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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 
any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 
pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 
Gregory D. Habeeb, Vice Chair; Jay Leftwich; Ryan T. McDougle; 
Robert L. Calhoun; Rita Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; E.M. Miller, Jr.; 
Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Charles S. Sharp; 
Samuel T. Towell; Mark J. Vucci. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Acting Registrar of 
Regulations; Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar;  
Alexandra Stewart-Jonte, Regulations Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications 
Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

June 2018 through April 2019 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

34:21 May 23, 2018 June 11, 2018 

34:22 June 6, 2018 June 25, 2018 

34:23 June 20, 2018 July 9, 2018 

34:24 July 3, 2018 (Tuesday) July 23, 2018 

34:25 July 18, 2018 August 6, 2018 

34:26 August 1, 2018 August 20, 2018 

35:1 August 15, 2018 September 3, 2018 

35:2 August 29, 2018 September17, 2018 

35:3 September 12, 2018 October 1, 2018 

35:4 September 26, 2018 October 15, 2018 

35:5 October 10, 2018 October 29, 2018 

35:6 October 24, 2018 November 12, 2018 

35:7 November 7, 2018 November 26, 2018 

35:8 November 19, 2018 (Monday) December 10, 2018 

35:9 December 5, 2018 December 24, 2018 

35:10 December 14, 2018 (Friday) January 7, 2019 

35:11 January 2, 2019 January 21, 2019 

35:12 January 16, 2019 February 4, 2019 

35:13 January 30, 2019 February18, 2019 

35:14 February 13, 2019 March 4, 2019 

35:15 February 27, 2019 March 18, 2019 

35:16 March 13, 2019 April 1, 2019 

35:17 March 27, 2019 April 15, 2019 

35:18 April 10, 2019 April 29, 2019 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 



PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

Volume 34, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 11, 2018 

2081 

PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Initial Agency Notice 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-490. Regulations Governing 
Grade "A" Milk. 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-5206 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Virginia State Dairymen's Association. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner is requesting 
that the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services amend 
2VAC5-490-50 by reducing the allowed maximum somatic 
cell count from the current 750,000 to 500,000 somatic cells 
per milliliter. The petitioner also requests this section be 
amended to reduce the allowed maximum bacteria count from 
100,000 to 50,000 bacteria per milliliter prior to commingling 
with any other milk. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The Board of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services will consider this request 
at its next scheduled meeting following the public comment 
period. This meeting will occur on July 24, 2018. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 1, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Ryan Davis, Program Manager, Office of 
Dairy and Foods, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 786-8899, or email ryan.davis@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-34; Filed May 22, 2018, 2:03 p.m. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 
Commission is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-
4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission 
is required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-950. Pertaining to Black Sea 
Bass (amending 4VAC20-950-45).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 
3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 
247-2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish the recreational black sea bass 
fishing season for 2018 as February 1 through February 
28 and May 15 through December 31. 

4VAC20-950-45. Recreational possession limits and 
seasons.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing with hook and 
line, rod and reel, spear, gig, or other recreational gear to 
possess more than 15 black sea bass. When fishing is from a 
boat or vessel where the entire catch is held in a common 
hold or container, the possession limit shall be for that boat or 
vessel and shall be equal to the number of persons on board 
legally licensed to fish, multiplied by 15. The captain or 
operator of the boat or vessel shall be responsible for that boat 
or vessel possession limit. Any black sea bass taken after the 
possession limit has been reached shall be returned to the 
water immediately. 

B. Possession of any quantity of black sea bass that exceeds 
the possession limit described in subsection A of this section 
shall be presumed to be for commercial purposes.  

C. The open recreational fishing season shall be from 
February 1 through February 28, and May 15 through 
September 21, and October 22 through December 31. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 
to take, catch, or possess any black sea bass, except during an 
open recreational season. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 
to take, catch, or possess any black sea bass from February 1 
through February 28 without first having obtained a 
Recreational Black Sea Bass Permit from the Marine 
Resources Commission. It shall be unlawful for any permittee 
to fail to contact the Marine Resources Commission 
Operation Station before returning to shore at the end of the 
fishing trip. The permittee shall provide the operation station 
with his name, Marine Resources Commission identification 
(MRC ID) number, the point of landing, a description of the 
vessel, and an estimated return to shore time. Any such 
permittee shall submit a report for any recreational black sea 
bass fishing trips, which incudes that permittee's MRC ID 
number, the date of fishing, the mode of fishing, and the 
number of black sea bass kept or released. That report shall 
be submitted to the commission or to the Standard Atlantic 
Fisheries Information System no later than March 15 of the 
current calendar year. Any authorized permittee shall allow 
commission staff to sample the catch to obtain biological 
information for scientific and management purposes only. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5524; Filed May 25, 2018, 9:33 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 

CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 
Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Criminal 
Justice Services is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 
26 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts the department 
when developing, issuing, or revising any training standards 
established by the Criminal Justice Services Board under 
§ 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia, provided such actions are 
authorized by the Governor in the interest of public safety. 

Titles of Regulations: 6VAC20-20. Rules Relating to 
Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for Law-
Enforcement Officers (amending 6VAC20-20-10 through 
6VAC20-20-40, 6VAC20-20-70, 6VAC20-20-80, 6VAC20-
20-90; adding 6VAC20-20-120, 6VAC20-20-130; repealing 
6VAC20-20-20, 6VAC20-20-50, 6VAC20-20-61).  
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6VAC20-50. Rules Relating to Compulsory Minimum 
Training Standards for Jailors or Custodial Officers, 
Courthouse and Courtroom Security Officers and Process 
Service Officers (amending 6VAC20-50-10 through 
6VAC20-50-40, 6VAC20-50-70, 6VAC20-50-80, 6VAC20-
50-90; adding 6VAC20-50-120, 6VAC20-50-130; repealing 
6VAC20-50-50, 6VAC20-50-60).  

6VAC20-60. Rules Relating to Compulsory Minimum 
Training Standards for Dispatchers (amending 6VAC20-
60-10 through 6VAC20-60-40, 6VAC20-60-70, 6VAC20-
60-80, 6VAC20-60-90; adding 6VAC20-60-95; repealing 
6VAC20-60-50, 6VAC20-60-60). 

6VAC20-70. Rules Relating to Compulsory Minimum 
Training Standards for Noncustodial Employees of the 
Department of Corrections (amending 6VAC20-70-10 
through 6VAC20-70-40, 6VAC20-70-70, 6VAC20-70-100, 
6VAC20-70-110; adding 6VAC20-70-25, 6VAC20-70-115; 
repealing 6VAC20-70-50, 6VAC20-70-60, 6VAC20-70-80, 
6VAC20-70-90, 6VAC20-70-120, 6VAC20-70-130).  

6VAC20-90. Rules Relating to Regional Criminal Justice 
Training Academies (amending 6VAC20-90-10 through 
6VAC20-90-40; adding 6VAC20-90-60 through 6VAC20-
90-130).  

6VAC20-100. Rules Relating to Compulsory Minimum 
Training Standards for Correctional Officers of the 
Department of Corrections, Division of Adult Institutions 
(amending 6VAC20-100-10 through 6VAC20-100-40, 
6VAC20-100-70, 6VAC20-100-80, 6VAC20-100-90; 
adding 6VAC20-100-25; repealing 6VAC20-100-50, 
6VAC20-100-60, 6VAC20-100-100, 6VAC20-100-110).  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: August 13, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law Enforcement 
Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice 
Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 225-4503, FAX (804) 786-0410, or email 
barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments to all chapters (i) separate 
agency responsibility and academy responsibility; (ii) 
codify Department of Criminal Justice Services practice 
and policy; (iii) clarify that training extensions will not be 
granted for failing to pass or meet compulsory minimum 
training standards and requirements; and (iv) correct and 
update Code of Virginia citations and address inconsistent 
terminology, definitions, and processes. 

Additionally, proposed amendments to 6VAC20-90 (i) 
provide training academies clear instructions on the 

requirements for certification and recertification; (ii) 
codify the current department policy and practice, which 
requires academies meet 100% of the certification 
standards identified in the Certified Criminal Justice 
Training Academy Certification Checklist and Report for 
initial certification and the Certified Criminal Justice 
Training Academy Recertification Checklist and Report for 
recertification; (iii) describe the process, responsibilities, 
and timeline for reassessment and the application of 
enforcement actions, including probation, suspension, and 
revocation, in detail; (iv) describe the appeal process, 
including an initial appeal to the director of the 
department and a second opportunity to appeal to the 
Executive Committee of the Criminal Justice Services 
Board; and (v) identify the process for creating a regional 
academy, those regional academies eligible to receive state 
funding, and the department's ability to suspend or revoke 
the certification of a certified training academy. 

6VAC20-20-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meaning meanings unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Academy director" means the chief administrative officer 
of a certified training academy.  

"Agency administrator" means any chief of police, sheriff, 
or agency head of a state or local law-enforcement agency.  

"Approved training" means training approved by the 
department to meet minimum training standards.  

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board.  

"Certified training academy" means a training facility in 
compliance with academy certification or recertification 
standards operated by the state or local units unit of 
government that is owned, leased, rented, or used exclusively 
for the purpose of providing instruction of compulsory 
minimum training standards training criminal justice 
professionals regulated by the department and board.  

"Committee on Training" or "COT" means the standing 
committee of the board that is charged with reviewing 
proposed changes to the standards, receiving and reviewing 
public comments, and approving changes to the standards as 
needed. 

"Compulsory minimum training standards" means the 
written performance outcomes approved by the Committee on 
Training and the minimum hours approved by the Criminal 
Justice Services Board.  

"Curriculum Review Committee" or "CRC" means the 
committee consisting of nine individuals representing the 
certified academies. Four members of the committee shall 
represent regional criminal justice academies, four members 
of the committee shall represent independent criminal justice 
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academies, and one member shall represent the Department of 
State Police Training Academy. The Committee on Training 
shall appoint members of the Curriculum Review Committee.  

"Department" means the Department of Criminal Justice 
Services.  

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the 
department or his the director's designee.  

"Requirements" means the core elements an officer needs to 
accomplish to obtain law-enforcement certification. 

6VAC20-20-20. Compulsory minimum training 
standards. (Repealed.)  

Pursuant to the provisions of subdivision 2 of § 9-170 of the 
Code of Virginia, the department establishes these standards 
for compulsory minimum training for full-time and part-time 
law-enforcement officers.  

6VAC20-20-21. Performance outcomes and minimum 
hours required Compulsory minimum training standards 
and requirements.  

A. Pursuant to the provisions of subdivision 2 of § 9.1-102 
of the Code of Virginia, the department under the direction of 
the board establishes the standards for Compulsory Minimum 
Training Standards for Law-Enforcement Officers. The 
complete document may be found on the Department of 
Criminal Justice Services' website at 
http://www.dcjs.virginia.gov compulsory minimum training 
for full-time and part-time law-enforcement officers.  

B. Academy training.  

1. Category 1 - Professionalism 

2. Category 2 - Legal Issues 

3. Category 3 - Communications  

4. Category 4 - Patrol 

5. Category 5 - Investigations 

6. Category 6 - Defensive Tactics/Use of Force 

7. Category 7 - Weapons Use 

8. Category 8 - Driver Training 

9. Category 9 - Physical Training (Optional)  

ACADEMY TRAINING HOURS - 480 (excluding 
Category 9)  

C. Field training.  

Category 10 - Field Training 

FIELD TRAINING HOURS - 100  

TOTAL MINIMUM TRAINING STANDARDS HOURS 
- 580 (excluding Category 9)  

B. An individual hired as a law-enforcement officer as 
defined in § 9.1-101 of the Code of Virginia shall comply 
with the following law-enforcement certification 
requirements:  

1. Successfully complete law-enforcement basic training at 
a certified training academy, which includes receiving a 
minimum of 480 hours of department approved training in 
the following categories:  

a. Professionalism, 

b. Legal, 

c. Communication,  

d. Patrol, 

e. Investigations, 

f. Defensive tactics and use of force, 

g. Weapons, and 

h. Driver training. 

2. Successfully complete a minimum of 100 hours of 
approved training in the category of field training by 
meeting or exceeding the field training performance 
outcomes identified in the Virginia Department of 
Criminal Justice Services Field Training and On the Job 
Training Performance Outcomes. 

C. Law-enforcement officers become certified upon meeting 
all compulsory minimum training standards and requirements 
that include documented completion of all performance 
outcomes, the law enforcement certification exam, and field 
training. 

6VAC20-20-25. Approval authority.  

A. The Criminal Justice Services Board board shall be the 
approval authority for the training categories and hours of the 
compulsory minimum training standards identified in 
6VAC20-20-21. Amendments to training categories and 
hours shall be made in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia).  

B. The Committee on Training (COT) of the Criminal 
Justice Services Board board shall be the approval authority 
for the performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, 
and lesson plan guides that support the performance 
outcomes.  

1. Performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and 
lesson plan guides supporting the compulsory minimum 
training standards may be added, deleted, or amended by 
the Committee on Training COT based upon on written 
recommendation of a chief of police, sheriff, agency 
administrator, academy director, Curriculum Review 
Committee (CRC), an interested party, or member of the 
community.  
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Any suggestions 2. Suggestions received related to 
performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and 
lesson plan guides shall be reviewed at the regularly 
scheduled meeting of the Curriculum Review Committee. 
If comment is received at any public hearing, the 
Committee on Training may make a decision at that time. 
Changes to the hours and training categories will only be 
made in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act by the CRC. The CRC shall 
present recommendations for revisions to the COT.  

C. Prior to Before approving changes to the performance 
outcomes, training objectives, criteria, or lesson plan guides, 
the Committee on Training COT shall conduct a public 
hearing schedule an opportunity for public comment during a 
meeting of the COT. Sixty A minimum of 60 days prior to 
before the public hearing meeting of the COT, the proposed 
changes shall be distributed to all affected parties certified 
training academies for the opportunity to comment. Notice of 
change of changes to the performance outcomes, training 
objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides shall be filed for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations upon 
adoption, change, or deletion. 

D. The department shall notify each certified training 
academy in writing of any new, revised, or deleted objectives. 
Such adoptions, changes, or deletions shall become effective 
30 days after notice of publication in the Virginia Register 
COT approved revisions. COT approved revisions require a 
minimum of 30 days' notice to certified training academies 
prior to becoming effective. 

6VAC20-20-30. Applicability.  

A. Every A person employed as a full-time or part-time law-
enforcement officer, as defined by § 9-169 (9) § 9.1-101 of 
the Code of Virginia, subsequent to after July 1, 1971, shall 
satisfactorily complete the compulsory minimum training 
standards and the requirements for law-enforcement officers 
as identified in 6VAC20-20-21 and 6VAC20-20-40.  

B. The director may grant an exemption or partial exemption 
from the compulsory minimum training standards and the 
requirements set forth in 6VAC20-20-21 to a law-
enforcement officer of any a political subdivision of the 
Commonwealth who has had previous experience and 
training as provided in § 9-173 § 9.1-116 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

C. Any A person not employed as a full-time or part-time 
law-enforcement officer on July 1, 1971, who remains out of 
law-enforcement law enforcement for more than 24 months, 
upon reappointment as a full-time or part-time law-
enforcement officer, shall be required to comply with the 
compulsory minimum training standards and the requirements 
identified in 6VAC20-20-21 unless provided otherwise in 
accordance with subsection B of this section.  

6VAC20-20-40. Time requirement for completion of 
training.  

A. Every law-enforcement officer who is Law-enforcement 
officers required to comply with the compulsory minimum 
training standards requirements of 6VAC20-20-21 shall 
satisfactorily complete such training the requirements within 
12 months of the date of hire or appointment as a law-
enforcement officer.  

B. The director, or his the director's designee, may grant an 
extension of the time limit for completion of the compulsory 
minimum training standards under the following conditions 
and requirements for the following reasons: 

1. Illness Medical condition; 

2. Injury;  

3. Military service; or 

4. Special duty assignment required and performed in the 
public interest; 

5. Administrative leave involving the determination of 
worker's compensation or disability retirement issues, full-
time educational leave or suspension pending investigation 
or adjudication of a crime; or.  

6. Any other reason documented by the agency 
administrator. Such reason shall be specified and  

C. The director or the director's designee may review and 
consider other reasons (e.g., natural disaster, family medical 
leave, etc.) for granting an extension. If approval is granted 
the extension shall not exceed 90 days.  

D. The director shall not grant an extension for:  

1. Failing to pass compulsory minimum training standards 
and requirements within specified time limits.  

2. Failing the certification examination.  

E. The agency administrator may request an extension from 
the director or the director's designee.  

1. The request shall be in writing and include written 
documentation articulating the reason the individual is 
unable to complete the required training within the 
specified time limits.  

2. The request shall be submitted to the department before 
the expiration of the specified time limits. 

C. F. Law-enforcement officers who do not satisfactorily 
complete compulsory minimum training standards and 
requirements within 12 months of employment hire or 
appointment as a law-enforcement officer, or who do not 
receive an extension of the time limit for completion of 
training the requirements, shall be subject to the provisions of 
§ 9-181 § 9.1-115 of the Code of Virginia.  
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G. The department shall notify the agency administrator of 
any officer individuals not in compliance with the 
requirements of this section.  

6VAC20-20-50. Compliance with compulsory minimum 
training standards. (Repealed.) 

A. The compulsory minimum training standards shall be 
accomplished by satisfactory completion of the academy 
training objectives and criteria at a certified training academy 
and the successful completion of field training objectives 
unless otherwise provided by 6VAC20-20-30 B.  

B. Officers attending approved training are required to 
attend all classes and shall not be placed on duty or call 
except in cases of emergency.  

6VAC20-20-61. Certified training academies. (Repealed.)  

A. To become a certified academy, a state or local unit of 
government must demonstrate a need which contains the 
following elements:  

1. The inability to obtain adequate training from existing 
academies or a sufficient hardship which renders the use of 
other existing academies impractical.  

2. Based upon a training needs assessment, a sufficient 
number of officers to warrant the establishment of a full-
time training function for a minimum of five years.  

B. In addition, the state or local unit of government must 
make the following commitments:  

1. The provision of a full range of training to include entry-
level training, in-service training, recertification training, 
specialized training and instructor certification.  

2. The assignment of one position with primary 
responsibility as academy director and one clerical position 
to support training and training-related functions.  

3. The maintenance of a training facility adequate to 
conduct training in accordance with academy certification 
standards.  

4. The commitment of sufficient funding to adequately 
support the training function.  

C. Process.  

1. The state or local governmental unit shall submit a 
justification to the Committee on Training as described in 
subsection B of this section. The Committee on Training 
shall review the justification and make a recommendation 
to the department as to whether the establishment of an 
academy is warranted.  

2. If the Committee on Training recommends the 
establishment of the proposed academy, the department 
shall make a determination as to whether the establishment 
of the academy is warranted.  

3. If the establishment of the academy is approved by the 
department, the proposed academy must successfully 
complete the academy certification process.  

D. The certified training academy shall submit to the 
department its curriculum and other information as designated 
within time limitations established by the department.  

E. Each academy director shall maintain a file of all current 
lesson plans and supporting material for training objectives 
and shall provide this information to the director upon 
request.  

F. A certified training academy is subject to inspection and 
review by the director or his staff.  

G. The department may suspend or revoke the certification 
of any certified training academy upon written notice, which 
shall contain the reason or reasons upon which the suspension 
or revocation is based, to the academy's director. The 
academy's director may request a hearing before the director. 
The request shall be in writing and shall be received by the 
department within 15 days of the date of the notice of the 
suspension or revocation. The academy's director may appeal 
the director's decision to the board.  

6VAC20-20-70. Grading Attendance, testing, and grading.  

A. All certified training academies shall utilize testing 
procedures which indicate that every officer has satisfactorily 
completed the criteria in each training objective approved by 
the Committee on Training of the Criminal Justice Services 
Board. Attendance. 

1. Officers attending approved training are required to 
attend all classes and shall not be placed on duty or on call 
except in cases of an emergency. If there is an emergency 
(e.g., natural disaster, catastrophic event, etc.) the agency 
administrator or designee shall determine if it is 
appropriate to place officers on duty or on call and shall 
advise the academy director within 24 hours.  

2. Officers shall be responsible for any material missed 
during an excused absence.  

B. Academy testing. 

1. Officers shall comply with the requirements of 
subdivision B 1 of 6VAC20-20-21.  

2. Each officer shall meet all the training objectives and 
pass each criteria for testing related to every performance 
outcome approved by the COT.  

3. An officer may be tested and retested as may be 
necessary within the time limits of 6VAC20-20-40 and in 
accordance with each the certified training academy's 
written policy.  

B. Certified training academies shall maintain accurate 
records of all tests, grades and testing procedures. Academy 
training records must be maintained in accordance with the 
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provisions of these rules and §§ 42.1-76 through 42.1-91 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

C. Law-enforcement certification exam. Upon documented 
compliance with the compulsory minimum training standards 
identified in subdivision B 1 of 6VAC20-20-21 officers will 
be eligible to complete the law-enforcement certification 
exam.  

6VAC20-20-80. Failure to comply with rules and 
regulations.  

A. Any individual attending a certified training academy 
shall comply with the rules and regulations promulgated by 
the department. The academy director shall be responsible for 
enforcement of all rules and regulations established to govern 
the conduct of attendees. 

If the academy director considers a violation of B. 
Individuals violating the rules and regulations governing the 
certified training academy determined to be detrimental to the 
welfare of the certified training academy, the academy 
director may expel the individual or the safety of officers, 
visitors, or personnel may be expelled from the academy.  

C. Notification of such action shall an expulsion will 
immediately be reported, in writing, to the agency 
administrator of the individual in accordance with the rules 
and regulations within the authority of the certified training 
academy and the department.  

6VAC20-20-90. Administrative requirements.  

A. Reports will be required from the agency administrator 
and academy director on forms approved by the department 
and at such times as designated by the director. Law-
enforcement agencies will receive a roster containing the 
names of those officers who have satisfactorily completed the 
compulsory minimum training standards within 60 days of 
completion.  

B. The law-enforcement agency shall complete the 
department authorized field training completion form (Form 
B-13) documenting the completion of field training for 
officers.  

C. The agency administrator shall forward a properly 
executed field training form sign and submit the field training 
completion form to the department for each officer, within 12 
months of employment hire or appointment.  

C. The academy director shall, within 30 days upon 
completion of approved training, comply with the following:  

1. Submit to the department a roster containing the names 
of those officers who have satisfactorily completed the 
compulsory minimum training standards.  

2. Submit to the department the final curriculum with the 
training objectives, hours and instructor names listed.  

D. The academy director shall furnish each instructor with 
the applicable performance outcomes, criteria and lesson plan 
guides for assigned subject matter. Records and 
documentation shall be open to audit, inspection, and review 
by the department upon request.  

E. Training records shall be maintained in accordance with 
the provisions of this chapter and the Virginia Public Records 
Act (§ 42.1-76 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

6VAC20-20-120. Certification status and in-service 
training. 

A. All full-time and part-time law-enforcement officers of a 
police department or sheriff's office that is part of or 
administered by the Commonwealth or any political division, 
law-enforcement officers as defined in § 9.1-101 of the Code 
of Virginia, and all jail officers as defined in § 53.1-1 of the 
Code of Virginia must be certified through the successful 
completion of training at an approved criminal justice training 
academy in order to remain eligible for appointment or 
employment. 

