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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 
any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 
pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 
Gregory D. Habeeb, Vice Chair; James A. "Jay" Leftwich; Ryan T. 
McDougle; Rita Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. 
Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. 
Towell; Mark J. Vucci. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 
Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Alexandra Stewart-Jonte, 
Regulations Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri 
Edwards, Senior Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

September 2018 through August 2019 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

35:2 August 29, 2018 September17, 2018 

35:3 September 12, 2018 October 1, 2018 

35:4 September 26, 2018 October 15, 2018 

35:5 October 10, 2018 October 29, 2018 

35:6 October 24, 2018 November 12, 2018 

35:7 November 7, 2018 November 26, 2018 

35:8 November 19, 2018 (Monday) December 10, 2018 

35:9 December 5, 2018 December 24, 2018 

35:10 December 14, 2018 (Friday) January 7, 2019 

35:11 January 2, 2019 January 21, 2019 

35:12 January 16, 2019 February 4, 2019 

35:13 January 30, 2019 February18, 2019 

35:14 February 13, 2019 March 4, 2019 

35:15 February 27, 2019 March 18, 2019 

35:16 March 13, 2019 April 1, 2019 

35:17 March 27, 2019 April 15, 2019 

35:18 April 10, 2019 April 29, 2019 

35:19 April 24, 2019 May 13, 2019 

35:20 May 8, 2019 May 27, 2019 

35:21 May 22, 2019 June 10, 2019 

35:22 June 5, 2019 June 24, 2019 

35:23 June 19, 2019 July 8, 2019 

35:24 July 3, 2019 July 22, 2019 

35:25 July 17, 2019 August 5, 2019 

35:26 July 31, 2019 August 19, 2019 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services intends to consider amending 2VAC5-
317, Regulations for the Enforcement of the Noxious 
Weeds Law. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
consider amending the current list of noxious weeds and 
making any additional amendments the board deems 
necessary as a result of revising the list of noxious weeds. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-802 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 19, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Debra Martin, Program Manager, Office of 
Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 786-3515, FAX (804) 371-7793, TTY (800) 
828-1120, or email debra.martin@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5605; Filed July 24, 2018, 3:11 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services intends to consider amending 2VAC5-
320, Regulations for the Enforcement of the Endangered 
Plant and Insect Species Act. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to amend the lists of endangered and threatened 
plant and insect species by (i) removing from the regulation a 
plant species that is no longer globally rare and (ii) adding to 
the endangered and threatened lists certain plant and insect 
species that are considered in danger of extinction or that are 
likely to become endangered in the foreseeable future 
throughout all or a significant portion of their native range. 
This action seeks to protect endangered and threatened plant 
and insect species from take and destruction. The proposed 
amendments will also stimulate conservation programs to 
preserve and protect the affected species. This Notice of 
Intended Regulatory Action serves as the report of the 
findings of the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-1002 and 3.2-1005 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 19, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Debra Martin, Program Manager, Office of 
Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 786-3515, FAX (804) 371-7793, TTY (800) 
828-1120, or email debra.martin@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5606; Filed July 24, 2018, 3:14 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL AUTHORITY 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Authority intends to consider amending 3VAC5-70, Other 
Provisions. The purpose of the proposed action is to change 
the civil penalties for first-time offense violations by 
increasing the amounts to reflect a statutory increase in 
current maximum penalties. Any licensee charged with one of 
the offenses listed in 3VAC5-70-210, provided that the 
licensee has no other pending charges and has not had any 
substantiated violations of regulation or statute within the 
three years immediately preceding the date of the violation, 
may enter a written waiver of hearing and accept a period of 
suspension or pay a civil charge in lieu of a suspension. The 
increased penalties would continue to be lower than the 
maximum allowed in § 4.1-227 of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-111 and 4.1-227 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 19, 2018. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks, Legal Liaison, 
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 Hermitage 
Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-4698, FAX 
(804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks@abc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5365; Filed August 1, 2018, 12:32 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 
Commission is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1240. Fisherman 
Identification Program (amending 4VAC20-1240-30).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 26, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 
3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-
2248 or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment removes the toll free 1-800 number for 
requesting a fisherman identification program number 
because the number no longer exists. 

4VAC20-1240-30. Registration requirement; exception; 
procedures; confidentiality. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any resident or nonresident, 16 
years of age or older, to take or catch or attempt to take or 
catch any marine or anadromous fish species recreationally in 
any tidal waters of the Commonwealth without first 
obtaining, annually, a Fisherman Identification Program (FIP) 
number, except as provided in subsection B of this section. 

B. Any person who purchases a Virginia saltwater 
recreational fishing license under Article 1.1 (§ 28.2-302.1 et 
seq.) of Chapter 3 of Title 28.2 of the Code of Virginia, or a 
saltwater recreational fishing license issued by the Potomac 
River Fisheries Commission, is not required to obtain a FIP 
number for the term of that license. Any person fishing 
aboard a charter boat or head boat that is licensed by the 
Virginia Marine Resources Commission or the Potomac 
River Fisheries Commission is not required to obtain a FIP 
number. 

C. The FIP number may be obtained by the fisherman at no 
cost by calling a toll-free number and providing the required 

FIP information over the telephone or by entering the 
required FIP information online via an Internet access portal 
designated by the Marine Resources Commission for that 
purpose. The required FIP information shall include name, 
date of birth, address, and telephone number. No person shall 
be considered as registered under the FIP unless all of that 
person's FIP-required information is a part of the 
commission's telephone or Internet database.  

D. Any person registered in the Fisherman Identification 
Program must be able to produce his FIP number upon 
request by any police officer. Failure to provide a valid FIP 
number for the current year shall constitute a violation of this 
regulation. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5612; Filed July 26, 2018, 8:21 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Medical 
Assistance Services is claiming an exemption from Article 2 
of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-
4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 
regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in 
Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion is 
involved. The Department of Medical Assistance Services 
will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and 
Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (amending 
12VAC30-50-190).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Date: September 19, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

The amendment permits residents of nursing facilities to 
deduct the costs of limited specific dental procedures from 
their contributions toward the costs of their nursing facility 
care. Specifically, nursing facility residents are limited to 
deducting the following dental procedures: (i) routine 
exams and x-rays and dental cleaning twice yearly; (ii) full 
mouth x-rays once every three years; and (iii) extractions 
and fillings shall be permitted only if medically necessary 
as determined by the department. 

12VAC30-50-190. Dental services.  

A. Dental services shall be covered for individuals younger 
than 21 years of age in fulfillment of the treatment 
requirements under the Early and Periodic Screening, 
Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Program and defined as 
routine diagnostic, preventive, or restorative procedures 
necessary for oral health provided by or under the direct 
supervision of a dentist in accordance with the State Dental 
Practice Act Chapter 27 (§ 54.1-2700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

1. The state agency Department of Medical Assistance 
Services (DMAS) will provide any medically necessary 
dental service to individuals younger than 21 years of age. 

2. Certain dental services, as described in the agency's 
DMAS Office Reference Manual (Smiles for Children, 
March 13, 2014), prepared by DMAS' DMAS's dental 
benefits administrator, require preauthorization or 
prepayment review by the state agency DMAS or its 
designee.  

3. Dental services for individuals younger than the age of 
21 years that do not require preauthorization or prepayment 
review are initial, periodic, and emergency examinations; 
required radiography necessary to develop a treatment 
plan; patient education; dental prophylaxis; fluoride 
treatments; routine amalgam and composite restorations; 
stainless steel crowns, prefabricated steel post and 
temporary (polycarbonate crowns) crowns, and stainless 
steel bands; crown recementation; pulpotomies; emergency 
endodontics for temporary relief of pain; pulp capping; 
sedative fillings; therapeutic apical closure; topical 
palliative treatment for dental pain; removal of foreign 
body; simple extractions; root recovery; incision and 
drainage of abscess; surgical exposure of the tooth to aid 
eruption; sequestrectomy for osteomyelitis; and oral antral 
fistula closure.  

B. Dental services determined by the dental provider to be 
medically appropriate for an adult woman during the term of 
her pregnancy and through the end of the month following the 
60th day postpartum shall be provided to a Medicaid-enrolled 
pregnant woman. The dental services that shall be covered are 
(i) diagnostic x-rays and exams; (ii) preventive cleanings; (iii) 
restorative fillings; (iv) endodontics (root canals); (v) 

periodontics (gum-related treatments); (vi) prosthodontics, 
both removable and fixed (crowns, bridges, partial plates, and 
dentures); (vii) oral surgery (tooth extractions and other oral 
surgeries); and (viii) adjunctive general services (all covered 
services that do not fall into specific professional categories). 
These services require prepayment review by the state agency 
DMAS or its designee. 

