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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 
any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 
pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 
James A. "Jay" Leftwich; Ryan T. McDougle; Rita Davis; Leslie L. 
Lilley; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. 
Nolen; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; Mark J. Vucci. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 
Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Alexandra Stewart-Jonte, 
Regulations Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri 
Edwards, Senior Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

October 2018 through August 2019 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

35:3 September 12, 2018 October 1, 2018 

35:4 September 26, 2018 October 15, 2018 

35:5 October 10, 2018 October 29, 2018 

35:6 October 24, 2018 November 12, 2018 

35:7 November 7, 2018 November 26, 2018 

35:8 November 19, 2018 (Monday) December 10, 2018 

35:9 December 5, 2018 December 24, 2018 

35:10 December 14, 2018 (Friday) January 7, 2019 

35:11 January 2, 2019 January 21, 2019 

35:12 January 16, 2019 February 4, 2019 

35:13 January 30, 2019 February18, 2019 

35:14 February 13, 2019 March 4, 2019 

35:15 February 27, 2019 March 18, 2019 

35:16 March 13, 2019 April 1, 2019 

35:17 March 27, 2019 April 15, 2019 

35:18 April 10, 2019 April 29, 2019 

35:19 April 24, 2019 May 13, 2019 

35:20 May 8, 2019 May 27, 2019 

35:21 May 22, 2019 June 10, 2019 

35:22 June 5, 2019 June 24, 2019 

35:23 June 19, 2019 July 8, 2019 

35:24 July 3, 2019 July 22, 2019 

35:25 July 17, 2019 August 5, 2019 

35:26 July 31, 2019 August 19, 2019 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Initial Agency Notice 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC65-30. Regulations for Preneed 
Funeral Planning.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 28 of Title 54.1 
of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Jessica Watkins. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations for 
preneed contracts to prevent circumstances, such as the 
closure of a funeral establishment, that result in the loss of 
funding for a family member's funeral. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition will be 
published on September 3, 2018, in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations and posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
to receive public comment ending October 2, 2018. The 
matter will be on the board's agenda for its first meeting after 
the comment period, which is scheduled for October 16, 
2018. The petitioner will be informed of the board's decision 
after that meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 2, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 
Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4479, 
or email fanbd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-02; Filed August 6, 2018, 11:23 a.m. 
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Symbol Key 
Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Underscored language indicates proposed new text. 

Language that has been stricken indicates proposed text for deletion.  Brackets are used in final regulations to indicate changes from the 
proposed regulation. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

COMMISSION ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT 
Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC50-20. Organization and 
Regulations of Procedure (amending 1VAC50-20-5, 
1VAC50-20-40, 1VAC50-20-50, 1VAC50-20-140, 
1VAC50-20-142, 1VAC50-20-150, 1VAC50-20-180, 
1VAC50-20-230, 1VAC50-20-270, 1VAC50-20-310, 
1VAC50-20-350, 1VAC50-20-382, 1VAC50-20-384, 
1VAC50-20-390, 1VAC50-20-540, 1VAC50-20-560, 
1VAC50-20-570, 1VAC50-20-590, 1VAC50-20-605, 
1VAC50-20-614, 1VAC50-20-620, 1VAC50-20-630).  

Statutory Authority: § 15.2-2903 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 3, 2018. 

Effective Date: October 18, 2018.  

Agency Contact: David Conmy, Local Government Policy 
Administrator, Department of Housing and Community 
Development, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-8010, FAX (804) 371-7090, 
or email david.conmy@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 15.2-2903 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 
the Commission on Local Government to promulgate 
regulations, including rules of procedure for the conducting of 
hearings. 

Purpose: All of the proposed amendments to the regulations 
are minor in nature and include items such as (i) updating 
definitions and regulations to correspond to changes in the 
Code of Virginia, including removal of references to 
"Commonwealth Calendar" and addition of the right to 
counsel in rulemaking proceedings (Chapter 795 of the 2012 
Acts of Assembly), (ii) updating terminology to be gender-
neutral, (iii) generalizing the commission's regular meeting 
regulations to allow more meeting flexibility but remaining 
consistent with § 15.2-2904 of the Code of Virginia, and (iv) 
other minor changes. None of the proposed amendments to 
the regulations are substantive in nature. 

The regulations are essential to protect the health, safety, and 
welfare of citizens because they support the commission's 
purpose to ensure that all of the Commonwealth's "localities 
are maintained as viable communities in which their citizens 
can live" (§ 15.2-2900 of the Code of Virginia). 

The goal of this action is to update the regulations for greater 
clarity and consistency based upon a review by the 
commission and its staff at the conclusion of the periodic 
review. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 
rulemaking is expected to be noncontroversial because the 
proposed amendments are minor in nature and include items 
such as (i) updating definitions and regulations to correspond 
to changes in the Code of Virginia, including removal of 
references to "Commonwealth Calendar" and adding the right 
to counsel in rulemaking proceedings (Chapter 795 of the 
2012 Acts of Assembly), (ii) adding Oxford commas for 
greater clarity, (iii) updating terminology to be gender-
neutral, (iv) generalizing the commission's regular meeting 
regulations to allow more meeting flexibility but remaining 
consistent with § 15.2-2904 of the Code of Virginia, and (v) 
making other minor changes. None of the proposed 
amendments to the regulations are substantive in nature, nor 
do they have an impact on small businesses or individual 
citizens. 

Furthermore, this rulemaking is expected to be 
noncontroversial because no comments were received during 
the opportunity for public comment period, which ran from 
June 12, 2017, to July 3, 2017, and was published in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations on June 12, 2017 (Volume 
33, Issue 21). 

Substance: None of the proposed amendments to the 
regulations are substantive in nature. 

Issues: The advantages of the amendments to the regulations 
are that they are all minor in nature but, overall, allow for 
greater clarity and consistency with recent changes to the 
Code of Virginia, which is advantageous for the public and 
the Commonwealth. 

There are no anticipated disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This fast-
track regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of 
the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As the 
result of a periodic review, the Commission on Local 
Government (Commission) proposes to amend its public 
participation guidelines and its regulation that sets procedure 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/toc.aspx?voliss=33:21
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/toc.aspx?voliss=33:21
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for the operation of the Commission. The Commission 
proposes many clarifying and updating changes as well as one 
change to give the Commission greater flexibility in the 
scheduling of public meetings.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Many of the changes that are 
proposed by the Commission in this action are meant to 
update regulatory language to account for statutory changes 
and to make the language in these regulations gender neutral. 
For instance, the Commission proposes to change references 
to "the Commonwealth Calendar" to "a calendar maintained 
by the Commonwealth" because that language more closely 
resembles relevant statutory language. The Commission also 
proposes to change references to "chairman" to "chair" 
because it is gender neutral. Changes such as these do not add 
any extra requirements for regulated entities. Consequently, 
no affected entities are likely to incur costs on account of 
these changes. To the extent that these changes remove 
language that is different from what is in statute, they provide 
the benefit of eliminating possible confusion. 

Current regulation requires that the Commission's meetings 
be held in January, March, May, July, September and 
November each year. Relevant statute, however, only 
mandates that the Commission meet at least six times each 
year. In order to have greater flexibility in setting meetings, 
the Commission now proposes to change this language so that 
meetings are held at least once every two months without 
specifying when they will be held. As all meetings will still 
be subject to notification requirements, no affected entities 
are likely to incur costs or suffer any harm on account of this 
change. The Commission will benefit from the additional 
flexibility that this proposed change will provide.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. This regulatory action will 
affect all localities as well as the Commission. Commission 
staff reports that there are there are 95 counties, 190 towns 
and 38 cities in the Commonwealth. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this regulatory action.  

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 
changes are unlikely to affect employment in the 
Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 
proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 
value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 
changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 
the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: 

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No small businesses are likely to 
incur any additional costs on account of these proposed 
regulatory changes. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 
businesses are likely to incur any additional costs on account 
of these proposed regulatory changes. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. No businesses are likely to incur any additional 
costs on account of these proposed regulatory changes. 

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 
see any adverse impacts on account of these proposed 
regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely 
affected by these proposed changes. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Commission on Local Government staff concurs with the 
economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments include (i) permitting greater meeting 
flexibility while remaining consistent with the Code of 
Virginia, (ii) updating definitions and regulatory language 
to reflect the Code of Virginia, and (iii) updating 
terminology to be gender-neutral. 

1VAC50-20-5. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this regulation 
chapter shall have the following meanings unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Chairman" "Chair" means the Chairman Chair of the 
Commission on Local Government.  

"Commission" means the Commission on Local 
Government.  

"County or counties" means one or more than one a county 
in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"Local government or local governments" means one or 
more than one a county, city, or town in the Commonwealth 
of Virginia.  

"Locality or localities" means one or more than one a 
county, city, or town in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"Municipality" means a city or town in the Commonwealth 
of Virginia.  
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"Party or parties" means a local government or local 
governments, voters, or property owners initiating a proposed 
annexation, voters of any community requesting that their 
community be incorporated as a town, voters petitioning for 
the transition of a city to town status, or a committee 
appointed by the circuit court to act for and in lieu of a local 
government to perfect a consolidation agreement.  

1VAC50-20-40. Officers.  

The commission shall elect from its membership at its 
regular January meeting, or as soon thereafter as possible, a 
chairman chair and a vice chairman chair, who shall serve 
terms of one year, or until their successors are elected. In the 
event of a vacancy occurring in the office of chairman chair 
or vice chairman chair, for any cause, the commission shall 
fill the same by election for the unexpired term. The chairman 
chair shall preside at all meetings, presentations, and public 
hearings held by the commission unless absent. In the 
absence of the chairman chair, the vice chairman chair shall 
preside at any meeting or other assembly of the commission 
and shall exercise all powers and duties of the chairman chair. 
In the event that neither the chairman chair nor and vice 
chairman chair is present are absent for a meeting or other 
assembly of the commission, the remaining members of the 
commission shall elect a temporary chairman chair who shall 
exercise all powers and duties of the chairman chair for the 
duration of the meeting or assembly.  

1VAC50-20-50. Powers and duties of chairman chair.  

In addition to any other powers or duties placed upon the 
chairman chair by law, these regulations this chapter, or other 
action of the commission, the chairman chair shall be 
authorized to:  

1. Request one or more members of the commission or its 
staff to represent the commission before local governing 
bodies, before state agencies and legislative committees, or 
before any other entity where the representation of the 
commission is requested or where the chairman chair 
deems appropriate;  

2. Select or change sites for oral presentations and public 
hearings;  

3. Defer and reschedule issues the chairman chair deems 
appropriate upon consultation with the commission;  

4. Act on behalf of the commission in efforts to resolve 
disputes between the parties to an issue relative to the 
production and sharing of data, or with respect to related 
concerns bearing on the commission's review of an issue; 
and  

5. Establish upon consultation with the parties an equitable 
distribution of time for public presentations and to make 
other arrangements the chairman chair deems appropriate 
and consistent with the requirements of law and these 

regulations this chapter for the conduct of the 
commission's oral presentations and public hearings.  

Part II  
General Administration  

1VAC50-20-140. Regular meetings.  

The commission's regular meetings commission shall be 
held in January, March, May, July, September, and 
November in Richmond fix the time and place for holding 
regular meetings, which shall be held at least once every two 
months. Changes in the schedule and location of the regular 
meetings may be made by the commission, but the changes 
shall be duly announced in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations published by the Virginia Code Commission and 
posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall.  

1VAC50-20-142. Special meetings.  

Special meetings of the commission may be called by any 
member on such occasions as may be reasonably necessary to 
carry out the duties of the commission. Except in instances 
where a special meeting is scheduled at a regular meeting, the 
chairman chair shall cause to be mailed - including by 
electronic means - to all members, at least five days in 
advance of a special meeting, a written notice specifying the 
time, place, and purpose of the special meeting. Notice of 
special meetings shall be announced appropriately on the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and on a calendar maintained 
by the Commonwealth Calendar.  

1VAC50-20-150. Minutes of meetings and hearings.  

Minutes shall be recorded for each public meeting held by 
the commission. The minutes shall include a brief summary 
of comments on major issues under consideration and concise 
and specific statements of all action taken by the commission. 
The minutes shall be provided to each commission member 
for reading and editing prior to approval at a subsequent 
commission meeting. There need be no actual reading of the 
minutes at the meeting, but a vote shall be taken for the 
formal approval of the minutes as written or amended. Copies 
of the minutes of public meetings shall be made available to 
any interested party at a price sufficient to cover the expense 
incurred or on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and the 
commission's Internet website webpage.  

Part III  
Mandatory Commission Reviews  

1VAC50-20-180. Notice to commission of proposed action 
as required by § 15.2-2907 of the Code of Virginia.  

A. Notice of a proposed action as required by § 15.2-2907 of 
the Code of Virginia to the commission shall be accompanied 
by resolution of the governing body of the locality providing 
the notice evidencing its support of such action. Notice to the 
commission shall indicate the name, title, address, phone 
number, and, where available, fax number and email address 
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of the individual who shall serve as designated contact with 
the commission regarding the issue presented. All notices 
required to be given the commission under the provisions of 
§ 15.2-2907 of the Code of Virginia shall also indicate the 
other local governments given notice of the proposed action 
pursuant to subsection C of this section.  

1. Notice of a proposed annexation initiated by voters or 
property owners shall be accompanied by the original or 
certified petition signed by 51% of the voters of any 
territory adjacent to any municipality or 51% of the owners 
of real estate in number and land area in a designated area. 
Notice to the commission shall indicate the name, title, 
address, and phone number, and, where available, fax 
number and email address of the individual who shall serve 
as designated contact with the commission regarding the 
issue presented. All notices required to be given to the 
commission under the provisions of § 15.2-2907 of the 
Code of Virginia shall also indicate the other local 
governments given notice of the proposed action pursuant 
to subsection C of this section.  

2. Notice of a petition for the proposed transition of a city 
to town status that has been referred to the commission 
pursuant to § 15.2-4102 of the Code of Virginia shall 
indicate the name, title, address, phone number, and, where 
available, fax number and email address of the individual 
who shall serve as designated contact with the commission 
regarding the issue referred. All notices required to be 
given the commission under the provisions of § 15.2-2907 
of the Code of Virginia shall also indicate the other local 
governments given notice of the proposed action pursuant 
to subsection C of this section.  

3. Notice to the commission by a committee of citizens that 
has been appointed by the circuit court to act for and in lieu 
of a governing body to perfect a consolidation agreement 
pursuant to § 15.2-3531 of the Code of Virginia shall 
indicate the name, title, address, phone number, and, where 
available, fax number and email address of the individual 
who shall serve as designated contact with the commission 
regarding the proposed consolidation. All notices required 
to be given to the commission under the provisions of 
§ 15.2-2907 of the Code of Virginia shall also indicate the 
other local governments given notice of the proposed 
action pursuant to subsection C of this section.  

B. Any party giving notice to the commission of a proposed 
action pursuant to § 15.2-2907 of the Code of Virginia may 
submit with the notice as much data, exhibits, documents, or 
other supporting materials as it deems appropriate; however, 
the submissions should be fully responsive to all relevant 
elements of the applicable section of Part IV (1VAC50-20-
540 et seq.) of this chapter.  

C. Any party giving notice to the commission of a proposed 
action as required by § 15.2-2907 of the Code of Virginia 
shall also give notice to each Virginia local government 

located within or contiguous to, or sharing functions, revenue, 
or tax sources with the local government proposing the 
action. All notices to the local governments shall include an 
annotated listing of all documents, exhibits, and other 
material submitted to the commission in support of the 
proposed action.  

1. Any voters or property owners giving notice to the 
commission of a proposed annexation as required by 
§ 15.2-2907 of the Code of Virginia shall also give notice 
to each Virginia local government located within or 
contiguous to, or sharing functions, revenue, or tax sources 
with the municipality to which annexation is sought. All 
notices to the immediately affected local governments shall 
include copies of all documents, exhibits, and other 
material submitted to the commission in support of the 
proposed action, and notice to other localities may include, 
in lieu of copies of the submissions, an annotated listing of 
the material.  

2. Any voters whose petition for the proposed transition of 
a city to town status that has been referred to the 
commission pursuant to § 15.2-4102 of the Code of 
Virginia shall also give notice to each Virginia local 
government located within or contiguous to, or sharing 
functions, revenue, or tax sources with the city proposed 
for town status. All notices to the immediately affected 
local governments shall include copies of all documents, 
exhibits, and other material submitted to the commission in 
support of the proposed action, and notice to other 
localities may include, in lieu of copies of the submissions, 
an annotated listing of the material.  

3. A committee of citizens that has been appointed by the 
circuit court to act for and in lieu of a governing body to 
perfect a consolidation agreement pursuant to § 15.2-3531 
of the Code of Virginia shall also give notice to each 
Virginia local government located within or contiguous to, 
or sharing functions, revenue, or tax sources with the local 
governments that are proposed to be consolidated. All 
notices to the immediately affected local governments shall 
include copies of all documents, exhibits, and other 
material submitted to the commission in support of the 
proposed action, and notice to other localities may include, 
in lieu of copies of the submissions, an annotated listing of 
the material.  

D. Any local government receiving notice pursuant to 
subsection C of this section or any other affected party may 
submit data, exhibits, documents, or other material for 
commission review and consideration as it deems appropriate. 
The submissions should, however, be responsive to all 
relevant elements of the applicable section of Part IV 
(1VAC50-20-540 et seq.) of this chapter. Any party 
submitting material to the commission for review pursuant to 
this section shall also designate an individual as principal 
contact for the commission and shall furnish the individual's 
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title, address, phone number, and, where available, fax 
number and email address. An annotated listing of all 
documents, exhibits, or other material submitted to the 
commission pursuant to this section shall be provided to the 
party initiating the proceeding before the commission. The 
commission may establish a time by which all submissions by 
respondent parties must be received.  

E. Upon its receipt of notice of a proposed action pursuant to 
subsection A of this section, the commission shall, 
subsequent to discussion with representatives of the party 
submitting the notice and other appropriate parties, schedule a 
review of the proposed action. The commission shall also 
concurrently extend the services of its office to the parties in 
an endeavor to promote a negotiated settlement of the issue 
and, further, may designate, with the agreement of the parties, 
an independent mediator to assist in the negotiations.  

The commission's review of a notice of a proposed 
annexation as required by § 15.2-2907 of the Code of 
Virginia filed by voters or property owners shall be 
terminated upon receipt of an ordinance, duly adopted by a 
majority of the elected members of the governing body of the 
affected city or town, rejecting the annexation proposed by 
the notice.  

1VAC50-20-230. Referral to commission of proposed 
voluntary settlement agreements.  

A. Referral of a proposed voluntary settlement agreement to 
the commission under the provisions of § 15.2-3400 of the 
Code of Virginia shall be accompanied by resolutions, joint 
or separate, of the governing bodies of the localities that are 
parties to the proposed agreement requesting the commission 
to review the agreement. The resolution or resolutions shall 
also state the intention of the governing bodies to adopt the 
agreement subsequent to the commission's review and shall 
indicate the name, title, address, and phone number, and, 
where available, fax number and email address of the 
individual who shall serve as each locality's principal contact 
with the commission during the period of its review. Referrals 
to the commission pursuant to § 15.2-3400 of the Code of 
Virginia shall also be accompanied by a listing of local 
governments receiving notice of the referral under subsection 
C of this section.  

B. Any party or parties referring a proposed voluntary 
settlement agreement to the commission for review pursuant 
to § 15.2-3400 of the Code of Virginia may submit with the 
proposed agreement as much data, exhibits, documents, or 
other supporting materials as deemed appropriate; however, 
the submissions should be fully responsive to all relevant 
elements of 1VAC50-20-610.  

C. Whenever a proposed voluntary settlement agreement is 
referred to the commission for review pursuant to subsection 
A of this section, the parties to the proposed agreement shall 
concurrently give notice of the referral to each Virginia local 

government with which any of the parties is contiguous, or 
with which any of the parties shares any function, revenue, or 
tax source. All such notices of referral shall be accompanied 
by a copy of the proposed voluntary settlement agreement, or 
a descriptive summary thereof, and an annotated listing of all 
documents, exhibits, and other materials submitted to the 
commission in support of the proposed agreement.  

D. Any local government receiving notice of referral 
pursuant to subsection C of this section, or any other party, 
may submit data, exhibits, documents, or other supporting 
materials relevant to the commission's review as it deems 
appropriate; however, the submissions should be responsive 
to all relevant elements of 1VAC50-20-610. Any party 
submitting materials to the commission pursuant to this 
chapter shall also designate an individual who shall serve as 
principal contact with the commission during the period of its 
review and shall furnish the individual's title, address, phone 
number, and, where available, fax number and email address. 
The commission may establish a time by which all 
submissions by respondent parties must be received. Any 
party submitting materials to the commission pursuant to this 
chapter shall also provide an annotated listing of the material 
to the parties to the proposed voluntary settlement agreement.  

1VAC50-20-270. Referral to commission of proposed 
town-county agreement defining annexation rights.  

A. Referral to the commission of a proposed town-county 
agreement defining annexation rights pursuant to § 15.2-3231 
of the Code of Virginia shall be accompanied by resolutions, 
joint, or separate, of the governing bodies of the town and 
county requesting the commission to review the agreement. 
The resolution or resolutions shall also state the intention of 
the governing bodies to adopt the agreement subsequent to 
the commission's review and shall indicate the name, title, 
address, and phone number, and, where available, fax number 
and email address of the individual who shall serve as each 
locality's principal contact with the commission during the 
period of its review. Referrals to the commission pursuant to 
§ 15.2-3231 of the Code of Virginia shall also be 
accompanied by a listing of local governments receiving 
notice of such referral under subsection C of this section.  

B. Any party or parties referring a proposed agreement to 
the commission for review pursuant to § 15.2-3231 of the 
Code of Virginia may submit with the proposed agreement as 
much data, exhibits, documents, or other supporting materials 
as deemed appropriate; however, submissions should be fully 
responsive to all relevant elements of 1VAC50-20-560.  

C. Whenever a proposed agreement is referred to the 
commission for review pursuant to subsection A of this 
section, the parties to the proposed agreement shall 
concurrently give notice of the referral to each Virginia local 
government with which either party is contiguous or with 
which either party shares any function, revenue, or tax source. 
All notices of referral shall be accompanied by a copy of the 
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proposed agreement, or a descriptive summary thereof, and 
an annotated listing of all documents, exhibits, and other 
materials submitted to the commission in support of the 
proposed agreement.  

D. Any local government receiving notice of referral 
pursuant to subsection C of this section, or any other party, 
may submit data, exhibits, documents, or other supporting 
materials relevant to the commission's review as they deem 
appropriate; however, the submissions should be responsive 
to all relevant elements of 1VAC50-20-560. Any party 
submitting materials to the commission pursuant to these 
regulations this chapter shall also designate an individual who 
shall serve as principal contact with the commission during 
the period of its review, and shall furnish the individual's title, 
address, phone number, and, where available, fax number and 
email address. The commission may establish a time by 
which all submissions by respondent parties must be 
received. Any party submitting materials to the commission 
pursuant to this chapter shall also provide an annotated listing 
of the material to the parties to the proposed agreement.  

1VAC50-20-310. Referral to commission of town petition 
for order establishing annexation rights.  

A. Any town unable to reach an agreement with its county 
as to future annexation rights may, pursuant to § 15.2-3234 of 
the Code of Virginia, adopt an ordinance petitioning the 
commission for an order establishing its rights to annex 
territory in such county. The petition to the commission shall 
include the terms of a proposed order establishing the town's 
annexation rights and shall indicate the name, title, address, 
and phone number, and, where available, fax number and 
email address of the individual who shall serve as the town's 
principal contact with the commission. Petitions to the 
commission pursuant to § 15.2-3234 of the Code of Virginia 
shall also be accompanied by a copy of the ordinance and by 
a listing of all local governments being served or receiving 
notice of the town's petition pursuant to subsection C of this 
section.  

B. Any town petitioning the commission under the authority 
of § 15.2-3234 of the Code of Virginia may submit with the 
petition as much data, exhibits, documents, or other 
supporting materials as deemed appropriate; however, the 
submissions should be fully responsive to all relevant 
elements of 1VAC50-20-616.  

C. Any town petitioning for an order establishing its 
annexation rights under the authority of § 15.2-3234 of the 
Code of Virginia shall serve a copy of the petition and 
ordinance on the Commonwealth's attorney, or the county 
attorney if there be one, and on the chairman of the board of 
supervisors of the county whose territory would be affected 
by the town's proposed annexation order. The town shall also 
give notice of its petition to all other towns located within the 
affected county and to each Virginia local government 
adjoining such county. The service in the county and the 

notice to other localities shall be accompanied by an 
annotated listing of all materials submitted to the commission 
pursuant to subsection B of this section.  

D. A county served with a copy of a town's petition pursuant 
to subsection C of this section shall file its response to such 
petition with the commission within 60 days after receipt of 
the service. Any other party receiving notice pursuant to 
subsection C of this section, may also submit materials to the 
commission for consideration with respect to the town's 
petition within 60 days of their receipt of the notice. 
Responses and submissions to the commission pursuant to 
this chapter may include data, exhibits, documents, or other 
materials as the submitting party deems appropriate; however, 
such responses and submissions should be responsive to all 
relevant elements of 1VAC50-20-616. Any party submitting 
materials to the commission for review pursuant to this 
chapter shall also designate an individual who shall serve as 
principal contact with the commission, and shall furnish the 
individual's title, address, phone number, and, where 
available, fax number and email address. Any party 
submitting materials to the commission pursuant to this 
chapter shall also provide an annotated listing of the material 
to the town petitioning the commission.  

1VAC50-20-350. Referral to commission of boundary line 
adjustment.  

A. Whenever a court refers a proposed boundary line 
adjustment to the commission pursuant to § 15.2-3109 of the 
Code of Virginia, the localities proposing the boundary line 
adjustment shall, upon receipt of notification of the referral, 
provide the commission with a copy of their petition to the 
court and shall designate an individual for each locality who 
shall serve as principal contact with the commission and shall 
furnish the individual's title, address, phone number, and, 
where available, fax number and email address. Referrals to 
the commission pursuant to § 15.2-3109 of the Code of 
Virginia shall also be accompanied by a listing of local 
governments receiving notice of the referral under subsection 
C of this section.  

B. The two localities proposing a boundary line adjustment 
pursuant to § 15.2-3109 of the Code of Virginia may, jointly 
or independently, submit to the commission with their 
petition as much data, exhibits, documents, or other 
supporting materials as they deem appropriate; however, such 
submissions should be fully responsive to all relevant 
elements of 1VAC50-20-600.  

C. Whenever a proposed boundary line adjustment is 
referred to the commission for review pursuant to § 15.2-
3109 of the Code of Virginia, the localities proposing the 
adjustment shall concurrently give notice of the proposed 
adjustment as well as notice of the referral of the issue to the 
commission to each Virginia local government with which 
either party is contiguous and to any other Virginia local 
government deemed by the localities proposing the 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 1 Virginia Register of Regulations September 3, 2018 

10 

adjustment to be potentially affected by the proposed 
adjustment. The notice shall include a copy of the petition 
requesting the boundary line adjustment, or an informative 
summary thereof, and an annotated listing of all documents, 
exhibits, and other materials submitted to the commission for 
review pursuant to subsection B of this section.  

D. Any local government receiving notice of a proposed 
boundary line adjustment pursuant to subsection C of this 
section, or any other party, may submit data, exhibits, 
documents, or other supporting materials relevant to the 
commission's review as they deem appropriate; however, 
such submissions should be responsive to all relevant 
elements of 1VAC50-20-600. Any party submitting materials 
to the commission pursuant to this chapter shall also 
designate an individual who shall serve as principal contact 
with the commission during the period of its review, and shall 
furnish the individual's title, address, phone number, and, 
where available, fax number and email address. The 
commission may establish a time by which all submissions by 
respondent parties must be received. Any party submitting 
materials to the commission pursuant to this chapter shall also 
provide an annotated listing of the materials to the localities 
proposing the boundary line adjustment.  

1VAC50-20-382. Referral to commission of proposed 
economic growth-sharing agreements.  

A. Referral of a proposed economic growth-sharing 
agreement to the commission under the provisions of § 15.2-
1301 of the Code of Virginia shall be accompanied by 
resolution, joint or separate, of the governing bodies of the 
localities that are parties to the proposed agreement 
requesting the commission to review the agreement. The 
resolution or resolutions shall also state the intention of the 
governing bodies to adopt the agreement subsequent to the 
commission's review and shall indicate the name, title, 
address, and phone number, and, where available, fax number 
and email address of the individual who shall serve as each 
locality's principal contact with the commission during the 
period of its review. Referrals to the commission pursuant to 
§ 15.2-1301 of the Code of Virginia shall also be 
accompanied by a listing of local governments receiving 
notice of the referral under subsection C of this section.  

B. Any party or parties referring a proposed economic 
growth-sharing agreement to the commission for review 
pursuant to § 15.2-1301 of the Code of Virginia may submit 
with the proposed agreement as much data, exhibits, 
documents, or other supporting materials as deemed 
appropriate; however, the submissions should be fully 
responsive to all relevant elements of 1VAC50-20-612.  

C. Whenever a proposed economic growth-sharing 
agreement is referred to the commission for review pursuant 
to subsection A of this section, the parties to the proposed 
agreement shall concurrently give notice of the referral to 
each Virginia local government with which any of the parties 

is contiguous, or with which any of the parties shares any 
function, revenue, or tax source. All notices of referral shall 
be accompanied by a copy of the proposed agreement, or a 
descriptive summary thereof, and an annotated listing of all 
documents, exhibits, and other materials submitted to the 
commission in support of the proposed agreement.  

D. Any local government receiving notice of referral 
pursuant to subsection C of this section, or any other party, 
may submit data, exhibits, documents, or other supporting 
materials relevant to the commission's review as it deems 
appropriate; however, the submissions should be responsive 
to all relevant elements of 1VAC50-20-612. Any party 
submitting materials to the commission pursuant to this 
chapter shall also designate an individual who shall serve as 
principal contact with the commission during the period of its 
review, and shall furnish the individual's title, address, phone 
number, and, where available, fax number and email address. 
Any party submitting materials to the commission pursuant to 
this chapter shall also provide an annotated listing of the 
material to the parties to the proposed agreement.  

1VAC50-20-384. Determination of continued eligibility for 
city status.  

A. The commission shall review each decennial census of 
population released by the United States Bureau of the 
Census to determine whether any city has failed to meet the 
criteria for city status established by Article VII, Section 1 of 
the Constitution of Virginia. In any instance where the census 
indicates that a city may not meet the constitutional criteria, 
the commission shall conduct an investigation of the city's 
population, assets, liabilities, rights, and obligations and shall 
certify its findings to the governing body of such city.  

B. In the conduct of its investigation, the commission shall 
request the assistance of the city in the provision of relevant 
data and information. The city may submit as much data, 
exhibits, documents, or other material as it deems 
appropriate; however, the submissions should be responsive 
to all relevant elements of 1VAC50-20-614.  

1VAC50-20-390. General provisions applicable to 
mandatory commission reviews.  

A. Any local government or other party appearing before the 
commission relative to any mandatory review may be 
represented by counsel.  

B. The commission shall generally schedule for 
consideration issues in the order in which received; however, 
the commission reserves the right to consider issues in other 
sequence where it deems appropriate. Where notices are 
received of related or competitive actions affecting the same 
locality or localities, the commission may, where appropriate, 
consider the issues and render the reports or a consolidated 
report concurrently.  
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C. Subsequent to its receipt of an issue for a mandatory 
review the commission shall meet, or otherwise converse, 
with representatives of the principally affected parties for 
purposes of establishing a schedule for its review of the issue. 
The schedule shall include dates (i) for the submission of 
responsive materials from affected jurisdictions, (ii) for tours 
of affected areas and oral presentations if any are desired by 
the commission, (iii) for a public hearing, and (iv) for the 
issuance of the commission's report, as well as other dates the 
commission deems appropriate.  

D. The commission may continue or defer its proceedings 
with respect to an issue at any time it deems appropriate; 
however, no continuance or deferral shall result in an 
extension of the commission's reporting deadline beyond any 
time limit imposed by law, except by agreement of the parties 
or in accordance with other statutory procedures. The 
commission shall also accept requests for continuances or 
deferrals from any party at any time during its proceedings 
but shall not grant or deny any such requests until all parties 
have had an opportunity to comment on the requests. In any 
instance where the commission grants a continuance or a 
deferral, the continuance or deferral may be conditioned upon 
an appropriate extension of the commission's reporting 
deadline with respect to the issue under review.  

E. The commission may confront the necessity of continuing 
or deferring its proceedings as a result of statutory 
requirement or court order. In such instances, the commission 
shall reschedule its proceedings, upon consultation with the 
parties, in a manner that permits an expeditious conclusion of 
its review. The parties should anticipate, however, that the 
duration of the continuance or stay shall result in a 
commensurate delay in the issuance of the commission's 
report.  

F. In addition to any meeting, presentation, public hearing, 
or other gathering of the parties specified by this chapter, the 
commission may, where it deems necessary for an analysis of 
material or for a discussion or clarification of the issues 
before it, schedule other meetings of appropriate parties.  

G. No party or parties to a proceeding before the 
commission for mandatory review shall communicate in any 
manner with any member of the commission with respect to 
the merits of the issue under review except as is authorized by 
this chapter, or as may be otherwise authorized by the 
commission or its chairman chair.  

H. In addition to the submissions authorized by 1VAC50-
20-180 through 1VAC50-20-384, the commission may allow 
supplemental submissions deemed necessary or appropriate 
by the commission for the provision of current and complete 
data. Where supplemental submissions are authorized 
pursuant to this subsection, copies of all submissions shall be 
provided by the submitting party to all principal parties. The 
commission shall endeavor to establish dates for the filing of 
all supplemental submissions which will allow an opportunity 

for their review and critical analysis by other affected parties. 
However, the commission may accept supplemental 
submissions filed after any established dates if, in the 
commission's judgment, the submissions assist the 
commission in the discharge of its statutory responsibilities.  

I. Any material submitted to the commission by the parties 
in conjunction with or relative to any notice filed pursuant to 
any mandatory review covered by 1VAC50-20-180 through 
1VAC50-20-384, except materials presented in the context of 
negotiations or mediation of a confidential nature as 
authorized by law, shall be considered public documents and 
made available by the submitting party for review by any 
other interested party or by the public. Any interested party or 
member of the public may request copies of any such material 
which shall be provided promptly by the party submitting the 
material to the commission at a price sufficient to cover the 
expense incurred.  

J. Each document, exhibit, or other material submitted to the 
commission shall bear a title, the date of preparation, a 
detailed citation of the sources from which all data are 
obtained, and the name of the entity which submitted the 
document, exhibit, or other material. All material submitted 
to the commission by a local government shall be, as nearly 
as practicable, in the same form as the material would 
subsequently be submitted to the courts. The commission 
may refuse to accept for review and consideration any 
exhibit, document, or other material unless the person 
preparing it, or a representative of the entity responsible for 
its submission, shall be willing to appear before the 
commission for purposes of answering questions concerning 
the material.  

K. Unless otherwise requested, wherever the regulations of 
the commission call for the projection of data, the projections 
should be made for a 10-year period. In each instance where 
projections are given, the method and bases of the projections 
should be indicated.  

L. All data, exhibits, documents, or other material submitted 
to the commission on the initiative of a party or pursuant to a 
request from the commission shall be certified by the 
submitting party (i) as to source and (ii) as to the fact that the 
material is correct within the knowledge of the submitting 
party.  

M. Any party or parties filing notice or making submissions 
to the commission shall provide at least eight copies of all 
submissions, unless the commission agrees that a lesser 
number would be sufficient for its review and analysis. The 
commission may make provisions for the electronic filing of 
submissions, including facsimile.  

N. At any time during the course of the commission's review 
of any issue, the commission's staff may solicit additional 
data, documents, records, or other materials from the parties 
as is deemed necessary for proper analysis of any issue. 
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Where such materials are solicited from a party, the 
commission's staff, where practicable, shall make the request 
in writing, with copies of the request being provided to other 
principal parties. Copies of all materials submitted to the 
commission pursuant to this chapter shall concurrently be 
provided to each principal party, or shall be made available to 
the parties in a manner acceptable to the commission. The 
commission shall be given written notification by the 
submitting party of each principal party provided a copy of 
the material or of arrangements proposed for making the 
material available to the principal parties.  

O. The commission shall not be limited in its analysis of any 
issue to the materials submitted by the parties but shall 
undertake independent research as it deems appropriate in 
order to assure a full and complete investigation of each issue.  

P. The commission shall request all parties to cooperate 
fully in the development and timely sharing of data relative to 
the issue under review. The commission considers the 
cooperation among parties vital to the discharge of its 
responsibilities.  

Q. The commission may allow the parties to correct the data, 
exhibits, documents, or other material submitted to the 
commission prior to the date established for the closing of the 
record pursuant to 1VAC50-20-640 B. Where corrections are 
authorized pursuant to this chapter, copies of all corrections 
shall be provided by the submitting party to all principal 
parties. If, in the commission's judgment, the corrections are 
of a substantive nature as to significantly alter the scope or 
character of the issue under review, the commission may 
delay its proceedings for an appropriate amount of time to 
provide an opportunity for other parties to respond to the 
corrected data, exhibits, documents, or other material.  

R. Following the receipt of a notice, the commission may 
request the party initiating the proposed action to prepare and 
file testimony in support of the proposed action. The 
testimony of the party initiating the proposed action may refer 
to all data, exhibits, documents, or other material previously 
submitted to the commission or filed with the testimony. In 
all proceedings in which the initiating party files testimony, 
the affected party or parties shall be permitted and may be 
requested by the commission to file, on or before a date 
established by the commission, testimony in response to the 
proposed action. The testimony of the affected party or 
parties may refer to all data, exhibits, documents, or other 
material previously submitted to the commission or filed with 
the testimony. Any affected party or parties that who chooses 
not to file testimony by the date established by the 
commission may not thereafter present testimony except by 
permission of the commission, but may otherwise fully 
participate in the proceeding and engage only in cross-
examination of the testimony of other parties. Failure to 
comply with the directions of the commission, without good 
cause shown, may result in rejection of the testimony by the 

commission. The commission may permit the parties to 
correct or supplement any prepared testimony before or 
during the oral presentations as called for in 1VAC50-20-620. 
Eight copies of prepared testimony shall be filed unless 
otherwise specified by the commission.  

Part IV  
Information, Data, and Factors Relative to Mandatory 

Commission Reviews  

1VAC50-20-540. Annexation.  

In developing its findings of fact and recommendations with 
respect to a proposed annexation, the commission shall 
consider the information, data, and factors listed in this 
section. Any city or town filing notice with the commission 
that it proposes to annex territory shall submit with the notice 
data and other evidence responsive to each element listed in 
this section that it deems relevant to the proposed annexation. 
Any voters or property owners filing notice pursuant to 
§ 15.2-2907 of the Code of Virginia with the commission 
seeking annexation to a municipality shall submit with the 
notice data and other evidence responsive to each element 
listed in this section that they deem relevant to the proposed 
annexation, except that subdivision 1 of this section is 
required to be included in the notice filed with the 
commission.  

1. A written metes and bounds description of the 
boundaries of the area proposed for annexation having, as a 
minimum, sufficient certainty to enable a layman to 
identify the proposed new boundary. The description may 
make reference to readily identifiable monuments such as 
public roads, rivers, streams, railroad rights of way, and 
similar discernible physical features.  

2. A map or maps showing (i) the boundaries of the area 
proposed for annexation and their geographic relationship 
to existing political boundaries; (ii) identifiable 
unincorporated communities,; (iii) major streets, highways, 
schools, and other major public facilities,; (iv) significant 
geographic features, including mountains and bodies of 
water; (v) existing uses of the land, including residential, 
commercial, industrial, and agricultural; and (vi) 
information deemed relevant as to the possible future use 
of the property within the area sought for annexation.  

3. A land-use table showing both the acreage and 
percentage of land currently devoted to the various 
categories of land use in the municipality, the county, and 
the area proposed for annexation.  

4. The past, the estimated current, and the projected 
population of the municipality, the county affected by the 
proposed annexation, and the area of the county proposed 
for annexation.  

5. The past, the estimated current, and the projected future 
number of public school students enrolled in the public 
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schools and the number of school-age children living in the 
municipality, the county affected by the proposed 
annexation, and the area of the county proposed for 
annexation.  

6. The assessed property values, by major classification, 
and if appropriate, the ratios of assessed values to true 
values for real property, personal property, machinery and 
tools, merchants' capital, and public service corporation 
property for the current year and the preceding 10 years for 
the municipality, and the county affected by the proposed 
annexation, and similar data for the current year for the 
area of the county proposed for annexation.  

7. The current local property and nonproperty tax rates and 
the tax rates for the preceding 10 years, applicable within 
the municipality, the county affected by the proposed 
annexation, and the area of the county proposed for 
annexation.  

8. The estimated current local revenue collections and 
intergovernmental aid, the collections and aid for the 
previous 10 years, and projections of the collections and 
aid (including tax receipts from real property, personal 
property, machinery and tools, merchants' capital, business 
and professional license, consumer utility, and sales taxes) 
within the municipality, and the county affected by the 
proposed annexation, and similar data for the past year for 
the area of the county proposed for annexation.  

9. The amount of long-term indebtedness and the purposes 
for which all long-term debt has been incurred by the 
municipality and the county affected by the proposed 
annexation.  

10. The need in the area proposed for annexation for urban 
services, including but not limited to those listed below in 
this subdivision, the level of services provided by the 
municipality and by the county affected by the proposed 
annexation, and the ability of the municipality and the 
county to provide the services in the area proposed for 
annexation:  

a. Sewage treatment;  

b. Water;  

c. Solid waste collection and disposal;  

d. Public planning;  

e. Subdivision regulation and zoning;  

f. Crime prevention and detection;  

g. Fire prevention and protection;  

h. Public recreational facilities;  

i. Library facilities;  

j. Curbs, gutters, and sidewalks;  

k. Storm drains;  

l. Street lighting;  

m. Snow removal;  

n. Street maintenance;  

o. Schools;  

p. Housing; and  

q. Public transportation.  

11. Efforts made by the municipality and the county 
affected by the proposed annexation to comply with 
applicable state policies with respect to environmental 
protection, public planning, education, public 
transportation, housing, and other state service policies 
promulgated by the General Assembly.  

12. The community of interest which (i) may exist between 
the municipality and the area proposed for annexation and 
its citizens and which (ii) may exist between that area and 
its citizens and the rest of the county; the term "community 
of interest" may include, but not be limited to, 
consideration of natural neighborhoods, natural and 
manmade boundaries, the similarity of service needs, and 
economic and social bonds.  

13. Any arbitrary prior refusal to cooperate by the 
governing body of the municipality or of the county 
affected by the proposed annexation, if such has occurred, 
to enter into cooperative agreements providing for joint 
activities which that would have benefited citizens of both 
localities.  

14. The need for the municipality to expand its tax 
resources, including its real estate and personal property 
tax base.  

15. The need of the municipality to obtain land for 
industrial, commercial, and residential development.  

16. The adverse effect on the county affected by the 
proposed annexation resulting from the loss of areas 
suitable and developable for industrial, commercial, or 
residential use.  

17. The adverse effect on the county of the loss of tax 
resources and public facilities necessary to provide 
services to those persons in the remaining areas of the 
county after the proposed annexation.  

18. The adverse impact of the proposed annexation on 
agricultural operations located in the area proposed for 
annexation.  

19. The terms and conditions upon which the municipality 
proposes to annex, its plans for the improvement of the 
annexed territory during the 10-year period following 
annexation, including the extension of public utilities and 
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other services, and the means by which the municipality 
shall finance the improvements and extension of services.  

20. Data pertinent to a determination of the appropriate 
financial settlement between the municipality and the 
affected county as required by § 15.2-3211 of the Code of 
Virginia and other applicable provisions of the Code of 
Virginia.  

21. The commission's staff shall endeavor to assist parties 
contemplating or involved in annexation proceedings by 
identifying additional data elements considered by the 
commission to be relevant in the disposition of annexation 
issues.  

1VAC50-20-560. Town-county agreements defining 
annexation rights.  

In developing its findings of fact and recommendations with 
respect to a proposed town-county annexation agreement, the 
commission shall consider the information, data, and factors 
listed in this section. Any town or county presenting proposed 
annexation agreements to the commission under the 
provisions of § 15.2-3231 of the Code of Virginia shall 
submit with the proposed agreement data and other evidence 
responsive to each element listed in this section that it deems 
relevant.  

1. A written metes and bounds description of those areas of 
the county made eligible for annexation under the proposed 
agreement having as a minimum, sufficient certainty to 
enable a layman to identify those areas. The description 
may make reference to readily identifiable monuments 
such as public roads, rivers, streams, railroad rights of way, 
and similar discernible physical features.  

2. A map or maps showing: (i) the boundaries of the 
various areas eligible for annexation under the proposed 
agreement and their relationship to existing political 
boundaries; (ii) identifiable unincorporated communities; 
(iii) major streets, highways, schools, and other major 
public facilities; (iv) significant geographic features, 
including mountains and bodies of water; (v) existing uses 
of the land, including residential, commercial, industrial, 
and agricultural; and (vi) information deemed relevant as 
to the possible future use of the property in the areas 
affected by the proposed agreement.  

3. A land-use table showing both the acreage and 
percentage of land currently devoted to the various 
categories of land use in the town, the county, and the 
areas of the county affected by the agreement.  

4. The past, the estimated current, and the projected 
population of the town, the county, and those areas of the 
county affected by the proposed agreement.  

5. The past, the estimated current, and the projected 
number of public school students enrolled in the public 
schools and the number of school-age children living in the 

town, the county, and those areas of the county affected by 
the proposed agreement.  

6. The assessed property values, by major classification 
and, if appropriate, the ratios of assessed values to true 
values for real property, personal property, machinery and 
tools, merchants' capital, and public service corporation 
property for the current and preceding 10 years for the 
town, and the county, and similar data for the current year 
in those areas of the county affected by the proposed 
agreement.  

7. The need of the municipality to expand its tax resources, 
including its real estate and personal property tax base.  

8. The need of the municipality to obtain land for 
industrial, commercial, and residential development.  

9. The current and prospective need for additional urban 
services in the areas of its county subject to annexation 
under the agreement.  

10. Plans for the immediate and future improvement of 
areas annexed under the terms of the agreement, including 
the extension of public utilities and other services.  

11. The commission's staff shall endeavor to assist 
localities contemplating or involved in town-county 
agreements defining annexation rights by identifying 
additional data elements considered by the commission to 
be relevant in the disposition of the issues.  

1VAC50-20-570. Town incorporation.  

In developing its findings of fact and recommendations with 
respect to a proposed town incorporation, the commission 
shall consider the information, data, and factors listed in this 
section. Any party or parties Parties filing notice with the 
commission that they propose to have a community 
incorporated as a town, or whose petition for incorporation 
has been referred to the commission by the court pursuant to 
§ 15.2-3601 of the Code of Virginia, shall submit with such 
notice or subsequent to the court referral data and other 
evidence responsive to each element listed in this section that 
they deem relevant to the proposed incorporation.  

1. A petition signed by not less fewer than 100 duly 
qualified voters residing within the boundaries of the 
proposed town supporting the proposed incorporation.  

2. A written metes and bounds description of the area 
proposed for incorporation as a town having, as a 
minimum, sufficient certainty to enable a layman to 
identify the proposed town boundary. The description may 
make reference to readily identifiable monuments such as 
public roads, rivers, streams, railroad rights of way, and 
similar discernible physical features.  

3. A map or maps showing: (i) the boundaries of the 
proposed town and their relationship to existing political 
boundaries; (ii) identifiable unincorporated communities; 
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(iii) major streets, highways, schools, and other major 
public facilities; (iv) significant geographic features, 
including mountains and bodies of water; and (v) existing 
uses of the land, including residential, commercial, 
industrial, and agricultural.  

4. A land-use table showing both the acreage and 
percentage of land currently devoted to the various 
categories of land use in the area proposed for 
incorporation.  

5. The estimated past, the estimated current, and the 
projected population of the area proposed for incorporation 
and the county within which the town would be situated.  

6. Information indicating: (i) why the proposed 
incorporation is desired and in the interest of the 
inhabitants; (ii) how the general good of the community is 
served by the incorporation; and (iii) why the services 
needed within the proposed town cannot be provided by 
the establishment of a sanitary district, through the 
extension of existing county services, or by other 
arrangements provided by law.  

7. The commission shall endeavor to assist communities 
contemplating or involved in proposed town incorporations 
by identifying additional data elements considered by the 
commission to be relevant in the disposition of 
incorporation issues.  

1VAC50-20-590. County-city transitions.  

In developing its findings of fact and recommendations with 
respect to a proposed county to city transition, the 
commission shall consider the information, data, and factors 
listed in this section. Any county filing notice with the 
commission that it proposes to become a city shall submit 
with the notice data and other evidence responsive to each 
element listed in this section that it deems relevant to the 
proposed transition.  

1. A map, or maps, showing: (i) the location of all towns 
situated within the county; (ii) all adjoining and adjacent 
localities; (iii) identifiable unincorporated communities 
within the county; (iv) the population density of the 
various areas of the county; (v) the areas of the county 
served by urban services; (vi) major streets, highways, 
schools, and other major public facilities; (vii) significant 
geographic features, including mountains and bodies of 
water; (viii) existing uses of the land, including residential, 
commercial, industrial, and agricultural; and (ix) 
information deemed relevant as to the possible future use 
of the property within the county.  

2. A land-use table showing both the acreage and 
percentage of land currently devoted to the various 
categories of land use in the county.  

3. The past, the estimated current, and the projected future 
population of the county, each town within the county, and 

of the major densely populated unincorporated 
communities within the county.  

4. The past, the estimated current, and the projected future 
number of public school students enrolled in the public 
schools and the number of school-age children living in the 
county and in each town therein within the county.  

5. The assessed values, by major classification and if 
appropriate, the ratios of assessed values to true values for 
real property, personal property, machinery and tools, 
merchants' capital, and public service corporation property 
for the current year and the preceding 10 years for the 
county and each town within the county.  

6. The current local property and nonproperty tax rates, 
and the tax rates for the preceding 10 years, within the 
county and all towns within the county.  

7. The estimated current local revenue collections and 
intergovernmental aid, the collections and aid for the 
previous 10 years, and projections of the collections and 
aid (including tax receipts from real property, personal 
property, machinery and tools, merchants' capital, business 
and professional license, consumer utility, and sales taxes) 
within the county and within each town within the county.  

8. The amount of long-term indebtedness of the county and 
each town within the county and the amount and purpose 
for which that debt has been incurred.  

9. Data regarding: (i) the urban-type services presently 
provided by the county; (ii) the level of those services; (iii) 
the areas of the county served by those services; (iv) the 
additional services to be provided and the additional cost to 
be borne by the proposed city; and (v) the means by which 
the proposed city shall finance the additional services and 
costs.  

10. The fiscal capacity of the county to function as an 
independent city and to provide appropriate services.  

11. The impact of the proposed transition on compliance 
with and the promotion of applicable state policies with 
respect to environmental protection, public planning, 
education, public transportation, housing, and other state 
service policies declared by the General Assembly.  

12. The commission's staff shall endeavor to assist 
localities contemplating or involved in proposed county-
city transitions by identifying additional data elements 
considered by the commission to be relevant in the 
disposition of county to city transition issues.  

1VAC50-20-605. County-city consolidations.  

In developing its findings of fact and recommendations with 
respect to a proposed consolidation of a county and a city that 
would establish an independent city, the commission shall 
consider the information, data, and factors listed in this 
section. Local governments filing notice proposing the 
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consolidation of a city and a county to establish an 
independent city, or any committee of citizens that has been 
appointed by the circuit court to act for and in lieu of a 
governing body to perfect a consolidation agreement pursuant 
to § 15.2-3531 of the Code of Virginia shall, separately or 
jointly, submit to the commission data and other evidence 
responsive to each element listed in this section that they 
deem relevant to the proposed consolidation.  

1. Copy of the consolidation agreement.  

2. A map or maps showing (i) the location of all 
municipalities situated within the proposed consolidated 
city; (ii) all adjoining and adjacent localities; (iii) 
identifiable unincorporated communities within the 
proposed consolidated city; (iv) major streets, highways, 
schools, and other major public facilities; (v) significant 
geographic features, including mountains and bodies of 
water; (vi) existing uses of the land, including residential, 
commercial, industrial, and agricultural; and (vii) 
information deemed relevant as to the possible future use 
of the property within the proposed consolidated city and 
as to its future viability.  

3. The past, the estimated current, and the projected 
population of each locality proposing to consolidate.  

4. The population density of the proposed consolidated city 
based on the most recent U.S. United States decennial 
census or as estimated by the Weldon Cooper Center for 
Public Service at the University of Virginia.  

5. A land-use table showing both the acreage and 
percentage of land currently devoted to the various 
categories of land use in the proposed consolidated city.  

6. The estimated current and a five-year projection of the 
future number of public school students enrolled in the 
public schools in each locality proposing to consolidate 
and the number of school-age children living in the 
proposed consolidated city.  

7. The assessed values, by major classification for real 
property, personal property, machinery and tools, 
merchants' capital, and public service corporation property 
for the current year and the preceding 10 years for the 
county and the city proposing to consolidate and the 
proposed consolidated city.  

8. The estimated local property and nonproperty tax rates 
that will be applicable within the proposed consolidated 
city.  

9. The estimated local revenue collections including, but 
not limited to, tax receipts from real property, personal 
property, machinery and tools, merchants' capital, business 
and professional license, consumer utility, and sales taxes 
and intergovernmental aid, such collections and aid for the 
preceding 10 years, and projections of the collections and 
aid within each of the localities proposing to consolidate.  

10. The amount of long-term indebtedness of each of the 
localities proposing to consolidate and the amount and 
purpose for which that debt has been incurred.  

11. Data regarding: (i) the urban-type services presently 
provided by each of the localities proposing to consolidate, 
(ii) the level of those services to be provided in the 
proposed consolidated city, (iii) the additional services to 
be provided and the additional cost to be borne by the 
proposed consolidated city, and (iv) the means by which 
the proposed consolidated city shall finance the additional 
services and costs.  

12. The fiscal capacity of the proposed consolidated city to 
function as an independent city and to provide appropriate 
services.  

13. The impact of the proposed consolidation on 
compliance with and the promotion of applicable state 
policies with respect to environmental protection, public 
planning, education, public transportation, housing, and 
other state service policies declared by the General 
Assembly.  

14. The impact of the proposed consolidation on the 
interest of the Commonwealth in promoting strong and 
viable units of government in the area.  

15. The commission's staff shall endeavor to assist the 
parties involved in proceedings for the consolidation of a 
county and a city that would establish an independent city 
by identifying additional data elements considered by the 
commission to be relevant in the disposition of city-county 
consolidation issues.  

1VAC50-20-614. Determination of continued eligibility for 
city status.  

In undertaking its investigation with respect to whether a 
city continues to meet the requirements for city status as 
prescribed by Article VII, Section 1 of the Constitution of 
Virginia, the commission shall consider the information and 
data listed in this section. Any city subject to investigation as 
prescribed by Chapter 40 (§ 15.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 15.2 
of the Code of Virginia shall be requested to submit 
information and data responsive to each element listed in this 
section and any other information and data as the city deems 
relevant to the continued eligibility for city status.  

1. Any official correspondence with the United States 
Bureau of the Census regarding the accuracy of the most 
recent United States decennial census of the population of 
the city under investigation.  

2. Any data or other evidence produced by the city under 
investigation or any other entity bearing on the accuracy of 
the most recent United States decennial census of the 
population of the city under investigation.  
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3. Any data or other evidence produced by the city under 
investigation or any other entity indicating the current 
population and projected future population of the city 
under investigation.  

4. Contingent upon the commission's findings with respect 
to the population of the city under investigation, a listing of 
all of the city's assets, liabilities, rights, and obligations.  

5. The commission's staff shall endeavor to assist the city 
under investigation by identifying additional data elements 
considered by the commission to be relevant to the 
continued eligibility for city status.  

Part V  
Formal Commission Reviews  

1VAC50-20-620. Oral presentations by parties.  

A. In the course of its analysis of any issue the commission 
may schedule oral presentations for purposes of permitting 
the parties to amplify their submissions, to critique and to 
offer comment upon the submissions and evidence offered by 
other parties, and to respond to questions relative to the issue 
from the commission. The presentations, if scheduled, shall 
extend for a period of time as the commission may deem 
appropriate.  

B. If oral presentations are scheduled by the commission, 
the chairman chair shall select, subsequent to the receipt of 
recommendations from the parties, an appropriate site for the 
presentations. Recommendations by the parties regarding the 
sites should be based upon the adequacy of space for the 
display and movement of exhibits; the adequacy of seating 
arrangements for the commission, its staff, representatives of 
the parties, a court reporter, and the public; the adequacy of 
security at the site to permit materials to be left unattended 
during recesses; and the adequacy of the acoustical 
characteristics of the site to facilitate communications or the 
availability of a public address system.  

C. Local governments or other parties desiring to present 
exhibits or data requiring special equipment should be 
prepared to provide such.  

D. The commission may, where it deems appropriate, 
consolidate two or more interlocal issues before it for purpose 
of oral presentations.  

E. The commission shall, within the requirements of law, 
conduct the oral presentations in the manner it considers best 
suited for reaching a decision in the best interest of the parties 
and in the best interest of the Commonwealth.  

F. The chairman chair, or other member the commission 
designated to preside during any oral presentations, may 
allocate time to the various parties as the chairman chair or 
presiding member deems appropriate. The allocation of time 
shall be based upon the needs of the commission to review 

data, to examine witnesses, and to obtain an understanding of 
the relevant factors affecting the issue under review.  

G. The sequence in which testimony will be received by the 
commission during any oral presentations shall be established 
by the chairman chair or presiding member but shall generally 
be as follows:  

1. A brief opening statement by each party, if desired;  

2. Presentation by the party initiating the issue before the 
commission;  

3. Presentations by the local governments immediately 
affected by the action proposed by the initiating party, in 
an order established by the chairman chair or presiding 
member;  

4. Presentations by other parties, in an order established by 
the chairman chair or presiding member;  

5. Rebuttal where requested by a party and agreed to by the 
chairman chair or presiding member.  

H. The chairman chair or presiding member may, to the 
extent he the chair or presiding member deems appropriate, 
permit parties to question witnesses regarding submissions, 
their testimony, or other facts relevant to the issues before the 
commission. Where a party is represented by counsel, such 
questioning may be conducted by counsel.  

Where the parties have prefiled testimony at the 
commission's request pursuant to 1VAC50-20-390 R, the 
questioning of individuals whose testimony has been prefiled 
shall be limited to a cross-examination of such testimony. The 
commission may accept additional oral testimony from 
individuals whose testimony has been prefiled during the 
presentations where good cause is shown. Where additional 
oral testimony is accepted by the commission, the 
commission shall provide an opportunity for other parties to 
respond to the testimony and to cross-examine the individual 
offering such testimony.  

I. The chairman chair or presiding member may, during or at 
the conclusion of the oral presentations, permit or request oral 
argument on the issues before the commission.  

J. The commission, and its staff, may question any witness 
or representative of any party during the oral presentations 
regarding any submission, testimony, or other fact which the 
commission considers relevant to the issues before it. The 
chairman chair or presiding member shall endeavor to call for 
commission questioning in a manner designed to expedite the 
presentations.  

K. The commission may accept depositions from persons 
unable to attend an oral presentation. Depositions shall only 
be accepted under conditions deemed acceptable by the 
commission, including conditions assuring an opportunity for 
all affected local governments to be present and to examine 
adequately the witness during the taking of depositions.  
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L. The parties or their counsel shall be expected to confer in 
advance of the time and date set for presentations in order to 
inform one another of their prospective witnesses and the 
order of their anticipated appearance. All material, data, or 
exhibits proposed for presentation to the commission during 
the oral presentations and not previously made available to 
the other parties shall be exchanged or made available to the 
parties prior to presentation to the commission, subject to the 
qualifications in subsection M of this section.  

M. The commission requires that all materials, data, and 
exhibits be presented to it and made available to other parties 
in advance of the commencement of the onsite component of 
the commission's review. The commission may accept 
additional materials, data, and exhibits during the onsite 
component of its review upon unanimous consent of the 
members present. Where late submissions are accepted by the 
commission, the commission shall provide an opportunity for 
other parties to respond to the filings.  

N. The commission may record by mechanical device, 
unless other recording arrangements are made by the parties, 
all testimony given during the oral presentations but shall 
prepare a transcript of the recording only when deemed 
appropriate. The commission shall provide, upon request, any 
party a duplicate copy of the transcript or recording, if made, 
at a price sufficient to cover the expense incurred. In lieu of 
recording by the commission, the parties may arrange to 
provide a court reporter at their expense. Where a court 
reporter is utilized, the commission shall receive one copy of 
the transcript.  

1VAC50-20-630. Public hearing.  

