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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair; Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Leslie L. Lilley; E.M. Miller, Jr.; 

Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Timothy Oksman; 

Charles S. Sharp; Noah P. Sullivan; Mark J. Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

January 2018 through January 2019 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

34:10 December 19, 2017 (Tuesday) January 8, 2018 

34:11 January 3, 2018 January 22, 2018 

34:12 January 17, 2018 February 5, 2018 

34:13 January 31, 2018 February 19, 2018 

34:14 February 14, 2018 March 5, 2018 

34:15 February 28, 2018 March 19, 2018 

34:16 March 14, 2018 April 2, 2018 

34:17 March 28, 2018 April 16, 2018 

34:18 April 11, 2018 April 30, 2018 

34:19 April 25, 2018 May 14, 2018 

34:20 May 9, 2018 May 28, 2018 

34:21 May 23, 2018 June 11, 2018 

34:22 June 6, 2018 June 25, 2018 

34:23 June 20, 2018 July 9, 2018 

34:24 July 3, 2018 (Tuesday) July 23, 2018 

34:25 July 18, 2018 August 6, 2018 

34:26 August 1, 2018 August 20, 2018 

35:1 August 15, 2018 September 3, 2018 

35:2 August 29, 2018 September17, 2018 

35:3 September 12, 2018 October 1, 2018 

35:4 September 26, 2018 October 15, 2018 

35:5 October 10, 2018 October 29, 2018 

35:6 October 24, 2018 November 12, 2018 

35:7 November 7, 2018 November 26, 2018 

35:8 November 19, 2018 (Monday) December 10, 2018 

35:9 December 5, 2018 December 24, 2018 

35:10 December 14, 2018 (Friday) January 7, 2019 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-319. Best Management 

Practices for the Operation of Apiaries in Order to Limit 

Operator Liability. 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-4411.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: C.B. Ecker 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Petitioner requests 

amendments to 2VAC5-319, Best Management Practices for 

the Operation of Apiaries in Order to Limit Operator 

Liability, to (i) provide a mechanism to offer public comment 

regarding the regulation via a regional apiary inspector; (ii) 

establish provisions for short-term waivers, long-term 

waivers, and permanent exemptions from the best 

management practices included in the regulation; and (iii) 

authorize the Virginia State Beekeepers Association's website 

as an official communication outlet for the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) 

and direct VDACS to establish or reinitiate official 

communication with certain entities to communicate honey 

beekeeping policy to best inform apiarists without broadband 

service. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The Board of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services (board) voted to take no action on the 

petitioner's request for rulemaking for the following reasons: 

The petitioner requests amendments to 2VAC5-319, Best 

Management Practices for the Operation of Apiaries in Order 

to Limit Operator Liability, to (i) provide a mechanism to 

offer public comment regarding the regulation via a regional 

apiary inspector; (ii) establish provisions for short-term 

waivers, long-term waivers, and permanent exemptions from 

the best management practices included in the regulation; and 

(iii) authorize the Virginia State Beekeepers Association's 

website as an official communication outlet for the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) 

and direct VDACS to establish or reinitiate official 

communication with certain entities to communicate honey 

beekeeping policy to best inform apiarists without broadband 

service. Best Management Practices for the Operation of 

Apiaries in Order to Limit Operator Liability, 2VAC5-319, 

was established pursuant to § 3.2-4411.1 of Virginia's 

Beekeeping Law. This section provides that an individual 

operating an apiary in a responsible manner, in compliance 

with local zoning restrictions, and in conformance with the 

agency's best management practices regulation shall not be 

liable for any personal injury or property damage that occurs 

in connection with his keeping of bees. Section 3.2-4411.1 

further provides that the initial regulations shall be exempt 

from the requirements of Article 2 of the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act provided such regulations are 

adopted no later than November 1, 2016; however, the board 

shall publish proposed regulations in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations and allow at least 30 days for public comment. 

Virginia's Beekeeping Law does not provide authority to the 

board to establish methods for a person to request 

amendments to the regulation. In addition, § 2.2-4007 of the 

Virginia Administrative Process Act establishes a formal 

process by which a person can request changes to a 

regulation. Virginia's Beekeeping Law does not provide 

authority to the board to amend the regulation to allow for 

waivers or exemptions to provisions established in Best 

Management Practices for the Operation of Apiaries in Order 

to Limit Operator Liability, 2VAC5-319. The best 

management practices in the regulation are those that reduce 

risks associated with keeping honey bees. Amending the 

regulation to allow for waivers or exemptions to a voluntary 

best management practice could provide liability protection 

for those operations that should not be afforded the limited 

liability. Section 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia establishes 

the board. However, neither § 3.2-4411.1 nor 3.2-109 of the 

Code of Virginia gives the board authority to establish 

methods for the communication of information related to 

beekeeping from VDACS to beekeepers. 

Agency Contact: Debra Martin, Program Manager, Office of 

Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-3515, or email 

debra.martin@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-20; Filed December 8, 2017, 2:38 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-260. Water Quality 

Standards. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Virginia Coal and Energy Alliance. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The Virginia Coal and Energy 

Alliance (VCEA) has petitioned the State Water Control 

Board to take action on EPA's Freshwater Aquatic Life 

Ambient Water Quality criteria for selenium (EPA selenium 

criteria). The EPA selenium criteria were finalized and 

published in the Federal Register on July 13, 2016, and 

include four elements - two that are fish tissue-based and two 

that are water column-based. The updated EPA selenium 

criteria reflect the latest scientific knowledge at the national 

level and provide a more up-to-date evaluation of impacts 
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from selenium than Virginia's current surface water quality 

criteria at 9VAC25-260-140. Virginia's acute and chronic 

selenium criteria are over 25 years old, do not reflect the 

latest scientific information, and are unnecessarily stringent to 

protect aquatic life. As long as the outdated and obsolete 

criteria remain on the books, we are concerned that our 

members will be placed in peril of unreasonable compliance 

obligations, misguided enforcement actions and baseless 

lawsuits. At DEQ's July 20, 2016, Regulatory Advisory Panel 

meeting to address "carry-over" issues from the last Triennial 

Review of Water Quality Standards, VCEA representatives 

alerted DEQ to the availability of the new EPA selenium 

criteria and asked that selenium be addressed along with the 

other carry-over issues. VCEA now formally requests, 

pursuant to § 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, that the 

existing surface water quality criteria for selenium be 

amended to incorporate the EPA selenium criteria, subject to 

appropriate tailoring for Virginia's waters and fish species. 

The board is empowered to adopt water quality standards in 

the Commonwealth. Section 62.1-44.15 of the Code of 

Virginia is required to review applicable water quality 

standards and as appropriate, modify and adopt federal 

standards 33 USC § 1313(c)(1) and 40 CFR 131.20(a). EPA 

has recently published technical support materials to assist 

states in adopting the new selenium criteria, including 

guidance on monitoring fish tissue, water quality assessment 

and listings under § 303(d) of the Clean Water Act, and 

implementation of the criteria in NPDES permits. These 

technical support materials should provide a sufficient basis 

to guide adoption of the EPA selenium criteria in Virginia, 

subject to modifications that reflect the unique characteristics 

of Virginia's waterbodies and fish species. We note that 

EPA's criteria include a hierarchy with a stated preference for 

the use of fish tissue data, where available, in evaluating 

compliance with the criteria. The criteria provide that where 

fish tissue data are available, the fish tissue criteria supersede 

the water column criteria. This same hierarchy should be 

adopted and the fish tissue criteria should be allowed to 

prevail over any water column criteria where fish tissue data 

are available. Importantly, the board will need to consider 

state- or regionally-specific tailoring of the fish tissue values 

set by EPA. EPA's data set for fish tissue covers 10 fish 

genera for chronic toxicity for fish reproductive effects and 

seven fish genera for nonproductive effects. Some of these 

species do not occur in some or all of Virginia's waters. As a 

result, we believe that the fish tissue criteria will need to be 

adjusted so that they are reflective of, and protective of, the 

fish species that are actually present. In particular, we ask that 

regional criteria specific to the coalfields region of the 

Commonwealth, given its unique geography, geology and 

hydrology, be considered. Further, a translation procedure, 

consistent with Appendix K in the EPA selenium criteria 

document, needs to be adopted to provide a process for use by 

dischargers seeking site-specific criteria. Whether to deviate 

from EPA's guidance in the technical support document 

"FAQs: Implementing the 2016 Selenium Criterion in CWA 

§ 303(d) and 305(b) Assessment, Listing, and TMDL 

Programs," as it relates to fishless waters will also need to be 

evaluated. EPA's guidance counsels that where no fish tissue 

data are available because waters have insufficient in-stream 

habitat and/or flow to support a population of any fish species 

on a continuous basis, or waters that once supported 

populations of one or more fish species but no longer support 

fish, the water column values are the applicable criteria and 

the water column data are sufficient to determine whether the 

criteria have been met. We urge rejection of EPA's approach 

to fishless waters. Where a waterbody does not have an 

actual, existing aquatic life use, the use simply does not 

apply. In that case, the criteria adopted to protect such a use 

also do not apply. We submit that this is consistent with the 

longstanding approach to uses and criteria in Virginia. By 

way of simple example, the "Public Water Supply" use only 

applies where a public water supply is shown to be present. In 

the absence of a documented public water supply, neither the 

use nor the corresponding "PWS" criteria apply. Finally, 

given the time it is likely to take to implement any change in 

the selenium criteria, and the need for permittees to 

appropriately adjust their operations to comply with any new 

limits, authorizing longer term compliance schedules for 

permittees will need to be considered, since compliance with 

criteria-based limits may in some cases take more than five 

years. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The State Water Control 

Board, at its meeting on December 6, 2017, through 

December 7, 2017, based on a report from the Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ), voted not to initiate a 

rulemaking to amend the selenium criteria found in the Water 

Quality Standards and to await issuance of the final technical 

support guidance documents from the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency (EPA). DEQ advised the board that EPA's 

technical support documents and implementation guidance 

are as important as the criteria themselves, and it could be 

premature to initiate a rulemaking without the documents and 

guidance. The "How" to protect aquatic life from a toxicant is 

as vital as the "What" to allow as acceptable levels of the 

contaminant. DEQ reported that EPA developed four 

technical support documents that cover Water Quality 

Standards adoption, NPDES permitting, waterbody 

assessment and § 303(d) (Impaired Waters) listing, and fish 

tissue monitoring to assist in implementation and held a 

public comment period from October 13, 2016, to February 2, 

2017. However, they have not been finalized by EPA for use 

by the states, and it is unknown when that final action will 

occur. In addition, staff advised the board that Virginia's 

stakeholders want and should receive as much certainty as 

possible on implementation methods along with revised 

standards; recent examples are proposals for amended 

bacteria criteria (data period to generate a geometric-mean) 



Petitions for Rulemaking 

Volume 34, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 8, 2018 

915 

and ammonia criteria (justification for extended compliance 

schedules, beyond permit term). 

Agency Contact: David Whitehurst, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4121, or email 

david.whitehurst@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-18; Filed December 14, 2017, 10:03 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-60. Administrative 

Regulation for the Virginia Occupational Safety and 

Health Program. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 40.1-6 and 40.1-22 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Robert R. Payne, University of Alabama 

at Birmingham. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: 16VAC25-60-120 currently 

provides as follows: "The employer shall comply with the 

manufacturer's specifications and limitations applicable to the 

operation, training, use, installation, inspection, testing, repair 

and maintenance of all machinery, vehicles, tools, materials 

and equipment, unless specifically superseded by a more 

stringent corresponding requirement in 29 CFR Part 1910. 

The use of any machinery, vehicle, tool, material or 

equipment that is not in compliance with any applicable 

requirement of the manufacturer is prohibited, and shall either 

be identified by the employer as unsafe by tagging or locking 

the controls to render them inoperable or be physically 

removed from its place of use or operation." The petition 

requests the following language be added to the end of the 

current regulation: "Any employer who is using machinery, 

vehicles, tools, materials or equipment as part of a Process 

Safety Management (PSM) covered process, as defined in 

29 CFR 1910.119, may adjust the operation, training, use, 

installation, inspection, testing, repair or maintenance after 

completion of the following:  

• Documenting the adjustment from the Manufacturer's 

Specifications and Limitations (MS&L) in the Process Safety 

Information (PSI), 

• Completing the Management of Change (MOC) 

requirement described in 29 CFR 1910.119(l) and  

• Certification from a company executive that they have 

examined this adjustment and that to the best of their 

knowledge the information is true, accurate and complete." 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

§ 2.2-4007 B of the Code of Virginia the petition has been 

filed with the Registrar of Regulations and will be published 

on January 8, 2018. Comment on the petition may be sent by 

email or regular mail or posted on the Virginia Regulatory 

Town Hall at www.townhall.virginia.gov. Comment will be 

requested until January 28, 2018. Following receipt of all 

comments on the petition to amend the regulation, the Safety 

and Health Codes Board will decide whether to make any 

changes to the regulatory language. This matter will be on the 

board's agenda for its next regularly scheduled meeting 

following the end of the comment period. The board does not 

currently have a meeting scheduled. The board will issue a 

written decision on the petition within 90 days of the close of 

the comment period, or within 14 days of its next meeting 

should the board not meet within the initial 90-day period. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 28, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Jay Withrow, Director, Division of Legal 

Support, VPP, ORA, OPP, Department of Labor and 

Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-9873, or email 

jay.withrow@doli.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-14; Filed December 18, 2017, 9:36 a.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services intends to consider 

amending 12VAC35-105, Rules and Regulations for 

Licensing Providers by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to be consistent and comply with Chapters 

136, 418, and 426 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly regarding 

the inclusion of occupational therapists and occupational 

therapy assistants in the definitions of qualified mental health 

professionals, qualified mental retardation professionals, or 

qualified paraprofessionals in mental health. Also, certain 

definitions are deferred, in accordance with Chapter 418, to 

the Department of Health Professions' Board of Counseling 

(18VAC115-80). 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 7, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Cleopatra L. Booker, PsyD, Director, Office 

of Licensing, Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, 1220 Bank Street, P.O. Box 1797, 

Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (804) 786-1747, FAX 

(804) 692-0066, TTY (804) 371-8977, or email 

cleopatra.booker@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5245; Filed December 18, 2017, 9:19 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Pharmacy intends to 

consider amending 18VAC110-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy, 18VAC110-30, Regulations for 

Practitioners of the Healing Arts to Sell Controlled 

Substances, and 18VAC110-50, Regulations Governing 

Wholesale Distributors, Manufacturers, and 

Warehousers. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

increase fees to cover expenses for the essential functions of 

review of applications, licensing, inspections, investigation of 

complaints against licensees, and adjudication and monitoring 

of disciplinary cases required for public health and safety in 

the Commonwealth. Section 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia 

requires that at the end of each biennium, an analysis of 

revenues and expenditures of each regulatory board shall be 

performed. It is necessary that each board have sufficient 

revenue to cover its expenditures. Since the fees from 

licensees will no longer generate sufficient funds to pay 

operating expenses for the Board of Pharmacy in the next 

biennium, consideration of a fee increase is essential. In order 

to have sufficient funding for the operation of the board by 

fiscal year 2019–2020, it is necessary to begin the process of 

promulgating amendments to regulations.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400, 54.1-3434.05, and 54.1-

3434.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 7, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5322; Filed December 19, 2017, 11:52 a.m.  

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Counseling intends to 

consider promulgating 18VAC115-70, Regulations 

Governing the Registration of Peer Recovery Specialists. 

The purpose of the proposed action is to establish the 

requirements for the registration of peer recovery specialists 

pursuant to Chapters 418 and 426 of the 2017 Acts of 

Assembly. The proposed regulations include qualifications, 

fees, continuing education, standards of practice, and grounds 

for disciplinary action. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 7, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5240; Filed December 18, 2017, 8:06 a.m.  
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Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Counseling intends to 

consider promulgating 18VAC115-80, Regulations 

Governing the Registration of Qualified Mental Health 

Professionals. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

establish the requirements for the registration of qualified 

mental health professionals pursuant to Chapters 418 and 426 

of the 2017 Acts of Assembly. The proposed regulations 

establish qualifications, fees, continuing education, standards 

of practice, and grounds for disciplinary action. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 7, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5242; Filed December 18, 2017, 8:06 a.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-252. Pertaining to the Taking 

of Striped Bass (amending 4VAC20-252-20, 4VAC20-252-

50, 4VAC20-252-60, 4VAC20-252-70, 4VAC20-252-150).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments rescind the year-round reporting 

requirement for the striped bass charter fishery and 

establish the 2018 coastal area commercial fishery striped 

bass quota as 138,640 pounds. 

4VAC20-252-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Chesapeake area" means the area that includes the 

Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries and the Potomac River 

tributaries.  

"Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries" means all tidal waters 

of the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries within Virginia, 

westward of the shoreward boundary of the Territorial Sea, 

excluding the coastal area and the Potomac River tributaries 

as defined by this section.  

"Coastal area" means the area that includes Virginia's 

portion of the Territorial Sea, plus all of the creeks, bays, 

inlets, and tributaries on the seaside of Accomack County, 

Northampton County (including areas east of the causeway 

from Fisherman Island to the mainland), and the City of 

Virginia Beach (including federal areas and state parks, 

fronting on the Atlantic Ocean and east and south of the point 

where the shoreward boundary of the Territorial Sea joins the 

mainland at Cape Henry).  

"Commission" means the Marine Resources Commission.  

"Commercial fishing" or "fishing commercially" or 

"commercial fishery" means fishing by any person where the 

catch is for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose, or 

is intended for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose.  

"Commission" means the Marine Resources Commission.  

"Great Wicomico-Tangier Striped Bass Management Area" 

means the area that includes the Great Wicomico River and 

those Virginia waters bounded by a line beginning at 

Dameron Marsh at NAD 83 North Latitude 37-46.9535, West 

Longitude 76-17.1294; thence extending to the southernmost 

point of Tangier Island, and thence north to a point on the 

Virginia-Maryland state boundary at NAD 83 North Latitude 

37-57.0407, West Longitude 75-58.5043, thence westerly 

along the Virginia-Maryland state boundary to Smith Point.  

"Potomac River tributaries" means all the tributaries of the 

Potomac River that are within Virginia's jurisdiction 

beginning with, and including, Flag Pond thence upstream to 

the District of Columbia boundary.  

"Recreational fishing" or "fishing recreationally" or 

"recreational fishery" means fishing by any person, whether 

licensed or exempted from licensing, where the catch is not 

for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose, or is not 

intended for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose.  

"Private recreational "Recreational vessel" means any vessel 

or, kayak, charter vessel, or headboat participating in the 

recreational striped bass fishery. 

"Share" means a percentage of the striped bass commercial 

harvest quota.  

"Spawning reaches" means sections within the spawning 

rivers as follows:  

1. James River from a line connecting Dancing Point and 

New Sunken Meadow Creek upstream to a line connecting 

City Point and Packs Point.  

2. Pamunkey River from the Route 33 Bridge at West 

Point upstream to a line connecting Liberty Hall and the 

opposite shore.  

3. Mattaponi River from the Route 33 Bridge at West Point 

upstream to the Route 360 bridge at Aylett.  
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4. Rappahannock River from the Route 360 Bridge at 

Tappahannock upstream to the Route 1 Falmouth Bridge.  

"Spear" or "spearing" means to fish while the person is fully 

submerged under the water's surface with a mechanically 

aided device designed to accelerate a barbed spear. 

"Striped bass" means any fish of the species Morone 

saxatilis, including any hybrid of the species Morone 

saxatilis.  

"Trophy-size striped bass" means any striped bass that is 36 

inches or greater in total length. 

4VAC20-252-50. Concerning recreational fishing: general.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to take, catch, or attempt to take or catch any striped bass by 

any gear or method other than hook and line, rod and reel, 

hand line, or spearing.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to possess any striped bass while fishing in an area where or 

at a time when there is no open recreational striped bass 

season, except as described in 4VAC20-252-115. Striped bass 

caught contrary to this provision shall be returned to the water 

immediately.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to possess, land, and retain any striped bass in excess of the 

possession limit applicable for the area and season being 

fished within the 24-hour period of 12 a.m. through 

11:59 p.m. Striped bass taken in excess of the possession 

limit shall be returned to the water immediately.  

When fishing from a boat or vessel where the entire catch is 

held in a common hold or container, the possession limit shall 

be for the boat or vessel and shall be equal to the number of 

persons on board legally eligible to fish multiplied by the 

applicable personal possession limit. The captain or operator 

of the boat or vessel shall be responsible for any boat or 

vessel possession limit.  

D. It shall be unlawful to combine possession limits when 

there is more than one area or season open at the same time.  

E. It shall be unlawful for any person while actively fishing 

pursuant to a recreational fishery to possess any striped bass 

that are smaller than the minimum size limit or larger than the 

maximum size limit for the area and season then open and 

being fished, except as described in 4VAC20-252-115. Any 

striped bass caught that does not meet the applicable size 

limit shall be returned to the water immediately.  

F. It shall be unlawful for any person to sell, offer for sale, 

trade, or barter any striped bass taken by hook and line, rod 

and reel, hand line, or spearing provided, however, this 

provision shall not apply to persons possessing a commercial 

hook-and-line license and a striped bass permit and meeting 

the other requirements of this chapter.  

G. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to transfer any striped bass to another person, while on the 

water or while fishing from a pier or shore.  

H. It shall be unlawful for the captain of any charter boat or 

charter vessel to take hook-and-line, rod-and-reel, hand line, 

or spear fishermen for hire unless the captain has obtained a 

Striped Bass Charter Boat Permit from the commission and is 

a Coast Guard charter licensee.  

I. Striped bass charter boat permittees shall report to the 

commission, on forms provided by the commission, permit 

identification number, the number of striped bass caught, 

whether harvested or released; the water body where any 

striped bass is caught; and the number of anglers on board, 

captain included, within seven days after the trip occurred. It 

shall be unlawful for any striped bass charter boat permittee 

to fail to report (i) trips where striped bass are targeted but not 

successfully caught or (ii) the permittee's lack of participation 

in the fishery to the commission no later than 15 days 

following the last day of any open season. In addition, striped 

bass charter boat permittees engaging in the Bay and Coastal 

Spring Trophy-size Striped Bass Recreational Fishery and the 

Potomac River Tributaries Spring Striped Bass Recreational 

Fishery shall provide the report required by 4VAC20-252-60 

and 4VAC20-252-70, respectively.  

4VAC20-252-60. Bay and Coastal spring trophy-size 

striped bass recreational fisheries.  

A. The open season for the Bay spring trophy-size striped 

bass recreational fishery shall be May 1 through June 15, 

inclusive. 

B. The area open for the Bay spring trophy-size striped bass 

recreational fishery shall be the Chesapeake Bay and its 

tributaries, except the spawning reaches of the James, 

Pamunkey, Mattaponi, and Rappahannock Rivers.  

C. The open season for the Coastal spring trophy-size 

striped bass recreational fishery shall be May 1 through May 

15, inclusive.  

D. The area open for the Coastal spring trophy-size striped 

bass recreational fishery is the coastal area as described in 

4VAC20-252-20.  

E. The minimum size limit for the fisheries described in this 

section shall be 36 inches total length.  

F. The possession limit for the fisheries described in this 

section shall be one fish per person.  

G. It shall be unlawful for any person participating in any 

Bay spring trophy-size striped bass recreational fishery or 

Coastal spring trophy-size striped bass recreational fishery to 

possess or land any trophy-size striped bass from a private 

recreational vessel unless the captain or operator of that 

private recreational vessel has obtained a Spring Recreational 

Striped Bass Trophy Permit. The captain or operator shall be 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 8, 2018 

920 

responsible for reporting for all anglers on the private 

recreational vessel and shall provide his Marine Resources 

Commission identification (MRC ID) number, the date of 

harvest, the number of individuals on board, the mode of 

fishing, the water body where the trophy-size striped bass was 

caught, and the number of trophy-size striped bass kept or 

released. 

H. It shall be unlawful for any person participating in any 

Bay spring trophy-size striped bass recreational fishery or 

Coastal spring trophy-size striped bass recreational fishery to 

possess or land any trophy-size striped bass harvested 

recreationally from shore, a pier, or any other manmade 

structure without first having obtained a Spring Recreational 

Striped Bass Trophy Permit from the Marine Resources 

Commission. Any such permittee shall provide his MRC ID 

number, the date of harvest, the mode of fishing, the water 

body where the trophy-size striped bass was caught, and the 

number of trophy-size striped bass kept or released. 

I. It shall be unlawful for any spring recreational striped bass 

trophy permittee or any charter boat striped bass permittee to 

fail to report trips where striped bass are caught, whether 

harvested, released, or possessed, as described in subsection E 

of this section, on forms provided by the commission within 

seven days after the trip occurred. It shall be unlawful for any 

permittee to fail to report trips where striped bass are targeted 

but not successfully caught by the 15th day after any close of 

the Bay spring trophy-size striped bass recreational fishery or 

Coastal spring trophy-size striped bass recreational fishery.  

J. Any permittee who did not participate in any Bay spring 

trophy-size striped bass recreational fishery or Coastal spring 

trophy-size striped bass recreational fishery shall notify the 

commission of his lack of participation by the 15th day after 

the close of any Bay spring trophy-size striped bass 

recreational fishery or Coastal spring trophy-size striped bass 

recreational fishery. 

4VAC20-252-70. Potomac River tributaries spring 

trophy-size striped bass recreational fishery.  

A. The open season for the Potomac River tributaries spring 

striped bass recreational fishery shall correspond to the open 

season as established by the Potomac River Fisheries 

Commission for the mainstem Potomac River spring fishery.  

B. The area open for this fishery shall be those tributaries of 

the Potomac River that are within Virginia's jurisdiction 

beginning with, and including, Flag Pond thence upstream to 

the Route 301 bridge.  

C. The minimum size limit for this fishery shall correspond 

to the minimum size limit as established by the Potomac 

River Fisheries Commission for the mainstem Potomac River 

spring trophy-size fishery.  

D. The possession limit for this fishery shall be one fish per 

person.  

E. It shall be unlawful for any person participating in any 

Potomac River tributaries spring trophy-size striped bass 

recreational fishery to possess or land any trophy-size striped 

bass from a private recreational vessel unless the captain or 

operator of that private recreational vessel has obtained a 

Spring Recreational Striped Bass Trophy Permit. The captain 

or operator shall be responsible for reporting for all anglers 

on the private recreational vessel and shall provide his Marine 

Resources Commission identification (MRC ID) number, the 

date of harvest, the number of individuals on board, the mode 

of fishing, the water body where the trophy-size striped bass 

was caught, and the number of trophy-size striped bass kept 

or released. 

F. It shall be unlawful for any person participating in any 

Potomac River tributaries spring trophy-size striped bass 

recreational fisheries to possess or land any trophy-size 

striped bass harvested recreationally from shore, a pier, or any 

other manmade structure without first having obtained a 

Spring Recreational Striped Bass Trophy Permit from the 

Marine Resources Commission. Any such permittee shall 

provide his MRC ID number, the date of harvest, the mode of 

fishing, the water body where the trophy-size striped bass was 

caught, and the number of trophy-size striped bass kept or 

released. 

G. It shall be unlawful for any spring recreational striped 

bass trophy permittee or any charter boat striped bass 

permittee to fail to report trips where striped bass are caught, 

whether harvested, released, or possessed, as described in this 

section, on forms provided by the commission within seven 

days after the trip occurred. It shall be unlawful for any 

permittee to fail to report trips where striped bass are targeted 

but not successfully caught by the 15th day after the close of 

any Potomac River tributaries spring trophy-size striped bass 

recreational fishery.  

H. Any permittee who did not participate in any Potomac 

River tributaries spring trophy-size striped bass recreational 

fishery shall notify the commission of his lack of 

participation by the 15th day after the close of any Potomac 

River tributaries spring trophy-size striped bass recreational 

fishery. 

4VAC20-252-150. Individual commercial harvest quota.  

A. The commercial harvest quota for the Chesapeake area 

shall be determined annually by the Marine Resources 

Commission. The total allowable level of all commercial 

harvest of striped bass from the Chesapeake Bay and its 

tributaries and the Potomac River tributaries of Virginia for 

all open seasons and for all legal gear shall be 1,064,997 

pounds of whole fish. At such time as the total commercial 

harvest of striped bass from the Chesapeake area is projected 

to reach 1,064,997 pounds, and announced as such, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to land or possess striped bass caught 

for commercial purposes from the Chesapeake area.  
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B. The commercial harvest quota for the coastal area of 

Virginia shall be determined annually by the Marine 

Resources Commission. The total allowable level of all 

commercial harvest of striped bass from the coastal area for 

all open seasons and for all legal gear shall be 136,141 

138,640 pounds of whole fish. At such time as the total 

commercial harvest of striped bass from the coastal area is 

projected to reach 136,141 138,640 pounds, and announced 

as such, it shall be unlawful for any person to land or possess 

striped bass caught for commercial purposes from the coastal 

area.  

C. For the purposes of assigning an individual's tags for 

commercial harvests in the Chesapeake area as described in 

4VAC20-252-160, the individual commercial harvest quota 

of striped bass in pounds shall be converted to an estimate in 

numbers of fish per individual harvest quota based on the 

average weight of striped bass harvested by the permitted 

individual during the previous fishing year. The number of 

striped bass tags issued to each individual will equal the 

estimated number of fish to be landed by that individual 

harvest quota, plus a number of striped bass tags equal to 

10% of the total allotment determined for each individual.  

D. For the purposes of assigning an individual's tags for 

commercial harvests in the coastal area of Virginia as 

described in 4VAC20-252-160, the individual commercial 

harvest quota of striped bass in pounds shall be converted to a 

quota in numbers of fish per individual commercial harvest 

quota, based on the reported average coastal area harvest 

weight of striped bass harvested by the permitted individual 

during the previous fishing year, except as described in 

subsection E of this section. The number of striped bass tags 

issued to each individual will equal the estimated number of 

fish to be landed by that individual harvest quota, plus a 

number of striped bass tags equal to 10% of the total 

allotment determined for each individual.  

E. For any individual whose reported average coastal area 

harvest weight of striped bass in the previous fishing year was 

less than 12 pounds, a 12-pound minimum weight shall be 

used to convert that individual's harvest quota of striped bass, 

in pounds of fish, to harvest quota in number of fish. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5372; Filed December 13, 2017, 2:56 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-260. Pertaining to 

Designation of Seed Areas and Clean Cull Areas 

(amending 4VAC20-260-40, 4VAC20-260-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 13, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendment establishes the basket as the only measure 

for oyster culling tolerance. 

4VAC20-260-40. Culling tolerances or standards. 

A. In the clean cull areas, if more than a four-quart measure 

of any combined quantity of oysters less than three inches and 

shells of any size are found in any bushel or basket inspected 

by any police officer, it shall constitute a violation of this 

chapter, except as described in 4VAC20-260-30 E.  

B. In the James River seed areas, if more than a six-quart 

measure of shells is found in any bushel or basket of seed 

oysters inspected by any police officer, it shall constitute a 

violation of this chapter.  

C. In the James River seed areas, if more than a four-quart 

measure of any combined quantity of oysters less than three 

inches and shells of any size are found in any bushel or basket 

of clean cull oysters inspected by any police officer, it shall 

constitute a violation of this chapter.  

D. From the seaside of the Eastern Shore, if more than a 

four-quart measure of any combined quantity of oysters less 

than three inches and shells of any size are found per bushel 

or basket of clean cull oysters inspected by any police officer, 

it shall constitute a violation of this chapter.  

E. Any oysters less than the minimum cull size or any 

amount of shell that exceeds the culling standard shall be 

returned immediately to the natural beds, rocks, or shoals 

from where they were taken. 

F. Oysters less than the minimum cull size that are adhering 

so closely to the shell of any marketable oyster as to render 

removal impossible without destroying the oysters less than 

the minimum cull size need not be removed, and those 

oysters shall be considered lawful and shall not be included in 

the culling tolerances or standards as described in subsections 

A through D of this section. 

G. It shall be unlawful for any person to sell any oysters less 

than the minimum cull size as described in this section. 

4VAC20-260-50. Culling and inspection procedures.  

A. All oysters taken from natural public beds, rocks, or 

shoals shall be placed on the culling board or in only one 

basket upon the culling board and culled by hand at the 

location of harvest. 
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1. Culled oysters shall be transferred immediately from the 

culling board to the inside open part of the boat and stored 

in either a loose pile or baskets. 

a. Oysters shall not be stored in both a loose pile and in 

baskets. 

b. A single basket may be on board any boat during 

transfer of culled oysters from the culling board to the 

inside open part of the boat in a loose pile. 

2. The entire harvest shall be subject to inspection, as 

provided in subsection F of this section. 

B. Any oysters taken lawfully by hand from natural public 

beds, rocks, or shoals from the seaside of the Eastern Shore, 

and held in sacks, bags, or containers, shall be culled when 

taken and placed in those sacks, bags, or containers for 

inspection by any police officer as described in subsection G 

of this section. 

C. If oysters from leased grounds and oysters from public 

grounds are mixed in the same cargo on a boat or motor 

vehicle, the entire cargo shall be subject to inspection under 

this chapter.  

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to buy, sell, or report 

clean cull oysters by any measure other than those described 

in § 28.2-526 A of the Code of Virginia filled to level full. 

The container described in § 28.2-526 A 2 is a basket. It shall 

be unlawful for any person to sell, purchase, or report the sale 

or purchase of any clean cull oysters harvested from public 

grounds, as described in 4VAC20-720-40, in excess of the 

harvest limits described in 4VAC20-720-80. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to buy, sell, or report 

seed oysters by any measure other than as described in 

§ 28.2-526 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. Oysters may be inspected by any police officer according 

to any one of the following provisions: 

1. For any oysters stored in a loose pile in a vehicle, a 

trailer, or the inside open part of a boat, the police officer 

shall use a shovel to take one basket of oysters to inspect, 

at random, provided that the entire bushel or basket shall 

be taken from one place in the open pile of oysters. The 

officer may inspect multiple baskets by repeating this 

procedure for each basket of oysters shoveled from the 

loose pile. 

2. For any oysters stored in baskets in a vehicle, a trailer, 

or the inside open part of a boat, the police officer shall 

select one basket for inspection. The officer may inspect 

multiple baskets by repeating this procedure for each 

basket. 

G. In the inspection of oysters harvested by hand from 

waters of the seaside of the Eastern Shore, the police officer 

may select any sacks, bags, or containers at random to 

establish a full metallic measuring bushel or basket for 

purposes of inspection.  

H. On the seaside of the Eastern Shore oysters may be sold 

without being measured if both the buyer and the seller agree 

to the number of bushels of oysters in the transaction. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5326; Filed December 13, 2017, 2:14 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-950. Pertaining to Black Sea 

Bass (amending 4VAC20-950-45).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish a February 2018 recreational 

black sea bass fishery and associated permitting, 

monitoring, and reporting requirements. 

4VAC20-950-45. Recreational possession limits and 

seasons.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing with hook and 

line, rod and reel, spear, gig, or other recreational gear to 

possess more than 15 black sea bass. When fishing is from a 

boat or vessel where the entire catch is held in a common 

hold or container, the possession limit shall be for that boat or 

vessel and shall be equal to the number of persons on board 

legally licensed to fish, multiplied by 15. The captain or 

operator of the boat or vessel shall be responsible for that boat 

or vessel possession limit. Any black sea bass taken after the 

possession limit has been reached shall be returned to the 

water immediately. 

B. Possession of any quantity of black sea bass that exceeds 

the possession limit described in subsection A of this section 

shall be presumed to be for commercial purposes.  

C. The open recreational fishing season shall be from 

February 1 through February 28, May 15 through September 

21, and October 22 through December 31. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to take, catch, or possess any black sea bass, except during an 

open recreational season. 
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E. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to take, catch, or possess any black sea bass from February 1 

through February 28 without first having obtained a 

Recreational Black Sea Bass Permit from the Marine 

Resources Commission. It shall be unlawful for any permittee 

to fail to contact the Marine Resources Commission 

Operation Station before returning to shore at the end of the 

fishing trip. The permittee shall provide the operation station 

with his name, Marine Resources Commission identification 

(MRC ID) number, the point of landing, a description of the 

vessel, and an estimated return to shore time. Any such 

permittee shall submit a report for any recreational black sea 

bass fishing trips, which incudes that permittee's MRC ID 

number, the date of fishing, the mode of fishing, and the 

number of black sea bass kept or released. That report shall 

be submitted to the commission or to the Standard Atlantic 

Fisheries Information System no later than March 15 of the 

current calendar year. Any authorized permittee shall allow 

commission staff to sample the catch to obtain biological 

information for scientific and management purposes only. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5373; Filed December 13, 2017, 3:06 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The form used in administering the 

following regulation has been filed by the Virginia 

Department of Education. The form is not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of the form to access it. 

The form is also available from the agency contact or may be 

viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-70. Regulations Governing 

Pupil Transportation. 

Contact Information: Emily V. Webb, Director, Office of 

Board Relations, Virginia Department of Education, 101 

North 14th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

225-2924, or email emily.webb@doe.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (8VAC20-70) 

School Bus Driver's Application for Physician's Certificate 

(rev. 9/12). 

School Bus Driver's Application for Physician's Certificate, 

Form EB.001, (rev. 5/2017) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5379; Filed December 13, 2017, 3:23 p.m.  

VIRGINIA STATE UNIVERSITY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Virginia State University is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 6 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts educational institutions operated by the 

Commonwealth. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC110-10. Firearms and Weapons 

on Campus (amending 8VAC110-10-10).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 23.1-1301 and 23.1-2702 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 5, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Bonnie Holmes, Regulatory Coordinator, 1 

Hayden Drive, Virginia State University, VA 23806, 

telephone (804) 524-5326, or email bholmes@vsu.edu. 

Summary: 

The amendment corrects a citation to the Code of Virginia, 

which changed because of the recodification of Title 23 to 

Title 23.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

8VAC110-10-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Firearms" means any gun, rifle, pistol, or handgun designed 

to fire any projectile including but not limited to bullets, BBs, 

pellets, or shots, including paint balls, regardless of the 

propellant used. 

"Police officer" means law-enforcement officials appointed 

pursuant to Article 3 (§ 15.2-1609 et seq.) of Chapter 16 and 

Chapter 17 (§ 15.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 15.2, Chapter 17 

(§ 23-232 Article 3 (§ 23.1-809 et seq.) of Chapter 8 of Title 

23 23.1, Chapter 2 (§ 29.1-200 et seq.) of Title 29.1, or 

Chapter 1 (§ 52-1 et seq.) of Title 52 of the Code of Virginia, 

currently sworn federal law-enforcement officers, or currently 

sworn and certified law-enforcement officers of all other 

jurisdictions of the United States of America. 

"University property" means any property owned, leased, or 

controlled by Virginia State University. 

"Weapons" means any instrument of combat, or any object 

not designed as an instrument of combat but carried for the 

purpose of inflicting or threatening bodily injury. Examples 

include but are not limited to firearms, knives with fixed 

blades or pocket knives with blades longer than four inches, 

razors, metal knuckles, blackjacks, hatchets, bows and 

arrows, nun chahkas, foils, stun weapons, or any explosive or 

incendiary device. "Stun weapon" is defined as any device 

that emits a momentary or pulsed output that is electrical, 

mailto:Emily.Webb@doe.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6ed08005379~17.pdf&typ=40&actno=005379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6ed08005379~17.pdf&typ=40&actno=005379&mime=application/pdf
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audible, optical, or electromagnetic in nature and that is 

designed to temporarily incapacitate a person.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5378; Filed December 18, 2017, 3:47 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC5-140. Regulation for Emissions 

Trading Programs (adding 9VAC5-140-6010 through 

9VAC5-140-6430).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-1308 and 10.1-1322.3 of the 

Code of Virginia; §§ 108, 109, 110, and 302 of the Clean Air 

Act; 40 CFR Part 51. 

Public Hearing Information: 

March 7, 2018 - 5 p.m. - Department of Environmental 

Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355 Deadmore Street, 

Abingdon VA 

March 8, 2018 - 5 p.m. - Department of Environmental 

Quality, Blue Ridge Regional Office, 3019 Peters Creek 

Road, Roanoke VA 

March 12, 2018 - 5 pm - Department of Environmental 

Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern 

Boulevard, Virginia Beach VA 

March 14, 2018 - 5 p.m. - Department of Environmental 

Quality, Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, 

Harrisonburg VA 

March 15, 2018 - 5 p.m. - Department of Environmental 

Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 

Woodbridge VA 

March 19, 2018 - 1:30 p.m. - Department of Environmental 

Quality, Central Office, 1111 East Main Street, 3rd Floor 

Meeting Room, Richmond VA 

Public Comment Deadline: April 9, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4426, FAX (804) 698-4510, or email 

karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the State Air Pollution Control Board to promulgate 

regulations abating, controlling, and prohibiting air pollution 

in order to protect public health and welfare. Written 

assurance from the Office of the Attorney General that the 

State Air Pollution Control Board possesses the statutory 

authority to promulgate the proposed regulation amendments 

is available upon request. 

State Requirements: Executive Directive 11 (2017), 

"Reducing Carbon Dioxide Emissions from the Electric 

Power Sector and Growing Virginia's Clean Energy 

Economy," directs the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality, in coordination with the Secretary of 

Natural Resources, to take the following actions in 

accordance with the provisions and requirements of Chapter 

13 (§ 10.1-1300 et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia 

and Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia: 

1. Develop a proposed regulation for the State Air Pollution 

Control Board's consideration to abate, control, or limit CO2 

from electric power facilities that: 

a. Includes provisions to ensure that Virginia's regulation is 

"trading-ready" to allow for the use of market-based 

mechanisms and the trading of CO2 allowances through a 

multi-state trading program; and  

b. Establishes abatement mechanisms providing for a 

corresponding level of stringency to limits on CO2 emissions 

imposed in other states with such limits. 

2. By no later than December 31, 2017, present the proposed 

regulation to the State Air Pollution Control Board for 

consideration for approval for public comment in accordance 

with the board's authority pursuant to § 10.1-1308 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The regulation is needed to control CO2 emissions in 

order to protect the public's health and welfare. The proposed 

regulation is being developed in order to meet the directives 

of Governor McAuliffe's Executive Directive 11 (2017), 

"Reducing Carbon Dioxide Emissions from the Electric 

Power Sector and Growing Virginia's Clean Energy 

Economy," which states: 

There is no denying the science and the real-world 

evidence that climate change threatens the Commonwealth 

of Virginia, from our homes and businesses to our critical 

military installations and ports. Rising storm surges and 

flooding could impact as many as 420,000 properties along 

Virginia's coast that would require $92 billion of 

reconstruction costs. 

The challenges and costs of bolstering resilience and 

minimizing risk are too great for any locality to bear alone. 

While the impacts are significant, there are technologies in 

the clean energy sector that could help mitigate these 

impacts while simultaneously creating jobs in twenty-first 

century industries. The number of solar jobs in Virginia 

has grown by 65 percent in the last year alone, and 

Virginia is now the ninth fastest growing solar jobs market 

in the country. Revenue for clean energy businesses in 

Virginia has increased from $300 million in 2014 to $1.5 
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billion in 2016. Through state leadership, Virginia can face 

the threats of climate change head on and do so in a way 

that makes clean energy a pillar of our future economic 

growth and a meaningful part of our energy portfolio. 

With these considerations in mind, I issued Executive 

Order 57 (EO 57) on June 28, 2016. Under EO 57, I 

directed the Secretary of Natural Resources to convene a 

work group to study and recommend methods to reduce 

carbon dioxide emissions from electric power facilities and 

grow the clean energy economy within existing state 

authority. The group consisted of the Secretary of Natural 

Resources, the Secretary of Commerce and Trade, the 

Director of the Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality, the Director of the Virginia Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy, and the Deputy Attorney General for 

Commerce, Environment, and Technology. This group 

facilitated extensive stakeholder engagement over the last 

year, including six in-person meetings and a ninety-day 

public comment period, before compiling its 

recommendations and submitting a final report to me on 

May 12, 2017. 

Among the most significant recommendations from the 

group is the need to develop regulations limiting the total 

amount of carbon dioxide emitted from electric power 

facilities. Given the nature of the climate change threat and 

the promise of clean energy solutions, I agree with this 

recommendation. 

Accordingly, pursuant to the authority vested in me as the 

Chief Executive Officer of the Commonwealth, and 

pursuant to Article V of the Constitution and the laws of 

Virginia, I hereby direct the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality, in coordination with the Secretary 

of Natural Resources, to take the following actions in 

accordance with the provisions and requirements of 

Virginia Code § 10. 1-1300, et seq. and Virginia Code § 

2.2-4000, et seq.: 

1. Develop a proposed regulation for the State Air 

Pollution Control Board's consideration to abate, control, 

or limit carbon dioxide emissions from electric power 

facilities that: 

a. Includes provisions to ensure that Virginia's regulation is 

"trading-ready" to allow for the use of market-based 

mechanisms and the trading of carbon dioxide allowances 

through a multi-state trading program; and 

b. Establishes abatement mechanisms providing for a 

corresponding level of stringency to limits on carbon 

dioxide emissions imposed in other states with such limits. 

2. By no later than December 31, 2017, present the 

proposed regulation to the State Air 

Pollution Control Board for consideration for approval for 

public comment in accordance with the Board's authority 

pursuant to Virginia Code § 10. 1-1308. 

Additionally, Executive Order 57 Work Group's "Report and 

Final Recommendations to the Governor" states that:  

The Work Group received a number of presentations and 

written comments from stakeholders advocating for a 

regulation to limit carbon dioxide from power plants. 

These comments included recommendations that the 

Commonwealth join or participate in the Regional 

Greenhouse Gas Initiative (RGGI) or another regional 

trading program, that a price be put on carbon, and that 

Virginia strive to reduce its greenhouse gases by 30 to 40 

percent by the year 2030. . . . Although many 

stakeholders provided feedback focused on specific in-

state targets (such as 30x30), the Work Group believes 

that it is important and necessary that Virginia work 

through a regional model, like the established and 

successful RGGI, in order to achieve lower compliance 

costs and address the interstate nature of the electric grid. 

The Work Group recommends that the Governor consider 

taking action via a regulatory process to establish a "trading-

ready" carbon emissions reduction program for fossil fuel 

fired electric generating facilities that will enable 

participation in a broader, multi-state carbon market. 

Substance:  

1. The primary purpose of the proposed regulation is to 

implement a declining cap on carbon emissions. The 

administrative means of accomplishing this will be effected 

by linking Virginia to the Regional Greenhouse Gas 

Initiative, which is an established emissions trading program. 

An allowance will be issued for each ton of carbon emitted by 

an electricity generating facility. The company must then 

decide if it will reduce carbon emissions and sell the resulting 

additional allowances, or if it will not reduce carbon 

emissions and make up the difference with purchased 

allowances. The proposal includes two options on the base 

budgets, 33 million tons and 34 million tons, which will 

determine, based on a 3.0% annual reduction, the annual 

budgets and allocations for future years. 

2. The mechanism for determining the cost of allowances will 

be a consignment auction. 

3. A cost containment reserve allowance will be offered for 

sale at an auction for the purpose of containing the cost of 

CO2 allowances in the event of higher than anticipated 

emission reduction costs. An emission containment reserve 

allowance will be withheld from sale at an auction for the 

purpose of additional emission reduction in the event of lower 

than anticipated emission reduction costs. 

4. Monitoring, recording, and recordkeeping requirements 

will be implemented to track compliance. 
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5. Conditional allowances will be allocated to the Department 

of Mines, Minerals and Energy in order to assist the 

department for the abatement and control of air pollution, 

specifically, CO2. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public would be health 

and welfare benefits associated with controlling carbon 

pollution. The program is designed to avoid any significant 

economic impacts. 

No significant advantages or disadvantages to the department 

can be identified. There may be a minor impact in terms of 

administering a new program. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Air Pollution Control Board (Board) proposes to establish the 

CO2 Budget Trading Program in regulation.  

Estimated Economic Impact. 

Background: 

Governor McAuliffe's Executive Directive 11 (2017)1 

directed the Director of the Department of Environmental 

Quality (DEQ), in coordination with the Secretary of Natural 

Resources, to:  

Develop a proposed regulation for the State Air Pollution 

Control Board's consideration to abate, control, or limit 

carbon dioxide emissions from electric power facilities 

that:  

a. Includes provisions to ensure that Virginia's regulation is 

"trading-ready" to allow for the use of market-based 

mechanisms and the trading of carbon dioxide allowances 

through a multi-state trading program; and  

b. Establishes abatement mechanisms providing for a 

corresponding level of stringency to limits on carbon 

dioxide emissions imposed in other states with such limits. 

The Board's proposed CO2 Budget Trading Program is 

designed to meet the requirements of Executive Directive 11.  

Further, the Work Group established by Governor 

McAuliffe's Executive Order 572
 to study and recommend 

methods to reduce carbon emissions from electric power 

generation facilities concluded in their final report "that it is 

important and necessary that Virginia work through a 

regional model, like the established and successful [Regional 

Greenhouse Gas Initiative], in order to achieve lower 

compliance costs and address the interstate nature of the 

electric grid." Thus the proposed regulation specifies 

participation in the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative 

(RGGI). 

Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative: 

RGGI is a cooperative effort among the states of Connecticut, 

Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, 

New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont to cap and reduce 

power sector carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions. RGGI is 

composed of individual CO2 Budget Trading Programs in 

each participating state. Through independent regulations, 

each state's CO2 Budget Trading Program limits emissions of 

CO2 from electric power plants, issues CO2 allowances and 

establishes participation in regional CO2 allowance auctions. 

Regulated power plants can use a CO2 allowance issued by 

any participating state to demonstrate compliance with an 

individual state program. In this manner, the state programs, 

in aggregate, function as a single regional compliance market 

for CO2 emissions. 

Virginia's CO2 Budget Trading Program: 

Under the proposed regulation, fossil fuel-fired stationary 

boilers, combustion turbines, or combined cycle systems that 

serve an electricity generator with a nameplate capacity equal 

to or greater than 25 electrical megawatts are considered CO2 

budget units. Any source3 that includes one or more such 

units is a CO2 budget source, subject to the requirements of 

the regulation. The owners and operators of each CO2 budget 

source and each CO2 budget unit at the source must hold CO2 

allowances for at least the amount of CO2 emitted for the 

relevant time period. Fossil fuel power generating units 

owned by an individual facility and located at that individual 

facility that generates electricity and heat from fossil fuel for 

the primary use of operation of the facility are exempt from 

the requirements. 

For the first year of Virginia's CO2 Budget Trading Program, 

2020, the intent is to allocate to each source conditional 

allowances approximately equal to the number of tons of CO2 

emitted by their units. The allowances are called 

"conditional" because the sources cannot just hold on to and 

use the allowances; the allowances must be sent to the 

consignment auction. The consignment auction is the 

quarterly RGGI regional CO2 allowance auction where 

anyone can bid for the allowances. The allowances can be 

used by any regulated power plant (source) in any of the 

RGGI states. Similarly, Virginia sources can use allowances 

that either originated in Virginia or any other RGGI state.  

If a Virginia source intended to emit fewer tons of CO2 than it 

received in conditional allowances, then the source would 

purchase fewer allowances (through the auction) than it had 

auctioned off, and would earn the auction price per ton times 

the net number of tons it sells (minus a small fee kept by 

RGGI for administrative costs). A Virginia source that 

intended to emit exactly the number of tons of CO2 it was 

allotted would buy back the same number of allowances it 

brought to the auction and would break even (minus the 

administrative fee). A source that planned to emit more CO2 

than it received in conditional allowances would purchase the 
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number of allowances it needed and pay the auction price 

times the number of tons beyond its allotted number. 

For 2020, the proposed regulation specifies a Virginia base 

budget of either 33 million or 34 million tons of CO2 

allowances. (The proposed text at the Proposed Stage of this 

regulatory action includes the following: "Editor's Note: Two 

versions … are provided for comment. The board seeks 

comment on whether the base budget should be 33 million 

tons or 34 million tons, with corresponding 3% per year 

reductions.") The base budget declines by about 1 million 

tons of CO2 allowances per year thereafter until 2030. Of the 

base budget, 95% is allocated to CO2 budget sources and the 

remaining 5% is allocated to the Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy (DMME) to assist DEQ in the 

abatement and control of air pollution, specifically CO2. 

The proposed Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program includes 

mechanisms designed to ensure that the allowance price 

remains within a set range. Details concerning those 

mechanisms can be found in Appendix I. 

Impact - Benefit of CO2 Emission Reduction: 

The Report of the Executive Order 57 Work Group4 identifies 

several Virginia-specific environmental and economic harms 

that result from CO2 emissions:  

• According to data compiled by the Georgetown Climate 

Center and Old Dominion University's Mitigation and 

Adaptation Research Institute, the Commonwealth has 

already seen a 33 percent increase in heavy rainstorms and 

snowstorms in the last sixty years, as well as an 11 percent 

increase in precipitation from the largest storms.5 The same 

report found that as many as 400,000 Virginia homes are at 

risk of damage from increased storm surges.  

• Climate change also has the potential to endanger the 

agricultural sector. Half of Virginia's counties face 

increased risk of water shortages by 2050 as the result of 

climate-related shifts in precipitation and weather.6  

• Other business sectors are similarly feeling the impacts of 

climate change as warmer temperatures affect worker 

productivity and the health of the workforce.7 

Thus, reducing CO2 emissions has the potential to benefit the 

Commonwealth. 

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and other 

federal agencies use estimates of the social cost of carbon 

(SC-CO2) to value the climate impacts of regulatory 

rulemakings.8 The SC-CO2 is a measure, in dollars, of the 

long-term damage done by a ton of CO2 emissions in a given 

year. This dollar figure also represents the value of damages 

avoided for a reduction of a ton of CO2 emissions in a given 

year (i.e., the benefit of a CO2 reduction). It should be noted 

that the federal model estimates of the social cost of carbon 

are for the world overall.9 Thus it is not possible to quantify 

the Virginia-specific benefits. 

The SC-CO2 is meant to be a comprehensive estimate of 

climate change damages and includes, among other things, 

changes in human health, property damages from increased 

flood risk, net agricultural productivity, and changes in 

energy system costs, such as reduced costs for heating and 

increased costs for air conditioning. However, according to 

the EPA, the federal SC-CO2 estimates omit various impacts 

that likely would increase damages. The models used to 

develop SC-CO2 estimates do not currently include all of the 

physical, ecological, and economic impacts of climate change 

recognized in the literature because of a lack of precise 

information on the nature of damages and because the science 

incorporated into these models naturally lags behind the most 

recent research. Nonetheless, current estimates of the SC-CO2 

are a useful measure to assess the climate impacts of CO2 

emission changes. Details about the federal model SC-CO2 

estimates and their development can be found in Appendix II 

of this report. 

By design, under Virginia's proposed CO2 Budget Trading 

Program, CO2 emissions are reduced by about 1 million tons 

per year from 2020 to 2030. If a 3% discount rate is 

assumed,10 then the benefit of a CO2 reduction by about 1 

million tons in 2021 versus 2020 would be about $42 million, 

while the benefit of a CO2 reduction by about 1 million tons 

in 203011 would be about $50 million.12
 The estimated 

cumulative benefit for the ten years of CO2 reduction would 

be about $460 million. The assumed discount rate makes a 

large difference in the estimated benefit. If a discount rate of 

2.5% a year is used rather than 3%, then the estimated 

cumulative benefit for the ten years of CO2 reduction would 

be about $680 million. On the other hand, using a discount 

rate of 5% a year rather than 3% results in an estimated 

cumulative benefit for the ten years of CO2 reduction of about 

$140 million.13  

Impact - Benefit of Incidental Reductions in SO2 and NOx: 

Air pollutants such as sulfur dioxide (SO2) and nitrogen 

oxides (NOx) are co-produced along with CO2 emissions from 

fossil-fuel power plants. SO2 and NOx can form particulate 

matter. Exposure to particulate matter can adversely affect the 

lungs and heart, leading to premature death in people with 

heart or lung disease, nonfatal heart attacks, aggravated 

asthma, decreased lung function, and increased respiratory 

symptoms, such as irritation of the airways, coughing or 

difficulty breathing.14 In meeting CO2 reduction requirements, 

there would also be reductions in SO2 and NOx emissions. 

EPA developed the Co-Benefits Risk Assessment (COBRA) 

model,15 to estimate the health co-benefits from the incidental 

reductions in SO2 and NOx emissions. EPA ran the COBRA 

model to analyze the effects if Virginia linked to RGGI and 

established its CO2 Budget Trading Program. The EPA used 

two sets of assumptions: the RGGI Scenario and the Virginia 

(VA) Scenario. Table 1a compares the two scenarios. 
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Table 1a: Comparison of Assumptions in RGGI and VA Scenarios 

  RGGI Scenario Virginia Scenario 

Natural Gas (NG) 

Prices 

NG price assumptions obtained from the 

Energy Information Agency's 2017 Annual 

Energy Outlook report.16 

NG price assumptions based on Dominion 

Energy's Integrated Resource Plan.17 (NG prices 

are slightly higher under the VA scenario.) 

Future Electricity 

Demand 

Future electricity demand projections for 

Virginia come from the PJM 

Interconnection18 which is the Regional 

Transmission Organization that covers 

Virginia and other eastern states. 

Future electricity demand projections based on 

Dominion Energy's Integrated Resource Plan. 

(Future electricity demand projections are 

substantially higher under the VA scenario.) 

Future Renewable 

Power Generation 

Because Virginia is not presently linked to 

RGGI, it does not include any future Virginia 

renewable power generation. 

Based on Dominion Energy's Integrated 

Resource Plan. (Includes future Virginia 

renewable power generation such as solar). 

Table 1b displays the COBRA model's estimates of the reduction in mortality from the reductions in SO2 and NOx emissions 

that would result from Virginia linking to RGGI and establishing the rules and requirements of Virginia's CO2 Budget Trading 

Program.19  

Table 1b: Health Benefits20 of Incidental Reductions in SO2 and NOx  

Year Scenario 
Tons NOx 

Reduction 

Tons SO2 

Reduction 
Mortality (low estimate) Mortality (high estimate) 

2026 RGGI 11,169 2,424 5.2 11.9 

2026 VA 6,317 1,636 3.2 7.3 

 
     2029 RGGI 10,851 2,551 5.3 12 

2029 VA 8,140 2,310 4.4 10 

Impact - Electricity Consumers: 

According to recent presentations by DEQ, the "revenue received by CO2 Budget Sources owned by regulated electric utilities 

flow to rate payers pursuant to State Corporation Commission (SCC) requirements."21 While not described in the regulation, 

this action is predicated upon anticipated actions of the SCC which it may or may not take. This assumed action was 

incorporated in estimates DEQ provided the Board, which indicate the impact that the proposed Virginia CO2 Budget Trading 

Program22
 would have on the average monthly electricity bills for residential, commercial, and industrial consumers (Table 2).23  

Table 2: Virginia Average Monthly Bill Impact for Years 2017-2031 ($2015) 

  Reference Case Bill          ($ 2015) Policy Scenario 

  RGGI 

Assumptions 

Virginia 

Assumptions 

RGGI  

Assumptions 

Virginia  

Assumptions 

Monthly 

Difference 

($ 2015) 

Percent 

Difference 

Monthly 

Difference 

($ 2015) 

Percent 

Difference 

Residential $181.42 $181.82 $1.19 0.7% $0.53 0.3% 

Commercial $1,019.44 $1,022.67 $9.59 0.9% $4.24 0.4% 

Industrial $33,934.27 $34,065.64 $370.20 1.1% $154.55 0.5% 
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Note: The estimates in Table 2 were produced by the Analysis Group, using the Integrated Planning Model developed by ICF. 

This was the only model available to DPB during the time period for this review, and DPB lacked the resources to verify the 

model or its assumptions. If the SCC resumes rate reviews, these assumptions should be reconsidered. 

The reference case refers to the model's forecasts of electric bills without the adoption of the regulation and implementation of 

the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program. In contrast, by 2031 the model's forecasts of electric bills resulting from adoption of 

the regulation increase by 0.7% to 1.1% using the RGGI assumptions, and by 0.3% to 0.5% using VA assumptions (in real 

dollars). 

Impact - Electricity Producers: 

The proposed regulations restrict CO2 emissions by electricity producers. Electricity producers who find the restrictions 

binding, i.e. they would have emitted more than their allotted allowances without the restrictions, would need to combine 

finding alternative methods of producing electricity and purchasing additional allowances. The alternative methods would 

presumably be more expensive, otherwise the restrictions would not have been binding. Firms in this position would encounter 

increased costs due to the proposed regulation.  

Electricity producers who do not find the restrictions binding can potentially profit by selling allowances that they do not need. 

Firms that had planned to emit fewer tons of CO2 than they were allotted would fall into this category.  

Assuming that all revenues raised from the auction by regulated utilities are returned to ratepayers, then these producers will 

not profit, because they cannot keep their sales revenue. Table 3 lists forecasted prices per ton of allowances in nominal dollars 

for specified years using both the RGGI and VA scenario assumptions.  

Table 3: ICF Model's Forecasts of Allowance Prices with Virginia Participation in RGGI 

Year RGGI: Nominal$/Ton VA: Nominal$/Ton 

2020 $6.48 $6.08 

2023 $7.71 $7.24 

2026 $ 9.60 $9.02 

2029 $11.44 $10.74 

2031 $13.35 $12.53 

Given the proposal to limit CO2 emissions to 33 million tons 

in 2020, and that 5 percent of the emissions are allotted to 

DMME, 31.35 million tons of emissions would be allotted to 

sources in 2020. Based on the forecasted prices of $6.08 and 

$6.48 per ton, sources would spend approximately $191 

million to $203 million for CO2 emission allowances for the 

year 2020. Since the 2020 base budget is intended to be close 

to the amount of emissions actually being generated at that 

time, in net sources would not initially face significant 

additional costs from finding alternative lower-emitting but 

higher cost means of generating electricity. 

Taking into account the annual reduction in the Virginia base 

budget in the proposed regulation and DMME's share of the 

base budget, 28.53 million tons of emissions would be 

allotted to sources in 2023. Based on the forecasted prices of 

$7.24 and $7.71 per ton, sources would spend approximately 

$207 million to $220 million for CO2 emission allowances for 

the year 2023. Since the 2023 base budget is smaller than the 

2020 base budget, and the demand for electricity is unlikely 

to fall, sources likely would need to find alternative, lower-

emitting means of generating electricity. 

Following the same reasoning, the source allotments for 2026 

and 2029 would be 25.71 million tons and 22.89 million tons, 

respectively; and based on the forecasted prices of $9.02 to $ 

9.60 and $10.74 to $11.44 per ton, sources would spend 

approximately $232 million to $247 million in 2026 and $246 

million to $262 million in 2029 on CO2 emission allowances. 

Given the further contraction in the base budget of 

allowances, sources would need to find alternative, lower-

emitting means of generating electricity.   

Impact - Fiscal: 

The Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission 

(JLARC) estimates that the fiscal impact (negative and 

positive) of the proposed regulation (in 2017 dollars) will be 

"approximately − $1.3 million in 2020, when the regulation 

would take effect, and [will] be $1.9 million in 2031, the last 

year in which information is available to develop an 

estimate."24 JLARC notes that the latter cost equates to 

approximately one percent of projected state electricity costs 

in 2031, and that the majority of this impact would be due to 

an increase in electricity costs for public higher education 

institutions, which represented 70 percent of total electricity 

costs for state entities in FY17. Impacts are estimated as the 
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difference between electricity costs under the proposed 

regulation pursuant and electricity costs if the regulation was 

not adopted. 

JLARC estimates that the cost to DEQ for administering the 

regulation and the cap and trade program would be 

approximately $95,000 per year to cover the salary and 

benefits for one staff position.25 According to JLARC, DEQ 

staff indicated that the anticipated responsibilities of this staff 

person would include collecting and analyzing information 

necessary to allocate allowances to electricity generators, 

participating in RGGI meetings and webinars, and managing 

all correspondence with RGGI. While monitoring and 

compliance should be handled automatically by the RGGI 

carbon dioxide allowance tracking system, this staff person 

would have responsibility for managing DEQ compliance 

actions for electricity generators that are substantially and 

consistently out of compliance. Additional resources could be 

necessary if there is frequent need for compliance action by 

DEQ. 

JLARC also estimates that the cost to DMME for 

administering the allowances it receives each year is 

approximately $105,000 to cover the salary and benefits for 

one staff position. This position would be an upper-level 

program manager responsible for establishing a program 

inventory that would maximize emission reductions. This 

position would manage a contract with a third-party 

administrator to sell the allowances allotted to DMME and 

make the funding available for use in a variety of programs to 

help reduce carbon dioxide emissions. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

particularly affect the 12 companies that operate the 32 

electric power facilities with a capacity of >25 MW in the 

Commonwealth. All entities that use electricity, including 

industrial and commercial firms, farms, residences, 

government offices, schools and colleges, etc., are affected as 

well. All entities and people in Virginia would also likely 

experience the impact of environmental improvement. 

Localities Particularly Affected. As CO2 emissions are 

reduced over time, the regulation is likely to have a positive 

impact on all localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed reduction in 

allowed emissions of CO2 over time may reduce employment 

associated with electricity production that is high in CO2 

emission such as coal, and may increase employment in 

electricity production that is low in CO2 emission such as 

wind and solar. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. It is 

difficult to estimate the effects of this regulation on the value 

of property. To the extent that the proposed amendments 

decrease flooding risk, and thus limit loss of use, the value of 

private property near bodies of water and other low-lying 

properties could become more valuable, or they could decline 

since it could cause the inventory of usable land to increase. 

Further, land values could increase in some areas as the 

demand for solar farms increases.  

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to significantly affect real estate development 

costs. 

Small Businesses: 

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments likely 

would increase electricity costs for small businesses, but 

environmental improvements may lower other costs. Based 

upon the assumptions used for the model results displayed in 

Table 2, monthly electric bills should not increase by more 

than 1.1% ($2015) by 2031 due to the proposed program. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no clear alternative method that would minimize the adverse 

impact for small businesses, while still achieving the intended 

policy goals. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments likely would increase 

electricity costs for businesses. Based upon the assumptions 

used for the model results displayed in Table 2, monthly 

electric bills should not increase by more than 1.1% ($2015) 

by 2031 due to the proposed program. The proposed 

limitations on CO2 emissions for sources would increase 

electricity production costs for at least some electric power 

producing firms. 

Localities. The proposed amendments likely would increase 

electricity costs for local governments. Based upon the 

assumptions used for the model results displayed in Table 2, 

monthly electric bills should not increase by more than 1.1% 

($2015) by 2031 due to the proposed program. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments likely would 

increase electricity costs for homeowners, farms, state 

government, schools, colleges, and other entities. Based upon 

the assumptions used for the model results displayed in Table 

2, monthly electric bills should not increase by more than 

1.1% ($2015) by 2031 due to the proposed program.  

_____________________________ 

1See https://governor.virginia.gov/media/9155/ed-11-reducing-carbon-

dioxide-emissions-from-electric-power-facilities-and-growing-virginias-
clean-energy-economy.pdf. 

2See https://governor.virginia.gov/media/6396/eo-57-development-of-carbon-

reduction-strategies-for-electric-power-generation-facilities.pdf. 

3The proposed regulation defines source as "any governmental, institutional, 

commercial, or industrial structure, installation, plant, building, or facility 

https://governor.virginia.gov/media/9155/ed-11-reducing-carbon-dioxide-emissions-from-electric-power-facilities-and-growing-virginias-clean-energy-economy.pdf
https://governor.virginia.gov/media/9155/ed-11-reducing-carbon-dioxide-emissions-from-electric-power-facilities-and-growing-virginias-clean-energy-economy.pdf
https://governor.virginia.gov/media/9155/ed-11-reducing-carbon-dioxide-emissions-from-electric-power-facilities-and-growing-virginias-clean-energy-economy.pdf
https://governor.virginia.gov/media/6396/eo-57-development-of-carbon-reduction-strategies-for-electric-power-generation-facilities.pdf
https://governor.virginia.gov/media/6396/eo-57-development-of-carbon-reduction-strategies-for-electric-power-generation-facilities.pdf
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that emits or has the potential to emit any air pollutant. A source, including a 

source with multiple units, shall be considered a single facility." 

4See https://naturalresources.virginia.gov/media/9156/eo57-report-final-5-12-
17.pdf.  

5Georgetown Climate Center and Old Dominion University Mitigation and 

Adaptation Research Institute, Understanding Virginia's Vulnerability to 
Climate Change, February 17, 2017, available at 

http://www.georgetownclimate.org/files/report/understanding-virginias-

vulnerability-to-climate-change.pdf. 

6Ibid. 

7U.S. Global Change Research Program. Impacts of Climate Change on 

Human Health in the United States: A Scientific Assessment, April 2016, 
available at https://health2016.globalchange.gov/. 

8Interagency Working Group on Social Cost of Greenhouse Gases, United 

States Government; Technical Update of the Social Cost of Carbon for 
Regulatory Impact Analysis 

https://19january2017snapshot.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2016-

12/documents/sc_co2_tsd_august_2016.pdf. 

9Ibid, p.17. 

10See Appendix II for a discussion of discount rates and how the SC-CO2 

estimates vary with use of different discount rates. 

11The last year specified in the proposed regulation is 2030. 

12See the table in Appendix II for estimated SC-CO2 figures, and the text of 

Appendix II for discussion on how the figures are determined.  

13All calculations use the federal government's SC-CO2 estimates shown in 

Appendix II. 

14See https://www.epa.gov/pm-pollution/health-and-environmental-effects-
particulate-matter-pm. 

15See https://www.epa.gov/statelocalenergy/co-benefits-risk-assessment-

cobra-health-impacts-screening-and-mapping-tool. 

16See https://www.eia.gov/outlooks/aeo/. 

17See http://dominionenergy.mediaroom.com/2017-05-01-Dominion-

Virginia-Power-Plan-Sees-More-Clean-Energy. 

18See http://www.pjm.com/. 

19The model estimates health benefits through reduced: mortality, various 

cardiovascular and respiratory ailments, and loss of work days. These 
estimates could not be verified by DPB staff within the timeframe for this 

review. 

20See page F-1 of the User's Manual for the Co-Benefits Risk Assessment 
Health Impacts Screening and Mapping Tool (COBRA) to see EPA's 

assigned dollar values for various health conditions, including mortality. 

https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2017-
10/documents/cobra_user_manual_september2017_508_v2.pdf. 

21DEQ November 16, 2017 presentation before the Board, p. 24: 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals/0/DEQ/Air/GHG/C17-
pro.pdf?ver=2017-11-20-153710-670 DEQ December 4, 2017 presentation to 

the Commission on Electric Utility Regulation, p. 15, 

http://leg5.state.va.us/User_db/frmView.aspx?ViewId=5094&s=7.  

22That is, participation in RGGI and reductions in CO2 emissions, as 

stipulated in the proposed regulation. 

23DEQ November 16, 2017 presentation before the Board, p. 43. 

24JLARC's analysis, which was published on December 4, 2017, could not be 

verified by DPB staff within the timeframe for this review. JLARC notes 
that, "the fiscal impact is estimated to be negative in 2020 because it is 

expected that compliance will be easier in earlier years and electricity 

generators may hold or bank allowances that they do not need to reduce 

compliance costs in later years when the emissions cap decreases." Source: 

http://jlarc.virginia.gov/pdfs/fiscal_analysis/FIR/2017_ED11_review.pdf.  

25Source: http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?171+oth+HB2018F122+ 
PDF. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

department has reviewed the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget and has 

no comment. 

Summary: 

The proposed new regulation establishes the Virginia CO2 

Budget Trading Program. The proposed regulation (i) 

implements a declining cap on carbon emissions and 

establishes an allowance that will be issued for each ton of 

carbon emitted by an electricity generating facility, which 

can then decide whether to reduce carbon emissions and 

sell the resulting additional allowances or not reduce 

carbon emissions and make up the difference with 

purchased allowances; (ii) establishes a consignment 

auction as the mechanism for determining the cost of 

allowances; (iii) provides that a cost containment reserve 

allowance will be offered for sale at an auction for the 

purpose of containing the cost of CO2 allowances in the 

event of higher than anticipated emission reduction costs 

and that an emission containment reserve allowance will 

be withheld from sale at an auction for the purpose of 

additional emission reduction in the event of lower than 

anticipated emission reduction costs; (iv) implements 

monitoring, recording, and recordkeeping requirements; 

and (v) allocates conditional allowances to the Department 

of Mines, Minerals and Energy. 

The proposal includes two options on the base budgets, 33 

million tons and 34 million tons, which will determine, 

based on a 3.0% annual reduction, the annual budgets, 

and allocations for future years. 

Part VII 

CO2 Budget Trading Program 

Article 1 

CO2 Budget Trading Program General Provisions 

9VAC5-140-6010. Purpose. 

This part establishes the Virginia component of the CO2 

Budget Trading Program, which is designed to reduce 

anthropogenic emissions of CO2, a greenhouse gas, from CO2 

budget sources in an economically efficient manner. 

9VAC5-140-6020. Definitions. 

A. As used in this part, all words or terms not defined here 

shall have the meanings given them in 9VAC5-10 (General 

Definitions), unless otherwise required by the context. 

B. For the purpose of this part and any related use, the words 

or terms shall have the meanings given them in this section. 

C. Terms defined. 

https://naturalresources.virginia.gov/media/9156/eo57-report-final-5-12-17.pdf
https://naturalresources.virginia.gov/media/9156/eo57-report-final-5-12-17.pdf
http://www.georgetownclimate.org/files/report/understanding-virginias-vulnerability-to-climate-change.pdf
http://www.georgetownclimate.org/files/report/understanding-virginias-vulnerability-to-climate-change.pdf
https://health2016.globalchange.gov/
https://19january2017snapshot.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2016-12/documents/sc_co2_tsd_august_2016.pdf
https://19january2017snapshot.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2016-12/documents/sc_co2_tsd_august_2016.pdf
https://www.epa.gov/pm-pollution/health-and-environmental-effects-particulate-matter-pm
https://www.epa.gov/pm-pollution/health-and-environmental-effects-particulate-matter-pm
https://www.epa.gov/statelocalenergy/co-benefits-risk-assessment-cobra-health-impacts-screening-and-mapping-tool
https://www.epa.gov/statelocalenergy/co-benefits-risk-assessment-cobra-health-impacts-screening-and-mapping-tool
https://www.eia.gov/outlooks/aeo/
http://dominionenergy.mediaroom.com/2017-05-01-Dominion-Virginia-Power-Plan-Sees-More-Clean-Energy
http://dominionenergy.mediaroom.com/2017-05-01-Dominion-Virginia-Power-Plan-Sees-More-Clean-Energy
http://www.pjm.com/
https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2017-10/documents/cobra_user_manual_september2017_508_v2.pdf
https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2017-10/documents/cobra_user_manual_september2017_508_v2.pdf
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals/0/DEQ/Air/GHG/C17-pro.pdf?ver=2017-11-20-153710-670
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals/0/DEQ/Air/GHG/C17-pro.pdf?ver=2017-11-20-153710-670
http://leg5.state.va.us/User_db/frmView.aspx?ViewId=5094&s=7
http://jlarc.virginia.gov/pdfs/fiscal_analysis/FIR/2017_ED11_review.pdf
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?171+oth+HB2018F122+PDF
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?171+oth+HB2018F122+PDF
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"Account number" means the identification number given 

by the department or its agent to each COATS account.  

"Acid rain emission limitation" means, as defined in 

40 CFR 72.2, a limitation on emissions of sulfur dioxide 

(SO2) or nitrogen oxides (NOX) under the Acid Rain 

Program under Title IV of the CAA. 

"Acid Rain Program" means a multistate SO2 and NOX air 

pollution control and emission reduction program 

established by the administrator under Title IV of the CAA 

and 40 CFR Parts 72 through 78. 

"Adjustment for banked allowances" means an adjustment 

applied to the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program base 

budget for allocation years 2021 through 2025 to address 

allowances held in general and compliance accounts, 

including compliance accounts established pursuant to the 

CO2 Budget Trading Program, but not including accounts 

opened by participating states, that are in addition to the 

aggregate quantity of emissions from all CO2 budget 

sources in all of the participating states at the end of the 

control period in 2020 and as reflected in the CO2 

Allowance Tracking System on March 17, 2021. 

"Administrator" means the administrator of the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency or the administrator's 

authorized representative. 

"Allocate" or "allocation" means the determination by the 

department of the number of CO2 conditional allowances 

allocated to a CO2 budget unit or the Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy (DMME). 

"Allocation year" means a calendar year for which the 

department allocates CO2 conditional allowances pursuant 

to Article 5 (9VAC5-140-6190 et seq.) of this part. The 

allocation year of each CO2 conditional allowance is 

reflected in the unique identification number given to the 

allowance pursuant to 9VAC5-140-6250 C. 

"Allowance" means an allowance up to one ton of CO2 

purchased from the consignment auction in accordance 

with Article 9 (9VAC5-140-6410 et seq.) of this part and 

that may be deposited in the compliance account of a CO2 

budget source. 

"Allowance auction" or "auction" means an auction in 

which the department or its agent offers CO2 allowances 

for sale. 

"Alternate CO2 authorized account representative" means, 

for a CO2 budget source and each CO2 budget unit at the 

source, the alternate natural person who is authorized by 

the owners and operators of the source and all CO2 budget 

units at the source, in accordance with Article 2 (9VAC5-

140-6080 et seq.) of this part, to represent and legally bind 

each owner and operator in matters pertaining to the CO2 

Budget Trading Program or, for a general account, the 

alternate natural person who is authorized, under Article 6 

(9VAC5-140-6220 et seq.) of this part, to transfer or 

otherwise dispose of CO2 allowances held in the general 

account. If the CO2 budget source is also subject to the 

Acid Rain Program, CSAPR NOX Annual Trading 

Program, CSAPR NOX Ozone Season Trading Program, 

CSAPR SO2 Group 1 Trading Program, or CSAPR SO2 

Group 2 Trading Program then, for a CO2 Budget Trading 

Program compliance account, this alternate natural person 

shall be the same person as the alternate designated 

representative as defined in the respective program. 

"Attribute" means a characteristic associated with 

electricity generated using a particular renewable fuel, such 

as its generation date, facility geographic location, unit 

vintage, emissions output, fuel, state program eligibility, or 

other characteristic that can be identified, accounted for, 

and tracked. 

"Attribute credit" means a credit that represents the 

attributes related to one megawatt-hour of electricity 

generation. 

"Automated Data Acquisition and Handling System" or 

"DAHS" means that component of the Continuous 

Emissions Monitoring System (CEMS), or other emissions 

monitoring system approved for use under Article 8 

(9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part, designed to 

interpret and convert individual output signals from 

pollutant concentration monitors, flow monitors, diluent 

gas monitors, and other component parts of the monitoring 

system to produce a continuous record of the measured 

parameters in the measurement units required by Article 8 

(9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part. 

"Billing meter" means a measurement device used to 

measure electric or thermal output for commercial billing 

under a contract. The facility selling the electric or thermal 

output shall have different owners from the owners of the 

party purchasing the electric or thermal output. 

"Boiler" means an enclosed fossil or other fuel-fired 

combustion device used to produce heat and to transfer 

heat to recirculating water, steam, or other medium. 

"CO2 allowance deduction" or "deduct CO2 allowances" 

means the permanent withdrawal of CO2 allowances by the 

department or its agent from a COATS compliance account 

to account for the number of tons of CO2 emitted from a 

CO2 budget source for a control period or an interim 

control period, determined in accordance with Article 8 

(9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part, or for the forfeit or 

retirement of CO2 allowances as provided by this part. 

"CO2 Allowance Tracking System" or "COATS" means 

the system by which the department or its agent records 

allocations, deductions, and transfers of CO2 allowances 

under the CO2 Budget Trading Program. The tracking 

system may also be used to track CO2 allowance prices and 

emissions from affected sources. 
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"CO2 Allowance Tracking System account" means an 

account in COATS established by the department or its 

agent for purposes of recording the allocation, holding, 

transferring, or deducting of CO2 allowances. 

"CO2 allowance transfer deadline" means midnight of 

March 1 occurring after the end of the relevant control 

period and each relevant interim control period or, if that 

March 1 is not a business day, midnight of the first 

business day thereafter and is the deadline by which CO2 

allowances shall be submitted for recordation in a CO2 

budget source's compliance account for the source to meet 

the CO2 requirements of 9VAC5-140-6050 C for the 

control period and each interim control period immediately 

preceding such deadline. 

"CO2 allowances held" or "hold CO2 allowances" means 

the CO2 allowances recorded by the department or its 

agent, or submitted to the department or its agent for 

recordation, in accordance with Article 6 (9VAC5-140-

6220 et seq.) and Article 7 (9VAC5-140-6300 et seq.) of 

this part, in a COATS account. 

"CO2 authorized account representative" means, for a CO2 

budget source and each CO2 budget unit at the source, the 

natural person who is authorized by the owners and 

operators of the source and all CO2 budget units at the 

source, in accordance with Article 2 (9VAC5-140-6080 et 

seq.) of this part, to represent and legally bind each owner 

and operator in matters pertaining to the CO2 Budget 

Trading Program or, for a general account, the natural 

person who is authorized, under Article 6 (9VAC5-140-

6220 et seq.) of this part, to transfer or otherwise dispose 

of CO2 allowances held in the general account. If the CO2 

budget source is also subject to the Acid Rain Program, 

CSAPR NOX Annual Trading Program, CSAPR NOX 

Ozone Season Trading Program, CSAPR SO2 Group 1 

Trading Program, or CSAPR SO2 Group 2 Trading 

Program, then for a CO2 Budget Trading Program 

compliance account, this natural person shall be the same 

person as the designated representative as defined in the 

respective program. 

"CO2 budget emissions limitation" means, for a CO2 

budget source, the tonnage equivalent, in CO2 emissions in 

a control period or an interim control period, of the CO2 

allowances available for compliance deduction for the 

source for a control period or an interim control period. 

"CO2 budget permit" means the portion of the legally 

binding permit issued by the department pursuant to 

9VAC5-85 (Permits for Stationary Sources of Pollutants 

Subject to Regulation) to a CO2 budget source or CO2 

budget unit that specifies the CO2 Budget Trading Program 

requirements applicable to the CO2 budget source, to each 

CO2 budget unit at the CO2 budget source, and to the 

owners and operators and the CO2 authorized account 

representative of the CO2 budget source and each CO2 

budget unit. 

"CO2 budget source" means a source that includes one or 

more CO2 budget units. 

"CO2 Budget Trading Program" means the Regional 

Greenhouse Gas Initiative (RGGI), a multistate CO2 air 

pollution control and emissions reduction program as a 

means of reducing emissions of CO2 from CO2 budget 

sources. 

"CO2 budget unit" means a unit that is subject to the CO2 

Budget Trading Program requirements under 9VAC5-140-

6040. 

"CO2 cost containment reserve allowance" or "CO2 CCR 

allowance" means a CO2 allowance that is offered for sale 

at an auction for the purpose of containing the cost of CO2 

allowances. CO2 CCR allowances offered for sale at an 

auction are separate from and additional to CO2 allowances 

allocated from the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base and adjusted budgets. CO2 CCR allowances are 

subject to all applicable limitations contained in this part. 

"CO2 cost containment reserve trigger price" or "CCR 

trigger price" means the minimum price at which CO2 

CCR allowances are offered for sale at an auction. 

Beginning in 2020 and each calendar year thereafter, the 

CCR trigger price shall be 1.025 multiplied by the CCR 

trigger price from the previous calendar year, rounded to 

the nearest whole cent. The CCR trigger price in calendar 

year 2021 shall be $13. Each calendar year thereafter, the 

CCR trigger price shall be 1.07 multiplied by the CCR 

trigger price from the previous calendar year, rounded to 

the nearest whole cent, as shown in Table 140-1A. 