C. For the dental services covered for Medicaid-enrolled 
adult pregnant women, the state agency DMAS may place 
appropriate limits on a service based on medical necessity, for 
utilization control, or both. Examples of service limitations 
are: examinations, prophylaxis, fluoride treatment (once/six 
months); space maintenance appliances; bitewing x-ray - two 
films (once/12 months); routine amalgam and composite 
restorations (once/three years); dentures (once/five years); 
extractions, tooth guidance appliances, permanent crowns and 
bridges, endodontics, patient education and sealants (once).  

D. Limited oral surgery procedures, as defined and covered 
under Title XVIII (Medicare), are covered for all recipients, 
and require preauthorization or prepayment review by the 
state agency DMAS or its designee as described in the 
agency's Office Reference Manual located on the DMAS 
website at: http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs 
/dnt/VA_SFC_ORM_140313.pdf http://www.dmas.virginia. 
gov/#/dentalresources.  

E. Residents of nursing facilities shall be permitted to deduct 
the costs of limited specific dental procedures from their 
payments toward the costs of their nursing facility care. 
Nursing facility residents shall be limited to deducting the 
following dental procedures: (i) routine exams and x-rays and 
dental cleaning twice yearly; (ii) full mouth x-rays once every 
three years; and (iii) extractions and fillings shall be permitted 
only if medically necessary as determined by DMAS.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5435; Filed July 30, 2018, 10:12 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 13. HOUSING 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Housing and 
Community Development is claiming an exemption from 
Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-
4006 A 12 of the Code of Virginia; however, the regulations 
are subject to the provisions of § 2.2-4007.06 of the Code of 
Virginia concerning public petitions. The regulations were (i) 
published as final regulations in 34:18 VA.R. 1744-1961 
April 30, 2018; (ii) suspended pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 in 
34:22 VA.R. 2140-2141 June 25, 2018; and (iii) readopted as 
final regulations with the changes shown in brackets below. 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/dentalresources
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/dentalresources
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=6875
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=6875
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=6933
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Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-63. Virginia Uniform 
Statewide Building Code (amending 13VAC5-63-470, 
13VAC5-63-485).  

Statutory Authority: § 36-98 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 4, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Policy Analyst, Department 
of Housing and Community Development, Main Street 
Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, FAX (804) 371-7090, TTY 
(804) 371-7089, or email kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (USBC) 
governs the construction, maintenance, and rehabilitation 
of new and existing building and structures. The USBC 
uses nationally recognized model building codes and 
standards produced by the International Code Council and 
other standard-writing groups as the basis for the 
technical provisions of the regulation. Every three years, 
new editions of the model codes become available. At that 
time, the Board of Housing and Community Development 
initiates a regulatory action to incorporate the newest 
editions of the model codes into the regulation. 

Final regulations for the USBC, including 13VAC5-63-470 
E and 13VAC5-63-485, were published in Volume 34, 
Issue 18 of the Virginia Register of Regulations on April 
30, 2018 (34:18 VA.R. 1744-1961 April 30, 2018), 
initiating a 30-day final adoption period. During that 
period, a number of petitions were received concerning 
substantive changes made between the proposed and final 
regulations. The board suspended the regulatory process 
for 13VAC5-63-470 E and 13VAC5-63-485 (refer to 34:22 
VA.R. 2140-2141 June 25, 2018) and established an 
additional 30-day comment period for these provisions. 

On July 30, 2018, the Board of Housing and Community 
Development considered the public comment on 13VAC5-
63-470 E and 13VAC5-63-485. The board readopted 
13VAC5-63-470 E as the final regulations were published 
and readopted 13VAC5-63-485 with the changes from the 
final regulations shown in brackets below.  

13VAC5-63-485 as readopted allows the code official to 
request legal proceedings when a property owner is served 
with three or more separate notices of violation for the 
same property within any five consecutive years for 
specific types of violations. 

13VAC5-63-470 E (Section 103.2.3 Responsibility). 

*** 

D. E. 103.2.3 Responsibility. The owner of a structure shall 
provide and maintain all buildings, structures, systems, 
facilities and associated equipment in compliance with this 

code unless it is specifically expressed or implied that it is the 
responsibility of the tenant or occupant. 

*** 

13VAC5-63-485. Section 105 Violations. 

105.1 Violation a misdemeanor; civil penalty. In accordance 
with § 36-106 of the Code of Virginia, it shall be unlawful for 
any owner or any other person, firm or corporation, on or 
after the effective date of any code provisions, to violate any 
such provisions. Any locality may adopt an ordinance that 
establishes a uniform schedule of civil penalties for violations 
of specified provisions of the code that are not abated or 
remedied promptly after receipt of a notice of violation from 
the local enforcement officer.  

Note: See the full text of § 36-106 of the Code of Virginia 
for additional requirements and criteria pertaining to legal 
action relative to violations of the code. 

105.2 Notices, reports and orders. Upon findings by the code 
official that violations of this code exist, the code official 
shall issue a correction notice or notice of violation to the 
owner or the person responsible for the maintenance of the 
structure. Work done to correct violations of this code subject 
to the permit, inspection and approval provisions of the VCC 
shall not be construed as authorization to extend the time 
limits established for compliance with this code. 

105.3 Correction notice. The correction notice shall be a 
written notice of the defective conditions. The correction 
notice shall require correction of the violation within a 
reasonable time unless an emergency condition exists as 
provided under the unsafe building provisions of Section 106. 
Upon request, the correction notice shall reference the code 
section that serves as the basis for the defects and shall state 
that such defects shall be corrected and reinspected in a 
reasonable time designated by the code official. 

105.4 Notice of violation. If the code official determines 
there are violations of this code a written notice of violation 
may be issued to the owner or the person responsible for the 
maintenance or use of the building or structure in lieu of a 
correction notice as provided for in Section 105.3. In 
addition, the code official shall issue a notice of violation for 
any uncorrected violation remaining from a correction notice 
established in Section 105.3. The code official shall provide 
the section numbers to the owner for any code provisions 
cited in the notice of violation. The notice shall require 
correction of the violation within a reasonable time. The 
owner or person to whom the notice of violation has been 
issued shall be responsible for contacting the code official 
within the timeframe established for any reinspections to 
assure the violations have been corrected. The code official 
will be responsible for making such inspection and verifying 
the violations have been corrected. In addition, the notice of 
violation shall indicate the right of appeal by referencing the 
appeals section of this code. 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=6875
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=6933
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=6933
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Exceptions:  

1. Notices issued and legal proceedings or emergency 
actions taken under Section 106 for unsafe structures, 
unsafe equipment, or structures unfit for human 
occupancy.  

2. Notices issued for failing to maintain buildings and 
structures as required by Section 103.2, as evidenced by 
multiple or repeated violations on the same property are 
not required to include a compliance deadline for 
correcting defects. 

105.5 Coordination of inspections. The code official shall 
coordinate inspections and administrative orders with any 
other state or local agencies having related inspection 
authority and shall coordinate those inspections required by 
the Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code (13VAC5-51) 
for maintenance of fire protection devices, equipment, and 
assemblies so that the owners and occupants will not be 
subjected to numerous inspections or conflicting orders.  

Note: The Fire Prevention Code requires the fire official to 
coordinate such inspections with the code official. 

105.6 Further action when violation not corrected. If the 
responsible party has not complied with the notice of 
violation, the code official may request the legal counsel of 
the locality to institute the appropriate legal proceedings to 
restrain, correct or abate the violation or to require the 
removal or termination of the use of the building or structure 
involved. In cases where the locality or legal counsel so 
authorizes, the code official may issue or obtain a summons 
or warrant. [ Compliance with a notice of violation 
notwithstanding, the code official may request legal 
proceedings be instituted for prosecution when a person, firm 
or corporation is served with three or more notices of 
violation for the same property. 

105.6.1 Further action for corrected violations: Compliance 
with a notice of violation notwithstanding, the code official 
may request legal proceedings be instituted for prosecution 
when a responsible party is served with three or more 
separate notices of violation for the same property within any 
five consecutive years. Legal proceedings shall not be 
instituted under this section for violation notices issued 
pursuant to the initial inspection of the property. Legal 
proceedings for violations that have been abated in residential 
rental dwelling units within a multifamily apartment 
development may only be instituted for such violations that 
affect safe, decent or sanitary living conditions.  