A. In all cases where a public hearing is required by law, the 
commission shall conduct the public hearing at which any 
interested person or party may testify. The commission shall 
generally schedule the public hearing in conjunction with the 
oral presentations held, if any, with respect to the issue; 
however, public hearings regarding proposed town 
incorporations required pursuant to § 15.2-3601 of the Code 
of Virginia shall be held no sooner than 30 days after receipt 
of the court request for commission review.  

B. Prior to holding the public hearing the commission shall 
publish notice of the pending hearing as required by law.  

In addition to the notice of public hearing required by this 
subsection, a town that is a party to an agreement defining 
annexation rights negotiated pursuant to § 15.2-3231 of the 
Code of Virginia shall give written notice of the commission's 
hearing at least 10 days before the hearing to the owner, 
owners, or their agent of each parcel of land included in the 
area proposed for annexation under the terms of the 
agreement. One notice sent by first-class mail to the last 
known address of the owner, owners, or their agent as shown 
on the current county real estate tax assessment books or 
current county real estate tax assessment records shall be 

deemed adequate compliance with this requirement, provided 
that the clerk of the town shall make an affidavit that the 
mailings have been made and file the affidavit with the 
commission.  

C. The commission shall request the party initiating the 
issue before it and the other principally affected parties to 
place on public display in or adjacent to the office of the chief 
administrative officer of each principally affected local 
government copies of all materials which are available to 
them and which have been submitted to the commission for 
consideration with respect to the issue. The material should 
be made conveniently available to the public during normal 
working hours. The commission also encourages the parties 
to make available to the public other copies of the material at 
libraries, educational facilities, or other public places in order 
that the public might have ample opportunity to study the 
material prior to the public hearing. The commission's 
advertisements published under subsection B of this section 
shall announce the availability of the material at the offices of 
the administrators and at other facilities as may be selected by 
the parties for display purposes.  

D. The commission shall request the chief administrative 
officer (or other official) of each jurisdiction or jurisdictions 
principally affected by the issue before the commission to 
make suitable arrangements in or adjacent to their offices for 
the registration of speakers at the public hearing. The 
commission shall furnish appropriate registration forms for 
that purpose. The commission's advertisements under 
subsection B of this section shall advise the public that 
registration to speak at the public hearing may be 
accomplished at the offices of the local administrators or, 
alternatively, through the offices of the commission in 
Richmond. The commission may also permit speakers to 
register at the site and at the time of the public hearing and 
shall request the assistance of the local administrative officers 
in making suitable arrangements for such registration.  

E. The chairman chair or other member of the commission 
designated to preside over the proceedings shall select the site 
for the public hearing subsequent to the receipt of 
recommendations from the parties. Recommendations from 
the parties should be based upon a site's accessibility to 
residents of the areas and jurisdictions principally affected, its 
seating capacity, the adequacy of parking facilities, the 
availability of a public address system, and seating 
arrangements permitting the commission to have proper 
visual contact with the public.  

F. The commission shall request the parties to cooperate in 
the preparation of the site for the public hearing and shall 
request that a minimum number of maps and exhibits be 
placed on display at the site in order that persons testifying 
may identify their residences, property, businesses, or other 
concerns in relation to the proposed issue.  
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G. The commission shall request the local jurisdiction 
within which the site for the public hearing is situated to 
make appropriate arrangements in order to assure the security 
and the orderliness of the proceedings.  

H. The chairman chair or the presiding member shall 
determine the sequence of speakers at a public hearing, but 
the sequence shall ordinarily conform to the sequence of their 
registration. The chairman chair or presiding member may, 
however, vary the sequence of speakers in order that persons 
from all affected jurisdictions and areas, and those 
representing different perspectives, might have equal 
opportunity for the timely presentation of their comments.  

I. The commission shall endeavor to allow any person or 
party wishing to speak at a public hearing an opportunity to 
do so. The chairman chair or presiding member may establish 
time limits for the presentation of testimony as he the chair or 
presiding member deems appropriate. The chairman chair or 
presiding member may also rule testimony irrelevant, 
immaterial, or unduly repetitious. Proponents and opponents 
of a proposed action are encouraged to designate a chief 
spokesman for economy of time and for the avoidance of 
repetitious comment.  

J. Any person or party testifying before the commission at 
the public hearing may extend their remarks in written form 
for subsequent submission. During the course of the public 
hearing, the commission shall establish a date by which the 
extended written comment must be received for 
consideration.  

K. The commission may record by mechanical device, 
unless other arrangements are made, all testimony given 
during the public hearing but shall prepare a transcript of the 
recording only when it deems appropriate. The commission 
shall provide any person or party with a copy of the transcript 
or recording, if made, at a price sufficient to cover the 
expense incurred. The parties may arrange to provide a court 
reporter, at their expense. Where a court reporter is utilized, 
the commission shall receive one copy of the transcript.  

L. The commission may, where it deems appropriate, 
consolidate two or more interlocal issues for purposes of a 
public hearing.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5291; Filed August 9, 2018, 9:37 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL AUTHORITY 
Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-10. Procedural Rules for the 
Conduct of Hearings before the Board and its Hearing 
Officers (amending 3VAC5-10-160).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 3, 2018. 

Effective Date: October 22, 2018.  

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks, Legal Liaison, 
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 Hermitage 
Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-4698, FAX 
(804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks@abc.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 4.1-101 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority and the Board 
of Directors of the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Authority. 

Section 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia enumerates the 
powers of the board, which include the authority to adopt 
regulations and to do all acts necessary or advisable to carry 
out the purposes of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
Subdivision 7 of § 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia permits 
board to delegate or assign any duty or task to be performed 
by the authority to any officer or employee of the authority. 
Subdivision 24 of § 4.1-103 permits the board to promulgate 
regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process 
Act and § 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 4.1-111 A provides the board with the authority to 
adopt reasonable regulations that it deems necessary to carry 
out the provisions of Title 4.1 and to amend or repeal such 
regulations. 

Purpose: As the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 
transitions into an authority, it was necessary to make 
amendments to the regulations dealing with procedural rules 
of the conduct of hearings before the board and hearings 
officers to make the process more efficient and not 
overburden the new part-time board. Approvals that were 
once subject to board approval have been delegated to the 
chief hearing officer. Additionally, extending the time in 
which an offer can be submitted is an effort to decrease the 
number of hearings and appeals and foster more resolutions 
through settlement. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 
amendments favor licensees and simplify the offer in the 
compromise process while extending the time that the 
licensee has to make an offer in compromise. 

Substance: Approvals once subject to board approval have 
been delegated to the chief hearing officer thereby 
accommodating the new part-time board while not hampering 
the process for licensees. Also, extending the time in which 
offers can be made increases the likelihood that the matter 
will be resolved without further hearings or appeals. 
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Issues: The primary advantage is that the amendment will 
make the process for offers in compromise more efficient by 
allowing the board to delegate the responsibility of approving 
the offer instead of having to wait for board approval, which 
could delay the settlement as the board will meet much less 
frequently under the authority. There are no disadvantages to 
the agency or the Commonwealth. Pertinent matters to the 
regulated community, government officials, and the public 
are that offers in compromise will not always have oversight 
from the board; however, they will be delegated to chief 
hearing officer who may have more intimate knowledge of 
the case and the significance of the settlement terms. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board (Board) proposes to: 1) 
direct that offers in compromise be addressed to the chief 
hearing officer, 2) no longer require Board approval for 
acceptance of offers in compromise, 3) remove the limit on 
the number of offers in compromise that licensees may make, 
and 4) allow licensees more time to present an offer in 
compromise. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Following notice of a 
disciplinary proceeding, a licensee may be afforded 
opportunity for the submission of an offer in compromise in 
lieu of suspension or in addition thereto, or in lieu of 
revocation of his license. The current regulation specifies that 
such an offer be summited to the secretary of the Board and 
be subject to Board approval.  

As of January 15, 2018, the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage 
Control Authority (ABCA) became successor in interest to 
the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control and the 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board.1 ABCA consists of the 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board of Directors 
(Authority Board), the Chief Executive Officer, and the 
agents and employees of the Authority. 

Members of the Board prior to the establishment of ABCA 
worked full time. Positions on the Authority Board are 
considered part time; the Authority Board meets much less 
frequently than the Board has historically. Consequently, the 
Board proposes to amend the regulation to specify that offers 
in compromise be submitted to the chief hearing officer, and 
acceptance is not subject to Board (or Authority Board) 
approval. The proposal to have offers in compromise be 
submitted to the chief hearing officer and to allow the chief 
hearing officer to approve such offers without waiting for 
Board approval would help prevent significant delays. This 
would be beneficial for regulated entities and the public. 

The current regulation limits licensees to two offers of 
compromise. The Board proposes to remove this limitation 

and extend the timeframe within which licensees may submit 
offers in compromise. Since these proposed changes are 
potentially beneficial for affected licenses, and do not 
produce significant cost for ABCA, they would likely 
produce a net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. All 13,000+ licensees could 
potentially be subject to disciplinary proceedings, and thus 
could be affected by the proposed amendments.2 ABCA 
issues: licenses for manufacturers, wholesalers and shippers 
of alcoholic beverages; retail licenses for the sale of alcohol 
at restaurants, hotels, convenience stores, grocery stores, etc.; 
and banquet licenses to allow persons or groups to host events 
such as wedding receptions, tastings or fundraisers, where 
alcohol is served in an unlicensed location or club premise. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
do not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments do not significantly affect the use and 
value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 
significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 
businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect other entities. 

____________________________ 
1See Virginia Code § 4.1-101 B  
2Data source: Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority concurs with 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title4.1/chapter1/section4.1-101/
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the Department of Planning and Budget's economic impact 
analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) require that offers in compromise be 
addressed to the chief hearing officer, (ii) remove the 
board approval requirement for acceptance of offers, (iii) 
remove the limit on the number of offers that licensees may 
make, and (iv) extend the time in which an offer can be 
made. 

3VAC5-10-160. Offers in compromise.  

Following notice of a disciplinary proceeding, a licensee 
may be afforded opportunity for the submission of an offer in 
compromise in lieu of suspension or in addition thereto, or in 
lieu of revocation of his license, where in the discretion of the 
board, the nature of the proceeding and the public interest 
permit. Such offer should be addressed to the secretary to the 
board chief hearing officer. Upon approval by the board, 
acceptance Acceptance of the offer in compromise shall 
constitute an admission of the alleged violation of the A.B.C. 
laws or regulations, and shall result in a waiver of the right to 
a formal hearing and the right to appeal or otherwise contest 
the charges. The reason for the acceptance of such an offer 
shall be made a part of the record of the proceeding. Unless 
good cause be shown, continuances for purposes of 
considering an offer in compromise will not be granted, nor 
will a decision be rendered prior to a hearing if received 
within three days of the scheduled hearing date, nor will more 
than two offers be entertained during the proceeding. Further, 
no offers shall be considered by the board if received more 
than 15 calendar days after the date of mailing of the initial 
decision or the proposed decision, whichever is later. An offer 
may be made at the appeal hearing, but none shall be 
considered after the conclusion of such hearing. Offers in 
compromise may be submitted anytime following notice of a 
disciplinary proceeding and before the conclusion of an 
appeal hearing. Any such offer may not be accepted at the 
informal conference and no offer shall be submitted after the 
conclusion of the appeal hearing. The board may waive any 
provision of this section for good cause shown.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5363; Filed August 9, 2018, 8:31 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-10. Procedural Rules for the 
Conduct of Hearings before the Board and its Hearing 
Officers (amending 3VAC5-10-220).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 3, 2018. 

Effective Date: October 22, 2018.  

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks, Legal Liaison, 
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 Hermitage 
Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-4698, FAX 
(804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks@abc.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 4.1-101 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority and the Board 
of Directors of the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Authority. 

Section 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia enumerates the 
powers of the board, which include the authority to adopt 
regulations and to do all acts necessary or advisable to carry 
out the purposes of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
Subdivision 7 of § 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia permits 
the board to delegate or assign any duty or task to be 
performed by the authority to any officer or employee of the 
authority. Subdivision 24 of § 4.1-103 permits the board to 
promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative 
Process Act and § 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 4.1-111 A authorizes the board to adopt reasonable 
regulations that it deems necessary to carry out the provisions 
of Title 4.1 and to amend or repeal such regulations. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is to clarify 
that the authority has the ability, including through alternate 
dispute resolution options, to agree to license suspensions or 
revocations prior to a formal hearing and to update a citation 
to the Code of Virginia. The advantage to the public welfare 
is that the change to the regulation corrects an out-of-date 
reference to the Code of Virginia and ensures that the public 
is receiving up-to-date guidance. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 
regulatory action updates the Code of Virginia reference and 
provides clarity that the authority has the ability, including 
through alternate dispute resolution options, to agree to 
license suspensions or revocations prior to a formal hearing. 

Substance: The changes update a citation to the Code of 
Virginia, remove the requirement that license suspension or 
revocation be preceded by a formal hearing, and remove the 
language referencing an offer of settlement. The amendments 
also provide that any initial decision will include a summary 
of the informal conference. 

Issues: The primary advantage to this regulatory action is that 
it corrects the statutory reference and provides additional 
clarity on the powers of the authority. There are no 
disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. Pertinent 
matters to the regulated community, government officials, 
and the public are that the most up to date references to the 
Code of Virginia will be included in the regulation and there 
will not be any confusion to the powers of the authority as it 
relates to informal conferences. 
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board (Board) proposes to: 1) 
update a citation to the Code of Virginia, 2) remove obsolete 
language, and 3) amend language for improved clarity.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The regulation states that an 
"informal conference will be conducted when an applicant for 
a license or a licensee who is the subject of a disciplinary 
proceeding does not waive its right to such a conference." 
Section 220 of the regulation further describes attributes and 
requirements related to informal conferences.  

The Board proposes amendments that would update a Code 
of Virginia citation, eliminate obsolete language, and change 
text to improve clarity. None of the proposed amendments 
change requirements in practice; nevertheless, the proposals 
would be beneficial in that they may reduce the likelihood of 
misunderstandings among readers of the regulation.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. All 13,000+ licensees could 
potentially be subject to disciplinary proceedings, and thus 
could be affected by the proposed amendments.1 ABC issues: 
licenses for manufacturers, wholesalers and shippers of 
alcoholic beverages; retail licenses for the sale of alcohol at 
restaurants, hotels, convenience stores, grocery stores, etc.; 
and banquet licenses to allow persons or groups to host events 
such as wedding receptions, tastings or fundraisers, where 
alcohol is served in an unlicensed location or club premise. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
do not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments do not affect the use and value of 
private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 
affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 
businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect other entities. 

_____________________________________ 
1Data source: Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority concurs with 
the Department of Planning and Budget's economic impact 
analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) clarify that an agreement for license 
suspension or revocation may be made prior to a formal 
hearing, (ii) provide that any initial decision include a 
summary of the informal conference, and (iii) update 
citations to the Code of Virginia. 

3VAC5-10-220. Informal conferences.  

A. An informal conference will be conducted when an 
applicant for a license or a licensee who is the subject of a 
disciplinary proceeding does not waive its right to such a 
conference. A waiver may be verbal or in writing. Unless the 
parties are advised otherwise, the agency will automatically 
waive the informal conference when the applicant or licensee 
does so. When the applicant or licensee is offered an informal 
conference and fails to respond within 10 calendar days after 
the date of such offer, the informal conference will be deemed 
to be waived.  

B. The informal conference will be conducted for the 
reasons set forth in § 9-6.14:11 2.2-4019 of the Code of 
Virginia; however, inasmuch as the Code of Virginia 
continues to require that license suspension or revocation be 
preceded by a formal hearing (see § 4.1-227 of the Code of 
Virginia), the. The informal conference may not be used for 
purposes of agreement fixing a period of suspension or 
license revocation, although an offer of settlement shall be 
received for board consideration. The informal conference 
will serve as a vehicle to acquaint the interested party, in a 
general way, with the nature of the charges or objections, the 
evidence in support thereof and to hear any matters relevant 
thereto presented by the interested parties and to explore 
whether (i) administrative proceedings or objections should 
be terminated or (ii) the case should proceed to formal 
hearing and stipulations can be reached. The conference will 
be open to the public, but participation will be limited to the 
interested parties, their attorneys-at-law or other qualified 
representatives, and designated board representatives. The 
conference will be held, when practical, at the county or city 
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in which the establishment of the applicant or licensee is 
located. Reasonable notice of administrative charges or 
objections and the date, time and place of the conference shall 
be given to the participants. The failure of the applicant or 
licensee to appear at a scheduled conference will be deemed a 
waiver of the informal conference. The informal proceeding 
will not be recorded. Sworn testimony will not be taken, nor 
will subpoenas be issued. At the conclusion of the informal 
conference, the designated board representative will complete 
a disposition form to be included in the case file or will 
announce the results at the beginning of the formal hearing to 
be included in the record. Any initial decision will include a 
summary of the informal conference.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5364; Filed August 9, 2018, 8:29 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-10. Procedural Rules for the 
Conduct of Hearings before the Board and its Hearing 
Officers (amending 3VAC5-10-290).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 3, 2018. 

Effective Date: October 22, 2018.  

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks, Legal Liaison, 
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 Hermitage 
Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-4698, FAX 
(804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks@abc.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 4.1-101 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority and the Board 
of Directors of the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Authority. 

Section 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia enumerates the 
powers of the board, which include the authority to adopt 
regulations and to do all acts necessary or advisable to carry 
out the purposes of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
Subdivision 7 of § 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia permits 
the board to delegate or assign any duty or task to be 
performed by the authority to any officer or employee of the 
authority. Subdivision 24 of § 4.1-103 permits the board to 
promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative 
Process Act and § 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 4.1-111 A authorizes the board to adopt reasonable 
regulations that it deems necessary to carry out the provisions 
of Title 4.1 and to amend or repeal such regulations. 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to accommodate the 
new part-time board. As the Department of Alcoholic 
Beverage Control transitions into an authority, it was 
necessary to make amendments to the regulations dealing 
with procedural rules to make the process more efficient and 

not overburden the new part-time board. Previously the 
appeal panel consisted solely of members of the board, but 
with the transition to an authority and the switch from a full-
time board to a part-time board, the appeal panel may consist 
of board members or other officers or employees. As such, 
the regulation needed to be changed to reflect the possibility 
that there may or may not be a board member on the appeal 
panel. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 
amendments are expected to be noncontroversial because the 
licensees' responsibilities are not changed, and there is no 
monetary impact. 

Substance: Additional evidence may be introduced at an 
appeal hearing upon unanimous consent of the appeal panel. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the amendment is that it 
contemplates the possibility that an appeal panel may not 
consist solely of board members (a likely scenario given the 
new part-time board) and allows the introduction of new 
evidence upon the unanimous consent of the appeal panel. 
There are no disadvantages to the agency or the 
Commonwealth. The pertinent matter to the regulated 
community, government officials, and the public is that the 
introduction of additional evidence will require the consent of 
the appeal panel, which may or may not have board 
representation. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board (Board) proposes to 
amend the regulation to indicate that an appeal panel will 
make evidentiary decisions at appeal hearings rather than a 
board.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Section 290 of the regulation 
concerns evidence for hearings. Under current language in 
Section 290, the Board determines at appeal hearings whether 
it is necessary or desirable that additional evidence be taken. 
If it decides that such additional evidence should be taken, it 
may: 1) direct that a hearing officer fix a time and place for 
the taking of such evidence, and 2) upon unanimous 
agreement of the Board members permit the introduction of 
after-discovered or new evidence at the appeal hearing. 

Chapters 381 and 7302 of the 2015 Virginia Acts of Assembly 
eliminated, with a delayed effective date of July 1, 2018, the 
Board and the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 
(ABC) and replaced them with the newly created Virginia 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority. The legislation also, 
with the delayed effective date, created a Board of Directors 
of the Authority (Authority Board).  
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Members of the current Board work full time. Positions on 
the Authority Board will be considered part time, and the full 
Authority Board will often not be present for hearings.3 
Instead, there will be an appeal panel. The appeal panel will 
usually include a portion of the Authority Board members, 
but may include non-Authority Board members as well.4 
Consequently, the Board proposes to amend the regulation to 
indicate that the appeal panel will make the evidentiary 
decisions at the appeal hearings.  

Requiring the full Authority Board to make the evidentiary 
decisions would likely delay the occurrence of hearings and 
potentially delay results. The proposal to allow the appeal 
panel to make these decisions is thus beneficial in that it 
prevents these potential delays.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. All 13,000+ licensees could 
potentially be subject to disciplinary proceedings, and thus 
could be affected by the proposed amendments.5 ABC issues: 
licenses for manufacturers, wholesalers and shippers of 
alcoholic beverages; retail licenses for the sale of alcohol at 
restaurants, hotels, convenience stores, grocery stores, etc.; 
and banquet licenses to allow persons or groups to host events 
such as wedding receptions, tastings or fundraisers, where 
alcohol is served in an unlicensed location or club premise. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
do not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments do not significantly affect the use and 
value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small 
business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Requiring the full Authority Board 
to make the evidentiary decisions would likely delay the 
occurrence of hearings and potentially delay results. The 
proposed amendments eliminate these potentially delays, and 
consequently eliminate potential costs that the delays may 
create for small businesses licensed by ABC. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 
businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect other entities. 

____________________________________________ 
1See http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?151+ful+CHAP0038 
2See http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?151+ful+CHAP0730 
3Source: Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 
4Ibid 
5Data source: Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority concurs with 
the Department of Planning and Budget's economic impact 
analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments permit the introduction of additional 
evidence at an appeal hearing upon unanimous consent of 
the appeal panel.  

3VAC5-10-290. Evidence.  

A. Generally. Subject to the exceptions permitted in this 
section, and to any stipulations agreed to by all interested 
parties, all evidence should be introduced at hearings before 
hearing officers.  

B. Additional evidence. Should the board appeal panel 
determine at an appeal hearing, either upon motion or 
otherwise, that it is necessary or desirable that additional 
evidence be taken, the board appeal panel may:  

1. Direct that a hearing officer fix a time and place for the 
taking of such evidence within the limits prescribed by the 
board and in accordance with 3VAC5-10-180; and  

2. Upon unanimous agreement consent of the board 
members appeal panel, permit the introduction of after-
discovered or new evidence at the appeal hearing.  

If the initial decision indicates that the qualifications of the 
establishment of an applicant or licensee are such as to cast 
substantial doubt upon the eligibility of the place for a 
license, evidence may be received at the appeal hearing 
limited to the issue involved and to the period of time 
subsequent to the date of the hearing before the hearing 
officer.  

C. Board examination Examination. Any board appeal panel 
member may examine a witness upon any question relevant to 
the matters in issue.  

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?151+ful+CHAP0038
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?151+ful+CHAP0730
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D. Cross-examination. The right to cross-examine and the 
submission of rebuttal evidence as provided in 3VAC5-10-90 
shall be allowed in any appeal hearing where the introduction 
of additional evidence is permitted.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5367; Filed August 9, 2018, 8:27 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 
agency discretion is involved. The State Board of Health will 
receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 
person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-421. Food Regulations 
(amending 12VAC5-421-10, 12VAC5-421-1380, 12VAC5-
421-2830, 12VAC5-421-3310, 12VAC5-421-3560, 
12VAC5-421-4035).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 35.1-11 and 35.1-14 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 3, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Julie Henderson, Director of Food and 
General Environmental Services, Virginia Department of 
Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 864-7455, FAX (804) 864-7475, TTY (800) 
828-1120, or email julie.henderson@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 450 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, the 
amendments update the regulatory definition of a "bed and 
breakfast operation" and expand the times during which a 
bed and breakfast operation may offer food service to its 
guests without a food establishment permit by removing 
the requirement that breakfast be the only meal offered. 

Part I  
Definitions, Purpose and Administration  

12VAC5-421-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise. 

"Accredited program" means a food protection manager 
certification program that has been evaluated and listed by an 
accrediting agency as conforming to national standards that 

certify individuals. "Accredited program" refers to the 
certification process and is a designation based upon an 
independent evaluation of factors such as the sponsor's 
mission; organizational structure; staff resources; revenue 
sources; policies; public information regarding program 
scope, eligibility requirements, recertification, discipline and 
grievance procedures; and test development and 
administration. "Accredited program" does not refer to 
training functions or educational programs. 

"Additive" means either a (i) "food additive" having the 
meaning stated in the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, 
§ 201(s) and 21 CFR 170.3(e)(1) or (ii) "color additive" 
having the meaning stated in the Federal Food, Drug, and 
Cosmetic Act, § 201(t) and 21 CFR 70.3(f). 

"Adulterated" has the meaning stated in the Federal Food, 
Drug, and Cosmetic Act, § 402. 

"Agent" means a legally authorized representative of the 
owner. 

"Agent of the commissioner" means the district or local 
health director, unless otherwise stipulated. 

"Approved" means acceptable to the department based on a 
determination of conformity with principles, practices, and 
generally recognized standards that protect public health. 

"Approved water system" means a permitted waterworks 
constructed, maintained, and operated pursuant to 12VAC5-
590; or a private well constructed, maintained, and operated 
pursuant to 12VAC5-630.  

"Asymptomatic" means without obvious symptoms; not 
showing or producing indications of a disease or other 
medical condition, such as an individual infected with a 
pathogen but not exhibiting or producing any signs or 
symptoms of vomiting, diarrhea, or jaundice. Asymptomatic 
includes not showing symptoms because symptoms have 
resolved or subsided, or because symptoms never manifested. 

"aw" means water activity that is a measure of the free 
moisture in a food, is the quotient of the water vapor pressure 
of the substance divided by the vapor pressure of pure water 
at the same temperature, and is indicated by the symbol aw. 

"Balut" means an embryo inside a fertile egg that has been 
incubated for a period sufficient for the embryo to reach a 
specific stage of development after which it is removed from 
incubation before hatching. 

"Bed and breakfast operation" means a tourist home that 
serves meals residential-type establishment that provides (i) 
two or more rental accommodations for transient guests and 
food service to a maximum of 18 transient guests on any 
single day for five or more days in any calendar year or (ii) at 
least one rental accommodation for transient guests and food 
service to a maximum of 18 transient guests on any single 
day for 30 or more days in any calendar year.  
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"Beverage" means a liquid for drinking, including water. 

"Board" means the State Board of Health. 

"Bottled drinking water" means water that is sealed in 
bottles, packages, or other containers and offered for sale for 
human consumption, including bottled mineral water. 

"Building official" means a representative of the Department 
of Housing and Community Development. 

"Casing" means a tubular container for sausage products 
made of either natural or artificial (synthetic) material. 

"Catering operation" means a person who contracts with a 
client to prepare a specific menu and amount of food in an 
approved and permitted food establishment for service to the 
client's guests or customers at a service location different 
from the permitted food establishment. Catering may also 
include cooking or performing final preparation of food at the 
service location.  

"Catering operation" does not include:  

1. A private chef or cook who, as the employee of a 
consumer, prepares food solely in the consumer's home.  

2. Delivery service of food by an approved and permitted 
food establishment to an end consumer.  

"Certification number" means a unique combination of 
letters and numbers assigned by a shellfish control authority 
to a molluscan shellfish dealer according to the provisions of 
the National Shellfish Sanitation Program. 

"CFR" means Code of Federal Regulations. Citations in this 
chapter to the CFR refer sequentially to the title, part, and 
section number, such as 40 CFR 180.194 refers to Title 40, 
Part 180, Section 194. 

"CIP" means cleaned in place by the circulation or flowing 
by mechanical means through a piping system of a detergent 
solution, water rinse, and sanitizing solution onto or over 
equipment surfaces that require cleaning, such as the method 
used, in part, to clean and sanitize a frozen dessert machine. 
CIP does not include the cleaning of equipment such as band 
saws, slicers or mixers that are subjected to in-place manual 
cleaning without the use of a CIP system. 

"Commingle" means: 

1. To combine shellstock harvested on different days or 
from different growing areas as identified on the tag or 
label; or 

2. To combine shucked shellfish from containers with 
different container codes or different shucking dates. 

"Comminuted" means reduced in size by methods including 
chopping, flaking, grinding, or mincing. "Comminuted" 
includes (i) fish or meat products that are reduced in size and 
restructured or reformulated such as gefilte fish, gyros, 
ground beef, and sausage and (ii) a mixture of two or more 

types of meat that have been reduced in size and combined, 
such as sausages made from two or more meats. 

"Commissary" means a catering establishment, food 
establishment, or any other place in which food, food 
containers, or supplies are kept, handled, prepared, packaged, 
or stored for distribution to satellite operations. 

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner, his 
duly designated officer, or his agent. 

"Conditional employee" means a potential food employee to 
whom a job offer is made with employment dependent upon 
responses to subsequent medical questions or examinations 
designed to identify potential food employees who may be 
suffering from a disease that can be transmitted through food 
and done in compliance with Title 1 of the Americans with 
Disabilities Act of 1990. 

"Confirmed disease outbreak" means a foodborne disease 
outbreak in which laboratory analysis of appropriate 
specimens identifies a causative organism or chemical and 
epidemiological analysis implicates the food as the source of 
the illness. 

"Consumer" means a person who is a member of the public, 
takes possession of food, is not functioning in the capacity of 
an operator of a food establishment or food processing plant, 
and does not offer the food for resale. 

"Core item" means a provision in this chapter that is not 
designated as a priority item or a priority foundation item. 
Core item includes an item that usually relates to general 
sanitation, operational controls, sanitation standard operating 
procedures (SSOPs), facilities or structures, equipment 
design, or general maintenance. 

"Corrosion-resistant materials" means a material that 
maintains acceptable surface cleanability characteristics under 
prolonged influence of the food to be contacted, the normal 
use of cleaning compounds and sanitizing solutions, and other 
conditions of the use environment. 

"Counter-mounted equipment" means equipment that is not 
portable and is designed to be mounted off the floor on a 
table, counter, or shelf. 

"Critical control point" means a point or procedure in a 
specific food system where loss of control may result in an 
unacceptable health risk. 

"Critical limit" means the maximum or minimum value to 
which a physical, biological, or chemical parameter must be 
controlled at a critical control point to minimize the risk that 
the identified food safety hazard may occur. 

"Cut leafy greens" means fresh leafy greens whose leaves 
have been cut, shredded, sliced, chopped, or torn. The term 
"leafy greens" includes iceberg lettuce, romaine lettuce, leaf 
lettuce, butter lettuce, baby leaf lettuce (i.e., immature lettuce 
or leafy greens), escarole, endive, spring mix, spinach, 
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cabbage, kale, arugula, and chard. The term "leafy greens" 
does not include herbs such as cilantro or parsley. 

"Dealer" means a person who is authorized by a shellfish 
control authority for the activities of a shellstock shipper, 
shucker-packer, repacker, reshipper, or depuration processor 
of molluscan shellfish according to the provisions of the 
National Shellfish Sanitation Program and is listed in the U.S. 
Food and Drug Administration's Interstate Certified Shellfish 
Shippers List, updated monthly (U.S. Food and Drug 
Administration).  

"Delicatessen" means a store where ready to eat products 
such as cooked meats, prepared salads, etc. are sold for off-
premises consumption. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Health. 

"Director" means the district or local health director. 

"Disclosure" means a written statement that clearly 
identifies the animal derived foods that are, or can be ordered, 
raw, undercooked, or without otherwise being processed to 
eliminate pathogens in their entirety, or items that contain an 
ingredient that is raw, undercooked, or without otherwise 
being processed to eliminate pathogens. 

"Dry storage area" means a room or area designated for the 
storage of packaged or containerized bulk food that is not 
time/temperature control for safety food and dry goods such 
as single-service items. 

"Easily cleanable" means a characteristic of a surface that: 

1. Allows effective removal of soil by normal cleaning 
methods; 

2. Is dependent on the material, design, construction, and 
installation of the surface; and 

3. Varies with the likelihood of the surface's role in 
introducing pathogenic or toxigenic agents or other 
contaminants into food based on the surface's approved 
placement, purpose, and use. 

"Easily cleanable" includes a tiered application of the 
criteria that qualify the surface as easily cleanable as specified 
above to different situations in which varying degrees of 
cleanability are required such as: 

1. The appropriateness of stainless steel for a food 
preparation surface as opposed to the lack of need for 
stainless steel to be used for floors or for tables used for 
consumer dining; or 

2. The need for a different degree of cleanability for a 
utilitarian attachment or accessory in the kitchen as 
opposed to a decorative attachment or accessory in the 
consumer dining area. 

"Easily movable" means: 

1. Portable; mounted on casters, gliders, or rollers; or 
provided with a mechanical means to safely tilt a unit of 
equipment for cleaning; and 

2. Having no utility connection, a utility connection that 
disconnects quickly, or a flexible utility connection line of 
sufficient length to allow the equipment to be moved for 
cleaning of the equipment and adjacent area. 

"Egg" means the shell egg of avian species such as chicken, 
duck, goose, guinea, quail, ratite, or turkey. Egg does not 
include a balut; egg of the reptile species such as alligator; or 
an egg product. 

"Egg product" means all, or a portion of, the contents found 
inside eggs separated from the shell and pasteurized in a food 
processing plant, with or without added ingredients, intended 
for human consumption, such as dried, frozen, or liquid eggs. 
Egg product does not include food that contains eggs only in 
a relatively small proportion such as cake mixes. 

"Employee" means the permit holder, person in charge, food 
employee, person having supervisory or management duties, 
person on the payroll, family member, volunteer, person 
performing work under contractual agreement, or other 
person working in a food establishment. 

"EPA" means the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. 

"Equipment" means an article that is used in the operation of 
a food establishment. "Equipment" includes, but is not limited 
to, items such as a freezer, grinder, hood, ice maker, meat 
block, mixer, oven, reach-in refrigerator, scale, sink, slicer, 
stove, table, temperature measuring device for ambient air, 
vending machine, or warewashing machine. Equipment does 
not include apparatuses used for handling or storing large 
quantities of packaged foods that are received from a supplier 
in a cased or overwrapped lot, such as hand trucks, forklifts, 
dollies, pallets, racks, and skids. 

"Exclude" means to prevent a person from working as an 
employee in a food establishment or entering a food 
establishment as an employee. 

"°F" means degrees Fahrenheit. 

"FDA" means the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. 

"Fish" means fresh or saltwater finfish, crustaceans, and 
other forms of aquatic life (including alligator, frog, aquatic 
turtle, jellyfish, sea cucumber, and sea urchin and the roe of 
such animals) other than birds or mammals and all mollusks, 
if such animal life is intended for human consumption and 
includes any edible human food product derived in whole or 
in part from fish, including fish that has been processed in 
any manner. 

"Food" means (i) a raw, cooked, or processed edible 
substance, ice, beverage, or ingredient used or intended for 
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use or for sale in whole or in part for human consumption or 
(ii) chewing gum. 

"Foodborne disease outbreak" means the occurrence of two 
or more cases of a similar illness resulting from the ingestion 
of a common food. 

"Food-contact surface" means a surface of equipment or a 
utensil with which food normally comes into contact, or a 
surface of equipment or a utensil from which food may drain, 
drip, or splash into a food, or onto a surface normally in 
contact with food. 

"Food employee" means an individual working with 
unpackaged food, food equipment or utensils, or food-contact 
surfaces. 

"Food establishment" means an operation that (i) stores, 
prepares, packages, serves, or vends food directly to the 
consumer or otherwise provides food to the public for human 
consumption, such as a restaurant, satellite or catered feeding 
location, catering operation if the operation provides food 
directly to a consumer or to a conveyance used to transport 
people, market, vending location, conveyance used to 
transport people, institution, or food bank, and (ii) 
relinquishes possession of food to a consumer directly or 
indirectly through a delivery service, such as home delivery 
of grocery orders or restaurant takeout orders, or delivery 
service that is provided by common carriers. 

"Food establishment" includes (i) an element of the 
operation such as a transportation vehicle or a central 
preparation facility that supplies a vending location or 
satellite feeding location; (ii) an operation that is conducted in 
a mobile, stationary, temporary, or permanent facility or 
location where consumption is on or off the premises and 
regardless of whether there is a charge for the food; and (iii) a 
facility that does not meet the exemption criteria identified in 
subdivision 6 of this definition or a facility that meets the 
exemption requirements but chooses to be regulated under 
this chapter. 

For the purpose of implementing this chapter, the following 
places are also included in the definition of a "food 
establishment" as defined in subdivision 9 of § 35.1-1 of the 
Code of Virginia: 

1. Any place where food is prepared for service to the 
public on or off the premises, or any place where food is 
served. Examples of such places include but are not limited 
to, including lunchrooms, short order places, cafeterias, 
coffee shops, cafes, taverns, delicatessens, dining 
accommodations of public or private clubs, kitchen 
facilities of hospitals and nursing homes, dining 
accommodations of public and private schools and 
colleges, and kitchen areas of local correctional facilities 
subject to standards adopted under § 53.1-68 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

2. Any place or operation that prepares or stores food for 
distribution to persons of the same business operation or of 
a related business operation for service to the public. 
Examples of such places or operations include but are not 
limited to, including operations preparing or storing food 
for catering services, push cart operations, hotdog stands, 
and other mobile points of service. Such mobile points of 
service are also deemed to be restaurants unless the point 
of service and of consumption is in a private residence.  

3. Mobile points of service to which food is distributed by 
a place or operation described in subdivision 2 of this 
definition, unless the point of service and of consumption 
is in a private residence. 

"Food establishment" does not include: 

1. An establishment that offers only prepackaged food that 
is not time/temperature control for safety food; 

2. A produce stand that only offers whole, uncut fresh 
fruits and vegetables; 

3. A food processing plant, including those that are located 
on the premises of a food establishment; 

4. A kitchen in a private home if only food that is not 
time/temperature control for safety food is prepared for 
sale or service at a function such as a religious or 
charitable organization's bake sale if allowed by law and if 
the consumer is informed by a clearly visible placard at the 
sales or service location that the food is prepared in a 
kitchen that is not subject to regulation and inspection by 
the regulatory authority; 

5. An area where food that is prepared as specified in 
subdivision 4 of this definition is sold or offered for human 
consumption; 

6. A kitchen in a private home, such as, but not limited to, 
a family day-care provider or a home for adults, serving 12 
or fewer recipients; or a bed-and-breakfast operation that 
prepares and offers food only to guests if the premises of 
the home is owner or owner-agent occupied, breakfast is 
the only meal offered, the number of guests served does 
not exceed 18, and the consumer is informed by statements 
contained in published advertisements, mailed brochures, 
and placards posted at the registration area that the food is 
prepared in a kitchen that is, by this chapter, exempt from 
this chapter;  

7. A private home that receives catered or home-delivered 
food; or 

8. Places manufacturing packaged or canned foods that are 
distributed to grocery stores or other similar food retailers 
for sale to the public. 

For the purpose of implementing this chapter, the following 
are also exempt from the definition of a "food establishment" 
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in this chapter, as defined in §§ 35.1-25 and 35.1-26 of the 
Code of Virginia: 

1. Boarding houses that do not accommodate transients; 

2. Cafeterias operated by industrial plants for employees 
only; 

3. Churches, fraternal, school and social organizations and 
volunteer fire departments and rescue squads that hold 
dinners and bazaars not more than one time per week and 
not in excess of two days duration at which food prepared 
in homes of members or in the kitchen of the church or 
organization and is offered for sale to the public; 

4. Grocery stores, including the delicatessen that is a part 
of a grocery store, selling exclusively for off-premises 
consumption and places manufacturing or selling packaged 
or canned goods; 

5. Churches that serve meals for their members as a regular 
part of their religious observance; and 

6. Convenience stores or gas stations that are subject to the 
State Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services' Retail 
Food Establishment Regulations (2VAC5-585) or any 
regulations subsequently adopted and that (i) have 15 or 
fewer seats at which food is served to the public on the 
premises of the convenience store or gas station and (ii) are 
not associated with a national or regional restaurant chain. 
Notwithstanding this exemption, such convenience stores 
or gas stations shall remain responsible for collecting any 
applicable local meals tax; and 

7. Any bed and breakfast operation that prepares food for 
and offers food to guests, regardless of the time the food is 
prepared and offered, if (i) the premises of the bed and 
breakfast operation is a home that is owner occupied or 
owner-agent occupied, (ii) the bed and breakfast operation 
prepares food for and offers food to transient guests of the 
bed and breakfast only, (iii) the number of guests served by 
the bed and breakfast operation does not exceed 18 on any 
single day, and (iv) guests for whom food is prepared and 
to whom food is offered are informed by statements 
contained in published advertisements, mailed brochures, 
and placards posted at the registration area that the food is 
prepared in a kitchen that is not licensed as a restaurant and 
is not subject to the regulations governing restaurants.  

"Food processing plant" means a commercial operation that 
manufactures, packages, labels, or stores food for human 
consumption and provides food for sale or distribution to 
other business entities such as food processing plants or food 
establishments. Food processing plant does not include a food 
establishment. 

"Game animal" means an animal, the products of which are 
food, that is not classified as (i) livestock, sheep, swine, goat, 
horse, mule, or other equine in 9 CFR 301.2; (ii) poultry; or 
(iii) fish. 

"Game animal" includes mammals such as reindeer, elk, 
deer, antelope, water buffalo, bison, rabbit, squirrel, opossum, 
raccoon, nutria, or muskrat and nonaquatic reptiles such as 
land snakes. 

"Game animal" does not include ratites such as ostrich, emu, 
and rhea. 

"General use pesticide" means a pesticide that is not 
classified by EPA for restricted use as specified in 40 CFR 
152.175. 

"Grade A standards" means the requirements of the Grade 
"A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2013 Revision, (U.S. Food 
and Drug Administration), with which certain fluid and dry 
milk and milk products comply.  

"HACCP Plan" means a written document that delineates 
the formal procedures for following the Hazard Analysis 
Critical Control Point principles developed by The National 
Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria for Foods. 

"Handwashing sink" means a lavatory, a basin or vessel for 
washing, a wash basin, or a plumbing fixture especially 
placed for use in personal hygiene and designed for the 
washing of hands. Handwashing sink includes an automatic 
handwashing facility. 

"Hazard" means a biological, chemical, or physical property 
that may cause an unacceptable consumer health risk. 

"Health practitioner" means a physician licensed to practice 
medicine, or if allowed by law, a nurse practitioner, physician 
assistant, or similar medical professional. 

"Hermetically sealed container" means a container that is 
designed and intended to be secure against the entry of 
microorganisms and, in the case of low acid canned foods, to 
maintain the commercial sterility of its contents after 
processing. 

"Highly susceptible population" means persons who are 
more likely than other people in the general population to 
experience foodborne disease because they are: 

1. Immunocompromised, preschool age children, or older 
adults; and 

2. Obtaining food at a facility that provides services such 
as custodial care, health care, or assisted living, such as a 
child or adult day care center, kidney dialysis center, 
hospital or nursing home, or nutritional or socialization 
services such as a senior center. 

"Imminent health hazard" means a significant threat or 
danger to health that is considered to exist when there is 
evidence sufficient to show that a product, practice, 
circumstance, or event creates a situation that requires 
immediate correction or cessation of operation to prevent 
injury based on the number of potential injuries, and the 
nature, severity, and duration of the anticipated injury. 
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"Injected" means manipulating meat to which a solution has 
been introduced into its interior by processes such as 
"injecting," "pump marinating," or "stitch pumping." 

"Juice" means the aqueous liquid expressed or extracted 
from one or more fruits or vegetables, purées of the edible 
portions of one or more fruits or vegetables, or any 
concentrate of such liquid or purée. Juice does not include, 
for purposes of HACCP, liquids, purées, or concentrates that 
are not used as beverages or ingredients of beverages. 

"Kitchenware" means food preparation and storage utensils. 

"Law" means applicable local, state, and federal statutes, 
regulations, and ordinances. 

"Linens" means fabric items such as cloth hampers, cloth 
napkins, table cloths, wiping cloths, and work garments 
including cloth gloves. 

"Major food allergen" means milk, egg, fish (such as bass, 
flounder, cod, and including crustacean shellfish such as crab, 
lobster, or shrimp), tree nuts (such as almonds, pecans, or 
walnuts), wheat, peanuts, and soybeans; or a food ingredient 
that contains protein derived from one of these foods. Major 
food allergen does not include any highly refined oil derived 
from a major food allergen in this definition and any 
ingredient derived from such highly refined oil or any 
ingredient that is exempt under the petition or notification 
process specified in the Food Allergen Labeling and 
Consumer Protection Act of 2004 (P.L. 108-282). 

"Meat" means the flesh of animals used as food including 
the dressed flesh of cattle, swine, sheep, or goats and other 
edible animals, except fish, poultry, and wild game animals as 
specified under 12VAC5-421-330 A 2 and A 3. 

"Mechanically tenderized" means manipulating meat with 
deep penetration by processes which may be referred to as 
"blade tenderizing," "jaccarding," "pinning," "needling," or 
using blades, pins, needles, or any mechanical device. 
"Mechanically tenderized" does not include processes by 
which solutions are injected into meat. 

"mg/L" means milligrams per liter, which is the metric 
equivalent of parts per million (ppm). 

"Mobile food unit" means a food establishment mounted on 
wheels (excluding boats in the water) readily moveable from 
place to place at all times during operation and shall include, 
but not be limited to, pushcarts, trailers, trucks, or vans. The 
unit, all operations, and all equipment must be integral to and 
be within or attached to the unit. 

"Molluscan shellfish" means any edible species of fresh or 
frozen oysters, clams, mussels, and scallops or edible portions 
thereof, except when the scallop product consists only of the 
shucked adductor muscle. 

"Noncontinuous cooking" means the cooking of food in a 
food establishment using a process in which the initial 

heating of the food is intentionally halted so that it may be 
cooled and held for complete cooking at a later time prior to 
sale or service. "Noncontinuous cooking" does not include 
cooking procedures that only involve temporarily interrupting 
or slowing an otherwise continuous cooking process. 

"Occasional" means not more than one time per week, and 
not in excess of two days duration. 

"Packaged" means bottled, canned, cartoned, bagged, or 
wrapped, whether packaged in a food establishment or a food 
processing plant. Packaged does not include wrapped or 
placed in a carry-out container to protect the food during 
service or delivery to the consumer, by a food employee, 
upon consumer request. 

"Permit" means a license issued by the regulatory authority 
that authorizes a person to operate a food establishment. 

"Permit holder" means the entity that is legally responsible 
for the operation of the food establishment such as the owner, 
the owner's agent, or other person, and possesses a valid 
permit to operate a food establishment. 

"Person" means an association, a corporation, individual, 
partnership, other legal entity, government, or governmental 
subdivision or agency. 

"Person in charge" means the individual present at a food 
establishment who is responsible for the operation at the time 
of inspection. 

"Personal care items" means items or substances that may be 
poisonous, toxic, or a source of contamination and are used to 
maintain or enhance a person's health, hygiene, or 
appearance. Personal care items include items such as 
medicines; first aid supplies; and other items such as 
cosmetics, and toiletries such as toothpaste and mouthwash. 

"pH" means the symbol for the negative logarithm of the 
hydrogen ion concentration, which is a measure of the degree 
of acidity or alkalinity of a solution. Values between 0 and 
7.0 indicate acidity and values between 7.0 and 14 indicate 
alkalinity. The value for pure distilled water is 7.0, which is 
considered neutral. 

"Physical facilities" means the structure and interior surfaces 
of a food establishment including accessories such as soap 
and towel dispensers and attachments such as light fixtures 
and heating or air conditioning system vents. 

"Plumbing fixture" means a receptacle or device that is 
permanently or temporarily connected to the water 
distribution system of the premises and demands a supply of 
water from the system or discharges used water, waste 
materials, or sewage directly or indirectly to the drainage 
system of the premises. 

"Plumbing system" means the water supply and distribution 
pipes; plumbing fixtures and traps; soil, waste, and vent 
pipes; sanitary and storm sewers and building drains, 
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including their respective connections, devices, and 
appurtenances within the premises; and water-treating 
equipment. 

"Poisonous or toxic materials" means substances that are not 
intended for ingestion and are included in four categories: 

1. Cleaners and sanitizers, that include cleaning and 
sanitizing agents and agents such as caustics, acids, drying 
agents, polishes, and other chemicals; 

2. Pesticides, except sanitizers, that include substances 
such as insecticides and rodenticides; 

3. Substances necessary for the operation and maintenance 
of the establishment such as nonfood grade lubricants, 
paints, and personal care items that may be deleterious to 
health; and 

4. Substances that are not necessary for the operation and 
maintenance of the establishment and are on the premises 
for retail sale, such as petroleum products and paints. 

"Potable water" means water fit for human consumption that 
is obtained from an approved water supply and that is (i) 
sanitary and normally free of minerals, organic substances, 
and toxic agents in excess of reasonable amounts and (ii) 
adequate in quantity and quality for the minimum health 
requirements of the persons served (see Article 2 (§ 32.1-167 
et seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia). 
Potable water is traditionally known as drinking water and 
excludes such nonpotable forms as "boiler water, "mop 
water," "rainwater," "wastewater," and "nondrinking water."  

"Poultry" means any domesticated bird (chickens, turkeys, 
ducks, geese, guineas, ratites, or squabs), whether live or 
dead, as defined in 9 CFR 381.1, and any migratory 
waterfowl, game bird, pheasant, partridge, quail, grouse, or 
pigeon whether live or dead, as defined in 9 CFR 362.1.  

"Premises" means the physical facility, its contents, and the 
contiguous land or property under the control of the permit 
holder; or the physical facility, its contents, and the land or 
property which are under the control of the permit holder and 
may impact food establishment personnel, facilities, or 
operations, if a food establishment is only one component of 
a larger operation such as a health care facility, hotel, motel, 
school, recreational camp, or prison. 

"Primal cut" means a basic major cut into which carcasses 
and sides of meat are separated, such as a beef round, pork 
loin, lamb flank or veal breast. 

"Priority foundation item" means a provision in this chapter 
whose application supports, facilitates, or enables one or 
more priority items. "Priority foundation item" includes an 
item that requires the purposeful incorporation of specific 
actions, equipment, or procedures by industry management to 
attain control of risk factors that contribute to foodborne 
illness or injury such as personnel training, infrastructure or 

necessary equipment, HACCP plans, documentation or record 
keeping, and labeling and is denoted in this regulation with a 
superscript PfPf. 

"Priority item" means a provision in this chapter whose 
application contributes directly to the elimination, prevention 
or reduction to an acceptable level of hazards associated with 
foodborne illness or injury and there is no other provision that 
more directly controls the hazard. "Priority item" includes 
items with a quantifiable measure to show control of hazards 
such as cooking, reheating, cooling, and handwashing and is 
denoted in this chapter with a superscript Pp. 

"Private well" means any water well constructed for a 
person on land that is owned or leased by that person and is 
usually intended for household, groundwater source heat 
pump, agricultural use, industrial use, or other nonpublic 
water well.  

"Pure water" means potable water fit for human 
consumption that is (i) sanitary and normally free of minerals, 
organic substances, and toxic agents in excess of reasonable 
amounts and (ii) adequate in quantity and quality for the 
minimum health requirements of the persons served (see 
§§ 32.1-167 and 32.1-176.1 of the Code of Virginia and 
12VAC5-590 and 12VAC5-630-370). Potable water is 
traditionally known as drinking water, and excludes such 
nonpotable forms as "boiler water," "mop water," "rainwater," 
"wastewater," and "nondrinking water." 

"Pushcart" means any wheeled vehicle or device other than a 
motor vehicle or trailer that may be moved with or without 
the assistance of a motor and that does not require registration 
by the department of motor vehicles.  

"Ratite" means a flightless bird such as an emu, ostrich, or 
rhea. 

"Ready-to-eat food" means food that: 

1. Is in a form that is edible without additional preparation 
to achieve food safety, as specified under 12VAC5-421-
700 A, B, and C, 12VAC5-421-710 or 12VAC5-421-730; 

2. Is a raw or partially cooked animal food and the 
consumer is advised as specified under 12VAC5-421- 700 
D 1 and 3; or 

3. Is prepared in accordance with a variance that is granted 
as specified under 12VAC5-421-700 D 4. 

Ready-to-eat food may receive additional preparation for 
palatability or aesthetic, epicurean, gastronomic, or culinary 
purposes. 

"Ready-to-eat food" includes: 

1. Raw animal food that is cooked as specified under 
12VAC5-421-700, or 12VAC5-421-710 or frozen as 
specified under 12VAC5-421-730; 
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2. Raw fruits and vegetables that are washed as specified 
under 12VAC5-421-510; 

3. Fruits and vegetables that are cooked for hot holding as 
specified under 12VAC5-421-720; 

4. All time/temperature control for safety food that is 
cooked to the temperature and time required for the 
specific food under 12VAC5-421-700 and cooled as 
specified in 12VAC5-421-800; 

5. Plant food for which further washing, cooking, or other 
processing is not required for food safety, and from which 
rinds, peels, husks, or shells, if naturally present, are 
removed; 

6. Substances derived from plants such as spices, 
seasonings, and sugar; 

7. A bakery item such as bread, cakes, pies, fillings, or 
icing for which further cooking is not required for food 
safety; 

8. The following products that are produced in accordance 
with USDA guidelines and that have received a lethality 
treatment for pathogens: dry, fermented sausages, such as 
dry salami or pepperoni; salt-cured meat and poultry 
products, such as prosciutto ham, country cured ham, and 
Parma ham; and dried meat and poultry products, such as 
jerky or beef sticks; and 

9. Food manufactured according to 21 CFR Part 113. 

"Reduced oxygen packaging" means the reduction of the 
amount of oxygen in a package by removing oxygen; 
displacing oxygen and replacing it with another gas or 
combination of gases; or otherwise controlling the oxygen 
content to a level below that normally found in the 
atmosphere (approximately 21% at sea level); and a process 
as specified in this definition that involves a food for which 
the hazards Clostridium botulinum or Listeria monocytogenes 
require control in the final packaged form. Reduced oxygen 
packaging includes: 

1. Vacuum packaging, in which air is removed from a 
package of food and the package is hermetically sealed so 
that a vacuum remains inside the package; 

2. Modified atmosphere packaging, in which the 
atmosphere of a package of food is modified so that its 
composition is different from air, but the atmosphere may 
change over time due to the permeability of the packaging 
material or the respiration of the food. Modified 
atmosphere packaging includes reduction in the proportion 
of oxygen, total replacement of oxygen, or an increase in 
the proportion of other gases such as carbon dioxide or 
nitrogen; 

3. Controlled atmosphere packaging, in which the 
atmosphere of a package of food is modified so that until 
the package is opened, its composition is different from air, 

and continuous control of that atmosphere is maintained, 
such as by using oxygen scavengers or a combination of 
total replacement oxygen, nonrespiring food, and 
impermeable packaging material; 

4. Cook chill packaging, in which cooked food is hot filled 
into impermeable bags that have the air expelled and are 
then sealed or crimped closed. The bagged food is rapidly 
chilled and refrigerated at temperatures that inhibit the 
growth of psychrotrophic pathogens; or 

5. Sous vide packaging, in which raw or partially cooked 
food is vacuum packaged in an impermeable bag, cooked 
in the bag, rapidly chilled, and refrigerated at temperatures 
that inhibit the growth of psychrotrophic pathogens. 

"Refuse" means solid waste not carried by water through the 
sewage system. 

"Regulatory authority" means the Virginia Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, the Virginia Department 
of Health or their authorized representative having 
jurisdiction over the food establishment. 

"Reminder" means a written statement concerning the health 
risk of consuming animal foods raw, undercooked, or without 
otherwise being processed to eliminate pathogens. 

"Reservice" means the transfer of food that is unused and 
returned by a consumer after being served or sold and in the 
possession of the consumer, to another person. 

"Restrict" means to limit the activities of a food employee so 
that there is no risk of transmitting a disease that is 
transmissible through food and the food employee does not 
work with exposed food, clean equipment, utensils, linens, 
and unwrapped single-service or single-use articles. 

"Restricted egg" means any check, dirty egg, incubator 
reject, inedible, leaker, or loss as defined in 9 CFR Part 590. 

"Restricted use pesticide" means a pesticide product that 
contains the active ingredients specified in 40 CFR 152.175 
and that is limited to use by or under the direct supervision of 
a certified applicator. 

"Risk" means the likelihood that an adverse health effect 
will occur within a population as a result of a hazard in a 
food. 

"Safe material" means an article manufactured from or 
composed of materials that shall not reasonably be expected 
to result, directly or indirectly, in their becoming a component 
or otherwise affecting the characteristics of any food; an 
additive that is used as specified in § 409 of the Federal Food, 
Drug, and Cosmetic Act (21 USC § 348); or other materials 
that are not additives and that are used in conformity with 
applicable regulations of the Food and Drug Administration. 

"Sanitization" means the application of cumulative heat or 
chemicals on cleaned food-contact surfaces that, when 
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evaluated for efficacy, yield a reduction of five logs, which is 
equal to a 99.999% reduction, of representative disease 
microorganisms of public health importance. 

"Sealed" means free of cracks or other openings that permit 
the entry or passage of moisture. 

"Service animal" means an animal such as a guide dog, 
signal dog, or other animal individually trained to provide 
assistance to an individual with a disability. 

"Servicing area" means an operating base location to which 
a mobile food establishment or transportation vehicle returns 
regularly for such things as vehicle and equipment cleaning, 
discharging liquid or solid wastes, refilling water tanks and 
ice bins, and boarding food. 

"Sewage" means liquid waste containing animal or 
vegetable matter in suspension or solution and may include 
liquids containing chemicals in solution. Sewage includes 
water-carried and non-water-carried human excrement or 
kitchen, laundry, shower, bath, or lavatory waste separately or 
together with such underground surface, storm, or other water 
and liquid industrial wastes as may be present from 
residences, buildings, vehicles, industrial establishments, or 
other places. 

"Shellfish control authority" means a state, federal, foreign, 
tribal or other government entity legally responsible for 
administering a program that includes certification of 
molluscan shellfish harvesters and dealers for interstate 
commerce such as the Virginia Department of Health 
Division of Shellfish Sanitation. 

"Shellstock" means raw, in-shell molluscan shellfish. 

"Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli" or "STEC" means 
any E. coli capable of producing Shiga toxins (also called 
verocytotoxins). STEC infections can be asymptomatic or 
may result in a spectrum of illness ranging from mild 
nonbloody diarrhea, to hemorrhagic colitis (i.e., bloody 
diarrhea) to hemolytic uremic syndrome (HUS), which is a 
type of kidney failure). Examples of serotypes of STEC 
include E. coli 0157:H7, E. coli 0157:NM, E. coli 026:H11; 
E. coli 0145NM, E. coli 0103:H2, and E. coli 0111:NM. 
STEC are sometimes referred to as VTEC (verocytotoxigenic 
E. coli) or as EHEC (Enterohemorrhagic E. coli). EHEC are a 
subset of STEC that can cause hemorrhagic colitis or HUS. 

"Shucked shellfish" means molluscan shellfish that have one 
or both shells removed. 

"Single-service articles" means tableware, carry-out utensils, 
and other items such as bags, containers, placemats, stirrers, 
straws, toothpicks, and wrappers that are designed and 
constructed for one time, one person use after which they are 
intended for discard. 

"Single-use articles" means utensils and bulk food 
containers designed and constructed to be used once and 

discarded. Single-use articles includes items such as wax 
paper, butcher paper, plastic wrap, formed aluminum food 
containers, jars, plastic tubs or buckets, bread wrappers, 
pickle barrels, ketchup bottles, and number 10 cans which do 
not meet the materials, durability, strength and cleanability 
specifications contained in 12VAC5-421-960, 12VAC5-421-
1080, and 12VAC5-421-1100 for multiuse utensils. 

"Slacking" means the process of moderating the temperature 
of a food such as allowing a food to gradually increase from a 
temperature of -10°F (-23°C) to 25°F (-4°C) in preparation 
for deep-fat frying or to facilitate even heat penetration during 
the cooking of previously block-frozen food such as shrimp. 

"Smooth" means a food-contact surface having a surface 
free of pits and inclusions with a cleanability equal to or 
exceeding that of (100 grit) number three stainless steel; a 
non-food-contact surface of equipment having a surface equal 
to that of commercial grade hot-rolled steel free of visible 
scale; and a floor, wall, or ceiling having an even or level 
surface with no roughness or projections that render it 
difficult to clean. 

"Substantial compliance" means equipment or structure 
design or construction; food preparation, handling, storage, 
transportation; or cleaning procedures that will not 
substantially affect health consideration or performance of the 
facility or the employees. 

"Tableware" means eating, drinking, and serving utensils for 
table use such as flatware including forks, knives, and 
spoons; hollowware including bowls, cups, serving dishes, 
tumblers; and plates. 

"Temperature measuring device" means a thermometer, 
thermocouple, thermistor, or other device that indicates the 
temperature of food, air, or water. 

"Temporary food establishment" means a food 
establishment that operates for a period of no more than 14 
consecutive days in conjunction with a single event or 
celebration. 

