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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Gregory D. Habeeb; Jay Leftwich; Ryan T. McDougle; Robert L. 

Calhoun; Rita Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. 

Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. 

Towell; Mark J. Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Acting Registrar of 

Regulations; Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Alexandra Stewart, 
Regulations Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, 

Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

May 2018 through April 2019 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

34:19 April 25, 2018 May 14, 2018 

34:20 May 9, 2018 May 28, 2018 

34:21 May 23, 2018 June 11, 2018 

34:22 June 6, 2018 June 25, 2018 

34:23 June 20, 2018 July 9, 2018 

34:24 July 3, 2018 (Tuesday) July 23, 2018 

34:25 July 18, 2018 August 6, 2018 

34:26 August 1, 2018 August 20, 2018 

35:1 August 15, 2018 September 3, 2018 

35:2 August 29, 2018 September17, 2018 

35:3 September 12, 2018 October 1, 2018 

35:4 September 26, 2018 October 15, 2018 

35:5 October 10, 2018 October 29, 2018 

35:6 October 24, 2018 November 12, 2018 

35:7 November 7, 2018 November 26, 2018 

35:8 November 19, 2018 (Monday) December 10, 2018 

35:9 December 5, 2018 December 24, 2018 

35:10 December 14, 2018 (Friday) January 7, 2019 

35:11 January 2, 2019 January 21, 2019 

35:12 January 16, 2019 February 4, 2019 

35:13 January 30, 2019 February18, 2019 

35:14 February 13, 2019 March 4, 2019 

35:15 February 27, 2019 March 18, 2019 

35:16 March 13, 2019 April 1, 2019 

35:17 March 27, 2019 April 15, 2019 

35:18 April 10, 2019 April 29, 2019 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC125-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Psychology. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Andrew Byrnes. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend 18VAC125-20-43 

to allow an Employment Verification Form from a third party 

employer contracting to provide psychological services to a 

local school system. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition has been filed with the Registrar of 

Regulations for publication on May 14, 2018, with a request 

for comment to be received until June 13, 2018. The petition 

will also be posted for comment on the Virginia Regulatory 

Town Hall at www.townhall.virginia.gov. At the next 

meeting after the comment period, which is scheduled for 

July 9, 2018, the board will consider the petition and any 

comment received to decide whether or not to initiate the 

rulemaking process. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 13, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-30; Filed April 13, 2018, 3:41 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMISSION ON THE VIRGINIA ALCOHOL SAFETY 
ACTION PROGRAM 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC35-60. Ignition Interlock 

Program Regulations. 

Statutory Authority: § 18.2-270.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: David Hites. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: On April 15, 2018, citing 

§ 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, David Hites submitted the 

below petition to the Commission on the Virginia Alcohol 

Safety Action Program (VASAP). The petition is in regard to 

the definition of "alcohol" in 24VAC35-60-20 as it relates to 

"alcohol specific" ignition interlock devices.  

"Under § 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, I David Hites 

submit the following petition to the Commission on VASAP: 

Suspend all future ignition interlock device installations in 

Virginia until a 100% ethanol specific device can be 

developed as is required by law. The current technology 

being used is NOT specific to ethanol as required by 

24VAC35-60-70. The Commission on VASAP cannot allow 

electrochemical fuel cells to be used on breath alcohol 

ignition interlock devices as they are not specific to ethanol, 

but the problem is that the law requires only this technology 

which impedes development of newer (lawful) and better 

technology. I suggest that someone propose an amendment to 

the legislation allowing use of any technology that is specific 

to ethanol. Until then, all new installations must be suspended 

as they are ILLEGAL! The vendors cannot meet the terms of 

their contracts. They are subject to the paradox the law has 

created. At the March 2018 commission meeting, one 

interlock vendor, Alcolock, was under scrutiny for using a 

non-ethanol-specific device to which Alcohol 

Countermeasure Systems CEO Felix Comeaux admitted, as 

evidenced in the March 2018 commission quarterly meeting 

minutes, that his devices do detect other alcohols. Since it is 

now known and acknowledged that breath alcohol ignition 

interlock devices, due to the nature of their technology being 

an electrochemical fuel cell, can and do detect other 

substances to a degree that would cause an interlock user to 

fail a breath test, the vendors are not following Virginia law, 

which means the vendors are all in breach of contract with the 

state. Virginia law states: 24VAC35-60-20 "Alcohol" means 

ethyl alcohol, also called ethanol (C2H5OH). 24VAC35-60-70 

"F. Except where otherwise required in this chapter, all 

ignition interlock devices shall meet the model specifications 

for Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Devices as set forth in 

the most current model specifications published in the Federal 

Register by the National Highway Traffic Safety 

Administration and operate reliably over the range of motor 

vehicle environments or motor vehicle manufacturing 

standards. At a minimum, the following specifications shall 

be met: Paragraph 3. The ignition interlock device shall be 

alcohol specific, using an electrochemical fuel cell that reacts 

to and measures alcohol, minimizing positive results from 

other substances. Since alcohol is defined as ethanol and 

interlock devices must be ALCOHOL specific, that would 

mean that ignition interlocks must measure ethanol ONLY 

and no other substance, including other alcohols. Since 

vendors' contracts stipulate that they will obey all Virginia 

laws, they have all violated the above statutes and have 

therefore violated their contracts. I am requesting that all 

ignition interlock vendors be suspended from taking on new 

clients until an ethanol specific device is developed." 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petitioner's 

request will be considered at the next meeting of the 

Commission on VASAP on June 8, 2018. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 3, 2018. 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
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Agency Contact: Richard Foy, Field Services Specialist, 

Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, 

701 East Franklin Street, Suite 1110, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-5895, or email rfoy@vasap.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-31; Filed April 16, 2018, 1:52 p.m. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-490. Pertaining to Sharks 

(amending 4VAC20-490-40, 4VAC20-490-41, 4VAC20-

490-42, 4VAC20-490-48).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 

247-2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish the May 1, 2018, through April 

30, 2019, commercial spiny dogfish harvest quota as 

4,123,239 pounds and modify harvest limits. 

4VAC20-490-40. Recreational catch harvest limitations.  

A. Recreational fishing vessels are allowed a maximum 

possession limit of one recreationally permitted shark, 

excluding smooth dogfish, per trip, regardless of the number 

of people on board the vessel. In addition, each recreational 

vessel angler may possess one bonnethead and one Atlantic 

sharpnose per trip. The possession aboard a vessel of more 

than one recreationally permitted shark, excluding smooth 

dogfish, or the possession of more than one Atlantic 

sharpnose shark or one bonnethead shark, per person, shall 

constitute a violation of this regulation. When fishing from 

any boat or vessel where the entire catch is held in a common 

hold or container, the possession limits for Atlantic sharpnose 

shark or bonnethead shark shall be for the boat or vessel and 

shall be equal to the number of persons on board legally 

eligible to fish, plus one additional recreationally permitted 

shark. The captain or operator of the boat or vessel shall be 

responsible for any boat or vessel possession limits. 

B. A recreational shore angler is allowed a maximum 

possession limit of one recreationally permitted shark, 

excluding smooth dogfish, per calendar day. In addition a 

recreational shore angler may harvest one additional 

bonnethead and one additional Atlantic sharpnose per 

calendar day. The possession of more than one recreationally 

permitted shark, excluding smooth dogfish, or the possession 

of more than one bonnethead and one Atlantic sharpnose, by 

any person, shall constitute a violation of this regulation. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any 

recreationally prohibited shark. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any 

recreationally permitted shark landed under the recreational 

catch harvest limitations described in this section that is less 

than 54 inches in fork length except as described in 

subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection: 

1. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any 

recreationally caught great hammerhead, scalloped 

hammerhead, or smooth hammerhead shark that is less 

than 78 inches in fork length. 

2. Atlantic sharpnose, bonnethead, finetooth, blacknose, 

and smooth dogfish sharks are exempt from the 

recreational size limit described in this subsection. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, harvest, land, 

or possess any blacktip, bull, great hammerhead, lemon, 

nurse, scalloped hammerhead, smooth hammerhead, spinner 

or tiger shark from May 15 through July 15 of any calendar 

year.  

F. All sharks must have heads, tails and fins attached 

naturally to the carcass. Anglers may gut and bleed the 

carcass as long as the head and tail are not removed. Filleting 

any shark is prohibited until that shark is offloaded at the 

dock or on shore. 

4VAC20-490-41. Commercial catch harvest limitations.  

A. Beginning January 1 of any given year it shall be 

unlawful for any person to possess on board a vessel or to 

land in Virginia more than a combined total of 36 

commercially permitted aggregated large coastal sharks and 

commercially permitted hammerhead sharks in one 24-hour 

period, unless the Marine Resources Commission has posted 

notice of any change to possession limits on its website at 

http://mrc.virginia.gov/Regulations/VA-commercial-shark-

possession-limits.shtm. The person who owns or operates the 

vessel is responsible for compliance with the provisions of 

this subsection. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to fillet a shark until 

that shark is offloaded at the dock or on shore, except smooth 

http://mrc.virginia.gov/Regulations/VA-commercial-shark-possession-limits.shtm
http://mrc.virginia.gov/Regulations/VA-commercial-shark-possession-limits.shtm
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dogfish as provided in subsection C of this section. A 

licensed commercial fisherman may eviscerate and remove 

the head of any shark, but the tail and all fins of any shark, 

except smooth dogfish as provided in subsection C of this 

section, shall remain naturally attached to the carcass through 

landing. The fins of any shark, except smooth dogfish, may 

be partially cut but some portion of the fin shall remain 

attached, until the shark is landed. 

C. Virginia licensed commercial fishermen may completely 

process smooth dogfish at sea prior to landing when the 

harvest of smooth dogfish comprises at least 25% by weight 

of the total retained harvest, except that it shall be unlawful 

for anyone to land or possess on board any vessel any amount 

of processed smooth dogfish whereby the total weight of fins 

exceeds 12% of the total dressed weight of any smooth 

dogfish.  

D. It shall be unlawful to possess, on board a vessel, or to 

land in Virginia any species of shark, after the National 

Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Fisheries 

has closed the fishery for that species in federal waters. 

E. There are no commercial trip limits or possession limits 

for smooth dogfish or sharks on the lists of commercially 

permitted pelagic species or commercially permitted 

nonblacknose species.  

F. Except as described in this section, it shall be unlawful 

for any person to take, harvest, land, or possess in Virginia 

any blacktip, bull, great hammerhead, lemon, nurse, scalloped 

hammerhead, silky, smooth hammerhead, spinner, or tiger 

shark from May 15 through July 15. These sharks may be 

transported by vessel, in Virginia waters, during the closed 

season provided the sharks were caught in a legal manner 

consistent with federal regulations outside Virginia waters 

and: 

1. The vessel does not engage in fishing in Virginia waters 

while possessing the species listed in this subsection; and  

2. All fishing gear aboard the vessel is stowed and not 

available for immediate use. 

G. It shall be unlawful for any person to retain, possess, or 

purchase any commercially prohibited shark or any research 

only shark, except as provided in subsection I of this section. 

H. All sharks harvested from state waters or federal waters, 

for commercial purposes, shall only be sold to a federally 

permitted shark dealer. 

I. The commissioner may grant exemptions from the 

seasonal closure, quota, possession limit, size limit, gear 

restrictions, and prohibited species restrictions. Exemptions 

shall be granted only for display or research purposes. Any 

person granted an exemption for the harvest of any shark for 

research or display shall report the species, weight, location 

caught, and gear used for each shark collected within 30 days. 

Any person granted a permit to possess any shark for research 

or display shall provide the commissioner on an annual basis 

information on the location and status of the shark throughout 

the life of the shark. 

4VAC20-490-42. Spiny dogfish commercial quota and 

catch harvest limitations.  

A. From May 1 of the current calendar year through April 

30 of the following calendar year, the commercial spiny 

dogfish landings quota shall be limited to 4,220,814 

4,123,239 pounds. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, harvest, or 

possess aboard any vessel or to land in Virginia any spiny 

dogfish harvested from federal waters for commercial 

purposes after it has been announced that the federal quota for 

spiny dogfish has been taken. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, harvest, or 

possess aboard any vessel or to land in Virginia more than 

5,250 6,000 pounds of spiny dogfish per day for commercial 

purposes. However, if landings are less than 80% of the quota 

specified in subsection A of this section, by February 15, 

2017, it shall be unlawful to take, harvest, or possess aboard 

any vessel or to land in Virginia more than 6,000 pounds of 

spiny dogfish per day for commercial purposes.  

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or to land in 

Virginia any spiny dogfish for commercial purposes after the 

quota specified in subsection A of this section has been 

landed and announced as such. 

E. Any spiny dogfish harvested from state waters or federal 

waters, for commercial purposes, shall only be sold to a 

federally permitted dealer. 

F. It shall be unlawful for any buyer of seafood to receive 

any spiny dogfish after any commercial harvest or landing 

quota described in this section has been attained and 

announced as such. 

4VAC20-490-48. Smooth dogfish commercial quota and 

catch harvest limitations. 

A. The annual commercial quota for smooth dogfish shall be 

922,030 pounds in dressed weight. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, harvest, or 

possess aboard any vessel or to land in Virginia any smooth 

dogfish harvested from federal waters once the National 

Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Fisheries 

has determined and announced that 80% of the smooth 

dogfish coastwide quota has been harvested. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or to land in 

Virginia any smooth dogfish for commercial purposes after 

the quota specified in subsection A of this section has been 

landed and announced as such. 
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D. Any smooth dogfish harvested from state waters or 

federal waters for commercial purposes shall only be sold to a 

federally permitted dealer. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any buyer of seafood to receive 

any smooth dogfish harvested from federal waters once 

NOAA Fisheries has determined and announced that 80% of 

the smooth dogfish coastwide quota has been harvested. 

F. It shall be unlawful for any buyer of seafood to receive 

any smooth dogfish after the commercial quota specified in 

subsection A of this section has been attained and announced 

as such. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5482; Filed April 25, 2018, 10:32 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-752. Pertaining to Blue Crab 

Sanctuaries (amending 4VAC20-752-30).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 

247-2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments change the start of the season closure to 

crab harvesting in Areas 2, 3, and 4 of the Blue Crab 

Sanctuary to May 16. 

4VAC20-752-30. Harvest restrictions.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to conduct 

commercial or recreational crabbing within Virginia Blue 

Crab Sanctuary Area 1A from June 1 through September 15. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to conduct commercial 

or recreational crabbing within Virginia Blue Crab Sanctuary 

Area 1B and 3 from May 16 through September 15. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to conduct commercial 

or recreational crabbing within Virginia Blue Crab Sanctuary 

Area 3 from May 9 through September 15. 

D. C. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, harvest, or 

possess crabs for commercial purposes from Virginia Blue 

Crab Sanctuary Areas 2 and 4 from May 9 16 through 

September 15. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5483; Filed April 25, 2018, 10:37 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1120. Pertaining to Tilefish 

and Grouper (amending 4VAC20-1120-20, 4VAC20-1120-

30, 4VAC20-1120-35, 4VAC20-1120-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 

247-2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish the 2018 open recreational 

season from May 1 through October 31 and adopt a 

recreational possession limit of (i) three blueline tilefish 

per person per trip aboard a private vessel, (ii) five 

blueline tilefish per person per trip aboard a for-hire 

vessel that has been issued a valid Tilefish Charter/Party 

Permit but does not have a current U.S. Coast Guard 

certificate of inspection, and (iii) seven blueline tilefish per 

person per trip aboard a for-hire vessel that has both a 

valid Tilefish Charter/Party Permit and a current U.S. 

Coast Guard certificate of inspection. 

4VAC20-1120-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"Commercial fishing" or "fishing commercially" or 

"commercial fishery" means fishing by any person where the 

catch is for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose, or 

is intended for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose. 

"Grouper" means any of the following species: 

Black grouper, Mycteroperca bonaci 

Coney, Cephalopholis fulva 

Gag grouper, Mycteroperca microlepis 

Goliath grouper, Epinephelus itajara 

Graysby, Cephalopholis cruentata 

Misty grouper, Epinephelus mystacinus 

Nassau grouper, Epinephelus striatus 

Red grouper, Epinephelus morio 

Red Hind, Epinephelus guttatus 
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Rock Hind, Epinephelus adscensionis 

Scamp, Mycteroperca phenax 

Snowy grouper, Epinephelus niveatus 

Speckled Hind, Epinephelus drummondhayi 

Tiger grouper, Mycteroperca tigris 

Warsaw grouper, Epinephelus nigritus 

Wreckfish, Polyprion americanus 

Yellowedge grouper, Epinephelus flavolimbatus 

Yellowfin grouper, Mycteroperca venenosa 

Yellowmouth grouper, Mycteroperca interstitialis 

"Recreational fishing" or "fishing recreationally" or 

"recreationally fishing" means fishing by any person, whether 

licensed or exempted from licensing, where the catch is not 

for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose, or is not 

intended for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose. 

"Recreational vessel" means any private or rental vessel, 

kayak, charter vessel, or headboat participating in the 

recreational tilefish and grouper fishery. 

"Tilefish" means any of the following species: 

Blueline tilefish, Caulolatilus microps 

Golden tilefish, Lopholatilus chamaeleonticeps 

Sand tilefish, Malacanthus plumieri 

4VAC20-1120-30. Recreational harvest and possession 

limit. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to possess or land more than eight golden tilefish in Virginia 

tidal waters.  

B. The recreational harvest, landing, and possession limit for 

blueline tilefish for any person fishing from a private or rental 

vessel shall be three fish. The recreational harvest, landing, 

and possession limit for blueline tilefish for any person 

fishing from a for-hire vessel that has been issued a valid 

Tilefish Charter/Party Permit but does not have a current U.S. 

Coast Guard certificate of inspection shall be five blueline 

tilefish per person per trip. The recreational harvest, landing, 

and possession limit for blueline tilefish for any person 

fishing from a for-hire vessel that has both a valid Tilefish 

Charter/Party Permit and a current U.S. Coast Guard 

certificate of inspection shall be seven blueline tilefish per 

person per trip. 

C. The recreational harvest, landing, and possession limit for 

grouper, as described in 4VAC20-1120-20, shall be one fish. 

It shall be unlawful for any person to recreationally harvest, 

land, or possess more than one grouper within or without 

Virginia tidal waters.  

C. D. When fishing recreationally from any boat or vessel, 

where the entire catch is held in a common hold or container, 

the boat or vessel possession limit for any species described 

in subsection A or B of this section shall be equal to the sum 

of the personal possession limits, as described in subsection A 

or B of this section, of those persons on board legally eligible 

to fish. The captain or operator of the boat or vessel shall be 

responsible for any boat or vessel possession limits. 

4VAC20-1120-35. Recreational blueline tilefish season. 

It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally to 

harvest or possess any blueline tilefish after October 31, 2017 

from January 1 through April 30 and from November 1 

through December 31. 

4VAC20-1120-40. Commercial limitations. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting tilefish 

when commercial fishing, as described in 4VAC20-1120-20, 

to do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of tilefish species in excess of 500 pounds whole weight or 

455 pounds gutted weight, except as described in 

subdivision 2 of this subsection. 

2. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of blueline tilefish in excess of 300 pounds whole weight 

or 273 pounds gutted weight. 

3. Possess aboard any vessel any amount of golden tilefish 

during any in-season closure announced by the National 

Marine Fisheries Service. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any vessel to land in Virginia 

more than 175 pounds of grouper, as described in 4VAC20-

1120-20, per day when commercial fishing.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to transfer at sea to 

another person or vessel any harvest of tilefish or grouper. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5481; Filed April 25, 2018, 10:19 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 3, which 

excludes regulations that consist only of changes in style or 

form or corrections of technical errors.  

The following regulatory action is also exempt from Article 2 

of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-

4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 

regulations that are necessary to meet the requirements of 
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federal law or regulations provided such regulations do not 

differ materially from those required by federal law or 

regulation. The State Water Control Board will receive, 

consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at 

any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC25-31. Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit 

Regulation (amending 9VAC25-31-25, 9VAC25-31-30). 

9VAC25-32. Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) Permit 

Regulation (amending 9VAC25-32-60, 9VAC25-32-80, 

9VAC25-32-317, 9VAC25-32-450; adding 9VAC25-32-25). 

9VAC25-210. Virginia Water Protection Permit Program 

Regulation (amending 9VAC25-210-90). 

9VAC25-590. Petroleum Underground Storage Tank 

Financial Responsibility Requirements (amending 

9VAC25-590-15). 

9VAC25-610. Groundwater Withdrawal Regulations 

(amending 9VAC25-610-130). 

9VAC25-790. Sewage Collection and Treatment 

Regulations (amending 9VAC25-790-210). 

9VAC25-870. Virginia Stormwater Management Program 

(VSMP) Regulation (amending 9VAC25-870-15).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, 124, 

403, and 503. 

Effective Date: June 13, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Debra Harris, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4209, FAX (804) 

698-4019, or email debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments bring references to U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency's (EPA) regulations under Title 40 of 

the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) in State Water 

Control Board regulations up to date with the 40 CFR 

published on July 1, 2017, and incorporate by reference 

into board regulations EPA's dental effluent guidelines 

under 40 CFR Part 441 and EPA's Methods Update Rule 

amendments to 40 CFR Part 136. 

9VAC25-31-25. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the 

Code of Federal Regulations is referenced and incorporated in 

this chapter that regulation shall be as it exists and has been 

published in the July 1, 2016 2017, update. The final rules 

published in the Federal Register on July 5, 2017 (82 FR 

30997), which corrects 40 CFR 441.30, and on August 28, 

2017 (82 FR 40836), which amends 40 CFR Part 136, are 

also incorporated by reference in this chapter. 

9VAC25-31-30. Federal effluent guidelines.  

A. The following federal regulations are hereby incorporated 

by reference:  

Airport Deicing Operations - 40 CFR Part 449 

Aluminum Forming - 40 CFR Part 467  

Asbestos Manufacturing - 40 CFR Part 427  

Battery Manufacturing - 40 CFR Part 461  

Canned and Preserved Fruits and Vegetables - 40 CFR Part 

407  

Canned and Preserved Seafood - 40 CFR Part 408  

Carbon Black Manufacturing - 40 CFR Part 458  

Cement Manufacturing - 40 CFR Part 411  

Centralized Waste Treatment - 40 CFR Part 437  

Coal Mining - 40 CFR Part 434  

Coil Coating - 40 CFR Part 465  

Concentrated Aquatic Animal Production - 40 CFR Part 

451 

Copper Forming - 40 CFR Part 468 

Dairy Products - 40 CFR Part 405  

Dental Offices - 40 CFR Part 441 

Electrical and Electronic Components - 40 CFR Part 469  

Electroplating - 40 CFR Part 413  

Explosives Manufacturing - 40 CFR Part 457  

Feedlots - 40 CFR Part 412  

Ferroalloy Manufacturing - 40 CFR Part 424  

Fertilizer Manufacturing - 40 CFR Part 418  

Glass Manufacturing - 40 CFR Part 426  

Grain Mills - 40 CFR Part 406  

Gum and Wood Chemicals Manufacturing - 40 CFR Part 

454  

Hospitals - 40 CFR Part 460  

Ink Formulating - 40 CFR Part 447  

Inorganic Chemicals Manufacturing - 40 CFR Part 415  

Iron and Steel Manufacturing - 40 CFR Part 420  

Landfills - 40 CFR Part 445  

Leather Tanning and Finishing - 40 CFR Part 425  
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Meat Products - 40 CFR Part 432  

Metal Finishing - 40 CFR Part 433  

Metal Molding and Casting - 40 CFR Part 464  

Metal Products and Machinery - 40 CFR Part 438  

Mineral Mining and Processing - 40 CFR Part 436  

Nonferrous Metals - 40 CFR Part 421  

Nonferrous Metal Forming - 40 CFR Part 471  

Oil and Gas Extraction - 40 CFR Part 435  

Ore Mining and Dressing - 40 CFR Part 440  

Organic Chemicals, Plastics and Synthetic Fibers - 40 CFR 

Part 414  

Paint Formulating - 40 CFR Part 446  

Paving and Roofing Materials - 40 CFR Part 443  

Pesticide Chemicals - 40 CFR Part 455  

Petroleum Refining - 40 CFR Part 419  

Pharmaceutical Manufacturing - 40 CFR Part 439  

Phosphate Manufacturing - 40 CFR Part 422  

Photographic Processing - 40 CFR Part 459  

Plastics Molding and Forming - 40 CFR Part 463  

Porcelain Enameling - 40 CFR Part 466  

Pulp, Paper and Paperboard - 40 CFR Part 430  

Rubber Processing - 40 CFR Part 428  

Secondary Treatment - 40 CFR Part 133  

Soaps and Detergents - 40 CFR Part 417  

Steam Electric Power Generation - 40 CFR Part 423  

Sugar Processing - 40 CFR Part 409  

Textile Mills - 40 CFR Part 410  

Timber Products - 40 CFR Part 429  

Toxic Pollutant Effluent Standards - 40 CFR Part 129  

Transportation Equipment Cleaning - 40 CFR Part 442  

Waste Combustors - 40 CFR Part 444  

B. The director shall be responsible for identifying any 

subsequent changes in the regulations incorporated in the 

previous subsection or the adoption or the modification of 

any new national standard. Upon identifying any such federal 

change or adoption, the director shall initiate a regulation 

adopting proceedings by preparing and filing with the 

Registrar of Regulations the notice required by § 2.2-4006 A 

4 c of the Code of Virginia or a notice of a public hearing 

pursuant to § 2.2-4007 C of the Code of Virginia.  

9VAC25-32-25. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the 

Code of Federal Regulations is referenced and incorporated in 

this chapter that regulation shall be as it exists and has been 

published in the July 1, 2017, update. The final rule published 

in the Federal Register on August 28, 2017 (82 FR 40836), 

which amends 40 CFR Part 136, is also incorporated by 

reference in this chapter. 

Part II  

Permit Application and Issuance  

9VAC25-32-60. Application for a VPA permit.  

A. Duty to apply. Any owner of a pollutant management 

activity who does not have an effective VPA permit, except 

persons covered by general VPA permits or excluded under 

9VAC25-32-40, shall submit a complete application to the 

department in accordance with this section.  

B. Time to apply. 

1. Any owner proposing a new pollutant management 

activity shall submit an application for a VPA permit 180 

days prior to the date planned for commencing erection, 

construction or expansion or employment of new processes 

at any site. There shall be no operation of said facilities 

prior to the issuance of a VPA permit.  

2. Any owner with an existing pollutant management 

activity that has not been permitted shall submit an 

application within 60 days upon being requested to by the 

board. The board, after determining there is pollution 

occurring, may allow the construction of treatment works 

prior to permit issuance. There shall be no operation of 

said treatment works prior to permit issuance.  

3. Owners currently managing pollutants who have 

effective VPA permits shall submit a new application 180 

days prior to proposed facility expansions, production 

increases, or process modification which will:  

a. Result in significantly new or substantially increased 

amounts of pollutants being managed or a significant 

change in the nature of the pollutant management activity 

that was not anticipated and accounted for on the 

application for the effective VPA permit; or  

b. Violate or lead to violation of the terms and conditions 

of the effective VPA permit.  

C. Duty to reapply. Any permittee with an effective VPA 

permit shall submit a new application at least 180 days before 

the expiration date of the effective VPA permit unless 

permission for a later date has been granted by the board. 

Permission shall not be granted to submit an application later 

than the expiration date of the existing VPA permit.  
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D. Completeness. 

1. A complete VPA permit application shall be submitted 

by the owner of the pollutant management activity before a 

VPA permit can be issued. The permit application may be 

submitted as a hard copy or electronically with a hard copy 

signature page. This item does not apply where general 

VPA permits are applicable. 

2. The board may require the submission of additional 

information after an application has been filed, and may 

suspend processing of any application until such time as 

the owner has supplied missing or deficient information 

and the board considers the application complete. Further, 

when the owner becomes aware that he omitted one or 

more relevant facts from a VPA permit application, or 

submitted incorrect information in a VPA permit 

application or in any report to the department, he shall 

promptly submit such facts or the correct information. 

3. In accordance with § 62.1-44.19:3 A of the Code of 

Virginia, no application for a permit or variance to 

authorize the storage of biosolids shall be complete unless 

it contains certification from the governing body of the 

locality in which the biosolids is to be stored that the 

storage site is consistent with all applicable ordinances. 

The governing body shall confirm or deny consistency 

within 30 days of receiving a request for certification. If 

the governing body does not so respond, the site shall be 

deemed consistent. 

4. No application for a permit to land apply biosolids in 

accordance with Part IX (9VAC25-32-303 et seq.) of this 

chapter shall be complete unless it includes the written 

consent of the landowner to apply biosolids on his 

property. 

5. Pursuant to § 62.1-44.15:3 of the Code of Virginia, no 

application for a VPA permit from a privately owned 

treatment works serving, or designed to serve, 50 or more 

residences shall be considered complete unless the 

applicant has provided the department with notification 

from the State Corporation Commission that the applicant 

is incorporated in the Commonwealth and is in compliance 

with all regulations and relevant orders of the State 

Corporation Commission.  

E. Information requirements. All applicants for VPA permits 

shall provide information to the department using the most 

current application forms provided by the board.  

F. Application for the authorization to land apply biosolids. 

All persons applying to land apply biosolids must provide the 

information in this subsection to the department using an 

application form approved by the department. New applicants 

must submit all information available at the time of permit 

application. The information may be provided by referencing 

information previously submitted to the department. The 

board may waive any requirement of this subsection if it has 

access to substantially identical information. The board may 

also waive any requirement of this subsection that is not of 

material concern for a specific permit. 