Table 140-1A 

CO2 CCR Trigger Price 

2020 $10.77 

2021 $13.00 

2022 $13.91 

2023 $14.88 

2024 $15.93 

2025 $17.04 

2026 $18.23 

2027 $19.51 

2028 $20.88 

2029 $22.34 

2030 $23.90 
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"CO2 emission containment reserve allowance" or "CO2 

ECR allowance" means a CO2 allowance that is withheld 

from sale at an auction by the department for the purpose 

of additional emission reduction in the event of lower than 

anticipated emission reduction costs. 

"CO2 emission containment reserve trigger price" or "ECR 

trigger price" means the price below which CO2 

allowances will be withheld from sale by the department or 

its agent at an auction. The ECR trigger price in calendar 

year 2021 shall be $6.00. Each calendar year thereafter, the 

ECR trigger price shall be 1.07 multiplied by the ECR 

trigger price from the previous calendar year, rounded to 

the nearest whole cent, as shown in Table 140-1B. 

Table 140-1B 

CO2 ECR Trigger Price 

2021 $ 6.00 

2022 $ 6.42 

2023 $ 6.87 

2024 $ 7.35 

2025 $ 7.86 

2026 $ 8.42 

2027 $ 9.00 

2028 $ 9.63 

2029 $10.31 

2030 $11.03 

"Combined cycle system" means a system comprised of 

one or more combustion turbines, heat recovery steam 

generators, and steam turbines configured to improve 

overall efficiency of electricity generation or steam 

production. 

"Combustion turbine" means an enclosed fossil or other 

fuel-fired device that is comprised of a compressor (if 

applicable), a combustor, and a turbine, and in which the 

flue gas resulting from the combustion of fuel in the 

combustor passes through the turbine, rotating the turbine. 

"Commence commercial operation" means, with regard to 

a unit that serves a generator, to have begun to produce 

steam, gas, or other heated medium used to generate 

electricity for sale or use, including test generation. For a 

unit that is a CO2 budget unit under 9VAC5-140-6040 on 

the date the unit commences commercial operation, such 

date shall remain the unit's date of commencement of 

commercial operation even if the unit is subsequently 

modified, reconstructed, or repowered. For a unit that is 

not a CO2 budget unit under 9VAC5-140-6040 on the date 

the unit commences commercial operation, the date the 

unit becomes a CO2 budget unit under 9VAC5-140-6040 

shall be the unit's date of commencement of commercial 

operation. 

"Commence operation" means to begin any mechanical, 

chemical, or electronic process, including, with regard to a 

unit, start-up of a unit's combustion chamber. For a unit 

that is a CO2 budget unit under 9VAC5-140-6040 on the 

date of commencement of operation, such date shall 

remain the unit's date of commencement of operation even 

if the unit is subsequently modified, reconstructed, or 

repowered. For a unit that is not a CO2 budget unit under 

9VAC5-140-6040 on the date of commencement of 

operation, the date the unit becomes a CO2 budget unit 

under 9VAC5-140-6040 shall be the unit's date of 

commencement of operation.  

"Compliance account" means a COATS account, 

established by the department or its agent for a CO2 budget 

source under Article 6 (9VAC5-140-6220 et seq.) of this 

part, in which are held CO2 allowances available for use by 

the source for a control period and each interim control 

period for the purpose of meeting the CO2 requirements of 

9VAC5-140-6050 C. 

"Conditional allowance" means an allowance allocated by 

the department to CO2 budget sources and to DMME. Such 

conditional allowance shall be consigned by the entity to 

whom it is allocated to the consignment auction as 

specified under Article 9 (9VAC5-140-6410 et seq.) of this 

part, after which the conditional allowance becomes an 

allowance to be used for compliance purposes. 

"Consignment auction" or "auction" means the CO2 

auction conducted on a quarterly basis by RGGI, Inc., in 

which CO2 budget sources and DMME are allocated a 

share of allowances by the department that CO2 budget 

sources and the holder of a public contract with DMME 

consign into the auction, and auction revenue is returned to 

CO2 budget sources and the holder of a public contract 

with DMME in accordance with procedures established by 

the department. 

"Continuous Emissions Monitoring System" or "CEMS" 

means the equipment required under Article 8 (9VAC5-

140-6330 et seq.) of this part to sample, analyze, measure, 

and provide, by means of readings recorded at least once 

every 15 minutes (using an automated DAHS), a 

permanent record of stack gas volumetric flow rate, stack 

gas moisture content, and oxygen or carbon dioxide 

concentration (as applicable), in a manner consistent with 

40 CFR Part 75 and Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of 

this part. The following systems are types of CEMS 

required under Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this 

part: 

a. A flow monitoring system, consisting of a stack flow 

rate monitor and an automated DAHS and providing a 
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permanent, continuous record of stack gas volumetric 

flow rate, in standard cubic feet per hour (scf); 

b. A NOX emissions rate (or NOX-diluent) monitoring 

system, consisting of a NOX pollutant concentration 

monitor, a diluent gas (CO2 or O2) monitor, and an 

automated DAHS and providing a permanent, continuous 

record of NOX concentration, in parts per million (ppm), 

diluent gas concentration, in percent CO2 or O2, and NOX 

emissions rate, in pounds per million British thermal 

units (lb/MMBtu); 

c. A moisture monitoring system, as defined in 40 CFR 

75.11(b)(2) and providing a permanent, continuous 

record of the stack gas moisture content, in percent H2O; 

d. A CO2 monitoring system, consisting of a CO2 

pollutant concentration monitor (or an O2 monitor plus 

suitable mathematical equations from which the CO2 

concentration is derived) and an automated DAHS and 

providing a permanent, continuous record of CO2 

emissions, in percent CO2; and 

e. An O2 monitoring system, consisting of an O2 

concentration monitor and an automated DAHS and 

providing a permanent, continuous record of O2, in 

percent O2. 

"Control period" means a three-calendar-year time period. 

The first control period is from January 1, 2021, to 

December 31, 2023, inclusive. Each subsequent 

compliance control period shall be a sequential three-

calendar-year period. The first two compliance years of 

each control period are each defined as an interim control 

period, beginning on January 1, 2022. 

"Cross State Air Pollution Rule (CSAPR) NOX Annual 

Trading Program" means a multistate NOX air pollution 

control and emission reduction program established in 

accordance with Subpart AAAAA of 40 CFR Part 97 and 

40 CFR 52.38(a), including such a program that is revised 

in a SIP revision approved by the administrator under 40 

CFR 52.38(a)(3) or (4) or that is established in a SIP 

revision approved by the administrator under 40 CFR 

52.38(a)(5), as a means of mitigating interstate transport of 

fine particulates and NOX. 

"Cross State Air Pollution Rule (CSAPR) NOX Ozone 

Season Trading Program" means a multistate NOX air 

pollution control and emission reduction program 

established in accordance with Subpart BBBBB of 40 CFR 

Part 97 and 40 CFR 52.38(b), including such a program 

that is revised in a SIP revision approved by the 

administrator under 40 CFR 52.38(b)(3) or (4) or that is 

established in a SIP revision approved by the administrator 

under 40 CFR 52.38(b)(5), as a means of mitigating 

interstate transport of ozone and NOX. 

"Cross State Air Pollution Rule (CSAPR) SO2 Group 1 

Trading Program" means a multistate SO2 air pollution 

control and emission reduction program established in 

accordance with Subpart CCCCC of 40 CFR Part 97 and 

40 CFR 52.39(a), (b), (d) through (f), (j), and (k), including 

such a program that is revised in a SIP revision approved 

by the administrator under 40 CFR 52.39(d) or (e) or that is 

established in a SIP revision approved by the administrator 

under 40 CFR 52.39(f), as a means of mitigating interstate 

transport of fine particulates and SO2. 

"Cross State Air Pollution Rule (CSAPR) SO2 Group 2 

Trading Program" means a multistate SO2 air pollution 

control and emission reduction program established in 

accordance with Subpart DDDDD of 40 CFR Part 97 and 

40 CFR 52.39(a), (c), and (g) through (k), including such a 

program that is revised in a SIP revision approved by the 

administrator under 40 CFR 52.39(g) or (h) or that is 

established in a SIP revision approved by the administrator 

under 40 CFR 52.39(i), as a means of mitigating interstate 

transport of fine particulates and SO2. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

"DMME" means the Virginia Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy. 

"Excess emissions" means any tonnage of CO2 emitted by 

a CO2 budget source during a control period that exceeds 

the CO2 budget emissions limitation for the source. 

"Excess interim emissions" means any tonnage of CO2 

emitted by a CO2 budget source during an interim control 

period multiplied by 0.50 that exceeds the CO2 budget 

emissions limitation for the source. 

"Fossil fuel" means natural gas, petroleum, coal, or any 

form of solid, liquid, or gaseous fuel derived from such 

material. 

"Fossil fuel-fired" means the combustion of fossil fuel, 

alone or in combination with any other fuel, where the 

fossil fuel combusted comprises, or is projected to 

comprise, more than 10% of the annual heat input on a Btu 

basis during any year. 

"General account" means a COATS account, established 

under Article 6 (9VAC5-140-6220 et seq.) of this part that 

is not a compliance account. 

"Gross generation" means the electrical output in MWe at 

the terminals of the generator. 

"Initial control period" means the period beginning January 

1, 2020, and ending December 31, 2020. 

"Interim control period" means a one-calendar-year time 

period, during each of the first and second calendar years 

of each three-year control period. The first interim control 

period starts January 1, 2021, and ends December 31, 
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2021, inclusive. The second interim control period starts 

January 1, 2022, and ends December 31, 2022, inclusive. 

Each successive three-year control period will have two 

interim control periods, comprised of each of the first two 

calendar years of that control period. 

"Life-of-the-unit contractual arrangement" means a unit 

participation power sales agreement under which a 

customer reserves, or is entitled to receive, a specified 

amount or percentage of nameplate capacity or associated 

energy from any specified unit pursuant to a contract: 

a. For the life of the unit; 

b. For a cumulative term of no less than 30 years, 

including contracts that permit an election for early 

termination; or 

c. For a period equal to or greater than 25 years or 70% 

of the economic useful life of the unit determined as of 

the time the unit is built, with option rights to purchase or 

release some portion of the nameplate capacity and 

associated energy generated by the unit at the end of the 

period. 

"Maximum design heat input" means the ability of a unit to 

combust a stated maximum amount of fuel per hour on a 

steady state basis, as determined by the physical design and 

physical characteristics of the unit. 

"Maximum potential hourly heat input" means an hourly 

heat input used for reporting purposes when a unit lacks 

certified monitors to report heat input. If the unit intends to 

use Appendix D of 40 CFR Part 75 to report heat input, 

this value shall be calculated, in accordance with 40 CFR 

Part 75, using the maximum fuel flow rate and the 

maximum gross calorific value. If the unit intends to use a 

flow monitor and a diluent gas monitor, this value shall be 

reported, in accordance with 40 CFR Part 75, using the 

maximum potential flow rate and either the maximum CO2 

concentration in percent CO2 or the minimum O2 

concentration in percent O2. 

"Minimum reserve price" means, in calendar year 2020, 

$2.00. Each calendar year thereafter, the minimum reserve 

price shall be 1.025 multiplied by the minimum reserve 

price from the previous calendar year, rounded to the 

nearest whole cent. 

"Monitoring system" means any monitoring system that 

meets the requirements of Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et 

seq.) of this part, including a CEMS, an excepted 

monitoring system, or an alternative monitoring system. 

"Nameplate capacity" means the maximum electrical 

output in MWe that a generator can sustain over a specified 

period of time when not restricted by seasonal or other 

deratings as measured in accordance with the U.S. 

Department of Energy standards.  

"Net-electric output" means the amount of gross generation 

in MWh the generators produce, including output from 

steam turbines, combustion turbines, and gas expanders, as 

measured at the generator terminals, less the electricity 

used to operate the plant (i.e., auxiliary loads); such uses 

include fuel handling equipment, pumps, fans, pollution 

control equipment, other electricity needs, and transformer 

losses as measured at the transmission side of the step up 

transformer (e.g., the point of sale).  

"Non-CO2 budget unit" means a unit that does not meet the 

applicability criteria of 9VAC5-140-6040. 

"Operator" means any person who operates, controls, or 

supervises a CO2 budget unit or a CO2 budget source and 

shall include any holding company, utility system, or plant 

manager of such a unit or source. 

"Owner" means any of the following persons: 

a. Any holder of any portion of the legal or equitable title 

in a CO2 budget unit; 

b. Any holder of a leasehold interest in a CO2 budget 

unit, other than a passive lessor, or a person who has an 

equitable interest through such lessor, whose rental 

payments are not based, either directly or indirectly, upon 

the revenues or income from the CO2 budget unit; 

c. Any purchaser of power from a CO2 budget unit under 

a life-of-the-unit contractual arrangement in which the 

purchaser controls the dispatch of the unit; or 

d. With respect to any general account, any person who 

has an ownership interest with respect to the CO2 

allowances held in the general account and who is 

subject to the binding agreement for the CO2 authorized 

account representative to represent that person's 

ownership interest with respect to the CO2 allowances. 

"Participating state" means a state that has established a 

corresponding regulation as part of the CO2 Budget 

Trading Program.  

"Receive" or "receipt of" means, with regard to CO2 

allowances, the movement of CO2 allowances by the 

department or its agent from one COATS account to 

another, for purposes of allocation, transfer, or deduction. 

"Recordation," "record," or "recorded" means, with regard 

to CO2 allowances, the movement of CO2 allowances by 

the department or its agent from one COATS account to 

another, for purposes of allocation, transfer, or deduction. 

"RGGI, Inc." means the 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation 

created to support development and implementation of the 

Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative (RGGI). Participating 

RGGI states use RGGI, Inc., as their agent to conduct the 

consignment auction and to operate and manage COATS. 
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"Reserve price" means the minimum acceptable price for 

each CO2 allowance in a specific auction. The reserve price 

at an auction is either the minimum reserve price or the 

CCR trigger price, as specified in Article 9 (9VAC5-140-

6410 et seq.) of this part. 

"Serial number" means, when referring to CO2 allowances, 

the unique identification number assigned to each CO2 

allowance by the department or its agent under 9VAC5-

140 6250 C. 

"Source" means any governmental, institutional, 

commercial, or industrial structure, installation, plant, 

building, or facility that emits or has the potential to emit 

any air pollutant. A source, including a source with 

multiple units, shall be considered a single facility. 

"State" means the Commonwealth of Virginia. The term 

"state" shall have its conventional meaning where such 

meaning is clear from the context. 

"Submit" or "serve" means to send or transmit a document, 

information, or correspondence to the person specified in 

accordance with the applicable regulation: 

a. In person; 

b. By U.S. Postal Service; or 

c. By other means of dispatch or transmission and 

delivery. 

Compliance with any "submission," "service," or "mailing" 

deadline shall be determined by the date of dispatch, 

transmission, or mailing and not the date of receipt. 

"Ton" or "tonnage" means any short ton, or 2,000 pounds. 

For the purpose of determining compliance with the CO2 

requirements of 9VAC5-140-6050 C, total tons for a 

control period shall be calculated as the sum of all recorded 

hourly emissions, or the tonnage equivalent of the recorded 

hourly emissions rates, in accordance with Article 8 

(9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part, with any remaining 

fraction of a ton equal to or greater than 0.50 ton deemed 

to equal one ton and any fraction of a ton less than 0.50 ton 

deemed to equal zero tons. A short ton is equal to 0.9072 

metric tons. 

"Undistributed CO2 allowances" means CO2 allowances 

originally allocated to a set aside account as pursuant to 

9VAC5-140-6210 that were not distributed.  

"Unit" means a fossil fuel-fired stationary boiler, 

combustion turbine, or combined cycle system. 

"Unit operating day" means a calendar day in which a unit 

combusts any fuel. 

"Unsold CO2 allowances" means CO2 allowances that have 

been made available for sale in an auction conducted by 

the department or its agent, but not sold. 

"Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program adjusted budget" 

means an adjusted budget determined in accordance with 

9VAC5-140-6210 and is the annual amount of CO2 tons 

available in Virginia for allocation in a given allocation 

year, in accordance with the CO2 Budget Trading Program. 

CO2 CCR allowances offered for sale at an auction are 

separate from and additional to CO2 allowances allocated 

from the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program adjusted 

budget. 

"Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program base budget" 

means the budget specified in 9VAC5-140-6190. CO2 

CCR allowances offered for sale at an auction are separate 

from and additional to CO2 allowances allocated from the 

Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program base budget. 

9VAC5-140-6030. Measurements, abbreviations, and 

acronyms. 

Measurements, abbreviations, and acronyms used in this 

part are defined as follows:  

Btu - British thermal unit. 

CAA - federal Clean Air Act. 

CCR - cost containment reserve. 

CEMS - Continuous Emissions Monitoring System. 

COATS - CO2 Allowance Tracking System. 

CO2 - carbon dioxide. 

DAHS - Data Acquisition and Handling System. 

EEM - efficiency measure. 

H2O - water. 

lb - pound. 

LME - low mass emissions. 

MMBtu - million British thermal units. 

MW - megawatt. 

MWe - megawatt electrical. 

MWh - megawatt hour. 

NOX - nitrogen oxides. 

O2 - oxygen. 

ORIS - Office of Regulatory Information Systems. 

QA/QC - quality assurance/quality control. 

ppm - parts per million. 

scf - standard cubic feet per hour. 

SO2 - sulfur dioxide. 
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9VAC5-140-6040. Applicability. 

A. Any fossil fuel-fired unit that serves an electricity 

generator with a nameplate capacity equal to or greater than 

25 MWe shall be a CO2 budget unit, and any source that 

includes one or more such units shall be a CO2 budget source, 

subject to the requirements of this part.  

B. Exempt from the requirements of this part is any fossil 

fuel power generating unit owned by an individual facility 

and located at that individual facility that generates electricity 

and heat from fossil fuel for the primary use of operation of 

the facility. 

9VAC5-140-6050. Standard requirements. 

A. Permit requirements shall be as follows. 

1. The CO2 authorized account representative of each CO2 

budget source required to have an operating permit 

pursuant to 9VAC5-85 (Permits for Stationary Sources of 

Pollutants Subject to Regulation) and each CO2 budget unit 

required to have an operating permit pursuant to 9VAC5-

85 shall: 

a. Submit to the department a complete CO2 budget 

permit application under 9VAC5-140-6160 in 

accordance with the deadlines specified in 9VAC5-140-

6150; and 

b. Submit in a timely manner any supplemental 

information that the department determines is necessary 

in order to review the CO2 budget permit application and 

issue or deny a CO2 budget permit. 

2. The owners and operators of each CO2 budget source 

required to have an operating permit pursuant to 9VAC5-

85 (Permits for Stationary Sources of Pollutants Subject to 

Regulation) and each CO2 budget unit required to have an 

operating permit pursuant to 9VAC5-85 for the source 

shall have a CO2 budget permit and operate the CO2 budget 

source and the CO2 budget unit at the source in compliance 

with such CO2 budget permit. 

B. Monitoring requirements shall be as follows. 

1. The owners and operators and, to the extent applicable, 

the CO2 authorized account representative of each CO2 

budget source and each CO2 budget unit at the source shall 

comply with the monitoring requirements of Article 8 

(9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part. 

2. The emissions measurements recorded and reported in 

accordance with Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of 

this part shall be used to determine compliance by the unit 

with the CO2 requirements under subsection C of this 

section. 

C. CO2 requirements shall be as follows. 

1. The owners and operators of each CO2 budget source 

and each CO2 budget unit at the source shall hold CO2 

allowances available for compliance deductions under 

9VAC5-140-6260, as of the CO2 allowance transfer 

deadline, in the source's compliance account in an amount 

not less than the total CO2 emissions for the control period 

from all CO2 budget units at the source, less the CO2 

allowances deducted to meet the requirements of 

subdivision 2 of this subsection, with respect to the 

previous two interim control periods as determined in 

accordance with Article 6  (9VAC5-140-6220 et seq.) and 

Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part. 

2. The owners and operators of each CO2 budget source 

and each CO2 budget unit at the source shall hold CO2 

allowances available for compliance deductions under 

9VAC5-140-6260, as of the CO2 allowance transfer 

deadline, in the source's compliance account in an amount 

not less than the total CO2 emissions for the interim control 

period from all CO2 budget units at the source multiplied 

by 0.50, as determined in accordance with Article 6 

(9VAC5-140-6220 et seq.) and Article 8  (9VAC5-140-

6330 et seq.) of this part. 

3. Each ton of CO2 emitted in excess of the CO2 budget 

emissions limitation for a control period shall constitute a 

separate violation of this part and applicable state law. 

4. Each ton of excess interim emissions shall constitute a 

separate violation of this part and applicable state law. 

5. A CO2 budget unit shall be subject to the requirements 

under subdivision 1 of this subsection starting on the later 

of January 1, 2020, or the date on which the unit 

commences operation. 

6. CO2 allowances shall be held in, deducted from, or 

transferred among COATS accounts in accordance with 

Article 5 (9VAC5-140-6190 et seq.), Article 6 (9VAC5-

140-6220 et seq.), and Article 7 (9VAC5-140-6300 et seq.) 

of this part. 

7. A CO2 allowance shall not be deducted, to comply with 

the requirements under subdivision 1 or 2 of this 

subsection, for a control period that ends prior to the year 

for which the CO2 allowance was allocated. 

8. A CO2 allowance under the CO2 Budget Trading 

Program is a limited authorization by the department to 

emit one ton of CO2 in accordance with the CO2 Budget 

Trading Program. No provision of the CO2 Budget Trading 

Program, the CO2 budget permit application, or the CO2 

budget permit or any provision of law shall be construed to 

limit the authority of the department or a participating state 

to terminate or limit such authorization. 

9. A CO2 allowance under the CO2 Budget Trading 

Program does not constitute a property right. 
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D. The owners and operators of a CO2 budget source that 

has excess emissions in any control period shall: 

1. Forfeit the CO2 allowances required for deduction under 

9VAC5-140-6260 D 1; and 

2. Pay any fine, penalty, or assessment or comply with any 

other remedy imposed under 9VAC5-140-6260 D 2. 

E. Recordkeeping and reporting requirements shall be as 

follows: 

1. Unless otherwise provided, the owners and operators of 

the CO2 budget source and each CO2 budget unit at the 

source shall keep on site at the source each of the 

following documents for a period of 10 years from the date 

the document is created. This period may be extended for 

cause, at any time prior to the end of 10 years, in writing 

by the department. 

a. The account certificate of representation for the CO2 

authorized account representative for the source and each 

CO2 budget unit at the source and all documents that 

demonstrate the truth of the statements in the account 

certificate of representation, in accordance with 9VAC5-

140-6110, provided that the certificate and documents 

shall be retained on site at the source beyond such 10-

year period until such documents are superseded because 

of the submission of a new account certificate of 

representation changing the CO2 authorized account 

representative. 

b. All emissions monitoring information, in accordance 

with Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part and 

40 CFR 75.57. 

c. Copies of all reports, compliance certifications, and 

other submissions and all records made or required under 

the CO2 Budget Trading Program. 

d. Copies of all documents used to complete a CO2 

budget permit application and any other submission 

under the CO2 Budget Trading Program or to 

demonstrate compliance with the requirements of the 

CO2 Budget Trading Program. 

2. The CO2 authorized account representative of a CO2 

budget source and each CO2 budget unit at the source shall 

submit the reports and compliance certifications required 

under the CO2 Budget Trading Program, including those 

under Article 4 (9VAC5-140-6170 et seq.) of this part. 

F. Liability requirements shall be as follows. 

1. No permit revision shall excuse any violation of the 

requirements of the CO2 Budget Trading Program that 

occurs prior to the date that the revision takes effect. 

2. Any provision of the CO2 Budget Trading Program that 

applies to a CO2 budget source, including a provision 

applicable to the CO2 authorized account representative of 

a CO2 budget source, shall also apply to the owners and 

operators of such source and of the CO2 budget units at the 

source. 

3. Any provision of the CO2 Budget Trading Program that 

applies to a CO2 budget unit, including a provision 

applicable to the CO2 authorized account representative of 

a CO2 budget unit, shall also apply to the owners and 

operators of such unit. 

G. No provision of the CO2 Budget Trading Program, a CO2 

budget permit application, or a CO2 budget permit shall be 

construed as exempting or excluding the owners and 

operators and, to the extent applicable, the CO2 authorized 

account representative of the CO2 budget source or CO2 

budget unit from compliance with any other provisions of 

applicable state and federal law or regulations. 

9VAC5-140-6060. Computation of time. 

A. Unless otherwise stated, any time period scheduled, 

under the CO2 Budget Trading Program, to begin on the 

occurrence of an act or event shall begin on the day the act or 

event occurs.  

B. Unless otherwise stated, any time period scheduled, 

under the CO2 Budget Trading Program, to begin before the 

occurrence of an act or event shall be computed so that the 

period ends the day before the act or event occurs.  

C. Unless otherwise stated, if the final day of any time 

period, under the CO2 Budget Trading Program, falls on a 

weekend or a state or federal holiday, the time period shall be 

extended to the next business day. 

9VAC5-140-6070. Severability. 

If any provision of this part, or its application to any 

particular person or circumstances, is held invalid, the 

remainder of this part, and the application thereof to other 

persons or circumstances, shall not be affected thereby.  

Article 2 

CO2 Authorized Account Representative for CO2 Budget 

Sources 

9VAC5-140-6080. Authorization and responsibilities of 

the CO2 authorized account representative. 

A. Except as provided under 9VAC5-140-6090, each CO2 

budget source, including all CO2 budget units at the source, 

shall have one and only one CO2 authorized account 

representative, with regard to all matters under the CO2 

Budget Trading Program concerning the source or any CO2 

budget unit at the source. 

B. The CO2 authorized account representative of the CO2 

budget source shall be selected by an agreement binding on 

the owners and operators of the source and all CO2 budget 

units at the source and must act in accordance with the 

certificate of representation under 9VAC5-140-6110. 
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C. Upon receipt by the department or its agent of a complete 

account certificate of representation under 9VAC5-140-6110, 

the CO2 authorized account representative of the source shall 

represent and, by his representations, actions, inactions, or 

submissions, legally bind each owner and operator of the CO2 

budget source represented and each CO2 budget unit at the 

source in all matters pertaining to the CO2 Budget Trading 

Program, notwithstanding any agreement between the CO2 

authorized account representative and such owners and 

operators. The owners and operators shall be bound by any 

decision or order issued to the CO2 authorized account 

representative by the department or a court regarding the 

source or unit. 

D. No CO2 budget permit shall be issued, and no COATS 

account shall be established for a CO2 budget source, until the 

department or its agent has received a complete account 

certificate of representation under 9VAC5-140-6110 for a 

CO2 authorized account representative of the source and the 

CO2 budget units at the source. 

E. Each submission under the CO2 Budget Trading Program 

shall be submitted, signed, and certified by the CO2 

authorized account representative for each CO2 budget source 

on behalf of which the submission is made. Each such 

submission shall include the following certification statement 

by the CO2 authorized account representative: "I am 

authorized to make this submission on behalf of the owners 

and operators of the CO2 budget sources or CO2 budget units 

for which the submission is made. I certify under penalty of 

law that I have personally examined, and am familiar with, 

the statements and information submitted in this document 

and all its attachments. Based on my inquiry of those 

individuals with primary responsibility for obtaining the 

information, I certify that the statements and information are 

to the best of my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and 

complete. I am aware that there are significant penalties for 

submitting false statements and information or omitting 

required statements and information, including the possibility 

of fine or imprisonment." 

F. The department or its agent will accept or act on a 

submission made on behalf of owners or operators of a CO2 

budget source or a CO2 budget unit only if the submission has 

been made, signed, and certified in accordance with 

subsection E of this section. 

9VAC5-140-6090. Alternate CO2 authorized account 

representative. 

A. An account certificate of representation may designate 

one and only one alternate CO2 authorized account 

representative who may act on behalf of the CO2 authorized 

account representative. The agreement by which the alternate 

CO2 authorized account representative is selected shall 

include a procedure for authorizing the alternate CO2 

authorized account representative to act in lieu of the CO2 

authorized account representative.  

B. Upon receipt by the department or its agent of a complete 

account certificate of representation under 9VAC5-140-6110, 

any representation, action, inaction, or submission by the 

alternate CO2 authorized account representative shall be 

deemed to be a representation, action, inaction, or submission 

by the CO2 authorized account representative.  

C. Except in this section and 9VAC5-140-6080 A, 9VAC5-

140-6100, 9VAC5-140-6110, and 9VAC5-140-6230, 

whenever the term "CO2 authorized account representative" is 

used in this part, the term shall be construed to include the 

alternate CO2 authorized account representative. 

9VAC5-140-6100. Changing the CO2 authorized account 

representatives and the alternate CO2 authorized account 

representative; changes in the owners and operators. 

A. The CO2 authorized account representative may be 

changed at any time upon receipt by the department or its 

agent of a superseding complete account certificate of 

representation under 9VAC5-140-6110. Notwithstanding any 

such change, all representations, actions, inactions, and 

submissions by the previous CO2 authorized account 

representative or alternate CO2 authorized account 

representative prior to the time and date when the department 

or its agent receives the superseding account certificate of 

representation shall be binding on the new CO2 authorized 

account representative and the owners and operators of the 

CO2 budget source and the CO2 budget units at the source. 

B. The alternate CO2 authorized account representative may 

be changed at any time upon receipt by the department or its 

agent of a superseding complete account certificate of 

representation under 9VAC5-140-6110. Notwithstanding any 

such change, all representations, actions, inactions, and 

submissions by the previous or alternate CO2 authorized 

account representative or alternate CO2 authorized account 

representative prior to the time and date when the department 

or its agent receives the superseding account certificate of 

representation shall be binding on the new alternate CO2 

authorized account representative and the owners and 

operators of the CO2 budget source and the CO2 budget units 

at the source.  

C. Changes in the owners and operators shall be addressed 

as follows. 

1. In the event a new owner or operator of a CO2 budget 

source or a CO2 budget unit is not included in the list of 

owners and operators submitted in the account certificate 

of representation, such new owner or operator shall be 

deemed to be subject to and bound by the account 

certificate of representation, the representations, actions, 

inactions, and submissions of the CO2 authorized account 

representative and any alternate CO2 authorized account 

representative of the source or unit, and the decisions, 

orders, actions, and inactions of the department, as if the 

new owner or operator were included in such list.  
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2. Within 30 days following any change in the owners and 

operators of a CO2 budget source or a CO2 budget unit, 

including the addition of a new owner or operator, the CO2 

authorized account representative or alternate CO2 

authorized account representative shall submit a revision to 

the account certificate of representation amending the list 

of owners and operators to include the change. 

9VAC5-140-6110. Account certificate of representation. 

A. A complete account certificate of representation for a 

CO2 authorized account representative or an alternate CO2 

authorized account representative shall include the following 

elements in a format prescribed by the department or its 

agent:  

1. Identification of the CO2 budget source and each CO2 

budget unit at the source for which the account certificate 

of representation is submitted;  

2. The name, address, email address, telephone number, 

and facsimile transmission number of the CO2 authorized 

account representative and any alternate CO2 authorized 

account representative;  

3. A list of the owners and operators of the CO2 budget 

source and of each CO2 budget unit at the source;  

4. The following certification statement by the CO2 

authorized account representative and any alternate CO2 

authorized account representative: "I certify that I was 

selected as the CO2 authorized account representative or 

alternate CO2 authorized account representative, as 

applicable, by an agreement binding on the owners and 

operators of the CO2 budget source and each CO2 budget 

unit at the source. I certify that I have all the necessary 

authority to carry out my duties and responsibilities under 

the CO2 Budget Trading Program on behalf of the owners 

and operators of the CO2 budget source and of each CO2 

budget unit at the source and that each such owner and 

operator shall be fully bound by my representations, 

actions, inactions, or submissions and by any decision or 

order issued to me by the department or a court regarding 

the source or unit."; and  

5. The signature of the CO2 authorized account 

representative and any alternate CO2 authorized account 

representative and the dates signed.  

B. Unless otherwise required by the department or its agent, 

documents of agreement referred to in the account certificate 

of representation shall not be submitted to the department or 

its agent. Neither the department nor its agent shall be under 

any obligation to review or evaluate the sufficiency of such 

documents, if submitted.  

9VAC5-140-6120. Objections concerning the CO2 

authorized account representative. 

A. Once a complete account certificate of representation 

under 9VAC5-140-6110 has been submitted and received, the 

department and its agent will rely on the account certificate of 

representation unless and until the department or its agent 

receives a superseding complete account certificate of 

representation under 9VAC5-140-6110.  

B. Except as provided in 9VAC5-140-6100 A or B, no 

objection or other communication submitted to the 

department or its agent concerning the authorization, or any 

representation, action, inaction, or submission of the CO2 

authorized account representative shall affect any 

representation, action, inaction, or submission of the CO2 

authorized account representative or the finality of any 

decision or order by the department or its agent under the CO2 

Budget Trading Program.  

C. Neither the department nor its agent will adjudicate any 

private legal dispute concerning the authorization or any 

representation, action, inaction, or submission of any CO2 

authorized account representative, including private legal 

disputes concerning the proceeds of CO2 allowance transfers. 

9VAC5-140-6130. Delegation by CO2 authorized account 

representative and alternate CO2 authorized account 

representative. 

A. A CO2 authorized account representative may delegate, 

to one or more natural persons, his authority to make an 

electronic submission to the department or its agent under this 

part. 

B. An alternate CO2 authorized account representative may 

delegate, to one or more natural persons, his authority to 

make an electronic submission to the department or its agent 

under this part. 

C. To delegate authority to make an electronic submission to 

the department or its agent in accordance with subsections A 

and B of this section, the CO2 authorized account 

representative or alternate CO2 authorized account 

representative, as appropriate, shall submit to the department 

or its agent a notice of delegation, in a format prescribed by 

the department that includes the following elements: 

1. The name, address, email address, telephone number, 

and facsimile transmission number of such CO2 authorized 

account representative or alternate CO2 authorized account 

representative; 

2. The name, address, email address, telephone number, 

and facsimile transmission number of each such natural 

person, referred to as the "electronic submission agent"; 

3. For each such natural person, a list of the type of 

electronic submissions under subsection A or B of this 

section for which authority is delegated to him; and  
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4. The following certification statement by such CO2 

authorized account representative or alternate CO2 

authorized account representative: "I agree that any 

electronic submission to the department or its agent that is 

by a natural person identified in this notice of delegation 

and of a type listed for such electronic submission agent in 

this notice of delegation and that is made when I am a CO2 

authorized account representative or alternate CO2 

authorized account representative, as appropriate, and 

before this notice of delegation is superseded by another 

notice of delegation under 9VAC5-140-6130 D shall be 

deemed to be an electronic submission by me. Until this 

notice of delegation is superseded by another notice of 

delegation under 9VAC5-140-6130 D, I agree to maintain 

an email account and to notify the department or its agent 

immediately of any change in my email address unless all 

delegation authority by me under 9VAC5-140-6130 is 

terminated." 

D. A notice of delegation submitted under subsection C of 

this section shall be effective, with regard to the CO2 

authorized account representative or alternate CO2 authorized 

account representative identified in such notice, upon receipt 

of such notice by the department or its agent and until receipt 

by the department or its agent of a superseding notice of 

delegation by such CO2 authorized account representative or 

alternate CO2 authorized account representative as 

appropriate. The superseding notice of delegation may 

replace any previously identified electronic submission agent, 

add a new electronic submission agent, or eliminate entirely 

any delegation of authority. 

E. Any electronic submission covered by the certification in 

subdivision C 4 of this section and made in accordance with a 

notice of delegation effective under subsection D of this 

section shall be deemed to be an electronic submission by the 

CO2 authorized account representative or alternate CO2 

authorized account representative submitting such notice of 

delegation. 

F. A CO2 authorized account representative may delegate, to 

one or more natural persons, his authority to review 

information in the CO2 allowance tracking system under this 

part. 

G. An alternate CO2 authorized account representative may 

delegate, to one or more natural persons, his authority to 

review information in the CO2 allowance tracking system 

under this part. 

H. To delegate authority to review information in the CO2 

allowance tracking system in accordance with subsections F 

and G of this section, the CO2 authorized account 

representative or alternate CO2 authorized account 

representative, as appropriate, must submit to the department 

or its agent a notice of delegation, in a format prescribed by 

the department that includes the following elements: 

1. The name, address, email address, telephone number, 

and facsimile transmission number of such CO2 authorized 

account representative or alternate CO2 authorized account 

representative; 

2. The name, address, email address, telephone number, 

and facsimile transmission number of each such natural 

person, referred to as the "reviewer"; 

3. For each such natural person, a list of the type of 

information under subsection F or G of this section for 

which authority is delegated to him; and 

4. The following certification statement by such CO2 

authorized account representative or alternate CO2 

authorized account representative: "I agree that any 

information that is reviewed by a natural person identified 

in this notice of delegation and of a type listed for such 

information accessible by the reviewer in this notice of 

delegation and that is made when I am a CO2 authorized 

account representative or alternate CO2 authorized account 

representative, as appropriate, and before this notice of 

delegation is superseded by another notice of delegation 

under subsection I of this section shall be deemed to be a 

reviewer by me. Until this notice of delegation is 

superseded by another notice of delegation under 

subsection I of this section, I agree to maintain an email 

account and to notify the department or its agent 

immediately of any change in my email address unless all 

delegation authority by me under this section is 

terminated." 

I. A notice of delegation submitted under subsection H of 

this section shall be effective, with regard to the CO2 

authorized account representative or alternate CO2 authorized 

account representative identified in such notice, upon receipt 

of such notice by the department or its agent and until receipt 

by the department or its agent of a superseding notice of 

delegation by such CO2 authorized account representative or 

alternate CO2 authorized account representative as 

appropriate. The superseding notice of delegation may 

replace any previously identified reviewer, add a new 

reviewer, or eliminate entirely any delegation of authority. 

Article 3 

Permits 

9VAC5-140-6140. CO2 budget permit requirements. 

A. Each CO2 budget source shall have a permit issued by the 

department pursuant to 9VAC5-85 (Permits for Stationary 

Sources of Pollutants Subject to Regulation).  

B. Each CO2 budget permit shall contain all applicable CO2 

Budget Trading Program requirements and shall be a 

complete and distinguishable portion of the permit under 

subsection A of this section. 
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9VAC5-140-6150. Submission of CO2 budget permit 

applications. 

For any CO2 budget source, the CO2 authorized account 

representative shall submit a complete CO2 budget permit 

application under 9VAC5-140-6160 covering such CO2 

budget source to the department by the later of January 1, 

2020, or 12 months before the date on which the CO2 budget 

source, or a new unit at the source, commences operation. 

9VAC5-140-6160. Information requirements for CO2 

budget permit applications. 

A complete CO2 budget permit application shall include the 

following elements concerning the CO2 budget source for 

which the application is submitted, in a format prescribed by 

the department: 

1. Identification of the CO2 budget source, including 

plant name and the ORIS (Office of Regulatory 

Information Systems) or facility code assigned to the 

source by the Energy Information Administration of the 

U.S. Department of Energy if applicable;  

2. Identification of each CO2 budget unit at the CO2 

budget source; and  

3. The standard requirements under 9VAC5-140-6050. 

Article 4 

Compliance Certification 

9VAC5-140-6170. Compliance certification report. 

A. For each control period in which a CO2 budget source is 

subject to the CO2 requirements of 9VAC5-140-6050 C, the 

CO2 authorized account representative of the source shall 

submit to the department by March 1 following the relevant 

control period, a compliance certification report. A 

compliance certification report is not required as part of the 

compliance obligation during an interim control period. 

B. The CO2 authorized account representative shall include 

in the compliance certification report under subsection A of 

this section the following elements, in a format prescribed by 

the department: 

1. Identification of the source and each CO2 budget unit at 

the source; 

2. At the CO2 authorized account representative's option, 

the serial numbers of the CO2 allowances that are to be 

deducted from the source's compliance account under 

9VAC5-140-6260 for the control period; and 

3. The compliance certification under subsection C of this 

section. 

C. In the compliance certification report under subsection A 

of this section, the CO2 authorized account representative 

shall certify, based on reasonable inquiry of those persons 

with primary responsibility for operating the source and the 

CO2 budget units at the source in compliance with the CO2 

Budget Trading Program, whether the source and each CO2 

budget unit at the source for which the compliance 

certification is submitted was operated during the calendar 

years covered by the report in compliance with the 

requirements of the CO2 Budget Trading Program, including: 

1. Whether the source was operated in compliance with the 

CO2 requirements of 9VAC5-140-6050 C; 

2. Whether the monitoring plan applicable to each unit at 

the source has been maintained to reflect the actual 

operation and monitoring of the unit, and contains all 

information necessary to attribute CO2 emissions to the 

unit, in accordance with Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et 

seq.) of this part; 

3. Whether all the CO2 emissions from the units at the 

source were monitored or accounted for through the 

missing data procedures and reported in the quarterly 

monitoring reports, including whether conditional data 

were reported in the quarterly reports in accordance with 

Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part. If 

conditional data were reported, the owner or operator shall 

indicate whether the status of all conditional data has been 

resolved and all necessary quarterly report resubmissions 

have been made; 

4. Whether the facts that form the basis for certification 

under Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part of 

each monitor at each unit at the source, or for using an 

excepted monitoring method or alternative monitoring 

method approved under Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et 

seq.) of this part, if any, have changed; and 

5. If a change is required to be reported under subdivision 

4 of this subsection, specify the nature of the change, the 

reason for the change, when the change occurred, and how 

the unit's compliance status was determined subsequent to 

the change, including what method was used to determine 

emissions when a change mandated the need for monitor 

recertification. 

9VAC5-140-6180. Action on compliance certifications. 

A. The department or its agent may review and conduct 

independent audits concerning any compliance certification 

or any other submission under the CO2 Budget Trading 

Program and make appropriate adjustments of the information 

in the compliance certifications or other submissions.  

B. The department or its agent may deduct CO2 allowances 

from or transfer CO2 allowances to a source's compliance 

account based on the information in the compliance 

certifications or other submissions, as adjusted under 

subsection A of this section. 
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Article 5  

CO2 Allowance Allocations 

Editor's Note: Two versions of 9VAC5-140-6190 are 

provided for comment. The board seeks comment on whether 

the base budget should be 33 million tons or 34 million tons, 

with corresponding 3.0% per year reductions. The first 

version (Version 1) represents a 33 million ton base budget, 

and the second version (Version 2) represents a 34 million ton 

base budget. 

9VAC5-140-6190. Base budgets. 

Version 1, 33 million ton base budget: 

A. The Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program base budget 

shall be as follows: 

1. For 2020, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 33 million tons. 

2. For 2021, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 32.01 million tons. 

3. For 2022, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 31.02 million tons. 

4. For 2023, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 30.03 million tons. 

5. For 2024, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 29.04 million tons. 

6. For 2025, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 28.05 million tons. 

7. For 2026, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 27.06 million tons. 

8. For 2027, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 26.07 million tons. 

9. For 2028, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 25.08 million tons. 

10. For 2029, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 24.09 million tons. 

11. For 2030, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 23.10 million tons. 

B. The department will allocate conditional allowances to 

CO2 budget units and to DMME. After a conditional 

allowance has been consigned in an auction by a CO2 budget 

unit and the holder of a public contract with DMME as 

specified under Article 9 (9VAC5-140-6410 et seq.) of this 

part, the conditional allowance becomes an allowance to be 

used for compliance purposes. 

C. For 2031 and each succeeding calendar year, the Virginia 

CO2 Budget Trading Program base budget is 23.10 million 

tons. 

Version 2, 34 million ton base budget: 

A. The Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program base budget 

shall be as follows: 

1. For 2020, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 34 million tons. 

2. For 2021, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 32.98 million tons. 

3. For 2022, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 31.96 million tons. 

4. For 2023, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 30.94 million tons. 

5. For 2024, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 29.92 million tons. 

6. For 2025, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 28.90 million tons. 

7. For 2026, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 27.88 million tons. 

8. For 2027, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 26.86 million tons. 

9. For 2028, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 25.84 million tons. 

10. For 2029, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 24.82 million tons. 

11. For 2030, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 23.80 million tons. 

B. The department will allocate conditional allowances to 

CO2 budget units and to DMME. After a conditional 

allowance has been consigned in an auction by a CO2 budget 

unit and the holder of a public contract with DMME as 

specified under Article 9 (9VAC5-140-6410 et seq.) of this 

part, the conditional allowance becomes an allowance to be 

used for compliance purposes. 

C. For 2031 and each succeeding calendar year, the Virginia 

CO2 Budget Trading Program base budget is 23.80 million 

tons. 

9VAC5-140-6200. Undistributed and unsold CO2 

allowances. 

A. The department may retire undistributed CO2 allowances 

at the end of each control period.  

B. The department may retire unsold CO2 allowances at the 

end of each control period. 
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Editor's Note: Two versions of 9VAC5-140-6210 are 

provided for comment. The board seeks comment on whether 

the base budget should be 33 million tons or 34 million tons, 

with corresponding 3.0% per year reductions. The first 

version (Version 1) represents a 33 million ton base budget, 

and the second version (Version 2) represents a 34 million ton 

base budget.  

9VAC5-140-6210. CO2 allowance allocations. 

Version 1, 33 million ton base budget: 

A. The department will allocate 95% of the Virginia CO2 

Budget Trading Program base budget to CO2 budget sources 

to be consigned to auction to the Virginia Consignment 

Auction Account. 

B. The department will allocate 5.0% of the Virginia CO2 

Budget Trading Program base budget to DMME to be 

consigned to auction by DMME to assist the department for 

the abatement and control of air pollution, specifically, CO2. 

C. For allocation years 2020 through 2031, the Virginia CO2 

Budget Trading Program adjusted budget shall be the 

maximum number of allowances available for allocation in a 

given allocation year, except for CO2 CCR allowances. 

D. The cost containment reserve (CCR) allocation shall be 

managed as follows. The department will allocate CO2 CCR 

allowances, separate from and additional to the Virginia CO2 

Budget Trading Program base budget set forth in 9VAC5-

140-6190, to the Virginia Auction Account. The CCR 

allocation is for the purpose of containing the cost of CO2 

allowances. The department will allocate CO2 CCR 

allowances as follows. 

1. The department will initially allocate 3.3 million CO2 

CCR allowances for calendar year 2020. 

2. On or before January 1, 2021, and each year thereafter, 

the department will allocate current vintage year CCR 

allowances equal to the quantity in Table 140-5A, and 

withdraw the number of CO2 CCR allowances that remain 

in the Virginia Auction Account at the end of the prior 

calendar year. 

Table 140-5A 

CCR Allowances from 2021 Forward 

2021 3.201 

2022 3.102 

2023 3.003 

2024 2.904 

2025 2.805 

2026 2.706 

2027 2.607 

2028 2.508 

2029 2.409 

2030 and each 

year thereafter 

2.310 

E. Annual base budgets as described in subsections A and B 

of this section may be decreased in any year as necessary to 

account for transfers to the Virginia Emission Containment 

Reserve (ECR) account and adjustments for banked 

allowances. The department will convert and transfer any 

CO2 allowances that have been withheld from any auction in 

the prior year into the Virginia ECR account. The ECR 

withholding is for the purpose of additional emission 

reduction in the event of lower than anticipated emission 

reduction costs. The department will withhold CO2 ECR 

allowances as follows: 

1. If the condition in 9VAC5-140-6420 D 1 is met at an 

auction, then the maximum number of CO2 ECR 

allowances that will be withheld from that auction will be 

equal to the quantity shown in Table 140-5B minus the 

total quantity of CO2 ECR allowances that have been 

withheld from any prior auction in that calendar year. Any 

CO2 ECR allowances withheld from an auction will be 

transferred into the Virginia ECR account. 

Table 140-5B 

ECR Allowances from 2021 Forward 

2021 3.201 

2022 3.102 

2023 3.003 

2024 2.904 

2025 2.805 

2026 2.706 

2027 2.607 

2028 2.508 

2029 2.409 

2030 and each 

year thereafter 

2.310 

2. Allowances that have been transferred into the Virginia 

ECR account shall not be withdrawn. 

F. The adjustment for banked allowances shall be as 

follows. On March 15, 2021, the department will determine 

the third adjustment for banked allowances quantity for 

allocation years 2021 through 2025 through the application of 

the following formula:  
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TABA = ((TA – TAE)/5) x RS% 

Where:  

TABA is the adjustment for banked allowances quantity in 

tons.  

TA, adjustment, is the total quantity of allowances of 

vintage years prior to 2021 held in general and compliance 

accounts, including compliance accounts established 

pursuant to the CO2 Budget Trading Program but not 

including accounts opened by participating states, as 

reflected in the CO2 Allowance Tracking System on March 

15, 2021.  

TAE, adjustment emissions, is the total quantity of 2018, 

2019, and 2020 emissions from all CO2 budget sources in 

all participating states, reported pursuant to CO2 Budget 

Trading Program as reflected in the CO2 Allowance 

Tracking System on March 15, 2021.  

RS% is Virginia budget divided by the regional budget. 

G. CO2 Budget Trading Program adjusted budgets for 2021 

through 2025 shall be determined as follows. On April 15, 

2021, the department will determine the Virginia CO2 Budget 

Trading Program adjusted budgets for the 2021 through 2025 

allocation years by the following formula: 

AB = BB – TABA 

Where: 

AB is the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program adjusted 

budget.  

BB is the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program base 

budget.  

TABA is the adjustment for banked allowances quantity in 

tons. 

H. The department or its agent will publish the CO2 trading 

program adjusted budgets for the 2021 through 2025 

allocation years.  

I. Timing requirements for CO2 allowance allocations shall 

be as follows. 

1. By May 1, 2019, the department will submit to RGGI, 

Inc., the CO2 conditional allowance allocations, in a format 

prescribed by RGGI, Inc., and in accordance with 9VAC5-

140-6215 A and B, for the initial control period, 2020. 

2. By May 1, 2020, and May 1 of every third year 

thereafter, the department will submit to RGGI, Inc., the 

CO2 allowance allocations, in a format prescribed by 

RGGI, Inc., for the applicable control period, and in 

accordance with 9VAC5-140-6215 A and B. 

Version 2, 34 million ton base budget: 

A. The department will allocate 95% of the Virginia CO2 

Budget Trading Program base budget to CO2 budget sources 

to be consigned to auction to the Virginia Consignment 

Auction Account. 

B. The department will allocate 5.0% of the Virginia CO2 

Budget Trading Program base budget to DMME to be 

consigned to auction by the holder of a public contract with 

DMME to assist the department for the abatement and control 

of air pollution, specifically CO2. 

C. For allocation years 2020 through 2031, the Virginia CO2 

Budget Trading Program adjusted budget shall be the 

maximum number of allowances available for allocation in a 

given allocation year, except for CO2 CCR allowances. 

D. The cost containment reserve (CCR) allocation shall be 

managed as follows. The department will allocate CO2 CCR 

allowances, separate from and additional to the Virginia CO2 

Budget Trading Program base budget set forth in 9VAC5-

140-6190, to the Virginia Auction Account. The CCR 

allocation is for the purpose of containing the cost of CO2 

allowances. The department will allocate CO2 CCR 

allowances as follows. 

1. The department will initially allocate 3.4 million CO2 

CCR allowances for calendar year 2020. 

2. On or before January 1, 2021, and each year thereafter, 

the department will allocate current vintage year CCR 

allowances equal to the quantity in Table 140-5A, and 

withdraw the number of CO2 CCR allowances that remain 

in the Virginia Auction Account at the end of the prior 

calendar year. 

Table 140-5A 

CCR Allowances from 2021 Forward 

2021 3.298 

2022 3.196 

2023 3.094 

2024 2.992 

2025 2.890 

2026 2.788 

2027 2.686 

2028 2.584 

2029 2.482 

2030 and each 

year thereafter 

2.390 

E. Annual base budgets as described in subsections A and B 

of this section may be decreased in any year as necessary to 

account for transfers to the Virginia Emission Containment 

Reserve (ECR) account and adjustments for banked 

allowances. The department will convert and transfer any 

CO2 allowances that have been withheld from any auction in 
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the prior year into the Virginia ECR account. The ECR 

withholding is for the purpose of additional emission 

reduction in the event of lower than anticipated emission 

reduction costs. The department will withhold CO2 ECR 

allowances as follows: 

1. If the condition in 9VAC5-140-6420 D 1 is met at an 

auction, then the maximum number of CO2 ECR 

allowances that will be withheld from that auction will be 

equal to the quantity shown in Table 140-5B minus the 

total quantity of CO2 ECR allowances that have been 

withheld from any prior auction in that calendar year. Any 

CO2 ECR allowances withheld from an auction will be 

transferred into the Virginia ECR account. 

Table 140-5B 

ECR Allowances from 2021 Forward 

2021 3.298 

2022 3.196 

2023 3.094 

2024 2.992 

2025 2.890 

2026 2.788 

2027 2.686 

2028 2.584 

2029 2.482 

2030 and each year 

thereafter 

2.390 

2. Allowances that have been transferred into the Virginia 

ECR account shall not be withdrawn. 

F. The adjustment for banked allowances shall be as 

follows. On March 15, 2021, the department will determine 

the third adjustment for banked allowances quantity for 

allocation years 2021 through 2025 through the application of 

the following formula: 

TABA = ((TA – TAE)/5) x RS% 

Where:  

TABA is the adjustment for banked allowances quantity in 

tons.  

TA, adjustment, is the total quantity of allowances of 

vintage years prior to 2021 held in general and compliance 

accounts, including compliance accounts established 

pursuant to the CO2 Budget Trading Program but not 

including accounts opened by participating states, as 

reflected in the CO2 Allowance Tracking System on March 

15, 2021. 

TAE, adjustment emissions, is the total quantity of 2018, 

2019, and 2020 emissions from all CO2 budget sources in 

all participating states, reported pursuant to CO2 Budget 

Trading Program as reflected in the CO2 Allowance 

Tracking System on March 15, 2021. 

RS% is Virginia budget divided by the regional budget. 

G. CO2 Budget Trading Program adjusted budgets for 2021 

through 2025 shall be determined as follows. On April 15, 

2021, the department will determine the Virginia CO2 Budget 

Trading Program adjusted budgets for the 2021 through 2025 

allocation years by the following formula:  

AB = BB – TABA 

Where: 

AB is the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program adjusted 

budget. 

BB is the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program base 

budget. 

TABA is the adjustment for banked allowances quantity in 

tons. 

H. The department or its agent will publish the CO2 trading 

program adjusted budgets for the 2021 through 2025 

allocation years.  

I. Timing requirements for CO2 allowance allocations shall 

be as follows: 

1. By May 1, 2019, the department will submit to RGGI, 

Inc., the CO2 conditional allowance allocations, in a format 

prescribed by RGGI, Inc., and in accordance with 9VAC5-

140-6215 A and B, for the initial control period, 2020. 

2. By May 1, 2020, and May 1 of every third year 

thereafter, the department will submit to RGGI, Inc., the 

CO2 allowance allocations, in a format prescribed by 

RGGI, Inc., for the applicable control period, and in 

accordance with 9VAC5-140-6215 A and B. 

9VAC5-140-6215. CO2 allocation methodology. 

A. The net-electric output in MWh used with respect to CO2 

allowance allocations under subsection B of this section for 

each CO2 budget unit shall be: 

1. For units operating on or before January 1, 2020, the 

average of the three amounts of the unit's net-electric 

output during 2016, 2017, and 2018 to determine 

allocations for the initial control period. 

2. For all units operating in each control period after 2020, 

the average of the three amounts of the unit's total net-

electric output during the three most recent years for which 

data are available prior to the start of the control period. 

B. 1. For each control period beginning in 2020 and 

thereafter, the department will allocate to all CO2 budget units 
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that have a net-electric output, as determined under 

subsection A of this section, a total amount of CO2 

conditional allowances equal to the CO2 base budget. 

2. The department will allocate CO2 conditional 

allowances to each CO2 budget unit under subdivision 1 of 

this subsection in an amount determined by multiplying the 

total amount of CO2 allowances allocated under 

subdivision 1 of this subsection by the ratio of the baseline 

electrical output of such CO2 budget unit to the total 

amount of baseline electrical output of all such CO2 budget 

units and rounding to the nearest whole allowance as 

appropriate. 

3. New CO2 budget units will be allocated CO2 conditional 

allowances once they have established electrical output 

data to be used in the conditional allowance allocation 

process. 

C. For the purpose of the allocation process as described in 

subsections A and B of this section, CO2 budget units shall 

report the unit's net-electric output to the department on a 

yearly basis as follows: 

1. By March 1, 2019, each CO2 budget unit shall report 

yearly net-electric output data during 2016, 2017, and 

2018. 

2. By March 1, 2020, and each year thereafter, each CO2 

budget unit shall report yearly net-electric output data for 

the previous year. 

Article 6 

CO2 Allowance Tracking System 

9VAC5-140-6220. CO2 Allowance Tracking System 

accounts. 

A. Consistent with 9VAC5-140-6230 A, the department or 

its agent will establish one compliance account for each CO2 

budget source. Allocations of CO2 conditional allowances 

pursuant to Article 5 (9VAC5-140-6190 et seq.) of this part 

and deductions or transfers of CO2 conditional allowances 

pursuant to 9VAC5-140-6180, 9VAC5-140-6260, 9VAC5-

140-6280, or Article 7 (9VAC5-140-6300 et seq.) of this part 

will be recorded in the compliance accounts in accordance 

with this section. 

B. Consistent with 9VAC5-140-6230 B, the department or 

its agent will establish, upon request, a general account for 

any person. Transfers of CO2 allowances pursuant to Article 7 

(9VAC5-140-6300 et seq.) of this part will be recorded in the 

general account in accordance with this article. 

9VAC5-140-6230. Establishment of accounts. 

A. Upon receipt of a complete account certificate of 

representation under 9VAC5-140-6110, the department or its 

agent will establish a conditional allowance account and a 

compliance account for each CO2 budget source and a 

conditional compliance account for DMME for which the 

account certificate of representation was submitted. 

B. General accounts shall operate as follows. 

1. Any person may apply to open a general account for the 

purpose of holding and transferring CO2 allowances. An 

application for a general account may designate one and 

only one CO2 authorized account representative and one 

and only one alternate CO2 authorized account 

representative who may act on behalf of the CO2 

authorized account representative. The agreement by 

which the alternate CO2 authorized account representative 

is selected shall include a procedure for authorizing the 

alternate CO2 authorized account representative to act in 

lieu of the CO2 authorized account representative. A 

complete application for a general account shall be 

submitted to the department or its agent and shall include 

the following elements in a format prescribed by the 

department or its agent: 

a. Name, address, email address, telephone number, and 

facsimile transmission number of the CO2 authorized 

account representative and any alternate CO2 authorized 

account representative; 

b. At the option of the CO2 authorized account 

representative, organization name and type of 

organization; 

c. A list of all persons subject to a binding agreement for 

the CO2 authorized account representative or any 

alternate CO2 authorized account representative to 

represent their ownership interest with respect to the CO2 

allowances held in the general account; 

d. The following certification statement by the CO2 

authorized account representative and any alternate CO2 

authorized account representative: "I certify that I was 

selected as the CO2 authorized account representative or 

the CO2 alternate authorized account representative, as 

applicable, by an agreement that is binding on all persons 

who have an ownership interest with respect to CO2 

allowances held in the general account. I certify that I 

have all the necessary authority to carry out my duties 

and responsibilities under the CO2 Budget Trading 

Program on behalf of such persons and that each such 

person shall be fully bound by my representations, 

actions, inactions, or submissions and by any order or 

decision issued to me by the department or its agent or a 

court regarding the general account."; 

e. The signature of the CO2 authorized account 

representative and any alternate CO2 authorized account 

representative and the dates signed; and 

f. Unless otherwise required by the department or its 

agent, documents of agreement referred to in the 

application for a general account shall not be submitted 
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to the department or its agent. Neither the department nor 

its agent shall be under any obligation to review or 

evaluate the sufficiency of such documents, if submitted. 

2. Authorization of the CO2 authorized account 

representative shall be as follows: 

a. Upon receipt by the department or its agent of a 

complete application for a general account under 

subdivision 1 of this subsection: 

(1) The department or its agent will establish a general 

account for the person for whom the application is 

submitted. 

(2) The CO2 authorized account representative and any 

alternate CO2 authorized account representative for the 

general account shall represent and, by his 

representations, actions, inactions, or submissions, 

legally bind each person who has an ownership interest 

with respect to CO2 allowances held in the general 

account in all matters pertaining to the CO2 Budget 

Trading Program, notwithstanding any agreement 

between the CO2 authorized account representative or 

any alternate CO2 authorized account representative and 

such person. Any such person shall be bound by any 

order or decision issued to the CO2 authorized account 

representative or any alternate CO2 authorized account 

representative by the department or its agent or a court 

regarding the general account. 

(3) Any representation, action, inaction, or submission by 

any alternate CO2 authorized account representative shall 

be deemed to be a representation, action, inaction, or 

submission by the CO2 authorized account 

representative. 

b. Each submission concerning the general account shall 

be submitted, signed, and certified by the CO2 authorized 

account representative or any alternate CO2 authorized 

account representative for the persons having an 

ownership interest with respect to CO2 allowances held 

in the general account. Each such submission shall 

include the following certification statement by the CO2 

authorized account representative or any alternate CO2 

authorized account representative: "I am authorized to 

make this submission on behalf of the persons having an 

ownership interest with respect to the CO2 allowances 

held in the general account. I certify under penalty of law 

that I have personally examined, and am familiar with, 

the statements and information submitted in this 

document and all its attachments. Based on my inquiry of 

those individuals with primary responsibility for 

obtaining the information, I certify that the statements 

and information are to the best of my knowledge and 

belief true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there 

are significant penalties for submitting false statements 

and information or omitting required statements and 

information, including the possibility of fine or 

imprisonment." 

c. The department or its agent will accept or act on a 

submission concerning the general account only if the 

submission has been made, signed, and certified in 

accordance with subdivision 2 b of this subsection. 

3. Changing CO2 authorized account representative and 

alternate CO2 authorized account representative, and 

changes in persons with ownership interest, shall be 

accomplished as follows: 

a. The CO2 authorized account representative for a 

general account may be changed at any time upon receipt 

by the department or its agent of a superseding complete 

application for a general account under subdivision 1 of 

this subsection. Notwithstanding any such change, all 

representations, actions, inactions, and submissions by 

the previous CO2 authorized account representative, or 

the previous alternate CO2 authorized account 

representative, prior to the time and date when the 

department or its agent receives the superseding 

application for a general account shall be binding on the 

new CO2 authorized account representative and the 

persons with an ownership interest with respect to the 

CO2 allowances in the general account. 

b. The alternate CO2 authorized account representative 

for a general account may be changed at any time upon 

receipt by the department or its agent of a superseding 

complete application for a general account under 

subdivision 1 of this subsection. Notwithstanding any 

such change, all representations, actions, inactions, and 

submissions by the previous CO2 authorized account 

representative, or the previous alternate CO2 authorized 

account representative, prior to the time and date when 

the department or its agent receives the superseding 

application for a general account shall be binding on the 

new alternate CO2 authorized account representative and 

the persons with an ownership interest with respect to the 

CO2 allowances in the general account. 

c. In the event a new person having an ownership interest 

with respect to CO2 allowances in the general account is 

not included in the list of such persons in the application 

for a general account, such new person shall be deemed 

to be subject to and bound by the application for a 

general account, the representations, actions, inactions, 

and submissions of the CO2 authorized account 

representative and any alternate CO2 authorized account 

representative, and the decisions, orders, actions, and 

inactions of the department or its agent, as if the new 

person were included in such list. 

d. Within 30 days following any change in the persons 

having an ownership interest with respect to CO2 

allowances in the general account, including the addition 
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or deletion of persons, the CO2 authorized account 

representative or any alternate CO2 authorized account 

representative shall submit a revision to the application 

for a general account amending the list of persons having 

an ownership interest with respect to the CO2 allowances 

in the general account to include the change. 

4. Objections concerning CO2 authorized account 

representative shall be governed as follows: 

a. Once a complete application for a general account 

under subdivision 1 of this subsection has been submitted 

and received, the department or its agent will rely on the 

application unless and until a superseding complete 

application for a general account under subdivision 1 of 

this subsection is received by the department or its agent. 

b. Except as provided in subdivisions 3 a and 3 b of this 

subsection, no objection or other communication 

submitted to the department or its agent concerning the 

authorization, or any representation, action, inaction, or 

submission of the CO2 authorized account representative 

or any alternate CO2 authorized account representative 

for a general account shall affect any representation, 

action, inaction, or submission of the CO2 authorized 

account representative or any alternate CO2 authorized 

account representative or the finality of any decision or 

order by the department or its agent under the CO2 

Budget Trading Program. 

c. Neither the department nor its agent will adjudicate 

any private legal dispute concerning the authorization or 

any representation, action, inaction, or submission of the 

CO2 authorized account representative or any alternate 

CO2 authorized account representative for a general 

account, including private legal disputes concerning the 

proceeds of CO2 allowance transfers. 

5. Delegation by CO2 authorized account representative 

and alternate CO2 authorized account representative shall 

be accomplished as follows: 

a. A CO2 authorized account representative may 

delegate, to one or more natural persons, his authority to 

make an electronic submission to the department or its 

agent provided for under this article and Article 7 

(9VAC5-140-6300 et seq.) of this part. 

b. An alternate CO2 authorized account representative 

may delegate, to one or more natural persons, his 

authority to make an electronic submission to the 

department or its agent provided for under this article and 

Article 7 (9VAC5-140-6300 et seq.) of this part. 

c. To delegate authority to make an electronic submission 

to the department or its agent in accordance with 

subdivisions 5 a and 5 b of this subsection, the CO2 

authorized account representative or alternate CO2 

authorized account representative, as appropriate, shall 

submit to the department or its agent a notice of 

delegation, in a format prescribed by the department that 

includes the following elements: 

(1) The name, address, email address, telephone number, 

and facsimile transmission number of such CO2 

authorized account representative or alternate CO2 

authorized account representative; 

(2) The name, address, email address, telephone number, 

and facsimile transmission number of each such natural 

person, referred to as "electronic submission agent"; 

(3) For each such natural person, a list of the type of 

electronic submissions under subdivision 5 c (1) or 5 c 

(2) of this subsection for which authority is delegated to 

him; and 

(4) The following certification statement by such CO2 

authorized account representative or alternate CO2 

authorized account representative: "I agree that any 

electronic submission to the department or its agent that 

is by a natural person identified in this notice of 

delegation and of a type listed for such electronic 

submission agent in this notice of delegation and that is 

made when I am a CO2 authorized account representative 

or alternate CO2 authorized account representative, as 

appropriate, and before this notice of delegation is 

superseded by another notice of delegation under 

9VAC5-140-6230 B 5 d shall be deemed to be an 

electronic submission by me. Until this notice of 

delegation is superseded by another notice of delegation 

under 9VAC5-140-6230 B 5 d, I agree to maintain an 

email account and to notify the department or its agent 

immediately of any change in my email address unless 

all delegation authority by me under 9VAC5-140-6230 B 

5 is terminated." 

d. A notice of delegation submitted under subdivision 5 c 

of this subsection shall be effective, with regard to the 

CO2 authorized account representative or alternate CO2 

authorized account representative identified in such 

notice, upon receipt of such notice by the department or 

its agent and until receipt by the department or its agent 

of a superseding notice of delegation by such CO2 

authorized account representative or alternate CO2 

authorized account representative as appropriate. The 

superseding notice of delegation may replace any 

previously identified electronic submission agent, add a 

new electronic submission agent, or eliminate entirely 

any delegation of authority. 

e. Any electronic submission covered by the certification 

in subdivision 5 c (4) of this subsection and made in 

accordance with a notice of delegation effective under 

subdivision 5 d of this subsection shall be deemed to be 

an electronic submission by the CO2 authorized account 
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representative or alternate CO2 authorized account 

representative submitting such notice of delegation. 

C. The department or its agent will assign a unique 

identifying number to each account established under 

subsection A or B of this section. 

9VAC5-140-6240. CO2 Allowance Tracking System 

responsibilities of CO2 authorized account representative. 

Following the establishment of a COATS account, all 

submissions to the department or its agent pertaining to the 

account, including submissions concerning the deduction or 

transfer of CO2 allowances in the account, shall be made only 

by the CO2 authorized account representative for the account. 

9VAC5-140-6250. Recordation of CO2 allowance 

allocations. 

A. By January 1 of each calendar year, the department or its 

agent will record in the following accounts: 

1. In each CO2 budget source's and DMME's conditional 

allowance account, the CO2 conditional allowances 

allocated to those sources and DMME by the department 

prior to being consigned to auction; and  

2. In each CO2 budget source's compliance account, the 

CO2 allowances purchased at auction by CO2 budget units 

at the source under 9VAC5-140-6210 A.  

B. Each year the department or its agent will record CO2 

allowances, as allocated to the unit under Article 5 (9VAC5-

140-6190 et seq.) of this part, in the compliance account for 

the year after the last year for which CO2 allowances were 

previously allocated to the compliance account. Each year, 

the department or its agent will also record CO2 allowances, 

as allocated under Article 5 (9VAC5-140-6190 et seq.) of this 

part, in an allocation set-aside for the year after the last year 

for which CO2 allowances were previously allocated to an 

allocation set-aside.  

C. Serial numbers for allocated CO2 allowances shall be 

managed as follows. When allocating CO2 allowances to and 

recording them in an account, the department or its agent will 

assign each CO2 allowance a unique identification number 

that will include digits identifying the year for which the CO2 

allowance is allocated. 

9VAC5-140-6260. Compliance. 

A. CO2 allowances that meet the following criteria are 

available to be deducted for a CO2 budget source to comply 

with the CO2 requirements of 9VAC5-140-6050 C for a 

control period or an interim control period. 

1. The CO2 allowances are of allocation years that fall 

within a prior control period, the same control period, or 

the same interim control period for which the allowances 

will be deducted. 

2. The CO2 allowances are held in the CO2 budget source's 

compliance account as of the CO2 allowance transfer 

deadline for that control period or interim control period or 

are transferred into the compliance account by a CO2 

allowance transfer correctly submitted for recordation 

under 9VAC5-140-6300 by the CO2 allowance transfer 

deadline for that control period or interim control period. 

3. The CO2 allowances are not necessary for deductions for 

excess emissions for a prior control period under 

subsection D of this section. 

B. Following the recordation, in accordance with 9VAC5-

140-6310, of CO2 allowance transfers submitted for 

recordation in the CO2 budget source's compliance account by 

the CO2 allowance transfer deadline for a control period or 

interim control period, the department or its agent will deduct 

CO2 allowances available under subsection A of this section 

to cover the source's CO2 emissions, as determined in 

accordance with Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this 

part, for the control period or interim control period, as 

follows: 

1. Until the amount of CO2 allowances deducted equals the 

number of tons of total CO2 emissions, or 0.50 times the 

number of tons of total CO2 emissions for an interim 

control period, determined in accordance with Article 8 

(9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part, from all CO2 

budget units at the CO2 budget source for the control 

period or interim control period; or 

2. If there are insufficient CO2 allowances to complete the 

deductions in subdivision 1 of this subsection, until no 

more CO2 allowances available under subsection A of this 

section remain in the compliance account. 

C. Identification of available CO2 allowances by serial 

number and default compliance deductions shall be managed 

as follows: 

1. The CO2 authorized account representative for a source's 

compliance account may request that specific CO2 

allowances, identified by serial number, in the compliance 

account be deducted for emissions or excess emissions for 

a control period or interim control period in accordance 

with subsection B or D of this section. Such identification 

shall be made in the compliance certification report 

submitted in accordance with 9VAC5-140-6170. 

2. The department or its agent will deduct CO2 allowances 

for a control period from the CO2 budget source's 

compliance account, in the absence of an identification or 

in the case of a partial identification of available CO2 

allowances by serial number under subdivision 1 of this 

subsection, as follows: Any CO2 allowances that are 

available for deduction under subdivision 1 of this 

subsection. CO2 allowances shall be deducted in 

chronological order (i.e., CO2 allowances from earlier 

allocation years shall be deducted before CO2 allowances 
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from later allocation years). In the event that some, but not 

all, CO2 allowances from a particular allocation year are to 

be deducted, CO2 allowances shall be deducted by serial 

number, with lower serial number allowances deducted 

before higher serial number allowances. 

D. Deductions for excess emissions shall be managed as 

follows. 

1. After making the deductions for compliance under 

subsection B of this section, the department or its agent 

will deduct from the CO2 budget source's compliance 

account a number of CO2 allowances equal to three times 

the number of the source's excess emissions. In the event 

that a source has insufficient CO2 allowances to cover 

three times the number of the source's excess emissions, 

the source shall be required to immediately transfer 

sufficient allowances into its compliance account. 

2. Any CO2 allowance deduction required under 

subdivision 1 of this subsection shall not affect the liability 

of the owners and operators of the CO2 budget source or 

the CO2 budget units at the source for any fine, penalty, or 

assessment, or their obligation to comply with any other 

remedy, for the same violation, as ordered under applicable 

state law. The following guidelines will be followed in 

assessing fines, penalties, or other obligations: 

a. For purposes of determining the number of days of 

violation, if a CO2 budget source has excess emissions 

for a control period, each day in the control period 

constitutes a day in violation unless the owners and 

operators of the unit demonstrate that a lesser number of 

days should be considered. 

b. Each ton of excess emissions is a separate violation. 

c. For purposes of determining the number of days of 

violation, if a CO2 budget source has excess interim 

emissions for an interim control period, each day in the 

interim control period constitutes a day in violation 

unless the owners and operators of the unit demonstrate 

that a lesser number of days should be considered. 

d. Each ton of excess interim emissions is a separate 

violation. 

3. The propriety of the department's determination that a 

CO2 budget source had excess emissions and the 

concomitant deduction of CO2 allowances from that CO2 

budget source's account may be later challenged in the 

context of the initial administrative enforcement, or any 

civil or criminal judicial action arising from or 

encompassing that excess emissions violation. The 

commencement or pendency of any administrative 

enforcement, or civil or criminal judicial action arising 

from or encompassing that excess emissions violation will 

not act to prevent the department or its agent from initially 

deducting the CO2 allowances resulting from the 

department's original determination that the relevant CO2 

budget source has had excess emissions. Should the 

department's determination of the existence or extent of the 

CO2 budget source's excess emissions be revised either by 

a settlement or final conclusion of any administrative or 

judicial action, the department will act as follows: 

a. In any instance where the department's determination 

of the extent of excess emissions was too low, the 

department will take further action under subdivisions 1 

and 2 of this subsection to address the expanded 

violation. 

b. In any instance where the department's determination 

of the extent of excess emissions was too high, the 

department will distribute to the relevant CO2 budget 

source a number of CO2 allowances equaling the number 

of CO2 allowances deducted which are attributable to the 

difference between the original and final quantity of 

excess emissions. Should such CO2 budget source's 

compliance account no longer exist, the CO2 allowances 

will be provided to a general account selected by the 

owner or operator of the CO2 budget source from which 

they were originally deducted. 

E. The department or its agent will record in the appropriate 

compliance account all deductions from such an account 

pursuant to subsections B and D of this section. 

F. Action by the department on submissions shall be as 

follows: 

1. The department may review and conduct independent 

audits concerning any submission under the CO2 Budget 

Trading Program and make appropriate adjustments of the 

information in the submissions. 

2. The department may deduct CO2 allowances from or 

transfer CO2 allowances to a source's compliance account 

based on information in the submissions, as adjusted under 

subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

9VAC5-140-6270. Banking. 

Each CO2 allowance that is held in a compliance account or 

a general account will remain in such account unless and until 

the CO2 allowance is deducted or transferred under 9VAC5-

140-6180, 9VAC5-140-6260, 9VAC5-140-6280, or Article 7 

(9VAC5-140-6300 et seq.) of this part. 

9VAC5-140-6280. Account error. 

The department or its agent may, at its sole discretion and on 

its own motion, correct any error in any COATS account. 

Within 10 business days of making such correction, the 

department or its agent will notify the CO2 authorized account 

representative for the account. 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 8, 2018 

953 

9VAC5-140-6290. Closing of general accounts. 

A. A CO2 authorized account representative of a general 

account may instruct the department or its agent to close the 

account by submitting a statement requesting deletion of the 

account from the COATS and by correctly submitting for 

recordation under 9VAC5-140-6300 a CO2 allowance transfer 

of all CO2 allowances in the account to one or more other 

COATS accounts. 

B. If a general account shows no activity for a period of one 

year or more and does not contain any CO2 allowances, the 

department or its agent may notify the CO2 authorized 

account representative for the account that the account will be 

closed in the COATS 30 business days after the notice is sent. 

The account will be closed after the 30-day period unless 

before the end of the 30-day period the department or its 

agent receives a correctly submitted transfer of CO2 

allowances into the account under 9VAC5-140-6300 or a 

statement submitted by the CO2 authorized account 

representative demonstrating to the satisfaction of the 

department or its agent good cause as to why the account 

should not be closed. The department or its agent will have 

sole discretion to determine if the owner or operator of the 

unit demonstrated that the account should not be closed. 

Article 7 

CO2 Allowance Transfers 

9VAC5-140-6300. Submission of CO2 allowance transfers. 

The CO2 authorized account representatives seeking 

recordation of a CO2 allowance transfer shall submit the 

transfer to the department or its agent. To be considered 

correctly submitted, the CO2 allowance transfer shall include 

the following elements in a format specified by the 

department or its agent:  

1. The numbers identifying both the transferor and 

transferee accounts;  

2. A specification by serial number of each CO2 

allowance to be transferred;  

3. The printed name and signature of the CO2 authorized 

account representative of the transferor account and the 

date signed;  

4. The date of the completion of the last sale or purchase 

transaction for the allowance, if any; and 

5. The purchase or sale price of the allowance that is the 

subject of a sale or purchase transaction under 

subdivision 4 of this section. 

9VAC5-140-6310. Recordation. 

A. Within five business days of receiving a CO2 allowance 

transfer, except as provided in subsection B of this section, 

the department or its agent will record a CO2 allowance 

transfer by moving each CO2 allowance from the transferor 

account to the transferee account as specified by the request, 

provided that: 

1. The transfer is correctly submitted under 9VAC5-140-

6300; and  

2. The transferor account includes each CO2 allowance 

identified by serial number in the transfer.  

B. A CO2 allowance transfer into or out of a compliance 

account that is submitted for recordation following the CO2 

allowance transfer deadline and that includes any CO2 

allowances that are of allocation years that fall within a 

control period prior to or the same as the control period to 

which the CO2 allowance transfer deadline applies will not be 

recorded until after completion of the process pursuant to 

9VAC5-140-6260 B.  

C. Where a CO2 allowance transfer submitted for 

recordation fails to meet the requirements of subsection A of 

this section, the department or its agent will not record such 

transfer. 

9VAC5-140-6320. Notification. 

A. Within five business days of recordation of a CO2 

allowance transfer under 9VAC5-140-6310, the department 

or its agent will notify each party to the transfer. Notice will 

be given to the CO2 authorized account representatives of 

both the transferor and transferee accounts. 

B. Within 10 business days of receipt of a CO2 allowance 

transfer that fails to meet the requirements of 9VAC5-140-

6310 A, the department or its agent will notify the CO2 

authorized account representatives of both accounts subject to 

the transfer of (i) a decision not to record the transfer and (ii) 

the reasons for such nonrecordation.  

C. Nothing in this section shall preclude the submission of a 

CO2 allowance transfer for recordation following notification 

of nonrecordation. 

Article 8 

Monitoring, Reporting, and Recordkeeping 

9VAC5-140-6330. General requirements. 

A. The owners and operators, and to the extent applicable, 

the CO2 authorized account representative of a CO2 budget 

unit shall comply with the monitoring, recordkeeping, and 

reporting requirements as provided in this section and all 

applicable sections of 40 CFR Part 75. Where referenced in 

this article, the monitoring requirements of 40 CFR Part 75 

shall be adhered to in a manner consistent with the purpose of 

monitoring and reporting CO2 mass emissions pursuant to this 

part. For purposes of complying with such requirements, the 

definitions in 9VAC5-140-6020 and in 40 CFR 72.2 shall 

apply, and the terms "affected unit," "designated 

representative," and "CEMS" in 40 CFR Part 75 shall be 

replaced by the terms "CO2 budget unit," "CO2 authorized 

account representative," and "CEMS," respectively, as 
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defined in 9VAC5-140-6020. For units not subject to an acid 

rain emissions limitation, the term "administrator" in 40 CFR 

Part 75 shall be replaced with "the department or its agent." 

Owners or operators of a CO2 budget unit who monitor a non-

CO2 budget unit pursuant to the common, multiple, or bypass 

stack procedures in 40 CFR 75.72(b)(2)(ii), or 40 CFR 75.16 

(b)(2)(ii)(B) pursuant to 40 CFR 75.13, for purposes of 

complying with this part, shall monitor and report CO2 mass 

emissions from such non-CO2 budget unit according to the 

procedures for CO2 budget units established in this article. 

B. The owner or operator of each CO2 budget unit shall meet 

the following general requirements for installation, 

certification, and data accounting. 

1. Install all monitoring systems necessary to monitor CO2 

mass emissions in accordance with 40 CFR Part 75, except 

for equation G-1. Equation G-1 in Appendix G shall not be 

used to determine CO2 emissions under this part. This may 

require systems to monitor CO2 concentration, stack gas 

flow rate, O2 concentration, heat input, and fuel flow rate. 

2. Successfully complete all certification tests required 

under 9VAC5-140-6340 and meet all other requirements of 

this section and 40 CFR Part 75 applicable to the 

monitoring systems under subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

3. Record, report, and quality-assure the data from the 

monitoring systems under subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

C. The owner or operator shall meet the monitoring system 

certification and other requirements of subsection B of this 

section on or before the following dates. The owner or 

operator shall record, report, and quality-assure the data from 

the monitoring systems under subdivision B 1 of this section 

on and after the following dates: 

1. The owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit, except for a 

CO2 budget unit under subdivision 2 of this subsection, 

shall comply with the requirements of this section by 

January 1, 2020. 

2. The owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit that 

commences commercial operation July 1, 2020, shall 

comply with the requirements of this section by (i) January 

1, 2021, or (ii) the earlier of 90 unit operating days after 

the date on which the unit commences commercial 

operation, or 180 calendar days after the date on which the 

unit commences commercial operation. 

3. For the owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit for 

which construction of a new stack or flue installation is 

completed after the applicable deadline under subdivision 

1 or 2 of this subsection by the earlier of (i) 90 unit 

operating days after the date on which emissions first exit 

to the atmosphere through the new stack or flue or (ii) 180 

calendar days after the date on which emissions first exit to 

the atmosphere through the new stack or flue. 

D. Data shall be reported as follows: 

1. Except as provided in subdivision 2 of this subsection, 

the owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit that does not 

meet the applicable compliance date set forth in subsection 

C of this section for any monitoring system under 

subdivision B 1 of this section shall, for each such 

monitoring system, determine, record, and report 

maximum potential, or as appropriate minimum potential, 

values for CO2 concentration, CO2 emissions rate, stack 

gas moisture content, fuel flow rate, heat input, and any 

other parameter required to determine CO2 mass emissions 

in accordance with 40 CFR 75.31(b)(2) or (c)(3) or Section 

2.4 of Appendix D of 40 CFR Part 75 as applicable. 

