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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Gregory D. Habeeb, Vice Chair; Jay Leftwich; Ryan T. McDougle; 

Robert L. Calhoun; Rita Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; E.M. Miller, Jr.; 

Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Charles S. Sharp; 

Samuel T. Towell; Mark J. Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Acting Registrar of 

Regulations; Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar;  

Alexandra Stewart-Jonte, Regulations Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, 

Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior Operations Staff 

Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

May 2018 through April 2019 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

34:20 May 9, 2018 May 28, 2018 

34:21 May 23, 2018 June 11, 2018 

34:22 June 6, 2018 June 25, 2018 

34:23 June 20, 2018 July 9, 2018 

34:24 July 3, 2018 (Tuesday) July 23, 2018 

34:25 July 18, 2018 August 6, 2018 

34:26 August 1, 2018 August 20, 2018 

35:1 August 15, 2018 September 3, 2018 

35:2 August 29, 2018 September17, 2018 

35:3 September 12, 2018 October 1, 2018 

35:4 September 26, 2018 October 15, 2018 

35:5 October 10, 2018 October 29, 2018 

35:6 October 24, 2018 November 12, 2018 

35:7 November 7, 2018 November 26, 2018 

35:8 November 19, 2018 (Monday) December 10, 2018 

35:9 December 5, 2018 December 24, 2018 

35:10 December 14, 2018 (Friday) January 7, 2019 

35:11 January 2, 2019 January 21, 2019 

35:12 January 16, 2019 February 4, 2019 

35:13 January 30, 2019 February18, 2019 

35:14 February 13, 2019 March 4, 2019 

35:15 February 27, 2019 March 18, 2019 

35:16 March 13, 2019 April 1, 2019 

35:17 March 27, 2019 April 15, 2019 

35:18 April 10, 2019 April 29, 2019 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL AUTHORITY 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-70. Other Provisions. 

Statutory Authority: § 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Trevor Shand. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: I am a married 43-year-old 

father of two. I live in central Virginia, which has a great 

microbrew scene. A few months ago, I picked up an old 

fridge and converted it to a kegerator so I could enjoy local 

brews on tap. But, I quickly realized, because of the keg laws 

in Virginia, buying kegs is a pain. When I go into the grocery 

store, I have to go to customer service, wait in line, fill out a 

tag, pay a deposit, and have them bring up the keg and tag it. I 

live in Charlottesville, a college town, and while I am waiting 

in line, I routinely watch a couple of college students check 

out with double-digit numbers of 30-packs, with no more 

hassle than showing an ID. I guess I understand the original 

idea around the keg tagging laws, but it seems to be more 

bureaucracy and paperwork than actually accomplishing what 

it is supposed to. Can I simply purchase a keg as I do cases or 

six-packs? I may be a voice of one, but I for one would 

support repealing the keg laws, that is 3VAC5-70-180, 

Regulation of the sale of alcoholic beverages in kegs and 

other containers; permit and registration; other requirements. 

Here is a link to an article about Michigan repealing its 

similar law: http://www.mlive.com/news/index.ssf/2017/11 

/michigan_keg_tag_law_repealed.html. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The Virginia Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority held a public comment period 

concerning the petition that requested an amendment or 

repeal of the existing regulation governing the sale of 

alcoholic beverages in kegs and other containers, permit and 

registration, and other requirements. The petitioner requested 

an amendment or repeal of the regulation's requirements for 

completing the keg decleration and receipt form prior to 

purchase. The board took public comment at the meeting. The 

petitioner was not present. The board declined to take action 

in regards to the petition, citing that the public safety 

concerns the regulation helps to mitigate outweigh the 

inconveniences the petitioner cited in his request. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 

2901 Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone 

(804) 213-4698, or email latonya.hucks@abc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-25; Filed May 7, 2018, 10:14 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMISSION ON THE VIRGINIA ALCOHOL SAFETY 
ACTION PROGRAM 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC35-60. Ignition Interlock 

Program Regulations. 

Statutory Authority: § 18.2-270.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Cynthia Hites. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Petition to amend Virginia 

Administrative Code pursuant to § 2.2-4007.  

"I, Cynthia Ellen Hites, as a citizen of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, pursuant to Virginia Code § 2.2.-4007, do humbly 

submit this petition for the following amendment to Virginia 

Administrative Code 24VAC35-60-70, to have the VASAP 

Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) required 

breath sample size reduced from 1.5 liters to 1.0 liter. Due to 

generally smaller lung capacity compared to men, it has been 

shown women have 16 times the failed breath sample 

attempts (aborts) when using the BAIID."(1) Failed breath 

sample attempts can be caused by "not providing enough air 

or providing too much air, humming at the incorrect tone or 

volume, breaks in the hum, or too much humidity or saliva in 

the breath sample." This means women have 16 times the 

interaction with the machine upon startup, and, during rolling 

retests while on Virginia's roadways. I personally struggled 

mightily with the basic functionality of the device and 

experienced hyperventilation on numerous occasions due to 

sequential invalid samples during use of the ignition interlock 

device. Incidentally, an overlooked cause of the exponentially 

higher number of breath sample aborts for women, is simply 

tone of voice. The BAIID anti-circumvention feature requires 

the driver provide sufficient reverberation for the device's 

handset to detect human presence. Of course, women 

naturally tend to have higher pitched voices that produce less 

reverb, and can, and do, force a difficult and uncomfortable 

alteration in vocal method to achieve a passing breath sample. 

Paramount in my opinion, however, is the fact the maneuver 

required for the BAIID breath sample involves not tidal 

breath, but execution of the vital capacity maneuver to obtain 

the breath sample. The vital capacity maneuver obtains the 

greatest volume of air that can be expelled from the lungs 

after taking the deepest possible breath. Even then, the subject 

is required to actually force breath out of the lungs into the 

BAIID far beyond what's natural, and in my case, experience 

disorientation via hypoxia and actual physical lung pain 

frequently. "In order to fulfill the minimum 1.5 liter volume 

requirement...the sixty year old woman must exhale at least 

60% of her vital capacity. Whereas the twenty year old man 

would only have to exhale about 25% of his vital capacity. At 

the same blood alcohol concentration (BAC), the smaller lung 

http://www.mlive.com/news/index.ssf/2017/11/michigan_keg_tag_law_repealed.html
http://www.mlive.com/news/index.ssf/2017/11/michigan_keg_tag_law_repealed.html
mailto:latonya.hucks@abc.virginia.gov


Petitions for Rulemaking 

Volume 34, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations May 28, 2018 

2052 

volume would yield a greater breath alcohol reading."(2) So, in 

addition to being 16 times more difficult for women to simply 

achieve to a valid breath sample, the requirement alone can 

skew the test results to reflect an erroneously high BAC. To 

mitigate these existing human factors that inherently punish 

women, and others with similar known, or unknown 

conditions, to a greater degree; and to initiate a decrease in 

the potential for vehicle collision due to distracted driving, 

lowering the breath sample requirement to 1.0 liter will be a 

step closer to closing the disparity gap of punishment 

between sexes, and detrimental judicial imbalance currently 

existing due simply to physiological differences among 

offenders. States the statute 24VAC-35-60-70 F, 4: "The 

ignition interlock device shall indicate when a 1.5 L breath 

sample has been collected and shall indicate this by audible or 

visual means. The commission may authorize service 

providers to adjust the breath volume requirement to as low 

as 1.0 L upon receipt of documentation from a licensed 

physician verifying the existence of an applicable medical 

condition. The physician's documentation shall be submitted 

in a format approved by the commission." The one-liter 

volume breath sample requirement is legally permissible, and 

I implore the commission to take under advisement this 

petition to permanently lower the requirement, in order to 

strengthen the integrity of the program, so as to not 

unwittingly punish women, and incidentally; asthmatics, 

COPD sufferers, congestive heart failure survivors, and 

undiagnosed pulmonary patients to a greater degree. Please, 

dear Commissioners, weigh this petition and begin to create a 

more judiciously solid system. Humbly Yours, Cynthia E. 

Hites"  

(1)An Evaluation of Drivers Using an Ignition Interlock 

Device: Breath Tests While Driving. By Ben D. Sawyer and 

P. A. Hancock  

(2)Breathing Related Limitations to the Alcohol Breath Test. 

By Dr. Michael P. Hlastala, Ph.D. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition will be 

considered by the Commission on VASAP at its quarterly 

meeting on September 14, 2018. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 1, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Richard Foy, Field Service Specialist, 

Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, 

701 East Franklin Street, Suite 1110, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-5895, or email rfoy@vasap.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-32; Filed May 3, 2018, 2:59 p.m. 