1. General information. 

a. Legal name and address. 

b. Owner contact information including: 

(1) Name; 

(2) Mailing address; 

(3) Telephone number; and 

(4) Email address. 

c. A general description of the proposed activity 

including: 

(1) Name and location of generators involved and their 

owners; 

(2) Biosolids quality and the generator's biosolids 

treatment and handling processes; 

(3) Generator's odor control plan, that contains at 

minimum:  

(a) Methods used to minimize odor in producing 

biosolids;  

(b) Methods used to identify malodorous biosolids before 

land application (at the generating facility);  

(c) Methods used to identify and abate malodorous 

biosolids if delivered to the field, prior to land 

application; and  

(d) Methods used to abate malodor from biosolids if land 

applied; 

(4) Means of biosolids transport or conveyance; 

(5) Location and volume of storage proposed; 

(6) A description of field staging methods; 

(7) General location of sites proposed for application, 

and 

(8) Methods of biosolids application proposed. 

d. Written permission of landowners on the most current 

form approved by the board and pertinent lease 

agreements as may be necessary for operation of the 

treatment works. 

e. Methods for notification of local government and 

obtaining compliance with local government zoning and 

applicable ordinances. 

f. A copy of a letter of approval of the nutrient 

management plan for the operation from the Department 

of Conservation and Recreation if required in subdivision 

3 b of this subsection. 
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2. Design information. 

a. Biosolids characterization. For each source of 

biosolids that the applicant proposes to land apply, the 

applicant must submit biosolids monitoring data for the 

pollutants for which limits in biosolids have been 

established in Part IX (9VAC25-32-303 et seq.) of this 

chapter, for the applicant's use or disposal practices on 

the date of permit application with the following 

conditions: 

(1) When applying for authorization to land apply a 

biosolids source not previously included in a VPDES or 

VPA permit, the biosolids shall be sampled and analyzed 

for PCBs. The sample results shall be submitted with the 

permit application or request to add the source; 

(2) The board may require sampling for additional 

pollutants, as appropriate, on a case-by-case basis; 

(3) Applicants must provide:  

(a) Biosolids analytical data from a minimum of three 

samples taken within four and one-half years prior to the 

date of the permit application. Samples must be 

representative of the biosolids and should be taken at 

least one month apart. Existing data may be used in lieu 

of sampling done solely for the purpose of this 

application. The department may reduce the number of 

samples collected based on site specific conditions;  

(b) The total dry tons per 365-day period of biosolids 

subject to this subsection that is applied to the land; and  

(c) A statement that the biosolids is nonhazardous; a 

documentation statement for treatment and quality; and a 

description of how treated biosolids meets other 

standards in accordance with this regulation; 

(4) Samples shall be collected and analyzed in 

accordance with analytical methods specified in 40 CFR 

Part 503 (March 26, 2007) and 40 CFR Part 136 (March 

26, 2007); and 

(5) The monitoring data provided must include at least 

the following information for each parameter:  

(a) Average monthly concentration for all samples 

(mg/kg dry weight), based upon actual sample values;  

(b) Analytical method used; and  

(c) Method detection level. 

b. Storage facilities. Plans and specifications for storage 

facilities of all biosolids to be handled, including routine 

and on-site storage, shall be submitted for the issuance of 

a certificate to construct and a certificate to operate in 

accordance with the Sewage Collection and Treatment 

Regulations (9VAC25-790) and shall depict the 

following information: 

(1) Site layout on a recent 7.5 minute topographic 

quadrangle or other appropriate scaled map; 

(2) Location of any required soil, geologic, and 

hydrologic test holes or borings; 

(3) Location of the following field features within 0.25 

miles of the site boundary (indicate on map) with the 

approximate distance from the site boundary:  

(a) Water wells (operating or abandoned);  

(b) Surface waters;  

(c) Springs;  

(d) Public water supplies;  

(e) Sinkholes;  

(f) Underground and surface mines;  

(g) Mine pool (or other) surface water discharge points;  

(h) Mining spoil piles and mine dumps;  

(i) Quarries;  

(j) Sand and gravel pits;  

(k) Gas and oil wells;  

(l) Diversion ditches;  

(m) Occupied dwellings, including industrial and 

commercial establishments;  

(n) Landfills and dumps;  

(o) Other unlined impoundments;  

(p) Septic tanks and drainfields; and  

(q) Injection wells; 

(4) Topographic map (10-foot contour preferred) of 

sufficient detail to clearly show the following 

information:  

(a) Maximum and minimum percent slopes;  

(b) Depressions on the site that may collect water;  

(c) Drainage ways that may attribute to rainfall run-on to 

or runoff from the site; and 

(d) Portions of the site (if any) that are located within the 

100-year floodplain; 

(5) Data and specifications for the liner proposed for 

seepage control; 

(6) Scaled plan view and cross-sectional view of the 

facilities showing inside and outside slopes of all 

embankments and details of all appurtenances; 

(7) Calculations justifying impoundment capacity; and 
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(8) Groundwater monitoring plans for facilities if 

required by the department. The groundwater monitoring 

plan shall include pertinent geohydrological data to 

justify upgradient and downgradient well location and 

depth. 

c. Staging. Generic plans for staging of biosolids. 

d. Land application sites: 

(1) DEQ control number, if previously assigned, 

identifying each land application field. If a DEQ control 

number has not been assigned, provide the site 

identification code used by the permit applicant to report 

activities and the site's location; 

(2) The site's latitude and longitude in decimal degrees to 

three decimal places and the method of determination; 

(3) A legible topographic map and aerial photograph, 

including legend, of proposed application areas to scale 

as needed to depict the following features:  

(a) Property boundaries;  

(b) Surface water courses;  

(c) Water supply wells and springs;  

(d) Roadways;  

(e) Rock outcrops;  

(f) Slopes;  

(g) Frequently flooded areas (National Resources 

Conservation Service (NRCS) designation);  

(h) Occupied dwellings within 400 feet of the property 

boundaries and all existing dwelling and property line 

setback distances; 

(i) Publicly accessible properties and occupied buildings 

within 400 feet of the property boundaries and the 

associated extended setback distances; and  

(j) The gross acreage of the fields where biosolids will be 

applied; 

(4) County map or other map of sufficient detail to show 

general location of the site and proposed transport 

vehicle haul routes to be utilized from the treatment 

plant; 

(5) County tax maps labeled with Tax Parcel ID or IDs 

for each farm to be included in the permit, which may 

include multiple fields to depict properties within 400 

feet of the field boundaries; 

(6) A USDA soil survey map, if available, of proposed 

sites for land application of biosolids; 

(7) The name, mailing address, and telephone number of 

each site owner, if different from the applicant; 

(8) The name, mailing address, and telephone number of 

the person who applies biosolids to the site, if different 

from the applicant; 

(9) Whether the site is agricultural land, forest, a public 

contact site, or a reclamation site, as such site types are 

defined in 9VAC25-32-10; 

(10) Description of agricultural practices including a list 

of proposed crops to be grown; 

(11) The following information for each land application 

site that has been identified at the time of permit 

application, if the applicant intends to apply bulk 

biosolids subject to the cumulative pollutant loading rates 

in 9VAC25-32-356 Table 3 to the site:  

(a) Whether the applicant has contacted the permitting 

authority in the state where the bulk biosolids subject to 

9VAC25-32-356 Table 3 will be applied, to ascertain 

whether bulk biosolids subject to 9VAC25-32-356 Table 

3 has been applied to the site on or since July 20, 1993, 

and if so, the name of the permitting authority and the 

name and phone number of a contact person at the 

permitting authority; and 

(b) Identification of facilities other than the applicant's 

facility that have sent, or are sending, biosolids subject to 

the cumulative pollutant loading rates in 9VAC25-32-

356 Table 3 to the site since July 20, 1993, if, based on 

the inquiry in subdivision 8 d (1) 2 d (11) (a) of this 

subsection, bulk biosolids subject to cumulative pollutant 

loading rates in 9VAC25-32-356 Table 3 has been 

applied to the site since July 20, 1993.  

3. A biosolids management plan shall be provided that 

includes the following minimum site specific information 

at the time of permit application. 

a. Description of operation: A comprehensive, general 

description of the operation as required by 9VAC25-32-

60 this section. 

b. A nutrient management plan approved by the 

Department of Conservation and Recreation as required 

for application sites prior to board authorization under 

the following conditions: 

(1) Sites operated by an owner or lessee of a confined 

animal feeding operation, as defined in subsection A of 

§ 62.1-44.17:1 of the Code of Virginia, or confined 

poultry feeding operation, as defined in subsection A of 

§ 62.1-44.17:1.1 of the Code of Virginia; 

(2) Sites where land application more frequently than 

once every three years at greater than 50% of the annual 

agronomic rate is proposed;  

(3) Mined or disturbed land sites where land application 

is proposed at greater than agronomic rates; or 
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(4) Other sites based on site-specific conditions that 

increase the risk that land application may adversely 

impact state waters. 

4. Biosolids transport. 

a. General description of transport vehicles to be used. 

b. Procedures for biosolids offloading at the biosolids 

facilities and the land application site together with spill 

prevention, cleanup (including vehicle cleaning); field 

reclamation and emergency spill notification and cleanup 

measures. 

c. Voucher system used for documentation and 

recordkeeping. 

5. Field operations. 

a. Storage. 

(1) Routine storage - supernatant handling and disposal, 

biosolids handling and loading of transport vehicles, 

equipment cleaning, freeboard maintenance, and 

inspections for structural integrity. 

(2) On-site storage - procedures for department or board 

approval and implementation. 

(3) Staging - procedures to be followed including either 

designated site locations provided in the "Design 

Information" or the specific site criteria for such 

locations including the liner or cover requirements and 

the time limit assigned for such use. 

(4) Reestablishment of offloading and staging areas. 

b. Application methodology. 

(1) Description and specifications on spreader vehicles. 

(2) Procedures for calibrating equipment for various 

biosolids contents to ensure uniform distribution and 

appropriate loading rates on a day-to-day basis. 

(3) Procedures used to ensure that operations address the 

following constraints: application of biosolids to frozen 

ground, pasture or hay fields, crops for direct human 

consumption and saturated or ice-covered or snow-

covered ground; establishment of setback distances; 

slopes; prohibited access for beef and dairy animals, and 

soil pH requirements; and proper site specific biosolids 

loading rates on a field-by-field basis. 

c. Odor control plan for land applier. Include at a 

minimum: 

(1) Methods used to identify and abate malodorous 

biosolids in the field prior to land application, and 

(2) Methods used to abate malodorous biosolids if land 

applied. 

6. An applicant for a permit authorizing the land 

application of biosolids shall provide to the department, 

and to each locality in which the applicant proposes to land 

apply biosolids, written evidence of financial 

responsibility. Evidence of financial responsibility shall be 

provided in accordance with the requirements specified 

under Article 6 (9VAC25-32-770 et seq.) of Part IX of this 

chapter. 

9VAC25-32-80. Conditions applicable to all VPA permits.  

A. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions of the VPA permit. Any permit noncompliance is a 

violation of the law, and is grounds for enforcement action, 

permit termination, revocation, modification, or denial of a 

permit renewal application.  

B. Duty to halt or reduce activity. It shall not be a defense 

for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would have 

been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted activity in 

order to maintain compliance with the conditions of the VPA 

permit.  

C. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize, correct, or prevent any pollutant 

management activity in violation of the VPA permit which 

has a reasonable likelihood of adversely affecting human 

health or the environment.  

D. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall be 

responsible for the proper operation and maintenance of all 

treatment works, systems, and controls which are installed or 

used to achieve compliance with permit conditions. Proper 

operation and maintenance includes effective plant 

performance, adequate funding, adequate licensed operator 

staffing, and adequate laboratory and process controls, 

including appropriate quality assurance procedures.  

E. Permit action.  

1. A VPA permit may be modified, revoked and reissued, 

or terminated as set forth in this chapter.  

2. If a permittee files a request for a permit modification, 

revocation, or termination, or files a notification of planned 

changes, or anticipated noncompliance, the permit terms 

and conditions shall remain effective until the request is 

acted upon by the board. This provision shall not be used 

to extend the expiration date of the effective VPA permit.  

3. VPA permits may be modified, revoked and reissued or 

terminated upon the request of the permittee or interested 

persons, or upon the board's initiative, to reflect the 

requirements of any changes in the statutes or regulations.  

4. VPA permits continued under 9VAC25-32-130 remain 

effective and enforceable.  
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F. Inspection and entry. Upon presentation of credentials, 

any duly authorized agent of the board may, at reasonable 

times and under reasonable circumstances:  

1. Enter upon any permittee's property, public or private, 

and have access to records required by the VPA permit;  

2. Have access to, inspect, and copy any records that must 

be kept as part of VPA permit conditions;  

3. Inspect any facility's equipment (including monitoring 

and control equipment) practices or operations regulated or 

required under the VPA permit; and  

4. Sample or monitor any substances or parameters at any 

locations for the purpose of assuring VPA permit 

compliance or as otherwise authorized by law.  

G. Duty to provide information.  

1. The permittee shall furnish to the department, within a 

reasonable time, any information which the board may 

request to determine whether cause exists for modifying, 

revoking and reissuing, terminating the VPA permit, or to 

determine compliance with the VPA permit. The permittee 

shall also furnish to the department, upon request, copies 

of records required to be kept by the permittee.  

2. Plans, specifications, maps, conceptual reports and other 

relevant information shall be submitted as requested by the 

board prior to commencing construction.  

H. Monitoring and records.  

1. Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of 

monitoring shall be representative of the monitored 

activity.  

2. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 

information, including all calibration and maintenance 

records and all original strip chart recordings for 

continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by the VPA permit, and records of all data 

used to complete the application for the VPA permit, for a 

period of at least three years or in the case of activities 

regulated under Part IX (9VAC25-32-310 (9VAC25-32-

303 et seq.) of this chapter, at least five years from the date 

of the sample, measurement, report, or application. This 

period may be extended by request of the board at any 

time.  

3. Records of monitoring information shall include:  

a. The date, exact place and time of sampling or 

measurements;  

b. The name of the individual or individuals who 

performed the sampling or measurements;  

c. The date or dates analyses were performed;  

d. The name of the individual or individuals who 

performed the analyses;  

e. The analytical techniques or methods supporting the 

information such as observations, readings, calculations 

and bench data used; and  

f. The results of such analyses.  

4. Monitoring shall be conducted according to analytical 

methods promulgated pursuant to § 304(h) of the Clean 

Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.) and listed in the Code 

of Federal Regulations at 40 CFR Part 136 (1995). Any 

other acceptable test procedure not listed in 40 CFR Part 

136 (1995) shall be specified in the VPA permit.  

5. Records related to biosolids data and information 

specified in agreements between generator, owner, agents, 

landowners, and farmers shall be described and maintained 

for a minimum period of five years or the duration of the 

permit or subsequent revisions if longer than five years. 

I. Reporting requirements.  

1. The permittee shall give prompt notice to the department 

of any planned changes to the design or operation of the 

pollutant management activity.  

2. If any unusual or extraordinary discharge including a 

bypass or upset should occur from a treatment works and 

the discharge enters or could be expected to enter state 

waters, the owner shall promptly notify, in no case later 

than 24 hours, the department by telephone after the 

discovery of the discharge. This notification shall provide 

all available details of the incident, including any adverse 

effects on aquatic life and the known number of fish killed. 

The permittee shall reduce the report to writing and shall 

submit it to the department within five days of discovery of 

the discharge in accordance with subdivision 6 of this 

subsection. Unusual and extraordinary discharges include 

but are not limited to any discharge resulting from:  

a. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 

indirectly from processing operations;  

b. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment;  

c. Failure or taking out of service of some or all of the 

treatment works; and  

d. Flooding or other acts of nature.  

3. The permittee shall give at least 10 days advance notice 

to the department of any planned changes to the facility or 

activity which may result in noncompliance.  

4. Monitoring results shall be reported at the intervals 

specified in the applicable VPA permit.  

a. Monitoring results shall be reported in a format 

acceptable to the board.  

b. If a permittee monitors the pollutant management 

activity, at a sampling location specified in the VPA 

permit, for any pollutant more frequently than required 
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by the VPA permit using approved analytical methods, 

the permittee shall report the results of this monitoring on 

the monitoring report.  

c. If the permittee monitors the pollutant management 

activity, at a sampling location specified in the VPA 

permit, for any pollutant that is not required to be 

monitored by the VPA permit, and uses approved 

analytical methods the permittee shall report the results 

with the monitoring report.  

d. Calculations for all limitations which require 

averaging of measurements shall utilize an arithmetic 

mean unless otherwise specified in the VPA permit.  

5. Reports of compliance or noncompliance with or any 

progress report on interim and final requirements contained 

in any compliance schedule in the VPA permit shall be 

submitted no later than 14 days following each scheduled 

date.  

6. 24-hour reporting.  

a. The permittee shall report any noncompliance which 

that may adversely affect state waters or may endanger 

public health. An oral report must be provided to the 

department as soon as possible, but in no case later than 

24 hours from the time the permittee becomes aware of 

the circumstances. A written report shall be submitted 

within five days and shall contain a description of the 

noncompliance and its cause; the period of 

noncompliance including exact dates and times, and, if 

the noncompliance has not been corrected, how long it is 

expected to continue, steps planned or taken to reduce, 

eliminate, and prevent a recurrence of the 

noncompliance. The board may waive the written report 

requirements on a case-by-case basis if the oral report 

has been received within 24 hours and no adverse impact 

on state waters has been reported. All other 

noncompliance reports which may not adversely affect 

state waters shall be submitted with the monitoring 

report. Reports shall include overflows.  

b. The following shall be included as information which 

must be reported within 24 hours under this subdivision:  

(1) Any unanticipated bypass; and  

(2) Any upset which causes a discharge to surface waters.  

J. Bypass.  

1. A bypass of the treatment works is prohibited except as 

provided herein.  

2. If the permittee knows in advance of the need for a 

bypass, he shall notify the department promptly at least 10 

days prior to the bypass. After considering its adverse 

effects, the board may approve an anticipated bypass if:  

a. The bypass will be unavoidable to prevent loss of 

human life, personal injury, or severe property damage 

("severe property damage" means substantial physical 

damage to property, damage to the treatment facilities 

which causes them to become inoperable, or substantial 

and permanent loss of natural resources which can 

reasonably be expected to occur in the absence of a 

bypass. Severe property damage does not mean economic 

loss caused by delays in production); and  

b. There are no feasible alternatives to bypass such as the 

use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention of untreated 

waste, or maintenance during normal periods of 

equipment downtime. However, if bypass occurs during 

normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 

maintenance and in the exercise of reasonable 

engineering judgment the permittee could have installed 

adequate backup equipment to prevent such bypass, this 

exclusion shall not apply as a defense.  

3. If an unplanned bypass occurs, the permittee shall notify 

the department as soon as possible, but in no case later than 

24 hours, and shall take steps to halt the bypass as early as 

possible. This notification will be a condition for defense 

to an enforcement action that an unplanned bypass met the 

conditions in subdivision 2 of this subsection and in light 

of the information reasonably available to the owner at the 

time of the bypass.  

K. Upset. A permittee may claim an upset as an affirmative 

defense to an action brought for noncompliance. In any 

enforcement proceedings a permittee shall have the burden of 

proof to establish the occurrence of any upset. In order to 

establish an affirmative defense of upset, the permittee shall 

present properly signed, contemporaneous operating logs or 

other relevant evidence that shows:  

1. That an upset occurred and that the cause can be 

identified;  

2. That the permitted facility was at the time being 

operated efficiently and in compliance with proper 

operation and maintenance procedures;  

3. That the 24-hour reporting requirements to the 

department were met; and  

4. That the permittee took all reasonable steps to minimize 

or correct any adverse impact on state waters resulting 

from noncompliance with the VPA permit.  

L. Signature requirements. All applications, reports, or 

information submitted to the department shall be signed and 

certified as required in 9VAC25-32-70.  

M. Transfers. A VPA permit is not transferable to any 

person except after notice to the department according to 

9VAC24-32-230 9VAC25-32-230. The board may require 

modification or revocation and reissuance of the VPA permit 
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to change the name of the permittee and incorporate such 

other requirements as may be necessary.  

9VAC25-32-317. Exclusions. 

A. Treatment processes. This part does not establish 

requirements for processes to treat domestic sewage or for 

processes used to treat sewage sludge prior to final use or 

disposal, except as provided in 9VAC25-32-675 and 

9VAC25-32-685. 

B. Selection of a use or a disposal practice. This part does 

not dictate the selection of a specific biosolids use or sewage 

sludge disposal practice by the owner of the wastewater 

treatment works.  

C. Incineration of sewage sludge. This part does not 

establish requirements for sewage sludge fired in a sewage 

sludge incinerator or co-fired in an incinerator with other 

wastes or for the incinerator in which sewage sludge or other 

waste are co-fired. 

D. Hazardous sewage sludge. This part does not establish 

requirements for the use or disposal of sewage sludge 

determined to be hazardous in accordance with 40 CFR Part 

261 (2000) as adopted by reference in 9VAC20-60-261 or the 

Code of Virginia. 

E. Sewage sludge with high PCB concentration. This part 

does not establish requirements for the use or disposal of 

sewage sludge with a concentration of polychlorinated 

biphenyls (PCBs) equal to or greater than 50 milligrams per 

kilogram of total solids (dry weight basis). 

F. Incinerator ash. This part does not establish requirements 

for the use or disposal of ash generated during the firing of 

sewage sludge in a sewage sludge incinerator. 

G. Grit and screenings. This part does not establish 

requirements for the use or disposal of grit (e.g., sand, gravel, 

cinders, or other materials with a high specific gravity) or 

screenings (e.g., relatively large materials such as rags) 

generated during preliminary treatment of domestic sewage in 

a treatment works. 

9VAC25-32-450. Sampling, analysis, and preservation. 

A. Representative samples of biosolids that is applied to the 

land or placed on a surface disposal site shall be collected and 

analyzed. 

1. Raw sewage or sludge samples are to be collected prior 

to the treatment process unit operations. 

2. Final treated samples are to be taken at a point following 

appropriate unit operations in the treatment process. An 

evaluation of biosolids treatment may require monitoring 

of fecal coliform levels in treated biosolids. 

3. Composite samples shall be collected in accordance with 

the treatment works operation and maintenance manual. 

B. Liquid biosolids. In the case of digesters and liquid 

storage holding tanks, a representative sample shall be 

composed of at least four grab samples obtained during daily 

operations at the facility or land application site. Samples of 

liquid biosolids obtained under pressure or vacuum should be 

obtained shortly after the beginning, during and at the end of 

the time period that the biosolids are produced at the 

sampling point.  

C. Biosolids storage facilities. Equal volumes of biosolids 

shall be withdrawn from random locations across the width 

and throughout the length of the storage facility at the surface, 

mid-depth and near the bottom of the lagoon at each grab 

sample location. These grab samples shall be added to form a 

composite mix. A range of the minimum number of grab 

samples that should be obtained from various sizes of 

biosolids storage facilities in order to obtain a representative 

composite sample is presented in Table 1 of this section:  

TABLE 1 

MINIMUM NUMBER OF GRAB SAMPLES FROM 

STORAGE FACILITIES 

Surface Area 

(Acres) 

Minimum Number of Grab Samples 

Depth less than 

4 feet 

Depth greater than 

4 feet 

1 to 9.99 4 to 5 6 to 8 

10 or more 6 to 8 9 to 11 

D. Dewatered biosolids. Small, equally sized grab samples 

of the dewatered sludge stream may be taken at equally 

spaced intervals over the period of operation of the 

dewatering unit. Centrifuged biosolids samples may be taken 

from a belt conveyor or receiving hopper. Filter cake 

biosolids samples may be taken from a belt conveyor or a 

portion of the cake may be removed as it leaves the unit. The 

smaller grab samples should be combined to form a 

representative composite sample. A composite sample can be 

obtained over the daily operational period at the land 

application site.  

E. Compost sampling. Collect composite samples composed 

of at least three grab samples of 1 one kilogram or more so 

that a representative average level of compost characteristics 

can be obtained from analytical testing. This mixture should 

be used for analytical testing or for combination with other 

composites to obtain a total composite sample representing a 

fixed period of operation. Compost samples may be taken 

with a scoop or shovel and placed in flexible bags that can be 

thoroughly shaken to mix grab samples.  

F. Biosolids samples shall be preserved and analyzed in 

accordance with methods listed in 40 CFR Part 136 (2007) 

and methods identified in 9VAC25-31-490. Calculation 

procedures in the methods shall be used to calculate the 

percent volatile solids reduction for biosolids. Any other 
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acceptable test procedure not listed in 40 CFR Part 136 

(2007) shall be specified in the VPA permit. 

9VAC25-210-90. Conditions applicable to all VWP 

permits. 

A. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions and limitations of the VWP permit. Nothing in this 

chapter shall be construed to relieve the permittee of the duty 

to comply with all applicable federal and state statutes, 

regulations, toxic standards, and prohibitions. Any VWP 

permit violation or noncompliance is a violation of the Clean 

Water Act and State Water Control Law and is grounds for 

enforcement action, VWP permit termination, VWP permit 

revocation, VWP permit modification, or denial of an 

application for a VWP permit extension or reissuance. 

B. Duty to cease or confine activity. It shall not be a defense 

for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would have 

been necessary to halt or reduce the activity for which a VWP 

permit has been granted in order to maintain compliance with 

the conditions of the VWP permit. 

C. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any impacts in violation of the 

VWP permit that may have a reasonable likelihood of 

adversely affecting human health or the environment. 

D. Inspection and entry. Upon presentation of credentials, 

the permittee shall allow the board or any duly authorized 

agent of the board, at reasonable times and under reasonable 

circumstances, to conduct the actions listed in this section. 

For the purpose of this section, the time for inspection shall 

be deemed reasonable during regular business hours. Nothing 

contained herein shall make an inspection time unreasonable 

during an emergency. 

1. Enter upon permittee's property, public or private, and 

have access to, inspect and copy any records that must be 

kept as part of the VWP permit conditions; 

2. Inspect any facilities, operations or practices (including 

monitoring and control equipment) regulated or required 

under the VWP permit; and 

3. Sample or monitor any substance, parameter, or activity 

for the purpose of ensuring compliance with the conditions 

of the VWP permit or as otherwise authorized by law. 

E. Duty to provide information. Plans, maps, conceptual 

reports, and other relevant information shall be submitted as 

required by the board prior to commencing construction. 

F. Monitoring and records requirements. 

1. Monitoring of parameters, other than pollutants, shall be 

conducted according to approved analytical methods as 

specified in the VWP permit. Analysis of pollutants will be 

conducted according to 40 CFR Part 136 (2000), 

Guidelines Establishing Test Procedures for the Analysis 

of Pollutants as published in the 40 CFR July 1, 2017, 

update and 82 FR 40836 (August 28, 2017). 

2. Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of 

monitoring shall be representative of the monitored 

activity. 

3. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 

information, including all calibration and maintenance 

records and all original strip chart or electronic recordings 

for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by the VWP permit, and records of all data 

used to complete the application for the VWP permit, for a 

period of at least three years from the date of permit 

expiration. This period may be extended by request of the 

board at any time. 

4. Records of monitoring information shall include as 

appropriate: 

a. The date, exact place and time of sampling or 

measurements; 

b. The name of the individuals who performed the 

sampling or measurements; 

c. The date and time the analyses were performed; 

d. The name of the individuals who performed the 

analyses; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods supporting the 

information such as observations, readings, calculations, 

and bench data used; 

f. The results of such analyses; and 

g. Chain of custody documentation. 

G. Duty to reapply. Any permittee desiring to continue a 

previously permitted activity after the expiration date of the 

VWP permit shall apply for and obtain a new permit or, if 

applicable, shall request an extension in accordance with 

9VAC25-210-180. 

9VAC25-590-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the 

Code of Federal Regulations is referenced or adopted in this 

chapter and incorporated by reference, that regulation shall be 

as it exists and has been published as of July 1, 2016 2017. 

9VAC25-610-130. Conditions applicable to all 

groundwater permits.  

A. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions of the permit. Nothing in this chapter shall be 

construed to relieve the groundwater withdrawal permit 

holder of the duty to comply with all applicable federal and 

state statutes and prohibitions. At a minimum, a person must 

obtain a well construction permit or a well site approval letter 
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from the Virginia Department of Health prior to the 

construction of any well for any withdrawal authorized by the 

Department of Environmental Quality. Any permit violation 

is a violation of the law and is grounds for enforcement 

action, permit termination, revocation, modification, or denial 

of a permit application.  

B. Duty to cease or confine activity. It shall not be a defense 

for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would have 

been necessary to halt or reduce the activity for which a 

permit has been granted in order to maintain compliance with 

the conditions of the permit.  

C. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to:  

1. Avoid all adverse impacts to lawful groundwater users 

which could result from the withdrawal; and  

2. Where impacts cannot be avoided, provide mitigation of 

the adverse impact as described in 9VAC25-610-110 D 3 

g.  

D. Inspection and entry. Upon presentation of credentials, 

the permittee shall allow the board or any duly authorized 

agent of the board, at reasonable times and under reasonable 

circumstances, to conduct actions listed in this section. For 

the purpose of this section, the time for inspection shall be 

deemed reasonable during regular business hours. Nothing 

contained herein shall make an inspection time unreasonable 

during an emergency. 

1. Entry upon any permittee's property, public or private, 

and have access to, inspect and copy any records that must 

be kept as part of the permit conditions;  

2. Inspect any facilities, operations or practices (including 

monitoring and control equipment) regulated or required 

under the permit; and  

3. Sample or monitor any substance, parameter or activity 

for the purpose of assuring compliance with the conditions 

of the permit or as otherwise authorized by law.  

E. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 

to the board, within a reasonable time, any information that 

the board may request to determine whether cause exists for 

modifying or revoking, reissuing, or terminating the permit, 

or to determine compliance with the permit. The permittee 

shall also furnish to the board, upon request, copies of records 

required to be kept by the permittee.  

F. Monitoring and records requirements.  

1. Monitoring of parameters, other than pollutants, shall be 

conducted according to approved analytical methods as 

specified in the permit. Analysis of pollutants will be 

conducted according to 40 CFR Part 136 (2000), 

Guidelines Establishing Test Procedures for the Analysis 

of Pollutants as published in the 40 CFR July 1, 2017, 

update and 82 FR 40836 (August 28, 2017). 

2. Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of 

monitoring shall be representative of the monitored 

activity.  

3. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 

information, including all calibration and maintenance 

records and all original strip chart or electronic recordings 

for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by the permit, and records of all data used 

to complete the application for the permit, for a period of at 

least three years from the date of the expiration of a 

granted permit. This period may be extended by request of 

the board at any time.  

4. Records of monitoring information shall include as 

appropriate: 

a. The date, exact place and time of sampling or 

measurements;  

b. The name of the individuals who performed the 

sampling or measurements;  

c. The date the analyses were performed;  

d. The name of the individuals who performed the 

analyses;  

e. The analytical techniques or methods supporting the 

information such as observations, readings, calculations, 

and bench data used;  

f. The results of such analyses; and 

g. Chain of custody documentation. 

G. Permit action.  

1. A permit may be modified or revoked as set forth in Part 

VI (9VAC25-610-290 et seq.) of this chapter.  

2. If a permittee files a request for permit modification or 

revocation, or files a notification of planned changes, or 

anticipated noncompliance, the permit terms and 

conditions shall remain effective until the board makes a 

final case decision. This provision shall not be used to 

extend the expiration date of the effective permit.  

3. Permits may be modified or revoked upon the request of 

the permittee, or upon board initiative, to reflect the 

requirements of any changes in the statutes or regulations.  

9VAC25-790-210. Nonconventional methods, processes or 

equipment.  

A. Policy. The policy of the department is to encourage the 

development of any new or nonconventional methods, 

processes, and equipment that appear to have application for 

the treatment or conveyance of sewage. Sewage treatment 

methods, processes, and equipment may be subject to a 

special permit application procedure if (i) they are not 

covered by the Manual of Practice (Part III (9VAC25-790-
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310 et seq.) of this chapter) and (ii) they are in principle, or 

application, deemed to be nonconventional.  

B. Provisional CTO. The performance reliability of 

nonconventional processes and equipment shall have been 

thoroughly demonstrated through an approved testing 

program for similar installations (loadings of 75% or more of 

design level) before they may be considered for conventional 

approval and use. Where the department approves such a 

testing program, a provisional CTO will be issued for 

treatment works in which new or nonconventional processes 

and equipment are to be evaluated. The provisional CTO will 

specify conditions related to the testing requirements and 

agreements necessary for issuance of a final CTO. The owner 

of the facility shall submit the required test results to the 

department according to an approved schedule for approval 

prior to issuance of a final CTO. It is the owner's 

responsibility to operate in compliance with requirements 

imposed by permits issued for the sewerage system or 

treatment works.  

C. Assurance resources. As a prerequisite to the issuance of 

a provisional CTO, the owner must furnish assurance of 

financial ability or resources available to modify, convert, or 

replace, the new or nonconventional processes or equipment 

in the event the performance reliability cannot be established 

over the period of time specified by the provisional CTO. 

These assurances may be in the form of funds placed in 

escrow, letters of credit, performance bonds, etc., which 

would revert to the facility owner if performance reliability 

cannot be established.  