2. The owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit that does 

not meet the applicable compliance date set forth in 

subdivision C 3 of this section for any monitoring system 

under subdivision B 1 of this section shall, for each such 

monitoring system, determine, record, and report substitute 

data using the applicable missing data procedures in 

Subpart D, or Appendix D of 40 CFR Part 75, in lieu of the 

maximum potential, or as appropriate minimum potential, 

values for a parameter if the owner or operator 

demonstrates that there is continuity between the data 

streams for that parameter before and after the construction 

or installation under subdivision C 3 of this section. 

a. CO2 budget units subject to an acid rain emissions 

limitation or CSAPR NOX Ozone Season Trading 

Program that qualify for the optional SO2, NOX, and CO2 

(for acid rain) or NOX (for CSAPR NOX Ozone Season 

Trading Program) emissions calculations for low mass 

emissions (LME) units under 40 CFR 75.19 and report 

emissions for such programs using the calculations under 

40 CFR 75.19, shall also use the CO2 emissions 

calculations for LME units under 40 CFR 75.19 for 

purposes of compliance with these regulations. 

b. CO2 budget units subject to an acid rain emissions 

limitation that do not qualify for the optional SO2, NOX, 

and CO2 (for acid rain) or NOX (for CSAPR NOX Ozone 

Season Trading Program) emissions calculations for 

LME units under 40 CFR 75.19 shall not use the CO2 

emissions calculations for LME units under 40 CFR 

75.19 for purposes of compliance with these regulations. 

c. CO2 budget units not subject to an acid rain emissions 

limitation shall qualify for the optional CO2 emissions 

calculation for LME units under 40 CFR 75.19, provided 

that they emit less than 100 tons of NOX annually and no 

more than 25 tons of SO2 annually. 

3. The owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit shall report 

net-electric output data to the department as required by 

Article 5 (9VAC5-140-6190 et seq.) of this part. 
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E. Prohibitions shall be as follows. 

1. No owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit shall use any 

alternative monitoring system, alternative reference 

method, or any other alternative for the required CEMS 

without having obtained prior written approval in 

accordance with 9VAC5-140-6380. 

2. No owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit shall operate 

the unit so as to discharge, or allow to be discharged, CO2 

emissions to the atmosphere without accounting for all 

such emissions in accordance with the applicable 

provisions of this article and 40 CFR Part 75. 

3. No owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit shall disrupt 

the CEMS, any portion thereof, or any other approved 

emissions monitoring method, and thereby avoid 

monitoring and recording CO2 mass emissions discharged 

into the atmosphere, except for periods of recertification or 

periods when calibration, quality assurance testing, or 

maintenance is performed in accordance with the 

applicable provisions of this article and 40 CFR Part 75. 

4. No owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit shall retire or 

permanently discontinue use of the CEMS, any component 

thereof, or any other approved emissions monitoring 

system under this article, except under any one of the 

following circumstances: 

a. The owner or operator is monitoring emissions from 

the unit with another certified monitoring system 

approved, in accordance with the applicable provisions of 

this article and 40 CFR Part 75, by the department for use 

at that unit that provides emissions data for the same 

pollutant or parameter as the retired or discontinued 

monitoring system; or 

b. The CO2 authorized account representative submits 

notification of the date of certification testing of a 

replacement monitoring system in accordance with 

9VAC5-140-6340 D 3 a. 

9VAC5-140-6340. Initial certification and recertification 

procedures. 

A. The owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit shall be 

exempt from the initial certification requirements of this 

section for a monitoring system under 9VAC5-140-6330 B 1 

if the following conditions are met: 

1. The monitoring system has been previously certified in 

accordance with 40 CFR Part 75; and  

2. The applicable quality-assurance and quality-control 

requirements of 40 CFR 75.21 and Appendix B and 

Appendix D of 40 CFR Part 75 are fully met for the 

certified monitoring system described in subdivision 1 of 

this subsection. 

B. The recertification provisions of this section shall apply 

to a monitoring system under 9VAC5-140-6330 B 1 exempt 

from initial certification requirements under subsection A of 

this section. 

C. Notwithstanding subsection A of this section, if the 

administrator has previously approved a petition under 40 

CFR 75.72(b)(2)(ii), or 40 CFR 75.16(b)(2)(ii)(B) as pursuant 

to 40 CFR 75.13 for apportioning the CO2 emissions rate 

measured in a common stack or a petition under 40 CFR 

75.66 for an alternative requirement in 40 CFR Part 75, the 

CO2 authorized account representative shall submit the 

petition to the department under 9VAC5-140-6380 A to 

determine whether the approval applies under this program. 

D. Except as provided in subsection A of this section, the 

owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit shall comply with the 

following initial certification and recertification procedures 

for a CEMS and an excepted monitoring system under 

Appendix D of 40 CFR Part 75 and under 9VAC5-140-6330 

B 1. The owner or operator of a unit that qualifies to use the 

low mass emissions excepted monitoring methodology in 40 

CFR 75.19 or that qualifies to use an alternative monitoring 

system under Subpart E of 40 CFR Part 75 shall comply with 

the procedures in subsection E or F of this section, 

respectively. 

1. For initial certification, the owner or operator shall 

ensure that each CEMS required under 9VAC5-140-6330 

B 1, which includes the automated DAHS, successfully 

completes all of the initial certification testing required 

under 40 CFR 75.20 by the applicable deadlines specified 

in 9VAC5-140-6330 C. In addition, whenever the owner or 

operator installs a monitoring system to meet the 

requirements of this article in a location where no such 

monitoring system was previously installed, initial 

certification in accordance with 40 CFR 75.20 is required. 

2. For recertification, the following requirements shall 

apply. 

a. Whenever the owner or operator makes a replacement, 

modification, or change in a certified CEMS under 

9VAC5-140-6330 B 1 that the administrator or the 

department determines significantly affects the ability of 

the system to accurately measure or record CO2 mass 

emissions or to meet the quality-assurance and quality-

control requirements of 40 CFR 75.21 or Appendix B to 

40 CFR Part 75, the owner or operator shall recertify the 

monitoring system according to 40 CFR 75.20(b). 

b. For systems using stack measurements such as stack 

flow, stack moisture content, CO2 or O2 monitors, 

whenever the owner or operator makes a replacement, 

modification, or change to the flue gas handling system 

or the unit's operation that the administrator or the 

department determines to significantly change the flow 

or concentration profile, the owner or operator shall 

recertify the CEMS according to 40 CFR 75.20(b). 

Examples of changes that require recertification include 
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replacement of the analyzer, change in location or 

orientation of the sampling probe or site, or change of 

flow rate monitor polynomial coefficients. 

3. The approval process for initial certifications and 

recertification shall be as follows: Subdivisions 3 a through 

3 d of this subsection apply to both initial certification and 

recertification of a monitoring system under 9VAC5-140-

6330 B 1. For recertifications, replace the words 

"certification" and "initial certification" with the word 

"recertification," replace the word "certified" with 

"recertified," and proceed in the manner prescribed in 40 

CFR 75.20(b)(5) and (g)(7) in lieu of subdivision 3 e of 

this subsection. 

a. The CO2 authorized account representative shall 

submit to the department or its agent, the appropriate 

EPA Regional Office and the administrator a written 

notice of the dates of certification in accordance with 

9VAC5-140-6360. 

b. The CO2 authorized account representative shall 

submit to the department or its agent a certification 

application for each monitoring system. A complete 

certification application shall include the information 

specified in 40 CFR 75.63. 

c. The provisional certification date for a monitor shall be 

determined in accordance with 40 CFR 75.20(a)(3). A 

provisionally certified monitor may be used under the 

CO2 Budget Trading Program for a period not to exceed 

120 days after receipt by the department of the complete 

certification application for the monitoring system or 

component thereof under subdivision 3 b of this 

subsection. Data measured and recorded by the 

provisionally certified monitoring system or component 

thereof, in accordance with the requirements of 40 CFR 

Part 75, will be considered valid quality-assured data, 

retroactive to the date and time of provisional 

certification, provided that the department does not 

invalidate the provisional certification by issuing a notice 

of disapproval within 120 days of receipt of the complete 

certification application by the department. 

d. The department will issue a written notice of approval 

or disapproval of the certification application to the 

owner or operator within 120 days of receipt of the 

complete certification application under subdivision 3 b 

of this subsection. In the event the department does not 

issue such a notice within such 120-day period, each 

monitoring system that meets the applicable performance 

requirements of 40 CFR Part 75 and is included in the 

certification application will be deemed certified for use 

under the CO2 Budget Trading Program. 

(1) If the certification application is complete and shows 

that each monitoring system meets the applicable 

performance requirements of 40 CFR Part 75, then the 

department will issue a written notice of approval of the 

certification application within 120 days of receipt. 

(2) If the certification application is incomplete, then the 

department will issue a written notice of incompleteness 

that sets a reasonable date by which the CO2 authorized 

account representative shall submit the additional 

information required to complete the certification 

application. If the CO2 authorized account representative 

does not comply with the notice of incompleteness by the 

specified date, then the department may issue a notice of 

disapproval under subdivision 3 d (3) of this subsection. 

The 120-day review period shall not begin before receipt 

of a complete certification application. 

(3) If the certification application shows that any 

monitoring system or component thereof does not meet 

the performance requirements of 40 CFR Part 75, or if 

the certification application is incomplete and the 

requirement for disapproval under subdivision 3 d (2) of 

this subsection is met, then the department will issue a 

written notice of disapproval of the certification 

application. Upon issuance of such notice of disapproval, 

the provisional certification is invalidated by the 

department and the data measured and recorded by each 

uncertified monitoring system or component thereof shall 

not be considered valid quality assured data beginning 

with the date and hour of provisional certification. The 

owner or operator shall follow the procedures for loss of 

certification in subdivision 3 e of this subsection for each 

monitoring system or component thereof, which is 

disapproved for initial certification. 

(4) The department may issue a notice of disapproval of 

the certification status of a monitor in accordance with 

9VAC5-140-6350 B. 

e. If the department issues a notice of disapproval of a 

certification application under subdivision 3 d (3) of this 

subsection or a notice of disapproval of certification 

status under subdivision 3 d (3) of this subsection, then: 

(1) The owner or operator shall substitute the following 

values for each disapproved monitoring system, for each 

hour of unit operation during the period of invalid data 

beginning with the date and hour of provisional 

certification and continuing until the time, date, and hour 

specified under 40 CFR 75.20(a)(5)(i) or 40 CFR 

75.20(g)(7): (i) for units using or intending to monitor for 

CO2 mass emissions using heat input or for units using 

the low mass emissions excepted methodology under 40 

CFR 75.19, the maximum potential hourly heat input of 

the unit; or (ii) for units intending to monitor for CO2 

mass emissions using a CO2 pollutant concentration 

monitor and a flow monitor, the maximum potential 

concentration of CO2 and the maximum potential flow 

rate of the unit under Section 2.1 of Appendix A of 

40 CFR Part 75. 
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(2) The CO2 authorized account representative shall 

submit a notification of certification retest dates and a 

new certification application in accordance with 

subdivisions 3 a and 3 b of this subsection; and 

(3) The owner or operator shall repeat all certification 

tests or other requirements that were failed by the 

monitoring system, as indicated in the department's 

notice of disapproval, no later than 30 unit operating days 

after the date of issuance of the notice of disapproval. 

E. The owner or operator of a unit qualified to use the low 

mass emissions excepted methodology under 9VAC5-140-

6330 D 3 shall meet the applicable certification and 

recertification requirements of 40 CFR 75.19(a)(2), 40 CFR 

75.20(h), and this section. If the owner or operator of such a 

unit elects to certify a fuel flow meter system for heat input 

determinations, the owner or operator shall also meet the 

certification and recertification requirements in 40 CFR 

75.20(g). 

F. The CO2 authorized account of each unit for which the 

owner or operator intends to use an alternative monitoring 

system approved by the administrator and, if applicable, the 

department under Subpart E of 40 CFR Part 75 shall comply 

with the applicable notification and application procedures of 

40 CFR 75.20(f). 

9VAC5-140-6350. Out-of-control periods. 

A. Whenever any monitoring system fails to meet the 

quality assurance/quality control (QA/QC) requirements or 

data validation requirements of 40 CFR Part 75, data shall be 

substituted using the applicable procedures in Subpart D or 

Appendix D of 40 CFR Part 75.  

B. Whenever both an audit of a monitoring system and a 

review of the initial certification or recertification application 

reveal that any monitoring system should not have been 

certified or recertified because it did not meet a particular 

performance specification or other requirement under 

9VAC5-140-6340 or the applicable provisions of 40 CFR 

Part 75, both at the time of the initial certification or 

recertification application submission and at the time of the 

audit, the department or administrator will issue a notice of 

disapproval of the certification status of such monitoring 

system. For the purposes of this subsection, an audit shall be 

either a field audit or an audit of any information submitted to 

the department or the administrator. By issuing the notice of 

disapproval, the department or administrator revokes 

prospectively the certification status of the monitoring 

system. The data measured and recorded by the monitoring 

system shall not be considered valid quality-assured data 

from the date of issuance of the notification of the revoked 

certification status until the date and time that the owner or 

operator completes subsequently approved initial certification 

or recertification tests for the monitoring system. The owner 

or operator shall follow the initial certification or 

recertification procedures in 9VAC5-140-6340 for each 

disapproved monitoring system. 

9VAC5-140-6360. Notifications. 

The CO2 authorized account representative for a CO2 budget 

unit shall submit written notice to the department and the 

administrator in accordance with 40 CFR 75.61. 

9VAC5-140-6370. Recordkeeping and reporting. 

A. The CO2 authorized account representative shall comply 

with all recordkeeping and reporting requirements in this 

section, the applicable recordkeeping and reporting 

requirements under 40 CFR 75.73, and the requirements of 

9VAC5-140-6080 E. 

B. The owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit shall submit 

a monitoring plan in the manner prescribed in 40 CFR 75.62. 

C. The CO2 authorized account representative shall submit 

an application to the department within 45 days after 

completing all CO2 monitoring system initial certification or 

recertification tests required under 9VAC5-140-6340, 

including the information required under 40 CFR 75.63 and 

40 CFR 75.53(e) and (f). 

D. The CO2 authorized account representative shall submit 

quarterly reports, as follows: 

1. The CO2 authorized account representative shall report 

the CO2 mass emissions data for the CO2 budget unit, in an 

electronic format prescribed by the department unless 

otherwise prescribed by the department for each calendar 

quarter. 

2. The CO2 authorized account representative shall submit 

each quarterly report to the department or its agent within 

30 days following the end of the calendar quarter covered 

by the report. Quarterly reports shall be submitted in the 

manner specified in Subpart H of 40 CFR Part 75 and 

40 CFR 75.64. Quarterly reports shall be submitted for 

each CO2 budget unit, or group of units using a common 

stack, and shall include all of the data and information 

required in Subpart G of 40 CFR Part 75, except for 

opacity, heat input, NOx, and SO2 provisions. 

3. The CO2 authorized account representative shall submit 

to the department or its agent a compliance certification in 

support of each quarterly report based on reasonable 

inquiry of those persons with primary responsibility for 

ensuring that all of the unit's emissions are correctly and 

fully monitored. The certification shall state that: 

a. The monitoring data submitted were recorded in 

accordance with the applicable requirements of this 

article and 40 CFR Part 75, including the quality 

assurance procedures and specifications; 

b. For a unit with add-on CO2 emissions controls and for 

all hours where data are substituted in accordance with 
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40 CFR 75.34(a)(1), the add-on emissions controls were 

operating within the range of parameters listed in the 

QA/QC program under Appendix B of 40 CFR Part 75 

and the substitute values do not systematically 

underestimate CO2 emissions; and 

c. The CO2 concentration values substituted for missing 

data under Subpart D of 40 CFR Part 75 do not 

systematically underestimate CO2 emissions. 

9VAC5-140-6380. Petitions. 

A. Except as provided in subsection C of this section, the 

CO2 authorized account representative of a CO2 budget unit 

that is subject to an acid rain emissions limitation may submit 

a petition to the administrator under 40 CFR 75.66 and to the 

department requesting approval to apply an alternative to any 

requirement of 40 CFR Part 75. Application of an alternative 

to any requirement of 40 CFR Part 75 is in accordance with 

this article only to the extent that the petition is approved in 

writing by the administrator, and subsequently approved in 

writing by the department. 

B. Petitions for a CO2 budget unit that is not subject to an 

acid rain emissions limitation shall meet the following 

requirements. 

1. The CO2 authorized account representative of a CO2 

budget unit that is not subject to an acid rain emissions 

limitation may submit a petition to the administrator under 

40 CFR 75.66 and to the department requesting approval to 

apply an alternative to any requirement of 40 CFR Part 75. 

Application of an alternative to any requirement of 40 CFR 

Part 75 is in accordance with this article only to the extent 

that the petition is approved in writing by the administrator 

and subsequently approved in writing by the department. 

2. In the event that the administrator declines to review a 

petition under subdivision 1 of this subsection, the CO2 

authorized account representative of a CO2 budget unit that 

is not subject to an acid rain emissions limitation may 

submit a petition to the department requesting approval to 

apply an alternative to any requirement of this article. That 

petition shall contain all of the relevant information 

specified in 40 CFR 75.66. Application of an alternative to 

any requirement of this article is in accordance with this 

article only to the extent that the petition is approved in 

writing by the department. 

C. The CO2 authorized account representative of a CO2 

budget unit that is subject to an acid rain emissions limitation 

may submit a petition to the administrator under 40 CFR 

75.66 and to the department requesting approval to apply an 

alternative to a requirement concerning any additional CEMS 

required under the common stack provisions of 40 CFR 75.72 

or a CO2 concentration CEMS used under 40 CFR 

75.71(a)(2). Application of an alternative to any such 

requirement is in accordance with this article only to the 

extent the petition is approved in writing by the administrator 

and subsequently approved in writing by the department. 

9VAC5-140-6390. (Reserved.) 

9VAC5-140-6400. (Reserved.) 

Article 9 

Auction of CO2 CCR and ECR Allowances 

9VAC5-140-6410. Purpose. 

The following requirements shall apply to each allowance 

auction. The department or its agent may specify additional 

information in the auction notice for each auction. Such 

additional information may include the time and location of 

the auction, auction rules, registration deadlines, and any 

additional information deemed necessary or useful. 

9VAC5-140-6420. General requirements. 

A. The department's agent will include the following 

information in the auction notice for each auction: 

1. The number of CO2 allowances offered for sale at the 

auction, not including any CO2 CCR allowances; 

2. The number of CO2 CCR allowances that will be offered 

for sale at the auction if the condition of subdivision 1 of 

this subsection is met; 

3. The minimum reserve price for the auction;  

4. The CCR trigger price for the auction; 

5. The maximum number of CO2 allowances that may be 

withheld from sale at the auction if the condition of 

subdivision D 1 of this section is met; and 

6. The ECR trigger price for the auction. 

B. The department's agent will follow these rules for the sale 

of CO2 CCR allowances. 

1. CO2 CCR allowances shall only be sold at an auction in 

which total demand for allowances, above the CCR trigger 

price, exceeds the number of CO2 allowances available for 

purchase at the auction, not including any CO2 CCR 

allowances. 

2. If the condition of subdivision 1 of this subsection is met 

at an auction, then the number of CO2 CCR allowances 

offered for sale by the department or its agent at the 

auction shall be equal to the number of CO2 CCR 

allowances in the Virginia auction account at the time of 

the auction.  

3. After all of the CO2 CCR allowances in the Virginia 

auction account have been sold in a given calendar year, no 

additional CO2 CCR allowances will be sold at any auction 

for the remainder of that calendar year, even if the 

condition of subdivision 1 of this subsection is met at an 

auction. 
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4. At an auction in which CO2 CCR allowances are sold, 

the reserve price for the auction shall be the CCR trigger 

price. 

5. If the condition of subdivision 1 of this subsection is not 

satisfied, no CO2 CCR allowances shall be offered for sale 

at the auction, and the reserve price for the auction shall be 

equal to the minimum reserve prices. 

C. The department's agent shall implement the reserve price 

as follows: (i) no allowances shall be sold at any auction for a 

price below the reserve price for that auction and (ii) if the 

total demand for allowances at an auction is less than or equal 

to the total number of allowances made available for sale in 

that auction, then the auction clearing price for the auction 

shall be the reserve price. 

D. The department's agent will meet the following rules for 

the withholding of CO2 ECR allowances from an auction. 

1. CO2 ECR allowances shall only be withheld from an 

auction if the demand for allowances would result in an 

auction clearing price that is less than the ECR trigger price 

prior to the withholding from the auction of any ECR 

allowances. 

2. If the condition in subdivision 1 of this subsection is met at 

an auction, then the maximum number of CO2 ECR 

allowances that may be withheld from that auction will be 

equal to the quantity shown in Table 140-5B of 9VAC5-140-

6210 E minus the total quantity of CO2 ECR allowances that 

have been withheld from any prior auction in that calendar 

year. Any CO2 ECR allowances withheld from an auction will 

be transferred into the Virginia ECR Account. 

9VAC5-140-6430. Consignment auction. 

In accordance with Article 5 (9VAC5-140-6190 et seq.) of 

this part, conditional allowances shall be consigned by the 

CO2 budget source to whom they are allocated or DMME to 

each auction on a quarterly pro rata basis in accordance with 

procedures specified by the department. At the completion of 

the consignment auction, a conditional allowance shall 

become an allowance to be used for compliance purposes. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5140; Filed December 19, 2017, 10:39 a.m.  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts general permits issued by the State Water 

Control Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law 

(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.), Chapter 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) of Title 

62.1, and Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the 

Code of Virginia if the board (i) provides a Notice of 

Intended Regulatory Action in conformance with the 

provisions of § 2.2-4007.01; (ii) following the passage of 30 

days from the publication of the Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action, forms a technical advisory committee 

composed of relevant stakeholders, including potentially 

affected citizens groups, to assist in the development of the 

general permit; (iii) provides notice and receives oral and 

written comment as provided in § 2.2-4007.03; and (iv) 

conducts at least one public hearing on the proposed general 

permit. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-120. General Virginia 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit 

Regulation for Discharges from Petroleum Contaminated 

Sites, Groundwater Remediation, and Hydrostatic Tests 

(amending 9VAC25-120-10, 9VAC25-120-15, 9VAC25-

120-20, 9VAC25-120-50 through 9VAC25-120-80).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, and 

124. 

Effective Date: February 26, 2018.  

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This final 

regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Agency Contact: Matthew Richardson, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4195, FAX (804) 

698-4032, or email matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This general permit contains effluent limitations, 

monitoring requirements, and special conditions for 

discharges of petroleum-contaminated wastewater, 

chlorinated hydrocarbon contaminated wastewater, and 

wastewater from hydrostatic tests. The changes to the 

regulation make this general permit similar to other 

general permits issued recently and clarify and update 

permit limits and conditions.  

Substantive changes to the existing regulation include (i) 

including "associated distribution equipment" as 

components that can be hydrostatically tested under 

general permit coverage; (ii) requiring the permittee to 

notify a municipal separate storm sewer system (MS4) 

owner of the existence of the discharge at the time of 

registration under the general permit and to include a copy 

of that notification with the registration statement; (iii) 

clarifying that dewatering projects "shall be managed to 

control the volume and velocity of the discharge, including 

peak flow rates and total volume, to minimize erosion at 

outlets and to minimize downstream channel and stream 

bank erosion"; (iv) requiring that hydrostatic discharge 

flows "be managed to control the volume and velocity of 

the discharge, including peak flow rates and total volume, 

to minimize erosion at outlets and to minimize downstream 
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channel and stream bank erosion"; and (v) clarifying that 

total residual chlorine data below the quantification level 

of 0.1 mg/L shall be reported as "<QL." 

CHAPTER 120 

GENERAL VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE 

ELIMINATION SYSTEM (VPDES) GENERAL PERMIT 

REGULATION FOR DISCHARGES FROM PETROLEUM 

CONTAMINATED SITES, GROUNDWATER 

REMEDIATION, AND HYDROSTATIC TESTS  

9VAC25-120-10. Definitions. 

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 

meanings defined in the State Water Control Law and 

9VAC25-31 (VPDES permit regulation) Permit Regulation) 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, except that for 

the purposes of this chapter: 

"Board" means the State Water Control Board. 

"Central wastewater treatment facilities" means any facility 

that treats (for disposal, recycling, or recovery of materials) or 

recycles hazardous or nonhazardous waste, hazardous or 

nonhazardous industrial wastewater, or used material from 

offsite off-site. This includes both a facility that treats waste 

received from off-site exclusively, and a facility that treats 

waste generated on-site as well as waste received from off 

site off-site. 

"Chlorinated hydrocarbon solvents" means solvents 

containing carbon, hydrogen, and chlorine atoms and the 

constituents resulting from the degradation of these 

chlorinated hydrocarbon solvents. 

"Department" or "DEQ" means the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality.  

"Director" means the Director of the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality, or an authorized representative.  

"Petroleum products" means petroleum-based substances 

comprised of a complex blend of hydrocarbons derived from 

crude oil such as motor fuels, jet fuels, distillate fuel oils, 

residual fuel oils, lubricants, petroleum solvents and used 

oils. "Petroleum products" does not include hazardous waste 

as defined by the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management 

Regulations (9VAC20-60). 

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means a 

calculation of the maximum amount of a pollutant that a 

waterbody can receive and still meet water quality standards 

and an allocation of that amount to the pollutant's sources. A 

TMDL includes wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point 

source discharges, and load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint 

sources or natural background or both, and must include a 

margin of safety (MOS) and account for seasonal variations.  

9VAC25-120-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) set forth in Title 40 

of the Code of Federal Regulations is referenced or adopted 

herein in this chapter and incorporated by reference, that 

regulation shall be as it exists and has been published as a 

final regulation in the Federal Register prior to July 1, 2012, 

with the effective date as published in the Federal Register 

notice or February 26, 2013, whichever is later as of July 1, 

2017.  

9VAC25-120-20. Purpose. 

This general permit regulation governs the discharge of 

wastewaters from sites contaminated by petroleum products, 

chlorinated hydrocarbon solvents, the hydrostatic testing of 

petroleum and natural gas storage tanks and pipelines, the 

hydrostatic testing and dewatering of petroleum storage tank 

systems and associated distribution equipment, and the 

hydrostatic testing of water storage tanks and pipelines. These 

wastewaters may be discharged from the following activities: 

excavation dewatering, conducting aquifer tests to 

characterize site conditions, pumping contaminated 

groundwater to remove free product from the ground, 

discharges resulting from another petroleum product or 

chlorinated hydrocarbon solvent cleanup activity approved by 

the board, hydrostatic tests of natural gas and petroleum 

storage tanks or pipelines, hydrostatic tests and dewatering of 

underground and above ground storage tanks and associated 

distribution equipment, and hydrostatic tests of water storage 

tanks and tank systems or pipelines. Discharges not 

associated with petroleum-contaminated water, water 

contaminated by chlorinated hydrocarbon solvents, or 

hydrostatic tests are not covered under this general permit. 

9VAC25-120-50. Effective date of the permit.  

This general permit will become effective on February 26, 

2013 2018. This general permit will expire on February 25, 

2018 2023. This general permit is effective as to any covered 

owner upon compliance with all the provisions of 9VAC25-

120-60. 

9VAC25-120-60. Authorization to discharge. 

A. Any owner governed by this general permit is hereby 

authorized to discharge to surface waters within the 

Commonwealth of Virginia provided that:  

1. The owner submits a registration statement, if required 

to do so, in accordance with 9VAC25-120-70, and that 

registration statement is accepted by the board;  

2. The owner complies with the applicable effluent 

limitations and other requirements of 9VAC25-120-80; and  
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3. The board has not notified the owner that the discharge 

is not eligible for coverage in accordance with subsection 

B of this section.  

B. The board will notify an owner that the discharge is not 

eligible for coverage under this general permit in the event of 

any of the following:  

1. The owner is required to obtain an individual permit in 

accordance with 9VAC25-31-170 B of the VPDES Permit 

Regulation;  

2. The owner is proposing to discharge within five miles 

upstream of a public water supply intake or to state waters 

specifically named in other board regulations which 

prohibit such discharges;  

3. The owner is proposing to discharge to surface waters 

where there are permitted central wastewater treatment 

facilities reasonably available, as determined by the board;  

4. The discharge violates or would violate the 

antidegradation policy in the Water Quality Standards at 

9VAC25-260-30; or  

5. The discharge is not consistent with the assumptions and 

requirements of an approved TMDL.  

C. Compliance with this general permit constitutes 

compliance [ , for purposes of enforcement, ] with [ §§ 301, 

302, 306, 307, 318, 403, and 405 (a) through (b) of ]  the 

federal Clean Water Act, and the State Water Control Law, 

and applicable regulations under either with the exceptions 

stated in 9VAC25-31-60 of the VPDES Permit Regulation. 

Approval for coverage under this general permit does not 

relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with any 

other applicable federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, or 

regulation. 

D. Continuation of permit coverage.  

1. [ Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 

petroleum contaminated sites, groundwater remediation, 

and hydrostatic tests general permit issued in ] 2008 [ 2013 

and that submits a complete registration statement on or 

before February 26, ] 2013 [ 2018, is authorized to 

continue to discharge under the terms of the ] 2008 [ 2013 

general permit Permit coverage shall expire at the end of 

its term. However, expiring permit coverages are 

automatically continued if the owner has submitted a 

complete registration statement at least 60 days prior to the 

expiration date of the permit, or a later submittal date 

established by the board, which cannot extend beyond the 

expiration date of the original permit. The permittee is 

authorized to continue to discharge ] until such time as the 

board either:  

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit; 

or  

b. Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 

coverage under this general permit.  

2. When the owner that was covered under the expiring or 

expired general permit has violated or is violating the 

conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any 

or all of the following:  

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the general 

permit [ coverage ] that has been continued;  

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 

amended general permit. If the general permit coverage 

is denied, the owner would then be required to cease the 

discharges authorized by the continued general permit 

[ coverage ] or be subject to enforcement action for 

discharging without a permit;  

c. Issue an individual permit with appropriate conditions; 

or  

d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES Permit 

Regulation (9VAC25-31).  

9VAC25-120-70. Registration statement. 

A. Any owner seeking coverage under this general permit 

who that is required to submit a registration statement shall 

submit a complete VPDES general permit registration 

statement in accordance with this section, which shall serve 

as a notice of intent for coverage under the general VPDES 

permit for discharges from petroleum contaminated sites, 

ground water groundwater remediation, and hydrostatic tests.  

B. Owners of the following types of proposed or existing 

discharges are not required to submit a registration statement 

to apply for coverage under this general permit:  

1. Short term projects (14 consecutive calendar days or less 

in duration) including:  

a. Emergency repairs;  

b. Dewatering projects;  

c. Utility work and repairs in areas of known 

contamination;  

d. Tank placement or removal in areas of known 

contamination;  

e. Pilot studies or pilot tests, including aquifer tests; and  

f. New well construction discharges of groundwater;  

2. Hydrostatic testing of petroleum and natural gas storage 

tanks and, pipelines, or distribution system components; 

and  

3. Hydrostatic testing of water storage tanks and, pipelines, 

or distribution system components.  
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Owners of these types of discharges are authorized to 

discharge under this permit immediately upon the permit's 

effective date of February 26, 2013 2018.  

Owners shall notify the department's regional office in 

writing within 14 days of the completion of the discharge. 

The notification shall include the owner's name and address, 

the type of discharge that occurred, the physical location of 

the discharge work, and the receiving stream. If the discharge 

is to a municipal separate storm sewer system (MS4), the 

owner shall also notify the MS4 owner within 14 days of the 

completion of the discharge.  

Owners of these types of discharges are not required to 

submit a notice of termination of permit coverage at the 

completion of the discharge.  

C. Deadlines for submitting registration statements.  

1. New facilities. Any owner proposing a new discharge 

shall submit a complete registration statement at least 30 

days prior to the date planned for commencing operation of 

the new discharge, unless exempted by subsection B of this 

section.  

2. Existing facilities.  

a. Any owner covered by an individual VPDES permit 

who is proposing to be covered by this general permit 

shall submit a complete registration statement at least 

210 days prior to the expiration date of the individual 

VPDES permit.  

b. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 

petroleum contaminated sites, ground water groundwater 

remediation, and hydrostatic tests general VPDES permit 

[ that became effective on February 26, ] 2008 [ 2013, ] 

who that is not exempted under subsection B of this 

section and [ who that ] intends to continue coverage 

under this general permit shall submit a complete 

registration statement to the board [ on or before January 

27, ] 2013 [ 2018 at least 30 days prior to the expiration 

date of the existing permit or a later submittal established 

by the board ].  

D. Late registration statements. Registration statements will 

be accepted after [ February 26, ] 2013 [ 2018 the expiration 

date of the permit ], but authorization to discharge will not be 

retroactive. [ Owners described in subdivision C 2 b of this 

section that submit registration statements after January 27, ] 

2013 [ 2018, are authorized to discharge under the provisions 

of 9VAC25-120-60 D if a complete registration statement is 

submitted on or before February 26, ] 2013 [ 2018. ]  

E. The required registration statement shall contain the 

following information:  

1. Legal name of facility Facility name and mailing 

address, owner name and mailing address, telephone 

number, and email address (if available); 

2. Location of facility, address, telephone number, and 

email address (if available) Facility street address (if 

different from mailing address) or location (if the facility 

location does not have a mailing address); 

3. Facility owner name, address, telephone number, and 

email address (if available) Facility operator (local contact) 

name, address, telephone number, and email address (if 

available) if different than owner; 

4. Nature of business conducted at the facility;  

5. Type of petroleum or natural gas products, or 

chlorinated hydrocarbon solvents causing or that caused 

the contamination;  

6. Identification of activities that will result in a point 

source discharge from the contaminated site;  

7. Whether a site characterization report for the site has 

been submitted to the Department of Environmental 

Quality;  

8. Characterization or description of the wastewater or 

nature of contamination including all related analytical 

data; 

9. The location of the discharge point and identification of 

the waterbody into which the discharge will occur. For 

linear projects, the location of all the proposed discharge 

points along the project length and the associated 

waterbody for each discharge point;  

10. The frequency with which the discharge will occur 

(i.e., daily, monthly, continuously);  

11. An estimate of how long each discharge will last;  

12. An estimate of the total volume of wastewater to be 

discharged;  

13. An estimate of the average and maximum flow rate of 

the discharge;  

14. A diagram of the proposed wastewater treatment 

system identifying the individual treatment units;  

15. A USGS 7.5 minute topographic map or equivalent 

computer generated map that indicates the receiving 

waterbody name or names, the discharge point or points, 

the property boundaries, as well as springs, other surface 

waterbodies, drinking water wells, and public water 

supplies that are identified in the public record or are 

otherwise known to the applicant within a 1/2 mile radius 

of the proposed discharge or discharges; 

16. Whether the facility will discharge to a municipal 

separate storm sewer system (MS4). If so, the name of the 

MS4 owner. The owner of the facility shall notify the MS4 

owner in writing of the existence of the discharge within 

30 days of coverage under the general permit and shall 

copy the DEQ regional office with the notification. A 
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determination of whether the facility will discharge to an 

MS4. If the facility discharges to an MS4, the facility 

owner must notify the owner of the MS4 of the existence 

of the discharge information at the time of registration 

under this permit and include that notification with the 

registration statement. The notification notice shall include 

the following information: the name of the facility, a 

contact person and phone telephone number, the location 

of the discharge, the nature of the discharge, and the 

facility's VPDES general permit number; 

17. Whether central wastewater facilities are available to 

the site, and if so, whether the option of discharging to the 

central wastewater facility has been evaluated and the 

results of that evaluation;  

18. Whether the facility currently has a any permit issued 

by the board, and if so, the permit number;  

19. Any applicable pollution complaint number associated 

with the project;  

20. A statement as to whether the material being treated or 

to be discharged is certified as a hazardous waste under the 

Virginia Hazardous Waste Regulation Management 

Regulations (9VAC20-60); and 

21. The following certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to 

assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the system or those 

persons directly responsible for gathering the 

information, the information submitted is to the best of 

my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and complete. I 

am aware that there are significant penalties for 

submitting false information including the possibility of 

fine and imprisonment for knowing violations. I do also 

hereby grant duly authorized agents of the Department of 

Environmental Quality, upon presentation of credentials, 

permission to enter the property for the purpose of 

determining the suitability of the general permit." 

F. The registration statement shall be signed in accordance 

with 9VAC25-31-110.  

G. The registration statement shall be delivered by either 

postal or electronic mail to the DEQ regional office serving 

the area where the facility is located. 

9VAC25-120-80. General permit. 

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the 

board, or who that is automatically authorized to discharge 

under this permit, shall comply with the requirements of the 

general permit and be subject to all requirements of 9VAC25-

31-170 B of the VPDES permit regulation Permit Regulation. 

Not all pages of Part I A of the general permit will apply to 

every permittee. The determination of which pages provisions 

apply will be based on the type of contamination at the 

individual site and the nature of the waters receiving the 

discharge. Part I B and all pages of Part II apply to all 

permittees. 

General Permit No.: VAG83  

Effective Date: February 26, 2013 2018  

Expiration Date: February 25, 2018 2023  

GENERAL VPDES GENERAL PERMIT FOR 

DISCHARGES FROM PETROLEUM CONTAMINATED 

SITES, GROUNDWATER REMEDIATION, AND 

HYDROSTATIC TESTS 

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 

VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 

SYSTEM PERMIT PROGRAM AND THE VIRGINIA 

STATE WATER CONTROL LAW 

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, 

as amended, the State Water Control Law and regulations 

adopted pursuant thereto, the owner is authorized to discharge 

to surface waters within the boundaries of the Commonwealth 

of Virginia, except to designated public water supplies or 

waters specifically named in other board regulations which 

prohibit such discharges.  

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the 

information submitted with the registration statement, this 

cover page, Part I - Effluent Limitations and Monitoring 

Requirements, and Part II - Conditions Applicable to All 

VPDES Permits, as set forth herein in this general permit. 

If there is any conflict between the requirements of a board 

approved cleanup plan and this permit, the requirements of 

this permit shall govern.  

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS.  

1. SHORT TERM PROJECTS.  

The following types of short term projects (14 consecutive 

calendar days or less in duration) are authorized under this 

permit:  

a. Emergency repairs;  

b. Dewatering projects(1). Dewatering projects shall be 

managed to control the volume and velocity of the 

discharge, including peak flow rates and total volume, to 

minimize erosion at outlets and to minimize downstream 

channel and stream bank erosion;  

c. Utility work and repairs in areas of known 

contamination;  

d. Tank placement or removal in areas of known 

contamination;  
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e. Pilot studies or pilot tests, including aquifer tests; and  

f. New well construction discharges of groundwater.  

Effluent limits for short term projects correspond to the 

type of contamination at the project site and are given in 

Tables A 2 3 through A 5 below. The sampling frequency 

for these projects shall be once per project term discharge. 

Discharge monitoring reports for these projects are not 

required to be submitted to the department, but shall be 

retained by the owner for a period of at least three years 

from the completion date of the project.  

Owners shall notify the department's regional office in 

writing within 14 days of the completion of the project 

discharge. The notification shall include the owner's name 

and address, the type of discharge that occurred, the 

physical location of the project work, and the receiving 

stream. If the discharge is to a municipal separate storm 

sewer system (MS4), the owner shall also notify the MS4 

owner within 14 days of the completion of the discharge.  

(1)Dewatering projects shall be managed to ensure that they 

are discharging to an adequate channel or pipe and do not 

cause erosion in the receiving stream. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS.  

2. DISCHARGES OF HYDROSTATIC TEST WATERS -

- ALL RECEIVING WATERS.  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage 

under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 

expiration date, the permittee is authorized to discharge 

from outfall serial number xxxx. Samples taken in 

compliance with the monitoring requirements specified 

below shall be taken at the following location: outfall from 

the final treatment unit prior to mixing with any other 

waters.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the 

permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS(2) 

Instantaneous 

Minimum 

Instantaneous 

Maximum 
Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (GPD)  NA NL 1/discharge Estimate 

pH (standard units)  6.0 9.0 1/discharge Grab 

Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons (TPH, 

mg/l) (1) 

NA 15.0 1/discharge Grab 

Total Organic Carbon (TOC, mg/l) NA NL 1/discharge Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine (TRC, 

mg/l)(3)  

NA 0.011(3)  1/discharge Grab 

Total Suspended Solids (TSS) NA NL 1/discharge Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 

The equipment being tested shall be substantially free of 

debris, raw material, product, or other residual materials.  

The discharge flow shall be managed to control the volume 

and velocity of the discharge, including peak flow rates and 

total volume, to minimize erosion at outlets, and to 

minimize downstream channel and stream bank erosion.  

(1)TPH is the sum of individual gasoline range organics and 

diesel range organics or TPH-GRO and TPH-DRO to be 

measured by EPA SW 846 Method 8015C (2000) or EPA 

SW 846 Method 8015C (2007) for gasoline and diesel range 

organics, or by EPA SW 846 Methods 8260B (1996) and 

8270D (2014). 

(2)Discharge monitoring reports for hydrostatic test 

discharges are not required to be submitted to the 

department but shall be retained by the owner for a period 

of at least three years from the completion date of the 

hydrostatic test.  

Owners shall notify the department's regional office in 

writing within 14 days of the completion of the hydrostatic 

test discharge. The notification shall include the owner's 

name and address, the type of hydrostatic test that occurred, 

the physical location of the test work, and the receiving 

stream.  

(3)Total residual chlorine limitation of 0.011 mg/l and 

chlorine monitoring only apply to discharges of test water 

that have been chlorinated or come from a chlorinated water 

supply. All data below the quantification level (QL) of 0.1 

mg/L shall be reported as "<QL."  

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS.  

2. 3. GASOLINE CONTAMINATION -- ALL 

RECEIVING WATERS. 
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During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage 

under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 

expiration date, the permittee is authorized to discharge 

from outfall serial number XXXX xxxx. Samples taken in 

compliance with the monitoring requirements specified 

below shall be taken at the following location: outfall from 

the final treatment unit prior to mixing with any other 

waters. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the 

permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Instantaneous 

Minimum 

Instantaneous 

Maximum 
Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (GPD)  NA NL (4) Estimate 

Benzene (μg/l)(1) NA 12.0 (4) Grab 

Toluene (μg/l)(1) NA 43.0 (4) Grab 

Ethylbenzene (μg/l)(1) NA 4.3 (4) Grab 

Total Xylenes (μg/l)(1) NA 33.0 (4) Grab 

MTBE (methyl tert-butyl ether) 

(μg/l)(1) 
 

   

Freshwaters not listed as public 

water supplies and saltwater 

NA 440.0 1/Month(4) Grab 

Freshwaters listed as public water 

supply 

NA 15.0 2/Month(4) Grab 

pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 (4) Grab 

Total Recoverable Lead (μg/l)(2)  
   

Freshwaters not listed as public 

water supplies and saltwater 

NA e(1.273(ln hardness)) -

3.259  

(4) Grab 

Freshwaters listed as public water 

supply 

NA Lower of e(1.273(ln 

hardness)) -3.259 or 15 

(4) Grab 

Hardness (mg/l CaCO3)(2) NL NA (4) Grab 

Ethylene Dibromide (μg/l)(2)  
   

Freshwaters not listed as public 

water supplies and saltwater 

NA 1.9 1/Month(4) Grab 

Freshwaters listed as public water 

supply 

NA 0.161 2/Month(4) Grab 

1,2 Dichloroethane (μg/l)(2) NA 3.8 (4) Grab 

Ethanol (μg/l)(3) NA 4100.0 (4) Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 

(1)Benzene, Toluene, Ethylbenzene, Total Xylenes and 

MTBE shall be analyzed according to a current and 

appropriate EPA Wastewater Method (40 CFR Part 136) or 

EPA SW 846 Method 8021B (1996) (2014). 

(2)Monitoring for this parameter is required only when 

contamination results from leaded fuel. Lead shall be 

analyzed according to a current and appropriate EPA 

Wastewater Method (40 CFR Part 136). The minimum 

hardness concentration that will be used to determine the 

lead effluent limit is 25 mg/l. 1,2 dichloroethane and  

ethylene dibromide (EDB) shall be analyzed by a current 

and appropriate EPA SW 846 Method or EPA Wastewater 

Method from 40 CFR Part 136. EDB in wastewaters 

discharged to public water supplies shall be analyzed using 

EPA SW 846 Method 8011 (1992) or EPA Drinking Water 

Method 504.1 (1995).  
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(3)Monitoring for ethanol is only required for discharges of 

water contaminated by gasoline containing greater than 

10% ethanol. Ethanol shall be analyzed according to EPA 

SW 846 Method 8015C (2000) or EPA SW 846 Method 

8015C (2007) or EPA SW 846 Method 8260B (1996). 

(4)The monitoring frequency for discharges into freshwaters 

not listed as public water supplies and saltwater shall be 

once per month. If the first year 12 months of permit 

coverage results demonstrate full compliance with the 

effluent limitations, the permittee may request that the 

monitoring frequency for ethanol be reduced from monthly 

to 1/quarter. The written request shall be sent to the 

appropriate DEQ regional office for review. Upon written 

notification from the regional office, monitoring frequency 

shall may be reduced to 1/quarter. Should the permittee be 

issued a warning letter related to violation of effluent 

limitations or a notice of violation, or be the subject of an 

active enforcement action, monitoring frequency for ethanol 

shall revert to 1/month upon issuance of the letter or notice 

or initiation execution of the enforcement action and remain 

in effect until the permit's expiration date. Reports of 

quarterly monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ regional 

office no later than the 10th day of April, July, October, and 

January in each year of permit coverage.  

The monitoring frequency for discharges into freshwaters 

listed as public water supplies shall be twice per month for 

all constituents or parameters. If the first year's 12 months 

of permit coverage results demonstrate full compliance with 

the effluent limitations, the permittee may request that the 

monitoring frequency for ethanol be reduced to 1/quarter 

and the other parameters to 1/month. The written request 

shall be sent to the appropriate DEQ regional office for 

review. Upon written notification from the regional office, 

the monitoring frequency for ethanol shall may be reduced 

to 1/quarter and the other parameters to1/month. Should the 

permittee be issued a warning letter related to violation of 

effluent limitations or a notice of violation, or be the subject 

of an active enforcement action, monitoring frequency shall 

revert to 2/month upon issuance of the letter or notice or 

initiation execution of the enforcement action and remain in 

effect until the permit's expiration date. Reports of quarterly 

monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no 

later than the 10th day of April, July, October, and January 

in each year of permit coverage.  

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS. 

3. 4. CONTAMINATION BY PETROLEUM 

PRODUCTS OTHER THAN GASOLINE -- ALL 

RECEIVING WATERS.  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage 

under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 

expiration date, the permittee is authorized to discharge 

from outfall serial number xxxx. Samples taken in 

compliance with the monitoring requirements specified 

below shall be taken at the following location: outfall from 

the final treatment unit prior to mixing with any other 

waters.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the 

permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Instantaneous 

Minimum 

Instantaneous 

Maximum 
Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (GPD)  NA NL (4) Estimate 

Naphthalene (μg/l)(1) NA 8.9 (4) Grab 

Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons 

(mg/l)(2) 

NA 15.0 (4) Grab 

pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 (4) Grab 

Benzene (μg/l)(3) NA 12.0 2/Month(4) Grab 

MTBE (methyl tert-butyl ether) 

(μg/l)(3) 

NA 15.0 2/Month(4) Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 

(1)Naphthalene shall be analyzed by a current and 

appropriate EPA Wastewater Method from 40 CFR Part 

136 or a current and appropriate EPA SW 846 Method. 

(2)TPH shall be analyzed using EPA SW 846 Method 8015C 

(2000) or EPA SW 846 Method 8015C (2007) for diesel 

range organics, or by EPA SW 846 Method 8270D (2007) 

(2014). 

(3)Monitoring for benzene and MTBE is only required for 

discharges into freshwaters listed as public water supplies. 

Benzene and MTBE shall be analyzed according to a 
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current and appropriate EPA Wastewater Method (40 CFR 

Part 136) or EPA SW 846 Method. 

(4)The monitoring frequency for discharges into freshwaters 

not listed as public water supplies and saltwater shall be 

once per month. 

The monitoring frequency for discharges into freshwaters 

listed as public water supplies shall be twice per month for 

all constituents or parameters. If the first year's 12 months 

of permit coverage results demonstrate full compliance with 

the effluent limitations, the permittee may request that the 

monitoring frequency be reduced to once per month. The 

written request shall be sent to the appropriate DEQ 

regional office for review. Upon written notification from 

the regional office, the monitoring frequency for ethanol 

shall may be reduced to 1/quarter or the other parameters 

to1/month. Should the permittee be issued a warning letter 

related to violation of effluent limitations or a notice of 

violation, or be the subject of an active enforcement action, 

monitoring frequency shall revert to 2/month upon issuance 

of the letter or notice or initiation execution of the 

enforcement action and remain in effect until the permit's 

expiration date. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS  

4. DISCHARGES OF HYDROSTATIC TEST WATERS -

- ALL RECEIVING WATERS.  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage 

under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 

expiration date, the permittee is authorized to discharge 

from outfall serial number xxxx. Samples taken in 

compliance with the monitoring requirements specified 

below shall be taken at the following location: Outfall from 

the final treatment unit prior to mixing with any other 

waters.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the 

permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS(2) 

Instantaneous 

Minimum 

Instantaneous 

Maximum 
Frequency Sample Type 

Flow  (GPD)  NA NL 1/discharge Estimate 

pH (standard units)  6.0 9.0 1/discharge Grab 

Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons (TPH, 

mg/l) (1) 

NA 15.0 1/discharge Grab 

Total Organic Carbon (TOC, mg/l) NA NL 1/discharge Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine (TRC, 

mg/l) (3)  

NA 0.011 (3)  1/discharge Grab 

Total Suspended Solids (TSS) NA NL 1/discharge Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 

The equipment being tested shall be substantially free of 

debris, raw material, product, or other residual materials.  

The discharge flow shall be controlled in such a manner that 

prevents flooding, erosion, or excessive sediment influx into 

the receiving water body.  

(1)TPH is the sum of individual gasoline range organics and 

diesel range organics or TPH-GRO and TPH-DRO to be 

measured by  EPA SW 846 Method 8015C (2000) or EPA 

SW 846 Method 8015C (2007) for gasoline and diesel range 

organics, or by EPA SW 846 Methods 8260B (1996) and 

8270D (2007). . 

(2)Discharge monitoring reports for hydrostatic test 

discharges are not required to be submitted to the 

department, but shall be retained by the owner for a period 

of at least three years from the completion date of the 

hydrostatic test.  

Owners shall notify the department's regional office in 

writing within 14 days of the completion of the hydrostatic 

test discharge. The notification shall include the owner's 

name and address, the type of hydrostatic test that occurred, 

the physical location of the test work, and the receiving 

stream.  

(3)Total Residual Chlorine limitation of 0.011 mg/l and 

chlorine monitoring only apply to discharges of test water 

that have been chlorinated or come from a chlorinated water 

supply.  
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Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS.  

5. CONTAMINATION BY CHLORINATED 

HYDROCARBON SOLVENTS -- ALL RECEIVING 

WATERS. 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage 

under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 

expiration date, the permittee is authorized to discharge 

from outfall serial number xxxx. Samples taken in 

compliance with the monitoring requirements specified 

below shall be taken at the following location: outfall from 

the final treatment unit prior to mixing with any other 

waters. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the 

permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Instantaneous 

Minimum 

Instantaneous 

Maximum 
Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (GPD)  NA NL 1/Month Estimate 

2/Month if 

public water 

supply(2) 

Estimate 

Chloroform (CAS # 67663), (μg/l)(1) NA 80.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 

public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

1,1 Dichloroethane (CAS # 75343) 

(μg/l)(1) 

NA 2.4 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 

public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

1,2 Dichloroethane (CAS # 107062) 

(μg/l)(1) 

NA 3.8 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 

public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

1,1 Dichloroethylene (CAS # 75354) 

(μg/l)(1) 

NA 7.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 

public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

cis-1,2 Dichloroethylene (CAS # 

159592) (μg/l)(1) 

NA 70.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 

public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

trans 1,2 Dichloroethylene (CAS # 

156605) (μg/l)(1) 

NA 100.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 

public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

Methylene Chloride (CAS # 75092) 

(μg/l)(1) 

NA 5.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 

public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 8, 2018 

969 

Tetrachloroethylene (CAS # 127184) 

(μg/l)(1) 

NA 5.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 

public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

1,1,1 Trichloroethane (CAS # 71556) 

(μg/l)(1) 

NA 54.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 

public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

1,1,2 Trichloroethane (CAS # 79005) 

(μg/l)(1) 

NA 5.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 

public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

Trichloroethylene (CAS # 79016) 

(μg/l)(1) 

NA 5.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 

public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

Vinyl Chloride (CAS # 75014) 

(μg/l)(1) 

NA 2.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 

public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

Carbon Tetrachloride (CAS # 56235) 

(μg/l)(1) 

NA 2.3 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 

public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

1,2 Dichlorobenzene (CAS # 95501) 

(μg/l)(1) 

NA 15.8 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 

public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

Chlorobenzene (CAS # 108907) 

(μg/l)(1) 

NA 3.4 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 

public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

Trichlorofluoromethane (CAS # 

75694) (μg/l)(1) 

NA 5.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 

public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

Chloroethane (CAS # 75003) (μg/l)(1) NA 3.6 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 

public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 
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pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 1/Month Grab 

2/Month if 

public water 

supply(2) 

Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 

(1)This constituent shall be analyzed by a current and 

appropriate gas chromatograph/mass spectroscopy method 

from EPA SW 846 or the EPA Wastewater Method series 

from 40 CFR Part 136. 

(2)Monitoring frequency for discharges into surface waters 

listed as public water supplies shall be 2/month for the first 

year of permit coverage. If the first year 12 months of 

permit coverage results demonstrate full compliance with 

the effluent limitations, the permittee may request that the 

monitoring frequency be reduced from 2/month to 1/month. 

The written request shall be sent to the appropriate DEQ 

regional office for review. Upon written notification from 

the regional office, monitoring frequency shall may be 

reduced to 1/month. Should the permittee be issued a 

warning letter related to violation of effluent limitations or a 

notice of violation, or be the subject of an active 

enforcement action, monitoring frequency shall revert to 

2/month upon issuance of the letter or notice or initiation 

execution of the enforcement action and remain in effect 

until the permit's expiration date. 

Part I  

B. Special conditions.  

1. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible 

foam in other than trace amounts.  

2. The permittee shall sample each permitted outfall each 

calendar month in which a discharge occurs. When no 

discharge occurs from an outfall during a calendar month, 

the discharge monitoring report for that outfall shall be 

submitted indicating "No Discharge."  

3. O & M Manual Operation and maintenance (O&M) 

manual. If the permitted discharge is through a treatment 

works, within 30 days of coverage under this general 

permit, the permittee shall develop and maintain on site on-

site, an Operations and Maintenance (O & M) Manual 

O&M manual for the treatment works permitted [ herein in 

this general permit ]. This manual shall detail practices and 

procedures which that will be followed to ensure 

compliance with the requirements of this permit. The 

permittee shall operate the treatment works in accordance 

with the O & M Manual O&M manual. The manual shall 

be made available to the department upon request.  

4. Operation schedule. The permittee shall construct, install 

and begin operating the treatment works described in the 

registration statement prior to discharging to surface 

waters. The permittee shall notify the department's regional 

office within five days after the completion of installation 

and commencement of operation.  

5. Materials storage. Except as expressly authorized by this 

permit or another permit issued by the board, no product, 

materials, industrial wastes, or other wastes resulting from 

the purchase, sale, mining, extraction, transport, 

preparation, or storage of raw or intermediate materials, 

final product, by-product or wastes, shall be handled, 

disposed of, or stored so as to permit a discharge of such 

product, materials, industrial wastes, or other wastes to 

state waters.  

6. If the permittee discharges to surface waters through a 

municipal separate storm sewer system an MS4, the 

permittee shall, within 30 days of coverage under this 

general permit, notify the owner of the municipal separate 

storm sewer system in writing of the existence of the 

discharge and provide the following information: the name 

of the facility, a contact person and phone telephone 

number, the location of the discharge, the nature of the 

discharge, and the facility's VPDES general permit 

number. A copy of such notification shall be provided to 

the department. Discharge Monitoring Reports (DMRs) 

required to be submitted under this permit shall be 

submitted to both the department and the owner of the 

municipal separate storm sewer system.  

7. Monitoring results shall be reported using the same 

number of significant digits as listed in the permit. 

Regardless of the rounding convention used by the 

permittee (e.g., five always rounding up or to the nearest 

even number), the permittee shall use the convention 

consistently and shall ensure that consulting laboratories 

employed by the permittee use the same convention.  

8. The discharges authorized by this permit shall be 

controlled as necessary to meet applicable water quality 

standards.  

9. Approval for coverage under this general permit does 

not relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with 

any other federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, or 

regulation.  

10. Discharges to waters with an approved "total maximum 

daily load" (TMDL) TMDL. Owners of facilities that are a 

source of the specified pollutant of concern to waters 

where an approved TMDL has been established shall 

implement measures and controls that are consistent with 

the assumptions and requirements of the TMDL.  



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 8, 2018 

971 

11. Termination of coverage. Provided that the board 

agrees that the discharge covered under this general permit 

is no longer needed, the permittee may request termination 

of coverage under the general permit, for the entire facility 

or for specific outfalls, by submitting a request for 

termination of coverage. This request for termination of 

coverage shall be sent to the department's regional office 

with appropriate documentation or references to 

documentation already in the department's possession. 

Upon the permittee's receipt of the regional director's 

approval, coverage under this general permit will be 

terminated. Termination of coverage under this general 

permit does not relieve the permittee of responsibilities 

under other board regulations or directives. 

[ 12. The permittee shall notify the department as soon as 

the permittee knows or has reason to believe: 

a. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 

result in the discharge, on a routine or frequent basis, of 

any toxic pollutant that is not limited in this permit if that 

discharge will exceed the highest of the following 

notification levels: 

(1) One hundred micrograms per liter; 

(2) Two hundred micrograms per liter for acrolein and 

acrylonitrile; five hundred micrograms per liter for 2,4-

dinitrophenol and for 2-methyl-4,6-dinitrophenol; and 

one milligram per liter for antimony; 

(3) Five times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the general permit registration 

statement; or 

(4) The level established by the board. 

b. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 

result in any discharge, on a nonroutine or infrequent 

basis, of a toxic pollutant that is not limited in this permit 

if that discharge will exceed the highest of the following 

notification levels: 

(1) Five hundred micrograms per liter; 

(2) One milligram per liter for antimony; 

(3) Ten times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the general permit registration 

statement; or 

(4) The level established by the board. ] 

Part II  

Conditions Applicable To to All VPDES Permits  

A. Monitoring.  

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 

permit shall be representative of the monitored activity.  

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 

approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 

unless other procedures have been specified in this permit.  

3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 

maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 

measurements.  

4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be 

analyzed in accordance with 1VAC30-45, Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories, or 1VAC30-

46, Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 

Laboratories.  

B. Records.  

1. Records of monitoring information shall include:  

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements;  

b. The individuals who performed the sampling or 

measurements;  

c. The dates and times analyses were performed;  

d. The individual or individuals who performed the 

analyses;  

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and  

f. The results of such analyses.  

2. Except for records of monitoring information required 

by this permit related to the permittee's sewage sludge use 

and disposal activities, which shall be retained for a period 

of at least five years, the permittee shall retain records of 

all monitoring information, including all calibration and 

maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings 

for continuous monitoring instrumentation; copies of all 

reports required by this permit; and records of all data used 

to complete the registration statement for this permit for a 

period of at least three years from the date of the sample, 

measurement, report or request for coverage. This period 

of retention shall be extended automatically during the 

course of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated 

activity or regarding control standards applicable to the 

permittee, or as requested by the board.  

C. Reporting monitoring results.  

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 

required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 

month after monitoring takes place unless another 

reporting schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. 

Monitoring results shall be submitted to the department's 

regional office.  

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge 

Monitoring Report (DMR) or on forms provided, approved 

or specified by the department.  
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3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 

addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 

this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 

Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the 

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 

specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 

be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 

submitted in the DMR or reporting form specified by the 

department.  

4. Calculations for all limitations which that require 

averaging of measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean 

unless otherwise specified in this permit.  

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 

to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 

which the board may request to determine whether cause 

exists for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating 

this permit or to determine compliance with this permit. The 

board may require the permittee to furnish, upon request, such 

plans, specifications, and other pertinent information as may 

be necessary to determine the effect of the wastes from his 

discharge on the quality of state waters or such other 

information as may be necessary to accomplish the purposes 

of the State Water Control Law. The permittee shall also 

furnish to the department upon request copies of records 

required to be kept by this permit.  

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 

noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 

final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 

this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 

each schedule date.  

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 

permit or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to:  

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or  

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological 

properties of such state waters and make them detrimental 

to the public health, to animal or aquatic life, to the use of 

such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, for 

recreation, or for other uses.  

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee who 

that discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, 

industrial waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious 

substance into or upon state waters in violation of Part II F or 

who that discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may 

reasonably be expected to enter state waters in violation of 

Part II F shall notify the department of the discharge 

immediately upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case 

later than 24 hours after the discovery. A written report of the 

unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the department 

within five days of discovery of the discharge. The written 

report shall contain:  

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge;  

2. The cause of the discharge;  

3. The date on which the discharge occurred;  

4. The length of time that the discharge continued;  

5. The volume of the discharge;  

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 

continue;  

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 

volume of the discharge will be; and  

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 

discharges not authorized by this permit.  

Discharges reportable to the department under the 

immediate reporting requirements of other regulations are 

exempted from this requirement.  

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 

unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or 

upset should occur from a treatment works and the discharge 

enters or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee 

shall promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, the 

department by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. 

This notification shall provide all available details of the 

incident, including any adverse affects effects on aquatic life 

and the known number of fish killed. The permittee shall 

reduce the report to writing and shall submit the report to the 

department within five days of discovery of the discharge in 

accordance with Part II I [ 2 1 b ]. Unusual and extraordinary 

discharges include [ but are not limited to ] any discharge 

resulting from:  

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 

indirectly from processing operations;  

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment;  

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the 

treatment works; and  

4. Flooding or other acts of nature.  

I. Reports of noncompliance.  

[ 1. ] The permittee shall report any noncompliance which 

that may adversely affect state waters or may endanger 

public health [ as follows:. ]  

[ 1. a. ] An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours 

from the time the permittee becomes aware of the 

circumstances. The following shall be included as 

information, which shall be reported within 24 hours 

under this subsection:  

[ a. (1) ] Any unanticipated bypass; and  
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[ b. (2) ] Any upset which causes a discharge to surface 

waters.  

[ 2. b. ] A written report shall be submitted within five 

days and shall contain:  

[ a. (1) ] A description of the noncompliance and its 

cause;  

[ b. (2) ] The period of noncompliance including exact 

dates and times and, if the noncompliance has not been 

corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 

and  

[ c. (3) ] Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance.  

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 

basis for reports of noncompliance under Part II I if the 

oral report has been received within 24 hours and no 

adverse impact on state waters has been reported.  

[ 3. 2. ] The permittee shall report all instances of 

noncompliance not reported under Part II I 1 [ or 2 ], in 

writing, at the time the next monitoring reports are 

submitted. The reports shall contain the information listed 

in Part II I [ 2 1 b ].  

NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 

in Part II G, H and I may be made to the department's 

regional office. Reports may be made by telephone, FAX, 

or online at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponseP

reparedness/PollutionReportingForm.aspx. For reports 

outside normal working hours, leave a message and this 

shall fulfill the immediate reporting requirement. For 

emergencies, the Virginia Department of Emergency 

Services maintains a 24-hour telephone service at 1-800-

468-8892.  

[ 3. Where the permittee becomes aware that it failed to 

submit any relevant facts in a permit registration statement 

or submitted incorrect information in a permit registration 

statement or in any report to the department, it shall 

promptly submit such facts or information. ] 

J. Notice of planned changes.  

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as 

soon as possible of any planned physical alterations or 

additions to the permitted facility. Notice is required only 

when:  

a. The permittee plans an alteration or addition to any 

building, structure, facility, or installation from which 

there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 

construction of which commenced:  

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance 

under § 306 of the Clean Water Act which are applicable 

to such source; or  

(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 

accordance with § 306 of the Clean Water Act which are 

applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 

promulgated in accordance with § 306 of the Act within 

120 days of their proposal;  

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change 

the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants 

discharged. This notification applies to pollutants [ which 

that ] are subject neither to effluent limitations nor to 

notification requirements [ specified elsewhere in this 

permit under Part I B 12 ]; or  

c. The alteration or addition results in a significant 

change in the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices, 

and such alteration, addition, or change may justify the 

application of permit conditions that are different from or 

absent in the existing permit, including notification of 

additional use or disposal sites not reported during the 

permit application registration process or not reported 

pursuant to an approved land application plan.  

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the 

department of any planned changes in the permitted facility 

or activity which may result in noncompliance with permit 

requirements.  

K. Signatory requirements.  

1. Registration statement. All registration statements shall 

be signed as follows:  

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 

For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 

officer means (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-

president of the corporation in charge of a principal 

business function, or any other person who performs 

similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 

the corporation or (ii) the manager of one or more 

manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, 

provided the manager is authorized to make management 

decisions that govern the operation of the regulated 

facility including having the explicit or implicit duty of 

making major capital investment recommendations, and 

initiating and directing other comprehensive measures to 

assure long-term environmental compliance with 

environmental laws and regulations; the manager can 

ensure that the necessary systems are established or 

actions taken to gather complete and accurate 

information for permit application requirements; and 

where authority to sign documents has been assigned or 

delegated to the manager in accordance with corporate 

procedures;  

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; or  

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponsePreparedness/PollutionReportingForm.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponsePreparedness/PollutionReportingForm.aspx
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elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 

executive officer of a public agency includes (i) the chief 

executive officer of the agency or (ii) a senior executive 

officer having responsibility for the overall operations of 

a principal geographic unit of the agency.  

2. Reports. All reports required by permits, and other 

information requested by the board shall be signed by a 

person described in Part II K 1, or by a duly authorized 

representative of that person. A person is a duly authorized 

representative only if:  

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 

described in Part II K 1;  

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 

the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 

plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 

superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or 

an individual or position having overall responsibility for 

environmental matters for the company. A duly 

authorized representative thus may be either a named 

individual or any individual occupying a named position; 

and  

c. The written authorization is submitted to the 

department.  

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part 

II K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual 

or position has responsibility for the overall operation of 

the facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements 

of Part II K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to 

or together with any reports or information to be signed by 

an authorized representative.  

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under 

Parts Part II K 1 or 2 shall make the following 

certification:  

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to 

ensure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the system, or 

those persons directly responsible for gathering the 

information, the information submitted is, to the best of 

my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I 

am aware that there are significant penalties for 

submitting false information, including the possibility of 

fine and imprisonment for knowing violations."  

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 

constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 

Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 

provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the 

State Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 

noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action; for permit 

coverage termination, revocation and reissuance, or 

modification; or denial of a permit coverage renewal 

application.  

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 

prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water 

Act for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge 

use or disposal established under § 405(d) of the Clean Water 

Act within the time provided in the regulations that establish 

these standards or prohibitions or standards for sewage sludge 

use or disposal, even if this permit has not yet been modified 

to incorporate the requirement.  

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 

activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of 

this permit, the permittee shall submit a new registration 

statement at least 30 days before the expiration date of the 

existing permit, unless permission for a later date has been 

granted by the board. The board shall not grant permission for 

registration statements to be submitted later than the 

expiration date of the existing permit.  

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 

property rights in either real or personal property or any 

exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 

private property or invasion of personal rights, or any 

infringement of federal, state or local law or regulations.  

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 

preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 

the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 

established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 

under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 

Except as provided in permit conditions on "bypassing" (Part 

II U) and "upset" (Part II V), nothing in this permit shall be 

construed to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal 

penalties for noncompliance.  

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 

legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 

liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 

subject under Article 11 (§ 62.1-44.34:14 et seq.) of the State 

Water Control Law. 

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 

all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 

systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 

which are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper 

operation and maintenance also includes effective plant 

performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 

adequate laboratory and process controls, including 

appropriate quality assurance procedures. This provision 

requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or 

similar systems [ which that ] are installed by the permittee 
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only when the operation is necessary to achieve compliance 

with the conditions of this permit.  

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges, or other 

pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 

of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 

any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters.  

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 

disposal in violation of this permit [ which that ] has a 

reasonable likelihood of adversely affecting human health or 

the environment.  

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 

be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 

would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 

activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 

of this permit.  

U. Bypass.  

1. "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste 

streams from any portion of a treatment facility. The 

permittee may allow any bypass to occur [ which that ] 

does not cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only 

if it also is for essential maintenance to assure efficient 

operation. These bypasses are not subject to the provisions 

of Part II U 2 and 3.  

2. Notice.  

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 

of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, 

if possible, at least 10 days before the date of the bypass.  

b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit 

notice of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part II I.  

3. Prohibition of bypass.  

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 

enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, 

unless:  

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 

personal injury, or severe property damage;  

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 

such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 

of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 

periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 

satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 

been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 

judgment to prevent a bypass which occurred during 

normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 

maintenance; and  

(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under 

Part II U 2.  

b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass, after 

considering its adverse effects, if the board determines 

that it will meet the three conditions listed above in Part 

II U 3 a.  

V. Upset.  

1. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 

brought for noncompliance with technology-based permit 

effluent limitations if the requirements of Part II V 2 are 

met. A determination made during administrative review of 

claims that noncompliance was caused by upset and before 

an action for noncompliance is not a final administrative 

action subject to judicial review.  

2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 

defense of upset shall demonstrate through properly 

signed, contemporaneous operating logs or other relevant 

evidence that:  

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 

the cause or causes of the upset;  

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 

operated;  

c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 

in Part II I; and  

d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 

required under Part II S.  

3. In any enforcement proceeding, the permittee seeking to 

establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of 

proof.  

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 

director or an authorized representative, [ including an 

authorized contractor acting as a representative of the 

administrator, ] upon presentation of credentials and other 

documents as may be required by law, to:  

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 

facility or activity is located or conducted or where records 

must be kept under the conditions of this permit;  

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 

records that must be kept under the conditions of this 

permit;  

3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 

(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 

operations regulated or required under this permit; and  

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 

of ensuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized 

by the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law 

any substances or parameters at any location.  

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 

deemed reasonable during regular business hours, and or 

whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained 
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[ herein in this general permit ] shall make an inspection 

unreasonable during an emergency.  

X. Permit actions. Permits Permit coverage may be 

modified, revoked and reissued, or terminated for cause. The 

filing of a request by the permittee for a permit modification, 

revocation and reissuance, or coverage termination, or a 

notification of planned changes or anticipated noncompliance 

does not stay any permit condition.  

Y. Transfer of permits permit coverage.  

1. Permits are Permit coverage is not transferable to any 

person except after notice to the department. Except as 

provided in Part II Y 2, a permit may be transferred by the 

permittee to a new owner or operator only if the permit has 

been modified or revoked and reissued, or a minor 

modification made, to identify the new permittee and 

incorporate such other requirements as may be necessary 

under the State Water Control Law and the Clean Water 

Act.  

2. As an alternative to transfers under Part II Y 1, 

Coverage under this permit may be automatically 

transferred to a new permittee if:  

a. The current permittee notifies the department within 

30 days of the transfer of the title to the facility or 

property;  

b. The notice includes a written agreement between the 

existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 

transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 

between them; and  

c. The board does not notify the existing permittee and 

the proposed new permittee of its intent to modify or 

revoke and reissue the permit deny permit coverage. If 

this notice is not received, the transfer is effective on the 

date specified in the agreement mentioned in Part II Y 2 

b.  

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 

and if any provision of this permit or the application of any 

provision of this permit to any circumstance, is held invalid, 

the application of such provision to other circumstances, and 

the remainder of this permit, shall not be affected thereby.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(9VAC25-120) 

Test Methods for Evaluating Solid Waste, 

Physical/Chemical Methods, EPA Publication SW-846, U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency, Third Edition as amended 

by Final Updates I, II, IIA, IIB, IIIA, IIIB, IVA, and IVB, 

National Technical Information Service (NTIS), 5285 Port 

Royal Road, Springfield, VA 22161, (703) 605-6000 or (800) 

553-6847, http://www.epa.gov/SW-846. 

https://www.epa.gov/hw-sw846  

Method 504.1, rev. 1.1 (August 1995)  

Method 7010 (February 2007) 

Method 8011 (July 1992) 

Method 8015C (November 2000) 

Method 8015C (February 2007) 

Method 8021B (December 1996) Method 8021B (July 

2014) 

Method 8260B (December 1996) 

Method 8270D (February 2007) Method 8270D (July 

2014)  

Method 9040C (November 2004) 

Methods for the Determination of Organic Compounds in 

Drinking Water, Supplement III, EPA Publication 600/R-

95/131 (August 1995), U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency, Office of Research and Development, Washington, 

D.C. 20460 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4715; Filed December 14, 2017, 9:32 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of 

Virginia, which exempts general permits issued by the State 

Water Control Board pursuant to State Water Control Law (§ 

62.1-44.2 et seq.) and Chapters 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) and 25 

(§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 if the board (i) provides a 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in conformance with 

the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01; (ii) following the passage of 

30 days from the publication of the Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action forms a technical advisory committee 

composed of relevant stakeholders, including potentially 

affected citizens groups, to assist in the development of the 

general permit; (iii) provides notice and receives oral and 

written comment as provided in § 2.2-4007.03; and (iv) 

conducts at least one public hearing on the proposed general 

permit.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-196. General Virginia 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit 

for Noncontact Cooling Water Discharges of 50,000 

Gallons Per Day or Less (amending 9VAC25-196-10, 

9VAC25-196-15, 9VAC25-196-40 through 9VAC25-196-

70).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, and 

124. 

Effective Date: March 2, 2018.  

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This final 

regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

https://www.epa.gov/hw-sw846
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8ae99002774~9&typ=40&actno=002774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c9d09002774~1&typ=40&actno=002774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=61e4c002774~2&typ=40&actno=002774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ed578002774~8&typ=40&actno=002774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38803002774~3&typ=40&actno=002774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=43e44004715~2&typ=40&actno=004715&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=43e44004715~2&typ=40&actno=004715&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ab926002774~5&typ=40&actno=002774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cfec6004715~4&typ=40&actno=004715&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cfec6004715~4&typ=40&actno=004715&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2586b002774~7&typ=40&actno=002774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e787002774~10&typ=40&actno=002774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e787002774~10&typ=40&actno=002774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e787002774~10&typ=40&actno=002774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e787002774~10&typ=40&actno=002774&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e787002774~10&typ=40&actno=002774&mime=application/pdf
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Agency Contact: Matthew Richardson, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4195, FAX (804) 

698-4032, or email matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action revises and reissues the existing 

general permit that expires on March 1, 2018. This general 

permit establishes effluent limitations and monitoring 

requirements for point source discharges of 50,000 gallons 

per day or less of noncontact cooling water and cooling 

equipment blowdown to surface waters. The general 

permit regulation is being reissued to continue making it 

available as a permitting option for this type of discharger. 

The changes make this general permit similar to other 

general permits issued recently and clarify and update 

permit limit and conditions. 

Substantive changes to the existing regulation include (i) 

requiring permittees to notify a municipal separate storm 

sewer system (MS4) owner of the existence of the 

discharge at the time of registration under the general 

permit and to include a copy of that notification with the 

registration statement; (ii) removing the effluent 

limitations and monitoring requirements for the first four 

years of the previous permit term as these requirements 

are not applicable for this reissuance; (iii) clarifying that 

the "1/3 months" monitoring frequency means the 

following three-month periods each year of permit 

coverage: January through March, April through June, 

July through September, and October through December; 

and (iv) requiring the permittee to develop an operation 

and maintenance manual for equipment or systems used to 

meet effluent limitations within 90 days of permit coverage. 

CHAPTER 196  

GENERAL VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE 

ELIMINATION SYSTEM (VPDES) GENERAL PERMIT 

FOR NONCONTACT COOLING WATER DISCHARGES 

OF 50,000 GALLONS PER DAY OR LESS  

9VAC25-196-10. Definitions. 

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 

meanings defined in § 62.1-44.2 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia (State Water Control Law) and 9VAC25-31-10 

9VAC25-31 (VPDES Permit Regulation) unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise, except that for the purposes of 

this chapter:  

"Blowdown" means a discharge of recirculating water from 

any cooling equipment or cooling process in order to 

maintain a desired quality of the recirculating water. Boiler 

blowdown is excluded from this definition.  

"Board" means the State Water Control Board. 

"Cooling water" means water used for cooling which does 

not come into direct contact with any raw product, 

intermediate product (other than heat) or finished product. For 

the purposes of this general permit, cooling water can be 

generated from any cooling equipment blowdown or 

produced as a result of any noncontact cooling process 

through either a single pass (once through) or recirculating 

system.  

"Department" or "DEQ" means the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality.  

"Director" means the Director of the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality, or an authorized representative.  

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means a 

calculation of the maximum amount of a pollutant that a 

waterbody can receive and still meet water quality standards 

and an allocation of that amount to the pollutant's sources. A 

TMDL includes wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point 

source discharges, and load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint 

sources or natural background or both, and must include a 

margin of safety (MOS) and account for seasonal variations.  

9VAC25-196-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the 

Code of Federal Regulations is referenced or adopted herein 

in this chapter and incorporated by reference, that regulation 

shall be as it exists and has been published as a final 

regulation in the Federal Register prior to July 1, 2012, with 

the effective date as published in the Federal Register notice 

or March 2, 2013, whichever is later as of July 1, 2017. 

9VAC25-196-40. Effective date of the permit.  

This general permit will become effective on March 2, 2013 

2018. This general permit will expire on March 1, 2018 2023. 

This general permit is effective as to any covered owner upon 

compliance with all the provisions of 9VAC25-196-50.  

9VAC25-196-50. Authorization to discharge.  

A. Any owner governed by this general permit is hereby 

authorized to discharge to surface waters of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia provided that the owner submits 

and receives acceptance by the board of the registration 

statement of 9VAC25-196-60, submits the required permit 

fee, and complies with the effluent limitations and other 

requirements of 9VAC25-196-70, and provided that the board 

has not notified the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 

coverage in accordance with subsection B of this section.  

B. The board will notify an owner that the discharge is not 

eligible for coverage under this general permit in the event of 

any of the following:  

1. The owner is required to obtain an individual permit in 

accordance with 9VAC25-31-170 B 3 of the VPDES 

Permit Regulation;  
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2. The owner is proposing to discharge to Class V 

stockable trout waters, Class VI natural trout waters, or any 

state waters specifically named in other board regulations 

that prohibit such discharges;  

3. The discharge violates or would violate the 

antidegradation policy in the Water Quality Standards at 

9VAC25-260-30; or 

4. The discharge is not consistent with the assumptions and 

requirements of an approved TMDL.  

C. Chlorine or any other halogen compounds shall not be 

used for disinfection or other treatment purposes, including 

biocide applications, for any discharges to waters containing 

endangered or threatened species as identified in 9VAC25-

260-110 C of the Water Quality Standards.  

D. The owner shall not use tributyltin, any chemical 

additives containing tributyltin, or any hexavalent chromium-

based water treatment chemicals containing hexavalent 

chromium in the cooling water systems.  

E. The owner shall not use groundwater remediation wells 

as the source of cooling water.  

F. Compliance with this general permit constitutes 

compliance [ , for purposes of enforcement, ] with [ §§ 301, 

302, 306, 307, 318, 404, and 405(a) through (b) of ]  the 

federal Clean Water Act, and the State Water Control Law, 

and applicable regulations under either with the exceptions 

stated in 9VAC25-31-60 of the VPDES Permit Regulation. 

Approval for coverage under this general permit does not 

relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with any 

other applicable federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, or 

regulation.  

G. Continuation of permit coverage.  

1. [ Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 

noncontact cooling water discharges general permit issued 

in ] 2008 [ 2013 and that submits a complete registration 

statement on or before March 2, ] 2013 [ 2018, is 

authorized to continue to discharge under the terms of the ] 

2008 [ 2013 general permit Permit coverage shall expire at 

the end of its term. However, expiring permit coverages 

are automatically continued if the owner has submitted a 

complete registration statement at least 30 days prior to the 

expiration date of the permit, or a later submittal 

established by the board, which cannot extend beyond the 

expiration date of the original permit. The permittee is 

authorized to continue to discharge ] until such time as the 

board either:  

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit; 

or  

b. Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 

coverage under this general permit.  

2. When the owner that was covered under the expiring or 

expired general permit has violated or is violating the 

conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any 

or all of the following:  

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the general 

permit [ coverage ] that has been continued;  

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 

amended reissued general permit. If the general permit 

coverage is denied, the owner would then be required to 

cease the discharges authorized by the continued general 

permit or be subject to enforcement action for 

discharging without a permit;  

c. Issue an a VPDES individual permit with appropriate 

conditions; or  

d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES Permit 

Regulation (9VAC25-31).  

9VAC25-196-60. Registration statement.  

A. Deadlines for submitting registration statements. The 

owner seeking coverage under this general permit shall 

submit a complete VPDES general permit registration 

statement in accordance with this section, which shall serve 

as a notice of intent for coverage under the general VPDES 

general permit for noncontact cooling water discharges of 

50,000 gallons per day or less.  

1. New facilities. Any owner proposing a new discharge 

shall submit a complete registration statement at least 30 

days prior to the date planned for commencing operation of 

the new discharge.  

2. Existing facilities.  

a. Any owner covered by an a VPDES individual VPDES 

permit who is proposing to be covered by this general 

permit shall submit a complete registration statement at 

least 210 days prior to the expiration date of the VPDES 

individual VPDES permit.  

b. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 

[ expiring or expired ] VPDES general VPDES permit 

[ that became effective on March 2, ] 2008 [ 2013, ] and 

who that intends to continue coverage under this general 

permit shall submit a complete registration statement to 

the board [ on or before February 1, ] 2013 [ 2018 at least 

30 days prior to the expiration date of the existing permit 

or a later submittal established by the board ]. 

B. Late registration statements. Registration statements will 

be accepted after [ March ] 2, 2013 [ 1, 2018 the expiration 

date of the general permit ], but authorization to discharge 

will not be retroactive. [ Owners described in subdivision A 2 

b of this section that submit registration statements after 

February 1, ] 2013 [ 2018, are authorized to discharge under 

the provisions of 9VAC25-196-50 G if a complete 
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registration statement is submitted on or before March 2, ] 

2013 [ 1, 2018. ]  

C. The required registration statement shall contain the 

following information:  

1. Facility name and address, owner name, mailing 

address, telephone number, and email address (if 

available); 

2. Operator name, mailing address, telephone number, and 

email address (if available) if different from owner; 

3. Does the facility currently have a VPDES permit? 

Permit Number if yes Current VPDES permit registration 

number (if applicable); 

4. Listing List of point source discharges that are not 

composed entirely of cooling water; 

5. Listing List of type and size (tons) of cooling equipment 

or noncontact cooling water processes; 

6. The following information if any chemical or 

nonchemical treatment, or both, is employed in each of the 

cooling water systems system:  

a. Description of the treatment to be employed (both 

chemical and nonchemical) and its purpose; for chemical 

additives other than chlorine, provide the information 

prescribed in subdivisions 6 b, c, d, e, and f; 

b. Name and manufacturer of each additive used;  

c. List of active ingredients and percent composition of 

each additive;  

d. Proposed dosing schedule and quantity of chemical 

usage, and either an engineering analysis [ , ] or a 

technical evaluation of the active ingredients [ , ] to 

determine the discharge concentration in the discharge of 

each contaminant;  

e. Available aquatic toxicity information for each 

proposed additive used; and  

f. Any other information such as product or constituent 

degradation, fate, transport, synergies, bioavailability, 

etc., that will aid the board with the toxicity evaluation of 

the discharge; and 

g. Safety data sheet for each proposed additive. 