 

mailto:rfoy@vasap.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education 

intends to consider amending 8VAC20-131, Regulations 

Establishing Standards for Accrediting Public Schools in 

Virginia. The purpose of the proposed action is to allow 

students who entered the ninth grade prior to the 2018-2019 

school year to receive locally awarded verified credits in 

English and mathematics when certain Board of Education-

established criteria are met. Currently, these students may 

receive locally awarded verified credits in only science and 

history and social science. The proposed changes amend the 

Standards of Accreditation as they are effective for the 

current school year and as they will be effective for the 

2018-2019 school year. Changes to the Regulations 

Establishing Standards for Accrediting Public Schools in 

Virginia that will be effective beginning with the 2018-2019 

school year will allow students who enter the ninth grade in 

2018-2019 and thereafter to receive locally awarded verified 

credits in English, mathematics, science, and history and 

social science. The proposed amendments will provide access 

to locally awarded verified credits in English, mathematics, 

science, and history and social science for existing and future 

students. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-253.13 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 11, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Cynthia Cave, Assistant Superintendent, 

Policy and Communications, Department of Education, P.O. 

Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218-2120, telephone (804) 

225-2092, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 

cynthia.cave@doe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5440; Filed May 9, 2018, 4:54 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General (amending 4VAC15-20-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 22, 2018 - 9 a.m. - Game and Inland Fisheries, 

7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23228 

Public Comment Deadline: July 28, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 

367-8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment updates the "List of Native and 

Naturalized Fauna of Virginia" offered by the department 

to the 2018 version. 

4VAC15-20-50. Definitions; "wild animal," "native 

animal," "naturalized animal," "nonnative (exotic) 

animal," and "domestic animal."  

A. In accordance with § 29.1-100 of the Code of Virginia, 

the following terms shall have the meanings ascribed to them 

by this section when used in regulations of the board:  

"Native animal" means those species and subspecies of 

animals naturally occurring in Virginia, as included in the 

department's 2014 2018 "List of Native and Naturalized 

Fauna of Virginia," with copies available in the Richmond 

and regional offices of the department.  

"Naturalized animal" means those species and subspecies of 

animals not originally native to Virginia that have established 

wild, self-sustaining populations, as included in the 

department's 2014 2018 "List of Native and Naturalized 

Fauna of Virginia," with copies available in the Richmond 

and regional offices of the department.  

"Nonnative (exotic) animal" means those species and 

subspecies of animals not naturally occurring in Virginia, 

excluding domestic and naturalized species.  

The following animals are defined as domestic animals:  

Domestic dog (Canis familiaris), including wolf hybrids.  

Domestic cat (Felis catus), including hybrids with wild 

felines.  

Domestic horse (Equus caballus), including hybrids with 

Equus asinus.  

Domestic ass, burro, and donkey (Equus asinus).  

Domestic cattle (Bos taurus and Bos indicus).  

Domestic sheep (Ovis aries) including hybrids with wild 

sheep.  

Domestic goat (Capra hircus).  

Domestic swine (Sus scrofa), including pot-bellied pig and 

excluding any swine that are wild or for which no claim of 

ownership can be made.  

Llama (Lama glama).  

Alpaca (Lama pacos).  

Camels (Camelus bactrianus and Camelus dromedarius).  

Domesticated races of hamsters (Mesocricetus spp.).  

Domesticated races of mink (Mustela vison) where adults 

are heavier than 1.15 kilograms or their coat color can be 

distinguished from wild mink.  

Domesticated races of guinea pigs (Cavia porcellus).  

Domesticated races of gerbils (Meriones unguiculatus).  

Domesticated races of chinchillas (Chinchilla laniger).  

Domesticated races of rats (Rattus norvegicus and Rattus 

rattus).  

Domesticated races of mice (Mus musculus).  

Domesticated breeds of European rabbit (Oryctolagus 

cuniculus) recognized by the American Rabbit Breeders 

Association, Inc. and any lineage resulting from 

crossbreeding recognized breeds. A list of recognized 

rabbit breeds is available on the department's website.  

Domesticated races of chickens (Gallus).  
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Domesticated races of turkeys (Meleagris gallopavo).  

Domesticated races of ducks and geese distinguishable 

morphologically from wild birds.  

Feral pigeons (Columba domestica and Columba livia) and 

domesticated races of pigeons.  

Domesticated races of guinea fowl (Numida meleagris).  

Domesticated races of peafowl (Pavo cristatus). 

"Wild animal" means any member of the animal kingdom, 

except domestic animals, including without limitation any 

native, naturalized, or nonnative (exotic) mammal, fish, bird, 

amphibian, reptile, mollusk, crustacean, arthropod or other 

invertebrate, and includes any hybrid of them, except as 

otherwise specified in regulations of the board, or part, 

product, egg, or offspring of them, or the dead body or parts 

of them.  

B. Exception for red foxes and European rabbits. 

Domesticated red foxes (Vulpes vulpes) having coat colors 

distinguishable from wild red foxes and wild European 

rabbits possessed in captivity on July 1, 2017, may be 

maintained in captivity until the animal dies, but the animal 

may not be bred or sold without a permit from the 

department. Persons possessing domesticated red foxes or 

European rabbits without a permit from the department must 

declare such possession in writing to the department by 

January 1, 2018. This written declaration must include the 

number of individual animals in possession and date 

acquired, sex, estimated age, coloration, and a photograph of 

each fox or European rabbit. This written declaration shall (i) 

serve as a permit for possession only, (ii) is not transferable, 

and (iii) must be renewed every five years. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(4VAC15-20) 

List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia, March 

2012, Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries 

List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia, 2018, 

Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries 

Federal Endangered and Threatened Animal Species as of 

August 4, 2016 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5495; Filed May 4, 2018, 1:57 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General (amending 4VAC15-20-190).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 22, 2018 - 9 a.m. - Game and Inland Fisheries, 

7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23228 

Public Comment Deadline: July 28, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 

367-8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) add waters with the special 

trout fishing provisions described in 4VAC14-330-160 to 

the category "designated stocked trout waters" so that a 

trout license is required to fish in such waters and (ii) 

correct cross references for fee fishing waters and urban 

fishing waters.  

4VAC15-20-190. Definitions; "designated stocked trout 

waters."  

When used in regulations of the board, "designated stocked 

trout waters" will include those waters that are stocked with 

harvestable-sized trout and are listed by the director in the 

annual Trout Stocking Plan. These waters will only be 

considered designated stocked trout waters from October 1 

through June 15, both dates inclusive, except for fee fishing 

waters covered by 4VAC15-320-10 et seq. 4VAC15-320-120, 

waters covered by 4VAC15-330-160, and urban fishing 

waters covered by 4VAC15-330-20 et seq 4VAC15-330-200. 

Designated stocked trout waters are either posted by the 

department with appropriate "stocked trout waters" signs or 

are posted as fee fishing areas under 4VAC15-320-10 et seq. 

4VAC15-320-120 or waters under 4VAC15-330-160. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5496; Filed May 4, 2018, 2:01 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-320. Fish: Fishing Generally 

(amending 4VAC15-320-25).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 22, 2018 - 9 a.m. - Game and Inland Fisheries, 

7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23228 

Public Comment Deadline: July 28, 2018. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38236005495~1e.pdf&typ=40&actno=005495&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38236005495~1e.pdf&typ=40&actno=005495&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6e3a6004802~2&typ=40&actno=004802&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6e3a6004802~2&typ=40&actno=004802&mime=application/pdf
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Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 

367-8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) remove the size limit on 

spotted and largemouth bass and increase the size limit for 

smallmouth bass for Claytor Lake; (ii) impose a 20-inch 

minimum size limit for smallmouth bass and a one fish per 

day creel limit for trophy smallmouth bass in the Levisa 

Fork River in Buchanan County; (iii) change the minimum 

length limit from October 1 to May 31 for striped bass for 

Buggs Island (Kerr) Reservoir, Staunton River to Leesville 

Dam, and Dan River to Union Street Dam to 20 inches; 

(iv) for September 16 through June 30, set the minimum 

size limit at 20 inches and the creel limit as two fish per 

day and for July 1 through September 15 remove the size 

limit and set the creel limit to four fish per day for striped 

bass for Claytor Lake and its tributaries; (v) set a 14-inch 

minimum length limit and a 10 fish per day creel limit for 

white bass for Buggs Island (Kerr) Reservoir, Staunton 

River to Leesville Dam, and Dan River to Union Street 

Dam; (vi) establish a nine-inch minimum length limit for 

crappie for Buggs Island (Kerr), Briery Creek, and Sandy 

River Reservoirs; (vii) revise the current creel limit for 

rock bass to be 25 per day in aggregate with Roanoke 

bass, revise the current creel limit for Roanoke bass to be 

25 per day in aggregate with rock bass, and add the 

Blackwater River in Franklin County, Falling River, and 

Smith River to the rivers and tributaries where the daily 

limit is five rock bass and Roanoke bass in aggregate and 

the minimum length limit is eight inches; (viii) limit blue 

catfish greater than 32 inches harvested from Lake Gaston 

to one per day; and (ix) modify American shad creel and 

length limits to adhere to The Atlantic State Marine 

Fisheries Commission Interstate Fishery Management 

Plan for American Shad, which prohibits harvest of 

American shad in states where there is currently no 

sustainable management plan implemented.  