Exception: Legal proceedings shall not be instituted for 
violations that have been abated on owner-occupied single 
family dwellings. ] 

105.7 Penalties and abatement. Penalties for violations of 
this code shall be as set out in § 36-106 of the Code of 
Virginia. The successful prosecution of a violation of the 

code shall not preclude the institution of appropriate legal 
action to require correction or abatement of a violation. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4664; Filed August 1, 2018, 10:36 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING  

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD  
Final Regulation  

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 
exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 
requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 
regulations do not differ materially from those required by 
federal law or regulation. The Real Estate Appraiser Board 
will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC130-20. Real Estate Appraiser 
Board Rules and Regulations (amending 18VAC130-20-
10).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2013 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 
Estate Appraiser Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 
527-4298, or email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Section 1110 of Title XI of the Financial Institutions 
Reform, Recovery and Enforcement Act of 1989 (12 USC 
§ 3339) requires that real estate appraisals be performed 
in accordance with and reviewed for compliance with 
generally accepted standards as evidenced by the 
appraisal standards promulgated by the Appraisal 
Standards Board (ASB) of the Appraisal Foundation, 
which are known as the Uniform Standards of Professional 
Appraisal Practice (USPAP). The ASB updates USPAP 
every two years and has issued the 2018-2019 edition, 
which is effective from January 1, 2018, through December 
31, 2019. The amendments update the edition in the 
definition of "USPAP" and as incorporated by reference. 
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Part I  
General  

18VAC130-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter, 
unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required 
by the context, shall have the following meanings:  

"Accredited colleges, universities, junior and community 
colleges" means those accredited institutions of higher 
learning approved by the State Council of Higher Education 
for Virginia or listed in the Transfer Credit Practices of 
Designated Educational Institutions, published by the 
American Association of Collegiate Registrars and 
Admissions Officers or a recognized international equivalent.  

"Adult distributive or marketing education programs" means 
those programs offered at schools approved by the Virginia 
Department of Education or any other local, state, or federal 
government agency, board or commission to teach adult 
education or marketing courses.  

"Analysis" means a study of real estate or real property other 
than the estimation of value.  

"Appraisal Foundation" means the foundation incorporated 
as an Illinois Not for Profit Corporation on November 30, 
1987, to establish and improve uniform appraisal standards 
by defining, issuing, and promoting such standards.  

"Appraisal subcommittee" means the designees of the heads 
of the federal financial institutions regulatory agencies 
established by the Federal Financial Institutions Examination 
Council Act of 1978 (12 USC § 3301 et seq.), as amended.  

"Appraiser" means an individual who is expected to perform 
valuation services competently and in a manner that is 
independent, impartial, and objective.  

"Appraiser classification" means any category of appraiser, 
which the board creates by designating criteria for 
qualification for such category and by designating the scope 
of practice permitted for such category.  

"Appraiser Qualifications Board" means the board created 
by the Appraisal Foundation to establish appropriate criteria 
for the certification and recertification of qualified appraisers 
by defining, issuing, and promoting such qualification 
criteria; to disseminate such qualification criteria to states, 
governmental entities, and others; and to develop or assist in 
the development of appropriate examinations for qualified 
appraisers.  

"Appraiser trainee" means an individual who is licensed as 
an appraiser trainee to appraise those properties which that 
the supervising appraiser is permitted to appraise.  

"Business entity" means any corporation, partnership, 
association, or other business entity under which appraisal 
services are performed.  

"Certified general real estate appraiser" means an individual 
who meets the requirements for licensure that relate to the 
appraisal of all types of real estate and real property and is 
licensed as a certified general real estate appraiser.  

"Certified instructor" means an individual holding an 
instructor certificate issued by the Real Estate Appraiser 
Board to act as an instructor.  

"Certified residential real estate appraiser" means an 
individual who meets the requirements for licensure for the 
appraisal of or the review appraisal of any residential real 
estate or real property of one to four residential units 
regardless of transaction value or complexity. Certified 
residential real estate appraisers may also appraise or provide 
a review appraisal of nonresidential properties with a 
transaction value or market value as defined by the Uniform 
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice up to $250,000, 
whichever is the lesser.  

"Classroom hour" means 50 minutes out of each 60-minute 
segment. The prescribed number of classroom hours includes 
time devoted to tests which are considered to be part of the 
course.  

"Distance education" means an educational process based on 
the geographical separation of provider and student (i.e., CD-
ROM, online learning, correspondence courses, etc.).  

"Experience" as used in this chapter includes but is not 
limited to experience gained in the performance of traditional 
appraisal assignments, or in the performance of the following: 
fee and staff appraisals, ad valorem tax appraisal, review 
appraisal, appraisal analysis, real estate consulting, highest 
and best use analysis, and feasibility analysis/study analysis 
or study.  

For the purpose of this chapter, experience has been divided 
into four major categories: (i) fee and staff appraisal, (ii) ad 
valorem tax appraisal, (iii) review appraisal, and (iv) real 
estate consulting.  

1. "Fee/staff "Fee and staff appraiser experience" means 
experience acquired as either a sole appraiser, as a 
cosigner, or through disclosure of assistance in the 
certification in accordance with the Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal Practice.  

Sole appraiser experience is experience obtained by an 
individual who makes personal inspections of real estate, 
assembles and analyzes the relevant facts, and by the use 
of reason and the exercise of judgment forms objective 
opinions and prepares reports as to the market value or 
other properly defined value of identified interests in said 
real estate.  

Cosigner appraiser experience is experience obtained by an 
individual who signs an appraisal report prepared by 
another, thereby accepting full responsibility for the 
content and conclusions of the appraisal.  
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To qualify for fee/staff fee and staff appraiser experience, 
an individual must have prepared written appraisal reports 
after January 30, 1989, that comply with the Uniform 
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition 
in effect at the time of the reports' preparation, including 
Standards 1 and 2.  

2. "Ad valorem tax appraisal experience" means 
experience obtained by an individual who assembles and 
analyzes the relevant facts, and who correctly employs 
those recognized methods and techniques that are 
necessary to produce and communicate credible appraisals 
within the context of the real property tax laws. Ad 
valorem tax appraisal experience may be obtained either 
through individual property appraisals or through mass 
appraisals as long as applicants under this category of 
experience can demonstrate that they are using techniques 
to value real property similar to those being used by 
fee/staff fee and staff appraisers and that they are 
effectively utilizing the appraisal process.  

To qualify for ad valorem tax appraisal experience for 
individual property appraisals, an individual must have 
prepared written appraisal reports after January 30, 1989, 
that comply with the Uniform Standards of Professional 
Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at the time of the 
reports' preparation.  

To qualify for ad valorem tax appraisal experience for 
mass appraisals, an individual must have prepared mass 
appraisals or have documented mass appraisal reports after 
January 30, 1989, that comply with the Uniform Standards 
of Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at 
the time of the reports' preparation, including Standard 6.  

In addition to the preceding, to qualify for ad valorem tax 
appraisal experience, the applicant's experience log must 
be attested to by the applicant's supervisor.  

3. "Reviewer experience" means experience obtained by an 
individual who examines the reports of appraisers to 
determine whether their conclusions are consistent with the 
data reported and other generally known information. An 
individual acting in the capacity of a reviewer does not 
necessarily make personal inspection of real estate, but 
does review and analyze relevant facts assembled by 
fee/staff fee and staff appraisers, and by the use of reason 
and exercise of judgment forms objective conclusions as to 
the validity of fee/staff fee and staff appraisers' opinions. 
Reviewer experience shall not constitute more than 1,000 
hours of total experience claimed, and at least 50% of the 
review experience claimed must be in field review wherein 
the individual has personally inspected the real property 
which is the subject of the review.  

To qualify for reviewer experience, an individual must 
have prepared written reports after January 30, 1989, 
recommending the acceptance, revision, or rejection of the 

fee/staff fee and staff appraiser's opinions that comply with 
the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice 
in the edition in effect at the time of the reports' 
preparation, including Standard 3.  

Signing as "Review Appraiser" on an appraisal report 
prepared by another will not qualify an individual for 
experience in the reviewer category. Experience gained in 
this capacity will be considered under the cosigner 
subcategory of fee/staff fee and staff appraiser experience.  

4. "Real estate consulting experience" means experience 
obtained by an individual who assembles and analyzes the 
relevant facts and by the use of reason and the exercise of 
judgment forms objective opinions concerning matters 
other than value estimates relating to real property. Real 
estate consulting experience includes, but is not necessarily 
limited to, the following:  

Absorption Study  
Ad Valorem Tax Study  
Annexation Study  
Assemblage Study  
Assessment Study  
Condominium Conversion Study  
Cost-Benefit Study  
Cross Impact Study  
Depreciation/Cost Study  
Distressed Property Study  
Economic Base Analysis  
Economic Impact Study  
Economic Structure Analysis  
Eminent Domain Study  
Feasibility Study  
Highest and Best Use Study  
Impact Zone Study  
Investment Analysis Study  
Investment Strategy Study  
Land Development Study  
Land Suitability Study  
Land Use Study  
Location Analysis Study  
Market Analysis Study  
Market Strategy Study  
Market Turning Point Analysis  
Marketability Study  
Portfolio Study  
Rehabilitation Study  
Remodeling Study  
Rental Market Study  
Right of Way Study  
Site Analysis Study  
Utilization Study  
Urban Renewal Study  
Zoning Study  
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To qualify for real estate consulting experience, an 
individual must have prepared written reports after January 
30, 1989, that comply with the Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at 
the time of the reports' preparation, including Standards 4 
and 5. Real estate consulting shall not constitute more than 
500 hours of experience for any type of appraisal license.  