7. Description of any type of treatment or retention being 

provided to the wastewater before discharge (i.e., retention 

ponds, settling ponds, etc.); 

8. A schematic drawing of the cooling water equipment 

that shows the source of the cooling water, its flow through 

the facility, and each noncontact cooling water discharge 

point; 

9. A USGS 7.5 minute topographic map or equivalent 

computer generated map extending to at least one mile 

beyond the property boundary. The map must show the 

outline of the facility and the location of each of its 

existing and proposed intake and discharge points, and 

must include all springs, rivers and other surface water 

bodies; 

10. The following discharge information:  

a. A listing list of all cooling water discharges identified 

by a unique number, latitude, and longitude;  

b. The source of cooling water for each discharge;  

c. An estimate of the maximum daily flow in gallons per 

day for each discharge;  

d. The name of the waterbody receiving direct discharge 

or discharge through the municipal separate storm sewer 

system (MS4); and 

e. The duration and frequency of the discharge for each 

separate discharge point; continuous, intermittent, or 

seasonal; 

11. Whether the facility will discharge to a municipal 

separate storm sewer system (MS4). If so, the name of the 

MS4 owner. The owner of the facility shall notify the MS4 

owner in writing of the existence of the discharge within 

30 days of coverage under the general permit and shall 

copy the DEQ regional office with the notification. A 

determination of whether the facility will discharge to a 

MS4. If the facility discharges to a MS4, the facility owner 

must notify the owner of the MS4 of the existence of the 

discharge at the time of registration under this permit and 

include that notification with the registration statement. 

The notification notice shall include the following 

information: the name of the facility, a contact person and 

phone telephone number, the location of the discharge, the 

nature of the discharge, and the facility's VPDES general 

permit registration number if a reissuance; and 

12. The following certification:  

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to 

assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the system or those 

persons directly responsible for gathering the 

information, the information submitted is to the best of 

my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and complete. I 

am aware that there are significant penalties for 

submitting false information including the possibility of 

fine and imprisonment for knowing violations." 

D. The registration statement shall be signed in accordance 

with 9VAC25-31-110. 
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E. The registration statement shall be delivered by either 

postal or electronic mail to the DEQ regional office serving 

the area where the facility is located.  

9VAC25-196-70. General permit. 

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the 

board will receive coverage under the following permit and 

shall comply with the requirements therein and be subject to 

all requirements of 9VAC25-31.  

General Permit No: VAG25  

Effective Date: March 2, 2013 2018 

Expiration Date: March 1, 2018 2023 

GENERAL PERMIT FOR NONCONTACT COOLING 

WATER DISCHARGES OF 50,000 GALLONS PER DAY 

OR LESS  

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 

VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 

SYSTEM AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER 

CONTROL LAW  

 

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, 

as amended, and pursuant to the State Water Control Law and 

regulations adopted pursuant thereto, owners of noncontact 

cooling water discharges of 50,000 gallons per day or less are 

authorized to discharge to surface waters within the 

boundaries of the Commonwealth of Virginia, except Class V 

stockable trout waters, Class VI natural trout waters, and 

those specifically named in board regulations that prohibit 

such discharges. Chlorine or any other halogen compounds 

shall not be used for disinfection or other treatment purposes, 

including biocide applications, for any discharges to waters 

containing endangered or threatened species as identified in 

9VAC25-260-110 C of the Water Quality Standards.  

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the 

information submitted with the registration statement, this 

cover page, Part I - Effluent Limitations and Monitoring 

Requirements, and Part II - Conditions Applicable to all 

VPDES Permits, as set forth herein in this general permit.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS.  

During the period beginning on the permit's effective date and lasting until the permit's expiration date, the permittee is 

authorized to discharge noncontact cooling water. Samples taken in compliance with the monitoring requirements specified 

below shall be taken at the following location(s): outfall(s) _______________.  

1. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements for the first four years of the permit term (March 2, 2013, through March 

1, 2017). Discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 
DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Maximum Minimum Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) 0.05 NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

Temperature (°C) (1) NA 1/3 Months Immersion 

Stabilization 

pH (SU) 9.0(2) 6.0(2) 1/3 Months Grab 

Ammonia-N(3) (mg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine(3) (mg/l) Nondetectable NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Hardness (mg/l CaCO3)(7) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Copper(4) (μg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Zinc(4) (μg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Silver(4), (5) (μg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Phosphorus(6) (mg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 
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NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 

(1)The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, or 31°C 

for mountain and upper piedmont waters. No maximum temperature limit, only monitoring, applies to discharges to estuarine 

waters. 

The effluent shall not cause an increase in temperature of the receiving stream of more than 3°C above the natural water 

temperature. The effluent shall not cause the temperature in the receiving stream to change more than 2°C per hour. Natural 

temperature is defined as that temperature of a body of water (measured as the arithmetic average over one hour) due solely to 

natural conditions without the influence of any point-source discharge.  
(2)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in the waters receiving the 

discharge, those standards shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations.  
(3)Chlorine limitation of nondetectable (<0.1 mg/l) and chlorine monitoring only apply to outfalls directly discharging to 

surface waters where either: (i) a treatment additive that contains chlorine or chlorine compounds is used or (ii) the source of 

cooling water is chlorinated. All data below the quantification level (QL) of 0.1 mg/L shall be reported as "<QL." Ammonia 

monitoring only applies where the source of cooling water is disinfected using chloramines.  
(4)A specific analytical method is not specified; however, a maximum quantification level (Max QL) value for each metal has 

been established. An appropriate method to meet the Max QL value shall be selected using any approved method presented in 

40 CFR Part 136. If the test result is less than the method quantification level (QL), a "<[QL]" shall be reported where the 

actual analytical test QL is substituted for [QL].  

 Material Max QL (μg/l) 

 Copper 1.0 

 Zinc 50.0 

 Silver 1.0 

Quality control/assurance information shall be submitted to document that the required QL has been attained. 
(5)Silver monitoring is only required where a Cu/Ag anode is used. 
(6)Phosphorus monitoring is only required where an additive containing phosphorus is used. 
(7)Hardness monitoring is only required for discharges to freshwater streams, perennial streams, or dry ditches.  

2. 1. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements for the last year of the permit term (March 2, 2017, through March 1, 

2018), discharges to freshwater receiving streams waterbodies. Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the 

permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 
DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Maximum Minimum Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) 0.05 NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

Temperature (°C) (1) NA 1/3 Months Immersion 

Stabilization 

pH (SU) 9.0(2) 6.0(2) 1/3 Months Grab 

Ammonia-N(3) (mg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine(3) (mg/l) Nondetectable NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Copper(4) (μg/l) 9.0 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Zinc(4) (μg/l) 120 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Silver(4), (5) (μg/l) 3.4 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Phosphorus(6) (mg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 
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NA = Not applicable 

1/3 Months = the following three-month periods each year of permit coverage: January through March, April through June, July 

through September, and October through December 

(1)The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, or 31°C 

for mountain and upper piedmont waters. No maximum temperature limit, only monitoring, applies to discharges to estuarine 

waters. 

The effluent shall not cause an increase in temperature of the receiving stream of more than 3°C above the natural water 

temperature. The effluent shall not cause the temperature in the receiving stream to change more than 2°C per hour. Natural 

temperature is defined as that temperature of a body of water (measured as the arithmetic average over one hour) due solely to 

natural conditions without the influence of any point source discharge. 
(2)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in the waters receiving the 

discharge, those standards shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations. 
(3)Chlorine limitation of nondetectable (<0.1 mg/l) and chlorine monitoring only apply to outfalls directly discharging to 

surface waters where either: (i) a treatment additive that contains chlorine or chlorine compounds is used or (ii) the source of 

cooling water is chlorinated. All data below the quantification level (QL) of 0.1 mg/L shall be reported as "<QL." Ammonia 

monitoring only applies where the source of cooling water is disinfected using chloramines. 
(4)A specific analytical method is not specified; however, a maximum quantification level (Max QL) value for each metal has 

been established. An appropriate method to meet the Max QL value shall be selected using any approved method presented in 

40 CFR Part 136. If the test result is less than the method quantification level (QL), a "<[QL]" shall be reported where the 

actual analytical test QL is substituted for [QL].  

  Material Max QL (μg/l) 

  Copper 1.0 

  Zinc 50.0 

  Silver 1.0 

Quality control/assurance information shall be submitted to document that the required QL has been attained. 
(5)Silver monitoring is only required where a Cu/Ag anode is used. 
(6)Phosphorus monitoring is only required where an additive containing phosphorus is used. 

3. 2. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements for the last year of the permit term (March 2, 2017, through March 1, 

2018), discharges to saltwater receiving streams waterbodies. Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the 

permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 
DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Maximum Minimum Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) 0.05 NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

Temperature (°C) (1) NA 1/3 Months Immersion 

Stabilization 

pH (SU) 9.0(2) 6.0(2) 1/3 Months Grab 

Ammonia-N(3) (mg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine(3) (mg/l) Nondetectable NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Copper(4) (μg/l) 6.0 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Zinc(4) (μg/l) 81 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Silver(4), (5) (μg/l) 1.9 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Phosphorus(6) (mg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 
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NA = Not applicable 

1/3 Months = the following three-month periods each year of permit coverage: January through March, April through June, 

July through September, and October through December 

(1)The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, or 31°C 

for mountain and upper piedmont waters. No maximum temperature limit, only monitoring, applies to discharges to estuarine 

waters. 

The effluent shall not cause an increase in temperature of the receiving stream of more than 3°C above the natural water 

temperature. The effluent shall not cause the temperature in the receiving stream to change more than 2°C per hour. Natural 

temperature is defined as that temperature of a body of water (measured as the arithmetic average over one hour) due solely to 

natural conditions without the influence of any point source discharge. 
(2)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in the waters receiving the 

discharge, those standards shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations. 
(3)Chlorine limitation of nondetectable (<0.1 mg/l) and chlorine monitoring only apply to outfalls directly discharging to 

surface waters where either: (i) a treatment additive that contains chlorine or chlorine compounds is used or (ii) the source of 

cooling water is chlorinated. All data below the quantification level (QL) of 0.1 mg/L shall be reported as "<QL." Ammonia 

monitoring only applies where the source of cooling water is disinfected using chloramines. 
(4)A specific analytical method is not specified; however, a maximum quantification level (Max QL) value for each metal has 

been established. An appropriate method to meet the Max QL value shall be selected using any approved method presented in 

40 CFR Part 136. If the test result is less than the method quantification level (QL), a "<[QL]" shall be reported where the 

actual analytical test QL is substituted for [QL].  

  Material Max QL (μg/l) 

  Copper 1.0 

  Zinc 50.0 

  Silver 1.0 

Quality control/assurance information shall be submitted to document that the required QL has been attained. 
(5)Silver monitoring is only required where a Cu/Ag anode is used. 
(6)Phosphorus monitoring is only required where an additive containing phosphorus is used. 

B. Special conditions.  

1. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible 

foam in other than trace amounts.  

2. No discharges other than cooling water, as defined, are 

permitted under this general permit.  

3. The use of any chemical additives not identified in the 

registration statement, except chlorine, without prior 

approval is prohibited under this general permit. Prior 

approval shall be obtained from the DEQ before any 

changes are made to the chemical or nonchemical 

treatment technology employed in the cooling water 

system. Requests for approval of the change shall be made 

in writing and shall include the following information:  

a. Describe the chemical or nonchemical treatment to be 

employed and its purpose; if chemical additives are used, 

provide the information prescribed in subdivisions 3 b, c, 

d, e, and f; 

b. Provide the name and manufacturer of each additive 

used;  

c. Provide a list of active ingredients and percentage of 

composition;  

d. Give the proposed schedule and quantity of chemical 

usage, and provide either an engineering analysis, or a 

technical evaluation of the active ingredients, to 

determine the concentration in the discharge;  

e. Attach available aquatic toxicity information for each 

additive proposed for use; and 

f. Attach any other information such as product or 

constituent degradation, fate, transport, synergies, 

bioavailability, etc., that will aid the board with the 

toxicity evaluation for the discharge; and 

g. Attach a safety data sheet for each proposed additive.  

4. Where cooling water is discharged through a municipal 

storm sewer system to surface waters, the permittee shall, 

within 30 days of coverage under this general permit, 

notify the owner of the municipal separate storm sewer 

system in writing of the existence of the discharge and 

provide the following information: the name of the facility, 

a contact person and phone number, the nature of the 

discharge, the location of the discharge, and the facility's 

VPDES general permit number. A copy of such 

notification shall be provided to the department. Discharge 

Monitoring Reports (DMRs) required by this permit shall 
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be submitted to both the department and the owner of the 

municipal separate storm sewer system. A determination of 

whether the facility will discharge to a MS4. If the facility 

discharges to a MS4, the facility owner must notify the 

owner of the MS4 of the existence of the discharge at the 

time of registration under this permit and include that 

notification with the registration statement. The notice 

shall include the following information: the name of the 

facility, a contact person and telephone number, the 

location of the discharge, the nature of the discharge, and 

the facility's VPDES general permit registration number if 

a reissuance. Discharge monitoring reports (DMRs) 

required by this permit shall be submitted to both the 

department and the owner of the MS4.  

5. The permittee shall at all times properly operate and 

maintain all cooling water systems. Inspection shall be 

conducted for each cooling water unit by the plant 

personnel at least once per year with reports maintained on 

site Operation and maintenance manual requirement. 

a. Within 90 days after the date of coverage under this 

general permit, the permittee shall develop an operation 

and maintenance (O&M) manual for the equipment or 

systems used to meet effluent limitations. The O&M 

manual shall be reviewed within 90 days of changes to 

the equipment or systems used to meet effluent 

limitations. The O&M manual shall be certified in 

accordance with Part II K of this permit. The O&M 

manual shall be made available for review by department 

personnel upon request. 

b. This manual shall detail the practices and procedures 

that will be followed to ensure compliance with the 

requirements of this permit. Within 30 days of a request 

by the department, the current O&M manual shall be 

submitted to the board for review and approval. The 

permittee shall operate the treatment works in accordance 

with the O&M manual. Noncompliance with the O&M 

manual shall be deemed a violation of the permit. 

c. This manual shall include, but not necessarily be 

limited to, the following items: 

(1) Techniques to be employed in the collection, 

preservation, and analysis of effluent samples; 

(2) Discussion of best management practices; 

(3) Design, operation, routine preventative maintenance 

of equipment or systems used to meet effluent 

limitations, critical spare parts inventory, and 

recordkeeping; 

(4) A plan for the management or disposal of waste 

solids and residues, and a requirement that all solids shall 

be handled, stored, and disposed of so as to prevent a 

discharge to state waters; and 

(5) Procedures for measuring and recording the duration 

and volume of treated wastewater discharged. 

6. The permittee shall notify the department as soon as 

they know the permittee knows or have has reason to 

believe:  

a. That any activity has occurred or will occur which 

would result in the discharge, on a routine or frequent 

basis, of any toxic pollutant which is not limited in this 

permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest of the 

following notification levels: 

(1) One hundred micrograms per liter (100 μg/l); 

(2) Two hundred micrograms per liter (200 μg/l) for 

acrolein and acrylonitrile; 500 micrograms per liter (500 

μg/l) for 2,4-dinitrophenol and for 

2-methyl-4,6-dinitrophenol; and one milligram per liter 

(1 mg/l) for antimony; 

(3) Five times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the permit application registration 

statement; or 

(4) The level established by the board in accordance with 

9VAC25-31-220 F. 

b. That any activity has occurred or will occur which 

would result in any discharge, on a nonroutine or 

infrequent basis, of a toxic pollutant which is not limited 

in this permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest of 

the following notification levels: 

(1) Five hundred micrograms per liter (500 μg/l); 

(2) One milligram per liter (1 mg/l) for antimony; 

(3) Ten times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the permit application; or 

(4) The level established by the board in accordance with 

9VAC25-31-220 F. 

7. Geothermal systems using groundwater and no chemical 

additives. Geothermal systems using groundwater and no 

chemical additives may be eligible for reduced monitoring 

requirements. 

If a geothermal system was covered by the previous 

noncontact cooling water general permit, and the 

monitoring results from the previous permit term 

demonstrate full compliance with the effluent limitations, 

the permittee may request authorization from the 

department to reduce the monitoring to once in the first 

monitoring quarter of the first year of this permit term. 

Owners of new geothermal systems, and previously 

unpermitted geothermal systems that receive coverage 

under this permit shall submit monitoring results to the 

department for the first four monitoring quarters after 

coverage begins. If the monitoring results demonstrate full 
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compliance with the effluent limitations, the permittee may 

request authorization from the department to suspend 

monitoring for the remainder of the permit term. 

Should the permittee be issued a warning letter or notice of 

violation related to violation of effluent limitations, a 

notice of violation, or be the subject of an active 

enforcement action regarding effluent limit violations, 

upon issuance of the letter or notice, or initiation of the 

enforcement action, the monitoring frequency shall revert 

to 1/3 months and remain in effect until the permit's 

expiration date. 

8. Monitoring results shall be reported using the same 

number of significant digits as listed in the permit. 

Regardless of the rounding convention used by the 

permittee (e.g., five always rounding up or to the nearest 

even number), the permittee shall use the convention 

consistently and shall ensure that consulting laboratories 

employed by the permittee use the same convention.  

9. Discharges to waters with an approved "total maximum 

daily load" (TMDL) TMDL. Owners of facilities that are a 

source of the specified pollutant of concern to waters 

where an approved TMDL has been established shall 

implement measures and controls that are consistent with 

the assumptions and requirements of the TMDL.  

10. Notice of termination.  

a. The owner may terminate coverage under this general 

permit by filing a complete notice of termination with the 

department. The notice of termination may be filed after 

one or more of the following conditions have been met:  

(1) Operations have ceased at the facility and there are no 

longer cooling water discharges from the facility;  

(2) A new owner has assumed responsibility for the 

facility (NOTE: A notice of termination does not have to 

be submitted if a VPDES Change of Ownership 

Agreement form has been submitted);  

(3) All cooling water discharges associated with this 

facility have been covered by an a VPDES individual 

VPDES permit or an alternative VPDES permit; or  

(4) Termination of coverage is being requested for 

another reason, provided the board agrees that coverage 

under this general permit is no longer needed.  

b. The notice of termination shall contain the following 

information:  

(1) Owner's name, mailing address, telephone number, 

and email address (if available);  

(2) Facility name and location;  

(3) VPDES noncontact cooling water discharges general 

permit number; and 

(4) The basis for submitting the notice of termination, 

including:  

(a) A statement indicating that a new owner has assumed 

responsibility for the facility;  

(b) A statement indicating that operations have ceased at 

the facility and there are no longer noncontact cooling 

water discharges from the facility;  

(c) A statement indicating that all noncontact cooling 

water discharges have been covered by an a VPDES 

individual VPDES permit; or  

(d) A statement indicating that termination of coverage is 

being requested for another reason (state the reason).  

c. The following certification: "I certify under penalty of 

law that all noncontact cooling water discharges from the 

identified facility that are authorized by this VPDES 

general permit have been eliminated, or covered under a 

VPDES individual or alternative permit, or that I am no 

longer the owner of the facility, or permit coverage 

should be terminated for another reason listed above. I 

understand that by submitting this notice of termination 

that I am no longer authorized to discharge noncontact 

cooling water in accordance with the general permit, and 

that discharging pollutants in noncontact cooling water to 

surface waters is unlawful where the discharge is not 

authorized by a VPDES permit. I also understand that the 

submittal of this notice of termination does not release an 

owner from liability for any violations of this permit or 

the Clean Water Act."  

d. The notice of termination shall be signed in 

accordance with Part II K.  

e. The notice of termination shall be submitted to the 

DEQ regional office serving the area where the 

noncontact cooling water discharge is located.  

11. The discharges authorized by this permit shall be 

controlled as necessary to meet applicable water quality 

standards.  

12. Approval for coverage under this general permit does 

not relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with 

any other federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, or 

regulation.  

Part II  

Conditions Applicable to All VPDES Permits  

A. Monitoring.  

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 

permit shall be representative of the monitored activity.  

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 

approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 

unless other procedures have been specified in this permit.  
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3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 

maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 

measurements.  

4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be 

analyzed in accordance with 1VAC30-45, Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories, or 1VAC30-

46, Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 

Laboratories.  

B. Records.  

1. Records of monitoring information shall include:  

a. The date, and exact place and time of sampling or 

measurements;  

b. The individual(s) individuals who performed the 

sampling or measurements;  

c. The date(s) dates and time(s) times analyses were 

performed;  

d. The individual(s) individuals who performed the 

analyses;  

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and  

f. The results of such analyses.  

2. Except for records of monitoring information required 

by this permit related to the permittee's sewage sludge use 

and disposal activities, which shall be retained for a period 

of at least five years, the permittee shall retain records of 

all monitoring information, including all calibration and 

maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings 

for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by this permit, and records of all data used 

to complete the registration statement for this permit, for a 

period of at least three years from the date of the sample, 

measurement, report or request for coverage. This period 

of retention shall be extended automatically during the 

course of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated 

activity or regarding control standards applicable to the 

permittee or as requested by the board.  

C. Reporting monitoring results.  

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 

required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 

month after monitoring takes place, unless another 

reporting schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. 

Monitoring results shall be submitted to the department's 

regional office.  

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge 

Monitoring Report (DMR) or on forms provided, approved 

or specified by the department.  

3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 

addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 

this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 

Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the 

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 

specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 

be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 

submitted in the DMR or reporting form specified by the 

department.  

4. Calculations for all limitations which require averaging 

of measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 

otherwise specified in this permit.  

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 

to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 

which the board may request to determine whether cause 

exists for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating 

coverage under this permit or to determine compliance with 

this permit. The board may require the permittee to furnish, 

upon request, such plans, specifications, and other pertinent 

information as may be necessary to determine the effect of 

the wastes from [ his the permittee's ] discharge on the quality 

of state waters, or such other information as may be necessary 

to accomplish the purposes of the State Water Control Law. 

The permittee shall also furnish to the department upon 

request copies of records required to be kept by this permit.  

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 

noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 

final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 

this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 

each schedule date.  

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 

permit or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to:  

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or  

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological 

properties of such state waters and make them detrimental 

to the public health, to animal or aquatic life, to the use of 

such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, for 

recreation, or for other uses.  

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee who 

discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, 

industrial waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious 

substance into or upon state waters in violation of Part II F, or 

who discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may 

reasonably be expected to enter state waters in violation of 

Part II F, shall notify the department of the discharge 

immediately upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case 

later than 24 hours after said discovery. A written report of 

the unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the 

department within five days of discovery of the discharge. 

The written report shall contain:  

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge;  
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2. The cause of the discharge;  

3. The date on which the discharge occurred;  

4. The length of time that the discharge continued;  

5. The volume of the discharge;  

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 

continue;  

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 

volume of the discharge will be; and  

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate and 

prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 

discharges not authorized by this permit.  

Discharges reportable to the department under the 

immediate reporting requirements of other regulations are 

exempted from this requirement.  

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 

unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or 

upset should occur from a treatment works and the discharge 

enters or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee 

shall promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, the 

department by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. 

This notification shall provide all available details of the 

incident, including any adverse affects effects on aquatic life 

and the known number of fish killed. The permittee shall 

reduce the report to writing and shall submit it to the 

department within five days of discovery of the discharge in 

accordance with Part II I [ 2 1 b ]. Unusual and extraordinary 

discharges include but are not limited to any discharge 

resulting from:  

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 

indirectly from processing operations;  

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment;  

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the 

treatment works; and  

4. Flooding or other acts of nature.  

I. Reports of noncompliance. 

[ 1. ] The permittee shall report any noncompliance which 

that may adversely affect state waters or may endanger public 

health. 

[ 1.  a. ] An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours 

from the time the permittee becomes aware of the 

circumstances. The following shall be included as 

information which shall be reported within 24 hours 

under this subsection:  

[ a. (1) ] Any unanticipated bypass; and  

[ b. (2) ] Any upset which causes a discharge to surface 

waters. 

[ 2. b. ] A written report shall be submitted within five 

days and shall contain:  

[ a. (1) ] A description of the noncompliance and its 

cause;  

[ b. (2) ] The period of noncompliance, including exact 

dates and times, and if the noncompliance has not been 

corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 

and  

[ c. (3) ] Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance.  

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 

basis for reports of noncompliance under Part II I if the 

oral report has been received within 24 hours and no 

adverse impact on state waters has been reported.  

[ 3. 2. ] The permittee shall report all instances of 

noncompliance not reported under Part II I 1 [ or 2 ], in 

writing, at the time the next monitoring reports are 

submitted. The reports shall contain the information listed 

in Part II I [ 2 1 b ].  

NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 

in Parts II G, H and I may be made to the department's 

regional office. Reports may be made by telephone, FAX, 

or online at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponseP

reparedness/PollutionReportingForm.aspx. For reports 

outside normal working hours, leave a message and this 

shall fulfill the immediate reporting requirement. For 

emergencies, the Virginia Department of Emergency 

Services maintains a 24-hour telephone service at 1-800-

468-8892. 

[ 3. Where the permittee becomes aware that it failed to 

submit any relevant facts in a permit registration statement 

or submitted incorrect information in a permit registration 

statement or in any report to the department, it shall 

promptly submit such facts or information. ] 

J. Notice of planned changes.  

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as 

soon as possible of any planned physical alterations or 

additions to the permitted facility. Notice is required only 

when:  

a. The permittee plans alteration or addition to any 

building, structure, facility, or installation from which 

there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 

construction of which commenced:  

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance 

under § 306 of Clean Water Act which are applicable to 

such source; or  

(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 

accordance with § 306 of Clean Water Act which are 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponsePreparedness/PollutionReportingForm.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponsePreparedness/PollutionReportingForm.aspx
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applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 

promulgated in accordance with § 306 within 120 days of 

their proposal;  

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change 

the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants 

discharged. This notification applies to pollutants which 

are subject neither to effluent limitations nor to 

notification requirements [ specified elsewhere in this 

permit under Part I B 6 ]; or  

c. The alteration or addition results in a significant 

change in the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices, 

and such alteration, addition, or change may justify the 

application of permit conditions that are different from or 

absent in the existing permit, including notification of 

additional use or disposal sites not reported during the 

permit application registration process or not reported 

pursuant to an approved land application plan.  

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the 

department of any planned changes in the permitted facility 

or activity which may result in noncompliance with permit 

requirements.  

K. Signatory requirements.  

1. Registration statements. All registration statements shall 

be signed as follows:  

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 

For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 

officer means: (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or 

vice-president of the corporation in charge of a principal 

business function, or any other person who performs 

similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 

the corporation, or (ii) the manager of one or more 

manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, 

provided the manager is authorized to make management 

decisions that govern the operation of the regulated 

facility including having the explicit or implicit duty of 

making major capital investment recommendations, and 

initiating and directing other comprehensive measures to 

assure long-term environmental compliance with 

environmental laws and regulations; the manager can 

ensure that the necessary systems are established or 

actions taken to gather complete and accurate 

information for permit application registration 

requirements; and where authority to sign documents has 

been assigned or delegated to the manager in accordance 

with corporate procedures;  

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; or  

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 

executive officer of a public agency includes: (i) the 

chief executive officer of the agency, or (ii) a senior 

executive officer having responsibility for the overall 

operations of a principal geographic unit of the agency.  

2. Reports, etc and other information. All reports required 

by permits, and other information requested by the board 

shall be signed by a person described in Part II K 1, or by a 

duly authorized representative of that person. A person is a 

duly authorized representative only if:  

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 

described in Part II K 1;  

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 

the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 

plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 

superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or 

an individual or position having overall responsibility for 

environmental matters for the company (a duly 

authorized representative may thus be either a named 

individual or any individual occupying a named 

position); and  

c. The written authorization is submitted to the 

department.  

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part 

II K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual 

or position has responsibility for the overall operation of 

the facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements 

of Part II K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to 

or together with any reports or information to be signed by 

an authorized representative.  

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under Part 

II K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification:  

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to 

assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the system, or 

those persons directly responsible for gathering the 

information, the information submitted is, to the best of 

my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I 

am aware that there are significant penalties for 

submitting false information, including the possibility of 

fine and imprisonment for knowing violations."  

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 

constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 

Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 

provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the 

State Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 

noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action; for permit 

coverage termination, revocation and reissuance, or 
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modification; or denial of a permit coverage renewal 

application.  

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 

prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water 

Act for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge 

use or disposal established under § 405(d) of the Clean Water 

Act within the time provided in the regulations that establish 

these standards or prohibitions or standards for sewage sludge 

use or disposal, even if this permit has not yet been modified 

to incorporate the requirement.  

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 

activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of 

this permit, the permittee shall apply for and obtain coverage 

under a new permit. All permittees with a currently effective 

permit coverage shall submit a new registration statement at 

least 30 days before the expiration date of the existing permit, 

unless permission for a later date has been granted by the 

board. The board shall not grant permission for registration 

statements to be submitted later than the expiration date of the 

existing permit.  

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 

property rights in either real or personal property or any 

exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 

private property or invasion of personal rights, or any 

infringement of federal, state or local law or regulations.  

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 

preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 

the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 

established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 

under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 

Except as provided in permit conditions on bypass (Part II U) 

and upset (Part II V), nothing in this permit shall be construed 

to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal penalties for 

noncompliance.  

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 

legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 

liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 

subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the 

State Water Control Law.  

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 

all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 

systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 

which are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper 

operation and maintenance also includes effective plant 

performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 

adequate laboratory and process controls, including 

appropriate quality assurance procedures. This provision 

requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or 

similar systems which are installed by the permittee only 

when the operation is necessary to achieve compliance with 

the conditions of this permit.  

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges or other 

pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 

of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 

any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters.  

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 

disposal in violation of this permit which has a reasonable 

likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 

environment.  

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 

be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 

would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 

activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 

of this permit.  

U. Bypass.  

1. "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste 

streams from any portion of a treatment facility. The 

permittee may allow any bypass to occur which does not 

cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only if it also 

is for essential maintenance to ensure efficient operation. 

These bypasses are not subject to the provisions of Part II 

U 2 and U 3.  

2. Notice.  

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 

of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, 

if possible at least 10 days before the date of the bypass.  

b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit 

notice of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part II I.  

3. Prohibition of bypass.  

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 

enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, 

unless:  

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 

personal injury, or severe property damage;  

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 

such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 

of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 

periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 

satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 

been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 

judgment to prevent a bypass which occurred during 

normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 

maintenance; and  

(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under 

Part II U 2.  
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b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass, after 

considering its adverse effects, if the board determines 

that it will meet the three conditions listed in Part II U 3 

a.  

V. Upset.  

1. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 

brought for noncompliance with technology based permit 

effluent limitations if the requirements of Part II V 2 are 

met. A determination made during administrative review of 

claims that noncompliance was caused by upset, and 

before an action for noncompliance, is not a final 

administrative action subject to judicial review.  

2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 

defense of upset shall demonstrate, through properly 

signed, contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant 

evidence that:  

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 

the cause(s) causes of the upset;  

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 

operated;  

c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 

in Part II I; and  

d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 

required under Part II S.  

3. In any enforcement proceeding the permittee seeking to 

establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of 

proof.  

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 

director [ , ] or an authorized representative, [ including an 

authorized contractor acting as a representative of the 

administrator, ] upon presentation of credentials and other 

documents as may be required by law, to:  

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 

facility or activity is located or conducted, or where 

records must be kept under the conditions of this permit;  

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 

records that must be kept under the conditions of this 

permit;  

3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 

(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 

operations regulated or required under this permit; and  

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 

of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized 

by the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law, 

any substances or parameters at any location.  

For purposes of this subsection, the time for inspection shall 

be deemed reasonable during regular business hours, and or 

whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained 

herein shall make an inspection unreasonable during an 

emergency.  

X. Permit actions. Permits coverage may be modified, 

revoked and reissued, or terminated for cause. The filing of a 

request by the permittee for a permit modification, revocation 

and reissuance, or coverage termination, or a notification of 

planned changes or anticipated noncompliance does not stay 

any permit condition.  

Y. Transfer of permits permit coverage.  

1. Permits are Permit coverage is not transferable to any 

person except after notice to the department. Except as 

provided in Part II Y 2, a permit may be transferred by the 

permittee to a new owner or operator only if the permit has 

been modified or revoked and reissued, or a minor 

modification made, to identify the new permittee and 

incorporate such other requirements as may be necessary 

under the State Water Control Law and the Clean Water 

Act.  

2. As an alternative to transfers under Part II Y 1, 

Coverage under this permit may be automatically 

transferred to a new permittee if:  

a. The current permittee notifies the department within 

30 days of the transfer of the title to the facility or 

property;  

b. The notice includes a written agreement between the 

existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 

transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 

between them; and  

c. The board does not notify the existing permittee and 

the proposed new permittee of its intent to modify or 

revoke and reissue the permit deny permit coverage. If 

this notice is not received, the transfer is effective on the 

date specified in the agreement mentioned in Part II Y 2 

b.  

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable. 

If any provision of this permit or the application of any 

provision of this permit to any circumstance is held invalid, 

the application of such provision to other circumstances and 

the remainder of this permit shall not be affected thereby.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4714; Filed December 14, 2017, 9:40 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts general permits issued by the State Water 

Control Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law 

(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.), Chapter 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) of Title 

62.1, and Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the 

Code of Virginia if the board (i) provides a Notice of 

Intended Regulatory Action in conformance with the 
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provisions of § 2.2-4007.01; (ii) following the passage of 30 

days from the publication of the Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action, forms a technical advisory committee 

composed of relevant stakeholders, including potentially 

affected citizens groups, to assist in the development of the 

general permit; (iii) provides notice and receives oral and 

written comment as provided in § 2.2-4007.03; and (iv) 

conducts at least one public hearing on the proposed general 

permit. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-890. General VPDES Permit 

for Discharges of Stormwater from Small Municipal 

Separate Storm Sewer Systems (amending 9VAC25-890-1 

through 9VAC25-890-40; repealing 9VAC25-890-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15:28 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

February 9, 2018 - 10 a.m. - Department of Environmental 

Quality Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 

Woodbridge, VA 22193 

February 12, 2018 - 2 p.m. - Department of Environmental 

Quality DEQ Central Office, 1111 East Main Street, 3rd 

Floor Conference Room, Richmond, VA 23219 

February 14, 2018 - 1 p.m. - Department of Environmental 

Quality Blue Ridge Regional Office, Room 600, 3019 

Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 

Public Comment Deadline: March 9, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Bauer, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4416, FAX (804) 

698-5106, or email jaime.bauer@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulatory action reissues the existing 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System general 

permit that expires on June 30, 2018. The proposed 

regulatory action establishes appropriate and necessary 

permitting requirements for discharges from small 

municipal separate stormwater systems (MS4) located 

within the Census Urbanized Areas to discharge 

stormwater to waters of the state. The general permit 

establishes the minimum control measures to reduce the 

potential discharge of pollutants in municipal stormwater 

as well as requirements for demonstration of compliance 

with total maximum daily load (TMDL) wasteload 

allocations for local watersheds and the Chesapeake Bay. 

The primary issue that needs to be addressed is that the 

existing general permit expires on June 30, 2018, and must 

be reissued to authorize small MS4s to continue to 

discharge after that date. 

Proposed substantive changes to the existing regulation 

include (i) revising the permit in accordance with the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency's small MS4 federal 

regulations (Small MS4 Remand Rule) promulgated on 

January 9, 2017, such as revising registration statement 

requirements to eliminate submittal of the permittee's MS4 

Program Plan, including more specific best management 

practices (BMPs) and strategies for implementation as 

part of the permit, and removing the requirement approval 

of MS4 program plans and TMDL action plans by the 

Department of Environmental Quality; (ii) requiring 

permittees to provide MS4 maps in a geographic 

information system shapefile format; (iii) streamlining 

construction site stormwater runoff control and post-

construction stormwater management for new development 

and development on prior developed lands by 

incorporating existing erosion and sediment control and 

Virginia Stormwater Management Program regulations by 

reference; (iv) revising existing and new source load 

reductions to be implanted during the permit term for those 

permittees discharging to the Chesapeake Bay watershed 

in accordance with the Chesapeake Bay TMDL and 

Watershed Implementation Plans; and (v) adding a 

requirement that local TMDL action plans be made 

available for public review.  

9VAC25-890-1. Definitions. 

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 

meanings defined in the Virginia Stormwater Management 

Act (Article 2.3 (§ 62.1-44.15:24 et seq.) of Chapter 3.1 of 

Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia), this chapter, and 

9VAC25-870 unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, 

except that for the purposes of this chapter: 

"Date brought on line" means the date when the operator 

permittee determines that a new stormwater management 

facility is properly functioning to meet its designed pollutant 

load reduction. 

"MS4 Program Plan" means the completed registration 

statement and all approved additions, changes and 

modifications detailing the comprehensive program 

implemented by the operator under this state permit to reduce 

the pollutants in the stormwater discharged from its municipal 

separate storm sewer system (MS4) that has been submitted 

and accepted by the department. 

"Operator" means the MS4 operator that has been issued 

coverage under the General Permit for Discharges of 

Stormwater from small municipal separate storm sewer 

systems. 

"High-priority facilities" means facilities owned or operated 

by the permittee that actively engaged in the following 

activities: (i) composting facilities, (ii) equipment storage and 

maintenance facilities, (iii) materials storage yards, (iv) 

pesticide storage facilities, (v) public works yards, (vi) 

recycling facilities, (vii) salt storage facilities, (viii) solid 

waste handling and transfer facilities, and (ix) vehicle storage 

and maintenance yards. 
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"MS4 regulated service area" or "service area" means for 

Phase II permittees, the drainage area served by the 

permittee's MS4 that is located within an urbanized area as 

determined by the 2010 decennial census performed by the 

Bureau of the Census. MS4 regulated service area may also 

be referred to as "served by the MS4" as it pertains to the 

tables in Part II A of this permit. 

"Physically interconnected" means that one MS4 is 

connected to a second MS4 in such a manner that it allows for 

direct discharges to the second system. 

"Pollutants of concern" or "POC" means pollutants 

specifically identified in a U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency approved total maximum daily load (TMDL) report 

as causing a water quality impairment. 

9VAC25-890-10. Purpose; delegation of authority; 

effective date of the state permit. 

A. This general permit regulation governs point source 

stormwater discharges from regulated small municipal 

separate storm sewer systems (small MS4s) to surface waters 

of the Commonwealth of Virginia. Nonmunicipal stormwater 

or wastewater discharges are not authorized by this permit 

except in accordance with 9VAC25-890-20 C. 

B. This general permit will become effective on July 1, 2013 

2018, and will expire five years from the effective date June 

30, 2023. 

C. The Director of the Department of Environmental 

Quality, or his designee, may perform any act of the board 

provided under this chapter, except as limited by § 62.1-44.14 

of the Code of Virginia. 

9VAC25-890-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the United States U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency set forth in the Code of 

Federal Regulations Title 40 CFR is referenced and 

incorporated herein in this chapter, that regulation shall be as 

it exists and has been published in the July 1, 2012 2017, 

update.  

9VAC25-890-20. Authorization to discharge. 

A. Any operator covered by this general permit is authorized 

to discharge stormwater from the small MS4 municipal 

separate storm sewer system (MS4) to surface waters of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia provided that the:  

1. The operator submits a complete and accurate 

registration statement in accordance with 9VAC25-890-30 

and that registration statement is accepted by the board,; 

2. The operator submits any permit fees required by 

9VAC25-870-700 et seq. (Part XIII), and; 

3. The operator complies with the requirements of 

9VAC25-890-40; and 

4. The board has not notified the owner that the discharge 

is ineligible for coverage in accordance with subsection C 

of this section. 

B. The operator is not authorized by this general permit to 

discharge to surface waters specifically named in other board 

regulations that prohibit such discharges.  

C. The board will notify an operator that the discharge is not 

eligible for coverage under this general permit in the event of 

any of the following: 

1. The operator is required to obtain an individual permit in 

accordance with 9VAC25-870-410 B; 

2. The operator is proposing discharges to surface waters 

specifically named in other board regulations that prohibit 

such discharges; or 

3. The operator fails to implement BMPs to the MEP 

standard in order to demonstrate progress toward meeting 

the water quality requirements as listed in 9VAC25-31-220 

D 1 a. 

D. Nonstormwater discharges or flows into the small MS4 

are authorized by this state permit and do not need to be 

addressed in the MS4 Program program required under 

9VAC25-890-40, Section II B 3, Part I E 3 if:  

1. The nonstormwater discharges or flows are covered by a 

separate individual or general VPDES or state permit for 

nonstormwater discharges;  

2. The individual nonstormwater discharges or flows have 

been identified in writing by the department as de minimis 

discharges that are not significant sources of pollutants to 

surface waters and do not require a separate VPDES 

permit;  

3. The nonstormwater discharges or flows are identified at 

9VAC25-870-400 D 2 c (3) in this subdivision D 3 and 

have not been identified by the operator or by the board as 

significant contributors of pollutants to the small MS4; or: 

a. Dechlorinated water line flushing; 

b. Landscape irrigation; 

c. Diverted stream flows; 

d. Rising groundwaters; 

e. Uncontaminated groundwater infiltration, as defined at 

40 CFR 35.2005(20); 

f. Uncontaminated pumped groundwater; 

g. Discharges from potable water sources; 

h. Foundation drains; 

i. Air conditioning condensation; 

j. Irrigation water; 
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k. Springs; 

l. Water from crawl space pumps; 

m. Footing drains; 

n. Lawn watering; 

o. Individual residential car washing; 

p. Flows from riparian habitats and wetlands; 

q. Dechlorinated swimming pool discharges; 

r. Street wash water; 

s. Discharges or flows from firefighting activities; or 

t. Other activities generating discharges identified by the 

department as not requiring VPDES authorization. 

4. The immediate discharge of materials resulting from a 

spill is necessary to prevent loss of protect life, personal 

injury, or severe property damage as determined by fire 

department personnel or emergency management officials 

or any discharge in accordance with 9VAC25-31-40. The 

operator shall take, or ensure that the responsible party 

takes, all reasonable steps to minimize or prevent any 

adverse effect on human health or the environment. This 

state permit does not transfer liability for a spill itself from 

the party(ies) party responsible for the spill to the operator 

nor relieve the party(ies) party responsible for a spill from 

the reporting requirements of 40 CFR Part 117 and 40 CFR 

Part 302.  

D. E. In the event the operator is unable to meet certain 

conditions of this permit due to circumstances beyond the 

operator's control, the operator shall submit a written 

explanation of the circumstances that prevented state permit 

compliance to the department in the annual report. 

Circumstances beyond the control of the operator include but 

are not limited to abnormal climatic conditions; weather 

conditions that make certain requirements unsafe or 

impracticable; or unavoidable equipment failures caused by 

weather conditions or other conditions beyond the reasonable 

control of the operator (operator error is not a condition 

beyond the control of the operator). The failure to provide 

adequate program funding, staffing or equipment 

maintenance shall not be an acceptable explanation for failure 

to meet state permit conditions. The board will determine, at 

its sole discretion, whether the reported information will 

result in an enforcement action. 

E. F. Discharges that are excluded from obtaining a state 

permit permitting requirements pursuant to 9VAC25-870-300 

are exempted from the regulatory requirements of this state 

permit. 

F. Pursuant to 9VAC25-870-400 D 3, for G. For those 

portions of a the small MS4 engaging in activities that are 

covered under a separate VPDES permit for discharges 

associated with industrial stormwater discharges activities, 

the operator permittee shall follow the conditions established 

under by the separate VPDES permit.  

H. Upon termination of separate VPDES permit coverage 

for those activities addressed in subsection G of this section, 

the discharges from the outfalls previously separate VPDES 

authorized outfalls under the VPDES permit for stormwater 

discharges associated with industrial activities shall meet the 

conditions of this state permit provided it has been 

determined by the board that an individual MS4 permit is not 

required. 

G. I. Stormwater discharges from specific MS4 operator 

permittee activities that have been granted conditional 

exclusion for "no exposure" of industrial activities and 

materials to stormwater under the separate VPDES permitting 

program shall comply with this state permit unless a separate 

VPDES permit is obtained. The department is responsible for 

determining compliance with the conditional exclusion under 

the State Water Control Law and attendant regulations. 

H. J. Receipt of this general permit does not relieve any 

operator permittee of the responsibility to comply with any 

other applicable federal, state or local statute, ordinance or 

regulation. 

I. K. Continuation of permit coverage. 

1. Any operator permittee that was authorized to discharge 

under the state permit issued in 2008 effective July 1, 

2013, and that submits a complete registration statement in 

accordance with Section III M of 9VAC25-890-40 on or 

before June 1, 2018, is authorized to continue to discharge 

under the terms of the 2008 July 1, 2013, state permit until 

such time as the board either: 

1. a. Issues coverage to the operator permittee under this 

state permit; or 

2. b. Notifies the operator permittee that the discharge is 

not eligible for coverage under this state permit. 

2. When the permittee is not in compliance with the 

conditions of the expiring or expired general permit, the 

board may choose to do any or all of the following: 

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the 2013 

general permit; 

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the new 

general permit. If coverage under the general permit is 

denied, the permittee would then be required to cease the 

activities authorized by the continued general permit or 

be subject to enforcement action for operating without a 

state permit; 

c. Issue a new state permit with appropriate conditions; 

or 

d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES 

(9VAC25-31) and VSMP (9VAC25-870) regulations. 
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9VAC25-890-30. State permit application (registration 

statement) Registration statement. 

A. Deadline for submitting a registration statement.  

1. Operators of small MS4s designated described under 

9VAC25-870-400 B, that are applying for initial coverage 

under this general permit must submit a complete 

registration statement to the department within 180 days of 

notice of designation, unless the board grants a later date. 

2. In order to continue uninterrupted coverage under the 

general permit, operators of small MS4s shall submit a new 

registration statement at least 90 days before the expiration 

date of the existing state permit no later than June 1, 2018, 

unless permission for a later date has been granted by the 

board. The board shall not grant permission for registration 

statements to be submitted later than the expiration date of 

the existing state permit. 

B. Registration statement. The registration statement shall 

include the following information: 

1. The name and location (county or city name) of the 

small MS4 for which the registration statement is 

submitted; 

2. The name, of the owner or operator of the small MS4; 

3. The mailing address of the owner of operator of the 

small MS4; 

4. The type (city, county, incorporated town, 

unincorporated town, college or university, local school 

board, military installation, transportation system, federal 

or state facility, or other), and address of the operator of 

the small MS4; 

5. The name, title, mailing address, telephone number, and 

email address for the following individuals: 

a. The responsible official who meets the criteria 

established in 9VAC-25-870-370 A 3; 

b. The MS4 permit contact; and 

c. The annual permit maintenance fee contact. 

6. The following outfall information: 

a. The unique outfall identifier; 

b. The estimated MS4 acreage served; 

c. The name of the receiving surface water to which the 

outfall discharges; 

d. Whether or not the receiving water is listed as 

impaired in the Virginia 2014 305(b)/303(d) Water 

Quality Assessment Integrated Report; and 

e. The name of any applicable TMDL for the segment of 

the receiving water. 

3. 7. The 6th Order Hydrologic Unit Code(s) Codes as 

identified in the most recent version of Virginia's 6th Order 

Virginia National Watershed Boundary Dataset (available 

on the department website) (version 5, July 2016) currently 

receiving discharges or that have potential to receive 

discharges from the small MS4; 

4. 8. The estimated drainage area, in acres, served by the 

small MS4 directly discharging to any impaired receiving 

surface waters listed in the 2010 2014 Virginia 

305(b)/303(d) Water Quality Assessment Integrated 

Report, and a description of the land use for each such 

drainage area; 

5. A listing of any TMDL wasteloads allocated to the small 

MS4. This information may be found on the department 

website; 

6. 9. The name(s) names of any physically interconnected 

MS4s to which the small MS4 discharges; 

7. For operators that had coverage under the previous 

VSMP General Permit, a copy of the currently 

implemented MS4 Program Plan. The operator shall 

continue to implement this plan and any updates as 

required by this state permit in accordance with Table 1 in 

9VAC25-890-40; 

8. For operators applying for initial coverage designated 

under 9VAC25-890-10 A, a schedule of development of an 

MS4 Program Plan that includes the following: 

a. A list of best management practices (BMPs) that the 

operator proposes to implement for each of the 

stormwater minimum control measures and their 

associated measurable goals pursuant to 9VAC25-890-

40, Section II B, that includes: 

(1) A list of the existing policies, ordinances, schedules, 

inspection forms, written procedures, and any other 

documents necessary for best management practice 

implementation, upon which the operator expects to rely 

for such implementation; and 

(2) The individuals, departments, divisions, or units 

responsible for implementing the best management 

practices; 

b. The objective and expected results of each best 

management practice in meeting the measurable goals of 

the stormwater minimum control measures; 

c. The implementation schedule for BMPs including any 

interim milestones for the implementation of a proposed 

new best management practice; and 

d. The method that will be utilized to determine the 

effectiveness of each best management practice and the 

MS4 Program as a whole; 
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9. 10. A list of all existing signed agreements between the 

operator and any applicable third parties where the 

operator has entered into an agreement in order to 

implement minimum control measures or portions of 

minimum control measures; 

10. The name, address, telephone number and email 

address of either the principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official as defined in 9VAC25-870-370; 

11. The name, position title, address, telephone number 

and email address of any duly authorized representative as 

defined in 9VAC25-870-370; and For those permittees 

whose regulated MS4 is located partially or entirely in the 

Chesapeake Bay watershed, a draft second phase 

Chesapeake Bay TMDL action plan; and 

12. The following certification: "I certify under penalty of 

law that this document and all attachments were prepared 

under my direction or supervision in accordance with a 

system designed to assure that qualified personnel properly 

gather and evaluate the information submitted. Based on 

my inquiry of the person or persons who manage the 

system, or those persons directly responsible for gathering 

the information, the information submitted is, to the best of 

my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I 

am aware that there are significant penalties for submitting 

false information, including the possibility of fine and 

imprisonment for knowing violations." 

C. The registration statement shall be signed in accordance 

with 9VAC25-870-370 9VAC25-890-40 Part III K 4. 

D. An operator may file its own registration statement, or 

the operator and other operators of small MS4s may jointly 

submit a registration statement. If responsibilities for meeting 

the stormwater minimum control measures will be shared 

with other municipalities or governmental entities, the 

registration statement must describe which stormwater 

minimum control measures the operator will implement and 

identify the entities that will implement the other stormwater 

minimum control measures within the area served by the 

small MS4. 

E. Where to submit. The registration statement shall be 

submitted to the department may be delivered to the DEQ 

Central Office, Office of VPDES Permits or by electronic 

mail to an electronic mailbox specified by the department. 

9VAC25-890-40. General permit. 

Any MS4 operator whose registration statement is accepted 

by the department board will receive coverage under the 

following state general permit and shall comply with the 

requirements therein in this general permit and be subject to 

all applicable requirements of the Virginia Stormwater 

Management Act (Article 2.3 (§ 62.1-44.15:24 et seq.) of 

Chapter 3.1 of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia) and the 

Virginia Stormwater Management Program (VSMP) 

Regulations (9VAC25-870) the requirements of 9VAC25-870 

and 9VAC25-31. 

General Permit No.: VAR04 

Effective Date: July 1, 2013 2018 

Expiration Date: June 30, 2018 2023 

GENERAL VPDES PERMIT FOR DISCHARGES OF 

STORMWATER FROM SMALL MUNICIPAL SEPARATE 

STORM SEWER SYSTEMS  

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 

VIRGINIA STORMWATER MANAGEMENT PROGRAM 

REGULATIONS, VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE 

ELIMINATION SYSTEM REGULATIONS, AND THE 

VIRGINIA STORMWATER MANAGEMENT ACT STATE 

WATER CONTROL LAW 

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, 

as amended and pursuant to the Virginia Stormwater 

Management Act State Water Control Law and regulations 

adopted pursuant thereto, this state permit authorizes 

operators of small municipal separate storm sewer systems 

are authorized to discharge to surface waters within the 

boundaries of the Commonwealth of Virginia, except those 

waters specifically named in State Water Control Board 

regulations which prohibit such discharges. 

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the 

registration statement filed with DEQ, this cover page, 

Section Part I-Discharge Authorization and Special 

Conditions, Section II—MS4 Program Part II-TMDL Special 

Conditions, and Section Part III-Conditions Applicable To to 

All State and VPDES Permits, as set forth herein in this 

general permit. The operator shall utilize all legal authority 

provided by the laws and regulations of the Commonwealth 

of Virginia to control discharges to and from the MS4. This 

legal authority may be a combination of statute, ordinance, 

permit, specific contract language, order or interjurisdictional 

agreements.  

For operators of small MS4s that are applying for initial 

coverage under this general permit, the schedule to develop 

and implement the MS4 Program Plan shall be submitted 

with the completed registration statement. 

For operators that have previously held MS4 state permit 

coverage, the operator shall update the MS4 Program Plan in 

accordance with the following schedule. Until such time as 

the required updates are completed and implemented, the 

operator shall continue to implement the MS4 Program 

consistent with the MS4 Program Plan submitted with the 

registration statement. 
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Table 1: Schedule of MS4 Program Plan Updates Required 

in this Permit 

Program Update 

Requirement 

Permit 

Reference 

Update 

Completed 

By 

Public Education 

Outreach Plan 

(Minimum Control 

Measure 1 – Public 

Education and Outreach 

on Stormwater Impacts) 

Section II B 

1 

12 months after 

permit coverage 

Illicit Discharge 

Procedures - (Minimum 

Control Measure 3 – 

Illicit Discharge 

Detection and 

Elimination) 

Section II B 

3 

Individual Residential 

Lot Special Criteria 

(Minimum Control 

Measure 5 – Post-

Construction 

Stormwater 

Management in New 

Development and 

Development on Prior 

Developed Lands) 

Section II B 

5 c (1) (d) 

Operator-Owned 

Stormwater 

Management Inspection 

Procedures (Minimum 

Control Measure 5 – 

Post-Construction 

Stormwater 

Management in New 

Development and 

Development on Prior 

Developed Lands) 

Section II B 

5 

Identification of 

Locations Requiring 

SWPPPs (Minimum 

Control Measure 6 – 

Pollution 

Prevention/Good 

Housekeeping for 

Municipal Operations) 

Section II B 

6 b 

Nutrient Management 

Plan (NMP) Locations - 

(Minimum Control 

Measure 6 – Pollution 

Prevention/Good 

Section II B 

6 c (1) (a) 

Housekeeping for 

Municipal Operations) 

Training Schedule and 

Program - (Minimum 

Control Measure 6 – 

Pollution 

Prevention/Good 

Housekeeping for 

Municipal Operations) 

Section II B 

6 

Updated TMDL Action 

Plans (TMDLs 

approved before July of 

2008) – (Special 

Conditions for 

Approved Total 

Maximum Daily Loads 

(TMDL) Other Than 

Chesapeake Bay) 

Section I B 

24 months 

after permit 

coverage 

Chesapeake Bay 

TMDL Action Plan – 

(Special Condition for 

Chesapeake Bay 

TMDL) 

Section I C 

Stormwater 

Management 

Progressive 

Compliance and 

Enforcement – 

(Minimum Control 

Measure 4 - 

Construction Site 

Stormwater Runoff 

Control) 

Section II B 

5 

Daily Good 

Housekeeping 

Procedures (Minimum 

Control Measure 6 – 

Pollution 

Prevention/Good 

Housekeeping for 

Municipal Operations) 

Section II B 

6 a 

Other TMDL Action 

Plans for applicable 

TMDLs approved 

between July 2008 and 

June 2013 - (Special 

Conditions for 

Approved Total 

Maximum Daily Loads 

(TMDL) Other Than 

Chesapeake Bay) 

Section I B 

36 months 

after permit 

coverage 
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Outfall Map Completed 

- (Minimum Control 

Measure 3 – Illicit 

Discharge Detection 

and Elimination) – 

Applicable to new 

boundaries identified as 

"urbanized" areas in the 

2010 Decennial Census 

Section II B 

3 a (3) 

48 months 

after permit 

coverage 
SWPPP 

Implementation - 

(Minimum Control 

Measure 6 – Pollution 

Prevention/Good 

Housekeeping for 

Municipal Operations) 

Section II B 

6 b (3) 

NMP Implementation - 

(Minimum Control 

Measure 6 – Pollution 

Prevention/Good 

Housekeeping for 

Municipal Operations) 

Section II B 

6 c (1) (b) 

60 months 

after permit 

coverage 

*Updates should be submitted with the appropriate annual 

report.  

SECTION Part I 

DISCHARGE AUTHORIZATION AND SPECIAL 

CONDITIONS Discharge Authorization and Special 

Conditions 

A. Coverage under this state permit. During the period 

beginning with the date of coverage under this general permit 

and lasting until the expiration and reissuance of this state 

permit, the operator permittee is authorized to discharge 

stormwater and those authorized nonstormwater discharges 

described in 9VAC25-890-20 C in accordance with this state 

permit from the small municipal separate storm sewer system 

identified in the registration statement into surface waters 

within the boundaries of the Commonwealth of Virginia and 

consistent with 9VAC25-890-30. 

B. Special conditions for approved total maximum daily 

loads (TMDL) other than the Chesapeake Bay TMDL. An 

approved TMDL may allocate an applicable wasteload to a 

small MS4 that identifies a pollutant or pollutants for which 

additional stormwater controls are necessary for the surface 

waters to meet water quality standards. The MS4 operator 

shall address the pollutants in accordance with this special 

condition where the MS4 has been allocated a wasteload in an 

approved TMDL. 

1. The operator shall maintain an updated MS4 Program 

Plan that includes a specific TMDL Action Plan for 

pollutants allocated to the MS4 in approved TMDLs. 

TMDL Action Plans may be implemented in multiple 

phases over more than one state permit cycle using the 

adaptive iterative approach provided adequate progress to 

reduce the pollutant discharge in a manner consistent with 

the assumptions and requirements of the specific TMDL 

wasteload is demonstrated in accordance with subdivision 

2 e of this subsection. These TMDL Actions Plans shall 

identify the best management practices and other interim 

milestone activities to be implemented during the 

remaining terms of this state permit.  

a. In accordance with Table 1, the operator shall update 

the MS4 Program Plans to address any new or modified 

requirements established under this special condition for 

pollutants identified in TMDL wasteload allocations 

approved prior to July 9, 2008. 

b. In accordance with Table 1, the operator shall update 

the MS4 Program Plan to incorporate approvable TMDL 

Action Plans that identify the best management practices 

and other interim milestone activities that will be 

implemented during the remaining term of this permit for 

pollutants identified in TMDL wasteload allocations 

approved either on or after July 9, 2008, and prior to 

issuance of this permit. 

c. Unless specifically denied in writing by the 

department, TMDL Action Plans and updates developed 

in accordance with this section become effective and 

enforceable 90 days after the date received by the 

department.  

2. The operator shall: 

a. Develop and maintain a list of its legal authorities such 

as ordinances, state and other permits, orders, specific 

contract language, and interjurisdictional agreements 

applicable to reducing the pollutant identified in each 

applicable WLA; 

b. Identify and maintain an updated list of all additional 

management practices, control techniques and system 

design and engineering methods, beyond those identified 

in Section II B, that have been implemented as part of the 

MS4 Program Plan that are applicable to reducing the 

pollutant identified in the WLA; 

c. Enhance its public education and outreach and 

employee training programs to also promote methods to 

eliminate and reduce discharges of the pollutants 

identified in the WLA; 

d. Assess all significant sources of pollutant(s) from 

facilities of concern owned or operated by the MS4 

operator that are not covered under a separate VPDES 

permit and identify all municipal facilities that may be a 

significant source of the identified pollutant. For the 

purposes of this assessment, a significant source of 

pollutant(s) from a facility of concern means a discharge 

where the expected pollutant loading is greater than the 
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average pollutant loading for the land use identified in 

the TMDL. (For example, a significant source of 

pollutant from a facility of concern for a bacteria TMDL 

would be expected to be greater at a dog park than at 

other recreational facilities where dogs are prohibited);  

e. Develop and implement a method to assess TMDL 

Action Plans for their effectiveness in reducing the 

pollutants identified in the WLAs. The evaluation shall 

use any newly available information, representative and 

adequate water quality monitoring results, or modeling 

tools to estimate pollutant reductions for the pollutant or 

pollutants of concern from implementation of the MS4 

Program Plan. Monitoring may include BMP, outfall, or 

in-stream monitoring, as appropriate, to estimate 

pollutant reductions. The operator may conduct 

monitoring, utilize existing data, establish partnerships, 

or collaborate with other MS4 operators or other third 

parties, as appropriate. This evaluation shall include 

assessment of the facilities identified in subdivision 2 d 

of this subsection. The methodology used for assessment 

shall be described in the TMDL Action Plan. 

3. Analytical methods for any monitoring shall be 

conducted according to procedures approved under 40 

CFR Part 136 or alternative methods approved by the 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Where an 

approved method does not exist, the operator must use a 

method consistent with the TMDL. 

4. The operator is encouraged to participate as a 

stakeholder in the development of any TMDL 

implementation plans applicable to their discharge. The 

operator may incorporate applicable best management 

practices identified in the TMDL implementation plan in 

the MS4 Program Plan or may choose to implement BMPs 

of equivalent design and efficiency provided that the 

rationale for any substituted BMP is provided and the 

substituted BMP is consistent with the assumptions and 

requirements of the TMDL WLA. 

5. Annual reporting requirements. 

a. The operator shall submit the required TMDL Action 

Plans with the appropriate annual report and in 

accordance with the associated schedule identified in this 

state permit. 

b. On an annual basis, the operator shall report on the 

implementation of the TMDL Action Plans and 

associated evaluation including the results of any 

monitoring conducted as part of the evaluation. 

6. The operator shall identify the best management 

practices and other steps that will be implemented during 

the next state permit term as part of the operator's 

reapplication for coverage as required under Section III M. 

7. For planning purposes, the operator shall include an 

estimated end date for achieving the applicable wasteload 

allocations as part of its reapplication package due in 

accordance with Section III M.  

C. Special condition for the Chesapeake Bay TMDL. The 

Commonwealth in its Phase I and Phase II Chesapeake Bay 

TMDL Watershed Implementation Plans (WIP) committed to 

a phased approach for MS4s, affording MS4 operators up to 

three full five-year permit cycles to implement necessary 

reductions. This permit is consistent with the Chesapeake Bay 

TMDL and the Virginia Phase I and II WIPs to meet the 

Level 2 (L2) scoping run for existing developed lands as it 

represents an implementation of 5.0% of L2 as specified in 

the 2010 Phase I WIP. Conditions of future permits will be 

consistent with the TMDL or WIP conditions in place at the 

time of permit issuance.  

1. Definitions. The following definitions apply to this state 

permit for the purpose of the special condition for 

discharges in the Chesapeake Bay Watershed: 

"Existing sources" means pervious and impervious urban 

land uses served by the MS4 as of June 30, 2009. 

"New sources" means pervious and impervious urban land 

uses served by the MS4 developed or redeveloped on or 

after July 1, 2009. 

"Pollutants of concern" or "POC" means total nitrogen, 

total phosphorus, and total suspended solids.  

"Transitional sources" means regulated land disturbing 

activities that are temporary in nature and discharge 

through the MS4. 

2. Chesapeake Bay TMDL planning. 

a. In accordance with Table 1, the operator shall develop 

and submit to the department for its review and 

acceptance an approvable Chesapeake Bay TMDL 

Action Plan. Unless specifically denied in writing by the 

department, this plan becomes effective and enforceable 

90 days after the date received by the department. The 

plan shall include:  

(1) A review of the current MS4 program implemented 

as a requirement of this state permit including a review of 

the existing legal authorities and the operator's ability to 

ensure compliance with this special condition; 

(2) The identification of any new or modified legal 

authorities such as ordinances, state and other permits, 

orders, specific contract language, and interjurisdictional 

agreements implemented or needing to be implemented 

to meet the requirements of this special condition; 

(3) The means and methods that will be utilized to 

address discharges into the MS4 from new sources; 
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(4) An estimate of the annual POC loads discharged from 

the existing sources as of June 30, 2009, based on the 

2009 progress run. The operator shall utilize the 

applicable versions of Tables 2 a-d in this section based 

on the river basin to which the MS4 discharges by 

multiplying the total existing acres served by the MS4 on 

June 30, 2009, and the 2009 Edge of Stream (EOS) 

loading rate: 

Table 2 a: Calculation Sheet for Estimating Existing Source Loads for the James River Basin 

*Based on Chesapeake Bay Program Watershed Model Phase 5.3.2  

Subsource Pollutant 

Total Existing 

Acres Served by 

MS4 (6/30/09) 

2009 EOS Loading 

Rate (lbs/acre) 

Estimated 

Total POC 

Load Based 

on 2009 

Progress Run 

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Nitrogen   9.39   

Regulated Urban Pervious   6.99   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Phosphorus   1.76   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.5   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious 
Total 

Suspended 

Solids 

  676.94   

Regulated Urban Pervious   101.08   

  

Table 2 b: Calculation Sheet for Estimating Existing Source Loads for the Potomac River Basin 

*Based on Chesapeake Bay Program Watershed Model Phase 5.3.2  

Subsource Pollutant 

Total Existing 

Acres Served by 

MS4 (6/30/09) 

2009 EOS Loading 

Rate (lbs/acre) 

Estimated 

Total POC 

Load Based 

on 2009 

Progress Run 

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Nitrogen   16.86   

Regulated Urban Pervious   10.07   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Phosphorus   1.62   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.41   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious 
Total 

Suspended 

Solids 

  1,171.32   

Regulated Urban Pervious   175.8   
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Table 2 c: Calculation Sheet for Estimating Existing Source Loads for the Rappahannock River Basin 

*Based on Chesapeake Bay Program Watershed Model Phase 5.3.2  

Subsource Pollutant 

Total Existing 

Acres Served by 

MS4 (6/30/09) 

2009 EOS Loading 

Rate (lbs/acre) 

Estimated 

Total POC 

Load Based 

on 2009 

Progress Run 

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Nitrogen   9.38   

Regulated Urban Pervious   5.34   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Phosphorus   1.41   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.38   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Total Suspended 

Solids 
  423.97   

Regulated Urban Pervious   56.01   

  

Table 2 d: Calculation Sheet for Estimating Existing Source Loads for the York River Basin 

*Based on Chesapeake Bay Program Watershed Model Phase 5.3.2  

Subsource Pollutant 

Total Existing 

Acres Served by 

MS4 (6/30/09) 

2009 EOS Loading 

Rate (lbs/acre) 

Estimated 

Total POC 

Load Based 

on 2009 

Progress Run 

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Nitrogen   7.31   

Regulated Urban Pervious   7.65   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Phosphorus   1.51   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.51   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Total Suspended 

Solids 
  456.68   

Regulated Urban Pervious   72.78   

(5) A determination of the total pollutant load reductions necessary to reduce the annual POC loads from existing sources 

utilizing the applicable versions of Tables 3 a-d in this section based on the river basin to which the MS4 discharges. This 

shall be calculated by multiplying the total existing acres served by the MS4 by the first permit cycle required reduction in 

loading rate. For the purposes of this determination, the operator shall utilize those existing acres identified by the 2000 

U.S. Census Bureau urbanized area and served by the MS4.  
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Table 3 a: Calculation Sheet for Determining Total POC Reductions Required During this Permit Cycle for the 

James River Basin 

*Based on Chesapeake Bay Program Watershed Model Phase 5.3.2  

Subsource Pollutant 

Total Existing 

Acres Served by 

MS4 (6/30/09) 

First Permit Cycle 

Required Reduction 

in Loading Rate 

(lbs/acre) 

Total 

Reduction 

Required 

First Permit 

Cycle (lbs) 

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Nitrogen   0.04   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.02   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Phosphorus   0.01   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.002   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious 
Total 

Suspended 

Solids 

  6.67   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.44   

  

Table 3 b: Calculation Sheet for Determining Total POC Reductions Required During this Permit Cycle for the 

Potomac River Basin 

*Based on Chesapeake Bay Program Watershed Model Phase 5.3.2  

Subsource Pollutant 

Total Existing 

Acres Served by 

MS4 (6/30/09) 

First Permit Cycle 

Required Reduction 

in Loading Rate 

(lbs/acre) 

Total 

Reduction 

Required 

First Permit 

Cycle (lbs) 

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Nitrogen   0.08   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.03   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Phosphorus   0.01   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.001   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Total Suspended 

Solids 
  11.71   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.77   
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Table 3 c: Calculation Sheet for Determining Total POC Reductions Required During this Permit Cycle for the 

Rappahannock River Basin 

*Based on Chesapeake Bay Program Watershed Model Phase 5.3.2  

Subsource Pollutant 

Total Existing 

Acres Served by 

MS4 (6/30/09) 

First Permit Cycle 

Required Reduction 

in Loading Rate 

(lbs/acre) 

Total 

Reduction 

Required 

First Permit 

Cycle (lbs) 

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Nitrogen   0.04   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.02   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Phosphorus   0.01   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.002   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Total Suspended 

Solids 
  4.24   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.25   

  

Table 3 d: Calculation Sheet for Determining Total POC Reductions Required During this Permit Cycle for the 

York River Basin 

*Based on Chesapeake Bay Program Watershed Model Phase 5.3.2  

Subsource Pollutant 

Total Existing 

Acres Served by 

MS4 (6/30/09) 

First Permit Cycle 

Required Reduction 

in Loading Rate 

(lbs/acre) 

Total 

Reduction 

Required 

First Permit 

Cycle (lbs) 

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Nitrogen   0.03   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.02   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Phosphorus   0.01   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.002   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Total Suspended 

Solids 
  4.60   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.32   
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(6) The means and methods, such as management 

practices and retrofit programs that will be utilized to 

meet the required reductions included in subdivision 2 a 

(5) of this subsection, and a schedule to achieve those 

reductions. The schedule should include annual 

benchmarks to demonstrate the ongoing progress in 

meeting those reductions; 

(7) The means and methods to offset the increased loads 

from new sources initiating construction between July 1, 

2009, and June 30, 2014, that disturb one acre or greater 

as a result of the utilization of an average land cover 

condition greater than 16% impervious cover for the 

design of post-development stormwater management 

facilities. The operator shall utilize Table 4 to develop 

the equivalent pollutant load for nitrogen and total 

suspended solids. The operator shall offset 5.0% of the 

calculated increased load from these new sources during 

the permit cycle. 

(8) The means and methods to offset the increased loads 

from projects as grandfathered in accordance with 

9VAC25-870-48, that disturb one acre or greater that 

begin construction after July 1, 2014, where the project 

utilizes an average land cover condition greater than 16% 

impervious cover in the design of post-development 

stormwater management facilities. The operator shall 

utilize Table 4 to develop the equivalent pollutant load 

for nitrogen and total suspended solids. 

(9) The operator shall address any modification to the 

TMDL or watershed implementation plan that occurs 

during the term of this state permit as part of its permit 

reapplication and not during the term of this state permit. 

Table 4: Ratio of Phosphorus Loading Rate to Nitrogen and 

Total Suspended Solids Loading Rates for Chesapeake Bay 

Basins 

Ratio of 

Phosphorus to 

Other POCs 

(Based on All 

Land Uses 

2009 Progress 

Run) 

Phosphorus 

Loading 

Rate 

(lbs/acre) 

Nitrogen 

Loading 

Rate 

(lbs/acre) 

Total 

Suspended 

Solids 

Loading 

Rate 

(lbs/acre) 

James River 

Basin 

1.0 

5.2 420.9 

Potomac River 

Basin 

1.0 

6.9 469.2 

Rappahannock 

River Basin 

1.0 

6.7 320.9 

York River 

Basin 

1.0 

9.5 531.6 

(10) A list of future projects and associated acreage that 

qualify as grandfathered in accordance with 9VAC25-

870-48; 

(11) An estimate of the expected costs to implement the 

requirements of this special condition during the state 

permit cycle; and 

(12) An opportunity for receipt and consideration of 

public comment regarding the draft Chesapeake Bay 

TMDL Action Plan. 

b. As part of development of the Chesapeake Bay TMDL 

Action Plan, the operator may consider: 

(1) Implementation of BMPs on unregulated lands 

provided any necessary baseline reduction is not included 

toward meeting the required reduction in this permit;  

(2) Utilization of stream restoration projects, provided 

that the credit applied to the required POC load reduction 

is prorated based on the ratio of regulated urban acres to 

total drainage acres upstream of the restored area; 

(3) Establishment of a memorandum of understanding 

(MOU) with other MS4 operators that discharge to the 

same or adjacent eight digit hydrologic unit within the 

same basin to implement BMPs collectively. The MOU 

shall include a mechanism for dividing the POC 

reductions created by BMP implementation between the 

cooperative MS4s; 

(4) Utilization of any pollutant trading or offset program 

in accordance with §§ 62.1-44.19:20 through 62.1-

44.19:23 of the Code of Virginia, governing trading and 

offsetting;  

(5) A more stringent average land cover condition based 

on less than 16% impervious cover for new sources 

initiating construction between July 1, 2009, and June 30, 

2014, and all grandfathered projects where allowed by 

law; and  

(6) Any BMPs installed after June 30, 2009, as part of a 

retrofit program may be applied towards meeting the 

required load reductions provided any necessary baseline 

reductions are not included.  

3. Chesapeake Bay TMDL Action Plan implementation. 

The operator shall implement the TMDL Action Plan 

according to the schedule therein. Compliance with this 

requirement represents adequate progress for this state 

permit term towards achieving TMDL wasteload 

allocations consistent with the assumptions and 

requirements of the TMDL. For the purposes of this 

permit, the implementation of the following represents 

implementation to the maximum extent practicable and 

demonstrates adequate progress: 

a. Implementation of nutrient management plans in 

accordance with the schedule identified in the minimum 

control measure in Section II related to pollution 

prevention/good housekeeping for municipal operations; 
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b. Implementation of the minimum control measure in 

Section II related to construction site stormwater runoff 

control in accordance with this state permit shall address 

discharges from transitional sources; 

c. Implementation of the means and methods to address 

discharges from new sources in accordance with the 

minimum control measure in Section II related to post-

construction stormwater management in new 

development and development of prior developed lands 

and in order to offset 5.0% of the total increase in POC 

loads between July 1, 2009, and June 30, 2014. Increases 

in the POC load from grandfathered projects initiating 

construction after July 1, 2014, must be offset prior to 

completion of the project; and 

d. Implementation of means and methods sufficient to 

meet the required reductions of POC loads from existing 

sources in accordance with the Chesapeake Bay TMDL 

Action Plan. 

4. Annual reporting requirements. 

a. In accordance with Table 1, the operator shall submit 

the Chesapeake Bay Action Plan with the appropriate 

annual report. 

b. Each subsequent annual report shall include a list of 

control measures implemented during the reporting 

period and the cumulative progress toward meeting the 

compliance targets for nitrogen, phosphorus, and total 

suspended solids. 

c. Each subsequent annual report shall include a list of 

control measures, in an electronic format provided by the 

department, that were implemented during the reporting 

cycle and the estimated reduction achieved by the 

control. For stormwater management controls, the report 

shall include the information required in Section II B 5 e 

and shall include whether an existing stormwater 

management control was retrofitted, and if so, the 

existing stormwater management control type retrofit 

used. 

d. Each annual report shall include a list of control 

measures that are expected to be implemented during the 

next reporting period and the expected progress toward 

meeting the compliance targets for nitrogen, phosphorus, 

and total suspended solids. 

5. The operator shall include the following as part of its 

reapplication package due in accordance with Section III 

M: 

a. Documentation that sufficient control measures have 

been implemented to meet the compliance target 

identified in this special condition. If temporary credits 

or offsets have been purchased in order to meet the 

compliance target, the list of temporary reductions 

utilized to meet the required reduction in this state permit 

and a schedule of implementation to ensure the 

permanent reduction must be provided; and 

b. A draft second phase Chesapeake Bay TMDL Action 

Plan designed to reduce the existing pollutant load as 

follows: 

(1) The existing pollutant of concern loads by an 

additional seven times the required reductions in loading 

rates using the applicable Table 3 for sources included in 

the 2000 U.S. Census Bureau urbanized areas;  

(2) The existing pollutant of concerns loads by an 

additional eight times the required reductions in loading 

rates using the applicable Table 3 for expanded sources 

identified in the U.S. Census Bureau 2010 urbanized 

areas; 

(3) An additional 35% reduction in new sources 

developed between 2009 and 2014 and for which the 

land use cover condition was greater than 16%; and 

(4) Accounts for any modifications to the applicable 

loading rate provided to the operator as a result of TMDL 

modification.  

SECTION II 

MUNICIPAL SEPARATE STORM SEWER SYSTEM 

MANAGEMENT PROGRAM 

A. B. The operator of a small MS4 must permittee shall 

develop, implement, and enforce a MS4 Program program 

designed to reduce the discharge of pollutants from the small 

MS4 to the maximum extent practicable (MEP), to protect 

water quality, to ensure compliance by the operator permittee 

with water quality standards, and to satisfy the appropriate 

water quality requirements of the Clean Water Act State 

Water Control Law and its attendant regulations. The 

permittee shall utilize the legal authority provided by the laws 

and regulations of the Commonwealth of Virginia to control 

discharges to and from the MS4. This legal authority may be 

a combination of statute, ordinance, permit, policy, specific 

contract language, order, or interjurisdictional agreements. 

The MS4 Program must program shall include the minimum 

control measures (MCM) described in paragraph B of this 

section Part I E. Implementation of best management 

practices (BMP) consistent with the provisions of an iterative 

MS4 Program program required pursuant to this section 

general permit constitutes compliance with the standard of 

reducing pollutants to the "maximum extent practicable," 

protects water quality in the absence of a TMDL wasteload 

allocation (WLA), ensures compliance by the operator 

permittee with water quality standards, and satisfies the 

appropriate water quality requirements of the Clean Water 

Act and regulations in the absence of a TMDL WLA. The 

requirements of this section and those special conditions set 

out in Section I B Part II also apply where a WLA is 

applicable. 
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C. The MS4 program plan. 

1. The MS4 program plan shall include, at a minimum, the 

following: 

a. The roles and responsibilities of each of the permittee's 

divisions and departments in the implementation of the 

requirements of the permit tasked with ensuring that the 

permit requirements are met; 

b. If the permittee utilizes another entity to implement 

portions of the MS4 program, a copy of the written 

agreement. The description of each party's roles and 

responsibilities, including any written agreements with 

third parties, shall be updated as necessary; 

c. For each of the MCM in Part I E, the following 

information shall be included: 

(1) Each specific requirement as listed in Part I E for 

each MCM; 

(2) A description of the BMPs that the permittee 

anticipates will be implemented to demonstrate 

compliance with the permit conditions in Part I E; 

(3) All standard operating procedures or policies 

necessary to implement the BMPs; 

(4) The measurable goal by which each BMP or strategy 

will be evaluated; and 

(5) The persons, positions, or departments responsible for 

implementing each BMP or strategy; and 

d. A list of documents incorporated by reference 

including the version and date of the document being 

incorporated. 

2. If the permittee is receiving initial coverage under this 

general VPDES permit for the discharge of stormwater, the 

permittee shall: 

a. No later than six months following the date of permit 

coverage, submit to the department a schedule for the 

development of each component of the MS4 program 

plan in accordance with Part I C 1 that does not exceed 

the expiration date of this permit; and 

b. Provide to the department a copy of the MS4 program 

plan upon completion of development. 

3. If the permittee was previously covered under the 

General VPDES Permit for the Discharge of Stormwater 

from MS4 effective July 1, 2013, the permittee shall post 

the most up-to-date version of MS4 program plan on the 

permittee's stormwater website or location where the small 

MS4 program plan can be obtained as required by Part I E 

2. Until such time that the MS4 program plan is updated in 

accordance with Part I E, the permittee shall continue to 

implement the MS4 program plan in effect at the time that 

coverage is issued under this general permit. 

4. Revisions to the MS4 program plan are expected 

throughout the life of this permit as part of the iterative 

process to reduce pollutant loading and protect water 

quality to the MEP. As such, revisions made in accordance 

with this permit as a result of the iterative process do not 

require modification of this permit. The permittee shall 

summarize revisions to the MS4 program plan as part of 

the annual report as described in Part I D 2. 

5. The permittee may demonstrate compliance with one or 

more of the MCM in Part I E through implementation of 

separate statutory or regulatory programs provided that the 

permittee's MS4 program identifies and fully describes any 

program that will be used to satisfy one or more of the 

minimum control measures of Part I E. If the program that 

the permittee is using requires the approval of a third party, 

the program shall be fully approved by the third party, or 

the permittee shall be working toward getting full 

approval. Documentation of the program's approval status, 

or the progress toward achieving full approval, shall be 

included in the annual report required by Part I D. The 

permittee shall remain responsible for compliance with the 

permit requirements if the other entity fails to implement 

one or more components of the control measures. 

6. The permittee may rely on another entity to satisfy the 

permit requirements to implement a minimum control 

measure if: 

a. The other entity, in fact, implements the control 

measure; 

b. The particular control measure, or component thereof, 

is at least as stringent as the corresponding permit 

requirement; 

c. The other entity agrees to implement the control 

measure on behalf of the permittee; and 

d. The agreement between the parties is documented in 

writing and retained by the permittee with the MS4 

program plan for as long as the agreement is active. 

The permittee shall remain responsible for compliance 

with requirements of the permit and shall document in the 

annual reports required in accordance with Part I D that 

another entity is being relied on to satisfy all or part of the 

state permit requirements. The permittee shall provide the 

information required in Part I D. 

7. If the permittee relies on another governmental entity 

regulated under 9VAC25-870-380 to satisfy all of the state 

permit obligations, including the obligation to file periodic 

reports required by Part I D, the permittee must note that 

fact in the registration statement, but is not required to file 

the periodic reports. The permittee remains responsible for 

compliance with the state permit requirements if the other 

entity fails to implement the control measures or 

components thereof. 
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D. Annual reporting requirements. 

1. The permittee shall submit an annual report to the 

department no later than October 1 of each year. The report 

shall cover the previous year from July 1 to June 30. 

2. The annual report shall include the following general 

information: 

a. The permittee, system name, and permit number; 

b. The reporting period for which the annual report is 

being submitted; 

c. A signed certification as per Part III K; 

d. Each annual reporting item as specified in the MCM in 

Part I E; and 

e. An evaluation of the MS4 program implementation, 

including a review of each MCM, to determine the MS4 

program's effectiveness and whether or not changes to 

the MS4 program plan are necessary. 

3. For permittees receiving initial coverage under this 

general VPDES permit for the discharge of stormwater, the 

annual report shall include a status update on each 

component of the MS4 program plan being developed. 

Once the MS4 program plan has been updated to include 

implementation of a specific MCM in Part I E, the 

permittee shall follow the reporting requirements 

established in Part I D 2. 

4. For those permittees with requirements established 

under Part II A, the annual report shall include a status 

report on the implementation of the Chesapeake Bay 

TMDL action plan in accordance with Part II A of this 

permit including any revisions to the plan. 

5. For those permittees with requirements established 

under Part II B, the annual report shall include a status 

report on the implementation of the local TMDL action 

plans in accordance with Part II B including any revisions 

to the plan. 

6. For the purposes of this permit, the MS4 program plan 

and annual report shall be maintained separately and 

submitted to the department as required by this permit as 

two separate documents. 

B. E. Minimum control measures. 

NOTE regarding minimum control measures for public 

education and outreach on stormwater impacts and public 

involvement/participation: "Public" is not defined in this 

permit. However, the department concurs with the following 

EPA statement, which was published in the Federal Register, 

Volume 64, No. 235, page 68,750 on December 8, 1999, 

regarding "public" and its applicability to MS4 programs: 

"EPA acknowledges that federal and state facilities are 

different from municipalities. EPA believes, however, that the 

minimum measures are flexible enough that they can be 

implemented by these facilities. As an example, DOD 

commentators asked about how to interpret the term "public" 

for military installations when implementing the public 

education measure. EPA agrees with the suggested 

interpretation of "public" for DOD facilities as "the resident 

and employee population within the fence line of the facility." 