"Time/temperature control for safety food" or "TCS food" 
means a food that requires time/temperature control for safety 
to limit pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin formation: 

1. TCS food includes an animal food that is raw or heat 
treated; a plant food that is heat treated or consists of raw 
seed sprouts, cut melons, cut leafy greens, cut tomatoes, or 
mixtures of cut tomatoes that are not modified in a way so 
that they are unable to support pathogenic microorganism 
growth or toxin formation, or garlic-in-oil mixtures that are 
not modified in a way so that they are unable to support 
pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin formation; and 
except as specified in subdivision 2 d of this definition, a 
food that because of the interaction of its Aw and pH values 
is designated as product assessment required (PA) in Table 
A or B of this definition: 
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Table A. Interaction of pH and Aw for control of spores 
in food heat treated to destroy vegetative cells and 

subsequently packaged. 

Aw 
values 

pH values 

4.6 or less >4.6 - 5.6 >5.6 

≤0.92 non-TCS 
food* 

non-TCS 
food 

non-TCS 
food 

>0.92 - 
0.95 

non-TCS 
food 

non-TCS 
food 

PA** 

>0.95 non-TCS 
food 

PA PA 

*TCS food means time/temperature control for safety 
food 

**PA means product assessment required 

  

Table B. Interaction of pH and Aw for control of 
vegetative cells and spores in food not heat treated or 

heat treated but not packaged. 

Aw 
values 

pH values 

< 4.2 4.2 - 
4.6 

> 4.6 - 
5.0 

> 5.0 

<0.88 non-
TCS 
food* 

non-
TCS 
food 

non-
TCS 
food 

non-
TCS 
food 

0.88 - 
0.90 

non-
TCS 
food 

non-
TCS 
food 

non-
TCS 
food 

PA** 

>0.90 - 
0.92 

non-
TCS 
food 

non-
TCS 
food 

PA PA 

>0.92 non-
TCS 
food 

PA PA PA 

*TCS food means time/temperature control for safety 
food 

**PA means product assessment required 

2. TCS food does not include: 

a. An air-cooled hard-boiled egg with shell intact, or an 
egg with shell intact that is not hard-boiled, but has been 
pasteurized to destroy all viable salmonellae; 

b. A food in an unopened hermetically sealed container 
that is commercially processed to achieve and maintain 
commercial sterility under conditions of nonrefrigerated 
storage and distribution; 

c. A food that because of its pH or Aw value, or 
interaction of Aw and pH values, is designated as a non-
TCS food in Table A or B of this definition; 

d. A food that is designated as PA in Table A or B of this 
definition and has undergone a product assessment 
showing that the growth or toxin formation of pathogenic 
microorganisms that are reasonably likely to occur in that 
food is precluded due to: 

(1) Intrinsic factors including added or natural 
characteristics of the food such as preservatives, 
antimicrobials, humectants, acidulants, or nutrients;  

(2) Extrinsic factors including environmental or 
operational factors that affect the food such as packaging, 
modified atmosphere such as reduced oxygen packaging, 
shelf-life and use, or temperature range of storage and 
use; or 

(3) A combination of intrinsic and extrinsic factors; or 

e. A food that does not support the growth or toxin 
formation of pathogenic microorganisms in accordance 
with one of the subdivisions 2 a through 2 d of this 
definition even though the food may contain a pathogenic 
microorganism or chemical or physical contaminant at a 
level sufficient to cause illness or injury. 

"USDA" means the U.S. Department of Agriculture. 

"Utensil" means a food-contact implement or container used 
in the storage, preparation, transportation, dispensing, sale, or 
service of food, such as kitchenware or tableware that is 
multiuse, single service, or single use; gloves used in contact 
with food; temperature sensing probes of food temperature 
measuring devices and probe-type price or identification tags 
used in contact with food. 

"Variance" means a written document issued by the 
regulatory authority that authorizes a modification or waiver 
of one or more requirements of this chapter if, in the opinion 
of the regulatory authority, a health hazard or nuisance will 
not result from the modification or waiver. 

"Vending machine" means a self-service device that, upon 
insertion of a coin, paper currency, token, card, or key, or by 
optional manual operation, dispenses unit servings of food in 
bulk or in packages without the necessity of replenishing the 
device between each vending operation. 

"Vending machine location" means the room, enclosure, 
space, or area where one or more vending machines are 
installed and operated and includes the storage areas and 
areas on the premises that are used to service and maintain the 
vending machines. 

"Warewashing" means the cleaning and sanitizing of 
utensils and food-contact surfaces of equipment. 
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"Waterworks" means a system that serves piped water for 
human consumption to at least 15 service connections or 25 
or more individuals for at least 60 days out of the year. 
"Waterworks" includes all structures, equipment and 
appurtenances used in the storage, collection, purification, 
treatment, and distribution of potable water except the piping 
and fixtures inside the building where such water is delivered 
(see Article 2 (§ 32.1-167 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 32.1 
of the Code of Virginia).  

"Whole-muscle, intact beef" means whole muscle beef that 
is not injected, mechanically tenderized, reconstructed, or 
scored and marinated, from which beef steaks may be cut. 

12VAC5-421-1380. Warewashing machines, flow pressure 
device.  

A. Warewashing machines that provide a fresh hot water 
sanitizing rinse shall be equipped with a pressure gauge or 
similar device such as a transducer that measures and displays 
the water pressure in the supply line immediately before 
entering the warewashing machine.  

B. If the flow pressure measuring device is upstream of the 
fresh hot water sanitizing rinse control valve, the device shall 
be mounted in a one-fourth inch or 6.4 millimeter Iron Pipe 
Size (IPS) valve.  

C. Subsections A and B of this section do not apply to a 
machine that uses only a pumped or recirculated sanitizing 
rinse.  

D. Subsections A and B of this section shall not apply to 
home model dishwashers used in bed and breakfast facilities 
operations serving 18 or fewer customers guests.  

12VAC5-421-2830. Floor and wall junctures, coved, and 
enclosed or sealed.  

A. In food establishments in which cleaning methods other 
than water flushing are used for cleaning floors, the floor and 
wall junctures shall be coved and closed to no larger than 
1/32 inch (1 mm). However, this subsection shall not apply to 
floor wall junctures in bed and breakfast facilities operations 
serving 18 or fewer customers guests.  

B. The floors in food establishments in which water flush 
cleaning methods are used shall be provided with drains and 
be graded to drain, and the floor and wall junctures shall be 
coved and sealed.  

12VAC5-421-3310. Prohibiting animals.  

A. Except as specified in subsections B and C of this 
section, live animals shall not be allowed on the premises of a 
food establishment.Pf 

B. Live animals may be allowed in the following situations 
if the contamination of food; clean equipment, utensils, and 
linens; and unwrapped single-service and single-use articles 
cannot result: 

1. Edible fish or decorative fish in aquariums, shellfish or 
crustacea on ice or under refrigeration, and shellfish and 
crustacea in display tank systems; 

2. Patrol dogs accompanying police or security officers in 
offices and dining, sales, and storage areas, and sentry dogs 
running loose in outside fenced areas; 

3. In areas that are not used for food preparation and that 
are usually open for customers, such as dining and sales 
areas, service animals that are controlled by the disabled 
employee or person if a health or safety hazard will not 
result from the presence or activities of the service animal; 

4. Pets in the common dining areas of institutional care 
facilities such as nursing homes, assisted living facilities, 
group homes, residential care facilities, and food 
establishment bed and breakfast facilities operations at 
times other than during meals if: 

a. Effective partitioning and self-closing doors separate 
the common dining areas from food storage or food 
preparation areas; 

b. Condiments, equipment, and utensils are stored in 
enclosed cabinets or removed from the common dining 
areas when pets are present; and 

c. Dining areas including tables, countertops, and similar 
surfaces are effectively cleaned before the next meal 
service;  

5. In areas that are not used for food preparation, storage, 
sales, display, or dining, in which there are caged animals 
or animals that are similarly restricted, such as in a variety 
store that sells pets or a tourist park that displays animals; 
and  

6. Dogs in outdoor dining areas if:  

a. The outdoor dining area is not fully enclosed with 
floor to ceiling walls and is not considered a part of the 
interior physical facility. 

b. The outdoor dining area is equipped with an entrance 
that is separate from the main entrance to the food 
establishment and the separate entrance serves as the sole 
means of entry for patrons accompanied by dogs. 

c. A sign stating that dogs are allowed in the outdoor 
dining area is posted at each entrance to the outdoor 
dining area in such a manner as to be clearly observable 
by the public.  

d. A sign within the outdoor dining area stating the 
requirements as specified in subdivisions 6 e, 6 f, and 6 g 
of this subsection is provided in such a manner as to be 
clearly observable by the public.  

e. Food and water provided to dogs is served using 
equipment that is not used for service of food to persons 
or is served in single-use articles. 
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f. Dogs are not allowed on chairs, seats, benches, or 
tables.  

g. Dogs are kept on a leash or within a pet carrier and 
under the control of an adult at all times. 

h. Establishment provides effective means for cleaning 
up dog vomitus and fecal matter. 

C. Live or dead fish bait may be stored if contamination of 
food; clean equipment, utensils, and linens; and unwrapped 
single-service and single-use articles cannot result. 

D. In bed and breakfast facilities operations serving 18 or 
fewer customers guests, live animals shall be allowed in the 
facility but shall not be fed using the same equipment or 
utensils that are used to feed humans. 

 12VAC5-421-3560. Exemptions to regulations. 

A. The following are exempt from this chapter as defined in 
§§ 35.1-25 and 35.1-26 of the Code of Virginia. 

1. Boarding houses that do not accommodate transients; 

2. Cafeterias operated by industrial plants for employees 
only; 

3. Churches, fraternal, school and social organizations and 
volunteer fire departments and rescue squads which hold 
dinners and bazaars of not more than one time per week 
and not in excess of two days duration at which food 
prepared in homes of members or in the kitchen of the 
church or organization and is offered for sale to the public; 

4. Grocery stores, including the delicatessen which that is a 
part of a grocery store, selling exclusively for off-premises 
consumption and places manufacturing or selling packaged 
or canned goods;  

5. Churches which that serve meals for their members as a 
regular part of their religious observance; and 

6. Convenience stores or gas stations that are subject to the 
State Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services' Retail 
Food Establishment Regulations (2VAC5-585) or any 
regulations subsequently adopted and that (i) have 15 or 
fewer seats at which food is served to the public on the 
premises of the convenience store or gas station and (ii) are 
not associated with a national or regional restaurant chain. 
Notwithstanding this exemption, such convenience stores 
or gas stations shall remain responsible for collecting any 
applicable local meals tax; and 

7. Any bed and breakfast operation that prepares food for 
and offers food to guests, regardless of the time the food is 
prepared and offered, if (i) the premises of the bed and 
breakfast operation is a home that is owner occupied or 
owner-agent occupied, (ii) the bed and breakfast operation 
prepares food for and offers food to transient guests of the 
bed and breakfast only, (iii) the number of guests served by 
the bed and breakfast operation does not exceed 18 on any 

single day, and (iv) guests for whom food is prepared and 
to whom food is offered are informed by statements 
contained in published advertisements, mailed brochures, 
and placards posted at the registration area that the food is 
prepared in a kitchen that is not licensed as a restaurant and 
is not subject to regulations governing restaurants.  

B. The governing body of any county, city or town may 
provide by ordinance that this chapter shall not apply to food 
booths at fairs and youth athletic activities, if such booths are 
promoted or sponsored by any political subdivision of the 
Commonwealth or by any charitable nonprofit organization or 
group thereof. The ordinance shall provide that the director of 
the county, city, or town in which the fair and youth athletic 
activities are held, or a qualified person designated by the 
director, shall exercise such supervision of the sale of food as 
the ordinance may prescribe. 

12VAC5-421-4035. Exempt facilities that choose to be 
regulated. 

Exempt facilities, as defined in subdivision 6 of 12VAC5-
421-10 of the definition of a "food establishment," and 
subdivision A 7 of 12VAC5-421-3560, that choose to be 
regulated by this chapter, shall be exempt from the following 
requirements:  

1. In lieu of 12VAC5-421-1200 A, home model 
dishwashers may be used in lieu of manual cleaning and 
drying of utensils; 

2. 12VAC5-421-1340, the requirement for internal baffles 
in warewashing machines does not apply to home model 
dishwashers; 

3. 12VAC5-421-1350, the requirement for temperature 
measuring devices does not apply to home model 
dishwashers; 

4. 12VAC5-421-1360, manual warewashing equipment, 
heaters and baskets are not required but manual 
warewashing shall include, as a minimum, thorough 
washing with adequate soap or detergent, thorough rinsing, 
and drying before storage or use. Drying may be by clean 
towels used for no other purpose; 

5. 12VAC5-421-1370, the requirement for a sanitizer level 
indicator does not apply to home model dishwashers; 

6. 12VAC5-421-1380, the requirement for flow pressures 
device does not apply to home model dishwashers; 

7. 12VAC5-421-1460, the requirement for sink 
compartments does not apply to exempt facilities. It shall 
include thorough washing with adequate soap or detergent, 
thorough rinsing, and drying before storage or use. Drying 
may be by clean towels used for no other purpose; 

8. 12VAC5-421-1520, temperature measuring devices for 
manual warewashing are not required; 
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9. 12VAC5-421-1530, sanitizing solutions testing devices 
are not required; 

10. 12VAC5-421-1620, warewashing sinks in exempt 
facilities may be used for handwashing, however, approved 
dispensers, soap, and single-use paper towels are provided; 

11. 12VAC5-421-1640, clean solutions in warewashing 
equipment is not required for exempt facilities. It shall 
include, as a minimum, thorough washing with adequate 
soap or detergent, thorough rinsing, and drying before 
storage or use. Drying may be by clean towels used for no 
other purpose; 

12. 12VAC5-421-1660, minimum wash solution 
temperature for mechanical warewashing equipment shall 
not be required for home model dishwashers; 

13. 12VAC5-421-1670, minimum hot water sanitization 
temperatures for manual warewashing equipment shall not 
be required; 

14. 12VAC5-421-1680, minimum hot water sanitization 
temperatures for mechanical warewashing equipment shall 
not be required for home model dishwashers; 

15. 12VAC5-421-1690, sanitization pressure for 
mechanical warewashing equipment shall not be required; 

16. 12VAC5-421-1700, minimum and maximum pressure, 
pH, sanitizer concentration, and hardness levels shall not 
be required for home model dishwashers; 

17. 12VAC5-421-1710, chemical sanitization for manual 
warewashing using detergent sanitizers shall not be 
required; 

18. 12VAC5-421-1720, determination of chemical 
sanitizer concentration shall not be required; 

19. 12VAC5-421-1880 12VAC5-421-1885, food-contact 
surfaces and utensils shall not be required to be sanitized; 

20. 12VAC5-421-1890, before use after cleaning, utensils 
and food-contact surfaces shall not be required to be 
sanitized; 

21. 12VAC5-421-1900, hot water and chemical sanitizing 
shall not be required; 

22. 12VAC5-421-2790, floors, walls, and ceilings shall be 
in good repair and kept clean; 

23, 12VAC5-421-2810, floors, walls, and ceilings in 
exempt facilities shall not be required to meet the 
cleanability requirements but shall be in good repair and 
kept clean; 

24. 12VAC5-421-2820, the prohibition of exposed utility 
service lines and pipes shall not apply; 

25. 12VAC5-421-2840, floor carpeting in exempt facilities 
may be installed in food preparation areas, walk-in 

refrigerators, warewashing areas, toilet rooms, refuse 
storage rooms or other areas, however they shall be kept in 
good repair and kept clean; 

26. 12VAC5-421-2850, floor covering, mats and 
duckboards may be used in exempt facilities, however, 
they shall be kept clean and in good repair. 

27. 12VAC5-421-2870, attachments to walls and ceilings 
in exempt facilities shall be kept in good repair and kept 
clean; 

28. 12VAC5-421-3120 12VAC5-421-3130, approved 
dispensers, soap and single-use paper towels shall be made 
available to accommodate hand washing; 

29. 12VAC5-421-3310, live animals may be allowed in the 
facility but shall not be fed using the same equipment or 
utensils that are used to feed humans. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5439; Filed August 3, 2018, 4:23 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-70. Methods and Standards 
for Establishing Payment Rates - Inpatient Hospital 
Services (adding 12VAC30-70-411).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 3, 2018. 

Effective Date: October 18, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 
Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 
administer and amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance. 
Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS) to administer and amend the State Plan for Medical 
Assistance according to the board's requirements. The 
Medicaid authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 
Security Act (42 USC § 1396) provides governing authority 
for payments for services. 

In addition, authority for these changes is provided in Item 
306 RRR 1 of Chapter 836 of the the 2017 Acts of Assembly, 
which states: "The Department of Medical Assistance 
Services shall promulgate regulations to make supplemental 
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Medicaid payments to the primary teaching hospitals 
affiliated with a Liaison Committee on Medical Education 
(LCME) accredited medical school located in Planning 
District 23 that is a political subdivision of the 
Commonwealth and an LCME accredited medical school 
located in Planning District 5 that has a partnership with a 
public university. The amount of the supplemental payment 
shall be based on the reimbursement methodology established 
for such payments in Attachments 4.19-A and 4.19-B of the 
State Plan for Medical Assistance and/or the department's 
contracts with managed care organizations. The department 
shall have the authority to implement these reimbursement 
changes consistent with the effective date in the State Plan 
amendment or the managed care contracts approved by the 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and prior 
to completion of any regulatory process in order to effect 
such changes. No payment shall be made without approval 
from CMS." 

Approval was received from CMS on December 13, 2017, for 
an effective date of July 1, 2017, in State Plan Amendment 
Transmittal Number 17-006. 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to add a new section 
regarding supplemental payments for certain teaching 
hospitals. 

A Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) 
affiliated teaching hospital, known as Sentara Norfolk 
General, and a LCME affiliated teaching hospital, known as 
Carilion Medical Center, will receive quarterly supplemental 
payments effective July 1, 2017, for inpatient services. 

Sentara Norfolk General is located in Planning District 23 
and Carilion Medical Center is located in Planning District 5. 
The implementation of these supplemental payments is 
essential to protect the health, safety, and welfare of citizens 
by increasing access to care for the citizens of the 
Commonwealth. These two primary teaching hospitals are 
affiliated with public medical schools that will transfer the 
funds to the department for the state share for these payments. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 
regulatory action is being promulgated as a fast-track 
rulemaking action because it is not expected to be 
controversial as it increases access to medical care without 
increasing state costs. These changes have already been 
approved by CMS and comply with the state Appropriations 
Act. 

Substance: Effective July 1, 2017, supplemental payments to 
Sentara Norfolk General and Carilion Medical Center will be 
made quarterly. The supplemental payments shall be 
calculated based on inpatient services rendered during the 
quarter equal to the difference between the hospital's 
Medicaid payments and the hospital's disproportionate share 
hospital (DSH) payment limit for the most recent year for 
which the DSH payment has been calculated divided by four. 

The maximum aggregate payments to all qualifying hospitals 
shall not exceed the available upper payment limit per state 
fiscal year. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this regulatory action is that 
it increases access to medical care without increasing state 
costs. These changes create no disadvantages to the public, 
the agency, the Commonwealth, or the regulated community. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Chapter 836, Item 306.RRR.6.a, of the 2017 Acts of 
Assembly1 requires that the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services (DMAS) "promulgate regulations to 
make supplemental Medicaid payments to the primary 
teaching hospitals affiliated with a Liaison Committee on 
Medical Education (LCME) accredited medical school 
located in Planning District 23 that is a political subdivision 
of the Commonwealth and an LCME accredited medical 
school located in Planning District 5 that has a partnership 
with a public university." 

Thus, on behalf of the Board of Medical Assistance Services, 
the Director of DMAS proposes to add a section to this 
regulation that specifies qualifying criteria, reimbursement 
methodology, and maximum aggregate payments for such 
supplemental Medicaid payments. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The primary teaching hospital 
affiliated with an LCME accredited medical school located in 
Planning District 23 is Sentara Norfolk General, which is 
affiliated with Eastern Virginia Medical School. The primary 
teaching hospital affiliated with an LCME accredited medical 
school located in Planning District 5 is Carilion Medical 
Center in Roanoke, which is affiliated with Virginia Tech. 

According to DMAS, the two hospitals are considered safety 
net hospitals for their area, and serve a disproportionate 
number of patients without insurance and ability to pay. The 
supplemental payments are not tied to providing specific 
services, but help pay unreimbursed costs such as for indigent 
patients.  

The proposed action would help Sentara Norfolk General and 
Carilion Medical Center obtain approximately $41 million of 
federal funds annually without increasing costs for the 
Commonwealth. As these funds help provide healthcare 
services for Virginians without increasing costs for the state, 
the proposed action would create a net benefit for the 
Commonwealth. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
primarily affect two hospitals: Sentara Norfolk General and 
Carilion Medical Center. 
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Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
particularly affect hospitals located in Norfolk and Roanoke. 
Thus, the proposals particularly affect those localities and 
other nearby localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed action would 
help the two hospitals gain significant federal funding that 
could be used in part to hire additional staff.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The two 
hospitals are private. The proposed action would increase 
their funding, and would likely increase their value. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 
affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 
businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect other entities. 

______________________________ 
1See https://budget.lis.virginia.gov/item/2017/1/HB1500/Chapter/1/306/ 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 
by the Department of Planning and Budget and raises no 
issues with this analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments add language pertaining to supplemental 
payments made to primary teaching hospitals affiliated 
with Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) 
accredited medical schools in Planning Districts 5 and 23 
effective July 1, 2017. 

12VAC30-70-411. Supplemental payments for certain 
teaching hospitals. 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2017, 
quarterly supplemental payments will be issued to qualifying 

private hospitals for inpatient services rendered during the 
quarter.  

B. Qualifying criteria. The primary teaching hospitals 
affiliated with a Liaison Committee on Medical Education 
(LCME) accredited medical school located in Planning 
District 23 that is a political subdivision of the 
Commonwealth and an LCME accredited medical school 
located in Planning District 5 that has a partnership with a 
public university.  

C. Reimbursement methodology. Each qualifying hospital 
shall receive quarterly supplemental payments for the 
inpatient services rendered during the quarter equal to the 
difference between the hospital's Medicaid payments and the 
hospital's disproportionate share limit (Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act 93 disproportionate share hospital limit) 
for the most recent year for which the disproportionate share 
limit has been calculated divided by four. The supplemental 
payment amount will be determined prior to the beginning of 
the fiscal year. 

D. Limit. Maximum aggregate payments to all qualifying 
hospitals shall not exceed the available upper payment limit 
per state fiscal year. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5393; Filed August 9, 2018, 8:51 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards 
for Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care 
(amending 12VAC30-80-30).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 3, 2018. 

Effective Date: October 18, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 
Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 
administer and amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance. 
Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS) to administer and amend the State Plan for Medical 
Assistance according to the board's requirements. The 
Medicaid authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 
Security Act (42 USC § 1396) provides governing authority 
for payments for services. 
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In addition, authority for this change is provided in Item 306 
B 4 of Chapter 836 of the the 2017 Acts of Assembly, which 
states: "The Department of Medical Assistance Service shall 
have the authority to increase Medicaid payments for Type 
One hospitals and physicians consistent with the 
appropriations to compensate for limits on disproportionate 
share hospital (DSH) payments to Type One hospitals that the 
department would otherwise make." 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to update the physician 
supplemental payments for Type One physicians. The 
supplemental payment calculation amount in the current 
regulatory text was effective April 8, 2014. This change 
allows for updated supplemental payments to Type One 
physicians, which are expected to improve access to services 
for Medicaid recipients. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 
regulatory action is being promulgated as a fast-track 
rulemaking action because it is not expected to be 
controversial. The fiscal or budgetary impacts to DMAS are 
already provided in the agency's appropriations. These 
changes have been mandated by the Appropriations Act and 
the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). 

Substance: This regulatory action updates the physician 
supplemental payments for physician practice plans affiliated 
with Type One hospitals (state academic health systems). A 
Type One physician is a member of a practice group 
organized by or under the control of a state academic health 
system or an academic health system that operates under a 
state authority and includes a hospital, which has entered into 
contractual agreements for the assignment of payments in 
accordance with 42 CFR 447.10. These payments are 
calculated as the difference between the maximum payment 
allowed and regular payments. CMS has determined that the 
maximum allowed is the average commercial rate (ACR). 

This action will update the maximum rate to 256% of the 
Medicare rate effective April 1, 2017, and 258% effective 
May 1, 2017, based on the most recent information on the 
ACR furnished by the state academic health systems and 
consistent with appropriate prior public notices. 

Issues: Updating supplemental payment amounts for Type 
One physicians is expected to be advantageous as it will 
improve access to services. 

These changes create no disadvantages to the public, the 
agency, the Commonwealth, or the regulated community. The 
changes all implement directives in the state budget and 
update existing regulations to conform with the State Plan for 
Medical Assistance. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
proposed regulation revises the maximum reimbursement for 

Type One physicians to 256% of Medicare rates effective 
April 1, 2017 and 258% of Medicare rates effective May 1, 
2017. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Federal regulations allow 
Virginia Medicaid to make supplemental payments for Type 
One physicians. A Type One physician is a member of a 
practice group organized by or under the control of a state 
academic health system or an academic health system that 
operates under state authority. Type One physicians affected 
by this change are the physicians affiliated with the 
University of Virginia (UVA) and the Virginia 
Commonwealth University (VCU). 

Supplemental payments are calculated as the difference 
between the maximum payment allowed and regular 
payments. The maximum payment allowed by the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) is the average commercial 
rate (ACR). As the payments made by commercial providers 
change over time so does the ACR.  The ACR has increased 
from 143% of the Medicare rate in 2002, to 181% in 2012, to 
197% of the Medicare rate in 2013, and to 201% of the 
Medicare rate in 2014. The current regulation reflects 201% 
of the Medicare rate. However, the ACR went up to 256% of 
the Medicare rate effective April 1, 2017 and 258% of the 
Medicare rate effective May 1, 2017 and CMS approved 
these changes. Pursuant to the 2017 Acts of Assembly, 
Chapter 836, Item 306.B (4), the new ACRs have already 
been applied. The proposed change will incorporate the new 
ACRs in the regulations. 

The proposed ACRs equate to an $8.4 million increase that 
affects what hospitals receive for Type One physicians. Since 
one-half of Virginia Medicaid is funded by federal matching 
funds, the state's share of this amount is $4.2 million. 
However, the increase in the supplemental payments to Type 
One physicians is offset by an equivalent reduction in the 
need for the Disproportionate Share Hospital (DSH) 
payments Medicaid makes to the teaching hospitals. In other 
words, while the composition of the payments made to the 
Type One hospitals changes because of the new ACRs, the 
overall total payment received by them from Medicaid 
remains the same absent any other changes. Thus, the 
proposed ACRs do not cause an increase in overall payments 
to the teaching hospitals. 

Even though the new ACRs do not increase the total payment 
to the teaching hospitals, the proposed regulation is beneficial 
in the sense that it more accurately reflects the components of 
the total payment Type One hospitals receive from Medicaid. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed new ACRs 
apply to two physician practice plans: one for UVA and one 
for VCU. 
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Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 
to two teaching hospitals which are located in the City of 
Richmond and the City of Charlottesville. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No impact on employment 
is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 
on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 
development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 
impose costs or other effects on small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No 
adverse impact on small businesses is expected. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed regulation does not have an impact 
on non-small businesses. 

Localities. The proposed regulation does not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed regulation does not adversely 
affect other entities. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 
by the Department of Planning and Budget and raises no 
issues with this analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments update the supplemental payment 
amounts for Type I physicians effective April 1, 2017, and 
May 1, 2017. 

12VAC30-80-30. Fee-for-service providers. 

A. Payment for the following services, except for physician 
services, shall be the lower of the state agency fee schedule 
(12VAC30-80-190 has information about the state agency fee 
schedule) or actual charge (charge to the general public). 
Except as otherwise noted in this section, state developed fee 
schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private 
individual practitioners. Fee schedules and any annual or 
periodic adjustments to the fee schedules are published on the 
DMAS website at http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/. 

1. Physicians' services. Payment for physician services 
shall be the lower of the state agency fee schedule or actual 
charge (charge to the general public).  

2. Dentists' services. 

3. Mental health services including: (i) community mental 
health services, (ii) services of a licensed clinical 
psychologist, (iii) mental health services provided by a 
physician, or (iv) peer support services. 

a. Services provided by licensed clinical psychologists 
shall be reimbursed at 90% of the reimbursement rate for 
psychiatrists. 

b. Services provided by independently enrolled licensed 
clinical social workers, licensed professional counselors, 
or licensed clinical nurse specialists-psychiatric shall be 
reimbursed at 75% of the reimbursement rate for licensed 
clinical psychologists. 

4. Podiatry. 

5. Nurse-midwife services. 

6. Durable medical equipment (DME) and supplies. 

Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 
this section shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"DMERC" means the Durable Medical Equipment 
Regional Carrier rate as published by the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services at 
http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-
Service-Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/DMEPOS-Fee-
Schedule.html. 

"HCPCS" means the Healthcare Common Procedure 
Coding System, Medicare's National Level II Codes, 
HCPCS 2006 (Eighteenth edition), as published by 
Ingenix, as may be periodically updated. 

a. Obtaining prior authorization shall not guarantee 
Medicaid reimbursement for DME.  

b. The following shall be the reimbursement method used 
for DME services: 

(1) If the DME item has a DMERC rate, the 
reimbursement rate shall be the DMERC rate minus 
10%. For dates of service on or after July 1, 2014, DME 
items subject to the Medicare competitive bidding 
program shall be reimbursed the lower of: 

(a) The current DMERC rate minus 10%; or 

(b) The average of the Medicare competitive bid rates in 
Virginia markets.  

(2) For DME items with no DMERC rate, the agency 
shall use the agency fee schedule amount. The 
reimbursement rates for DME and supplies shall be listed 
in the DMAS Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment 
(DME) and Supplies Listing and updated periodically. 
The agency fee schedule shall be available on the agency 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/
http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/DMEPOS-Fee-Schedule.html
http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/DMEPOS-Fee-Schedule.html
http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/DMEPOS-Fee-Schedule.html
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website at http://lis.virginia.gov/000/noc 
/www.dmas.virginia.gov. 

(3) If a DME item has no DMERC rate or agency fee 
schedule rate, the reimbursement rate shall be the 
manufacturer's net charge to the provider, less shipping 
and handling, plus 30%. The manufacturer's net charge to 
the provider shall be the cost to the provider minus all 
available discounts to the provider. Additional 
information specific to how DME providers, including 
manufacturers who are enrolled as providers, establish 
and document their cost or costs for DME codes that do 
not have established rates can be found in the relevant 
agency guidance document.  

c. DMAS shall have the authority to amend the agency 
fee schedule as it deems appropriate and with notice to 
providers. DMAS shall have the authority to determine 
alternate pricing, based on agency research, for any code 
that does not have a rate. 

d. The reimbursement for incontinence supplies shall be 
by selective contract. Pursuant to § 1915(a)(1)(B) of the 
Social Security Act and 42 CFR 431.54(d), the 
Commonwealth assures that adequate services or devices 
shall be available under such arrangements. 

e. Certain durable medical equipment used for 
intravenous therapy and oxygen therapy shall be bundled 
under specified procedure codes and reimbursed as 
determined by the agency. Certain services or durable 
medical equipment such as service maintenance 
agreements shall be bundled under specified procedure 
codes and reimbursed as determined by the agency. 

(1) Intravenous therapies. The DME for a single therapy, 
administered in one day, shall be reimbursed at the 
established service day rate for the bundled durable 
medical equipment and the standard pharmacy payment, 
consistent with the ingredient cost as described in 
12VAC30-80-40, plus the pharmacy service day and 
dispensing fee. Multiple applications of the same therapy 
shall be included in one service day rate of 
reimbursement. Multiple applications of different 
therapies administered in one day shall be reimbursed for 
the bundled durable medical equipment service day rate 
as follows: the most expensive therapy shall be 
reimbursed at 100% of cost; the second and all 
subsequent most expensive therapies shall be reimbursed 
at 50% of cost. Multiple therapies administered in one 
day shall be reimbursed at the pharmacy service day rate 
plus 100% of every active therapeutic ingredient in the 
compound (at the lowest ingredient cost methodology) 
plus the appropriate pharmacy dispensing fee. 

(2) Respiratory therapies. The DME for oxygen therapy 
shall have supplies or components bundled under a 
service day rate based on oxygen liter flow rate or blood 

gas levels. Equipment associated with respiratory therapy 
may have ancillary components bundled with the main 
component for reimbursement. The reimbursement shall 
be a service day per diem rate for rental of equipment or 
a total amount of purchase for the purchase of equipment. 
Such respiratory equipment shall include oxygen tanks 
and tubing, ventilators, noncontinuous ventilators, and 
suction machines. Ventilators, noncontinuous ventilators, 
and suction machines may be purchased based on the 
individual patient's medical necessity and length of need. 

(3) Service maintenance agreements. Provision shall be 
made for a combination of services, routine maintenance, 
and supplies, to be known as agreements, under a single 
reimbursement code only for equipment that is recipient 
owned. Such bundled agreements shall be reimbursed 
either monthly or in units per year based on the 
individual agreement between the DME provider and 
DMAS. Such bundled agreements may apply to, but not 
necessarily be limited to, either respiratory equipment or 
apnea monitors. 

7. Local health services. 

8. Laboratory services (other than inpatient hospital). The 
agency's rates for clinical laboratory services were set as of 
July 1, 2014, and are effective for services on or after that 
date. 

9. Payments to physicians who handle laboratory 
specimens, but do not perform laboratory analysis (limited 
to payment for handling). 

10. X-ray services. 

11. Optometry services. 

12. Reserved. 

13. Home health services. Effective June 30, 1991, cost 
reimbursement for home health services is eliminated. A 
rate per visit by discipline shall be established as set forth 
by 12VAC30-80-180. 

14. Physical therapy; occupational therapy; and speech, 
hearing, language disorders services when rendered to 
noninstitutionalized recipients. 

15. Clinic services, as defined under 42 CFR 440.90, 
except for services in ambulatory surgery clinics 
reimbursed under 12VAC30-80-35. 

16. Supplemental payments for services provided by Type 
I physicians. 

a. In addition to payments for physician services 
specified elsewhere in this chapter, DMAS provides 
supplemental payments to Type I physicians for 
furnished services provided on or after July 2, 2002. A 
Type I physician is a member of a practice group, 
organized by or under the control of a state academic 

http://lis.virginia.gov/000/noc/www.dmas.virginia.gov
http://lis.virginia.gov/000/noc/www.dmas.virginia.gov
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health system or an academic health system that operates 
under a state authority and includes a hospital, who has 
entered into contractual agreements for the assignment of 
payments in accordance with 42 CFR 447.10. 

b. Effective July 2, 2002, the supplemental payment 
amount for Type I physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for Type I physician services and Medicare rates. 
Effective August 13, 2002, the supplemental payment 
amount for Type I physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for physician services and 143% of Medicare rates. 
Effective January 3, 2012, the supplemental payment 
amount for Type I physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for physician services and 181% of Medicare rates. 
Effective January 1, 2013, the supplemental payment 
amount for Type I physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for physician services and 197% of Medicare rates. 
Effective April 8, 2014, the supplemental payment 
amount for Type I physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for physician services and 201% of Medicare rates. 

c. b. The methodology for determining the Medicare 
equivalent of the average commercial rate is described in 
12VAC30-80-300. 

d. c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly no 
later than 90 days after the end of the quarter. 

e. Payment will not be made to the extent that the 
payment would duplicate payments based on physician 
costs covered by the supplemental payments. d. Effective 
April 1, 2017, the supplemental payment amount for 
Type I physician services shall be the difference between 
the Medicaid payments otherwise made for physician 
services and 256% of Medicare rates. Effective May 1, 
2017, the supplemental payment amount for Type I 
physician services shall be the difference between the 
Medicaid payments otherwise made for physician 
services and 258% of Medicare rates.  

17. Supplemental payments for services provided by 
physicians at Virginia freestanding children's hospitals. 

a. In addition to payments for physician services 
specified elsewhere in this chapter, DMAS provides 
supplemental payments to Virginia freestanding 
children's hospital physicians providing services at 
freestanding children's hospitals with greater than 50% 
Medicaid inpatient utilization in state fiscal year 2009 for 
furnished services provided on or after July 1, 2011. A 
freestanding children's hospital physician is a member of 
a practice group (i) organized by or under control of a 
qualifying Virginia freestanding children's hospital, or 

(ii) who has entered into contractual agreements for 
provision of physician services at the qualifying Virginia 
freestanding children's hospital and that is designated in 
writing by the Virginia freestanding children's hospital as 
a practice plan for the quarter for which the supplemental 
payment is made subject to DMAS approval. The 
freestanding children's hospital physicians also must 
have entered into contractual agreements with the 
practice plan for the assignment of payments in 
accordance with 42 CFR 447.10. 

b. Effective July 1, 2011, the supplemental payment 
amount for freestanding children's hospital physician 
services shall be the difference between the Medicaid 
payments otherwise made for freestanding children's 
hospital physician services and 143% of Medicare rates 
as defined in the supplemental payment calculation 
described in the Medicare equivalent of the average 
commercial rate methodology (see 12VAC30-80-300), 
subject to the following reduction. Final payments shall 
be reduced on a prorated basis so that total payments for 
freestanding children's hospital physician services are 
$400,000 less annually than would be calculated based 
on the formula in the previous sentence. Effective July 1, 
2015, the supplemental payment amount for freestanding 
children's hospital physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for freestanding children's hospital physician 
services and 178% of Medicare rates as defined in the 
supplemental payment calculation for Type I physician 
services. Payments shall be made on the same schedule 
as Type I physicians. 

18. Supplemental payments for services provided by 
physicians affiliated with Eastern Virginia Medical Center.  

a. In addition to payments for physician services 
specified elsewhere in this chapter, the Department of 
Medical Assistance Services provides supplemental 
payments to physicians affiliated with Eastern Virginia 
Medical Center for furnished services provided on or 
after October 1, 2012. A physician affiliated with Eastern 
Virginia Medical Center is a physician who is employed 
by a publicly funded medical school that is a political 
subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia, who 
provides clinical services through the faculty practice 
plan affiliated with the publicly funded medical school, 
and who has entered into contractual arrangements for 
the assignment of payments in accordance with 42 CFR 
447.10. 

b. Effective October 1, 2015, the supplemental payment 
amount shall be the difference between the Medicaid 
payments otherwise made for physician services and 
137% of Medicare rates. The methodology for 
determining the Medicare equivalent of the average 
commercial rate is described in 12VAC30-80-300. 
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c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly, no 
later than 90 days after the end of the quarter. 

19. Supplemental payments for services provided by 
physicians at freestanding children's hospitals serving 
children in Planning District 8.  

a. In addition to payments for physician services 
specified elsewhere in this chapter, DMAS shall make 
supplemental payments for physicians employed at a 
freestanding children's hospital serving children in 
Planning District 8 with more than 50% Medicaid 
inpatient utilization in fiscal year 2014. This applies to 
physician practices affiliated with Children's National 
Health System. 

b. The supplemental payment amount for qualifying 
physician services shall be the difference between the 
Medicaid payments otherwise made and 178% of 
Medicare rates but no more than $551,000 for all 
qualifying physicians. The methodology for determining 
allowable percent of Medicare rates is based on the 
Medicare equivalent of the average commercial rate 
described in this chapter. 

c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly no 
later than 90 days after the end of the quarter. Any 
quarterly payment that would have been due prior to the 
approval date shall be made no later than 90 days after 
the approval date.  

20. Supplemental payments to nonstate government-owned 
or operated clinics.  

a. In addition to payments for clinic services specified 
elsewhere in the regulations this chapter, DMAS 
provides supplemental payments to qualifying nonstate 
government-owned or government-operated clinics for 
outpatient services provided to Medicaid patients on or 
after July 2, 2002. Clinic means a facility that is not part 
of a hospital but is organized and operated to provide 
medical care to outpatients. Outpatient services include 
those furnished by or under the direction of a physician, 
dentist or other medical professional acting within the 
scope of his license to an eligible individual. Effective 
July 1, 2005, a qualifying clinic is a clinic operated by a 
community services board. The state share for 
supplemental clinic payments will be funded by general 
fund appropriations.  

b. The amount of the supplemental payment made to 
each qualifying nonstate government-owned or 
government-operated clinic is determined by:  

(1) Calculating for each clinic the annual difference 
between the upper payment limit attributed to each clinic 
according to subdivision 20 d of this subsection and the 
amount otherwise actually paid for the services by the 
Medicaid program;  

(2) Dividing the difference determined in subdivision 20 
b (1) of this subsection for each qualifying clinic by the 
aggregate difference for all such qualifying clinics; and  

(3) Multiplying the proportion determined in subdivision 
20 b (2) of this subsection by the aggregate upper 
payment limit amount for all such clinics as determined 
in accordance with 42 CFR 447.321 less all payments 
made to such clinics other than under this section.  

c. Payments for furnished services made under this 
section will be made annually in a lump sum during the 
last quarter of the fiscal year.  

d. To determine the aggregate upper payment limit 
referred to in subdivision 20 b (3) of this subsection, 
Medicaid payments to nonstate government-owned or 
government-operated clinics will be divided by the 
"additional factor" whose calculation is described in 
12VAC30-80-190 B 2 in regard to the state agency fee 
schedule for Resource Based Relative Value Scale. 
Medicaid payments will be estimated using payments for 
dates of service from the prior fiscal year adjusted for 
expected claim payments. Additional adjustments will be 
made for any program changes in Medicare or Medicaid 
payments. 

21. Personal assistance services (PAS) for individuals 
enrolled in the Medicaid Buy-In program described in 
12VAC30-60-200. These services are reimbursed in 
accordance with the state agency fee schedule described in 
12VAC30-80-190. The state agency fee schedule is 
published on the DMAS website at 
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/.  

B. Hospice services payments must be no lower than the 
amounts using the same methodology used under Part A of 
Title XVIII, and take into account the room and board 
furnished by the facility, equal to at least 95% of the rate that 
would have been paid by the state under the plan for facility 
services in that facility for that individual. Hospice services 
shall be paid according to the location of the service delivery 
and not the location of the agency's home office. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5218; Filed August 9, 2018, 10:13 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards 
for Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care 
(amending 12VAC30-80-30).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 3, 2018. 

Effective Date: October 18, 2018.  

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/
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Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 
Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 
administer and amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance. 
Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS) to administer and amend the State Plan for Medical 
Assistance according to the board's requirements. The 
Medicaid authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 
Security Act (42 USC § 1396) provides governing authority 
for payments for services. 

Amended regulations (12VAC30-80-30 A 21) were required 
by Item 301 DDD 4 of Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts of 
Assembly, Item 306 RRR 4 of Chapter 780 of the 2016 Acts 
of Assembly, and Item 306 RRR 4 of Chapter 836 of the 
2017 Acts of Assembly, which state that DMAS shall have 
the authority to "amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance 
Services to implement a supplemental payment for clinic 
services furnished by the Virginia Department of Health 
(VDH) effective July 1, 2015. The total supplemental 
Medicaid payment shall be based on the Upper Payment 
Limit approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services and all other Medicaid payments. VDH is required 
to transfer funds to the department funds already appropriated 
to VDH to cover the non-federal share of the Medicaid 
payments." 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to implement the 
provider reimbursement changes required by Item 301 of 
Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly, Item 306 of 
Chapter 780 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, and Item 306 of 
Chapter 836 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly. 

This action also brings state regulations into line with federal 
rules and current Virginia practice. The action is essential to 
protect the health, safety, and welfare of citizens of the 
Commonwealth in that these reimbursement rules help to 
ensure the continued financial viability of the Virginia 
Medicaid Program. 

All of the changes have been reviewed and approved by the 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 
regulatory action is being promulgated as a fast-track 
rulemaking action because it is not expected to be 
controversial. The fiscal or budgetary impact to DMAS is 
already provided in the agency's appropriations.  

The reimbursement changes initially were implemented 
through the Appropriations Act. Additionally, the changes are 
expected to improve access to services, and members of the 

public are expected to support these regulatory changes that 
may positively impact a disadvantaged population. 

Substance: These changes affect supplemental payments for 
qualifying state-owned or state-operated clinics. A clinic is a 
facility that provides medical care to outpatients but is not 
part of a hospital. Currently, a regulation does not exist for 
supplemental payments to state-owned or state-operated 
clinics. This action will allow for supplemental payments for 
clinic services provided by the Virginia Department of 
Health. The funds for these changes were provided in the 
2017 Acts of Assembly. 

Issues: Implementing supplemental payments to qualifying 
state-owned or state-operated clinics for outpatient services 
provided to Medicaid patients is expected to be advantageous 
as it will improve access to services. 

These changes create no disadvantages to the public, the 
agency, the Commonwealth, or the regulated community. The 
changes all implement directives in the state budget or make 
changes required by CMS. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to Chapter 665, Item 301.DDD.4, of the 2015 Acts 
of the Assembly; Chapter 780, Item 306.RRR.4, of the 2016 
Act of the Assembly; and Chapter 836, Item 306 RRR.4, of 
the 2017 Acts of the Assembly, the Director of the 
Department of Medical Assistance Services (Director) 
proposes to amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance 
(State Plan). Specifically, this amendment will set parameters 
for supplemental Medicaid payments for outpatient clinical 
services furnished by the Virginia Department of Health 
(VDH). 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for these 
proposed regulatory changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. In the last three appropriations 
acts, the General Assembly (GA) has authorized 
supplemental Medicaid payments for state-owned clinics 
operated under the auspices of VDH and directed the 
Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) to 
amend the State Plan to implement those supplemental 
payments effective July 1, 2015. The GA further directed that 
"(t)he total supplemental payment shall be based on the 
Upper Payment Limit approved by the Centers for Medicare 
and Medicaid Services and all other Medicaid payments. 
VDH is required to transfer funds to the department [DMAS] 
funds already appropriated to VDH to cover the non-federal 
share of the Medicaid payments." The Director now proposes 
an action to harmonize this regulation with the changes made 
to the State Plan and already approved by the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services. 
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This change will allow VDH to receive greater 
reimbursement for clinic services they provide. DMAS staff 
reports that VDH received $394,723 in supplemental 
Medicaid payments during the last year and further reports 
that they expect annual payments going forward would be 
roughly similar. Half of these supplemental payments are 
state funds from existing VDH allocations and half are federal 
matching funds. This regulatory change will benefit any 
interested party who chooses to read the regulations as it 
conforms the regulation with federal rules and Virginia 
statute and, therefore, eliminates the possibility that 
discrepancies may cause confusion.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. This proposed regulatory 
action will affect all state-owned and VDH-operated clinics in 
the Commonwealth. DMAS staff reports that VDH currently 
operates 130 such clinics. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will be 
particularly affected by this proposed change. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Employment in the 
Commonwealth is unlikely to be significantly affected by this 
proposed regulation. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
proposed regulatory change is unlikely to affect the use or 
value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 
changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 
the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No small businesses are likely to be 
affected by this regulatory action. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 
businesses are likely to be affected by this regulatory action.  

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. No businesses are likely to suffer adverse impacts 
on account of this proposed regulatory action. 

Localities. No locality is likely to suffer adverse impacts on 
account of this proposed regulatory action. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to suffer adverse 
impacts on account of this proposed regulatory action. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 
by the Department of Planning and Budget and raises no 
issues with this analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments implement supplemental payments to 
state-owned or state-operated clinics.  

12VAC30-80-30. Fee-for-service providers. 

A. Payment for the following services, except for physician 
services, shall be the lower of the state agency fee schedule 
(12VAC30-80-190 has information about the state agency fee 
schedule) or actual charge (charge to the general public). 
Except as otherwise noted in this section, state developed fee 
schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private 
individual practitioners. Fee schedules and any annual or 
periodic adjustments to the fee schedules are published on the 
DMAS website at http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/. 

1. Physicians' services. Payment for physician services 
shall be the lower of the state agency fee schedule or actual 
charge (charge to the general public).  

2. Dentists' services. 

3. Mental health services including: (i) community mental 
health services, (ii) services of a licensed clinical 
psychologist, (iii) mental health services provided by a 
physician, or (iv) peer support services. 

a. Services provided by licensed clinical psychologists 
shall be reimbursed at 90% of the reimbursement rate for 
psychiatrists. 

b. Services provided by independently enrolled licensed 
clinical social workers, licensed professional counselors, 
or licensed clinical nurse specialists-psychiatric shall be 
reimbursed at 75% of the reimbursement rate for licensed 
clinical psychologists. 

4. Podiatry. 

5. Nurse-midwife services. 

6. Durable medical equipment (DME) and supplies. 

Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 
this section shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"DMERC" means the Durable Medical Equipment 
Regional Carrier rate as published by the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services at 
http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-
Service-Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/DMEPOS-Fee-
Schedule.html. 

"HCPCS" means the Healthcare Common Procedure 
Coding System, Medicare's National Level II Codes, 
HCPCS 2006 (Eighteenth edition), as published by 
Ingenix, as may be periodically updated. 

a. Obtaining prior authorization shall not guarantee 
Medicaid reimbursement for DME.  

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/
http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/DMEPOS-Fee-Schedule.html
http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/DMEPOS-Fee-Schedule.html
http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/DMEPOS-Fee-Schedule.html
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b. The following shall be the reimbursement method used 
for DME services: 

(1) If the DME item has a DMERC rate, the 
reimbursement rate shall be the DMERC rate minus 
10%. For dates of service on or after July 1, 2014, DME 
items subject to the Medicare competitive bidding 
program shall be reimbursed the lower of: 

(a) The current DMERC rate minus 10%; or 

(b) The average of the Medicare competitive bid rates in 
Virginia markets.  

(2) For DME items with no DMERC rate, the agency 
shall use the agency fee schedule amount. The 
reimbursement rates for DME and supplies shall be listed 
in the DMAS Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment 
(DME) and Supplies Listing and updated periodically. 
The agency fee schedule shall be available on the agency 
website at http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/. 

(3) If a DME item has no DMERC rate or agency fee 
schedule rate, the reimbursement rate shall be the 
manufacturer's net charge to the provider, less shipping 
and handling, plus 30%. The manufacturer's net charge to 
the provider shall be the cost to the provider minus all 
available discounts to the provider. Additional 
information specific to how DME providers, including 
manufacturers who are enrolled as providers, establish 
and document their cost or costs for DME codes that do 
not have established rates can be found in the relevant 
agency guidance document.  

c. DMAS shall have the authority to amend the agency 
fee schedule as it deems appropriate and with notice to 
providers. DMAS shall have the authority to determine 
alternate pricing, based on agency research, for any code 
that does not have a rate. 

d. The reimbursement for incontinence supplies shall be 
by selective contract. Pursuant to § 1915(a)(1)(B) of the 
Social Security Act and 42 CFR 431.54(d), the 
Commonwealth assures that adequate services or devices 
shall be available under such arrangements. 

e. Certain durable medical equipment used for 
intravenous therapy and oxygen therapy shall be bundled 
under specified procedure codes and reimbursed as 
determined by the agency. Certain services or durable 
medical equipment such as service maintenance 
agreements shall be bundled under specified procedure 
codes and reimbursed as determined by the agency. 

(1) Intravenous therapies. The DME for a single therapy, 
administered in one day, shall be reimbursed at the 
established service day rate for the bundled durable 
medical equipment and the standard pharmacy payment, 
consistent with the ingredient cost as described in 
12VAC30-80-40, plus the pharmacy service day and 

dispensing fee. Multiple applications of the same therapy 
shall be included in one service day rate of 
reimbursement. Multiple applications of different 
therapies administered in one day shall be reimbursed for 
the bundled durable medical equipment service day rate 
as follows: the most expensive therapy shall be 
reimbursed at 100% of cost; the second and all 
subsequent most expensive therapies shall be reimbursed 
at 50% of cost. Multiple therapies administered in one 
day shall be reimbursed at the pharmacy service day rate 
plus 100% of every active therapeutic ingredient in the 
compound (at the lowest ingredient cost methodology) 
plus the appropriate pharmacy dispensing fee. 

(2) Respiratory therapies. The DME for oxygen therapy 
shall have supplies or components bundled under a 
service day rate based on oxygen liter flow rate or blood 
gas levels. Equipment associated with respiratory therapy 
may have ancillary components bundled with the main 
component for reimbursement. The reimbursement shall 
be a service day per diem rate for rental of equipment or 
a total amount of purchase for the purchase of equipment. 
Such respiratory equipment shall include oxygen tanks 
and tubing, ventilators, noncontinuous ventilators, and 
suction machines. Ventilators, noncontinuous ventilators, 
and suction machines may be purchased based on the 
individual patient's medical necessity and length of need. 

(3) Service maintenance agreements. Provision shall be 
made for a combination of services, routine maintenance, 
and supplies, to be known as agreements, under a single 
reimbursement code only for equipment that is recipient 
owned. Such bundled agreements shall be reimbursed 
either monthly or in units per year based on the 
individual agreement between the DME provider and 
DMAS. Such bundled agreements may apply to, but not 
necessarily be limited to, either respiratory equipment or 
apnea monitors. 

7. Local health services. 

8. Laboratory services (other than inpatient hospital). The 
agency's rates for clinical laboratory services were set as of 
July 1, 2014, and are effective for services on or after that 
date. 

9. Payments to physicians who handle laboratory 
specimens, but do not perform laboratory analysis (limited 
to payment for handling). 

10. X-ray services. 

11. Optometry services. 

12. Reserved. 

13. Home health services. Effective June 30, 1991, cost 
reimbursement for home health services is eliminated. A 
rate per visit by discipline shall be established as set forth 
by 12VAC30-80-180. 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/
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14. Physical therapy; occupational therapy; and speech, 
hearing, language disorders services when rendered to 
noninstitutionalized recipients. 

15. Clinic services, as defined under 42 CFR 440.90, 
except for services in ambulatory surgery clinics 
reimbursed under 12VAC30-80-35. 

16. Supplemental payments for services provided by Type 
I physicians. 

a. In addition to payments for physician services 
specified elsewhere in this chapter, DMAS provides 
supplemental payments to Type I physicians for 
furnished services provided on or after July 2, 2002. A 
Type I physician is a member of a practice group, 
organized by or under the control of a state academic 
health system or an academic health system that operates 
under a state authority and includes a hospital, who has 
entered into contractual agreements for the assignment of 
payments in accordance with 42 CFR 447.10. 

b. Effective July 2, 2002, the supplemental payment 
amount for Type I physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for Type I physician services and Medicare rates. 
Effective August 13, 2002, the supplemental payment 
amount for Type I physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for physician services and 143% of Medicare rates. 
Effective January 3, 2012, the supplemental payment 
amount for Type I physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for physician services and 181% of Medicare rates. 
Effective January 1, 2013, the supplemental payment 
amount for Type I physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for physician services and 197% of Medicare rates. 
Effective April 8, 2014, the supplemental payment 
amount for Type I physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for physician services and 201% of Medicare rates. 

c. The methodology for determining the Medicare 
equivalent of the average commercial rate is described in 
12VAC30-80-300. 

d. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly no 
later than 90 days after the end of the quarter. 

e. Payment will not be made to the extent that the 
payment would duplicate payments based on physician 
costs covered by the supplemental payments. 

17. Supplemental payments for services provided by 
physicians at Virginia freestanding children's hospitals. 

a. In addition to payments for physician services 
specified elsewhere in this chapter, DMAS provides 
supplemental payments to Virginia freestanding 

children's hospital physicians providing services at 
freestanding children's hospitals with greater than 50% 
Medicaid inpatient utilization in state fiscal year 2009 for 
furnished services provided on or after July 1, 2011. A 
freestanding children's hospital physician is a member of 
a practice group (i) organized by or under control of a 
qualifying Virginia freestanding children's hospital, or 
(ii) who has entered into contractual agreements for 
provision of physician services at the qualifying Virginia 
freestanding children's hospital and that is designated in 
writing by the Virginia freestanding children's hospital as 
a practice plan for the quarter for which the supplemental 
payment is made subject to DMAS approval. The 
freestanding children's hospital physicians also must 
have entered into contractual agreements with the 
practice plan for the assignment of payments in 
accordance with 42 CFR 447.10. 

b. Effective July 1, 2011, the supplemental payment 
amount for freestanding children's hospital physician 
services shall be the difference between the Medicaid 
payments otherwise made for freestanding children's 
hospital physician services and 143% of Medicare rates 
as defined in the supplemental payment calculation 
described in the Medicare equivalent of the average 
commercial rate methodology (see 12VAC30-80-300), 
subject to the following reduction. Final payments shall 
be reduced on a prorated basis so that total payments for 
freestanding children's hospital physician services are 
$400,000 less annually than would be calculated based 
on the formula in the previous sentence. Effective July 1, 
2015, the supplemental payment amount for freestanding 
children's hospital physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for freestanding children's hospital physician 
services and 178% of Medicare rates as defined in the 
supplemental payment calculation for Type I physician 
services. Payments shall be made on the same schedule 
as Type I physicians. 

18. Supplemental payments for services provided by 
physicians affiliated with Eastern Virginia Medical Center.  

a. In addition to payments for physician services 
specified elsewhere in this chapter, the Department of 
Medical Assistance Services provides supplemental 
payments to physicians affiliated with Eastern Virginia 
Medical Center for furnished services provided on or 
after October 1, 2012. A physician affiliated with Eastern 
Virginia Medical Center is a physician who is employed 
by a publicly funded medical school that is a political 
subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia, who 
provides clinical services through the faculty practice 
plan affiliated with the publicly funded medical school, 
and who has entered into contractual arrangements for 
the assignment of payments in accordance with 42 CFR 
447.10. 
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b. Effective October 1, 2015, the supplemental payment 
amount shall be the difference between the Medicaid 
payments otherwise made for physician services and 
137% of Medicare rates. The methodology for 
determining the Medicare equivalent of the average 
commercial rate is described in 12VAC30-80-300. 

c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly, no 
later than 90 days after the end of the quarter. 

19. Supplemental payments for services provided by 
physicians at freestanding children's hospitals serving 
children in Planning District 8.  

a. In addition to payments for physician services 
specified elsewhere in this chapter, DMAS shall make 
supplemental payments for physicians employed at a 
freestanding children's hospital serving children in 
Planning District 8 with more than 50% Medicaid 
inpatient utilization in fiscal year 2014. This applies to 
physician practices affiliated with Children's National 
Health System. 

b. The supplemental payment amount for qualifying 
physician services shall be the difference between the 
Medicaid payments otherwise made and 178% of 
Medicare rates but no more than $551,000 for all 
qualifying physicians. The methodology for determining 
allowable percent of Medicare rates is based on the 
Medicare equivalent of the average commercial rate 
described in this chapter. 

c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly no 
later than 90 days after the end of the quarter. Any 
quarterly payment that would have been due prior to the 
approval date shall be made no later than 90 days after 
the approval date.  

20. Supplemental payments to nonstate government-owned 
or operated clinics.  

a. In addition to payments for clinic services specified 
elsewhere in the regulations this chapter, DMAS 
provides supplemental payments to qualifying nonstate 
government-owned or government-operated clinics for 
outpatient services provided to Medicaid patients on or 
after July 2, 2002. Clinic means a facility that is not part 
of a hospital but is organized and operated to provide 
medical care to outpatients. Outpatient services include 
those furnished by or under the direction of a physician, 
dentist or other medical professional acting within the 
scope of his license to an eligible individual. Effective 
July 1, 2005, a qualifying clinic is a clinic operated by a 
community services board. The state share for 
supplemental clinic payments will be funded by general 
fund appropriations.  

b. The amount of the supplemental payment made to 
each qualifying nonstate government-owned or 
government-operated clinic is determined by:  

(1) Calculating for each clinic the annual difference 
between the upper payment limit attributed to each clinic 
according to subdivision 20 d of this subsection and the 
amount otherwise actually paid for the services by the 
Medicaid program;  

(2) Dividing the difference determined in subdivision 20 
b (1) of this subsection for each qualifying clinic by the 
aggregate difference for all such qualifying clinics; and  

(3) Multiplying the proportion determined in subdivision 
20 b (2) of this subsection by the aggregate upper 
payment limit amount for all such clinics as determined 
in accordance with 42 CFR 447.321 less all payments 
made to such clinics other than under this section.  

c. Payments for furnished services made under this 
section will be made annually in a lump sum during the 
last quarter of the fiscal year.  

d. To determine the aggregate upper payment limit 
referred to in subdivision 20 b (3) of this subsection, 
Medicaid payments to nonstate government-owned or 
government-operated clinics will be divided by the 
"additional factor" whose calculation is described in 
12VAC30-80-190 B 2 in regard to the state agency fee 
schedule for Resource Based Relative Value Scale. 
Medicaid payments will be estimated using payments for 
dates of service from the prior fiscal year adjusted for 
expected claim payments. Additional adjustments will be 
made for any program changes in Medicare or Medicaid 
payments. 

21. Personal assistance services (PAS) for individuals 
enrolled in the Medicaid Buy-In program described in 
12VAC30-60-200. These services are reimbursed in 
accordance with the state agency fee schedule described in 
12VAC30-80-190. The state agency fee schedule is 
published on the DMAS website at 
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/.  