D. Performance reliability testing. All procedures used in 

testing of the performance reliability shall be conducted under 

the supervision of a licensed professional engineer who shall 

attest to the accuracy of sampling and testing procedures. The 

required samples shall be tested through a qualified 

laboratory. The testing program shall provide as a minimum 

the following:  

1. Samples shall be collected at designated locations at a 

stated frequency and analyzed in accordance with 

provisions of the provisional CTO. The minimum testing 

period shall be 12 months under the comparable 

environmental and operational conditions for which the 

process and equipment will receive conventional approvals 

for any additional installations.  

2. All analyses shall be made in accordance with the 19th 

Edition of Standard Methods for the Examination of Water 

and Wastewater (1995) and 40 CFR Part 136 (July 1, 

2003) as published in the 40 CFR July 1, 2017, update and 

82 FR 40836 (August 28, 2017), or other approved 

analytical methods.  

E. CTC. After the area engineer evaluates the plans and 

testing data, the director can issue a CTC if the performance 

data verifies that the method, process, or equipment can 

perform reliably in accordance with the design specifications 

and the operation standards of Part II, and that the method, 

process, or equipment may be installed as conventional for 

similar site specific operation.  

F. Provisional CTO. Upon completion of construction or 

modification, a provisional CTO for a definite period of time 

will be issued for the operation of the nonconventional 

methods, processes, and equipment. Not more than one 

provisional CTO will be granted for a similar installation 

during the evaluation period. The provisional CTO shall 

require that:  

1. The evaluation period shall be a minimum of 12 months 

and no longer than 18 months,  

2. The holder of a provisional CTO must submit reports on 

operation during the evaluation period. The reports shall be 

prepared by either a licensed professional engineer 

experienced in the field of environmental engineering, the 

owner's operating or engineering staff, or a qualified 

testing firm.  

G. Final CTO. The director will issue a final CTO upon 

lapse of the provisional CTO, if, on the basis of testing during 

that period, the new or nonconventional method, process, or 

equipment demonstrates reliable performance in accordance 

with permit requirements and the operation standards of Part 

II. If the standards are not met, then the owner shall provide 

for modification of the sewerage systems or treatment works, 

in a manner that will enable those standards to be met in 

accordance with this chapter.  

9VAC25-870-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the United States set 

forth in the Code of Federal Regulations is referenced and 

incorporated in this chapter, that regulation shall be as it 

exists and has been published in the July 1, 2016 2017, 

update. The final rules published in the Federal Register on 

July 5, 2017 (82 FR 30997), which corrects 40 CFR 441.30, 

and on August 28, 2017 (82 FR 40836), which amends 

40 CFR Part 136, are also incorporated by reference in this 

chapter.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5424; Filed April 23, 2018, 1:17 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts general permits issued by the State Water 

Control Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law 

(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.), Chapter 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) of Title 

62.1, and Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the 

Code of Virginia if the board (i) provides a Notice of 

Intended Regulatory Action in conformance with the 

provisions of § 2.2-4007.01; (ii) following the passage of 30 
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days from the publication of the Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action forms a technical advisory committee 

composed of relevant stakeholders, including potentially 

affected citizens groups, to assist in the development of the 

general permit; (iii) provides notice and receives oral and 

written comment as provided in § 2.2-4007.03; and (iv) 

conducts at least one public hearing on the proposed general 

permit. The State Water Control Board will receive, consider, 

and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time 

with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-193. General Virginia 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit 

for Concrete Products Facilities (amending 9VAC25-193-

10, 9VAC25-193-15, 9VAC25-193-20, 9VAC25-193-40 

through 9VAC25-193-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, and 

124. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 14, 2018 - 9:30 a.m. - 1111 East Main Street, Bank of 

America Building, 3rd Floor Conference Room, 

Richmond, VA 23219 

Public Comment Deadline: July 13, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Elleanore M. Daub, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4111, FAX (804) 698-4032, or email 

elleanore.daub@deq.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 

proposed regulatory action serves as the report of the findings 

of the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Summary: 

The proposed action amends and reissues the existing 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System general 

permit that expires on September 30, 2018. The general 

permit contains limitations and monitoring requirements 

for point source discharge of treated wastewaters from 

concrete products facilities to surface waters. The permit 

also contains stormwater management requirements. The 

general permit regulation is being reissued to continue 

making discharge available for these facilities. 

Substantive changes to the existing regulation include: 

• Requiring municipal separate storm sewer owner 

notification with the registration statement; 

• Requiring State Corporation Commission identification 

number to attain the proper legal owner name of the 

company for permitting and enforcement purposes; 

• Removing the limits and requirements for noncontact 

cooling water as this industry does not use these systems; 

• Clarifying that any waste concrete and any dredged 

solids from the settling basins are two different types of 

waste, and any associated wastewater or stormwater must 

be collected for recycle or treated prior to discharge; 

• Simplifying the one-foot freeboard log reporting 

requirement for the settling basins per technical advisory 

committee (TAC) discussions; 

• Requiring reports of an unusual or extraordinary 

discharge for facilities designed to operate as "no 

discharge" when or if they discharge during 25-year, 24-

hour storm events and reporting of unauthorized discharge 

if a discharge occurs outside of a 25-year, 24-hour storm 

event. This provides some type of notification for discharge 

since discharge monitoring reports are not required for 

these systems. The same requirement is in the nonmetallic 

mineral mining permit since that industry also often 

operates in a no discharge mode; 

• Adding that dust suppression spraying shall not occur 

during measureable rain events as it is unnecessary and 

more likely to result in a discharge from the site; 

• Removing sampling waivers for benchmark monitoring as 

it was generally agreed upon in the TAC that one annual 

stormwater sample can easily be collected during a 

calendar year with proper planning. The sampling waivers 

for quarterly visual examinations were moved to the next 

section. Deleting this waiver also removes the requirement 

for a substitute sample the following period; 

• Clarifying that when visual assessments indicate 

stormwater pollution, stormwater controls must be 

updated. This follow-up for corrective action was missing 

from this requirement; 

• Adding documentation of routine facility inspections as 

this was missing from this requirement; 

• Where appropriate, changing language to match the 

Environmental Protection Agency Multi-sector General 

Permit for Stormwater Discharges Associated with 

Industrial Activity; and 

• Throughout the regulation, where appropriate, making 

due dates for various requirements 60 days (registration, 

outfall changes, and stormwater plan updates and 

corrections) for consistency. 
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CHAPTER 193  

GENERAL VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE 

ELIMINATION SYSTEM (VPDES) GENERAL PERMIT 

FOR CONCRETE PRODUCTS FACILITIES  

9VAC25-193-10. Definitions.  

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 

meanings defined in § 62.1-44.2 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia (State Water Control Law) and 9VAC25-31 

(VPDES Permit Regulation), unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise, except that for the purposes of this 

chapter:  

"Best management practices" or "BMPs" means schedules 

of activities, practices and prohibitions of practices, 

structures, vegetation, maintenance procedures, and other 

management practices to prevent or reduce the discharge of 

pollutants to surface waters. BMPs also include treatment 

requirements, operating procedures, and practices to control 

plant site runoff, spillage or leaks, sludge or waste disposal, 

or drainage from raw material storage. 

"Department" or "DEQ" means the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality.  

"Industrial activity" means facilities or those portions of a 

facility where the primary purpose is classified as:  

1. North American Industry Classification System 

(NAICS) Code 327331 - Concrete Block and Brick 

Manufacturing, (Executive Office of the President, Office 

of Management and Budget, United States, 2017) and 

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Code 3271 - 

Concrete Block and Brick (Office of Management and 

Budget (OMB) SIC Manual, 1987);  

2. NAICS Code 327332 Concrete Pipe Manufacturing, 

NAICS Code 327390 Other Concrete Product 

Manufacturing, NAICS Code 327999 All Other 

Miscellaneous Nonmetallic Mineral Product 

Manufacturing (dry mix concrete manufacturing only) and 

SIC Code 3272 - Concrete Products, Except Block and 

Brick; or  

3. NAICS Code 327320 Ready-Mix Concrete 

Manufacturing and SIC Code 3273 - Ready-Mixed 

Concrete, including both permanent and portable plants.  

These facilities are collectively defined as "Concrete 

Products Facilities."  

"Municipal separate storm sewer system" or "MS4" means a 

conveyance or system of conveyances (including roads with 

drainage systems, municipal streets, catch basins, curbs, 

gutters, ditches, man-made channels, or storm drains): (i) 

owned or operated by a state, city, town, county, district, 

association, or other public body (created by or pursuant to 

state law) having jurisdiction over disposal of sewage, 

industrial wastes, storm water, or other wastes, including 

special districts under state law such as a sewer district, flood 

control district or drainage district, or similar entity, or an 

Indian tribe or an authorized Indian tribal organization, or a 

designated and approved management agency under § 208 of 

the Clean Water Act (CWA) (33 USC § 1251 et seq.) that 

discharges to surface waters of the state; (ii) designed or used 

for collecting or conveying storm water; (iii) which is not a 

combined sewer; and (iv) which is not part of a Publicly 

Owned Treatment Works (POTW).  

"Minimize" means reduce or eliminate to the extent 

achievable using control measures, including best 

management practices, that are technologically available and 

economically practicable and achievable in light of best 

industry practice. 

"No discharge system" means process, commingled, or 

stormwater systems designed to operate so that there is no 

discharge of wastewater or pollutants, except in storm events 

greater than a 25-year, 24-hour storm event. 

"Runoff coefficient" means the fraction of total rainfall that 

will appear at the conveyance as runoff.  

"Significant spills" includes, but is not limited to, releases of 

oil or hazardous substances in excess of reportable quantities 

under § 311 of the Clean Water Act (see 40 CFR 110.10 and 

40 CFR 117.21) or § 102 of the Comprehensive 

Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act 

(CERCLA) (42 USC § 9601 et seq.) (see 40 CFR 302.4). 

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means a 

calculation of the maximum amount of a pollutant that a 

waterbody can receive and still meet water quality standards 

and an allocation of that amount to the pollutant's sources. A 

TMDL includes wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point 

source discharges and load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint 

sources or natural background, or both, and must include a 

margin of safety (MOS) and account for seasonal variations. 

"25-year, 24-hour storm event" means the maximum 24-

hour precipitation event with a probable recurrence interval of 

once in 25 years as established by the National Weather 

Service or appropriate regional or state rainfall probability 

information. 

"Vehicle or equipment degreasing" means the washing or 

steam cleaning of engines or other drive components of a 

vehicle or piece of equipment in which the purpose is to 

degrease and clean petroleum products from the equipment 

for maintenance purposes. Removing sediment and concrete 

residue is not considered vehicle or equipment degreasing. 

9VAC25-193-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the 

Code of Federal Regulations is referenced or adopted herein 

in this chapter and incorporated by reference, that regulation 
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shall be as it exists and has been published as of July 1, 2012 

2017. 

9VAC25-193-20. Purpose.  

This general permit regulation governs the discharge of 

process waste water, noncontact cooling water, wastewater 

and storm water stormwater associated with industrial activity 

from concrete products facilities classified as NAICS Codes 

327331, 327332, 327390, 327320, 327999 (dry mix concrete 

manufacturing only) and Standard Industrial Classification 

Codes 3271, 3272 and 3273, provided that the discharge is 

through a point source to surface waters.  

9VAC25-193-40. Effective date of the permit. 

This general VPDES permit will become effective on 

October 1, 2013 2018, and it will expire on September 30, 

2018 2023. This general permit is effective for any covered 

owner upon compliance with all the provisions of 9VAC25-

193-50.  

9VAC25-193-50. Authorization to discharge.  

A. Any owner governed by this general permit is hereby 

authorized to discharge process water, storm water 

stormwater associated with this industrial activity, cooling 

water, or commingled discharges of these types to surface 

waters of the Commonwealth of Virginia provided that:  

1. The owner submits a registration statement in 

accordance with 9VAC25-193-60 and that registration 

statement is accepted by the board; 

2. The owner submits the required permit fee; 

3. The owner complies with the applicable effluent 

limitations and other requirements of 9VAC25-193-70; and 

4. The board has not notified the owner that the discharge 

is not eligible for coverage in accordance with subsection 

B of this section. 

B. The board will notify an owner that the discharge is not 

eligible for coverage under this general permit in the event of 

any of the following:  

1. The owner is required to obtain an individual permit in 

accordance with 9VAC25-31-170 B 3 of the VPDES 

Permit Regulation;  

2. The owner is proposing to discharge to state waters 

specifically named in other board regulations that prohibit 

such discharges; 

3. The discharge violates or would violate the 

antidegradation policy in the Water Quality Standards at 

9VAC25-260-30; or 

4. The discharge is not consistent with the assumptions and 

requirements of an approved TMDL. 

C. Compliance with this general permit constitutes 

compliance, for purposes of enforcement, with §§ 301, 302, 

306, 307, 318, 403, and 405(a) through 405(b) of the federal 

Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.) and the State Water 

Control Law, with the exceptions stated in 9VAC25-31-60 of 

the VPDES Permit Regulation. Approval for coverage under 

this general permit does not relieve any owner of the 

responsibility to comply with any other applicable federal, 

state, or local statute, ordinance, or regulation. 

D. Continuation of permit coverage.  

1. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 

concrete products general permit issued in 2008 and that 

submits a complete registration statement on or before 

October 1, 2013, is authorized to continue to discharge 

under the terms of the 2008 general permit until such time 

as the board either Permit coverage shall expire at the end 

of its term. However, expiring permit coverages are 

automatically continued if the owner has submitted a 

complete registration statement at least 60 days prior to the 

expiration date of the permit, or a later submittal 

established by the board, which cannot extend beyond the 

expiration date of the permit. The permittee is authorized 

to continue to discharge until such time as the board either:  

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit; 

or  

b. Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 

coverage under this general permit.  

2. When the owner that was covered under the expiring or 

expired general permit has violated or is violating the 

conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any 

or all of the following:  

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the general 

permit coverage that has been continued;  

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 

reissued general permit. If the general permit coverage is 

denied, the owner would then be required to cease the 

discharges authorized by the continued coverage under 

the terms of the general permit or be subject to 

enforcement action for discharging without a permit;  

c. Issue an individual permit with appropriate conditions; 

or  

d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES Permit 

Regulation (9VAC25-31). 

9VAC25-193-60. Registration statement.  

A. Deadlines for submitting registration statement. The Any 

owner seeking coverage under this general permit shall 

submit a complete VPDES general permit registration 

statement in accordance with this section, which shall serve 

as a notice of intent for coverage under the general VPDES 

permit for concrete products facilities.  
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1. New facilities. Any owner proposing a new discharge 

shall submit a complete registration statement at least 30 

60 days prior to the date planned for commencement of the 

new discharge or a later submittal established by the board.  

2. Existing facilities.  

a. Any owner covered by an individual VPDES permit 

who that is proposing to be covered by this general 

permit shall submit a complete registration statement at 

least 210 240 days prior to the expiration date of the 

individual VPDES permit.  

b. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 

expiring or expired general VPDES permit that became 

effective on October 1, 2008, and who intends to 

continue coverage under this general permit shall submit 

a complete registration statement to the board on or 

before July 1, 2013 at least 60 days prior to the expiration 

date of the existing permit or a later submittal established 

by the board.  

B. Late registration statements. Registration statements for 

existing facilities covered under subdivision A 2 b of this 

section will be accepted after October 1, 2013 the expiration 

date of this permit, but authorization to discharge will not be 

retroactive. Owners described in subdivision A 2 b of this 

section that submit registration statements after July 1, 2013, 

are authorized to discharge under the provisions of 9VAC25-

193-50 D if a complete registration statement is submitted on 

or before October 1, 2013. 

C. The required registration statement shall contain the 

following information: 

1. Facility name and address, owner name, mailing 

address, telephone number, and email address (if 

available); 

2. Operator or other contact name, mailing address, 

telephone number, and email address (if available) if 

different from owner;  

3. Facility's Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) 

Code(s) Codes;  

4. Nature of business at facility;  

5. Indicate if the facility is proposed or existing; if the 

facility has a current VPDES and/or VPA Permit; and 

Permit Number(s) for any current VPDES and/or VPA 

Permits;  

6. 5. Description of the wastewater treatment or 

reuse/recycle system(s); reuse or recycle systems;  

indicate 6. Indicate if there are any system(s) which 

process wastewater systems, which may be commingled 

with stormwater, or stormwater designed to operate in a as 

"no discharge" mode;  

7. If settling basins are used for treatment and control of 

process wastewater and commingled storm water, which 

may be commingled with stormwater systems, indicate the 

original date of construction, and whether these basins are 

lined with concrete or any other impermeable materials 

describe the materials lining the process or commingled 

settling basins;  

8. Indicate if there are vehicle or equipment degreasing 

activities performed on site. If yes, indicate if there is any 

process wastewater generated from these activities;  

9. Indicate if a noncontact cooling water system is in use 

and if this facility discharges noncontact cooling water 

from a geothermal unit or other system. If yes, provide the 

following: 

a. Describe the source of noncontact cooling water; and 

b. If applicable, list chemical additives employed and 

their purpose, proposed schedule and quantity of 

chemical usage, estimated concentration in the discharge, 

description of any wastewater treatment or retention 

during the use of the additives, and a (Material) Safety 

Data Sheet (SDS) and available aquatic toxicity 

information for each additive proposed for use;  

10. 9. Description of any measures employed to reclaim, 

reuse, or disposal of the residual concrete materials;  

11. 10. A schematic drawing which that shows the 

source(s) sources of water used on the property, the 

industrial operations contributing to or using water, the 

conceptual design of the methods of treatment and disposal 

of wastewater and solids, and the storm water stormwater 

pollution prevention plan site map (see 9VAC25-193-70 

Part II G F 6 c);  

12. 11. A USGS 7.5 minute topographic map or equivalent 

computer generated map, extending to at least one mile 

beyond property boundary, which shows the property 

boundary, the location of each of its existing and proposed 

intake and discharge points, and the locations of any wells, 

springs, and other surface water bodies;  

13. 12. Discharge outfall information, including outfall 

number(s) numbers, description of wastewater discharged 

from each outfall, estimated flow (gallons per day), 

receiving water bodies, duration and frequency of each 

discharge (hours per day and days per week), and latitude 

and longitude of outfall location; 

14. 13. Indicate which storm water stormwater outfalls will 

be representative outfalls (if any). For storm water 

stormwater outfalls that are to be represented by other 

outfall discharges, provide the following: 

a. The locations of the outfalls; 
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b. Why the outfalls are expected to discharge 

substantially identical effluents including, where 

available, evaluation of monitoring data; 

c. Estimates of the size of the drainage area (in square 

feet) for each of the outfalls; and 

d. An estimate of the runoff coefficient of the drainage 

areas (low: under 40%; medium: 40% to 65%; high: 

above 65%);  

15. 14. Indicate if a Storm Water Stormwater Pollution 

Prevention Plan has been prepared; 

16. 15. Whether the facility will discharge to a municipal 

separate storm sewer system (MS4). If so, provide the 

name of the MS4 owner. The "yes," the facility owner of 

the facility shall notify the MS4 owner in writing of the 

existence of the discharge within 30 days of coverage 

under the general permit and shall copy the DEQ regional 

office with the notification at the time of registration under 

this permit and include that notification with the 

registration statement. The notification shall include the 

following information: the name of the facility, a contact 

person and phone number contact information, the location 

of the discharge, the nature of the discharge, and the 

facility's VPDES general permit number; 

17. 16. For portable concrete products operations, submit a 

closure plan and include the requirements specified by the 

operation and maintenance manual in 9VAC25-193 Part I 

B 9 a (4) 9VAC25-193-70 Part I B 8 a (4) of the permit;  

17. For applicants other than a sole proprietor, the State 

Corporation Commission entity identification number; and  

18. The following certification: "I hereby grant to duly 

authorized agents of the Department of Environmental 

Quality, upon presentation of credentials, permission to 

enter the property where the treatment works is located for 

the purpose of determining compliance with or the 

suitability of coverage under the General Permit. I certify 

under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 

that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the 

information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person 

or persons who manage the system or those persons 

directly responsible for gathering the information, the 

information submitted is to the best of my knowledge and 

belief true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there 

are significant penalties for submitting false information 

including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for 

knowing violations."  

D. The registration statement shall be signed in accordance 

with the requirements of 9VAC25-31-110 of the VPDES 

Permit Regulation.  

E. Where to submit. The registration statement shall be 

delivered by either postal or electronic mail to the DEQ 

regional office serving the area where the facility is located. 

9VAC25-193-70. General permit. 

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the 

board will receive coverage under the following general 

permit and shall comply with the requirements contained 

therein in the general permit and be subject to all 

requirements of 9VAC25-31 9VAC25-31-170 of the VPDES 

Permit Regulation.  

General Permit No: VAG11  

Effective Date: October 1, 2013 2018 

Expiration Date: September 30, 2018 2023 

GENERAL PERMIT FOR CONCRETE PRODUCTS 

FACILITIES AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE 

UNDER THE VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE 

ELIMINATION SYSTEM AND THE VIRGINIA STATE 

WATER CONTROL LAW  

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, 

as amended, and pursuant to the State Water Control Law and 

regulations adopted pursuant thereto, owners of concrete 

products facilities are authorized to discharge to surface 

waters within the boundaries of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, except those specifically named in board regulations 

which that prohibit such discharges.  

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the 

information submitted with the registration statement, this 

cover page, Part I-Effluent Limitations, Monitoring 

Requirements, and Special Conditions, Part II-Storm Water 

Part II-Stormwater Management, and Part III-Conditions 

Applicable to All VPDES Permits, as set forth herein in this 

permit.  

Part I  

Effluent Limitations, Monitoring Requirements, and Special 

Conditions. 

A. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements.  

1. Process wastewater.  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage 

under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 

expiration date, the permittee is authorized to discharge 

process wastewater which that may contain input from 

vehicle wash water, or vehicle or equipment degreasing 

activities, and may be commingled with noncontact 

cooling water, storm water stormwater associated with 

industrial activity, or both. Samples taken in compliance 

with the monitoring requirements specified below shall be 

taken at outfall(s) outfalls.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the 

permittee as specified below:  
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EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Average Maximum Minimum Frequency(6) (3) Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) NL NL NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

Total Suspended Solids (mg/l) 30 60 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

pH (standard units) NA 9.0(1) 6.0(1) 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Petroleum 

Hydrocarbons(2) (mg/l) 
NA 15 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine(3) 

(mg/l) 
0.016 0.016 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Ammonia-N(3) (mg/l) NA NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Temperature(4) (°C) NA (5) NA 1/3 Months 
Immersion 

Stabilization 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 
(1)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in the waters receiving the 

discharge, those standards shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations. 
(2)Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons limitation and monitoring are only required where a discharge contains process wastewater 

generated from the vehicle or equipment degreasing activities. Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons shall be analyzed using EPA 

SW-846 Method 8015 B (1996), 8015C (2000), 8015C (2007), 8015 D (2003) for diesel range organics or EPA 40 CFR Part 

136.  

(3)Chlorine limitation and monitoring are only required where the discharge contains cooling water that is chlorinated. 

Ammonia monitoring is only required where the discharge contains cooling water that is disinfected using chloramines. 
(4)Temperature limitation and monitoring are only required where a discharge contains cooling water. 
(5)The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, 31°C 

for mountain and upper piedmont waters, 21°C for put and take trout waters, or 20°C for natural trout waters. No maximum 

temperature limit applies to discharges to estuarine waters. 

For estuarine waters, nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, mountain and upper piedmont waters, and put and take trout 

waters, the effluent shall not cause an increase in temperature of the receiving stream of more than 3°C above the natural 

water temperature. For natural trout waters, the temperature of the effluent shall not cause an increase of 1°C above natural 

water temperature. The effluent shall not cause the temperature in the receiving stream to change more than 2°C per hour, 

except in the case of natural trout waters where the hourly temperature change shall not exceed 0.5°C. 

Natural temperature is defined as that temperature of a body of water (measured as the arithmetic average over one hour) due 

solely to natural conditions without the influence of any point-source discharge. 
(6) (3)1/3 months means one sample collected per calendar quarter with reports due to the DEQ regional office no later than the 

10th day of April, July, October, and January. 

2. Noncontact cooling water.  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge noncontact cooling water. Samples taken in compliance with the monitoring 

requirements specified below shall be taken at outfall(s).  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Average Maximum Minimum Frequency(4) Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) NL NL NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (standard units) NA 9.0(1) 6.0(1) 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine(2) (mg/l) 0.016 0.016 NA 1/3 Months Grab 
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Ammonia-N(2) (mg/l) NA NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Temperature (°C) NA (3) NA 1/3 Months 
Immersion 

Stabilization 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 
(1)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in the waters receiving the 

discharge, those standards shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations. 
(2)Chlorine limitation and monitoring are only required where the source of cooling water is chlorinated. Ammonia 

monitoring is only required where cooling water is disinfected using chloramines. 
(3)The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, 31°C 

for mountain and upper piedmont waters, 21°C for put and take trout waters, or 20°C for natural trout waters. No maximum 

temperature limit applies to discharges to estuarine waters. For estuarine waters, nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, 

mountain and upper piedmont waters, and put and take trout waters, the effluent shall not cause an increase in temperature of 

the receiving stream of more than 3°C above the natural water temperature. For natural trout waters, the temperature of the 

effluent shall not cause an increase of 1°C above natural water temperature. The effluent shall not cause the temperature in 

the receiving stream to change more than 2°C per hour, except in the case of natural trout waters where the hourly 

temperature change shall not exceed 0.5°C. Natural temperature is defined as that temperature of a body of water (measured 

as the arithmetic average over one hour) due solely to natural conditions without the influence of any point-source discharge. 
(4)1/3 months means one sample collected per calendar quarter with reports due to the DEQ regional office no later than the 

10th day of April, July, October, and January.  

3. Storm water 2. Stormwater associated with industrial activity—storm event benchmark monitoring industrial activity from 

concrete products facilities.  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge storm water stormwater associated with industrial activity which that does not 

combine with other process wastewaters or noncontact cooling water prior to discharge. Samples taken in compliance with 

the monitoring requirements specified below shall be taken at outfall(s) outfalls.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

BENCHMARK MONITORING 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS(3), (5) 

Maximum Minimum Frequency(4) Sample Type 

Flow (MG) NL NA 1/Year Estimate(1) 

Total Suspended Solids (mg/l) NL(2) NA 1/Year Grab(2) 

pH (standard units) NL(2) NL(2) 1/Year Grab(2) 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 
(1)Estimate of the total volume of the discharge during the storm event in accordance with the Operation operation and 

Maintenance Manual maintenance manual. 
(2)Should If the benchmark monitoring for TSS exceed exceeds 100 mg/l maximum or the pH fall falls outside of the range of 

6.0-9.0 standard units, the permittee shall evaluate the overall effectiveness of the SWPPP stormwater pollution prevention 

plan (SWPPP) in controlling the discharge of pollutants to receiving waters. Benchmark concentration values are not effluent 

limitations. Exceedance of a benchmark concentration does not constitute a violation of this permit and does not indicate that 

violation of a water quality standard has occurred; however, it does signal that modifications to the SWPPP are necessary, 

unless justification is provided in the routine facility inspection or comprehensive site compliance evaluation. 
(3)Specific storm event data shall be reported with the Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) in accordance with Part II A.  
(4)1/year means one sample taken per calendar year with the annual DMR due to the DEQ regional office no later than the 

10th day of January of each year.  
(5)Quarterly visual monitoring shall be performed and recorded in accordance with Part II D C. 
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B. Special conditions.  

1. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible 

foam in other than trace amounts. There shall be no solids 

deposition or oil sheen from petroleum products in surface 

water as a result of the industrial activity in the vicinity of 

the outfall. 

2. Except as expressly authorized by this permit, no 

product, materials, industrial wastes, or other wastes 

resulting from the purchase, sale, mining, extraction, 

transport, preparation, or storage of raw or intermediate 

materials, final product, byproduct or wastes, shall be 

handled, disposed of, or stored so as to permit a discharge 

of such product, materials, industrial wastes, or other 

wastes to surface waters. 

3. Vehicles and equipment utilized during the industrial 

activity on a site must be operated and maintained in such 

a manner as to minimize the potential or actual point 

source pollution of surface waters. Fuels, lubricants, 

coolants, and hydraulic fluids, or any other petroleum 

products, shall not be disposed of by discharging on the 

ground or into surface waters. Spent fluids shall be 

disposed of in a manner so as not to enter the surface or 

ground waters of the state and in accordance with the 

applicable state and federal disposal regulations. Any 

spilled fluids shall be cleaned up and disposed of in a 

manner so as not to allow their entry into the surface or 

ground waters of the state. 

4. All washdown and washout of trucks, mixers, transport 

buckets, forms or other equipment shall be conducted 

within designated washdown and washout areas. All 

washdown and washout water shall be collected for recycle 

or collected and treated to meet the limits in Part I A prior 

to discharge to the receiving stream. 

5. Any waste concrete and any dredged solids from the 

settling basins shall be managed within a designated area, 

and any wastewaters including storm water stormwater 

generated from these activities shall be collected for 

recycle or treated prior to discharge. 

6. Wastewater should be reused or recycled whenever 

feasible. 

7. No sewage discharges to surface waters are permitted 

under this general permit. 

8. For geothermal or other system which discharges 

noncontact cooling water, the use of any chemical 

additives, except chlorine, without prior approval is 

prohibited under this general permit. Prior approval shall 

be obtained from the DEQ Regional Office before any 

changes are made to the chemical usage in the geothermal 

or other system. Requests for approval of chemical use 

shall be made in writing and shall include the following 

information:  

a. The chemical additive to be employed and its purpose;  

b. The proposed schedule and quantity of chemical 

usage, and the estimated concentration in the discharge;  

c. The wastewater treatment or retention (if any) to be 

provided during the use of the additive; and 

d. A (Material) Safety Data Sheet (SDS) and any of the 

manufacturer's aquatic toxicity information for each 

additive proposed for use.  

9. Operations 8. Operation and Maintenance maintenance 

(O&M) Manual manual.  

a. Within 180 days after the date of coverage under this 

general permit, the permittee shall develop or review and 

update, as appropriate, an Operations and Maintenance 

operation and maintenance (O&M) Manual manual for 

the permitted facility. The O&M Manual manual shall 

include procedures and practices for the mitigation of 

pollutant discharges for the protection of state waters 

from the facility's operations and to ensure compliance 

with the requirements of the permit. The manual shall 

address, at a minimum: 

(1) Operations Operation and maintenance practices for 

the wastewater treatment process units and chemical and 

material storage areas; 

(2) Methods for estimating process wastewater flows; 

(3) Solids management and disposal procedures; 

(4) Temporary and long-term facility closure plans that 

shall include (i) treatment, removal, and final disposition 

of residual wastewater, contaminated storm water 

stormwater held at the facility, and solids; (ii) fate of 

structures; (iii) a removal plan for all exposed industrial 

materials; and (iv) description of the stabilization of land 

in which they were stored or placed; 

(5) Testing requirements and procedures; 

(6) Recordkeeping and reporting requirements; and 

(7) Duties and roles of responsible officials. 

b. The permittee shall operate the treatment works in 

accordance with the O&M manual. The O&M manual 

shall be reviewed and updated at least annually and shall 

be signed and certified in accordance with Part III K of 

this permit. The O&M manual shall be made available 

for review by department personnel upon request. 

10. 9. If the concrete products facility discharges through a 

municipal separate storm sewer system to surface waters, 

the permittee shall, within 30 days of coverage under this 

general permit, notify the owner of the municipal separate 

storm sewer system of the existence of the discharge and 

provide and include that notification with the registration 

statement. The notification shall include the following 
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information: the name of the facility, a contact person and 

phone number contact information, the nature location of 

the discharge, the location nature of the discharge, and the 

facility's VPDES general permit number. A copy of such 

notification shall be provided to the department.  