The department recommends that nontraditional MS4 

operators, such as state and federal entities and local school 

districts, utilize this statement as guidance when determining 

their applicable "public" for compliance with this permit.  

1. Public education and outreach on stormwater impacts.  

a. The operator permittee shall continue to implement the 

a public education and outreach program as included in 

the registration statement until the program is updated to 

meet the conditions of this state permit. Operators who 

have not previously held MS4 permit coverage shall 

implement this program in accordance with the schedule 

provided with the completed registration statement. 

designed to: 

b. The public education and outreach program should be 

designed with consideration of the following goals: 

(1) Increasing target audience Increase the public's 

knowledge about the steps that can be taken of how to 

reduce stormwater pollution, placing priority on reducing 

impacts to impaired waters and other local water 

pollution concerns; 

(2) Increasing target audience Increase the public's 

knowledge of hazards associated with illegal discharges 

and improper disposal of waste, including pertinent legal 

implications; and 

(3) Implementing Implement a diverse program with 

strategies that are targeted towards audiences toward 

individuals or groups most likely to have significant 

stormwater impacts. 

c. b. The updated program shall be designed to: (1) 

Identify, at a minimum, permittee shall identify no less 

than three high-priority water quality stormwater issues, 

that contribute to the discharge of stormwater (e.g., to 

meet the goal of educating the public in accordance with 

Part I E 1 a. High-priority issues may include the 

following examples: Chesapeake Bay nutrients, pet 

wastes and, local bacteria receiving water impairments, 

TMDLs, high-quality receiving waters, and illicit 

discharges from commercial sites) and a rationale for the 

selection of the three high-priority water quality issues; 

sites. 

(2) Identify and estimate the population size of the target 

audience or audiences who is most likely to have 

significant impacts for each high-priority water quality 

issue; 
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(3) Develop relevant message or messages and associated 

educational and outreach materials (e.g., various media 

such as printed materials, billboard and mass transit 

advertisements, signage at select locations, radio 

advertisements, television advertisements, websites, and 

social media) for message distribution to the selected 

target audiences while considering the viewpoints and 

concerns of the target audiences including minorities, 

disadvantaged audiences, and minors; 

(4) Provide for public participation during public 

education and outreach program development; 

(5) Annually conduct sufficient education and outreach 

activities designed to reach an equivalent 20% of each 

high-priority issue target audience. It shall not be 

considered noncompliance for failure to reach 20% of the 

target audience. However, it shall be a compliance issue 

if insufficient effort is made to annually reach a 

minimum of 20% of the target audience; and 

(6) Provide for the adjustment of target audiences and 

messages including educational materials and delivery 

mechanisms to reach target audiences in order to address 

any observed weaknesses or shortcomings. 

c. The high-priority public education and outreach 

program, as a whole, shall: 

(1) Clearly identify the high-priority stormwater issues; 

(2) Explain the importance of the high-priority 

stormwater issues; 

(3) Include measures or actions the public can take to 

minimize the impact of the high-priority stormwater 

issues; and 

(4) Provide a contact name and telephone number or 

location where the public can find out more information. 

d. The permittee shall use two or more of the strategies 

listed in Table 1 below to communicate to the public the 

high-priority stormwater issues identified in accordance 

with Part I E 1 b including how to reduce stormwater 

pollution. 

Table 1 

Strategies for Public Outreach and Education 

Strategies Examples (provided as 

examples and are not meant to 

be all inclusive or limiting) 

Traditional 

written materials 

Informational brochures, 

newsletters, fact sheets, utility 

bill inserts, or recreational 

guides for targeted groups of 

citizens 

Alternative 

materials 

Bumper stickers, refrigerator 

magnets, t-shirts, or drink 

koozies 

Signage Temporary or permanent 

signage in public places or 

facilities, vehicle signage, bill 

boards, or storm drain 

stenciling 

Media materials Information disseminated 

through electronic media, 

radio, televisions, movie 

theater, or newspaper 

Speaking 

engagements 

Presentations to school, 

church, industry, trade, special 

interest, or community groups 

Curriculum 

materials 

Materials developed for 

school-aged children, students 

at local colleges or 

universities, or extension 

classes offered to local 

citizens 

Training 

materials 

Materials developed to 

disseminate during workshops 

offered to local citizens, trade 

organization, or industrial 

officials 

d. e. The operator permittee may coordinate their its 

public education and outreach efforts with other MS4 

operators permittees; however, each operator shall be 

individually responsible for meeting all of its state permit 

requirements. 

e. Prior to application for continued state permit coverage 

required in Section III M, the operator shall evaluate the 

education and outreach program for: 

(1) Appropriateness of the high-priority stormwater 

issues; 

(2) Appropriateness of the selected target audiences for 

each high-priority stormwater issue; 

(3) Effectiveness of the message or messages being 

delivered; and 

(4) Effectiveness of the mechanism or mechanisms of 

delivery employed in reaching the target audiences. 

f. The MS4 Program Plan program plan shall describe 

how the conditions of this permit shall be updated in 

accordance with Table 1. include: 

(1) A list of the high-priority stormwater issues the 

permittee will communicate to the public as part of the 

public education and outreach program; 
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(2) The rationale for selection of each high-priority 

stormwater issue and an explanation of how each 

education or outreach strategy is intended to have a 

positive impact on stormwater discharges; 

(3) Identification of the public audience to receive each 

high-priority stormwater message; 

(4) The strategies from Table 1 of Part I E 1 d to be used 

to communicate each high-priority stormwater message; 

and 

(5) The anticipated time periods the messages will be 

communicated or made available to the public. 

g. The operator annual report shall include the following 

information in each annual report submitted to the 

department during this permit term: 

(1) A list of the education and outreach activities 

conducted during the reporting period for each high-

priority water quality issue, the estimated number of 

people reached, and an estimated percentage of the target 

audience or audiences that will be reached high-priority 

stormwater issues the permittee addressed in the public 

education and outreach program; and 

(2) A list of the education and outreach activities that will 

be conducted during the next reporting period for each 

high-priority water quality issue, the estimated number of 

people that will be reached, and an estimated percentage 

of the target audience or audiences that will be reached 

strategies used to communicate each high-priority 

stormwater issue. 

2. Public involvement/participation involvement and 

participation.  

a. Public involvement. 

(1) The operator shall comply with any applicable 

federal, state, and local public notice requirements. 

(2) a. The operator permittee shall develop and 

implement procedures for the following: 

(a) Maintain an updated MS4 Program Plan. Any 

required updates to the MS4 Program Plan shall be 

completed at a minimum of once a year and shall be 

updated in conjunction with the annual report. The 

operator shall post copies of each MS4 program plan on 

its webpage at a minimum of once a year and within 30 

days of submittal of the annual report to the department.  

(b) Post copies of each annual report on the operator's 

webpage within 30 days of submittal to the department 

and retain copies of annual reports online for the duration 

of this state permit; and 

(c) Prior to applying for coverage as required by Section 

III M, notify the public and provide for receipt of 

comment of the proposed MS4 Program Plan that will be 

submitted with the registration statement. As part of the 

reapplication, the operator shall address how it 

considered the comments received in the development of 

its MS4 Program Plan. The operator shall give public 

notice by a method reasonably calculated to give actual 

notice of the action in question to the persons potentially 

affected by it, including press releases or any other forum 

or medium to solicit public participation. 

(1) The public to report potential illicit discharges, 

improper disposal, or spills to the MS4, complaints 

regarding land disturbing activities, or other potential 

stormwater pollution concerns; 

(2) The public to provide input on the permittee's MS4 

program; 

(3) Receiving public input or complaints; 

(4) Responding to public input or complaints; and 

(5) Maintaining documentation of public input received 

and the permittee's response. 

b. No later than three months after this permit's effective 

date, the permittee shall develop and maintain a webpage 

dedicated to the MS4 program and stormwater pollution 

prevention. The following information shall be posted on 

this webpage: 

(1) The effective MS4 permit and coverage letter; 

(2) The most current MS4 program plan or location 

where the MS4 program plan can be obtained; 

(3) The annual report for each year of the term covered 

by this permit; 

(4) A mechanism for the public to report potential illicit 

discharges, improper disposal, or spills to the MS4, 

complaints regarding land disturbing activities, or other 

potential stormwater pollution concerns in accordance 

with Part I E 2 a (1); and 

(5) Methods for how the public can provide input on the 

permittee's MS4 program in accordance with Part I E 2 a 

(2). 

b. Public participation. The operator shall participate, 

through promotion, sponsorship, or other involvement, in 

a minimum of four local activities annually (e.g., stream 

cleanups; hazardous waste cleanup days; and meetings 

with watershed associations, environmental advisory 

committees, and other environmental organizations that 

operate within proximity to the operator's small MS4). 

The activities shall be aimed at increasing public 

participation to reduce stormwater pollutant loads; 

improve water quality; and support local restoration and 

clean-up projects, programs, groups, meetings, or other 

opportunities for public involvement. c. The permittee 

shall implement no less than four activities per year from 
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two or more of the categories listed in Table 2 below to 

provide an opportunity for public involvement to 

improve water quality and support local restoration and 

clean-up projects. 

Table 2 

Public Involvement Opportunities 

Public involvement 

opportunities 

Examples (provided as 

example and are not meant to 

be all inclusive or limiting) 

Monitoring  Establish or support citizen 

monitoring group 

Restoration Stream or watershed clean-up 

day, adopt-a-water way 

program,  

Educational events Booth at community fair, 

demonstration of stormwater 

control projects, presentation 

of stormwater materials to 

schools to meet applicable 

education Standards of 

Learning or curriculum 

requirements, watershed walks, 

participation on environmental 

advisory committees 

Disposal or collection 

events 

Household hazardous 

chemicals collection, vehicle 

fluids collection  

Pollution prevention Adopt-a-storm drain program, 

implement a storm drain 

marking program, promote use 

of residential stormwater 

BMPs, implement pet waste 

stations in public areas, adopt-

a-street program. 

d. The permittee may coordinate the public involvement 

opportunities listed in Table 2 with other MS4 

permittees; however, each permittee shall be individually 

responsible for meeting all of the permit requirements. 

c. e. The MS4 Program Plan program plan shall include 

written procedures for implementing this program.: 

(1) The webpage address where mechanisms for the 

public to report (i) potential illicit discharges, improper 

disposal, or spills to the MS4, (ii) complaints regarding 

land disturbing activities, or (iii) other potential 

stormwater pollution concerns; 

(2) The webpage address that contains the methods for 

how the public can provide input on the permittee's MS4 

program; and 

(3) A description of the public involvement activities to 

be implemented by the permittee, the anticipated time 

period the activities will occur, and a metric for each 

activity to determine if the activity is beneficial to water 

quality. An example of metrics may include the weight of 

trash collected from a stream cleanup, the number of 

participants in a hazardous waste collection event, etc. 

d. Each f. The annual report shall include the following 

information: 

(1) A web link to the MS4 Program Plan and annual 

report; and summary of any public input on the MS4 

program received and how the permittee responded; 

(2) Documentation of compliance with the public 

participation requirements of this section. A webpage 

link to the permittee's MS4 program and stormwater 

website; 

(3) A description of the public involvement activities 

implemented by the permittee; 

(4) A report of the metric as defined for each activity and 

an evaluation as to whether or not the activity is 

beneficial to improving water quality; and 

(5) The name of other MS4 permittees who participated 

in the public involvement opportunities. 

3. Illicit discharge detection and elimination.  

a. The operator permittee shall develop and maintain an 

accurate storm sewer system MS4 map and information 

table and shall update it in accordance with the schedule 

set out in Table 1. as follows: 

(1) The storm sewer system map must show the 

following A map of the storm sewer system owned or 

operated by the permittee within the Census Urbanized 

Area identified by the 2010 decennial census that 

includes, at a minimum: 

(a) The location of all MS4 outfalls. MS4 outfalls 

discharging to surface waters, except as follows: 

(i) In cases where the outfall is located outside of the 

MS4 operator's permittee's legal responsibility, the 

operator permittee may elect to map the known point of 

discharge location closest to the actual outfall. Each 

mapped outfall must be given a unique identifier, which 

must be noted on the map; and outfall; and 

(ii) In cases where the MS4 outfall discharges to 

receiving water channelized underground, the permittee 

may elect to map the point downstream at which the 

receiving water emerges above ground as a point of 

discharge. If there are multiple outfalls discharging to an 

underground channelized receiving water, the map shall 

identify that the point of discharge represents more than 

one outfall. 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 8, 2018 

1010 

(b) A unique identifier for each mapped item required in 

Part I E 3; and 

(c) The name and location of all receiving waters 

receiving discharges from the MS4 outfalls and the 

associated HUC to which the MS4 outfall or point of 

discharge discharges. 

(2) The associated information table shall include for 

each outfall the following: permittee shall maintain an 

information table associated with the storm sewer system 

map that includes the following information for each 

outfall or point of discharge for those cases in which the 

permittee elects to map the known point of discharge in 

accordance with Part I E 3 a (1) (a): 

(a) The A unique identifier as specified on the storm 

sewer system map; 

(b) The latitude and longitude of the outfall or point of 

discharge; 

(c) The estimated MS4 acreage served; regulated acreage 

draining to the outfall or point of discharge; 

(d) The name of the receiving surface water and;  

(e) The 6th Order Hydrologic Unit Code of the receiving 

water; 

(f) An indication as to whether the receiving water is 

listed as impaired in the Virginia 2010 303(d)/305(b) 

2014 305(b)/303(d) Water Quality Assessment Integrated 

Report; and 

(d) (g) The name of any applicable TMDL or EPA 

approved TMDLs for which the permittee is assigned a 

wasteload allocation. 

(3) Within 48 months of coverage under this state permit, 

the operator shall have a complete and updated storm 

sewer system map and information table that includes all 

MS4 outfalls located within the boundaries identified as 

"urbanized" areas in the 2010 Decennial Census and shall 

submit the updated information table as an appendix to 

the annual report. 

(3) No later than December 31, 2018, the permittee shall 

submit to DEQ a GIS-compatible shapefile of the 

permittee's MS4 map as described in Part I E 3 a. If the 

permittee does not have an MS4 map in a GIS format, the 

permittee shall provide the map as a PDF document. 

(4) The operator shall maintain a copy of the current 

storm sewer system map and outfall information table for 

review upon request by the public or by the department. 

No later than October 1 of each year, the permittee shall 

update the storm sewer system map and outfall 

information table to include any new outfalls constructed 

or TMDLs approved or both during the immediate 

preceding reporting period. 

(5) The operator permittee shall continue to identify other 

points of discharge. The operator shall notify in writing 

the provide written notification to any downstream 

adjacent MS4 of any known physical interconnection 

established or discovered after the effective date of this 

permit. 

b. The operator permittee shall effectively prohibit, 

through ordinance, policy, standard operating procedures, 

or other legal mechanism, to the extent allowable under 

federal, state, or local law, regulations, or ordinances, 

unauthorized nonstormwater discharges into the storm 

sewer system to the extent allowable under federal, state, 

or local law, regulation, or ordinance. Categories of 

nonstormwater Nonstormwater discharges or flows (i.e., 

illicit discharges) identified in 9VAC25-870-400 D 2 c 

(3) must 9VAC25-890-20 C 3 shall only be addressed 

only if they are identified by the operator permittee as a 

significant contributors contributor of pollutants 

discharging to the small MS4. Flows that have been 

identified in writing by the department as de minimis 

discharges are not significant sources of pollutants to 

surface water and do not require a VPDES permit. 

c. The operator permittee shall develop, maintain and 

implement and update, when appropriate, illicit discharge 

detection and elimination (IDDE) written procedures to 

detect, identify, and address unauthorized nonstormwater 

discharges, including illegal dumping, to the small MS4 

with the goal of eliminating the unauthorized discharge. 

These Written procedures shall include: 

(1) A description of the legal authorities, policies, 

standard operating procedures or other legal mechanisms 

available to the permittee to eliminate identified sources 

of ongoing illicit discharges including procedures for 

using legal enforcement authorities. 

Written dry (2) Dry weather field screening 

methodologies protocols to detect, identify, and eliminate 

illicit discharges to the MS4 that include field 

observations and field screening monitoring and that 

provide. The protocol shall include: 

(a) A prioritized schedule of field screening activities and 

rationale for prioritization determined by the operator 

permittee based on such criteria as age of the 

infrastructure, land use, historical illegal discharges, 

dumping or cross connections. 

(b) The minimum number of field screening activities the 

operator shall complete annually to be determined as 

follows: (i) if the total number of outfalls in the small 

MS4 is less than 50, all outfalls shall be screened 

annually or (ii) if the small MS4 has 50 or more total 

outfalls, a minimum of 50 outfalls shall be screened 

annually. 
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(b) If the total number of MS4 outfalls is equal to or less 

than 50, a schedule to screen all outfalls annually; 

(c) If the total number of MS4 outfalls is greater than 50, 

a schedule to screen a minimum of 50 outfalls annually 

such that no more than 50% are screened in the previous 

12-month period; and 

(c) Methodologies to collect the general information such 

as time (d) A mechanism to track the following 

information:  

(i) The outfall unique identifier; 

(ii) Time since the last rain, the precipitation event;  

(iii) The estimated quantity of the last rain, site 

precipitation event; 

(iv) Site descriptions (e.g., conveyance type and 

dominant watershed land uses),; 

(v) Whether or not a discharge was observed; 

(vi) If a discharge was observed, the estimated discharge 

rate (e.g., width of water surface, approximate and depth 

of water, approximate flow velocity, and discharge flow 

rate), and visual observations; and 

(vii) Visual characteristics of the discharge (e.g., order, 

color, clarity, floatables, deposits or stains, vegetation 

condition, structural condition, and biology). 

(d) (3) A time frame timeframe upon which to conduct an 

investigation or investigations to identify and locate the 

source of any observed continuous or intermittent 

nonstormwater unauthorized discharge prioritized as 

follows: (i) illicit discharges suspected of being sanitary 

sewage or significantly contaminated must be 

investigated first and (ii) investigations of illicit 

discharges suspected of being less hazardous to human 

health and safety such as noncontact cooling water or 

wash water may be delayed until after all suspected 

sanitary sewage or significantly contaminated discharges 

have been investigated, eliminated, or identified. Priority 

of investigations shall be given to discharges of sanitary 

sewage and those believed to be a risk to human health 

and public safety. Discharges authorized under a separate 

VPDES or state permit require no further action under 

this permit. 

(e) (4) Methodologies to determine the source of all illicit 

discharges shall be conducted. If the permittee is unable 

to identify the source of an illicit discharge is found, but 

within six months of the beginning of the investigation 

neither the source nor the same nonstormwater discharge 

has been identified, then the operator permittee shall 

document such in accordance with Section II B 3 f that 

the source remains unidentified. If the observed 

discharge is intermittent, the operator must permittee 

shall document that a minimum of three separate 

investigations were made in an attempt that attempts to 

observe the discharge when it was flowing were 

unsuccessful. If these attempts are unsuccessful, the 

operator shall document such in accordance with Section 

II B 3 f. 

(f) Mechanisms to eliminate identified sources of illicit 

discharges including a description of the policies and 

procedures for when and how to use legal authorities. 

(g) Methods (5) Methodologies for conducting a follow-

up investigation in order to verify that the discharge has 

been eliminated. as necessary for illicit discharges that 

are continuous or that permittees expect to occur more 

frequently than a one-time discharge to verify that the 

discharge has been eliminated; 

(h) (6) A mechanism to track all illicit discharge 

investigations to document the following: 

(i) the (a) The date or dates that the illicit discharge was 

initially observed and reported; 

(ii) the (b) The results of the investigation, including the 

source, if identified; 

(iii) any (c) Any follow-up to the investigation; 

(iv) resolution (d) Resolution of the investigation; and 

(v) the (e) The date that the investigation was closed. 

d. The operator shall promote, publicize, and facilitate 

public reporting of illicit discharges into or from MS4s. 

The operator shall conduct inspections in response to 

complaints and follow-up inspections as needed to ensure 

that corrective measures have been implemented by the 

responsible party. 

e. d. The MS4 Program Plan program plan shall include 

all procedures developed by the operator to detect, 

identify, and address nonstormwater discharges to the 

MS4 in accordance with the schedule in Table 1. In the 

interim, the operator shall continue to implement the 

program as included as part of the registration statement 

until the program is updated to meet the conditions of 

this permit. Operators, who have not previously held 

MS4 permit coverage, shall implement this program in 

accordance with the schedule provided with the 

completed registration statement.: 

(1) The MS4 map and information table required by Part 

I E 3 a. The map and information table may be 

incorporated into the MS4 program plan by reference. 

The map shall be made available to the department 

within 14 days upon request; 

(2) Copies of written notifications of new physical 

interconnections given by the permittee to other MS4s; 

and 

(3) The IDDE procedures described in Part I E 3 c. 
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f. Annual reporting requirements. Each e. The annual 

report shall include: 

(1) A list of any written notifications of physical 

interconnection given by the operator to other MS4s; A 

confirmation statement that the MS4 map and 

information table are up-to-date as of June 30 of the 

reporting year; 

(2) The total number of outfalls screened during the 

reporting period, the screening results, and detail of any 

follow-up actions necessitated by the screening results as 

part of the dry weather screening program; and 

(3) A summary of each investigation conducted by the 

operator of any suspected illicit discharge. The summary 

must include: (i) the date that the suspected discharge 

was observed, reported, or both; (ii) how the 

investigation was resolved, including any follow-up, and 

(iii) resolution of the investigation and the date the 

investigation was closed. A list of illicit discharges to the 

MS4 including spills reaching the MS4 with information 

as follows: 

(a) The source of illicit discharge; 

(b) The date that the discharge was observed, reported, or 

both; 

(c) Whether the discharge was discovered by the 

permittee during dry weather screening, reported by the 

public, or other method (describe); 

(d) How the investigation was resolved; 

(e) A description of any follow-up activities; and 

(f) The date the investigation was closed. 

4. Construction site stormwater runoff control. 

a. Applicable oversight requirements. The operator 

permittee shall utilize its legal authority, such as 

ordinances, permits, orders, specific contract language, 

and interjurisdictional agreements, to address discharges 

entering the MS4. from the following land-disturbing 

activities: The permittee shall control construction site 

stormwater runoff as follows: 

(1) Land-disturbing activities as defined in § 62.1-

44.15:51 of the Code of Virginia that result in the 

disturbance of 10,000 square feet or greater; 

(2) Land-disturbing activities in jurisdictions in 

Tidewater Virginia, as defined in § 62.1-44.15:68 of the 

Code of Virginia, that disturb 2,500 square feet or greater 

and are located in areas designated as Resource 

Protection Areas (RPA), Resource Management Areas 

(RMA) or Intensely Developed Acres (IDA), pursuant to 

the Chesapeake Bay Preservation Area Designation and 

Management Regulations adopted pursuant to the 

Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act; 

(3) Land-disturbing activities disturbing less than the 

minimum land disturbance identified in subdivision (1) 

or (2) above for which a local ordinance requires that an 

erosion and sediment control plan be developed; and 

(4) Land-disturbing activities on individual residential 

lots or sections of residential developments being 

developed by different property owners and where the 

total land disturbance of the residential development is 

10,000 square feet or greater. The operator may utilize an 

agreement in lieu of a plan as provided in § 62.1-

44.15:55 of the Code of Virginia for this category of land 

disturbances. 

(1) If the permittee is a city, county, or town that has 

adopted a Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control 

Program (VESCP), the permittee shall implement the 

VESCP consistent with the Virginia Erosion and 

Sediment Control Law (§ 62.1-44.15:51 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia) and Virginia Erosion and Sediment 

Control Regulations (9VAC25-840); 

(2) If the permittee is a town that has not adopted a 

VESCP, the permittee shall rely on the surrounding city 

or county in which the town is located to implement a 

VESCP consistent with the Virginia Erosion and 

Sediment Control Law (§ 62.1-44:15:51 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia) and Virginia Erosion and Sediment 

Control Regulations (9VAC25-840); 

(3) If the permittee is a state agency; public institution of 

higher education including community colleges, colleges, 

and universities; or federal entity and has developed 

standards and specifications in accordance with the 

Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control Law (§ 62.1-

44.15:51 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and Virginia 

Erosion and Sediment Control Regulations (9VAC25-

840), the permittee shall implement the most recent 

department approved standards and specifications; or 

(4) If the permittee is a state agency; public institution of 

higher education including community colleges, colleges, 

and universities; or federal entity and has not developed 

standards and specifications in accordance with the 

Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control Law (§ 62.1-

44.15:51 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and Virginia 

Erosion and Sediment Control Regulations (9VAC25-

840), the permittee shall inspect all land-disturbing 

activities as defined in § 62.1-44.15:51 of the Code of 

Virginia that result in the disturbance activities of 10,000 

square feet or greater, or 2,500 square feet or greater in 

accordance with areas designated under the Chesapeake 

Bay Preservation Act, as follows: 

(a) During or immediately following initial installation of 

erosion and sediment controls; 

(b) At least once per every two-week period; 
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(c) Within 48 hours following any runoff producing 

storm event; and 

(d) At the completion of the project prior to the release of 

any performance bond. 

(5) If the permittee is a subdivision of a local government 

such as a school board or other local government body, 

the permittee shall inspect those projects resulting in a 

land disturbance as defined in § 62.1-44.15.51 of the 

Code of Virginia occurring on lands owned or operated 

by the permittee that result in the disturbance of 10,000 

square feet or greater, 2,500 square feet or greater in 

accordance with areas designated under the Chesapeake 

Bay Preservation Act, or in accordance with more 

stringent thresholds established by the local government, 

as follows: 

(a) During or immediately following initial installation of 

erosion and sediment controls; 

(b) At least once per every two-week period; 

(c) Within 48 hours following any runoff producing 

storm event; and 

(d) at the completion of the project prior to the release of 

any performance bond. 

b. Required plan approval prior to commencement of the 

land disturbing activity. The operator shall require that 

land disturbance not begin until an erosion and sediment 

control plan or an agreement in lieu of a plan as provided 

in § 62.1-44.15:55 is approved by a VESCP authority in 

accordance with the Erosion and Sediment Control Law 

(§ 62.1-44.15:51 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). The 

plan shall be: 

(1) Compliant with the minimum standards identified in 

9VAC25-840-40 of the Erosion and Sediment Control 

Regulations; or 

(2) Compliant with department-approved annual 

standards and specifications. Where applicable, the plan 

shall be consistent with any additional or more stringent, 

or both, erosion and sediment control requirements 

established by state regulation or local ordinance. 

c. Compliance and enforcement. 

(1) The operator shall inspect land-disturbing activities 

for compliance with an approved erosion and sediment 

control plan or agreement in lieu of a plan in accordance 

with the minimum standards identified in 9VAC25-840-

40 or with department-approved annual standards and 

specifications. 

(2) The operator shall implement an inspection schedule 

for land-disturbing activities identified in Section II B 4 a 

as follows: 

(a) Upon initial installation of erosion and sediment 

controls; 

(b) At least once during every two-week period; 

(c) Within 48 hours of any runoff-producing storm event; 

and 

(d) Upon completion of the project and prior to the 

release of any applicable performance bonds. 

Where an operator establishes an alternative inspection 

program as provided for in 9VAC25-840-60 B 2, the 

written schedule shall be implemented in lieu of Section 

II B 4 c (2) and the written plan shall be included in the 

MS4 Program Plan. 

(3) Operator inspections shall be conducted by personnel 

who hold a certificate of competence in accordance with 

9VAC25-850-40. Documentation of certification shall be 

made available upon request by the VESCP authority or 

other regulatory agency. 

(4) The operator shall promote to the public a mechanism 

for receipt of complaints regarding regulated land-

disturbing activities and shall follow up on any 

complaints regarding potential water quality and 

compliance issues. 

(5) The operator shall utilize its legal authority to require 

compliance with the approved plan where an inspection 

finds that the approved plan is not being properly 

implemented. 

(6) The operator shall utilize, as appropriate, its legal 

authority to require changes to an approved plan when an 

inspection finds that the approved plan is inadequate to 

effectively control soil erosion, sediment deposition, and 

runoff to prevent the unreasonable degradation of 

properties, stream channels, waters, and other natural 

resources. 

(7) The operator shall require implementation of 

appropriate controls to prevent nonstormwater discharges 

to the MS4, such as wastewater, concrete washout, fuels 

and oils, and other illicit discharges identified during 

land-disturbing activity inspections of the MS4. The 

discharge of nonstormwater discharges other than those 

identified in 9VAC25-890-20 through the MS4 is not 

authorized by this state permit. 

(8) The operator may develop and implement a 

progressive compliance and enforcement strategy 

provided that such strategy is included in the MS4 

Program Plan and is consistent with 9VAC25-840. 

d. Regulatory coordination. The operator shall implement 

enforceable procedures to require that large construction 

activities as defined in 9VAC25-870-10 and small 

construction activities as defined in 9VAC25-870-10, 

including municipal construction activities, secure 
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necessary state permit authorizations from the 

department to discharge stormwater. 

e. MS4 Program requirements. b. The operator's 

permittee's MS4 Program Plan program plan shall 

include: 

(1) If the permittee implements a construction site 

stormwater runoff control program in accordance with 

Part I E 4 a (1), the local ordinance citations for the 

VESCP program; 

(2) If the permittee implements a construction site 

stormwater runoff control program in accordance with 

Part I E 4 a (3): 

(a) The most recently approved standards and 

specification or if incorporated by reference, the location 

where the standards and specification can be viewed; and 

(b) A copy of the most recent standard and specification 

approval letter from the department; 

(1) (3) A description of the legal authorities utilized to 

ensure compliance with the minimum control measure in 

Section II related to Part I E 4 a to control construction 

site stormwater runoff control such as ordinances, 

permits, orders, specific contract language, policies, and 

interjurisdictional agreements; 

(2) Written plan review procedures and all associated 

documents utilized in plan review; 

(3) For the MS4 operators who obtain department-

approved standards and specifications, a copy of the 

current standards and specifications; 

(4) Written inspection procedures to ensure the erosion 

and sediment controls are properly implemented and all 

associated documents utilized during inspection 

including the inspection schedule; 

(5) Written procedures for requiring compliance and 

enforcement, including a progressive compliance and 

enforcement strategy, where appropriate through 

corrective action or enforcement action to the extent 

allowable under federal, state, or local law, regulation, 

ordinance, or other legal mechanisms; and 

(6) The roles and responsibilities of each of the operator's 

permittee's departments, divisions, or subdivisions in 

implementing the minimum control measure in Section II 

related to construction site stormwater runoff control If 

the operator utilizes another entity to implement portions 

of the MS4 Program Plan, a copy of the written 

agreement must be retained in the MS4 Program Plan. 

The description of each party's roles and responsibilities, 

including any written agreements with third parties, shall 

be updated as necessary requirements in Part I E 4. 

Reference may be made to any listed requirements in this 

subdivision provided the location of where the reference 

material can be found is included and the reference 

material is made available to the public upon request. 

f. Reporting requirements. The operator shall track 

regulated land-disturbing activities and submit the 

following information in all annual reports: c. The annual 

report shall include the following: 

(1) Total number of regulated land-disturbing activities; 

If the permittee implements a construction site 

stormwater runoff program in accordance with Part I E 4 

a (3): 

(a) A confirmation statement that land disturbing projects 

that occurred during the reporting period have been 

conducted in accordance with the current department 

approved standards and specifications for erosions and 

sediment control; and 

(b) If one or more of the land disturbing projects were 

not conducted with the department approved standards 

and specifications, an explanation as to why the projects 

did not conform to the approved standards and 

specifications. 

(2) Total number of acres disturbed;  

(3) (2) Total number of inspections conducted; and 

(4) A summary of the enforcement actions taken, 

including the (3) The total number and type of 

enforcement actions taken during the reporting period 

implemented and the type of enforcement actions. 

5. Post-construction stormwater management in for new 

development and development on prior developed lands. 

a. Applicable oversight requirements. The operator The 

permittee shall address post-construction stormwater 

runoff that enters the MS4 from the following land-

disturbing activities by implementing a post construction 

stormwater runoff management program as follows: 

(1) New development and development on prior 

developed lands that are defined as large construction 

activities or small construction activities in 9VAC25-

870-10; 

(2) New development and development on prior 

developed lands that disturb greater than or equal to 

2,500 square feet, but less than one acre, located in a 

Chesapeake Bay Preservation Area designated by a local 

government located in Tidewater, Virginia, as defined in 

§ 62.1-44.15:68 of the Code of Virginia; and 

(3) New development and development on prior 

developed lands where an applicable state regulation or 

local ordinance has designated a more stringent 
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regulatory size threshold than that identified in 

subdivision (1) or (2) above. 

(1) If the permittee is a city, county, or town, with an 

approved Virginia Stormwater Management Program 

(VSMP), the permittee shall implement the VSMP 

consistent with the Virginia Stormwater Management 

Act (§ 62.1-44.15:24 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and 

VSMP Regulations (9VAC25-870) as well as develop an 

inspection and maintenance program in accordance with 

Parts I E 5 b and c; 

(2) If the permittee is a town that has not adopted a 

VSMP, the permittee shall rely on the surrounding city or 

county in which the town is located to implement a 

VSMP consistent with the Virginia Stormwater 

Management Act (§ 62.1-44.15:24 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) and VSMP Regulations (9VAC25-870) and 

develop an inspection and maintenance program in 

accordance with Part I E 5 b and c; 

(3) If the permittee is a state agency; public institution of 

higher education including community colleges, colleges, 

and universities; or federal entity and has developed 

standards and specifications in accordance with the 

Virginia Stormwater Management Act (§ 62.1-44.15:24 

et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and VSMP Regulations 

(9VAC25-870) the permittee shall implement the most 

recent department approved standards and specifications 

and develop an inspection and maintenance program in 

accordance with Part I E 5 b; 

(4) If the permittee is a state agency; public institution of 

higher education including community colleges, colleges, 

and universities; or federal entity and has not developed 

standards and specifications in accordance with the 

Virginia Stormwater Management Act (§ 62.1-44.15:24 

et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and Virginia Stormwater 

Management Regulations (9VAC25-870), the permittee 

shall implement a post-construction stormwater runoff 

control through compliance with 9VAC25-870 and with 

the implementation of a maintenance and inspection 

program consistent with Part I E 5 b; or 

(5) If the permittee is a subdivision of a local government 

such as a school board or other local government body, 

the permittee shall implement a post-construction 

stormwater runoff control through compliance with 

9VAC25-870 or in accordance with more stringent local 

requirements, if applicable, and with the implementation 

of a maintenance and inspection program consistent with 

Part I E 5 b. 

b. Required design criteria for stormwater runoff 

controls. The operator shall utilize legal authority, such 

as ordinances, permits, orders, specific contract language, 

and interjurisdictional agreements, to require that 

activities identified in Section II B 5 a address 

stormwater runoff in such a manner that stormwater 

runoff controls are designed and installed: 

(1) In accordance with the appropriate water quality and 

water quantity design criteria as required in Part II 

(9VAC25-870-40 et seq.) of 9VAC25-870; 

(2) In accordance with any additional applicable state or 

local design criteria required at project initiation; and 

(3) Where applicable, in accordance with any 

department-approved annual standards and 

specifications. 

Upon board approval of a Virginia Stormwater 

Management Program authority (VSMP Authority) as 

defined in § 62.1-44.15:24 of the Code of Virginia and 

reissuance of the Virginia Stormwater Management 

Program (VSMP) General Permit for Discharges of 

Stormwater from Construction Activities, the operator 

shall require that stormwater management plans are 

approved by the appropriate VSMP Authority prior to 

land disturbance. In accordance with § 62.1-44.15:27 M 

of the Code of Virginia, VSMPs shall become effective 

July 1, 2014, unless otherwise specified by state law or 

by the board. 

c. Inspection, operation, and maintenance verification of 

stormwater management facilities. b. The permittee shall 

implement an inspection and maintenance program for 

those stormwater management facilities owned or 

operated by the permittee that discharges to the MS4 as 

follows: 

(1) For stormwater management facilities not owned by 

the MS4 operator, the following conditions apply: 

(a) The operator shall require adequate long-term 

operation and maintenance by the owner of the 

stormwater management facility by requiring the owner 

to develop a recorded inspection schedule and 

maintenance agreement to the extent allowable under 

state or local law or other legal mechanism; 

(b) The operator or his designee shall implement a 

schedule designed to inspect all privately owned 

stormwater management facilities that discharge into the 

MS4 at least once every five years to document that 

maintenance is being conducted in such a manner to 

ensure long-term operation in accordance with the 

approved designs. 

(c) The operator shall utilize its legal authority for 

enforcement of maintenance responsibilities if 

maintenance is neglected by the owner. The operator 

may develop and implement a progressive compliance 

and enforcement strategy provided that the strategy is 

included in the MS4 Program Plan. 
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(d) Beginning with the issuance of this state permit, the 

operator may utilize strategies other than maintenance 

agreements such as periodic inspections, homeowner 

outreach and education, and other methods targeted at 

promoting the long-term maintenance of stormwater 

control measures that are designed to treat stormwater 

runoff solely from the individual residential lot. Within 

12 months of coverage under this permit, the operator 

shall develop and implement these alternative strategies 

and include them in the MS4 Program Plan. 

(2) For stormwater management facilities owned by the 

MS4 operator, the following conditions apply: 

(a) The operator shall provide for adequate long-term 

operation and maintenance of its stormwater 

management facilities in accordance with written 

inspection and maintenance procedures included in the 

MS4 Program Plan. (1) The permittee shall develop and 

maintain written inspection and maintenance procedures 

in order to ensure adequate long-term operation and 

maintenance of its stormwater management facilities; 

(b) (2) The operator permittee shall inspect these 

stormwater management facilities annually owned or 

operated by the permittee no less than once per year. The 

operator permittee may choose to implement an 

alternative schedule to inspect these stormwater 

management facilities based on facility type and 

expected maintenance needs provided that the alternative 

schedule and rationale is included in the MS4 Program 

Plan. program plan; and 

(c) The operator shall conduct maintenance on its 

stormwater management facilities as necessary. (3) If 

during the inspection of the stormwater management 

facility conducted in accordance with Part I E 5 b (2), it 

is determined that maintenance is required, the permittee 

shall conduct the maintenance in accordance with the 

written procedures developed under Part I E 5 b (1). 

c. For those permittees described in Part I E 5 a (1) or 

(2), the permittee shall: 

(1) Implement an inspection and enforcement program 

for stormwater management facilities not owned by the 

permittee (i.e., privately owned) that includes: 

(a) An inspection frequency of no less than once per five 

years for all privately owned stormwater management 

facilities that discharge into the MS4; and 

(b) Adequate long-term operation and maintenance by 

the owner of the stormwater management facility by 

requiring the owner to develop a recorded inspection 

schedule and maintenance agreement to the extent 

allowable under state or local law or other legal 

mechanism; 

(2) Utilize its legal authority for enforcement of the 

maintenance responsibilities if maintenance is neglected 

by the owner; and 

(3) The permittee may develop and implement a 

progressive compliance and enforcement strategy 

provided that the strategy is included in the MS4 

program plan. 

d. MS4 Program Plan requirements. The operator's MS4 

Program Plan shall be updated in accordance with Table 

1 to include: 

(1) A list of the applicable legal authorities such as 

ordinance, state and other permits, orders, specific 

contract language, and interjurisdictional agreements to 

ensure compliance with the minimum control measure in 

Section II related to post-construction stormwater 

management in new development and development on 

prior developed lands; 

(2) Written policies and procedures utilized to ensure that 

stormwater management facilities are designed and 

installed in accordance with Section II B 5 b; 

(3) Written inspection policies and procedures utilized in 

conducting inspections; 

(4) Written procedures for inspection, compliance and 

enforcement to ensure maintenance is conducted on 

private stormwater facilities to ensure long-term 

operation in accordance with approved design; 

(5) Written procedures for inspection and maintenance of 

operator-owned stormwater management facilities; 

(6) The roles and responsibilities of each of the operator's 

departments, divisions, or subdivisions in implementing 

the minimum control measure in Section II related to 

post-construction stormwater management in new 

development and development on prior developed lands. 

If the operator utilizes another entity to implement 

portions of the MS4 Program Plan, a copy of the written 

agreement must be retained in the MS4 Program Plan. 

Roles and responsibilities shall be updated as necessary. 

e. Stormwater management facility tracking and 

reporting requirements. The operator shall maintain an 

updated electronic database of all known operator-owned 

and privately-owned stormwater management facilities 

that discharge into the MS4. The database shall include 

the following: d. The permittee shall maintain an 

electronic database or spreadsheet of all known 

permittee-owned or permittee-operated and privately 

owned stormwater management facilities that discharge 

into the MS4. The database shall also include all BMPs 

implemented by the permittee to meet the Chesapeake 

Bay TMDL load reduction as required in Part II A. A 

database shall include the following information as 

applicable: 
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(1) The stormwater management facility type; 

(2) A general description of the facility's location, 

including the address or latitude and longitude; The 

stormwater management facility or BMPs location as 

latitude and longitude; 

(3) The acres treated by the facility, including total acres, 

as well as the breakdown of pervious and impervious 

acres; stormwater management facility or BMP, 

including total acres, pervious acres, and impervious 

acres; 

(4) The date the facility was brought online 

(MM/YYYY). If the date brought online is not known, 

the operator permittee shall use June 30, 2005 as the date 

brought online for all previously existing stormwater 

management facilities; 

(5) The sixth order hydrologic unit code (HUC) 6th 

Order Hydrologic Unit Code in which the stormwater 

management facility is located; 

(6) The name of any impaired water segments within 

each HUC listed in the 2010 § 305(b)/303(d) Water 

Quality Assessment Integrated Report to which the 

stormwater management facility discharges; 

(7) (6) Whether the stormwater management facility or 

BMP is operator-owned owned or operated by the 

permittee or privately-owned privately owned; 

(7) Whether or not the stormwater management facility is 

part of the permittee's Chesapeake Bay TMDL action 

plan required in Part II A or local TMDL action plan 

required in Part II B, or both; 

(8) Whether a maintenance agreement exists if the 

stormwater management facility is privately owned; and 

If the stormwater management facility is privately 

owned, whether a maintenance agreement exists; and 

(9) The date of the operator's permittee's most recent 

inspection of the stormwater management facility or 

BMP. 

e. The electronic database or spreadsheet shall be 

updated no later than 30 days after a new stormwater 

management facility is brought online, a new BMP is 

implemented to meet a TMDL load reduction as required 

in Part II, or discovered if it is an existing stormwater 

management facility.  

f. The permittee shall use the DEQ Construction 

Stormwater Database or other application as specified by 

the department to report each stormwater management 

facility installed after July 1, 2014, to address the control 

of post-construction runoff from land disturbing activities 

for which the permittee is required to obtain a General 

VPDES Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from 

Construction Activities.  

g. No later than October 1 of each year, the permittee 

shall electronically report the stormwater management 

facilities and BMPs implemented between July 1 and 

June 30 of each year using the DEQ BMP Warehouse 

and associated reporting template for any practices not 

reported in accordance with Part I E 5 f including 

stormwater management facilities installed to control 

post-development stormwater runoff from land 

disturbing activities less than one acre in accordance with 

the Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act regulations 

(9VAC25-830) and for which a General VPDES Permit 

for Discharges of Stormwater from Construction 

Activities was not required. 

h. The MS4 program plan shall include: 

(1) If the permittee implements a VSMP in accordance 

with Part I E 5 a (1) and (2):  

(a) A copy of the VSMP approval letter issued by the 

department;  

(b) Written inspection procedures and all associated 

documents utilized in the inspection of privately owned 

stormwater management facilities; and 

(c) Written procedures for compliance and enforcement 

of inspection and maintenance requirements for privately 

owned BMPs. 

(2) If the permittee implements a post-development 

stormwater runoff control program in accordance with 

Part I E 5 a (3): 

(a) The most recently approved standards and 

specification or if incorporated by reference, the location 

where the standards and specification can be viewed; and  

(b) A copy of the most recent standard and specification 

approval letter from the department. 

(3) A description of the legal authorities utilized to 

ensure compliance with Part I E 5 a for post-construction 

stormwater runoff control such as ordinances, permits, 

orders, specific contract language, and interjurisdictional 

agreements; 

(4) Written inspection procedures and all associated 

documents utilized during inspection of stormwater 

management facilities owned or operated by the 

permittee; 

(5) The roles and responsibilities of each of the 

permittee's departments, divisions, or subdivisions in 

implementing the post-construction stormwater runoff 

control program; and   

(6) The stormwater management facility spreadsheet or 

database incorporated by reference and the location or 

link where the spreadsheet or database can be reviewed. 
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In addition, the operator shall annually track and report 

the total number of inspections completed and, when 

applicable, the number of enforcement actions taken to 

ensure long-term maintenance. 

The operator shall submit an electronic database or 

spreadsheet of all stormwater management facilities 

brought online during each reporting year with the 

appropriate annual report. Upon such time as the 

department provides the operators access to a statewide 

web-based reporting electronic database or spreadsheet, 

the operator shall utilize such database to complete the 

pertinent reporting requirements of this state permit. 

i. The annual report shall include the following 

information: 

(1) If the permittee implements a Virginia Stormwater 

Management Program in accordance with Part I E 5 a (1) 

and (2):  

(a) The number of privately owned stormwater 

management facility inspections conducted; and  

(b) The number of enforcement actions initiated by the 

permittee to ensure long-term maintenance of privately 

owned stormwater management facilities including the 

type of enforcement action; 

(2) Total number of inspections conducted on stormwater 

management facilities owned or operated by the 

permittee;  

(3) A description of the significant activities performed 

on the stormwater management facilities owned or 

operated by the permittee to ensure it continues to 

perform as designed. This does not include activities 

such as grass mowing or trash collection;  

(4) A confirmation statement that the permittee submitted 

stormwater management facility information through the 

Virginia Construction Stormwater General Permit 

database for those land disturbing activities for which the 

permittee was required to obtain coverage under the 

General VPDES Permit for Discharges of Stormwater 

from Construction Activities in accordance with Part I E 

5 f or a statement that the permittee did not complete any 

projects requiring coverage under the General VPDES 

Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from Construction 

Activities; and 

(5) A confirmation statement that the permittee 

electronically reported BMPs using the DEQ BMP 

Warehouse in accordance with Part I E 5 g and the date 

on which the information was submitted. 

6. Pollution prevention/good housekeeping for municipal 

operations. Pollution prevention and good housekeeping 

for facilities owned or operated by the permittee. 

a. Operations and maintenance activities. The MS4 

Program Plan submitted with the registration statement 

shall be implemented by the operator until updated in 

accordance with this state permit. In accordance with 

Table 1, the operator The permittee shall develop 

maintain and implement written procedures designed to 

minimize or prevent pollutant discharge from: (i) daily 

operations for those activities at facilities owned or 

operated by the permittee, such as road, street, and 

parking lot maintenance; (ii) equipment maintenance; 

and (iii) the application, storage, transport, and disposal 

of pesticides, herbicides, and fertilizers. The written 

procedures shall be utilized as part of the employee 

training. At a minimum, the written procedures shall be 

designed to:  

(1) Prevent illicit discharges; 

(2) Ensure the proper disposal of waste materials, 

including landscape wastes; 

(3) Prevent the discharge of municipal wastewater or 

permittee vehicle wash water or both into the MS4 

without authorization under a separate VPDES permit; 

(4) Prevent the discharge of wastewater into the MS4 

without authorization under a separate VPDES permit; 

(5) (4) Require implementation of best management 

practices when discharging water pumped from utility 

construction and maintenance activities; 

(6) (5) Minimize the pollutants in stormwater runoff from 

bulk storage areas (e.g., salt storage, topsoil stockpiles) 

through the use of best management practices; 

(7) (6) Prevent pollutant discharge into the MS4 from 

leaking municipal automobiles and equipment; and 

(8) (7) Ensure that the application of materials, including 

fertilizers and pesticides, is conducted in accordance with 

the manufacturer's recommendations. 

b. Municipal facility pollution prevention and good 

housekeeping. The written procedures established in 

accordance with Part I E 6 a shall be utilized as part of 

the employee training program. 

(1) Within 12 months of state permit coverage, the 

operator shall identify all municipal high-priority 

facilities. These high-priority facilities shall include: (i) 

composting facilities, (ii) equipment storage and 

maintenance facilities, (iii) materials storage yards, (iv) 

pesticide storage facilities, (v) public works yards, (vi) 

recycling facilities, (vii) salt storage facilities, (viii) solid 

waste handling and transfer facilities, and (ix) vehicle 

storage and maintenance yards. 

(2) c. Within 12 months of state permit coverage, the 

operator shall identify which of the municipal high-

priority facilities have a high potential of discharging 
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pollutants. Municipal high-priority facilities that have a 

high potential for discharging pollutants are those 

facilities identified in subsection (1) above Part I E 6 a. 

The permittee shall maintain and implement a site 

stormwater pollution prevention plan (SWMPP) for each 

high-priority facility owned or operated by the permittee 

with a high potential to discharge pollutants that are not 

covered under a separate VPDES permit and which any 

of the following materials or activities occur and are 

expected to have exposure to stormwater resulting from 

rain, snow, snowmelt or runoff: 

(a) (1) Areas where residuals from using, storing or 

cleaning machinery or equipment remain and are 

exposed to stormwater;  

(b) (2) Materials or residuals on the ground or in 

stormwater inlets from spills or leaks;  

(c) (3) Material handling equipment (except adequately 

maintained vehicles);  

(d) (4) Materials or products that would be expected to be 

mobilized in stormwater runoff during loading/unloading 

loading or unloading or transporting activities (e.g., rock, 

salt, fill dirt);  

(e) (5) Materials or products stored outdoors (except final 

products intended for outside use where exposure to 

stormwater does not result in the discharge of pollutants);  

(f) (6) Materials or products that would be expected to be 

mobilized in stormwater runoff contained in open, 

deteriorated or leaking storage drums, barrels, tanks, and 

similar containers;  

(g) (7) Waste material except waste in covered, non-

leaking nonleaking containers (e.g., dumpsters);  

(h) (8) Application or disposal of process wastewater 

(unless otherwise permitted); or  

(i) (9) Particulate matter or visible deposits of residuals 

from roof stacks, vents or both not otherwise regulated 

(i.e., under an air quality control permit) and evident in 

the stormwater runoff. 

(3) The operator shall develop and implement specific 

stormwater pollution prevention plans for all high-

priority facilities identified in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection. The operator shall complete SWPPP 

development and implementation shall be completed 

within 48 months of coverage under this state permit. 

Facilities covered under a separate VPDES permit shall 

adhere to the conditions established in that permit and are 

excluded from this requirement. 

(4) d. Each SWPPP as required in Part I E 6 c shall 

include the following: 

(a) (1) A site description that includes a site map 

identifying all outfalls, direction of stormwater flows, 

existing source controls, and receiving water bodies; 

(b) (2) A discussion description and checklist of the 

potential pollutants and pollutant sources; 

(c) (3) A discussion description of all potential 

nonstormwater discharges; 

(d) (4) Written procedures designed to reduce and 

prevent pollutant discharge; 

(e) (5) A description of the applicable training as 

required in Section II B 6 d; Part I E 6 m; 

(f) (6) Procedures to conduct an annual comprehensive 

site compliance evaluation; 

(g) (7) An inspection and maintenance schedule for site 

specific source controls. The date of each inspection and 

associated findings and follow-up shall be logged in each 

SWPPP; 

(8) An inspection log for each site specific source control 

including the date and inspection findings; and 

(h) The contents of each SWPPP shall be evaluated and 

modified as necessary to accurately reflect any discharge, 

release, or spill from the high-priority facility reported in 

accordance with Section III G. For each such discharge, 

release, or spill, the SWPPP must include the following 

information: date of incident; material discharged, 

released, or spilled; and quantity discharged, released or 

spilled; and (9) A log of each unauthorized discharge, 

release, or spill incident reported in accordance with Part 

III G including the following information: 

(a) Date of incident; 

(b) Material discharged, released, or spilled; and 

(c) Estimated quantity discharged, released or spilled; 

e. No later than June 30 of each year, the permittee shall 

annually review any high-priority facility owned or 

operated by the permittee for which a SWPPP has not 

been developed to determine if the facility has a high 

potential to discharge pollutants as described in Part I E 6 

c. If the facility is determined to be a high-priority 

facility with a high potential to discharge pollutants, the 

permittee shall develop a SWPPP meeting the 

requirements of Part I E 6 d no later than December 31 of 

that same year. 

f. The permittee shall review the contents of any site 

specific SWPPP no later than 30 days after any 

unauthorized discharge, release, or spill reported in 

accordance with Part III G to determine if additional 

measures are necessary to prevent future unauthorized 

discharges, releases, or spills. If necessary, the SWPPP 
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shall be updated no later than 90 days after the 

unauthorized discharge. 

(i) A copy of each SWPPP shall be kept at each facility 

and shall be kept updated and utilized as part of staff 

training required in Section II B 6 d. g. The SWPPP shall 

be kept at the high-priority facility with a high potential 

to discharge and utilized as part of staff training required 

in Part I E 6 m. The SWPPP and associated documents 

may be maintained as a hard copy or electronically as 

long as the documents are available to employees at the 

applicable site. 

h. If activities change at a facility such that the facility no 

longer meets the criteria of a high-priority facility with a 

high potential to discharge pollutants as described in Part 

I E 6 c, the permittee may remove the facility from the 

list of high-priority facilities with a high potential to 

discharge pollutants. 

c. Turf and landscape management. 

(1) i. The operator permittee shall maintain and 

implement turf and landscape nutrient management plans 

that have been developed by a certified turf and 

landscape nutrient management planner in accordance 

with § 10.1-104.2 of the Code of Virginia on all lands 

owned or operated by the MS4 operator permittee where 

nutrients are applied to a contiguous area greater than 

one acre. Implementation shall be in accordance with the 

following schedule: If nutrients are being applied to 

achieve final stabilization of a land disturbance project, 

application shall follow the manufacturer's 

recommendations. 

(a) Within 12 months of state permit coverage, the 

operator shall identify all applicable lands where 

nutrients are applied to a contiguous area of more than 

one acre. A latitude and longitude shall be provided for 

each such piece of land and reported in the annual report. 

(b) Within 60 months of state permit coverage, the 

operator shall implement turf and landscape nutrient 

management plans on all lands where nutrients are 

applied to a contiguous area of more than one acre. The 

following measurable outcomes are established for the 

implementation of turf and landscape nutrient 

management plans: (i) within 24 months of permit 

coverage, not less than 15% of all identified acres will be 

covered by turf and landscape nutrient management 

plans; (ii) within 36 months of permit coverage, not less 

than 40% of all identified acres will be covered by turf 

and landscape nutrient management plans; and (iii) 

within 48 months of permit coverage, not less than 75% 

of all identified acres will be covered by turf and 

landscape nutrient management plans. The operator shall 

not fail to meet the measurable goals for two consecutive 

years. 

(c) MS4 operators with lands regulated under § 10.1-

104.4 of the Code of Virginia shall continue to 

implement turf and landscape nutrient management plans 

in accordance with this statutory requirement. j. 

Permittees with lands regulated under § 10.1-104.4 of the 

Code of Virginia, including state agencies, state colleges 

and universities, and other state government entities, 

shall continue to implement turf and landscape nutrient 

management plans in accordance with this statutory 

requirement. 

(2) Operators shall annually track the following: 

(a) The total acreage of lands where turf and landscape 

nutrient management plans are required; and 

(b) The acreage of lands upon which turf and landscape 

nutrient management plans have been implemented. 

(3) k. The operator permittee shall not apply any deicing 

agent containing urea or other forms of nitrogen or 

phosphorus to parking lots, roadways, and sidewalks, or 

other paved surfaces. 

l. The permittee shall require through the use of contract 

language, training, standard operating procedures, etc., 

that contractors employed by the permittee and engaging 

in activities with the potential to discharge pollutants use 

appropriate control measures to minimize the discharge 

of pollutants to the MS4. 

d. Training. The operator shall conduct training for 

employees. The training requirements may be fulfilled, in 

total or in part, through regional training programs 

involving two or more MS4 localities provided; however, 

that each operator shall remain individually liable for its 

failure to comply with the training requirements in this 

permit. Training is not required if the topic is not 

applicable to the operator's operations and therefore does 

not have applicable personnel provided the lack of 

applicability is documented in the MS4 Program Plan. 

The operator shall determine and document the 

applicable employees or positions to receive each type of 

training. The operator shall develop an annual written 

training plan including a schedule of training events that 

ensures implementation of the training requirements as 

follows: m. The permittee shall develop a training plan in 

writing for applicable staff that ensures the following: 

(1) The operator shall provide biennial training to 

applicable field Field personnel received training in the 

recognition and reporting of illicit discharges. no less 

than once per 24 months; 

(2) The operator shall provide biennial training to 

applicable employees in good housekeeping and 

pollution prevention practices that are to be employed 

during road, street, and parking lot maintenance. 

Employees performing road, street, and parking lot 
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maintenance receive training in pollution prevention and 

good housekeeping associated with those activities no 

less than once per 24 months; 

(3) The operator shall provide biennial training to 

applicable employees in good housekeeping and 

pollution prevention practices that are to be employed in 

and around maintenance and public works facilities. 

Employees working in and around maintenance, public 

works, or recreational facilities receive training in good 

housekeeping and pollution prevention practices 

associated with those facilities no less than once per 24 

months; 

(4) The operator shall ensure that employees, Employees 

and require that contractors, hired by the permittee who 

apply pesticides and herbicides are properly trained or 

certified in accordance with the Virginia Pesticide 

Control Act (§ 3.2-3900 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).;  

(5) The operator shall ensure that employees Employees 

and contractors serving as plan reviewers, inspectors, 

program administrators, and construction site operators 

obtain the appropriate certifications as required under the 

Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control Law and its 

attendant regulations.; 

(6) The operator shall ensure that applicable employees 

obtain the appropriate certifications as required under the 

Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control Law and its 

attendant regulations. Employees and contractors 

implementing the stormwater program obtain the 

appropriate certifications as required under the Virginia 

Stormwater Management Act and its attendant 

regulations; and 

(7) The operators shall provide biennial training to 

applicable employees in good housekeeping and 

pollution prevention practices that are to be employed in 

and around recreational facilities. 

(8) The appropriate emergency response employees shall 

have training in spill responses. A summary of the 

training or certification program provided to emergency 

response employees shall be included in the first annual 

report. (7) Employees whose duties include emergency 

response have been trained in spill response. Training of 

emergency responders such as firefighters and law-

enforcement officers on the handling of spill releases as 

part of a larger emergency response training shall satisfy 

this training requirement and be documented in the 

training plan. 

(9) The operator shall keep documentation on each 

training event including the training date, the number of 

employees attending the training, and the objective of the 

training event for a period of three years after each 

training event. n. The permittee shall maintain 

documentation of each training event conducted to fulfill 

the requirements of Part I E 6 m for a minimum of three 

years after the training event. The documentation shall 

include the following information: 

(1) The date of the training event; 

(2) The number of employees attending the training 

event; and 

(3) The objective of the training event. 

o. The permittee may fulfill the training requirements in 

Part I E 6 m, in total or in part, through regional training 

programs involving two or more MS4 permittees; 

however, the permittee shall remain responsible for 

ensuring compliance with the training requirements. 

e. The operator shall require that municipal contractors 

use appropriate control measures and procedures for 

stormwater discharges to the MS4 system. Oversight 

procedures shall be described in the MS4 Program Plan. 

f. At a minimum, the MS4 Program Plan shall contain: p. 

The MS4 program plan shall include: 

(1) The written protocols being used to satisfy procedures 

for the daily operations and maintenance requirements; 

activities as required by Part I E 6 a; 

(2) A list of all municipal high-priority facilities that 

identifies those facilities that have a high potential for 

chemicals or other materials to be discharged in 

stormwater and a schedule that identifies the year in 

which an individual SWPPP will be developed for those 

facilities required to have a SWPPP. Upon completion of 

a SWPPP, the SWPPP shall be part of the MS4 Program 

Plan. The MS4 Program Plan shall include the location in 

which the individual SWPPP is located; A list of all high-

priority facilities owned or operated by the permittee 

required in accordance with Part I E 6 c, and whether or 

not the facility has a high potential to discharge; 

(3) A list of lands where nutrients are applied to a 

contiguous area of more than one acre. Upon completion 

of a turf and landscape nutrient management plan, the 

turf and landscape nutrient management plan shall be 

part of the MS4 Program Plan. The MS4 Program Plan 

shall include the location in which the individual turf and 

landscape nutrient management plan is located; and A list 

of lands for which turf and landscape nutrient 

management plans are required in accordance with Part I 

E 6 i and j, including the following information: 

(a) The total acreage on which nutrients are applied; 

(b) The date of the most recently approved nutrient 

management plan for the property; and 

(c) The MS4 program plan shall include the location in 

which the individual turf and landscape nutrient 

management plan is located. 
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(4) A summary of mechanisms the permittee uses to 

ensure contractors working on behalf of the permittees 

implement the necessary good housekeeping and 

pollution prevention procedures, and stormwater 

pollution plans as appropriate; and 

(4) (5) The annual written training plan for the next 

reporting cycle. as required in Part I E 6 m. 

g. Annual reporting requirements. q. The annual report 

shall include the following: 

(1) A summary report on the development and 

implementation of the daily operational procedures; A 

summary of any daily operational procedures developed 

or modified in accordance with Part I E 6 a during the 

reporting period; 

(2) A summary report on the development and 

implementation of the required SWPPPs; A summary of 

any new SWPPPs developed in accordance Part I E 6 c 

during the reporting period; 

(3) A summary of any SWPPPs modified in accordance 

with Part I E 6 f during the reporting period; 

(3) A summary report on the development and 

implementation of the turf and landscape nutrient 

management plans that includes: (4) A summary of any 

new turf and landscape nutrient management plans 

developed that includes: 

(a) The total acreage of lands where turf and landscape 

nutrient management plans are required Location and the 

total acreage of each land area; and 

(b) The acreage of lands upon which turf and landscape 

nutrient management plans have been implemented The 

date of the approved nutrient management plan; and 

(4) A summary report on the required training, including 

a list of training events, the training date, the number of 

employees attending training and the objective of the 

training. (5) A list of the training events conducted in 

accordance with Part I E 6 m, including the following 

information: 

(a) The date of the training event; 

(b) The number of employees who attended the training 

event; and 

(c) The objective of the training event. 

C. If an existing program requires the implementation of one 

or more of the minimum control measures of Section II B, the 

operator, with the approval of the board, may follow that 

program's requirements rather than the requirements of 

Section II B. A program that may be considered includes, but 

is not limited to, a local, state or tribal program that imposes, 

at a minimum, the relevant requirements of Section II B. 

The operator's MS4 Program Plan shall identify and fully 

describe any program that will be used to satisfy one or more 

of the minimum control measures of Section II B. 

If the program the operator is using requires the approval of 

a third party, the program must be fully approved by the third 

party, or the operator must be working towards getting full 

approval. Documentation of the program's approval status, or 

the progress towards achieving full approval, must be 

included in the annual report required by Section II E 3. The 

operator remains responsible for compliance with the permit 

requirements if the other entity fails to implement the control 

measures (or component thereof). 

D. The operator may rely on another entity to satisfy the 

state permit requirements to implement a minimum control 

measure if: (i) the other entity, in fact, implements the control 

measure; (ii) the particular control measure, or component 

thereof, is at least as stringent as the corresponding state 

permit requirement; and (iii) the other entity agrees to 

implement the control measure on behalf of the operator. The 

agreement between the parties must be documented in writing 

and retained by the operator with the MS4 Program Plan for 

the duration of this state permit. 

In the annual reports that must be submitted under Section II 

E 3, the operator must specify that another entity is being 

relied on to satisfy some of the state permit requirements. 

If the operator is relying on another governmental entity 

regulated under 9VAC25-870-380 to satisfy all of the state 

permit obligations, including the obligation to file periodic 

reports required by Section II E 3, the operator must note that 

fact in the registration statement, but is not required to file the 

periodic reports. 

The operator remains responsible for compliance with the 

state permit requirements if the other entity fails to implement 

the control measure (or component thereof). 

E. Evaluation and assessment. 

1. MS4 Program Evaluation. The operator must annually 

evaluate: 

a. Program compliance;  

b. The appropriateness of the identified BMPs (as part of 

this evaluation, the operator shall evaluate the 

effectiveness of BMPs in addressing discharges into 

waters that are identified as impaired in the 2010 § 

305(b)/303(d) Water Quality Assessment Integrated 

Report); and 

c. Progress towards achieving the identified measurable 

goals. 

2. Recordkeeping. The operator must keep records required 

by the state permit for at least three years. These records 

must be submitted to the department only upon specific 

request. The operator must make the records, including a 
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description of the stormwater management program, 

available to the public at reasonable times during regular 

business hours. 

3. Annual reports. The operator must submit an annual 

report for the reporting period of July 1 through June 30 to 

the department by the following October 1 of that year. 

The reports shall include: 

a. Background Information. 

(1) The name and state permit number of the program 

submitting the annual report; 

(2) The annual report permit year; 

(3) Modifications to any operator's department's roles and 

responsibilities; 

(4) Number of new MS4 outfalls and associated acreage 

by HUC added during the permit year; and 

(5) Signed certification; 

b. The status of compliance with state permit conditions, 

an assessment of the appropriateness of the identified 

best management practices and progress towards 

achieving the identified measurable goals for each of the 

minimum control measures; 

c. Results of information collected and analyzed, 

including monitoring data, if any, during the reporting 

period; 

d. A summary of the stormwater activities the operator 

plans to undertake during the next reporting cycle; 

e. A change in any identified best management practices 

or measurable goals for any of the minimum control 

measures including steps to be taken to address any 

deficiencies;  

f. Notice that the operator is relying on another 

government entity to satisfy some of the state permit 

obligations (if applicable);  

g. The approval status of any programs pursuant to 

Section II C (if appropriate), or the progress towards 

achieving full approval of these programs; and 

h. Information required for any applicable TMDL special 

condition contained in Section I. 

F. Program Plan modifications.  

1. Program modifications requested by the operator. 

Modifications to the MS4 Program are expected 

throughout the life of this state permit as part of the 

iterative process to reduce the pollutant loadings and to 

protect water quality. As such, modifications made in 

accordance with this state permit as a result of the iterative 

process do not require modification of this permit unless 

the department determines that the changes meet the 

criteria referenced in 9VAC25-870-630 or 9VAC25-870-

650. Updates and modifications to the MS4 Program may 

be made during the life of this state permit in accordance 

with the following procedures: 

a. Adding (but not eliminating or replacing) components, 

controls, or requirements to the MS4 Program may be 

made by the operator at any time. Additions shall be 

reported as part of the annual report. 

b. Updates and modifications to specific standards and 

specifications, schedules, operating procedures, 

ordinances, manuals, checklists, and other documents 

routinely evaluated and modified are permitted under this 

state permit provided that the updates and modifications 

are done in a manner that (i) is consistent with the 

conditions of this state permit, (ii) follow any public 

notice and participation requirements established in this 

state permit, and (iii) are documented in the annual 

report. 

c. Replacing, or eliminating without replacement, any 

ineffective or infeasible strategies, policies, and BMPs 

specifically identified in this permit with alternate 

strategies, policies, and BMPs may be requested at any 

time. Such requests must be made in writing to the 

department and signed in accordance with 9VAC25-870-

370, and include the following: 

(1) An analysis of how or why the BMPs, strategies, or 

policies are ineffective or infeasible, including 

information on whether the BMPs, strategies, or policies 

are cost prohibitive; 

(2) Expectations regarding the effectiveness of the 

replacement BMPs, strategies, or policies; 

(3) An analysis of how the replacement BMPs are 

expected to achieve the goals of the BMPs to be 

replaced; 

(4) A schedule for implementing the replacement BMPs, 

strategies, and policies; and  

(5) An analysis of how the replacement strategies and 

policies are expected to improve the operator's ability to 

meet the goals of the strategies and policies being 

replaced. 

d. The operator follows the public involvement 

requirements identified in Section II B 2 (a). 

2. MS4 Program updates requested by the department. In a 

manner and following procedures in accordance with the 

Virginia Administrative Process Act, the Virginia 

Stormwater Management regulations, and other applicable 

state law and regulations, the department may request 

changes to the MS4 Program to assure compliance with the 

statutory requirements of the Virginia Stormwater 

Management Act and its attendant regulations to: 
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a. Address impacts on receiving water quality caused by 

discharges from the MS4; 

b. Include more stringent requirements necessary to 

comply with new state or federal laws or regulations; or 

c. Include such other conditions necessary to comply 

with state or federal law or regulation. 

Proposed changes requested by the department shall be 

made in writing and set forth the basis for and objective of 

the modification as well as the proposed time schedule for 

the operator to develop and implement the modification. 

The operator may propose alternative program 

modifications or time schedules to meet the objective of 

the requested modification, but any such modifications are 

at the discretion of the department. 

Part II 

TMDL Special Conditions 

A. Chesapeake Bay TMDL special condition. 

1. The Commonwealth in its Phase I and Phase II 

Chesapeake Bay TMDL Watershed Implementation Plans 

(WIPs) committed to a phased approach for MS4s, 

affording MS4 permittees up to three full five-year permit 

cycles to implement necessary reductions. This permit is 

consistent with the Chesapeake Bay TMDL and the 

Virginia Phase I and II WIPs to meet the Level 2 (L2) 

scoping run for existing developed lands as it represents an 

implementation of an additional 35% of L2 as specified in 

the 2010 Phase I and II WIPs. In combination with the 

5.0% reduction of L2 that has already been achieved for a 

total reduction at the end of this permit term of 40% of L2. 

Conditions of future permits will be consistent with the 

TMDL or WIP conditions in place at the time of permit 

issuance.  

2. The following definitions apply to Part II of this state 

permit for the purpose of the Chesapeake Bay TMDL 

special condition for discharges in the Chesapeake Bay 

Watershed: 

"Existing sources" means pervious and impervious urban 

land uses served by the MS4 as of June 30, 2009. 

"New sources" means pervious and impervious urban 

land uses served by the MS4 developed or redeveloped 

on or after July 1, 2009. 

"Pollutants of concern" or "POC" means total nitrogen, 

total phosphorus, and total suspended solids.  

"Transitional sources" means regulated land disturbing 

activities that are temporary in nature and discharge 

through the MS4. 

3. Reduction requirements. No later than the expiration 

date of this permit, the permittee shall reduce the load of 

total nitrogen, total phosphorus, and total suspended solids 

from existing developed lands served by the MS4 as of 

June 30, 2009, within the 2010 Census Urbanized Area by 

at least 40% of the Level 2 (L2) Scoping Run Reductions. 

The 40% reduction is the sum of (i) the first phase 

reduction of 5.0% of the L2 Scoping Run Reductions based 

on the lands located within the 2000 Census Urbanized 

Areas required by June 30, 2018; (ii) the second phase 

reduction of at least 35% of the L2 Scoping Run based on 

lands within the 2000 Census Urbanized Areas required by 

June 30, 2023; and (iii) the reduction of at least 40% of the 

L2 Scoping Run based on lands within the 2010 expanded 

Census Urbanized Areas required by June 30, 2023. The 

required reduction shall be calculated using Tables 3a, 3b, 

3c, and 3d below as applicable: 
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Table 3a  

Calculation Sheet for Estimating Existing Source Loads and Reduction Requirements for the James River, Lynnhaven, and 

Little Creek Basins 

  A B C D E F G 

Pollutant Subsource 

Loading rate 

(lbs/ac/yr)1 

Existing 

developed lands 

as of 6/30/09 

served by the 

MS4 within the 

2010 CUA 

(acres)2 Loading (lbs/yr)3 

MS4 required 

Chesapeake Bay 

total L2 loading 

rate reduction 

Percentage of L2 

required reduction 

by 6/30/2023 

40% cumulative 

reduction Required 

by 6/30/2023 

(lbs/yr)4 

Sum of 40% 

cumulative 

reduction (lb/yr)5 

Nitrogen 

 

 

Regulated urban 

impervious 9.39   9% 40%   

Regulated urban 

pervious 6.99   6% 40%   

Phosphorus 

 

Regulated urban 

impervious 1.76   16% 40%   

Regulated urban 

pervious 0.5  
 

7.25% 40%   

Total 

suspended 

solids 

 

 

Regulated urban 

impervious 676.94  
 

20% 40%   

Regulated urban 

pervious 101.08  
 

8.75% 40%   

1Edge of stream loading rate based on the Chesapeake Bay Watershed Model Progress Run 5.3.2. 

2To determine the existing developed acres required in Column B, permittees should first determine the extent of their regulated service area based on the 2010 Census Urbanized 

Area (CUA). Next, permittees will need to delineate the lands within the 2010 CUA served by the MS4 as pervious or impervious as of the baseline date of June 30, 2009.  

3Column C = Column A x Column B. 

4Column F = Column C x (Column D ÷ 100) x (Column E ÷ 100). 

5Column G = The sum of the subsource cumulative reduction required by 6/30/23 (lbs/yr) as calculated in Column F.  

 

 

Table 3b  

Calculation Sheet for Estimating Existing Source Loads and Reduction Requirements for the Potomac River Basin 

 
 

A B C D E F G 

Pollutant Subsource 

Loading 

rate 

(lbs/ac/

yr)1 

Existing 

developed 

lands as 

of 

6/30/09 

served by 

the MS4 

within the 

2010 

CUA 

(acres)2 

Loading 

(lbs/ac/yr)3 

MS4 required 

Chesapeake Bay total 

L2 loading rate 

reduction 

Percentage of L2 

required reduction 

by 6/30/2023 

40% cumulative 

reduction 

required by 

6/30/2023 

(lbs/yr)4 

Sum of 40% 

cumulative 

reduction 

(lb/yr)5 

Nitrogen 

Regulated 

urban 

impervious 

16.86   

 

9% 40%   

  

Regulated 

urban 

pervious 

10.07   

 

6% 40%   
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Phosphorus 

Regulated 

Urban 

Impervious 

1.62     16% 40%   

  

Regulated 

urban 

pervious 

0.41     7.25% 40%   

Total 

suspended 

solids 

Regulated 

urban 

impervious 

1171.32     20% 40%   

  

Regulated 

urban 

pervious 

175.8     8.75% 40%   

1Edge of stream loading rate based on the Chesapeake Bay Watershed Model Progress Run 5.3.2 

2To determine the existing developed acres required in Column B, permittees should first determine the extent of their regulated service area based on the 2010 Census Urbanized 

Area (CUA). Next, permittees will need to delineate the lands within the 2010 CUA served by the MS4 as pervious or impervious as of the baseline date of June 30, 2009.   

3Column C = Column A x Column B 

4Column F = Column C x (Column D ÷ 100) x (Column E ÷ 100) 

5Column G = The sum of the subsource cumulative reduction required by 6/30/23 (lbs/yr) as calculated in Column F.  

 

Table 3c 

Calculation Sheet for Estimating Existing Source Loads and Reduction Requirements for the Rappahannock River Basin 

 
 

A B C D E F G 

Pollutant Subsource 

Loading 

rate 

(lbs/ac/yr)1 

Existing 

developed lands 

as of 6/30/09 

served by the 

MS4 within the 

2010 CUA 

(acres)2 

Loading 

(lbs/ac/yr)3 

MS4 required 

Chesapeake 

Bay total L2 

loading rate 

reduction 

Percentage 

of L2 

required 

reduction by 

6/30/2023 

40% 

cumulative 

reduction 

Required by 

6/30/2023 

(lbs/yr)4 

Sum of 40% 

cumulative 

reduction 

(lb/yr)5 

Nitrogen 

Regulated 

urban 

impervious 

9.38   

 

9% 40% 

  

  

Regulated 

urban pervious 
5.34   

 

6% 40% 
  

Phosphorus 

Regulated 

urban 

impervious 

1.41     16% 40% 

  

  

Regulated 

urban pervious 
0.38     7.25% 40% 

  

Total 

suspended 

solids 

Regulated 

urban 

impervious 

423.97     20% 40% 

  

  

Regulated 

urban pervious 
56.01     8.75% 40% 

  

1Edge of stream loading rate based on the Chesapeake Bay Watershed Model Progress Run 5.3.2. 

2To determine the existing developed acres required in Column B, permittees should first determine the extent of their regulated service area based on the 2010 Census Urbanized 

Area (CUA). Next, permittees will need to delineate the lands within the 2010 CUA served by the MS4 as pervious or impervious as of the baseline date of June 30, 2009. 

3Column C = Column A x Column B. 

4Column F = Column C x (Column D ÷ 100) x (Column E ÷ 100). 

5Column G = The sum of the subsource cumulative reduction required by 6/30/23 (lbs/yr) as calculated in Column F.  
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Table 3d 

Calculation Sheet for Estimating Existing Source Loads and Reduction Requirements for the York River and Poquoson Coastal 

Basin 

 
 

A B C D E F G 

Pollutant Subsource 

Loading rate 

(lbs/ac/yr)1 

Existing 

developed 

lands as of 

6/30/09 served 

by the MS4 

within the 

2010 CUA  

(acres)2 

Loading 

(lbs/ac/yr)3 

MS4 required 

Chesapeake Bay 

total L2 loading 

rate reduction 

Percentage of 

L2 required 

reduction by 

6/30/2023 

40 % 

cumulative 

reduction 

required 

by 

6/30/2023 

(lbs/yr)4 

Sum of 40% 

cumulative 

reduction 

(lb/yr)5 

Nitrogen 

Regulated urban 

impervious 
7.31   

 

9% 40% 
    

Regulated urban 

pervious 
7.65   

 

6% 40% 
  

Phosphorus 

Regulated urban 

impervious 
1.51     16% 40% 

    

Regulated urban 

pervious 
0.51     7.25% 40% 

  

Total 

suspended 

solids 

Regulated urban 

impervious 
456.68     20% 40% 

    

Regulated urban 

pervious 
72.78     8.75% 40% 

  

1Edge of stream loading rate based on the Chesapeake Bay Watershed Model Progress Run 5.3.2. 

2To determine the existing developed acres required in Column B, permittees should first determine the extent of their regulated service area based on the 2010 Census Urbanized 

Area (CUA). Next, permittees will need to delineate the lands within the 2010 CUA served by the MS4 as pervious or impervious as of the baseline date of June 30, 2009.  

3Column C = Column A x Column B. 

4Column F = Column C x (Column D ÷ 100) x (Column E ÷ 100). 

5Column G = The sum of the subsource cumulative reduction required by 6/30/23 (lbs/yr) as calculated in Column F. 

4. No later than the expiration date of this permit, the 

permittee shall offset 40% of the increased loads from new 

sources initiating construction between July 1, 2009, and 

June 30, 2019, and designed in accordance with 9VAC25-

870 Part II C (9VAC25-870-93 et seq.) if the following 

conditions apply: 

a. The activity disturbed one acre or greater; and 

b. The resulting total phosphorous load was greater than 

0.45 lb/acre/year, which is equivalent to an average land 

cover condition of 16% impervious cover.  

The permittee shall utilize Table 4 of Part II A 5 to develop 

the equivalent pollutant load for nitrogen and total 

suspended solids for new sources meeting the requirements 

of this condition.  

5. No later than the expiration date of this permit, the 

permittee shall offset the increased loads from projects 

grandfathered in accordance with 9VAC25-870-48 that 

begin construction after July 1, 2014, if the following 

conditions apply: 

a. The activity disturbs one acre or greater; and 

b. The resulting total phosphorous load was greater than 

0.45 lb/acre/year, which is equivalent to an average land 

cover condition of 16% impervious cover.  

The permittee shall utilize Table 4 below to develop the 

equivalent pollutant load for nitrogen and total suspended 

solids for grandfathered sources meeting the requirements 

of this condition. 
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Table 4 

Ratio of Phosphorus Loading Rate to Nitrogen and Total Suspended Solids Loading Rates for Chesapeake Bay Basins 

Ratio of Phosphorus to Other POCs 

(Based on All Land Uses 2009 Progress Run) 

Phosphorus 

Loading Rate 

(lbs/acre) 

Nitrogen 

Loading Rate 

(lbs/acre) 

Total Suspended 

Solids Loading Rate 

(lbs/acre) 

James River Basin, Lynnhaven, and Little Creek Basins 1.0 5.2 420.9 

Potomac River Basin 1.0 6.9 469.2 

Rappahannock River Basin 1.0 6.7 320.9 

York River Basin (including Poquoson Coastal Basin) 1.0 9.5 531.6 

6. Reductions achieved in accordance with the General 

VPDES Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from Small 

Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems effective July 1, 

2013, shall be applied to the total reduction requirements to 

demonstrate compliance with Part II A 3, A 4, and A 5.  

7. Reductions shall be achieved in each river basin as 

calculated in Part II A 3 or for reductions in accordance 

with Part II A 4 and A 5 in the basin in which the new 

source or grandfathered project occurred. 

8. Loading and reduction values greater than or equal to 10 

pounds calculated in accordance with Part II A 3, A 4, and 

A 5 shall be calculated and reported to the nearest pound 

without regard to mathematical rules of precision. Loading 

and reduction values of less than 10 pounds reported in 

accordance with Part II A 3, A 4, and A 5 shall be 

calculated and reported to two significant digits. 

9. Reductions required in Part II A 3, A 4, and A 5 shall be 

achieved through one or more of the following:  

a. BMPs approved by the Chesapeake Bay Program;  

b. BMPs approved by the department; or  

c. A trading program described in Part II A 10.  

10. The permittee may acquire and use total nitrogen and 

total phosphorus credits in accordance with § 62.1-

44.19:21 of the Code of Virginia and total suspend solids 

in accordance with § 62.1-44.19:21.1 of the Code of 

Virginia for purposes of compliance with the required 

reductions in Part II A 3 a through A 3 d, A 4, and A 5, 

provided the use of credits has been approved by the 

department. The exchange of credits is subject to the 

following requirements:  

a. The credits are generated and applied to a compliance 

obligation in the same calendar year; 

b. The credits are generated and applied to a compliance 

obligation in the same tributary; 

c. The credits are acquired no later than June 1 

immediately following the calendar year in which the 

credits are applied; 

d. No later than June 1 immediately following the 

calendar year in which the credits are applied, the 

permittee certifies on a credit exchange notification form 

supplied by the department that the permittee has 

acquired the credits; 

e. Total nitrogen and total phosphorus credits shall be 

either point source credits generated by point sources 

covered by the Watershed Permit for Total Nitrogen and 

Total Phosphorus Discharges and Nutrient Trading in the 

Chesapeake Bay Watershed general permit issued 

pursuant to § 62.1-44.19:14 of the Code of Virginia, or 

nonpoint source credits certified pursuant to § 62.1-

44.19:20 of the Code of Virginia; 

f. Sediment credits shall be derived from one of the 

following:  

(1) Implementation of BMP in a defined area outside of 

an MS4 service area, in which case the necessary 

baseline sediment reduction for such defined area shall 

be achieved prior to the permittee's use of additional 

reductions as credit; or  

(2) A point source wasteload allocation established by 

the Chesapeake Bay total maximum daily load, in which 

case the credit is the difference between the wasteload 

allocation specified as an annual mass load and any 

lower monitored annual mass load that is discharged as 

certified on a form supplied by the department. 

g. Sediment credits shall not be associated with 

phosphorus credits used for compliance with the 

stormwater nonpoint nutrient runoff water quality criteria 

established pursuant to § 62.1-44.15:28 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

11. No later than 12 months after the permit effective date, 

the permittee shall submit an updated Chesapeake Bay 
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TMDL action plan for the reductions required in Part II A 

3, A 4, and A 5 that includes the following information: 

a. Any new or modified legal authorities, such as 

ordinances, permits, policy, specific contract language, 

orders, and interjurisdictional agreements, implemented 

or needing to be implemented to meet the requirements 

of Part II A 3, A 4, and A 5. 

b. The load and cumulative reduction calculations for 

each river basin calculated in accordance with Part II A 

3, A 4, and A 5. 

c. The total reductions achieved as of July 1, 2018, for 

each pollutant of concern in each river basin;  

d. A list of BMPs implemented prior to July 1, 2018, to 

achieve reductions associated with the Chesapeake Bay 

TMDL including:  

(1) The date of implementation; and 

(2) The reductions achieved. 

e. The BMPs to be implemented by the permittee prior to 

the expiration of this permit to meet the cumulative 

reductions calculated in Part II A 3, A 4, and A 5, 

including as applicable:  

(1) Type of BMP; 

(2) Project name; 

(3) Location;  

(4) Percent removal efficiency for each pollutant of 

concern; and 

(5) Calculation of the reduction expected to be achieved 

by the BMP calculated and reported in accordance with 

the methodologies established in Part II A 8 for each 

pollutant of concern; and 

f. A summary of any comments received as a result of 

public participation required in Part II A 12, the 

permittee's response, identification of any public 

meetings to address public concerns, and any revisions 

made to Chesapeake Bay TMDL action plan as a result 

of public participation. 

