 

Students who pursue an Applied Studies Diploma shall be 

allowed to pursue a Standard Diploma or an Advanced 

Studies Diploma at any time during high school. Such 

students shall not be excluded from courses or tests 

required to earn these diplomas. 

4. For a Certificate of Program Completion: In accordance 

with the requirements of the Standards of Quality, students 

who complete prescribed programs of studies defined by 

the local school board, but do not qualify for a Standard 

Diploma, an Advanced Studies Diploma, or an Applied 

Studies Diploma shall be awarded Certificates of Program 

Completion. The requirements for Certificates of Program 

Completion are developed by local school boards in 

accordance with the Standards of Quality. 

H. Students entering a Virginia high school for the first time 

after the first semester of their eleventh grade year must meet 

the requirements of subdivision G 1 c or G 2 c of this section. 

Students transferring after 20 instructional hours per course of 

their senior or twelfth grade year shall be given every 

opportunity to earn a Standard Diploma or an Advanced 

Studies Diploma. If it is not possible for the student to meet 

the requirements for a diploma, arrangements should be made 

for the student's previous school to award the diploma. If 

these arrangements cannot be made, a waiver of the verified 

unit of credit requirements may be available to the student. 

The Department of Education may grant such waivers upon 

request by the local school board in accordance with 

guidelines prescribed by the Board of Education.  

I. H. Any local school division receiving approval to 

increase its course credit requirements for a diploma may not 

deny either the Standard Diploma or the Advanced Studies 

Diploma to any transfer student who has otherwise met the 

requirements contained in these standards if the transfer 

student can only meet the division's additional requirements 

by taking a heavier than normal course load in any semester, 

by taking summer school, or by taking courses after the time 

when he the student otherwise would have graduated.  

J. I. The transcript of a student who graduates or transfers 

from a Virginia secondary school shall conform to the 

requirements of 8VAC20-160, Regulations Governing 

Secondary School Transcripts.  

K. J. The accreditation status of a high school shall not be 

included on the student transcript provided to colleges, 

universities, or employers. The board expressly states that any 

student who has met the graduation requirements established 

in 8VAC20-131-50 and has received a Virginia diploma 

holds a diploma that should be recognized as equal to any 

other Virginia diploma of the same type, regardless of the 

accreditation status of the student's high school. It is the 

express policy of the board that no student shall be affected 

by the accreditation status of the student's school. The board 

shall take appropriate action, from time to time, to ensure that 

no student is affected by the accreditation status of the 

student's school.  

Part IV  

School Instructional Program  

8VAC20-131-70. Program of instruction and learning 

objectives.  

A. As required by the Standards of Quality, each local 

school board shall develop and implement a program of 

instruction for grades kindergarten through 12 that is aligned 

to the Standards of Learning and meets or exceeds the 

requirements of the board. The program of instruction shall 

emphasize reading, writing, speaking, mathematical concepts 

and computations, proficiency in the use of computers and 

related technology, computer science and computational 

thinking, including computer coding, and scientific concepts 

and processes; essential skills and concepts of citizenship, 

including knowledge of Virginia history and world and 

United States history, economics, government, [ foreign 

world ] languages, international cultures, health and physical 

education, environmental issues, and geography necessary for 

responsible participation in American society and in the 

international community; fine arts, which may include music 

and art, and practical arts; knowledge and skills needed to 

qualify for further education, gainful employment, or training 

in a career or technical field; and development of the ability 

to apply such skills and knowledge in preparation for 

eventual employment and lifelong learning and to achieve 

economic self-sufficiency. 

B. As described in 8VAC20-131-51 and in accordance with 

the Profile of a Virginia Graduate approved by the board, the 

instructional program and learning objectives shall ensure that 

students (i) attain the knowledge, skills, competencies, and 

experiences necessary to be successful in the evolving global 

economy whether immediately entering the world of work or 

pursuing a postsecondary education and (ii) acquire and be 

able to demonstrate foundational skills in critical thinking, 

creative thinking, collaboration, communication, and 

citizenship. Consistent with the Profile of a Virginia 

Graduate, the instructional program and learning objectives 

shall ensure that, as age appropriate, during the kindergarten 

through grade 12 experience, students achieve and apply 
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appropriate career development and technical knowledge. 

During the elementary and middle school years, students shall 

explore personal interests, be exposed to different types of 

careers, and plan for career development. In the later school 

years students are to attain and demonstrate productive 

workplace skills, qualities, and behaviors; align knowledge, 

skills, and personal interests with career opportunities; and 

understand and demonstrate civic responsibility and 

community engagement. 

A. C. Each school shall provide a program of instruction that 

promotes individual student academic achievement in the 

essential academic disciplines and shall provide additional 

instructional opportunities that meet the abilities, interests, 

and educational needs of students. Each school shall establish 

learning objectives to be achieved by students at successive 

grade levels that meet or exceed the knowledge and skills 

contained in the Standards of Learning for English, 

mathematics, science, and history/social history and social 

science adopted by the board and shall continually assess the 

progress of each student in relation to the objectives.  

B. D. Instruction shall be designed to accommodate all 

students, including those identified with disabilities in 

accordance with the Individuals with Disabilities Education 

Act or § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act, as amended, those 

identified as gifted/talented gifted or talented, and those who 

have limited English proficiency are ELs. Each school shall 

provide students identified as gifted/talented with 

instructional programs taught by teachers with special 

training or experience in working with gifted/talented 

students. Students with disabilities shall have the opportunity 

to receive a full continuum of education services, in 

accordance with 8VAC20-80 8VAC20-81, Regulations 

Governing Special Education Programs for Children with 

Disabilities in Virginia and other pertinent federal and state 

laws and regulations.  

8VAC20-131-80. Instructional program in elementary 

schools.  

A. The elementary school shall provide each student a 

program of instruction that corresponds to the Standards of 

Learning for English, mathematics, science, and history/social 

history and social science. In addition, each school shall 

provide instruction in art, music, and physical education and 

health and shall require students to participate in a program of 

physical fitness during the regular school year in accordance 

with guidelines established by the Board of Education board. 

In addition, each school shall provide instruction in career 

exploration in accordance with the provisions of 8VAC20-

131-140. 

B. In kindergarten through grade 3, reading, writing, 

spelling, and mathematics shall be the focus of the 

instructional program. Schools shall maintain an early skills 

and knowledge achievement record in reading and 

mathematics for each student in grades kindergarten through 

grade 3 to monitor student progress and to promote successful 

achievement on the third grade SOL tests. This record shall 

be included with the student's records if the student transfers 

to a new school.  

In accordance with the Standards of Quality, local school 

boards shall implement early identification, diagnosis, and 

assistance for students with reading and mathematics 

problems and provide instructional strategies and reading and 

mathematics practices that benefit the development of reading 

and mathematics skills for all students. 

C. To provide students with sufficient opportunity to learn, a 

minimum of 75% of the annual instructional time of 990 

hours shall be given to instruction in the disciplines of 

English, mathematics, science, and history/social history and 

social science. Students who are not successfully progressing 

in early reading proficiency or who are unable to read with 

comprehension the materials used for instruction shall receive 

additional instructional time in reading, which may include 

summer school.  

In accordance with the Standards of Quality, local school 

divisions shall provide reading intervention services to 

students in grades kindergarten through 3 who demonstrate 

deficiencies based on their individual performance on the 

SOL reading test or any reading diagnostic test that meets 

criteria established by the Department of Education. The local 

school division, in its discretion, shall provide such reading 

intervention services prior to promoting a student from grade 

3 to grade 4. 

D. Elementary schools are encouraged to provide instruction 

in foreign world languages.  

8VAC20-131-90. Instructional program in middle schools.  

A. The middle school shall provide each student a program 

of instruction which that corresponds to the Standards of 

Learning for English, mathematics, science, and history/social 

history and social science. In addition, each school shall 

provide instruction in art, music, foreign world language, 

physical education and health, and career and technical 

exploration and shall require students to participate in a 

program of physical fitness during the regular school year in 

accordance with guidelines established by the Board of 

Education board. Each middle school shall provide a course 

in career investigation in accordance with the provisions of 

8VAC20-131-140. School divisions may seek alternate 

means of delivering the career investigation course content 

provided it is equivalent in content and rigor and provides the 

foundation [ for ] students to develop their academic and 

career plans as described in 8VAC20-131-140 C 2. Possible 

alternative means to deliver the career investigation course 

content could include online methods, middle school 

exploratory course options, and delivering the course content 

through other courses. 

B. The middle school shall provide a minimum of eight 

courses to students in the eighth grade. English, mathematics, 

science, and history/social history and social science shall be 

required. Four elective courses shall be available: level one of 
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a foreign world language, one in health and physical 

education, one in fine arts, and one in career and technical 

exploration.  

C. Level one of a foreign world language and an Algebra I 

course shall be available to all eighth grade students. For any 

high school credit-bearing course taken in middle school, 

parents may request that grades be omitted from the student's 

transcript and the student not earn high school credit for the 

course in accordance with policies adopted by the local 

school board. Notice of this provision must be provided to 

parents with a deadline and format for making such a request. 

Nothing in these regulations this chapter shall be construed to 

prevent a middle school from offering any other credit-

bearing courses for graduation.  

D. To provide students a sufficient opportunity to learn, 

each student shall be provided 140 clock a total of 560 

instructional hours per year of instruction in each of in the 

four academic disciplines of English, mathematics, science, 

and history/social history and social science. Sixth grade 

students may receive an alternative schedule of instruction 

provided each student receives at least 560 total clock hours 

of instruction in the four academic disciplines.  

E. Each school shall ensure that students who are unable to 

read with comprehension the materials used for instruction 

receive additional instruction in reading, which may include 

summer school.  

F. In accordance with the Standards of Quality each school 

shall ensure that students in grades 6 through 8 who need 

targeted mathematics remediation and intervention, including 

remediation or intervention for computational deficiencies as 

demonstrated by their individual performance on any 

diagnostic test or grade-level SOL mathematics test, shall 

receive additional instruction in mathematics, which may 

include summer school. Students in grades 6 through 8 who 

are at-risk of failing the algebra I end-of-course test shall be 

provided algebra readiness intervention services. 

8VAC20-131-100. Instructional program in secondary 

schools.  

A. The secondary school, in accordance with the Profile of a 

Virginia Graduate approved by the board, shall provide a 

program of instruction to ensure that students (i) attain the 

knowledge, skills, competencies, and experiences necessary 

to be successful in the evolving global economy whether 

immediately entering the world of work or pursuing a 

postsecondary education and (ii) acquire and be able to 

demonstrate foundational skills in critical thinking and 

creative thinking, collaboration, communication, and 

citizenship in accordance with 8VAC20-131-70 and the 

Profile of a Virginia Graduate. 

The secondary school shall provide each student a program 

of instruction in the four core academic areas of English, 

mathematics, science, and history/social history and social 

science that identifies the knowledge and skills that students 

should attain, giving due consideration to critical thinking, 

creative thinking, collaboration, communication, and 

citizenship, in the early years of high school and enables each 

student to meet the prescribed graduation requirements 

described in 8VAC20-131-50 and. The secondary school 

shall offer opportunities for students each student [ to ] pursue 

a program of studies in foreign languages, fine arts, and 

career and technical areas [ , including include ]:  

1. Career and technical education choices that incorporate 

knowledge of regional workforce needs and opportunities; 

prepare the student as a career and technical education 

program completer in one of three or more occupational 

areas; and that prepare the student for technical or 

preprofessional postsecondary programs;  

2. Coursework and experiences that prepare the student for 

college-level studies including access to at least three 

Advanced Placement (AP) courses, college-level courses 

for degree credit, International Baccalaureate (IB) courses, 

Cambridge courses, or any combination thereof;  

3. Preparation for college admissions tests; and  

4. Opportunities to study and explore Study and 

exploration of the fine arts and foreign world languages; 

and 

5. Participation in [ work experiences such as ] internships, 

externships, and other work-based learning experiences, 

and [ to ] attaining workforce and career readiness and 

industry credentials.  

B. Minimum course offerings for each secondary school 

shall provide opportunities for students to meet the graduation 

requirements stated in 8VAC20-131-50 this chapter and must 

include:  

English 4 

Mathematics 4 

Science (Laboratory) 4 

History and Social Sciences Science 4 

Foreign World Language 3 

Electives 4 

Career and Technical Education 11 

Fine Arts 2 

Health and Physical Education 2 

Economics and Personal Finance  1  

Total Units 39 

C. Classroom driver education may count for 36 class 

periods, or the equivalent in minutes, of health education. 

Students shall not be removed from classes other than health 

and physical education for the in-car phase of driver 

education.  
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D. Each school shall ensure that students who are unable to 

read with comprehension the materials used for instruction 

receive additional instruction in reading, which may include 

summer school.  

E. In accordance with the Standards of Quality, each school 

shall ensure that students who need targeted mathematics 

remediation and intervention, including remediation or 

intervention for computational deficiencies as demonstrated 

by their individual performance on any diagnostic test or 

grade-level SOL mathematics test shall receive additional 

instruction in mathematics, which may include summer 

school. Students in grade 9 who are at-risk of failing the 

algebra I end-of-course test, as demonstrated by their 

individual performance on any diagnostic test that has been 

approved by the department, shall be provided algebra 

readiness intervention services. 

8VAC20-131-110. Standard and verified units of credit.  

A. The standard unit of credit for graduation shall be based 

on a minimum of 140 clock hours of instruction and 

successful completion of the requirements of the course. A 

"standard unit of credit" or "standard credit" is a credit 

awarded for a course in which the student successfully 

completes 140 clock hours of instruction and the 

requirements of the course. A school division may waive the 

requirement that a student receive 140 clock hours of 

instruction to earn a standard credit, effective with students 

enrolled in the 2015-2016 school year, as prescribed in the 

Standards of Quality and board guidelines. When credit is 

awarded in less than whole units, the increment awarded must 

be no greater than the fractional part of the 140 hours of 

instruction provided. If a school division elects to award 

credit on a basis other than the 140 clock hours of instruction 

required for a standard unit of credit defined in this 

subsection, the local school division shall provide the Board 

of Education board with satisfactory proof, based on board 

guidelines, that the students for whom the 140-clock-hour 

requirement is waived have learned the content and skills 

included in the relevant Standards of Learning. In addition, 

the local school division shall develop a written policy 

approved by the superintendent and school board that 

ensures:  

1. That the content of the course for which credit is 

awarded is comparable to 140 clock hours of instruction; 

and  

2. That upon completion, the student will have met the 

aims and objectives of the course have been met.  

B. A verified unit of credit for graduation shall be based on 

a minimum of 140 clock hours of instruction, successful 

completion of the requirements of the course, and the 

achievement by the student of a passing score on the end-of-

course SOL test for that course or additional tests as 

described in this subsection. A student may also earn a 

verified unit of credit by the following methods A "verified 

unit of credit" or "verified credit" is a credit awarded for a 

course in which a student earns a standard unit of credit [ and 

completes one of the following ]:  

1. Achieves a passing score on a corresponding end-of-

course SOL test. In accordance with the provisions of the 

Standards of Quality, students may earn a standard and 

verified unit of credit for any elective course in which the 

core academic SOL Standards of Learning course content 

has been integrated and the student passes the related end-

of-course SOL test. Such course and test combinations 

must be approved by the Board of Education board.  

2. Upon waiver of the 140-clock-hour requirement 

according to Board of Education board guidelines, 

qualified students who have received a standard unit of 

credit will shall be permitted to sit for the relevant SOL 

test to earn a verified credit without having to meet the 

140-clock-hour requirement.  

2. Achieves a passing score on an additional test, as 

defined in 8VAC20-131-5, as a part of the Virginia 

Assessment Program. 

3. Meets the criteria for the receipt of a locally awarded 

verified credit when the student has not passed a 

corresponding SOL test.  

a. Students who enter the ninth grade for the first time 

prior to the 2018-2019 school year and do not pass 

Standards of Learning SOL tests in science or history and 

social science may receive locally awarded verified 

credits from the local school board in accordance with 

criteria established in guidelines adopted by the Board of 

Education board. Credit accommodations for students 

with disabilities may be used to confer locally awarded 

verified credits as provided in 8VAC20-131-50 B 3. 

b. Students who enter the ninth grade for the first time in 

the 2018-2019 school year or thereafter and do not pass 

SOL tests in English, mathematics, laboratory science, or 

history and social science may receive locally awarded 

verified credits from the local school board in accordance 

with criteria established in guidelines adopted by the 

board. No more than one locally awarded verified credit 

may be used to satisfy graduation requirements, except as 

provided in 8VAC20-131-51 B 3 for students with 

disabilities seeking a standard diploma. 

4. Meets the criteria for the receipt of a verified credit in 

history and social science by demonstrating mastery of the 

content of the associated course on an authentic 

performance assessment that complies with guidelines 

adopted by the board. Such students shall not also be 

required to take the corresponding SOL test in history and 

social science. 

5. Meets the criteria for the receipt of a verified credit in 

English (writing) by demonstrating mastery of the content 

of the associated course on an authentic performance 

assessment, that complies with guidelines adopted by the 
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board. Such students shall not also be required to take the 

corresponding SOL test in English (writing). 

C. The Board of Education board may from time to time 

approve additional tests for the purpose of awarding verified 

credit. Such additional tests, which enable students to earn 

verified units of credit, must, at a minimum, meet the 

following criteria:  

1. The test must be standardized and graded independently 

of the school or school division in which the test is given;  

2. The test must be knowledge based;  

3. The test must be administered on a statewide [ , ] 

multistate [ , ] or international basis, or administered as 

part of another state's accountability assessment program; 

and  

4. To be counted in a specific academic area, the test must 

measure content that incorporates or exceeds the SOL 

Standards of Learning content in the course for which 

verified credit is given.  

The Board of Education will board shall set the score that 

must be achieved to earn a verified unit of credit on the 

additional test options.  

D. With such funds as are appropriated by the General 

Assembly, the Board of Education will board shall provide 

opportunities for students who meet criteria adopted by the 

board to have an expedited retake of a SOL test to earn 

verified credit.  

8VAC20-131-120. Summer school.  

A. The courses offered and the quality of instruction in the 

summer school program shall be comparable to that offered 

during the regular school term. At the middle and secondary 

school levels, credit for courses taken for credit toward 

graduation other than a repeat course shall be awarded in 

accordance with the requirements of 8VAC20-131-110. 

Students must also meet the requirements for SOL testing if 

appropriate.  

B. At the middle and secondary school levels, credit for 

repeat courses ordinarily will be granted on the same basis as 

that for new courses; however, with prior approval of the 

principal, students may be allowed to enroll in repeat courses 

to be completed in no less than 70 clock hours of instruction 

per unit of credit. Students must also meet the requirements 

for SOL testing if appropriate.  

C. B. Summer school instruction at any level, which is 

provided as part of a state-funded remedial program, shall be 

designed to improve specific identified student deficiencies. 

Such programs shall be conducted in accordance with 

regulations adopted by the board.  

8VAC20-131-140. College and career preparation 

programs readiness; career exposure, exploration, and 

planning; and opportunities for postsecondary credit.  

Each middle and secondary school shall provide for the 

early identification and enrollment of students in a college 

preparation program with a range of educational and 

academic experiences in and outside the classroom, including 

an emphasis on experiences that will motivate disadvantaged 

and minority students to attend college.  

Beginning in the middle school years, students shall be 

counseled on opportunities for beginning postsecondary 

education and opportunities for obtaining industry 

certifications, occupational competency credentials, or 

professional licenses in a career and technical education field 

prior to high school graduation. Such opportunities shall 

include access to at least three Advanced Placement courses 

or three college-level courses for degree credit pursuant to 

8VAC20-131-100. Students taking advantage of such 

opportunities shall not be denied participation in school 

activities for which they are otherwise eligible. Wherever 

possible, students shall be encouraged and afforded 

opportunities to take college courses simultaneously for high 

school graduation and college degree credit (dual enrollment), 

under the following conditions:  

1. Written approval of the high school principal prior to 

participation in dual enrollment must be obtained;  

2. The college must accept the student for admission to the 

course or courses; and  

3. The course or courses must be given by the college for 

degree credits (no remedial courses will be accepted).  

Schools that comply with this standard shall not be 

penalized in receiving state appropriations.  

Beginning with the 2013-2014 academic year, all schools 

shall begin development of a personal Academic and Career 

Plan for each seventh-grade student with completion by the 

fall of the student's eighth-grade year. Students who transfer 

from other than a Virginia public school into the eighth grade 

shall have the Plan developed as soon as practicable 

following enrollment. Beginning with the 2014-2015 

academic year, students who transfer into a Virginia public 

school after their eighth-grade year shall have an Academic 

and Career Plan developed upon enrollment. The components 

of the Plan shall include, but not be limited to, the student's 

program of study for high school graduation and a 

postsecondary career pathway based on the student's 

academic and career interests. The Academic and Career Plan 

shall be developed in accordance with guidelines established 

by the Board of Education and signed by the student, 

student's parent or guardian, and school official(s) designated 

by the principal. The Plan shall be included in the student's 

record and shall be reviewed and updated, if necessary, before 

the student enters the ninth and eleventh grades. The school 

shall have met its obligation for parental involvement if it 

makes a good faith effort to notify the parent or guardian of 

the responsibility for the development and approval of the 

Plan. Any personal academic and career plans prescribed by 

local school boards for students in grades 7 through 12 and in 

effect as of June 30, 2009, are approved to continue without 

further action by the board.  
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A. Each middle and secondary school shall provide for the 

early identification and enrollment of students in a program 

with a range of educational and academic experiences related 

to college and career readiness in and outside the classroom, 

including an emphasis on experiences that will motivate 

disadvantaged and minority students to prepare for a career or 

postsecondary education.  

B. Beginning with the 2013-2014 academic year and 

through the 2017-2018 academic year:  

1. All schools shall begin development of a personal 

Academic and Career Plan (ACP) for each seventh-grade 

student with completion by the fall of the student's eighth-

grade year. Students who transfer from other than a 

Virginia public school into the eighth grade shall have the 

plan developed as soon as practicable following 

enrollment. Beginning with the 2014-2015 academic year, 

students who transfer into a Virginia public school after 

their eighth-grade year shall have an ACP developed upon 

enrollment. The components of the ACP shall include the 

student's program of study for high school graduation and a 

postsecondary career pathway based on the student's 

academic and career interests. The ACP shall be developed 

in accordance with guidelines established by the board and 

signed by the student, student's parent or guardian, and 

school official or officials designated by the principal. The 

ACP shall be included in the student's record and shall be 

reviewed and updated, if necessary, before the student 

enters the ninth and eleventh grades. The school shall have 

met its obligation for parental involvement if it makes a 

good faith effort to notify the parent or guardian of the 

responsibility for the development and approval of the 

ACP. Any personal ACPs prescribed by local school 

boards for students in grades 7 through 12 and in effect as 

of June 30, 2009, are approved to continue without further 

action by the board.  

2. Beginning in the middle school years, students shall be 

counseled on opportunities for beginning postsecondary 

education and opportunities for obtaining industry 

certifications, occupational competency credentials, or 

professional licenses in a career and technical education 

field prior to high school graduation. Such opportunities 

shall include access to at least three Advanced Placement 

(AP), International Baccalaureate (IB), or Cambridge 

courses or three college-level courses for degree credit 

pursuant to 8VAC20-131-100. Students taking advantage 

of such opportunities shall not be denied participation in 

school activities for which they are otherwise eligible. 

Wherever possible, students shall be encouraged and 

afforded opportunities to take college courses 

simultaneously for high school graduation and college 

degree credit (dual enrollment), under the following 

conditions:  

a. Written approval of the high school principal prior to 

participation in dual enrollment must be obtained;  

b. The college must accept the student for admission to 

the course or courses; and  

c. The course or courses must be given by the college for 

degree credits (no remedial courses will be accepted).  

Schools that comply with this standard shall not be 

penalized in receiving state appropriations.  