11. 10. The permittee shall ensure that all basins and 

lagoons maintain a minimum freeboard of one foot at all 

times except during a 72-hour transition period after a 

measurable rainfall event. During the 72-hour transition 

period, no discharge from the basins and lagoons shall 

occur unless it is in accordance with this permit. Within 72 

hours after a measurable rainfall event, the freeboard in all 

basins and lagoons shall be returned to the minimum 

freeboard of one foot. Where basins are operated in a series 

mode of operation, the one-foot freeboard requirement for 

the upper basins may be waived provided the final basin 

will maintain the freeboard requirements of this special 

condition. Should the one-foot freeboard not be 

maintained, the permittee shall immediately notify the 

DEQ Regional Office, describe the problem and corrective 

measures taken take measures to correct the problem 

before the next rain event. Within five days of notification, 

the permittee shall submit a written statement to the DEQ 

Regional Office with an explanation of the problem and 

corrective measures taken. In order to demonstrate 

compliance with this special condition, the permittee shall 

conduct daily inspections while when the facility is in 

operation during normal operating hours and maintain an 

inspection log. The inspection log shall include at least the 

date and time of inspection, the weather data including the 

occurrence of a measurable rainfall event, the printed name 

and the handwritten signature the initials of the inspector, 

the if one-foot minimum freeboard measurement in inches, 

a notation of observation made, was maintained, and any 

corrective measures, if appropriate, taken. The log shall be 

kept onsite and be made available to the department upon 

request.  

12. For 11. Process wastewater, which may be commingled 

with stormwater, treatment systems which or stormwater 

systems designed to operate only in a as "no discharge" 

mode, there shall be have no discharge of wastewater or 

pollutants to surface waters from these systems except in 

the case of a storm event which is greater than a 25 year-24 

hour storm events greater than a 25-year, 24-hour storm 

event. In the event of such a discharge, the permittee shall 

report an unusual or extraordinary discharge per Part III H 

of this permit. No sampling or DMR is required for these 

discharges as they are considered to be discharging in 

emergency discharge conditions. All other conditions in 

Part I B, Part II, and Part III apply. Any other discharge 

from this type of system is prohibited and shall be reported 

as an unauthorized discharge per Part III G of this permit. 

The operation of these systems shall not contravene the 

Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260), as adopted and 

amended by the board, or any provision of the State Water 

Control Law.  

13. 12. The permittee shall notify the department as soon 

as he knows or has reason to believe:  

a. That any activity has occurred or will occur which that 

would result in the discharge, on a routine or frequent 

basis, of any toxic pollutant which that is not limited in 

this permit if that discharge will exceed the highest of the 

following notification levels: 

(1) One hundred micrograms per liter (100 µg/l) of the 

toxic pollutant; 

(2) Two hundred micrograms per liter (200 µg/l) for 

acrolein and acrylonitrile; five hundred micrograms per 

liter (500 µg/l) for 2,4-dinitrophenol and for 2-methyl-

4,6-dinitrophenol; and one milligram per liter (1 mg/l) 

for antimony; 

(3) Five times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the permit application; or 

(4) The level established by the board in accordance with 

9VAC25-31-220 F. 

b. That any activity has occurred or will occur which 

would result in any discharge, on a nonroutine or 

infrequent basis, of a toxic pollutant which is not limited 

in this permit if that discharge will exceed the highest of 

the following notification levels: 

(1) Five hundred micrograms per liter (500 µg/l) of the 

toxic pollutant; 

(2) One milligram per liter (1 mg/l) for antimony; 

(3) Ten times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the permit application; or 

(4) The level established by the board in accordance with 

9VAC25-31-220 F. 

14. 13. All settling basins used for treatment and control of 

process wastewater or process wastewater commingled 

with storm water stormwater that were constructed on or 

after February 2, 1998, shall be lined with concrete or any 

other impermeable materials. Regardless of date of 

construction, all settling basins used for treatment and 

control of process wastewater or process wastewater 

commingled with storm water stormwater that are 

expanded or dewatered for major structural repairs shall be 

lined with concrete or any other impermeable materials. 

15. 14. Settled wastewater may be used on site for the 

purposes of dust suppression or for spraying stockpiles. 

These activities shall be carried out as a best management 

practice but not a wastewater disposal method. There shall 

be no direct discharge to surface waters from dust 

suppression or as a result of spraying stockpiles. Dust 

suppression shall be carried out as a best management 
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practice but not as a wastewater disposal method provided 

that ponding or direct run-off from the site does not occur 

during or immediately following its application. Dust 

suppression shall not occur during a "measurable" rain 

event (a storm event that results in an actual discharge 

from the site). 

16. 15. Compliance reporting under Part I A.  

a. The quantification levels (QL) shall be as follows less 

than or equal to the following concentrations:  

Effluent 

Characteristic 

Quantification Level 

TSS 1.0 mg/l 

TPH 5.0 mg/l 

Chlorine 0.10 mg/l 

Ammonia-N 0.20 mg/l 

The QL is defined as the lowest concentration used to 

calibrate a measurement system in accordance with the 

procedures published for the test method. 

b. Reporting.  

(1) Monthly Average average. Compliance with the 

monthly average limitations and/or or reporting 

requirements for the parameters listed in Part I A shall be 

determined as follows: All concentration data below the 

QL listed in subdivision 16 15 a of this subsection shall 

be treated as zero. All concentration data equal to or 

above the QL listed shall be treated as it is reported. An 

arithmetic average shall be calculated using all reported 

data, including the defined zeros, for the month. This 

arithmetic average shall be reported on the DMR as 

calculated. If all data are below the QL then the average 

shall be reported as "<QL." If reporting for quantity is 

required on the DMR and the calculated concentration is 

<QL then report "<QL" for the quantity, otherwise use 

the calculated concentration. 

(2) Daily Maximum maximum. Compliance with the 

daily maximum limitations and/or or reporting 

requirements for the parameters listed in Part I A shall be 

determined as follows: All concentration data below the 

QL listed in subdivision 16 15 a of this subsection shall 

be treated as zero. All concentration data equal to or 

above the QL shall be treated as reported. An arithmetic 

average of the values shall be calculated using all 

reported data, including the defined zeros, collected for 

each day during the reporting month. The maximum 

value of these daily averages thus determined shall be 

reported on the DMR as the Daily Maximum daily 

maximum. If all data are below the QL then the average 

shall be reported as "<QL." If reporting for quantity is 

required on the DMR and the calculated concentration is 

<QL then report "<QL" for the quantity, otherwise use 

the calculated concentration. 

(3) Any single datum required shall be reported as "<QL" 

if it less than the QL listed in subdivision 16 15 a of this 

subsection. Otherwise the numerical value shall be 

reported. The QL must be less than or equal to the QL in 

subdivision 15 a of this subsection. 

(4) The permittee shall report at least two significant 

digits for a given parameter. Regardless of the rounding 

convention used (i.e., five always rounding up or to the 

nearest even number) by the permittee, the permittee 

shall use the convention consistently and shall ensure that 

consulting laboratories employed by the permittee use 

the same convention. 

17. 16. Discharges to waters with an approved total 

maximum daily load (TMDL). Owners of facilities that are 

a source of the specified pollutant of concern to waters 

where an approved TMDL has been established shall 

implement measures and controls that are consistent with 

the assumptions and requirements of the TMDL.  

18. 17. Adding or deleting outfalls. The permittee may add 

new or delete existing outfalls at the facility as necessary 

and appropriate. The permittee shall update the O&M 

manual and storm water pollution prevention plan 

(SWPPP) SWPPP and notify the department of all outfall 

changes within 30 60 days of the change. New outfalls 

require a new or The permittee shall submit an updated 

registration statement including an updated SWPPP site 

map.  

19. 18. Notice of termination.  

a. The owner may terminate coverage under this general 

permit by filing a complete notice of termination with the 

department. The notice of termination may be filed after 

one or more of the following conditions have been met:  

(1) Operations have ceased at the facility, and there are 

no longer discharges of process wastewater, noncontact 

cooling water, or storm water stormwater associated with 

the industrial activity; 

(2) A new owner has assumed responsibility for the 

facility (NOTE:. A notice of termination does not have to 

be submitted if a VPDES Change of Ownership 

Agreement form has been submitted) submitted;  

(3) All discharges associated with this facility have been 

covered by an individual VPDES permit or an alternative 

VPDES permit; or  

(4) Termination of coverage is being requested for 

another reason, provided the board agrees that coverage 

under this general permit is no longer needed.  

b. The notice of termination shall contain the following 

information:  
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(1) Owner's name, mailing address, telephone number, 

and email address (if available);  

(2) Facility name and location;  

(3) VPDES general permit registration number for the 

facility; and 

(4) The basis for submitting the notice of termination, 

including:  

(a) A statement indicating that a new owner has assumed 

responsibility for the facility;  

(b) A statement indicating that operations have ceased at 

the facility, a closure plan has been implemented 

according to the O&M manual, and there are no longer 

discharges from the facility;  

(c) A statement indicating that all discharges have been 

covered by an individual VPDES permit; or  

(d) A statement indicating that termination of coverage is 

being requested for another reason (state the reason).  

c. The following certification: "I certify under penalty of 

law that all concrete products waste water and storm 

water stormwater discharges from the identified facility 

that are authorized by this VPDES general permit have 

been eliminated, or covered under a VPDES individual 

or alternative permit, or that I am no longer the owner of 

the facility, or permit coverage should be terminated for 

another reason listed above. I understand that by 

submitting this notice of termination, that I am no longer 

authorized to discharge concrete products waste water or 

storm water stormwater in accordance with the general 

permit, and that discharging pollutants to surface waters 

is unlawful where the discharge is not authorized by a 

VPDES permit. I also understand that the submittal of 

this notice of termination does not release an owner from 

liability for any violations of this permit or the Clean 

Water Act."  

d. The notice of termination shall be submitted to the 

department and signed in accordance with Part III K.  

e. The notice of termination shall be submitted to the 

DEQ regional office serving the area where the concrete 

products facility discharge is located. 

20. 19. Temporary closure at inactive and unstaffed sites 

waiver. 

a. When the permittee is unable to conduct effluent 

monitoring, benchmark monitoring, or storm water 

stormwater management requirements at an inactive and 

unstaffed site, a waiver of these requirements may be 

exercised by the board as long as the facility remains 

inactive and unstaffed, and there are no industrial 

materials or activities exposed to storm water 

stormwater. The waiver request shall be submitted to the 

board for approval and shall include the information in 

the temporary closure plan specified in Part I B 9 8 a (4), 

the facility's VPDES general permit registration number; 

a contact person, telephone number, and email address (if 

available); the reason for the request; the date the facility 

became or will become inactive and unstaffed; and the 

date the closure plan will be completed. The waiver shall 

be signed and certified in accordance with Part III K. If 

this waiver is granted, the permittee must retain a copy of 

the request and the board's written approval of the waiver 

in accordance with Part III B the SWPPP. 

b. To reactivate the site the permittee must notify the 

department 30 days prior to reopening the facility and 

commencing any point source discharges of either treated 

process wastewater or storm water stormwater runoff 

associated with industrial activities. Upon this 

notification all effluent monitoring, benchmark 

monitoring, or storm water stormwater management 

requirements of this permit shall be required. This 

notification must be submitted to the department, signed 

in accordance with Part III K, and retained on site at the 

facility covered by this permit in accordance with Part III 

B. 

c. The board retains the right to revoke this waiver when 

it is determined that the discharge is causing, has a 

reasonable potential to cause, or contributes to a water 

quality standards violation.  

21. 20. The discharges authorized by this permit shall be 

controlled as necessary to meet applicable water quality 

standards.  

22. 21. Approval for coverage under this general permit 

does not relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply 

with any other applicable federal, state, or local statute, 

ordinance, or regulation. 

Part II 

Storm Water Stormwater Management. 

A. Monitoring instructions. 

1. Collection and analysis of samples. Sampling 

requirements shall be assessed on an outfall by outfall 

basis. Samples shall be collected and analyzed in 

accordance with the requirements of Part III A. 

2. When and how to sample. A minimum of one grab 

sample shall be taken resulting from a storm event that 

results in an actual discharge from the site (defined as a 

"measureable storm event"), providing the interval from 

the preceding measurable storm event is at least 72 hours. 

The 72-hour storm interval is waived if the permittee is 

able to document with the discharge monitoring report 

(DMR) DMR that less than a 72-hour interval is 

representative for local storm events during the sampling 

period. The grab sample shall be taken during the first 30 
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minutes of the discharge. If it is not practicable to take the 

sample during the first 30 minutes, the sample may be 

taken during the first hour three hours of discharge 

provided that the permittee explains with the DMR 

SWPPP why a grab sample during the first 30 minutes was 

impractical. 

3. Recording of results. For each discharge measurement or 

sample taken pursuant to the storm event monitoring 

requirements of this permit, the permittee shall record and 

report with the Discharge Monitoring Reports (DMRs) 

DMR the following information: 

a. Date and duration (in hours) of the storm event(s) 

events sampled; 

b. Rainfall measurements or estimates (in inches) of the 

storm event which that generated the sampled discharge; 

and 

c. Duration between the storm event sampled and the end 

of the previous measurable storm event. 

B. Representative discharge outfalls - substantially identical 

outfalls. If a facility has two or more exclusively storm water 

stormwater outfalls that discharge substantially identical 

effluents, based on similarities of the industrial activities, 

significant materials, size of drainage areas, and storm water 

stormwater management practices occurring within the 

drainage areas of the outfalls, the permittee may monitor the 

effluent of just one of the outfalls and report that the 

observations also apply to the substantially identical outfall. 

Representative outfalls must be identified in the registration 

statement submitted for coverage under this permit. 

Substantially identical outfalls outfall monitoring can apply to 

quarterly visual and benchmark monitoring. The permittee 

must include the following information in the storm water 

pollution prevention plan (SWPPP) SWPPP: 

1. The locations of the outfalls; 

2. Why the outfalls are expected to discharge substantially 

identical effluents, including evaluation of monitoring data 

where available; 

3. Estimates of the size of the drainage area (in square feet) 

for each of the outfalls; and 

4. An estimate of the runoff coefficient of the drainage 

areas (low: under 40%; medium: 40% to 65%; high: above 

65%). 

C. Sampling waivers.  

1. When a permittee is unable to conduct benchmark 

monitoring or visual examinations within the specified 

sampling period due to no "measureable" storm event or 

adverse weather conditions, the permittee shall collect a 

substitute sample from the next separate qualifying event 

and submit these data along with documentation explaining 

a facility's inability to conduct benchmark monitoring or 

visual examinations (including dates and times the outfalls 

were viewed and sampling was attempted) of no 

"measureable" storm event or of adverse weather 

conditions with the DMR to the DEQ. Adverse weather 

conditions which may prohibit the collection of samples 

include weather conditions that create dangerous 

conditions for personnel (such as local flooding, high 

winds, hurricane, tornadoes, electrical storms, etc.). 

Acceptable documentation includes, but is not limited to 

National Climatic Data Center weather station data, local 

weather station data, facility rainfall logs, and other 

appropriate supporting data. All documentation shall also 

be maintained with the SWPPP. 

2. Sampling waiver for inactive and unstaffed sites. See 

Part I B 20. 

D. C. Quarterly visual examination of storm water 

stormwater quality. The permittee shall perform and 

document a visual examination of a storm water stormwater 

discharge associated with industrial activity from each outfall, 

except discharges waived in subdivision D 1 and subsection 

C 4 of this section subsection. The visual examination(s) 

examinations must be made during daylight hours (e.g., 

normal working hours) hours, at least once in each of the 

following three-month periods: January through March, April 

through June, July through September, and October through 

December. 

1. Examinations shall be made of samples Samples will be 

in a clean, colorless glass or plastic container and 

examined in a well-lit area; 

2. Samples will be collected within the first 30 minutes (or 

as soon thereafter as practical, but not to exceed one hour) 

three hours, provided that the permittee explains in the 

SWPPP why an examination during the first 30 minutes 

was impractical) of when the runoff or snowmelt begins 

discharging. All such samples shall be collected from the 

discharge resulting from a storm event that results in an 

actual discharge from the site (defined as a "measurable 

storm event") providing the interval from the preceding 

measurable storm event is at least 72 hours. The required 

72-hour storm event interval is waived where the preceding 

measurable storm event did not result in a measurable 

discharge from the facility. The 72-hour storm event 

interval may also be waived where the permittee 

documents that less than a 72-hour interval is 

representative for local storm events during the season 

when sampling is being conducted. 

3. The examination shall document observations of observe 

color, odor, clarity, floating solids, settled solids, 

suspended solids, foam, oil sheen, and other obvious 

indicators of storm water stormwater pollution. The 

examination must be conducted in a well lit area. No 

analytical tests are required to be performed on the 

samples. All such samples shall be collected from the 
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discharge resulting from a storm event that results in an 

actual discharge from the site (defined as a "measurable 

storm event") providing the interval from the preceding 

measurable storm event is at least 72 hours. The required 

72-hour storm event interval is waived where the preceding 

measurable storm event did not result in a measurable 

discharge from the facility. The 72-hour storm event 

interval may also be waived where the permittee 

documents that less than a 72-hour interval is 

representative for local storm events during the season 

when sampling is being conducted.  

4. If no qualifying storm event resulted in discharge from 

the facility during a monitoring period, or adverse weather 

conditions create dangerous conditions for personnel 

during each measurable storm event during a monitoring 

period, visual monitoring is exempted provided that the 

permittee documents that no qualifying storm event 

occurred that resulted in a storm water discharge during 

that quarter. Where practicable, the same individual should 

carry out the collection and examination of discharges for 

the entire permit term this is documented in the SWPPP.  

2. 5. Visual examination reports must shall be maintained 

onsite with the SWPPP. The report shall include the outfall 

location, the examination date and time, examination 

personnel, the nature of the discharge (i.e., runoff or snow 

melt), visual quality of the storm water stormwater 

discharge (including observations of color, odor, clarity, 

floating solids, settled solids, suspended solids, foam, oil 

sheen, and other obvious indicators of storm water 

stormwater pollution), visual quality of the receiving 

stream (including observations of solids deposition and oil 

sheen from the industrial activity) in the vicinity of the 

outfall (including ditches and conveyances), and probable 

sources of any observed storm water stormwater 

contamination. 

6. Whenever the visual assessment shows obvious 

indicators of stormwater pollution, the SWPPP and 

stormwater controls shall be updated per Part II F. 

E. D. Allowable nonstorm water nonstormwater discharges.  

1. The following nonstorm water nonstormwater 

discharges are authorized by this permit provided the 

nonstorm water nonstormwater component of the discharge 

is in compliance with Part II E D 2 below. 

a. Discharges from fire fighting firefighting activities;  

b. Fire hydrant flushings;  

c. Potable water including water line flushings;  

d. Uncontaminated air conditioning or compressor 

condensate from air conditioners, coolers, and other 

compressors and from the outside storage of refrigerated 

gases or liquids;  

e. Irrigation drainage;  

f. Landscape watering provided all pesticides, herbicides, 

and fertilizer have been applied in accordance with 

manufacturer's instructions the approved labeling;  

g. Pavement wash waters where no detergents are used 

and no spills or leaks of toxic or hazardous materials 

have occurred (unless all spilled material has been 

removed);  

h. Routine external building wash down which 

washdown that does not use detergents;  

i. Uncontaminated ground water or spring water;  

j. Foundation or footing drains where flows are not 

contaminated with process materials; and  

k. Incidental windblown mist from cooling towers that 

collects on rooftops or adjacent portions of the facility, 

but NOT not intentional discharges from the cooling 

tower (e.g., "piped" cooling tower blowdown or drains).  

2. Except for flows from fire fighting firefighting activities, 

the SWPPP must include:  

a. Identification of each allowable nonstorm water 

nonstormwater source;  

b. The location where it is likely to be discharged; and  

c. Descriptions of appropriate best management practices 

(BMPs) for each source.  

3. If mist blown from cooling towers is included as one of 

the allowable nonstorm water nonstormwater discharges, 

the permittee shall specifically evaluate the discharge for 

the presence of chemicals used in the cooling tower. This 

evaluation shall be included in the SWPPP.  

F. E. Releases of hazardous substances or oil in excess of 

reportable quantities. The discharge of hazardous substances 

or oil in the storm water discharge(s) stormwater discharges 

from this facility shall be prevented or minimized in 

accordance with the SWPPP for the facility. This permit does 

not authorize the discharge of hazardous substances or oil 

resulting from an onsite spill. This permit does not relieve the 

permittee of the reporting requirements of 40 CFR Part 110, 

40 CFR Part 117, and 40 CFR Part 302 or § 62.1-44.34:19 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Where a release containing a hazardous substance or oil in 

an amount equal to or in excess of a reportable quantity 

established under either 40 CFR Part 110, 40 CFR Part 117, 

or 40 CFR Part 302 occurs during a 24-hour period; 

1. The permittee is required to notify the department in 

accordance with the requirements of Part III G as soon as 

he has knowledge of the discharge; 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 14, 2018 

2010 

2. Where a release enters a municipal separate storm sewer 

system (MS4), the permittee shall also notify the owner of 

the MS4; and 

3. The SWPPP required by this permit shall be reviewed to 

identify measures to prevent the reoccurrence of such 

releases and to respond to such releases, and the plan must 

be modified where appropriate.  

G. Storm water F. Stormwater pollution prevention plans 

(SWPPP). A SWPPP shall be developed and implemented for 

the facility. The plan shall include BMPs that are reasonable, 

economically practicable, and appropriate in light of current 

industry practices. The BMPs shall be selected, designed, 

installed, implemented, and maintained in accordance with 

good engineering practices to eliminate or reduce the 

pollutants in all storm water stormwater discharges from the 

facility. The SWPPP shall also include any control measures 

necessary for the storm water stormwater discharges to meet 

applicable water quality standards.  

The SWPPP requirements of this general permit may be 

fulfilled, in part, by incorporating by reference other plans or 

documents such as an erosion and sediment control plan, a 

spill prevention control and countermeasure (SPCC) plan 

developed for the facility under § 311 of the Clean Water Act 

or BMP programs otherwise required for the facility provided 

that the incorporated plan meets or exceeds the plan 

requirements of Part II G F 6 (Contents of Plan plan). All 

plans incorporated by reference into the SWPPP become 

enforceable under this permit. If a plan incorporated by 

reference does not contain all the requirements of Part II G F 

6, the permittee shall develop the missing SWPPP elements 

and include them in the required plan.  

1. Deadlines for plan preparation and compliance.  

a. Owners of facilities that were covered under the 2008 

2013 Concrete Products General Permit who are 

continuing coverage under this general permit shall 

update and implement any revisions to the SWPPP not 

later than January 1, 2014 within 60 days of the board 

granting coverage under this permit.  

b. Owners of new facilities, facilities previously covered 

by an expiring individual permit, and existing facilities 

not currently covered by a VPDES permit who elect to be 

covered under this general permit shall prepare and 

implement the SWPPP prior to commencing operations.  

c. Where the owner of an existing facility that is covered 

by this permit changes, the new owner of the facility 

shall update and implement any revisions to the SWPPP 

within 60 days of the ownership change.  

d. Upon a showing of good cause, the director may 

establish a later date in writing for the preparation and 

compliance with the SWPPP.  

2. Signature and plan review.  

a. The SWPPP shall be signed in accordance with Part III 

K, and be retained on-site at the facility covered by this 

permit in accordance with Part III B. For inactive sites, 

the plan may be kept at the nearest office of the 

permittee.  

b. The permittee shall make the SWPPP, annual site 

compliance inspection report, or other information 

available to the department upon request.  

c. The director, or his designee, may notify the permittee 

in writing at any time that the SWPPP, BMPs, or other 

components of the facility's storm water stormwater 

program do not meet one or more of the requirements of 

this part. Such notification shall identify specific 

provisions of the permit that are not being met and may 

include required modifications to the storm water 

stormwater program, additional monitoring requirements, 

and special reporting requirements. Within 60 days of 

such notification from the director, or as otherwise 

provided by the director, the permittee shall make the 

required changes to the plan and shall submit to the 

department a written certification that the requested 

changes have been made.  

3. Maintaining an updated SWPPP. The permittee shall 

review and amend the SWPPP as appropriate whenever: 

a. There is construction or a change in design, operation, 

or maintenance that has a significant effect on the 

discharge or the potential for the discharge of pollutants 

to surface waters; 

b. Routine inspections or compliance evaluations visual 

examinations determine that there are deficiencies in the 

BMPs; 

c. Inspections by local, state, or federal officials 

determine that modifications to the SWPPP are 

necessary; 

d. There is a spill, leak, or other release at the facility; or 

e. There is an unauthorized discharge from the facility.  

4. SWPPP modifications shall be made within 30 60 

calendar days after discovery, observation, or event 

requiring a SWPPP modification. Implementation of new 

or modified BMPs (distinct from regular preventive 

maintenance of existing BMPs described in Part II G F 7) 

shall be initiated before the next storm event if possible, 

but no later than 60 days after discovery, or as otherwise 

provided or approved by the director. The amount of time 

taken to modify a BMP or implement additional BMPs 

shall be documented in the SWPPP. 

5. If the SWPPP modification is based on a release or 

unauthorized discharge, include a description and date of 

the release, the circumstances leading to the release, 
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actions taken in response to the release, and measures to 

prevent the recurrence of such releases. Unauthorized 

releases and discharges are subject to the reporting 

requirements of Part III G of this permit. 

6. Contents of plan. The plan shall include, at a minimum, 

the following items:  

a. Pollution prevention team. Each plan shall identify the 

staff individuals by name or title that comprise the 

facility's storm water stormwater pollution prevention 

team. The pollution prevention team is responsible for 

assisting the facility or plant manager in developing, 

implementing, maintaining, revising, and ensuring 

compliance with the facility's SWPPP. Specific 

responsibilities of each staff individual on the team shall 

be identified and listed.  

b. Summary of potential pollutant sources. The plan shall 

identify where industrial materials or activities at the 

facility are exposed to storm water stormwater. Industrial 

materials or activities include, but are not limited to: 

material handling equipment or activities, industrial 

machinery, raw materials, industrial production and 

processes, intermediate products, byproducts, final 

products, and waste products. Material handling activities 

include, but are not limited to: the storage, loading and 

unloading, transportation, disposal, or conveyance of any 

raw material, intermediate product, final product, or 

waste product. The description shall include: 

(1) A list of the activities (e.g., material storage, 

equipment fueling and cleaning, cutting steel beams); and 

(2) A list of the associated pollutant(s) or pollutant 

pollutants constituents (e.g., crankcase oil, zinc, sulfuric 

acid, cleaning solvents, etc.) for each activity. The 

pollutant list shall include all significant materials 

handled, treated, stored, or disposed that have been 

exposed to storm water stormwater in the three years 

prior to the date this SWPPP was prepared or amended. 

This list shall include any hazardous substances or oil at 

the facility. 

c. Site map. The site map shall document: 

(1) An outline of the drainage area of each storm water 

stormwater outfall that are within the facility boundaries; 

(2) Each existing structural control measure to reduce 

pollutants in storm water stormwater runoff; 

(3) Surface water bodies; 

(4) Locations where materials are exposed to 

precipitation; 

(5) Locations where major spills or leaks identified under 

Part II G F 6 d have occurred; 

(6) Locations of fueling stations, vehicle or equipment 

degreasing activities, maintenance areas, loading or 

unloading areas, vehicle wash down areas, vehicle wash 

out areas, bag house or other dust control device, recycle 

ponds, sedimentation ponds, or clarifiers or other devices 

used for the treatment of process wastewater (and the 

areas that drain to the treatment device); 

(7) Locations used for the storage or disposal of wastes; 

liquid storage tanks; processing areas; and storage areas; 

(8) Outfall locations, designation (e.g., 001) and the types 

of discharges contained in the drainage areas of the 

outfalls;  

(9) For each area of the facility that generates storm 

water stormwater discharges associated with industrial 

activity with a potential for containing significant 

amounts of pollutants, locations of storm water 

stormwater conveyances including ditches, pipes, swales, 

and inlets, and the directions of storm water stormwater 

flow and an identification of the types of pollutants 

which that are likely to be present in storm water 

stormwater discharges associated with industrial activity. 

Factors to consider include the toxicity of the chemicals; 

quantity of chemicals used, produced, or discharged; the 

likelihood of contact with storm water stormwater; and 

history of leaks or spills of toxic or hazardous pollutants; 

and 

(10) Flows with a potential for causing erosion shall be 

identified.  

d. Spills and leaks. A list of significant spills and leaks of 

toxic or hazardous pollutants that occurred at areas that 

are exposed to precipitation or that otherwise drain to a 

storm water stormwater conveyance at the facility after 

the date of three years prior to the date of coverage under 

this general permit. Such list shall be updated as 

appropriate during the term of the permit.  

e. Sampling data. The plan shall include a summary of 

existing storm water stormwater discharge sampling data 

taken at the facility. The summary shall include, at a 

minimum, any data collected during the previous three 

years.  

f. Storm water Stormwater controls.  

(1) BMPs shall be implemented for all areas identified in 

Part II G F 6 b to prevent or control pollutants in storm 

water stormwater discharges from the facility. All 

reasonable steps shall be taken to control or address the 

quality of discharges from the site that may not originate 

at the facility. The SWPPP shall describe the type, 

location, and implementation of all BMPs for each area 

where industrial materials or activities are exposed to 

storm water stormwater.  
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(2) Good housekeeping measures. Good housekeeping 

requires the clean and orderly maintenance of areas that 

may contribute pollutants to storm waters stormwater 

discharges. The permittee shall keep clean all exposed 

areas of the facility that are potential sources of 

pollutants in storm water stormwater. Particular attention 

should be paid to areas where raw materials are 

stockpiled, material handling areas, storage areas, liquid 

storage tanks, vehicle fueling and maintenance areas, and 

loading/unloading loading or unloading areas. The plan 

shall describe procedures performed to prevent or 

minimize the discharge of: spilled cement, aggregate 

(including sand and gravel), kiln dust, fly ash, settled 

dust, or other significant material in storm water 

stormwater from paved portions of the site that are 

exposed to storm water stormwater. Regular sweeping of 

impervious areas or other equivalent measures to 

minimize the presence of these materials shall be 

employed. The frequency of sweeping or equivalent 

measures shall be specified in the plan based upon a 

consideration of the amount of industrial activity 

occurring in the areas and the frequency of precipitation, 

but it shall be a minimum of once a week if cement, 

aggregate, kiln dust, fly ash or settled dust are being 

handled/processed. Efforts must be made to prevent 

Sweep or vacuum paved surfaces of the site that are 

exposed to stormwater at regular intervals or use other 

equivalent measures, including washing down the area 

and collecting or treating and properly disposing of the 

washdown water, to minimize the potential discharge of 

these materials in stormwater. Indicate in the SWPPP the 

frequency of sweeping, vacuuming, or other equivalent 

measures. Determine the frequency based on the amount 

of industrial activity occurring in the area and the 

frequency of precipitation, but sweeping, vacuuming, or 

other equivalent measures shall be performed at least 

once a week in areas where cement, aggregate, kiln dust, 

fly ash, or settled dust are being handled or processed. 

Prevent the exposure of fine granular solids (cement, fly 

ash, etc.) to storm water (including cement, fly ash and 

kiln dust) to stormwater, where practicable, by storing 

these materials in enclosed silos/hoppers silos, hoppers, 

or buildings or under other covering. The introduction of 

raw, final, or waste materials to exposed areas of the 

facility shall be minimized to the maximum extent 

practicable. The generation of dust, along with and off-

site vehicle tracking of raw, final or waste materials, or 

sediments, shall be minimized to the maximum extent 

practicable. 