"Inactive license" means a license that has been renewed 
without meeting the continuing education requirements 
specified in this chapter. Inactive licenses do not meet the 
requirements set forth in § 54.1-2011 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Licensed residential real estate appraiser" means an 
individual who meets the requirements for licensure for the 
appraisal of or the review appraisal of any noncomplex, 
residential real estate or real property of one to four 
residential units, including federally related transactions, 
where the transaction value or market value as defined by the 
Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice is less 
than $1 million. Licensed residential real estate appraisers 
may also appraise or provide a review appraisal of 
noncomplex, nonresidential properties with a transaction 
value or market value as defined by the Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal Practice up to $250,000, whichever is 
the lesser.  

"Licensee" means any individual holding an active license 
issued by the Real Estate Appraiser Board to act as a certified 
general real estate appraiser, certified residential real estate 
appraiser, licensed residential real estate appraiser, or 
appraiser trainee as defined, respectively, in § 54.1-2009 of 
the Code of Virginia and in this chapter.  

"Local, state or federal government agency, board or 
commission" means an entity established by any local, federal 
or state government to protect or promote the health, safety 
and welfare of its citizens.  

"Proprietary school" means a privately owned school 
offering appraisal or appraisal related courses approved by 
the board.  

"Provider" means accredited colleges, universities, junior 
and community colleges; adult distributive or marketing 
education programs; local, state or federal government 
agencies, boards or commissions; proprietary schools; or real 
estate appraisal or real estate related organizations.  

"Real estate appraisal activity" means the act or process of 
valuation of real property or preparing an appraisal report.  

"Real estate appraisal" or "real estate related organization" 
means any appraisal or real estate related organization 
formulated on a national level, where its membership extends 
to more than one state or territory of the United States.  

"Reciprocity agreement" means a conditional agreement 
between two or more states that will recognize one another's 
regulations and laws for equal privileges for mutual benefit.  

"Registrant" means any corporation, partnership, 
association, or other business entity which that provides 
appraisal services and which that is registered with the Real 
Estate Appraiser Board in accordance with § 54.1-2011 E of 
the Code of Virginia.  

"Reinstatement" means having a license or registration 
restored to effectiveness after the expiration date has passed.  

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license 
or registration for another period of time.  

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, but not a 
corporation, partnership, or association, who is trading under 
his own name, or under an assumed or fictitious name 
pursuant to the provisions of §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

"Substantially equivalent" means any educational course or 
seminar, experience, or examination taken in this or another 
jurisdiction which is equivalent in classroom hours, course 
content and subject, and degree of difficulty, respectively, to 
those requirements outlined in this chapter and Chapter 20.1 
(§ 54.1-2009 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia for 
licensure and renewal.  

"Supervising appraiser" means any individual holding a 
license issued by the Real Estate Appraiser Board to act as a 
certified general real estate appraiser or certified residential 
real estate appraiser who supervises any unlicensed individual 
acting as a real estate appraiser or an appraiser trainee as 
specified in this chapter.  

"Transaction value" means the monetary amount of a 
transaction which may require the services of a certified or 
licensed appraiser for completion. The transaction value is not 
always equal to the market value of the real property interest 
involved. For loans or other extensions of credit, the 
transaction value equals the amount of the loan or other 
extensions of credit. For sales, leases, purchases and 
investments in or exchanges of real property, the transaction 
value is the market value of the real property interest 
involved. For the pooling of loans or interests in real property 
for resale or purchase, the transaction value is the amount of 
the loan or the market value of real property calculated with 
respect to each such loan or interest in real property.  

"Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice" 
means the 2016-2017 2018-2019 edition of those standards 
promulgated by the Appraisal Standards Board of the 
Appraisal Foundation for use by all appraisers in the 
preparation of appraisal reports.  

"Valuation" means an estimate or opinion of the value of 
real property.  

"Valuation assignment" means an engagement for which an 
appraiser is employed or retained to give an analysis, opinion 
or conclusion that results in an estimate or opinion of the 
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value of an identified parcel of real property as of a specified 
date.  

"Waiver" means the voluntary, intentional relinquishment of 
a known right.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(18VAC130-20)  

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice, 
2016–2017 Edition, Appraisal Standards Board, Appraisal 
Foundation 

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice, 
2018-2019 Edition, Appraisal Standards Board, The 
Appraisal Foundation 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5618; Filed August 1, 2018, 10:06 a.m.  

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS AND ONSITE SEWAGE 

SYSTEM PROFESSIONALS 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Waterworks and 
Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System 
Professionals is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 
are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 
where no agency discretion is involved. The Board for 
Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 
Sewage System Professionals will receive, consider, and 
respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 
respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC160-40. Onsite Sewage System 
Professionals Licensing Regulations (amending 
18VAC160-40-10).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2301 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 19, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, Board 
for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 
Sewage System Professionals, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX 
(866) 350-5354, or email waterwasteoper@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 830 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, the 
amendments conform the definition of "maintenance" in 
regulation to statute to (i) include in-kind replacement of 
sewer lines, conveyance lines, distribution boxes, and 
header lines that do not require a construction permit for 
adjustment and replacement, unless local ordinance 
provides otherwise; and (ii) clarify that, notwithstanding 
any local ordinance, onsite system maintenance does not 

include replacement of tanks, drainfield piping, subsurface 
drainfields, or work requiring a construction permit or 
installer licensure and that, unless prohibited by local 
ordinance, a licensed conventional or alternative installer 
may perform maintenance work limited to in-kind 
replacement of light bulbs, fuses, filters, pumps, sewer 
lines, conveyance lines, distribution boxes, and header 
lines. 

Part I 
Definitions 

18VAC160-40-10. Definitions. 

A. Section 54.1-2300 of the Code of Virginia provides 
definitions of the following terms and phrases as used in this 
chapter: 

"Board" 

"Onsite sewage system" 

"Operator" 

"Wastewater works" 

B. The following words, terms, and phrases when used in 
this chapter shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Alternative onsite sewage system" means a treatment works 
that is not a conventional onsite sewage system and does not 
result in a point source discharge. 

"Alternative onsite sewage system installer" means an 
individual licensed by the board to construct, install, and 
repair conventional and alternative onsite sewage systems.  

"Alternative onsite sewage system operator" means an 
individual licensed by the board to operate and maintain 
conventional and alternative onsite sewage systems.  

"Alternative onsite soil evaluator" means an individual 
licensed by the board to evaluate soils and soil properties in 
relationship to the effect of these properties on the use and 
management of these soils as the locations for conventional 
and alternative onsite sewage systems, to certify in 
accordance with applicable state regulations and local 
ordinances that sites are suitable for conventional and 
alternative onsite sewage systems, and to design conventional 
and alternative onsite sewage systems suitable for the soils.  

"Applicant" means an individual who submits an application 
with the appropriate fee and other required documentation. 

"Application" means a completed, board-prescribed form 
submitted with the appropriate fee and other required 
documentation.  

"Authorized onsite soil evaluator" means an individual 
holding an authorized onsite soil evaluator certification issued 
by the Virginia Department of Health that was valid on June 
30, 2009.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=47d93005618%7E1n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005618&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=47d93005618%7E1n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005618&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=47d93005618%7E1n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005618&mime=application/pdf
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"Category" means journeyman or master as applicable to the 
professionals under the board's purview.  

"Class" means conventional or alternative as applicable to 
the professionals under the board's purview.  

"Contact hour" means 50 minutes of participation in a 
structured training activity.  

"Conventional onsite sewage system" means a treatment 
works consisting of one or more septic tanks with gravity, 
pumped, or siphoned conveyance to a gravity distributed 
subsurface drainfield.  

"Conventional onsite sewage system installer" means an 
individual licensed by the board to construct, install, and 
repair conventional onsite sewage systems.  

"Conventional onsite sewage system operator" means an 
individual licensed by the board to operate and maintain 
conventional onsite sewage systems. 

"Conventional onsite soil evaluator" means an individual 
licensed by the board to evaluate soils and soil properties in 
relationship to the effects of these properties on the use and 
management of these soils as the locations for conventional 
and alternative onsite sewage systems, to certify in 
accordance with applicable state regulations and local 
ordinances that sites are suitable for conventional and 
alternative onsite sewage systems, and to design conventional 
onsite sewage systems suitable for the soils.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation.  