12. Prior to submittal of the action plan required in Part II 

A 11, the permittee shall provide an opportunity for public 

comment on the additional BMPs proposed to meet the 

reductions not previously approved by the department in 

the first phase Chesapeake Bay TMDL action plan for no 

less than 15 days.  

13. The Chesapeake Bay TMDL action plan shall be 

incorporated by reference into the MS4 program plan 

required by Part I B of this permit.  

14. For each reporting period, the corresponding annual 

report shall include the following information:  

a. A list of BMPs implemented during the reporting 

period but not reported to the DEQ BMP Warehouse in 

accordance with Part I E 5 g and the estimated reduction 

of pollutants of concern achieved by each and reported in 

pounds per year;  

b. If the permittee acquired credits during the reporting 

period to meet all or a portion of the required reductions 

in Part II A 3, A 4, or A 5, a statement that credits were 

acquired; 

c. The progress, using the final design efficiency of the 

BMPs, toward meeting the required cumulative 

reductions for total nitrogen, total phosphorus, and total 

suspended solids; and 

d. A list of BMPs that are planned to be implemented 

during the next reporting period. 

B. Local TMDL special condition 

1. The permittee shall develop a local TMDL action plan 

designed to reduce loadings for pollutants of concern if the 

permittee discharges the pollutants of concern to an 

impaired water for which a TMDL has been approved by 

the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) as 

described in Part II B 1 a and 1 b:  

a. For TMDLs approved by the EPA prior to July 1, 

2013, and in which an individual or aggregate wasteload 

has been allocated to the permittee, the permittee shall 

update the previously approved local TMDL action plans 

to meet the conditions of Part II B 3, B 4, B 5, B 6, and B 

7 as applicable, no later than 18 months after the permit 

effective date and continue implementation of the action 

plan; and  

b. For TMDLs approved by EPA on or after July 1, 2013, 

and prior to June 30, 2018, and in which an individual or 

aggregate wasteload has been allocated to the permittee, 

the permittee shall develop and initiate implementation 

of action plans to meet the conditions of Part II B 3, B 4, 

B 5, B 6, and B 7 as applicable for each pollutant for 

which wasteloads have been allocated to the permittee's 

MS4 no later than 30 months after the permit effective 

date.  

2. TMDL action plans may be implemented in multiple 

phases over more than one permit cycle using the adaptive 

iterative approach provided adequate progress is achieved 

in the implementation of BMPs designed to reduce 

pollutant discharges in a manner that is consistent with the 

assumptions and requirements of the applicable TMDL. 

3. Each local TMDL action plan developed by the 

permittee shall include the following:  

a. The TMDL project name; 

b. The EPA approval date of the TMDL;  
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c. The wasteload allocated to the permittee (individually 

or in aggregate), and the corresponding percent 

reduction, if applicable; 

d. Identification of the significant sources of the 

pollutants of concern discharging to the permittee's MS4 

and are not covered under a separate VPDES permit. For 

the purposes of this requirement, a significant source of 

pollutants means a discharge where the expected 

pollutant loading is greater than the average pollutant 

loading for the land use identified in the TMDL;  

e. The BMPs designed to reduce the pollutants of 

concern in accordance with Parts II B 4, B 5, and B 6; 

f. Any calculations required in accordance with Part II B 

4, B 5, or B 6; 

g. For action plans developed in accordance with Part II 

B 4 and B 5, an outreach strategy to enhance the public's 

education (including employees) on methods to eliminate 

and reduce discharges of the pollutants; and 

h. A schedule of anticipated actions planned for 

implementation during this permit term. 

4. Bacterial TMDLs.  

a. If the permittee is an approved VSMP authority, the 

permittee shall select and implement at least three of the 

strategies listed in Table 5 below designed to reduce the 

load of bacteria to the MS4. Selection of the strategies 

shall correspond to sources identified in Part II B 3 e. 

b. If the permittee is not an approved VSMP authority, 

the permittee shall select at least one strategy listed in 

Table 5 below designed to reduce the load of bacteria to 

the MS4 relevant to sources of bacteria applicable within 

the MS4 regulated service area. Selection of the 

strategies shall correspond to sources identified in Part II 

B 3 e.  

Table 5 

Strategies for Bacteria Reduction Stormwater 

Control/Management Strategy 

Source Strategies (provided as an example 

and not meant to be all inclusive or 

limiting) 

Domestic pets 

(dogs and cats) 

Provide signage to pick up dog waste, 

providing pet waste bags and disposal 

containers. 

Adopt and enforce pet waste 

ordinances or policies, or leash laws 

or policies. 

Place dog parks away from 

environmentally sensitive areas. 

 

Maintain dog parks by removing 

disposed of pet waste bags and 

cleaning up other sources of bacteria. 

Protect riparian buffers and provide 

unmanicured vegetative buffers along 

streams to dissuade stream access. 

Urban wildlife  Educate the public on how to reduce 

food sources accessible to urban 

wildlife (e.g., manage restaurant 

dumpsters and grease traps, 

residential garbage, feed pets 

indoors). 

Install storm drain inlet or outlet 

controls. 

Clean out storm drains to remove 

waste from wildlife. 

Implement and enforce urban trash 

management practices. 

Implement rooftop disconnection 

programs or site designs that 

minimize connections to reduce 

bacteria from rooftops 

Implement a program for removing 

animal carcasses from roadways and 

properly disposing of the same (either 

through proper storage or through 

transport to a licensed facility). 

Illicit 

connections or 

illicit discharges 

to the MS4 

Implement an enhanced dry weather 

screening and illicit discharge, 

detection, and elimination program 

beyond the requirements of Part I E 3 

to identify and remove illicit 

connections and identify leaking 

sanitary sewer lines infiltrating to the 

MS4 and implement repairs.  

Implement a program to identify 

potentially failing septic systems. 

Educate the public on how to 

determine whether their septic system 

is failing. 

Implement septic tank inspection and 

maintenance program. 

Implement an educational program 

beyond any requirements in Part I E 1 

though E 6 to explain to citizens why 

they should not dump materials into 

the MS4. 

Marinas. 
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Dry weather 

urban flows 

(irrigations, 

carwashing, 

powerwashing, 

etc.) 

Implement public education programs 

to reduce dry weather flows from 

storm sewers related to lawn and park 

irrigation practices, carwashing, 

powerwashing and other 

nonstormwater flows. 

Provide irrigation controller rebates. 

Implement and enforce ordinances or 

policies related to outdoor water 

waste. 

Inspect commercial trash areas, 

grease traps, washdown practices, and 

enforce corresponding ordinances or 

policies. 

Birds (Canadian 

geese, gulls, 

pigeons, etc.) 

Identify areas with high bird 

populations and evaluate deterrents, 

population controls, habitat 

modifications and other measures that 

may reduce bird-associated bacteria 

loading. 

Prohibit feeding of birds. 

Other sources Enhance maintenance of stormwater 

management facilities owned or 

operated by the permittee. 

Enhance requirements for third 

parties to maintain stormwater 

management facilities. 

Develop BMPs for locating, 

transporting, and maintaining portable 

toilets used on permittee-owned sites. 

Educate third parties that use portable 

toilets on BMPs for use. 

Provide public education on 

appropriate recreational vehicle 

dumping practices. 

5. Local sediment, phosphorus, and nitrogen TMDLs. 

a. The permittee shall reduce the loads associated with 

sediment, phosphorus, or nitrogen through 

implementation of one or more of the following: 

(1) One or more of the BMPs from the Virginia 

Stormwater BMP Clearinghouse listed in 9VAC25-870-

65 or other approved BMPs found on the Virginia 

Stormwater BMP Clearinghouse website; 

(2) One or more BMPs approved by the Chesapeake Bay 

program; or 

(3) Land disturbance thresholds lower than Virginia's 

regulatory requirements for erosion and sediment control 

and post development stormwater management. 

b. The permittee may meet the local TMDL requirements 

for sediment, phosphorus, or nitrogen through BMPs 

implemented to meet the requirements of the Chesapeake 

Bay TMDL in Part II A as long as the BMPs are 

implemented in the watershed for which local water 

quality is impaired. 

c. The permittee shall calculate the anticipated load 

reduction achieved from each BMP and include the 

calculations in the action plan required in Part II B 3 g.  

d. No later than 36 months after the effective date of this 

permit, the permittee shall submit to the department the 

anticipated end dates by which the permittee will meet 

each WLA for sediment, phosphorus, or nitrogen. The 

proposed end date may be developed in accordance with 

Part II B 2. 

6. Polychlorinated biphenyl (PCB) TMDLs. 

a. For each PCB TMDL action plan, the permittee shall 

include an inventory of potentially significant sources of 

PCBs owned or operated by the permittee that drains to 

the MS4 that includes the following information:  

(1) Location of the potential source;  

(2) Whether or not the potential source is from current 

site activities or activities previously conducted at the site 

that have been terminated (i.e. legacy activities); and 

(3) A description of any measures being implemented or 

to be implemented to prevent exposure to stormwater and 

the discharge of PCBs from the site.  

b. If at any time during the term of this permit, the 

permittee discovers a previously unidentified significant 

source of PCBs within the permittee's MS4 regulated 

service area, the permittee shall notify DEQ in writing 

within 30 days of discovery. 

7. Prior to submittal of the action plan required in Part II B 

1, the permittee shall provide an opportunity for public 

comment proposed to meet the local TMDL action plan 

requirements for no less than 15 days. 

8. The MS4 program plan as required by Part I B of this 

permit shall incorporate each local TMDL action plan. 

Local TMDL action plans may be incorporated by 

reference into the MS4 program plan provided that the 

program plan includes the date of the most recent local 

TMDL action plan and identification of the location where 

a copy of the local TMDL action plan may be obtained.  

9. For each reporting period, each annual report shall 

include a summary of actions conducted to implement each 

local TMDL action plans.  
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SECTION Part III 

CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL STATE PERMITS 

Conditions Applicable to All State and VPDES Permits 

NOTE: Discharge monitoring is not required for this general 

permit. If the operator chooses to monitor stormwater 

discharges or control measures, the operator must comply 

with the requirements of Part III A, B, and C as appropriate. 

A. Monitoring. 

1. Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of 

monitoring shall be representative of the monitored 

monitoring activity. 

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 

approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 

unless other procedures have been specified in this state 

permit. Analyses performed according to test procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 shall be performed by an 

environmental laboratory certified under regulations 

adopted by the Department of General Services (1VAC30-

45 or 1VAC30-46). 

3. The operator shall periodically calibrate and perform 

maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

instrumentation at intervals that will insure ensure 

accuracy of measurements. 

B. Records. 

1. Monitoring records/reports records and reports shall 

include: 

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements; 

b. The individual(s) individuals who performed the 

sampling or measurements; 

c. The date(s) dates and time(s) times analyses were 

performed; 

d. The individual(s) individuals who performed the 

analyses; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and 

f. The results of such analyses. 

2. The operator shall retain records of all monitoring 

information, including all calibration and maintenance 

records and all original strip chart recordings for 

continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by this state permit, and records of all data 

used to complete the registration statement for this state 

permit, for a period of at least three years from the date of 

the sample, measurement, report or request for coverage. 

This period of retention shall be extended automatically 

during the course of any unresolved litigation regarding the 

regulated activity or regarding control standards applicable 

to the operator, or as requested by the board. 

C. Reporting monitoring results. 

1. The operator shall submit the results of the monitoring 

required by as may be performed in accordance with this 

state permit with the annual report unless another reporting 

schedule is specified elsewhere in this state permit.  

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge 

Monitoring Report discharge monitoring report (DMR); on 

forms provided, approved or specified by the department; 

or in any format provided that the date, location, 

parameter, method, and result of the monitoring activity 

are included.  

3. If the operator monitors any pollutant specifically 

addressed by this state permit more frequently than 

required by this state permit using test procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or using other test 

procedures approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency or using procedures specified in this state permit, 

the results of this monitoring shall be included in the 

calculation and reporting of the data submitted in the DMR 

or reporting form specified by the department. 

4. Calculations for all limitations that require averaging of 

measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 

otherwise specified in this state permit. 

D. Duty to provide information. The operator shall furnish 

to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 

that the board may request to determine whether cause exists 

for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating this 

state permit or to determine compliance with this state permit. 

The board, department, or EPA may require the operator to 

furnish, upon request, such plans, specifications, and other 

pertinent information as may be necessary to determine the 

effect of the wastes from his discharge on the quality of 

surface waters, or such other information as may be necessary 

to accomplish the purposes of the CWA and Virginia 

Stormwater Management Act. The operator shall also furnish 

to the board, department, or EPA upon request, copies of 

records required to be kept by this state permit. 

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 

noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 

final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 

this state permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days 

following each schedule date. 

F. Unauthorized stormwater discharges. Pursuant to § 62.1-

44.15:26 § 62.1-44.5 of the Code of Virginia, except in 

compliance with a state permit issued by the board 

department, it shall be unlawful to cause a stormwater 

discharge from a MS4. 

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any operator of a 

small MS4 who discharges or causes or allows a discharge of 
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sewage, industrial waste, other wastes or any noxious or 

deleterious substance or a hazardous substance or oil in an 

amount equal to or in excess of a reportable quantity 

established under either 40 CFR Part 110, 40 CFR Part 117 

or, 40 CFR Part 302, or § 62.1-44.34:19 of the Code of 

Virginia that occurs during a 24-hour period into or upon 

surface waters; or who discharges or causes or allows a 

discharge that may reasonably be expected to enter surface 

waters, shall notify the department of the discharge 

immediately upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case 

later than within 24 hours after said discovery. A written 

report of the unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the 

department within five days of discovery of the discharge. 

The written report shall contain: 

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge; 

2. The cause of the discharge; 

3. The date on which the discharge occurred; 

4. The length of time that the discharge continued; 

5. The volume of the discharge; 

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 

continue;  

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 

volume of the discharge will be; and  

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate and 

prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 

discharges not authorized by this state permit. 

Discharges reportable to the department under the 

immediate reporting requirements of other regulations are 

exempted from this requirement. 

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 

unusual or extraordinary discharge including a "bypass" (Part 

III U) or "upset," as defined herein (Part III V), should occur 

from a facility and the discharge enters or could be expected 

to enter surface waters, the operator shall promptly notify, in 

no case later than within 24 hours, the department by 

telephone after the discovery of the discharge. This 

notification shall provide all available details of the incident, 

including any adverse effects on aquatic life and the known 

number of fish killed. The operator shall reduce the report to 

writing and shall submit it to the department within five days 

of discovery of the discharge in accordance with Section Part 

III I 2. Unusual and extraordinary discharges include but are 

not limited to any discharge resulting from: 

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 

indirectly from processing operations; 

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment; 

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the 

facilities; and 

4. Flooding or other acts of nature. 

I. Reports of noncompliance. The operator shall report any 

noncompliance which may adversely affect surface waters or 

may endanger public health. 

1. An oral report to the department shall be provided 

within 24 hours to the department from the time the 

operator becomes aware of the circumstances. The 

following shall be included as information which that shall 

be reported within 24 hours under this paragraph 

subdivision: 

a. Any unanticipated bypass; and 

b. Any upset which that causes a discharge to surface 

waters. 

2. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 

shall contain: 

a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause; 

b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates 

and times, and if the noncompliance has not been 

corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 

and 

c. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance. The board or 

its designee department may waive the written report on 

a case-by-case basis for reports of noncompliance under 

Section Part III I if the oral report has been received 

within 24 hours and no adverse impact on surface waters 

has been reported. 

3. The operator shall report all instances of noncompliance 

not reported under Sections Part III I 1 or 2, in writing, at 

as part of the time the next monitoring annual reports that 

are submitted. The reports shall contain the information 

listed in Section Part III I 2. 

NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 

to be provided to the department in Sections Part III G, H, 

and I may shall be made to the appropriate Regional Office 

Pollution Response Program as found at 

http://deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponsePrepar

edness.aspx department. Reports may be made by 

telephone, email, or by fax. For reports outside normal 

working hours, leave leaving a recorded message and this 

shall fulfill the immediate reporting requirement. For 

emergencies, the Virginia Department of Emergency 

Services Management maintains a 24-hour telephone 

service at 1-800-468-8892. 

4. Where the operator becomes aware of a failure to submit 

any relevant facts, or submittal of incorrect information in 

any report, including a registrations statement, to the 

department, it the operator shall promptly submit such 

facts or correct information. 
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J. Notice of planned changes. 

1. The operator shall give notice to the department as soon 

as possible of any planned physical alterations or additions 

to the permitted facility. Notice is required only when: 

a. The operator plans an alteration or addition to any 

building, structure, facility, or installation from which 

there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 

construction of which commenced that may meet one of 

the criteria for determining whether a facility is a new 

source in 9VAC25-870-420: 

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance 

under § 306 of the Clean Water Act that are applicable to 

such source; or 

(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 

accordance with § 306 of the Clean Water Act that are 

applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 

promulgated in accordance with § 306 within 120 days of 

their proposal; 

b. The operator plans an alteration or addition that would 

significantly change the nature or increase the quantity of 

pollutants discharged. This notification applies to 

pollutants that are not subject to effluent limitations in 

this state permit; or 

2. The operator shall give advance notice to the department 

of any planned changes in the permitted facility or activity; 

which that may result in noncompliance with state permit 

requirements. 

K. Signatory requirements. 

1. Registration statement. All registration statements shall 

be signed as follows: 

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 

For the purpose of this subsection, chapter, a responsible 

corporate officer means: (i) A a president, secretary, 

treasurer, or vice-president of the corporation in charge 

of a principal business function, or any other person who 

performs similar policy-making or decision-making 

functions for the corporation, or (ii) the manager of one 

or more manufacturing, production, or operating 

facilities, provided the manager is authorized to make 

management decisions which that govern the operation 

of the regulated facility including having the explicit or 

implicit duty of making major capital investment 

recommendations, and initiating and directing other 

comprehensive measures to assure long term compliance 

with environmental laws and regulations; the manager 

can ensure that the necessary systems are established or 

actions taken to gather complete and accurate 

information for state permit application requirements; 

and where authority to sign documents has been assigned 

or delegated to the manager in accordance with corporate 

procedures; 

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; or 

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: By by either a principal executive officer or 

ranking elected official. For purposes of this subsection 

chapter, a principal executive officer of a public agency 

includes: 

(1) The chief executive officer of the agency, or 

(2) A senior executive officer having responsibility for 

the overall operations of a principal geographic unit of 

the agency. 

2. Reports, etc and other information. All reports required 

by state permits, including annual reports, and other 

information requested by the board or department shall be 

signed by a person described in Section Part III K 1, or by 

a duly authorized representative of that person. A person is 

a duly authorized representative only if: 

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 

described in Section Part III K 1; 

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 

the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 

plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 

superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or 

an individual or position having overall responsibility for 

environmental matters for the operator. (A duly 

authorized representative may thus be either a named 

individual or any individual occupying a named 

position.); and 

c. The signed and dated written authorization is 

submitted to the department. 

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under 

Section Part III K 2 is no longer accurate because a 

different individual or position has responsibility for the 

overall operation of the facility, MS4, a new authorization 

satisfying the requirements of Section Part III K 2 shall be 

submitted to the department prior to or together with any 

reports, or information to be signed by an authorized 

representative. 

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under 

Sections Part III K 1 or 2 shall make the following 

certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 

that qualified personnel properly gather gathered and 

evaluate evaluated the information submitted. Based on my 

inquiry of the person or persons who manage the system, 

or those persons directly responsible for gathering the 

information, the information submitted is, to the best of my 
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knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I am 

aware that there are significant penalties for submitting 

false information, including the possibility of fine and 

imprisonment for knowing violations." 

L. Duty to comply. The operator shall comply with all 

conditions of this state permit. Any state permit 

noncompliance constitutes a violation of the Virginia 

Stormwater Management Act and the Clean Water Act, 

except that noncompliance with certain provisions of this 

state permit may constitute a violation of the Virginia 

Stormwater Management Act but not the Clean Water Act. 

State permit Permit noncompliance is grounds for 

enforcement action; for state permit termination, revocation 

and reissuance, or modification; or denial of a state permit 

renewal application. 

The operator shall comply with effluent standards or 

prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water 

Act for toxic pollutants within the time provided in the 

regulations that establish these standards or prohibitions or 

standards for sewage sludge use or disposal, even if this state 

permit has not yet been modified to incorporate the 

requirement. 

M. Duty to reapply. If the operator wishes to continue an 

activity regulated by this state permit after the expiration date 

of this state permit, the operator shall submit a new 

registration statement at least 90 days before the expiration 

date of the existing state permit, unless permission for a later 

date has been granted by the board. The board shall not grant 

permission for registration statements to be submitted later 

than the expiration date of the existing state permit. 

N. Effect of a state permit. This state permit does not convey 

any property rights in either real or personal property or any 

exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 

private property or invasion of personal rights, or any 

infringement of federal, state or local law or regulations.  

O. State law. Nothing in this state permit shall be construed 

to preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 

the operator from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 

established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 

under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 

Except as provided in state permit conditions on "bypassing" 

(Section (Part III U), and "upset" (Section (Part III V) nothing 

in this state permit shall be construed to relieve the operator 

from civil and criminal penalties for noncompliance. 

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

state permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of 

any legal action or relieve the operator from any 

responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties to which the operator 

is or may be subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-

44.34:23 of the State Water Control Law or § 311 of the 

Clean Water Act. 

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The operator shall at 

all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 

systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances), 

which are installed or used by the operator to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this state permit. Proper 

operation and maintenance also includes effective plant 

performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 

adequate laboratory and process controls, including 

appropriate quality assurance procedures. This provision 

requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or 

similar systems, which are installed by the operator only 

when the operation is necessary to achieve compliance with 

the conditions of this state permit.  

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges or other 

pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 

of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 

any pollutant from such materials from entering surface 

waters and in compliance with all applicable state and federal 

laws and regulations. 

S. Duty to mitigate. The operator shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any discharge in violation of this 

state permit that has a reasonable likelihood of adversely 

affecting human health or the environment.  

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 

be a defense for an operator in an enforcement action that it 

would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 

activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 

of this state permit. 

U. Bypass. 

1. "Bypass," as defined in 9VAC25-870-10, means the 

intentional diversion of waste streams from any portion of 

a treatment facility. The operator may allow any bypass to 

occur that does not cause effluent limitations to be 

exceeded, but only if it also is for essential maintenance to 

assure ensure efficient operation. These bypasses are not 

subject to the provisions of Sections Part III U 2 and U 3. 

2. Notice.  

a. Anticipated bypass. If the operator knows in advance 

of the need for a bypass, the operator shall submit prior 

notice shall be submitted, to the department, if possible at 

least 10 days before the date of the bypass. 

b. Unanticipated bypass. The operator shall submit notice 

of an unanticipated bypass as required in Section Part III 

I. 

3. Prohibition of bypass. 

a. Bypass Except as provided in Part III U 1, bypass is 

prohibited, and the board or its designee department may 

take enforcement action against an operator for bypass, 

unless: 
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(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 

personal injury, or severe property damage;  

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 

such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 

of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 

periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 

satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 

been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 

judgment to prevent a bypass that occurred during 

normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 

maintenance; and 

(3) The operator submitted notices as required under 

Section Part III U 2. 

b. The board or its designee department may approve an 

anticipated bypass, after considering its adverse effects, 

if the board or its designee department determines that it 

will meet the three conditions listed above in Section Part 

III U 3 a. 

V. Upset.  

1. An "upset," as defined in 9VAC25-870-10, constitutes 

an affirmative defense to an action brought for 

noncompliance with technology based state permit effluent 

limitations if the requirements of Section III V 2 are met. A 

determination made during administrative review of claims 

that noncompliance was caused by upset, and before an 

action for noncompliance, is not a final administrative 

action subject to judicial review. 2. means an exceptional 

incident in which there is unintentional and temporary 

noncompliance with technology based state permit effluent 

limitations because of factors beyond the reasonable 

control of the operator. An upset does not include 

noncompliance to the extent caused by operational error, 

improperly designed treatment facilities, inadequate 

treatment facilities, lack of preventive maintenance, or 

careless or improper operation.  

2. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 

brought for noncompliance with technology-based state 

permit effluent limitations if the requirements of Part III V 

4 are met. A determination made during administrative 

review of claims that noncompliance was caused by upset, 

and before an action for noncompliance, is not a final 

administrative action subject to judicial review. 

3. An upset does not include noncompliance to the extent 

caused by operational error, improperly designed treatment 

facilities, inadequate treatment facilities, lack of preventive 

maintenance, or careless or improper operation. 

3. 4. An operator who wishes to establish the affirmative 

defense of upset shall demonstrate, through properly 

signed, contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant 

evidence that: 

a. An upset occurred and that the operator can identify 

the cause(s) causes of the upset; 

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 

operated; 

c. The operator submitted notice of the upset as required 

in Section Part III I; and 

d. The operator complied with any remedial measures 

required under Section Part III S. 

4. 5. In any enforcement proceeding the operator seeking 

to establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of 

proof. 

W. Inspection and entry. The operator shall allow the 

department as the board's designee, EPA, or an authorized 

representative (including an authorized contractor acting as a 

representative of the administrator), contractor), upon 

presentation of credentials and other documents as may be 

required by law, to: 

1. Enter upon the operator's premises where a regulated 

facility or activity is located or conducted, or where 

records must be kept under the conditions of this state 

permit; 

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 

records that must be kept under the conditions of this state 

permit; 

3. Inspect and photograph at reasonable times any 

facilities, equipment (including monitoring and control 

equipment), practices, or operations regulated or required 

under this state permit; and 

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 

of assuring state ensuring permit compliance or as 

otherwise authorized by the Clean Water Act and the 

Virginia Stormwater Management Act, any substances or 

parameters at any location. 

For purposes of this subsection, the time for inspection 

shall be deemed reasonable during regular business hours, 

and whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing 

contained herein shall make an inspection unreasonable 

during an emergency. 

X. State permit actions. State permits may be modified, 

revoked and reissued, or terminated for cause. The filing of a 

request by the operator for a state permit modification, 

revocation and reissuance, or termination, or a notification of 

planned changes or anticipated noncompliance does not stay 

any state permit condition. 

Y. Transfer of state permits. 

1. State permits are not transferable to any person except 

after notice to the department. Except as provided in 

Section Part III Y 2, a state permit may be transferred by 

the operator to a new operator only if the state permit has 
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been modified or revoked and reissued, or a minor 

modification made, to identify the new operator and 

incorporate such other requirements as may be necessary 

under the Virginia Stormwater Management Act and the 

Clean Water Act. 

2. As an alternative to transfers under Section Part III Y 1, 

this state permit may be automatically transferred to a new 

operator if: 

a. The current operator notifies the department at least 

two 30 days in advance of the proposed transfer of the 

title to the facility or property;  

b. The notice includes a written agreement between the 

existing and new operators containing a specific date for 

transfer of state permit responsibility, coverage, and 

liability between them; and 

c. The board department does not notify the existing 

operator and the proposed new operator of its intent to 

modify or revoke and reissue the state permit. If this 

notice is not received, the transfer is effective on the date 

specified in the agreement mentioned in Section Part III 

Y 2 b. 

Z. Severability. The provisions of this state permit are 

severable, and if any provision of this state permit or the 

application of any provision of this state permit to any 

circumstance is held invalid, the application of such provision 

to other circumstances, and the remainder of this state permit, 

shall not be affected thereby. 

9VAC25-890-50. Delegation of authority. (Repealed.) 

The director, or his designee, may perform any act of the 

board provided under this chapter, except as limited by 

§ 62.1-44.14 of the Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4777; Filed December 19, 2017, 11:54 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Proposed Regulation  

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-230. State Medical Facilities 

Plan (amending 12VAC5-230-10, 12VAC5-230-420, 

12VAC5-230-610, 12VAC5-230-620).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-102.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: March 9, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Domica Winstead, Policy Analyst, 

Department of Health, 3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, 

VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-2157, FAX (804) 527-4502, 

or email domica.winstead@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The regulation is promulgated under the authority of 

§ 32.1-102.2 of the Code of Virginia. Section 32.1-102.2 of 

the Code of Virginia requires the Board of Health to 

promulgate regulations that establish concise procedures for 

the prompt review of applications for certificates of public 

need consistent with Article 1.1 (§ 32.1-102.1 et seq.) of 

Chapter 4 of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia. Section 32.1-

102.2 of the Code of Virginia further requires the board to 

promulgate regulations that establish specific criteria for 

determining need in rural areas, giving due consideration to 

distinct and unique geographic, socioeconomic, cultural, 

transportation, and other barriers to access to care in such 

areas. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is to update 

definitions related to cardiac catheterization and update the 

occupancy standard utilized for determining the need for new 

nursing home beds.  

Updated regulations to implement the State Medical Facilities 

Plan are essential to protect the health of Virginians as the 

Department of Health has determined that excess capacity or 

underutilization of medical facilities are detrimental to both 

cost effectiveness and quality of medical services in Virginia; 

the department seeks to promote the availability and 

accessibility of proven technologies through planned 

geographical distribution of medical facilities; the department 

seeks to promote the development and maintenance of 

services and access to those services by all Virginians who 

need them without respect to their ability to pay; the 

department seeks to encourage the conversion of facilities to 

new and efficient uses and the reallocation of resources to 

meet evolving community needs; and the department 

discourages the proliferation of services that would 

undermine the ability of essential community providers to 

maintain their financial viability. 

Substance: This regulatory action (i) amends the existing 

definitions for "cardiac catheterization" and "diagnostic 

equivalent procedure"; (ii) adds new definitions for 

"diagnostic cardiac catheterization," "complex therapeutic 

cardiac catheterization," and "simple therapeutic cardiac 

catheterization"; (iii) establishes requirements for proposals to 

provide simple and complex therapeutic cardiac 

catheterization; (iv) amends requirements for calculating need 

for additional nursing facility beds in a health planning 

district by requiring the analysis of both the average and 

median occupancy levels of Medicaid-certified nursing 

facility beds; and (v) reduces the occupancy level required to 

approve expansion of beds in an existing nursing facility from 

93% to 90%. 

Issues: The primary advantages of the regulatory action to the 

public are that the criteria for demonstrating public need for 

the included facilities will more closely reflect changes in 
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technology, as well as application of service and utilization 

patterns, and will therefore help increase access to the 

services for the citizens of the Commonwealth. The 

Department of Health does not foresee any disadvantages to 

the public. The primary advantage to the agency and the 

Commonwealth is the promotion of access to health care 

services. There are no disadvantages associated with the 

proposed regulatory action in relation to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Health (Board) proposes to 1) make a 

distinction between simple and complex cardiac 

catheterization procedures, 2) no longer require hospitals to 

have open heart surgery services on premises as a condition 

to perform diagnostic and simple cardiac catheterization 

procedures, provided they follow certain guidelines, 3) assign 

greater value of diagnostic equivalent procedures for complex 

and pediatric cardiac catheterization procedures relative to 

simple ones, 4) lower the statistical threshold occupancy rates 

used in determining the need for additional nursing home 

beds, and 5) add and revise certain statistical threshold values 

to improve measurement accuracy. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, all therapeutic 

cardiac catheterization procedures are considered the same in 

the regulation. The board proposes new definitions for simple 

(relieving coronary artery narrowing) and complex 

(correcting congenital or acquired structural valvular 

abnormalities) cardiac catheterization procedures to reflect 

current industry practices. 

The board also proposes to no longer require, subject to a 

number of conditions, hospitals to have open heart surgery 

services on-site to perform simple procedures. Currently, only 

diagnostic and emergency therapeutic cardiac catheterization 

procedures can be performed without open heart surgery 

services back-up. According to the Virginia Department of 

Health (VDH), there are 29 hospitals with cardiac 

catheterization laboratories that do not have on-site open 

heart surgery services but may start performing elective 

simple therapeutic procedures under the proposed regulation 

provided they adhere to certain guidelines. This change would 

benefit those affected hospitals in that they would be allowed 

to offer these procedures if they wish. This change will likely 

also improve access to these services as most of the hospitals 

without on-site heart surgery services tend to be in rural areas.  

VDH believes that the risks of taking the time to transfer the 

patient with a simple cardiac issue to a hospital with an open 

heart surgery back-up outweigh the risks of getting the 

procedure done sooner at a hospital without one. Thus, 

outcomes are expected to be better if patients get simple 

therapeutic procedures without being transferred. In addition, 

elective simple procedures can be performed without open 

heart surgery back-up only if certain conditions are met. 

Those conditions are set by the American Heart 

Association/American Stroke Association's Percutaneous 

Coronary Intervention without Surgical Back-up Policy 

Guidance. This policy guidance includes ten requirements to 

improve the chances of a favorable outcome when simple 

elective procedures are performed without an open heart 

surgery back-up. 

The Board further proposes to give greater relative value to 

complex and pediatric diagnostic equivalent procedures 

(DEP). DEP is a measure of the relative complexity of 

various cardiac catheterization procedures. Currently, a 

diagnostic procedure equals 1 DEP, a cardiac procedure 

(simple or complex) equals 2 DEPs, and a same session 

procedure (diagnostic and simple or complex procedure) 

equals 3 DEPs. Under the proposed regulation, diagnostic 

procedure will stay at 1 DEP, a simple therapeutic procedure 

will equal 2 DEPs, a same session diagnostic and simple 

therapeutic procedure will equal 3 DEPs, and a complex 

therapeutic procedure will equal 5 DEPs. If any of the 

procedures is for a pediatric patient, it will equal twice as 

many DEPs (i.e., a pediatric diagnostic procedure will equal 2 

DEPs, a simple therapeutic pediatric procedure will equal 4 

DEPs, a same session pediatric diagnostic and simple 

therapeutic procedure will equal 6 DEPs, and a pediatric 

complex therapeutic procedure will equal 10 DEPs). 

According to VDH, pediatric procedures frequently require 

continuous anesthesia services and therefore tend to be 

complex. 

The proposed greater DEP values for complex therapeutic 

and pediatric procedures will make it easier to demonstrate 

the need for expansion (12VAC5-230-390) or the need for 

new cardiac catheterization services (12VAC5-230-400) and 

the need for new open heart surgery services (12VAC5-230-

450) because DEP thresholds for new or expansion of 

services are not changing. For example, if currently 500 

diagnostics (500 DEPs), 200 simple (400 DEPs), and 100 

complex (200 DEPs) procedures are performed on average 

per facility in a planning district, the average facility will 

have a total of 1,100 DEPs and no facility would qualify an 

expansion of services under 12VAC5-230-390 because on 

average there will be less than 1,200 cardiac catheterization 

DEPs per facility. However, under the proposed regulation, 

the same district will have an average of 1,400 DEPs (500 

DEPs+400 DEPs+500 DEPs) per hospital and will satisfy that 

criteria for expansion. This proposed change will make it 

easier to demonstrate the need for additional cardiac 

catheterization and open heart surgery services. Ease of 

demonstration may reduce a barrier to entry into the 

catheterization and open heart surgery industry and promote 

competition. However, VDH notes that the expected impact 
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may be limited because the majority of procedures are 

diagnostic and simple therapeutic. 

Moreover, the Board proposes to lower the statistical 

threshold occupancy rate used in determining the need for 

additional Medicaid certified nursing home bed capacity. 

Currently, a health planning district must have at least 93% 

average annual occupancy rate to demonstrate the need for 

new or expansion of existing number of beds. The Board 

proposes to reduce the average annual occupancy rate to 90%. 

According to VDH, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services now pay for Medicare short-stay rehabilitation 

patients in nursing facilities, which has caused facilities to 

reserve beds for those patients and served to help reduce the 

average length of stays and occupancy levels. The proposed 

change is expected to offset that reduction and provide a more 

accurate assessment of the need for additional nursing facility 

beds in each planning district. A lower statistical threshold to 

demonstrate the need for additional bed capacity than the 

current threshold should somewhat help ease a potential 

barrier to entry and promote competition in the nursing home 

industry. 

Finally, the Board proposes to add and revise certain 

statistical threshold values to improve measurement accuracy. 

For example, the Board proposes to require in the case of 

determining the need for new beds, that the median annual 

occupancy rate in the district be at least 93% in addition to 

meeting the revised 90% average annual occupancy rate. 

Using median and average occupancy rates together is 

expected to better assess the need for new beds in the district 

given the statistical characteristics of this particular data set. 

Similarly, the Board proposes to include in the sample 

occupancy data from which the occupancy rates are 

calculated, facilities that have been in operation at least one 

year as opposed to at least three years as currently required. 

VDH reports that a facility reaches its full capacity within a 

year, and the current requirement does not allow useful data 

from the second and third years to be used in calculating bed 

need in the district. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed changes 

apply to 105 hospitals that are either currently providing or 

may seek to provide cardiac catheterization services. Of 

these, there are 29 hospitals with cardiac catheterization 

laboratories that do not have on-site open heart surgery 

services but may start performing elective simple therapeutic 

procedures under the proposed regulation provided they 

adhere to certain guidelines. 

Also, the proposed regulation applies to the 284 existing 

nursing homes in Virginia. The number of potential nursing 

home applicants for the development of nursing homes in 

Virginia is not known.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes do not 

affect a particular locality more than others. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

would allow 29 hospitals that do not have on-site open heart 

surgery services to start performing elective simple 

therapeutic procedures. This change may shift some of the 

elective simple therapeutic procedures being performed at 

hospitals with open heart surgery back-up to hospitals without 

such a back-up and accordingly shift demand for labor 

involved in performing such procedures among the hospitals. 

The proposed greater DEP values for more complex and 

pediatric procedures would make it easier to demonstrate the 

need for such services and reduce a potential barrier to entry 

into cardiac catheterization and open heart surgery services. 

Similarly, a lower statistical threshold to demonstrate the 

need for additional bed capacity should somewhat help ease a 

potential barrier to entry. A reduction in barriers to entry may 

lead to additional employment in those areas. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The shift of 

elective simple therapeutic procedures from hospitals that 

have open heart surgery back-up to hospitals without may 

affect their asset values accordingly. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Only one nursing home is 

considered a small business. The costs and other effects on 

that nursing home are the same as those discussed above. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No 

direct adverse impact on small businesses is expected.  

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The indirect adverse impact on hospitals that 

have open heart back-up services are the same as those 

discussed above. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Department of Health concurs with the results of the 

analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) make a distinction between 

simple and complex cardiac catheterization procedures, 

(ii) no longer require hospitals to have open heart surgery 
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services on premises as a condition to perform diagnostic 

and simple cardiac catheterization procedures, provided 

they follow certain guidelines, (iii) assign greater value of 

diagnostic equivalent procedures for complex and 

pediatric cardiac catheterization procedures relative to 

simple ones, (iv) lower the statistical threshold occupancy 

rates used in determining the need for additional nursing 

home beds, and (v) add and revise certain statistical 

threshold values to improve measurement accuracy. 

Part I  

Definitions and General Information  

12VAC5-230-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Acute psychiatric services" means hospital-based inpatient 

psychiatric services provided in distinct inpatient units in 

general hospitals or freestanding psychiatric hospitals. 

"Acute substance abuse disorder treatment services" means 

short-term hospital-based inpatient treatment services with 

access to the resources of (i) a general hospital, (ii) a 

psychiatric unit in a general hospital, (iii) an acute care 

addiction treatment unit in a general hospital licensed by the 

Department of Health, or (iv) a chemical dependency 

specialty hospital with acute care medical and nursing staff 

and life support equipment licensed by the Department of 

Mental Behavioral Health, Mental Retardation and Substance 

Abuse Developmental Services. 

"Bassinet" means an infant care station, including warming 

stations and isolettes. 

"Bed" means that unit, within the complement of a medical 

care facility, subject to COPN review as required by Article 

1.1 (§ 32.1-102.1 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia and 

designated for use by patients of the facility or service. For 

the purposes of this chapter, bed does include cribs and 

bassinets used for pediatric patients, but does not include 

cribs and bassinets in the newborn nursery or neonatal special 

care setting. 

"Cardiac catheterization" means a an invasive procedure 

where a flexible tube is inserted into the patient through an 

extremity blood vessel and advanced under fluoroscopic 

guidance into the heart chambers or coronary arteries. Cardiac 

A cardiac catheterization may include therapeutic 

intervention, be conducted for diagnostic or therapeutic 

purposes but does not include a simple right heart 

catheterization for monitoring purposes as might be 

performed in an electrophysiology laboratory, pulmonary 

angiography as an isolated procedure, or cardiac pacing 

through a right electrode catheter. 

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner. 

"Competing applications" means applications for the same 

or similar services and facilities that are proposed for the 

same health planning district, or same health planning region 

for projects reviewed on a regional basis, and are in the same 

batch review cycle. 

"Complex therapeutic cardiac catheterization" means the 

performance of cardiac catheterization for the purpose of 

correcting or improving certain conditions that have been 

determined to exist in the heart or great arteries or veins of 

the heart, specifically catheter-based procedures for structural 

treatment to correct congenital or acquired structural or 

valvular abnormalities.  

"Computed tomography" or "CT" means a noninvasive 

diagnostic technology that uses computer analysis of a series 

of cross-sectional scans made along a single axis of a bodily 

structure or tissue to construct an image of that structure. 

"Continuing care retirement community" or "CCRC" means 

a retirement community consistent with the requirements of 

Chapter 49 (§ 38.2-4900 et seq.) of Title 38.2 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"COPN" means a Medical Care Facilities Certificate of 

Public Need for a project as required in Article 1.1 (§ 32.1-

102.1 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 32.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"COPN program" means the Medical Care Facilities 

Certificate of Public Need Program implementing Article 1.1 

(§ 32.1-102.1 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 32.1 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

"DEP" means diagnostic equivalent procedure, a method for 

weighing the relative value of various cardiac catheterization 

procedures as follows: a diagnostic procedure cardiac 

catheterization equals 1 DEP, a simple therapeutic procedure 

cardiac catheterization equals 2 DEPs, a same session 

procedure (diagnostic and simple therapeutic) equals 3 DEPs, 

and a pediatric procedure complex therapeutic cardiac 

catheterization equals 2 5 DEPs. A multiplier of 2 will be 

applied for a pediatric procedure (i.e., a pediatric diagnostic 

cardiac catheterization equals 2 DEPs, a pediatric simple 

therapeutic cardiac catheterization equals 4 DEPs, and a 

pediatric complex therapeutic cardiac catheterization equals 

10 DEPs.) 

"Diagnostic cardiac catheterization" means the performance 

of cardiac catheterization for the purpose of detecting and 

identifying defects in the great arteries or veins of the heart or 

abnormalities in the heart structure, whether congenital or 

acquired.  

"Direction" means guidance, supervision, or management of 

a function or activity. 

"Gamma knife®" means the name of a specific instrument 

used in stereotactic radiosurgery. 
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"Health planning district" means the same contiguous areas 

designated as planning districts by the Virginia Department of 

Housing and Community Development or its successor. 

"Health planning region" means a contiguous geographic 

area of the Commonwealth as designated by the State Board 

of Health with a population base of at least 500,000 persons, 

characterized by the availability of multiple levels of medical 

care services, reasonable travel time for tertiary care, and 

congruence with planning districts. 

"Health system" means an organization of two or more 

medical care facilities, including but not limited to hospitals, 

that are under common ownership or control and are located 

within the same health planning district, or health planning 

region for projects reviewed on a regional basis. 

"Hospital" means a medical care facility licensed as an 

inpatient hospital or outpatient surgical center by the 

Department of Health or as a psychiatric hospital by the 

Department of Mental Behavioral Health, Mental 

Retardation, and Substance Abuse Developmental Services. 

"ICF/MR" means an intermediate care facility for the 

mentally retarded. 

"Indigent" means any person whose gross family income is 

equal to or less than 200% of the federal Nonfarm Poverty 

Level or income levels A through E of 12VAC5-200-10 and 

who is uninsured. 

"Inpatient" means a patient who is hospitalized longer than 

24 hours for health or health related services.  

"Intensive care beds" or "ICU" means inpatient beds located 

in the following units or categories: 

1. General intensive care units are those units where 

patients are concentrated by reason of serious illness or 

injury regardless of diagnosis. Special lifesaving 

techniques and equipment are immediately available and 

patients are under continuous observation by nursing staff; 

2. Cardiac care units, also known as Coronary Care Units 

or CCUs, are units staffed and equipped solely for the 

intensive care of cardiac patients; and 

3. Specialized intensive care units are any units with 

specialized staff and equipment for the purpose of 

providing care to seriously ill or injured patients based on 

age selected categories of diagnoses, including units 

established for burn care, trauma care, neurological care, 

pediatric care, and cardiac surgery recovery, but does not 

include bassinets in neonatal special care units. 

"Lithotripsy" means a noninvasive therapeutic procedure to 

(i) crush renal and biliary stones using shock waves, (i.e., 

renal lithotripsy) or (ii) treat certain musculoskeletal 

conditions and to relieve the pain associated with tendonitis, 

(i.e., orthopedic lithotripsy). 

"Long-term acute care hospital" or "LTACH" means an 

inpatient hospital that provides care for patients who require a 

length of stay greater than 25 days and is, or proposes to be, 

certified by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 

as a long-term care inpatient hospital pursuant to 42 CFR Part 

412. An LTACH may be either a free standing freestanding 

facility or located within an existing or host hospital. 

"Magnetic resonance imaging" or "MRI" means a 

noninvasive diagnostic technology using a nuclear 

spectrometer to produce electronic images of specific atoms 

and molecular structures in solids, especially human cells, 

tissues and organs. 

"Medical rehabilitation" means those services provided 

consistent with 42 CFR 412.23 and 412.24. 

"Medical/surgical" means those services available for the 

care and treatment of patients not requiring specialized 

services. 

"Minimum survival rates" means the base percentage of 

transplant recipients who survive at least one year or for such 

other period of time as specified by the United Network for 

Organ Sharing (UNOS). 

"Neonatal special care" means care for infants in one or 

more of the higher service levels designated in 12VAC5-410-

443 of the Rules and Regulations for the Licensure of 

Hospitals. 

"Nursing facility" means those facilities or components 

thereof licensed to provide long-term nursing care. 

"Obstetrical services" means the distinct organized program, 

equipment and care related to pregnancy and the delivery of 

newborns in inpatient facilities. 

"Off-site replacement" means the relocation of existing beds 

or services from an existing medical care facility site to 

another location within the same health planning district. 

"Open heart surgery" means a surgical procedure requiring 

the use or immediate availability of a heart-lung bypass 

machine or "pump." The use of the pump during the 

procedure distinguishes "open heart" from "closed heart" 

surgery. 

"Operating room" means a room used solely or principally 

for the provision of surgical procedures involving the 

administration of anesthesia, multiple personnel, recovery 

room access, and a fully controlled environment.  

"Operating room use" means the amount of time a patient 

occupies an operating room and includes room preparation 

and cleanup time. 

"Operating room visit" means one session in one operating 

room in an inpatient hospital or outpatient surgical center, 

which may involve several procedures. Operating room visit 

may be used interchangeably with "operation" or "case." 
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"Outpatient" means a patient who visits a hospital, clinic, or 

associated medical care facility for diagnosis or treatment, but 

is not hospitalized 24 hours or longer.  

"Pediatric" means patients younger than 18 years of age. 

Newborns in nurseries are excluded from this definition. 

"Perinatal services" means those resources and capabilities 

that all hospitals offering general level newborn services as 

described in 12VAC5-410-443 of the Rules and Regulations 

for the Licensure of Hospitals must provide routinely to 

newborns. 

"PET/CT scanner" means a single machine capable of 

producing a PET image with a concurrently produced CT 

image overlay to provide anatomic definition to the PET 

image. For the purpose of granting a COPN, the State Board 

of Health pursuant to § 32.1-102.2 A 6 of the Code of 

Virginia has designated PET/CT as a specialty clinical 

service. A PET/CT scanner shall be reviewed under the PET 

criteria as an enhanced PET scanner unless the CT unit will 

be used independently. In such cases, a PET/CT scanner that 

will be used to take independent PET and CT images will be 

reviewed under the applicable PET and CT services criteria. 

"Planning horizon year" means the particular year for which 

bed or service needs are projected. 

"Population" means the census figures shown in the most 

current series of projections published by a demographic 

entity as determined by the commissioner. 

"Positron emission tomography" or "PET" means a 

noninvasive diagnostic or imaging modality using the 

computer-generated image of local metabolic and 

physiological functions in tissues produced through the 

detection of gamma rays emitted when introduced radio-

nuclids radionuclides decay and release positrons. A PET 

device or scanner may include an integrated CT to provide 

anatomic structure definition. 

"Primary service area" means the geographic territory from 

which 75% of the patients of an existing medical care facility 

originate with respect to a particular service being sought in 

an application. 

"Procedure" means a study or treatment or a combination of 

studies and treatments identified by a distinct ICD-9 ICD-10 

or CPT code performed in a single session on a single patient. 

"Qualified" means meeting current legal requirements of 

licensure, registration, or certification in Virginia or having 

appropriate training, including competency testing, and 

experience commensurate with assigned responsibilities. 

"Radiation therapy" means treatment using ionizing 

radiation to destroy diseased cells and for the relief of 

symptoms. Radiation therapy may be used alone or in 

combination with surgery or chemotherapy. 

"Relevant reporting period" means the most recent 12-month 

period, prior to the beginning of the applicable batch review 

cycle, for which data is available from VHI or a demographic 

entity as determined by the commissioner. 

"Rural" means territory, population, and housing units that 

are classified as "rural" by the Bureau of the Census of the 

United States U.S. Department of Commerce, Economic and 

Statistics Administration. 

"Simple therapeutic cardiac catheterization" means the 

performance of cardiac catheterization for the purpose of 

correcting or improving certain conditions that have been 

determined to exist in the heart, specifically catheter-based 

treatment procedures for relieving coronary artery narrowing.  

"SMFP" means the state medical facilities plan as contained 

in Article 1.1 (§ 32.1-102.1 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 32.1 

of the Code of Virginia used to make medical care facilities 

and services needs decisions. 

"Stereotactic radiosurgery" or "SRS" means the use of 

external radiation in conjunction with a stereotactic guidance 

device to very precisely deliver a therapeutic dose to a tissue 

volume. SRS may be delivered in a single session or in a 

fractionated course of treatment up to five sessions. 

"Stereotactic radiotherapy" or "SRT" means more than one 

session of stereotactic radiosurgery. 

"Substance abuse disorder treatment services" means 

services provided to individuals for the prevention, diagnosis, 

treatment, or palliation of chemical dependency, which may 

include attendant medical and psychiatric complications of 

chemical dependency. Substance abuse disorder treatment 

services are licensed by the Department of Mental Behavioral 

Health, Mental Retardation, and Substance Abuse 

Developmental Services. 

"Supervision" means to direct and watch over the work and 

performance of others. 

"Use rate" means the rate at which an age cohort or the 

population uses medical facilities and services. The rates are 

determined from periodic patient origin surveys conducted for 

the department by the regional health planning agencies, or 

other health statistical reports authorized by Chapter 7.2 

(§ 32.1-276.2 et seq.) of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"VHI" means the health data organization defined in § 32.1-

276.4 of the Code of Virginia and under contract with the 

Virginia Department of Health. 

12VAC5-230-420. Nonemergent cardiac catheterization. 

Proposals to provide elective interventional cardiac 

procedures such as PTCA, transseptal puncture, transthoracic 

left ventricle puncture, myocardial biopsy or any valvuoplasty 

procedures, diagnostic pericardiocentesis or therapeutic 

procedures should be approved only when open heart surgery 
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services are available on-site in the same hospital in which 

the proposed non-emergent cardiac service will be located.  

A. Simple therapeutic cardiac catheterization. Proposals to 

provide simple therapeutic cardiac catheterization are not 

required to offer open heart surgery service available on-site 

in the same hospital in which the proposed simple therapeutic 

service will be located. However, these programs shall adhere 

to the requirements described in subdivisions 1 through 9 of 

this subsection. 

The programs shall: 

1. Participate in the Virginia Heart Attack Coalition, the 

Virginia Cardiac Services Quality Initiative, and the Action 

Registry-Get with the Guidelines or National 

Cardiovascular Data Registry to monitor quality and 

outcomes; 

2. Adhere to strict patient-selection criteria; 

3. Perform annual institutional volumes of 300 cardiac 

catheterization procedures, of which at least 75 should be 

PCI or as dictated by American College of Cardiology 

(ACC)/American Heart Association (AHA) Guidelines for 

Cardiac Catheterization and Cardiac Catheterization 

Laboratories effective 1991; 

4. Use only AHA/ACC-qualified operators who meet the 

standards for training and competency; 

5. Demonstrate appropriate planning for program 

development and complete both a primary PCI 

development program and an elective PCI development 

program that includes routine care process and case 

selection review; 

6. Develop and maintain a quality and error management 

program; 

7. Provide PCI 24 hours a day, seven days a week; 

8. Develop and maintain necessary agreements with a 

tertiary facility that must agree to accept emergent and 

nonemergent transfers for additional medical care, cardiac 

surgery, or intervention; and  

9. Develop and maintain agreements with an ambulance 

service capable of advanced life support and intra-aortic 

balloon pump transfer that guarantees a 30-minute or less 

response time.  

B. Complex therapeutic cardiac catheterization. Proposals to 

provide complex therapeutic cardiac catheterization should be 

approved only when open heart surgery services are available 

on-site in the same hospital in which the proposed complex 

therapeutic service will be located. Additionally, these 

complex therapeutic cardiac catheterization programs will be 

required to participate in the Virginia Cardiac Services 

Quality Initiative and the Virginia Heart Attack Coalition. 

12VAC5-230-610. Need for new service. 

A. A health planning district should be considered to have a 

need for additional nursing facility beds when:  

1. The bed need forecast exceeds the current inventory of 

existing and authorized beds for the health planning 

district; and  

2. The average median annual occupancy of all existing 

and authorized Medicaid-certified nursing facility beds in 

the health planning district was at least 93%, and the 

average annual occupancy of all existing and authorized 

Medicaid-certified nursing facility beds in the health 

planning district was at least 90%, excluding the bed 

inventory and utilization of the Virginia Veterans Care 

Centers. 

Exception: When there are facilities that have been in 

operation less than three years one year in the health planning 

district, their occupancy can shall be excluded from the 

calculation of average occupancy if the facilities had an 

annual occupancy of at least 93% in one of its first three years 

of operation. 

B. No health planning district should be considered in need 

of additional beds if there are unconstructed beds designated 

as Medicaid certified. This presumption of "no need" for 

additional beds extends for three years from the issuance date 

of the certificate.  

C. The bed need forecast will be computed as follows: 

PDBN = (UR64 x PP64) + (UR69 x PP69) + (UR74 x 

PP74) + (UR79 x PP79) + (UR84 x PP84) + (UR85 x 

PP85)  

Where: 

PDBN = Planning district bed need. 

UR64 = The nursing home bed use rate of the population 

aged 0 to 64 in the health planning district as determined in 

the most recent nursing home patient origin study 

authorized by VHI. 

PP64 = The population aged 0 to 64 projected for the 

health planning district three years from the current year as 

most recently published by a demographic program as 

determined by the commissioner. 

UR69 = The nursing home bed use rate of the population 

aged 65 to 69 in the health planning district as determined 

in the most recent nursing home patient origin study 

authorized by VHI. 

PP69 = The population aged 65 to 69 projected for the 

health planning district three years from the current year as 

most recently published by the a demographic program as 

determined by the commissioner. 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 8, 2018 

1044 

UR74 = The nursing home bed use rate of the population 

aged 70 to 74 in the health planning district as determined 

in the most recent nursing home patient origin study 

authorized by VHI. 

PP74 = The population aged 70 to 74 projected for the 

health planning district three years from the current year as 

most recently published by a demographic program as 

determined by the commissioner. 

UR79 = The nursing home bed use rate of the population 

aged 75 to 79 in the health planning district as determined 

in the most recent nursing home patient origin study 

authorized by VHI. 

PP79 = The population aged 75 to 79 projected for the 

health planning district three years from the current year as 

most recently published by a demographic program as 

determined by the commissioner. 

UR84 = The nursing home bed use rate of the population 

aged 80 to 84 in the health planning district as determined 

in the most recent nursing home patient origin study 

authorized by VHI. 

PP84 = The population aged 80 to 84 projected for the 

health planning district three years from the current year as 

most recently published by a demographic program as 

determined by the commissioner.  

UR85+ = The nursing home bed use rate of the population 

aged 85 and older in the health planning district as 

determined in the most recent nursing home patient origin 

study authorized by VHI. 

PP85+ = The population aged 85 and older projected for 

the health planning district three years from the current 

year as most recently published by a demographic program 

as determined by the commissioner.  

Health planning district bed need forecasts will be rounded 

as follows:  

Health Planning District  

Bed Need Rounded Bed Need 

1–29 0 

30–44 30 

45–84 60 

85–104 90 

105–134 120 

135–164 150 

165–194 180 

195–224 210 

225+ 240 

Exception: When a health planning district has:  

1. Two or more nursing facilities; 

2. Had an average a median annual occupancy rate in 

excess of 93% of all existing and authorized Medicaid-

certified nursing facility beds and an annual average 

occupancy rate of at least 90% of all existing and 

authorized Medicaid-certified nursing facility beds for each 

of the most recent two years for which bed utilization has 

been reported to VHI; and  

3. Has a forecasted bed need of 15 to 29 beds, then the bed 

need for this health planning district will be rounded to 30. 

D. No new freestanding nursing facilities of less than 90 

beds should be authorized. However, consideration may be 

given to a new freestanding facility with fewer than 90 

nursing facility beds when the applicant can demonstrate that 

such a facility is justified based on a locality's preference for 

such smaller facility and there is a documented poor 

distribution of nursing facility beds within the health planning 

district. 

E. When evaluating the capital cost of a project, 

consideration may be given to projects that use the current 

methodology as determined by the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services. 

F. Preference may be given to projects that replace outdated 

and functionally obsolete facilities with modern facilities that 

result in the more cost-efficient resident services in a more 

aesthetically pleasing and comfortable environment.  

12VAC5-230-620. Expansion of services. 

Proposals to increase an existing nursing facility facility's 

bed capacity should not be approved unless the facility has 

operated for at least two years and the average annual 

occupancy of the facility's existing beds was at least 93% 

90% in the relevant reporting period as reported to VHI. 

Note: Exceptions will be considered for facilities that 

operated at less than 93% 90% average annual occupancy in 

the most recent year for which bed utilization has been 

reported when the facility offers short stay services causing 

an average annual occupancy lower than 93% 90% for the 

facility.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(12VAC5-230) 

ACC/AHA Guidelines for Cardiac Catheterization and 

Cardiac Catheterization Laboratories, American College of 

Cardiology/American Heart Association Ad Hoc Task Force 

on Cardiac Catheterization, JACC Vol. 18 No. 5, November 

1, 1991: 1149-82 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4417; Filed December 19, 2017, 11:10 a.m.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8d981004417~1n.pdf&typ=40&actno=004417&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8d981004417~1n.pdf&typ=40&actno=004417&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8d981004417~1n.pdf&typ=40&actno=004417&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8d981004417~1n.pdf&typ=40&actno=004417&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8d981004417~1n.pdf&typ=40&actno=004417&mime=application/pdf
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BOARD OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-130. Amount, Duration 

and Scope of Selected Services (amending 12VAC30-130-

5030). 

12VAC30-135. Demonstration Waiver Services (adding 

12VAC30-135-400 through 12VAC30-135-498).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1315 and 42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Date: February 7, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action establishes the Governor's Access Plan (GAP) 

Demonstration Waiver for Individuals with Serious Mental 

Illness to provide individuals who have diagnoses of 

serious mental illness access to certain basic medical and 

behavioral health services. Under this regulation, an 

individual must meet the GAP serious mental illness, 

financial, and nonfinancial criteria to qualify for the 

program. The serious mental illness criteria include 

specific diagnoses, for example, schizophrenia, bipolar 

disorders, post-traumatic stress disorder; specific duration 

of illnesses; specific levels of impairment; and consistent 

need for help in accessing health care services. Other 

criteria include that an eligible individual (i) is an adult 

between the ages of 21 years and 64 years; (ii) is a United 

States citizen or lawfully residing alien; (iii) is a resident 

of the Commonwealth; (iv) is uninsured; (v) is ineligible 

for any state or federal health insurance programs; (vi) is 

not a current resident of a nursing facility, a mental health 

facility, or a penal institution; and (vii) has a household 

income, as determined by the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) current modified adjusted 

gross income methodology, of less than or equal to 80% of 

the federal poverty level until September 30, 2017, and 

beginning October 1, 2017, the program's household 

income level is modified to 100% of the federal poverty 

level.  

The regulation contains the following benefits: (i) primary 

care office visits including diagnostic and treatment 

services performed in the physician's office; (ii) outpatient 

specialty care, consultation, and treatment; (iii) outpatient 

hospital, including observation and ambulatory diagnostic 

procedures; (iv) outpatient laboratory; (v) outpatient 

pharmacy; (vi) outpatient telemedicine; (vii) medical 

equipment and supplies for diabetic treatment; (viii) 

outpatient psychiatric treatment; (ix) GAP case 

management; (x) psychosocial rehabilitation assessment 

and psychosocial rehabilitation services; (xi) mental health 

crisis intervention; (xii) mental health crisis stabilization; 

(xiii) therapeutic or diagnostic injection; (xiv) 

telemedicine; (xv) outpatient substance abuse treatment 

services; (xvi) intensive outpatient substance abuse 

treatment services; and (xvii) opioid treatment. Care 

coordination, recovery navigation (peer supports), crisis 

line, and prior authorization for services are provided 

through the DMAS behavioral health services 

administrator. Peer support services are added to the GAP 

program effective July 1, 2017. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

[ 12VAC30-130-5030. Eligible individuals. 

Children and adults who participate in Medicaid managed 

care plans and Medicaid fee for service and meet ASAM 

medical necessity criteria shall be eligible for ARTS. 

Notwithstanding the coverage limitations set forth in the 

Governor's Access Plan for the Seriously Mental Ill (GAP 

SMI), GAP-SMI enrollees who meet ASAM medical 

necessity criteria shall be eligible for ARTS with the 

exception of inpatient detoxification services (ASAM Level 

4.0) substance use residential treatment (ASAM Levels 3.1 

through 3.7) and substance use partial hospitalization (ASAM 

Level 2.5) case management. ] 

Part III 

Governor's Access Plan Demonstration Waiver for 

Individuals with Serious Mental Illness 

12VAC30-135-400. Definitions. 

The following words and terms as used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Action" means an action by DMAS, Cover Virginia, the 

service authorization contractor, or the BHSA that constitutes 

(i) a denial in whole or in part of payment of a covered 

service; or (ii) a termination or denial of eligibility or services 

or limited authorization of a service authorization request 

including (a) type or level of service; (b) reduction, 

suspension, or termination of a previously authorized service; 

(c) failure to act on a service request; (d) denial in whole or in 

part of coverage for a service; or (e) failure by Cover 

Virginia, the service authorization contractor, or the BHSA to 

render a decision within the required timeframes. 

"Agency" means DMAS. 

"Alternative home care" means mental health services more 

intensive than outpatient services provided (i) in the 

individual's home or (ii) in a therapeutic living setting that 

provides intensive mental health services such as residential 
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crisis stabilization if the individual is temporarily (less than 

two weeks) placed in that setting.  

"Appellant" means an applicant for or recipient of GAP 

benefits who seeks to challenge an action regarding 

eligibility, services, or coverage determinations. 

"Behavioral health" means mental health and substance use 

disorder services.  

"BHSA" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-50-226. 

"Care coordination" means the collaboration and sharing of 

information among health care providers who are involved 

with an individual's health care to (i) improve the health and 

wellness of an individual with complex and special care needs 

and (ii) integrate services around the needs of such individual 

at the local level by working collaboratively with all partners, 

including the individual, his family, and providers.  

"Care coordinator" means an individual or entity that 

provides care coordination services. 

"Case manager" means the person or entity that provides 

GAP case management as defined in this section. 

"CAT" means [ computer aided computerized axial ] 

tomography. 

"Certified prescreener" means an employee of the local 

community services board or behavioral health authority or 

its designee who is skilled in the assessment and treatment of 

mental illness and who has completed a certification program 

approved by DBHDS. 

"Client" means an applicant for, or recipient of, GAP 

benefits. 

"Client appeal" means an individual's request for review of 

an eligibility or coverage determination and is an individual's 

challenge to the actions regarding benefits, services, and 

coverage determinations provided by the department, its 

service authorization contractor, Cover Virginia, or the 

BHSA. 

"Cover Virginia" or "Cover VA" means a department 

contractor that receives applications for the GAP 

Demonstration Waiver for Individuals with SMI, determines 

eligibility, and attends and defends its eligibility decisions at 

appeal hearings. 

"CSB" means the local community services board or 

behavioral health authority agency, which is the entry point 

for citizens into behavioral health services as established in 

Chapter 5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) and Chapter 6 (§ 37.2-600 et 

seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services consistent with Chapter 3 (§ 37.2-

300 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Department" or "DMAS" means the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services consistent with Chapter 10 

(§ 32.1-323 et seq.) of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia, or 

its designee. 

"Direct services" means the provision of direct behavioral 

health and medical treatment, counseling, or other supportive 

services not included in the definition of care coordination or 

case management services. 

"DSM-IV-TR" means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual 

of Mental Disorders, Fourth Edition, Text Revision, copyright 

2000, American Psychiatric Association. 

"DSM-5" means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of 

Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, copyright 2013, American 

Psychiatric Association. 

"Duration of illness" means the individual (i) is expected to 

require treatment and supportive services for the next 12 

months; (ii) has undergone psychiatric treatment more 

intensive than outpatient care such as crisis response services, 

alternative home care, partial hospitalization, or inpatient 

hospitalization more than once in his lifetime; or (iii) has 

experienced an episode of continuous, supportive residential 

care, other than hospitalization, for a period long enough to 

have significantly disrupted his normal living situation. A 

significant disruption of a normal living situation means the 

individual has been unable to maintain his housing or has had 

difficulty maintaining his housing due to being in a 

supportive residential facility or program that was not a 

hospital. This includes group home placement as an 

adolescent and assisted living facilities but does not include 

living situations through the Department of Social Services.  

"Eight dimensions of wellness" means the same as found on 

the website for the Substance Abuse and Mental Health 

Services Administration at 

[ http://www.promoteacceptance.samhsa.gov/ 

https://www.samhsa.gov/wellness-initiative/eight-

dimensions-wellness ]. 

"Enrollee" means an individual who has applied for the GAP 

SMI program, was determined eligible, and was enrolled in 

the GAP SMI program. 

"Ex parte renewal" means the same as set forth in 42 CFR 

435.916(a)(2). 

"Expedited appeal" means an appeal that must have a 

decision issued within a shortened timeframe when the 

treating provider indicates that taking the time for a standard 

resolution could seriously jeopardize the individual's life, 

physical health, mental health, or ability to attain, maintain, or 

regain maximum function. 

"Final decision" means a written determination pertaining to 

client appeals by a department hearing officer that is binding 

on the department.  
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"FPL" means the federal poverty level. 

"FQHC" means a federally qualified health center.  

"GAP" means Governor's Access Plan. 

"GAP case management" means services to assist 

individuals in solving problems, if any, in accessing needed 

medical, behavioral health, social, educational, vocational, 

and other supports essential to meeting basic needs, including 

(i) assessment and planning services, including developing an 

individual service plan (does not include performing medical 

and psychiatric assessment but does include referral for such 

assessment); (ii) linking the individual to services and 

supports specified in the individual service plan; (iii) assisting 

the individual for the purpose of locating, developing, or 

obtaining needed services and resources; (iv) coordinating 

services and service planning with other agencies and 

providers involved with the individual; (v) enhancing 

community integration by contacting other entities to arrange 

community access and involvement, including opportunities 

to learn community living skills, and use vocational, civic, 

and recreational services; (vi) making collateral contacts with 

the individual's significant others to promote implementation 

of the service plan and community adjustment; (vii) follow-

up and monitoring to assess ongoing progress and to ensure 

services are delivered; and (viii) education and counseling 

that guides the individual and develops a supportive 

relationship that promotes the service plan.  

"GAP screening entity" means the entity that conducts the 

SMI screening for the GAP SMI program and shall be a CSB, 

participating FQHC, participating free clinic, inpatient 

psychiatric hospital, general hospital with an inpatient 

psychiatric unit, local or regional jail, or the Department of 

Corrections and shall be conducted for the purpose of 

determining eligibility for participation in the GAP SMI 

program. 

"GAP SMI program" means the program within the 

Governor's Access Plan Demonstration Waiver for 

individuals with serious mental illness. 

"Good cause" means to provide sufficient cause or reason 

for failing to file a timely appeal or for missing a scheduled 

appeal hearing. The existence of good cause shall be 

determined by the hearing officer. 

"Grievance" means an expression of dissatisfaction about 

any matter other than an action. A grievance shall be filed and 

resolved at Cover Virginia, the service authorization 

contractor, or the BHSA. Possible subjects for grievances 

include the quality of care or services provided, aspects of 

interpersonal relationships such as rudeness of a provider or 

employee, or failure to respect an enrollee's rights. 

"Hearing" means an informal evidentiary proceeding 

conducted by a hearing officer during which an individual has 

the opportunity to present his concerns with or objections to 

an action taken by Cover Virginia, the service authorization 

contractor, or the BHSA. 

"Hearing officer" means an impartial decision maker who 

conducts evidentiary hearings on behalf of the department. 

"High intensity case management" means the same as GAP 

case management and is reimbursed for months in which a 

face-to-face contact with the individual takes place in a 

community setting outside of the GAP case management 

office. 

"Individual" means the client, enrollee, or recipient of 

services described in this section, and these terms are used 

interchangeably.  

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC30-50-226.  

"Intensive outpatient services" means the same as set forth 

in [ 12VAC30-50-228 A 2 b 12VAC30-130-5090 A ]. 

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means 

the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20.  

"LMHP-resident" or "LMHP-R" means the same as 

"resident" as defined in (i) 18VAC115-20-10 for licensed 

professional counselors; (ii) 18VAC115-50-10 for licensed 

marriage and family therapists; or (iii) 18VAC115-60-10 for 

licensed substance use disorder treatment practitioners. An 

LMHP-resident shall be in continuous compliance with the 

regulatory requirements of the applicable counseling 

profession for supervised practice and shall not perform the 

functions of the LMHP-R or be considered a "resident" until 

the supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific site 

has been preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of 

Counseling. For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to their 

supervisors for services provided by such residents, they shall 

use the title "Resident" in connection with the applicable 

profession after their signatures to indicate such status. 

"LMHP-resident in psychology" or "LMHP-RP" means the 

same as an individual in a residency program as defined in 

18VAC125-20-10 for clinical psychologists. An LMHP-

resident in psychology shall be in continuous compliance 

with the regulatory requirements for supervised experience as 

found in 18VAC125-20-65 and shall not perform the 

functions of the LMHP-RP or be considered a "resident" until 

the supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific site 

has been preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of 

Psychology. For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement by 

supervisors for services provided by such residents, they shall 

use the title "Resident in Psychology" after their signatures to 

indicate such status. 

"LMHP-supervisee in social work" or "LMHP-S" means the 

same as "supervisee" as defined in 18VAC140-20-10 for 

licensed clinical social workers. An LMHP-supervisee in 

social work shall be in continuous compliance with the 

regulatory requirements for supervised practice as found in 
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18VAC140-20-50 and shall not perform the functions of the 

LMHP-S or be considered a "supervisee" until the 

supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific site is 

preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of Social Work. 

For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to their supervisors 

for services provided by supervisees, these persons shall use 

the title "Supervisee in Social Work" after their signatures to 

indicate such status. 

"MAGI" means modified adjusted gross income and is an 

eligibility methodology for how income is counted and how 

household composition and family size are determined. 

MAGI is based on federal tax rules for determining adjusted 

gross income. 

"MRI" means magnetic resonance imaging. 

[ "Peer support services" or "peer support" means supportive 

services provided by adults who self-disclose as living with 

or having lived with a behavioral health condition and 

includes (i) planning for engaging in natural community 

support resources as part of the recovery process, (ii) helping 

to initiate rapport with therapists, and (iii) increasing teaching 

and modeling of positive communication skills with 

individuals to help them self-advocate for individualized 

services to promote successful community integration 

strategies. ]  

"PSN" means a peer support navigator [ employed by the 

BHSA ] who has self-declared that he is living with or has 

lived with a behavioral health condition. PSNs assist 

individuals to successfully remain in or transition back into 

their communities from inpatient hospital stays, help them 

avoid future inpatient stays, and increase community tenure 

by providing an array of linkages to peer run services, natural 

supports, and other recovery oriented resources. 

"Qualified mental health professional-adult" or "QMHP-A" 

means the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

"Qualified mental health professional-eligible" or "QMHP-

E" means the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20.  

"Register" or "registration" means notifying DMAS or its 

designee that an individual will be receiving services that do 

not require service authorization. 

"Regular case management" means the same as GAP case 

management and is reimbursed for months in which the 

minimum requirements are met for GAP case management.  

"Remand" means the return of a case by the hearing officer 

to Cover Virginia, the service authorization contractor, or the 

BHSA for further review, evaluation, and action. 

"Representative" means an attorney or other individual who 

has been authorized to represent an applicant or enrollee 

pursuant to this part. 

"Reverse" means to overturn the action of Cover Virginia, 

the service authorization contractor, or the BHSA and direct 

that eligibility or requested services be fully approved for the 

amount, duration, and scope of requested services.  

"Serious mental illness" or "SMI" means, for the purpose of 

this part, a diagnosis of (i) schizophrenia spectrum disorders 

and other psychotic disorders but not substance/medication 

induced psychotic disorder; (ii) major depressive disorder; 

(iii) bipolar and related disorders but not cyclothymic 

disorder; (iv) post-traumatic stress disorder; (v) obsessive-

compulsive disorder; (vi) agoraphobia; (vii) panic disorder; 

(viii) anorexia nervosa; or (ix) bulimia nervosa.  

"Service authorization" means the same as defined in 

12VAC30-50-226. 

"Service-specific provider intake" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC30-50-130. 

"State fair hearing" means the DMAS evidentiary hearing 

process as administered by the DMAS Appeals Division. 

"State Plan" or "the Plan" means the document required by § 

1902(a) of the Act. 

[ "Substance use disorder" or "SUD" means a disorder, as 

defined in the DSM-5, marked by a cluster of cognitive, 

behavioral, and physiological symptoms indicating that the 

individual continues to use alcohol, tobacco, or other drugs 

despite significant related problems. ] 

"Sustain" means to uphold the action of Cover Virginia, the 

service authorization contractor, or the BHSA. 

"Title XIX of the Social Security Act" or "the Act" means 

the United States Code beginning at 42 USC § 1396. 

[ "Virtual engagement" means electronic and telephonic 

communications between a peer support navigator and GAP 

enrolled individual to discuss and promote engagement with 

resources that may be available to the individual to promote 

his recovery. ]  

"Warm line" means a peer-support telephone line [ operated 

by the BHSA ] that provides peer support for adult 

individuals who are living with or have lived with behavioral 

health conditions. The peer support navigators shall have 

specific training to provide telephonic support, and such 

systems may operate regionally or statewide and beyond 

traditional business hours. 

"Withdrawal" means a written request from the applicant or 

enrollee or his representative for the department to terminate 

the appeal process without a final decision on the merits. 

12VAC30-135-410. Administration; authority; waived 

provisions. 

A. DMAS shall cover a targeted set of services as set forth 

in 12VAC30-135-440 for currently uninsured individuals 

who have diagnoses of serious mental illnesses with incomes 

less than or equal to 80% of the federal poverty level (FPL) 

using the MAGI eligibility methodology [ until September 
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30, 2017. Beginning October 1, 2017, the income limit will 

increase to incomes less than or equal to 100% FPL using the 

MAGI eligibility methodology ]. [ All individuals already 

enrolled in the GAP SMI program with incomes between 

61% and 100% of the FPL as of May 15, 2015, who continue 

to meet other program eligibility rules shall maintain 

enrollment in the GAP SMI program until their next 

eligibility renewal period or July 1, 2016, whichever comes 

first. ]  

B. Consistent with § 1115 of the Social Security Act (42 

USC § 1315), the department covers certain limited services 

specified in 12VAC30-135-440 for certain targeted 

individuals specified in 12VAC30-135-420. 

C. The Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Resources has waived compliance for the department 

with the following for the purpose of the GAP SMI program: 

1. Consistent with § 1902(a)(10)(B) of the Act, the amount, 

duration, and scope of services covered in the State Plan 

for Medical Assistance shall be waived. The department 

shall cover a specified set of benefits for the individuals 

who are determined to be eligible for the GAP SMI 

program. 

2. Consistent with § 1902(a)(23)(A) of the Act, the 

participating individual's freedom of choice of providers of 

services shall be waived for [ peer supports and ] GAP case 

management.  

3. Consistent with § 1902(a)(23) of the Act, the services 

shall be provided by a different delivery system than 

otherwise used for full State Plan services for [ peer 

supports and ] GAP case management. 

4. Consistent with § 1902(a)(4) of the Act, insofar as it 

incorporates 42 CFR 431.53 permitting the 

Commonwealth to waive providing nonemergency 

transportation to and from participating providers for 

eligible, participating individuals. 

5. Consistent with § 1902(a)(35) of the Act, permitting the 

Commonwealth to waive offering eligible, participating 

individuals retroactive eligibility for the GAP SMI 

program. 

D. The GAP SMI program shall operate statewide. 

E. The GAP SMI program shall operate for at least two 

years beginning January 2015 and continuing through 

January 2017 or until the Commonwealth implements an 

alternative plan to provide health care coverage to all 

individuals having incomes less than or equal to 80% of the 

FPL using the MAGI eligibility methodology [ until 

September 30, 2017. Beginning October 1, 2017, the income 

limit will increase to incomes less than or equal to 100% FPL 

using the MAGI eligibility methodology ]. 

F. The GAP SMI program shall not affect or modify 

components of the Commonwealth's existing medical 

assistance or children's health insurance programs.  

12VAC30-135-420. Individual eligibility; limitations; 

referrals; eligibility determination process. 

A. The GAP SMI program eligibility determination process 

shall have two parts: (i) a determination of whether the 

applicant meets the GAP nonfinancial eligibility criteria 

including a diagnosed SMI and (ii) a determination of 

whether the applicant meets the GAP SMI Program financial 

eligibility criteria. 

1. A person may apply through Cover Virginia for GAP by 

phone or through a provider-assisted web portal. 

2. If an applicant is found not to meet GAP eligibility 

criteria, either the GAP financial eligibility criteria or the 

GAP SMI program nonfinancial eligibility criteria, then the 

applicant shall be sent a letter with appeal rights. Such 

applicants shall be assessed and referred for eligibility 

through Medicaid, FAMIS MOMS, or the federal 

marketplace for private health insurance as appropriate.  

B. Applicants shall have a screening conducted by a DMAS-

approved GAP screening entity for the determination of SMI.  

C. To be eligible for the GAP SMI program, applicants shall 

be assessed to determine whether their diagnosed condition is 

a serious mental illness. The serious mental illness shall be 

diagnosed according to criteria defined in the DSM-IV-TR or 

DSM-5. LMHPs, including LMHP-supervisees, LMHP-

residents, [ and ] LMHP-residents in psychology, [ and those 

exempt from licensure as described in § 54.1-3601 of the 

Code of Virginia, ] shall conduct the clinical screening 

required to determine the applicant's diagnosis if one has not 

already been made. At least one of the following diagnoses 

shall be documented for the applicant to be approved for GAP 

SMI program services:  

1. Schizophrenia spectrum disorders and other psychotic 

disorders with the exception of substance/medication 

induced psychotic disorders; 

2. Major depressive disorder; 

3. Bipolar and related disorders with the exception of 

cyclothymic disorder; 

4. Post-traumatic stress disorder; or 

5. Obsessive compulsive disorder, panic disorder, 

agoraphobia, anorexia nervosa, or bulimia nervosa.  

D. To be eligible for this program, applicants shall meet at 

least one of the following criteria to reflect the duration of 

illness: 

1. The applicant is expected to require treatment and 

supportive services for the next 12 months; 
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2. The applicant has undergone psychiatric treatment more 

intensive than outpatient care, such as crisis response 

services, alternative home care, partial hospitalization, or 

inpatient hospitalization for a psychiatric condition, more 

than once in his lifetime; or  

3. The applicant has experienced an episode of continuous, 

supportive residential care, other than hospitalization, for a 

period long enough to have significantly disrupted the 

normal living situation. A significant disruption of a 

normal living situation means the applicant has been 

unable to maintain his housing or had difficulty 

maintaining his housing due to being in a supportive 

residential facility or program that was not a hospital. This 

includes group home placement as an adolescent and 

assisted living facilities but does not include living 

situations through the Department of Social Services.  

E. To be eligible for this program, applicants shall 

demonstrate a significant level of impairment on a continuing 

or intermittent basis. Evidence of severe and recurrent 

impairment resulting from mental illness shall exist. The 

impairment shall result in functional limitation in major life 

activities. Due to the mental illness, the applicant shall meet 

at least two of the following:  

1. The applicant is either unemployed or employed in a 

sheltered setting or a supportive work situation, has 

markedly limited or reduced employment skills, or has a 

poor employment history; 

2. The applicant requires public and family financial 

assistance to remain in his community; 

3. The applicant has difficulty establishing or maintaining 

a personal social support system;  

4. The applicant requires assistance in basic living skills 

such as personal hygiene, food preparation, or money 

management; or  

5. The applicant exhibits inappropriate behavior that often 

results in intervention by the mental health or judicial 

system. 

F. The applicant shall require assistance to consistently 

access or to utilize needed medical or behavioral, or both, 

health services and supports due to the mental illness.  

G. In addition, the applicant shall:  

1. Be an adult 21 years through 64 years of age; 

2. Be a United States citizen or lawfully residing 

immigrant; 

3. Be a resident of the Commonwealth;  

4. Be uninsured;  

5. Be ineligible for any state or federal benefits health 

insurance program including Medicaid, Children's Health 

Insurance Program (CHIP/FAMIS), Medicare, or TriCare 

Federal Military benefits; 

6. Have household incomes less than or equal to 80% of 

the federal poverty level using the MAGI eligibility 

methodology [ until September 30, 2017. Beginning 

October 1, 2017, the income limit will increase to incomes 

less than or equal to 100% FPL using the MAGI eligibility 

methodology ]. Reported income shall be verified via 

reliable electronic sources or if not available electronically, 

by pay stubs or other income documents accepted under 

Medicaid policy. All individuals enrolled in the GAP SMI 

program with incomes between 61% and 100% of the FPL 

using the MAGI eligibility methodology as of May 15, 

2015, who continue to meet other program eligibility rules 

shall maintain enrollment in the GAP SMI program until 

their next eligibility renewal period or July 1, 2016, 

whichever comes first. Pursuant to federal authority under 

the § 1115 waiver, should expenditures for the GAP SMI 

program compromise the program's budget neutrality, 

DMAS may amend the waiver to maintain budget 

neutrality by reducing income eligibility levels to below 

80% of the FPL [ until September 30, 2017, and below 

100% FPL beginning October 1, 2017 ]; and 

7. Not be a current resident of a long-term care facility, 

mental health facility, or penal institution. 