(3) Preventive maintenance. A preventive maintenance 

program shall involve regular inspection, testing, 

maintenance, and repairing of all industrial equipment 

and systems to avoid breakdowns or failures that could 

result in leaks, spills and other releases. This program is 

in addition to the specific BMP maintenance required 

under Part II G F 7 (Maintenance of BMPs).  

(4) Spill prevention and response procedures. The plan 

shall describe the procedures that will be followed for 

preventing and responding to spills and leaks.  

(a) Preventive measures include barriers between 

material storage and traffic areas, secondary containment 

provisions, and procedures for material storage and 

handling. 

(b) Response procedures shall include (i) notification of 

appropriate facility personnel, emergency agencies, and 

regulatory agencies and (ii) procedures for stopping, 

containing, and cleaning up spills. Measures for cleaning 

up hazardous material spills or leaks shall be consistent 

with applicable RCRA regulations at 40 CFR Part 264 

and 40 CFR Part 265. Employees who may cause, detect, 

or respond to a spill or leak shall be trained in these 

procedures and have necessary spill response equipment 

available. If possible, one of these individuals shall be a 

member of the pollution prevention team. 

(c) Procedures for plainly labeling containers (e.g., "used 

oil," "spent solvents," "fertilizers and pesticides," etc.) to 

encourage proper handling and facilitate rapid response if 

spills or leaks occur; and 

(d) Contact information for individuals and agencies that 

must be notified in the event of a spill shall be included 

in the SWPPP and in other locations where it will be 

readily available. 

(5) Routine facility inspections.  

Facility personnel who possess the knowledge and skills 

to assess conditions and activities that could impact 

storm water quality at the facility and who can also 

evaluate the effectiveness of BMPs shall regularly 

inspect designated equipment and areas of the facility. 

Inspections shall be conducted while the facility is in 

operation and include, but are not limited to, the 

following areas exposed to storm water: (a) During 

normal facility operating hours inspections of areas of the 

facility covered by the requirements in this permit must 

be conducted and shall include observations of the 

following:  

(i) Areas where industrial materials or activities are 

exposed to stormwater, including material handling 

areas, above ground storage tanks, hoppers or silos, dust 

collection/containment systems dust collection or 

containment systems, and truck wash down/equipment 

truck wash down or equipment cleaning areas.; 

(ii) Discharge points; and 

(iii) Best management practices. 
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The inspection frequency (b) Inspections shall be 

specified in the plan based on a consideration of the level 

of industrial activity at the facility, but it shall be a 

minimum of be conducted at least quarterly unless more 

frequent intervals are specified elsewhere in the permit. 

When practical,. At least once each calendar year, the 

routine facility inspection should be conducted once each 

calendar year during a period when a storm water 

stormwater discharge is occurring.  

(c) Inspections shall be performed by personnel who 

possess the knowledge and skills to assess conditions and 

activities that could impact stormwater quality at the 

facility and who can also evaluate the effectiveness of 

BMPs. At least one member of the stormwater pollution 

prevention team shall participate.  

(d) Routine facility inspections shall be documented and 

maintained with the SWPPP. Document all findings 

including: 

(i) Inspection date and time; 

(ii) Name and initials of inspector; and 

(iii) Observations of any discharges; the physical 

condition of and around all outfalls (e.g., concrete 

product in the stream or turbidity); leaks or spills from 

industrial equipment, drums, tanks or other containers; 

offsite tracking of industrial materials or sediment; any 

additional best management practices that need to be 

repaired, maintained, or added; any incidents of 

noncompliance; and a signed certification. 

(e) A set of tracking or followup procedures shall be used 

to ensure that appropriate actions are taken in response to 

the inspections. Records of inspections shall be 

maintained with the pollution prevention plan SWPPP. 

These inspections are in addition to, or as part of, the 

comprehensive site compliance evaluation required under 

Part II G 8. At least one member of the pollution 

prevention team shall participate in the routine facility 

inspections. Any deficiencies in the implementation of 

the SWPPP that are found shall be corrected as soon as 

practicable, but not later than within 30 60 days of the 

inspection, unless permission for a later date is granted in 

writing by the director. The results of the inspections 

shall be documented in the SWPPP, along with the 

date(s) dates and description(s) descriptions of any 

corrective actions that were taken in response to any 

deficiencies or opportunities for improvement that were 

identified. 

(6) Employee training. The permittee shall implement a 

storm water stormwater employee training program for 

the facility. The SWPPP shall include a schedule for all 

types of necessary training, and shall document all 

training sessions and the employees who received the 

training. Training shall be provided for all employees 

who work in areas where industrial materials or activities 

are exposed to storm water stormwater and for 

employees who are responsible for implementing 

activities identified in the SWPPP (e.g., inspectors, 

maintenance personnel, etc.). The training shall cover the 

components and goals of the SWPPP and include such 

topics as spill response, good housekeeping, material 

management practices, BMP operation and maintenance, 

etc. The SWPPP shall include a summary of any training 

performed. 

(7) Sediment and erosion control. The plan shall identify 

areas that, due to topography, land disturbance (e.g., 

construction, landscaping, sit grading), or other factors, 

have a potential for soil erosion. The permittee shall 

identify and implement structural, vegetative, and/or or 

stabilization BMPs to prevent or control on-site and off-

site erosion and sedimentation. 

(8) Management of runoff. The plan shall describe the 

storm water stormwater run-off management practices 

(i.e., permanent structural BMPs) for the facility. These 

types of BMPs are typically used to divert, infiltrate, 

reuse, or otherwise reduce pollutants in storm water 

stormwater discharges from the site. Appropriate 

measures may include: vegetative swales and practices, 

reuse of collected storm water stormwater (such as for a 

process or as an irrigation source), inlet controls (such as 

oil/water separators), snow management activities, 

infiltration devices, wet detention/retention devices; or 

other equivalent measures. Some structural BMPs may 

require a separate permit under § 404 of the Clean Water 

Act and the Virginia Water Protection Permit Program 

Regulation (9VAC25-210) before installation begins.  

7. Maintenance of BMPs. All BMPs identified in the 

SWPPP shall be maintained in effective operating 

condition. Storm water Stormwater BMPs identified in the 

SWPPP should shall be observed during active operation 

where feasible (i.e., during a storm water stormwater 

runoff event) to ensure that they are functioning correctly. 

Where discharge locations are inaccessible, nearby 

downstream locations shall be observed. The observations 

shall be documented in the SWPPP. 

The SWPPP shall include a description of procedures and a 

regular schedule for preventive maintenance of all BMPs 

and shall include a description of the back-up practices that 

are in place should a runoff event occur while a BMP is off 

line. The effectiveness of nonstructural BMPs shall also be 

maintained by appropriate means (e.g., spill response 

supplies available and personnel trained, etc.). 

If site inspections required by Part II G F 6 f (5) (Routine 

facility inspections) or Part II G F 8 (Comprehensive site 

compliance evaluation) identify BMPs that are not 

operating effectively, repairs or maintenance shall be 

performed before the next anticipated storm event. If 
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maintenance prior to the next anticipated storm event is not 

possible, maintenance shall be scheduled and 

accomplished as soon as practicable. In the interim, back-

up measures shall be employed and documented in the 

SWPPP until repairs or maintenance is complete. 

Documentation shall be kept with the SWPPP of 

maintenance and repairs of BMPs, including the date(s) 

dates of regular maintenance, date(s) dates of discovery of 

areas in need of repair or replacement, and for repairs, 

date(s) dates that the BMP(s) BMPs returned to full 

function, and the justification for any extended 

maintenance or repair schedules. 

8. Comprehensive site compliance evaluation. The 

permittee shall conduct comprehensive site compliance 

evaluations at least once a year. The evaluations shall be 

done by qualified personnel who possess the knowledge 

and skills to assess conditions and activities that could 

impact storm water stormwater quality at the facility and 

who can also evaluate the effectiveness of BMPs. The 

personnel conducting the evaluations may be either facility 

employees or outside constituents hired by the facility. 

Such evaluations shall include the following: 

a. Industrial materials, residue, or trash that may have or 

could come into contact with storm water stormwater; 

b. Leaks or spills from industrial equipment, drums, 

barrels, tanks, or other containers that have occurred 

within the past three years; 

c. Off-site tracking of industrial or waste materials or 

sediment where vehicles enter or exit the site; 

d. Evidence of or the potential for pollutants entering the 

drainage system; 

e. Evidence of pollutants discharging to surface waters at 

all facility outfalls and the condition of and around the 

outfall, including flow dissipation measures to prevent 

scouring; 

f. Review of training performed, inspections completed, 

maintenance performed, quarterly visual examinations, 

and effective operation of BMPs; 

g. Documentation that all outfalls have been evaluated 

annually for the presence of unauthorized discharges 

(i.e., discharges other than storm water stormwater; the 

authorized nonstorm water nonstormwater discharges 

described in Part II E D; or discharges covered under a 

separate VPDES permit, other than this permit). The 

documentation shall include: 

(1) The date of the evaluation; 

(2) A description of the evaluation criteria used; 

(3) A list of the outfalls or on-site drainage points that 

were directly observed during the evaluation;  

(4) A description of the results of the evaluation for the 

presence of unauthorized discharges; and 

(5) The actions taken to eliminate unauthorized 

discharges, if any were identified (i.e., a floor drain was 

sealed, a sink drain was rerouted to sanitary, or a VPDES 

permit application was submitted for a cooling water 

discharge); 

h. Results of both visual and any analytical monitoring 

done during the past year shall be taken into 

consideration during the evaluation; 

i. Based on the results of the evaluation, the SWPPP shall 

be modified as necessary (e.g., show additional controls 

on the site map required by Part II G F 6 c; revise the 

description of storm water stormwater controls required 

by Part II G F 6 f to include additional or modified BMPs 

designed to correct problems identified). Revisions to the 

SWPPP shall be completed within 30 60 days following 

the evaluation, unless permission for a later date is 

granted in writing by the director. If existing BMPs need 

to be modified or if additional BMPs are necessary, 

implementation shall be completed before the next 

anticipated storm event, if practicable, but not more than 

60 days after completion of the comprehensive site 

evaluation, unless permission for a later date is granted in 

writing by the department;  

j. Compliance evaluation report. A report shall be written 

summarizing the scope of the evaluation, names(s) names 

of personnel making the evaluation, the date of the 

evaluation, and all observations relating to the 

implementation of the SWPPP, including elements 

stipulated in Part II G F 8 a through e above. 

Observations shall include such things as: the location(s) 

locations of discharges of pollutants from the site; 

location(s) locations of previously unidentified sources of 

pollutants; location(s) locations of BMPs that need to be 

maintained or repaired; location(s) locations of failed 

BMPs that need replacement; and location(s) locations 

where additional BMPs are needed. The report shall 

identify any incidents of noncompliance that were 

observed. Where a report does not identify any incidents 

of noncompliance, the report shall contain a certification 

that the facility is in compliance with the SWPPP and 

this permit. The report shall be signed in accordance with 

Part III K and maintained with the SWPPP; and 

k. Where compliance evaluation schedules overlap with 

routine inspections required under Part II G F 6 f (5), the 

annual compliance evaluation may be used as one of the 

routine inspections.  
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Part III  

Conditions Applicable To to All VPDES Permits.  

A. Monitoring.  

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 

permit shall be representative of the monitored activity.  

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 

approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 

unless other procedures have been specified in this permit.  

3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 

maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 

measurements. 

4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be 

analyzed in accordance with 1VAC30-45 (Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories) or 1VAC30-

46 (Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 

Laboratories). 

B. Records.  

1. Records of monitoring information shall include:  

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements;  

b. The individuals who performed the sampling or 

measurements;  

c. The dates and times analyses were performed;  

d. The individuals who performed the analyses;  

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and  

f. The results of such analyses.  

2. Except for records of monitoring information required 

by this permit related to the permittee's sewage sludge use 

and disposal activities, which shall be retained for a period 

of at least five years, the permittee shall retain (i) records 

of all monitoring information including all calibration and 

maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings 

for continuous monitoring instrumentation, (ii) copies of 

all reports required by this permit, and (iii) records of all 

data used to complete the registration statement for this 

permit for a period of at least three years from the date that 

coverage under this permit expires or is terminated. This 

period of retention shall be extended automatically during 

the course of any unresolved litigation regarding the 

regulated activity or regarding control standards applicable 

to the permittee, or as requested by the board.  

C. Reporting monitoring results.  

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 

required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 

month after monitoring takes place, unless another 

reporting schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. 

Monitoring results shall be submitted to the department's 

regional office.  

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge 

Monitoring Report (DMR) or on forms provided, approved 

or specified by the department.  

3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 

addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 

this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 

Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the 

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 

specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 

be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 

submitted in the DMR or reporting form specified by the 

department.  

4. Calculations for all limitations which that require 

averaging of measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean 

unless otherwise specified in this permit.  

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 

to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 

which that the board may request to determine whether cause 

exists for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating 

coverage under this permit or to determine compliance with 

this permit. The board may require the permittee to furnish, 

upon request, such plans, specifications, and other pertinent 

information as may be necessary to determine the effect of 

the wastes from its discharge on the quality of state waters, or 

such other information as may be necessary to accomplish the 

purposes of the State Water Control Law. The permittee shall 

also furnish to the department upon request copies of records 

required to be kept by this permit.  

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 

noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 

final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 

this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 

each schedule date.  

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 

permit, or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to:  

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or  

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological 

properties of such state waters and make them detrimental 

to the public health, or to animal or aquatic life, or to the 

use of such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, 

for recreation, or for other uses.  

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee who 

discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, 

industrial waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious 

substance into or upon state waters in violation of Part III F; 

or who discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may 
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reasonably be expected to enter state waters in violation of 

Part III F, shall notify the department of the discharge 

immediately upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case 

later than 24 hours after said discovery. A written report of 

the unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the 

department, within five days of discovery of the discharge. 

The written report shall contain:  

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge;  

2. The cause of the discharge;  

3. The date on which the discharge occurred;  

4. The length of time that the discharge continued;  

5. The volume of the discharge;  

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 

continue;  

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 

volume of the discharge will be; and  

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 

discharges not authorized by this permit.  

Discharges reportable to the department under the 

immediate reporting requirements of other regulations are 

exempted from this requirement.  

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 

unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or 

upset should occur from a treatment works and the discharge 

enters or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee 

shall promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, the 

department by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. 

This notification shall provide all available details of the 

incident, including any adverse effects on aquatic life and the 

known number of fish killed. The permittee shall reduce the 

report to writing and shall submit it to the department within 

five days of discovery of the discharge in accordance with 

Part III I 2. Unusual and extraordinary discharges include but 

are not limited to any discharge resulting from:  

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 

indirectly from processing operations;  

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment;  

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the 

treatment works; and  

4. Flooding or other acts of nature.  

I. Reports of noncompliance. The permittee shall report any 

noncompliance which that may adversely affect state waters 

or may endanger public health.  

1. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from 

the time the permittee becomes aware of the 

circumstances. The following shall be included as 

information which that shall be reported within 24 hours 

under this subdivision:  

a. Any unanticipated bypass; and  

b. Any upset which that causes a discharge to surface 

waters.  

2. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 

shall contain:  

a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause;  

b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates 

and times, and if the noncompliance has not been 

corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 

and  

c. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance.  

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 

basis for reports of noncompliance under Part III I if the 

oral report has been received within 24 hours and no 

adverse impact on state waters has been reported.  

3. The permittee shall report all instances of 

noncompliance not reported under Parts Part III I 1 or 2, in 

writing, at the time the next monitoring reports are 

submitted. The reports shall contain the information listed 

in Part III I 2.  

NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 

in Parts Part III G, H and I may be made to the 

department's regional office by telephone, FAX, or online 

at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Pollution 

ResponsePreparedness/MakingaReport.aspx. For reports 

outside normal working hours, leave a message and this 

shall fulfill the immediate reporting requirement. For 

emergencies, the Virginia Department of Emergency 

Services maintains a 24 hour telephone service at 1-800-

468-8892.  

J. Notice of planned changes.  

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as 

soon as possible of any planned physical alterations or 

additions to the permitted facility. Notice is required only 

when:  

a. The permittee plans alteration or addition to any 

building, structure, facility, or installation from which 

there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 

construction of which commenced:  

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance 

under § 306 of Clean Water Act which that are applicable 

to such source; or  

(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 

accordance with § 306 of Clean Water Act which that are 

applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponsePreparedness/MakingaReport.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponsePreparedness/MakingaReport.aspx
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promulgated in accordance with § 306 within 120 days of 

their proposal;  

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change 

the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants 

discharged. This notification applies to pollutants which 

that are subject neither to effluent limitations nor to 

notification requirements specified elsewhere in this 

permit; or  

c. The alteration or addition results in a significant 

change in the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices, 

and such alteration, addition, or change may justify the 

application of permit conditions that are different from or 

absent in the existing permit, including notification of 

additional use or disposal sites not reported during the 

permit application registration process or not reported 

pursuant to an approved land application plan.  

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the 

department of any planned changes in the permitted facility 

or activity which that may result in noncompliance with 

permit requirements.  

K. Signatory requirements.  

1. Registration statements. All registration statements shall 

be signed as follows:  

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 

For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 

officer means (i) president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-

president of the corporation in charge of a principal 

business function, or any other person who performs 

similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 

the corporation or (ii) the manager of one or more 

manufacturing, production, or operating facilities 

provided the manager is authorized to make management 

decisions that govern the operation of the regulated 

facility including having the explicit or implicit duty of 

making major capital investment recommendations, and 

initiating and directing other comprehensive measures to 

assure long-term environmental compliance with 

environmental laws and regulations; the manager can 

ensure that the necessary systems are established or 

actions taken to gather complete and accurate 

information for permit application registration 

requirements; and where authority to sign documents has 

been assigned or delegated to the manager in accordance 

with corporate procedures;  

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; or  

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 

executive officer of a public agency includes (i) the chief 

executive officer of the agency or (ii) a senior executive 

officer having responsibility for the overall operations of 

a principal geographic unit of the agency.  

2. Reports, etc and other information. All reports required 

by permits, and other information requested by the board 

shall be signed by a person described in Part III K 1, or by 

a duly authorized representative of that person. A person is 

a duly authorized representative only if:  

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 

described in Part III K 1;  

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 

the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 

plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 

superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or 

an individual or position having overall responsibility for 

environmental matters for the company. A duly 

authorized representative may thus be either a named 

individual or any individual occupying a named position; 

and  

c. The written authorization is submitted to the 

department.  

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part 

III K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual 

or position has responsibility for the overall operation of 

the facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements 

of Part III K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to 

or together with any reports, or information to be signed by 

an authorized representative.  

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under 

Parts Part III K 1 or 2 shall make the following 

certification:  

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 

that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the 

information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person 

or persons who manage the system, or those persons 

directly responsible for gathering the information, the 

information submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and 

belief, true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there 

are significant penalties for submitting false information, 

including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for 

knowing violations."  

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 

constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 

Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 

provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the 

State Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 

noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action; for permit 

coverage termination, revocation and reissuance, or 
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modification; or denial of a permit renewal application 

registration.  

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 

prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water 

Act for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge 

use or disposal established under § 405(d) of the Clean Water 

Act within the time provided in the regulations that establish 

these standards or prohibitions or standards for sewage sludge 

use or disposal, even if this permit has not yet been modified 

to incorporate the requirement.  

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 

activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of 

this permit, the permittee shall apply for and obtain coverage 

under a new permit. All permittees with a currently effective 

permit coverage shall submit a new application at least 90 60 

days before the expiration date of the existing permit, unless 

permission for a later date has been granted by the board. The 

board shall not grant permission for applications to be 

submitted later than the expiration date of the existing permit.  

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 

property rights in either real or personal property or any 

exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 

private property or invasion of personal rights, or any 

infringement of federal, state, or local law or regulations.  

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 

preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 

the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 

established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 

under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 

Except as provided in permit conditions on "bypassing" 

"bypass" (Part III U), and "upset" (Part III V) nothing in this 

permit shall be construed to relieve the permittee from civil 

and criminal penalties for noncompliance.  

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 

legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 

liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 

subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the 

State Water Control Law.  

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 

all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 

systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 

which that are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper 

operation and maintenance also includes effective plant 

performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 

adequate laboratory and process controls, including 

appropriate quality assurance procedures. This provision 

requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or 

similar systems which that are installed by the permittee only 

when the operation is necessary to achieve compliance with 

the conditions of this permit.  

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges or other 

pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 

of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 

any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters.  

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 

disposal in violation of this permit which that has a 

reasonable likelihood of adversely affecting human health or 

the environment.  

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 

be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 

would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 

activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 

of this permit.  

U. Bypass.  

1. "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste 

streams from any portion of a treatment facility. The 

permittee may allow any bypass to occur which that does 

not cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only if it 

also is for essential maintenance to assure efficient 

operation. These bypasses are not subject to the provisions 

of Parts Part III U 2 and U 3.  

2. Notice.  

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 

of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, 

if possible at least 10 days before the date of the bypass.  

b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit 

notice of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part III I.  

3. Prohibition of bypass.  

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 

enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, 

unless:  

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 

personal injury, or severe property damage;  

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 

such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 

of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 

periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 

satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 

been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 

judgment to prevent a bypass which that occurred during 

normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 

maintenance; and  

(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under 

Part III U 2.  

b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass, after 

considering its adverse effects, if the board determines 

that it will meet the three conditions listed above in Part 

III U 3 a.  
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V. Upset.  

1. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 

brought for noncompliance with technology based permit 

effluent limitations if the requirements of Part III V 2 are 

met. A determination made during administrative review of 

claims that noncompliance was caused by upset, and 

before an action for noncompliance, is not a final 

administrative action subject to judicial review.  

2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 

defense of upset shall demonstrate, through properly 

signed, contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant 

evidence that:  

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 

the causes of the upset;  

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 

operated;  

c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 

in Part III I; and  

d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 

required under Part III S.  

3. In any enforcement proceeding the permittee seeking to 

establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of 

proof.  

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 

director, or his designee, upon presentation of credentials and 

other documents as may be required by law, to:  

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 

facility or activity is located or conducted, or where 

records must be kept under the conditions of this permit;  

2. Have access to and copy at reasonable times any records 

that must be kept under the conditions of this permit;  

3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 

(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 

operations regulated or required under this permit; and  

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 

of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized 

by the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law, 

any substances or parameters at any location.  

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 

deemed reasonable during regular business hours, and 

whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained 

herein shall make an inspection unreasonable during an 

emergency.  

X. Permit actions. Permits Permit coverage may be 

modified, revoked and reissued, or terminated for cause. The 

filing of a request by the permittee for a permit modification, 

revocation and reissuance, or termination, or a notification of 

planned changes or anticipated noncompliance does not stay 

any permit condition.  

Y. Transfer of permits permit coverage.  

Permits are not transferable to any person except after 

notice to the department.  

This Coverage under this permit may be automatically 

transferred to a new permittee if:  

1. The current permittee notifies the department at least 

within 30 days in advance of the proposed transfer of the 

title to the facility or property unless permission for a 

later date has been granted by the board;  

2. The notice includes a written agreement between the 

existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 

transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 

between them; and  

3. The board does not notify the existing permittee and 

the proposed new permittee of its intent to deny the new 

permittee coverage under the permit. If this notice is not 

received, the transfer is effective on the date specified in 

the agreement mentioned in Part III Y 2.  

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 

and if any provision of this permit or the application of any 

provision of this permit to any circumstance is held invalid, 

the application of such provision to other circumstances, and 

the remainder of this permit, shall not be affected thereby.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5019; Filed April 23, 2018, 10:36 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 14 of the Code 

of Virginia, which exempts adoption, amendment, or repeal 

of wasteload allocations by the State Water Control Board 

pursuant to State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia) if the board (i) provides public notice in 

the Virginia Register; (ii) if requested by the public during the 

initial public notice 30-day comment period, forms an 

advisory group composed of relevant stakeholders; (iii) 

receives and provides summary response to written 

comments; and (iv) conducts at least one public meeting. The 

State Water Control Board will receive, consider, and respond 

to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect 

to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-720. Water Quality 

Management Planning Regulation (amending 9VAC25-

720-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

33 USC § 1313(e) of the Clean Water Act. 

Effective Date: June 13, 2018.  
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Agency Contact: William Isenberg, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4228, or email william.isenberg@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments to the state's Water Quality Management 

Planning Regulation (9VAC25-720) include adding six 

new total maximum daily load wasteload allocations in the 

Potomac-Shenandoah River Basin. 

9VAC25-720-50. Potomac-Shenandoah River Basin. 

A. Total maximum daily loads (TMDLs). 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Rows numbered 1 through 212 in this TMDL table in subsection A of 9VAC25-720-50 are not amended; 

therefore, the text of those rows is not set out. 

TMDL # Stream Name TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA1 Units 

213. 

Upper 

Accotink 

Creek 

Sediment 

TMDLs for 

the Accotink 

Creek 

Watershed, 

Fairfax 

County, 

Virginia 

Fairfax, Fairfax 

City 
A15 Sediment 2,338 tons/year  

214. 

Lower 

Accotink 

Creek 

Sediment 

TMDLs for 

the Accotink 

Creek 

Watershed, 

Fairfax 

County, 

Virginia 

Fairfax, Fairfax 

City 
A15 Sediment 3,073 tons/year  

215. 
Long Branch 

(central) 

Sediment 

TMDLs for 

the Accotink 

Creek 

Watershed, 

Fairfax 

County, 

Virginia 

Fairfax, Fairfax 

City 
A15 Sediment 936 tons/year  

216. 

Upper 

Accotink 

Creek 

Chloride 

TMDLs for 

the Accotink 

Creek 

Watershed, 

Fairfax 

County, 

Virginia 

Fairfax, Fairfax 

City 
A15 Chloride 5,444,279 lbs/year  

217. 

Lower 

Accotink 

Creek 

Chloride 

TMDLs for the 

Accotink 

Creek 

Watershed, 

Fairfax 

County, 

Virginia 

Fairfax, Fairfax 

City 
A15 Chloride 3,723,479 lbs/year  
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218. 
Long Branch 

(central) 

Chloride 

TMDLs for the 

Accotink 

Creek 

Watershed, 

Fairfax 

County, 

Virginia  

Fairfax, Fairfax 

City 
A15 Chloride 873,049  lbs/year  

Notes: 
1The total WLA can be increased prior to modification provided that DEQ tracks these changes for bacteria TMDLs where the 

permit is consistent with water quality standards for bacteria. 

2There were no point source dischargers in the modeled TMDL area. 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections B and C of 9VAC25-720-50 are not amended; therefore, the text of those subsections is not set 

out. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5475; Filed April 24, 2018, 9:00 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of 

the Administrative Process Act in accordance with the second 

enactment of Chapters 10 and 163 of the 2017 Acts of 

Assembly, which exempts the actions of the board relating to 

the adoption of regulations necessary to implement the 

provisions of the act; however, the board is required to (i) 

provide a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action and (ii) 

provide for a 60-day public comment period prior to the 

board's adoption of the regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-870. Virginia Stormwater 

Management Program (VSMP) Regulation (amending 

9VAC25-870-55, 9VAC25-870-160).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-44.15:25 and  62.1-44.15:28 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 13, 2018.  

Agency Contact: William K. Norris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4022, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 

william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 10 and 163 of the 2017 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments require that all final plan 

elements, specifications, or calculations whose preparation 

requires a license under Chapter 4 (§ 54.1-400 et seq.) or 

22 (§ 54.1-2200 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia be appropriately signed and sealed by a 

professional who is licensed to engage in practice in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia.  

9VAC25-870-55. Stormwater management plans. 

A. A stormwater management plan shall be developed and 

submitted to the VSMP authority. The stormwater 

management plan shall be implemented as approved or 

modified by the VSMP authority and shall be developed in 

accordance with the following:  

1. A stormwater management plan for a land-disturbing 

activity shall apply the stormwater management technical 

criteria set forth in this part to the entire land-disturbing 

activity. Individual lots in new residential, commercial, or 

industrial developments, including those developed under 

subsequent owners, shall not be considered separate land-

disturbing activities. 

2. A stormwater management plan shall consider all 

sources of surface runoff and all sources of subsurface and 

groundwater flows converted to surface runoff.  

B. A complete stormwater management plan shall include 

the following elements: 

1. Information on the type of and location of stormwater 

discharges, information on the features to which 

stormwater is being discharged including surface waters or 

karst features if present, and predevelopment and 

postdevelopment drainage areas; 

2. Contact information including the name, address, 

telephone number, and email address of the owner and the 

tax reference number and parcel number of the property or 

properties affected; 

3. A narrative that includes a description of current site 

conditions and final site conditions or if allowed by the 

VSMP authority, the information provided and 

documented during the review process that addresses the 

current and final site conditions; 

4. A general description of the proposed stormwater 

management facilities and the mechanism through which 
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the facilities will be operated and maintained after 

construction is complete; 

5. Information on the proposed stormwater management 

facilities, including (i) the type of facilities; (ii) location, 

including geographic coordinates; (iii) acres treated; and 

(iv) the surface waters or karst features into which the 

facility will discharge; 

6. Hydrologic and hydraulic computations, including 

runoff characteristics; 

7. Documentation and calculations verifying compliance 

with the water quality and quantity requirements of these 

regulations; 

8. A map or maps of the site that depicts the topography of 

the site and includes:  

a. All contributing drainage areas;  

b. Existing streams, ponds, culverts, ditches, wetlands, 

other water bodies, and floodplains; 

c. Soil types, geologic formations if karst features are 

present in the area, forest cover, and other vegetative 

areas; 

d. Current land use including existing structures, roads, 

and locations of known utilities and easements; 

e. Sufficient information on adjoining parcels to assess 

the impacts of stormwater from the site on these parcels; 

f. The limits of clearing and grading, and the proposed 

drainage patterns on the site; 

g. Proposed buildings, roads, parking areas, utilities, and 

stormwater management facilities; and 

h. Proposed land use with tabulation of the percentage of 

surface area to be adapted to various uses, including but 

not limited to planned locations of utilities, roads, and 

easements; 

9. If an operator intends to meet the requirements 

established in 9VAC25-870-63 or 9VAC25-870-66 

through the use of off-site compliance options, where 

applicable, then a letter of availability from the off-site 

provider must be included; and 

10. If payment of a fee is required with the stormwater 

management plan submission by the VSMP authority, the 

fee and the required fee form in accordance with Part XIII 

(9VAC25-870-700 et seq.) must have been submitted. 

C. Elements of the stormwater management plans that 

include activities regulated under Chapter 4 (§ 54.1-400 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia shall be 

appropriately sealed and signed by a professional registered 

in the Commonwealth of Virginia pursuant to Article 1 

(§ 54.1-400 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. All final plan elements, specifications, or 

calculations of the stormwater management plans whose 

preparation requires a license under Chapter 4 (§ 54.1-400 et 

seq.) or 22 (§ 54.1-2200 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia shall be appropriately signed and sealed by a 

professional who is licensed to engage in practice in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. Nothing in this subsection shall 

authorize any person to engage in practice outside his area of 

professional competence. 