4VAC15-320-25. Creel and length limits.  

The creel limits (including live possession) and the length 

limits for the various species of fish shall be as follows, 

unless otherwise excepted by posted rules at department-

owned or department-controlled waters (see 4VAC15-320-

100 D).  

Type of fish Subtype or location 
Creel and length 

limits 

Geographic 

exceptions 

Creel or length 

limits for 

exceptions 

largemouth bass, smallmouth 

bass, spotted bass 

  5 per day in the 

aggregate (combined);  

No statewide length 

limits 

Lakes 

Briery Creek Lake No bass 16 to 24 

inches,; only 1 per 

day longer than 24 

inches 

Buggs Island (Kerr) Only 2 of 5 bass 

less than 14 inches 

Claytor Lake No smallmouth 

bass less than 12 

14 inches; 15 

spotted bass per 

day 

Flannagan Reservoir No bass less than 

12 inches 

Lake Gaston Only 2 of 5 bass 

less than 14 inches 

Leesville Reservoir Only 2 of 5 bass 

less than 14 inches 

Lake Moomaw No bass less than 

12 inches 

Philpott Reservoir No bass less than 

12 inches 
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Quantico Marine Base 

waters 

No bass 12 to 15 

inches 

Smith Mt. Mountain 

Lake and its 

tributaries below 

Niagara Dam 

Only 2 of 5 bass 

less than 14 inches 

Rivers 

Clinch River – within 

the boundaries of 

Scott, Wise, Russell, 

or Tazewell counties 

Counties 

No bass less than 

20 inches,; only 1 

bass per day 

longer than 20 

inches 

Levisa Fork River – 

within the boundaries 

Buchanan County 

No bass less than 

20 inches; only 1 

bass per day 

longer than 20 

inches 

Dan River and 

tributaries 

downstream from the 

Union Street Dam, 

Danville 

Only 2 of 5 bass 

less than 14 inches 

James River – 

Confluence of the 

Jackson and 

Cowpasture rivers 

(Botetourt County) 

downstream to the 

14th Street Bridge in 

Richmond 

No bass 14 to 22 

inches,; only 1 per 

day longer than 22 

inches 
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New River – Fields 

Dam (Grayson 

County) downstream 

to the VA - WV state 

line and its tributaries 

Little River 

downstream from 

Little River Dam in 

Montgomery County, 

Big Walker Creek 

from the Norfolk 

Southern Railroad 

Bridge downstream to 

the New River, and 

Wolf Creek from the 

Narrows dam Dam 

downstream to the 

New River in Giles 

County (This does not 

include Claytor Lake, 

which is delineated as: 

The upper end of the 

island at Allisonia 

downstream to the 

dam) 

No bass 14 to 22 

inches,; only 1 per 

day longer than 22 

inches 

North Fork Holston 

River - Rt. 91 bridge 

upstream of Saltville, 

VA downstream to the 

VA - TN state line 

No bass less than 

20 inches,; only 1 

per day longer 

than 20 inches 

North Fork 

Shenandoah River – 

Rt. 42 bridge, 

Rockingham Co. 

downstream to the 

confluence with S. 

Fork Shenandoah at 

Front Royal 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 

Potomac River - 

Virginia tidal 

tributaries above Rt. 

301 bridge 

No bass less than 

15 inches from 

March 1 through 

June 15 

Roanoke (Staunton) 

River - and its 

tributaries below 

Difficult Creek, 

Charlotte Co. County 

Only 2 of 5 bass 

less than 14 inches 
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Shenandoah River –  

Confluence of South 

Fork and North Fork 

rivers, Front Royal, 

downstream, to the 

Warren Dam, near 

Front Royal 

 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 

Base of Warren Dam, 

near Front Royal 

downstream to Rt. 

17/50 bridge 

No bass 14 to 20 

inches,; only 1 per 

day longer than 20 

inches 

Rt. 17/50 bridge 

downstream to VA – 

WV state line 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 

South Fork 

Shenandoah River - 

  

Confluence of North 

and South rivers, 

below Port Republic, 

downstream to 

Shenandoah Dam, 

near Town of 

Shenandoah 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 

Base of Shenandoah 

Dam, near Town of 

Shenandoah, 

downstream to Luray 

Dam, near Luray  

No bass 14 to 20 

inches,; only 1 per 

day longer than 20 

inches 

Base of Luray Dam, 

near Luray, 

downstream to the 

confluence with North 

Fork of Shenandoah, 

Front Royal 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 

Staunton River –   

Leesville Dam 

(Campbell County) 

downstream to the 

mouth of Difficult 

Creek, Charlotte 

County 

No smallmouth 

bass less than 20 

inches,; only 1 per 

day longer than 20 

inches 
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striped bass landlocked striped 

bass and landlocked 

striped bass x - white 

bass hybrids 

4 per day in the 

aggregate;  

No fish less than 20 

inches 

Buggs Island (Kerr) 

reservoir Reservoir, 

including the Staunton 

River to Leesville 

Dam and the Dan 

River to Union Street 

Dam (Danville) 

October 1 - May 

31: 2 per day in 

the aggregate; No 

no striped bass or 

hybrid striped bass 

less than 24 20 

inches; 

June 1 - 

September 30: 4 

per day in the 

aggregate; No no 

length limit 

Claytor Lake and its 

tributaries 

September 16 – 

June 30: 2 per day 

in the aggregate; 

no striped bass or 

hybrid bass less 

than 20 inches 

July 1 – 

September 15: 

4 per day in the 

aggregate; no 

length limit 

Smith Mountain Lake 

and its tributaries, 

including the Roanoke 

River upstream to 

Niagara Dam 

2 per day in the 

aggregate;  

November 1 - 

May 31: No 

striped bass 30 to 

40 inches; 

June 1 - October 

31: No length 

limit 

Lake Gaston 4 per day in the 

aggregate 

October 1 - May 

31: No striped 

bass or hybrid 

striped bass less 

than 20 inches 

June 1 - 

September 30: No 

length limit 
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anadromous (coastal) 

striped bass above 

the fall line in all 

coastal rivers of the 

Chesapeake Bay 

Creel and length limits 

shall be set by the 

Virginia Marine 

Resources Commission 

for recreational fishing 

in tidal waters 

    

anadromous (coastal) 

in the Meherrin, 

Nottoway, 

Blackwater (Chowan 

Drainage), North 

Landing and 

Northwest Rivers 

and their tributaries 

plus Back Bay 

2 per day;  

No striped bass less 

than 18 inches 

    

white bass   5 per day;  

No statewide length 

limits 

Buggs Island (Kerr) 

Reservoir, including 

the Staunton River to 

Leesville Dam and the 

Dan River to Union 

Street Dam (Danville) 

10 per day; no 

white bass less 

than 14 inches 

walleye   5 per day in the 

aggregate;  

No walleye or saugeye 

less  than 18 inches 

New River upstream 

of Buck Dam in 

Carroll County 

No walleye less 

than 20 inches 

Claytor Lake and the 

New River upstream 

of Claytor Lake Dam 

to Buck Dam in 

Carroll County 

February 1 - May 

31:  

2 walleye per day; 

no walleye 19 to 

28 inches; 

June 1 - January 

31:  

5 walleye per day; 

no walleye less 

than 20 inches 

sauger   2 per day;  

No statewide length 

limits 
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yellow perch  No statewide daily 

limit; 

No statewide length 

limits 

Lake Moomaw 10 per day 

chain pickerel   5 per day;  

No statewide length 

limits 

Gaston and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

reservoirs Reservoirs 

No daily limit 

northern pike   2 per day;  