C. Beginning with the 2018-2019 academic year: 

1. Each elementary, middle, and secondary school shall 

provide for the identification by all students of personal 

interests and abilities to support planning for 

postsecondary opportunities and career preparation. Such 

support shall include provision of information concerning 

exploration of career cluster areas in elementary schools, 

and course information and planning for college 

preparation programs, opportunities for educational and 

academic experiences in and outside the classroom, 

including internships and work-based learning, and the 

multiple pathways to college and career readiness in 

middle and high school.  

2. Beginning in the elementary school years, students are 

to explore the different occupations associated with career 

clusters and select an area or areas of interest. Students 

shall begin the development of an academic and career 

plan portfolio (ACPP) in elementary grades to include 

information about interests, values such as dependability 

and responsibility, and skills supporting decisions about 

their future interests and goals. The ACPP is a repository 

for planning notes, class projects, interest inventory results, 

awards and recognitions, and other information related to 

academic and career plans and preparation. The ACPP is 

student led and updated and revised as the student 

continues to plan for the student's future throughout school 

years. The information contained in the ACPP shall serve 

as the foundation for creating the ACP in grade 7. 

In middle school, students are to complete a locally 

selected career interest inventory and select a career 

pathway. To support development of the ACP, students 

shall complete a career investigations course selected from 

the career and technical education state-approved list, or a 

school division-provided alternative means of delivering 

the career investigations course content, provided that the 

alternative is equivalent in content and academic rigor. The 

course, or its alternative, shall address, at a minimum, 

planning for academic courses, work-based learning 

opportunities, completion of industry certifications, 

possible independent projects, and postsecondary 

education. The course, or its alternative, shall include 

demonstration of personal, professional, and technical 

workplace readiness skills.  

All schools shall continue development of a personal ACP 

with each seventh-grade student with completion by the 

end of [ the fall semester of ] the student's [ seventh-grade 

eighth-grade ] year. Students who transfer from other than 

a Virginia public school into the eighth grade shall have 
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the ACP developed as soon as practicable following 

enrollment. Students who transfer into a Virginia public 

school after their eighth-grade year shall have an ACP 

developed upon enrollment. The components of the ACP 

shall include the student's program of study for high school 

graduation and a postsecondary career pathway based on 

the student's academic and career interests. In high school, 

a career-related learning experience shall be chosen by the 

student and documented in the ACP.  

3. The ACP shall be developed in accordance with 

guidelines established by the board and signed by the 

student, student's parent or guardian, and school official or 

officials designated by the principal. The ACP shall be 

included in the student's record and shall be reviewed and 

updated annually.  

4. Beginning in the middle school years, students shall be 

counseled on opportunities for beginning postsecondary 

education and opportunities for obtaining industry 

certifications, occupational competency credentials, or 

professional licenses in a career and technical education 

field prior to high school graduation. Such opportunities 

shall include access to at least three Advanced Placement 

(AP), International Baccalaureate (IB), or Cambridge 

courses or three college-level courses for degree credit 

pursuant to 8VAC20-131-100. Students taking advantage 

of such opportunities shall not be denied participation in 

school activities for which they are otherwise eligible. 

Wherever possible, students shall be encouraged and 

afforded opportunities to take college courses 

simultaneously for high school graduation and college 

degree credit (dual enrollment), under the following 

conditions:  

a. Written approval of the high school principal prior to 

participation in dual enrollment must be obtained;  

b. The college must accept the student for admission to 

the course or courses; and  

c. The course or courses must be given by the college for 

degree credits (no remedial courses will be accepted).  

8VAC20-131-150. Standard school year and school day.  

A. The standard school year shall be 180 instructional days 

or 990 instructional hours. The standard school day for 

students in grades 1 through 12 shall average at least 5-1/2 

instructional hours, including passing time for class changes 

and excluding breaks for meals and recess, and a minimum of 

three hours for kindergarten.  

B. All students in grades 1 through 12 shall maintain a full 

day schedule of classes (5-1/2 hours), unless a waiver is 

granted in accordance with policies defined by the local 

school board.  

8VAC20-131-170. Family Life Education.  

Each school may implement the Standards of Learning for 

the Family Life Education program promulgated by the Board 

of Education board or a Family Life Education program 

consistent with the guidelines developed by the board, which 

shall have the goals of reducing the incidence of pregnancy 

and sexually-transmitted diseases and substance abuse among 

teenagers.  

8VAC20-131-180. Off-site instruction.  

A. Homebound instruction shall be made available to 

students who are confined at home or in a health care facility 

for periods that would prevent normal school attendance 

based upon certification of need by a licensed physician or 

licensed clinical psychologist. For students eligible for special 

education or related services, the Individualized Education 

Program (IEP) committee must revise the IEP, as appropriate. 

Credit for the work shall be awarded when it is done under 

the supervision of a licensed teacher [ , a person eligible to 

hold a Virginia license, or other appropriately licensed 

professional qualified in the relevant subject areas and ] 

employed by the local school board, and there is evidence that 

the instructional time requirements or alternative means of 

awarding credit adopted by the local school board in 

accordance with the provisions of 8VAC20-131-110 have 

been met.  

B. Schools are encouraged to pursue alternative means to 

deliver instruction to accommodate student needs through 

virtual courses, emerging technologies, and other similar 

means. Students may enroll in and receive a standard and 

verified unit of credit for supervised correspondence courses 

virtual courses with prior approval of the principal. Standard 

units of credit shall be awarded for the successful completion 

of such courses when the course is equivalent to that offered 

in the regular school program and the work is done under the 

supervision of a licensed teacher, or a person eligible to hold 

a Virginia license, approved by the local school board. 

Verified units of credit may be earned when the student has 

passed the SOL test associated with the correspondence 

course completed. The local school board shall develop 

policies governing this method of delivery of instruction in 

accordance with that shall include the provisions of 8VAC 

20-131-110 8VAC20-131-110 and the administration of 

required SOL tests prescribed by 8VAC20-131-30. C. 

Schools are encouraged to pursue alternative means to deliver 

instruction to accommodate student needs through emerging 

technologies and other similar means. Standard For courses 

offered for possible high school credit, standard units of 

credit shall be awarded for successful completion of such 

courses when the course is equivalent to that offered in the 

regular school program and the work is done under the 

supervision of a licensed teacher [ , or a person eligible to 

hold a Virginia teaching license and approved by the local 

school board qualified in the relevant subject areas ]. Verified 

units A verified unit of credit may be earned when the student 

has successfully completed the requirements and passed the 

SOL test associated with the course. The local school board 

shall develop policies governing this method of delivery of 

instruction that shall include the provisions of 8VAC20-131-
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110 and the administration of required SOL tests prescribed 

by 8VAC20-131-30 specified in 8VAC20-131-110.  

8VAC20-131-190. Library media, materials, and 

equipment.  

A. Each school shall maintain an organized library media 

center as the resource center of the school and provide a 

unified program of media services and activities for students 

and teachers before, during, and after school. The library 

media center shall contain hard copy, electronic technological 

resources, materials, and equipment that are sufficient to meet 

research, inquiry, and reading requirements of the 

instructional program and general student interest.  

B. Each school shall provide a variety of materials, 

resources, and equipment to support the instructional 

program.  

8VAC20-131-200. Extracurricular and other school 

activities; recess.  

A. School sponsored extracurricular activities shall be under 

the direct supervision of the staff and shall contribute to the 

educational objectives of the school. Extracurricular activities 

must be organized to avoid interrupting the instructional 

program. Extracurricular activities shall not be permitted to 

interfere with the student's required instructional activities. 

Extracurricular activities and eligibility requirements shall be 

established and approved by the superintendent and the 

school board.  

B. Competitive sports of a varsity nature (scheduled league 

games) shall be prohibited as a part of the elementary school 

program.  

C. Each elementary school shall provide students with a 

daily recess during the regular school year as determined 

appropriate by the school.  

D. [ A program of physical fitness shall be available to all 

students with a goal of at least 150 minutes per week on 

average during the regular school year. Effective beginning 

with the 2018-2019 school year, local Local ] school boards 

shall provide a program of physical activity for all students in 

grades kindergarten through 5 consisting of at least 20 

minutes per day or an average of 100 minutes per week 

during the regular school year and available to all students in 

grades 6 through 12 with a goal of at least 150 minutes per 

week on average during the regular school year. 

Part V  

School and Instructional Leadership  

8VAC20-131-210. Role of the principal.  

A. The principal is recognized as the instructional leader and 

manager of the school and is responsible for effective school 

management that promotes positive student achievement, a 

safe and secure environment in which to teach and learn, and 

efficient use of resources.: 

1. Fostering the success of all students by facilitating the 

development, communication, implementation, and 

evaluation of a shared vision of teaching and learning that 

leads to student academic progress and school 

improvement; 

2. Fostering the success of all students by developing, 

advocating, and sustaining an academically rigorous, 

positive, and safe school climate for all stakeholders; 

3. Fostering effective human resources management by 

appropriately assigning, selecting, inducting, supporting, 

evaluating, and retaining quality instructional and support 

personnel; 

4. Fostering the success of all students by communicating 

and collaborating effectively with stakeholders; 

5. Fostering the success of all students by demonstrating 

professional standards and ethics, engaging in continuous 

professional development, and contributing to the 

profession; [ and ]  

6. Providing leadership that results in acceptable, 

measurable student academic progress based on established 

standards. 

As a matter of policy, the board, through these standards, 

recognizes the critically important role of principals to the 

success of public schools and the students who attend those 

schools and recommends that local school boards provide 

principals with the maximum authority available under law in 

all matters affecting the school, including, but not limited to, 

instruction and personnel instructional leadership, school 

climate, human resources management, organizational 

management, communication and community relations, and 

student academic progress, in a manner that allows the 

principal to be held accountable in a fair and consistent 

manner for matters under his the principal's direct control.  

B. As the instructional leader, the principal is responsible for 

ensuring that students are provided an opportunity to learn 

and shall:  

1. Protect the academic instructional time from 

unnecessary interruptions and disruptions and enable the 

professional teaching staff to spend the maximum time 

possible in the teaching/learning process by keeping to a 

minimum clerical responsibility and the time students are 

out of class Lead the collaborative development and 

sustainment of a student-centered shared vision for 

educational improvement and work collaboratively with 

staff, students, parents, and other stakeholders to develop a 

mission and programs for effective teaching and learning, 

consistent with the division's strategic plan and school's 

goals; 

2. Ensure that the school division's student code of conduct 

is enforced and seek to maintain a safe and secure school 

environment Collaboratively plan, implement, support, 

monitor, and evaluate instructional programs that enhance 

teaching and student academic progress, and lead to school 

improvement; 
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3. Analyze the school's test scores annually current 

academic achievement data and instructional strategies and 

monitor and evaluate the use of diagnostic, formative, and 

summative assessment, by grade and by discipline, to:  

a. Direct Make appropriate educational decisions to 

improve classroom instruction, increase student 

achievement, and improve overall school effectiveness; 

provide timely and accurate feedback to students and 

parents and to inform instructional practices; and direct 

and require appropriate prevention, intervention, and/or 

or remediation to those students performing below grade 

level or not meeting expectations, including passing the 

SOL tests;  

b. Involve the staff of the school in identifying the types 

of staff and evaluating professional development needed 

to improve student achievement and provide professional 

development opportunities and ensure that the staff 

participate in those activities; and  

c. Analyze Evaluate and improve classroom practices and 

methods for improvement of instruction; and 

d. Seek to ensure students' successful attainment of 

knowledge and skills set forth in the Standards of 

Learning; 

4. Ensure that students' records are maintained and that 

criteria used in making placement and promotion 

decisions, as well as any instructional interventions used to 

improve the student's performance, are included in the 

record;  

5. Monitor and evaluate the quality of instruction, provide 

staff development, provide support that is designed to 

improve instruction, and seek to ensure the successful 

attainment of the knowledge and skills required for 

students by the SOL tests; Protect the academic 

instructional time from unnecessary interruptions and 

disruptions and provide collaborative leadership for the 

design and implementation of effective and efficient 

schedules that protect and maximize instructional time; 

6. Involve students, staff, parents, and the community to 

create and sustain a positive, safe, and healthy learning 

environment that enforces state, division, and local rules, 

policies, and procedures and consistently model and 

collaboratively promote high expectations, mutual respect, 

care, and concern for students, staff, parents, and the 

community [ .; ]  

7. Create a culture of shared accountability and continuous 

school improvement; 

8. Involve students, families, staff, and other stakeholders 

to promote community engagement; 

6. 9. Maintain records of students who drop out of school, 

including their reasons for dropping out and actions taken 

to prevent these students from dropping out;  

7. 10. Notify the parents of rising eleventh-grade and 

twelfth-grade students of:  

a. The number of standard and verified units of credit 

required for graduation; and  

b. The remaining number of such units of credit the 

individual student requires for graduation; and  

8. 11. Notify the parent or guardian of students removed 

from class for disciplinary reasons for two or more 

consecutive days in whole or in part. The school shall have 

met its obligation if it makes a good faith effort to notify 

the parent or guardian. 

C. As the school manager, the principal shall:  

1. Support, manage, and oversee the school's organization, 

operation, and use of resources; 

2. Demonstrate and communicate a knowledge and 

understanding of Virginia public education rules, 

regulations, laws, and school division policies and 

procedures; 

3. Work with staff to create an atmosphere of mutual 

respect and courtesy and to facilitate constructive 

communication by establishing and maintaining a current 

handbook of personnel policies and procedures;  

2. Work 4. Ensure the use of data systems and technology 

to support goals; 

5. Disseminate information to staff, parents, and other 

stakeholders in a timely manner through multiple channels 

and sources;  

6. Work with the community to involve parents and 

citizens in the educational program and facilitate;  

7. Facilitate communication with parents by maintaining 

and disseminating a current student handbook of policies 

and procedures that includes the school division's standards 

of student conduct and procedures for enforcement, along 

with other matters of interest to parents and students;  

8. Manage the supervision and research-based evaluation 

of staff in accordance with local and state requirements; 

3. 9. Maintain a current record of licensure, endorsement, 

staff's licenses and endorsements to ensure compliance and 

in-service training professional development completed by 

staff; and  

10. Follow local and state laws and policies with regard to 

finances, school accountability, and reporting;  

4. 11. Maintain records of receipts and disbursements of all 

funds handled. These records, which shall be audited 

annually by a professional accountant approved by the 

local school board.; and 

12. Ensure the security of all tests administered to students, 

including those required by the board and the local school 

division. This includes: 

a. The requirement that all schools adhere to a policy that 

prohibits students' [ access to ] cell phones and other 

electronic devices with texting or camera capabilities [ to 
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be in the room where a SOL test is being administered 

during the administration of the SOL tests ]; 

b. The requirement that, to the extent possible, the 

teacher should not administer the SOL test associated 

with the grade level content or class taught; 

c. Notification to teachers of the penalties for breaching 

security on SOL tests, including actions against the 

teacher's license and civil penalties; and 

d. Establishment of penalties for students who breach 

security on SOL tests. 

8VAC20-131-220. Role of professional teaching staff.  

The professional teaching staff shall be responsible for 

providing instruction that is educationally sound in an 

atmosphere of mutual respect and courtesy, which is 

conducive to learning, and in which all students are expected 

to achieve the objectives of the Standards of Learning for the 

appropriate grade level or course. The staff shall:  

1. Serve as role models for effective oral and written 

communication with special attention to the correct use of 

language and spelling the use of standard English;  

2. Strive to strengthen the basic skills of students in all 

subjects and to close any achievement gaps among groups 

of students in the school;  

3. Establish teaching objectives to achieve the following:  

a. Identify what students are expected to learn; and  

b. Inform students of the achievement expected and keep 

them engaged in learning tasks;  

4. Provide for individual differences of students through 

the use of differentiated instruction, varied materials, and 

activities suitable to their interests and abilities; and  

5. Assess the progress of students and report promptly and 

constructively to them and their parents.  

8VAC20-131-240. Administrative and support staff; 

staffing requirements.  

A. Each school shall have at a minimum the staff as 

specified in the Standards of Quality with proper licenses and 

endorsements for the positions they hold.  

B. The principal of each middle and secondary school shall 

be employed on a 12-month basis.  

C. Each elementary, middle, and secondary school with 350 

or more students and each middle school with 400 or more 

students shall employ at least one member of the guidance 

staff for 11 months school counseling staff as prescribed by 

the Standards of Quality. Guidance School counseling shall 

be provided for students to ensure that a program of studies 

contributing to the student's academic achievement and 

meeting the graduation requirements specified in 8VAC20-

131-50 is this chapter being followed.  

D. The counseling program for elementary, middle, and 

secondary schools shall provide a minimum of 60% of the 

time for each member of the guidance school counseling staff 

devoted to counseling of students.  

E. The middle school classroom teacher's standard load shall 

be based on teaching no more than 5/6 of the instructional day 

with no more than 150 student periods per day or 30 class 

periods per week. A middle school classroom teacher's 

standard load shall be based on teaching no more than 5/6 of 

the instructional day minus one planning period per day or the 

equivalent with no more than 150 student periods per day 

students or 25 class periods per week. If a middle school 

classroom teacher teaches more than 150 students or 25 class 

periods per week, an appropriate contractual arrangement and 

compensation shall be provided. 

F. The secondary classroom teacher's standard load shall be 

based on teaching no more than 5/6 of the instructional day 

minus one planning period per day or the equivalent with no 

more than 150 student periods per day students or 25 class 

periods per week. Teachers of block programs that encompass 

more than one class period with no more than 120 student 

periods per day may teach 30 class periods per week. 

Teachers who teach very small classes may teach 30 class 

periods per week, provided the teaching load does not exceed 

75 student periods per day. If a secondary school classroom 

teacher teaches 30 class periods per week with more than 75 

student periods per day more than 150 students or 25 class 

periods per week, an appropriate contractual arrangement and 

compensation shall be provided.  

G. Middle or secondary school teachers shall teach no more 

than 750 student periods 150 students per week; however, 

physical education and music teachers may teach 1,000 

student periods 200 students per week. If a middle or 

secondary school physical education or music teacher teaches 

more than 200 students per week, an appropriate contractual 

arrangement and compensation shall be provided. 

H. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsections E, F, and 

G, each Each elementary classroom teacher shall be provided 

at least an average of 30 minutes per day during the students' 

school week as planning time. Each full-time middle and 

secondary classroom teacher shall be provided one planning 

period per day or the equivalent, as defined in 8VAC20-131-

5, unencumbered of any teaching or supervisory duties.  

I. Staff-student ratios in special education and career and 

technical education classrooms shall comply with regulations 

of the Board of Education board.  

J. Student services personnel support positions as defined in 

the Standards of Quality shall be available as necessary to 

promote academic achievement and to provide support 

services to the students in the school.  
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Part VI  

School Facilities and Safety  

8VAC20-131-260. School facilities and safety.  

A. Each school shall be maintained in a manner ensuring 

compliance with the Virginia Statewide Building Code 

(13VAC5-63). In addition, the school administration shall:  

1. Maintain a physical plant that is accessible, barrier free, 

safe, and clean;  

2. Provide for the proper outdoor display of flags of the 

United States and of the Commonwealth of Virginia;  

3. Provide suitable space for classrooms, administrative 

staff, pupil personnel services, library and media services, 

and for the needs and safety of physical education;  

4. Provide adequate, safe, and properly-equipped 

laboratories to meet the needs of instruction in the 

sciences, technology, fine arts, and career and technical 

programs;  

5. Provide facilities for the adequate and safe 

administration and storage of student medications; and 

6. Carry out the duties of the threat assessment team 

established by the division superintendent and implement 

policies established by the local school board related to 

threat assessment, pursuant to § 22.1-79.4 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

B. Each school shall maintain records of regular safety, 

health, and fire inspections that have been conducted and 

certified by local health and fire departments. The frequency 

of such inspections shall be determined by the local school 

board in consultation with the local health and fire 

departments. In addition, the school administration shall:  

1. Equip all exit doors with panic hardware as required by 

the Virginia Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63);  

2. Conduct a fire drills drill at least once a week during the 

first month twice during the first 20 days of school and 

conduct at least once each month for two additional fire 

drills during the remainder of the school term. Evacuation 

routes for students shall be posted in each room; and  

3. Conduct at least two simulated lock-down drills and 

crisis emergency evacuation activities each school year, 

one in September and one in January a lock-down drill at 

least twice during the first 20 days of school and conduct at 

least two additional lock-down drills during the remainder 

of the school term.  

C. Each school shall have contingency plans for 

emergencies that include staff certified in cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation (CPR), the Heimlich maneuver, and emergency 

first aid.  

Each school building with instructional or administrative 

staff of 10 or more shall have at least three employees with 

current certification or training in emergency first aid, 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and the use of an automated 

external defibrillator. If one or more students diagnosed as 

having diabetes attend such school, at least two employees 

shall have been trained in the administration of insulin and 

glucagon.  

Each school building with instructional or administrative 

staff fewer than 10 shall have at least two employees with 

current certification or training in emergency first aid, 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and the use of an automated 

external defibrillator. If one or more students diagnosed as 

having diabetes attend such school, at least one employee 

shall have been trained in the administration of insulin and 

glucagon. 

D. In addition, the school administration shall ensure that 

the school has:  

1. Written procedures to follow in emergencies such as 

fire, injury, illness, allergic reactions, and violent or 

threatening behavior. This shall include school board 

policies for the possession and administration of 

epinephrine in every school, to be administered by any 

school nurse, employee of the school board, employee of a 

local governing body, or employee of a local health 

department who is authorized by a prescriber and trained in 

the administration of epinephrine to any student believed to 

be having an anaphylactic reaction. The plan shall be 

outlined in the student handbook and discussed with staff 

and students during the first week of each school year;  

2. Space for the proper care of students who become ill;  

3. A written procedure, in accordance with guidelines 

established by the local school board, for responding to 

violent, disruptive, or illegal activities by students on 

school property or during a school sponsored activity; and  

4. Written procedures to follow for the safe evacuation of 

persons with special physical, medical, or language needs 

who may need assistance to exit a facility.  

Part VII  

School and Community Communications  

8VAC20-131-270. School and community 

communications.  

A. Each school shall promote communication and foster 

mutual understanding with parents and the community. Each 

school shall:  

1. Involve parents, citizens, community agencies, and 

representatives from business and industry in developing, 

disseminating, and explaining the biennial school plan; on 

advisory committees; in curriculum studies; and in 

evaluating the educational program.  

2. Provide annually to the parents and the community the 

School Performance Report Card Quality Profile in a 

manner prescribed by the board. The information contained 

therein will be School Quality Profile shall include 

designated information for the most recent three-year 

period. Such information shall be designated by the board 

to include but not be limited to indicators of the following: 

accountability, assessments, enrollment and demographics, 
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college and career readiness, finance, learning 

environment, and teacher quality. Specific indicators shall 

include:  

a. Virginia assessment program Assessment Program 

results by percentage of participation and proficiency and 

disaggregated by student subgroups reporting groups. 

b. The accreditation rating earned by the school 

Accreditation status.  

c. Attendance rates and absenteeism for students.  

d. Information related to school safety to include, but not 

limited to, incidents of crime and violence.  

e. Information related to qualifications and educational 

attainment of the teaching staff.  

f. In addition, secondary schools' School Performance 

Report Cards Quality Profiles shall include the 

following:  

(1) Advanced Placement (AP) information to include 

percentage of students who take AP courses and 

percentage of students who take AP tests;  

(2) International Baccalaureate (IB) and Cambridge 

course information to include percentage of students who 

are enrolled in IB or Cambridge programs and percentage 

of students who receive IB or Cambridge Diplomas;  

(3) College-level course information to include 

percentage of students who take college-level courses 

including dual enrollment courses;  

(4) Number and percentage of (i) graduates by diploma 

type as prescribed by the Board of Education board, (ii) 

certificates awarded to the senior class including high 

school equivalency preparation program credentials 

approved by the board, and (iii) students who do not 

complete high school;  

(5) As a separate category on the school report card 

School Quality Profile, the number of students obtaining 

board-approved industry certifications [ , ] and passing 

state licensure examinations, national occupational 

competency assessments and Virginia workplace 

readiness skills assessments while still in high school and 

the number of career and technical education completers 

who graduated; and  

(6) Number and percentage of drop-outs dropouts. 