B. Officers shall comply with in-service training and 
firearms training requirements identified in 6VAC20-30. 

6VAC20-20-130. Certified training academies. 

Every criminal justice agency under the purview of the 
department shall be a member of a certified training academy.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (6VAC20-20)  

Application for Exemption From Virginia Compulsory 
Minimum Training Standards, Form W-2, eff. 1/91  

Field Training: Law Enforcement, B-13, rev. 1/98  

Criminal Justice Training Roster, Form 41, rev. 4/94  

Application for Exemption from Virginia Compulsory 
Minimum Training Standards, Form W-2, (rev. 5/2018) 

Field Training: Law Enforcement, B-13, (rev. 5/2018) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(6VAC20-20) 

Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Field 
Training and On the Job Training Performance Outcomes, 
published September 2012, Virginia Department of Criminal 
Justice Services (Revised January 2018) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f0557005427%7E1n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f0557005427%7E1n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b0ed8005427%7E2E.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dff6a005427%7E3g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dff6a005427%7E3g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dff6a005427%7E3g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dff6a005427%7E3g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
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6VAC20-50-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Academy director" means the chief administrative officer 
of a certified training academy.  

"Agency administrator" means any chief of police, sheriff 
or, agency head of a state or local law-enforcement agency, or 
agency head of a local correctional facility as defined in 
§ 53.1-1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Academy director" means the chief administrative officer 
of a certified training academy.  

"Approved training" means training approved by the 
department to meet minimum training standards.  

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board.  

"Certified training academy" means a training facility in 
compliance with academy certification or recertification 
standards operated by the state or local unit(s) unit of 
government that is owned, leased, rented, or used exclusively 
for the purpose of providing instruction of compulsory 
minimum training standards training criminal justice 
professionals regulated by the department and board.  

"Committee on Training" or "COT" means the standing 
committee of the board that is charged with reviewing 
proposed changes to the standards, holding public hearings 
receiving and reviewing public comments, and approving 
changes to the standards as needed. 

"Compulsory minimum training standards" means the 
written performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria for 
testing, and lesson plan guides approved by the Committee on 
Training and the minimum hours approved by the board.  

"Curriculum Review Committee" or "CRC" means a 
committee consisting of nine individuals representing the 
conduct of entry-level jailor or custodial officer, courthouse 
and courtroom security officer, and process service officer 
training. The composition of the committee shall be three 
representatives of sheriffs' offices, three representatives of 
regional jails, two and three representatives from academies, 
and one representative of the Department of Criminal Justice 
Services Jails Training Unit. The Committee on Training 
shall appoint the members of the Curriculum Review 
Committee.  

"Department" means the Department of Criminal Justice 
Services.  

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the 
department or the director's designee.  

"Full-time attendance" means that officers in training shall 
attend all classes and shall not be placed on duty or call 
except in cases of emergency for the duration of the school.  

"School director" means the chief administrative officer of 
an approved training school.  

"Requirements" means the core elements a jail officer, 
deputy sheriff, court security officer, or civil process officer 
needs to accomplish to obtain department certification. 

6VAC20-50-20. Compulsory minimum training 
standards.  

A. Pursuant to the provisions of subdivisions 7, 8, and 9 of 
§ 9.1-102 and § 53.1-120 of the Code of Virginia, the 
department under the direction of the board establishes the 
standards for Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for 
full and part-time Jailors or Custodial Officers, Courthouse 
and Courtroom Security Officers, and Process Service 
Officers. The complete document may be found on the 
Department of Criminal Justice Services' website at 
www.dcjs.virginia.gov. compulsory minimum training 
standards for full-time and part-time deputy sheriffs and jail 
officers as defined in § 53.1-1 of the Code of Virginia; 
persons designated to provide courthouse and courtroom 
security pursuant to § 53.1-120 of the Code of Virginia; and 
persons designated to serve process pursuant to § 8.01-293 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

B. Academy training categories - Jailor Individuals hired as 
deputy sheriffs or jail officers as defined in § 53.1-1 of the 
Code of Virginia shall meet or exceed compulsory minimum 
training standards at a certified training academy and 
complete field training requirements. Certification requires 
deputy sheriffs and jail officers comply with the following: 

1. Successfully complete jail officer department approved 
training at a certified training academy in the following 
categories: 

1. a. Professionalism; 

2. b. Legal Issues; 

3. Communications c. Communication; 

4. Operations d. Jail operations; 

5. e. Investigations; 

6. f. Defensive Tactics/Use tactics and use of Force 
force; 

7. g. Weapons Use; and 

8. h. Driver Training training and transportation. 

2. Meet or exceed the performance outcomes in the 
category of field training identified in the Virginia 
Department of Criminal Justice Services Field Training 
and On the Job Training Performance Outcomes.  

C. Jailor or Custodial Officer Field Training Category 9  

D. Academy training categories – Courthouse and 
Courtroom Security Officer.  
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Individuals hired as courthouse and courtroom security 
officers shall meet or exceed compulsory minimum training 
standards at a certified training academy and complete field 
training requirements. Certification requires courthouse and 
courtroom security officers comply with the following: 

1. Successfully complete courthouse and courtroom 
security officers department approved training at a certified 
training academy in the following categories:  

1. Court Security a. Professionalism; 

2. b. Legal Issues; 

3. Communications c. Communication; 

4. d. Court Security Operations security operations; 

5. Court Security e. Investigations; 

6. f. Defensive Tactics/Use tactics and use of Force 
force; 

7. g. Weapons Use; and 

8. Transportation h. Driver training and transportation. 

E. Courthouse and Courtroom Security Officer Field 
Training Category 9 

2. Meet or exceed the performance outcomes in the 
category of field training identified in the Virginia 
Department of Criminal Justice Services Field Training 
and On the Job Training Performance Outcomes.  

D. Individuals hired as deputy sheriffs and designated to 
serve process shall meet or exceed compulsory minimum 
training standards at a certified training academy and 
complete field training requirements. Certification requires 
courthouse and courtroom security officers comply with the 
following: 

1. Successfully complete process service officer 
department approved training at a certified training 
academy in the following categories:  

F. Academy training categories – Process Service Officer.  

1. Process Service Officer Operations a. Professionalism; 

2. b. Legal Issues; 

3. Communications c. Communication; 

4. d. Civil Process Operations process operations; 

5. Civil Process Investigations 

6. e. Defensive Tactics/Use tactics and use of Force 
force; 

7. f. Weapons Use; and 

8. Transportation g. Driver training. 

G. Process Service Officer Field Training Category 9 

2. Meet or exceed the performance outcomes in the 
category of field training identified in the Virginia 
Department of Criminal Justice Services Field Training 
and On the Job Training Performance Outcomes.  

6VAC20-50-21. Approval authority.  

A. The Criminal Justice Services Board board shall be the 
approval authority for the training categories of the 
compulsory minimum training standards identified in 
6VAC20-50-20. Amendments to the training categories shall 
be made in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia).  

B. The Committee on Training of the Criminal Justice 
Services Board shall be the approval authority for the 
performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and 
lesson plan guides that support the performance outcomes.  

1. Performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and 
lesson plan guides supporting the compulsory minimum 
training standards may be added, deleted, or amended by 
the Committee on Training COT based upon on written 
recommendation of a chief of police, sheriff, agency 
administrator, academy director, Curriculum Review 
Committee (CRC), interested party, or member of the 
community. 

Any suggestions 2. Suggestions received related to 
performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and 
lesson plan guides shall be reviewed at the regularly 
scheduled meeting of the Curriculum Review Committee 
CRC. If comment is received at any public hearing, the 
Committee on Training may make a decision at that time. 
Changes to the training categories will only be made in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Process Act The CRC shall present recommendations for 
revisions to the COT. 

C. Prior to Before approving changes to the performance 
outcomes, training objectives, criteria, or lesson plan guides, 
the Committee on Training COT shall conduct a public 
hearing schedule an opportunity for public comment during a 
meeting of the COT. Sixty A minimum of 60 days prior to 
before the public hearing meeting of the COT, the proposed 
changes shall be distributed to all affected parties certified 
training academies for the opportunity to comment. Notice of 
change of changes to the performance outcomes, training 
objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides shall be filed for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations upon 
adoption, change, or deletion.  

D. The department shall notify each certified training 
academy in writing of any new, revised, or deleted objectives. 
Such adoptions, changes, or deletions shall become effective 
30 days after notice of publication in the Virginia Register. 
COT approved revisions. COT approved revisions require a 
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minimum of 30 days' notice to certified training academies 
prior to becoming effective. 

6VAC20-50-30. Applicability.  

A. Every A person employed as a jailor or custodial sheriff 
deputy or jail officer as defined in § 53.1-1 of the Code of 
Virginia and in accordance with subdivision 9 of § 9.1-102 of 
the Code of Virginia shall meet compulsory minimum 
training standards and requirements established in subsections 
subsection B, C, and D of 6VAC20-50-20 and 6VAC20-50-
40 unless provided otherwise in accordance with subsection 
D of this section.  

B. Every person employed as a Courthouse and Courtroom 
Security Officer courthouse and courtroom security officer in 
accordance with subdivision 7 of § 9.1-102 of the Code of 
Virginia shall meet compulsory minimum training standards 
established in subsections E and F subsection C of 6VAC20-
50-20 and 6VAC20-50-40 unless provided otherwise in 
accordance with subsection D of this section.  

C. Every person employed as a Deputy Sheriff Designated 
to Serve Process deputy sheriff designated to serve process in 
accordance with § 15.2-1612.1 of the Code of Virginia shall 
meet compulsory minimum training standards established in 
subsections G and H subsection D of 6VAC20-50-20 and 
6VAC20-50-40 unless provided otherwise in accordance with 
subsection D of this section.  

D. The director may grant an exemption or partial 
exemption of the compulsory minimum training standards as 
established herein in this chapter, in accordance with § 9.1-
116 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. Deputy sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse and courtroom 
security officers, and deputy sheriffs designated to serve 
process who originally complied with all applicable training 
requirements and later separated from deputy sheriff, jail 
officer, courthouse and courtroom security officer, and deputy 
sheriff designated to serve process status in excess of 24 
months, upon reentry as a deputy sheriff, jail officer, 
courthouse and courtroom security officer, or deputy sheriff 
designated to serve process will be required to complete all 
compulsory minimum training standards in accordance with 
6VAC20-50-20 unless provided otherwise in accordance with 
subsection D of this section.  

6VAC20-50-40. Time requirement for completion of 
training.  

A. Every jailor or custodial officer, courthouse and 
courtroom security officer and process service officer Deputy 
sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse and courtroom security 
officers, and deputy sheriffs designated to serve process who 
is are required to comply with the compulsory minimum 
training standards shall satisfactorily complete such training 
within 12 months of the date of appointment or hire as a jailor 
or custodial officer, courtroom security officer or process 

service officer deputy sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse and 
courtroom security officers, and deputy sheriffs designated to 
serve process unless provided otherwise in accordance with 
subsection B of this section.  

B. The director or director's designee may grant an extension 
of the time limit for completion of the compulsory minimum 
training required upon presentation of evidence by the agency 
administrator that such officer was unable to complete the 
required training within the specified time limit due to illness, 
injury, military service, special duty assignment required and 
performed in the public interest or leave without pay or 
suspension pending investigation or adjudication of a crime. 
The agency administrator shall request such extension prior to 
expiration of any time limit.  

C. Any jailor or custodial officer, courthouse and courtroom 
security officer or process service officer who originally 
complied with all applicable training requirements and later 
separated from jailor or custodial officer, courtroom security 
officer, process service officer status, in excess of 24 months, 
upon reentry as a jailor, courthouse and courtroom security 
officer/process server will be required to complete all 
compulsory minimum training standards unless provided 
otherwise in accordance with 6VAC20-50-30 D. standards 
and requirements for the following reasons: 

1. Medical condition; 

2. Injury; 

3. Military service; or 

4. Administrative leave involving the determination of 
worker's compensation or disability retirement issues or 
suspension pending investigation or adjudication of a 
crime. 

C. The director or director's designee may review and 
consider other reasons (e.g., natural disaster, family medical 
leave, etc.) for granting an extension. If approval is granted 
the extension shall not exceed 90 days.  

D. The director shall not grant an extension for failing to 
pass compulsory minimum training standards within the 
specified time limits.  

E. Deputy sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse and courtroom 
security officers, and deputy sheriffs designated to serve 
process who do not satisfactorily complete the compulsory 
minimum training standards and requirements within 12 
months of hire or appointment as a deputy sheriff, jail officer, 
courthouse and courtroom security officer, or deputy sheriff 
designated to serve process, or who do not receive an 
extension of the time limit for completion of the 
requirements, shall be subject to the provisions of § 9.1-115 
of the Code of Virginia. 
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F. The department shall notify the agency administrator of 
individuals not in compliance with the requirements of this 
section. 

6VAC20-50-50. How compulsory minimum training may 
be attained. (Repealed.) 

A. The compulsory minimum training standards shall be 
attained by attending and satisfactorily completing 
performance outcomes at certified training academy and field 
training requirements.  

B. Officers attending a certified training academy are 
required to attend all classes and should not be placed on duty 
or on call except in cases of emergency.  

C. All certified training academies that begin on or after July 
1, 2007, shall be conducted in conformance with the Rules 
Relating to Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for 
Jailors or Custodial Officers, Courthouse and Courtroom 
Security Officers and Process Service Officers as amended by 
the board on September 14, 2006. However, the period July 1, 
2007, through June 30, 2008, shall serve as a transition period 
wherein certified training academies may be approved by the 
department to conduct training according to the Rules 
Relating to Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for 
Jailors or Custodial/Courthouse and Courtroom Security 
Officers/Deputy Sheriffs Designated to Serve Process as 
amended by the board on April 4, 1990, or according to the 
Rules Relating to Compulsory Minimum Training Standards 
for Jailors or Custodial Officers, Courthouse and Courtroom 
Security Officers and Process Service Officers as amended by 
the board on September 14, 2006.  

6VAC20-50-60. Certified training academies. (Repealed.) 

A. To become a certified academy, a state or local unit of 
government must demonstrate a need that contains the 
following elements:  

1. The inability to obtain adequate training from existing 
academies or a sufficient hardship that renders the use of 
other existing academies impractical.  

2. Based upon a training needs assessment, a sufficient 
number of officers to warrant the establishment of a full-
time training function for a minimum of five years.  

B. In addition, the state or local unit of government must 
make the following commitments:  

1. Provide a full range of training to include entry-level 
training, in-service training, instructor certification and 
recertification training and specialized training.  

2. Assignment of one position with primary responsibility 
as academy director and one clerical position to support 
training and training-related functions.  

3. Maintain a training facility adequate to conduct training 
in accordance with academy certification standards.  

4. Commitment of sufficient funding to adequately support 
the training function.  

C. Process.  

1. The state or local governmental unit shall submit a 
justification, as outlined in subsection B of this section, to 
the Committee on Training, which shall review the 
justification and make a recommendation to the department 
as to whether the establishment of an academy is 
warranted.  

2. If the Committee on Training recommends the 
establishment of the proposed academy, the department 
shall make a determination as to whether the establishment 
of the academy is warranted.  

3. If the establishment of the academy is approved by the 
department, the proposed academy must successfully 
complete the academy certification process and be in 
compliance with § 15.2-1747 of the Code of Virginia.  

D. Each certified academy director shall maintain a file of 
all current lesson plans and supporting material for each 
subject contained in the compulsory minimum training 
standards. The certified training academy shall submit to the 
department its curriculum and other information as designated 
within time limits established by the department.  

E. Certified academies that are approved shall be subject to 
inspection and review by the director.  

F. The department may suspend or revoke the approval of a 
certified training school academy upon written notice to the 
academy's director. The notice shall contain the reason(s) 
upon which the suspension or revocation is based. The 
academy's director may request a hearing before the director 
or his designee. The request shall be in writing and must be 
received by the department within 15 days of the date of the 
notice of suspension/revocation. The school's director may 
appeal the decision of the director or his designee to the 
board. Such request shall be in writing and must be received 
by the board within 15 days of the date of the decision of the 
director or his designee.  

6VAC20-50-70. Grading Attendance, testing, and grading.  

A. All certified training academies shall utilize testing 
procedures that indicate that every officer, prior to 
satisfactory completion of the training, has passed the criteria 
for testing and met the training objectives related to each 
performance outcome specified in the document entitled 
"Performance Outcomes for Compulsory Minimum Training 
Standards for Jailors or Custodial Officer, Courthouse and 
Courtroom Security Officers and Process Service Officers."  

A. Attendance. 

1. Deputy sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse and courtroom 
security officers, and deputy sheriffs designated to serve 
process attending approved training are required to attend 
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all classes and shall not be placed on duty or on call except 
in cases of emergency (e.g., natural disaster, etc.). In the 
event of such an emergency, the agency administrator or 
designee shall determine if it is appropriate to place 
officers on duty or on call and shall advise the academy 
director within 24 hours. 

2. Officers shall be responsible for any material missed 
during an excused absence. 

B. Academy testing. 

1. Deputy sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse and courtroom 
security officers, and deputy sheriffs designated to serve 
process shall meet all the training objectives and pass all 
criteria for testing related to each performance outcome 
approved by the COT of the board. 

2. The officer may be tested and retested as may be 
necessary within the time limits of 6VAC20-50-40 A and 
each certified training academy's written policy. An officer 
shall not be certified as having complied with the 
compulsory minimum training standards unless all 
applicable requirements have been met.  

C. Certified training academies shall maintain accurate 
records of all tests, grades and testing procedures. Academy 
training records must be maintained in accordance with the 
provisions of these rules and §§ 42.1-76 through 42.1-91 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

6VAC20-50-80. Failure to comply with rules and 
regulations.  

Any individual A. Individuals attending a certified training 
academy shall comply with the rules and regulations 
promulgated by the department. The academy director shall 
be responsible for enforcement of all rules and regulations 
established to govern the conduct of attendees.  

If the academy director considers a violation of the rules and 
regulations B. Individuals violating the rules and regulations 
governing the certified training academy determined to be 
detrimental to the welfare of the academy, the academy 
director may expel the officer from the academy or the safety 
of officers, visitors, or personnel may be expelled. 
Notification of such action shall an expulsion will 
immediately be reported, in writing, to the agency 
administrator of the officer in accordance with rules and 
regulations within the authority of the certified training 
academy individual and the department.  

6VAC20-50-90. Administrative requirements.  

The academy director shall maintain a final curriculum that 
includes performance outcomes, hours and instructor names.  

A. Criminal justice agencies will receive a roster containing 
the names of those deputy sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse 
and courtroom security officers, and deputy sheriffs 
designated to serve process who have satisfactorily completed 

the compulsory minimum training standards within 60 days 
of completion.  

B. The agency shall complete the appropriate department 
authorized field training completion form (Form J-1, Form 
CS-1, and Form CP-1) documenting the completion of field 
training for officers.  

C. The agency administrator shall sign and submit the field 
training completion form to the department for each officer 
within 12 months of hire or appointment.  

D. Records and documentation shall be open to audit, 
inspection, and review by the department upon request.  

E. Training records shall be maintained in accordance with 
the provisions of this chapter and the Virginia Public Records 
Act (§ 42.1-76 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

6VAC20-50-120. Certification status and in-service 
training. 

A. Full-time and part-time law-enforcement officers of a 
police department or sheriff's office that is part of or 
administered by the Commonwealth or any political division, 
law-enforcement officers as defined in § 9.1-101 of the Code 
of Virginia, and all jail officers as defined in § 53.1-1 of the 
Code of Virginia must be certified through the successful 
completion of training at an approved criminal justice training 
academy in order to remain eligible for appointment or 
employment. 

B. Deputy sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse and courtroom 
security officers, and deputy sheriffs designated to serve 
process shall comply with in-service training and firearms 
training requirements identified in 6VAC20-30. 

6VAC20-50-130. Certified training academies. 

Every criminal justice agency under the purview of the 
department shall be a member or a certified training academy.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (6VAC20-50)  

Application for Exemption from Virginia Compulsory 
Minimum Training Standards, Form W-2 (rev. 8/05)  

Application for Exemption from Virginia Compulsory 
Minimum Training Standards, Form W-2 (rev. 5/2018) 

Field Training: Jail Deputy and Jail Officer, J-1, (5/2018) 

Field Training: Court Security Officer, CS-1, (5/2018) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b4fc6005427%7E4n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b4fc6005427%7E4n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dfdcc005427%7E58.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=549ff005427%7E68.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
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Field Training: Civil Process Officers, CP-1, (5/2018) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(6VAC20-50) 

Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Field 
Training and On the Job Training Performance Outcomes, 
published September 2012, Virginia Department of Criminal 
Justice Services (Revised January 2018) 

6VAC20-60-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Academy director" means the chief administrative officer 
of a certified training academy.  

"Agency administrator" means any chief of police, sheriff, 
or agency head of a state or local law-enforcement agency, or 
non-law-enforcement head of a communications center.  

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board.  

"Certified training academy" means a training facility in 
compliance with academy certification or recertification 
standards and operated by the state or local unit(s) unit of 
government that is owned, leased, rented, or used exclusively 
for the purpose of providing instruction of compulsory 
minimum training standards training criminal justice 
professionals regulated by department and board.  

"Committee on Training" or "COT" means the standing 
committee of the board that is charged with reviewing 
proposed changes to the standards, receiving and reviewing 
public comments, and approving changes to the standards as 
needed. 

"Compulsory minimum training standards" means the 
written performance outcomes approved by the Committee on 
Training and minimum hours approved by the Criminal 
Justice Services Board.  

"Curriculum Review Committee" means the committee 
consisting of the following nine individuals: two members of 
the committee shall represent regional criminal justice 
academies, two members of the committee shall represent 
independent criminal justice academies, one member shall 
represent the Department of State Police Training Academy, 
and four experienced communications personnel shall 
represent emergency communication functions. The 
Committee on Training shall appoint members of the 
Curriculum Review Committee.  

"Department" means the Department of Criminal Justice 
Services.  

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the 
Department of Criminal Justice Services department or the 
director's designee.  

"Dispatcher" means any person employed by or in any local 
or state government agency either full time or part-time part 
time whose duties include the dispatching of law-enforcement 
personnel.  

"Emergency medical dispatcher training" means training 
which meets or exceeds the training objectives as provided in 
Performance Outcome 1.6, which is set out in 6VAC20-60-
100.  

"Standard" means Performance Outcome, Training 
Objective, Criteria for Testing, and Lesson Plan Guide 
relating to compulsory minimum training for dispatchers and 
is found on the department's website.  

"VCIN/NCIC training" means approved training as specified 
by the Virginia Department of State Police for dispatchers 
accessing Virginia Crime Information Network/National 
Crime Information Center information.  

"Mandated training" means training that satisfies 
compulsory minimum training requirements (i.e., basic and 
in-service training). 

"Satellite facility" means a temporary facility located away 
from the certified academy facility, which the certified 
academy uses exclusively to conduct in-service training. 

6VAC20-60-20. Compulsory minimum training 
standards.  

A. Pursuant to the provisions of subdivision 10 of § 9.1-102 
(10) of the Code of Virginia, the department under the 
direction of the board establishes the categories of training as 
listed below in subsection B of this section as the compulsory 
minimum training standards for dispatchers: whose duties 
include dispatching for law enforcement. 