No pike less than 20 

inches 

    

muskellunge   2 per day;  

No muskellunge less 

than 30 inches 

New River - Fields 

Dam (Grayson 

County) downstream 

to Claytor Dam, 

including Claytor 

Lake 

1 per day; No no 

muskellunge less 

than 42 inches 

New River - Claytor 

Dam downstream to 

the VA - WV state 

line 

1 per day  

June 1 - last day of 

February: No 

muskellunge 40 to 

48 inches; 

March 1 - May 31: 

No muskellunge 

less than 48 inches 

bluegill (bream) and other 

sunfish excluding crappie, 

rock bass (redeye) and 

Roanoke bass 

  50 per day in the 

aggregate;  

No statewide length 

limits 

Gaston and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

reservoirs Reservoirs 

and that portion of the 

New River from the 

VA - NC state line 

downstream to the 

confluence of the New 

and Little Rivers in 

Grayson County 

No daily limit 

crappie (black or white)   25 per day in the 

aggregate;  

No statewide length 

limits 

Lake Gaston and 

Buggs Island (Kerr) 

reservoirs and that 

portion of the New 

River from the VA - 

NC state line 

downstream to the 

confluence of the New 

and Little Rivers in 

Grayson County 

No daily limit 
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Buggs Island (Kerr) 

Reservoir 

No crappie less 

than 9 inches 

Briery Creek and 

Sandy River 

Reservoirs 

No crappie less 

than 9 inches 

Flannagan and South 

Holston reservoirs 

Reservoirs 

No crappie less 

than 10 inches 

rock bass (redeye)   25 per day; in the 

aggregate with 

Roanoke bass 

No statewide length 

limits 

Gaston and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

reservoirs Reservoirs 

and that portion of the 

New River from the 

VA - NC state line 

downstream to the 

confluence of the New 

and Little Rivers in 

Grayson County. 

No daily limit 

Nottoway and, 

Meherrin rivers, 

Blackwater (Franklin 

County), Falling, and 

Smith Rivers and their 

tributaries 

5 per day in the 

aggregate with 

Roanoke bass; No 

no rock bass less 

than 8 inches  

Roanoke bass   No statewide daily 

limit; 25 per day in the 

aggregate with rock 

bass 

No statewide length 

limits 

Nottoway and, 

Meherrin rivers, 

Blackwater (Franklin 

County), Falling, and 

Smith Rivers and their 

tributaries 

5 per day in the 

aggregate with 

rock bass; No no 

Roanoke bass less 

than 8 inches 

trout See 4VAC15-330. Fish: Trout Fishing. 

catfish channel, white, and 

flathead catfish 

20 per day;  

No length limits 

All rivers below the 

fall line 

No daily limit 

blue catfish 20 per day; 

No statewide length 

limits 

Lake Gaston No daily limit, 

except only 1 blue 

catfish per day 

longer than 32 

inches 

Kerr Reservoir 20 per day, except 

only 1 blue catfish 

per day longer 

than 32 inches 
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James River and its 

tributaries below the 

fall line and York 

River and its 

tributaries (including 

the Pamunkey River 

and Mattaponi River) 

below the fall line 

No daily limit, 

except only 1 blue 

catfish per day 

longer than 32 

inches 

All rivers below the 

fall line other than the 

James River and its 

tributaries and the 

York River and its 

tributaries 

No daily limit 

yellow, brown, and 

black bullheads 

No daily limit; 

No length limits 

    

American shad and hickory 

shad 

Virginia waters of 

Lake Gaston and 

Buggs Island (Kerr) 

Reservoir and 

tributaries to include 

the Dan and 

Staunton rivers 

No possession (catch 

and release only) 

    

Above and below the 

fall line in all coastal 

rivers of the 

Chesapeake Bay 

Creel and length limits 

shall be the same as 

those set by the 

Virginia Marine 

Resources Commission 

for these species in 

tidal rivers 

    

 

Meherrin River 

below Emporia Dam 

Nottoway River, 

Blackwater River 

(Chowan Drainage), 

North Landing and 

Northwest rivers 

Rivers, and their 

tributaries plus Back 

Bay 

10 per day in the 

aggregate 

No length limits 

    

American shad  No possession     

anadromous (coastal) alewife 

and blueback herring 

Above and below the 

fall line in all coastal 

rivers of the 

Chesapeake Bay 

Creel and length limits 

shall be the same as 

those set by the 

Virginia Marine 

Resources Commission 

for these species in 

tidal rivers 
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Meherrin River, 

Nottoway River, 

Blackwater River 

(Chowan Drainage), 

North Landing and 

Northwest rivers 

Rivers, and their 

tributaries plus Back 

Bay 

No possession      

red drum Back Bay and 

tributaries including 

Lake Tecumseh and 

the North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

1 per day;  

No drum less than 18 

inches or greater than 

27 inches 

 
 

spotted sea trout (speckled 

trout) 
Back Bay and 

tributaries including 

Lake Tecumseh and 

the North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

4 per day;  

No sea trout less than 

14 inches 

 
 

grey trout (weakfish) Back Bay and 

tributaries including 

Lake Tecumseh and 

North Landing River 

and its tributaries 

1 per day;  

No grey trout less than 

12 inches 

 
 

southern flounder Back Bay and 

tributaries including 

Lake Tecumseh and 

the North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

6 per day;  

No flounder less than 

15 inches 

 
 

northern snakehead  Anglers may possess 

snakeheads taken from 

Virginia waters if they 

immediately kill the 

fish and notify the 

headquarters or a 

regional office of the 

department; 

notification may be 

made by telephoning 

(804) 367-2925 

No statewide daily 

limit 

No statewide length 

limits 

    

longnose gar   5 per day; 

No statewide length 

limits 
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bowfin   5 per day; 

No statewide length 

limits 

    

American eel   25 per day; 

No eel less than 9 

inches 

Back Bay and North 

Landing River 

No possession 

limit for those 

individuals 

possessing a 

permit obtained 

under 4VAC15-

340-80 

other native or naturalized 

nongame fish 

See 4VAC15-360-10. Fish: Aquatic Invertebrates, Amphibians, Reptiles, and Nongame 

Fish. Taking aquatic invertebrates, amphibians, reptiles, and nongame fish for private use. 

endangered or threatened fish See 4VAC15-20-130. Definitions and Miscellaneous: In General. Endangered and 

threatened species; adoption of federal list; additional species enumerated. 

nonnative (exotic) fish See 4VAC15-30-40. Definitions and Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, Etc., of 

Animals. Importation requirements, possession and sale of nonnative (exotic) animals. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5497; Filed May 4, 2018, 2:04 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-320. Fish: Fishing Generally 

(amending 4VAC15-320-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 22, 2018 - 9 a.m. - Game and Inland Fisheries, 

7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23228 

Public Comment Deadline: July 28, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 

367-8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments prohibit the use of any species 

of fish as bait in Virginia's candy darter streams of the 

New River drainage, including Big Stony Creek in Giles 

County, Dismal Creek in Bland and Giles Counties, Laurel 

Creek in Bland County, and Cripple Creek in Smyth and 

Wythe Counties, to prevent the introduction of nonnative 

fish species in those streams.  

4VAC15-320-50. Fish used as bait prohibited in certain 

waters.  

It shall be unlawful to use any species of fish as bait in the 

waters and tributaries of Lick Creek in Smyth and Bland 

counties, Bear Creek in Smyth County, and Laurel Creek in 

Tazewell and Bland counties, Big Stony Creek in Giles 

County, Dismal Creek in Bland and Giles Counties, Laurel 

Creek in Bland County, and Cripple Creek in Smyth and 

Wythe Counties. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5500; Filed May 4, 2018, 2:06 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-320. Fish: Fishing Generally 

(repealing 4VAC15-320-140).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 22, 2018 - 9 a.m. - Game and Inland Fisheries, 

7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23228 

Public Comment Deadline: July 28, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 

367-8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

The proposed amendments repeal the requirement for a 

permit to conduct a striped bass tournament to relieve an 

administrative burden from both the public and the 

department since tournament frequency is low enough that 

concerns of overfishing fisheries or of overcrowding public 

ramps are not an issue and data from these tournaments 

are no longer being collected by the department. 

4VAC15-320-140. Permits required for striped bass 

fishing rodeos; etc. (Repealed.)  