D. A construction record drawing for permanent stormwater 

management facilities shall be submitted to the VSMP 

authority in accordance with 9VAC25-870-108 and 9VAC25-

870-112. The construction record drawing shall be 

appropriately sealed and signed by a professional registered 

in the Commonwealth of Virginia, certifying that the 

stormwater management facilities have been constructed in 

accordance with the approved plan.  

Part IV  

Technical Criteria and State Permit Application Requirements 

for State Projects  

9VAC25-870-160. Technical criteria and requirements for 

state projects. 

A. This part specifies technical criteria and administrative 

procedures for all state projects.  

B. Stormwater management state permit applications 

prepared for state projects shall comply with the technical 

criteria outlined in Part II (9VAC25-870-40 et seq.) of this 

chapter and, to the largest extent practicable, any locality's 

VSMP authority's technical requirements adopted pursuant to 

the Act. It shall be the responsibility of the state agency to 

demonstrate that the locality's VSMP authority's technical 

requirements are not practicable for the project under 

consideration.  

C. The department may establish criteria for selecting either 

the site or a planning area on which to apply the water quality 

criteria.  

D. As a minimum, a stormwater management state permit 

application shall contain the following:  

1. The location and the design of the proposed stormwater 

management facilities.  

2. Overall site plan with pre-developed and post-developed 

condition drainage area maps.  

3. Comprehensive hydrologic and hydraulic computations 

of the pre-development predevelopment and post-

development postdevelopment runoff conditions for the 

required design storms, considered individually.  

4. Calculations verifying compliance with the water quality 

requirements.  
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5. A description of the requirements for maintenance of the 

stormwater management facilities and a recommended 

schedule of inspection and maintenance.  

6. The identification of a person or persons who will be 

responsible for maintenance.  

7. All stormwater management and erosion and sediment 

control plans associated with a state permit application 

shall be appropriately sealed and signed by a professional 

in adherence to all minimum standards and requirements 

pertaining to the practice of that profession in accordance 

with Chapter 4 (§ 54.1-400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia and attendant regulations. All final plan 

elements, specifications, or calculations whose preparation 

requires a license under Chapter 4 (§ 54.1-400 et seq.) or 

22 (§ 54.1-2200 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia shall be appropriately signed and sealed by a 

professional who is licensed to engage in practice in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. Nothing in this subsection 

shall authorize any person to engage in practice outside his 

area of professional competence. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5128; Filed April 23, 2018, 1:09 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 11. GAMING 

VIRGINIA RACING COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Racing Commission 

is claiming an exemption from (i) the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 B 13 of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes agency actions relating to content 

of, or rules for the conduct of, any examination required by 

law and (ii) Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 

establish or prescribe agency organization, internal practice or 

procedures, including delegations of authority. The Virginia 

Racing Commission will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC10-60. Participants (amending 

11VAC10-60-10).  

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 14, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Kimberly Mackey, Business Manager, 

Virginia Racing Commission, 5707 Huntsman Road, Suite 

201-B, Richmond, VA 23250, telephone (804) 966-7406, or 

email kimberly.mackey@vrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments eliminate some licensees of having to 

submit fingerprints every five years and allow for the 

payment of license fees by credit card. 

11VAC10-60-10. Generally.  

No person shall participate in any horse racing subject to the 

jurisdiction of the commission or in the conduct of a race 

meeting or pari-mutuel wagering of the race meeting unless 

the person possesses a permit from the commission and 

complies with the provisions of the Act and the regulations of 

the commission. Permits issued by the commission are not 

transferable.  

A. Application for permit. A person desiring to obtain a 

permit to participate in horse racing with pari-mutuel 

wagering shall make an application for a permit on a form 

prescribed by the commission. The application shall be 

accompanied by a fee prescribed by the commission and the 

cost of fingerprinting. The applicant shall be photographed. 

The application shall be verified by the oath or affirmation of 

the applicant.  

B. Fee schedule. Before submitting an application for a 

permit as a participant, the applicant shall consult the fee 

schedule (11VAC10-60-15) of the Virginia Racing 

Commission to ascertain the applicable fee, make out a check 

or money order payable to the Virginia Racing Commission 

or pay in cash or with a credit card the full amount of the fee, 

and submit the fee with the application.  

C. Reciprocity. The commission shall conduct a review of 

the statutes of other jurisdictions pertaining to horse racing 

with pari-mutuel wagering to ascertain which jurisdictions 

have substantially the same standards as those of Virginia. 

Upon submission of an application and payment of the 

prescribed fee by a holder of a permit, license or other similar 

document from those jurisdictions whose standards for 

permits, licenses or similar documents are substantially the 

same, the commission may, in its discretion, grant reciprocity 

to the applicant provided that the applicant has not been 

convicted of a misdemeanor or felony.  

D. Fingerprinting. The applicant shall be fingerprinted upon 

making his initial application in the Commonwealth and at 

least once every five years thereafter. The commission may 

waive this requirement in connection with an application for a 

permit by reciprocity with another jurisdiction provided that 

the applicant was fingerprinted and was subjected to a 

criminal history record information check in a jurisdiction 

whose laws governing fingerprinting and background 

investigations are substantially the same as required by 

Virginia and that he has not been convicted of a misdemeanor 

or a felony. However, the commission, in its discretion, may 

require fingerprints from any applicant or holder of a permit 

at any time.  
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E. Consideration of application. The commission, acting 

through its executive secretary or other designee, shall 

promptly consider any application for a permit and issue the 

permit based on the information contained in the application 

and all other information before it, including any 

investigation it deems appropriate. If an application for a 

permit is approved, the commission shall issue the permit.  

F. Denial of application. If from the face of the application, 

an applicant appears ineligible because of the requirements 

specified in § 59.1-389 B of the Code of Virginia, his 

application shall be denied by the commission, acting through 

its executive secretary or other designee. The commission 

may deny an application for a permit for the reason specified 

in § 59.1-389 C of the Code of Virginia. Absent mitigating 

circumstances, the application for a permit shall be denied if 

the applicant has three or more misdemeanor convictions, 

regardless of offense, within five years preceding the 

application date. If the applicant has multiple convictions of 

the same offense on the same day, it shall not constitute three 

or more misdemeanor convictions for purposes of this 

regulation. The applicant may withdraw his application prior 

to denial.  

G. Ineligible applicant. If it appears that the applicant may 

be ineligible because he has committed a felony or 

misdemeanor that may be detrimental to horse racing in the 

Commonwealth, he shall be afforded the opportunity to 

withdraw his application or request a hearing before a steward 

regarding his application. However, the commission, in its 

discretion, may issue a permit to an applicant providing the 

felony or misdemeanor is not one of those listed in § 59.1-389 

C 6 of the Code of Virginia.  

H. Felonies considered detrimental. In the absence of 

mitigating circumstances, the following felonies are 

considered detrimental to horse racing in Virginia and the 

commission, acting through its executive secretary or other 

designee, shall deny the application and refuse to issue the 

permit if the applicant has been convicted of any of them:  

1. For horsemen participants:  

a. Serious violent offenses, including but not limited to 

murder, rape, forcible sodomy, crimes against nature, and 

aggravated assault/maiming assault or maiming;  

b. Burglary offenses; and  

c. Arson offenses.  

2. For employees of a licensee:  

a. Larceny/theft Larceny or theft offenses, including but 

not limited to robbery, embezzlement, and credit card 

theft;  

b. Fraud offenses, including but not limited to forgery, 

uttering, and credit card fraud;  

c. Arson offenses; and  

d. Serious violent offenses, including but not limited to 

murder, rape, forcible sodomy, crimes against nature, and 

aggravated assault/maiming assault or maiming.  

I. Renewal of permit. A holder of a currently valid permit 

may renew the permit annually by making application for a 

renewal on a form prescribed by the commission. The 

application for a renewal of a permit shall be accompanied by 

a fee prescribed by the commission. The applicant may be 

photographed with each application for a renewal.  

J. Knowledge of regulations. A holder of a permit shall be 

familiar with and knowledgeable of the regulations of the 

commission. Every holder of a permit is presumed to know 

the regulations.  

K. Reporting violations. A holder of a permit shall report 

immediately to the commission every observed violation of 

these regulations as well as all violations of state and federal 

laws during the race meeting.  

L. Multiple participation. A holder of a permit may 

participate in horse racing in more than one capacity, with the 

exception of those capacities specifically prohibited by these 

regulations. A holder of a permit shall submit, in writing on a 

form prescribed by the commission, a request for approval of 

his multiple participation in horse racing. The stewards shall 

deny a request for multiple participation where it would, in 

their discretion, pose a potential conflict of interest. Where 

approval is granted to a holder of a valid permit, all 

applicable fees shall be paid by the participant.  

M. Employment of unauthorized participants. A holder of a 

permit shall not employ for participation within the enclosure 

any person who does not possess the appropriate permit 

issued by the commission or has not made application for the 

appropriate permit.  

N. Financial responsibility. A holder of a permit who 

obtains food, shelter, medicine, transportation, veterinary 

services or other goods and services for himself or for others 

shall be responsible for paying for those goods and services. 

The stewards shall neither be obligated to collect debts nor 

intervene where there is a dispute over a debt, unless in 

receipt of a judgment from a duly constituted court in the 

Commonwealth.  

O. Possession of permit. A holder of a permit shall have in 

his possession at all times his permit issued by the 

commission and shall be responsible for its safekeeping. The 

holder shall display his permit to gain entry to the enclosure 

or upon the request of appropriate racing officials, 

commission personnel, or security personnel.  

P. Duplicate permit. A holder of a permit shall report 

immediately to the stewards the loss of his permit and 

immediately make application for a duplicate. The stewards 

shall notify the appropriate security personnel of the loss of 

the permit.  
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Q. Misuse of permit. A holder of a permit shall not allow 

another person to use his permit for the purpose of obtaining 

any benefits or privileges pertaining to the permit.  

R. Search and seizure. A holder of a permit shall consent 

upon application and for the duration of the permit to 

personal inspections (searches) of the holder, inspections 

(searches) of the holder's personal property, and inspections 

(searches) of the premises and property located within the 

enclosure of the racetrack related to his participation in a race 

meeting by persons authorized by the commission, and to 

seizure of such property as is determined by the commission's 

designee conducting the search to be in violation of Chapter 

29 (§ 59.1-364 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of the Code of Virginia 

or this chapter. The following provisions shall apply to 

searches and seizures:  

1. Any drug, stimulant, narcotic, controlled substance, drug 

paraphernalia, hypodermic needle, hypodermic syringe, 

battery or other electrical or mechanical appliance or any 

other device or substance which could be used to affect the 

speed or action of a horse, or any other device prohibited 

by this chapter that is in the possession of a holder of a 

permit may be seized.  

2. Commission personnel have the right to enter into or 

upon buildings, stables, rooms (other than residences), 

private vehicles or other places within the enclosure, and 

may examine them, and inspect and examine personal 

property and effects of a holder of a permit for the purpose 

of determining that the items listed in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection are not in the possession of a permit holder 

unless authorized by Chapter 29 of Title 59.1 of the Code 

of Virginia or this chapter.  

3. In addition, commission personnel shall visit, 

investigate, and have free access to the office, track, 

facilities, or other places of business of any licensee or 

permit holder and may compel the production of any of the 

books, documents, records, or memoranda of any licensee 

or permit holder for the purpose of satisfying themselves 

that Chapter 29 of Title 59.1 of the Code of Virginia and 

this chapter are being strictly complied with.  

4. Failure to submit to any inspection or search described 

above in this subsection or to any production of documents 

or seizure of property resulting therefrom may subject a 

licensee or a holder of a permit to disciplinary action. In 

the event that such licensee or permit holder refuses to 

submit, the following procedure shall apply:  

Such refusal shall be immediately reported to the stewards 

by the person attempting to conduct the search. Such 

refusal, and the basis therefor, shall be provided in writing 

to the stewards by the permit holder and shall state the 

date, time and circumstances of the attempted search and 

his reason(s) reasons for refusing to submit to it. Upon 

receipt of such report, the stewards may take appropriate 

disciplinary action, which may include the revocation or 

suspension of the permit or referral to the appropriate law-

enforcement authorities, but neither the search nor any 

seizure of the property shall proceed.  

5. The foregoing shall not preclude commission personnel 

from conducting searches and seizures when they have 

reasonable suspicion that a permit holder is in the act of 

violating a regulation or evidence of a violation of a 

regulation may be destroyed, in which event the provisions 

of these regulations dealing with consent, refusal to 

consent, scope of search, and disciplinary action shall 

apply.  

S. Workers' compensation. An applicant for a permit who is 

subject to the compensation provisions of the Virginia 

Workers' Compensation Act (§ 65.2-100 et seq. of the Code 

of Virginia) shall comply with the provisions of the Virginia 

Workers' Compensation Act regarding insurance and self-

insurance and shall submit proof of his compliance with his 

application for a permit. Failure to remain in compliance with 

the insurance and self-insurance provisions of the Virginia 

Workers' Compensation Act throughout the duration of the 

permit shall constitute grounds for its revocation or 

suspension.  

T. Supervision of employees. A holder of a permit who is an 

employer shall supervise his employees so that their 

participation in horse racing is in accordance with these 

regulations, and shall be held jointly responsible for the 

actions of his employees as they relate to racing matters.  

U. Human drug testing. The use, possession, or 

transportation of any controlled substance or drug as those 

terms are defined in the Virginia Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-

3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) is prohibited within the 

enclosure of the racetrack unless the controlled substance or 

drug was obtained pursuant to a valid prescription or order 

from a duly licensed physician who is acting in the course of 

his professional practice or is otherwise authorized by these 

regulations. It shall be the responsibility of the holder of a 

permit to provide proof that he is using, possessing, or 

transporting the controlled substance or drug pursuant to a 

valid prescription or order from a duly licensed physician or 

that such use, possession, or transportation is otherwise 

authorized by these regulations.  

In addition, the following provisions shall apply to the use 

or possession of controlled substances or drugs:  

1. Any apprentice jockey, assistant starter, assistant trainer, 

clerk of scales, driver of Standardbreds, driver of starting 

gate, exercise rider, farrier, groom, hotwalker, identifier, 

jockey, outrider, paddock judge, patrol judge, placing 

judge, pony rider, starter, steward, trainer, valet, 

veterinarian, or veterinarian's assistant at any horse racing 

facility licensed by the commission may be subjected by 

the commission or its designee to a urine test or other fluid 
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test, including a blood test, for the purpose of detection of 

the presence of controlled substances, in the following 

manner:  

a. At least once per week during the course of every 

unlimited race meeting, the executive secretary of the 

commission, or his designee, may direct that the above-

described testing as described in this subsection be 

conducted. The day of each such testing shall be selected 

by the executive secretary or his designee at random and 

shall not be announced to the persons affected until the 

day so selected shall have arrived; and  

b. Each sample shall be provided in the presence of the 

licensee's physician or other representative appointed by 

the executive secretary or his designee and in sufficient 

quantity to provide a split sample whenever possible. 

Such sample(s) samples shall be immediately sealed and 

tagged. Evidence of such sealing shall be indicated by the 

signature of the tested permit holder, but the portion of 

the form which is provided to the laboratory for analysis 

shall not identify the individual permit holder by name. 

Only laboratories approved by the commission may be 

used in obtaining analysis reports or urine or other 

specimens. The commission and the stewards shall 

receive reports directly from the laboratory. If the permit 

holder so requests in writing to the stewards within 48 

hours of notice of a positive lab report on the test sample 

submitted, the second portion shall be sent for further 

testing to a drug testing laboratory designated and 

approved by the commission. All costs for the 

transportation and testing of the second sample portion 

shall be the financial responsibility of the requesting 

permit holder, and payment shall be due from the 

requesting permit holder within 30 days of receipt of 

notice of the costs. The licensee's physician or other 

representative appointed by the executive secretary or his 

designee shall have overall responsibility for the 

preservation, storage and safeguarding of the second 

sample portion.  

2. Notwithstanding the foregoing, any The steward, acting 

with reasonable suspicion, may direct any holder of a 

permit, whether or not listed in the categories above in this 

subsection, to submit a specimen of urine, or to submit to 

any other fluid test including a blood test for the detection 

of controlled substances or drugs, in which event the 

provisions of these regulations dealing with collection of 

sample(s) samples, failure to provide a sample, positive 

sample test(s) tests, and disciplinary action shall apply.  

3. The presence in a sample of metabolites of opioid, 

barbiturate, cannabis, cocaine, amphetamine, hallucinogen, 

phencyclidine-type drugs, volatile solvents or volatile 

nitrates, or other mood-altering or dependency-causing 

controlled substances or drugs will be considered a positive 

test. A positive test result shall be reported, in writing, to 

the executive secretary or his designee, who shall notify 

the permit holder involved in writing as quickly as 

possible.  

4. In the event of a positive test, the following shall also 

apply:  

a. For an initial positive test, a holder of a permit shall 

undergo a professional evaluation, at his own expense, by 

a physician approved by the stewards. If the evaluation 

indicates that the person's condition is nonaddictive and 

not detrimental to the best interests of horse racing, the 

person shall be allowed to participate in horse racing 

after producing a negative test and agreeing to undergo 

random testing for a period of not greater than six months 

at the discretion of the stewards;  

b. If the evaluation indicates the person's condition is 

addictive or detrimental to the best interests of horse 

racing, the person shall not be allowed to participate in 

horse racing until he can produce a negative test, has 

successfully completed a drug rehabilitation program 

acceptable to the commission, and agrees to undergo 

random testing for a period of not greater than six months 

at the discretion of the stewards; and  

c. For a second positive test, a holder of a permit shall be 

suspended indefinitely by the stewards and may only 

apply for reinstatement after having successfully 

completed a drug rehabilitation program acceptable to 

the commission and agreeing to undergo random testing 

for a period of not greater than one year at the discretion 

of the stewards.  

5. Notwithstanding the foregoing, a A holder of a permit 

whose sample is positive may be subject to disciplinary 

action including but not limited to revocation or suspension 

of his permit.  

V. Human alcohol testing. On any racing day, any holder of 

a permit may not have present within his system an amount of 

alcohol which would constitute being under the influence of 

alcohol, defined as .08% alcohol content or more, or being 

impaired, defined as between .079% and .04% alcohol 

content. In addition, the following provisions shall apply to 

the consumption of alcoholic beverages:  

1. The commission hereby adopts breath testing as its 

approved method of testing for the presence of alcohol in 

humans and adopts the following procedure for such 

testing:  

a. Any apprentice jockey, assistant starter, assistant 

trainer, clerk of scales, driver of Standardbreds, driver of 

a starting gate, exercise rider, farrier, groom, hotwalker, 

identifier, jockey, outrider, paddock judge, patrol judge, 

placing judge, pony rider, starter, steward, trainer, valet, 

veterinarian or veterinarian's assistant at any horse racing 

facility licensed by the commission may be required to 
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take a breath alcohol test prior to his participation in 

horse racing;  

b. Testing devices shall be selected by the commission 

from among those listed on the Conforming Products List 

of Evidential Breath Measurement Devices amended and 

published in the Federal Register from time to time by 

the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration 

(NHTSA), United States Department of Transportation;  

c. Each device shall be properly maintained and shall be 

calibrated by the use of calibrating unit listed on the 

NHTSA Conforming Products List of Calibrating Units 

for Breath Alcohol Testers (as amended) with sufficient 

frequency to ensure the accuracy of the device (within 

plus or minus .01%), but not less frequently than 

provided in the manufacturer's instructions;  

d. Tests shall be conducted by a trained and qualified 

operator. The operator shall have received training on the 

operational principles of the particular instrument 

employed and practical experience in the operation of the 

device and use of the breath alcohol calibrating unit; and  

e. Tests shall be conducted in accordance with 

procedures specified by the manufacturer of the testing 

device, consistent with sound technical judgment, and 

shall include appropriate restrictions on ambient air 

temperature.  

2. Notwithstanding the foregoing, any The steward, acting 

with reasonable suspicion, may direct any holder of a 

permit, whether or not listed in the categories above in this 

subsection, to submit to a breath alcohol test, in which 

event the provisions of subdivision 4 of this subsection 

shall apply.  

3. A holder of a permit listed in subdivision 1 a of this 

subsection who is impaired shall not participate in horse 

racing on that day, but for the first occurrence, shall not be 

subject to further disciplinary action; a second or 

subsequent occurrence shall subject such permit holder to 

disciplinary action.  

4. A holder of a permit who is under the influence of 

alcohol or refuses to take a breath alcohol test at the 

direction of the stewards is subject to disciplinary action.  

W. Reciprocity of rulings. Any holder of a permit whose 

permit or license to engage in any activity related to horse 

racing in any other jurisdiction has been denied, suspended, 

or revoked for just cause in that jurisdiction shall not be 

permitted to participate in horse racing with pari-mutuel 

wagering in the Commonwealth of Virginia if such denial, 

suspension, or revocation is still in effect.  

X. Official address. All notices required by law and by 

regulations of the commission to be mailed by the 

commission to any holder of a permit shall be validly given 

when mailed to the latest address on file with the 

commission. Each holder of a permit shall maintain a record 

of his current mailing address with the commission. Any 

change of address by a holder of a permit shall be submitted 

in writing to the commission within 30 days of such change.  

Y. Disorderly conduct. A holder of a permit shall not engage 

in disorderly conduct, which shall include but not be limited 

to using profane, abusive or insulting language, or assaulting 

or threatening to assault other participants, racing officials, 

commission employees or the public.  

Z. Unwarranted objection. A holder of a permit may be 

subject to disciplinary action by the stewards if they 

determine that an objection or protest is unwarranted and 

without merit.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5407; Filed April 23, 2018, 2:36 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Department of Medical 

Assistance Services will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-30. Groups Covered and 

Agencies Responsible for Eligibility Determination 

(amending 12VAC30-30-10). 

12VAC30-110. Eligibility and Appeals (amending 

12VAC30-110-1620).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396. 

Effective Date: June 15, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments relocate provisions regarding coverage 

for former out-of-state foster care youth from the State 

Plan for Medical Assistance, where it was established, into 
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the state only regulations at 12VAC30-110-1260 because 

of a determination by the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services that this coverage is permitted under a 

§ 1115 waiver. This action does not represent a change in 

coverage, and former out-of-state foster care youth will 

continue to be eligible for Medicaid coverage as they have 

been since July 1, 2014. 

12VAC30-30-10. Mandatory coverage: categorically 

needy and other required special groups.  

The Title IV-A agency or the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services Central Processing Unit determines 

eligibility for Title XIX services. The following groups shall 

be eligible for medical assistance as specified:  

1. Parents and other caretaker relatives of dependent 

children with household income at or below a standard 

established by the state in 12VAC30-40-100 consistent 

with 42 CFR 435.110 and §§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(l) and 

1931(b) of the Social Security Act. Individuals qualifying 

under this eligibility group shall meet the following 

criteria: 

a. Parents, other caretaker relatives (defined at 42 CFR 

435.4) including pregnant women, or dependent children 

(defined at 42 CFR 435.4) younger than the age of 18 

years. This group includes individuals who are parents or 

other caretaker relatives of children who are 18 years of 

age provided the children are full-time students in a 

secondary school or the equivalent level of vocational or 

technical training and are expected to complete such 

school or training before their 19th birthday. 

b. Spouses of parents and other caretaker relatives shall 

include other relatives of the child based on blood 

(including those of half-blood), adoption, or marriage. 

Other relatives of a specified degree of the dependent 

child shall include any blood relative (including those of 

half-blood) and including (i) first cousins; (ii) nephews or 

nieces; (iii) persons of preceding generations as denoted 

by prefixes of grand, great, or great-great; (iv) 

stepbrother; (v) stepsister; (vi) a relative by adoption 

following entry of the interlocutory or final order, 

whichever is first; (vii) the same relatives by adoption as 

listed in this subdivision 1 b; and (viii) spouses of any 

persons named in this subdivision 1 b even after the 

marriage is terminated by death or divorce. 

MAGI-based income methodologies in 12VAC30-40-100 

shall be used in calculating household income.  

2. Women who are pregnant or postpartum with household 

income at or below a standard established by the 

Commonwealth in 12VAC30-40-100, consistent with 

42 CFR 435.116 and §§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(III) and (IV), 

1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(I) and (IX), and 1931(b) of the Act. 

Individuals qualifying under this eligibility group shall be 

pregnant or postpartum as defined in 42 CFR 435.4. 

a. A woman who, while pregnant, was eligible for, 

applied for, and received Medicaid under the approved 

state plan on the day her pregnancy ends. The woman 

continues to be eligible, as though she were pregnant, for 

all pregnancy-related and postpartum medical assistance 

under the plan for a 60-day period, beginning on the last 

day of her pregnancy, and for any remaining days in the 

month in which the 60th day falls. 

b. A pregnant woman who would otherwise lose 

eligibility because of an increase in income of the family 

in which she is a member during the pregnancy or the 

postpartum period that extends through the end of the 

month in which the 60-day period, beginning on the last 

day of pregnancy, ends. 

MAGI-based income methodologies in 12VAC30-40-100 

shall be used in calculating household income. 

3. Infants and children younger than the age of 19 years 

with household income at or below standards based on this 

age group, consistent with 42 CFR 435.118 and 

§§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(III), (IV) and (VIII); 

1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(IV) and (IX); and 1931(b) of the Act. 

Children qualifying under this eligibility group shall meet 

the following criteria: 

a. They are younger than the age of 19 years; and 

b. They have a household income at or below the 

standard established by the Commonwealth. 

MAGI-based income methodologies in 12VAC30-40-100 

shall be used in calculating household income. 

4. Former foster care children younger than the age of 26 

years who are not otherwise mandatorily eligible in another 

Medicaid classification, who were on Medicaid and in 

foster care when they turned age 18 years, or who aged out 

of foster care. Individuals qualifying under this eligibility 

group shall meet the following criteria: 

a. They shall be younger than the age of 26 years; 

b. They shall not be otherwise eligible for and enrolled 

for mandatory coverage under the state plan; and 

c. They were in foster care under the responsibility of 

any the state of Virginia or a federally recognized tribe 

and were enrolled in Virginia Medicaid under the state 

plan of that state when they turned age 18 years or at the 

time of aging out of the foster care program. 

5. Families terminated from coverage under § 1931 of the 

Act solely because of earnings or hours of employment 

shall be entitled to up to 12 months of extended benefits in 

accordance with § 1925 of the Act. 

6. A child born to a woman who is eligible for and 

receiving Medicaid on the date of the child's birth. The 

child is deemed to have applied and been found eligible for 
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Medicaid on the date of birth and remains eligible for one 

year from birth, as long as he remains a resident of the 

Commonwealth. A redetermination of eligibility must be 

completed on behalf of the deemed child at age one year 

and annually thereafter so long as he remains eligible. 

7. Aged, blind, and disabled individuals receiving cash 

assistance.  

a. Individuals who meet more restrictive requirements for 

Medicaid than the SSI requirements. (This includes 

persons who qualify for benefits under § 1619(a) of the 

Act or who meet the eligibility requirements for SSI 

status under § 1619(b)(1) of the Act and who met the 

state's more restrictive requirements for Medicaid in the 

month before the month they qualified for SSI under 

§ 1619(a) or met the requirements under § 1619(b)(1) of 

the Act. Medicaid eligibility for these individuals 

continues as long as they continue to meet the § 1619(a) 

eligibility standard or the requirements of § 1619(b) of 

the Act.)  

b. These persons include the aged, the blind, and the 

disabled.  

c. Protected SSI children (pursuant to 

§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(II) of the Act) (P.L. 105-33 § 4913). 

Children who meet the pre-welfare reform definition of 

childhood disability who lost their SSI coverage solely as 

a result of the change in the definition of childhood 

disability, and who also meet the more restrictive 

requirements for Medicaid than the SSI requirements.  

d. The more restrictive categorical eligibility criteria are 

described in 12VAC30-30-40.  

Financial criteria are described in 12VAC30-40-10.  

8. Qualified severely impaired blind and disabled 

individuals under age 65 years who:  

a. For the month preceding the first month of eligibility 

under the requirements of § 1905(q)(2) of the Act, 

received SSI, a state supplementary payment (SSP) under 

§ 1616 of the Act or under § 212 of P.L. 93-66 or 

benefits under § 1619(a) of the Act and were eligible for 

Medicaid; or  

b. For the month of June 1987, were considered to be 

receiving SSI under § 1619(b) of the Act and were 

eligible for Medicaid. These individuals must:  

(1) Continue to meet the criteria for blindness or have the 

disabling physical or mental impairment under which the 

individual was found to be disabled;  

(2) Except for earnings, continue to meet all 

nondisability-related requirements for eligibility for SSI 

benefits;  

(3) Have unearned income in amounts that would not 

cause them to be ineligible for a payment under 

§ 1611(b) of the Act;  

(4) Be seriously inhibited by the lack of Medicaid 

coverage in their ability to continue to work or obtain 

employment; and  

(5) Have earnings that are not sufficient to provide for 

himself a reasonable equivalent of the Medicaid, SSI 

(including any federally administered SSP), or public 

funded attendant care services that would be available if 

he did have such earnings.  

The state applies more restrictive eligibility requirements 

for Medicaid than under SSI and under 42 CFR 435.121. 

Individuals who qualify for benefits under § 1619(a) of the 

Act or individuals described above who meet the eligibility 

requirements for SSI benefits under § 1619(b)(1) of the 

Act and who met the state's more restrictive requirements 

in the month before the month they qualified for SSI under 

§ 1619(a) or met the requirements of § 1619(b)(1) of the 

Act are covered. Eligibility for these individuals continues 

as long as they continue to qualify for benefits under 

§ 1619(a) of the Act or meet the SSI requirements under 

§ 1619(b)(1) of the Act.  

9. Except in states that apply more restrictive requirements 

for Medicaid than under SSI, blind or disabled individuals 

who:  

a. Are at least 18 years of age; and 

b. Lose SSI eligibility because they become entitled to 

Old Age, Survivor, and Disability Insurance (OASDI) 

child's benefits under § 202(d) of the Act or an increase 

in these benefits based on their disability. Medicaid 

eligibility for these individuals continues for as long as 

they would be eligible for SSI, absence their OASDI 

eligibility.  

The state does not apply more restrictive income eligibility 

requirements than those under SSI.  

10. Except in states that apply more restrictive eligibility 

requirements for Medicaid than under SSI, individuals who 

are ineligible for SSI or optional state supplements (if the 

agency provides Medicaid under § 435.230 of the Act), 

because of requirements that do not apply under Title XIX 

of the Act.  

11. Individuals receiving mandatory state supplements.  

12. Individuals who in December 1973 were eligible for 

Medicaid as an essential spouse and who have continued, 

as a spouse, to live with and be essential to the well-being 

of a recipient of cash assistance. The recipient with whom 

the essential spouse is living continues to meet the 

December 1973 eligibility requirements of the state's 

approved plan for Old Age Assistance, Aid to the Blind, 
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Aid to the Permanently and Totally Disabled, or Aid to the 

Aged, Blind, and Disabled and the spouse continues to 

meet the December 1973 requirements for have his needs 

included in computing the cash payment. In December 

1973, Medicaid coverage of the essential spouse was 

limited to the aged, the blind, and the disabled.  

13. Institutionalized individuals who were eligible for 

Medicaid in December 1973 as inpatients of Title XIX 

medical institutions or residents of Title XIX intermediate 

care facilities, if, for each consecutive month after 

December 1973, they:  

a. Continue to meet the December 1973 Medicaid State 

Plan eligibility requirements;  

b. Remain institutionalized; and  

c. Continue to need institutional care.  

14. Blind and disabled individuals who:  

a. Meet all current requirements for Medicaid eligibility 

except the blindness or disability criteria;  

b. Were eligible for Medicaid in December 1973 as blind 

or disabled; and  

c. For each consecutive month after December 1973 

continue to meet December 1973 eligibility criteria.  