22. Supplemental payments to state-owned or state-
operated clinics.  

a. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2015, 
DMAS shall make supplemental payments to qualifying 
state-owned or state-operated clinics for outpatient 
services provided to Medicaid patients on or after July 1, 
2015. Clinic means a facility that is not part of a hospital 
but is organized and operated to provide medical care to 
outpatients. Outpatient services include those furnished 
by or under the direction of a physician, dentist, or other 
medical professional acting within the scope of his 
license to an eligible individual.  

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/
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b. The amount of the supplemental payment made to 
each qualifying state-owned or state-operated clinic is 
determined by calculating for each clinic the annual 
difference between the upper payment limit attributed to 
each clinic according to subdivision 19 b of this 
subsection and the amount otherwise actually paid for the 
services by the Medicaid program.  

c. Payments for furnished services made under this 
section shall be made annually in lump sum payments to 
each clinic.  

d. To determine the upper payment limit for each clinic 
referred to in subdivision 19 b of this subsection, the 
state payment rate schedule shall be compared to the 
Medicare resource-based relative value scale nonfacility 
fee schedule per Current Procedural Terminology code 
for a base period of claims. The base period claims shall 
be extracted from the Medical Management Information 
System and exclude crossover claims.  

B. Hospice services payments must be no lower than the 
amounts using the same methodology used under Part A of 
Title XVIII, and take into account the room and board 
furnished by the facility, equal to at least 95% of the rate that 
would have been paid by the state under the plan for facility 
services in that facility for that individual. Hospice services 
shall be paid according to the location of the service delivery 
and not the location of the agency's home office. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5282; Filed August 9, 2018, 10:19 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 13. HOUSING 

VIRGINIA MANUFACTURED HOUSING BOARD 
Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC6-20. Manufactured Housing 
Licensing and Transaction Recovery Fund Regulations 
(amending 13VAC6-20-10, 13VAC6-20-30, 13VAC6-20-
50, 13VAC6-20-60, 13VAC6-20-80, 13VAC6-20-90, 
13VAC6-20-100, 13VAC6-20-170, 13VAC6-20-320).  

Statutory Authority: § 36-85.18 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 1, 2018 - 10 a.m. - Virginia Housing Center, 
4224 Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060 

Public Comment Deadline: November 2, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Kyle T. Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Policy Office, Virginia Department of Housing and 
Community Development, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, FAX (804) 
371-3090, or email kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The legal authority for amendments to the regulation is 
found in § 36-85.18 of the Code of Virginia. Section 36-85.18 
directs the board to promulgate regulations for the licensing 
of manufactured home manufacturers, dealers, brokers, and 
salespersons; the establishment and administration of a 
recovery fund; the resolution of complaints; making case 
decisions in accordance with the Administrative Process Act; 
and the levying and collection of fees sufficient to cover the 
expenses for the administration of the program. 

Purpose: Administration and enforcement of the regulations 
by the Virginia Manufactured Housing Board and department 
has resulted in the identification of sections that need to be 
clarified, are out of date, or contain unnecessary restrictions. 
The board proposes to review issues related to licensing 
requirements for the manufactured housing industry members 
that will provide better protection to consumers without 
imposing unnecessary regulatory burdens on the licensees. 
The amended regulations will better define the parameters for 
warranties on homes and when and what disclosures must be 
given to buyers. 

Substance: This regulatory action will (i) add "date of 
delivery" as a defined term to clarify the warranty period for a 
manufactured home and for easy reference; (ii) eliminate 
unnecessary biographical information of individuals applying 
for dealer, sales person, and broker licenses, such as weight, 
height, eye color, and sex; (iii) replace "Virginia Department 
of Motor Vehicles" with "Virginia Motor Vehicle Dealer 
Board"; (iv) replace the nondefined term "noncompliance" 
with the defined term "defect"; and (v) eliminate the 
requirement for a dealer to inspect "furniture" supplied with a 
home.  

The action will also amend the list of prohibited conduct by 
regulants; identify specific items to be included on a sales 
contract, including the total cost of the contract, if the home is 
new or used, and the nominal house size; and require 
manufacturers to advise consumers that the dealer may retain 
damages and to notify consumers of the dispute resolution 
program. 

Issues: The proposed revisions provide enhanced consumer 
protection by adding three additional items to the list of 
prohibited conduct by regulants. The revisions add specific 
items to be included on a sales contract, which lack clarity in 
the current regulations. These items include the total cost of 
the contract, specify if the home is new or used, and specify 
the nominal house size. The revisions assist in protecting 
consumers by requiring manufacturers to provide statements 
to the consumer indicating that the dealer may retain damages 
and notifying them of the dispute resolution program. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Manufactured Housing Board (Board) proposes to amend its 
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regulation to: 1) add a clarifying definition, 2) update 
obsolete references in regulatory text, 3) eliminate 
unnecessary requirements that manufactured housing 
salesmen provide biographical information, and 4) add failure 
to perform a written contract1 as grounds for disciplinary 
action.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Board last updated this 
regulation in an action that was initiated in 2008. The Board 
now proposes a clarifying amendment to add a definition for 
"date of delivery," proposes to remove requirements that 
biographical information such as weight, height and eye color 
be provided on applications for licensure and also proposes to 
replace obsolete references to the Virginia Department of 
Motor Vehicles with references to the Virginia Motor Vehicle 
Dealer Board.2 Changes such as these do not add any new 
regulatory requirements and, so, no regulated entity is likely 
to incur additional costs. Removing obsolete and now 
incorrect information from this regulation will benefit readers 
as this will eliminate any possible confusion about who 
registers manufactured housing dealers and brokers. 

The Board also proposes to add failure to perform a written 
contract containing enumerated minimum requirements to the 
list of grounds for disciplining regulated entities. This change 
will likely benefit manufactured housing buyers as it will 
allow the Board to take action, up to and including license 
revocation, if a licensee defrauds a customer by failing to 
deliver on a contract. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This regulatory action will 
affect all Board licensees as well as their customers. Board 
staff reports that the Board currently licenses 27 
manufacturers, 15 brokers, 178 dealers and 317 salespeople  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality is likely to be 
particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes.  

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 
changes are unlikely to affect employment in the 
Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 
proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 
value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 
changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 
the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No small businesses are likely to 
incur any additional costs on account of these proposed 
regulatory changes. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No small 
businesses are likely to incur any additional costs on account 
of these proposed regulatory changes. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. No businesses are likely to incur any additional 
costs on account of these proposed regulatory changes. 

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 
see any adverse impacts on account of these proposed 
regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely 
affected by these proposed changes. 

___________________________ 
1Such contracts must contain specified minimum requirements to include: 1) 
a statement of the total cost of the contract, 2) a listing of specified materials 
and work to be performed as well as specification as to who will supply 
materials and who will perform the work, 3) the name, address and phone 
number of the Board licensee performing the contract, 4) the make and model 
of the home to be delivered, 5) a statement indicating whether the home is 
new or used, 6) a listing of the length and width of the home to be delivered 
under the contract, 7) the date of manufacture and the serial number of the 
home except when that information is not known because the home has not 
been built yet, 8) a statement notifying consumers of the limitations on 
liability for damages to the home and 9) a statement notifying consumers of 
the available dispute resolution program. 
2The Virginia Motor Vehicle Dealer Board now registers manufactured 
housing dealers and brokers. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency concurs with the economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments include (i) clarifying the 
parameters for warranties on manufactured homes, (ii) 
eliminating unnecessary individual biographical 
information of license applicants, (iii) expanding the list of 
specific items that must be included on a sales contract, 
and (iv) providing when and what disclosures must be 
given to buyers. 

Part I  
General  

13VAC6-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise.  

"Board" means the Virginia Manufactured Housing Board.  

"Buyer" means the person who purchases at retail from a 
dealer or manufacturer a manufactured home for personal use 
as a residence or other related use.  
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"Claimant" means any person who has filed a verified claim 
under Chapter 4.2 (§ 36-85.16 et seq.) of Title 36 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

"Code" means the appropriate standards of the Virginia 
Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) and the 
Manufactured Home Safety Regulations (13VAC5-95) 
adopted by the Board of Housing and Community 
Development and administered by the Department of 
Housing and Community Development pursuant to the 
National Manufactured Housing Construction and Safety 
Standards Act of 1974 (42 USC § 5401 et seq.) for 
manufactured homes.  

"Controlling financial interest" means the direct or indirect 
ownership or control of a firm. 

"Date of delivery" means the date on which all terms or 
conditions of the sales contract agreed to or required of the 
regulant have been completed. 

"Dealer/manufacturer sales agreement" means a written 
contract or agreement between a manufactured housing 
manufacturer and a manufactured housing dealer whereby the 
dealer is granted the right to engage in the business of 
offering, selling, and servicing new manufactured homes of a 
particular line or make of the stated manufacturer of such line 
or make. The term shall include any severable part or parts of 
such sales agreement which separately provides for selling or 
servicing different lines or makes of the manufacturer.  

"Defect" means any deficiency in or damage to materials or 
workmanship occurring in a manufactured home which has 
been reasonably maintained and cared for in normal use. The 
term also means any failure of any structural element, utility 
system or the inclusion of a component part of the 
manufactured home which fails to comply with the Code.  

"Department" means the Department of Housing and 
Community Development.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of Housing 
and Community Development, or his the director's designee.  

"Fund" or "recovery fund" means the Virginia Manufactured 
Housing Transaction Recovery Fund.  

"HUD" means the United States U.S. Department of 
Housing and Urban Development.  

"Imminent safety hazard" means a hazard that presents an 
imminent and unreasonable risk of death or severe personal 
injury that may or may not be related to failure to comply 
with an applicable federal manufactured home construction or 
safety standard. 

"Licensed" means the regulant has met all applicable 
requirements of this chapter, paid all required fees, and been 
authorized by the board to manufacture or offer for sale or 
sell manufactured homes in accordance with this chapter.  

"Manufactured home" means a structure constructed to 
federal standards, transportable in one or more sections, 
which, in the traveling mode is eight feet or more in width 
and is 40 feet or more in length, or when erected on site, is 
320 or more square feet, and which is built on a permanent 
chassis and designed to be used as a dwelling with or without 
a permanent foundation when connected to the required 
utilities, and includes the plumbing, heating, air conditioning, 
and electrical systems contained therein.  

"Manufactured home broker" or "broker" means any person, 
partnership, association or corporation, resident or 
nonresident, who, for compensation or valuable 
consideration, sells or offers for sale, buys or offers to buy, 
negotiates the purchase or sale or exchange, or leases or 
offers to lease used manufactured homes that are owned by a 
party other than the broker.  

"Manufactured home dealer" or "dealer" means any person 
engaged in the business of buying, selling, or dealing in 
manufactured homes or offering or displaying manufactured 
homes for sale in Virginia. Any person who buys, sells, or 
deals in three or more manufactured homes in any 12-month 
period shall be presumed to be a manufactured home dealer. 
The terms "selling" and "sale" include lease-purchase 
transactions. The term "manufactured home dealer" does not 
include banks and finance companies that acquire 
manufactured homes as an incident to their regular business.  

"Manufactured home manufacturer" or "manufacturer" 
means any persons, resident or nonresident, who manufacture 
or assemble manufactured homes for sale in Virginia.  

"Manufactured home salesperson" or "salesperson" means 
any person who for compensation or valuable consideration is 
employed either directly or indirectly by, or affiliated as an 
independent contractor with, a manufactured home dealer to 
sell or offer to sell; or to buy or offer to buy; or to negotiate 
the purchase, sale or exchange; or to lease or offer to lease 
new or used manufactured homes.  

"New manufactured home" means any manufactured home 
that (i) has not been previously sold except in good faith for 
the purpose of resale, (ii) has not been previously occupied as 
a place of habitation, (iii) has not been previously used for 
commercial purposes such as offices or storage, and (iv) has 
not been titled by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles 
and is still in the possession of the original dealer. If the home 
is later sold to another dealer and then sold to a consumer 
within two years of the date of manufacture, the home is still 
considered new and must continue to meet all state warranty 
requirements. However, if a home is sold from the original 
dealer to another dealer and it is more than two years after the 
date of manufacture, and it is then sold to a consumer, the 
home must be sold as "used" for warranty purposes. Notice of 
the "used" status of the manufactured home and how this 
status affects state warranty requirements must be provided, 
in writing, to the consumer prior to the closing of the sale.  
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"Person" means any individual, natural person, firm, 
partnership, association, corporation, legal representative, or 
other recognized legal entity.  

"Regulant" means any person, firm, corporation, association, 
partnership, joint venture, or any other legal entity required 
by Chapter 4.2 (§ 36-85.16 et seq.) of Title 36 of the Code of 
Virginia to be licensed by the board.  

"Regulations" or "these regulations" means this chapter, the 
Virginia Manufactured Housing Licensing and Transaction 
Recovery Fund Regulations.  

"Reinstatement" means having a license restored to 
effectiveness after the expiration date has passed or license 
has been revoked or not renewed by the board. 

"Relevant market area" means the geographical area 
established in the dealer/manufacturer sales agreement and 
agreed to by both the dealer and the manufacturer in the 
agreement.  

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license 
for another period of time. 

"Responsible management" means the following 
individuals: 

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship; 

2. The partners of a general partnership; 

3. The managing partners of a limited partnership; 

4. The officers of a corporation; 

5. The managers of a limited liability company; 

6. The officers or directors of an association or both; and 

7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under 
the laws of the Commonwealth as having a fiduciary 
responsibility to the firm. 

"Responsible party" means a manufacturer, dealer, or 
supplier of manufactured homes.  

"Set-up" means the operations performed at the occupancy 
site which render a manufactured home fit for habitation. 
Such operations include, but are not limited to, transportation, 
positioning, blocking, leveling, supporting, anchoring, 
connecting utility systems, making minor adjustments, or 
assembling multiple or expandable units. Such operations do 
not include lawful transportation services performed by 
public utilities operating under certificates or permits issued 
by the State Corporation Commission.  

"Standards" means the Federal Manufactured Home 
Construction and Safety Standards adopted by the U.S. 
Department of Housing and Urban Development.  

"Statement of Compliance" means the statement found on 
the initial license application and on the renewal application, 
that the regulant licensed by the board will comply with the 

Manufactured Housing Licensing and Transaction Recovery 
Fund Law, this chapter, and the orders of the board.  

"Substantial identity of interest" means (i) a controlling 
financial interest by the individual or corporate principals of the 
manufactured home broker, dealer, or manufacturer whose 
license has been revoked or not renewed for cause by the board 
or (ii) substantially identical principals or officers as the 
manufactured home broker, dealer, or manufacturer whose 
license has been revoked or not renewed for cause by the board. 

"Supplier" means the original producers of completed 
components, including refrigerators, stoves, water heaters, 
dishwashers, cabinets, air conditioners, heating units, and 
similar components, and materials such as floor coverings, 
paneling, siding, trusses, and similar materials, which are 
furnished to a manufacturer or a dealer for installation in the 
manufactured home prior to sale to a buyer.  

"Used manufactured home" means any manufactured home 
other than a new home as defined in this section.  

"Warranty" means any written assurance of the 
manufacturer, dealer, or supplier or any promise made by a 
regulant in connection with the sale of a manufactured home 
that becomes part of the basis of the sale. The term 
"warranty" pertains to the obligations of the regulant in 
relation to materials, workmanship, and fitness of a 
manufactured home for ordinary and reasonable use of the 
home for the term of the promise or assurance.  

13VAC6-20-30. Application for licensing; renewal.  

A. Application for license or renewal shall be on forms 
supplied by the department and may be submitted as 
designated in hard copy or by electronic means. All 
information required on the form shall be furnished by the 
applicant for the board's review.  

B. Each application for original licensure shall be 
accompanied by the following:  

1. Deposit in the Transaction Recovery Fund required by 
13VAC6-20-420 A 1.  

2. Licensing fee required by 13VAC6-20-200 A 1.  

3. Copy of the manufacturer's homeowner and installation 
manual or manuals.  

4. Statement of Compliance compliance.  

5. List of salespeople licensed in Virginia with the 
following biographical information for each:.  

Date of birth  

Sex  

Weight  

Height  

Eye/hair color  
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C. The Department of Housing and Community 
Development will mail a notice of renewal to the licensee at 
the last known address of record.  Licensees may submit 
renewals by mail or electronically.  Failure to receive this 
notice shall not relieve the licensee of the obligation to renew. 
If the licensee does not receive the notice of renewal, a copy 
of the license may be substituted with the required fee. Each 
application for renewal shall be accompanied by the 
following:  

1. Licensing fee required by 13VAC6-20-200 A 2.  

2. If revised, a copy of the revised homeowner and 
installation manual or manuals.  

3. Statement of Compliance compliance.  

4. Updated list of salespeople employed.  

Article 2  
Dealers  

13VAC6-20-50. License required; annual renewal.  

A. Any person located in or outside of the Commonwealth 
buying or selling or offering or displaying manufactured 
homes for sale in Virginia and meeting the definition of a 
dealer in 13VAC6-20-10 shall apply to the board for a 
license. The license shall be displayed in a conspicuous place 
accessible to the public in the office of the business location. 
The license shall be issued for a term of one year from the 
date of issuance.  

B. Each licensed dealer shall apply for license renewal 
annually, by application and accompanied by the required fee. 
Applicants for license renewal shall meet all the criteria for 
original licensing. Upon failure to renew, the license shall 
automatically expire.  

C. Should the department fail to receive a licensed dealer's 
renewal form and appropriate fee within 30 days of the 
license expiration date, the dealer shall be required to 
reinstate the license according to the terms and conditions of 
Article 8 (13VAC6-20-201 et seq.) of this part. 

D. For licensing purposes, a dealer operating more than one 
retail location shall have each location treated as a separate 
entity and shall adhere to all requirements for dealer licensing 
including posting a license at each location.  

E. Each dealer licensed under this chapter shall also obtain a 
certificate of dealer registration from the Virginia Department 
of Motor Vehicles Vehicle Dealer Board (MVDB). The 
certificate of registration shall be renewed annually and shall 
be maintained in effect with the Department of Motor 
Vehicles MVDB as long as the dealer is licensed under this 
chapter.  

13VAC6-20-60. Application for licensing; renewal.  

A. Application for license or renewal shall be on forms 
supplied by the department and may be submitted as 

designated in hard copy or by electronic means. All 
information required on the form shall be furnished by the 
applicant for the board's review.  

B. Each application for original licensure shall be 
accompanied by the following:  

1. Deposit in the Transaction Recovery Fund required by 
13VAC6-20-420 A 2.  

2. Licensing fee required by 13VAC6-20-200 A 3.  

3. Statement of Compliance compliance.  

4. Verification of a business office with all utilities, 
including a business telephone, and where the required 
business records are maintained.  

5. Verification of a permanent business sign, in view of 
public traffic, bearing the name of the firm.  

6. List of salespeople employed with the following 
biographical information for each:.  

Date of Birth  

Sex  

Weight  

Height  

Eye/hair color  

7. Name of the owner, principal, manager, agent, or other 
person designated as the holder of the dealer's license for 
the specific location and the names of other partners or 
principals in the dealership.  

Photographs of the front of the business office and required 
sign may be considered as verification required by this 
subsection.  

C. The Department of Housing and Community 
Development will mail a notice of renewal to the licensee at 
the last known address of record.  Licensees may submit 
renewals by mail or electronically.  Failure to receive this 
notice shall not relieve the licensee of the obligation to 
renew.  If the licensee does not receive the notice of renewal, 
a copy of the license may be substituted with the required fee. 
Each application for renewal shall be accompanied by the 
following:  

1. Licensing fee required by 13VAC6-20-200 A 4.  

2. Statement of Compliance compliance.  

3. Notification of any significant changes to the office or 
the business sign.  

4. Updated list of salespeople employed.  

5. Any changes of officers or directors of the company or 
corporation.  
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6. A copy of the dealer's current certificate of registration 
from the Department of Motor Vehicles Virginia Motor 
Vehicle Dealer Board. 

D. Any change in the form of ownership of the dealer or any 
changes (deletions or additions) in the partners or principals 
of the dealer shall be submitted to the board with an 
application and fee for a new license. If the new owner or 
owners assume the liabilities of the previous owner or 
owners, then a new recovery fund assessment is not required. 
New recovery fund assessments shall be required when the 
new owner or owners do does not assume the liabilities of the 
previous owner or owners. The board shall be notified 
immediately by the dealer of any change in the operating 
name of the dealer. The director shall endorse the change on 
the license without requiring an additional fee. The board 
shall be notified immediately by the dealer of any change in 
the location of the dealer. The dealer shall pay a fee of $50 
for the change of location on the license, but shall not be 
required to pay an additional assessment to the recovery fund 
for the change of location only.  

13VAC6-20-80. Dealer responsibility for inspections; 
other items. 

A. The dealer shall inspect every new manufactured home 
unit upon delivery from a manufacturer. If a dealer becomes 
aware of a noncompliance or an imminent safety hazard in a 
manufactured home, the dealer shall contact the 
manufacturer, provide full information concerning the 
problem, and request appropriate action by the manufacturer. 
No dealer shall sell a new manufactured home if he becomes 
aware that it contains a noncompliance defect or an imminent 
safety hazard.  

B. The dealer shall inspect every new manufactured home 
unit prior to selling to determine that all items of furniture, 
appliances, fixtures, and devices are not damaged and are in 
place and operable.  

C. A dealer shall not alter or cause to be altered any 
manufactured home to which a HUD label has been affixed if 
such alteration or conversion causes the manufactured home 
to be in violation of the standards.  

D. If the dealer provides for the installation of any 
manufactured home he the dealer sells, the dealer shall be 
responsible for making sure the installation of the home 
meets the manufacturer's installation requirements and the 
Code.  

E. On each home sold by the dealer, the dealer shall collect 
the applicable title fees and title tax for the manufactured 
home, to include an additional $30 inspection/administrative 
fee, and forward such fees and taxes to the Virginia 
Department of Motor Vehicles.  

The above fees shall be submitted to the Virginia 
Department of Motor Vehicles within 30 days from the 
completion date of the sale. 

F. On each home sold by the dealer, the dealer shall provide 
the owner with information to file a claim supplied by the 
department. 

Article 3  
Brokers  

13VAC6-20-90. License required; annual renewal. 

A. Any person located in or outside of the Commonwealth 
(i) buying or selling, negotiating the purchase or sale or 
exchange of, or leasing used manufactured homes and (ii) 
meeting the definition of broker in 13VAC6-20-10 shall 
apply to the board for a license. The license shall be displayed 
in a conspicuous place accessible to the public in the office of 
the business location. The license shall be issued for a term of 
one year from the date of issuance.  

B. Each licensed broker shall apply for license renewal 
annually, by application and accompanied by the required fee. 
Applicants for license renewal shall meet all the criteria for 
original licensing. Upon failure to renew, the license shall 
automatically expire.  

C. Should the department fail to receive a licensed broker's 
renewal form and appropriate fee within 30 days of the 
license expiration date, the broker shall be required to 
reinstate the license according to the terms and conditions of 
Article 8 (13VAC6-20-201 et seq.) of this part. 

D. For licensing purposes, a broker operating more than one 
business location shall have each location treated as a 
separate entity and shall adhere to all requirements for broker 
licensing, including posting a license, at each location.  

E. Each broker licensed under this chapter shall also obtain a 
certificate of dealer registration from the Virginia Department 
of Motor Vehicles Vehicle Dealer Board (MVDB). The 
certificate of registration shall be renewed annually and shall 
be maintained in effect with the Department of Motor 
Vehicles MVDB as long as the broker is licensed under this 
chapter.  

13VAC6-20-100. Application for licensing; renewal.  

A. Application for license or renewal shall be on forms 
supplied by the department and may be submitted as 
designated in hard copy or by electronic means. All 
information required on the form shall be furnished by the 
applicant for the board's review.  

B. Each application for original licensure shall be 
accompanied by the following:  

1. Deposit in the Transaction Recovery Fund required by 
13VAC6-20-420 A 3.  

2. Licensing fee required by 13VAC6-20-200 A 5.  
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3. Statement of Compliance compliance.  

4. Verification of a business office with all utilities, 
including a business telephone, and where the required 
business records are maintained.  

5. Verification of a permanent business sign, in view of 
public traffic, bearing the name of the firm.  

6. Name of the owner, principal, manager, agent or other 
person designated as the holder of the broker's license for 
the specific location and the names of the partners or 
principals in the broker's firm.  

7. List of salespeople employed with the following 
biographical information for each:.  

Date of birth  

Sex  

Weight  

Height  

Eye/hair color  

Photographs of the front of the business office and required 
sign may be considered as verification required by this 
subsection.  

C. The Department of Housing and Community 
Development will mail a notice of renewal to the licensee at 
the last known address of record.  Licensees may submit 
renewals by mail or electronically.  Failure to receive this 
notice shall not relieve the licensee of the obligation to 
renew.  If the licensee does not receive the notice of renewal, 
a copy of the license may be substituted with the required fee. 
Each application for renewal shall be accompanied by the 
following:  

1. Licensing fee required by 13VAC6-20-200 A 6.  

2. Statement of Compliance compliance.  

3. Notification of any significant changes to the office or 
the business sign.  

4. Any changes of officers or directors of the company or 
corporation.  

5. A copy of the broker's current certificate of registration 
from the Department of Motor Vehicles Virginia Motor 
Vehicle Dealer Board.  

6. Updated list of salespeople employed.  

D. Any change in the form of ownership of the broker or 
any changes (deletions or additions) in the partners or 
principals of the broker shall be submitted to the board with 
an application and fee for a new license. If the new owner(s) 
owner assume the liabilities of the previous owner(s) owner, 
then a new recovery fund assessment is not required. New 
recovery fund assessments shall be required when the new 

owner(s) do owner does not assume the liabilities of the 
previous owner(s) owner.  

The board shall be notified immediately by the broker of any 
change in the operating name of the broker. The director shall 
endorse the change on the license without requiring an 
additional fee. The board shall be notified immediately by the 
broker of any change in location of the broker. The broker 
shall pay a fee of $50 for the change of location on the 
license, but shall not be required to pay an additional 
assessment to the recovery fund for the change of location 
only.  

Article 6  
Violations and Hearings  

13VAC6-20-170. Prohibited conduct; grounds for 
denying, suspending or revoking license.  

A. The following acts by regulants are prohibited and may 
be considered by the board as grounds for action against the 
regulant:  

1. Engaging in business as a manufactured home 
manufacturer, dealer, or broker without first obtaining a 
license from the board.  

2. Engaging in business as a manufactured home 
salesperson without first applying to the board for a 
license.  

3. Making a material misstatement in an application for 
license.  

4. Failing to pay a required assessment to the Transaction 
Recovery Fund.  

5. Failing to comply with the warranty service obligations 
and claims procedures required by this chapter.  

6. Failing to comply with the set-up and tie-down 
requirements of the Code.  

7. Knowingly failing or refusing to account for or pay over 
money or other valuables belonging to others which have 
come into the regulant's possession due to the sale of a 
manufactured home.  

8. Using unfair methods of competition or unfair or 
deceptive commercial acts or practices.  

9. Failing to comply with the advertising provisions in Part 
IV of this chapter (13VAC6-20-270 et seq.) of this chapter.  

10. Defrauding any buyer to the buyer's damage, and any 
other person in the conduct of the regulant's business.  

11. Employing an unlicensed salesperson.  

12. Knowingly offering for sale a manufactured home 
produced by a manufacturer which that is not licensed as a 
manufacturer under this chapter.  
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13. Knowingly selling a manufactured home to a dealer 
who is not licensed as a dealer under this chapter.  

14. Failing to appear before the board upon due notice.  

15. Failing to comply with orders issued by the board 
pursuant to this chapter.  

16. Failing to renew a license and continuing to engage in 
business as a manufacturer, dealer, broker, or salesperson 
after the expiration of any license.  

17. A salesperson selling, exchanging, or offering to sell or 
exchange a manufactured home for any dealer or broker 
other than the licensed dealer or broker employing the 
salesperson.  

18. A salesperson offering, transferring, or assigning any 
negotiated sale or exchange of a manufactured home to 
another dealer, broker, manufacturer, or salesperson.  

19. Failing to comply with the Statement statement of 
Compliance compliance.  

20. Failing to notify the board of a change of location or 
address of the business office.  

21. Failing to comply with any provisions of this chapter. 

a. The board may revoke or deny renewal of an existing 
license or refuse to issue a license to any manufactured 
home broker, dealer, manufacturer, or salesperson who is 
shown to have a substantial identity of interest with a 
manufactured home broker, dealer, or manufacturer 
whose license has been revoked or not renewed by the 
board. 

b. Any person whose license is revoked or not renewed 
for cause by the board shall not be eligible for a license 
under any circumstances or under any name, except as 
provided by regulations of the board pursuant to § 36-
85.18 of the Code of Virginia. 

22. Failing to comply with the regulations of state or 
federal agencies regarding the financing, titling, taxation, 
or transporting of manufactured homes.  

23. Failing to perform a written contract between the 
regulant and seller or buyer that contains the following 
minimum requirements: 

a. A statement of the total cost of the contract and the 
amounts, including specific statement on the cost of the 
home, any additional costs for work to be performed, and 
the amount of the down payment, taxes, and titling fees. 

b. A listing of specified materials and work to be 
performed and who is to supply the materials and 
perform that work. 

c. Contract to identify the business name as shown on the 
license issued per this chapter and to include the address 
and the phone number of the business. 

d. Specify the make and model of the home. 

e. Specify if the home is new or used. 

f. Specify the length and width of the home as defined by 
the HUD Standards. 

g. Specify the date of manufacture and the serial number, 
except when the home is specially ordered from the 
manufacturer for the buyer and this information is not 
known. 

24. Failing to provide a statement notifying consumers of 
the limitations on damages retained by dealer disclosure to 
the buyer. 

25. Failing to provide a statement notifying consumers of 
the dispute resolution program available to resolve disputes 
concerning defects in manufactured homes. 

B. The board may deny, suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew 
or reinstate the license of a regulant because of, but not 
limited to, one or more of the following grounds:  

1. Having had a license previously denied, revoked, or 
suspended under this chapter.  

2. Having a license denied, suspended, or revoked by a 
similar licensing entity in another state.  

3. Engaging in conduct in another state which that would 
have been a violation of this chapter if the actions were 
committed in Virginia.  

4. Failing to obtain a required certification of registration 
from the Department of Motor Vehicles Vehicle Dealer 
Board (MVDB), failing to renew the annual certificate of 
registration from the MVDB, or having the certificate of 
registration suspended or revoked by the Department of 
Motor Vehicles MVDB.  

5. Having been convicted or found guilty in any 
jurisdiction of a felony.  

13VAC6-20-320. Duration of warranties.  

All warranties provided by regulants as required by 
13VAC6-20-310 shall be for a period of not less than 12 
months, measured from the date of delivery of the home to 
the buyer. The date of delivery shall be the date on which all 
terms or conditions of the sales contract agreed to or required 
of the regulant have been completed.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the regulation 
were filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 
however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 
Regulations may click on the accompanying web address to 
access the online forms. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
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FORMS (13VAC6-20) 

Complete license registration application forms for broker, 
dealer, manufacturer, salesperson, and special licensing 
online at https://dmz1.dhcd.virginia.gov/BFR/Main 
/LogOn.aspx.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5104; Filed August 14, 2018, 4:35 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING  

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 
Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC5-22. Board of Accountancy 
Regulations (amending 18VAC5-22-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-4402 and 54.1-4403 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 3, 2018. 

Effective Date: October 18, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Rebekah E. Allen, Enforcement Director, 
Board of Accountancy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 402, 
Richmond, VA 23223, telephone (804) 367-2006, FAX (804) 
527-4207, or email rebekah.allen@boa.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Subdivision 3 of § 54.1-4403 of the Code of Virginia 
grants authority to the board to promulgate regulations 
necessary to assure continued competency, to prevent 
deceptive or misleading practices by licensees, and to 
effectively administer the regulatory system. 

Purpose: This amendment is intended to remove duplicative 
definitional information because the information was added to 
§ 54.1-4400 of the Code of Virginia by Chapter 403 of the 
2017 Acts of Assembly. The board's rationale is to ensure that 
its regulations are not duplicative of information already 
found in statute and to reduce confusion about which 
definition should be used. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 
rulemaking is expected to be noncontroversial because the 
information being removed now exists in statute. This change 
is also supported by the Virginia Society of Certified Public 
Accountants. 

Substance: The amendment removes the existing definition 
and replaces it with a citation to the correct statute. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the public and the agency 
are reduced confusion by removing duplicative material from 
the regulation that is also found in statute. There are no 

primary disadvantages to the public, the board, or the 
Commonwealth.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Definitions in the regulation of "providing services to the 
public" and "providing services to an employer" are 
repetitious of definitions listed in Code of Virginia § 54.1-
4400. The Board proposes to replace the definitions with a 
citation to § 54.1-4400. 

Result of Analysis. The proposed amendment will not have a 
significant impact. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The proposed amendment 
would not affect requirements or interpretations. It may add a 
small amount of time for readers of the regulation seeking to 
understand the law. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulation 
affects CPA firms and CPAs. As of September 30, 2017, 
there were 27,842 persons who held Virginia CPAs licenses, 
and 1,179 entities or sole proprietors that held Virginia CPA 
firm licenses.1 All or most CPA firms would qualify as small 
businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 
does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 
does not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments does not affect the use and value of 
private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 
does not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses: 

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment does not 
significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendment does not significantly adversely affect 
small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not significantly 
adversely affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 
localities. 

https://dmz1.dhcd.virginia.gov/BFR/Main/LogOn.aspx
https://dmz1.dhcd.virginia.gov/BFR/Main/LogOn.aspx
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Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not significantly 
adversely affect other entities. 

________________________ 
1Data source: Board of Accountancy 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Virginia Board of Accountancy concurs with the economic 
impact analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments replace definitions with a citation to 
§ 54.1-4400 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC5-22-40. Determining whether a person who holds 
a Virginia license is providing services to the public using 
the CPA title or to an employer using the CPA title. 

For the purpose of determining whether a person who holds 
a Virginia license is providing services to the public using the 
CPA title or to an employer using the CPA title, as those 
terms are to be defined in accordance with § 54.1-4400 of the 
Code of Virginia, because of the written information readily 
available to the public through the board's Internet postings, 
holding a Virginia license constitutes using the CPA title. 
Accordingly, a person who holds a Virginia license: 

1. Is providing services to the public using the CPA title if 
he provides services that are subject to the guidance of the 
standard-setting authorities listed in the standards of 
conduct and practice in subdivisions 5 and 6 of § 54.1-
4413.3 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Is providing services to an employer using the CPA title 
if he provides to an entity services that require the 
substantial use of accounting, financial, tax, or other skills 
that are relevant, as determined by the board. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5259; Filed August 15, 2018, 8:29 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC5-22. Board of Accountancy 
Regulations (amending 18VAC5-22-170).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-4402 and 54.1-4403 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 3, 2018. 

Effective Date: October 18, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Rebekah E. Allen, Enforcement Director, 
Board of Accountancy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 402, 
Richmond, VA 23223, telephone (804) 367-2006, FAX (804) 
527-4207, or email rebekah.allen@boa.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Subdivision 3 of § 54.1-4403 of the Code of Virginia 
grants authority to the board to promulgate regulations 
necessary to assure continued competency, to prevent 

deceptive or misleading practices by licensees, and to 
effectively administer the regulatory system. 

Purpose: The action is intended to make the occasions in 
which a licensee or applicant must respond to the board 
match the language of § 54.1-4425 of the Code of Virginia 
and to give the board discretion in determining whether a 
delay or failure to respond is a violation. Currently, there is 
no discretion for the board, and the intent is to give the board 
more latitude in determining whether a delay or failure to 
respond is a willful violation of the regulation. The board's 
rationale is to ensure that its regulations match statutory 
language to reduce confusion about when a licensee or 
applicant is to respond to the board. The action also allows 
the board to waive purported violations of the regulation if 
warranted and removes a citation to the Code of Virginia that 
is no longer accurate.  

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 
rulemaking is expected to be noncontroversial because its 
requirements are identical to those currently placed on 
licensees and applicants when responding to the board. The 
proposed amendments match the language of current 
provisions in § 54.1-4425 and allow the board to waive 
violations of the requirement to respond, if warranted. This 
action is supported by the Virginia Society of Certified Public 
Accountants. 

Substance: The amendments (i) remove the list of occasions 
upon which a licensee or applicant has to respond to the board 
and replaces it with a sentence that matches language found 
in § 54.1-4425, (ii) give the board discretion in determining 
whether a delay or failure to respond is a violation, and (iii) 
remove a citation to the Code of Virginia in the last 
subsection that is no longer accurate. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is reduced 
confusion between the differing language of the regulation 
and the statute regarding the occasions requiring a response 
by a licensee. There are no primary disadvantages to the 
public. The primary advantages to the board and the 
Commonwealth is the ability to waive purported failures to 
respond to the board if warranted. There are no primary 
disadvantages to the board or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Accountancy (Board) proposes to amend the 
regulation to: 1) allow itself discretion in determining 
whether a delay or failure to respond is a violation, 2) match 
the text to that of the Code of Virginia (Code) concerning 
when a licensee or applicant has to respond to the Board, and 
3) remove an out-of-date citation to the Code. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
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Estimated Economic Impact. Code of Virginia § 54.1-
4413.4(B)(1) states that the Board may impose penalties on 
persons using the CPA title in Virginia or firms providing 
attest services, compilation services, or financial statement 
preparation services to persons or entities located in Virginia 
for "Violation of the provisions of this chapter or violation of 
any regulation,1 subpoena, or order of the Board." The current 
regulation allows 30 calendar days for licensees to respond to 
Board inquiries. Under the current regulation, licensees who 
fail to respond within 30 days receive a $100 monetary 
penalty.  

According to Board staff, the Board is aware that there may 
be extenuating facts and circumstances, such as illness, death 
in the family, or deployment, which would warrant non-
timely responses to not be deemed a violation. Thus the 
Board proposes to add the following sentence to the 
regulation: "When the requested response is not produced by 
the licensee or applicant within 30 calendar days, this 
nonproduction shall be deemed a violation of this rule, unless 
otherwise determined by the board."2 The proposed 
amendment is beneficial in that it allows the Board to waive 
the late fee when there are reasonable extenuating 
circumstances. 

Matching the regulatory text to that of the Code and removing 
an out-of-date citation to the Code would also be beneficial in 
that it would reduce the likelihood of confusion amongst 
readers. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulation 
potentially affects CPA firms and CPAs, and CPA licensure 
applicants. As of September 30, 2017, there were 27,842 
persons who held Virginia CPAs licenses, and 1,179 entities 
or sole proprietors that held Virginia CPA firm licenses. 
Annually, there are on average 1,360 total applicants for 
licensure.3 All or most CPA firms would qualify as small 
businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
do not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments do not affect the use and value of 
private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 
significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 
businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect other entities. 

_________________________ 
1Bold added. 
2Ibid. 
3Data source: Board of Accountancy 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Virginia Board of Accountancy concurs with the economic 
impact analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget.  

Summary: 

The amendments (i) modify the occasions in which a 
licensee or applicant has to respond to the board to match 
the language found in § 54.1-4425 of the Code of Virginia, 
(ii) allow the board discretion in determining whether a 
delay or failure to respond is a violation, and (iii) remove 
an out-of-date citation to the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC5-22-170. Communication between with the board 
and licensees. 

A. When requested by the board: 

1. Persons or firms applying for the issuance, renewal, or 
reinstatement of a Virginia license or for lifting the 
suspension of the privilege of using the CPA title in 
Virginia or providing attest services or compilation 
services for persons or entities located in Virginia shall 
provide the board with support for their conclusion that 
they have complied with applicable provisions of Chapter 
44 (§ 54.1-4400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 
Virginia and this chapter. 

2. Firms shall provide the board with proof of enrollment 
in a monitoring program and copies of reports and other 
documentation related to acceptance of their peer reviews. 

3. Persons or firms shall provide the board documents 
related to the board's investigation of their possible 
violation of provisions of Chapter 44 (§ 54.1-4400 et seq.) 
of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter. 

Each person or firm Pursuant to § 54.1-4425 of the Code of 
Virginia, each licensee or applicant shall respond within 30 
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calendar days to any board request for information by the 
board under this subsection regarding compliance with any 
statutes or regulations pertaining to the board or any of the 
programs that may be in another title of the Code of Virginia 
for which the board has regulatory responsibility. When the 
requested response is not produced by the licensee or 
applicant within 30 calendar days, this nonproduction shall be 
deemed a violation of this rule, unless otherwise determined 
by the board. 

B. Each holder of a Virginia license shall notify the board in 
writing within 30 calendar days of any change in the holder's 
name or in the postal and electronic addresses where the 
person or firm may be reached. 

C. The board shall transmit license renewal notices 
electronically unless a person or firm is unable to 
communicate electronically. However, § 54.1-4413.2 of the 
Code of Virginia places the The responsibility for renewing a 
Virginia license is on its holder, and that responsibility is not 
affected by whether the holder receives a license renewal 
notice. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5263; Filed August 15, 2018, 8:27 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Health 
Professions is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 
are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 
where no agency discretion is involved. The Department of 
Health Professions will receive, consider, and respond to 
petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC76-20. Regulations Governing 
the Prescription Monitoring Program (amending 
18VAC76-20-10, 18VAC76-20-20, 18VAC76-20-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2519 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 3, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Ralph Orr, Program Manager, Department 
of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4523, FAX 
(804) 527-4470, or email ralph.orr@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments add (i) Schedule V controlled substances 
for which a prescription is required, (ii) naloxone, and (iii) 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil dispensed by a 
pharmaceutical processor in Virginia as covered 
substances that must be reported to the Prescription 
Monitoring Program. 

18VAC76-20-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2519 of 
the Code of Virginia unless the context clearly indicates 
otherwise:  

"Covered substance" 

"Department"  

"Director"  

"Dispense"  

"Dispenser"  

"Prescriber"  

"Recipient"  

In addition, the following term when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meaning unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Program" means the Prescription Monitoring Program.  

18VAC76-20-20. General provisions.  

In accordance with Chapter 25.2 (§ 54.1-2519 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter, the 
Director of the Department of Health Professions shall 
establish and administer a program for monitoring the 
dispensing of Schedules II, III, and IV controlled covered 
substances, which means all controlled substances included in 
Schedules II, III, and IV; controlled substances included in 
Schedule V for which a prescription is required; naloxone; 
and any other drugs of concern identified by the Board of 
Pharmacy pursuant to § 54.1-3456.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
Covered substances also include cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil 
dispensed by a pharmaceutical processor in Virginia. 

18VAC76-20-70. Notice of requests for information.  

A. Any dispenser who intends to request information from 
the program for a recipient or prospective recipient of a 
Schedule II, III, or IV controlled substance covered substance 
shall post a sign that can be easily viewed by the public at the 
place where the prescription is accepted for dispensing and 
that discloses to the public that the pharmacist may access 
information contained in the program files on all Schedule II, 
III or IV prescriptions covered substances dispensed to a 
patient. In lieu of posting a sign, the dispenser may provide 
such notice in written material provided to the recipient, or 
may obtain written consent from the recipient. 

B. Any prescriber who intends to request information from 
the program about a patient or prospective patient shall post a 
sign that can be easily viewed by the public that discloses to 
the public that the prescriber may access information 
contained in the program files on all Schedule II, III or IV 
prescriptions covered substances dispensed to a patient. In 
lieu of posting a sign, the prescriber may provide such notice 
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in written material provided to the patient, or may obtain 
written consent from the patient.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5571; Filed August 8, 2018, 9:29 a.m.  

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 
exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 
requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 
regulations do not differ materially from those required by 
federal law or regulation. The Real Estate Appraiser Board 
will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC130-20. Real Estate Appraiser 
Board Rules and Regulations (amending 18VAC130-20-
30).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2013 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 
Estate Appraiser Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 
527-4298, or email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) eliminate the requirement for a 
licensed residential real estate appraiser license applicant 
to have an associate's degree or complete 30 semester 
credit hours of accredited college-level education; (ii) 
eliminate the requirement for a certified residential real 
estate appraiser license applicant to have a bachelor's 
degree or higher; and (iii) reduce the appraisal experience 
requirement for a licensed residential real estate appraiser 
license applicant, a certified residential real estate 
appraiser license applicant, and a certified general real 
estate appraiser license applicant. 

18VAC130-20-30. General qualifications for licensure.  

Every applicant to the Real Estate Appraiser Board for a 
certified general, certified residential, or licensed residential 
real estate appraiser license shall meet the following 
qualifications:  

1. The applicant shall be of good moral character, honest, 
truthful, and competent to transact the business of a 
licensed real estate appraiser in such a manner as to 
safeguard the interests of the public.  

2. The applicant shall meet the current educational and 
experience requirements and submit a license application 
to the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation or its agent prior to the time the applicant is 
approved to take the licensing examination. Applications 
received by the department or its agent must be complete 
within 12 months of the date of the receipt of the license 
application and fee by the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation or its agent.  

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 
statement verifying that the applicant has read and 
understands the Virginia real estate appraiser license law 
and the regulations of the Real Estate Appraiser Board.  

4. The applicant shall be in good standing as a real estate 
appraiser in every jurisdiction where licensed or certified; 
the applicant may not have had a license or certification 
that was suspended, revoked or surrendered in connection 
with a disciplinary action or that has been the subject of 
discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure 
in Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall possess a background that would not 
call into question the public trust. Each applicant shall 
submit to fingerprinting. A background investigation shall 
be conducted, which shall not reveal that he has been 
convicted, found guilty, or pled guilty or nolo contendere 
to a crime that would call into question his fitness or 
suitability to engage in the profession. The applicant must 
disclose the following: 

a. All felony convictions; and 

b. All misdemeanor convictions in any jurisdiction that 
occurred within five years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere or finding of guilt regardless 
of adjudication or deferred adjudication shall be considered 
a conviction for purposes of this subdivision.  

6. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old.  

7. The applicant shall have successfully completed the 
following education: 

a. Licensed residential classification - 150 hours for the 
licensed residential classification, 200 hours for the 
certified residential classification, and 300 hours for the 
certified general classification of approved real estate 
appraisal courses, including the 15-Hour National 
Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice 
course, from accredited colleges, universities, and junior 
and community colleges; adult distributive or marketing 
education programs; local, state, or federal government 
agencies, boards, or commissions; proprietary schools; or 
real estate appraisal or real estate related organizations. 
The required core curriculum for the certified general or 
certified residential real estate appraiser is a bachelor's 
degree or higher from an accredited college or university. 
The required core curriculum for the licensed residential 
real estate appraiser is an associate's degree or higher 
from an accredited college, junior college, community 
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college, or university. In lieu of the required degree, the 
licensed residential real estate appraiser applicant must 
complete 30 semester hours of college-level education 
from an accredited college, junior college, community 
college, or university. The classroom hours required for 
the licensed residential real estate appraiser may include 
the classroom hours required for the appraiser trainee. 
The classroom hours required for the certified residential 
real estate appraiser may include the classroom hours 
required for the appraiser trainee or the licensed real 
estate appraiser. The classroom hours required for the 
certified general real estate appraiser may include the 
classroom hours required for the appraiser trainee, the 
licensed residential real estate appraiser, or the certified 
residential real estate appraiser. All applicants for 
licensure as a certified general real estate appraiser must 
complete an advanced level appraisal course of at least 
30 classroom hours in the appraisal of nonresidential 
properties. The classroom hours required for the licensed 
residential classification may include the classroom hours 
required for the appraiser trainee. 

b. Certified residential classification - 200 hours of 
approved real estate appraisal courses, including the 15-
Hour National Uniform Standards of Professional 
Appraisal Practice course, from accredited colleges, 
universities, and junior and community colleges; adult 
distributive or marketing education programs; local, 
state, or federal government agencies, boards, or 
commissions; proprietary schools; or real estate appraisal 
or real estate related organizations. The classroom hours 
required for the certified residential classification may 
include the classroom hours required for the appraiser 
trainee or the licensed residential classification. The 
applicant shall also meet one of the following options for 
the required core curriculum: 

(1) A bachelor's degree in any field of study; 

(2) An associate's degree in a field of study related to 
business administration, accounting, finance, economics, 
or real estate; 

(3) Successful completion of 30 semester hours of 
college-level courses that cover each of the following 
specific topic areas and hours: English composition (3 
hours); microeconomics (3 hours); macroeconomics (3 
hours); finance (3 hours); algebra, geometry, or higher 
math (3 hours); statistics (3 hours); computer science (3 
hours); business law or real estate law (3 hours); and two 
elective courses in any of the topics described in this 
subdivision or in accounting, geography, agricultural 
economics, business management, or real estate (3 hours 
each); 

(4) Successful completion of at least 30 hours of College 
Level Examination Program (CLEP) examinations that 
cover each of the specific topic areas in subdivision 7 b 

(3) of this section. For purposes of this option, the CLEP 
examination for college algebra (3 hours) may be applied 
to the topic area of algebra, geometry, or higher math; the 
CLEP examination for college composition (6 hours) 
may be applied to the topic area of English composition; 
the CLEP examination for college composition modular 
(3 hours) may be applied to the topic area of English 
composition; the CLEP examination for college 
mathematics (6 hours) may be applied to the topic area of 
algebra, geometry, or higher math or statistics; the CLEP 
examination for principles of macroeconomics (3 hours) 
may be applied to the topic area of macroeconomics or 
finance; the CLEP examination for principles of 
microeconomics (3 hours) may be applied to the topic 
area of microeconomics or finance; the CLEP 
examination for introductory business law (3 hours) may 
be applied to the topic area of business law or real estate 
law; and the CLEP examination for information systems 
(3 hours) may be applied to the topic area of computer 
science; 

(5) Successful completion of at least 30 hours of any 
combination of college-level courses and CLEP 
examinations that includes all of the topics identified in 
subdivision 7 b (3); or 

(6) No college-level education. This option applies only 
to applicants who have held a licensed residential 
credential for a minimum of five years and have no 
record of any adverse, final, and nonappealable 
disciplinary action affecting the licensed residential 
appraiser's legal eligibility to engage in appraisal practice 
within the five years immediately preceding the date of 
application for a certified residential credential. 

c. Certified general classification - 300 hours of approved 
real estate appraisal courses, including the 15-Hour 
National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal 
Practice course, from accredited colleges, universities, 
and junior and community colleges; adult distributive or 
marketing education programs; local, state, or federal 
government agencies, boards, or commissions; 
proprietary schools; or real estate appraisal or real estate 
related organizations. The applicant must complete an 
advanced level appraisal course of at least 30 classroom 
hours in the appraisal of nonresidential properties. The 
classroom hours required for the certified general 
classification may include the classroom hours required 
for the appraiser trainee, the licensed residential 
classification, or the certified residential classification. 
The required core curriculum is a bachelor's degree or 
higher from an accredited college or university.  

8. The applicant shall, as part of the application for 
licensure, verify his experience in the field of real estate 
appraisal. All applicants must submit, upon application, 
sample appraisal reports as specified by the board. In 
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addition, all experience must be acquired within the five-
year period immediately preceding the date application is 
made and be supported by adequate written reports or file 
memoranda, which shall be made available to the board 
upon request.  

a. Applicants The applicant for a licensed residential real 
estate appraiser license shall have a minimum of 2,000 
1,000 hours appraisal experience, in no fewer than 12 six 
months. Hours may be treated as cumulative in order to 
achieve the necessary 2,000 1,000 hours of appraisal 
experience.  

b. Applicants The applicant for a certified residential real 
estate appraiser license shall have a minimum of 2,500 
1,500 hours of appraisal experience obtained during no 
fewer than 24 12 months. Hours may be treated as 
cumulative in order to achieve the necessary 2,500 1,500 
hours of appraisal experience.  

c. Applicants The applicant for a certified general real 
estate appraiser license shall have a minimum of 3,000 
hours of appraisal experience obtained during no fewer 
than 30 18 months. Hours may be treated as cumulative 
in order to achieve the necessary 3,000 hours of appraisal 
experience. At least 50% of the appraisal experience 
required (1,500 hours) must be in nonresidential 
appraisal assignments and include assignments that 
demonstrate the use and understanding of the income 
approach. An applicant whose nonresidential appraisal 
experience is predominately in such properties that do 
not require the use of the income approach may satisfy 
this requirement by performing two or more appraisals 
on properties in association with a certified general 
appraiser that include the use of the income approach. 
The applicant must have substantially contributed to the 
development of the income approach in such reports and 
shall provide evidence or verification of such 
contribution.  

9. Within 12 months after being approved by the board to 
take the examination, the applicant shall have registered 
for and passed a written examination developed or 
endorsed by the Appraiser Qualifications Board and 
provided by the board or by a testing service acting on 
behalf of the board. Successful completion of the 
examination is valid for a period of 24 months. 

10. Applicants for licensure who do not meet the 
requirements set forth in subdivisions 4 and 5 of this 
section may be approved for licensure following 
consideration of their application by the board.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5621; Filed August 9, 2018, 8:10 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 19. PUBLIC SAFETY 

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of State Police is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 6 of the Code of Virginia, which 
exempts agency action relating to customary military, naval, 
or police functions. 

Title of Regulation: 19VAC30-70. Motor Vehicle Safety 
Inspection Regulations (amending 19VAC30-70-3, 
19VAC30-70-4, 19VAC30-70-5, 19VAC30-70-6, 
19VAC30-70-9.1, 19VAC30-70-10, 19VAC30-70-11, 
19VAC30-70-30, 19VAC30-70-50, 19VAC30-70-60, 
19VAC30-70-90, 19VAC30-70-120, 19VAC30-70-160, 
19VAC30-70-210, 19VAC30-70-290, 19VAC30-70-350, 
19VAC30-70-360, 19VAC30-70-580, 19VAC30-70-660).  

Statutory Authority: § 46.2-1165 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 4, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Kirk Marlowe, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of State Police, P.O. Box 27472, 
Richmond, VA 23261-7472, telephone (804) 674-4606, FAX 
(804) 674-2936, or email kirk.marlowe@vsp.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments update the Motor Vehicle Safety 
Inspection Regulations by making technical corrections 
and other revisions to comply with changes in Virginia 
law, including (i) adjusting discipline for offenses; (ii) 
adding a financial stability requirement following change 
of ownership; (iii) in compliance with Chapter 400 of the 
2018 Acts of Assembly, removing the requirement for first-
come, first-served inspections; (iv) exempting nonresident 
military dependents from the requirement to have a 
Virginia driver's license for identification purposes during 
inspection; (v) requiring inspection stations to retain 
rejection sticker receipts for six months; (vi) in compliance 
with Chapter 72 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, providing 
that vehicles with certain lighting devices under certain 
circumstances may leave those devices uncovered while 
operating the vehicle on the highway; (vii) providing that 
airbags cannot be disabled in a vehicle equipped with 
them; and (viii) in compliance with Chapter 763 of the 
2018 Acts of Assembly, providing requirements for certain 
auxiliary lights on motorcycles or autocycles.  

19VAC30-70-3. Class I offenses.  

Class I offenses are unacceptable work performances less 
serious in nature, but which require correction in order to 
maintain an efficient and effective Official Motor Vehicle 
Inspection Program. A violation of any paragraph of the 
following sections of the Official Motor Vehicle Safety 
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Inspection Manual and rules and agreements not covered in 
the Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual or those 
disseminated by other means shall constitute a Class I 
offense, unless designated otherwise:  

19VAC30-70-10 A through D  

19VAC30-70-10 F through I  

19VAC30-70-10 K through O 

19VAC30-70-10 U 

19VAC30-70-20 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-30 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-40 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-50 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-60 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-70 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-80 B 3  

19VAC30-70-160 in its entirety (except subdivisions I 10 
and 11 g (2)) 12 and 13 f (2)) 

19VAC30-70-170 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-200 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-290 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-310 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-330 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-360 D 4 e and f  

19VAC30-70-410 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-440 B  

19VAC30-70-530 in its entirety (except subdivisions K 10 
i and K 11 g (2))  

19VAC30-70-540 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-570 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-660 in its entirety  

Disciplinary action for Class I offenses shall be:  

1st offense - Verbal counseling - Recorded on Form SP-
164.  

2nd offense - Written reprimand from the safety officer or 
his designee. 

3rd offense - Suspension of not less than 15 or more than 
30 days.  

Offenses shall be cumulative in nature and shall remain 
active for 24 months from date of offense. When Class II, III, 

or IV offenses are active, discipline can be written reprimand 
or suspension of not more than 60 days. 

19VAC30-70-4. Class II offenses.  

Class II offenses shall be violations of any section of the 
Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual considered 
very serious, but the consequence of such violation or 
omission is not likely to be an imminent cause or contributing 
factor to a traffic crash or other vehicle related injury. A 
violation of the following sections of the Official Motor 
Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual shall constitute a Class II 
offense unless designated otherwise:  

19VAC30-70-150 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-180 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-210 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-230 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-240 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-250 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-260 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-270 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-280 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-300 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-320 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-360 A 7 and C  

19VAC30-70-380 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-390 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-420 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-520 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-550 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-580 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-600 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-610 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-620 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-630 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-640 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-650 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-670 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-680 in its entirety  

Disciplinary action for a Class II offense shall be:  

1st Offense - Verbal counseling - Recorded on Form SP-
164.  
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2nd Offense - Written reprimand from the safety officer or 
his designee.  

3rd Offense - Suspension of not less than 30 or more than 
60 days.  

Offenses are cumulative in nature and shall remain active 
for a period of 24 months from date of offense.  

A Class II offense in combination with three Class I offenses 
shall be grounds for no less than a 30-day or more than a 60-
day suspension. When Class I, III, or IV offenses are active, 
discipline can be written reprimand or suspension of not more 
than 90 days. 

19VAC30-70-5. Class III offenses.  

Class III offenses may be violations of those sections of the 
Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual considered 
more severe in nature, and usually considered most critical 
from a safety or administrative viewpoint. They would 
include the omission of checking or improper approval of an 
item so critical to the safe operation of a motor vehicle as to 
have the potential of being the imminent cause or factor of a 
motor vehicle crash. A violation of the following sections of 
the Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual shall 
constitute a Class III offense unless designated otherwise:  

19VAC30-70-10 J and P Q 

19VAC30-70-11 in its entirety 

19VAC30-70-80 in its entirety (except subdivision B 3)  

19VAC30-70-90 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-100 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-110 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-120 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-130 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-140 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-160 I 10 h and 11 f 12 g and 13 e 

19VAC30-70-160 I 10 g and 11 g (2) 12 f and 13 f (2) 

19VAC30-70-190 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-220 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-340 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-350 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-360 A and B  

19VAC30-70-370 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-400 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-440 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-450 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-460 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-470 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-480 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-490 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-500 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-510 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-530 K 10 i and K 11 g (2)  

19VAC30-70-560 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-590 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-690 in its entirety 

Disciplinary action for a Class III offense shall be:  

1st offense - Written reprimand from the safety officer or 
his designee.  

2nd offense - Suspension for not less than 45 or more than 
90 days.  

3rd offense - Suspension for not less than 90 days or more 
than six months. 

Offenses are cumulative in nature and will remain active for 
a period of 24 months from date of offense.  

A Class III offense in combination with two Class II 
offenses or three Class I offenses shall be grounds for no less 
than a 60-day or more than a 90-day suspension. When a 
Class I, II, or IV offense is active, discipline can be written 
reprimand or suspension of any duration less than one year. 

19VAC30-70-6. Class IV offenses. 

A. Class IV offenses are those violations considered so 
critically important to the integrity and credibility of the 
Official Annual Motor Vehicle Inspection Program as to 
require immediate and severe disciplinary action. Any Class 
IV offense is grounds for suspension or revocation. The 
following violations and actions shall be considered a Class 
IV offense: 

1. Loss of driver's license, with the exception of an 
administrative court-ordered suspension that does not 
exceed seven days. 

2. Obvious usage of either alcohol or drugs by an 
employee associated with the Annual Motor Vehicle 
Inspection Program. 

3. Loss of inspection stickers through neglect or 
subsequent violations of subsection K of 19VAC30-70-10.  

4. Improper use of inspection supplies such as placement 
on a vehicle that has not been inspected or failure to affix 
the inspection sticker to the vehicle in its proper location, 
after inspection. 
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5. Falsifying inspection receipts or inspection records. 

6. Giving false information during an inspection complaint 
investigation. 

7. Performing either an inspection or inspections at a 
station without authority from the safety officer. 

8. The arrest of any person associated with the inspection 
program for a criminal offense or the institution of civil 
action of a nature that would tend to immediately reflect 
upon the integrity and reputation of the Department of 
State Police may be grounds for an immediate suspension 
until final court disposition. The conviction of A finding 
other than acquittal for any criminal offense or a civil 
judgment or bankruptcy may result in a suspension or 
revocation of the inspector or station appointment, or both. 

9. The use of profanity or verbal abuse by station owners, 
managers, or safety inspectors toward each other or 
directed at customers presenting their vehicles for 
inspection by inspectors, managers or business owners. 