No person shall organize, conduct, supervise, or solicit 

entries for striped bass fishing tournaments, rodeos, or other 

striped bass fishing events on the inland waters of this 

Commonwealth, for which prizes are offered, awarded, or 

accepted, either in money or other valuable considerations, 

without having applied for and obtained a permit from the 

department to do so. Exercising a due regard for the 

distribution, local abundance, economic value, breeding 

habits, and natural growth potential of striped bass in the 

affected public water, the director is authorized on behalf of 

the board to issue or deny permits pursuant to this section, 

and to establish such special rules for each tournament as may 

be deemed necessary, after consulting with the state fish 

biologist and with the approval of the board's fish committee 

as designated from time to time by the chairman. Failure to 

comply with all special rules and other provisions of any 

permit issued pursuant to this section may be deemed grounds 

for denying the permittee a permit for a similar event to be 

held within three years from the date of such failure of 

compliance.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5501; Filed May 4, 2018, 2:10 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-330. Fish: Trout Fishing 

(amending 4VAC15-330-10).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 22, 2018 - 9 a.m. - Game and Inland Fisheries, 

7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23228 

Public Comment Deadline: July 28, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 

367-8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments provide for closures to 

designated stocked trout waters to adult anglers for youth 

trout fishing events sponsored by the department, including 

(i) how a closure shall be posted, (ii) when a closure will 

begin the day preceding an event, and (iii) that a closure 

will last until the conclusion of an event. 

4VAC15-330-10. Season; general open season.  

Except as otherwise specifically provided in the sections 

appearing in this chapter, there shall be a year-round season 

for taking trout. However, angling in designated stocked trout 

waters shall only be permitted from 5 a.m. until one hour after 

sunset, except for waters designated by the director as Trout 

Heritage Waters and listed in the annual trout stocking plan 

(as referenced in 4VAC15-20-190). Trout Heritage Waters 

will be closed to fishing on the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in April and will reopen to fishing at 9 a.m. on the 

first Saturday in April. Youth fishing events that are 

sponsored by the department and held on designated stocked 

trout waters shall be posted on site with a closure to adults 

(anglers older than 15 years of age) from noon the day before 

the event until the conclusion of the youth event. Any person 

older than 15 years of age and accompanying a youth who is 

incapable of hooking and landing a fish unassisted shall be 

properly licensed to fish in designated stocked trout waters. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5502; Filed May 4, 2018, 2:12 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-330. Fish: Trout Fishing 

(amending 4VAC15-330-150).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 22, 2018 - 9 a.m. - Game and Inland Fisheries, 

7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23228 

Public Comment Deadline: July 28, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 

367-8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments require that trout fishing in 

Wolf Creek, within the Abingdon Muster Grounds in the 

Town of Abingdon from Colonial Road downstream to 
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Stone Mill Road, and Beaver Creek, within the boundaries 

of Sugar Hollow Park in the City of Bristol, be catch and 

release using single hook artificial lures only.  

4VAC15-330-150. Special provision applicable to Stewarts 

Creek Trout Management Area; certain portions of the 

Dan, Rapidan, South Fork Holston and Staunton rivers, 

the Brumley Creek, East Fork of Chestnut Creek, Little 

Stony Creek, Little Tumbling Creek, Big Tumbling 

Creek, North Creek, Roaring Fork, Spring Run, Stony 

Creek, Venrick Run, South River, and their tributaries 

trout fishing using artificial lures with single hook. 

It shall be lawful year around to fish for trout using only 

artificial lures with single hooks within:  

1. The Stewarts Creek Trout Management Area in Carroll 

County.  

2. The Rapidan and Staunton rivers and their tributaries 

upstream from a sign at the Lower Shenandoah National 

Park boundary in Madison County.  

3. The Dan River and its tributaries between the Townes 

Dam and the Pinnacles Hydroelectric Project powerhouse 

in Patrick County.  

4. The East Fork of Chestnut Creek (Farmers Creek) and 

its tributaries upstream from the Blue Ridge Parkway in 

Grayson and Carroll Counties.  

5. Roaring Fork and its tributaries upstream from the 

southwest boundary of Beartown Wilderness Area in 

Tazewell County.  

6. That section of the South Fork Holston River and its 

tributaries from the concrete dam at Buller Fish Culture 

Station downstream to the lower boundary of the Buller 

Fish Culture Station in Smyth County.  

7. North Creek and its tributaries upstream from a sign at 

the George Washington National Forest North Creek 

Campground in Botetourt County.  

8. Spring Run from it confluence with Cowpasture River 

upstream to a posted sign at the discharge for Coursey 

Springs Hatchery in Bath County.  

9. Venrick Run and its tributaries within the Big Survey 

Wildlife Management Area and Town of Wytheville 

property in Wythe County.  

10. Brumley Creek and its tributaries from the Hidden 

Valley Wildlife Management Area boundary upstream to 

the Hidden Valley Lake Dam in Washington County.  

11. Stony Creek (Mountain Fork) and its tributaries within 

the Jefferson National Forest in Wise and Scott Counties 

from the outlet of High Knob Lake downstream to the 

confluence of Chimney Rock Fork and Stony Creek.  

12. Little Stony Creek and its tributaries within the 

Jefferson National Forest in Scott County from the Falls of 

Little Stony Creek downstream to a posted sign at the 

Hanging Rock Recreation Area.  

13. Little Tumbling Creek and its tributaries within the 

Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management Area in Smyth and 

Tazewell Counties downstream to the concrete bridge.  

14. Effective January 1, 2018, Big Tumbling Creek and its 

tributaries within the Clinch Mountain Wildlife 

Management Area in Smyth County from a sign starting at 

the foot of the mountain and extending upstream 

seasonally from October 1 until five days prior to the first 

Saturday in April. 

15. South River in the City of Waynesboro from the Arch 

Avenue Bridge downstream 2.2 miles to the Second Street 

Bridge. 

16. Wolf Creek and its tributaries within the Abingdon 

Muster Grounds in the Town of Abingdon from Colonial 

Road downstream to Stone Mill Road. 

17. Beaver Creek and its tributaries within the boundaries 

of Sugar Hollow Park in the City of Bristol.  

All trout caught in these waters must be immediately 

returned to the water. No trout or bait may be in possession at 

any time in these areas.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5503; Filed May 4, 2018, 2:14 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-340. Fish: Seines and Nets 

(amending 4VAC15-340-60).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 22, 2018 - 9 a.m. - Game and Inland Fisheries, 

7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23228 

Public Comment Deadline: July 28, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 

367-8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments clarify that the use of cast nets 

for taking bait fish in the Roanoke and Dan Rivers in 
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Campbell, Charlotte, Halifax, and Pittsylvania Counties 

and in the City of Danville is not prohibited.  

4VAC15-340-60. Seines, traps, and nets prohibited in 

certain areas.  

A. It shall be unlawful to use seines and nets of any kind for 

the taking of fish from the public waters of the Roanoke 

(Staunton) and Dan Rivers in Campbell, Charlotte, Halifax, 

and Pittsylvania Counties, and in the City of Danville; 

provided, however, this section shall not be construed to 

prohibit the use of hand-landing nets for the landing of fish 

legally hooked or the taking of fish from these waters 

pursuant to the provisions of 4VAC15-360. In addition, this 

section shall not be construed to prohibit the use of cast nets, 

also known as throw nets, for the taking of bait fish. 

B. In Lick Creek and tributaries in Smyth and Bland 

Counties, in Bear Creek and Hungry Mother Creek above 

Hungry Mother Lake in Smyth County, and in Laurel Creek 

and tributaries upstream of Highway 16 bridge in Tazewell 

and Bland Counties, in Susong Branch and Mumpower Creek 

in Washington County and the City of Bristol, and in 

Timbertree Branch in Scott County, it shall be unlawful to 

use seines, nets, or traps; provided, however, this section shall 

not be construed to prohibit the use of hand-landing nets for 

the landing of fish legally hooked.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5504; Filed May 4, 2018, 2:16 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-350. Fish: Gigs, Grab Hooks, 

Trotlines, Snares, etc. (amending 4VAC15-350-70).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 22, 2018 - 9 a.m. - Game and Inland Fisheries, 

7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23228 

Public Comment Deadline: July 28, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 

367-8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments add goldfish to the list of fish 

that can be taken using bow and arrow or crossbow. 

4VAC15-350-70. Taking common carp, grass carp, 

northern snakehead, bowfin, catfish, and gar of fish with 

bow and arrow or crossbow. 

A. Season. Except as otherwise provided by local legislation 

or as posted, it shall be lawful to take common carp, northern 

snakehead, goldfish, and gar from the public inland waters of 

the Commonwealth, grass carp from public inland waters of 

the Commonwealth except department-owned or department-

controlled lakes, and bowfin and catfish from below the fall 

line in tidal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay, except waters 

stocked with trout, by means of bow and arrow or crossbow.  

