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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; 

Leslie L. Lilley; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; 

Christopher R. Nolen; Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; 

Noah P. Sullivan; Mark J. Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Acting Registrar of 

Regulations; Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Rhonda Dyer, 
Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

February 2018 through January 2019 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

34:12 January 17, 2018 February 5, 2018 

34:13 January 31, 2018 February 19, 2018 

34:14 February 14, 2018 March 5, 2018 

34:15 February 28, 2018 March 19, 2018 

34:16 March 14, 2018 April 2, 2018 

34:17 March 28, 2018 April 16, 2018 

34:18 April 11, 2018 April 30, 2018 

34:19 April 25, 2018 May 14, 2018 

34:20 May 9, 2018 May 28, 2018 

34:21 May 23, 2018 June 11, 2018 

34:22 June 6, 2018 June 25, 2018 

34:23 June 20, 2018 July 9, 2018 

34:24 July 3, 2018 (Tuesday) July 23, 2018 

34:25 July 18, 2018 August 6, 2018 

34:26 August 1, 2018 August 20, 2018 

35:1 August 15, 2018 September 3, 2018 

35:2 August 29, 2018 September17, 2018 

35:3 September 12, 2018 October 1, 2018 

35:4 September 26, 2018 October 15, 2018 

35:5 October 10, 2018 October 29, 2018 

35:6 October 24, 2018 November 12, 2018 

35:7 November 7, 2018 November 26, 2018 

35:8 November 19, 2018 (Monday) December 10, 2018 

35:9 December 5, 2018 December 24, 2018 

35:10 December 14, 2018 (Friday) January 7, 2019 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

COMMISSION ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC50-11. Public Participation 

Guidelines (amending 1VAC50-11-10, 1VAC50-11-20, 

1VAC50-11-50, 1VAC50-11-60, 1VAC50-11-90, 1VAC50-

11-100).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 15.2-2903 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: March 8, 2018. 

Effective Date: March 23, 2018.  

Agency Contact: David Conmy, Local Government Policy 

Administrator, Department of Housing and Community 

Development, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-8010, FAX (804) 371-7090, 

or email david.conmy@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This fast-

track regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of 

the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Basis: Section 15.2-2903 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Commission on Local Government (CLG) the general power 

and duty to make regulations. 

Purpose: The goal of this proposal is to update the CLG's 

regulations for greater clarity and consistency based upon a 

review by the commission and its staff at the conclusion of its 

periodic review of the regulation. 

The regulations are essential to protect the health, safety, and 

welfare of citizens because they support the CLG's purpose to 

ensure that all of the Commonwealth's "localities are 

maintained as viable communities in which their citizens can 

live" as stipulated in § 15.2-2900 of the Code of Virginia. 

All of the proposed amendments to the regulations are minor 

in nature and include items such as (i) updating definitions 

and regulations to correspond to changes in the Code of 

Virginia, including removal of references to "Commonwealth 

Calendar" and the right to counsel in rulemaking proceedings 

(Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly), (ii) adding 

Oxford commas for greater clarity, (iii) updating terminology 

to be gender neutral, (iv) generalizing the commission's 

regular meeting regulations to allow more meeting flexibility 

but remain consistent with § 15.2-2904 of the Code of 

Virginia, and (v) making other minor changes.  

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

rulemaking is expected to be noncontroversial because the 

proposed amendments to the regulations are minor in nature. 

None of the proposed amendments to the regulations are 

substantive in nature, and they do not have an impact on 

small businesses or individual citizens. 

Furthermore, this rulemaking is expected to be 

noncontroversial because no comments were received during 

the periodic review public comment period, which ran from 

June 12, 2017, to July 3, 2017, and was advertised in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations on June 12, 2017, in Volume 

33, Issue 21. 

Substance: None of the proposed amendments to the 

regulations are substantive in nature but include items such as 

(i) updating definitions and regulations to correspond to 

changes in the Code of Virginia, including removal of 

references to "Commonwealth Calendar" and the right to 

counsel in rulemaking proceedings (Chapter 795 of the 2012 

Acts of Assembly), (ii) adding Oxford commas for greater 

clarity, (iii) updating terminology to be gender neutral, (iv) 

generalizing the commission's regular meeting regulations to 

allow more meeting flexibility but remain consistent with 

§ 15.2-2904 of the Code of Virginia, and (v) making other 

minor changes.  

Issues: The advantages to the proposed amendments to the 

regulations are all minor in nature but, overall, allow for 

greater clarity and for consistency with the Code of Virginia. 

There are no anticipated disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation: As the 

result of a periodic review, the Commission on Local 

Government (Commission) proposes to amend its public 

participation guidelines to update definitions and to conform 

the regulation to changes in statute.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Commission promulgated 

these public participation guidelines in 2008 and has not 

updated them since. As a result of statutory changes since 

2008, these guidelines are no longer completely up to date. 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 12 Virginia Register of Regulations February 5, 2018 

1170 

Because of this, the Commission now proposes to add 

language that reflects the statutory right of interested parties 

who are submitting data, views and arguments to "be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or other 

representative." The Commission also proposes to change 

references to "the Commonwealth Calendar" to "a calendar 

maintained by the Commonwealth" because that language 

more closely resembles relevant statutory language. Changes 

such as these do not add any extra requirements for regulated 

entities. Consequently, no affected entities are likely to incur 

costs. To the extent that these changes remove language that 

is different from what is in statute, they provide the benefit of 

eliminating possible confusion.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. This regulatory action will 

affect all localities as well as the Commission. Commission 

staff reports that there are 95 counties, 190 towns and 38 

cities in the Commonwealth. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this regulatory action.  

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No small businesses are likely to 

incur any additional costs on account of these proposed 

regulatory changes. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 

businesses are likely to incur any additional costs on account 

of these proposed regulatory changes. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. No businesses are likely to incur any additional 

costs on account of these proposed regulatory changes. 

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 

see any adverse impacts on account of these proposed 

regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely 

affected by these proposed changes. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Commission on Local Government staff concurs with the 

economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) update definitions, (ii) clarify the 

regulation, (iii) update terminology, and (iv) pursuant to 

Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly, add that an 

individual can be accompanied by and represented by 

counsel or another representative when submitting data, 

views, and arguments to the agency. 

Part I  

Purpose and Definitions  

1VAC50-11-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 

involvement in the development, amendment, or repeal of the 

regulations of the Commission on Local Government. This 

chapter does not apply to regulations, guidelines, or other 

documents exempted or excluded from the provisions of the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

1VAC50-11-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 

et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Commission on Local Government 

within the Virginia Department of Housing and Community 

Development, which is the unit of state government 

empowered by the agency's basic law to make regulations or 

decide cases. Actions specified in this chapter may be 

fulfilled by state employees as delegated by the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 

delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" "Calendar maintained by the 

Commonwealth" means the electronic calendar for official 

government meetings open to the public as required by § 2.2-

3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 

advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 

to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 

a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 

consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 

action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 

pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 

list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 

other list maintained by the agency. 
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"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 

state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 

make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 

promulgating, amending, or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 

venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 

or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 

agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 

or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 

public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 

having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 

person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 

authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 

repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 

ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 

agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 

website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 

Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 

public comment forums and displays information about 

regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 

consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 

registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 

Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 

of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 

which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§ 2.2-

4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part III  

Public Participation Procedures  

1VAC50-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 

action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 

opportunity (i) to submit data, views, and arguments, either 

orally or in writing, to the agency, and (ii) be accompanied by 

and represented by counsel or other representative. Such 

opportunity to comment shall include an online public 

comment forum on the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 

copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 

issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 

fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 

public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 

to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 

submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 

the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 

as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 

(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 

publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 

publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 

of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 

listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 

substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 

he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 

calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 

changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 

Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 

description of public comment to all public commenters on 

the proposed regulation at least five days before final 

adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 

Code of Virginia.  

1VAC50-11-60. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in § 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, any 

person may petition the agency to consider a regulatory 

action. 

B. A petition shall include but is not limited to the following 

information: 

1. The petitioner's name and contact information; 

2. The substance and purpose of the rulemaking that is 

requested, including reference to any applicable Virginia 

Administrative Code sections; and 

3. Reference to the legal authority of the agency to take the 

action requested. 
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C. The agency shall receive, consider, and respond to a 

petition pursuant to § 2.2-4007 and shall have the sole 

authority to dispose of the petition. 

D. The petition shall be posted on the Town Hall and 

published in the Virginia Register. 

E. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the agency from 

receiving information or from proceeding on its own motion 

for rulemaking. 

1VAC50-11-90. Meetings. 

Notice of any open meeting, including meetings of a RAP or 

NRP, shall be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 

and a calendar maintained by the Commonwealth Calendar at 

least seven working days prior to the date of the meeting. The 

exception to this requirement is any meeting held in 

accordance with § 2.2-3707 D of the Code of Virginia 

allowing for contemporaneous notice to be provided to 

participants and the public. 

1VAC50-11-100. Public hearings on regulations. 

A. The agency shall indicate in its notice of intended 

regulatory action whether it plans to hold a public hearing 

following the publication of the proposed stage of the 

regulatory action.  

B. The agency may conduct one or more public hearings 

during the comment period following the publication of a 

proposed regulatory action.  

C. An agency is required to hold a public hearing following 

the publication of the proposed regulatory action when:  

1. The agency's basic law requires the agency to hold a 

public hearing;  

2. The Governor directs the agency to hold a public 

hearing; or  

3. The agency receives requests for a public hearing from 

at least 25 persons during the public comment period 

following the publication of the notice of intended 

regulatory action.  

D. Notice of any public hearing shall be posted on the Town 

Hall and a calendar maintained by the Commonwealth 

Calendar at least seven working days prior to the date of the 

hearing. The agency shall also notify those persons who 

requested a hearing under subdivision C 3 of this section.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5292; Filed January 9, 2018, 4:41 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

BOARD OF CORRECTIONS 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 6VAC15-80. Standards for Planning, 

Design, Construction and Reimbursement of Local 

Correctional Facilities (repealing 6VAC15-80-10 through 

6VAC15-80-1270). 

6VAC15-81. Standards for Planning, Design, 

Construction, and Reimbursement of Local Correctional 

Facilities (adding 6VAC15-81-10 through 6VAC15-81-

1480).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 53.1-5, 53.1-80, and 53.1-82 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 8, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Jim Bruce, Agency Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Corrections, P.O. Box 26963, Richmond, VA 

23261-6963, telephone (804) 887-8215, or email 

james.bruce@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulatory action repeals the existing Standards for 

Planning, Design, Construction and Reimbursement of 

Local Correctional Facilities (6VAC15-80) and replaces it 

with a new regulation, 6VAC15-81. The new regulation 

updates standards to reflect (i) changes in the Code of 

Virginia and uniform building and fire codes and (ii) best 

practices for correctional facilities. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

CHAPTER 81 

STANDARDS FOR PLANNING, DESIGN, 

CONSTRUCTION, AND REIMBURSEMENT OF LOCAL 

CORRECTIONAL FACILITIES 

[ Part I 

Definitions and General Instructions ]  

6VAC15-81-10. (Reserved.) 

6VAC15-81-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Acceptable" means those applicable standards or practices 

with which a registered professional architect, engineer, or 

other duly licensed or recognized authority must comply. 

"Access openings" means panels or doors used for access 

into areas including ceilings, pipe chases, plumbing chases, or 

shafts. 
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"Accessible by inmates" means the same as "inmate 

accessible." 

"ADA accessible" means in compliance with the Americans 

with Disabilities Act (42 USC § 12101 et seq.). 

"ADP" means average daily population. 

"A/E" means the architect or engineer and his associated 

firm hired by the owner for study, design, or construction of 

the jail project. 

"Analysis" means a detailed examination of the local or 

regional criminal justice system and its elements in order to 

determine the impact these elements have had on the need for 

current and future jail space. 

"Approved" means an item approved by the reviewing 

authority.  

"Artificial light" means light other than natural light.  

"ASTM" means the American Society for Testing and 

Materials, the most current edition. When ASTM is 

referenced, the reference is to the Standards in ASTM 

Standards on Detention and Correctional Facilities, unless 

otherwise specified. Testing for compliance with ASTM 

Standards shall be performed by an independent nationally 

recognized testing laboratory. 

"Board" means the Virginia State Board of Corrections. 

"Building code" means Virginia Uniform Statewide 

Building Code (13VAC5-63), the Virginia Industrialized 

Building Code (13VAC5-91), and the Virginia Statewide Fire 

Prevention Code (13VAC5-51).  

"CCJB" means Community Criminal Justice Board. 

"CCTV" means closed circuit television or electronic 

surveillance system. 

"Ceilings" means overhead interior surface that covers the 

upper limit of an interior room or space. 

"Cell" means a space, the size of which [ are is ] specified in 

this chapter, enclosed by secure construction containing 

plumbing fixtures and usually a bunk in which an inmate is 

detained or sleeps. Cells can be single or multiple occupancy 

depending upon custody level. 

"Cell tier" means levels of cells vertically stacked above one 

another within a housing unit. 

"Central intake unit" means an area constructed to provide, 

at a minimum, space for intake, temporary holding, booking, 

court and juvenile (if approved for juveniles) holding, 

classification, and release functions. 

"Classification unit" means a cell or unit utilized for short-

term holding of inmates for classification purposes after 

intake or booking and prior to being assigned to general 

population or other housing.  

"Community based corrections plan" or "CBCP" means a 

comprehensive assessment of an owner's correctional needs 

and how these needs will be met through submissions of a 

needs assessment and a planning study. 

"Community custody" means inmates incarcerated by the 

judicial system and classified for involvement in local work 

forces; participating in work, education, and rehabilitation 

release; and weekend and nonconsecutive sentencing. 

"Construction completion" means the construction of the 

building is considered complete when a certificate of 

occupancy or temporary certificate of occupancy is issued for 

the building to be occupied by inmates. 

"Construction documents" means the detailed working 

drawings and project manual containing detailed 

specifications and other supporting documents as approved 

by the reviewing authority. 

"Contact visiting" means a space where inmates and visitors 

at a minimum may pass papers to one another. 

"Control room" means a space enclosed by secure walls, 

secure roof or secure ceiling, and secure floor from which a 

jail officer may supervise inmates and control security 

systems in a portion of the jail, such as locks, doors, etc. 

"Control station" means a space not enclosed by security 

walls, roof or ceiling, and floor from which a jail officer may 

supervise inmates and control security systems in a portion of 

the jail, such as locks, doors, etc. 

"Correctional facility" means the same as "local correctional 

facility." 

"Dayroom" means a secure area contiguous to an inmate 

sleeping (cells or rooms) area, with controlled access from the 

inmate sleeping area, to which inmates may be admitted for 

daytime activities. 

"Department" means the Department of Corrections. 

"Design capacity" means the maximum number of general 

beds for which the facility is designed and constructed based 

on the space requirements in this chapter as established by the 

Board of Corrections.  

"Direct supervision" means a specific style of management 

where correctional officers are stationed full time inside the 

dayroom rather than solely observing inmate activity from 

within secure control points. Within this concept, services are 

generally brought to the inmate rather than taking the inmate 

to the service. 

"Direct visual observation" means direct line of sight by a 

correctional officer, not CCTV. 

"Dormitory" means an area designed for accommodating 

five or more inmates and used to house minimum custody and 

community custody inmates.  



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 12 Virginia Register of Regulations February 5, 2018 

1174 

"Encapsulation" means the same as "secure encapsulation." 

"Expansion" means to add an area of new construction to an 

existing local correctional facility by constructing additional 

areas. 

"Facility" means a jail or lockup including all associated 

buildings and site. 

"50% completion" (of construction value) means the day the 

project reaches the 50% point between the issuance of a 

building construction permit and the issuance of the final 

certificate of occupancy.  

"General population housing" means maximum, medium, 

minimum, and community custody housing. General 

population excludes special purpose cells and intake or 

booking. 

"Glazing" means any infill material, usually transparent or 

translucent glass, polycarbonate or combination thereof, and 

related components, used in a framed assembly. 

"Holding" means a space or room designed for temporary 

containment of detainees or inmates while awaiting actions 

such as transfer, transportation, release, etc. Holding of this 

nature usually does not exceed four hours. 

"Housing unit" means a group of single person cells, multi-

occupancy cells, or group of such cells with a common 

dayroom, dormitory, intake, special purpose, or classification 

[ areas area ] that provide accommodations for sleeping, 

approved personal effects, and personal hygiene.  

"IMC" means intermediate metal conduit.  

"Indirect supervision" means supervision method other than 

direct supervision. 

"Inmate" means any person committed to a jail by a legal 

commitment document. 

"Inmate accessible" means areas an inmate occupies or 

utilizes inside the secure perimeter, including all sally ports.  

"Intake" means a cell, group of cells, and open seating 

within a jail designed to hold one or more persons while 

awaiting processing, booking, classification, or [ assignment ] 

to the general housing units after booking. Intake holding 

time does not usually exceed 72 hours. Cells holding more 

than one person are frequently referred to as group holding. 

"Interior partition" means a wall within the secure perimeter, 

which is not required to be a perimeter security wall or an 

interior security wall. 

"Interior security walls" means walls within but not a part of 

a secure perimeter that are utilized to restrict movement 

within the secure area, including housing units, dormitories, 

corridors, inmate activity areas, intake area, kitchen, laundry, 

and program areas.  

"Jail" means the same as "local correctional facility." 

"LIDS" means LIDS-VACORIS, the Compensation Board's 

inmate data system. 

"Life safety operations" means the function of certain 

electrical, mechanical, and other building equipment provided 

for the purpose of ensuring the life, health, and safety of 

building occupants in the case of an emergency situation.  

"Light" means the same as "artificial [ light" ] or [ " ] natural 

light." 

"Local correctional facility" means any jail, jail farm, or 

other place used for the detention or incarceration of adult 

inmates, excluding a lockup, which is owned, maintained, or 

operated by, or under contract with, any political subdivision 

or combination of political subdivisions of the 

Commonwealth. This shall also include facilities operated by 

a private entity under contract with a regional jail authority 

under provision of § 53.1-71.1 [ of the Code of Virginia ]. 

"Locality" means a county or city. 

"Lockup" means a facility, separate from a jail facility, 

operated by or for a local government for detention of persons 

for a short period of time as stated in 6VAC15-40-10. 

"Master control" means the principal secure room of the 

entire facility where the control of safety and security of the 

jail through electronic equipment for surveillance, 

communication, fire and smoke detection, and emergency 

functions. This room is enclosed by walls, roof or ceiling, 

[ and ] floor assemblies meeting secure perimeter 

requirements as well as having opening protectives meeting 

ASTM Grade 1 requirements. This room includes control of 

the entrances to the jail through the secure perimeter and 

capability of control of ingress and egress to cells, dayrooms, 

corridors, and other spaces within the entire jail. 

"Maximum custody inmates" means persons who cannot be 

allowed to mingle physically with other inmates without close 

supervision, normally because of assaultive and aggressive 

behavior or high escape risk.  

"Medium custody inmates" means those persons who 

require a moderate level of staff supervision and secure 

accommodations against escape, but who can be allowed to 

participate in group activities. 

"Mezzanine" means the same as "cell tier." 

"Minimum custody inmates" means those inmates classified 

as not dangerous or likely to escape, but who are of sufficient 

concern to require a minimum level of supervision.  

"Minor renovation project" means renovation project that 

does not result in an increase in beds and has an estimated 

cost of less than $1 million. 

"Multiple occupancy cell" means a cell designed for two, 

three, or four inmates. 
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"Natural light" means light provided by sunlight as viewed 

from within a housing unit. 

"Needs assessment" means an evaluation of trends and 

factors at the local or regional level affecting current and 

future facility needs, and the assessment of resources 

available to meet such needs. The needs assessment is used as 

the basis for a request for reimbursement of local correctional 

facility construction costs.  

"New construction" means to build, expand, or replace a 

local correctional facility. 

"Operating capacity" means the same as "design capacity." 

"Owner" means the locality, localities, or jail authority 

responsible for making decisions about the project. 

"Owner's agent" means the person or firm designated by an 

owner to make decisions concerning the project. 

"Per inmate" or "per bed" means for each general population 

bed. 

"Piping" means pipes associated with heating, cooling, 

condensate, domestic water, gas, steam, sewer, storm drain, 

roof drain, and fire protection. 

"Planning study" means a document providing the 

anticipated operating program, staffing, operating costs, 

building design, and cost for construction, expansion, or 

renovation of a local correctional facility that is used as the 

basis for a request for funding of project costs for 

reimbursement and initial determination of compliance with 

this chapter. 

"PREA" means the Prison Rape Elimination Act (Public 

Law 108-79). 

"Project" means new construction, renovation, or expansion 

of a regional or local jail correctional facility. This includes 

planning, design, and construction. 

"Public" means all persons with the exception of 

professional visitors, such as legal, clergy, counselors, 

pretrial, probation, parole, and law enforcement, and others as 

authorized by the local correctional facility. 

"Regional jail" means, for purposes of state reimbursement 

for construction costs, those jails that meet the criteria set 

forth in §§ 53.1-81, 53.1-82 and 53.1-95.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, [ and any ] jail having at least three member 

localities that was created before February 1, 1993, or any jail 

construction project recommended for approval by the Board 

of Corrections as a regional jail prior to February 1, 1993. For 

the purposes of this term, "created" means localities having 

submitted resolutions of local governing bodies or 

cooperative agreements, and "cooperative agreements" means 

a formal contract between those jurisdictions participating in 

a regional jail that specifies their mutual financial and legal 

obligations relating to the ownership, administration, and 

maintenance of the jail. 

"Renovation" means the alteration or other modification of 

an existing local correctional facility or piece of equipment 

for the purpose of modernizing or changing the use or 

capability of such local correctional facility or equipment. 

Renovation does not include work on or repair or replacement 

of any part of an existing local correctional facility or 

equipment, which may be generally associated with normal 

wear and tear or included in routine maintenance. Renovation 

renders the facility, item, or area in compliance with this 

chapter and superior to the original. 

"Repair" means the correction of deficiencies in a local 

correctional facility or of equipment, which have either been 

damaged or worn by use but which can be economically 

returned to service without replacement. 

"Replacement" means the construction of a local 

correctional facility in place of a like local correctional 

facility or the purchasing of like equipment to replace 

equipment that has been so damaged or has outlived its useful 

life that it cannot be economically renovated or repaired. 

"Reviewing authority" means the representatives of the 

Department of Corrections or the Department of Criminal 

Justice Services responsible for reviewing required 

documents and attending required meetings and whose 

responsibility it is to interpret and determine compliance with 

this chapter. 

"Sally port" means a secure vestibule constructed of secure 

walls, secure ceiling, and secure floor with two or more 

interlocking, secure doors. Fixtures within sally ports shall be 

maximum security. 

"Secure," as relates to construction, means walls, floors, 

ceilings or roofs, doors, and windows are constructed in 

accordance with the secure construction requirements of this 

chapter. 

"Secure area" means all spaces located within the secure 

perimeter. (See secure perimeter).  

"Secure encapsulation" means protect against vandalism or 

damage with concrete, masonry, steel, or other approved 

secure construction meeting the requirements of this chapter. 

"Secure enclosure" means secure walls, secure floors, and 

secure roof or secure ceiling surrounding a space or area. 

[ "Secure perimeter" means the outer limits of a jail or 

lockup where walls, floor, roof, and ceiling, constructed in 

accordance with the requirements of this chapter, are used to 

prevent egress by inmates or ingress by unauthorized persons 

or contraband. ] 

"Security cap" means secure protection of the top of a room 

or space with concrete, sheet metal, or security ceiling as 
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specified in this chapter to complete the secure encapsulation 

of the room or space. 

[ "Secure perimeter" means the outer limits of a jail or 

lockup where walls, floor, roof, and ceiling, constructed in 

accordance with the requirements of this chapter, are used to 

prevent egress by inmates or ingress by unauthorized persons 

or contraband. ] 

"Special purpose cells" means cells within the secure 

perimeter that include isolation, segregation, medical, 

protective custody, or other special use cells. 

"State responsible inmates" means those inmates with felony 

sentences and sentenced to the custody of the Department of 

Corrections in accordance with § 53.1-20 of the Code of 

Virginia or other applicable state law. 

"Supervision" means the act or process of performing 

responsible care over inmates. 

"Support services areas" means all areas within the facility 

excluding inmate housing units. Also known as core or core 

space. 

"Sustainable design and construction initiatives" means 

balancing economic, environmental, and equity 

considerations by reducing negative environmental impacts of 

site selection and development, optimizing the energy and 

water performance of the building and site, using 

environmentally sensitive building materials, and protecting 

the health and comfort of building occupants. Sustainable 

design and construction initiatives are benchmarked by third-

party rating systems such as LEED or Green Globes or by 

documenting compliance with ASHRAE 189.1 or the 

International Green Construction Code.  

"Tier" means the same as "cell tier." 

"Value management analysis" or "VMA" means an analysis 

of facility design for the purpose of satisfying required 

function, and cost effectiveness, while providing the best 

quality and efficiency for the project. 

"Value management team" means a team of people 

independent from the owner or the owner's A/E headed by a 

certified value specialist and a combination of the following 

disciplines based on phase and nature of the project: 

architecture, security, civil or site engineering, mechanical 

and electrical engineering, and cost estimator. 

"Vehicular sally port" means a drive-in or drive-through 

made secure preferably by remotely controlled electrically 

operated interlocking doors for entrance and exit. It is 

normally located in close proximity to the facility intake.  

6VAC15-81-30. (Reserved.) 

6VAC15-81-40. Expansions or renovations. 

Expansions or renovations to any facility shall conform to 

the requirements of this chapter for new construction without 

requiring the existing portion of the facility to comply with all 

requirements of this chapter. Exception: Those areas in an 

existing facility that are impacted by an expansion (such as 

the adding of bedspace impacting the need for more space in 

the kitchen, visiting, recreation, etc. if these services are not 

provided for in the expansion) may be required to be 

upgraded. The maximum upgrade required would be to 

provide additional space that would be required for the 

number of people for whom new bedspace is being built. 

6VAC15-81-50. Localities with multiple facilities. 

For localities with jail facilities having multiple facilities, 

compliance with this chapter shall be determined based on all 

facilities as a whole as well as the needs and functions of each 

individual facility.  

6VAC15-81-60. Review and inspections. 

Review of documents by the reviewing authority, fire 

official, local building official, and other officials or agencies 

shall be required. These reviews are performed at the 

preliminary and construction document stages. A final 

inspection shall be performed and documented in writing by 

all officials and agencies involved in the review process. The 

reviewing authority's review and inspections shall be limited 

to those areas within the scope of the project.  

6VAC15-81-70. Conflict between this chapter and 

building codes or other standards. 

In the event of a conflict between this chapter and building 

codes or other standards, the most restrictive requirement 

shall apply.  

6VAC15-81-80. Compliance. 

A. The facility shall be designed and constructed in 

accordance with this chapter. It shall be the responsibility of 

every person who performs work regulated by this chapter, 

including those involved with planning, design, construction, 

renovation, or installation of a structure or equipment, to 

comply with this chapter. Review or inspection by the 

reviewing authority does not relieve the owners or their 

agents from the requirement to comply with this chapter.  

B. Definitions in this chapter are a part of the requirements 

of this chapter.  

C. Any agreement entered into by the owner to design or 

construct a local correctional facility shall include the 

requirement to comply with this chapter. This compliance 

shall be noted on the construction documents. 

6VAC15-81-90. Modifications. 

A. Any request for modification shall be submitted, separate 

from the planning study, in the form of a request and 

resolution from the jail authority or board, city council [ , ] or 

board of supervisors to the reviewing authority sufficiently in 

advance of the deadline for submission to the Board of 
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Corrections to be reviewed, analyzed, and included in the 

desired Board of Corrections meeting agenda. The request for 

modification shall include a detailed analysis supported by 

documentation and historical data to justify the request. 

B. A staff analysis shall be prepared by the reviewing 

authority for each modification request. The staff analysis 

shall include the section of this chapter being modified, an 

analysis to determine whether or not the modification meets 

the intent of the section being modified, an analysis of 

whether the modification has been granted in the past or has 

any ramifications that might affect current or future jail 

construction or security, and the analysis shall include a staff 

recommendation to the board. 

C. Upon consideration, the board may grant modifications to 

any of the provisions of this chapter provided the spirit and 

intent of this chapter is observed and inmate, staff, and public 

welfare, safety, and security are not compromised. The board 

has the ultimate responsibility to grant modifications to this 

chapter and shall not be bound by the position of staff and 

shall also consider information provided by the locality or 

localities. The final decision of the board on any modification 

shall be recorded in board minutes.  

Part II 

Submission of a Community Based Corrections Plan 

Article 1 

General 

6VAC15-81-100. Document submission schedule and 

method. 

A. Prior to preparation of a community based corrections 

plan (CBCP) as required by § 53.1-82.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, any city or county or combination thereof intending 

to seek reimbursement for a jail project shall contact the 

Department of Corrections, Compliance, Certification, and 

Accreditation Unit to have a meeting to discuss the 

requirement of completing a CBCP.  

B. All documents in this section shall be submitted to the 

department in accordance with the budgeting time schedule as 

outlined in § 53.1-82.3 of the Code of Virginia or the 

appropriation act. 

C. Documents shall be as follows: 

1. Needs assessment. Four paper copies and one electronic 

copy of the community based corrections plan, prepared in 

accordance with this article, shall be submitted to the 

Department of Corrections, Compliance, Certification, and 

Accreditation Unit. A needs assessment is not required for 

projects that do not increase bed capacity and for which the 

owner does not seek state reimbursement for construction, 

staffing, or operating cost. 

2. Planning study. Three paper copies and one electronic 

copy of the planning study, prepared in accordance with 

this article, shall be submitted to Department of 

Corrections, Compliance, Certification, and Accreditation 

Unit. 

3. Minor renovation project. Three paper copies and one 

electronic copy of minor renovation project information 

prepared in accordance with 6VAC15-81-280 and 

6VAC15-81-290 shall be submitted to Department of 

Corrections, Compliance, Certification, and Accreditation 

Unit. A needs assessment is not required for minor 

renovation projects that do not increase capacity. 

4. Modifications. Three paper copies and one electronic 

copy of minor renovation project information prepared in 

accordance with 6VAC15-81-280 and 6VAC15-81-290 

shall be submitted to Department of Corrections, 

Compliance, Certification, and Accreditation Unit. 

5. Resolution and cooperative service agreement. Two 

paper copies and one electronic copy of minor renovation 

project information prepared in accordance with 6VAC15-

81-280 and 6VAC15-81-290 shall be submitted to 

Department of Corrections, Compliance, Certification, and 

Accreditation Unit. 

An executed cooperative service agreement, where 

applicable, and resolution shall be submitted to the 

reviewing authority prior to board consideration of the 

project. The owner shall submit the following to the 

Department of Corrections, Compliance, Certification, and 

Accreditation Unit: 

a. Single locality facility. An ordinance or resolution of 

the local governing body requesting reimbursement 

funding [ ,. ]  

b. Multijurisdictional facility not qualifying for regional 

jail status reimbursement pursuant to § 53.1-81 of the 

Code of Virginia. A joint resolution of or individual 

resolutions from the local governing bodies requesting 

reimbursement funding. 

c. Regional jail board or jail authority facility. Pursuant 

to § 53.1-81, a joint resolution of or individual 

resolutions from the governing bodies of the established 

regional jail board or a resolution from the regional jail 

authority requesting reimbursement funding and a 

cooperative service agreement detailing the financial and 

operational responsibilities of the participating 

jurisdictions or jail authority. 

6. Financing method. If the project is being financed, 

detailed information on the financing and financing 

method shall be provided to the Treasury Board in 

accordance with its requirements.  

[ 7. ] The reviewing authority shall verify documentation has 

been received by required deadlines and are correct, and 

advise the locality of any errors or discrepancies in their 

submittal.  
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6VAC15-81-110. Community based corrections plan 

requirement. 

An owner requesting reimbursement for new construction, 

expansion, or renovation, staffing, or operating cost of a jail 

project that results in a net increase of available beds shall 

prepare and submit for approval a community based 

corrections plan.  

6VAC15-81-120. Local responsibility for community 

based corrections plan. 

A. The community based corrections plan shall be 

developed by the owner or owners, or an agent of the owner 

or owners. Pursuant to § 9.1-180 of the Code of Virginia, the 

community criminal justice board (CCJB) shall review the 

findings and recommendations of the needs assessment 

component of the community based corrections plan.  

B. Oversight and amendment by CCJB is limited to the 

following situations: 

1. Where a multijurisdictional CCJB, established in 

accordance with the provisions of § 9.1-178 of the Code of 

Virginia, has membership of the governing bodies of 

jurisdictions not involved in the construction, expansion, or 

renovation of the regional jail project, a subcommittee 

shall be established comprised of the required members of 

the CCJB representing the participating jurisdictions and 

their governing bodies.  

2. In those projects in which more than one locality is 

involved and each locality has a separate CCJB or the 

localities are members of different multijurisdictional 

CCJBs, a subcommittee shall be established comprised of 

the required members of the CCJB representing the 

participating jurisdictions and their governing bodies.  

6VAC15-81-130. Community based corrections plan 

contents. 

A community based corrections plan includes: 

1. A needs assessment for projects increasing rated 

capacity by more than 24 beds or more than 40% of rated 

capacity, whichever is less per 6VAC16-81-40 through 

6VAC15-81-90. 

2. A planning study per 6VAC16-81-40 through 6VAC15-

81-90. 

6VAC15-81-140. Localities not operating a jail. 

For a locality not currently operating a jail, the needs 

assessment portion of the community based corrections plan 

shall be based on how the locality is managing its current 

inmate population through utilization of other local 

correctional facilities and community based alternative 

programs and services. Localities requesting reimbursement 

for new single jurisdiction jail or regional jail construction 

must comply with current appropriation act language.  

Article 2 

Contents of the Community Based Corrections Plan 

6VAC15-81-150. Needs assessment. 

A. The needs assessment is an evaluation of trends and 

factors at the local or regional level affecting current and 

future facility needs, and the assessment of resources 

available to meet such needs that is used as the basis for a 

request for reimbursement of local correctional facility 

construction costs.  

B. The needs assessment shall address each of the elements 

of 6VAC15-81-160 through 6VAC15-81-260.  

6VAC15-81-160. Funding priority. 

The needs assessment shall include a statement identifying 

which Board of Corrections funding priority or priorities the 

plan and jail project addresses, per 6VAC15-81-320.  

6VAC15-81-170. Analysis of criminal justice and inmate 

population data. 

A. The needs assessment shall include an analysis of 

criminal justice and inmate population data as required by this 

chapter.  

B. In order to evaluate the impact of the various criminal 

justice components on the jail population, the following data 

shall be provided for each locality participating in the needs 

assessment for the most recent five calendar years. 

1. A table and an analysis of annual trends for the total 

adult arrests for Part A and B offenses from the latest 

edition of "Crime in Virginia" published by the Virginia 

State Police. 

2. A table and an analysis of annual trends [ fort for the ] 

total adult arrests currently defined as "On View," "Taken 

into Custody," and "Summonses" and a comparison of 

these totals to those presented in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection. This data is available from the Research Unit 

of the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services. 

3. A table and an analysis of annual trends for process data 

from the Supreme Court of Virginia from the Magistrate 

Information System including the total number of: 

a. Bonds. 

b. Commitment orders - bail. 

(1) Felony. 

(a) Secured. 

(b) Unsecured. 

(c) Recognizance. 

(d) Held without bail. 

(e) Release by judicial officer to custody of responsible 

person or when accused is no longer intoxicated. 
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(2) Misdemeanor. 

(a) Secured. 

(b) Unsecured. 

(c) Recognizance. 

(d) Held without bail. 

(e) Release by judicial officer to custody of responsible 

person or when accused is no longer intoxicated. 

(3) Release orders.  

4. A table and an analysis of annual trends for data from 

the State Compensation Board Local Inmate Data System 

(LIDS). 

a. Total new "Pretrial Monthly Commitments" by month 

and by felony, and misdemeanor or ordinance violators 

for those awaiting trial. This report is available on the 

State Compensation Board website under "LIDS, the 

Forms Maintenance Menu" for individual jails or from 

any local pretrial services agency that currently serves 

the jail or jails in question. 

b. Comparison and analysis of the total number of new 

"Pretrial Monthly Commitments" in subdivision 4 a of 

this subsection, with the total "Commitment Orders" in 

subdivision 3 b of this subsection. 

c. A separate report of the total number of "Pretrial 

Commitments" in subdivision 4 a of this subsection 

above that were released for the following LIDS "Reason 

Release Codes": 

(1) 19 - To bond. 

(2) 49 - To pretrial service program. 

d. Report of the total annual commitments "Serving 

Sentence" separately by misdemeanor and felony, for the 

following LIDS "Reason Confined Codes": 

(1) 20 - Serving sentence. 

(2) 29 - Weekend or nonconsecutive days. 

(3) 26 - Work release. 

e. Reports of the admissions in subdivision 4 d of this 

subsection, report the number released for the following 

LIDS "Release Reason": 

(1) 16 - Time served. 

(2) 33 - To Department of Corrections. 

(3) 39 - Sentence served. 

5. A table and an analysis of total average monthly adult 

ADP for the most recent 60 months by felony, 

misdemeanor, and ordinance violation categories for local 

responsible populations and for felony state responsible 

populations. Data is available from the State Compensation 

Board website under LIDS.  

6. A table and an analysis of annual trends for 

identification of the following subpopulations separately: 

a. The "overflow" population being held in another jail or 

jails. 

b. The ADP help for: 

(1) Federal authorities. 

(2) Out-of-state authorities (non-state warrant). 

(3) Other localities including payment agreements, 

courtesy holds for other localities, and exchange 

agreements. This does not include prisoners held in 

accordance with regional jail service agreements or 

jointly operated facilities. 

(4) State responsible inmates held by agreement, jail 

contract bed or JCB or work release. 

c. Localities currently without facilities can calculate the 

average daily population from total prisoner days 

reported for prisoners held for their locality by another 

jail or jails (use Federal Information Processing System 

Code in LIDS for specific locality or localities involved). 

7. A table and an analysis of annual trends for total 

placements by felony and misdemeanor, where applicable, 

for the following services for each jurisdiction in the 

project served by the following agencies: 

a. Agency. 

(1) Pretrial service agency. 

(2) Community based probation services agency. 

(3) State adult probation and parole district office 

(probation cases only). 

(4) Drug courts. 

b. For pretrial and local community based probation 

services, the average daily caseload under supervision 

based on total supervision days. 

c. For all other programs, the average of the total 

population under active supervision at the beginning and 

the end of the calendar or fiscal year. 

d. For all programs and services: 

(1) The total annual placements, where applicable, for 

misdemeanors and felony defendants and inmates. 

(2) A description of each program including fiscal agent, 

administration and management, staffing, and annual 

budget or operating costs. 
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6VAC15-81-180. Assessment of existing resources. 

A. The needs assessment shall include an assessment of 

existing resources, including existing local correctional 

facilities, any lockups or other community based facilities that 

reduce the demand on jail space needs, and all pretrial and 

post-disposition alternatives, programs, and services.  

B. The information provided pursuant to subsection A of 

this section shall include a description of the existing jail or 

jails in local lockups and correctional facilities that impact the 

project including: 

1. The date of construction and dates of subsequent 

renovations or expansions [ ;. ] 

 

2. The current rated capacity as established by the 

Department of Corrections [ ;. ]  

3. A table indicating the total number of housing units 

including cell blocks, dormitories, and other housing units 

used for general population inmates. The tables for existing 

facilities shall be set up similar to the example table in 

subdivision 4 of this subsection. 

4. A table indicating the design capacity and the total 

number of beds for each of the housing areas. The 

description and calculation of the existing facility's needs 

shall be consistent for each facility. The tables for the 

existing facility shall be set up using the following 

examples: 

 

Example table for subdivisions 3 and 4 of this subsection. 

Floor 

Unit 

name 

Unit 

type 

#Cells/dorm 

per unit 

DOC 

op. 

cap. 

Unit op. cap. 

x sq. ft. 

Dayroom op. 

cap. x sq. ft. 

#Perm. 

beds per 

unit 

Sq. ft. 

per 

bed 

Dayroom 

sq. ft./bed 

1 

Block 

A Cell 6 6 6x70=420 6x35=210 6x2=12 35.0 17.5 

5. A table indicating the existing square footage available per inmate in each cell, dormitory, and dayroom. 

Example table for subdivision 5 of this subsection. 

Unit Name 

Security/Custody 

Level 

Pop. on 

(Date) 

Total sq. ft. per 

person in unit 

Total sq. ft. per 

person in dayroom 

Total Aggr. sq. ft. per 

inmate 

Cell A Med 16 26.3 13.1 39.4 

6. The total number, type, and capacity of special purpose 

areas. 

7. A statement of the number of stories and aggregate floor 

space in the facility. 

8. A statement about the general condition of the facility 

and the feasibility of continued future use and, if 

applicable, the status of the action plan to correct physical 

plant deficiencies identified in the latest inspection or 

certification audit report. 

9. A description and table depicting administrative, 

operating, and inmate program space and a description of 

the impact of the limitations that lack of space, inadequate 

space, or the design of the facility has on administration, 

operations, and security. 

10. Where applicable, the impact that the holding of 

juveniles has on the design and operation of the facility. 

11. A copy of the most current department inspection 

report for life, health, and safety and a copy of the most 

current department certification audit shall be submitted.  

12. If the facility is to remain open as a jail, a jail condition 

assessment on major buildings and building systems shall 

be performed by a licensed A/E, and costs associated with 

necessary upgrades shall be provided. The cost of staffing 

and documentation of staff efficiency for continued 

operation shall also be provided. Analysis of the condition 

assessment shall be based on health safety issues, 

excessive maintenance costs, excessive repair costs, 

excessive staffing due to design, limited capacity, program 

space, and distance to other facilities associated with a 

regional jail. 

C. The needs assessment shall include for the last fiscal 

year, a description of each program and a data table providing 

the number of placements, the average daily population, and 

where applicable, the annual number of bed days saved by 

each jail-based program, and a plan to increase the utilization 

of the impact of the various criminal justice components on 

the jail population to include: 

1. Jail work force. 

2. Work release. 

3. Home or electronic incarceration. 
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4. Weekend sentencing work options. 

6VAC15-81-190. Analysis of existing criminal justice 

practices. 

A. The needs assessment shall include an analysis of 

existing criminal justice practices and the impact they have on 

the use of existing and the need for future jail space, 

including arrest, bail, pretrial alternatives, commitments, 

sentencing practices, post-trial alternatives, Department of 

Corrections probation and parole violators, and state 

responsible felony inmate populations. 

B. A description of the effect of current magistrate; court; 

public defender; and prosecutorial case management 

practices, policies, and procedures on the length of stay in 

jail. Included shall be a plan to improve criminal justice 

services, to include the staff and other resources necessary to 

effect a reduction in pretrial and post-dispositional length of 

stay in jail. Strategies to improve these practices and services 

shall be included and shall address such factors as: 

1. The current use of summonses issued by law-

enforcement agencies in lieu of arrest in certain criminal 

misdemeanor offences. 

2. The current use of unsecured bond or pretrial services by 

magistrates. 

3. Video arraignment in lieu of transportation to court. 

4. Specifically for regional projects. 

a. Cross court arraignments for confined defendants 

awaiting trial. 

b. The need and solutions for [ short term short-term ] 

holding of defendants following arrest. 

c. An assessment of travel distance and times to a 

proposed regional facility. 

d. Where applicable, a collocated juvenile detention 

facility. 

6VAC15-81-200. Recommended resources to improve or 

expand existing and establish new alternatives. 

The needs assessment shall include recommended resources, 

including the necessary funding, necessary to improve or 

expand existing and establish new pretrial and post-

disposition alternatives. 

6VAC15-81-210. Impact from the loss of local jails. 

The needs assessment shall include an examination of 

transportation costs, costs associated with closing of existing 

facilities, and the impact that the loss of local jails will have 

on the operation of local sheriff's offices and law-enforcement 

departments related to the current and future need for: 

1. Lockups. 

2. Short-term holding. 

3. Court holding. 

4. Staff availability for law-enforcement activities. 

6VAC15-81-220. Specific jail population forecast. 

A. The needs assessment shall include a forecast of the 

future total average daily population as follows:  

1. A table of data utilized shall be included in the forecast 

section and shall be based on a minimum of 60 monthly 

data points including a description of the timeframes and 

the unit of analysis. 

2. A graph that plots the local responsible inmate and state 

responsible inmate population separately and a table with 

the calculation of the percent local responsible and state 

responsible population during the period of analysis 

presented in the forecast data base. 

3. A calculation of the average percent of the local 

responsible inmates and state responsible inmates in the 

total jail population including state responsible inmates 

greater than 90 days as reported by State Compensation 

Board. 

4. The results of the preliminary population data analysis 

such as trends and correlation structure. 

5. A presentation of three to five forecasts (the 

specification, parameters, and diagnostic information from 

each model) selected from any of the following models: 

a. Linear regression analysis. 

b. Exponential smoothing models. 

c. Autoregressive integrated moving average models. 

d. Structural forecasting models (multiple regression 

analysis). 

e. Other forecasting models preapproved by the 

reviewing authority. 

6. The forecast shall exclude the ADP of detainees: 

a. Held for other localities (includes those held for 

payment, by courtesy, or for exchange) for jurisdictions 

not participating in a jointly operated or regional jail, or 

held in a single jurisdiction jail. 

b. Held for federal authorities.  

c. Contract inmates. 

d. Held for out-of-state authorities (non-state warrant). 

B. The needs assessment shall include a forecast consisting 

of:  

1. A year-by-year forecast based on the projected year of 

occupancy plus a minimum of 10 years. 

2. A test of the model selected demonstrating its ability to 

forecast the most recent year's population. 
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3. The presentation of a forecast based on one of the 

models and the discussion of why it was selected for the 

jail project. 

4. An additional 10-year estimate in yearly increments 

(based on the year of occupancy plus 20 years) for use in 

estimating the facility support service areas needs in the 

planning study. For new facilities if future expansion is 

anticipated, consideration shall be given to increasing 

support services areas by 50% to accommodate future 

expansion. 

C. The needs assessment shall include the impact of state 

responsible prisoner population in local jails for each of the 

last five calendar or fiscal years. 

1. The year-to-year growth trend for the state responsible 

felon population.  

2. The percentage of the total for which state responsible 

population accounted. 

3. The mean, median, and mode state responsible 

population. 

D. The needs assessment shall include a report for the last 

calendar or fiscal year: 

1. Separately, the number of inmates committed to jail 

solely for a probation violation (confinement awaiting 

probation revocation hearing) or for a parole violation 

(confinement awaiting parole revocation hearing). 

2. The total prisoner days and a calculation of the ADP, 

separately, for each of the two confinement categories 

listed in subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

3. The total prisoner days or monthly ADP for all state 

responsible felon inmates calculated from the date of final 

sentencing to release or transfer to the Department of 

Corrections. 

6VAC15-81-230. Analysis of defendant or inmate 

management practices. 

A. The needs assessment shall include an analysis of the 

effect that the defendant or inmate management practices of 

law enforcement, magistrate, court, public defense, 

prosecution, local and state pretrial and post-trial alternative 

programs and the Department of Corrections have had on 

admissions to, releases from, and length of stay in jail.  

B. The needs assessment shall include recommendations and 

agreements to eliminate or reduce the impact on jail bed 

space needs and to improve the practices of these services, 

including procedural changes, staffing, and the budget 

resources necessary to effect or implement these changes. 

6VAC15-81-240. Program or procedural strategies for 

reducing the jail population forecast. 

The needs assessment shall include a presentation of the 

program or procedural strategies for reducing the jail 

population forecast, which shall be based on strategies for the 

expansion of existing and the establishment of new programs 

designed to divert misdemeanant and felon defendants and 

inmates detained in jail awaiting trial or actively serving 

sentences or reducing their lengths of stay. The strategies 

shall include a description of the proposed services, costs for 

implementing or expanding services, and, if possible, staff 

and other resources necessary to implement expanded or new 

programs. Strategies to be considered include: 

1. Mental health diversion or alternative programs, 

services, or facilities. 

2. Development or enhancement of a pretrial services 

agency. 

3. Home or electronic incarceration or monitoring.  

4. Programs that divert defendants from jail, prosecution, 

or conviction who have been charged with offenses for 

which they can receive a sentence to jail. 

5. A program that reduces the awaiting trial length of stay 

through court-approved credit for voluntary work on public 

property by any adult confined in jail awaiting disposition 

for a nonviolent misdemeanor or felony offense. 

6. Development of or enhancement of local community 

based probation services for local responsible 

misdemeanant and felon inmates placed on probation 

following a sentence of 12 months or less or following a 

deferred proceeding. 

7. Jail based home electronic incarceration program for 

inmates actively serving sentence in jail. Sentenced 

inmates can be confined at home in lieu of being held in 

jail. 

8. A jail based public work force program that reduces the 

post-disposition length of stay through court approved 

credit for voluntary work on public property by any adult 

confined in jail serving a sentence for a misdemeanor. 

9. A state or local day reporting center that will divert 

probation and parole violators from jail. 

6VAC15-81-250. Proposed project. 

A. The needs assessment shall include a table depicting the 

current jail housing and special purpose spaces in accordance 

with construction standards at the time that it was built that 

will be in continued use for the proposed project and the 

designated spaces proposed for the new construction. 

B. The needs assessment shall include the recommended 

size of the proposed facility including the total number of 

cells, dormitories, or housing units necessary for general 
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population, and community custody and special purpose 

housing, if applicable, special purpose, and short population 

management. This is the number to be used as the "relative 

size" of the proposed facility as required by 6VAC15-81-290. 

C. The needs assessment shall include the proposed facility 

size based on future estimates and the need for management 

bed space in accordance with the requirements for design and 

construction set out in this chapter. Provide information in 

[ a ] table [ as ] shown in the example table in this section. 

Bed Distribution: Existing or Proposed 

Existing Jail Special 

Purpose 

Temporary 

Housing 

  Rated 

Capacity 

Maximum Medium Minimum Community 

Custody 

    

Existing Jail               

                

Subtotal               

New Facility     

New Facility               

Total     

Grand Total               

Percentage 

Distribution 

              

6VAC15-81-260. Conclusions and recommendations. 

The needs assessment shall include conclusions and 

recommendations for implementation or improvement of 

programs and services as a part of the recommended jail 

project. 

6VAC15-81-270. Needs assessment review. 

A. The Department of Corrections and the Department of 

Criminal Justice Services shall review the needs assessment 

for compliance with this chapter and validation of the need 

for additional beds.  

B. The Department of Corrections shall provide to the Board 

of Corrections a report on its review of the needs assessment 

for compliance with this chapter and validation of the need 

for additional beds. 

C. The Board of Corrections shall evaluate the needs 

assessment to determine whether the assessment complies 

with this chapter and validates the need for the construction, 

expansion, or renovation project for which reimbursement is 

requested. The board may approve the needs assessment as 

presented. The board may require amendments or it may deny 

approval. 

6VAC15-81-280. Planning study requirements. 

A. An owner proposing a new construction, expansion, or 

renovation project shall prepare and submit for approval a 

planning study in accordance with this article with the 

exception of those projects qualifying as a minor renovation 

project as specified in 6VAC15-81-300. 

B. The owner or the owner's agent shall contact the 

Department of Corrections, Compliance, Certification, and 

Accreditation Unit for guidance in interpreting these 

procedures and requirements for planning study 

documentation submissions. 

C. The Department of Corrections shall not assist in the 

preparation of a planning study but may provide guidance and 

shall respond to requests for clarification of the requirements. 

6VAC15-81-290. Required information for planning 

study. 

A. The planning study shall include a statement 

acknowledging owners' and consultants' responsibilities for 

compliance with this chapter. 

B. The planning study shall include a statement of the 

planned general population design capacity, as well as the 

number and capacity of temporary holding and special 

purpose cells of the proposed facility as detailed and 

approved in the needs assessment. If the capacity detailed in 

the planning study deviates from the forecasted capacity need 

shown in the needs assessment, the proposed interim capacity 

of the facility and the plan showing future expansion for 

achieving the approved capacity shall be detailed. 

C. The planning study shall include, if applicable, a 

statement of rated capacity of the existing facility including 
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current capacity of housing for custody levels, temporary 

holding, and special purpose. 

D. The planning study shall include the operating program. 

1. For new facilities, a written operating program 

describing the operating procedures envisioned for key 

operational functions such as, but not limited to, intake or 

release, inmate escorting, movement to and from court, 

medical, visitation, food services, program delivery, use of 

proposed technology, and related services such as video 

arraignment and telemedicine. 

2. For renovations and expansions, any changes to the 

operating procedures shall be provided. 

E. The planning study shall include a facility planning 

program setting forth the project requirements for building 

space by function, size, and quantity and addressing any 

special design considerations unique to the project. 

F. The planning study shall include site data including site 

size, availability of utilities, and any other features of the site 

that would impact the facility design or cost.  

G. Localities considering a campus style design concept that 

is designed to require the inmates to walk outdoors to access 

multiple buildings on the same site shall submit a written 

statement to the Board of Corrections detailing the 

management concept, anticipated staffing levels, and cost 

savings anticipated in construction and operation of the 

facility by this concept. Included in this request shall be a list 

of any specific sections of this chapter or 6VAC15-40 that are 

in conflict with the proposed facility with this management 

style and for which modification requests will be submitted. 

Explanation shall be given of how the security of individual 

buildings is provided in accordance with this chapter. 

H. The owner shall submit a written statement to the Board 

of Corrections detailing the management concept (e.g., direct 

supervision, indirect supervision, hybrid, etc.) and anticipated 

operating procedures for the facility and anticipated staffing 

levels. Included with this statement shall be a request for 

modifications of specific sections that are in conflict with the 

proposed facility management style. 

I. The planning study shall include a written description of 

the project setting forth: 

1. The rationale for the building design. 

2. The type of construction proposed. 

3. A description of basic building materials and systems. 

(structural; heating, ventilation, or air conditioning; 

security; etc.). 

4. The size of the facility in gross square feet of floor area 

and size of facility in number of general population beds. 

5. Building code designations as to the intended use group 

or groups, building code occupant loads, occupant load per 

this chapter, and construction type or types. 

6. Provisions for future expansion based on findings in the 

facility program and needs assessment with number of 

beds, increased core, and support space. 

7. Descriptions of proposed technology and related 

services. 

8. Descriptions of sustainable design and construction 

initiatives proposed including energy conservation, 

resource management and environmental enhancements 

that can be benchmarked by third-party rating systems such 

as LEED, Green Globes, documenting compliance with 

ASHRAE 189.1, or the International Green Construction 

Code. Descriptions shall include benefits to the facility's 

users, environmental benefits and estimated payback 

[ time-frames timeframes ]. Initiates resulting in an 

increase in project costs shall be identified and include 

estimated costs. 

9. Identification of specific items or features that increase 

the project cost of a median or basic jail building. 

J. If the original jail is to remain open as a jail, the planning 

study shall include an assessment of the condition of the jail 

shall be performed by a licensed A/E, and estimated costs 

associated with necessary upgrades and phases shall be 

identified. The cost of staffing and documentation of staff 

efficiency for continued operation shall also be provided. 

Analysis of the condition assessment shall address life, 

health, and safety issues; excessive maintenance costs; 

excessive repair costs; excessive staffing due to design, 

limited capacity, program space, and distance to other 

facilities associated with a regional jail. 

K. The planning study shall include conceptual floor plan or 

plans at a scale not smaller than 1/16 inch per foot, with 

indication by distinct symbols, overlays, or other means to 

denote the secure perimeter of the facility.  

L. The planning study shall include conceptual building 

elevations at a scale not smaller than 1/16 inch per foot.  

M. The planning study shall include a conceptual site plan at 

a scale not smaller than one inch per 60 feet indicating 

existing and proposed buildings, vehicular circulation, 

parking, outdoor recreation facilities and areas, security 

fences or walls, and future building expansions.  

N. The planning study shall include a conceptual building 

section at a scale not less than 1/16 inch per foot if required to 

explain a multilevel building design.  

O. The planning study shall include an energy analysis 

containing comparative fuel costs and energy conservation 

investigations including construction cost increase and 

savings, payback energy efficiency initiatives and other 
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factors supporting the heating, ventilation, and air 

conditioning systems and fuel selection. 

P. The planning study shall include an analysis of staffing 

needs and a six-year operating budget [ costs cost ] for the 

proposed facility that includes: 

1. Security positions indicating type of inmate supervision 

system proposed, specific security posts required, and 

anticipated hours that each post will be manned.  

2. Nonsecurity staff functions and anticipated hours the 

posts will be manned. 

3. Operating budget costs, with items such as the cost of 

heating, ventilation, and air conditioning; utilities 

maintenance; food service; staff salaries; supplies; etc. 

Q. The planning study shall include a construction cost 

estimate with a detailed description of the basis on which the 

estimate was made: 

1. The construction cost estimate shall be based on the 

estimated cost as of the date of the planning study and shall 

also show the inflated values of the estimated costs as of 

the date of the midpoint of construction as proposed in the 

construction schedule. A chart shall be prepared in column 

format showing estimated building construction cost. Other 

costs as individual line items not included within the 

building envelope shall be added such as, but not limited to 

site development, professional fees, contingencies, permits, 

unusual site work, expanded core, and renovation. The 

estimate shall also show the sum of total project costs. 

2. When projects involve a combination of two or more 

project types (new construction, renovations, and 

expansions) the construction cost estimate shall clearly 

identify the costs associated with each project type. 

3. When items proposed exceed median construction costs, 

the construction cost estimate shall clearly identify such 

costs, and the need for such extraordinary work shall be 

fully explained and justified including the examination of 

alternative solutions. Examples of these items may include:  

a. Expanded facility support services. 

b. Unusual site conditions. 

c. Utility runs beyond the limits of construction. 

d. Virginia Department of Transportation turn lanes.  

e. Sustainable design and construction initiatives. 

4. When items proposed exceed median construction cost 

because of local requirement or desires, the work shall be 

specifically listed and the anticipated additional cost of 

each item identified. Portions of the project that are not 

eligible for funding reimbursement shall be clearly 

identified and costs tabulated separately. These items may 

include features such as: 

a. Enhancements to meet local zoning or architectural 

requirements. 

b. Stone facades. 

c. Site constraints because of locations. 

d. Slate roofs. 

e. Retail stores. 

f. Clock towers. 

g. Copper roof. 

h. Marble planters. 

i. Brick outdoor recreation yard enclosures. 

j. Loose equipment. 

k. Inmate transportation tunnels or other passageways to 

courthouse. 

5. In accordance with the Code of Virginia, only fixed 

equipment is reimbursable except in minimum security 

housing. Loose equipment or furnishings (i.e., those items 

not permanently or physically attached to the building) that 

are not reimbursable include the following items: 

a. Blankets. 

b. Chairs. 

c. Curtains. 

d. Desks. 

e. Fire extinguishers. 

f. Lamps. 

g. Mattresses and pillows. 

h. Medicines and medical equipment. 

i. Movable beds. 

j. Movable shelving. 

k. Office equipment and furnishings. 

l. Portable radios and communication devices. 

m. Pots, pans, and utensils. 

n. Small portable appliances. 

o. Smoke machines. 

p. Telephone handsets. 

q. Televisions. 

r. Uniforms. 

s. Vehicles and vehicle equipment. 
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6. Additional items that are not considered to be eligible 

for reimbursement as a construction cost include: 

a. Space for sheriff's functions unrelated to the operation 

of the jail. 

b. Magistrate's offices. 

c. Cost of financing or interest other than that calculated 

and provided by the Department of Treasury. 

d. Land already owned by the owner. 

e. Excess land not used exclusively for jail purposes. 

f. Owner's operating or administrative budget or 

expenses. 

g. Salary of [ employees an employee ] of any locality 

who is a participant in the jail project. 

h. Owner's advertising fees, master planning, consultants, 

authority or board expense, legal fees, or similar items 

unrelated to planning, design and construction of the jail. 

i. Selection of overly expensive design, building 

materials, or systems. 

j. Repair of existing facility. 

k. Oversized utility lines, central plants, or other similar 

services, onsite or off site, to provide service to facilities 

other than the jail now or in the future; if a portion of this 

is deemed reimbursable, it may be approved on a 

percentage of use by facility basis. 

7. Items deducted from project cost: 

a. Any money realized or planned to be realized from the 

sale or transfer of any building or real estate associated 

with existing jail in order to procure a site and 

construction of the new jail or expansion shall be 

reported and shall be deducted from the project cost. 

b. Any grants received for construction shall be reported 

and shall be deducted from the project cost. 

R. The planning study shall include a schedule for planning 

and construction of the project including at a minimum 

milestone dates for completion of design development 

drawings, completion of contract documents, start of 

construction (an executed construction contract and a notice 

to proceed), midpoint of construction, completion of 

construction, and projected date of occupancy.  

S. The planning study shall include any other information 

that would be of value to a reviewing agency or the reviewing 

authority.  

T. The planning study shall include a list of the sources of 

all allocated and projected construction or capital funds 

involved in the project. 

6VAC15-81-300. Minor renovation projects; required 

information. 

A. A locality or regional jail proposing a renovation project 

that does not increase design capacity and for which the cost 

is less than $5 million or higher if approved by the board shall 

submit the following in lieu of the planning study: 

1. Identification of the problem, need, or reason for the 

project.  

2. Description of current situation including: 

a. Analysis of existing facilities to include space 

utilization, condition, and capacity of facilities.  

b. Determination of existing and recommended facility 

procedures related to the need.  

c. Examination of existing and recommended alternatives 

to fulfill the need and the feasibility of implementing 

such alternatives. 

3. Detailed written description of the planned project 

including an analysis of any existing facility function that 

would be displaced, replaced, or enhanced by the proposed 

renovation.  

4. Statement of who will be responsible for designing, 

supervising, and accepting the project for the owner.  

5. Conceptual floor plans, at a scale not smaller than 1/16 

inch per foot, with indication by distinct symbols, overlays, 

or other means to denote work to be done.  

6. Analysis of the project impact on staffing.  

7. Analysis of the project impact on operating costs.  

8. Analysis of impact on the security of the facility. 

9. Total estimated project cost with a description of the 

basis and a breakdown of the estimate into construction 

costs, fees, and other expenses. 

10. Proposed construction schedule to include anticipated 

completion date.  

11. Other project-specific information as determined by the 

reviewing authority. 

B. Nonreimbursable items as listed in 6VAC15-81-290 Q 

also apply to minor renovation projects. 

Article 3 

Funding and Reimbursement 

6VAC15-81-310. Criteria for board funding 

recommendation. 

A. The board shall evaluate the need for the project as 

demonstrated by the information provided in the needs 

assessment, planning study, or the minor renovation project 

information.  
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B. The board shall take into consideration the operational 

cost efficiency of the interior design of the facility with 

special concern for the number of security staff required, 

functional layout, material selection, and utilities costs. 

1. Security staffing levels will be generally based on the 

operational capacity of the facility and in accordance with 

the staffing ratio requirements of the appropriation act. 

2. Any proposed facility requiring a less efficient staffing 

ratio than the appropriation act requirement shall be 

justified and approved by the board in order to be 

considered for reimbursement. 

C. Economy of construction cost is necessary and will be 

reviewed as follows: 

1. Projects or portions of projects involving renovation of 

existing facilities shall be reviewed in relation to the 

efficiency of the renovated spaces, the appropriateness of 

the proposed changes, and the relationship of the changes 

to the project as a whole.  

2. Projects or portions of projects involving renovation of 

existing facilities shall be reviewed in relation to the 

adjusted median cost of local correctional facilities. The 

comparison of project costs to the adjusted median cost 

shall be made utilizing the appropriate estimated 

construction costs that were based on current cost values.  

3. Increases and decreases in funding shall be based on 

costs listed in the latest edition of "Means Square Foot 

Costs" or "Means Facilities Cost Data" published by 

RSMeans Company Inc., adjusted for appropriate 

variables. When reviewing the construction costs, the 

reviewing authority may recommend adjustment of the 

amount being requested for reimbursement funding for the 

following reasons: 

a. When support service areas of the facility are not 

included, included at a size not in conformance with this 

chapter, or are included at sizes larger than necessary in 

anticipation of future expansion of the facility;  

b. When planned facilities vary from the recommended 

custody level percentages contained in [ 6VAC15-81-610 

6VAC15-81-650 ] by more than 10% of each custody 

level; 

c. When construction is proposed for space or spaces to 

be utilized for inmate industries; or 

d. When site location circumstances warrant 

consideration. 

D. The adjusted median cost of local correctional facilities 

shall be calculated by the department using national area 

averages based on the number of beds and the following 

procedure: 

1. For jails housing maximum, medium, and minimum 

custody inmates, a cost per square foot base figure shall be 

the national median square-foot unit cost published in the 

latest edition of "Means Facilities Cost Data" or "Means 

Square Foot Costs" published by RSMeans Company Inc. 

2. For dormitories providing only community custody 

housing a cost per square foot base figure shall be the 

national median square-foot cost for college dormitory 

from the latest edition of "Means Square Foot Costs" or 

"Means Facilities Cost Data" published by RSMeans 

Company Inc.  