B. Individuals hired as dispatchers shall meet or exceed the 
compulsory minimum training standards in the following 
categories at a certified training academy: 

1. Category 1 - Communications. Communication; 

2. Category 2 - Dispatcher Judgment. judgment; 

3. Category 3 - Legal Issues.; and 

4. Category 4 - Professionalism. 

5. Category 5 - On-the-Job Training.  

C. Individuals hired as dispatchers shall meet or exceed the 
performance outcomes in the category of on-the-job training 
identified in the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice 
Services Field Training and On the Job Training Performance 
Outcomes.  

6VAC20-60-25. Approval authority.  

A. The Criminal Justice Services Board board shall be the 
approval authority for the training categories of the 
compulsory minimum training standards identified in 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e80e005427%7E78.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb28b005427%7E8g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb28b005427%7E8g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb28b005427%7E8g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb28b005427%7E8g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
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6VAC20-60-20. Amendments to training categories shall be 
made in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

B. The Committee on Training of the Criminal Justice 
Services Board (COT) shall be the approval authority for the 
performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and 
lesson plan guides that support the performance outcomes.  

1. Performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and 
lesson plan guides supporting the compulsory minimum 
training standards may be added, deleted, or amended by 
the Committee on Training COT based upon on written 
recommendation of a chief of police, sheriff, agency 
administrator, academy director, non-law-enforcement 
head of a communications center, or the Curriculum 
Review Committee (CRC).  

2. Suggestions received related to performance outcomes, 
training objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides shall be 
reviewed by the CRC. The CRC shall present 
recommendations for revisions to the COT. 

Prior to C. Before approving changes to the performance 
outcomes, training objectives, criteria, or lesson plan guides, 
the Committee on Training COT shall conduct a public 
hearing schedule an opportunity for public comment during a 
meeting of the COT. Sixty A minimum of 60 days prior to 
before the public hearing meeting of the COT, the proposed 
changes shall be distributed to all affected parties certified 
training academies for the opportunity to comment. Notice of 
change of changes to the performance outcomes, training 
objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides shall be filed for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations upon 
adoption, change, or deletion.  

D. The department Department shall notify each certified 
training academy in writing of any new, revised, or deleted 
objectives COT approved revisions. Such adoptions, changes, 
or deletions shall become effective 30 days after notice of 
publication in the Virginia Register COT approved revisions 
require a minimum of 30 days' notice to certified training 
academies prior to becoming effective. 

6VAC20-60-30. Applicability.  

A. All Full-time or part-time dispatchers employed by or in 
any local or state government agency whose duties include 
the dispatching of law-enforcement personnel and who were 
hired on or after July 1, 1988, must meet compulsory 
minimum training standards established at the time of their 
appointment, and requirements as identified in 6VAC20-60-
20 and 6VAC20-60-40 unless provided otherwise in 
accordance with subsection B of this chapter section.  

B. The director may grant an exemption or partial exemption 
of the compulsory minimum training standards established 
herein in this chapter, in accordance with § 9.1-116 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

C. Any dispatcher having previously and successfully 
completed the compulsory minimum training standards who 
resigns and is reappointed within 24 months from departure 
will not be required to complete the academy training class.  

6VAC20-60-40. Time requirement for completion of 
training.  

A. Every dispatcher who is Dispatchers required to comply 
with the compulsory minimum training standards must 
satisfactorily complete the required training set forth in 
6VAC20-60-20, within 24 months of the date of appointment 
as a dispatcher, unless provided otherwise in accordance with 
subsection B of this section.  

B. The director may grant an extension of the time limit for 
completion of the compulsory minimum training standards 
under and requirements for the following conditions: reasons.  

1. The chief of police, sheriff, or agency administrator shall 
present written notification that the dispatcher was unable to 
complete the required training within the specified time limit 
due to:  

a. Illness 1. Medical condition;  

b. 2. Injury;  

c. 3. Military service; or 

d. Special duty assignment required and performed in the 
public interest;  

e. 4. Administrative leave involving the determination of 
workers' compensation or disability retirement issues, or 
suspension pending investigation or adjudication of a 
crime; or.  

f. Any other reason documented by the agency 
administrator. Such reason must be specific and any C. The 
director or the director's designee may review and consider 
other reasons (e.g., natural disaster, family medical leave, 
etc.) for granting an extension. If approval is granted, the 
extension shall not exceed 90 days.  

2. Any extension granted under subdivision 1 e of this 
subsection shall require the dispatcher to complete 
compulsory minimum training prior to resuming job 
duties. Requests may be granted for periods not to exceed 
12 months.  

D. The director shall not grant an extension for failing to 
pass compulsory minimum training standards and 
requirements within specified time limits.  

E. The agency administrator may request an extension from 
the director or the director's designee. 

1. The request shall be in writing and include written 
documentation articulating the reason the individual is 
unable to complete the required training within the 
specified time limits.  
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2. The request shall be submitted to the department before 
the expiration of the specified time limits. 

3. Dispatchers who do not satisfactorily complete 
compulsory minimum training standards within 24 months 
of appointment as a dispatcher and who do not receive an 
extension of the time limit for completion of the 
requirements shall be subject to the provisions of § 9.1-115 
of the Code of Virginia.  

3. The agency administrator must request such extension 
prior to expiration of any time limit.  

C. Any dispatcher having previously and successfully 
completed the compulsory minimum training standards who 
resigns and is reappointed within 24 months from departure 
will not be required to complete the academy training class.  

6VAC20-60-50. Compliance with compulsory minimum 
training standards. (Repealed.) 

A. The compulsory minimum training standards shall be 
accomplished by satisfactory completion of the academy 
training objectives at a certified training academy and the 
successful completion of on-the-job training objectives as 
provided by 6VAC20-60-30 B.  

B. Dispatchers attending compulsory minimum training at a 
certified training academy are required to attend all classes 
and should not be placed on duty or call except in cases of 
emergency.  

C. The Criminal Justice Services Board will provide a 
transition period for implementation of this chapter. The 
transition period shall begin January 1, 2002. During the 
transition period, certified training academies may conduct 
dispatcher entry-level training using the performance 
objectives within the "Rules Relating to Compulsory 
Minimum Training Standards for Dispatchers," effective 
January 1, 1994, or the performance outcomes and training 
objectives. Accordingly, any certified training academy may 
institute a curriculum transition by replacing existing 
performance objectives with the revised performance 
outcomes and training objectives. Effective January 1, 2003, 
all entry-level training programs shall meet the requirements 
of 6VAC20-60-100.  

6VAC20-60-60. Approved training schools. (Repealed.)  

A. Dispatcher classroom training may only be provided by a 
certified training academy. The certified training academy 
shall submit to the department the curriculum and other 
information as designated, within time limitations established 
by the department.  

B. Each academy director will be required to maintain a file 
of all current lesson plans and supporting materials for each 
subject contained in the compulsory minimum training 
standards.  

C. A certified training academy is subject to inspection and 
review by the director or staff.  

D. To become a certified academy, a state or local unit of 
government must demonstrate a need that contains the 
following elements:  

1. The inability to obtain adequate training from existing 
academies or a sufficient hardship that renders the use of 
other existing academies impractical.  

2. Based upon a training needs assessment, a sufficient 
number of officers to warrant the establishment of a full-
time training function for a minimum of five years.  

E. In addition, the state or local unit of government must 
make the following commitments:  

1. The provision of a full range of training to include entry-
level training and specialized training.  

2. The assignment of one position with primary 
responsibility as academy director and one clerical position 
to support training and training related functions and 
instructor certification.  

3. The maintenance of a training facility adequate to 
conduct training in accordance with academy certification 
standards.  

4. The commitment of sufficient funding to adequately 
support the training function.  

F. Process.  

1. The state or local governmental unit shall submit a 
justification to the Committee on Training as described in 
subsection D of this section. The Committee on Training 
shall review the justification and make a recommendation 
to the department as to whether the establishment of an 
academy is warranted.  

2. If the Committee on Training recommends the 
establishment of the proposed academy, the department 
shall make a determination as to whether the establishment 
of the academy is warranted.  

3. If the establishment of the academy is approved by the 
department, the proposed academy must successfully 
complete the academy certification process.  

G. The certified training academy shall submit to the 
department its curriculum and other information as designated 
within time limitations established by the department.  

H. Each academy director shall maintain a file of all current 
lesson plans and supporting material for training objectives, 
and shall provide this information to the director upon 
request.  

I. A certified training academy is subject to inspection and 
review by the director or his staff.  
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J. The department may suspend or revoke the certification of 
any certified training academy upon written notice, which 
shall contain the reason or reasons upon which the suspension 
or revocation is based, to the academy's director. The 
academy's director may request a hearing before the director. 
The request shall be in writing and shall be received by the 
department within 15 days of the date of the notice of the 
suspension or revocation. The academy's director may appeal 
the director's decision to the board.  

6VAC20-60-70. Grading Attendance, testing, and grading.  

A. All certified training academies shall utilize testing 
procedures that indicate that every dispatcher has 
satisfactorily completed the criteria in each training objective 
approved by the Committee on Training of the Criminal 
Justice Services Board. Attendance. 

1. Dispatchers attending approved training are required to 
attend all classes and shall not be placed on duty or on call 
except in cases of an emergency. If there is an emergency 
(e.g., natural disaster, catastrophic event, etc.) the agency 
administrator or designee shall determine if it is 
appropriate to place dispatchers on duty or on call and shall 
advise the academy director within 24 hours.  

2. Dispatchers shall be responsible for any material missed 
during an excused absence.  

B. Academy testing. 

1. Dispatchers shall comply with the requirements of 
6VAC20-60-20.  

2. Each dispatcher shall meet all the training objectives and 
pass each criteria for testing related to every performance 
outcome approved by the COT. 

3. A dispatcher may be tested and retested as may be 
necessary within the time limits of 6VAC20-60-40 and in 
accordance with each the certified training academy's 
written policy.  

B. Certified training academies shall maintain accurate 
records of all tests, grades and testing procedures. Academy 
training records must be maintained in accordance with the 
provisions of this chapter and §§ 42.1-76 through 42.1-91 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

C. Every individual attending compulsory minimum training 
shall satisfactorily complete each required performance 
outcome, training objective, and criteria, and any optional job 
related subject performance requirements, where applicable. 
Any individual who fails to satisfactorily complete any 
performance outcomes or objectives in any subject will be 
required to attend that subject in a subsequent approved 
dispatcher training school and satisfactorily complete the 
required performance objective or objectives.  

6VAC20-60-80. Failure to comply with rules and 
regulations.  

A. Any individual attending a certified training academy 
shall comply with the rules and regulations promulgated by 
the department. The academy director shall be responsible for 
enforcement of all rules and regulations established to govern 
the conduct of attendees.  

If the academy director considers a violation of the rules and 
regulations B. Individuals violating the rules and regulations 
governing the certified training academy determined to be 
detrimental to the welfare of the certified training academy, 
the academy director may expel the individual or the safety of 
dispatchers, visitors, or personnel may be expelled from the 
certified training academy.  

C. Notification of such action shall an expulsion will 
immediately be reported, in writing, to the agency 
administrator of the dispatcher and the director individual and 
the department.  

6VAC20-60-90. Administrative requirements.  

A. Reports will be required from the agency administrator 
and academy director on forms approved or provided by the 
department and at such times as designated by the director. 
Agencies will receive a roster containing the names of those 
dispatchers who have satisfactorily completed the compulsory 
minimum training standards within 60 days of completion. 

B. The agency shall complete the department authorized on-
the-job training completion form (Form D-1) documenting 
the completion of on-the-job training for dispatchers. 

C. The agency administrator shall, within the time 
requirement set forth in subsection A of 6VAC20-60-40, sign 
and forward a properly executed on-the-job training form to 
the department for each dispatcher. 

C. The academy director shall, within 30 days upon 
completion of the dispatcher training:  

1. Submit to the department a roster containing the names 
of those dispatchers who have satisfactorily completed the 
compulsory minimum training standards.  

2. Submit to the department the final curriculum with the 
training objectives and instructor names listed.  

D. The academy director shall furnish each instructor with 
the performance based training and testing objectives for the 
assigned subject matter.  

E. Each certified training academy shall maintain accurate 
records of all tests, grades and testing procedures.  

D. Records and documentation shall be open to audit, 
inspection, and review by the department upon request.  
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E. Dispatcher training records shall be maintained in 
accordance with the provisions of these regulations this 
chapter and the Virginia Public Records Act §§ 42.1-67 
through 42.1-91 (§ 42.1-76 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

6VAC20-60-95. Certified training academies. 

Every criminal justice agency under the purview of the 
department shall be a member of a certified training academy.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (6VAC20-60)  

Application for Exemption From Virginia Compulsory 
Minimum Training Standards, Form W-2, rev. 04/10. 

On the Job Training Dispatchers, Form D-1, rev. 09/02. 

Application for Exemption from Virginia Compulsory 
Minimum Training Standards, Form W-2 (rev. 5/2018) 

On the Job Training Dispatchers, Form D-1 (rev. 5/2018) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(6VAC20-60) 

Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Field 
Training and On the Job Training Performance Outcomes, 
published September 2012, Virginia Department of Criminal 
Justice Services (Revised January 2018) 

6VAC20-70-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meaning meanings, unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise.:  

"Approved training school" means a training school which 
provides instruction of at least the minimum training 
standards as mandated by the board and has been approved by 
the department for the specific purpose of training criminal 
justice personnel.  

"Academy director" means the chief administrative officer 
of a certified training academy.  

"Agency administrator" means any chief of police, sheriff, 
agency head of a state or local law-enforcement agency, or 
the director of the Department of Corrections or his designee. 

"Approved training" means training approved by the 
department to meet minimum training standards. 

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board.  

"Certified training academy" means a training facility in 
compliance with academy certification or recertification 
standards and operated by the state or local unit of 
government that is owned, leased, rented, or used exclusively 
for the purpose of training criminal justice professionals 
regulated by department and board. 

"Committee on Training" or "COT" means the standing 
committee of the board that is charged with reviewing 
proposed changes to the standards, receiving and reviewing 
public comments, and approving changes to the standards as 
needed. 

"Curriculum Review Committee" means the committee 
consisting of nine individuals representing the Department of 
Corrections. Two members of the committee shall represent 
the western region, two members shall represent the eastern 
region, two members shall represent the central region, and 
three members shall represent the Department of Corrections 
administration. 

"Department" means the Department of Criminal Justice 
Services.  

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the 
department or the director's designee.  

"Noncustodial employee" includes means those employees 
specifically designated by the director of the Department of 
Corrections who, by their appointment, must carry a weapon.  

"School director" means the chief administrative officer of 
an approved training school.  

"Satellite facility" means a temporary facility located away 
from the certified academy facility, which the certified 
academy uses exclusively to conduct in-service training. 

6VAC20-70-20. Compulsory minimum training standards 
for noncustodial employees.  

Pursuant to the provisions of §§ 18.2-308 (5), 19.2-81.2, 9-
170 and 53.1-29 of the Code of Virginia, the board 
establishes the following as the compulsory minimum 
training standards for noncustodial employees of the 
Department of Corrections:  

        Hours 

  1. General   1 

    a. Orientation    
    b. Evaluation    

  2. Skills   4 

   a. Firearms (Four hours classroom 
plus range firing) 

 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5660b005427%7E9n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5660b005427%7E9n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49211005427%7E108.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=41dbf005427%7E11g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=41dbf005427%7E11g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=41dbf005427%7E11g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=41dbf005427%7E11g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf


Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 11, 2018 

2098 

  3. Legal Matters  3 

   a. Corrections and Related 
Law 

1   

   b. Legal Responsibility and 
Authority of Employees 

2   

   TOTAL  8 plus 
range 

A. Pursuant to the provisions of § 9.1-102 of the Code of 
Virginia, the department under the direction of the board shall 
establish the compulsory minimum training standards for the 
Department of Corrections, Division of Adult Institutions. 
Pursuant to §§ 19.2-81.2 and 53.1-29 of the Code of Virginia 
noncustodial employees of the Department of Corrections 
who have the authority to detain an individual and 
noncustodial employees who have been designated to carry a 
weapon by the Director of the Department of Corrections 
shall meet or exceed the compulsory minimum training 
standards at a certified training academy or satellite facility.  

B. Noncustodial employees shall comply with the following 
noncustodial employee training that includes receiving a 
minimum of 80 hours of department approved training in the 
following categories: 

1. Security and supervision; 

2. Communication; 

3. Safety; 

4. Emergency response; 

5. Conflict and crisis management; 

6. Law and legal; 

7. Duty assignments and responsibilities; 

8. Professionalism; and 

9. Firearms training. 

6VAC20-70-25. Approval authority. 

A. The board shall be the approval authority for the training 
categories and hours identified in 6VAC20-70-20 of the 
compulsory minimum training standards. Amendments to 
training categories shall be made in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

B. The Committee on Training (COT) shall be the approval 
authority for the performance outcomes, training objectives, 
criteria, and lesson plan guides that support the performance 
outcomes. Performance outcomes, training objectives, 
criteria, and lesson plan guides supporting the compulsory 
minimum training standards may be added, deleted, or 
amended by the COT based upon written recommendation of 
the director of the Department of Corrections, a chief of 

police, sheriff, agency administrator, academy director, or the 
Curriculum Review Committee. 

C. Before approving changes to the performance outcomes, 
training objectives, criteria, or lesson plan guides, the COT 
shall schedule an opportunity for public comment during a 
meeting of the COT. A minimum of 60 days before to the 
meeting of the COT, the proposed changes shall be 
distributed to all certified training academies for an 
opportunity to comment. Notice of changes to the 
performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and 
lesson plan guides shall be filed for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations.  

D. The department shall notify each certified training 
academy in writing of any COT approved revisions. COT 
approved revisions require a minimum of 30 days' notice to 
certified training academies prior to becoming effective. 

6VAC20-70-30. Applicability.  

Every A. A person employed in a noncustodial position who 
by appointment to that position has been designated by the 
Director of the Department of Corrections to carry a weapon 
must shall meet the requirements and compulsory minimum 
training standards herein established in 6VAC20-70-20 and 
6VAC20-70-40.  

B. Noncustodial employees meeting all of the following 
conditions shall not be required to complete the compulsory 
minimum training standards: 

1. The noncustodial employee was previously employed as 
a corrections officer; 

2. The noncustodial employee originally complied with all 
the compulsory minimum training requirements of 
6VAC20-100 (Rules Relating to compulsory Minimum 
Training Standards for Correctional Officers of the 
Department of Corrections, Division of Adult Institutions); 
and 

3. At the time of appointment a period of 24 months or less 
has passed since the noncustodial employee served in the 
position of a corrections officer. 

6VAC20-70-40. Time required for completion of training.  

A. Every No noncustodial employee, so designated as 
defined in this chapter, shall not carry a weapon until the 
compulsory minimum training standards as set forth in 
6VAC20-70-20 have been satisfactorily completed.  

B. Every noncustodial employee, so designated as defined in 
this chapter, shall satisfactorily complete the compulsory 
minimum training standards for noncustodial employees 
within 120 days 12 months of assuming a position which that 
is designated as a noncustodial position.  
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C. The director may grant an extension of the time limit for 
completion of the compulsory minimum training standards 
and requirements for the following reasons: 

1. Medical condition; 

2. Injury; 

3. Military service; or 

4. Administrative leave involving the determination of 
worker's compensation or disability retirement issues or 
suspension pending investigation or adjudication of a 
crime.  

D. The director may review and consider other reasons (e.g., 
natural disaster, family medical leave, etc.) for granting an 
extension. If approval is granted, the extension shall not 
exceed 90 days. 

E. The director shall not grant an extension for failing to 
pass compulsory minimum training standards within the 
specified time limits. 

F. Any noncustodial employee who originally complied with 
all training requirements and later separated from 
noncustodial employee or correctional officer status for a 
period of 24 months or less, upon reentry as a noncustodial 
employee, shall be required to complete compulsory in-
service training and complete annual firearms training set 
forth in 6VAC20-70-115. 

G. Any noncustodial employee who originally complied 
with all training requirements and later separated from 
noncustodial employee or corrections officer status for a 
period greater than 24 months, upon reentry as a noncustodial 
employee, shall be required to complete all compulsory 
minimum training standards set forth in this chapter. 

6VAC20-70-50. How compulsory minimum training 
standards may be attained. (Repealed.)  

A. The compulsory minimum training standards shall be 
attained by attending and satisfactorily completing an 
approved training school.  

B. Noncustodial employees attending an approved training 
school are required to attend all classes and should not be 
placed on duty or on call except in cases of emergency.  

6VAC20-70-60. Approved training schools. (Repealed.)  

A. Noncustodial employees training schools must be 
approved by the department prior to the first scheduled class. 
Approval is requested by making application to the director 
on forms provided by the department. The director may 
approve those schools which on the basis of curricula, 
instructors, facilities, and examinations, provide the required 
minimum training. One application for all mandated training 
shall be submitted prior to the beginning of each fiscal year. 
A curriculum listing the subject matter, instructors, dates and 
times for the entire proposed training session shall be 

submitted to the department 30 days prior to the beginning of 
each proposed session. An exemption to the 30 day 
requirement may be waived for good cause shown by the 
school director.  

B. Each school director will be required to maintain a 
current file of all current lesson plans and supporting material 
for each subject contained in the compulsory minimum 
training standards.  

C. Schools which are approved will be subject to inspection 
and review by the director or staff, or both.  

D. The department may suspend the approval of an 
approved training school upon written notice, which shall 
contain the reason(s) upon which the suspension is based, to 
the school's director. The school's director may request a 
hearing before the director or his designee. The request shall 
be in writing and must be received by the department within 
15 days of the date of the notice of suspension. The school's 
director may appeal the decision of the director or his 
designee to the board. Such request shall be in writing and 
must be received by the board within 15 days of the date of 
the decision of the director or his designee.  

E. The department may revoke the approval of an approved 
training school upon written notice, which shall contain the 
reason(s) upon which the revocation is based, to the school's 
director. The school's director may request a hearing before 
the director or his designee. The request shall be in writing 
and must be received by the department within 15 days of the 
date of the notice of revocation. The school's director may 
appeal the decision of the director or his designee to the 
board. Such request shall be in writing and must be received 
by the board within 15 days of the date of the decision of the 
director or his designee.  

6VAC20-70-70. Grading Attendance, requirements, 
testing, and grading.  

A. All written examinations shall include a minimum of two 
questions for each hour of mandatory instruction. This 
requirement likewise includes the classroom instruction on 
performance-oriented subject matter.  

B. All noncustodial employees shall attain a minimum grade 
of 70% in each grading category to satisfactorily complete the 
compulsory minimum training standards. Any noncustodial 
employee who fails to attain the minimum 70% in any 
grading category will be required to take all subjects 
comprising that grading category in a subsequent approved 
training school.  

A. Attendance. 

1. Noncustodial employees attending approved training are 
required to attend all classes and shall not be placed on 
duty or on call except in cases of an emergency (e.g., 
natural disaster, riot, etc.). In the event of such an 
emergency, the agency administrator or designee shall 



Regulations 

Volume 34, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 11, 2018 

2100 

determine if it is appropriate to place the noncustodial 
employee on duty or on call and shall advise the academy 
director within 24 hours.  