3. Cooperate with business and industry in formulating 

career and technical educational programs and conducting 

joint enterprises involving personnel, facilities, training 

programs, and other resources.  

4. Encourage and support the establishment and/or or 

continuation of a parent-teacher association or other 

organization and work cooperatively with it.  

B. At the beginning of each school year, each school shall 

provide to its students' parents or guardians information on 

the availability of and source for receiving:  

1. The learning objectives developed in accordance with 

the provisions of 8VAC20-131-70 to be achieved at their 

child's grade level or, in high school, a copy of the syllabus 

for each of their child's courses, and a copy of the school 

division promotion, retention, and a copy of the school 

division promotion, retention, and remediation policies;  

2. The Standards of Learning applicable to the child's 

grade or course requirements and the approximate date and 

potential impact of the child's next SOL testing; and  

3. An annual notice to students in all grade levels of all 

requirements for Standard Diploma and Advanced Studies 

Diploma, and the board's policies on promotion and 

retention as outlined in 8VAC20-131-30.  

The division superintendent shall report to the department 

compliance with this subsection through the preaccreditation 

eligibility procedures in 8VAC20-131-290 as required by 

8VAC20-131-390 A.  

Part VIII  

School Accreditation  

8VAC20-131-280. Expectations for school accountability. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Schools will be accredited annually based on compliance 

with preaccreditation eligibility requirements and 

achievement of the school accountability requirements of 

8VAC20-131-300 C.  

B. Each school shall be accredited based, primarily, on 

achievement of the criteria established in 8VAC20-131-30 

and in 8VAC20-131-50 as specified below:  

1. The percentage of students passing the Virginia 

assessment program tests in the four core academic areas 

administered in the school with the accreditation rating 

calculated on a trailing three-year average that includes the 

current year scores and the scores from the two most recent 

years in each applicable academic area, or on the current 

year's scores, whichever is higher.  

2. The percentage of students graduating from or 

completing high school based on a graduation and 

completion index prescribed by the Board of Education. 

The accreditation rating of any school with a twelfth grade 

shall be determined based on achievement of required SOL 

pass rates and percentage points on the board's graduation 

and completion index. School accreditation shall be 

determined by the school's current year index points or a 

trailing three-year average of index points that includes the 

current year and the two most recent years, whichever is 

higher. The Board of Education's graduation and 

completion index shall include weighted points for 

diploma graduates (100 points), recipients of high school 

equivalency credentials approved by the board (75 points), 

students not graduating but still in school (70 points), and 

students earning certificates of program completion (25 

points). 
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The graduation and completion index calculation for a 

school shall be increased by three points for each student 

who obtains both a diploma and an industry certification, 

industry pathway certification, a state licensure, or an 

occupational competency credential in a career and 

technical education program, when such certification, 

licensure, or credential is approved by the Board of 

Education as student-selected verified credit; however, the 

additional three points shall not be used to obtain a higher 

accreditation rating. 

The Board of Education's graduation and completion index 

shall account for all students in the graduating class's 

ninth-grade cohort, plus students transferring in, minus 

students transferring out, deceased students, and students 

who fail to graduate because they are in the custody of the 

Department of Corrections, the Department of Juvenile 

Justice, or local law enforcement. Those students who are 

not included in one of the preceding categories will also be 

included in the index. 

For the purposes of the Standards of Accreditation, the 

Board of Education shall use a graduation rate formula that 

excludes any student who fails to graduate because such 

student is in the custody of the Department of Corrections, 

the Department of Juvenile Justice, or local law 

enforcement. 

3. The number of students who successfully complete a 

remediation recovery program.  

4. Schools, with grade configurations that do not house a 

grade or offer courses for which SOL tests or additional 

tests approved by the Board of Education as outlined in 

8VAC20-131-110 are administered, will be paired with 

another school in the division housing one or more of the 

grades in which SOL tests are administered. The pairing of 

such schools will be made upon the recommendation of the 

local superintendent. The schools should have a "feeder" 

relationship and the grades should be contiguous.  

C. Subject to the provisions of 8VAC20-131-350, the 

governing school board of special purpose schools such as 

those provided for in § 22.1-26 of the Code of Virginia, 

Governor's schools, special education schools, alternative 

schools, or career and technical schools that serve as the 

student's school of principal enrollment may seek approval of 

an alternative accreditation plan from the Board of Education. 

Schools offering alternative education programs and schools 

with a graduation cohort of 50 or fewer students as defined by 

the graduation rate formula adopted by the board may request 

that the board approve an alternative accreditation plan to 

meet the graduation and completion index benchmark. 

Special purpose schools with alternative accreditation plans 

shall be evaluated on standards appropriate to the programs 

offered in the school and approved by the board prior to 

August 1 of the school year for which approval is requested. 

Any student graduating from a special purpose school with a 

Standard Diploma or an Advanced Studies Diploma must 

meet the requirements prescribed in 8VAC20-131-50.  

In addition, pursuant to § 22.1-253.13:3 of the Code of 

Virginia, any school board, on behalf of one or more of its 

schools, may request the Board of Education for approval of 

an Individual School Accreditation Plan for the evaluation of 

the performance of one or more of its schools as authorized 

for special purpose schools. 

D. When calculating the passing rates on Virginia 

assessment program tests for the purpose of school 

accreditation, the following tolerances for limited English 

proficient (LEP) and transfer students will apply:  

1. The scores of LEP students enrolled in Virginia public 

schools fewer than 11 semesters may be removed from the 

calculation used for the purpose of school accreditation 

required by subsection B of this section and 8VAC20-131-

300 C. Completion of a semester shall be based on school 

membership days. Membership days are defined as the 

days the student is officially enrolled in a Virginia public 

school, regardless of days absent or present. For a semester 

to count as a completed semester, a student must have been 

in membership for a majority of the membership days of 

the semester. These semesters need not be consecutive.  

2. In accordance with the provisions of 8VAC20-131-30, 

all students who transfer into Virginia public schools are 

expected to take and pass all applicable SOL tests in the 

content areas in which they receive instruction.  

3. All students who transfer within a school division shall 

have their scores counted in the calculation of the school's 

accreditation rating. Students who transfer into a Virginia 

school from home instruction, or from another Virginia 

school division, another state, or another country, in grades 

kindergarten through 8 shall be expected to take all 

applicable SOL tests or additional tests approved by the 

board as outlined in 8VAC20-131-110. If the transfer takes 

place after the 20th instructional day following the opening 

of school, the scores on these tests may be used in 

calculating school accreditation ratings.  

4. Students who transfer into a Virginia middle or high 

school from home instruction, or from another state or 

country, and enroll in a course for which there is an end-of-

course SOL test, shall be expected to take the test or 

additional tests for that course approved by the board as 

outlined in 8VAC20-131-110. If the transfer takes place 

after 20 instructional hours per course have elapsed 

following the opening of school or beginning of the 

semester, if applicable, the scores on those tests may be 

used in calculating school accreditation ratings in the year 

the transfer occurs.  

5. Students who enroll on the first day of school and 

subsequently transfer to a school outside of the division for 

a total amount of instructional time equal to or exceeding 

50% of a current school year or semester, whether the 

transfer was a singular or multiple occurrence, and return 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 11, 2017 

799 

during the same school year shall be expected to take any 

applicable SOL test. The scores of those tests may be used 

in calculating the school accreditation rating in the year in 

which the transfers occur.  

E. The Board of Education may adopt special provisions 

related to the administration and use of any Virginia 

assessment program test in a content area. The Board of 

Education may adopt special provisions related to the 

administration and use of the graduation and completion 

index, as prescribed by the board. The Board of Education 

may also alter the inclusions and exclusions from the 

accreditation calculations by providing adequate notice to 

local school boards. The board may add new tests or 

discontinue the use of existing tests in the Virginia 

Assessment Program by providing adequate notice to local 

school boards. 

F. As a prerequisite to the awarding of an accreditation 

rating as defined in 8VAC20-131-300, each new or existing 

school shall document, in a manner prescribed by the board, 

the following: (i) the division's promotion/retention policies 

developed in accordance with the requirements of 8VAC20-

131-30, (ii) compliance with the requirements to offer courses 

that will allow students to complete the graduation 

requirements in 8VAC20-131-50, (iii) the ability to offer the 

instructional program prescribed in 8VAC20-131-70 through 

8VAC20-131-100, (iv) the leadership and staffing 

requirements of 8VAC20-131-210 through 8VAC20-131-

240, and (v) the facilities and safety provisions of 8VAC20-

131-260. The division superintendent shall report to the 

department compliance with this subsection through the 

preaccreditation eligibility procedures in 8VAC20-131-290.  

8VAC20-131-290. Procedures for certifying accreditation 

eligibility. (Repealed.) 

A. Schools will be accredited under these standards annually 

based, in part, on compliance with the preaccreditation 

eligibility requirements described in 8VAC20-131-280 F.  

B. To be eligible for accreditation, the principal of each 

school and the division superintendent shall report to the 

Department of Education:  

1. The extent to which each school continues to meet 

standards reported as met in the previous year described in 

8VAC20-131-280 F.  

2. That the SOL have been fully incorporated into the 

school division's curriculum in all accreditation-eligible 

schools and the SOL material is being taught to all students 

eligible to take the SOL tests. This shall be certified by 

each school division superintendent as part of the 

preaccreditation eligibility determination process.  

3. Actions taken to correct any noncompliance issues cited 

in the previous year.  

4. Compliance with 8VAC20-131-270 B.  

The principal of each school and the division superintendent 

shall submit preaccreditation eligibility reports in a manner 

prescribed by the board to the Department of Education. 

Failure to submit the reports on time will constitute grounds 

for denying accreditation to the school.  

C. In keeping with provisions of the Standards of Quality, 

and in conjunction with the long-range comprehensive plan of 

the division, each school shall prepare and implement a 

biennial school plan which shall be available to students, 

parents, staff, and the public. Each biennial school plan shall 

be evaluated as part of the development of the next biennial 

plan. Schools may use other plans to satisfy the requirement 

for the biennial plan with prior written approval from the 

Department of Education.  

D. With the approval of the local school board, local schools 

seeking to implement experimental or innovative programs, 

or both, that are not consistent with these standards shall 

submit a waiver request, on forms provided, to the board for 

evaluation and approval prior to implementation. The request 

must include the following:  

1. Purpose and objectives of the experimental/innovative 

programs;  

2. Description and duration of the programs;  

3. Anticipated outcomes;  

4. Number of students affected;  

5. Evaluation procedures; and  

6. Mechanisms for measuring goals, objectives, and 

student academic achievement.  

Except as specified below, the board may grant, for a period 

up to five years, a waiver of these regulations that are not 

mandated by state or federal law or designed to promote 

health or safety. The board may grant all or a portion of the 

request. Waivers of requirements in 8VAC20-131-30, 

8VAC20-131-50, 8VAC20-131-70, and 8VAC20-131-280 

through 8VAC20-131-340 shall not be granted, and no 

waiver may be approved for a program which would violate 

the provisions of the Standards of Quality.  

8VAC20-131-300. Application of the standards. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Effective no later than the academic year 2016-2017, 

schools that meet the preaccreditation eligibility requirements 

prescribed in 8VAC20-131-280 F shall be assigned one of the 

following ratings as described in this section:  

1. Fully Accredited  

2. Conditionally Accredited: New School 

3. Partially Accredited according to criteria in one or more 

of the following categories: 

a. Approaching Benchmark-within specified margins  

(1) Graduation and Completion Index  

(2) Pass Rate  

b. Improving School-meets criteria for improvement over 

previous year or for student growth  

(1) Graduation and Completion Index  
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(2) Pass Rate  

c. Warned School  

(1) Graduation and Completion Index  

(2) Pass Rate 

d. Reconstituted School 

4. Accreditation Denied  

B. Compliance with the student academic achievement 

expectations shall be documented to the board directly 

through the reporting of the results of student performance on 

SOL tests and other alternative means of assessing student 

academic achievement as outlined in 8VAC20-131-110. To 

facilitate accurate reporting of the graduation and completion 

index, the State Testing Identifier (STI) for students who 

transfer into a Virginia public school from another Virginia 

public school shall be retained by the receiving school. 

Compliance with other provisions of these regulations will be 

documented in accordance with procedures prescribed by the 

Board of Education.  

C. Accreditation ratings defined. Accreditation ratings 

awarded in an academic year are based upon Virginia 

assessment program scores from the academic year 

immediately prior to the year to which the accreditation rating 

applies and on graduation and completion indexes (for 

schools with twelfth grade) established for the current year. 

Effective no later than the academic year 2016-2017, 

accreditation ratings are defined as follows:  

1. Fully Accredited.  

a. A school will be rated Fully Accredited when its 

eligible students meet the pass rate of 75% in English and 

the pass rate of 70% in mathematics, science, and history 

and social science. Additionally, each school with a 

graduating class shall achieve a minimum of 85 

percentage points on the Board of Education's graduation 

and completion index, as described in 8VAC20-131-280 

B 2, to be rated Fully Accredited.  

b. For accreditation purposes, the pass rate will be 

calculated as single rates for each of the four core 

academic areas by combining all scores of all tests 

administered in each subject area.  

2. Conditionally Accredited: New School. New schools 

that are comprised of students from one or more existing 

schools in the division will be awarded a Conditionally 

Accredited: New School status for one year pending an 

evaluation of the school's eligible students' performance on 

SOL tests or additional tests approved by the Board of 

Education to be rated Fully Accredited. 

3. Partially Accredited: A school which meets criteria as 

prescribed by the Board of Education will be designated as 

Partially Accredited according to the specific categories 

shown below.  

a. Approaching Benchmark (within specified margins): 

(1) Graduation and Completion Index. Based on 

components of the graduation and completion index as 

described in 8VAC20-131-280 B 2, a school will be rated 

as Partially Accredited: Approaching Benchmark-

Graduation and Completion Index when its eligible 

students meet pass rates required for full accreditation 

and its graduation and completion index is within a 

narrow margin of the minimum threshold as prescribed 

by the board. A school may remain in the Partially 

Accredited: Approaching Benchmark-Graduation and 

Completion Index status for no more than three 

consecutive years, unless an extension is granted based 

on criteria established by the board.  

(2) Pass Rate. Based on tests administered in the previous 

academic year, a school will be rated as Partially 

Accredited: Approaching Benchmark-Pass Rate if the 

school does not meet the requirements for full 

accreditation in all of the four core academic subject 

areas but the pass rate in each subject area either (i) 

meets the pass rate required for full accreditation or (ii) is 

within a narrow margin of the pass rate required for full 

accreditation, as defined by the board. A school may 

remain in the Partially Accredited: Approaching 

Benchmark-Pass Rate status for no more than three 

consecutive years, unless an extension is granted based 

on criteria established by the board.  

b. Improving School (meets criteria for improvement or 

student growth, or both, over previous year):  

(1) Graduation and Completion Index. Based on 

components of the graduation and completion index as 

described in 8VAC20-131-280 B 2, a school will be rated 

as Partially Accredited: Improving School-Graduation 

and Completion Index when its eligible students meet 

pass rates required for full accreditation, but its 

graduation and completion index is not within the 

established narrow margin of the minimum threshold 

prescribed by the board; however it has achieved 

sufficient improvement in its graduation and completion 

index from the previous year, as prescribed by the board. 

A school may remain in the Partially Accredited: 

Improving School-Graduation and Completion Index 

status for no more than three consecutive years, unless an 

extension is granted based on criteria established by the 

board.  

(2) Pass Rate. Based on tests administered in the previous 

academic year, a school will be rated as Partially 

Accredited: Improving School-Pass Rate if the school 

does not meet the requirements for full accreditation or 

for Partially Accredited: Approaching Benchmark-Pass 

Rate, but in each of the four core academic subject areas, 

one of the following criteria is met: (i) the pass rate 

meets the benchmark required for full accreditation; (ii) 

the pass rate is within a narrow margin of the benchmark 

required for full accreditation, as defined by the board; 
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(iii) the school has demonstrated sufficient improvement 

in its pass rate from the previous year as defined by the 

board; or (iv) the school has demonstrated sufficient 

student growth, as defined by the board. A school may 

remain in the Partially Accredited: Improving School-

Pass Rate status for no more than three consecutive 

years, unless an extension is granted based on criteria 

established by the board.  

c. Warned School:  

(1) Graduation and Completion Index. A school will be 

designated as Partially Accredited: Warned School-

Graduation and Completion Index if it has failed to 

achieve Fully Accredited, Partially Accredited: 

Approaching Benchmark-Graduation and Completion 

Index, or Partially Accredited: Improving School-

Graduation and Completion Index status. Such a school 

may remain in the Partially Accredited: Warned School-

Graduation and Completion Index status for no more 

than three consecutive years. 

(2) Pass Rate. A school will be designated as Partially 

Accredited: Warned School-Pass Rate if it has failed to 

achieve Fully Accredited, Partially Accredited: 

Approaching Benchmark-Pass Rate, or Partially 

Accredited: Improving School-Pass Rate status. Such a 

school may remain in the Partially Accredited: Warned 

School-Pass Rate status for no more than three 

consecutive years. 

d. Reconstituted School. A Partially Accredited: 

Reconstituted School rating may be awarded to a school 

that is being reconstituted in accordance with the 

provisions of 8VAC20-131-340 upon approval by the 

Board of Education. A school awarded this rating under 

those circumstances will revert to a status of 

Accreditation Denied if it fails to meet the requirements 

to be rated Fully Accredited by the end of the agreed 

upon term or if it fails to have its annual application for 

such rating renewed. 

4. Accreditation Denied. Based on a school's academic 

performance or performance for the graduation and 

completion index, or both, a school shall be rated 

Accreditation Denied if it fails to meet the requirements to 

be rated Fully Accredited or Partially Accredited for the 

preceding three consecutive years or for three consecutive 

years anytime thereafter.  

In any school division in which one-third or more of the 

schools have been rated Accreditation Denied, the 

superintendent shall be evaluated by the local school board 

with a copy of such evaluation submitted to the Board of 

Education no later than December 1 of each year in which 

such condition exists. In addition, the Board of Education 

may take action against the local school board as permitted 

by the Standards of Quality due to the failure of the local 

board to maintain accredited schools.  

8VAC20-131-310. Action requirements for schools that 

are designated Partially Accredited in the following 

categories: (i) Improving School-Pass Rate; (ii) Improving 

School-Graduation and Completion Index; and (iii) 

Warned School. (Repealed.) 

A. With such funds as are appropriated by the General 

Assembly, the Department of Education shall develop a 

school academic review process and monitoring plan 

designed to assist schools rated Partially Accredited in the 

following categories: (i) Improving School-Pass Rate; (ii) 

Improving School-Graduation and Completion Index; and 

(iii) Warned School. All procedures and operations for the 

academic review process shall be approved and adopted by 

the board.  

Schools rated Partially Accredited in the following 

categories: (i) Improving School-Pass Rate; (ii) Improving 

School-Graduation and Completion Index; and (iii) Warned 

School must undergo an academic review in accordance with 

guidelines adopted by the board and prepare a school 

improvement plan as required by subsection F of this section.  

B. Any school that is rated Partially Accredited: Warned 

School-Pass Rate because of pass rates in English or 

mathematics shall adopt a research-based instructional 

intervention that has a proven track record of success at 

raising student achievement in those areas as appropriate.  

C. The superintendent and principal shall certify in writing 

to the Board of Education that such an intervention has been 

adopted and implemented.  

D. The board shall publish a list of recommended 

instructional interventions, which may be amended from time 

to time.  

E. Adoption of instructional interventions referenced in 

subsections B and D of this section shall be funded by 

eligible local, state, and federal funds.  

F. A three-year School Improvement Plan must be 

developed and implemented, based on the results of an 

academic review of each school that is rated Partially 

Accredited in the following categories: (i) Improving School-

Pass Rate; (ii) Improving School-Graduation and Completion 

Index; and (iii) Warned School, upon receipt of notification 

of the awarding of this rating and receipt of the results of the 

academic review. The plan:  

1. Shall be developed with the assistance of parents and 

teachers and made available to the public;  

2. Must include the components outlined in subsection G 

of this section; and  

3. Must be approved by the division superintendent and the 

local school board and be designed to assist the school in 

meeting the student achievement standard to be Fully 

Accredited as outlined in 8VAC20-131-300.  
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G. The improvement plan shall include the following:  

1. A description of how the school will meet the 

requirements to be Fully Accredited, for each of the years 

covered by the plan;  

2. Specific measures for achieving and documenting 

student academic improvement;  

3. A description of the amount of time in the school day 

devoted to instruction in the core academic areas;  

4. Instructional practices designed to remediate students 

who have not been successful on SOL tests;  

5. Intervention strategies designed to prevent further 

declines in student performance and graduation rates;  

6. Staff development needed;  

7. Strategies to involve and assist parents in raising their 

child's academic performance;  

8. The need for flexibility or waivers to state or local 

regulations to meet the objectives of the plan; and  

9. A description of the manner in which local, state, and 

federal funds are used to support the implementation of the 

components of this plan.  

As part of its approval of the school improvement plan, the 

board may grant a local school board a waiver from the 

requirements of any regulations promulgated by the board 

when such a waiver is available.  

H. The school improvement plan and related annual reports 

submitted to the board shall provide documentation of the 

continuous efforts of the school to achieve the requirements 

to become rated Fully Accredited. The board shall adopt and 

approve all policies and formats for the submission of annual 

reports under this section. The reports shall be due no later 

than October 1 of the school year.  

8VAC20-131-315. Action requirements for schools that 

are denied accreditation. (Repealed.) 

A. Any school rated Accreditation Denied in accordance 

with 8VAC20-131-300 shall be subject to actions prescribed 

by the Board of Education and shall provide parents of 

enrolled students and other interested parties with the 

following:  

1. Written notice of the school's accreditation rating within 

30 calendar days of the notification of the rating from the 

Department of Education;  

2. A copy of the school division's proposed corrective 

action plan, including a timeline for implementation, to 

improve the school's accreditation rating; and  

3. An opportunity to comment on the division's proposed 

corrective action plan. Such public comment shall be 

received and considered by the school division prior to 

finalizing the school's corrective action plan and a Board of 

Education memorandum of understanding with the local 

school board.  

B. Any school rated Accreditation Denied in accordance 

with 8VAC20-131-300 shall be subject to actions prescribed 

by the Board of Education and affirmed through a 

memorandum of understanding between the Board of 

Education and the local school board. The local school board 

shall submit a corrective action plan to the Board of 

Education for its consideration in prescribing actions in the 

memorandum of understanding within 45 days of the 

notification of the rating. The memorandum of understanding 

shall be entered into no later than November 1 of the 

academic year in which the rating is awarded.  

The local board shall submit status reports detailing 

implementation of actions prescribed by the memorandum of 

understanding to the Board of Education. The status reports 

shall be signed by the school principal, division 

superintendent, and the chair of the local school board. The 

school principal, division superintendent, and the chair of the 

local school board may be required to appear before the 

Board of Education to present status reports.  

The memorandum of understanding may also include but 

not be limited to:  

1. Undergoing an educational service delivery and 

management review. The Board of Education shall 

prescribe the content of such review and approve the 

reviewing authority retained by the school division.  

2. Employing a turnaround specialist credentialed by the 

state to address those conditions at the school that may 

impede educational progress and effectiveness and 

academic success.  

C. As an alternative to the memorandum of understanding 

outlined in subsection B of this section, a local school board 

may choose to reconstitute a school rated Accreditation 

Denied and apply to the Board of Education for a rating of 

Partially Accredited: Reconstituted School. The application 

shall outline specific responses that address all areas of 

deficiency that resulted in the Accreditation Denied rating 

and may include any of the provisions of subsection B of this 

section.  