3. The national square-foot cost shall be adjusted for 

applicability to Virginia localities by applying an 

adjustment factor given for appropriate class of structures 

in the local building construction multipliers section of the 

"Marshall Valuation Service Manual" published by 

Marshall & Swift, latest edition.  

4. For the purposes of cost calculations only, the adjusted 

square-foot costs shall be multiplied by per-bed area 

allowances based on the national average gross square 

footage of facilities; the area allowances shall be: 

a. Facilities housing maximum, medium, and minimum 

inmates - 400 square feet per bed;  

b. Community custody housing facilities with 50 or 

fewer beds - 275 square feet per bed; and 

c. Community custody housing facilities with more than 

50 beds - 250 square feet per bed. 

E. The adjusted median state construction cost of local 

correctional facilities shall be calculated by the [ Department 

department ] based on the number of beds and the following 

procedure: 

1. Adjusted median cost for the local correctional facility 

shall equal: 

a. National cost per square foot multiplied by local 

modifier multiplied by area allowance per bed as found 

in "Means Square Foot Costs" or "Means Facilities Cost 

Data" published by RSMeans Company Inc. plus [ ;. ] 

b. Additives to the cost must be indicated and justified. 

2. The amount recommended for project funding shall not 

exceed the adjusted median construction cost plus 10% 

plus other costs as addressed in 6VAC15-81-290, or 

planning study estimated cost, whichever is less. Costs 

exceeding the state allowed amount as calculated in 

6VAC15-81-290 Q must be borne solely by the owner.  

3. Construction cost shall be based on costs as of the 

midpoint of the construction schedule. 

4. The median cost of the local correctional facility is the 

reasonable cost of items similar to those listed in the cost 

template shown below:  
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Cost Analysis 

Name of Jail:  

Date: 

  Locally 

Requested 

Cost 

Eligible 

Cost: 

Part I - New Construction 

Costs 

    

Building cost     

Sitework     

New Construction Cost 

Subtotal  

    

      

Part II - Project 

Construction Costs 

    

Building renovation 

cost (number of square 

feet and cost per square 

feet) 

    

Unusual site conditions     

VDOT access lanes     

Off-site utilities     

Utility relocation     

Project Construction Costs 

Subtotal 

    

      

Part III - Other Project 

Costs 

    

A/E fees     

Community based 

corrections 

plan/planning study 

    

Value management 

analysis 

    

Construction 

manager/clerk of the 

works 

    

Fixtures, furnishings & 

equipment 

    

Communications/data 

equipment 

    

Testing/special 

inspections 

    

Survey, topo, 

environmental & utility 

locator 

    

Geotech     

Printing, reproduction 

& advertising 

    

Permits, fees & 

connection charges 

    

Record drawings     

Other Costs Subtotal:     

      

Contingency Costs (based 

on total costs less A/E fees 

and planning study and 

percentage used): 

    

      

Total Project Costs     

Note: Line items are suggested. For example, not all line 

items may be applicable. However, more line items may be 

required. 

F. The cost of renovation of an existing facility shall be 

reviewed on a case-by-case basis and shall be presented in 

calculations separate from new construction costs. 

G. Unless an extension is granted by the board, board 

approval expires after three years if design development 

drawings have not been submitted to the reviewing authority. 

After that time, to proceed with the project, the owner shall 

resubmit the community based corrections plan to the board 

for reconsideration. 

6VAC15-81-320. Funding priorities. 

The following criteria, listed in order of importance, shall 

serve as a guide for determining the level of priority given to 

requests for reimbursement: 

1. Replacement or renovation of bed space lost due to fire, 

earthquake, or other disaster.  

2. Renovation of an unsafe facility that is documented as 

out of compliance with board life, health, and safety 

provisions of 6VAC15-40 (Minimum Standards for Jails 

and Lockups) or a court-ordered renovation, expansion, or 

new construction.  

3. Construction of a regional facility that results in the 

replacement or closure of two or more local facilities. 
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4. Expansion of an existing local correctional facility or 

regional facility experiencing overcrowding that is 

expected to continue based upon factors described in the 

needs assessment.  

5. New construction for a locality that does not currently 

have a facility or is not participating in an existing local 

correctional facility or regional facility.  

6. Expansion or renovation of support facilities.  

7. Phased construction projects.  

8. Construction project cost overruns.  

9. Construction by localities that received reimbursement 

within the previous five years for beds of construction with 

a limited life span. These localities shall not receive 

recommendation for approval for replacement of those 

beds with another secure or community custody facility. 

6VAC15-81-330. Board recommendations. 

A. The department shall direct a letter to the owner notifying 

the governing body of the board's decision to recommend, or 

not to recommend, a project for reimbursement. 

B. The department shall notify the Department of Planning 

and Budget and Treasury Board of the board's approvals and 

approval expirations of proposed jail construction to include 

project description and reimbursement recommendation 

amount. 

C. Final appropriations are subject to the Governor's 

approval and legislative enactment. 

6VAC15-81-340. Reimbursement rates. 

The reimbursement rates to localities for construction, 

expansion, or renovation of local correctional facilities shall 

be governed by §§ 53.1-80 [ , ] 53.1-81, and [ § ] 53.1-82 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

6VAC15-81-350. Required forms. 

Upon project approval by the board, the owner shall be 

responsible for obtaining and submitting all forms as required 

by the Treasury Board if the project is to be funded by the 

Treasury Board. 

Part III  

Project Development 

6VAC15-81-360. Project development; reviewing 

authority. 

The reviewing authority determines adequacy of the 

usability, functionality, acceptable design relationship, flows, 

and sightlines of the design of the facility. With the exception 

of receiving a modification granted by the board, the 

reviewing authority is the final determination in interpretation 

of and compliance with this chapter. 

6VAC15-81-370. Schematic design documents. 

A. The owner shall submit schematic design documents to 

the reviewing authority as specified in this section. 

B. The schematic design documents required for an 

expansion, renovation, or new construction of a local 

correctional facility shall contain sufficient information to 

identify basic security construction features and demonstrate 

intent to comply with this chapter and building code 

requirements and shall include, as a minimum, the following: 

1. The schematic design shall include a basis of design 

narrative that provides the following information: 

a. General and special purpose capacity and type of 

occupancy. 

b. Exterior circulation to include pedestrian and 

vehicular. 

c. Outline description of basic materials including 

systems, equipment, and proposed finishes for major 

areas to include administration, inmate housing, inmate 

programs, kitchen, laundry, receiving, medical, etc. 

d. Future construction or expansion to be accommodated. 

e. Style and character of building desired. 

f. Environmental considerations, if any. 

g. A geotechnical report. 

h. A description of the HVAC systems being used, 

including the goals for energy efficiency and for the 

smoke removal systems. 

i. Total square footage per floor and per building. 

j. Number of parking spaces. 

k. Total estimated construction cost based on the 

schematic documents with a description of the basis on 

which the estimate was made. 

l. Any changes to the board approved total project 

budget. 

m. Any changes in staffing from the board approved 

planning study. 

2. The schematic design shall include schematic drawings 

that provide the following information: 

a. A table showing type of construction proposed. 

Building designations as to building code edition used, 

standards to be met, fire resistive characteristics, 

intended use group or groups, use condition, gross square 

footage, design occupancy loads, and construction types. 

b. Schematic site plan. 

c. Floor plans consisting of single line drawings at a scale 

not smaller than 1/16 inch per foot, showing each floor 
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layout with space names, nominal room square footage, 

circulation paths, and security walls (interior and 

exterior). 

d. Longitudinal building section with floor to floor to 

ceiling dimensions. 

e. Exterior elevation views (minimum of two). 

f. Any other information that would be of value to the 

reviewing authority. 

6VAC15-81-380. Design development documents. 

A. The owner shall submit design development documents 

to the reviewing authority as specified in this section.  

B. The design development documents required for an 

expansion or new construction of a local correctional facility 

shall contain sufficient information to identify basic security 

construction features and demonstrate intent to comply with 

this chapter, 6VAC15-40, and building code requirements 

and shall include, as a minimum, the following: 

1. Site plan.  

2. For new and existing facilities, a table showing the 

construction type, the size of the facility in gross square 

feet of floor area, building code designations as to code 

edition, fire resistive characteristics, intended use group or 

groups, condition, and design occupancy loads.  

3. Architectural floor plans at least 35% complete at a scale 

not less than 1/8 inch per foot, showing each floor layout 

complete with space names, nominal room square footage, 

circulation paths, secure perimeter, interior security walls, 

and fire walls. 

4. Elevations, sections, and details as required to define 

building materials and security construction features.  

5. Mechanical and electrical plans and specifications 

necessary to define life safety construction features.  

6. Security equipment list.  

7. Outline specifications.  

8. Construction cost estimate. 

9. Any change in staffing from planning study. 

C. Documents for renovation of a local correctional facility 

may not require some of the information in subsection B of 

this section. Requirements shall be as determined by the 

reviewing authority in consultation with the owner or owner's 

agent or engineer. In the case of renovations qualifying as 

minor renovation projects under 6VAC15-81-300, 

determination of required documents and information shall be 

made by the reviewing authority in consultation with the 

person or persons responsible for project design.  

D. The owner shall submit two sets of design development 

documents to the Department of Corrections, Compliance, 

Certification, and Accreditation Unit. The owner may also be 

required to submit design development documents to other 

regulatory agencies as deemed appropriate at this stage and 

shall be so notified in writing by the department.  

E. The reviewing authority shall review design development 

documents for compliance with applicable codes, this chapter, 

and commonly accepted architectural, engineering, and 

correctional practices. 

1. Changes to design development documents may be 

required. If so, the reviewing authority shall ensure that all 

changes and comments shall be submitted in writing to the 

owner.  

2. The owner or owner's agent shall respond in writing to 

the reviewing authority to all comments in the design 

development review. Necessary revisions to the project 

documents may be incorporated in the submission of the 

construction documents. All issues in question between the 

owner or owner's agent and the reviewing authority shall 

be resolved before the construction document phase is 

begun.  

6VAC15-81-390. Value management analysis. 

A. All jail projects for which reimbursement is being 

requested for new construction, expansion, or renovation 

costing $10 million or more shall have a value management 

analysis (VMA) performed during design. For renovation 

projects, a waiver may be requested from the board. 

B. VMA shall be performed at the conclusion of the design 

development (35% to 40% complete) phases of the project 

design. For large projects in excess of 250 beds, the 

reviewing authority may require that a second phase of VMA 

be performed at the construction documents phase (90% to 

95% complete).  

C. The VMA shall involve a three-day to four-day exercise 

at the design development phase, or four to five days each at 

the design development and construction document phases. 

The first day, or portion thereof, of each analysis consists of a 

presentation overview by the owner and the A/E design team 

to the value management team. The final day or portion 

thereof, consists of a presentation of findings and 

recommendations by the value management team to the 

owner and A/E design team and attended by the reviewing 

authority. 

D. The VMA process shall analyze at a minimum the 

following aspects of the project's design: systems, products 

and materials, quality, efficiency, functionality, long-term 

design, and operational needs (beyond 10 years) and cost. 

E. The owner shall engage the services of a qualified value 

management team, as defined in [ the definitions 6VAC15-

81-20 ] and headed by a certified value specialist or engineer 

pursuant to the [ definitions definition of "value management 

team" ]. The VMA team shall be independent of the A/E 
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design team and of the contractor. Cost estimators are also 

recommended as beneficial to the analysis, particularly for 

projects performing VMA at the construction documents 

phase. 

F. The owner shall advise the reviewing authority in writing 

at least 15 working days in advance of the meeting dates for 

the VMA team. A representative of the reviewing authority 

shall be present at the value management team's formal 

presentation of results to the owner and A/E design team. The 

reviewing authority may attend any other portion of the 

session. 

G. Upon completion of the VMA process, a summary report 

detailing VMA recommendations and the owner's decision on 

implementation of the recommendations shall be provided in 

writing to the reviewing authority. 

6VAC15-81-400. Construction documents. 

The owner or owner's agent shall submit two complete sets 

of construction documents, one full size, one half size, plus 

one set of full-size architectural drawings to the reviewing 

authority, Department of Corrections, Compliance, 

Certification, and Accreditation Unit as specified in this 

section.  

1. Complete sets of construction documents shall consist 

of: 

a. Construction documents (at least 95% complete). 

b. Bidding documents. 

c. Cost estimate. 

d. Construction schedule. 

2. Review approvals from local building, health, and fire 

officials. 

3. The reviewing authority shall review construction 

documents for compliance with this chapter, building and 

fire code requirements, and incorporation of all changes 

required by the reviewing authority at the design 

development document review stage. 

a. Changes to the construction documents may be 

required. All required changes and recommendations 

shall be submitted in writing to the owner or owner's 

agent. 

b. The owner or owner's agent shall respond to all 

comments in the construction document review in 

writing to the reviewing authority. All issues in question 

between the owner or owner's agent and the reviewing 

authority shall be resolved before the project is bid. 

4. Upon satisfactory resolution of all review comments, 

construction documents shall be approved by the reviewing 

authority, and the owner shall be advised in writing. 

5. The approved plans shall not be construed as authority 

to omit or amend any of the provisions of this chapter 

except when a modification is granted by the board. 

6VAC15-81-410. Changes and delays. 

A. If, during the project, there is any substantive change in 

the scope of the project, major design change, an increase in 

the estimated cost of construction exceeding 10%, or any 

change in the security staff requirements exceeding 10%, the 

review process shall be suspended until the project is 

resubmitted to the board for further review and possible 

change in the status of reimbursement recommendation.  

B. Unless an extension is granted by the board, board 

approval expires after two years if design development 

drawings have not been submitted to the reviewing authority. 

After that time, to proceed with the project, the owner shall 

resubmit the community based corrections plan to the board 

for reconsideration. 

C. Increases in reimbursement funding over the initial 

amount approved by the board may be considered based on 

analysis of documentation of bid overage or contract increase, 

negotiation for cost reduction, and justification for the 

increase. See 6VAC15-81-430. Increases in the cost of 

construction above the board approved amount shall be 

documented, justified, and submitted for board approval. 

Notification shall be provided to the board of the intent to 

request increased reimbursement prior to 35% completion of 

construction. The request for board approval with complete 

documentation and justification shall be made prior to 50% 

construction completion. 

D. The board shall not approve any request for 

reimbursement for increases in the cost of construction for 

any project for which construction was not begun within three 

years of enacted approval of funding for the project by the 

General Assembly; provided however, the board may approve 

such requests if the increased costs resulted from 

extraordinary circumstances, which must be documented. 

E. Final appropriations for increases are subject to the 

Governor's approval and legislative enactment.  

6VAC15-81-420. Bids. 

A. Prior experience with jail construction is an element to be 

considered when selecting a contractor. 

B. After bids for construction have been received and 

opened, and the owner has determined to proceed with the 

project, the owner or owner's agent shall submit a copy of the 

bid tabulation to the reviewing authority.  

C. For projects utilizing nontraditional process, other than 

design-bid-build, the schedule of values shall be submitted 

within 45 days after award of the construction contract. 
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6VAC15-81-430. Construction. 

A. To be eligible for reimbursement, the quality control 

must be independent of the owner. Quality control may be 

provided by a clerk of the works, construction manager, or by 

enhanced construction administration by the architect with 

reports submitted directly to the owner.  

B. Any change ordered during the construction phase 

affecting security, safety, compliance with this chapter, or 

cost shall be submitted to the reviewing authority in writing.  

C. Representatives of the department may visit the project 

site during the construction period to observe the work in 

progress. Any observed deviations from the approved 

documents having the effect of voiding or reducing 

compliance with this chapter or building or fire code 

requirements shall be reported in writing to the owner and 

shall be corrected.  

D. Inspections by the reviewing authority shall start at 50% 

construction completion with at least one additional 

inspection prior to final inspection. The owner or owner's 

agent shall notify the reviewing authority and request 

inspections in a timely manner.  

6VAC15-81-440. Final inspection. 

A. The reviewing authority shall inspect the facility after 

substantial completion and prior to acceptance by the owner. 

This inspection shall be requested by the owner or owner's 

agent and coordinated with the reviewing authority. 

B. Upon completion of the final inspection by the reviewing 

authority, and corrective actions as required, the owner shall 

provide to the reviewing authority copies of all regulatory 

agency letters verifying approval by others of the completed 

project.  

C. Corrective actions taken to resolve comments made by 

the reviewing authority during final inspection shall be 

provided by the owner or owner's agent in writing to the 

reviewing authority. 

6VAC15-81-450. Record documents. 

The owner or owner's agent shall modify original 

construction contract documents to reflect the condition of the 

project as actually constructed and based upon as-built 

drawings and specifications provided by the general 

contractor. Such modifications shall include change orders, 

sketches, addenda, and field clarifications. These documents 

shall be marked as record documents. 

Part IV 

Reimbursement 

6VAC15-81-460. Method of reimbursement. 

A. Reimbursement to an owner shall be [ affected effected ] 

through one of three methods. Reimbursement shall be made 

through one lump sum payment or two lump sum payments 

or in payments over a specified period of time. The General 

Assembly determines and approves the method of 

reimbursement upon evaluation of the jail construction 

project by the Department of Planning and Budget in 

consultation with the Treasury Board. 

B. Project closeout documentation and request for 

reimbursement shall be submitted to Department of 

Corrections, Compliance, Certification, and Accreditation 

Unit, within six months after construction completion. 

C. Failure to comply with this chapter shall delay the review 

process and recommendation for disbursement of funds and 

may result in the denial of reimbursement.  

D. Project closeout documentation shall be reviewed for 

completeness and accuracy by the reviewing authority prior 

to recommendation to the Governor and authorization to the 

Comptroller or Department of Treasury for issuance of 

reimbursement payment. The owner or owner's agent shall be 

notified by the reviewing authority if information is missing, 

invalid or inaccurate or needs clarification. Such further 

information requested shall be provided prior to authorization 

of payment. 

E. Project closeout shall be complete upon receipt of all 

properly prepared final documentation as specified in 

6VAC15-81-480 and reimbursement has been made. 

6VAC15-81-470. Request for interim lump sum 

reimbursement. 

If interim lump sum reimbursement has been legislatively 

approved, when construction of the project is 50% complete 

and payment in two lump sums has been authorized, the 

following shall be submitted: 

1. Schedule of values and calculations confirming 50% 

completion.  

2. Copies of bills and verification of payment (canceled 

checks or other means of verification as accepted by the 

reviewing authority) along with copies of original 

estimated costs to verify payment of 50% of those items 

for which reimbursement is being requested at that time.  

3. Interim affidavit of payment of claims.  

4. Further information as deemed necessary by the 

reviewing authority. 

6VAC15-81-480. Final lump sum reimbursement closeout 

documentation. 

If lump sum reimbursement has been legislatively approved, 

when the project is finished at the local level, the owner shall 

submit the final documentation listed in this section. Final 

reimbursement may be requested when the project is 

complete. The project shall be considered complete when the 

owner has completely submitted the following items 

accurately and with all supporting documentation: 
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1. Project completion report (forms or instructions are 

provided by the reviewing authority). 

2. Final schedule of values (forms or instructions are 

provided by the reviewing authority). 

3. Copies and verification of payment of all bills pertaining 

to the project for which reimbursement is being requested. 

4. Letters from regulatory agencies verifying their 

inspection and approval of the completed project. 

5. Building official's certificate of occupancy. 

6. Fire official's concurrence. 

7. Health official's approval. 

8. Affidavit of payment of claims. 

9. 50% completion date and documentation substantiating 

the date. 

10. Verification and certification using industry 

benchmarks that substantiate that the sustainable design 

and construction initiatives identified in the planning study 

have been achieved, if applicable. 

11. Verification of correction of the reviewing authority's 

punch list items or other deficiencies;  

12. Copies of all change orders. 

13. Closeout documents (drawings and specifications) that 

shall be submitted to the reviewing authority in accordance 

with the following: 

a. One set on CD media: copy of record documents on 

CD-ROM media, or electronically stored data shall be in 

a pdf format. 

b. One set of operation and maintenance manuals for 

systems provided to the owner shall include all color 

coding and point-to-point wire run lists for all electrical 

systems. 

6VAC15-81-490. Treasury Board reimbursement. 

A. When the construction and closeout of a project being 

reimbursed by contract with the Treasury Board is complete, 

the owner shall submit all information as required in 

6VAC15-81-480 to the reviewing authority in the Department 

of Corrections, Compliance, Certification, and Accreditation 

Unit.  

B. An owner approved for reimbursement in payments over 

a specified period of time shall be paid in accordance with a 

contractual agreement entered into with the Treasury Board. 

Part V  

Secure Local Correctional Facilities Design and Construction  

Article 1  

General Design Requirements 

6VAC15-81-500. Secure local correctional facilities design 

and construction - general. 

A. When designing the facility, consideration shall be given 

to appropriate traffic patterns, groups of functions, facilitating 

ease of movement to and within functions, clear sightlines to 

reduce blind spots, efficiency and economy of staffing, 

PREA, and facilitating a smooth, logical sequence of 

operation.  

B. The reviewing authority may accept materials and 

systems documented to be equivalent to those required by this 

chapter.  

C. Any deviation requiring a modification or variance of this 

chapter shall be submitted for review by the reviewing 

authority and approval by the Board of Corrections.  

D. In addition to the minimum requirements, this chapter 

contains recommendations regarding design, construction, 

and security that, although not required, should be given 

serious consideration.  

E. The reviewing authority may make recommendations 

regarding design, construction, and security that, while 

exceeding minimum requirements, may be desirable to adopt.  

F. Review or inspection by the reviewing authority does not 

relieve the owner or owner's agent from the requirement to 

comply with this chapter. 

6VAC15-81-510. Separation of males, females, and 

juveniles.  

A. Secure housing units, intake cells, and special purpose 

cells shall be designed and constructed to ensure physical 

separation and to prohibit normal sight or sound 

communication between males and females.  

1. "Secure housing" means housing for all inmates 

(maximum, medium, and minimum) not classified as 

community custody. 

2. If the facility is designed to hold juveniles, the areas 

used for juveniles shall be designed to prohibit normal 

communications by sight and sound and ensure physical 

separation of the juvenile from the adult population. 

B. Separation of internal movement of juveniles shall be in 

accordance with 6VAC15-40, Minimum Standards for Jails 

and Lockups.  

6VAC15-81-520. Traffic patterns.  

A. If secure and community custody housing are provided in 

the same building, the design of the facilities shall provide 
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traffic patterns to assure the separation of secure and 

community custody inmate populations. 

B. Design of public access shall be such that the public does 

not enter into the secure perimeter of the facility, and the 

traffic pattern for the public shall be separate from that of 

inmates. 

C. The reviewing authority may require that intake, release, 

and court holding areas be separate and distinct functions and 

traffic patterns be kept separated from each other. The 

reviewing authority may require that means of egress for the 

inmate release area and for the court holding area be separate 

from the intake and booking area entrance. 

D. Exterior pedestrian and vehicular routing shall be 

designed for separation of traffic patterns.  

6VAC15-81-530. Related areas. 

The following areas shall be outside the secure perimeter 

1. Magistrate offices and law-enforcement lobby (if 

provided).  

2. Parking.  

3. Public visitation and waiting area. 

4. Armory. 

5. Maintenance shop (if provided).  

6. Main (primary) mechanical room. 

7. Vehicular sally port. 

6VAC15-81-540. Administration. 

A. The jail shall provide space consistent with the size of the 

facility for administrative, program, and clerical personnel. 

B. Space shall be provided within the secure perimeter for 

the shift or watch commander's office, counselor's office, and 

other offices that the jail operation requires. 

C. Space shall be provided for staff break or dining. 

Locating staff break or dining within the secure perimeter 

shall be considered. 

6VAC15-81-550. Public areas. 

A. Public areas of the facility shall be located outside the 

secure perimeter. Public access to the building shall be 

through a main entrance. The general public shall not have 

access inside the secure perimeter of the jail. Traffic patterns 

of the public and inmates shall be distinct, separate, and not 

intersect. 

B. A reception and waiting area with appropriate 

informational signage shall be provided for the public and 

shall be so situated that it does not interfere with the 

administrative office operations. The public waiting area shall 

include sufficient seating, drinking fountains, toilet facilities, 

and weapons lockers equipped with individually locked 

compartments. Consideration shall be given to provision for 

public lockers.  

C. All exterior areas, including parking, shall be adequately 

lighted.  

6VAC15-81-560. Secure perimeter. 

The secure perimeter of the facility shall be composed of a 

complete and continuous security envelope consisting of 

walls, roofs, ceiling, floors, doors, door locks, and other 

hardware, windows and glazing constructed in accordance 

with the security perimeter requirements of this chapter. The 

secure perimeter shall be clearly indicated on the plans.  

6VAC15-81-570. Interior security walls, interior 

partitions. 

A. Interior security walls shall be provided around and 

between all housing units, cells, dormitories, armories, sally 

ports, central intake units, classification units, control rooms, 

recreation areas, kitchens, inmate dining halls (if separate 

from housing), canteens (commissaries), multipurpose rooms 

with toilets, central laundry, laundry chemical rooms, 

pharmacies, medical units, records rooms within the secure 

perimeter, and property rooms. Interior security walls, and 

opening protectives shall be constructed in accordance with 

6VAC15-81-930. 

B. Interior partitions. 

1. Interior partitions may be provided between support 

services such as but not limited to multipurpose rooms 

without adjacent toilets and staff dining. 

2. Interior partitions shall not be substituted for required 

interior security walls. 

3. Interior partitions shall be constructed in accordance 

with 6VAC15-81-930. 

6VAC15-81-580. Exterior areas. 

A. Exterior areas, including parking and building exterior 

where CCTV is utilized, shall be lighted as recommended by 

the equipment manufacturer. 

B. When landscaping, consideration shall be given to size 

and density of plantings within 25 feet of the building for 

security and fire safety reasons.  

6VAC15-81-590. Fencing. 

A. Security fencing or security walls shall be provided for 

outdoor recreation areas. Exterior building configurations that 

create containment areas and all other areas shall be fenced as 

required by this chapter. 

B. Access for maintenance shall be provided for all fenced 

areas.  
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6VAC15-81-600. Emergency containment. 

A. Alternate means for inmate containment shall be 

provided for in case of disaster, mass arrests, or emergency 

evacuation. 

B. These areas may include outdoor recreation area, an 

enclosed vehicular sally port, or any other approved area that 

shall afford adequate security.  

C. When planned for this purpose, these areas shall provide 

access to toilets and drinking water. Fixtures and equipment 

shall meet the requirements for temporary holding.  

6VAC15-81-610. Armory. 

A. Secure storage for security equipment, restraining 

devices, firearms, chemical agents, etc. shall be located 

outside the secure perimeter and convenient to security 

personnel responding to emergency situations.  

B. Walls, floor, opening protectives, and roof or ceiling of 

this area shall meet requirements for secure construction.  

C. This area shall have a dedicated exhaust system. 

6VAC15-81-620. Pedestrian sally ports. 

A. Sally ports shall be provided at any point the secure 

perimeter of the building is penetrated unless specifically 

exempted by this chapter. 

B. Sally ports shall be provided at all exterior openings from 

security areas and at the entrances to housing units designed 

for maximum and medium security inmates. 

C. Any stairwell with a door that penetrates the secure 

perimeter shall be constructed as a sally port. 

D. For an emergency exits only, an exterior area enclosed 

with bar grille or woven rod may serve as the second barrier 

of a sally port. This sally port shall be provided with a top 

barrier at least equivalent to the vertical enclosure fence mesh 

and the area is supervised by CCTV. 

E. Exterior security doors used solely to meet emergency 

evacuation requirements are not required to be sally ported, 

however, fencing the area to be utilized for evacuation is 

required if no sally port is provided. 

F. Commercial grade sectional doors or overhead rolling 

doors are not considered secure and shall not be part of a sally 

port. 

G. Consideration shall be given to providing weapon lockers 

equipped with individually locked compartments at the entry 

of staff and law-enforcement sally ports penetrating the 

secure perimeter. 

6VAC15-81-630. Vehicular sally port. 

A. The vehicular sally port shall be provided with weapons 

lockers equipped with individually locked compartments. 

B. Vehicular sally ports shall be weather protected. As a 

minimum the lower eight feet of the vehicular sally port walls 

shall be solid. This sally port shall be separated from adjacent 

spaces by secure and fire-rated construction and shall be 

observable by staff with CCTV as backup. If this sally port is 

to be used for emergency containment, an upgrade of the 

security level shall be considered.  

Article 2 

Central Intake Unit Design, General Population, and Other 

Areas Design Requirements 

6VAC15-81-640. Intake and processing. 

A. The central intake unit shall be located within the secure 

perimeter of the facility, outside the general population 

housing units and shall be separated from other areas by an 

interior security wall. 

B. The central intake unit shall be constructed to provide the 

following areas: 

1. Booking or processing, including photographing and 

fingerprinting. 

2. Clothing storage and issue. 

3. Control room or station. 

4. Custody transfer. 

5. Intake cells and group cells. 

6. Interview. 

7. Medical screening. 

8. Orientation. 

9. Property storage. 

10. Provisions for telephone calls. 

11. Records storage (if not provided elsewhere). 

12. Release and staging for court (if applicable). 

13. Strip search and shower. 

14. Video arraignment if arraignment is not provided 

elsewhere.  

C. Intake cells and group areas. 

1. Space shall be provided for intake of inmates at a 

minimum of one for every 10 inmates for which the facility 

is designed up to the first 400 beds of design capacity.  

a. Intake cells, group cells, and open seating shall be 

provided at a ratio of one for every 40 beds of additional 

design capacity above 400.  

b. Consideration shall be made for future expansion.  

c. At least 50% of this required capacity shall be single 

cells with the remainder being a combination of group 

cells and open seating area. Exception: The number of 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 12 Virginia Register of Regulations February 5, 2018 

1196 

single cells may be reduced based on approved statistical 

documentation or needs identified in the needs 

assessment. 

2. Intake cells shall be designed to contain a minimum of 

45 square feet for single occupancy cells plus 15 square 

feet per inmate for each additional inmate for which the 

cell is designed. 

3. Each cell shall contain at least one stationary bench or 

bunk, hot and cold running water, a combination stainless 

steel toilet and lavatory with push button metering 

activators, and a sanitary bubbler.  

4. Intake cells shall provide optimized observation of the 

interior of the cell. Modesty screening is required for 

toilets in cells with grillage or glazed openings greater than 

a total of 120 square inches in any cell wall. Exception: An 

observation cell with flushing floor drain and a bunk sized 

slab or platform raised a minimum of six inches above 

floor for sleeping is not required to have a toilet, lavatory, 

or privacy screening. 

5. Lighting in cells, toilets, and showers shall be provided 

from a maximum security fixture of sufficient intensity to 

permit sight supervision. 

6. Natural light and dayrooms are not required for intake 

cells or areas. 

7. Intake cells shall be constructed as maximum security 

cells with maximum security doors, hardware, fixtures, 

equipment, and glazing or bar grille woven rod or 

combination thereof. 

8. Toilets and lavatories shall be provided for use by those 

in open seating holding [ ,. ] Plumbing fixtures in this area 

shall be maximum security. 

9. Showers shall be provided as follows: 

a. For facilities with a design capacity of 200 or less: a 

minimum of two showers. 

b. For facilities with a design capacity of 201 or more: a 

minimum of one additional shower for every 300 beds, or 

portion thereof, of additional design capacity. 

D. Nonperimeter entrances and exits for the intake and 

release area shall be capable of being controlled from intake 

or local control. Security perimeter doors shall be controlled 

from master control only. 

E. Secure storage space for inmate personal property shall 

be provided adjacent in proximity to the intake or release 

area.  

1. The recommended amount of space is four to six inches 

of linear hanging space per inmate for which the facility is 

designed plus one cubic foot in bins or lockers, per inmate, 

for items that cannot be hung.  

2. Consideration shall be given to providing washers and 

dryers in this area. 

F. Release and court holding. 

1. Consideration shall be given to separation of traffic 

patterns and additional holding for inmate release area and 

for court holding. 

2. Number of cells shall be as defined in the needs 

assessment. 

3. Egress for these areas shall be separate from the area 

serving the intake and booking entrance. 

G. Temporary juvenile holding, pursuant to § 16.1-249 G of 

the Code of Virginia, if provided, shall be as follows: 

1. Construction of juvenile cells or units shall be in 

accordance with this chapter as required for maximum 

security adult housing. 

2. This ward or unit shall be physically, audibly, and 

visually separated from adult areas. 

H. Consideration shall be given to future expansion. 

6VAC15-81-650. Security levels of housing. 

A. Secure housing shall be constructed to provide housing 

for maximum, medium, and minimum custody inmates. 

Consideration shall be given to the mental health needs of 

inmates which may require dedicated housing areas with 

additional space for mental health professionals, treatment, 

and counseling. "Secure housing" means housing for all 

maximum, medium, and minimum inmates not classified as 

community custody. 

1. The basic distribution of custody levels is expected to be 

30% maximum, 40% medium, and 30% minimum or may 

vary based on documentation provided in the needs 

assessment. 

2. Female housing shall consist of at least two separate 

units of which at least 50% of the female design capacity is 

medium security or higher. 

3. Up to 25% of minimum custody may be community 

custody. Community custody beds do not require 

construction of special purpose cells. 

B. Maximum security housing units shall be designed as 

groupings of single cells with dayrooms to afford protection 

for persons requiring maximum supervision.  

1. The number of inmates per housing unit shall depend 

upon the degree of surveillance and security provided, but 

for facilities designed for an occupancy of 240 or fewer 

inmates, the unit shall be designed not to exceed 24 

inmates per housing unit. For facilities designed for an 

occupancy in excess of 240 inmates, the number of 

occupants for which the unit is designed may be increased 

but shall not exceed 48 inmates per unit. A minimum of 
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two maximum security housing units shall be provided. 

For indirect supervision facilities, all units shall be 

provided with direct visual observation from a control 

room. For direct supervision facilities, the reviewing 

authority may require that units be provided with direct 

visual observation from a control room. 

2. 20% to 25% of maximum security cells may be 

dedicated as a classification unit. The classification unit 

shall be located in proximity to the intake unit. 

Consideration shall be given to male and female 

population. The classification unit shall include at least one 

private interview room, office space for classification 

personnel, medical room, and record storage. 

C. Medium security housing units shall be designed as 

single, double, or four-inmate cells with common dayroom. 

The owner shall determine the number and type of cells per 

housing unit. The owner shall determine the number and type 

of cells per housing unit; however, no less than 30% of these 

cells shall be designed for single occupancy. These units shall 

be designed to accommodate no more than 64 inmates per 

housing unit for direct supervision or 48 inmates per housing 

unit for indirect supervision. At least two housing units shall 

be provided. For indirect supervision facilities, the reviewing 

authority may require that all units provide direct visual 

observation from a control room. 

D. Minimum security housing units shall be designed as 

dormitories or multiple occupancy cells. Minimum security 

areas shall be designed to accommodate no more than 48 

inmates per housing unit in dormitories or 64 inmates per unit 

with multiple occupancy cells. At least two housing units 

shall be provided. 

E. Community custody facilities shall be constructed in 

accordance with Part VI (6VAC15-81-1130 et seq.) of this 

chapter. Consideration should be given to male and female 

populations.  

F. Juvenile housing. 

1. If the facility is to hold juveniles, housing units shall be 

physically, audibly, and visually separated from adult areas 

to prohibit adult and juvenile communication in 

accordance with the "Guidance Manual for Monitoring 

Facilities under the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency 

Prevention (OJJDP) Act of 2002," published by OJJDP in 

October 2010. Showers, personal hygiene, and dressing 

areas shall be designed to comply with PREA. 

2. Juvenile housing units shall provide general purpose 

housing designed and constructed in accordance with 

maximum security requirements of this chapter.  

6VAC15-81-660. Cells and dayrooms. 

Maximum and medium security: 

1. All single cells shall be sized in accordance with the 

latest edition of the American Correctional Association 

Standards for Adult Local Detention Facilities and have a 

ceiling height no less than eight feet. Single occupancy 

cells, with the exception of special purpose cells, shall be 

configured to open into a dayroom or activity space.  

2. Multiple occupancy cells shall be designed for no more 

than four inmates per cell and shall be sized in accordance 

with the current American Correctional Association 

Standards for Adult Local Detention Facilities concerning 

multiple occupancy cells and have a ceiling height of no 

less than eight feet. Multiple occupancy cells shall be 

configured to open into a dayroom. 

6VAC15-81-670. Cell requirements. 

A. All cells shall be enclosed within secure walls, floor, and 

ceiling, as specified in this section, and shall include secure 

opening protectives. Each cell shall be provided with artificial 

light, toilet and lavatory fixtures with metering push button 

activators, hot and cold running water, a security type mirror 

mounted at standard height, a stationary bed or bunk and 

storage. 

B. Maximum security cells shall have maximum security 

walls, maximum security doors, fixtures, equipment, and 

hardware meeting a minimum of ASTM Grade 1 

requirements. 

C. Medium security cells shall have interior security walls 

surrounding each housing unit meeting a minimum of ASTM 

Grade 2 requirements; however, the walls separating 

individual cells may be interior partitions.  

D. Minimum security cells shall have walls, doors, fixtures, 

equipment, and hardware meeting a minimum of ASTM 

Grade 3 requirements.  

6VAC15-81-680. Dayroom requirements. 

A. Dayroom space shall contain no less than 35 square feet 

of space for each inmate for whom the unit is designed to 

serve. Calculation of this space shall not include sally ports, 

visitation booths, stairs, area under stairs, toilet, shower, and 

lavatory areas. On the first level an 18-inch wide path in front 

of all cell fronts, toilets, and showers, and the tiered walkway 

in front of upper level cells shall not be counted as dayroom 

space.  

B. Each dayroom shall be equipped with a shower, toilet, 

lavatory with hot and cold running water activated by 

metering push button activators, and a drinking fountain or 

the lavatory equipped with sanitary bubbler. Fixtures shall be 

security type in accordance with the security level for which 

the unit is designed. 
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C. Stationary security type tables and dayroom seating shall 

be provided in maximum and medium security areas of the 

facilities designed for indirect supervision. Stationary security 

type tables and seating shall be provided for facilities 

designed for maximum security with direct supervision. 

Tables and seating for medium security direct supervision 

living areas may be loose but shall be designed for detention 

facilities and be fire retardant and vandal resistant. In 

accordance with the Code of Virginia only fixed equipment is 

reimbursable and loose equipment is not considered 

reimbursable except in minimum security housing. 

D. Tables and seating shall be sufficient to accommodate the 

number of inmates for whom the area is designed. 

E. Stairs in multilevel dayrooms shall have open risers. 

F. If a housing unit is provided with an ADA accessible cell, 

the dayroom toilet shall be provided with an ADA accessible 

fixture.  

G. Showers and toilets shall be located to provide visual 

supervision from a control station or control room and to 

provide privacy from the housing unit occupants and from 

visibility from circulation corridors. Showers, personal 

hygiene, and dressing areas shall be designed to comply with 

PREA. 

H. If video visitation monitors are provided in the dayroom, 

they shall be positioned to maximize privacy for both the 

visiting inmate and visitor. 

6VAC15-81-690. Dormitory requirements. 

A. Dormitories shall have walls, doors, fixtures, equipment, 

and hardware meeting a minimum of ASTM Grade 3 

requirements. 

B. All dormitories shall be constructed to provide 85 square 

feet of space per inmate for each inmate for whom the area is 

designed. The 85 square feet associated with dormitory space 

is normally separated into 50 square feet for sleeping and 35 

square feet for activity. Calculation of this space shall not 

include sally ports, stairs, area under stairs, toilet, shower, and 

lavatory areas.  

C. All dormitories shall be provided with artificial light, 

toilet and lavatory fixtures, hot and cold running water, and a 

drinking fountain or lavatory equipped with sanitary bubbler, 

security type mirrors at standard height, tables, and chairs or 

benches in sufficient number to accommodate the dormitory's 

design capacity. 

D. Tables and seating shall be sufficient to accommodate the 

number of inmates for whom the area is designed. 

E. Showers and toilets shall be located to provide visual 

supervision from a control station or control room as well as 

privacy from the housing unit occupants and from visibility 

from circulation corridors. 

F. Stairs in multilevel dormitories shall have open risers. 

6VAC15-81-700. Natural light. 

Natural light is required in general population housing units 

in new construction. Consideration shall be given to 

providing natural light in renovation projects that provide 

new inmate housing. 

6VAC15-81-710. Artificial light.  

A. Artificial light shall be provided in all cells, dayrooms, 

and dormitories to provide at least 20 foot-candles at personal 

grooming areas, tables, and desk tops, if desks are provided. 

Night lighting is required.  

B. Light fixtures used within the secure perimeter shall be 

equivalent to the security level of the area in which they are 

designed.  

6VAC15-81-720. Climate control. 

Heat and air conditioning shall be provided in all rooms in 

the facility so that a temperature not less than 65 degrees F or 

more than 85 degrees F is maintained. Exceptions to this 

requirement include warehouses, industrial spaces, and 

mechanical and electrical spaces, which may be mechanically 

ventilated. Special consideration shall be afforded to 

additional cooling in kitchen, food storage areas, and rooms 

containing heat sensitive and electronic equipment. 

6VAC15-81-730. Equipment and fixtures. 

Equipment and fixtures used within the secure perimeter 

shall be equivalent to the security level of the area in which 

they are designed.  

6VAC15-81-740. Special purpose cells. 

A. There shall be a minimum of one special purpose cell 

(e.g., isolation, medical, or segregation) for each 10 secure 

inmates for whom the facility is designed. 

B. The number of ADA accessible special purpose cells 

shall meet the percentage required by the building code. 

C. All cells shall be provided with lighting from a maximum 

security fixture and be in accordance with artificial light 

requirements in 6VAC15-81-710. 

D. Special purpose cells shall be sized in accordance with 

the American Correctional Association Standards for Local 

Detention Facilities for restrictive housing units with a ceiling 

height of at least eight feet and are not required to open onto 

an adjacent dayroom space. 

E. A minimum of 80% of special purpose cells shall be 

constructed as maximum security cells. Up to 20% of special 

purpose cells may be of less secure construction if designed 

for medical usage. 

F. Cells specifically designed for persons who are violent or 

self-destructive may be equipped with a flushing floor drain 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 12 Virginia Register of Regulations February 5, 2018 

1199 

in lieu of a stainless steel combination plumbing fixture and a 

bunk sized slab or platform raised a minimum of six inches 

above finished floor. 

G. Showers shall be provided within the special purpose 

housing unit. Consideration shall be given to providing cuff 

slots in doors for enclosed showers in special purpose 

housing units. 

H. Special purpose cells shall not open directly into a main 

corridor or general population activity space.  

6VAC15-81-750. Multipurpose space. 

A. Multipurpose spaces shall be provided in sufficient 

number and size to allow for and include multipurpose rooms, 

educational classrooms, religious services, group counseling 

services, program services, and library (if inmates are to be 

moved to the service). For purposes of this chapter, jail 

industry programs, as defined in §§ 53.1-133.1 through 53.1-

133.9 of the Code of Virginia, are not considered 

multipurpose space. 

B. The total multipurpose area square footage shall be 

designed and constructed to provide a minimum of 20 square 

feet per inmate for design capacity of the facility up to 480 

inmates. No additional multipurpose space is required for 

facilities with a design capacity of over 480 inmates. 

6VAC15-81-760. Recreation. 

A. Recreation space shall be provided at a rate of 10 square 

feet for each inmate for which the facility is designed up to 

480 inmates. For facilities with a design capacity of over 480, 

no additional recreation space is required. A minimum of two 

recreation areas shall be provided in facilities with a design 

capacity of up to 240 inmates. For facilities with a design 

capacity greater than 240 inmates, a minimum of three 

recreation spaces shall be provided. 

B. Indoor recreation is required, and consideration shall be 

given to outdoor recreation. At least one indoor recreation 

area shall have a minimum of 1000 square feet with an 18 

foot ceiling height or overhead clearance. At least one 

outdoor recreation area, if provided, shall have a minimum of 

1500 square feet with an 18 foot overhead clearance. 

Additional recreation areas, if indoors, may have lower 

clearance or ceiling heights if being utilized for activities such 

as a weight room or ping-pong. No recreation area shall have 

less than 600 square feet or measure less than 20 feet in any 

one direction. 

6VAC15-81-770. Library. 

Library space shall be provided for an inmate library or 

provisions made for alternative library services. 

6VAC15-81-780. Commissary. 

Space shall be provided for an inmate commissary and 

associated storage or provisions shall be made for alternative 

commissary services.  

6VAC15-81-790. Facility visiting area.  

A. Accommodations for public visitors shall be designed to 

provide flexibility in the degree of physical security and 

supervision commensurate with security requirements of 

variously classified inmates. Paths of ingress or egress for 

inmates shall be designed to be separate from and not 

intersect ingress or egress paths of public visitors. 

B. Consideration shall be given to providing lockers or areas 

for storage of handbags or other articles in the public lobby. 

C. Noncontact visitation. 

1. Noncontact visiting shall be provided at a rate of not less 

than one noncontact visiting space for each 20 inmates for 

whom the facility is designed, up to 240 inmates. Facilities 

designed for more than 240 inmates shall provide one 

additional noncontact visiting space for each additional 50 

inmates.  

2. In noncontact visiting areas, means shall be provided for 

audible communication between visitors and inmates. The 

communication system provided shall be designed to 

prevent passage of contraband.  

3. If video visitation is utilized, a combination of on-site 

and off-site video visitation units for the public may 

comply with the requirements of subdivisions 1 and 2 of 

this subsection. In no event shall off-site video visitation be 

the only form of noncontact visitation.  

4. At least 25% of public noncontact visitation shall be on 

site. 

5. If inmate video visitation spaces are provided in the 

housing units, at least eight square feet shall be provided 

per video visitation space. This space shall not be counted 

towards calculation of dayroom or multipurpose room 

space.  

D. Contact visitation. 

1. Not less than two secure contact visiting rooms of at 

least 60 square feet each shall be provided for the first 100 

inmates of design capacity for contact visits from law-

enforcement officers, attorneys, clergy, and probation 

officers or parole officers. For facilities having a design 

capacity in excess of 100 inmates, one additional secure 

contact visiting room shall be provided for every additional 

200 inmates of design capacity. These rooms shall be 

located to be either visually supervised or monitored by a 

control station or room.  

2. Provisions shall be made to prevent transmission of 

intelligible communication to adjacent areas.  
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6VAC15-81-800. Food service. 

A. If a kitchen is provided, it shall be equipped to meet the 

standards of the Department of Health and the following: 

1. The kitchen and kitchen storage shall be sized in 

accordance with the design capacity of the facility and 

include consideration for future expansion. 

2. The kitchen area, exclusive of dining and serving areas, 

shall be a minimum of 1500 square feet and for facilities in 

excess of 100 inmates of design capacity an additional 

three square feet per inmate shall be provided. The kitchen 

shall be located with consideration for ease of serving the 

inmate population and where supplies can readily be 

received without breaching security. Space for food storage 

rooms is in addition [ to ] the above minimum square 

footage. 

3. Consideration shall be given to providing an inmate 

break area within the kitchen area. This shall not reduce 

the size of the kitchen or other spaces associated with the 

kitchen. 

4. A janitor's closet and mop sink shall be located within 

the kitchen for exclusive use in the kitchen. 

5. Storage space of adequate size and type to accommodate 

perishable, frozen, and bulk dry food storage shall be 

provided. 

a. For facilities with a design capacity up to 1000 

inmates, the storage space shall be sized not less than 

three square feet of floor space per inmate. For design 

capacity in excess of 1000, the sizing may be 2.7 square 

feet of floor space per inmate for the next 800 inmates. 

Further reductions may be approved for jails with a 

design capacity of greater than 1800 inmates. Storage 

space requirements are based on a seven-day supply 

need. Aggregate kitchen storage space shall be a 

minimum of 300 square feet of floor space. 

b. The following breakdown of storage space is 

recommended: 40% dry, 36% refrigerated and 24% 

freezer. 

c. Walls for food storage shall extend to the structure 

above. 

6. All kitchen counters and table tops, legs, and bases; 

shelving; and fixed equipment shall be stainless steel. 

7. The floors, walls, and ceilings in the food service areas 

shall be a smooth durable finish, shall withstand food 

spillage, and shall be easily cleanable. 

8. Adequately sized separate lockable storage shall be 

provided for caustic, toxic, and flammable kitchen 

supplies. Secure storage or space for secure storage shall 

be provided for kitchen inventory of sharp implements and 

other potential weapons. Consideration shall be given for 

locating lockable storage in a separate locked room. 

9. Provisions shall be made for kitchen waste removal from 

the kitchen area without crossing the food preparation area. 

10. Hand washing sinks for inmate toilets shall be located 

outside the toilet room and in view of the staff. 

11. Consideration shall be given to locating an emergency 

eye wash station in the kitchen. 

12. Consideration shall be given to providing a smoke 

removal system for the kitchen. 

B. In addition to kitchen and kitchen storage areas, a staff 

dining or break area shall be provided with a minimum of 15 

square feet for each person the area is designed to serve. 

Floors, walls and ceilings shall be a smooth, durable finish 

and easily cleanable. 

6VAC15-81-810. Laundry. 

A. If a central laundry is provided, commercial or 

institutional grade equipment shall be provided. 

B. Finishes shall be durable and easily cleanable. Electrical, 

plumbing, and ventilation shall be as described in Article 5 

(6VAC15-81-980 et seq.) of this part. 

C. The guidance for washer capacity is to provide 15 to 20 

pounds of laundry per inmate per week. The minimum 

recommended ratio for dryer to washer load poundage shall 

be a minimum of 1.5 to 1. 

D. There shall be sufficient storage for linen and laundry 

supplies. Separate lockable storage shall be provided for 

caustic, toxic, and flammable supplies. 

E. Secure lockable storage shall be provided for chemical 

containers serving laundry machines. 

F. All gas supply and exhaust venting on dryers shall be 

protected from exposure to and vandalism by inmates. 

G. A janitor's closet and mop sink shall be located within the 

laundry for exclusive use in the laundry. 

H. Consideration shall be given to providing a smoke 

removal system for the central laundry area. 

I. Consideration shall be given to locating an emergency eye 

wash station in the central laundry area. 

J. Consideration may be given to providing small load 

capacity laundry equipment in property storage, community 

custody, and minimum security housing areas in addition to 

the central laundry. 

K. Provisions for future expansion shall be considered. 
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6VAC15-81-820. Storage.  

In addition to storage required for particular areas, the 

following shall be provided to accommodate facility design 

capacity at a minimum:  

1. Storage for inmate clothing, linens, towels, etc.  

2. Storage for recreation and related equipment located in 

or near indoor and outdoor recreation areas.  

3. Secure storage for medical supplies and biohazard 

waste.  

4. Storage for extra inmate mattresses and bunks.  

5. Secure storage for janitorial supplies in janitorial closets 

located conveniently to areas serviced.  

6. Secure storage for inmate records.  

7. Storage space in the administration area for equipment, 

records, and supplies for established and projected 

population needs.  

8. Staff uniforms and equipment. 

9. Secure storage for evidence and contraband.  

Article 3 

Additional Design Requirements 

6VAC15-81-830. Elevators.  

A. Facilities with three or more stories shall be provided 

with at least two elevators. 

B. Elevators within the secure perimeter shall be capable of 

being securely controlled and managed locally and from a 

control room. Consideration shall be given in all elevators to 

provide visual and audio communication with the control 

room. 

6VAC15-81-840. Corridors.  

Corridors used for the movement of inmates, stretchers, food 

and utility carts, etc. shall be constructed to provide a 

minimum width of five feet. 

6VAC15-81-850. Intercom, closed circuit television, video, 

and sound services.  

A. As a minimum, each housing unit shall be equipped with 

an electronic sound monitoring system that allows inmates to 

notify staff in the case of an emergency. This system shall be 

monitored by master control or other remote control room or 

control station.  

B. Two-way intercoms shall be provided at all remotely 

controlled security doors other than cell doors. 

C. The facility shall be designed to maximize direct visual 

sightlines. As a supplement to direct visual observation, 

CCTV shall be installed to observe, at a minimum, blind 

spots in corridors, sally ports, building entrances, and the 

building exterior.  

D. If video teleconferencing or arraignment is to be utilized, 

adequate space shall be provided. 

E. Consideration shall be given to the requirements of PREA 

when installing video monitoring, electronic surveillance, or 

other monitoring technology.  

F. In areas where voice communications through the glazing 

is desired, such as a magistrate, visitation, and control rooms, 

a system utilizing vandal resistant individual speakers, 

microphones, intercom, telephone, speak-around frames, or 

an approved equivalent shall be specified.  

6VAC15-81-860. Telephone.  

Inmate telephone service shall be provided in all inmate 

housing units, including intake and special purpose housing, 

within the jail.  

6VAC15-81-870. Glazing in doors.  

Glazed view panels shall be provided in all doors for 

security and safety, with the following exceptions:  

1. Doors to janitorial closets, plumbing chases, storage 

areas, employee dining, staff break room, pharmacy, 

toilets, maintenance rooms, property storage rooms, 

evidence rooms, armory, mechanical rooms, electrical 

rooms, telecommunication rooms, security electronics 

rooms, offices outside the secure perimeter, and similar 

rooms. 

2. Doors required by the building code to have a three-hour 

fire-resistance rating are not required to have view panels. 

6VAC15-81-880. Mechanical, maintenance, security 

electronics. 

A. The main mechanical room shall be located outside the 

secure perimeter and shall be accessible from the outside. 

B. If a separate maintenance shop is provided, it shall be 

located outside the secure perimeter and shall be accessible 

from the outside. 

C. The main security electronics shall be contained in a 

room specifically designed for that purpose or shall be 

securely separated from other equipment. Security electronic 

rooms shall not provide access to other spaces or services. An 

independent cooling system shall be provided for this room. 

6VAC15-81-890. Access for replacement of mechanical 

equipment. 

Design shall provide access for replacement of larger pieces 

of mechanical equipment without having to relocate other 

equipment or cut holes through walls, floors, roofs, or 

ceilings. 
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6VAC15-81-900. Plumbing. 

A. Walk-in type plumbing chases shall be provided with 

lights and electrical outlets to facilitate maintenance.  

B. Sufficient floor water drains shall be provided throughout 

the jail to enable water to be easily removed from areas 

subject to water spillage or flooding (i.e., shower, group toilet 

areas, dayrooms, kitchens, etc.).  

C. At a minimum, the capability of shutting off the domestic 

water supply shall be provided for each individual housing 

unit with one control per housing unit.  

D. Plumbing fixtures in special purpose and intake cells 

shall have individual shutoff controls for domestic water 

supply.  

E. Domestic water shutoff controls shall be in a remote 

location in proximity to each housing unit and shall be easily 

accessed by staff, but not inmate accessible. 

6VAC15-81-910. Housing unit stair and cell tier guard 

rails. 

Guard rails shall be a minimum height of 48 inches above 

the floor or stair treads in housing units and inmate stairs, 

including egress stairs and tiers.  

Article 4 

Construction Requirements  

6VAC15-81-920. Building systems - general.  

A. The requirements set forth in this article establish the 

requirements for building materials, equipment, and systems 

to be designed and constructed in facilities within the 

Commonwealth of Virginia.  

B. The building components and design criteria denoted in 

this article are intended to relate the facilities' security and 

custody level and expected use conditions, with the materials, 

equipment, and systems expected performance, particularly as 

related to strength, safety, and durability characteristics.  

C. Matching the performance levels of the various 

components which make up a security enclosure or system is 

of equal importance. They shall be comparable and 

compatible.  

D. All work shall be done in accordance with acceptable 

design and construction practices and material shall be 

installed in accordance with manufacturer recommendations 

or as otherwise noted. 

6VAC15-81-930. Structural systems - walls, floors, roofs, 

ceilings.  

A. Wall systems - general. Walls encompassing areas 

occupied by inmates shall provide a secure barrier for their 

entire height and length, both horizontally and vertically, to 

prevent unauthorized ingress or egress. Security walls shall 

provide continuity at adjacent security walls, horizontal 

security barriers or the secure perimeter. The joints and voids 

between secure walls and horizontal security barrier shall be 

protected with materials of security level equivalent to the 

remainder of the wall. 

1. Security walls. 

a. Security perimeter walls shall be of masonry, concrete, 

steel, or other approved noncombustible building 

material and shall comply with ASTM F2322 testing 

method Grade 1 to a minimum of 1,000 blow counts.  

b. Interior security walls shall be of masonry, concrete, 

steel, or other approved noncombustible building 

material and shall comply with ASTM F2322 Grade 1. 

Security shall be maintained for the entire height of the 

wall and integrated with the next horizontal security 

barrier.  

c. Security walls may be of the following materials and 

construction:  

(1) Concrete masonry units with block cores filled solid 

with 3,000 psi grout in accordance with ASTM C476. All 

masonry mortar shall be a minimum of 2,500 psi 

compressive strength and comply with ASTM C270. 

(a) Security perimeter walls shall have vertical #4 

reinforcing rods in every masonry core spaced eight 

inches on center maximum. Every masonry core shall be 

grout filled. 

(b) Interior security walls shall have vertical #4 

reinforcing rods in every other masonry core spaced 16 

inches on center maximum. Every masonry core shall be 

grout filled. 

(2) Concrete walls may be cast in place or precast 

reinforced high-strength concrete panel. Walls shall be a 

minimum of 4,000 psi compressive strength (28-day 

break). Minimum thickness of solid core concrete shall 

be four inches. Refer to the Prestressed/Precast Concrete 

Institute to calculate the equivalent thickness of hollow 

core concrete panels. Hollow core plank shall not be used 

for security walls. 

(3) Steel wall assemblies shall meet ASTM F2322 testing 

requirements Grade 1 or better and shall be coated with a 

zinc-iron-alloy (galvanneal) coating meeting ASTM 

A653, Commercial Steel (CS), coating designation A60 

(Z180) designation or better. Walls shall be securely 

anchored to structural slabs in floor, adjacent security 

walls, and horizontal security barrier. 

(4) Bar grille security walls shall be 2-1/4 inches by 3/8-

inch steel flat bar frame with vertical 7/8-inch round 

double ribbed bars spaced five inches or less on center 

with 2-1/4 inches by 3/8-inch horizontal steel bars 

approximately 16 inches on center. Bar grille shall be 
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securely anchored to adjacent security walls and 

horizontal security barriers. 

(5) Woven rod security walls shall be fabricated from 

3/8-inch diameter mild steel rods spaced not more than 

two inches on center in two directions, interwoven, and 

crimp-locked. Rods shall be anchored securely into a 

heavy gage (10-gage minimum) tubular steel frame or 

structural equivalent flat steel bar or channel. Frame shall 

be securely anchored to adjacent security walls and 

horizontal security barriers. 

(6) Nonload bearing walls in inmate housing units less 

than 12 feet high shall have 12-gage steel continuous 

angles between overhead horizontal structural members 

on both sides. Voids located at the top of the wall shall 

be sealed with concrete masonry units grouted solid, 

solid concrete masonry units, or 3/16-inch metal plate. 

Walls in excess of 12 feet shall be stabilized but may use 

clip angles in lieu of continuous angles. 

2. Wall penetrations. 

a. Access doors or panels shall be the same security 

grade as the wall in which they are installed. 

b. Access doors or panels to access building systems and 

equipment shall be a minimum of two-feet by two-feet. 

c. Consideration shall be given to designing mechanical, 

electrical, fire protection, and security electronics 

systems to minimize access doors or panels in walls.  

d. Ceiling access panels or doors within the secure 

perimeter shall be provided with panels and locks 

equivalent to the security level of the ceiling in which it 

is used. 

e. Consideration shall be given to locating balancing 

dampers close to or integral with diffusers so they can be 

adjusted and checked without the installation of access 

panels. 

f. Any opening behind a toilet fixture shall be protected 

in accordance with the requirements of the wall where it 

is installed. 

3. Interior partitions within the secure perimeter. 

a. Interior partitions shall be constructed of a minimum 

of six-inch concrete masonry units or equivalent. 

b. Mortar utilized when the wall is of masonry unit 

construction shall be a minimum of 2000 psi compressive 

strength. 

c. Openings in interior partitions. 

(1) Doors and frames shall be a minimum of 1-3/4 inches 

thick commercial grade hollow metal with a minimum 

16-gage door and 14-gage frame. 

(2) Door hardware shall be a minimum of commercial 

grade. 

(3) Windows shall have security glazing or tempered 

glass in accordance with 6VAC15-81-970. 

B. Floor systems.  

1. Floor systems within and including the secure perimeter 

shall be one of the following: 

a. A poured-in-place concrete slab on grade with a 

minimum thickness of four inches and not less than 

continuous six-inch by six-inch by 10-gage embedded 

welded wire fabric reinforcing or equivalent. 

b. Hollow core concrete plank system providing a 

minimum equivalent concrete thickness of: 

(1) Three inches if cores are oval or round; or 

(2) Four inches if cores are square or rectangular. 

For purposes of calculating equivalent thickness for 

security, topping is not included. 

c. Precast concrete tees providing a minimum equivalent 

concrete thickness of four inches at the flange. If topping 

is used, it shall be a normal weight concrete of a 

minimum of two inches thick and provide adequate cover 

for #4 rebar eight-inch on center in one direction or W4 

welded wire mesh six-inch on center in both directions. 

2. Floors in six-sided steel cells and six-sided precast 

concrete cells shall be tested in accordance with ASTM 

F2697 testing requirements Grade 1 to a minimum of 1,000 

blows for horizontal assemblies. 

C. Roof and ceiling systems.  

1. Upper secure perimeter shall consist of a roof or ceiling 

as follows: 

a. Roofs. The roof construction or uppermost secure 

perimeter shall be one of the following: 

(1) A minimum of four inch standard weight concrete 

with a minimum strength of 3000 psi. Reinforcing shall 

consist of not less than continuous six-inch by six-inch 

by 10-gage embedded welded wire fabric reinforcing.  

(2) Precast concrete plank or panels providing a 

minimum total concrete thickness of four inches. 

(3) Hollow core concrete plank providing a minimum 

equivalent concrete thickness of: 

(a) Three inches if cores are oval or round; or 

(b) Four inches if cores are square or rectangular. 

For purposes of calculating equivalent thickness for 

security, topping is not included. 
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(4) Three-inch standard weight concrete with a minimum 

strength of 3000 psi on 16 gage steel form (or decking) 

on concrete or steel support members. 

(5) Three-inch standard weight concrete with a minimum 

strength of 3,000 psi with six-inch by six-inch by 10-

gage wire fabric on a 22-gage steel form (or decking) on 

concrete or steel supporting members. 

(6) Precast concrete tees providing a minimum 

equivalent concrete thickness of four inches. If topping is 

used, it shall be a normal weight concrete of a minimum 

of two inches thick and provide adequate cover for #4 

rebar eight-inch on center in one direction or W4 welded 

wire mesh six-inch on center in both directions. 

b. Ceilings. A ceiling used for the uppermost horizontal 

secure perimeter is acceptable if tested in accordance 

with ASTM F2697 testing requirements to a minimum of 

1,000 blows.  

2. Interior ceilings. Ceilings within the secure perimeter, 

but not serving as the secure perimeter, shall have or 

exceed the level of protection specified in the table in this 

subdivision. 

 

Ceiling Location (within the 

secure perimeter): 

Minimum 

ceiling 

height / 

min. clear 

ht. 2 

Security 

steel 

systems 

as 

approved 

by 

reviewing 

authority 

Security 

gypsum 

board6,7 

CWFAM 

w/hold-

down 

clips3 

Gypsum 

board - 

single 

layer 

Lay-in 

ACT 

with 

hold-

down 

clips4 

Exposed 

structure 

not 

requiring 

a 

ceiling1,2 

Corridor in housing unit 10' X 
 

   
15' 

Corridors in other than housing 

unit 
8' 

 
 

X 
 

 
15' 

Personnel sally port 8' 
 

X 
 

  
10' 

Vehicular sally port 15' 
 

    
15' 

Inmate toilet 9' 
 

X 
 

   

Staff toilet 8' 
 

   
X 

 
Janitorial closet 8' 

 
  

X 
 

10' 

Mechanical/electrical/maintenance 

rooms 
9' 

 
    

9' 

Security electronics room5 9' 
 

    
9' 

Storage room  8' 
 

  
X 

 

15' 

Office areas 8' 
 

   
X 

 
Tool rooms 8' 

 
    

8' 

Control room5 8' 
 

   
X 

 
Intake/booking/processing 9' 

 
 

X 
 

 
15' 

Cells 7'6" X 
 

    

GP dayrooms-single level: 10' 
 

 
X 

 
 

15' 

GP dayrooms-two level: 

Perimeter ceiling areas above the 

tier walkway to a point 6'0" from 

the edge of tier railing 

8' 
 

X 
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Center part of dayroom ceilings, 

starting at 6'0" minimum 

horizontally from edge of tier 

railing 

15'-AFF 

of 

dayroom  
   

X 15' 

Cells 7'6" X 
 

    

Dormitories 10' 
 

 
X 

 
 

15' 

Inmate toilet areas9 9' 
 

X 
 

   

Inmate showers9 7'6" 
 

     

Kitchen9  9' 
 

  
X 

 
 

Staff dining room 9' 
 

   
X 

 
Food storage 10' 

 
  

X 
 

12' 

Laundry 10' 
 

X 
 

  
12' 

Vocational shops 9' 
 

  
X 

 

12' 

Indoor recreation main recreation 18' 
 

    
18' 

Classrooms, library, multipurpose 

and other similar spaces 
10' 

 
 

X 
 

  

Visiting:  
 

      

Contact visiting room 9' 
 

X 
 

   

Inmate search 9' 
 

X 
 

   

Noncontact visiting 9' 
 

X 
 

   

Medical: 
 

      

Waiting rooms 9' 
 

X 
 

   

Exam rooms & treatment areas 9' 
 

X 
 

   

Medical offices, records 9' 
 

   
X 

 
Pharmacy5 9' 

 
     

Warehouse 
 

     
12' 

Canteen 9' 
 

  
X 

 

12' 

Property storage 
 

     
12' 

Ceiling Location  

(outside the secure perimeter):  
      

Armory5 9' 
 

     

Community Custody 
 

      

Corridor - community custody8 8' 
 

   
X 12' 

Community custody housing  10' 
 

  
X 

 

15' 

Community custody 

entry/processing8 
9' 

 
   

X 12' 

Multipurpose spaces 10' 
 

   
X 12' 
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1Minimum clear height that does not require a ceiling. Clear height means distance from the floor to the ceiling or roof or lowest 

hanging or suspended utilities or fixture. 