"Direct supervision" means being immediately available and 
fully responsible for the provision of onsite sewage system 
services regulated pursuant to Chapter 23 (§ 54.1-2300 et 
seq.) of Title 54.1 and this chapter.  

"Interim license" refers to the initial issuance of professional 
licenses during the implementation of the onsite sewage 
system professionals licensure program. Such licenses were 
limited to four years and not renewable.  

"Journeyman" means an individual who possesses the 
minimum skills and competency to install or maintain onsite 
sewage systems or assist in the evaluation of soil sites as 
suitable for conventional and alternative onsite sewage 
systems and to design onsite sewage systems under the direct 
supervision of a master licensee. 

"Licensee" means an individual holding a valid license 
issued by the board.  

"Licensure" means a method of regulation whereby the 
Commonwealth, through the issuance of a license, authorizes 
a person possessing the character and minimum skills to 
engage in the practice of a profession or occupation that is 
unlawful to practice without such license.  

"Maintenance" or "maintain" means, unless otherwise 
provided in local ordinance, (i) performing adjustments to 
equipment and controls and or (ii) in-kind replacement of 
normal wear and tear parts that do not require a construction 
permit for adjustment or replacement of the component, such 
as light bulbs, fuses, filters, pumps, motors, sewer lines, 
conveyance lines, distribution boxes, header lines, or other 
like components. Maintenance includes pumping the tanks or 
cleaning the building sewer on a periodic basis. Maintenance 
shall Notwithstanding any local ordinance, "maintenance" 
does not include replacement of tanks, drainfield piping, or 
distribution boxes subsurface drainfields, or work requiring a 
construction permit and a licensed onsite sewage system 
installer. Unless otherwise prohibited by local ordinance, a 
conventional onsite sewage system installer or an alternative 
onsite sewage system installer may perform maintenance 
work limited to in-kind replacement of light bulbs, fuses, 
filters, pumps, sewer lines, conveyance lines, distribution 
boxes, and header lines. 

"Master" means an individual who possess possesses the 
minimum skills and competency to install or maintain onsite 
sewage systems or evaluate soil sites as suitable for 
conventional and alternative onsite sewage systems and to 
design conventional and alternative onsite sewage systems.  

"Operate" means the act of (i) placing into or taking out of 
service a unit process or unit processes or (ii) making or 
causing adjustments in the operation of a unit process at a 
treatment works.  

"Profession" means the practice of onsite soil evaluation, 
onsite sewage system installation, and onsite sewage system 
operation.  

"Professional" means an onsite sewage system installer, 
onsite sewage system operator, or onsite soil evaluator who is 
licensed pursuant to the provisions of this chapter and is in 
good standing with the board to practice his profession in this 
Commonwealth.  

"Renewal" means the process and requirements for 
periodically approving the continuance of a license. 

"Sewage" means water-carried and nonwater-carried human 
excrement or kitchen, laundry, shower, bath, or lavatory 
wastes separately or together with such underground, surface, 
storm, or other water and liquid industrial wastes as may be 
present from residences, buildings, vehicles, industrial 
establishments, or other places.  

"Training credit" means a unit of board-approved training or 
formal education completed by an individual that may be 
used to substitute for experience when applying for a license.  

"Treatment works" means any device or system used in the 
storage, treatment, disposal, or reclamation of sewage or 
combinations of sewage and industrial wastes including 
pumping power and other equipment and appurtenances, 
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septic tanks and any works, including land, that are or will be 
(i) an integral part of the treatment processes or (ii) used for 
ultimate disposal or residues or effluent resulting from such 
treatment.  

"VDH" means the Virginia Department of Health.  
VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5567; Filed August 1, 2018, 10:02 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 23. TAXATION 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 
Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 23VAC10-110. Individual Income 
Tax (adding 23VAC10-110-145). 

23VAC10-120. Corporation Income Tax (adding 
23VAC10-120-103).  

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 19, 2018. 

Effective Date: November 3, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Matthew Huntley, Lead Tax Policy Analyst, 
Department of Taxation, 600 East Main Street, 15th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2010, or email 
matthew.huntley@tax.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Chapter 762 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly requires the 
Department of Taxation to promulgate regulations regarding 
the newly established individual and corporate income tax 
subtraction for income attributable to an investment in a 
Virginia venture capital account prior to December 31, 2017. 
To the extent that this regulatory action sets forth the process 
that an investment fund will use to apply for certification as a 
Virginia venture capital account, the authority for this 
regulatory action is mandatory. 

Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia provides that the 
"Tax Commissioner shall have the power to issue regulations 
relating to the interpretation and enforcement of the laws of 
this Commonwealth governing taxes administered by the 
Department." To the extent that this regulatory action will 
define terms that were left undefined by the legislation, the 
authority for this regulatory action is discretionary. 

Purpose: Chapter 762 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly 
establishes an individual and corporate income tax subtraction 
for income attributable to an investment in an investment 
fund that has been certified by the department as a Virginia 
venture capital account. This subtraction was codified in 
§ 58.1-322.02 of the Code of Virginia for individual income 

tax purposes and in § 58.1-402 of the Code of Virginia for 
corporate income tax purposes. 

To be certified as a Virginia venture capital account for 
purposes of this subtraction, an investment fund must first 
register with the department prior to December 31, 2023. As 
part of such registration, the investment fund must (i) indicate 
that it intends to invest at least 50% of the capital committed 
to its fund in qualified portfolio companies and (ii) provide 
documentation that it employs at least one investor who has at 
least four years of professional experience in venture capital 
investment or substantially equivalent experience. 

Once the investment fund actually invests at least 50% of the 
capital committed to its fund in qualified portfolio companies, 
it must notify the department. The department is then required 
to certify such investment fund as a Virginia venture capital 
account. 

The second enactment clause of Chapter 762 requires the 
department to promulgate regulations prior to December 31, 
2017, establishing procedures regarding (i) registration of an 
investment fund as a Virginia venture capital account; (ii) 
provision of documentation regarding an investor's training, 
education, or experience; and (iii) certification of an 
investment fund as a Virginia venture capital account by the 
department. 

This regulatory action establishes such procedures regarding 
the individual and corporate income tax subtraction for 
income attributable to an investment in a Virginia venture 
capital account, and, based on §§ 58.1-322.02 and 58.1-402 
of the Code of Virginia, provides definitions essential to those 
procedures. Government must have predictable and adequate 
revenue to provide for the health, safety, and welfare of 
citizens. Tax regulations enhance customer service and 
voluntary compliance. The interpretations, examples, and 
other guidance in tax regulations ensure uniform application 
of the tax laws to taxpayers. Business taxpayers in particular 
find regulations essential in predicting the tax consequences 
of transactions and avoiding unanticipated tax assessments as 
the result of audits. Tax regulations also ensure that audits 
and other compliance activity result in the assessment and 
collection of the correct amount of tax. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 
fast-track rulemaking process is intended for proposed 
regulations that are expected to be noncontroversial. As this 
regulatory action establishes the process that an investment 
fund will be required to utilize to apply for certification as a 
Virginia venture capital account and defines certain terms for 
purposes of providing guidance to taxpayers regarding the 
subtraction, this action is not expected to be controversial. 

Substance: This regulatory action requires that every 
investment fund desiring to be certified by the department as 
a Virginia venture capital account for purposes of the 
subtraction first register with the department by submitting an 
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application indicating that it intends to invest at least 50% of 
the capital committed to its fund in qualified portfolio 
companies and employs at least one investor who has at least 
four years of professional experience in venture capital 
investment or substantially equivalent experience.  