15. Individuals who would be SSI/SSP eligible except for 

the increase in OASDI benefits under P.L. 92-336 (July 1, 

1972), who were entitled to OASDI in August 1972, and 

who were receiving cash assistance in August 1972. This 

includes persons who would have been eligible for cash 

assistance but had not applied in August 1972 (this group 

was included in this state's August 1972 plan), and persons 

who would have been eligible for cash assistance in 

August 1972 if not in a medical institution or intermediate 

care facility (this group was included in this state's August 

1972 plan).  

16. Individuals who:  

a. Are receiving OASDI and were receiving SSI/SSP but 

became ineligible for SSI/SSP after April 1977; and  

b. Would still be eligible for SSI or SSP if cost-of-living 

increases in OASDI paid under § 215(i) of the Act 

received after the last month for which the individual was 

eligible for and received SSI/SSP and OASDI, 

concurrently, were deducted from income.  

The state applies more restrictive eligibility requirements 

than those under SSI and the amount of increase that 

caused SSI/SSP ineligibility and subsequent increases are 

deducted when determining the amount of countable 

income for categorically needy eligibility.  

17. Disabled widows and widowers who would be eligible 

for SSI or SSP except for the increase in their OASDI 

benefits as a result of the elimination of the reduction 

factor required by § 134 of P.L. 98-21 and who are 

deemed, for purposes of Title XIX, to be SSI beneficiaries 

or SSP beneficiaries for individuals who would be eligible 

for SSP only, under § 1634(b) of the Act.  

The state does not apply more restrictive income eligibility 

standards than those under SSI.  

18. Disabled widows, disabled widowers, and disabled 

unmarried divorced spouses who had been married to the 

insured individual for a period of at least 10 years before 

the divorce became effective, who have attained the age of 

50, who are receiving Title II payments, and who because 

of the receipt of Title II income lost eligibility for SSI or 

SSP which they received in the month prior to the month in 

which they began to receive Title II payments, who would 

be eligible for SSI or SSP if the amount of the Title II 

benefit were not counted as income, and who are not 

entitled to Medicare Part A.  

The state applies more restrictive eligibility requirements 

for its blind or disabled than those of the SSI program.  

19. Qualified Medicare beneficiaries:  

a. Who are entitled to hospital insurance benefits under 

Medicare Part A (but not pursuant to an enrollment under 

§ 1818 of the Act);  

b. Whose income does not exceed 100% of the federal 

level; and  

c. Whose resources do not exceed twice the maximum 

standard under SSI or, effective January 1, 2010, the 

resource limit set for the Medicare Part D Low Income 

Subsidy Program. 

Medical assistance for this group is limited to Medicare 

cost sharing as defined in item 3.2 of this plan. 

20. Qualified disabled and working individuals:  

a. Who are entitled to hospital insurance benefits under 

Medicare Part A under § 1818A of the Act;  

b. Whose income does not exceed 200% of the federal 

poverty level; 

c. Whose resources do not exceed twice the maximum 

standard under SSI; and 

d. Who are not otherwise eligible for medical assistance 

under Title XIX of the Act.  

Medical assistance for this group is limited to Medicare 

Part A premiums under §§ 1818 and 1818A of the Act. 

21. Specified low-income Medicare beneficiaries:  

a. Who are entitled to hospital insurance benefits under 

Medicare Part A (but not pursuant to an enrollment under 

§ 1818A of the Act);  
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b. Whose income for calendar years 1993 and 1994 

exceeds the income level in subdivision 25 b of this 

section, but is less than 110% of the federal poverty 

level, and whose income for calendar years beginning 

1995 is less than 120% of the federal poverty level; and  

c. Whose resources do not exceed twice the maximum 

standard under SSI or, effective January 1, 2010, the 

resource limit set for the Medicare Part D Low Income 

Subsidy Program. 

Medical assistance for this group is limited to Medicare 

Part B premiums under § 1839 of the Act. 

22. a. Each person to whom SSI benefits by reason of 

disability are not payable for any month solely by reason of 

clause (i) or (v) of § 1611(e)(3)(A) shall be treated, for 

purposes of Title XIX, as receiving SSI benefits for the 

month.  

b. The state applies more restrictive eligibility standards 

than those under SSI. Individuals whose eligibility for 

SSI benefits are based solely on disability who are not 

payable for any months solely by reason of clause (i) or 

(v) of § 1611(e)(3)(A) and who continue to meet the 

more restrictive requirements for Medicaid eligibility 

under the state plan, are eligible for Medicaid as 

categorically needy.  

12VAC30-110-1620. (Reserved) Coverage of former foster 

care youth. 

A. The Title IV-A agency or the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services Central Processing Unit determines 

eligibility for Title XIX services. 

B. Former foster care children younger than the age of 26 

years who are not otherwise mandatorily eligible in another 

Medicaid classification and who were on Medicaid and in 

foster care when they turned age 18 years or aged out of 

foster care are eligible for medical assistance as specified. 

Individuals qualifying under this eligibility group shall meet 

the following criteria: 

1. They shall be younger than the age of 26 years; 

2. They shall not be otherwise eligible for or enrolled in 

mandatory coverage under the state plan; and 

3. They were in foster care in a state other than Virginia 

and were enrolled in Medicaid under the state plan of that 

state when they turned age 18 years or at the time of aging 

out of the foster care program. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5377; Filed April 12, 2018, 11:20 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Accountancy is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with the second enactment of Chapters 45 and 

82 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, which exempts the actions 

of the board relating to the adoption of regulations necessary 

to implement the provisions of the act; however, the board is 

required to provide an opportunity for public comment on 

regulations prior to their adoption. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC5-22. Board of Accountancy 

Regulations (amending 18VAC5-22-20; adding 18VAC5-

22-180).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-4402 and 54.1-4403 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

Effective Date: June 13, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Rebekah E. Allen, Enforcement Director, 

Board of Accountancy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 402, 

Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2006, FAX (804) 

527-4207, or email rebekah.allen@boa.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 45 and 82 of the 2018 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments (i) change the term of licensure 

from 12 months to a term defined by the Virginia Board of 

Accountancy and set the expiration date for all licenses as 

June 30; (ii) provide for the transition of existing licenses 

to the new expiration date, including proration of fees 

during the transition; and (iii) change the existing fee 

schedule to reflect this transitional period. 

18VAC5-22-20. Fees. 

A. The board shall charge the following fees for services it 

provides: 

Processing an initial application to take 

one or more sections of the CPA 

examination 

$120 

Processing additional applications to take 

one or more sections of the CPA 

examination 

$20 

Preliminary evaluation of whether a 

person has met the requirements to take 

the CPA examination 

$25 

Processing an application for issuance of 

a Virginia license to a person 

$75 
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Processing an application for issuance of 

a Virginia license to a firm 

$100 

Processing an application for the timely 

renewal of a person's Virginia license 

except as provided in subsection B of 

18VAC5-22-180 

$60 

Processing an application for the timely 

renewal of a firm's Virginia license except 

as provided in subsection B of 18VAC5-

22-180 

$75 

Additional fee for processing an 

application for the renewal of a person's 

Virginia license that is not timely 

$100 

Additional fee for processing an 

application for the renewal of a firm's 

Virginia license that is not timely 

$100 

Processing an application for 

reinstatement of a person's Virginia 

license 

$350 

Processing an application for 

reinstatement of a firm's Virginia license 

$500 

Processing an application for lifting the 

suspension of the privilege of using the 

CPA title in Virginia  

$350 

Processing an application for lifting the 

suspension of the privilege of providing 

attest services or compilation services for 

persons or entities located in Virginia  

$500 

Providing or obtaining information about 

a person's grades on sections of the CPA 

examination 

$25 

Processing requests for verification that a 

person or firm holds a Virginia license: 

  

1. Online request $25 

2. Manual request $50 

Providing an additional wall certificate $25 

Additional fee for not responding within 

30 calendar days to any request for 

information by the board under subsection 

A of 18VAC5-22-170 

$100 

Additional fee for not using the online 

payment option for any service provided 

by the board 

$25 

B. All fees for services the board provides are due when the 

service is requested and are nonrefundable.  

18VAC5-22-180. Issuance, renewal, and reinstatement of 

licenses. 

A. Any Virginia license issued, renewed, or reinstated on or 

after February 26, 2018, and on or before June 30, 2018, shall 

expire on June 30, 2019, and its holder shall pay the fee 

prescribed in 18VAC5-22-20 upon submission of a 

completed license application.  

B. Any Virginia license expiring between July 31, 2018, and 

on or before March 31, 2019, that is renewed pursuant to this 

subsection shall expire on June 30, 2019. Any Virginia 

license expiring between April 30, 2019, and on or before 

May 31, 2019, that is renewed pursuant to this subsection 

shall expire on June 30, 2020. 

1. A person who holds a Virginia license that expires 

between July 31, 2018, and May 31, 2019, shall pay a 

prorated renewal fee as prescribed in this subdivision upon 

submission of a completed license renewal application. 

Current Expiration 

Date Renewal Fee 

Expiration Date 

Following 

Renewal 

July 31, 2018 $55 June 30, 2019 

August 31, 2018 $50 June 30, 2019 

September 30, 2018 $45 June 30, 2019 

October 31, 2018 $40 June 30, 2019 

November 30, 2018 $35 June 30, 2019 

December 31, 2018 $30 June 30, 2019 

January 31, 2019 $25 June 30, 2019 

February 28, 2019 $20 June 30, 2019 

March 31, 2019 $15 June 30, 2019 

April 30, 2019 $60 June 30, 2020 

May 31, 2019 $60 June 30, 2020 

2. A firm that holds a Virginia license that expires between 

July 31, 2018, and May 31, 2019, shall pay a prorated 

renewal fee as prescribed in this subdivision upon 

submission of a completed license renewal application. 

Current Expiration 

Date Renewal Fee 

Expiration Date 

Following 

Renewal 

July 31, 2018 $68 June 30, 2019 

August 31, 2018 $62 June 30, 2019 

September 30, 2018 $56 June 30, 2019 
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October 31, 2018 $50 June 30, 2019 

November 30, 2018 $43 June 30, 2019 

December 31, 2018 $37 June 30, 2019 

January 31, 2019 $31 June 30, 2019 

February 28, 2019 $25 June 30, 2019 

March 31, 2019 $18 June 30, 2019 

April 30, 2019 $75 June 30, 2020 

May 31, 2019 $75 June 30, 2020 

C. Any Virginia license issued or reinstated from July 1, 

2018, to on or before March 31, 2019, shall expire on June 

30, 2019, and its holder shall pay the fee prescribed in 

18VAC5-22-20 upon submission of a completed license 

application. Beginning April 1, 2019, any Virginia license 

issued or reinstated during the months of April, May, or June 

shall expire on June 30 of the succeeding calendar year, and 

its holder shall pay the fee prescribed in 18VAC5-22-20 upon 

submission of a completed license application. 

D. For Virginia licenses expiring on June 30, 2019, or later, 

the holder of a Virginia license shall annually renew his 

license on or before June 30 of each calendar year by 

submitting a completed license renewal application and 

paying to the board a renewal fee as prescribed in 18VAC5-

22-20. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5411; Filed April 23, 2018, 12:39 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Pharmacy is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 13 of the Code 

of Virginia, which exempts amendments to regulations of the 

board to schedule a substance in Schedule I or II pursuant to 

subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of Virginia. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-322).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3443 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 13, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments add seven compounds into Schedule I of 

the Drug Control Act as recommended by the Virginia 

Department of Forensic Science pursuant to § 54.1-3443 

of the Code of Virginia. The compounds added by this 

regulatory action will remain in effect for 18 months or 

until the compounds are placed in Schedule I by legislative 

action of the General Assembly.  

18VAC110-20-322. Placement of chemicals in Schedule I. 

A. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(dimethylamino)-1-

pentanone (other names: N,N-Dimethylpentylone, 

Dipentylone); 

2. 4-chloro-alpha-Pyrrolidinovalerophenone (other name: 

4-chloro-alpha-PVP); 

3. 4-methyl-alpha-Pyrrolidinohexiophenone (other name: 

MPHP); 

4. 4-fluoro-alpha-Pyrrolidinoheptiophenone (other name: 

4-fluoro-PV8); 

5. 1-(4-methoxyphenyl)-2-(pyrrolidin-1-yl)octan-1-one 

(other name: 4-methoxy-PV9); 

6. 4-allyloxy-3,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (other name: 

Allylescaline); 

7. 4-methyl-alpha-ethylaminopentiophenone; and  

8. N-(4-fluorophenyl)-2-methyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-

piperidinyl]-propanamide (other name: para-

fluoroisobutyryl fentanyl). 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until August 22, 2018, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

B. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 6-ethyl-6-nor-lysergic acid diethylamide (other name: 

ETH-LAD), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 

salts, and salts of isomers, whenever the existence of such 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation; 

2. 6-allyl-6-nor-lysergic acid diethylamide (other name: 

AL-LAD), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 

salts, and salts of isomers, whenever the existence of such 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation; 
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3. Synthetic opioids:  

a. N-[1-[2-hydroxy-2-(2-thienyl)ethyl]-4-piperidinyl]-N-

phenylpropanamide (other name: beta-

hydroxythiofentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, 

and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless 

specifically excepted, whenever the existence of these 

isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the 

specific chemical designation; 

b. N-(2-fluorophenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-

piperidinyl]-propanamide (other names: 2-fluorofentanyl, 

ortho-fluorofentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, 

and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless 

specifically excepted, whenever the existence of these 

isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the 

specific chemical designation; and 

c. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-2-

propenamide (other name: Acryl fentanyl), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and 

ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 

existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 

possible within the specific chemical designation; 

4. Cannabimimetic agents:  

a. 1-pentyl-N-(phenylmethyl)-1H-indole-3-carboxamide 

(other name: SDB-006), its salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation; and 

b. Quinolin-8-yl 1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indole-3-

carboxylate (other name: FUB-PB-22), its salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation; and 

5. Benzodiazepine: flubromazepam, its salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until December 13, 2018, unless enacted into law in 

the Drug Control Act. 

C. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 4-Bromo-2,5-dimethoxy-N-[(2-hydroxyphenyl)methyl]-

benzeneethanamine (25B-NBOH), its optical, position, and 

geometric isomers, salts and salts of isomers, whenever the 

existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation.  

2. Methyl N-[1-(cyclohexylmethyl)-1H-indole-3-

carbonyl]valinate (MMB-CHMICA), its salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

3. N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenyltetrahydrofuran-

2-carboxamide (Tetrahydrofuran fentanyl), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, 

unless specifically excepted, whenever the existence of 

these isomers, esters, ethers and salts is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until February 18, 2019, unless enacted into law in 

the Drug Control Act. 

D. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 5-methoxy-N,N-dimethyltryptamine (5-MeO-DMT), its 

optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

2. 5-methoxy-N-ethyl-N-isopropyltryptamine (5-MeO-

EIPT), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, 

and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

3. 4-hydroxy-N,N-diisopropyltryptamine (4-OH-DIPT), its 

optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

4. (N-methyl aminopropyl)-2,3-dihydrobenzofuran 

(MAPDB), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 

salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

5. 3,4-tetramethylene-alpha-pyrrolidinovalerophenone 

(TH-PVP), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 

salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

6. 4-chloro-alpha-methylamino-valerophenone (4-

chloropentedrone), its optical, position, and geometric 

isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

7. Synthetic opioids: 

a. 2-methoxy-N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-

piperidinyl]-acetamide (Methoxyacetyl fentanyl), its 

isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, 

and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 
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existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-

phenylcyclopropanecarboxamide (Cyclopropyl fentanyl), 

its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, 

esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever 

the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

8. Cannabimimetic agent: N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-

oxobutan-2-yl)-1-(5-fluoropentyl)indazole-3-carboxamide 

(5-fluoro-ADB-PINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until June 12, 2019, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

E. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 2-(methylamino)-2-phenyl-cyclohexanone (other name: 

Deschloroketamine), its optical, position, and geometric 

isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

2. 2-methyl-1-(4-(methylthio)phenyl)-2-

morpholinopropiophenone (other name: MMMP), its optical, 

position, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

3. Alpha-ethylaminohexanophenone (other name: N-

ethylhexedrone), its optical, position, and geometric 

isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

4. N-ethyl-1-(3-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexylamine (other 

name: 3-methoxy-PCE), its optical, position, and 

geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the 

existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

5. 4-fluoro-alpha-pyrrolidinohexiophenone (other name: 4-

fluoro-alpha-PHP), its optical, position, and geometric 

isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

6. N-ethyl-1,2-diphenylethylamine (other name: 

Ephenidine), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 

salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

7. Synthetic opioids: 

a. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-1,3-

benzodioxole-5-carboxamide (other name: Benzodioxole 

fentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 

isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 

whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, 

and salts is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

b. 3,4-dichloro-N-[2-(diethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-

methylbenzamide (other name: U-49900), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and 

ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 

existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

c. 2-(2,4-dichlorophenyl)-N-[2-(dimethylamino) 

cyclohexyl]-N-methylacetamide (other name: U-48800), 

its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, 

esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever 

the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

8. Central nervous system stimulants: 

a. Methyl 2-(4-fluorophenyl)-2-(2-piperidinyl)acetate 

(other name: 4-fluoromethylphenidate), including its 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers. 

b. Isopropyl-2-phenyl-2-(2-piperidinyl)acetate (other 

name: Isopropylphenidate), including its salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers.  

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until August 21, 2019, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

F. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Research chemicals: 

a. 2-(ethylamino)-2-phenyl-cyclohexanone (other name: 

deschloro-N-ethyl-ketamine), its optical, position, and 

geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers, whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 

is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. 3,4-methylenedioxy-N-tert-butylcathinone, its optical, 

position, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of 

isomers, whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

c. 4-fluoro-N-ethylamphetamine, its optical, position, and 

geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers, whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 

is possible within the specific chemical designation. 
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d. Beta-keto-4-bromo-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine 

(other name: bk-2C-B), its optical, position, and 

geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers, whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 

is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

2. Synthetic opioids: 

a. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-2-

butenamide (other name: Crotonyl fentanyl), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and 

ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 

existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. 2-(3,4-dichlorophenyl)-N-[2-(dimethylamino) 

cyclohexyl]-N-methylacetamide (other name: U-51754), 

its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, 

esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever 

the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

c. N-phenyl-N-[4-phenyl-1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-

piperidinyl]-propanamide (other name: 4-

phenylfentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts 

of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically 

excepted, whenever the existence of these isomers, 

esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until December 12, 2019, unless enacted into law in 

the Drug Control Act. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5437; Filed April 13, 2018, 3:10 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

The State Corporation Commission is claiming an exemption 

from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with 

§ 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts 

courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and any agency that 

by the Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of 

a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-425. Rules Governing 

Enhanced 911 (E-911) Service (amending 20VAC5-425-10 

through 20VAC5-425-50; adding 20VAC5-425-45).  

Statutory Authority: § 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 30, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Sheree King, Manager, Public Utility 

Regulation, State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1197, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9707, FAX (804) 

371-9350, or email sheree.king@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments include (i) adding and updating 

definitions; (ii) providing that written communications 

include emails, texts, and facsimiles; (iii) reducing the time 

for updating contact information from five business days to 

24 hours; (iv) adding details regarding the information to 

be included in any semiannual verification of 911 billing 

information provided to a public safety answer point 

(PSAP); (v) expanding the duties of a local exchange 

carrier (LEC) to include priority restoration to a PSAP by 

the LEC; (vi) requiring local LECs to provide the Division 

of Public Utility Regulation with a copy of the annual 

reliability certification required by the Federal 

Communications Commission, 911 outage information 

during a recognized disaster in Virginia, and related 

service outage information, which information shall be 

afforded confidential treatment; and (vii) making minor 

updates and revisions. 

AT RICHMOND, APRIL 17, 2018 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUR-2017-00076 

Ex Parte: In the matter of revising 

the Commission's Rules Governing 

Enhanced 911 (E-911) Service 

ORDER FOR NOTICE AND COMMENT 

On June 23, 2004, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") adopted Rules Governing Enhanced 911 (E-

911) Service, 20 VAC 5-425-10 et seq. ("E-911 Rules") in 

Case No. PUC-2003-00103.1 The Commission initiated the E-

911 rulemaking in response to complaints received from 

Public Safety Answering Point ("PSAP")2 administrators and 

local governments regarding the quality of E-911 service and 

billing issues associated therewith.3 At that time, the 

Commission noted that the reliability and accuracy of the E-

911 service was essential to protecting the public safety and 

health of many Virginia citizens.4 Given the passage of time 

since the Commission established the E-911 Rules in 2004, 

the Commission concluded that it was appropriate to revisit 

the E-911 Rules and to make modifications, if necessary, due 

to changes in applicable laws and technological changes in 

the telecommunications industry. 

On June 8, 2017, the Commission entered an Order 

Initiating Rulemaking Proceeding to determine whether, and 

the extent to which, any of the Commission's E-911 Rules 
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should be revised.  In this regard, the Commission directed 

the Commission's Staff ("Staff") to solicit comments from, 

and schedule a meeting or meetings (as necessary) with, 

stakeholders and persons having an interest in the 

Commission's E-911 Rules and the provision of E-911 service 

in the Commonwealth of Virginia, and to develop, with 

appropriate input from stakeholders and interested persons, a 

proposal for any revisions, if necessary, to the current E-911 

Rules. 

On March 30, 2018, the Staff filed a report ("Staff Report") 

detailing the Staff's efforts in this undertaking. The Staff 

Report included proposed revisions to the current E-911 

Rules. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

foregoing, is of the opinion and finds that the Staff's proposed 

revisions, as appended hereto ("Proposed Rules"), should be 

considered for adoption, and that interested persons should 

have an opportunity to comment on the Proposed Rules, to 

request a hearing thereon, or to suggest modifications or 

supplements to the Proposed Rules. We further find that a 

copy of the Proposed Rules should be sent to the Registrar of 

Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall forward a copy of this Order for Notice and Comment 

("Order"), including a copy of the Proposed Rules, to the 

Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

(2) A downloadable version of this Order and the Proposed 

Rules shall be available for access by the public on the 

Commission's website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. A 

copy of this Order and the Proposed Rules shall be available 

for public inspection in the Commission's Document Control 

Center located on the first floor of the Tyler Building, 1300 

East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, between the 

hours of 8:15 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, 

excluding holidays.  A copy of the Proposed Rules may be 

requested from the Commission's Division of Public Utility 

Regulation by telephone, regular mail, or e-mail request, and 

can be found at the Division's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/pur/e911rules.aspx. 

(3) On or before May 30, 2018, any interested person or 

entity may comment on, propose modifications or 

supplements to, or request a hearing on the Proposed Rules 

by filing comments, proposals, or hearing requests with Joel 

H. Peck, Clerk, State Corporation Commission, c/o 

Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, 

Virginia 23218-2118. Any request for hearing shall state with 

specificity why the issues raised in the request for hearing 

cannot be adequately addressed in written comments.  If a 

sufficient request for hearing is not received, the Commission 

may consider the matter and enter an order based upon the 

papers filed herein. Any interested person desiring to submit 

comments electronically may do so by following the 

instructions on the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. Compact disks or any other 

form of electronic storage medium may not be filed with such 

comments. All correspondence shall refer to Case No. PUR-

2017-00076. 

(4) All documents filed with the Office of the Clerk of the 

Commission in this docket may use both sides of the paper. In 

all other respects, all filings shall comply fully with the 

requirements of 5 VAC 5-20-150, Copies and format, of the 

Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure, 5 VAC 5-20-

10 et seq. 

(5) On or before June 20, 2018, the Staff may file with the 

Clerk of the Commission a report on or a response to any 

comments, proposals, or requests for hearing submitted to the 

Commission on the Proposed Rules. 

(6) This matter is continued. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 

the Commission to all local exchange carriers certificated in 

Virginia as set out in Appendix A; and C. Meade Browder, 

Jr., Senior Assistant Attorney General, Office of the Attorney 

General, Division of Consumer Counsel, 202 N. 9th Street, 

8th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219-3424. A copy also shall 

be provided to the Commission's Office of General Counsel 

and Division of Public Utility Regulation. 

__________________________________ 

1 Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, Ex 
Parte: In the matter of establishing rules governing the provision of enhanced 

911 service by local exchange carriers, Case No. PUC-2003-00103, 2004 

S.C.C. Ann. Rept. 201, Order Adopting Rules (June 23, 2004). 

2 A PSAP is a communications operation or facility operated by or on behalf 

of a governmental entity that is equipped and staffed on a 24-hour basis to 

receive and process telephone calls for emergency assistance from an 
individual who dials the digits 9-1-1. See, e.g., §§ 56-484.12 and 56-484.19 

of the Code of Virginia. 

3 See Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, Ex 
Parte: In the matter of establishing rules governing the provision of enhanced 

911 service by local exchange carriers, Case No. PUC-2003-00103, Order for 

Notice and Comment or Requests for Hearing (Aug. 1, 2003). 

4 See Id. 

20VAC5-425-10. Definitions.  

The words and terms in § 56-484.12 of the Code of Virginia 

shall have application to this chapter. In addition, the 

following words and terms when used in this chapter shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Automatic location identification (ALI)" or "ALI" means 

the feature by which the name, service address, and 

supplemental emergency service information associated with 

the calling party's telephone number are forwarded to the 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/pur/e911rules.aspx
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
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Public Safety Answering Point public safety awareness point 

(PSAP) for automatic display on the PSAP terminal 

equipment.  

"Automatic number identification (ANI)" or "ANI" means a 

feature by which the telephone number associated with a 

network access line is initially generated and forwarded to a 

PSAP for display on a 911 terminal.  

"Average busy hour" means the one-hour period during the 

week statistically shown over time to be the hour in which the 

most telephone calls are received.  

"Commission" means the Virginia State Corporation 

Commission.  

"Competitive local exchange carrier (CLEC)" or "CLEC" 

means an entity, other than a locality, authorized to provide 

local exchange telecommunications services in Virginia 

pursuant to § 56-265.4:4 of the Code of Virginia and 

20VAC5-417. 

"Competitive telephone company" or "CTC" means any 

ILEC or CLEC that has elected to be regulated as a 

competitive telephone company in accordance with Chapter 

2.1 (§ 56-54.2 et seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Database error" means an error in ALI address information 

caused by a Local Exchange Carrier (LEC) an LEC that 

affects the ability of a PSAP to route emergency services 

correctly.  

"E-911 ALI database" means the set of ALI records residing 

on a computer system that is used with ANI to associate a 

physical location with a telephone number, including 

information such as name, telephone number, address, nearest 

cross street, and special preexisting conditions.  

"E-911 services" means the tariffed services purchased by a 

jurisdiction for the purpose of processing wireline E-911 

calls.  

"Foreign central office service" means local exchange 

telecommunications service that is furnished from one central 

office to a location typically served by another central office.  

"Foreign exchange service" means local exchange 

telecommunications service that is furnished from one 

exchange to a location typically served by another exchange.  

"Incumbent local exchange carrier (ILEC)"," "ILEC," or 

"incumbent" means a public service company providing local 

exchange telecommunications services in Virginia on 

December 31, 1995, pursuant to a certificate of public 

convenience and necessity, or the successors to any such 

company.  

"Local exchange carrier (LEC)" or "LEC" means a 

certificated provider of local exchange telecommunications 

services, whether an incumbent or a new entrant 

encompassing ILECs, CLECs, and MLECs, including ILECs 

and CLECs regulated as CTCs.  

"Local exchange telecommunications services" means local 

exchange telephone service as defined by § 56-1 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

"Locality" means a city, town, or county that operates an 

electric distribution system in Virginia.  

"Municipal local exchange carrier (MLEC)" or "MLEC" 

means a locality certificated to provide local exchange 

telecommunications services pursuant to § 56-265.4:4 of the 

Code of Virginia and 20VAC5-417.  

"Network access line (NAL)" or "NAL" means a wireline 

line, trunk, or equivalent.  

"New entrant" means a CLEC or an MLEC.  

"P.01 grade of service" means a standard of service quality 

reflecting the probability that no more than one call out of 

100 during the average busy hour will be blocked.  

"Public safety answering point (PSAP)" or "PSAP" means a 

facility equipped and staffed to receive and process 911 calls 

and route them to emergency services personnel.  

"Staff" means the commission's Division of 

Communications Public Utility Regulation and associated 

personnel.  

20VAC5-425-20. General provisions.  

A LEC shall:  

1. Provide to its end-user customers access to E-911 

service on all NALs where applicable;  

2. Provide each relevant PSAP with a means for immediate 

access to LEC personnel to assist in PSAPs, while 

processing an emergency-related 911 call, obtaining E-911 

record-related information that are capable of providing 

information related to the PSAP's E-911 services. Such 

LEC contact shall be available on a 24-hour basis, 365 

days a year. Any changes to this contact information shall 

be communicated in writing, including email, text, or 

facsimile, to affected PSAPs within five business days 24 

hours;  

3. Provide LEC company identification codes on each ALI 

record submitted to the E-911 ALI database provider;  

4. Provide ALI record information such that its E-911 

database error rate, for a given PSAP, is no greater than 

1.0%. The ALI database error rate shall be the number of a 

LEC's incorrect ALI address records divided by the total 

number of a LEC's ALI records queried during a calendar 

quarter;  

5. Submit, or cause to be submitted, no less than 95% of all 

E-911 ALI database affecting changes (including 

nonpublished and nonlisted telephone numbers) to the E-
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911 ALI database provider within 48 hours of the LEC's 

receipt of notice of the change and 100% within 72 hours, 

excluding holidays and weekends;  

6. Correct, or cause to be corrected, any ALI record within 

48 hours of receiving written notification, including but not 

limited to electronic mail ("e-mail") email, text, and 

facsimile, excluding holidays and weekends;  

7. Exclude, or cause to be excluded, from the ALI 

database, ALI records that contain telephone numbers that 

cannot convey ANI;  

8. Provide ALI record information relating to an E-911 

emergency immediately upon the verbal request of a 

verified authorized agent of the PSAP;  

9. Advise customers applying for foreign exchange, 

foreign central office service, or any other wireline service, 

when there is the potential for problems in reaching the 

appropriate PSAP;  

10. Render to a requesting PSAP, where the LEC provides 

ALI database services, detail sufficient to verify the 

accuracy of ALI database telephone number, name, and 

address information and company identification codes for 

each ANI. Such information shall be provided to the PSAP 

by the LEC on no more than a semi-annual basis and at a 

reasonable cost;  

11. Render to a PSAP, upon request, on no more than a 

semi-annual basis, at no charge, detail sufficient to verify 

the accuracy of its E-911 services billing. This shall 

include (i) the total number of LEC ANI records of 

customers within the PSAP's jurisdiction served at each 

LEC end office, and (ii) the names of the other PSAPs 

served by each LEC end office where it serves more than 

one jurisdiction; and  

12. Notify each relevant PSAP at least 30 days prior to the 

commencement or discontinuance of local exchange 

telecommunications services.  

20VAC5-425-30. Rates, and tariffs, and product guides.  

A. A new entrant's rates for any E-911 services shall be no 

higher than the lowest applicable rates established by the 

largest ILEC, as measured by the number of its NALs, 

serving the geographic area of the relevant PSAP.  

B. A LEC, if it provides and charges for E-911 services, 

shall structure its E-911 services so that it charges PSAPs 

only for those services that it renders.  