2Minimum clear height to lowest structure, ceiling panel, utility or fixture. 

3Hold-down clips on cementitious wood fiber acoustical material (CWFAM) shall be equivalent to hurricane strength clips 

secured with screws. 

4Hold-down clips on lay-in ceiling must not release under upward pressure without breaking or hold dislodging of panels 

without damage to the panels. 

5Walls shall go up to floor or ceiling above or the area has a security cap. 

6Security gypsum ceiling shall be constructed in accordance with the following: two layers of 5/8-inch gypsum wall board with 

0.66 pounds per square foot, on 1/2-inch by 13-gage or 3/4-inch by nine-gage diamond mesh metal lath, per ASTM F1267, 

Type I or Type II securely fastened to the structure or structural supports.  

7Cement plaster ceilings of not less than three-coat Portland cement plaster installed on approved heavy metal lath may be used 

in these locations. 

8No hold-down clips are required. 

9Moisture resistant material appropriate to wet locations shall be used.  

3. Secure ceilings shall be provided in other areas where 

inmates are unsupervised. 

4. Consideration shall be given to ensure that adequate 

space (a minimum of eight inches) is provided between the 

ceiling (including recessed lighting fixtures) and above 

ceiling building systems (e.g., duct, conduit, wiring, 

piping, tubing, structure, etc.) to allow for installation of 

the ceiling at the specified height. 

5. Ceilings over showers and toilets shall be equivalent to 

security requirements of space in which it is located.  

6. Security capping. 

a. Any space surrounded by interior security walls that 

does not extend to a secure floor or roof structure above 

or uppermost horizontal secure perimeter shall be capped 

to comply with a material or assembly meeting the 

requirements of ASTM F2322 testing method to Grade 1 

or with four inches of concrete or equivalent. This 

includes cells, control rooms, sally ports, and armories. 

b. Open spaces above areas required to be security 

capped shall be protected to eliminate blind spots or 

access for hiding. 

7. All penetrations of the uppermost secure perimeter shall 

be protected by maximum security opening protectives 

equivalent to types specified in 6VAC15-81-940, 

6VAC15-81-950, and 6VAC15-81-960. Where operable, 

opening protective shall be equipped with maximum 

security locks in accordance with 6VAC15-81-950. 

8. Access openings. 

a. Consideration shall be given to designing mechanical, 

electrical, fire protection, and security electronics 

systems to minimize access doors or panels in ceilings.  

b. Protection of openings shall be the same security grade 

as the ceiling in which it is installed. 

c. All access openings to the space above security 

ceilings shall be protected by hinged metal access panels 

or doors equipped with keyed locks. 

d. Access doors or panels to access building systems and 

equipment shall be a minimum of two-feet by two-feet. 

e. Ceiling access panels or doors within the secure 

perimeter shall be independently and securely supported 

to prevent vertical displacement. 

f. Consideration shall be given to locating balancing 

dampers close to or integral with diffusers so they can be 

adjusted and checked without the installation of access 

panels. 

6VAC15-81-940. Doors and frames - security and 

nonsecurity.  

A. Security doors used where perimeter security and interior 

security walls are required shall be one of the following: 

1. Hollow metal security doors shall meet the requirements 

of ASTM F1450 as follows: 

a. Maximum security and perimeter security doors shall 

be ASTM Grade 1. 

b. Doors in interior security walls and associated with 

medium security housing shall be ASTM Grade 2 or 

better.  

c. Minimum security doors shall be ASTM Grade 3 or 

better, except doors shall be [ ASTM ] Grade 2 or better 

if in interior security walls. 
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2. Bar grille doors shall include double ribbed steel bars 

measuring 7/8-inch diameter at five inches on center with 

flat steel crossbars measuring 3/8-inch by 2-1/4 inches at 

18 inches on center with punched holes for ribbed bars at 

five inches on center. Door frames shall be installed in 

accordance with Hollow Metal Manufacturers Association 

(HMMA) 863 and ASTM F1450. 

3. Woven rod door.  

a. Woven rod door frames shall be constructed of tubular 

shaped 12-gage steel channel or 3/16-inch right-angle 

bent steel plate, punched to receive woven rods. 

b. The cap channel shall be 12-gage steel plate. 

c. The woven rod door mesh shall be 3/8-inch in 

diameter steel rod woven at two inches on center each 

way and double crimped.  

d. Welds shall be placed a minimum on every other rod 

where it cannot be accessed by the inmate.  

e. The frame shall be mounted into a 10-gage formed 

steel channel, expansion anchored to the wall, and field 

welded to the mount channel.  

f. Door frames shall be installed in accordance with 

HMMA 863 and ASTM F1450. 

4. Access opening protection. 

a. Access panels, doors, frames, locks, and hardware 

shall at a minimum be equivalent to the security level of 

the wall, roof, or floor where they are installed. 

b. Steel plate doors may be used as an alternate. If used, 

access doors or panels shall meet the following 

requirements: 

(1) Shall be a minimum of 3/16-inch thick plate steel. 

(2) Shall have minimum of 3/16-inch bent steel plate or 

equivalent rolled steel shape door frame. Each jamb for 

security access openings shall be anchored with wall 

anchors not to exceed 18 inches on center with a 

minimum of two wall anchors per jamb.  

(3) Frame and bracing shall be sufficient to prevent the 

door or panels from flexing or warping from abuse. 

B. Nonsecurity doors shall be steel commercial grade 

minimum 1-3/4 inches thick hollow metal doors with 16-gage 

face sheets with rigid inner core. Frames shall be commercial 

grade 14-gage hollow metal or equal.  

C. Solid core wood doors are an acceptable alternative as a 

nonsecurity door in walls designated as nonsecure.  

D. Additional features.  

1. Where doors and hardware are required by the building 

code to be fire-rated construction, such construction shall 

not reduce or compromise the security requirements or 

present a hindrance to emergency evacuation.  

2. Security frames shall be completely filled with 3,000 psi 

fine grout meeting the requirements of ASTM C476.  

3. Doors for any room utilized by inmates shall open out 

away from the inmate occupied side. 

4. Doors in inmate occupied areas shall not have loop pulls 

on the inside of the door. Finger pulls are recommended in 

those locations. 

5. Passproof thresholds shall be installed at doors to 

prevent passing of contraband between housing units. 

6. Sliding doors, door mechanisms, and food passes shall 

be oriented and installed to minimize inmate interference 

with door operation. 

6VAC15-81-950. Locks and locking systems.  

A. Security level. Locks shall meet the requirements of 

ASTM F1577 for swinging doors and ASTM F1643 for 

sliding doors. Locks on perimeter security doors and 

maximum security doors shall be Security Grade 1. Locks in 

interior security walls shall be Security Grade 2 or better. 

Locks in interior security partitions shall be Security Grade 3 

or better. 

B. Locking devices. Where a high degree of security and 

positive door control is required in cells, dayrooms, and 

corridors, sliding door locking devices capable of being 

operated from a control room are recommended.  

C. Magnetic and electromagnetic locks shall not be used as 

security locks. 

D. Controls shall be provided to operate the locks and 

locking devices in the required modes.  

1. The switches, relays, and other devices shall make up a 

control system compatible with the locks and locking 

devices and shall be capable of providing the switching 

necessary to satisfy all desired operational modes.  

2. A master control console or panel shall be designed to 

display all switches to the operator. Normally installed in a 

secure room (i.e., officer control room) the console shall be 

equipped with a control for each door, a group control for 

each wing of the building (or cell block), and controls for 

the corridor and sally port doors that control access to 

those wings.  

3. In housing control stations and control rooms, door 

controls shall release cell doors individually, as a group, 

and as emergency release.  

4. Housing control stations and control rooms shall have a 

local and remote power cutoff and the ability to transfer 

operation to the master control room. 
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5. Control panels shall have position, lock, and roller bolt 

or locking bar indication for security gates and doors. 

6. In the event of a power failure the locking system shall 

be fail secure.  

7. Emergency release provisions shall be made for 

unlocking or group-release of cell doors in case of fire, 

power failure, or other emergencies.  

a. Standby power from a generator is required.  

b. Other forms of emergency release shall be reviewed 

and approved by the reviewing authority.  

E. Master keying shall be provided for all security locks. 

Master keying shall utilize a minimum of two keys so that no 

one key can be used to get from any point in the facility 

through multiple doors to the outside of the facility. All 

secure perimeter doors shall be keyed separately from interior 

doors. 

F. Locks on inmate toilet room doors, with the exception of 

within housing units, shall be lockable from the outside but 

not lockable from the inside. 

G. Within housing units, locking shall be as follows: 

1. Inmate showers and toilet rooms with full height doors 

shall be staff lockable from the outside but shall not be 

capable of being locked or latched from the inside. 

2. Inmate showers and toilet rooms with partial height 

doors may be latched from the inside. 

H. Staff toilets shall be key locked from the outside and 

thumb turn operable or not lockable from the inside. 

I. Plumbing chases shall not be lockable from the inside. 

J. Sally ports interlocking requirements. 

1. Sally port doors shall be interlocked in a manner that 

only one sally port door or gate shall be openable at a time 

under normal operation. All sally port doors or gates shall 

be installed so they are confirmed to be locked by 

mechanical or electronic means prior to the opening of any 

other door or gate. Sally port locking and unlocking shall 

be remotely controlled from a secure control room. 

2. Vehicular sally port gates or doors shall be capable of 

being operated and locked from a remote location with 

provisions for manual operation and locking when power is 

off or in the event of emergency action. 

3. Vehicular sally port doors shall be a minimum of 12 feet 

high. 

4. Rollup and bifold doors in vehicular sally ports, 

warehouse, and loading docks are not considered security 

doors. 

5. Cell door release shall be separate from housing unit 

entry door release locking.  

6. Doors between adjacent housing units shall not be 

interlocked with sally ports. 

6VAC15-81-960. Window frames. 

A. Performance requirements and criteria for the selection 

and intended use of windows shall include the following 

considerations: security, natural lighting, ventilation, and 

weather protection.  

B. Security requirements. 

1. Security frames shall have 1-1/4-inch glazing stops with 

a one-inch bite and be secured with security screws on the 

non-inmate side.  

2. Security frames shall be completely filled with 3,000 psi 

fine grout meeting the requirements of ASTM C476.  

3. Windows shall have security glazing in accordance with 

6VAC15-81-970.  

4. Where necessary because of field conditions in 

renovations or replacements, field fabricated security 

windows shall have a minimum 14-gage window frame 

and be approved by the reviewing authority. 

C. Secure perimeter. Windows frames that are to be installed 

in the building perimeter security (exterior and interior walls 

and clearstory/skylight assemblies) shall meet the 

requirements of ASTM F1592 Grade 1 or better 

D. Interior security. 

1. Maximum security window frames shall be Security 

Grade 1 or better. 

2. Window frames in other interior security walls shall be 

Security Grade 2 or better.  

E. Non-security windows may be provided in an exterior 

security wall to provide a noninstitutional appearance. When 

such windows are used, however, the window opening shall 

be protected on the interior side of the opening by a steel bar 

grille or woven rod with security frame comparable to the 

security assemblies described in this section. 

6VAC15-81-970. Security glazing. 

A. When selecting glazing, consideration shall be given to 

ballistic attack, whether penetration of glazing would 

compromise security or allow passage of contraband, degree 

of staff supervision or surveillance, and anticipated amount of 

vandalism. 

1. Glazing security grade level shall be in accordance with 

ASTM F1915. 

2. Bullet resistant glazing shall meet ballistics requirements 

of ASTM F1233 for weapons capable of concealment and 

UL 752 Level III, super power small arms. This glazing 

shall be low spalling or no spalling. 
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B. The level of glazing resistance to penetration or ballistic 

attack shall be consistent with the security level of walls and 

other building components in which it is located. 

1. Where openings exceed five inches in one direction and 

are not protected by bar grille or woven rod: 

a. Glazing in maximum security walls and doors shall be 

Security Grade 1 or better.  

b. Glazing in interior security walls and doors shall be 

Security Grade 2 or better.  

c. Glazing in interior partitions inside the secure 

perimeter shall be Security Grade 4 or better.  

2. Glazing in control rooms shall be:  

a. Security Grade 1 in master control room. 

b. Security Grade 1 and bullet resistant where glazing 

separates a control room from a public area.  

c. Security Grade 2 or better for other control rooms. 

3. Glazing associated with visitation or magistrate areas 

that form a part of the secure perimeter shall be one of the 

following:  

a. Security Grade 1 glazing with bar grille or woven rod. 

b. Security Grade 1 glazing and bullet resistant. 

c. Glazing in visitation between the public and inmate 

may be Security Grade 1 glazing supplemented by an 

additional secure perimeter wall with sally port enclosing 

the public side of the visitation area. 

4. Security glazing panels shall be no larger than 36 inches 

by 48 inches unless located a minimum of seven feet above 

floor level. 

5. Glazing security grade may be reduced one level if 

lowest portion of glazing is 12 feet above adjacent floor 

level.  

6. Tempered or insulated glass or both may be used in 

openings five inches or less in one direction unless bullet 

resistant or contraband resistance is required, in which case 

glazing rated for such shall be used.  

7. Glass security glazing or glass clad security glazing shall 

not be used unless required for fire rating or unless 

approved by the reviewing authority on a case by case 

basis for specific locations. 

8. Plate glass, float glass, and other conventional glass 

other than wire or tempered glass shall not be used in any 

openings located within the secure perimeter or in any 

interior security walls, interior partitions, doors, or other 

openings within the area enclosed by the secure perimeter. 

Wire glass may only be used where required for fire rating 

purposes. 

9. Tempered glass, if used, shall meet the requirements of 

(American National Standards Institute) ANSI Z97.1 Class 

A safety test or Consumer Products Safety Commission 

Category II safety test.  

10. Where bar grille or woven rod is required to be used 

for windows, it shall be similar in design and constructed 

in accordance with bar grille or woven rod indicated in 

6VAC15-81-930.  

11. Where the frame or frame and mullions provide the 

security for the window opening, the maximum clear 

dimension of the opening shall be no more than five inches 

in one direction. 

12. All openings, such as windows, louvers, clearstories, 

and skylights, penetrating the secure perimeter walls, 

floors, or roof shall be protected by bar grille or woven rod 

partitions constructed as required by subdivisions A 1 c (4) 

and A 1 c (5) of 6VAC15-81-930 when they are larger 

than: 

a. Eight inches by eight inches or; 

b. Five inches in one direction if the other dimension is 

larger than eight inches. 

Exception: Glazed areas protected and located in 

accordance with subdivision 3 of this subsection.  

13. To avoid tampering, removable glazing stops shall be 

applied, wherever possible, on the side opposite the inmate 

occupied area. Where stops are placed in an inmate area, 

they shall be secured with an ample number of strong, 

properly installed, tamper resistant fasteners of design 

required by 6VAC15-81-930 or approved by the reviewing 

authority. Junctions of horizontal and vertical glazing stops 

on the inmate side shall be welded to prevent removal of 

portions of stop members. 

14. Exterior windows in security areas in new construction 

shall be fixed. Exception: In renovations where windows 

are operable, exterior windows in security areas that are 

capable of being opened shall have additional protection of 

heavy duty stainless steel, security wire contraband, and 

insect screen. 

Article 5 

Mechanical, Plumbing, Electrical, Smoke Control, and Fire 

Protection 

6VAC15-81-980. Mechanical, plumbing, electrical, smoke 

control, and fire protection installation. 

Unless indicated otherwise by this chapter, all components 

of mechanical, plumbing, electrical, smoke control, and fire 

protection systems, including air handlers, fans, duct work, 

terminal boxes, dampers, heating and cooling equipment, 

water heaters, pumps, piping, valves, sensors, control wiring, 

thermostats, tubing, conduit, wiring, motors, lighting fixtures, 
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and associated equipment within the secure perimeter shall be 

mounted as follows: 

1. As high as possible for the intended function and 

securely fastened to the structure or walls. 

2. If located less than 12 feet above the finished floor or 

within six feet horizontally of guard rails enclosing tier 

floor and landing levels in dayrooms, the components shall 

be specifically designed for the security level of the space 

where it is installed, protected by a secure enclosure, or 

protected by secure encapsulation. Exceptions include 

spaces dedicated for staff use. "Secure enclosure" means 

secure walls, secure floors, and secure roof or secure 

ceiling surrounding a space or area. 

3. Piping, wiring, conduit, control wiring, and tubing shall 

not be exposed in cells. 

6VAC15-81-990. Mechanical. 

A. Within the secure perimeter of the facility, flexible duct 

work shall not be installed within six feet of any opening 

(e.g., register, grille, diffuser, etc.) that can be accessed by 

inmates. 

B. Air inlets and outlets. 

1. Maximum security grills shall be provided in the 

following areas: 

a. All cells. 

b. Maximum security housing units. 

2. Maximum security grills shall have a 3/16-inch steel 

face plate interconnected to a 3/16-inch thick steel sleeve. 

Openings in the face shall be no larger than 3/16-inch each. 

Alternatively, a security grille specifically designed for 

suicide resistance may be allowed as approved by the 

reviewing authority. 

3. In inmate accessible areas, other than maximum 

security, security grilles, security diffusers and security 

face plates shall be 12-gage or protected by 12-gage steel 

full face protection.  

4. Commercial grade grilles, diffusers and face plates may 

be provided in: 

a. Areas where lay-in ceiling tiles or single layer gypsum 

board ceilings are allowed.  

b. Areas located greater than 12 feet above the floor.  

c. Areas greater than six feet measured horizontally from 

any tier. 

d. Staff areas within the security perimeter. 

5. Grilles, diffusers, and face plates shall be constructed of 

stainless steel in inmate shower areas and stainless steel or 

aluminum in kitchen areas. Thickness of stainless steel 

grilles and diffusers for shower areas shall be as required 

for the security level indicated in this section. 

6. Consideration shall be given to upsizing grille and 

diffuser sizes, but not openings in face, to compensate for 

pressure drop due to anticipated paint buildup. 

7. Consideration shall be given to locating inlets and 

outlets to provide proper distribution of air and prevent 

short circuiting. 

C. Opening protectives. Duct and other penetrations of 

security walls, security floors, security ceilings or security 

roof shall be protected by bar grille or woven rod meeting the 

dimensional requirements for walls in this chapter when they 

are larger than: 

1. Eight inches by eight inches. 

2. Five inches in one direction if the other dimension is 

larger than eight inches. 

3. Exceptions: 

a. Duct bars are not required in wall penetrations in the 

interior security walls located within an individual 

housing unit, or the inner wall of their integral sally port. 

Duct bars are required in penetrations of control rooms. 

b. Duct bars are not required if maximum security grilles 

are provided in interior security walls or interior security 

ceilings in accordance with subsection B of this section. 

D. Within the secure perimeter, portions of the mechanical 

system requiring maintenance or inspection shall be located 

so it cannot be accessed by inmates. 

E. Supply, return, or exhaust through chases shall be ducted. 

F. Armories shall have a dedicated exhaust to the outside of 

the building. 

G. Control rooms shall have dedicated HVAC systems.  

6VAC15-81-1000. Plumbing.  

A. Showers. 

1. Showers shall include a soap dish and drain. Shower 

heads shall be positioned to confine water flow to shower 

stall.  

2. Hot and cold or tempered running water shall be 

available in all showers. Hot and cold running water shall 

be available in all lavatories. Hot water, which is 

accessible by inmates, shall be controlled by a temperature 

limiting device to preclude temperatures in excess of 105 

degrees F. 

3. Toilet area wall, floor, and ceiling surface finishes shall 

be durable, washable, and resistant to water, mold, and 

mildew. 
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4. Shower ceiling, wall, and floor surface finishes shall be 

durable, washable, and resistant to water, mold, and 

mildew. Shower and shower area floor surface finishes 

shall be slip resistant. The reviewing authority may require 

that inmate showers be constructed from stainless steel. 

5. All showers for inmate use shall be operated by 

metering push button control. 

B. Plumbing fixtures. 

1. Plumbing fixtures in maximum security housing units 

shall be stainless steel [ . ]  

2. In indirect supervision medium security housing units, 

toilets and lavatories shall be stainless steel. 

3. In minimum security housing units and direct 

supervision medium security housing areas, toilets shall be 

a minimum of commercial grade tankless toilets and 

commercial grade lavatories. 

4. Soap holders in showers and toilet paper holders shall be 

the recessed type. 

5. Showers providing ADA accessibility designed with 

fixed low shower head shall have a second head at standard 

height. 

6. Where an ADA accessible mirror is provided, a regular 

height mirror shall also be provided. Height to bottom of 

regular height mirror is recommended at 53 to 57 inches. 

7. Consideration shall be given to maintenance and 

sanitation (ponding water and soap) and suicide resistance 

when selecting grab bars in ADA accessible showers. 

8. All toilets for inmate use shall be operated by push 

button activators. Lavatories for inmate use shall be 

operated by metering push button activators. 

9. Inmate plumbing fixtures in sally ports shall be 

maximum security. 

10. Gooseneck faucets shall not be allowed on lavatories in 

inmate accessible areas. 

C. All floors and tiers in housing units shall be provided 

with adequate drainage to handle standing water associated 

with shower areas, toilet or sprinkler overflows, and cleaning. 

D. Kitchens and laundries shall be provided with adequate 

drainage. 

E. Janitorial closets with mop sinks and storage shall be 

provided in every inmate housing unit. Janitorial closets shall 

be provided in proximity to intake and to serve corridors. 

F. Toilet facilities for the use of security and administrative 

staff and inmates shall be located throughout the building. 

Staff toilet facilities shall be provided in master control 

stations. Staff toilet facilities shall be provided in, or 

convenient to, other control stations or control rooms. 

G. PVC or other plastic piping, one-half inch or greater, 

shall not be used above the ground floor slab within the 

secure perimeter of the jail. For transitions, PVC piping may 

extend not more than six inches above [ the ] floor. 

H. Plumbing fixtures and lines shall not be located above 

security electronic rooms. 

I. Isolation valves and balancing valves are recommended to 

facilitate maintenance. Butterfly valves are not recommended. 

J. As a minimum, a water supply shutoff controllable from 

outside each housing unit shall be provided from a location 

readily accessible by staff but not by inmates. Remotely 

controlled water supply shutoff valves should be considered 

for individual inmate cells, especially at special housing.  

K. Gravity sanitary drainage mains and fittings serving two 

or more fixtures in housing units shall have a minimum inside 

dimension of six inches. 

L. For inmate toilets with a gravity sewer, a cleanout with 

interceptor pin at each tee in chases is recommended.  

M. All sanitary and stormwater piping penetrating a secure 

perimeter wall, security floor, secure recreation yard, or 

vehicular sally ports shall not exceed eight inches in diameter. 

If flow calculations require a pipe diameter greater than eight 

inches, a series of eight-inch or smaller pipes equivalent to or 

greater than the flow area calculated shall be used. It is 

expected that multiple pipes be installed as a duct bank. 

N. All showers shall be provided with mechanical exhaust 

directly from the shower compartment. Single showers shall 

be exhausted individually. In the case of multiple showers 

without full height partitions between the showers, the 

exhaust may be from a central [ one ] location from the 

shower area. 

O. All fixtures shall be low flow, water saving type. 

P. Inmate lavatories, drinking fountains, toilets, and urinals 

inside the secure perimeter shall not have exposed piping and 

components. 

6VAC15-81-1010. Electrical. 

A. All wiring, conductors, and control tubing shall be 

concealed to the greatest extent possible.  

1. Where wiring is exposed and accessible by inmates, it 

shall be housed in intermediate metal conduit (IMC) or 

rigid metal conduit (RMC) with threaded fittings.  

2. Rigid nonmetallic conduit (PVC or CPVC) shall not be 

used above ground floor slab within the secure perimeter 

except when encapsulated in concrete or grouted concrete 

masonry units. For transitions, rigid nonmetallic conduit 

may extend not more than six inches above floor. 

3. Flexible metallic conduit not exceeding six feet in length 

shall be allowed above ceilings. 
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4. Flexible conduit, if required for a moving part of a 

device (e.g., pan-tilt-zoom camera), shall not exceed 12 

inches exposed and shall be liquid tight or equivalent. 

5. Electrical metallic tubing (EMT) and other types of 

conduits are not permitted within the secure perimeter. 

B. The intensity of artificial lighting shall be in accordance 

with the requirements of 6VAC15-40, Minimum Standards 

for Jails and Lockups. 

C. Standby power. 

1. A standby power source shall be provided sufficient to 

sustain, as a minimum, life safety operations, security 

systems, refrigerators, and freezers. 

a. "Life safety operations" means the function of certain 

electrical, mechanical, and other building equipment 

provided for the purpose of ensuring the life, health, and 

safety of building occupants in an emergency situation. 

b. Fuel capacity shall be provided for a minimum of 72 

hours of operation without refueling.  

c. Consideration shall be given to emergency power for 

nonemergency lighting. 

2. Consideration shall be given to protection of generators, 

standby power source, and fuel sources from unauthorized 

access or damage by location, fencing, or enclosure. 

D. Light fixtures. 

1. The security level of fixtures shall be consistent with the 

security level of the area where located.  

2. Security light fixtures shall be surface mounted to any 

ceiling that is the secure perimeter. Exception: Security 

fixtures that are designed for, integral to, and maintain the 

security level of the ceiling, which is not the secure 

perimeter, may be recessed.  

3. Fixtures installed in nonsecure lay-in ceilings may be 

standard fixtures with vandal resistant lenses. 

4. Suspended ceiling mounted lighting fixtures in 

maximum and medium security housing units shall be 

supported from the structure above with threaded rods, 

independent of any ceiling grid or framework. 

E. Placement of receptacles and lighting switches in 

individual cells is discouraged. Consideration should be given 

for access to power for medical devices. 

F. Surge protection shall be provided on power supplies for 

electrically powered systems and service to include those that 

leave the building.  

G. Lightning protection with a UL Master Certification is 

required for the facility.  

6VAC15-81-1020. Smoke control. 

A. A smoke control system shall be provided for dormitory 

and celled areas such as intake, medical, special purpose, and 

general population housing. 

B. The pressurization method, with a minimum of 24 air 

changes per hour of exhaust and 20 air changes per hour of 

makeup air, is preferred, but the exhaust method may be used.  

C. Exit corridors shall be positively pressurized to minimize 

smoke migration into the area and keep the path of egress 

clear of smoke. 

D. A smoke test shall be performed prior to acceptance of 

the building. The local fire department, local building official, 

facility safety officer, or their designees shall be invited to 

witness the smoke tests, and the tests shall be witnessed by 

the reviewing authority. The areas to be tested shall be at least 

one each of a typical dormitory and one of each typical celled 

[ areas area ], such as intake, medical, segregation and each 

configuration of general housing, as determined by the 

reviewing authority.  

E. Smoke machines to perform the tests shall be furnished 

by the owner or the owner's contractor. Smoke machines 

provided shall be of sufficient size and capacity to perform 

the tests in a short period of time. 

F. Understanding that there are many variables involved, the 

desired results of the tests are as follows: from start of smoke 

machine to system alarm shall be two minutes or less; from 

system alarm to system activation shall be 30 seconds or less; 

from system activation to distinguish an egress path from the 

center of the room to an exit shall be two minutes or less; and 

from system activation to the space being sufficiently clear to 

reset the system shall be 30 minutes or less.  

6VAC15-81-1030. Fire protection. 

A. Sprinkler heads in inmate accessible areas shall be 

detention type heads. 

B. Exposed fire alarms, smoke detectors, heat detectors, and 

audible and visual signaling devices shall be mounted as high 

as practicable, and if below 12 feet, they shall be covered 

with heavy-gage tamper-resistant protective cages securely 

fastened to the surface. All exposed devices including 

sprinkler heads in gymnasiums or indoor recreation areas 

shall be covered with protective cages. 

Article 6 

Miscellaneous Construction Features  

6VAC15-81-1040. Jail equipment. 

A. All jail security equipment, fixtures, hardware, etc. shall 

be of a design to meet the security level consistent with the 

intended use of the space. 
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B. Bunks installed in maximum and medium security cells 

shall be bolted through the wall, welded to imbeds, or bolted 

or welded to inserts cast into the wall or floor. 

C. Fixed tables and seats shall be through-bolted through the 

wall, welded to imbeds, or bolted or welded to inserts cast 

into the wall or floor. 

D. Door closers within the secure perimeter shall be the 

concealed arm type. 

E. All equipment and systems shall be installed in 

accordance with manufacturer instructions unless otherwise 

required by this chapter or approved by the reviewing 

authority to be installed differently. 

F. Exposed surfaces of all metal tables, bunks, seats, 

cabinets, grab rails, stringers, hand and guard rails, food 

passes, windows, doors, frames, shelves, and similar items 

shall have smooth edges to reduce risk of cutting or other 

injury.  

6VAC15-81-1050. Interstitial spaces. 

Interstitial spaces above cells, freezers, refrigerators, dryers, 

showers, stand-alone offices, and similar shall be enclosed to 

facilitate detection of tampering and prevent unauthorized 

access and to eliminate blind spots.  

6VAC15-81-1060. Security fasteners. 

A. Fasteners within the secure perimeter shall be pinned 

Torx or flush break-off head style fasteners installed with 

thread locking fluid. Spanner type screws are prohibited. 

B. Security fasteners are required in locations as follows: 

1. Direct supervision control panels. 

2. Inmate accessible elevator cabs and control panels.  

3. Security lock mounting plates. 

4. Glazing stops for security windows.  

5. Security light fixtures. 

6. Hinges for security doors.  

7. Field fabricated equipment. 

8. Installed furnishings and equipment including 

annunciator panels, fire extinguisher cabinets, thresholds, 

kickplates, grab bars, mirrors, floor drains, air diffusers, 

light switch plates, outlet covers, intercoms, thermostats, 

and cameras in inmate accessible areas. 

C. Fixed tables and bunks shall be secured with fasteners as 

specified in this section or with peened or tack-welded anchor 

bolts and nuts to prevent removal. 

D. Security fasteners are not required for the following: 

1. Mechanical, electrical, generator, elevator equipment, or 

communication equipment in locked rooms with security 

doors not accessible to inmates or inside enclosed control 

rooms.  

2. Above security ceilings, behind secure locked access 

doors or panels, and within secure pipe and duct chases. 

3. Movable furnishings, storage shelving, or cabinet 

hardware.  

4. Laundry and kitchen equipment. 

5. Equipment mounted higher than 15 feet above finished 

floor or within six feet of the tier. 

6. Outside the secure perimeter. 

6VAC15-81-1070. Food, paper, and medicine passes.  

A. A pass for food and medicine shall be installed in all 

maximum security cell doors. For purposes of this 

requirement, holding, intake, maximum security housing, 

classification, and special purpose cells are considered 

maximum security. 

B. A pass for food shall be installed in a wall or inner sally 

port door of each housing unit. The food pass shall be 

lockable and operable from the sally port interior and shall 

not interfere with the operation of the door. 

C. Locking passes shall be installed with the lock and fold 

down shelf on the side of the door or wall away from the 

inmates. 

D. The size of a food or medicine pass shall be no more than 

five inches high and at least 15 inches wide or designed to 

facilitate passage of trays to be used. Food passes shall be 

installed at a maximum height of 36 inches to the top of the 

opening.  

E. A minimum of a paper pass shall be installed from each 

control room to the adjoining corridor.  

6VAC15-81-1080. Communication. 

A. A secure means of communication and a paper pass shall 

be provided between control room and each dayroom and 

between magistrate's office and intake. 

B. A secure means of communication and a paper pass shall 

be provided between law-enforcement lobby and intake. 

C. In areas where voice communications through the glazing 

is required or desired, such as magistrate, visitation, and 

control rooms, a system utilizing vandal resistant individual 

speakers, microphones, intercom, telephone, [ speak around 

speak-around ] frames or approved equivalent shall be 

specified.  

6VAC15-81-1090. Interior finishes. 

A. In secure areas, all interior exposed walls, partitions, and 

ceilings shall have a low maintenance, nonabsorbent durable 

finish.  
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B. All floor surfaces shall be of a durable, low maintenance, 

nonabsorbent material.  

C. If concrete floor surfaces are used, they shall be finished 

with a sealer or coating. 

D. Base molding is not recommended in inmate accessible 

areas within the secure perimeter.  

6VAC15-81-1100. Acoustics. 

A. Acoustical treatment shall be provided at a minimum in 

housing units, activity areas, and intake.  

B. Acoustical treatment shall be damage resistant.  

6VAC15-81-1110. Security sealants. 

A. General. 

1. Security sealants shall be either elastomeric (tamper 

resistant: hardness 50 or greater) or low-mod gel (pick-

resistant: hardness 70 or greater) type. 

a. Tamper resistant sealants shall be provided within all 

inmate occupied areas subject to continuous supervision. 

b. Pick resistant sealants shall be provided within all 

inmate occupied areas not subject to continuous 

supervision, such as cells. 

2. Where open joints exceed security sealant capabilities to 

provide a full seal, a metal cover shall be provided with 

security sealant at its full perimeter. 

3. Tamper resistant sealant with range of movements 

suitable for the application shall be used. Pick resistant 

sealant shall not be used in movable building joints.  

4. Joints above ceilings, those covered by expansion joint 

covers or otherwise concealed are excluded from 

requirements for security sealants. 

5. Security sealants shall be installed with a primer and in 

accordance with manufacturer written recommendations. 

B. Inmate occupied areas. 

1. Tamper resistant sealant shall be provided as transition 

between surface applied floor finish and transition to wall 

face in lieu of an applied wall base. 

2. Within all cells, pick resistant sealants shall be provided 

for gaps and open joints at the perimeter of all permanent 

materials, furnishings, fixtures, and devices. 

3. Tamper resistant sealant shall be provided for gaps and 

open joints in other than inmate cells at the perimeter of all 

fixtures and devices that are removable if not designed to 

be continuously supervised. 

4. Locations for application of tamper resistant sealant 

include the following: 

a. Dayrooms. 

b. Visitation (inmate side). 

c. Classrooms. 

d. Indoor recreation and multipurpose rooms. 

e. Inmate toilets, lavatories, and shower areas. 

5. Security sealant is not required higher than 12 feet above 

the finished floor or beyond six feet horizontally of guard 

rails enclosing tier floor and landing levels in dayrooms.  

6VAC15-81-1120. Fencing.  

A. Two levels of security fencing are as follows: 

1. Inmate containment fencing designed for outdoor 

recreation areas outside the secure perimeter shall consist 

of: 

a. Two fences at least 12 feet in height and at least 10 

feet apart.  

b. Fence fabric shall be at least nine-gage, 2-1/2-inch 

mesh maximum opening, galvanized steel interwoven 

wire.  

c. Razor wire shall be provided and installed per 

manufacturer recommendations on the top of both fences 

in the vee arms or on the outrigger arm on the inmate 

side at the top. 

d. A third row of razor wire shall be located between the 

fences on the inmate side, adjacent to the outside fence. 

e. All razor wire shall be a minimum of 24/30 inch 

double helix coil constructed of [ 100 percent 100% ] 

stainless steel. 

2. Fencing designed for short-term supervised emergency 

containment shall be: 

a. At least 12 feet high. 

b. At least nine-gage and 2-1/2-inch maximum opening 

mesh. 

c. Galvanized steel wire interwoven fence fabric. 

d. Topped with a minimum of three rows of barbed wire 

securely fastened to support arms at the top of line and 

corner posts angled to the inmate side. 

B. Fence components including the top and bottom rails, 

line posts, terminal posts, tension bars, attachments, concrete 

footings for the fence, walk gates and truck gates, shall be in 

accordance with manufacturer recommendations. 

C. Both top and bottom selvage of the fence fabric shall be 

twisted and barbed.  

D. All exterior fencing shall be effectively grounded. 

E. After installation, all threaded fittings, connectors, and 

bolts shall be tack welded or peened to prevent nuts and pins 

from being removed. All exposed threads and connector 
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twisted wire tie ends shall face away from the inmate side of 

the fence, except for double fences where the exposed threads 

and connector twisted wire tie ends shall face between the 

fences.  

F. All twisted wire tie down wires shall be minimum nine-

gage galvanized steel and twisted a minimum of two turns at 

each end. 

G. Hog ring type connectors are not allowed in fencing 

construction. 

H. Fences are not required to have barbed wire if protected 

by razor wire. 

I. Openings between the fence post and building shall not 

exceed two inches. 

J. Bracing shall be shielded or installed on the side of fenced 

away from inmates, except for double fences where the 

connectors and bolts shall be between fences. 

K. Lock assemblies for gates in fence shall be protected 

from unauthorized access and tampering. 

L. Tension wires are not permitted in lieu of bottom rails. 

Part VI  

Community Custody Facilities Design and Construction  

Article 1  

General 

6VAC15-81-1130. Community custody facilities design 

and construction - general.  

A. For localities or regional facilities that demonstrate a 

need based on the needs assessment, a community custody 

facility meeting the requirements in this section may be 

constructed with a number of beds in accordance with 

6VAC15-81-220 A. 

B. These structures are designed to house community 

custody inmates as defined in this chapter. 

C. When designing the facility, specific consideration shall 

be given to appropriate traffic patterns; groups of functions; 

facilitating ease of movement to, from, and within functions; 

clear sightlines to eliminate blindspots; efficiency and 

economy of staffing; PREA; and facilitating a smooth, logical 

sequence of operation.  

D. Material and installation shall be in accordance with 

manufacturer recommendations or as otherwise noted in this 

chapter.  

Article 2  

Housing Design  

6VAC15-81-1140. Separate building. 

Community custody housing shall be constructed as a 

building separate from the secure portion of the jail or 

separated from the secure portion of the facility by the secure 

perimeter. 

6VAC15-81-1150. Traffic pattern separation. 

If secure and community custody housing are provided in 

the same building, the design of the facility shall provide 

exterior and interior traffic patterns to assure separation of 

secure and community custody populations. 

6VAC15-81-1160. Type of construction. 

Perimeter walls shall be of masonry, concrete, stone, metal, 

or other similar durable nonfabric, noncombustible material. 

The reviewing authority may require that perimeter walls, 

floor, and roof or ceiling meet secure perimeter requirements. 

6VAC15-81-1170. Occupancy.  

Community custody housing shall be designed to consist of 

multiple occupancy cells or dormitories. If dormitories are 

utilized and design capacity of community custody exceeds 

24, at least two housing units are required. 

6VAC15-81-1180. Separation of males and females. 

A community custody facility that contains housing units for 

both males and females shall have the housing units designed 

and constructed to prohibit normal communication by sight 

and sound between the two.  

6VAC15-81-1190. Housing unit size. 

A. Housing units shall be dormitories or multiple occupancy 

cells. 

1. Multiple occupancy cells shall be designed for no more 

than four inmates per cell and shall be sized in accordance 

with the current American Correctional Association 

Standards for Adult Local Detention Facilities. Multiple 

occupancy cells shall be configured to open into a 

dayroom.  

2. Dayroom space shall contain no less than 35 square feet 

of space for each inmate for which the unit is designed to 

serve. Calculation of this space shall not include sally 

ports, visitation booths, stairs, area under stairs, toilet, 

shower, and lavatory areas. On the first level an, 18-inch 

wide path in front of all cell fronts, toilets, and showers 

shall not be counted as dayroom space. 

3. Dormitories shall be constructed to provide 85 square 

feet of space per inmate for each inmate for which the area 

is designed. The 85 square feet associated with dormitory 

space is normally separated into 50 square feet for sleeping 

and 35 square feet for activity. Calculation of this space 

shall not include sally ports, stairs, area under stairs, or 

toilet, shower, and lavatory areas.  

B. Ceiling heights in these cells areas shall meet the 

requirements of the table in 6VAC15-81-930 C 2. 
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C. Housing units shall be designed to accommodate no more 

than 48 inmates per dormitory or 64 inmates per housing unit 

with multiple occupancy cells.  

6VAC15-81-1200. Building access. 

The facility shall be designed for the capability to monitor 

ingress and egress to the facility. Space shall be provided 

outside of the housing unit for search, work clothes lockers, 

showers, and toilet facilities. If attached to a secure facility, 

the primary entrance and exit to the facility shall be separate 

from that of the secure portion of the facility. Any connection 

between the secure portion and the community custody 

portion shall be [ sally-ported sally ported ].  

6VAC15-81-1210. Fixtures and furnishings.  

A. Each housing unit shall be provided with natural light, 

toilet fixtures, hot and cold running water, drinking fountain 

or lavatory with a sanitary bubbler, mirrors, bed or bunk, 

tables and seating, and storage space for personal items to 

accommodate the number of inmates for whom it is designed.  

B. Showers, lavatories, and toilets shall be located within the 

dayroom or dormitory. 

6VAC15-81-1220. Services.  

Space or provisions shall be made for food service, laundry, 

commissary, and other support services.  

Article 3  

Additional Design Features  

6VAC15-81-1230. Elevators.  

Elevators, if provided, shall be of sufficient size to transport 

food carts and at least one elevator per facility shall be of 

sufficient size to transport wheeled stretchers or gurneys.  

6VAC15-81-1240. Corridors.  

Corridors used for the movement of inmates, stretchers, food 

carts, etc. shall be constructed to provide a minimum of five 

feet in width and height meeting the requirements of the table 

in 6VAC15-81-930 C 2. 

6VAC15-81-1250. Door swing. 

Door swings for any space utilized by inmates shall open 

away from the inmate occupied side. 

6VAC15-81-1260. Voice and visual communication. 

A. The facility shall be equipped with a system capable of 

communicating with the master control of its associated 

facility. 

B. To enhance operations and security, intercom and CCTV 

systems shall be considered.  

6VAC15-81-1270. Telephone. 

Provisions shall be made for inmate telephone and video 

communication services available at appropriate locations 

within the facility.  

6VAC15-81-1280. Multipurpose space. 

A minimum of 15 square feet per inmate expected to use the 

space at any one time, but not less than 360 square feet of 

space shall be provided for indoor recreation or multipurpose 

use.  

6VAC15-81-1290. Drains, storage, and janitorial closets.  

A. Floor water drains shall be centrally located in all 

housing units and adjacent to shower, toilet, and lavatory 

areas.  

B. Storage and janitorial closets with mop sinks shall be 

provided in or in proximity to housing units. 

6VAC15-81-1300. Standby power and emergency release 

provisions. 

A. A standby power source shall be provided sufficient to 

sustain, as a minimum, life safety operations, security 

systems, refrigerators, and freezers. 

1. "Life safety operations" means the function of certain 

electrical, mechanical, and other building equipment 

provided for the purpose of ensuring the life, health, and 

safety of building occupants in an emergency situation. 

2. Fuel capacity shall be provided for a minimum of 72 

hours of operation without refueling. 

3. Consideration shall be given to standby power for 

nonemergency lighting. 

B. Emergency release provisions shall be made for 

unlocking or group release of cell doors in case of fire, power 

failure, or other emergencies.  

Article 4  

Construction, Mechanical, Plumbing, and Electrical 

Requirements  

6VAC15-81-1310. Interior finishes. 

A. All interior exposed walls, partitions, and ceilings shall 

have a low maintenance, nonabsorbent durable finish.  

B. All floor surfaces shall be of a durable, low maintenance, 

nonabsorbent material.  

C. If concrete floor surfaces are used they shall be finished 

with a sealer or coating.  

6VAC15-81-1320. Windows, doors, and locks.  

A. Doors, windows and frames shall be commercial grade or 

detention type. 
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B. Window openings shall be screened, locked, fixed, or 

otherwise controlled or designed to prevent unauthorized 

entry or passage of contraband. 

C. Magnetic locks are prohibited.  

6VAC15-81-1330. Climate control. 

A. Heat and air conditioning shall be provided in all rooms 

in the facility so that a temperature not less than 65 degrees F 

or more than 85 degrees F is maintained.  

B. Mechanical, electrical, and laundry spaces may be 

mechanically ventilated.  

C. Special consideration shall be afforded to additional 

cooling in kitchen, food storage areas, and rooms containing 

heat sensitive and electronic equipment.  

6VAC15-81-1340. Mechanical.  

A. Thermostats, sensors, control wiring, and control and 

pneumatic tubing for the mechanical system shall not be 

inmate accessible. 

B. Consideration shall be given to locating balancing 

dampers close to or integral with diffusers so they can be 

adjusted and checked without the installation of access 

panels. 

6VAC15-81-1350. Plumbing.  

A. Shower and toilet areas, including ceilings, shall be 

provided with a durable surface finish to withstand humidity 

and cleaning. 

B. All exposed plumbing shall be kept flush with the walls 

and ceilings. Exposed pipes shall not be inmate accessible. 

C. Hot water for inmates shall be controlled by a 

temperature limiting device to preclude temperatures in 

excess of 105 degrees F. 

D. Actuating valves provided on lavatories and showers 

shall be the metering type. 

E. Toilets equipped with tanks are prohibited. 

6VAC15-81-1360. Electrical. 

A. All wiring, conductors, and control tubing shall be 

concealed to the greatest extent possible.  

1. Where wiring is exposed and accessible by inmates, it 

shall be housed in intermediate metal conduit or rigid 

metal conduit with threaded fittings.  

2. Rigid nonmetallic conduit (PVC or CPVC) shall not be 

used above the ground floor slab except when encapsulated 

in concrete or in concrete masonry units. For transitions, 

rigid nonmetallic conduit may extend not more than six 

inches above floor. 

3. Flexible metallic conduit not exceeding six feet in length 

may be installed above ceilings.  

4. Electrical metallic tubing (EMT) may be installed above 

ceilings. EMT, if utilized, shall have compression fittings.  

5. Flexible conduit, if required for a moving part of a 

device (e.g., pan-tilt-zoom camera), shall not exceed 12 

inches exposed and shall be liquid tight or equivalent. 

6. Set screw fittings and other types of conduits are not 

permitted.  

B. Surge protection is recommended on power supplies for 

critical life safety, security, and telephone systems. Surge 

protection shall be considered on control and alarm circuits 

that leave the building.  

6VAC15-81-1370. Lighting.  

A. Natural light is required in inmate housing units. 

Consideration shall be given to providing natural light in 

renovation projects that provide new inmate housing. 

B. Intensity of artificial lighting shall be in accordance with 

requirements for artificial light in 6VAC15-40, Minimum 

Standards for Jails and Lockups. 

C. Light fixtures shall be a minimum of commercial grade 

secured with tamper resistant screws. 

D. Provisions are required for night lighting. 

E. Lights and electrical outlets shall be provided for walk-in 

type plumbing chases.  

6VAC15-81-1380. Equipment.  

Equipment and fixtures shall be a minimum of commercial 

grade. 

Part VII  

Lockup Design and Construction Requirements  

6VAC15-81-1390. Lockups and cells. 

A. Lockups shall be composed of individual or group cells.  

B. Cells shall be designed to contain a minimum of 45 

square feet for single occupancy cells plus 15 square feet per 

inmate for each additional inmate for which the cell is 

designed.  

6VAC15-81-1400. Separation.  

[ Facility The facility ] shall be designed for the necessary 

sight and sound separation of males, females, and, if planned, 

of juveniles and with consideration to PREA.  

6VAC15-81-1410. Floor drains.  

Sufficient floor water drains shall be provided throughout 

the lockup to prevent water from standing on the floors.  

6VAC15-81-1420. Monitoring.  

A. Lockups shall be designed to facilitate monitoring by 

direct visual observation with backup by CCTV.  
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B. Consideration shall be given to appropriate traffic 

patterns; groups of functions; facilitating ease of movement 

to, from, and within functions; clear sightlines to eliminate 

blind spots; efficiency and economy of staffing; PREA; and 

facilitating a smooth, logical, and orderly sequence of 

operation. 

6VAC15-81-1430. Fixtures for inmates.  

Each cell shall be provided with a stainless steel 

combination toilet and lavatory with hot and cold running 

water with an integral drinking fountain.  

6VAC15-81-1440. Cell furnishings.  

Each cell shall be equipped with a stationary steel or 

concrete wall bunk or bench.  

6VAC15-81-1450. Secure space.  

Secure space shall be provided for inmate records, logs, and 

storage and inventory of inmate property.  

6VAC15-81-1460. Telephones.  

Telephones shall be available for use by inmates in the 

admissions area. 

6VAC15-81-1470. Visiting space.  

Space for confidential attorney visiting shall be provided.  

6VAC15-81-1480. Construction requirements.  

All components of cells, sally ports, and the room or space 

containing the cells shall meet the requirements for maximum 

security construction in this chapter unless otherwise 

specified in this part. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4552; Filed January 5, 2018, 3:48 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 11. GAMING 

CHARITABLE GAMING BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC15-40. Charitable Gaming 

Regulations (amending 11VAC15-40-300).  

Statutory Authority: § 18.2-340.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 8, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Michael Menefee, Program Manager, 

Charitable and Regulatory Programs, Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, 102 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3983, FAX (804) 

371-7479, or email michael.menefee@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment increases the number of electronic pull-

tab devices used in private social quarters to nine devices. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Article 4  

Electronic Pull-tab Devices 

11VAC15-40-300. Electronic pull-tab device general 

requirements. 

A. Each electronic pull-tab device shall bear a seal approved 

by the commissioner and affixed by the department. 

B. An electronic pull-tab device shall not be capable of 

being used for the purposes of engaging in any game 

prohibited by the department. 

C. In addition to a video monitor or touch screen, each 

electronic pull-tab device may have one or more of the 

following: a bill acceptor, printer, and electromechanical 

buttons for activating the game and providing player input, 

including a means for the player to make selections and 

choices in games.  

D. For each electronic pull-tab device, there shall be located 

anywhere within the distributed pull-tab system, nonvolatile 

memory or its equivalent. The memory shall be maintained in 

a secure location for the purpose of storing and preserving a 

set of critical data that has been error checked in accordance 

with the critical memory requirements of this regulation.  

E. An electronic pull-tab device shall not have any switches, 

jumpers, wire posts, or other means of manipulation that 

could affect the operation or outcome of a game. The 

electronic pull-tab device may not have any functions or 

parameters adjustable through any separate video display or 

input codes except for the adjustment of features that are 

wholly cosmetic.  

F. An electronic pull-tab device shall not have any of the 

following attributes: spinning or mechanical reels, pull 

handle, sounds or music solely intended to entice a player to 

play, flashing lights, tower light, top box, coin tray, ticket 

acceptance, hopper, coin acceptor, enhanced animation, 

cabinet or payglass artwork, or any other attribute identified 

by the department.  

G. An electronic pull-tab device shall be robust enough to 

withstand forced illegal entry that would leave behind 

physical evidence of the attempted entry or such entry that 

causes an error code that is displayed and transmitted to the 

distributed pull-tab system. Any such entry attempt shall 

inhibit game play until cleared, and shall not affect the 

subsequent play or any other play, prize, or aspect of the 

game.  
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H. Except as provided in subsection I of this section, the 

number of electronic pull-tab devices, other than those 

electronic pull-tab devices that are handheld, present at any 

premises at which charitable gaming is conducted shall be 

limited to 10. Except as provided in subsection I of this 

section the number of handheld electronic pull-tab devices 

present at any premises at which charitable gaming is 

conducted shall be limited to 50. The department shall 

determine whether an electronic pull-tab device is handheld. 

I. The number of electronic pull-tab devices used to 

facilitate the play of electronic pull-tabs sold, played, and 

redeemed at any premises pursuant to § 18.2-340.26:1 of the 

Code of Virginia shall be limited to five nine. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-32; Filed January 9, 2018, 4:37 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-490. Virginia Radiation 

Protection Regulations: Fee Schedule (amending 

12VAC5-490-10, 12VAC5-490-20, 12VAC5-490-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-229 and 32.1-229.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: April 8, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Steve Harrison, Director, Division of 

Radiological Health, Virginia Department of Health, 109 

Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-

8151, FAX (804) 864-8155, or email 

steve.harrison@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-229 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the State Board of Health to establish fee schedules, which 

shall not exceed comparable U.S. Nuclear Regulatory 

Commission (NRC) fees, for the licensure and inspection of 

radioactive materials.  

Section 32.1-229.1 of the Code of Virginia requires the State 

Board of Health to establish fee schedules for registration of 

machines and for inspections of x-ray machines by Virginia 

Department of Health (VDH) personnel; however, no fee 

shall be charged for inspections initiated by VDH. 

Section 32.1-229.2 of the Code of Virginia requires the State 

Board of Health to set inspection fees to minimize 

competition with the private sector and include all reasonable 

costs. 

Section 32.1-232.1 of the Code of Virginia establishes a 

special trust fund for radioactive materials facility licensure 

and inspection fees. 

Purpose: The proposed regulatory action addresses fees for 

two program areas, X-Ray Program (XRP) and Radioactive 

Materials Program (RMP), and is necessary to maintain 

program solvency and to provide services and adequate 

regulatory controls necessary to protect public and worker 

health and safety and accommodate the elimination of general 

fund support for the programs and the subsequent spend 

down of surplus fee revenue since 2015. With one exception, 

fees for these programs have not increased since 2009 when 

x-ray fees were adjusted and the RMP was established along 

with commensurate fees necessary for program operations. At 

that time, fees were sufficient to cover program and ancillary 

business expenditures since the fees were supplemented by 

general funds that were allocated to the Office of 

Radiological Health (ORH). In fact, the fees generated a 

surplus. As a result, a 20% decrease in RMP fees went into 

effect in 2012 due to the overage, the anticipated continuation 

of general funds, and a petition for small business relief. On 

July 7, 2017, a change in nonmedical x-ray device registration 

and inspection fees was adopted. This regulatory action was 

initiated in early 2015, prior to the loss of general fund 

support, to help offset the cost of administrative activities 

involved in the registration, inspection, and certification of 

nonmedical x-ray equipment, which had not been assessed a 

registration fee prior to that time. 

General funds that were used to support ORH were abolished 

effective July 1, 2016. The 2015 general fund amount, having 

been reduced from about $466,000 to $361,000 over several 

years, constituted 19.3% of ORH's then budgeted resources 

(revenues) of $1,871,476 and 13.4% of ORH's budgeted 

expenditures of about $2,700,000. Since that time, the surplus 

has been used to balance the budget but is projected to be 

depleted in 2018. 

The proposed fee increases were derived based on Office of 

Financial Management (OFM) revenue and expenditure 

projections through the year 2021 that have been deemed 

necessary to maintain the program's solvency, as follows: 

Program 2017 

Revenue 

2021 Expenditure 

Forecast 

X-ray $713,000 $1,064,729 

Radioactive 

Materials 

$750,000 $1,248,278 

X-ray Program: 

The XRP is responsible for the registration and inspection of 

x-ray producing devices in the Commonwealth, in which 

there are approximately 7,000 registrants with approximately 

22,300 x-ray tubes. The XRP also does the U.S. Food and 

Drug Administration (FDA) Mammography Quality 
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Standards Act (MQSA) facility inspections; performs 

inspection reviews, correspondence, enforcement and other 

associated activities; employs staff that maintain specialized 

training and certifications necessary to conduct XRP 

activities; reviews the academic and occupational credentials 

of and certifies private inspectors authorized to conduct 

business in the Commonwealth and reviews their inspection 

reports for accuracy; and responds to incidents and 

emergencies requiring radiological technical expertise and 

dose characterization. Staff members are emergency response 

trained, maintain training to perform exposure assessment, 

and participate in radiological drills and exercises with 

federal, state, and local stakeholders and responders.  

Current XRP staffing includes six compliance/safety officers 

and supervisory and office services personnel who perform 

registrations, certifications, and billing; process and track 

payments; and provide client contact services. This staff 

complement, according to the Conference of Radiation 

Control Program Directors (CRCPD), is performing the 

workload of a minimum of eight XRP full-time employees 

for an equivalent program (CRCPD, Criteria for and 

Adequate Radiation Control Program, Appendix C, May 

2014). 

The proposed regulatory action will address two sets of fees 

levied by the XRP: x-ray machine registration fees and x-ray 

machine inspection fees. With respect to the x-ray machine 

registration fees, the existing regulation is proposed to be 

amended due to the increased costs of maintaining a 

registration program for x-ray producing devices since 

publication of the overall fee schedule effective March 4, 

2009. 

The registration fees need to be adjusted to reflect the 

elimination of general funds. The x-ray machine inspection 

fees also need to be modified to accommodate increased 

personnel, overhead, and travel costs to the agency since 

2009, which are projected to continue to increase in the 

coming years. Virginia's current and proposed x-ray 

registration fees, in comparison to those charged by other 

nearby states, appears below. 

 

X-ray Facility 

Virginia 

Current 

Registration 

Virginia 

Proposed 

Registration 

Fee 

Virginia Current 

Inspection Fee 

Virginia 

Proposed 

Inspection Fee 

Virginia 

Frequency 

Chiropractors $50 $100 $230 $250 Annual 

Dentists $50 $100 $90 $100 3 year 

Medical Offices $50 $100 $230 $250 Annual 

Hospitals $50 $100 

Private 

Inspectors Only 

Private 

Inspectors Only Annual 

Veterinary Offices $50 $100 $160 $175 3 year 

Podiatric Offices $50 $100 $90 $125 3 year 

Therapy < 0.9 MeV $50 $100 

Private 

Inspectors Only 

Private 

Inspectors Only Annual 

Therapy > 0.9 MeV $50 $100 

Private 

Inspectors Only 

Private 

Inspectors Only Annual 

Educational $50 $100 

Instrument 

Dependent 

Instrument 

Dependent Annual 

Government 

(Academic) $50 $100 

Instrument 

Dependent 

Instrument 

Dependent Annual 

Baggage $20 $40 100 100 5 year 

Cabinet/Analytical $25 $50 150 150 3 year 

Industrial $50 $100 200 200 Annual 

Bone Density $50 $100 $90 90 3 year 
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X-ray Facility Tennessee* Tennessee Frequency Maryland* 
Maryland 

Frequency 

North 

Carolina* 

(Initial + 

$24 to 

$50/tube) 

North 

Carolina 

Frequency 

Chiropractors $195 2 years $222 

2 years 

(Private) $180 3 year 

Dentists $85 4 years $80 

3 years 

(State) $180 5 year 

Medical Offices $286 Annual $222 

2 years 

(Private) $180 3 year 

Hospitals  $286 Annual  $222 

2 years 

(Private) $390 3 year 

Veterinary Offices $195 2 years $222 

2 years 

(State) $130 4 year 

Podiatric Offices $195 2 years $222 

2 years 

(Private) $180 3 year 

Therapy < 0.9 MeV $390 Annual  $882 

Annual 

(Private) $400 3 year 

Therapy > 0.9 MeV $2,600 Annual $882 

Annual 

(Private) $400 3 year 

Educational $780 2 years $222 

3 years 

(Private) $130 4 year 

Government (Academic) $780 2 years $222 

3 years 

(Private) $130 4 year 

Baggage/Cabinet/ 

Industrial $780 2 years $222 

3 Years 

(Private) $180 3 year 

Bone Density $195 2 years $222 

2 years 

(Private) $180 3 year 

*Inspection fees included in registration fee, where conducted by state inspectors. 

Radioactive Materials Program: 

Virginia entered into an agreement with the NRC on March 31, 2009, to assume the responsibilities of regulating the use of 

radioactive materials in Virginia. 12VAC5-490 was promulgated at that time to supply the monetary means for supporting the 

RMP by charging application and annual licensing fees.  

The RMP is tasked with performing detailed technical reviews of license applications submitted for possession, use, 

manufacture, and distribution of radioactive materials, as well as any other associated activities requiring licensing by 

regulations (e.g., decontamination services) prior to approval for possession or operation. Contacts with applicants during the 

review process are documented through review letters and memoranda. For major operations, facilities subject to increased 

controls or applicants with no previous history with the RMP, prelicensing visits to examine facilities and equipment may be in 

order. Procedures are in place to promote thoroughness, technical quality, and uniformity. The RMP requires license 

amendments for any significant change in authorized radioactive materials, uses, and operations, and an amendment review is 

equivalent to the license application review. A complete technical review and reauthorization of active licenses comparable to 

the original licensing process are also conducted at a frequency based on the type of facility, materials, or activities authorized. 

The program requires the registration of certain devices containing a large quantity of or otherwise hazardous sealed sources of 

radioactive material that are generally licensed under its regulations and also requires evidence of financial assurance or surety 

for large quantity licensees with substantial potential for contamination of facilities, equipment, and the environment or that 
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possess large quantities of radioactive material requiring disposal. Inspections are conducted to evaluate compliance with 

regulatory standards, and inspection reports are generated that follow a uniform format and allow for timely (no later than 30 

days after inspection) communication of results to the licensee. These reports summarize the inspection scope, include 

measurement data with appropriate interpretation, clearly list and categorize as to the severity each item of noncompliance, set 

a reasonable date for correction of each item, and require a plan for corrective action that includes submission of evidence that 

corrections have been performed and are effective.  

The RMP licenses and inspects approximately 400 specific licensees. The RMP also tracks over 2,900 general licensees that 

possess over 34,000 general licensed devices; however, general licensees are not subject to inspection. RMP staffing consists of 

one supervisor who conducts inspections, five program support inspectors, and two administrative program specialists. These 

personnel maintain the RMP's databases on licensure and inspections; prepare and distribute statistical and informational 

reports, including monthly reports on the number of inspections (due, past due, and conducted), license applications, 

amendments, license actions overdue, violations, denials, etc.; receive and process the daily mail, including license 

applications, amendments, and renewals, inspection letters, and licensing fees; mail out licensing bills, inspection letters, 

renewal applications, and general information to licensees; contact licensees by telephone regarding licensing fees and 

renewals; and maintain the licensing file system, including file numbers, licenses, inspection reports, billing notices, and other 

materials. 

According to the CRCPD, RMP professional and technical personnel requirements should consist of eight to 12 inspectors plus 

management and administrative support (CRCPD, Criteria for and Adequate Radiation Control Program, Appendix C, May 

2014). 