If a local school board chooses to reconstitute a school, it 

may annually apply for an accreditation rating of Partially 

Accredited: Reconstituted School as provided for in 

8VAC20-131-300 C 3 d. The Partially Accredited: 

Reconstituted School rating may be granted for a period not 

to exceed three years if the school is making progress toward 

a rating of Fully Accredited in accordance with the terms of 

the Board of Education's approval of the reconstitution 

application. The school will revert to a status of Accreditation 

Denied if it fails to meet the requirements to be rated Fully 

Accredited by the end of the three-year term or if it fails to 

have its annual application for such rating renewed.  

D. The local school board may choose to close a school 

rated Accreditation Denied or to combine such school with a 

higher performing school in the division.  
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E. A local school board that has any school with the status 

of Accreditation Denied shall annually report each school's 

progress toward meeting the requirements to be rated Fully 

Accredited to the Board of Education. The local board shall 

submit such report in a manner prescribed by the Board of 

Education no later than October 1 of each year. Such reports 

on each school's progress shall be included in the Board of 

Education's annual report on the condition and needs of 

public education to the Governor and the General Assembly 

submitted on November 15 of each year.  

8VAC20-131-325. Recognitions and rewards for school 

and division accountability performance. (Repealed.) 

A. Schools and divisions may be recognized by the Board of 

Education in accordance with guidelines it shall establish for 

the Virginia Index of Performance (VIP) incentive program. 

In order to encourage school divisions to promote student 

achievement in science, technology, engineering, and 

mathematics (STEM), the board shall take into account in its 

guidelines a school division's increase in enrollments and 

elective course offerings in these STEM areas. Such 

recognition may include:  

1. Public announcements recognizing individual schools 

and divisions;  

2. Tangible rewards;  

3. Waivers of certain board regulations;  

4. Exemptions from certain reporting requirements; or  

5. Other commendations deemed appropriate to recognize 

high achievement.  

In addition to board recognition, local school boards shall 

adopt policies to recognize individual schools through public 

announcements, media releases, participation in community 

activities for input purposes when setting policy relating to 

schools and budget development, as well as other appropriate 

recognition.  

B. A school that maintains a passing rate on Virginia 

assessment program tests or additional tests approved by the 

board as outlined in 8VAC20-131-110 of 95% or above in 

each of the four core academic areas for two consecutive 

years may, upon application to the Department of Education, 

receive a waiver from annual accreditation. A school 

receiving such a waiver shall be Fully Accredited for a three-

year period. However, such school shall continue to annually 

submit documentation in compliance with the 

preaccreditation eligibility requirements described in 

8VAC20-131-280 F.  

C. Schools may be eligible to receive the Governor's Award 

for Outstanding Achievement. This award will be given to 

schools rated Fully Accredited that significantly increase the 

achievement of students within student subgroups in 

accordance with guidelines prescribed by the Board of 

Education.  

8VAC20-131-340. Special provisions and sanctions. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Any school in violation of these regulations shall be 

subject to appropriate action by the Board of Education 

including, but not limited to, the withholding or denial of a 

school's accreditation.  

B. A school's accreditation rating may be withheld by action 

of the Board of Education for any school found to be in 

violation of test security procedures pursuant to § 22.1-19.1 

of the Code of Virginia. Withholding of a school's 

accreditation rating shall not be considered an interruption of 

the three-consecutive-year period for purposes of receiving an 

Accreditation Denied status pursuant to 8VAC20-131-300.  

C. The Board of Education may exercise its authority to 

seek school division compliance with school laws pursuant to 

relevant provisions of the Code of Virginia when any school 

within a division is rated Accreditation Denied.  

8VAC20-131-350. Waivers. (Repealed.) 

Waivers of some of the requirements of these regulations 

may be granted by the Board of Education based on 

submission of a request from the division superintendent and 

chairman of the local school board. The request shall include 

documentation of the need for the waiver. In no event shall 

waivers be granted to the requirements of Part III (8VAC20-

131-30 et seq.) of these regulations except that the Board of 

Education may provide for the waiver of certain graduation 

requirements in 8VAC20-131-50 (i) upon the board's 

initiative or (ii) at the request of a local school board on a 

case-by-case basis. The board shall develop guidelines for 

implementing these requirements. 

8VAC20-131-360. Effective date. (Repealed.) 

A. The provisions in 8VAC20-131-30 B relating to double 

testing and the provisions in 8VAC20-131-60 C relating to 

Virtual Virginia shall become effective July 31, 2009. 

B. Graduation requirements prescribed in 8VAC20-131-50 

B and C for the Standard Diploma and the Advanced Studies 

Diploma shall become effective with the ninth-grade class of 

2013-2014. 

C. Schools with a graduating class shall meet prescribed 

thresholds on a graduation and completion rate index as 

prescribed in 8VAC20-131-280 and 8VAC20-131-300 for 

accreditation ratings earned in 2010-2011 and awarded in 

2011-2012. 

D. Accreditation ratings prescribed in 8VAC20-131-300 C 1 

a shall become effective with tests administered in 2012-2013 

for ratings awarded in 2013-2014 and beyond. 

E. The Academic and Career Plan prescribed in 8VAC20-

131-140 shall become effective in 2013-2014. 

F. Unless otherwise specified, the remainder of these 

regulations shall be effective beginning with the 2011-2012 

academic year. 
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G. The revision of the graduation rate formula, for purposes 

of the Standards of Accreditation, as described in 8VAC20-

131-280 is effective as of July 1, 2016. 

Part VIII 

School Accreditation 

8VAC20-131-370. Expectations for school accountability 

and accreditation. 

A. The system of school accountability and accreditation 

provides a means of determining the quality and effectiveness 

of schools for the purposes of: 

1. Building on strengths in schools and addressing specific 

areas needing improvement; 

2. Driving continuous improvement in school achievement 

for all schools; 

3. [ Informing Identifying ] areas for technical assistance 

and the use of school improvement resources; and  

4. Providing a comprehensive picture of school quality 

information to the public.  

B. Components of the accountability system, which present 

expectations and standards for schools and school divisions, 

include: 

1. The Code of Virginia's Standards of Quality, which 

provide the foundational education program to be offered 

by school divisions, including priorities for instructional 

programs supporting the Standards of Learning and 

encompassing requirements for assessments and school 

accreditation; 

2. The School Quality Profile, as referenced in 8VAC20-

131-270 A 2, which provides information to parents, 

citizens, the community, businesses and other agencies, 

and the general public about school characteristics and 

about a comprehensive range of school indicators;  

3. The federal accountability provisions required under the 

Every Student Succeeds Act of 2015 (P.L. 114-95, as 

amended) and the Individuals with Disabilities Education 

Act (20 USC § 1400 et seq.); and 

4. The state accreditation provisions for schools and school 

divisions as presented in this part. 

C. Each school shall be accredited based on achievement of 

the conditions specified in 8VAC20-131-400 and on 

continuous improvement of performance levels on measures 

of selected school quality indicators as described in 8VAC 

20-131-380.  

8VAC20-131-380. Measurement of school quality for 

accreditation. 

A. School quality for the purposes of accreditation shall be 

measured for each school using multiple indicators as 

provided for in this part. School quality indicators include 

student academic outcomes and other factors that are 

associated with student learning.  

Designation of school quality indicators for accreditation 

purposes by the board is based on the following criteria:  

1. Research demonstrates that the indicator is related to 

academic performance; 

2. Standardized procedures exist across schools and school 

divisions for collection of data used for the indicator; 

3. The data about the indicator is reliable and valid; 

4. Performance in the indicator can be positively impacted 

through division and school-level policies and procedures; 

5. The measure meaningfully differentiates among schools 

based on progress of all students and student reporting 

groups; 

6. The indicator does not unfairly impact one type or group 

of schools or students; and 

7. The indicator is moderately to strongly correlated with 

school-level pass rates on state assessments. 

B. Specific indicators designated by the board for 

accreditation purposes and defined in subsection F of this 

section include the following:  

1. Academic achievement for all students in English 

(reading and writing), mathematics, and science as 

measured through board-approved assessments, including 

measures of student growth in English (reading [ and 

writing ] ), mathematics, and English learner (EL) 

progress;  

2. Academic achievement gaps in English (reading and 

writing) and mathematics for designated reporting groups, 

as determined through the performance of each reporting 

group against the state standard;  

3. Graduation and school progress for schools with a 

graduating class as measured by the Graduation 

Completion Index;  

4. Dropout rates in schools with a graduating class;  

5. Student participation and engagement as measured by 

chronic absenteeism in schools; and  

6. College, career, and civic readiness in schools with a 

graduating class.  

C. When calculating passing rates and student growth on 

Virginia Assessment Program tests to measure academic 

achievement school quality indicators for the purpose of 

school accreditation, the following tolerances for EL and 

transfer students shall apply:  

1. The scores of EL students enrolled in Virginia public 

schools fewer than 11 semesters may be removed from the 

calculation used to measure academic achievement school 

quality indicators applied to accreditation. Completion of a 

semester shall be based on school membership days. 

Membership days are defined as the days the student is 

officially enrolled in a Virginia public school, regardless of 

days absent or present. For a semester to count as a 

completed semester, a student must have been in 
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membership for a majority of the membership days of the 

semester. These semesters need not be consecutive.  

2. In accordance with the provisions of 8VAC20-131-30, 

all students who transfer into Virginia public schools are 

expected to take and pass all applicable SOL tests in the 

content areas in which they receive instruction.  

3. All students who transfer within a school division shall 

have their scores counted in the calculation of the school's 

academic achievement school quality indicators. Students 

who transfer into a Virginia school from home instruction 

or from another Virginia school division, another state, or 

another country in grades kindergarten through 8 shall be 

expected to take all applicable SOL tests or additional tests 

approved by the board as outlined in 8VAC20-131-110. If 

the transfer takes place after the 20th instructional day 

following the opening of school, the scores on these tests 

may be used in calculating academic achievement school 

quality indicators applied to school accreditation.  

4. Students who transfer into a Virginia middle or high 

school from home instruction or from another Virginia 

school division, another state, or another country and enroll 

in a course for which there is an end-of-course SOL test 

shall be expected to take the test or additional tests for that 

course approved by the board as outlined in 8VAC20-131-

30 and 8VAC20-131-110. If the transfer takes place after 

20 instructional hours per course have elapsed following 

the opening of school or beginning of the semester, if 

applicable, the scores on those tests may be used in 

calculating academic achievement school quality indicators 

applied to school accreditation in the year the transfer 

occurs.  

5. Students who enroll on the first day of school and 

subsequently transfer to a school outside of the division for 

a total amount of instructional time equal to or exceeding 

50% of a current school year or semester, whether the 

transfer was a singular or multiple occurrence, and return 

during the same school year shall be expected to take any 

applicable SOL test. The scores of those tests may be used 

in measuring the school academic indicator in the year in 

which the transfers occur.  

D. Performance benchmarks. Each school shall be held 

accountable for attainment on each of the school quality 

indicators adopted by the board for accreditation purposes, 

based on measurement against performance benchmarks. 

Benchmarks measure actual performance or improvement or 

decline in performance over time, or a combination of the 

two, for each school quality indicator used for accreditation.  

In establishing performance benchmarks, the board shall use 

standard analytic protocols to assess the impact on schools. 

Consideration is to be given to whether a proposed 

benchmark reflects the board's values and expectations, or if 

the proposed benchmark results in consequences that were 

not anticipated. 

The board may incorporate additional indicators of school 

quality used for accreditation into this chapter according to 

the criteria in subsection A of this section, provided that when 

the board incorporates additional indicators, the board shall 

also establish performance benchmarks to assign performance 

levels.  

E. Performance levels. Performance levels on school quality 

indicators are determined through the definition and 

application of board-established benchmarks. Performance 

levels shall be designated for each indicator as one of the 

following: (i) Level One: At or Above Standard; (ii) Level 

Two; Near Standard; or (iii) Level Three: Below Standard.  

The performance levels are described as follows:  

1. Level One: At or Above Standard. A school's 

achievement on the specific indicator demonstrates 

acceptable performance or performance above the 

benchmark or adequate improvement on the indicator.  

2. Level Two: Near Standard. A school's achievement on 

the specific indicator, although below Level One: At or 

Above Standard, is within specified ranges of performance 

that either represent: (i) achievement near Level One or (ii) 

improvement from Level Three: Below Standard, within a 

specified range.  

A school quality indicator within the Level Two: Near 

Standard range that does not improve to the Level One: At 

or Above Standard at the end of four years, with progress 

evaluated by the end of the second year as specified in 

8VAC20-131-400 C 5, shall be designated as Level Three: 

Below Standard, at the end of the four-year period.  

3. Level Three: Below Standard. A school's achievement 

on the specific indicator is below the performance 

benchmarks for Level One and Level Two.  

Performance levels illustrate a school's standing for each 

school quality indicator. Displaying accountability 

information in this manner provides a comprehensive picture 

of a school's areas of strength, as well as specific areas where 

improvement is needed. Areas needing improvement shall be 

addressed through a multi-year school improvement plan or 

corrective action plan as provided in 8VAC20-131-400 D, 

which shall include specific interventions and strategies.  

F. School quality indicators for accreditation purposes. 

Effective with the 2018-2019 school year, the board shall 

measure performance levels on the school quality indicators 

and apply them to accreditation, [ except as provided in 

8VAC20-131-390 B 1 for the 2018-2019 school year. As 

described in 8VAC20-131-390 B, the year 2018-2019 shall 

be considered a transition year, with school accreditation 

designations evaluated using both the 2017-2018 criteria and 

the application of performance levels to school quality 

indicators according to board guidelines. For 2018-2019 only, 

a school may achieve accreditation by meeting the criteria of 

either the 2017-2018 year or the criteria effective 2018-2019, 

whichever benefits it the most. ]  
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1. The school quality indicators and performance levels for 

each are described in this subdivision: 

School Quality 

Indicator 

Performance Levels  

a. Academic 

achievement indicator 

for all students for 

English (reading and 

writing): the academic 

indicator shall be 

calculated based on the 

rate of (i) students who 

passed board-approved 

assessments, (ii) any 

additional students 

who showed growth 

using board-approved 

measures, and (iii) any 

additional students 

who are English 

learners who showed 

growth toward English 

proficiency using 

board-approved 

measures. 

Level One: Schools with a 

current year or three-year 

average rate of at least 75%, or 

schools that were at Level Two 

the prior year and decrease the 

failure rate by 10% or more 

from the prior year. 

Level Two: Schools not 

meeting Level One performance 

with a current year or three-year 

average rate of at least 66%, or 

schools with a prior year rate of 

at least 50% that decrease the 

failure rate by 10% or more 

from the prior year. A school 

shall not receive a Level Two 

performance designation for 

more than four consecutive 

years. 

Level Three: Schools not 

meeting Level One or Level 

Two performance. 

b. Academic 

achievement indicator 

for all students for 

mathematics: the 

academic indicator 

shall be calculated 

based on the rate of (i) 

students who passed 

board-approved 

assessments and (ii) 

any additional students 

who showed growth 

using board-approved 

measures. 

Level One: Schools with a 

current year or three-year 

average rate of at least 70%, or 

schools that were at Level Two 

the prior year and decrease the 

failure rate by 10% or more 

from the prior year. 

Level Two: Schools not 

meeting Level One performance 

with a current year or three-year 

average rate of at least 66%, or 

schools with a prior year rate of 

at least 50% that decrease the 

failure rate by 10% or more 

from the prior year. A school 

shall not receive a Level Two 

performance designation for 

more than four consecutive 

years. 

Level Three: Schools not 

meeting Level One or Level 

Two performance. 

c. Academic 

achievement indicator 

for all students for 

[ ccience science ]: the 

Level One: Schools with a 

current year or three-year 

average rate of at least 70%, or 

schools that were at Level Two 

academic indicator 

shall be calculated 

based on the rate of 

students who passed 

board-approved 

assessments. 

the prior year and decrease the 

failure rate by 10% or more 

from the prior year. 

Level Two: Schools not 

meeting Level One performance 

with a current year or three-year 

average rate of at least 66%, or 

schools with a prior year rate of 

at least 50% and decrease the 

failure rate by 10% or more 

from the prior year.  A school 

shall not receive a Level Two 

performance designation for 

more than four consecutive 

years. 

Level Three: Schools not 

meeting Level One or Level 

Two performance. 

d. Academic 

achievement gaps for 

English (reading and 

writing): A single 

performance level is 

assigned for academic 

achievement gaps for 

English (reading and 

writing), based upon 

the composite of 

performance levels 

calculated individually 

for each reporting 

group using the same 

methodology and 

benchmarks as 

provided for in the 

academic achievement 

indicators for all 

students, as provided 

in subdivision F 1 a of 

this subsection.  

Level One: Schools with no 

more than one reporting group 

demonstrating Level Two 

performance. 

Level Two: Schools with two or 

more reporting groups 

demonstrating Level Two 

performance and no more than 

one reporting group 

demonstrating Level Three 

performance. 

Level Three: Schools with two 

or more reporting groups 

demonstrating Level Three 

performance. 

e. Academic 

achievement gaps for 

mathematics. A single 

performance level is 

assigned for academic 

achievement gaps for 

mathematics, based 

upon the composite of 

performance levels 

calculated individually 

for each reporting 

group using the same 

methodology and 

benchmarks as 

Level One: Schools with no 

more than one reporting group 

demonstrating Level Two 

performance. 

Level Two: Schools with two or 

more reporting groups 

demonstrating Level Two 

performance and no more than 

one reporting group 

demonstrating Level Three 

performance. 

Level Three: Schools with two 

or more reporting groups 
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provided for in the 

academic achievement 

indicators for all 

students, as provided 

in subdivision F 1 b of 

this subsection.  

demonstrating Level Three 

performance. 

f. Graduation and 

completion index 

(GCI) for schools with 

a graduating class: The 

GCI is [ the%age the 

percentage ] of 

students graduating 

from or completing 

high school based upon 

a graduation and 

completion index 

prescribed by the 

board. The board's GCI 

shall include weighted 

points for diploma 

graduates, recipients of 

high school 

equivalency credentials 

approved by the board, 

students not graduating 

but still in school, and 

students earning 

certificates of program 

completion. 

Level One: Schools with a 

current year or three-year 

average index of at least 88, or 

schools that were at Level Two 

the prior year and increase the 

index by 2.5% or more from the 

prior year. 

Level Two: Schools not 

meeting Level One performance 

with a current year or three-year 

average index of at least 81, or 

schools that were at Level 

Three the prior year and 

increase the index by 2.5% or 

more from the prior year. A 

school shall not receive a Level 

Two performance designation 

for more than four consecutive 

years. 

Level Three: Schools not 

meeting Level One or Level 

Two performance. 

g. Dropout rate for 

schools with a 

graduating class.  

Level One: Schools with a 

current year or three-year 

average rate of no more than 

6.0%, or schools that were at 

Level Two the prior year and 

decrease the rate by 10% or 

more from the prior year. 

Level Two: Schools not 

meeting Level One performance 

with a current year or three-year 

average rate of no more than 

9.0%, or schools that were at 

Level Three the prior year and 

decrease the rate by 10% or 

more from the prior year. A 

school shall not receive a Level 

Two performance designation 

for more than four consecutive 

years. 

Level Three: Schools not 

meeting Level One or Level 

Two performance. 

h. Chronic 

absenteeism: 

Chronically absent 

students are defined as 

those who are enrolled 

in a given school who 

miss 10% or more of 

the school year, 

regardless of reason. 

Students receiving 

homebound 

instruction, as defined 

in 8VAC20-131-5, 

shall be excluded from 

the chronic 

absenteeism rate.  

Level One: Schools with a 

current year or three-year 

average rate of no more than 

15%, or schools that were at 

Level Two the prior year and 

decrease the rate by 10% or 

more from the prior year. 

Level Two: Schools not 

meeting Level One performance 

with a current year or three-year 

average rate of no more than 

25%, or schools that were at 

Level Three the prior year and 

decrease the rate by 10% or 

more from the prior year. A 

school shall not receive a Level 

Two performance designation 

for more than four consecutive 

years. 

Level Three: Schools not 

meeting Level One or Level 

Two performance. 

i. College, career, and 

civic readiness index 

for schools with a 

graduating class: The 

college, career, and 

civic readiness index 

measures the extent to 

which a school's 

students successfully 

complete advanced 

coursework, career and 

technical education 

(CTE) coursework and 

credentialing, and 

work-based and 

service-based learning.  

Application of the 

college, career, and 

civic readiness index 

indicator to 

performance levels for 

accreditation purposes 

shall occur no later 

than the 2021-2022 

school year. 

Level One: Schools with a 

current year index of at least 85. 

Level Two: Schools not 

meeting Level One performance 

with a current year index of at 

least 71. A school shall not 

receive a Level Two 

performance designation for 

more than four consecutive 

years. 

Level Three: Schools not 

meeting Level One or Level 

Two performance. 

2. To focus on continuous improvement for all schools, the 

benchmarks delineating the performance levels provided in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection may be adjusted as 

provided in subsection D of this section, through board-

approved guidance. Adequate notice shall be provided to 

local school boards of any such adjustment. 
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3. The board may adopt special provisions related to the 

measurement and use of a school quality indicator as 

prescribed by the board. The board may also alter the 

inclusions and exclusions from the performance level 

calculations by providing adequate notice to local school 

boards.  

4. The board may add new assessments or discontinue the 

use of existing assessments in the Virginia Assessment 

Program by providing adequate notice to local school 

boards. As specified in the Standards of Quality, the board 

may adopt special provisions related to the administration 

and use of any SOL tests as applied to school quality 

indicators for any period during which the Standards of 

Learning content or assessments in that area are being 

revised and phased in. Notice shall be provided to local 

school boards regarding the special provisions prior to 

statewide administration of such tests.  

5. The board may adopt valid and reliable measures of 

student growth to be used in calculating the Academic 

Achievement Indicators for English and mathematics and 

in determining the progress of English learners toward 

English proficiency. 

6. The board shall provide a process for a local school 

board to appeal the performance level designation for a 

specific school quality indicator for any school in the 

division. The board shall grant such appeals only in limited 

circumstances that warrant special consideration in 

designating performance levels. In order to appeal such 

designation the local school board shall submit a request to 

the board, signed by the chairman of the school board and 

the school superintendent, explaining why the school board 

is appealing the designation and shall include 

documentation supporting the request to change the 

performance level designation.  

7. The board may designate and approve additional school 

quality indicators, according to its criteria as specified in 

subsection A of this section, provided that when the board 

incorporates additional indicators, the board shall also 

establish performance benchmarks to assign performance 

levels. 

G. To establish performance levels for any of the school 

quality indicators that are based on Virginia Assessment 

Program outcome data in schools with grade configurations 

that do not house a grade or offer courses for which SOL tests 

or additional tests approved by the board as outlined in 

8VAC20-131-110 are administered, such schools shall be 

paired with another school in the division housing one or 

more of the grades in which SOL tests are administered. The 

pairing of such schools shall be made upon the 

recommendation of the division superintendent. The schools 

should have a "feeder" relationship and the grades should be 

contiguous. 

8VAC20-131-390. Accreditation. 

A. The board shall accredit schools based on achievement of 

the school accountability requirements of this chapter.  

The principal of each new or existing school and the 

division superintendent shall annually document and report to 

the Department of Education, in a manner prescribed by the 

board, the following: 

1. The division's promotion and retention policies have 

been developed in accordance with the requirements of 

8VAC20-131-30; 

2. Compliance with the requirements to offer courses that 

shall allow students to complete the graduation 

requirements in 8VAC20-131-50 and 8VAC2021-131-51, 

as applicable; 

3. The school and school division's ability to offer the 

instructional program prescribed in 8VAC20-131-70 

through 8VAC20-131-100; 

4. The school and school division's offering of history and 

social science and English, to include writing, as 

prescribed in 8VAC20-131-70 C;  

5. Compliance with the leadership and staffing 

requirements of 8VAC20-131-210 through 8VAC20-131-

240; 

6. Compliance with the facilities and safety provisions of 

8VAC20-131-260;  

7. Compliance with the parental notification provisions of 

8VAC20-131-270 B; 

8. The Standards of Learning have been fully incorporated 

into the school division's curriculum in all accreditation-

eligible schools, and the Standards of Learning material is 

being taught to all students eligible to take the SOL tests;  

9. A comprehensive school plan has been prepared and 

implemented as required by the Standards of Quality, in 

conjunction with the long-range comprehensive plan of the 

division. Such plan shall be available to students, parents, 

staff, and the public. Each school plan shall be evaluated as 

part of the development of the next plan. Schools may use 

other plans to satisfy this requirement with prior written 

approval from the Department of Education. 