2. Noncustodial employees shall be responsible for any 
material missed during an excused absence.  

B. Academy testing.  

1. Noncustodial employees shall meet all the training 
objectives and pass all criteria for testing related to each 
performance outcome approved by the COT. 

2. A noncustodial employee may be tested and retested as 
may be necessary within the time limits of 6VAC20-70-40 
and each certified training academy's written policy. A 
noncustodial employee shall not be certified as having 
complied with the compulsory minimum training standards 
unless all applicable requirements have been met.  

C. Approved noncustodial employee training schools shall 
maintain accurate records of all tests, grades and testing 
procedures. Academy training records must be maintained in 
accordance with the provisions of these rules and §§ 42.1-76 
through 42.1-91 of the Code of Virginia.  

6VAC20-70-80. Firearms. (Repealed.)  

The following firearms training will be applicable to 
noncustodial employees of the Department of Corrections 
who have been designated to carry a weapon:  

1. Classroom - Service handgun, shotgun and special 
weapons (four hours).  

a. Nonmenclature and Care of Weapons  

b. Safety  

c. Legal Aspects of Firearms Use  

d. Principles of Shooting  

e. Special Weapons (as utilized by the Department of 
Corrections) - Familiarization, no firing  

2. Range.  

a. Service Handgun.  

(1) combat course (double action)  

60 rounds  

Silhouette Target  

Qualification - 70% (5 points per hit on silhouette)  

(Minimum 210 points out of a possible 300 points)  

(2) Course.  

7 yards - two handed crouch - 6 rounds (one on whistle)  

7 yards - two handed crouch - 6 rounds (two on whistle)  

7 yards - two handed crouch - 12 rounds (30 seconds 
from whistle)  

15 yards - two handed point shoulder - 6 rounds (one on 
whistle)  

15 yards - two handed point shoulder - 6 rounds - (two on 
whistle)  

15 yards - two handed point shoulder - 12 rounds (30 
seconds from whistle)  

25 yards - two handed point shoulder - 6 rounds (10 
seconds/right hand)  

25 yards - two handed point shoulder - 6 rounds (10 
seconds/left hand)  

b. Shotgun  

10 rounds  

Bobber Target  

No. 4 Buck  

Qualification - 80% (10 points per hit on bobber target)  

25 yards - shoulder position - 10 rounds  

6VAC20-70-90. Recertification. (Repealed.)  

A. All noncustodial employees shall recertify every other 
calendar year by satisfactorily completing the firearms 
training set forth in 6VAC20-70-80. The specific time frame 
for compliance by currently certified noncustodial employees 
is enumerated in subsections C and D. Any noncustodial 
employee who does not comply as set forth below in 
subsections C and D shall be subject to the provisions of § 9-
181 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. All noncustodial employees shall be required to qualify 
annually with service handgun and shotgun in accordance 
with 6VAC20-70-80.  

C. All noncustodial employees whose recertification due 
date is in 1987 shall comply with the recertification 
requirements by December 31, 1987, and thereafter by 
December 31 of every other calendar year.  

D. All noncustodial employees whose recertification due 
date is in 1988 shall comply with the recertification 
requirements by December 31, 1988, and thereafter by 
December 31 of every other calendar year.  

6VAC20-70-100. Failure to comply with rules and 
regulations.  

A. Noncustodial employees Any individual attending an 
approved training school certified training academy shall 
comply with the rules and regulations promulgated by the 
department and any other rules and regulations within the 
authority of the school director board. The academy director 
of the school shall be responsible for enforcement of all rules 
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and regulations established to govern the conduct of 
attendees. 

If the school director considers a violation of the rules and 
regulations B. Any individual violating the rules and 
regulations governing the certified training academy 
determined to be detrimental to the welfare of the school, the 
school director may expel the noncustodial employee certified 
training academy or the safety of the noncustodial employees, 
officers, visitors, or personnel may be expelled from the 
school academy. 

Consistent with Department of Corrections' policy, 
notification of such action shall C. Notification of an 
expulsion will immediately be reported in writing to the 
supervisor of the individual expelled and the appropriate 
Department of Corrections Division Director agency 
administrator or designee and the department.  

6VAC20-70-110. Administrative requirements.  

A. Reports will be required from the school director on 
forms approved by the department and at such times as 
designated by the director.  

B. The school director shall, within 30 days upon 
completion of an approved training school, comply with the 
following:  

1. Submit to the department a roster containing the names 
of those noncustodial employees who have satisfactorily 
completed all training requirements and, if applicable, a 
revised curriculum for the training session.  

C. The school director shall furnish each instructor with a 
complete set of course resumes and objectives for the 
assigned subject matter.  

A. Records and documentation shall be open to audit, 
inspection, and review by the department upon request. 

B. Training records shall be maintained in accordance with 
the provisions of this chapter and the Virginia Public Records 
Act (§ 42.1-76 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

6VAC20-70-115. In-service training and annual firearms 
training. 

A. Every two years, noncustodial employees as defined in 
6VAC20-70-10 shall complete a total of 40 hours of in-
service training as identified in this subsection by December 
31 of the second calendar year after completing approved 
training at a certified training academy or satellite facility. 

1. Cultural diversity training for two hours. 

2. Legal training for four hours. 

3. Career development or elective training for 34 hours. 
Subjects to be provided are at the discretion of the 
academy director. 

B. Firearms training. Every noncustodial employee required 
to carry a firearm in the performance of duty shall qualify 
annually using the applicable firearms course approved by the 
COT of the board. Annual range qualification shall include a 
review of issues and policies relating to weapons safety, 
nomenclature, maintenance, and use of force. With prior 
approval of the director, a reasonable modification of the 
firearms course may be approved to accommodate 
qualification on indoor ranges. 

6VAC20-70-120. Effective date. (Repealed.)  

These rules shall be effective on and after July 1, 1987, and 
until amended or repealed.  

6VAC20-70-130. Adopted: October 12, 1979. (Repealed.)  

Amended: April 1, 1987.  

FORMS (6VAC20-70)  

Criminal Justice Training Roster, Form 41, eff. 1/93.  

CHAPTER 90  
RULES RELATING TO REGIONAL CRIMINAL JUSTICE 

TRAINING ACADEMIES  

6VAC20-90-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meaning meanings, unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise.:  

"Academy director" means the chief administrative officer 
of a certified training academy. 

"Agency administrator" means any chief of police, sheriff, 
or agency head of a state or local law-enforcement agency. 

"Approved training" means any training approved by the 
department to meet minimum training standards. 

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board.  

"Certified training academy" means a training facility in 
compliance with academy certification or recertification 
standards operated by the state or local unit of government 
that is owned, leased, rented, or used exclusively for the 
purpose of training criminal justice professionals regulated by 
the department and board. 

"Committee on Training" or "COT" means the standing 
committee of the board that is charged with reviewing 
proposed changes to the standards, receiving and reviewing 
public comments, and approving changes to the standards as 
needed. 

"Compulsory minimum training standards" means the 
written performance outcomes approved by the Committee on 
Training and the minimum hours approved by the Criminal 
Justice Services Board. 

"Department" means the Department of Criminal Justice 
Services. 
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"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the 
department.  

"External classroom" means a training room approved by 
the department located away from the certified academy, 
which the certified academy uses to conduct mandated 
training, using full-time academy staff with general 
instructorships. 

"Mandated training" means training that satisfies 
compulsory minimum training requirements (i.e., basic and 
in-service training). 

"Regional Academy" means Regional Criminal Justice 
Training Academy. 

"Satellite facility" means a temporary facility located away 
from the certified academy facility, which the certified 
academy uses exclusively to conduct in-service training.  

6VAC20-90-20. Designation.  

A. The regional academies set forth below in this subsection 
are designated as regional academies and are eligible to 
receive allocated funds from the department.  

Cardinal Criminal Justice Academy  

Salem, Virginia  

Central Shenandoah Criminal Justice Training Academy  

Waynesboro, Virginia  

Central Virginia Criminal Justice Academy  

Lynchburg, Virginia  

Crater Criminal Justice Academy  

Petersburg, Virginia  

Hampton Roads Regional Academy of Criminal Justice  

Newport News, Virginia  

New River Criminal Justice Training Academy  

Radford, Virginia  

Northern Virginia Criminal Justice Academy  

Ashburn, Virginia  

Piedmont Regional Criminal Justice Training Academy  

Martinsville, Virginia  

Rappahannock Regional Criminal Justice Academy  

Fredericksburg, Virginia  

Skyline Regional Criminal Justice Academy 

Front Royal, Virginia 

Southwest Law Enforcement Virginia Criminal Justice 
Academy  

Bristol, Virginia  

B. Jurisdictions may operate their own certified independent 
training academies if approved by the department; however, 
no state funds will be available for such academies. A 
jurisdiction, within or without the Commonwealth, may join a 
regional academy at any time subject to complying with the 
policies established by the board requirements of §§ 15.2-
1300 and 15.2-1747 of the Code of Virginia, and this chapter.  

C. A regional academy site may be changed by the academy 
governing body with the approval of the board.  

D. Training, where practical, shall be conducted at 
designated satellite locations throughout the geographical 
confines of the regional academy to ensure minimum travel 
for student officers.  

E. The board shall define geographical boundaries of 
designated regional academies.  

6VAC20-90-30. Academy governing body.  

Each regional academy shall have a charter, which shall be 
established in accordance with § §§ 15.2-1300 and 15.2-1747 
of the Code of Virginia. The charter shall, in accordance with 
guidelines established by the board, create an academy 
governing body and specify the composition, authority and 
functions of the academy governing body and selection 
criteria and duties of the regional academy director.  

6VAC20-90-40. Funds.  

The department will disburse funds to the regional 
academies designated in 6VAC20-90-20 in accordance with 
the appropriations made to the department for the purpose of 
providing financial support to the regional training 
academies. Financial reports An operating budget and 
independent audit by a third-party auditor will be required as 
determined by the department to be submitted to the 
department annually.  

6VAC20-90-60. Academy creation. 

A. Conduct training needs assessment. To determine if a 
need exists for the creation of a certified training academy, a 
state or local unit of government must complete a training 
needs assessment. The needs assessment will evaluate the 
following:  

1. The inability to obtain adequate training from existing 
academies.  

2. A hardship that renders the use of other existing 
academies impractical. 

3. The number of criminal justice professionals (i.e., 
students) the certified training academy would serve.  

4. That there are a sufficient number of criminal justice 
professionals, financial resources, and academy personnel 
to support the creation and maintenance of a full-time 
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regional or independent training academy for a minimum 
of five years. 

B. Identify and acknowledge commitments. The state or 
local unit of government shall in writing make the following 
commitments: 

1. The provision of a full range of training to include basic 
training, in-service training, and instructor certification and 
recertification training.  

2. The assignment of one position with primary 
responsibility as academy director and one clerical, 
financial officer, or support position to support training and 
training-related functions.  

3. The provision of adjunct instructors to instruct classes 
and courses. 

4. The maintenance of a training facility adequate to 
conduct training in accordance with academy certification 
standards. 

5. The commitment of sufficient funding to adequately 
support the training function. 

C. Review and consideration. 

1. The state or local governmental unit shall submit a 
training needs assessment and written commitments to the 
Committee on Training (COT) as described in subsections 
A and B of this section.  

2. The COT shall review the assessment and make a 
recommendation to the department as to whether the 
creation of an academy is warranted. 

3. If the COT recommends the creation of the proposed 
academy, the department shall make a determination as to 
whether the creation of an academy is warranted. 

a. If the creation of a regional academy is approved by 
the department, the governing bodies or political 
subdivisions of the proposed academy must successfully 
complete the academy certification process and be in 
compliance with the provisions of § 15.2-1747 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

b. If the creation of an independently operated academy 
is approved by the department, the governing body of the 
proposed academy must successfully complete the 
academy certification process and be in compliance with 
the provisions of subsection D of § 15.2-1747 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

6VAC20-90-70. Academy certification. 

A. An academy shall not conduct mandated training until the 
academy meets all certification requirements.  

B. Training academies, all places of operation (i.e., satellite 
facilities, external classrooms, firing range, driving course, 
etc.), and the records are subject to audit, inspection, and 

review by the department. Audits and inspections may be 
announced or unannounced.  

C. The academy must formally request academy 
certification status from the department and meet the 
following requirements:  

1. The department will establish a mutually agreeable date 
with the academy director and conduct the on-site 
assessment for academy certification. 

2. The academy shall meet 100% the academy certification 
standards identified in the DCJS Certified Criminal Justice 
Training Academy Certification Checklist and Report in 
each of the following categories:  

a. Administration;  

b. Personnel; 

c. Facility;  

d. Instruction; and  

e. Satellite facility. 

3. Certification is valid for one year from the date of 
certification. 

a. In order to maintain certification status, the academy 
must successfully complete the academy recertification 
process before the expiration of the original certification.  

b. The recertification will extend the expiration date to 
June 30 of the third year following the date of 
recertification.  

D. If the academy does not meet one or more certification 
standards identified in the DCJS Certified Criminal Justice 
Training Academy Certification Checklist and Report:  

1. The academy director will receive written notification of 
the certification standards that have not been met and the 
date when a reassessment will be conducted. 

2. The department shall provide the written notification 
and date of reassessment within five business days of the 
last date of assessment.  

3. The academy will be given time to correct the situation, 
not to exceed 60 days. 

4. Department staff shall reassess the academy. If the 
academy does not meet one or more of the certification 
standards upon reassessment, the department will provide 
written notification of the standards not met during 
reassessment to the academy director and agency 
administrator or board chairman of the academy. The 
academy will have a maximum of 30 days to comply with 
all certification standards. 

5. A second reassessment will be conducted no later than 
30 days following the first reassessment. If the academy is 
still not in compliance with all certification standards at the 
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time of the second reassessment, the department shall not 
certify the academy. 

6. The academy director may appeal the findings of the 
academy certification to the director. The decision of the 
director is final. 

E. Academies failing to meet the certification requirements 
or losing on appeal shall restart the academy certification 
process identified within this section beginning with 
6VAC20-90-70 C.  

6VAC20-90-80. Academy recertification. 

A. A certified training academy shall not conduct mandated 
training for courses in which it is not in compliance with 
regulatory and certification requirements. 

B. A certified training academy, all places of operation (i.e., 
satellite facilities, firing range, driving course, etc.), and the 
records are subject to audit, inspection, and review by the 
department. Audits and inspections may be announced and 
unannounced.  

C. The certified training academy must successfully 
complete the academy recertification process before June 30 
of the third year from the last date of recertification.  

D. The department will establish a mutually agreeable date 
with the academy director and conduct the on-site assessment 
for academy recertification. 

1. The certified training academy shall meet 100% of the 
academy certification standards identified in the DCJS 
Certified Criminal Justice Training Academy 
Recertification Checklist and Report in each of the 
following categories: 

a. Administration;  

b. Personnel; 

c. Facility;  

d. Instruction; and  

e. Satellite facility. 

2. If the certified training academy does not meet one or 
more recertification standards identified in the DCJS 
Certified Criminal Justice Training Academy 
Recertification Checklist and Report:  

a. The academy director will receive written notification 
of the recertification standards that have not been met 
along with a department drafted corrective action plan 
and the date when a reassessment will be conducted 
within five business days from the last date of 
assessment.  

b. The certified training academy will be given time to 
correct the situation, not to exceed 60 days. 

c. The department staff shall reassess the certified 
training academy. If the certified training academy does 
not meet one or more of the certification standards upon 
reassessment, the department will provide written 
notification of the standards not met during reassessment 
to the academy director and agency administrator, or 
board chairman of the certified training academy. The 
certified training academy will have a maximum of 30 
days to comply with all certification standards. 

d. A second reassessment will be conducted no later than 
30 days following the first reassessment. If the certified 
training academy is still not in compliance with all 
certification standards at the time of the second 
reassessment, the director shall suspend the academies 
certification in accordance with 6VAC20-90-100 and 
conduct a hearing within 30 days to determine the status 
of the academy's certification. 

E. The director shall review all pertinent documents.  

1. The academy will have an opportunity to make a verbal 
presentation.  

2. After a review of all pertinent information, the director 
shall determine the status of the academy certification.  

F. The academy director may seek appeal to the enforcement 
actions identified in 6VAC20-90-100 of the academy 
recertification assessment.  

1. The academy director may request a hearing before 
Executive Committee of the Criminal Justice Services 
Board. The request shall be in writing and shall be received 
by the department within 15 days of the date of the notice 
of probation, suspension, or revocation.  

2. The academy will have an opportunity to make a verbal 
presentation before the executive committee.  

3. After a review of all pertinent information, the executive 
committee shall determine the status of the certification.  

6VAC20-90-90. Training requirements, approvals, audits, 
inspections, and reviews. 

A. The certified training academy shall conduct mandated 
(e.g., basic) training using the Virginia Criminal Justice 
Services Training Manual and Compulsory Minimum 
Training Standards for:  

1. Law enforcement officers in accordance with the 
requirements of 6VAC20-20-21 B 1. 

2. Deputy sheriffs and jail officers in accordance with the 
requirements of 6VAC20-50-20 B 1. 

3. Courthouse and courtroom security officers in 
accordance with the requirements of 6VAC20-50-20 C 1. 

4. Deputy sheriffs designated to serve process in 
accordance with the requirements of 6VAC20-50-20 D 1. 
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5. Dispatchers in accordance with the requirements of 
6VAC20-60-20 B. 

6. Noncustodial employees of the Department of 
Corrections designated by the Director of the Department 
of Corrections to carry a weapon in accordance with the 
requirements of 6VAC20-70-20. 

7. Correctional officers of the Department of Corrections 
in accordance with the requirements of 6VAC20-100-20 B 
1. 

B. The certified training academy shall submit to the 
department its curriculum containing the performance 
outcomes, instructor names, and the dates and times for all 
basic training, including all instructor schools and field 
training officer schools, and a letter requesting approval (e.g., 
memorandum of transmittal) at least 30 days before the start 
of the course.  

C. The department shall review the documents submitted, 
and if approved, the department shall notify the certified 
training academy in writing of course approval.  

D. The certified training academy shall approve in-service 
training in accordance with the requirements identified in 
6VAC20-30.  

E. The department shall conduct training audits, inspections, 
and review.  

6VAC20-90-100. Enforcement actions for recertification. 

A. The department shall use the enforcement actions 
provided in this subsection when identifying noncompliance 
of this chapter that varies from the intent of this chapter by 
academies and certified academies.  

1. Probation is a written notification for violations of 
department rules or regulations requiring continuous 
oversight by the department for a specific duration of time.  

2. Suspension is a written notification of the removal of 
authorization to conduct, instruct, or hold specified courses 
or schools for violations of this chapter for a specific 
duration of time.  

3. Revocation is a written notification by the director of the 
deactivation and removal of authorization issued under 
certification to operate as a certified training academy for 
violations of this chapter for an indefinite period of time.  

B. The enforcement actions and procedures provided in this 
subsection are not mutually exclusive. The department may 
invoke as many enforcement actions as the situation requires. 

1. The department may consider probation, suspension, or 
revocation status for a certified training academy with 
documented noncompliance for one or more academy 
recertification standards when the certified training 
academy has failed to correct the noncompliance in 

accordance with the recertification process and timeline 
identified in 6VAC20-90-80.  

2. If there is a life, health, or safety issue or felonious 
criminal activity occurring during any department or 
academy approved training, at any location, the director 
may unilaterally revoke the academy's certification. The 
status of the revocation shall be reviewed at the next 
scheduled Criminal Justice Services Board meeting.  

6VAC20-90-110. Enforcement actions for instruction and 
training. 

A. The department shall use the enforcement actions 
provided in this subsection when identifying noncompliance 
of this chapter by certified training academies.  

1. Probation is a written notification for violations of 
department rules or regulations requiring continuous 
oversight by the department for a specific course or class.  

2. Suspension is a written notification of the removal of 
authorization to conduct, instruct, or hold specified courses 
or schools for violations of this chapter. 

B. The department may conduct training audits inspections 
and reviews and immediately suspend a class, course, or 
training if there is a violation of academy certification or 
recertification standard or requirements or if there is a life, 
health, or safety issue or felonious criminal activity occurring 
at an academy or a satellite facility. The suspension shall 
remain in place until the noncompliance is corrected. 

C. The department may assign probation status to a certified 
training academy's course or class. This allows a certified 
academy to conduct a class with oversight from the 
department.  

D. Probation and suspension status shall be reviewed by the 
department upon compliance with all requirements.  

6VAC20-90-120. Attendance, testing, grading, and 
recordkeeping. 

A. The certified training academy shall establish, maintain, 
and follow a policy that requires criminal justice 
professionals to attend all classes except in emergency 
situations (i.e., natural disaster, catastrophic event, etc.) and 
notify criminal justice professionals of their responsibility for 
any material missed during an excused absence per academy 
policy.  

B. The certified training academy shall utilize testing 
procedures that indicate that every criminal justice 
professional has satisfactorily completed the criteria for every 
training objective and performance outcome approved by the 
Committee on Training of the Criminal Justice Services 
Board and located in the Virginia Criminal Justice Services 
Training Manual and Compulsory Minimum Training 
Standards. 
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C. A criminal justice officer may be tested and retested as 
may be necessary within the time limits of 6VAC20-20-40, 
6VAC20-50-40, 6VAC20-60-40, 6VAC20-70-40, or 
6VAC20-100-40 and in accordance with each certified 
training academy's written policy.  

D. Law-enforcement certification exam.  

1. The department shall generate and proctor the law-
enforcement certification exam.  

2. All certified training academies shall document that each 
law-enforcement officer has complied with all minimum 
training standards in all categories identified in 6VAC20-
20-21 before scheduling the law-enforcement certification 
exam. 

3. Upon documented compliance with the minimum 
training standards identified in 6VAC20-20-21 officers 
will be eligible to complete the law-enforcement 
certification exam.  

E. The academy director shall certify criminal justice 
professional have complied with the applicable rules relating 
to the compulsory minimum training standards and 
requirements. The academy director shall submit the 
following information using the department's electronic 
training records management system within 60 days of the 
last day of completing the compulsory minimum training or 
in-service training. 

1. Name of certified training academy and academy 
director's name; 

2. Start and end dates of training; 

3. Name and type of course; 

4. Social security number of criminal justice professionals;  

5. Last name, first name, and middle initial of criminal 
justice professionals; 

6. Name of criminal justice professional's employing 
agency; and 

7. Academy director's signature and date. 

F. Certified training academies shall maintain accurate 
records of all tests, grades, and testing procedures.  

G. The certified training academy director shall maintain a 
file of all current lesson plans and supporting material for 
training objectives and shall provide this information to the 
director upon request. 

H. The certified training academy shall maintain training 
records in accordance with the provisions of this chapter and 
the Virginia Public Records Act (§ 42.1-76 et seq. of the 
Code of Virginia).  

6VAC20-90-130. Failure to comply with rules and 
regulations. 

A. The academy director shall be responsible for 
enforcement of all rules and regulations established to govern 
the conduct of attendees. 

B. Any individual attending a certified training academy 
shall comply with the rules and regulations promulgated by 
the certified training academy and the department. 

C. Individuals violating the rules and regulations governing 
the certified training academy or violating the rules of the 
certified training academy determined to be detrimental to the 
welfare of the academy or the safety of officers, visitors, or 
personnel may be expelled.  