This proposed regulatory action seeks to continue to assess RMP fees equitably across all license categories by using the fee 

structure adopted in 2009 upon Virginia's becoming an agreement state, while also incorporating the regulatory changes 

adopted on November 22, 2012, to accommodate small business relief. Using this approach, revenue generation is estimated to 

be about $1,248,500, which will approximate OFM's projected expenditures of about $1,248,300. It is also important to note 

that this proposal does not suggest establishing an hourly rate for initial license application and amendment reviews as does the 

NRC, which is currently $263 per hour for such reviews. A comparison of the NRC's existing fees to VDH's proposed fees, as 

well as a sampling of other agreement state fees, appears below: 

Cat Specific License Type 

NRC 

FY17 

Fee* 

VDH 

Proposed 

Fee PA Fee** TN Fee KY Fee NC Fee 

1 Special Nuclear Material             

A. Possession and use of SNM in 

sealed sources contained in 

devices used in measuring systems $8,000 $1,700  $3,150        

B. SNM to be used as calibration and 

reference sources $3,000 $900  $8,700        

C. SNM - all other, except license 

authorizing special nuclear 

material in unsealed form that 

would constitute a critical mass 

(Fee waived if facility holds 

additional license category.) $8,600 $3,400  $8,700  $7,800      

2 Source Material             

A. Source material processing and 

distribution $8,000 $5,100  $45,100        

B. Source material in shielding (Fee 

waived if facility holds additional 

license category.) $3,300 $300  $1,125  $425      

C. Source material - all other, 

excluding depleted uranium used 

as shielding or counterweights $9,400 $3,400  $20,100        
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3 Byproduct, NARM             

A. Broad scope for processing or 

manufacturing of items for 

commercial distribution $30,500 $17,000  $12,450  $7,800  $5,200  $2,250  

B. Processing or manufacturing and 

commercial distribution of 

radiopharmaceuticals, generators, 

reagent kits and sources or devices $12,900 $9,000  $17,850  $7,800  $5,200    

C. Commercial distribution or 

redistribution of 

radiopharmaceuticals, generators, 

reagent kits and sources or devices  $12,900 $6,800  $10,200  $7,800  $5,200    

D. Processing or manufacturing of 

items for commercial distribution $11,600 $3,400  $12,450    $3,600  $2,250  

E. Industrial radiography operations 

performed only in a shielded 

radiography installation $27,000 $5,100  $21,150  $7,800  $4,000  $2,600  

F. Industrial radiography performed 

only at the address indicated on 

the license, and at temporary job 

sites $27,000 $6,000  $21,150  $7,800  $4,000  $3,500  

G. Possession and use of less than 

370 TBq (10,000 curies) of 

radioactive material in sealed 

sources for irradiation of materials 

where the source is not removed 

from the shield (Fee waived if 

facility holds additional irradiator 

license category.) $10,800 $3,400  $6,300  $1,950  $1,750  $4,500  

H. Possession and use of less than 

370 TBq (10,000 curies) of 

radioactive material in sealed 

sources for irradiation of materials 

where the source is exposed for 

irradiation purposes. The category 

also includes underwater 

irradiators for irradiation $11,800 $5,100  $11,700  $36,000  $4,200  $4,500  

I. Possession and use of at least 370 

TBq (10,000 curies) and less than 

3.7 PBq (100,000 curies) of 

radioactive material in sealed 

sources for irradiation of materials $95,700 $5,100  

NRC Fee + 

10% 

Application 

or Renewal $36,000  $4,200  $8,500  

J. Possession and use of 3.7 PBq 

(100,000 curies) or more of 

radioactive material in sealed 

sources for irradiation of materials $95,700 $8,500  $46,800  $36,000  $4,200  $8,500  

K. Distribute items containing 

radioactive materials to persons 

under a general license  $4,600 $1,700  $3,750  $36,000      

L. Possess radioactive materials 

intended for distribution to 

persons exempt from licensing $11,600 $1,700  $16,050  $2,730      
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M. Broad scope for research and 

development that does not 

authorize commercial distribution 

$16,300 $10,200  $22,600  

The sum 

of all 

applicable 

categories $3,500  $3,000  

N. Research and development that 

does not authorize commercial 

distribution $14,800 $1,700  $8,400  $1,170  $1,250    

O. Installation, repair, maintenance or 

other service of devices or items 

containing radioactive material, 

excluding waste transportation or 

broker services  $22,100 $1,700  $12,750    $1,200    

P. Portable gauges $9,300 $1,300  $4,050  $2,730  $1,300  $425  

Q. Portable x-ray fluorescence 

analyzer, dewpointer or gas 

chromatograph $9,300 $400  $4,050  $850      

R. Leak testing services $9,300 $900  $4,050  $850  $1,200  $400  

S. Instrument calibration services $9,300 $1,700  $4,050  $850  $1,200  $400  

T. Fixed gauges $9,300 $1,300  $3,150  $1,950  $1,100  $550  

U. All other byproduct, naturally-

occurring or accelerator-produced 

material licenses, except as 

otherwise noted $9,300 $2,600  $4,050  

Case-by-

case basis   $500  

4 Waste Processing             

A. Commercial waste treatment 

facilities, including incineration   $170,000  Full Cost $450,000      

B. All other commercial facilities 

involving waste compaction, 

repackaging, storage or transfer $20,800 $12,800  $18,000  $14,625  $10,000    

C. Waste processing - all other, 

including decontamination service   $8,500  Full Cost 

Case-by-

case basis $25,000    

5 Well Logging             

A. Well logging using sealed sources 

or sub-surface tracer studies $16,000 $5,100  $6,600  $5,200  $2,500    

B. Well logging using sealed sources 

and sub-surface tracer studies $16,000 $5,100  Full Cost $5,200  $2,500    

6 Nuclear Laundry             

A. Commercial collection and 

laundry of items contaminated 

with radioactive material $38,500 $17,000  $43,200  $14,625  $7,500    

7 Medical/Veterinary             

A. Human use of sealed sources 

contained in teletherapy or 

stereotactic radiosurgery devices, 

including mobile therapy $23,800 $10,200  $7,350  $2,730  $4,000    
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B. Broad scope for human use in 

medical diagnosis, treatment, 

research and development 

(excluding teletherapy or 

stereotactic radiosurgery devices) $33,800 $20,400  $43,500  

The sum 

of all 

applicable 

categories $7,500  $5,250  

C. Mobile nuclear medicine $14,700 $3,400  $7,350  $7,800  $2,500  $1,600  

D. Medical Institutions providing 

imaging, diagnostic or 

radionuclide therapy $14,700 $4,000  $7,350  $1,170  $2,100  $2,900  

E. HDR, Emerging Technologies $14,700 $6,400  $7,350  $2,730  $4,000  $2,100  

F. Veterinary use of radioactive 

materials  

$9,300 $1,700  

NRC Fee + 

10% 

Application 

or Renewal $2,730  $2,100    

G. In-Vitro 

$9,300 $1,700  

NRC Fee + 

10% 

Application 

or Renewal   $1,250    

8 Academic             

A. Possession and use of byproduct, 

naturally-occurring or accelerator 

produced radioactive material for 

educational use or academic 

research and development that 

does not authorize commercial 

distribution, excluding broad 

scope or human use license $14,800 $1,300  $1,300  $7,800  $1,250    

9 Accelerator             

A. Accelerator production of 

radioisotopes with commercial 

distribution 

$32,000 $3,400  

NRC Fee + 

10% 

Application 

or Renewal       

B. Accelerator isotope production - 

all other (Fee waived if facility 

holds medical broad scope license 

with no commercial distribution.) $32,000 $3,400  

NRC Fee + 

10% 

Application 

or Renewal       

10 Reciprocity             

A. Reciprocal recognition of an out-

of-state specific license  

  

50% of 

annual fee 

of 

applicable 

category $2,250        

  

* The NRC also charges an initial 

application fee. Fees for permits, 

licenses, amendments, renewals, 

special projects, 10 CFR Part 55 

requalification and replacement 

examinations and tests, other 

required reviews, approvals, and 

inspections will be calculated 

using the professional staff-hour 

rate of $263 per hour.     

**Small 

Business 

Fee: $3,450 

      



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 12 Virginia Register of Regulations February 5, 2018 

1226 

The fee schedule continues to be designed on the premise that all licensees will pay a fair share of the program costs. One fee is 

set per category of licensee based on time and effort. When the Commonwealth's program was developed, the NRC fee 

schedule was referenced and then adjusted for expected time and effort involved in RMP staff managing each license category. 

Unlike the NRC program, the RMP did not include a reduced rate for small business licensees as the size of the business (i.e., 

licensee) did not correlate with the time and effort involved. However, a Petition for Rulemaking was submitted to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall on August 17, 2009, requesting the radioactive material licensing fees be lowered to accommodate this 

provision to the extent possible. That change took effect on November 22, 2012, and as a result, 19 of 54 licensees were 

assessed a higher licensing fee by VDH than they paid to the NRC while 35 were lower than the NRC fee. The same category 

and fee structure applied at that time was followed for this proposal. Using the 2017 NRC small business fees in comparison to 

the VDH proposed fees, 14 businesses would be charged a fee higher than the NRC small business fee, while 48 would be 

charged less, as shown below: 

# Name Type Cat 

2017 

NRC 

Small 

Business 

Fee 

 

Proposed  

VA 

Fee 

Difference 

VA Proposed 

to NRC 

1 Blue Ridge Isotopes, LLC Nuclear Pharmacy 3B $4,100 $9,000 $4,900 

2 

Radiology Services of 

Northern VA Nuclear Pharmacy 3B $4,100 $9,000 $4,900 

3 Martin Industrial Testing, Inc. 

Industrial 

Radiography 3F $850 $6,000 $5,150 

4 

Hampton Roads Cardiology, 

PLLC Medical 7D $850 $4,000 $3,150 

5 Precision Nuclear Diagnostics Mobile Medical 7C $850 $3,400 $2,550 

6 Advex Corporation 

Industrial 

Radiography 3F $4,100 $6,000 $1,900 

7 J Core Drilling, Inc. 

Industrial 

Radiography 3F $4,100 $6,000 $1,900 

8 Pole Brothers Imaging Co 

Industrial 

Radiography 3F $4,100 $6,000 $1,900 

9 Scientific Technical, Inc. 

Industrial 

Radiography 3F $4,100 $6,000 $1,900 

10 Testing Technologies, Inc 

Industrial 

Radiography 3F $4,100 $6,000 $1,900 

11 Well Data Services, Inc. Well Logger 5B $4,100 $5,100 $1,000 

12 General Health Physics Calibration 3S $850 $1,700 $850 

13 Wise County Coals, Inc. Portable Gauge 3P $850 $1,300 $450 

14 

Geo Design & Engineering, 

Inc. Portable Gauge 3P $850 $1,300 $450 

15 Ajay A. Acharya, M.D., P.C. Medical 7D $4,100 $4,000 $(100) 

16 

Blue Ridge Cardiovascular 

Associates Medical 7D $4,100 $4,000 $(100) 

17 

Cardiac & Vascular Care of 

Virginia, P.C. Medical 7D $4,100 $4,000 $(100) 
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18 Cardiology Associated, PC Medical 7D $4,100 $4,000 $(100) 

19 Cardiology of Virginia, Inc. Medical 7D $4,100 $4,000 $(100) 

20 

Cardiology Specialists of 

Virginia, PC Medical 7D $4,100 $4,000 $(100) 

21 

Cardiovascular Associates of 

Charlottesville, PLC Medical 7D $4,100 $4,000 $(100) 

22 Heart Care Associates, P.C. Medical 7D $4,100 $4,000 $(100) 

23 

Henrico Cardiology 

Associates Medical 7D $4,100 $4,000 $(100) 

24 Javed Cardiac Center, PLLC Medical 7D $4,100 $4,000 $(100) 

25 

M. Rafiq Zaheer, M.D., 

F.A.C.C. Medical 7D $4,100 $4,000 $(100) 

26 

Medical Associates of 

Northern VA Medical 7D $4,100 $4,000 $(100) 

27 

Northern Virginia 

Endocrinologists Medical 7D $4,100 $4,000 $(100) 

28 Odyssey Imaging, LLC Medical 7D $4,100 $4,000 $(100) 

29 

Prince William Nuclear 

Cardiology Medical 7D $4,100 $4,000 $(100) 

30 

Richmond Cardiology 

Associates Medical 7D $4,100 $4,000 $(100) 

31 Roanoke Heart Institute, PLC Medical 7D $4,100 $4,000 $(100) 

32 Tidewater Heart Institute Medical 7D $4,100 $4,000 $(100) 

33 

Best Medical International, 

Inc. Mfg./Dist. 3D $4,100 $3,400 $(700) 

34 Blue Ridge Equine Clinic, Inc Veterinary 7F $4,100 $1,700 $(2,400) 

35 Wm. G. Brewer, DVM Veterinary 7F $4,100 $1,700 $(2,400) 

36 Health Physics Consultation Other - Consult 3U $4,100 $2,600 $(1,500) 

37 Physics Associates Other - Consult 3U $4,100 $2,600 $(1,500) 

38 Dilon Technologies, LLC R&D 3N $4,100 $1,700 $(2,400) 

39 EPL Pathology, Inc. Other - Consult 3U $4,100 $2,600 $(1,500) 

40 Spurlock Equine Associates Veterinary 7F $4,100 $1,700 $(2,400) 

41 

Veterinary Emergency Center, 

Inc. Veterinary 7F $4,100 $1,700 $(2,400) 

42 AlexCom & Associates, Inc. Portable Gauge 3P $4,100 $1,300 $(2,800) 

43 ATCS, P.L.C. Portable Gauge 3P $4,100 $1,300 $(2,800) 

44 Branscome, Inc Portable Gauge 3P $4,100 $1,300 $(2,800) 

45 

Commonwealth 

Environmental Associates, Inc Portable Gauge 3P $4,100 $1,300 $(2,800) 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 12 Virginia Register of Regulations February 5, 2018 

1228 

46 

Consulting Engineers 

Corporation Portable Gauge 3P $4,100 $1,300 $(2,800) 

47 

Dominion Engineering 

Associates, Inc. Portable Gauge 3P $4,100 $1,300 $(2,800) 

48 Dominion Inspection Co., Inc. Portable Gauge 3P $4,100 $1,300 $(2,800) 

49 

ECS Mid-Atlantic, LLC 

(Winchester) Portable Gauge 3P $4,100 $1,300 $(2,800) 

50 

EnCon Consulting Services, 

Inc. Portable Gauge 3P $4,100 $1,300 $(2,800) 

51 

Engineering & Materials 

Technology, Inc. Portable Gauge 3P $4,100 $1,300 $(2,800) 

52 

Engineering and Testing 

Consultants, Inc. Portable Gauge 3P $4,100 $1,300 $(2,800) 

53 

GeoConcepts Engineering, 

Inc. Portable Gauge 3P $4,100 $1,300 $(2,800) 

54 Geotechnics, Inc. Portable Gauge 3P $4,100 $1,300 $(2,800) 

55 HDH Associates, PC Portable Gauge 3P $4,100 $1,300 $(2,800) 

56 Lee Hy Paving Corporation Portable Gauge 3P $4,100 $1,300 $(2,800) 

57 

NXL Construction Services, 

Inc. Portable Gauge 3P $4,100 $1,300 $(2,800) 

58 

Roofing Consulting Service, 

Inc. Portable Gauge 3P $4,100 $1,300 $(2,800) 

59 Seal Engineering, Inc. Portable Gauge 3P $4,100 $1,300 $(2,800) 

60 

Terra Tech Engineering 

Service, P.C. Portable Gauge 3P $4,100 $1,300 $(2,800) 

61 Viola Engineering, PLC Portable Gauge 3P $4,100 $1,300 $(2,800) 

62 Zannino Engineering, Inc. Portable Gauge 3P $4,100 $1,300 $(2,800) 

Other Actual and Anticipated Cost Increases: 

It is important to note that VDH's Office of Financial 

Management's expenditure budget forecast assumes no 

reductions in staff or operating costs and the following future 

cost impact assumptions through 2021:  

1. Health insurance: Likely 8.0% increase in fiscal year 

(FY) 2018 (based on statewide central appropriation 

planning in Appropriation Act).  

2. Health insurance: Additional conservative individual 

FY 2019 - FY 2021 increases of 5.0%, 2.0%, and 2.0%.  

3. Virginia Information Technologies Agency: Annual 

conservative 1.0% increase in each FY.  

4. State compensation: Conservative 3.0% annual salary 

cost impact factored in FY 2018 and beyond (FY 2018 

and future fiscal years speculative).  

5. Office of Financial Management (OFM) forecasts 

XRP expenditures of about $1,065,000 by the year 2021, 

while revenue is expected to remain constant at about 

$713,000, unless fees are raised. 

6. OFM forecasts RMP expenditures of about $1,250,000 

by the year 2021, while revenue is expected to remain 

constant at about $750,000, unless fees are raised. 

OFM also provided information on various cost increases 

since the RMP fee reduction of 2012 went into effect. 

Specifically:  

a. FY 2018: 3.0% legislated raise in staff compensation. 

b. FY 2014: 2.0% legislated raise in staff compensation.  

c. FY 2013 and FY 2014: Health insurance employer 

premium increases each year (individual plan increases 

vary; average increased in 3.0-8.0% range annually). 
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d. FY 2011 and FY 2012: Modest health insurance 

employer premium increase 

There were additional net contributions required of agency 

non-general funds or cash balances that were used to support 

the Virginia Retirement System's pension liability. 

Substance: 12VAC5-490-10 is proposed to be amended to 

increase the x-ray machine registration fee for operators or 

owners of diagnostic x-ray machines used in the healing arts 

and capable of producing radiation as well as operators or 

owners of therapeutic x-ray, particle accelerators, and 

teletherapy machines used in the healing arts that are capable 

of producing radiation, and for nonmedical x-ray devices. 

12VAC5-490-20 is proposed to be amended to increase fees 

charged for surveys (inspections) requested by a registrant 

and performed by a VDH inspector. 

12VAC5-490-40 is proposed to revise the annual fees for 

entities issued a radioactive materials license pursuant to 

12VAC5-481, as necessary, to support the licensing and 

inspection program under the Commonwealth's authority as a 

NRC agreement state. Since the 2012 revision, fee collection 

by the RMP has averaged about $750,000 while expenses 

have averaged about $950,000. This action is expected to 

increase the RMP revenue generation to be in line with 

current and anticipated future expenditures. 

The Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended, provides the 

statutory basis by which the NRC relinquishes portions of its 

regulatory authority to license and regulate radioactive 

material to a state that agrees to accept that responsibility. 

Through the agreement state program, 37 states, including 

Virginia, have signed formal agreements for inspection and 

enforcement authority with the NRC. The NRC retains an 

oversight role and periodically reviews agreement state 

programs for continued adequacy to protect public health and 

safety through their Integrated Materials Performance 

Evaluation Program (IMPEP). All IMPEP reviews use 

common performance indicators in the assessment. For most 

IMPEP reviews, no action other than issuance of the final 

report is needed. In cases where additional action is needed, 

the NRC may consider monitoring, heightened oversight, 

probation, suspension, or termination. Suspension and 

termination are considered when a program is deemed 

inadequate to protect public health and safety. In these 

situations, the state's authority is revoked and oversight 

authority reverts back to the NRC, and the state's revenue 

stream normally generated by program fees would be 

eliminated.  

In November 2014, the NRC's IMPEP review team evaluated 

Virginia's RMP and found "the Program experienced a 

backlog in inspections due, in part, to having a shortage of 

qualified staff to complete inspections within the required 

timeframe." Since that time, the RMP has hired and trained 

two new inspectors and completed the overdue inspection 

backlog, thus avoiding monitoring, probation, or forfeiture. 

The NRC warned, however, that a loss of even one inspector 

could create an environment for recurrence due to the absence 

of staffing depth. The NRC also noted that the administrative 

assistant responsible for maintaining the database had been 

filled three times since 2010 and was vacant again at the time 

of the review. ORH explained that efforts would be 

undertaken to request the conversion of that position to a full-

time equivalent, which was granted in 2015 and subsequently 

filled.  

The RMP, through its registration fees, currently provides for 

about 30% of ORH's overall revenue and supports 

administration, the RMP supervisor, RMP inspectors, and 

business staff salaries, as well as some office-wide equipment 

purchases and emergency response capabilities. A loss of the 

RMP and the revenue it generates, even temporarily, would 

challenge the viability of the office at large. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this change to the public 

and the regulated community is that registering all x-ray 

machines allows ORH to maintain an accurate database of the 

devices, track inspections, and ensure that the machines are 

functioning properly so as to minimize the risk of equipment 

malfunction and accidental overexposures. 

The primary advantage to the public is that the x-ray machine 

registration and inspection fees rely on owners or operators of 

the x-ray equipment. Similarly, radioactive materials 

licensing fees rely on the owners or operators of radioactive 

materials sources and devices. There are no disadvantages to 

the public in promulgating the proposed fee schedule. 

The primary advantage to the agency and the Commonwealth 

is that approving the proposed fee structure allows the 

Commonwealth to recover more of the costs associated with 

carrying out the legislative mandate. There are no 

disadvantages to the agency and Commonwealth in 

promulgating the proposed fee schedule.  

Other pertinent matters of interest to the regulated community 

include that x-ray machine registrants and radioactive 

materials licensees have an interest in keeping inspection fees 

as low as possible. Potential concerns may be expressed by 

private x-ray device inspectors whose fees are independent of 

VDH's inspection fees and are negotiated between individual 

private inspectors and the registrants. Section 32.1-229.2 of 

the Code of Virginia requires the agency to establish 

inspection fees to minimize competition with the private 

inspector and recover its costs. X-ray machine registrants may 

also express concerns that the proposed inspection fees are 

excessive. Similarly, VDH may anticipate objection from the 

radioactive materials licensees due to a proposed increase, 

even though the proposed fee schedule for radioactive 

materials will remain below the NRC's fees for equivalent 

(non-agreement state) services. 
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Health (Board) proposes to raise registration and 

inspection fees in the X-ray Program (XRP) as well as 

licensing fees in the Radioactive Materials Program (RMP). 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Board proposes to raise the 

fees in XRP for device registrations and inspections and in 

RMP for licensing. The General Fund support for XRP and 

RMP were abolished effective July 1, 2016, which reduced 

funding for the programs by $361,000 in total. Even with the 

General Fund support the programs were not generating 

enough fee revenue to cover their costs. In addition, new 

positions were created in the Office of Radiological Health 

for the RMP in 2015 to accommodate inspections and 

business functions because the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory 

Commission had expressed concerns about an inspection 

backlog in a preceding program assessment. Furthermore, 

health insurance premiums, information technology costs, 

employee compensation, equipment rental costs, etc. have 

increased and are anticipated to increase in the future. The 

Virginia Department of Health (VDH) projects a $351,729 

shortfall between revenues and expenditures in XRP and a 

$498,278 shortfall in RMP by fiscal year 2021. The proposed 

fee increases are intended to make both programs self-

sufficient. 

There are two types of fees in the XRP. One for registration 

and one for inspection. The amount of the fees and frequency 

of inspections depend on the facility type. Medical facilities, 

hospitals, and chiropractors are subject to a one-year 

inspection cycle. Dental, podiatry, and veterinary facilities are 

subject to a three-year inspection cycle. Current periodic 

registration fees are $20 for baggage x-ray facilities, $25 for 

cabinet/analytical x-ray facilities, and $50 for all the of 

remaining types of facilities. The proposed registration fees 

are double the current registration fees (i.e., $40, $50, and 

$100 respectively). Current inspection fees range from $90 

every three years to $230 every year. The proposed fees range 

from $100 every three years to $250 every year. There are no 

fee increases in four categories of facility types. The increases 

in other categories range from 9% to 39% depending on the 

facility type. 

VDH researched the amount of similar fees charged in 

Tennessee, Maryland, and North Carolina. Comparison with 

those states reveals that the proposed fees are either similar or 

in most cases below the fees charged in those three states. 

There are 43 different types of licenses in RMP covering 

possession, use, processing, distribution, manufacturing, and 

repair of any devices or products that contain radioactive 

materials. The current license fees range from $200 to 

$100,000 depending upon the specific application. However, 

all but one of the fees are below $12,000.  The proposed 

increases are between 50% and 60% for three fee categories, 

between 70% and 74% for 38 fee categories, and at 80% for 

two fee categories. 

VDH also compared the proposed RMP fees to those charged 

by the federal Nuclear Regulatory Commission, 

Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Kentucky, and North Carolina. The 

proposed license fees are much lower than what the federal 

Nuclear Regulatory Commission charges and are also similar 

to the fees charged by the comparison states. 

With the proposed fee increases, XRP and RMP will be able 

to maintain their operations providing a check on safety of 

radioactive equipment and materials.  In addition, if RMP 

failed to hire additional staff to address the inspection 

backlog, the Nuclear Regulatory Commission would have 

revoked Virginia's authority to issue licenses and take over 

the licensing authority. The fees charged by the Nuclear 

Regulatory Commission are considerably higher than the 

proposed RMP fees. 

Financing of 100% of XRP and RMP expenses through user 

fees should improve allocative efficiency of economic 

resources. In general, if the benefits accrue broadly to the 

public, then the program should be financed by taxes paid by 

the public. In contrast, if the benefits accrue to a limited 

number of private individuals or organizations, then the 

program should be financed by charges paid by the private 

beneficiaries. Charging the marginal cost of a service ensures 

that just the right amount of that service will be produced and 

consumed. For example, charging less than the full cost may 

encourage some entities to obtain an unneeded x-ray 

machines. Similarly, charging more than the actual cost may 

unnecessarily discourage some entities from obtaining a 

needed x-ray equipment. 

The same principle also applies to the distribution of program 

costs among various types or categories of registrants and 

licensees. VDH notes that the proposed fees for different 

categories are generally set based on time and effort it takes 

to regulate that specific category. 

The proposed regulation will likely also indirectly affect 

private x-ray inspectors and facilities that hire those 

inspectors. Currently, only about 10% of the inspections are 

conducted by XRP staff. An increase in XRP fee schedule 

will likely result in some additional registrants seeking 

services of private inspectors, which may lead to an increase 

in fees charged by them. 

In summary, the main economic impact of the proposed 

regulation is to ensure that XRP and RMP have enough 

resources to support their operations and continue to protect 

the public from health and safety risks posed by radioactive 

equipment and materials. 
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Businesses and Entities Affected. In the XRP program, there 

are about 7,000 registrants with approximately 21,000 x-ray 

tubes. The types of registrants include but are not limited to 

medical, industrial, and academic facilities. Program staff 

inspect about 1,000 facilities and 2,100 machines per year. 

The remaining facilities are inspected through private 

inspectors.  

In the RMP program, there are about 400 specific licensees. 

The licensees include large nuclear power generation and 

shipyard facilities and smaller medical and engineering 

facilities. The program staff conduct approximately 400 

inspections and licensing actions annually. RMP also tracks 

over 2,900 general licensees which possess over 34,000 

general licensed devices. 

The proposed changes will also directly affect XRP and RMP 

by providing funding for their operations. Currently, there are 

a total of 20 full-time equivalents that serve those programs, 

either directly in supervisory or inspection positions, or in 

support functions (i.e., business, billing, and management). 

Finally, there are 171 private inspectors and their customers 

may be indirectly affected as noted above. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes do not 

disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed fee increases 

will maintain the current level of full-time positions at VDH 

for XRP and RMP. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed fee increases are probably relatively small 

compared to asset values of the affected businesses. Thus, no 

significant impact on the use and value of private property is 

expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The majority of registrants in the 

XRP (dental facilities, chiropractic facilities, podiatry offices, 

medical facilities/offices, veterinary facilities) are likely to be 

small businesses while hospitals, of which there are about 

100, generally are not. The 62 registrants in RMP are likely 

small businesses. The costs and other effects on small 

businesses are the same as discussed above. The current fees 

for categories in RMP where most of the entities are small 

businesses (e.g., medical offices, portable gauge users, and 

industrial radiographers) are lower to provide small business 

relief. The proposed fees, while higher than the current fees, 

continue to provide relief to most of the small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no alternative source of funds that would finance XRP and 

RMP operations. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. Most of the affected hospitals in the XRP and 

several licensees in the RMP are not small providers. The 

costs and other effects on them are the same as discussed 

above. 

Localities. Localities are exempt from x-ray registration fees. 

However, they must pay x-ray inspection fees and radioactive 

material license fees. 

Other Entities.  

The proposed amendments will not directly adversely affect 

other entities. However, the proposed regulation may 

indirectly adversely affect those registrants using private 

inspectors. The proposed XRP fee increases would likely 

enable private inspectors to increase the fees they charge, 

adversely affecting their customers. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Department of Health concurs with the results of the 

economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments increase fees in the fee schedule 

used by the X-Ray Program for device registrations and 

inspections and in the fee schedule used by the Radioactive 

Materials Program for charging annual licensing fees to 

maintain program solvency and provide adequate 

regulatory controls.  

12VAC5-490-10. Registration fees. 

A. All operators or owners of diagnostic x-ray machines 

used in the healing arts and capable of producing radiation 

shall pay the following registration fee: 

1. $50 $100 for each machine and additional tube(s) tubes 

that have a required annual inspection, collected annually; 

and 

2. $60 $100 for each machine and additional tube(s) tubes 

that have a required inspection every three years, collected 

every three years. 

B. All operators or owners of therapeutic x-ray, particle 

accelerators, and teletherapy machines used in the healing arts 

capable of producing radiation shall pay the following annual 

registration fee: 

1. $50 $100 for each machine with a maximum beam 

energy of less than 500 KVp; 
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2. $50 $100 for each machine with a maximum beam 

energy of 500 KVp or greater. 

C. All operators or owners of baggage, cabinet or analytical, 

or industrial x-ray machines capable of producing radiation 

shall pay the following annual registration fee: 

1. $20 $40 for each machine used for baggage inspection; 

2. $25 $50 for each machine identified as cabinet or 

analytical; and 

3. $50 $100 for each machine used for industrial 

radiography. 

D. Where the operator or owner of the aforementioned 

machines is a state agency or local government, that agency is 

exempt from the payment of the registration fee. 

12VAC5-490-20. Inspection fees and inspection 

frequencies for x-ray machines. 

The following table lists the fees that shall be charged for 

surveys requested by the registrant and performed by a 

Department of Health inspector, as well as the required 

inspection frequencies for each type of x-ray machine: 

Type Cost Per 

Tube 

Inspection 

Frequency 

General Radiographic 

(includes: Chiropractic and 

Special Purpose X-ray 

Systems) 

$230 

$250 

Annually 

Fluoroscopic, C-arm 

Fluoroscopic 

$230 

$250 

Annually 

Combination (General 

Purpose-Fluoroscopic) 

$460 

$500 

Annually 

Dental Intraoral and 

Panographic 

$90 

$100 

Every 3 years 

Veterinary $160 

$175 

Every 3 years 

Podiatric $90 

$125 

Every 3 years 

Cephalometric $120 

$130 

Every 3 years 

Bone Densitometry $90 

$100 

Every 3 years 

Combination (Dental 

Panographic and 

Cephalometric) 

$210 

$230 

Every 3 years 

Shielding Review for 

Dental Facilities 

$250 

$300 

Initial/Prior to 

use 

Shielding Review for 

Radiographic, 

Chiropractic, Veterinary, 

Fluoroscopic, or Podiatric 

Facilities 

$450 

$500 

Initial/Prior to 

use 

Baggage X-ray Unit $100 Every 5 years 

Cabinet or Analytical X-

ray Unit 

$150 Every 3 years 

Industrial Radiography X-

ray Unit 

$200 Annually 

12VAC5-490-40. Application and licensing fees for 

radioactive materials licenses. 

The application fee for a radioactive materials license and 

annual fees for persons issued a radioactive materials license 

pursuant to 12VAC5-481 are listed in the following table: 

Category Specific License Type 

Application 

& Annual 

Fee 

1   Special Nuclear Material 

(SNM) 

  

  A. Possession and use of 

SNM in sealed sources 

contained in devices used 

in measuring systems 

$1,000 

$1,700 

  B. SNM to be used as 

calibration and reference 

sources 

$500 

 $900 

  C. SNM - all other, except 

license authorizing SNM 

in unsealed form that 

would constitute a critical 

mass (fee waived if 

facility holds additional 

license category) 

$2,000 

$3,400 

2   Source Material   

  A. Source material 

processing and 

distribution 

$3,000 

$5,100 

  B. Source material in 

shielding (fee waived if 

facility holds additional 

license category) 

$200 

 $300 

  C. Source material - all other, 

excluding depleted 

uranium used as shielding 

or counterweights 

$2,000 

$3,400 
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3   Byproduct, NARM   

  A. Broad scope for 

processing or 

manufacturing of items 

for commercial 

distribution 

$10,000 

$17,000 

  B. Processing or 

manufacturing and 

commercial distribution of 

radiopharmaceuticals, 

generators, reagent kits and 

sources or devices 

$6,000 

$9,000 

  C. Commercial distribution 

or redistribution of 

radiopharmaceuticals, 

generators, reagent kits 

and sources or devices 

$4,000 

$6,800 

  D. Processing or 

manufacturing of items 

for commercial 

distribution 

$2,000 

$3,400 

  E. Industrial radiography 

operations performed only 

in a shielded radiography 

installation 

$3,000 

$5,100 

  F. Industrial radiography 

performed only at the 

address indicated on the 

license, and at temporary 

job sites 

$3,500 

$6,000 

  G. Possession and use of less 

than 370 TBq (10,000 

curies) of radioactive 

material in sealed sources 

for irradiation of materials 

where the source is not 

removed from the shield 

(fee waived if facility holds 

additional irradiator license 

category) 

$2,000 

$3,400 

  H. Possession and use of less 

than 370 TBq (10,000 

curies) of radioactive 

material in sealed sources 

for irradiation of materials 

where the source is exposed 

for irradiation purposes. 

The category also includes 

underwater irradiators for 

irradiation of materials in 

which the source is not 

exposed for irradiation 

$3,000 

$5,100 

  I. Possession and use of at 

least 370 TBq (10,000 

curies) and less than 3.7 

PBq (100,000 curies) of 

radioactive material in 

sealed sources for 

irradiation of materials)  

$3,000 

$5,100 

  J. Possession and use of 3.7 

PBq (100,000 curies) or 

more of radioactive 

material in sealed sources 

for irradiation of materials 

$5,000 

$8,500 

  K. Distribute items 

containing radioactive 

materials to persons under 

a general license 

$1,000 

$1,700 

  L. Possess radioactive 

materials intended for 

distribution to persons 

exempt from licensing 

$1,000 

$1,700 

  M

. 

Broad scope for research 

and development that does 

not authorize commercial 

distribution 

$6,000 

$10,200 

  N. Research and 

development that does not 

authorize commercial 

distribution 

$1,000 

$1,700 

  O. Installation, repair, 

maintenance or other 

service of devices or items 

containing radioactive 

material, excluding waste 

transportation or broker 

services 

$1,000 

$1,700 

  P. Portable gauges $750 

$1,300 

  Q. Portable X-ray x-ray 

fluorescence analyzer 

(XRF), dewpointer or gas 

chromatograph 

$250 

 $400 

  R. Leak testing services $500 

 $900 

  S. Instrument calibration 

services 

$1,000 

$1,700 

  T. Fixed gauges $750 

$1,300 
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  U. All other radioactive 

material licenses, except 

as otherwise noted 

$1,500 

$2,600 

4   Waste Processing   

  A. Commercial waste 

treatment facilities, 

including incineration 

$100,000 

$170,000 

  B. All other commercial 

facilities involving waste 

compaction, repackaging, 

storage or transfer 

$7,500 

$12,800 

  C. Waste processing - all 

other, including 

decontamination service 

$5,000 

$8,500 

5   Well Logging   

  A. Well logging using sealed 

sources or subsurface 

tracer studies 

$3,000 

$5,100 

  B. Well logging using sealed 

sources and subsurface 

tracer studies 

$3,000 

$5,100 

6   Nuclear Laundry   

  A. Commercial collection 

and laundry of items 

contaminated with 

radioactive material 

$10,000 

$17,000 

7   Medical/Veterinary 

Medical or veterinary 

  

  A. Human use of sealed 

sources contained in 

teletherapy or stereotactic 

radiosurgery devices, 

including mobile therapy 

$6,000 

$10,200 

  B. Broad scope for human 

use in medical diagnosis, 

treatment, research and 

development (excluding 

teletherapy or stereotactic 

radiosurgery devices) 

$12,000 

$20,400 

  C. Mobile nuclear medicine $2,000 

$3,400 

  D. Medical institutions 

providing imaging, 

diagnostic or radionuclide 

therapy 

$2,300 

$4,000 

  E. Medical institutions using 

a High Dose Remote 

$3,750 

Afterloader (HDR) or 

emerging technologies 

$6,400 

  F. Veterinary use of 

radioactive materials 

$1,000 

$1,700 

  G. In-vitro $1,000 

$1,700 

8   Academic   

  A. Educational use or 

academic research and 

development that does not 

authorize commercial 

distribution, excluding 

broad scope or human use 

licenses 

$750 

$1,300 

9   Accelerator   

  A. Production of 

radioisotopes with 

commercial distribution 

$2,000 

$3,400 

  B. Production - all other (fee 

waived if facility holds 

medical broad scope 

license with no 

commercial distribution) 

$2,000 

$3,400 

10   Reciprocity   

  A. Reciprocity recognition of 

an out-of-state specific 

license 

50% of 

annual fee 

of 

applicable 

category 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5115; Filed January 5, 2018, 5:00 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-185. Standards for Licensed 

Child Day Centers (amending 22VAC40-185-10, 

22VAC40-185-30, 22VAC40-185-40, 22VAC40-185-60, 

22VAC40-185-70, 22VAC40-185-80, 22VAC40-185-130, 

22VAC40-185-140, 22VAC40-185-190, 22VAC40-185-220, 

22VAC40-185-240, 22VAC40-185-350, 22VAC40-185-420, 

22VAC40-185-460, 22VAC40-185-500, 22VAC40-185-510, 

22VAC40-185-530, 22VAC40-185-550, 22VAC40-185-560, 

22VAC40-185-580; adding 22VAC40-185-245, 22VAC40-

185-355).  
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Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-1734 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: April 6, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Tatanishia Armstrong, Licensing 

Consultant, Department of Social Services, 801 East Main 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7152 

ext: 7, FAX (804) 726-7132, or email 

tatanishia.armstrong@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Sections 63.2-100, 63.2-217, and 63.2-1734 of the 

Code of Virginia provide the legal authority for the State 

Board of Social Services to adopt regulations and 

requirements for licensed child day centers. The Code of 

Virginia mandates promulgation of regulations for the 

activities, services, and facilities to be employed by persons 

and agencies required to be licensed, which shall be designed 

to ensure that such activities, services and facilities are 

conducive to the welfare of the children under the custody or 

control of such persons or agencies. Section 63.2-1734 further 

mandates that: 

"Such regulations shall be developed in consultation with 

representatives of the affected entities and shall include, but 

need not be limited to, matters relating to the sex, age, and 

number of children and other persons to be maintained, cared 

for, or placed out as the case may be, and to the buildings and 

premises to be used, and reasonable standards for the 

activities, services and facilities to be employed. Such 

regulations shall not require the adopting of a specific 

teaching approach or doctrine or require the membership, 

affiliation, or accreditation services of any single private 

accreditation or certification agency." 

Purpose: In accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Social Services intends to 

consider amending current Standards for Licensed Child Day 

Centers, 22VAC40-185, to revise current regulations and 

incorporate new standards that reflect federal health and 

safety requirements.  

The planned regulatory action seeks to update the regulation 

and align it with federal requirements described in the Child 

Care and Development Block Grant Act of 2014. Adding 

these federal health and safety requirements is essential to 

protect the health, safety, or welfare of citizens.  

The goals of this proposed action are (i) to update regulations 

to comply with new federal requirements for child care 

providers, (ii) to update current licensing regulations to 

ensure consistency with requirements for Child Care and 

Development Fund recipients, and (iii) to present a clearly 

written regulation that reflects current federal guidelines and 

practices in child care. Amendment of the existing regulation 

was determined by the State Board of Social Services as the 

most efficient and effective way to make the necessary 

changes to achieve clarity and consistency and to protect 

children. 

Substance: Provisions included in the amended standards to 

be considered include revisions to address federal law 

changes that necessitate the development of new standards in 

current areas as well as areas not previously considered to 

address ever-changing national health and safety guidelines 

and practices. Substantive amendments to the regulations 

include the following areas:  

1. Grace period for immunization requirements for 

homeless or foster care children. 

2. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 

and allergic reactions. 

3. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

trauma. 

4. Revised emergency preparedness plan requirements. 

5. Orientation training for all child care staff with content 

including health and safety requirements. 

6. Updated annual training requirements to include health 

or safety topics. 

7. Group size requirements. 

8. Requirements to report serious injuries of children in 

care to the department. 

9. Revised cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and first 

aid certification requirements. 

10. Supervision requirements for aides under the age of 

18 years. 

11. Medication administration requirements for staff.  

12. Training requirements for volunteers. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the proposed regulatory 

action is to ensure that parents have sufficient information to 

make informed decisions when choosing to place their child 

in licensed child day centers that incorporate new standards 

that reflect federal health and safety requirements. The new 

regulations ensure consistent requirements for Child Care and 

Development Fund recipients.  

The proposed regulatory action requires all staff who work 

directly with children to have current certification in 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and first aid, which 

increases the health and safety of all children in care. The 

total number of orientation and annual training hours will 

increase for all staff to strengthen their professional 

development.  

The advantage to the Commonwealth is that the proposed 

action increases protections of the health, safety, and welfare 

of children receiving care in licensed child day centers. 
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Additionally, the proposed changes promote consistency with 

other child care regulations. There are no disadvantages to the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to amend its 

regulation that governs licensure of child day centers to 

clarify existing requirements and to align the requirements of 

this regulation with the Board's proposed requirements for 

providers who receive Child Care and Development Block 

Grant (CCDBG) subsidies. In addition to making many 

clarifying changes to regulatory text, the Board proposes 

substantive changes to: 

1) Remove the list of exemptions to licensure 

requirements from the regulation, 

2) Require licensees to have written procedures for 

prevention of shaken baby syndrome and for safe 

sleeping practices, 

3) Require licensees to document all know allergies, 

sensitivities and dietary restrictions of children in their 

care and require that parents provide instructions from a 

physician regarding their child's food allergies, 

4) Allow children defined by the regulation as homeless 

who do not have documentation of immunization and/or 

physical examination to attend licensed facilities for 90 

days before such documentation must be produced,  

5) Allow any unimmunized children to attend a licensed 

child day center for 90 days (180 days in some cases) 

while they get their immunizations up-to-date so long as 

they have one dose of each required immunization before 

attendance, 

6) Require 16 hours of orientation training for all new 

staff at licensed facilities, 

7) Require completion of Virginia Department of Social 

Services (VDSS) provided orientation training (which is 

currently 10 hours of training), 

8) Increase required annual training from 16 to 20 hours, 

9) Require all direct care staff to complete first aid and 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and allow all hours 

of first aid and CPR training to count toward annual 

training requirements, 

10) Institute new group size restrictions, 

11) Require licensees to formulate and implement a plan 

to ensure that children receive care by consistent staff, 

and 

12) Require all staff under 18 years old to be directly 

supervised and not left alone with children. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for some 

proposed regulatory changes. For at least one proposed 

change, there is insufficient information to ascertain if 

benefits likely outweigh costs. For several proposed changes, 

costs likely outweigh benefits. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Many changes that the Board 

proposes for this regulation will not change any substantive 

requirement for regulated entities but, instead, are aimed at 

clarifying existing regulatory requirements. Current 

regulation, for instance, requires licensees to have procedures 

for response to natural or manmade disasters.1 The proposed 

regulation expands language to clarify what must be in those 

procedures. The Board also proposes to add definitions to the 

regulation that are helpful in understanding regulatory 

requirements. No affected entities will incur costs on account 

of changes such as these. Interested parties will benefit from 

the changed structure of the regulation as it will make it both 

easier to find and read any particular standard. Benefits likely 

outweigh costs for all reorganizing and clarifying changes. 

Current regulation contains the list of entities that are 

exempted by § 63.2-17152 of the Code of Virginia from 

licensure as child day centers. This list includes religious 

institutions that obtain an exemption pursuant to § 63.2-17163 

as well as Sunday School and Bar and Bat Mitzvah classes, 

and child-minding services such as those offered at gyms and 

sports programs. The Board now proposes to remove these 

exemptions as they feel it is unnecessary and duplicative to 

have them in the regulation. The exemptions still exist in the 

Code of Virginia, so no exempted entity is likely to incur 

costs on account of this proposed regulatory change.4 

Individuals interested in finding these exemptions will likely 

incur some small additional time costs from having to search 

the Code of Virginia because the exemptions will no longer 

be in the licensure regulation. This proposed change will 

make the regulation about a page and a half shorter. 

Current regulation requires licensees to have written 

procedures for injury prevention. The Board now proposes to 

specify that they also have specific written procedures for the 

prevention of shaken baby syndrome and safe sleeping 

practices for prevention of sudden infant death syndrome. To 

the extent that licensees do not already address these specific 

topics in existing injury prevention procedures, they will 

likely incur some time and copying costs for creating them. 

These costs are likely outweighed by the benefits that would 

accrue to center staff, who would have greater certainty about 

center procedures, and infants in care. 

Current regulation requires licensees to document the 

allergies of children in care and the actions they are to take if 

those children are exposed to substances they are allergic to. 

The Board proposes to require that licensees obtain 

instructions from the physician of a child with allergies 

regarding that child's allergies and the steps to be taken in the 

event of an allergic reaction. This proposed change may 
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increase costs for parents if they have to pay for their child's 

physician's time, either for an extra office visit or if there is 

an office fee to provide paperwork, to provide information 

that the parents are currently allowed to provide to licensees. 

This proposed change may provide a benefit in increased 

safety only if current requirements have proven inadequate in 

some way that could be addressed by requiring a physician, 

rather than a child's parent, to provide information on the 

child's allergies.  

Current regulation requires that documentation of up-to-date 

immunizations be provided before a child can attend a 

licensed facility (unless the child's parents claim a religious 

exemption or the child has had a past adverse reaction to 

vaccines that would preclude further vaccination) and 

requires that children have a physical examination either 

before center attendance or within 30 days of the first day of 

attendance. The Board now proposes to allow children 

defined by the regulation as homeless who do not have 

documentation of immunization and/or physical examination 

to attend licensed facilities for 90 days before such 

documentation must be produced. The Board also proposes to 

allow any unimmunized children to attend licensed facilities 

for 90 days while they get their immunizations up-to-date so 

long as they have one dose of each required immunization 

before attendance. This time period can be extended to 180 

days if an affected child would require more than two doses 

of hepatitis B vaccine in order to be up-to-date.5 These 

proposed changes may slightly increase the chances that 

populations of children in care are being exposed to diseases 

that vaccines are meant to protect against, but they also will 

benefit children who would otherwise be barred from 

immediate attendance, and their families. For instance, foster 

children6 will be able to attend day care while local 

Departments of Social Services (LDSS) gather their records, 

or get them their required immunizations, so that their foster 

parents can continue working. 

Current regulation requires that new staff hired by licensees 

receive orientation training specified in the regulation by the 

end of their first working day7 but does not specify that 

training take any specific number of hours. Current regulation 

also requires licensee direct care staff to complete 16 hours of 

continuing education each year that can include a number of 

specified topics.  

In order to make this regulation consistent with the Board's 

proposed requirements for licensees who voluntarily 

participate in the CCDBG subsidy program,8 the Board now 

proposes to specify that: 

"A. Staff shall complete a minimum of 16 hours of 

orientation training appropriate to the age of the children in 

care." and 

"B. The Virginia Department of Social Services-sponsored 

orientation course shall be completed within 90 calendar days 

of employment." 

These proposed changes would expand required orientation to 

16 hours of training9 and require that all new staff complete 

an orientation course (currently 10 hours in length) sponsored 

by VDSS within 90 days of employment.10 These two 

requirements are written, however, so it is not clear whether 

the VDSS orientation course is part of the 16 hours of 

orientation or whether it is separate from that requirement. 

Board staff reports that it is the Board's intent that that the 

VDSS training would be part of the 16 hours. Under this 

intended interpretation, regulated entities would likely incur 

costs for ten additional hours of orientation training for each 

new employee. If the 16 hours of orientation training is read 

to be separate and exclusive of the required VDSS course, 

regulated entities would likely incur costs for 20 additional 

hours of orientation training for each new employee. DPB has 

suggested that the Board rewrite the proposed orientation 

training requirements to remove any possible ambiguity. 

Board staff reports that the increased required orientation 

training will not require fees to be paid but will require staff 

time. Board staff further reports that the mean wage for child 

care workers in Virginia is $10.79 per hour. Given that 

average pay rate, licensees will likely incur additional 

orientation training costs of approximately $107.90 per new 

employee (if 10 additional hours of training are required) and 

costs of approximately $215.80 per new employee (if 20 

additional hours of training are required). Given the average 

turnover rate of child care workers,11 licensees will likely 

incur these additional orientation training costs for 

approximately 30% of their workforce each year. Although 

Board staff does not have estimates of how many people are 

employed at licensed facilities, or how many people are 

newly employed by licensees each year, they do report that, 

as of June 30, 2017, 24,381 individuals have completed 

VDSS's orientation training and another 3,160 are in the 

process of completing that training.12 Assuming a turnover 

rate of about 30% leads to approximately 8,00013 new child 

care workers per year, licensees will likely cumulatively incur 

costs of either slightly less than $900,000 or slightly more 

than $1.7 million14 for orientation training for new employees 

each year. Board staff reports that approximately 55% of 

licensees receive federal subsidies so approximately 45% of 

these increased orientation training costs will likely be 

incurred by licensees who did not voluntarily agree to meet 

new requirements in order to receive federal subsidy monies. 

The Board also proposes to increase required annual training 

from 16 to 20 hours. This change will increase annual 

training for direct care employees by four hours each year. 

Licensees will incur additional wage costs of approximately 

$43.16 per direct care employee annually for the additional 

four hours of required annual training and may also incur fees 

for outside training or trainers to come into their facility. 

Board staff does not know how many individuals are 

employed as direct care staff for licensed child day centers. 

Given the number of individuals who have completed VDSS's 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 12 Virginia Register of Regulations February 5, 2018 

1238 

orientation training, and the number of children reported to be 

in care, it is likely safe to assume that licensees will 

cumulatively incur costs that total hundreds of thousands of 

additional dollars each year, and may total over a million 

dollars per year, for additional required annual training. 

Board staff reports that additional orientation training and 

additional annual training is proposed to make the training for 

all licensees conform to proposed or currently required 

training for licensees who receive subsidies. Given that these 

proposed changes are not driven by identified deficiencies 

that might affect the health or safety of children in care, the 

costs of these changes likely far outweigh the convenience of 

having one standard for all licensees. 

Current regulation requires that at least one staff member with 

CPR, first aid and rescue breathing15 be on premises at all 

times during hours of operation and allows two hours per year 

of such training to be counted toward required annual 

training. The Board now proposes to require all direct care 

staff to be CPR and first aid certified and to allow all CPR 

and first aid training to count toward required annual training. 

Board staff reports that licensees may incur fee costs of $90-

$100 for initial training of individuals not already trained16 

and may incur fee costs every two years for recertification. 

The Red Cross web site estimates that CPR and first aid 

training classes can be two to five hours long, depending on 

whether it is initial training or a refresher course. Licensees, 

or their staff, will likely incur costs for the time that these 

courses take. These time/salary costs for CPR training that 

exceed the two hours (that staff is already allowed to count 

toward annual training) may be offset by the Board's proposal 

to allow all CPR and first aid training to count toward annual 

training requirements.  

At a minimum, licensees will incur costs equal to the fees 

incurred for additional staff to receive CPR and first aid 

training multiplied by the number of affected employees. 

These additional costs are likely to equal hundreds of 

thousands of dollars, and may stretch to several million 

dollars, initially and then will be a like amount every two 

years. These costs will also be increased because the turnover 

rate for child care workers would indicate that approximately 

30% of trained staff will likely leave their employment each 

year and new staff will have to be trained in CPR and first 

aid. Board staff reports that this change is being proposed to 

make the training for all licensees conform to proposed or 

currently required training for licensees who receive 

subsidies. Given that these proposed changes are not driven 

by identified deficiencies that might affect the health or safety 

of children in care, the costs of these changes likely far 

outweigh the convenience of having one standard for all 

licensees. 

Current regulation includes required staff to child ratios but is 

silent on how many children may be in the same room or 

space so long as staffing ratios are met. The Board now 

proposes to impose group size limits for all pre-school age 

children. According to the proposed standard, babies and 

toddlers up to 16 months in age will be limited to groups of 

12 or fewer in any one room or space. Toddlers 16 months up 

to 24 months old will be limited to groups of 15 or fewer in 

any one space. Two year olds will be limited to groups of 24 

or fewer and three year olds will be limited to groups of 30 or 

fewer. These group limitations will not apply during rest 

periods, outdoor activities, transportation and field trips, meal 

and snack times or during special group activities. These 

limitations also will not apply during the first and last hour of 

operation for programs operating more than six hours per day.  

Board staff reports that they do not have information on the 

number of licensees that currently group children in groups 

larger than would be allowed under the proposed regulation 

and, therefore, would be adversely impacted by these new 

group restrictions but does report that the requirement is 

written broadly with the intent to not adversely impact 

providers. Nonetheless some licensees, particularly licensees 

who habitually have different age groups in the same space 

because of their child care philosophy,17 may be adversely 

affected by the proposed group restrictions. Board staff 

reports that these group restrictions are being implemented to 

conform rules for all licensees to proposed or currently 

required rules for licensees who receive subsidies and 

because research indicates that there are benefits to consistent 

care and small group size. There is insufficient information to 

ascertain whether any benefits that might accrue would 

outweigh the costs that would accrue for an unknown number 

of licensees. 

Current regulation requires child care aides to be at least 16 

years old and also requires that "(i)n each grouping of 

children at least one staff member who meets the 

qualifications of a program leader18 or program director shall 

be regularly present. Such a program leader shall supervise no 

more than two aides." The Board now proposes to mandate 

that "aides under 18 years of age… shall not be left alone 

with children." Board staff reports that this change is being 

proposed to conform rules for all licensees with rules for 

licensees who receive subsidies. To the extent that current 

rules allow aides who are 16 and 17 years old to work without 

direct and continual supervision, this new rule may cause 

licensees to incur additional costs to ensure that these 

teenagers are not left alone with children in care. This 

proposes change will likely limit the usefulness of 16 and 17 

year olds as child care workers and, therefore, will make it 

less likely that they will be hired by licensees. Given that it is 

unlikely that 16 and 17 year olds are any less safe or 

competent as childcare workers than 18 year olds with 

comparable training, the costs of this proposed requirement 

likely outweigh any benefit that might arise from requiring 

regulatory consistency between licensees who voluntarily 

agree to additional rules in order to qualify for subsidies and 

licensees who do not.  
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Lastly, the Board newly proposes to require that licensees 

formulate and implement a plan to ensure the children receive 

care from consistent staff. Licensees are able to ensure that 

the same staff members care for the same children daily while 

they are employed. While this consistency of care 

undoubtedly benefits children in care, who are then able to 

form stable bonds with their caregivers, staff turnover rates of 

about 30% for childcare workers would severely impede 

licensee's ability to meet this proposed new requirement. The 

costs that may be incurred by licensees will depend on 

whether the Board just expects them to ensure that staff is 

consistently assigned while they are employed or whether the 

Board has the expectation that licensees must take steps, like 

raising wages, to limit turnover. 

In general, the changes proposed in this action that will 

increase costs for licensees will likely cause licensees to 

either raise their child care rates to cover increased costs or, 

for marginally profitable businesses, leave the licensed child 

care field altogether. If licensees choose to close their 

licensed child care businesses because their time and 

resources could be used more profitably elsewhere, the supply 

of licensed child care slots would shrink which would also 

tend to increase child care rates. Either of these effects will 

raise the costs of licensed day care for parents. This may 

either leave those parents with fewer resources to meet other 

needs for themselves and their children, or may cause them to 

seek out cheaper, unlicensed care givers. Requiring licensees 

to meet more costly licensure requirements also leaves them 

with fewer resources to spend in alternate ways19 that might 

benefit their employees or children in their care. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulatory 

changes will affect all licensed child day centers as well as all 

of their staff and all children enrolled in those centers as well 

as their families. Board staff reports that there are currently 

2,589 such centers in the Commonwealth which have the 

rated capacity to serve 264,754 children. Board staff reports 

that all centers likely qualify as small businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities are likely to be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Increased training 

requirements in this proposed regulation may marginally 

increase employment for trainers. Increasing training 

requirements, and instituting maximum group sizes, increases 

the cost of continuing to provide child care services which 

may cause marginally profitable businesses in this field to 

close. To the extent that this happens, fewer individuals will 

likely be employed in licensed facilities. The new proposed 

prohibition on employees under 18 years old being left alone 

with children will likely lead to fewer 16 and 17 year olds 

being employed by licensees. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Increasing 

training costs and costs associated with limiting group size 

will likely decrease the profitability, and thus the value, of 

affected businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 

changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Small business licensees will incur 

costs for additional required training and may also incur costs 

associated with newly proposed group size restrictions and 

the proposed prohibition on 16 and 17-year-old employees 

being alone with children in care.  

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. Costs for 

licensees would likely be minimized by only increasing 

training requirements, further restricting employment of 

teenagers and setting group restrictions for licensees who do 

not receive federal subsidies if current rules prove deficient to 

protect the health and safety of children in care. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. Small business licensees will incur costs for 

additional required training and may also incur costs 

associated with newly proposed group size restrictions and 

the proposed prohibition on 16 and 17-year-old employees 

being alone with children in care. 

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 

see any adverse impacts on account of these proposed 

regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. Teens 16 and 17 years old will likely be 

adversely affected by this proposed regulation that reduces 

the chances that they will be hired by licensees.  

_______________________________ 

1A manmade disaster is a disaster attributed in part or entirely to human 

intent, error, negligence, or involving a failure of a man-made system, 

resulting in significant injuries or deaths. 

2 http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter17/section63.2-1715/.  

3http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter17/section63.2-1716/.  

4If this regulatory change did actually remove these exemptions from use, it 
would likely affect tens of thousands of entities and be enormously 

expensive. 

5The Department of Health and Human Services recommends that the 
hepatitis B vaccine be given in three or four doses over a six-month period. 

https://www.vaccines.gov/diseases/hepatitis_b/index.html.  

6Foster children are defined as homeless in the proposed regulation. 

7Board staff estimates that orientation training that is facility specific would 

take approximately six hours to complete. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter17/section63.2-1715/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter17/section63.2-1716/
https://www.vaccines.gov/diseases/hepatitis_b/index.html
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8Board staff reports that about 55% of licensed child day center providers 

participate in this program which provides child care subsidies for families 

through the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) child care 
and at-risk child care programs. 

9Orientation training in facilities will be required to be completed within 

seven days of the date of employment and prior to staff members working 
alone with children. 

10Existing staff will have one year after the effective date of this regulation to 

complete VDSS’s orientation training. Since this training can count toward 
annual training requirements, licensees will likely not accrue additional costs 

for existing employees to complete this training. 

11Cassidy, D. J., Lower, J. K., Kintner-Duffy, V. L., Hegde, A. V., & Shim, J. 
(2011). The day-to-day reality of teacher turnover in preschool classrooms: 

An analysis of classroom context and teacher, director, and parent 

perspectives. Journal of Research in Childhood Education, 25(1), 1-23. 
doi:10.1080/02568543.2011.533118. 

12This information was reported for DSS's Child Care Program regulation. 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewstage.cfm?stageid=7736.  

13This number is based the number of individuals that have completed or are 

completing VDSS's orientation training * 0.3. This number is roughly the 

same as the number arrived at by taking the rated capacity of 264,754 
children (reported by DSS) divided by a likely conservative average child to 

staff ratio of 10:1 and then multiplying that dividend by 0.3 

(264,754/10*0.3).  

14$107.9*8,000=$863,200 and $215.80*8,000=$1,726,400. 

15Web research seems to indicate that rescue breathing training would be part 

of CPR training. 

16Assuming that licensees are meeting but not exceeding current 

requirements, most direct care staff would need initial training. 

17Montessori preschools, for instance, group children as young as two into 
age bands and may habitually exceed these limits.  

18Program leaders must be 18 years old or older. 

19 Resources that, for instance, might be spent on raising the wages of their 
employees. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis:  

The Department of Social Services (VDSS) reviewed the 

revised economic impact analysis prepared by the Department 

of Planning and Budget and provides the following response 

for clarification: 

Page 1237, regarding VDSS required training. The intent is 

for the VDSS required preservice training to count toward the 

16-hour orientation requirement, leaving only six hours of 

orientation that staff must obtain based on the topics listed. 

The VDSS preservice orientation training is a free 10-hour 

orientation training, and most of the topics required to be 

covered in orientation are not new. 

Page 1238, regarding intent of proposed regulatory action. 

Two references are made to costs of the changes being likely 

to far outweigh the convenience of having one standard for all 

licensees. This regulatory action is about increasing the 

quality of child care by focusing on the health, safety, and 

well-being of children in care. The impetus for the action was 

to provide additional protections for all children, regardless of 

whether they receive care from a provider approved for the 

subsidy program or a provider that is not an approved subsidy 

provider. Raising the quality of care to meet federal health 

and safety standards improves quality for all children. 

Page 1239, regarding consistent care for children. The 

requirement is for licensees to ensure that assigned staff has 

primary responsibility for the care of children. If the assigned 

staff changes, the licensee would not automatically be out of 

compliance and would update the assigned staff. This is not 

about staff retention but is about consistent staffing using 

existing staff. The intent of this requirement is not related to 

turnover rates or increasing wages. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments align requirements of licensed 

programs with requirements for providers receiving 

federal Child Care and Development Funds. In addition to 

making many clarifying changes, the proposed 

amendments (i) remove the list of exemptions to licensure 

requirements from the regulation, (ii) require licensees to 

have written procedures for prevention of shaken baby 

syndrome and for safe sleeping practices, (iii) require 

licensees to document all know food allergies and 

sensitivities and dietary restrictions of children in their 

care and require that parents provide instructions from a 

physician regarding their child's food allergies, (iv) allow 

children defined by the regulation as homeless who do not 

have documentation of immunization or physical 

examination to attend licensed facilities for 90 days before 

such documentation must be produced, (v) allow any 

unimmunized child to attend a licensed child day center for 

90 days (180 days in some cases) while immunizations are 

brought up to date so long as the child has had one dose of 

each required immunization before attendance, (vi) require 

16 hours of orientation training for all new staff at 

licensed facilities, (vii) require completion of Virginia 

Department of Social Services-sponsored orientation 

training, (viii) increase required annual training from 16 

to 20 hours, (ix) require all direct care staff to complete 

first aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) training 

and allow all hours of first aid and CPR training to count 

toward annual training requirements, (x) institute new 

group size restrictions, (xi) require licensees to formulate 

and implement a plan to ensure that children receive care 

by consistent staff, (xii) require all staff younger than 18 

years of age to be directly supervised and not left alone 

with children, and (xiii) revise emergency preparedness 

plan requirements. 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewstage.cfm?stageid=7736
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Part I 

Introduction 

22VAC40-185-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Adult" means any individual 18 years of age or older. 

"Age and stage appropriate" means the curriculum, 

environment, equipment, and adult-child interactions are 

suitable for the ages of the children within a group and the 

individual needs of any child. 

"Age groups": 

1. "Infant" means children from birth to 16 months. 

2. "Toddler" means children from 16 months up to two 

years. 

3. "Preschool" means children from two years up to the age 

of eligibility to attend public school, five years by 

September 30. 

4. "School age" means children eligible to attend public 

school, age five or older by September 30 of that same 

year. Four-year-old or five-year-old children included in a 

group of school age children may be considered school age 

during the summer months if the children will be entering 

kindergarten that year. 

"Attendance" means the actual presence of an enrolled child. 

"Balanced mixed-age grouping" means a program using a 

curriculum designed to meet the needs and interests of 

children in the group and is planned for children who enter 

the program at three through five years of age. The 

enrollment in the balance mixed-age grouping comprises a 

relatively even allocation of children in each of three ages 

(three to six years) and is designed for children and staff to 

remain together with turnover planned only for the 

replacement of exiting students with children of ages that 

maintain the class balance. 

"Body fluids" means urine, feces, saliva, blood, nasal 

discharge, eye discharge, and injury or tissue discharge. 

"Camp" means a child day camp that is a child day center 

for school age children that operates during the summer 

vacation months only. Four-year-old children who will be 

five by September 30 of the same year may be included in a 

camp for school age children. 

"Center" means a child day center. 

"Child" means any individual under 18 years of age. 

"Child day center" means a child day program offered to (i) 

two or more children under the age of 13 in a facility that is 

not the residence of the provider or of any of the children in 

care or (ii) 13 or more children at any location. 

Exemptions (§ 63.2-1715 of the Code of Virginia): 

1. A child day center that has obtained an exemption 

pursuant to § 63.2-1716 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. A program where, by written policy given to and signed 

by a parent or guardian, children are free to enter and leave 

the premises without permission or supervision regardless 

of (i) such program's location or the number of days per 

week of its operation; (ii) the provision of transportation 

services, including drop-off and pick-up times; or (iii) the 

scheduling of breaks for snacks, homework, or other 

activities. A program that would qualify for this exemption 

except that it assumes responsibility for the supervision, 

protection and well-being of several children with 

disabilities who are mainstreamed shall not be subject to 

licensure; 

3. A program of instructional experience in a single focus, 

such as, but not limited to, computer science, archaeology, 

sport clinics, or music, if children under the age of six do 

not attend at all and if no child is allowed to attend for 

more than 25 days in any three-month period commencing 

with enrollment. This exemption does not apply if children 

merely change their enrollment to a different focus area at 

a site offering a variety of activities and such children's 

attendance exceeds 25 days in a three-month period; 

4. Programs of instructional or recreational activities 

wherein no child under age six attends for more than six 

hours weekly with no class or activity period to exceed 1-

1/2 hours, and no child six years of age or above attends 

for more than six hours weekly when school is in session 

or 12 hours weekly when school is not in session. 