10. Illegal use of inspection supplies such as stealing, 
selling, mailing or giving away, shall be grounds for 
revocation. 

11. Nonpayment of inspection fees. 

12. Conduct displayed by station owners, managers, or 
safety inspectors that may be rude or discourteous, or the 
use of profanity or verbal abuse directed at or towards 
toward Safety Division Personnel, may be grounds for 
revocation. 

13. Failure of any person connected with the inspection 
program to notify their supervising trooper or Safety 
Division Area Office within 72 hours of an arrest for a 
criminal offense or the institution of civil action. 

14. Any misuse or falsification of the automated Motor 
Vehicle Inspection Program (MVIP) system through 
neglect or intentionally allowing an assigned password or 
personal identification number (PIN) to be used by other 
persons. 

15. Willfully obtaining computer services without proper 
authority from the safety officer.  

16. Failure to adequately explain and differentiate, both 
orally and in writing, to customers what repairs are 
necessary to pass the safety inspection and those repairs 
that are only recommended. Each station shall explicitly 
(not fine print) convey to each customer when his vehicle 
will be examined beyond the parameters of the state 
inspection and empower the customer with the ability to 
decline this service. 

17. Allowing a suspended or revoked safety inspector to 
perform predelivery inspections (PDIs) or have access to 
inspection supplies, which may be grounds for suspension 

or revocation of the station appointment and an additional 
suspension or revocation for the inspector. 

B. Disciplinary action for a Class IV offense shall be 
immediate suspension or revocation. A suspension shall not 
be less than 90 days or more than six months. A revocation 
shall not be less than one year or more than three years. A 
revocation shall not be less than one year or more than three 
years. A suspension shall constitute any period of time less 
than a year and shall not be less than 90 days. Offenses are 
cumulative in nature and will remain active for a period of 24 
months from the date of the offense. For a subsequent 
violation within 24 months, the suspension shall not be less 
than six months or more than one year or revocation shall be 
no less duration than the prior discipline received. 

C. In the case of the loss of the driver's license, the 
suspension shall remain in effect until the driver's license is 
reinstated and consideration for reinstatement of inspection 
privileges will be made at that time. 

D. In cases concerning nonpayment of fees when the 
inspection station has been given 15 days to reply to a final 
notice, the suspension of the affected inspection station shall 
remain in effect until all inspection fees are paid. 
Consideration for reinstatement of inspection privileges will 
be made when all fees are paid. Furthermore, stations that 
have not paid their processing fee after the 15-day period will 
not be issued any additional inspection supplies. Supply 
orders may resume when the inspection fee is paid and the 
station has been reinstated to an active status. 

A Class IV offense in combination with three Class I 
offenses, two Class II offenses, or one Class III offense shall 
be grounds for no less than a 90-day or more than a six-month 
suspension. 

19VAC30-70-9.1. Official inspection station appointment. 

A. These procedures are applicable to the application 
process for initial appointment, reclassification of 
appointment, change in ownership, change in name, and 
reinstatement of the appointment for an official inspection 
station following a period of suspension or revocation. 

For investigations involving changes to the original report, 
only those areas of inquiry which that have changed need to 
be reported.  

For changes in station name, location, and classification 
only, a narrative report is not required. These requests may be 
reported on the Form SP-164. This report should include 
information pertinent to the change. A statement should be 
included to report verification of information contained in the 
station's new application for appointment. 

1. Any garage or other facility that routinely performs 
motor vehicle, motorcycle, or trailer repairs may apply to 
the Department of State Police in writing for appointment 
as an Official Safety Inspection Station. 
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a. The Department of State Police will forward an 
application package to the applicant. 

b. The application form or forms are to be completed and 
returned to the supervising trooper processing the 
application within 45 days. 

c. The application shall include the names, addresses, 
email addresses, telephone numbers, dates of birth, and 
social security numbers for the applicant and each person 
who will supervise or otherwise participate in the 
program. Each person will also be required to execute an 
Authorization for Release of Information Form and a 
Criminal History Record Request (Form SP-167). When 
a corporation with other established inspection stations is 
applying for an additional location, it shall not be 
necessary for the corporate officers to complete the Form 
SP-167 or undergo the usual background investigation. In 
these situations, the Department of State Police is only 
concerned with the personnel who will be responsible for 
handling and securing the safety inspection supplies.  

2. Each inspection station application will be reviewed and 
the applicant must meet the following criteria: 

a. The facility must have been in business at its present 
location for a minimum of six months. 

(1) This requirement will not apply to a change in 
location for a previously appointed station or a change in 
ownership which does not affect the station's ability to 
perform safety inspections. 

(2) This requirement will not apply to a repair garage that 
is an established business and is expanding its 
mechanical convenience to the general public by the 
addition of other repair locations. 

(3) This requirement will not apply to a business license 
as a franchised dealer of new vehicles. 

b. The facility must perform motor vehicle, motorcycle, 
or trailer repairs routinely. 

c. The station must have on hand or be willing to 
purchase the necessary equipment as identified by the 
Department of State Police for performing safety 
inspections.  

d. The station must employ or be willing to employ at 
least one full time full-time safety inspector with the 
appropriate license for the desired station's classification. 

e. The facility's physical plant must meet the specific 
standards for the station classification for which the 
appointment is required. 

3. Each applicant station must undergo a background 
investigation to determine if the business and associated 
personnel meet the following minimum criteria: 

a. A review of the history of management and all persons 
employed who will participate in the inspection program 
must reflect general compliance with all federal, state, 
and local laws. 

b. The character, attitude, knowledge of safety inspection 
requirements, mechanical ability, and experience of each 
individual who will perform or supervise safety 
inspections must be satisfactory. 

c. The applicant and all participants must be familiar with 
and agree to comply with the Official Motor Vehicle 
Inspection Manual. Each vehicle presented for safety 
inspection must be inspected in strict compliance with 
the Code of Virginia and the Official Motor Vehicle 
Inspection Manual.  

d. The business establishment must be financially stable. 
Its future existence should not be dependent upon 
appointment as an inspection station. The applicant and 
all persons to be associated with the inspection program 
must be in compliance with any judgment order or 
meeting all financial obligations, or both. The applicant 
and all persons to be associated with the inspection 
program must be in good financial standing for a period 
of at least one year. 

Following any change in ownership, new ownership must 
show financial stability for a minimum of six months 
prior to their official inspection station appointment. 

4. Each business must agree to provide the necessary 
space, equipment, and personnel to conduct inspections as 
required by the Department of State Police. Facilities and 
equipment will be maintained in a manner satisfactory to 
the superintendent. All safety inspectors will read and be 
thoroughly familiar with the instructions furnished for 
Official Inspection Stations and agree to abide by these 
instructions and to carefully inspect every motor vehicle, 
trailer, and semi-trailer presented for inspection as required 
by the Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual. 
Businesses must operate inspection stations in strict 
accordance with the Code of Virginia and the Official 
Motor Vehicle Inspection Manual. The appointment of an 
inspection station may be canceled at any time by the 
superintendent and will be automatically canceled if any 
change in address, name, or ownership is made without 
proper notification. 

5. Any applicant whose application is rejected or 
withdrawn may not reapply sooner than six months from 
the date he is notified of the rejection of his application or 
from the date the application is withdrawn. 
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6. Each business to be appointed will be assigned one of 11 
classifications based upon the physical plant specifications 
or other criteria as follows: 

a. Unlimited: The inspection lane shall be level or on the 
same plane and in good condition for 60 feet. The front 
portion of the lane shall be level or on the same plane for 
a minimum of 40 feet. The entrance shall be at least 13-
1/2 feet in height and no less than nine feet in width. 
(Space should be adequate to allow a tractor truck towing 
a 53-foot trailer access to the inspection lane.) 

b. Small exemption: The inspection lane shall be level or 
on the same plane for 40 feet. The entrance opening shall 
be at least 10 feet in height, eight feet in width, and 
adequate to accommodate vehicles 40 feet in length. Any 
vehicle exceeding 10 feet in height may be inspected if 
the building entrance will allow such vehicle to 
completely enter the designated inspection lane. 

c. Large exemption: The inspection lane shall be level or 
on the same plane and in good condition for 60 feet. The 
front portion of the lane shall be level or on the same 
plane for a minimum of 40 feet. The entrance shall be at 
least 13-1/2 feet in height and no less than nine feet in 
width. (Space should be adequate to allow a tractor truck 
towing a 53-foot trailer access to the inspection lane.) 
This classification is required to inspect only vehicles 
with a GVWR exceeding 10,000 pounds. 

d. Motorcycle: The inspection lane shall be level or on 
the same plane. The entrance shall be adequate to 
accommodate the motorcycle and the operator. 

e. Unlimited trailer: The inspection lane shall be 
reasonably level and in good condition for 60 feet. The 
entrance shall be at least 13-1/2 feet in height and no less 
than nine feet in width. This classification is required to 
inspect all trailers. 

f. Small trailer exemption: The inspection lane shall be 
reasonably level and in good condition for 40 feet. The 
entrance shall be at least 10 feet in height and adequate to 
accommodate trailers 40 feet in length. This 
classification is required to inspect only those trailers not 
exceeding 40 feet in length or 10 feet in height measured 
to the highest part of the trailer but not including racks, 
air conditioners, antennas, etc. 

g. Large trailer exemption: The inspection lane shall be 
reasonably level and in good condition for 60 feet. The 
entrance shall be at least 13-1/2 feet in height and 
adequate to accommodate all legal size trailers. This 
classification is required to inspect only property-
carrying trailers exceeding 10 feet in height or 40 feet in 
length. 

h. Safety and emissions: The inspection lane shall be 
level or on the same plane. The lane must accommodate 

most passenger cars and light trucks. The emissions 
equipment must be placed in the lane at a location to 
allow the inspected vehicle to be positioned with all four 
wheels on the floor or on an above-ground ramp on a 
plane to the floor to accommodate headlight aiming and 
other required inspection procedures. Any above-ground 
structure must be constructed so as to permit proper 
steering, suspension, brake, and undercarriage inspection 
as outlined in the Official Motor Vehicle Safety 
Inspection Manual. A list of local inspection stations that 
can accommodate vehicles that cannot be safety 
inspected due to the pretenses of emissions equipment 
must be maintained and available for customers. A 
"bottle" jack or other appropriate lifting equipment may 
be used for safety inspection on above-ground structures.  

i. Private station: The inspection lane shall be level or on 
the same plane. The entrance and size must be adequate 
to accommodate any vehicle in the fleet. An applicant 
who owns and operates less than 20 vehicles will not be 
considered. 

j. Private station (fleet service contractor): The inspection 
lane shall be level or on the same plane. The entrance and 
size must be adequate to accommodate any vehicle in the 
fleet to be inspected. This classification will permit the 
inspection of all vehicles that the applicant has a written 
agreement to service and repair. An applicant who does 
not have at least six written agreements to service private 
fleets with at least five vehicles in each fleet or at least 
one written agreement to service a private fleet with at 
least 30 vehicles in the fleet will not be considered for 
this type of appointment. Vehicles not covered by a 
written agreement for service, and repair, other than the 
vehicles owned by the applicant's company or 
corporation, shall not be inspected by a garage having 
this type of classification. 

k. Private station (government): The inspection lane shall 
be level or on the same plane. The entrance and size must 
be adequate to accommodate any vehicle in the fleet to 
be inspected. This classification will permit the 
inspection of all vehicles in the government entity's fleet, 
the fleet of any volunteer or paid fire department, or any 
other unit or agency of the government structure having a 
written agreement with such governmental entity for 
repair, inspection service, or both. An applicant for this 
classification must own or have a written agreement to 
inspect 30 or more vehicles. Vehicles not owned by or 
covered by a written agreement shall not be inspected by 
a garage having this type of classification.  

7. Classifications listed in subdivisions 6 a through 6 h of 
this subsection must be open to the public and have at least 
one safety inspector available to perform inspections 
during normal business hours as set forth in 19VAC30-70-
10. 
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8. Private inspection station classifications may be 
assigned to businesses or governmental entities with fixed 
garage or repair facilities operating or contracting with 
vehicle fleets.  

B. A representative of any official inspection station may 
apply to the Department of State Police in writing to request a 
change of the station's status.  

1. An application form or forms will be forwarded to the 
applicant. 

2. The applicant will complete the application form or 
forms and contact the Department of State Police in 
keeping with the application instructions. Applications will 
include all data as set forth in this section. 

3. A Safety Division trooper will be assigned to complete 
the appropriate investigation to affect the change. A 
change in status investigation will include: 

a. A review of the existing station file. 

b. An update of the file to include personnel, facility, or 
other significant changes. Criteria for appointment and 
background investigation procedures for a change in 
status will be in keeping with this section. 

c. Official inspection stations will be permitted to 
continue to perform safety inspections during a change of 
ownership investigation provided at least one safety 
inspector is retained from the prior owner. 

d. If disqualifying criteria is revealed, the station's 
appointment shall be canceled until final disposition of 
the application is made or until issues of disqualifying 
criteria are resolved.  

C. Once an official inspection station has been suspended, 
regardless of the cause for the suspension, management may 
request reinstatement up to 60 days prior to the expiration of 
the suspension period. Stations whose appointments are 
revoked may complete the application process as set forth for 
original appointments after the expiration of the period of 
revocation. 

1. The applicant station must submit a letter to Safety 
Division Headquarters (Attention: Station Files) requesting 
reinstatement. 

2. An application package will be forwarded to the 
applicant. 

3. The completed application forms are to be returned to 
Safety Division Headquarters (Attention: Station Files). 

4. After review, the application package is forwarded to the 
appropriate Safety Division Area Office for investigation. 

a. The trooper assigned to the investigation will compare 
the information in the new application package to the 
information in the existing files. 

b. The investigation will focus on any changes or 
inconsistencies. 

c. The applicant station must meet all criteria for 
appointment as set forth in this section. 

d. Any applicant whose application for reinstatement is 
rejected or withdrawn may not reapply sooner than six 
months from the date he is notified of the rejection or 
withdrawal of the application. 

D. Failure to comply with the provisions of this section shall 
be grounds for termination of the application process or 
cancellation of the official inspection station's appointment. 
An applicant having an application terminated or an official 
inspection station having an appointment canceled for 
noncompliance may not reapply for a period of one year.  

Part II  
Inspection Requirements  

19VAC30-70-10. Official inspection station requirements. 

A. Official inspection stations, except private appointments, 
shall be open at least eight hours of each normal business day 
and shall be able to perform inspections 12 months 
throughout the year, except during illness of limited duration 
or normal vacation. 

1. Normal business hours, Monday through Friday, are 
defined as an eight-hour period of time between 8 a.m. and 
6 p.m. 

2. Stations are not prohibited from performing inspections 
at times other than during normal business hours. 

3. A station that advertises inspections beyond normal 
business hours shall be able to perform such inspections. 

4. If a station desires to maintain business hours that are 
different from those defined in this section, written 
permission must be obtained from the safety officer and a 
sign setting forth the inspection hours must be posted 
conspicuously at the station where it can be observed by a 
person desiring to have a vehicle inspected. 

B. At least one full-time safety inspector to perform 
inspections and one inspection lane meeting the minimum 
requirements shall be available for inspection at all times 
during the normal business day. All inspections must be made 
only at the locations and in the inspection lane approved by 
the Department of State Police. All stations shall have other 
lanes, bays, or areas in which repairs can be made so the 
inspection lane can remain available. 

The designated inspection areas, including any location 
where customers are permitted to enter when submitting 
vehicles for inspection, must be kept clean and free from 
excessive dirt, grease, and loose materials. If requested, 
customers presenting vehicles for inspection shall be allowed 
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to observe the inspection process from a safe location 
designated by the station. 

C. Inspection station facilities must be properly maintained 
and must present a businesslike appearance to the general 
public. Property adjacent to the inspection station that is 
owned or controlled by the station must be free of debris, 
litter, used parts and junk vehicles. Vehicles properly 
contained within fenced storage areas shall be deemed to 
comply with this requirement. 

D. Inspections shall be performed on a first-come, first-
served basis. "First-come, first-served" means a procedure 
whereby customers seeking an inspection shall be attended to 
in the order that they arrive to the station. Motorists shall not 
be required to make an appointment to obtain an inspection, 
except those appointments Official inspection stations may, at 
their discretion, accept vehicles on a first-come, first served 
basis or by prescheduled appointments for the safety 
inspection of a motor vehicle pursuant to § 46.2-1157 of the 
Code of Virginia. Appointments shall be made for those 
motorists that are required by subdivision A 12 of § 46.2-
1158.01 of the Code of Virginia. Stations that take in vehicles 
for inspection at the beginning of the work day shall not be 
required to stop inspecting those vehicles to provide an 
inspection for a drive-in request, provided inspections are 
currently being performed at the time and will continue 
throughout the day. Stations must maintain a procedure to 
validate when vehicles were brought to the station for 
inspection. Inspections shall begin concurrently with repair 
lanes during the station's normal business hours, without 
delay. Stations may suggest to motorists a timeframe of no 
greater than three hours during which it may be anticipated 
that an inspection may be provided. Stations shall cooperate 
fully with Department of State Police personnel regarding any 
issues detailed in this section, as with all other investigations.  

In addition to accepting vehicles on a first-come, first-served 
basis, any official inspection station consisting of two or more 
inspection lanes may accept prescheduled appointments for 
the safety inspection of a motor vehicle pursuant to § 46.2-
1157 of the Code of Virginia, so long as at least one lane is 
reserved for the sole purpose of first-come, first-served safety 
inspections. An additional certified safety inspector shall be 
available to perform those inspections that are made by an 
appointment. 

Stations shall make every effort to keep the designated 
inspection lanes available. Stations with more than one repair 
bay shall not perform work in the designated inspection lanes 
when customers are waiting for an inspection. This will not 
apply to minor adjustments that require minimal time to 
perform. Stations shall not let vehicles occupy the designated 
inspection lanes while awaiting parts or customer 
authorization to complete the inspection pursuant to 
19VAC30-70-60. 

E. Safety inspectors, managers who supervise inspection 
activities, and business owners, through participation in the 
Official Motor Vehicle Inspection Program, are 
representatives of the Department of State Police and should 
conduct themselves in a manner to avoid controversy in 
dealing with customers presenting vehicles for inspection. 
The use of profanity or verbal abuse directed at customers 
presenting their vehicles for inspection will be grounds for 
suspension from participation in the inspection program and 
will be considered a Class IV offense as set forth in 
19VAC30-70-6. 

Controversy that cannot be calmly resolved by the safety 
inspector, managers, and owners should be referred to the 
supervising trooper for handling. 

F. The "Certificate of Appointment" must be framed under 
glass or clear plastic and posted in the customer waiting area 
where it can be observed and read by a person submitting a 
vehicle for inspection. 

Inspection stations must have garage liability insurance in 
the amount of at least $500,000 with an approved surplus 
lines carrier or insurance company licensed to write such 
insurance in this Commonwealth. This requirement shall not 
apply to inspection stations that only inspect their company-
owned, government-owned, or leased vehicles. 

G. The required "Official Inspection Procedure" sheet and 
the "Direct Inquiries" sheet furnished to each station must 
both be framed under glass or clear plastic and posted 
conspicuously in the customer waiting area where they can be 
observed and read by a person submitting a vehicle for 
inspection. 

H. The poster designating the station as an official 
inspection station shall be posted in a prominent location, 
outside or visible outside the station, to alert passersby that 
inspection services are available. Private inspection stations 
shall not display an outside poster. 

I. Each official inspection station shall display a list with the 
names and license expiration dates of all employees licensed 
to inspect at that station each active inspector associated to 
the station within the MVIP system, adjacent to the certificate 
of appointment. All inspectors listed must be actively 
employed by the station. The Official Motor Vehicle Safety 
Inspection Manual will be kept at or near the point of 
inspection for ready reference. The manual may be kept in 
written or electronic form. 

J. Important -- Any change in name, ownership or location 
of any official inspection station cancels the appointment of 
that station, and the Department of State Police must be 
notified immediately. The department shall be notified when 
an official inspection station discontinues operation. 

K. All inspection supplies, inspection binders and manual, 
unused stickers, duplicates of certificates issued, bulletins and 
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other forms are the property of the Department of State Police 
and must be safeguarded against loss. 

L. Inspection supplies issued to an inspection station can be 
used only by that station and are not to be loaned or reissued 
to any other station. 

1. Stations must maintain a sufficient supply of approval 
stickers, trailer and motorcycle approval stickers, rejection 
stickers and inserts. When reordering supplies, station 
owners or managers shall request sufficient supplies to 
sustain their business for at least six months. However, it is 
realized that a few stations will not be able to comply with 
the six-month requirement since there is a maximum of 
100 books per order limit. Also, when ordering supplies, 
the following information should be considered so that the 
station does not order an excessive amount of supplies: 
each book of approval stickers contains 25 stickers, the 
rejection book contains 50 stickers, the month inserts are 
packaged in strips of 50 each, and trailer and motorcycle 
decals are five per strip. In December of each year, a 
supply of year inserts will be shipped to each station based 
on the station's previous year's usage. In November, each 
station shall check its stock of month inserts and order 
what is needed for the months of January through June. In 
May, the same should be done for the months of July 
through December. 

2. Inspection stations that exhaust any type of their supply 
of supplies, such as approval stickers, trailer and 
motorcycle approval stickers, rejection stickers, and or 
inserts shall immediately stop performing new inspections 
all inspection operations and contact their supervising 
trooper or the nearest Safety Division Area Office. 

M. All losses of stickers must be reported immediately to 
the supervising inspection trooper or the nearest Safety 
Division Area Office. 

N. Every precaution against the loss of stickers must be 
taken. If the loss occurs through carelessness or neglect, a 
suspension of the station may result. 

O. Manuals, bulletins, other regulations and lists of 
approved equipment must be available at all times for 
reference and may be kept in written or electronic form. 
Revisions to the Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual will 
be sent to each station electronically through the MVIP 
system. Station management shall be responsible to see that 
each safety inspector is familiar with all bulletins and manual 
revisions and shall be required to furnish evidence to the 
department that all bulletins and manual revisions have been 
reviewed by each licensed inspector. 

A copy of the diagram drawn by the investigating trooper, 
showing the approved inspection lane or lanes, will be 
maintained for review and kept available with the station's 
inspection supplies.  

P. Private appointment may be made of company stations or 
government stations that own and operate a minimum of 20 
vehicles and they may inspect only company-owned or 
government-owned vehicles respectively. When authorized 
by the department, they may inspect vehicles of a wholly-
owned subsidiary or leased vehicles. 

1. A private station may perform inspections during each 
month of the year or may elect to inspect only during 
certain designated months. 

2. A private station not electing to inspect vehicles every 
month of the year that finds it necessary to inspect a 
vehicle during a month other than those selected for 
inspection may issue a sticker to the vehicle from the 
nearest past inspection month. 

Q. All official inspection station owners, managers, and 
certified safety inspectors shall comply with the Virginia 
inspection laws and the inspection rules and regulations and 
will adhere to all instructions given by the supervising trooper 
or the Safety Division. Reports of violations will be 
investigated and, if found to be valid, may result in the 
suspension of the station, suspension of the inspector, 
possible court action, or other appropriate action, or any 
combination of these actions. Repeated violations or serious 
violations may result in a revocation of the inspector or 
station appointment, or both, by the superintendent. 

R. The arrest of any person associated with the inspection 
program for a criminal offense of a nature that would tend to 
immediately reflect upon the integrity and reputation of the 
Department of State Police may be grounds for an immediate 
suspension and the conviction for such an offense may result 
in a revocation of the station's appointment. 

S. When a station has been suspended or revoked, it must 
release to an employee of the Department of State Police all 
inspection supplies, posters, and papers including the 
certificate of appointment. Failure to do so is a violation of 
§ 46.2-1172 of the Code of Virginia. 

T. The authority of the superintendent to suspend the 
designation or appointment of an official inspection station as 
provided in § 46.2-1163 of the Code of Virginia, or to 
suspend the certification of an inspector designated to 
perform inspections at an official inspection station, and, in 
keeping with the provisions of § 46.2-1166 of the Code of 
Virginia, is hereby delegated to any of the following 
supervisory ranks of the Department of State Police: 
Lieutenant Colonel, Major, Captain, Lieutenant, First 
Sergeant and Sergeant. 

U. Each station must purchase and keep in proper operating 
condition the following equipment: computer, printer, internet 
connection, paper hole punch, black ball point pen or pens or 
black marker or markers, sticker scraper with replacement 
razor blades, tire tread depth gauge, amp meter, headlight and 
auxiliary lamp adjustment tools, 12-inch ruler, 25-foot 
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measuring tape, torque wrench or torque sticks, brake 
pads/shoes/disc/drum measuring device, dial indicator, 
micrometer, pry bars, roller jack (at least 4-ton), and an 
approved type optical headlight aiming device. Each station 
that requests an additional inspection lane that is not in close 
proximity to the originally approved inspection lane must 
purchase an additional approved headlight machine for each 
lane that meets the minimum requirements. Stations are 
required to have one of the following headlight aiming 
devices effective January 1, 2013: the: Hopkins Vision1, 
Hopkins Vision 100, American Aimers Vision 100, American 
Aimers Vision 2 Pro, or the Symtech (former L.E.T.), DVA-
6, HBA-5, PLA-11, and PLA-12. This shall not apply to 
"trailer-only" inspection stations. 

19VAC30-70-11. Automated Motor Vehicle Inspection 
Program (MVIP). 

A. Effective March 1, 2011, the automated Motor Vehicle 
Inspection Program (MVIP) was implemented. The MVIP 
system will enable the Safety Division and inspection stations 
to more efficiently record and retain data, thereby enhancing 
the overall operation of the program.  

B. Passwords or personal identification numbers (PINs) 
shall only be used by the person to whom they were assigned. 

C. Automated stations shall order all supplies via the MVIP 
system. Stations will ensure supplies are ordered no more 
than once per month.  

D. Once a certified safety inspector completes an inspection, 
he will be required to immediately enter the inspection 
information via the MVIP system. In the event there is an 
MVIP or internet connection failure, inspectors will complete 
the corresponding receipt provided in the approval or 
rejection sticker book. A manual copy will be given to the 
customer or placed in the vehicle, while the original will 
remain in the book. Inspections performed during such 
outages shall be entered into MVIP by the inspector 
performing the inspections and done so by the close of 
business of the day MVIP connectivity is restored. 

E. All stations and inspectors are required to verify the 
accuracy of the information entered through the MVIP system 
to include: 

1. One copy of the official safety inspection 
approval/rejection approval or rejection receipt shall be 
printed on 8-1/2 by 11 inch white paper and given to the 
customer or placed in the vehicle. The size of the print on 
the receipt shall not be reduced. In the event of MVIP or 
internet connection failure, the corresponding manual 
receipt from the book shall take the place of the MVIP 
generated receipt. 

2. The printed official inspection receipt number shall 
correspond with the issued decal.  

3. The complete vehicle identification number (VIN) shall 
be verified before submitting the inspection through the 
MVIP system and printing the official inspection receipt.  

F. When a station has a voided decal, it must be entered into 
MVIP by the inspector. Once entered, the receipt shall be 
printed, attached to the decal, and retained until the 
supervising trooper's next visit. The supervising trooper will 
be responsible for destroying the voided sticker and a Form 
SP-164 will not be required. 

G. Once a book of stickers is completed, station Station 
management shall ensure that all decals stickers are 
accounted for and all information has been entered correctly 
into the MVIP system. Completed books approval or 
rejection receipts shall be retained by the station for a period 
of six months. At the end of the six-month period, used 
receipts shall be destroyed by burning or shredding.  

19VAC30-70-30. Inspector requirements. 

A. The inspection of motor vehicles required by these rules 
and regulations shall be made only by those individuals who 
are certified and licensed as safety inspectors by the 
Department of State Police. The procedures outlined in this 
section are applicable to the processing of applications for 
initial certification, reclassification of safety inspector's 
licenses, and reinstatement of suspended or revoked safety 
inspector's licenses. 

B. All certified inspectors shall be at least 18 years of age. In 
addition, all certified inspectors shall have:  

1. A minimum of one year of practical experience as an 
automotive mechanic or six months of practical experience 
as an automotive mechanic combined with an additional 
and separate six months of mirroring a certified state 
inspector, or 

2. Satisfactorily completed a training program in the field 
of automotive mechanics approved by the Superintendent 
of State Police.  

A person who has met either of the practical experience 
requirements in repairing motorcycles may be certified to 
inspect motorcycles only and a person who meets them in 
repairing trailers may be certified to inspect trailers only.  

C. Each mechanic entering the inspection program will be 
required to satisfactorily pass a written and practical 
examination exhibiting his knowledge of the inspection 
procedures.  

D. Each certified inspector shall possess a valid Virginia 
driver's license with the following exceptions:  

1. An inspector who is a resident of an adjoining state 
holding a valid driver's license in that state and who 
commutes regularly to work in Virginia; or  
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2. A member of the armed forces of the United States on 
active duty, or a dependent thereof, who holds a driver's 
license from his home state.  

E. An inspector whose driver's license is suspended or 
revoked, including the seven-day administrative suspension 
for a DUI arrest, must immediately notify the station's 
supervising trooper or the local Safety Division Area Office 
of the suspension or revocation. The suspension or revocation 
of an inspector's driver's license shall automatically act as a 
suspension of his privilege to inspect motor vehicles until 
such suspension or revocation is terminated and the 
reinstatement has been made by the Superintendent of State 
Police.  

F. Each licensed safety inspector must have a valid safety 
inspector's license in his possession at all times while 
conducting inspections.  

G. Each safety inspector with a valid safety inspector's 
license need only present such valid license to his new 
employer to commence participation in the program at his 
new place of employment. Management of the inspection 
station is required to notify the Safety Division when a safety 
inspector begins or ends employment. This may be handled 
by contacting the Safety Division Headquarters in Richmond 
by telephone.  

H. An inspector must promptly notify the Safety Division in 
writing of any change in his home address as shown on the 
safety inspector's license. In the event the license becomes 
mutilated, lost or stolen, the inspector must notify the 
Department of State Police immediately in writing, requesting 
a duplicate. The Safety Inspector Notification Form shall be 
used and all requested information should be printed plainly 
and completely. For those inspectors who are not employed, 
write "Inactive" in the station name block. In those cases 
where notification is being made due to an address change, it 
will be necessary to: (i) fill out the form completely and (ii) 
retain a copy of the form and license until a permanent (new) 
license is received. In those cases where the license has been 
lost, stolen or mutilated, complete steps in clauses (i) and (ii) 
as set forth in this subsection. The notification form may be 
duplicated as necessary.  

I. An inspector must immediately notify the station's 
supervising trooper or local Safety Division Area Office of an 
arrest for a criminal offense or the institution of a civil action.  

J. Requirements for safety inspector applicants with a 
specific learning disability: 

1. Applicants will be required to furnish documentation 
from the particular school division where the applicant was 
classified as having a learning disability. The specific 
learning disability will be clearly identified. 

2. Once the learning disability has been documented, and if 
applicable, the applicant will be allowed to test with the 
written exam being orally presented.  

3. The station management where the applicant is 
employed or to be employed must agree to have someone 
present during the hours the employee is conducting 
inspections to assist with the reading of the Official Motor 
Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual when necessary during 
the initial three-year certification period. If the inspector 
changes stations within the first three-year period, it is the 
inspector's responsibility to notify station management of 
his disability and this requirement.  

19VAC30-70-50. Approval stickers and decals. 

A. If the vehicle meets all inspection requirements, the 
certified safety inspector performing the inspection shall 
immediately enter the receipt information via the MVIP 
system.  

The inspection sticker is not valid unless the rear portion is 
completed with the vehicle make, year built, license plate 
number (dealer name if a dealer tag is displayed), body type, 
and the complete vehicle identification number (VIN). The 
inspection sticker shall be completed using black indelible 
ink. 

B. Approval stickers and decals shall be issued according to 
the following schedule:  

ANNUAL PROGRAM 

Vehicles inspected in January are issued stickers bearing the 
Number "1" 
Vehicles inspected in February are issued stickers bearing 
the Number "2" 
Vehicles inspected in March are issued stickers bearing the 
Number "3" 
Vehicles inspected in April are issued stickers bearing the 
Number "4" 
Vehicles inspected in May are issued stickers bearing the 
Number "5" 
Vehicles inspected in June are issued stickers bearing the 
Number "6" 
Vehicles inspected in July are issued stickers bearing the 
Number "7" 
Vehicles inspected in August are issued stickers bearing the 
Number "8" 
Vehicles inspected in September are issued stickers bearing 
the Number "9" 
Vehicles inspected in October are issued stickers bearing 
the Number "10" 
Vehicles inspected in November are issued stickers bearing 
the Number "11" 
Vehicles inspected in December are issued stickers bearing 
the Number "12" 
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All February annual inspection stickers for trailer and 
motorcycle decals (#2) due to expire at midnight, February 28 
automatically will be valid through midnight February 29 
each leap year. 

C. The numeral decal indicating the month of expiration 
shall be inserted in the box identified as month and the 
numeral decal indicating the year of expiration shall be 
inserted in the box identified as year of the approval sticker 
and the trailer or motorcycle sticker. Extreme care should be 
used by inspectors in applying these inserts. On all 
windshields, the sticker is to be placed at the bottom left 
corner of the windshield when viewed from the inside of the 
vehicle. The left edge of the sticker is to be placed as close as 
practical, but no closer than one inch to the left edge of the 
windshield when viewed from the inside of the vehicle. The 
top edge of the sticker is to be approximately four inches 
from the bottom of the windshield when viewed from the 
inside of the vehicle. 

On passenger vehicles not equipped with a windshield, the 
sticker shall be placed on or under the dash and protected in 
some manner from the weather. 

EXCEPTIONS: On vehicles equipped with heating and grid 
elements on the inside of the windshield, the sticker shall be 
placed one inch above the top of the grid element and the left 
edge of the sticker shall be approximately one inch to the 
right of the left edge of the windshield when viewed from the 
inside of the vehicle. 

Any sticker or decal required by the laws of any other state 
or the District of Columbia and displayed upon the 
windshield of a vehicle submitted for inspection in the 
Commonwealth is permitted by the superintendent, provided 
the vehicle is currently registered in that jurisdiction, and the 
sticker is displayed in a manner designated by the issuing 
authority and has not expired. In these cases, if the sticker or 
decal is located where the inspection sticker is to be placed, it 
will not be removed unless the owner or operator authorizes 
its removal. The inspection sticker will be placed 1/4 inch to 
the right of the sticker or decal when viewed from the inside 
of the vehicle without removing or overlapping the sticker or 
decal. 

D. The Code of Virginia requires that the inspection sticker 
be displayed on the windshield or at other designated places 
at all times. The inspection sticker cannot be transferred from 
one vehicle to another. 

EXCEPTION: If the windshield in a vehicle is replaced, a 
valid sticker may be removed from the old windshield and 
placed on the new windshield. 

E. The sticker issued to a motorcycle shall be affixed to the 
left side of the cycle where it will be most visible after 
mounting. The sticker may be placed on a plate on the left 
side where it will be most visible and securely fastened to the 

motorcycle for the purpose of displaying the sticker. The 
sticker may be placed horizontally or vertically. 

F. Trailer stickers will be issued to all trailers and 
semitrailers required to be inspected. (No boat, utility, or 
travel trailer that is not equipped with brakes shall be required 
to be inspected.) 

G. All inspected trailers must display a trailer sticker on that 
particular vehicle. These stickers are to be placed on the left 
side of the trailer near the front corner. The sticker must be 
affixed to the trailer body or frame. In those instances where a 
metal back container with a removable transparent cover has 
been permanently affixed to the trailer body, the sticker may 
be glued to it. The container must be permanently mounted in 
such a manner that the sticker must be destroyed to remove it. 

H. In all other cases involving unusually designed trailers 
such as pole trailers, the safety inspector is to exercise his 
own good judgment in placing the sticker at a point where it 
will be as prominent as possible and visible for examination 
from the left side. 

I. Motorcycles have a separate sticker that is orange and 
issued with the prefix M. Trailers have a separate sticker that 
is blue and issued with the prefix T. The trailer and 
motorcycle receipts are completed in the same manner as 
other inspection receipts. 

J. Appointed stations will keep sufficient inspection supplies 
on hand to meet their needs. Requests for additional supplies 
shall be ordered via the MVIP system. Requests for supplies 
that are to be picked up at the Safety Division Headquarters 
must be made at least 24 hours prior to pick up.  

Packing slips mailed with inspection supplies will be kept 
on file at the station for at least 24 months. 

K. All unused center inserts used to indicate the month that a 
sticker expires, in possession of the inspection station at the 
end of each month, shall be retained by the inspection station, 
properly safeguarded, and used in the inspection of vehicles 
for that particular month in the following year or be disposed 
of as directed by the Department of State Police. 

All inspection supplies that are voided, damaged, disfigured 
or become unserviceable in any manner, will be returned to 
the Safety Division. New replacement supplies will be issued 
to the station. Expired stickers will be picked up by the 
station's supervising trooper. 

L. All voided approval or rejection stickers will be picked 
up by the station's supervising trooper. 

M. The MVIP system approval or rejection printed receipt 
shall be given to the owner or operator of the vehicle. In the 
event of an MVIP or internet connection failure, manual 
receipts from the approval and rejection books shall be 
utilized.  
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N. All yellow receipt copies of approval stickers and decals 
will be retained in the books and shall be kept on file at the 
station for at least six months. They may be inspected by any 
law-enforcement officer during normal business hours. 

O. Safety Division troopers may replace inspection stickers 
that have separated from the windshield of motor vehicles and 
become lost or damaged without conducting an inspection of 
the safety components of the vehicle. Such replacement of 
inspection stickers shall be made only in accordance with the 
following provisions: 

1. A vehicle owner or operator complaining of the loss or 
damage to the inspection sticker on the windshield of their 
vehicle due to separation of the sticker from the windshield 
shall be directed to the nearest Safety Division Area Office 
or Safety Division trooper. 

2. Safety Division troopers, upon receipt of a complaint 
from a vehicle owner or operator that their inspection 
sticker has been stolen, lost or become damaged due to 
separation from the windshield, will make arrangements to 
meet the person to effect the replacement of the sticker. A 
vehicle owner or operator alleging theft of the inspection 
sticker will furnish proof to the Safety Division trooper 
that such theft has been reported to the proper law-
enforcement authority. 

3. The vehicle owner or operator must produce the original 
safety inspection approval sticker receipt indicating a valid 
approval inspection sticker was issued to the vehicle within 
the past 11 months. (The vehicle must be reinspected if the 
expiration of the original inspection sticker is in the month 
the request is being made.) 

4. The Safety Division trooper will verify by the inspection 
receipt that the vehicle was issued an approval inspection 
sticker within the past 11 months and will then issue a 
replacement inspection sticker to the vehicle. If any 
obvious equipment defects are detected during the 
replacement process, the vehicle will not be issued a 
replacement approval sticker.  

5. The Safety Division trooper will complete the inspection 
sticker receipt for the approval sticker from information 
contained on the original receipt. The date the replacement 
sticker is issued will be used in the date space. In the space 
for Inspection Related Charges, the trooper will insert the 
word "REPLACEMENT" and the sticker number from the 
original inspection receipt. 

6. The Safety Division trooper will sign the receipt 
vertically in the O.K. column in the "Equipment Inspected" 
blocks. These blocks will not otherwise be completed. 

7. The Safety Division trooper shall place month and year 
inserts on the inspection sticker to reflect the expiration as 
shown on the original approval inspection sticker and place 

the inspection sticker on the windshield in accordance with 
the requirements of subsection C of this section. 

8. The Safety Division trooper will enter the replacement 
information into the MVIP system. 

P. New vehicle safety inspections. 

1. Section 46.2-1158.01 of the Code of Virginia allows an 
employee who customarily performs the inspection 
requirement of a manufacturer or distributor of new motor 
vehicles to place an inspection sticker furnished by the 
Department of State Police on the vehicle once it has met 
the requirements of that manufacturer or distributor. This 
employee does not have to be a certified safety inspector. 

2. With the addition of other personnel using Department 
of State Police inspection supplies, a system shall be 
developed at each inspection station to afford 
accountability of all supplies. The system shall include 
proper safeguards to prevent the loss of supplies through 
carelessness, neglect, theft, or unauthorized use. 

3. Inspection stations shall not mix annual state inspections 
with predelivery inspections (PDI) in the same book of 
inspection stickers. 

4. All employees shall be reminded that anyone who 
performs inspections, whether it be for the annual 
inspection or the PDI inspection, is subject to criminal 
prosecution if inspection supplies are used illegally or used 
in some other unauthorized way. 

5. Station management and licensed safety inspectors are 
subject to administrative sanctions for any misuse of 
inspection supplies. 

6. The inspection receipts shall be completed as usual with 
the following exceptions: On the "inspector" line, the 
initials "PDI" (for predelivery inspection) and the printed 
employee's name performing the inspection shall be 
entered. On the "inspector's license number" line, the 
letters "N/A" shall be entered. In the equipment inspected 
section, the words "New Vehicle" shall be entered in the 
"adjust" column. The PDI employee performing the 
inspection shall sign his name in the "O.K." column. 

19VAC30-70-60. Rejection stickers. 

A. Only one rejection sticker shall be issued to any one 
vehicle. A rejection sticker shall not be issued to any vehicle 
already bearing such a sticker or to one which bears evidence 
of previously being issued a rejection sticker. When a vehicle 
is bearing a valid or expired rejection sticker, it is not to be 
removed unless the vehicle meets all of the inspection 
requirements. 

B. A vehicle rejected by one station may be reinspected by 
another station if the owner desires to have this done; 
however, that station shall perform a complete inspection of 
the vehicle. 
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C. Reinspection of a rejected vehicle by the same station 
during the 15-day validity of the rejection sticker need 
include only a check of the items previously found defective, 
unless there is an obvious equipment defect that would 
warrant further rejection of the vehicle. Such reinspection will 
not constitute a complete inspection and a $1.00 fee may be 
charged. Furthermore, if a vehicle returns for reinspection 
within the 15-day period, the rejecting station will reinspect 
the vehicle without delay or at the reasonable conclusion of 
the current inspection being performed. 

1. If additional defects are detected during reinspection of a 
vehicle previously rejected, the vehicle will not be issued 
an approval sticker. 

2. No vehicle bearing a valid rejection sticker shall be 
entitled to receive more than two reinspections by the 
rejecting station during the validity period of the rejection 
sticker. 

3. The validity period of the rejection sticker shall be 15 
days in addition to the day of inspection. 

4. Any vehicle that is presented for inspection at another 
inspection station after the 15-day validity period, if the 
vehicle was rejected for brakes, and the inspector cannot 
determine which wheels were checked, then all four 
wheels will be removed to ensure that all repairs or defects 
have been corrected. 

D. If repairs are to be made to a rejected vehicle that would 
necessitate removing the vehicle from the inspection lane, no 
rejection sticker need be issued; however, the vehicle must be 
returned to an approved lane for a recheck of the rejected 
items and the application of the approval sticker. 

E. If the vehicle does not meet all the requirements and the 
owner does not authorize immediate repairs, and if a rejection 
sticker has not already been issued, a rejection sticker shall be 
legibly filled out in its entirety with a black ball point pen. 
The certified safety inspector performing the inspection shall 
immediately enter the receipt information via the MVIP 
system. The complete vehicle identification number (VIN), 
tag number or car dealer name if a dealer tag is attached, 
mileage, year, make, and model shall be included. A circle to 
indicate which wheels were pulled to check the brakes and an 
individual mark shall be placed in each equipment block of 
the rejection sticker that was pertinent to the rejection. In 
addition, information may be written on any blank area as to 
the exact nature of the rejection (i.e., front brakes vs. rear 
brakes). The date of issue shall be punched, and the sticker 
affixed to the same location as indicated in subsections C, E, 
and G of 19VAC30-70-50. (When affixed to a trailer or 
motorcycle, the face of the rejection sticker shall be attached 
to the trailer or motorcycle in order to allow the rejection data 
on the back side to be read.) 

F. The operator of the rejected vehicle shall be informed of 
the following: 

1. The rejection sticker is valid for 15 days in addition to 
the date of inspection. 

2. The rejection sticker places no travel restriction on the 
operation of the vehicle and is issued in lieu of an approval 
sticker. 

3. The vehicle operator is legally responsible for any defect 
if operated on the highway and may be subject to a traffic 
summons for any existing equipment violation. 

G. Duplicate copies (pink) of rejection stickers shall be 
forwarded, in numerical order, to the Safety Division by the 
fifth of the month following the month of inspection. The 
yellow copy shall be retained, in numerical order, by the 
station for at least 24 months. All receipt copies of rejection 
stickers will be retained in the books and shall be kept on file 
at the station for at least six months. They may be inspected 
by any law-enforcement officer during normal business 
hours. 

19VAC30-70-90. Brakes: emergency, parking, or holding; 
batteries. 

A. Some vehicles are equipped with an actual emergency 
brake, while others have only a parking or holding brake. 
Some types may be actuated by a foot or hand lever, while 
others may incorporate a switch or valve to actuate the brake. 
Air and vacuum brake systems may employ spring activating 
parking brakes. 

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Vehicle or combination of vehicles is not equipped with 
a parking, holding, or emergency brake in good working 
order of the type installed as original standard factory 
equipment for the vehicle on which it is installed. 

2. The parking brake actuating mechanism does not fully 
release when the control is operated to the off position or if 
the parking brake lamp light remains on. 

NOTE: The light does not apply to vehicles that are not 
equipped with a parking (emergency) brake indicator light. 

3. Any mechanical parts are missing, broken, badly worn, 
or are inoperative. 

4. Cables are stretched, worn, or frayed or not operating 
freely. 

5. Grease or other similar-type contamination is present on 
the linings, drums, or rotors.  

6. Parking brake will not hold the vehicle stationary with 
the engine running at slightly accelerated speed with shift 
lever in drive position for automatic transmission or shift 
lever in low gear with clutch engaged for standard shift 
transmission. 
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7. Holding brake will not disengage when engine is started 
and vehicle is placed in drive. Holding brake will not hold 
vehicle stationary with foot on holding brake and vehicle 
in drive. 

8. On vehicles equipped with automatic transmissions, the 
vehicle will start in any gear other than (P) park and (N) 
neutral. If the gearshift indicator does not identify the park 
(P) and neutral (N) positions, then the vehicle shall be 
rejected. 

9. On vehicles equipped with manual transmissions, the 
vehicle will start in any gear if the clutch is not depressed 
or disengaged. 

NOTE: This will not apply to older model vehicles, which 
were not originally equipped with a neutral-safety switch, 
clutch disengagement system or clutch pedal position 
sensor by the manufacturer. 

10. The accelerator does not disengage after being 
depressed, allowing the engine to return to a normal idle 
speed.  

C. Battery mounting and storage. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. A battery is not securely attached to a fixed part of the 
motor vehicle or trailer. A battery is not protected by a 
removable cover or enclosure if the battery is installed in a 
location other than the engine compartment. 

2. All brackets, hardware, bolts, and bushings used for 
securely mounting the battery to the vehicle are not 
present. 

3. Removable covers or enclosures are not substantial and 
are not securely latched or fastened. 

4. The battery compartment does not have openings to 
provide ample battery ventilation and drainage. 

5. Whenever the cable to the starting motor passes through 
a metal compartment, the cable shall be protected against 
grounding by an acid and waterproof insulating bushing. 

6. Whenever a battery and a fuel tank are both placed 
under the driver's seat, (i) the battery and fuel tank are not 
partitioned from each other or (ii) each compartment is not 
provided with an independent cover, ventilation, and 
drainage. 

19VAC30-70-120. Frame, engine mounts, coupling devices 
and emergency chains. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Frame or unitized body of any motor vehicle, trailer or 
semitrailer is broken, cracked, bent or damaged at any 
location, including any welded joint and/or or is rusted or 
corroded to the point the frame is weakened as to 
reasonably constitute a hazard during the operation of the 
vehicle. 

2. Engine or transmission mounts and hardware is broken 
or missing. This includes all hardware bolts and bushings 
used for mounting to the vehicle's frame, engine, or 
transmission. Any engine or transmission mount shall be 
rejected if they allow the power train to come in contact 
with the firewall or other body parts. Cab Any body, truck 
bed, or bumper mounts or mounting hardware shall be 
rejected if they do not properly secure the body these 
components to the frame as originally designed. 

3. Trailer hitch or pintle hook is not securely attached. 
Reject if the pintle eye or trailer drawbar has any cracks or 
if any welding repairs have been made to the pintle eye. 

4. Chains, cables, etc., used to attach a towed vehicle are 
not securely attached or are broken, worn or abraded. 

5. Fifth wheel does not lock in position or have a locking 
mechanism in proper working order. 

6. Fifth wheel assembly system has any leak of fluid or air. 

7. Fifth wheel has any broken, missing, or damaged parts; 
or is not securely attached to the frame. 

8. Trailer king pin is not secure, or is broken or worn so as 
to prevent secure fit in fifth wheel. 

9. Any movement is detected at any location where any 
device has been placed between the body and the chassis. 

10. Trailer is not equipped with an emergency chain or 
steel cable. 

NOTE: Fifth wheel assembly system does not require an 
emergency chain or cable. A fifth wheel is defined as a 
device which interfaces with and couples to the upper 
coupler assembly of a semitrailer. The upper coupler 
assembly is a structure consisting of an upper coupler 
plate, king pin and supporting framework which interfaces 
with and couples to a fifth wheel. Ball and socket 
connections also referred to as hitch and coupling 
connections are not fifth wheel assemblies and do require 
an emergency chain or steel cable. 

19VAC30-70-160. Auxiliary lamps: backup; cornering; 
driving; fog; spot and warning. 

A. Auxiliary lamps on a vehicle consist of seven general 
types: backup lamps (SAE-R), cornering lamps (SAE-K), 
driving lamps (SAE-Y), front fog lamps with an amber or 
clear lens (SAE-F) and rear fog lamps with red lens (SAE-
F2), spot lamps (SAE-O), warning lamps (SAE-W, W2, W3), 
and daytime running lamps (DRLs) (SAE-Y2). 

B. School buses may be equipped with an eight-lamp 
warning system of two red and two amber warning lamps of 
an approved type (SAE-W2) on the front and rear of such 
vehicle. 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 1 Virginia Register of Regulations September 3, 2018 

79 

1. School buses may also be equipped with roof-mounted 
flashing white or amber warning lamps of an approved 
type (SAE-W2). 

2. In addition to required warning lamps, school buses may 
be equipped with a stop signal arm consisting of an 
octagonal sign which meets FMVSS specifications 
(Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards, 49 CFR Part 
571). The stop signal arm shall be reflectorized or be 
equipped with two red warning lamps of an approved type. 

C. There is no limit on the number of backup lamps that a 
vehicle may have so long as they are of an approved type 
(SAE-R). 

D. No more than four lamps, including two headlamps, may 
be lighted at any time to provide general illumination ahead 
of the vehicle. 

E. Approved type (DOT or SAE-W) blue or blue and red 
lights are permitted on Department of Corrections vehicles 
designated by the Director of the Department of Corrections 
and any law-enforcement vehicle. 

1. Approved type secondary warning lights installed only 
on the four corners, on law-enforcement vehicles, 
Department of Corrections, fire apparatus, government-
owned vehicle operated on official business by a local fire 
chief or other local fire official, rescue squad vehicle, 
ambulance, or any other emergency medical vehicles. 
These lights shall also have primary warning lights 
installed. 

2. The hide-away or undercover strobe lights shall be 
installed in the side marker lights, tail lights or parking 
lights. The strobe itself must be clear and the lens color 
must continue to be the same type and color as originally 
approved. It will not be permissible to install the hide-away 
lights in the headlights. 

3. Approved type (SAE-W) red warning lights or red and 
white lights showing to the front are permitted on fire 
department vehicles, including publicly-owned state forest 
warden vehicles, ambulances, any rescue vehicle used for 
emergency calls, local department of emergency 
management, animal warden vehicles, school buses and 
vehicles used by security personnel at the Newport News 
Shipbuilding and Drydock Company, Bassett-Walker, 
Incorporated, the Tultex Corporation, the Winchester 
Medical Center, or the National Aeronautics and Space 
Administration's Wallops Flight Facility. 

4. No more than two flashing or steady-burning red lights 
or red and white combination lights of an approved type 
(SAE-W) may be installed on one vehicle owned by any 
member of a fire department, volunteer fire company or 
volunteer rescue squad, any ambulance driver employed by 
a privately-owned ambulance service, and any police 
chaplain. 

F. Vehicles mentioned in subsection E of this section 
permitted to be equipped with flashing, blinking or 
alternating red, red and white, blue, or blue and red 
emergency lights (except vehicles owned by any member of a 
fire department, volunteer fire company, volunteer rescue 
squad or any ambulance driver employed by a privately-
owned ambulance service) may be equipped with the means 
to flash their headlamps when their emergency warning lamps 
are activated provided: 

1. The headlamps are wired to allow either the upper beam 
or lower beam to flash but not both. 

2. The headlamp system includes a switch or device which 
prevents flashing of headlamps when headlamps are 
required to be lighted pursuant to current statute. 

3. Emergency vehicles in Chesapeake, Poquoson, and York 
County may be equipped with flashing headlights that will 
function whenever their warning lights are activated. 

G. Any firefighting vehicle, ambulance, rescue or life-saving 
vehicle, Virginia Department of Transportation vehicle, or 
tow truck may be equipped with clear auxiliary lamps which 
shall be used exclusively for lighting emergency scenes. Such 
lamps shall be of a type permitted by the superintendent. Any 
government-owned police vehicle may be equipped with clear 
auxiliary lamps of a type approved by the superintendent. 

H. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 
alternating lights are permitted on vehicles used for the 
principal purpose of towing or servicing disabled vehicles or 
in constructing, maintaining and repairing highways or 
utilities on or along public highways and vehicles used for the 
principal purpose of removing hazardous or polluting 
substances from the state waters or drainage areas on or along 
public highways. Such lamps are permitted on vehicles used 
for servicing automatic teller machines, refuse collection 
vehicles, hi-rail vehicles and on vehicles used for towing or 
escorting over-dimensional materials, equipment, boats, or 
manufactured housing units by authority of highway hauling 
permit. 

1. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 
alternating lights are permitted on fire apparatus, 
government-owned vehicles operated on official business 
by a local fire chief or other local fire official, rescue squad 
vehicles, ambulances, and any other emergency medical 
vehicles to be equipped with alternating blinking or 
flashing red, or red and white secondary lights mounted 
inside the vehicle's tail lights or marker lights. 

2. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 
alternating lights are permitted on vehicles owned and used 
by municipal safety officers in the performance of their 
official duties, businesses providing security services and 
vehicles used to collect and deliver the United States mail, 
vehicles used by law-enforcement personnel in the 
enforcement of laws governing motor vehicle parking, 
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government-owned law-enforcement vehicles provided the 
lights are used for giving directional warning, and vehicles 
used to provide escort for funeral processions. 

3. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 
alternating lights are permitted on vehicles used as pace 
cars, security vehicles, or firefighting vehicles by any 
speedway or motor vehicle race track. 

4. An approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 
alternating light may be mounted on the rear of any vehicle 
used to transport petroleum products. The light must be 
wired through the reverse gear circuit and activate in 
conjunction with the back-up lights and audible alarm. 

5. An approved type (SAE-W) green warning light is 
permitted on vehicles used by police, firefighting, or rescue 
personnel as command centers at the scene of incidents. 
Such lights shall not be activated while the vehicle is 
operating upon the highway. 

6. Approved type (DOT or SAE-W) colored warning lights 
may be used by dealers or businesses engaged in the sale 
of fire, emergency medical services, or law-enforcement 
vehicles. They may, for demonstration purposes, equip 
such vehicles with colored warning lights. 

I. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Vehicle has an auxiliary Auxiliary lamp is being used 
for a purpose other than for which it was is manufactured 
or previously approved by the superintendent. 

2. Auxiliary lamp does not have a clear lens. 

3. Any reflector in such auxiliary lamp device is not clear. 

EXCEPTION: Any EXCEPTIONS: An auxiliary lighting 
device that is both covered and not illuminated, other than 
lamps required, unlit shall not be considered for inspection. 
An auxiliary lighting device that has a clear lens, has clear 
reflectors, and is unlit shall not be considered for 
inspection. Fog and driving lamps mounted below the level 
of the regular headlamps must be checked for aim as 
outlined in subdivisions I 10 i and I 11 g 12 h and 13 f of 
this section if not covered. 

NOTE: The covers shall be a type that would be installed 
as original equipment and not tape, paper bags, aluminum 
foil or similar materials per subdivision I 11 g (2) of this 
section. 

2. 4. A vehicle has installed on it a warning lamp (DOT or 
SAE-W) that is not of an approved type or has been 
altered. 

Reject if the vehicle has wire, unapproved lens or plastic 
covers, any other materials that are not original equipment 
or any colored material placed on or in front of any 
auxiliary lamps: backup, cornering, driving, fog, spot, or 
warning lamps. 

3. 5. Motor vehicles may be equipped with more than two 
fog or auxiliary lights; however, only two of these types of 
lights can be illuminated at any time. Reject a vehicle 
equipped with a headlamp mounted or used as an auxiliary 
lamp. 

4. 6. Vehicle is equipped with an auxiliary lamp that does 
not function properly. (If an auxiliary lamp has been 
modified by removing the wiring, bulb and socket, the unit 
will be considered an ornament and not a lamp and will not 
be considered in inspection.) 

5. 7. Vehicle is equipped with a lighted advertising sign, 
except commercial motor vehicles, buses operated as 
public carriers, taxicabs, and privately-owned passenger 
cars used for home delivery of commercially prepared 
food. Commercial motor vehicles, buses operated as public 
carriers, and taxicabs may be equipped with vacant and 
destination signs and one steady burning white light for the 
nighttime illumination of external advertising. Privately-
owned passenger cars used for home delivery of 
commercially prepared food may be equipped with one 
steady burning white light for the nighttime illumination of 
a sign identifying the business delivering the food. Do not 
reject approved identification lights. 

6. 8. Any lamp is not of an approved type or if lamps to be 
burned together as a pair do not emit the same color light. 

7. 9. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may 
have one or more cracks provided an off-color light does 
not project through the crack or cracks. Taping or gluing 
cracks or pieces is not permitted. 

8. 10. Backup lamps are not required. However, if installed 
they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Lamps Required lamps are not of an approved type 
(DOT or SAE-R) or a lamp has been altered; 

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn; 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 
one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 
project through the crack or cracks. Taping or gluing 
cracks or pieces is not permitted; 

d. Lens is other than clear. LED (light-emitting diode) 
lights with a clear lens are acceptable if of an approved 
type. For those vehicles that are equipped with a multiple 
LED light (not filament-burning bulbs), they will pass 
inspection if more than 50% of the diode lights are 
burning; 

e. Lamps are not wired into the reverse gear. Vehicles 
manufactured without backup lamps may be wired into 
an independent circuit.  
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9. 11. Cornering lamps are not required. However, if 
installed they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Lamps Required lamps are not of an approved type 
(DOT or SAE-K) or a lamp has been altered; 

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn; 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 
one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 
project through the crack or cracks. Taping or gluing 
cracks or pieces is not permitted; 

d. The color of the light is other than clear or amber; 

e. The lamps do not burn in conjunction with the turn 
signals. 

10. 12. Driving lamps are not required. However, if 
installed they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Driving lamps are installed on vehicles equipped with 
the four-headlamp system, except the "F" type headlamp 
system; 

b. A vehicle is equipped with more than two driving 
lamps; 

c. Driving lamps are not of an approved type or have 
been altered; 

d. c. The color of the lamp is other than white; 

e. d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated 
away from its proper position. The lens may have one or 
more cracks provided an off-color light does not project 
through the crack or cracks. Taping or gluing cracks or 
pieces is not permitted; 

f. e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective; 

g. f. Any driving lamp is mounted above the level of the 
regular headlamps, or is not mounted firmly to prevent 
excessive vibration; 

h. g. Driving lamps are not wired so that they will burn 
only when the high beams of the regular headlamps are 
activated; 

i. h.  Driving lamps are not aimed so that the center of the 
hot spot drops three inches in 25 feet so that the hot spot 
is directly ahead of the lamp. 

NOTE: Driving lamps must be aimed using the optical 
headlight aimer. A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is 
allowed in both the horizontal and the vertical 
adjustment. 

11. 13. Fog lamps are not required. However, if installed 
they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. A vehicle may be equipped with more than two fog 
lamps; however, not more than two fog lamps can be 
illuminated at any time; 

b. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-F on 
front or F2 on rear plus two-digit year and manufacturer) 
or a lamp has been altered;  

c. The lens is other than clear or amber. Fog lamps may 
have black-end bulbs or small metal caps over the end of 
the bulb; 

d. c. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated 
away from its proper position. The lens may have one or 
more cracks provided an off-color light does not project 
through the crack or cracks. Taping or gluing cracks or 
pieces is not permitted; 

e. d. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn; 

f. e. Any fog lamp is mounted above the level of the 
regular headlamps, or is not mounted firmly; 

g. f. Lamps are not wired and aimed according to the 
following instructions: 

(1) Fog lamps are general illumination lamps as covered 
in subsection A of this section. They must burn through 
the tail light circuit even if on a separate switch. If 
installed on a vehicle with a four-headlamp system, or a 
vehicle equipped with driving lamps, they must be wired 
into the low beam circuit. 