D. Notification of expulsion will immediately be reported in 
writing to the agency administrator of the individual and the 
department. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(6VAC20-90) 

DCJS Certified Criminal Justice Training Academy 
Certification Checklist and Report, May 2018, Virginia 
Department of Criminal Justice Services 

DCJS Certified Criminal Justice Training Academy 
Recertification Checklist and Report, May 2018, Virginia 
Department of Criminal Justice Services 

Satellite Facility Worksheet, May 2018, Virginia 
Department of Criminal Justice Services 

Virginia Criminal Justice Services Training Manual and 
Compulsory Minimum Training Standards, published online 
September 2012, (Revised March 2018) available on the 
Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services website at 
https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/law-enforcement/manual  

6VAC20-100-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meaning meanings, unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise.:  

"Academy director" means the chief administrative officer 
of a certified training academy. 

"Agency administrator" means any chief of police, sheriff 
or, agency head of a state, or local law-enforcement agency, 
or the director of the Department of Corrections, or his 
designee.  

"Approved training school" means a training school which 
provides instruction of at least the minimum training 
standards as mandated by the board and has been approved by 
the department for the specific purpose of training criminal 
justice personnel.  

"Approved training" means training approved by the 
department to meet minimum training standards.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1b95d005427%7E12).pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1b95d005427%7E12).pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1b95d005427%7E12).pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=88b9e005427%7E138.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=88b9e005427%7E138.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=88b9e005427%7E138.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3238e005427%7E14%20.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3238e005427%7E14%20.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/law-enforcement/manual
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"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board.  

"Corrections facility director/manager" means the chief 
administrative officer of a correctional facility.  

"Certified training academy" means a training facility in 
compliance with academy certification or recertification 
standards and operated by the state or local unit of 
government that is owned, leased, rented, or used exclusively 
for the purpose training criminal justice professionals 
regulated by department and board. 

"Committee on Training" or "COT" means the standing 
committee of the board that is charged with reviewing 
proposed changes to the standards, receiving and reviewing 
public comments, and approving changes to the standards as 
needed. 

"Curriculum Review Committee" means the committee 
consisting of nine individuals representing the Department of 
Corrections. Two members of the committee shall represent 
the western region, two members shall represent the eastern 
region, two members shall represent the central region, and 
three members shall represent administration. 

"Department" means the Department of Criminal Justice 
Services.  

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the 
department or the director's designee.  

"Full-time attendance" means that officers in training shall 
attend all classes and shall not be placed on duty or call 
except in cases of emergency for the duration of the school.  

"Satellite facility" means a temporary facility located away 
from the certified training academy facility, which the 
certified academy uses exclusively to conduct in-service 
training. 

"School director" means the chief administrative officer of 
an approved training school.  

6VAC20-100-20. Compulsory minimum training 
standards.  

A. Pursuant to the provisions of § 9-170 7 of the subdivision 
9 of § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia, the department under 
the direction of the board establishes the following as the 
compulsory minimum training standards for full-time or part-
time correctional officers of the Department of Corrections, 
Division of Adult Institutions.  

The performance objectives constituting the institutional and 
academy for staff development core and sub-core curricula is 
detailed in the document entitled, "Performance-Based 
Training and Testing Objectives for Compulsory Minimum 
Training for Correctional Officers of the Department of 
Corrections, Division of Adult Institutions" (June, 1986), 
which is incorporated by reference and made a part of these 
regulations.  

A. Basic correctional officer training - institutional training.  

1. Core curriculum.  

4.0. Key Control  

5.0. Tool Control  

6.0. Control/Account for Inmates  

10.0. Search Procedures - Persons  

11.0. Search Procedures - Objects  

12.0. Search Procedures - Vehicles  

13.0. Search Procedures - Areas  

14.0. Control of Movement In and Out of Facility - 
Perimeter  

15.0. Control of Movement In and Out of Tower  

16.0. Control of Movement In and Out of Sally Port  

17.0. Control of Movement In and Out of Visiting Room  

18.0. Control of Movement In and Out of Gates  

19.0. Radio/Telephone Communications  

20.0. Control of Movement - Control Room  

21.0. Control of Movement - Master Control  

22.0. Maintaining Effective Security Equipment  

23.0. Control of Contraband  

24.0. Control of Movement Using Restraints  

24.1. Identification of Restraints  

24.2. Use of Restraints  

25.0. Control of Inmate Movement - Internal  

26.0. Transportation and Escorting  

32.0. Communication of Critical Information to 
Correctional Officers  

33.0. Communication of Critical Information to 
Supervisors  

34.0. Enforcing Laws, Rules and Regulations  

35.0. Enforcing Laws, Rules and Regulations - Behavior 
Adjustment  

36.0. Enforcing Laws, Rules and Regulations - 
Adjustment Committee  

37.0. Enforcing Laws, Rules - ICC  

43.0. Use of Force - Firearms  

44.0. Emergency Preparedness and Response - Riot or 
Disturbance  

45.0. Emergency Preparedness and Response  
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46.0. Emergency Preparedness and Response - Hostage  

47.0. Emergency Preparedness and Response - Minor 
Disturbance  

48.0. Emergency Preparedness and Response - First Aid  

50.0. Inmate Supervision - Providing Information  

52.0. Inmate Supervision - Work/Recreation  

53.0. Inmate Welfare - Receiving  

54.0. Inmate Welfare - Medical Care  

55.0. Inmate Welfare - Mail  

56.0. Inmate Welfare - Personal Property  

57.0. Inmate Welfare - Housekeeping/Laundry  

.........TOTAL INSTITUTIONAL CURRICULUM 
HOURS - 80  

B. Basic correctional officer training - academy for staff 
development.  

1. Core curriculum.  

1.0. Role of the Correctional System  

2.0. Corrections Within the Criminal Justice System  

3.0. Corrections As a Profession  

7.0. Law-Enforcement Techniques  

8.0. Secure and Safeguard of Crime Scene  

9.0. Testifying  

10.0. Search Procedures - Persons  

23.0. Control of Contraband  

23.1. Control of Drug Use  

23.2. Identification of Controlled/Abused Substance  

23.3. Identification of Materials Used to Achieve 
Intoxication  

23.4. Identification of Materials Used to Make Weapons  

23.5. Procedure for Handling Contraband  

24.0. Control of Movement Using Restraints  

24.1. Identification of Restraints  

24.2. Use of Restraints  

28.0. Crisis Prevention/Inmate  

29.0. Crisis Prevention/I.D. of Potential Problems  

30.0. Crisis Prevention/I.D. of Mentally Disturbed 
Inmates  

31.0. Conflict Management/Crisis Intervention  

34.0. Enforcing Laws, Rules and Regulations  

35.0. Enforcing Laws, Rules and Regulations - Behavior 
Adjustment  

38.0. Enforcing Laws, Rules - Grievance  

39.0. Use of Force  

40.0. Use of Force - Defensive Tactics  

41.0. Use of Force - Baton  

42.0. Use of Force - Chemical Agents  

43.0. Use of Force - Firearms  

44.0. Emergency Preparedness and Response - Riot or 
Disturbance  

45.0. Emergency Preparedness and Response  

46.0. Emergency Preparedness and Response - Hostage  

49.0. Inmate Supervision - Interpersonal 
Communications  

50.0. Inmate Supervision - Providing Information  

51.0. Inmate Supervision - Limitations  

52.0. Inmate Supervision - Work/Recreation  

.........TOTAL CORE CURRICULUM HOURS - 120  

2. Sub-core curriculum (required for all correctional 
officers who, in the performance of duties, are required to 
transport inmates by vehicular means).  

27.0. Vehicle Operation.  

....... TOTAL SUB-CORE CURRICULUM HOURS - 16  

....... TOTAL CURRICULUM HOURS - 216  

B. Individuals hired as correctional officers as defined in 
§ 53.1-1 of the Code of Virginia shall meet or exceed the 
compulsory minimum training standards at a certified training 
academy and complete field training requirements. 
Correctional officers shall comply with the following:  

1. Successfully complete basic correctional officer training 
at a certified training academy or satellite facility, which 
includes receiving a minimum of 400 hours of department 
approved training in the following categories: 

a. Security and supervision; 

b. Communication; 

c. Safety; 

d. Emergency response; 

e. Conflict and crisis management; 

f. Law and legal; 

g. Duty assignments and responsibilities; 
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h. Professionalism; 

i. Basic corrections officer firearms training; and 

j. Physical fitness training. 

2. Successfully complete a minimum of 200 hours of 
approved training in the category of field training 
identified in the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice 
Services Field Training and On the Job Training 
Performance Outcomes. 

6VAC20-100-25. Approval authority. 

A. The board shall be the approval authority for the training 
categories and hours identified in 6VAC20-100-20 of the 
compulsory minimum training standards. Amendments to 
training categories shall be made in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

B. The Committee on Training (COT) shall be the approval 
authority for the performance outcomes, training objectives, 
criteria, and lesson plan guides that support the performance 
outcomes. Performance outcomes, training objectives, 
criteria, and lesson plan guides supporting the compulsory 
minimum training standards may be added, deleted, or 
amended by the COT based upon written recommendation of 
the director of the Department of Corrections, a chief of 
police, sheriff, agency administrator, academy director, or the 
Curriculum Review Committee. 

C. Before approving changes to the performance outcomes, 
training objectives, criteria, or lesson plan guides, the COT 
shall schedule an opportunity for public comment during a 
meeting of the COT. A minimum of 60 days before to the 
meeting of the COT, the proposed changes shall be 
distributed to all certified training academies for an 
opportunity to comment. Notice of changes to the 
performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and 
lesson plan guides shall be filed for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations.  

D. The department shall notify each certified training 
academy in writing of any COT approved revisions. COT 
approved revisions require a minimum of 30 days' notice to 
certified training academies prior to becoming effective.  

6VAC20-100-30. Applicability.  

A. Every A person employed as a full-time or part-time 
correctional officer, and who has not met the compulsory 
minimum training standards for correctional officers 
subsequent to the effective date of these regulations, in 
accordance with subdivision 9 of § 9.1-102 of the Code of 
Virginia, shall meet the compulsory minimum training 
standards herein and requirements established in 6VAC20-
100-20 and 6VAC20-100-40 unless provided otherwise in 
accordance with subsection B of this section.  

B. The director may grant an exemption or partial exemption 
of the compulsory minimum training standards established 
herein, in accordance with § 9-173 § 9.1-116 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

6VAC20-100-40. Time requirement for completion of 
training.  

A. Every correctional officer Correctional officers who is 
are required to comply with the compulsory minimum 
training standards shall satisfactorily complete such training 
within 12 months of the date of appointment unless provided 
otherwise in accordance with subsection B of this section.  

B. The director may grant an extension of the time limit for 
completion of the compulsory minimum training required 
upon presentation of evidence by the agency administrator 
that the officer was unable to complete the required training 
within the specified time limit due to illness, injury, military 
service or special duty assignment required and performed in 
the public interest. However, each agency administrator shall 
request such extension prior to expiration of any time limit. 
standards and requirements for the following reasons: 

1. Medical condition; 

2. Injury; 

3. Military service; or 

4. Administrative leave involving the determination of 
worker's compensation or disability retirement issues or 
suspension pending investigation or adjudication of a 
crime.  

C. Any correctional officer The director may review and 
consider other reasons (e.g., natural disaster, family medical 
leave, etc.) for granting an extension. If approval is granted, 
the extension shall not exceed 90 days. 

D. The director shall not grant an extension for failing to 
pass compulsory minimum training standards within the 
specified time limits. 

E. Correctional officers who do not receive an extension of 
the time limit for completion of requirements shall be subject 
to the provisions of § 9.1-115 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. The department shall notify the agency administrator of 
individuals not in compliance with the requirements of this 
section. 

G. Correctional officers who originally complied with all 
training requirements and later separated from correctional 
officer status, more than 12 months but less than for a period 
of 24 months or less, upon reentry as a correctional officer, 
will be required to complete all compulsory minimum 
training standards set forth in 6VAC20-100-20 A 1 in-service 
and firearms training requirements set forth in 6VAC20-30.  

D. Any correctional officer H. Correctional officers who 
originally complied with all training requirements and later 
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separated from correctional officer status, in excess of for a 
period greater than 24 months, upon reentry as a correctional 
officer shall be required to complete all compulsory minimum 
training standards unless provided otherwise in accordance 
with 6VAC20-100-20 A 1 required for correctional officers 
as set forth in this chapter. 

6VAC20-100-50. How minimum training may be attained. 
(Repealed.)  

A. The compulsory minimum training standards shall be 
attained by attending and satisfactorily completing an 
approved training school.  

B. Officers attending an approved training school are 
required to be present for all classes and should not be placed 
on duty or on call except in cases of emergency. In the event 
of such an emergency, the agency administrator shall advise 
the school director within 24 hours. Officers will be 
responsible for any material missed during an excused 
absence.  

C. All approved training schools which begin on or after 
January 1, 1989, shall be conducted in conformance with the 
Rules Relating to Compulsory Minimum Training Standards 
for Correctional Officers of the Department of Corrections, 
Division of Adult Institutions, as adopted by the board on 
October 7, 1987. However, the period January 1, 1988, 
through December 31, 1988, shall serve as a transition period 
wherein training schools may be approved by the department 
to conduct training in accordance with the Rules Relating to 
Compulsory Minimum Training Standards For Correctional 
Officers of the Department of Corrections, Division of 
Institutional Services, as amended by the board on February 
12, 1982, or according to the Rules Relating to Compulsory 
Minimum Training Standards for Correctional Officers of the 
Department of Corrections, Division of Adult Institutions, as 
adopted by the board on October 7, 1987. Every correctional 
officer satisfactorily completing training approved by the 
department under the rules amended February 12, 1982, or 
under the rules adopted on October 7, 1987, shall be deemed 
to have complied with the compulsory minimum training 
standards for correctional officers.  

6VAC20-100-60. Approved training schools. (Repealed.)  

A. Correctional officer training schools shall be approved by 
the department prior to the first scheduled class. Approval is 
requested by making application to the director on forms 
provided by the department. The director may approve those 
schools, which, on the basis of curricula, instructors, facilities 
and examinations provide the required minimum training. 
One application for all mandated training shall be submitted 
prior to the beginning of each fiscal year. A curriculum listing 
performance objective by number, the instructors, dates, and 
times for the entire proposed session shall be submitted to the 
department 30 days prior to the beginning of each such 

proposed session. An exemption to the 30-day requirement 
may be granted for good cause shown by the school director.  

B. Each school director shall be required to maintain a file 
of all lesson plans and supporting material for each subject 
contained in the compulsory minimum training standards.  

C. Schools which are approved shall be subject to inspection 
and review by the director or staff.  

D. The department may suspend the approval of an 
approved training school upon written notice, which shall 
contain the reason(s) upon which the suspension is based, to 
the school's director. The school's director may request a 
hearing before the director or his designee. The request shall 
be in writing and must be received by the department within 
15 days of the date of the notice of suspension. The school's 
director may appeal the decision of the director or his 
designee to the board. Such request shall be in writing and 
must be received by the board within 15 days of the date of 
the decision of the director or his designee.  

E. The department may revoke the approval of an approved 
training school upon written notice, which shall contain the 
reason(s) upon which the revocation is based, to the school's 
director. The school's director may request a hearing before 
the director or his designee. The request shall be in writing 
and must be received by the department within 15 days of the 
date of the notice of revocation. The school's director may 
appeal the decision of the director or his designee to the 
board. Such request shall be in writing and must be received 
by the board within 15 days of the date of the decision of the 
director or his designee.  

6VAC20-100-70. Grading Attendance, requirements, 
testing, and grading.  

A. Each officer shall comply with the requirements of all the 
performance objectives set forth in 6VAC20-100-20 and the 
document entitled, "Performance-Based Training and Testing 
Objectives for Compulsory Minimum Training for 
Correctional Officers of the State Department of Corrections, 
Division of Adult Institutions" (June, 1986). All approved 
training schools shall utilize testing procedures which 
indicate that every officer, prior to satisfactory completion of 
the training school, has met the requirements set forth in each 
performance objective specified in the document entitled, 
"Performance-Based Training and Testing Objectives for 
Compulsory Minimum Training for Correctional Officers of 
the State Department of Corrections, Division of Adult 
Institutions" (June, 1986). An  

B. The school director shall submit a grade report on each 
officer on forms provided by the department.  

C. The following firearms training will be required for each 
officer attending an approved school:  

1. Nomenclature and care of service revolver;  
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2. Safety (on the firearms range, on duty and off duty);  

3. Legal responsibilities and liabilities of firearms;  

4. Service revolver (handling, firing principles);  

5. Dry firing and application of basic shooting principles;  

6. Prequalification shooting (60 rounds, minimum);  

7. Basic Correctional Firearms Qualification Course - 
Minimum 70% qualification required  

8. Shotgun Qualification Course - Minimum 80% 
qualification required  

9. Special Weapons Qualification Courses - Minimum 80% 
qualification required  

a. .223 caliber mini-14 rifle  

b. AR-15 semi-automatic rifle  

A. Attendance. 

1. Correctional officers attending approved training are 
required to attend all classes and shall not be placed on 
duty or on call except in cases of an emergency (e.g., 
natural disaster, etc.) In the event of such an emergency, 
the agency administrator or designee shall determine if it is 
appropriate to place officers on duty or on call and shall 
advise the academy director within 24 hours.  

2. Correctional officers shall be responsible for any 
material missed during an excused absence. 

B. Academy testing.  

1. Correctional officers shall meet all the training 
objectives and pass all criteria for testing related to each 
performance outcome approved by the COT. 

2. A correctional officer may be tested and retested as may 
be necessary within the time limits of 6VAC20-100-40 and 
in accordance with each certified training academy's 
written policy. An officer shall not be certified as having 
complied with the compulsory minimum training standards 
unless all applicable requirements have been met.  

6VAC20-100-80. Failure to comply with rules and 
regulations.  

Any correctional officer A. Any individual attending an 
approved training school a certified training academy shall 
comply with the rules and regulations promulgated by the 
department and board and any other rules and regulations 
within the authority of the school director. The school 
academy director shall be responsible for enforcement of all 
rules and regulations established to govern the conduct of 
attendees. 

If the school director considers a violation of B. Any 
individual violating the rules and regulations governing the 
certified training academy determined to be detrimental to the 

welfare of the school, the school director the certified training 
academy or the safety of officers, visitors, or personnel may 
expel the officer be expelled from the school academy. 

C. Notification of such action shall an expulsion will 
immediately be reported, in writing, to the corrections facility 
director manager of the officer and the director agency 
administrator or designee and the department. 

6VAC20-100-90. Administrative requirements.  

A. Reports shall be required from the agency administrator 
and school director on forms approved or provided by the 
department and at such times as designated by the director.  

B. The school director shall, within 30 days upon 
completion of an approved training school session, comply 
with the following:  

1. Prepare a grade report on each officer maintaining the 
original for academy records and forwarding a copy to the 
corrections facility director/manager of the officer.  

2. Submit to the department a roster containing the names 
of those officers who have satisfactorily completed all 
training requirements and, if applicable, a revised 
curriculum for the training session.  

C. The school director shall furnish each instructor with the 
applicable performance objectives for the assigned subject 
matter.  

D. Approved correctional officer training schools shall 
maintain accurate records of all tests, grades and testing 
procedures.  

A. Records and documentation shall be open to audit, 
inspection, and review by the department upon request. 

B. Training school records shall be maintained in 
accordance with the provisions of these rules this chapter and 
§§ the Virginia Public Records Act (§ 42.1-76 through 42.1-
91 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

6VAC20-100-100. Effective date. (Repealed.)  

These regulations shall be effective on and after January 1, 
1988, and until amended or repealed.  

6VAC20-100-110. Recision of previous rules. (Repealed.)  

The Rules Relating to Compulsory Minimum Training 
Standards for Correctional Officers of the Department of 
Corrections, Division of Institutional Services, as amended on 
February 12, 1982, are hereby rescinded effective January 1, 
1989.  

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 
regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The form is also available from the 
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agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (6VAC20-100)  

Application for Exemption From Virginia Compulsory 
Minimum Training Standards, Form W-2, eff. 1/91.  

Criminal Justice Training Roster, Form 41, eff. 1/93.  

Application for Exemption from Virginia Compulsory 
Minimum Training Standards, Form W-2 (rev. 5/2018) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(6VAC20-100) 

Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Field 
Training and On the Job Training Performance Outcomes, 
published September 2012, Virginia Department of Criminal 
Justice Services (Revised January 2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5427; Filed May 23, 2018, 3:08 p.m.  

Withdrawal of Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-60. Rules Relating to 
Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for 
Dispatchers (amending 6VAC20-60-10 through 6VAC20-
60-90).  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Notice is hereby given that the Criminal Justice Services 
Board has WITHDRAWN the proposed regulatory action for 
6VAC20-60, Rules Relating to Compulsory Minimum 
Training Standards for Dispatchers, which was published 
in 33:20 VA.R. 2183-2189 May 29, 2017. A new action will 
be initiated that will separate the responsibilities of the 
dispatcher and the agency from the responsibilities of the 
academy. 

Agency Contact: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law Enforcement 
Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice 
Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 225-4503, FAX (804) 786-0410, or email 
barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4634; Filed May 14, 2018, 1:51 p.m.  

Withdrawal of Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-70. Rules Relating to 
Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for 
Noncustodial Employees of the Department of 
Corrections (amending 6VAC20-70-10 through 6VAC20-
70-70, 6VAC20-70-100, 6VAC20-70-110; adding 6VAC20-
70-25, 6VAC20-70-115; repealing 6VAC20-70-80, 
6VAC20-70-90, 6VAC20-70-120, 6VAC20-70-130).  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Notice is hereby given that the Department of Criminal 
Justice Services has WITHDRAWN the proposed regulatory 

action for 6VAC20-70, Rules Relating to Compulsory 
Minimum Training Standards for Noncustodial 
Employees of the Department of Corrections, which was 
published in 33:22 VA.R. 2424-2430 June 26, 2017. A new 
action will be initiated that will separate the responsibilities 
of the noncustodial employee and the agency from the 
responsibilities of the academy. 

Agency Contact: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law Enforcement 
Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice 
Services, 1100 Bank Street 12th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-4503, FAX (804) 786-0410, or email 
barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4542; Filed May 14, 2018, 1:53 p.m.  

Withdrawal of Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-100. Rules Relating to 
Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for 
Correctional Officers of the Department of Corrections, 
Division of Adult Institutions (amending 6VAC20-100-10 
through 6VAC20-100-90; adding 6VAC20-100-25, 
6VAC20-100-95; repealing 6VAC20-100-100, 6VAC20-
100-110).  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Notice is hereby given that the Criminal Justice Services 
Board has WITHDRAWN the proposed regulatory action for 
6VAC20-100, Rules Relating to Compulsory Minimum 
Training Standards for Correctional Officers of the 
Department of Corrections, Division of Adult Institutions, 
which was published in 33:19 VA.R. 2039-2046 May 15, 
2017. A new action will be initiated that will separate the 
responsibilities of the basic correctional officer and the 
agency from the responsibilities of the academy. 