Competition, performances and exhibitions related to the 

instructional or recreational activity shall be excluded 

when determining the hours of program operation; 

5. A program that operates no more than a total of 20 

program days in the course of a calendar year provided that 

programs serving children under age six operate no more 

than two consecutive weeks without a break of at least a 

week; 

6. Instructional programs offered by public and private 

schools that satisfy compulsory attendance laws or the 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, as amended 

(20 USC § 1400 et seq.), and programs of school-

sponsored extracurricular activities that are focused on 

single interests such as, but not limited to, music, sports, 

drama, civic service, or foreign language; 

7. Education and care programs provided by public schools 

that are not exempt pursuant to subdivision 6 of this 

definition shall be regulated by the State Board of 

Education using regulations that incorporate, but may 
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exceed, the regulations for child day centers licensed by 

the commissioner; 

8. Early intervention programs for children eligible under 

Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, 

as amended (20 USC § 1400 et seq.), wherein no child 

attends for more than a total of six hours per week; 

9. Practice or competition in organized competitive sports 

leagues; 

10. Programs of religious instruction, such as Sunday 

schools, vacation Bible schools, and Bar Mitzvah or Bat 

Mitzvah classes, and child-minding services provided to 

allow parents or guardians who are on site to attend 

religious worship or instructional services; 

11. Child-minding services which are not available for 

more than three hours per day for any individual child 

offered on site in commercial or recreational 

establishments if the parent or guardian (i) is not an on-

duty employee, except for part-time employees working 

less than two hours per day; (ii) can be contacted and can 

resume responsibility for the child's supervision within 30 

minutes; and (iii) is receiving or providing services or 

participating in activities offered by the establishment; 

12. A certified preschool or nursery school program 

operated by a private school that is accredited by a 

statewide accrediting organization recognized by the State 

Board of Education or accredited by the National 

Association for the Education of Young Children's 

National Academy of Early Childhood Programs; the 

Association of Christian Schools International; the 

American Association of Christian Schools; the National 

Early Childhood Program Accreditation; the National 

Accreditation Council for Early Childhood Professional 

Personnel and Programs; the International Academy for 

Private Education; the American Montessori Society; the 

International Accreditation and Certification of Childhood 

Educators, Programs, and Trainers; or the National 

Accreditation Commission that complies with the 

provisions of § 63.2-1717 of the Code of Virginia;  

13. A program of recreational activities offered by local 

governments, staffed by local government employees, and 

attended by school-age children. Such programs shall be 

subject to safety and supervisory standards established by 

local governments; or 

14. By policy, a child day center that is required to be 

programmatically licensed by another state agency for that 

service. 

"Child day program" means a regularly operating service 

arrangement for children where, during the absence of a 

parent or guardian, a person or organization has agreed to 

assume responsibility for the supervision, protection, and 

well-being of a child under the age of 13 for less than a 24-

hour period. Note: This "Child day program" does not include 

programs such as drop-in playgrounds or clubs for children 

when there is no service arrangement with the child's parent. 

"Children with special needs" means children with 

developmental disabilities, mental retardation intellectual 

disabilities, emotional disturbance, sensory or motor 

impairment, or significant chronic illness who require special 

health surveillance or specialized programs, interventions, 

technologies, or facilities. 

"Cleaned" means treated in such a way to reduce the amount 

of filth through the use of water with soap or detergent or the 

use of an abrasive cleaner on inanimate surfaces. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Virginia 

Department of Social Services. 

"Communicable disease" means a disease caused by a 

microorganism (bacterium, virus, fungus, or parasite) that can 

be transmitted from person to person via an infected body 

fluid or respiratory spray, with or without an intermediary 

agent (such as a louse, or mosquito) or environmental object 

(such as a table surface). Some communicable diseases are 

reportable to the local health authority. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services. 

"Department's representative" means an employee or 

designee of the Virginia Department of Social Services, 

acting as the authorized agent of the commissioner. 

"Evening care" means care provided after 7 p.m. but not 

through the night. 

"Good character and reputation" means knowledgeable and 

objective people agree that the individual (i) maintains 

business, professional, family, and community relationships 

which are characterized by honesty, fairness, and truthfulness 

and (ii) demonstrates a concern for the well-being of others to 

the extent that the individual is considered suitable to be 

entrusted with the care, guidance, and protection of children. 

Relatives by blood or marriage and people who are not 

knowledgeable of the individual, such as recent 

acquaintances, shall not be considered objective references. 

"Group of children" means the children assigned to a staff 

member or team of staff members. 

"Group size" means the number of children assigned to a 

staff member or team of staff members occupying an 

individual room or area.  

"High school program completion or the equivalent" means 

an individual has earned a high school diploma or General 

Education Development (G.E.D.) certificate, passed a high 

school equivalency examination approved by the Board of 

Education, or has completed a program of home instruction in 

accordance with § 22.1-254.1 of the Code of Virginia 

equivalent to high school completion. 
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"Homeless child" means a child who lacks a fixed, regular, 

and adequate nighttime residence and includes a child who is: 

1. Living in a car, park, public space, abandoned building, 

substandard housing, bus or train station, or similar 

settings; 

2. Sharing the housing of other persons due to loss of 

housing, economic hardship, or a similar reason; 

sometimes referred to as doubled-up; 

3. Living in a motel, hotel, trailer park, or camping ground 

due to lack of alternative adequate accommodations; 

4. Living in a congregate, temporary, emergency or 

transitional shelter; 

5. Awaiting or in foster care placement; 

6. Abandoned in a hospital; 

7. Living in a primary nighttime residence that is a public 

or private place not designed for, or ordinarily used as, a 

regular sleeping accommodation for human beings; or 

8. A migratory child as defined in 20 USC § 6399 who 

qualifies as homeless because the child is living in 

circumstances described in subdivisions 1 through 6 of this 

definition.  

"Independent contractor" means an entity that enters into an 

agreement to provide specialized services or staff for a 

specified period of time. 

"Individual service, education or treatment plan" means a 

plan identifying the child's strengths, needs, general 

functioning and plan for providing services to the child. The 

service plan includes specific goals and objectives for 

services, accommodations and intervention strategies. The 

service, education or treatment plan clearly shows 

documentation and reassessment/evaluation reassessment or 

evaluation strategies. 

"Intervention strategies" means a plan for staff action that 

outlines methods, techniques, cues, programs, or tasks that 

enable the child to successfully complete a specific goal. 

"Licensee" means any individual, partnership, association, 

public agency, or corporation to whom the license is issued. 

"Lockdown" means a situation where children are isolated 

from a security threat and access within and to the facility is 

restricted. 

"Minor injury" means a wound or other specific damage to 

the body such as, but not limited to, abrasions, splinters, bites 

that do not break the skin, and bruises. 

"Overnight care" means care provided after 7 p.m. and 

through the night. 

"Parent" means the biological or adoptive parent or parents 

or legal guardian or guardians of a child enrolled in or in the 

process of being admitted to a center. 

"Physician" means an individual licensed to practice 

medicine in any of the 50 states or the District of Columbia. 

"Physician's designee" means a physician, licensed nurse 

practitioner, licensed physician assistant, licensed nurse (R.N. 

or L.P.N.), or health assistant acting under the supervision of 

a physician. 

"Primitive camp" means a camp where places of abode, 

water supply system, or permanent toilet and cooking 

facilities are not usually provided. 

"Programmatic experience" means time spent working 

directly with children in a group that is located away from the 

child's home. Work time shall be computed on the basis of 

full-time work experience during the period prescribed or 

equivalent work time over a longer period. Experience 

settings may include but not be limited to a child day 

program, family day home, child day center, boys and girls 

club, field placement, elementary school, or a faith-based 

organization. 

"Resilient surfacing" means: 

1. For indoor and outdoor use underneath and surrounding 

equipment, impact absorbing surfacing materials that 

comply with minimum safety standards when tested in 

accordance with the procedures described in the American 

Society for Testing and Materials' standard F1292-99 as 

shown in Figures 2 (Compressed Loose Fill Synthetic 

Materials Depth Chart) and 3 (Use Zones for Equipment) 

on pages 6-7 of the National Program for Playground 

Safety's "Selecting Playground Surface Materials: 

Selecting the Best Surface Material for Your Playground," 

February 2004. 

2. Hard surfaces such as asphalt, concrete, dirt, grass or 

flooring covered by carpet or gym mats do not qualify as 

resilient surfacing. 

"Sanitized" means treated in such a way to remove bacteria 

and viruses from inanimate surfaces through using a 

disinfectant solution (i.e., bleach solution or commercial 

chemical disinfectant) or physical agent (e.g., heat). The 

surface of item is sprayed or dipped into the disinfectant 

solution and allowed to air dry after use of the disinfectant 

solution on the surface for a minimum of two minutes or 

according to the disinfectant solution instructions. 

"Serious injury" means a wound or other specific damage to 

the body such as, but not limited to, unconsciousness; broken 

bones; dislocation; deep cut requiring stitches; poisoning; 

concussion; or a foreign object lodged in eye, nose, ear, or 

other body orifice. 
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"Shaken baby syndrome" or "abusive head trauma" means a 

traumatic injury that is inflicted upon the brain of an infant or 

young child. The injury can occur during violent shaking, 

causing the child's head to whip back and forth, the brain to 

move about, and blood vessels in the skull to stretch and tear. 

"Shelter-in-place" means the facility or building in which a 

child day center is located movement of occupants of the 

building to designated protected spaces within the building. 

"Short-term program" means a child day center that operates 

less than 12 weeks a year. 

"Special needs child day program" means a program 

exclusively serving children with special needs. 

"Specialty camps" means those centers that have an 

educational or recreational focus on one subject such as 

dance, drama, music, or sports. 

"Sponsor" means an individual, partnership, association, 

public agency, corporation or other legal entity in whom the 

ultimate authority and legal responsibility is vested for the 

administration and operation of a center subject to licensure. 

"Staff" means administrative, activity, and service personnel 

including the licensee when the licensee is an individual who 

works in the center, and any persons counted in the staff-to-

children ratios or any persons working with a child without 

sight and sound supervision of a staff member. 

"Staff positions" are defined as follows: 

1. "Aide" means the individual designated to be 

responsible for helping the program leader in supervising 

children and in implementing the activities and services for 

children. Aides may also be referred to as assistant teachers 

or child care assistants. 

2. "Program leader" means the individual designated to be 

responsible for the direct supervision of children and for 

implementation of the activities and services for a group of 

children. Program leaders may also be referred to as child 

care supervisors or teachers. 

3. "Program director" means the primary, on-site director 

or coordinator designated to be responsible for developing 

and implementing the activities and services offered to 

children, including the supervision, orientation, training, 

and scheduling of staff who work directly with children, 

whether or not personally performing these functions. 

4. "Administrator" means a manager or coordinator 

designated to be in charge of the total operation and 

management of one or more centers. The administrator 

may be responsible for supervising the program director or, 

if appropriately qualified, may concurrently serve as the 

program director. The administrator may perform staff 

orientation or training or program development functions if 

the administrator meets the qualifications of 22VAC40-

185-190 and a written delegation of responsibility specifies 

the duties of the program director. 

"Therapeutic child day program" means a specialized 

program, including but not limited to therapeutic recreation 

programs, exclusively serving children with special needs 

when an individual service, education or treatment plan is 

developed and implemented with the goal of improving the 

functional abilities of the children in care. 

"Universal precautions" means an approach to infection 

control. According to the concept of universal precautions, all 

human blood and certain human body fluids are treated as if 

known to be infectious for human immunodeficiency virus 

(HIV), hepatitis B virus (HBV), and other bloodborne 

pathogens. 

"Volunteer" means a person who works at the center and: 

1. Is not paid; 

2. Is not counted in the staff-to-children ratios; and 

3. Is in sight and sound supervision of a staff member 

when working with a child. 

Any unpaid person not meeting this definition shall be 

considered "staff" and shall meet staff requirements. 

22VAC40-185-30. Purpose and applicability.  

A. The purpose of these standards is to protect children 

under the age of 13 years who are separated from their 

parents during a part of the day by:  

1. Ensuring that the activities, services, and facilities of 

centers are conducive to the well-being of children; and  

2. Reducing risks in the environment.  

B. The standards in this chapter apply to child day centers as 

defined in 22VAC40-185-10 serving children under the age 

of 13 that are required to be licensed by the department.  

22VAC40-185-40. Operational responsibilities.  

A. Applications for licensure shall conform with Chapters 

17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) and 18 (§ 63.2-1800 et seq.) of Title 

63.2 of the Code of Virginia and the regulation entitled 

General Procedures and Information for Licensure, 

22VAC40-80.  

B. Pursuant to §§ 63.2-1719, 63.2-1720.1, and 63.2-1721.1 

of the Code of Virginia and the regulation entitled 

Background Checks for Child Welfare Agencies, 22VAC40-

191, the applicant and any agent at the time of application 

who is or will be involved in the day-to-day operations of the 

center or who is or will be alone with, in control of, or 

supervising one or more of the children, shall be of good 

character and reputation and shall not be guilty of an offense 

as defined in § 63.2-1719 of the Code of Virginia convicted 

of a barrier crime as defined in § 19.2-392.02 of the Code of 

Virginia.  
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C. The sponsor shall afford the commissioner or his agents 

the right at all reasonable times to inspect facilities and to 

interview his agents, employees, and any child or other 

person within his custody or control, provided that no private 

interviews may be conducted with any child without prior 

notice to the parent of such child.  

D. The license shall be posted in a place conspicuous to the 

public (§ 63.2-1701 of the Code of Virginia).  

E. The operational responsibilities of the licensee shall 

include, but not be limited to, ensuring that the center's 

activities, services, and facilities are maintained in 

compliance with these standards, the center's own policies 

and procedures that are required by these standards, and the 

terms of the current license issued by the department.  

F. Every center shall ensure that any advertising is not 

misleading or deceptive as required by § 63.2-1713 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

G. The center shall meet the proof of child identity and age 

requirements as stated in § 63.2-1809 of the Code of Virginia.  

H. The sponsor shall maintain public liability insurance for 

bodily injury for each center site with a minimum limit of at 

least $500,000 each occurrence and with a minimum limit of 

$500,000 aggregate.  

1. A public sponsor may have equivalent self-insurance 

that is in compliance with the Code of Virginia.  

2. Evidence of insurance coverage shall be made available 

to the department's representative upon request.  

I. The center shall develop written procedures for injury 

prevention.  

J. Injury prevention procedures shall be updated at least 

annually based on documentation of injuries and a review of 

the activities and services.  

K. The center shall develop written procedures for 

prevention of shaken baby syndrome or abusive head trauma, 

including coping with crying babies, safe sleeping practices, 

and sudden infant death syndrome awareness. 

L. The center shall inform all staff who work with children 

of children's allergies, sensitivities, and dietary restrictions.  

M. The center shall maintain, in a way that is accessible to 

all staff who work with children, a current written list of all 

children's allergies, sensitivities, and dietary restrictions. This 

list shall be dated and kept confidential in each room or area 

where children are present. 

N. The center shall develop written playground safety 

procedures which that shall include:  

1. Provision for active supervision by staff to include 

positioning of staff in strategic locations, scanning play 

activities, and circulating among children; and  

2. Method of maintaining resilient surface.  

L. O. Hospital-operated centers may temporarily exceed 

their licensed capacity during a natural disaster or other 

catastrophe or emergency situation and shall develop a 

written plan for emergency operations, for submission to and 

approval by the Department of Social Services.  

M. P. When children 13 years or older are enrolled in the 

program and receive supervision in the licensed program, 

they shall be counted in the number of children receiving care 

and the center shall comply with the standards for these 

children.  

22VAC40-185-60. Children's records.  

A. Each center shall maintain and keep at the center a 

separate record for each child enrolled, which shall contain 

the following information:  

1. Name, nickname (if any), sex, and birth date of the 

child;  

2. Name, home address, and home phone number of each 

parent who has custody;  

3. When applicable, work phone number and place of 

employment of each parent who has custody;  

4. Name and phone number of child's physician;  

5. Name, address, and phone number of two designated 

people to call in an emergency if a parent cannot be 

reached;  

6. Names of persons authorized to pick up the child. 

Appropriate legal paperwork shall be on file when the 

custodial parent requests the center not to release the child 

to the other parent;  

7. Allergies and intolerance to food, medication, or any 

other substances, and actions to take in an emergency 

situation;  

8. A written care plan for each child with a diagnosed food 

allergy, to include instructions from a physician regarding 

the food to which the child is allergic and the steps to be 

taken in the event of a suspected or confirmed allergic 

reaction. 

9. Chronic physical problems and pertinent developmental 

information and any special accommodations needed;  

9. Health information as required by 22VAC40-185-130 

through 22VAC40-185-150;  

Exception: When a center is located on the same premises 

where a child attends school and the child's record has a 

statement verifying the school's possession of the health 

record, the center is not required to maintain duplicates of 

the school's health record for that child provided the 

school's records are accessible during the center's hours of 

operation.  
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10. Written agreements between the parent and the center 

as required by 22VAC40-185-90;  

11. Documentation of child updates and confirmation of 

up-to-date information in the child's record as required by 

22VAC40-185-420 E 3;  

12. Any blanket permission slips and opt out requests;  

13. Previous child day care and schools attended by the 

child;  

14. Name of any additional programs or schools that the 

child is concurrently attending and the grade or class level;  

15. Documentation of viewing proof of the child's identity 

and age; and  

16. First and last dates of attendance;  

17. Documentation of health information as required by 

22VAC40-185-130, 22VAC40-185-140, and 22VAC40-

185-150; and 

18. Documentation of the enrollment of a homeless child 

enrolled under provision of 22VAC40-185-130 C or 

22VAC40-185-140 A. 

B. The requirements in subdivision A 17 of this section does 

not apply, and the center is not required to maintain 

duplicates of the school's health record if: 

1. The center is located on the same premises where a child 

attends school; 

2. The child's record has a statement verifying the school's 

possession of the health record; and 

3. The school's records are accessible during the center's 

hours of operation. 

C. The proof of identity, if reproduced or retained by the 

child day program or both, shall be destroyed upon the 

conclusion of the requisite period of retention. The 

procedures for the disposal, physical destruction or other 

disposition of the proof of identity containing social security 

numbers shall include all reasonable steps to destroy such 

documents by (i) shredding, (ii) erasing, or (iii) otherwise 

modifying the social security numbers in those records to 

make them unreadable or indecipherable by any means.  

22VAC40-185-70. Staff records.  

A. The following staff records shall be kept for each staff 

person:  

1. Name, address, verification of age requirement, job title, 

and date of employment or volunteering; and name, 

address, and telephone number of a person to be notified in 

an emergency which shall be kept at the center.  

2. For staff hired after March 1, 1996, documentation that 

two or more references as to character and reputation as 

well as competency were checked before employment or 

volunteering. If a reference check is taken over the phone, 

documentation shall include:  

a. Dates of contact;  

b. Names of persons contacted;  

c. The firms contacted;  

d. Results; and  

e. Signature of person making call.  

3. Background checks as required by the regulation entitled 

Background Checks for Licensed Child Day Centers 

(22VAC15-51) Child Welfare Agencies (22VAC40-191).  

4. Written information Documentation to demonstrate that 

the individual possesses the education, orientation training, 

staff development, certification, and experience required 

by the job position, and orientation and training as required 

in 22VAC40-185-240 and 22VAC40-185-245.  

5. First aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation and other 

certifications as required by the responsibilities held by the 

staff member.  

6. Health information as required by 22VAC40-185-160 

and 22VAC40-185-170.  

7. Information, to be kept at the center, about any health 

problems which that may interfere with fulfilling the job 

responsibilities.  

8. Date of separation from employment.  

B. Exception: Background check records for independent 

contractors must be kept in accordance with 22VAC15-51-70 

of the background check regulation Background Checks for 

Child Welfare Agencies (22VAC40-191).  

22VAC40-185-80. Attendance records; reports.  

A. The center shall keep a written record of children in 

attendance each day. For each group of children, the center 

shall maintain a written record of daily attendance in each 

classroom that documents the arrival and departure of each 

child in care as it occurs. 

B. Reports shall be filed and maintained as follows:  

1. The center shall inform the commissioner's 

representative as soon as practicable but not to exceed one 

working business day of the circumstances surrounding the 

following incidents:  

a. Death of a child while under the center's supervision; 

and  

b. Missing child when local authorities have been 

contacted for help; and 

c. The suspension or termination of all child care services 

for more than 24 hours as a result of an emergency 

situation and any plans to resume child care.  
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2. The center shall inform the department's representative 

as soon as practicable, but not to exceed two business days, 

of any serious injury to a child while under the center's 

supervision.  

3. Any suspected incident of child abuse shall be reported 

in accordance with § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia.  

22VAC40-185-130. Immunizations for children.  

A. The center shall obtain documentation that each child has 

received the immunizations required by the State Board of 

Health before the child can attend the center.  

Exemptions (subsection C of § 22.1-271.2 of the Code of 

Virginia and 12VAC5-110-110 of the Regulations for the 

Immunizations of School Children): Documentation of 

immunizations is not required for any child whose (i) parent 

submits an affidavit to the center, on the form entitled 

"Certification of Religious Exemption," stating that the 

administration of immunizing agents conflicts with the 

parent's or child's religious tenets or practices, or (ii) 

physician or a local health department states on a MCH 213B 

or MCH 213C, or other Department of Health-approved form 

that one or more of the required immunizations may be 

detrimental to the child's health.  

B. The center may allow a child to attend contingent upon a 

conditional enrollment for a period of 90 days if the child 

received at least one dose of each of the required vaccines and 

the child possesses a plan from a physician or local health 

department for completing his immunization requirements 

within the ensuing 90 calendar days. If the child requires 

more than two doses of hepatitis B vaccine, the conditional 

enrollment period, for hepatitis B vaccine only, shall be 180 

calendar days. 

C. If a child is homeless and does not have documentation of 

the required immunizations, the center may allow the child to 

attend during a grace period of no more than 90 days to allow 

the parent or guardian time to obtain documentation of 

required immunizations.  

D. Documentation related to the child's conditional 

enrollment shall be maintained in the child's record.  

E. The center shall obtain documentation of additional 

immunizations once every six months for children under the 

age of two years.  

C. F. The center shall obtain documentation of additional 

immunizations once between each child's fourth and sixth 

birthdays.  

G. Pursuant to subsection C of § 22.1-271.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, documentation of immunizations is not required for 

any child whose: 

1. Parent submits an affidavit to the center on the current 

form approved by the Virginia Department of Health 

stating that the administration of immunizing agents 

conflicts with the parent's or child's religious tenets or 

practices; or 

2. Physician or a local health department states on a 

Department of Health-approved form that one or more of 

the required immunizations may be detrimental to the 

child's health, indicating the specific nature and probable 

duration of the medical condition or circumstance that 

contraindicates immunization.  

22VAC40-185-140. Physical examinations for children.  

A. Each child shall have a physical examination by or under 

the direction of a physician:  

1. Before the child's attendance; or  

2. Within one month 30 days after the first day of 

attendance.  

If a child is homeless and does not have documentation of a 

physical examination, the center may allow the child to attend 

during a grace period of no more than 90 days to allow the 

parent or guardian time to obtain documentation of the 

required physical examination.  

B. If the child has had a physical examination prior to 

attendance, it shall be within the time period prescribed below 

in this subsection:  

1. Within two months prior to attendance for children six 

months of age and younger;  

2. Within three months prior to attendance for children 

aged seven months through 18 months;  

3. Within six months prior to attendance for children aged 

19 months through 24 months; and  

4. Within 12 months prior to attendance for children two 

years of age through five years of age.  

C. Exceptions:  

1. Children transferring from a facility licensed by the 

Virginia Department of Social Services, certified by a local 

department of public welfare or social services, registered 

as a small family day home by the Virginia Department of 

Social Services or by a contract agency of the Virginia 

Department of Social Services, or approved by a licensed 

family day system:  

a. If the initial report or a copy of the initial report of 

immunizations is available to the admitting facility, no 

additional examination is required.  

b. If the initial report or a copy of the initial report is not 

available, a report of physical examination and 

immunization is required in accordance with 22VAC40-

185-130 and this section.  

2. C. When a child transfers from a facility licensed by the 

Virginia Department of Social Services, approved by a 
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licensed family day system, voluntarily registered by the 

Virginia Department of Social Services, or approved by the 

Virginia Department of Education, a new physical 

examination is not required if a copy of the physical 

examination from the originating program is maintained in 

the child's record. 

D. Pursuant to subsection D of § 22.1-270 of the Code of 

Virginia, physical examinations are not required for any child 

whose parent objects on religious grounds. The parent must 

submit a signed statement noting that the parent objects on 

religious grounds and certifying that to the best of the parent's 

knowledge the child is in good health and free from 

communicable or contagious disease.  

E. A new physical examination is not required for a school 

age child if a copy of the physical examination required for 

his entry into a Virginia public kindergarten or elementary 

school is kept in the child's record.  

22VAC40-185-190. Program director qualifications.  

A. Program directors shall be at least 21 years of age and 

shall meet one of the following:  

1. A graduate degree in a child-related field such as, but 

not limited to, elementary education, nursing, or recreation 

from a college or university and six months of 

programmatic experience;  

2. An endorsement or bachelor's degree in a child-related 

field such as, but not limited to, elementary education, 

nursing, or recreation from a college or university and one 

year of programmatic experience;  

3. Forty-eight semester hours or 72 quarter hours of college 

credit from a college or university of which 12 semester 

hours or 18 quarter hours are in child-related subjects and 

one year of programmatic experience;  

4. Two years of programmatic experience with one year in 

a staff supervisory capacity and at least one of the 

following education backgrounds:  

a. A one-year early childhood certificate from a college 

or university that consists of at least 30 semester hours;  

b. A child development credential that requires:  

(1) High school program completion or the equivalent;  

(2) 480 hours working with children in a group which 

could include a supervised practicum; and  

(3) Determination of competency in promoting children's 

development, providing a safe and healthy environment, 

managing the classroom environment and/or or 

childhood program, and promoting positive and 

productive relationships with parents/guardians parents 

or guardians; and  

(4) At least 120 clock hours of child-related training 

taught by an individual or by an organization with 

expertise in early childhood teacher preparation provided 

that the training facilitator:  

(a) Documents the student's mastery and competence;  

(b) Observes the student's application of competence in a 

classroom setting;  

(c) Has a combination of at least six years of education 

(leading to a degree or credential in a child-related field) 

or programmatic experience; and  

(d) Has at least 12 semester hours or 180 clock hours in a 

child-related field, a child development credential or 

equivalent, and two years of programmatic experience 

with one year in a staff supervisory capacity; or  

c. A certification of qualification from an internationally 

or nationally recognized Montessori organization; or. 

5. Three years of programmatic experience including one 

year in a staff supervisory capacity and fulfilled a high 

school program completion or the equivalent.  

a. Such programmatic experience shall be obtained in a 

child day center that offers a staff training program that 

includes: written goals and objectives; assessment of the 

employee's participation in the training; and the subject 

areas of first aid, human growth and development, health 

and safety issues and behavioral management of children.  

b. Such employees shall complete 120 hours of training 

during this three-year period and provide documentation 

of completing the training.  

c. Effective June 1, 2008, program directors shall meet a 

qualification as stated in subdivisions 1 through 4 of this 

subsection.  

6. Exception (a): Program directors hired before June 1, 

2005, who do not meet the qualifications may continue to 

be program directors as long as the program director: (i) 

obtains each year three semester hours or six quarter hours 

of college credit related to children until meeting a 

qualification option or (ii) is enrolled in and regularly 

works toward a child development credential as specified 

in subdivision 4 b of this subsection, which credential must 

be awarded by June 1, 2009.  

Exception (b): Program directors hired or promoted on or 

after June 1, 2005, until June 1, 2006, who do not meet the 

qualifications may continue to be program directors as long 

as the program director: (i) obtains each year six semester 

hours or nine quarter hours of college credit related to 

children until meeting a qualification option or (ii) is 

enrolled in and regularly works toward a child 

development credential as specified in subdivision 4 b of 

this subsection, which credential must be awarded no later 

than June 1, 2007.  
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B. Program directors without management experience shall 

have one college course in a business-related field, 10 clock 

hours of management training, or one child care management 

course that satisfactorily covers the management functions of:  

1. Planning;  

2. Budgeting;  

3. Staffing; and  

4. Monitoring.  

*Note: Management experience is defined as at least six 

months of on-the-job training in an administrative position 

that requires supervising, orienting, training, and scheduling 

staff.  

C. For program directors of therapeutic child day programs 

and special needs child day programs, education and 

programmatic experience shall be in the group care of 

children with special needs.  

D. Notwithstanding subsection A of this section, a person 

between 19 and 21 years of age may serve as a program 

director at a short-term program serving only school age 

children if the program director has daily supervisory contact 

by a person at least 21 years of age who meets one of the 

program director qualification options.  

22VAC40-185-220. Aides.  

A. Aides shall be at least 16 years of age.  

B. Aides under 18 years of age may be included as staff in 

staff-to-children ratios but shall not be left alone with 

children.  

22VAC40-185-240. Staff training and development 

orientation. 

A. Staff shall receive the following training by the end of 

their first day of assuming job responsibilities complete a 

minimum of 16 hours of orientation training appropriate to 

the age of the children in care. 

B. The Virginia Department of Social Services-sponsored 

orientation course shall be completed within 90 calendar days 

of employment. 

C. Orientation shall include all topics within this section. 

D. Orientation training for staff shall be completed on the 

following facility specific topics prior to the staff member 

working alone with children and within seven days of the date 

of employment: 

1. Job responsibilities and to whom they report; 

2. The policies and procedures listed in subsection B E of 

this section and 22VAC40-185-420 A that relate to the 

staff member's responsibilities; 

3. The center's playground safety procedures unless the 

staff member will have no responsibility for playground 

activities or equipment; 

4. Recognizing child abuse and neglect and the legal 

requirements for reporting suspected child abuse as 

required by § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia; 

5. Confidential treatment of personal information about 

children in care and their families; and 

6. The standards in this chapter that relate to the staff 

member's responsibilities; 

7. The center's policies and procedures on the 

administration of medication; 

8. Emergency preparedness and response planning for 

emergencies resulting from a natural disaster or a human-

caused event such as violence at a child care facility and 

the emergency preparedness plan as required by 

22VAC40-185-550 A through K; 

9. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of 

safe sleep practices; 

10. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

trauma, including procedures to cope with crying babies or 

distraught children; and 

11. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 

and other allergic reactions including: 

a. Recognizing the symptoms of an allergic reaction; 

b. Responding to allergic reactions; 

c. Preventing exposure to the specific food and other 

substances to which the child is allergic; and 

d. Preventing cross contamination.   

B. By the end of the first day of supervising children E. 

Prior to working alone with children and within seven days of 

the first day of employment, staff shall be provided in writing 

with the center's information listed in 22VAC40-185-420 A 

and the following: 

1. Procedures for supervising a child who may arrive after 

scheduled classes or activities including field trips have 

begun; 

2. Procedures to confirm absence of a child when the child 

is scheduled to arrive from another program or from an 

agency responsible for transporting the child to the center; 

3. Procedures for identifying where attending children are 

at all times, including procedures to ensure that all children 

are accounted for before leaving a field trip site and upon 

return to the center; 

4. Procedures for action in case of lost or missing children, 

ill or injured children, medical emergencies, and general 

emergencies; 
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5. Policy for any administration of medication; and 

6. Procedures for response to natural and man-made 

disasters Emergency evacuation, relocation, shelter-in-

place, and lockdown procedures; and 

7. Precautions in transporting children, if applicable. 

C. Program directors and staff who work directly with 

children shall annually attend 10 hours of staff development 

activities that shall be related to child safety and development 

and the function of the center. Such training hours shall 

increase according to the following: 

1. June 1, 2006 - 12 hours 

2. June 1, 2007 - 14 hours 

3. June 1, 2008 - 16 hours 

4. Staff development activities to meet this subsection may 

include up to two hours of training in first aid or 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation. Staff development 

activities to meet this subsection may not include rescue 

breathing and first responder as required by 22VAC40-

185-530 and training in medication administration and 

daily health observation of children as required by 

subsection D of this section. 

5. Exception (a): Staff who drive a vehicle transporting 

children and do not work with a group of children at the 

center do not need to meet the annual training requirement. 

Exception (b): Parents who participate in cooperative 

preschool centers shall complete four hours of orientation 

training per year. 

Exception (c): Staff who are employed at a short-term 

program shall obtain 10 hours of staff training per year. 

D. 1. To safely perform medication administration practices 

listed in 22VAC40-185-510, whenever the center has agreed 

to administer prescribed medications, the administration shall 

be performed by a staff member or independent contractor 

who has satisfactorily completed a training program for this 

purpose approved by the Board of Nursing and taught by a 

registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, doctor of medicine 

or osteopathic medicine, or pharmacist; or administration 

shall be performed by a staff member or independent 

contractor who is licensed by the Commonwealth of Virginia 

to administer medications.  

a. The approved training curriculum and materials shall 

be reviewed by the department at least every three years 

and revised as necessary. 

b. Staff required to have the training shall be retrained at 

three-year intervals. 

2. The decision to administer medicines at a facility may 

be limited by center policy to: 

a. Prescribed medications; 

b. Over-the-counter or nonprescription medications; or 

c. No medications except those required for emergencies 

or by law. 

3. To safely perform medication administration practices 

listed in 22VAC40-185-510, whenever the center has 

agreed to administer over-the-counter medications other 

than topical skin gel, cream, or ointment, the 

administration must be performed by a staff member or 

independent contractor who has satisfactorily completed a 

training course developed or approved by the Department 

of Social Services in consultation with the Department of 

Health and the Board of Nursing and taught by an R.N., 

L.P.N., physician, or pharmacist; or performed by a staff 

member or independent contractor who is licensed by the 

Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications. 

a. The course, which shall include competency 

guidelines, shall reflect currently accepted safe 

medication administration practices, including instruction 

and practice in topics such as, but not limited to, reading 

and following manufacturer's instructions; observing 

relevant laws, policies and regulations; and 

demonstrating knowledge of safe practices for 

medication storage and disposal, recording and reporting 

responsibilities, and side effects and emergency 

recognition and response. 

b. The approved training curriculum and materials shall 

be reviewed by the department at least every three years 

and revised as necessary. 

c. Staff required to have the training shall be retrained at 

three-year intervals. 

4. Any child for whom emergency medications (such as 

but not limited to albuterol, glucagon, and epipen) have 

been prescribed shall always be in the care of a staff 

member or independent contractor who meets the 

requirements in subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

5. There shall always be at least one staff member on duty 

who has obtained within the last three years instruction in 

performing the daily health observation of children. 

6. Daily health observation training shall include: 

a. Components of daily health check for children; 

b. Inclusion and exclusion of the child from the class 

when the child is exhibiting physical symptoms that 

indicate possible illness; 

c. Descriptions of how diseases are spread and the 

procedures or methods for reducing the spread of disease; 

d. Information concerning the Virginia Department of 

Health Notification of Reportable Diseases pursuant to 

12VAC5-90-80 and 12VAC5-90-90, also available from 
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the local health department and the website of the 

Virginia Department of Health; and 

e. Staff occupational health and safety practices in 

accordance with Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration's (OSHA) Bloodborne Pathogens 

regulation. 

E. F. Before assuming job responsibilities, staff who work 

with children in therapeutic child day programs and special 

needs child day programs shall receive training in: 

1. Universal precautions procedures; 

2. Activity adaptations; 

3. Medication administration; 

4. Disabilities precautions and health issues; and 

5. Appropriate intervention strategies. 

F. For therapeutic child day programs and special needs 

child day programs, staff who work directly with children 

shall annually attend 24 hours of staff development activities. 

At least eight hours of this training shall be on topics related 

to the care of children with special needs. 

G. Staff who are employed prior to (insert the effective date 

of this chapter) shall complete the Virginia Department of 

Social Services-sponsored orientation training as required by 

this section within one year of (insert the effective date of this 

chapter). This training may count toward staff ongoing 

training requirements in 22VAC40-185-245.  

H. Volunteers who work more than six hours per week shall 

receive training on the center's emergency procedures within 

the first week of volunteering and on annual basis.  

I. Documentation of orientation training shall be kept by the 

center in a manner that allows for identification by individual 

staff member, is considered part of the staff member's record, 

and shall include: 

1. Name of staff; 

2. Training topics; 

3. Training delivery method; 

4. The entity or individual providing training; 

5. The total number of training hours or credit hours of 

orientation training received; and 

6. The date of training. 

22VAC40-185-245. Ongoing training. 

A. Staff shall complete annually a minimum of 20 hours of 

training appropriate to the age of children in care.  

B. Exceptions to subsection A of this section are as follows:  

1. Staff who do not work with a group of children at the 

center shall only be required to complete annual training 

on emergency preparedness and response, child abuse and 

neglect, and mandated reporter requirements. 

2. Staff who are employed at a short-term program shall 

obtain a minimum of 10 hours of staff training per year. 

C. In a cooperative preschool center that is organized, 

administered, and maintained by parents of children in care, 

parents who are not considered staff shall complete four hours 

of training each year. 

D. For therapeutic child day programs and special needs 

child day programs, staff who work directly with children 

shall annually complete four additional hours of training. At 

least eight hours of annual training shall be on topics related 

to the care of children with special needs. 

E. Annual training shall be relevant to staff's job 

responsibilities and the care of children, and include topics 

such as: 

1. Child development including physical, cognitive, social, 

and emotional development;  

2. Behavior management and positive guidance techniques; 

3. Prevention and control of infectious diseases; 

4. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of 

safe sleep practices; 

5. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 

and other allergic reactions including:  

a. Recognizing the symptoms of an allergic reaction; 

b. Responding to allergic reactions; 

c. Preventing exposure to the specific food and other 

substances to which the child is allergic; and  

d. Preventing cross contamination; 

6. The center's policies and procedures on the 

administration of medication; 

7. Building and physical premises safety, including 

identification of and protection from hazards that can cause 

bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of water, 

and vehicular traffic; 

8. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

trauma including procedures to cope with crying babies or 

distraught children; 

9. Signs and symptoms of child abuse and neglect and 

requirements for mandated reporters; 

10. Emergency preparedness and response planning for 

emergencies resulting from a natural disaster or a human-

caused event such as violence at a child care facility and 

the center's specific emergency preparedness plan as 

required 22VAC40-185-550 A through K;  
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11. Handling and storage of hazardous materials and the 

appropriate disposal of diapers and other items 

contaminated by body fluids;  

12. Precautions in transporting children if applicable; and 

13. If applicable, the recommended care requirements 

related to the care and development of children with 

special needs. 

F. Training on the center's emergency preparedness plan 

shall be completed annually and each time the plan is 

updated. 

G. Medication administration and daily health observation: 

1. To safely perform medication administration practices 

listed in 22VAC40-185-510, whenever the center has 

agreed to administer prescribed medications, the 

administration shall be performed by a staff member or 

independent contractor who has satisfactorily completed a 

training program for this purpose approved by the Board of 

Nursing and taught by a registered nurse, licensed practical 

nurse, nurse practitioner, physician assistant, doctor of 

medicine or osteopathic medicine, or pharmacist pursuant 

to § 54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia; or administration 

shall be performed by a staff member or independent 

contractor who is licensed by the Commonwealth of 

Virginia to administer medications. 

a. The approved training curriculum and materials shall 

be reviewed by the department at least every three years 

and revised as necessary. 

b. Staff required to have the training shall be retrained at 

three-year intervals. 

2. The decision to administer medicines at a facility may 

be limited by center policy to: 

a. Prescribed medications; 

b. Over-the-counter or nonprescription medications; or 

c. No medications except those required for emergencies 

or by law. 

3. To safely perform medication administration practices 

listed in 22VAC40-185-510, whenever the center has 

agreed to administer over-the-counter medications other 

than topical skin gel, cream, or ointment, the 

administration must be performed by a staff member or 

independent contractor who has satisfactorily completed a 

training course developed or approved by the Department 

of Social Services in consultation with the Department of 

Health and the Board of Nursing and taught by an 

registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, nurse 

practitioner, physician assistant, doctor of medicine or 

osteopathic medicine, or pharmacist; or performed by a 

staff member or independent contractor who is licensed by 

the Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications. 

a. The course, which shall include competency 

guidelines, shall reflect currently accepted safe 

medication administration practices, including instruction 

and practice in topics such as reading and following 

manufacturer's instructions; observing relevant laws, 

policies, and regulations; and demonstrating knowledge 

of safe practices for medication storage and disposal, 

recording and reporting responsibilities, and side effects 

and emergency recognition and response. 

b. The approved training curriculum and materials shall 

be reviewed by the department at least every three years 

and revised as necessary. 

c. Staff required to have the training shall be retrained at 

three-year intervals. 

4. Any child for whom emergency medications (such as 

albuterol, glucagon, and epipen) have been prescribed shall 

always be in the care of a staff member or independent 

contractor who meets the requirements in subdivision 1 of 

this subsection. 

5. There shall always be at least one staff member on duty 

who has obtained within the last three years instruction in 

performing the daily health observation of children. 

6. Daily health observation training shall include:  

a. Components of daily health check for children; 

b. Inclusion and exclusion of the child from the class 

when the child is exhibiting physical symptoms that 

indicate possible illness; 

c. Descriptions of how diseases are spread and the 

procedures or methods for reducing the spread of disease; 

d. Information concerning the Virginia Department of 

Health Notification of Reportable Diseases pursuant to 

12VAC5-90-80 and 12VAC5-90-90, also available from 

the local health department and the website of the 

Virginia Department of Health; and 

e. Staff occupational health and safety practices in 

accordance with Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration's bloodborne pathogens regulation 

(29 CFR 1910.1030). 

H. Documentation of training shall be kept by the center in a 

manner that allows for identification by individual staff 

member, is considered part of the staff member's record, and 

shall include: 

1. Name of staff; 

2. Training topic; 

3. Evidence that training on each topic required in this 

section has been completed;  

4. Training delivery method; 
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5. The entity or individual providing training; 

6. The number of training hours or credit hours received; 

and 

7. The date of training. 

22VAC40-185-350. Staff-to-children ratio and group size 

requirements.  

A. Staff shall be counted in the required staff-to-children 

ratios only when they are directly supervising children The 

maximum group size limitations specified in Table 1 shall be 

followed whenever children are in care. 

TABLE 1. Maximum Group Size Requirements 

 Age Maximum Group 

Size 

1. Birth up to 16 months 12 

2. 16 months up to 24 

months 

15 

3. 2 year olds 24 

4. 3 year olds up to school 

age eligible 

30 

B. A child volunteer 13 years of age or older not enrolled in 

the program shall not be counted as a child in the staff-to-

children ratio requirements The staff-to-children ratios 

specified in Table 2 are required whenever children are in 

care.  

TABLE 2. Ratio Requirements 

 Age Ratio (staff: 

children) 

1. Birth up to 16 months 1:4 

2. 16 months up to 24 months 1:5 

3. 2 year olds 1:8 

4. 3 year olds up to school 

age eligible 

1:10 

5. School age eligible up to 9 

years 

1:18 

6. 9 years through 12 years 1:20 

C. When children are regularly in ongoing mixed age 

groups, the staff-to-children ratio and group size applicable to 

the youngest child in the group shall apply to the entire group.  

D. During the designated rest period and the designated 

sleep period of evening and overnight care programs, the ratio 

of staff to children may be double the number of children to 

each staff required by subdivisions E 2 through 4 and 7 of this 

section if:  

1. A staff person is within sight and sound of the 

resting/sleeping children;  

2. Staff counted in the overall rest period ratio are within 

the building and available to ensure safe evacuation in an 

emergency; and  

3. An additional person is present at the center to help, if 

necessary.  

E. The following ratios of staff to children are required 

wherever children are in care:  

1. For children from birth to the age of 16 months: one 

staff member for every four children;  

2. For children 16 months old to two years: one staff 

member for every five children;  

3. For two-year-old children: one staff member for every 

eight children effective June 1, 2006;  

4. For children from three years to the age of eligibility to 

attend public school, five years by September 30: one staff 

member for every 10 children effective June 1, 2006;  

5. For children from age of eligibility to attend public 

school through eight years, one staff member for every 18 

children; and  

6. For children from nine years through 12 years, one staff 

member for every 20 children effective June 1, 2006.  

7. Notwithstanding subdivisions 4 and 5 of this subsection 

and subsection C of this section, the ratio for balanced 

mixed-age groupings of children shall be one staff member 

for every 14 children, provided:  

a. If the program leader has an extended absence, there 

shall be sufficient substitute staff to meet a ratio of one 

staff member for every 12 children.  

b. The center shall have readily accessible and in close 

classroom proximity auxiliary persons sufficient to 

maintain a 1:10 adult-to-child ratio for all three-year-olds 

who are included in balanced mixed-age groups to be 

available in the event of emergencies.  

c. The program leader has received training in classroom 

management of balanced mixed-age groupings of at least 

eight hours.  

F. D. Group size limitations shall not apply during: 

1. Designated rest periods as described in this section; 

2. Outdoor activity as described in 22VAC40-185-370, 

22VAC40-185-380, and 22VAC40-185-390; 

3. Transportation and field trips as described in 22VAC40-

185-580; 

4. Meals and snacks served as described in 22VAC40-185-

560; or 
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5. Special group activities, or during the first and last hour 

of operation when the center operates more than six hours 

per day. 

E. Group size requirements in subsection A of this section 

do not apply to children school age eligible through 12 years 

of age.  

F. The center shall develop and implement a written policy 

and procedure that describes how the center will ensure that 

each group of children receives care by consistent staff or 

team of staff members.  

G. Staff shall be counted in the required staff-to-children 

ratios only when they are directly supervising children. 

H. A child volunteer 13 years of age or older not enrolled in 

the program shall not be counted as a child in the staff-to-

children ratio requirements. 

I. For children ages 16 months through preschool age, 

during the designated rest period, when children are resting or 

in an inactive state, the following rest period ratios are 

permitted if the requirements of subsections J through N of 

this section are met: 

1. Children 16 through 24 months of age: one staff per 10 

children. 

2. Children two years of age: one staff per 16 children. 

3. Children of preschool age: one staff per 20 children. 

J. Staff required by rest period ratios shall be within sight 

and sound at all times in the same space as the resting or 

sleeping children. 

K. In addition to the staff required by rest period ratios, an 

additional staff member shall always be available on-site to 

offer immediate assistance. The staff required by rest period 

ratios shall be able to summon the additional staff member 

without leaving the room or area of the sleeping or resting 

children. 

L. Once at least half of the children in the resting room or 

area are awake and off their mats or cots, the staff-to-children 

ratio shall meet the ratios as required in subsection B of this 

section. 

M. One staff member shall not supervise more than one 

room or area during rest time. 

N. Centers providing evening and overnight care shall meet 

the requirements of subsections I through this subsection of 

this section during sleep periods. 

O. The ratio for balanced-mixed-age groupings of children 

shall be one staff member for every 14 children provided: 

1. The center has additional staff who are readily 

accessible in the event of an emergency to maintain a ratio 

of one staff member for every 10 children when three-year-

olds are included in the balanced-mixed-age group; and 

2. The lead teacher has received at least eight hours of 

training in classroom management of balanced-mixed-age 

groupings. 

P. A maximum group size of 28 shall be followed whenever 

children in care are in balanced-mixed-age groupings.  

Q. With a parent's written permission and a written 

assessment by the program director and program leader, a 

center may choose to assign a child to a different age group if 

such age group is more appropriate for the child's 

developmental level and the staff-to-children ratio and group 

size shall be for the established age group.  

1. If such developmental placement is made for a child 

with a special need, a written assessment by a recognized 

agency or professional shall be required at least annually. 

These assignments are intended to be a permanent new 

group and staff members for the child.  

2. A center may temporarily reassign a child from his 

regular group and staff members for reasons of 

administrative necessity but not casually or repeatedly 

disrupt a child's schedule and attachment to his staff 

members and group.  

G. For therapeutic child day programs, in each grouping of 

children of preschool age or younger, the following ratios of 

staff to children are required according to the special needs of 

the children in care:  

1. For children with severe and profound disabilities, 

multiple special needs, serious medical need, or serious 

emotional disturbance: one staff member to three children.  

2. For children diagnosed as trainable mentally retarded 

(TMR), or with physical and sensory disabilities, or with 

autism: one staff member to four children.  

3. For children diagnosed as educable mentally retarded 

(EMR) or developmentally delayed or diagnosed with 

attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder (AD/HD): one staff 

member to five children.  

4. For children diagnosed with specific learning 

disabilities: one staff member to six children.  

5. When children with varied special needs are regularly in 

ongoing groups, the staff-to-children ratio applicable to the 

child with the most significant special need in the group 

shall apply to the entire group.  

6. Note: Whenever 22VAC40-185-350 E requires more 

staff than 22VAC40-185-350 G because of the children's 

ages, 22VAC40-185-350 E shall take precedence over 

22VAC40-185-350 G.  

H. For therapeutic child day programs, in each grouping of 

school age children, the following ratios of staff to children 

are required according to the special needs of the children in 

care:  
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1. For children with severe and profound disabilities, 

autism, multiple special needs, serious medical need, or 

serious emotional disturbance: one staff member to four 

children.  

2. For children diagnosed as trainable mentally retarded 

(TMR), or with physical and sensory disabilities; attention 

deficit/hyperactivity disorder (AD/HD), or other health 

impairments: one staff member to five children.  

3. For children diagnosed as educable mentally retarded 

(EMR), or developmentally delayed: one staff member to 

six children.  

4. For children diagnosed with specific learning 

disabilities, or speech or language impairments: one staff 

member to eight children.  

5. When children with varied special needs are regularly in 

ongoing groups, the staff-to-children ratio applicable to the 

child with the most significant special need in the group 

shall apply to the entire group.  

22VAC40-185-355. Staff-to-children ratio requirements 

for therapeutic and special needs program staff. 

A. For therapeutic child day programs, in each grouping of 

children of preschool age or younger, the following ratios of 

staff to children are required according to the special needs of 

the children in care: 

1. For children with severe and profound disabilities, 

multiple special needs, serious medical need, or serious 

emotional disturbance: one staff member to three children. 

2. For children diagnosed as having an intellectual 

disability with significant sub-average intellectual 

functioning and deficits in adaptive behavior, or with 

physical and sensory disabilities, or with autism: one staff 

member to four children. 

3. For children diagnosed as having an intellectual 

disability in the mild range of development, children with a 

developmental delay, or children diagnosed with attention 

deficit/hyperactivity disorder (AD/HD): one staff member 

to five children. 

4. For children diagnosed with specific learning 

disabilities: one staff member to six children. 

5. When children with varied special needs are included in 

a group, the staff-to-children ratio applicable to the child 

with the most significant special need in the group shall 

apply to the entire group. 

6. Whenever 22VAC40-185-350 B requires more staff than 

22VAC40-185-355 A because of the children's ages, 

22VAC40-185-350 B shall take precedence over 

22VAC40-185-355 A. 

B. For therapeutic child day programs, in each grouping of 

school age children, the following ratios of staff to children 

are required according to the special needs of the children in 

care: 

1. For children with severe and profound disabilities, 

autism, multiple special needs, serious medical need, or 

serious emotional disturbance: one staff member to four 

children. 

2. For children diagnosed as having an intellectual 

disability with significant sub-average intellectual 

functioning and deficits in adaptive behavior, or with 

physical and sensory disabilities, AD/HD, or other health 

impairments: one staff member to five children. 

3. For children diagnosed as having an intellectual 

disability in the mild range of development, or 

developmentally delayed: one staff member to six children. 

4. For children diagnosed with specific learning disabilities 

or speech or language impairments: one staff member to 

eight children. 

5. When children with varied special needs are included in 

a group, the staff-to-children ratio applicable to the child 

with the most significant special need in the group shall 

apply to the entire group. 

C. Group size requirements in 22VAC40-185-350 A do not 

apply to therapeutic child day programs. 

22VAC40-185-420. Parental involvement.  

A. Before the child's first day of attending, parents shall be 

provided in writing the following:  

1. The center's philosophy and any religious affiliation;  

2. Operating information, including the hours and days of 

operation and holidays or other times closed, and the phone 

number where a message can be given to staff;  

3. The center's transportation policy;  

4. The center's policies for the arrival and departure of 

children, including procedures for verifying that only 

persons authorized by the parent are allowed to pick up the 

child, picking up children after closing, when a child is not 

picked up for emergency situations including but not 

limited to inclement weather or natural or man-made 

disasters;  

5. The center's policy regarding any medication or medical 

procedures that will be given;  

6. The center's policy regarding application of:  

a. Sunscreen;  

b. Diaper ointment or cream; and  

c. Insect repellent.  

7. Description of established lines of authority for staff;  
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8. Policy for reporting suspected child abuse as required by 

§ 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia;  

9. The custodial parent's right to be admitted to the center 

as required by § 63.2-1813 of the Code of Virginia;  

10. Policy for communicating an emergency situation with 

parents;  

11. The appropriate general daily schedule for the age of 

the enrolling child;  

12. Food policies;  

13. Discipline policies including acceptable and 

unacceptable discipline measures; and  

14. Termination policies.  

B. Staff shall promptly inform parents when persistent 

behavioral problems are identified; such notification shall 

include any disciplinary steps taken in response.  

C. A custodial parent shall be admitted to any child day 

program. Such right of admission shall apply only while the 

child is in the child day program (§ 63.2-1813 of the Code of 

Virginia).  

D. The center shall provide opportunities for parental 

involvement in center activities.  

E. Communication.  

1. For each infant, the center shall post a daily record, 

which can be easily accessed by both the parent and the 

staff working with the child. The record shall contain the 

following information:  

a. The amount of time the infant slept;  

b. The amount of food consumed and the time;  

c. A description and time of bowel movements;  

d. Developmental milestones; and  

e. For infants, who are awake and cannot turn over by 

themselves, the amount of time spent on their stomachs.  

2. If asked by parents, staff shall provide feedback about 

daily activities, physical well-being, and developmental 

milestones.  

3. Parents shall be provided at least semiannually in 

writing information on their child's development, behavior, 

adjustment, and needs.  

a. Staff shall provide at least semiannual scheduled 

opportunities for parents to provide feedback on their 

children and the center's program.  

b. Staff shall request at least annually parent 

confirmation that the required information in the child's 

record is up to date.  

c. Such sharing of information shall be documented.  

d. Short-term programs (as defined in 22VAC40-185-10) 

are exempt from this requirement.  

4. Parents shall be informed of reasons for termination of 

services.  

22VAC40-185-460. Swimming and wading activities; staff 

and supervision.  

A. The staff-to-children ratios required by 22VAC40-185-

350 E, G, and H B and 22VAC40-185-355 A and B shall be 

maintained while children are participating in swimming or 

wading activities.  

1. Notwithstanding the staff-to-children ratios already 

indicated, at no time shall there be fewer than two staff 

members supervising the activity.  

2. The designated certified lifeguard shall not be counted in 

the staff-to-children ratios.  

B. If a pool, lake, or other swimming area has a water depth 

of more than two feet, a certified lifeguard holding a current 

certificate shall be on duty supervising the children 

participating in swimming or wading activities at all times 

when one or more children are in the water.  

C. The lifeguard certification shall be obtained from an 

organization such as, but not limited to, the American Red 

Cross, the YMCA, or the Boy Scouts.  

22VAC40-185-500. Hand washing and toileting 

procedures.  

A. Hand washing.  

1. Children's hands shall be washed with soap and running 

water or disposable wipes before and after eating meals or 

snacks.  

2. Children's hands shall be washed with soap and running 

water after toileting and any contact with blood, feces, or 

urine.  

3. Staff shall wash their hands with soap and running water 

before and after helping a child use the toilet or a diaper 

change, after the staff member uses the toilet, after any 

contact with body fluids, and before feeding or helping 

children with feeding: 

a. Before and after helping a child use the toilet; 

b. Before and after a diaper change; 

c. After the staff member uses the toilet; 

d. After any contact with body fluids; 

e. Before feeding or helping children with feeding; and 

f. Before preparing or serving food or beverages. 

4. Exception: If running water is not available, a 

germicidal cleansing agent administered per manufacturer's 

instruction may be used.  
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B. Diapering; soiled clothing.  

1. The diapering area shall be accessible and within the 

building used by children.  

2. There shall be sight and sound supervision for all 

children when a child is being diapered.  

3. The diapering area shall be provided with the following:  

a. A sink with running warm water not to exceed 120°F;  

b. Soap, disposable towels, and single use gloves such as 

surgical or examination gloves;  

c. A nonabsorbent surface for diapering or changing shall 

be used. For children younger than three years, this 

surface shall be a changing table or countertop 

designated for changing;  

d. The appropriate disposal container as required by 

subdivision 5 6 of this subsection; and  

e. A leakproof covered receptacle for soiled linens.  

4. When a child's clothing or diaper becomes wet or soiled, 

the child shall be cleaned and changed immediately.  

5. Disposable diapers shall be used unless the child's skin 

reacts adversely to disposable diapers.  

6. Disposable diapers shall be disposed in a leakproof or 

plastic-lined storage system that is either foot-operated or 

used in such a way that neither the staff member's hand nor 

the soiled diaper touches an exterior surface of the storage 

system during disposal.  

7. When cloth diapers are used, a separate leakproof 

storage system as specified in this subdivision shall be 

used.  

8. The diapering surface shall be used only for diapering or 

cleaning children, and it shall be cleaned with soap and at 

least room temperature water and sanitized after each use. 

Tables used for children's activities or meals shall not be 

used for changing diapers.  

Exception: 9. Individual disposable barriers may be used 

between each diaper change. If the changing surface 

becomes soiled, the surface shall be cleaned and sanitized 

before another child is diapered.  

9. 10. Staff shall ensure the immediate safety of a child 

during diapering.  

C. Toilet training. For every 10 children in the process of 

being toilet trained, there shall be at least one toilet chair or 

one child-sized toilet, or at least one adult sized toilet with a 

platform or steps and adapter seat.  

1. The location of these items shall allow for sight and 

sound supervision of children in the classroom if necessary 

for the required staff-to-children ratios to be maintained.  

2. Toilet chairs shall be emptied promptly and cleaned and 

sanitized after each use.  

22VAC40-185-510. Medication. 

A. Prescription and nonprescription medication shall be 

given to a child: 

1. According to the center's written medication policies; 

and 

2. Only with written authorization from the parent. 

B. Medication shall be administered by a staff member who 

is 18 years of age or older.  

C. Nonprescription medication shall be administered by a 

staff member or independent contractor who meets the 

requirements in 22VAC40-185-240 D 1 or 3 22VAC40-185-

245 F 1 or F 3. 

C. D. The center's procedures for administering medication 

shall: 

1. Include any general restrictions of the center. 

2. For nonprescription medication, be consistent with the 

manufacturer's instructions for age, duration, and dosage. 

3. Include duration of the parent's authorization for 

medication, provided that it shall expire or be renewed 

after 10 work days. Long-term prescription drug use and 

over-the-counter medication may be allowed with written 

authorization from the child's physician and parent. 

4. Include methods to prevent use of outdated medication. 

D. E. The medication authorization shall be available to staff 

during the entire time it is effective. 

E. F. Medication shall be labeled with the child's name, the 

name of the medication, the dosage amount, and the time or 

times to be given. 

F. G. Nonprescription medication shall be in the original 

container with the direction label attached. 

G. H. The center may administer prescription medication 

that would normally be administered by a parent or guardian 

to a child provided: 

1. The medication is administered by a staff member or an 

independent contractor who meets the requirements in 

22VAC40-185-240 D 1 22VAC40-185-245 F; 

2. The center has obtained written authorization from a 

parent or guardian; 

3. The center administers only those drugs that were 

dispensed from a pharmacy and maintained in the original, 

labeled container; and  

4. The center administers drugs only to the child identified 

on the prescription label in accordance with the prescriber's 
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instructions pertaining to dosage, frequency, and manner of 

administration. 

H. I. When needed, medication shall be refrigerated. 

I. J. When medication is stored in a refrigerator used for 

food, the medications shall be stored together in a container 

or in a clearly defined area away from food. 

J. K. Medication, except for those prescriptions designated 

otherwise by written physician's order, including refrigerated 

medication and staff's personal medication, shall be kept in a 

locked place using a safe locking method that prevents access 

by children. 

K. L. If a key is used, the key shall not be accessible to the 

children. 

L. M. Centers shall keep a record of medication given 

children, which shall include the following: 

1. Child to whom medication was administered; 

2. Amount and type of medication administered to the 

child; 

3. The day and time the medication was administered to 

the child; 

4. Staff member administering the medication; 

5. Any adverse reactions; and 

6. Any medication error. 

M. N. Staff shall inform parents immediately of any adverse 

reactions to medication administered and any medication 

error. 

N. O. When an authorization for medication expires, the 

parent shall be notified that the medication needs to be picked 

up within 14 days or the parent must renew the authorization. 

Medications that are not picked up by the parent within 14 

days will be disposed of by the center by either dissolving the 

medication down the sink or flushing it down the toilet. 

22VAC40-185-530. First aid training, cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation (CPR) and rescue breathing.  

A. There shall be at least one staff member trained in first 

aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and rescue breathing as 

appropriate to the age of the children in care who is on the 

premises during the center's hours of operation and also one 

person on field trips and wherever children are in care.  

1. This person shall be available to children; and  

2. This person shall have current certification by the 

American Red Cross, American Heart Association, 

National Safety Council, or other designated program 

approved by the Department of Social Services.  

B. A. All staff who work directly with children shall have, 

within 30 days of the date of employment: 

1. Current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation 

(CPR) as appropriate to the age of the children in care from 

an organization such as the American Red Cross, 

American Heart Association, American Safety and Health 

Institute, or National Safety Council. The training shall 

include an in-person competency demonstration; and 

2. Current certification in first aid from an organization 

such as the American Red Cross, American Heart 

Association, American Safety and Health Institute, or 

National Safety Council. 

B. Staff who work directly with children and who are 

employed prior to (insert the effective date of this chapter) 

must complete CPR and first aid training as required by this 

section within 90 calendar days of (insert the effective date of 

this chapter). During the 90-day period, there must always be 

at least one staff with current CPR and first aid training 

present during operating hours of the center.  

C. CPR and first aid training may count toward the annual 

training hours required in 22VAC40-185-245 A. 

D. Primitive camps shall have a staff member on the 

premises during the hours of operation who has at least 

current certification in first responder training.  

22VAC40-185-550. Procedures for emergencies.  

A. The center shall have an a written emergency 

preparedness plan that addresses staff responsibility and 

facility readiness with respect to emergency evacuation and 

relocation, shelter-in-place, and lockdown. The plan, which 

shall be developed in consultation with local or state 

authorities, addresses shall include the most likely to occur 

emergency scenario or scenarios, including but not limited to 

fire, severe storms, loss of utilities, natural disaster, chemical 

spills, intruder, and violence at or near the center, terrorism 

specific to the locality, and other situations, including facility 

damage that requires evacuation, lockdown, or shelter-in-

place.  

B. The emergency preparedness plan shall contain 

procedural components for:  

1. Sounding of alarms (intruder, shelter-in-place such as 

for tornado, or chemical hazard), such as intruder, 

evacuation, lockdown, and shelter-in-place for tornado or 

chemical hazards;  

2. Emergency communication to include:  

a. Establishment of center emergency officer and back-up 

officer to include 24-hour contact telephone number for 

each;  

b. Notification of local authorities (fire and rescue, law 

enforcement, emergency medical services, poison 
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control, health department, etc.), such as fire and rescue, 

law enforcement, emergency medical services, poison 

control, health department, and parents, and local media; 

and  

c. Availability and primary use of communication tools;  

3. Evacuation to include:  

a. Assembly points, head counts methods to account for 

all children at the assembly point and relocation site, 

primary and secondary means of egress, and complete 

evacuation of the buildings;  

b. Securing of essential documents (sign-in record, parent 

contact information, etc.) and special healthcare supplies 

to be carried off-site on immediate notice; and, including 

attendance records, parent contact information, 

emergency contact information, information on allergies, 

intolerance to food or medication, any special health care 

needs to include medications and care plans, emergency 

contact information for staff, and supplies are taken to 

the assembly point or relocation site;  

c. Method of communication after the evacuation with 

parents and emergency responders;  

d. Accommodations or special requirements for infants, 

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their 

safety during evacuation or relocation; and  

e. Procedures to reunite children with a parent or 

authorized person designated by the parent to pick up the 

child; 

4. Shelter-in-place to include:  

a. Scenario applicability, such as tornado or chemical 

spill, inside assembly points, head counts methods to 

account for all children at the safe locations, and primary 

and secondary means of access and egress;  

b. Securing essential documents (sign-in records, parent 

contact information, etc.) and special health supplies to 

be carried into the designated assembly points; and, 

including attendance records, parent contact information, 

emergency contact information, information on allergies, 

intolerance to food or medication, any special health care 

needs to include medications and care plans, emergency 

contact information for staff, and supplies are taken to 

the assembly point or relocation site;  

c. Method of communication after the shelter-in-place 

with parents and emergency responders;  

d. Accommodations or special requirements for infants, 

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their 

safety during shelter-in-place; and 

e. Procedures to reunite children with a parent or 

authorized person designated by the parent to pick up the 

child; 

5. Facility containment procedures, (e.g., closing of fire 

doors or other barriers) and shelter-in-place scenario (e.g., 

intruders, tornado, or chemical spills); Lockdown, to 

include: 

a. Facility containment procedures, such as closing of fire 

doors or other barriers, scenario applicability, assembly 

points, and methods to account for all children at the safe 

locations; 

b. Method of communication with parents and 

emergency responders; 

c. Accommodations or special requirements for infants, 

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their 

safety during lockdown; and 

d. Procedures to reunite children with a parent or 

authorized person designated by the parent to pick up the 

child; 

6. Staff training requirement, drill frequency, and plan 

review and update; and  

7. Other special procedures developed with local 

authorities.  