10. Actions prescribed by 8VAC20-131-400 have been 

completed.  

11. Each school continues to meet the standards in this 

chapter that the school reported that it met in the previous 

year, and actions taken to correct any noncompliance 

issues that the school reported in the previous year. 

B. Accreditation ratings. Effective no later than the 

academic year 2018-2019, schools that meet the conditions 

described in subsection A of this section shall be assigned one 

of the following accreditation designations as described in 

this section. 

1. Accredited: When a school has each of its school quality 

indicators at Level One or Level Two, it shall be 
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"Accredited." For the transition year of 2018-2019, when a 

school meets the accreditation standards for designation as 

accredited under either the 2017-2018 accreditation 

calculation rules or the 2018-2019 rules for multiple school 

quality indicators, it shall be designated "Accredited."  

2. Accredited with Conditions: When a school has any 

school quality indicator at Level Three, it shall be 

"Accredited with Conditions." 

3. Accreditation Denied: If a school is designated 

"Accredited with Conditions," and the school or school 

division fails to adopt and implement school division or 

school corrective action plans with fidelity as specified by 

8VAC20-131-400 D, it may be designated by the board as 

"Accreditation Denied" as provided in 8VAC20-131-400 D 

4.  

C. Any school in violation of this chapter shall be subject to 

appropriate action by the board including withholding the 

school's accreditation rating. 

D. A school's accreditation rating may be withheld by action 

of the board for any school found to be in violation of test 

security procedures pursuant to § 22.1-19.1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

E. Review cycles.  

1. The board shall review annually the status of the 

performance levels for school quality indicators applied to 

accreditation for all schools in the Commonwealth.  

2. If a school has been designated "Accredited" for three 

consecutive years, the board shall review the accreditation 

status of the school every three years. However, the board 

shall review the status of each school quality indicator used 

for accreditation each individual year within that triennial 

period. If the board finds that the school would have been 

accredited every year of the triennial review period, the 

board shall accredit the school for another three years. A 

multi-year accreditation status shall not relieve any school 

or division of annual reporting requirements, nor shall it 

relieve any school or division of annual review of school 

quality indicators used for school accreditation and 

subsequent actions as appropriate and provided for in 

8VAC20-131-400, depending on performance level. 

8VAC20-131-400. Application of the school quality 

indicator performance levels to actions. 

A. In accordance with the Standards of Quality at § 22.1-

253.13:6 [ D C ] of the Code of Virginia, all schools shall 

develop a comprehensive, unified, long-range plan. To 

develop such plans, schools shall conduct a comprehensive 

needs assessment, in collaboration with their school division 

staff, to identify needed actions to ensure continuous 

improvement for their students. Results of the comprehensive 

needs assessment shall be used to develop a multi-year 

improvement plan, which shall be a component of the 

school's comprehensive, unified, long-range plan. The multi-

year improvement plan shall be reviewed and updated as 

needed on an annual basis. Confirmation of completion of the 

actions required by this section shall be provided to meet 

requirements of 8VAC20-131-390 A 10. 

In determining required actions for schools and school 

divisions, levels of performance shall be considered 

separately for each school quality indicator. Responses and 

actions to be taken by school divisions and schools, under the 

leadership of division superintendents and school principals, 

according to the performance level of each school quality 

indicator are as prescribed in subsections B, C, and D of this 

section. 

B. Level One. If a school quality indicator is at Level One, 

the school and its school division shall continue to monitor 

the indicator and the multi-year school improvement plan for 

continuous improvement.  

C. Level Two. If a school quality indicator is at Level Two, 

the school and its school division shall have primary 

responsibility to revise and implement its multi-year school 

improvement plan.  

In developing such plan, the school and its school division 

shall determine the issues and conditions that are likely 

contributing to the school's performance on the indicator and 

plan and implement essential actions and research-based 

strategies designed to improve performance on the indicator 

to achieve the Level One standard.  

School division and school staff shall:  

1. Identify factors related to the school's performance on 

the indicator as part of the school's comprehensive needs 

assessment;  

2. Use the results of the comprehensive needs assessment 

to develop [ a and revise the ] multi-year school 

improvement plan [ that addresses to address ] the factors 

identified in the needs assessment that are related to the 

performance on the indicator. The school's multi-year 

improvement plan shall be approved by the local school 

board. The department may implement an audit process to 

ensure compliance with this provision;  

3. Implement the essential actions and research-based 

strategies with fidelity; 

4. Regularly evaluate evidence of the school's progress in 

implementing the plan, monitor changes on the school 

quality indicator, and make adjustments as warranted; and  

5. Evaluate the progress of the school quality indicators at 

Level Two at the end of each year [ , ] and assess the 

results of the school improvement plan actions at the end 

of two years. If no progress is made within the two-year 

period on such school quality indicators, the plan shall be 

revised.  

If any of the academic achievement indicators for all 

students, as provided in 8VAC20-131-380 F 1 a, 1 b, or 1 c is 

at Level Two, the school must undergo an academic review 

conducted by the department, or under its guidance, to further 

identify required actions to improve student achievement. 
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Review of other indicators by the department, or under its 

guidance, may occur based on the school's multi-year school 

improvement plan. School improvement plans developed for 

academic achievement indicators for all students that are at 

Level Two shall be reviewed through a department-

established process, which may include peer review by staff 

from other school divisions. 

School divisions with indicators at Level Two may request 

technical assistance from the department.  

D. Level Three.  

1. Corrective action plans. If any school quality indicator is 

at Level Three, the school and school division shall work 

cooperatively and in consultation with the department to 

develop a corrective action plan, which shall be 

incorporated as a component of the school's 

comprehensive, unified, long-range plan. 

In developing such plan, the school and school division, in 

consultation with the department, shall determine the 

issues and conditions that are likely contributing to the 

school's performance on the indicator and plan and 

implement essential actions and research-based strategies 

to achieve improvement to the Level One standard.  

All schools with indicators at Level Three must undergo an 

academic or other review, as appropriate, conducted by the 

department, or under its guidance, to further identify 

required actions to improve student achievement and the 

school quality indicators that are at Level Three. 

a. Considerations for the level of direction and 

intervention from the department include:  

(1) Specific characteristics of the school and school 

division; 

(2) The number of school quality indicators at Level 

Three for the school; 

(3) A school's trajectory on the indicators at Level Three; 

(4) The length of time the school indicator has been at 

Level Three; and 

(5) The number of schools in the division with multiple 

school quality indicators at Level Three. 

b. In consultation with department staff, school division 

and school staff shall: 

(1) Identify factors related to the school's performance on 

the indicators at Level Three as part of the school's 

comprehensive needs assessment; 

(2) Use the results of the comprehensive needs 

assessment to develop a multi-year corrective action plan 

[ which that ] addresses the factors identified in the needs 

assessment that are related to the performance on the 

indicator through essential actions and research-based 

strategies;  

(3) Submit the completed corrective action plan to the 

department through the division superintendent for 

department approval;  

(4) Amend the plan [ , ] if the department disapproves 

any portion thereof, as needed to secure the department's 

approval; 

(5) Implement the approved corrective action plan with 

fidelity; and 

(6) Meet regularly with department staff to monitor 

evidence of the school's progress in implementing the 

plan, to track improvement on the indicator, and to 

identify next steps. 

2. Superintendent agreement. The level of direction and 

intervention from the department may include requiring the 

local school division superintendent and the 

Superintendent of Public Instruction to enter into an 

agreement that shall delineate the responsibilities for the 

school division staff, school staff, and department staff and 

shall also include required essential actions to improve 

student achievement and to improve performance on 

school quality indicators. 

3. Memorandum of understanding. School divisions that do 

not demonstrate evidence of progress in adopting or 

implementing corrective action plans for a school or 

schools with indicators at Level Three shall be required to 

enter into a memorandum of understanding between the 

local school board and the board. The memorandum of 

understanding shall delineate responsibilities for the local 

school board, the board, school division staff, school staff, 

and department staff and shall also include required 

essential actions to improve student achievement and to 

improve performance on school quality indicators.  

Department staff shall meet regularly with school division 

staff to monitor the memorandum of understanding and 

corrective action plan, to track progress on the indicators, 

and to identify next steps.  

School divisions that do not demonstrate evidence of 

progress under the memorandum of understanding and the 

associated corrective action plan shall be subject to 

additional actions, which may include more frequent 

meetings with department staff, required technical 

assistance, or appearance before the board. 

4. Denial of accreditation. If a school is designated 

"Accredited with Conditions," and the school or school 

division fails to adopt and implement corrective action 

plans with fidelity as specified by this section, the 

Superintendent of Public Instruction shall review the 

school for potential designation by the board as 

"Accreditation Denied" and shall present the results of 

such review to the board with recommendations. If the 

board determines that any such school is at Level Three on 

any school quality indicator due to its failure to adopt and 

implement corrective action plans with fidelity as required 

by this section, the board shall designate such school as 

"Accreditation Denied." The local school board shall be 

given an opportunity to correct such failure, and if 

successful in a timely manner, the school's "Accreditation 
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Denied" designation may be rescinded at the board's 

discretion.  

5. At-risk add-on funds. As provided in the appropriation 

act, if the board has required a local school board to submit 

a corrective action plan pursuant to § 22.1-253.13:3 A of 

the Code of Virginia, either for the school division 

pursuant to a division level review or for any schools 

within its division that have been designated as not 

meeting the standards as approved by the board, the 

Superintendent of Public Instruction shall determine and 

report to the board whether each such local school board 

has met its obligation to develop and submit such 

corrective action plan and is making adequate and timely 

progress in implementing the plan. Additionally, if an 

academic review process undertaken pursuant to § 22.1-

253.13:3 A of the Code of Virginia has identified actions 

for a local school board to implement, the Superintendent 

of Public Instruction shall determine and report to the 

board whether the local school board has implemented 

required actions. If the Superintendent of Public Instruction 

certifies that a local school board has failed or refused to 

meet any of those obligations, the board shall withhold 

payment of some or all at-risk add-on funds otherwise 

allocated to the affected division pursuant to this allocation 

for the pending fiscal year. In determining the amount of 

at-risk add-on funds to be withheld, the board shall take 

into consideration the extent to which such funds have 

already been expended or contractually obligated. The 

local school board shall be given an opportunity to correct 

its failure and, if successful in a timely manner, may have 

some or all of its at-risk add-on funds restored at the 

board's discretion. 

6. Additional remedies. The board may exercise its 

authority to seek school division compliance with school 

laws pursuant to the relevant provisions of the Code of 

Virginia when any school within a division receives an 

accreditation designation other than "Accredited." 

In accordance with the Standards of Quality at § 22.1-

253.13:3 A of the Code of Virginia, if the board determines 

that a school division has failed or refused, and continues 

to fail or refuse, to comply with any of the Standards of 

Quality, including the requirement for local school boards 

to maintain schools designated as "Accredited" as provided 

in § 22.1-253.13:3 A of the Code of Virginia, the board 

may petition the circuit court having jurisdiction in the 

school division to mandate or otherwise enforce 

compliance with such standard, including the development 

or implementation of any required corrective action plan 

that a local school board has failed or refused to develop or 

implement in a timely manner. 

8VAC20-131-410. Recognitions and rewards for school 

and division accountability. 

A. Schools and divisions may be recognized by the board in 

accordance with guidelines it shall establish for the Virginia 

Index of Performance (VIP) incentive program. In order to 

encourage school divisions to promote student achievement 

in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics 

(STEM), the board shall take into account in its guidelines a 

school division's increase in enrollment and elective course 

offerings in these STEM areas. Such recognition may 

include: 

1. Public announcements recognizing individual schools 

and divisions; 

2. Tangible rewards; 

3. Waivers of certain board regulations; 

4. Exemptions from certain reporting requirements; or 

5. Other commendations deemed appropriate to recognize 

high achievement. 

In addition to board recognition, local school boards shall 

adopt policies to recognize individual schools through public 

announcements, media releases, and participation in 

community activities when setting policy relating to schools 

and budget development, as well as other appropriate 

recognition. 

B. Schools and divisions may be designated and recognized 

by the board for exemplar performance in accordance with 

criteria and guidelines it shall establish for top achievement in 

one or more school quality indicators, and the board may 

include recognition for high performing schools in specific 

peer categories, such as schools with high levels of poverty.  

8VAC20-131-420. Waivers and alternative accreditation 

plans. 

A. Except as specified in this section, the board may grant, 

for a period of up to five years, a waiver of requirements of 

this chapter that are not mandated by state or federal law or 

designed to promote health or safety. The board may grant all 

or a portion of the request for a waiver and designate 

conditions as appropriate. Waivers of requirements in 

8VAC20-131-30, 8VAC20-131-50, 8VAC20-131-51, 

8VAC20-131-70, and 8VAC20-131-370 through 8VAC20-

131-430 shall not be granted, and no waiver may be approved 

for a program that violates the Standards of Quality. 

B. Waivers of some of the requirements of this chapter may 

be granted by the board based on submission of a request 

from the division superintendent and chairman of the local 

school board. The request shall include documentation of the 

justification and need for the waiver. In no event shall 

waivers be granted to the requirements of Part III (8VAC20-

131-30 et seq.) of this chapter except that the board may 

provide for the waiver of certain graduation requirements in 

8VAC20-131-50 and 8VAC20-131-51 upon (i) the board's 

initiative or (ii) the request of a local school board on a case-

by-case basis. The board shall develop guidelines for 

implementing this chapter.  

Any student with a disability whose Individualized 

Education Program (IEP) or 504 Plan documents that the 

student cannot successfully complete training in emergency 
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first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, or the use of 

automated external defibrillators, including hands-on practice 

of the skills necessary to perform cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation, as required for graduation in 8VAC20-31-50 B 

2 and C 2 and 8VAC20-131-51 B 2 and C 2 shall be granted a 

waiver from this graduation requirement.  

C. Waivers for innovative or school experimental programs. 

With the approval of the local school board, schools seeking 

to implement experimental or innovative programs, or both, 

that are not consistent with this chapter shall submit a waiver 

request to the board for evaluation and approval prior to 

implementation. The request must include the following: 

1. Purpose and objectives of the experimental or innovative 

programs; 

2. Description and duration of the programs; 

3. Anticipated outcomes; 

4. Number of students affected; 

5. Evaluation procedures; and 

6. Mechanisms for measuring goals, objectives, and 

student academic achievement. 

D. Alternative accreditation plans. Subject to the provisions 

of subsection B of this section, the governing school board of 

special purpose schools such as those provided for in § 22.1-

26 of the Code of Virginia, Governor's schools, special 

education schools, alternative schools, or career and technical 

schools that serve as the student's school of principal 

enrollment may seek approval of an alternative accreditation 

plan from the board. Schools offering alternative education 

programs, schools with a graduation cohort of 50 or fewer 

students as defined by the graduation rate formula adopted by 

the board may request that the board approve an alternative 

accreditation plan to meet the graduation and completion 

index benchmark. Special purpose schools with alternative 

accreditation plans shall be evaluated on standards 

appropriate to the programs offered in the school and 

approved by the board prior to August 1 of the school year for 

which approval is requested. Any student graduating from a 

special purpose school with a Standard Diploma or an 

Advanced Studies Diploma must meet the requirements 

prescribed in 8VAC20-131-50 or 8VAC20-131-51. 

As set forth in the Standards of Quality and according to 

department procedures, any school board may request the 

board for release from state regulations or, on behalf of one or 

more of its schools, for approval of an Individual School 

Accreditation Plan for the evaluation of the performance of 

one or more of its schools as authorized for schools 

enumerated in this subsection, based on special 

circumstances.  

8VAC20-131-430. Effective dates. 

A. Graduation requirements. 

1. The graduation requirements for students entering the 

ninth grade for the first time in the 2013-2014 school year 

and prior to the 2018-2019 school year shall be those 

provided in 8VAC20-131-50. 

2. The graduation requirements for students entering the 

ninth grade for the first time in the 2018-2019 school year 

and beyond shall be those provided in 8VAC20-131-51. 

3. The graduation requirements applicable to students 

transferring into a Virginia high school for the first time 

shall be as determined by 8VAC20-131-60 G. 

B. Locally awarded verified credits. 

1. Locally awarded verified credits conferred for history 

and social science for students entering the ninth grade for 

the first time prior to the 2018-2019 school year shall be as 

provided in 8VAC20-131-110 B 3 a. 

2. Locally awarded verified credits conferred for English, 

mathematics, laboratory science, and history and social 

science for students entering the ninth grade for the first 

time in 2018-2019 or thereafter shall be as provided in 

8VAC20-131-110 B 3 b. 

C. Academic and career planning. 

1. The requirements for academic and career planning 

prescribed in 8VAC20-131-140 B shall be effective 

beginning with the 2013-2014 academic year and through 

the 2017-2018 academic year. 

2. The requirements for Academic and Career Plans 

prescribed in 8VAC20-131-140 C shall be effective 

beginning with the 2018-2019 academic year. 

D. The application of the college, career, and civic readiness 

index as a school quality indicator used for accreditation shall 

be made no later than the 2021-2022 school year. 

E. Unless otherwise specified, the remainder of this chapter 

shall become effective beginning with the 2018-2019 

academic year. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3789; Filed November 21, 2017, 11:07 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

following regulation have been filed by the Department of 

Environmental Quality. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form to access it. The 

forms are also available from the agency contact or may be 

viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC15-30. Regulations for the 

Certification of Recycling Machinery and Equipment for 

Local Tax Exemption Purposes. 
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Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, email melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC15-30)  

Form DEQ 50-11, Recycling Machinery Equipment 

Certification (rev. 5/01).  

Form DEQ 50–11, Recycling Machinery and Equipment 

Certification for Local Tax Exemption (rev. 11/2017) 

Form DEQ 50–11S, Recycling Machinery and Equipment 

Certification for State Income Tax Credit (rev. 11/2017) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5347; Filed November 8, 2017, 5:10 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-90. Regulations for Disease 

Reporting and Control (repealing 12VAC5-90-230 

through 12VAC5-90-270).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-35 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 10, 2018. 

Effective Date: January 26, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Diane Woolard, PhD, Director, Disease 

Surveillance, Virginia Department of Health, 109 Governor 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8124, or 

email diane.woolard@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-35 of the Code of Virginia 

authorize the State Board of Health to promulgate regulations 

and empowers the State Board of Health to adopt such 

regulations as are necessary to carry out provisions of laws of 

the Commonwealth administered by the Commissioner of the 

Department of Health. 

Purpose: Section 32.1-45.3 of the Code of Virginia that 

authorized the regulations in this action has been repealed. 

Therefore, the sections of regulations contained in this 

regulatory action are no longer authorized, necessary, or 

applicable to protect public health. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: As the 

section of the Code of Virginia has already been repealed, the 

repeal of the regulation is noncontroversial. This regulatory 

action aligns regulations with statute, and no agency 

discretion is involved. 

Substance: Regulatory language is being repealed in 

compliance with the Code of Virginia. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is the removal of 

potentially confusing regulatory language that no longer 

applies. This is also the primary advantage to the agency. No 

disadvantages or other pertinent matters have been identified 

as this action simply removes these sections of the regulation 

because they are no longer authorized by the Code of 

Virginia. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 301 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly 

(Chapter 301),1 the State Board of Health (Board) proposes to 

repeal regulatory text concerning HIV testing of gamete2 

donors. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Prior to 2015, § 32.1-45.3 of the 

Code of Virginia required that the Board promulgate 

regulations establishing an HIV testing protocol for donors of 

gametes used to treat patients for infertility. Chapter 301 

repealed this requirement. Regulations of the U.S. Food and 

Drug Administration3 require testing and other measures to 

prevent transmission of HIV and other infections when 

assisted reproductive technology, including donated gametes, 

are used to treat infertility and related problems. These 

federal regulations are more comprehensive than the existing 

state regulations. Thus the proposed repeal of text from the 

Virginia Regulations for Disease Reporting and Control 

would have no impact, beyond potentially reducing 

confusion, since the federal regulations already apply.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. Beyond potentially 

reducing confusion among readers of the regulation, the 

proposed repeal of text does not affect any businesses or 

entities. The subject matter concerns practitioners who treat 

infertility, their medical practices, and potential donors of 

gametes. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments do not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as “a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million.” 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 

affect costs for small businesses. 

mailto:Melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=687d1005347~41.pdf&typ=40&actno=005347&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=687d1005347~41.pdf&typ=40&actno=005347&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f5351005347~3S.pdf&typ=40&actno=005347&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f5351005347~3S.pdf&typ=40&actno=005347&mime=application/pdf
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Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect other entities. 

______________________________ 
1 See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?151+ful+CHAP0301. 
2 Gametes are either sperm or ova. 

3 CFR 21, Chapter 1, Part 1271-Human Cells, Tissues, and Cellular and 

Tissue-Based Products https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs 
/cfcfr/CFRSearch.cfm?CFRPart=1271. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Department of Health concurs with the findings and 

conclusions of the economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments repeal Part XII of 12VAC5-90 to comply 

with Chapter 301 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly, which 

repealed § 32.1-45.3 of the Code of Virginia, the statute 

that authorized regulations to establish a testing protocol 

for gamete donors. 

Part XII  

Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) Testing of Gamete 

Donors (Repealed) 

12VAC5-90-230. Definitions. (Repealed.)  

The following words and terms, when used in this part, shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Artificial insemination" means instrumental placement of 

semen into the vagina, cervical canal, or uterus of a recipient.  

"Donor" means an individual who is unrelated by marriage 

to the recipient and who contributes sperm or ova used in the 

following procedures: treatment of infertility by artificial 

insemination; in vitro fertilization; gamete intrafallopian tube 

transfer; zygote intrafallopian tube transfer or any other 

gamete, zygote, or embryo transfer; or other intervening 

medical technology using sperm or ova.  

"Embryo" means the product of a fertilized ovum prior to 

the eighth week of development inside a uterus.  

"Gamete" means either sperm or ova.  

"Gamete intrafallopian tube transfer" means placement of 

harvested ova and sperm into the fallopian tube or tubes of a 

recipient.  

"HIV-1" means the retrovirus causing the human 

immunodeficiency virus infection, type 1.  

"HIV-2" means the retrovirus causing the human 

immunodeficiency virus infection, type 2.  

"In vitro fertilization" means placement of a zygote or 

embryo that has been fertilized outside the body into the 

uterus of a recipient.  

"Zygote" means a fertilized ovum prior to cell cleavage.  

"Zygote intrafallopian tube transfer" means placement of a 

zygote or zygotes into the fallopian tube or tubes of a 

recipient.  

12VAC5-90-240. Excluding donors with high risk factors. 

(Repealed.)  

A. Practitioners using gametes for the treatment of infertility 

by transfer of such gametes to a recipient shall interview all 

gamete donors at the time of donation in order to screen for 

high risk behavior indicating potential exposure to HIV-1 and 

HIV-2.  

B. Any gamete donor reporting infection with HIV-1 or 

HIV-2 or any of the following risk factors shall be excluded 

from donating:  

1. Men who have had sex with another man within the 

preceding five years.  

2. Persons who have injected drugs for a nonmedical 

reason in the preceding five years, including intravenous, 

intramuscular, and subcutaneous injections of recreational 

or illegal drugs.  

3. Persons with hemophilia or related clotting disorders 

who have received human derived clotting factor 

concentrates.  

4. Persons who have had sex in exchange for money or 

drugs in the preceding five years.  

5. Persons who have had sex in the preceding 12 months 

with any person described in subdivisions 1 through 4 of 

this subsection or with any person suspected of being 

infected with HIV-1 or HIV-2.  