(2) Fog lamps must be aimed so that the top edge of the 
high intensity zone is set at the horizontal centerline and 
the left edge of the high intensity zone is set at the 
vertical centerline. (Same as low beam headlights.) 

NOTE: Fog lamps must be aimed using the optical 
headlight aimer. A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is 
allowed in both the horizontal and the vertical 
adjustment. 

12. 14. Spot lamps are not required; however, if installed 
they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Vehicle is equipped with more than two spot lamps; 

b. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-O) 
or a lamp has been altered; 

c. The lens in any spot lamp is other than clear; 

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 
from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 
cracks provided an off-color light does not project 
through the crack or cracks. Taping or gluing cracks or 
pieces is not permitted; 
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e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn. 

13. 15. Daytime running lamps (DRLs) are not required. 
However, if installed they must operate and be inspected. 
DRLs must be installed in pairs. 

NOTE: DRLs may or may not be wired into the tail light 
circuit. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Any lamp, except headlamps, used as DRLs if not an 
approved type (SAE-Y2) and is not marked "DRL"; 

b. Fog lamps or parking lamps are used as DRLs; 

c. More than one pair of lamps is used and designated as 
DRLs; 

d. A DRL is mounted higher than 34 inches measured to 
the center of the lamp; 

e. The color is other than white to amber; 

f. DRLs do not deactivate when the headlamps are in any 
"on" position. 

Any DRL optically combined with a turn signal or hazard 
lamp must deactivate when the turn signal or hazard lamp 
is activated and then reactivate when the turn signal or 
hazard lamp deactivates. 

19VAC30-70-210. Glass and glazing. 

A. Motor vehicles may be inspected without windshields, 
side glasses, or any kind of glazing, except that any motor 
vehicle other than a motorcycle that was manufactured, 
assembled, or reconstructed after July 1, 1970, must be 
equipped with a windshield. If glass or other glazing is 
installed, it must be inspected. If no windshield is installed, 
see 19VAC30-70-50 C for location of the sticker. 

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle manufactured or assembled after 
January 1, 1936, or any bus, taxicab or school bus 
manufactured or assembled after January 1, 1935, is not 
equipped throughout with safety glass, or other safety 
glazing material. (This requirement includes slide-in 
campers used on pickups or trucks, caps, or covers used on 
pickup trucks, motor homes, and vans.) 

2. Any safety glass or glazing used in a motor vehicle is 
not of an approved type and properly identified (refer to 
approved equipment section). (Replacement safety glass 
installed in any part of a vehicle other than the windshield 
need not bear a trademark or name, provided the glass 
consists of two or more sheets of glass separated by a 
glazing material, and provided the glass is cut from a piece 
of approved safety glass, and provided the edge of the 
glass can be observed.) 

NOTE: A number of 1998 and 1999 model year Ford 
Contour/Mystique, Econoline and Ranger vehicles were 
produced without the AS-1 windshield marking as required 
by FMVSS #205. Ford has certified that these vehicles' 
windshields meet all performance standards and will not be 
rejected. 

3. Any glass at any location where glass is used is cracked 
or broken so that it is likely to cut or injure a person in the 
vehicle. 

4. Windshield has any cloudiness more than three inches 
above the bottom, one inch inward from the outer borders, 
one inch down from the top, or one inch inward from the 
center strip. The bottom of the windshield shall be defined 
as the point where the top of the dash contacts the 
windshield. 

5. Any distortion or obstruction that interferes with a 
driver's vision; any alteration that has been made to a 
vehicle that obstructs the driver's clear view through the 
windshield. This may include large objects hanging from 
the inside mirror or mounted to the windshield, cell phone 
mounts, GPS devices, CB radios or tachometers mounted 
on the dash or windshield, hood scoops, and other 
ornamentation on or in front of the hood that is not 
transparent. 

a. Any hood scoop installed on any motor vehicle 
manufactured for the year 1990 or earlier model year 
cannot exceed 2-1/4 inches high at its highest point 
measured from the junction of the dashboard and the 
windshield. 

b. Any hood scoop installed on any motor vehicle 
manufactured for the 1991 or subsequent model year 
cannot exceed 1-1/8 inches high at its highest point 
measured from the junction of the dashboard and the 
windshield. 

6. Windshield glass, on the driver's side, has any scratch 
more than 1/4 inch in width and six inches long within the 
area covered by the windshield wiper blade, excluding the 
three inches above the bottom of the windshield. A 
windshield wiper that remains parked within the driver's 
side windshield wiper area shall be rejected. 

EXCEPTION: Do not reject safety grooves designed to 
clean wiper blades if the grooves do not extend upward 
from the bottom of the windshield more than six inches at 
the highest point. 

7. There is a pit, chip, or star crack larger than 1-1/2 inches 
in diameter at any location in the windshield above the 
three-inch line at the bottom. 

8. At any location in the windshield above the three-inch 
line at the bottom (as measured from the junction of the 
dash board and the windshield) there is more than one 
crack from the same point if at least one of the cracks is 
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more than 1-1/2 inches in length. There is any crack that 
weakens the windshield so that one piece may be moved in 
relation to the other. (If there is more than one crack 
running from a star crack that extends above the three-inch 
line, the windshield shall be rejected.) 

EXCEPTION: Windshield repair is a viable option to 
windshield replacement. A windshield that has been 
repaired will pass inspection unless: 

a. It is likely to cut or injure a person. 

b. There is any distortion that interferes with a driver's 
vision. 

c. The windshield remains weakened so that one piece 
may be moved in relation to the other. 

d. The integrity of the windshield has obviously been 
compromised by the damage or the repair.  

9. Any sticker is on the windshield other than an official 
one required by law or permitted by the superintendent. 
Authorization is hereby granted for stickers or decals, to 
include those required by any county, town, or city, 
measuring not more than 2-1/2 inches in width and four 
inches in length to be placed in the blind spot behind the 
rear view mirror. The normal location for any required 
county, town, or city sticker is adjacent to the right side of 
the official inspection sticker when viewed from inside the 
vehicle. The top edge of the sticker is to be approximately 
four inches from the bottom of the windshield. The left 
side edge adjacent to the official inspection sticker shall 
not be more than 1/4 inch from the right edge of the 
official inspection sticker when viewed from inside the 
vehicle. Valid Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance 
(CVSA) inspection decals or similar commercial vehicle 
inspection decal issued by local law enforcement may be 
placed at the bottom right corner of the windshield when 
viewed from inside the vehicle. The top edge of such 
decals are to be approximately four inches from the bottom 
of the windshield when viewed from inside the vehicle and 
are to be located outside the area swept by the windshield 
wipers.  

Any sticker or decal required by the laws of any other state 
or the District of Columbia and displayed upon the 
windshield of a vehicle submitted for inspection in this 
state is permitted by the superintendent, provided the 
vehicle is currently registered in that jurisdiction, and the 
sticker is displayed in a manner designated by the issuing 
authority and has not expired. This includes vehicles with 
dual registration; (i.e., Virginia and the District of 
Columbia).  

NOTE: Any Virginia registered vehicle displaying a valid 
sticker or decal required by a county, town, or city is 
permitted by the superintendent to remain in its current 
location through December 31, 2018, unless such location 

conflicts with the inspection sticker placement. This 
provision will afford localities time to enact changes to 
regulations governing required stickers or decals that may 
be impacted by the 2018 inspection sticker placement 
change. 

NOTE: Toll transponder devices may be affixed to the 
inside center of the windshield at the roof line just above 
the rear view mirror. If space does not allow, then the 
transponder device may be affixed to the immediate right 
of the mirror at the roof line. 

NOTE: A licensed motor vehicle dealer may apply one 
transponder sticker no larger than one inch by four inches 
and one barcode sticker no larger than three inches by four 
inches to the driver's side edge of a vehicle's windshield to 
be removed upon the sale or lease of the vehicle provided 
that it does not extend below the AS-1 line. In the absence 
of an AS-1 line the sticker cannot extend more than three 
inches downward from the top of the windshield. 

NOTE: Any vehicle displaying an expired sticker or decal 
on its windshield at the time of inspection, excluding a 
rejection sticker, shall not be issued an approval sticker 
unless the owner or operator authorizes its removal. A 
rejection sticker will be issued versus an involuntary 
removal.  

10. Sunshading material on the windshield or words, 
lettering, numbers or pictures on the windshield that do not 
extend below the AS-1 line will not be considered for 
inspection or three inches downward from the top of the 
windshield in the absence of an AS-1 line. In the absence 
of an AS-1 line sunshading material on the windshield 
displaying words, lettering, numbers or pictures cannot 
extend more than three inches downward from the top of 
the windshield, unless Sunshading is permitted on the 
windshield if authorized by the Virginia Department of 
Motor Vehicles and indicated on the vehicle registration. 

NOTE: Vehicles with permitted sunshading on the 
windshield must have a cut-out to accommodate the direct 
application of an approval or rejection sticker to the 
windshield in the location indicated in 19VAC30-70-50 C 
of 19VAC30-70-60 E. 

NOTE: Vehicles with logos made into the glass at the 
factory meet federal standards and will pass state 
inspection. 

11. Any sunscreening material is scratched, distorted, 
wrinkled or obscures or distorts clear vision through the 
glazing.  

12. Front side windows have cloudiness above three inches 
from the bottom of the glass or other defects that affect the 
driver's vision or one or more cracks that permit one part of 
the glass to be moved in relation to another part. Wind 
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silencers, breezes or other ventilator adaptors are not made 
of clear transparent material.  

EXCEPTION: Colored or tinted ventvisors that do not 
exceed more than two inches from the forward door post 
into the driver's viewing area are permitted.  

13. Glass in the left front door cannot be lowered so a hand 
signal can be given. (This does not apply to vehicles that 
were not designed or manufactured for the left front glass 
to be lowered, provided the vehicle is equipped with 
approved turn signals.) If either front door has the glass 
removed and material inserted in place of the glass that 
could obstruct the driver's vision.  

EXCEPTION: Sunscreening material is permissible if the 
vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side.  

14. Any sticker or other obstruction is on either front side 
window, rear side windows, or rear windows. (The price 
label, fuel economy label and the buyer's guide required by 
federal statute and regulations to be affixed to new or used 
vehicles by the manufacturer shall normally be affixed to 
one of the rear side windows.) If a vehicle only has two 
door windows, the labels may be affixed to one of these 
windows. If a vehicle does not have any door or side 
windows the labels may be temporarily affixed to the right 
side of the windshield until the vehicle is sold to the first 
purchaser.  

NOTE: A single sticker no larger than 20 square inches in 
area, if such sticker is totally contained within the lower 
five inches of the glass in the rear window if a vehicle has 
only one outside mirror, a single sticker or decal no larger 
than 10 square inches located in an area not more than 
three inches above the bottom and not more than eight 
inches from the rearmost edge of either front side window, 
is permissible and should not be rejected.  

A single sticker issued by the Department of 
Transportation to identify a physically challenged driver, 
no larger than two inches by two inches, located not more 
than one inch to the rear of the front door post, or one inch 
to the rear of the front ventilator glass, if equipped with a 
ventilator glass and no higher than one inch from the 
bottom of the window opening, is permitted on the front 
driver's side window on a vehicle specially equipped for 
the physically challenged.  

15. Rear window is clouded or distorted so that the driver 
does not have a view 200 feet to the rear. 

EXCEPTIONS: The following are permissible if the 
vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side: 

a. There is attached to one rear window of such motor 
vehicle one optically grooved clear plastic right angle 
rear view lens, not exceeding 18 inches in diameter in the 
case of a circular lens or not exceeding 11 inches by 14 
inches in the case of a rectangular lens, which enables the 

operator of the motor vehicle to view below the line of 
sight as viewed through the rear window. 

b. There is affixed to the rear side windows, rear 
window, or windows of such motor vehicle any sticker or 
stickers, regardless of size. 

c. There is affixed to the rear side windows, rear window, 
or windows of such motor vehicle a single layer of 
sunshading material.  

d. Rear side windows, rear window, or windows is 
clouded or distorted.  

19VAC30-70-290. Seat belts; definitions.  

A. Definitions:  

"Bus" means a motor vehicle with motive power designed to 
carry more than 10 persons.  

"Designated seating position" means any plain view 
(looking down from the top) location intended by the 
manufacturer to provide seating accommodations while the 
vehicle is in motion, except auxiliary seating 
accommodations as temporary or folding jump seats.  

"Front outboard designated seating positions" means those 
designated seating positions for the driver and outside front 
seat passenger (except for trucks which have the passenger 
seat nearest the passenger side door separated from the door 
by a passageway used to access the cargo area).  

"GVWR" means Gross Vehicle Weight Rating as specified 
by the manufacturer (loaded weight of a single vehicle).  

"Multi-purpose passenger vehicle" means any motor vehicle 
that is (i) designed to carry no more than 10 persons and (ii) 
constructed either on a truck chassis or with special features 
for occasional off-road use. This shall include a mini-van.  

"Open-body type vehicle" means a vehicle having no 
occupant compartment top or an occupant compartment top 
that can be installed or removed by the user at his 
convenience.  

"Passenger car" means a motor vehicle with motive power 
except a multipurpose passenger vehicle or motorcycle 
designed for carrying 10 persons or less.  

"Rear outboard front facing designated seating positions" 
means those designated seating positions for passengers in 
outside front facing seats behind the driver and front 
passenger seat, except any designated seating position 
adjacent to a walk-way, that is located between the seat and 
the near side of the vehicle and is designated to allow access 
to more rearward seating positions.  

"Truck" means a motor vehicle with motive power designed 
primarily for the transportation of property or special purpose 
equipment.  
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B. Passive Restraint System restraint system.  

A. 1. Inflatable occupant restraint (commonly known as air 
bags).  

B. 2. Passive belt system (automatic deployment around 
the occupant after the occupant enters the vehicle and 
closes the door).  

C. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Not of an approved type; (see approved equipment 
section for seat belts) 

2. Installation not in compliance as follows:  

a. All motor vehicle seat belt anchorages and attachment 
hardware must meet the standards and specifications set 
forth by the Society of Automotive Engineers, Inc., and 
Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 209 (49 CFR 
571.209), for such anchorages and attachment hardware;  

b. Any questions concerning the proper installation of 
seat belt assemblies should be directed to the nearest 
Safety Division office.  

3. Any 1963 and subsequent model vehicle, designed and 
licensed primarily for private passenger use, is not 
equipped with adult safety lap belts for at least two front 
seats or a combination of lap belts and shoulder straps or 
harnesses.  

4. Any passenger car manufactured on or after January 1, 
1968, is not equipped with lap/shoulder or harness seat belt 
assemblies located at the front outboard designated seating 
positions (except in convertibles) and lap seat belt 
assemblies located at all other designated seating positions.  

5. Any convertible passenger car manufactured on or after 
January 1, 1968, does not have a lap seat belt assembly for 
each designated seating position.  

6. Any passenger car manufactured on or after December 
11, 1989, (except convertibles) not equipped with 
lap/shoulder seat belt assemblies located at all forward 
facing rear outboard designated seating positions.  

a. Any passenger car manufactured on or after September 
1, 1991, (including convertibles) is not equipped with a 
lap/shoulder seatbelt assembly located at all forward 
facing rear outboard designated seating positions.  

b. Any truck, multipurpose vehicle, or bus (except school 
buses and motor homes) with a gross vehicle weight 
rating (GVWR) of 10,000 pounds or less, manufactured 
on or after September 1, 1991, is not equipped with a 
lap/shoulder seatbelt assembly at all forward facing rear 
outboard designated seating positions.  

c. Any of the heretofore described vehicles manufactured 
on or after September 1, 1992, are not equipped with 
lap/shoulder seatbelt assembly located at all forward 

facing rear outboard designated seating positions on a 
readily removable seat.  

7. Any of the following motor vehicles manufactured on or 
after July 1, 1971, do not have a lap seat belt assembly for 
each designated seating position:  

a. Open-body type vehicles;  

b. Walk-in van type trucks;  

c. Trucks (GVWR in excess of 10,000 pounds);  

d. Multipurpose passenger vehicles (GVWR in excess of 
10,000 pounds).  

8. Any buses manufactured on or after July 1, 1971, do not 
have a lap seat belt assembly for the driver's seating 
position.  

9. All other motor vehicles manufactured on or after 
January 1, 1976, except those for which requirements are 
specified in subdivisions 3 and 4 of this subsection, do not 
have lap/shoulder or harness seat belt assemblies installed 
for each front outboard designated seating position. Those 
vehicles originally equipped and sold by the manufacturer 
with only a lap belt installed for each designated seating 
position in compliance with Federal Motor Vehicle Safety 
Standards (49 CFR Part 571) will be deemed to be in 
compliance with this section.  

10. Any seat belt buckle, webbing, or mounting is cut, torn, 
frayed or no longer operates properly.  

11. Any seat belt anchorage is loose, badly corroded, 
missing or not fastened to belt.  

D. Safety belts (motorized). Enter the vehicle and close the 
door. Insert the key into the ignition and turn to the on 
position. A motor causes the shoulder belt to slide along a 
track (Figure 1) starting at the front body "A" pillar and 
moving rearward to its locked position at the "B" pillar. The 
seat belt warning indicator lamp should illuminate with the 
lap belt unbuckled. When the ignition is turned to the off 
position and the door is opened, the shoulder belt moves 
forward to the "A" pillar.  

NOTE: Do not reject if the motor is inoperative and the 
shoulder belt is permanently "locked" at pillar "B."  
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E. Air bag and air bag readiness light.  

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any defects in the air bag system are noted by the air 
bag readiness light or otherwise indicated; 

2. The air bag has been deployed and has not been replaced 
(and is not deactivated because of a medical or other 
exemption and a notice is posted to indicate that it has been 
deactivated); 

3. Any part of the air bag system has been disabled or 
removed from the vehicle; or 

4. If the air bag indicator fails to light or stays on 
continuously.  

NOTE: Checking the air bag readiness light. Turn the 
ignition key to the on position; the air bag readiness light 
will indicate normal operation by lighting for six to eight 
seconds, then turning off. A system malfunction is 
indicated by the flashing or continuous illumination of the 
readiness light or failure of the light to turn on.  

NOTE: Any vehicle not originally manufactured with an 
air bag readiness light shall not be rejected for not having 
this item. 

19VAC30-70-350. Motorcycle airbag, seat, steering, and 
suspension.  

Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Frame is bent or damaged so as to constitute a hazard in 
proper operation.  

2. Wheels are out of line to a degree steering and control is 
affected.  

3. Steering-head bearing is loose, broken, defective or out 
of adjustment.  

4. Handlebars are loose, bent, broken or damaged in such a 
manner as to affect proper steering.  

5. Shock absorbers are broken, worn, missing, defective, 
disconnected or do not function properly.  

6. Any spring in the suspension system is broken or 
sagging.  

NOTE: If a motorcycle or autocycle is equipped or 
designed with steering or suspension components similar 
in design to a passenger vehicle, the steering or suspension 
will be inspected as if the motorcycle or autocycle were a 
passenger vehicle. 

7. If motorcycle seat or seats are not securely fastened.  

8. Any motorcycle designed to carry more than one person 
is not equipped with a footrest for each passenger.  

9. The battery is not attached to a fixed part of the 
motorcycle and protected by a removable cover or 
enclosure if the battery is installed in a location other than 
the engine compartment. This includes all brackets, 
hardware, bolts, and bushings used for securely mounting 
the battery to the motorcycle. 

a. Removable covers or enclosures shall be substantial 
and shall be securely latched or fastened. 

b. The battery compartment shall have openings to 
provide ample battery ventilation and drainage. 

c. Whenever the cable to the starting motor passes 
through a metal compartment, the cable shall be 
protected against grounding by an acid and waterproof 
insulating bushing. 

d. Whenever a battery and a fuel tank are both placed 
under the driver's seat, they shall be partitioned from 
each other and each compartment shall be provided with 
an independent cover, ventilation, and drainage. 

10. Air bag and air bag readiness light. Inspect for and 
reject if: 

a. Any defects in the air bag system are noted by the air 
bag readiness light or otherwise indicated; 

b. The air bag has been deployed and has not been 
replaced (and is not deactivated because of a medical or 
other exemption and a notice is posted to indicate that it 
has been deactivated);  

c. Any part of the air bag system has been disabled or 
removed from the motorcycle; or 

d. If the air bag indicator fails to light or stays on 
continuously.  
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NOTE: Checking the air bag readiness light. Turn the 
ignition key to the on position; the air bag readiness light 
will indicate normal operation by lighting for six to eight 
seconds, then turning off.  

A system malfunction is indicated by the flashing or 
continuous illumination of the readiness light or failure of 
the light to turn on.  

NOTE: Any motorcycle not originally manufactured with 
an air bag readiness light shall not be rejected for not 
having this item.  

19VAC30-70-360. Motorcycle lights: auxiliary, headlamp, 
rear, signal, warning.  

A. Headlamps. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Motorcycle is not equipped with at least one motorcycle 
headlamp.  

2. Any motorcycle headlamp is not of an approved type 
(SAE-M). A motorcycle may have one or more headlamps. 
In addition to the headlamp(s) headlamp or headlamps, a 
motorcycle may be equipped with not more than two 
auxiliary headlamps of a type approved (SAE-C) by the 
superintendent and identified as "auxiliary front lamps."  

3. Lens and reflector do not match except in sealed units, 
or if the lens is cracked, broken or rotated, or if the lens 
and reflector are not clean or bright.  

4. Any motorcycle lights-headlamp, rear lamp, signal or 
warning lamp has any wire, unapproved lens or plastic 
covers, any other materials that are not original equipment 
or any colored material placed on or in front of lamp or 
lens.  

5. Lamp is not focused or any filament or bulb fails to 
burn.  

6. Lamp is not mounted securely or if switch does not 
operate properly.  

7. The center of the hot spot is set more than four inches up 
or down from the horizontal centerline or more than four 
inches to the left or right from the vertical centerline. The 
headlamp shall be checked for proper aim by using an 
optical headlamp aimer. 

8. The high beam indicator does not burn when the high 
beam is on or does not go off when the low beam is on.  

NOTE: Motorcycles may be equipped with means of 
modulating the high beam of their headlights between high 
and low beam at a rate of 200 to 280 flashes per minute, 
provided they are equipped with a switch or device that 
prevents flashing of headlights when headlights are 
required to be lighted.  

NOTE: Inspection is to be performed with lamp on high 
beam.  

NOTE: The use of strobe lights being placed inside the 
headlamps of police motorcycles is permitted. The strobe 
light system developed by Harley-Davidson for use in 
police motorcycle headlamps has been tested and does 
meet the current standard; therefore, strobe light systems of 
this type and similar types may be used in police 
motorcycle headlamp systems. 

B. Aiming the headlamp. All headlamps that do not comply 
with subdivision A 7 of this section shall be aimed straight 
ahead. (Zero inches up or down and zero inches to the right or 
left.)  

C. Rear lamp. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. The motorcycle is not equipped with a rear lamp of 
approved type (SAE-T-S-P-A).  

2. The lamp is not mounted near rear of vehicle, or is not 
mounted securely, or if lamp does not make a good 
electrical connection.  

3. Lenses are not red to the rear and clear or amber to the 
front or any lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may 
have one or more cracks provided an off-color light does 
not project through the cracks.  

NOTE: LED (light-emitting diode) lights with a clear lens 
are acceptable if of an approved type. For those vehicles 
that are equipped with a multiple LED light (not filament-
burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if more than 50% 
of the diode lights are burning. 

4. Filaments in all lamps do not burn when headlamp 
switch is turned on to any position. 

5. The rear license plate is not illuminated by an approved 
license plate bulb.  

D. Signal device (intention to stop or turn).  

1. Signal devices are not required on motorcycles; 
however, if installed, they must operate and be inspected.  

2. Signal lamp lenses installed on the front of the 
motorcycle shall be amber and be located on each side of 
the vertical centerline of the motorcycle and as far apart as 
practicable and not closer than nine inches, measured from 
the optical centerline of the lamps, and to be located on the 
same level and not less than 20 inches above the ground 
level. The optical centerline of the lamp shall not be less 
than four inches from the retaining ring of the headlamp 
unit.  

3. Signal lamps installed on the rear of the motorcycle shall 
be red or amber and shall be located on each side of the 
vertical centerline of the motorcycle as far apart as 
practicable but not closer than nine inches, measured from 
the optical centerline of the lens, and shall be located on 
the same level and not less than 20 inches above the 
ground level.  
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4. Inspect for and reject if:  

a. Motorcycle, except an antique vehicle not originally 
equipped with a stop lamp, is not equipped with at least 
one stop lamp of an approved type that automatically 
exhibits a red or amber light to the rear when the brake 
control foot pedal or hand grip brake control device is 
activated. (On motorcycles manufactured prior to 
January 1, 1972, the activation of the front wheel brake 
control device is not required to activate the stop lamp.)  

NOTE: Motorcycles may be equipped with a means of 
varying the brightness of the vehicle's brake light upon 
application of the vehicle's brakes.  

b. The signal lamp is not of an approved type (SAE-D) or 
does not flash.  

c. Lens in brake lamp or signal lamp has a piece broken 
from it. (Lens in brake lamp or signal lamp may have one 
or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 
project through the crack or cracks.)  

d. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or any 
filaments do not burn.  

e. Switch is not convenient to the driver and not of an 
approved type.  

f. Signal devices are not installed as provided in 
subdivisions D 1, 2, and 2 3 of this section.  

E. Warning lights. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Warning lamps are not of an approved type or have been 
altered.  

2. Any lighted advertising sign is present.  

F. Auxiliary lights. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Motorcycle or autocycles are equipped with any color 
other than red or amber standard bulb running lights or 
light-emitting diode (LED) pods or strips. 

2. Auxiliary lights are not directed toward the ground. 

3. Auxiliary lights are not designed for vehicular use. 

4. Auxiliary lights project a beam of light greater than 25 
candlepower per bulb. 

5. Auxiliary lights display a blinking, flashing, oscillating, 
or rotating pattern. 

6. Auxiliary lights are attached to the wheels. 

NOTE: Such lighting is not subject to approval by the 
Superintendent of the State Police. 

19VAC30-70-580. Glass and glazing.  

A. Motor vehicles may be inspected without windshields, 
side glasses, or any kind of glazing except that any motor 
vehicle other than a motorcycle which that was manufactured, 

assembled, or reconstructed after July 1, 1970, must be 
equipped with a windshield. If glass or other glazing is 
installed, it must be inspected. If no windshield is installed, 
see 19VAC30-70-50, C, for location of the sticker. 

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle manufactured or assembled after 
January 1, 1936, or any bus or school bus manufactured or 
assembled after January 1, 1935, is not equipped 
throughout with safety glass, or other safety glazing 
material. (This requirement includes slide-in campers used 
on pickups or trucks, caps, or covers used on pickup 
trucks, motor homes, and vans.) 

2. Any safety glass or glazing used in a motor vehicle is 
not of an approved type and properly identified (DOT and 
AS-1, AS-2, or AS-3) (refer to approved equipment 
section). (Replacement safety glass installed in any part of 
a vehicle other than the windshield need not bear a 
trademark or name, provided the glass consists of two or 
more sheets of glass separated by a glazing material, and 
provided the glass is cut from a piece of approved safety 
glass, and provided the edge of the glass can be observed.) 

3. Any glass at any location where glass is used is cracked 
or broken so that it is likely to cut or injure a person in the 
vehicle. 

4. Windshield has any cloudiness more than three inches 
above the bottom, one inch inward from the outer borders, 
one inch down from the top, or one inch inward from the 
center strip. The bottom of the windshield shall be defined 
as the point where the top of the dash contacts the 
windshield. 

5. Any distortion or obstruction that interferes with a 
driver's vision. Any; any alteration has been made to a 
vehicle that obstructs the driver's clear view through the 
windshield. This may include but is not limited to large 
objects hanging from the inside mirror or mounted to the 
windshield, cell phone mounts, GPS devices, CB radios or 
tachometers mounted on the dash or windshield, hood 
scoops, and other ornamentation on or in front of the hood 
that is not transparent. 

a. Any hood scoop installed on any motor vehicle 
manufactured for the year 1990 or earlier model year 
cannot exceed 2-1/4 inches high at its highest point 
measured from the junction of the dashboard and the 
windshield. 

b. Any hood scoop installed on any motor vehicle 
manufactured for the year 1991 or subsequent model year 
cannot exceed 1-1/8 inches high at its highest point 
measured from the junction of the dashboard and the 
windshield. 

NOTE: Antennas, transponders, and similar devices must 
not be mounted more than 152 mm (six inches) below the 
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upper edge of the windshield. These devices must be 
located outside the area swept by the windshield wipers, 
and outside the driver's sight lines to the road and 
highway signs and signals.  

6. Windshield glass, on the driver's side, has any scratch 
more than 1/4 inch in width and six inches long within the 
area covered by the windshield wiper blade, excluding the 
three inches above the bottom of the windshield. A 
windshield wiper that remains parked within the driver's 
side windshield wiper area shall be rejected.  

EXCEPTION: Do not reject safety grooves designed to 
clean wiper blades if the grooves do not extend upward 
from the bottom of the windshield more than six inches at 
the highest point. 

7. There is a pit, chip, or star crack larger than 3/4 inch in 
diameter at any location in the windshield above the 
topmost portion of the steering wheel except the two-inch 
border at each side. 

8. At any location above the topmost portion of the 
steering wheel excluding a two-inch border at the top and 
one-inch border at the sides there is: 

a. Any crack over 1/4 inch in width. 

b. Any crack 1/4 inch or less in width intersected by 
another crack. 

c. Any damage area 3/4 inch or less in diameter if within 
three inches of any other damage area.  

9. Any sticker is on the windshield other than an official 
one required by law, or permitted by the superintendent. 
Authorization is hereby granted for stickers or decals, to 
include those required by any county, town, or city, 
measuring not more than 2-1/2 inches in width and four 
inches in length to be placed in the blind spot behind the 
rearview rear view mirror. Department of Defense decals 
measuring no more than three inches in width and eight 
inches in length may be affixed to the upper edge of the 
center of the windshield. At the option of the motor 
vehicle's owner, the decal may be affixed at the lower left 
corner of the windshield so that the inside or left edge of 
the sticker or decal is within one inch of the extreme left 
edge of the windshield when looking through the 
windshield from inside the vehicle. When placed at this 
location, the bottom edge of the sticker or decal must be 
affixed within three inches of the bottom of the windshield. 
This location can only be used if the owner of the vehicle 
has chosen not to place any required county, town or city 
decal there. The normal location for any required county, 
town, or city sticker or decal is adjacent to the right side of 
official inspection sticker and must not extend upward 
more than three inches from the bottom of the windshield 
when viewed from inside the vehicle. The top edge of the 
sticker is to be approximately four inches from the bottom 

of the windshield. The left side edge adjacent to the official 
inspection sticker shall not be more than 1/4-inch from the 
right edge of the official inspection sticker when viewed 
from inside the vehicle. Valid Commercial Vehicle Safety 
Alliance (CVSA) inspection decals, or similar commercial 
vehicle inspection decal issued by local law enforcement, 
may be placed at the bottom or sides right corner of the 
windshield provided when viewed from inside the vehicle. 
The top edge of such decals do not extend more that 4-1/2 
are to be approximately four inches from the bottom of the 
windshield when viewed from inside the vehicle and are to 
be located outside the area swept by the windshield wipers 
and outside of the driver's sight line.  

Fastoll transponder devices may be affixed to the inside 
center of the windshield at the roof line just above the rear 
view mirror. If space does not allow, then it may be affixed 
to the immediate right of the mirror at the roof line. 

Any sticker or decal required by the laws of any other state 
or the District of Columbia and displayed upon the 
windshield of a vehicle submitted for inspection in this 
state is permitted by the superintendent, provided the 
vehicle is currently registered in that jurisdiction, and the 
sticker is displayed in a manner designated by the issuing 
authority and has not expired. This includes vehicles with 
dual registration, i.e., Virginia and the District of 
Columbia. 

NOTE: Stickers or decals used by counties, cities and 
towns in lieu of license plates may be placed on the 
windshield without further authority. Except on privately 
owned yellow school buses, the sticker or decal shall be 
placed on the windshield adjacent to the right side of the 
official inspection sticker or the optional placement to the 
extreme lower left side of the windshield. The top edge of 
the sticker or decal shall not extend upwards more than 
three inches from the bottom of the windshield. The left 
side edge adjacent to the official inspection sticker shall 
not be more than 1/4 inch from the right edge of the 
official inspection sticker when looking through the 
windshield from inside the vehicle. However, at the option 
of the motor vehicle owner, the sticker or decal may be 
affixed to the upper edge of the center of the windshield. 
(Any expired sticker or decal, excluding a rejection sticker, 
that is present on the windshield at the time of inspection 
shall not be issued an approval sticker unless the 
owner/operator "authorizes" its removal. A rejection 
sticker will be issued versus an involuntary removal.) On 
privately owned yellow school buses, the sticker or decal 
shall be placed on the windshield adjacent to the left side 
of the official inspection sticker, and not more than 1/4 
inch from the official inspection sticker when looking 
through the windshield from inside the vehicle. The top 
edge of the sticker shall not extend upward more than three 
inches from the bottom of the windshield. Any Virginia 
registered vehicle displaying a valid sticker or decal 
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required by a county, town, or city is permitted by the 
superintendent to remain in its current location through 
December 31, 2018, unless such location conflicts with the 
inspection sticker placement. This will afford localities 
time to enact changes to regulations governing required 
stickers or decals, which may be impacted by the 2018 
inspection sticker placement change. 

NOTE: Toll transponder devices may be affixed to the 
inside center of the windshield at the roof line just above 
the rear view mirror. If space does not allow, then it may 
be affixed to the immediate right of the mirror at the roof 
line.  

NOTE: A licensed motor vehicle dealer may apply one 
transponder sticker no larger than one inch by four inches 
and one barcode sticker no larger than three inches by four 
inches to the driver's side edge of a vehicle's windshield to 
be removed upon the sale or lease of the vehicle provided 
that it does not extend below the AS-1 line. In the absence 
of an AS-1 line, the sticker cannot extend more than three 
inches downward from the top of the windshield.  

NOTE: Any vehicle displaying an expired sticker or decal 
on its windshield at the time of inspection, excluding a 
rejection sticker, shall not be issued an approval sticker 
unless the owner or operator authorizes its removal. A 
rejection sticker will be issued versus an involuntary 
removal. 

10. Sunshading material attached to the windshield extends 
more than three inches downward from the top of the 
windshield, unless authorized by the Virginia Department 
of Motor Vehicles and indicated on the vehicle 
registration. 

NOTE: Sunshading material on the windshield displaying 
words, lettering, numbers or pictures that do not extend 
below the AS-1 line are permitted. 

NOTE: Vehicles with logos made into the glass at the 
factory that meet federal standards will pass state 
inspection. 

11. Any sunscreening material is scratched, distorted, 
wrinkled or obscures or distorts clear vision through the 
glazing. 

12. Front side windows have cloudiness above three inches 
from the bottom of the glass, or other defects that affect the 
driver's vision or one or more cracks which permit one part 
of the glass to be moved in relation to another part. Wind 
silencers, breezes or other ventilator adaptors are not made 
of clear transparent material. 

13. Glass in the left front door cannot be lowered so a hand 
signal can be given. (This does not apply to vehicle 
equipped with approved turn signals which were not 
designed and/or or manufactured for left front glass to be 
lowered.) If either front door has the glass removed and 

material inserted in place of the glass which could obstruct 
the driver's vision. 

Exception: Sunscreening material is permissible if the 
vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side. 

14. Any sticker or other obstruction is on either front side 
window, rear side windows, or rear windows. (The price 
label, fuel economy label and the buyer's guide required by 
federal statute and regulations to be affixed to new/used 
new or used vehicles by the manufacturer shall normally 
be affixed to one of the rear side windows.) If a vehicle 
only has two door windows, the labels may be affixed to 
one of these windows. If a vehicle does not have any door 
or side windows, the labels may be temporarily affixed to 
the right side of the windshield until the vehicle is sold to 
the first purchaser. 

NOTE: A single sticker no larger than 20 square inches in 
area, if such sticker is totally contained within the lower 
five inches of the glass in the rear window or a single 
sticker or decal no larger than 10 square inches located in 
an area not more than three inches above the bottom and 
not more than eight inches from the rearmost edge of either 
front side window, is permissible and should not be 
rejected. 

Do not reject a tractor truck having a gross vehicle weight 
rating of 26,001 pounds or more equipped with one 
optically grooved clear plastic wide angle lens affixed to 
the right front side window. Such wide angle lens shall not 
extend upward from the bottom of the window opening 
more than six inches or backward from the front of the 
window opening more than eight inches. 

15. Rear window is clouded or distorted so that the driver 
does not have a view 200 feet to the rear. 

EXCEPTIONS: The following are permissible if the 
vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side: 

a. There is attached to one rear window of such motor 
vehicle one optically grooved clear plastic right angle 
rear view lens, not exceeding 18 inches in diameter in the 
case of a circular lens or not exceeding 11 inches by 14 
inches in the case of a rectangular lens, which enables the 
operator of the motor vehicle to view below the line of 
sight as viewed through the rear window. 

b. There is affixed to the rear side windows, rear window 
or windows of such motor vehicle any sticker or stickers, 
regardless of size. 

c. There is affixed to the rear side windows, rear window 
or windows of such motor vehicle a single layer of 
sunshading material. 

d. Rear side windows, rear window or windows is 
clouded or distorted. 
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19VAC30-70-660. Seat belts.  

A. Definitions: 

"Bus" means a motor vehicle with motive power designed to 
carry more than 10 persons. 

"Designated seating position" means any plain view 
(looking down from the top) location intended by the 
manufacturer to provide seating accommodations while the 
vehicle is in motion, except auxiliary seating 
accommodations as temporary or folding jump seats. 

"Front outboard designated seating positions" means those 
designated seating positions for the driver and outside front 
seat passenger (except for trucks which have the passenger 
seat nearest the passenger side door separated from the door 
by a passageway used to access the cargo area.) 

"GVWR" means gross vehicle weight rating as specified by 
the manufacturer (loaded weight of a single vehicle.)  

"Multipurpose passenger vehicle" means any motor vehicle 
that is (i) designed to carry no more than 10 persons and (ii) 
constructed either on a truck chassis or with special features 
for occasional off-road use. This shall include a minivan. 

"Open-body type vehicle" means a vehicle having no 
occupant compartment top or an occupant compartment top 
that can be installed or removed by the user at his 
convenience. 

"Rear outboard front facing designated seating positions" 
means those designated seating positions for passengers in 
outside front facing seats behind the driver and front 
passenger seat, except any designated seating position 
adjacent to a walkway, that is located between the seat and 
the nearside of the vehicle and is designated to allow access 
to more rearward seating positions. 

"Truck" means a motor vehicle with motive power designed 
primarily for the transportation of property or special purpose 
equipment. 

B. Passive Restraint System: 

Inflatable occupant restraint (commonly known as air 
bags). 

Passive belt system (automatic deployment around the 
occupant after the occupant enters the vehicle and closes 
the door). 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Not of an approved type. 

2. Installation not in compliance as follows: 

a. All motor vehicle seat belt anchorages and attachment 
hardware must meet the standards and specifications set 
forth by the Society of Automotive Engineers, Inc., and 

Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard Number 209, for 
such anchorages and attachment hardware. 

b. Any questions concerning the proper installation of 
seat belt assemblies should be directed to the nearest 
Safety Division office. 

3. Any of the following motor vehicles manufactured on or 
after July 1, 1971, not having a lap seat belt assembly for 
each designated seating position: 

a. Open-body type vehicles; 

b. Walk-in van type trucks; 

c. Trucks (GVWR in excess of 10,000 pounds); 

d. Multipurpose passenger vehicles (GVWR in excess of 
10,000 pounds). 

4. Any buses manufactured on or after July 1, 1971, not 
having a lap seat belt assembly for the driver's seating 
position. 

5. All other motor vehicles manufactured on or after 
January 1, 1976, except those for which requirements are 
specified in subdivisions 3 and 4 of this subsection, not 
having lap/shoulder or harness seat belt assemblies 
installed for each front outboard designated seating 
position.  

Those vehicles originally equipped and sold by the 
manufacturer with only a lap belt installed for each 
designated seating position, in compliance with Federal 
Motor Vehicle Safety Standards, will be deemed to be in 
compliance with this section.  

6. Any seat belt buckle, webbing, or mounting is cut, torn, 
frayed, or no longer operates properly.  

7. Any seat belt anchorage is loose, badly corroded, 
missing or not fastened to belt.  

8. Any truck, multi-purpose vehicle, or bus (except school 
buses and motor homes) with a GVWR of 10,000 pounds 
or less, manufactured on or after September 1, 1991, is not 
equipped with a lap/shoulder seatbelt assembly at all 
forward facing rear outboard designated seating positions.  

9. Any of the heretofore described vehicles manufactured 
on or after September 1, 1992, are not equipped with 
lap/shoulder seatbelt assembly located at all forward facing 
rear outboard designated seating positions on a readily 
removable seat.  

C. Air bag and air bag readiness light. Inspect for and reject 
if: 

1. Air bag. Any defects in the air bag system are noted by 
the air bag readiness light or otherwise indicated;  

2. The air bag has been deployed and has not been replaced 
(and is not deactivated because of a medical or other 
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exemption and a notice is posted to indicate that it has been 
deactivated);  

3. Any part of the air bag system has been disabled or 
removed from the vehicle; or 

4. If the air bag indicator fails to light or stays on 
continuously. 

NOTE: Air bag readiness light. Turn the ignition key to the 
on position; the air bag readiness light will indicate normal 
operation by lighting for six to eight seconds, then turning 
off. A system malfunction is indicated by the flashing or 
continuous illumination of the readiness light or failure of 
the light to turn on. 

NOTE: Any vehicle not originally manufactured with an 
air bag readiness light shall not be rejected for not having 
this item.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5604; Filed August 3, 2018, 3:37 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 

TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 
2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 
of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 
Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 
of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-316. Regulations Governing 
Exemptions for Large General Services Customers under 
§ 56-585.1 A 5 c of the Code of Virginia (repealing 
20VAC5-316-10 through 20VAC5-316-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-585.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 
upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 17, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Andrea B. Macgill, Associate General 
Counsel, Office of General Counsel, State Corporation 
Commission, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 371-9064, FAX (804) 371-9240, or email 
andrea.macgill@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Chapter 296 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly repeals the 
provisions (i) requiring a large general service customer 

with a verifiable history of using more than 500 kilowatts, 
that does not wish to participate in an electric utility's 
energy efficiency program, to demonstrate that it has 
implemented an energy efficiency program, at the 
customer's expense, that has produced or will produce 
measured and verified results and (ii) requiring the State 
Corporation Commission to promulgate regulations 
regarding the process under which such large general 
service customers file notice of such exemption. Therefore, 
the Large General Service Customer Rules (20VAC5-316, 
Regulations Governing Exemptions for Large General 
Services Customers under § 56-585.1 A 5 C of the Code of 
Virginia) are repealed. 

AT RICHMOND, AUGUST 13, 2018 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUR-2018-00126 

Ex Parte: In the matter of repealing Regulations 
Governing Exemptions for Large General Service 
Customers under § 56-585.1 A 5 c of the Code of Virginia 

ORDER FOR NOTICE AND COMMENT 

The Regulations Governing Exemptions for Large General 
Service Customers under § 56-585.1 A 5 c of the Code of 
Virginia, 20 VAC 5-316-10 et seq. ("LGS Customer 
Exemption Rules"), adopted by the State Corporation 
Commission ("Commission") pursuant to § 56-585.1 of the 
Virginia Electric Utility Regulation Act, Chapter 23 
(§ 56-576 et seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of Virginia 
("Code"), apply to the large general service customers of 
Virginia's electric utilities subject to the provisions of § 56-
585.1 A 5 c that have verifiable histories of using more than 
500 kilowatts ("kW") but no more than 10 megawatts of 
demand from a single metering point. The LGS Customer 
Exemption Rules establish requirements for such large 
general service customers to request exemption from any rate 
adjustment clause approved by the Commission pursuant to 
§ 56-585.1 A 5 c of the Code, if the customer can 
demonstrate that it has implemented an energy efficiency 
program, at the customer's expense, that has produced or will 
produce measured and verified results.1 

Effective July 1, 2018, Chapter 296 of the 2018 Acts of 
Assembly ("Chapter 296") amended § 56-585.1 A 5 c of the 
Code to state, in part: 

None of the costs of new energy efficiency programs of an 
electric utility, including recovery of revenue reductions, 
shall be assigned to any large general service customer. A 
large general service customer is a customer that has a 
verifiable history of having used more than 500 kilowatts 
of demand from a single meter of delivery. 
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Chapter 296 eliminated from Code § 56-585.1 A 5 c the 
language requiring a large general service customer with a 
verifiable history of using more than 500 kW, who does not 
wish to participate in an electric utility's energy efficiency 
program or programs, to demonstrate that it has implemented 
an energy efficiency program, at the customer's expense, that 
has produced or will produce measured and verified results. 
Chapter 296 also eliminated the language in § 56-585.1 A 5 c 
that required the Commission to "promulgate rules and 
regulations to accommodate the process under which such 
large general service customers shall file notice of such 
exemption. . . ." Accordingly, there appears to be no need to 
retain the LGS Customer Exemption Rules. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered the 
amendments to § 56-585.1 A 5 c of the Code by Chapter 296, 
finds that interested parties should be permitted to comment 
on the need to retain any portion of the Regulations 
Governing Exemptions for Large General Service Customers 
under § 56-585.1 A 5 c of the Code of Virginia, 20 VAC 5-
316-10, et seq. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) This case is docketed and assigned Case No. PUR-2018-
00126. 

(2) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall forward the proposed repeal of the Regulations 
Governing Exemptions for Large General Service Customers 
under § 56-585.1 A 5 c of the Code of Virginia, Appendix A 
hereto, to the Registrar of Virginia for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall make a downloadable version of the proposed repeal of 
the Regulations Governing Exemptions for Large General 
Service Customers under § 56-585.1 A 5 c of the Code of 
Virginia, Appendix A, available for access by the public at 
the Commission's website, http://www.scc.virginia/gov/case. 
The Clerk of the Commission shall make a copy of the 
proposed repeal of Regulations Governing Exemptions for 
Large General Service Customers under § 56-585.1 A 5 c of 
the Code available for public inspection and provide a copy, 
free of charge, in response to any written request for one.  

(4) On or before September 17, 2018, any interested person 
may comment on, propose modifications or supplements to, 
or request a hearing on the proposed repeal of Regulations 
Governing Exemptions for Large General Service Customers 
under § 56-585.1 A 5 c of the Code by filing an original and 
fifteen (15) copies of such comments or requests with 
Joel H. Peck, Clerk, State Corporation Commission, c/o 
Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, 
Virginia 23218. Interested persons desiring to submit 
comments or hearing requests electronically may do so by 
following the instructions available at the Commission's 
website: http://www.scc.virginia/gov/case. Individuals shall 

be specific in their comments to the proposed repeal of 
Regulations Governing Exemptions for Large General 
Service Customers under § 56-585.1 A 5 c of the Code of 
Virginia and shall address only those issues pertaining to the 
amendment of § 56-585.1 A 5 c of the Code pursuant to 
Chapter 296. Issues outside the scope of implementing this 
amendment will not be open for consideration. Any request 
for hearing shall state with specificity why the issues raised in 
the request for hearing cannot be adequately addressed in 
written comments. Interested parties shall refer in their 
comments or requests to Case No. PUR-2018-00126. 

(5) If no written request for a hearing on the proposal to 
repeal the Regulations Governing Exemptions for Large 
General Service Customers under § 56-585.1 A 5 c of the 
Code of Virginia, as outlined in this Order, is received on or 
before September 17, 2018, the Commission may, upon 
consideration of any comments submitted in support of or in 
opposition to the proposal, enter an order based upon the 
papers filed herein. 

(6) This matter is continued. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 
the Commission to all persons on Attachment A hereto and C. 
Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant Attorney General, 
Office of the Attorney General, Division of Consumer 
Counsel, 202 N. 9th Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 
23219-3424. A copy hereof shall be delivered to the 
Commission's Office of General Counsel and the Divisions of 
Public Utility Regulation and Utility Accounting and Finance. 

________________ 
1See 20 VAC 5-316-10. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5630; Filed August 13, 2018, 1:36 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 
exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 
requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 
regulations do not differ materially from those required by 
federal law or regulation. The Department for Aging and 
Rehabilitative Services will receive, consider, and respond to 
petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 
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Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-20. Provision of Vocational 
Rehabilitation Services (amending 22VAC30-20-10, 
22VAC30-20-20, 22VAC30-20-30, 22VAC30-20-40, 
22VAC30-20-70, 22VAC30-20-80, 22VAC30-20-95, 
22VAC30-20-100, 22VAC30-20-110, 22VAC30-20-120, 
22VAC30-20-130, 22VAC30-20-150, 22VAC30-20-170, 
22VAC30-20-181, 22VAC30-20-190, 22VAC30-20-200; 
adding 22VAC30-20-195, 22VAC30-20-210; repealing 
22VAC30-20-60).  

Statutory Authority: § 51.5-131 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 3, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Leah Mills, Policy Analyst, Department for 
Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms 
Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-7610, 
FAX (804) 662-7663, TTY (800) 464-9950, or email 
leah.mills@dars.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) provide for reemployment transition 
services for students with disabilities; (ii) require that an 
individual obtain competitive integrated employment 
before his vocational rehabilitation case can be closed as 
successfully employed; (iii) disallow the case of a 
vocational rehabilitation recipient to be closed as 
successful if the recipient is earning less than the 
prevailing wage for the individual's employment; and (iv) 
require that individuals with disabilities receive vocational 
counseling before they can be employed in positions 
earning less than minimum wage. The amendments bring 
the existing regulation into conformity with the federal 
regulations for the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity 
Act (WIOA). 

22VAC30-20-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise.  

"Act" means the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 USC § 701 
et seq.), as amended. 

"Applicant" means an individual who submits an application 
for vocational rehabilitation services.  

"Appropriate modes of communication" means specialized 
aids and supports that enable an individual with a disability to 
comprehend and respond to information that is being 
communicated. Appropriate modes of communication 
include, but are not limited to, the use of interpreters, open 
and closed captioned videos, specialized telecommunications 
services and audio recordings, Brailled and large-print 
materials, materials in electronic formats, augmentative 
communication devices, graphic presentations, and simple 
language materials.  

"Assessment for determining eligibility and vocational 
rehabilitation needs" means, as appropriate in each case, a 
review of existing data as described in 22VAC30-20-30 to 
determine if an individual meets the eligibility requirements 
for vocational rehabilitation services as described in 
22VAC30-20-40, and to assign priority for an order of 
selection described in 22VAC30-20-90. 

"Assistive technology" means any item, piece of equipment, 
or product system, whether acquired commercially off the 
shelf, modified, or customized, that is used to increase, 
maintain, or improve the functional capabilities of an 
individual with a disability.  

"Assistive technology service" means any service that 
directly assists an individual with a disability in the selection, 
acquisition, or use of an assistive technology device, 
including:  

1. The evaluation of the needs of an individual with a 
disability, including a functional evaluation of the 
individual in his customary environment;  

2. Purchasing, leasing, or otherwise providing for the 
acquisition by an individual with a disability of an assistive 
technology device;  

3. Selecting, designing, fitting, customizing, adapting, 
applying, maintaining, repairing, or replacing assistive 
technology devices;  

4. Coordinating and using other therapies, interventions, or 
services with assistive technology devices, such as those 
associated with existing education and rehabilitation plans 
and programs;  

5. Training or technical assistance for an individual with a 
disability or, if appropriate, the family members, 
guardians, advocates, or authorized representatives of the 
individual; and  

6. Training or technical assistance for professionals 
(including individuals providing education and 
rehabilitation services), employers, or others who provide 
services to, employ, or are otherwise substantially involved 
in the major life functions of individuals with disabilities, 
to the extent that training or technical assistance is 
necessary to the achievement of an employment outcome 
by an individual with a disability.  

"Audiological examination" means the testing of the sense 
of hearing.  

"Clear and convincing evidence" means that the designated 
state unit shall have a high degree of certainty before it can 
conclude that an individual is incapable of benefiting from 
services in terms of an employment outcome. The clear and 
convincing standard constitutes the highest standard used in 
our civil system of law and is to be individually applied on a 
case-by-case basis. The term "clear" means unequivocal. 
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Given these requirements, a review of existing information 
generally would not provide clear and convincing evidence. 
For example, the use of an intelligence test result alone would 
not constitute clear and convincing evidence. Clear and 
convincing evidence might include a description of 
assessments, including situational assessments and supported 
employment assessments, from service providers who have 
concluded that they would be unable to meet the individual's 
needs due to the severity of the individual's disability. The 
demonstration of clear and convincing evidence must include, 
if appropriate, a functional assessment of skill development 
activities, with any necessary supports (including assistive 
technology), in real life settings. (S. Rep. No. 357, 102d 
Cong., 2d. Sess. 37-38 (1992))  

"Client Assistance Program" means the program located 
within the disAbility Law Center of Virginia for the purpose 
of advising applicants or eligible individuals about all 
available services under the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 
USC § 701 et seq.), as amended, and to assist applicants and 
eligible individuals in their relationship with programs, 
projects, and facilities providing vocational rehabilitation 
services.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 
Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services.  

"Community rehabilitation program" means a program that 
directly provides or facilitates the provision of one or more of 
the following vocational rehabilitation services to individuals 
with disabilities to enable those individuals to maximize their 
opportunities for employment, including career advancement:  

1. Medical, psychiatric, psychological, social, and 
vocational services that are provided under one 
management;  

2. Testing, fitting, or training in the use of prosthetic and 
orthotic devices;  

3. Recreational therapy;  

4. Physical and occupational therapy;  

5. Speech, language, and hearing therapy;  

6. Psychiatric, psychological, and social services, including 
positive behavior management;  

7. Assessment for determining eligibility and vocational 
rehabilitation needs;  

8. Rehabilitation technology;  

9. Job development, placement, and retention services;  

10. Evaluation or control of specific disabilities;  

11. Orientation and mobility services for individuals who 
are blind;  

12. Extended employment;  

13. Psychosocial rehabilitation services;  

14. Supported employment services and extended services;  

15. Customized employment; 

16. Services to family members, if necessary, to enable the 
applicant or eligible individual to achieve an employment 
outcome;  

16. 17. Personal assistance services; or  

17. 18. Services similar to the services described in 
subdivisions 1 through 16 17 of this definition.  

For the purposes of this definition, the word "program" 
means an agency, organization, or institution, or unit of an 
agency, organization, or institution, that directly provides or 
facilitates the provision of vocational rehabilitation services 
as one of its major functions.  

"Comparable services and benefits" means services and 
benefits, including accommodations and auxiliary aids and 
services, that are provided or paid for, in whole or in part, by 
other federal, state, or local public agencies, by health 
insurance, or by employee benefits; available to the individual 
at the time needed to ensure the individual's progress toward 
achieving the employment outcome in the individual's 
individualized plan for employment; and commensurate to the 
services that the individual would otherwise receive from the 
vocational rehabilitation agency. For the purposes of this 
definition, comparable benefits do not include awards and 
scholarships based on merit.  

"Competitive integrated employment" means work in the 
competitive labor market that (i) is performed on a full-time 
or part-time basis in an integrated setting, (including self-
employment) and for which an individual is compensated at 
or above the minimum wage, rate required under state or local 
minimum wage law for the place of employment but not less 
than the customary wage and level of benefits paid by the 
employer for the same or similar work performed by 
individuals who are not disabled without disabilities in 
comparable positions who have similar training, experience, 
and skills; (ii) in the case of an individual who is self-
employed, yields an income that is comparable to the income 
received by other individuals who are not individuals with 
disabilities and who are self-employed in similar occupations 
or similar tasks and who have similar training, experience, 
and skills; (iii) is typically found in the community where the 
employee with a disability interacts for the purpose of 
performing the duties of the position with other individuals 
without disabilities to the same extent that employees who do 
not have disabilities interact in comparable positions; and (iv) 
presents, as appropriate, opportunities for advancement that 
are similar to those for other individuals who are not 
individuals with disabilities and who have similar positions.  

"Customized employment" means competitive integrated 
employment based on the unique strengths, needs, and 
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interests of an individual with a significant disability, which 
is designed to meet the specific abilities of the individual with 
a significant disability and the business needs of the employer 
and is carried out through flexible strategies, such as (i) job 
exploration by the individual; (ii) customizing a job 
description based on current employer needs or on previously 
unidentified and unmet employer needs; (iii) developing a set 
of job duties, a work schedule and job arrangements, and 
specifics of supervision (including performance evaluation 
and reviews) and determining job location; (iv) using a 
professional representative chosen by the individual, or if 
elected self-representation, to work with an employer to 
facilitate placement; and (v) providing services and supports 
at the job location. 

"Department" means the Department for Aging and 
Rehabilitative Services. The department is considered the 
"designated state agency" or "state agency," meaning the sole 
state agency designated in accordance with 34 CFR 361.13(a) 
to administer or supervise local administration of the state 
plan for vocational rehabilitation services. The department 
also is considered the "designated state unit" or "state unit," 
meaning the state agency, vocational rehabilitation bureau, 
division, or other organizational unit that is primarily 
concerned with vocational rehabilitation or vocational and 
other rehabilitation of individuals with disabilities and that is 
responsible for the administration of the vocational 
rehabilitation program of the state agency as required under 
34 CFR 361.13(b), or the state agency that is primarily 
concerned with vocational rehabilitation or vocational and 
other rehabilitation of individuals with disabilities.  

"Eligible individual" means an applicant for vocational 
rehabilitation services who meets the eligibility requirements 
of 22VAC30-20-40.  

"Employment outcome" means, with respect to an 
individual, entering, advancing in, or retaining full-time or, if 
appropriate, part-time competitive integrated employment in 
the integrated labor market;, as defined in this section 
(including customized employment, self-employment, 
telecommuting, or business ownership), or supported 
employment or any other type of employment in an integrated 
setting including self-employment, telecommuting, or 
business ownership as defined in this section, that is 
consistent with an individual's strengths, resources, priorities, 
concerns, abilities, capabilities, interests, and informed 
choice. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(16)) (34 CFR 361.5(c)(15))  

"Evaluation of vocational rehabilitation potential" means, as 
appropriate, in each case (i) a preliminary diagnostic study to 
determine that an individual is eligible for vocational 
rehabilitation services; (ii) a thorough diagnostic study 
consisting of a comprehensive evaluation of pertinent factors 
bearing on the individual's impediment to employment and 
vocational rehabilitation potential, in order to determine 
which vocational rehabilitation services may be of benefit to 

the individual in terms of employability; (iii) the provision of 
goods or services necessary to determine the nature of the 
disability and whether it may reasonably be expected that the 
individual can benefit from vocational rehabilitation services 
in terms of an employment outcome; (iv) referrals to other 
agencies or organizations for services, when appropriate; and 
(v) the provision of vocational rehabilitation services to an 
individual during an extended evaluation of rehabilitation 
potential for the purpose of determining whether the 
individual with a disability is capable of achieving an 
employment outcome.  

"Extended employment" means work in a nonintegrated or 
sheltered setting for a public or private nonprofit agency or 
organization that provides compensation in accordance with 
the Fair Labor Standards Act (29 USC § 201 et seq.). 
(34 CFR 361.5(b)(20)) (34 CFR 361.5(c)(18)) 

"Extended evaluation" means the provision of vocational 
rehabilitation services necessary for a determination of 
vocational rehabilitation potential.  

"Extended services" as used in the definition of "supported 
employment" means ongoing support services and other 
appropriate services that are (i) needed to support and 
maintain an individual with a most significant disability in 
supported employment and that are; (ii) organized or made 
available, singly or in combination, in such a way as to assist 
an eligible individual in maintaining supported employment; 
(iii) based on the needs of an eligible individual, as specified 
in an individualized plan for employment; (iv) provided by a 
state agency, a private nonprofit organization, employer, or 
any other appropriate resource, from funds other than funds 
received under 34 CFR Part 363 after an individual with a 
most significant disability has made the transition from 
support provided by the department.; and (v) provided to a 
youth with a most significant disability by the department in 
accordance with requirements set forth in 22VAC30-20-110 
and 22VAC30-20-120 of this chapter and 34 CFR Part 363 
for a period of time not to exceed four years, or at such time a 
youth reached age 25 years and no longer meets the definition 
of youth with a disability in this section, whichever occurs 
first.  

"Extreme medical risk" means a probability of substantially 
increasing functional impairment or death if medical services, 
including mental health services, are not provided 
expeditiously.  