C. Emergency evacuation and shelter-in-place 

procedures/maps procedures and maps shall be posted in a 

location conspicuous to staff and children on each floor of 

each building.  

D. The center shall implement a monthly practice 

evacuation drill and a minimum of two shelter-in-place 

practice drills per year for the most likely to occur scenarios.  

E. Shelter in place procedures shall be practiced a minimum 

of twice per year. 

F. Lockdown procedures shall be practiced at least annually. 

G. Documentation shall be maintained of emergency 

evacuation, shelter-in-place, and lockdown drills that 

includes:  

1. Identity of the person conducting the drill; 

2. The date and time of the drill; 

3. The method used for notification of the drill; 

4. The number of staff participating; 

5. The number of children participating; 

6. Any special conditions simulated; 

7. The time it took to complete the drill; 

8. Problems encountered, if any; and 

9. For emergency evacuation drills only, weather 

conditions. 

E. H. The center shall maintain a record of the dates of the 

practice drills for one year. For centers offering multiple 
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shifts, the simulated drills shall be divided evenly among the 

various shifts.  

F. I. A 911 or local dial number for police, fire and 

emergency medical services and the number of the regional 

poison control center shall be posted in a visible place at each 

telephone.  

G. J. Each camp location shall have an emergency 

preparedness plan and warning system.  

H. K. The center shall prepare a document containing local 

emergency contact information, potential shelters, hospitals, 

evacuation routes, etc., that pertain to each site frequently 

visited or of routes frequently driven by center staff for center 

business ( , such as field trips, pick-up/drop pick up or drop 

off of children to or from schools, etc.). This document must 

be kept in vehicles that centers use to transport children to 

and from the center.  

I. L. Parents shall be informed of the center's emergency 

preparedness plan.  

J. M. Based on local authorities and documented normal 

ambulance operation, if an ambulance service is not readily 

accessible within 10 to 15 minutes, other transportation shall 

be available for use in case of emergency.  

K. N. The center or other appropriate official shall notify the 

parent immediately if a child is lost, requires emergency 

medical treatment, or sustains a serious injury.  

L. O. The center shall notify the parent by the end of the day 

of any known minor injuries.  

M. P. The center shall maintain a written record of children's 

serious and minor injuries in which entries are made the day 

of occurrence. The record shall include the following:  

1. Date and time of injury;  

2. Name of injured child;  

3. Type and circumstance of the injury;  

4. Staff present and treatment;  

5. Date and time when parents were notified;  

6. Any future action to prevent recurrence of the injury;  

7. Staff and parent signatures or two staff signatures; and  

8. Documentation on how parent was notified.  

Q. A parent shall be notified immediately of any confirmed 

or suspected allergic reaction and the ingestion of prohibited 

food even if a reaction did not occur. 

Part VIII  

Special Services  

22VAC40-185-560. Nutrition and food services.  

A. Centers shall schedule appropriate times for snacks or 

meals, or both, based on the hours of operation and time of 

the day (e.g., a center open only for after school care shall 

schedule an afternoon snack; a center open from 7 a.m. to 1 

p.m. shall schedule a morning snack and midday meal).  

B. The center shall ensure that children arriving from a half-

day, morning program who have not yet eaten lunch receive a 

lunch.  

C. The center shall schedule snacks or meals so that there is 

a period of at least 1-1/2 hours but no more than three hours 

between each meal or snack unless there is a scheduled rest or 

sleep period for children between the meals and snacks.  

D. Drinking water or other beverage not containing caffeine 

shall be offered at regular intervals to nonverbal children.  

E. In environments of 80°F or above, attention shall be 

given to the fluid needs of children at regular intervals. 

Children in such environments shall be encouraged to drink 

fluids as outlined in subsection D of this section.  

F. When centers choose to provide meals or snacks, the 

following shall apply:  

1. Centers shall follow the most recent, age-appropriate 

nutritional requirements of a recognized authority such as 

the Child and Adult Care Food Program of the United 

States Department of Agriculture (USDA).  

2. Children shall be allowed second helpings of food listed 

in the USDA's child and adult care meal patterns.  

3. Centers offering both meals and snacks shall serve a 

variety of nutritious foods and shall serve at least three 

sources of vitamin A and at least three sources of vitamin 

C on various days each week.  

4. Children three years of age or younger may not be 

offered foods that are considered to be potential choking 

hazards.  

5. A menu listing foods to be served for meals and snacks 

during the current one-week period shall:  

a. Be dated;  

b. Be posted in a location conspicuous to parents or given 

to parents;  

c. List any substituted food; and  

d. Be kept on file for one week at the center.  

6. Powdered milk shall not be used except for cooking.  
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G. When food is brought from home, the following shall 

apply:  

1. The food container shall be sealed and clearly dated and 

labeled in a way that identifies the owner;  

2. The center shall have extra food or shall have provisions 

to obtain food to serve to children so they can have an 

appropriate snack or meal if they forget to bring food from 

home, bring an inadequate meal or snack, or bring 

perishable food; and  

3. Unused portions of opened food shall be discarded by 

the end of the day or returned to the parent.  

H. If a catering service is used, it shall be approved by the 

local health department.  

I. Food shall be prepared, stored, and transported in a clean 

and sanitary manner.  

J. I. Contaminated or spoiled food shall not be served to 

children.  

K. J. Tables and high chair trays shall be:  

1. Sanitized before and after each use for feeding; and  

2. Cleaned at least daily.  

L. K. Children shall be encouraged to feed themselves.  

M. L. Staff shall sit with children during meal times.  

N. M. No child shall be allowed to drink or eat while 

walking around.  

N. Food shall be prepared, stored, and transported in a clean 

and sanitary manner. 

O. When food is prepared to which a child in care is allergic, 

staff shall take steps to avoid cross contamination to prevent 

an allergic reaction. 

P. A child with a diagnosed food allergy shall not be served 

any food identified in the written care plan required in 

22VAC40-185-60 A 8. 

22VAC40-185-580. Transportation and field trips.  

A. If the center provides transportation, the center shall be 

responsible from the time the child boards the vehicle until 

returned to the parents or person designated by the parent.  

B. Any vehicle used by the center for the transportation of 

children shall meet the following requirements:  

1. The vehicle shall be manufactured for the purpose of 

transporting people seated in an enclosed area;  

2. The vehicle's seats shall be attached to the floor;  

3. The vehicle shall be insured with at least the minimum 

limits established by Virginia state statutes;  

4. The vehicle shall meet the safety standards set by the 

Department of Motor Vehicles and shall be kept in 

satisfactory condition to assure the safety of children; and  

5. If volunteers supply personal vehicles, the center is 

responsible for ensuring that the requirements of this 

subsection are met.  

C. The center shall ensure that during transportation of 

children:  

1. Virginia state statutes about safety belts and child 

restraints are followed as required by §§ 46.2-1095 through 

46.2-1100, and stated maximum number of passengers in a 

given vehicle shall not be is not exceeded;  

2. The children remain seated and each child's arms, legs, 

and head remain inside the vehicle;  

3. Doors are closed properly and locked unless locks were 

not installed by the manufacturer of the vehicle;  

4. At least one staff member or the driver always remains 

in the vehicle when children are present;  

5. The following information is in transportation vehicles:  

a. Emergency numbers as specified in 22VAC40-185-

550 F and H I and K;  

b. The center's name, address, and phone number; and  

c. A list of the names of the children being transported.; 

and  

d. Allergy care plan and information as specified in 

22VAC40-185-60 A 7 and A 8; and 

6. Staff who transport children shall be 18 years of age or 

older.  

D. When entering and leaving vehicles, children shall enter 

and leave the vehicle from the curb side of the vehicle or in a 

protected parking area or driveway.  

E. Children shall cross streets at corners or crosswalks or 

other designated safe crossing point if no corner or crosswalk 

is available.  

F. The staff-to-children ratios of 22VAC40-185-350 E, G, 

and H B and 22VAC40-185-355 shall be followed on all field 

trips. The staff-to-children ratios need not be followed during 

transportation of school age children to and from the center. 

One staff member or adult is necessary in addition to the 

driver when 16 or more preschool or younger children are 

being transported in the vehicle.  

G. The center shall make provisions for providing children 

on field trips with adequate food and water.  

H. If perishable food is taken on field trips, the food shall be 

stored in insulated containers with ice packs to keep the food 

cold.  
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I. Before leaving on a field trip, a schedule of the trip's 

events and locations shall be posted and visible at the center 

site.  

J. There shall be a communication plan between center staff 

and staff who are transporting children or on a field trip.  

K. Staff shall verify that all children have been removed 

from the vehicle at the conclusion of any trip.  

L. Parental permission for transportation and field trips shall 

be secured before the scheduled activity.  

M. If a blanket permission is used instead of a separate 

written permission, the following shall apply:  

1. Parents shall be notified of the field trip; and  

2. Parents shall be given the opportunity to withdraw their 

children from the field trip.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4596; Filed January 8, 2018, 8:24 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 22VAC40-661. Child Care Program 

(repealing 22VAC40-661-10 through 22VAC40-661-100). 

22VAC40-665. Child Care Program (adding 22VAC40-

665-10 through 22VAC40-665-830).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217, 63.2-319, and 63.2-611 of 

the Code of Virginia; 45 CFR 98.11. 

Public Hearing Information: 

March 15, 2018 - 5 p.m. - Albemarle County Department 

of Social Services, 1600 Fifth Street, Charlottesville, VA 

22902. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 6, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Mary Ward, Subsidy Manager, Department 

of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 726-7638, FAX (804) 726-7655, or 

email mary.ward@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The State Board of Social Services has the authority to 

promulgate this regulatory action. The federal statutory 

authority for this program is the Child Care and Development 

Block Grant Act of 2014 (P.L. 113-186), as implemented in 

45 CFR Parts 98 and 99. State authority is derived from 

§§ 63.2-217, 63.2-319, 63.2-510, 63.2-611, 63.2-616, and 

63.2-1725 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: This regulatory action is necessary to ensure (i) the 

state maintains compliance with federal Child Care and 

Development Block Grant (CCDBG) requirements to receive 

funding for the Child Care Subsidy Program and (ii) 

improved program integrity and accountability. Without these 

changes, Virginia risks losing federal resources that support 

low-income and vulnerable children and families. The 

proposed changes are designed to improve the health and 

safety of children in child care programs receiving subsidy; to 

promote child development; to provide continuity of child 

care services for families who are working, participating in 

education or training leading to employment, or receiving 

child protective services; to improve quality and increase the 

supply of quality child care throughout the state; and to make 

the Child Care Subsidy Program more family friendly. 

Substance: This regulatory action will make significant 

changes to the program. It will include critical provisions to 

ensure the health and safety of children in child care settings, 

improve the quality of care, and make it easier for families to 

get and keep child care assistance. Changes to be considered 

include changes that: 

• Allow families to be considered to meet all eligibility 

requirements for assistance and to receive assistance for not 

less than 12 months before the state redetermines 

eligibility, unless the family income exceeds the federal 

threshold of 85% of state median income (SMI), there is 

substantiated intentional program violations, or the 

recipient is no longer a resident of Virginia. 

• Allow for a graduated phase-out of care. 

• Allow for the expedited enrollment of children 

experiencing homelessness, pending the compilation of 

required documentation. 

• Require a declaration from families receiving assistance 

that their assets do not exceed $1 million in value. 

• Begin payment for services (i.e., the Begin Date of 

Service Payment) effective with the date the applicant is 

determined eligible and selection of a vendor that meets all 

program participation requirements. 

• Require that all subsidy providers receive onsite 

inspections. 

• Create standards for onsite inspections of subsidy 

providers. 

• Mandate specific department-approved health and safety 

training during preservice or orientation periods and 

ongoing for all subsidy providers. 

• Require providers to report to the department instances of 

death and serious injury in the child care setting. 

• Include the process for vendors to appeal decisions made 

by the department. 

• Require appropriate child-to-provider ratios and group 

size limits based on the age of children in child care. 

• Add and update multiple definitions in the regulation to 

coincide with other changes. 

Issues: Changes to this regulation will strengthen the Child 

Care Subsidy Program's dual role as both an early childhood 

development program and a work support program for low-

income families. Families and children will benefit from key 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 12 Virginia Register of Regulations February 5, 2018 

1263 

changes in this new regulation that include supporting and 

protecting the health and safety of children in care through 

more consistent standards for child care providers and 

through monitoring of those standards. The changes also 

focus on improving the quality of care statewide through 

inspections of unlicensed child care providers and by 

enabling families to more easily access stable and continuous 

care. 

Providers of child care services will be better served by 

having a current regulation with detailed standards for 

providers participating in the Child Care Subsidy Program. 

Children will benefit from providers meeting the health and 

safety requirements. 

The regulation assures families that the child care program 

will be administered with clear and consistent case 

management policies, including provisions that support 

continuity of care, support for families to become more self-

sufficient, and support for vulnerable children and families. 

To provide the increased services mandated by the CCDBG, 

this proposed regulation may result in a reduction in the 

number of families who receive assistance. Also, providers 

who do not meet the new inspection requirements may be 

ineligible to receive payments through the Child Care 

Subsidy Program. Providers may experience an increase in 

operating costs to cover staff time to complete the federally 

mandated training. However, the ongoing costs should be 

reduced once all current staff have completed the initial 

training. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to the 2014 reauthorization of the federal Child Care 

and Development Block Grant Act (CCDBG), the State 

Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to 1) establish a 

twelve-month presumptive eligibility period, 2) require on-

site inspection of all providers receiving subsidies, 3) require 

health and safety training of provider staff, 4) require first aid 

and CPR certification, 5) establish provider-to-child ratios 

and group size limits, 6) establish a gradual phase-out of the 

program when income eligibility is lost, 7) expedite the entry 

of children experiencing homelessness into the program, 8) 

start the beginning date of service payment to correspond 

with the application approval date, 9) no longer allow out-of-

state providers to participate in the program, 10) allow 

administrative disqualification of a recipient from the 

program, and 11) require a declaration from recipients that 

their assets are below a certain threshold. 

Result of Analysis. Although the proposed regulation imposes 

additional costs on the Department of Social Services (DSS) 

and child care providers, the benefits likely exceed the costs 

as the regulation is necessary for Virginia to continue to 

receive approximately $119 million in federal funds. 

Estimated Economic Impact. CCDBG imposed a number of 

new requirements on states primarily to strengthen its dual 

role as both a major early childhood education program and a 

work support for low-income families. Child care assistance 

helps parents afford reliable child care, which can help them 

gain and maintain stable employment. In order to continue to 

receive federal funding under the Child Care and 

Development Fund (CCDF) subsidy program, Virginia will 

need to ensure that it has adopted all of these requirements. 

Virginia receives about $119 million in federal CCDF funds 

per fiscal year and provides approximately $48 million in 

state and local funds and approximately $17 million in pre-K 

expenditures counted as state match and maintenance effort.1 

Twelve-month continuous eligibility: 

The CCDBG requires that eligible families retain enrollment 

in the program for 12 months. Thus, the Board proposes to 

adopt a presumption of eligibility for not less than 12 months 

before the state redetermines eligibility. This presumption is 

subject to certain conditions (e.g., the family income must 

stay below the federal threshold of 85% of state median 

income, there could be no substantiated intentional program 

violations, the recipient must stay a resident of Virginia, etc.). 

According to the Board staff, average length of stay in the 

program currently is 7 to 8 months. Providing payments for 

an additional 4 to 5 months beyond the current average length 

of stay will add to program outlays. However, CCDF is a 

block grant in that the total dollar amount available to 

Virginia is capped. Although the fund is currently reported to 

have enough resources to continue serving each month the 

current number of children being served, when there are no 

funds left in the program, newer applicants may be placed on 

a waiting list or if there is a list it could get longer. 

A presumption of eligibility for 12 months will benefit the 

recipients already in the program as they would be allowed to 

stay in the program for a longer period. The Board plans to 

offset the additional outlays by managing the caseloads 

through attrition and by controlling the rate of entry into the 

program. Therefore, the additional outlays, if they exceed the 

current available resources in the fund, may create a waiting 

list or extend it. Existing recipients will receive benefits 

longer while new recipients may be delayed getting into the 

program. When some individuals cannot get into the program 

because some other recipients are allowed to stay longer, a 

negative economic effect may spill over to other related 

programs. For example, if a parent is on the waiting list and 

cannot afford child care, his or her transition to a paying job 

might be delayed causing him or her to continue to stay in the 

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program. 

DSS expects little spill over because families whose incomes 

exceed the TANF income limits may receive an additional 12 

months of transitional child care assistance and only if 

resources are not available to serve them. 
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According to a study,2 research suggests longer authorizations 

reduce the risk of losing benefits, supporting stable parental 

employment and continuity of care for the child. As a result, 

twelve-month continuous authorization will support children's 

development by providing continuity of care and by 

providing more stability for families who receive assistance. 

It will also provide more stable income for providers during a 

recipient's 12-month authorization period for children in their 

care. 

It is expected that the change will also reduce the local 

department of social services administrative requirements of 

implementing the program. The proposed regulations will 

reduce the number of required case actions during a 

recipient's 12-month eligibility period; however, child care 

workers will be responsible for helping families understand 

child development issues that can impact their provider 

selection and they will be required to provide more 

information on the compliance record of the provider selected 

by the family. 

On-site inspections of unlicensed subsidy providers: 

The CCDBG requires that all providers that participate in the 

program be inspected annually. Currently, unlicensed 

providers are not inspected. Under the proposed changes, 

unlicensed providers would have to submit to monitoring 

visits as required by federal law in order to continue receiving 

child care subsidies. The cost of this requirement includes the 

costs of 15 additional staff in the Division of Licensing 

Program hired to date to inspect unlicensed subsidy 

providers. Approximately $2.8 million of funding was 

provided through HB1570 of the 2015 General Assembly for 

this cost.3 The proposed on-site inspections may provide 

disincentives to some providers to stop participating in the 

program due to actual or perceived additional costs of the 

inspections or to demand higher rates. The health and safety 

standards and inspection requirements for child care providers 

participating in the subsidy program will likely however 

ensure greater protection of families and children served 

through the program. 

Health and safety training: 

The CCDBG mandates specific department-approved health 

and safety training, during preservice or orientation periods 

and ongoing, for all subsidy providers. Currently, the training 

is provided at no cost to caregivers. The only cost is to cover 

wages, if required, while the training is being taken. As a 

result, child care providers may incur costs to pay staff for 

time required to take the federally mandated training. 

According to the Board staff, the requirement for 10 hours of 

orientation training may have a potential impact of $107.90 

per person, based on the cost of wages for employees.4 Up to 

20,000 individuals may be required to take this training. To 

the extent of the employee turnover in this industry, costs to 

providers would be higher than $107.90 per position. In 

addition, the proposed regulation requires 16 hours of annual 

training and staff development activities. The orientation 

training may be counted toward the 16-hour ongoing training 

requirement. Currently, unlicensed providers receive only 

four hours of annual training. Therefore, unlicensed providers 

will incur costs associated with the additional 12 hours of 

training. The added compliance costs of the proposed training 

requirements may also provide disincentives to some 

providers to stop participating in the program or demand 

higher rates. On the other hand, the required training will 

likely improve compliance with health and safety standards 

and help ensure greater protection of families and children 

served through the program. 

In addition, development of and regular updates to the 

required annual health and safety training will likely require 

some staff time. DSS estimates that approximately $25,000 

per year may be required for this purpose but plans to absorb 

this cost within the existing resources. 

First aid and CPR training: 

The proposed regulation requires all staff working directly 

with children to complete cardiopulmonary resuscitation 

(CPR) and first aid training. The CPR and first aid training 

may be counted toward the 16-hour ongoing training 

requirement. According to the board staff, if an individual is 

not currently first aid or CPR certified, an initial cost of $90-

$100 may apply with an additional cost for recertification 

every two years. The costs vary depending on the 

organization that administers the certification. The Red Cross 

web site estimates that CPR and first aid training classes can 

be two to five hours long, depending on whether it is initial 

training or a refresher course. Consequently, licensees, or 

their staff, will likely incur costs for the time that these 

courses take. In fiscal year 2017, the program began making 

free first aid and CPR training available to staff in programs 

serving infants and toddlers and intends to continue offering 

assistance in this area in the future. 

Provider-to-child ratios, group size limits: 

The CDDBG requires that states establish group size limits 

and appropriate provider-to-child ratios primarily to improve 

health and safety protections afforded by the quality of care. 

The Board staff does not believe the proposed ratios for 

different age groups or group size limits will be a limiting 

factor for most providers but recognize that they could be. 

Normally, the licensing capacity is considered a major 

limiting factor. To the extent the proposed ratios are limiting 

factors to specific providers, they may have to drop some of 

their clients or hire additional staff to comply with the 

proposed ratios. 

As mentioned above, limiting the number of children per staff 

could improve health and safety of children. For example, in 

the case of a fire, young children could be evacuated more 

quickly if there are more adults responsible for fewer 

children. Having sufficient staff available to provide the 
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supervision and individualized care that children need is also 

a critical component of high-quality child care. When one 

caregiver is responsible for only a small number of children, 

the caregiver is better able to offer one-on-one attention to 

each child and have more interactions that encourage 

language and healthy social-emotional development. 

According to a study,5 research shows that both child 

development and caregiving quality improves when child-

provider ratios and group sizes (i.e., the number of children 

assigned to a caregiver or team of caregivers in a classroom, 

or well-defined space within a larger room) in child care 

settings are smaller. 

Phase-out of services: 

The CDDBG requires that families who, at redetermination, 

exceed initial income eligibility limits, be gradually phased-

out of the program. The phase-out is not currently based on 

specific criteria as DSS is still working on developing these 

factors. There is insufficient data on which to base an 

estimate at this time. The federally mandated phase-out 

period will help families gradually assume a higher share of 

the cost of child care as their income increases. However, 

gradual phase-out may also lead to newcomers in the Fee 

Child Care Program being placed on a waiting list and delay 

their transition into a gainful employment. 

Children experiencing homelessness: 

The CDDBG requires expedited enrollment of children 

experiencing homelessness, pending the compilation of 

required documentation. While this change will help parents 

and children experiencing homelessness start receiving 

subsidy and care faster, it could potentially delay other 

recipients' access to the program if the total funds are 

insufficient to provide a subsidy to everyone who would 

qualify. 

Beginning date of service payment: 

The beginning date of service payment is amended to begin 

payment for services effective with the date the applicant is 

determined eligible and a vendor that meets all program 

participation requirements is selected. In the past, the 

payments began as of the date when the signed application 

was received. According to DSS, payments for retroactive 

time periods created some administrative difficulties. With 

the proposed change, the payments will start when eligibility 

is determined. This change will ensure that payments are not 

made prior to the provider's approval by the department as a 

vendor and streamline the administration of payments.  

Program guidelines state that eligibility determination is to 

occur within 30 days from the date of the application. Thus, 

this change will likely reduce the amount of subsidy 

payments by up to a month for new recipients and provide 

some savings or help serve the individuals on the waiting list 

sooner. 

This provision will also provide incentives to the applicants 

to submit all supporting documentation needed to determine 

eligibility as soon as possible. 

Other: 

The proposed regulation eliminates the approval process for 

out-of-state providers to participate in the program. With 

implementation of the new federal requirements for 

background checks and inspections of providers participating 

in the program, the agency will no longer be able to approve 

out-of-state providers for participation in the program. 

According to the Board staff, there were a handful of out-of-

state providers that are no longer allowed to serve the 

program recipients. 

The proposed regulation establishes a process for 

administrative disqualification from the program for child 

care recipients if there is clear and convincing evidence that 

fraud was committed, but the situation does not meet the 

Commonwealth Attorney's criteria for prosecution. 

Disqualification for an intentional program violation is 

included as a reason for disqualification from the program. 

The administrative disqualification process and resulting 

disqualification from program participation will enable the 

program to take action when an intentional program violation 

in committed, but may not meet the dollar level established 

by some Commonwealth Attorneys for prosecution.  

The proposed regulation requires a declaration from families 

receiving assistance that their assets do not exceed $1 million 

in value. This change would effect if any a very small number 

of recipients. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Child care providers, 

eligible families and children and local departments of social 

services are affected by the proposed regulation. In fiscal year 

2016, 22,085 families and 36,640 children were served with 

subsidy dollars at some time during the fiscal year. There are 

approximately 3,000 child care providers who participate in 

the program. There are 120 local departments of social 

services. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed on-site 

inspection requirements led to the creation of 15 full time 

inspector positions. Health and safety training will create 

demand for state staff time to develop and update the training 

curriculum and demand for provider staff time to take the 

training. However, the proposed changes also add or may add 

to provider compliance costs (e.g., health and safety training, 

on-site inspections, provider-to-child ratios and group size 

limits, etc.) and may consequently discourage participation in 

the program leading to a decrease in demand for provider 

staff time. 
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Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the 

extent additional compliance costs are imposed on child care 

providers their asset values would decrease. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Most if not all of approximately 

3,000 affected child care providers are believed to be small 

businesses. The costs and other effects on them are the same 

as discussed above. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no known alternative method that minimizes the adverse 

impact on the state and child care providers while 

accomplishing the same goals. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed regulation does not affect non-

small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed regulation should not affect the 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed regulation imposes costs on the 

state to conduct on-site inspections of unlicensed child care 

providers.  

___________________________ 

1Source: Department of Social Services  

2http://www.clasp.org/resources-and-publications/publication-1/ccdbg-guide-

for-states-final.pdf 

3http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=151&typ=bil&val=hb1570 

4According to DSS, the potential fiscal impact is based on the Bureau of 

Labor Statistics, Department of Labor, which reported the annual mean wage 

for child care workers in Virginia as $22,440 or $10.79 per hour and $107.90 
for 10 hours. 

5http://www.clasp.org/resources-and-publications/publication-1/ccdbg-guide-

for-states-final.pdf 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Social Services reviewed the economic impact 

analysis posted July 31, 2017, and has no comments. 

Summary: 

This proposed action repeals 22VAC40-661 and replaces it 

with new Child Care Program regulations at 22VAC40-

665. The regulatory action is necessary to bring state 

Child Care Subsidy Program requirements into alignment 

with the federal Child Care and Development Block Grant 

Act of 2014. Proposed amendments include new provisions 

for (i) 12 months of continuous authorization for services, 

(ii) a phase-out of services, (iii) a conditional eligibility 

period for children experiencing homelessness, (iv) a 

change to reporting requirements of recipients during an 

authorization period, (v) the transfer of eligibility from one 

locality to another, (vi) a limitation on amount of assets 

that can be owned by a recipient, (vii) a change to how the 

effective date of eligibility is determined, (viii) verification 

of identity of applicants, (ix) a restriction that limits 

employees of local departments of social services from 

participating as program vendors, (x) repayment of 

overpayments made, (xi) training of local department staff 

who administer the program, and (xii) health and safety 

and inspection of program vendors. 

CHAPTER 665 

CHILD CARE PROGRAM 

Part I 

General Provisions 

22VAC40-665-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context indicates 

otherwise:  

"Administrative disqualification hearing" or "ADH" means 

an impartial review by a state hearing officer of a recipient's 

actions involving an alleged intentional program violation for 

the purpose of determining if the individual did or did not 

commit an intentional program violation. 

"Applicant" means a person who has applied for child care 

services and the disposition of the application has not yet 

been determined.  

"Assets" means resources owned by a person or company 

regarded as having value and available to meet debts and 

commitments. 

"Background checks" means the checks for barrier crimes 

and offenses required under Article 3 (§ 63.2-1719 et seq.) of 

Chapter 17 of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia, including 

the sworn statement or affirmation as is required by Article 3; 

the criminal history record check; and the Child Protective 

Services Central Registry check.  

"Child care subsidy and services" or "Child Care Subsidy 

Program" means the department program that assists eligible 

low-income families with the cost of child care and those 

activities that assist eligible families in the arrangement for or 

purchase of child care for children for care that is less than a 

24-hour day. It also includes activities that promote parental 

choice, consumer education to help parents make informed 

choices about child care, activities to enhance health and 

safety standards established by the state, and activities that 

increase and enhance child care and early childhood 

development resources in the community.  
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"Child experiencing homelessness" means a child who lacks 

a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence and 

includes: 

1. A child who is living in a car, park, public space, 

abandoned building, substandard housing, bus or train 

station, or similar settings; 

2. A child who is sharing the housing of other persons due 

to loss of housing, economic hardship, or a similar reason 

(sometimes referred to as "doubled-up");  

3. A child who is living in a motel, hotel, trailer park, or 

camping grounds due to lack of alternative adequate 

accommodations;  

4. A child who is living in congregate, temporary, 

emergency, or transitional shelters; 

5. A child who is abandoned in a hospital;  

6. A child who is living in a primary nighttime residence 

that is a public or private place not designed for, or 

ordinarily used as, a regular sleeping accommodation for 

human beings; and 

7. A child who is a migratory child as defined in § 1309 of 

the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965, P.L. 

No. 89-10 (20 USC § 6399) who qualifies as homeless 

because he is living in circumstances described in 

subdivisions 1 through 6 of this definition. 

"Child protective services" means the identification, receipt, 

and immediate response to complaints and reports of alleged 

child abuse or neglect for children under 18 years of age. It 

also includes assessment and arranging for and providing 

necessary protective and rehabilitative services for a child and 

his family when the child has been found to have been abused 

or neglected or is at risk of being abused or neglected.  

"Child with special needs or disability" means (i) a child 

with a disability as defined in § 602 of the Individuals with 

Disabilities Education Act (20 USC § 1401); (ii) a child who 

is eligible for early intervention services under Part C of the 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (20 USC § 1431 

et seq.); (iii) a child who is younger than 13 years of age and 

who is eligible for services under § 504 of the Rehabilitation 

Act of 1973 (29 USC § 794); and (iv) a child with a 

documented developmental disability, intellectual disability, 

emotional disturbance, sensory or motor impairment, or 

significant chronic illness who requires special health 

surveillance or specialized programs, interventions, 

technologies, or facilities. 

"Conditional eligibility" means that eligibility has been 

approved for a period not to exceed 90 days to allow families 

with a child experiencing homelessness additional time to 

obtain required documentation needed to complete a final 

eligibility determination. 

"Copayment" means the amount paid to the provider by the 

parent to contribute toward the cost of child care. Such 

amount shall be established by the department in accordance 

with the current Child Care and Development Fund Plan for 

Virginia, approved by the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services. Copayments do not include charges above 

the maximum reimbursable rate, or charges for registration, 

activities, or transportation. 

"DCSE" means the Division of Child Support Enforcement, 

the division of the Department of Social Services responsible 

for locating absent parents; establishing paternity; and 

establishing, modifying, enforcing, collecting, and disbursing 

child support or child and spousal support. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services. 

"Exit eligibility limit" means the maximum gross countable 

income amount that a family can receive to be considered 

income eligible at redetermination. Such amount shall be 

established by the department in the current Child Care and 

Development Plan for Virginia approved by the U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

"Family" means any individual, adult, or adults or children 

related by blood, marriage, adoption, or an expression of 

kinship who function as a family unit.  

"Federal poverty guidelines" means the income levels by 

family size, determined by the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services, used as guidelines in determining at what 

level families in the country are living in poverty.  

"Fee" means a charge for a service and may include 

copayments, charges above the maximum reimbursable rate, 

or charges for registration, activities, or transportation.  

"Fee Program" means a category in the child care subsidy 

program that assists low income, non-TANF families with 

child care services. 

"Fiscal year" means the local department financial calendar 

that begins in June of each calendar year and runs through 

May of the following calendar year. 

"Good cause" means a valid reason as determined by the 

local department why (i) a parent in a two-parent household 

cannot provide the needed child care or (ii) why a parent will 

not be required to register with the Division of Child Support 

Enforcement. 

"Graduated phase out" means the period of time for child 

care subsidy and services to continue as determined by the 

local department at redetermination for recipients whose 

income exceeds the initial eligibility limit but is below the 

exit eligibility limit. 

"Head Start" means the comprehensive federal child 

development programs that serve children from birth through 
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age five years, pregnant women, and their families (as 

established by the Head Start Act (42 USC § 9801)).  

"Income eligible" means that eligibility for assistance under 

the Child Care Subsidy Program is based on income and 

family size.  

"In-home" means child care provided in the home in which 

all of the children in care reside and in which the provider 

does not reside. 

"Initial eligibility limit" means the maximum gross 

countable income amount that a family can receive to be 

considered income eligible. Such amount shall be established 

by the department in the current Child Care and Development 

Plan for Virginia approved by the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services. 

"Intentional program violation" or "IPV" means any action 

by an individual for the purpose of establishing or 

maintaining the family's eligibility for assistance under the 

Child Care Subsidy Program or for increasing or preventing a 

reduction in the amount of the assistance by (i) intentionally 

giving a false or misleading statement or misrepresenting, 

concealing, or withholding facts or (ii) any act intended to 

mislead, to misrepresent, conceal, or withhold facts, or to 

propound a falsity. 

"Level one provider" means a child care provider that is not 

licensed by the department or is not approved (i) by a licensed 

family day system, (ii) under a local ordinance in accordance 

with §§ 15.2-741 and 15.2-914 of the Code of Virginia, or 

(iii) by the federal government.  

"Level two provider" means a child care provider that is 

licensed by the department or is approved (i) by a licensed 

family day system, (ii) under local ordinance in accordance 

with §§ 15.2-741 and 15.2-914 of the Code of Virginia, or 

(iii) by the federal government. 

"Local department" means the local department of social 

services of any county or city in this Commonwealth.  

"Maximum reimbursable rate" means the maximum rate 

paid for child care services through the subsidy program that 

is established by the department and set out in the current 

Child Care and Development Fund Plan for Virginia filed 

with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.  

"Need for child care" means the parents meets the income 

eligibility and employment or education requirements set 

forth in this chapter and requires child care services for part 

of the day. 

"Nonfraud overpayment" means an overpayment that is the 

result of a local department error or an inadvertent household 

or provider error.  

"Parent" means the adult or emancipated minor, as defined 

in § 16.1-334 of the Code of Virginia, who acts as the 

primary caretaker or guardian of a child, including an 

individual acting in loco parentis. A parent may be by blood, 

marriage, or adoption and also means a legal guardian, person 

cohabiting with the natural or adoptive parent of a minor 

child, or other person standing in loco parentis.  

"Provider" or "child care provider" means a person, entity, 

or organization providing child care services. 

"Register with the Division of Child Support Enforcement" 

means that an applicant or recipient of child care subsidy 

services provides the information required by the Division of 

Child Support Enforcement to locate an absent parent, 

establish paternity, or establish a support order, unless good 

cause for noncooperation is determined by the program. 

"Resource and referral" means services that provide 

information to parents to assist them in choosing a child care 

provider and may include assessment of the family's child 

care needs, collection and maintenance of information about 

child care needs in the community, and efforts to improve the 

quality and increase the supply of child care.  

"Service plan" means the written, mutually agreed upon 

activities and responsibilities between the local department 

and the parent in the provision of assistance for child care 

services under the Child Care Subsidy Program.  

"Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program" or "SNAP" 

means the program administered by the U.S. Department of 

Agriculture to reduce hunger and increase food security. 

"Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Employment 

and Training" or "SNAPET" means the program that provides 

job search, job search training, education, training, and work 

experience to nonpublic assistance SNAP recipients. 

"TANF assistance unit" means a household composed of an 

individual or individuals who meet all categorical 

requirements and conditions of eligibility for TANF.  

"TANF capped child" means a child who the TANF worker 

has determined ineligible for inclusion in the TANF 

assistance unit because the child was born more than 10 full 

months after the mother's initial TANF payment was issued.  

"Temporary assistance for needy families" or "TANF" 

means the program authorized in § 406 of the Social Security 

Act (42 USC § 606) and administered by the department 

through which a relative can receive monthly cash assistance 

for the support of his eligible children.  

"Transitional child care" means the program that provides 

child care subsidy assistance to eligible former TANF 

recipients after the TANF case closes.  

"Vendor" means a legally operating child care provider who 

is approved by the department to participate in the Child Care 

Subsidy Program. Multiple facilities or sites operated by the 

same person, entity, or organization are considered separate 

vendors. 
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"Vendor agreement" means the agreement between the 

department and a child care vendor that must be entered into 

and signed before child care payments under the Child Care 

Subsidy Program can be authorized. 

"Virginia Initiative for Employment not Welfare" or 

"VIEW" means the program of employment opportunities to 

assist individuals receiving Temporary Assistance for Needy 

Families in attaining the goal of self-sufficiency as 

implemented in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

22VAC40-665-20. Families and children to be served. 

A. For an applicant to be eligible for child care subsidy and 

services, the applicant must have a child who, at the time of 

eligibility determination or redetermination: 

1. Is younger than 13 years of age or is younger than the 

age of 18 years and physically or mentally unable to care 

for himself, or under court supervision; 

2. Is a citizen or legal resident of the United States; 

3. Is immunized according to requirements of the State 

Board of Health; however, families of a child experiencing 

homelessness that cannot provide documentation of their 

child's immunizations may be conditionally approved for 

services for a period not to exceed 90 days;  

4. Is not eligible to attend public school during the part of 

the day when public education is available unless there is a 

documented reason for the child to be out of school; 

5. Resides with the applicant or recipient for services; 

6. Resides in the locality where application or 

redetermination for services is made; 

7. Resides with a family whose income does not exceed the 

income limits established by the department in the current 

Child Care and Development Fund Plan for Virginia 

approved by the U.S. Department of Health and Human 

Services; 

8. Resides with a family whose family assets do not exceed 

$1 million in value, as certified by the applicant; and 

9. Resides with a family in which there is a need for child 

care services, arising from one of the following situations: 

a. In a two-parent household, there must be a 

documented reason why one of the parents cannot 

provide the needed child care. 

b. Parents who need child care to support the following 

approved activities:  

(1) Employment; 

(2) Education or training leading to employment; 

(3) Child protective services; or  

(4) Assigned VIEW or SNAPET activity. 

B. At the option of the local department, a child born to a 

family 10 months or more after the initial date of approval for 

the Fee Program may receive child care services or be placed 

on the local department waiting list. 

C. A child of an owner or operator of a family day home 

shall not be eligible to receive a child care subsidy if that 

child will be cared for in the home of the owner or operator.  

22VAC40-665-30. Child care subsidy program categories. 

Assistance under the Child Care Subsidy Program is 

provided through the following program categories, to the 

extent that funding is available:  

1. TANF. Child care subsidy and services are made 

available to recipients of TANF. TANF child care includes 

needed child care for:  

a. A TANF-capped child; 

b. A child who receives Supplemental Security Income 

(SSI) if the parent is on the TANF grant and if the child 

would have been in the public assistance unit were it not 

for the receipt of SSI; and 

c. Children who are not in the TANF assistance unit but 

who are financially dependent upon the parent who is in 

the TANF assistance unit. 

2. Income eligible programs. 

a. Transitional child care. Child care subsidy and services 

are made available to eligible children of former TANF 

recipients for up to the 12 months immediately following 

TANF case closure to support parental employment if the 

family is found income eligible, and there is a need for 

child care.  

b. Head Start wrap-around child care. Head Start wrap-

around child care subsidy and services are made 

available to eligible Head Start enrolled children. The 

program is for extended day and extended year child care 

beyond times covered by federally funded Head Start 

programs.  

c. SNAP child care. Child care subsidy and services are 

made available to children of parents in Virginia's SNAP 

Education and Training (SNAPET) program to allow 

participation in an approved activity. 

d. Fee Program child care. Fee child care subsidy and 

services are made available to children in eligible low-

income families who are not receiving TANF or 

SNAPET and who meet the eligibility criteria for child 

care. 

22VAC40-665-40. Case management. 

A. Applicants for child care subsidy and services must be at 

least 18 years of age unless they are an emancipated minor or 
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a minor who was receiving services as head of household 

prior to April 2016.  

B. Applicants are required to sign an application, to provide 

verification of identity, and to cooperate with an assessment 

by the local department of social services. 

C. Applicants and recipients must register with DCSE unless 

the local department determines that good cause exists for 

their failure to do so. Failure to register will result in case 

closure at redetermination. 

D. At initial eligibility determination, a family with a child 

experiencing homelessness that cannot provide the required 

documentation may be conditionally approved for services for 

a period not to exceed 90 days. The final eligibility 

determination shall be completed once the 90 days has 

expired or full documentation is provided. Any payments 

made prior to the final eligibility determination shall not be 

considered an error or improper payment. Families with a 

child experiencing homelessness shall receive priority 

placement on the waiting list, if applicable. 

E. Consumer education, including education on the selection 

and monitoring of quality child care, and a consumer 

statement regarding their selected vendor must be provided to 

parents to assist them in gaining needed information about the 

availability of child care services and providers. Parents must 

also be provided information on how to obtain a 

developmental screening for their child. 

F. The department shall establish scales for determining 

financial eligibility for the income eligible child care subsidy 

program categories in subdivision 2 of 22VAC40-665-30.  

1. Recipients in the TANF child care program category 

shall be considered income eligible based on their receipt 

of TANF; the local department shall not be required to 

verify their income. 

2. At initial eligibility determination, income eligibility 

shall be determined by measuring the family's countable 

income and size against the percentage of the federal 

poverty guidelines for their locality. The family's income 

cannot exceed 85% of the state median income.  

3. At redetermination, if a recipient family's countable 

income exceeds the initial eligibility limit, they shall be 

considered income eligible until their countable income 

meets or exceeds the exit eligibility limit established by the 

department. The family's income cannot exceed 85% of the 

state median income.  

G. Families receiving child care subsidy and services shall 

be required to pay a copayment unless their gross monthly 

income is at or below the federal poverty guidelines and they 

are recipients of TANF, participants in the SNAPET program, 

or families where all children participate in the Head Start 

program. The copayment amount will be based on a scale set 

out in the current Child Care and Development Fund Plan for 

Virginia. Copayments may be increased at redetermination 

and during graduated phase out if the family's countable 

income exceeds the initial eligibility limit but is below the 

exit eligibility limit. Local departments shall be required to 

act on changes reported by the family that would reduce the 

family's copayment during the 12-month eligibility period. 

H. Income to be counted in determining income eligibility 

includes all earned and unearned income received by the 

family except the following:  

1. Supplemental Security Income;  

2. TANF benefits, including TANF match payments;  

3. Transitional payments of $50 per month to former 

VIEW participants;  

4. Diversionary assistance payments;  

5. General relief;  

6. SNAP benefits;  

7. Value of U.S. Department of Agriculture donated food;  

8. Benefits received under Title VII, Nutrition Program for 

the Elderly of the Older Americans Act of 1965;  

9. Value of supplemental food assistance under the Child 

Nutrition Act of 1996 and lunches provided under National 

School Lunch Act;  

10. Earnings of a child younger than the age of 18 years;  

11. Earned income tax credit;  

12. Lump sum child support payments;  

13. Scholarships, loans, or grants for education except any 

portion specified for child care;  

14. Basic allowance for housing for military personnel 

living on base;  

15. Clothing maintenance allowance for military 

personnel;  

16. Payments received by AmeriCorps volunteers;  

17. Tax refunds;  

18. Lump sum insurance payments;  

19. Monetary gifts for one-time occasions or normal 

annual occasions;  

20. Payments made by non-financially responsible third 

parties for household obligations, unless payment is made 

in lieu of wages;  

21. Loans or money borrowed;  

22. Money received from sale of property;  

23. Earnings less than $25 a month;  
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24. Capital gains;  

25. Withdrawals of bank deposits;  

26. GI Bill benefits;  

27. Reimbursements, such as for mileage;  

28. Foreign government restitution payments to Holocaust 

survivors;  

29. Payments from the Agent Orange Settlement Fund or 

any other fund established for settlement of Agent Orange 

product liability litigation; and  

30. Monetary benefits provided to the children of Vietnam 

Veterans as described in 38 USC § 1823(c).  

The amount of wages subject to garnishment and the amount 

of child support paid to another household shall be deducted 

from the family's income. 

I. The eligibility period for TANF (nonVIEW), transitional 

child care, Fee Program, and Head Start begins with the 

effective date of the approval of the child care subsidy and 

services application. The eligibility period for VIEW and 

SNAPET participants begins with the date of referral from the 

VIEW or SNAPET program.  

J. Recipients will be eligible for child care subsidy and 

services for a minimum of 12-months before eligibility is 

redetermined unless: 

1. Their countable income exceeds 85% of state median 

income. Temporary increases in income will not affect 

eligibility or family copayments, including monthly 

income fluctuations, which when taken in isolation, may 

incorrectly indicate that a recipient's income exceeds 85% 

of state median income. 

2. There is a finding that the recipient committed an 

intentional program violation. 

3. The recipient is no longer a resident of Virginia. 

4. The recipient is a family of a child experiencing 

homelessness that was conditionally approved because 

they could not provide required documentation. If the 

documentation is provided to the local department within 

90 days, the recipient may remain eligible for the 

remainder of the 12-month eligibility period. If 

documentation is not provided to the local department 

within 90 days, or the recipient is determined ineligible 

after full documentation is provided, the child care case 

will be closed. 

K. Recipients will retain eligibility despite any change in 

residency within the state. 

L. Recipients will retain eligibility despite any eligible child 

turning 13 years of age during the 12-month eligibility period.  

M. The beginning date of service payment for TANF 

(nonVIEW), transitional child care, Fee Program, and Head 

Start participants may begin with the date the applicant is 

determined eligible and a vendor approved by the department 

is selected. The beginning date of service payment for VIEW 

or SNAPET participants may begin with the date of referral 

from the VIEW or SNAPET program if the applicant is 

determined eligible and a vendor approved by the department 

is selected.  

1. Eligibility must be determined within 30 days of receipt 

of a signed application or referral from VIEW or SNAPET 

by the local department.  

2. Payment cannot be made to any provider prior to the 

effective date of their approval by the department as a 

vendor.  

N. Eligibility will be redetermined in the final month of the 

12-month eligibility period described in subsection I of this 

section, at which time the recipient will be contacted in order 

to have all eligibility criteria be reevaluated. The local 

department's contact with the recipient should not unduly 

disrupt a parent's work schedule. Recipients shall not be 

required to appear in person for eligibility redetermination. 

O. Child care case managers shall prepare a written service 

plan for each child care case with the applicant or recipient. 

The service plan shall state the activities and responsibilities 

of the local department and the parent in the provision of 

child care services. The VIEW Activity and Service Plan will 

serve as the service plan for parents active in VIEW. If the 

parents are SNAPET participants, the SNAPET Plan of 

Participation will serve as the service plan. 

P. Recipients shall be required to: 

1. Report to the local department the following changes 

within 10 calendar days of the change: 

a. Countable income that exceeds 85% of the state 

median income. 

b. Recipient is no longer a resident of Virginia or the 

county in which they are receiving services. 

2. Pay all fees owed to the vendor not paid for under the 

Child Care Subsidy Program. 

3. Reimburse the local department for any overpayment 

made as a result of fraud, intentional program violation, or 

an inadvertent household error.  

4. Pay fees owed to the vendor or reimbursements owed to 

the local department; failure to do so may result in case 

closure at redetermination. 

The local department shall inform recipients of child care 

subsidy and services of these responsibilities.  

Q. Adequate documentation supporting the reasons for 

termination must be filed in the case record. Eligibility in the 
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Fee Program is limited to a total of 72 months per family. 

Receipt of assistance in any other program category does not 

count toward the 72-month limitation. 

R. When sufficient funds are not available, local 

departments of social services must screen applicants for 

potential eligibility and place them on the department's 

waiting list unless the family declines placement. 

S. Applicants and recipients will be afforded due process 

through timely written notices of any action determining or 

affecting their eligibility for services or copayment amount. 

Such written notice shall include the reason for the action and 

the notice of appeal rights and procedures, including the right 

to a fair hearing if the applicant or recipient is aggrieved by 

the local department's action or failure to act on an 

application. If a recipient requests an appeal prior to the 

effective date of any proposed action and if the continuation 

of services is requested by the parent, child care services will 

continue until a decision is rendered by a hearing officer. If 

the decision of the local department is upheld by the hearing 

officer, the recipient must repay the amount of services paid 

during the appeal process. 

22VAC40-665-50. Parental choice. 

Families who receive child care subsidy and services shall 

have the right to choose a provider from among child care 

providers operating legally and that are approved by the 

department to participate in the Child Care Subsidy Program 

as a vendor. Local departments shall not establish any 

policies that limit parental choice of providers.  

22VAC40-665-60. Access to children. 

A. Vendors shall allow parents unlimited access to their 

children when they are in care.  

B. Vendors shall allow state and local department staff 

unlimited access to children in care.  

22VAC40-665-70. Vendor requirements. 

A. Vendors who participate in the subsidy program must be 

at least 18 years of age.  

B. Vendors shall permit and cooperate with inspections by 

staff from the department and local departments of social 

services.  

C. Vendors shall comply with the regulations applicable to 

the vendor's type of child care, including all requirements to 

conduct background checks.  

D. Vendors shall comply with the subsidy program vendor 

requirements as outlined in Parts II (22VAC40-665-120 et 

seq.) and III (22VAC40-665-470 et seq.) of this chapter 

applicable to the vendor's type of care. 

E. All vendors who participate in the Child Care Subsidy 

Program shall enter into a vendor agreement with the 

department. The vendor's signature or electronic submission 

confirms its agreement to comply with the applicable sections 

of this chapter and the terms of the agreement, including 

payment processes, electronic submission and tracking of 

attendance, absences, and vendor requirements. Vendors shall 

be subject to monitoring inspections to ensure compliance 

with this chapter and with the vendor agreement. 

F. Employees of any division within the department or a 

local department of social services cannot participate in the 

subsidy program as a vendor. 

G. Vendors shall provide notice to individuals required 

under this chapter to undergo background checks of the 

opportunity to challenge the results of the background checks 

in accordance with the procedures described in this 

subsection in the case of criminal checks, or by contacting the 

local department of social services that reported such 

individual to be named on the Child Protective Services 

Central Registry. 

1. Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI): If an individual is 

denied employment or the opportunity to provide volunteer 

or contractual services because of information appearing 

on the individual's FBI record and it comes to the 

individual's attention that he is not the person of the record, 

the individual may initiate a challenge of the information 

contained in the record. The facility is required by state 

and federal laws to provide the individual with a copy of 

the challenge procedures. The challenge procedures can be 

found at https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-

summary-checks. 

2. Virginia State Police: In instances where it comes to an 

individual's attention that his name or other descriptive 

information is a matter of record in the Central Criminal 

Records Exchange, and he is not the person of the record, 

then the individual may initiate a challenge of the 

information contained in the record as provided at 

http://www.vsp.state.va.us/CJIS_CCRE.shtm. The 

individual must report this information to a local sheriff, 

police, or State Police Headquarters and request to be 

fingerprinted for the purpose of challenging a criminal 

record. The individual to be fingerprinted must show 

personal identification. The official taking the fingerprints 

must document on letterhead paper that he has reviewed 

the individual's personal identification and obtained the 

fingerprints. This letter and the fingerprints are to be 

mailed to the following address: Manager Central Criminal 

Records Exchange Virginia Department of State Police, 

P.O. Box 27472, Richmond, VA 23261-7472. Within five 

workdays, the individual who initiated the challenge will 

receive written confirmation of the fingerprint search 

results, whether he is or is not the person of the record, and 

record modifications taken, if applicable. 

3. If an individual successfully challenges information on a 

background check in accordance with these procedures, the 

https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks
https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks
http://www.vsp.state.va.us/CJIS_CCRE.shtm
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vendor may submit a request for a new background 

investigation in order to obtain an accurate record.  

H. Disputes between the vendor and the department 

regarding the payment for services rendered, enforcement or 

termination of the vendor agreement, or disqualification from 

participating in the Child Care Subsidy Program may be 

appealed by the vendor pursuant to the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), as provided in this subsection. This shall be the 

sole remedy for such disputes. 

1. Within 30 days of the date of a written notice of 

department action against a vendor, the vendor may 

request an appeal in writing with the department. 

2. Upon receiving the vendor's notice of appeal, the 

department shall schedule an informal conference at which 

the vendor may provide such further information or present 

any additional facts for the department to reconsider its 

action. The department shall issue a written decision within 

15 business days from the conclusion of the informal 

conference. The vendor may waive the holding of the 

informal conference and request the formal hearing 

described in subdivision 3 of this subsection in its initial 

request for an appeal to the department. 

3. The vendor may appeal the decision from the informal 

conference by requesting an administrative hearing within 

30 days of the date of the decision from the informal 

conference. The administrative hearing shall be held in 

accordance with § 2.2-4020 of the Code of Virginia and 

shall be presided over by a hearing officer designated by 

the Supreme Court of Virginia pursuant to subsection A of 

§ 2.2-4024 of the Code of Virginia. Within 30 days of the 

administrative hearing, the hearing officer shall 

recommend a decision to the Commissioner of the Virginia 

Department of Social Services. The commissioner shall 

issue a final decision within 30 days of receipt of the 

hearing officer's recommended decision in accordance with 

subsection C of § 2.2-4021 of the Code of Virginia. 

4. The vendor may seek court review of the 

commissioner's decision in accordance with Article 3 

(§ 2.2-4018 et. seq.) of the Virginia Administrative Process 

Act. 

22VAC40-665-80. Determining payment amount. 

A. Maximum reimbursable rates.  

1. The department will establish maximum reimbursable 

rates for child care subsidies for all localities in the state by 

type of care, level of regulatory oversight, age of child, and 

unit of service. Such rates shall be available in Appendix F 

of the Child Care Subsidy Program Guidance Manual on 

the department's website at http://www.dss.virginia.gov 

/files/division/cc/assistance/parents_guardians/guidance_pr

ocedures/Child_Care_Subsidy_Guidance_Manual.pdf.  

2. For children with special needs or disability, payment 

over the maximum reimbursable rate is allowed when this 

is appropriate as determined and documented by the local 

department. The maximum reimbursable rate for children 

with special needs may not exceed twice the rate for care 

of children who do not have special needs. 

3. Vendors will be paid for the amount of care approved up 

to the maximum reimbursable rate of the locality in which 

the vendor is located. The department will pay the rates 

and fees providers charge the general public, up to the 

maximum reimbursable rate. Level two vendors will be 

paid a higher maximum reimbursable rate established by 

the department.  

4. Parents who choose a vendor that charges a rate higher 

than the maximum reimbursable rate set by the department 

shall be responsible for payment of the additional amount, 

if charged by the vendor, unless the local department elects 

to pay the additional amount out of local funds. 

B. For in-home child care, the payment rate must be at least 

minimum wage, but not more than the maximum 

reimbursable rate for the number of children in care.  

C. A single annual registration fee, if charged, will be paid 

to level two vendors only. The registration fee must not 

exceed $100 nor be higher than the fee the vendor charges the 

general public. If the requirement for payment of another 

registration fee is beyond the control of the recipient or due to 

extenuating circumstances, an additional registration fee may 

be paid. The cost of transportation services provided by the 

vendor, if any, shall be included in the total cost of care. The 

total cost of care, excluding the single annual registration fee 

but including other fees and transportation, must not exceed 

the maximum reimbursable rate.  

D. Level two providers may be paid up to 10 holidays on 

which no child care services are provided as identified in the 

vendor agreement. Certified preschools, religious exempt 

centers, and voluntary registered family day homes that are 

classified as level one providers may be paid for holidays on 

which no child care services are provided in accordance with 

the provisions of the vendor agreement. All other level one 

providers will not receive payment for any holiday unless 

services are provided on such day. 

E. Level two providers may be paid for up to 24 days the 

child is absent per fiscal year.  

22VAC40-665-90. Complaints in the child care setting. 

All complaints regarding possible child abuse or neglect 

occurring in a child care setting must be referred to the child 

protective services unit at the local department serving the 

area where the vendor is located. All other complaints must 

be referred to the department's hotline, which will be 

provided to parents during intake at initial eligibility 

http://www.dss.virginia.gov/files/division/cc/assistance/parents_guardians/guidance_procedures/Child_Care_Subsidy_Guidance_Manual.pdf
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/files/division/cc/assistance/parents_guardians/guidance_procedures/Child_Care_Subsidy_Guidance_Manual.pdf
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/files/division/cc/assistance/parents_guardians/guidance_procedures/Child_Care_Subsidy_Guidance_Manual.pdf
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determination and will be available on the department's 

website (www.dss.virginia.gov). 

22VAC40-665-100. Recipient intentional program 

violation and disqualification. 

A. When it is suspected that there has been a deliberate 

misrepresentation of facts by a recipient in order to receive 

benefits, services, or payments, the local department shall 

investigate whether or not an intentional program violation 

was committed. If the local department finds clear and 

convincing evidence that an intentional program violation has 

occurred, the case will be referred for an administrative 

disqualification hearing. The local department may also refer 

the case to the attorney for the Commonwealth for criminal 

prosecution. 

B. Recipients found to have committed an intentional 

program violation either through an administrative 

disqualification hearing or by a court of competent 

jurisdiction shall be ineligible to participate in the Child Care 

Subsidy Program for a period of three months upon the first 

finding, 12 months upon the second finding, and permanently 

upon the third finding. 

C. In cases where a nonfraud overpayment occurred due to 

an inadvertent household error, the parent will not be 

disqualified from participating in the subsidy program as long 

as a repayment schedule is entered into with the local 

department and payments are made according to that 

schedule. 

D. Administrative disqualification hearings shall be held in 

accordance with the following: 

1. Prior to submitting the request for an ADH to the state 

hearing authority, the local department shall provide 

written notification to the individual suspected of an 

intentional program violation that the individual can waive 

his right to an ADH by signing a waiver request and 

returning it to the local department within 10 days from the 

date notification is sent to the individual in order to avoid 

submission of the request for an ADH. 

2. If a signed waiver is received, no ADH is conducted and 

the disqualification period is imposed. 

3. The local department shall request an ADH be scheduled 

by submitting a written request to the state hearing 

authority. The form must include the following 

information: 

a. Identifying information; 

b. Summary of the allegations; 

c. Summary of the evidence; and 

d. Copies of documents supporting the allegations. 

The referral is to be signed and dated by the supervisor or 

local department director. 

4. The hearing officer will schedule a date for the ADH 

and provide written notice to the individual suspected of 

committing an IPV at least 30 days in advance of the date 

the ADH has been scheduled. The notice shall contain at a 

minimum: 

a. The date, time, and place of the hearing; 

b. The charges against the individual; 

c. A summary of the evidence, and how and where the 

evidence can be examined; 

d. A statement that the decision will be based solely on 

information provided by the local department of social 

services if the individual fails to appear at the hearing; 

e. A statement that the individual or representative will, 

upon receipt of the notice, have 10 days from the date of 

the scheduled hearing to present good cause for failure to 

appear in order to receive a new hearing; 

f. A statement that a determination of intentional 

program violation will result in a disqualification period, 

and a statement of which penalty is applicable to the case 

scheduled for a hearing; 

g. A listing of the individual's rights, including the right 

to: 

(1) Examine the contents of his case file and all 

documents and records to be used by the agency at the 

hearing at a reasonable time before the date of the 

hearing as well as during the hearing; 

(2) At his option, present his case himself or with the aid 

of an authorized representative; 

(3) Bring witnesses; 

(4) Establish all pertinent facts and circumstances; 

(5) Advance any arguments without undue interference; 

and 

(6) Question or refute any testimony or evidence, 

including opportunity to confront and cross-examine 

adverse witnesses; and 

h. If there is an individual or organization available that 

provides free legal representation, the notice shall advise 

the affected individual of the availability of the service. 

5. The time and place of the ADH shall be arranged so that 

the hearing is accessible to the individual suspected of 

committing an IPV. The individual may request a 

postponement of the ADH if the request for postponement 

is made at least 10 days in advance of the date of the 

scheduled hearing. The ADH shall not be postponed for 

more than a total of 30 days and the state hearing authority 

may limit the number of postponements. 

http://www.dss.virginia.gov/
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6. The ADH can be held even if the individual fails to 

appear. The individual has 10 days after the date of the 

scheduled ADH to present reasons indicating a good cause 

failure to appear. 

7. Even though the individual is not present, the hearing 

officer shall carefully consider the evidence and determine 

if an IPV was committed, based on clear and convincing 

evidence. 

8. If the recipient is found to have committed an IPV, but a 

hearing officer later determines there was good cause for 

not appearing, the previous decision will no longer be valid 

and a new ADH shall be conducted. The hearing officer 

who conducted the original hearing may conduct the new 

hearing. The good cause decision shall be entered into the 

hearing record by the hearing officer. 

9. The hearing officer shall: 

a. Identify those present for the record; 

b. Advise the individual that he may refuse to answer 

questions during the hearing and that anything said or 

signed by the individual concerning the charges may be 

used against him in a court of law; 

c. Explain the purpose of the ADH, the procedure, and 

how and by whom a decision will be reached and 

communicated; 

d. Consider all relevant issues and determine if an IPV 

was committed, based on clear and convincing evidence; 

e. Request, receive, and make part of the record all 

evidence determined necessary to render a decision; 

f. Regulate the conduct and course of the hearing 

consistent with due process to ensure an orderly hearing; 

and 

g. Advise the local department to obtain a medical 

assessment at the local department's expense if the 

hearing officer considers it necessary. 

10. The individual alleged to have committed an IPV shall 

be given adequate opportunity to: 

a. Examine all documents and records to be used at the 

ADH at a reasonable time prior to the ADH as well as 

during the ADH. The contents of the case file, including 

the application form and documents of verification used 

by the local department to establish the alleged IPV, shall 

be made available; 

b. Present his case himself or with the aid of an 

authorized representative; 

c. Bring witnesses; 

d. Establish all pertinent facts and circumstances; 

e. Question or refute any testimony or evidence, 

including the opportunity to confront and cross-examine 

witnesses; and 

f. Advance arguments without any undue influence. 

11. The hearing officer shall prepare a written report of the 

hearing, which shall include findings, conclusions, 

decisions, and appropriate recommendations. The decision 

shall specify the reasons for the decision, identify the 

supporting evidence, identify pertinent regulations, and 

respond to reasoned arguments made by the individual or 

representative. 

12. If the individual is found to have committed an IPV, 

the written decision shall advise the individual that 

disqualification shall occur. 

Upon receipt of the notice of a decision from the hearing 

officer finding that the individual committed an IPV, the local 

department shall inform the individual of the reason for the 

disqualification and the date the disqualification will take 

effect. 

22VAC40-665-105. Vendor agreement termination and 

vendor disqualification. 

A. A vendor agreement may be terminated for the following: 

1. The vendor's license to operate a child care facility is 

revoked, suspended, or denied. 

2. The vendor's business location changes; ownership of 

the vendor's business is assigned, sold, or otherwise 

transferred; the vendor's business structure changes; the 

vendor's employer identification number changes; or the 

vendor's legal operating status becomes invalid for any 

reason. 

3. A deliberate misrepresentation of facts to the department 

or a local department of social services by a vendor in 

order to receive payments it was not entitled to receive or 

acceptance by the vendor of payments that the vendor 

knows, or should reasonably have known, the vendor was 

not entitled to receive. 

4. The vendor fails to notify the department of a change in 

circumstances that affects payments received by the 

vendor. 

5. The vendor's violation of any term of the vendor 

agreement, of any requirement under this chapter, or of any 

state laws and regulations related to the vendor's license or 

its exemption from licensure, including the requirements 

for background checks of the vendor's employees, 

volunteers, and other individuals who come into contact 

with children. 

B. When it is suspected that there has been a deliberate 

misrepresentation of facts by a vendor in order to receive 

payments it was not entitled to receive, the local department 
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shall investigate. If there is clear and convincing evidence 

that such an act has occurred, the case will be referred to the 

Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Development for 

termination of the vendor agreement and possible 

disqualification from participation in the Child Care Subsidy 

Program. The local department may also refer the case to the 

attorney for the Commonwealth for criminal prosecution. 

C. Vendors will be permanently disqualified from 

participating in the Child Care Subsidy Program upon the 

first criminal conviction of fraud or upon a finding by the 

department or local department that the vendor deliberately 

misrepresented facts in order to receive payments it was not 

entitled to receive.  

D. Vendors found to be repeatedly in violation of their 

vendor agreement or of the requirements of this chapter for 

reasons other than acts by the vendor described in subsection 

B of this section may be disqualified to participate in the 

Child Care Subsidy Program for a minimum period of one 

year.  

E. Individuals affiliated with vendors as owners, partners, 

directors, officers, shareholders, members, and managers 

shall be subject to disqualification under this section. 

22VAC40-665-110. Repayment. 

A. In addition to any criminal punishment, anyone who 

causes the local department to make an overpayment to a 

vendor shall be required to repay the amount of the 

overpayment.  

B. Any overpayment must be refunded to the department by 

the locality. If an overpayment was made as a result of an 

error by the local department, the local department will not 

seek to recoup those funds from the parent or the vendor.  

22VAC40-665-115. Required training for local 

department staff. 

Local department staff with responsibilities for 

implementing the Child Care Subsidy Program shall complete 

guidance training and other training as required by the 

department. 