This regulatory action (i), for purposes of the experienced 
investor requirement, requires an investment fund to include 
with its registration application documentation of the 
investor's work experience, training, and education 
demonstrating that such individual meets the experienced 
investor requirement; (ii) requires the department to, upon 
approval of an investment fund's registration application, 
provide certification to the investment fund stating that such 
application has been approved, and such certification will 
only be valid for the calendar year for which it is issued; (iii) 
provides that, once an investment fund has met the 
experienced investor requirement actually invests at least 
50% of the capital committed to its fund in qualified portfolio 
companies, it may apply to the department for certification as 
a Virginia venture capital account; (iv) requires the 
investment fund to provide documentation demonstrating that 
it has met the investment requirement; (v) may require the 
investment fund to provide certain information regarding its 
investors as determined by the department; (vi) requires the 
department to, upon approval of an investment fund's 
application for certification as a Virginia venture capital 
account, provide certification to the investment fund stating 
that it is a Virginia venture capital account for purposes of the 
subtraction, and such certification will only be valid for the 
calendar year for which it is issued; (vii) requires an 
investment fund to submit both applications to the department 
and all necessary attachments no later than January 31 of the 
calendar year following the calendar year for which the 
investment fund is applying for certification as a Virginia 
venture capital account; and (viii) defines terms essential to 
the clarity of the provisions, some of which are based on 
definitions in §§ 58.1-322.02 and 58.1-402 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Issues: This regulatory action establishes procedures 
regarding the individual and corporate income tax subtraction 
for income attributable to an investment in a Virginia venture 
capital account and defines certain terms for purposes of 
providing guidance to taxpayers regarding the subtraction. 
Therefore, it will provide advantages to investment funds 
desiring certification as a Virginia venture capital account and 
to individual and corporate taxpayers eligible to claim the 
subtraction. Establishing such procedures will enhance the 
efficiency of the application process and of the overall 
administration of the subtraction. This regulatory action will 
result in no apparent disadvantages to the public or to the 
Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As 
required by Chapter 762 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly,1 the 
Department of Taxation (Department) proposes to establish 
procedures regarding how an investment fund may apply for 
certification as a Virginia venture capital account.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. In 2017, Chapter 762, which 
allows a subtraction from individual or corporate taxable 
income for qualifying investments in certified Virginia 
venture capital accounts, became law. Chapter 762 specifies 
that investment funds must meet certain criteria in order to 
qualify for certification as a Virginia venture capital account 
and further specifies that only investments made in Virginia 
venture capital accounts that were certified between January 
1, 2018, and December 31, 2023, will qualify for the allowed 
taxable income subtraction.2  

The Department now proposes this regulatory action to 
implement the certification program for Virginia venture 
capital accounts. The proposed regulatory requirements are 
substantially identical to those in the authorizing legislation 
but for two areas. The Department added several definitions 
that will tend to clarify these requirements and, as the 
legislation was silent on the mechanics of certification, the 
Department added a requirement that "every investment fund 
desiring to be certified…must first register with the 
Department."3  

This proposed regulation, and its underlying statute, allow but 
do not require certification of certain investments. Because of 
this, no investment fund is likely to pursue certification unless 
they judge that the extra benefit that may accrue to their fund 
on account of the allowable subtraction those investments 
will generate will outweigh any costs that they may incur to 
become certified. Those costs would likely include time and 
other costs associated with the application process as well as 
time spent keeping required records.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. This regulatory action will 
affect all investment funds who apply for certification as a 
Virginia venture capital account, individuals and businesses 
who administer such accounts and individual and corporate 
taxpayers who invest in qualified accounts. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this regulatory action.  

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 
changes are unlikely to affect employment in the 
Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 
proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 
value of private property in the Commonwealth. 
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Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 
changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 
the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No small businesses are likely to 
incur any additional costs on account of these proposed 
regulatory changes. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 
businesses are likely to incur any additional costs on account 
of these proposed regulatory changes. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. No businesses are likely to incur any additional 
costs on account of these proposed regulatory changes. 

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 
see any adverse impacts on account of these proposed 
regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely 
affected by these proposed changes. 

_________________________________________________ 
1http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0762. 
2Individuals and corporate entities that make qualifying investments will be 
able to take advantage of the income subtractions allowed for as many years 
as they hold the qualifying investment so qualifying taxable income 
subtractions will likely continue past 2023. 
3The Department will be using the same certification process that it currently 
uses for qualified equity tax credits. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Department of Taxation agrees with the Department of 
Planning and Budget's economic impact analysis regarding 
this action. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 762 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly, 
which establishes individual and corporate income tax 
subtractions for income attributable to an investment in a 
Virginia venture capital account, the regulatory action 
establishes procedures regarding the process an 
investment fund must use to apply for certification as a 
Virginia venture capital account and provides definitions 
of terms essential to understanding the certification 
process. 

23VAC10-110-145. Subtraction for income attributable to 
an investment in a Virginia venture capital account. 

A. To the extent included in federal adjusted gross income, 
any income, including investment services partnership 
interest income, attributable to an investment made in a 
Virginia venture capital account on or after January 1, 2018, 
but before December 31, 2023, shall be subtracted from 
federal adjusted gross income in determining Virginia taxable 
income. If such income was partially excluded or deducted in 
determining federal adjusted gross income, it shall be 
subtracted from federal adjusted gross income only to the 
extent included therein. If such income has already been 
excluded from Virginia taxable income, it shall not be 
subtracted again pursuant to this section. 

B. The following words and terms when used for purposes 
of this section shall have the following meanings, unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Affiliated" means a direct or indirect ownership interest of 
at least 80% in an entity. An indirect ownership interest 
includes direct ownership interests held by a taxpayer's family 
members or an entity affiliated with such taxpayer or family 
members, or any combination of these. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Taxation. 

"Family member" means, when applied with respect to an 
individual taxpayer, (i) spouse, (ii) children, (iii) 
grandchildren, (iv) parents, (v) spouse's parents, and (vi) 
grandparents. 

"Investment services partnership interest income" means 
income from an investment partnership treated as carried 
interest income for federal income tax purposes. 

"Professional experience" means full-time employment 
involving venture capital investment. 

"Qualified portfolio company" means the same as that term 
is defined in subdivision 27 of § 58.1-322.02 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

"Substantially equivalent experience" means an 
undergraduate degree from an accredited college or university 
in economics, finance, or a similar field of study or a 
combination of professional experience totaling less than four 
years, professional training, and undergraduate education 
from an accredited college or university in economics, 
finance, or a similar field of study demonstrating competency 
in venture capital investing. 

"Virginia venture capital account" means the same as that 
term is defined in subdivision 27 of § 58.1-322.02 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

C. The subtraction may not be claimed for an investment in 
a company that is owned or operated by a family member or 
an affiliate of the individual. The subtraction may not be 
claimed for an investment that was used to claim the 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0762
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subtraction for certain long-term capital gains allowed 
pursuant to subdivision 24 of § 58.1-322.02 of the Code of 
Virginia, or the qualified equity and subordinated debt 
investments tax credit allowed pursuant to § 58.1-339.4 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

D. 1. Every investment fund desiring to be certified by the 
department as a Virginia venture capital account for purposes 
of this subtraction must first register with the department by 
submitting an application indicating that it intends to invest at 
least 50% of the capital committed to its fund in qualified 
portfolio companies and currently employs at least one 
investor who has at least four years of professional experience 
in venture capital investment or substantially equivalent 
experience.  

2. Each investment fund must include with its registration 
application documentation of the investor's work 
experience, training, and education adequately 
demonstrating that such individual meets the professional 
experience or substantially equivalent experience 
requirement. Such documentation may include proof of 
employment, certifications, and transcripts. 

3. The registration application required by this subsection 
must be submitted before or at the time the application 
required by subsection E of this section is submitted. 

4. Once the department determines that an investment fund 
intends to invest at least 50% of the capital committed to 
its fund in qualified portfolio companies, has at least one 
investor who has at least four years of professional 
experience in venture capital investment or substantially 
equivalent experience, and has submitted the required 
attachments, it will provide certification to the investment 
fund stating that the registration application has been 
approved. Such certification shall be valid only for the 
calendar year for which it was issued. An investment fund 
may reapply for certification each calendar year. 

E. 1. An investment fund that has invested at least 50% of 
the capital committed to its fund in qualified portfolio 
companies may then submit an application for certification as 
a Virginia venture capital account. 

2. Each investment fund must include with its application 
documentation that it has invested at least 50% of the 
capital committed to its fund in qualified portfolio 
companies. 

3. To receive certification for this subtraction, each 
investment fund may be required to submit certain 
information regarding its investors as required by the 
department. 

4. Once the department determines that an investment fund 
has actually invested at least 50% of the capital committed 
to its fund in qualified portfolio companies and has 
submitted the required attachments, it will provide 

certification to the investment fund stating that it is a 
Virginia venture capital account for purposes of this 
subtraction. Such certification shall be valid only for the 
calendar year for which it was issued. 

F. The applications in subsections D and E of this section 
and any necessary attachments must be made on the form 
prescribed by the department, postmarked no later than 
January 31 of the calendar year following the calendar year in 
which the investment fund is applying for certification as a 
Virginia venture capital account. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (23VAC10-110)  

Virginia Consumers Use Tax Return for Individuals, Form 
CU-7 (eff. 9/1993).  

Virginia Individual Resident Income Tax Return (Booklet - 
Instructions for Form 760 and 760S), Form 760 and 760S.  

Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals, Estates and 
Trusts, Form 760 C.  

Virginia Tentative Tax Return an Application for Extension 
of Time to File Individual or Fiduciary Income Tax Return, 
Form 760E (eff. 8/1993).  

Virginia Estimated Individual Income Tax Declaration and 
Forms for Individuals, Estates and Trusts (Booklet - 
Instructions for Form 760ES), Form 760ES.  

Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Farmers and Fishermen, 
Form 760F.  

Virginia Part-Year Resident Individual Income Tax Return 
(Booklet - Instructions for Form 760PY), Form 760PY.  