"Family member" or "member of the family" means an 
individual (i) who is either a relative or guardian of an 
applicant or eligible individual, or lives in the same 
household as an applicant or eligible individual; (ii) who has 
a substantial interest in the well-being of that individual; and 
(iii) whose receipt of vocational rehabilitation services is 
necessary to enable the applicant or eligible individual to 
achieve an employment outcome.  
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"Higher education" means training or training services 
provided by universities, colleges, community or junior 
colleges, vocational schools, technical institutes, or hospital 
schools of nursing.  

"IDEA" means the federal Individuals with Disabilities 
Education Act (20 USC § 1400 et seq.). 

"Impartial hearing officer" means an individual who is not 
an employee of a public agency (other than an administrative 
law judge, hearing examiner, or employee of an institution of 
higher education); is not a member of the State Rehabilitation 
Council for the department; has not been involved previously 
in the vocational rehabilitation of the applicant or eligible 
individual recipient of services; has knowledge of the 
delivery of vocational rehabilitation services, the vocational 
rehabilitation portion of the unified or combined state plan, 
and the federal and state regulations governing the provision 
of services; has received training with respect to the 
performance of official duties; and has no personal, 
professional, or financial interest that would be in conflict 
with the objectivity of the individual. An individual is not 
considered to be an employee of a public agency for the 
purposes of this definition solely because the individual is 
paid by the agency to serve as a hearing officer. (34 CFR 
361.5(b)(25)) (34 CFR 361.5(c)(24)) 

"Individual who is blind" means a person who is blind 
within the meaning of applicable state law.  

"Individual with a disability," except as provided in 34 CFR 
361.5(b)(29) 34 CFR 361.5(c)(28), means an individual (i) 
who has a physical or mental impairment; (ii) whose 
impairment constitutes or results in a substantial impediment 
to employment; and (iii) who can benefit in terms of an 
employment outcome from the provision of vocational 
rehabilitation services. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(28)) (34 CFR 
361.5(c)(27)) 

"Individual with a most significant disability" means an 
individual with a significant disability who meets the 
department's criteria for an individual with a most significant 
disability. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(30)) (34 CFR 361.5(c)(29)) 

"Individual with a significant disability" means an individual 
with a disability (i) who has a severe physical or mental 
impairment that seriously limits one or more functional 
capacities (such as mobility, communication, self-care, self-
direction, interpersonal skills, work tolerance, or work skills) 
in terms of an employment outcome; (ii) whose vocational 
rehabilitation can be expected to require multiple vocational 
rehabilitation services over an extended period of time; and 
(iii) who has one or more physical or mental disabilities 
resulting from amputation, arthritis, autism, blindness, burn 
injury, cancer, cerebral palsy, cystic fibrosis, deafness, head 
injury, heart disease, hemiplegia, hemophilia, respiratory or 
pulmonary dysfunction, intellectual disability, mental illness, 
multiple sclerosis, muscular dystrophy, musculoskeletal 

disorders, neurological disorders (including stroke and 
epilepsy), spinal cord conditions (including paraplegia and 
quadriplegia), sickle cell anemia, specific learning disability, 
end-stage renal disease, or another disability or combination 
of disabilities determined on the basis of an assessment for 
determining eligibility and vocational rehabilitation needs to 
cause comparable substantial functional limitation. (34 CFR 
361.5(b)(31)) (34 CFR 361.5(c)(30)) 

"Individual's representative" means any representative 
chosen by an applicant or eligible individual, as appropriate, 
including a parent, guardian, other family member, or 
advocate, unless a representative has been appointed by a 
court to represent the individual, in which case the court-
appointed representative is the individual's representative. 
(34 CFR 361.5(b)(32)) (34 CFR 361.5(c)(31)) 

"Integrated setting," with respect to the provision of 
services, means a setting typically found in the community in 
which applicants or eligible individuals interact with 
nondisabled individuals other than nondisabled individuals 
who are providing services to those applicants or eligible 
individuals. "Integrated setting," with respect to an 
employment outcome, means a setting typically found in the 
community in which applicants or eligible individuals interact 
with nondisabled individuals, other than nondisabled 
individuals who are providing services to those applicants or 
eligible individuals, to the same extent that nondisabled 
individuals in comparable positions interact with other 
persons. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(33)) where the employee with a 
disability interacts, for the purposes of performing the duties 
of the position, with other employees within the particular 
work unit and the entire work site, and, as appropriate to the 
work performed, other persons (e.g., customers and vendors) 
who are not individuals with disabilities (not including 
supervisory personnel or individuals who are providing 
services to such employee) to the same extent that employees 
who are not individuals with disabilities and who are in 
comparable positions interact with these persons. (34 CFR 
361.5(c)(32)) 

"Local workforce investment development board" means a 
local workforce investment board established under § 117 of 
the Workforce Investment Act of 1998. (34 CFR 
361.5(b)(34)) as defined in § 3 of the Workforce Innovation 
and Opportunity Act (20 USC § 3101 et seq.). (34 CFR 
361.5(c)(33)) 

"Maintenance" means monetary support provided to an 
individual for expenses, such as food, shelter, and clothing, 
that are in excess of the normal expenses of the individual and 
that are necessitated by the individual's participation in an 
assessment for determining eligibility and vocational 
rehabilitation needs or the individual's receipt of vocational 
rehabilitation services under an individualized plan for 
employment. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(35)) (34 CFR 361.5(c)(34)) 
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"Mediation" means the act or process of using an 
independent third party to act as a mediator, intermediary, or 
conciliator to assist persons or parties in settling differences 
or disputes prior to pursuing formal administrative or other 
legal remedies. Mediation under the program must be 
conducted in accordance with the requirements in 34 CFR 
361.57(d) by a qualified impartial mediator. (34 CFR 
361.5(b)(36)) (34 CFR 361.5(c)(35)) 

"Nonprofit," with respect to a community rehabilitation 
program, means a community rehabilitation program carried 
out by a corporation or association, no part of the net earnings 
of which inures, or may lawfully inure, to the benefit of any 
private shareholder or individual and the income of which is 
exempt from taxation under § 501(c)(3) of the Internal 
Revenue Code of 1986. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(37)) (34 CFR 
361.5(c)(36)) 

"One-stop center" means a center established under the 
Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (20 USC § 3101 
et seq.) and designed to provide a full range of assistance to 
job seekers under one roof. Established under the Workforce 
Investment Act of 1998, the. The centers offer training, career 
counseling, job listings, and similar employment related 
services. 

"Ongoing support services," as used in the definition of 
"supported employment," means services that are needed to 
support and maintain an individual with a most significant 
disability, including a youth with a most significant disability, 
in supported employment; identified based on a determination 
by the department of the individual's needs as specified in an 
individualized plan for employment; and furnished by the 
department from the time of job placement until transition to 
extended services, unless post-employment services are 
provided following transition, and thereafter by one or more 
extended services providers throughout the individual's term 
of employment in a particular job placement or multiple 
placements if those placements are being provided under a 
program of transitional employment. These services shall 
include an assessment of employment stability and provision 
of specific services or the coordination of services at or away 
from the worksite that are needed to maintain stability based 
on, at a minimum, twice-monthly monitoring at the worksite 
of each individual in supported employment;, or if under 
specific circumstances, especially at the request of the 
individual, the individualized plan for employment provides 
for off-site monitoring, twice-monthly meetings with the 
individual. These services shall consist of any particularized 
assessment supplementary to the comprehensive assessment 
of rehabilitation needs described in subsection A of 
22VAC30-20-100; the provision of skilled job trainers who 
accompany the individual for intensive job skill training at 
the worksite; job development and training; social skills 
training; regular observation or supervision of the individual; 
follow-up services including regular contact with the 
employers, the individuals, the parents, family members, 

guardians, advocates or authorized representatives of the 
individuals, and other suitable professional and informed 
advisors in order to reinforce and stabilize the job placement; 
facilitation of natural supports at the worksite; any other 
service identified in the scope of vocational rehabilitation 
services for individuals described in 22VAC30-20-120; or 
any service similar to the foregoing services. (34 CFR 
361.5(b)(38)) (34 CFR 361.5(c)(37)) 

"Personal assistance services" means a range of services, 
including, among other things, training in managing, 
supervising, and directing personal assistance services, 
provided by one or more persons designed to assist an 
individual with a disability to perform daily living activities 
on or off the job that the individual would typically perform 
without assistance if the individual did not have a disability. 
The services must be designed to increase the individual's 
control in life and ability to perform everyday activities on or 
off the job. The services must be necessary to the 
achievement of an employment outcome and may be 
provided only while the individual is receiving other 
vocational rehabilitation services. The services may include 
training in managing, supervising, and directing personal 
assistance services. (34 CFR 361.5(c)(38)) 

"Physical and mental restoration services" means corrective 
surgery or therapeutic treatment that is likely, within a 
reasonable period of time, to correct or modify substantially a 
stable or slowly progressive physical or mental impairment 
that constitutes a substantial impediment to employment; 
diagnosis of and treatment for mental or emotional disorders 
by qualified personnel in accordance with state licensure 
laws; dentistry; nursing services; necessary hospitalization 
(either inpatient or outpatient care) in connection with surgery 
or treatment and clinic services; drugs and supplies; 
prosthetic, orthotic, or other assistive devices, including 
hearing aids; eyeglasses and visual services, including visual 
training, and the examination and services necessary for the 
prescription and provision of eyeglasses, contact lenses, 
microscopic lenses, telescopic lenses, and other special visual 
aids provided by the department in accordance with the 
cooperative agreement established with the Department for 
the Blind and Vision Impaired and prescribed by personnel 
that are qualified in accordance with state licensure laws; 
podiatry; physical therapy; occupational therapy; speech or 
hearing therapy; mental health services; treatment of either 
acute or chronic medical complications and emergencies that 
are associated with or arise out of the provision of physical 
and mental restoration services or that are inherent in the 
condition under treatment; special services for the treatment 
of individuals with end-stage renal disease, including 
transplantation, dialysis, artificial kidneys, and supplies; and 
other medical or medically related rehabilitation services.  

"Physical or mental impairment" means any physiological 
disorder or condition, cosmetic disfigurement, or anatomical 
loss affecting one or more of the following body systems: 
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neurological, musculoskeletal, special sense organs, 
respiratory (including speech organs), cardiovascular, 
reproductive, digestive, genitourinary, hemic, and lymphatic, 
skin, and endocrine; or any mental or psychological disorders 
such as intellectual disability, organic brain syndrome, 
emotional or mental illness, and specific learning disabilities. 
(34 CFR 361.5(b)(41)) (34 CFR 361.5(c)(40)) 

"Post-employment services" means one or more of the 
services identified in 22VAC30-20-120 that are provided 
subsequent to the achievement of an employment outcome 
and that are necessary for an individual to maintain, regain, or 
advance in employment consistent with the individual's 
unique strengths, resources, priorities, concerns, abilities, 
capabilities, and interests, and informed choice. (34 CFR 
361.5(b)(42)) (34 CFR 361.5(c)(41)) 

"Pre-employment transition services" means the required 
activities and authorized activities specified in 34 CFR 
361.48(a)(2) and (3). (34 CFR 361.5(c)(42)) 

"Prevocational training" means individual and group 
instruction or counseling, the controlled use of varied 
activities, and the application of special behavior 
modification techniques. Individuals or patients are helped to 
(i) develop physical and emotional tolerance for work 
demands and pressures, (ii) acquire personal-social behaviors 
which would make them acceptable employees and 
coworkers on the job, and (iii) develop the basic manual, 
academic, and communication skills needed to acquire basic 
job skills.  

"Qualified and impartial mediator" means an individual who 
is not an employee of a public agency (other than an 
administrative law judge, hearing examiner, employee of a 
state office of mediators, or employee of an institution of 
higher education); is not a member of the State Rehabilitation 
Council for the department; has not been involved previously 
in the vocational rehabilitation of the applicant or eligible 
individual recipient of services; is knowledgeable of the 
vocational rehabilitation program and the applicable federal 
and state laws, regulations, and policies governing the 
provision of vocational rehabilitation services; has been 
trained in effective mediation techniques consistent with any 
state approved or recognized certification, licensing, 
registration, or other requirements; and has no personal, 
professional, or financial interest that would be in conflict 
with the objectivity of the individual during the mediation 
proceedings. An individual serving as a mediator is not 
considered to be an employee of the department for the 
purposes of this definition solely because the individual is 
paid by the department to serve as a mediator. (34 CFR 
361.5(b)(43)) (34 CFR 361.5(c)(43)) 

"Rehabilitation technology" means the systematic 
application of technologies, engineering methodologies, or 
scientific principles to meet the needs of, and address the 
barriers confronted by, individuals with disabilities in areas 

that include education, rehabilitation, employment, 
transportation, independent living, and recreation. The term 
includes rehabilitation engineering, assistive technology 
devices, and assistive technology services. (34 CFR 
361.5(c)(45)) 

"State" means the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"State plan" means the state plan for vocational 
rehabilitation services portion of the unified or combined 
state plan submitted under 34 CFR 361.10(c). (34 CFR 
361.5(b)(51)) 34 CFR 361.10. 

"State workforce investment development board" means a 
state workforce investment development board as established 
under § 111 of the Workforce Investment Act of 1998. 
(34 CFR 361.5(b)(49)) § 3 of the Workforce Innovation and 
Opportunity Act (20 USC 3101 et seq.). (34 CFR 
361.5(c)(49))  

"Student with a disability" means an individual with a 
disability in secondary, postsecondary, or other recognized 
education program who (i) is not younger than the earliest age 
for the provision of transition services under 
§ 614(d)(1)(A)(i)(VIII) of IDEA, or if the state elects to use a 
lower minimum age for the receipt of pre-employment 
transition services under IDEA, is not younger than that 
minimum age; (ii) is not older than the maximum age allowed 
by state law for receipt of services under IDEA; and (iii) is 
eligible for and receiving special education or related services 
under Part B of IDEA or is a student who is an individual 
with a disability for purposes of § 504 of the Act. (34 CFR 
361.5(c)(51)) 

"Substantial impediment to employment" means that a 
physical or mental impairment (in light of attendant medical, 
psychological, vocational, educational, and other related 
factors) hinders an individual from preparing for, entering 
into, engaging in, advancing in, or retaining employment 
consistent with the individual's abilities and capabilities. 
(34 CFR 361.5(c)(52)) 

"Supported employment" means (i) competitive integrated 
employment in an integrated setting or employment in 
integrated work settings in which individuals are working 
toward competitive employment, including customized 
employment, that is individualized and customized, consistent 
with the strengths, resources, priorities, concerns, abilities, 
capabilities, unique strengths, abilities, interests, and 
informed choice of the individuals with individual, including 
ongoing support services for individuals with the most 
significant disabilities, for whom competitive integrated 
employment has not traditionally historically occurred or for 
whom competitive integrated employment has been 
interrupted or intermittent as a result of a significant 
disability, and who, because of the nature and severity of their 
the individual's disabilities, need needs intensive supported 
employment services from the department and extended 
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services and extended services after the transition from 
support by the department, in order to perform this work or 
(ii) transitional employment for individuals with the most 
significant disabilities due to mental illness. (34 CFR 
361.5(b)(53)). (34 CFR 361.5(c)(53)) 

"Supported employment services" means ongoing support 
services, including customized employment, and other 
appropriate services needed to support and maintain an 
individual with a most significant disability, including a 
youth with a most significant disability, in supported 
employment that are provided by the department (i) for a 
period of time not to exceed 18 months, unless under special 
circumstances the eligible individual and the rehabilitation 
counselor or coordinator jointly agree to extend the time to 
achieve the employment outcome identified in the 
individualized plan for employment and (ii) following 
transition as post-employment services that are unavailable 
from an extended services provider and that are necessary to 
maintain or regain the job placement or advance in 
employment. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(54)) (i) organized and made 
available, singly or in combination, in such a way as to assist 
an eligible individual to achieve competitive integrated 
employment; (ii) based on a determination of the needs of an 
eligible individual, as specified in an individualized plan for 
employment; (iii) provided by the department for a period of 
time not to exceed 24 months, unless under special 
circumstances the eligible individual and the rehabilitation 
counselor jointly agree to extend the time to achieve the 
employment outcome identified in the individualized plan for 
employment; and (iv) following transition, as post-
employment services that are unavailable from an extended 
services provider and that are necessary to maintain or regain 
the job placement or advance in employment. (34 CFR 
361.5(c)(54))  

"Transition services" means a coordinated set of activities 
for a student or youth with a disability designed within an 
outcome-oriented process that promotes movement from 
school to post-school activities, including postsecondary 
education, vocational training, competitive integrated 
employment (including supported employment), supported 
employment, continuing and adult education, adult services, 
independent living, or community participation. The 
coordinated set of activities must be based upon the 
individual student's or youth's needs, taking into account the 
student's or youth's preferences and interests, and must 
include instruction, community experiences, the development 
of employment and other post-school adult living objectives, 
and, if appropriate, acquisition of daily living skills and 
functional vocational evaluation. Transition services must 
promote or facilitate the achievement of the employment 
outcome identified in the student's or youth's individualized 
plan for employment. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(55)) and include 
outreach to and engagement of the parents, or as appropriate, 

the representative of such a student or youth with a disability. 
(34 CFR 361.5(c)(55)  

"Transitional employment," as used in the definition of 
"supported employment," means a series of temporary job 
placements in competitive work in integrated settings with 
ongoing support services for individuals with the most 
significant disabilities due to mental illness. In transitional 
employment, the provision of ongoing support services must 
include continuing sequential job placements until job 
permanency is achieved.  

"Transportation" means travel and related expenses that are 
necessary to enable an applicant or eligible individual to 
participate in a vocational rehabilitation service, including 
expenses for training in the use of public transportation 
vehicles and systems. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(57)) (34 CFR 
361.5(c)(56)) 

"Vocational rehabilitation potential" mean means the ability 
of the individual with a disability to benefit in terms of an 
employment outcome from the provision of vocational 
rehabilitation services. 

"Vocational rehabilitation services" means those services 
listed in 22VAC30-20-120.  

"WIOA" means the federal Workforce Innovation and 
Opportunity Act (29 USC § 3101 et seq.). 

"Youth with a disability" means an individual with a 
disability who is not younger than 14 years of age and not 
older than 24 years of age.  

22VAC30-20-20. Processing referrals and applications.  

A. Referrals. The department must establish and implement 
standards for the prompt and equitable handling of referrals of 
individuals for vocational rehabilitation services, including 
referrals of individuals made through a one-stop center. The 
standards must include timelines for making good faith 
efforts to inform these individuals of application requirements 
and to gather information necessary to initiate an assessment 
for determining eligibility and priority for services. (34 CFR 
361.41(a))  

B. Applications.  

1. Once an individual has submitted an application for 
vocational rehabilitation services, including applications 
made through common intake procedures in one-stop 
centers under § 121 of the Workforce Innovation and 
Opportunity Act, an eligibility determination shall be made 
within 60 days, unless (i) exceptional and unforeseen 
circumstances beyond the control of the department 
preclude making a determination within 60 days and the 
department and the individual agree to a specific extension 
of time; or (ii) an exploration of the individual's abilities, 
capabilities, and capacity to perform in work situations is 
carried out or, if appropriate, an extended evaluation is 
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necessary. (34 CFR 361.41(b)(1)) in accordance with 
34 CFR 361.42(e). (34 CFR 361.41(b)) 

2. An individual is considered to have submitted an 
application when the individual or the individual's 
representative, as appropriate (i) has completed and signed 
an agency application form, a common intake application 
form in a one-stop center requesting vocational 
rehabilitation services, or has otherwise requested services 
from the department; (ii) has provided information to the 
department that is necessary to initiate an assessment to 
determine eligibility and priority for services; and (iii) is 
available to complete the assessment process. (34 CFR 
361.41(b)(2))  

3. The department shall ensure that its application forms 
are widely available throughout the state, particularly in 
the one-stop centers. (34 CFR 361.41(b)(3))  

22VAC30-20-30. Assessment for determining eligibility 
and priority for services.  

In order to determine whether an individual is eligible for 
vocational rehabilitation services and the individual's priority 
under an order of selection for services (if the state is 
operating under an order of selection), the department shall 
conduct an assessment for determining eligibility and priority 
for services. The assessment shall be conducted in the most 
integrated setting possible, consistent with the individual's 
needs and informed choice, and in accordance with the 
following provisions: this section. 

1. Eligibility requirements are applied without regard to 
race, age, gender, color, or national origin;: 

a. Race; 

b. Age; 

c. Sex; 

d. Color; 

e. National origin; 

f. Particular service needs; 

g. Anticipated costs of services required by an applicant; 

h. Income level of applicant of applicant's family; 

i. Type of expected employment outcome; 

j. Source of referral for vocational rehabilitation services; 

k. Employment history; 

l. Current employment status; 

m. Educational status; or  

n. Current educational credential.  

2. No applicant or group of applicants is excluded or found 
ineligible solely on the basis of the type of disability; and 

3. The eligibility requirements are applied without regard 
to the particular service needs or anticipated cost of 
services required by an applicant or the income level of an 
applicant or applicant's family, or the type of expected 
employment outcome, or the source of referral for 
vocational rehabilitation services; and, or the applicant's 
employment history or current employment status, or the 
applicant's educational status or current educational 
credential; and  

4. 3. No duration of residence requirement is imposed that 
excludes from services any individual who is present in the 
state. (34 CFR 361.42(c))  

22VAC30-20-40. Eligibility requirements determination. 

A. Basic requirements. The department's determination of an 
applicant's eligibility for vocational rehabilitation services 
shall be based only on the following requirements: (i) a 
determination by qualified personnel that the applicant has a 
physical or mental impairment; (ii) a determination by 
qualified personnel that the applicant's physical or mental 
impairment constitutes or results in a substantial impediment 
to employment for the applicant; (iii) a presumption, in 
accordance with subsection B of this section, that the 
applicant can benefit in terms of an employment outcome 
from the provision of vocational rehabilitation services; and 
(iv) a determination by a qualified vocational rehabilitation 
counselor employed by the department that the applicant 
requires vocational rehabilitation services to prepare for, 
secure, retain, advance in, or regain employment consistent 
with the applicant's unique strengths, resources, priorities, 
concerns, abilities, capabilities, interests, and informed 
choice.  

B. Presumption of benefit. The department shall presume 
that an applicant who meets the basic eligibility requirements 
in clauses (i) and (ii) of subsection A of this section can 
benefit in terms of an employment outcome unless the 
department demonstrates, based on clear and convincing 
evidence, that the applicant is incapable of benefiting in terms 
of an employment from vocational rehabilitation services due 
to the severity of the applicant's disability.  

C. Presumption of eligibility for Social Security 
beneficiaries. The department shall assure that if an applicant 
has appropriate evidence, such as an award letter, that 
establishes the applicant's eligibility for Social Security 
benefits under Title II or Title XVI of the Social Security Act, 
the department shall presume that the applicant (i) meets the 
eligibility requirements in clauses (i) and (ii) of subsection A 
of this section and (ii) is an individual with a significant 
disability as defined in 22VAC30-20-10.  

1. The department shall presume that any applicant who 
demonstrates proof of being determined eligible for Social 
Security benefits under Title II or Title XVI of the Social 
Security Act (i) meets the basic eligibility requirement in 
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clauses (i) and (ii) of subsection A of this section and (ii) is 
considered an individual with a significant disability as 
defined in 22VAC30-20-10.  

2. If an applicant for vocational rehabilitation services 
asserts that he is eligible for Social Security benefits under 
Title II or Title XVI of the Social Security Act (and, 
therefore, is presumed eligible for vocational rehabilitation 
services) but is unable to provide appropriate evidence, 
such as an award letter, to support this assertion, the 
department must verify the applicant's eligibility under 
Title II or Title XVI of the Social Security Act by 
contacting the Social Security Administration. This 
verification must be made within a reasonable period of 
time to enable the department to determine the applicant's 
eligibility for vocational rehabilitation services within 60 
days of the individual submitting an application for 
services in accordance with 22VAC30-20-20. 

D. Achievement of an employment outcome. Any eligible 
individual, including an individual whose eligibility for 
vocational rehabilitation services is based on the individual 
being eligible for Social Security benefits under Title II or 
Title XVI of the Social Security Act, must intend to achieve 
an employment outcome that is consistent with the 
individual's unique strengths, resources, priorities, concerns, 
abilities, capabilities, interests, and informed choice.  

1. The department shall be responsible for informing 
individuals, through its application process for vocational 
rehabilitation services, that individuals who receive 
services under the program must intend to achieve an 
employment outcome.  

2. The applicant's completion of the application process for 
vocational rehabilitation services shall be sufficient 
evidence of the individual's intent to achieve an 
employment outcome, and no additional demonstration on 
the part of the applicant is required for purposes of 
satisfying this section.  

E. Interpretation of entitlement. Nothing in this section shall 
be construed to create an entitlement to any vocational 
rehabilitation service.  

F. Review and assessment of data for eligibility 
determination. Except as provided in 22VAC30-20-60 
subsection G of this section, the department shall base its 
determination of each of the basic eligibility requirements in 
subsection A of this section on:  

1. A review and assessment of existing data, including 
counselor observations, education records, information 
provided by the individual or the individual's family, 
information used by the Social Security Administration 
particularly information used by education officials, and 
determinations made by officials of other agencies; and  

2. To the extent existing data do not describe the current 
functioning of the individual or are unavailable, 
insufficient, or inappropriate to make an eligibility 
determination, an assessment of additional data resulting 
from the provision of vocational rehabilitation services, 
including trial work experiences, assistive technology 
devices and services, personal assistance services, and 
worksite assessments, any other support services that are 
necessary to determine whether an individual is eligible.  

G. Trial work experience for individuals with significant 
disabilities. Prior to any determination that an individual with 
a disability is incapable of benefiting unable to benefit from 
vocational rehabilitation services in terms of an employment 
outcome because of the severity of that individual's disability, 
the department shall explore conduct an exploration of the 
individual's abilities, capabilities, and capacity to perform in a 
realistic work situation in accordance with 34 CFR 361.42 to 
determine whether or not there is clear and convincing 
evidence to support such a determination. The department 
shall develop a written plan to assess periodically the 
individual's abilities, capabilities, and capacity to perform in 
competitive integrated work situations through the use of trial 
work experiences, which must be provided in competitive 
integrated employment settings to the maximum extent 
possible, consistent with the informed choice and 
rehabilitation needs of the individual. The plan for trial work 
shall include: 

1. Trial work experiences which may include: 

a. Supported employment, 

b. On-the-job training, and 

c. Other experiences using realistic integrated work 
settings. 

2. Appropriate supports to accommodate the needs of the 
individual during the trial work experiences that include: 

a. Assistive technology devices and services, and 

b. Personal assistance services. 

3. Trial work experiences of sufficient variety and over a 
sufficient period of time for the department to determine 
there is: 

a. Sufficient evidence to conclude that the individual can 
benefit from the provision of vocational rehabilitation 
services in terms of an employment outcome; or 

b. Clear and convincing evidence that due to the severity 
of the individual's disability, the individual is incapable 
of benefitting from the provision of vocational 
rehabilitation services in terms of an employment 
outcome.  
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22VAC30-20-60. Extended evaluation for individuals with 
significant disabilities. (Repealed.) 

A. Under limited circumstances, if an individual cannot take 
advantage of trial work experiences or if options for trial 
work experiences have been exhausted before the department 
is able to make an eligibility determination for vocational 
rehabilitation services, the department shall conduct an 
extended evaluation to make the determination that (i) there is 
sufficient evidence to conclude that the individual can benefit 
from the provision of vocational rehabilitation services in 
terms of an employment outcome or (ii) there is clear and 
convincing evidence that the individual is incapable of 
benefiting from vocational rehabilitation services in terms of 
an employment outcome due to the severity of the 
individual's disability.  

B. During the extended evaluation period, which may not 
exceed 18 months, vocational rehabilitation services shall be 
provided in the most integrated setting possible, consistent 
with the informed choice and rehabilitation needs of the 
individual.  

C. During the extended evaluation period, the department 
shall develop a written plan for providing services that are 
necessary to make the determinations in subsection A of this 
section. The department may provide during this period only 
those services that are necessary to make these two 
determinations. (34 CFR 361.42)  

D. The department shall assess the individual's progress as 
frequently as necessary, but at least once every 90 days, 
during the extended evaluation period.  

E. The department shall terminate extended evaluation 
services at any point during the 18-month extended 
evaluation period if the department determines that (i) there is 
sufficient evidence to conclude that the individual can benefit 
from vocational rehabilitation services in terms of an 
employment outcome or (ii) there is clear and convincing 
evidence that the individual is incapable of benefiting from 
vocational rehabilitation services in terms of an employment 
outcome.  

22VAC30-20-70. Certification of eligibility.  

A. For vocational rehabilitation services, before or at the 
same time the applicant is accepted for services, the 
department shall certify that the applicant has met the basic 
eligibility requirements as specified in 22VAC30-20-40.   

B. For extended evaluation, as a basis for providing an 
extended evaluation to determine vocational rehabilitation 
potential, there shall be certification that the applicant has met 
the requirements as specified in 22VAC30-20-60.  

Before developing an individualized plan for employment as 
specified in 22VAC30-20-110, the department shall certify 
that the applicant has met the basic eligibility requirements as 
specified in subsection A of 22VAC30-20-40. 

22VAC30-20-80. Procedures for ineligibility 
determination. 

A. Certification of ineligibility. If the department determines 
that an applicant is ineligible for vocational rehabilitation 
services or determines that an individual receiving services 
under an individualized plan for employment is no longer 
eligible for services, the department shall:  

1. Make the determination only after providing an 
opportunity for full consultation with the individual or, as 
appropriate, with the individual's representative; 

2. Inform the individual in writing, supplemented as 
necessary by other appropriate modes of communication 
consistent with the informed choice of the individual, of 
the ineligibility determination, including the reasons for 
that determination, the requirements under this section and 
the means by which the individual may express and seek 
remedy for any dissatisfaction, including the procedures 
for review of a department personnel determination in 
accordance with 22VAC30-20-181; 

3. Provide the individual with a description of services 
available under the Client Assistance Program and 
information on how to contact that program; 

4. Refer the individual (i) to other training or employment-
related programs that are part of the one-stop centers 
service delivery system that can address the individual's 
training or employment related needs or, (ii) if the 
ineligibility determination is based on a finding that the 
individual is incapable of achieving or has chosen not to 
pursue an employment outcome as defined in 22VAC30-
20-10, to local extended employment providers; and 
federal, state, or local programs or service providers, 
including as appropriate, independent living programs and 
extended employment providers, best suited to meet the 
individual's rehabilitation needs; and 

5. Review within 12 months and annually thereafter if 
requested by the individual or, if appropriate, by the 
individual's representative, any ineligibility determination 
that is based on a finding that the individual is incapable of 
achieving an employment outcome. The review need not 
be conducted in situations in which the individual has 
refused it, the individual is no longer present in the state 
Virginia, the individual's whereabouts are unknown, or the 
individual's medical condition is rapidly progressive or 
terminal.  

B. Case closure without eligibility determination. The 
department shall not close an applicant's record of services 
prior to making an eligibility determination unless the 
applicant declines to participate in, or is unavailable to 
complete, an assessment for determining eligibility and 
priority for services, and the department has made a 
reasonable number of attempts to contact the applicant or, if 
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appropriate, the applicant's representative to encourage the 
applicant's participation.  

22VAC30-20-95. Information and referral services.  

A. The department shall implement an information and 
referral system adequate to ensure that individuals with 
disabilities, including eligible individuals who do not meet 
the department's order of selection criteria for receiving 
vocational rehabilitation services if the department is 
operating under an order of selection, are provided accurate 
vocational rehabilitation information and guidance (which 
may include counseling and referral for job placement) using 
appropriate modes of communication to assist them in 
preparing for, securing, retaining, or regaining employment.  

B. The department shall refer individuals with disabilities to 
other appropriate federal and state programs, including other 
components of the statewide workforce investment system. In 
making these referrals, the department shall:  

1. Refer the individuals to federal or state programs, 
including programs carried out by other components of the 
statewide workforce investment development system, best 
suited to address the specific rehabilitation, independent 
living and employment needs of an individual with a 
disability who makes an informed choice not to pursue an 
employment outcome under the vocational rehabilitation 
program; and  

2. Inform the individual that services under the vocational 
rehabilitation program can be provided to eligible 
individuals in extended employment if necessary for 
purposes of training or otherwise preparing for 
employment in an integrated setting;  

3. Inform the individual that if he initially chooses not to 
pursue an employment outcome, he can seek services from 
the department at a later date if, at that time, he chooses to 
pursue an employment outcome; 

4. Refer the  individual, as appropriate, to the Social 
Security Administration in order to obtain information 
concerning the ability of individuals with disabilities to 
work while receiving benefits from the Social Security 
Administration; and 

5. Provide the individual who is being referred (i) a notice 
of the referral by the department to the agency carrying out 
the program; (ii) information identifying a specific point of 
contact within the agency to which the individual is being 
referred; and (iii) information and advice regarding the 
most suitable services to assist the individual to prepare 
for, secure, retain, or regain employment.  

22VAC30-20-100. The individualized plan for 
employment procedures.  

A. General requirements.  

1. An individualized plan for employment meeting the 
requirements of this section shall be developed and 
implemented in a timely manner for For each individual 
determined to be eligible for vocational rehabilitation 
services or, if the department is operating under an order of 
selection in accordance with 22VAC30-20-90, for each 
eligible individual to whom the department is able to 
provide services. Services shall be provided in accordance 
with the provisions of the individualized plan for 
employment., an individualized plan for employment 
meeting the requirements of this section shall be developed 
and implemented in a timely manner, not to exceed 90 
days after the individuals eligibility determination date. 
This 90-day deadline for developing the individualized 
plan for employment may be extended if the department 
and the eligible individual agree to an extension of the 
deadline to a specific date by which the plan shall be 
developed.  

2. The individualized plan for employment must be 
designed to achieve a specific employment outcome as 
defined in 22VAC30-20-10.  

3. The department shall conduct an assessment for 
determining vocational rehabilitation needs, if appropriate, 
for each eligible individual, or if the department is 
operating under an order of selection, the department shall 
conduct an assessment for each eligible individual to 
whom the department is able to provide services. The 
purpose of this assessment is to determine the employment 
outcome and the nature and scope of vocational 
rehabilitation services to be included in the individualized 
plan for employment.  

a. To the extent possible, the employment outcome and 
the nature and scope of rehabilitation services to be 
included in the individualized plan for employment shall 
be determined based on data from assessment of 
eligibility and priority of services under 22VAC30-20-
30.  

b. If additional data are necessary to determine the 
employment outcome and the nature and scope of 
services, the department shall conduct a comprehensive 
assessment of the unique strengths, resources, priorities, 
concerns, abilities, capabilities, interests, and informed 
choice, including the need for supported employment 
services, of the eligible individual, in the most integrated 
setting possible. In preparing the comprehensive 
assessment, the department shall use, to the maximum 
extent possible and appropriate and in accordance with 
confidentiality requirements, existing information that is 
current as of the date of the development of the 
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individualized plan for employment. This includes 
information (i) available from other programs and 
providers, particularly information used by the education 
system and the Social Security Administration; (ii) 
provided by the individual and the individual's family; 
and (iii) obtained under the assessment for determining 
the individual's eligibility and vocational needs.  

3. 4. The individualized plan for employment shall be a 
written document prepared on forms provided by the 
department.  

4. 5. Vocational rehabilitation services shall be provided in 
accordance with the provisions of the individualized plan 
for employment. An eligible individual or, as appropriate, 
the individual's representative may develop all or part of 
the individualized plan for employment with or without 
assistance from the department or other entity. The 
individualized plan for employment shall be approved and 
signed by the qualified vocational rehabilitation counselor 
employed by the department and the individual or, as 
appropriate, the individual's representative. The department 
shall establish and implement standards for the prompt 
development of individualized plans for employment for 
the individuals identified in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection, including timelines that take into consideration 
the needs of the individual.  

5. 6. The department shall promptly provide each 
individual or, as appropriate, the individual's representative 
a written copy of the individualized plan for employment 
and its amendments in the native language or appropriate 
mode of communication of the individual or, as 
appropriate, the individual's representative.  

6. 7. The department shall advise in writing each individual 
or, as appropriate, the individual's representative of all 
department procedures and requirements affecting the 
development and review of an individualized plan for 
employment, including the availability of appropriate 
modes of communication.  

7. 8. The individualized plan for employment for a student 
with a disability who is receiving special education 
services must be coordinated with the developed in 
consideration of the student's individualized education 
program for that individual in terms of goals, objectives, 
and services identified in the individualized education 
program. or services under § 504 of the Act, as applicable, 
and the plans, policies, and procedures and terms of 
interagency agreement with the state agency and education 
officials designed to facilitate the transition of students 
with disabilities from the receipt of educational services to 
the receipt of vocational rehabilitation services.  

9. The department shall provide individuals entitled to 
benefits under Title II or Title XVI of the Social Security 
Act information on additional supports and assistance for 

individuals with disabilities desiring to enter the 
workforce, including benefits planning.  

B. Individualized plan for employment review. The 
department shall review the plan with the individual or, as 
appropriate, the individual's representative as often as 
necessary, but at least once each year to assess the 
individual's progress in achieving the identified employment 
outcome. The plan may be amended as necessary if there are 
substantive changes in the employment outcome, the 
vocational rehabilitation services to be provided, or the 
providers of the vocational rehabilitation services. 
Amendments to the plan do not take effect until agreed to and 
signed by the individual or, as appropriate, the individual's 
representative and by a qualified vocational rehabilitation 
counselor employed by the department.  

22VAC30-20-110. Individualized plan for employment 
content.  

A. Regardless of the option in 22VAC30-20-100 chosen by 
the eligible individual for developing the individualized plan 
for employment, each plan for employment shall include the 
following:  

1. A description of the employment outcome, as defined in 
22VAC30-20-10, that is chosen by the eligible individual 
and is consistent with the individual's unique strengths, 
resources, priorities, concerns, abilities, capabilities, career 
interests, and informed choice of the individual, and results 
in employment in an integrated setting; that is consistent 
with the general goal of competitive integrated 
employment; 

2. A description of the vocational rehabilitation services 
provided under 22VAC30-20-120 that are needed to 
achieve the employment outcome, (i) including, as 
appropriate, the provision of assistive technology devices 
and services and personal assistance services, including 
training in the management of those services, and 
providing in the most integrated setting that is appropriate 
for the services involved and is consistent with the 
informed choice of the eligible individual; (ii) in the case 
of an eligible student or youth with a disability, the specific 
transition and support services needed to achieve the 
employment outcome or projected post-school 
employment outcome;  

3. A provision for services to be provided in the most 
integrated setting that is appropriated for the services 
involved and consistent with the informed choice of the 
eligible individual; 

3. 4. Timelines for the achievement of the employment 
outcome and for the initiation of services;  

4. 5. A description of the entity or entities chosen by the 
eligible individual or, as appropriate, the individual's 
representative that will provide the vocational 
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rehabilitation services and the methods used to procure 
those services;  

5. 6. A description of the criteria that will be used to 
evaluate progress toward achievement of the employment 
outcome;  

6. 7. The terms and conditions of the individualized plan 
for employment, including, as appropriate, information 
describing (i) the responsibilities of the department, (ii) the 
responsibilities the eligible individual shall assume in 
relation to achieving the employment outcome, (iii) the 
extent of the eligible individual's participation in paying 
for the cost of services, (iv) the responsibility of the 
individual with regard to applying for and securing 
comparable services and benefits as described in 
22VAC30-20-170, and (v) the responsibilities of other 
entities as the result of arrangements made pursuant to the 
comparable services or benefits requirements in 22VAC30-
20-170;  

7. 8. A statement of the rights of the individual under this 
chapter and the means by which the individual may 
express and seek remedy for any dissatisfaction, including 
the opportunity for a review of determinations made by 
department personnel;  

8. 9. A statement of the availability of the Client 
Assistance Program;  

9. 10. The basis on which the individual has been 
determined to have achieved an employment outcome;  

10. 11. A statement concerning the expected need for post-
employment services prior to closing the record of services 
of an individual who has achieved an employment 
outcome;  

11. 12. A description of the terms and conditions for the 
provision of any post-employment services; and  

12. 13. If appropriate, a statement of how post-employment 
services shall be provided or arranged through other 
entities as the result of arrangements made pursuant to the 
comparable benefits and services requirement.  

B. Supported employment. In addition to the requirements in 
subsection A of this section, the individualized plan for 
employment for an individual with a most significant 
disability for whom supported employment has been 
determined appropriate shall also:  

1. Specify the supported employment services to be 
provided by the department;  

2. Specify the expected extended services needed, which 
may include natural supports;  

3. Identify the source of extended services or, to the extent 
that it is not possible to identify the source of extended 
services at the time the individualized plan for employment 

is developed, include a description of the basis for 
concluding that there is a reasonable expectation that those 
sources will become available;  

4. Provide for periodic monitoring to ensure that the 
individual is making satisfactory progress toward meeting 
the weekly work requirement established in the 
individualized plan for employment by the time of 
transition to extended services;  

5. Provide for the coordination of services provided under 
an individualized plan for employment with services 
provided under other individualized plans established 
under other federal or state programs;  

6. To the extent that job skills training is provided, identify 
that the training shall be provided on site; and  

7. Include placement in an integrated setting for the 
maximum number of hours possible based on the unique 
strengths, resources, priorities, concerns, abilities, 
capabilities, interests, and informed choice of individuals 
with the most significant disabilities.  

C. Student with a disability. In addition to the requirements 
in subsection A of this section, the individualized plan for 
employment for a student with a disability shall be 
coordinated with the individualized education program or 
services under § 504 of the Act, as applicable for that 
individual, in terms of the goals, objectives, and services 
identified in the education program.  

22VAC30-20-120. Scope of vocational rehabilitation 
services for individuals.  

A. Pre-employment transition services. The department, in 
collaboration with the local education agencies involved, 
shall provide or arrange for the provision of pre-employment 
transition services for all students with disabilities as defined 
in 22VAC30-20-10 who are in need of such services 
regardless of whether the student has applied or been 
determined eligible for vocational rehabilitation service.  

1. The department shall provide the following required pre-
employment transition services: 

a. Job exploration counseling; 

b. Work-based learning experiences, which may include 
in-school or after school opportunities, or experience 
outside the traditional school setting (including 
internships), provided in an integrated environment to the 
maximum extent possible; 

c. Counseling on opportunities for enrollment in 
comprehensive transition or postsecondary educational 
programs at institutions of higher education; 

d. Workplace readiness training to develop social skills 
and independent living; and 
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e. Instruction in self-advocacy (including instruction in 
person-centered planning), which may include peer 
mentoring (including peer mentoring from individuals 
with disabilities working in competitive integrated 
employment). 

2. The department may provide the following authorized 
pre-employment transition services if funds are available 
and remaining after the provision of the required activities 
described in subdivision 1 of this subsection: 

a. Implement effective strategies to increase the 
likelihood of independent living and inclusion in 
communities and competitive integrated workplaces; 

b. Develop and improve strategies for individuals with 
intellectual disabilities and individuals with significant 
disabilities to (i) live independently, (ii) participate in 
postsecondary education experiences, and (iii) obtain, 
advance in, and retain competitive integrated 
employment; 

c. Provide instruction to vocational rehabilitation 
counselors, school transition personnel, and other persons 
supporting students with disabilities; 

d. Disseminate information about innovative, effective, 
and efficient approached to achieve the goals of this 
subsection; 

e. Coordinate activities with transition services provided 
by local education agencies under the IDEA; 

f. Apply evidence-based findings to improve policy, 
procedure, practice, and the preparation of personnel in 
order to better achieve the goals of this section; 

g. Develop model transition demonstration projects; 

h. Establish or support multistate or regional partnerships 
involving states, local educational agencies, designated 
state units, developmental disability agencies, private 
businesses, or other participants to achieve the goals of 
this section; and 

i. Disseminate information and strategies to improve the 
transition to postsecondary activities of individuals who 
are members of traditionally unserved and underserved 
populations. 

3. Each local office of the department shall carry out the 
responsibilities of: 

a. Attending individualized education program meetings 
for students with disabilities when invited; 

b. Working with the local workforce development 
boards, one-stop centers, and employers to develop work 
opportunities for students with disabilities, including 
internships, summer employment, other employment 
opportunities available throughout the school year, and 
apprenticeships; 

c. Working with schools, including those carrying out 
activities under § 614(d) of IDEA, to coordinate and 
ensure the provision of pre-employment transition 
services under this section; and 

d. When invited, attending person-centered planning 
meetings for individuals receiving services under Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act.  

B. Services for individuals who have applied for or been 
determined eligible for vocational rehabilitation services. As 
appropriate to the vocational rehabilitation needs of each 
individual and consistent with each individual's informed 
choice individualized plan for employment, the department 
shall ensure that the following vocational rehabilitation 
services are available to assist the individual with a disability 
in preparing for, securing, retaining, advancing in, or 
regaining an employment outcome that is consistent with the 
individual's strengths, resources, priorities, concerns, abilities, 
capabilities, interests, and informed choice:  

1. Assessment for determining eligibility and priority for 
services and assessment for determining vocational 
rehabilitation needs by qualified personnel including, if 
appropriate, an assessment by personnel skilled in 
rehabilitation technology in accordance with 22VAC30-
20-10.  

2. Vocational rehabilitation counseling and guidance, 
including information and support services to assist an 
individual in exercising informed choice.  

3. Referral and other services necessary to assist applicants 
and eligible individuals to secure needed services from 
other agencies, including other components of the 
statewide workforce investment development system and 
to advise those individuals about the Client Assistance 
Program.  

4. Physical and mental restoration services, in accordance 
with the definition of in 22VAC30-20-10, to the extent that 
financial support is not readily available from a source 
other than the department (such as through health 
insurance or comparable services and benefits as defined in 
22VAC30-20-10).  

a. Eligibility requirements.  

(1) Stable or slowly progressive. The physical or mental 
condition shall be stable or slowly progressive. The 
condition shall not be acute or transitory, or of such 
recent origin that the resulting functional limitations and 
the extent to which the limitations affect occupational 
performance cannot be identified.  

(2) Refusal of service. When an individual has a physical 
or mental disability with resulting limitations that 
constitute a barrier to employment, and when in the 
opinion of licensed medical personnel these limitations 
can be removed by physical or mental restoration 
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services without injury to the individual, the individual 
shall not be eligible for any rehabilitation services, 
except counseling, guidance and placement if he refuses 
to accept the appropriate physical or mental restoration 
services. A second opinion may be provided at the 
individual's request. In the event of conflicting medical 
opinions, the department shall secure a third opinion and 
the decision shall be made on the two concurring 
opinions.  

b. Provision of physical and mental restoration services. 
These services shall be provided only when:  

(1) Recommended by a licensed practitioner;  

(2) Services are not available from another source; and  

(3) They are provided in conjunction with counseling and 
guidance, and other services, as deemed appropriate.  

The department shall not make case expenditures for 
acute or intermediate medical care except for medical 
complications and emergencies that are associated with 
or arise out of the provision of vocational rehabilitation 
services under an individualized plan for employment 
and that are inherent in the condition under treatment.  

c. Services not sponsored by the department. The 
department, in consultation with appropriate medical 
resources, shall determine those restoration services that 
shall be provided by the department. The following 
procedures shall not be provided:  

(1) Experimental procedures;  

(2) High risk procedures;  

(3) Procedures with limited vocational outcomes or 
procedures not related to the vocational outcome; and  

(4) Procedures with uncertain outcomes.  

5. Vocational and other training services, including 
personal and vocational adjustment training, advanced 
training in, but not limited to, a field of science, technology 
engineering, mathematics (including computer science), 
medicine, law, or business; books, tools, and other training 
materials, except that no training or training services in 
institutions of higher education (universities, colleges, 
community or junior colleges, vocational schools, technical 
institutes, or hospital schools of nursing) nursing, or any 
other postsecondary education institution) may be paid for 
with funds under this section unless maximum efforts have 
been made by the department and the individual to secure 
grant assistance in whole or in part from other sources to 
pay for that training.  

All training services provided shall be related to attainment 
of the vocational objective or provide for the determination 
of eligibility for vocational rehabilitation services. 
Vocational training includes any organized form of 

instruction that provides the knowledge and skills essential 
for performing the tasks involved in an occupation. 
Vocational training may be obtained in institutions such as 
colleges, universities, business schools, nursing schools, 
and trade and technical schools. It may also be obtained by 
on-the-job training, apprenticeship programs, tutorial 
training, or correspondence study.  

a. Approved training institutions. Only training 
institutions approved in accordance with the department's 
vendor approval process shall be used. 

b. College and university academic training.  

(1) Academic requirements. The individual shall take 
sufficient academic credit hours based on the 
requirement of the college attended for classification as a 
full-time student, unless this is, in the opinion of the 
department, contraindicated by the individual's disability. 
Courses shall meet the institution's requirement towards 
toward the obtainment of the degree or certificate. 
Continuation of financial assistance by the department 
shall be dependent upon the individual maintaining the 
grade average required by the institution for the 
particular course of study. When the institution has no 
grade requirement, continuation of financial assistance 
by the department shall be dependent upon the individual 
maintaining a "C" average calculated over the academic 
year. When the individual fails to maintain the required 
academic grade average, assistance may be discontinued. 
The department's assistance may be reinstated when the 
individual completes one semester or quarter with the 
minimum required grade average.  

Each individual shall be advised that failure to provide 
grades to the department shall be grounds for termination 
of departmental financial assistance.  

(2) Graduate degree program. The department shall assist 
eligible individuals in securing a graduate degree only 
when it is judged essential to achieving an employment 
goal agreed to by the department and the individual.  

(3) Virginia colleges and universities. Vocational 
training, including college or university training, shall be 
provided by the department in department-approved 
institutions located within the boundaries of the 
Commonwealth, unless such training is not available 
within the Commonwealth. Institutions in the areas of 
Washington, D.C.; Bristol-Johnson City-Kingsport, 
Tennessee; the city of Bluefield, West Virginia; and 
other cities where the services may be provided more 
effectively and economically and shall be treated as if 
located in Virginia.  

(4) Tuition and mandatory fees. The department may pay 
tuition for college and university training in an amount 
not in excess of the highest amount charged for tuition by 
a state-supported institution or the rate published in the 
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catalog, whichever is less, except where out-of-state or 
private college is necessary. Published tuition costs in 
excess of the highest amount charged by a state-
supported institution may be necessary and may be paid 
by the department if no state-supported institution is 
available that offers the degree program needed to 
achieve the established employment goal, if no state-
supported program offers disability-related supports to 
enable the individual to achieve the established 
employment goal, or if an out-of-state or private program 
is more economical for the department. 

(5) Scholarships and grants. Training services in 
institutions of higher education shall be paid for with 
departmental funds only after maximum efforts have 
been made by the individual to secure assistance in 
whole or in part from other sources; however, any 
individual eligible for vocational rehabilitation training 
services but not meeting the financial need test of the 
department may be provided an assistance grant annually 
in an amount not to exceed the equivalent of one 
quarter's tuition of a full-time community college 
student.  

c. Correspondence study. The correspondence study 
training may be authorized only when:  

(1) The individual requires specific preliminary training 
in order to enter a training program or training cannot be 
arranged by any other method; and  

(2) Satisfactory progress is maintained.  

d. On-the-job training. The department may enter into 
agreements with employers in the private or public sector 
to provide on-the-job training services. The terms and 
conditions of each individual agreement shall be 
established by the department.  

e. Part-time training. Part-time training may be utilized 
only when the severity of the individual's disability shall 
not allow the individual to pursue training on a full-time 
basis. Part-time training shall be authorized only at 
department-approved facilities and schools.  

f. Work adjustment training. Work adjustment training 
may be provided if needed for the individual to engage in 
subsequent vocational rehabilitation services as indicated 
by the thorough diagnostic study assessment of medical, 
vocational, psychological, and other factors. This service 
may be provided only by the department or approved 
vendors.  

g. Prevocational training. Prevocational training may be 
provided if needed for the individual to engage in 
subsequent vocational rehabilitation services as indicated 
by the thorough diagnostic study assessment of medical, 
vocational, psychological, and other factors. This service 

may be provided only by the department or approved 
vendors.  

h. Tutorial training. Tutorial training may be provided if 
needed for the individual to achieve a vocational goal as 
indicated by the thorough diagnostic study assessment of 
medical, vocational, psychological, and other factors. 
This service may be provided only by the department or 
approved vendors.  

i. Other higher education training concerns.  

(1) Required textbooks and supplies. The maximum 
amount of departmental financial assistance for required 
textbooks and supplies (pencils, paper, etc.) shall not 
exceed the amount determined by the institution for 
books and supplies in the student's school budget.  

(2) Required training materials. Training materials may 
be provided when required by the instructor.  

6. Maintenance in accordance with the definition of that 
term in 22VAC30-20-10.  

a. Clothes. Clothes shall be provided when specifically 
required for participation in a training program or for 
placement in a specialized job area as determined by the 
department.  

b. Room, board, and utilities. The maximum rate paid for 
room, board, and utilities shall be established annually by 
the department.  

(1) Training cases. The maximum amount of 
departmental financial assistance for room and board at a 
training institution (college, vocational school, 
rehabilitation center facility), when the institution is able 
to provide room and board, shall not exceed the 
published room and board rates charged by the 
institution, or the actual cost, whichever is less.  

(2) While living at home. Maintenance shall be provided 
for an individual living at home only when the 
individual's income supports the family unit of the 
individual, when it is more cost effective for the 
department, or when it is in the best interest of the 
individual's vocational rehabilitation program based on 
mutual agreement of the rehabilitation counselor and the 
individual.  

7. Transportation in connection with the rendering of any 
vocational rehabilitation service and in accordance with the 
definition of that term in 22VAC30-20-10. Transportation 
may include relocation and moving expenses necessary for 
achieving a vocational rehabilitation objective.  

a. Transportation costs. The department shall pay the 
most economical rate for accessible public transportation. 
When public transportation is not available, or the 
individual, because of disability, cannot travel by public 
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transportation, transportation may be provided at a rate 
established by the department. 

b. For and during training services. When the individual 
must live at the training location, the department may 
only pay for a one-way trip from the residence to the 
training location at the beginning of the training and a 
one-way trip from the training location to the residence 
or job site at the conclusion of the training program. 
Transportation may be paid to and from the residence in 
case of emergency (severe illness or death in family;, 
acute business emergency, or prolonged school closing 
such as Christmas holidays). Local bus fare also may be 
provided. When the individual's physical condition is 
such that travel by public conveyance is impossible, taxi 
fare may be allowed from place of residence to training 
site and return. When the individual lives at home and 
the training site requires daily transportation, the cost of 
such transportation may be paid.  

8. Vocational rehabilitation services to family members of 
an applicant or eligible individual if necessary to enable 
the applicant or eligible individual to achieve an 
employment outcome. Services to family members of the 
individual may be provided when such services may be 
expected to contribute substantially to the determination of 
vocational rehabilitation potential or to the rehabilitation of 
the individual. In order for the department to furnish these 
services, they shall not be available from any other source.  

a. Family member is defined in 22VAC30-20-10.  

b. Day care services for dependent children. The 
department may pay up to the amount paid per child, per 
day, by the local social services department in the 
locality in which the child is located. When more than 
one child is involved, rates for the additional children 
may be lower. When satisfactory accommodations can be 
secured at a rate lower than that paid by the local social 
services department, the lower rate shall be paid by the 
department.  

9. Interpreter services, including sign language and oral 
interpreter services for individuals who are deaf or hard of 
hearing; tactile interpreting services for individuals who 
are deaf-blind provided by qualified personnel; and reader 
services, rehabilitation teaching services, and orientation 
and mobility services for individuals who are blind.  

a. Upon request of the individual or as needed, these 
services may be provided at any stage during the 
rehabilitation process. Interpreting may be primarily in 
the form of sign language (manual method) or oral 
interpretation (oral method).  

b. The department shall pay for interpreting services 
when these services contribute to the individual's 
vocational rehabilitation program.  

c. The interpreter shall hold at least one of the credentials 
approved by the Virginia Department for the Deaf and 
Hard-of-Hearing pursuant to § 51.5-113 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

d. When individuals with deafness are in a training 
program, the department shall arrange for note taking or 
reader services, unless the individual indicates such 
service is not needed or desired.  

10. Rehabilitation technology, in accordance with the 
definition of that term in 22VAC30-20-10, including 
vehicular modification, telecommunications, sensory, and 
other technological aids and devices.  

a. Telecommunications system. Services related to use of 
a telecommunications system shall meet established 
federal or state health and safety standards and be 
consistent with written state policies.  

b. Sensory and other technological aids and devices. The 
department may provide electronic or mechanical pieces 
of equipment or hardware intended to improve or 
substitute for one or more of the human senses, or for 
impaired mobility, or motor coordination.  

Services related to use of sensory and other technological 
aids and devices shall meet established federal or state 
health and safety standards and be consistent with state 
law and regulations.  

(1) An otological evaluation may be required, and an 
audiological examination shall be required before the 
department may purchase a hearing aid.  

(2) The department shall purchase hearing aids only for 
those individuals identified as benefiting in terms of 
employability as a direct result of such aid.  

11. Technical assistance and other consultation services to 
conduct market analyses, develop business plans, and 
otherwise provide resources, to the extent those resources 
are authorized to be provided through the statewide 
workforce investment development system, to eligible 
individuals who are pursuing self-employment or 
telecommuting or establishing a small business operation 
as an employment outcome.  

12. Job related services, including job search and 
placement assistance and, job retention services, follow-up 
services, and follow-along services. Placement shall be in 
accordance with the mutually agreed upon vocational 
objective and is the responsibility of both the individual 
and the department.  

13. Post-employment services, in accordance with the 
definition of that term in 22VAC30-20-10.  

a. Selection criteria. All individuals whose vocational 
rehabilitation cases have been closed as achieving an 
employment outcome may be considered for post-
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employment services. The department may evaluate with 
each individual the need for such services.  

b. All of the following criteria shall be met for an 
individual to receive post-employment services:  

(1) The individual shall have been determined to have 
achieved an employment outcome;  

(2) The disabling medical condition shall be stable or 
slowly progressive;  

(3) Post-employment services shall be necessary to assist 
the individual in maintaining employment; and  

(4) The problem interfering with the individual 
maintaining employment does not require a complex or 
comprehensive rehabilitation effort, that is, a new and 
distinct disabling condition has not occurred that requires 
a new application.  

If needed services exceed any of the conditions in 
subdivisions 13 b (1) through 13 b (4) of this section 
subsection, the department may take a new application.  

14. Supported employment services, as defined in 
22VAC30-20-10. 

a. An individual with a most significant disability, 
including a youth with a most significant disability, shall 
be eligible for supported employment services if he 
meets all of the following criteria: 

(1) Has not worked, or has worked only intermittently, in 
competitive employment; 

(2) Has been determined on the basis of any evaluation of 
rehabilitation and career needs, including a consideration 
of whether supported employment is a possible 
vocational outcome, to meet the eligibility criteria 
established in 22VAC30-20-40; and 

(3) Has a need for ongoing support services in order to 
perform competitive work.  

(1) Competitive integrated employment has not 
historically occurred; or 

(2) Competitive integrated employment has been 
interrupted or intermittent as a result of a significant 
disability; and 

(3) The nature and severity of the disability results in the 
need for intensive supported employment services and 
extended services after the transition from support 
provided by the department in order to perform the work.  

b. The following activities shall be authorized under the 
supported employment program:  

(1) Evaluation of rehabilitation and career needs of 
individuals with the most significant disabilities in terms 
of a supported employment outcome; 

(2) Development of and placement in jobs for individuals 
with the most significant disabilities; and 

(3) Provision of time-limited services needed to support 
individuals with the most significant disabilities in 
employment, including:  

(a) Intensive on-the-job skills training provided by 
skilled job trainers, coworkers, and other qualified 
individuals; 

(b) Ongoing support services needed to support and 
maintain an individual's supported employment 
placement that shall include, at a minimum, twice 
monthly monitoring to assess the individual's 
employment stability; 

(c) Extended services designed to reinforce and stabilize 
the job placement; and 

(d) Customized employment as appropriate; and 

(e) Discrete post-employment services unavailable from 
the extended services provider that are necessary to 
maintain or regain the job placement or advance in 
employment, including but not limited to job station 
redesign, repair and maintenance of assistive technology, 
and replacement of prosthetic and orthotic devices.  

c. Transitional employment services for individuals with 
chronic mental illness may be provided under the 
supported employment program. Transitional 
employment means a series of temporary job placements 
in competitive work in an integrated work setting with 
ongoing support services. Ongoing support services shall 
include continuing sequential job placements until job 
permanency is achieved.  

d. c. The department shall provide for the transition of an 
individual with the most significant disabilities to 
extended services no later than 18 24 months after 
placement in supported employment, unless a longer 
period to achieve job stabilization has been established in 
the individualized plan for employment before an 
individual with a most significant disability makes the 
transition to extended services as defined in 22VAC30-
20-10. is needed to achieve the employment outcome in 
the individualized plan for employment and the eligible 
individual and the department jointly agree to extend the 
time. 

d. The department may provide extended services as 
defined in 22VAC30-20-10 to a youth with the most 
significant disability for a period of time not to exceed 
four years, or until such time that a youth reaches the age 
of 25 years and no longer meets the definition of youth 
with a disability under 22VAC30-20-10. 
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15. Occupational licenses, tools, equipment, initial stocks 
(including livestock), and supplies.  

a. Licenses. Licenses required for entrance into selected 
vocations may be provided. These may be occupational 
or business licenses as required by the local governing 
body, state board examinations required by the 
Department of Professional and Occupational 
Regulation, and motor vehicle operator's license.  

b. Tools and equipment. Tools and equipment shall be 
provided for an individual when:  

(1) They are required for a job or occupation that is best 
suited to the utilization of the individual's abilities and 
skills;  

(2) The employer does not ordinarily furnish these 
articles; and  

(3) They are for the exclusive use of the individual.  