6. Persons who have been exposed within the last 12 

months to known or suspected HIV-1 or HIV-2 infected 

blood through percutaneous inoculation (e.g., needle stick) 

or through contact with an open wound, nonintact skin, or 

mucous membrane.  

7. Current inmates of correctional systems, including jails 

and prisons, and individuals who have been confined in jail 

or incarcerated in prison for more than 72 consecutive 

hours during the previous 12 months.  

8. Persons who have had or have been treated for syphilis 

or gonorrhea during the preceding 12 months.  

9. Persons who within 12 months of donation have 

undergone acupuncture, ear or body piercing or tattooing 

in which sterile procedures were not used or where it is 

unknown if sterile procedures were used.  

10. Persons who choose to defer from donation whether or 

not they report any of the above potential exposures to 

HIV-1 or HIV-2.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?151+ful+CHAP0301
https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfcfr/CFRSearch.cfm?CFRPart=1271
https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfcfr/CFRSearch.cfm?CFRPart=1271
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12VAC5-90-250. Storage of semen pending negative HIV 

tests. (Repealed.)  

Semen specimens from donors shall be stored and withheld 

from use for at least 180 days following donation and used 

only if the donor tests negative for serum antibodies for HIV-

1 and HIV-2 on enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay or 

blood HIV-1 and HIV-2 by polymerase chain reaction at least 

180 days after donation.  

12VAC5-90-260. Use of ova after negative HIV tests. 

(Repealed.)  

Ova shall be used only if the donor tests negative for serum 

antibodies to HIV-1 and HIV-2 on enzyme-linked 

immunosorbent assay or blood HIV-1 and HIV-2 by 

polymerase chain reaction at the initiation of the cycle during 

which the ova are harvested.  

12VAC5-90-270. Notifying recipients of option to delay 

transfer. (Repealed.)  

Practitioners using ova, embryos, or zygotes for the 

treatment of infertility or other medical technology involving 

the transfer of ova, embryos, or zygotes to a recipient shall 

notify these recipients of the option for having donor ova 

fertilized and the resultant zygotes frozen and then transferred 

to the recipient only if the ova donor is negative for serum 

antibodies for HIV-1 and HIV-2 on enzyme-linked 

immunosorbent assay or blood HIV-1 and HIV-2 by 

polymerase chain reaction at least 180 days after donation.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5211; Filed November 17, 2017, 4:15 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-490. Virginia Radiation 

Protection Regulations: Fee Schedule (adding 12VAC5-

490-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-229.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 11, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Steve Harrison, Director, Division of 

Radiological Health, Virginia Department of Health, 109 

Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-

8151, FAX (804) 864-8155, or email 

steve.harrison@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish fees for the initial registration 

and subsequent annual renewal of registration for 

individuals who inspect x-ray devices in the 

Commonwealth. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

12VAC5-490-50. Private inspector registration fees. 

A. Individuals included on the Commonwealth's list of 

qualified inspectors of x-ray machines pursuant to § 32.1-

229.1 D 5 of the Code of Virginia as of November 1, 2016, 

shall pay annually a registration renewal fee of $150 [ to the 

Virginia Department of Health X-Ray Program ] to remain on 

the list as a qualified inspector of x-ray machines pursuant to 

12VAC5-481-340. 

B. Individuals requesting to be placed on the 

Commonwealth's list of qualified inspectors of x-ray 

machines pursuant to § 32.1-229.1 D 5 of the Code of 

Virginia shall: 

1. Request approval by the Office of Radiological Health 

to become a qualified inspector of x-ray machines pursuant 

to 12VAC5-481-340; 

2. Pay an initial registration fee of $150 [ to the Virginia 

Department of Health X-Ray Program ], once approved; 

and 

3. Pursuant to subsection A of this section, pay annually a 

registration renewal fee of $150 to remain on the list as a 

qualified inspector of x-ray machines pursuant to 

12VAC5-481-340.  

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of the form 

with a hyperlink to access it. The form is also available from 

the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (12VAC5-490) 

Application to be Listed as a Private Inspector of X-ray 

Machines, RH-F-27 (eff. 9/2014) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4856; Filed November 9, 2017, 3:28 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and 

Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (amending 

12VAC30-50-220).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Date: January 10, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Item 306 OOOO of Chapter 780 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly, the 2016 Appropriation Act, directs the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services to cover low-

dose computed tomography lung cancer screenings for 

high-risk adults. The amendment conforms the regulation 

to this requirement. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a9ec7004856~2&typ=40&actno=004856&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a9ec7004856~2&typ=40&actno=004856&mime=application/pdf
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Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

12VAC30-50-220. Other diagnostic Diagnostic, screening, 

preventive, and rehabilitative services, i.e., other than 

those provided elsewhere in this plan.  

A. Diagnostic services are provided but only when 

necessary to confirm a diagnosis.  

B. Screening services.  

1. Screening mammograms for the female recipient 

population aged 35 and over shall be covered, consistent 

with the guidelines published by the American Cancer 

Society.  

2. Screening PSA (prostate specific antigen) and the 

related DRE (digital rectal examination) for males shall be 

covered, consistent with the guidelines published by the 

American Cancer Society.  

3. Screening Pap smears shall be covered annually for 

females, consistent with the guidelines published by the 

American Cancer Society.  

4. Screening services for colorectal cancer, specifically 

screening with an annual fecal occult blood test, flexible 

sigmoidoscopy or colonoscopy, or in appropriate 

circumstances radiologic imaging, in accordance with the 

most recently published recommendations established by 

the American College of Gastroenterology, in consultation 

with the American Cancer Society, for the ages, family 

histories, and frequencies referenced in such 

recommendations.  

5. Low-dose computed tomography lung cancer screening 

shall be covered annually for individuals between the ages 

of 55 years and 80 years who are current smokers, have 

quit smoking within the last 15 years, or have a history of 

smoking at least one pack of cigarettes per day for 30 or 

more years.  

C. Maternity length of stay and early discharge.  

1. If the mother and newborn, or the newborn alone, are 

discharged earlier than 48 hours after the day of delivery, 

DMAS will cover one early discharge follow-up visit as 

recommended by the physicians in accordance with and as 

indicated by the "Guidelines for Perinatal Care," 4th 

Edition, August 1997, as developed by the American 

Academy of Pediatrics and the American College of 

Obstetricians and Gynecologists. The mother and newborn, 

or the newborn alone if the mother has not been 

discharged, must meet the criteria for early discharge to be 

eligible for the early discharge follow-up visit. This early 

discharge follow-up visit does not affect or apply to any 

usual postpartum or well-baby care or any other covered 

care to which the mother or newborn is entitled; it is tied 

directly to an early discharge.  

2. The early discharge follow-up visit must be provided as 

directed by a physician. The physician may coordinate 

with the provider of his choice to provide the early 

discharge follow-up visit, within the following limitations. 

Qualified providers are those hospitals, physicians, nurse 

midwives, nurse practitioners, federally qualified health 

clinics, rural health clinics, and health departments' clinics 

that are enrolled as Medicaid providers and are qualified 

by the appropriate state authority for delivery of the 

service. The staff providing the follow-up visit, at a 

minimum, must be a registered nurse having training and 

experience in maternal and child health. The visit must be 

provided within 48 hours of discharge.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4949; Filed November 13, 2017, 11:09 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Board for Asbestos, 

Lead, and Home Inspectors is claiming an exemption from 

Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with 

§ 2.2-4006 A 6 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 

regulations of the regulatory boards served by the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia that are limited to reducing fees charged 

to regulants and applicants. The Virginia Board for Asbestos, 

Lead, and Home Inspectors will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-20. Virginia Asbestos 

Licensing Regulations (amending 18VAC15-20-53).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, Virginia 

Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments reduce the renewal and late renewal fees 

for individual asbestos licenses (i.e., worker, supervisor, 

inspector, management planner, project designer, and 

project monitor), asbestos analytical laboratory licenses, 

asbestos contractor licenses, and accredited asbestos 

training program approvals that expire for the 2018-2020 

renewal cycle in compliance with § 54.1-113 of the Code 

of Virginia.  
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18VAC15-20-53. Renewal and late renewal fees.  

A. Renewal and late renewal fees are set out in this section.  

Fee Type 
Fee 

Amount 
When Due 

Renewal for worker, 

supervisor, inspector, 

management planner, 

project designer or project 

monitor license 

$45 With renewal 

application 

Renewal for asbestos 

analytical laboratory license 

$75 With renewal 

application 

Renewal for asbestos 

contractor's license 

$70 With renewal 

application 

Renewal for accredited 

asbestos training program 

approval 

$125 With renewal 

application 

Late renewal for worker, 

supervisor, inspector, 

management planner, 

project designer or project 

monitor license (includes a 

$35 late renewal fee in 

addition to the regular $45 

renewal fee) 

$80 With renewal 

application 

Late renewal for asbestos 

analytical laboratory license 

(includes a $35 late renewal 

fee in addition to the 

regular $75 renewal fee) 

$110 With renewal 

application 

Late renewal for asbestos 

contractor's license 

(includes a $35 late renewal 

fee in addition to the 

regular $70 renewal fee) 

$105 With renewal 

application 

Late renewal for accredited 

asbestos training program 

approval (includes a $35 

late renewal fee in addition 

to the regular $125 renewal 

fee) 

$160 With renewal 

application 

B. For licenses expiring after February 1, 2018, and before 

February 1, 2020, the renewal fees shall be as follows: 

Renewal for worker, supervisor, inspector, 

management planner, project designer, or 

project monitor license 

$25 

Renewal for asbestos analytical laboratory 

license 

$40 

Renewal for asbestos contractor's license $30 

Renewal for accredited asbestos training 

program approval 

$40 

For late renewals received after March 1, 2018, and on or 

before February 28, 2020, the late renewal fees shall be as 

follows: 

Late renewal for worker, supervisor, 

inspector, management planner, project 

designer, or project monitor license 

$60 

Late renewal for asbestos analytical 

laboratory license 

$75 

Late renewal for asbestos contractor's license $65 

Late renewal for accredited asbestos training 

program approval 

$75 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC15-20)  

Asbestos Worker License Application, A506-3301LIC-v4 

(rev. 8/2015) 

Asbestos Supervisor License Application, A506-3302LIC-

v4 (rev. 8/2015) 

Asbestos Inspector License Application, A506-3303LIC v5 

(rev. 8/2015) 

Asbestos Management Planner License Application, A506-

3304LIC-v4 (rev. 8/2015) 

Asbestos Project Designer License Application, A506-

3305LIC-v4 (rev. 8/2015) 

Asbestos Project Monitor License Application, A506-

3309LIC-v5 (rev. 8/2015) 

Individual - Asbestos License Renewal Form, A506-

33AREN-v3 (rev. 8/2015)  

Asbestos Analytical Laboratory License Renewal Form, 

A506-3333REN-v3 (rev. 8/2015) 

Contractor - Asbestos & Lead License Renewal Form, 

A506-33CONREN-v3 (rev. 8/2015) 

Individual - Asbestos License Renewal Form, A506-

33AREN-v4 (rev. 2/2018) 

Asbestos Analytical Laboratory License Renewal Form, 

A506-3333REN-v4 (rev. 2/2018) 

Contractor - Asbestos & Lead License Renewal Form, 

A506-33CONREN-v4 (rev. 2/2018) 

Asbestos - Experience Verification Application, A506-

33AEXP-v4 (rev. 8/2015) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38871004539~5&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38871004539~5&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96ad6004539~6&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96ad6004539~6&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96d6a004539~7&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96d6a004539~7&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f908a004539~8&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f908a004539~8&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0c13b004539~9&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0c13b004539~9&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d5c05004539~10&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d5c05004539~10&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=47016005313~1N.pdf&typ=40&actno=005313&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=47016005313~1N.pdf&typ=40&actno=005313&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=43cf9005313~2N.pdf&typ=40&actno=005313&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=43cf9005313~2N.pdf&typ=40&actno=005313&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f8964005313~3N.pdf&typ=40&actno=005313&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f8964005313~3N.pdf&typ=40&actno=005313&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e7058004539~13&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e7058004539~13&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
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Asbestos - Education Verification Application, A506-

33AED-v3 (rev. 8/2015) 

Virginia Asbestos Licensing Consumer Information Sheet, 

A506-33ACIS-v2 (rev. 8/2013) 

Inspector/Project Designer/Contractor Disclosure Form, 

A506-33DIS-v2 (rev. 8/2013) 

Asbestos Contractor License Application, A506-3306LIC-

v4 (rev. 8/2015) 

Asbestos Analytical Laboratory License Application, A506-

3333LIC-v6 (rev. 8/2015) 

Asbestos Training Program Review and Audit Application, 

A506-3331ACRS-v4 (rev. 8/2015) 

Asbestos Project Monitor - Work Experience Log, A506-

3309EXP-v3 (rev. 8/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5313; Filed November 17, 2017, 2:59 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Board for Asbestos, 

Lead, and Home Inspectors is claiming an exemption from 

Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance 

with § 2.2-4006 A 6 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 

regulations of the regulatory boards served by the Department 

of Professional and Occupational Regulation pursuant to Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia that are limited to reducing fees 

charged to regulants and applicants. The Virginia Board for 

Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors will receive, consider, 

and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time 

with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-30. Virginia Lead-Based 

Paint Activities Regulations (amending 18VAC15-30-163).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, Virginia 

Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments reduce the renewal and late renewal fees 

for individual lead licenses (i.e., worker, supervisor, 

inspector, risk assessor, and project designer), lead 

contractor licenses, and accredited lead training program 

approvals that expire after February 1, 2018, and before 

February 1, 2020, to comply with § 54.1-113 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

18VAC15-30-163. Renewal and late renewal fees.  

A. Renewal and late renewal fees are as follows:  

Fee Type 
Fee 

Amount 
When Due 

Renewal for worker, 

supervisor, inspector, 

risk assessor or project 

designer license 

$45 
With renewal 

application 

Renewal for lead 

contractor license 
$70 

With renewal 

application 

Renewal for accredited 

lead training program 

approval 

$125 
With renewal 

application 

Late renewal for 

worker, supervisor, 

inspector, risk assessor 

or project designer 

license (includes a $35 

late renewal fee in 

addition to the regular 

$45 renewal fee) 

$80 
With renewal 

application 

Late renewal for lead 

contractor license 

(includes a $35 late 

renewal fee in addition 

to the regular $70 

renewal fee) 

$105 
With renewal 

application 

Late renewal for 

accredited lead training 

program approval 

(includes a $35 late 

renewal fee in addition 

to the regular $125 

renewal fee) 

$160 
With renewal 

application 

B. For licenses expiring after February 1, 2018, and before 

February 1, 2020, the renewal fees shall be as follows: 

Renewal for worker, supervisor, 

inspector, risk assessor, or project 

designer license 

$25 

Renewal for lead contractor license $30 

Renewal for accredited lead training 

program approval 
$40 

http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/uploadedFiles/MainSite/Content/Boards/ALHI/A506-33AED.pdf
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/uploadedFiles/MainSite/Content/Boards/ALHI/A506-33AED.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=334be004539~20&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=334be004539~20&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ec4e3004539~21&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ec4e3004539~21&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6d1f3004539~15&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6d1f3004539~15&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=184ef004539~16&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=184ef004539~16&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c2124004539~17&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c2124004539~17&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=279ce004539~18&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=279ce004539~18&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
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For late renewals received after March 1, 2018, and on or 

before February 28, 2020, the late renewal fees shall be as 

follows: 

Late renewal for worker, supervisor, 

inspector, risk assessor, or project 

designer license 

$60 

Late renewal for lead contractor license $65 

Late renewal for accredited lead training 

program approval 
$75 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC15-30)  

Lead Abatement Worker License Application, A506-

3351LIC-v3 (eff. 8/2015) 

Lead Abatement Supervisor License Application, A506-

3353LIC-v4 (eff. 8/2015) 

Lead Abatement Inspector License Application, A506-

3355LIC-v3 (eff. 8/2015) 

Lead Abatement Risk Assessor License Application, A506-

3356LIC-v5 (eff. 8/2015) 

Lead Abatement Project Designer License Application, 

A506-3357LIC-v3 (eff. 8/2015) 

Lead Abatement Contractor License Application, A506-

3358LIC-v3 (eff. 8/2015) 

Contractor - Asbestos & Lead License Renewal Form, 

A506-33CONREN-v3 (eff. 8/2015) 

Individual - Lead License Renewal Form, A506-33LREN-

v2 (eff. 8/2015)  

Contractor - Asbestos & Lead License Renewal Form, 

A506-33CONREN-v4 (rev. 2/2018) 

Individual - Lead License Renewal Form, A506-33LREN-

v3 (rev. 2/2018) 

Lead - Education Verification Application, A506-33LED-v3 

(rev. 8/2015) 

Lead - Experience Verification Application, A506-33LEXP-

v3 (rev. 8/2015) 

Lead Training Course Application, 3331LCRS-v4 (eff. 

8/2015) 

Inspector/Risk Assessor/Project Designer/Contractor 

Disclosure Form, A506-33LDIS-v2 (eff. 8/2013) 

Virginia Lead Licensing Consumer Information Sheet, 

A506-33LCIS-v2 (eff. 8/2013)  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5315; Filed November 17, 2017, 3:01 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Board for Asbestos, 

Lead, and Home Inspectors is claiming an exemption from 

Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance 

with § 2.2-4006 A 6 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 

regulations of the regulatory boards served by the Department 

of Professional and Occupational Regulation pursuant to Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia that are limited to reducing fees 

charged to regulants and applicants. The Virginia Board for 

Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors will receive, consider, 

and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time 

with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-40. Home Inspector 

Licensing Regulations (amending 18VAC15-40-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Trisha L. Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email 

alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments reduce the fees for certain license 

renewals and reinstatement applications for home 

inspectors and home inspectors with new residential 

structure specialty designations to comply with § 54.1-113 

of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC15-40-50. Fees. 

Fee type 
Fee 

amount 
When due 

Initial home 

inspector application 

$80 With application for 

home inspector 

Initial NRS 

specialty application 

$80 With application for 

NRS specialty 

designation 

Home inspector 

renewal 

$45 With renewal 

application 

Home inspector 

with NRS specialty 

renewal 

$90 
With renewal 

application 

Home inspector 

reinstatement 

$125 With reinstatement 

application 

Home inspector with 

NRS specialty 

reinstatement 

$170 
With reinstatement 

application 

Prelicense education 

course approval 

$250 With prelicense 

education course 

approval application 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f1e18003181~1&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f1e18003181~1&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1fdfb003181~3&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1fdfb003181~3&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49272003181~4&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49272003181~4&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b6cd8003181~6&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b6cd8003181~6&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5257c003181~5&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5257c003181~5&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cb141003181~2&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cb141003181~2&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ce022005315~1N.pdf&typ=40&actno=005315&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ce022005315~1N.pdf&typ=40&actno=005315&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a0c27005315~2N.pdf&typ=40&actno=005315&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a0c27005315~2N.pdf&typ=40&actno=005315&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2f85d004539~3&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2f85d004539~3&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=97cec004539~4&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=97cec004539~4&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d0734003181~11&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d0734003181~11&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2e27c003181~12&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2e27c003181~12&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e05e3003181~13&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e05e3003181~13&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
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NRS training 

module approval 

$150 With NRS training 

module approval 

application 

NRS CPE course 

approval 

$150 With NRS CPE 

course approval 

application 

For licenses expiring after February 1, 2018, and before 

February 1, 2020, the renewal fees shall be as follows: 

Home inspector renewal $25 

Home inspector with NRS specialty 

renewal 

$50 

For reinstatement applications received after March 1, 2018, 

and on or before February 28, 2020, the reinstatement fees 

shall be as follows: 

Home inspector reinstatement $105 

Home inspector with NRS specialty 

reinstatement 

$130 

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of the form 

with a hyperlink to access it. The form is also available from 

the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC15-40)  

Home Inspector License Application, A506-3380LIC-v3 

(eff. 9/2017) 

Home Inspector NRS Specialty Designation Application, 

A506-3380NRS-v1 (eff. 7/2017) 

Home Inspector Experience Verification Form, A506-

3380EXP-v7 (eff. 9/2017) 

Home Inspectors – Inspection Log, A506-3380ILOG-v1 

(eff. 9/2017) 

Home Inspector Reinstatement Application, A506-3380REI-

v1 (eff. 7/2017)  

Home Inspector Reinstatement Application, A506-3380REI-

v2 (eff. 2/2018)  

Home Inspector - Course Approval Application, Prelicense 

Education Course/NRS Training Module/NRS CPE, A506-

3331HICRS-v1 (eff. 4/2017) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5317; Filed November 16, 2017, 3:32 p.m.  

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Veterinary Medicine (adding 18VAC150-

20-174).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

February 8, 2018 - 9:05 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 

Floor Conference Center, Henrico, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: February 09, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4468, FAX 

(804) 527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Veterinary Medicine the authority to 

promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system. 

Pursuant to § 54.1-3408.4 of the Code of Virginia (Chapters 

794 and 812 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly), the board is 

required to adopt regulations for veterinarians to be able to 

prescribe buprenorphine. 

Purpose: The purpose of the regulatory action is to establish 

requirements for prescribing of controlled substances 

containing opioids to address the overdose and addiction 

crisis in the Commonwealth. The goal is to provide 

veterinarians with definitive rules to follow so that they may 

feel more assured of their ability to treat pain in an 

appropriate manner to avoid under-prescribing or over-

prescribing and to discourage pet owners from using their 

animals to obtain drugs. 

Substance: Regulations specify that nonpharmacologic and 

non-opioid treatment for pain should be considered, but if an 

opioid is necessary, it should be prescribed in the lowest 

effective dose for the shortest period of time, not to exceed 14 

days. Regulations for management of chronic pain, terminal 

illness, or chronic conditions beyond 14 days include 

requirements for evaluation and treatment, including a 

treatment plan, consultation with an owner about storage and 

security, and recordkeeping. Regulations for prescribing of 

buprenorphine include a limitation of a seven-day supply with 

reexamination required to prescribe beyond that period. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is a reduction in 

the amount of opioid medication that is available in Virginia 

communities. Although veterinarians prescribe opioids for 

animals, there is sufficient evidence to indicate that a small 

percentage of opioids are being diverted for human use. 

Therefore, a limitation on the quantity of opioids that may be 

prescribed should result in fewer people becoming addicted to 

pain medication, which sometimes leads them to turn to 

heroin and other illicit drugs. The primary disadvantage to the 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c0dda005264~51.pdf&typ=40&actno=005264&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c0dda005264~51.pdf&typ=40&actno=005264&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=79f02005264~22.pdf&typ=40&actno=005264&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=79f02005264~22.pdf&typ=40&actno=005264&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=19f80005264~33.pdf&typ=40&actno=005264&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=19f80005264~33.pdf&typ=40&actno=005264&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=41c4b005264~44.pdf&typ=40&actno=005264&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=41c4b005264~44.pdf&typ=40&actno=005264&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=55130005317~1f.pdf&typ=0%20&actno=005317&mime=application/pdf&file=xxx.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=55130005317~1f.pdf&typ=0%20&actno=005317&mime=application/pdf&file=xxx.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cc15c004950~1&typ=40&actno=004950&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cc15c004950~1&typ=40&actno=004950&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cc15c004950~1&typ=40&actno=004950&mime=application/pdf
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public may be that more explicit rules for prescribing may 

result in some owners having to bring their animals for more 

frequent visits in order to continue receiving opioid 

medication.  

The primary advantage to the Commonwealth is the potential 

reduction in the number of persons addicted to opioids and 

the number of deaths from overdoses. There are no 

disadvantages. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Veterinary Medicine (Board) proposes to amend its 

regulations to set rules for the prescribing of opioids other 

than buprenorphine for animals in need of acute or chronic 

pain treatment. Separately, the Board proposes to set rules for 

the prescription of buprenorphine for animals. This proposed 

regulation will replace an emergency regulation that became 

effective June 26, 2017 and will expire December 25, 2018. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 

ascertain whether benefits will outweigh costs for these 

regulatory changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  

Board's Purpose: The agency background document (ABD) 

states that the Board's purpose for promulgating these 

regulatory changes is to establish the "requirements for 

prescribing of controlled substances containing opioids to 

address the overdose and addiction crisis in the 

Commonwealth." The ABD also notes that the proposed 

regulation's "primary benefit is a reduction in the amount of 

opioid medication that is available in our communities."  