Part II 

Subsidy Program Vendor Requirements for Family Day 

Homes 

22VAC40-665-120. Definitions; subsidy program 

requirements for family day home vendors. 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Accessible" means capable of being entered, reached, or 

used. 

"Adult" means any individual 18 years of age or older. 

"Age and stage appropriate" means the curriculum, 

environment, equipment, and adult-child interactions are 

suitable for the ages of the children within a group and the 

individual needs of any child. 

"Assistant" means an individual who helps the provider in 

the care, protection, supervision, and guidance to children in 

the home. 

"Attendance" means the actual presence of an enrolled child. 

"Body fluids" means urine, feces, vomit, saliva, blood, nasal 

discharge, eye discharge, and injury or tissue discharge. 

"Caregiver" means an individual who provides care, 

protection, supervision, and guidance to children in the home 

and includes the provider and assistant. 

"Child" means any individual less than 18 years of age. 

"Child experiencing homelessness" means a child who lacks 

a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence and 

includes: 

1. A child who is living in a car, park, public space, 

abandoned building, substandard housing, bus or train 

station, or similar settings; 

2. A child who is sharing the housing of other persons due 

to loss of housing, economic hardship, or a similar reason 

(sometimes referred to as "doubled-up");  

3. A child who is living in a motel, hotel, trailer park, or 

camping grounds due to lack of alternative adequate 

accommodations;  

4. A child who is living in congregate, temporary, 

emergency, or transitional shelters; 

5. A child who is abandoned in a hospital;  

6. A child who is living in a primary nighttime residence 

that is a public or private place not designed for, or 

ordinarily used as, a regular sleeping accommodation for 

human beings; and 

7. A child who is a migratory child as defined in § 1309 of 

the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965, P.L. 

No. 89-10 (20 USC § 6399) who qualifies as homeless 

because he is living in circumstances described in 

subdivisions 1 through 6 of this definition. 

"Child with special needs or disability" means (i) a child 

with a disability as defined in § 602 of the Individuals with 

Disabilities Education Act (20 USC § 1401); (ii) a child who 

is eligible for early intervention services under Part C of the 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (20 USC § 1431 

et seq.); (iii) a child who is less than 13 years of age and who 

is eligible for services under § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act 

of 1973 (29 USC § 794); and (iv) a child with a documented 

developmental disability, intellectual disability, emotional 

disturbance, sensory or motor impairment, or significant 
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chronic illness who requires special health surveillance or 

specialized programs, interventions, technologies, or 

facilities. 

"Cleaned" means treated in such a way as to remove dirt and 

debris by scrubbing and washing with soap and water or 

detergent solution and rinsing with water or the use of an 

abrasive cleaner on inanimate surfaces. 

"Communicable disease" means a disease caused by a 

microorganism (bacterium, virus, fungus, or parasite) that can 

be transmitted from person to person via an infected body 

fluid or respiratory spray, with or without an intermediary 

agent (such as a louse or mosquito) or environmental object 

(such as a table surface).  Some communicable diseases are 

reportable to the local health authority. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services. 

"Department representative" means an employee or designee 

of the Virginia Department of Social Services, acting as the 

authorized agent of the Commissioner of the Virginia 

Department of Social Services. 

"Evacuation" means movement of occupants out of the 

building to a safe area near the building. 

"Evening care" means care provided after 7 p.m. but not 

through the night. 

"Family day home" means a child day program offered in 

the residence of the provider or the home of any of the 

children in care for one through 12 children less than 13 years 

of age, exclusive of the provider's own children and any 

children who reside in the home, when at least one child 

receives care for compensation. 

"Inaccessible" means not capable of being entered, reached, 

or used. 

"Infant" means a child from birth to 16 months of age.  

"Lockdown" means a situation where children are isolated 

from a security threat, and access within and to the home is 

restricted. 

"Overnight care" means care provided after 7 p.m. and 

through the night. 

"Over-the-counter or nonprescription medication" means 

medication that can be purchased without a written 

prescription. This includes herbal remedies and vitamin and 

mineral supplements.  

"Parent" means a parent by blood, marriage, or adoption and 

also means a legal guardian or other person standing in loco 

parentis.  

"Preschool" means a child from two years up to the age of 

eligibility to attend public school, age five years by 

September 30 of that same year. 

"Provider" means a person, entity, or organization providing 

child care services.  

"Residence" means the principal legal dwelling that is 

occupied for living purposes by the provider or a child in care 

and contains the facilities necessary for sleeping, eating, 

cooking, and family living. 

"Sanitized" means treated in such a way as to remove 

bacteria and viruses from inanimate surfaces through first 

cleaning and secondly using a solution of one tablespoon of 

bleach mixed with one gallon of water and prepared fresh 

daily or using a sanitizing solution approved by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency. The surface of the item is 

sprayed or dipped into the sanitizing solution and then 

allowed to air dry for a minimum of two minutes or according 

to the sanitizing solution instructions. 

"School age" means eligible to attend public school, age five 

years or older by September 30 of that same year. 

"Serious injury" means a wound or other specific damage to 

the body, such as unconsciousness; broken bones; dislocation; 

a deep cut requiring stitches; poisoning; concussion; or a 

foreign object lodged in eye, nose, ear, or other body orifice. 

"Shaken baby syndrome" or "abusive head trauma" means a 

traumatic injury that has been inflicted upon the brain of an 

infant or young child. The injury can occur during violent 

shaking causing the child's head to whip back and forth, the 

brain to move about, and blood vessels in the skull to stretch 

and tear.  

"Shelter-in-place" means movement of occupants of the 

building to designated protected spaces within the building. 

"Toddler" means a child from 16 months of age up to 24 

months of age. 

"Vendor" means a legally operating child care provider who 

is approved by the department to participate in the Child Care 

Subsidy Program. Multiple facilities or sites operated by the 

same person, entity, or organization are considered separate 

vendors. 

"Vendor agreement" means the agreement between the 

department and a vendor that must be entered into and signed 

before child care payments paid to the vendor under the Child 

Care Subsidy Program can be authorized. 

"Volunteer" means a person who works at the family day 

home and: 

1. Is not paid for services provided in the family day home; 

2. Is not counted in the caregiver-to-children ratios; and 

3. Is in sight and sound supervision of a caregiver when 

working with a child. 
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Any unpaid person not meeting this definition shall be 

considered a "caregiver" and shall meet caregiver 

requirements. 

22VAC40-665-130. (Reserved.) 

22VAC40-665-140. Purpose and applicability. 

The standards in this part apply to family day homes that 

participate in the Child Care Subsidy Program as a vendor. 

The purpose of these standards is to protect children who are 

less than the age of 13 years, less than the age of 18 years and 

physically or mentally unable to care for themselves, or under 

court supervision, and who are separated from their parents 

during part of the day by: 

1. Ensuring that the activities, services, and facilities of 

family day homes participating in the Child Care Subsidy 

Program are conducive to the well-being of children; and 

2. Reducing risks to the health and safety of such children 

in the child care environment.  

22VAC40-665-150. Operational responsibilities. 

A. The vendor shall ensure compliance with the standards in 

this part, the terms of the vendor agreement, and all relevant 

federal, state, or local laws and regulations. 

B. The vendor shall ensure compliance with any of its own 

policies that have been disclosed to the parents of an enrolled 

child. 

C. The vendor shall ensure that the applicant, household 

member, and any caregiver who is or will be involved in the 

day-to-day operations of the family day home or is or will be 

alone with, in control of, or supervising one or more of the 

children shall undergo a background check in accordance 

with § 63.2-1725 of the Code of Virginia and shall not have 

an offense as defined in § 63.2-1719 of the Code of Virginia.  

D. The vendor shall ensure that the family day home does 

not exceed the capacity of children cared for as allowed by 

law or regulation. 

E. When at least one child receives care for compensation, 

all children who are in care and supervision count in the 

capacity of children being cared for. When children 13 years 

or older are enrolled in the program and receive supervision 

in the program, they shall be counted in the number of 

children receiving care and the vendor shall comply with the 

standards in this part for these children. 

F. The vendor shall inform all caregivers of children's 

allergies, sensitivities, and dietary restrictions. 

G. The vendor shall maintain, in a way that is accessible to 

all caregivers, a current written list of all children's allergies, 

sensitivities, and dietary restrictions. This list shall be dated 

and kept confidential. 

22VAC40-665-160. General recordkeeping; reports. 

A. Caregiver records and children's information shall be 

kept confidential. 

B. The vendor shall maintain a written hard copy record of 

daily attendance that documents the arrival and departure of 

each child in care as it occurs. 

C. Children's records shall be made available to a child's 

parent upon request, unless otherwise ordered by the court. 

D. Records, reports, and information required by this part 

may be kept as hard copy or electronically, except attendance 

records must be maintained pursuant to subsection B of this 

section, and shall be maintained in the home and made 

accessible to department's representative for five years after 

termination of services or separation from employment unless 

specified otherwise. 

22VAC40-665-170. Children's records. 

A. Vendors shall maintain, and keep at the family day home, 

written or electronic information for each enrolled child, 

which shall be made available to the department's 

representative upon request. 

B. The child's information shall include the following: 

1. Child's full name, nickname (if any), sex, address, and 

birthdate; 

2. Proof of the child's identity; 

3. Name, home address, and telephone number for each 

parent who has custody; 

4. Name, address, and telephone number for each 

custodial parent's place of employment or school 

attendance, if applicable; 

5. Name, address, and telephone number of at least one 

person designated by the parent to contact in case of an 

emergency if the parent cannot be reached; 

6. If applicable, information on allergies, including food 

allergies, intolerances to food, medication, or other 

substances, and actions to be taken in an emergency 

situation; information on other physical problems; 

pertinent developmental information; and any special 

accommodations needed; 

7. Names of persons other than the custodial parent who 

are authorized to pick up the child; 

8. Immunization records for the child received on or before 

the child's first day of attendance, except that children 

experiencing homelessness may provide such records 

within 90 days of enrollment; 

9. Written authorization for emergency medical care 

should an emergency occur and the parent cannot be 

located immediately unless the parent presents a written 
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objection for the provision of medical treatment on 

religious or other grounds; 

10. Written authorization to administer prescription or 

nonprescription medications if the vendor agrees to 

administer medication; 

11. Special care instructions, including recommendations 

for the care and activities of a child with special needs, 

exception to infant being fed on demand, etc.; 

12. A written care plan for each child with a diagnosed 

food allergy, to include instructions from a physician 

regarding the food to which the child is allergic and the 

steps to be taken in the event of a suspected or confirmed 

allergic reaction; 

13. Record of any accidents or injuries sustained by the 

child while in care; 

14. Permission to transport child if the vendor provides 

transportation; 

15. Permission for field trips; 

16. Permission for swimming or wading activities to 

include a parent's statement of the child's swimming 

ability, if applicable;  

17. A written statement that the vendor will notify the 

parent when the child becomes ill and that the parent will 

arrange to have the child picked up as soon as possible if 

so requested by the vendor; 

18. Any written agreements between the parent and the 

vendor; and 

19. Documentation of the enrollment of a child 

experiencing homelessness enrolled under provisions of 

22VAC40-665-210 A 2.  

22VAC40-665-180. Caregiver records. 

The following records shall be kept for each caregiver: 

1. Name, address, verification of age, and date of 

employment or volunteering. 

2. Documentation that background checks were completed, 

including: 

a. The department's letter indicating eligibility to be hired 

provided by the department or the department's 

contractor indicating: 

(1) Satisfactory results of the Virginia State Police name 

search for criminal history; and 

(2) Satisfactory results of the Child Protective Services 

Central Registry check. 

b. The individual's sworn statement or affirmation as to 

whether the individual has ever been: 

(1) The subject of a founded complaint of child abuse or 

neglect within or outside the Commonwealth; or 

(2) Convicted of a crime or is the subject of any pending 

criminal charges with the Commonwealth or any 

equivalent offense outside the Commonwealth. 

c. The vendor shall have such documentation for any 

individual who begins employment or service after the 

vendor agreement has been signed in the file within 30 

days of the individual's beginning date of employment or 

service. However, the vendor shall not be deemed to be 

in violation of this section if documentation is maintained 

that the checks were submitted within the first seven days 

of employment or service and the results are not 

available due to an administrative delay beyond the 

vendor's control. 

d. Documentation of subsequent background checks 

conducted every three years. 

3. Tuberculosis screening results. 

4. Certifications for first aid, cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation, and other certifications as required by the 

responsibilities held by the caregiver. 

5. Documentation that training required by 22VAC40-665-

230 has been completed that includes the name and topic 

of the training, the date completed, the total hours of the 

session, and the names of the organization that sponsored 

the training and of the trainer. 

6. Date of separation from employment where applicable. 

7. Documentation of the health requirements under 

22VAC40-665-190. 

22VAC40-665-190. Health requirements for caregivers. 

A. Each caregiver must be evaluated by a health 

professional and be issued a statement that the individual is 

determined to be free of communicable tuberculosis (TB). 

Such statement shall be submitted no later than 21 days after 

employment or volunteering and shall have been completed 

within 12 months prior to or 21 days after employment or 

volunteering. 

B. Caregivers shall undergo TB screenings at least every 

two years from the date of the initial screening, or more 

frequently if recommended by a physician. 

C. The vendor or the department's representative may 

require a report of examination by a licensed physician or 

mental health professional when there are indications that a 

caregiver's physical or mental health may endanger the 

health, safety, or well-being of children in care.  

D. A caregiver who is determined by a licensed physician or 

mental health professional to show an indication of a physical 

or mental condition that may endanger the health, safety, or 

well-being of children in care or that would prevent the 
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performance of duties shall be removed immediately from 

contact with children and food served to children until the 

condition is cleared as evidenced by a signed statement from 

the physician or mental health professional.  

22VAC40-665-200. Reports. 

A. The vendor shall inform the department's inspector as 

soon as practicable, but not to exceed one business day, of the 

following: 

1. The death of a child while under the vendor's 

supervision; 

2. A missing child when local authorities have been 

contacted for help; and 

3. The suspension or termination of all child care services 

for more than 24 hours as a result of an emergency 

situation and any plans to resume child care. 

B. The vendor shall inform the department's representative 

as soon as practicable, but no more than two business days, of 

any serious injury to a child while under the vendor's 

supervision. 

C. Any suspected incident of child abuse or neglect shall be 

reported in accordance with § 63.2-1509 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

22VAC40-665-210. Immunizations for children. 

A. Before a child may attend the family day home, the 

vendor shall obtain documentation that the child has been 

immunized according to the requirements of subsection A of 

§ 32.1-46 of the Code of Virginia and applicable State Board 

of Health regulations.  

1. The vendor may allow a child to attend contingent upon 

a conditional enrollment. Documentation related to the 

child's conditional enrollment shall be maintained in the 

child's record. A conditional enrollment means the 

enrollment of a child for a period of 90 days contingent 

upon the child having received at least one dose of each of 

the required vaccines and the child possessing a plan from 

a physician or local health department for completing his 

immunization requirements within the ensuing 90 calendar 

days.  If the child requires more than two doses of the 

hepatitis B vaccine, the conditional enrollment period, for 

hepatitis B vaccine only, shall be 180 calendar days. 

2. If a child is experiencing homelessness and does not 

have documentation of the required immunizations, the 

vendor may allow the child to attend during a grace period 

of no more than 90 days to allow the parent or guardian 

time to obtain documentation of required immunizations. 

B. The vendor shall obtain documentation of additional 

immunizations once every six months for children less than 

the age of two years.  

C. Pursuant to subsection C of § 22.1-271.2 of the Code of 

Virginia and 12VAC5-110-110, documentation of 

immunizations is not required for any child whose: 

1. Parent submits an affidavit to the vendor on the current 

form approved by the Virginia Department of Health 

stating that the administration of immunizing agents 

conflicts with the parent's or child's religious tenets or 

practices; or  

2. Physician or a local health department states on a 

Department of Health-approved form that one or more of 

the required immunizations may be detrimental to the 

child's health, indicating the specific nature and probable 

duration of the medical condition or circumstance that 

contraindicates immunization. 

22VAC40-665-220. General qualifications. 

A. The vendor and any caregivers who are left alone with 

children shall be capable of communicating effectively both 

orally and in writing as applicable to the job responsibility 

and be capable of communicating with emergency personnel. 

B. Caregivers must be at least 16 years of age; however no 

caregiver less than the age of 18 years may be alone with 

children or administer medication. Caregivers less than the 

age of 18 years shall be under sight and sound supervision of 

an adult caregiver.  

22VAC40-665-230. Caregiver training and development. 

A. Prior to approval as a subsidy vendor, the perspective 

vendor shall complete Virginia Preservice Training for Child 

Care Staff sponsored by the Department of Social Services, 

which shall include the following topics and training 

modules: 

1. Building and physical premises safety; 

2. Emergency preparedness and response planning; 

3. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and 

safe sleep practices; 

4. Administration of medication, consistent with standards 

of parental consent; 

5. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

trauma (AHT); 

6. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 

and allergic reactions; 

7. Recognizing child abuse and neglect and reporting 

responsibilities; 

8. Preventing the spread of disease, including 

immunization requirements; 

9. Handling and storage of hazardous materials and 

appropriate disposal of diapers and other items 

contaminated by body fluids; 
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10. Transportation; 

11. Foundations of child development; 

12. Inclusion: Exploring the meaning and the mindset; 

13. Oral health; and 

14. Introduction to the Child Care Subsidy Program.  

B. Within the first 90 days of employment or service all 

caregivers shall complete Virginia Preservice Training for 

Child Care Staff sponsored by the Department of Social 

Services, which shall include training on the following topics 

and training modules: 

1. Building and physical premises safety; 

2. Emergency preparedness and response planning; 

3. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and 

safe sleep practices; 

4. Administration of medication, consistent with standards 

of parental consent; 

5. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

trauma (AHT); 

6. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 

and allergic reactions; 

7. Recognizing child abuse and neglect and reporting 

responsibilities; 

8. Preventing the spread of disease, including 

immunization requirements; 

9. Handling and storage of hazardous materials and 

appropriate disposal of diapers and other items 

contaminated by body fluids;  

10. Transportation; 

11. Foundations of child development; 

12. Inclusion: Exploring the meaning and the mindset; 

13. Oral health; and 

14. Introduction to the Child Care Subsidy Program.  

C. All caregivers hired prior to (insert the effective date of 

this regulation) shall complete Virginia Preservice Training 

for Child Care Staff sponsored by the Department of Social 

Services, to include all of the topics described in subsection B 

of this section, within (insert date 90 days from the effective 

date of this regulation). This training may count for staff 

annual training requirements in subsection H of this section. 

D. Orientation training for caregivers shall be completed on 

the following specific topics prior to the caregiver working 

alone with children and within seven days of the date of 

employment or the date of subsidy vendor approval: 

1. Playground safety procedures; 

2. Responsibilities for reporting suspected child abuse or 

neglect; 

3. Confidentiality; 

4. Supervision of children, including arrival and dismissal 

procedures; 

5. Procedures for action in the case of lost or missing 

children, ill or injured children, medical and general 

emergencies; 

6. Medication administration procedures, if applicable; 

7. Emergency preparedness plan as required in 22VAC40-

665-400 B;  

8. Procedures for response to natural and man-made 

disasters; 

9. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome or abusive head 

trauma including coping with crying babies and fussy or 

distraught children; 

10. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of 

safe sleeping practices;  

11. Caregivers who work with children who have food 

allergies shall receive training in preventing exposure to 

foods to which the child is allergic, preventing cross 

contamination and recognizing and responding to any 

allergic reactions; and 

12. Transportation. 

E. All caregivers shall have within 30 days of employment 

or 90 days from subsidy vendor approval:  

1. Current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation 

(CPR) appropriate to the age of children in care. The 

training shall include an in-person competency 

demonstration; and 

2. Current certification in first aid. However, a caregiver 

who is a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse with a 

current license from the Board of Nursing shall not be 

required to obtain first aid certification. 

During the 30-day or 90-day period, there must always be at 

least one caregiver with current cardiopulmonary and first aid 

training present during operating hours of the family day 

home.  

F. Caregivers employed prior to (insert the effective date of 

this regulation) must complete CPR and first aid training as 

required by this section within (insert a date 90 days from the 

effective date of this regulation). During this 90-day period, 

there must always be at least one caregiver with current 

cardiopulmonary and first aid training present during 

operating hours of the family day home.  

G. CPR and first aid training may count toward the annual 

training hours required in subsection H of this section if 
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documentation for training as required in subdivision 5 of 

22VAC40-665-180 is maintained. 

H. Caregivers who work directly with children shall, in 

addition to preservice and orientation training required in 

subsections A through D of this section, annually attend at 

least 16 hours of training, including the department's health 

and safety update course. This training shall be related to 

child safety, child development, health and safety in the 

family day home environment, and any required department 

sponsored training.  

I. To safely perform medication administration practices, 

whenever a vendor agrees to administer prescribed 

medications, the (i) administration shall be performed by a 

caregiver who has satisfactorily completed a training program 

for this purpose developed by the Board of Nursing and 

taught by a registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, nurse 

practitioner, physician assistant, doctor of medicine or 

osteopathic medicine, or pharmacist or (ii) administration 

shall be performed by a caregiver who is licensed by the 

Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications. 

The vendor may determine by policy what medications, if 

any, will be administered at its family day home, including 

prescription medications or over-the-counter or 

nonprescription medications.  

J. Caregivers required to have the training required in 

subsection I of this section shall be retrained at three-year 

intervals.  

22VAC40-665-240. Building or home maintenance. 

A. Areas and equipment of the family day home, inside and 

outside, shall be maintained in a clean, safe, and operable 

condition. Unsafe conditions shall include splintered, cracked, 

or otherwise deteriorating wood; chipped or peeling paint; 

visible cracks, bending or warping, rusting, or breakage of 

any equipment; head entrapment hazards; protruding nails, 

bolts, or other components that entangle clothing or skin; the 

presence of poisonous plants; tripping hazards; and unstable 

heavy equipment, furniture, or other items that a child could 

pull down on himself.  

B. Inside areas occupied by children shall be maintained no 

lower than 65°F and shall not exceed 80°F unless fans or 

other cooling systems are in use. 

C. In areas used by children of preschool age or younger, the 

following shall apply: 

1. Fans, when used shall be out of reach of children, and 

cords shall be secured so as not to create a hazard. 

2. Electrical outlets shall have protective covers that are of 

a size that cannot be swallowed by children. 

D. Sharp kitchen utensils and other sharp objects shall be 

inaccessible to children unless being used by the caregiver or 

with children under close supervision. 

E. The home shall have an in-service, nonpay telephone. 

F. No equipment, materials, or furnishings shall be used if 

recalled or identified by the U.S. Consumer Product Safety 

Commission as being hazardous. 

G. Radiators, oil and wood burning stoves, floor furnaces, 

fireplaces, portable electric heaters, and similar heating 

devices located in areas accessible to children shall have 

barriers or screens and be located at least three feet from 

combustible materials. 

H. Unvented fuel burning heaters, such as portable oil-

burning (kerosene) heaters; portable, unvented liquid or gas 

fueled heaters; and unvented fireplaces, shall not be used 

when children are in care.  

I. Wood burning stoves and fireplaces and associated 

chimneys, if used, shall be inspected annually by a 

knowledgeable inspector to verify that the devices are 

properly installed, maintained, and cleaned as needed. 

Documentation of the inspection and cleaning shall be 

maintained by the vendor. 

J. All flammable and combustible materials, including 

matches, lighters, lighter fluid, kerosene, turpentine, oil and 

grease products, aerosol cans, and alcohol, shall be stored in 

an area inaccessible to children.  

K. Stairs shall not be accessible to children less than two 

years of age and children older than two years of age who are 

not developmentally ready to climb or descend stairs without 

supervision. 

L. Stairs with three or more risers that do not have protective 

barriers or guardrails on each side shall not be accessible to 

children less than the age of two years. 

M. Decks, porches, lofts, or balconies that do not have 

protective barriers or guardrails shall not be accessible to 

children.  

N. Windows and doors used for ventilation shall be securely 

screened. 

O. Machinery in operation, such as lawnmowers and power 

tools shall be inaccessible to the children in care.  

22VAC40-665-250. Hazardous substances and other 

harmful agents. 

A. Potentially poisonous substances, materials, and supplies 

such as, but not limited to, cleaning agents, disinfectants, 

deodorizers, plant care chemicals, pesticides, and petroleum 

distillates shall be stored away from food in areas inaccessible 

to children. 

B. Cleaning and sanitizing materials shall not be located 

above food, food equipment, utensils or single-service articles 

and stored separately from food. 
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C. If hazardous substances are not kept in original 

containers, the substitute container shall clearly indicate their 

contents. 

D. The vendor shall ensure that:  

1. No person smokes or uses an electronic smoking device:  

a. Indoors while children are in care,  

b. In a vehicle when children are transported, or  

c. Outdoors in an area occupied by children. 

2. No caregiver is under the effects of medication that 

impairs functioning, alcohol, or illegal drugs. 

22VAC40-665-260. Bathroom area and furnishings. 

A. Each bathroom area provided for children shall:  

1. Be within a contained area, readily available, and within 

the home used by the children; 

2. Have toilets that are flushable; 

3. Have sinks located near the toilets and that are supplied 

with running warm water that does not exceed 120°F; and 

4. Be equipped with soap, toilet paper, and disposable 

towels or an air dryer within reach of the children. 

B. There shall be a toilet chair or an adult-sized toilet with a 

platform or steps and adapter seat available to a child being 

toilet trained.  

C. School age children of the opposite sex shall not use the 

same bathroom at the same time.  

22VAC40-665-270. Play areas. 

A. The vendor shall ensure that all areas of the premises 

accessible to children are free of obvious injury hazards. 

B. A nonclimbable barrier at least four feet high, such as a 

fence or impenetrable hedge, shall surround outdoor play 

areas located within 30 feet of hazards including lakes, ponds, 

railroad tracks, and streets with speed limits in excess of 25 

miles per hour or with heavy traffic.  

C. Stationary outdoor playground equipment shall not be 

installed over concrete, asphalt, or any other hard surface. 

D. Trampolines shall not be used during the hours children 

are in care.  

22VAC40-665-280. Supervision and ratio requirements. 

A. A caregiver shall be physically present on site and 

provide direct care and supervision of each child at all times. 

Direct care and supervision of each child includes: 

1. Awareness of and responsibility for each child in care, 

including being near enough to intervene if needed; and 

2. Monitoring of each sleeping infant in one of the 

following ways: 

a. By placing each infant for sleep in a location where the 

infant is within sight and hearing of a caregiver; 

b. By in-person observation of each sleeping infant at 

least once every 15 minutes; or 

c. By using a baby monitor. 

B. Caregivers shall actively supervise each child during 

outdoor play to minimize the risk of injury to a child. 

C. A caregiver may allow only school age children to play 

outdoors while the caregiver is indoors if the caregiver can 

hear the children playing outdoors. 

D. No child less than five years of age or a child older than 

five years who lacks the motor skills and strength to avoid 

accidental drowning, scalding, or falling while bathing shall 

be left unattended while in the bathtub. 

E. An additional caregiver will be needed to supervise the 

number of children at a given time when, using the following 

point system, 16 points is reached:  

1. Children from birth through 15 months of age count as 

four points each;  

2. Children from 16 months through 23 months of age 

count as three points each;  

3. Children from two years through four years of age count 

as two points each;  

4. Children from five years through nine years of age count 

as one point each; and  

5. Children who are 10 years of age and older count as zero 

points.  

F. A vendor's own children and resident children under eight 

years of age shall count in point calculations. 

G. In accordance with § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia, 

no family day home shall care for more than four children 

less than the age of two years, including the provider's own 

children and any children who reside in the home, unless the 

family day home is licensed or voluntarily registered. 

22VAC40-665-290. Supervision near water. 

A. Access to the water in aboveground swimming pools 

shall be prevented by locking and securing the ladder in place 

or storing the ladder in a place inaccessible to children. 

B. A nonclimbable barrier at least four feet high such as, but 

not limited to, a fence or impenetrable hedge shall surround 

outdoor play areas located within 30 feet of drowning hazards 

such as, but not limited to, inground swimming or wading 

pools, ponds, or fountains not enclosed by safety fences.  
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C. Portable wading pools without integral filter systems 

shall: 

1. Be emptied after use by each group of children, rinsed, 

and filled with clean water, or more frequently as 

necessary; and 

2. When not in use during the vendor's hours of operation, 

be emptied, sanitized, and stored in a position to keep them 

clean and dry. 

D. Portable wading pools shall not be used by children who 

are not toilet trained.  

E. Hot tubs, spas, and whirlpools shall: 

1. Not be used by children in care, and 

2. Covered with safety covers while children are in care. 

F. The level of supervision by caregivers required and the 

point system as outlined in 22VAC40-665-280 shall be 

maintained while the children are participating in swimming 

or wading activities. 

G. Caregivers shall have a system for accounting for all 

children in the water.  

H. Outdoor swimming activities shall occur only during 

daylight hours. 

I. When one or more children are in water that is more than 

two feet deep in a pool, lake, or other swimming area on or 

off the premises of the family day home: 

1. A minimum of least two caregivers shall be present and 

able to supervise the children; and 

2. An individual currently certified in basic water rescue, 

community water safety, water safety instruction, or 

lifeguarding shall be on duty supervising the children 

participating in swimming or wading activities at all times. 

22VAC40-665-300. Daily activities. 

A. Infants and toddlers shall be provided with opportunities 

to: 

1. Interact with caregivers and other children in the home 

in order to stimulate language development; 

2. Play with a wide variety of safe, age-appropriate toys; 

3. Receive individual attention from caregivers including 

holding, cuddling, talking, and reading; and 

4. Reach, grasp, pull up, creep, crawl, and walk to develop 

motor skills. 

B. Infants and toddlers shall spend no more than 30 

continuous minutes during waking hours, with the exception 

of mealtimes, confined in a crib, play pen, high chair, or other 

confining piece of equipment. The intervening time period 

between such confinements shall be at least one hour. 

C. Infants shall be placed on their backs when sleeping or 

napping unless otherwise ordered by a written statement 

signed by the child's physician. 

D. An infant, toddler, or preschool child who falls asleep in 

a play space other than his own crib, cot, mat, or bed shall be 

moved promptly to his designated sleeping space if the safety 

or comfort of the infant, toddler, or preschool child is in 

question. 

E. School age children shall be allowed to nap if needed, but 

not forced to do so. 

F. Infants shall be protected from older children.   

22VAC40-665-310. Behavioral guidance. 

A. Behavioral guidance shall be constructive in nature, age 

and stage appropriate, and intended to redirect children to 

appropriate behavior and resolve conflicts. 

B. In order to promote the child's physical, intellectual, 

emotional, and social well-being and growth, caregivers shall 

model desired, appropriate behavior and interact with the 

child and one another to provide needed help, comfort, and 

support and: 

1. Respect personal privacy; 

2. Respect differences in cultural, ethnic, and family 

background; 

3. Encourage decision-making abilities; 

4. Promote ways of getting along; 

5. Encourage independence and self-direction; and 

6. Use consistency in applying expectations. 

C. If time-out is used as a discipline technique: 

1. It shall be used sparingly and shall not exceed one 

minute for each year of the child's age; 

2. It shall not be used with infants or toddlers; 

3. The child shall be in a safe, lighted, well-ventilated 

place and within sight and sound of a caregiver; and 

4. The child shall not be left alone inside or outside the 

home while separated from the group.  

22VAC40-665-320. Forbidden actions. 

The following actions or threats thereof are forbidden: 

1. Physical punishment, including striking a child, roughly 

handling or shaking a child, restricting movement through 

binding or tying, forcing a child to assume an 

uncomfortable position, or using exercise as a punishment. 

2. Enclosure in a small, confined space or any space that 

the child cannot freely exit himself; however this does not 

apply to the use of equipment such as cribs, play yards, 
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high chairs, and safety gates when used for their intended 

purpose with children preschool age or younger. 

3. Punishment by another child; 

4. Withholding or forcing of food, water, or rest; 

5. Verbal remarks that are demeaning to the child; 

6. Punishment for toileting accidents; and 

7. Punishment by applying unpleasant or harmful 

substances.  

22VAC40-665-330. Parental involvement and 

notifications. 

A. The caregiver shall notify the parent immediately if a 

child is lost, requires emergency medical treatment, sustains a 

serious injury, or dies.  

B. The caregiver shall notify the parent by the end of the day 

of any known minor injuries.  

C. The caregiver shall maintain a written record of children's 

serious and minor injuries in which entries are made the day 

of occurrence. The record shall include the following:  

1. Date and time of injury;  

2. Name of injured child;  

3. Type and circumstance of the injury;  

4. Caregiver present and treatment;  

5. Date and time when parents were notified; and 

6. Caregiver and parent signatures. 

D. Parents shall be notified immediately of any confirmed or 

suspected allergic reactions and the ingestion of the 

prohibited food even if a reaction did not occur. 

E. Parents shall be informed of the vendor's emergency 

preparedness plan.  

F. Caregivers shall promptly inform parents when persistent 

behavioral problems are observed and identified. 

G. Caregivers shall provide information weekly to parents 

about the child's health, development, behavior, adjustment, 

or needs. 

H. Parents shall be informed of the reason for a child's 

termination from care. 

I. A custodial parent shall be admitted to any child day 

program. Such right of admission shall apply only while the 

child is in the care of the vendor, pursuant to § 63.2-1813 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

J. When children at the family day home have been exposed 

to a communicable disease listed in the Department of 

Health's current communicable disease chart, the parents shall 

be notified within 24 hours or the next business day of the 

vendor's having been informed unless forbidden by law. 

Children's exposure to life threatening diseases shall be 

reported to parents immediately.   

22VAC40-665-340. Furnishings, equipment, and 

materials. 

A. Furnishings, materials, and equipment used for child care 

shall be age and stage appropriate for the children. 

B. Children shall be protected from materials that could be 

swallowed or present a choking hazard. Toys or objects less 

than 1-1/4 inches in diameter and less than two inches in 

length shall be kept out of reach of children less than three 

years of age. 

C. If combs, toothbrushes, or other personal articles are 

used, they shall be individually assigned. 

D. Disposable products shall be used once and discarded. 

E. If play yards, portable cribs, or mesh-sided cribs are used 

for sleeping or napping, they shall meet the requirements of 

subsections H through L of this section. 

F. Cribs shall be provided for children from birth through 12 

months of age and for children 12 months of age or older who 

are not developmentally ready to sleep on a cot, rest mat, or 

bed during the designated rest periods and shall not be 

occupied by more than one child at a time. 

G. Cots, rest mats, or beds shall be provided for children 12 

months of age or older and shall not be occupied by more 

than one child at a time.  

H. Full-size cribs shall:  

1. Meet the current Consumer Product Safety Commission 

Standards (16 CFR Parts 1219, 1220 and 1500). 

2. Have mattresses that fit snugly next to the crib so that no 

more than two fingers can be inserted between the mattress 

and the crib. 

I. Pillows and filled comforters shall not be used by children 

less than two years of age while sleeping or resting, including 

quilts, sheepskins, or stuffed toys. 

J. Cribs shall be placed where objects outside the crib such 

as electrical cords or cords from blinds, curtains, etc. are not 

within reach of infants or toddlers. 

K. Use of bumper pads shall be prohibited. 

L. There shall be at least 12 inches of space between 

occupied cribs, cots, beds, and rest mats.  

M. Toys or objects hung over an infant in a crib and crib 

gyms that are strung across the crib may not be used for 

infants older than five months of age or infants who are able 

to push up on their hands and knees. 

N. Crib sides shall always be up and the fastenings secured 

when a child is in the crib. 
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O. Use of double-deck cribs is prohibited.  

22VAC40-665-350. Bedding and linens for use while 

sleeping or resting. 

A. Linens shall be assigned for individual use. 

B. Pillows when used shall be assigned for individual use 

and covered with pillow cases. 

C. Mattresses when used shall be covered with a waterproof 

material that can be cleaned and sanitized.  

22VAC40-665-360. Preventing the spread of disease. 

A. A child shall not be allowed to attend the family day 

home for the day if he has:  

1. A temperature over 101°F;  

2. Recurrent vomiting or diarrhea; or 

3. Symptoms of a communicable disease. 

B. If all children in care are from a single family unit, the 

caregiver may choose not to exclude a child who is ill.  

C. If a child needs to be excluded according to subsection A 

of this section, the following shall apply:  

1. Arrangements shall be made for the child to leave the 

family day home as soon as possible after the signs or 

symptoms are observed; and  

2. The child shall remain in a designated quiet area until 

leaving the family day home.  

D. When any surface has been contaminated with body 

fluids, it shall be cleaned and sanitized.  

22VAC40-665-370. Hand washing and toileting 

procedures. 

A. When hand washing, the following shall apply:  

1. Children's hands shall be washed with soap and running 

water or disposable wipes before and after eating meals or 

snacks.  

2. Children's hands shall be washed with soap and running 

water after toileting and any contact with blood, feces, or 

urine.  

3. Caregivers shall wash their hands with soap and running 

water before and after helping a child use the toilet or 

changing a diaper, after the caregiver uses the toilet, after 

any contact with body fluids, before feeding or helping 

children with feeding, and before preparing or serving food 

or beverages.  

4. If running water is not available, a germicidal cleansing 

agent administered per manufacturer's instruction may be 

used.  

B. A child shall not be left unattended on a changing table 

during diapering.  

C. When a child's clothing or diaper becomes wet or soiled, 

the child shall be cleaned and changed immediately upon 

discovery. 

D. During each diaper change or after toileting accidents, 

the child's genital area shall be thoroughly cleaned with a 

moist disposable wipe or a moist, clean individually assigned 

cloth if the child is allergic to disposable wipes. 

E. The diapering surface shall be: 

1. Separate from the kitchen, food preparation areas, or 

surfaces used for children's activities; 

2. Nonabsorbent and washable; and 

3. Cleaned and sanitized after each use. 

F. Soiled disposable diapers and wipes shall be disposed of 

in a leak-proof or plastic-lined storage system that is either 

foot operated or used in such a way that neither the 

caregiver's hand nor the soiled diaper or wipe touches the 

exterior surface of the storage system during disposal. 

G. When cloth diapers are used, a separate leak-proof 

storage system as specified in subsection F of this section 

shall be used. 

H. Children five years of age and older shall be permitted 

privacy when toileting. 

I. Caregivers shall respond promptly to a child's request for 

toileting assistance. 

J. Toilet chairs, when used, shall be emptied promptly, 

cleaned, and sanitized after each use.  

22VAC40-665-380. General requirements for medication 

administration. 

A. Prescription and nonprescription medications shall be 

given to a child: 

1. According to the home's written medication policies, 

and 

2. Only with written authorization from the parent. 

B. The vendor may administer prescription medication that 

would normally be administered by a parent or guardian to a 

child provided:  

1. The medication is administered by a caregiver who 

meets the requirements of 22VAC40-665-230 I and J; 

2. The caregiver administers only those drugs that were 

dispensed from a pharmacy and maintained in the original, 

labeled container; and 

3. The caregiver administers drugs only to the child 

identified on the prescription label in accordance with the 

prescriber's instructions pertaining to dosage, frequency, 

and manner of administration. 
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C. The vendor may administer nonprescription medication 

provided the medication is: 

1. Administered by a caregiver 18 years of age or older; 

2. Labeled with the child's name; 

3. In the original container with the manufacturer's 

direction label attached; and 

4. Given only at the dose, duration, and method of 

administration specified on the manufacturer's label for the 

age or weight of the child needing the medication. 

D. Nonprescription medication shall not be used beyond the 

expiration date of the product.  

E. Medications for children in care shall be stored separately 

from medications for household members and caregivers. 

F. When needed, medication shall be refrigerated. 

G. When medication is stored in a refrigerator used for food, 

the medications shall be stored together in a container or in a 

clearly defined area away from food. 

H. Medication, except for those prescriptions designated 

otherwise by written physician's order, including refrigerated 

medication and medications for caregivers and household 

members, shall be kept in a locked place using a safe locking 

method that prevents access by children. If a key is used, the 

key shall be inaccessible to the children. 

I. The vendor shall keep a record of prescription and 

nonprescription medication given children, which shall 

include the following: 

1. Name of the child to whom medication was 

administered;  

2. Amount and type of medication administered to the 

child;  

3. The day and time the medication was administered to 

the child; 

4. Name of the caregiver administering the medication; 

5. Any adverse reactions; and 

6. Any medication error.  

22VAC40-665-390. First aid and emergency supplies. 

A. The following emergency supplies shall be in the family 

day home, accessible to outdoor play areas, on field trips, in 

vehicles used for transportation, and wherever children are in 

care: 

1. A first aid kit that contains at a minimum:  

a. Scissors;  

b. Tweezers;  

c. Gauze pads;  

d. Adhesive tape;  

e. Bandages, assorted types and sizes;  

f. An antiseptic cleansing solution and pads;  

g. Digital thermometer; and 

h. Single-use gloves such as surgical or examination 

gloves. 

2. An ice pack or cooling agent.  

B. The following nonmedical emergency supplies shall be 

required:  

1. One working, battery-operated flashlight; and  

2. One working, battery-operated radio.  

22VAC40-665-400. Procedures for emergencies. 

A. The vendor shall have a written emergency preparedness 

plan that addresses caregiver responsibility and home 

readiness with respect to emergency evacuation, relocation, 

lockdown, and shelter-in-place procedures. The plan shall 

address the most likely to occur emergency scenarios, 

including fire, severe storms, flooding, tornadoes, loss of 

utilities, earthquakes, intruders, violence on or near the 

premises, chemical spills, and facility damage or other 

situations that may require evacuation, lockdown, or shelter-

in-place. 

B. The emergency preparedness plan shall contain 

procedural components for:  

1. Sounding of alarms (evacuation, intruder, shelter-in-

place such as for tornado or chemical hazard);  

2. Emergency communication to include:  

a. Notification of local authorities (fire and rescue, law 

enforcement, emergency medical services, poison 

control, health department, etc.), parents, and local 

media; and  

b. Availability and primary use of communication 

equipment;  

3. Evacuation and relocation procedures, including:  

a. Assembly points, designated relocation site, head 

counts, primary and secondary means of egress, and 

complete evacuation of the buildings;  

b. Accommodations or special requirements for infants, 

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their 

safety during evacuation or relocation; 

c. Securing of essential documents (attendance record, 

parent contact information, etc.) and special health care 

supplies to be carried off site on immediate notice;  

d. Method of communication after the evacuation; and  
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e. Procedure to reunite children with a parent or 

authorized person designated by the parent to pick up the 

child. 

4. Shelter-in-place, including:  

a. Scenario applicability, inside assembly points, head 

counts, and primary and secondary means of access and 

egress;  

b. Accommodations or special requirements for infants, 

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their 

safety during evacuation or relocation; 

c. Securing essential documents (attendance record, 

parent contact information, etc.) and special health 

supplies to be carried into the designated assembly 

points;  

d. Method of communication after the shelter-in-place; 

and  

e. Procedure to reunite children with a parent or 

authorized person designated by the parent to pick up the 

child. 

5. Lockdown procedures, including: 

a. Methods to alert caregivers and emergency responders; 

b. Methods to secure the family day home and designated 

lockdown locations; 

c. Methods to account for all children in the lockdown 

locations; 

d. Methods of communication with parents and 

emergency responders; 

e. Accommodations or special requirements for infants, 

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their 

safety during lockdown; and 

f. Procedure to reunite children with a parent or 

authorized person designated by the parent to pick up the 

child. 

6. Caregiver training requirements, drill frequency, and 

plan review and update; and 

7. Continuity of operations procedures to ensure that 

essential functions are maintained during an emergency. 

C. A 911 or local dial number for police, fire, and 

emergency medical services and the number of the regional 

poison control center shall be posted in a visible and 

conspicuous place. 

22VAC40-665-410. Emergency response drills. 

A. The emergency response drills shall be practiced as 

follows: 

1. Evacuation procedures shall be practiced at least 

monthly;  

2. Shelter-in-place procedures shall be practiced twice a 

year; and 

3. Lockdown procedures shall be practiced at least 

annually. 

B. The vendor shall maintain a record of the dates of the 

practice drills for one year. For vendors offering multiple 

shifts, the simulated drills shall be divided evenly among the 

various shifts.  

22VAC40-665-420. Nutrition and food services. 

A. Vendors shall schedule appropriate times for snacks or 

meals, or both, depending on the hours of operation and time 

of the day.  

B. Drinking water shall be accessible to all children.  

C. When meals or snacks are provided by the vendor, the 

following shall apply:  

1. Vendors offering both meals and snacks shall serve a 

variety of nutritious foods and in sufficient portions.  

2. Children three years of age or younger shall not be 

offered foods that are considered to be potential choking 

hazards.  

D. When food is brought from home, the following shall 

apply:  

1. The food container shall be clearly labeled in a way that 

identifies the owner;  

2. The vendor shall have extra food or provisions to obtain 

food to serve to children so they can have an appropriate 

snack or meal if they forget to bring food from home, bring 

an inadequate meal or snack, or bring perishable food; and  

3. Unused portions of opened food shall be discarded by 

the end of the day or returned to the parent.  

E. Tables and high chair trays shall be cleaned and sanitized 

daily and before and after each use for feeding.  

F. Food shall be prepared, stored, served, and transported in 

a clean and sanitary manner. 

G. When food is prepared to which a child is allergic, the 

caregiver shall take steps to avoid cross contamination in 

order to prevent an allergic reaction. 

H. Caregivers shall not serve prohibited food to a child. 

22VAC40-665-430. Special feeding needs. 

A. High chairs, infant carrier seats, or feeding tables shall be 

used for children less than 12 months who are not held while 

being fed.  

B. When a child is placed in an infant seat, high chair, or 

feeding table, the protective belt shall be fastened securely.  
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C. Bottle fed infants who cannot hold their own bottles shall 

be held when fed. Bottles shall not be propped or used while 

the child is in his designated sleeping location.  

D. Infants shall be fed on demand or in accordance with 

parental instructions.  

E. Prepared infant formula shall be refrigerated, dated, and 

labeled with the child's name if more than one infant is in 

care.  

F. Heated formula and baby food shall be stirred or shaken 

and tested for temperature before serving to children. 

G. Milk, formula, or breast milk shall not be heated or 

warmed directly in a microwave. Water for warming milk, 

formula, or breast milk may be heated in a microwave.  

H. Prepared baby food not consumed during that feeding by 

an infant may be used by that same infant later in the same 

day, provided that the food is not served out of the baby food 

jar and is labeled with the child's name, dated, and stored in 

the refrigerator; otherwise, it shall be discarded or returned to 

the parent at the end of the day. Formula or breast milk shall 

not remain unrefrigerated for more than two hours and may 

not be reheated.  

I. Caregivers shall feed semisolid food with a spoon unless 

written instructions from a physician or physician's designee 

state differently. 

22VAC40-665-440. Transportation and field trips. 

A. If the vendor provides transportation, the vendor shall be 

responsible for the care of the child from the time the child 

boards the vehicle until returned to the parent or person 

designated by the parent.  

B. Drivers must be 18 years of age or older and possess a 

valid driver's license to operate the vehicle being driven. 

C. Any vehicle used by the vendor for the transportation of 

children shall meet the following requirements:  

1. The vehicle shall be manufactured for the purpose of 

transporting people seated in an enclosed area;  

2. The vehicle's seats shall be attached to the floor;  

3. The vehicle shall be insured with at least the minimum 

limits established by Virginia state statutes as required by § 

46.2-472 of the Code of Virginia;  

4. The vehicle shall meet the safety standards set by the 

Department of Motor Vehicles and shall be kept in 

satisfactory condition to assure the safety of children; and  

5. If volunteers supply personal vehicles, the vendor is 

responsible for ensuring that the requirements of this 

subsection are met.  

D. The vendor shall ensure that during transportation of 

children:  

1. Virginia state statutes about safety belts and child 

restraints are followed as required by §§ 46.2-1095 through 

46.2-1100 of the Code of Virginia, and the stated 

maximum number of passengers in a given vehicle is not 

exceeded; 

2. The children remain seated and each child's arms, legs, 

and head remain inside the vehicle;  

3. Doors are closed properly and locked unless locks were 

not installed by the manufacturer of the vehicle;  

4. At least one caregiver or the driver always remains in 

the vehicle when children are present;  

5. The caregiver has a list of the names of the children 

being transported;  

6. The caregiver has a copy of each child's emergency 

contact information; and 

7. An allergy care plan and information as specified in 

22VAC40-665-170 B 12 shall be carried. 

E. When entering and leaving vehicles, children shall enter 

and leave the vehicle from the curb side of the vehicle or in a 

protected parking area or driveway.  

F. Caregivers shall verify that all children have been 

removed from the vehicle at the conclusion of any trip. 

22VAC40-665-450. Animals and pets. 

A. Animals shall not be allowed on any surfaces where food 

is prepared or served.  

B. A pet or animal present at the home, indoors or outdoors, 

shall be in good health and show no evidence of carrying any 

disease. 

C. Dogs or cats, where allowed, shall be vaccinated for 

rabies and shall be treated for fleas, ticks, or worms as 

needed.  

D. The vendor shall maintain documentation of the current 

rabies vaccination for dogs and cats.  

E. Caregiver shall closely supervise children when children 

are exposed to animals.  

F. Children shall be instructed on safe procedures to follow 

when in close proximity to animals, for example, not to 

provoke or startle them or remove their food.  

G. Monkeys, ferrets, reptiles, psittacine birds (birds of the 

parrot family), or wild or dangerous animals shall not be in 

areas accessible to children during the hours children are in 

care. 

H. Animal litter boxes, toys, food dishes, and water dishes 

shall be inaccessible to children.  
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22VAC40-665-460. Evening and overnight care. 

A. Caregivers shall remain awake until all children are 

asleep and shall sleep on the same floor level as the children 

in care.  

B. For evening care, beds with mattresses or cots with at 

least one inch of dense padding shall be used by children who 

sleep longer than two hours and are not required to sleep in 

cribs.  

C. For overnight, beds with mattresses or cots with at least 

two inches of dense padding shall be used by children who 

are not required to sleep in cribs.  

D. In addition to requirements in 22VAC40-665-350 about 

linens, bedding appropriate to the temperature and other 

conditions of the rest area shall be provided.  

E. When children are six years of age or older, boys and 

girls shall have separate sleeping areas. 

F. For vendors providing overnight care, an operational tub 

or shower with heated and cold water shall be provided.  

G. When bath towels are used, they shall be assigned for 

individual use.  

H. Quiet activities shall be available immediately before 

bedtime.  

Part III 

Subsidy Program Vendor Requirements for Child Day 

Centers 

22VAC40-665-470. Definitions; subsidy program 

requirements for child day center vendors. 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Accessible" means capable of being entered, reached, or 

used. 

"Adult" means any individual 18 years of age or older. 

"Age and stage appropriate" means the curriculum, 

environment, equipment, and adult-child interactions are 

suitable for the ages of the children within a group and the 

individual needs of any child. 

"Age groups":  

1. "Infant" means a child from birth to 16 months. 

2. "Toddler" means a child from 16 months up to two 

years. 

3. "Preschool" means a child from two years up to the age 

of eligibility to attend public school, five years by 

September 30. 

4. "School age" means a child eligible to attend public 

school, age five or older by September 30 of that same 

year. Four-year-old or five-year-old children included in a 

group of school children may be considered school age 

during the summer months if the children will be entering 

kindergarten that year. 

"Attendance" means the actual presence of an enrolled child. 

"Body fluids" means urine, feces, vomit, saliva, blood, nasal 

discharge, eye discharge, and injury or tissue discharge. 

"Center" means a child day center. 

"Child" means any individual less than 18 years of age. 

"Child day center" means a child day program offered to (i) 

two or more children less than 13 years of age in a facility 

that is not the residence of the provider or of any of the 

children in care or (ii) 13 or more children at any location. 

"Child experiencing homelessness" means a child who lacks 

a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence and 

includes: 

1. A child who is living in a car, park, public space, 

abandoned building, substandard housing, bus or train 

station, or similar settings; 

2. A child who is sharing the housing of other persons due 

to loss of housing, economic hardship, or a similar reason 

(sometimes referred to as "doubled-up");  

3. A child who is living in a motel, hotel, trailer park, or 

camping grounds due to lack of alternative adequate 

accommodations;  

4. A child who is living in congregate, temporary, 

emergency, or transitional shelters; 

5. A child who is abandoned in a hospital;  

6. A child who is living in a primary nighttime residence 

that is a public or private place not designed for, or 

ordinarily used as, a regular sleeping accommodation for 

human beings; and 

7. A child who is a migratory child as defined in § 1309 of 

the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965, P.L. 

No. 89-10 (20 USC § 6399) who qualifies as homeless 

because he is living in circumstances described in 

subdivisions 1 through 6 of this definition. 

"Child with special needs or disability" means (i) a child 

with a disability as defined in § 602 of the Individuals with 

Disabilities Education Act (20 USC § 1401); (ii) a child who 

is eligible for early intervention services under Part C of the 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (20 USC § 1431 

et seq.); (iii) a child who is less than 13 years of age and who 

is eligible for services under § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act 

of 1973 (29 USC § 794); and (iv) a child with a documented 

developmental disability, intellectual disability, emotional 

disturbance, sensory or motor impairment, or significant 

chronic illness who requires special health surveillance or 
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specialized programs, interventions, technologies, or 

facilities. 

"Cleaned" means treated in such a way as to remove dirt and 

debris by scrubbing and washing with soap and water or 

detergent solution and rinsing with water or the use of an 

abrasive cleaner on inanimate surfaces. 

"Communicable disease" means a disease caused by a 

microorganism (bacterium, virus, fungus, or parasite) that can 

be transmitted from person to person via an infected body 

fluid or respiratory spray, with or without an intermediary 

agent (such as a louse or mosquito) or environmental object 

(such as a table surface).  Some communicable diseases are 

reportable to the local health authority. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services. 

"Department representative" means an employee or designee 

of the Virginia Department of Social Services, acting as the 

authorized agent of the Commissioner of the Virginia 

Department of Social Services. 

"Evacuation" means movement of occupants out of the 

building to a safe area near the building. 

"Evening care" means care provided after 7 p.m. but not 

through the night. 

"Group size" means the number of children assigned to a 

staff member or team of staff members occupying an 

individual room or area. 

"Inaccessible" means not capable of being entered, reached, 

or used. 

"Lockdown" means a situation where children are isolated 

from a security threat and access within and to the center is 

restricted. 

"Overnight care" means care provided after 7 p.m. and 

through the night. 

"Over-the-counter or nonprescription medication" means 

medication that can be purchased without a written 

prescription.  This includes herbal remedies and vitamins and 

mineral supplements. 

"Parent" means a parent by blood, marriage, or adoption and 

also means a legal guardian or other person standing in loco 

parentis.  

"Sanitized" means treated in such a way as to remove 

bacteria and viruses from inanimate surfaces through first 

cleaning and secondly using a solution of one tablespoon of 

bleach mixed with one gallon of water and prepared fresh 

daily or using a sanitizing solution approved by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency. The surface of the item is 

sprayed or dipped into the sanitizing solution and then 

allowed to air dry for a minimum of two minutes or according 

to the sanitizing solution instructions.  

"Serious injury" means a wound or other specific damage to 

the body, such as unconsciousness; broken bones; dislocation; 

a deep cut requiring stitches; poisoning; concussion; or a 

foreign object lodged in eye, nose, ear, or other body orifice. 

"Shaken baby syndrome" or "abusive head trauma" means a 

traumatic injury that has been inflicted upon the brain of an 

infant or young child. The injury can occur during violent 

shaking causing the child's head to whip back and forth, the 

brain to move about, and blood vessels in the skull to stretch 

and tear. 

"Shelter-in-place" means movement of occupants of the 

building to designated protected spaces within the building. 

"Staff" means administrative, activity, and service 

personnel, including the vendor when the vendor is an 

individual who works in the center, any persons counted in 

the staff-to-children ratios, or any persons working with a 

child without sight and sound supervision of a staff member. 

"Vendor" means a legally operating child care provider who 

is approved by the department to participate in the Child Care 

Subsidy Program. Multiple facilities or sites operated by the 

same person, entity, or organization are considered separate 

vendors. 

"Vendor agreement" means the agreement between the 

department and a vendor that must be entered into and signed 

by all vendors before child care payments paid to the vendor 

under the Child Care Subsidy Program can be authorized.  

"Volunteer" means a person who works at the center and: 

1. Is not paid for services provided to the center; 

2. Is not counted in the staff-to-children ratios; and 

3. Is in sight and sound supervision of a staff member 

when working with a child. 

Any unpaid person not meeting this definition shall be 

considered "staff" and shall meet staff requirements. 

22VAC40-665-480. (Reserved.) 

22VAC40-665-490. Purpose and applicability. 

The standards in this part apply to child day centers that are 

applying to participate in the Child Care Subsidy Program. 

The purpose of these standards is to protect children who are 

less than the age of 13 years, less than the age of 18 years and 

physically or mentally unable to care for themselves, or are 

under court supervision and who are separated from their 

parents during part of the day by: 

1. Ensuring that the activities, services, and facilities of 

centers participating in the Child Care Subsidy Program 

are conducive to the well-being of children; and 

2. Reducing risks to the health and safety of such children 

in the child care environment.  
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22VAC40-665-500. Operational responsibilities. 

A. The vendor shall ensure compliance with the standards in 

this part, the terms of the vendor agreement, and all relevant 

federal, state, or local laws and regulations. 

B. Pursuant to § 63.2-1725 of the Code of Virginia, the 

vendor shall ensure that the applicant and any staff who is or 

will be involved in the day-to-day operations of the center or 

is or will be alone with, in control of, or supervising one or 

more of the children shall not be guilty of an offense, as 

defined in § 63.2-1719 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. The vendor shall ensure that the center does not exceed 

the capacity of children cared for as allowed by law or 

regulation. 

D. When at least one child receives care for compensation, 

all children who are in care and supervision count in the 

capacity of children being cared for. When children 13 years 

or older are enrolled in the program and receive supervision 

in the program, they shall be counted in the number of 

children receiving care, and the vendor shall comply with the 

standards in this part for these children. 

E. The vendor shall inform all staff who work with children 

of children's allergies, sensitivities, and dietary restrictions.  

F. The vendor shall maintain, in a way that is accessible to 

all staff who work with children, a current written list of all 

children's allergies, sensitivities, and dietary restrictions. This 

list shall be dated and kept confidential in each room or area 

where children are present. 

G. Religious exempt child day centers that are exempt from 

licensure in accordance with § 63.2-1716 of the Code of 

Virginia shall be in compliance with all requirements of § 

63.2-1716.  

22VAC40-665-510. General recordkeeping; reports. 

A. Staff records and children's information shall be treated 

confidentially. 

B. For each group of children, the vendor shall maintain a 

written hard copy record of daily attendance that documents 

the arrival and departure of each child in care as it occurs. 

C. Records, reports, and information required by this part 

may be kept as hard copy or electronically, except attendance 

records must be maintained pursuant to subsection B of this 

section, and shall be maintained and made accessible to 

department representatives for five years after termination of 

services or separation from employment unless specified 

otherwise. 

22VAC40-665-520. Children's records. 

A. The vendor shall maintain and keep at the center a record 

for each enrolled child, which shall be made accessible to the 

department's representative upon request. 

B. The child's record shall include the following: 

1. Child's full name, nickname (if any), sex, address, and 

birthdate; 

2. Name, home address, and telephone number for each 

parent who has custody; 

3. Name, address, and telephone number for each custodial 

parent's place of employment or school attendance, if 

applicable; 

4. Name, address, and telephone number of at least one 

person designated by the parent to contact in case of an 

emergency and the parent cannot be reached; 

5. Information on allergies, including food allergies, 

intolerances to food, medication, or other substances, and 

actions to be taken in an emergency situation; information 

on other physical problems; pertinent developmental 

information; and any special accommodations needed, if 

applicable; 

6. Names of persons other than the custodial parent who 

are authorized to pick up the child; 

7. Immunization records for the child received on or before 

the child's first day of attendance, except that children 

experiencing homelessness may provide such records 

within 90 days of enrollment; 

8. Written authorization for emergency medical care 

should an emergency occur and the parent cannot be 

located immediately unless the parent presents a written 

objection for the provision of medical treatment on 

religious or other grounds; 

9. Written authorization to administer prescription or 

nonprescription medications if the vendor administers 

medication; 

10. Special care instructions, including recommendations 

for the care and activities of a child with special needs, 

exception to infant being fed on demand, etc.; 

11. A written allergy care plan for each child with a 

diagnosed food allergy, to include instructions from a 

physician regarding the food to which the child is allergic 

and steps to be taken in the event of a suspected or 

confirmed allergic reaction; 

12. Proof of a child's identity and age as stated in § 63.2-

1809 of the Code of Virginia; 

13. Permission to transport child if the vendor provides 

transportation; 

14. Permission for field trips; 

15. Permission for swimming or wading activities to 

include a parent's statement of the child's swimming 

ability, if applicable;  
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16. A written statement that the vendor will notify the 

parent when the child becomes ill and that the parent will 

arrange to have the child picked up as soon as possible if 

so requested by the vendor;  

17. Any written agreements between the parent and the 

vendor; and 

18. Documentation of the enrollment of a child 

experiencing homelessness enrolled under provisions of 

22VAC40-665-560 A 2. 

22VAC40-665-530. Staff records. 

The following records shall be kept for each staff person: 

1. Name, address, verification of age, and date of 

employment or volunteering. 

2. Documentation that background checks were completed, 

including: 

a. The department's letter indicating eligibility to be hired 

provided by the department or the department's 

contractor indicating:  

(1) Satisfactory results of the Virginia State Police name 

search for criminal history; and  

(2) Satisfactory results of the Child Protective Services 

Central Registry check. 

b. The individual's sworn statement or affirmation as to 

whether the individual has ever been: 

(1) The subject of a founded complaint of child abuse or 

neglect within or outside the Commonwealth; or 

(2) Convicted of a crime or is the subject of any pending 

criminal charges within the Commonwealth or any 

equivalent offense outside the Commonwealth. 

c. The vendor shall have documentation for any 

individual who begins employment or service after the 

vendor agreement has been signed in the file within 30 

days of the individual's beginning date of employment or 

service. However, the vendor shall not be deemed to be 

in violation of this section if documentation is maintained 

that the checks were submitted within the first seven days 

of employment or service and the results are not 

available due to an administrative delay beyond the 

vendor's control. 

d. Documentation of subsequent background checks 

conducted every three years.  

3. Tuberculosis screening results. 

4. Certifications of first aid and cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation and other certifications as required by the 

responsibilities held by the staff member. 

5. Documentation that training required in 22VAC-665-

580 has been completed, including the date completed, the 

total hours of the session, and the names of the trainer and 

of any sponsoring organization.  

6. Date of separation from employment where applicable. 

7. Documentation of the health requirements under 

22VAC40-665-540. 

22VAC40-665-540. Health requirements for staff. 

A. Staff shall be evaluated by a health professional and be 

issued a statement that the individual is determined to be free 

of communicable tuberculosis (TB). Such statement shall be 

submitted not later than 21 days after employment or 

volunteering and shall have been completed within 12 months 

prior to or 21 days after employment or volunteering. 

B. Subsequent TB screenings are required at least every two 

years from the date of the initial screening, or more frequently 

if recommended by a physician. 

C. The vendor or the department's representative may 

require a report of examination by a licensed physician or 

mental health professional if there are indications that a staff 

member’s physical or mental health may endanger the health, 

safety, or well-being of children in care. 

D. A staff who is determined by a licensed physician or 

mental health professional to show an indication of a physical 

or mental condition that may endanger the health, safety, or 

well-being of children in care or that would prevent the 

performance of duties shall be removed immediately from 

contact with children and food served to children until the 

condition is cleared as evidenced by a signed statement from 

the physician or mental health professional.  

22VAC40-665-550. Reports. 

Reports shall be filed and maintained as follows: 

1. The vendor shall inform the department's inspector as 

soon as practicable, but not more than one business day, of 

the following: 

a. The death of a child while under the vendor's 

supervision; 

b. A missing child when local authorities have been 

contacted for help; and 

c. The suspension or termination of all child care services 

for more than 24 hours as a result of an emergency 

situation and any plans to resume child care.  

2. The vendor shall inform the department's representative 

as soon as practicable, but not more than two business 

days, of any serious injury to a child while under the 

vendor's supervision. 

3. Any suspected incident of child abuse or neglect shall be 

reported in accordance with § 63.2-1509 of the Code of 

Virginia.  
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22VAC40-665-560. Immunizations for children. 

A. The vendor shall obtain documentation that each child 

has received the immunizations required by the State Board 

of Health before the child can attend the center. 

1. The vendor may allow a child to attend contingent upon 

a conditional enrollment. Documentation related to the 

child's conditional enrollment shall be maintained in the 

child's record.  

"Conditional enrollment" means the enrollment of a child 

for a period of 90 days contingent upon the child having 

received at least one dose of each of the required vaccines 

and the child possessing a plan from a physician or local 

health department for completing his immunization 

requirements within the ensuing 90 calendar days. If the 

child requires more than two doses of the hepatitis B 

vaccine, the conditional enrollment period, for hepatitis B 

vaccine only, shall be 180 calendar days.  