20VAC5-425-40. Provisioning.  

A LEC providing E-911 services shall:  

1. Design, construct, maintain, and operate its facilities to 

minimize interruptions to E-911 services;  

2. Determine E-911 service requirements in consultation 

with the relevant PSAP. These requirements shall be 

communicated to the PSAP prior to implementation and 

shall include detail sufficient to allow the PSAP to order E-

911 service consistent with a minimum of a P.01 grade of 

service; and  

3. Provide priority restoration to the PSAP in the event of 

an outage of the LEC provided services or facilities; and 

4. Provide E-911 service consistent with the level of 

service ordered by a PSAP.  

20VAC5-425-45. Reporting. 

A. An LEC shall inform the staff of an E-911 service outage 

in Virginia by providing all reports required by the Federal 

Communications Commission (FCC) under 47 CFR Part 4 as 

such FCC reports relate to 911 service. An LEC shall comply 

with all provisions of 47 CFR Part 4 related to report content, 

processing, and delivery. 

B. Upon request, an LEC shall provide to the commission or 

staff additional information related to 911 service outages not 

included in FCC reports as necessary to perform their 

oversight responsibility. 

C. An LEC shall provide the staff a copy of the annual 

reliability certification and any information submitted with or 

in addition to such certification required by the FCC under 

47 CFR 12.4 that impact the reliability of 911 service in 

Virginia. Upon request, an LEC shall provide to the 

commission or staff additional information as deemed 

necessary to perform their oversight responsibility. 

D. An LEC that participates in the FCC's voluntary Disaster 

Information Reporting System (DIRS) shall, 

contemporaneously with providing information to the FCC, 

provide the staff with all comparable information related to 

911 service outages to PSAPs located in Virginia as provided 

to the DIRS. This requirement shall remain in place until 

DIRS is deactivated. 

E. Any information provided to the staff in accordance with 

this section which the LEC designates as confidential shall be 

afforded confidential treatment in accordance with 5VAC5-

20-170 of the Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure. 

Staff, until otherwise ordered by the commission, shall 

maintain such confidential information in strict confidence 

and shall not disclose its contents to members of the public.  

20VAC5-425-50. Waiver Commission authority.  

The commission may, at its discretion, waive or grant 

exceptions to any provision of this chapter.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5466; Filed April 17, 2018, 2:53 p.m.  
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SEVEN (2018) 

Declaration of a State of Emergency for the 
Commonwealth of Virginia Due to Severe Weather 

Importance of the Issue 

On April 16, 2018, I declared a state of emergency to exist for 

the Commonwealth of Virginia based on the severe storms 

and tornadoes that impacted the Commonwealth on April 15, 

2018. 

The health and general welfare of the citizens require state 

action to help alleviate the conditions caused by this situation. 

The effects of this situation constitute a disaster wherein 

human life and public and private property are, or are likely 

to be, imperiled, as described in § 44-146.16 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by § 44-

146.17 of the Code of Virginia, as Governor and as Director 

of Emergency Management, and by virtue of the authority 

vested in me by Article V, Section 7 of the Constitution of 

Virginia and by § 44-75.1 of the Code of Virginia, as 

Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces of 

the Commonwealth, and subject always to my continuing and 

ultimate authority and responsibility to act in such matters, I 

hereby proclaim a state of emergency. Accordingly, I direct 

state and local government agencies to render appropriate 

assistance, to prepare for potential severe weather impacts, to 

alleviate any conditions resulting from the situation, and to 

implement recovery and mitigation operations and activities 

so as to return impacted areas to pre-event conditions as much 

as possible. 

In order to marshal all public resources and appropriate 

preparedness, response, and recovery measures to meet this 

threat and recover from its effects, and in accordance with my 

authority in § 44-146.17 of the Code of Virginia, I hereby 

order the following: 

A. Implementation by state agencies of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia Emergency Operations Plan (COVEOP), as 

amended, along with other appropriate state plans. 

B. Activation of the Virginia Emergency Operations Center 

(VEOC) and the Virginia Emergency Support Team (VEST), 

as directed by the State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management, to coordinate the provision of assistance to 

local governments and emergency services assignments of 

other agencies as necessary and determined by the State 

Coordinator of Emergency Management and other agencies 

as appropriate. 

C. Evacuation of areas threatened or stricken by effects of the 

severe weather, as appropriate. Pursuant to § 44-146.17(1) of 

the Code of Virginia, I reserve the right to direct and compel 

the evacuation of all or part of the populace therein from such 

areas and upon such timetable as the local governing body, in 

coordination with the VEOC, acting on behalf of the State 

Coordinator of Emergency Management, shall determine. I 

authorize the control of ingress and egress at an emergency 

area, including the movement of persons within the area and 

the occupancy of premises therein upon such timetable as the 

local governing body, in coordination with the State 

Coordinator of Emergency Management and the VEOC, shall 

determine. Violations of any order to citizens to evacuate 

shall constitute a violation of this Executive Order and are 

punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor. 

D. Activation, implementation, and coordination of 

appropriate mutual aid agreements and compacts, including 

the Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC), 

and the authorization of the State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management to enter into any other supplemental 

agreements, pursuant to § 44-146.17(5) and § 44-146.28:1 of 

the Code of Virginia. The State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management is hereby designated as Virginia's authorized 

representative within the meaning of the Emergency 

Management Assistance Compact, § 44-146.28:1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

E. This Emergency Declaration implements limited relief 

from the provisions of 49 CFR §§ 390.23 and 395.3 for 

purpose of providing direct relief or assistance as a result of 

this disaster. 

F. Authorization of appropriate oversight boards, 

commissions, and agencies to waive and/or ease building 

code restrictions, permitting requirements, and to allow for 

emergency demolition, hazardous waste disposal, debris 

removal, emergency landfill siting, and other operations and 

activities necessary to address immediate health and safety 

needs without regard to time-consuming procedures or 

formalities and without regard to application or permit fees or 

royalties. All appropriate executive branch agencies are to 

exercise their discretion to the extent allowed by law to 

address any pending deadlines or expirations affected by or 

attributable to this emergency event. 

G. Authorizing of the heads of executive branch agencies, 

acting when appropriate on behalf of their regulatory boards, 

to waive any state requirements or regulation for which the 

federal government has issued a waiver of the corresponding 

federal or state regulation based on the impact of events 

related to this situation. 

H. Provision of appropriate assistance, including temporary 

assignments of non-essential state employees to the Adjunct 

Emergency Workforce, be rendered by agencies of state 

government to respond to this situation.  

I. Activation of the statutory provisions in § 59.1-525 et seq. 

of the Code of Virginia related to price gouging. 

J. Authorization of a maximum of $600,000 in state sum 

sufficient funds for state and local government's mission 
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assignments authorized and coordinated through the Virginia 

Department of Emergency Management that are allowable as 

defined by The Stafford Act. 42 USC § 5121 et seq. This 

funding is also available for state response and recovery 

operations and incident documentation. 

K. Implementation by public agencies under my supervision 

and control of their emergency assignments as directed in the 

COVEOP, without regard to normal procedures pertaining to 

performance of public work, entering into contracts, incurring 

of obligations or other logistical and support measures of the 

Emergency Services and Disaster Laws, as provided in § 44-

146.28(b) of the Code of Virginia. Section 44-146.24 of the 

Code of Virginia also applies to the disaster activities of state 

agencies. 

L. During this declared emergency, any person who holds a 

license, certificate, or other permit issued by any U.S. territory, 

state, or political subdivision thereof, evidencing the meeting of 

qualifications for professional, mechanical, or other skills, may 

render aid involving that skill in the Commonwealth during a 

disaster, without compensation other than reimbursement for 

actual and necessary expenses, and such person shall not be 

liable for negligently causing the death of, or injury to, any 

person or for the loss of, or damage to, the property of any 

person resulting from such service as set forth in Code of 

Virginia § 44-146.23(C). Additionally, members and personnel 

of volunteer, professional, auxiliary, and reserve groups 

identified and tasked by the State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management for specific disaster-related mission assignments as 

representatives of the Commonwealth engaged in emergency 

services activities within the meaning of the immunity provisions 

of §§ 44-146.23(A) and (F) of the Code of Virginia, shall not be 

liable for the death of, or injury to, persons or damage to 

property as a result of the performance of their specific disaster-

related mission assignments. 

Upon my approval, the costs incurred by state agencies and other 

agents in performing mission assignments through the VEOC of 

the Commonwealth as defined herein and in § 44-146.28 of the 

Code of Virginia, other than costs defined in the paragraphs 

above pertaining to the Virginia National Guard and pertaining 

to the Virginia Defense Force, in performing these missions shall 

be paid from state funds. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective April 16, 2018, and 

shall remain in full force and in effect until June 30, 2018, 

unless sooner amended or rescinded by further executive 

order. Termination of the Executive Order is not intended to 

terminate any federal type benefits granted or to be granted 

due to injury or death as a result of service under this 

Executive Order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 17th day of April, 2018. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER EIGHT (2018) 

Designation of Executive Branch Officers and 
Employees Required to File Financial Disclosure 

Statements 

Importance of the Issue 

The State and Local Government Conflict of Interest Act 

reflects the Commonwealth's steadfast commitment to 

ensuring that public officers and employees maintain the 

highest standards of ethical behavior when conducting the 

business of the Commonwealth, avoiding even the 

appearance of impropriety arising out of personal economic 

interests. 

Directive 

In furtherance of the purposes of the State and Local 

Government Conflict of Interests Act, Section 2.2-3100 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia (hereinafter, "the Act"), and by 

virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under Article 

V of the Constitution of Virginia and under the laws of the 

Commonwealth, I hereby delegate to the Secretary of the 

Commonwealth the power and duty to implement the Act 

with respect to Executive Branch agencies, institutions, 

boards, commissions, councils, and authorities through the 

following policies and procedures: 

1. Each of the Governor's Secretaries and the head of each 

agency, institution, board, commission, council, and 

authority within the Executive Branch shall submit to the 

Office of the Secretary of the Commonwealth on or before 

October 1, 2018 a report identifying by name and job title 

the positions that are required to file a Statement of 

Economic Interests. 

By issuance of this Executive Order, the following 

Executive Branch officers and employees shall file a 

disclosure form, prescribed in § 2.2-3117: 

Office of the Governor 

• Secretaries, Deputy Secretaries, and Assistant 

Secretaries 

• Chief Workforce Development Advisor and the 

Executive Director of the Virginia Workforce 

Development Board 

• Chief of Staff and Deputy Chief of Staff 

• Counsel and Deputy Counsel 

• Legislative Director and Deputy Legislative Director 

• Policy Director and Deputy Policy Director 

• Communications Office 

• Scheduling Office 

• Policy Analysts 
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• Designated Special Assistants 

Executive Branch Agencies 

• Agency Heads, Chief Deputies, and Deputies 

• Chief Administrative Officers and Deputies 

• Chief Financial Officers and Deputies 

• Chief Procurement Officers and Deputies 

• Chief Technology Officers and Deputies 

• Chief Human Resources Officer 

• Legislative Liaisons 

Institutions of Higher Education 

• Presidents/Vice Presidents/Provosts/Deans 

• Any other persons as designated by the institution 

including those persons with approval authority over 

contracts or audits 

Executive Branch Authorities 

• Authorities established within the Executive Branch 

• All persons within this group will file the form 

prescribed in § 2.2-3118, unless required by law to file the 

form prescribed in § 2.2-3117 

Executive Branch Appointees 

• All non-salaried citizen members of Executive Branch 

advisory boards, commissions, councils, and authorities 

are hereby designated to file the financial disclosure form 

prescribed in § 2.2-3118  

• Appointees to boards or commissions who are salaried, 

such as the Parole Board, shall file the form prescribed in 

§ 2.2-3117 

In addition to the above-mentioned positions that are 

required to file, the agency's report shall include a list of 

other senior-level positions with responsibility affecting 

legislative policies and rule-making authority or 

substantive authorization and decision-making regarding 1) 

policy, 2) contracts and procurement, 3) audits, 4) 

licensure, 5) inspections and investigations, and 6) 

investments or other financial matters. 

2. From the reports submitted, the Secretary of the 

Commonwealth shall maintain a comprehensive list of 

officers and employees, including their position titles, who 

shall be designated to file the statement of economic 

interests. The Secretary of the Commonwealth may add or 

delete positions on the list. 

3. The head of each agency, institution, board, commission, 

council, and authority within the Executive Branch shall be 

responsible for ensuring that designated officers and 

employees file their statements of economic interests in 

accordance with § 2.2-3114 of the Code of Virginia. This 

includes obtaining a statement of economic interests from 

each new officer or employee so long as the officer or 

employee is hired for a position previously designated and 

ensuring that appropriate additions to and deletions from 

the list of those designated to file are recommended to the 

Secretary in a timely fashion. Agency heads shall also be 

responsible for ensuring that appropriate employees receive 

the necessary orientation on the State and Local 

Government Conflict of Interests Act in accordance with 

the provisions of § 2.2-3128 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 

shall remain in full force and effect until June 30, 2022, 

unless amended or rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 25th day of April, 2018. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of 

Environmental Quality on behalf of the Air Pollution Control 

Board is conducting a periodic review and small business 

impact review of portions of 9VAC5-50, New and Modified 

Stationary Sources. The review of this regulation will be 

guided by the principles in Executive Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The specific regulations being reviewed are as follows: 

9VAC5-50, New and Modified Stationary Sources 

Part I, Special Provisions (9VAC5-50-10 et seq.) 

Part II, Emission Standards: 

Article 1, Standards of Performance for Visible Emissions 

and Fugitive Dust/Emissions (Rule 5-1) (9VAC5-50-60 et 

seq.) 

Article 2, Standards of Performance for Odorous Emissions 

(Rule 5-2) (9VAC5-50-130 et seq.) 

Article 4, Standards of Performance for Stationary Sources 

(Rule 5-4) (9VAC5-50-240 et seq.) 

The regulations may be viewed on the DEQ air regulation 

webpage at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air 

/Laws,Regulations,Guidance.aspx. 

The comment period begins May 14, 2018, and ends June 4, 

2018. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Gary Graham, Regulatory Analyst, Office 

of Regulatory Affairs, Department of Environmental Quality, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4103, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 

gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

Proposed Air State Implementation Plan Revision - 
Ozone Infrastructure 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 

proposed plan to assure necessary authorities are contained in 

the state implementation plan (SIP) for the 2008 ozone 

National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) supporting 

the infrastructure requirements of the federal Clean Air Act 

(the Act). The Commonwealth intends to submit the plan as a 

revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP in accordance 

with the requirements of § 110(a) of the Act. The SIP is the 

plan developed by the Commonwealth in order to fulfill its 

responsibilities under the Act to attain and maintain the 

ambient air quality standards promulgated by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) under the Act. 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comment on the issue of 

whether the plan demonstrates the Commonwealth's 

compliance with federal Clean Air Act requirements related 

to general state plan infrastructure for controlling the 

interstate transport of air pollution for the 2008 ozone 

NAAQS. 

Public comment period: May 14, 2018, through June 13, 

2018. 

Public hearing: A public hearing will be conducted if a 

request is made in writing to the contact listed at the end of 

this notice. In order to be considered, the request must include 

the full name and address of the person requesting the hearing 

and be received by DEQ on the last day of the comment 

period. Notice of the date, time, and location of any requested 

public hearing will be announced in a separate notice, and 

another 30-day comment period will be conducted. 

Description of proposal: The proposed revision consists of a 

demonstration that Virginia meets the obligations of 

§ 110(a)(2)(D)(i)(I) of the Act with respect to the 2008 ozone 

NAAQS. Section 110(a)(2)(D)(i)(I) prohibits states from 

significantly contributing to nonattainment or interfering with 

maintenance of a specific NAAQS in any downwind area: 

"Each such plan shall contain adequate provisions 

prohibiting, consistent with the provisions of this title, any 

source or other type of emissions activity within the State 

from emitting any air pollution in amounts which will 

contribute significantly to nonattainment in, or interfere with 

maintenance by, any other state with respect to any such 

national primary or secondary ambient air quality standard." 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 

public participation requirements of federal regulations 

(40 CFR 51.102). The proposal will be submitted as a 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/Laws,Regulations,Guidance.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/Laws,Regulations,Guidance.aspx
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov
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revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP under § 110(a) 

of the federal Clean Air Act in accordance with 40 CFR 

51.104. It is planned to submit all provisions of the proposal 

as a revision to the SIP. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments 

must include the full name, address, and telephone number of 

the person commenting and be received by DEQ on the last 

day of the comment period. All information received is part 

of the public record. 

To review proposal: The proposal and any supporting 

documents are available on the DEQ Air Public Notices for 

Plans website at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airp

lansandprograms.aspx. The documents may also be obtained 

by contacting the DEQ representative named below. The 

public may review the documents between 8:30 a.m. and 

4:30 p.m. of each business day until the close of the public 

comment period at the following DEQ locations:  

1) Main Street Office, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4070,  

2) Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 

Woodbridge, VA, telephone (703) 583-3800. 

Contact Information: Doris A. McLeod, 1111 East Main 

Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 698-4197, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 

doris.mcleod@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Fort Powhatan Solar LLC Notice of Intent for a Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) Permit by Rule - 

Disputanta, Virginia 

Fort Powhatan Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) pursuant to 9VAC15-60. 

The project will be located in Disputanta and is 

approximately 150 megawatts alternating current with 

ground-mounted solar photovoltaic facility utilizing a single-

axis tracking system. The site is located approximately at the 

intersection of Fort Powhatan Road and Wards Creek Road, 

Disputanta, Virginia, GPS point 37.244717 and -77.097899 in 

Prince George County. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, 1111 East Main Street, 

Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, 23218, telephone 

(804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 

mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Board of Funeral 

Directors and Embalmers is currently reviewing each of the 

regulations listed below to determine whether the regulation 

should be repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. 

The review of each regulation will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 17 (2014). Public comment is sought on 

the review of any issue relating to each regulation, including 

whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 

performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable 

law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

18VAC65-20, Regulations of the Board of Funeral 

Directors and Embalmers 

18VAC65-30, Regulations for Preneed Funeral Planning 

18VAC65-40, Regulations for the Funeral Service 

Internship Program 

Contact Information: Elaine Yeatts, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, 

FAX (804) 527-4434, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

The comment period begins May 14, 2018, and ends June 13, 

2018. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and a report of 

the small business impact review will be published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 

Board of Health conducted a small business impact review of 

12VAC5-191, State Plan for the Children with Special 

Health Care Needs Program, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained in its current form. The State 

Board of Health is publishing its report of findings dated 

April 3, 2018, to support this decision in accordance with 

§ 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

There is a continued need for the regulation, as it is essential 

to outline program services for children with special health 

mailto:doris.mcleod@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
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care needs. Program services are provided through available 

appropriations under federal Title V funds to eligible Virginia 

residents. No public comments were received. The regulation 

is clearly written and easily understandable. The regulation 

does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any known 

federal or state law or regulation. 

Regulations are evaluated on an ongoing basis and this 

regulation was last amended in January 2014. Retaining the 

regulation in its current form does not appear to cause an 

adverse economic impact on small businesses in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Contact Information: Marcus Allen, Children and Youth with 

Special Health Care Needs Program Manager, Virginia 

Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 

23221, telephone (804) 864-7716, FAX (804) 864-7771, or 

email marcus.allen@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery were 

filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on April 25, 

2018. The orders may be viewed at the Virginia Lottery, 

600 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of 

the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

Director's Order Number Forty-Seven (18) 

Virginia Lottery's "Mega Grocery Shopping Dash Promotion" 

Final Rules for Operation (effective June 1, 2018) 

Director's Order Number Fifty (18) 

Virginia Lottery's "Circle K Free Gas For A Year" Final 

Rules for Operation (effective May 1, 2018) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-One (18) 

Certain Virginia Instant Game Lotteries: End of Games - 

amended. 

The following Virginia Lottery instant games will officially 

end at midnight on April 20, 2018, and has been amended to 

include game 1467 $100 Million Cash Extravaganza: 

Game 1847 2018 

Game 1845 Winter Winnings 

Game 1819 Double Your Cash 

Game 1813 X The Money Bingo (TOP) 

Game 1809 $3,000,000 Cash Payout 

Game 1803 Cash Splash 

Game 1787 Fast Cash Crossword (TOP) 

Game 1775 Pirate's Loot 

Game 1732 20 Years of Cash 

Game 1709 Extreme Green 

Game 1703 Big Bills 

Game 1670 Jumbo Bucks 

Game 1573 Hot Dice 

Game 1467 $100 Million Cash Extravaganza 

The last day for lottery retailers to return for credit unsold 

tickets from any of these games will be June 4, 2018. The last 

day to redeem winning tickets for any of these games will be 

October 17, 2018, 180 days from the declared official end of 

the game. Claims for winning tickets from any of these games 

will not be accepted after that date. Claims that are mailed 

and received in an envelope bearing a postmark of the United 

States Postal Service or another sovereign nation October 17, 

2018, or earlier, will be deemed to have been received on 

time. This notice amplifies and conforms to the duly adopted 

State Lottery Board regulations for the conduct of lottery 

games. (effective on April 16, 2018) 

BOARD OF MEDICINE AND BOARD OF NURSING 

Regulations to Implement HB793 

The Board of Medicine and the Board of Nursing are seeking 

public comment on promulgation of regulations to implement 

HB793 (Chapter 776 of 2018 General Assembly), legislation 

to authorize nurse practitioners who meet certain 

qualifications to practice without a practice agreement with a 

patient care team physician. 

In order to comply with the second enactment on the bill 

requiring regulations to be in effective within 280 days, the 

boards will be adopting emergency regulations. The 

Committee of the Joint Boards of Nursing and Medicine and 

its Advisory Committee will meet on May 17, 2018, and will 

serve as the Regulatory Advisory Panel to develop 

recommended amendments to nurse practitioner regulations 

to implement the provisions of HB793. Public comment will 

be accepted at the meeting. 

Topics for consideration in adoption of regulations to amend 

18VAC90-30 (Regulations Governing the Licensure of Nurse 

Practitioners) and 18VAC90-40 (Regulations for Prescriptive 

Authority for Nurse Practitioners) will be: 

• Equivalent of at least five years of full-time clinical 

experience 

• Routine practice in a practice area included within the 

category for which the nurse practitioner was certified and 

licensed 

• Requirements of an attestation of practice 

• Fee associated with submission of attestation and issuance 

of autonomous designation 

mailto:marcus.allen@vdh.virginia.gov
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• Acceptance of "other evidence" demonstrating that the 

applicant met the requirements 

• Endorsement of experience in other states 

• Unprofessional conduct - falsification of attestation 

Comment may be sent to elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Comments sent by mail should be directed to Elaine Yeatts, 

Senior Policy Analyst, Department of Health Professions, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Richmond, VA 23233. 

Contact Information: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive 

Director, Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX (804) 

527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Application for Pharmaceutical Processor Permits 

A pharmaceutical processor is a facility that has obtained a 

permit from the Board of Pharmacy pursuant to § 54.1-3408.3 

of the Code of Virginia to cultivate Cannabis plants for the 

production of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil and dispense the 

oil to patients registered by the Board of Pharmacy for 

treatment or to alleviate the symptoms of any diagnosed 

condition or disease determined by the physician to benefit 

from such use. As set forth in § 54.1-3442.6 of the Code of 

Virginia, the board may issue or renew in any year a 

maximum of five permits, one for each health service area 

established by the State Board of Health. The application 

process for pharmaceutical processor permits occurs in three 

stages: submission of initial application, awarding of 

conditional approval, and granting of a pharmaceutical 

processor permit. 

As of April 16, 2018, a request for application (RFA) process 

has opened for obtaining conditional approval for a 

pharmaceutical processor permit. For consideration, a 

complete application, required documentation, and the 

nonrefundable application fee of $10,000 must be received no 

later than 2 p.m. on June 8, 2018. The RFA is available at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Pharmacy/PharmaceuticalProce

ssors.htm. 

Contact Information: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive 

Director, Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Placement of Chemicals in Schedule I 

Public comment period: April 25, 2018, through June 7, 

2018. 

Pursuant to § 54.1-3443 D of the Code of Virginia, the Board 

of Pharmacy is giving notice of a public hearing to consider 

placement of chemical substances in Schedule I of the Drug 

Control Act. The public hearing will be conducted at 9 a.m. 

on June 21, 2018, at the Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 201, Richmond, VA 23233. Public comment 

may also be submitted electronically or in writing prior to 

June 7, 2018, to Caroline Juran, Executive Director of the 

Board of Pharmacy at caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

The Virginia Department of Forensic Science has identified 

eight chemical compounds for recommended inclusion into 

the Code of Virginia. A brief description and chemical name 

for each compound follows. 

The following compound is classified as a research chemical. 

Compounds of this type have been placed in Schedule I 

(subdivision 3 of § 54.1-3446 of the Code of Virginia) in 

previous legislative sessions. 

1. 2,5-dimethoxy-4-chloroamphetamine (other name: DOC), 

its optical, position, and geometric isomers; salts; and salts of 

isomers, whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

The following compounds are powerful synthetic opioids. 

Compounds of this type have been placed in Schedule I 

(subdivision 1 of § 54.1-3446 of the Code of Virginia) in 

previous legislative sessions. 

2. N-(2-fluorophenyl)-2-methoxy-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-

piperidinyl]-acetamide (other name: Ocfentanil), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, 

unless specifically excepted, whenever the existence of these 

isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

3. N-(4-methoxyphenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-

butanamide (other name: 4-methoxybutyrylfentanyl), its 

isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and 

ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the existence 

of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

4. N-phenyl-2-methyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-

propanamide (other name: Isobutyryl fentanyl), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, 

unless specifically excepted, whenever the existence of these 

isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

5. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-

cyclopentanecarboxamide (other name: Cyclopentyl 

fentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 

isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 

whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and 

salts is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

6. N-phenyl-N-(1-methyl-4-piperidinyl)-propanamide (other 

name: N-methyl norfentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, 

and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically 

excepted, whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, 

ethers, and salts is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

mailto:Elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
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The following compound is classified as a cannabimimetic 

agent. Compounds of this type have been placed in Schedule 

I (subdivision 6 of § 54.1-3446 of the Code of Virginia) in 

previous legislative sessions. 

7. 1-(4-cyanobutyl)-N-(1-methyl-1-phenylethyl)-1H-

indazole-3-carboxamide (other name: 4-cyano CUMYL-

BUTINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers, 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

The following compound is classified as a benzodiazepine, 

which is a central nervous system depressant. Flualprazolam 

has no accepted medical use in the United States. Other 

compounds of this type have been placed in Schedule I 

(subdivision 4 of § 54.1-3446 of the Code of Virginia). 

8. Flualprazolam, its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers, 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

Contact Information: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive 

Director, Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Scheduling and Descheduling to Conform to Drug 
Enforcement Administration Schedules 

Pursuant to subsection E of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy is giving notice of a public 

hearing to consider scheduling or descheduling certain drugs 

in the Virginia Drug Control Act. The public hearing will be 

conducted at 9 a.m. on June 21, 2018, at the Perimeter Center, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 201, Richmond, VA 23233. 

In order to conform the Drug Control Act to recent 

scheduling changes enacted by the Drug Enforcement 

Administration, the board will: 

1. Add MT-45 (1-cyclohexyl-4-(1,2-

diphenylethyl)piperazine) to Schedule I; 

2. Add Dronabinol [(-)-delta-9-trans tetrahydrocannabinol] 

in an oral solution in a drug product approved for 

marketing by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration to 

Schedule II; and 

3. Remove naldemedine from Schedule II. 

Contact Information: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive 

Director, Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Circle K Stores Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Circle K Stores 

Inc. for violations of the State Water Control Law in 

Chesapeake, Virginia. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Jennifer 

Coleman, Esq. will accept comments by email at 

jennifer.coleman@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-2009, 

or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from May 14, 2018, to June 13, 

2018. 

Public Meeting and Notice of Public Comment for 
Watershed Plan (Total Maximum Daily Load) for the 

North Fork Catoctin Creek in Loudoun County, 
Virginia 

Public meeting: A public meeting for development of a 

sediment total maximum daily load (TMDL) and 

implementation strategies to address the general standard 

(benthics) impairment on North Fork Catoctin Creek will be 

held on Wednesday, June 13, 2018, from 6:30 p.m. until 

8 p.m. in the Robey Meeting Room at the Purcellville 

Library, 220 East Main Street, Purcellville, VA 20132. 

Purpose of notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) will discuss a watershed plan to develop a TMDL and 

strategies for its implementation for North Fork Catoctin 

Creek in Loudoun County. This stream segment is listed on 

the § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report as impaired due 

to violations of Virginia's water quality standards for the 

general standard (benthics). Section 303(d) of the Clean 

Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia 

require DEQ to develop TMDLs for pollutants responsible for 

each impaired water contained in Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL 

Priority List and Report. This meeting is an opportunity for 

local residents to learn about the water quality of North Fork 

Catoctin Creek and the approach proposed to improve its 

water quality, share information about the area, and become 

involved in the process of local water quality improvement.  

Description of study: North Fork Catoctin Creek, in Loudoun 

County, is impaired for the general standard (benthics) in the 

two segments identified in the table below. North Fork 

Catoctin Creek does not have a healthy and diverse 

community of macroinvertebrates and subsequently does not 

meet the "aquatic life" water quality standard. A TMDL is the 

total amount of a pollutant a waterbody can contain and still 

meet water quality standards. To restore water quality, 

pollutant levels need to be reduced to the TMDL amount. 

This study will identify sources of sediment (the pollutant 

identified as the most probable stressor), recommend 

reductions to meet a TMDL for the impaired water, and 

mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
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mailto:Jennifer.Coleman@deq.virginia.gov


General Notices/Errata 

Volume 34, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 14, 2018 

2048 

identify strategies to meet those reductions, with the goal of 

restoring the aquatic community of the stream. 

Stream 

Name 
Location 

Length 

(miles) 

Upstream  

Limit 

Downstream  

Limit 

North 

Fork 

Catoctin 

Creek 

Loudoun 

County 
4.42 

Unnamed 

tributary,  

located 

~ 0.15 mile  

downstream 

of Route 

287 

Catoctin  

Creek 

North 

Fork  

Catoctin 

Creek 

Loudoun  

County 
2.54 

Unnamed 

tributary,  

located 

~ 0.75 mile  

upstream of 

Route 719 

Impoundment  

(Godfrey  

Pond) 

How to comment and participate: This meeting is open to the 

public, and all interested parties are welcome. A public 

comment period will begin June 14, 2018, and end July 13, 

2018. Comments will be accepted on the watershed plan 

approach discussed during the meeting and on participating 

on a technical advisory committee (TAC) to assist in the 

development of the TMDL and strategies to reduce the 

pollutant. Persons interested in participating as a TAC 

member should contact the DEQ contact person, Sarah 

Sivers, by the end of the comment period and provide their 

name, telephone number, email address, and the organization 

they represent (if any). All comments must be written and 

submitted via email or traditional mail by the end of July 13, 

2018. They must include the name, address, and telephone 

number of the person submitting the comments. DEQ will 

notify all applicants of the composition of the TAC after the 

close of the comment period. For more information or to 

submit written comments, please contact Sarah Sivers, 

Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 

Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, 

telephone (703) 583-3898, or email 

sarah.sivers@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents 

/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-63. Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code. 

Publication: 34:18 VA.R. 1744-1961 April 30, 2018 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 1939, second column, before third line, which states 

"Change the referenced standards in" insert "13VAC5-63-

443. Chapter 16 Referenced standards."  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4664; Filed April 26, 2018.  
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