Such articles shall be for the individual's own use in the 
performance of his work and must remain in his 
possession and under his control as long as he engages in 
the job or occupation for which they are provided.  

If the individual alleges that tools and equipment are 
stolen, the individual shall file a stolen property report 
with the local police.  

Computer equipment and software shall be provided if 
required as indicated in subdivisions 15 b (1), 15 b (2), 
and 15 b (3) of this section subsection, or if it is 
necessary for vocational training.  

c. Title retention and release. The department shall 
comply with state laws and regulations on the retention 
of title and release of title of equipment to individuals.  

d. Repossession of tools and equipment. The department 
shall repossess all occupational tools and equipment to 
which the department retains title when they are no 
longer being used for the purposes intended by the 
individual for whom they were purchased.  

16. Transition services, in accordance with the definition of 
that term in 22VAC30-20-10. for students and youth with 
disabilities that facilitate the transition from school to 
postsecondary life, such as achievement of an employment 
outcome in competitive integrated employment or pre-
employment transition services for students. 

17. Personal assistance services, in accordance with the 
definition of that term in 22VAC30-20-10.  

18. Other goods and services determined necessary for the 
individual with a disability to achieve an employment 
outcome. These include, but are not limited to, such 
services as peer counseling, independent living skills 
training, attendant care, and attendant training. The 

department shall not purchase or participate in the purchase 
of automotive vehicles.  

19. Customized employment in accordance with the 
definition of that term in 22VAC30-20-10. 

19. 20. Services to groups. The department may provide 
vocational rehabilitation services to groups of individuals 
with disabilities when the services may contribute 
substantially to the needs of the group; although the 
services are not related directly to the individualized 
employment plan of any one person with a disability.  

22VAC30-20-130. Individuals determined to have 
achieved an employment outcome.  

An individual is determined to have achieved an 
employment outcome and the record of service may be closed 
only if all of the following requirements are met:  

1. The provision of services under the individual's 
individualized plan for employment has contributed to the 
achievement of an employment outcome;  

2. The employment outcome is consistent with the 
employment outcome described in the individualized plan 
for employment and with the individual's unique strengths, 
resources, priorities, concerns, abilities, capabilities, 
interests, and informed choice;  

3. The employment outcome is in an a competitive 
integrated setting;  

4. The individual has maintained the employment outcome 
for a period of at least 90 days; and  

5. At the end of the applicable period under this section, 
the individual and the rehabilitation counselor or 
coordinator consider the employment outcome to be 
satisfactory and agree that the individual is performing 
well on the job; and 

6. The individual is informed through the appropriate 
modes of communication of the availability of post-
employment services. 

22VAC30-20-150. Written standards for facilities and 
providers of services.  

The department shall establish, maintain, make available to 
the public, and implement written minimum standards for the 
various types of facilities and providers of services used by 
the department in providing vocational rehabilitation services, 
in accordance with the following requirements:  

1. Accessibility of facilities. Any facility in which 
vocational rehabilitation services are provided must be 
accessible to individuals receiving services and must 
comply with the requirements of the Architectural Barriers 
Act of 1968, the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, 
and § 504 of the Act, as amended, and regulations 
implementing these laws.  
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2. Personnel standards.  

a. Qualified personnel. Providers of vocational 
rehabilitation services shall use qualified personnel, in 
accordance with any applicable national or state 
approved or recognized certification, licensing, or 
registration requirements or, in the absence of these 
requirements, other comparable requirements (including 
state personnel requirements) that apply to the profession 
or discipline in which that category of personnel is 
providing vocational rehabilitation services.  

b. Affirmative action. Providers of vocational 
rehabilitation services shall take affirmative action to 
employ and advance in employment qualified individuals 
with disabilities covered under and on the same terms 
and conditions as in § 503 of the Act.  

c. Special communication needs personnel. Providers of 
vocational rehabilitation services shall include among 
their personnel, or obtain the services of, individuals able 
to communicate in the native languages of applicants and 
eligible individuals who have limited English speaking 
ability; and ensure that appropriate modes of 
communication for all applicants and eligible individuals 
are used.  

3. Fraud, waste, and abuse. Providers of vocational 
rehabilitation services shall have adequate and appropriate 
policies and procedures to prevent fraud, waste, and abuse.  

22VAC30-20-170. Availability of comparable services and 
benefits.  

A. Prior to providing any vocational rehabilitation services 
to an eligible individual or to members of the individual's 
family, except those services listed in subsection D of this 
section, the department shall determine whether comparable 
services and benefits as defined in 22VAC30-20-10 exist 
under any other program and whether those services and 
benefits are available to the individual.  

B. If comparable services or benefits exist under any other 
program and are available to the eligible individual at the 
time needed to achieve the rehabilitation objectives in the 
individual's individualized plan for employment, the 
department shall use those comparable services or benefits to 
meet, in whole or in part, the cost of vocational rehabilitation 
services.  

C. If comparable services or benefits exist under any other 
program but are not available to the individual at the time 
needed to ensure the progress of the individual toward 
achieving the employment outcome in the individual's 
individualized plan for employment, the department shall 
provide vocational rehabilitation services until those 
comparable services and benefits become available.  

D. The following services shall be exempt from a 
determination of the availability of comparable services and 

benefits under subsection A of this section: assessment for 
determining eligibility and priority for services; assessment 
for determining vocational rehabilitation needs; vocational 
rehabilitation counseling, guidance, and referral services; job-
related services, including job search and placement services; 
job retention services; follow-up services; rehabilitation 
technology; and post-employment services consisting of those 
services listed in this subsection.  

E. The requirements of subsection A of this section also 
shall not apply if the determination of the availability of 
comparable services and benefits under any other program 
would interrupt or delay (i) the progress of the individual 
toward achieving the employment outcome identified in the 
individualized plan for employment; (ii) an immediate job 
placement; or (iii) the provision of vocational rehabilitation 
services to any individual who is determined to be at extreme 
medical risk based on medical evidence provided by an 
appropriate qualified medical professional; or an immediate 
job placement would be lost due to a delay in the provision of 
comparable services and benefits.  

22VAC30-20-181. Review of determinations made by the 
department.  

A. An applicant, an eligible individual, a recipient of 
services, or, if appropriate, an individual's representative who 
is dissatisfied with any determination made by department 
personnel that affects the provision of vocational 
rehabilitation services may request a timely review of the 
determination.  

B. Informal dispute resolution.  

1. A request for review shall be made within 60 days after 
the determination. The applicant, eligible individual, or, if 
appropriate, the individual's representative may request a 
meeting with the supervisor of the staff member who made 
the determination and request an informal administrative 
review conducted by the supervisor. Recipients of services 
who are not receiving vocational rehabilitation services 
may be offered access to the informal dispute resolution 
process at the discretion of the supervisor.  

2. Within 10 working days of the request, the supervisor 
shall send a written decision and grounds to the applicant 
or eligible individual, with a copy to the individual's 
representative, if applicable, and it shall become part of the 
case record.  

3. The informal dispute resolution process shall not be used 
to deny or delay the right to proceed directly to a hearing 
conducted and concluded within the time period 
established under subdivision D 1 of this section.  

C. Mediation.  

1. The department shall provide a mediation process 
conducted by a qualified and impartial mediator as defined 
in 22VAC30-20-10, who shall be selected from a list of 
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qualified and impartial mediators maintained by the 
department. Mediation shall be requested within 60 days 
after a determination or informal administrative review 
decision. The department shall include in the mediation 
process the guardian of an applicant or, eligible individual, 
or recipient of services who has been judged incompetent. 
Participation in the mediation process is voluntary on the 
part of the applicant or eligible individual and on the part 
of the department. Mediation may be requested while a 
hearing is pending but shall not be used to deny or delay 
the applicant or eligible individual's right to a hearing 
conducted and concluded within the time period 
established under subdivision D 1 of this section.  

2. The mediator shall schedule and conduct the mediation 
sessions in a timely manner and in a location convenient to 
the parties in dispute. The mediator shall afford both 
parties an opportunity to be represented by counsel or other 
advocate and to submit evidence or other information. 
Discussions that occur during mediation remain 
confidential and shall not be used as evidence in any 
subsequent hearing or civil proceeding, and parties shall be 
required to sign a confidentiality pledge prior to mediation. 
Either party or the mediator may terminate mediation at 
any time, and the applicant, eligible individual, or the 
department may seek resolution through a hearing.  

3. Any agreement reached by the parties in a mediation 
shall be described in a written mediation agreement. Both 
parties to the dispute shall have an opportunity to review 
the agreement with their representative, supervisor, or legal 
advisor before signing it. An agreement signed by both 
parties shall become part of the case record, with a copy 
given to the applicant or eligible individual and any 
representative.  

4. The cost of the mediation process shall be paid by the 
department, but the department is not required to pay for 
any costs related to the representation of an applicant or 
eligible individual.  

D. Due Impartial due process hearing. 

1. The applicant, eligible individual, recipient of services, 
or, if appropriate, individual's representative may request a 
hearing within 60 days after the determination to be 
reviewed, meeting or informal administrative review 
decision under subsection B of this section, or mediation 
refusal or mediation termination date. Department 
personnel may request a hearing within 60 days after 
termination of the mediation process under subsection C of 
this section.  

a. The hearing shall be scheduled and conducted by a 
qualified and impartial hearing officer as defined and 
selected according to subdivision 2 of this subsection.  

b. The hearing officer shall conduct the hearing within 60 
days of the department receiving an individual's request, 

unless informal resolution is achieved before the 60th 
day, or the parties agree to a specific extension of time, 
or the hearing officer grants a postponement request for 
good cause that would result in a fair representation of 
the issues.  

c. The hearing officer shall provide both parties to the 
dispute an opportunity to present evidence, information, 
and witnesses; to be represented by counsel or other 
appropriate advocate; and to examine all witnesses, 
information, and evidence. All testimony shall be given 
under oath. Hearsay testimony and redundant evidence 
may be admitted at the discretion of the hearing officer. 
Because the hearing officer cannot issue subpoenas, the 
department shall be responsible for the appearance of 
current department personnel on the witness list of either 
party.  

d. Within 30 days after the hearing, the hearing officer 
shall issue a written decision with a full report of the 
findings and grounds for the decision to the applicant, 
eligible individual, individual's representative, and the 
department. The decision shall be based on the 
provisions of the approved state plan, the Act, federal 
vocational rehabilitation regulations, and state 
regulations and policies that are consistent with federal 
requirements. The hearing officer's decision shall be 
final, except that a party may request an impartial 
administrative review if the state has established 
procedures for review, and a party may bring a civil 
action under subsection G of this section. 

2. The hearing officer for a particular case shall be selected 
randomly by the department from among the pool of 
persons qualified to be an impartial hearing officer, as 
defined in 34 CFR 361.5(b)(22) and 29 USC § 722(b) and 
(d), who are identified jointly by the commissioner and 
those members of the State Rehabilitation Council 
designated in § 102(d)(2)(C) of the Act (29 USC § 722(b) 
and (d)).  

E. Administrative review of hearing officer decision.  

1. If the state has established procedures for an 
administrative review, the request and statutory, 
regulatory, or policy grounds for the request shall be made 
in writing to the department within 20 days of the hearing 
decision date mailing of the impartial hearing officer's 
decision. The review shall be a paper review of the entire 
hearing record and shall be conducted by a designee of the 
Governor's office who shall not delegate the review to any 
personnel of the department.  

2. The reviewing official shall provide both parties an 
opportunity to submit additional written evidence and 
information relevant to the final decision concerning the 
matter under review. The reviewing official may not 
overturn or modify the hearing officer's decision, or any 
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part of that decision, that supports the position of the 
applicant or eligible individual, unless the reviewing 
official concludes, based on clear and convincing evidence, 
that the hearing officer's decision is clearly erroneous on 
the basis of being contrary to the approved state plan, the 
Act, federal vocational rehabilitation regulations, and state 
regulations and policies that are consistent with federal 
requirements.  

3. Within 30 days after the request, the reviewing official 
shall issue an independent decision and full report of the 
findings and the statutory, regulatory, or policy grounds for 
the decision to the applicant, eligible individual, 
individual's representative, and department. The decision 
of the reviewing official is final and shall be implemented 
pending review by the court if either party chooses under 
subsection G of this section to bring a civil action 
regarding the matter in dispute. 

F. Informing affected individuals. The department shall 
inform, through appropriate modes of communication, all 
applicants and eligible individuals of their right to request a 
review of a determination made by department personnel that 
affects provision of vocational rehabilitation services, 
including the names and addresses of individuals with whom 
mediation and hearing requests may be filed and how the 
mediator and hearing officer shall be selected; their right to 
proceed directly to a hearing; their right to an informal 
administrative review; their right to pursue mediation; and 
their right to contact the Client Assistance Program to assist 
during mediation and hearing processes. Notification shall be 
provided in writing at the time of application for vocational 
rehabilitation services; assignment to a priority category if the 
department is operating under an order of selection; 
individualized plan for employment development; and 
reduction, suspension, or termination of services. 

G. Civil action. Any party who disagrees with the findings 
or decision of an impartial hearing officer under subsection D 
of this section or an administrative review under subsection E 
of this section shall have the right to bring a civil action with 
respect to the matter in dispute. The action may be brought in 
any state court of competent jurisdiction or in a district court 
of the United States of competent jurisdiction without regard 
to the amount in controversy. In any action brought under this 
subsection, the court receives the records related to the 
impartial due process hearing and the records related to the 
administrative review, if applicable; hears additional evidence 
at the request of a party; and basing its decision on the 
preponderance of the evidence, grants the relief that the court 
determines to be appropriate.  

22VAC30-20-190. Protection, use, and release of personal 
information.  

A. Purpose. The purpose is to establish policies and 
procedures to protect current and stored personal information 
and for the proper dissemination of this information in 

accordance with the statutes of the Code of Virginia, Virginia 
Freedom of Information Act, and Virginia Privacy Protection 
Act, and the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. 
Hereafter clients Clients shall be referred to as data subjects 
in this section.  

B. Application. This applies to all employees of the 
department, consultants, affiliates and volunteers.  

C. Policies. The department shall:  

1. Comply with state statutes when releasing any 
information regarding data subjects by:  

a. Disclosing information or records to the data subject 
who is 18 years old, except:  

(1) If data subject has been legally declared as 
incompetent then the right to access information has been 
granted to the individual or committee which has been 
appointed as guardian, authorized agent or agents, or 
representative or representatives.  

(2) When the treating physician has written on a mental 
or medical record: "In my opinion a review of such 
records by the data subject would be injurious to the data 
subject's physical or mental health or well being." This 
does not preclude access to that report by authorized 
agents or representatives. The treating physician is the 
only professional who, by statute, has the authority to 
label and deny access to a mental record by the data 
subject. Access to other information is not restricted.  

b. Disclosing information or records only to the parent or 
guardian for the data subject who is under 18 years old.;  

2. Follow procedures which ensure that all records and 
other personal, identifying data are treated as confidential 
information, meaning that other than regular access 
authority and the exceptions which are permitted by code 
and statutes, no expressed personal or documented 
information shall be released to a third party without the 
written, informed consent of the data subject or his 
authorized agent or by court order;  

3. Obtain and document only that information which is 
necessary to plan and deliver rehabilitation services;  

4. Maintain and post the department's access list which 
designates staff positions of those who have the privilege 
of reviewing and checking out records;  

5. Assign to all individuals as defined in subsection B of 
this section and acknowledge written requests for 
information which are identified and occur after a data 
subject's application for services;  

6. Charge for copies of information unless the request is 
from those who need information to assist data subject in 
the rehabilitation program. The rate shall be $.15 per page 
or the actual cost, whichever is less; and  
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7. Keep records in offices unless in accordance with a 
court order, statute, or by special authorization from the 
department representative.  

D. Procedures for disclosing information.  

1. Handling disclosures.  

a. Each request to disclose information shall be handled 
during normal business hours.  

b. Each written request shall be responded to within 14 
working days.  

c. Before an employee releases information to a person or 
organization other than those identified on the access list, 
written, informed consent must be given by data subject 
or the authorized agent.  

When there is need to release information regarding data 
subjects, informed consent forms should be initiated 
through the data subject's counselor. Forms are 
completed prior to releasing information and filed in data 
subject's record.  

d. Any employee who releases information after 
informed consent is obtained must document data 
subject's record with employee's name, date, the purpose 
for giving specific information, and to whom information 
was given. These statements are also documented when 
the record has been reviewed by or copied for the data 
subject.  

2. Accessing information for specific situations.  

a. A data subject's request to review personal record.  

(1) When a data subject requests a review of their his 
case records, the individual should be referred to their 
counselor, or in his absence, the counselor's supervisor. 
This employee is responsible for confirming the data 
subject's age, and competency status to access 
information in his own behalf.  

(2) For those data subjects who are under younger than 
age 18 years or who have been declared incompetent, the 
department shall explain right to access and assist data 
subject by coordinating the desired review with parent or 
authorized agent.  

(3) For data subjects who have the right to access 
information, the department should obtain the case record 
and review contents to learn if there are any mental 
records which a treating physician has identified as not to 
be reviewed. These are the only reports which can and 
must be removed before access.  

(4) The department gives data subject their case record 
and is available throughout the review to interpret reports 
or to assist the data subject, who may wish to seek 
additional information regarding contents. The data 

subject may choose to review their case record without 
interpretation.  

b. Access by parents, guardians, or authorized agents.  

(1) When a data subject is a minor or has been legally 
declared as incompetent, the parent, guardian, or 
authorized agent, is expected to furnish personal 
identification and sign a statement regarding their 
relationship to data subject.  

(2) When a data subject is 18 years or older and there is a 
parent who wants to review information or accompany 
data subject to a data subject oriented meeting, the data 
subject shall sign an "Authorization for Release of 
Information," form prior to disclosure.  

c. Access by "significant others" (other family members 
or friends).  

(1) When a data subject is a minor or has been legally 
declared as incompetent, the parent, guardian, or 
authorized agent, shall give written, informed consent 
prior to disclosure.  

(2) When a data subject is 18 years or older, he shall give 
written, informed consent prior to disclosure.  

d. Access by third parties.  

(1) Unless required by law, or this the department, no 
disclosure shall be made to third parties without written, 
informed consent from the data subject or the legally 
authorized agent. Upon disclosure, third parties shall be 
advised to maintain confidentiality with no redisclosure 
of information.  

(2) The following information is either required by law 
or permitted by mission of the agency and shall be 
disclosed without the data subject's authorization:  

(a) Within the department, employees shall be given 
information which is relevant to case management or 
research requirements.  

(b) The department's medical consultants may release 
information to another physician for consultation or 
hospitalization purposes.  

(c) For emergencies:  

(1) (i) Telephone and face-to-face disclosure may be 
made to any person for an emergency when it is 
reasonable to believe that a delay shall result in serious 
bodily injury, death or deterioration of the physical or 
mental condition of data subject. Examples: (i) an 
emergency admission or commitment to a hospital; (ii) 
an inquiry from an acute care hospital, data is limited to 
answers for specific information from the data subject's 
case record; and (iii) an inquiry by law-enforcement 
officials regarding an emergency situation. Information is 
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limited to that which is necessary to deal with the 
emergency.  

(2) (ii) When it becomes necessary to release information 
in these circumstances, the responsible department party 
shall enter the following in the data subject's case record: 
(i) the date the information was released; (ii) the person 
to whom information was released; (iii) the reason the 
information was released; (iv) the reason written, 
informed consent could not be obtained; and (v) the 
specific information which was released.  

(d) For court orders and subpoena, all requests for 
information by court orders shall be processed by the 
data subject's counselor unless there is some question 
about the need for legal advice. In those situations, the 
department representative shall decide if contact needs to 
be made with the department representative in the 
Attorney General's office prior to compliance. This 
contact shall be made by the commissioner's designee.  

(e) The Virginia Department of Social Services shall be 
given, upon request, information about the location, 
income, and property of data subjects who have 
abandoned, deserted, or failed to support children and 
their caretakers who are receiving public assistance. No 
other information may be released.  

(f) The Virginia Department of Health shall be given 
access to medical records in the course of an 
investigation, research, or studies of diseases or deaths 
which are of public health importance.  

(g) The Virginia Department of Health may be provided 
with abstracts of records of data subjects having 
malignant tumors or cancers. Such abstracts may include 
the name, address, sex, race, and any other medical 
information required by law.  

(h) Information may be released as requested for a formal 
investigation to the Virginia Department of Health, State 
Medical Examiner.  

e. Access by special interest third parties.  

(1) Release of information shall include a written, 
informed consent.  

(2) Except for public events, no data other than directory 
information shall be released to the news media without 
the written, informed consent of the data subject or the 
authorized agent.  

(3) No information shall be released to law-enforcement 
officers without the written, informed consent of the data 
subject or the authorized agent, or without judicial order.  

(4) Audio tapes, video tapes, computerized data or other 
media reproduction are considered as confidential 
records and shall be treated like written material.  

E. Procedure for changing a record.  

1. Revoking an authorization of consent.  

a. If anyone, such as an attorney, has a data subject sign 
an authorization which rescinds all prior authorizations, 
this negates all previous authorizations. The department 
shall make this a part of the case record.  

b. When the revocation clause appears in the record, the 
department no longer has the authority to disseminate 
additional information other than to those on the 
regulation department access list.  

c. If the data subject is currently a client, their counselor 
shall record any authorization which includes a 
revocation clause. This means that all routines for 
forwarding reports to those not on department's access 
list shall be stopped.  

d. The rehabilitation counselor shall notify the Wilson 
Workforce and Rehabilitation Center (WWRC) 
counselor or sponsor of the situation and inform the data 
subject of the restriction.  

e. The department shall acknowledge and comply with 
the attorney's request for information. A separate letter 
shall also advise the attorney that this clause denies 
access of information to persons or organizations which 
are responsible for continuing rehabilitation services. The 
department shall advise the attorney of the need to be 
provided with an additional statement which reinstates 
communication and correspondence.  

2. Reinstating consent. When a satisfactory reinstatement 
statement and new consent is received from the attorney 
and the data subject, the department shall file the additional 
authorization and inform appropriate department 
counterparts about the new release.  

3. Challenging and correcting a record by the data subject 
or agent.  

a. The data subject or agent has a right to contest the 
accuracy or completeness of any personal record, except 
access to challenging or correcting a treating physician's 
mental record which has been identified as not to be 
reviewed by the data subject.  

b. Data subjects who are currently clients shall be 
instructed by their counselor that any request to correct, 
amend, or delete information is to be done in writing, 
giving specific reasons why information is being 
contested.  

c. The counselor shall submit this statement to their 
immediate supervisor.  

d. The Supervisor shall interview staff, as necessary, 
examine pertinent records, and submit a written 
recommendation to their regional or center director. This 
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recommendation is to include a statement and rationale to 
either uphold or to change existing records.  

e. When the regional or center director determines that 
information which is being disputed is, in fact, 
incomplete, inaccurate, not pertinent, untimely, or 
unnecessary to be retained, that individual shall instruct 
the original writer to amend the report in question. If the 
originator is no longer an employee, the regional or 
center director or a designee shall prepare the amended 
report. A copy of the amended report shall be sent to the 
local office for the client's file.  

f. The department shall disseminate the amended version 
of the report to any previous recipients and as part of the 
record for all further requests for information.  

g. The department shall notify the data subject in writing 
of the decision. A copy of that notice is to be filed in data 
subject's local office file.  

h. If the investigation does not change the record or 
resolve the dispute, the data subject may file a statement 
stating what he believes to be an accurate or complete 
version of that information. This statement becomes a 
permanent part of the record. The department shall 
forward a copy to all previous recipients who have access 
to the information being disputed.  

F. Procedures of safeguarding records.  

1. Maintaining security of records.  

a. Data subject records are the property of the department 
and are entrusted to personnel who safeguard records 
from loss, defacement, or use by unauthorized persons.  

b. No record is to be defaced by marking, underlining, or 
entering notations by anyone other than the originator of 
any document.  

c. When a record is requested, either by court or a 
directive from the commissioner, a certified copy of the 
record shall be provided by the counselor.  

d. Whoever removes records has the responsibility to 
assure confidentiality of content while it is out. It must 
never be left unattended in areas which are accessible to 
unauthorized individuals.  

e. Confidentiality shall be maintained in work areas 
where casework documents are being prepared, filed, or 
distributed.  

2. Violating confidentiality. Individuals who violate 
security standards or the confidentiality code by releasing 
information without obtaining or following procedures 
may be subject to their name being removed from the 
access list and to discipline under the standards of conduct.  

G. Department's access list. The following have been 
approved to have access to the case records of clients served 
by the department:  

1. Administrative and supervisory staff engaged in dutiful 
performance of their job which requires access to 
individual client files;  

2. Service delivery personnel including, but not limited to, 
rehabilitation counselors, vocational evaluators, or 
psychiatrists; and  

3. Clerical personnel as appropriate.  

22VAC30-20-195. Youth with disabilities seeking 
subminimum wage employment. 

A. Prior to youth with disabilities starting subminimum 
wage employment, the department shall provide youth with 
disabilities documentation upon completion of the following 
actions:  

1. Appropriate pre-employment transition services 
available to a student with a disability under subsection A 
of 22VAC30-20-120 or transition services under IDEA. 

2. Application for vocational rehabilitation services in 
accordance with subsection B of 22VAC30-20-20 with the 
result that the individual was determined: 

a. Ineligible for vocational rehabilitation services in 
accordance with 22VAC30-20-80; or 

b. Eligible for vocational rehabilitation services in 
accordance with 22VAC30-20-40 and (i) has an 
approved individualized plan for employment in 
accordance with 22VAC30-20-110; (ii) was unable to 
achieve the employment outcome specified in the 
individualized plan for employment despite working 
toward the employment outcome with reasonable 
accommodations and appropriate supports for a 
reasonable period of time; and (iii) the case record of 
service with vocational rehabilitation for the youth with a 
disability has been closed. 

3. Receipt of career counseling and information and 
referral from the department to state, federal, and other 
resources in the individual's geographic area that offer 
employment related services and supports designed to 
enable the individual to explore and obtain competitive 
integrated employment. The career counseling and 
information and referral services shall: 

a. Be provided in a manner that facilitates informed 
choice and decision making by the youth or the youth's 
representative as appropriate; 

b. Not be for subminimum wage employment and did not 
directly result in employment compensated at a 
subminimum wage; and  
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c. Be provided within 30 calendar days of closure of the 
vocational rehabilitation case record of service. 

B. The department, in consultation with the state education 
agency, shall implement a process that includes the following 
steps to document the completion of the actions described in 
this section: 

1. The appropriate school official responsible for the 
provision of transition services shall provide the 
department documentation of completion of appropriate 
transition services under IDEA and under 34 CFR 397.30; 
and 

2. The department shall provide documentation of 
completion of transition services and documentation of 
completed appropriate pre-employment transition services 
to the youth with a disability. 

C. The documentation, which is provided to the youth with a 
disability, shall be in a form and manner that is accessible for 
the youth and shall contain the following: 

1. Youth's name; 

2. Determination made, including a summary of the 
reasons for the determination, or description of the service 
or activity completed; 

3. Name of the individual making the determination or the 
provider of the required activity; 

4. Date of the determination made or required service or 
activity completed; 

5. Signature and date of signature of the department or 
educational personnel making the determination or 
documenting completion of the required service; 

6. Signature of the department personnel transmitting the 
documentation to the youth with a disability;  

7. Date and method (e.g., hand-delivered, faxed, mailed, 
emailed, etc.) by which the documentation was transmitted 
to the youth; and 

8. A coversheet that itemizes the contents of the documents 
that have been provided to the youth. 

D. The department shall provide to the youth documentation 
of completion of each action required in subsection A of this 
section (i) within 45 calendar days after the completion the 
action or (ii) within 90 calendar days if additional time is 
necessary due to extenuating circumstances.  

E. In the event that a youth with a disability or, as 
applicable, the youth's parent or guardian refuses through 
informed choice to participate in any action required by this 
section, the department shall provide the youth within 10 
calendar days of the refusal documentation that contains:  

1. Youth's name; 

2. A description and reason for the refusal; 

3. Signature of the youth or, as applicable, the youth's 
parent or guardian; 

4. Signature and date of signature of the department or 
educational personnel documenting the youth's refusal; and 

5. Date and method (e.g., hand-delivered, faxed, mailed, 
emailed, etc.) by which documentation was transmitted to 
the youth. 

22VAC30-20-200. Review of extended employment and 
other employment under special certificate provisions of 
the Fair Labor Standards Act.  

A. For the first two years after an individual's record of 
services is closed (and thereafter if requested by the 
individual or, if appropriate, the individual's representative), 
the department shall annually semiannually review and 
reevaluate the status of each individual (i) determined by the 
department to have achieved an employment outcome in 
which the individual is compensated in accordance with 
§ 14(c) of the Fair Labor Standards Act or; (ii) whose record 
of services is closed while the individual is in extended 
employment on the basis that the individual is unable to 
achieve an employment outcome consistent with 22VAC30-
20-10; or the individual (iii) who made an informed choice to 
remain in extended employment. After the first two years, the 
reviews shall be conducted annually. The annual review and 
reevaluation shall include input from the individual or, if 
appropriate, the individual's representative to determine the 
interests, priorities, and needs of the individual with respect 
to competitive integrated employment.  

B. The department shall make maximum effort, including 
the identification of vocational rehabilitation services, 
reasonable accommodations, and other support services, to 
enable the eligible individual to engage in competitive 
integrated employment.  

C. The department shall obtain the signed acknowledgment 
of the individual, or, as appropriate, the individual's 
representative, that the annual review and reevaluations have 
been conducted.  

22VAC30-20-210. Agency responsibilities to individuals 
with disabilities during subminimum wage employment. 

A. The department shall provide individuals with 
disabilities, regardless of age, who are known to the 
department to be employed at subminimum wage the 
following: 

1. Counseling and information services that (i) are 
provided in a manner understandable to the individual with 
a disability, (ii) facilitate the independent decision making 
and informed choice as the individual makes decisions 
regarding opportunities for competitive integrated 
employment, particularly with respect to supported 
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employment and customized employment, and (iii) may 
include benefits counseling, particularly with regard to the 
impact of earned income on income-based financial, 
medical, and other benefits.  

2. For individuals with a disability, information about (i) 
self-advocacy, (ii) self-determination, and (iii) peer 
mentoring training opportunities available in the 
community within 30 calendar days of being referred by an 
employer, or contractor or subcontractor of that employer, 
that holds special wage certificate described in § 14(c) of 
the federal Fair Labor Standards Act and has fewer than 15 
employees. 

B. Required intervals. 

1. For individuals hired at subminimum wage on or after 
July 22, 2016, the services required by this section must be 
carried out once every six months for the first year of the 
individual's subminimum wage employment and annually 
thereafter for the duration of such employment. 

2. For individuals already employed at subminimum wage 
prior to July 22, 2016, the services required by this section 
must be carried out once by July 22, 2016, and annually 
thereafter for the duration of such employment. 

3. With regard to intervals required by subdivisions 1 and 2 
of this subsection, the department's responsibility to 
provide the services in this section to those in subminimum 
wage shall be (i) calculated on the date of the closure for 
those with closed vocational rehabilitation case records of 
services or (ii) calculated based upon the date the 
individual becomes known to the department for those 
individuals without closed case records. 

4. An individual with a disability becomes "known" to the 
department through self-identification, referral by a third 
party, through the individual's involvement with the 
vocational rehabilitation process, or any other method.  

C. Documentation. 

1. The department shall provide documentation to the 
individual (i) within 45 calendar days after completion of 
the activities required under subsection B of this section or 
(ii) within 90 calendar days if additional time is necessary 
due to extenuating circumstances, after completion of the 
actions required in subsection B of this section. 

2. Documentation shall include the following: 

a. Name of the individual; 

b. Description of the service or activity completed; 

c. Name of the provider of the required activity; 

d. Date required service or activity was completed; 

e. Signature and date of signature of individual 
documenting completion of the required service or 
activity; 

f. Signature of department personnel (if different from 
subdivision 2 e of this subsection); and 

g. Date and method (e.g., hand-delivered, faxed, mailed, 
emailed, etc.) by which the document was transmitted to 
the individual with a disability. 

3. In the event an individual with a disability or, as 
applicable, the individual's representative refuses through 
informed choice, to participate in the activities required by 
this section, documentation shall contain: 

a. Name of the individual; 

b. Description of the refusal and reason for the refusal; 

c. Signature of the individual with a disability or, as 
applicable, the individual's representative; 

d. Signature and date of signature of department 
personnel documenting the individual's refusal; and 

e. Date and method (e.g., hand-delivered, faxed, mailed, 
emailed, etc.) by which the document was transmitted to 
the individual with a disability. 

4. The department shall retain a copy of all documentation 
required by this section consistent with the department's 
case management system.  

D. The department may contract with other public or private 
services providers, as appropriate, to fulfill the requirements 
of this section. However, the contractor providing the services 
on behalf of the department shall not be an entity holding a 
special wage certificate under § 14(c) of the federal Fair 
Labor Standards Act.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5227; Filed August 8, 2018, 1:58 p.m.  
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER FIFTEEN (2018) 

Declaration of a State of Emergency in Preparation 
for the Anniversary of Charlottesville 

Importance of the Issue 

The "Unite the Right" rally in Charlottesville on August 12, 
2017, resulted in the tragic deaths of 32-year-old Heather 
Heyer, Virginia State Police Lieutenant H. Jay Cullen, III, 
and Virginia State Police Trooper-Pilot Berke M.M. Bates. 
Anniversary events, rallies, and protests are planned to be 
held in the City of Charlottesville and in Washington, D.C., 
on August 11-12, 2018. Accordingly, I declare a state of 
emergency in the Commonwealth of Virginia in order to 
prepare and coordinate our response to ensure the protection 
of residents' lives, property, and Constitutional rights. 

State action is required to protect the health and general 
welfare of Virginia residents. The anticipated effects of this 
situation constitute a disaster wherein human life and public 
and private property are, or are likely to be, imperiled, as 
described in § 44-146.16 of the Code of Virginia. 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by § 44-
146.17 of the Code of Virginia, as Governor and as Director 
of Emergency Management, and by virtue of the authority 
vested in me by Article V, Section 7 of the Constitution of 
Virginia and by § 44-75.1 of the Code of Virginia, as 
Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces of the 
Commonwealth, and subject always to my continuing and 
ultimate authority and responsibility to act in such matters, I 
hereby proclaim a state of emergency exists. Accordingly, I 
direct state and local governments to render appropriate 
assistance to prepare for these events, to alleviate any 
conditions resulting from the situation, and to implement 
recovery and mitigation operations and activities so as to 
return impacted areas to pre-event conditions as much as 
possible. 

In order to marshal all public resources and appropriate 
preparedness, response, and recovery measures to meet this 
threat and recover from its effects, and in accordance with my 
authority contained in § 44-146.17 of the Code of Virginia, I 
order the following: 

A. Implementation of the Commonwealth of Virginia 
Emergency Operations Plan (COVEOP), as amended, by 
state agencies along with other appropriate state plans. 

B. Activation of the Virginia Emergency Operations Center 
(VEOC) and the Virginia Emergency Support Team (VEST), 
as directed by the State Coordinator of Emergency 
Management, to coordinate the provision of assistance to 
local governments and emergency services assignments of 
other agencies as necessary and determined by the State 
Coordinator of Emergency Management and other agencies 
as appropriate. 

C. Activation of the Virginia National Guard and the Virginia 
Defense Force to state active duty to assist in providing such 
aid. 

D. Provision of assistance by the Virginia National Guard to 
the Virginia Department of State Police to ensure crowd 
control, direct traffic, prevent looting, and perform such other 
law enforcement functions as deemed necessary by the 
Superintendent of State Police (in consultation with the State 
Coordinator of Emergency Management, the Adjutant 
General, and the Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland 
Security). Pursuant to § 52-6 of the Code of Virginia, I 
authorize the Superintendent of State Police to appoint any 
and all such Virginia Army and Air National Guard personnel 
called to state active duty as additional police officers as 
deemed necessary. The members of the Virginia National 
Guard activated for this event shall be authorized under Code 
of Virginia § 44-75.1(A)(3), to perform all acts necessary to 
accomplish the above assistance. The Virginia National 
Guard shall have the power of arrest to enforce laws, 
including all violations of Section 18.2, Chapter 9, Articles 1 
and 2 of the Code of Virginia (Crimes Against Peace and 
Order; Riot and Unlawful Assembly; Disorderly Conduct), 
and such other acts necessary to protect lives, preserve 
property, and in defense of self and others. Any bonds and/or 
insurance required by § 52-7 of the Code of Virginia shall be 
provided for them at the expense of the Commonwealth. In all 
instances, members of the Virginia National Guard and 
Virginia Defense Force shall remain subject to military 
command as prescribed by § 44-78.1 of the Code of Virginia 
and are not subject to the civilian authorities of county or 
municipal governments. 

E. Evacuation of areas threatened or stricken by effects of this 
event, as appropriate. Pursuant to § 44-146.17(1) of the Code 
of Virginia, I reserve the right to direct and compel the 
evacuation of all or part of the populace therein from such 
areas upon a determination by the State Coordinator of 
Emergency Management. I reserve the right to control the 
ingress and egress at an emergency area, including the 
movement of persons within the area and the occupancy of 
premises therein based upon a determination made by the 
State Coordinator of Emergency Management. Violations of 
any order to evacuate shall constitute a violation of this 
Executive Order and are punishable as a Class 1 
misdemeanor. 

F. Activation, implementation, and coordination of 
appropriate mutual aid agreements and compacts, including 
the Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC), 
and the authorization of the State Coordinator of Emergency 
Management to enter into any other supplemental 
agreements, pursuant to §§ 44-146.17(5) and 44-146.28:1 of 
the Code of Virginia. The State Coordinator of Emergency 
Management is hereby designated as Virginia’s authorized 
representative within the meaning of the Emergency 
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Management Assistance Compact, § 44-146.28:1 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

G. Provision of appropriate assistance, including temporary 
assignments of non-essential state employees to the Adjunct 
Emergency Workforce, be rendered by state agencies to 
respond to this situation. 

H. Authorization for the heads of executive branch agencies 
to act, when appropriate, on behalf of their regulatory boards 
to waive any state requirement or regulation where the federal 
government has waived the corresponding federal or state 
regulation based on the impact of events related to this 
situation. 

I. Activation of the statutory provisions in § 59.1-525 et seq. 
of the Code of Virginia related to price gouging. 

J. Authorization of a maximum of $2,000,000 in state sum 
sufficient funds for state and local government mission 
assignments authorized and coordinated through the Virginia 
Department of Emergency Management that are allowable as 
defined by The Stafford Act, 42 U.S.C. § 5121 et seq. This 
funding is also available for state response and recovery 
operations and incident documentation. Out of this state 
disaster sum sufficient, I authorize an amount estimated at 
$250,000 for the Department of Military Affairs for the state's 
portion of the eligible disaster-related costs incurred for 
salaries, travel, and meals during mission assignments 
authorized and coordinated through the Virginia Department 
of Emergency Management. 

K. Implementation by public agencies under my supervision 
and control of their emergency assignments as directed in the 
COVEOP without regard to normal procedures pertaining to 
performance of public work, entering into contracts, incurring 
of obligations or other logistical and support measures of the 
Emergency Services and Disaster Laws, as provided in § 44-
146.28(b) of the Code of Virginia. Section 44-146.24 of the 
Code of Virginia also applies to the disaster activities of state 
agencies. 

L. During this declared emergency, any person who holds a 
license, certificate, or other permit issued by any state or 
political subdivision thereof, evidencing the meeting of 
qualifications for professional, mechanical, or other skills, the 
person, without compensation other than reimbursement for 
actual and necessary expenses, may render aid involving that 
skill in the Commonwealth during this emergency. Such 
person shall not be liable for negligently causing the death of, 
or injury to, any person or for the loss of, or damage to, the 
property of any person resulting from such service as set forth 
in Code of Virginia § 44-146.23 C. Additionally, members 
and personnel of volunteer, professional, auxiliary, and 
reserve groups identified and tasked by the State Coordinator 
of Emergency Management for specific disaster-related 
mission assignments, as representatives of the 
Commonwealth engaged in emergency services activities 

within the meaning of the immunity provisions of § 44-
146.23 A of the Code of Virginia, shall not be liable for the 
death of, or any injury to, persons or damage to property as a 
result of such activities, as provided in § 44-146.23 A of the 
Code of Virginia. 

M. Designation of physicians, nurses, and other licensed and 
non-licensed health care providers and other individuals as 
well as hospitals, nursing facilities and other licensed and 
non-licensed health care organizations, political subdivisions 
and other private entities by state agencies, including the 
Departments of Health, Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services, Social Services, Emergency 
Management, Transportation, State Police, Motor Vehicles, 
as representatives of the Commonwealth engaged in 
emergency services activities, at sites designated by the 
Commonwealth, within the meaning of the immunity 
provisions of § 44-146.23 A of the Code of Virginia, in the 
performance of their disaster-related mission assignments. 

N. As provided in § 44-146.23 F of the Code of Virginia, no 
individual, corporation, partnership, association, cooperative, 
limited liability company, trust, joint venture, fraternal 
organization, religious organization, charitable organization, or 
any other legal or commercial entity and any successor, officer, 
director, representative, or agent thereof, who, without 
compensation other than reimbursement for actual and necessary 
expenses, provides services, goods, real or personal property, or 
facilities at the request and direction of the State Department of 
Emergency Management or a county or city employee whose 
responsibilities include emergency management shall be liable 
for the death of or injury to any person or for the loss of, or 
damage to, the property of any person where such death, injury, 
loss, or damage was proximately caused by the circumstances of 
the actual emergency or its subsequent conditions, or the 
circumstances of this emergency. 

Upon my approval, the costs incurred by state agencies and 
other agents in performing mission assignments through the 
VEOC as defined herein and in § 44-146.28 of the Code of 
Virginia, other than costs defined in the paragraphs above 
pertaining to the Virginia National Guard and pertaining to 
the Virginia Defense Force, shall be paid from state funds. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective August 8, 2018, and 
shall remain in full force and in effect until September 12, 
2018, unless sooner amended or rescinded by further 
executive order. Termination of the Executive Order is not 
intended to terminate any federal-type benefits granted or to 
be granted due to injury or death as a result of service under 
this Executive Order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, this 8th day of August, 2018. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 
Governor 
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EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SIXTEEN (2018) 

Establishing an Inter-Agency Task Force on Worker 
Misclassification and Payroll Fraud 

Importance of the Issue 

The misclassification of employees as "independent 
contractors" undermines businesses that follow the law, 
deprives the Commonwealth of millions of dollars in tax 
revenues, and prevents workers from receiving legal 
protections and benefits. 

A 2012 report of the Joint Legislative Audit and Review 
Commission (JLARC) found that one third of audited 
employers in certain industries misclassify their employees. 
By failing to purchase workers' compensation insurance, pay 
unemployment insurance and payroll taxes, or comply with 
minimum wage and overtime laws, employers lower their 
costs as much as 40%, placing other employers at a 
competitive disadvantage. 

Based on state and national studies, JLARC estimated that 
worker misclassification lowers Virginia's state income tax 
collections as much as $28 million a year. Agencies with 
relevant enforcement responsibilities, including the Virginia 
Employment Commission, the Department of Labor and 
Industry, the Department of Professional and Occupational 
Regulation, the State Corporation Commission's Bureau of 
Insurance, the Department of Taxation, and the Workers' 
Compensation Commission each address only one component 
of this practice and may not fully coordinate their efforts. In 
its study, JLARC recommended the establishment of a task 
force with representatives from the agencies listed above. 

Establishment of the Task Force 

Pursuant to the authority vested in me as Governor under 
Article V of the Constitution of Virginia, and the Code of 
Virginia, in order to examine the issue of worker 
misclassification and payroll fraud, I hereby create an Inter-
Agency Taskforce on Worker Misclassification and Payroll 
Fraud (Taskforce). 

Initiatives 

The purpose of the Taskforce is to develop and implement a 
comprehensive plan with measurable goals to reduce worker 
misclassification and payroll fraud in Virginia. The activities 
of the Taskforce should include, but not be limited to: 

1. Reviewing statutes and regulations related to worker 
misclassification and payroll fraud; 

2. Evaluating current enforcement practices of the agencies 
involved; 

3. Developing procedures for more effective inter-agency 
cooperation and joint enforcement; 

4. Developing educational materials and an outreach 
strategy for employers; 

5. Advising on any technological or other improvements in 
worker misclassification and payroll fraud detection; 

6. Recommending any appropriate changes to relevant 
legislation or administrative rules; 

7. Identifying ways to involve external stakeholders in the 
Taskforce's work; 

8. Identifying ways to hold companies working on state 
contracts who commit payroll fraud through 
misclassification of workers accountable; and 

9. Identifying ways to deter such misconduct through 
incentives and enforcement mechanisms. 

The Taskforce will be chaired by the Secretary of Commerce 
and Trade and will include representatives from the Virginia 
Employment Commission, the Department of General 
Services, the Department of Labor and Industry, the 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, the 
State Corporation Commission's Bureau of Insurance, the 
Department of Taxation, the Workers' Compensation 
Commission, and the Office of the Attorney General. 

The Taskforce shall develop a work plan by November 1, 
2018. The Taskforce shall report to the Governor on its 
progress by August 1, 2019. 

Staffing 

Staff necessary for the Task Force will be provided by the 
respective agencies participating with the Task Force. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and, 
pursuant to §§ 2.2-134 and 2.2-135 of the Code of Virginia, 
shall remain in full force and effect for a year from its signing 
or until superseded or rescinded. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia this 10th day of August, 2018. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 
Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION 

Virginia Outdoors Foundation - Forest and 
Community Opportunities for Restoration and 

Enhancement Fund Review 
Virginia Outdoors Foundation (VOF) is requesting feedback 
on draft material for a new grant initiative focusing on 
offsetting the impact of forest fragmentation caused by the 
path of two natural gas pipelines. A press release and the draft 
material can be found on the VOF website at 
http://www.virginiaoutdoorsfoundation.org/2018/08/vof-
seeking-input-for-development-of-new-grant-initiative/. 

VOF is calling the initial fund the Forest and Community 
Opportunities for Restoration and Enhancement Fund (Forest 
CORE Fund). The name is to represent both the forest cores 
(large acreage tracts of forest with high ecological integrity) 
that are being targeted for protection as well as to represent 
the importance of involving the community in this work. 

This notice is to make the public aware of the material and to 
request feedback. There is no deadline to provide input, but 
written comments submitted after August 21, 2018, will be 
reviewed and considered for subsequent grant rounds. The 
VOF Board of Trustees will meet August 22, 2018, to review 
and approve the fund materials. The program will be 
announced publicly by the end of August. 

If you have questions, please contact Emily White at email 
ewhite@vofonline.org or telephone (434) 282-7054. 

Contact Information: Bobbie Cabibbo, Executive Assistant, 
Executive Office of Virginia Outdoors Foundation, 324 
Waterloo Street, Warrenton, VA 20186, telephone (540) 347-
7727 ext. 226, FAX (540) 347-7711, or email 
bcabibbo@vofonline.org. 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 
Committee on Training Approved Performance 

Outcomes for Dispatchers 
The Department of Criminal Justice Services' Committee on 
Training approved comprehensive revisions to the 
performance outcomes, training objectives, testing criteria, 
and lesson plan guides for dispatchers on June 14, 2018. The 
Committee on Training approved three additional revisions 
during this meeting. These revisions can be found at 
https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/sites/dcjs.virginia.gov/files/cot
_approved_performance_outcomes_for_dispatchers_6_1420_
18.pdf. All basic dispatcher training will need to conform to 
the approved revisions by March 30, 2019. 

Contact Information: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law 
Enforcement Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal 
Justice Services, Washington Building, 1100 Bank Street, 

12th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-4503, 
or email barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Danville Farm LLC Notice of Intent for Small 

Renewable Energy Project (Solar) Permit by Rule - 
Pittsylvania County 

Danville Farm LLC has provided the Department of 
Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 
necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 
renewable energy project (solar) in Pittsylvania County, 
Virginia, pursuant to 9VAC15-60. The Danville Solar Project 
is located on 191 acres on property previously used as a golf 
course with an address of 1493 Ringgold Road, Ringgold, 
Virginia 24586 (36°35'28.40" N, 79°18'1.53" W). The rated 
capacity of the facility at the point of interconnection will be 
12 megawatts alternating current, with approximately 40,000 
solar panels on single axis tracker technology. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4423, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 
mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Hickory Solar Notice of Intent for Small Renewable 
Energy Project (Solar) Permit by Rule -  

Chesapeake, Virginia 
Hickory Solar has filed a notice of intent to submit the 
necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 
renewable energy project (solar) in Chesapeake pursuant to 
9VAC15-60. The project is located on a single parcel (Lat: 
36.626042°; Long: -76.192255°) totaling 154.5 acres off 
Ballentine Road near Battlefield Boulevard in Hickory, 
Chesapeake, Virginia. The project will have a rated capacity 
of 32 megawatts alternating current and comprise 
approximately 91,000 solar photovoltaic panels situated on 
approximately 150 acres. This project was previously noticed 
as two separate projects (Hickory Solar 1 LLC and Hickory 
Solar 2 LLC) in the Virginia Register of Regulations on 
March 6, 2017. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality,1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4423, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 
mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Hickory Solar 1 LLC and Hickory Solar 2 LLC 
Withdrawal of Notice of Intent for Small Renewable 

Energy Project (Solar) Permit by Rule -  
Chesapeake, Virginia 

Hickory Solar 1 LLC and Hickory Solar 2 LLC have 
withdrawn notices of intent to submit the necessary 
documentation for a permit by rule for a small renewable 

http://www.virginiaoutdoorsfoundation.org/2018/08/vof-seeking-input-for-development-of-new-grant-initiative/
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energy project (solar) in Chesapeake pursuant to 9VAC15-60. 
The notices were previously published in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations on March 6, 2017. A new notice, 
combining Hickory Solar 1 LLC and Hickory Solar 2 LLC 
into a single project, has been filed with the Department of 
Environmental Quality and will be published in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations on September 3, 2018. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality,1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4423, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 
mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY 
Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery were 
filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on August 15, 
2018. The orders may be viewed at the Virginia Lottery, 
600 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of 
the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seventeen (18) 

Virginia Lottery's "Ultimate Miami and Vegas Racing 
Adventures with Hermie Sadler" Final Rules for Operation 
(effective August 9, 2018) 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 
Proposed Consent Order for  

Frederick-Winchester Service Authority and  
Frederick County Sanitation Authority 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Frederick-
Winchester Service Authority (FWSA) and Frederick County 
Sanitation Authority (FCSA) for violations at the Parkins Mill 
Waste Water Treatment Facility in Winchester, Virginia. The 
State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent order 
dually to FWSA and FCSA to address noncompliance with 
State Water Control Law. A description of the proposed 
action is available at the Department of Environmental 
Quality office named below or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. Tiffany Severs will accept comments 
by email at tiffany.severs@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (540) 
574-7878, or postal mail at Department of Environmental 
Quality, Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, P.O. Box 
3000, Harrisonburg, Virginia, 22801, from September 3, 
2018, to October 3, 2018. 

Proposed Consent Order for Piedmont 
Neighborhoods LP 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Piedmont 
Neighborhoods LP for violations at the Whittington 
residential development in Albemarle County, Virginia. The 
State Water Control Board proposes to issue a penalty only 

consent order to Piedmont Neighborhoods LP to address 
noncompliance with State Water Control Law. A description 
of the proposed action is available at the Department of 
Environmental Quality office named below or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. Tiffany Severs will accept comments 
by email at tiffany.severs@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (540) 
574-7878, or postal mail at Department of Environmental 
Quality, Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, P.O. Box 
3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, from September 3, 2018, to 
October 3, 2018. 

Proposed Consent Order for the City of 
Waynesboro 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the City of 
Waynesboro for violations in Augusta County, Virginia. A 
proposed amendment to order by consent describes a 
settlement to further address inflow and infiltration in the 
city's sewage collection system. A description of the proposed 
action is available at the Department of Environmental 
Quality office named below or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. Tiffany Severs will accept comments 
by email at tiffany.severs@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (540) 
574-7878, or postal mail at Department of Environmental 
Quality, Valley Regional Office, P.O. Box 3000, 4411 Early 
Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, from September 3, 2018, to 
October 3, 2018. 

Public Meeting for Total Maximum Daily Load for 
Barbours Creek, Craig Creek, Catawba Creek, Little 
Patterson Creek, Sinking Creek, Lapsley Run, and 

Part of the James River 
Public informational meeting: A community meeting will be 
held on Tuesday, September 11, 2018, from 6 p.m. until 
8 p.m. at the Eagle Rock Library. The address is Eagle Rock 
Library, 55 Eagles Nest Drive, Eagle Rock, VA 24085. In the 
case of inclement weather, the meeting will be rescheduled 
for September 13, 2018, from 6 p.m. until 8 p.m. at the Eagle 
Rock Library. This meeting is open to the public and all are 
welcome. For more information, please contact Lucy Baker at 
email lucy.baker@deq.virginia.gov or telephone (540) 562-
6718. 

Purpose of notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) and its contractors, Virginia Tech's Biological 
Systems Engineering Department, will discuss the results of a 
water quality study, known as a total maximum daily load 
(TMDL) for Barbours Creek, Craig Creek, Catawba Creek, 
Little Patterson Creek, Sinking Creek, Lapsley Run, and a 
section on the James River in Craig and Botetourt Counties. 
These streams are listed on the § 303(d) TMDL Priority List 
and Report as impaired due to violations of Virginia's water 
quality standards for recreational use and general standard 
(benthics). Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-
44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia requires DEQ to develop 
TMDLs for pollutants responsible for each impaired water 
contained in Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and 
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Report. This is an opportunity for local residents to learn 
about the condition of these streams, share information about 
the area, and become involved in the process of local water 
quality improvement. A 30-day public comment period on the 
draft TMDL will follow the meetings from September 11, 
2018, through October 10, 2018. To access the draft TMDL 
document, visit http://bit.do/VADEQdraftTMDL. 

Description of study: In Botetourt and Craig Counties, 
portions of the James River, Catawba Creek, Craig Creek, 
Barbours Creek, Sinking Creek, Lapsley Run, and Little 
Patterson Creek are impaired for the "recreational use" water 
quality standard, meaning there is too much E. Coli bacteria 
present in these waterbodies. A section of Catawba Creek 
does not have a healthy and diverse community of aquatic 
organisms and subsequently does not meet the "aquatic life" 
water quality standard. Excessive bacteria levels may pose a 
threat to human health; therefore, a bacteria standard was 
established to preserve recreational uses in Virginia's 
waterbodies. This water quality study will report on the 
sources of bacteria and recommend reductions to meet 
TMDLs for the impaired waters. A TMDL is the total amount 
of a pollutant a water body can contain and still meet water 
quality standards. To restore water quality, bacteria levels 
need to be reduced to the TMDL amount. A component of a 
TMDL is the wasteload allocation (WLA); therefore, this 
notice is provided pursuant to § 2.2-4006 A 14 of the 
Administrative Process Act for any future adoption of the 
TMDL WLAs.  

Stream Impairment 
length 

Location 
description 

County Impairment 

Craig 
Creek 

7.91 miles Mainstem 
from the 
mouth of 
Turnpike 
Creek 
extending 
downstream to 
the Rt. 311 
crossing 

Craig 
County 

Bacteria 

Craig 
Creek 

11.43 miles Craig Creek 
from the 
mouth of 
Johns Creek 
downstream to 
the Barbours 
Creek 
confluence  

Craig 
County 

Bacteria 

Craig 
Creek 

27.56 miles Craig Creek 
mainstem 
from the 
mouth of 
Wilson Branch 
downstream 
confluence 
with the James 
River 

Botetourt 
County 

Bacteria 

Barbours 
Creek 

7.15 miles Barbours 
Creek from 
just 
downstream of 
the Rt. 617 
and Rt. 611 
junction at the 
mouth of 
Valley Branch 
on 
downstream to 
its mouth on 
Craig Creek 

Craig 
County 

Bacteria 

Little 
Patterson 
Creek 

4.24 miles Little 
Patterson 
Creek from 
just upstream 
of the Rt. 684 
(Sugar Tree 
Hollow Rd.) 
crossing 
downstream to 
its confluence 
with Patterson 
Creek  

Botetourt 
County 

Bacteria 

Lapsley 
Run 

9.01 miles Lapsley Run 
from its 
confluence 
with the James 
River 
upstream to its 
headwaters 

Botetourt 
County 

Bacteria 

James 
River 

7.63 miles James River 
from the 
confluence of 
the Jackson 
and 
Cowpasture 
Rivers 
downstream to 
the mouth of 
Stull Run 

Botetourt 
County 

Bacteria 

http://bit.do/VADEQdraftTMDL
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Sinking 
Creek 

6.42 miles Sinking Creek 
mainstem 
from its mouth 
on the James 
River 
upstream to 
the Rt. 697 
crossing 

Botetourt 
County 

Bacteria 

Catawba 
Creek  

13.46 miles Catawba 
Creek from 
the confluence 
of Little 
Catawba 
Creek 
downstream to 
the Town of 
Fincastle 
publicly 
owned 
treatment 
works 

Botetourt 
County 

Bacteria 

Catawba 
Creek 

3.23 miles Catawba 
Creek from 
Buchanan 
Branch 
downstream to 
the confluence 
with Little 
Catawba 
Creek 

Botetourt 
County 

Aquatic 
Life 

How to comment and participate: The meetings of the TMDL 
process are open to the public and all interested parties are 
welcome. Written comments will be accepted through July 
25, 2018, and should include the name, address, and 
telephone number of the person submitting the comments. 
For more information or to submit written comments, please 
contact Lucy Baker, Department of Environmental Quality, 
Blue Ridge Regional Office, 3019 Peters Creek Road, 
Roanoke, VA 24019, telephone (540) 562-6718, FAX (540) 
562-6725, or email lucy.baker@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD AND 
STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Order for W.E.L. Inc. 
An enforcement action has been proposed for W.E.L. Inc. for 
violations in Concord, Roanoke, and Winchester, Virginia. 
The Virginia Waste Management Board and State Water 
Control Board propose to issue a special order by consent to 
W.E.L. Inc. to address noncompliance with the Virginia 
Waste Management Act, State Water Control Law, and 
regulations. A description of the proposed action is available 
at the Department of Environmental Quality office named 
below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Kristen Sadtler will 
accept comments by email at 
kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov or postal mail at Department 

of Environmental Quality, Central Office, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, from September 3, 2018, to October 3, 
2018. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 
Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 
Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing  
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 
repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 
regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 
the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 
available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents 
/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 
Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 
Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 
regulatory information. 

ERRATA 
MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-430. Pertaining to the 
Marking and Minimum Mesh Size of Gill Nets. 

Publication: 21:18 VA.R. 2373-2374 May 16, 2005 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2373, second column, 4VAC20-430-65, subsection B, 
after "Chincoteague" replace "(37° 56.0')" with "(37° 56.0' 
N)" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R05-184; Filed August 22, 2018 

mailto:lucy.baker@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov
file://legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-481. Virginia Radiation 
Protection Regulations. 

Publication: 32:12 VA.R. 1906-1924 February 8, 2016 

Corrections to Final Regulation: 

Page 1920, 12VAC5-481-451, first column, subdivision 9 a, 
after "business hours and" change "804-624-2400" to "804-
674-2400" 

Page 1920, 12VAC5-481-451, second column, subdivision 9 
b, beginning of line 8, change "624-2400" to "674-2400" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4629; Filed August 16, 2018 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-51. Virginia Statewide Fire 
Prevention Code. 

Publication: 34:18 VA.R. 1617-1744 April 30, 2018 

Corrections to Final Regulation: 

Page 1632, 13VAC5-51-81 L 6, second column, line 5, after 
"explosives" replace "(unrestricted), blasting agents, and 
fireworks" with "(Restricted)" 

Page 1632, 13VAC5-51-81, L 6, second column, line 6, after 
"permit" replace "$250" with "$20" 

Page 1741, 13VAC5-51-154.7 C, after "Sections" replace 
"6505.1" with "6504.1" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4665; Filed August 16, 2018 
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