H. GAP enrollees shall have 12 months of continuous 

coverage regardless of household or income changes unless 

the individual becomes 65 years of age, becomes eligible for 

Medicare or full Medicaid benefits, moves out of the 

Commonwealth, dies, or is unable to be located. 

I. Individuals who are enrolled in the GAP SMI program 

who require hospitalization shall not be disenrolled from the 

GAP SMI program during their hospitalization.  

J. If a GAP enrollee secures Medicare or Medicaid/FAMIS 

MOMS coverage, his GAP enrollment shall be canceled to 

align with the effective date of the Medicare or Medicaid 

coverage. Enrollees who gain other sources of health 

insurance, other than Medicare or Medicaid/FAMIS MOMS, 

shall not be disenrolled from the GAP SMI program during 

their 12-month enrollment period; however, in such instances, 

the GAP SMI program shall be the payer of last resort.  

K. DMAS or its designee shall verify income data via 

existing electronic data sources, such as Virginia 

Employment Commission and TALX. Citizenship and 

identity shall be verified through the monthly file exchange 

between DMAS and the Social Security Administration. The 

applicant's age, residency, and insurance status shall be 

verified through self-attestation. Applicants shall be permitted 

90 days to resolve any citizenship discrepancies resulting 

from the Social Security Administration matching process, in 

any of the information provided, and in the verification 

process findings of DMAS or its designee. 
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12VAC30-135-430. Individual screening requirements; 

enrollment process. 

A. All applicants shall be screened by a GAP screening 

entity using the screening tool, DMAS P603, and shall meet 

the requirements identified in the screening tool to meet the 

SMI criteria. Screenings shall be provided to persons without 

regard to whether they have serious mental illness. Screenings 

may be either limited or a full screening depending on the 

applicant's prior history of serious mental illness.  

B. Two types of screenings shall be conducted: 

1. Limited screenings shall be conducted for those 

applicants who have had a diagnostic evaluation within the 

past 12 months, and this evaluation is available to the 

screener. These limited screenings may be conducted by 

[ either ] an LMHP, a QMHP-A, [ or a ] QMHP-E [ , or 

those exempt from licensure as described in § 54.1-3601 of 

the Code of Virginia ]. 

2. Full screenings shall be conducted for those applicants 

who have not had a diagnostic evaluation within the past 

12 months or for whom the evaluation is not available to 

the screener. These full screenings shall be conducted by 

an LMHP. 

C. All SMI screenings shall be submitted to the BHSA. The 

diagnostic evaluation shall be signed and contemporaneously 

dated by the LMHP who completed it. 

D. Once an applicant's eligibility has been determined 

consistent with all of the requirements set out in 12VAC30-

135-420, his coverage shall become effective on the first day 

of the same month in which his signed application was 

received. No retroactive eligibility shall be permitted in the 

GAP SMI program. No service coverage shall begin prior to 

the first day of the month that the applicant's signed and dated 

application for the GAP SMI program is received.  

E. Once an applicant is determined to be eligible for the 

GAP SMI program, his eligibility shall remain effective for 

12 continuous months except if the individual becomes 65 

years of age, becomes eligible for Medicare or Medicaid, 

moves out of the Commonwealth, dies, or is unable to be 

located. 

F. The renewal of an enrollee's eligibility for this GAP SMI 

program shall be redetermined prior to the end of the 12-

month coverage period. No additional determination of 

serious mental illness shall be required to complete a renewal 

for program eligibility. 

G. GAP SMI program enrollees shall not be required to 

report changes in their financial circumstances during their 

12-month coverage period but only at the time of their 

renewal application. 

1. If an ex parte renewal cannot be completed for the GAP 

SMI program enrollee, a [ pre-filled prefilled ] paper 

renewal application will be generated, and the enrollee 

shall be given 30 days to return the completed renewal 

with the requested verification documentation. If the 

enrollee fails to provide the completed renewal and 

documentation in the designated timeframe, his GAP 

enrollment shall be canceled for failure to complete his 

renewal process. 

2. Such an individual shall be permitted a three-month 

grace period in which to supply the required 

documentation to have his GAP enrollment reinstated at 

the first of the month following cancellation. 

H. The new application determination process shall be 

completed within 45 days except in cases of unusual 

circumstances as described in this subsection:  

1. Unusual circumstances include administrative or other 

emergency beyond the control of DMAS or its designee. In 

such case, DMAS or its designee shall document in the 

applicant's record the reasons for delay. DMAS or its 

designee shall not use the time standards as a waiting 

period before determining eligibility or as a reason for 

denying eligibility because it has not determined eligibility 

within the time standards.  

2. Incomplete new applications shall be held open for a 

period of 45 calendar days to enable applicants to provide 

outstanding information needed for an eligibility 

determination. Any applicant who fails to provide within 

45 calendar days of the receipt of the initial application 

information or verifications necessary to determine 

eligibility shall have his application for GAP SMI program 

denied.  

I. Cover Virginia shall mail a notice to the applicant 

following the eligibility determination. An approval notice 

shall include the applicant's identification number, enrollment 

periods, and a member handbook. A denial notice shall 

include information about appeal rights. 

J. Following an approval notice, the BHSA shall mail the 

enrollee's GAP identification card to the address provided on 

the application.  

12VAC30-135-440. Covered services; limitations; 

restrictions. 

A. GAP SMI program coverage shall be limited to [ certain ] 

outpatient medical, behavioral health, pharmacy, GAP case 

management, and care coordination services for individuals 

determined to meet the GAP SMI program eligibility criteria. 

This program intends that such services will significantly 

decrease the severity of the serious mental illnesses of these 

individuals so that they can recover, work, parent, learn, and 

participate more fully in their communities.  

B. These services are intended to be delivered in a person-

centered manner. The individuals who are receiving these 

services shall be included in all service planning activities.  



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 8, 2018 

1052 

C. Medical services including outpatient physician and 

clinic services, telemedicine services, specialists services, 

diagnostic procedures, laboratory procedures, and pharmacy 

services shall be covered as follows:  

1. Outpatient physician services and medical office visits, 

which include (i) evaluation and management, (ii) 

diagnostic and treatment procedures performed in the 

physician's office, and (iii) therapeutic or diagnostic 

injections. The requirements of 12VAC30-50-140 shall be 

met in order for these services to be reimbursed by DMAS. 

2. Outpatient clinic services, which include (i) evaluation 

and management, (ii) treatment and procedures performed 

in the clinic's office, and (iii) medically necessary 

therapeutic and diagnostic injections. The requirements of 

12VAC30-50-180 shall be met in order for this service to 

be reimbursed by DMAS. 

3. Outpatient specialty care, consultation, management, 

and treatment, which include (i) evaluation and treatment, 

(ii) procedures performed in the physician's office, and (iii) 

medically necessary therapeutic or diagnostic injections 

consistent with 12VAC30-50-140. 

4. Outpatient diagnostic services, which include 

ultrasounds, electrocardiogram, service-authorized CAT 

and MRI scans, and diagnostic services that can be 

performed in a physician's office with the exception of 

colonoscopy procedures and other services listed as not 

covered in 12VAC30-135-450. The requirements of 

12VAC30-50-140 O shall be met as they pertain to GAP 

services for these services to be reimbursed by DMAS. 

CAT and MRI scans shall be covered if the service is 

authorized by either DMAS or the service authorization 

contractor. 

5. Outpatient laboratory services consistent with 

12VAC30-50-120.  

6. Outpatient pharmacy services consistent with 

12VAC30-50-210.  

7. Outpatient family planning consistent with 12VAC30-

50-130 D; sterilization procedures and abortions shall not 

be covered. 

8. Outpatient telemedicine, which is covered the same as 

Medicaid for services that are not otherwise excluded from 

GAP coverage. 

9. Outpatient durable medical equipment and supplies 

coverage shall be limited to diabetic equipment and 

supplies consistent with 12VAC30-50-165. 

10. Outpatient hospital procedures shall be limited to (i) 

diagnostic ultrasound procedures; (ii) electrocardiogram 

(EKG/ECG) including stress tests; and (iii) radiology 

procedures except for positron emission tomography (PET) 

scans, colonoscopy, and radiation treatment procedures.  

D. Behavioral health services shall be covered as follows: 

1. Behavioral health services shall be subject to service 

authorization or registration as specified 12VAC30-50-

226.  

2. GAP case management as defined in 12VAC30-135-

400.  

a. GAP case management shall be provided by CSB case 

managers with consultation and support from BHSA care 

coordinators. This service shall be targeted to individuals 

who are expected to benefit from assistance with 

medication management and appropriate use of 

community resources. The CSB GAP case managers 

shall have the same knowledge, skills, and abilities as set 

out in 12VAC30-50-420 E 2 e and the CSB shall 

maintain all licenses required by DBHDS in 12VAC35-

105. GAP case management shall not include the 

provision of direct treatment services and shall have two 

levels of service intensity: regular and high intensity case 

management, as defined in 12VAC30-135-400. GAP 

[ care case ] management shall be focused on assisting 

individuals to access needed medical, behavioral health 

(psychiatric and substance use disorder services), social, 

education, vocational, and other support services. 

b. Reimbursement shall be provided only for active case 

management individuals. An active individual for GAP 

case management purposes means an individual for 

whom there is a current ISP that requires regular direct or 

client-related contacts or activity or communication with 

the individuals or families, significant others, service 

providers, or others. Billing may be submitted only for 

months in which direct or individual-related contacts, 

activity, or communications occur. Regular case 

management shall be reimbursed for months in which the 

minimum requirements as described in 12VAC30-135-

410, are met for case management. High intensity case 

management shall be reimbursed for months in which a 

face-to-face contact with the individual takes place in a 

community setting outside of the case management 

office. 

c. Case management shall not be billed for enrollees 

while they are in institutions for mental disease. 

d. The case management entity shall collaborate monthly 

with the BHSA for care coordination efforts. 

3. Crisis intervention shall be covered consistent with the 

limits and requirements set out in 12VAC30-50-226 B 3 

and 12VAC30-60-143.  

4. Crisis stabilization shall be covered consistent with the 

limits and requirements set out in 12VAC30-50-226 B and 

12VAC30-60-143 except that service authorization shall be 

required in place of registration.  
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5. Psychosocial rehabilitation service-specific provider 

intake and services shall be covered consistent with the 

limits and requirements set out in 12VAC30-50-226 B 4.  

[ 6. Peer support services for GAP members shall be 

covered consistent with the limits and requirements set out 

in 12VAC30-50-226. ] 

E. Outpatient psychotherapy services shall be covered 

consistent with 12VAC30-50-140 D [ 2 1 ] through D [ 5 4 ]. 

F. [ Community Effective October 1, 2017, ] substance use 

disorder services shall be covered as [ follows: described in 

12VAC30-130-5030. Peer support services for GAP members 

with SUD shall be covered consistent with the limits and 

requirements set out in 12VAC30-130-5160 through 

12VAC30-130-5210. ]  

[ 1. Services shall include intensive outpatient services and 

opioid treatment services. These services shall be rendered 

to individuals consistent with the criteria for these two 

services specified in 12VAC30-50-228 A 2. 

2. Evaluations required. Prior to initiation of intensive 

outpatient or opioid treatment services, an evaluation shall 

be conducted consistent with 12VAC30-60-180 C. ] 

G. Care coordination, crisis phone line, and peer [ supports 

support navigation services ] shall be administered through 

the BHSA as follows: 

1. Care coordination shall be provided by the BHSA care 

coordinators. BHSA-LMHP care coordinators shall work 

closely with behavioral health providers including local 

CSB staff to provide information to the enrollee in 

accessing covered services, provider selection, and how to 

access all services including noncovered services.  

2. The BHSA shall provide crisis phone lines 24 hours per 

day and seven days per week including access to a licensed 

care coordinator during a crisis. 

[ 3. Before July 1, 2017, peer support navigation services 

shall only be provided by peer support navigators through 

the BHSA. On and after July 1, 2017, peer support services 

will be a state plan service and, therefore, shall be provided 

by peer recovery specialists employed by or contracted 

with licensed and enrolled providers consistent with the 

limits and requirements set out in 12VAC30-50-226 for 

adults with mental illness and in 12VAC30-130-5160 

through 12VAC30-130-5210 for adults with substance use 

disorders. However, the BHSA or its designee may 

continue to provide peer support navigation services to 

GAP enrollees during a transition period described in 

subdivision 4 of this subsection. ] 

[ 3. 4. ] The BHSA or its designee shall provide peer 

support [ navigation ] services seven days per week. A 

telephonic support shall be staffed by peer support 

navigators who have been trained specifically in telephonic 

support operations and resources. The telephonic support 

associated with the peer support services shall offer 

extended hours, toll-free access, and dedicated data 

collection capabilities. The BHSA shall provide trained 

peer navigators as part of its care coordination team or may 

contract with other entities to do so. The BHSA shall 

utilize community-based peer navigators to work in 

provider settings, community settings, and peer-run 

organizations. The scope of peer support [ navigation ] 

services shall include: 

a. Visiting enrollees in inpatient settings to develop the 

peer relationship.  

b. Describing and developing a plan for engaging in peer 

and natural community support resources as part of the 

recovery process.  

c. Initiating rapport, teaching, and modeling positive 

communication skills with enrollees to help them self-

advocate for an individualized services plan and assisting 

the enrollee with the coordination of services to promote 

successful community integration strategies.  

d. Assisting in developing strategies to decrease or avoid 

the need for future hospitalizations by offering social and 

emotional support and an array of individualized 

services.  

e. Providing social, emotional, and other supports framed 

around the eight dimensions of wellness as defined in 

12VAC30-135-400.  

[ f. Assisting with the transition from BHSA-provided 

peer support navigation if a GAP enrollee elects to 

receive peer support services as defined in 12VAC30-50-

226 B 7 or 12VAC30-130-5170 B. The transition period 

may last up to 30 consecutive calendar days and address 

discharging from recovery navigator services and 

engagement in peer support services. ]  

12VAC30-135-450. Noncovered medical and behavioral 

health services.  

A. Noncovered medical services shall include:  

1. Inpatient hospital treatment including psychiatric 

facilities and psychiatric facility partial hospitalization 

programs; 

2. Emergency room treatment; 

3. Ambulatory surgical centers; 

4. Military treatment facilities; 

5. Outpatient hospital procedures other than diagnostic 

procedures; 

6. Positron emission tomography (PET) scans; 

7. Home health;  
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8. Skilled and intermediate nursing facilities; 

9. Long-term care including home and community-based 

care waiver services, custodial care facilities, and 

intermediate care facilities for individuals with intellectual 

disabilities; 

[ 10. Residential substance use disorder treatment facilities; 

11. 10. ] Psychiatric residential treatment centers; 

[ 12. 11. ] Comprehensive inpatient/outpatient 

rehabilitation facilities;  

[ 13. 12. ] End-stage renal disease treatment facilities;  

[ 14. 13. ] Hospice;  

[ 15. 14. ] Ambulance (including land, air, and water);  

[ 16. 15. ] Early and periodic screening diagnosis and 

treatment (EPSDT) services;  

[ 17. 16. ] Dental services;  

[ 18. 17. ] Nonemergency transportation;  

[ 19. 18. ] Physical therapy (PT), occupational therapy 

(OT), and speech therapies;  

[ 20. 19. ] Obstetrics/maternity care including birthing 

centers (gynecology services are covered);  

[ 21. 20. ] Routine eye exams;  

[ 22. 21. ] Abortions, sterilization (vasectomy or tubal 

ligation);  

[ 23. 22. ] Chemotherapy, radiation therapy;  

[ 24. 23. ] Colonoscopy;  

[ 25. 24. ] Dialysis;  

[ 26. 25. ] Durable medical equipment (DME) and supply 

items (other than those required to treat diabetes); 

orthotics; prosthetics; home IV therapy; nutritional 

supplements; 

[ 27. 26. ] Cosmetic procedures;  

[ 28. 27. ] Eyeglasses, contact lenses, hearing aids;  

[ 29. 28. ] Private duty nursing;  

[ 30. 29. ] Assisted living;  

[ 31. 30. ] Other unspecified facilities;  

[ 32. 31. ] Services specifically excluded under Virginia 

Medicaid;  

[ 33. 32. ] Services not deemed medically necessary;  

[ 34. 33. ] Services that are considered experimental or 

investigational;  

[ 35. 34. ] Services from non-Medicaid-enrolled providers; 

and  

[ 36. 35. ] Any medical services not otherwise defined as 

covered. 

B. Noncovered traditional [ behavioral mental ] health 

services shall include: 

1. Inpatient hospital or partial hospital services, hospital 

observation services, emergency room services;  

2. Electroconvulsive therapy and related services (e.g., 

anesthesia and hospital charges); 

3. Residential treatment services;  

4. Psychological and neuropsychological testing; 

5. Smoking and tobacco cessation and counseling;  

6. Transportation; 

7. Services specifically excluded under Virginia Medicaid;  

8. Services not deemed medically necessary; 

9. Services that are considered experimental or 

investigational;  

10. Services from non-Medicaid-enrolled providers; and 

11. Any [ behavioral mental ] health [ or substance use 

disorder ] services not otherwise defined as covered. 

C. Noncovered nontraditional [ behavioral mental ] health 

services shall include:  

[ 1. Substance use disorder case management, substance 

use disorder day treatment for pregnant women, substance 

use disorder residential treatment for pregnant women, 

substance use disorder day treatment, and substance use 

disorder crisis intervention; 

2. 1. ] Day treatment partial hospitalization, mental health 

skill building services, and intensive community treatment;  

[ 3. 2. ] Treatment foster care case management;  

[ 3. Mental health family support partners; ]  

[ 4. Virginia Independent Clinical Assessment Program 

assessments; ] 

[ 5. 4. ] Transportation;  

[ 6. 5. ] Services specifically excluded under Virginia 

Medicaid;  

[ 7. 6. ] Services not deemed medically necessary;  

[ 8. 7. ] Services that are considered experimental or 

investigational;  

[ 9. 8. ] Services from non-Medicaid-enrolled providers; 

and 
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[ 10. 9. ] Any [ behavioral mental ] health [ or substance 

use disorder treatment ] services not otherwise defined as 

covered. 

[ D. Noncovered substance use disorder services are as 

described in 12VAC3-130-5030. ARTS family support 

partners is a noncovered service. ]  

12VAC30-135-460. (Reserved.) 

12VAC30-135-470. Provider qualifications; requirements. 

The provider qualifications and requirements for GAP-

covered services shall be the same as those set forth for each 

service in 12VAC30-50 [ and 12VAC30-130 ]. 

12VAC30-135-475. Individual service plan requirements. 

A. Individual service plans shall contain all of the elements 

as set out in 12VAC30-50-226. ISPs that do not contain the 

specified elements shall be considered by DMAS to be 

incomplete and not adequate to support service 

reimbursement. 

B. Prior to the development of an ISP: 

1. A service-specific provider intake shall be completed for 

the following services: (i) psychosocial rehabilitation, (ii) 

crisis intervention, and (iii) crisis stabilization. 

2. An evaluation consistent with [ 12VAC30-60-180 C 

12VAC30-60-181 ] shall be completed for substance use 

disorder intensive outpatient and opioid treatment services. 

3. DBHDS licensure requirements for assessment and 

planning as defined in 12VAC35-105-650 shall be 

completed for GAP case management. 

12VAC30-135-480. Utilization review. 

A. The utilization requirements of this section shall apply to 

all GAP covered services unless otherwise specified. 

B. DMAS, or its designee, shall perform reviews of the 

utilization of all GAP-covered services in accordance with 42 

CFR 440.260 and 42 CFR Part 456. 

C. DMAS shall recover expenditures made for covered 

services when provider documentation does not comport with 

standards specified in state and federal Medicaid 

requirements. 

D. The utilization review requirements for GAP-covered 

services shall be the same as those set forth for each service 

in 12VAC30-60. 

12VAC30-135-485. Reimbursement. 

A. All services covered in the GAP SMI program shall be 

billed and reimbursed through the existing Medicaid/CHIP 

fee-for-service methodology and claims process. 

B. Reimbursement for substance use disorder services shall 

be consistent with [ subdivisions 1 through 6 of ] 12VAC30-

80-32 [ A 1 through A 6 ]. 

C. Service authorization shall not guarantee payment for the 

service. 

12VAC30-135-487. Client appeals. 

A. Notwithstanding the provisions of 12VAC30-110-10 

through 12VAC30-110-370, the regulations for client appeals 

described in this section through 12VAC30-135-495 govern 

state fair hearings for GAP SMI program applicants and 

enrolled individuals. Appeal procedures for GAP SMI 

providers are set out in 12VAC30-135-496. 

B. GAP SMI program applicants and enrollees shall have 

the right to a hearing pursuant to 42 CFR 431.220.  

C. Applicants shall be notified in writing of the appeals 

process at the time of the request for enrollment by Cover 

Virginia. Enrollees shall be notified in writing of the appeals 

process upon receipt of an adverse decision in a notice of 

action from the BHSA or the service authorization contractor. 

D. An appellant shall have the right to representation by an 

attorney or other individual of his choice at all stages of an 

appeal at the administrative agency level. 

1. For those appellants who wish to have a representative, a 

representative shall be designated in a written statement 

that is signed by the appellant whose GAP SMI program 

benefits were adversely affected. If the appellant is 

physically unable to sign a written statement, the DMAS 

Appeals Division shall allow a family member or other 

person acting on the appellant's behalf to be the 

representative. If the appellant is mentally unable to sign a 

written statement, the DMAS Appeals Division shall 

require written documentation that a family member or 

other person has been appointed or designated as his legal 

representative. 

2. If the representative is an attorney or a paralegal 

working under the supervision of an attorney, a signed 

statement by such attorney or paralegal that he is 

authorized to represent the appellant, prepared on the 

attorney's letterhead, shall be accepted as a designation of 

representation. 

3. A member of the same law firm as the designated 

representative shall have the same rights as the designated 

representative. 

4. An appellant may revoke representation by another 

person at any time. The revocation is effective when the 

DMAS Appeals Division receives written notice from the 

appellant. 

E. Any written communication from an applicant or enrollee 

or his representative that clearly expresses that he wants to 
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present his case to a reviewing authority shall constitute an 

appeal request.  

1. The written communication should explain the basis for 

the appeal of the action taken by Cover Virginia, the 

BHSA, or the service authorization contractor. 

2. The appellant or his representative may examine 

witnesses or documents, or both, provide testimony, 

submit evidence, and advance arguments during the 

hearing. 

F. Appeals to the state fair hearing process shall be made to 

the DMAS Appeals Division in writing, with the exception of 

requests for expedited appeals, and may be made via U.S. 

mail, fax transmission, hand-delivery, or electronic 

transmission. 

G. Cover Virginia, the BHSA, or the service authorization 

contractor shall attend and defend its decisions at all appeal 

hearings or conferences, whether in person or by telephone, 

as deemed necessary by the DMAS Appeals Division.  

H. Requests for expedited appeals referenced in subsection 

K of this section may be filed by telephone or by any of the 

methods set forth in subsection F in this section. 

I. The agency shall continue benefits while the appeal is 

pending when all of the following criteria are met: 

1. The enrollee or his representative files the appeal within 

10 calendar days, plus five mail days, of the date the notice 

of action was sent by the agency; 

2. The appeal involves the termination, suspension, or 

reduction of eligibility or a previously authorized course of 

treatment; 

3. In the case of services, the services were ordered by an 

authorized provider, and the original period covered by the 

initial authorization has not expired; and 

4. The enrollee or his representative requests continuation 

of benefits. 

J. After the final resolution and if the final resolution of the 

appeal is adverse to the enrollee (e.g., the agency's action is 

upheld), the department may recover the costs of services 

furnished to the enrollee while the appeal was pending to the 

extent they were furnished solely because of the pending 

appeal. 

K. The department shall maintain an expedited process for 

appeals when the treating provider of an appellant certifies in 

writing that taking the time for a standard resolution could 

seriously jeopardize the appellant's life, physical health, 

mental health, or ability to attain, maintain, or regain 

maximum function. DMAS will make every effort to 

facilitate an expedited hearing and appeal decision process to 

accommodate the serious health condition of the appellant.  

1. For eligibility matters, the hearing officer shall render 

appeal decisions within a reasonable amount of time. In 

setting timeframes, the hearing officer shall consider the 

need for expedited appeals that meet criteria described in 

this subsection. 

2. For health services matters, the hearing officer shall 

ensure that appeals that meet the criteria for expedited 

resolution are completed no later than 72 hours after the 

agency receives a fair hearing request. The hearing officer 

may extend the timeframes for resolution of an expedited 

appeal by up to 14 calendar days if the appellant or the 

appellant's representative requests the extension, or if the 

hearing officer: 

a. Shows that there is a need for additional information 

and how the delay is in the appellant's best interest; 

b. Promptly notifies the appellant of the reason for an 

extension and provides the date the extension expires; 

and 

c. Resolves the appeal as expeditiously as the appellant's 

health condition requires and no later than the date the 

extension expires.  

12VAC30-135-489. Appeal timeframes. 

A. Appeals to the Medicaid state fair hearing process shall 

be filed with the DMAS Appeals Division within 30 days of 

the date the notice of action was sent by the agency, unless 

the time period is extended by DMAS upon a finding of good 

cause in accordance with subsection G of this section. 

B. It is presumed that applicants or enrollees will receive the 

notice of action five days after the agency or its designee 

mails it, unless the applicant or enrollee shows that he did not 

receive the notice within the five-day period. For purposes of 

calculating the five-day period, it is presumed that the notice 

was mailed by the agency on the date that is indicated on the 

notice.  

C. A request for appeal on the grounds that the agency or its 

designee has not acted with reasonable promptness in 

response to an eligibility or service request may be filed at 

any time until the agency or its designee has acted. 

D. The date of filing shall be (i) the date the request is 

postmarked if by U.S. mail or (ii) the date the request is 

received by the department if delivered other than by U.S. 

mail.  

E. Documents postmarked on or before a time limit's 

expiration shall be accepted as timely.  

F. In computing any time period under 12VAC30-135-487 

through 12VAC30-135-495, the day of the act or event from 

which the designated period of time begins to run shall be 

excluded and the last day included. If a time limit would 

expire on a Saturday, Sunday, or state or federal holiday, it 

shall be extended until the next regular business day. 
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G. An extension of the 30-day period for filing a request for 

appeal may be granted for good cause shown. Examples of 

good cause include the following situations: 

1. The appellant was seriously ill and was prevented by 

illness from contacting the department;  

2. The notice of action completed by the agency was not 

sent to the appellant. The agency may rebut this claim by 

evidence that the decision was mailed to the appellant's last 

known address or that the notice was received by the 

appellant; 

3. The appellant sent the request for appeal to another 

government agency in good faith within the time limit; or 

4. Unusual or unavoidable circumstances prevented a 

timely filing of the appeal request. 

H. Appeals shall be heard and decisions issued within 90 

days of (i) the postmark date if delivered by U.S. mail or (ii) 

the receipt date if delivered by any method other than U.S. 

mail.  

I. Exceptions to standard appeal resolution timeframes. 

Decisions may be issued beyond the standard timeframe 

when the appellant or his representative requests or causes a 

delay. Decisions may also be issued beyond the standard 

appeal resolution timeframe when any of the following 

circumstances exist: 

1. The appellant or representative requests to reschedule or 

continue the hearing; 

2. The appellant or representative provides good cause for 

failing to keep a scheduled hearing appointment and the 

DMAS Appeals Division reschedules the hearing; 

3. Inclement weather, unanticipated system outage, or the 

department's closure that prevents the hearing officer's 

ability to work; 

4. Following a hearing, the hearing officer orders an 

independent medical assessment as described in 

12VAC30-110-200; 

5. The hearing officer leaves the hearing record open after 

the hearing to receive additional evidence or argument 

from the appellant or representative; 

6. The hearing officer receives additional evidence from a 

person other than the appellant or his representative, and 

the appellant or representative requests to comment on 

such evidence in writing or to have the hearing reconvened 

to respond to such evidence; or 

7. The hearing officer determines that a need for additional 

information exists and documents how the delay is in the 

appellant's interest. 

J. For delays requested or caused by an appellant or his 

representative, the delay date for the decision will be 

calculated as follows: 

1. If an appellant or representative requests or causes a 

delay within 30 days of the request for a hearing, the 90-

day time limit will be extended by the number of days 

from the date when the first hearing was scheduled until 

the date to which the hearing is rescheduled. 

2. If an appellant or representative requests or causes a 

delay within 31 to 60 days of the request for a hearing, the 

90-day time limit will be extended by 1.5 times the number 

of days from the date when the first hearing was scheduled 

until the date to which the hearing is rescheduled. 

3. If an appellant or representative requests or causes a 

delay within 61 to 90 days of the request for a hearing, the 

90-day time limit will be extended by two times the 

number of days from the date when the first hearing was 

scheduled until the date to which the hearing is 

rescheduled. 

K. Post-hearing delays requested or caused by an appellant 

or representative (e.g., requests for the record to be left open) 

will result in a day-to-day delay for the decision date. The 

hearing officer shall provide the appellant and representative 

with written notice of the reason for the decision delay and 

the delayed decision date, if applicable. 

12VAC30-135-491. Prehearing decisions. 

A. If the DMAS Appeals Division determines that any of the 

conditions as described in this subsection exist, a hearing will 

not be held and the client appeal process shall be terminated.  

1. A request for appeal may be invalidated if: 

a. The request was not filed within the time limit 

imposed by 12VAC30-135-489 A or extended pursuant 

to 12VAC30-135-489 G, and the hearing officer sends a 

letter to the appellant for an explanation as to why the 

appeal request was not filed timely, and: 

(1) The appellant or his representative did not reply to the 

request within 10 calendar days for an explanation of 

why good cause criteria were met for the untimely filing; 

or 

(2) The appellant or his representative replied within 10 

calendar days of the request and the DMAS Appeals 

Division had sufficient facts to determine that the reply 

did not meet good cause criteria pursuant to 12VAC30-

135-489 G. 

b. The individual who filed the appeal ("filer") is not the 

appellant or parent of a minor appellant and the DMAS 

Appeals Division sends a letter to the filer requesting 

proof of his authority to appeal on behalf of the 

appellant, and: 
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(1) The filer did not reply to the request for authorization 

to represent the appellant within 10 calendar days; or 

(2) The filer replied within 10 calendar days of the 

request and the hearing officer determined that the 

authorization submitted was insufficient to allow the filer 

to represent the appellant under the provisions of 

12VAC30-135-487 D. 

2. A request for appeal may be administratively dismissed 

if: 

a. The action being appealed was not taken by Cover 

Virginia, BHSA, or the service authorization contractor; 

or 

b. The sole issue is a federal or state law requiring an 

automatic change adversely affecting some or all GAP 

SMI program applicants or enrollees. 

3. An appeal case may be closed if: 

a. The hearing officer schedules a hearing and sends a 

written schedule letter notifying the appellant or his 

representative of the date, time, and location of the 

hearing, the appellant or his representative failed to 

appear at the scheduled hearing, and the hearing officer 

sends a letter to the appellant for an explanation as to 

why he failed to appear, and: 

(1) The appellant or his representative did not reply to the 

request within 10 calendar days with an explanation that 

met good cause criteria; or 

(2) The appellant or his representative replied within 10 

calendar days of the request and the DMAS Appeals 

Division determined that the reply did not meet good 

cause criteria. 

b. The hearing officer sends a written schedule letter 

requesting that the appellant or his representative provide 

a telephone number at which he can be reached for a 

telephonic hearing and the appellant or his representative 

failed to respond within 10 calendar days to the request 

for a telephone number at which he could be reached for 

a telephonic hearing. 

c. The appellant or his representative withdraws the 

appeal request in writing. 

d. Cover Virginia, the BHSA, or the service authorization 

contractor approves the full amount, duration, and scope 

of services requested. 

e. Evidence in the record shows that the decision made 

by Cover Virginia, the BHSA, or the service 

authorization contractor was clearly in error and that the 

case should be fully resolved in the appellant's favor. 

B. Remand to Cover Virginia, the BHSA, or the service 

authorization contractor. If the hearing officer determines 

from the record, without conducting a hearing, that the case 

might be resolved in the appellant's favor if Cover Virginia, 

the BHSA, or the service authorization contractor obtains and 

develops additional information, documentation, or 

verification, the hearing officer may remand the case to Cover 

Virginia, the BHSA, or the service authorization contractor 

for action consistent with the hearing officer's written 

instructions pursuant to 12VAC30-135-494. 

C. The appellant shall have no opportunity to seek judicial 

review except in cases where the hearing officer receives and 

analyzes a response from the appellant or representative as 

described in subdivisions A 1 a (2), A 1 b (2), A 3 a (2), and 

subsection B of this section. 

D. A letter shall be sent to the appellant or his representative 

that explains the determination made on his appeal. 

12VAC30-135-494. Evidentiary hearings and final 

decisions. 

A. All hearings shall be scheduled at a reasonable time, date, 

and place, and the appellant and his representative shall be 

notified in writing at least 15 days before the hearing. 

1. The hearing location shall be determined by the DMAS 

Appeals Division. 

2. A hearing shall be rescheduled at the appellant's request 

no more than twice unless compelling reasons exist. 

3. Rescheduling the hearing at the appellant's or his 

representative's request will result in automatic waiver of 

the 90-day deadline for resolution of the appeal. The delay 

date for the decision will be calculated as set forth in 

12VAC30-135-489 J. 

B. The hearing shall be conducted by a department hearing 

officer. The hearing officer shall review the complete record 

for all Cover Virginia, BHSA, or service authorization 

contractor actions that are properly appealed; conduct 

informal, fact-gathering hearings; evaluate evidence 

presented; research the issues; and render a written final 

decision. 

C. Subject to the requirements of all applicable federal and 

state laws regarding privacy, confidentiality, disclosure, and 

personally identifiable information, the appeal record shall be 

made accessible to the appellant and his representative at a 

convenient place and time at least five working days before 

the date of the hearing and during the hearing. The appellant 

and his representative may examine the content of the 

appellant's case file and all documents and records the 

department will rely on at the hearing except those records 

excluded by law.  

D. Appellants or their representatives who require the 

attendance of witnesses or the production of records, 

memoranda, papers, and other documents at the hearing may 

request in writing the issuance of a subpoena. The request 

must be received by the hearing officer at least 10 working 
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days before the scheduled hearing. Such request shall include 

(i) the witness or respondent's name, home and work 

addresses, and county or city of work and residence if the 

subpoena is for witnesses, (ii) a description of the specific 

records requested if the subpoena is for records, and (iii) the 

name and address of the sheriff's office that will serve the 

subpoena.  

E. The hearing officer shall conduct the hearing; decide on 

questions of evidence, procedure, and law; question 

witnesses; and assure that the hearing remains relevant to the 

issue or issues being appealed. The hearing officer shall 

control the conduct of the hearing and decide who may 

participate in the hearing.  

F. Hearings shall be conducted in an informal, 

nonadversarial manner. The appellant or his representative 

shall have the right to bring witnesses, establish all pertinent 

facts and circumstances, present an argument without undue 

interference, and question or refute the testimony or evidence, 

including the opportunity to confront and cross-examine 

agency representatives.  

G. The rules of evidence shall not strictly apply. All 

relevant, nonrepetitive evidence may be admitted, but the 

probative weight of the evidence will be evaluated by the 

hearing officer.  

H. The hearing officer may leave the hearing record open for 

a specified period of time after the hearing to receive 

additional evidence or argument from the appellant or his 

representative. 

1. The hearing officer may order an independent medical 

assessment when the appeal involves medical issues such 

as a diagnosis, an examining physician's report, or a 

medical review team's decision, and the hearing officer 

determines that it is necessary to have an assessment by 

someone other than the person or team who made the 

original decision (e.g., to obtain more detailed medical 

findings about the impairments, to obtain technical or 

specialized medical information, or to resolve conflicts or 

differences in medical findings or assessments in the 

existing evidence). A medical assessment ordered pursuant 

to this subsection shall be at the department's expense and 

shall become part of the record. 

2. The hearing officer may receive evidence that was not 

presented by either party if the record indicates that such 

evidence exists, and the appellant or his representative 

requests to submit it or requests that the hearing officer 

secure it. 

3. If the hearing officer receives additional evidence from 

an entity other than the appellant or his representative, the 

hearing officer shall (i) send a copy of such evidence to the 

appellant and his representative and to Cover Virginia, the 

BHSA, or the service authorization contractor and (ii) 

provide each party the opportunity to comment on such 

evidence in writing or to have the hearing reconvened to 

respond to such evidence. 

4. Any additional evidence received will become a part of 

the hearing record, but the hearing officer must determine 

whether it will be used in making the decision. 

I. After conducting the hearing, reviewing the record, and 

deciding questions of law, the hearing officer shall issue a 

written final decision that either (i) sustains or reverses, in 

whole or in part, the action of Cover Virginia, the BHSA, or 

the service authorization contractor or (ii) remands the case 

for further evaluation consistent with the hearing officer's 

written instructions. Some decisions may be a combination of 

these dispositions. The hearing officer's final decision shall be 

considered as the department's final administrative action 

pursuant to 42 CFR 431.244(f). The final decision shall 

include:  

1. Identification of the issue or issues; 

2. Relevant facts, to include a description of the procedural 

development of the case;  

3. Conclusions of law, regulations, and policy that relate to 

the issue or issues;  

4. Discussions, analysis of the accuracy of the agency's 

action, conclusions, and the hearing officer's decision;  

5. Further action, if any, to be taken by the agency to 

implement the decision;  

6. The deadline date by which further action must be taken; 

and  

7. A cover letter informing the appellant and representative 

of the hearing officer's decision. The letter must indicate 

that the hearing officer's decision is final and that the final 

decision may be appealed directly to circuit court. 

J. A copy of the hearing record shall be forwarded to the 

appellant and his representative with the final decision. 

K. An appellant who disagrees with the hearing officer's 

final decision as defined in this section may seek judicial 

review pursuant to [ Article 5 (§ 2.2-4025 et seq.) of ] the 

Administrative Process Act [ (§ 2.2-4026 of the Code of 

Virginia) ] and Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia, Part 

Two A. Written instructions for requesting judicial review 

must be provided to the appellant or representative with the 

hearing officer's decision, and upon request by the appellant 

or representative. 

12VAC30-135-495. Department of Medical Assistance 

Services Appeals Division appeal records. 

A. No person shall take from the DMAS Appeals Division's 

custody any original record, paper, document, or exhibit that 

has been certified to the division except as the division's 

director or his designee authorizes, or as may be necessary to 

furnish or transmit copies for other official purposes.  
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B. Information in the appellant's record can be released only 

to the appellant or the appellant's authorized representative; 

Cover Virginia, the BHSA, or the service authorization 

contractor; and other persons named in a release of 

information authorization signed by an appellant or his 

representative. 

C. The fees to be charged and collected for any copies of 

DMAS Appeals Division records will be in accordance with 

Virginia's Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia) or other controlling law. 

D. When copies are requested from records in the division's 

custody, the required fee shall be waived if the copies are 

requested in connection with an appellant's own appeal. 

12VAC30-135-496. Provider appeals. 

A. GAP SMI program provider appeals shall be conducted 

in accordance with the department's provider appeal 

regulations in Part XII (12VAC30-20-500 et seq.) of 

12VAC30-20, § 32.1-325 et seq. of the Code of Virginia, and 

the Virginia Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia). 

B. The department's appeal decision shall be binding on and 

shall not be subject to further appeal by Cover Virginia, the 

BHSA, and the service authorization contractor.  

12VAC30-135-498. Individual rights. 

A. Individuals who have been found eligible for and have 

been enrolled in the GAP SMI program shall have the right to 

be treated with respect and dignity by health care provider 

staff and to have their personal health information kept in 

confidence per the Health Insurance Portability and 

Accountability Act. 

B. No premiums, copayments, coinsurance, or deductibles 

shall be charged to individuals who have been found to be 

eligible for and are enrolled in the GAP SMI program. 

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of the form 

with a hyperlink to access it. The form is also available from 

the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (12VAC30-135) 

Governor's Access Plan (GAP) Serious Mental Illness (SMI) 

Screening Tool, DMAS-P603 (eff. 11/2014) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(12VAC30-135) 

Child Adolescent Functional Assessment Scale (Uniform 

Assessment Instrument), Functional Assessment Systems, 

2000. 

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 

(DSM-IV-TR), Fourth Edition, Text Revision, copyright 

2000, American Psychiatric Association, 1000 Wilson 

Boulevard, Suite 1825, Arlington, Virginia 22209, 

http://www.psychiatry.org/  

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 

(DSM-5®), Fifth Edition, copyright 2013, American 

Psychiatric Association, 1000 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 1825, 

Arlington, Virginia 22209, http://www.psychiatry.org/dsm5 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4171; Filed December 19, 2017, 10:42 a.m.  

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-105. Rules and Regulations 

for Licensing Providers by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services (amending 12VAC35-

105-20, 12VAC35-105-590, 12VAC35-105-1370).  

Statutory Authority: § 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: December 18, 2017, through June 17, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Cleopatra L. Booker, Psy.D., Director, 

Office of Licensing, Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, 1220 Bank Street, P.O. Box 1797, 

Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (804) 786-1747, FAX 

(804) 692-0066, TTY (804) 371-8977, or email 

cleopatra.booker@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 

which Virginia statutory law requires that a regulation be 

effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, and the 

regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 

A 4 of the Code of Virginia.  

Chapter 136 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly requires the 

Board of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 

to amend regulations to include (i) occupational therapists 

in the definitions of "qualified mental health professional-

adult," "qualified mental health professional-child," and 

"qualified developmental disability professional" and (ii) 

occupational therapy assistants in the definition of 

"qualified paraprofessional in mental health." In addition, 

the board is required to establish educational and clinical 

experience for occupational therapists and occupational 

therapy assistants that is substantially equivalent to 

comparable professionals listed in the current licensing 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7cc6f004171~2&typ=40&actno=004171&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7cc6f004171~2&typ=40&actno=004171&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0feef004891~1R.pdf&typ=40&actno=004891&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0feef004891~1R.pdf&typ=40&actno=004891&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0feef004891~1R.pdf&typ=40&actno=004891&mime=application/pdf
http://www.psychiatry.org/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b09c3004171~4&typ=40&actno=004171&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b09c3004171~4&typ=40&actno=004171&mime=application/pdf
http://www.psychiatry.org/dsm5
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regulations. Chapters 418 and 426 of the 2017 Acts of 

Assembly establish the definition of "qualified mental 

health professional" in § 54.1-2400 of the Code of 

Virginia. The acts direct the board to enact regulations to 

be effective within 280 days. The emergency regulations 

implement the requirements of Chapters 136, 418, and 

426.  

Article 2  

Definitions  

12VAC35-105-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Abuse" (§ 37.2-100 of the Code of Virginia) means any act 

or failure to act by an employee or other person responsible 

for the care of an individual in a facility or program operated, 

licensed, or funded by the department, excluding those 

operated by the Virginia Department of Corrections, that was 

performed or was failed to be performed knowingly, 

recklessly, or intentionally, and that caused or might have 

caused physical or psychological harm, injury, or death to a 

person receiving care or treatment for mental illness, mental 

retardation (intellectual disability), or substance abuse 

(substance use disorders). Examples of abuse include acts 

such as:  

1. Rape, sexual assault, or other criminal sexual behavior;  

2. Assault or battery;  

3. Use of language that demeans, threatens, intimidates, or 

humiliates the person;  

4. Misuse or misappropriation of the person's assets, goods, 

or property;  

5. Use of excessive force when placing a person in 

physical or mechanical restraint;  

6. Use of physical or mechanical restraints on a person that 

is not in compliance with federal and state laws, 

regulations, and policies, professional accepted standards 

of practice, or the person's individualized services plan;  

7. Use of more restrictive or intensive services or denial of 

services to punish the person or that is not consistent with 

his individualized services plan.  

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means personal care 

activities and includes bathing, dressing, transferring, 

toileting, grooming, hygiene, feeding, and eating. An 

individual's degree of independence in performing these 

activities is part of determining the appropriate level of care 

and services.  

"Admission" means the process of acceptance into a service 

as defined by the provider's policies.  

"Authorized representative" means a person permitted by 

law or 12VAC35-115 to authorize the disclosure of 

information or consent to treatment and services or 

participation in human research. 

"Behavior intervention" means those principles and methods 

employed by a provider to help an individual receiving 

services to achieve a positive outcome and to address 

challenging behavior in a constructive and safe manner. 

Behavior intervention principles and methods must be 

employed in accordance with the individualized services plan 

and written policies and procedures governing service 

expectations, treatment goals, safety, and security.  

"Behavioral treatment plan," "functional plan," or 

"behavioral support plan" means any set of documented 

procedures that are an integral part of the individualized 

services plan and are developed on the basis of a systematic 

data collection, such as a functional assessment, for the 

purpose of assisting individuals to achieve the following: 

1. Improved behavioral functioning and effectiveness; 

2. Alleviation of symptoms of psychopathology; or 

3. Reduction of challenging behaviors. 

"Brain injury" means any injury to the brain that occurs after 

birth, but before age 65, that is acquired through traumatic or 

nontraumatic insults. Nontraumatic insults may include 

anoxia, hypoxia, aneurysm, toxic exposure, encephalopathy, 

surgical interventions, tumor, and stroke. Brain injury does 

not include hereditary, congenital, or degenerative brain 

disorders or injuries induced by birth trauma.  

"Care" or "treatment" means the individually planned 

therapeutic interventions that conform to current acceptable 

professional practice and that are intended to improve or 

maintain functioning of an individual receiving services 

delivered by a provider. 

"Case management service" means services that can include 

assistance to individuals and their family members in 

assessing needed services that are responsive to the person's 

individual needs. Case management services include: 

identifying potential users of the service; assessing needs and 

planning services; linking the individual to services and 

supports; assisting the individual directly to locate, develop, 

or obtain needed services and resources; coordinating services 

with other providers; enhancing community integration; 

making collateral contacts; monitoring service delivery; 

discharge planning; and advocating for individuals in 

response to their changing needs. "Case management service" 

does not include maintaining service waiting lists or 

periodically contacting or tracking individuals to determine 

potential service needs.  

"Clinical experience" means providing direct services to 

individuals with mental illness or the provision of direct 

geriatric services or special education services. Experience 
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may include supervised internships, practicums, and field 

experience.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services. 

"Community gero-psychiatric residential services" means 

24-hour care provided to individuals with mental illness, 

behavioral problems, and concomitant health problems who 

are usually age 65 or older in a geriatric setting that is less 

intensive than a psychiatric hospital but more intensive than a 

nursing home or group home. Services include assessment 

and individualized services planning by an interdisciplinary 

services team, intense supervision, psychiatric care, 

behavioral treatment planning and behavior interventions, 

nursing, and other health related services.  

"Community intermediate care facility/mental retardation 

(ICF/MR)" means a residential facility in which care is 

provided to individuals who have mental retardation 

(intellectual disability) or a developmental disability who 

need more intensive training and supervision than may be 

available in an assisted living facility or group home. Such 

facilities shall comply with Title XIX of the Social Security 

Act standards and federal certification requirements, provide 

health or rehabilitative services, and provide active treatment 

to individuals receiving services toward the achievement of a 

more independent level of functioning or an improved quality 

of life.  

"Complaint" means an allegation of a violation of these 

regulations or a provider's policies and procedures related to 

these regulations.  

"Co-occurring disorders" means the presence of more than 

one and often several of the following disorders that are 

identified independently of one another and are not simply a 

cluster of symptoms resulting from a single disorder: mental 

illness, mental retardation (intellectual disability), or 

substance abuse (substance use disorders); brain injury; or 

developmental disability. 

"Co-occurring services" means individually planned 

therapeutic treatment that addresses in an integrated 

concurrent manner the service needs of individuals who have 

co-occurring disorders.  

"Corrective action plan" means the provider's pledged 

corrective action in response to cited areas of noncompliance 

documented by the regulatory authority. A corrective action 

plan must be completed within a specified time.  

"Correctional facility" means a facility operated under the 

management and control of the Virginia Department of 

Corrections.  

"Crisis" means a deteriorating or unstable situation often 

developing suddenly or rapidly that produces acute, 

heightened, emotional, mental, physical, medical, or 

behavioral distress; or any situation or circumstance in which 

the individual perceives or experiences a sudden loss of his 

ability to use effective problem-solving and coping skills.  

"Crisis stabilization" means direct, intensive nonresidential 

or residential direct care and treatment to nonhospitalized 

individuals experiencing an acute crisis that may jeopardize 

their current community living situation. Crisis stabilization is 

intended to avert hospitalization or rehospitalization; provide 

normative environments with a high assurance of safety and 

security for crisis intervention; stabilize individuals in crisis; 

and mobilize the resources of the community support system, 

family members, and others for ongoing rehabilitation and 

recovery.  

"Day support service" means structured programs of activity 

or training services for adults with an intellectual disability or 

a developmental disability, generally in clusters of two or 

more continuous hours per day provided to groups or 

individuals in nonresidential community-based settings. Day 

support services may provide opportunities for peer 

interaction and community integration and are designed to 

enhance the following: self-care and hygiene, eating, 

toileting, task learning, community resource utilization, 

environmental and behavioral skills, social skills, medication 

management, prevocational skills, and transportation skills. 

The term "day support service" does not include services in 

which the primary function is to provide employment-related 

services, general educational services, or general recreational 

services.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services.  

"Developmental disabilities" means autism or a severe, 

chronic disability that meets all of the following conditions 

identified in 42 CFR 435.1009:  

1. Attributable to cerebral palsy, epilepsy, or any other 

condition, other than mental illness, that is found to be 

closely related to mental retardation (intellectual disability) 

because this condition results in impairment of general 

intellectual functioning or adaptive behavior similar to 

behavior of individuals with mental retardation 

(intellectual disability) and requires treatment or services 

similar to those required for these individuals;  

2. Manifested before the individual reaches age 18;  

3. Likely to continue indefinitely; and  

4. Results in substantial functional limitations in three or 

more of the following areas of major life activity:  

a. Self-care;  

b. Understanding and use of language;  

c. Learning;  

d. Mobility;  
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e. Self-direction; or  

f. Capacity for independent living. 

"Discharge" means the process by which the individual's 

active involvement with a service is terminated by the 

provider, individual , or authorized representative.  

"Discharge plan" means the written plan that establishes the 

criteria for an individual's discharge from a service and 

identifies and coordinates delivery of any services needed 

after discharge.  

"Dispense" means to deliver a drug to an ultimate user by or 

pursuant to the lawful order of a practitioner, including the 

prescribing and administering, packaging, labeling or 

compounding necessary to prepare the substance for that 

delivery. (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia.)  

"Emergency service" means unscheduled and sometimes 

scheduled crisis intervention, stabilization, and referral 

assistance provided over the telephone or face-to-face, if 

indicated, available 24 hours a day and seven days per week. 

Emergency services also may include walk-ins, home visits, 

jail interventions, and preadmission screening activities 

associated with the judicial process .  

"Group home or community residential service" means a 

congregate service providing 24-hour supervision in a 

community-based home having eight or fewer residents. 

Services include supervision, supports, counseling, and 

training in activities of daily living for individuals whose 

individualized services plan identifies the need for the 

specific types of services available in this setting.  

"Home and noncenter based" means that a service is 

provided in the individual's home or other noncenter-based 

setting. This includes noncenter-based day support, 

supportive in-home, and intensive in-home services.  

"IFDDS Waiver" means the Individual and Family 

Developmental Disabilities Support Waiver.  

"Individual" or "individual receiving services" means a 

person receiving services that are licensed under this chapter 

whether that person is referred to as a patient, consumer, 

client, resident, student, individual, recipient, family member, 

relative, or other term. When the term is used, the 

requirement applies to every individual receiving licensed 

services from the provider.  

"Individualized services plan" or "ISP" means a 

comprehensive and regularly updated written plan that 

describes the individual's needs, the measurable goals and 

objectives to address those needs, and strategies to reach the 

individual's goals. An ISP is person-centered, empowers the 

individual, and is designed to meet the needs and preferences 

of the individual. The ISP is developed through a partnership 

between the individual and the provider and includes an 

individual's treatment plan, habilitation plan, person-centered 

plan, or plan of care, which are all considered individualized 

service plans.  

"Initial assessment" means an assessment conducted prior to 

or at admission to determine whether the individual meets the 

service's admission criteria; what the individual's immediate 

service, health, and safety needs are; and whether the provider 

has the capability and staffing to provide the needed services. 

"Inpatient psychiatric service" means intensive 24-hour 

medical, nursing, and treatment services provided to 

individuals with mental illness or substance abuse (substance 

use disorders) in a hospital as defined in § 32.1-123 of the 

Code of Virginia or in a special unit of such a hospital.  

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 

meal preparation, housekeeping, laundry, and managing 

money. A person's degree of independence in performing 

these activities is part of determining appropriate level of care 

and services.  

"Intensive Community Treatment (ICT) service" means a 

self-contained interdisciplinary team of at least five full-time 

equivalent clinical staff, a program assistant, and a full-time 

psychiatrist that:  

1. Assumes responsibility for directly providing needed 

treatment, rehabilitation, and support services to identified 

individuals with severe and persistent mental illness 

especially those who have severe symptoms that are not 

effectively remedied by available treatments or who 

because of reasons related to their mental illness resist or 

avoid involvement with mental health services;  

2. Minimally refers individuals to outside service 

providers;  

3. Provides services on a long-term care basis with 

continuity of caregivers over time;  

4. Delivers 75% or more of the services outside program 

offices; and  

5. Emphasizes outreach, relationship building, and 

individualization of services.  

"Intensive in-home service" means family preservation 

interventions for children and adolescents who have or are at-

risk of serious emotional disturbance, including individuals 

who also have a diagnosis of mental retardation (intellectual 

disability). Intensive in-home service is usually time-limited 

and is provided typically in the residence of an individual 

who is at risk of being moved to out-of-home placement or 

who is being transitioned back home from an out-of-home 

placement. The service includes 24-hour per day emergency 

response; crisis treatment; individual and family counseling; 

life, parenting, and communication skills; and case 

management and coordination with other services.  

"Investigation" means a detailed inquiry or systematic 

examination of the operations of a provider or its services 
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regarding an alleged violation of regulations or law. An 

investigation may be undertaken as a result of a complaint, an 

incident report, or other information that comes to the 

attention of the department.  

"Licensed mental health professional (LMHP)" means a 

physician, licensed clinical psychologist, licensed 

professional counselor, licensed clinical social worker, 

licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner, licensed 

marriage and family therapist, or certified psychiatric clinical 

nurse specialist.  

"Location" means a place where services are or could be 

provided. 

"Medically managed withdrawal services" means 

detoxification services to eliminate or reduce the effects of 

alcohol or other drugs in the individual's body. 

"Mandatory outpatient treatment order" means an order 

issued by a court pursuant to § 37.2-817 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Medical detoxification" means a service provided in a 

hospital or other 24-hour care facility under the supervision of 

medical personnel using medication to systematically 

eliminate or reduce effects of alcohol or other drugs in the 

individual's body.  

"Medical evaluation" means the process of assessing an 

individual's health status that includes a medical history and a 

physical examination of an individual conducted by a 

licensed medical practitioner operating within the scope of his 

license.  

"Medication" means prescribed or over-the-counter drugs or 

both.  

"Medication administration" means the direct application of 

medications by injection, inhalation, ingestion, or any other 

means to an individual receiving services by (i) persons 

legally permitted to administer medications or (ii) the 

individual at the direction and in the presence of persons 

legally permitted to administer medications.  

"Medication assisted treatment (Opioid treatment service)" 

means an intervention strategy that combines outpatient 

treatment with the administering or dispensing of synthetic 

narcotics, such as methadone or buprenorphine (suboxone), 

approved by the federal Food and Drug Administration for 

the purpose of replacing the use of and reducing the craving 

for opioid substances, such as heroin or other narcotic drugs.  

"Medication error" means an error in administering a 

medication to an individual and includes when any of the 

following occur: (i) the wrong medication is given to an 

individual, (ii) the wrong individual is given the medication, 

(iii) the wrong dosage is given to an individual, (iv) 

medication is given to an individual at the wrong time or not 

at all, or (v) the wrong method is used to give the medication 

to the individual.  

"Medication storage" means any area where medications are 

maintained by the provider, including a locked cabinet, 

locked room, or locked box.  

"Mental Health Community Support Service (MHCSS)" 

means the provision of recovery-oriented services to 

individuals with long-term, severe mental illness. MHCSS 

includes skills training and assistance in accessing and 

effectively utilizing services and supports that are essential to 

meeting the needs identified in the individualized services 

plan and development of environmental supports necessary to 

sustain active community living as independently as possible. 

MHCSS may be provided in any setting in which the 

individual's needs can be addressed, skills training applied, 

and recovery experienced.  

"Mental illness" means a disorder of thought, mood, 

emotion, perception, or orientation that significantly impairs 

judgment, behavior, capacity to recognize reality, or ability to 

address basic life necessities and requires care and treatment 

for the health, safety, or recovery of the individual or for the 

safety of others. 

"Mental retardation (intellectual disability)" means a 

disability originating before the age of 18 years characterized 

concurrently by (i) significantly subaverage intellectual 

functioning as demonstrated by performance on a 

standardized measure of intellectual functioning administered 

in conformity with accepted professional practice that is at 

least two standard deviations below the mean; and (ii) 

significant limitations in adaptive behavior as expressed in 

conceptual, social, and practical adaptive skills (§ 37.2-100 of 

the Code of Virginia).  

"Neglect" means the failure by an individual or a program or 

facility operated, licensed, or funded by the department, 

excluding those operated by the Department of Corrections, 

responsible for providing services to do so, including 

nourishment, treatment, care, goods, or services necessary to 

the health, safety, or welfare of a person receiving care or 

treatment for mental illness, mental retardation (intellectual 

disability), or substance abuse (substance use disorders).  

"Neurobehavioral services" means the assessment, 

evaluation, and treatment of cognitive, perceptual, behavioral, 

and other impairments caused by brain injury that affect an 

individual's ability to function successfully in the community.  

"Outpatient service" means treatment provided to 

individuals on an hourly schedule, on an individual, group, or 

family basis, and usually in a clinic or similar facility or in 

another location. Outpatient services may include diagnosis 

and evaluation, screening and intake, counseling, 

psychotherapy, behavior management, psychological testing 

and assessment, laboratory and other ancillary services, 
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medical services, and medication services. "Outpatient 

service" specifically includes:  

1. Services operated by a community services board or a 

behavioral health authority established pursuant to Chapter 

5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) or Chapter 6 (§ 37.2-600 et seq.) of 

Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia;  

2. Services contracted by a community services board or a 

behavioral health authority established pursuant to Chapter 

5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) or Chapter 6 (§ 37.2-600 et seq.) of 

Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia; or  

3. Services that are owned, operated, or controlled by a 

corporation organized pursuant to the provisions of either 

Chapter 9 (§ 13.1-601 et seq.) or Chapter 10 (§ 13.1-801 et 

seq.) of Title 13.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Partial hospitalization service" means time-limited active 

treatment interventions that are more intensive than outpatient 

services, designed to stabilize and ameliorate acute 

symptoms, and serve as an alternative to inpatient 

hospitalization or to reduce the length of a hospital stay. 

Partial hospitalization is focused on individuals with serious 

mental illness, substance abuse (substance use disorders), or 

co-occurring disorders at risk of hospitalization or who have 

been recently discharged from an inpatient setting.  

"Person-centered" means focusing on the needs and 

preferences of the individual; empowering and supporting the 

individual in defining the direction for his life; and promoting 

self-determination, community involvement, and recovery. 

"Program of Assertive Community Treatment (PACT) 

service" means a self-contained interdisciplinary team of at 

least 10 full-time equivalent clinical staff, a program 

assistant, and a full- or part-time psychiatrist that:  

1. Assumes responsibility for directly providing needed 

treatment, rehabilitation, and support services to identified 

individuals with severe and persistent mental illnesses, 

including those who have severe symptoms that are not 

effectively remedied by available treatments or who 

because of reasons related to their mental illness resist or 

avoid involvement with mental health services; 

2. Minimally refers individuals to outside service 

providers;  

3. Provides services on a long-term care basis with 

continuity of caregivers over time;  

4. Delivers 75% or more of the services outside program 

offices; and  

5. Emphasizes outreach, relationship building, and 

individualization of services.  

"Provider" means any person, entity, or organization, 

excluding an agency of the federal government by whatever 

name or designation, that delivers (i) services to individuals 

with mental illness, mental retardation (intellectual 

disability), or substance abuse (substance use disorders), (ii) 

services to individuals who receive day support, in-home 

support, or crisis stabilization services funded through the 

IFDDS Waiver, or (iii) residential services for individuals 

with brain injury. The person, entity, or organization shall 

include a hospital as defined in § 32.1-123 of the Code of 

Virginia, community services board, behavioral health 

authority, private provider, and any other similar or related 

person, entity, or organization. It shall not include any 

individual practitioner who holds a license issued by a health 

regulatory board of the Department of Health Professions or 

who is exempt from licensing pursuant to §§ 54.1-2901, 54.1-

3001, 54.1-3501, 54.1-3601 and 54.1-3701 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Psychosocial rehabilitation service" means a program of 

two or more consecutive hours per day provided to groups of 

adults in a nonresidential setting. Individuals must 

demonstrate a clinical need for the service arising from a 

condition due to mental, behavioral, or emotional illness that 

results in significant functional impairments in major life 

activities. This service provides education to teach the 

individual about mental illness, substance abuse, and 

appropriate medication to avoid complication and relapse and 

opportunities to learn and use independent skills and to 

enhance social and interpersonal skills within a consistent 

program structure and environment. Psychosocial 

rehabilitation includes skills training, peer support, vocational 

rehabilitation, and community resource development oriented 

toward empowerment, recovery, and competency.  

"Qualified mental health professional" or "QMHP" means a 

person who by education and experience is professionally 

qualified and registered by the Board of Counseling in 

accordance with 18VAC115-80 to provide collaborative 

mental health services for adults or children. A QMHP shall 

not engage in independent or autonomous practice. A QMHP 

shall provide such services as an employee or independent 

contractor of DBHDS or a provider licensed by DBHDS. 

"Qualified Mental Health Professional-Adult (QMHP-A)" or 

"QMHP-A" means a person in the human services field who 

is trained and experienced in providing psychiatric or mental 

health services to individuals who have a mental illness; 

including (i) a doctor of medicine or osteopathy licensed in 

Virginia; (ii) a doctor of medicine or osteopathy, specializing 

in psychiatry and licensed in Virginia; (iii) an individual with 

a master's degree in psychology from an accredited college or 

university with at least one year of clinical experience; (iv) a 

social worker: an individual with at least a bachelor's degree 

in human services or related field (social work, psychology, 

psychiatric rehabilitation, sociology, counseling, vocational 

rehabilitation, human services counseling or other degree 

deemed equivalent to those described) from an accredited 

college and with at least one year of clinical experience 

providing direct services to individuals with a diagnosis of 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 8, 2018 

1066 

mental illness; (v) a person with at least a bachelor's degree 

from an accredited college in an unrelated field that includes 

at least 15 semester credits (or equivalent) in a human 

services field and who has at least three years of clinical 

experience; (vi) a Certified Psychiatric Rehabilitation 

Provider (CPRP) registered with the United States Psychiatric 

Rehabilitation Association (USPRA); (vii) a registered nurse 

licensed in Virginia with at least one year of clinical 

experience; or (viii) any other licensed mental health 

professional who by education and experience is 

professionally qualified and registered with the Board of 

Counseling in accordance with 18VAC115-80 to provide 

collaborative mental health services for adults. A QMHP-A 

shall provide such services as an employee or independent 

contractor of DBHDS or a provider licensed by DBHDS. A 

QMHP-A may be an occupational therapist who by education 

and experience is professionally qualified and registered with 

the Board of Counseling in accordance with 18VAC115-80. 

"Qualified Mental Health Professional-Child (QMHP-C)" or 

"QMHP-C" means a person in the human services field who 

is trained and experienced in providing psychiatric or mental 

health services to children who have a mental illness. To 

qualify as a QMHP-C, the individual must have the 

designated clinical experience and must either (i) be a doctor 

of medicine or osteopathy licensed in Virginia; (ii) have a 

master's degree in psychology from an accredited college or 

university with at least one year of clinical experience with 

children and adolescents; (iii) have a social work bachelor's 

or master's degree from an accredited college or university 

with at least one year of documented clinical experience with 

children or adolescents; (iv) be a registered nurse with at least 

one year of clinical experience with children and adolescents; 

(v) have at least a bachelor's degree in a human services field 

or in special education from an accredited college with at 

least one year of clinical experience with children and 

adolescents, or (vi) be a licensed mental health professional 

who by education and experience is professionally qualified 

and registered with the Board of Counseling in accordance 

with 18VAC115-80 to provide collaborative mental health 

services for children. A QMHP-C shall provide such services 

as an employee or independent contractor of DBHDS or a 

provider licensed by DBHDS. A QMHP-C may be an 

occupational therapist who by education and experience is 

professionally qualified and registered with the Board of 

Counseling in accordance with 18VAC115-80. 

"Qualified Mental Health Professional-Eligible (QMHP-E)" 

or "QMHP-E" means a person who has: (i) at least a 

bachelor's degree in a human service field or special 

education from an accredited college without one year of 

clinical experience or (ii) at least a bachelor's degree in a 

nonrelated field and is enrolled in a master's or doctoral 

clinical program, taking the equivalent of at least three credit 

hours per semester and is employed by a provider that has a 

triennial license issued by the department and has a 

department and DMAS-approved supervision training 

program receiving supervised training in order to qualify as a 

QMHP in accordance with 18VAC115-80 and who is 

registered with the Board of Counseling. 

"Qualified Mental Retardation Developmental Disability 

Professional (QMRP)" or "QDDP" means a person who 

possesses at least one year of documented experience 

working directly with individuals who have mental 

retardation (intellectual disability) or other developmental 

disabilities a developmental disability and who possesses one 

of the following credentials: (i) a doctor of medicine or 

osteopathy licensed in Virginia, (ii) a registered nurse 

licensed in Virginia, or (iii) a licensed occupational therapist, 

or (iv) completion of at least a bachelor's degree in a human 

services field, including, but not limited to social work, 

special education, rehabilitation counseling, or psychology. 

"Qualified Paraprofessional in Mental Health (QPPMH)" or 

"QPPMH" means a person who must, at a minimum, meet at 

least one of the following criteria: (i) registered with the 

United States Psychiatric Association (USPRA) as an 

Associate Psychiatric Rehabilitation Provider (APRP); (ii) 

has an associate's degree in a related field (social work, 

psychology, psychiatric rehabilitation, sociology, counseling, 

vocational rehabilitation, human services counseling) and at 

least one year of experience providing direct services to 

individuals with a diagnosis of mental illness; or (iii) licensed 

as an  occupational therapy assistant, and supervised by a 

licensed occupational therapist, with at least one year of 

experience providing direct services to individuals with a 

diagnosis of mental illness; or (iv) has a minimum of 90 

hours classroom training and 12 weeks of experience under 

the direct personal supervision of a QMHP-Adult QMHO-A 

providing services to individuals with mental illness and at 

least one year of experience (including the 12 weeks of 

supervised experience). 

"Recovery" means a journey of healing and transformation 

enabling an individual with a mental illness to live a 

meaningful life in a community of his choice while striving to 

achieve his full potential. For individuals with substance 

abuse (substance use disorders), recovery is an incremental 

process leading to positive social change and a full return to 

biological, psychological, and social functioning. For 

individuals with mental retardation (intellectual disability), 

the concept of recovery does not apply in the sense that 

individuals with mental retardation (intellectual disability) 

will need supports throughout their entire lives although these 

may change over time. With supports, individuals with 

mental retardation (intellectual disability) are capable of 

living lives that are fulfilling and satisfying and that bring 

meaning to themselves and others whom they know. 

"Referral" means the process of directing an applicant or an 

individual to a provider or service that is designed to provide 

the assistance needed.  
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"Residential crisis stabilization service" means (i) providing 

short-term, intensive treatment to nonhospitalized individuals 

who require multidisciplinary treatment in order to stabilize 

acute psychiatric symptoms and prevent admission to a 

psychiatric inpatient unit; (ii) providing normative 

environments with a high assurance of safety and security for 

crisis intervention; and (iii) mobilizing the resources of the 

community support system, family members, and others for 

ongoing rehabilitation and recovery.  

"Residential service" means providing 24-hour support in 

conjunction with care and treatment or a training program in a 

setting other than a hospital or training center. Residential 

services provide a range of living arrangements from highly 

structured and intensively supervised to relatively 

independent requiring a modest amount of staff support and 

monitoring. Residential services include residential treatment, 

group or community homes, supervised living, residential 

crisis stabilization, community gero-psychiatric residential, 

community intermediate care facility-MR, sponsored 

residential homes, medical and social detoxification, 

neurobehavioral services, and substance abuse residential 

treatment for women and children.  

"Residential treatment service" means providing an 

intensive and highly structured mental health, substance 

abuse, or neurobehavioral service, or services for co-

occurring disorders in a residential setting, other than an 

inpatient service. 

"Respite care service" means providing for a short-term, 

time limited period of care of an individual for the purpose of 

providing relief to the individual's family, guardian, or regular 

care giver. Persons providing respite care are recruited, 

trained, and supervised by a licensed provider. These services 

may be provided in a variety of settings including residential, 

day support, in-home, or a sponsored residential home. 

"Restraint" means the use of a mechanical device, 

medication, physical intervention, or hands-on hold to 

prevent an individual receiving services from moving his 

body to engage in a behavior that places him or others at 

imminent risk. There are three kinds of restraints: 

1. Mechanical restraint means the use of a mechanical 

device that cannot be removed by the individual to restrict 

the individual's freedom of movement or functioning of a 

limb or portion of an individual's body when that behavior 

places him or others at imminent risk. 

2. Pharmacological restraint means the use of a medication 

that is administered involuntarily for the emergency 

control of an individual's behavior when that individual's 

behavior places him or others at imminent risk and the 

administered medication is not a standard treatment for the 

individual's medical or psychiatric condition. 

3. Physical restraint, also referred to as manual hold, means 

the use of a physical intervention or hands-on hold to 

prevent an individual from moving his body when that 

individual's behavior places him or others at imminent risk. 

"Restraints for behavioral purposes" means using a physical 

hold, medication, or a mechanical device to control behavior 

or involuntary restrict the freedom of movement of an 

individual in an instance when all of the following conditions 

are met: (i) there is an emergency; (ii) nonphysical 

interventions are not viable; and (iii) safety issues require an 

immediate response. 

"Restraints for medical purposes" means using a physical 

hold, medication, or mechanical device to limit the mobility 

of an individual for medical, diagnostic, or surgical purposes, 

such as routine dental care or radiological procedures and 

related post-procedure care processes, when use of the 

restraint is not the accepted clinical practice for treating the 

individual's condition. 

"Restraints for protective purposes" means using a 

mechanical device to compensate for a physical or cognitive 

deficit when the individual does not have the option to 

remove the device. The device may limit an individual's 

movement, for example, bed rails or a gerichair, and prevent 

possible harm to the individual or it may create a passive 

barrier, such as a helmet to protect the individual. 

"Restriction" means anything that limits or prevents an 

individual from freely exercising his rights and privileges.  

"Screening" means the process or procedure for determining 

whether the individual meets the minimum criteria for 

admission.  

"Seclusion" means the involuntary placement of an 

individual alone in an area secured by a door that is locked or 

held shut by a staff person, by physically blocking the door, 

or by any other physical means so that the individual cannot 

leave it.  

"Serious injury" means any injury resulting in bodily 

damage, harm, or loss that requires medical attention by a 

licensed physician, doctor of osteopathic medicine, physician 

assistant, or nurse practitioner while the individual is 

supervised by or involved in services, such as attempted 

suicides, medication overdoses, or reactions from medications 

administered or prescribed by the service. 

"Service" or "services" means (i) planned individualized 

interventions intended to reduce or ameliorate mental illness, 

mental retardation (intellectual disability), or substance abuse 

(substance use disorders) through care, treatment, training, 

habilitation, or other supports that are delivered by a provider 

to individuals with mental illness, mental retardation 

(intellectual disability), or substance abuse (substance use 

disorders). Services include outpatient services, intensive in-

home services, opioid treatment services, inpatient psychiatric 

hospitalization, community gero-psychiatric residential 

services, assertive community treatment and other clinical 
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services; day support, day treatment, partial hospitalization, 

psychosocial rehabilitation, and habilitation services; case 

management services; and supportive residential, halfway 

house, and other residential services; (ii) day support, in-

home support, and crisis stabilization services provided to 

individuals under the IFDDS Waiver; and (iii) planned 

individualized interventions intended to reduce or ameliorate 

the effects of brain injury through care, treatment, or other 

supports or in residential services for persons with brain 

injury.  

"Shall" means an obligation to act is imposed.  

"Shall not" means an obligation not to act is imposed.  

"Skills training" means systematic skill building through 

curriculum-based psychoeducational and cognitive-behavioral 

interventions. These interventions break down complex 

objectives for role performance into simpler components, 

including basic cognitive skills such as attention, to facilitate 

learning and competency. 

"Social detoxification service" means providing nonmedical 

supervised care for the individual's natural process of 

withdrawal from use of alcohol or other drugs.  

"Sponsored residential home" means a service where 

providers arrange for, supervise, and provide programmatic, 

financial, and service support to families or persons 

(sponsors) providing care or treatment in their own homes for 

individuals receiving services.  

"State board" means the State Board of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services. The board has statutory 

responsibility for adopting regulations that may be necessary 

to carry out the provisions of Title 37.2 of the Code of 

Virginia and other laws of the Commonwealth administered 

by the commissioner or the department. 

"State methadone authority" means the Virginia Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services that is 

authorized by the federal Center for Substance Abuse 

Treatment to exercise the responsibility and authority for 

governing the treatment of opiate addiction with an opioid 

drug.  

"Substance abuse ( substance use disorders)" means the use 

of drugs enumerated in the Virginia Drug Control Act 

(§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) without a compelling medical reason or 

alcohol that (i) results in psychological or physiological 

dependence or danger to self or others as a function of 

continued and compulsive use or (ii) results in mental, 

emotional, or physical impairment that causes socially 

dysfunctional or socially disordering behavior; and (iii), 

because of such substance abuse, requires care and treatment 

for the health of the individual. This care and treatment may 

include counseling, rehabilitation, or medical or psychiatric 

care.  

"Substance abuse intensive outpatient service" means 

treatment provided in a concentrated manner for two or more 

consecutive hours per day to groups of individuals in a 

nonresidential setting. This service is provided over a period 

of time for individuals requiring more intensive services than 

an outpatient service can provide. Substance abuse intensive 

outpatient services include multiple group therapy sessions 

during the week, individual and family therapy, individual 

monitoring, and case management.  

"Substance abuse residential treatment for women with 

children service" means a 24-hour residential service 

providing an intensive and highly structured substance abuse 

service for women with children who live in the same facility.  

"Supervised living residential service" means the provision 

of significant direct supervision and community support 

services to individuals living in apartments or other 

residential settings. These services differ from supportive in-

home service because the provider assumes responsibility for 

management of the physical environment of the residence, 

and staff supervision and monitoring are daily and available 

on a 24-hour basis. Services are provided based on the needs 

of the individual in areas such as food preparation, 

housekeeping, medication administration, personal hygiene, 

treatment, counseling, and budgeting.  

"Supportive in-home service" (formerly supportive 

residential) means the provision of community support 

services and other structured services to assist individuals, to 

strengthen individual skills, and that provide environmental 

supports necessary to attain and sustain independent 

community residential living. Services include drop-in or 

friendly-visitor support and counseling to more intensive 

support, monitoring, training, in-home support, respite care, 

and family support services. Services are based on the needs 

of the individual and include training and assistance. These 

services normally do not involve overnight care by the 

provider; however, due to the flexible nature of these 

services, overnight care may be provided on an occasional 

basis. 

"Therapeutic day treatment for children and adolescents" 

means a treatment program that serves (i) children and 

adolescents from birth through age 17 and under certain 

circumstances up to 21 with serious emotional disturbances, 

substance use, or co-occurring disorders or (ii) children from 

birth through age seven who are at risk of serious emotional 

disturbance, in order to combine psychotherapeutic 

interventions with education and mental health or substance 

abuse treatment. Services include: evaluation; medication 

education and management; opportunities to learn and use 

daily living skills and to enhance social and interpersonal 

skills; and individual, group, and family counseling. 

"Time out" means the involuntary removal of an individual 

by a staff person from a source of reinforcement to a 

different, open location for a specified period of time or until 
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the problem behavior has subsided to discontinue or reduce 

the frequency of problematic behavior.  

"Volunteer" means a person who, without financial 

remuneration, provides services to individuals on behalf of 

the provider.  

12VAC35-105-590. Provider staffing plan.  

A. The provider shall implement a written staffing plan that 

includes the types, roles, and numbers of employees and 

contractors that are required to provide the service. This 

staffing plan shall reflect the:  

1. Needs of the individuals served;  

2. Types of services offered;  

3. The service description; and  

4. Number of people to be served at a given time.  

B. The provider shall develop a written transition staffing 

plan for new services, added locations, and changes in 

capacity.  

C. The provider shall meet the following staffing 

requirements related to supervision.  

1. The provider shall describe how employees, volunteers, 

contractors, and student interns will be supervised in the 

staffing plan and how that supervision will be documented.  

2. Supervision of employees, volunteers, contractors, and 

student interns shall be provided by persons who have 

experience in working with individuals receiving services 

and in providing the services outlined in the service 

description.  

3. Supervision shall be appropriate to the services provided 

and the needs of the individual. Supervision shall be 

documented.  

4. Supervision shall include responsibility for approving 

assessments and individualized services plans, as 

appropriate. This responsibility may be delegated to an 

employee or contractor who meets the qualification for 

supervision as defined in this section. 

5. Supervision of mental health, substance abuse, or co-

occurring services that are of an acute or clinical nature 

such as outpatient, inpatient, intensive in-home, or day 

treatment shall be provided by a licensed mental health 

professional or a mental health professional who is license-

eligible and registered with a board of the Department of 

Health Professions. 

6. Supervision of mental health, substance abuse, or co-

occurring services that are of a supportive or maintenance 

nature, such as psychosocial rehabilitation, mental health 

supports shall be provided by a QMHP-A, a licensed 

mental health professional, or a mental health professional 

who is license-eligible and registered with a board of the 

Department of Health Professions. An individual who is a 

QMHP-E may not provide this type of supervision.  

7. Supervision of mental retardation (intellectual disability) 

services shall be provided by a person with at least one 

year of documented experience working directly with 

individuals who have mental retardation (intellectual 

disability) or other developmental disabilities and holds at 

least a bachelor's degree in a human services field such as 

sociology, social work, special education, rehabilitation 

counseling, nursing, or psychology. Experience may be 

substituted for the education requirement.  

8. Supervision of individual and family developmental 

disabilities support (IFDDS) services shall be provided by 

a person possessing at least one year of documented 

experience working directly with individuals who have 

developmental disabilities and is one of the following: a 

doctor of medicine or osteopathy licensed in Virginia; a 

registered nurse licensed in Virginia; or a person holding at 

least a bachelor's degree in a human services field such as 

sociology, social work, special education, rehabilitation 

counseling, or psychology. Experience may be substituted 

for the education requirement.  

9. Supervision of brain injury services shall be provided at 

a minimum by a clinician in the health professions field 

who is trained and experienced in providing brain injury 

services to individuals who have a brain injury diagnosis 

including: (i) a doctor of medicine or osteopathy licensed 

in Virginia; (ii) a psychiatrist who is a doctor of medicine 

or osteopathy specializing in psychiatry and licensed in 

Virginia; (iii) a psychologist who has a master's degree in 

psychology from a college or university with at least one 

year of clinical experience; (iv) a social worker who has a 

bachelor's degree in human services or a related field 

(social work, psychology, psychiatric evaluation, 

sociology, counseling, vocational rehabilitation, human 

services counseling, or other degree deemed equivalent to 

those described) from an accredited college or university 

with at least two years of clinical experience providing 

direct services to individuals with a diagnosis of brain 

injury; (v) a Certified Brain Injury Specialist; (vi) a 

registered nurse licensed in Virginia with at least one year 

of clinical experience; or (vii) any other licensed 

rehabilitation professional with one year of clinical 

experience. 

D. The provider shall employ or contract with persons with 

appropriate training, as necessary, to meet the specialized 

needs of and to ensure the safety of individuals being served 

in residential services with medical or nursing needs; speech, 

language, or hearing problems; or other needs where 

specialized training is necessary.  

E. Providers of brain injury services shall employ or contract 

with a neuropsychologist or licensed clinical psychologist 

specializing in brain injury to assist, as appropriate, with 
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initial assessments, development of individualized services 

plans, crises, staff training, and service design.  

F. Direct care staff who provide brain injury services shall 

have at least a high school diploma and two years of 

experience working with individuals with disabilities or shall 

have successfully completed an approved training curriculum 

on brain injuries within six months of employment.  

12VAC35-105-1370. Treatment team and staffing plan.  

A. Services are delivered by interdisciplinary teams.  

1. PACT and ICT teams shall include the following 

positions:  

a. Team Leader - one full time QMHP-Adult with at least 

three years experience in the provision of mental health 

services to adults with serious mental illness. The team 

leader shall oversee all aspects of team operations and 

shall routinely provide direct services to individuals in 

the community. 

b. Nurses - PACT and ICT nurses shall be full-time 

employees or contractors with the following minimum 

qualifications: A registered nurse (RN) shall have one 

year of experience in the provision of mental health 

services to adults with serious mental illness. A licensed 

practical nurse (LPN) shall have three years of 

experience in the provision of mental health services to 

adults with serious mental illness. ICT teams shall have 

at least one qualified full-time nurse. PACT teams shall 

have at least three qualified full-time nurses at least one 

of whom shall be a qualified RN.  

c. One full-time vocational specialist and one full-time 

substance abuse specialist. These staff members shall 

provide direct services to individuals in their area of 

specialty and provide leadership to other team members to 

also assist individuals with their self identified employment 

or substance abuse recovery goals.  

d. Peer specialists - one or more full-time equivalent 

QPPMH or QMHP-Adult who is or has been a recipient of 

mental health services for severe and persistent mental 

illness. The peer specialist shall be a fully integrated team 

member who provides peer support directly to individuals 

and provides leadership to other team members in 

understanding and supporting individuals' recovery goals. 

e. Program assistant - one full-time person with skills and 

abilities in medical records management shall operate and 

coordinate the management information system, maintain 

accounts and budget records for individual and program 

expenditures, and provide receptionist activities.  

f. Psychiatrist - one physician who is board certified in 

psychiatry or who is board eligible in psychiatry and is 

licensed to practice medicine in Virginia. An equivalent 

ratio to 20 minutes (.008 FTE) of psychiatric time for 

each individual served must be maintained. The 

psychiatrist shall be a fully integrated team member who 

attends team meetings and actively participates in 

developing and implementing each individual ISP. 

2. QMHP-Adult and mental health professional standards: 

a. At least 80% of the clinical employees or contractors, 

not including the program assistant or psychiatrist, shall 

meet QMHP-Adult standards and shall be QMHP-As 

qualified to provide the services described in 12VAC35-

105-1410. 

b. Mental health professionals - At least half of the 

clinical employees or contractors, not including the team 

leader or nurses and including the peer specialist if that 

person holds such a degree, shall hold a master's degree 

in a human service field. 