Proposed Regulatory Requirements: Prior to the promulgation 

of the expiring emergency regulation, there were no specific 

laws or regulations that set requirements for veterinarians' 

prescribing of opioids. In this proposed regulation, and the 

emergency regulation it will replace, the Board now proposes 

to require that veterinarians consider nonpharmacologic1 and 

non-opioid2 treatments for pain before considering an opioid. 

Veterinarians will also be required to perform a history and 

physical exam, as well as assess the patient animal's history 

as part of an initial evaluation. If an opioid medication is 

prescribed for the treatment of acute pain, the Board proposes 

to require that it be prescribed in the lowest effective dose 

appropriate to the size and species of the animal patient and 

for the least amount of time possible. For acute pain, the 

Board proposes to limit any prescriptions for opioids to a 14-

day supply.  

The Board proposes to specify that treatment with opioids 

past an initial 14-day supply may only occur if that 

prescribing is within the accepted standard of care and is for 

the treatment of chronic pain, end-of-life pain, or for certain 

chronic conditions.3 The Board proposes to require that 

animal patients being treated for chronic or end-of-life 

conditions be seen and evaluated for the continued need for 

opioid treatment after the initial 14-day prescription. For any 

opioid treatment that will last longer than 14 days, 

veterinarians will be required to develop a treatment plan that 

includes "measures to be used to determine progress, further 

diagnostic evaluations or modalities that might be necessary, 

and the extent to which the pain or condition is associated 

with physical impairment." Thereafter, the Board proposes to 

require re-evaluation of the patient animal every six months 

and that justification for continued prescribing of opioid 

medication be documented in the patient animal's records.  

The Board also proposes to limit the prescribing of 

buprenorphine (for out-patient administration) to (1) a 

dosage, quantity and formulation appropriate for the patient 

animal, (2) an initial prescription of seven days, with any 

extension requiring a re-examination of the patient animal. 

The veterinarian will be required to document in the patient 

animal's records the re-examination, and that continued 

treatment with buprenorphine is consistent with an 

appropriate standard of care.  

Prior to prescribing any opioid medications, the Board 

proposes to require veterinarians discuss with pet owners the 

known risks and benefits of opioid therapy, the owners' 

responsibility to secure opioid medications while in use, and 

how to properly dispose of any unused medication. 

Veterinarians will be required to document these discussions. 

The Board also proposes to specify that "continuation of 

treatment with controlled substances shall be supported by 

documentation of continued benefit from the prescribing." If 

a patient animal's progress is unsatisfactory, the Board 

proposes to require that veterinarians assess the 

appropriateness of continued opioid therapy and consider the 

use of other treatments. Additionally, the Board proposes to 

require that any medical record for prescribing controlled 

substances include "signs or presentation of pain or condition, 

a presumptive diagnosis of the origin of the pain or condition, 

an examination appropriate to the complaint, a treatment plan, 

and the medication prescribed to include the date, type, 

dosage and quantity prescribed." 

Benefits and Costs for Proposed Regulatory Requirements: 

As noted above, the primary benefit identified by the Board is 

a reduction in the amount of opioid medication available in 

Virginia communities. Other benefits identified in the ABD 

include: 

• the "potential reduction in the number of persons addicted to 

opioids and deaths from overdoses;" 

• providing "veterinarians with definitive rules to follow so 

they may feel more assured of their ability to treat pain in an 

appropriate manner to avoid underprescribing or over-

prescribing;" and 

• to "discourage pet owners from using their animals to obtain 

drugs."  

The magnitude of the opioid crisis in Virginia is described in 

the ABD, which notes that by the end of 2016 the numbers of 

fatal opioid overdose deaths were expected to increase by 77 
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percent, compared to five years ago. (This includes heroin 

and fentanyl.) Moreover, in the first half of 2016 the total 

number of fatal drug overdoses in Virginia increased 35 

percent, when compared to the same time period in 2015. The 

ABD also notes that many individuals who become addicted 

to heroin started with an addiction to prescription drugs, and 

the federal Drug Enforcement Administration observes that 

"fentanyl can serve as substitute for heroin in opioid 

dependent individuals."4 Therefore, in order to stem the tide 

of addiction, the Board states that practitioners need 

enforceable rules for proper prescribing of opioids.  

Analysis of Regulatory Effects Is Hindered by Lack of 

Key Information. The ABD appears to suggest that the 

opioid crisis substantially results from prescription 

opioids. The harm the regulation is intended to address 

occurs either directly, from misuse of prescription opioids, 

or indirectly, wherein misuse of prescription opioids leads 

to misuse of other substances. No data appear to exist, 

however, that could be used to analyze the magnitude to 

which this may occur in Virginia. As noted below, 

available data indicate that prescription opioids are a 

leading cause or contributing factor in overdoses in 

Virginia. On the other hand, data indicate that the driver of 

fatal drug overdoses in Virginia is illicit fentanyl, not 

prescription opioids. Moreover, no data appear to exist 

that indicate the number of Virginians who misuse a 

prescription opioid and then become addicted to, or fatally 

overdose on, a non-prescription opioid. To the extent that 

the regulation reduces the amount of opioids in Virginia 

communities, and the number of persons addicted to 

opioids or deaths from overdoses, a benefit would be 

conferred. However, given the lack of data available to 

measure these outcomes, DPB staff were not able to 

calculate the extent to which this benefit may result. 

Most of the drug-related deaths in Virginia since 2015 

have resulted from sources other than prescription opioids. 

The Office of the Chief Medical Examiner (OCME) 

reports that "there has not been a significant increase or 

decrease in fatal prescription opioid overdoses" in the 

nine-year period from 2007 to 2016.5 Instead, the OCME 

notes that fentanyl "has caused the significant rise in all 

fatal opioid overdoses in the Commonwealth since 2012." 

More specifically, OCME data indicate that prescription 

opioids (excluding fentanyl) caused or contributed to, on 

average, 443 deaths each year during this time period. In 

contrast, during 2015 to 2016 alone the OCME reports 

that "fatal fentanyl overdoses increased by 176.4 percent," 

accounting for 622 deaths in 2016, an increase from 225 

in 2015.6  

These drug-related deaths, however, are often caused by 

more than one drug. Accordingly, the data reported by 

OCME on the number of deaths from a given drug 

frequently include deaths where more than one drug was 

"on board." As noted by the OCME, a single cocaine, 

heroin, and alprazolam overdose death will be counted 

three times: once under each class of drug. Because of the 

frequency of these "polypharmacy" results, no specific 

data exist on the number of deaths in Virginia that result 

from just one drug, such as prescription opioids.  

DPB staff were not able to identify any data indicating the 

number of persons in Virginia who have become addicted 

to or died from opioids as a result of diversion or misuse 

of opioids, including prescriptions to animals. In part this 

results from the presence of the polypharmacy results 

noted above, which hinder an assessment of the actual 

number of people who die from prescription opioids. And 

though national survey data7 and other studies indicate 

that 65 to 75 percent of heroin abusers began with 

prescription opioids,8 no discrete data appear to exist on 

the number of Virginians who become addicted or the 

deaths that may occur.  

Regulatory Requirements Affecting the Commonwealth. 

According to the ABD, there is sufficient evidence to 

indicate that a small percentage of opioids prescribed by 

veterinarians for animals are being diverted for human 

use. Although not specifically stated in the ABD, it 

appears that the kind of diversion the regulation is 

intended to address would occur outside of the 

veterinarian's office, by either the pet's owner or other 

persons who gain access to the prescribed opioid. DPB 

staff were able to identify an instance of "veterinarian 

shopping" that occurred in Fairfax County in 2016. 

According to a brochure published by the Franconia 

District, Drug Diversion Information for Veterinarians,9 a 

dog owner brought his pet to six different veterinarians 

and received multiple prescriptions for Xanax and 

Tramadol (an opioid). 

Regulatory Requirements Affecting Veterinarians. The 

ABD also indicates that veterinarians will benefit from the 

presence of definitive rules for prescribing opioids. Any 

benefit that might be realized from this proposed 

regulation would have to be weighed against costs that 

may be incurred by veterinarians. To the extent that 

veterinarians' current record keeping and drug 

consultation practices differ from the requirements 

proposed by the Board, they will likely incur time and 

record keeping costs on account of the proposed 

regulation. Some veterinarians may also incur costs 

defending against Board disciplinary actions regarding 

their decisions to prescribe opioids, their record keeping, 

or other practices.  

Regulatory Requirements Affecting Pet Owners. The 

benefits accruing to pet owners appear to be mixed, 

depending upon the species, the nature of their health 

concerns, and the efficacy of non-opioid treatments. The 

ABD notes that because of a bill passed during the 2017 

Session,10 "without these regulations, Virginia law would 

prohibit all prescribing of buprenorphine mono-product 

for animals." Accordingly, the regulation would confer a 
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benefit by allowing prescriptions for buprenorphine mono-

product. Board staff report, in the Board's answer to a 

commenter at the emergency stage of this regulation, that 

the most common use of buprenorphine in veterinary 

medicine is to treat pain in cats.11 Board staff further 

reports that the dosages typically prescribed for felines are 

small and are unlikely to be abused by humans. 

As noted by the Board in the ABD, some other pet 

owners, whose animals are prescribed opioids other than 

buprenorphine, may incur additional fees for additional 

office visits.12 These fees are most likely for owners of 

pets with chronic or end-of-life conditions, or whose 

otherwise need a prescription that exceeds 14 days. DPB 

staff obtained one estimate of approximately $50 for a 

simple office visit13 with no tests ordered or vaccines 

given. Costs incurred at any individual veterinarian's 

office may vary from that estimate.  

In addition, to the extent that this proposed regulation 

leads veterinarians to order more nonpharmacologic 

treatments rather than, or in addition to, prescribing 

opioids, pet owners will likely incur increased costs for 

those treatments. The potential exists for any reduction in 

medication to result in unrelieved pain in animal patients, 

but the extent to which this may occur could not be 

determined. DPB staff obtained several estimates for the 

cost of animal acupuncture14 that ranged from $146 to 

$160 for initial consultation and approximately $85 for 

each treatment thereafter.15 Again, costs incurred at any 

individual veterinarian's office may vary from these 

estimates.16  

Businesses and Entities Affected. These changes will affect 

all veterinarians in Virginia as well as all pet owners who use 

their services. Board staff reports that there are 4,342 

veterinarians licensed by the Board, and that almost all 

veterinarians work for veterinary practices that would be 

considered small businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will be 

particularly affected by this proposed change. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action is 

unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

proposed regulatory change is unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses veterinarians will 

likely incur additional time and record keeping costs on 

account of this proposed regulation.  

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There 

are likely no alternative methods that would both further 

minimize costs for affected small businesses and meet the 

Board's aims in promulgating this regulation.  

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. Veterinary practices will likely incur additional time 

and record keeping costs on account of this proposed regulation. 

Localities. No locality is likely to suffer adverse impacts on 

account of this proposed regulatory change. 

Other Entities. Some affected pet owners are likely to incur 

additional office visit costs for their pets on account of the 

proposed regulation's requirement that (1) pets being treated for 

chronic pain with opioids other than buprenorphine be seen by 

their veterinarian after 14 days and every six months thereafter, 

and (2) that animals being treated with buprenorphine be re-

examined after seven days. Pet owners may also incur additional 

costs for nonpharmacologic treatments for their pets if this 

proposed regulation causes veterinarians to order those 

treatments more frequently. Cat owners may be 

disproportionately affected by the limitations on prescription of 

buprenorphine. 

______________________________ 
1Board staff reports that nonpharmacologic treatments can include such 

treatments as acupuncture, physical therapy, hydrotherapy and heat therapy. 

2Board staff and other sources reports that non-opioid treatments include 
ibuprofen, acetaminophen and aspirin. 

3The proposed regulation lists chronic heart failure, chronic bronchitis, 

collapsing trachea "or other related conditions" as chronic conditions that 
would allow a veterinarian to prescribe opioids. 

4https://departments.arlingtonva.us/wp-

content/uploads/sites/6/2017/06/heroin_fentanyl_brochure.pdf  
5http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/18/2016/04/Fatal-Drug-

Overdoses-Quarterly-Report-Q1-%202017_Updated.pdf 

6OCME data indicate that more than 90 percent of fentanyl-related deaths 
result from illicit fentanyl. 

7https://www.drugabuse.gov/publications/research-reports/relationship-

between-prescription-drug-heroin-abuse/prescription-opioid-use-risk-factor-
heroin-use  

8Fentanyl in the US heroin supply: A rapidly changing risk environment, 

International Journal of Drug Policy 46 (2017) 107–111. 
9https://www.washingtonpost.com/r/2010-

2019/WashingtonPost/2017/08/30/Health-Environment-

Science/Graphics/Drug-Diversion-Brochure.pdf?tid=a_inl  
10https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0794  

11According to the agency background document, small doses of a trans-

mucosal (liquid) formulation of buprenorphine are prescribed for cats. 
12DPB called several veterinarians' offices and found that re-examination 

policies varied from office to office with some offices already having policies 

similar to those in the Board's proposed regulation and some only requiring 
annual re-examination if an animal is doing well on their opioid prescription. 

13Most re-examinations would likely be simple office visits with no 

additional charges. 
14DPB also obtained cost estimates for laser treatments from one 

veterinarian's office. Those treatments at that office are $52 per treatment or 

a bundle of six treatments for $277. Another veterinarian's office that offers 

https://departments.arlingtonva.us/wp-content/uploads/sites/6/2017/06/heroin_fentanyl_brochure.pdf
https://departments.arlingtonva.us/wp-content/uploads/sites/6/2017/06/heroin_fentanyl_brochure.pdf
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/18/2016/04/Fatal-Drug-Overdoses-Quarterly-Report-Q1-%202017_Updated.pdf
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/18/2016/04/Fatal-Drug-Overdoses-Quarterly-Report-Q1-%202017_Updated.pdf
https://www.drugabuse.gov/publications/research-reports/relationship-between-prescription-drug-heroin-abuse/prescription-opioid-use-risk-factor-heroin-use
https://www.drugabuse.gov/publications/research-reports/relationship-between-prescription-drug-heroin-abuse/prescription-opioid-use-risk-factor-heroin-use
https://www.drugabuse.gov/publications/research-reports/relationship-between-prescription-drug-heroin-abuse/prescription-opioid-use-risk-factor-heroin-use
https://www.washingtonpost.com/r/2010-2019/WashingtonPost/2017/08/30/Health-Environment-Science/Graphics/Drug-Diversion-Brochure.pdf?tid=a_inl
https://www.washingtonpost.com/r/2010-2019/WashingtonPost/2017/08/30/Health-Environment-Science/Graphics/Drug-Diversion-Brochure.pdf?tid=a_inl
https://www.washingtonpost.com/r/2010-2019/WashingtonPost/2017/08/30/Health-Environment-Science/Graphics/Drug-Diversion-Brochure.pdf?tid=a_inl
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0794
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underwater treadmill treatments reported that the initial consultation for those 

treatments is $160 with additional charges for each treatment thereafter. 

15One source also reported that frequency of required visits would vary. 
Treatment for acute conditions would usually require a series of treatments 

over several weeks and treatment for chronic conditions would usually 

require less frequent treatments which could be once a month or once every 
several months. 

16These costs would likely be incurred either in addition to, or instead of, the 

costs for opioid medications. DPB obtained an estimate of $20 for the cost of 
filling a prescription for 100 tablets of tramadol of a dosage appropriate for 

an 85-pound dog. This cost would likely vary for different medications, 

dosages and number of pills dispensed and may vary by veterinarian's office 
or pharmacy. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Veterinary Medicine does not concur with the result of the 

analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget for the 

proposed amendments to 18VAC150-20, Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Veterinary Medicine. Regulations 

developed by veterinarians on a regulatory advisor panel and 

board members are consistent with the current standard of 

care. It is the professional judgment of veterinarians that 

prescribing consistent with provisions of the emergency 

regulations will benefit patients and the public at large. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment establishes requirements for 

prescribing controlled substances containing opioids by 

veterinarians. The regulation provides for the management 

of (i) acute pain to include requirements for the evaluation 

of the patient, limitations on quantity and dosage, and 

recordkeeping and (ii) chronic pain (i.e., prescribing an 

opioid beyond 14 days for certain chronic conditions or 

terminal illnesses) to include requirements that allow for 

prescribing of buprenorphine in a dosage, quantity, and 

formulation appropriate for an animal according to 

species and size. Finally, requirements are included for 

continuation of treatment and for the content of the 

medical record. 

18VAC150-20-174. Prescribing of controlled substances 

for pain or chronic conditions. 

A. Evaluation of the patient and need for prescribing a 

controlled substance for pain. 

1. For the purposes of this section, a controlled substance 

shall be a Schedules II through V drug, as set forth in the 

Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), which contains an opioid. 

2. Nonpharmacologic and non-opioid treatment for pain 

shall be given consideration prior to treatment with 

opioids. Prior to initiating treatment with a controlled 

substance, as defined, the prescriber shall perform a history 

and physical examination appropriate to the complaint and 

conduct an assessment of the patient's history as part of the 

initial evaluation.  

3. If a controlled substance is necessary for treatment of 

acute pain, the veterinarian shall prescribe it in the lowest 

effective dose appropriate to the size and species of the 

animal for the least amount of time. The dose shall not 

exceed a 14-day supply.  

B. If the prescribing is within the accepted standard of care, 

a veterinarian may prescribe a controlled substance 

containing an opioid for management of chronic pain, 

terminal illnesses, or certain chronic conditions, such as 

chronic heart failure, chronic bronchitis, osteoarthritis, 

collapsing trachea, or related conditions.  

1. For prescribing a controlled substance for management 

of pain after the initial 14-day prescription referenced in 

subsection A of this section, the patient shall be seen and 

evaluated for the continued need for an opioid. 

2. For any prescribing of a controlled substance beyond 14 

days, the veterinarian shall develop a treatment plan for the 

patient, which shall include measures to be used to 

determine progress in treatment, further diagnostic 

evaluations or modalities that might be necessary, and the 

extent to which the pain or condition is associated with 

physical impairment.  

3. For continued prescribing of a controlled substance, the 

patient shall be seen and reevaluated at least every six 

months, and the justification for such prescribing 

documented in the patient record. 

C. Prior to prescribing or dispensing a controlled substance, 

the veterinarian shall document a discussion with the owner 

about the known risks and benefits of opioid therapy, the 

responsibility for the security of the drug, and proper disposal 

of any unused drug.  

D. Continuation of treatment with controlled substances 

shall be supported by documentation of continued benefit 

from the prescribing. If the patient's progress is 

unsatisfactory, the veterinarian shall assess the 

appropriateness of continued use of the current treatment plan 

and consider the use of other therapeutic modalities. 

E. Prescribing of buprenorphine for outpatient 

administration shall only occur in accordance with the 

following: 

1. The dosage, quantity, and formulation shall be 

appropriate for the patient; and 

2. The prescription shall not exceed a seven-day supply. 

Any prescribing beyond seven days shall be consistent 

with an appropriate standard of care and only after a 

reexamination of the patient as documented in the patient 

record. 

F. The medical record for prescribing controlled substances 

shall include signs or presentation of the pain or condition, a 

presumptive diagnosis for the origin of the pain or condition, 

an examination appropriate to the complaint, a treatment plan, 

and the medication prescribed to include the date, type, 

dosage, and quantity prescribed. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5103; Filed November 20, 2017, 8:28 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 8 Virginia Register of Regulations December 11, 2017 

825 

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-318. Rules Governing the 

Evaluation, Measurement, and Verification of the Effects 

of Utility-Sponsored Demand-Side Management 

Programs (adding 20VAC5-318-10 through 20VAC5-318-

60).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-585.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: David Dalton, Utilities Analyst, Public 

Utility Regulation Division, State Corporation Commission, 

P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-

9634, FAX (804) 371-9350, or email 

david.dalton@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The new chapter governs the evaluation, measurement, 

and verification (EM&V) of the effects of utility-sponsored 

demand-side management programs that are of general 

applicability to electric and natural gas utilities. Changes 

made since publication of the proposed chapter include 

adding definitions for the terms "average rate schedule 

usage," "eligible customer," and "free rider" and 

eliminating references to EM&V planning documents and 

certain provisions regarding those documents to clarify the 

scope of the preliminary EM&V plan filings. Various 

technical and other clarifying amendments are also set 

forth in the final regulations.  

AT RICHMOND, NOVEMBER 9, 2017 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUR-2017-00047 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Adopting 

New Rules Governing the Evaluation, 

Measurement, and Verification of the 

Effects of Utility-Sponsored Demand-Side 

Management Programs 

ORDER ADOPTING RULES AND REGULATIONS 

During the 2016 Session of the Virginia General Assembly, 

two identical bills, House Bill 1053 and Senate Bill 395, were 

passed by the General Assembly. These bills required the 

State Corporation Commission ("Commission") to evaluate 

the establishment of uniform protocols for measuring, 

verifying, validating, and reporting the impacts of energy 

efficiency measures implemented by investor-owned electric 

utilities providing retail electric utility service in the 

Commonwealth; a methodology for estimating annual 

kilowatt savings; and a formula to calculate the levelized cost 

of saved energy for such energy efficiency measures. The 

Commission also was required to submit to the Governor and 

the General Assembly a report of its findings and 

recommendations by December 1, 2016. 

On March 30, 2016, the Commission issued a Scheduling 

Order in Case No. PUE-2016-00022 that established a 

proceeding to conduct an evaluation ("Evaluation") to 

consider the establishment of: (i) uniform protocols for 

measuring, verifying, validating, and reporting the impacts of 

energy efficiency measures; (ii) a methodology for estimating 

annual kilowatt savings for such energy efficiency measures; 

and (iii) a formula to calculate the levelized cost of saved 

energy for such energy efficiency measures (collectively, 

"Objectives").1 The Commission conducted the Evaluation 

and considered the Objectives as they concern energy 

efficiency measures implemented by both investor-owned 

electric utilities and investor-owned natural gas utilities,2 as 

both types of utilities conduct energy efficiency programs. 

The Commission determined that since evaluation and 

verification of energy savings of energy efficiency programs 

typically are measured against the projected savings included 

in cost/benefit analyses, the Commission also would consider 

the methodologies by which utilities calculate the 

components of the cost/benefit tests3 in proceedings 

requesting approval to implement energy efficiency 

programs.4  

Among other things, the March 30, 2016 Scheduling Order 

invited interested persons and entities to comment on the 

Objectives and the Cost/Benefit Questions under 

consideration in this matter through the submission of written 

comments and/or through the presentation of oral comments 

at a public session. Over forty written and oral comments 

were received and considered by the Commission. 

On November 30, 2016, the Commission issued an Order on 

Evaluation in Case No. PUE-2016-00022 wherein it, among 

other things, directed the Commission Staff ("Staff") to draft 

proposed rules governing the evaluation, measurement, and 

verification ("EM&V") of the effects of utility-sponsored 

demand-side management ("DSM") programs of general 

applicability to both electric and natural gas utilities.5 On 

December 1, 2016, the Commission submitted its report to 

the Governor and the Virginia General Assembly regarding 

the Evaluation.6 

On May 16, 2017, the Commission issued an Order for 

Notice and Hearing ("Procedural Order") that docketed this 

proceeding. A draft of the proposed Rules Governing the 

Evaluation, Measurement, and Verification of the Effects of 
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Utility-Sponsored Demand-Side Management Programs 

("Proposed Rules") prepared by Staff were appended to the 

Procedural Order. The Procedural Order and Proposed Rules 

were published in the Virginia Register of Regulations on 

June 12, 2017, posted on the Commission's website, and sent 

to various interested parties. The Procedural Order also 

invited interested persons and entities to provide input 

through written and/or oral comments on the Proposed Rules 

and scheduled a public hearing to convene on September 8, 

2017, for the receipt of oral comments on the Proposed Rules. 