Short Individual Resident Income Tax Return (Booklet - 
Instructions for Form 760 and 760S), Form 760S.  

Virginia Nonresident Individual Income Tax Return 
(Booklet - Instructions for Form 763), Form 763.  

Virginia Special Nonresident Claim for Individual Income 
Tax Withheld, Form 763-S.  

Credit Computation Schedule, Schedule CR, Form 760.  

Schedule for Computing the Age Deduction for Taxpayers 
62 and Over, Out-of-State Tax Credit or State of Residence 
and the Addition to Tax, Penalty and Interest, Schedule NPY, 
Forms 760PY and 763.  

Enterprise Zone Credit, Form 301 (eff. 9/1992).  
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Computation of ACRS Subtraction, Form 302 (eff. 8/1992).  

Application for Designation as a Qualified Business for the 
Qualified Equity and Subordinated Debt Investments Tax 
Credit, Form QBA, 2601695, with instructions (eff. 1/2001).  

Taxpayer Application for Qualified Equity and Subordinated 
Debt Investments Tax Credit, Form EDC, 2601154, with 
instructions (eff. 7/2000).  

Instructions for Virginia Venture Capital Account 
Investment Fund Registration and Certification Forms (rev. 
2/2018) 

Venture Capital Account Investment Fund Registration 
Application, Form VEN-1 (rev. 1/2018) 

Venture Capital Account Investment Fund Confirmation 
Application, Form VEN-2 (rev.1/2018) 

Venture Capital Account Investment Fund Investor 
Information Report, Form VEN-3 (rev. 2/2018 ) 

23VAC10-120-103. Subtraction for income attributable to 
an investment in a Virginia venture capital account. 

A. To the extent included in federal taxable income, any 
income, including investment services partnership interest 
income, attributable to an investment made in a Virginia 
venture capital account on or after January 1, 2018, but before 
December 31, 2023, shall be subtracted from federal taxable 
income in determining Virginia taxable income. If such 
income was partially excluded or deducted in determining 
federal taxable income, it shall be subtracted from federal 
taxable income only to the extent included therein. If such 
income has already been excluded from Virginia taxable 
income, it shall not be subtracted again pursuant to this 
section. 

B. The following words and terms when used for purposes 
of this section shall have the following meanings, unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Affiliated" means a direct or indirect ownership interest of 
at least 80% in an entity. An indirect ownership interest 
includes direct ownership interests held by a taxpayer's family 
members or an entity affiliated with such taxpayer or family 
members, or any combination of these. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Taxation. 

"Investment services partnership interest income" means 
income from an investment partnership treated as carried 
interest income for federal income tax purposes. 

"Professional experience" means full-time employment 
involving venture capital investment. 

"Qualified portfolio company" means the same as that term 
is defined in subdivision C 25 of § 58.1-402 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

"Substantially equivalent experience" means an 
undergraduate degree from an accredited college or university 
in economics, finance, or a similar field of study or a 
combination of professional experience totaling less than four 
years, professional training, and undergraduate education 
from an accredited college or university in economics, 
finance, or a similar field of study demonstrating competency 
in venture capital investing. 

"Virginia venture capital account" means the same as that 
term is defined in subdivision C 25 of § 58.1-402 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

C. The subtraction may not be claimed for an investment in 
a company that is owned or operated by an affiliate of the 
corporation. The subtraction may not be claimed for an 
investment that was used to claim the subtraction for certain 
long-term capital gains allowed pursuant to subdivision C 24 
of § 58.1-402 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. 1. Every investment fund desiring to be certified by the 
department as a Virginia venture capital account for purposes 
of this subtraction must first register with the department by 
submitting an application indicating that it intends to invest at 
least 50% of the capital committed to its fund in qualified 
portfolio companies and currently employs at least one 
investor who has at least four years of professional experience 
in venture capital investment or substantially equivalent 
experience.  

2. Each investment fund must include with its registration 
application documentation of the investor's work 
experience, training, and education adequately 
demonstrating that such individual meets the professional 
experience or substantially equivalent experience 
requirement. Such documentation may include proof of 
employment, certifications, and transcripts. 

3. The registration application required by this subsection 
must be submitted before or at the time the application 
required by subsection E of this section is submitted. 

4. Once the department determines that an investment fund 
intends to invest at least 50% of the capital committed to 
its fund in qualified portfolio companies, has at least one 
investor who has at least four years of professional 
experience in venture capital investment or substantially 
equivalent experience, and has submitted the required 
attachments, it will provide certification to the investment 
fund stating that the registration application has been 
approved. Such certification shall be valid only for the 
calendar year for which it was issued. An investment fund 
may reapply for certification each calendar year. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4593c005338%7E1).pdf&typ=40&actno=005338&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4593c005338%7E1).pdf&typ=40&actno=005338&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4593c005338%7E1).pdf&typ=40&actno=005338&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4aae3005338%7E2).pdf&typ=40&actno=005338&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4aae3005338%7E2).pdf&typ=40&actno=005338&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=54fc2005338%7E4).pdf&typ=40&actno=005338&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=54fc2005338%7E4).pdf&typ=40&actno=005338&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c9c1b005338%7E3).pdf&typ=40&actno=005338&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c9c1b005338%7E3).pdf&typ=40&actno=005338&mime=application/pdf
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E. 1. An investment fund that has invested at least 50% of 
the capital committed to its fund in qualified portfolio 
companies may then submit an application for certification as 
a Virginia venture capital account. 

2. Each investment fund must include with its application 
documentation that it has invested at least 50% of the 
capital committed to its fund in qualified portfolio 
companies. 

3. To receive certification for this subtraction, each 
investment fund may be required to submit certain 
information regarding its investors as required by the 
department. 

4. Once the department determines that an investment fund 
has actually invested at least 50% of the capital committed 
to its fund in qualified portfolio companies and has 
submitted the required attachments, it will provide 
certification to the investment fund stating that it is a 
Virginia venture capital account for purposes of this 
subtraction. Such certification shall be valid only for the 
calendar year for which it was issued. 

F. The applications in subsections D and E of this section 
and any necessary attachments must be made on the form 
prescribed by the department, postmarked no later than 
January 31 of the calendar year following the calendar year in 
which the investment fund is applying for certification as a 
Virginia venture capital account. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (23VAC10-120)  

Virginia Corporation Income Tax Return (Booklet-
Instructions for Form 500), Form 500 (eff. 9/1993).  

Schedule A-Multistate Corporation-Allocation and 
Apportionment of Income.  

Underpayment of Virginia Estimated Tax by Corporations, 
Form 500C.  

Application for Extension of Time, Form 500E (eff. 
9/1993).  

Declaration of Estimated Income Tax for Corporations, 
Form 500V (eff. 9/1993).  

Virginia Corporation Income Tax Extension Payment 
Voucher, Form 500EV (eff. 9/1993).  

Corporation Application for Refund, Form 500-NOLD (eff. 
9/1993).  

Virginia Small Business Corporation Return of Income, 
Form 500-S (eff. 9/1993).  

Telecommunications Companies Minimum Tax and Credit 
Schedule (Instructions for Form 500T), Form 500-T (eff. 
2/1992).  

Corporation Income Tax Voucher.  

Amended Virginia Corporation Income Tax Return, Form 
500X (eff. 9/1993).  

Combined Registration Application, Form R-1 (eff. 
10/1989).  

Instructions for Completing Combined Registration, Form 
R-4 (eff. 10/1989).  

Instructions for Virginia Venture Capital Account 
Investment Fund Registration and Certification Forms (rev. 
2/2018) 

Venture Capital Account Investment Fund Registration 
Application, Form VEN-1 (rev. 1/2018) 

Venture Capital Account Investment Fund Confirmation 
Application, Form VEN-2 (rev. 1/2018) 

Venture Capital Account Investment Fund Investor 
Information Report, Form VEN-3 (rev. 2/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5338; Filed July 26, 2018, 11:20 a.m.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b29dc005338%7E5).pdf&typ=40&actno=005338&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b29dc005338%7E5).pdf&typ=40&actno=005338&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b29dc005338%7E5).pdf&typ=40&actno=005338&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5f505005338%7E8).pdf&typ=40&actno=005338&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5f505005338%7E8).pdf&typ=40&actno=005338&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5ed2b005338%7E6).pdf&typ=40&actno=005338&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5ed2b005338%7E6).pdf&typ=40&actno=005338&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=576c5005338%7E7).pdf&typ=40&actno=005338&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=576c5005338%7E7).pdf&typ=40&actno=005338&mime=application/pdf
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 
Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 
Air Pollution Control Board conducted a small business 
impact review of 9VAC5-50, New and Modified Stationary 
Sources, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The State Air Pollution Control 
Board is publishing its report of findings dated July 19, 2018, 
to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of 
the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation continues to be needed. It provides sources 
with the most cost-effective means of fulfilling ongoing state 
and federal requirements that protect air quality. The 
regulation's level of complexity is appropriate to ensure that 
the regulated entities are able to meet their legal mandates as 
efficiently and cost-effectively as possible. This regulation 
does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any state law or 
other state regulation. 