3. Staffing capacity: 

a. An ICT team shall have at least five full-time 

equivalent clinical employees or contractors. A PACT 

team shall have at least 10 full-time equivalent clinical 

employees or contractors. 

b. ICT and PACT teams shall include a minimum 

number of employees (counting contractors but not 

counting the psychiatrist and program assistant) to 

maintain an employee to individual ratio of at least 1:10.  

c. ICT teams may serve no more than 80 individuals. 

PACT teams may serve no more than 120 individuals.  

d. A transition plan shall be required of PACT teams that 

will allow for "start-up" when newly forming teams are 

not in full compliance with the PACT model relative to 

staffing patterns and individuals receiving services 

capacity.  

B. ICT and PACT teams shall meet daily Monday through 

Friday or at least four days per week to review and plan 

routine services and to address or prevent emergency and 

crisis situations.  

C. ICT teams shall operate a minimum of 8 hours per day, 5 

days per week and shall provide services on a case-by-case 

basis in the evenings and on weekends. PACT teams shall be 

available to individuals 24 hours per day and shall operate a 

minimum of 12 hours each weekday and 8 hours each 

weekend day and each holiday.  

D. The ICT or PACT team shall make crisis services 

directly available 24 hours a day but may arrange coverage 

through another crisis services provider if the team 

coordinates with the crisis services provider daily. The PACT 

team shall operate an after-hours on-call system and be 

available to individuals by telephone or in person.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5245; Filed December 18, 2017, 9:19 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Safety and Health Codes Board 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-85. Recording and 

Reporting Occupational Injuries and Illnesses (amending 

16VAC25-85-1904.41). 

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 15, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Regina P. Cobb, Agency Management 

Analyst Senior, Department of Labor and Industry, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-0610, FAX (804) 786-8418, or email 

regina.cobb@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In a final rule, federal Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration (OSHA) delayed the initial submission 

deadline for calendar year 2016 data on Form 300A. In 

this regulatory action, the board is adopting this final rule. 

 Note on Incorporation by Reference: Pursuant to § 2.2-4103 

of the Code of Virginia, 29 CFR Part 1904 (Recording and 

Reporting Occupational Injuries and Illnesses) is declared a 

document generally available to the public and appropriate 

for incorporation by reference. For this reason, this document 

will not be printed in the Virginia Register of Regulations. A 

copy of the document is available for inspection at the 

Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 

East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, and in the 

office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 

11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Statement of Final Agency Action:  On November 30, 2017, 

the Safety and Health Codes Board adopted federal OSHA's 

Improve Tracking of Workplace Injuries and Illnesses: Delay 

of Compliance Date, as published in 82 FR 55761 through 82 

FR 55766 on November 24, 2017, with an effective date of 

February 15, 2018.  

Federal Terms and State Equivalents: When the regulation as 

set forth in the revised final rule for Recording and Reporting 

Occupational Injuries and Illnesses is applied to the 

Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry or to 

Virginia employers, the following federal terms shall be 

considered to read as follows: 

Federal Terms VOSH Equivalent 

29 CFR VOSH Standard 

Assistant Secretary Commissioner of Labor and 

Industry 

Agency Department 

December 15, 2017 February 15, 2018  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5370; Filed December 13, 2017, 10:57 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Safety and Health Codes Board 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-175. Federal Identical 

Construction Industry Standards (amending 16VAC25-

175-1926.1427). 

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 15, 2018.  

Agency Contact: John J. Crisanti, Policy and Planning 

Manager, Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street 

Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-4300, FAX (804) 786-8418, or email 

john.crisanti@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In a final rule, federal Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration (OSHA) adopted a delay to further extend 

by one year the employer duty to ensure the competency of 

crane operators involved in construction work. Previously, 

this duty was scheduled to terminate on November 10, 

2017, but now continues for an additional year until 

November 10, 2018. OSHA also further delayed the 

deadline for crane operator certification for one year from 

November 10, 2017, to November 10, 2018. 

In this regulatory action, the board is adopting this final 

rule. 

Note on Incorporation by Reference: Pursuant to § 2.2-4103 

of the Code of Virginia, 29 CFR Part 1926 (Construction 

Industry Standards) is declared a document generally 

available to the public and appropriate for incorporation by 

reference. For this reason, the document will not be printed in 
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the Virginia Register of Regulations. A copy of the document 

is available for inspection at the Department of Labor and 

Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219, and in the office of the Registrar 

of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219. 

Statement of Final Agency Action: On November 30, 2017, 

the Safety and Health Codes Board adopted federal OSHA's 

Cranes and Derricks in Construction: Operator Certification 

Extension, as published in 82 FR 51986 through 82 FR 51998 

on November 9, 2017, with an effective date of February 15, 

2018.  

Federal Terms and State Equivalents: When the regulations as 

set forth in the revised final rule for Construction Industry 

Standards are applied to the Commissioner of the Department 

of Labor and Industry or to Virginia employers, the following 

federal terms shall be considered to read as follows: 

Federal Terms VOSH Equivalent 

29 CFR VOSH Standard 

Assistant Secretary Commissioner of Labor and 

Industry 

Agency Department 

November 10, 2017 February 15, 2018 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5374; Filed December 13, 2017, 10:58 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC65-20. Regulations of the Board 

of Funeral Directors and Embalmers (amending 

18VAC65-20-151).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

January 16, 2018 - 10:10 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

201, Henrico, VA 23233-1463 

Public Comment Deadline: March 9, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4479, FAX (804) 527-4471, or email 

fanbd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors and 

Embalmers are promulgated under the general authority of 

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

board with authority to promulgate regulations to administer 

the regulatory system. Specific regulations for continuing 

education requirements are found in § 54.1-2816.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: At a recent meeting of the International Conference 

of Funeral Service Examining Boards, it was reported that 

other states have adopted such a regulation and found it to be 

beneficial to practitioners. Attendance at board meetings or 

disciplinary hearings gives a licensee the perspective of issues 

facing funeral service and actions that may be deemed 

unethical or unprofessional. Ultimately, the additional 

education has the benefit of protecting the public health, 

safety, and welfare by encouraging practice in accordance 

with law and regulation. 

Substance: The board amended 18VAC65-20-151 by offering 

one hour of continuing education credit every other year for 

attendance at a meeting of the board or a committee of the 

board or at an informal conference or formal hearing. In the 

year the one hour of credit would be granted, it could meet 

the statutory requirement for "one hour per year covering 

compliance with federal or state laws and regulations 

governing the profession" as required in § 54.1-2816.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the amendments to the 

public is assurance that funeral service licensees are aware of 

their ethical and legal responsibilities. There are no 

disadvantages to the public. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers (Board) proposes 

to allow attendance at a meeting of the Board or a committee 

of the Board or at an informal conference or formal hearing to 

satisfy part of funeral service licensees, funeral directors and 

funeral embalmers license renewal requirements every other 

year.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Regulations of the Board of 

Funeral Directors and Embalmers require that funeral service 

licensees, funeral directors and funeral embalmers complete a 

minimum of five hours per year of continuing education 

offered by a board-approved sponsor for license renewal in 

courses that emphasize the ethics, standards of practice, 

preneed contracts and funding, or federal or state laws and 

regulations governing the profession of funeral service. One 

hour per year must cover compliance with laws and 

regulations governing the profession. The Board proposes to 
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allow that the one-hour requirement on compliance with laws 

and regulations be met once every two years by attendance at 

a meeting of the Board or a committee of the Board or at an 

informal conference or formal hearing. 

According to the Department of Health Professions, at a 

recent meeting of the International Conference of Funeral 

Service Examining Boards it was reported that other states 

have adopted such a regulation and found it to be beneficial to 

practitioners. Attendance at board meetings or disciplinary 

hearings gives a licensee the perspective of issues facing 

funeral service and actions that may be deemed unethical or 

unprofessional. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

directly applies to the 1,616 funeral service licensees, 2 

licensed embalmers, and 49 licensed funeral directors in the 

Commonwealth,1 and indirectly affects the 349 funeral homes 

in Virginia.2 All funeral homes would qualify as small 

businesses.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

does not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment does not significantly affect the use and 

value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 

does not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual 

sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment does not 

significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment does not adversely affect small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts.  

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect other entities.  

______________________ 

1Licensure data source: Department of Health Professions 

2Firm data source: Virginia Employment Commission 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Funeral Directors and Embalmers concurs with the 

analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment allows for one hour of 

continuing education (CE) credit every other year for 

attending a meeting of the board or a committee of the 

board or an informal conference or formal hearing to 

fulfill the requirement for one hour of CE covering 

compliance with federal or state laws and regulations 

governing the profession. 

18VAC65-20-151. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of an active license.  

A. Funeral service licensees, funeral directors or funeral 

embalmers shall be required to have completed a minimum of 

five hours per year of continuing education offered by a 

board-approved sponsor for licensure renewal in courses that 

emphasize the ethics, standards of practice, preneed contracts 

and funding, or federal or state laws and regulations 

governing the profession of funeral service.  

1. One hour per year shall cover compliance with laws and 

regulations governing the profession, and at least one hour 

per year shall cover preneed funeral arrangements. The 

one-hour requirement on compliance with laws and 

regulations may be met once every two years by 

attendance at a meeting of the board or at a committee of 

the board or an informal conference or formal hearing.  

2. One hour of the five hours required for annual renewal 

may be satisfied through delivery of professional services, 

without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 

health services through a local health department or a free 

clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of 

those services. One hour of continuing education may be 

credited for one hour of providing such volunteer services, 

as documented by the health department or free clinic. For 

the purposes of continuing education credit for volunteer 

service, an approved sponsor shall be a local health 

department or free clinic. 

B. Courses must be directly related to the scope of practice 

of funeral service. Courses for which the principal purpose is 

to promote, sell or offer goods, products or services to funeral 

homes are not acceptable for the purpose of credit toward 

renewal.  

C. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing education 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 

the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee 

of the continuing education requirement.  

D. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements for one renewal cycle due 
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to circumstances determined by the board to be beyond the 

control of the licensee.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5113; Filed December 19, 2017, 11:42 a.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 

and Chiropractic (adding 18VAC85-20-141).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

February 15, 2018 - 8:35 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

201, Richmond, VA 23233-1463 

Public Comment Deadline: March 9, 2018. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX 

(804) 527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Medicine the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. Section 54.1-

103 of the Code of Virginia relates to authority to issue 

licenses by endorsement. 

Purpose: The Board of Medicine has reviewed elements of 

licensure by endorsement that would provide assurance of 

competency to practice but also considered potential 

disqualifiers, including disciplinary actions by another state 

board, malpractice claims, and certain criminal convictions. 

While the board may be able to license physicians who have 

had discipline, malpractice claims, or criminal convictions, it 

may determine that such an applicant requires a full review 

and would not qualify for an expedited license by 

endorsement. The intent is to facilitate licensure for 

physicians who have a demonstrated history of competent, 

safe practice in order to protect the health and safety of 

citizens of the Commonwealth who may become their 

patients. 

Substance: The board has proposed regulations for licensure 

by endorsement for physicians who hold licenses in other 

states and who meet certain requirements established in 

regulation. To be licensed by endorsement, a doctor would 

need to have held one current, unrestricted license in another 

United States jurisdiction or in Canada for five years, actively 

practiced during that time, have all licenses in good standing, 

hold current board certification, submit a report from the 

National Practitioner Data Bank, and have no grounds for 

denial of licensure. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is the potential to 

encourage highly qualified doctors to come to Virginia for 

practice since the application process would be somewhat 

expedited by licensure by endorsement. There are no 

disadvantages to the public; there would be ample evidence of 

competency to practice safely. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to the agency. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Medicine (the Board) proposes to establish licensure 

by endorsement for physicians. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Board proposes a regulation 

for licensure by endorsement for physicians who hold 

licenses in other states and who meet certain requirements 

established in regulation. To be licensed by endorsement, a 

doctor would need to have held one current, unrestricted 

license in another U. S. jurisdiction or Canada for five years, 

actively practiced during that time, have all licenses in good 

standing, hold current board certification, submit a report 

from the National Practitioner Data Bank, and have no 

grounds for denial of licensure. The Department of Health 

Professions (DHP) reports licensure by endorsement is 

common among other states. 

Currently, the only pathway available for physicians to 

practice in Virginia is licensure by examination which 

requires submission of transcripts, exam scores, and 

documentation of postgraduate experience. For doctors 

licensed in another state, the proposed licensure by 

endorsement is less onerous than the current path to licensure 

in that it would be faster (e.g. no delays in obtaining 

transcripts), less burdensome (e.g. less documentation is 

needed), and less expensive (e.g. no need to pay fees for 

reproduction of transcripts, prior exam scores, etc.). Also, it is 

worth noting the proposed regulation provides an additional 

option for licensure, but does not mandate it. Thus, the 

proposed regulation would benefit physicians licensed in 

another state who are seeking licensure in the 

Commonwealth. Additionally, making it less onerous to 

obtain licensure may encourage more doctors to come to 

Virginia to practice.  

The Board reviewed elements of licensure by endorsement 

that would provide assurance of competency to practice, but 

also considered potential disqualifiers including disciplinary 

actions by another state board, malpractice claims, and/or 

certain criminal convictions. While the Board may be able to 

license physicians who have had discipline, malpractice 

claims, or criminal convictions, it determined that such an 

applicant requires a full review and would not qualify for an 

expedited license by endorsement. 
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The proposed regulation introduces no new costs or risks of 

unqualified applicants becoming licensed, as it requires that 

ample evidence of competency to practice safely be 

demonstrated. Thus, the proposed licensure by endorsement 

should produce net benefits. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulation 

applies to doctors of medicine, osteopathic medicine, and 

podiatry. DHP receives approximately 2,500 applications for 

licensure per year and expects 25% of those applications to be 

for licensure by endorsement under the proposed regulation. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulation will 

not affect any particular locality more than others. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

may encourage doctors licensed in other states to come to 

Virginia to practice and increase the supply of physicians. 

However, the magnitude of any such effect is not known. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No effect 

on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses. 

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed regulation does not 

directly apply to small businesses. However, if a physician 

works for a small business it may be indirectly beneficial to 

that small business as the proposed regulation allows a less 

onerous pathway to physician licensure. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed regulation does not introduce an adverse impact on 

small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts. 

Businesses. The proposed regulation does not have an 

adverse impact on businesses. 

Localities. The proposed regulation will not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed regulation will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Medicine concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget for amendments to 18VAC85-20. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulation provides for licensure by 

endorsement for physicians who hold licenses in other 

states and who meet certain requirements. To be licensed 

by endorsement, a doctor would need to have held one 

current, unrestricted license in another United States 

jurisdiction or in Canada for five years, actively practiced 

during that time, have all licenses in good standing, hold 

current board certification, submit a report from the 

National Practitioner Data Bank, and have no grounds for 

denial of licensure. 

18VAC85-20-141. Licensure by endorsement. 

To be licensed by endorsement, an applicant shall: 

1. Hold at least one current, unrestricted license in a United 

States jurisdiction or Canada for the five years immediately 

preceding application to the board; 

2. Have been engaged in active practice, defined as an 

average of 20 hours per week or 640 hours per year, for 

five years after postgraduate training and immediately 

preceding application; 

3. Verify that all licenses held in another United States 

jurisdiction or in Canada are in good standing, defined as 

not currently under investigation and if lapsed, eligible for 

renewal or reinstatement; 

4. Hold current certification by one of the following: 

a. American Board of Medical Specialties;  

b. Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists; 

c. American Board of Foot and Ankle Surgery; 

d. Fellowship of Royal College of Physicians of Canada; 

e. Fellowship of the Royal College of Surgeons of 

Canada; or 

f. College of Family Physicians of Canada; 

5. Submit a current report from the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services National Practitioner Data 

Bank; and 

6. Have no grounds for denial based on provisions of § 

54.1-2915 of the Code of Virginia or regulations of the 

board. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4970; Filed December 19, 2017, 11:45 a.m.  

BOARD OF NURSING 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-27. Regulations for Nursing 

Education Programs (amending 18VAC90-27-10, 

18VAC90-27-220, 18VAC90-27-230).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 7, 2018.  
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Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX (804) 

527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments (i) require all prelicensure registered 

nursing education programs in Virginia to have 

accreditation or candidacy status with a national 

accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Department of 

Education by three years after the effective date of the 

regulation and (ii) add the Commission for Nursing 

Education Accreditation as an approved accrediting 

organization.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Part I 

General Provisions 

18VAC90-27-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in § 54.1-3000 of the 

Code of Virginia, the following words and terms when used 

in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Accreditation" means having been accredited by an agency 

recognized by the U.S. Department of Education to include 

the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, the 

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, the 

Commission for Nursing Education Accreditation, or a 

national nursing accrediting organization recognized by the 

board. 

"Advisory committee" means a group of persons from a 

nursing education program and the health care community 

who meets regularly to advise the nursing education program 

on the quality of its graduates and the needs of the 

community. 

"Approval" means the process by which the board or a 

governmental agency in another state or foreign country 

evaluates and grants official recognition to nursing education 

programs that meet established standards not inconsistent 

with Virginia law. 

"Associate degree nursing program" means a nursing 

education program preparing for registered nurse licensure, 

offered by a Virginia college or other institution and designed 

to lead to an associate degree in nursing, provided that the 

institution is authorized to confer such degree by SCHEV. 

"Baccalaureate degree nursing program" or "prelicensure 

graduate degree program" means a nursing education 

program preparing for registered nurse licensure, offered by a 

Virginia college or university and designed to lead to a 

baccalaureate or a graduate degree with a major in nursing, 

provided that the institution is authorized to confer such 

degree by SCHEV. 

"Board" means the Board of Nursing. 

"Clinical setting" means any location in which the clinical 

practice of nursing occurs as specified in an agreement 

between the cooperating agency and the school of nursing. 

"Conditional approval" means a time-limited status that 

results when an approved nursing education program has 

failed to maintain requirements as set forth in this chapter. 

"Cooperating agency" means an agency or institution that 

enters into a written agreement to provide clinical or 

observational experiences for a nursing education program. 

"Diploma nursing program" means a nursing education 

program preparing for registered nurse licensure, offered by a 

hospital and designed to lead to a diploma in nursing, 

provided the hospital is licensed in this state. 

"Initial approval" means the status granted to a nursing 

education program that allows the admission of students. 

"National certifying organization" means an organization 

that has as one of its purposes the certification of a specialty 

in nursing based on an examination attesting to the 

knowledge of the nurse for practice in the specialty area. 

"NCLEX" means the National Council Licensure 

Examination. 

"NCSBN" means the National Council of State Boards of 

Nursing. 

"Nursing education program" means an entity offering a 

basic course of study preparing persons for licensure as 

registered nurses or as licensed practical nurses. A basic 

course of study shall include all courses required for the 

degree, diploma, or certificate. 

"Nursing faculty" means registered nurses who teach the 

practice of nursing in nursing education programs. 

"Practical nursing program" means a nursing education 

program preparing for practical nurse licensure that leads to a 

diploma or certificate in practical nursing, provided the 

school is authorized by the Virginia Department of Education 

or by an accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. 

Department of Education. 

"Preceptor" means a licensed nurse who is employed in the 

clinical setting, serves as a resource person and role model, 

and is present with the nursing student in that setting, 

providing clinical supervision. 

"Program director" means a registered nurse who holds a 

current, unrestricted license in Virginia or a multistate 

licensure privilege and who has been designated by the 

controlling authority to administer the nursing education 

program. 
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"Recommendation" means a guide to actions that will assist 

an institution to improve and develop its nursing education 

program. 

"Requirement" means a mandatory condition that a nursing 

education program must meet to be approved or maintain 

approval. 

"SCHEV" means the State Council of Higher Education for 

Virginia. 

"Site visit" means a focused onsite review of the nursing 

program by board staff, usually completed within one day for 

the purpose of evaluating program components such as the 

physical location (skills lab, classrooms, learning resources) 

for obtaining initial program approval, in response to a 

complaint, compliance with NCLEX plan of correction, 

change of location, or verification of noncompliance with this 

chapter. 

"Survey visit" means a comprehensive onsite review of the 

nursing program by board staff, usually completed within two 

days (depending on the number of programs or campuses 

being reviewed) for the purpose of obtaining and maintaining 

full program approval. The survey visit includes the 

program's completion of a self-evaluation report prior to the 

visit, as well as a board staff review of all program resources, 

including skills lab, classrooms, learning resources, and 

clinical facilities, and other components to ensure compliance 

with this chapter. Meetings with faculty, administration, 

students, and clinical facility staff will occur. 

18VAC90-27-220. Maintaining an approved nursing 

education program. 

A. The program director of each nursing education program 

shall submit an annual report to the board.  

B. Each Prior to [ (insert three years from the effective date 

of this regulation) February 7, 2021 ], each registered nursing 

education program shall be reevaluated as follows:  

1. Every registered nursing education program that has not 

achieved accreditation as defined in 18VAC90-27-10 shall 

be reevaluated at least every five years by submission of a 

comprehensive self-evaluation report based on Parts II 

(18VAC90-27-30 et seq.) and III (18VAC90-27-150 et 

seq.) of this chapter and a survey visit by a representative 

or representatives of the board on dates mutually 

acceptable to the institution and the board. 

2. A registered nursing education program that has 

maintained accreditation as defined in 18VAC90-27-10 

shall be reevaluated at least every 10 years by submission 

of a comprehensive self-evaluation report as provided by 

the board. As evidence of compliance with specific 

requirements of this chapter, the board may accept the 

most recent study report, site visit report, and final decision 

letter from the accrediting body. The board may require 

additional information or a site visit to ensure compliance 

with requirements of this chapter. If accreditation has been 

withdrawn or a program has been placed on probation by 

the accrediting body, the board may require a survey visit. 

If a program fails to submit the documentation required in 

this subdivision, the requirements of subdivision 1 of this 

subsection shall apply. 

After [ (insert three years from the effective date of this 

regulation) February 7, 2021 ], each registered nursing 

education program shall have accreditation or candidacy 

status and shall be reevaluated at least every 10 years by 

submission of a comprehensive self-evaluation report as 

provided by the board. As evidence of compliance with 

specific requirements of this chapter, the board may accept 

the most recent study report, site visit report, and final 

decision letter from the accrediting body. The board may 

require additional information or a site visit to ensure 

compliance with requirements of this chapter. If a program 

has been placed on probation by the accrediting body, the 

board may require a survey visit. If a program fails to 

submit the documentation required in this subdivision, the 

requirements of subdivision 1 of this subsection shall 

apply. 

C. Each practical nursing education program shall be 

reevaluated as follows: 

1. Every practical nursing education program that has not 

achieved accreditation as defined in 18VAC90-27-10 shall 

be reevaluated at least every five years by submission of a 

comprehensive self-evaluation report based on Parts II 

(18VAC90-27-30 et seq.) and III (18VAC90-27-150 et 

seq.) of this chapter and a survey visit by a representative 

or representatives of the board on dates mutually 

acceptable to the institution and the board. 

2. A practical nursing education program that has 

maintained accreditation as defined in 18VAC90-27-10 

shall be reevaluated at least every 10 years by submission 

of a comprehensive self-evaluation report as provided by 

the board. As evidence of compliance with specific 

requirements of this chapter, the board may accept the 

most recent study report, site visit report, and final decision 

letter from the accrediting body. The board may require 

additional information or a site visit to ensure compliance 

with requirements of this chapter. If accreditation has been 

withdrawn or a program has been placed on probation by 

the accrediting body, the board may require a survey visit. 

If a program fails to submit the documentation required in 

this subdivision, the requirements of subdivision 1 of this 

subsection shall apply. 

D. Interim site or survey visits shall be made to the 

institution by board representatives at any time within the 

initial approval period or full approval period as deemed 

necessary by the board. Prior to the conduct of such a visit, 

the program shall submit the fee for a survey visit as required 

by 18VAC90-27-20. 
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D. E. Failure to submit the required fee for a survey or site 

visit may subject an education program to board action or 

withdrawal of board approval. 

18VAC90-27-230. Continuing and withdrawal of full 

approval. 

A. The board shall receive and review the self-evaluation 

and survey reports required in 18VAC90-27-220 B or C or 

complaints relating to program compliance. Following 

review, the board may continue the program on full approval 

so long as it remains in compliance with all requirements in 

Parts II (18VAC90-27-30 et seq.), III (18VAC90-27-150 et 

seq.), and IV (18VAC90-27-210 et seq.) of this chapter. 

B. If the board determines that a program is not maintaining 

the requirements of Parts II, III, and IV of this chapter or for 

causes enumerated in 18VAC90-27-140, the board may: 

1. Place the program on conditional approval with terms 

and conditions to be met within the timeframe specified by 

the board; or  

2. Withdraw program approval. 

C. If the board either places a program on conditional 

approval with terms and conditions to be met within a 

timeframe specified by the board or withdraws approval, the 

following shall apply: 

1. No further action will be required of the board unless the 

program requests an informal conference pursuant to §§ 2.2-

4019 and 54.1-109 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. If withdrawal or continued program approval with terms 

and conditions is recommended following the informal 

conference, the recommendation shall be presented to the 

board or a panel thereof for review and action. 

3. If the recommendation of the informal conference 

committee is accepted by the board or a panel thereof, the 

decision shall be reflected in a board order and no further 

action by the board is required unless the program requests a 

formal hearing within 30 days from entry of the order in 

accordance with § 2.2-4020 of the Code of Virginia. 

4. If the decision of the board or a panel thereof following a 

formal hearing is to withdraw approval or continue on 

conditional approval with terms or conditions, the program 

shall be advised of the right to appeal the decision to the 

appropriate circuit court in accordance with § 2.2-4026 of the 

Code of Virginia and Part 2A of the Rules of the Supreme 

Court of Virginia. 

D. If a program approval is withdrawn, no additional 

students may be admitted into the program effective upon the 

date of entry of the board's final order to withdraw approval. 

Further, the program shall submit quarterly reports until the 

program is closed, and the program must comply with board 

requirements regarding closure of a program as stated in 

18VAC90-27-240. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4925; Filed December 19, 2017, 11:48 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physical Therapy (amending 18VAC112-

20-10, 18VAC112-20-65, 18VAC112-20-131, 18VAC112-

20-135, 18VAC112-20-136).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3474 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

Effective Date: February 7, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4674, FAX (804) 

527-4413, or email ptboard@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments replace references to an obsolete 

assessment tool provided by the Federation of State 

Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) with references to 

the current assessment tool offered by FSBPT titled 

"oPTion." The amendments require achievement of Level 2 

or higher on the oPTion assessment tool to (i) use 

participation in the assessment tool for continuing 

education credit or (ii) replace hours in a supervised 

traineeship for applicants for licensure by endorsement, 

reinstatement of license, or reactivation of license if the 

physical therapist has not been engaged in active practice 

for the two years immediately preceding application for an 

active license. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC112-20-10. Definitions.  

In addition to the words and terms defined in § 54.1-3473 of 

the Code of Virginia, the following words and terms when 

used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Active practice" means a minimum of 160 hours of 

professional practice as a physical therapist or physical 

therapist assistant within the 24-month period immediately 

preceding renewal. Active practice may include supervisory, 

administrative, educational or consultative activities or 

responsibilities for the delivery of such services.  

"Approved program" means an educational program 

accredited by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical 

Therapy Education of the American Physical Therapy 

Association.  

"Assessment tool" means oPTion or any other self-directed 

assessment tool approved by FSBPT. 
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"CLEP" means the College Level Examination Program.  

"Contact hour" means 60 minutes of time spent in 

continuing learning activity exclusive of breaks, meals or 

vendor exhibits.  

"Direct supervision" means a physical therapist or a physical 

therapist assistant is physically present and immediately 

available and is fully responsible for the physical therapy 

tasks or activities being performed.  

"Discharge" means the discontinuation of interventions in an 

episode of care that have been provided in an unbroken 

sequence in a single practice setting and related to the 

physical therapy interventions for a given condition or 

problem. 

"Evaluation" means a process in which the physical therapist 

makes clinical judgments based on data gathered during an 

examination or screening in order to plan and implement a 

treatment intervention, provide preventive care, reduce risks 

of injury and impairment, or provide for consultation. 

"FCCPT" means the Foreign Credentialing Commission on 

Physical Therapy.  

"FSBPT" means the Federation of State Boards of Physical 

Therapy.  

"General supervision" means a physical therapist shall be 

available for consultation.  

"National examination" means the examinations developed 

and administered by the Federation of State Boards of 

Physical Therapy and approved by the board for licensure as 

a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant.  

"PRT" means the Practice Review Tool for competency 

assessment developed and administered by FSBPT. 

"Reevaluation" means a process in which the physical 

therapist makes clinical judgments based on data gathered 

during an examination or screening in order to determine a 

patient's response to the treatment plan and care provided. 

"Support personnel" means a person who is performing 

designated routine tasks related to physical therapy under the 

direction and supervision of a physical therapist or physical 

therapist assistant within the scope of this chapter.  

"TOEFL" means the Test of English as a Foreign Language.  

"Trainee" means a person seeking licensure as a physical 

therapist or physical therapist assistant who is undergoing a 

traineeship.  

"Traineeship" means a period of active clinical practice 

during which an applicant for licensure as a physical therapist 

or physical therapist assistant works under the direct 

supervision of a physical therapist approved by the board.  

"TSE" means the Test of Spoken English.  

"Type 1" means continuing learning activities offered by an 

approved organization as specified in 18VAC112-20-131.  

"Type 2" means continuing learning activities which may or 

may not be offered by an approved organization but shall be 

activities considered by the learner to be beneficial to practice 

or to continuing learning.  

18VAC112-20-65. Requirements for licensure by 

endorsement.  

A. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who 

holds a current, unrestricted license in the United States, its 

territories, the District of Columbia, or Canada may be 

licensed in Virginia by endorsement.  

B. An applicant for licensure by endorsement shall submit:  

1. Documentation of having met the educational 

requirements prescribed in 18VAC112-20-40 or 

18VAC112-20-50. In lieu of meeting such requirements, 

an applicant may provide evidence of clinical practice 

consisting of at least 2,500 hours of patient care during the 

five years immediately preceding application for licensure 

in Virginia with a current, unrestricted license issued by 

another U.S. jurisdiction;  

2. The required application, fees, and credentials to the 

board;  

3. A current report from the Healthcare Integrity and 

Protection Data Bank (HIPDB); 

4. Evidence of completion of 15 hours of continuing 

education for each year in which the applicant held a 

license in another U.S. jurisdiction, or 60 hours obtained 

within the past four years;  

5. Documentation of passage of an examination equivalent 

to the Virginia examination at the time of initial licensure 

or documentation of passage of an examination required by 

another state at the time of initial licensure in that state; 

and  

6. Documentation of active practice in physical therapy in 

another U.S. jurisdiction for at least 320 hours within the 

four years immediately preceding his application for 

licensure. A physical therapist who does not meet the 

active practice requirement shall: 

a. Successfully complete 320 hours in a traineeship in 

accordance with requirements in 18VAC112-20-140; or 

b. Document that he meets the standard of the PRT 

attained at least Level 2 on the FSBPT assessment tool 

within the two years preceding application for licensure 

in Virginia and successfully complete 160 hours in a 

traineeship in accordance with the requirements in 

18VAC112-20-140. 

C. A physical therapist assistant seeking licensure by 

endorsement who has not actively practiced physical therapy 
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for at least 320 hours within the four years immediately 

preceding his application for licensure shall successfully 

complete 320 hours in a traineeship in accordance with the 

requirements in 18VAC112-20-140. 

18VAC112-20-131. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of an active license.  

A. In order to renew an active license biennially, a physical 

therapist or a physical therapist assistant shall complete at 

least 30 contact hours of continuing learning activities within 

the two years immediately preceding renewal. In choosing 

continuing learning activities or courses, the licensee shall 

consider the following: (i) the need to promote ethical 

practice, (ii) an appropriate standard of care, (iii) patient 

safety, (iv) application of new medical technology, (v) 

appropriate communication with patients, and (vi) knowledge 

of the changing health care system.  

B. To document the required hours, the licensee shall 

maintain the Continued Competency Activity and Assessment 

Form that is provided by the board and that shall indicate 

completion of the following:  

1. A minimum of 20 of the contact hours required for 

physical therapists and 15 of the contact hours required for 

physical therapist assistants shall be in Type 1 courses. For 

the purpose of this section, "course" means an organized 

program of study, classroom experience or similar 

educational experience that is directly related to the clinical 

practice of physical therapy and approved or provided by 

one of the following organizations or any of its 

components:  

a. The Virginia Physical Therapy Association;  

b. The American Physical Therapy Association;  

c. Local, state or federal government agencies;  

d. Regionally accredited colleges and universities;  

e. Health care organizations accredited by a national 

accrediting organization granted authority by the Centers 

for Medicare and Medicaid Services to assure 

compliance with Medicare conditions of participation;  

f. The American Medical Association - Category I 

Continuing Medical Education course; and  

g. The National Athletic Trainers' Association.  

2. No more than 10 of the contact hours required for 

physical therapists and 15 of the contact hours required for 

physical therapist assistants may be Type 2 activities or 

courses, which may or may not be offered by an approved 

organization but which shall be related to the clinical 

practice of physical therapy. Type 2 activities may include 

but not be limited to consultation with colleagues, 

independent study, and research or writing on subjects 

related to practice. Up to two of the Type 2 continuing 

education hours may be satisfied through delivery of 

physical therapy services, without compensation, to low-

income individuals receiving services through a local 

health department or a free clinic organized in whole or 

primarily for the delivery of health services.  

3. Documentation of specialty certification by the 

American Physical Therapy Association may be provided 

as evidence of completion of continuing competency 

requirements for the biennium in which initial certification 

or recertification occurs.  

4. Documentation of graduation from a transitional doctor 

of physical therapy program may be provided as evidence 

of completion of continuing competency requirements for 

the biennium in which the physical therapist was awarded 

the degree. 

5. A physical therapist who can document that he has taken 

the PRT attained at least Level 2 on the FSBPT assessment 

tool may receive 10 five hours of Type 1 credit for the 

biennium in which the assessment tool was taken. A 

physical therapist who can document that he has met the 

standard of the PRT attained at least Level 3 or 4 on the 

FSBPT assessment tool may receive 20 10 hours of Type 1 

credit for the biennium in which the assessment tool was 

taken. Continuing competency credit shall only be granted 

for the FSBPT assessment tool once every four years. 

C. A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing 

competency requirements for the first biennial renewal 

following the date of initial licensure by examination in 

Virginia.  

D. The licensee shall retain his records on the completed 

form with all supporting documentation for a period of four 

years following the renewal of an active license.  

E. The licensees selected in a random audit conducted by the 

board shall provide the completed Continued Competency 

Activity and Assessment Form and all supporting 

documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the 

audit.  

F. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 

the licensee to disciplinary action by the board.  

G. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 

continuing competency requirements for up to one year for 

good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 

prior to the renewal date.  

H. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 

licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters.  

18VAC112-20-135. Inactive license.  

A. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who 

holds a current, unrestricted license in Virginia shall, upon a 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 8, 2018 

1081 

request on the renewal application and submission of the 

required renewal fee, be issued an inactive license.  

1. The holder of an inactive license shall not be required to 

meet active practice requirements.  

2. An inactive licensee shall not be entitled to perform any 

act requiring a license to practice physical therapy in 

Virginia.  

B. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who 

holds an inactive license may reactivate his license by:  

1. Paying the difference between the renewal fee for an 

inactive license and that of an active license for the 

biennium in which the license is being reactivated;  

2. Providing proof of 320 active practice hours in another 

jurisdiction within the four years immediately preceding 

application for reactivation.  

a. If the inactive physical therapist licensee does not meet 

the requirement for active practice, the license may be 

reactivated by completing 320 hours in a traineeship that 

meets the requirements prescribed in 18VAC112-20-140 

or documenting that he has met the standard of the PRT 

attained at least Level 2 on the FSBPT assessment tool 

within the two years preceding application for 

reactivation of licensure in Virginia and successfully 

completing 160 hours in a traineeship in accordance with 

requirements in 18VAC112-20-140. 

b. If the inactive physical therapist assistant licensee does 

not meet the requirement for active practice, the license 

may be reactivated by completing 320 hours in a 

traineeship that meets the requirements prescribed in 

18VAC112-20-140; and  

3. Completing the number of continuing competency hours 

required for the period in which the license has been 

inactive, not to exceed four years.  

18VAC112-20-136. Reinstatement requirements.  

A. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant whose 

Virginia license is lapsed for two years or less may reinstate 

his license by payment of the renewal and late fees as set 

forth in 18VAC112-20-27 and completion of continued 

competency requirements as set forth in 18VAC112-20-131. 

B. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant whose 

Virginia license is lapsed for more than two years and who is 

seeking reinstatement shall: 

1. Apply for reinstatement and pay the fee specified in 

18VAC112-20-27;  

2. Complete the number of continuing competency hours 

required for the period in which the license has been 

lapsed, not to exceed four years; and 

3. Have actively practiced physical therapy in another 

jurisdiction for at least 320 hours within the four years 

immediately preceding applying for reinstatement.  

a. If a physical therapist licensee does not meet the 

requirement for active practice, the license may be 

reinstated by completing 320 hours in a traineeship that 

meets the requirements prescribed in 18VAC112-20-140 

or documenting that he has met the standard of the PRT 

attained at least Level 2 on the FSBPT assessment tool 

within the two years preceding application for licensure 

in Virginia and successfully completing 160 hours in a 

traineeship in accordance with requirements in 

18VAC112-20-140. 

b. If a physical therapist assistant licensee does not meet 

the requirement for active practice, the license may be 

reinstated by completing 320 hours in a traineeship that 

meets the requirements prescribed in 18VAC112-20-140. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4983; Filed December 19, 2017, 11:51 a.m.  

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-70. Regulations Governing 

the Registration of Peer Recovery Specialists (adding 

18VAC115-70-10 through 18VAC115-70-90).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: December 18, 2017, through June 17, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 

which Virginia statutory law requires that a regulation be 

effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, and the 

regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 

A 4 of the Code of Virginia. Chapters 418 and 426 of the 

2017 Acts of Assembly authorize the registration of peer 

recovery specialists by the Board of Counseling and direct 

the board to promulgate regulations to implement the 

provisions of the acts within 280 days of enactment.   

The emergency regulations establish the qualifications for 

registration, continuing education requirements, standards 

of practice, and fees for registration as a peer recovery 

specialist.  
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CHAPTER 70 

REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE REGISTRATION OF 

PEER RECOVERY SPECIALISTS 

Part I 

General Provisions 

18VAC115-70-10. Definitions. 

"Applicant" means a person applying for registration as a 

peer recovery specialist. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Counseling. 

"DBHDS" means the Virginia Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services. 

"Mental health professional" means a person who by 

education and experience is professionally qualified and 

licensed in Virginia to provide counseling interventions 

designed to facilitate an individual's achievement of human 

development goals and remediate mental, emotional, or 

behavioral disorders and associated distresses that interfere 

with mental health and development. 

"Peer recovery specialist" means a person who by education 

and experience is professionally qualified in accordance with 

12VAC35-250 to provide collaborative services to assist 

individuals in achieving sustained recovery from the effects 

of mental illness, addiction, or both.  

"Registered peer recovery specialist" or "registrant" means a 

person who by education and experience is professionally 

qualified in accordance with 12VAC35-250 and registered by 

the board to provide collaborative services to assist 

individuals in achieving sustained recovery from the effects 

of mental illness, addiction, or both. A registered peer 

recovery specialist shall provide such services as an employee 

or independent contractor of DBHDS, a provider licensed by 

the DBHDS, a practitioner licensed by or holding a permit 

issued from the Department of Health Professions, or a 

facility licensed by the Department of Health. 

18VAC115-70-20. Fees required by the board. 

A. The board has established the following fees applicable 

to the registration of peer recovery specialists:  

Registration $30 

Renewal of registration $30 

Late renewal $20 

Reinstatement of a lapsed registration $60 

Duplicate certificate of registration $10 

Returned check $35 

Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension 

$500 

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board 

shall not be refundable. 

18VAC115-70-30. Current name and address. 

Each registrant shall furnish the board his current name and 

address of record. Any change of name or address of record 

or public address if different from the address of record, shall 

be furnished to the board within 60 days of such change. It 

shall be the duty and responsibility of each registrant to 

inform the board of his current address.  

Part II 

Requirements for Registration and Renewal 

18VAC115-70-40. Requirements for registration as a peer 

recovery specialist. 

A. An applicant for registration shall submit a completed 

application on forms provided by the board and any 

applicable fee as prescribed in 18VAC115-70-20.  

B. An applicant for registration as a peer recovery specialist 

shall provide evidence of meeting all requirements for peer 

recovery specialists set by DBHDS in 12VAC35-250-30. 

18VAC115-70-50. Annual renewal of registration. 

All registrants shall renew their registration on or before 

June 30 of each year. Along with the renewal form, the 

registrant shall submit the renewal fee as prescribed in 

18VAC115-70-20. 

18VAC115-70-60. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of peer recovery specialist registration. 

A. Registered peer recovery specialists shall be required to 

have completed a minimum of eight contact hours of 

continuing education for each annual registration renewal. A 

minimum of one of these hours shall be in courses that 

emphasize ethics.  

Registered peer recovery specialists shall complete 

continuing competency activities that focus on increasing 

knowledge or skills in one or more of the following areas: 

1. Current body of mental health/substance abuse 

knowledge; 

2. Promoting services, supports, and strategies for the 

recovery process; 

3. Crisis intervention; 

4. Values for role of peer recovery specialist; 

5. Basic principles related to health and wellness; 

6. Stage appropriate pathways in recovery support; 

7. Ethics and boundaries; 

8. Cultural sensitivity and practice; 

9. Trauma and impact on recovery; 
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10. Community resources; or 

11. Delivering peer services within agencies and 

organizations.  

B. The following organizations, associations, or institutions 

are approved by the board to provide continuing education: 

1. Federal, state, or local governmental agencies, public 

school systems, or licensed health facilities. 

2. The American Association for Marriage and Family 

Therapy and its state affiliates. 

3. The American Association of State Counseling Boards. 

4. The American Counseling Association and its state and 

local affiliates. 

5. The American Psychological Association and its state 

affiliates. 

6. The Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor 

Certification.  

7. NAADAC, the Association for Addiction Professionals 

and its state and local affiliates. 

8. National Association of Social Workers. 

9. National Board for Certified Counselors. 

10. A national behavioral health organization or 

certification body recognized by the board. 

11. Individuals or organizations that have been approved as 

continuing competency sponsors by the American 

Association of State Counseling Boards or a counseling 

board in another state.  

12. An agency or organization approved by DBHDS.  

C. Attestation of completion of continuing education is not 

required for the first renewal following initial registration in 

Virginia.  

D. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing education 

requirements upon written request from the registrant prior to 

the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the 

registrant of the continuing education requirement.  

E. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirement due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the registrant such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters upon written request from the registrant prior to the 

renewal date.  

F. All registrants shall maintain original documentation of 

official transcripts showing credit hours earned or certificates 

of participation for a period of three years following renewal.  

G. The board may conduct an audit of registrants to verify 

compliance with the requirement for a renewal period. Upon 

request, a registrant shall provide documentation as follows: 

1. Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or 

2. Certificates of participation.  

H. Continuing education hours required by a disciplinary 

order shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements. 

Part III 

 Standards of Practice; Disciplinary Actions; Reinstatement 

18VAC115-70-70. Standards of practice. 

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare 

and the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide 

in determining the appropriate professional conduct of all 

persons whose activities are regulated by the board.  

B. Persons registered by the board shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is the best interest of the public 

and does not endanger the public health, safety, or welfare.  

2. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 

necessary. 

3. Practice only within the competency area for which they 

are qualified by training or experience. 

4. Report to the board known or suspected violations of the 

laws and regulations governing the practice of registered 

peer recovery specialists.  

5. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for 

professional services and make appropriate consultations 

and referrals based on the best interest of clients.  

6. Stay abreast of new developments, concepts, and 

practices that are necessary to providing appropriate 

services.  

7. Document the need for and steps taken to terminate 

services when it becomes clear that the client is not 

benefiting from the relationship.  

C. In regard to confidentiality and client records, persons 

registered by the board shall: 

1. Not willfully or negligently breach the confidentiality 

between a practitioner and a client. A breach of 

confidentiality that is required or permitted by applicable 

law or beyond the control of the practitioner shall not be 

considered negligent or willful.  

2. Disclose client records to others only in accordance with 

applicable law.  

3. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees 

of the requirements of confidentiality, and provide for the 
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destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 

that ensures client confidentiality.  

4. Maintain timely, accurate, legible, and complete written 

or electronic records for each client, to include dates of 

service and identifying information to substantiate 

treatment plan, client progress, and termination.  

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons registered by the 

board shall: 

1. Not engage in dual relationships with clients or former 

clients that are harmful to the client's well-being, that 

would impair the practitioner's objectivity and professional 

judgment, or that would increase the risk of client 

exploitation. This prohibition includes such activities as 

providing services to close friends, former sexual partners, 

employees, or relatives or engaging in business 

relationships with clients.  

2. Not engage in sexual intimacies or romantic 

relationships with current clients. For at least five years 

after cessation or termination of professional services, 

practitioners shall not engage in sexual intimacies or 

romantic relationships with a client or those included in 

collateral therapeutic services. Because sexual or romantic 

relationships are potentially exploitative, the practitioner 

shall bear the burden of demonstrating that there has been 

no exploitation. A client's consent to, initiation of, or 

participation in sexual behavior or involvement with a 

practitioner does not change the nature of the conduct nor 

lift the regulatory prohibition. 

3. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

obligations, responsibilities, and loyalties to third parties.  

E. Upon learning of evidence that indicates a reasonable 

probability that another mental health service provider, as 

defined in § 54.1-2400.1 of the Code of Virginia, is or may be 

guilty of a violation of standards of conduct as defined in 

statute or regulation, persons registered by the board shall 

advise their clients of the client's right to report such 

misconduct to the Department of Health Professions in 

accordance with § 54.1-2400.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC115-70-80. Grounds for revocation, suspension, 

restriction, or denial of registration. 

In accordance with subdivision 7 of § 54.1-2400 of the Code 

of Virginia, the board may revoke, suspend, restrict, or 

decline to issue or renew a registration based upon the 

following conduct: 

1. Conviction of a felony or of a misdemeanor involving 

moral turpitude, or violation of or aid to another in 

violating any provision of Chapter 35 (§ 54.1-3500 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, any other statute 

applicable to the practice of registered peer recovery 

specialists, or any provision of this chapter; 

2. Procuring or maintaining a registration, including 

submission of an application or applicable board forms, by 

fraud or misrepresentation; 

3. Conducting one's practice in such a manner so as to 

make it a danger to the health and welfare of one's clients 

or to the public, or if one is unable to practice with 

reasonable skill and safety to clients by reason of illness or 

abusive use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or any 

other type of material or as a result of any mental or 

physical condition; 

4. Violating or abetting another person in the violation of 

any provision of any statute applicable to the practice of 

peer recovery specialists or qualified mental health 

professionals or any regulation in this chapter; 

5. Performance of functions outside the board-registered 

area of competency;  

6. Performance of an act likely to deceive, defraud, or 

harm the public; 

7. Intentional or negligent conduct that causes or is likely 

to cause injury to a client; 

8. Action taken against a health or mental health license, 

certification, registration, or application in Virginia or 

other jurisdiction;  

9. Failure to cooperate with an employee of the 

Department of Health Professions in the conduct of an 

investigation; or 

10. Failure to report evidence of child abuse or neglect as 

required in § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia or elder 

abuse or neglect as required in § 63.2-1606 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

18VAC115-70-90. Late renewal and reinstatement. 

A. A person whose registration has expired may renew it 

within one year after its expiration date by paying the late 

renewal fee and the registration fee as prescribed in 

18VAC115-70-20 for the year in which the registration was 

not renewed and by providing documentation of completion 

of continuing education as prescribed in 18VAC115-70-60.  

B. A person who fails to renew registration after one year or 

more shall: 

1. Apply for reinstatement;  

2. Pay the reinstatement fee for a lapsed registration; and 

3. Submit evidence of current certification as a peer 

recovery specialist as prescribed by DBHDS in 12VAC35-

250-30. 

C. A person whose registration has been suspended or who 

has been denied reinstatement by board order, having met the 

terms of the order, may submit a new application and fee for 

reinstatement of registration as prescribed in 18VAC115-70-
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20.  Any person whose registration has been revoked by the 

board may, three years subsequent to such board action, 

submit a new application and fee for reinstatement of 

registration as prescribed in 18VAC115-70-20. The board in 

its discretion may, after an administrative proceeding, grant 

the reinstatement sought in this subsection.   

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The form is also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC115-70) 

Registered Peer Recovery Specialists Application and 

Instructions (rev. 11/2017) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5240; Filed December 18, 2017, 8:06 a.m.  

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-80. Regulations Governing 

the Registration of Qualified Mental Health Professionals 

(adding 18VAC115-80-10 through 18VAC115-80-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: December 18, 2017, through June 17, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 

which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or 

federal law or federal regulation requires that a regulation 

be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, and the 

regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 

A 4 of the Code of Virginia. Chapters 418 and 426 of the 

2017 Acts of Assembly authorize the registration of 

qualified mental health professionals by the Board of 

Counseling and direct the board to promulgate regulations 

to implement the provisions of the acts within 280 days of 

enactment.  

The regulations establish the qualifications for 

registration, continuing education requirements, standards 

of practice, and fees for registration as a qualified mental 

health professional. 

CHAPTER 80 

REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE REGISTRATION OF 

QUALIFIED MENTAL HEALTH PROFESSIONALS 

Part I 

General Provisions 

18VAC115-80-10. Definitions. 

"Accredited" means a school that is listed as accredited on 

the U.S. Department of Education College Accreditation 

database found on the U.S. Department of Education website.  

"Applicant" means a person applying for registration as a 

qualified mental health professional. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Counseling. 

"Collaborative mental health services" means those 

rehabilitative supportive services that are provided by a 

qualified mental health professional, as set forth in a service 

plan under the direction of and in collaboration with either a 

mental health professional licensed in Virginia or a person 

under supervision that has been approved by the Board of 

Counseling, Board of Psychology, or Board of Social Work 

as a prerequisite for licensure. 

"DBHDS" means the Virginia Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services. 

"Face-to-face" means the physical presence of the 

individuals involved in the supervisory relationship or the use 

of technology that provides real-time, visual, and audio 

contact among the individuals involved.  

"Mental health professional" means a person who by 

education and experience is professionally qualified and 

licensed in Virginia to provide counseling interventions 

designed to facilitate an individual's achievement of human 

development goals and remediate mental, emotional, or 

behavioral disorders and associated distresses that interfere 

with mental health and development. 

"Qualified mental health professional" or "QMHP" means a 

person who by education and experience is professionally 

qualified and registered by the board to provide collaborative 

mental health services for adults or children. A QMHP shall 

not engage in independent or autonomous practice. A QMHP 

shall provide such services as an employee or independent 

contractor of the DBHDS or a provider licensed by the 

DBHDS.  

"Qualified mental health professional-adult" or "QMHP-A" 

means a registered QMHP who is trained and experienced in 

providing mental health services to adults who have a mental 

illness. A QMHP-A shall provide such services as an 

employee or independent contractor of the DBHDS or a 

provider licensed by the DBHDS. 

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-C" 

means a registered QMHP who is trained and experienced in 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=78627005240~1N.pdf&typ=40&actno=005240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=78627005240~1N.pdf&typ=40&actno=005240&mime=application/pdf
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providing mental health services to children or adolescents 

who have a mental illness. A QMHP-C shall provide such 

services as an employee or independent contractor of the 

DBHDS or a provider licensed by the DBHDS. 

"Registrant" means a QMHP registered with the board. 

18VAC115-80-20. Fees required by the board. 

A. The board has established the following fees applicable 

to the registration of qualified mental health professionals:  

Registration $50 

Renewal of registration $30 

Late renewal $20 

Reinstatement of a lapsed registration $75 

Duplicate certificate of registration $10 

Returned check $35 

Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension $500 

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board 

shall not be refundable. 

18VAC115-80-30. Current name and address. 

Each registrant shall furnish the board his current name and 

address of record. Any change of name or address of record 

or public address if different from the address of record, shall 

be furnished to the board within 60 days of such change. It 

shall be the duty and responsibility of each registrant to 

inform the board of his current address. 

Part II 

Requirements for Registration 

18VAC115-80-40. Requirements for registration as a 

qualified mental health professional-adult. 

A. An applicant for registration shall submit a completed 

application on forms provided by the board and any 

applicable fee as prescribed in 18VAC115-80-20.  

B. An applicant for registration as a QMHP-A shall provide 

evidence of:  

1. A master's degree in psychology, social work, 

counseling, substance abuse, or marriage and family 

therapy from an accredited college or university with an 

internship or practicum of at least 500 hours of experience 

with persons who have mental illness; 

2. A master's or bachelor's degree in human services or a 

related field from an accredited college with no less than 

1,500 hours of supervised experience to be obtained within 

a five-year period immediately preceding application for 

registration and as specified in subsection C of this section; 

3. A bachelor's degree from an accredited college in an 

unrelated field that includes at least 15 semester credits or 

22 quarter hours in a human services field and with no less 

than 3,000 hours of supervised experience to be obtained 

within a five-year period immediately preceding 

application for registration and as specified in subsection C 

of this section; 

4. A registered nurse licensed in Virginia with no less than 

1,500 hours of supervised experience to be obtained within 

a five-year period immediately preceding application for 

registration and as specified in subsection C of this section; 

or 

5. A licensed occupational therapist with no less than 1,500 

hours of supervised experience to be obtained within a 

five-year period immediately preceding application for 

registration and as specified in subsection C of this section. 

C. Experience required for registration.  

1. To be registered as a QMHP-A, an applicant who does 

not have a master's degree as set forth in subdivision B 1 of 

this section shall provide documentation of experience in 

providing direct services to individuals as part of a 

population of adults with mental illness in a setting where 

mental health treatment, practice, observation, or diagnosis 

occurs. The services provided shall be appropriate to the 

practice of a QMHP-A and under the supervision of a 

licensed mental health professional or a person under 

supervision that has been approved by the Board of 

Counseling, Board of Psychology, or Board of Social 

Work as a prerequisite for licensure. 

2. Supervision shall consist of face-to-face training in the 

services of a QMHP-A until the supervisor determines 

competency in the provision of such services, after which 

supervision may be indirect in which the supervisor is 

either on-site or immediately available for consultation 

with the person being trained.  

3. Hours obtained in a bachelor's or master's level 

internship or practicum in a human services field may be 

counted toward completion of the required hours of 

experience. 

4. A person receiving supervised training to qualify as a 

QMHP-A may register with the board.  

18VAC115-80-50. Requirements for registration as a 

qualified mental health professional-child. 

A. An applicant for registration shall submit a completed 

application on forms provided by the board and any 

applicable fee as prescribed in 18VAC115-80-20.  

B. An applicant for registration as a QMHP-C shall provide 

evidence of:  

1. A master's degree in psychology, social work, 

counseling, substance abuse, or marriage and family 
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therapy from an accredited college or university with an 

internship or practicum of at least 500 hours of experience 

with persons who have mental illness; 

2. A master's or bachelor's degree in a human services field 

or in special education from an accredited college with no 

less than 1,500 hours of supervised experience to be 

obtained within a five-year period immediately preceding 

application for registration and as specified in subsection C 

of this section;  

3. A registered nurse licensed in Virginia with no less than 

1,500 hours of supervised experience to be obtained within 

a five-year period immediately preceding application for 

registration and as specified in subsection C of this section; 

or 

4. A licensed occupational therapist with no less than 1,500 

hours of supervised experience to be obtained within a 

five-year period immediately preceding application for 

registration and as specified in subsection C of this section. 

C. Experience required for registration. 

1. To be registered as a QMHP-C, an applicant who does 

not have a master's degree as set forth in subdivision B 1 of 

this section shall provide documentation of 1,500 hours of 

experience in providing direct services to individuals as 

part of a population of children or adolescents with mental 

illness in a setting where mental health treatment, practice, 

observation, or diagnosis occurs. The services provided 

shall be appropriate to the practice of a QMHP-C and 

under the supervision of a licensed mental health 

professional or a person under supervision that has been 

approved by the Board of Counseling, Board of 

Psychology, or Board of Social Work as a prerequisite for 

licensure. 

2. Supervision shall consist of face-to-face training in the 

services of a QMHP-C until the supervisor determines 

competency in the provision of such services, after which 

supervision may be indirect in which the supervisor is 

either on-site or immediately available for consultation 

with the person being trained.  

3. Hours obtained in a bachelor's or master's level 

internship or practicum in a human services field may be 

counted toward completion of the required hours of 

experience. 

4. A person receiving supervised training to qualify as a 

QMHP-C may register with the board. 

18VAC115-80-60. Registration of qualified mental health 

professionals with prior experience. 

Until December 31, 2018, persons who have been employed 

as QMHPs prior to December 31, 2017, may be registered 

with the board by submission of a completed application, 

payment of the application fee, and submission of an 

attestation from an employer that they met the qualifications 

for a QMHP-A or a QMHP-C during the time of 

employment. Such persons may continue to renew their 

registration without meeting current requirements for 

registration provided they do not allow their registration to 

lapse or have board action to revoke or suspend, in which 

case they shall meet the requirements for reinstatement. 

Part III 

Renewal of Registration 

18VAC115-80-70. Annual renewal of registration. 

All registrants shall renew their registrations on or before 

June 30 of each year. Along with the renewal form, the 

registrant shall submit the renewal fee as prescribed in 

18VAC115-80-20. 

18VAC115-80-80. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of registration. 

A. Qualified mental health professionals shall be required to 

have completed a minimum of eight contact hours of 

continuing education for each annual registration renewal. A 

minimum of one of these hours shall be in a course that 

emphasizes ethics.  

B. Qualified mental health professionals shall complete 

continuing competency activities that focus on increasing 

knowledge or skills in areas directly related to the services 

provided by a QMHP.  

C. The following organizations, associations, or institutions 

are approved by the board to provide continuing education, 

provided the hours are directly related to the provision of 

mental health services: 

1. Federal, state, or local governmental agencies, public 

school systems, or licensed health facilities; and 

2. Entities approved for continuing education by a health 

regulatory board within the Department of Health 

Professions. 

D. Attestation of completion of continuing education is not 

required for the first renewal following initial registration in 

Virginia.  

E. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing education 

requirements upon written request from the registrant prior to 

the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the 

registrant of the continuing education requirement.  

F. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the registrant, such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters, upon written request from the registrant prior to the 

renewal date.  
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G. All registrants shall maintain original documentation of 

official transcripts showing credit hours earned or certificates 

of participation for a period of three years following renewal.  

H. The board may conduct an audit of registrants to verify 

compliance with the requirement for a renewal period. Upon 

request, a registrant shall provide documentation as follows: 

1. Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or 

2. Certificates of participation.  

I. Continuing education hours required by a disciplinary 

order shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements. 

Part IV 

Standards of Practice, Disciplinary Action, and Reinstatement 

18VAC115-80-90. Standards of practice. 

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare 

and the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide 

in determining the appropriate professional conduct of all 

persons whose activities are regulated by the board.  

B. Persons registered by the board shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the 

public and does not endanger the public health, safety, or 

welfare.  

2. Practice only within the competency area for which they 

are qualified by training or experience and shall not 

provide clinical mental health services for which a license 

is required pursuant to Chapters 35 (§ 54.1-3500 et seq.), 

36 (§ 54.1-3600 et seq.), and 37 (§ 54.1-3700 et seq.) of 

the Code of Virginia. 

3. Report to the board known or suspected violations of the 

laws and regulations governing the practice of qualified 

mental health professionals.  

4. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 

forms of remuneration for the referral of clients for 

professional services and make appropriate consultations 

and referrals based on the interest of patients or clients.  

5. Stay abreast of new developments, concepts, and 

practices that are necessary to providing appropriate 

services.  

C. In regard to confidentiality and client records, persons 

registered by the board shall: 

1. Not willfully or negligently breach the confidentiality 

between a practitioner and a client. A breach of 

confidentiality that is required or permitted by applicable 

law or beyond the control of the practitioner shall not be 

considered negligent or willful.  

2. Disclose client records to others only in accordance with 

applicable law.  

3. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees 

of the requirements of confidentiality, and provide for the 

destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 

that ensures client confidentiality.  

4. Maintain timely, accurate, legible, and complete written 

or electronic records for each client, to include dates of 

service and identifying information to substantiate 

treatment plan, client progress, and termination.  

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons registered by the 

board shall: 

1. Not engage in dual relationships with clients or former 

clients that are harmful to the client's well-being, that 

would impair the practitioner's objectivity and professional 

judgment, or that would increase the risk of client 

exploitation. This prohibition includes such activities as 

providing services to close friends, former sexual partners, 

employees, or relatives or engaging in business 

relationships with clients.  

2. Not engage in sexual intimacies or romantic 

relationships with current clients. For at least five years 

after cessation or termination of professional services, 

practitioners shall not engage in sexual intimacies or 

romantic relationships with a client or those included in 

collateral therapeutic services. Because sexual or romantic 

relationships are potentially exploitative, the practitioner 

shall bear the burden of demonstrating that there has been 

no exploitation. A client's consent to, initiation of, or 

participation in sexual behavior or involvement with a 

practitioner does not change the nature of the conduct nor 

lift the regulatory prohibition.  

3. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

obligations, responsibilities, and loyalties to third parties.  

E. Upon learning of evidence that indicates a reasonable 

probability that another mental health service provider, as 

defined in § 54.1-2400.1 of the Code of Virginia, is or may be 

guilty of a violation of standards of conduct as defined in 

statute or regulation, persons registered by the board shall 

advise their clients of the client's right to report such 

misconduct to the Department of Health Professions in 

accordance with § 54.1-2400.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC115-80-100. Grounds for revocation, suspension, 

restriction, or denial of registration. 

In accordance with subdivision 7 of § 54.1-2400 of the Code 

of Virginia, the board may revoke, suspend, restrict, or 

decline to issue or renew a registration based upon the 

following conduct: 

1. Conviction of a felony, or of a misdemeanor involving 

moral turpitude, or violation of or aid to another in 

violating any provision of Chapter 35 (§ 54.1-3500 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, any other statute 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 8, 2018 

1089 

applicable to the practice of qualified mental health 

professionals, or any provision of this chapter; 

2. Procuring or maintaining a registration, including 

submission of an application or applicable board forms, by 

fraud or misrepresentation; 

3. Conducting one's practice in such a manner so as to 

make it a danger to the health and welfare of one's clients 

or to the public, or if one is unable to practice with 

reasonable skill and safety to clients by reason of illness or 

abusive use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or any 

other type of material or as a result of any mental or 

physical condition; 

4. Violating or abetting another person in the violation of 

any provision of any statute applicable to the practice of 

qualified mental health professionals or any regulation in 

this chapter; 

5. Performance of functions outside the board-registered 

area of competency;  

6. Performance of an act likely to deceive, defraud, or 

harm the public; 

7. Intentional or negligent conduct that causes or is likely 

to cause injury to a client; 

8. Action taken against a health or mental health license, 

certification, registration, or application in Virginia or 

other jurisdiction;  

9. Failure to cooperate with an employee of the 

Department of Health Professions in the conduct of an 

investigation; or 

10. Failure to report evidence of child abuse or neglect as 

required in § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia or elder 

abuse or neglect as required in § 63.2-1606 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

18VAC115-80-110. Late renewal and reinstatement. 

A. A person whose registration has expired may renew it 

within one year after its expiration date by paying the late 

renewal fee and the registration fee as prescribed in 

18VAC115-80-20 for the year in which the registration was 

not renewed and by providing documentation of completion 

of continuing education as prescribed in 18VAC115-80-80.  

B. A person who fails to renew registration after one year or 

more shall: 

1. Apply for reinstatement;  

2. Pay the reinstatement fee for a lapsed registration; and 

3. Submit evidence of completion of 20 hours of 

continuing education consistent with requirements of 

18VAC115-80-80. 

C. A person whose registration has been suspended or who 

has been denied reinstatement by board order, having met the 

terms of the order, may submit a new application and fee for 

reinstatement of registration as prescribed in 18VAC115-80-

20.  Any person whose registration has been revoked by the 

board may, three years subsequent to such board action, 

submit a new application and fee for reinstatement of 

registration as prescribed in 18VAC115-80-20. The board in 

its discretion may, after an administrative proceeding, grant 

the reinstatement sought in this subsection.    

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC115-80) 

Qualified Mental Health Profession-Adult, Application and 

Instructions (rev. 11/2017) 

Qualified Mental Health Profession-Child, Application and 

Instructions (rev. 11/2017) 

Qualified Mental Health Profession-Adult, Grandfathering 

Application and Instructions (rev. 11/2017) 

Qualified Mental Health Profession-Child, Grandfathering 

Application and Instructions (rev. 11/2017) 

Supervised Trainee, Application and Instructions (rev. 

11/2017) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5242; Filed December 18, 2017, 8:06 a.m.  

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Social Work (amending 18VAC140-20-10, 

18VAC140-20-110).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 7, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-

4435, or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments (i) change the definition of clinical social 

work services to include psychosocial interventions, (ii) 

require applicants for reinstatement to provide verification 

of licensure in another state, if applicable, and a report 

from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f08e7005242~1N.pdf&typ=40&actno=005242&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f08e7005242~1N.pdf&typ=40&actno=005242&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb59a005242~2N.pdf&typ=40&actno=005242&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb59a005242~2N.pdf&typ=40&actno=005242&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0e718005242~3N.pdf&typ=40&actno=005242&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0e718005242~3N.pdf&typ=40&actno=005242&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a8dea005242~4N.pdf&typ=40&actno=005242&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a8dea005242~4N.pdf&typ=40&actno=005242&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=03f2e005242~5P.pdf&typ=40&actno=005242&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=03f2e005242~5P.pdf&typ=40&actno=005242&mime=application/pdf
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National Practitioner Data Bank, and (iii) specify the 

amount of supervision required for a person who has not 

actively practiced for 10 or more years and who applies to 

reinstate or reactivate his license. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC140-20-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-3700 of 

the Code of Virginia: 

Board 

Casework 

Casework management and supportive services 

Clinical social worker 

Practice of social work 

Social worker 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Accredited school of social work" means a school of social 

work accredited by the Council on Social Work Education. 

"Active practice" means post-licensure practice at the level 

of licensure for which an applicant is seeking licensure in 

Virginia and shall include at least 360 hours of practice in a 

12-month period.  

"Ancillary services" means activities such as case 

management, recordkeeping, referral, and coordination of 

services. 

"Clinical course of study" means graduate course work that 

includes specialized advanced courses in human behavior and 

the social environment, social justice and policy, 

psychopathology and diversity issues; research; clinical 

practice with individuals, families, and groups; and a clinical 

practicum that focuses on diagnostic, prevention and 

treatment services. 

"Clinical social work services" include the application of 

social work principles and methods in performing 

assessments and diagnoses based on a recognized manual of 

mental and emotional disorders or recognized system of 

problem definition, preventive and early intervention 

services, and treatment services, including but not limited to 

psychosocial interventions, psychotherapy, and counseling 

for mental disorders, substance abuse, marriage and family 

dysfunction, and problems caused by social and 

psychological stress or health impairment. 

"Exempt practice" is that which meets the conditions of 

exemption from the requirements of licensure as defined in 

§ 54.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Face-to-face supervision" means the physical presence of 

the individuals involved in the supervisory relationship 

during either individual or group supervision or the use of 

technology that provides real-time, visual contact among the 

individuals involved. 

"Nonexempt practice" is that which does not meet the 

conditions of exemption from the requirements of licensure as 

defined in § 54.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Supervisee" means an individual who has submitted a 

supervisory contract and has received board approval to 

provide clinical services in social work under supervision. 

"Supervision" means a professional relationship between a 

supervisor and supervisee in which the supervisor directs, 

monitors and evaluates the supervisee's social work practice 

while promoting development of the supervisee's knowledge, 

skills and abilities to provide social work services in an 

ethical and competent manner. 

18VAC140-20-110. Late renewal; reinstatement; 

reactivation.  

A. A social worker or clinical social worker whose license 

has expired may renew that license within one year after its 

expiration date by:  

1. Providing evidence of having met all applicable 

continuing education requirements.  

2. Paying the penalty for late renewal and the renewal fee 

as prescribed in 18VAC140-20-30.  

B. A social worker or clinical social worker who fails to 

renew the license after one year and who wishes to resume 

practice shall apply for reinstatement and pay the 

reinstatement fee, which shall consist of the application 

processing fee and the penalty fee for late renewal, as set 

forth in 18VAC140-20-30. An applicant for reinstatement 

shall also provide documentation: 

1. Documentation of having completed all applicable 

continued competency hours equal to the number of years 

the license has lapsed, not to exceed four years; 

2. Documentation of any other health or mental health 

licensure or certification held in another United States 

jurisdiction, if applicable; and  

3. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank. 

An C. In addition to requirements set forth in subsection B 

of this section, an applicant for reinstatement whose license 
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has been lapsed for 10 or more years shall also provide 

evidence of competency to practice by documenting: 

1. Active practice in another United States jurisdiction for 

at least 24 out of the past 60 months immediately 

preceding application;  

2. Active practice in an exempt setting for at least 24 out of 

the past 60 months immediately preceding application; or 

3. Practice as a supervisee under supervision for at least 

360 hours in the 12 months immediately preceding 

reinstatement of licensure in Virginia. The supervised 

practice shall include a minimum of 60 hours of face-to-

face direct client contact and nine hours of face-to-face 

supervision. 

C. D. A social worker or clinical social worker wishing to 

reactivate an inactive license shall submit the difference 

between the renewal fee for active licensure minus any fee 

already paid and the fee for inactive licensure renewal and 

document completion of continued competency hours equal 

to the number of years the license has been inactive, not to 

exceed four years. An applicant for reactivation who has been 

inactive for four 10 or more years shall also provide evidence 

of competency to practice by documenting: 

1. Active practice in another United States jurisdiction for 

at least 24 out of the past 60 months immediately 

preceding application; 

2. Active practice in an exempt setting for at least 24 out of 

the past 60 months immediately preceding application; or 

3. Practice as a supervisee under supervision for at least 

360 hours in the 12 months immediately preceding 

reactivation of licensure in Virginia. The supervised 

practice shall include a minimum of 60 hours of face-to-

face direct client contact and nine hours of face-to-face 

supervision. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4943; Filed December 19, 2017, 11:51 a.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Guidance for Citizen Nomination of State Surface 
Waters for Inclusion in Annual Water Quality 

Monitoring Plan 

Purpose of guidance document: This document provides 

detailed guidance on implementation of § 62.1-44.19:5 F, a 

section of the State Water Control Law that provides for 

requests from the public regarding specific segments that 

should be included in the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality's (DEQ) annual water quality 

monitoring plan. 

Background on the guidance document: A provision of the 

State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.19:5 F of the Code of 

Virginia) directs DEQ to provide a procedure for citizens of 

the Commonwealth to nominate portions of lakes, streams, 

and rivers of Virginia for water quality monitoring by DEQ. 

Citizens can send their nominations to DEQ via the 

procedures described below. Nominations received by April 

30, 2018, will be considered for inclusion in DEQ's annual 

monitoring plan for the 2019 calendar year. The monitoring 

plan will be finalized after considering the citizen 

nominations for inclusion. DEQ will respond to each request 

in writing, stating the reasons for accepting or denying each 

nomination. DEQ's response is due by August 31 for 

nominations received between January 1, 2018, and April 30, 

2018. 

Process to request additional monitoring: Any person may 

request that a specific body of water be included in DEQ's 

annual water quality monitoring plan. Each request received 

between January 1 and April 30 shall be reviewed when DEQ 

develops or updates the annual water quality monitoring plan. 

Such requests shall include, at a minimum (i) a geographical 

description of the water body recommended for monitoring, 

(ii) the reason the monitoring is requested, and (iii) any water 

quality data that the petitioner may have collected or 

compiled. See the nominating form, Request to Include a 

Water Segment in DEQ's Annual Monitoring Plan, at the end 

of this notice. 

Note: The monitoring program covered by this process is 

directed at the surface waters of the state. Private ponds, 

privately owned lakes, and any other body of water not 

deemed to be "state waters" are ineligible. 

Nominations can be submitted by mail, fax, email, or hand 

delivered to the receptionist's desk at the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Central Office, 1111 East Main 

Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA. Mailing Address: Stuart 

Torbeck, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, 

P.O. 1105, Richmond, VA 23218. Street Address (FedEx): 

Stuart Torbeck, Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 

23219. FAX: Attention Stuart Torbeck, Virginia Department 

of Environmental Quality, telephone (804) 698-4032, or 

email charles.torbeck@deq.virginia.gov. 

Use of the nomination form provided at the end of this notice 

is preferred. All nominations with the minimum of 

information as outlined in this notice will be accepted for 

review. 

Timeline: Nominations received between January 1, 2018, 

and April 30, 2018, will be considered for inclusion in DEQ's 

water quality monitoring plan for the 2019 calendar year. 

DEQ will respond in writing on its approval or denial of each 

nomination by August 31, 2018. The DEQ 2019 monitoring 

plan will be made available for public inspection. A notice of 

availability of the annual monitoring plan will be placed in 

the Virginia Register and on DEQ's website 

at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water.aspx. 

_________________________________________________ 

REQUEST TO INCLUDE A WATER SEGMENT IN DEQ'S 

ANNUAL MONITORING PLAN 

Name:   Date:   

Mailing Address:   
  

Street: 
   

City:   State:   Zip:   

Email address:     
   

Telephone: Home:   Business:   Fax:   

Geographic description of the water body: 

(1) Name of the water body or segment proposed for 

monitoring: 

 

(2) Description of the upstream and downstream boundaries 

of the water body proposed for monitoring. Attach a map 

(preferably a photocopy of a 7.5 minute quad USGS 

topographic map) which delineates the boundaries: 

 

(3) Reason for requesting that this water body be monitored: 

 

(4) Attach any water quality data that you have collected or 

compiled. Include the name of the organization/entity that 

generated the data. 

Submit to mailing address: Stuart Torbeck, Virginia 

Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. 1105, Richmond, 

VA 23218. Street Address (FedEx): Stuart Torbeck, Virginia 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main 

Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 23219. FAX: Attention 

Stuart Torbeck, Virginia Department of Environmental 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/
http://townhall.virginia.gov/
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Quality, telephone (804) 698-4032, or email 

charles.torbeck@deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact Information: Stuart Torbeck, 1111 East Main Street, 

Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 698-4461, FAX (804) 698-4032, or email 

charles.torbeck@deq.virginia.gov. 

Church View Solar LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) Permit by Rule - 

Middlesex County 

Church View Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable solar energy project. Church View Solar LLC is 

proposing to develop a 20-megawatt solar farm to be located 

in Middlesex County. The project will be located on 535 

acres across multiple parcels, north of Wares Bridge Road, 

west of Tidewater Trail, east of Dragon Road, and south of 

Briery Swamp Road. The solar project conceptually consists 

of approximately 85,000 335-watt panels plus eight 2.7-

megawatt inverters. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of Health is 

conducting a periodic review and small business impact 

review of 12VAC5-80, Regulations for Administration of 

the Virginia Hearing Impairment Identification and 

Monitoring System. The review of this regulation will be 

guided by the principles in Executive Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins January, 8, 2018, and ends 

January 29, 2018. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Janice Hicks, 109 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7686, FAX (804) 

864-7652, or email janice.hicks@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Board of Housing and 

Community Development is conducting a periodic review 

and small business impact review of 13VAC5-112, 

Enterprise Zone Grant Program Regulation. The review 

of this regulation will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins on January 8, 2018, and ends 

February 7, 2018. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 600 

East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 786-6761, FAX (804) 371-7090, or email 

kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:charles.torbeck@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:janice.hicks@vdh.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov
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BOARD OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES 

Draft Chapter I (General Information) Provider 
Manual for Stakeholder Input 

The draft version of Chapter I (General Information) is posted 

on the Department of Medical Assistance Services website at 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_pgs/pd-pmnl.aspx for 

public comment through January 17, 2018. For convenience, 

the updates are marked in red and can be found on Page 9. 

Please see the overview below for more details. 

Overview of changes: Chapter I in all DMAS provider 

manuals has been changed to reflect member copays for 

inpatient hospital services from $100 to $75. 

Chapter I will be finalized and officially posted by January 

24, 2018, at https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov 

/wps/portal/ProviderManuals. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Draft Hospital and Physician-Practitioner 
(Appendix D) Provider Manuals for Stakeholder 

Input 

The draft versions of Appendix D of the Hospital and 

Physician-Practitioner Manuals are posted on the Department 

of Medical Assistance Services website for public comment 

through January 6, 2018. For convenience, only the revised 

sections have been posted. Please see the overview below for 

more details. 

Overview of changes: Provides information on updated 

coverage of stem cell transplants for members older than 21 

years of age. 

Please click the following link: 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_pgs/pd-pmnl.aspx to 

view the draft manuals. The finalized version will be 

officially posted by January 6, 2018, on the DMAS web 

portal at https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov 

/wps/myportal/providermanual. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 

1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX 

(804) 786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Occupational Exposure to Beryllium 

On November 30, 2017, the Safety and Health Codes Board 

adopted a delay until August 1, 2018, of the compliance 

obligations of the Occupational Exposure to Beryllium 

regulation for the shipyard and construction industries, 

16VAC25-100-1915.1024 and 16VAC25-175-1926.1124. 

These regulations are identical to federal regulations 29 CFR 

1915.1024 and 29 CFR 1926.1124, which have been 

subjected to an administrative stay of enforcement by the 

Occupational Safety and Health Administration. The 

compliance date for general industry remains unchanged. 

Contact Information: Ron Graham, VOSH Health 

Compliance Director, Virginia Department of Labor and 

Industry, 600 East Main Street, Suite 207, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 786-0574, or email 

ron.graham@doli.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Colonial  
Pipeline Company 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Colonial 

Pipeline Company for violations of State Water Control Law 

that occurred in Fairfax County, Virginia. A description of 

the proposed action is available online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Lee Crowell will accept comments by 

email at lee.crowell@deq.virginia.gov or postal mail at 

Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23219, from January 8, 2018, through 

February 7, 2018. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for  
FDP Virginia Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for FDP Virginia 

Inc. for violations at FDP Brakes located at 1076 Airport 

Road, Tappahannock, Virginia. The State Water Control 

Board proposes to issue a special order by consent to FDP 

Virginia Inc. to address noncompliance with the State Water 

Control Law and regulations. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental 

Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Kristen Sadtler will accept comments 

by email at kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 

698-4277, or postal mail at Department of Environmental 

Quality, Central Office, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, from January 8, 2018, to February 8, 2018. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
John C. Holland Enterprise Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for John C. 

Holland Enterprise Inc. for violations of the State Water 

Control Law in Suffolk, Virginia. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Russell Deppe will accept comments 

by email at russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 

518-2009, or postal mail at Department of Environmental 

Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_pgs/pd-pmnl.aspx
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/ProviderManuals
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/ProviderManuals
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_pgs/pd-pmnl.aspx
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/myportal/providermanual
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/myportal/providermanual
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
https://maps.google.com/?q=600+E.+Main+Street,+Suite+207%0D+%0D+_Richmond,+VA+23219_+%0D+%0D+_804_&entry=gmail&source=g
https://maps.google.com/?q=600+E.+Main+Street,+Suite+207%0D+%0D+_Richmond,+VA+23219_+%0D+%0D+_804_&entry=gmail&source=g
https://maps.google.com/?q=600+E.+Main+Street,+Suite+207%0D+%0D+_Richmond,+VA+23219_+%0D+%0D+_804_&entry=gmail&source=g
tel:(804)%20786-0574
mailto:ron.graham@doli.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:lee.crowell@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov
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Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from January 8, 2018, 

to February 7, 2018. 

Total Maximum Daily Load for New River and its 
Tributaries 

Description of technical advisory committee and public 

meetings: The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality 

will host the fourth technical advisory committee meeting and 

final public meeting for the New River polychlorinated 

biphenyls (PCB) total maximum daily load (TMDL) project 

on Thursday, January 25, 2018. The technical advisory 

committee (TAC) meeting will be held from 1:30 p.m. until 

3:30 p.m. at the Radford Public Library, 30 West Main Street, 

Radford, VA 24141. The final public meeting will be held 

from 6 p.m. until 8 p.m. at the Radford Public Library, 30 

West Main Street, Radford, VA 24141. In the case of 

inclement weather, the meetings will be held on January 31, 

2018, at the same times and location. The technical advisory 

committee consists of representatives from local 

governments, Virginia pollutant discharge elimination system 

permittees, riparian landowners, and recreational and 

conservation groups in the watershed. Technical advisory 

committee meetings are open to the public, and interested 

citizens are welcome to observe and ask questions during the 

designated time at the meeting. All are welcome at the public 

meeting.  

Purpose of notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) and its contractors will discuss the results and draft 

document from the polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) water 

quality study known as a total maximum daily load (TMDL) 

for the New River and its tributaries. Additional TAC 

discussion topics include but are not limited to the TMDL 

development approach, TMDL implementation strategies, and 

project next steps. The TMDL draft document will be 

presented and discussed at both the TAC and public meetings. 

The draft document can be found on the New River PCB 

webpage at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water 

/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/PCBTMDLs/New

RiverTMDLPCB.aspx. A 30-day public comment period will 

follow the meeting and expire on February 26, 2018.  

Description of study: In Virginia, portions of the mainstem 

New River, Stony Creek, Walker Creek, Reed Creek, and 

Claytor Lake are listed as impaired for PCBs based on a 

Virginia Department of Health (VDH) fish consumption 

advisory and violations of Virginia's Water Quality 

Standards. The PCB impairment begins at the I-77 bridge 

across the New River and extends downstream of the 

Virginia/West Virginia state line and includes Peak Creek, 

Reed Creek, Stony Creek, Walker Creek, and Claytor Lake. 

This water quality study will report on the sources of PCBs 

and recommend reductions to meet TMDLs for the impaired 

waters. A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a water 

body can contain and still meet water quality standards. 

Reductions and a TMDL designed to reinstate the fish 

consumption use will be developed. Virginia agencies have 

worked cooperatively to identify sources of PCBs.  

Stream County Impairment 

New River Montgomery 
PCBs in fish 

tissue 

New River, Stony 

Creek 
Giles 

PCBs in fish 

tissue 

Walker Creek Giles 
PCBs in water 

column 

New River, Peak 

Creek 
Pulaski 

PCBs in fish 

tissue 

New River, Reed 

Creek 
Wythe 

PCBs in fish 

tissue 

How to comment and participate: The meetings of the TMDL 

process are open to the public, and all interested parties are 

welcome. A technical advisory committee or TAC was 

formed to assist in the development of this TMDL. Written 

comments will be accepted through February 26, 2018, and 

should include the name, address, and telephone number of 

the person submitting the comments. For more information or 

to submit comments, please contact Mark Richards, 

Department of Environmental Quality, Office of Watershed 

Programs, telephone (804) 698-4392, or email 

mark.richards@deq.virginia.gov; Lucy Baker, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Blue Ridge Regional Office, 

telephone (540) 562-6718, or email 

lucy.baker@deq.virginia.gov; or Martha Chapman, 

Department of Environmental Quality, Southwest Regional 

Office, telephone (276) 676-4800, FAX (276) 676-4899, or 

email martha.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. To submit 

comments via traditional mail, please use the following 

address: Mark Richards, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 

23219. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/PCBTMDLs/NewRiverTMDLPCB.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/PCBTMDLs/NewRiverTMDLPCB.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/PCBTMDLs/NewRiverTMDLPCB.aspx
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
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regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 
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