B. Poison arrows or explosive-head arrows prohibited. It 

shall be unlawful to use poison arrows or arrows with 

explosive heads at any time for the purpose of taking 

common carp, grass carp, northern snakehead, bowfin, 

catfish, goldfish, or gar in the public inland waters of the 

Commonwealth.  

C. Fishing license required. All persons taking fish in the 

manner mentioned described in this section shall be required 

to have a regular fishing license.  

D. Creel limits. Common The creel limits for common carp, 

grass carp, northern snakehead, goldfish, and catfish – shall 

be unlimited, provided that any angler taking northern 

snakehead immediately kill such fish and notify the 

department, as soon as practicable, of such actions and 

provided that any angler taking grass carp ensure that 

harvested fish are dead. The creel limit for bowfin and 

longnose gar shall be five fish per day. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5505; Filed May 4, 2018, 2:18 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-131. Regulations Establishing 

Standards for Accrediting Public Schools in Virginia 

(amending 8VAC20-131-110, 8VAC20-131-430).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-253.13 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: May 9, 2018, through November 8, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Cynthia Cave, Assistant Superintendent, 

Policy and Communications, Department of Education, P.O. 

Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218-2120, telephone (804) 

225-2092, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 

cynthia.cave@doe.virginia.gov. 
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Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 A of the Code of Virginia states that 

regulations that an agency finds are necessitated by an 

emergency situation may be adopted upon consultation 

with the Attorney General, which approval shall be 

granted only after the agency has submitted a request 

stating in writing the nature of the emergency, and the 

necessity for such action shall be at the sole discretion of 

the Governor.  

The emergency action amends graduation requirements, 

specifically the availability of locally awarded verified 

credits in English and mathematics. Under the current 

requirements in place for students entering ninth grade on 

or after 2018-2019, locally awarded verified credits 

provide students the opportunity to receive a verified credit 

in a course that they have passed but failed the related 

end-of-course Standards of Learning test twice within a 

narrow margin. To receive a locally awarded verified 

credit, the student must take the test twice, score between 

375 and 399 on one of the attempts, and demonstrate 

achievement and mastery in the academic content through 

a local appeal process. 

The emergency action proposes amendments to allow 

students who entered the ninth grade prior to the 

2018-2019 school year to be eligible for locally awarded 

verified credits in English and mathematics as well as 

students entering the ninth grade on or after the 2018-2019 

school year. Currently, these students may receive locally 

awarded verified credits in only science and history and 

social science.  

The emergency action amends the Standards of 

Accreditation as they are currently effective for the current 

school year and as they will be effective starting the 

2018-2019 school year, providing parity among these high 

school cohorts. 

EDITOR'S NOTE: 8VAC20-131-110 is set out twice to 

reflect the provisions effective until the beginning of the 

2018-2019 academic year and the provisions effective on and 

after the beginning of the 2018-2019 academic year. 

8VAC20-131-110. Standard and verified units of credit. 

(effective until the beginning of the 2018-2019 academic 

year) 

A. The standard unit of credit for graduation shall be based 

on a minimum of 140 clock hours of instruction and 

successful completion of the requirements of the course. 

When credit is awarded in less than whole units, the 

increment awarded must be no greater than the fractional part 

of the 140 hours of instruction provided. If a school division 

elects to award credit on a basis other than the 140 clock 

hours of instruction required for a standard unit of credit 

defined in this subsection, the local school division shall 

provide the Board of Education with satisfactory proof, based 

on board guidelines, that the students for whom the 140-

clock-hour requirement is waived have learned the content 

and skills included in the relevant Standards of Learning. In 

addition, the local school division shall develop a written 

policy approved by the superintendent and school board that 

ensures:  

1. That the content of the course for which credit is 

awarded is comparable to 140 clock hours of instruction; 

and  

2. That upon completion, the student will have met the 

aims and objectives of the course.  

B. A verified unit of credit for graduation shall be based on 

a minimum of 140 clock hours of instruction, successful 

completion of the requirements of the course, and the 

achievement by the student of a passing score on the end-of-

course SOL test for that course or additional tests as 

described in this subsection. A student may also earn a 

verified unit of credit by the following methods:  

1. In accordance with the provisions of the Standards of 

Quality, students may earn a standard and verified unit of 

credit for any elective course in which the core academic 

SOL course content has been integrated and the student 

passes the related end-of-course SOL test. Such course and 

test combinations must be approved by the Board of 

Education.  

2. Upon waiver of the 140-clock-hour requirement 

according to Board of Education guidelines, qualified 

students who have received a standard unit of credit will be 

permitted to sit for the relevant SOL test to earn a verified 

credit without having to meet the 140-clock-hour 

requirement.  

3. Students who do not pass Standards of Learning tests in 

English, mathematics, science or history and social science 

may receive locally awarded verified credits from the local 

school board in accordance with criteria established in 

guidelines adopted by the Board of Education.  

C. The Board of Education may from time to time approve 

additional tests for the purpose of awarding verified credit. 

Such additional tests, which enable students to earn verified 

units of credit, must, at a minimum, meet the following 

criteria:  

1. The test must be standardized and graded independently 

of the school or school division in which the test is given;  

2. The test must be knowledge based;  

3. The test must be administered on a multistate or 

international basis, or administered as part of another 

state's accountability assessment program; and  

4. To be counted in a specific academic area, the test must 

measure content that incorporates or exceeds the SOL 

content in the course for which verified credit is given.  
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The Board of Education will set the score that must be 

achieved to earn a verified unit of credit on the additional test 

options.  

D. With such funds as are appropriated by the General 

Assembly, the Board of Education will provide opportunities 

for students who meet criteria adopted by the board to have 

an expedited retake of a SOL test to earn verified credit.  

8VAC20-131-110. Standard and verified units of credit. 

(effective on and after the beginning of the 2018-2019 

academic year) 

A. A "standard unit of credit" or "standard credit" is a credit 

awarded for a course in which the student successfully 

completes 140 clock hours of instruction and the 

requirements of the course. A school division may waive the 

requirement that a student receive 140 clock hours of 

instruction to earn a standard credit, effective with students 

enrolled in the 2015-2016 school year, as prescribed in the 

Standards of Quality and board guidelines. When credit is 

awarded in less than whole units, the increment awarded must 

be no greater than the fractional part of the 140 hours of 

instruction provided. If a school division elects to award 

credit on a basis other than the 140 clock hours of instruction 

required for a standard unit of credit defined in this 

subsection, the local school division shall provide the board 

with satisfactory proof, based on board guidelines, that the 

students for whom the 140-clock-hour requirement is waived 

have learned the content and skills included in the relevant 

Standards of Learning. In addition, the local school division 

shall develop a written policy approved by the superintendent 

and school board that ensures:  

1. That the content of the course for which credit is 

awarded is comparable to 140 clock hours of instruction; 

and  

2. That upon completion, the aims and objectives of the 

course have been met.  

B. A "verified unit of credit" or "verified credit" is a credit 

awarded for a course in which a student earns a standard unit 

of credit and completes one of the following:  

1. Achieves a passing score on a corresponding end-of-

course SOL test. In accordance with the provisions of the 

Standards of Quality, students may earn a standard and 

verified unit of credit for any elective course in which the 

core academic Standards of Learning course content has 

been integrated and the student passes the related end-of-

course SOL test. Such course and test combinations must 

be approved by the board.  

Upon waiver of the 140-clock-hour requirement according 

to board guidelines, qualified students who have received a 

standard unit of credit shall be permitted to sit for the 

relevant SOL test to earn a verified credit without having 

to meet the 140-clock-hour requirement.  

2. Achieves a passing score on an additional test, as 

defined in 8VAC20-131-5, as a part of the Virginia 

Assessment Program. 

3. Meets the criteria for the receipt of a locally awarded 

verified credit when the student has not passed a 

corresponding SOL test.  

a. Students who enter the ninth grade for the first time 

prior to the 2018-2019 school year and do not pass SOL 

tests in English, mathematics, science, or history and 

social science may receive locally awarded verified 

credits from the local school board in accordance with 

criteria established in guidelines adopted by the board. 