Agency Contact: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law Enforcement 
Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice 
Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 225-4503, FAX (804) 786-0410, or email 
barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-2873; Filed May 14, 2018, 1:54 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR 
VIRGINIA 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Council of Higher 
Education for Virginia is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 
B 4 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts regulations 
relating to grants of state or federal funds or property. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=812a9005427%7E16n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=812a9005427%7E16n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8adf005427%7E17g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8adf005427%7E17g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8adf005427%7E17g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8adf005427%7E17g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol33/iss20/v33i20.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol33/iss22/v33i22.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol33/iss19/v33i19.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol33/iss19/v33i19.pdf
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Title of Regulation: 8VAC40-140. Virginia Vocational 
Incentive Scholarship Program for Shipyard Workers 
Regulations (amending 8VAC40-140-10, 8VAC40-140-40, 
8VAC40-140-60 through 8VAC40-140-90).  

Statutory Authority: § 23.1-2912 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 15, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Beverly Covington, Senior Associate for 
Academic and Legislative Affairs, State Council of Higher 
Education for Virginia, 101 North 14th Street, 9th Floor, 
Monroe Building, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-0571, or email beverlycovington@schev.edu. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings:  This 
final regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of 
the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Summary: 

The amendments clarify administration of the Virginia 
Vocational Incentive Scholarship Program for Shipyard 
Workers by Tidewater Community College by (i) updating 
terminology, (ii) incorporating changes to the authorizing 
law, and (iii) shifting responsibility where appropriate 
from the council to the college. 

8VAC40-140-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Academic year" means the 12-month enrollment period, 
during which the college holds classes, comprised of the 
college's fall and spring semesters and summer session.  

"Apprenticeship program" means a three-year program 
combining educational instruction and on-the-job training that 
is established for the purpose of enhancing the education and 
skills of shipyard workers and that is registered with the 
Virginia Department of Labor and Industry.  

"Award year" means the period of time in which a scholar 
receives a scholarship during the academic year. Receipt of 
the scholarship during at least two of the three periods 
constitutes one full award year while enrollment in one period 
constitutes one half of an award year. 

"College" means Tidewater Community College. 

"Council" means the State Council of Higher Education for 
Virginia or its designated staff.  

"Domiciliary resident of Virginia" means a student 
determined by the college to meet the domicile eligibility 
requirements specified by § 23.1-502 or 23.1-505 of the Code 
of Virginia and augmented by the Domicile Guidelines.  

"Eligible course of study" means an Associate in Applied 
Science degree program or an apprenticeship program 

registered with the Virginia Department of Labor and 
Industry. 

"Program" means the Virginia Vocational Incentive 
Scholarship Program for Shipyard Workers.  

"Scholar" means a recipient of program funds from the 
Virginia Vocational Incentive Scholarship Program for 
Shipyard Workers. 

"Scholarship" means a grant from state funds appropriated 
for the Virginia Vocational Incentive Scholarship Program for 
Shipyard Workers. 

"Shipyard worker" means any person employed full time on 
a salaried or wage basis whose tenure is not restricted as to 
temporary or provisional appointment at a ship manufacturing 
or ship repair company located in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia.  

8VAC40-140-40. Eligibility criteria for an initial 
scholarship. 

In order to receive a scholarship, the student must be: 

1. A domiciliary resident of Virginia as defined in § 23.1-
502 of the Code of Virginia and determined by the 
college,;  

2. Employed full time as a shipyard worker,; and 

3. Enrolled full time or part time in an eligible course of 
study. 

8VAC40-140-60. Scholarship conditions. 

To receive initial and renewal scholarships, the student must 
enter into an agreement with the council through the college 
under which he agrees to: 

1. Continue full-time employment as a shipyard worker 
until his successful completion of the eligible course of 
study; 

2. Continue pursuing an eligible course of study; 

3. Upon successful completion of the eligible course of 
study, work continuously in Virginia as a shipyard worker 
for the same number of years that he was the beneficiary of 
such scholarship at the rate of one calendar year for each 
award year received; 

4. Provide evidence of compliance with subdivision 3 of 
this section in the form of a statement from the human 
resources director of the shipyard in which the scholar is 
working, certifying that the scholar is employed full time 
as a shipyard worker; and 

5. Repay the total amount of funds received, or the 
appropriate portion thereof, and any accrued interest, if he 
the scholar fails to honor the requirements specified in 
subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this section. 
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8VAC40-140-70. Scholarship amount. 

A. In no case may a student receive a scholarship under the 
program that exceeds the cost of full tuition and required fees 
relating to the eligible course of study.  

B. If a scholar ceases full-time employment as a shipyard 
worker or withdraws from all courses during a term, the 
tuition refund policy in effect at the college will determine the 
portion of the award amount that the amount of the 
scholarship must be reclaimed by the college. 

8VAC40-140-80. Noncompliance with scholarship 
agreement. 

A. A scholar found to be in noncompliance with the 
scholarship agreement entered shall: 

1. Repay the amount of scholarship funds received, 
prorated according to the fraction of the work obligation 
not completed, as determined by the council college; 

2. Pay a simple, per annum interest charge of 5.0% on the 
outstanding principal as determined by the council college; 
and 

3. Pay all reasonable collection costs as determined by the 
council college. 

B. A scholar required to repay his the scholarship shall: 

1. Enter repayment status on the first day of the first 
calendar month after: 

a. The council college has determined that the scholar is 
no longer enrolled in an eligible course of study, but not 
before six months has elapsed since the scholar was 
enrolled in such course of study; 

b. The date the scholar informs the council that he 
college that the scholar does not plan to fulfill the work 
obligation; or 

c. The latest date on which the scholar must have begun 
working in order to have completed the work obligation 
within 10 years after completing the postsecondary 
education for which the scholarship was awarded, as 
determined by the council college. 

2. Make monthly payments to the council college that 
cover principal, interest, and any collection costs according 
to a schedule established by the council college that calls 
for minimum payments of $100 per month and to complete 
repayment within 10 years after the scholar enters 
repayment status.  

C. The interest charge specified in subdivision A 2 of this 
section accrues from: 

1. The date of the initial scholarship payment if the council 
college has determined that the scholar is no longer 
enrolled in an eligible course of study or completed an 

eligible course of study but never became employed as a 
shipyard worker; or 

2. The day after the last day of the scholarship period for 
which the work obligation has been fulfilled is required. 

D. The council college shall capitalize any accrued interest 
at the time it establishes a scholar's repayment schedule. 

E. The council college may approve less than $100 
minimum monthly payments or forgive partial interest 
charges due to extenuating circumstances. 

F. The council college may approve a reduction in interest 
charges for scholars making consistent on-time monthly 
payments that meet or exceed the minimum required amount.  

G. A scholar is not considered in violation of the repayment 
schedule established by the council college during the time he 
the scholar is: 

1. Serving on active duty as a member of the armed 
services of the United States or serving as a member of 
VISTA or the Peace Corps for a period not in excess of 
three years; 

2. Accompanying a spouse who is serving on active duty 
as a member of the armed services of the United States or 
serving as a member of VISTA or the Peace Corps for a 
period not in excess of three years; 

3. Experiencing health conditions that impede his the 
scholar's ability to perform requisite service in a shipyard 
setting for a period not to exceed three years; 

4. Unable to secure employment by reason of the care 
required by a disabled child, spouse, or parent for a period 
not in excess of 12 months; or 

5. Unable to satisfy the terms of the repayment schedule 
established by the council and is also seeking and unable to 
find full-time employment as a shipyard worker in Virginia 
for a single period not to exceed 27 months. 

H. To qualify for any of the exceptions in subsection G of 
this section, a scholar must notify the council college of his a 
claim to the exception and provide supporting documentation 
as required by the council college. 

I. During the time a scholar qualifies for any of the 
exceptions specified in subsection G of this section, he the 
scholar need not make the scholarship repayments and 
interest does not accrue. 

J. The council college shall extend the 10-year scholarship 
repayment period by a period equal to the length of time a 
scholar meets any of the exceptions in subsection G of this 
section or if a scholar's inability to complete the scholarship 
repayments within this 10-year period because of his a 
financial condition has been established to the council's 
college's satisfaction. 
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K. The council college shall cancel a scholar's repayment 
obligation if it determines that: 

1. On the basis of a sworn affidavit of a qualified 
physician, the scholar is unable to work on a full-time basis 
because of an impairment that is expected to continue 
indefinitely or result in death; or 

2. On the basis of a death certificate or other evidence 
conclusive under state law, the scholar has died. 

8VAC40-140-90. Responsibility of the college.  

The college shall: 

1. Comply with all requests from the council for reports or 
information necessary to carry out the operation of the 
program;  

2. Retain a copy of each signed promissory note and send 
the original promissory note to the council; and  

3. Notify the council if a scholar fails to meet the terms of 
the promissory note and enters repayment status.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(8VAC40-140) 

Domicile Guidelines, State Council of Higher Education for 
Virginia, October 25, 2016 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5285; Filed May 16, 2018, 8:58 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

VIRGINIA WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 16VAC30-16. Electronic Medical 
Billing (adding 16VAC30-16-10 through 16VAC30-16-80).  

Statutory Authority: § 65.2-605.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 7, 2018 - 1 p.m. - Commissioners' Conference 
Room, 333 East Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23219 

Public Comment Deadline: August 10, 2018. 

Agency Contact: James J. Szablewicz, Chief Deputy 
Commissioner, Virginia Workers' Compensation 
Commission, 333 East Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 205-3097, or email 
james.szablewicz@workcomp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission is 
promulgating this regulation in accordance with the 
provisions of § 65.2-605.1 of the Code of Virginia, per 

amendments added by Chapter 621 of the 2015 Acts of 
Assembly. 

Purpose: The purpose of the regulation is to provide a legal 
framework for electronic billing, processing, and payment of 
medical services and products provided to an injured worker 
subject to the Virginia Workers' Compensation Act. The 
proposed regulation will expedite the submission, processing, 
and payment of bills for medical services rendered to injured 
workers pursuant to the Virginia Workers' Compensation Act 
utilizing nationally recognized standards. 

Substance: The new regulation contains provisions addressing 
(i) formats for electronic medical bill processing; (ii) billing 
code sets; (iii) electronic medical billing, reimbursement, and 
documentation; (iv) employer, insurance carrier, managed 
care organization, or agents' receipt of medical bills from 
health care providers; (v) communication between health care 
providers and payers; and (vi) medical documentation 
necessary for billing adjudication.  

Issues: The regulation is designed to assist workers' 
compensation payers and medical providers to promptly 
process payment of bills for medical services in Virginia 
workers' compensation cases, which is an advantage to the 
public and the Commonwealth. There are no known 
disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. The 
regulation does not require any reporting to or enforcement 
by the Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission or any 
other governmental agency. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to Chapter 621 of the 2015 Acts of the Assembly, 
the Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission 
(Commission) proposes to adopt and implement an 
infrastructure that requires most providers of workers' 
compensation medical services to submit their billing, claims, 
case management, health records, and all supporting 
documentation electronically. As required by Chapter 621, 
this proposed regulation is consistent with the International 
Association of Industrial Accident Boards and Commission 
(IAIABC) Medical Billing and Payment guidelines. 
Consistent with IAIABC guidelines, health care providers 
will be exempt from these proposed requirements if they have 
10 or fewer full time employees and treatment and services 
provided to injured workers billed under workers' 
compensation constitutes less than 10% of their practice.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for these 
proposed regulatory changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Prior to this regulatory action, 
the Commission did not have rules for health care providers 
to submit workers' compensation bills and supporting 
documentation to insurers (payers) electronically. 
Commission staff reports that the General Assembly passed 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=423bd005285%7E16.pdf&typ=40&actno=005285&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=423bd005285%7E16.pdf&typ=40&actno=005285&mime=application/pdf
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Chapter 621, which requires the Commission to "establish a 
schedule pursuant to which employers, employers' workers' 
compensation insurance carriers, and providers of workers' 
compensation medical services shall be required to adopt and 
implement infrastructure" for submitting billing, claims, case 
management, health records and all supporting documents 
electronically. Chapter 621 and this proposed regulation 
require that participating entities have this infrastructure in 
place no later than December 31, 2018. Commission staff 
reports that most bills and records are submitted in paper 
form now and most payments to providers are made via paper 
checks. The Commission now proposes a regulation that will: 

1. Define terms and abbreviations. 

2. Describe the electronic medical bill processing standards 
that are to be used for billings, acknowledgements, 
remittances, ancillary formats, and documentation transfers 
between providers and insurers.  

3. Allow insurance carriers and health care providers to 
exchange electronic data in a non-prescribed format by 
mutual agreement or to use a direct data entry 
methodology so long as all of the required information is 
still collected. 

4. State that when the prescribed formats are updated, the 
most recent standard would be required to be used by e-
billing entities, once the new standard becomes effective as 
published in the Code of Federal Regulations. 

5. List the billing code sets that are to be used in the e-
billing system. 

6. Describe the components of a complete electronic 
medical bill, including the correct format and a list of 
elements that must be identified. 

7. Provide for acknowledgement of certain types of 
transactions including whether claims are complete or 
rejected, whether claims contain error codes, and prohibit 
the submission of duplicate electronic records. 

8. Set timeframes for certain actions to occur. 

9. Clarify that acceptance of complete and incomplete 
medical bills does not either admit liability or satisfy 
written notice requirements, but that it would begin the 
time period by which the payer must accept or deny 
liability and that it does serve as proof of the received date. 

10. Specify the types of information that must be furnished 
electronically, including medical reports and records, bills, 
identification of the employee and medical providers, dates 
of service, and other specified types of data.   

11. Require that electronic documentation be submitted by 
secure fax, secure encrypted electronic email, or other 
secure electronic format as defined by the Virginia 
Administrative Code.  

12. Clarify how electronic remittance advice and electronic 
funds transfers are to occur and establish timeframes for 
these processes. 

13. Detail the requirements for paper medical bills for the 
small health care providers who are exempt from e-billing 
requirements. 

14. Provide for resubmissions in the event that the payer 
has rejected the medical bill as incomplete. 

15. Require the insurance providers to attempt to establish 
connectivity through trading partner agreements.  

16. Prohibit the imposition of excessive fees in order to 
comply with the requirements of this section.  

17. Allow health care provider agents to charge reasonable 
fees related to data functions.  

18. List the obligations of employers, insurance carriers, 
managed care organizations, and agents when they receive 
medical bills from health care providers, including the 
evaluation of the bills, the received date of the bills, the 
payer's ability to contact the medical provider, the payer's 
discretion to accept or reject bills, and the payer's ability to 
request additional information.   

19. State that payment of all uncontested portions of a 
complete medical bill shall be made within a certain 
timeframe, and that amounts paid after that time shall 
accrue interest at the judgement rate of interest as 
established by Virginia Code § 6.2-302. 

20. Describe how communication between health care 
providers and payers is to occur. 

21. Clarify that medical documentation is necessary for 
billing adjudication and 

22. Allow providers and payers the option to voluntarily 
comply with this chapter beginning six months after the 
publication of the final regulation in the Virginia Register 
of Regulations. 

Affected health care providers and insurers will benefit from 
this proposed regulation as it will allow them to exchange 
information and resolve claims more quickly. Health care 
providers will additionally benefit from being paid more 
quickly via electronic deposit rather than having to wait for, 
and then physically deposit, paper checks. This action will 
likely decrease the costs incurred on billing activities that 
may now include copying costs to make paper copies of 
documents that providers are required to send insurers, time 
spent preparing and mailing documents and following up to 
make sure they were received, and time spent re-billing if 
payment decisions stretch beyond one billing cycle. Workers 
who are receiving health care services may also benefit if the 
exchange of electronic records allows their claims to be paid 
more expeditiously. Health care providers may incur costs for 
purchasing medical billing software that is capable of 
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exchanging medical bill and records data securely, or for 
contracting with a clearinghouse to process their medical bill 
and records data for them. Commission staff did not have an 
estimate for how much it would cost to either buy software or 
hire a clearinghouse service. These businesses are unlikely to 
choose to incur these costs unless they perceive the benefits 
of providing health care in workers' compensation cases, and 
being able to be paid for those services more quickly via 
electronic funds deposits, to be greater than any costs they 
incur to meet the requirements of the proposed regulation. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This proposed regulation 
will affect all workers' compensation insurers and their third 
party administrators, self-insured employers and health care 
providers who provide covered services to individuals who 
have been injured on the job. Injured workers whose health 
care and other expenses may be paid for via workers' 
compensation claims will also be affected. Sellers of medical 
billing software and clearinghouse processing services may 
also benefit. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will be 
particularly affected by this proposed change. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Employment in the 
Commonwealth is unlikely to be significantly affected by this 
proposed regulation. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
proposed regulatory change is unlikely to affect the use or 
value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 
changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 
the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Costs and Other Effects. Small business medical practices 
may incur costs for purchasing medical billing software that 
is capable of exchanging medical bill and records data 
securely, or for contracting with a clearinghouse to process 
their medical bill and records data for them. These businesses 
are unlikely to incur these costs unless they perceive the 
benefits of providing health care in workers' compensation 
cases, and being able to be paid for those services more 
quickly via electronic funds deposits, to be greater than any 
costs they incur to meet the requirements of the proposed 
regulation. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There 
are likely no methods that would both meet the legislative 
mandate in Chapter 621 and further reduce costs.  

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. Private medical practices may incur costs for 
purchasing medical billing software that is capable of 
exchanging medical bill and records data securely, or for 
contracting with a clearinghouse to process their medical bill 

and records data for them. These businesses are unlikely to 
incur these costs unless they perceive the benefits of 
providing health care in workers' compensation cases, and 
being able to be paid for those services more quickly via 
electronic funds deposits, to be greater than any costs they 
incur to meet the requirements of the proposed regulation. 

Localities. No locality is likely to suffer adverse impacts on 
account of this proposed regulatory change. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to suffer adverse 
impacts on account of this proposed regulatory change. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission concurs with 
the economic impact analysis of the Department of Planning 
and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 621 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly, the 
proposed regulation implements infrastructure under 
which (i) providers of workers' compensation medical 
services (providers) submit billing, claims, case 
management, health records, and all supporting 
documentation electronically to employers or employers' 
workers' compensation insurance carriers (payers) and (ii) 
payers return actual payment, claim status, and remittance 
information electronically to providers that submit billing 
and required supporting documentation electronically. The 
proposed regulation establishes standards and methods for 
electronic submissions and transactions that are consistent 
with the electronic medical billing and payment guidelines 
of the International Association of Industrial Accident 
Boards and Commissions. The proposed regulation does 
not require any reporting to or enforcement by the Virginia 
Workers' Compensation Commission or any other 
governmental agency. 

CHAPTER 16 
ELECTRONIC MEDICAL BILLING 

16VAC30-16-10. Effective date. 

This chapter applies to all medical services and products 
provided on or after December 31, 2018. For medical services 
and products provided prior to December 31, 2018, medical 
billing and processing shall be in accordance with the rules in 
effect at the time the medical service or product was 
provided.  

16VAC30-16-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Business day" means Monday through Friday, excluding 
days on which a holiday is observed by the Commonwealth 
of Virginia. 
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"Clearinghouse" means a public or private entity, including 
a billing service, repricing company, community health 
management information system or community health 
information system, and "value-added" networks and 
switches, that is an agent of either the payer or the health care 
provider and that may perform the following functions: 

1. Processes or facilitates the processing of medical billing 
information received from a client in a nonstandard format 
or containing nonstandard data content into standard data 
elements or a standard transaction for further processing of 
a bill related transaction; or 

2. Receives a standard transaction from another entity and 
processes or facilitates the processing of medical billing 
information into nonstandard format or nonstandard data 
content for a client entity.  

"CMS" means the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, the federal agency that administers these programs. 

"Companion Guide" means the Virginia Workers' 
Compensation Electronic Billing and Payment Companion 
Guides, based on International Association of Industrial 
Accident Boards and Commissions National Companion 
Guides, a separate document that gives detailed information 
for electronic data interchange (EDI) medical billing and 
payment for the workers' compensation industry using 
national standards and Virginia specific procedures. 

"Complete electronic medical bill" means a medical bill that 
meets all of the criteria enumerated in 16VAC30-16-50 C. 

"Electronic" means communication between computerized 
data exchange systems that complies with the standards 
enumerated in this chapter. 

"Health care provider" means a person or entity, 
appropriately certified or licensed, as required, who provides 
medical services or products to an injured worker in 
accordance with § 65.2-603 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Health care provider agent" means a person or entity that 
contracts with a health care provider establishing an agency 
relationship to process bills for services provided by the 
health care provider under the terms and conditions of a 
contract between the agent and health care provider. Such 
contracts may permit the agent to submit bills, request 
reconsideration, receive reimbursement, and seek medical 
dispute resolution for the health care provider services billed 
in accordance with §§ 65.2-605 and 65.2-605.1 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

"Payer" means the insurer or authorized self-insured 
employer legally responsible for paying the workers' 
compensation medical bills. 

"Payer agent" means any person or entity that performs 
medical bill related processes for the payer responsible for the 

bill. These processes include reporting to government 
agencies; electronic transmission, forwarding, or receipt of 
documents; review of reports; and adjudication of bills and 
their final payment. 

"Supporting documentation" means those documents 
necessary for the payer to process a bill and includes any 
written authorization received from the third party 
administrator or any other records as required by the Virginia 
Workers' Compensation Commission.  

"Technical Report Type 3 (TR3) Implementation Guide" 
means an ASC X12 published document for national 
electronic standard formats that specifies data requirements 
and data transaction sets, as referenced in 16VAC30-16-30.  

16VAC30-16-30. Formats for electronic medical bill 
processing. 

A. For electronic transactions, the following electronic 
medical bill processing standards shall be used: 

1. Billing. 

a. Professional billing: The ASC X12 Standards for 
Electronic Data Interchange Technical Report Type 3 
and Errata, Health Care Claim: Professional (837), June 
2010, ASC X12, 005010X222A1. 

b. Institutional or hospital billing: The ASC X12 
Standards for Electronic Data Interchange Technical 
Report Type 3 and Errata, Health Care Claim: 
Institutional (837), June 2010, ASC X12, 
005010X223A2. 

c. Dental billing: The ASC X12 Standards for Electronic 
Data Interchange Technical Report Type 3 and Errata to 
Health Care Claim: Dental (837), June 2010, ASC X12, 
005010X224A2. 

d. Retail pharmacy billing: The Telecommunication 
Standard Implementation Guide, Version D, Release 0 
(Version D.0), August 2007, National Council for 
Prescription Drug Programs (NCPDP) and the Batch 
Standard Batch Implementation Guide, Version 1, 
Release 2 (Version 1.2), January 2006, National Council 
for Prescription Drug Programs. 

2. Acknowledgment. 

a. Electronic responses to the ASC X12N 837 
transactions. 

(1) The ASC X12 Standards for Electronic Data 
Interchange TA1 Interchange Acknowledgment 
contained in the standards adopted under subdivision A 1 
of this section; 

(2) The ASC X12 Standards for Electronic Data 
Interchange Technical Report Type 3, Implementation 
Acknowledgment for Health Care Insurance (999), June 
2007, ASC X12N/005010X231; and 
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(3) The ASC X12 Standards for Electronic Data 
Interchange Technical Report Type 3, Health Care Claim 
Acknowledgment (277CA), January 2007, ASC 
X12N/005010X214. 

b. Electronic responses to NCPDP transactions. The 
response contained in the standards adopted under 
subdivision A 1 d of this section. 