These specific articles were last reviewed in 2011. Over time, 
it generally becomes less expensive to characterize, measure, 
and mitigate the regulated pollutants that contribute to poor 
air quality. This regulation continues to provide the most 
efficient and cost-effective means to determine the level and 
impact of excess emissions and to control those excess 
emissions. 

The department, through examination of the regulation, has 
determined that the regulatory requirements currently 
minimize the economic impact of emission control 
regulations on small businesses and thereby minimize the 
impact on existing and potential Virginia employers and their 
ability to maintain and increase the number of jobs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Contact Information: Gary Graham, Regulatory Analyst, 
Office of Regulatory Affairs, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 698-4103, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 
gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 
Air Pollution Control Board conducted a small business 
impact review of 9VAC5-70, Air Pollution Episode 
Prevention, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The State Air Pollution Control 
Board is publishing its report of findings dated July 19, 2018, 
to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of 
the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation continues to be needed. It provides sources 
with the most cost-effective means of fulfilling ongoing state 
and federal requirements that protect air quality. The 
regulation's level of complexity is appropriate to ensure that 

the regulated entities are able to meet their legal mandates as 
efficiently and cost-effectively as possible. This regulation 
does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any state law or 
other state regulation. 

This regulation was last reviewed in 2011. Over time, it 
generally becomes less expensive to characterize, measure, 
and mitigate the regulated pollutants that contribute to poor 
air quality. This regulation continues to provide the most 
efficient and cost-effective means to determine the level and 
impact of excess emissions and to control those excess 
emissions. 

The department, through examination of the regulation, has 
determined that the regulatory requirements currently 
minimize the economic impact of emission control 
regulations on small businesses and thereby minimize the 
impact on existing and potential Virginia employers and their 
ability to maintain and increase the number of jobs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Contact Information: Gary Graham, Regulatory Analyst, 
Office of Regulatory Affairs, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 698-4103, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 
gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 
Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Department of General Services conducted a small business 
impact review of 1VAC30-41, Regulation for the 
Certification of Laboratories Analyzing Drinking Water, 
and determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Department of General Services is 
publishing its report of findings dated July 3, 2018, to support 
this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code 
of Virginia. 

This is the first periodic review of 1VAC30-41. 1VAC30-41 
became effective on May 1, 2014. The regulation continues to 
be needed to meet the requirements of federal and state law 
and regulations concerning the certification of laboratories 
analyzing drinking water samples. Drinking water 
laboratories that analyze drinking water samples for 
compliance purposes under federal and state law must be 
certified to do so under federal law. No complaints or 
comments have been received concerning the content of the 
regulation or its complexity. The regulation is written clearly 
and sets out the federal and state requirements for certifying 
laboratories analyzing drinking water. The regulation does 
not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state laws or 
regulations. 

Contact Information: Rhonda Bishton, Director's Executive 
Administrative Assistant, Department of General Services, 
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1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-3311, FAX (804) 371-8305, or email 
rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY 
Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery were 
filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on August 1, 
2018. The orders may be viewed at the Virginia Lottery, 
600 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of 
the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Fifteen (18) 

Virginia Lottery's "Sheetz Free Gas For A Year" Final Rules 
for Operation (effective August 1, 2018) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Eighteen (18) 

Virginia Lottery's "Subscriptions First-Time Deposit Bonus 
Promotion" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 
August 1, 2018) 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 
Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 
Water Control Board conducted a small business impact 
review of 9VAC25-71, Regulations Governing the 
Discharge of Sewage and Other Wastes from Boats, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The State Water Control Board is publishing its 
report of findings dated July 19, 2018, to support this decision 
in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

The current regulation continues to be needed. The purpose of 
this regulatory action is to provide a state regulation to 
address discharges of sewage and other wastes from boats and 
to identify designated No Discharge Zones. This regulation is 
needed to prevent contamination of state waters from sewage 
discharges from boats in order to protect the health and safety 
of citizens of the Commonwealth.  

No public comments were received during the public 
comment period.  

The subject matter of the regulation is complex in nature, and 
the regulations detail the requirements of the program. The 
regulation designates No Discharge Zones in the 
Commonwealth and the prohibition of the discharge of 
sewage and other waste in these areas.  

The regulation specifies requirements existing in the state 
code with respect to discharges from boats and provides a 
means of designating No Discharge Zones, but it is no more 
stringent than existing requirements under state or federal 
law. Federal Marine Sanitation Device Standards found in 40 

CFR Part 140 are referenced in this regulation. The regulation 
was last amended in 2011 in response to changes in state law. 
Changes in technology and economic conditions since 2011 
have not impacted the requirements of the regulation. The 
agency is recommending the regulation stay in effect without 
change. The regulation is beneficial to state waters and is no 
more stringent than existing requirements under state or 
federal law. 

Contact Information: Kelly Meadows, Office of Watershed 
Programs, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 
1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4291, FAX 
(804) 698-4032, or email kelly.meadows@deq.virginia.gov. 

Public Meeting for Total Maximum Daily Load for 
Bullpasture River 

Public meeting: September 13, 2018, at 6 p.m. at the 
Stonewall Ruritan Hall, 67 Bullpasture River Road, 
McDowell, VA 24458. 

Purpose of notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) and its contractors, Virginia Tech's Biological 
Systems Engineering Department, will discuss the process 
that will be used to complete a water quality study known as a 
total maximum daily load (TMDL) for the Bullpasture River 
and its tributaries. The river is listed on the § 303(d) TMDL 
Priority List and Report as impaired due to violations of 
Virginia's water quality standards for recreational use. This is 
an opportunity for local residents to learn about the condition 
of the river, share information about the area, and become 
involved in the process of local water quality improvement. A 
public comment period will follow the meeting, September 
14, 2018 through October 15, 2018.  

Meeting description: A public informational meeting will be 
held to introduce the local community to the water quality 
improvement process in Virginia, known as the TMDL 
process, provide information on bacteria monitoring efforts 
and sources, invite participation and solicit input, review the 
next steps and accept volunteers to be part of a technical 
advisory committee. Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act 
and § 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia requires DEQ to 
develop TMDLs for pollutants responsible for each impaired 
water contained in Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List 
and Report. The meeting will be open to the public and all are 
welcome. 

Description of study: The upper portion of the Bullpasture 
River, located in Highland County, Virginia is impaired for 
the "recreational use" water quality standard, meaning that 
there is too much E. coli bacteria present in river. The 
impaired segment begins at the headwaters of the river at the 
Virginia-West Virginia border and extends to just below the 
confluence with Davis Run south of McDowell. Excessive 
bacteria levels may pose a threat to human health; therefore, a 
bacteria standard was established to preserve recreational uses 
in Virginia's waterbodies. This water quality study will report 
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on the sources of bacteria and recommend reductions to meet 
a TMDL for the impaired segment of the river. A TMDL is 
the total amount of a pollutant a water body can contain and 
still meet water quality standards. To restore water quality in 
the upper Bullpasture River, bacteria levels will need to be 
reduced to the TMDL amount. Through this process, Virginia 
agencies will partner with a technical advisory committee 
made up of local stakeholders to identify sources of bacteria 
in the upper portion of the river and the reductions needed 
from these sources to meet the TMDL. 

How to comment and participate: All meetings in support of 
TMDL development are open to the public and all interested 
parties are welcome. Written comments will be accepted 
through October 15, 2018, and should include the name, 
address, and telephone number of the person submitting the 
comments. For more information, or to submit written 
comments, please contact Nesha McRae, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Valley Regional Office, P.O. Box 
3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone (540) 574-7850, 
FAX (540) 574-7878, or email 
nesha.mcrae@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION 
BOARD 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2018) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of 
Conservation and Recreation on behalf of the State Soil and 
Water Conservation Board is conducting a periodic review 
and small business impact review of 4VAC50-20, 
Impounding Structure Regulations. The review of this 
regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 
14 (2018). 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

The regulations are available on the department website at 
http://www.dcr.virginia.gov/dam-safety-and-
floodplains/document/ds-va-code-4vac50-20-10.pdf. 

The comment period begins August 20, 2018, and ends 
October 8, 2018. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. 

Comments may also be sent to Christine Watlington, 
Department of Conservation and Recreation, 600 East Main 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3319, 
FAX (804) 371-2630, or email 
christine.watlington@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 
impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 
Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 
Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing  
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 
repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 
regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 
the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 
available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents 
/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 
Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 
Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 
regulatory information. 
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