Credit accommodations for students with disabilities may 

be used to confer locally awarded verified credits as 

provided in 8VAC20-131-50 B 3. 

b. Students who enter the ninth grade for the first time in 

the 2018-2019 school year or thereafter and do not pass 

SOL tests in English, mathematics, laboratory science, or 

history and social science may receive locally awarded 

verified credits from the local school board in accordance 

with criteria established in guidelines adopted by the 

board. No more than one locally awarded verified credit 

may be used to satisfy graduation requirements, except as 

provided in 8VAC20-131-51 B 3 for students with 

disabilities seeking a standard diploma. 

4. Meets the criteria for the receipt of a verified credit in 

history and social science by demonstrating mastery of the 

content of the associated course on an authentic 

performance assessment that complies with guidelines 

adopted by the board. Such students shall not also be 

required to take the corresponding SOL test in history and 

social science. 

5. Meets the criteria for the receipt of a verified credit in 

English (writing) by demonstrating mastery of the content 

of the associated course on an authentic performance 

assessment, that complies with guidelines adopted by the 

board. Such students shall not also be required to take the 

corresponding SOL test in English (writing). 

C. The board may from time to time approve additional tests 

for the purpose of awarding verified credit. Such additional 

tests, which enable students to earn verified units of credit, 

must, at a minimum, meet the following criteria:  

1. The test must be standardized and graded independently 

of the school or school division in which the test is given;  

2. The test must be knowledge based;  

3. The test must be administered on a statewide, multistate, 

or international basis, or administered as part of another 

state's accountability assessment program; and  

4. To be counted in a specific academic area, the test must 

measure content that incorporates or exceeds the Standards 
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of Learning content in the course for which verified credit 

is given.  

The board shall set the score that must be achieved to earn a 

verified unit of credit on the additional test options.  

D. With such funds as are appropriated by the General 

Assembly, the board shall provide opportunities for students 

who meet criteria adopted by the board to have an expedited 

retake of a SOL test to earn verified credit.  

8VAC20-131-430. Effective dates. 

A. Graduation requirements. 

1. The graduation requirements for students entering the 

ninth grade for the first time in the 2013–2014 school year 

and prior to the 2018–2019 school year shall be those 

provided in 8VAC20-131-50. 

2. The graduation requirements for students entering the 

ninth grade for the first time in the 2018-2019 school year 

and beyond shall be those provided in 8VAC20-131-51. 

3. The graduation requirements applicable to students 

transferring into a Virginia high school for the first time 

shall be as determined by 8VAC20-131-60 G. 

B. Locally awarded verified credits. 

1. Locally awarded verified credits conferred for English, 

mathematics, laboratory science, and history and social 

science for students entering the ninth grade for the first time 

prior to the 2018–2019 school year shall be as provided in 

8VAC20-131-110 B 3 a. 

2. Locally awarded verified credits conferred for English, 

mathematics, laboratory science, and history and social 

science for students entering the ninth grade for the first time 

in 2018–2019 or thereafter shall be as provided in 8VAC20-

131-110 B 3 b. 

C. Academic and career planning. 

1. The requirements for academic and career planning 

prescribed in 8VAC20-131-140 B shall be effective 

beginning with the 2013–2014 academic year and through 

the 2017–2018 academic year. 

2. The requirements for Academic and Career Plans 

prescribed in 8VAC20-131-140 C shall be effective 

beginning with the 2018–2019 academic year. 

D. The application of the college, career, and civic readiness 

index as a school quality indicator used for accreditation shall 

be made no later than the 2021–2022 school year. 

E. Unless otherwise specified, the remainder of this chapter 

shall become effective beginning with the 2018–2019 

academic year. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5440; Filed May 9, 2018, 4:54 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

following regulation have been filed by the State Water 

Control Board. The forms are not being published; however, 

online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form to access it. The 

forms are also available from the agency contact or may be 

viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-110. Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) General Permit 

for Domestic Sewage Discharges of Less Than or Equal to 

1,000 Gallons per Day. 

Contact Information: Elleanore Daub, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

Richmond, VA 23219, email 

elleanore.daub@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC25-110) 

VPDES Change of Ownership Agreement Form (eff. 

7/2010) 

Combined Application - Virginia Department of Health 

Discharging System Application for Single Family Dwellings 

Discharging Sewage Less Than or Equal to 1,000 Gallons per 

Day and State Water Control Board Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System General Permit Registration 

Statement for Domestic Sewage Discharges Less Than or 

Equal to 1,000 Gallons per Day (eff. 9/2011) 

Combined Application - Virginia Department of Health 

Discharging System Application for Single Family Dwellings 

Discharging Sewage Less Than or Equal to 1,000 Gallons per 

Day and State Water Control Board Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System General Permit Registration 

Statement for Domestic Sewage Discharges Less Than or 

Equal to 1,000 Gallons per Day (eff. 4/2014) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5491; Filed May 2, 2018, 2:13 p.m.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=149ce002062~1&typ=40&actno=002062&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=149ce002062~1&typ=40&actno=002062&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb3bb005491~14.pdf&typ=40&actno=005491&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb3bb005491~14.pdf&typ=40&actno=005491&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb3bb005491~14.pdf&typ=40&actno=005491&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb3bb005491~14.pdf&typ=40&actno=005491&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb3bb005491~14.pdf&typ=40&actno=005491&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb3bb005491~14.pdf&typ=40&actno=005491&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb3bb005491~14.pdf&typ=40&actno=005491&mime=application/pdf
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER NINE (2018) 

Directing the Commissioner of the Department of 
Motor Vehicles to Extend the Validity of Expiring 

Driver's Licenses and Identification Cards 

Importance of the Issue 

On Thursday, April 26, 2018, an information technology 

equipment failure temporarily interrupted the electronic 

services provided by the American Association of Motor 

Vehicle Administrators. This disruption greatly impacted the 

ability of many Virginians to renew their driver's licenses and 

identification cards. On April 27, 2018, I verbally directed the 

Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles to extend 

the validity period for expiring licenses and identification 

cards for a period of one week. This unforeseen disruption of 

services places citizens at risk of suffering fines and other 

costs resulting from their inability to renew their driver's 

licenses and identification cards in a timely manner. 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor 

under Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and under the 

laws of the Commonwealth, I hereby confirm, ratify, and 

memorialize in writing that verbal directive issued on April 

27, 2018, whereby, it was determined that the Department of 

Motor Vehicles suffered a disruption in service that prevented 

the Department from processing applications for renewal of 

driver's licenses and identification cards. 

In order to prevent any further hardship to the citizens of 

Virginia, and in accordance with my authority contained in 

§§ 46.2-330(A) and 46.2-345 of the Code of Virginia, I 

hereby order the following measures: 

• I hereby direct the Commissioner of the Department of 

Motor Vehicles, and the directors of such other executive 

branch agencies as deem appropriate in their discretion, to 

extend the validity period of Virginia driver's licenses, 

learner's permits, commercial driver's licenses, and 

identification cards issued by the Commonwealth that 

expire April 26, 2018, through April 30, 2018, until May 4, 

2018, 11:59:59 PM EST. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective retroactively from 

April 26, 2018, and shall remain in full force and effect until 

May 4, 2018, 11:59:59 PM EST. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 27th day of April, 2018. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) on behalf of the State Air 

Pollution Control Board is conducting a periodic review and 

small business impact review of 9VAC5-70, Air Pollution 

Episode Prevention. The review of this regulation will be 

guided by the principles in Executive Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The regulations may be viewed on the DEQ air regulation 

webpage at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/Laws, 

Regulations,Guidance.aspx. 

The comment period begins May 28, 2018, and ends June 18, 

2018. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Gary Graham, Regulatory Analyst, Office 

of Regulatory Affairs, Department of Environmental Quality, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4103, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 

gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Town Hall and a report of 

the small business impact review will be published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of General 

Services, Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services 

(DCLS) is conducting a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 1VAC30-41, Regulation for the 

Certification of Laboratories Analyzing Drinking Water. 

The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The regulations may be viewed on the DCLS drinking water 

webpage at https://dgs.virginia.gov/division-of-consolidated-

laboratory-services/laboratory-services/drinking-water-labs.  

The comment period begins May 28, 2018, and ends June 18, 

2018. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Rhonda Bishton, Director's Executive 

Administrative Assistant, Department of General Services, 

1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-3311, FAX (804) 371-8305, or email 

rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. Comments must include 

the commenter's name and address (physical or email) 

information in order to receive a response to the comment 

from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Town Hall and a report of 

the small business impact review will be published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 

Board of Health conducted a small business impact review of 

12VAC5-20, Regulations for the Conduct of Human 

Research, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The State Board of Health is 

publishing its report of findings dated March 16, 2018, to 

support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 

Code of Virginia. 