The following persons and entities submitted written 

comments: the Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals and 

Energy; Kentucky Utilities Company d/b/a Old Dominion 

Power Company; the Virginia, Maryland & Delaware 

Association of Electric Cooperatives ("Cooperatives"); 

Northern Virginia Electric Cooperative; Ameresco, Inc., 

Cree, Inc., the Dow Chemical Company, Schneider Electric, 

United Technologies Corporation, the National Association 

of Energy Service Companies, and the Polyisocyanurate 

Insulation Manufacturers Association; the Virginia Energy 

Efficiency Council ("VEEC"); Columbia Gas of Virginia, Inc. 

("Columbia"); the Division of Consumer Counsel, Office of 

the Attorney General ("Consumer Counsel"); Appalachian 

Power Company ("APCo"); Virginia Natural Gas, Inc. 

("VNG"); the American Council for an Energy-Efficient 

Economy and the Southeast Energy Efficiency Alliance; 

Virginia Electric and Power Company d/b/a Dominion 

Energy Virginia ("Dominion"); Advanced Energy Economy; 

EnergySavvy; the Southern Environmental Law Center 

("SELC"); the Virginia Chapter of the Sierra Club; Viridiant; 

the Virginia Poverty Law Center ("VPLC"); the Virginia 

Housing Alliance; the Natural Resources Defense Council; 

and additional comments by individuals. 

On August 11, 2017, Staff filed a report ("Staff Report") 

addressing comments submitted to the Commission 

concerning the Proposed Rules.  In response to comments 

received, Staff prepared revisions to the Proposed Rules, 

which were appended to the Staff Report. During the public 

hearing convened on September 8, 2017, the Commission 

received oral comments from the following persons and 

entities: APCo; Columbia; EnergySavvy; SELC; Dominion; 

VEEC; the Cooperatives; VPLC; Consumer Counsel; and the 

Staff.7 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of this 

matter, is of the opinion and finds that the Commission 

should adopt the rules appended hereto as Attachment A, 

effective January 1, 2018. 

The Commission expresses appreciation to those who have 

submitted written and oral comments for our consideration. 

The Commission has considered all written and oral 

comments submitted in this proceeding. 

The regulations we adopt herein contain modifications to 

those that were first proposed by Staff and published in the 

Virginia Register on June 12, 2017. These modifications 

follow our consideration of the comments filed in this 

proceeding, the additional proposed revisions contained in the 

Staff Report, other changes suggested by commenters at the 

hearing, and our analysis of the entire record in this 

proceeding. We will not comment on each rule in detail, but 

we highlight several of them below. 

First, we agree with Staff's revisions to the Proposed Rules 

contained in the Staff Report and incorporate them into the 

rules that we adopt. Staff's proposed revisions respond to 

comments filed in this proceeding. As Staff noted, the revised 

Proposed Rules strengthen, and are generally consistent with 

and derivative of, current practice among Virginia utilities in 

reporting on the impacts of DSM Programs; therefore, the 

revised Proposed Rules should not impose significant 

additional burdens.8 These revisions, among other things, 

clarify that the Proposed Rules apply prospectively, i.e., to 

the implementation of new or renewing DSM programs. In 

addition, the revisions eliminate references to EM&V 

planning documents and clarify that preliminary EM&V 

plans should be filed at the time the utility seeks Commission 

approval of a program and that such EM&V plans should 

include an outline of how a utility intends to comply with 

20 VAC 5-318-40 ("Rule 40"). Rule 40 is also retitled 

"Minimum Requirements for Collection of Evaluation, 

Measurement & Verification Data."9 

Second, in its filed comments as well as at the hearing, 

Dominion recommended that Rule 40 D, as set forth in the 

revised Proposed Rules appended to the Staff Report, 

reference the United States Department of Energy's Uniform 

Methods Project ("UMP") rather than the International 

Performance Measurement and Verification Protocol 

("IPMVP").10 While the Commission declines to adopt this 

recommendation at this time, Rule 40 D specifically provides 

that "alternative methodologies may be considered with 

sufficient supporting documentation and explanation of 

appropriateness." Thus, the Proposed Rules have sufficient 

flexibility for utilities to utilize the UMP, which the 

Commission notes was developed using the IPMVP,11 with 

appropriate justification. 

Third, Columbia and Dominion raised concerns during the 

hearing regarding the operation of 20 VAC 5-318-50 F ("Rule 

50 F"), as revised in the Staff Report, and specifically 

questioned inclusion of the references to "the annual usage of 

the average rate schedule usage and eligible customer."12 

Columbia expressed concern about compliance with Rule 50 

F because all customers within a rate schedule might not be 

capable of participating in a particular program in light of 

program requirements, and Columbia asserted that such 

information often would be impracticable to collect.13 

Similarly, Dominion indicated that currently it does not track 

customer data such as building and equipment types by rate 

schedule and does not design programs based on rate 

schedules.14 The Commission appreciates these concerns and 

recognizes that unique programs may be dependent on 

individual customer makeup and that eligible customers may 
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span more than one rate schedule. The Commission believes, 

however, that the rules as adopted contain sufficient 

flexibility to accommodate such a situation. In particular, 

Rule 50 F requires "a calculation of the expected savings as a 

percentage of the annual usage of the average rate schedule 

usage and eligible customer as appropriate and practicable."15 

Thus, if appropriate and practicable, such a calculation should 

be included in the EM&V report and, if not, the utility should 

explain why such a calculation is not appropriate and 

practicable.16 

Finally, Columbia raised the question of the relationship 

between the Proposed Rules and the ratemaking and energy 

efficiency report required by § 56-602 E of the Code of 

Virginia.17 To the extent the new rules create any duplication 

of reporting requirements, Staff is directed to work with the 

gas companies to synchronize the timing of reports to 

alleviate any associated additional regulatory burden. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The Rules Governing the Evaluation, Measurement, and 

Verification of the Effects of Utility-Sponsored Demand-Side 

Management Programs, set out at 20 VAC 5-318-10 through 

20 VAC 5-318-60, and which are attached hereto and made a 

part hereof, are hereby ADOPTED to be effective on January 

1, 2018. 

(2) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall forward this Order Adopting Rules and Regulations and 

the rules and regulations adopted herein to the Registrar of 

Virginia for publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

(3) This Order and the attached adopted Rules shall be 

posted on the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(4) This matter is dismissed. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 

the Commission to all persons on the official Service List in 

this matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 

State Corporation Commission, c/o Document Control 

Center, 1300 East Main Street, First Floor, Tyler Building, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. A copy also shall be sent to the 

Commission's Office of General Counsel and Division of 

Public Utility Regulation.  

____________________________________ 
1 Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, Ex 

Parte: In the matter of receiving input for evaluating the establishment of 

protocols, a methodology, and a formula to measure the impact of energy 

efficiency measures, Case No. PUE-2016-00022, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 

160340071, Scheduling Order (Mar. 30, 2016). 
2 Though natural gas utilities were not specifically referred to by House Bill 

1053 and Senate Bill 395, the Commission, in its discretion, included 

consideration of natural gas utilities' energy efficiency measures to provide 
for a more thorough Evaluation. 

3 The cost/benefit tests include, at a minimum, the Participants Test, the 

Utility Cost Test, the Ratepayer Impact Measure Test, and the Total Resource 
Cost Test. See the Commission's Rules Governing Cost/Benefit Measures 

Required for Demand-Side Management Programs, 20 VAC 5-304-10 et seq. 

4 In particular, the Commission determined the Evaluation would consider: 

(i) whether the application of costs and benefits is consistent across utilities; 

(ii) whether consistent application of costs and benefits across utilities is 
necessary or reasonable; and (iii) whether the application of the cost/benefit 

tests can be improved by enhanced evaluation and verification protocols for 

estimating savings actually realized (collectively, "Cost/Benefit Questions"). 
5 Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, Ex 

Parte: In the matter of receiving input for evaluating the establishment of 

protocols, a methodology, and a formula to measure the impact of energy 
efficiency measures, Case No. PUE-2016-00022, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 

161140091, Order on Evaluation (Nov. 30, 2016). 

6 Commonwealth of Virginia, State Corporation Commission, Report to the 
Governor of the Commonwealth of Virginia and the Virginia General 

Assembly, "Report: Evaluation of the Establishment of Uniform Protocols 

for Measuring, Verifying, Validating, and Reporting the Impacts of Energy 
Efficiency Measures; a Methodology for Estimating Annual Kilowatt 

Savings; and a Formula to Calculate the Levelized Cost of Saved Energy for 

Energy Efficiency Measures Implemented by Investor-Owned Electric 
Utilities in the Commonwealth pursuant to Chapters 255 and 517 of the 2016 

Acts of the Virginia General Assembly" (Dec. 1, 2016), available at: 

leg2.state.va.us/dls/h&sdocs.nsf/By+Year/HD122016/$file/HD12.pdf. 
7 VNG was present at the public hearing and stated it had no further 

comments at this time. Tr. 52. 

8 Staff Report at 4. 
9 Staff's revisions also added additional appropriate definitions. 

10 Dominion Comments at 9; Tr. 35-38. In the Proposed Rules, the IPMVP 

was referenced in Rule 40 G.  However, due to revisions Staff made in its 
Staff Report to the Proposed Rules, the IPMVP is now referenced in 

Rule 40 D. 

11 See Staff Report at 7. 
12 Tr. 24-27; 40-45. 

13 Tr. 26. 

14 Tr. 45. 
15 Emphasis added. 

16 The Commission also notes that Rule 60 provides for an opportunity for a 

utility to request a waiver of a rule for good cause shown. 
17 Tr. 23. 

CHAPTER 318 

RULES GOVERNING THE EVALUATION, 

MEASUREMENT, AND VERIFICATION OF THE 

EFFECTS OF UTILITY-SPONSORED DEMAND-SIDE 

MANAGEMENT PROGRAMS 

20VAC5-318-10. Purpose and applicability. 

A. This chapter sets forth minimum requirements for 

Virginia's [ electric and natural gas ] utilities related to 

evaluating, measuring, and verifying the effects of utility-

sponsored demand-side management (DSM) programs 

consisting of demand response and energy efficiency 

measures. This chapter should not be construed as limiting 

the ability of the commission or its staff to evaluate 

information in addition to or beyond that identified in this 

chapter or to use evaluation processes and procedures beyond 

those contained in this chapter. 

B. [ This Effective January 1, 2018, this ] chapter shall apply 

to all [ electric and natural gas ] public utilities seeking 

commission approval [ of to implement or renew ] a DSM 

program [ and to all public utilities with DSM programs that 

have received prior commission approval or measure ]. 
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20VAC5-318-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

[ "Average rate schedule usage" means an average 

calculated using all customers taking service under a rate 

schedule that are eligible to participate in a program or 

measure. ]  

"Commission" means the Virginia State Corporation 

Commission. 

"DSM" means demand-side management. 

[ "Eligible customer" means a representative customer of the 

utility that is eligible by rate schedule or rate class to 

participate in a given program or measure and is capable of 

participating in that program or measure. ]  

"EM&V" means evaluation, measurement, and verification. 

"Emerging technologies" means technologies including 

automated measurement and verification software, advanced 

metering, building management systems, data analytics, and 

load monitoring systems. 

[ "Free-ridership" means a program participant that would 

have implemented the program measure or practice in the 

absence of the program. ] 

20VAC5-318-30. Administrative procedures for 

evaluation, measurement, and verification planning and 

reporting. 

A. A utility filing for [ implementation of approval to 

implement ] new [ or continue existing ] DSM measures or 

programs shall file a [ preliminary ] plan for the EM&V of 

the proposed measures or programs as part of its application 

[ . Such plan shall comply with the standard requirements for 

planning filings contained in that outlines how a utility 

intends to comply with the requirements of ] 20VAC5-318-

40. 

B. A utility reporting the results [ of EM&V ] of DSM 

measures or programs [ subject to subsection A of this 

section ] shall comply with the standard requirements for 

EM&V reporting contained in 20VAC5-318-50. 

20VAC5-318-40. [ Standard Minimum ] requirements for 

[ collection of ] evaluation, measurement, and verification 

[ planning filings data ]. 

A. In all filings required by 20VAC5-318-30, the [ source 

sources ] of all data or estimates used as inputs for proposed 

DSM measures or programs, in descending order of 

preference, shall be:  

1. Utility-specific data [ if available and practical ]; 

2. Virginia-specific data if utility-specific data is 

unavailable or [ impractical impracticable ]. When 

Virginia-specific data is used, the utility shall provide an 

explanation as to why utility-specific data is unavailable or 

[ impractical impracticable ]; 

3. Data from non-Virginia jurisdictions or sources, if 

neither utility-specific data nor Virginia-specific data is 

available or [ practical practicable ]; 

a. When data from non-Virginia jurisdictions or sources 

is used, the utility shall provide an explanation as to why 

utility-specific data is unavailable or [ impractical 

impracticable ]. 

b. When data from non-Virginia jurisdictions or sources 

is used, the utility shall provide an explanation as to why 

Virginia-specific data is unavailable or [ impractical 

impracticable ] as well as the sources of all data, to 

include: 

(1) Titles, version numbers, publication dates, and page 

numbers of all source documents, as appropriate; and 

(2) An explanation as to why, in the utility's assessment, 

use of this data is appropriate. 

B. EM&V [ planning documents reports ] shall include [ all 

relevant ] workpapers, support documents, assumptions, and 

equations used in developing the [ proposed measurement and 

verification methodologies of ] measures or programs 

[ reported ]. 

C. EM&V [ planning documents reports ] shall include 

measure-level estimates of kilowatt, kilowatt-hour, [ and ] 

dekatherm [ , and pipeline capacity ] savings as appropriate. 

An estimate that has been adjusted for free-ridership as well 

as an estimate that has not been adjusted for free-ridership 

should be included as appropriate. 

[ D. EM&V planning documents for proposed DSM 

measures or programs shall include an explanation of 

eligibility requirements for each rate schedule to which the 

measures or programs are being offered and estimates of 

participation by customers taking service under each eligible 

rate schedule as appropriate. 

E. EM&V planning documents for proposed DSM measures 

or programs shall include a comparison of the estimated 

annual measure or program savings to the annual usage of an 

average customer in each rate schedule to which the measures 

or programs are being offered. This will include calculation 

of the expected savings as a percentage of the annual usage of 

the eligible average customer. 

F. EM&V planning documents for DSM measures or 

programs shall include a description of the controls to be used 

by the utility to verify proper installation of the proposed 

measures and programs, as appropriate. Additionally, plans 

shall require the contractors and subcontractors that will be 

implementing the measures or programs to record details of 

serviced or replaced equipment, to include at a minimum: 

1. Nameplate efficiency ratings; and 

2. Serial numbers. 

G. D. ] Generally, EM&V [ planning proposals of DSM 

programs or measures ] should comply [ , as appropriate, ] 

with Options A, B, C, or D from the International 
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Performance Measurement and Verification Protocol 

[ (March 2002) (January 2012) ]. However, the commission 

recognizes that each utility has unique characteristics, and 

new or modified DSM measures are constantly being 

developed. As such, alternative methodologies may be 

considered with sufficient supporting documentation and 

explanation of appropriateness. 

[ H. E. ] Utilities are encouraged to consider use of 

emerging technologies, including "advanced measurement 

and verification" or "evaluation, measurement and 

verification 2.0" when appropriate and cost effective. 

20VAC5-318-50. Standard requirements for evaluation, 

measurement, and verification reporting. 

A. [ Utility reporting of the results of its EM&V of ] 

approved DSM measures or programs should be consistent 

with and contrasted to the [ preliminary ] EM&V plan set 

forth in the filings for approval of such measures or programs 

or as otherwise specified in a commission order approving 

such measures or programs. The commission recognizes that 

each utility has unique characteristics, and new or modified 

energy efficiency measures are constantly being developed. 

As such, alternative methodologies may be included in 

reporting provided that sufficient supporting documentation 

and explanation of appropriateness of alternative 

methodologies is provided.  

B. EM&V reports [ concerning of ] existing measures or 

programs shall utilize utility-specific data [ or other data in 

conformance with 20VAC5-318-40 A ] when updating the 

analysis of the cost effectiveness of each measure, program, 

or portfolio [ to the most accurate extent possible as 

appropriate and practicable. EM&V reports of existing 

measures or programs shall include the information required 

by 20VAC5-318-40 B and C ]. 

C. Any changes to or variances from originally [ filed 

approved measure-level ] inputs and assumptions shall be 

documented and explained [ , and the impact of such changes 

on original cost/benefit estimates for DSM programs or 

measures shall be quantified ]. 

D. EM&V reports shall describe the methodologies by 

which the measured data was collected, including at a 

minimum: 

1. The sampling plan; and 

2. Statistical calculations upon which the reported data is 

based [ when applicable ]. 

E. EM&V reports for ongoing DSM measures or programs 

shall include an explanation of eligibility requirements for 

each rate schedule to which the measures or programs are 

being offered. 

F. EM&V reports for ongoing DSM measures or programs 

shall include a comparison of the measured annual measure or 

program savings estimates to the annual usage of [ an the ] 

average [ rate schedule usage and eligible ] customer in each 

rate schedule to which the measures or programs is being 

offered. A comparison to originally [ submitted approved ] 

estimated savings for the measures or programs [ that were 

approved by the commission ] shall also be provided. This 

will include a calculation of the expected savings as a 

percentage of the annual usage of the [ average rate schedule 

usage and ] eligible [ average ] customer [ as appropriate and 

practicable ]. 

G. EM&V reports for ongoing DSM measures or programs 

shall include a description of the controls undertaken by the 

utility to verify proper installation of the measures or 

programs, as appropriate. Additionally, [ reports utilities ] 

shall [ include details provided by require the ] contractors 

[ or and ] subcontractors [ that will be implementing the 

measures or programs, if applicable and practicable, to record 

details ] of serviced or replaced equipment, to include at a 

minimum: 

1. Nameplate efficiency ratings; [ and ]  

2. Serial numbers [ .; and 

3. Model numbers. 

This information will be made available to commission staff 

upon request. 

H. EM&V reports should include actual costs incurred by 

the utility and each EM&V contractor for (i) the development 

of the most recent EM&V plan and (ii) the administration of 

EM&V activities for the reporting period. ]  

20VAC5-318-60. Waiver. 

The commission may waive any or all parts of this chapter 

for good cause shown.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5123; Filed November 14, 2017, 11:42 a.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Cypress Creek - Bumblebee Solar LLC Notice of 
Intent for Small Renewable Energy Project (Solar) 

Permit by Rule - Campbell County 

Bumblebee Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Campbell County, 

Virginia, pursuant to 9VAC15-60. The proposed Bumblebee 

Solar project will be a 15-megawatt alternating current 

photovoltaic solar facility on one parcel, totaling 

approximately 260 acres, roughly positioned north of 

Lynbrook Road and west of Wards Road, near Lynchburg in 

Campbell County, Virginia. The project will be comprised of 

polycrystalline photovoltaic collectors and associated 

equipment. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 698-4510, or 

email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Spring Grove Solar I LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) Permit by Rule - 

Surry County 

Spring Grove Solar I LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar). The proposed project will 

be located to the northeast of the intersection of Colonial 

Trail (Route 10) and Swanns Point Road (Route 610) in Surry 

County. This project will have a maximum generating 

capacity of 150 megawatts alternating current across 

approximately 1338 acres on multiple parcels. The project 

will interconnect into the transmission line that bisects the 

site by way of a substation built on an adjacent parcel. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 698-4510, or 

email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Spring Grove Solar LLC Withdrawal of Notice of 
Intent for Small Renewable Energy Project (Solar) 

Permit by Rule - Surry County 

Spring Grove Solar LLC has withdrawn its notice of intent to 

submit the necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a 

small renewable energy project (solar) to be located to the 

northeast of the intersection of Colonial Trail (Route 10) and 

Swanns Point Road (Route 610). The notice of intent was 

published in the Virginia Register of Regulations on April 17, 

2017 (33:17 VA.R. 2005 April 17, 2007). 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 698-4510, or 

email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of Health is 

conducting a periodic review and small business impact 

review of 12VAC5-67, Advance Health Care Directive 

Registry. The review of this regulation will be guided by the 

principles in Executive Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins December 11, 2017, and ends 

January 3, 2018. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Debbie Condrey, Chief Information 

Officer, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 864-7118, email 

debbie.condrey@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR 
VIRGINIA 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the State Council of Higher 

Education for Virginia is conducting a periodic review and 

small business impact review of 8VAC40-11, Public 

Participation Guidelines. The review of this regulation will 

be guided by the principles in Executive Order 17 (2014).  

mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol33/iss17/v33i17.pdf
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:debbie.condrey@vdh.virginia.gov
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The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins December 11, 2017, and ends 

December 31, 2017. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Beverly Rebar Covington, Senior 

Associate for Academic and Legislative Affairs, 101 North 

14th Street, 9th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-0571, FAX (804) 225-2604, or email 

beverlycovington@schev.edu. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Special Order for Kiptopeke 
Villas LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Kiptopeke 

Villas LLC for violations at the site located at 3540 

Kiptopeke Drive in Northampton County, Virginia. The State 

Water Control Board proposes to issue a special order by 

consent to Kiptopeke Villas LLC to address noncompliance 

with the State Water Control Law and regulations. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Kristen Sadtler will accept 

comments by email at kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov, FAX 

at (804) 698-4277, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Central Office, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, from December 11, 2017, to January 

10, 2018. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Whittaker's Mill 
Associates LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Whittaker's 

Mill Associates LLC for violations of the State Water Control 

Law in York County, Virginia. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental 

Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Russell Deppe will accept comments 

by email at russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 

518-2009, or postal mail at Department of Environmental 

Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern 

Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from December 11, 

2017, to January 10, 2018. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-90. Regulations for Disease 

Reporting and Control. 

Publication: 34:7 VA.R. 732-737 November 27, 2017 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 737, 12VAC5-90-80 G, second sentence, before 

"online" insert "Department of Health's" and after "portal" 

replace "available on the Department of Health's website at 

http://vdh.virginia.gov/morbidity-report" with 

"(http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/clincians)" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5250; Filed November 21, 2017, 2:00 p.m. 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:beverlycovington@schev.edu
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-481. Virginia Radiation 

Protection Regulations. 

Publication: 24:18 VA.R. 2565-2715 May 12, 2008 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2671, 12VAC5-481-3210, after "185 Bq" replace 

"(0.0005" with "(0.005" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-980; Filed November 20, 2017, 10:49 a.m. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 

and Chiropractic.  

18VAC85-40. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Respiratory Therapists.  

18VAC85-50. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Physician Assistants.  

18VAC85-80. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 

Occupational Therapists.  

18VAC85-101. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Radiologic Technology.  

18VAC85-110. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Licensed Acupuncturists.  

18VAC85-120. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 

Athletic Trainers.  

18VAC85-130. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Licensed Midwives.  

18VAC85-140. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Polysomnographic Technologists.  

18VAC85-150. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Behavior Analysis.  

18VAC85-160. Regulations Governing the Registration of 

Surgical Assistants and Surgical Technologists.  

18VAC85-170. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Genetic Counselors. 

Publication: 34:7 VA.R. 739-743 November 27, 2017 

Correction to Effective Date: 

Page 739, after "December" change "17" to "27" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5319; Filed December 4, 2017 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-73. Standards for Licensed 

Assisted Living Facilities. 

Publication: 34:6 VA.R. 645-705 November 13, 2017 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 648, 22VAC40-73-10, in the definition of the term 

"dietary supplement," line 5, replace "acid" with "acids" 

Page 651, 22VAC40-73-10, in the definition of the term 

"qualified mental health professional," line 5 of clause (iii), 

before "college" insert "[ a ]" 

Page 662, 22VAC40-73-200 C 8, line 4 after "living" insert 

"care" 

Page 675, 22VAC40-73-450 C 1, clause (iv), replace 

"assessment" with "[ assessment rating ]" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3227; Filed November 21, 2017, 11:47 a.m. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 