2. If a child is experiencing homelessness and does not 

have documentation of the required immunizations, the 

vendor may allow the child to attend during a grace period 

of no more than 90 days to allow the parent or guardian 

time to obtain documentation of the required 

immunizations.  

B. The vendor shall obtain documentation of additional 

immunizations once every six months for children less than 

two years of age. 

C. Pursuant to subsection C of § 22.1-271.2 of the Code of 

Virginia and 12VAC5-110-110, documentation of 

immunizations is not required for any child whose: 

1. Parent submits an affidavit to the vendor, on the form 

entitled "Certification of Religious Exemption," stating 

that the administration of immunizing agents conflicts with 

the parent's or child's religious tenets or practices, or  

2. A physician or a local health department states on a 

Department of Health-approved form that one or more of 

the required immunizations may be detrimental to the 

child's health, indicating the specific nature and probable 

duration of the medical condition or circumstance that 

contraindicates immunization.  

22VAC40-665-570. General qualifications. 

A. The vendor must be at least 18 years of age.  

B. The vendor, and any staff who are left alone with 

children, shall be capable of communicating effectively both 

orally and in writing as applicable to the job responsibility 

and be capable of communicating with emergency personnel. 

C. Staff must be at least 16 years of age; however no staff 

person less than 18 years of age may be alone with children 

or administer medication.  

1. Staff members less than 18 years of age shall be under 

direct sight and sound supervision of an adult staff 

member.  

2. Adult staff members shall supervise no more than two 

volunteers or staff members less than 18 years of age at 

any given time.  

22VAC40-665-580. Staff training and development. 

A. Prior to approval as a subsidy vendor, the vendor or 

designee shall complete the Virginia Preservice Training for 

Child Care Staff, which shall include training on the 

following topics and training modules: 

1. Building and physical premises safety; 

2. Emergency preparedness and response planning; 

3. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and 

safe sleep practices; 

4. Administration of medication, consistent with standards 

of parental consent; 

5. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

trauma (AHT); 

6. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 

and allergic reactions; 

7. Recognizing child abuse and neglect and reporting 

responsibilities; 

8. Preventing the spread of disease, including 

immunization requirements; 

9. Handling and storage of hazardous materials and 

appropriate disposal of diapers and other items 

contaminated by body fluids; 

10. Transportation; 

11. Foundations of child development; 

12. Inclusion: Exploring the meaning and the mindset; 

13. Oral health; and 

14. Introduction to the Child Care Subsidy Program. 

B. Within the first 90 days of employment or subsidy vendor 

approval all staff who work directly with children shall 

complete Virginia Preservice Training for Child Care Staff, 

which shall include training on the following topics and 

training modules: 

1. Building and physical premises safety; 

2. Emergency preparedness and response planning; 

3. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and 

safe sleep practices; 

4. Administration of medication, consistent with standards 

of parental consent; 
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5. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

trauma (AHT); 

6. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 

and allergic reactions; 

7. Recognizing child abuse and neglect and reporting 

responsibilities; 

8. Preventing the spread of disease, including 

immunization requirements; 

9. Handling and storage of hazardous materials and 

appropriate disposal of diapers and other items 

contaminated by body fluids;  

10. Transportation; 

11. Foundations of child development; 

12. Inclusion: Exploring the meaning and mindset; 

13. Oral health; and 

14. Introduction to the Child Care Subsidy Program. 

C. All staff who work directly with children and who are 

employed prior to (insert the effective date of this regulation) 

shall complete Virginia Preservice Training for Child Care 

Staff sponsored by the Department of Social Services, to 

include all of the topics applicable to new staff, within (insert 

a date 90 days from the effective date of this regulation). This 

training may count for staff annual training requirements in 

subsection H of this section. 

D. Orientation training for staff shall be completed on the 

following facility specific topics prior to the staff member 

working alone with children and within seven days of the date 

of employment or the date of subsidy vendor approval: 

1. Playground safety procedures; 

2. Responsibilities for reporting suspected child abuse or 

neglect; 

3. Confidentiality; 

4. Supervision of children, including arrival and 

dismissal procedures; 

5. Procedures for action in the case of lost or missing 

children, ill or injured children, and medical and general 

emergencies; 

6. Medication administration procedures, if applicable; 

7. Emergency preparedness plan as required in 22VAC40-

665-770 B;  

8. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

trauma including coping with crying babies and fussy or 

distraught children; 

9. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of 

safe sleeping practices;  

10. Staff who work with children that have food allergies 

shall receive training in preventing exposure to foods to 

which the child is allergic, preventing cross contamination, 

and recognizing and responding to any allergic reactions; 

and 

11. Transportation. 

E. All staff who work directly with children shall have 

within 30 days of the date of employment or 90 days from 

subsidy vendor approval:  

1. Current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation 

(CPR) appropriate to the age of children in care. The 

training shall include an in-person competency 

demonstration; and 

2. Current certification in first aid. However, staff who is a 

registered nurse or licensed practical nurse with a current 

license from the Board of Nursing shall not be required to 

obtain first aid certification. 

During the 30-day or 90-day period, there must always be at 

least one staff with current CPR and first aid training present 

during operating hours of the center.  

F. All staff who work directly with children and who are 

employed by an approved vendor prior to (insert the effective 

date of this regulation) must complete CPR and first aid 

training as required by this section within (insert a date 90 

days from the effective date of this regulation). During this 90 

days, there must always be at least one staff with current CPR 

and first aid training present during operating hours of the 

center.  

G. CPR and First Aid training may count toward the annual 

training hours required in subsection H of this section if 

documentation for training as required in subdivision 5 of 

22VAC40-665-530 is maintained. 

H. Staff who work directly with children shall, in addition to 

preservice and orientation training required in subsections A 

through D of this section, annually attend at least 16 hours of 

training and staff development activities, including the 

department's health and safety update course. Training shall 

be related to child safety, child development, the function of 

the center, and any required department sponsored training. 

I. To safely perform medication administration practices, 

whenever a vendor agrees to administer prescribed 

medications, the (i) administration shall be performed by a 

staff member who has satisfactorily completed a training 

program for this purpose developed by the Board of Nursing 

and taught by a registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, 

nurse practitioner, physician assistant, doctor of medicine or 

osteopathic medicine, or pharmacist; or (ii) administration 

shall be performed by a staff member who is licensed by the 

Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications. 
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The administration of medicines by a vendor may be limited 

by policy to: 

1. Prescription medications; 

2. Over-the-counter or nonprescription medications; or 

3. No medications.  

J. Staff required to have the training specified in subsection I 

of this section shall be retrained at three-year intervals. 

K. There shall be at least one staff on duty who has obtained 

within the last three years instruction in performing a daily 

health observation of children. Daily health observation 

training shall include: 

1. Components of daily health check for children; 

2. Inclusion and exclusion of a child when the child is 

exhibiting symptoms that indicate possible illness; 

3. Description of how diseases are spread and procedures 

and methods for reducing the spread of disease; 

4. Information concerning the Virginia Department of 

Health Notification of Reportable Diseases pursuant to 

12VAC5-90-80 and 12VAC5-90-90, also available from 

the local health department and the website of the Virginia 

Department of Health; and 

5. Staff occupational health and safety practices in 

accordance with Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration's bloodborne pathogens regulation (29 CFR 

1910.1030).   

22VAC40-665-590. Certifications by other agencies; 

requirements prior to initial approval. 

Before approval of a vendor agreement and before use of 

newly constructed, renovated, remodeled, or altered buildings 

or sections or buildings, written documentation of the 

following shall be provided by the vendor to the department 

representative: 

1. Certification by the authority having jurisdiction that 

each building meets building and fire codes or that a plan 

of correction has been approved; and 

2. Certification from the local health department, or 

approval of a plan of correction, for meeting requirements 

for: 

a. Water supply; 

b. Sewage disposal system; and 

c. Food service, if applicable.  

3. Any building that is currently zoned or certified for 

school occupancy and houses a public or private school 

during the school year shall be considered to have met the 

requirements of subdivision 1 of this section when housing 

a center serving only children two and a half years of age 

or older. 

22VAC40-665-600. Certification by other agencies; 

requirements subsequent to initial approval. 

A. The vendor shall provide the department representative 

an annual fire inspection report from the appropriate fire 

official having jurisdiction. If a center is located in a building 

currently housing a public or private school, the school's 

annual fire inspection report shall be accepted. 

B. The vendor shall provide the department representative 

an annual certification from the Health Department, or 

approvals of a plan of correction, for meeting requirements 

for: 

1. Water supply; 

2. Sewage disposal system; and 

3. Food service, if applicable. 

22VAC40-665-610. Building or facility maintenance. 

A. Areas and equipment of the center, inside and outside, 

shall be maintained in a clean, safe, and operable condition. 

Unsafe conditions shall include splintered, cracked or 

otherwise deteriorating wood; chipped or peeling paint; 

visible cracks, bending or warping, rusting, or breakage of 

any equipment; head entrapment hazards; protruding nails, 

bolts, or other components that entangle clothing or skin; and 

unstable heavy equipment, furniture, or other items that a 

child could pull down on himself. 

B. Inside areas occupied by children shall be maintained no 

lower than 68°F and shall not exceed 80°F unless fans or 

other cooling systems are in use. 

C. In areas used by children of preschool age or younger, the 

following shall apply: 

1. Fans, when used shall be out of reach of children and 

cords shall be secured so as not to create a hazard. 

2. Electrical outlets shall have protective covers that are of 

a size that cannot be swallowed by children. 

D. Building equipment shall include an in-service, nonpay 

telephone.  

22VAC40-665-620. Hazardous substances and other 

harmful agents. 

A. Hazardous substances such as cleaning materials, 

insecticides, and pesticides shall be kept in a locked place 

using a safe locking method that prevents access by children. 

If a key is used, the key shall not be accessible to children. 

Cleaning supplies to clean and sanitize the diapering area or 

toilet chairs do not need to be kept locked during diapering or 

toilet training time as long as they are inaccessible to 

children. 
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B. Pesticides or insecticides shall not be stored in areas used 

by children or in areas used for food preparation or storage.  

C. Cleaning and sanitizing materials shall not be located 

above food, food equipment, utensils, or single-use articles 

and shall be stored separate from food. 

D. If hazardous substances are not kept in original 

containers, the substitute container shall clearly indicate its 

contents.  

E. Smoking and the use of electronic smoking devices shall 

be prohibited in the interior of a center, in vehicles when 

children are being transported, and if permitted outside, shall 

be prohibited in the presence of children. 

22VAC40-665-630. Restroom area and furnishings. 

A. The facility shall have at least two toilets and two sinks. 

B. The facility shall have at least one toilet and one sink for 

every 30 children.  

C. Each restroom area provided for children shall:  

1. Be within a contained area, readily available, and within 

the building used by the children; 

2. Have toilets that are flushable; 

3. Have sinks located near the toilets and that are supplied 

with running warm water that does not exceed 120°F;  

4. Be equipped with soap, toilet paper, and disposable 

towels or an air dryer within reach of the children; and 

5. A restroom for school age children that contains more 

than one toilet shall have at least one toilet enclosed. 

22VAC40-665-640. Play areas. 

The vendor shall ensure that all areas of the premises 

accessible to children are free of obvious injury hazards, 

including providing and maintaining sand or other cushioning 

material under playground equipment. The requirements of 

this section shall not prohibit child day center programs 

providing care to school age children at a location that is 

currently approved by the Department of Education or 

recognized as a private school by the State Board of 

Education for school occupancy and that houses a public or 

private school during the school years from permitting school 

age children to use outdoor play equipment and areas 

approved for use by students of the school during school 

hours.  

22VAC40-665-650. Supervision, ratio, and group size 

requirements. 

A. The vendor, except those exempt from licensure operated 

by or under the auspices of a religious institution, shall ensure 

that the following ratio requirements are maintained: 

1. For children from birth to the age of 16 months: one 

staff member for every four children; 

2. For children 16 months to two years: one staff member 

for every five children; 

3. For two-year-old children: one staff member for every 

eight children; 

4. For children from three years to the age of eligibility to 

attend public school, five years by September 30: one staff 

member for every 10 children; 

5. For children from age of eligibility to attend public 

school through eight years: one staff member for every 18 

children; and 

6. For children from nine years through 12 years: one staff 

member for every 20 children. 

B. Except during meals or snacks, the designated rest period, 

outdoor play, transportation and field trips, special group 

activities, or during the first and last hour of operation when 

the vendor operates more than six hours per day, the vendor, 

except those exempt from licensure operated by or under the 

auspices of a religious institution, shall ensure that the 

following group size requirements are maintained at all times: 

1. For children from birth to the age of 16 months: the 

maximum group size is 12 children; 

2. For children 16 months to two years: the maximum 

group size is 15 children; 

3. For two-year-old children: the maximum group size is 

24 children; and 

4. For children from three years to the age of eligibility to 

attend public school, five years by September 30: the 

maximum group size is 30 children. 

Group size requirements in this section do not apply to 

children school age eligible through 12 years of age. 

C. Facilities operated by, or under the auspices of, a 

religious institution and exempt from licensure shall employ 

supervisory personnel as set forth in § 63.2-1716 of the Code 

of Virginia and shall ensure the following ratio requirements 

are maintained: 

1. For children from birth to two years: one staff member 

for every four children; 

2. For children from two years to six years: one staff 

member for every 10 children; and 

3. For children from six years up to 12 years: one staff 

member for every 25 children.  

D. With the exception of when meals or snacks are served, 

the designated rest period, outdoor play, transportation and 

field trips, special group activities, or during the first and last 

hour of operation when the vendor operates more than six 

hours per day, facilities operated by, or under the auspices, of 

a religious institution and are exempt from licensure shall 
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ensure the following group size requirements are maintained 

at all times: 

1. For children from birth to two years: the maximum 

group size is 12 children;  

2. For children from two years to six years: the maximum 

group size is 30 children; and 

3. For children who are six years up to 12 years of age: 

group size requirements in this section do not apply. 

Vendors operated by, or under the auspices, of a religious 

institution must have a staff member present for each age 

group of children as defined in § 63.2-1716 of the Code of 

Virginia. Example: one staff must be present for any of the 

children age birth to 24 months, an additional staff member 

must be present if any of the children are ages two to six 

years, and a third staff member must be present if any 

children are ages six to 12 years. 

E. The vendor shall develop and implement a written policy 

and procedure that describes how the vendor will ensure that 

each group of children receives care by consistent staff or 

team of staff members. 

F. Staff shall be counted in the required staff-to-children 

ratios only when they are directly supervising children.  

G. When children are in ongoing mixed age groups, the 

staff-to-children ratio and group size applicable to the 

youngest child in the group shall apply to the entire group. 

H. Children less than 10 years of age shall always be within 

actual sight and sound supervision of staff, except that staff 

need only be able to hear a child who is using the restroom 

provided that:  

1. There is a system to ensure that individuals who are not 

staff members or persons allowed to pick up a child in care 

do not enter the restroom area while in use by children; and  

2. Staff checks on a child who has not returned from the 

restroom after five minutes. Depending on the location and 

layout of the restroom, staff may need to provide 

intermittent sight supervision of the children in the 

restroom area during this five-minute period to assure the 

safety of children and to provide assistance to children as 

needed.  

I. Children 10 years of age and older shall be within actual 

sight and sound supervision of staff except when the 

following requirements are met:  

1. Staff can hear or see the children (video equipment, 

intercom systems, or other technological devices shall not 

substitute for staff being able to directly see or hear 

children);  

2. Staff are nearby so that they can provide immediate 

intervention if needed;  

3. There is a system to ensure that staff know where the 

children are and what they are doing;  

4. There is a system to ensure that individuals who are not 

staff members or persons allowed to pick up children in 

care do not enter the areas where children are not under 

sight supervision; and  

5. Staff provides sight and sound supervision of the 

children at variable and unpredictable intervals not to 

exceed 15 minutes.  

J. When the outdoor activity area is not adjacent to the 

center, there shall be at least two staff members in the outdoor 

activity area whenever one or more children are present.  

K. Staff shall not allow a child to leave the center 

unsupervised.  

L. For vendors operated by, or under the auspices of, a 

religious institution and exempt from licensure, during 

designated rest periods and the designated sleep period of 

evening and overnight care programs, the ratio of staff to 

children over 24 months of age may be double the number of 

children to each staff required by subsection C of this section 

if: 

1. The staff person is within sight and sound of sleeping 

children; 

2. Staff counted in the overall rest period ratio are on the 

same floor as the sleeping or resting children and available 

in case of emergency; and  

3. An additional person is present to help. 

M. For vendors not operated by, or under the auspices of, a 

religious institution, during designated rest periods and the 

designated sleep period of evening and overnight care 

programs, the ratio of staff to children over 16 months of age 

may be double the number of children to each staff required 

by subsection A of this section if: 

1. The staff person is within sight and sound of sleeping 

children; 

2. Staff counted in the overall rest period ratio are on the 

same floor as the sleeping or resting children and available 

in case of emergency; and 

3. An additional person is present to help. 

22VAC40-665-660. Supervision near water. 

A. Indoor swimming pools on the center premises shall be 

kept locked when the pool is not in use. Outdoor swimming 

pools located on the center premises shall be enclosed by 

safety fences and gates that are in compliance with the 

applicable edition of the Virginia Uniform Statewide 

Building Code (13VAC5-63) and shall be kept locked when 

the pool is not in use. 
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B. The staff-to-children ratios required by 22VAC40-665-

650 shall be maintained while children are participating in 

swimming or wading activities.  

1. Notwithstanding the staff-to-children ratios already 

indicated, at no time shall there be fewer than two staff 

members supervising the activity.  

2. The designated certified lifeguard shall not be counted in 

the staff-to-children ratios. 

C. If a pool, lake, or other swimming area has a water depth 

of more than two feet, a certified lifeguard holding a current 

certificate shall be on duty supervising the children 

participating in swimming or wading activities at all times 

when one or more children are in the water.  

D. The vendor shall have emergency procedures and written 

safety rules for swimming or wading or follow the posted 

rules of public pools that are:  

1. Posted in the swimming area when the pool is located on 

the premises of the center; and  

2. Explained to children participating in swimming or 

wading activities.  

E. Staff shall have a system for accounting for all children in 

the water.  

22VAC40-665-670. Daily activities. 

A. The variety of daily activities for all age groups shall be 

age and stage appropriate and provide opportunities for 

teacher-directed, self-directed, and self-chosen tasks and 

activities, a balance of active and quiet activities, indoor and 

outdoor activities, individual and group activities, and 

curiosity and exploration. 

B. For a child who cannot move without help, staff shall 

offer to change the place and position of the child at least 

every 30 minutes or more frequently depending on the child's 

individual needs. For an awake infant not playing on the floor 

or ground a change in play space shall be provided by staff at 

least every 30 minutes or more often as determined by the 

individual infant's needs. 

C. There shall be a flexible daily schedule for infants based 

on their individual needs. 

D. Infants shall be allowed to sleep when needed. 

1. When an infant is placed in his crib, he shall be placed 

on his back (supine). 

2. When an infant is able to easily turn over from the back 

(supine) to the belly (prone) position and is placed in his 

crib, he shall still be put on his back but allowed to adopt 

whatever position he prefers. This applies unless otherwise 

directed by the infant's physician or health care provider in 

writing. 

3. Resting or sleeping infants shall be individually checked 

every 15 to 20 minutes. 

E. Infants shall be provided comfort when needed. 

F. Staff shall provide frequent opportunities for infants to 

creep, crawl, toddle, and walk. 

G. Infants who cannot turn themselves over and are awake 

shall be placed on their stomachs for at least 30 minutes each 

day to facilitate upper body strength and to address 

misshapen head concerns.  

H. Infants shall be protected from older children.  

22VAC40-665-680. Behavioral guidance. 

A. Behavioral guidance shall be constructive in nature and 

age and stage appropriate and shall be intended to redirect 

children to appropriate behavior and resolve conflicts. 

B. In order to promote the child's physical, intellectual, 

emotional, and social well-being and growth, staff shall 

model desired, appropriate behavior and interact with the 

child and one another to provide needed help, comfort, 

support and: 

1. Respect personal privacy; 

2. Respect differences in cultural, ethnic, and family 

background; 

3. Encourage decision-making abilities; 

4. Promote ways of getting along; 

5. Encourage independence and self-direction; and 

6. Use consistency in applying expectations. 

C. If time-out is used as a discipline technique: 

1. It shall be used sparingly and shall not exceed one 

minute for each year of the child's age; 

2. It shall not be used with infants or toddlers; 

3. The child shall be in a safe, lighted, well-ventilated 

place and within sight and sound of staff; and 

4. The child shall not be left alone inside or outside the 

center while separated from the group.  

22VAC40-665-690. Forbidden actions. 

The following actions or threats thereof are forbidden: 

1. Physical punishment, including striking a child, roughly 

handling or shaking a child, restricting movement through 

binding or tying, forcing a child to assume an 

uncomfortable position, or using exercise as a punishment; 

2. Enclosure in a small, confined space or any space that 

the child cannot freely exit himself; however this does not 

apply to the use of equipment such as cribs, play yards, 
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high chairs, and safety gates when used for their intended 

purpose with children preschool age or younger; 

3. Punishment by another child; 

4. Withholding or forcing of food, water, or rest; 

5. Verbal remarks that are demeaning to the child; 

6. Punishment for toileting accidents; and 

7. Punishment by applying unpleasant or harmful 

substances.  

22VAC40-665-700. Parental involvement and 

notifications. 

A. The vendor shall notify the parent immediately if a child 

is lost, requires emergency medical treatment or sustains a 

serious injury, or dies.  

B. The vendor shall notify the parent by the end of the day 

of any known minor injuries.  

C. The vendor shall maintain a written record of children's 

serious and minor injuries in which entries are made the day 

of occurrence. The record shall include the following:  

1. Date and time of injury;  

2. Name of injured child;  

3. Type and circumstance of the injury;  

4. Staff present and treatment;  

5. Date and time when parents were notified; and  

6. Staff and parent signatures or two staff signatures. 

D. Parents shall be notified immediately of any confirmed or 

suspected allergic reactions and the ingestion or contact with 

prohibited food even if a reaction did not occur. 

E. Staff shall promptly inform parents when persistent 

behavioral problems are observed and identified. 

F. Parents shall be provided at least semiannually in writing 

information on their child's behavior, development, 

adjustment, and needs. This requirement does not apply to 

programs that operate 12 weeks or less a year. 

G. Parents shall be informed of the reason for a child's 

termination from care. 

H. A custodial parent shall be admitted to any child day 

program. Such right of admission shall apply only while the 

child is in the child day program, in accordance with § 63.2-

1813 of the Code of Virginia. 

I. When children at the center have been exposed to a 

communicable disease listed in the Department of Health's 

current communicable disease chart, the parents shall be 

notified within 24 hours or the next business day of the 

vendor having been informed unless forbidden by law. 

Children's exposure to life threatening diseases shall be 

reported to parents immediately. 

J. Parents shall be informed of the vendor's emergency 

preparedness plan.  

22VAC40-665-710. Furnishings, equipment, and 

materials. 

A. Furnishings, materials, and equipment shall be age and 

stage appropriate for the children. 

B. Children shall be protected from materials that could be 

swallowed or present a choking hazard. Toys or objects less 

than 1-1/4 inches in diameter and less than two inches in 

length shall be kept out of reach of children less than three 

years of age. 

C. If combs, toothbrushes, or other personal articles are 

used, they shall be individually assigned. 

D. Disposable products shall be used once and discarded. 

E. Play yards and portable cribs where used shall meet the 

Juvenile Products Manufacturers Association (JPMA) and the 

American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) 

requirements and shall not be used after recalled.  

F. Cribs, cots, rest mats, or beds shall be provided for 

children during the designated rest periods and shall not be 

occupied by more than one child at a time.  

1. Cribs shall be provided for children from birth through 

12 months of age and for children older than 12 months of 

age who are not developmentally ready to sleep on a cot, 

rest mat, or bed during the designated rest periods. 

2. Cots, rest mats, or beds shall be provided for children 

older than 12 months of age. 

G. There shall be at least 12 inches of space between 

occupied cribs, cots, beds, and rest mats.  

H. Full-size cribs shall:  

1. Meet the current Consumer Product Safety Commission 

Standards (16 CFR Parts 1219, 1220, and 1500).  

2. Have mattresses that fit snugly next to the crib so that no 

more than two fingers can be inserted between the mattress 

and the crib. 

I. Pillows and filled comforters shall not be used by children 

less than 12 months of age while sleeping or resting including 

quilts, sheepskins, or stuffed toys. 

J. Cribs shall be placed where objects outside the crib such 

as electrical cords or cords from blinds, curtains, etc. are not 

within reach of infants or toddlers. 

K. Use of bumper pads shall be prohibited. 

L. Toys or objects hung over an infant in a crib and crib 

gyms that are strung across the crib may not be used for 
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infants older than five months of age or infants who are able 

to push up on their hands and knees. 

M. Crib sides shall always be up, and the fastenings secured 

when a child is in the crib. 

N. Double decker cribs shall not be used.  

22VAC40-665-720. Bedding and linens for use while 

sleeping or resting. 

A. Linens shall be assigned for individual use. 

B. Pillows when used shall be assigned for individual use 

and covered with pillow cases. 

C. Mattresses when used shall be covered with a waterproof 

material which can be cleaned and sanitized.  

22VAC40-665-730. Preventing the spread of disease. 

A. A child shall not be allowed to attend the center for the 

day if he has:  

1. A temperature over 101°F;  

2. Recurrent vomiting or diarrhea; or 

3. Symptoms of a communicable disease.  

B. If a child needs to be excluded according to subsection A 

of this section, the following shall apply:  

1. Arrangements shall be made for the child to leave the 

center as soon as possible after the signs or symptoms are 

observed; and  

2. The child shall remain in a designated quiet area until 

leaving the center.  

C. When any surface has been contaminated with body 

fluids, it shall be cleaned and sanitized. 

22VAC40-665-740. Hand washing and toileting 

procedures. 

A. When hand washing, the following shall apply.  

1. Children's hands shall be washed with soap and running 

water or disposable wipes before and after eating meals or 

snacks.  

2. Children's hands shall be washed with soap and running 

water after toileting and any contact with blood, feces, or 

urine.  

3. Staff shall wash their hands with soap and running water 

before and after helping a child use the toilet or changing a 

diaper, after the staff member uses the toilet, after any 

contact with body fluids, and before feeding or helping 

children with feeding, and before preparing or serving food 

or beverages.  

4. If running water is not available, a germicidal cleansing 

agent administered per manufacturer's instruction may be 

used.  

B. Diapering requirements are as follows:  

1. The diapering area shall be accessible and within the 

building used by children.  

2. There shall be sight and sound supervision for all 

children when a child is being diapered.  

3. The diapering area shall have:  

a. Access to a sink with running warm water not to 

exceed 120°F;  

b. Soap, disposable towels, and single-use gloves such as 

surgical or examination gloves;  

c. A nonabsorbent surface for diapering or changing shall 

be used. For children younger than three years, this 

surface shall be a changing table or countertop 

designated for changing; 

d. The appropriate disposal container as required by 

subdivision 6 of this subsection; and  

e. A leak-proof covered receptacle for soiled linens.  

4. When a child's clothing or diaper becomes wet or soiled, 

the child shall be cleaned and changed immediately upon 

discovery.  

5. Disposable diapers shall be used unless the child's skin 

reacts adversely to disposable diapers.  

6. Disposable diapers shall be disposed in a leak-proof or 

plastic-lined storage system that is either foot-operated or 

used in such a way that neither the staff member's hand nor 

the soiled diaper touches an exterior surface of the storage 

system during disposal.  

7. When cloth diapers are used, a separate leak-proof 

storage system as specified in subdivision 6 of this 

subsection shall be used.  

8. The diapering surface shall be used only for diapering or 

cleaning children, and it shall be cleaned with soap and at 

least room temperature water and sanitized after each use. 

Tables used for children's activities or meals shall not be 

used for changing diapers. Individual disposable barriers 

may be used between each diaper change. If the changing 

surface becomes soiled, the surface shall be cleaned and 

sanitized before another child is diapered.  

9. Staff shall ensure the immediate safety of a child during 

diapering.  

C. For every 10 children in the process of being toilet 

trained, there shall be at least one toilet chair or one child-

sized toilet, or at least one adult sized toilet with a platform or 

steps and adapter seat.  

1. The location of these items shall allow for sight and 

sound supervision of children in the classroom if necessary 

for the required staff-to-children ratios to be maintained.  
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2. Toilet chairs shall be emptied promptly and cleaned and 

sanitized after each use.  

22VAC40-665-750. General requirements for medication 

administration. 

A. The vendor may administer prescription medication to a 

child with written permission of the parent, provided: 

1. The medication is administered by a staff who meets the 

requirements of 22VAC40-665-580 I and J; 

2. The staff administers only those drugs that were 

dispensed from a pharmacy and maintained in the original, 

labeled container; and 

3. The staff administers drugs only to the child identified 

on the prescription label in accordance with the prescriber's 

instructions pertaining to dosage, frequency, and manner of 

administration. 

B. The vendor may administer over-the-counter or 

nonprescription medication to a child with written permission 

from the parent, provided the medication is: 

1. Administered by a staff 18 years of age or older; 

2. Labeled with the child's name; 

3. In the original container with the manufacturer's 

direction label attached; and 

4. Given only at the dose, duration, and method of 

administration specified on the manufacturer's label for the 

age or weight of the child needing the medication. 

C. When needed, medication shall be refrigerated. 

D. Medication, except for those prescriptions designated 

otherwise by written physician's order, including refrigerated 

medication and staff's personal medication, shall be kept in a 

locked place using a safe locking method that prevents access 

by children. 

E. The vendor shall keep a record of prescription and 

nonprescription medication given to children, which shall 

include the following: 

1. Name of the child to whom medication was 

administered; 

2. Amount and name of medication administered to the 

child; 

3. The day and time the medication was administered to 

the child;  

4. Name of staff administering the medication; 

5. Any adverse reaction; and  

6. Any medication error. 

22VAC40-665-760. First aid and emergency supplies. 

A. The following emergency supplies shall be on each floor 

of each building used by children, accessible to outdoor play 

areas, on field trips, in vehicles used for transportation, and 

wherever children are in care: 

1. A first aid kit that contains at a minimum:  

a. Scissors;  

b. Tweezers;  

c. Gauze pads;  

d. Adhesive tape;  

e. Bandages, assorted types and sizes;  

f. An antiseptic cleansing solution and pads;  

g. Digital thermometer; and 

h. Single-use gloves such as surgical or examination 

gloves. 

2. An ice pack or cooling agent.  

B. Each first aid kit shall be easily accessible to staff but not 

to children. 

C. The following nonmedical emergency supplies shall be 

required:  

1. One working, battery-operated flashlight; and  

2. One working, battery-operated radio.  

22VAC40-665-770. Procedures for emergencies. 

A. The vendor shall have a written emergency preparedness 

plan that addresses staff responsibility and facility readiness 

with respect to emergency evacuation, relocation, lockdown 

and shelter-in-place procedures. The plan shall address the 

most likely to occur emergency scenarios, including severe 

storms, loss of utilities, natural disaster, chemical spills, 

intruder, and violence on or near the facility, and facility 

damage or other situations that may require evacuation, 

lockdown, or shelter-in-place. 

B. The emergency preparedness plan shall contain 

procedural components for:  

1. Evacuation procedures, including:  

a. Scenario applicability;  

b. Methods to alert staff and emergency responders; 

c. Designated primary and secondary routes out of the 

building; 

d. Designated assembly points away from the building; 

e. Designated relocation site; 
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f. Methods to ensure all children are evacuated from the 

building, and if necessary, moved to a relocation site; 

g. Methods to account for all children at the assembly 

point and relocation site; 

h. Method of communication with parents after the 

evacuation or relocation;  

i. Accommodations or special requirements for infants, 

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their 

safety during evacuation or relocation; 

j. Method to ensure essential documents, including 

emergency contact information, attendance records, 

medications, and supplies are taken to the assembly point 

and relocation site; and 

k. Procedures to address reuniting children with a parent 

or an authorized person designated by the parent to pick 

up the child.  

2. Shelter-in-place procedures, including:  

a. Scenario applicability, inside assembly points, primary 

and secondary means of access and egress;  

b. Method to account for all children at the safe 

locations; 

c. Method to ensure essential documents (attendance 

records, emergency contact information, etc.) and special 

health supplies are carried into the designated assembly 

points;  

d. Method of communication after the shelter-in-place;  

e. Accommodations or special requirements for infants, 

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their 

safety during shelter-in-place; and 

f. Procedures to address reuniting children with a parent 

or an authorized person designated by the parent to pick 

up the child.  

3. Lockdown procedures, to include facility containment, 

including: 

a. Methods to alert staff and emergency responders; 

b. Methods to secure the facility and designated 

lockdown locations; 

c. Methods to account for all children in the lockdown 

locations; 

d. Methods of communication with parents and 

emergency responders; 

e. Accommodations or special requirements for infants, 

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their 

safety during lockdown; and 

f. Procedures to address reuniting children with a parent 

or an authorized person designated by the parent to pick 

up the child.  

4. Staff training requirements, drill frequency, and plan 

review and update. 

5. Continuity of operations procedures to ensure that 

essential functions are maintained during an emergency. 

6. Other special procedures developed with local 

authorities.  

C. Emergency evacuation and shelter-in-place procedures or 

maps shall be posted in a location conspicuous to staff and 

children on each floor of each building.  

D. A 911 or local dial number for police, fire, and 

emergency medical services and the number of the regional 

poison control center shall be posted in a visible and 

conspicuous place.  

E. The vendor shall ensure that all staff receives training 

regarding emergency evacuation, relocation, shelter-in-place, 

and lockdown procedures on an annual basis and at the end of 

each plan update. 

F. The vendor shall ensure that the emergency plans are 

reviewed with any volunteers who work more than six hours 

per week prior to volunteering and on an annual basis.  

22VAC40-665-780. Emergency response drills. 

A. The emergency response drills shall be practiced, at a 

minimum: 

1. Evacuation procedures shall be practiced at least 

monthly;  

2. Shelter-in-place procedures shall be practiced twice a 

year; and 

3. Lockdown procedures shall be practiced at least 

annually. 

B. The vendor shall maintain a record of the dates of the 

practice drills for one year. For vendors offering multiple 

shifts, the simulated drills shall be divided evenly among the 

various shifts.  

22VAC40-665-790. Nutrition and food services. 

A. Drinking water shall be accessible to all children. 

B. When vendors provide meals or snacks, the following 

shall apply: 

1. Vendors offering both meals and snacks shall serve a 

variety of nutritious foods and sufficient portions.  

2. Children three years of age or younger shall not be 

offered foods that are considered to be potential choking 

hazards.  
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C. When food is brought from home, the following shall 

apply:  

1. The food container shall be clearly labeled in a way that 

identifies the owner;  

2. The vendor shall have extra food or shall have 

provisions to obtain food to serve to children so that they 

can have an appropriate snack or meal if they forget to 

bring food from home, bring an inadequate meal or snack, 

or bring perishable food; and  

3. Unused portions of opened food shall be discarded by 

the end of the day or returned to the parent.  

D. Food shall be prepared, stored, transported, and served in 

a clean and sanitary manner. 

E. When food is prepared to which a child in care is allergic, 

staff shall take steps to avoid cross contamination in order to 

prevent an allergic reaction. 

F. Staff shall not serve prohibited food to a child.  

G. Tables and high chair trays shall be sanitized before and 

after each use for feeding and cleaned at least daily.  

22VAC40-665-800. Special feeding needs. 

A. High chairs, infant carrier seats, or feeding tables shall be 

used for children less than 12 months who are not held while 

being fed.  

B. When a child is placed in an infant seat, high chair, or 

feeding table, the protective belt shall be fastened securely.  

C. Bottle fed infants who cannot hold their own bottles shall 

be held when fed. Bottles shall not be propped or used while 

the child is in his designated sleeping location.  

D. Infants shall be fed on demand or in accordance with 

parental instructions.  

E. Prepared infant formula shall be refrigerated, dated, and 

labeled with the child's name if more than one infant is in 

care.  

F. Heated formula and baby food shall be stirred or shaken 

and tested for temperature before serving to children.  

G. Milk, formula, or breast milk shall not be heated or 

warmed directly in a microwave. Water for warming milk, 

formula, or breast milk may be heated in a microwave. 

H. Formula or breast milk shall not remain unrefrigerated 

for more than two hours and may not be reheated.  

I. Prepared baby food not consumed during that feeding by 

an infant may be used by that same infant later in the same 

day, provided that the food is not served out of the baby jar 

and is labeled with the child's name, dated, and stored in the 

refrigerator; otherwise, it shall be discarded or returned to the 

parent at the end of the day.  

22VAC40-665-810. Transportation and field trips. 

A. If the vendor provides transportation, the vendor shall be 

responsible for care of the child from the time the child 

boards the vehicle until returned to the parent or person 

designated by the parent.  

B. Drivers must be 18 years of age or older and possess a 

valid driver's license to operate the vehicle being driven. 

C. Any vehicle used by the vendor for the transportation of 

children shall meet the following requirements:  

1. The vehicle shall be manufactured for the purpose of 

transporting people seated in an enclosed area;  

2. The vehicle's seats shall be attached to the floor;  

3. The vehicle shall be insured with at least the minimum 

limits established by Virginia state statutes as required by § 

46.2-472 of the Code of Virginia;  

4. The vehicle shall meet the safety standards set by the 

Department of Motor Vehicles and shall be kept in 

satisfactory condition to assure the safety of children; and  

5. If volunteers supply personal vehicles, the vendor is 

responsible for ensuring that the requirements of this 

subsection are met.  

D. The vendor shall ensure that during transportation of 

children: 

1. Virginia state statutes about safety belts and child 

restraints are followed as required by §§ 46.2-1095 through 

46.2-1100 of the Code of Virginia, and the stated 

maximum number of passengers in a given vehicle is not 

exceeded; 

2. The children remain seated and each child's arms, legs, 

and head remain inside the vehicle;  

3. Doors are closed properly and locked unless locks were 

not installed by the manufacturer of the vehicle;  

4. At least one staff member or the driver always remains 

in the vehicle when children are present; and 

5. Staff has a list of the names of the children being 

transported and allergy care plans, if necessary. 

E. When entering and leaving vehicles, children shall enter 

and leave the vehicle from the curb side of the vehicle or in a 

protected parking area or driveway.  

F. Children shall cross streets at corners or crosswalks or 

other designated safe crossing points if no corner or 

crosswalk is available.  

G. Staff shall verify that all children have been removed 

from the vehicle at the conclusion of any trip. 
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22VAC40-665-820. Animals and pets. 

Animals that are kept on the premises of the center shall be 

vaccinated, if applicable, against diseases that present a 

hazard to the health or safety of children.  

22VAC40-665-830. Evening and overnight care. 

A. All supervision requirements apply during evening and 

overnight care. 

B. For evening care, beds with mattresses or cots with at 

least one inch of dense padding shall be used by children who 

sleep longer than two hours and are not required to sleep in 

cribs.  

C. For overnight care, beds with mattresses or cots with at 

least two inches of dense padding shall be used by children 

who are not required to sleep in cribs.  

D. In addition to 22VAC40-665-720 about linens, bedding 

appropriate to the temperature and other conditions of the rest 

area shall be provided.  

E. When children are eight years of age or older, boys and 

girls shall have separate sleeping areas. 

F. For vendors providing overnight care, an operational tub 

or shower with heated and cold water shall be provided.  

G. When bath towels are used, they shall be assigned for 

individual use. 

H. For children in evening and overnight care, quiet 

activities and experiences shall be available immediately 

before bedtime.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (22VAC40-665) 

Child Care Subsidy Program Child Care Center Vendor 

Agreement, 032-12-0047-01 (rev. 12/2017) 

Child Care Subsidy Program Family Day Home Vendor 

Agreement, 032-12-0046-00 (rev. 12/2017) 

Commonwealth of Virginia Certificate of Religious 

Exemption, Form CRE-1 (rev. 1992) 

Commonwealth of Virginia School Entrance Health Form, 

MCH 213G (rev. 3/2014) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(22VAC40-665) 

Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) Plan for 

Virginia FFY 2016-2018, effective October 1, 2015 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4602; Filed January 11, 2018, 8:14 a.m.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=164c2004602~2t.pdf&typ=40&actno=004602&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=164c2004602~2t.pdf&typ=40&actno=004602&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9ee4004602~3t.pdf&typ=40&actno=004602&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9ee4004602~3t.pdf&typ=40&actno=004602&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6def2004602~52.pdf&typ=40&actno=004602&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6def2004602~52.pdf&typ=40&actno=004602&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b031a004602~4m.pdf&typ=40&actno=004602&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b031a004602~4m.pdf&typ=40&actno=004602&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f581e004602~1&typ=40&actno=004602&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f581e004602~1&typ=40&actno=004602&mime=application/pdf
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER ONE (2018) 

Equal Opportunity 

Importance of the Initiative 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor, I hereby 

declare that it is the firm and unwavering policy of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia to ensure equal opportunity in all 

facets of state government. The foundational tenet of this 

Executive Order is premised upon a steadfast commitment to 

foster a culture of inclusion, diversity, and mutual respect for 

all Virginians. 

This policy specifically prohibits discrimination on the basis 

of race, sex, color, national origin, religion, sexual 

orientation, gender identity or expression, age, political 

affiliation, or against otherwise qualified persons with 

disabilities. The policy permits appropriate employment 

preferences for veterans and specifically prohibits 

discrimination against veterans. 

State appointing authorities and other management principals 

are hereby directed to take affirmative measures, as 

determined by the Director of the Department of Human 

Resource Management, to emphasize the recruitment of 

qualified minorities, women, disabled persons, and older 

Virginians to serve at all levels of state government. This 

directive does not permit or require the lowering of bona fide 

job requirements, performance standards, or qualifications to 

give preference to any state employee or applicant for state 

employment. 

Allegations of violations of this policy shall be brought to the 

attention of the Office of Equal Employment Services of the 

Department of Human Resource Management. No state 

appointing authority, other management principal, or 

supervisor shall take retaliatory actions against persons 

making such allegations. 

Any state employee found in violation of this policy shall be 

subject to appropriate disciplinary action. 

The Secretary of Administration is directed to review and 

update annually state procurement, employment, and other 

relevant policies to ensure compliance with the non-

discrimination mandate contained herein, and shall report to 

the Governor his or her findings together with such 

recommendations as he or she deems appropriate. This review 

shall ensure that state procurement policies fully implement 

and align with the non-discrimination directives in the 

Virginia Public Procurement Act, including its prohibitions 

on discrimination based on race, religion, color, sex, sexual 

orientation, gender identity or expression, national origin, 

age, disability, status as a service disabled veteran, or any 

other basis prohibited by state law relating to discrimination 

in employment. The Director of the Department of Human 

Resource Management shall assist in this review. 

No state employee or agent within the Executive Branch may 

engage in discrimination in the provision of public services 

based on race, religion, color, sex, sexual orientation, gender 

identity or expression, national origin, age, political 

affiliation, disability, or veteran status. Any state employee or 

agent who engages in such discrimination will be subject to 

appropriate disciplinary action. The Department of Human 

Resource Management is directed to promulgate, review and 

update appropriate policies in the Commonwealth's Standards 

of Conduct to implement these requirements in accordance 

with any other applicable laws and regulations. 

This Executive Order supersedes and rescinds Executive 

Order No. 1 (2014), Equal Opportunity, issued by Governor 

Terence R. McAuliffe on January 11, 2014. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall become effective upon its signing 

and shall remain in full force and effect until amended or 

rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 13th day of January 2018. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER TWO (2018) 

Authority and Responsibility of the Chief of Staff 

Importance of the Initiative 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under 

Article V, Sections 1, 7, 8, and 10 of the Constitution of 

Virginia and Sections 2.2-100 and 2.2-104 of the Code of 

Virginia, and subject always to my continuing ultimate 

authority and responsibility to act in such matters and to 

reserve to myself any and all such powers, I hereby affirm 

and delegate to my Chief of Staff the powers and duties 

enumerated below. 

1. To direct, as the deputy planning and budget officer, the 

administration of the state government planning and budget 

process, except as to the responsibilities enumerated below, 

which are retained by me: 

a. Submission of the budget and accompanying documents 

to the General Assembly; 

b. Final review and determination of all proposed 

expenditures and of estimated revenues and borrowings to 

be included in the Executive Budget for each state 

department, division, office, board, commission, institution, 

or other agency or undertaking; 

c. Amendment of Position Levels; and 

d. Authorization of deficits. 
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2. To direct, as the deputy personnel officer, the 

administration of the state government personnel system, 

except as to the responsibility enumerated below, which are 

retained by me: 

a. Final determination with respect to employee 

compensation plans; 

b. Submission of reports to the General Assembly by the 

Governor as required by law; 

c. Issuance, amendment, or suspension of the Rules for the 

Administration of the Virginia Personnel Act; and 

d. Final action on appeals from appointing authorities to the 

Governor. 

3. To review, in the event of my absence or unavailability, 

major planning, budgetary, personnel, policy, and 

legislative matters that require my decision. 

4. To review, in the event of my absence or unavailability, 

policy or operational differences that may arise among or 

between my Secretaries and other Cabinet members. 

5. To administer the direction and supervision of the 

Governor's Office, as well as budgetary and personnel 

authority for the Office. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This Executive Order rescinds Executive Order No. 3 (2014) 

issued on January 11, 2014, by Governor Terence R. 

McAuliffe. This Executive Order shall become effective upon 

its signing and shall remain in full force and effect until 

January 31, 2022, unless amended or rescinded by further 

executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 13th day of January 2018. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER THREE (2018) 

Delegation of Governor's Authority to Declare a 
State of Emergency, to Call the Virginia National 

Guard to Active Service for Emergencies or 
Disasters, and to Declare the Governor Unable to 

Discharge the Powers and Duties of His Office 
When the Governor Cannot Be Reached or is 

Incapacitated 

Importance of the Initiative 

By virtue of the authority vested in me by Section 2.2-104 of 

the Code of Virginia, and subject to the provisions stated 

herein, I hereby affirm and delegate to the Chief of Staff, 

followed in protocol order by the Secretary of Public Safety 

and Homeland Security, the State Coordinator of the Virginia 

Department of Emergency Management, and the Secretary of 

Veterans and Defense Affairs, my authorities under Sections 

44-146.17 and 44-75.1 of the Code of Virginia, to declare a 

state of emergency and to call forth the Virginia National 

Guard or any part thereof to state-active duty in any of the 

circumstances outlined in subsections 4 and 5 of Section 44-

75.1 A. 

I further hereby affirm and delegate to the Chief of Staff, my 

authority under Article V Section 16 of the Constitution and 

under Section 24.2-211 of the Code of Virginia to transmit to the 

President pro tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the 

House of Delegates, a declaration that I am unable to discharge 

the powers and duties of the Governor's office. Each of these 

declarations is subject to the following conditions: 

1. Such delegation is subject always to my continuing, 

ultimate authority and responsibility to act in such matters, 

and in the case of a declaration that I am unable to 

discharge the powers and duties of my office, my ability to 

transmit to the Clerk of the Senate and Clerk of the House 

of Delegates my written declaration that no inability 

continues to exist and to resume the powers and duties of 

my office. 

2. Use of this delegation is contingent upon my being 

unable to be reached so as to give my approval for the 

declaration of a state of emergency, as defined in Section 

44-146.16 of the Code of Virginia, or use of the Virginia 

National Guard. 

3. Use of this delegation to declare that I am unable to 

discharge the powers and duties of my office is specifically 

contingent upon my being unable to be reached or 

otherwise incapacitated for over 24 hours and the 

unavailability of any one of the Attorney General, President 

pro tempore of the Senate, or the Speaker of the House of 

Delegates. 

4. This delegation is strictly standby in nature, to be held in 

abeyance until such time as there may be explicit 

circumstances involving an emergency whereby human 

lives and public and private property are threatened in the 

event of natural or man-made emergencies or disasters. 

5. If the authority granted under this Executive Order is 

used, the Lieutenant Governor and I shall be informed of 

such use as soon as practicable. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This Executive Order rescinds Executive Order No. 4 (2014) 

issued on January 11, 2014 (revised January 13, 2014), by 

Governor Terence R. McAuliffe. This Executive Order shall 

become effective upon its signing and shall remain in full 

force and effect until January 31, 2022, unless amended or 

rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 13th day of January 2018. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Air State Implementation Plan Revision 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 

proposed revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia State 

Implementation Plan (SIP). The SIP is a plan developed by 

the Commonwealth in order to fulfill its responsibilities under 

the federal Clean Air Act to attain and maintain the ambient 

air quality standards promulgated by the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency (EPA) under the Act. The Commonwealth 

intends to submit the regulation amendments to EPA as a 

revision to the SIP in accordance with the requirements of 

§ 110(a) of the federal Clean Air Act. 

Regulations affected: The regulation of the board affected by 

this action is Part I, NOX Budget Trading Program, 9VAC5-

140 (Regulation for Emissions Trading Programs). 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comment on the issue of 

whether the regulation amendments should be submitted as a 

revision to the SIP. 

Public comment period: February 5, 2018, to March 7, 2018. 

Public hearing: A public hearing may be conducted if a 

request is made in writing to the contact listed below. In order 

to be considered, the request must include the full name, 

address, and telephone number of the person requesting the 

hearing and be received by DEQ by the last day of the 

comment period. Notice of the date, time, and location of any 

requested public hearing will be announced in a separate 

notice, and another 30-day comment period will be 

conducted. 

Public comment stage: The regulation amendments are 

exempt from the state administrative procedures for adoption 

of regulations contained in Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act by the provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the 

Administrative Process Act because they are necessary to 

meet the requirements of the federal Clean Air Act and do not 

differ materially from the pertinent EPA regulations. Since 

the amendments are exempt from administrative procedures 

for the adoption of regulations, DEQ is accepting comment 

only on the issue cited above under "purpose of notice" and 

not on the content of the regulation amendments. 

Description of proposal: The transport of nitrogen oxides 

(NOX) across state lines, which contributes to the formation 

of ozone, was first addressed by EPA's NOX Budget Trading 

Program as implemented via the NOX State Implementation 

Plan (SIP) Call. This program controlled NOX emissions 

primarily from electric generating units (EGUs) as well as 

certain types of non-EGUs. In turn, the State Air Pollution 

Control Board implemented these federal requirements under 

its own NOX SIP Call Rule (Part I of 9VAC5-140). 

Subsequently, EPA's NOX SIP Call Rule was superseded by 

the Clean Air Interstate Rule (CAIR), which was in turn 

superseded by the Cross-State Air Pollution Rule (CSAPR). 

Although the state is now subject to CSAPR, and both the 

NOX SIP Call Rule (with respect to EGUs) and CAIR are no 

longer in effect, non-EGUs cannot be brought into the 

Transport Rule trading programs, and the NOX SIP Call 

regulations applicable to non-EGUs must be retained. The 

purpose of this action is to remove unnecessary federal 

requirements while retaining those requirements needed to 

control emissions from non-EGUs. This will ensure that 

Virginia is properly meeting federal requirements for the 

control of NOX. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 

public participation requirements of federal regulations 

(40 CFR 51.102) and not any provision of state law. The 

proposal will be submitted as a revision to the 

Commonwealth of Virginia SIP under § 110(a) of the federal 

Clean Air Act in accordance with 40 CFR 51.104. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments 

must include the full name, address, and telephone number of 

the person commenting and be received by DEQ by the last 

day of the comment period. All comments, exhibits, and 

documents received are part of the public record. 

To review regulation documents: The proposal and any 

supporting documents are available on the DEQ Air Public 

Notices for Plans website at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airp

lansandprograms.aspx. The documents may also be obtained 

by contacting the DEQ representative named below. The 

public may review the documents between 8:30 a.m. and 

4:30 p.m. of each business day until the close of the public 

comment period at the following DEQ locations:  

1) Main Street Office, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4070,  

2) Southwest Regional Office, 355 Deadmore Street, 

Abingdon, VA, telephone (276) 676-4800,  

3) Blue Ridge Regional Office, 3019 Peters Creek Road, 

Roanoke, VA, telephone (540) 562-6700,  

4) Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, Harrisonburg, 

VA, telephone (540) 574-7800,  

5) Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen 

Allen, VA, telephone (804) 527-5020,  

6) Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 

Woodbridge, VA, telephone (703) 583-3800, and  

7) Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA, telephone (757) 518-2000. 

Contact Information: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, (804) 698-4423, FAX 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
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(804) 698-4319, or email 

karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

TPE Pamplin2 Small Renewable Energy Project 
(Solar) Permit by Rule - Prince Edward County 

TPE Pamplin2 Solar, an entity owned by TurningPoint 

Energy (the client), has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Pamplin, Prince Edward 

County, Virginia, pursuant to Virginia regulation. The site 

comprises approximately 309 acres of land (site) and is 

located off Good Hope Road in Pamplin, Prince Edward 

County. According to client provided details and the Prince 

Edward County GIS website, the site is comprised of two 

parcels (Prince Edward County Parcel ID #'s 043 A 36 and 

044 A 83) that consist of cleared and undeveloped wooded 

land. The proposed project is anticipated to be an 

approximately 15.6-megawatt alternating current solar power 

plant and will include photovoltaic panels and supporting 

steel frames. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 

mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of Health is 

conducting a periodic review and small business impact 

review of 12VAC5-20, Regulations for the Conduct of 

Human Research. The review of this regulation will be 

guided by the principles in Executive Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins February 5, 2018, and ends 

February 26, 2018. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Janice Hicks, Policy Planning Specialist, 

Virginia Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7686, FAX (804) 

864-7652, or email janice.hicks@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

January 2018 - Drinking Water State Revolving 
Funds Deadlines 

The Virginia Department of Health (VDH) is pleased to 

announce several opportunities for funding drinking water 

infrastructure. All applications may be submitted year round; 

however, VDH will conduct one round of evaluations for 

requests submitted by the deadline. Applications postmarked 

or received after the due date will be considered for funding 

in the following round. Funding is made possible by the 

Drinking Water State Revolving Fund (DWSRF) Program 

and the Water Supply Assistance Grant Fund (WSAG) 

Program (if funds are available). The Fiscal Year 2019 

DWSRF Intended Use Plan will be developed using public 

input on these issues. 

(1) Public Comments and Set-Aside Suggestions Invited 

(Submission deadline April 1, 2018): 

To identify ways to improve the program, VDH seeks 

meaningful input from the public, the waterworks industry, 

or any other interested party. Anyone may make comments 

or recommendations to support or revise the program. 

Anyone has the opportunity to suggest new or continuing 

set-aside (nonconstruction) activities. Set-aside funds help 

VDH assist waterworks owners prepare for future drinking 

water challenges and assure the sustainability of safe 

drinking water. 

(2) Construction and Refinance Fund Requests 

(Application deadline April 1, 2018): 

Owners of community waterworks and nonprofit 

noncommunity waterworks are eligible to apply for 

construction funds. VDH makes selections based on criteria 

described in the DWSRF Program Design Manual, such as 

existing public health problems, noncompliance, 

affordability, regionalization, the availability of matching 

funds. VDH anticipates a funding level of $25 million. 

(3) 1452(k) Source Water Protection Initiatives 

(Application deadline April 1, 2018): 

mailto:karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:janice.hicks@vdh.virginia.gov
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Loan funds are available to (1) community and nonprofit 

noncommunity waterworks to acquire land or conservation 

easements and (2) community waterworks, only to 

establish local voluntary incentive-based protection 

measures. 

(4) Lead Service Line (LSL) Replacement Program 

(Application deadline April 1, 2018): 

In an effort to accelerate the removal of lead in drinking 

water, the DWSRF Program has made funding available for 

the complete removal of the public or private portion of the 

LSLs. In conjunction with other available funds this 

program intends to provide up to $5000 as grant funds (of 

which up to $500 may be eligible as an administrative fee) 

for each service line replaced on the homeowners side of 

the meter. The LSL includes pipe entry into the structure 

(up to and including a shut-off valve) but excludes the 

premise plumbing. 

(5) Planning and Design Awards (Applications received 

and reviewed for award year-round.): 

Private and public owners of community and nonprofit 

noncommunity waterworks are eligible to apply for funds, 

which can be up to $50,000 per project, for small, 

financially stressed waterworks serving fewer than 10,000 

persons. Eligible projects may include preliminary 

engineering planning, design of plans and specifications, 

performance of source water quality and quantity studies, 

drilling test wells to determine source feasibility, or other 

similar technical assistance projects. These funds are to 

assist waterworks' owners with future applications to 

construction funding agencies. 

The VDH's DWSRF Program Design Manual describes the 

features of the above opportunities for funding. After 

receiving public input, VDH will develop an Intended Use 

Plan (IUP) for public review and comment. When developed, 

the IUP will describe specific details for use of the funds. A 

public meeting is planned and written comments will be 

accepted before submittal of a final version to the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency for approval. 

Applications, set-aside suggestion forms, program design 

manuals, and information materials are available on the VDH 

website at http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-

water/financial-construction-assistance-programs/drinking-

water-funding-program-details/. This information can also be 

obtained from Steven Pellei, PE, FCAP Director, by 

telephone (804) 864-7500, FAX (804) 864-7521, or postal 

mail Virginia Department of Health, Office of Drinking 

Water, 109 Governor Street, 6th Floor, Richmond, VA 

23219. Comments can be directed to Mr. Pellei. 

Announcing Drinking Water Construction Funding 

Workshops 

VDH will offer funding informational meetings via webcast. 

At least one workshop will be recorded for future play back. 

The webcast is tentatively scheduled for February 20, 2018. 

Please check the VDH website at 

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/financial-

construction-assistance-programs/drinking-water-funding-

program-details/. 

Material will focus on drinking water construction funding 

available through VDH. The Drinking Water State Revolving 

Loan Fund Program will be discussed. 

Viewers will be advised on program updates and then guided 

through program criteria, program applications, and the 

project scheduling steps needed for smooth project 

implementation. 

BOARD OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Durable Medical Equipment Provider Manual 
(Appendix B) Draft for Stakeholder Input 

Comment period: January 11, 2018, through February 10, 

2018. 

The draft versions of Appendix B of the Durable Medical 

Equipment (DME) and Supplies Provider Manual are posted 

on the DMAS website at 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_pgs/pd-pmnl.aspx for 

public comment through February 10, 2018.  

Overview of Changes: Changes have been made to multiple 

sections of the Appendix B; please refer to each section of the 

Appendix B for changes to that section. All changes are noted 

in bold with effective dates noted at the bottom of each 

appendix. The changes are effective for dates of service on or 

after January 1, 2018. 

The DME Appendices will be finalized and officially posted 

by February 15, 2018, 

at https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/porta

l/ProviderManuals. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Special Order for E.T. Gresham 
Company Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for E.T. Gresham 

Company Inc. for violations at Building 0841 located on 

Camp Peary in York County, Virginia. The State Water 

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/financial-construction-assistance-programs/drinking-water-funding-program-details/
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/financial-construction-assistance-programs/drinking-water-funding-program-details/
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/financial-construction-assistance-programs/drinking-water-funding-program-details/
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/financial-construction-assistance-programs/drinking-water-funding-program-details/
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/financial-construction-assistance-programs/drinking-water-funding-program-details/
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/financial-construction-assistance-programs/drinking-water-funding-program-details/
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_pgs/pd-pmnl.aspx
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/ProviderManuals
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/ProviderManuals
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
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Control Board proposes to issue a special order by consent to 

E.T. Gresham Company Inc. to address noncompliance with 

the State Water Control Law and regulations. A description of 

the proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Kristen Sadtler will accept comments 

by email at kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 

698-4277, or postal mail at Department of Environmental 

Quality, Central Office, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, from February 5, 2018, to March 7, 2018. 

Announcement of a Rescheduled Public Meeting 
and Notice of Public Comment for a Water Quality 

Study (TMDL) for the Rudee Inlet Watershed 

Public meeting: A rescheduled final public meeting will be 

held Tuesday, February 6, 2018, at 6 p.m. at the Department 

of Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, located 

at 5636 Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462. The 

original meeting was scheduled for January 10, 2018, but 

after inclement weather, was postponed. This meeting will be 

open to the public and all are welcome to participate. In the 

case of inclement weather, an alternate meeting will occur on 

Wednesday, February 7, 2018, at 6 p.m. at the same location. 

For more information, please contact Rachel Hamm at 

telephone (757) 518-2024 or email 

rachel.hamm@deq.virginia.gov. 

Purpose of meeting: The Department of Environmental 

Quality (DEQ) and its contractors, the Virginia Institute of 

Marine Science, have developed a draft water quality report 

on the bacteria impairments in the Rudee Inlet watershed 

located in Virginia Beach, Virginia. A public meeting will be 

held to introduce the local community to the total maximum 

daily loads (TMDLs) for bacteria and gather public comment 

on the draft report. A public comment period on the draft 

TMDL report will occur January 11, 2018 until February 19, 

2018. 

Description of study: Portions of the Rudee Inlet watershed 

including Lake Rudee, Lake Wesley, and Owl Creek were 

identified in Virginia's 2014 Water Quality Assessment and 

Integrated Report as impaired due to violations of the state's 

water quality standards for Enterococci and fecal coliform 

and do not support the designated uses of "primary contact 

(recreational or swimming)" and "shellfishing." Section 

303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C of the 

Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 

pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 

Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report. 

Reductions and TMDLs for the causes of the impairments 

have been developed and are available for community review 

in the TMDL report located online at the following link: 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn

formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLR

eports.aspx. 

How to comment and participate: The meetings of the TMDL 

process are open to the public, and all interested parties are 

welcome. Written comments will be accepted through 

February 19, 2018, and should include the name, address, and 

telephone number of the person submitting the comments. 

For more information or to submit written comments, please 

contact Rachel Hamm, Department of Environmental Quality, 

Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 518-2024, FAX 

(757) 518-2009, or email rachel.hamm@deq.virginia.gov. 

Public Meeting and 30-day Public Comment Period 
on a Draft Total Maximum Daily Load 

Implementation Plan 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 

written and oral comments from interested persons in a total 

maximum daily load (TMDL) implementation plan for the 

Powell River watershed in Lee and Wise Counties. There are 

10 different impaired stream segments in this area, including 

Butcher Fork, South Fork Powell River, North Fork Powell 

River, and Powell River. All segments are listed as impaired 

on Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report due to 

violations of the state's water quality standard for bacteria and 

aquatic life. A complete list of the Powell River and tributary 

impairment segments, listing years, river miles, and locations 

can be found at 

http://bit.do/DEQPowellandTributaries_Impairments. 

The implementation plan (IP) will provide measurable goals, 

corrective actions needed, and associated costs, benefits, and 

environmental impacts. The draft IP can be found on the DEQ 

website under "Draft TMDL Implementation Plans": 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/programs/water/waterqualityinfo

rmationtmdls/tmdl/tmdlimplementation/tmdlimplementationp

lans.aspx. 

DEQ completed bacteria and benthic TMDL for the Powell 

River and tributaries in 2011. The TMDL was approved by 

the Environmental Protection Agency in March of 2011 and 

is available on the DEQ website at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/ap

ptmdls/tenbigrvr/powell.pdf. 

DEQ will host two public meetings to present the draft 

TMDL implementation plan for the Powell River because of 

the large geographic size of the watershed. One meeting will 

be held on Tuesday, February 6, 2018, from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. 

at the Pennington Gap Community Center, 41670 West 

Morgan Avenue, Pennington Gap, VA 24277. The other 

meeting will be held Thursday, February 8, 2018, from 6 p.m. 

to 8 p.m. at the Big Stone Gap Visitor Center, 306 Wood 

Avenue East, Big Stone Gap, VA 24219. In the event of 

inclement weather, please call the number below to confirm 

postponement of the meeting. 

A 30-day public comment period for the meetings will begin 

February 6, 2018, and end March 6, 2018. Written comments 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:rachel.hamm@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLD%20evelopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLD%20evelopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLD%20evelopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx
mailto:rachel.hamm@deq.virginia.gov
http://bit.do/DEQPowellandTributaries_Impairments
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/programs/water/waterqualityinformationtmdls/tmdl/tmdlimplementation/tmdlimplementationplans.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/programs/water/waterqualityinformationtmdls/tmdl/tmdlimplementation/tmdlimplementationplans.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/programs/water/waterqualityinformationtmdls/tmdl/tmdlimplementation/tmdlimplementationplans.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/apptmdls/tenbigrvr/powell.pdf
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/apptmdls/tenbigrvr/powell.pdf
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should include the name, address, and telephone number of 

the person submitting the comments and should be sent to 

Stephanie Kreps, Southwest Regional Office, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 355A Deadmore Street, Abingdon, 

VA 24210, telephone (276) 676-4803, or emailed to 

stephanie.kreps@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ERRATA 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-73. Standards for Licensed 

Assisted Living Facilities. 

Publication: 34:6 VA.R. 645-705 November 13, 2017 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 668, 22VAC40-73-310, subdivision H 3, line 3, after 

"Virginia" change "except" to "or"  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3227; Filed January 29, 2018 
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