3. Electronic remittance advice: The ASC X12 Standards 
for Electronic Data Interchange Technical Report Type 3 
Errata to Health Care Claim Payment/Advice (835), June 
2010, ASC X12, 005010X221A1. 

4. ASC X12 ancillary formats. 

a. The ASC X12N/005010X213 Request for Additional 
Information (277) is used to request additional 
attachments that were not originally submitted with the 
electronic medical bill. 

b. Health Claim Status Request and Response. 

The use of the formats in this subdivision 4 is voluntary, 
and Section 2.2.2 of the Companion Guide presents an 
explanation of how to use them in workers' compensation. 

5. Documentation submitted with an electronic medical bill 
in accordance with 16VAC30-16-50 E (relating to medical 
documentation): ASC X12N Additional Information to 
Support a Health Claim or Encounter (275), February 
2008, ASC X12, 005010X210. 

B. Payers and health care providers may exchange electronic 
data in a nonprescribed format by mutual agreement. All data 
elements required in the Virginia-prescribed formats shall be 
present in any mutually agreed upon format. 

C. The implementation specifications for the ASC X12N 
and the ASC X12 Standards for Electronic Data Interchange 
may be obtained from the ASC X12, 7600 Leesburg Pike, 
Suite 430, Falls Church, VA 22043; telephone (703) 970–
4480; and FAX (703) 970–4488. They are also available 
online at http://store.x12.org/. A fee is charged for all 
implementation specifications. 

D. The implementation specifications for the retail 
pharmacy standards may be obtained from the National 
Council for Prescription Drug Programs, 9240 East Raintree 
Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85260; telephone (480) 477–1000; and 
FAX (480) 767–1042. They are also available online at 
http://www.ncpdp.org. A fee is charged for all 
implementation specifications. 

E. Nothing in this section will prohibit payers and health 
care providers from using a direct data entry methodology for 
complying with the requirements of this section, provided the 
methodology complies with the data content requirements of 
the formats enumerated in subsection A of this section and 
this chapter. 

F. The most recent standard for the formats in subsection A 
of this section shall be used, commencing on the effective 
date of the applicable standard as published in the Code of 
Federal Regulations. 

16VAC30-16-40. Billing code sets. 

Billing codes and modifier systems identified in this section 
are valid codes for the specified workers' compensation 
transactions, in addition to any code sets defined by the 
standards in 16VAC30-16-30. 

1. "CDT-4 Codes" are codes and nomenclature prescribed 
by the American Dental Association. 

2. "CPT-4 Codes" are the procedural terminology and 
codes contained in the "Current Procedural Terminology, 
Fourth Edition," as published by the American Medical 
Association.  

3. "Diagnosis Related Group" or "DRG" is the inpatient 
classification scheme used by CMS for hospital inpatient 
reimbursement. The DRG system classifies patients based 
on principal diagnosis, surgical procedure, age, presence of 
comorbidities and complications, and other pertinent data. 

4. "Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System" or 
"HCPCS" is a coding system that describes products, 
supplies, procedures, and health professional services and 
that includes the American Medical Association's 
Physician "Current Procedural Terminology, Fourth 
Edition," CPT-4 codes, alphanumeric codes, and related 
modifiers. 

5. "ICD-10-CM/PCS Codes" are diagnosis and procedure 
codes in the International Classification of Diseases, Tenth 
Edition, Clinical Modification/Procedure Coding System 
maintained and published by the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services. 

6. "NDC" are National Drug Codes of the U.S. Food and 
Drug Administration. 

7. "Revenue Codes" is the four-digit coding system 
developed and maintained by the National Uniform Billing 
Committee for billing inpatient and outpatient hospital 
services, home health services, and hospice services. 

8. "National Uniform Billing Committee Codes" are a code 
structure and instructions established for use by the 
National Uniform Billing Committee, such as occurrence 
codes, condition codes, or prospective payment indicator 
codes. As of (insert effective date of final regulation), these 
are known as UB04 codes. 

16VAC30-16-50. Electronic medical billing, 
reimbursement, and documentation. 

A. Applicability. 

1. This section outlines the exclusive process for the initial 
exchange of electronic medical bill and related payment 
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processing data for professional, institutional or hospital, 
pharmacy, and dental services. 

2. Payers or their agents shall: 

a. Accept electronic medical bills submitted in 
accordance with the adopted standards; 

b. Transmit acknowledgments and remittance advice in 
compliance with the adopted standards in response to 
electronically submitted medical bills; and 

c. Support methods to receive electronic documentation 
required for the adjudication of a bill, as described in 
16VAC30-16-80. 

3. Unless exempted from this process in accordance with 
subsection B of this section, a health care provider shall: 

a. Implement a software system capable of exchanging 
medical bill data in accordance with the adopted 
standards or contract with a clearinghouse to exchange its 
medical bill data; 

b. Submit medical bills as provided in 16VAC30-16-30 
A 1 to any payers that have established connectivity to 
the health care provider's system or clearinghouse; 

c. Submit required documentation in accordance with 
subsection E of this section; and 

d. Receive and process any acceptance or rejection 
acknowledgment from the payer. 

4. Payers shall be able to exchange electronic data by 
December 31, 2018. 

5. Health care providers or their agents shall be able to 
exchange electronic data by December 31, 2018, unless 
exempted from the process in accordance with subsection 
B of this section. 

B. Exemptions. A health care provider is exempt from the 
requirement to submit medical bills electronically to a payer 
if: 

1. The health care provider employs 10 or fewer full-time 
employees; and 

2. Treatment or services provided to injured workers to be 
billed under workers' compensation constitutes less than 
10% of the health care provider's practice. 

C. Complete electronic medical bill. To be considered a 
complete electronic medical bill, the bill or supporting 
transmissions shall: 

1. Be submitted in the correct billing format; 

2. Be transmitted in compliance with the format 
requirements described in 16VAC30-16-30; 

3. Include in legible text all supporting documentation for 
the bill, including medical reports and records, evaluation 

reports, narrative reports, assessment reports, progress 
reports, progress notes, clinical notes, hospital records, and 
diagnostic test results that are expressly required by law or 
can reasonably be expected by the payer or its agent under 
the laws of Virginia;  

4. Identify the following: 

a. Injured employee; 

b. Employer; 

c. Insurance carrier, third-party administrator, managed 
care organization, or payer agent; 

d. Health care provider; 

e. Medical service or product; and 

f. Any other requirements as presented in the Companion 
Guide; and 

5. Use current and valid codes and values as defined in the 
applicable formats referenced in this chapter and the 
Companion Guide. 

D. Acknowledgment.  

1. An Interchange Acknowledgment (ASC X12 TA1) 
notifies the sender of the receipt of, and certain structural 
defects associated with, an incoming transaction. 

2. An Implementation Acknowledgment (ASC X12 999) 
transaction is an electronic notification to the sender of the 
file that it has been received and has been: 

a. Accepted as a complete and structurally correct file; or 

b. Rejected with a valid rejection error code. 

3. A Health Care Claim Acknowledgment (ASC X12 
277CA) is an electronic acknowledgment to the sender of 
an electronic transaction that the transaction has been 
received and has been: 

a. Accepted as a complete, correct submission; or 

b. Rejected with a valid rejection error code. 

4. A payer shall acknowledge receipt of an electronic 
medical bill by returning an Implementation 
Acknowledgment (ASC X12 999) within one business day 
of receipt of the electronic submission. 

a. Notification of a rejected bill is transmitted using the 
appropriate acknowledgment when an electronic medical 
bill does not meet the definition of a complete electronic 
medical bill as described in subsection C of this section 
or does not meet the edits defined in the applicable 
implementation guide. 

b. A health care provider or its agent shall not submit a 
duplicate electronic medical bill earlier than 60 calendar 
days from the date originally submitted if a payer has 
acknowledged acceptance of the original complete 
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electronic medical bill. A health care provider or its agent 
may submit a corrected medical bill electronically to the 
payer after receiving notification of a rejection. The 
corrected medical bill is submitted as a new, original bill. 

5. A payer shall acknowledge receipt of an electronic 
medical bill by returning a Health Care Claim 
Acknowledgment (ASC X12 277CA) transaction (detail 
acknowledgment) within two business days of receipt of 
the electronic submission. 

a. Notification of a rejected bill is transmitted in an ASC 
X12N 277CA response or acknowledgment when an 
electronic medical bill does not meet the definition of a 
complete electronic medical bill or does not meet the 
edits defined in the applicable implementation guide. 

b. A health care provider or its agent shall not submit a 
duplicate electronic medical bill earlier than 60 calendar 
days from the date originally submitted if a payer has 
acknowledged acceptance of the original complete 
electronic medical bill. A health care provider or its agent 
may submit a corrected medical bill electronically to the 
payer after receiving notification of a rejection. The 
corrected medical bill is submitted as a new, original bill. 

6. Acceptance of a complete medical bill is not an 
admission of liability by the payer. A payer may 
subsequently reject an accepted electronic medical bill if 
the employer or other responsible party named on the 
medical bill is not legally liable for its payment. 

a. The rejection is transmitted by means of a Health Care 
Claim Payment/Advice ASC X12 835 transaction. 

b. The subsequent rejection of a previously accepted 
electronic medical bill shall occur no later than 45 
calendar days from the date of receipt of the complete 
electronic medical bill. 

c. The transaction to reject the previously accepted 
complete medical bill shall clearly indicate that the 
reason for rejection is that the payer is not legally liable 
for its payment. 

7. Acceptance of an incomplete medical bill does not 
satisfy the written notice of injury requirement from an 
employee or payer as required by §§ 65.2-600 and 65.2-
900 of the Code of Virginia. 

8. Acceptance of a complete or incomplete medical bill by 
a payer does begin the time period by which a payer shall 
accept or deny liability for any alleged claim related to 
such medical treatment pursuant to § 65.2-605.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

9. Transmission of an Implementation Acknowledgment 
under subdivision D 2 of this section and acceptance of a 
complete, structurally correct file serves as proof of the 

received date for an electronic medical bill in subsection C 
of this section. 

E. Electronic documentation.  

1. Electronic documentation, including medical reports and 
records submitted electronically that support an electronic 
medical bill, may be required by the payer before payment 
may be remitted to the health care provider in accordance 
with this chapter.  

2. Complete electronic documentation shall be submitted 
by secure fax, secure encrypted electronic mail, or in a 
secure electronic format as described in 16VAC30-16-30. 

3. The electronic transmittal, by secure fax, secure 
encrypted electronic mail, or any other secure electronic 
format, shall prominently contain the following details on 
its cover sheet or first page of the transmittal: 

a. The name of the injured employee; 

b. Identification of the worker's employer, the employer's 
insurance carrier, or the third-party administrator or its 
agent handling the workers' compensation claim; 

c. Identification of the health care provider billing for 
services to the injured worker, and where applicable, its 
agent; 

d. Dates of service; 

e. The workers' compensation claim number assigned by 
the payer if established by the payer; and 

f. The unique attachment indicator number. 

F. Electronic remittance advice and electronic funds 
transfer.  

1. An electronic remittance advice (ERA) is an explanation 
of benefits (EOB) or explanation of review (EOR), 
submitted electronically, regarding payment or denial of a 
medical bill, recoupment request, or receipt of a refund. 

2. The ERA shall contain the appropriate Claim 
Adjustment Group Codes, Claim Adjustment Reason 
Codes, and associated Remittance Advice Remark Codes 
as specified in the Code Value Usage in Health Care Claim 
Payments and Subsequent Claims Technical Report Type 2 
(TR2) Workers' Compensation Code Usage Section and for 
pharmacy charges, the National Council for Prescription 
Drugs Program (NCPDP) Reject/Payment Codes, denoting 
the reason for payment, adjustment, or denial. Instructions 
for the use of the ERA and code sets are found in section 
7.5 of the Companion Guide. 

3. The ERA shall be sent before five business days of: 

a. The expected date of receipt by the health care 
provider of payment from the payer, or 

b. The date the bill was rejected by the payer. 
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4. All payments for services are required to be paid via 
electronic funds transfer unless an alternate electronic 
method is agreed upon by the payer and health care 
provider.  

G. Requirements for health care providers exempted from 
electronic billing. Health care providers exempted from 
electronic medical billing pursuant to subsection B of this 
section shall submit paper medical bills for payment in the 
following formats as applicable: 

1. On the current standard forms used by CMS, which are 
available online at https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/CMS-
Forms/CMS-Forms/index.html. 

2. On the current NCPDP Workers' 
Compensation/Property and Casualty Universal Claim 
Form (WC/PC UCF), which are available online at 
http://www.ncpdp.org/Products/Universal-Claim-Forms. 

3. On the current American Dental Association Claim 
Form, which is available online at 
https://www.ada.org/en/publications/cdt/ada-dental-claim-
form. 

All information submitted on required paper billing forms 
under this subsection shall be legible and accurately 
completed. 

H. Resubmissions. A health care provider or its agent shall 
not submit a duplicate paper medical bill earlier than 30 
business days from the date originally submitted unless the 
payer has rejected the medical bill as incomplete in 
accordance with 16VAC30-16-60. A health care provider or 
its agent may submit a corrected paper medical bill to the 
payer after receiving notification of the rejection of an 
incomplete medical bill. The corrected medical bill is 
submitted as a new, original bill.  

I. Connectivity. Unless the payer or its agent is exempted 
from the electronic medical billing process in accordance 
with subsection B of this section, it should attempt to 
establish connectivity through a trading partner agreement 
with any clearinghouse that requests the exchange of data in 
accordance with 16VAC30-16-30.  

J. Fees. No party to the electronic transactions shall charge 
excessive fees of any other party in the transaction. A payer 
or clearinghouse that requests another payer or clearinghouse 
to receive, process, or transmit a standard transaction shall not 
charge fees or costs in excess of the fees or costs for normal 
telecommunications that the requesting entity incurs when it 
directly transmits or receives a standard transaction. 

K. A health care provider agent may charge reasonable fees 
related to data translation, data mapping, and similar data 
functions when the health care provider is not capable of 
submitting a standard transaction. In addition, a health care 
provider agent may charge a reasonable fee related to: 

1. Transaction management of standard transactions, such 
as editing, validation, transaction tracking, management 
reports, portal services, and connectivity; and 

2. Other value added services, such as electronic file 
transfers related to medical documentation. 

L. A payer or its agent shall not reject a standard electronic 
transaction on the basis that it contains data elements not 
needed or used by the payer or its agent or that the electronic 
transaction includes data elements that exceed those required 
for a complete bill as enumerated in subsection C of this 
section. 

M. A health care provider that has not implemented a 
software system capable of sending standard transactions is 
required to use a secure online direct data entry system 
offered by a payer if the payer does not charge a transaction 
fee. A health care provider using an online direct data entry 
system offered by a payer or other entity shall use the 
appropriate data content and data condition requirements of 
the standard transactions. 

16VAC30-16-60. Employer, insurance carrier, managed 
care organization, or agent's receipt of medical bills from 
health care providers. 

A. Upon receipt of medical bills submitted in accordance 
with 16VAC30-16-30, 16VAC30-16-40, and 16VAC30-16-
50, a payer shall evaluate each bill's conformance with the 
criteria of a complete electronic medical bill. 

1. A payer shall not reject medical bills that are complete, 
unless the bill is a duplicate bill. 

2. Within 21 calendar days of receipt of an incomplete 
medical bill, a payer or its agent shall either: 

a. Complete the bill by adding missing health care 
provider identification or demographic information 
already known to the payer; or 

b. Reject the incomplete bill, in accordance with this 
subsection. 

B. The received date of an electronic medical bill is the date 
all of the contents of a complete electronic medical bill are 
successfully received by the payer. 

C. The payer may contact the health care provider to obtain 
the information necessary to make the bill complete. 

1. Any request by the payer or its agent for additional 
documentation to pay a medical bill shall: 

a. Be made by telephone or electronic transmission 
unless the information cannot be sent by those media, in 
which case the sender shall send the information by mail 
or personal delivery; 

b. Be specific to the bill or the bill's related episode of 
care; 

https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/CMS-Forms/CMS-Forms/index.html
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/CMS-Forms/CMS-Forms/index.html
http://www.ncpdp.org/Products/Universal-Claim-Forms
https://www.ada.org/en/publications/cdt/ada-dental-claim-form
https://www.ada.org/en/publications/cdt/ada-dental-claim-form
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c. Describe with specificity the clinical and other 
information to be included in the response; 

d. Be relevant and necessary for the resolution of the bill; 

e. Be for information that is contained in or is in the 
process of being incorporated into the injured employee's 
medical or billing record maintained by the health care 
provider; and 

f. Indicate the specific reason for which the insurance 
carrier is requesting the information. 

2. If the payer or its agent obtains the missing information 
and completes the bill to the point that it can be 
adjudicated for payment, the payer shall document the 
name and telephone number of the person who supplied 
the information. 

3. Health care providers and payers, or their agents, shall 
maintain documentation of any pertinent internal or 
external communications that are necessary to make the 
medical bill complete. 

D. A payer shall not reject or deny a medical bill except as 
provided in subsection A of this section. When rejecting or 
denying an electronic medical bill, the payer shall clearly 
identify the reasons for the bill's rejection or denial by 
utilizing the appropriate codes in the standard transactions 
found in 16VAC30-16-50 D 3 b. 

E. The rejection of an incomplete medical bill in accordance 
with this section fulfills the obligation of the payer to provide 
to the health care provider or its agent information related to 
the incompleteness of the bill. 

F. Payers shall timely reject incomplete bills or request 
additional information needed to reasonably determine the 
amount payable. 

1. For bills submitted electronically, the rejection of the 
entire bill or the rejection of specific service lines included 
in the initial bill shall be sent to the submitter within two 
business days of receipt. 

2. If bills are submitted in a batch transmission, only the 
specific bills failing edits shall be rejected. 

3. If there is a technical defect within the transmission 
itself that prevents the bills from being accessed or 
processed, the transmission will be rejected with an 
Interchange Acknowledgment (ASC X12 TA1) transaction 
or an Implementation Acknowledgment (ASC X12 999) 
transaction, as appropriate. 

G. If a payer has reason to challenge the coverage or amount 
of a specific line item on a bill but has no reasonable basis for 
objections to the remainder of the bill, the uncontested 
portion shall be paid timely, as described in subsection H of 
this section.  

H. Payment of all uncontested portions of a complete 
medical bill shall be made within 60 calendar days of receipt 
of the original bill or receipt of additional information 
requested by the payer allowed under the law. Amounts paid 
after this 60-calendar-day review period will accrue interest at 
the judgment rate of interest as provided in § 6.2-302 of the 
Code of Virginia. The interest payment shall be made at the 
same time.  

I. A payer shall not reject or deny a medical bill except as 
provided in subsection A of this section. When rejecting or 
denying a medical bill, the payer shall also communicate to 
the health care provider the reasons for the medical bill's 
rejection or denial.  

16VAC30-16-70. Communication between health care 
providers and payers. 

A. Any communication between the health care provider 
and the payer related to medical bill processing shall be of 
sufficient specific detail to allow the responder to easily 
identify the information required to resolve the issue or 
question related to the medical bill. Generic statements that 
simply state a conclusion such as "payer improperly reduced 
the bill" or "health care provider did not document" or other 
similar phrases with no further description of the factual basis 
for the sender's position do not satisfy the requirements of this 
section. 

B. The payer's utilization of the Claim Adjustment Group 
Codes, Claim Adjustment Reason Codes, or the Remittance 
Advice Remark Codes, or as appropriate, the National 
Council for Prescription Drugs Program Reject/Payment 
Codes, when communicating with the health care provider or 
its agent or assignee, through the use of the Health Care 
Claim Payment/Advice ASC X12 835 transaction, provides a 
standard mechanism to communicate issues associated with 
the medical bill. 

C. Communication between the health care provider and 
payer related to medical bill processing shall be made by 
telephone or electronic transmission unless the information 
cannot be sent by those media, in which case the sender shall 
send the information by mail or personal delivery. 

16VAC30-16-80. Medical documentation necessary for 
billing adjudication. 

A. Medical documentation includes all medical reports and 
records permitted or required in accordance with Rule 4.2 of 
the Rules of the Virginia Workers' Compensation 
Commission, subdivision 2 of 16VAC30-50-50.  

B. Any request by the payer for additional documentation to 
process a medical bill shall conform to the requirements of 
16VAC30-16-60 C. 

C. It is the obligation of an insurer or employer to furnish its 
agents with any documentation necessary for the resolution of 
a medical bill. 
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D. Health care providers, health care facilities, third-party 
biller, third-party assignees, and claims administrators and 
their agents shall comply with all applicable federal and 
jurisdictional rules related to privacy, confidentiality, and 
security. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(16VAC30-16) 

Electronic Billing and Payment Companion Guide, Virginia 
Workers' Compensation Commission, Release 1.0, 12/2018 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4654; Filed May 21, 2018, 2:07 p.m.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7b6eb004654%7E1e.pdf&typ=40&actno=004654&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7b6eb004654%7E1e.pdf&typ=40&actno=004654&mime=application/pdf
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 
a small business impact review of 2VAC5-410, Rules and 
Regulations for the Enforcement of the Virginia 
Agricultural Liming Materials Law, and determined that 
this regulation should be retained in its current form. The 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services is 
publishing its report of findings dated May 5, 2018, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 
Code of Virginia. 

The provisions of this regulation continue to be necessary in 
order to assist in ensuring the proper oversight of the sale of 
liming materials in the Commonwealth. The agency has not 
received any complaints or comments from the public 
concerning this regulation. The agency has determined that 
the regulation is not unnecessarily complex and is easily 
understood by the regulated industry. This regulation does not 
overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any federal law or any 
other state law or regulation. Additionally, the agency has 
determined that there are no changes to technology, economic 
conditions, or other factors that have occurred that necessitate 
amendments to this regulation. The agency has determined 
that this regulation is the least burdensome alternative for 
effectively regulating participants in this industry, including 
small businesses. 

Contact Information: Debra Martin, Program Manager, Office 
of Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 786-3515, FAX (804) 371-7793, or email 
debra.martin@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 
a small business impact review of 2VAC5-690, Regulations 
for Pesticide Containers and Containment under 
Authority of the Virginia Pesticide Control Act, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services is publishing its report of findings dated May 9, 
2018, to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-
4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation establishes (i) standards for container design 
and residue removal in nonrefillable pesticide containers, 
standards for container design in refillable pesticide 
containers, and standards for repackaging pesticide products 
into refillable containers and pesticide containment structures; 
and (ii) recordkeeping requirements. Individuals, businesses, 
or other entities affected by the proposed regulations may 

include pesticide registrants, retailers, distributors, 
commercial applicators, custom blenders, and end-users. 
Virginia's regulations are equivalent to the federal regulations 
that are currently in place and allow more flexibility and 
greater discretion in the enforcement of pesticide container 
and containment requirements based on Virginia's unique 
needs and conditions. No complaints or comments concerning 
the regulations have been received from the public. This 
regulation became effective in January 2014, and no 
conditions or factors have changed since this time that would 
necessitate any revisions to this regulation.  

Approximately 50 facilities are required to comply with the 
regulations. The vast majority of these facilities are small 
businesses. As the regulation is equivalent to the federal 
regulation, this regulation does not prescribe requirements for 
regulants with which they would not have to comply were the 
regulation repealed. Amendments to the current regulation 
providing exemptions from its provisions or less stringent 
requirements for certain regulants would not provide 
protection for human health and the environment. 