There is a continued need for the regulations as the conduct of 

human research is still occurring in the Commonwealth. One 

public comment was received. The commenter recommended 

that the regulations be retained in current form. The 

regulations are clearly written and easily understandable. The 

regulations do not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any 

known federal or state law or regulation. Regulations are 

evaluated on an ongoing basis, and these regulations were last 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/Laws,Regulations,Guidance.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/Laws,Regulations,Guidance.aspx
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov
https://dgs.virginia.gov/division-of-consolidated-laboratory-services/laboratory-services/drinking-water-labs
https://dgs.virginia.gov/division-of-consolidated-laboratory-services/laboratory-services/drinking-water-labs
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov
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amended in January 2016. Retaining the regulations in their 

current form does not appear to cause an adverse economic 

impact on small businesses in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia. 

Contact Information: Janice Hicks, Policy Planning 

Specialist, Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7686, FAX (804) 

864-7652, or email janice.hicks@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 

Board of Health conducted a small business impact review of 

12VAC5-80, Regulations for Administration of the 

Virginia Hearing Impairment Identification and 

Monitoring System, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained in its current form. The State Board of 

Health is publishing its report of findings dated February 27, 

2018, to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-

4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

There is a continued need for the regulations as they are 

mandated by law. No public comments were received. The 

regulations are clearly written and easily understandable. The 

regulations do not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any 

known federal or state law or regulation. Regulations are 

evaluated on an ongoing basis, and these regulations were last 

amended in December 2013. Retaining the regulations in their 

current form does not appear to cause an adverse economic 

impact on small businesses in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia. 

Contact Information: Janice Hicks, Policy Planning 

Specialist, Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7686, FAX (804) 

864-7652, or email janice.hicks@vdh.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Board of Medicine is 

currently reviewing each of the regulations listed below to 

determine whether the regulation should be repealed, 

amended, or retained in its current form. The review of each 

regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 

17 (2014). Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

18VAC85-15, Regulations Governing Delegation to an 

Agency Subordinate 

18VAC85-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, and 

Chiropractic 

18VAC85-40, Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Respiratory Therapists 

18VAC85-50, Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Physician Assistants 

18VAC85-80, Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Occupational Therapy 

18VAC85-101, Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Radiologic Technology 

18VAC85-110, Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Licensed Acupuncturists 

18VAC85-120, Regulations Governing the Licensure of 

Athletic Trainers 

18VAC85-130, Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Licensed Midwives 

18VAC85-150, Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Behavior Analysis 

Contact Information: Elaine Yeatts, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX (804) 

527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

The comment period begins May 28, 2018, and ends June 27, 

2018. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and a report of 

the small business impact review will be published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Order for Cambria 2014 LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Cambria 2014 

LLC for the Cambria Cove Subdivision located at the 

intersection of Route 604 (Genito Road) and Route 667 

(Otterdale Road) in Chesterfield County, Virginia. The State 

Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent order to address 

noncompliance with State Water Control Law and regulations. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the Department 

of Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Frank Lupini will accept comments from 

May 28, 2018, to June 28, 2018, by email at 

frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 698-4277, or 

mailto:janice.hicks@vdh.virginia.gov
mailto:janice.hicks@vdh.virginia.gov
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov
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postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. 

Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218. 

Notice of Public Meeting and Public Comment on 
Total Maximum Daily Load Implementation Plan for 

the Birch Creek and Dan River Watersheds 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 

written and oral comments from interested persons on the 

draft total maximum daily load (TMDL) implementation plan 

(IP) for the Birch Creek and Dan River watersheds in Halifax 

and Pittsylvania Counties and the City of Danville. These 

streams were listed as impaired on the Virginia's § 303(d) 

TMDL Priority List and Report due to violations of the state's 

water quality standard for bacteria. The following are the 

names of the bacteria "impaired" streams and the length of 

the impaired segments: Cascade Creek, 11.79 miles; Tanyard 

Creek, 2.85 miles; Sugartree Creek, 6.96; Stewart Creek, 7.34 

miles; Pumpkin Creek, 4.28 miles; Cane Creek, 12.25 miles; 

Lawless Creek, 4.71 miles; Big Toby Creek, 7.56 miles; 

Powells Creek, 4.63 miles; Sandy Creek, 9.41 miles; 

unnamed tributary Birch Creek, 5.35 miles; Germy Creek, 

5.36 miles; Lawsons Creek, 8.26 and 7.27 miles; Miry Creek, 

1.11 miles; Stokes Creek, 6.35 miles; Sandy River, 7.22 

miles; Sandy Creek, 9.48 miles; Dan River, 35.06 miles; Fall 

Creek, 11.97 miles; Double Creek, 8.88 miles; and Byrds 

Branch, 3.76 miles.  

The Birch Creek TMDL study was approved by EPA in 2004 

and by the State Water Control Board in 2005 and can be 

found in the Bacteria TMDL for Birch Creek Watershed, 

Virginia report available at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/ap

ptmdls/roankrvr/birchfc.pdf. 

The Dan River TMDL was approved by EPA in 2008 and 

approved by the State Water Control Board in 2009 and can 

be found in the Bacteria TMDL Development for the Dan 

River, Blackberry Creek, Byrds Branch, Double Creek, Fall 

Creek, Leatherwood Creek, Marrowbone Creek, North Fork 

Mayo River, South Fork Mayo River, Smith River, Sandy 

Creek, and Sandy River Watersheds report available at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/ap

ptmdls/roankrvr/danec.pdf. 

The Henry County and Patrick County portions of the Dan 

River TMDL Watershed were included in the South Mayo 

River, North Mayo River, Blackberry Creek, Marrowbone 

Creek, Leatherwood Creek and Smith River Watershed 

Implementation Plan (2013) available at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/Imple

mentationPlans/Smith-Mayo_Technical_Report_FINAL.pdf.  

Section 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia requires the 

development of an IP for approved TMDLs. The IP should 

provide measurable goals and the date of expected 

achievement of water quality objectives. The IP should also 

include the corrective actions needed and their associated 

costs, benefits, and environmental impacts. The draft TMDL 

implementation plan and meeting documents are available at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn

formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImpl

ementationProgress.aspx. 

A public meeting will be held to discuss the draft 

implementation plan for the Birch Creek and Dan River 

watersheds. At this meeting, the process by which the 

implementation plan was developed to restore water quality 

in the watersheds will be discussed, and citizens will learn 

how they can be part of the water quality improvement 

process.  

The public meeting will be held from 6 p.m. until 8 p.m. on 

June 5, 2018, at the Danville Regional Airport, East 

Conference Room, 424 Airport Drive, Danville, VA 24540. 

In the event of severe weather, the public meeting will occur 

on June 7, 2018, at the same time and location.  

DEQ accepts written comments by email, fax, or postal mail. 

The 30-day public comment period on the information 

presented at the meeting will begin on June 5, 2018, and end 

on July 5, 2018. Questions or information requests should be 

addressed to James Moneymaker with the Virginia 

Department of Environmental Quality. Written comments and 

inquiries should include the name, address, and telephone 

number of the person submitting the comments and should be 

sent to James Moneymaker, Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality, 3019 Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, 

VA 24019, telephone (540) 562-6738, FAX (540) 562-6725, 

or email james.moneymaker@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents 

/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/apptmdls/roankrvr/birchfc.pdf
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/apptmdls/roankrvr/birchfc.pdf
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/apptmdls/roankrvr/danec.pdf
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/apptmdls/roankrvr/danec.pdf
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/ImplementationPlans/Smith-Mayo_Technical_Report_FINAL.pdf
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/ImplementationPlans/Smith-Mayo_Technical_Report_FINAL.pdf
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationProgress.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationProgress.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationProgress.aspx
mailto:james.moneymaker@deq.virginia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-425. Rules Governing 

Enhanced 911 (E-911) Service. 

Publication: 34:19 VA.R. 2036-2039 May 14, 2018. 

Correction to Proposed Regulation: 

Page 2038, column 1, line 1, in 20VAC5-425-10 in the 

definition of "Automatic location identification" after "safety" 

replace "awareness" with "answering" 

Page 2038, in the definition of "Database error" line 2, after 

"by" unstrike "a" and before "LEC" delete "an" 

Page 2039, in 20VAC5-425-45: 

Subsection A, lines 1 and 4, before "LEC" replace "An" 

with "A"  

Subsection B, line 1, before "LEC" replace "an" with "a" 

Subsection C, line 1, before "LEC" replace "An" with "A" 

and line 5, before "LEC" replace "an" with "a" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5466; Filed May 15, 2018.  
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