Contact Information: Liza Fleeson Trossbach, Program 
Manager, Office of Pesticide Services, Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-6559, FAX (804) 
371-2283, or email liza.fleeson@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Proposed Variance to Regulations to Assure the 
Rights of Individuals Receiving Services from 

Providers Licensed, Funded, or Operated by the 
Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (12VAC35-115) 
The Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services (DBHDS), in accordance with Part VI, Variances 
(12VAC35-115-220), of the Regulations to Assure the Rights 
of Individuals Receiving Services from Providers Licensed, 
Funded, or Operated by the Department of Behavioral Health 
and Developmental Services (12VAC35-115), hereafter 
referred to as the "Human Rights Regulations," is announcing 
a decision by the State Human Rights Committee (SHRC) on 
applications for proposed variances to the Human Rights 
Regulations. The purpose of the regulations is to ensure and 
protect the legal and human rights of individuals receiving 
services in facilities or programs operated, licensed, or funded 
by DBHDS.  

Each variance application must reference the specific part of 
these regulations to which a variance is needed, the proposed 
wording of the substitute rule or procedure, and the 
justification for a variance. Such application must also 
describe time limits and other conditions for duration and the 
circumstances that will end the applicability of the variance. 

mailto:debra.martin@vdacs.virginia.gov
mailto:liza.fleeson@vdacs.virginia.gov


General Notices/Errata 

Virginia Register of Regulations 

2126 

All variances shall be approved for a specific time period. 
Variances to the Human Rights Regulations by providers are 
reviewed by the SHRC at least annually, with reports to the 
SHRC regarding the variances as requested. 

After considering all available information at its meeting on 
April 20, 2018, the SHRC voted to approve each application 
for variance listed below. 

Newport News Behavioral Health Center 

A public comment period was held from February 19, 2018, 
through March 21, 2018. No comments were received. The 
SHRC approved the variance application. The variance was 
approved for a three-year period, with annual updates 
provided to the SHRC and quarterly review by the local 
human rights committee (LHRC). 

Variance to procedures for restrictions on freedoms of 
everyday life: 

12VAC35-115-100 A 1 a:  

Newport News Behavioral Health Center requested a variance 
to this provision in order to utilize a point level system 
(Behavior Management Model) affecting movement of an 
individual within the service setting, grounds, and 
community. It would require an individual to earn points 
through a level system. The level system is to provide all 
residents with consistent rewards for positive and 
constructive behavior and provide consequences when a 
resident choses to ignore those rules. 

DBHDS Virginia Center for Behavioral Rehabilitation 
(VCBR) 

A public comment period was held from December 25, 2017, 
through January 25, 2018. No comments were received. The 
SHRC approved the variance applications. The variances 
were approved for a three-year period, with annual updates 
provided to the SHRC and quarterly review by the LHRC. 

Variance to complaint procedure: 

The Human Rights Regulations provide a comprehensive 
complaint resolution process that includes access to an LHRC 
and the SHRC, articulated in the regulation sections specified 
below: 

12VAC35-115-150: General provisions 

12VAC35-115-175: Human rights complaint process 

12VAC35-115-180: Local human rights committee hearing 
and review procedures 

12VAC35-115-190: Special procedures for emergency 
hearings by the LHRC 

12VAC35-115-200: Special procedures for LHRC reviews 
involving consent and authorization 

12VAC35-115-210: State Human Rights Committee 
appeals procedures 

VCBR Facility Instruction No. 202, Resident Complaint 
Resolution, provides alternative procedures for addressing 
resident complaints to be followed in lieu of those specified 
in the regulatory sections listed. VCBR's variances to these 
regulations are reviewed by the SHRC at least annually, with 
VCBR providing reports to the SHRC regarding the variances 
as requested. 

Variance for rooms within medical unit with no windows:  

VCBR has four bedrooms in its medical unit that do not meet 
the requirement of the italicized portion of the following 
regulation:  

12VAC35-115-50 C 3 (d): Live in a humane, safe, sanitary 
environment that gives each individual, at a minimum, 
windows or skylights in all major areas used by 
individuals. 

VCBR requested a variance to this regulation to enable it to 
utilize these bedrooms if a bedroom that meets the 
requirement is not available on a unit that meets an 
individual's needs. VCBR currently provides a monthly report 
to the SHRC on how many times rooms with no windows 
within the medical unit of VCBR are used during the previous 
month and will continue to do so.  

Variance for double-bunking: 

Following the mandate by the General Assembly (Chapter 
806 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly), VCBR implemented 
double-bunking (two individuals residing in a single room). 
Although VCBR has attempted to maintain residents' privacy 
and a physical environment free from bad odors, this is not 
always possible. For this reason, VCBR requested a variance 
to the regulations listed below:  

12VAC35-115-50 C 3 (a) and (e):  

a) Reasonable privacy and private storage space 

e) Clean air, free of bad odors 

VCBR Facility Instruction No. 124, Resident Housing 
Assignment, describes how residents' housing assignments 
are determined and shall substitute for these regulations. 
VCBR provides a monthly report to the SHRC on how many 
residents are double-bunked, complaints received by residents 
regarding double-bunking, and any medication sessions 
treatment staff hold with roommates to resolve concerns 
related to double-bunking. 

Contact Information: Deborah Lochart, Director, Office of 
Human Rights, Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services, 1220 East Bank Street, P.O. Box 
1797, Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (804) 786-0032, 
FAX (804) 804-371-2308, or email 
deb.lochart@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

mailto:deb.lochart@dbhds.virginia.gov
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COMMISSION ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT 
Schedule for the Assessment of State and Federal 

Mandates on Local Governments 
Pursuant to the provisions of § 2.2-613 and subdivision 6 of 
§ 15.2-2903 of the Code of Virginia, the following schedule, 
established by the Commission on Local Government and 
approved by Secretary of Commerce and Trade R. Brian Ball 
and Governor Ralph S. Northam, represents the timetable that 
the listed executive agencies will follow in conducting their 
assessments of certain state and federal mandates they 
administer that are imposed on local governments. Such 
mandates are new (in effect for at least 24 months), newly 
identified, or have been significantly altered as to warrant a 
reassessment of the mandate (and have been in effect for 

24 months). In conducting these assessments, agencies will 
follow the process established by Executive Order 58, which 
became effective October 11, 2007. These mandates are 
abstracted in the Catalog of State and Federal Mandates on 
Local Governments published by the Commission on Local 
Government and approved by the commission on March 13, 
2018. 

For further information contact Kristen Dahlman, Senior 
Policy Analyst, Commission on Local Government, email 
kristen.dahlman@dhcd.virginia.gov or telephone (804) 371-
7017, or visit the Commission's website at 
www.dhcd.virginia.gov. 

 

STATE AND FEDERAL MANDATES ON LOCAL GOVERNMENTS 

Approved Schedule of Assessment Periods – July 2018 through June 2019 

For Executive Agency Assessment of Cataloged Mandates 

AGENCY CATALOG 
NUMBER 

ASSESSMENT 
PERIOD Mandate Short Title 

AGRICULTURE & CONSUMER SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF   

Animal Control and Law Enforcement Animal Recordkeeping Requirements SAF.VDACS013 8/01/18 to 10/31/18 

EDUCATION, DEPARTMENT OF   

School Staffing Ratios SOE.DOE010 7/01/18 to 9/30/18 

Standards of Accreditation Requirements SOE.DOE030 7/01/18 to 9/30/18 

Broadband Connectivity Capability SOE.DOE148 7/01/18 to 9/30/18 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY, DEPARTMENT OF   

Stormwater Management Programs by Localities SNR.DEQ039 9/01/18 to 11/30/18 

HOUSING & COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT, DEPARTMENT OF   

Local Building Permit Fee Levy SCT.DHCD021 8/01/18 to 10/31/18 

Virginia Main Street (VMS) SCT.DHCD022 8/01/18 to 10/31/18 

SOCIAL SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF   

Support Payments for Public Service SHHR.DSS081 9/01/18 to 11/30/18 

VIRGINIA STATE POLICE   

Officer Involved Shooting SPSHS.VSP018 8/01/18 to 10/31/18 

mailto:kristen.dahlman@dhcd.virginia.gov
http://www.dhcd.virginia.gov/
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VIRGINIA LOTTERY 
Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery were 
filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on May 23, 
2018. The orders may be viewed at the Virginia Lottery, 
600 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of  
the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Two (18) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1886 "Ford Expedition Plus 
$100K" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective May 9, 
2018) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Three (18) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1893 "20X The Money" 
Final Rules for Game Operation (effective May 22, 2018) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Four (18) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1857 "7x The Money" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (effective May 9, 2018) 

Director's Order Number Sixty (18) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1816 "Beginners Luck" 
Final Rules for Game Operation (effective May 9, 2018) 

Director's Order Number Sixty-Eight (18) 

Virginia Lottery's "Riverrock" Promotion Final Rules for 
Operation (This Director's Order becomes effective on May 
18, 2018, and shall remain in full force and effect through the 
end Promotion date unless amended or rescinded by further 
Director's Order) 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Draft Local Education Agency Provider Manual for 
Stakeholder Input 

Comment period: May 16, 2018, through June 15, 2018. 

The draft Local Education Agency (LEA) Provider Manual 
(Chapters II and IV) are posted on the Department of Medical 
Assistance services website at 
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_pgs/pd-pmnl.aspx for 
public comment through June 15, 2018. Please see the 
overview below for more details. 

Overview of Changes 

Chapter II (Pages 15-16): 

• Updates references to sections of Virginia Administrative 
Code pertaining to licensing of speech-language 
pathologists (SLPs) and audiologists. 

Chapter IV (Pages 10-12): 

• Clarifies requirements for SLPs who can implement the 
plan of care, with and without supervision, in accordance 
with current licensing requirements of the Board of 
Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology. 

• Implements consistent use of the terms "speech-language 
pathologist (SLP)" and "speech-language therapy." 

• Updates references to sections of Virginia Administrative 
Code pertaining to licensing of speech-language 
pathologists and audiologists. 

Chapters II and IV of the LEA Provider Manual will be 
finalized and officially posted by June 22, 2018, at 
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/P
roviderManuals. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 
Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 
Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 
786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE and BOARD OF NURSING 
Draft Regulations for Autonomous Practice for 

Nurse Practitioners 
Comment period: May 22, 2018, to June 21, 2018. 

The Board of Medicine and the Board of Nursing are seeking 
public comment on draft regulations to implement Chapter 
776 of 2018 Acts of Assembly, legislation to authorize nurse 
practitioners who meet certain qualifications to practice 
without a practice agreement with a patient care team 
physician. 

On May 17, 2018, the Committee of the Joint Boards of 
Nursing and Medicine and its Advisory Committee, serving 
as the Regulatory Advisory Panel, adopted recommended 
amendments to nurse practitioner regulations to implement 
the provisions of Chapter 776. 

The Board of Nursing will consider the draft regulations on 
July 17, 2018, and the Board of Medicine will consider the 
draft regulations on August 3, 2018. In order to comply with 
the second enactment on the bill requiring regulations to be 
effective within 280 days, the boards will be adopting 
emergency regulations. 

Comment on the draft regulations, as recommended by the 
Regulatory Advisory Panel, may be posted in a public 
comment forum on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 
emailed to elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. Comments sent by 
postal mail should be directed to Elaine Yeatts, Senior Policy 
Analyst, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Richmond, VA 23233. 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_pgs/pd-pmnl.aspx
http://townhall.virginia.gov/
http://townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
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View draft regulations at 
http://leg1.state.va.us/000/lst/r1265304.HTM. 

Contact Information: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive 
Director, Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX (804) 
527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Contact Information: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive 
Director, Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 
527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 
Enforcement Action for A&B Salvage Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for A&B Salvage 
Inc. for violations of the State Water Control Law in New 
Church, Virginia. A description of the proposed action is 
available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 
named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Jennifer 
Coleman, Esq. will accept comments by email at 
jennifer.coleman@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-2009, 
or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 
Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from June 11, 2018, to July 11, 
2018. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Jefferson-Lakeside Club 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Jefferson-
Lakeside Club for violations of State Water Control Law that 
occurred in Richmond, Virginia. A description of the 
proposed action is available online at www.deq.virginia.gov. 
Lee Crowell will accept comments by email at 
lee.crowell@deq.virginia.gov or postal mail at Department of 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 
23219, from June 11, 2018, through July 11, 2018. 

Public Meeting and Opportunity for Public Comment 
on Total Maximum Daily Load for Tributaries along 

the Rappahannock River 
Community meeting: A community meeting will be held 
Wednesday, June 20, 2018, at 5:30 p.m. at Westmoreland 
Fire Department, 52 Rectory Road, Montross, VA 22520. 
This meeting will be open to the public and all are welcome 
to participate. In the case of inclement weather or other 
reason for postponement, an alternate meeting date is 
scheduled for Monday, June 25, 2018, at 5:30 p.m. at the 
same location. For more information, please contact Anna 
Reh-Gingerich, telephone (804) 527-5021 or email anna.reh-
gingerich@deq.virginia.gov. 

Purpose of notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) and its contractors, Virginia Tech Biological Systems 
Engineering, will announce the development of a water 
quality study known as a total maximum daily load (TMDL) 

for tributaries along the Rappahannock River located in 
Essex, Westmoreland, Richmond, Caroline, and King George 
Counties. This is an opportunity for local residents to learn 
about the condition of these waters, share information about 
the area, and become involved in the process of local water 
quality improvement. A public comment period will follow 
the meeting, June 21, 2018, to July 20, 2018. 

Description of study: Portions of the Rappahannock River 
and its tributaries were identified in Virginia's 2016 Water 
Quality Assessment and Integrated Report as impaired due to 
violations of the state's water quality standards for 
Enterococci and E. coli and do not support the designated 
uses of "primary contact (recreational or swimming)." The 
specific impairments are included in this notice. Reductions 
and TMDLs for the causes of the impairments have been 
developed and are available for community review in the 
TMDL report located online at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/drftm
dls/RappahannockRiver_Bacteria_DRAFT_FINALIZED.pdf. 

How to comment and participate: The meetings of the TMDL 
process are open to the public and all interested parties are 
welcome. Written comments will be accepted through July 
20, 2018, and should include the name, address, and 
telephone number of the person submitting the comments. 
For more information or to submit written comments, please 
contact Anna Reh-Gingerich, Department of Environmental 
Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949 Cox Road, Glen 
Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 527-5021, or email 
anna.reh-gingerich@deq.virginia.gov. 

Affected Waterways: 

1. Baylors Creek (E22R-05-BAC), Assessment Unit VAP-
E22R_BAY01A08, 5.89 miles, Baylors Creek from its 
headwaters to the extent of backwater of Baylors Pond. 

2. Elmwood Creek and Tributary XHY (E22R-04-BAC), 
Assessment Unit VAP-E22R_ELM01A06, 9.07 miles, the 
nontidal portion of Elmwood Creek and its tributary XHY in 
its entirety. 

3. Stillwater Creek (E22R-08-BAC), Assessment Unit VAP-
E22R_STL01A14, 3.52 miles, Stillwater Creek from its 
headwaters at Cockerel Creek downstream to its tidal limit. 

4. Peedee Creek (E22R-06-BAC), Assessment Unit VAP-
E22R_PEE01A08, 3.29 miles, the mainstem of Peedee Creek 
from its headwater to the extent of tide. 

5. XHW, an unnamed tributary to Peedee Creek (E22R-09-
BAC), Assessment Unit VAP-E22R_XHW01A14, 0.47 
miles, headwaters to mouth. 

6. Peedee Creek, tidal portion (E22E-03-BAC), Assessment 
Unit VAP-E22E_PEE01A14, 0.15 square miles, tidal Peedee 
Creek. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/000/lst/r1265304.HTM
mailto:jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:Jennifer.Coleman@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:lee.crowell@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/drftmdls/RappahannockRiver_Bacteria_DRAFT_FINALIZED.pdf
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/drftmdls/RappahannockRiver_Bacteria_DRAFT_FINALIZED.pdf
mailto:anna.reh-gingerich@deq.virginia.gov
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7. Jetts Creek (E21R-10-BAC), Assessment Unit VAN-
E21R_JET01A10, 1.85 miles, segment begins at the 
confluence of Boom Swamp with Jetts Creek and continues 
downstream to the end of the free flowing waters. 

8. Portobago Creek (E21R-11-BAC), Assessment Unit VAN-
E21R_PBC01A10, 7.00 miles, segment begins at the 
confluence of two intermittent tributaries around rivermile 
6.66 and extends downstream to the end of the free flowing 
waters. 

9. Mill Creek (E21R-07-BAC), Assessment Unit VAN-
E21R_MIC01A08, 4.58 miles, begins at the confluence with 
Peumansend Creek at rivermile 6.06 and continues 
downstream until the tidal waters of Mill Creek. 

10. Rappahannock River (E22E-05-BAC), Assessment Unit 
VAP-E22E_RPP02A02, 3.35 square miles, the 
Rappahannock River from the tidal freshwater/oligohaline 
boundary downstream to rivermile 51.04. 

Public Meeting and Opportunity for Public Comment 
on Total Maximum Daily Load for Barbours Creek, 

Craig Creek, Catawba Creek, Little Patterson Creek, 
Sinking Creek, Lapsely Run, and a Section on the 

James River 
Public informational meeting: A community meeting will be 
held on Thursday, June 21, 2018, from 6 p.m. until 8 p.m. at 
the Craig-Botetourt Electric Cooperative and on Tuesday, 
June 26, 2018, from 6 p.m. until 8 p.m. at the Eagle Rock 
Library. The addresses are Craig-Botetourt Electric 
Cooperative, 26198 Craigs Creek Road, New Castle, VA 
24127 and Eagle Rock Library, 55 Eagles Nest Drive, Eagle 
Rock, VA 24085. In the case of inclement weather, the 
meetings will be rescheduled for June 25, 2018, from 6 p.m. 
until 8 p.m. at Craig-Botetourt Electric Cooperative and June 
28, 2018, from 6 p.m. until 8 p.m. at the Eagle Rock Library. 
These meetings will be open to the public and all are 
welcome. For more information, please contact Lucy Baker at 
email lucy.baker@deq.virginia.gov or telephone (540) 562-
6718. 

Purpose of notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) and its contractors, Virginia Tech Biological Systems 
Engineering, will discuss the results of a water quality study, 
known as a total maximum daily load (TMDL) for Barbours 
Creek, Craig Creek, Catawba Creek, Little Patterson Creek, 
Sinking Creek, Lapsely Run, and a section on the James 
River in Craig and Botetourt Counties. These streams are 
listed on the § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report as 
impaired due to violations of Virginia's water quality 
standards for recreational use and general standard (benthics). 
Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the Code of Virginia requires DEQ to develop TMDLs for 
pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 
Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report. This is an 
opportunity for local residents to learn about the condition of 

these streams, share information about the area, and become 
involved in the process of local water quality improvement. A 
30-day public comment period on the draft TMDL will 
follow the meetings, June 21, 2018 to July 25, 2018. Access 
the draft TMDL document at 
http://bit.do/VADEQdraftTMDL. 

Description of study: In Botetourt and Craig Counties, 
portions of the James River, Catawba Creek, Craig Creek, 
Barbours Creek, Sinking Creek, Lapsley Run, and Little 
Patterson Creek are impaired for the "recreational use" water 
quality standard, meaning there is too much E. Coli bacteria 
present in these waterbodies. A section of Catawba Creek 
does not have a healthy and diverse community of aquatic 
organisms and subsequently does not meet the "aquatic life" 
water quality standard. Excessive bacteria levels may pose a 
threat to human health; therefore, a bacteria standard was 
established to preserve recreational uses in Virginia's 
waterbodies. This water quality study will report on the 
sources of bacteria and recommend reductions to meet total 
maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for the impaired waters. A 
TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a water body can 
contain and still meet water quality standards. To restore 
water quality, bacteria levels need to be reduced to the TMDL 
amount. A component of a TMDL is the wasteload allocation 
(WLA); therefore, this notice is provided pursuant to § 2.2-
4006 A 14 of the Administrative Process Act for any future 
adoption of the TMDL WLAs.  

Stream Impairment 
length 

Location 
description 

County Impairment 

Craig 
Creek 

7.91 miles Mainstem 
from the 
mouth of 
Turnpike 
Creek 
extending 
downstream 
to the Rt. 
311 
crossing 

Craig 
County 

Bacteria 

Craig 
Creek 

11.43 miles Craig Creek 
from the 
mouth of 
Johns 
Creek 
downstream 
to the 
Barbours 
Creek 
confluence  

Craig 
County 

Bacteria 

mailto:lucy.baker@deq.virginia.gov
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Craig 
Creek 

27.56 miles Craig Creek 
mainstem 
from the 
mouth of 
Wilson 
Branch 
downstream 
to the 
confluence 
with the 
James 
River 

Botetourt 
County 

Bacteria 

Barbours 
Creek 

7.15 miles Barbours 
Creek from 
just 
downstream 
of the Rt. 
617 and Rt. 
611 
junction at 
the mouth 
of Valley 
Branch on 
downstream 
to its mouth 
on Craig 
Creek 

Craig 
County 

Bacteria 

Little 
Patterson 
Creek 

4.24 miles Little 
Patterson 
Creek from 
just 
upstream of 
the Rt. 684 
(Sugar Tree 
Hollow 
Road) 
crossing 
downstream 
to its 
confluence 
with 
Patterson 
Creek  

Botetourt 
County 

Bacteria 

Lapsley 
Run 

9.01 miles Lapsley 
Run from 
its 
confluence 
with the 
James 
River 
upstream to 
its 
headwaters 

Botetourt 
County 

Bacteria 

James 
River 

7.63 miles James 
River from 
the 
confluence 
of the 
Jackson and 
Cowpasture 
Rivers 
downstream 
to the 
mouth of 
Stull Run 

Botetourt 
County 

Bacteria 

Sinking 
Creek 

6.42 miles Sinking 
Creek 
mainstem 
from its 
mouth on 
the James 
River 
upstream to 
the Route 
697 
crossing 

Botetourt 
County 

Bacteria 

Catawba 
Creek  

13.46 miles Catawba 
Creek from 
the 
confluence 
of Little 
Catawba 
Creek 
downstream 
to the Town 
of Fincastle 
publicly 
owned 
treatment 
works 

Botetourt 
County 

Bacteria 

Catawba 
Creek 

3.23 miles Catawba 
Creek from 
Buchanan 
Branch 
downstream 
to the 
confluence 
with Little 
Catawba 
Creek  

Botetourt 
County 

Aquatic 
Life 

How to comment and participate: The meetings of the TMDL 
process are open to the public and all interested parties are welcome. 
Written comments will be accepted through July 25, 2018, and 
should include the name, address, and telephone number of the 
person submitting the comments. For more information or to submit 
written comments, please contact Lucy Baker, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Blue Ridge Regional Office, 3019 Peters 
Creek Road, Roanoke, VA 24019, telephone (540) 562-6718, FAX 
(540) 562-6725, or email lucy.baker@deq.virginia.gov. 
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VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 
Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 
Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 
repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 
regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 
the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 
available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents 
/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 
Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 
Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 
regulatory information. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

file://legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf

	REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE
	PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES
	PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING
	REGULATIONS
	GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA



